ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY
3 1833 01958 3043
Gc 977.602 M66ha
Hauft, Charles Edgar «
Memorial, volume and history
OF St. Mark's parish
PROPOSED ST. MARK'S CHURCH
Saint Mark's Parish
CHARLES EDGAR HAUPT
PUBLISHED ON THE OCCASION OF THE REMOVAL FROM SIXTH
STREET TO OAK GROVE STREET „.„^«^.o .-.^.-^-—
1908 ^«-— --—•
SEP \ 8 1978,
Alien Coaor/ j-u^iilc Library
Ft. \K\iY^, !wl«8fla
A Parish is an enlarged family, a portion of the house-
hold of God. He would be scarcely human who did not
feel some sense of pride in the family name and took no
pains to preserve the family tree. But who can boast of
higher lineage than those in whose veins flows the blood
of the King of Kings, and who know themselves to be
the children of God ? May we not well trace the stream of
our ancestry and emphasize the blood relationship which
makes all the members of the parish of one kin? As
brothers and sisters we should know each other as inti-
mately as possible. Here conventionality should give way
to a genuine affection. For just forty years the corporate
life of St. Mark's has continued with ever increasing as-
piration. It is inevitable that, in such a parish, scattered
as it is over the entire city, the various members cannot
come into close touch with each other, and a measure of
estrangement will be found ; but it should be the constant
effort of all the members to break down the walls of sepa-
ration, to realize and exalt the brotherhood of the fol-
lowers of Christ, and of the members of this one house-
hold of faith.
We appeal to you, dear friends, to make this Parish
warm with genuine friendship, and, even at personal
sacrifice, to welcome strangers and greet with cordiality
those who are already members.
A Parish is a complicated organism intended to fur-
nish a place for the activities of all sorts of persons, what-
ever be their ability or their circumstances, their age or
sex. There is danger of over organization but there can
be no corporate life without it. Machinery is indispen-
4 Memorial Volume
sable, but let us never forget that machinery is utterly
useless unless the spirit of the living creature be in the
wheels. It is not sufficient for a man or woman to con-
tribute a dole to the support of the Church, and not add
the wealth of their own personality. No work brings
richer reward to the individual nor greater blessing to
society than that which we call church work. St. Mark's
made a noble beginning when the original builders of
the church presented it without debt for the worship
of God at the opening service. Surely we who enjoy
the fruit of their labors will not be content to lower their
standard. This volume is published to commemorate
their noble deeds, as a memorial of the past, and also for
the information of those who would be glad to undertake
some form of church work if they could find the place
v\^here they could work effectively. Every member of
the parish who reads this book is asked to -identify him-
self or herself with the work in that form which is most
May God, the Holy Spirit, guide the plans and admin-
istration of the Parish with His divine wisdom, to His
greater glory and the blessing of its members, and may
He give to each of you such success as seemeth to Him
good on earth, and the blessedness of serving Him in
C. Edgar Haupt.
G. Heath COTE Hills.
REV MARCUS L. OLOS
FIRST PASTOR OF SAINT MARK'S MISSION
Saint Mark's Parish
ClcvQ's, Officers auD Committees
Rev. C. Edgar Haupt, 2647 Lake of the Isles Boulevard.
Telephone: N. W., So. 957.
Rev. G. Heathcote Hills, 2721 Lake of the Isles Boulevard.
Telephone: N. W., So. 1460.
Mr. Llewellyn Christian Mr. C. M. Harrington
Geo. H. Christian, Hector Baxter, H. S. Abbott, C. H. Childs,
V. H. Van Slyke, H. McI. Morton, Wm. Passmore,
W. S. Dwinnell, D. M. Baldwin, Jr.
At the Easter meeting, 1908, Mr. George H. Christian re-
tired from the vestry and Mr. J. B. Robinson was elected.
Clerk— Dr. H. W. Cook - - - 1002 W. Franklin
Treasurer— Mrs. J. M. Outram - 2209 Aldrich Ave. S.
Organist— Mr. Gordon Graham - - 217 W. 24th St.
Parish Visitor— Miss Edith M. Pye - 519 Oak Grove St.
Sexton — Nathan Hawkins.
Office hours of the clergy daily 10 to 11.
Parish House Telephone Nic. 1760.
Committees of the Vestry Appointed for the Current Year:
Finance— H. S. Abbott, chairman; C. H. Childs, W. M.
Church Property — L. Christian, chairman; C. M. Harring-
ton, D. M. Baldwin, Jr., J. B. Robinson.
Music— Rev. G. H. Hills, chairman; H. McI. Morton; D.
M. Baldwin, W. S. Dwinnell.
Trust Funds — Hector Baxter, chairman; C. H. Childs, V. H.
Van Slyke, J. B. Robinson.
Ushering— C. H. Childs, chairman; H. S. Abbott, Hector
Baxter, V. H. Van Slyke.
6 Memorial Volume
To Represent the Vestry on the Board of Managers of the
V/ells Memorial— C. E. Haupt, Hector Baxter, C. H. Childs,
V. H. Van Slyke, D. M. Baldwin.
Building Committee for the Church— The Clergy, C. M.
Harrington, chairman; W. S. Dwinnell, George H. Christian,
H. McI. Morton, C. T. Jafifray.
Building Committee for the Institutional Plant — The
Clergy, W. S. Dwinnell, Hector Baxter, V. H. Van Slyke, C.
Parish House Committee — Mrs. C. M. Harrington, Mrs.
Llewellyn Christian, Mrs. Hector Baxter, Mrs. C. H. Childs,
Mrs. W. S. Dwinnell, Mrs. Geo. E. Higgins.
Lay Superintendent — Mr. Hector Baxter.
Secretaries — Messrs. Wilson L. Gould and Charles Alcock.
Treasurer — Mr. Stevens Crouse.
JUNIOR AUXILARY OF THE SUNDAY SCHOOL.
Meets on the Third Sunday of each Month, 10:30 a. m.
Secretary — Miss Marie Tombler.
Treasurer — Mr. Roy Shippam.
Organist and Choirmaster — Mr. Gordon Graham, F. G. O.
Rehearsals — Boys', Mondays, 4 to 5 p. m.; Saturdays, 9 to
10 a. m. Full Choir, Fridays, 7:30 to 9 p. m.
Meets on the First Wednesday of each Month, 10 a.
President— Mrs. A. W. Abbott.
Vice-President— Miss C. J. Welles.
Secretary— Mrs. G. P. Case.
Treasurer — Miss Elsie Stone.
Saint Mark's Parish
LADIES' AID AND WOMAN'S AUXILIARY.
Meets on Fridays, at 10:30 a. m.
President — Mrs. S. B. Meader.
Vice-President— Mrs. C. F. Clark.
Secretary and Treasurer— Mrs. P. L. Norris.
DAUGHTERS OF THE KING.
Meets on Fridays, at 4:00 p. m.
Directress — Miss Mabel Wilkinson.
Vice-Directress — Miss Grace Caplin.
Secretary — Miss Violet Hills.
Treasurer — Mrs. W. F. Jewett.
ST. HILDA'S GUILD.
Meets on Fridays, at 10:30 a. m.
President— Mrs. W. S. Dwinnell.
Vice-President — Miss Isabella Ross.
Secretary and Treasurer — Mrs. C. H. Childs.
THE MEN'S CLUB.
Meets on the Second Tuesday of each Month.
President — Mr. Clarence H. Childs.
Vice-President — Mr. William Passmore.
Secretary- Dr. A. E. Alther.
Treasurer— Mr. V. H. VanSlyke.
YOUNG MEN'S CLUB AND BIBLE CLASS.
Meets every Sunday, at 9:45 a. m., and on the Second Thurs-
day of each Month, at 8 p. m.
President — Mr. G. Lindsey McKewen.
Vice-President — Mr. George Shepherd.
Secretary— Mr. Roy Shippam.
Treasurer— Mr. Fred H. Robinson.
8 Memorial Volume
Daily, from 9 to 12 in the morning.
Directress — Miss Margaret Baxter.
Assistant — Miss Cecil Cobb.
Meets on the First and Third Wednesdays of each Month,
at 3:00 p. m.
President— Mrs. J. W. Taylor.
Secretary — Mrs. George McKewen.
Treasurer— Mrs. L. P. Sawyer.
BUSINESS WOMAN'S GUILD.
Meets on the First and Third Wednesdays of each Month,
at 6:30 p. m.
Directress — Mrs. Vrooman- Woods.
Vice-Directress — Miss Emma J. Smith.
Secretary— Miss Dora Bacheller.
Treasurer — Miss Lutie Reade.
Meets every Saturday from 10 to 12 in the Morning.
Directress— Mrs. A. W. Abbott.
Vice-Directress — Miss Louise Higgins.
Meets every Tuesday and Thursday, at 7:30 p. m.
Director — Mr. Arthur Zacke.
Meets every Monday Afternoon, at 4 p. m.
Directress — Miss Katherine Carle.
Vice-Directress — Miss Alma C. Haupt.
Recording Secretary — Miss Katherine Dwinnell.
Corresponding Secretary— Miss Beatrice Hawksett.
Saint Mark's Parish 9
ST. URSULA'S GUILD.
Meets on the First and Third Tuesdays of each Month, at
3 p. m.
Directress — Mrs. C. H. Crouse.
Vice-Directress — Miss Beatrice Hills.
Secretary — Miss Ethel Shippam.
Treasurer. — Miss Grace Robinson.
YOUNG PEOPLE'S SOCIETY.
President— Mr. Geo. W. Terry.
Vice-President— Miss L. E. Miller.
Secretary — Miss Florence Gibson.
Treasurer — Mr. Roy Shippam.
Holy Communion, 9 a. m., except first Sunday of the
First Sunday in the month Holy Communion, at 11:00
Second and fourth Sundays of the month, Morning Prayer,
Ante-Communion and Sermon, 11:00 a. m.
Third and fifth Sunday of the month. Morning Prayer,
Litany and Sermon, 11:00 a. m.
Sunday School, 9:45 a. m.
Evensong and address, 7:45 p. m.
Morning Prayer and Litany, 10:00 a. m.
Saints' Days —
Holy Communion, 10:00 a. m.
During Lent —
Daily noon service, 12:05 to 12:30.
Wednesdays — Evening Prayer and Address, 7:45.
Fridays — Evening Prayer and Address, 4:30 p. m.
Ash Wednesday — Service and Sermon, 10:30. Evening
Prayer and Address, 7:45 p. m.
10 Memorial Volume
Good Friday — Service and Sermon, 10:30. Special devo-
tions with meditation, 12:00 m. to 3:00 p. m.
Easter Even — Sacrament of baptism, 4:30 p. m.
Easter Day —
Holy Communion, 7:00 a. m.; full choir. Administration of
the Apostolic rite of Confirmation and Holy Communion,
9:00 a. m. Morning Prayer, Sermon and Holy Com-
munion, 11:00 a. m. Children's Easter festival, 7:00 p. m.
Ascension Day —
Holy Communion, 11:00 a. m. Festival service, 7:45 p. m.
Holy baptism on the third Sunday, of each month at the
close of morning service and at other times by appointment.
Holy Communion administered to the sick and persons
shut in by request at any time.
Strangers are invited to identify themselves with the Parish
and to hand their names and addresses to any of the ushers,
or to the clergy.
Persons in sickness or distress are asked to notify the
clergy promptly. "Is any sick among you? Let him call for
the elders of the church; and let them pray over him * *
and the prayer of faith shall save the sick."
Saint Mark's Parish 11
The first church in what is now Minneapolis was
founded under the auspices of the "Associate Mission of
Minnesota." The first service was held Sunday, July 7th,
1850. The cornerstone of the original church of Holy
Trinity was laid by Rev. Dr. Breck, October 30th, 1850,
Father Gear, chaplain at Fort Snelling, making the ad-
dress. The Parish was formally organized on Easter
Monday, 1852, the first priest in charge being the Rev.
October 1st, 1852, Jacob Sheril Chamberlain took
charge of the parish, and in the fall of 1856, D. B. Knick-
erbacker was sent out to assist him.
Mrs. Katharine Sargent Olds writes from Silver
Spring, Maryland, under date of September 8th, 1908 :
"Yes, my husband was the same Rev. Mark L. Olds who
was an assistant to Dr. ^Hckerbacker. They were like
David and Jonathan, and are together now in the Para-
dise of God. The first meeting of persons desiring to
have a church on the Minneapolis side of the river was
held in our parlor, and five or six were present. Then
the Rev. D. B.f<Nickerbacker was called and officiated at
Holy Trinity Church, St. Anthony, until the church was
built which Mr. Olds named 'Gethsemane.' After that
he entered the ministry and became assistant to Mr.
Knickerbacker, and started services in North Minneapo-
Saint Mark's church dates back to 1858, when, at the
solicitation of the Rev. D. B./CNickerbacker, Captain
J. C. Reno gave a lot at the corner of Washington and
Twenty-third avenues north and secured contributions of
12 Memorial Volume
lumber, nails and glass for the erection of a free church.
One day when the Rev. Doctor KNickerbacker, Mr.
Mark L. Olds, who was to have charge of the mission,
and Mr. Reno, were looking over the lot and discussing
a name for the mission, the Rev. Doctor turned to Mr.
Olds, and patting him on the back said: "Let us call it
St. Mark's." The suggestion was at once adopted so
that the parish not only perpetuates the name of the great
evangelist, but also commemorates its first pastor.
Rev. Mark L. Olds was born in Circleville, Ohio, in
1828, studied law with his uncle, Chauncy Olds, of
Columbus, who was register of the land office in Minne-
sota in 1852, was baptized and confirmed in Holy Trin-
ity Church, St. Anthony, Minn., and was ordained a
deacon by Bishop Kemper in 1859, and a priest by Bishop
Whipple, in 1861. He Avas a missionary for one year in
Minnesota valley, as assistant to Dr. Knickerbacker,
afterward Bishop of Indiana, became rector of St. Luke's
Church, Hastings, was rector of Trinity Church, Tren-
ton, N. J., in 1864. He became rector of Washington
Parish, Washington, D. C, in 1865, and died September
A small wooden church was erected on the lot and for
a few years tried to gather a congregation, but either
North Minneapolis did not grow as rapidly as had been
hoped, or else the settlers there were not of a devotional
nature, for, a few years later, it was deemed best to
move the building to another locality. On a certain after-
noon the Rev. Dr. Knickerbacker was interrupted in a
lenten service by the wild gesticulations of a man standing
in his vestry and trying to attract his attention. On going
to see what was wanted he was told, "The church has
arrived and we want to know where you want it put."
Saint Mark's Parish 13
He closed his service as quickly as possible and went to
the corner of Hennepin avenue and Fourth streets (the
site of the present Kasota building) and found that the
church had been raised, placed on sleds and drawn by-
twelve yoke of oxen from its former site. It v/as placed
on the lot (which had been presented by Franklin Steele
and H. T. Welles), facing- Fourth street, and there stood
as St. Marks' for several years.
On the twenty-second of April, 1868, a meeting was
held at the chapel for the purpose of organizing the
Parish. Due notice having been given and the consent
of the ecclesiastical authorities secured, an organization
was effected. The charter members were : H. T. Welles,
W. T. Lee, F. M. Hardenburgh, W. P. Westfall, J. K.
Rodgers, W. H. Lee, Jas. L. Spink, Wells Gardner, John
Paul, Geo. F. Bolles, C. M. Hathaway, James Murison,
Wm. T. Brown, W. H. McCollom, J. Lamour, A. Smith,
J. F. Harrison, C. F. McCollom, J, C. Hall and James
Rose. Mr. Wm. T. Lee was elected senior warden and
Mr. H. T. Welles, junior warden. The following gentle-
ment were elected vestrymen : Messrs. J. Paul, W. P.
Westfall, C. M. Hardenburgh, W. H. Brown, J. W.
Gardner, Geo. F. Bolles, J. Murison and A. Smith. Mr.
G. F. Bolles became the first secretary and Mr. W. P.
Westfall, the first treasurer. The new Parish became
duly incorporated on June 19th, 1868.
At first the Rev. E. S. Thomas came from Faribault to
minister to the spiritual needs of the Parish, but declined
a call to become its rector and, later, the services were
supplied by the Rev. Professors Manney and Buel. Mean-
while a call had been extended to, and accepted by, the
Rev. E. A. Bradley, of Wiscasset, Maine, who began his
ministry on St. Mark's Day, 1869.
14 Memorial Volume
"At the first meeting of the vestry, after Mr. Bradley-
became rector, the Parish adopted the envelope system,
for the purpose of meeting the current parochial expenses.
At this meeting also, a committee consisting of Rev. E.
A. Bradley, Messrs. W. T. Lee and H. T. Welles was ap-
pointed, with instructions to procure from a competent
architect, plans and specifications for a new church build-
ing to seat five hundred persons. The committee pro-
cured the services of Mr. Dudley, a well known architect
of New York, and the wisdom of their selection is amply
shown in the very handsome and substantial church edi-
fice of St. Mark's." A lot was purchased at a cost of
$3,000, the cornerstone was laid on St. Mark's Day,
April 25th, 1870, and the building was completed so as to
be occupied for the first time on Christmas Day, 1870.
In part payment the builder, Mr. George McMullin,
took the lot on Fourth street upon which the old church
stood, and the building was again removed, this time to
Fourth avenue south and Nineteenth street, where it was
known as All Saints chapel, and used until the erection
of the brick church now occupied by that parish. Mr.
Bradley designed the chancel furniture himself and super-
tended the carving.
"At the opening service of St. Mark's church on Christ-
mas Day, 1870, the entire indebtedness incurred in build-
ing, amounting to $7,000, was cancelled by the day's
offerings, of which the junior warden, Mr. H. T. Welles,
had promised one-half."
The Rev. Mr. Bradley discontinued his rectorship on
the first day of October, 1870, and the Rev. E. S. Thomas,
invited a second time to the rectorship, accepted the same
and entered upon his duties on that date.
St. Mark's church was consecrated on Thursday, Sep-
REV. EDWARD A. BRADLEY, D.
FIRST RECTOR I 869- I 870
Saint Mark's Parish 15
tember 21st, 1871, with elaborate ceremonial by the bishop
of the diocese, Rt. Rev. H. B. Whipple, D. D. The pil-
lars in the auditorium were wreathed with autumn leaves
and a profusion of flowers covered the altar. "There were
present beside the bishop, Rev. E. S. Thomas, rector. Rev.
Drs. McMasters and Richey, Rev. D. B. Nickerbacker,
Rev. Messrs. Riley, Livermore, Crump, Chase, Powell,
Seabreese, Wilcoxen, Williams, the venerable Father
Gear, and others."
The list of subscribers to the building fund was as fol-
H. T. Welles $7,000.00
W. T. Lee 5,000.00
W. P. Westfall 2,525.00
W. H. Lee 1,500.00
C. M. Hardenberg 1,500.00
R. B. Langdon 1,400.00
Weston Merritt 1,000.00
Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Spink 525.00
W. H. Eldred 500.00
W. T. Brown 200.00
John Paul 250.00
T. A. Murphy 250.00
Richard Martin 450.00
H. B. Hancock 200.00
R. J. Mendenhall 200.00
J. O. Simmons 200.00
F. S. Reese 300.00
Rev. E. G. Gear 250.00
J. K. Rogers 225.00
S. J. Austin 100.00
J. R. Dayton 100.00
Wm. Tomlinson 100.00
16 Memorial Volume
A. H. Linton 100.00
Albie Smith 100.00
W. D. Washburne. .' 100.00
W. W. McNair 100.00
W. W. Eastman 100.00
Edward Martin 100.00
George McMullen 100.00
D. C. Shepard 100.00
B. S. Bull 100.00
Washington Yale 100.00
E. H. Davie 150.00
George C. Hatheway 50.00
L. Fletcher 75.00
John Lewis 50.00
Alex Dole 50.00"
J. C. Hall 25.00
Wm. Moore 50.00
E. R. Pearce 25.00
George F. Smith 25.00
C. T. McNamara 25.00
Alex. Tyler 25.00
S. P. Snyder 50.00
J. Welles Gardiner 50.00
E. L. Pierce 25.00
G. A. Camp 50.00
G. F. Bolles 25.00
Christmas offerings 400.00
Ladies' Aid (chancel) 400.00
Ladies' (reredos) 75.00
Prayer desk, etc 40.00
The Weavers 40.00
Total for church edifice $27,105.00
Saint Mark's Parish 17
Church lot 3,000.00
Rectory lot 2,500.00
Memorial windows 1,000.00
Church furnishings 2,150.00
Three-manual organ 5,600.00
Parish school house 650.00
During the incumbency of the Rev. Mr. Thomas the
organ was secured, at a cost of $5,600, largely through
the efforts of Mrs. R. B. Langdon, Mr. D. C. Shepherd
being the largest contributor.
Mrs. Wm. T. Lee and Mr. H. T. Welles purchased the
lot adjoining the church for the sum of $2,500, and
presented it to the parish and a rectory was built on it
in the year 1873, at a cost of $7,000. A handsome font
was also added to the furnishings of the church which
was made by a woman sculptor, Mrs. Piesley, a poor
widow. She went to Chicago and selected the white
marble for its construction, giving her work and charg-
ing only for her expenses.
The Rev. Br. Bradley went from St. Marks to Indian-
apolis, Ind., and finally became vicar of St. Agnes chapel
of Trinity Parish, New York, which position he held at
the time of his death. It was said of him that each
Parish which he left had a stone church built during his
The Rev. Mr. Thomas was rector of the parish for a
little over four years, resigning in January, 1875. In
1876 he was called to St. Paul's church, St. Paul, and
while there was the choice of the clergy of the diocese
for assistant bishop, the laity failing to concur in his
election. He was subsequently consecrated assistant
18 Memorial Volume
bishop of Kansas on May 4th, 1887, and on the death of
Bishop Vail, became bishop of the diocese. He died
March 9, 1895.
During- the rectorship of the Rev. E. S. Thomas, the
Parish school was reopened with two teachers, a teacher
of English and a teacher of music, and a schoolhouse was
built at an expense of $650. The number of families in-
creased from eighty to one hundred ; the number of com-
municants from 127 to 155, and the weekly ofierings for
current expenses from $20 to $32. The usual attendance
upon the public services were nearly doubled. The choir
in those days consisted of Julius H. Clark, organist; J.
Kearney Rogers, precentor; E. H. Guerney, R. P. Olm-
stead and N. P. S. Thomas. The Sunday school was
organized with G. F. Bolles and reorganized with Francis
Suydam Kuse superintendent, and numbered sixty chil-
At a meeting of the vestry, held at the residence of
Mr. W. P. Westfall, on the 22nd day of March, 1875, a
call was extended to the Rev. Sidney Corbett, D. D., of
Quincy, 111., who accepted and became rector of the Parish
in June of the same year. He held the office until Janu-
ary 4th, 1880. During his pastorate some of the parish-
ioners became dissatisfied and a new Parish, St. Paul's,
The then vacant Parish was supplied for a time by the
Rev. W. W. Raymond, and on March 6th a call was ex-
tended to the Rev. Malon Norris Gilbert, of Helena,
Mont. Upon his declination, the Rev. T. B. Wells, D.D.,
was elected rector, and entered upon his long and success-
ful rectorate on October 17th, 1880. Under his adminis-
tration the parish so increased that notwithstanding the
number of families who withdrew to form the Parish
Saint Mark's Parish 19
of St. Pauls, additional accommodations were found
necessary, and two transepts were added to the Church
building to provide for the congregation. This en-
largement was completed in 1884 at a cost of about $7,-
500. The Parish grew strong within and without.
Missionary activities were abundantly maintained.
The offerings for ten years were $172,385.00 of which
$15,499.55 were for missionary purposes. In 1883 an
industrial school was started by Mrs. Wells for the
children of the poorer classes which has been carried
on until the present time, and has been the means of
doing much good to the many girls who have attended.
"A Parish Building was begun, determining St. Marks
to be a down town Church for years to come." But its
completion Doctor Wells was not destined to see.
After eleven years of faithful service, broken in health,
he sought recuperation in a sea voyage across the
Pacific, but failing to derive the expected benefit he
turned his face homeward from Japan and expired on
the fifth day out from Yokohama. He was buried from
St. Mark's Church on August 4th, 1891. The last official
act of Doctor Wells was to attend a meeting of the Ves-
try, and place in the hands of the wardens the plans and
subscription list of the proposed parish house, which was
completed as the T. B. Wells Memorial Building, at a
cost of $7,117.15, and was formally opened by Bishop
Whipple, on May 14th, 1892.
In the fall of 1891 a call was extended to the Rev..
Harry P. Nichols of the Diocese of Connecticut, who
accepted and entered on the rectorship of the Parish on
February 14th, 1892. Under his vigorous administra-
tion the Parish building became the center of many
diversified activities, including the Industrial School,
20 Memorial Volume
Missionary Society, Boys' Club, Brotherhood of St,
Andrew, Mothers' Club, etc. The Sunday School at-
tained the summit of its prosperity, presenting offer-
ings for the work of the Board of Missions at Easter
which were the surprise and honor of the Diocese. For
the enlargement of this down-town work the Rev. C.
H. Remington was called as assistant minister on
April 22nd, 1894. During the summer of 1895, in prep-
aration for the entertainment of the General Conven-
tion, the roof of the church was reshingled, the in-
terior handsomely redecorated from designs by Mr.
F. S. Bradstreet, a new window put into the chancel,
electric light installed and extensive improvements
made in the Parish Building; the total cost being about
The Rev. Mr. Remington, after two years of devoted
service, resigned at Easter, 1896, and became Rector
of St. Marks Church, Fort Dodge, Iowa. Thereupon
the Rev. C. L. Wells, Professor of History at the Uni-
versity of Minnesota, took up his work in part during
the years 1896-7, until called away to New Orleans.
During the year 1896 the old rectory, no longer suit-
able for residence by reason of the changed conditions.
Sixth Street having become the patrol limit, and
crowded with saloons, was moved to the rear, fitted up
for the Boys' Club, and a business block erected on
Sixth Street as a future endownment of the Parish,
at a cost of $10,603.27.
In August, 1898, the Rev. George Herbert Thomas
was called to be assistant minister, and served the
Parish most acceptably until called to the Rectorship
of All Saints Church in this City.
To the great regret of the congregation, in the sum-
Saint Mark's Parish 21
mer of 1899, the Rev. Mr. Nichols received a call from
Holy Trinity Church, New York, which he felt con-
strained to accept, terminating his Rectorship on July
17th. Thereupon the Vestry extended a call to the
Rev. Thomas MacLean, of Trinity Church, Bay City,
Michigan, who accepted and entered upon the Rector-
ship on December 17th, 1899. He held the position
until Easter Monday, April 13th, 1903.
For several years the Parish had the benefit of the
services of Miss Pauline Weidensee, a trained deacon-
ess, who resigned Sept. 1st, 1905, to accept a mission-
ary appointment under the Bishop of Porto Rico.
In the fall of 1902, the financial condition of the Par-
ish was such that it was decided to increase the mortgage
on the block to $17,500, which was accordingly done.
During the summer of 1903, after mature delibera-
tion, it vv^as decided to ask the Rt. Rev. Samuel Cool<,
Edsall, D. D., Bishop of the diocese, to become Rector
of the Parish, make the Church his Pro-Cathedral and
appoint two Vicars to prosecute the work. The Bishop
accepted the oiler, and, with the concurrence of the
Vestry, appointed the Rev. Charles Edgar Plaupt,
Archdeacon of the Diocese, and the Rev. George
Heathcote Hills, of Atlanta, Georgia, as Vicars. They
took charge of the Parish on the first of September,
and, with the Bishop, were formally instituted on
September 6th, 1903.
During the year 1904, the Church was handsomely
redecorated, the system of electric lighting altered, two
large electroliers inserted, a beautiful chapel formed of
the former vestry, a new sacristy built, extensive
alterations and improvements made in the Parish
House, the approach relaid and the entire Church re-
carpeted ; the cost being about $4,200.
22 Memorial Volume
In spite of the prosperous condition of the Parish,
it was found increasingly difficult to maintain the rev-
enue, and to induce persons coming to Minneapolis
to make St. Marks their Church home. The constant
removals creating vacancies which could not be filled,
owing to the distance from the residence districts of
the city. These conditions led the members of the
Vestry to look toward the future of St. Marks with
anxiety. In the latter part of 1906, so many offers were
made for the property on Sixth Street that the Parish
was called together to consider the advisability of
placing it on the market. To many of the members
of St. Marks, not conversant with the difficulties of
the situation, the thought of demolishing the dear old
Church seemed little short of sacrilege ; when, how-
ever, the conditions were fully understood, consent
was given at a Parish meeting held on Wednesday,
January 2, 1907. A condition precedent having been
attached, that, from the proceeds of the sale, a suit-
able sum should be set apart for the erection and main-
tenance of a down town chapel and institutional plant.
The vestry having received an offer of $275,000 and
having secured the consent of the Standing Committee
of the Diocese, a sale was consummated, at that price,
with Mr. J. E. Andrus, of New York, in April, 1907.
At a subsequent Parish meeting the Committee on
Sites submitted maps and diagrams showing no less
than seven possible locations for the new Church,
After a long and full discussion, by an overwhelming
majority the meeting decided upon the location at
Hennepin Avenue and Oak Grove Street, and author-
ized the Committee to purchase the same for the sum
of $55,000 of ^Irs. H. T. Welles.
Saint Mark's Parish 23
Owing to the circumstances arising- out of the sale
and relocation of St. Marks, in the interest of har-
mony and equality among all the Parishes of the city,
the Bishop thought best to resign the Rectorship of
the Parish on January 29th, 1907. Thereupon the
Rev. C. Edgar Haupt and the Rev. G. Heathcote Hills
were elected Associate Rectors.
After mature deliberation the sum of $50,000 was set
apart in accordance with the resolution of the Parish,
for the erection and maintenance of the down-town
chapel and institutional plant; Mr. E. H. Hewitt was
engaged as architect, and active steps taken in ma-
turing plans for the new Church. At first it was pro-
posed to erect the church with a basement for the
various parish activities, leaving the Parish House for
some succeeding generation to build, but the cost of a
basement properly fitted up for such purposes, proved
to be so great, and the disadvantages so serious, that
it was decided to proceed with the erection of the
Parish House with all dispatch in the hope that it
might be completed by the time the old Church must
be vacated, and might be available for services until
such time as the new Church might be ready for occu-
On Wednesday, August 14th, 1907, the plans for the
Parish House having been adopted and a contract
for the concrete piling having been let to G. W. Oakes
& Co., Bishop Edsall, Mr. W. S. Dwinnell, Mr. George
H. Christian, Mr. J. B. Robinson, Mr. Hector Baxter, Mr.
E. H. Hewitt and the Rev. Mr. Haupt, assembled on
the site to break the ground, dedicate the enterprise,
and witness the driving of the first pile. Standing in
front of the pile-driver, with the workmen gathered
24 Memorial Volume
aromid, the Rev. Mr. Haupt conducted a short relig-
ious service and the Bishop pronounced the benedic-
tion. The contract for the superstructure was awarded
to 2\Iessrs. Pike and Cook on February 14, 1908, and
work resumed early in April.
As it was found impossible to complete the Parish
House by I'.Iay 10th, the date of the delivery of the
Sixth Street property to IMr. Andrus, the purchaser,
a contract was made with the Handicraft Guild for the
use of their hall at 89 South Tenth Street until the
end of August. Immediately after Easter, therefore,
on April 20, 1908, the work of demolishing the old
church began. The pews and furnishings were stored
at 112 Western Avenue and the lumber and materials
taken to Eleventh Street and Western x'Vvenue to be
used in the construction of the Institutional building
proposed to be erected. During the month of July the
old Church was torn down to make room for the erec-
tion of a business block. The corner-stone was un-
covered in the presence of Mr. Llewlyn Christian, Mr.
C. M. Elarrington, Mr. V. H. Van Slyke, Mr. O. W.
Miller and Mr. Geo. E. Higgins, and delivered to the
Vestry on Tuesday, July 21st, and is to be built into
the new church. The sealed box was placed in a safe
deposit vault in the custody of Mr. V. H. Van Slyke.
On Sunday, September 27th, the Parish House being
sufficiently completed to allow of the use of the audito-
rium, the building was dedicated to its uses in a special
service by the Rt. Rev. S. C. Edsall, D.D., Bishop of the
Diocese, assisted by the associate rectors. A corporate
communion of workers was held at nine o'clock, at which
thirty-nine received. The Sunday School session was
held at 9 :45 a. m., with an attendance of 132. A souvenir
RT. REV. EL
;h A s r
ITH TH Ol
I S70- 1875
Saint Mark's Parish 25
picture of the new Parish House was presented to every
child present at this service. At eleven o'clock the morn-
ing service was held with an attendance that taxed the
building-. No evening service was held until the first
Sunday in October.
Satisfactory bids having been received for the con-
struction of the Church it v/as decided early in August to
proceed with the contract for the foundation which vv^as
let to Messrs. Pike & Cook, for the sum of $8,500. On
Monday, August 17th, the building was measured and
stakes set, and the ground was broken on Thursday, Au-
gust 20. It is planned to lay the cornerstone on Sunday,
November 15, at three o'clock.
26 Memorial Volume
IRecroloQi^ anb fiDemorials
Looking back from the present into the past, through the
vista of forty years, many honorable names stand out in the
history of the Parish. First in order of time must be
placed the names of the Rev. David Buel^SIickerbacker
and John C. Reno^ to whom the beginnings of the work
The vestry assembled on April 14, 1902, to pass resolu-
tions of regret and sympathy on the occasion of the death
of Mr. Reno.
The first Senior Warden of the Parish was Mr. Wm. T.
Lee, a man of exemplary life and great generosity.
Though one of the largest contributors to the building of
the church he was not permitted to see its completion. He
died in August, 1870.
To no one man does the Parish owe so much as to the
late Henry T. Welles, a man so modest and retiring that
he left no memorial of himself, but preferred that his
works should speak for him. The Parish will but do jus-
tice to his memory and honor itself in naming the new
Parish House for him. He died March 5, 1898.
The original incorporators of the Parish, mentioned on
another page, have all passed away, with the exception of
Mr. C. M. Hardenburgh, living at Lake Minnetonka, Mr.
Jas. L. Spink, living at Big Lake, and Mr. James Muri-
son, living v/ith his daughter, Mrs. J. M. Outram, the
treasurer of the Parish.
At the opening service of the church on Christmas day,
1870, the altar, which has been used ever since, was pre-
sented by the mother of Mrs. James L. Spink, Mrs. Elisha
Eldred, of Milwaukee, Wis. The Reredos was given by
Saint Mark's Parish 27
Mrs. W. P. Westfall and Airs. H. T. Welles. The lectern
Bible and service books were presented by Mrs. Spink's
sister, Miss Sarah E. Eldred, of Milwaukee, Wis. The
Bible was illuminated by hand by Mr. T. A. Murphy, who
also presented the credence table. The altar, Bishop's
chair and sedilia were designed and the carving superin-
tended by the Rev. Mr. Bradley and made by Mr. P. T.
Winnen. They were paid for in part by the Ladies' Aid
Society, who furnished the carpet and hassocks. The
pulpit was made by the same man and from the same wood,
supplied by some of the unused_ seats, about the year 1893.
In addition to his large subscription to the building of
the church, a private communion set was presented to the
"Rector of St. Mark's," by the Rev. E. G. Gear. The
cross which for so many years adorned the altar of St.
Mark's was the gift of Sister Christina (Sarah Hallett
Bovey), of the Sisterhood of the Holy Nativity. During
a visit to her relatives in Minneapolis, Sister Christina
gave an address in St. Mark's Guild Room, and it was
after this visit that she presented the cross, she having
been confirmed in St. Mark's Church by Bishop Whipple.
She died greatly beloved by the members of her order, at
the age of 36 years, a martyr to the cause.
Upon the death of Mrs. Wm. T. Lee five thousand dol-
lars were left to the Parish, forming what has since been
known as the Mary C. Lee Fund, the income of which was
directed to be administered by the Rector of the Parish for
the benefit of needy women and children, and has proved
a most valuable supplement to the communion alms in the
hands of the clergy. The fund was received in November,
1882, and is still intact, though a large portion of it has
yielded no income for years through the default of one of
the mortgagors. The revenue is about $20 a month.
28 Memorial Volume
The font, though not a memorial in name, stands as a
witness to the devotion of a poor widow, a woman sculp-
tress, Mrs. M. H. Peasley, who went to Chicago, selected
the marble and made the font herself, charging only for
The carved woodwork over the organ door by the font
was made from the design of Mr. Harry Robinson and
presented by the Ladies' Aid Society.
The brass lectern was presented by the young people of
the church about the year 1893.
In April, 1896, the St. Hilda's Guild presented the two
brass standard lights with which the sanctuary is illumin-
Of the altar furnishings one set of fair linen was pre-
sented by Miss White, and one set by Mrs. W. B. Folds,
who purchased it and had it embroidered while she was in
The memorial silver now in use in the celebration of the
Holy Communion was procured during the rectorship of
the Rev. Mr. Nichols. One of the chalices was presented
by Mrs. John Bigelow, in memory of Mr. Wells Gardiner,
one of the incorporators of the Parish. The Flagon is a
memorial to Lavinia Jackson Neiler, presented by her
children, April 22nd, 1893. The Credence Patten is a
memorial to Emma V. A. Lockwood ; and the Baptismal
Shell was given in loving remembrance of Carleton H.
Corse, born^July 12, 1892, died January 24, 1894.
A very handsome cabinet for the fair linen and altar
hangings, made of antique oak in Gothic design, with
drawers of red cedar, was presented by Mrs. H. T.
The Altar Desk was given as a thank-offering in 1903,
by G. Heathcote Hills.
Saint Mark's Parish 29
In 1904, Mrs. Hovey C. Clark presented the altar and
furnishings for the chapel, and Mrs. H. T. Welles gave
the chapel chairs. The very handsome altar cross and
vases, the v>^ork of Geissler & Company, were given in
1906 as a memorial to Henrietta Welles, by her mother,
Mrs. Henry T. Welles. They were used for the first time
on Easter Day, 1906.
The processional cross v/as presented by Mr. Charles M.
Harrington, junior warden, and was carried for the first
time on the first Sunday after Easter, 1907.
There are ten memorial windows in the church, the most
important of which are in the transepts. On the north
side is a very handsome La Farge window, representing
the Madonna San Sisto and bearing the inscription "In
Memoriam Marian Reno Darrah, born July 28, 1817;
died August 8, 1869." On either side of this window is a
smaller one in very beautiful glass, with a medallion of a
child head in each. One bears no inscription and the
other reads "In Memoriam Mary Linton, born January
29, 1867, died July 26, 1867."
In the south transept, where the rays of the sun bring
out all their brilliancy, are the Christian, Case and Snider
windows. The former representing the Christ as the Light
of the world and bearing the inscription, "In loving mem-
ory of Mary Ellen Hall, wife of J. A. Christian." The
Case window is inscribed with the words, "In loving mem-
ory of Miriam Case, born January 3, 1878, died November
1, 1887." The Snider window bears the words "In affec-
tionate remembrance of Robert Samuel Snider, born Feb-
ruary 19, 1882, died April 15, 1883." In the north isle is
the Spink window, inscribed "In memoriam Alice Spink,
died 1864. James Herbert Spink, died July 18, 1867." In
the north transept is the Lee window, with the inscrip-
30 Memorial Volume
tion, "In memoriam Wm. T. Lee, First Senior Warden
of this church. Died August 28, 1870. Thou good and
faithful servant ; thou hast been faithful over a few things,
I will make thee ruler over many things." Next to the
Lee window is the Collins window, inscribed "In memori-
am Eliza Collins, died August 8, 1869." In the entrance
of the chapel is a fine piece of glass of conventional de-
sign bearing the inscription "In memoriam Edward Brad-
ford Barnes, 1866-1895. I will give you rest."
Though not among the original incorporators of the
Parish Mr. R. B. Langdon soon identified himself with
its affairs and was an active and faithful vestryman from
October, 1870, to the date of his death, July 24, 1895.
The large brass alms basin was presented by Mrs. Lang-
In November, 1879, Mr. Charles Walke, vestryman
and treasurer of the Parish at the time, was called to his
rest to the deep regret of his associates.
In January, 1885, the vestry was called together to ex-
press its sense of loss and regret over the death of Mr.
VoLNEY S. Ireys, for many years a vestryman and valued
counsellor of the Parish.
It is obviously impracticable to give a complete list of
the members of the Parish who, through all these years
have fought the good fight and do now rest from their
labors, but mention must be made of Hiram C. Trues-
dale; Mrs. Gertrude (Darragh) Linton; Eliza D.
Christian; Thomas Sidney Outram, for many years
the treasurer of the Parish; and Mrs. Sarah Ann Wil-
kinson. During the past year we have been called upon
to mourn the departure of John Charlton, John Dun-
ham and Frederick Paine, for many years a vestryman
and lay reader, secretary of the standing committee and
a most devout and faithful communicant.
Saint Mark's Parish 31
Mr. Clarence H. Childs is chairman of the ushering
committee, being assisted by Mr. Howard S. Abbott, Mr.
Hector Baxter and Mr. V. H. Van Slyke, of the vestry-
men, and also by Mr. Wm. H. Keller, Mr. G. S. Pearce,
Mr. Roy Shippam, Mr. George Lindsey McKewin and Mr.
Fred Robinson, the latter serving in the evening and on
The position of an usher is not always an agreeable one,
for persons are sometimes not as considerate of each other
as they should be and a late comer is sometimes disposed
to blame the usher if his or her pew is occupied. Although
pews are assigned in St. Mark's, to enable families to sit
together, and for convenience, yet they are not rented
and owned by their holders, and persons who are not in
their seats when the service begins may very properly be
considered absent for that service and their seats vacated.
The ushers give their services gratuitously and are en-
titled to the utmost consideration. They will always be
happy to rectify any mistake that may unwittingly occur,
when politely requested to do so. Attendance in the
House of God is an act of worship, courtesy and considera-
tion are due to our fellow worshippers, and this we bespeak
from all to all.
32 Memorial Volume
St. Mark's church is supported chiefly by the weekly
pledges of its members. Since the day when St. Paul
wrote his famous admonition to the Corinthians, no better
plan for the support of the church has been devised. Some
exceptions are made in the case of those who prefer to
make a subscription and pay it each quarter. As a means
of indicating what the pledges should be the finance com-
mittee prepared a plan of the church showing the sittings
and the amount each should return in order to cover the
necessary expenses of maintenance. No one is denied a seat
who is unable to pledge the full amount asked for the sit-
ting, but it serves as an indication of the necessity for an
adequate pledge. Persons are assigned seats with some
reference therefore to the pledge they are able to make.
When a pledge is received by the treasurer it is immediate-
ly numbered and the person making it receives a package
of envelopes bearing that number and dated for each Sun-
day in the year, from April 1 to March 31. If any person
misses a Sunday in attendance the amount of the pledge
should be put in the envelope, sealed and brought the next
Sunday. If a number of Sundays intervene, the treasurer
prefers that the full amount in arrears be put in the en-
velope of the date to which payment is made and the past
due envelopes destroyed. As there are a number of objects
for which the Diocesan Council has designated special of-
fering there will be found envelopes of a different color,
properly numbered and dated for these special objects.
These envelopes should not be used for the payment of the
pledges for Parish support, but serve as monitors to recall
these special offerings in their order and should contain the
Saint Mark's Parish 33
amount each person desires to contribute to the object
named. No pledge is too small if it worthily represents
the devotion of the subscriber. In determining what the
pledge should be, neither the necessities of the Parish nor
the pledge of one's neighbor should be the determining
factor. The question is simply "How much owest thou
unto thy Lord ?" It is a matter of proportion. Our duty
to our God precedes our duty to our neighbor, and our
pledge for the support of the church should bear a due
proportion to our income. The law of tithe has never
been repealed and is the minimum for persons in moderate
circumstances; persons in affluence should use a larger
ratio. "Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that
there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now here-
with, saith the Lord of Hosts, if I will not open you the
windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that
there shall not be room enough to receive it."
34 Memorial Volume
FINANCIAL STATEMENT— EASTER, 1908.
ST. MARK'S CHURCH.
Receipts for Year Ending March 31, 1908.
Current pledges $ 6.678.66
Old pledges 402.72
Plate offerings 780.81
Special subscriptions 55.00
Communion alms 232.67
Late offering for circle fund 9.50
Kindergarten and Deaconess 420.00
Choir outing fund 94.46
Late Easter offerings 43.45
Loan St. Mark's building 2,550.00
Lighting of Parish House 18.40
Miscellaneous receipts 1,715.33
Total receipts $13,117.00
Cash on hand April 1, 1907 1,392.71
$ 14,509.71 $ 14,509.71
Church expenses, current year:
Salaries of Rectors $ 4,800.00
One-half Treasurer's salary 200.00
Salary of Deaconess 290.00
One-half wages of Janitor 255.00
Fuel . 571.67
Insurance, interest and taxes 279.74
Printing ■ • • 155.53
Miscellaneous, including supplies,
care of organ, postage, laundering
vestments, etc 381.52
Total disbursements $ 9,469.53
Cash on hand March 31, 1908 139.02
Total $ 9,608.55 $ 9,608.55
Saint Mark's Parish 35
Payment for special purposes:
Breck school $ 44.00
Seabury Divinity school 34.15
Building, church 7.85
Sheltering Arms 122.17
St. Barnabas hospital 33.05
General missions 591.00
Aged and infirm clergy fund 143.15
Church home for aged 27.72
Diocesan treasurer 887.50
Bills payable 1,000.00
Missionary thank offering 233.50
Lake Benton burned church 20.37
Special subscriptions 23.00
Circle fund and Kindergarten 862.00
Church Extension Society 532.25
Special fund, Bishops and Rectors
including communion alms 339.45
Total special payments $ 4,901.16 $ 4,901.16
Total $ 14,509.71
CHURCH BALANCE SHEET.
Cash on hand $ 139.02
Unpaid pledges 390.00
Balance due bills receivable 102.80
Total assets $ 631.82 $ 631.82
St. Mark's building loan $ 3,150.00
Total liabilities $ 3,150.00 $ 3,150.00
ST. MARK'S BUILDING.
Rents $ 6,830.00
Interest on deposits 16.22
Total receipts $ 6,846.22
Cash on hand April 1, 1907 34.98
Total $ 6,881.20 $ 6,881.20
36 Memorial Volume
Loan to St. Mark's church $ 2,550.00
One-half Treasurer's salary 200.00
One-half Janitor's wages 255.00
Insurance, interest and taxes 1,837.49
Total disbursements $ 5,735.27
Cash on hand March 31, 1908 1,145.93
Total $ 6,881.20 $ 6,881.20
BUILDING BALANCE SHEET.
Due from St. Mark's church $ 3,150.00
Unpaid rent 256.67
Cash on hand 1,145.93
Total assets $ 4,552.60 $ 4,552.60
Mortgage indebtedness $ 10,500.00
Total liabilities $ 10,500.00 $ 10,500.00
The large amount of cash on hand in the church treasury,
viz., $1,392.71, at the close of last fiscal year is explained by
the fact that Easter Sunday, 1907, occurred on March 31,
1907, and the Easter offering taken on that day had not yet
All of which is respectfully submitted,
THE CHURCH WARDENS AND VESTRYMEN,
H. S. Abbott, Chairman Finance Committee.
Dated at Minneapolis, Minn., April 1st, 1908.
The condition of the several Trust Funds of the Parish,
for the year ending April 1st, 1908, is as follows:
Organ Trust Fund.
To amount of trust, no interest credited $ 2.00
Saint Mark's Parish 37
Tower Trust Fund.
April 1. To amount of trust, per annual
report, 1907 $ 65.91
To interest accumulated since
last report 3.72
April 1. By amount in Farmers' & Me-
chanics Svgs. Bank $ 18.03
By B. F. Raymond's first mort-
Endowment Trust Fund.
April 1. To amount of trust per annual
report, 1907 $1,359.01
To interest accumulated during
April 1. By amount in Farmers' & Me-
chanics' Svgs. Bank $ 350.86
By B. F. Raymond's first mort-
Mary Lee Trust Fund.
The dwelling, 2829 Columbus Ave., representing $1,500 of
this fund, continues to be rented at $20.00 per month. The
income is paid to the clergy for charity work. The Jackson
mortgage, representing the balance of this fund, or $3,500.00,
has been settled this day by an understanding with Mr. A. B.
Jackson, by which he deeds the land to the Parish and the
Parish cancels the debt.
Chairman Trust Funds Committee.
38 Memorial Volume
^be SuuDai? Scbool
The condition of religious education in America is
exceedingly unsatisfactory. The Public Schools have
been thoroughly secularized, and there is very little
systematic religious instruction even in Christian
homes. Practically the only agency for the religious
instruction of the children, apart from Church boarding
schools, is the Sunday School. Its importance cannot
be over emphasized, and its efficiency should be in-
creased in every possible way.
"Ye shall teach these statutes unto your children."
Parents, do not neglect the religious instruction of
It is but justice in this place to acknowledge the
faithfulness and devotion of the ofificers and teachers
of the school. For many years our faithful Lay Super-
indendent, Mr. Hector Baxter, has not missed a Sun-
day except when out of the city or when called away
to read the service in some vacant mission station.
Teachers of the Sunday School are justly entitled to
the consideration of parents whose children they train
in matters of religion, with no compensation other
than the joy of a good conscience and often without
any expression of appreciation. Parents are asked
to call on the teacher of their child and to co-operate
with the school by seeing that the lesson is learned
at home and that the discipline of the school is en-
THE OLD SAINT MARKS
Saint Mark's Parish 39
Every Scholar present Every Sunday.
Every Scholar present On Time.
Every Scholar studying the lesson at home.
Every Scholar saying private prayers at home.
Every Parent helping the Scholars in the home work.
Graded Course of Studies.
Grade 1 — Stories from the Old and New Testament, and the
Grade 2 — Bible stories. The Church Catechism, illustrated.
Creed, Lord's Prayer, Ten Commandments.
Grade 3 — The Church Catechism, illustrated.
Class cf 1913.
Grade 4 — Old Testament stories. — First year. Memoriter
work, Text. Selections from the Psalms and the Beati-
Class cf 1912.
Grade 5 — Old Testament stories. Second year. Memoriter
work, Text. Books of the Old Testament.
Class of 1911.
Grade 6 — Life of Jesus Christ. Junior Historical. Memoriter
work, Text. Books of the New Testament.
Class of 1910.
Grade 7 — Life of Jesus Christ. Senior Historical. Memoriter
work, Collect, Names of Apostles, Matt, x, 2-4, 1 Cor., 13.
Class of 1909.
Grade 8 — Acts of the Apostles and Life of St. Paul. Memor-
iter work, Collect for the Day.
Bible Classes — Studies elective.
40 Memorial Volume
The course of instruction his been carefully arranged for
the 40 Sundays, from September 6th to June 6th. Any child
who misses one lesson breaks the sequence of the course and
is a loser thereby.
Lay Superintendent — Hector Baxter.
Secretary — Wilson L. Gould.
', Assistant Secretary — Charles Alcock.
Treasurer — Stevens Crouse.
Miss Edith M. Pye.
' Mrs. D. F. Thompson.
Miss Florence Gibson.
Miss Audrey Homan.
Miss Ethel Shippam.
Miss Irene Taylor.
Grade III. Old Testament.
Mr. Stevens Crouse.
Miss Grace Powers.
Grade IV. Old Testament.
Miss Violet Hills.
' Mr. Roy Shippam.
Grade V. New Testament.
Miss Gertrude McGraw.
Grade VI. New Testament.
Miss L. E. Miller.
Miss Marion R. Gould.
; Miss Beatrice Hills.
Saint Mark's Parish 41
Grade VII. Acts cf the Apostles.
Mr. Geo. W. Terry.
Miss Mabel Wilkinson.
Miss Lilian W. Newlin.
Miss Katharine Carle.
Mr. Arthur Zacke.
Mrs. C. H. Grouse.
Mrs. R. H. Passmore.
Rev. C. E. Haupt.
The enrollment of the Sunday School at Easter,
1908, was: Officers, 4; Teachers, 21; Scholars, 163.
Report of St. Mark's Sunday School from May 1st, 1907,
to May 1st, 1908:
Balance on May 1st, 1907 $148.59
From offerings 243.38
From offerings 56.81
To Sunday School expenses $124.34
To Easter offering, 1907 114.41
To Advent offering, 1908; 47.92
To assessment, 1908 8.00
To Easter offering, 1908 127.43
To balance May 1st, 1908 $ 26.68
Amount of fund $100.32
42 Memorial Volume
JUNIOR AUXILIARY OF THE SUNDAY
As every member of the Church is a member of the
missionary organization, every member of the Sun-
day School is a member of the Junior Auxiliary to
the Board of Missions. It holds its sessions on the
Third Sunday of each month at the close of the lesson
for the day. The offering of that day is given to some
missionary object as voted by the Juniors. All the
classes are named for a Missionary Bishop. The offer-
ings at Easter are given to the Board of Missions for
the salary of the Rt. Rev. Jas. H. Van Buren, D. D.,
Bishop of Porto Rico, and at Christmas to Bishop Ed-
sall for work in the Diocese of Minnesota.
Secretary — Miss Marie Tombler.
Treasurer — Mr. Roy Shippam.
Primary — Bishop Griswold, Saliiia.
Intermediate — Bishop Paddock, East Oregon.
]\Ir. Crouse — Bishop Rowc, Alaska.
Miss Powers— Bishop Funston, Idaho.
IMiss Hills — Bishop Greaves, Kearney.
Mr. Shippam — Bishop Ristarich, Honolulu.
Miss McGraw — Bishop Aves, Mexico.
Miss Miller— Bishop Mann, North Dakota.
Miss Gould — Bishop Keator, Olympia.
Miss Hills— Bishop Van Buren, Porto Rico.
Miss Newton — Bishop Moreland, Sacramento.
Miss Wilkinson — Bishop Brooke, Oklahoma.
Mr. Terry — Bishop Brent, Philippines.
Miss Carle — Bishop Roots, Hankow, China.
Mr. Zacke — Bishop Spalding, Utah.
Mrs. Crouse — Bishop Hare, South Dakota.
Mrs. Passmore — Bishop Gray, South Florida.
Mr. Haupt— Bishop Wells, Spokane.
REV. SIDNEY CORBETT, D D.
RECTCR I 875 TO I8S0
Saint Mark's Parish 43
REPORT OF THE TREASURER OF THE JUNIOR
AUXILIARY OF THE SUNDAY SCHOOL OF ST.
MARK'S CHURCH, MINNEAPOLIS.
Easter, 1907, to Easter, 1903.
Balance on hand Easter, March 31, 1907 $12.38
Offering April 20, 1907 5.15
Offering May 19, 1907 3.79
Offering September 15, 1907 3.02
Offering October 20, 1907 3.64
Offering November 19, 1907 4.43
Offering December 15, 1907 4.40
Valley Forge offering 54
Offering January 28, 1908 3.81
Offering February 16, 1908 4.03
Offering March 15, 1908 4.23
March 20, 1907. Bishop Van Buren $ 5.00
Bishop Funston 5.00
Bishop Aves 5.00
September 15, 1907. Bishop McKim 5.00
P. O. Money Order 08
December 15, 1907. Valley Forge church 5.00
Advent offering Bishop EdsalL... 10.00
Bishop Spalding 1.00
Balance on hand $13.29
44 Memorial Volume
THE ALTAR GUILD.
The care of the Altar in the early days was chiefly
in the hands of committees appointed from time to
time. During the incumbency of Doctor Wells, Airs.
Wells did a large part of the work herself, bring as-
sisted at the great festivals by ladies specially ap-
pointed for the occasion.
In 1896 the Chancel Guild under the direction of
the Rev. H. P. Nichols, was organized as follows :
St. Mark's Chancel Guild, 1896.
Rev. H. p. Nichols, Rector.
Mrs. H. T. Welles, President.
Mrs. E. I. Whittlesy, Vice-President.
Miss F. S. Welles, Treasurer.
The Service Committee was composed of twelve
members of the guild — two serving together one
month in every six — the work was directed by Mr.
Six or seven members of the Parish gave liberally
to the work of the guild, others as associate members
paid one dollar a year.
White flowers were placed on the altar the first Sun-
day of the month by the guild.
The guild paid for the laundrying of the surplices of
the rector and the assistant.
Cards were printed and sent to two members of the
service committee at the end of each month notifying
them that they should be on duty the following month.
Mrs. Frederic Paine had charge of the hangings and,
with Mrs. Whittlesy, embroidered the set of white
Saint Mark's Parish 45
Mrs. H. T. Welles gave the green and purple hang-
ings and the oak cedar lined cabinet for the use of the
I'.Irs. R. B. Langdon gave an embroidered fair linen
cloth. The guild presented Mr. Nichols with a cas-
Rev. T. W. McLean, Rector.
Mr. McLean met with the chancel guild giving help-
ful talks on the work. Mrs. S. B. Meader was Choir
Miss Martha Hilliker had charge of the linen for the
altar and two or three members in turn did the laun-
Mrs. C. F. Welles was appointed chairman of the
committee on memorial flowers as it was her sugges-
tion that members of the parish be asked to give mem-
orial flowers for each Sunday in the year.
Mrs. W. B. Folds got designs in England for the
small linen pieces for the altar and had them worked
in Switzerland when spending a summer there and
gave them to St. Mark's on her return.
They are now used on Christmas and Easter.
Rev. G. Heathcote Hills.
The Altar Guild was organized in 1903 by the Rev.
George Heathcote Hills, with an active membership of
about 25. The officers are: President, Mrs. A. W.
Abbott; vice-president, Miss Catherine Welles ; sec-
retary, Mrs. Geo. P. Case ; treasurer, Miss Elsie Stone.
There are several important committees, each having
its special duty. The committee on clergy vestments
and altar hangings, jMrs. Howard McL Morton, Miss
46 Memorial Volume
Welles and Miss Higgins, take full charge of the ward-
robes and closets in the sacristy. The choir vestments
are in charge of Mrs. Perry L. Norris, and the com-
mittee on brass and silver, Miss Gibson, Mrs. Patten,
Mrs. Pierson and Mrs. G. W. Case, burnish the com-
munion silver and brasses once every month.
The committee on flowers, Mrs. Howard McI. Mor-
ton, Mrs. Hudson, Aliss Wilkinson and Miss L. E.
Miller, order the flowers for the altar, notify the per-
sons who have memorial Sundays and attend to the
distribution of them to those who are ill in the Parish
or to the hospitals. The plan of placing flowers upon
the altar in memory of our departed relatives or
friends has proved a success, as is evidenced by the
fact that there are thirty memorial Sundays out of
The service committee is composed of twenty-four
members, two of which are on duty every month, and
who take charge of the arrangement of the sanctuary
every Sunday. These members fill the altar vases with
flowers, arrange the Communion service, mark the les-
sons, light the candelabra and see that everything is
in its proper place at the close of service.
The members of the Service Committee are as fol-
January — Mrs. Roy Pierson, Miss M. L. Edsall.
February — Mrs. Howard McI. Morton, Miss Flor-
March— Miss C. J. Welles, Miss Laura E. Miller.
April — Mrs. W. S. Dwinnell, Mrs. Geo. Case.
May— Mrs. Clive T. Jaffray, Miss Beatrice Hills.
June— Mrs. George E. Leach, Mrs. Walter G. Hud-
Saint Mark's Parish 47
July — Mrs. Higgins, Miss Mabel Wilkinson.
August — Mrs. Wm. Passmore.
September — Mrs. H. McI. Morton, Miss Florence
October — Miss Elsie Stone, Miss Lutie Reade.
November— Mrs. C. E. Lyman, Mrs. A. W. Abbott.
December — Mrs. Jewett, Mrs. Holbrook.
Through the efforts of the Guild, the women of the
Parish presented the Rectors with handsome black silk
cassocks on Christmas, just passed. These were much
needed and greatly appreciated.
48 Memorial Volume
The following is a list of communicants of the Par-
ish at Easter, 1908. It is published in the hope of
correcting the list. There are 123 names that can-
not be found in the directory or identified. When
persons remove without notifying the clergy of the
change in their address their names must of necessity
be taken from the card index and held in suspense
until the publication of the next directory or some
circumstance reveals their location. Some mistakes in
this list are to be expected and will gladly be corrected
when pointed out. Persons who have brought no
letters of transfer may be disappointed in not finding
their names here. The clergy will be most happy to
take the necessary steps to add the names of any per-
sons who desire, and who should be enrolled as com-
THE LAW WITH REFERENCE TO REMOVALS.
Canon XIV, Sec. 1. A communicant of this Church
changing by removal or otherwise his or her parochial
connection, shall present a certificate from the Clergy-
man of the Parish of his or her last residence, or, if
there be no Clergyman, from one of the Wardens,
stating that he or she is. a communicant in good stand-
ing; and the Clergyman of a Parish into which a com-
municant removes shall not be required to record his
or her name on the Parish list until such a letter of
commendation shall be delivered or a satisfactory rea-
son given why such a letter cannot be obtained.
REV. THOMAS B. WELLS, D. D.
RECTOR 1880-189 1
Saint Mark's Parish
Sec. 2. It is made the duty of every communicant,
by the Canon of the General Convention, to apply on
removal, for a certificate of his or her standing. This
letter of commundation, if not presented in six months
from date, may be held to be void, and is not to be
used as a general testimonial.
Austin, Mrs. Isabelle McHugh
Austin, Miss Isabelle
Austin, Mr. Charles Carlise
Ames, Mrs. E. B.
Austin, Miss Sarah E.
Anderson, Mrs. (Douglass)
Austin, Mrs. Helen Eunice
Ainsworlh, Mrs. S. C.
Ainsworlh, W. G.
Appelby, William Remsen
Appelby, Mrs. Elizabeth W.
Abbott, Helen Griswold (Mrs. A.
Abbott, Mrs. E. T.
Abbott, Mrs. Mabel Louise
Abbott, Mary Louise (Mrs. Howard S.)
Appleton, Mrs. F. G.
Atkinson, T. S.
Atkinson, Miss Minnie
Abbott, Howard S.
Abbott, Miss Helen
Anderson, Wm. Austin
Anderson, Isabel B.
Arnold, Daisy Frances
Abbott, Elizabeth Marie
Aylmer, Arthur Lovell
Aylmer, Henrietta G. (Mrs. A. L.)
Baxter, Cornelia Barnes (Mrs. H.)
Barber, Jennie M. (Mrs. H. H.)
Brooks, Caroline (Mrs. W. F.)
Brown, Margaret G. (Mrs. C. E.)
Burhyte, Mrs. R. S.
Burhyte, Jennie, married G. V. McHugh
Beck. Mrs. G. R.
Beck, James Flournoy
Bigelow, Julia B. (Mrs. J.)
Beck, Miss Lillie
Brown, John Franklin
Brown, Sophia Littlejohn (Mrs. J. F.)
Brown, Thomas Littlejohn
Brown, Mrs. Eliza R.
Brov/n, Samuel Potter
Brown, Miss Ida
Brown, Harriet Stuart
Brown, Dorothy Wyngate
Black, Ellen Louise
Burghart, Peter Stanislaus
Burghart, Florence P. (Mrs. Robin-
Birch, Hannah Marie (Mrs. Geo.)
Birch, Margaret A., married F. Emery
Bushnell, Miss Alice H.
Beach, John Parson
Becke, G. W.
Barnard, Harriet E. (Mrs. J. F.)
Baring-Gould, E. O.
Bas?, Osmond B.
Bassett, Mrs. W. L.
Bassett, Jay B.
Bird, Harry Howard
Barr, Catherine Madeline
Be Vier, Flora Haley (Mrs. W.)
Benedict, Dora Dean (Mrs. E. D.)
Bowen, Margaret May
Bowen, Nelson F.
Bowen, Rachel Maud
Bowen, Mildred Louise
Benedict, Mrs. Louise
Baldwin, Dwight M., Jr.
Baldwin, Edith Sheehan (Mrs. D. M.)
Baldwin, Rose E.
Bichford, Mary Priscilla
Barnes, Ella May (Mrs. Spencer)
Bock, Clarence Francis
Christian, George Henry
Christian, Mrs. Leonore
Christian, George Chas.
Case, Julia (Mrs. Pratt)
Clarke, Margaret L. (H. C.)
Cleveland Miss Anna Jane
Cleveland, Annie (Mrs. John)
Clerihew, Mrs. A. E. (Forman)
Childs, Clarence H.
Case, George Price
Case, Chas. Merrett
Christie, Mrs. Harriet M.
Cosad, Miss Lida
Christian, Miss Mary Anna
Childs, Mrs. C. H. (Henshaw)
Charlton, Miss Eleanor
Christian, Mrs. Catherine A.
Clarke, Samuel S.
Clarke, Harvey Charles
Charlton, Miss Hannah Thompson
Campbell, Francis Chandler
Campbell, Merrill (Mrs. F. C.)
Carleton, Miss Mary
Caplin, Miss Grace
Caplin, Miss Jessie Florence
Chrystie, I. May
Caverly, Miss Emma
Colby, Miss Gertrude Kline
Crouse, Mrs. Jessie E.
Crouse, Charles Stevens
Childs, Mrs. Jane A.
Clark, Mrs. Ilucinda Frances
Cook, Bell (Mrs. Elbridge C.)
Campbell. Violet A. (Mrs. H. D.)
Cheney, Florence C. V.
Cosner, Leon Alesster
Cosner, Mrs. L. A.
Cornell, Lmwood Hay
Cornell, Ada Pearly (Mrs. L. H.)
Chalgren, Leonard Theodore
Chalgren, DoUie M. (Mrs. L. T.)
Cress, Margaret Carroll
Collins, Edna Elizabeth
Chandler, Gertrude Burbank
Crowell, Albert Bruce
Camp, Karl William
Courtenay, Charles Arnold
Courlenay, Edith lane (Mrs. C. A.)
C.o"/ley, Helen Abehard, (Mrs. C.)
Crilly, Hale Luzerne
Comstock, Edgar Francis, Jr.
Congdon, Violet May (Mrs. D. G.)
Cook, Henry Wiseman
Cook, Ellen Davenport (Mrs. H. W.)
Dunham, Mrs. Mary E.
Dibble, Mrs. R.
Drew, Mrs. Anna F.
De Cou, Lorenzo A.
De Cou, Mrs.
Dwinnell, Stanley Worthington
Dupew, Beulah Irene
Dexter, Hattie Shaw (Mrs. Fred)
Dwinnell, William Stanley
Dwinnell, Virginia (Mrs. W. S.)
Dwinnell, Ann Katherine
Emmel, Miss Dorcas
Edsall, Rt. Rev. Samuel Cook
Edsall, Grace Harmon (Mrs. S. C.)
Edsall, James K.
Edsall, Mary Louise
Edsall, Samuel Harmon
Eckman, Eric Morris
Fletcher, Fannie P. (Mrs. F. F.)
Fletcher, Frank F.
Forman, Frank W.
Forman, Mary J. (Mrs. F. W.)
Foote, Frank B.
Freman, Lillie J. (Mrs. H. G.)
Foote, Mrs. C. M.
French, Miss Alice
Futcher, Miss Florence
Futcher, Stanley Meredith
Folwell, Sarah H. (Mrs. W. W.)
Folwell, Mary Heywccd
Saint Mark's Parish
Folwell, Russell Heywood
Folwell, William Bainbridge
Folwell, Wm. W.
French, Mrs. Harriet Christian
Flather, Mrs. J. J.
Fuller, Miss Anna
Fox, Mrs. Frances A.
Fridley, Mrs. Ella L.
Fridley, Elizabeth A.
Fagg, Charles Alfred
Forsbery, Ruth Alfhild
Forsbery, Ellen Fredrica
Follett, Herbert C.
Fox, Charles R.
Eraser, Spencer Lee
Eraser, Adele E. (Mrs. S. L.)
Frost, Mrs. Florence
Gear, Emillie Louisa
Gear, Grace Bertha
Gibson, Sophia (Mrs. Henry W.)
Gibson, Florence Nettie
Graham, Mrs. B. F.
Greenleaf, Miss Lillian S.
Green, Ella S.
Green, Elizabeth Ellen
Gould, Martin M.
Gould, Julia A. (Mrs. M.)
Gould, Mr. Wilson L.
Gould, Miss Edna H.
Gould, Miss Marian R.
Graham, Grace C. E. (Mrs. G.)
Graves, Pauline Estelle
Graves, Sarah Wood
Gruber, Lida (Mrs. John D.)
Girling, Amy Ernestine
Hardenbergh, Charles Morgan
Hardenbergh, Mrs. Mary (Lee)
Hardenbergh, B. (Mrs. J. W. Jones)
Hardenbergh, Ernest Lee
Hallowell, Morris L.
Hallowell, Mrs. M. L.
Hallowell, William P.
Hallowell, Agnes H. (Mrs. W. P.)
Hallowell, Grace R. D.
Hall, Miss Catherine A.
Hurd, Helen W. (Mrs. B. C.)
Hatch, Mattie E. (Mrs. C. F.)
Holbrook, Franklin G.
Holbrook. Bessie (Mrs. F. G.)
Higgins, George E.
Hempstead, Mrs. Anna Jane (W.)
Hempstead, (Mrs. Clark)
Harris, Miss Jennie L.
Hughes, Miss Mary
Hinkle. Lucile A. (Mrs. W. H. Foote)
Hinkle, Edward F.
Harrington, Charles Medbury
Harrington, Grace (Mrs. C. M.)
Henshaw, Miss Esther Holt
Hays. LilHe J.
Higgins, Mrs. G. E.
Hull, Louis K.
Hardenbergh, Elsie (married)
Hallam, Willian Henry
Hallam, Dorcas E. (Mrs. W. H.)
HilHker, Miss Martha A.
Hawley, Miss Helene Bassett
Hughes, Miss Caroline
Hempstead, Hugh Campbell
Higgins, Louise May
Hardenbergh, Clarence Morgan
Hood, Emma S. (Mrs. C. H. Allen)
Hunter, H. A.
Heywood, Sarah S. (Mrs. D. W.)
Harrington, Leonore B. (married Wal-
ter G. Hudson)
Holbrook, Gordon G.
Hodgson, Wells Gordon
Heitman, Miss Grace L.
Hall, Charles A.
Hall, Mary A. (Mrs. C. A.)
Harrison, Mrs. Anna
Haupt, Charles Edgar
Haupt, Alexandra V. (Mrs. C. E.)
Hills, George Healhcote
Hills, Beatrice H.
Hills, P. Heathcote
Hills, Violet H.
Hambley, Rebecca Christine
Hart, Birdie, married R. P. Stanton
Hawksett, E. O.
Hawksett, Margaret E. (Mrs. E. O.)
OF THS CHUPrn V
6S416 OF LATTfcR-DA: :.. ,
MY 14 13S4
Hall, Katherine Helen
Hood, Mary Matzeh
Hewitt, Edwin Hawley
Hill, Francis Henry
Hill, Ann Carlisle (Mrs. F. H.)
Hodel, Mary (Mrs. A.)
Hodel, Earl Alexander
Haupt, Alma Cecelia
Hoag, Katherine Vera
Hoag, Una Mary May
Ireys, Nellie (Mrs. V. S.)
Ireys, Miss Harriet Bailey
Ives, Emma Crockett (Mrs. S. E.)
Ireys, Charles Goodrich
Ives, Edith, married R. P. Woodworth
Ireys, Beatrice G., married S. W. Wells
Jones, James Willis
Jackson, A. B.
Jackson, Eugenie (Mrs. A. B.)
Judd, W. (Mrs. W. B.)
Jaffray, Clive Talbot
Jaffray, Madeline Palmer (Mrs. C. T.)
Judd, Mrs. W. S.
Jillson, Mrs. Daisy Garland
Jillson, Harry Garland
Jewett, Mrs. Ethel Watson
Johnson, Ethel Josephine
Jones, Addie Marie
Jensen, Clara Chapman (Mrs. P. J.)
Jones, Lee Hall
Keller, William H.
Keller, Mrs. W. H.
Keller, F. L., married F. J. Morley
Keyes, Eva Loveland (Scranton)
Keyes, Leslie Scranton
Keyes, Malcolm Douglas
Kennedy, Mrs. Mary
Kitsman, Myrtle A.
Keller, Miss Lottie
Kelley, Frances (Mrs. A. B.)
Knowles, John Alder
Lee, William Henry
Langdon, Sarah A. (Mrs. R. B.)
Lyman, Mrs. S. N.
Lamb, C. L.
Lewis, Miss Mary L.
Lyman, Alice Mitchell (Mrs. C. E.)
Linton, A. R.
Luce, W. L.
Leach, Mrs W. B.
Leach, George Emerson
Leach, Walter C.
Levings, William H.
Levings, Mrs. W. H.
Larrabee, Mrs. Anna (Pratt)
Leonard, William Edward
Leonard, Elsie Preston
Lindgren, Jno. Edw.
Leonard, Miss Sarah E.
Leach, Pearl V. (Mrs. G. E.)
Lockren, William A.
Lord, Mary Crosse
Lindgren, Ollive N. E.
Larrabee, Weldon Cary
Lammers, Ottilie Louise (Mrs. F. E.)
Lyman, George Nelson
Lawson, Anna May
Meader, Mrs. Sarah B. (Birdsall)
Meyers, Mary E.
Meyers, Alice Maud (married Mr.
Mabey, R. D.
Modisette, John Austin.
Modisette, Frances (Mrs. J. A.)
Modisette, Katherine S. (married Ed-
Morris, James Thomas
Morris, Lucy Wilder (Mrs. J. T.)
Mabey, Mrs. R. D.
Morton, Howard Mcllvain
Morton, Lucretia J. (Mrs. H. McI.)
Martin, Frederick S.
Martin, William S.
Martin, Mary Louise
Martin, Edith Matilda
Marshall, Myrtle Elinore (Mrs. H. E.)
Mulford, Mrs. Jeanette (married Mr.
Malcolm, Edith Maud
Meader, Miss Elizabeth Amy
Malcolm. Mrs. H. W.
Saint Mark's Parish
Meriam, Miss Mabel
Moelchart, Mrs. A. I.
Moelchart, Wilhemina (married Chas.
Moore, Fred Earle M.
Musgrave, John H.
McKewin, George Lindsay
McEachren, Annie Roy
McKirdy, H. J.
McKirdy, Alice J. (Mrs. H. J.)
McKirdy, Gladys (married F. S.
Miller, Otto W.
Miller, Charlotte (Mrs. O. W.)
Miller, Sarah Ottola
Miller, Laura Ernestine Girling
Mortimer, Anna May
Mortimer, Hazel Leticia
Mounts, Georgianna Passaw
McMillan, Edith Charlotte
Morton, Mrs. Annie Eliza Wats
Morton, Mary Wetherill
Miller, Henry Andrew
Matthews, Bessie Louise
McKirdy, Dagner Elenora (Mrs. H.)
Murphy, Dempster Ostrander
Moist, Mabel St. Clair (Mrs. S. E.)
Moist, Minard Samuel
McKewin, Mrs. Emma Lindsay
Marshall, Herbert Lloyd
Neill, Mrs. Lily Lamb EHza
Neill, Charles H.
Nieler, Mary L.
Norton, Mrs. Delia Whiting
Norris, Carrie Anna (Mrs. P. L.)
Nagle, Mrs. Phillips
Norton, Miss Katherine Estella
Northrop, Annie D. (Mrs. E. B.)
Northrop, Eton Biers
Northrop, Ruth Emmons
Nelson, Ada May
Nevins, Louise Macalester
Norling, Carl Oscar
Norling, Harriet Bates D. (Mrs. C. O.)
Outram, Mrs. J. M.
Oliver, Mabel (married H. A. Marsh)
Olson, Mary E. (Mrs. J. P.)
Ovenshire, Mrs. Hariel Bates
Pettit, Frank R.
Pettit, Mrs. Emma F. (F. R.)
Peacock, Mrs. J. H.
Paine, Mrs. Grace B. M.
Passmore, Sarah M. (Mrs. R. H.)
Paine, Ellen Addell (Mrs. J. M.)
Paine, Miss Elizabeth Allen
Pratt, Mrs. Helen A.
Phelps, Jesse B.
Phelps, Frances S. (Mrs. J. B.)
Parshow, Mrs. John
Pick, Mrs. Eva B.
Peake, Allen G.
Payne, Florence Delia
Patterson, Cara Estelle (Mrs. J. W.)
Passmore, Marian B. (Mrs. W.)
Pearce, George S.
Pearce, Mary J. (Mrs. G. S.)
Passmore, George Hunter
Pierce, Edward Brooks
Power, Mrs. Adeline Marie
Power, Faith Marie
Passmore, Eric William
Reno, Alexander Nimich
Roberts, Jane C. (Mrs. T. S.)
Roberts, George Franklin
Roberts, Ella Sophia (Mrs. S. F.)
Reeve, Christine (Mrs. C. McC.)
Reeve, Chas. McC.
Reid, Mrs. Jennie H.
Rogers, Mrs. J.
Rishmiller, John Henry
Royce, Mrs. Mary P.
Reid, Bessie May
Rotschka, Chas. C.
Rohl, Chas. Clarence
Rohl, Harold A.
Reade, Miss Lutie H.
Robbins, Goldie Ella
Robinson, John B.
Robinson, Margaret (Mrs. J. B.)
Robinson, Fred Hilton
Robinson, Grace E.
Ramsey, Barbara J. (married Edgar F.
Robinson, Lois Margaret
Ruth, Pearl Elmira
Rutty, Violet May
Snider, Samuel P.
Snider, Mrs. S. P.
Snyder, Frank C.
Snyder, Mrs. Lillian B.
Snyder, Mrs. Mary (Ramsey)
Smith, Chas. Hatch
Sanford, Chas. Edward
Stone, Jacob, Jr.
Snider, Ethel Alice (married J. O.
Schomberg, Mrs. K.
Schomberg, May Louise (married
Stone, Miss Elsie
Schrader, Carl Peter
Stacey, Ellen (Mrs. Wm. W.)
Stacey, Hannah Wayman
Schrader, Mrs. Wilhelmina
Strange, Mrs. \V. M.
Smith, Elizabeth Marian
Stebbins, Mrs. Mary B.
Stacey, Mrs. E. P.
Steele, Elizabeth L. (Mrs. E. M.)
Shivel, Grace F. Bennett (Mrs. C.)
Schroeder, Geo. Fred
Smith, Mrs. Randall
Smith, Kate Louise
Smith, Geo. Harold
Shippam, Mrs. Amelia
Shippam, Ethel May
Stanchfield, Florence M.
Seaman, Miss Susie A.
Spurrill, Esther Laura Ella
Sawyer, Ruby Catherine
Sloan, Renwick T.
Shepherd, Myrtle Irene
Shaw, Ethel Bogan (Mrs. Jno. E.)
Silvester, Jennie M. (Mrs. A. E.)
Sharp, Sara H.
Shippam, Harry Grover
Shelton, Miss Alice May
Swinburn, Cordelia Evelyn
Swinburn, John Alfred
Smith, Emma J.
Spratt, Ethel Louise (Mrs. C. M.)
Stodhart, Marjorie Elizabeth
Searle, Cicel Julius
Sawyer, Katherine K. (Mrs. L. P.)
Thayer, Mrs. Sophia P.
Thayer, Miss Kate S.
Turner, George N.
Turner, Mrs. G. N.
Truesdale, Martha L. (Mrs. H. C.)
Tiffany, Mrs. W. C.
Tinker, Mrs. E. H.
Tinker, Arthur A.
Tuttle, William Beach
Thompson, Sidney F.
Thompson, Mrs. S. F.
Twine, Emma Elizabeth
Trotman, Walter G.
Trotman, Ida M. (Mrs. W. G.)
Trotman, Sinclair F.
Tinner, Helen A. Y. (Mrs. A. A.)
Saint Mark's Parish
Thropp, Walter H.
Taylor, Irene Marion
Thompson, Geo. Van O.
Turner, John W.
Turner, Emma (Mrs. J. W.)
Turner, Sarah H.
Truesdale, Sarah Helen
Turner, Frederick Buel
Turner, Nellie Nettie
Tanton, Miss Sarah
Tombler, Mary Louise
Tombler, Gladys Martha
Terry, George \V.
Van Derlip, John Russell
Van Slyke, Vader H.
Van Slyke. Ella Geo. (Mrs. V. H.)
Van Dyck, A. R.
Van Buren, Mrs. Amy E.
Van Slyke, Lois Clarke
Welles, Mrs. Zemska Howard
Welles, Catherine Z.
Welles, Caroline Eliz.
Wells, Annie E. (Mrs. T. B.)
Wells, Annie J.
Wells, Frederick Brown
Wetmore, Ellen T. (Mrs. T.)
Walker, Elizabeth A. (Mrs. P. E.)
Weir, Andrew C.
Weir, Alice A. (Mrs. A. C.)
Welch, Elizabeth Jones (Mrs. C. G.)
Williams, Mrs. Sallie E.
Wilcox, Alice Hurd (Mrs. A.)
Whiting, Kate V/. (Mrs. N. P.)
Weeks, Thomas Edwin
Weeks, Mrs. T. E.
Witmarsh, Sarah Caroline
Wood, Helen Edith (married C. E.
Welles, Carrie Sweet (Mrs. C. F.)
Welles, Margaret (Mrs. R. Pearson)
Welles, Leonard Robin
Ware, Sarah Louise (married T. B.
Williams, Elizabeth May
Wallace, Carleton Lyman
Wallace, Amy Maud (Mrs. C. L.)
Welch. Jane Wilkes (Mrs. W. M.)
Welch, Rosina Louise
Wilber, Irene (Mrs. C. H.)
Willson, Walter Doty
Willson. Mrs. W. D.
Weaslerby, John K.
Weint, Fannie Mary
Weint, Clara Frances
Wilkinson, Sarah H.
Wertz, Mrs. G. C.
Wentworth. Virginia (Mrs. H. H.)
Woodward, Miss Grace
Wheeler. Helen Larraine
Wilkinson, Mabel M.
Whipps, Charles H.
Whipps, Anna E. (Mrs. C. H.)
Whipps, Ruth B.
Whipps, Marian B.
Wale, Mrs. Annette W.
Werner, Anna O.
Wilber, Frances Mildred
Wilber, Charles Henry
Wilber, Anstice Irene
Watson, Elsie (Mrs. A. B.)
Watson, Jeannette Blanch
Wheeler, Frederick Porter
Wendler, Mrs. Ethel F.
Young, Marie Louise
Young, Kaiherine Graham
Young, Margaret Agnes
Zache, Arthur F. •
56 Memorial Volume
The music of the Church is so rich and plays so
important a part in the rendering of our worship to
God that nothing short of our very best can ever sat-
isfy the conscience or the taste of the members of St.
Marks. To this end the Vestry has spared no pains
to make the choir as efficient as possible.
The history of the choir dates back to the day of the
opening of the Church at Christmas, 1870, of which a
contemporary newspaper says, "The musical effect was
very fine. There were two choirs consisting of four
male voices. Decani — Messrs Spaulding, Tucker, Wil-
liams and Reeve. Cantoris — Messrs. Turney, Chase,
Jacobson, and Rogers." Messrs. Chase, Williams and
Spaulding were the soloists of the occasion.
In the early records of the Parish under date of
Oct. 10, 1870, appears the following minute : "The
Committee on Music was authorized to procure the at-
tendance of an omnibus to convey the ladies to and
from the rehearsals at an expense not to exceed two
dollars for each attendance." At the consecration serv-
vice in 1871, Mr. J. H. Clark, presided at the organ.
A boy choir was introduced very early in the history
of the Parish which was trained by Mrs. T. A. IMurphy,
now living in New York, but with her departure it fell
In 1874, the music was placed under the care of Mr.
M. D. Coykendall and Mr. Henry Ives was engaged
as organist at a salary of $350 a year. On April,
1879, Prof. Chas. S. Cushing was engaged as organist
at $100 a year. In February, 1880, the Music Com-
Saint Mark's Parish 57
mittee seems to have been thrown into some conster-
nation by the resignation of Mr. Chas. B. Walke, bass
singer, and in March they reported to the Vestry that
they had engaged four singers at three dollars apiece
for each Sunday. In April, 1892, Mr. A. M. Shuey was
engaged as organist and a chorus choir substituted for
the soloists at a cost of about $2,000 a year. At Easter,
1895, a limit of $1,400 was placed upon the expendi-
ture for music and it was decided to pay the organist
a fixed salary instead of giving him a lump sum. His
salary was placed at $600. At Easter, 1896, Mr. Shuey
rp'oigned and Mr. Porter became organist. In 1897,
Miss Charlotte A. Hewitt was engaged as organist at
a salary of $1,200; the music being supplied by a
quartet of male and female voices. Later Mr. George
H. Normington used to come from St. Paul to drill
some boys. Miss Hewitt resigned on April 6, 1899, and
Mr. Normington took charge of the choir. It consisted
of about twenty boys, six or eight women and about
ten men. A year later it was decided to make it ex-
clusively a boy choir and the female voices were
omitted. Mr. Normington's personality was such that
he surrounded himself with lovers of good music and
the proficiency of the choir steadily increased.
The appreciation in which the choir was held can
best be expressed by a minute appearing in the records
of the Vestry on March 8, 1902 : "Whereas the music
rendered at the various services of the Church in this
Parish during the past year has been of unusual excel-
lence and has given unqualified satisfaction to the
Rector and Officers, as well as to the congregation,
of the Parish ; and whereas we recognize that the re-
sult is due to the unselfish devotion of the members of
58 Memorial Volume
the choir, as shown by their regularity of attendance
and earnest efforts in discharging the duty assumed
by them, under the leadership of ]\lr. Normington.
"The Vestry of the Parish hereby extends to the
choir the gratitude of the Parish for the services so
conscientiously rendered, and assures its members that
their contribution in this manner to the support of
the Church is fully appreciated, and is as valuable and
helpful as any that can be given toward carrying on
"The Vestry take this opportunity of thanking Mr.
Normington for his unremitting application to the
work undertaken by him, and of congratulating him
upon the remarkable success which has attended his
In 1903, the Rev. Mr. Hills was made chairman of
the Music Committee of the Vestry and directed its
works. Sacred cantatas were rendered during Lent
and on the first Sunday evening of each month, which
were given with great effectiveness and proved very
popular, but, combined with the outside work Mr.
Normington was doing, the strain proved too great.
A case of nervous prostration was the result and Mr.
Normington, to the great regret of the Parish and all
his friends, was obliged to seek a complete rest and
change on a ranch in California, where his health has
been completely restored. Through his efforts and
the kindness of Miss Kate J. Welles, the grand piano
was purchased which is in use by the choir.
After his departure Mr. Fred Brown, one of his
pupils, did good work in supplying the vacancy but
the choir missed the thrill of the spirit of its master
and soon fell away. Mr. Gordon Graham was then
Saint Mark's Parish 59
called to the position of organist and choir master
and entered upon a very difficult task. The changing
conditions of the city, making St. Mark's more and
more deserted as a down-town church, increased the
difficulty of getting boys. The expedient was there-
fore resorted to of paying the car fare of a limited
number of the boys. This at once removed the diffi-
culty and enabled the choir master to secure the neces-
sary voices. It also, by means of fines and deductions,
furnished a method of discipline which has been most
effective. From that time the choir has taken on new
life and enthusiasm and has done very excellent work.
The musical services have been revived on the last
Sunday evening of each month and during the past
Lenten season the choir has rendered with excellent
efifect: Gounod's "Messe Solennele," Mendelssohn's
"Hear My Prayer," Maunder's "Olivet to Calvary,"
Selections from Oratorios, Dubois' "Seven Last
Words," and Stainer's "The Crucifixion."
GORDON GRAHAM, F. G. O.,
Organist and Choirmaster.
Soloists — Eugene Callender
George Allen, Victor Covell
Philip Mortimer, Dudley Covell
Sopranos. Russell Crowther
David Shearer, Alto. Albert Davies
Charles E. Learned, Charles Davies
Tenor. James Dwinnell
Percy C. Long, Lewis Frary
Walter T. Wilmot, Gordon Graham
Bass. Louis Glenske
Sopranos — Norwood Hall
George Allen Warren Hayford
Robert Andersch Lester Hardin
Clarence Bock John Hefty
Reginald Braddick Paul Haupt
Cyril Braddick Edwin Jones
A. H. Crosby
C. M. Chappell
A. W. Davies
Charles E. Learned
F. H. Lawson
George R. Ringrose
Percy C. Long
G. W. Terry
C. E. Wellnar
Walter T. Wilmot
The Choir meets for practice on Friday evenings,
at 7:30 p. m. Other practices are for boys on Mon-
day afternoons from 4 to 5 o'clock, on Saturday morn-
ings from 9 to 10.
Saint Mark's Parish 61
Jibe Moman'6 auxtltarp
The work of the women of St. Marks Parish began
while they were still in the Chapel, corner Fourth
Street and Hennepin Avenue, and after it was decided
to build the church on Sixth Street, its beginning and
mode of work was similar to that of other churches
starting under the same conditions. It was a large
undertaking and much must be done by all interested
to bring about the hoped for results. A church was to
be built, equipped, and furnished with that which w^as
necessary for a decent and orderly service in the house
of God. For this equipment and furnishing the women
set to work with a will and a determination not to fail
on their part through any lack of courage or faith in
ultimate success. At this time no outside work was at-
tempted. The struggle was for St. Marks ; and a hard
one it was, demanding much careful thought and active
service from all. The meetings were, in a way, in-
formal. They had no especial officers, and were held
from house to house. The plan was to get and fill orders
for sewing, knitting or any other thing they could do.
Meetings were held each week during the working
season, in the afternoon. Experts on certain lines,
would take home unfinished work and bring it back
completed. Mrs. Hardenberg's specialty was button
holes, and Mrs. Secomb, then Mrs. Tomlinson, did con-
siderable knitting. In the early times there were social
gatherings once a month, the women having a little
supper together and the men joining them in the
evening. As the little band of workers enlarged, sup-
62 Memorial Volume
pers became impracticable and the social evening,
though still continued, was independent, but still one
feature of the woman's work — church sociables, they
were called — and they met at such homes as could ac-
commodate the larger gatherings. All were welcome.
Old friends met, and new comers were made acquainted
and invited to help. Light refreshments were served
and all had a pleasant time. Mrs. W. T. Lee was an
important factor in those days and did the work of an
official president. Mrs. H. T. Welles, Mrs. James
Spink and Mrs. Tomlinson afterwards served in the
same capacity. Other women who worked in those
early times, and who will always be gratefully re-
membered for faithful service, were Mesdames Hatha-
way, Hardenberg, Langdon, Westfall, Camp, Tyler,
Ames, Murison, and scores of others too numerous to
mention here. The seed they planted is bearing its
The work continued to be done from house to house,
with the occasional sociable long after St. Marks
Church was finished and furnished and the women
had ceased to work only for themselves. Missionary
work was started for those clergymen of our own
diocese who needed help, Bishop Whipple giving us
the names. This was the work being done in 187L
The society grew and was at this time the only one
in St, Marks. It became more formal, had a name,
a president and a secretary and treasurer. The name.
Ladies' Aid Society, was chosen. After a time the
work for missions increased and our big work basket
became too large and heavy to carry from house to
house. So the meetings were held for the most part at
the Rectory next the Church, Mrs. T. B. Wells being
Saint Mark's Parish 63
a most efficient and ready helper. Others prominent
at this period, and for several years after, were Mrs.
Dunham, Mrs. Neill, Mrs. Lockwood, Miss Goundie
and Mrs. Hawley. Later still, Mrs. Bacon, Mrs. Wol-
ford and Miss Christy, who for a long- period was sec-
retary and treasurer of our parish branch. Mrs. Bar-
nard who succeeded Miss Christy, served faithfully,
and with zeal and earnestness until obliged to leave
In 1882, the Diocesan Council of Minnesota was
held in Christ Church, St. Paul. Dr. Wells was at that
time rector of St. Marks. Miss Cornelus Jay, of New
York, had come to Minnesota in the interest of the
Board of Missions to try to establish a diocesan
branch of the Woman's Auxiliary here. She was in
St. Paul at the time of the council. The women of
St. Marks knew very little, if anything, of the Wo-
man's Auxiliary and its methods of work. Nor were
the different rectors much better informed. Dr. Wells
met some of St. Marks women who were at Christ
Church that day, among- them Mrs. W. B. Folds
and told them that a meeting- was being held in the
interest of Missions and asked Mrs. Folds to repre-
sent St. Marks, at that meeting. She did so, with this
result. She became the first general secretary, when
Mrs. Mayo, of St. Paul, was made President, and
St. Marks' Society became a Parish branch soon after.
The Parish has been well represented since, in the
Woman's Auxiliary. Mrs. Folds did good and careful
work for many years as secretary. At present Mrs.
Hector Baxter is President of the Diocesan branch.
Mrs. Hovey Clarke, Vice-President, of Minneapolis
convocation, and Mrs. Hallani is general treasurer of
64 Memorial Volume
the United offering fund, — all women of St. Mark's
church. In 1906, Mrs. S. B. Meader, President, the
name Ladies' Aid Society was changed to Woman's
Aid and Auxiliary to Board of Missions. A constitu-
tion and by-laws was framed for more satisfactory
working. In the twenty-five years of membership,
St. Marks branch has done good and efhcient work.
Many large and valuable boxes have been sent out,
struggling Sunday schools and churches helped with
money and books. Contributions have been made
to church periodicals, society mite boxes given out and
contents collected and sent to the general board in
New York. St. Barnabas Hospital and Sheltering
Arms Orphanage have had of our time and work and
help has been given in other ways. This article must
not close without an expression of thanks to the
members of St. Hilda's Guild, whose ready help in
every line of need has been so freely and cheerfully
given and whose interest in our work has never ceased.
In the all-day meetings held each Friday the two
societies are as one, all interests combined in good fel-
lowship and harmony.
SARAH B. MEADER,
President— Mrs. Sarah B. Meader.
Vice President — ^^Mrs. C. F. Clark.
Secretary and Treasurer — Mrs. P. L. Norris.
REV. HARRY P. NICHOLS, D. D
RECTOR I 891 -I 899
Saint Mark's Parish 65
St lbtlba'9 (Built)
In the early part of Mr. Nichol's pastorate, what
had been known as the "Young Ladies' Society," was
reorganized and the name changed to St. Hilda's
Guild. At that time the older women of the Parish
were doing very effective work of a missionary char-
acter and as there seemed great need for furnishings
in both Church and Parish House, the Rector thought
it well for the younger women to take as their main
object this department of Church work. And so St.
Hilda's Guild was formed as a sort of Rector's Aid and
to supply Parish needs, and the name of the sainted
young woman who founded the famous Monastery at
Whitby, A. D. 668, and there spent her life in God's
service was chosen as most appropriate. The first
president was Mrs. C. M. Harrington, and Miss Alice
Keller was secretary and treasurer.
Among the furnishings purchased through the ef-
forts of the Guild may be mentioned a handsome table
and chairs for the robing room, the standard lights in
the Chancel, the brass ewer and font cover, carpet and
rugs, Choir vestments and many improvements in the
equipment of the Parish House, besides a yearly con-
tribution of fifty dollars or more for Christmas and
As time has gone on St, Hilda's has broadened its
field somewhat though still holding in the main to its
original purpose. Two cots in the children's Ward at
St. Barnabas Hospital are taken care of by the Guild,
the Industrial School and Kindergarten have secured
substantial aid and other worthy charities entirely out-
66 Memorial Volume
side the Parish boundaries have been helped by gifts
of money, articles for sale, etc. Valuable assistance
has been rendered from time to time in the entertain-
ment of the various Parish and Diocesan organizations
meeting at St. Marks. The Guild meets on each Fri-
day during the winter and its funds are raised by an
annual sale of mincemeat and other good things to
eat, by entertainment, and needle work, in fact in any
legitimate way that presents itself.
The absorbing interest just at present is the fur-
nishing of the New Parish House where it is hoped
that, with an enlarged membership and an ever grow-
ing loyalty, St. Hilda's Guild may do more effective
work and become increasingly an aid to the Rectors
of St. Marks.
SARAH H. CHILDS, Secretary.
ST. HILDA'S GUILD.
President — Mrs. W. S. Dwinnell.
Vice-President — Miss I. Ross.
Second Vice-President — Mrs. H. W. Gibson.
Secretary and Treasurer — Mrs. C. H. Childs.
Mrs. V. H. Van Slyke Mrs. Hovey C. Clarke
Mrs. C. M. Harrington Mrs. M. W. Strange
Mrs. John Flather Mrs. George Trotman
Mrs. W. H. Gibson Mrs. W. H. Hallam
Mrs. P. L. Norris Miss Bessie Chrystie
Mrs. G. E. Higgins Mrs. C. H. Childs
Mrs. W. S. Dwinnell Mrs. C. E. Haupt
Mrs. C. W. Shivel Mrs. A. W. Abbott
Mrs. L. F. Clark Mrs. J. B. Robinson
Mrs. Wm. Passmore Mrs. Hurley
Mrs. Willis Jones Mrs. I. M. Lewis
Mrs. J. S. Pearce Miss M. P. Bickford
Mrs. C. T. Jafifray Miss L Murphy
Mrs. S. W. Patton Mrs. L L. Corse
Mrs. J. V. McHugh Mrs. W. R. Appleby
Mrs. H. McL Morton Mrs. D. M. Baldwin
Miss L Ross Mrs. E. B. Murphy
Mrs. H. S. Abbott
Saint Mark's Parish 67
Financial Report for Year Ending April 18, 1908.
Cash on hand March 25, 1907 $465.32
Membership fees 15.00
Sale of mince-meat, fancy articles, etc 475.71
Sundry receipts 11.61
Interest on deposits 21.57
Total receipts $989.21
Expenses connected with sales $213.51
Christmas and Easter decorations 50.00
Contribution to furnishing room W. C. A. Home 10.00
Florence Crittenton Home 5.00
Rent of sewing machine 1.25
Postage and stationery 2.77
Total disbursements $332.53
Total cash on hand 656.68
SARAH H. CHILDS,
68 Memorial Volume
Z\)c ^onm lPeopIe'0 Sodeti?
On Shrove Tuesday at a social meeting of the young
people of the Parish the desire was expressed to band
the young people together into an organization for
the purpose of working for the new Church. The or-
gan fund was selected as the definite object for which
the young people would work and an organization was
President — Mr . Geo. W. Terry.
Vice-President— Miss S. E. Miller.
Secretary — Miss Florence Gibson.
Treasurer — Mr. Roy Shippam.
Miss Louise Higgins, Miss Gertrude McGraw, Miss
Mabel Wilkinson, Mr. De Lloyd Barber, Mr. W. L. Gould,
Mr. Fred Robinson.
Saint Mark's Parish 69
Zbe irnbU9trial S3cbool
St. Mark's Sewing- School began its work in the early
80's. The motive which led to its organization was,
that children of over-burdened mothers might learn to
mend and make their own garments, relieve the strain
at home, and carry back habits of industry and clean-
liness as a contribution to the family comfort. Mrs.
Samuel Austin, and Miss Kate Welles gathered the
first members of the school from homes situated in
North Minneapolis. They, with Mrs. E. C. Whitney,
Mrs. Calver, and Airs. Thomas B. Wells, formed the
first corps of teachers, and inaugurated the work. Ma-
terial on which the novices were to do experimental
work, and finally to fashion garments, was supplied by
Mrs. H. T. Wells, Mrs. R. B. Langdon, Mrs. George
H. Christian, and Mrs. Charles McC. Reeve.
So imperfect were the conditions of the room which
had once served for a small Parish School, that it was
a question whether it were better to be smoked out
or frozen in ; there was no water supply or ventilation.
The Rectory kitchen became to the children a familiar
resort from which to procure hot and cold water, soap
and towels, that work might be at least begun with
clean hands ; and sometimes apples and oranges.
The classes once started increased from their own
momentum ; so that accommodations considered mea-
gre for forty children, adapted themselves to the serv-
ice of seventy-five. With the increase in members,
came additional teachers, many of them served faith-
70 Memorial Volume
fully for years, but as the record of their names is lost,
it would be invidious to mention any of those which
one recalls, lest one precious name be temporarily for-
The lack of ventilation is this overcrowded room
made the services of the teachers a more than ordinary
sacrifice, but they were rewarded by the results, which
sent the older pupils home with well made garments
and the younger girls with kitchen towels for mother
and handkerchiefs for themselves. Cards were distrib-
uted in recognition of faithful attendance, from which
texts were learned and recited ; some few of the chil-
dren became members of St. Mark's Sunday School.
It was the purpose of Dr. Wells to interest the Sun-
day School children of St. Marks in those of the Sew-
ing School — that instead of receiving gifts on Christ-
mas, they might give them, to those less favored than
themselves. The outcome of the work has been satis-
factory: Young women from dress-making establish-
ments, glove factories, and glove remodeling, and re-
pairing in stores, seamstresses, who sow in families,
and those in other needle-service, not infrequently in-
troduce themselves to teachers to thank them for the
instruction, which directed them to a means of support.
While very recently a prosperous, happy looking wo-
man stopped an old teacher in the street to introduce
herself, and to thank her for having ripped out her
work so often when she was teaching her how to
sew at St. Marks, because she said, "Now I am proud
of the way my children's clothes look, and last."
The necessities of this sewing school, added to Dr.
Wells, interest in providing a Guild House which
should be a center for varied church work. When it
Saint Mark's Parish 71
was completed in 1901, the Sewing School comfort-
ably housed, entered on a new career under new man-
agement, and new officers.
The teachers in those early days were Mrs. Chas.
F. Hatch, Mrs. George Jones, Miss Caroline Hall, Mrs.
C. McC. Reeve, Mrs. W. B. Folds, Mrs. John Dunham,
Mrs. Meyer, Miss Richardson, Mrs. Wetmore, Miss
Goundy, Mrs. Hovey C. Clarke, Miss Anna Cleveland,
Mrs. H. W. Hurd, Mrs. Hector Baxter, Mrs. F. Paine.
These friends of the children gave their services from
time to time, under the leadership of Mrs. T. B. Wells.
After the death of Doctor Wells the management of
the school passed into the hands of Mrs. Wm. Jones
who for nine or ten years carried it on with great suc-
cess and efficiency. Mrs. Jones was succeeded in the
management of the school by Mrs. A. W. Abbott, the
present Directress, who for years has devoted herself
to it with the affection of a mother. In addition to the
usual instruction in plain sewing, the children who
have attended for a number of years and have attained
sufficient proficioncy are promoted into a garment
class under a trained instructor, where they are taught
to cut and fit garments and when made are permitted
to keep them upon paying for the cost of materials.
There has also been provided a cooking class under
an expert instructor, for the older girls. The school
is always opened with religious exercises and the sing-
ing of hymns. During the year the children have
memorized the Commandments. The closing exercises
of the season were held on Saturday, April Uth, when
the children were presented with a beautifully printed
card containing the Ten Commandments, through the
kindness of Mr. Otto W. Miller, they received their
72 Memorial Volume
prizes, were delightful entertained with stories told by
Miss Stella L. Wood, and sang- a number of songs from
Mother Goose in which they had been trained by Mrs.
ST. MARK'S INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL.
Mrs. A. W. Abbott
Miss Louise Higgins
Mrs. Thomas Brown Miss Kate Welles
Miss Anne Wells Miss Katherine Carle
Miss Mary Martin Mrs. H. L. Renne
Mrs. L. F. Clarke Mrs. J. A. Gould
Mrs. E. Barnhart Mrs. G. S. Pierce
Mrs. A. E. Clerihew Mrs. Asa Wilcox
Mrs. C. H. Crouse Miss Emma J. Smith
Mrs. J. B. Phelps Mrs. Frederick Paine
Miss Florence Gibson
Teacher in Singing
Mrs. C. E. Haupt
Teacher for German Class
Number of scholars enrolled, 166
Largest number present, 112
Smallest number present, 85
Saint Mark's Parish 73
FINANCIAL REPORT OF ST. MARK'S INDUSTRIAL
From November 1, 1907, to March 1, 1908.
C. E. Haupt (Circle Fund) $35.00
Mrs. Dunham 1.00
Mrs. H. S. Abbott 1.00
General Reeve 5.00
Mrs. C. M. Harrington 25.00
Mrs. R. B. Langdon 5,00
General Reeve 10.00
C. E. Haupt (Circle Fund) 15.00
Mrs. Vanderlip 25.00
Mrs. Schrepel for 22 lessons $66.00
L. S. Donaldson & Co., merchandise 16.74
J. W. Thomas & Co., merchandise 2.20
Mrs. Siever, laundry 2.00
Dayton's Dry Goods Co., merchandise .54
New England Furniture Co., table 4.50
Dayton's Dry Goods Co., merchandise 2.45
L. S. Donaldson & Co., merchandise 11.61
John A. Schlener & Co., books 4.00
L. S. Donaldson & Co., merchandise...' 4.04
John A. Schlener & Co 85
L. S. Donaldson & Co 3.75
J. W. Thomas & Co 1.40
L. S. Donaldson & Co 3.67
J. W. Thomas & Co 1.50
HELEN G. ABBOTT.
74 Memorial Volume
During the summer of 1904, it became possible
through the generosity of Mrs. Henry T. Welles to
separate a portion of the Parish House from the main
hall, by means of rolling partitions, thus forming a
convenient kindergarten room and JMiss Kate J. Welles
gave six hundred dollars to guarantee the support of
the Kindergarten for the first year. Miss Margaret
Baxter was secured as kindergartner and a beginning
made on Tuesday, September 6th, 1904.
St. Mark's Kindergarten was opened the first Mon-
day in September, 1904, The attendance was small at
first until it became thoroughly understood that it
was free and open to all. Many personal calls were
made and the meaning and intention of the Kinder-
garten explained. There were some who needed to
be convinced that it was not too much trouble to get
the children ready in the morning — as it seemed much
easier to turn them out to run the streets unwashed
and uncombed and these were the children who needed
most to be reached. On the whole, however, the op-
portunity was eagerly grasped and appreciated. The
enrollment has averaged about thirty, with an attend-
ance that has varied with weather and health condi-
tions. The children reached have been mostly from
the streets and alleys of the down-town district. Some
have come from middle-class homes while we had a
few tuition children who were glad to come because
it was the nearest kindergarten. There have been
many others who have had to be clothed in order to
make it possible for them to come, as for instance, the
small boy who came one morning when the frost was
Saint Mark's Parish 75
heavy on the sidewalks in his bare feet, because he had
no shoes, and the little girl who came one bitter cold
morning with her dress frozen stiff, her mother hav-
ing washed her only dress had not given it time
to dry, and many other cases of this kind. It was soon
found that in order to help the children we must begin
with the mothers. The Another's Club has been an
important part of the work. The club was organized
in January, 1905. There were about fifteen present
at the first meeting and the attendance has been near
that number except on special occasions. We have
met monthly and have tried to make the meeting help-
ful in a general way; we have had speakers on subjects
of interest to all mothers — Miss Stella Wood and
Miss Nettie Waite on subjects pertaining to the home
training of children. Dr. Anna Hurd on "First Aid to
the Injured," Judge John Day Smith on "The Juvenile
Court," etc. Mrs. Grace Graham is now president of
the club and we are confident that much good work
will be done under her leadership. The assistants for
the Kindergarten have been chosen from the Senior
class of the Normal Training School. Miss Jessie
Angst, the first year ; Miss Ruth Northrup, the second
year; Miss Leila Brown, the third year; and Miss
Bertha Lyon, this last year, have done their part to
help the work along. We feel that the new field will
open up larger opportunities for work and hope for
great things in the new building in the fall.
MARGARET BAXTER, Director.
76 • Memorial Volume
Zhc (Birrs (Builb
The Girls' Guild was organized in 1903, by Mrs.
Hoppock, and a group of girls of from ten to fifteen
years. These girls sewed for different church charities
and visited the Sheltering Arms.
In 1904, Mrs. Carrington assisted Mrs. Hoppock
and the same work was carried on on a larger scale.
There was more social life and a gymnasium class was
started in connection with the Guild.
In 1905, the Guild was made a working branch of
the Junion Auxiliary with Miss Wilkinson as Direct-
ress, Miss Carle as Vice Directress. The Guild sewed
for home and foreign missions as directed by the State
Secretary and studied foreign missions.
As working branch of the Junior Auxiliary the
Guild has continued through 1906-7 and 1907-8, carry-
ing on the same lines of work. The meetings have
been held once a week with a social meeting once a
month. In addition to the mission work. Thanksgiving
and Christmas boxes have been sent to poor families
discovered by the personal effort of members of the
Guild. The membership has been small, but the mem-
bers very faithful and hard working.
In 1906-7, Miss Carle was Directress, Mrs. Carring-
to. Vice Directress. In 1907-8, Alma Haupt succeeded
Mrs. Carrington as Vice Directress.
Saint Mark's Parish 77
St. inr0ula'0 (Built)
St. Ursula's Guild was organized in the fall of 1907,
for the purpose of bringing into closer relationship
with each other and the Church, the young girls of
the Parish. It is at present composed entirely of mem-
bers of the Bible Class and the younger teachers, but
any young lady connected with the Sunday School
is eligible. There are twenty-one members, most of
whom are charter members. During the year of its
existence the Guild has raised through entertainments
and dues seventy-six dollars and ninety-three cents
and looks forward to increased activity the coming
year. The officers are:
Directress — Mrs. C. H. Crouse.
Vice-Directress — Miss Ethel Shippam.
Secretary — Miss Violet Hills.
Treasurer — Miss Marie Tombler.
Beth Benedict Cordelia Swinburne
Mrs. Crouse Fannie Schibsby
Ellen Forsberg Ethel Shippam
Ruth Forsberg Maude Smith
Marian Gould Susie Seaman
Violet Hills Marie Tombler
Audrey Homan Alice Tombler
Kathleen Nimmo Gladys Tombler
Grace Power Frances Wilbur
Faith Power Helen Wilcox
Grace Robinson Marion Whipps.
78 Memorial Volume
St. nDark'6 30^5 Club
Shortly after his acceptance of the rectorship of St.
Mark's Parish in 1892, the Rev. H. P. Nichols sug-
gested to the St. Marks Chapter of the Brotherhood of
St. Andrew that it take up the project of establishing
a Club for boys, who, by reason of their employment
or their residence in the down-town districts surround-
ing St. Marks Church, seemed in need of helpful in-
fluences. Preparatory to the opening of the Club simi-
lar institutions in New York and elsewhere were stud-
ied as working models and various committees were
appointed to undertake the preparations for the open-
ing of the Club and for carrying it on when established.
The first quarters of the Club were in rooms situated
under the Parish House. One large room was used
as a combination gymnasium and playroom, while a
smaller room was fitted up as a reading and game
room; and in an adjoining space a small shower-bath
was installed. Within the first year of the Club's life,
further space was added for the manual training work.
Here for several years the Club work was carried on
by such men as Charles W. and George R. Folds, Dr.
T. E. Weeks, C. M. Carpenter, George R. Lewis, C.
H. Childs and others, with Mr, Nichols always ready
with helpful and encouraging suggestions. Numeri-
cally speaking the Club was successful from the open-
ing evening; indeed, it soon became necessary to limit
the number of members in order to accommodate those
who seemed to derive the most benefit from the Club.
Strenuous times were experienced by some of the first
REV. SAMUEL COOK EDSALL,
Saint Mark's Parish 79
workers until their supremacy was established and
"the Western Avenue gang" learned that it could
neither "rule nor ruin."
A small membership fee was always charged, with
an additional fee for certain class work. In addition
to the opportunity for physical work in the gymnasium,
classes were started in reading, writing, spelling, and,
later, in bookkeeping. Shortly after the Club was
started the students of the Shattuck School presented
it with an outfit of tools and benches for use in manual
training work and to the last this feature of the Club
work drew most strongly. The number of classes was
constantly increased until during the winter of 1900-1,
ten classes a week were conducted.
In the fall of 1896, at the opening of the club year,
larger quarters were furnished in the old rectory, a
portion of which had been remodeled and redecorated
during the summer for the use of the older boys. This
was not only necessary but an act of wisdom, as it
served to hold to the club during the most formative
period of their lives, a class of boys, then verging on
manhood who are today hard working, clean fellows.
Were it not for this influence their lives might have
found a less worthy outlet.
During the vacation period of the summer of 1899,
the club suffered severely through the removal from
Minneapolis of the Rev. Mr. Nichols and the Messrs.
Folds and C. M. Carpenter. In the meantime there
had come into the work Messrs. W. B. Tuttle, C. G.
Ireys, Francis Campbell, Carl Schroeder, the writer,
and others, whose period of work was more or less
brief. Notwithstanding the loss of the workers men-
tioned, in the summer of 1899, the work was given a
80 Memorial Volume
new impetus by the building of the "Gym" in the space
between the rectory and the parish house and the re-
modeling and opening up for club purposes of the
hitherto unused portion of the rectory. The basement
rooms under the parish house with the exception of
an enlarged bath-room were abandoned at this time.
A large and rapid increase in membership resulted
from these changes and it was found necessary to
classify the membership more particularly and to fur-
ther limit the number of evenings per week on which
the boys could attend.
By this time some of the older members of the Club
had become available as helpers in the work and credit
for some of the Club's success should accrue to young
men like Henry Bloom, Carl Schroeder, and Louis
Munnich, who rendered most valuable assistance for
several years. Through their intimate acquaintance
with the boys and their circumstances, they were often
able to offer suggestions that were most helpful to
the workers in charge.
During the last four years of its life the superintend-
ent in active charge of the club was Mr. (now Dr.) E.
J. Stimpson. Inasmuch as the writer was, during
this period, the chairman of the committee in charge of
the Boy's Club work, he has no hesitancy in saying
that without Dr. Stimpson the problem of keeping
the Club going would have been very difficult of solu-
tion ; certainly he contributed largely to what success
there was in the solution. It was partially owing to
the inability to find a satisfactory successor for Dr.
Stimpson that the Club work was ultimately dropped.
Without access to the records it is impossible to
state accurately the total number of boys who at-
Saint Mark's Parish 81
tended tlie Club, but memory recalls that during sev-
eral years the membership averaged one hundred or
more per month and during these years the Club was
used by over three hundred different boys each year.
That its influence was not the same in all cases goes
without saying. In their infinite variety it was not to
be expected that the same results would be obtained
with all the boys. During several years a system of
home visitations was carried on in the endeavor to
learn more of the actual conditions and needs of the
boys who applied for membership. Valuable informa-
tion was thus gained but an insufficient working force
often made it impossible to make the most of such in-
In the work of the Boy's Club, as in other work of
similar character, many were attracted by the very
apparent righteousness of the work and the opportu-
nity for charitable and reformative help. It proved to
be another instance where "many were called but few
were chosen." The best workers came with no pre-
conceived ideas beyond the desire and willingness to
turn their heart and hand to whatsoever offered. The
boys were rude, dirty, ignorant and in some cases
vicious. The latter class were weeded out after a fair
trial. The assistance of women as helpers was sought
in the endeavor to overcome the rudeness of others.
Many ladies responded and among those who rendered
most successful assistance were Miss Agnes Harrison,
Miss Hardenberg, the Misses Christian, Miss Moore,
the Misses Caplin and Miss Higgins. Miss Harrison,
Miss Jessie Caplin and Miss Moore for several years
conducted very successful classes in wood-carving,
natural science, and reading.
82 Memorial Volume
In our bath-rooms we endeavored to give opportu-
nity to wash off some of the dirt and to install some
sense of pride, and in many cases were successful.
The "Gym" and the play-rooms served as a means of
working off the excessive animal spirits, which must
otherwise have found vent to the discomfort of the
public in general and the police ofiQcers in particular.
No review of the work of the St. Marks Club would
be complete if it did not make mention of the financial
backing afforded by such members of St. Marks Par-
ish as Messrs. George H. Christian, F. W. Foreman,
C. M. Harrington and H. C. Clark. The confidence
they displayed in those who were doing the actual
work by their constant readiness to afford financial
support, cheered in many an hour that otherwise would
have been very discouraging.
Those who worked in St. Marks Boy's Club will re-
call their experience with mingled feelings of satis-
faction and regret. None of us felt that the Club did
everything that it might have done. On the other
hand there was in each of us some feeling that our
work had not been in vain. Of the necessity for such
a work there was and can be no question. As in all
such efforts there were the "faithful few" upon whom
the management could always rely, but removals from
the city, changes in business or social circumstances
made constant inroads upon these. After the newness
had worn off the attraction grew less, and more and
more difficulty was experienced in getting helpers
until during the last year of the Club life but two or
three, aside from the paid help, could be depended
upon. The strain on men and women who had done
a day's work before coming to the Club for the even-
Saint Mark's Parish 83
ing and the inroads upon the time of these few, to-
gether with the loss of interest evidenced by the less-
ening of volunteers made it seem the part of wisdom
that others should be given an opportunity to take
up the work. With the close of the Club year of
1901-2, the committee in charge tendered their resig-
nations to the Brotherhood in the hope that in new
hands the Club work might be taken up with more
vigor. The Club was not re-opened.
No one who worked in and for St. Marks Boy's Club
and who caught the spirit of the men who instituted it
failed to derive a benefit therefrom. The work had
its joys, its lighter and amusing side as well as its
difficulties. Though we could not always see it at the
time there was compensation for the effort, the thought
and the weariness, in the eagerness with which the
boys looked forward in the fall to the re-opening of
the Club, in the greetings on the street and in the
not infrequent requests for advice in times of doubt
The St. Marks Boys' Club marked a step in the de-
velopment toward the Christ-like life. Its influence on
helper and helped can never wholly pass away and
sometime St. Marks will again awaken to the oppor-
tunity before it and will profit by the experience of
EDWIN C. GARRIGUES.
84 Memorial Volume
^be riDen's Club
The Men's Club, of St. Mark's Church, has a mem-
bership which is extensive and non-sectarian. Any
man of good habits is eligible — whether he be a
Churchman or not. According to its constitution the
object of the Men's Club is to unite the men of the
Parish for their mutual benefit, to advise and assist the
Vestry in all matters connected with the Parish, to
direct the carrying on of different lines of institutional
work and to assist in the moral and civil betterment
of the community.
The inaugural meeting of the club was held in the
Parish House of old St. Mark's on Sixth Street on
the evening of March 4, 1904, Mr. Hector Baxter and
Mr. C. W. Childs being chosen for the respective offi-
ces of the President and Secretary pro tem. From that
time on the meetings have been regularly held on the
second Tuesday of each month from October until
May inclusively. At first these meetings were held
in the Parish House and took the form of an informal
smoker, at which the problems of the Parish were open
to discussion. Towards the end of the year the place
of meeting was changed to some down town cafe or
tea-room. These meetings were preceeded by a six
o'clock dinner, after which some gentlemen of local or
national fame gave an address on some chosen subject
of interest to the club and community in general.
These meetings are usually very well attended.
In institutional work the Men's Club is a very active
agent having numerous committees to look after the
special branches of this line of work.
OTTO W, MILLER
HOWARD Mel. MORTON CLARENCE H. CHILDS
PRESIDENTS OF THE MENS CLUB
Saint Mark's Parish 85
Among these committees are :
1. Committee on Church Publications and Prop-
2. Committee on Boys' Club and Industrial School.
3. Committee on Men's Club Room and Entertain-
4. Committee on Gymnasium.
5. Committee on Free Dispensary.
6. Committee on Ushering.
7. Committee on Visiting and Membership.
8. Committee on Music.
9. Executive Committee.
10. Finance Committee.
The Men's Club of St. Mark's Church has been es-
pecially fortunate in its officers, all of whom have been
men of marked executive ability who have untiringly
put forth every effort to make the association the suc-
cess it is today. Sometimes they have struggled
against great odds, but be it said to their credit that
they never for a moment faltered or thought of turn-
ing back after having once begun the task.
From the first meeting in 1904 up to this present
year, the men who have served as officers of St. Mark's
Men's Club are as follows :
First Officers, March 7, 1904, to October 11, 1904.
Hector Baxter, President.
John R. Vanderlip, Vice-President.
William A. Lochren, Treasurer.
William P. Christian, Secretary.
Officers, October 11, 1904, to October 30, 1905.
Otto W. Miller, President.
Dr. H. McI. Morton, Vice-President.
Thomas L. Brown, Treasurer.
William P. Christian, Secretary.
86 Memorial Volume
Officers, October 30, 1905, to September 25, 1906.
Otto W. Miller, President.
Prof. W. W. Folwell, Vice-President.
William H. Keller, Treasurer.
William P. Christian, Secretary.
Dr. H. McI. Morton, President.
W. S. Dwinnell, Vice-President.
V. H. Van Slyke, Treasurer.
Dr. Murray, Secretary.
C. H. Childs, President.
Wm. Passmore, Vice-President.
V. H. Van Slyke, Treasurer.
Dr. A. E. Alther, Secretary.
The following members have been selected to rep-
resent the Men's Club on the Board of Managers of the
Wells Memorial : Messrs. O. W. Miller, E. O. Hawk-
sett, Doctor H. W. Cook and Mr. C. H. Childs.
A. E. ALTHER, Secretary.
Saint Mark's Parish 87
ZTbe nDotber'6 Club
This society was inaugurated by the Rev. H. P.
Nichols in the fall of 1898. The primary object was to
bring the mothers of the children who attended the
Sunday School in closer touch with the parochial life
of St. Marks.
In October, 1893, the first meeting was called, and
Mrs. T. W. Woodbridge, wife of Professor Wood-
bridge, of the University of Minnesota, now of Co-
lumbia College, New York, was chosen by Rev. Nichols
as its first president. It was a happy appointment —
for she at once won the love and confidence of every
member ; and for four years — until their removal to
New York in 1902 — gave her time and talent to the
welfare of the club. She is now its Honorary Presi-
The work of the club is varied. Addresses from
time to time are given by the Rector, helpful talks
from physicians and others on the care of children,
and pleasant social gatherings at different homes.
For the first few years time was spent in various
kinds of sewing for the Sheltering Arms, and in mak-
ing articles for a sale. In 1901, a bed was placed in the
Sheltering Arms to be maintained by the Club.
In December, 1904, a little girl by the name of Laura
Williams, 9 years of age, an inmate of Sheltering
Arms, was taken by the Club to provide for, that is,
to furnish her with necessary clothing and to look
after her in a general way.
]\Iany very interesting and helpful programs are pre-
pared during each year.
88 Memorial Volume
During the past year the Club enjoyed a call from
the Rev. H. P. Nichols — its founder — and an afternoon
with Mrs. Geo. Whipple, nee Weidensee, who was
Deaconess of St. Marks before taking up Alissionary
work in Porto Rico.
The present officers are Mrs. L. Sawyer, President ;
and Mrs. McKewin, Secretary ; with a membership of
MRS. G. E. McKEWIN,
Secretary and Treasurer.
LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE MOTHERS' CLUB OF
ST. MARK'S CHURCH.
Mrs. S. J. Austin Mrs. J. Parslow
Mrs. J. Bathurst, Vice.-Pres. Mrs. H. H. Poole
Mrs. C. V. Bell Mrs. A. A. Prall
Miss A. Cleveland Mrs. L. Sawyer, Pres.
Mrs. F. W. Constant Mrs. Schrader
Mrs. Harrison Miss E. Smith
Mrs. L. A. Hellier Mrs. J. W. Taylor
Mrs. E. J. Merrill Mrs. Tillotson
Mrs. G. E. McKewin, Mrs. A. B. Watson
Sec.-Treas. Mrs. Whitmarsh
Mrs. Palmatier Mrs. C. H. Wilbur
Mrs. F. J. E. Woodbridge Mrs. C. E. Haupt
Miss Kate Welles
REV. CHARLES EDGAR HAUPT
ASSOCIATE RECTOR 1937
Saint Mark's Parish 89
Zhc ^onwQ HDen'e Club
The Young Men's Chib of St. Marks Church was
organized in April, 1907. Rev. C. E. Haupt called a
meeting of the members of his Bible Class, and pro-
posed to them an organization which would bring them
into closer touch with one another, and with their
church. The idea was enthusiastically taken up. Offi-
cers were elected, and the first meetings were held
with great success.
The purposes of the organization, as set forth in the
original constitution and by-laws, are to unite in a
closer study of the Holy Bible, to promote the atmos-
phere of fellowship among the young men of the
Church, and to endeavor to enlarge the number of
members of the Bible Class.
The meetings of the summer months were like the
struggling attempts of a new-born babe to exist in the
rough harsh world. Most of the fellows were out of
town or busy. But the meetings were rigidly held
at the regular times, and the spark of enthusiasm was
successfully carried over until the fall. Then the club
was reorganized, and went thru the winter with a
President — Lindsey McKewen.
Vice-President — George M. Shepard.
Secretary-Treasurer — Roy Shippam.
Wilson Gould Arthur Hillstrom
Fred Robinson Harry Shippam
Geo. W. Terry Horace T. McCord
Stevens Grouse Ian Robertson
C. Harlow Pratt Robert J. Marsh
Robert Pratt Leroy Erickson
90 Memorial Volume
XTbe Business Moments GutlD
ot St, /©arft's Cburcb
The Business Women's Guild of St. Marks Church,
Minneapolis, Minnesota, was organized in November,
1907, for the purpose of "promoting acquaintance and
helpful fellowship among the business women of the
city ; and to associate them for such Church or benevo-
lent work as may from time to time be decided upon."
Charter members numbered fifteen but each successive
meeting has brought its new mem.bers until at the
time of this report there is an enrollment of 30 wo-
men representing almost every phase of business life.
Meetings are held the first and third Wednesday even-
ing of each month, preceded by a luncheon, for which
each member pays in advance in order to provide for
the following one. The first meeting of the month is
devoted entirely to business and the second chiefly
to sociability and instructive entertainment, contrib-
uted by the members. Dues for active members are
10 cents per month and for honorary members, $5.00
per year. No initiation fee is charged, thus the ex-
pense keeps no one away who would otherwise join.
There are no restrictions on membership, "The doors
of the Business Women's Guild being open to every
working woman." There have been many pleasant
meetings during the winter months, sometimes mem-
bers tied comforters while listening to a paper pre-
pared by one member, and at other times enjoying a
delightful program arranged for by the Entertainment
Committee. We have made an encouraging beginning
and we hope to be able in the near future to employ
Saint Mark's Parish 91
a matron in order to do more effective work where it
is most needed, among the working women, by con-
tinually receiving new members into our society and
thru outside influence and donations.
President — Mrs. A. L. Vrooman-Wood.
Vice-President — Miss Emma Smith.
Secretary — Miss Dora Basheler.
Treasurer — Miss Lutie Reade.
Miss Helen Baxter Miss Ruby Sawyer
Miss Bickford Miss Lillian Sawyer
Miss Florence Futcher Miss Emma Smith
Rev. Mr. Haupt Mrs. C. H. Wilbur
Mrs. Hall Mrs. A. L. Vrooman-Wood
Miss Lutie Reade Miss Ruth Whipps
Miss Florence Ausmann Miss Emma Johnstone
Miss Emma Budd Miss Helen Kraschel
Mrs. Emma Barnhart Mrs. J. B. McEachran
Miss Danforth Miss Ollie Quick
Mrs. Hall Miss Edith Sutherland
Miss Lillian Heebert Mrs. N. R. Tilton
Mrs. B. S. Hendricks Miss Winona Tipton
Miss Phi Hartford
Note. — The inception of the Business Woman's Guild is
due to Miss Emma J. Smith, Parish Visitor.
RUTH B. W^HIPPS,
92 Memorial Volume
Dauabters of the Mwq
The "Daughters of the King" has for its main ob-
ject, "The Spreading of Christ's Kingdom Among
Women." Its members are pledged to aid the rector
in any work which he may call upon them to do, and
to make an earnest effort to bring women within the
hearing of the Gospel.
St. Marks Chapter, Daughters of the King, received
its charter from the National organization fifteen years
ago during the rectorate of the Rev. H. P. Nichols.
The members were the young confirmed women of
the Church who were interested in its spiritual ad-
Meetings were held weekly at which the rector was
always present to read the prayers of the order, give
helpful advice and assign the calls upon the sick and
strangers. During the Lenten season the Chapter was
particularly active forming the choir for the afternoon
services. At Thanksgiving and Christmas bountiful
dinners were sent to the needy connected with the
The work of the Society has continued along these
lines, changing, however, with the plans of new rectors
and officers and the demands of the Parish.
During the Rectorate of the Rev. Thomas MacLean,
the Chapter was very active in the work of the St.
Mark's P^vs' Club, the Sunday School and the Altar
The Rev. G. H. Hills outlined the work of the Chap-
ter more closely on true Daughters of the King lines.
Half of the meeting hour is now spent in a course of
REV. GEORGE HEATHCOTE
ASSOCIATE RECTOR 1907
Saint Mark's Parish
study on the Church and Prayer book. The work
formerly done by the deaconess has been taken up by
the Chapter and the members are always ready to re-
spond to a call for special work in the Parish. Social
meeting are held monthly either at the Parish house
or at the homes of the members.
There is no attempt made to raise money, but St.
Mark's Chapter is doing what it can towards the
spreading of the Kingdom of Christ on earth.
OFFICERS OF ST. MARK'S CHAPTER.
Daughters of the King.
Directress — Miss Mabel Wilkinson.
Vice-Directress — Miss Grace Caplin.
Secretary — Miss Violet Hills.
Treasurer — Mrs. W. F. Jewett.
LIST OF THE DAUGHTERS OF THE KING OF
ST. MARK'S CHAPTER.
Miss Beth Benedict
Miss Henrietta Brown
Miss Grace Caplin
Miss Katherine Carle
Miss Bessie Fridley
Miss Louise Higgins
Miss Laura Miller
Miss Ottola Miller
Miss Edna Roberts
Miss Ethel Shippam
Miss Louise Turner
Miss Mable Wilkinson
Miss Grace Robinson
Miss Cordelia Swinburne
Miss Clara Turner
Miss Gertrude MacGraw
Miss Violet Hills
Miss Gertrude Colby-
Mrs. W. P. Christian
Miss F. Futcher
Miss Florence Gibson
Miss Ada Robinson
Miss Irene Taylor
Miss Lois Van Slyck
94 Memorial Volume
^be 1Revo Cburcb
As soon as the sale of the property on Sixth Street
was consummated, active steps were taken to begin
the work of construction. A building committee was
appointed by the Vestry, consisting of the Clergy, Mr.
George H. Christian, Mr. C. M. Harrington, Mr. W.
S. Dwinnell, Dr. H. McI. Morton and Mr. C. T. Jaf-
fray. On April 17th, 1907, the committee met and
organized by the selection of Mr. Harrington Chair-
man and Rev. Mr. Haupt secretary, Mr. Jaffray hav-
ing been chosen Treasurer by the Vestry.
It was at first proposed to proceed at once with the
erection of the Church, to be built with a basement for
Parish work and without a Parish House. Plans were
to be drawn for a church to seat nine hundred per-
sons, with additional accommodation for two hun-
dred people in a gallery over the entrance. It was
specified by the committee that the design should be
Gothic and follow so far as practicable the lines of
the old St. Marks ; to include on the same plan, the
nave, chapel, organ chamber, choir room, sacristies
and baptistry. The tower to be at the entrance to
the Church either in the center or as a campanile.
As to location, it was decided to recommend to the
Vestry that the Church be located as far from Henne-
pin Ave. as possible, to avoid the noise of the cars, and
nearly north and south, with sufficient room for a Par-
ish House, to be erected in the future, east of the
Church. It was proposed that the Church be built of
Indiana lime store or Trempelo stone with inside finish
of stone, brick or concrete. The chancel to be square
THE NEW SAINT MARK'S
Saint Mark's Parish 95
and the stained glass windows of St. Marks to be
used in the new building-. The basement was to be ar-
ranged for Parish needs with a sub-basement for heat-
The Vestry adopted the recommendation of the
Committee, selected Mr, E. H. Hewitt as architect and
submitted to him the general specifications. The Rev.
Mr. Hills and Mr. George H. Christian were appointed
a subcommittee to confer with the architect in the
formulation of the plan. It was soon found that the
cost of a basement fitted up for Parish work and a sub-
basement for heating would run into many thousands
of dollars and not be satisfactory. It was therefore
decided to prepare a plan for a Parish House and ascer-
tain its cost. The Rev. Mr. Haupt and the architect
were appointed a sub-committee to prepare such a
plan. Three tenative sketches were submitted to cost
$60,000, $23,000 and $32,000. The latter was selected
upon condition that the cost could be reduced to $25,-
000. This furnished the basis of the plan finally
adopted. In the meantime the plan for the Church
was gradually and studiously worked out. On Feb-
ruary 14th, 1908, the contracts were signed for the
erection of the Parish House to cost complete, $37,386,
and a meeting of the Parish was called on February
27th to examine and discuss the plans of the Church.
The design received very favorable consideration, but
as the cost involved the raising of a large sum of
money no definite action was taken in order to give
the architect time to get actual bids on the construc-
tion and ascertain the exact cost.
The proposed Parish House will be nearly square,
being 66 by 68 feet, or about half as large again as the
96 Memorial Volume
old Parish House. The part connecting the Parish
House with the Church will be 48 by 30 feet, and will
accommodate the stairways, choir, gymnasium and liv-
ing rooms. The Church, according to the proposed
plan, will consist of a narthex or entrance (utilized
above for a gallery), a nave, isles, choir and sanctuary.
On the left side of the choir will be the organ and on
the right a chapel. A working sacristy is provided for
the Altar Guild and a robing sacristy for the clergy,
with ambulatory back of the altar. The clearstory is
high, giving abundance of light and air. The nave and
choir will consist of seven bays, the chancel arch being
placed at the entrance to the sanctuary. The entire
length of the building will be 162 feet. The nave will
be 85 feet long by 34 feet wide ; the isles will add 16^/^
feet, making the total inside width of the Church 67
feet ; the depth of the choir is 28 feet ; the sanctuary is
19 feet deep by 29 feet wide. For purposes of compari-
son, the old Church was 81 feet long in the nave by 30^^
feet wide, and the aisles add 9% feet, making the total
width 48 feet. There were two transepts, averaging 22
by 34^ feet ; the choir and sanctuary occupying a space
30 feet wide at the chancel arch by 27^^ feet deep.
The floor area of the new Church, not counting the
narthex, is 8,122 feet, while the floor area of the old
Church was 5,247 feet. The proposed plan compre-
hends the use of sawed Bedford stone with a smooth
finish for the exterior. The interior, if the design shall
be approved, will be of Frontenac or Kasota stone,
where stone is used, with warm colored brick for the
wall spaces and a vaulted ceiling of tile construction,
very rich in color. The apex of the ceiling of the nave
Saint Mark's Parish 97
will be 54 feet from the floor and the height of the
tower 125 feet.
The Parish House was so far finished that the Audi-
torium was opened for use on the Fifteenth Sunday
after Trinity, being the 27th day of September, and
was dedicated to the purposes for which it was erected,
by Bishop Edsall, assisted by the Rectors, though it
was not until November first that the building was
On Monday, August 17th, the foundations of the
new church were staked out and ground broken on
Thursday, August 20th. The corner stone will be
laid on Sunday, November 15th, being the Twenty-
second Sunday after Trinity.
98 Memorial Volume
^be Mells nDemorial
Fifty thousand dollars having been designated by
the vestry as the sum which they would set apart, in
accordance with the resolution of the Parish, for the
erection and maintenance of a down town Chapel and
institutional plant, a site was purchased at Western
avenue and Eleventh street, after very careful search
and long deliberation, for the sum of $8,500, and steps
taken to proceed with the erection of suitable build-
ings. A committee, consisting of the clergy, Mr. W.
S. Dwinnell, Mr. C. H. Childs, Mr. Hector Baxter and
Mr. V. H. Van Slyke, was appointed by the vestry to
prepare a plan and superintend the construction of the
building. The committee organized by the selection of
Mr. Dwinnell as chairman, Mr. Baxter secretary, and
Mr. Van Slyke treasurer. Mr. E. H. Hewitt prepared
a sketch of a suitable building and a contract was en-
tered into with Messrs. Libby and Nelson upon a com-
mission basis, the estimated cost of the building being
$20,000, less the salvage in lumber and material taken
from the old Church and Parish House.
As the money for the erection of St. Mark's Parish
House was raised through the efforts of the late Doc-
tor Thomas B. Wells, and the building bore his name,
the Vestry desire to perpetuate his memorial by nam-
ing the new house in his honor.
The conduct of the works of the Wells Memorial
is committeed to a Board of Managers of fifteen men
representing the Vestry of St. Marks, the Men's Club
Saint Mark's Parish 99
of St. Marks, and the parishes of Gethsemane, Holy
Trinity, St. Paul's, All Saints and St. John's. So far
as selected the Board consists of Dr. H. McI. Morton,
D. M. Baldwin, C. E. Haupt, Hector Baxter, V. H.
Van Slyke, C. H. Childs, O. W. Miller, E. O. Hawk-
sett, H. W. Cook, I. P. Johnson, George Gibson, W.
P. Christian, R. L. Munns, H. R. Lyon. The Board
meets on the last Tuesday of each month at 6 o'clock.
On Thursday, September 7th, the Board met and
organized by the election of Mr. Dwight M. Baldwin,
President, Mr. George Gibson, Secretary, and Mr. V.
H. Van Slyke, Treasurer. The Rev, C. E. Haupt was
elected Pastor by the Vestry of St. Marks.
Executive — Mr. Baldwin, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Van
Slyke and Mr. Haupt.
Finance— Mr. Baxter, Mr. Hawksett, ^Ir. Miller.
Dispensary — Dr. Morton, Dr. Cook, Mr. Christian.
Industrial Work— Rev. Mr. Haupt, Rev. Mr. John-
son, Mr. Childs.
Publicity — Mr. Munns, Mr. Lyon.
It is the policy of the Board to allow the work to
develop as the need arises and undertake new forms
of work only as the funds are provided.
The Wells IMemorial House was formally turned
over by the building committee to the Board of iMan-
agers on Friday, Oct. 16. The house was open for in-
spection all day and a reception held in the afternoon
and evening at which it is estimated that three hun-
dred persons were present. The ladies serving on
100 Memorial Volume
the reception committee were Mrs. Dwinnell, Mrs. T.
B. Wells, Mrs. Jaffray, Mrs. Baldwin, Mrs. Harrington,
Miss Ross, Mrs. Jones, Mrs. H. C. Clarke, Mrs. Bax-
ter, Mrs. Gruber, Mrs. Van Slyke, Mrs. Peterson,
Mrs. Fraser, Mrs. H. S. Abbott, Mrs. A. W. Abbott,
Mrs. Morton, Mrs. Haupt, Mrs. Clerihew, Mrs. Hawk-
sett, Mrs. L. Christian, Mrs. Cook, Mrs. Corse, Mrs.
Miller, Mrs. Childs.
At eight o'clock the company assembled in the
chapel and after devotional exercises and a word of
greeting and encouragement from the bishop, short
addresses were made by the Rev. C. E. Haupt on the
"Inception and Purpose of the Work;" by Mr. Hector
Baxter on behalf of the building committee in tender-
ing the building to the Board of Managers ; by Mr.
Baldwin, president of the board, in receiving the same ;
by Mayor J. C. Haynes, on behalf of the city ; by
Bishop Millspaugh, Mr. W. L. Harris, and Mr. H. F.
Burt, superintendent of the Pillsbury House, after
which a very enjoyable collation was served in the
Mr. F. B. Wells has very generously offered to
equip the gymnasium and possibly the dispensary ;
Mrs. J. A. Peterson is furnishing the day nursery;
Miss C. J. Welles has supplied the Mothers' Club
room. Through the good offices of Mr. C. M. Har-
rington we have received from the Chamber of Com-
merce fifty dollars towards the equipment of the In-
dustrial School, which will open on the first Saturday
in November. Messrs. Kayser & Co. have offered
to decorate the kindergarten room.
Saint Mark's Parish 101
The building is 92 feet long by 48 feet deep. In the
north end is the chapel, 40x48 feet, with a height of 17
feet to the ceiling. Above the chapel is the gym-
nasium, open to the roof. On the south end of the
building is a basement, containing a free dispensary
with accommodations for four classes of patients, two
game rooms and the heating plant.
On the first floor are the office, reading room, kin-
dergarten room, 24x35 feet, and kitchen. The kitchen
is planned so as to serve either into the kindergarten
room or into the larger hall. On the second or gym-
nasium floor are a hand-ball court, locker room, show-
er baths, woman's club room, cooking school and day
nursery. On the third floor are, a suite of rooms for
the superintendent, deaconess, kindergartner or nurse,
and a large room for night school.
The cost of the completed building is $23,000. A
block containing three stories and twenty-four rooms
has been constructed on the Western Avenue front-
age of the property at a cost of $12,000, to furnish an
income. It has been rented at prices exceeding the
estimates of the committee and will yield a gross in-
come of $2,700 a year.
It is proposed to hold on each Sunday morning a
celebration of the Holy Communion at an early hour;
in the afternoon a Sunday School session, and in the
evening a popular service.
HALL AND CHAPEL.
The hall, which is 40x46 feet, is arranged so as to be
102 Memorial Volume
of easy access from the entrance, and with an addition-
al exit to the street. During the week it will be avail-
able for all sorts of purposes which the neighborhood
may require. Lecture courses will be arranged during
the winter as opportunity affords. The hall will be
provided with a stage at the upper end, and facilities
for amateur dramatic performances, also electrical con-
nection for steropticon. It can be rented for any
The Industrial School, which has been so successful-
ly carried on at St. Mark's, will occupy the hall on
Saturday mornings, and will be provided with a room
especially adapted to the cooking department. The
garment class can use the kindergarten room, if neces-
sary. Classes in physical culture will also be provided
for the children of the industrial school.
The gymnasium is located on the second floor, and
is open to the roof, giving abundance of light and ven-
tilation. Adjoining it is the hand-ball court, with
lockers, shower baths, and all necessary accommoda-
tions!; A competent instructor will be placed in charge,
and classes formed for boys and girls on suitable days
at convenient hours.
Accommodations are provided in the basement for a
free dispensary, containing a lobby, drug room and
four private dispensing rooms for different classes of
cases: 1. Eye, nose and throat. 2. Surgical cases. 3.
Medical cases. 4. Dressing, etc.
Saint Mark's Parish 103
The reading room is twenty-four feet square, and
occupies the southwest corner of the main floor, with
abundance of light and air.
BOYS' CLUB AND MANUAL TRAINING.
Two rooms in the basement can be used either for
manual training or for game rooms and a large room
on the third floor is provided for night school. It is
proposed to revive the Boys' Club as it was in its best
days on Sixth street, and with the game rooms, manual
training, night school, gymnasium and hand-ball court,
there should be abundant facilities for the purpose.
The free kindergarten heretofore maintained in St.
Mark's Parish House will have a beautiful room in the
southeast corner of the building on the first floor, with
ample accommodations, and it is hoped to enlarge the
work heretofore done in this department. Application
for admission may be made to Miss Emma J. Smith,
Parish Visitor, or to Miss Margaret Baxter, Kinder-
gartner. The kindergarten will open at the same time
as the public schools, and hold daily sessions from 9
a. m. to 12 m., except on Saturday and Sunday.
If there is anything that will endure
The eye of God, because it still is pure,
It is the spirit of a little child,
Fresh from His hand, and therefore undefiled.
— R. H. Stoddard.
A complete equipment for a day nursery is provided,
with play-room, sleeping-room and bath-room.
104 Memorial Volume
THE BEGINNING OF THE WORK.
Though the buildmg was not entirely finished the
work at the Wells Memorial began with the celebra-
tion of the Holy Communion on Sunday, September
6th, and the opening of the Sunday School, with an
attendance of thirty-nine persons, thirteen children,
six officers and teachers, and twenty visitors. The
school has steadily grown to an attendance of eighty
and an enrollment of 108. Evening Prayer was said
at 7:45 p. m. The kindergarten was opened on Tues-
day, September 8th, under the care of Miss Margaret
Baxter, assisted by Miss Cecil Cobb. Miss Emma J.
Smith, the efficient parish visitor, being in residence,
and having effectively prepared the way, the response
on the part of the children of the neighborhood was
most gratifying. The attendance rapidly increased
until the capacity of the room was reached.
MILLER-DAVIS PRINTING CO.
The corner-stone box of the old church was opened
at a Parish meeting, held on Thursday, November 12,
1908, by Rev. C. Edgar Haupt, assisted by Mr. George
H. Christian and Mr, Frank W. Forraan. The contents
were found in a very dilapidated condition. Whatso-
ever was written in ink was illegible. There were in
the box a small bible, prayer book, journal of the Dio-
cesan Council for 1869, copy of the Churchman of Oct.
2, 1869, copy of the American Churchman of Sept. 3,
1869, a copy of the Minneapolis Tribune in fragments
and a written history which could not be deciphered.
In the new corner stone was placed, in a copper box,
enclosed in cedar, a bible, prayer book, hymnal, journal
of the Diocese of 1908, memorial history of the Parish,
file of St. Marks Messenger for 1908, copy of the
Journal of Sunday, Nov. 8th; of the Tribune of Sun-
day, Nov. 8, copy Churchman Nov. 7, copy Living
Church, Nov. 7. Names of the Associate Rectors, War-
dens and Vestrymen, Building Committee and Archi-
tect — inscribed on parchment. Pictures of the Bishops
of the Diocese and of the lay delegates to the Diocesan
Council of 1869, Mr. Henry F. Welles and John
Paul. History of Fort Ripley, 1849 to 1859, based
on the Diary of Rev. Solon W. Mooney, D. D.,
Chaplain of this post from 1851 to 1859, by Rev.
George C. Tanner. Early Episcopal Churches and
Missions in Minnesota, by Rev. George C. Tanner.
Memorial addresses in honor of Bishop Henry Ben-
jamin Whipple, at the monthly council meeting of the
Minnesota Historical Society in the State Capitol, St.
Paul, Minn., Monday evening, Oct. 14, 1901, by Hon.
Charles E. Flandrau, Rev. Geo. C. Tanner, Hon.
Greenleaf Clark, Gen. John B. Sanborn, Rev. William
The box was packed by the Rev. C. E. Haupt, in
the presence of Mr. C. M. Harrington, Junior Warden,
and Jesse Stevens Crouse, Ethel May Shippam,
Frances M. Wilbur, Rhoda Alcock, Marian Gould,
Ethyl Belle Carlson, Beatrice Heathcote Hills, Emma
Minier and Wilson L. Gould.
The corner stone of the new church was laid on
November 15th, 1908, being the Twenty-Second Sun-
day after Trinity, by the Rt. Rev. Samuel Cook Edsall,
D.D., Bishop of the Diocese. The special service for
the occasion was compiled and rendered by the Rev.
G. Heathcote Hills, and the Rev. C. Edgar Haupt made
the address, followed by some words of greeting and
congratulation by the Bishop. As the day was cold
the exercises were held in the Parish house which was
crowded to overflowing. The Street Railway Company
having furnished transportation, the children from the
Wells Memorial Sunday School were present as well
as the children of the Parish Sunday School. After the
exercises in the parish house were completed the order
of the procession was as follows : Children of the
Wells Memorial Sunday School, Children of St. Marks
Sunday School : the Congregation, the Choir, the
Vestry; the Clerk and Treasurer; the Building Com-
mittee and Architect ; the Visiting Clergy, Rev. James
Tremble, D. D., Rev. Sidney Smith and Rev. Harry
B. Heald ; the Associate Rectors and the Bishop.
The stone is five feet three inches long, three feet
deep and two feet six inches high. It is inscribed
with the words, 1868, Saint Mark, 1908, "Pax Per
Sanguinem Crucis," with a small Maltese cross in
each corner. The box was securely wedged into its
place. The Bishop blessed the stone, the Architect on
an appropriately engraved trowel handed him the mor-
tar, which he placed under the stone, the workmen un-
der the direction of Mi. Pike, the builder, completed the
work, the stone was carefully lowered into place, the
Bishop struck it thrice in the name of the blessed
Trinity, the choir broke into singing of hymn 468, and
after the benediction by the Bishop the congregation
At the close of the ceremony an elderly gentleman
introduced himself to the clergy as Mr. John F. Har-
rison, one of the original incorporators of the Parish
in 1868, now living in Milwaukee, the only one of the
original incorporators of the Parish present at the