(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Men of mark in Connecticut; ideals of American life told in biographies and autobiographies of eminent living Americans"



^-.:yo% 





MEN OF MARK IN CONNECTICUT 



Men of Mark in Connecticut 



IDEALS OF AMERICAN LIFE TOLD IN BIOG- 
RAPHIES AND AUTOBIOGRAPHIES OF 
EMINENT LIVING AMERICANS 



EDITED BY 

COLONEL N. G. OSBORN 

EDITOK "new haven JOUBNAL AND COURIEK' 



VOLUME IV 



WILLIAM R. GOODSPEED 

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 
1908 



Copyright 1908 by W. R. Goodspeed 



/s 



The Case, Lockwood & Brainard Company, Printers, Hartford, Conn. 



MEN OF MARK IN CONNECTICUT 

Col. N. G. Osbokn, Editor-in-Chief 



ADVISORY BOARD 



HON. WILLIAM S. CASE 



JUDGE SUPERIOR COURT 



HON. GEORGE S. GODARD 



Habtfobd 



Hartford 



STATE LIBRARIAN 

HON. FREDERICK J. KINGSBURY, LL.D. . . Waterbury 

MEMBER CORPORATION YALE UNIVERSITY 



CAPTAIN EDWARD W. MARSH . 

TREASURER PEOPLE'S SAVINGS BANK 



Bridgeport 



COL. N. G. OSBORN ...... New Haven 

editor new haven journal and courier 



HON. HENRY ROBERTS 



Hartford 



ex-governor 



HON. JONATHAN TRUMBULL 

LIBRARIAN PUBLIC LIBRARY 



Norwich 



WILLIAM DARIUS BISHOP 

BISHOP, William Darius, late president of the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford Eailroad Company and of the ISTaugatuck 
Eailroad Company and at his death vice-president of the board 
of directors of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Eailroad Com- 
pany, a pioneer in railroading in Connecticut and a master of state- 
craft, was a descendant of the Eev. John Bishop, who came from 
England about 1640 and settled at Stamford. He was the son of 
Alfred and Mary Ferris Bishop. 

Alfred Bishop was bom in Stamford, December 21st, 1798. He 
married Mary, daughter of Etham Ferris of Greenwich, and removed 
to New Jersey, where he began his great career as a railroad contractor. 
He built the Morris Canal and the Bridge over the Earitan Eiver at 
New Brunswick. In 1836 he went to Bridgeport, where plans were 
imder way for building a railroad through the Housatonic Valley. 
Shouldering the larger part of the financial burden, he put the road 
through, and also, later, the Berkshire, Washington & Saratoga road. 
Having procured a charter in 1845, with Timothy Dwight of New 
Haven, Green Kendrick and William H. Scovill of Waterbury, Wil- 
liam De Forest of Bridgeport, Seth Thomas, Jr., of Thomaston, An- 
son G. Phelps of New York, William M. Smith, Jonathan Nicholson, 
and Luicius Clark as fellow incorporators, he began the construction 
of the Naugatuck railroad, an equally stupendous undertaking in 
those days. The cost was $1,580,723, or $27,731 a mile. Timothy 
Dwight was the first president. In 1847 he also took up the great 
task of building the New York & New Haven road, the directors of 
which, in 1849, said : " The work which owes its execution to him 
will be a monument to carry down his name with honor to the 
future." The capital stock, $2,500,000, was all subscribed by Decem- 
ber 31st, 1846, largely through Mr. Bishop's efforts. With all these 
projects maturing and others in contemplation, he died in Saratoga, 
New York, June 11th, 1849. His capacity for administration was 

9 



10 WILLIAM DARIUS BISHOP, 

never better illustrated than in his last sickness. His death came 
just before the completion of the New Haven road and three months 
before the Naugatuck road was opened to Winsted. 

William D. Bishop was bom in Bloomfield, New Jersey, on Sep- 
tember 14th, 1827. He entered Yale in 1845, where he was pre- 
eminent as a political debater and was president of Linonia Society, 
one of the highest honors in the college world in those days. He was 
graduated in 1849. The death of his father in June of that year 
threw heavy responsibilities upon the young man, but he proved him- 
self well able to carry them. He completed the railroad contracts, 
including not only the Naugatuck road but roads in the West. An 
early director of the Naugatuck road, he first was superintendent 
and then, in 1855, president, the road being then fully equipped and, 
as it is today, one of the best paying roads in the countr3^ 

This position he held until 1867, when he was called upon to do 
an equally great work as president of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford road, but he retained his interest in the Naugatuck and 
was recalled to the presidency in 1885. Eussell Tomlinson was presi- 
dent from 1867 to 1869 and E. F. Bishop, Mr. Bishop's brother, from 
1869 till his death in 1883. During William D. Bishop's manage- 
ment it became one of the most notable roads in America, having 
neither floating nor bonded indebtedness. It was on a ten per cent 
basis for years and was leased to the New York, New Haven & Hart- 
ford road on that basis in 1887. Mr. Bishop continued as president 
till failing health compelled him to retire in October, 1903, when he 
was succeeded by his son, William D. Bishop, Jr. 

When he resigned the presidency of the Naugatuck in 1867, as 
said above, it was to accept the presidency of the New York & New 
Haven, which office he held from May 17th of that year until March 
1st, 1879, when the condition of his health compelled him to relin- 
quish the duties. During his presidency the road developed from a 
small institution into a powerful corporation and his name remained 
at the head of the board of directors until his death. While he was 
president and at the same time a member of the House of Kepre- 
sentatives, an act was passed consolidating the New York & New 
Haven and the Hartford and Springfield lines. Subsequently the 
Shore Line was leased and the Harlem & Portchester and the Hart- 



WILLIAM DARIUS BISHOP. 11 

ford & Connecticut Valley roads were acquired. The vast railroad 
improvements in Bridgeport, costing as much as the original cost 
of the road from Harlem to New Haven, were due largely to Mr. 
Bishop. 

Also he was director for many years of the Housatonic, until the 
road passed into the hands of the Bostwick-Starbuck Syndicate, and 
he was a director of the Bridgeport Steamboat Company, now con- 
trolled by the New York, New Haven & Hartford Kailroad. 

When the Eastern Eailroad Association was formed, largely at 
his instigation and to protect the railroads of the East against patent 
suits, he was made president and continued as such until his death. 

But with all Mr. Bishop's native ability and genius as a railroad 
man — and never in the railroad companies with which he was con- 
nected has there been a man of equal power and influence — he was 
preeminent in the halls of legislation and one of the foremost of that 
coterie of Democrats who gave strength to their party in the old days. 
Elected to Congress in 1857, he was the youngest and, as many at- 
tested, one of the most eloquent and forceful members of that body. 
Failing of re-election, he was appointed by President Buchanan to 
be United States Commissioner of Patents. His term continued 
while the Democrats were in power and during that time he worked a 
wonderful change in the department, largely by systematizing the 
work. 

In 1870 he was admitted to the bar. The following year he was 
chosen representative from Bridgeport and in 1877 and 1878 he 
was a member of the Senate. He drafted and carried through the 
general railroad law, which was a model in itself and would have 
been more generally recognized as such had it been adhered to in 
later years when trolleys were inaugurated. 

A man of few words, he gathered in all that others had to say, 
which was worth retaining, so that when he did speak he commanded 
attention and carried conviction. His power lay not only in the fact 
that he was firm in his opinion when once formed, but also in the 
fact that he was a true philosopher. As the New Haven Register said 
of him : " Therein lay the secret of his great success as a manager 
of men, which he certainly was. Personally he was a man of charm- 
ing characteristics, with a keen sense of humor." 



12 WILLIAM DARIUS BISHOP. 

He married Julia A., daughter of Eussell and Martha H. Tom- 
linson. They had six children. Those living are Marj^ Ferris Bishop, 
Dr. Eussell Tomlinson Bishop, William D. Bishop, Jr., Henry A. 
Bishop, and Nathaniel W. Bishop. Mr. Bishop died at his home at 
No. 179 Washington Avenue, on February 4th, 1904. 



HENRY ALFRED BISHOP 

BISHOP, HENRY ALFEED, of Bridgeport, is a descendant on 
both paternal and maternal sides from leading pioneers in 
America, men who left highly honored names in their com- 
munities. Among these may be mentioned Matthias Hitchcock of 
Boston, who came from England in 1635 ; the Eev. John Bishop, who 
emigrated from England and settled in Stamford in the middle of 
the seventeenth century, and Henry Tomlinson, who, coming from 
England, was among the settlers in Milford in 1653. Members of 
both the Bishop and Tomlinson families were destined to play a prom- 
inent part as pioneers in railroading and thus in developing one 
of the greatest manufacturing sections of America. 

The remarkable careers of Alfred Bishop as a railroad builder 
and William D. Bishop as a railroad man and as a Congressman and 
member of the Legislature are told in the sketch of William D. Bishop. 

William D. Bishop married Julia Ann Tomlinson, sister of Eus- 
sell Tomlinson. Henry Alfred Bishop, their third son, was born in 
Bridgeport, December 4th, 1860. 

From earliest boyhood the son was fond of outdoor sports and 
manly athletics, and today he gets much recreation in hunting, fishing 
and yachting. His splendid physique and his capacity for exacting 
duties are due largely to his constant regard for physical development. 
He attended Hillside School in Bridgeport, Hurlburt's School at Lime 
Rock, and General William H. Eussell's Military School in New 
Haven, and was a very popular member of the class of 1884 at Yale. 
Though he did not graduate at the university, he was made a member 
of the societies of D. K. E., Hay Boulay, and Psi Upsilon. 

Leaving college, he entered upon his railroad career September 
21st, 1881, as general ticket agent of the Naugatuck road and was 
made purchasing agent in 1883 and assistant superintendent in 1885, 
all of which positions he held till February, 1886. Then he was 
appointed superintendent of the Housatonic road and, after that road 
had leased the Danbury road, general superintendent of the Housa- 

15 



16 HENRY ALFRED BISHOP. 

tonic and all its branches. On April 1st, 1887, he was appointed 
purchasing agent of the New York, New Haven & Hartford road, 
an office which he resigned on March 1st, 1902. to become acting vice- 
president of the West Virginia Central and Pittsburg and Western 
Maryland roads, which had been acquired by a syndicate in which he 
was interested. Later he was made vice-president of both roads, but 
the delicate condition of his father's health caused him to resign in 
December, 1903, since which time he has not been actively connected 
with railroad companies. 

In 1886, after serving a term as alderman in Bridgeport, Mr. 
Bishop was sent to the Legislature. From 1888 to 1890 he was presi- 
dent of the Board of Police Commissioners. In 1888 he was candidate 
for secretary of the state on the Democratic ticket, and, in 1904, for 
lieutenant-governor, his personal popularity being well attested by his 
large vote on both occasions. Always interested in the welfare of his 
native town, he was president of the Board of Trade, 1900-'01, and is 
president and director of the Bridgeport Public Library and the 
Bridgeport Boys' Club, director in the Bridgeport Hospital, St. Vin- 
cent's Hospital, the Connecticut Humane Society, the Brooklawn 
Corporation, and Mountain Grove Cemetery Association, and trustee 
in the Bridgeport Orphan Asylum. He is associated with a number of 
leading industries, being director in the Eead Carpet Company, the 
Western Union Telegraph Company, the American District Telegraph 
Company (and a member of the executive committee) of New Jersey, 
the American G'raphophone Company, the Connecticut Metal Com- 
pany (and member of the executive committee), and the Connecticut 
National Bank. He is vice-president of the Herrick Complete Com- 
bustion Company, the Pacific Iron Works (a member of the executive 
committee), the Keystone Brake Shoe Company (a voting trustee), 
and of the Clapp Fire Eesisting Paint Company (a member of the 
executive committee). 

In Masonry he is a member of Corinthian Lodge, Jerusalem 
Chapter, Jerusalem Council, Hamilton Commandery. K. T., Pyramid 
Temple, N. of M. S., De Witt Clinton Lodge of Perfection, A. and A. 
S. E., Washington Council, P. of J. A. and A. S. E., Pequonnock 
Chapter Eose Croix, A. and A. S. E., and Lafayette Consistory, S. 
P. of E. S. A. and A. S. E. 



HENRT ALFRED BISHOP. 17 

The clubs of which Mr. Bishop is a member are : the Algonquin, 
Seaside, Brooklawn Country, University, Bridgeport Yacht and Park 
City Yacht of Bridgeport, the Governor's Staff Association of Con- 
necticut, he having been paymaster-general on the staff of Governor 
Morris in 1893-4, the Metabetchouan Fisliing and Game Club, the 
Union Club, New York Yacht Club, Yale Club, the Strollers, Man- 
hasset Bay Yacht Club, Old Guard, New York Railroad Club and 
Transportation Club of New York, the New England Railroad Club 
of Boston, the Bridgeport Democratic Association, the Lincoln Farm 
Association, and the Maryland Club of Baltimore. Also he is a mem- 
ber of the Sons of the American Revolution, the Society of Colonial 
Wars, and of the Bridgeport Scientific and Historical Society. 

His religious affiliations are with the Protestant Episcopal 
Church. 

When asked what suggestions he would offer to the young as to 
principles, methods and habits which contribute most to sound ideals 
and which should be most helpful in obtaining true success, he re- 
plied : " Fear God, honor thy parents, and respect your fellow-men.'' 

He married Jessie Alvord Trubee, daughter of William E. Tru- 
bee of Bridgeport, on February 6th, 1883. They have had four chil- 
dren, three of whom are living. Marguerite Alvord, Henrietta, and 
Henry Alfred, Jr. Their home, where thej delight to entertain their 
hosts of friends, is at 202 Washington Avenue, Bridgeport. 



EDWARD FULLER BIGELOW 

BIGELOW, EDWAED FULLEE, A.M., Ph.D., the eminent 
naturalist, lecturer, teacher, editor, and author, was born in 
Colchester, New London County, Connecticut, January 14th, 
1860, and is a descendant of John Biglo, who came from England 
to Watertown, Massachusetts, in the early part of 1600. His great- 
great-great-grandfather was Lieut. John Bigelow, one of the first 
settlers of Colchester, Connecticut. Doctor Bigelow's father was 
William Sherman Bigelow, a farmer and dealer in live stock on a 
large scale, who brought carloads of horses, cattle, sheep, and swine 
from the West for various Connecticut towns. William Sherman 
Bigelow was a prominent factor in public affairs and was grand juror, 
justice of peace, and a member of the school committee. His most 
conspicuous characteristics were good business judgment, absolute 
honesty, and love for his fellow men. His wife. Doctor Bigelow's 
mother, was Mary Jane Fuller Bigelow, a woman of refined and 
literary tastes and of strong influence for good on every phase of 
her son's life and character. 

From earliest childhood Edward Fuller Bigelow has always loved 
nature with the enthusiasm of a poet and the imderstanding of a 
scientist, and in his boyhood days no pleasures were so great as those 
found in studying wild life and in hunting, trapping, fishing, and 
snaring. He led the usual life of a farmer's boy and gained the bare- 
foot boy's " knowledge never learned of schools " from studying and 
loving nature in the most intimate and practical way. In later 
years the works of Gilbert White, Eichard Jefferies, Henry D. 
Thoreau, Ealph Waldo Emerson, John Burroughs, and William 
Hamilton Gibson augumented his understanding of nature and were 
his favorite indoor friends. He attended the Bacon Academy in 
Colchester and taught school there and elsewhere until he was twenty- 
six years of age. During his teaching at the Bacon Academy a friend 
lent him a compound microscope and the zealous use to which he put 
it developed his naturalist's tastes. 

Doctor Bigelow's experiences as a teacher, a student, and a writer 
have been many and varied. He was a special student at the Yale 
Biological Laboratory in 1896-1897, and in 1899 at the Cold Springs 

18 



EDWARD FULLER BIGELOW 21 

Laboratoi-y on Long Island. He also studied two seasons at the 
Biological Laboratory, Woods Holl, Massachusetts; at the Kingston, 
Rhode Island, College of Agriculture; at Cornell, and took four 
years' post-graduate course (with the degrees of A.M. and Ph.D.) at 
Taylor University. He has had seventeen years' experience as editor of 
scientific periodicals and was the originator and editor for seven years 
of The Observer, a periodical devoted to natural history and the first 
of its kind in America. For three years he was editor-in-chief of 
Popular Science, New York City. For the last seven years he has 
done an interesting and far-reaching work among children as nature 
and science editor of the St. Nicholas Magazine for Young Folks, and 
this work has resulted in the greater development of his well-equipped 
r.nd original laborntories for nature study and science at his present 
home in Stamford, Connecticut. He is above everything else a 
lover, friend, and natural teacher of children and his study of nature 
is from the child's standpoint. He has conducted large excursions 
of children for twenty-five years for the purpose of studying nature 
and natural science, taking four thousand five hundred children in 
one year. His "Because we want to know" department in the St. 
Nicholas puts him in touch with children all over the world, to whom 
he reveals the beauties and uses of nature's commonest as well as more 
occult creatures and conditions in a way that is both instructive and 
delightful. He has spent eight years in editing daily papers, ten 
years as principal of public schools, but his most effective work may 
be said to be as a lecturer and instructor. He has been the nature 
lecturer for the New York Board of Education for seven years. He 
was the originator and first director of the summer school of nature 
study of the Connecticut School of Agriculture in 1902. In 1903- 
1904 he was director of the summer school of nature study of the 
Connecticut Chautauqua. For seven years he has been the director 
of the departments of nature study and biology at the Castle Boarding 
School for young ladies at Tarrytown and for two years held the same 
position at the Mackenzie Boarding School for boys at Dobb's Ferry. 
He is the instructor in nature pedagogy at the county teachers' 
institutes in Pennsylvania and has held the same position for two 
years in West Virginia. His instructions for teachers have done 
much to add to the enthusiasm and efficiency of the science depart- 
ments in schools all over the country. 

As an author Doctor Bigelow is best known as the writer of 



22 EDWARD FULLER BIQELOW 

"How Nature Should be Taught," a book of great interest to all 
lovers of nature and of practical value to teachers of nature 
study. He also wrote "Walking, a Fine Art," "Bigelow's 
Descriptive Plant Analysis," and "The Spirit of Nature Study," 
and he is now engaged in the preparation of a new book, "How To 
Do Things in Nature Study." His lectures and journalistic articles 
comprise many valuable contributions to scientific literature. Doctor 
Bigelow is the inventor of chemical tablets for the artificial nutri- 
ment of plants for observation and experiment and of the valuable 
"Educational Beehive," also of four other forms of experimental and 
scientific beehives. His lecture courses have taken him twice to 
California and have included all the normal schools in Michigan and 
nearly all in New York State, Pennsylvania, and Connecticut and 
many Western schools and colleges. 

Outside of his interest in outdoor life, in children, and the 
natural sciences one of Doctor Bigelow's chief interests is in church 
life. He is a member (and for many years a vestryman) of the 
Episcopal Church and was a Sunday school teacher for fifteen years. 
He has been an ardent promoter of temperance. He is prominent 
in fraternal orders, including the Odd Fellows, Eoyal Arcanum, An- 
cient Order of United Workmen, and Temple of Honor. He is a 
Republican in politics. His only public position has been member- 
ship on the board of education. He is a member of the American 
x\ssociation for the Advancement of Science and of the Brooklyn 
Institute of Arts and Sciences, of the Audubon Society, and the 
Slicroscopical Society. In July, 1882, Doctor Bigelow married Mary 
Augusta Pelton of Portland, Connecticut, by whom he has had four 
children, three of whom are living. 

Doctor Bigelow lives a life of hearty consecration to the study 
of nature and to the guiding of others in that great study. As a 
scholar, teacher, writer, and inventor he holds places of eminence and 
distinction. The secret of his success is in the sincere love of his 
vocation. He says to others : "Find yourself as early as possible 
and don't run on the wrong track. Be honest with yourself, find your 
own 'bent' and then worlc. Don't spoil a first-class blacksmith in try- 
ing to be a fifth-rate minister. Do the things you like to do. Don't try 
to swim against the current, but to go with it and paddle for all you are 
v/orth." With the enthusiasm of an intense nature he has made real 
nature study a life work and has contributed greatly to the advance- 
ment of science. 



GEORGE CLARKE EDWARDS . 

EDWARDS, GEORGE CLARKE, vice-president of the Inter- 
national Silver Company, is one of America's best known and 

most progressive captains of industry., and a leading citizen 
of Bridgeport, Fairfield County, Connecticut. He was born in Water- 
town, Litchfield County, Connecticut, on June 29th, 1846, the son of 
Charles G. Edwards, a manufacturer, and Sarah M. Foote, a woman 
of strong mind and admirable character. He traces his ancestry back 
to John Edwards, who was a prominent member of tlie Liberal party 
in England, and came to America in 1690, settling at Chestnut Hill, 
near Bridgeport. This John Edwards is said to be a direct descendant 
of Roderick the Great, of Wales. His mother was a descendant of 
Nathaniel Foote, of Colchester, England, who came to this country 
about 1630. 

After receiving a thorough public school education, supplemented 
by courses at the Watertown Academy, George C. Edwards began his 
work in life as clerk in a country store. At the age of eighteen he 
became a clerk in the drug and chemical business in Waterbury at 
Apothecaries Hall. In 1871 he became a partner in a drug firm in 
Philadelphia, remaining in this company until 1874, when ill health 
forced him to give up active business for a time, and he spent two 
years in travel. 

In 1876 Mr. Edwards returned to Waterbury and engaged in 
the manufacture of wood alcohol. Through his great knowledge of 
chemistry and careful mastery of the original processes, used both 
here and abroad, he was able to make a success where others had failed, 
and to utilize materials, previously discarded as waste, in other forms 
of manufacturing, thus gaining profits from wise economy. He then 
organized the Brucey Chemical Company, which was afterwards 
moved to Binghamton, N. Y., and set up a large and efficient plant 
for the manufacture of wood alcohol, consisting of apparatus im- 
ported from France. This company became one of the largest of its 

2 25 



2t) GEORGE CLAEKE EDWARI>S. 

kind in tliis countrv and Mr. Edwards was its manager, sccretAry 
and treasurer. 

In ISSO Mr. Edwards became seeretarv and treasurer of tlie 
Holmes & Griggs Mannfaeturing Compajiy, of New York, manufac- 
turers of brass and German silver, and was so much interested in 
the silver industry that lu\ with ^Iv. Hohues. purehaseil a controlling 
interest in the Rogers & Brittiu Silver Company, in Bridgeport, 
Conn., and made it the Holmes & Edwards Silver Company, which 
acted as consumers of the metals produced by the former company. 
After the death of Colonel Hobiies, Mr. Edwards gave up his position 
witli Holmes & Griggs Company and moved to Bridgeport to take 
charge of the Holmes & Edwards Silver Company, of which he was 
president and treasm-er. This concern soon rankeil as one of the 
largest and most progressive of it* kind in tlie w^orld, making a spe- 
cialty of inlaid and silver-plated spoons and forks. The company 
has received many diplomas and medals, among which the govern- 
ment report of the Columbian Exhibition gives them the highest 
award for the most marked progress in the art of increasing the 
durability of plated flatware. 

In 1898 Mr. Edwards foresaw the advantages to be gained from 
a consolidation of the different manufacturers of silverware, and set 
vigorously to work to bring this about. As a result of his efforts 
seventeen companies were consolidated, forming the International 
Silver Company, and Mr. Edwards was made vice-president. 

Xor was his interest in this line alone. Ever keenly alive to 
scientific progress and industrial possibilities, Mr. Edwards saw the 
value of weldless wire chain, and in 1887 organized the Bridgeport 
Chain Company, holding the office of president and treasurer. In 
1893 ^Ir. Edwards held an exhibit of Ms machinery for weldless wire 
chain at tlie Univej^ity of Colleges in Liverpool. So great interest 
was manifested that an English company was fonned, under the 
name of the Weldless Chain Company. 

Mr. Edwards is now vice-president of the International Silver 
Company, president of the Bridgeport Chain Company, a director 
in the Cit}' National Bank of Bridgeport, and a trustee of the Bridge- 
port Savings Bank. He is and has been for ten years a member of 
the city board of apportionment. He is a member of several local 
clubs, of the Republican party in politics, warden of the Episcopal 



GEORGE CLARKE EDWARDS. 27 

Church, and trustee of the Young Men's Christian Association. He 
believes that " close attention to business and plenty of fresh air " 
are essential to success in life, and that the best ways of obtaining 
the latter are his two favorite sports " golf and horses." 

In February, 1872, Mr. Edwards married Ardelia E. Holmes, 
daughter of Israel Holmes, the founder of the brass and German 
silver industry in this country. One child has been bom to Mr. and 
Mrs. Edwards, George Holmes Edwards, bom 1881. 

Mr. Edwards' home is at No. 174 Park Place, Bridgeport. 



DANIEL SEYMOUR BRINSMADE 

BRINSMADE, DANIEL SEYMOUE, civil engineer of Shelton, 
prominent among the representative native-born business men 
of Fairfield County, is one of the most honored and influen- 
tial citizens of this region. Mr. Brinsmade was born February 17th, 
1845, in the town of Trumbull, Fairfield County, Connecticut, and 
is the youngest son of Daniel Stiles and Catherine (Mallette) Brins- 
made. He is a direct descendant in the eighth generation from Wil- 
liam Brinsmade, who came to this country from England in 1630, 
locating in Dorchester, Massachusetts. John Brinsmade, the eldest 
son of William, settled in Charlestown, Massachusetts, where, on 
May 3d, 1638, he was made a freeman, and the same year married 
Mary Carter. About 1642 he moved to the town of Stratford, Con- 
necticut, which at that time comprised within its limits both Trum- 
bull and Huntington; and it is interesting to note that John Brins- 
made and his descendants have maintained a continuous residence 
within the limits of the original town of Stratford from the year 
1642 to the present day — a period of over 250 years. 

Daniel S. Brinsmade, whose name introduces these lines, re- 
ceived his earlier education in the public schools of his native place 
and in the Gunnery at Washington, Connecticut. In 1867 he ma- 
triculated in the Scientific Department at Yale College and graduated 
in 1870, having taken the engineering course. Immediately there- 
after he went to Huntington, locating in that part now known as 
Shelton, and became assistant engineer on the construction of the dam 
there, at that time being constructed by the Ousatonic Water Power 
Company. In the fall of 1870 he was made chief engineer of the 
company and the further development of the water power and its 
surroundings, including the laying-out of the borough of Shelton, 
together with its system of sewers and water-works, have since been 
under his charge. In 1891 the dam — built by the Ousatonic Water 
Company in 1870 — was swept away by an immense freshet accom- 
panied by large quantities of ice, and upon Mr. Brinsmade devolved 

38 



DANIEL SEYMOUR BRINSMADE. 29 

the responsibility of design and construction of a new dam, one con- 
taining such features as would make it safe beyond peradventure, 
and capable of meeting the conditions which resulted in the destruc- 
tion of the original dam. 

The intimate connection which the Ousatonic Water Power Com- 
pany bears to the building up of both Shelton and Derby has naturally 
brought Mr. Brinsmade — as president and treasurer of that com- 
pany — into close relations with the financial and manufacturing in- 
terests of the community. At present he is vice-president of the 
Home Trust Company, and a director in the Birmingham National 
Bank, also in several manufacturing companies. 

Notwithstanding his manifold responsibilities in various incum- 
bencies, yet his time and efforts have not been entirely absorbed in his 
profession and business. For thirty consecutive years he has been 
a member of the Board of Education in the town of Huntington, and 
much of the time its president; he is also president of the Plumb 
Memorial Library. 

In politics a Eepublican, our subject represented the town of 
Huntington in the legislature of 1882, during which session he was 
largely instrumental in securing the charter for the borough of 
Shelton, and for much of the time since he has served that borough in 
some capacity. In religious faith he is a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church of Derby. 

In 1870 Mr. Brinsmade married Miss Jeanette S. Pardee, daugh- 
ter of Dr. John H. Pardee of Trumbull, and to his marriage have 
been born five children : Frances L., Daniel E. (who graduated from 
Yale S. S., Class of 1896), Caroline C, Helen J., and Wallace S. 
(Yale S. S., 1908). 

The name of an honored old family Mr. Brinsmade bears worthily 
and well, and in both business and social circles he ranks deservedly 
high. 



ISAAC WASHINGTON BIRDSEYE 

BIEDSEYE, ISAAC WASHINGTON, manufacturer, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, was born at Huntington, Connecti- 
cut, and is the son of the late Joseph and Caroline (Hubbell) 
Birdseye. His ancestry on both sides is of good old New England 
stock. The Birdseyes originally came from Berkshire, England, and 
settled in Stratford, Connecticut, in 1636. 

Among the ancestors of Mr. Birdseye are the Eeverend Nathan 
Birdseye who graduated from Yale in 1736, was pastor of the church 
at West Haven and afterward at Stratford, and died in 1818 at the 
age of one hundred and three; also Captain Joseph Birdseye, a 
Revolutionary patriot and such men as Major Gold of Fairfield and 
Governor Wells on his father's side; on the maternal side, Lieuts. 
John and Eichard Hubbell, descendants of Richard Hubbell who 
emigrated to America in 1645. These ancestors served in the Colo- 
nial and Indian Wars. Lieut. Richard Hubbell was commissioned by 
Governor Talcott in 1728 and afterwards became Captain of a 
Colonial company; he died in 1758 and was buried at Huntington 
Center. 

Isaac W. Birdseye received his education in the public schools and 
at the age of twenty-one began business as a manufacturer in his 
native town of Huntington and later at Shelton, Conn., where he 
remained till 1880 when he removed to Bridgeport in order to secure 
larger facilities. Later another factory was established, and still 
later the entire business was removed to Bridgeport, and Mr. Birds- 
eye is now the senior member of the firm of Birdseye and Somers, 
and they have one of the largest corset factories in the United 
States, with salesrooms at Boston, New York, Chicago, and San 
Francisco. 

Mr. Birdseye has a wide acquaintance, is universally beloved and 
respected among his business associates and fellow citizens. He is a 
man of highest integrity, generous, and genial, ever ready to assist 
in every cause, with sympathy for the unfortunate. He is noted for 

30 



ISAAC WASHINGTON BIRDSETE. 33 

his hospitality and is never so well pleased as when at his home, at 
the corner of Fairfield and Park avenues, surrounded by his many 
friends and they both, social and political, can recall many occasions 
long to be remembered. 

Mr, Birdseye married Lizzie Josephine Sherwood, only daughter 
of the late Aaron Banks and Elizabeth Curtis Sherwood of Bridge- 
port, and they have one child, a daughter, Elizabeth Josephine. 

At all times Mr. Birdseye is deeply interested in the affairs of 
his city and state and he has as many friends in politics as in society. 
He is a loyal Eepublican, but has never sought political office. He 
is one of the Governors of the Sea Side Club, a member of the Board 
of Ediication, a member of the Brooklawn Country Club, the Bridge- 
port Yacht Club, the Contemporary Club and The Lotos Club of 
New York city. He is a member of the South Congregational 
Church, director of the Young Men's Christian Association and has 
been actively identified with this organization ever since it was 
started in Bridgeport. He is one of the Advisory Board of the 
Bridgeport Orphan Asylum, director in the Pequonnock National 
Bank, the Bridgeport Savings Bank, the Bankers Loan and Trust 
Co., of New York city. He was president of the Bridgeport Board 
of Trade in 1902 and 1903, Commissioner from the State of Con- 
necticut to the St. Louis Exposition in 1904, and elector at the Eoose- 
velt and Fairbanks election, 1904. 

Mr. Birdseye is a member of the order of the Barons of Eunny- 
mede, of the Society of Colonial Wars, of the Military order of 
Foreign Wars, Sons of the Eevolution, and of the Sons of the 
American Eevolution, and for several years past has been treasurer- 
general of the National Society. 



GEORGE M. CLARK 

CLAEK, GEORGE M., president of the Meriden National Bank 
and since 1865 an active resident of Meriden, was born at 
Willimantic, Conn., October 5th, 1844. His ancestors in- 
clude men of standing and influence in the early history of this 
country and he is descended from Lieut. William Clark, one of the 
first settlers of Dorchester, Mass., and who came to this country from 
England in 1636, but in 1639 removed to Northampton, Mass. He 
served as a soldier in the King Philip's War and for fourteen years 
was a representative from Northampton in the General Court. George 
M. Clark's forefathers afterwards became prominent in Connecticut, 
and as far back at 1784 Jonathan Clark, son of David, was born in 
Tolland, where he grew to manhood and became a landowner and a 
prosperous farmer. Silas Fuller Clark, son of Jonathan and the 
father of George M. Clark, was also a native of Tolland, but spent 
the last five years of his life in Meriden, where he died in August, 
1900, and was buried in the Willimantic cemetery. He married at 
Willimantic, Elizabeth L. Woodworth, a daughter of Asa Woodworth, 
of Hebron, Conn. 

George M. Clark was the only child of his parents to grow to 
manhood, his twin brother having died in childhood. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and also private schools of Willimantic, 
where he prepared for college, but his close application to studies 
caused his health to break down and he had to give up the college life 
which he had looked forward to with much pleasure and ambition. 

He, therefore, began his business life at the age of sixteen, as a 
clerk in the Willimantic post-oflfice, but a year later entered the bank 
at Windham, as teller, ever since which time he has been continuously 
associated with the banking business. In 1865 he was invited by 
the late 0. B. Arnold, then its cashier, to enter the Meriden National 
Bank and become its teller, which position he filled with faithful 
attention to his duties until 1891, when he was elected cashier. This 
office he held until the death of Mr. Levi E. Coe, president, when he 

34 



GEORGE M. CLARK. 35 

was chosen president, and since that date has been at the head of the 
institution. Mr. Clark, from his long connection with banking, is 
properly regarded as one whose conservative ideas and sound judgment 
have always held the confidence of his directors and the public in 
general. 

Since becoming a resident of Meriden, he has entered heart and 
soul into all matters where the welfare and good name of the town 
were at stake and is particularly active in church circles. He has for 
many years been a prominent member and one of the trustees of 
the First Methodist Church of Meriden, in the aifairs of which he has 
been a valued participant. 

He was married in Mansfield to Louisa Marie, daughter of Perry 
and Lois (Fenton) Holly, and two children have been born to them as 
follows : George S. Clark, teller of the Meriden National Bank, who 
married Carrie Capen, of Norwich, Conn., and who have one child, 
Roland B. Clark; and Elizabeth Louise, assistant librarian at the 
Curtis Memorial Library, of Meriden. 



ISAAC BALDWIN BRISTOL 

BRISTOL, ISAAC BALDWIN, was born iu Brookfield, Fair- 
field County. Connecticnt, December 21st, 1821, the son of 
William D. and Eliza Baldwin Bristol, and at the early ago 
of fifteen be began his business life as clerk in a store in Brookfield. 
From Brookfield he went as clerk in a store in Bridgeport where he 
soon bought out his employer and engaged in business independently. 
He sold his mercantile interests there in 1839. and moved to New 
Milford, Connecticut, and this village was his home for sixty-six 3'ears. 
His smaller business activities soon broadened into wider fields, his 
cattle interests extending from the staked plains of Texas to the vast 
gracing fields of Montiina. He purchased the Ezra Noble homestead 
on Main street, in New Milford which has been remodeled into a 
hotel, and it was so conducted under his ownership for some twenty- 
five years. 

His opinions and judgment were often souglit, and his willing- 
ness to listen and aid none knew so well as those in need of advice 
and financial help. His discernment was clear and his conclusions 
sound. 

He was a staunch Democrat and as State Senator, as Eepre- 
sentative of his town in the General Asembly, and as selectman for 
many years, he served Avith honor and faithfulness. He was a director 
in both the First National of New Milford and the New Milford 
Savings Bank, and his capacity and consen-atism in matters of 
finance were fully recognized, and for some years before and at the 
time of his decease he was president of both institutions. Mr. Bris- 
tol was married in 1845 to Miss Annis Roberts, who died in 1894, 
and in 1897 he was married to ]\Iiss Sarah Elizabeth Allen, of New 
Milford, who survived him at his decease, on November 2nd, 1905. 

Mr. Bristol was a man who " held his head above the crowd " 
along all the avenues of his many-sided activities. He was successful 
in his undertakings and accumulated a large fortune. He did many 

36 



ISAAC BALDWIN BRISTOL. 39 

good deeds and assisted many worthy people and enterprises, although 
always in a quiet and unassuming way, and he left to all who knew 
him the priceless example of true business integrity and uprightness 
of character and conduct. 



FREDERICK A. HUBBARD 

HUBBARD, FREDERICK A., lawyer and writer, of Greenwich, 
Fairfield County, Connecticut, was born in HoUis, New 
Hampshire, JSTovember 17th, 1851, and comes of a very old 
and substantial New England family which was founded in this 
country by George Hubbard who came from England to America in 
1G40 and settled in Glastonbury, Connecticut. Mr. Hubbard's father, 
Luther Prescott Hubbard, a financial agent by occupation, wrote a 
genealogy of the family called " The Descendants of George Hubbard 
from 1640 to 1873." Mr. Hubbard's mother was Mary Tenney 
Hubbard. 

After receiving his elementary and preparatory education at the 
Greenwich Academy, Frederick Hubbard went to New York where he 
spent tw^o years studying law in the office of William M. Evarts of 
the law firm Evarts, Southmayd and Choate. He then entered the 
law school of the University of the City of New York where he was 
graduated in 1875 with the degree of LL.B. He was admitted to 
the New York Bar soon after his graduation and a little later to the 
Connecticut Bar. 

Immediately after his admission to the Bar, Mr. Hubbard 
opened a law office in Greenwich and he has conducted a growing and 
successful practice there ever since that time. Outside of his profes- 
sion he is chiefly interested in literary pursuits for he has a fine and 
extensive library and is himself a writer of much merit. He is a 
frequent contributor to magazines and newspapers and his candid, 
independent and just estimate of public matters exerts a strong, 
clean influence on public opinion. Though a loyal Republican he has 
never cared to hold office. 

Mr, Hubbard is interested in real estate on an extensive scale 
and is one of the largest tax-payers in his community. He is vice- 
president of The Miamis Motor Works. He is a trustee of the 
Greenwich Savings Bank. He is a member of the local order of 
Masons, Accacia Lodge F. and A. M., of the New England Society of 

40 



FREDERICK A. HUBBARD. 41 

New York City and of the Second Congregational Church of Green- 
wich. His family consists of a wife, Agnes Helena Waterbury Hub- 
bard, whom he married in 1883 ; and the following children : — 
Carleton W. born in 1884, Drexel T. bom in 1886, and George F. 
bom in 1899. 



EDWIN GOODWIN BURNHAM 

BUENHAM, EDWARD GOODWIN, one of Bridgeport's lead- 
ing captains of industry, ex-state senator and a zealous 
promoter of public welfare in his community, was born in 
Springfield, Hampden County, Massachusetts, June 2, 1827. He is 
a descendant of Thomas Burnham who came from England to 
Hartford, Connecticut, in 1635 and afterwards purchased land of the 
Podunk Indians in what is now East Hartford and South Windsor 
and where he resided and built a garrison house. Mr. Burnham's 
parents were Charles and Persis White Burnham. His father was 
one of the inspectors in the United States Armory at Springfield 
and a man of great firmness of character and strict morality and 
integrity. His mother was of equally strong and noble character 
and exerted lasting influences for good on her son's life and person- 
ality. 

Though he was born in Springfield most of Edward Q. Burnham's 
early boyhood was spent in the country at work on a farm and he 
deems this experience to be the best possible training for future 
success in life. He was intensely interested in mechanics and 
outside of his school books gave his leisure time chiefly to books on 
mechanical subjects. The local public schools furnished his sole 
educational opportunities but he was diligent, keen and alert and 
made the most of his limited advantages. At the age of sixteen he 
went to Brattleboro, Vermont, to learn the machinist's trade with 
Hines, Norman & Hunt. After due time of apprenticeship he entered 
the Armory at Springfield where he worked in various capacities — 
as machinist and contractor. 

Some years later Mr. Burnham left the Springfield Armory and 
removed to Bridgeport where he engaged in the manufacturing 
business with Dwight, Chapin and Company. The concern was 
engaged in manufacturing appendages for rifles for the United States 
Government and, later, in the manufacture of fire arms, and its 
business during the period of the Civil War was naturally extensive 

42 



EDWIN GOODWIN BURNHAM. 45 

and important. After the close of the War Mr. Burnham became 
interested in the manufacture of steam, gas and water fittings on a 
small scale with Mr. Charles F. Belknap of Bridgeport. His great 
knowledge of mechanical principles, his inventions and his industry 
and perseverance brought in a large trade which encouraged the 
formation of the corporation of Belknap & Burnham with Mr. Burn- 
ham as president. The business grew so rapidly it was found neces- 
sary to increase its capital and enlarge its plant and in 1874 the 
Eaton, Cole & Burnham Company was organized with Mr. Burnham 
as vice-president. He remained as active head of the concern sub- 
sequently becoming its president and developing its efficiency and 
capacity and the excellence of its products until the company 
employed fourteen hundred men and became and is now one of the 
leading industries of the great industrial City of Bridgeport, employ- 
ing now over two thousand persons. In 1905 Mr. Burnham feeling 
that after his long years of arduous labors he was justified in reliev- 
ing himself from the increasing cares and responsibilities of business 
disposed of his interests in the Eaton, Cole & Burnham Company 
and retired to enjoy the fruits of his long years of active service. 
Though during his active business life he has given most of his time 
and efforts to the foregoing corporations, he has been officially con- 
nected with many other important corporations having been vice- 
president of the United Illuminating Company, president of the 
Bridgeport Crucible Company, director of the City ISTational Bank, 
vice-president of the Bridgeport Hospital and a trustee of the Bridge- 
port Protestant Orphan Asylum. 

In public life Mr. Burnham has always been prominent and 
useful. In 1886 he was state senator and served two years. He is 
a strong and consistent Eepublican and was a loyal Wliig before the 
Eepublican party was organized. He served on the Bridgeport Board 
of Public Works for a number of years. He is a devout and active 
churchman and is a vestryman of St. John's Church, Bridgeport. 
He is fond of social life and is a member of the Seaside Club, the 
Algonquin Club and the Bridgeport Yacht Club, all of Bridgeport. 
For recreation and diversion he enjoys driving, yachting and automo- 
biling and is enthusiastic over the benefits of such forms of relaxa- 
tion. In a modest and quiet way Mr. Burnham is a generous and 
wise philanthropist and his charities are far more extensive and 



46 EDWIN GOODWIN BURNHAM. 

munificent than he cares to have known. He recently paid for the 
building and presented to the Bridgeport Hospital a large and valu- 
able addition. 

In September, 1853, Mr. Bumham married Mary Ferree of 
Springfield, Massachusetts. Three children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Bumham all of whom are now living. 

When questioned as to the source of his first inspiration to win 
success in life Mr. Burnham says that he can name no definite source 
except that he has been imbued from childhood with a strong desire 
to succeed in everything he undertook. He believes the influences 
throughout his life that have helped him toward success have been in 
the following proportion — home fifty per cent., study twenty-five 
per cent., and contact with men in active life twenty-five per cent. 
To those who would be guided by his experience he says, " Be honest, 
temperate, industrious and economical. In all that you undertake, 
whether for yourself or others, give your best efforts and honest 
work. Have charity for the poor and unfortunate. Be kind to and 
have a word of cheer for all with whom you are brought in contact. 
Live a life that shall be a good example to others. Live by the Golden 
Eule." 

From the Bridgeport Standard, February 28th, 1908 : " Edward 
Goodwin Bumham, founder of the Eaton, Cole & Burnham Com- 
pany, passed quietly away at two o'clock this afternoon, surrounded 
by his family, at his home at 768 Fairfield Avenue. He was in the 
81st year of his age, and his death brings to a close a long life, 
marked by its great usefulness and never-failing charity. 

" Mr. Burnham's life was marked by many splendid qualities, 
and above all by his great generosity and his broad charity, which 
was the greater for being of the unobtrusive kind. Since his re- 
tirement from business he has given away a large sum of money in 
useful charity. Among his public works was the erection of one of 
the wings of the Bridgeport hospital, but that was a small under- 
taking compared to the steady stream of help which has flowed from 
time to the poor and needy, always quietly, the satisfaction coming 
to Mr. Bumham in the performance of the deed and not in the re- 
ceiving of public credit for it." 



HENRY LARRABEE 

LAEEABEE, HENEY, farmer, legislator, bank director and 
administrator of estates, of Willimantic, Windham County, 
Connecticut, was bom in Ledyard, New London County, Con- 
necticut, April 15th, 1830. His father, Adam Larrabee, a profes- 
sional soldier and a farmer, was a captain in the regular army, a 
member of legislature and the incumbent of many minor offices. He 
was a man of strong personality, indomitable and persevering. He 
married Hannah Gallup Lester, who died when her son Henry was 
but seven years old, so that the paternal influence was the strongest 
upon his life. On his mother's side Mr. Larrabee is descended from 
ancestors who came from England to America previous to 1700 and 
settled in New London County, while the Larrabees came from France 
equally early and settled in Maryland and Connecticut. 

Industrious habits, sound health and vigorous country life 
proved blessings to Henry Larrabee in his boyhood. The various 
labors of a rough Connecticut farm gave him plenty to do and he 
found such tasks congenial and profitable. His mental development 
was also well cared for, for, though his education was confined to that 
of the typical district schools, liis father had a large and well chosen 
library to which he always had access. Agriculture continued to in- 
terest him and when he was old enough to choose his life work he 
preferred to remain a farmer and he has done so ever since. 

At the age of twenty-three Mr. Larrabee married Maria Stod- 
dard All}Ti, who died in 1898, leaving two children, Adam Larrabee, 
living in Ledyard, and Mrs. Lucius Brown, living in Norwich, though 
she had been the mother of ten. The first twenty-five years of his 
married life Mr. Larrabee spent in Ledyard, where he was active in 
town affairs and in state politics. He served as selectman for many 
years and during the last part of the Eebellion he worked faithfully 
as a member of the enrolling committee. In 1868 he was elected state 
representative and in 1875 state senator. In 1875 also he became 
3 47 



48 HENKT LARKABEE. 

a director in the Norwich Savings Bank, an office which he has held 
ever since that time. 

In 1878 Mr. Larxabee became a resident of Windham and he has 
carried on his extensive farming and his public interests with as much 
zeal there as in his native town. He has also been very busy and suc- 
cessful in settling estates and has had many important commissions 
of this nature entrusted to him. He has been a director in the 
Windham National Bank for a dozen or more years and a leading 
Republican of Windham ever since he became connected with that 
town. He has been loyal to his birthplace and has given much time 
and labor to collecting facts and statutes for Avery's History of Led- 
yard. He is active in the Congregational Church and a member of 
the committee of the Ecclesiastical Society of Windham. He is also 
a member of the Venerable Club of Windham. 

Farming is Mr. Larrabee's exercise and recreation as well as his 
work in life and through such singleness of interests he has found 
happiness and success. His counsel to young men seeking help in 
the struggle for success is summed up in a few significant words — 
" Temperance, unflagging industry and strict economy." 



WILLIAM E. DISBROW 

DISBROW, BEIGADIER GENERAL WILLIAM E., late 
Civil War veteran, deputy collector, customs inspector, for- 
mer quarter-master general of Connecticut, a leading and 
strong Republican and a prominent and honored citizen of Bridge- 
port, Fairfield County, Connecticut, was born in Brookfield, Con- 
necticut, March 15th, 1844 and died at his late home in Bridgeport 
on March 2d, 1907. His parents were Meeker and Julia Whitlock 
Bisbrow. 

Like most boys who attained to their early manhod in the stirring 
days of the opening of the Civil War William E. Disbrow experienced 
military life instead of a higher education or an early start in busi- 
ness. At eighteen he enlisted in the Second Connecticut Volunteer 
Heavy Artillery, the date of his enlistment being August 11th, 1862. 
He was soon promoted to the rank of corporal. He was wounded at 
Petersburg, Virginia, on June 20th, 1864, and also took part in the 
engagements at North Amia, Tolopotomy, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, 
Winchester, Fisher's Hill, Cedar Creek, Sailor Creek, Fort Fisher, 
Spottsylvania and Snicker's Gap, all in Virginia. He received his 
honorable discharge in July, 1865. 

After the war he settled in Bridgeport and was for a time em- 
ployed as a spring maker in that city. He afterwards engaged in 
the fire insurance and pension business. In 1896 Gov. Coffin appointed 
him quarter-master general of the state and he filled that important 
position most efficiently. In December, 1897, he resigned to take the 
oath of deputy collector and customs inspector and he filled these 
offices up to the time of the brief illness which caused his death — a 
period of nearly ten years during which he had full charge of the 
marine department of the customs service. 

The General's prominence in the Grand Army of the Republic 
was widely known and appreciated for he was quarter-master of 
Elias Howe Jr. Post No. 3 for twenty years and commander for four 
years. He was elected department commander of the G. A. R. in 

51 



52 GEN". WILLIAM E. DISBROW. 

Comiecticut in 1876. He also served as secretary and as president of 
the Second Connecticut Heavy Artillery Association. 

In local, state and national politics Gen. Disbrow took a steady 
and active interest and he was a livelong and loyal adherent of 
the Eepublican party. He was always an advocate of the most 
honorable, straight-forward and clean methods in politics and his 
high principles and keen interest did much for the growth of politi- 
cal integrity in his city. He was chairman of the Eepublican town 
committee and registrar of voters for many years. 

In creed Gren. Disbrow was a Baptist, and he was a member 
feind liberal supporter of the Frist Baptist Church of Bridgeport 
during the entire period of his residence in that city. He was one 
of the building committee for the present edifice used by that church. 
He was a member of the following fraternities: Masons, I.O.O.F. 
and Good Templars. 

General Disbrow is survived by a wife, a son and two daughters. 
Mrs. Disbrow was Lily Eobinson of La Crosse, Wisconsin. The 
children are: Charles E., Lily E., and Helen J. Their home is at 
904 Lafayette street, Bridgeport, where he died March 2d, 1907, of 
pneumonia after a brief illness. 

A true soldier of many brave deeds, an honorable, patriotic 
and useful citizen and a public official of great capability and in- 
tegrity. Gen. William E. Disbrow made for himself a name widely 
honored by the many not fortunate enough to know him as a personal 
friend. To his friends he revealed a kindly, generous and unselfish 
personality, a warm heart and a cheerful disposition. His success 
in military, civil and business life was due to his great industry, his 
unfailing honor and his sterling worth as a soldier and a man. 



HERBERT SAMUEL ROWLAND 

ROWLAND, HEEBEET SAMUEL, treasurer of the Ber- 
becker & Eowland Manufacturing Company of Waterville, 
New Haven County, Connecticut, well known in industrial 
and club circles in Waterbury, was born in Weston, Fairfield 
County, Connecticut, August 21st, 1865. He is a descendant of 
Henry Eowland, who came from England in 1639 and settled in 
Fairfield, From him was descended Samuel Sherwood Eowland, Mr. 
Eowland's father, a farmer who brought his son up in the diligent per- 
formance of the necessary farm duties. The mother was Emily C. 
Thorp Eowland and the family home during most of Mr. Eowland's 
boyhood was in the village of Southport, Connecticut. He was edu- 
cated at the South Berkshire Institute in New Marlboro, Massachu- 
setts, and then entered business life without any advanced academic 
technical training. 

The office of the Waterbury Button Company was the scene of 
Herbert S. Eowland's first experiences in business life. He entered 
the employ of that company as soon as he left school and he has been 
engaged in manufacturing interests in Waterbury ever since that 
time. For the past fifteen years he has been treasurer of the Ber- 
becker & Eowland Manufacturing Company, extensive manufac- 
turers of brass goods, whose large and well-equipped plant is located 
in that part of Waterbury known as Waterville. 

Mr. Eowland is a member of the Waterbury Club, of the Home 
Club of Waterbury, of the Clark Commandery, and of the Order of 
Odd Fellows. In politics he is a Eepublican, but he has never been 
an office holder or seeker. He is a member of the Congregational 
Church. His home is at No. 189 Hillside Avenue, Waterbury. Mrs. 
Eowland was Susie S. North when he married her on October 6th, 
1894. Mr. and Mrs. Eowland have had three children, two of whom 
are now living, Alfred North Eowland, bom January 16th, 1900, and 
Helen North Eowland, born December 31st, 1902. 



IKVlNCi HALL CHASE 

CHASE. IKVING 11 ALU manufaotun^r. pi\^\do.ut of tho A. S. 
Chsiik^ Oompx-i-uy. s<vrx^t:vr_v of tJio ChiU^o Kolling Mill Oompauv. 
tJViViiuivj of tho Watorbury CUvk Oomivuiv, viot^prxsidout 
01 tJio Watorbury MiuwifaL-ninuo; Comiv^uxy and stiUe sonator from 
the Fiftoiu\th Distxiot of Couiuvii^nit. is a Ufoloitg ivsidoiit of Water- 
bury. New Haven County, Oonneotioiit. whon^ ho NA-a^i lx>rn May 13th. 
1S5S. Ho i? tho sou of Augustus Sabiu aud Martha Chirk Stark- 
wt^thox Chaik^ and a dt^vndiuit of \Yilliani Chtu<c^ who came frvMu 
Enghuid to Swausoa, Masi^aohusotts, in li>oO. Aug\istiis S. Cha^, 
Mr. Chaik^'si father, was a maiuifaeturor and banker, a man of }x^^i- 
tive, brv\ad and iumph^ tastes, farsighttxi and capable iu busiiu\<s :md 
sanguine and chtvxful iu teniix^rainent. He w:u^ suvte represtnitAtiw 
iu ISoo and iu both public serviee and private and busiuess life was 
a einistant example juid iuspiratiou to his s<mi. 

As he WH^ active, healthy aud uuhamtviwi by jveuuiary difli- 
eultie* it was natural that Irviug Cha.<e should acquire a thorvnigh 
eilueation. His tirst sv4ux>l experience away frvtiu home was at '* the 
Gunnery " iu Wai^ngton. Connecticut, where he nveivtxl the 
stiongest formative iutluemvs exertt\l u^xni his life. tUways e^iceptiug 
the doniiiumt jxaternal inliuenct\ He then spi^nt two years at 
Phillip's Academy. Andover. Masii{ichustH.t^ preiviring for ».vUegx\ 
and matxiculat<xi at Yale ruivexsity iu Septemlvx. iSTiv He was 
graduated from Yale with the degnv of A. B. in June, ISSO. and the 
following Xovemlvx he enterevl the employ of the Wat<>rbury CUvk 
Compmy as elexk iu the sliippiug deixartnient. 

Although this first business engt^gment w;vs a matter of oppor- 
tunity rather than of delilx>rate jx^rsomvl ehoieo, iMr. Chase nnuaiutxi 
in the manufacturing busim^ss and ha.^ made it his life work. He 
stxm Ixvame fon^man of his department iu the Watexbury Clock 
Com}\any and iu 1SS5 he btx^\me sxx\retaxy of the ciMu^vuiy. A j^^ir 
lat*T he w^u< uuide a member of tlie ciMuixuiy's Ixxaxd of din.vtors 
aud iu Januaxv. 1900. he w-is msde tn\\suxex of the ce>mpany. Since 



S-iiiOt J-lIt. 1- _. -- • ~ ' : ■ • 

:-if A~-" :_ ". - •■-.": -"■ - - iiXT, 

lSi>4, Mr. v. ^ 

SiiiiL In N.. -__Tr ■ - 

and ^e He: _ - - . r:^ 

Mr. Chase's home is at 11? Pri>sp<?c: Street. Wi; : .- > 

lamilj nnmbars a vife aitd nre ohilonsi. Mirjoiie ScirkTr£>iir-5?r 
C3iase, EleuKir Keilogg C%ase, Lucia Ho^saier Cb..i^\ Y 
IrriiLg Cliase, and DordiT Mather Chase. Mr?. Chase was V 
Hosmer Kellogjr, a dacghor ^vf ;he laie S^»^phea W. Kellos:^ »r.-^ui 
he BLUcried in Fehmarv. 1S>9 



OWEN RUICK HAVENS 

HAVENS, OWEN RUICK, president of the Champion Manu- 
facturing Company of Eocky Hill, Connecticut, member of 
State Legislature and a prominent town official and political 
leader, was born in Wethersfield, Hartford County, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 23d, 1856. He is a direct descendant of Thomas Havens, a sea 
captain, who emigrated from England to America in early times, and, 
on the maternal side, he traces direct descent from Owen Rewick, 
who came from Ireland to America and was an officer in the Revolu- 
tionary War. Mr. Havens' father was Ebenczer G. Havens, a farmer, 
and an active and zealous Republican. Mr. Havens' mother, whose 
maiden name was Melvine Ruick, died when he was but three years 
old. 

The experiences, tasks and schooling of the average New England 
farmer's boy fell to Mr. Havens' lot in youth, for he was reared on 
his father's extensive farm and had plenty of hard work to do every 
day. He was strong and ambitious and the daily labor was beneficial 
rather than irksome, for it taught him what he deems necessary for 
all business men to learn — that " constant hustle " is the secret of 
success in life. He received a limited education at the district schools 
of Wethersfield, after which, in 187G, he went to New Hartford, 
where he worked as a butcher for two years. He then became inter- 
ested in farming, which was his occupation for several summers, while 
he traveled on the road selling seeds in the winter months. The 
farmer's life appealed to him strongly and after a few years lie settled 
down in Rocky Hill and devoted himself to the; cultivation of a large 
farm and to the raising of fine horses. He also engaged in maufac- 
turing and has been for some time the president of the Champion 
Manufacturing Company of Rocky Hill. 

Mr. Havens has always taken a keen interest in political and 
public affairs and has frequently held responsible offices. He was 
first selectman of Rocky Hill from 1892 to 1905, a member of the 
State Legislature in 1892 and 1893, a delegate to the Republican and 

58 



OWEN ECICK HAVENS. 59 

Constitutional Conventions for several 3ears, and in 1905 he was 
again elected to the State Legislature. During his first session in 
the Legislature he served on the committee on Labor. He has always 
been a consistent and prominent Eepublican. He is a member of 
the Congregational Church, of the Sons of the American Revolution, 
and of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, F. and A. M. of Hartford. For out- 
door recreation he delights in driving horses and his stables are well 
stocked with thoroughbreds. He is also very fond of travel, and he 
and Mrs. Havens, nee Lillian Sophia White, whom he married in 
1887, have traveled all over this country and as far west as California. 



ROBERT COIT 

COIT, EGBERT, late bank president, ex-judge of probate, 
state senator and representative, and leading business man 
of New London, Connecticut, was born in that city on April 
26th, 1830, and died there June 19th, 1904, after passing a long, fruit- 
ful, and eventful life in that town in which his family have been promi- 
nent for over two hundred and fifty years. He was descended from 
John Coit, a native of Wales, who came to Salem, Massachusetts, be- 
fore 1638 and in 1644 moved to Gloucester, Massachusetts. He after- 
wards received a grant of land in New London, where he settled in 
1650. John Coit's son. Deacon Joseph Coit, and his grandson, John 
Coit, were pioneers in the shipbuilding industry in New London. A 
later ancestor, the Hon. Joshua Coit, was a Harvard graduate, class of 
1776, a member of Congress and state representative for seven terms. 
Judge Coit's father was Eobert Coit, a lumber and coal merchant, 
who was president of the Union Bank of New London and founder 
and president of the Savings Bank of New London. Judge Coifs 
mother was Charlotte Elizabeth Coit. 

After taking preparatory courses in the private schools of New 
London and Farmington, Eobert Coit entered Yale University, where 
he was graduated in 1850. He determined upon a legal career and 
after the completion of his academic studies he studied law in the 
oflBce of William C. Crump of New London and later in the Yale Law 
School. He was admitted to the bar in 1853 and immediately began 
practice in his native town. In 1860 he was elected judge of probate 
for the district of New London for four years and then became 
registrar in bankruptcy. In 1867 he became treasurer of the New 
London and Northern Eailroad, of which he was afterwards made 
president, and he held both these offices until his death. In 1879 he 
was elected mayor of New London, and in the same year he became 
state representative and served on the judiciary committee and the 
committee on constitutional amendments. He was destined for still 
greater political honors and served four years in the State Senate, 

60 




C^,tP^^}vt 



EOBBET COIT 63 

being chairman of the committees on incorporations, cities and bor- 
oughs, and insurance. During the last two years of his senatorship 
he was president pro tern of the Senate. In 1897 he was again elected 
to the General Assembly and during this term of office he was chair- 
man of the committee on incorporations. 

In 1893 Judge Coit became president of the Union Bank of 
New London, and held this office up to the time of his death in 1904. 
The Union Bank is the oldest and one of the strongest banks in the 
state. Judge Coit was also vice-president of the Savings Bank of 
New London, president of the New London G-as & Electric Company, 
and also of the New London Steamboat Company, secretary and 
treasurer of the Smith Memorial Home, trustee of the J. N. Harris' 
estate, and a participant in many other business enterprises. 

Judge Robert Coit was a scholar and student of great ability 
and careful culture. He was a powerful, persuasive speaker and a 
fluent writer and conversationalist. He was naturally a leader of 
men, particularly in business and in politics, and his many honors 
were won by his own ability, integrity, and public spirit. 

He is survived by a son, William Brainard Coit, one of New 
London's prominent politicians and attorneys. A daughter died in 
infancy and his wife, Lucretia Brainard Coit, died May 6th, 1906. 

The following article on Mr. Coit, written by his fellow towns- 
man, the late Hon. Augustus Brandegee, appeared some years ago in 
the New London Telegraph, and as it will be interesting to friends of 
both men we insert it here. 

" He was just entering upon a successful career at the bar, when 
some evil genius persuaded him to take the position of treasurer of 
the New London Northern Railroad, from which he was ultimately 
promoted to be its president. He had every quality to have made a 
great lawyer and ultimately a great judge. He was cultured in an- 
cient and modern literature. He was familiar with the useful, as 
well as graceful sciences and arts. He had a diction and power 
of speech, when once aroused, that carried not only persuasion but 
conviction with it. He knew how to express his thoughts with the 
pen as well as the tongue in pure English, undefiled. He had studied 
law as a science from its deep English foundations, and his mind was 
broad enough and strong enough to apply it with its limitations and 
adaptations to the whole business of life. And then he had a char- 



64 ROBEKT COIT 

aeter as pure as the sun-light, which had come to him through a long 
line of noble ancestors, with whom honesty, fidelity, integrity, and 
honor were hereditary transmissions, and to whom a stain was a 
wound. So equipped, I hoped to see him pass from the front rank 
of the bar to the front rank of the bench, as one of the great names 
in our judicial history. But just as his sun began to mount to its 
meridian he left the bar for the more congenial activities of a busi- 
ness life as president of the New London Northern Kailroad. To 
him, more than any and all others, it is due, that the stock of that 
local corporation, in which so many of the people of this vicinity are 
interested, stands higher in the market, with but two or three excep- 
tions, than any other railroad in the United States." 



WILLIAM BRAINARD COIT 

COIT, WILLIAM BEAINARD, lawyer, judge of the City and 
Police Court of New London, former state representative, 
vice-president of the Union Bank of New London, and a leader 
in public and social affairs in that city, was born there July 33d, 1862. 
His father was Eobert Coit, late bank president, judge of probate, 
state senator and influential business man of New London, and his 
mother was Lucretia Brainard Coit. Through his father, William B. 
Coit is descended from John Coit who came from Wales to Massa- 
chusetts in 1638 and settled in New London in 1650, since which 
early date the Coits have been leaders in the affairs of that community. 
Deacon Joseph Coit and John Coit, son and grandson of the first John 
Coit, were the first shipbuilders in New London, while the Hon. 
Joshua Coit, of a later generation, was a graduate of Harvard in the 
class of 1776 and was a Congressman and state representative. On 
his mother's side Mr. Coit traces his ancestral line to Daniel Brainard 
who came from England to Hartford, an eight-year-old boy, in 1649. 
A century later the line of descent is traced through Judge Jeremiah 
G. Brainard who was graduated from Yale in 1779 and was immedi- 
ately afterwards commissioned a lieutenant in the Eevolutionary 
Army. He was the second mayor of New London, being first elected 
in 1806 and was re-elected for twenty-three consecutive years at the 
end of which he resigned to accept appointment on the bench of the 
superior court, later being advanced to the supreme court. Another 
of Mr. Coit's distinguished maternal ancestors was John G. C. Brain- 
ard, poet and scholar, who graduated from Yale in 1815. Mr. Coit's 
maternal grandfather was William F. Brainard, who graduated from 
Yale University with high honors in 1802, and was a distinguished 
attorney of New London county. Judge Coit is also a direct descend- 
ant of Elder Brewster of the Mayflower on his paternal side as well 
as from Lion Gardiner on both his paternal and maternal sides, and 
has in his possession many papers, books, and coats-of-arms belonging 
to the early proprietors of Gardiner's Island. 

The present day representative of so many distinguished pro- 

65 



66 WILLIAM BRAINAED COIT. 

genitors passed his youth in New London and attended the public 
schools there nntil time for his preparation for college. He then en- 
tered Phillips Academy in Andover, Massachusetts, where he was 
graduated in 1881. The following fall young Mr. Coit entered the 
scientific department of Yale University, where he was graduated in 
1884. He then studied law in the office of Hon. John G, Crump and 
was admitted to the New London County Bar in 1887, since when he 
has been actively engaged in the legal profession. For five years he 
was the eflBcient prosecuting attorney for the city of New London. 
Early in his legal career, in fact a year before his admission to the 
Bar, he became assistant clerk in the court of Common Pleas and he 
still holds that office. In 1903 he was elected by the general assembly 
to the office of judge of the City and Police Court in New London and 
was re-elected in 1905. 

In politics Judge Coit has enjoyed a career as honorable, active, 
and influential as he has in his profession. He is a loyal and popular 
EepubHcan and in 1901 and again in 1903 he represented New Lon- 
don in the state legislature. During his first term of office he was 
chairman of the committee on house rules and a member of the com- 
mittee on cities and boroughs and of the committee on revision of 
statutes. During his second term he was house chairman of the com- 
mittee on cities and boroughs and a member of other important com- 
mittees. 

Since the death of his father in 1904 Judge Coit has been his 
successor as secretary and treasurer of the Smith Memorial Home of 
New London, and vice-president of the Union bank, of which his father 
was president. He is district manager of the Mutual Benefit Life In- 
surance Company of Newark, New Jersey, a position which he has 
held since 1900. In 1896 and 1897 he was paymaster on the staff of 
Col. A. C. Tyler, of the 3d Eegiment, C. N. G. 

Judge Coit attends the Congregational church and is a member 
of the Order of Elks and the Order of Masons and of the following 
clubs: the Thames Club and John Winthrop Club of New London, 
and the Union League and Graduates' Clubs of New Haven. While 
in college he was a member of the " Book and Snake " society. Judge 
Coit was married October 20th, 1886, to Anna Blanchard Bancroft, 
daughter of Major E. A. Bancroft, U. S. A. Their home is in New 
London. 



tl 



i 



DEACON THEODOSIUS CLARK 

CLAEK, DEACON THEODOSIUS, the father of the three 
distinguished men whose life stories follow, was a man di 
great ability, integrity and Christianity, who bore a striking 
and prominent part in the affairs of his day and brought up his sons 
under the best and strongest influences, those of his own character 
and achievement. He was the son of Amasa and Lydia Hull Judson 
Clark, and was bom in Cheshire, Connecticut, on October 22d, 
1788, and died July 27th, 1865, in Southington. He was a farmer 
and school teacher, and a deacon and active worker in the Congre- 
gational Church. In his capacity of deacon, he conducted many 
religious services and was an indefatigable worker among the poor 
and suffering. He often walked miles in stormy weather to hold 
previously announced religious meetings and was a zealous advocate 
of temperance. He was most patriotic and served his country in 
the War of 1812 as a member of the cavalry company commanded 
by Col. Hoadley. His first wife was Miss Chloe Clark, daughter of 
Seth Clark of Southington. The three sons whose sketches are ap- 
pended were children of this marriage, also a daughter, Harriet 
Clark Cummings. She died in 1848, and in 1850 Mr. Clark married 
Miss Sarah Morse of Cheshire. It was truly said of Deacon Clark 
at the time of his death that " he lived and died in favor with God 
and man." 

The earlier genealogy of the Clark family reveals many names 
of distinction and interest, going back as it does through a long time 
of noteworthy ancestors. The family was founded in this country 
by James Clark, who with Gov. Eaton and Parson Davenport and 
others, founded the Colony of New Haven in 1638. His great-grand- 
son, Stephen Clark, bom in 1721, married Euth Burr, a descendant 
of the first white settler of Hartford, Nicholas Clark, who was also 
noted for his services in the Pequot War. Amasa, son of Stephen 
and Ruth, was the father of Deacon Theodosius Clark. 

69 



70 DEACON THEODOSIUS CLARK. 

Through Cloe Clark, wife of Theodosius and mother of tlie three 
sons and daughter, comes another line of the Clark ancestry equally 
illustrious. It begins with William Clark, who lived in Hartford as 
early as 1639 and was later one of the original settlers of Haddam, 
where he died in 1681. His son, Sergeant John Clark of Middle- 
town, married Elizabeth, daughter of Captain Nathaniel White, who 
represented Middletown in the legislature for over fifty years and 
held many local offices. Deacon Joseph Clark, 1720-1778, grand- 
son of John and Elizabeth, was town clerk and deacon of the church 
in Middletown. His son, Seth, was the father of Chloe, in whose 
union with Theodosius the two lines of Clarks were merged. Dea- 
con Joseph Clark married Joanna Fairchild, who brought into the 
family a distinguished line of Stratford ancestors. This line is 
traceable to Thomas Fairchild, an early settler of Stratford, and to 
Eobert Coe, who came from England in 1634. Another worthy an- 
cestor of this branch of the family was Matthew Mitchell of Halifax, 
England, who came to America in 1635, and was a pioneer settler 
of many New England towns which he helped establish in the face 
of great difficulty and suffering. He was one of the founders of 
Stamford and a magistrate, representative and judge. Joseph Haw- 
ley, another early ancestor on this side of the house was town clerk, 
treasurer, surveyor commissioner, and nineteen (19) times a deputy 
to the Greneral Court. 

Through Lydia Hull, the mother of Deacon Theodosius Clark, 
the present generation of Clarks trace tJieir ancestry to Eichard 
Hull of Derbyshire, England, who came to New Haven in 1639. 
His son. Dr. John Hull, was selectman and representative and served 
in King Philip's War, as did others of the ancestors on the Hull 
side. 

Thus through every branch of their extensive and honorable 
family tree the Clarks are descended from a long line of men prom- 
inent in the settlement, government and military historj' of their 
country. 



ilo^Zd-^^^^^^^'/^^^^-^AL 



WILLIAM JUDSON CLARK 

CLAEK, HON. WILLIAM JUDSON", manufacturer, former 
state senator, and one of Southington's ablest business men 
and most useful citizens, is the oldest living son of Deacon 
Theodosius and Chloe Clark, and was bom in Southington, August 
19th, 1825. 

Breaking away from ancestral traditions and orthodox stand- 
ards of a son of the soil, he early started to carve his own future 
on independent and untried lines. The first fifteen years of his life 
followed the usual channels, wherein the wholesome duties of home 
and farm, and what education could be gleaned from the traditional 
red schoolhouse facilities, played the essential role; but the demands 
of the farm were so far in excess that the limitations of the two 
term per year schedule failed to appease his thirst for knowledge. 
Physical and mental activities, backed by the eager and earnest 
student, found a way, and the Southington Academy became possible. 

The " destiny " that seemed to shape his course came in the form 
of impaired eyesight, thus interfering with his preparation for 
college. Nothing daunted, though greatly disappointed, he accepted 
the situation forced upon him, turning his energies and interests to 
new fields. The year 1846, while he was principal of the High School 
at West Avon, Connecticut, closed his educational experiences so far as 
book study was directly concerned. 

In the spring of 1847, Mr. Clark formed a partnership with his 
brother-in-law, Hezekiah C. Cummings, under the firm name of 
Cummings & Clark, Country Merchants, located at "Hitchcock's 
Basin," on the Farmington Canal, at the southern line of the town 
of Southington where the Meriden and Waterbury Turnpike, or Stage 
Boad, crossed. Their success was promoted by hiring the only Canal 
Boat that was owned in the town of Southington, which gave them 
a monoply of the freighting of the merchandise and inducing thera 
to establish the first Lumber and Coal Yard in that town. 

71«j 



lid WILLIAM JUDSON CLAKK, 

In 1849, Mr. Clark, desiring to see more of the world, became 
one of a company of fifty-five men who sought the newly discovered 
gold fields of California. They left New Haven, Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 23d, 1849, in the schooner " G. H. Montague." The route lay 
via Cape Horn, and the Golden Gate was entered on June 25tli. 

The Montague Association sailed its vessel up to the mouth of 
the Feather Eiver, thence making an overland expedition of fifty 
miles to the Yuba River mines. Mr. Clark was one of the number 
migrating. The mines proved fairly lucrative, but owing to the en- 
tire change of conditions — dietary and climatic — in midsummer, 
the company suffered by serious illness of its members both in the 
mines and at the ship station, resulting in a mortality of thirteen 
within three months. 

In November, Mr. Clark, having become prostrated with the 
prevailing malady, returned to San Francisco, hoping to recuperate. 
Improved in health, he established a new coffee factory, with a large 
hand-power mill that he found stored there, and conducted a suc- 
cessful business with three lusty employees until the spring of 1850, 
when, owing to poor health, he sold the plant, and returned by steamer 
to his Connecticut home, -sia the Isthmus of Panama. 

Settling again in Southington, Mr. Clark entered upon a con- 
tract with a local carriage-bolt maker to sell their goods as far as 
Buffalo, which was " far West " in those days. Becoming much in- 
terested in this line of business, he determined to establish his own 
nut and bolt industr}-. For this purpose he bought and rebuilt in 
Southington an old dilapidated mill building with a small water 
power, where, in 1851, he produced his first nuts for bolt makers. 

It was a fundamental principle of Mr. Clark to give preference 
to employees who did not use intoxicating beverages, and who faith- 
fully devoted their earnings to the proper support of those dependent 
upon them, believing the economic question and the danger of hav- 
ing powerful machinery run by men with brain and nerves dis- 
ordered by the use of alcohol, sufficient reason for the rule. The 
result was that the two saloons existing in that district in 1851 soon 
retired or moved out and it became a sufficient recommendation to any 
other factories in the town for an employee seeking a position to quote 
that he had fulfilled a year satisfactorily at the Clark Shop. 

In 1854, owing to the increase of business, Mr. Clark's brothers, 



WILLIAM JUDSON CLARK. lie 

Henry H. and Charles H., became members of the firm, under tbe 
firm name of William J. Clark & Company. Many improvements 
were made in the general equipment of the plant. The Civil War 
naturally created a demand for gun screws, and Mr. Clark added 
those implements to the list of his products. 

In 1871, he retired from the active management of the business 
factory, retaining his interest until 1881, when his patents expired. 
In the meantime around the original mill had grown a flourishing 
factory village for which Mr. Clark secured a Post-Office under the 
name it still bears — " Milldale." 

After his retirement from the nut and bolt industry, Mr. Clark, 
with six other men, organized in 1881 the " Southington Lumber & 
Feed Company," including coal, and resuming a business that he had 
established in 1847. He was a director until 1903 when he also be- 
came president which office he now holds. 

In 1882, Mr. Clark was elected state senator and during the 
session of 1883 was chairman of the committee on military alfairs. 
In the session of 1884, he was chairman of the committees on claims, 
temperance and constitutional amendments. His most important 
official action while in the senate was his contest in the session of 
1883 against the ^tna Life Insurance Company, which aimed to 
capitalize, by legislative action, a large sum of money which Mr. 
Clark believed to have been wrongfully drawn from the " Mutual 
Department " of the Company. The bill was passed despite his plea 
for an investigation. He continued the contest in the session of tlie 
General Assembly of 1884, with a bill to produce the desired investiga- 
tion and supported it with figures and facts brought from the 
Insurance Department in the Capitol to verify his contention. 

Failing to get adequate support for the measure, he resumed his 
effort before the General Assembly of 1887, with additional prepara- 
tion and elucidation of the wrongs he sought to correct. This re- 
sulted in placing a new Act in the statutes, whereby the Insurance 
Commissioner could investigate the conduct of any company. This 
resulted in an investigation in 1896 by the Insurance Commissioner, 
and the discovery that Mr. Clark's allegations were fully verified A 
suit was instituted by the Commissioner which resulted in the court's 
ordering restitution of a large sum to the source from which it had 
been diverted. 



71/ WILLIAM JUDSON CLARK. 

Mr, Clark has been a Eepublican in politics since the adrent of 
that party and he was for many years chairman of its town committee. 
He was a loyal Union man during the Civil War, and a warm friend 
of Gov. Buckingham. He organized the Union League in South- 
ington, and was its president during the War. He was also influential 
in bringing about the " Furlough Act " in 1863. He was one of the 
charter members of Eureka Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., and was its first Vice- 
Grand in 1852, and ISToble Grand the succeeding year. He has been 
through all the chairs and has several times been a delegate to the 
Grand Lodge of Connecticut. All beneficial and reform measures 
that made for the good and rights of the people have ever found in 
Mr. Clark a vigilant and hearty champion. 

On November 15th, 1855, Mr. Clark married Sarah Jane Bradley, 
a descendant of Drago de Montague who came to England with 
William the Conqueror and bore a knightly shield in the Battle of 
Hastings. Of the three children bom of this marriage, two died 
in childhood. The surviving daughter, Rosalind, is a widow of the 
late Emerson Pratt and is a woman of much artistic ability. His 
grand-daughter, Olive Lucille Pratt, is a graduate of Emerson College 
of Oratory, Boston, Massachusetts. By rights of lineal descent, Mrs, 
Pratt and daughter are entitled to membership in the Society of 
" The Colonial Dames." 



HENRY HERMAN CLARK 

CLAPiK, HEXPtY HERMAN, late president of the Clark 
Brothers Bolt Company of Milldale, Connecticut, and also for 
many years president of the ^tna Nut Company of Southing- 
ton, Connecticut, was bom in the town of Southington, Hartford 
County, Connecticut, May lith, 1829. He was the son of Theodosius 
and Chloe Clark and descendant from three separate lines of Clarks, 
all of whom were among the founders of the Connecticut and Xew 
Haven Colonies. He came of ancestry noted for integrity, industry, 
and business acumen. 

His father, Theodosius Clark, was for thirty-one years a leading 
deacon in the Congregational Church of Southington, and was noted 
for his probity, religious earnestness and cool and good judgment. 
His counsel was often sought and followed by his fellow-townsmen 
in the private affairs of life. He left behind him a substantial estate, 
and was a worthy representative of the good old-time Xew England 
farmer. For many years he also followed the vocation of teaching 
and left his mark as a successful instructor upon many, who in after 
years filled worthy positions. 

The son inherited from both father and mother some of his 
best qualities, among which were especially a delicacy of taste, love 
of order and a firmly balanced character. 

Mr. Clark was indebted to the public schools and Lewis Academy 
of his native town for his educational advantages. In 1845, at the 
age of sixteen, he embarked in the mercantile business, which he 
followed with success until 1854, at which time he sold out to form 
a partnership with his two brothers for the manufacture of bolts and 
nuts at Milldale, Connecticut, and it is in this connection that we 
find his success an important and creditable part in the grovrth and 
development of the bolt industry. For over half a century he was 
an exceptionally patient and devoted worker, and the prestige and 
enviable reputation of the Bolt Company, of which he was president, 
is largely due to his careful and able management. Naturally con- 
4 73 



74 HENRY HERMAN CLARK. 

servative, he was nevertheless always progressive to the point of work- 
ing out and adopting such improvements in manufacture and business 
as were abreast of the times. It was through his suggestions and per- 
sistent effort that the cold forging, or cold " heading " of various kinds 
of bolts was made possible and practicable. This, perhaps is the most 
important improvement in the manufacture of this useful article 
within the history of the industry. 

Mr. Clark was associated with many business interests of his 
town and his record in public and personal affairs is that of an honor- 
able, careful and conscientious man. While he refrained from ac- 
cepting any political honors, he was always an ardent Eepublican. 
He was a member of the Plantsville Congregational Church and 
prominent in its organization and dedication in 1866, retaining 
throughout his life a deep interest in its affairs. 

Mr. Clark was twice married : first, in 1852, to Mary C. Davis of 
Watertown, Connecticut, and again in 1874 to Susie Curtiss of New 
York City, who with his two daughters and one son survive him. 

Mr. Clark died suddenly of pneumonia on December 4th, 1906, 
in his seventy-eighth year, leaving to the community an example of 
strict business integrity, an upright life and charitable spirit, always 
ready to help those in need, which won for him the esteem of all 
those with whom he came in contact, and is justly numbered among 
the leaders of that good old New England citizenship so quietly 
slipping away from us. 



-■— i 




,^-l$A,:xA^ ^i^t^ -t^^^O^/t 



CHARLES H. CLARK 

CLAEK, HON. CHAELES HULL, manufacturer, banker, 
farmer, member of legislature and Civil War veteran, presi- 
dent of the firm of Clark Brothers & Company, bolt manufac- 
turers of Milldale, in Southington, Hartford County, Connecticut, 
was bom in Southington on October 23d, 1832. He is descended 
from James Clark, who came from England to New Haven in 1638, 
and was one of Gov. Eaton's company who met in a barn to form a 
civil compact in 1639. Thirty years later James Clark settled in 
Stratford, Connecticut. His son, Ebenezer Clark, was the founder of 
the Wallingford branch of the family. The line of descent passes 
through Ebenezer to Stephen, then to Amasa Clark, who married 
Lydia Hull, daughter of Deacon Zephaniah Hull, of Cheshire, in 1785. 
His son, Theodosius Clark, the present Mr. Clark's father, was a 
school teacher and farmer who spent most of his mature life in South- 
ington. During the seasons of 1826 and 1827 he was commissary at 
Suffield while the canal was being constructed around Enfield Falls. 
He was a deacon in the Congregational Church for over thirty years, 
a Sunday school superintendent for many years, and he was honored 
and respected for his useful citizenship by all who knew him. His 
wife, Mr. Clark's mother, was Chloe Clark, daughter of Seth Clark, 
of Middletown. She died when Mr. Clark was but sixteen years of 
age. 

Passing his early life in his native town, Southington, Charles 
H. Clark received his education at the public schools and the Lewis 
Academy in that town. At the age of twenty, that is, in 1852, he 
went to work as a mechanic in his brother's nut and bolt shop, receiv- 
ing ten cents an hour for his services. At the end of a year he had 
attained his majority and was admitted into the partnership of W. 
J. Clark & Company. The following year he became superintendent 
of the plant, which had added carriage hardware to its products. In 
1862 he laid aside all thought of business to serve his country in the 
Civil War. He enlisted on August 5th, 1862, in Company E, 20th 

77 



78 CHAEIiES H. CLARK. 

Eegiment, Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, and was made quarter- 
master-sergeant of his regiment. He continued in active service until 
1864 and during the latter part of that time he served on Col. James 
Wood's staff, in front of Atlanta. It is an interesting piece of family 
history that during this period he foraged over the identical territory 
in Tennessee which his father had canvassed while peddling clocks 
and notions forty years earlier. As soon as he returned from the 
war, Mr. Clark resumed work in the family industry in Southington. 
In 1871 the firm became Clark Brothers & Company, of which he 
became president in 1907, after having been first superintendent and 
then vice-president of the firm whose prosperity is so largely due to 
his efforts. 

Next to manufacturing, Mr. Clark has always been equally inter- 
ested in banking and when the Southington National Bank was 
organized in 1882 he was one of its directors. He is now vice-presi- 
dent of that bank. He is also a director in the Savings Bank of 
Southington. 

Many public offices have been strengthened and creditably filled 
by Mr. Clark. He is an ardent and consistent Eepublican and has 
held both local and state offices. He has been assessor and member of 
the local board of relief and state representative in 1895, 1899, and 
1905. After eight years of strife in the legislature, Mr. Clark finally 
succeeded in procuring the charter for the Waterbury and Milldale 
Tramway Company, granted in 1907, and he has been elected president 
of the resulting corporation. 

Mr. Clark is a member of the Plantsville Congregational Church, 
of Trumbull Post, G. A. R., and of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

Mrs. Clark, whom he married August 21st, 1862, was Mary E. 
Dickerman, daughter of Samuel and Rebecca Gale Dickerman of 
Guilford, Connecticut. No children have been bom to Mr. and Mrs. 
Clark. 



SIDNEY WINTER CROFUT 

CEOFUT, SIDJfEY WINTEE, banker of Hartford, and ex- 
warden of the Borougii of Danielsonville, Connecticut, ex- 
bank commissioner, ex-representative in the State Legislature, 
was bom in Ossining, Westchester County, New York, October 17th, 
1847. 

His father, George W. Crofut, was a merchant of sterling in- 
tegrity and an extraordinary reader of human character. His mother 
was a woman of high ideals, and possessed the quality of conscien- 
tiousness to a marked degree. 

He received his early education in private and public schools, 
and later in the Mt. Pleasant Military Academy. His early life was 
passed in the village of Ossining, and as a child he was fond of study 
and reading, and took great pleasure in out-of-door games and sports. 
When a young boy, it was his delight to assist around his father's 
store in times of vacation, and there learned things concerning busi- 
ness methods which were of value to him in after life. 

He was married on June 9th, 1870, to Lucy E. Marcy, daughter 
of Hon. Wm. W. Marcy, and great-granddaughter of Colonel Thomas 
Knowlton and Captain Eeuben Marcy, of the Continental Army, by 
lineal descent. He has one child, Florence Marcy, who is a graduate 
of Wellesley College with the degrees of B.A. and M.A. 

He began his active career December 12th, 1864, entering an in- 
surance office in Xew York, beginning at the bottom rung of the 
ladder as a clerk. He would have preferred studying for a profession, 
but it was the desire of his parents that he should fit himself for 
business. From the clerkship in the insurance company, he rose to 
the position of cashier, and later was made secretary of an insurance 
company in New York. 

In 1884, finding that the sedentary life of an office was injuring 
his health, he removed to Danielsonville (since Danielson), Conn., 
and purchased the largest insurance agency in that section of the 
State, in order to afford him the opportunity to spend more of his 
time in the open air. 

During Mr. Crofut's residence in Danielsonville he was identified 

81 



82 SEDNET WINTEE CBOFDT. 

with the borough's best interests, and accomplished much towards its 
progress and development. He filled creditably several responsible 
positions, being a member of the Court of Burgesses of the borough, 
treasurer of the Baptist Society, chairman of the High School Com- 
mittee, vice-president of the Savings Bank, president of the Peoples' 
Library Association, director of the ]SI'ational Bank, member of the 
Town Board of Education, and represented the town of Killingly 
in the General Assembly of the session of 1893. In April. 1SS8, 
he was chosen warden of the borough, serving for three consecutive 
terms. Under his administration as warden, street gas lamps were 
discarded and electric arc-lights were introduced ; the present sys- 
tem of fire hydrants extending over the borough was established; 
the fire department was reorganized, several hose houses with appara- 
tus being located in different parts of the borough; the Free Public 
Librarv- and Eeading-room was also estabKshed, and the borough in- 
debtedness notwithstanding was greatly decreased. And he was one 
of a few individuals to contribute for the purchase of a site for the 
beautiful library building since erected. 

He gave up the insurance business in 1895 to accept an appoint- 
ment as Bank Commissioner of Connecticut for a term of four years, 
and at the expiration of his term was reappointed for another term 
of four years. In January, 1900, he resigned the bank commissioner- 
ship to accept the position of assistant treasurer of the Society for 
Savings. Hartford, known as " The Pratt Street Savings Bank," the 
largest bank in the State, which position he now holds. 

He attributes much of his success in later years to the habit of 
thoroughness, and his advice to young men anxious to succeed in 
business, is to cultivate thoroughness and reliability. His observation 
has been that many young men fail to succeed because of the lack of 
thoroughness, method, and application in whatever they undertake, 
and believes that the adage : "' Wliatever is worth doing is worth doing 
well,*' should be in the mind of a young man when starting out in a 
career. 

Mr. Crofut is a member of La Fayette Lodge. Xo. 100. F. «S:. 
A.M. : a member of the Eepublican, Hartford Golf, and Get Together 
Clubs of Hartford, and is a director of the Farmers and Mechanics 
National Bank, and a trustee of the Security (Trust) Company. Hart- 
ford. 



JOHN GORDON HOWLAND 

HOWLAND, JOHN GOEDON, a leading merchant of Bridge- 
port, Fairfield County, Connecticut, traces his ancestry to 
the historic " Mayflower " passengers, and is a descendant 
of the Pilgrim, John Rowland, and also of Governor William Brad- 
ford. Mr. Rowland's parents were Dr. Asa Allen Howland, a dentist, 
and Cornelia White Collins Howland. From his mother he received 
strong influences for good upon his intellectual and moral life. He 
was born in Barre, Worcester County, Massachusetts, June 11th, 
1857, Most of Ills youth was spent in the city of Worcester and his 
education was acquired in the Worcester public schools. 

When sixteen years of age, he began work as a " boy " in a 
clothing store in Worcester. His entire life since that time has been 
devoted to the mercantile business. 

From his flrst position he rose to that of salesman and in a few 
years became a traveling salesman. He had a natural liking for 
reading, and possessed a deep fondness for business problems. Thus 
it came, that to much reading of biography and history, he added the 
study of what today is styled the science of business. All through 
this period he was steadily forging ahead, and 1886 found him con- 
nected with a large Boston shoe house. 

A keen observer and a close student of conditions, he had noted 
the fact that Bridgeport held out abundant promise for a man who 
would conduct the shoe business in a new and different way. The 
shoe store for many years carried on by George H. Couch was pur- 
chased and February 19th, 1887, he took possession. Mr. Howland 
was a man who believed it wasn't wise to try to fool the people, who 
believed in plain statement in his advertising, and who took the public 
into his confidence. People read his advertisements, saw they were 
written by a man who was honest and earnest, and believed him and 
in him. 

Within a year the business made a big step forward. Another 
year and it grew still more. Mr. Howland was proving that it paid 

83 



84 JOHN GORDON HOWLAND. 

to be frank in selling goods. He won the confidence of Ms fellow 
business men; he became a respected, successful merchant. 

But this was not sufficient. With an acquaintance which in- 
cluded many men of attainment in commercial life, he planned a 
greater business. He had the facility for acquiring information 
from these successful men and the further ability to put it into 
practical service. 

In 1894, after the death of William B. Hall, he entered the 
broader field of department store work. A company was formed 
and occupied the premises adjoining the shoe store, for many years 
held by W. B. Hall & Company. The business grew rapidly. In 
1899 an addition which practically doubled the floor space was erected. 
Before the summer of 1908 another will have been completed, making 
the store five times as large as the original department store. 

Mr. Howland's success has been won by hard work, exceptional 
business ability, true executive powers. 

He is a member of the Congregational Church, the Kepublican 
party in politics, and the Seaside Club, the Contemporary, Country, 
and Yacht clubs of Bridgeport. 

Mrs. Howland, to whom he was married July 14th, 1891, was 
Miss Jessie Milne Denhohn, daughter of William A. Denholm, one 
of the leading merchants of Worcester, Massachusetts. Their home 
is at 285 Park Avenue, Bridgeport. 

Connecticut may well be proud of such men as John Gr. Howland. 
With the foundation of a common school education he started to earn 
his own living at the early age of sixteen and through hard, intelli- 
gent work and singleness of purpose he has made his way upward, 
and is now one of Bridgeport's most successful and progressive 
merchants. 



EDMUND DAY 

DAY, EDMUND, president of the Seymour Trust Company, a 
leading manufacturer and citizen of Seymour, New Haven 
county, Connecticut, was born in West Springfield, Hampden 
coimtv', Massachusetts, December 12th, 1831. He is a lineal descend- 
ant of Eobert and Mar\' Day who came from Ipswich, England, to 
America in April, 1634, on the bark Elizabeth in company with a 
hundred other faithful followers of the Eev. Thomas Hooker. The 
Days landed with the rest of the band at Boston and afterwards set- 
tled in Cambridge, Massachusetts. In 1639 they came through the 
forests to Hartford and became, as history so well knows, the early 
settlers of that place. 

The parents of Edmund Day were Julius and Lois Goodyear Day. 
The father was a farmer and the son's early life was spent in the varied 
activities of a farm home. He attended the village school and the 
Westfield Academy, and then entered Yale University. After taking 
but five months of the college course young Mr. Day left Yale to 
commence his active business life in partnership with his brother at 
Seymour. Their industry was the manufacture of hard rubber goods 
and they made a specialty of cleaning East India rubber of its im- 
purities by a patented process. 

Since making Seymour his home and the center of his business 
interests, Mr. Day has been most active in developing the industrial 
life of Seymour and has taken a prominent part in all town affairs. 
Besides being treasurer of the H. P. and E. Day Company, Inc., and 
president of the Seymour Trust Company, he is president of the B. D, 
Eising Paper Company at Housatonie, Massachusetts, director in the 
Seymour Manufacturing Company, in the H. A. Mathews Manufac- 
turing Company, and the Eimmon Manufacturing Company, all of 
Se}Tnour, and director in the Crocker McElwain Paper Company of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and in the Fourth National Bank of Water- 
bury, Connecticut. He was instrumental in organizing the Sejrmour 
Electric Light Company and was its first president. He is a constant 

87 



88 ED1CU1!D DiA.T. 

E£T)nblicaii and baf held two important offices in the gift of his partr, 
haring been state representative one term and state senator in 18S4 
and 1885. 

Mt. Bay spends his -winters in Bockledge and Oak Hill. Florida. 
where he owns one hnndred and thirrr acres of orange and grape-fruit 
groves and is one of the largest inSividnal fruit-growers in the state. 
"FTJP familx consists of a wife, whose maiden name was Annie E. Mel- 
cher. and two danghtei? and a son. He is a member of the Union 
League Club of New York and of the Lanrentian Pish and Game Club 
of Canada, and his membership in the latter club is indicative of his 
favorite recreation which is **' fly fishing.'' 



GEORGE E. MATTHIES 

MATTHIES, GEOEGE E., one of Connecticut's foremost 
manufacturers, president of the Eimmon Manufacturing 
Company of Seymour, assistant treasurer of the Seymour 
Manufacturing Company, secretary and treasurer of the H. A. Mat- 
thews Manufacturing Company, secretary and treasurer of the 
Seymour Electric Light Company, and a trustee of the Seymour 
Trust Company, is the son of Martin and Eva Matthies, and was 
bom in Brewster, N"e\f York, July 9th, 186C. His father was a 
contractor. 

An ordinary public school education fitted George E. Matthies 
for his work in life and at twenty-one he came to Sejrmour to work 
LQ the office of the Seymour Manufacturing Company, brass goods 
manufacturers. He rose steadily to positions of increasing responsi- 
bility, for he gave all of his time and energy to mastering the details 
of the brass industry. With the exception of one winter spent in 
California and another in Bermuda he has lived his entire mature 
life in Seymour and has devoted himself to building up the indus- 
trial life of that town and to the organization and progress of its 
chief business institutions. 

Mr. Matthies is now assistant treasurer of the Sejonour Manu- 
facturing Company, makers of sheet brass, German silver, copper 
wire, tubing and like products, he is president of the well known 
Eimmon Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of shoe eyelets 
and metal goods, and he is secretary and treasurer of the H. A. 
Matthews Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of steel bicycle 
fittings and steel and brass specialties. He was one of the organizers 
of the Eimmon Manufacturing Company in 1900 and is a director 
and the largest stockholder in that concern as well as its official 
head. In May, 1904, together with L. T. & W. H. H. Wooster he 
bought the Seymour Electric Light Company, of which he is treas- 
urer and manager. The voltage was at once changed, auxiliary power 
provided and the service greatly improved, so much so that within 

91 



92 GEOBGE E. MATTHIES. 

three years the business of the Company nearly doubled. He was 
instrumental with others in securing a charter for the Seymour 
Trust Company which, through his efforts, was organized in June. 
1905, and the Valley Nationa.1 Bank was soon after merged with 
it. In providing a savings department, the Trust Company has 
filled a long felt want in the community. Mr. Matthies also assisted 
in organizing the Seymour Water Company and has been a great 
worker in bringing about many other public benefits. 

In politics Mr. Matthies is a Eepublican. in creed he is a Con- 
gregationalist and in fraternal affiliation he is a Mason of the third 
degree. His family consists of a wife and two children, a son, 
Bernard H. Matthies, bom in 1S92, and a daughter bom in 1903. 
Mrs. Matthies was Annie T. Wooster, daughter of State Senator, 
W. H. H. Woost-er. of Seymour, whom he married in November, 
1890. Mr. Matthies finds relief from active affairs in fly fishing 
for trout. He is a lover of the big woods and takes an annual outing 
in Canada and Maine hunting and fishing at either the Megantic 
or Triton Club preserves of which he has been a member for a 
number of years. 



1 I 



I 



GEORGE REDFIELD CURTIS 

CURTIS, GEORGE REDFIELD, late president of the Meriden 
Silver Plate Company and treasurer of the Meriden Britannia 
Company who was once mayor of Meriden, was one of the most 
progressive and influential business men in that city and was also 
one of the most prominent and active laymen of the Episcopal Church 
in the Diocese of Connecticut. His life spanned the years between 
December 25th, 1825, and May 20th, 1893. He was a descendant of 
John Curtis who settled in Stratford, Connecticut in 1639. His son 
Thomas Curtis was one of the founders of Wallingford in 1670 and, 
as that town then included the present territory of Meriden, the Cur- 
tis family have lived in that locality for more than two centuries. 
Mr. Curtis' father was Asahel Curtis. His mother was Mehitable 
Redfield, of Clinton, Connecticut, a lineal descendant of John Alden 
the Mayflower Pilgrim. 

Meriden was George R. Curtis' birthplace and boyhood home 
and his education was obtained in the Meriden public schools. When 
he reached the age of eighteen, he left school and became a clerk in 
a drygoods store in Middletown, Connecticut. After four years at 
this work he located in Rochester, New York, and taught school in 
one of the outlying towns. The following year, 1848, he returned to 
Meriden and taught for a 3'^ear in one of the local schools. He next 
kept books for Julius Pratt and Company of Meriden for a year and 
then entered the Meriden Bank where he was engaged as teller for 
three years. 

The next step in George R. Curtis' career was a most decisive 
one for in taking it he became identified with the branch of industry 
which was to be his real life work. In January, 1853, the Meriden 
Britannia Company was organized and in February following he went 
to work for the new concern. The following spring he was made 
treasurer of the company and he held this ofiice the rest of his life. 
He was also secretary of the company for several years. His excel- 
lent business ability, his capable financeering and progressive method 

95 



96 GEORGE EEDFIELD CUETIS. 

were vital factors in promoting the growth and prosperity of the 
Britannia Company, 

Mr. Curtis also held many other important positions in the busi- 
ness life of Meriden and vicinity. He was president of the Meriden 
Silver Plate Company, of the Meriden Horse Eailroad Company and 
of the Meriden Gas Light Company. He was a director in the Home 
National Bank, the Meriden Trust and Safe Deposit Company, the 
Chapman Manufacturing Company and Manning, Bowman and Com- 
pany and a trustees of the Meriden Savings Bank and the Curtis Home 
for Orphans and Old Ladies — all of Meriden. He was also a direc- 
tor in E. Wallace and Sons Manufacturing Company of Wallingford, 
of Eogers and Brothers of Waterbury and of the William Eogers 
Manufacturing Company of Hartford. 

Though not a strenuous politician, Mr. Curtis was a loyal Eepub- 
lican and at different times served his city in such minor offices as 
those of alderman and common councilman. From 1879 to 1881 he 
was mayor of Meriden. 

The sharing of the sublimist of birthdays was in keeping with 
Mr. Curtis' deeply religious nature. He was a Christian of the most 
steadfast and lovable type and was a devoted member of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church — not only active in the matters of St. 
Andrews' Parish, but in Diocesan and even wider church interests. 
He was a frequent representative at Diocesan conventions and in 
1892 was a delegate to the General Convention in Baltimore. He 
was either a warden, a vestry or parish clerk of St. Andrew's Church 
for forty-five years and gave generously of both time and means to 
its support. Two days before his death he presented a house and lot 
for the rectory of a new parish started through the legacy of his 
sister Mrs. Hallam in 1891. 

On May 22d, 1855, Mr. Curtis married Augusta Munson of Brad- 
ford, New York. Of their three children, one is living, George Mun- 
son whose biography is a part of this work. 



GEORGE MUNSON CURTIS 

CURTIS, GEOEGE MUNSON, of Meriden, New Haven County, 
Connecticut, treasurer of the International Silver Company, 
secretary and treasurer of the Meriden Gas Light Company, 
is also well known for his prominence in public affairs and institu- 
tions and for his literary and philanthropic interests. He was bom 
in Meriden on May 27th, 1857, and his parents were the Hon. George 
Redfield Curtis and Augusta Munson Curtis. His earlier ancestry 
is most interesting and distinguished and includes the names of 
many important Colonial settlers. Going back eight generations he 
traces his descent on the paternal side from John Curtis, who came 
from England in 1638 and settled in Stratford, Connecticut. In 
1670 Thomas Curtis, son of John Curtis, settled in Wallingford, 
where the family has been prominent ever since. Another noteworthy 
paternal ancestor was William Eedfield, who was one of the first 
Englishmen to settle in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. On his 
mother's side Mr. Curtis is in the ninth generation of descent from 
Thomas Munson, an original settler of Hartford and New Haven. 

Excellent educational opportunities were open to George M. 
Curtis in his youth and he was quick to make the most of them. He 
first attended the pubKc schools of his home town and then the 
Cheshire Military Academy. Later he entered Trinity College, Hart- 
ford, where he was graduated in 1880. 

As soon as he had completed his college course Mr. Curtis began 
his business career as a clerk in the office of the Meriden Britannia 
Company. Five years later he was made assistant treasurer of the 
company and upon the death of his father, in 1893, he succeeded to 
the office of treasurer. In 1898 the company was absorbed into the 
International Silver Company of which he became assistant treasurer. 
In 1900 he became treasurer, his present office. He is also a director 
of the International Silver Company and of the Home National 
Bank, the Meriden Trust and Safe Deposit Company, and the Meri- 

99 



100 GEORGE MUNSON CURTIS. 

den Savings Bank. One of his most important positions is the dual 
one of secretary and treasurer of the Meriden Gas Light Company. 

Mr. Curtis is secretary of the Curtis Home of Meriden, treasurer 
of the New Haven Acute-Tuberculosis Association, which supports 
a valuable sanatorium in Wallingford, and treasurer and director of 
the Curtis Memorial Librar}^ of Meriden, which was his mother's gift 
to the city and is a splendid marble edifice built under his super- 
vision. His duties as chairman of the library's committee for select- 
ing books are most congenial for he is a true critic and lover of the 
best in literature and is himself a scholar of unusual merit. He is 
especially interested in local historical research and has written many 
accurate and interesting articles on local history. He made most 
valuable and scholarly contributions to " A Century of Meriden," pub- 
lished in 1906 on the occasion of the city's centennial celebration. 
He was chairman of the general committee for this important anni- 
versary. He is a member of the Connecticut Historical Society, the 
New Haven Colony Historical Society and the American Historical 
Association. He is a member and junior warden of St. Andrew's 
Episcopal Church and secretary and treasurer of the local chapter of 
the Sons of the American Revolution. He is a member and one of 
the founders of the Home Club of Meriden. 

Mr. Curtis's family consists of a wife and one daughter. Mrs. 
Curtis was Sophie Phillips Mansfield, daughter of the late Thomas 
Trowbridge Mansfield of Meriden, whom he married in 1886. The 
daughter is Agnes Mansfield Curtis. 



^ 



LEWIS FREDERICK CURTIS 

CUETIS, LEWIS FEEDERICK, was bom June 10th, 1836, in 
Stratford, Fairfield County, Connecticut. He was the son of 
Isaac Curtis and Sarah Lucinda (Beers) Curtis. The Ameri- 
can progenitor of the family was John Curtis, who emigrated from 
Nazing, England, in 1639 and settled in Connecticut. On his 
mother's side Mr. Curtis is descended from Anthony Beers, who left 
England in 1646 and found a home in Watertown, Connecticut. The 
father of Lewis Frederick Curtis was a carpenter and builder by 
trade, a man whose marked characteristics were temperateness, in- 
dustry, and studiousness. 

Mr. Curtis passed his childhood in the country, where he worked 
on the farm, and attended school whenever able to do so. This was 
rendered difficult as the schoolhouse was some distance away and he 
was not in vigorous health during his youth. Later, however, he 
was enabled to attend the Stratford Academy. The books which he 
found most helpful in fitting him for his life work were along the 
lines of philosophy, medicine, chemistry and botany. Mr. Curtis has 
been married twice, in 1858 to Mary E. Hamilton (who died in 1869) 
and in 1871 to Mary Cornelia Baldwin. Of the latter union a son 
was born, now living, Frederick Baldwin Curtis. 

At seventeen years of age Mr. Curtis began the active work of 
his life as clerk in a drug store, in Bridgeport, Connecticut. In 
1862,— after several years spent in different positions, becoming 
familiar with all branches of the drug business — he became pro- 
prietor of a large drug store in Bridgeport. He gave his close, per- 
sonal attention to all details of his work and has been eminently suc- 
cessful. After a time ill health caused Mr. Curtis to remove from 
Bridgeport and he took up his residence in New Milford, Connecti- 
cut, where he has become one of its most substantial citizens. He is 
organizer and president of the New Milford Board of Trade, a 
trustee of the Mechanics and Farmers Savings Bank, president of the 
5 103 



104 IiEWIS FEEDEEIOK CUETI8. 

New Milford Electric Light Company, and president of the Cable 
Gas Company. In politics he is a Eepublican, having cast his first 
vote for Lincoln. What success in life he has had, Mr. Curtis be- 
lieves that he owes to the influence of his home, the determination to 
persevere, and a strict integrity. 



JOHN TOMLINSON HUBBARD 

HUBBAED, JOHN TOMLINSON, lawyer, president of the 
Echo Farm Company, justice of peace, grand juror, former 
state representative and a lifelong resident of Litchfield, 
Connecticut, was born there November 30th, 1856. His first American 
ancestor was John Hubbard of Pomfret who was born in Woodstock, 
Connecticut, in 1689. Joseph Hubbard, son of this original John 
Hubbard and great-grandfather of the present Mr. Hubbard, was a 
well-known Tory who lived on a farm next to that of General Put- 
nam and who carried on a friendship with him during the Eevolution 
and afterwards settled in Salisbury according to the General's ad- 
vice. On the maternal side Mr. Hubbard is a direct descendant of 
Thomas Welles, fourth governor of Connecticut, and on the paternal 
side he is directly descended from John Webster, fifth governor of 
Connecticut. He is also collaterally related to Gov. Gideon Tomlin- 
son and Gov. Eobert Treat. Another ancestor, John Catlin, was first 
treasurer of Litchfield County. Mr. Hubbard's father, John Henry 
Hubbard, was an attomey-at-law by profession and he was state's at- 
torney for his county, state senator and congressman two terms each. 
He was industrious, persevering and sympathetic toward those in 
trouble and his teaching and example were long remembered by his 
son. His wife, Mr. Hubbard's mother, Abby Jane Wells Hubbard, 
is an excellent woman who has done much toward shaping her son's 
high ideals. 

The usual interests and occupations of a healthy country boy 
busied John T. Hubbard in his youth, which was spent in the country 
town of Litchfield. He was fond of literature and spent a great deal 
of time reading historical works and the best fiction, learning at an 
early age to select novels with a good influence and to discard the 
cheap and worthless ones. Sir Walter Scott was his favorite author. 
He prepared for college at a private school in Litchfield and then took 
the academic course at Yale University, receiving his A.B. degree 
in 1880. He then entered Yale Law School and took his LL.B. 

105 



106 JOHN TOMLINSON HUBBAED. 

degree in 1883. His choice of the legal profession resulted from the 
union of personal preference and maternal wishes. 

As soon as he left law school Mr. Hubbard began the practice 
of law in Litchfield and he has maintained a successful practice there 
ever since. He has also had many business and public interests. In 
1885 he became president of the Proprietors of the Ore Bed in Salis- 
bury, Connecticut, one of the oldest mining corporations in the coun- 
try and the only successful one in Connecticut, and he held this office 
for eleven years. From 1885 to 1892 he was clerk of probate for the 
district of Litchfield, since 1883 he has been justice of the peace and 
since 1892 he has been grand juror. In 1900 and 1901 he was warden 
of the borough of Litchfield and in 1901 he represented Litchfield in 
the General Assembly, serving on the judiciary committee during that 
session. He was re-elected representative the following year and 
again served on the judiciary committee. Since 1899 he has served 
as a member of the state bar examining committee. He is a director 
in the Litchfield Fire Insurance Company and in the Litchfield Sav- 
ings Society. He is also president of the Echo Farm Company. He 
is as interested in religious matters as in business and public affairs 
and is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church. He is j\mior 
warden of St. Michael's Church and treasurer of the First Episco- 
pal Society of Litchfield. Though he is a Eepublican in political faith 
he is not strongly partisan and he is a believer in tariff for revenue 
only. The only societies to which he belongs are the Litchfield 
Scientific Society and the Litchfield Coimty University Club. 

In November, 1906, after an exciting contest, he was elected Judge 
of Probate for the District of Litchfield, which comprises the Towns 
of Litchfield, Morris, and Warren. 



LEVI WARNER EATON 

EATON, LEVI WARNEE, manufacturer of Bridgeport, was 
born in Springfield, Hampden County, Massachusetts, April 
11th, 1831. His family is a very old one, the first of the 
name coming to this country from England in the "Mayflower." Mr. 
Eaton's father, Levi Eaton, was a farmer and a man characterized 
by honesty and love of family. His mother was Clarissa Cooley, and 
although she died when he was but six years old her influence on his 
spiritual life was marked and has always remained with him. 

As a boy, Mr. Eaton was healthy and strong, and delighted in 
all boys' sports and in acquiring knowledge of all kinds. He read 
biography, histories, and scientific works with great interest, but he 
always found his greatest help in the study of the Bible. With the 
exception of his early farm tasks, his first work in life was in a gun 
shop in Windsor, Vermont, when he was actuated by a "boyish 
ambition to do something to make life worth while living." 

At the age of nineteen Mr. Eaton had the care of an important 
contract at Colt's Armory in Hartford. For thirty-four years he had 
a large contract with the Wheeler & Wilson Manufacturing Company, 
in Bridgeport, but during this long period of activity he found time 
for many other business enterprises. For three years he was president 
of a steel mill at Windsor Locks, and for ten years he was a partner 
in an extensive dry goods husiness in Bridgeport, known as W. B. 
Hall & Company. At the time of his death, August 16, 1906, he was 
president of the Bryant Electric Company and of the Perkins Electric 
Switch Manufacturing Company. He was a trustee of the original 
Bridgeport Savings Bank, the first savings bank of Bridgeport. 

Mr. Eaton was twice married, in 1872 to Ellen Doten, and in 1888 
to Mary L. Hawley. There are no children living. 

In politics he was always a Republican "when the party was well 

represented." In religion he was a Congregationalist. His favorite 

amusements were reading, riding, whist, and music. He was a 

member of the Seaside Club of Bridgeport, and of the Bridgeport 

Yacht Club and had been a member of the South Congregational 

Church since 1860. 

109 



no 



LETI WAENEE EATON 



When Mr. Eaton was a young man he was one of a quartet who 
sang on the stage when President Lincoln made his first address 
in Bridgeport, and from him learned the lessons taught from an 
earnest, honest, simple life. He believed that "the Divine Euler 
of all things has a plan and purpose for every human being, 
and that the great purpose of life should be to learn what this plan is 
and humbly and faithfully labor to accomplish it."' In this way one 
can put the most success and satisfaction into life. ^''Never doubt 
Grod's help in right doing." 



I 



HENRY SEYMOUR MYGATT 

MYGATT, HENRY SEYMOUR, banker, of New Milford, 
Litchfield County, Connecticut, was born in that town 
August 30th, 1846, and is the son of Andrew B. Mygatt, a 
merchant and bank president, and a man of great integrity, sound 
judgment and intellectual and business ability, who held many im- 
portant public oflBces, including those of state representative and 
senator, railroad commissioner, bank commissioner and national bank 
examiner. Mr. Mygatt's mother was Caroline Canfield Mygatt and 
a woman of strong intellect and character that bore marked influence 
on her son's personality and conduct. 

A healthy boy, brought up in a New England village and ham- 
pered by no financial difficulties, Henry Mygatt was able to secure a 
good education. He attended the public schools of New Milford, 
The Gunnery at Washington, Connecticut, Adelphi Institute in New 
Milford and the Hopkins Grammar School in New Haven, where he 
graduated with the class of 1865. The following year he began busi- 
ness as a merchant in New Milford and in so doing he followed both 
the example and the wishes of his father. He continued in the mer- 
cantile business until 1871, when he became interested in finance 
and banking and in 1872 he became assistant national bank examiner 
and served in this capacity until 1877, when he was offered the posi- 
tion of assistant cashier in the National Bank of New Milford. In 
1883 he was made cashier of that bank and he continued in that 
position until November, 1905, when he was elected president. He 
has confined his efforts and attention almost wholly to his imme- 
diate business, though he was town treasurer for one year and was a 
director in the New Milford Fire Association for a number of years. 

Mr. Mygatt is a member and past master of St. Peter's Lodge, 
F. and A. M. In creed he is a Congregationalist and for the past 
ten years he has served with great zeal and efficiency on the commit- 
tee of the First Ecclesiastical Society of New Milford. He is an ad- 
herent of the Republican party in politics, but has voted independently 

111 



112 HENEY SETMOUE MTGATT. 

at times. His family consists of a wife and three sons, Frederick E., 
Andrew B., and Eoland F. Mygatt. Mrs. Mygatt, whom he married 
in Stonington 1869, was Nancy Eels Faxon. 

According to Mr. Mygatt's judgment " the best general public 
service that can be rendered at present is to work for purity of the 
ballot, and the essentials of success in life are high ideals, integrity, 
industry and perseverance. He who would succeed must avoid mis- 
takes both in action and decision." These are the words of a man 
who has concentrated his efforts along a single line of work with 
most successful results and who has set an example of worthy and 
clean citizenship. 



HENRY ELBERT FAIRCHILD 

FAIECHILD, HENKY ELBERT, builder and contractor, vice- 
president of the H. Wales Lines Company of Meriden, was 
born in Woodbridge, New Haven County, Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 25th, 1838. His parents were Lyman Fairchild and Lucy 
Baldwin Fairchild, his father being a farmer whose strongest trait was 
his love of order. Mr. Fairchild is descended from a very old family 
in whose veins run Scottish and English blood. In Scotland, from 
whence the family originally passed to England, the name was spelled 
Fairbairn. In England the name of Fairchild is of ancient origin, 
and on the family crest there are three crescents and three birds 
(Martlets), indicating three pilgrimages to the Holy Land some time 
during the Crusades (1096-1400). The first American ancestor was 
Thomas Fairchild, who came from England and settled in Stratford, 
Connecticut, in 1639. He was a representative man of his day, being 
the first magistrate of the town, and his first child, Samuel, born 
August 31st, 1640, was probably the first white child bom in Stratford. 

The line of descent is as follows : Thomas Fairchild, from Eng- 
land in 1639, died December 14, 1670, married first the daughter of 
Robert Seabrook in 1639, either in England or shortly after landing 
in Stratford. In 1662 he went to London, England, and there married 
Mrs. Katharine Craig, December 22d, 1662. He had four sons by his 
first wife and two by his second. 

Zechariah Fairchild, son of Thomas, by his first wife, born 
December 14th, 1641, died June 23d, 1703, married Hannah Beach, 
November 3d, 1681. He was a blacksmith and joined the Stratfield 
Church in 1699. He had nine children, the youngest being Abiel. 

Abiel Fairfield, son of Zechariah, bom January 15th, 1703, died 
August 14th, 1785, married Lois Eiggs, August 8th, 1728. " Received 
in Communion from ye pastor and Church of Stratford October 28th, 
1745, to Congregational Church of Oxford." He married his second 
wife, Mrs. Mary Peck, May 10th, 1757. (No children by second wife.) 

115 



116 HENRY ELBERT FAIRCHILD. 

Abiel Fairchild, son of Abiel, bom 1730, died December 15th, 
1815, married Zerviah, daughter of Bennajah Johnson, September 3d, 
1761. He had one son, John, and three daughters. On the town 
records of Oxford for year 1779, we find the name of Abiel Fairchild, 
Jr., mentioned frequently in connection with committees to procure 
clothing and supplies for soldiers of the Eevolution. Early in March, 
1780, he was on a committee as inspector of provisions. 

John Fairchild, son of Abiel, born April 11th, 1777, died October 
7th, 1852, married Mary Lyman January 31st, 1796. He had three 
sons, Abial, Lyman, and Styles. Lyman Fairchild, son of John, and 
father of the subject of this article was bom February 8th, 1803, died 
April 13th, 1884. 

Like the average boy of his time Mr. Fairchild lived in the 
country and spent some time every day at work on the farm. He was 
healthy and industrious, and after a brief schooling chose a trade 
that involved plenty of outdoor labor. He began work in 1854 in 
the employ of Smith & Sperry, masons, of New Haven, Connecticut. 
In 1865 he went to work for Perkins & Lines, in Meriden, and made 
himself so valuable that one year later he was admitted to the firm. 
This firm continued till 1878, when Mr. Perkins withdrew and Mr. 
Fairchild secured a larger interest in the business, and the name was 
changed to H. Wales Lines Company. In 1888 the firm was incor- 
porated with Mr. Lines as president, Mr. Fairchild as vice-president, 
and L. A. Miller as secretary. The H. Wales Company has not only 
steadily expanded with the growth of the city of Meriden, but has 
had many other important contracts throughout the State, till today 
it is one of the largest building concerns in New England. Nearly 
all the factories, business blocks, schools, churches, and better class 
of private residences of Meriden have been erected by them, and their 
permanent character tells of the thorough manner with which this 
firm does it work. 

Mr. Fairchild has been twice married; his first wife was Mary 
Elizabeth Clark, whom he married in 1862, and who was a daughter 
of David Clark of Seymour, and in 1891 he married Mary Elizabeth 
Bliss, a descendant of Jonathan Brown, one of the first settlers of 
Brimfield, Massachusetts. By his first wife he has two children now 
living, George W., a real estate broker of Meriden, and Frederick L., 
until recently associated with his father. Mr. Fairchild is a member 



HENRY ELBEET FAIRCHILD, 117 

of Meridian Lodge F. and A. M,, and of St. Elmo Commandery 
Knights Templar. In politics he has always been an adherent of the 
Eepublican party. His religious connections are with the Congrega- 
tional Church. 



WILLIAM GOLD BRINSMADE 

BKINSMADE, WILLIAM GOLD, educator and principal of 
Kidge School in Washington, Connecticut, was born in Spring- 
field, Hampden County, Massachusetts, January 21st, 1858. 
He is descended from a long line of notable ancestors dating back to 
John and Mary Brinsmade who came from England to Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, before 1638. In 1650 John Brinsmade moved to 
Stratford, Connecticut, and during the years 1669-1671 he repre- 
sented that town in the General Couri;. His grandson. Lieutenant 
Daniel Brinsmade was prominent in Military circles, and was the 
father of the Eev. Daniel Brinsmade, a graduate of Yale and for 
forty-five years a clergyman in Washington, Connecticut. 

This distinguished divine married a niece of Eoger Sherman,, 
one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Their son. 
Judge Daniel Nathaniel Brinsmade, was also a graduate of Yale. 
General Daniel B. Brinsmade, a son of the Judge was bom in 1783 
and died in 1861. He married Mary W. Gold of Cornwall, Con- 
necticut, a descendant of Major Nathan Gold of English origin, who- 
died in America in 1684. 

Mr. Brinsmade's father, William Bartlett Brinsmade was the 
youngest son of General Brinsmade. He graduated from Yale in 
1840, became a civil engineer, and was for many years superintendent 
of the Connecticut Eiver Eailroad. His death occurred in 1880. 
His wife, Charlotte Blake Chapin, of Springfield, Massachusetts, was 
a lineal descendant of Dean Samuel Chapin who emigrated from 
Wales and settled in Springfield about 1640. He was the founder of 
the Chapin family in this country. 

Mr. Brinsmade prepared for college at the Springfield High 
School and was graduated from Harvard University in the class of 
1881 with the degree of A.B. In September following his graduation, 
he became an instructor at the Gunnery School, Washington, Connecti- 
cut, and taught the classics in that school untU 1894, when he estab- 
lished the Eidge School for boys. The latter is a college preparatory 

118 



WILLIAM GOLD BRINSMADE. 119 

school for about twenty boys and is situated on a part of what was 
once known as the Brinsmade farm, originally owned by the Rev. 
Daniel Brinsmade. 

Mr. Brinsmade has been active in town affairs especially along 
religious and educational lines. He has been a member of the town 
school committee since 1888 and has held the oflBces of secretary 
and chairman of the board. 

Since 1889 he has been clerk of the First Ecclesiastical Society 
of Washington and he has been chairman of the Society Committee 
since 1892. He has held other local offices for some years, such as 
secretary of the Washington Library Association and director of the 
Congregational Choir. For several years he conducted the Washing- 
ton Glee Club, which gave one or more concerts each year and he is 
now president of the Washington Choral Club. 

In politics he votes independently. He is a member of the 
Harvard Union, Harvard Teachers' Association, the Harvard Club of 
Connecticut, the Connecticut Association of High and Classical School 
Teachers, the Litchfield County University Club, the Civil Service 
Eeform Association, the Pi Eta Society of Harvard. 

On December 23d, 1885, Mr. Brinsmade married Ada Gibson 
Colton, daughter of the Rev. W. S. Colton (Yale 1850) who held 
pastorates in Connecticut for over thirty years and in Litchfield 
County for over twenty years. They have a daughter, Dorothy Chapin 
Brinsmade, bom in 1892. 



DAVID FREDERICK HOLLISTER 

HOLLISTER, HON. DAVID FREDERICK, late lawyer, 
bank president, former judge of probate, and collector of 
internal revenue, born in Washington, Litchfield County, 
Connecticut, March 31st, 1826, was a descendant of John Hollister 
who came from England in 1642 and was admitted a Freeman at 
the General Court in Boston in 1643. Another of Mr. Hollister's 
early ancestors was Lieutenant John Hollister, a famous Indian 
fighter, and a third, Captain Gideon Hollister, was an officer in the 
American army during the Revolution. David Hollister's father 
was Gideon Hollister, a farmer and mill owner, a man of great 
honesty, common sense and stability who was entrusted with many 
public offices and lived a life of great usefulness. His first wife, 
David Hollister's mother, was Harriet Jackson, a most superior 
woman whose influence upon her son was good and strong in every 
phase of his character and life. These excellent parents brought up 
their son David on the family farm, teaching him to do his share of 
farm work outside of school hours, but giving him the highest edu- 
cational advantages. He was a healthy, vigorous boy who delighted 
in fishing and hunting and all the country sports. He evinced a 
great fondness for books, preferring Walter Scott as his favorite 
author. He took part of the college preparatory course at " The 
Gunnery, " the celebrated school in Washington, Connecticut, and 
entered Yale upon examination without the full preparation. In 
his Senior year he was elected first president of the Linonian Literary 
and Debating Society, which was then considered the highest tribute 
to scholarship in the gift of the class. When he left home for New 
Haven and bade his friends good-bye, he assured them that they 
would not see him again till he was a member of the Class of '51, 
though he had many misgivings as to his success in passing the ex- 
amination. To his surprise and great delight, however, he passed 
the Rubicon in safety. This he always attributed in a great measure 
to an experience, serious enough in the time of it, that he had with 

130 



DAVID FEEDEKICK HOLLISTER. 123 

Prof. Kingsley, who examined him in Latin. The professor gave 
him an exceedingly tough oration to translate, which he knew at a 
glance could not be trifled with or extemporized on with safety, and 
so he told the professor frankly that he could not read the selection. 
" What, what, yoimg gentleman," said the professor, " did you not 
know that this book was in the preparatory course ? " " Yes, sir," 
replied the applicant, " but I did not have time after I decided to 
enter this class to complete the whole preparatory course." The 
professor commenced to close the book, with a look on his face which 
seemed also to the applicant to close the door of hope for admission 
to the class. In a fit of desperation the applicant exclaimed, " I can 
give you the derivation and meaning of every word on the page, con- 
struct the sentences properly, and parse them correctly." With a 
doubtful smile upon his face, the professor told him he might try 
it. The trial proved that the applicant had a fair knowledge of the 
principles and construction of the Latin language, and the professor 
called a halt. The professor then turned to another portion of the 
book and asked if he could read that. It was simply a narrative, 
and the boy replied, " I never saw it before, but I can read it," which 
he proceeded to do to the entire satisfaction of the professor. 
" Now, young gentleman," said the professor, " tell me why you did 
not attempt to read my first selection ? " " Because," replied he, 
" it was a speech, and I knew nothing whatever of the occasion or 
subject matter and could not enter into the spirit of it so as to trans- 
late it intelligently, and knew I should only make a fool of myself if 
I attempted it." A pleasant smile spread over the professor's 
fatherly face as he expressed himself satisfied; and he proved ever 
afterwards during the entire college course a most kind and consid- 
erate friend. Mr. Hollister graduated in 1851 and the following 
December was admitted to the Litchfield County Bar and imme- 
diately opened a law office in Salisbury, Connecticut. In 1854 he 
removed to Bridgeport, where he has resided ever since. In 1866 he 
received the honorary degree of M.A. from Yale University. 

In 1858 Mr. Hollister was elected Judge of Probate for the dis- 
trict of Bridgeport and re-elected in 1859. In 1862 President Lin- 
coln appointed him collector of internal revenue for the fourth 
district of Connecticut and he served in that capacity until the con- 
solidation of the second and fourth districts, when he was appointed 



FREDERICK W. READ 

READ, FEEDEEICK WEIGHT, treasurer and general man- 
ager of the E,ead Carpet Company of Bridgeport, Fairfield 
Coimty, Conneeticnt, was bom in the village of Waterloo, 
Xew York, Jtme 24th, 1S54. He is a descendant of John E.ead, who 
came from England to America in the seventeenth century, and he 
i£ the son of Charles A. Bead, a manufacturer, and Cynthia Wright 
Eead. His mother's inflnence has been the strongest and best one 
ever exerted upon Frederick Read's life, and was good and lasting 
on every phase of his condnet and character. 

A healthy, indnstrions and stndions boy. Frederick Read spent his 
yonthfnl days in wholesome activity. He took a great interest in 
building, and showed an aptitnde for business at an eariy age. He 
prepared for college at Greylock Institute in Willi am stown, Massa- 
chnseti:s, bnt never matriculated as he began his life work in Bridge- 
port at the age of nineteen. He preferred business experience to 
professional study and decided to lose no time in obtaining it. He 
was, however, eb studious in early manhood as in boyhood and has 
always read history and natural philosophy with great appreciation 
and pleasure. 

His first business experience weis with the Read Carpet Com- 
pany, which was founded by his father, Charles A. Read, and his 
uncle, David M. Read, in Bridgeport in 1868, with which he has re- 
mained ever since. For the last fifteen years he has been treasurer 
and general manager of the Read Carpet Company and has made the 
development of that busiaeK his chief interest 

Mr. Read is a Republican in politics and has held a number of 
local public offices. He is a member of the Odd FeUows, the Sea 
Side, Brooklawn, and other local clubs. Mr. Read was one of the 
founders of the Young Men's Christian Association in Bridgeport 
and devoted considerable time for many years to the interests of that 
work, being a member of the building committee and a member and 
secretary of its board of trustees. He is a member of the First 

126 



FREDEEICK W. READ. 129 

Presbyterian Church and was for ten years superintendent of its 
Sunday School. For exercise and recreation he finds the greatest 
benefit and enjoyment in automobiling. His family consists of a 
wife and five children. Mrs. Eead was Harriet Hollister, daughter 
of David F. Hollister, whom he married May 21st, 1878. 

The answer which Mr. Kead gives to the question as to what are 
the essentials of a successful career is brief and indicative of his own 
course in life. He says — " Do your best in the position you are in 
as a preparation for a better one. Don't be in too great haste for ad- 
vancement." 



GEORGE E. SAVAGE 

SAVAGE, GEOEGE EDWIX, of Meriden, president of Man- 
ning, Bowman and Company and a man of broad activities in 
business, club and church life, is the son of Edwin and Frances 
Sophia (Wilcox) Savage and a descendant of one of the oldest Con- 
necticut families founded by John Savage who settled in Middletown 
in 1652. In 1674 this same John Savage is recorded to have pos- 
sessed 1,207 acres of land on the banks of the Connecticut Eiver and 
his name also appears as one of the organizers of the First Congrega- 
tional Church in IMiddletown. Seth Savage, the great grandfather 
of the present George E. Savage, was a corporal in the Eevolutionary 
War. George E. Savage was bom in Berlin, Connecticut, February 
27th, 1851, and until he outgrew the district school he remained on his 
fathers farm where he was busy outside of school hours. He later 
attended Wesleyan Academy in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, which he 
left at the age of seventeen before fully completing the course. He 
took this step at the advice of his uncle, the late Horace C. Wilcox, 
who convinced him of the advantage of accepting the earliest business 
opportunity and secured him a position with the Meriden Britannia 
Company. 

By diligent study and keen attention to the detail of the silver 
plate industr}' young Mr, Savage soon attained to a thorough mastery 
of the business and was soon made manager of the company^s sales 
rooms in Meriden. He held this oflBce for twenty-five years at the 
end of which he resigned to become general manager of Manning, 
Bowman and Company. Since Mr. Savage assumed the management 
that Company has enjoyed remarkable growth and prosperity. Since 
1898 he has been its treasurer and president. 

At various times Mr. Savage has acted as director in many im- 
portant concerns, including Foster, Merriam & Company, the Meri- 
den Savings Bank and the Meriden National Bank. He is very 
prominent socially and his progressive ideas and unusual executive 
ability make him a leader in all affairs that engage his interest. He 

130 



GEORGE E. SAVAGE. 131 

is a member of the Home Club of Meriden and of the Captain John 
Couch Branch of the Sons of the American Eevolution, He is a de- 
voted member and a trustee of the First Congregational Church of 
Meriden. 

On June 9th, 1875, Mr. Savage married Charlotte P. Foster, 
daughter of Albert Foster, one of the founders of Foster, Merriam 
& Company. Mr. and Mrs. Savage have one son, Albert Wilcox 
Savage, bom in 1889. 



THE SONS OF PLINY JEWELL, SR. 

1 \ "^HILE emigrants of Connecticiit birth and ancestry have 
\ \ filled a large place in the development of the West, her 
blood in turn has been enriched by valuable contribution 
from northern "Sew England. Thomas Jewell, founder of the family 
in America, bom in England, received in 1639 a grant of land at 
Mount Wallaston. Mass., first settled ten years earlier, and incor- 
porated as Braintree in 1640. Thence his descendants scattered to 
found new homes in the infant colonies. Pliny Jewell, Sr., of the 
sixth generation from Thomas, was bom in Winchester, Xew Hamp- 
shire, in 1797. He married, September 9th, 1819, Emily Alexander, 
daughter of a prominent citizen of Cheshire County, a woman of 
strong character and attractive personality, deeply interested through 
a long life in religious and benevolent work. His native town 
offered to Mr. Jewell an honorable and fairly successful career. 
He was known as a leading man of the community and was called 
to fill various positions of responsibility. But the field was too 
narrow for his ambitious spirit. After travel and reflection he se- 
lected Hartford as a promising center for the development of his 
business, moving thither in 1845. In the new field he began business 
by running a tan-yard near Little Eiver. on what is now Bushnell 
Park. 

For several generations his ancestors in the male line had been 
tanners, so that he brought to the work all the knowledge and skill 
of the time. In 1848 he opened a shop on Trumbull Street for mak- 
ing leather belts, having been the third person in America to engage 
in this special business. The father and his sons after him did much 
to educate the manufacturers of the United States, and indirectly 
of Europe, to substitute this means for the conveyance of power in 
place of the costly and cumbersome svstem of gearing, then largely 
in use. For a number of years work in the shop was performed 
almost entirely by hand, the few mechanical appliances employed 
being rude and primitive. Four of the five sons — Pliny, Jr., Mar- 

132 



THE SONS OF PLINY JEWELL^ SB. 135 

shall, Cliarles A., and Lyman B. — were successively admitted into 
the partnership, which under the name of P. Jewell & Sons, soon 
won a world-wide reputation for the magnitude and excellence of its 
products. 

In 1863 the firm bought the plating factory of the Eogers 
Brothers, at the comer of Trumbull and Hicks Streets, which they 
enlarged and partially rebuilt. The structure is now 185 by 44 feet, 
five stories high, with an ell of three stories. With an abundance of 
room and steam power and machinery — invented mostly by manu- 
facturers of shoes, but adapted by the firm to the requirements of 
belt-making — the business, under the stimulus imparted by the War, 
expanded with great rapidity. 

About 1856 they established a tannery at Detroit, Mich., where 
for twenty-five years their leather was chiefly prepared. At present 
they are operating large tanneries at Eome, Ga., whence their mate- 
rials for belting are almost exclusively drawn. 

In 1869, at the ripe age of seventy-two, Pliny Jewell, St., passed 
away, having lived to see the establishment he founded the largest of 
the kind in the country, and bequeathing, as a still more precious 
inheritance, the record of a noble and spotless life. After a brief 
illness, Marshall JeweU followed, in February, 1883, at the high tide 
of vigorous manhood, crowned with honors and beloved by a wide 
circle of devoted friends. Having served three terms as governor of 
Connecticut, he was appointed United States minister to the Court 
of St. Petersburg in 1873. While there he negotiated the trade-mark 
treaty with Eussia, and discovered the process of making scented 
Eussian leather, and was afterwards instrumental in introducing its 
successful manufacture into this country. The following year he was 
recalled to take the position of postmaster-general in the cabinet of 
President Grant. At Washington he endeavored to conduct the affairs 
of the department on strict business principles, becoming, in the 
execution of the policy, the terror of lazy clerks and dishonest con- 
tractors. Questionable schemes found in him a watchful critic, and 
fraudulent ones an unrelenting foe. During his administration the 
efficiency of the service was greatly increased, and the expenditures 
diminished. He plowed up old abuses without stopping to count the 
personal cost or consequences, and introduced new methods which 



136 THE SONS OP PLINY JEWELL, SE. 

worked so admirably that no successor has dreamed of changing 
them. 

But the path of the reformer in public affairs does not lead 
through green pastures or beside the still waters. The mild approval 
of good men — a tenuous support in the wear and weariness of pro- 
longed conflict — opposed feeble resistance to the organized hostility 
that strikes back through a thousand open and secret channels. Indi- 
vidual efforts to checkmate the semi-respectable predatory class that 
encamp in force around most public treasuries from which many 
millions are annually disbursed, end in final martyTdom, except at 
infrequent intervals when, under the provocation of some special 
enormity, the people rise against the offenders in short but possibly 
sharp and decisive spasms of indignation. 

July 14th, 1876, Gov. Jewell retired from the cabinet. In 1880 
he was called to take the chairmanship of the Eepublican National 
Committee, and performed a leading part ia directing the contest 
which ended in the election of President Garfield. 

Gov. Jewell married Esther E. Dickinson, October 6th, 1852, 
and left two daughters. 

Harvey Jewell, the only son not associated with the business in 
Hartford, was bom in Winchester, New Hampshire, June 26th, 1820; 
graduated at Dartmouth College in 1844 ; studied law in the office of 
Lyman Mason of Boston, and was admitted to the Suffolk Bar August 
11th, 1847. He acquired special skill in drafting contracts, charters 
and other instruments where slight errors might open the way to liti- 
gation and loss. He became an authority in maritime law, his 
opinions having almost the weight of judicial decisions. From an 
early period he yielded to the fascinations of politics, first as a Whig 
and later as a Eepublican. In 1851, '52 and '61 he was a member 
of the City Council of Boston, and from 1867 to 1871 of the Massa- 
chusetts House of Eepresentatives, serving most of the time as 
speaker with a degree of intelligence and impartiality that won the 
approval of both parties. So great was the appreciation of his merits 
that in the State Eepublican Convention of 1871, in a triangular con- 
test, a strong body of adherents pushed him enthusiastically for the 
nomination for the governorship. His withdrawal in favor of Wil- 
liam B. Washburn made that gentleman the candidate instead of 



THE SONS OF PLINY JEWELL^ SB. 139 

Benjamin F. Butler. In 1875 President Grant appointed ilr. Jewell 
judge of the Court of Commissioners of Alabama Claims. After 
holding that position two years he resumed the practice of law in 
Boston, where he died December 8th, 1881. Dartmouth conferred 
upon him the degree of LL.D. in 1875. On December 26th, 1849, 
he married Susan Bradley, daughter of Hon. Eichard Bradley of 
Concord, and was survived by two daughters. Mr. Jewell was a gen- 
tleman of commanding presence, kindly heart and gracious manners. 

Under an act of incorporation granted by the state in 1881, the 
Jewell Belting Company was organized in 1883, as successors to P. 
Jewell & Sons, The capital stock of $800,000 is owned by the family 
except a small fraction in the hands of faithful employees. Pliny 
Jewell, Jr., was elected president; Lyman B. Jewell vice-president; 
Charles A. Jewell treasurer, and Charles E. Newton secretary. After 
the death of Charles A. Jewell, June 25th, 1905, Charles E. Xewton 
was elected treasurer, and Charles L. Tolles secretary. Other officers 
remain as at first. 

In 1890 the company added to the works a brick building of 
massive walls, 96 by 60 feet, rising five stories above the basement. 
"West of the old counting-room they also built an extension, 18 by 32 
feet, finished in hard woods, for the private use of the executive 
officers. 

A closely related industry is the Jewell Pin Company, largely 
owned and managed by the same parties. It was chartered in 1881, 
with a capital of $60,000. The factory, in the rear of the belting 
works, consists of two buildings, each 80 by 25 feet, and two stories 
high. The machines are all made on the premises, and each one is 
capable of turning out 160 pins a minute. By a single process the 
wire is cut, headed, sharpened and polished. After passing through 
a process of whitening and cleansing in bulk, the pins are put upon 
paper by other machines equally ingenious. The company makes 
over thirty sizes. Another ancillary industry located on the same 
premises and under the same general management is the Jewell Pad 
Company. 

Pliny Jewell, Jr., bom at Winchester, Xew Hampshire, Septem- 
ber 1st, 1823, since 1848 has been associated with the business estab- 
lished in Hartford by the father, and president of the company since 



140 THE SONS OF PLINY JEWELL, SE. 

its incorporation. He is a director of the Hartford National Bank, 
of the Travelers Insurance Company, a trustee in the Hartford Trust 
Company, vice-president of the Hartford Board of Trade from the 
time of organization, etc. 

He married, September 5th, 1845, Caroline Bradbury and has 
two children. 

Lyman B. Jewell, bom in Winchester, New Hampshire, August 
29th, 1837, received his preliminary training in the dry goods com- 
mission business between 1856 and 1872. In 1873 he moved to Hart- 
ford to become associated with other members of the family in the 
manufacture of belting. He has been vice-president of all the allied 
companies since the several dates of organization. He is a director 
in the Phoenix Insurance Company, the American National Bank, 
the Southern New England Telephone Company, etc. In January, 
1858, he married Charlotte Williams of Boston. 

Charles A. Jewell, the youngest son of the family, was born in 
Winchester, New Hampshire, March 29th, 1841. In the Civil War 
he served as adjutant of the Twenty-second Connecticut Eegiment 
during the term of enlistment. He was treasurer of the Belting 
Company from 1883 till his death in 1905. For many years he was 
president of the Hartford Y. M. C. A. and always a zealous promoter 
of religious activities. In 1866 he married Julia W. Brown, who 
survives him. 

The brothers have had marked characteristics in common. It is 
a boon, like them, to be bom optimists, to look out upon the world 
joyouslj^, to see the sunny side of situations, to radiate contagious 
happiness, to be by nature kindly and helpful, and in the presence 
of the darker mysteries of existence to submit in the faith that by a 
Higher Power in imseen ways all is ordered well. Persons ever asso- 
ciated either in private or public affairs with Harvey or Marshall 
Jewell still cherish the memory of them with unabated tenderness. 
We may not speak so freely of the living, but they are true scions 
of the stock and the practice of the same virtues bring like returns. 



FREDEPJCK JOHX KTVGSBrEY, JE. 



K 



z:: A. P- S-'vr?'sria- C*- Pbi^ 



:z }s^^ 






Scusford ::2. ^ ■ - - ' ^ 

F"3re«3^ck Jcc::! Xizi>v. — -; ^^ r^ ~ ■ S"~^"- is i 

.^^.■a^ '^. . ^^- r --sPv^"^ ji"w~P:r. S»."'V--^ - "'jsjer 

Tessixj izxi 3s ^; ^ - - -• .- x '- — - 

Wii^r^srv-'s ' -" '' -- ' ' -- ■ -" " ■-- 

■^irse >K>a2<ocaiT decrees fr:- ^ c ^ew y^ , . 3iT^3rs.C!es^ 3tr. 

After «^:v _ . _ _ . - ^ - - ~ - ■ ^^ ^ 

Sd>xi of W^KTbiSttXT. Fwdjsrici Xi:s;^;5LrT, Jr^ •wests •»> St. x^aoaTs 



:^ 



144 FREDERICK JOHN KINGSBURY, JE. 

nology in Boston. This was in 1882 and 1883 and in the fall of the 
latter year he became engaged in " general work " in the rolling mills 
of the Seovill Manufacturing Company in Waterbury. He remained 
in the employ of this concern until 1889, when he became secretary 
of the Aluminum Brass and Bronze Company of Bridgeport. In 
1889 he resigned from that position to become secretary of the Bridge- 
port Brass Company, of which he became treasurer in 1903 and 
president in 1905, He is still the head of that enormous company 
and makes the development of its interests the chief business of life. 
Like his father and forefathers Mr. Kingsbury is active and 
influential in church work and is an Episcopalian. From 1889 to 
1896 he was vestryman and treasurer of St. Paul's Church, Fairfield, 
and he is now vestryman of St. Thomas' Church, New Haven. He 
has also been a delegate to the Diocesan Conventions of the Episcopal 
Church. He is a member of the executive committee of the Connect- 
icut Civil Service Eeform Association. He is a member of the 
college fraternity. Delta Psi, of the St. Anthony and Lotos Clubs of 
New York, of the University and Algonquin Clubs of Bridgeport and 
of the Quinnipiack, the Country and Lawn Clubs of New Haven. 
Golf is his favorite exercise and recreation. His political views are 
those of the Eepublican party. His family consists of a wife, Adele 
Townsend Kingsbury, whom he married in 1886, and two children, 
Euth Kingsbury and Frederick John Kingsbury, third. 



JAMES GILBERT WOODRUFF 

WOODEUFF, JAMES GILBEET, president of the William 
L. Gilbert Clock Company of Winsted, Litchfield County, 
Connecticut, and one of the leading manufacturers of 
Litchfield County, was bom in Northfield Society, a village in the 
town of Litchfield, August 27th, 1843, a son of Isaac Benjamin 
and Sarah Ann Gilbert Woodruff. His father was a clock manu- 
facturer and president of the Company until his death April, 1900, 
when his son succeeded him. Mr. Woodruff describes his father as a 
plain, unassuming, modest and quiet man whose only ventures in 
public life were in the capacities of selectman and representative, one 
term each. The mother was a woman of considerable intellectual 
force who greatly influenced her son's mental life and habits. Her 
brother, Mr. Woodruff's uncle, was William L. Gilbert who was known 
as Winsted's greatest philanthropist. He was the founder and first 
president of the Gilbert Clock Company and he built and endowed 
the Gilbert School and the Gilbert Home, two of the finest institu- 
tions for the public benefit in the State. Mr. Woodruff's maternal 
grandfather was James Gilbert, formerly of ISTorthfield Society of 
the town of Litchfield, Connecticut. On his father's side Mr. Wood- 
ruff traces his ancestry back only to his great-great-grandfather, 
Isaac Woodruff of Watertown, Connecticut, who was the father of 
Isaac N. and the grandfather of Isaac Benjamin. 

Industry, thrift and an unusual capacity for work, both of mind 
and body, characterized James G. Woodruff in early youth just as 
in his mature life. He lived in a village and was educated at the 
select schools and academy in Litchfield. From the time he was nine 
years old be began working in his uncle's clock factory outside of 
school hours and, as he was strong and healthy, he was able to do 
much work both manual and mental. He read many treatises on 
mechanical and scientific subjects and was well informed on history 
and on all political questions of the day. At seventeen he left school 
to give his whole time to the factory work that had previously ab- 
sorbed all the time that could be spared from study. He began as 

145 



146 JAMES GILBERT WOODRUFF. 

a htunble floor sweeper and rose through all gravies and stages of 
the clock-maJring industry to his present high position. His natural 
mechanical inclinations coupled with the financial advantages of 
being associated in business with his uncle and father determined 
that he should remain in the clock business all his life and his great 
success had shown the wisdom of his early decision. The Company 
was founded by his imcle who was its president until 1890, after 
which Mr. Woodruff's father was president until 1900, since when 
James G. Woodruff has held the presidency. The Gilbert Clock 
Company is one of the oldest industries of its kind in this State and 
has grown to ertensive proportions through the addition of several 
new brick buildings since 1900. Its products are marketed all over 
the civilized world and there are branch offices in Xew York, Chicago, 
Boston, London, Australia, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and many other 
places. The Company employs six hundred hands and averages an 
annual output of about one million dollars. 

With the exception of three months service in the 2nd Regiment, 
Connecticut Volunteers, at the time of the Civil War, Mr. Woodruff 
has devoted his entire manhood to the business of clock manufactur- 
ing. For relaxation from business cares he has obeyed the dictates of 
an innate ambition and strong constitution and has worked at agri- 
culture instead of following up any kind of sport or athletics. He 
has never sought or held public office, but has always supported the 
Republican party with great loyalty. His religious ties are with the 
Episcopal Church. Fraternal relations have had no part in his busy 
life. His family numbers a wife and three children. Mrs. Wood- 
ruff was Abbie Elizabeth Osborn, daughter of George S. and Edna 
A. Osbom of Watertown, Connecticut, whom he married on May 10th, 
1864. The children are a son, George Benjamin, and two daughters, 
Edna Louise, now Mrs. Allen Hubbard of Boston. Massachusetts, and 
Florence Gilbert, now Mrs Everett W. Farmer of Boston, Mass- 
achusetts. The Woodruff home is in Winsted. 

The story of Mr. Woodruff's life reveals his sound principles and 
singleness of purpose in every event and result. He has worked 
steadily and intelligently at one line of work and as a result now 
stands at the head of that work. In his own words and experience 
the secret of success lies in "most rigid integrity, eternal industry, 
one aim in life and that followed unceasingly." 



CHARLES HINE NETTLETON 

NETTLETON, CHAELES HINE, President of the New Haven 
Gas Light Company, President and Treasurer of the Derby 
Gas Company, bank president and a prominent man of 
Derby, New Haven County, Connecticut, was born in New Haven, 
June 29th, 1850. He is descended from Samuel Nettleton who came 
from England about 1640, settling first in Wethersfield, Conn., and 
afterwards was one of those who bought Totoket (Branford) in 1644, 
and moved there in that year. His descendants afterwards settled in 
Milford, and later some moved to Washington, Conn., and Mr. 
Nettleton is descended from the latter branch. His parents were 
Charles and Ellen Hine Nettleton, the former a lawyer by profession 
and the latter a woman of very strong moral influence. 

New York City was Charles H. Nettleton's boyhood home and 
for eight years he attended the public schools there, he then spent 
a year at the " Gunnery " in Washington, Conn., and immediately 
after entered the College of the City of New York and took the 
scientific course leading to the degree of B.S. upon his graduation in 
1870.. 

As soon as he left college Mr. Nettleton went to Mt. Vernon, 
New York, to act as manager of the gas plant supplying that place. 
In 1873 he was made its Secretary and he held this oflBce until 1890, 
when the company, sold. In 1871 he came to Derby, Conn., to take 
charge of the construction of the Derby Gas Go's, plant which was 
then being built and on the organization of the company he was 
elected Secretary and Treasurer. He occupied these offices until 
1900 when he was elected President, retaining the office of Treasurer, 
but retiring from the office of Secretary. Since 1900 he has also 
been President of the New Haven Gas Light Company. 

The other important offices held by Mr. Nettleton since he has 
made Derby the center of his business and civic interests, are the 
Presidency of the Birmingham National Bank of Derby and the 
position of General Manager of the Birmingham Water Company of 

149 



150 CHAELES HLN"E NETTLETON. 

Derby which he has held since 1874. He was a warden of the borough 
of Shelton during the first two years of its existence. 

Mr. Nettleton is a member of the college fraternity Alpha Delta 
Phi, and the scholarly society of Phi Beta Kappa. He also belongs 
to the Graduates, Quinnipiack and Union League Clubs of New 
Haven and the Lotos and Alpha Delta Phi Clubs of New York. 
He is a thiriy-second degree Mason and a Knight Templar. In poli- 
tics he is a republican and in religious belief a Protestant Episco- 
palian. For exercise and amusement he enjoys fishing and golf. 

On November 11th, 1874, Mr. Nettleton married Katharine 
Arnold, daughter of Joseph Arnold who for many years was CasMer 
of The Birmingham National Bank of Derby. Two children have 
been bom to Mr. and Mrs. Nettleton, Katharine Arnold Nettleton and 
Ellen Arnold Nettleton. Their home is on Seymour Avenue, Derby, 
■Connecticut. 



WILLIAM BRADFORD BOARDMAN 

BOAEDMAN, WILLIAM BEADFOED, lawyer, who has made 
his mark in railway litigation in Connecticut and is a resi- 
dent of Bridgeport, was born in Brimfield, Massachusetts, 
August 22d, 1871. He is the son of M. Bradford Boardman, a 
Congregational clergyman, and Ellen E, Barber Boardman. He is 
paternally descended from a most distinguished and historic per- 
sonage. Gov. William Bradford, who came from England to Ply- 
mouth in the Mayflower in 1620. Another early ancestor, Thomas 
Boardman, came from England to Massachusetts early in the seven- 
teenth century. 

William Bradford Boardman spent his youthful days in New 
Britain and prepared for college at the New Britain High School. 
He then entered Yale University, where he was graduated in 1893 
with the degree of A.B. The following three years he spent in 
teaching in the University School in Bridgeport and at the close 
of this experience he entered Yale Law School, where he took his 
LL. B. degree in 1898. He was admitted to the Fairfield Comity 
Bar as soon as he finished his law course and immediately entered 
upon the practice of law in Bridgeport. 

From 1898 to 1906 Mr. Boardman practiced law in Bridgeport, 
associated with Goodwin Stoddard. In September, 1906, he became 
assistant attorney for the New York, New Haven & Hartford Eail- 
road, taking charge of the steam and trolley litigation in Con- 
necticut, with his ofiice in New Haven. In November, 1907, he 
formed a partnership with George E. Hill, making the law firm of 
Hill & Boardman, now engaged in extensive and successful legal 
practice in Bridgeport. 

Mr. Boardman is a member of the Congregational Church. In 

politics he unites with the Eepublican party. He is a member of 

the University Club of Bridgeport, of the Zeta Psi college fraternity, 

and of the Corbey Court Law School society. In 1907 he was ap- 

7 151 



152 W TT.T.TATtf BEADFOBD BOAEDMAK. 

pointed a member of the State Bar Examinmg Committee. TenniE 
iE Me favorite recreatioiL 

On February 22d, 1901, Mr. Boardman married Alice Burr Hall. 
One child. Bradford, has been bom to Mr. and Mte. Boardman. 



HENRY REMER PARROTT 

PAEEOTT, HENEY EEMEE, president of the Parrott Varnish 
Company of Bridgeport and a man of great activity and 
prominence in the political, social and religious as well as in 
the business life of his city, was born in Bridgeport, Fairfield County, 
Connecticut, on January 4th, 1829. His father was Frederick Wells 
Parrott, a varnish manufacturer, who was at different times select- 
man, road and bridge commissioner, alderman and member of com- 
mon council. Through him Mr. Parrott is a direct descendant of 
Governor Wells. Mr. Parrott's mother was Lucelia Ann Eemer Par- 
rott, a woman of admirable character and uplifting influence. She 
was a descendant of Captain Joseph Eiggs, Senior, who was an uncle 
of Gen. David Humphreys, aid-de-camp to Washington and minister 
to Spain and Portugal. 

In boyhood Henry Parrott lived in Bridgeport, the city of his 
birth and of his mature life as well. He was well and strong and had 
no difficulty in securing a good education. He studied at private 
schools and at the Danbury Institute and showed a marked interest 
and proficiency in mathematics. At eighteen he entered the dry 
goods business and worked at it for eight years. Then, in 1854, he 
became the agent for Adams Express Company, which was or- 
ganized in that year. 

In 1869 the Parrott Yamish Company was organized and Mr. 
Parrott gave up the express business to become an officer in the 
family company. He was secretary and treasurer until 1891, when 
he became president, the office he still holds. He was also vice- 
president of the People's Steamboat Company of Bridgeport. 

He east his first vote for General Scott for president in 1852 
and John C. Fremont in 1856. Mr. Parrott was very actively en- 
gaged in 1860 in the organizing and developing of the " Wide- 
awake " movement, which culminated in the election of Abraham 
Lincoln for the presidency, and which, owing to the reports of thoee 

155 



156 HENRY EEMEB PAEEOTT. 

in sympathy with the South here, brought upon him the censure of 
the general superintendent of the Adams Express Company, but 
whose loyalty was completely vindicated when the company, after 
the Battle of Bull Eun, was called upon by the Grovemment to 
either place the management of the company in Washington in 
known loyal and competent hands or another company would succeed 
to the business, and, with five thousand to select from, Mr. Parrott 
was called upon to assume the position. 

Mr. Parrott, in 1860, became chairman of the Republican Town 
Committee in Bridgeport and continued as such during the entire 
period of the Civil War. In 1887 he organized the Bridgeport 
Republican Club and was its first president. In 1888 he was elected 
one of the Connecticut delegation to the Republican National Con- 
vention at Chicago and was secretary of the delegation. In 1889 
he was elected a member of the State Central Committee. Aside 
from these political honors and services he has been a member of 
common council for two terms, a member of the board of alder- 
men one term, and city police commissioner for a period of six 
years. He is also a director of the Bridgeport board of trade. 

As zealous in church work as in business and public service, 
Mr. Parrott is a most devoted member of the First Congregational 
Society of Bridgeport and has been a member of its Society's Com- 
mittee for forty years and chairman of that committee for the last 
fifteen years. He is a member of the Connecticut Historical Society, 
the Calumet Club and of the Seaside Club. Of the last named he 
was a charter member and one of the board of governors. His home 
is at 333 Golden Hill Street, Bridgeport. Mr. Parrott was married 
October 17th, 1854, to Annie Jane Garland of Boston, who died 
March 26th, 1895, and by whom he had three children, Frederick 
Wells Parrott, bom July 17th, 1855, the present secretary and treas- 
urer of The Parrott Varnish Company; Col. Frank Spooner Parrott, 
bom December 11th, 1860, died January 30th, 1889, while a member 
of Gov. Morgan G. Bulkeley's staff, and Hattie Garland Parrott, 
bom March 16th, 1862, died June 4th, 1893. The present Mrs. 
Parrott was Miss Helen Reinders of New York City, whom he mar- 
ried February 18th, 1903. 

The Parrott Varnish Company is now one of the most widely 
known and patronized industries of its kind in the country and car- 



HENRY REMER PARROTT. 167 

ries on a large, well-equipped and progressive business, exporting its 
products all over the world. Its success and prestige is largely ac- 
counted for in the integrity, business ability and energy of Henry 
Eemer Parrott, its president and manager. 



LINUS BUSHNELL NEAL 

NEAL, LINUS BUSHNELL, treasurer of the Southington 
Savings Bank, was bom in Wallingford, New Haven Comity, 
Connecticut, on February 20th, 1854. His father was Eber 
S. Neal, a farmer, and his mother was Catherine Bushnell Neal. 
Her influence was a very strong and good one upon her son's moral 
and intellectual life. Both parents set him examples of industry and 
economy which he was quick to follow and practice. His youthful 
days were spent in the country. He attended the district school dur- 
ing the winter months and supplemented that somewhat meagre 
education by intelligent reading at home so that at an early age he 
was familiar with the best in literature and history. 

At the age of twenty Linus B. Neal entered the office of the 
Peck, Stow and Wilcox Company in Southington to perform the 
duties of bookkeeper. This was in February, 1875, and he remained 
in the office of that company until 1886. He remained in Southing- 
ton after resigning from this clerical position, for the cause of his 
resignation was the offer of the office of treasurer of the Southington 
Savings Bank. He is still treasurer of that bank. 

In politics Mr. Neal always votes the Democratic ticket. In creed 
he is a Congregationalist. He is a great lover of out-of-door life and 
considers shooting and fishing the ideal sports both for pleasure and 
for physical benefit. He believes that " a steady occupation and 
plenty of work " will insure success and his own life corroborates this 
theory. 

Mr. Neal's family consists of a wife and three children. Mrs. 
Neal's maiden name was Eva N. Chidsey and the date of their 
marriage was November 22d, 1882. Their home is in Southington, 
of which town Mr. Neal has been a prominent and respected citizen 
since he went there to start out in business life at the age of twenty. 
His life is an industrious one devoted to one line of business with 
singleness of purpose and consequent thoroughness and success. 

158 




'-^:1^ 



CHARLES RAY PALMER, D.D. 

PALMEE, THE EEV. CHAELES EAY, D.D., pastor emeri- 
tus of the First Congregational Church of Bridgeport and 
a fellow of Yale University, has been privileged to see the 
fuLfillment of his eariy hope and constant ambition — that he might 
discharge his personal obligation toward his fellow men and lead a 
life of usefulness. And a life filled with good works knows not yet 
the end thereof. 

He comes of a stalwart, determined, upright race. When he 
describes, as few others are competent to describe, the character of the 
Pilgrim Fathers, he necessarily puts before us the very traits which 
have marked his own career and which perhaps might be attributed in 
a measure to inheritance. For his ancestors were of those noble bands 
of self-denying men who came to America for freedom in worshiping 
God. His direct ancestor, William Palmer, left England in the For- 
tune in 1621, followed two years later by his wife, Frances, in the 
Anne, and together they lived, wrought and died in Plymouth Colony. 
He also is a descendant, on his paternal side, of John Alden, Eichard 
Warren and others of the Mayflower party. His mother was a lineal 
descendant of John Ogden, named in the charter of Connecticut ob- 
tained by Winthrop. Her father was Major Marmaduke Waud, an 
Englishman who espoused America's cause in the War of 1813. Her 
name was Ann Maria Waud. She married Eay Palmer. 

Eay Palmer, so widely known as a hymnologist and a voluminous 
writer of prose and verse, began his career in 1831 as a teacher, 
assistant to Professor E. A. Andrews, in the Young Ladies' Institute, 
in the building afterwards occupied by the late General William H. 
Eussell's School for Boys. He became the head of the school, but 
gave it up in 1834 for the ministry and in 1835 took his first pastorate, 
in Bath, Me., whence he removed to Albany, N. Y., in 1850. He 
was a man who combined industry and fidelity with sagacity, a judi- 
cial temperament and a conciliatory spirit. Wise in council, he also 

161 



162 CHARLES RAY PALMER, D.D, 

was energetic in affairs, and his writings won for him a lasting name 
and affection in the hearts of the people. He died in 1887. 

Charles Eay Palmer was horn in New Haven, on May 2d, 1834. 
Vigorous, hearty, zealous, he established a "sound body'' for his 
" sound mind,'' but he cared more for books and music — as might 
be expected of Eay Palmer's son — than he did for sports. His 
mother's influence in molding his character was very considerable. 
What with learning, refinement and all the elements of "higher 
thought," it was a New England atmosphere in which he lived, and he 
says : " I was taught to do every kind of manual labor that the 
household life required, after the old New England fashion, a valu- 
able preparation to be oneself a householder." For his reading, his 
tastes led him into history, biography and the classics. 

After attending the high school in Bath, Me., he took two years 
at Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., graduating there in 1851. Four 
years later he was graduated at Yale with the class of 1855, in which 
his scholarship won him distinction. In 1858, Yale conferred upon 
him the degree of M.A. On leaving Yale, with his mind set upon 
turning his faculties to their greatest usefulness, under an impulse 
which had its source in religion, he entered the Andover Theological 
Seminary, from which, on graduation in 1859, he received a degree 
the equivalent of B.D. He continued his studies at that institution 
a year longer. In 1889, Yale, in recognition of his merits, gave him 
the degree of D.D. 

Inasmuch as he wished to make his own way after leaving college, 
his first work was as a private tutor in Mississippi in 1855. In 1860 
he was ordained pastor in Salem, Mass., where he presided over the 
Tabernacle Church for twelve years. His call to the First Church 
of Bridgeport came in 1872, and for twenty-three years thereafter his 
power for good was felt not only in his own large church and in his 
home city, but throughout the state and beyond its borders. 

His zeal for education was correlative with his zeal for religion. 
For ten years he was on the board of school committee in Salem, and 
has been connected with educational institutions ever since. From 1864 
to 1881, he was director and for some years secretary of the Society 
for the Promotion of Collegiate and Theological Education. For a 
considerable period prior to 1872, he was a trustee of Dummer 
Academy of Byfield, Mass., and from 1871 to 1901, a corporate mem- 



CH.ARLE6 RAY PALMER, D.D. 163 

her of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. 
Other positions of trust included directorship in the General Hos- 
pital Society of Connecticut, where he has served as chairman of the 
prudential committee since 1896. At one time he was chaplain in 
the Veteran Organization known as the Salem Light Infantry, which 
is part of the noted 8th Massachusetts Eegiment. On his retirement 
from his active pastorate in 1895, as pastor emeritus, he removed to 
New Haven, where he devotes much of his attention to Yale Univer- 
sity, of which he was chosen fellow in 1880. 

While he has published no volumes, he has written many pamph- 
lets and discourses of a high order. These are not theological alone, 
but also are of a wide historic range. Among the sermons is one on 
" Preaching Christ to Men," preached in Mansfield College, Oxford, 
England, in 1889, and published in a memorial volume in London. 
Notable among his religio-historical discourses are his oration at the 
unveiling of the John Eobinson memorial tablet in Leyden, Holland, 
Jiily 24th, 1891, his paper on " The Pilgrim Fathers and What They 
Wrought," 1892, published by the Fairfield County Historical Society, 
and another on the Pilgrim Fathers, published by the Congregational 
Union of England and Wales, London, 1893, and his Historical Dis- 
course at the Bi-centennial Celebration of the First Church and So- 
ciety of Bridgeport, 1895. 

He is a member of many learned societies, among them the 
American Historical Association, the New Haven Colony Historical 
Society, the Fairfield County Historical Society, the Congregational 
Historical Society (England), the Archaeological Institute of America, 
Connecticut Society, the American Oriental Society and the Connecti- 
cut Branch of the Egypt Exploration Fund, of which he is president. 
Also he has been a member of the American Academy of Political 
Science, the Victoria Institute or Philosophical Society of Great 
Britain, and the American Exegetical Society. 

Though not indulging in sports, he has given time for physical 
recreation and upbuilding. In his earlier days he was a gymnast and 
at one period director of a gymnasium. His sympathy is with all 
that goes to make men better and stronger, physically, mentally, spirit- 
ually. In politics he has always been a Kepublican. 

He married Miss Mary Chapin Barnes, daughter of Alfred S. 
Barnes, on February 10th, 1869. She died in 1888. They had two 



164 CHAILLES EAT PAUCEE, DJ). 

children. oxHr one of whom is nov living, Edith Bnrr, wiio married 
Arthur Ellsworlii Foote. His home is at 562 Whitney Avenue, Xew 
Haven. 

Looking back over his life, he gives this expression to his opinion 
for the guidance of American youtii : '' The first requisite to true 
success in life is incorruptible character ; next, industry . concentratian, 
readiness to serve where opportunity offers, persistence in well-doing. " 



ALEXANDER THOMAS PATTISON 

PATTISON, ALEXANDER THOMAS, a merchant and citizen 
of Simsbury, Hartford County, Connecticut, was born there 
March 26th, 1861, the son of Joseph and Delia Sceery Pattison. 
His ancestors emigrated from Scotland to County Antrim, Ireland, 
where they remained for two generations, his father and grandfather 
coming to America in 1855 and settling in Simsbury, where his 
father now resides. 

His education was obtained at the public schools of the town and 
the Granby and Simsbury Academies. In 1880 he began his business 
life as clerk in a general store of his native place, a line of business 
he has followed ever since. 

In 1885 Mr. Pattison married Ella Ruth Wilcox. They have 
three daughters, Lucy Wilcox, Julia Ella and Ruth Frances. 

He is president of the Simsbury Electric Light Company, direc- 
tor of the village Water Company and secretary and has been treasurer 
for many years of the Simsbury Cemetery Association. He has also 
served as chairman of the High School Building Committee. Mr. 
Pattison is a member of the Congregational Church and Society and 
was chairman of the prudential committee for twenty years. 

In politics Mr. Pattison has been an active Republican. He was 
elected representative in 1896 by the largest vote ever given in his 
town. In 1903 he was elected senator from the third district, serving 
as chairman of two committees, that of " Appropriations " and " En- 
grossed Bills." In 1905 he was re-elected, the district then being 
the seventh, and again served as chairman of the " Committee on 
Appropriations " and " Engrossed Bills." His persistent and intelli- 
gent effort to hold the appropriation of the State within the income 
of the State and at the same time care for all legitimate needs, in a 
session when the demands made upon the State Treasury were double 
the income, won favorable comment from the press and from all 
parts of the State. His devotion to the duties of his position as chair- 
man of the " Committee on Appropriations " won for him the title of 

167 



168 ALEXANDER THOMAS PATTISON. 

"Watchdog" of the treasury, and no man made a more favorable 
impression in legislative circles than the Senator from the Seventh. 
He is a splendid illustration of the practical business man working 
in a thoroughly disinterested manner to apply business methods to 
state affairs. His faithfulness in legislative work is illustrated by the 
fact that in the three terms of the legislature of which he was a mem- 
ber he was not absent an hour. 

He was appointed a member of the Arsenal and Armory Commis- 
sion by Governor Eoberts in 1905. 







!^.kJUlPL 



REV. ARTHUR HENRY GOODENOUGH 

GOODENOUGH, REV. ARTHUR HENRY, one of the most 
able, active and eloquent ministers of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Cliurch in this state, who is now in charge of the 
church of that denomination in Bristol, Connecticut, is a native of 
England and was bom in Devonshire fifty-five years ago. His 
parents, Joseph and Penelope Goodenough, gave him an excellent 
bringing up, a good education and a heritage of high ideals and broad 
culture. His boyhood was spent in picturesqiie, peaceful surroundings 
and amid those good influences laid the foimdations for a character 
deeply spiritual and an intellect highly imaginative, scholarly and 
poetic, and it was natural tliat he should look to the ministry as his 
calling in life. 

His early school days were spent in a private school at Clovelly, 
Devonshire. He then matriculated at North Devon College. Though 
his father was a member of the Established Church, most of his 
family, including his mother, were Methodists, and at the age of six- 
teen Arthur Goodenough joined the Methodist Church and he was 
commissioned as a local preacher while still an undergraduate. He 
completed his college course at twenty-one and then entered the min- 
istry of the Bible Christian Conference, one of the Methodist bodies 
in England which has been instrumental in bringing about organic 
union in the churches. 

The first pastorate held by Mr, Goodenough was in South Pether- 
ton, Somersetshire, and was the famous one which Dr. Thomas 
Coke, first Bishop of the Methodist Church in America, occupied 
previous to his coming to this country. At a subsequent period Mr. 
Goodenough preached at Cowes, Isle of "Wight. It was during his 
labors at Cowes that he met and married Miss Lucy Ellen Taylor. 
His zeal and eloquence won him admiration and renown even in this 
early period of his ministry and it was natural that he should be 
encouraged to seek a broader field for his efforts. 

In the spring of 1879 Mr. Goodenough came to America, largely 

171 



172 REV. ARTHUE HENRY GOODENOUQH. 

through the influence of his friend, the late Kev. John Johns, a 
well-known clergyman in New York City, and took a parish in the 
village of High Eidge, near Stamford. He was received into the New 
York East Conference, being speedily recognized as a man of ability 
and earnestness. After appointments at Nichols and Long Hill, where 
he worked fruitfully for church growth, he took charge of the parish 
in Astoria, where he will long be remembered for his successful ef- 
forts in building the splendid new church and pastorate. At the 
close of that pastorate he went to New Haven where he remained 
for three years, doing much to increase the equipment of the Church 
and Sunday School at East Pearl Street, liquidating the entire in- 
debtedness of the church and gaining many new and loyal members. 
His next appointment was to the Nostrand Avenue Church in 
Brooklyn, New York, and proved to be conspicuously successful and 
fruitful of good in all ways. During this pastorate the church and 
Sunday-school grew so rapidly that additional accommodations had 
to be acquired. One of the city's most commodious chapels was 
erected at a cost of $50,000. The secret of his great success there 
as always was in his indefatigable efforts as a parish worker, his 
powerful intellect and magnetic eloquence and in his democratic 
tactfulness and loving, humble. Christian service. In 1895, when the 
pastoral time limit was reached, Mr. Goodenough was called to St. 
John's Church, New Eochelle, N. Y., where his administration was 
characterized by the growth, prosperity, and success which attended 
his labors in former pastorates. During this time, in 1899, Dicken- 
son College, Carlisle, Pennsylvania, conferred upon him the honorary 
degree of Doctor of Divinity. On leaving New Eochelle, Dr. Goode- 
nough was appointed pastor of the Prospect Church in Bristol, where 
he is at present located. Here, as elsewhere, his work is untiring, 
capable and effective, and throughout the parish and community his 
forceful, noble, strong Christian character is felt and honored. 

Dr. Goodenough is intensely interested in all public affairs, takes 
a dignified and intelligent part in politics and a lively interest in 
public education. He is a frequent contributor to the religious 
weeklies, writing mostly on current subjects. He is genial, optimistic, 
broad-minded, neighborly and unselfish in his daily relations with 
his fellow men and many outside of his own church know and highly 
esteem him for these qualities. Those fortunate enough to know him 



REV. AETHUB HENBY GOODENOUGH. 173 

as a pastor and preacher honor and admire him for his steadfast 
Christian faith and works, his rare intellectuality and his brilliant, 
poetic and stirring eloquence by which he brings to men's hearts and 
lives the great Gospel truth that shines equally bright and clear in 
his own character and conduct as a servant of God and steward of His 
kingdom. 



JOHN HENRY BRADBURY 

BRADBUEY, JOHN HENEY, woolen manufacturer, dealer in 
wool and woolen goods and former state representative from 
Old Lyme, New London County, Connecticut, is a native of 
Massachusetts and was bom in Webster, Massachusetts, December 
12th, 1841. His grandfather, James Bradbury, was an Englishman 
and like his son and grandson engaged in the woolen business. John 
Bradbury, Mr. Bradbury's father, was a weaver and came from Eng- 
land to Webster, Massachusetts, at the age of fourteen and was em- 
ployed in the Slater Mills in that town. He made rapid progress in 
his trade and at nineteen was a boss weaver and soon conducted a 
woolen manufacturing business on his own accoimt. His wife, John 
Henry Bradbury's mother, was Joanna Perry. 

The public schools of Webster, of Walden, New York, and of 
Chester, Connecticut, furnished Mr. Bradbury's early education. In 
the last named school he was a pupil of Washington F. Willcox, the 
well-known lawyer and railroad man. After receiving what advan- 
tages these schools afforded Mr. Bradbury had the further advantage 
of a year at a boarding school in Winthrop, Connecticut, which was 
presided over by the Eev. William Dennison. His first work was in 
a mill at Chester, but he soon went to Niantic and entered the part- 
nership with his father and uncle in the woolen mills controlled by 
the John Bradbury Company. In 1870 he became a buyer and seller 
of wool to dealers and he has continued in this business with great 
success and profit ever since and conducts a large and progressive 
industry. 

John Henry Bradbury takes a keen interest in public affairs and 
in politics and has been a life-long supporter of the Eepublican plat- 
form. In 1903 he represented Old Lyme in the State Legislature and 
during his term of oflBce he served on the committee on fisheries and 
game. His fellow townsmen wished not long since to make him post- 
174 



JOHN HENRY BRADBURY. 175 

master, but he declined the office. His chief social ties are with 
Pythagoras Lodge, No. 45, A. F. and A. M. Mr. Bradbur/s family 
consists of a wife and one son. Mrs. Bradbury is a native of East 
Lyme and her maiden name was Josephine Way. 



GEORGE WELLS BEACH 

BEACH, GEOEGE WELLS, late president of the Manufac- 
turers' National Bank, ex-superintendent of the Nangatuck 
Eailroad, president of the S. Y. Beach Paper Company, 
of the Manufacturers' Foundry Company, and, in many other 
capacities, one of the foremost citizens of Waterbury, was bom 
in Humphreysville, New Haven County, Connecticut, August 18th, 
1833. He was a descendant of David and Ann Yale, who came 
from England in 1637 and settled in New Haven, and of Jonathan 
Dayton, a captain in the Eevolutionary Army. His father was 
Sharon Yale Beach, a paper maker, who was first selectman, jus- 
tice of the peace, and school visitor, and a most benevolent, firm, 
and industrious man. He took a decided stand for temperance 
and was generally honored for his high moral principles. Mr. 
Beach's mother was Adeline Sperry Beach, a woman whose high 
morality made her a fitting wife and gave her a strong influence 
over her son's character. Of her Mr. Beach said, " I loved her and 
she repaid it many fold." Living in a village and not being strong 
enough to perform hard manual labor in his boyhood, Mr. Beach 
had plenty of time for reading. He was chiefly interested in law 
books, theological works and essays, and with this broad reading he 
was able to supplement the rather limited education of the common 
schools. 

In his sixteenth year the building of the Naugatuck Eailroad 
was begun and he was intensely interested in the enterprise. At 
seventeen he became a railroad clerk in the Seymour oflBce of the com- 
pany and it was soon proved that he was to succeed in the railroad 
business. The following year, 1851, he was promoted to the position 
of second clerk in the Waterbury office. From time to time he was 
sent to different posts where there was especial need of a responsible 
person, and in this way he gained wide experience with railroad work. 
In 1855 he was made agent in the Naugatuck Station, in 1857 
a conductor, and was also put in charge of the general ticket agency. 

176 



GEORGE WELLS BEACH. 179 

In 1861 he became the agent at Waterbury and remained in this 
office for several years. At the death of Charles Waterbury, in 1868, 
Mr. Beach was made superintendent in his place. From 1868 to 
1887 he was superintendent of the Naugatuck Eailroad and, on the 
lease of that road, in 1887, to the New York, New Haven and Hartford 
Eoad, was appointed division superintendent and filled this responsible 
position continuously till he retired in 1902. After 1880 he was suc- 
cessively director, vice-president and president of the Manufacturers' 
National Bank of Waterbury and from 1871 to 1885 he v^as a director 
in the Watertown and Waterbury Eailroad. He was a charter member 
of the Waterbury Hospital and one of the Executive Committee for 
fourteen years and president of the American Society of Eailroad 
Superintendents for three years. The Naugatuck Eailroad has been 
one of the best-managed and most efficient and prosperous railroads 
in the country, and this threefold superiority was greatly the outcome 
of the efforts, the exceptional forethought, and the untiring devotion 
of Mr. Beach, who had so managed the railroad that its stocks increased 
in value and the public convenience and comfort increased as well. 
The High Eock Grove summer resort was his idea and he was the 
first to use kerosene oil for the lighting of passenger cars in 1860, and 
the valuable Arctic shoe was made upon his suggestion. His life 
was a busy one for he never shirked his responsibilities and it was 
a life in which self was forgotten in serving others. In civil, political 
and ecclesiastical offices Mr. Beach was as active as he was in his 
business capacities, often supplying pulpits in case of illness of pastors. 
He was Justice, town clerk, a member of the board of education, mem- 
ber of the State Legislature (1870-71 ), postmaster of Waterbury in 
1867, a deacon in the First Congregational Church of Waterbury 
( 1873-1906 ), a promoter of the Christian Commission for the Civil 
War, and of the Waterbury Young Men's Christian Association, of 
which he was president for four different terms. He was a member 
of the Waterbury Club. 

Mr. Beach was twice married, in 1855 to Sarah Upson of Sey- 
mour, who died in January, 1882, and by whom he had two sons. The 
senior, Henry D., was the Signal Engineer of the New York, New 
Haven and Hartford Eailroad, the junior, Edward W., is manager of 
the Manufacturers' Foundry Company of Waterbury. The second 



180 GEORGE WELLS BEACH. 

marriage was in 1883 to Mrs. Sarah A. Blackall. His home was at 29 
CUff Street, Waterbury. 

In summing up the influences that were the strongest upon 
his life Mr. Beach said, " Home was a dear place, school was influen- 
tial as far as my physical condition permitted me to enjoy it, and my 
aim has been to be with companions who were of the best, and to study 
men." His chief impulse was to do his best and never shirk 
responsibility, and to live for others. Mr. Beach died at his hom.e 
Sunday, March 2d, 1906. 





l>CeZyC^Cr-Cy' 




SIDNEY FERRY DICKERMAN 

DICKERMAN, SIDNEY EEEEY, merchant and a leading 
business man of Winsted, Connecticut, was born in Guilford, 
Chenango County, New York, September 30th, 1835, the son 
of Nathaniel Dickerman and Mary Ann Ferry Dickerman. His father 
was a farmer who served his town as justice of peace and was a man of 
strict integrity and devotion to his family. The ancestry of the family 
in America is traceable to Thomas Dickerman, who came from Eng- 
land and settled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, about 1635 or 1636. 

As a boy Sidney F. Dickerman was healthy and strong and there 
was plenty of opportunity for the exercise of his physical strength 
on his father's farm. He had regular tasks to perform and the habits 
of industry which these tasks formed he considers among the greatest 
of all benefits to his life. He attended the Oxford Academy at Ox- 
ford, New York, but did not graduate. After leaving school he be- 
came a farmer in Newburgh, Ohio. He had a strong desire to be- 
come a merchant, but his friends opposed this course and circum- 
stances rather than preference prevailed. After a few years' experience 
at farming he spent six years as a bookkeeper in Cleveland, Ohio, at 
the end of which he came to Winsted, Connecticut, in 1868, and 
established himself in the hardware business, in which he has been en- 
gaged continuously since that time. Before coming east and at the 
time of the Civil War, Mr. Dickerman served for one hundred days 
in the United States Army and he also served five years in the Ohio 
State Militia. 

Since making his home in Winsted Mr, Dickerman has taken an 
important part in town and church affairs as well as in the business 
life of the community. He served on the board of burgesses several 
years and was a member of the board of relief for the town and 
borough. He is a Eepublican in political faith and a Congregationalist 
in creed. He has been a deacon in the Second Congregational Church 
of Winsted since 1898. His fraternal ties are with the Eoyal Ar- 
canum and he was treasurer of the local council of that order for f our- 

183 



184 SIDNEY FEREY DICKERMAN. 

teen years. He belongs to no social clubs and has no particular ath- 
letic interests, for he finds his greatest pleasure in strict attention to 
business. In October, 1867, the year before he came to Winsted, Mr. 
Dickerman married Adelaide Lucinda Whiting. No children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Dickerman. 

Mr. Dickerman believes that the best method for a young man to 
pursue in the struggle for success is to " decide first of all what he 
wants to do and then to accomplish it through strict integrity and 
hard work and by never being discouraged by disappointments.'' 



ELIAS WILLIAMS 

WILLIAMS, ELIAS, late citizen of Stonington, New London 
County, Connecticut, a prominent farmer, public official 
and a leader in religious and philanthropic movements in 
his community, who served his town as state representative and in 
other capacities, was bom in Stonington, January 19th, 1830, and died 
there in 1904. He was descended from Eobert WiUiams, who came 
on the ship Eore from Yarmouth, England, to New England in 1635, 
and was a member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company 
of Boston. Captain Elias Williams, grandfather of the late Elias 
Williams, was a master mariner and sea farer, while Joseph Stanton 
Williams, Mr. Williams' father, was a man of great prominence in 
Stonington, was selectman of that town and was reputed for his 
mental and moral stability. Mr. Williams' mother was Julia Ann 
Gallup Williams. 

The district schools of Southington furnished Mr. Williams' edu- 
cation and as soon as he was old enough to enter business he engaged 
in the meat business, continuing it for five years. In 1856 he went 
to Canada to assume an interest in the lumber business and soon 
afterwards he spent several years in the West. During the Civil War 
he was a wagon master and at the close of the War he went to Cali- 
fornia as a surveyor. In 1870 he returned East and settled down in 
his native town, Stonington. He engaged in farming on an extensive 
scale and continued at that occupation until his death, in 1904. 

In political life Mr. Williams was most influential and promi- 
nent. In 1880 he was state representative from Stonington and 
during his term of office he served on the military committee. In 
1896 he was again elected state representative and during this session 
he served on the committee on constitutional amendments. He was 
chairman of the Eepublican town committee of Stonington for twenty 
years and chairman of the senatorial committee for a number of years. 

Taking an interest in religious matters no less strong than that 
in public affairs, Mr. Williams was prominent in church matters and 

185 



186 ELIAS WILLIAMS. 

was a deacon in the Mystic Congregational Church and one of its 
most generous supporters. His generosity was not narrowed to one 
field of helpfulness and, in 1897, he gave two acres of his estate to 
the Mystic Industrial Company, in which he was a director. 

Elias Williams was a man who was honored and respected for his 
high standards of honesty and morality, for his clean politics and 
strict integrity as a business man. He was not only a prosperous 
farmer, a leader in public affairs and a promoter of public weal, but 
a man of firm and upright character, on which was built his success 
and from which sprang his worthy influence. Mr. Williams is sur- 
vived by a wife, Sarah Palmer Williams, whom he married in 1885. 




(3^- 



FREDERICK BENJAMIN RICE 

RICE, FEEDERICK BENJAMIN, late financier, builder and 
extensive operator in real estate as well as director in many 
important institutions and the incumbent of several public 
offices of Waterbury, New Haven County, Connecticut, was bom in 
Hudson, Ohio, September 30th, 1843. His parents were Archibald 
Elijah and Susan Bronson Eice, both of whom originally came from 
Waterbury and were descendants of the earliest settlers of Connecti- 
cut. The Bronson ancestry is traceable through a long line of dis- 
tinguished men to Eichard Bronson who died in 1478. On the Eice 
side the line goes back to Isaac Eice, Senior, who participated in the 
Eevolutionary War. Very little is known of the Eice family previous 
to the Eevolutionary period, and it is probable that the family name 
was Eoyce in earlier times. 

While he was a young boy Frederick Eice's family came back to 
Waterbury and his early education was acquired in the public schools 
of that town. He afterwards took a course at Eastman's Business 
College in Poughkeepsie, at the close of which he returned to Water- 
bury and became a clerk in the L. D. Smith Company in which his 
father had an interest. Later he held a clerical position in the 
Apothecaries Hall Company, retail and wholesale druggists. 

In 1862 Mr. Eice enlisted and served the Union cause for 
thirteen months. Most of the time he was in service in Louisiana 
under General Banks. He was appointed corporal of Company A, 
23d Eegiment, Connecticut National Guards, receiving his honorable 
discharge in August, 1863. 

Upon his return to private life, Mr. Eice became secretary of 
the Apothecaries Hall Company and when he resigned this ofiice it 
was to take a similar position in the Waterbury Limaber and Coal 
Company. He was identified with this business for several years, 
during which he and his father acquired a controlling interest in 
the business which they afterwards sold out to a New Britain Syn- 
dicate represented by F. H. Piatt and F. H. Humphrey. 

189 



190 FREDERICK BENJAMIN RICE. 

During his connection with the lumber company, Mr. Eice be- 
came greatly interested in building and in real estate operations and 
after the sale of the lumber business he gave his time largely to 
those interests. From that time until his recent death he built seven 
hundred and twenty-four houses, stores, and business blocks in his 
home city, ranging in value from eighteen hundred to one hundred 
thousand dollars. His keen judgment of future conditions enabled 
him to undertake large operations in real estate with great success 
and satisfaction, and he was particularly ambitious and successful 
in developing new tracts of land and thereby furthering the growth 
of the city. One of his largest undertakings was the building up of 
the northwestern section of the city by the development of a large 
tract of land which was most difficult to cultivate into a residential 
section. This was called the " Glebe Land," and he purchased it 
from St. John's Parish and spent twenty-five thousand dollars in 
removing a solid rock bed, thirty-four feet high, which surrounded the 
entire acreage. This great output of money, labor and time resulted 
in four good residence streets containing sixty-five building lots on 
which he subsequently erected a fine class of dwelling houses, the 
nucleus of the now large and important northwestern section of 
Waterbury. Among other prominent buildings erected by Mr. Eice 
are the G. A. E. Building, Concordia Hall, and five large apartment 
houses. " The Elton," one of New England's newest and finest 
hotels, was built by the Waterbury Hotel Corporation of which Mr. 
Eice was president, and its splendid construction and equipment is 
due largely to his ability and personal interest in all its details. His 
death occurred before the hotel was opened to the public, a matter of 
great regret to all who realized his share in the success of the under- 
taking. 

At the time of his death, which occurred April 22d, 1905, Mr. 
Eice was president of the Apothecaries Hall Company, the F. B. 
Eice Company (a corporation which he organized for the purpose of 
handling his own extensive business), and of the Waterbury Hotel 
Corporation already mentioned. He was a director in the Manu- 
facturers' National Bank, on the board of the Waterbury Hospital, the 
Waterbury Industrial School, and the Girls' Friendly League. He 
was assessor for five terms, councilman for three terms, and at 



FREDEEICK BENJAMIN BICE. 191 

various times lie served on the water supply committee, the finance 
committee and other municipal boards. 

Mrs. Eice was Helen McCullough Mintie, daughter of Alexander 
and Helen Kenyon Mintie, when Mr. Eice made her his wife in 1866. 
Of their two children Helen Susan died in early childhood and Archi- 
bald Ernest survives his father and succeeds him in his extensive 
business. 

Frederick Benjamin Eice was respected by all his business and 
social acquaintances for his enterprise, his sterling integrity and his 
great industry and ability. He was always zealous in the promotion 
of the public welfare and eager and successful in helping young men 
in their struggle for success. He was as generous and kindly as he 
was sagacious and enterprising. He was a faithful member and 
worker in the First Congregational Church of Waterbury from early 
manhood until his death, and was greatly honored for his Christian 
■citizenship. 



EDWIN CLIFFORD CHIPMAN 

CHIPMAN, EDWIN" CLIFFOED, M.D., physician and surgeon 
of New London, Connecticut, is, like every other Chipman in 
America up to 1850, a descendant of John Chipman, who was 
bom in Brj-ans-Piddle, England, in 16 14, came to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, in July, 1631, and married Hope, daughter of the famous May- 
flower passengers, John and Tillie Rowland. All of Dr. Chipman's 
later ancestors were sober, upright men of influence and creditable 
activity in their several commimities. His parents were Nathan Tru- 
man and Harriet A. Chipman, the former a currier and farmer by 
trade and a most honest, upright and industrious citizen, and the latter 
a woman of noble character and marked highmindedness. 

The son Edwin was born in West Saugerties, Ulster County, 
New York, March 7th, 1861, and grew up to be a robust country boy, 
fond of outdoor sports and capable of much hard and thorough labor. 
At eleven he worked in a cotton factory and from the time he was 
twelve until he attained his majority he worked on the farm all sum- 
mer and attended school during the winter terms. Though he loved 
books, the necessity of constant work and the meagreness of the family 
library made it impossible for him to indulge his literary tastes to 
any great degree. He was determined to have a college education and 
become a physician and he succeeded in attaining his end in spite of 
great financial difficulties. After preparatory study at the Mystic 
Bridge High School he entered Alfred University in Alfred, New 
York, where he was graduated in 1887 with the degree of A.B. He 
then entered the medical department of Columbia University and 
received his medical degree in 1891. Meanwhile, in November, 1888, 
he had married Eunice C. Crumb, the mother of his four children. 

In 1891, as soon as he received his medical degree. Dr. Chipman 
began the active practice of medicine in Niantic, New London County, 
Connecticut. He continued there in a successful and growing prac- 
tice of medicine and surgery until January 1st, 1904, when he removed 

192 



EDWIN CLIFFORD CHIPMAN, 193 

to New London, which has been the field of his most successful pro- 
fessional work ever since that date. In 1903 he was a delegate from 
East Lyme to the Constitutional Convention at Hartford. That has 
been his only political office, but he is a constant Prohibitionist in 
his political adherence. 

Dr. Chipman has been a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows since 1893 and is noble grand of that order. In creed 
he affiliates with the Seventh Day Baptists. His relaxation from work 
is preferably in driving a good horse and in athletic sports. 

When questioned as to the influences, mistakes and ideals that 
have been most potent in shaping his career. Dr. Chipman says that 
home has been his chief inspiration and his early labors on the farm 
the best foundation for industry and perseverance. Failures have 
only come through losing sight of the goal and lack of diligence in 
putting forth his best efforts. He believes that men should " tie them- 
selves so strongly to some good principle that they cannot get away 
from it." He adds in admonition : " Don't form bad habits ; have 
an individuality and never barter it. Be charitable." 



THOMAS SEDGWICK STEELE 

STEELE, THOMAS SEDGWICK, late artist, scliolar and 
writer, one of Connecticut's most snccessfnl disciples of tke 
bnisli, was a member of a family long and widely respected 
throughout the state for worthy citizenship. He was bom in Hart- 
ford on June 11th, 1S15, and died in Swampscott, Massachtisetts, 
September 10th, 1903. He was a descendant in the ninth genera- 
tion from John Steele, a natiye of Essex County, England, who 
came to Xew England about 1631 and settled in Xew Town, now 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. He afterwards settled in Hartford and 
still later in Farmington, Connecticut. The late Mr. Steele's father 
was Deacon Thomas Steele who was engaged in the retail jewelry 
business in Hartford imtil his death in 18T5 and was for many 
years a deacon in the Park Congr^ational Church in that city. 
Deacon Thomas Steele was a zealous promoter of all good causes 
and was greatly honored for that and for his personal merits and 
integrity. His wife, Mary Eitter Steele, the mother of the late 
artist, was a woman of strong Christian character and many per- 
sonal graces and of a most lovable and kindly disposition and the 
son inherited the characteristics of both parents in full measure. 

Hartford was Thomas Sedgwick Steele's home throughout his 
early life and he receiyed his education at the public and high schools 
of that city. As soon as he had completed the high school course he en- 
tered his fathers jewelry store, and the firm soon became T. Steele 
and Son. Business was carried on under that firm name for twenty- 
three years. 

From his boyhood Mr. Steele showed a remarkable aptitude for 
drawing and painting. His earliest efforts showed considerable 
talent, and his sketches were commented on favorably by competent 
critics. Mr. Steele gave much of his time outside of btisiness hours 
to painting, and although his work was well received by the public, 
it was not until 1ST 7 that his first paintings began to attract special 

194 



THOMAS SEDGWICK STEELE. 197 

attention, when he exhibited at the National Academy of Design in 
New York. Mr. Steele rapidly became noted as an artist. In 1887 
he closed out his jewelry business, and thereafter devoted his entire 
attention to his long cherished profession. In 1890 he was honored 
by election to the Boston Art Club. This club has the reputation of 
being rather conservative in its reception of newcomers and slow in 
showing its appreciation. There was nothing doubtful about Mr. 
Steele's reception, however, for his ability was undisputed and his 
work certain to be widely recognized. Soon after his election his 
celebrated trout painting, entitled " Net Eesults," was etched by a 
Boston publishing company. In 1880 and 1882 Mr. Steele published 
two books on the woods of northern Maine, entitled " Canoe and 
Camera " and " Paddle and Portage,'^ and compiled a map for il- 
lustration, the result of his exploration. The books had a wide sale. 
Mr. Steele studied the higher branches of art with P. Marcius- Simons 
in Paris. Upon his return to America in 1895 he added steadily 
to his already enviable reputation as a painter, and at this time wrote 
a book, entitled a "Voyage to Viking Land." He maintained his 
studio in Hartford until 1900, when he removed to Boston, where 
he remained for the next and last three years of his life. 

The following distinguished societies enrolled Mr. Steele as a 
member: the Boston Art Club, the Salmagundi Club of New York, 
the Society of Mayflower Descendants, the Society of Colonial Wars 
and the Sons of the American Revolution. He was a member of 
the Park Congregational Church of Hartford and was its Sunday 
School Superintendent at one time. In politics he was a Eepublican. 

Thomas Sedgwick Steele was a man of simple, domestic tastes, 
quiet manner and a deeply artistic nature. He was devoted to his art 
with an industrious loyalty that, coupled with his splendid natural 
talent, could not fail of success. His culture was broad, scholarly 
and refined and he was as sincere a gentleman as he was an artist. He 
was patriotic in the extreme and was a great lover of his native town 
and intensely interested in its progress along all worthy lines. He 
was twice married. In 1868 he married Miss Annie Eliza Smith, 
daughter of Captain Joseph E. Smith of Stonington. She died about 
six years after her marriage. On October 36th, 1876, Mr. Steele mar- 
ried Miss Sarah Cole Goff, daughter of the late Hon. Darius and 



198 THOMAS SEDGWICK STEELE, 

Harriet Lee Goff, and a member of a very old and prominent Ehode 
Island family. With Mrs. Steele he traveled extensively. She and 
•one daughter, Annie Lee, survive. Mrs. Steele makes her home in 
Pawtucket, Ehode Island. The daughter is the wife of Herbert M. 
Adams of Pawtucket and the mother of one son, Sedgwick Steele 
Adams. 





'^. 



// 



'r^, 




EDWIN HALLOCK 

HALLOCK, EDWIN, hardware and real estate dealer and ex- 
representative of Derby, New Haven County, Connecticut, 
who is prominent in his conununity for his active part in 
fraternal and religious, as well as in business and political affairs, 
was born in Derby August 16th, 1840. He is a descendant of Peter 
Hallock, one of the thirteen Pilgrim fathers who came from England 
in 1640 with the Eev. John Youngs and settled in New Haven. In 
October of that year the Eev. Mr. Youngs gathered his church to- 
gether anew under the Rev. John Davenport and Gov. Theophilus 
Eaton and established a church and community on Long Island. As 
Peter Hallock was the first of the band to land the place was called 
HallocFs Neck. The company purchased land from the Gochang 
Indians which is now the town of Orient. Two of Mr. Hallock's 
later ancestors fought in the Eevolution and his grandfather and 
father took part in the War of 1812. After that war was closed 
Mr. Hallock's father, Zephaniah Hallock, removed to Derby and en- 
gaged in shipbuilding. He married Sarah Hall, a woman who gave 
their son a heritage of high ideals for his intellectual and moral 
guidance. 

Derby was Edwin Hallock's boyhood home, as well as his birth- 
place, and the center of his business interests in mature life. He at- 
tended the common schools and S. A. Law Post's " Classical and Com- 
mercial Institute." He was greatly interested in his studies and took 
particular interest in historical works. His fijst work after leaving 
school was in a turning shop, where he labored for a year and learned 
to be industrious in a most practical and lasting way. He then spent 
five years as teller in a local savings bank and he remembers this 
period with gratitude for the habits of carefulness and exactness 
which he acquired during that time. 

Since leaving the bank Mr. Hallock has been engaged in the 
hardware and real estate business in Derby and has carried on a most 
successful mercantile business. He has been active in church affairs 
9 199 



200 EDWIN HALLO CK. 

and is a devoted member and the treasurer of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Derby. He is also a member of the Congregational 
Club of New Haven and trustee and treasurer of the local Yoimg 
Men's Christian Association. He is one of the directors of the Derby 
Hospital. For more than six years he served on the Derby School 
Board. He is greatly interested in the I. 0. 0. F. and is Past Grand 
of that order. 

A loyal and ardent Republican, Mr. Hallock has frequently held 
offices in the gift of that party. He was state representative in 1897, 
in 1903 and again in 1905. During the session of 1903 and '4 he 
served on the committee on claims and banks. 

Mr. Hallock has never married. He makes his home the year 
around at Derby, except for the occasional periods spent in traveling, 
which he deems the best kind of recreation and amusement. Accord- 
ing to his mind and experience success is best obtained by " sincerity, 
perseverance and a constant activity of doing your best." 




■I 



^ 



'^'^'^'z/ f~y^ <^-^ 





GUSTAVE J. STOECKEL 

STOECKEL, GUSTAVE J., late doctor of music, composer, 
patron, teacher and interpreter of music, former head of the 
musical department of Yale University, and one of the most 
versatile, accomplished and distinguished musicians of the century, 
was a native of Maikammer, Palatinate of Bavaria, where he was bom 
November 9th, 1819. His ancestors were from the Austrian Tyrol and 
numbered many military men, two of whom attained high distinction 
in the wars of the middle ages. 

Gustavo received not only a common school education, but thor- 
ough military and musical training and was graduated at the College 
of Speyer with high honors. He was given a government appointment 
as soon as he was graduated, which placed him in charge of the High 
School at Landstuhl, the famous mediaeval stronghold of Luther's 
friend and supporter, Franz von Sickingen. While young Mr. 
Stoeckel was teaching at Landstuhl he became imbued with the liberal 
ideas then prevalent among young Germans who found for their 
leaders such men as the poet, Johann Gottfried Kinkel, and the late 
Carl Schurz. Not being able under governmental control to carry out 
his liberal ideas he decided to come to the United States and did so 
in 1848. 

As soon as he came to America Mr. Stoeckel established himself 
in New Haven to follow the profession of music. He was soon ap- 
pointed organist at Yale University, a position which had up to that 
time been filled by various volunteers, but became with his installa- 
tion a regular college position for one man's occupancy and honor. 
This success encouraged him to make music his life work and the 
decision was a wise and natural one, both because of his splendid 
technical preparation and because of his great natural talent. He was 
quick to discern the neglect of and opportunity for musical progress 
at the University and in fact throughout the state, and began imme- 
diately to encourage the development of musical art. He organized 
and conducted the Beethoven Society at Yale with which he gave the 

203 



204 GUSTAVE J. STOECKEL. 

first complete rendition in this e^tmtry of Felicien David's " The 
Desert." He also organized and drilled the first Yale Glee Clnb, for 
which he wrot€ the famous collie song, " 'Xeath the Elms." He was 
soon appointed instructor in vocal music at Yale and continued to give 
instruction in organ playing and musical composition to hundreds of 
students in this capacity for over forty years, at the end of which he 
was appointed to a full professorship and organized the present depart- 
ment of music. He became the first occupant of the chair created 
under the title of Battell Professor of Music. He compiled the " Col- 
lege Hymn and Tune Book " familiar to every Yale man and used in 
the college chapel for over twenty-five years and he also composed 
during his professorship at Yale " Stoeckel's Sacred Music," a volume 
for mixed voices, an overture called ''■ Yale," which has since been 
played by the Thomas Orchestra, two operas — "' Lichtenstein '' and 
" Mahomet " — music to LongfelloVs " Grolden Legend " (a much 
earlier setting than Sullivan's), " Tam O'Shanter — a Symphony," and 
numerous vocal and instrumental compositions for college and other 
occasions. All tiie time that could be spared from coU^e interests 
and duties he devoted to furthering art and music throughout the 
State, with the result that classical music, a sealed book to the average 
Connecticut citizen at the time of Dr. Stoeckel's coming to New 
Haven, became intelligible to and beloved by a large percentage of the 
cultured people of the State in a couple of decades. He revealed and 
interpreted to his audiences, academic and general, the works of Beet- 
hoven, Mozart and all the masters and in his lectures and concerts 
stimulated a musical revival. With others he founded the Mendels- 
sohn Society of New Haven and gave the initial performances of the 
great oratorios in Connecticut. To celebrate the centenary of Beet- 
hoven's birth he organized the Beethoven Festival, which lasted for 
three days, during which Beethoven's principal works were performed, 
including his only opera, " Fidelio." The performers in this memor- 
able festival consisted of a large chorus and orchestra, a number of 
distinguished soloists and the Eichings-Bemard Opera Company. The 
occasion was also notable because of the first performance in America 
of Beethoven's Tenth Symphony. Beethoven's symphonies were 
heard for the first time in Connecticut as they were written, when 
they were performed by the Xew Haven Philharmonic Society, also 
organized and conducted by Dr. Stoeckel. For all these achievements 



GUSTAVE J. STOECKEL. 



206 



for the advance of music he received from Yale University the first 
degree of doctor of music ever granted by that institution and since 
given only to the most distinguished of musicians. 

When, in 1894, advancing age forced Dr. Stoeckel to resign from 
his chair at Yale, he was retired with the title of emeritus professor 
of music and was succeeded hy Horatio Parker. From that time until 
his recent death he resided at Norfolk, spending the evening of life 
in musical study and patronage and in gardening and the enjoyment 
of country life. Even in retirement he continued to compose music 
and wrote the words and music to the following operas: "Miin- 
chausen," " Miskodeeda/' an American Indian subject, " Miles 
Standish," and " Harold," the latter being completed in his eighty- 
fifth year with all of the intricate orchestral music written out with 
his own hand. 

Though an adherent of the classical school in music. Dr. Stoeckel 
was most liberal toward the new or Wagnerian school. He jour- 
neyed over to Bayreuth to be present at the opening of Wagner's 
opera house for the first rendition of the " Eing,'^ and wrote and lec- 
tured upon Wagner's works upon his return to this country. He was 
a personal friend of Wagner and nearly succeeded in inducing the 
great composer to visit America. 

Dr. Stoeckel's family consisted of a wife, Matilda Bertha Wehner 
Stoeckel (died 1904), whom he married in 1848, and three children: 
Irene Lamed, Carl, and Eobbins Battell, a Yale graduate (1893) 
and lawyer. The sketch of Carl Stoeckel appears elsewhere in this 
work. Another daughter, Matilda Bertha, died in young woman- 
hood, and a son, Gustave Mozart, Yale, '71, and a physician, is also 
dead. Dr. Stoeckel's death occurred Mav 17th, 1907. 



CARL STOECKEL 

STOECKEL, GAEL, M.A., patron oi music, literature and the 
arts, former secretary to the late Bobbins Battell of Norfolk, 
Connecticut, scholar and club man of wide reputation., was 
bom in New Haven, Connecticut, December ?th, ISoS, and is of Ger- 
man (Bavarian) ancestry. Two of his early ancestors were well 
known generals in mediaeval times in Germany. His father, Gus- 
tave J. Stoeckel, came to Am erica in 1S4S and became Bartell Pro 
fessor of music in Tale University. His wife, the mother of Carl, 
was Matilda B. StoeckeL 

Carl Stoeckel was educated at the Sidney A. Thomas School 
and the Hopkins Gram mar School in Xew Haven and by private 
tutors. He traveled extensively in his youth and in later life in 
America and Europe and laid in these travels the foundation for the 
broad culture that characterizes the mature man today. Aside from 
the duties of private secretary to the late Eobbins Battell which he 
performed for fifteen years, Air. Stoeckel has devoted his life to music, 
literature and art, to history, archaeology and science, and to the 
generous support of deserving mtisicians and the preservation of 
patriotic and historical works and interests. He has studied deeply 
and extensively, but he has never placed self -development first, having 
rather made the culture of others his chief end in view. The best 
tribute to his success in his scholarly efforts was paid him in 1906, 
when Yale University conferred upon bim the honorary degree of 
Master of Arts. Tributes to his many and varied intellectual attain- 
ments and activities are also found in his membership in many dis- 
tinguished organizations, including the Litchfield County University 
Club, the Players Club of Xew York, the Metropolitan Museum of 
Art of Xew York, the Hellenic Travellers' Society of England, the 
Connecticut Civil Service Eeform Association, the Connectieut Teach- 
ers' Guild, and the American Scenic and Historic Preservation 
Society. He is a life member of the American Association for the 
Advancement of Science, the American Historical Association, the 

206 



GAEL STOECKEL. 207 

Archaeological Institute of America, the National Geographic Society, 
the Connecticut Historical Societ}', of which he is vice-president for 
Litchfield County, and the American Eose Society. He was the founder 
and endower of the Litchfield County University Club, which has over 
two hundred members, and gave to it a fimd to be used for the compo- 
sition of an orchestral composition by an American composer. This 
is but one of the many ways in which he has been a liberal patron of 
music. He gave a fund to be used for the composition of a choral 
composition in large form by an American composer, to be sung by 
the Litchfield County Choral Union. Dr. Horatio Parker of Yale 
was chosen by the Club to compose the work. He gave a third fund 
for the founding and sustaining of the Lit^^hfield County Choral 
Union with branches at Norfolk, Winsted, Salisbury, Canaan, and 
Torrington, numbering seven hundred voices. In 1906 he built the 
now famous Music Shed at Norfolk which seats eighteen hundred 
people and is used for the annual festival of the Choral Union. AU 
concerts given in the " Shed " are complimentary, as tickets axe not 
sold but are distributed solely by the members. He has given per- 
sonal aid to many composers, notably Joseph Bamby of England. 

The public benefits bred of Mr. Stoeckel's generosity have by no 
means been confined to the fostering and patronage of musical art. 
He purchased and presented to the John Brown Association the birth- 
place of John Brown in Torrington, erected a battle monument to 
General John Sedgwick at Cornwall Hollow, Connecticut, and had 
printed for gratuitous distribution a sketch of the life of Gen. Sedg- 
wick by his sister, Mrs. Emily Sedgwick Welch, as well as the " Cor- 
respondence of John Sedgwick, Major General, U. S. A." He fur- 
nished a fund for the publication of a book to be written by a member 
of the University Club on a subject pertaining to Litchfield County, 
such a book to be issued, one each year, for ten years. The first was 
" Litohfield County Sketches " by >T. M. Calhoun, published in 1906. 
Mr. Stoeckel has likewise assisted in the preparation of many other 
works pertaining to literature and music. 

Although he has had many offers of business and political honors 
Mr. Stoeckel has held aloof from both and has given his time entirely 
to the advancement of music and scholarly pursuits and to increasing 
public appreciation and enjoyment of all things that make for the 
broadest culture. His home at Norfolk is a beautiful embodiment of 



208 CARL STOECKEL. 

his many artistic interests and is a center of hospitable, cultured 
sociability. " To have " with him is " to impart " to others, both the 
material and intellectual wealth, and he does this both generously and 
wisely. 

Mrs. Stoeckel, whom he married in Whitwell, Isle of Wight, 
England, in May, 1895, was Ellen Mills Battell, daughter of Bobbins 
Battell. Mr. and Mrs. Stoeckel have no children. 



GEORGE EDWIN SOMERS 



SOMEKS, GEOEGE EDWIN, ex-president of tke Bridgeport 
Brass Company and former state representative, one of Con- 
necticut's most progressive manufacturers and mechanics and a 
leading Mason and Republican of Bridgeport, Fairfield County, Con- 
necticut was bom in Newtown, same county and state, on January 
21st, 1833. He is a descendant of Henry Somers of New Haven, who 
lived from 1666 to 1720 and was among the early English settlers of 
New England. Mr. Somers' parents were Rufus and Esther Peck 
Somers. His father was a hat manufacturer by trade and occupied the 
office of grand juror for some time, while the mother was a woman of 
many virtues, which stimulated the best of impulses in her son's 
moral and intellectual life. 

Country life brought plenty of work to George E. Somers in 
early boyhood and developed a strong, healthy body and vigorous 
constitution. He learned to do all kinds of work outside of school 
hours and only part of the vacations could be devoted to his favorite 
pastimes, hunting and fishing. He availed himself of all the educa- 
tional advantages afforded by the district and private schools of New- 
town and read ancient and modern literature, philosophy and mechan- 
ics outside the schoolroom. He was particularly interested in study- 
ing the history of mechanical achievement and evinced unusual 
mechanical skill at an early age. 

At nineteen he entered the employ of the Naugatuck Machine 
Company, with whom he spent two years learning the machinist's 
trade. After two years in Naugatuck he spent two years at the same 
work in Waterbury and two in Ansonia. He then went to Providence 
and engaged in making tools used in the manufacture of silverware 
for the Gorham Manufacturing Company. This was in 1859 and he 
remained with the Gorham Company until 1863, when the outbreak 
of the Civil War caused him to change his occupation for a time. He 
went to Ansonia and engaged in the business of manufacturing cart- 
ridge shells for the Wallace & Sons Company. He was also a mem- 

211 



212 



t-"" 




- 






^ 


- - . - - 


- 




Z^r: 




S T 


r-.T -:: 


7»? i-i 










— - 


r: ' 




' 




- 














. 




._ . - 


- 






i— , 




L'. 


^i~ 


~ ' ' ~ ' 




T r. 


















V 




^ _ 




,j 




• v:r- 


. ' - • 


-" 
















- 




^ 




L 




- 




H 










- ; .:__- 


- 









1Z.1 i 



CtEOECtE M. CtUNN 

GUXX. GEOEGE M.,. lawyer. poKtician. educator, and hank 
presidenT. of Milford and Xew Haven. Xew Haven County, 
Connecticut, former judge of probate and many terms a 
member of the Connecticut General Assembly, which honor he holds 
at the present writing, is a natiTe of Milford, the date of his birth 
being August IQth, 1S51. His early ancestry is English, the family 
being founded in America by Jaspar Gunn, who came from England 
in 163 T. George Gunn's grandfather was a member of the General 
Assembly of Connecticut for many years and his father, Samuel 
Buckingham Gunn, served his fellow men in the same capacity in his 
own generatiom His wife, George Gunn's mother, was Caroline 
Elizabeth Stowe. The father was engaged in the general merchandise 
business at Milford where the son's youthful days were spent 

A thorough education was one of the great blessings of George 
M. Gunn's youth and early manhood. After leaving the public 
schools of his home town he prepared for college at General Eussell's 
famous military school in Xew Havem This course prepared bim for 
work in the academic department of Yale University, where he was 
graduated in 1ST4. As soon as he had obtained his academic degree 
he became a teacher in the Episcopal Academy of Connecticut at 
Cheshire. He taught there during the school years of 1875, 1876, 
and 1S77, and studied law in the meantime so that in 1ST8 he was 
graduated from Ysile Law School. 

Since 1878 Judge Gunn has practiced law at New Haveru His 
successful practice has been frequently interrupted by political duties 
and honors. He has also been greatly interested in finance and 
educatioiL Erom 1S72 to 1S76 he was an independent Eepublican in 
politics. He then voted the straight Democratic ticket until 1896 
since when he has been an independent Democrat. In ISSO. ISSl. 
1885, 1893, 1895, and 1907, he was elected state representative and in 
1882 and 1SS3 he was state senator. In 1884 and 1886 he was state 
auditor. Eor ten years he was judge of probate at Milford. He is 

213 



214 GEOEGE M. GUNN. 

president of the Milford Savings Bank and president of the Milford 
board of education. He is also a director in the Mechanics Bank, 
New Haven. 

The following clubs and societies have the name of George M. 
Gunn on their membership lists: The Quinnipiac Country and 
Graduates Clubs of New Haven, the Milford Club, the Hammonassett 
Fishing and Game Association in Connecticut, and the Metabetchovan 
Fish and Game Club of Canada as well as the Order of Masons and the 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

Judge Gunn's family consists of a wife and a daughter, Mar- 
jorie, bom in 1885. A son Jaspar, died at birth in 1883. Mrs. 
Gunn's maiden name was Harriet Cannon Fowler and they were 
married October 28th, 1882. The family spend most of their time 
at their country residence in Milford. 




In^.'^m^ 



(L^, 



CHARLES LUTHER SPENCER 

SPENCEE, CHAELES LUTHEE, banker and financier and 
president of the First National Bank of Suffield, Hartford 
County, Connecticut, was bom in that town on the eighth of 
January, 1860. He traces his ancestry in America from Thomas 
Spencer, who emigrated from Braintree, England, about 1638 and 
settled in Hartford, Connecticut, about 1640. Thomas Spencer, Jr., 
son of this original emigrant, was one of the pioneers of Suffield in 
1674, since which date the family has always been prominently asso- 
ciated with the affairs of that town. Mr. Spencer's father was Israel 
Luther Spencer, a banker, who served in both House and Senate in 
the Connecticut Legislature. He was an able financier and a man of 
soimd judgment. Mr. Spencer's mother was Julia Pease, a woman 
whose splendid character exerted a lasting influence for good upon 
her son's moral and spiritual life. 

The village of Suffield was Mr. Spencer's home throughout his 
boyhood and he received his education at the Connecticut Literary 
Institute in his native town. He was healthy and rugged and un- 
hampered by any serious disadvantages in the pursuit of an educa- 
tion. In 1878 he began his work in life as a packer and dealer in leaf 
tobacco in Sufiield. Some years later he became connected with the 
First National Bank, of which he has been president since 1898. 
Since 1898 he has also been a director and member of the Finance 
Committee of the Travelers' Insurance Company of Hartford and 
these two institutions have been the center of his business interests. 
In politics he has been a life-long adherent of the Eepublican party 
and in religious affiliations he is a Baptist. Socially he is a member 
of the Hartford Club and of the Masonic fraternity. On October 
12th, 1881, Mr. Sper^er married Florence T. Smith and their three 
children, Julia Florence, wife of E. S. Goldthwaite, Chas. Luther 
Spencer, Jr., and Lillian Clara, are all now living. Mr. and Mrs. 
Spencer have always made their home in the town of Suffield, which 
has been the family seat for so many years and which finds in Mr. 
Spencer one of its most honorable and useful citizens. 

217 



GEORGE AUSTIN FAY 

FAY, GEOEGE AUSTIN, one of the leading lawyers of the 
New Haven County Bar and a strong factor in contemporary 
life in Meriden, was born in the town of Marlboro, Massachu- 
setts, August 29th, 1838, and passed the early years of his life upon 
the home farm. His education was obtained in the common school 
and at the high school of his native town where he graduated. 

Mr. Pay's parents, George W. and Amanda Ward Fay, were de- 
scended from New Englanders whose ancestors were English people. 
The first American immigrant on the paternal side was bom in Eng- 
land in 1648. 

When he was twenty-one years of age George Fay left Marlboro 
and came to Meriden, where he has resided ever since. The future 
lawyer first entered a position where he combined the duties of a 
clerk in the office of the Adams Express Company with that of oper- 
ator in the Western Union Telegraph service. These positions were 
resigned two years later when the young man followed the bent of 
his inclination and entered the Law Department of Yale University, 
from which he was graduated with the degree of LL.B. in 1862. He 
entered the office of the late Hon. 0. H. Piatt, where he read law 
as an assistant, remaining a year; and in May, 1863, he was admitted 
to the Connecticut Bar as an attorney-at-law, which profession he has 
followed ever since. 

Mr. Fay was elected by the Eepublicans to the State Senate from 
the Sixth Senatorial District in 1871 and served as chairman of the 
Committee on Corporations and also as chairman of the Committee 
on Elections, which determined whether Hon. James E. English of 
New Haven or Hon. Marshall Jewell should be state governor. The 
contest had been an exciting one and Mr. English was elected; but 
an investigation was set on foot which resulted in the award of the 
office to Mr. Jewell. 

The heights that influential men reach are attained by sud- 
den flight, the poet tells us, and the prominence which attaches to 

218 



GEORGE AUSTIN FAT. 219 

Lawyer Fay's name is due to patient perseverance in a work where 
will and feeling both pull together, thereby concentrating the atten- 
tion and strengthening mental effort. Mr. Fa/s eminence as a lawyer 
received gratifying acknowledgment when the appointment as coimsel 
for the New York, Kew Haven & Hartford Kailroads was made, which 
position he holds up to present writing. He is also counsel for many 
large corporations, including the International Silver Co., First Na- 
tional Bank, Meriden Trust & Safe Deposit Co., and several other 
corporations, and having amassed a comfortable competency now gives 
but a portion of his time to the practice of his profession. 

About 1896 Mr. Fay formed a partnership with Judge W. L. 
Bennett, a resident of New Haven, and ever since the firm has main- 
tained offices in Meriden and New Haven. In 1905 Mr. Bennett 
was appointed judge of the Court of Common Pleas by Governor 
Roberts. Mr. Fay, who is the oldest member of the bar in Meriden, 
is a capable advocate of the public weal; he is careful of his con- 
stituents' interests and it may be truthfully said that his fearlessness 
has guided him safely through legal storms where a less intrepid 
lawyer would have compromised for policy's or expediency's sake. 

Although Mr. Fay is a member of Meridian Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M., of Meriden, he is connected with no other organizations. 

In 1865 Mr. Fay was married to Miss Jennie M. Curtis, daughter 
of Alfred P. Curtis, a lady of gentle manners and lovable character. 



GEORGE SYKES 



SYKES, GEORGE, whose recent death deprived Rockville, Con- 
necticut, of one of its leading mamifactnrers and most "aseful 
and prominent citizens, was a native of England, and was 
bom in Horlej, Yorkshire, England, on April 4th, 1840. He was 
the son of John and Harriet (Durrans) Sykes who came to America 
to live in 1851. His father was a skilled mechanic and woolen 
mantifacturer and his mother was a woman of great piety and 
strength of character. 

After receiving a common school education George Sykes 
entered his father's woolen mill, where he was employed in the card- 
ing room. He became a weaver, then a loom fixer and before he was 
twenty-one he was promoted to the position of overseer in the weav- 
ing room. After attaining his majority he left his father's employ 
to take charge of the weaving room in a mill in Cavendish, Vermont, 
and in 1864 he became superintendent of that mill. Two years later 
he settled in Eockville and became manager of the Hockanum Mill, 
buying up the Saxony Mill, the New England Manufacturing Com- 
pany and the Springville Manufacturing Company. He became 
president of the large company that resulted from this consolidation 
and developed the business until it became one of the foremost 
manufacturing industries in New England and indeed in this country. 
The Hockanum Company has received medals for the excellence of 
its products at all the expositions at home and abroad and has made 
the cloth for the inaugural suits of two presidents. It has a capital 
of about $800,000.00 and employs over eight hundred hands. Mr. 
Sykes spent all his time and energy in advancing the business 
and perfecting its products and crossed the Atlantic nineteen times 
in behalf of the best interests of his business. 

Mr. Sykes was a director in the Eockville National and Savings 
Banks, the Eockville Eailroad Company, and the Eockville Aqueduct 
Water Company. He was a member and at one time vice-president 
of the National Association of Woolen Manufacturers. In 1892 he 

220 



GEORGE STKES. 223 

was a presidential elector and he was a delegate to the Eepublican 
Convention in St. Louis in 1896. He was one of the Connecticut 
Commissioners at the Chicago Exposition in 1893. In politics he was 
a faithful Eepublican and in creed he was a Congregationalist. His 
favorite pastimes were reading and traveling. 

On September 2d, 1864, Mr. Sykes married Sarah A. Fitton, 
a native of ISTorthfield, Vermont, and of English parentage. Six chil- 
dren came of this union, five daughters and one son and all but one 
daughter survive. The son, George Edmund Sykes, is now secretary 
and general manager of the Hartford Pulp Plaster Corporation and 
is the subject of another sketch in this work. George Sykes died on 
December 23d, 1903, and his loss is keenly felt in business and 
social circles, for he was not only a capable and highly successful 
" captain of industry" but an honored and useful man. 



10 



GEORGE EDMUND SYKES 

SYKES, G'EOEGE EDMUND, secretary and general manager of 
the Hartford Pulp Plaster Corporation, one of Hartford's 
prominent young business and club men and a well-known 
resident of Eockville, was bom in Eockville, Tolland County, Con- 
necticut, June 4tli, 1880. His father was the late George Sykes, a 
native of England, president of the Hockanum Company and one 
of the foremost woolen manufacturers in New England, who was 
a prominent politician and at one time presidential elector. He was 
well known for his marked business ability and his prominence in 
industrial affairs. Mr. Sykes' mother was Sarah A. Fitton, a woman 
of powerful influence for good and of most admirable character. 

George Edmund Sykes was brought up in the village of Eockville 
and in a way that fitted him naturally for following his father's suc- 
cessful path in business life. He was healthy and strong and gifted 
with a mechanical turn of mind. He made a particular study of 
mathematics and deems it the best possible mental training. After a 
preparatory course at St. Paul's School, Concord, New Hampshire, 
he entered Yale University, where he received his B. A. degree in 1903. 
The following year, that is on April sixth, 1904, he married Bernice 
Deane Heath. 

It was in the humble capacity of wool sorter in the New England 
Mill at Eockville that Mr. Sykes began the active work of life. He 
was determmed to make a name in the world and that he is doing so 
is shown by his present position of secretary and general manager 
of the Hartford Pulp Plaster Corporation which he has held since 
May, 1905. He is also a director in the Universal Machine Screw 
Company of Hartford. He is a member of the Yale Club of New 
York, the Hartford Club, the Hartford Golf Club, the Farmington 
Country Club, the Automobile Club of America, and the Hartford 
Auto Club, in which he is chairman of the racing committee. In 
politics he is a Eepublican and in religious convictions a Congrega- 
tionalist. When at preparatory school he was chiefly interested in 

224 



GEOEGE EDMUND STKES. 227 

football for an outdoor recreation and at present he takes a great 
interest in automobiling, golf, and tennis. But three years have passed 
since Mr. Sykes left the academic for the business world and most of 
his real life work is yet to be recorded. His present breadth of inter- 
est and his highly responsible position, to which he was elected at the 
early age of twenty-five, predict future achievement that will prove 
him most worthily "his father's son.'' 



EDWARD HALE SEAES 

SEARS, EDWARD HALE, president of the Collins Company 
of Collinsville and Hartford, was born in Williamsburg, 
Hampshire County, Massachusetts, February 23rd, 1846. He 
is a descendant in the ninth generation of Elder Brewster of "May- 
flower" fame, and he is also a lineal descendant of Richard Sears who 
was a member of Plymouth Colony Court in 1662. Benjamin F. 
Sears, Mr. Sears's father, was a steel and tool manufacturer who 
moved to Collinsville, Connecticut, during his son's early boyhood, 
to become identified with the Collins Company. His wife, Mr. Sears's 
mother, was Rosetta Hale. 

Mr. Sears spent his boyhood in a village. He was a delicate boy, 
and spent much of his time in the study of art and the natural 
sciences rather than in out-of-door sports. He attended the Collins- 
ville High School, and was fitted for the scientific course at Yale 
under private tutoring, but entered the employ of the Collins Com- 
pany instead, upon the advice of its manager. He had already worked 
in a machine shop for two years, not for the sake of income, but 
because his father wished him to acquire practical knowledge and 
industrious habits. This early discipline has been of inestimable value 
to Mr. Sears ever since. 

In 1863 Mr. Sears began his real work in life as bookkeeper in the 
office of the Collins Company. His great aim was to master the 
business in all its branches and details. Rising step by step he became 
correspondent, traveler, assistant manager, and, finally in 1886, presi- 
dent and general manager of the company, which through the 
thorough business knowledge and great organizing ability of Mr. Sears 
and his predecessors has grown to be the largest edged tool works in 
the world. 

The corporation employs nearly a thousand men, has a capital of 

one million, a manufacturing area of over seventeen acres, and 

supplies every country in the world with tools that play an important 

part in the advance of civilization. The company is reputed for its 

228 



EDWAED HALE SEAES 231 

skilled workmansliip, the excellent quality of its products, and for 
its straight business policy, and this reputation is greatly due to the 
devoted study of iron and steel making and their uses that Mr. Sears 
has carried on both in America and abroad, and to his ability and 
personal -vrorth as "entrepreneur.'' 

Mr. Sears is a modest and quiet man of fe'U' words, but of positive 
ideas and great resourcefulness. He has always been a Eepublican, 
and was, in 1900-1901, a delegate from Canton, Connecticut, to the 
Constitutional Convention at Hartford. In religious affiliation Mr. 
Sears is a Congregationalist. He is a member of the Hartford Club 
and of the Hartford Golf Club. In 1868 he married Elizabeth Prince 
Ames of Princeton, Indiana. Of the three sons who have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Sears, one, David Lloyd, is now living. 

The influences of home and of contact with men in active life have 
been the most important elements in Mr. Sears's success in life. His 
career exemplifies the value of a thorough mastery of the work one 
would make a success. 



RANDOLPH HENRY CHANDLER 

CHANDLER, RANDOLPH HENRY, lawyer and public man, 
former state representative and senator and one of the fore- 
most members of the Windham County Bar, was bom in 
Thompson, Windham County, Connecticut, January 11th, 1853. 
The tracing of his family ancestry recalls some of the earliest and 
most prominent New England settlers and points back to William 
Chandler and his wife Annis who came from England in 1637 and 
settled in Roxbury, Massachusetts. Their son. Deacon John Chand- 
ler, became one of the planters of what is now Woodstock a,nd was 
deacon, selectman and moderator of town meetings. A later ancestor, 
Joseph Chandler (3), was first sergeant of the First 11th Connecti- 
cut Militia at New Haven in 1776. Mr. Chandler's father was Hon. 
William Henry Chandler, a graduate of Yale, class of 1839, a farmer 
and finEincier and one of the most successful and influential men in 
Eastern Connecticut, who was at different times state senator, repre- 
sentative, and justice of the peace. His wife, Mr. Chandler's mother, 
was Martha Helen Allen and through her Mr. Chandler traces an 
equally interesting ancestral line, beginning with Captain Nathaniel 
Allen of London, England, a sea farer who came to Boston in 1757 
and later became a settler of Shrewbury, Massachusetts. Captain 
Thomas Allen, grandson of Captain Nathaniel Allen, kept a public 
house in New London during the Revolution, which was regarded as 
the center of good living and commercial brotherhood in that com- 
munity. 

Randolph Henry Chandler spent his boyhood in the country and 
at an early age entered Phillip's Academy at Andover, Massachusetts, 
from which he graduated with high honors. He also attended the 
Highland Military Academy at Worcester, Massachusetts, and upon 
leaving school he devoted himself to the study of law. He learned 
the legal profession with the Hon. Charles E. Searles of Putnam, 
Connecticut, and was admitted to the Windham County Bar, May 
15th, 1879. He entered immediately upon the practice of law in 

232 



RANDOLPH HENRY CHANDLER, 233 

Putnam and continued that practice for ten years, at the end of 
which, in 1899, he retired from active work. Both during the period 
of liis professional activity and since that time he has filled a number 
of responsible public offices with marked ability. In 1879, in 1880, 
and in 1891 he was elected to represent his fellow townsmen in the 
State Assembly. In 1895 he was state senator from the sixteenth 
district and during his term of office was the efficient chairman of 
the Committee of Humane Institutions. While he was senator he 
made several eloquent speeches, one of which, concerning the pro- 
posed amendment to the State Constitution, created wide-spread in- 
terest. He was the ardent champion of the small towns and fought 
their cause in a masterly manner that " carried the house by storm." 
In 1901 Mr. Chandler was chosen a member of the Constitutional 
Convention, which convened January 1st, 1902. In every public 
office that he has held Mr. Chandler has made the most of the op- 
portunity of serving the people and he has rendered valuable service 
to the Senate and House in deliberations over general legislation. In 
politics he has never deviated from the principles of the Republican 
party and has always been one of the strongest leaders of his party. 

Fraternally Mr. Chandler is connected with Cornerstone Lodge, 
F. and A. M., of Thompson. His ancestry entitles him to mem- 
bership in the Connecticut Society of Sons of the Revolution, of which 
he is a member of high standing. He is a great lover of rural life 
and was formerly interested in all athletic sports. Mr. Chandler was 
married December 23d, 1886, to Isadore E. Aldrich. They have one 
son, Randolph Henry Chandler, born March 27th, 1890. 

The opinions of a man who has achieved both professional and 
political success and stands forth as an able lawyer and a faithful, un- 
selfish and capable public man are doubly valuable and pertinent. 
Mr. Chandler speaks with conviction bom of practical experience 
when he says to those seeking the secret of success, " Make the most of 
time and be temperate in all things." 



WILLIAM HENRY STEVENSON 

STEVENSON, WILLIAM HEXEY, late railroad president, 
colonel of militia, politician and musician, of Bridgeport, 
Fairlield Coimty, Connecticut, was bom in that city April 
29th, 1S47, and died there February ITth, 1901. His ancestors were 
English and Scotch and settled in the early colonial days in West- 
port, Xonvalk and Stxatford. Connecticut. He was the son of strong- 
minded, estimable parents. His fatlier was William Gorham Steven- 
son, a merchant who was Alderman of Bridgeport for many years and 
Treasurer of the local Lodge of Odd Fellows for over twenty years. 
His mother was Lucinda Thompson Stevenson. 

The same activity and industry which made his mature life so 
full of achievement characterized William Henry Stevenson in boy- 
hood, and his great energ}- was exercised along mental as well as phys- 
ical lines. He read history and biography with great zeal and took 
special interest in the lives of men in the railroad world and in mili- 
tary history. He receiveil his education at Eastman's National Busi- 
ness College in Poughkeepsie, New York, where he was graduated in 
1S64 with the degree of Master of Accoimts. After leaving East- 
man's at the age of seventeen he became a clerk in the office of the 
Housatonic Eailroad in Bridgeport., and while there employed he 
devoted his spare time to the study of telegraphy and stenography. 
His diligence and ability won him speedy promotion and in IST. he 
became special agent of the New York, New Haven, and Hartford 
Eailroad. In 1S74 he was made pa^^uaste^ of the New York Central 
Eailroad and later in that same year superintendent of the Shore Line 
Division of the New York, New Haven and Hartford Eailroad. In 
ISS'3 he was promoted to the position of superintendent of the New 
York, New Haven and Hartford Eailroad. Meanwhile he had stiulied 
law with the vice-president of that road and had been admitted to 
the Connecticut Bar in 1878. For two successive years (1885-6) 
he was President of the Association of American Eailroad Superin- 
tendents. In the •* Parallel Eailroad " contest in 1SS9, Colonel 

234 



WILLIAM HENRY STEVENSON, 237 

Stevenson was placed at the head of the sjTidicate of Xew York mil- 
lionaires who aimed to establish an independent through railroad in 
Connecticut, and were beaten in the Legislature by a few votes only. 

In 1888 and for the five subsequent years Col. Stevenson was 
vice-president and general manager of the Housatonic Railroad, 
president of the 'Nevr Haven and Derby Eailroad, manager and di- 
rector of the Danbury and Xorwalk Eailroad, director of the Xew 
York and Xew England Eailroad, president of the Xew York, Rut- 
land and Montreal Railroad, and vice-president and manager of the 
Shepaug, Litchfield and Xorthem Railroad. These roads were com- 
bined under a syndicate which planned to have an independent line 
from New York to Boston, and from New York, Bridgeport and New 
Haven to Montreal and Canadian cities. In the first year of his con- 
nection with this sjTidicate, Col. Stevenson built the " Derby Exten- 
sion" railroad from Derby to a junction with the Housatonic Rail- 
road at Botsford Station, thus gaining a new and independent route 
from Xew Haven to the "West. In 1892 all of these railroads, except 
the New York, Rutland and Montreal Railroad, passed over to the 
control of the Consolidated Railroad, for they had been developed 
under Col. Stevenson's capable management into such strong and 
effective service and prosperous financial condition that the Consoli- 
dated found them necessary to their own system. The Rutland Road 
became a part of the New York Central Lines. 

At the time of his early death in vigorous manhood. Colonel 
Stevenson was engaged in building a railroad through the Central 
part of Ohio, from Columbus south. 

Next to the railroad business Col. Stevenson's chief interests 
were in military, political, fraternal, and musical affairs. He served 
as captain in the Connecticut National Guard from 18T9 to 1884, as 
Major from 1884 to 1885 and as Colonel on Gov. Waller's military- 
staff in 1885. He was also a member of the " Old Guard " Veteran 
Battalion of New York. 

The part which the Colonel played in state and city politics was 
prominent and distinguished. In 1877, when only thirty years of age, 
he was nominated for State Representative by the Democrats, but was 
defeated by the great showman, P. T. Bamum. For four years he was 
alderman of Bridgeport and for many years he was a member of the 
Democratic State Central Committee. In 1881, when he was thirtv- 



238 WILLIAM HENRY STEVENSON. 

three years old, he was the Democratic nominee for mayor, but that 
party lost the election. In 1884 he was president of the Young Men's 
Cleveland and Hendricks Club. For many years he was a member of 
the Board of Park Commissioners of Bridgeport, the " Park City." 
In 1890 he was prominently mentioned as candidate for governor but 
was too busy with railroad affairs to allow the use of his name in 
nomination. 

The Colonel was a member of many prominent clubs of Bridge- 
port, New Haven, and New York and was most active in Odd Fellow- 
ship and in Masonic matters. He was a thirty-second degree Mason, 
a Mystic Shriner, a Eedman, First Exalted Euler of the Elks of 
Bridgeport, Grand-Master of Connecticut Grand Lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows 1884, Grand Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge 
I. 0. 0. F. of the World in 1885 and Grand Marshal of that body 
in 1886, in which year he was also Colonel on the staff of General 
Underwood, commanding the Patriarchs Militant of the World. 

In the musical world Col. Stevenson is well known as the com- 
poser of many musical pieces of established merit and popularity as 
well as the leader of " Stevenson's Military Band." He was a 
brilliant and skillful pianist and always considered music the ideal 
pastime. 

In creed Col. Stevenson was an Episcopalian. For many years 
he was vestryman of St. John's Episcopal Church of Bridgeport and 
a generous supporter and active worker in that church. As a result 
of his religious belief and great practical experience he was abundantly 
able to advise young men whom he always taught to cultivate '' in- 
dustry, persistence, hard work and courage." 

Col. Stevenson is survived by a wife and two children, though 
five were bom to him. Mrs. Stevenson's maiden name was Mary 
Hough Shelton when he married her in 1869. The surviving chil- 
dren are Judge Henry C. Stevenson and Miss Mary Bell Stevenson 
of Bridgeport. 



ROBERT RUSSELL STANNARD 

STANNAED, EGBERT EUSSELL, late president of the Blake 
and Johnson Company, machinery manufacturers, of Water- 
bury, and a man of prominence in social, religious and public 
affairs in that city, was born in Clinton, Connecticut, April 25th, 
1847, and died in Waterbury on January 4th, 1906. His parents 
were Eussell and Julia Eoberts Stannard, the former being a farmer 
and a representative to the state legislature in 1859. Mr. Stannard's 
earliest ancestor in America was John Stannard who came from 
Staffordshire, England, to Newburyport, Massachusetts, in 1640, and 
afterwards joined the Saybrook Colony. 

Country life on his father's farm was Eobert E. Stannard's 
wholesome experience in boyhood. He obtained his early education 
at the district school and the academy in Clinton and supplemented 
these preliminary studies by courses at the Hudson Eiver Institute at 
Claverack, IST. Y., and at a business college in New Haven. It was 
in New Haven, too, that he found his first employment in the 
mercantile business where he entered the employ of T. P. Merwin & 
Company, dry goods dealers, in 1866. He filled the double position of 
bookkeeper and cashier and retained it for three years. 

In 1869 Mr. Stannard left New Haven and came to Waterbury 
to take the position of bookkeeper with Blake and Johnson, builders 
of machinery, piano and organ hardware, screws, rivets and so forth. 
His entire subsequent life was devoted to the interests of that concern 
which he served in various official capacities, leading up to the presi- 
dency, which he held at the time of his death. He was elected secre- 
tary in 1873, treasurer in 1894, and president in 1899. 

His great success and prominence in business is but one of the 
many claims to honor and distinction for which Mr. Stannard is 
remembered. In his public spirit, his philanthropy, his clean, loyal 
politics and his earnest church work are seen the abundant fruits 
of his noble character, which was as strong and admirable as his 
great business ability. He took a lively and constant interest in 

241 



242 EOBEET RUSSELL STANNAED. 

politics and was a staimch adherent of the Eepubliean party, which 
often sought him for official positions, which he always saw fit to 
decline. He was urged to accept the nomination for mayor a number 
of times, but declined on each occasion. He was a member of the 
First Congregational Church of Waterbury for over thirty years, he 
was clerk of that church for nineteen years, treasurer of its society 
for seven years, and deacon for the ten years preceding his death. 
Even when an active interest in church affairs involved great per- 
sonal sacrifice he was an imstinting church worker and the time and 
energy which he devoted to his church are a matter of local history. 
His broad and sensible charities were dispensed in a brotherly dis- 
regard of either sect or nationality. The greatest of his gifts was the 
unconscious example of a character, the comer-stones of which were 
integrity and sincerity. His word was most truly " as good as his 
bond," and his estimate of the value of the services of others was both 
just and generous. Though modest and retiring and prone to keep 
self in the background he was conspicuous in his city for his honorable 
and capable business relations, and for his cheerful readiness to help 
good causes and befriend the great circle of fellow beings with whom 
he came in contact in all walks of life, and who honored him not 
only for his strength of character and business sagacity, but for his 
geniality, good humor, democratic impartiality and practical Chris- 
tianity. 

Mr. Stannard was a member of the Waterbury Club and the 
Home Club of Waterbury. He was eligible for membership in the 
Society of the Sons of the American Eevolution, but though his 
application for membership to that society was on file among his 
papers at the time of his death it had not been sent to Washington. 
His death on January 4th, 1906, was sudden in the extreme, as he 
had retired the night before in his usual robust health. He is sur- 
vived by a wife, Martha Elizabeth Bryan, daughter of Edward Bryan 
of New Haven, whom he married in 1874, and by a daughter, Grace 
Bryan, now the wife of Eobert P. Lewis of Waterbury. 



GEORGE OTTO SCHNELLER 

SCHNELLER, GEOEGE OTTO, late manufacturer, educator, 
member of legislature and inventor of Ansonia, New Haven 
County, Connecticut, was a native of Germany. He was bom 
in Nuremberg, Germany, June 14th, 1843, and died in Ansonia 
on October 20th, 1895. His grandfather and his father, Henry 
Schneller, were government civil engineers and architects in Germany 
and his mother was Elizabeth Schneller. George was educated in 
private schools and in the Gymnasium of Nuremburg and received 
a thorough training for the calling of civil engineer. Although a 
fine career was thus open to him in his own country he wished greater 
and broader opportunities, and felt that these were afforded in the 
new world. 

With characteristic self-reliance and ambition George Schneller 
came to America in early manhood without influence, friends or 
capital, but with the determination to make his way. His first em- 
ployment was in the New York offices of the Osborne and Cheese- 
man Company, for whom he worked as accountant. He was soon 
transferred to the Ansonia office. In 1870 he returned to Germany 
and upon his return two years later he resumed his identity with 
the manufacturing industry of Ansonia. Soon after his return he 
surveyed Ansonia and made a perfect map of the city according 
to the German system. In 1874 he went West but as he found no 
place better suited to manufacturing than the Naugatuck Valley, he 
again returned to Ansonia and in 1876 he purchased a spectacle 
factory in that town. Finding the machinery crude and imperfect, 
he bent his energies to improving it and the success he attained 
evinced his inventive genius and enabled him to sell out his factory 
within six months at three times the price he had paid for it. He 
then turned his attention to the manufacture of eyelets in the interests 
of Major Osborne of Osborne and Cheeseman, and succeeded in per- 
fecting and patenting an eyelet machine which revolutionized the 
eyelet industry throughout the world. His machine turned out 
ninety pounds of eyelets to the hundred at the rate of sixty thousand 

245 



24& SEOEGE OTTO SCBJJTFT.T.-ETS,. 

a miinite. He organized the Sdmeller, Osbonie and Cheeseman Com- 
pany -which in 1882 bought a large tract of land from the AnBonia 
Land and Water Power Company. This company, through. Mr. 
Schneller£ machineE and their patents, soon controlled the eyelet 
biifiinesB in the United States and Enjope. Mr. Schneller also im- 
proved the machinery used in the mamifacture of corset stays and 
founded th.e Schneller Stay Works. After the death of George W. 
Cheeseman, iiie president, Mr. Schneller became interested in the 
original company of Osborne and Cheeseman. He promoted the or- 
ganization of the Ansonia Osborne &: Cheeseman Company and be- 
came its secretary and treasiiTer. He organized the Union Fabric 
Company and was its treasurer for many years. He was also presi- 
derit of the Birmingham Brass Company and a director in many local 
enterprises. 

Mr. Schneller was a most loyal and public-spirited citizen of his 
adopted country and was intensely interested in the gro\irth and 
welfare of Ansonia. He was a Democrat in politics and represented 
his town in the state legislature from 1891 to 1893. He was a firm 
believer in the importance and value of public education and in the 
necessity for its capable and intelligent administration. As a mem- 
ber of the board of education he was most conscientious and zealous 
in improving the schools and in solving all possible educational prob- 
lems. He was never too busy to give the benefit of his rare judgment 
and foresight to any and all public matters. 

He is survived by a wife, Clarissa Ailing, whom he married in 
Ansonia in May, 1873, and by two children, Elizabeth A. and 
George 0. Four other children were bom to Mr. and Mrs. Schneller 
but died before their father. The oldest daughter, Maria Eloise, was 
a most brilliant scholar and died in 1891, a few months before she was 
to have graduated from High School as valedictorian- 
Mr. Schneller is remembered as a man of great genius, wonderful 
business ability and activity and forceful character. He was modest, 
simple and sincere, a man of few words and large deeds, who made 
each day count in many fruitful, unselfish activities and whose 
courtesy, charity, public spirit and int^rity won great esteem. 




.rrr^^^O^^/-?^ Sw^Ay^^^-^-^^ 



DAVID TRUBEE 

TETJBEE, DAVID, bank president and merchant of Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, and one of the active and influential residents of 
that city, was born in the town of Fairfield, Fairfield County, 
Connecticut, September 25th, 1825, and is the Son of Samuel Com- 
fort and Elizabeth (Curtiss) Trubee. 

His father was a master builder and a man greatly admired for 
his uprightness, integrity, and earnest piety. Through him, David 
Trubee is descended from Andris Trubee, who came from Holland 
and settled in Fairfield in the early part of the eighteenth century. 
Mr. Trubee's mother was a woman of pure and noble character whose 
influence was especially strong in inculcating in him the highest stand- 
ard of true living. Through her he traces his line of descent from 
John Curtiss, who came from England and settled in Stratford, where 
he was made a freeman in 1658, and from Joseph Curtiss, who was 
judge of the County Court, state senator, and town clerk. 

Mr. Trubee is also a descendant of Governor Thomas Wells of 
Connecticut, who came from England to Wethersfield in 1636 and 
was chosen magistrate of the Connecticut Colony in 1637, which 
office he held until his death, a period of twenty-two years. The coat 
of arms of Mr. Trubee's maternal ancestor was confirmed to John 
Curtiss of London, Gentleman, May 9th, 1632. 

The home life of the Trubee family during David Trubee's early 
days was most simple, wholesome and inspiring. His mental prepara- 
tion for his busy and useful life was carried on at the district school 
and the Fairfield Academy. 

His dearest wish was to become a ship-builder, but upon the ad- 
vice of his parents, whose precepts were ever the dominating in- 
fluence of his life, he entered upon a mercantile career in 1839, as 
clerk in Daniel Sterling's wholesale grocery store in Bridgeport. This 
was his first work, entered upon at the early age of fifteen and con- 
tinued for seven years. 

He then accepted a position as clerk in the wholesale grocery house 

249 



250 DAVID TRDBEE. 

of Mortford & Trubee, the junior member of the firm being Mr. Tni- 
bee's eldest brother, Samuel. The business of the firm increased 
rapidly and David Trubee became the firm's commercial traveler. 
Within three years from the time he entered the employ of the firm, 
he was chosen junior member and two years later, when his brother 
retired, the firm name was continued imtil 1881, when the partnership 
was dissolved and Mr. Trubee became senior member of the equally 
large and successful grocery house, David Trubee & Company. The 
trade of the house is large and extends to all parts of New England, 
and Mr. Trubee is still senior member of the firm. 

In addition to his extensive mercantile interests, Mr. Trubee has 
always been connected with the leading financial and social institutions 
of Bridgeport. Since January 13th, 1885, he has been president of the 
Pequonnock National Bank, and is also a director of the Consolidated 
Rolling Stock Company of Bridgeport. He was one of the founders of 
the Seaside Club and is a member of the Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion, the Bridgeport Yacht Club, and the Royal Order of Masons. He 
has always voted the Republican ticket, though he has never held office. 
His religious views are those of the Presbyterian creed. Mr. Trubee 
is fond of golf and driving, but his favorite way of spending the 
hours free from business is in enjoying his home. His wife is Susan 
Gifford Doane Trubee, who came from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and 
whom he married in December, 1846. She is a descendant of Lord 
de Gifford, one of Richard Cceur de Lion's Crusaders. 

Mr. Trubee, beginning as a grocery clerk, is now at the head of 
one of the large wholesale grocery houses and of one of the prosperous 
banks of the State. 

This advance in life has been achieved through the persistent 
striving after sound ideals, which are, in his own words : " Integrity, 
honesty, and never watching the clock." 



JAMES TERRY 

TBKRY, JAMES, was bom in Terryville, town of Plymouth 
Litchfield County, Connecticut, August 5th, 1844, the eldest 
son of James and Elizabeth Miles (Hollister) Terry, his 
father being the leading manufacturer of the viUage. 

Eli Terry, his great grandfather, was the first of the name to 
come to Plymouth where he commenced the manufacture of clocks, 
which was destined through his genius and mechanical skill to become 
one of the leading industries of this country, having been completely 
revolutionized by his inventions, and made an industry of what had 
before been only individual effort. His greatest and most notable 
achievement was the introduction of "Mean-time" in this country, 
through the medium of the "Town Clock" which he made for the 
city of New Haven. The change to " Mean-time " was the cause ot a 
very spirited controversy. He succeeded, however, in overcoming the 
preiudices of the Yale professors and the pubHc, and they submitted 
to the innovation for which Mr. Terry had so strenuously contended. 
He proceeded to incorporate it in his timepieces, and "Mean-time 
became an established fact. This placed him preemment as a public 
benefactor and inventor, for it is of absolute necessity m the running 
of steam and electric roads, of banks and industries requinng precise 
time and will always be of personal importance to every individual. 
He was the first person to undertake the manufacture of five hundred 
or five thousand clocks in the world, He died in 1852. 

His son, Eli Terry, 3d, for whom Terryville was named, was a 
worthy successor to his father in the clock business, but died at the 
early age of forty-two. His son, James Terry, was one of the pioneer 
silk manufacturers of this country, but subsequently took up the manu- 
facture of locks and formed the Eagle Lock Company. He became 
its first president and remained so until he retired from active busi- 
ness life; during his administration it paid the largest per cent, m 
dividends probably of any corporation in the State. 

James Terry, 2d, prepared for entrance to Yale CoUege at Deacon 
Edward L. Harf s school in Farmington, Connecticut, but the breaking 
11 353 



254 JAMES TERRY. 

out of the Civil War and the attractions of border state life, particu- 
larly the struggles of "Bleeding Kansas," induced him to change 
his course and become a stock raiser on the plains, where his father 
owned thirty thousand head of sheep and five thousand head of cattle. 
At that time there was not a mile of railroad west of the Missouri 
Eiver, the western terminus of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Eailroad 
being at the latter place. Trains of " prairie schooners " drawn by 
cattle, taking up freight from there for " Pike's Peak or bust " pro- 
vided a market which was supplied from their herd of cattle. 

One year of that strenuous life satisfied Mr. Terry and he re- 
turned to Terryville and entered the executive department of the 
Eagle Lock Company, his father being the founder and president of 
that company. Upon the resignation of his father Mr. Terry was 
elected secretary and treasurer, and remained in that position for 
several years, when the sudden death of the then acting president 
placed all the executive duties of this large corporation upon his 
young shoulders. In this position he was extremely successful, but 
the yearning for scientific research and development and antiquarian 
pursuit, which had been slumbering with only occasional opportunity 
for gratification, took definite form, and he severed his connection 
with the industry and corporation which his family had founded, 
and took up a line of anthropological research to which he devoted 
twenty-five years of investigation and study. In his indefatigable 
researches for prehistoric man, Mr. Terry has visited every one of the 
forty-five states and territories twice, and most of them many times, 
and has coursed down all the rivers of note within the boundaries of 
the states, the rivers constituting the highways of the primitive races, 
opening the tumuli, mounds, stone cists, and graves of the Pre- 
Columbian races, — those in California alone comprising upwards of 
twelve thousand burials. The years 1881-2 were spent in this special 
research, traveling from the Mexican border to Portland, Oregon, by 
private conveyance. It was during this trip that he found the re- 
markable boulder of jade described by him in Science, and which 
has an important bearing upon the migration of man. This boulder 
was surreptitiously taken from Mr. Terry by the Museum authorities 
at Central Park, New York, and concealed by them during four years 
of litigation in the United States courts, and then brought out and 
exhibited by them (imknown to Mr. Terry) for eight years, after 



JAMES TERET. 255 

which, upon a short and severe correspondence, it was restored to 
him by the Museum authorities, and now rests in his possession. 

It was in this year, 1882, that Mr. Terry made his initial trip 
to Alaska, accompanied by Mrs. Terry, who had been with him from 
the Mexican border, and which made her the first lady tourist to 
that hitherto unknown territory. Prior to this time his collections 
and researches had outgrown the bounds of private rank, and having 
reached the attention of the trustees of the American Museum of 
Natural History at Central Park, New York, they sought him out and 
offered him flattering inducements to bring his material there for 
arrangement and study, and to continue his field work from that 
central point. In 1879 he took his entire collection and library to 
that institution and entered upon archseologic and ethnologic research 
with a zeal second to none. He made many trips to the Pacific Coast, 
and fitted out expeditions to the Santa Barbara group of islands, 
and into the mountains and plains of that section ; was paddled down 
the Columbia River twice by the Indians for upwards of six hundred 
miles each time; delved into those mysterious remains contained in 
the rubble rock of the Lewis fork of the Columbia River which baffle 
unraveling. His investigations in the ancient ruined Pueblos and cliff 
dwellings of Few Mexico, Arizona and Utah were productive of inter- 
esting and scientific results. Trips of over five himdred miles each 
down the Tennessee and Cumberland Rivers, and the opening of sev- 
eral hundred stone cists in the contiguous country produced new 
and hitherto unknown material. Upon the Long Sault Island in the 
river St. Lawrence, he found and opened mounds which constituted 
the geographical limits both north and east of the so-called mound 
race. 

Having spent upwards of one hundred thousand dollars upon 
this particular line of research and over twenty years of time, an 
aggregate not approached by any other American investigator, he 
felt that it was time for some public institution to assume the financial 
burden which he had carried for so many years; years filled with 
love for, and a sincere desire to develop a subject comparatively 
unknown to scientists of this country, 

Mr. Terry became associated with the American Museum of 
Natural History during its early struggles before the museum had a 
dollar of endowment, the meagre membership and scanty income 



256 JAMES TEEET. 

restricting it and ma-king impossible that marvelous growth and 
development which has taken place in the last decade. He con- 
tributed freely by time and collections ("which he had made in his 
extended field service), to other departments of science in the insfc- 
tution, to paleontology, and mineralogy, and carried the scope and 
wants of this mnsenm to na.tnralists and scientists throughout this 
broad land. In 1891, twelve years after the commencement of his 
connection with the museiim. he disposed of his great collection to 
the mnsetun for less than one-half the cost, and assumed charge of the 
anthropological department. Through the neglect of the former 
curator in this department, the collections were in a deplorable state ; 
catalognes were placed in Mr. Terrrs hands containing lists of 
numbered specimens, himdreds of which could not be f oxcnd. A special 
committee was appointed which sustained Mr. Terry and fonnd the 
facts as reported by him. As the former curator had become a member 
of the board of trustees, his power and inflnence were exerted to 
neutralize and condone his own shortcomings in a manner not honora- 
ble or satisfactory to Mr. Terry, and causing a personal clash with 
the president of the mnsenm, wMeh resulted in Mr. Terry leaving 
the institution in 1894, and bringing suit for the balance of payment 
on the collection, and another suit for the recovery of the jade boulder 
wMeh was taken from him when leaving the museiun, (The sequel 
to this last suit has already been told in this sketch. ) 

Tot the past twelve years Mr. Terry has been engaged upon a line 
of original research relating to first libraries of the original thirteen 
states comprising semi-public, public, and private libraries, bringing 
the work down to about 1850. In the execution of this work he has 
examined hundreds of thousandfi of volumes in the libraries of Yale 
University, Wesleyan. Trinity. Amherst, Brown, Dartmouth. Bowdoin, 
Bates, Colby and WiBiams CoUeges, State Historical Societies, State 
libraries. Theological Seminaries, and a very large number of town 
and city as well as private libraries. He has established the fact of a 
public library in every one of the 168 towns of Connecticut prior to 
1825. His collection of " Ex Hbris," numbering over eight thousand 
specimens, which he uses as an index catalogue of his library work, 
contains thousands of titles of books used in these early libraries; 
•maki-ng it a table of reference to the early literature of our country, 
which must have wielded great force in forming character and 



JAMES TERRY. 257 

opinion. He has published several papers on his scientific and library 
researches by private issue, which have been freely distributed to 
public libraries, societies and specialists all over the world, notably 
his monograph on " Sculptured Anthropoid Ape Heads " of Oregon, 
which was most favorably reviewed by European scientists and won 
a medal at the Madrid Exposition of 1892. He is a life member of 
the Kew York Academy of Sciences, American Museum of Natural 
History, and Connecticut Historical Society, member of American 
Historical Society, National Geographic Society, London Ex Libris 
Society, and of the Society of Mayflower Descendants, through Gov- 
ernor Bradford of Plymouth Colony. Although eligible to other 
patriotic societies, s^^ch as the Colonial Wars, Sons of the Eevolution, 
he feels that they have been las in their original conception and 
purposes and is content to remain with the fundamental society. 
How confirmed old bachelors and old maids, childless old widows, 
and unfruitful married couples, themselves living examples of most 
worthy sires, can associate themselves by membership with these 
societies, without offering a descendant to maintain and perpetuate 
the very existence of these societies, is beyond his comprehension. 
He is a member of the Hartford Club, the Quinnipiac Club of New 
Haven, and the Country Club of Farmington. He still continues his 
membership with the Congregational Church in Terryville with which 
he united in his youth. 

Mr. Terry's married life has been a singularly happy one. He 
has one child, a daughter, Mira Elizabeth. His wife, Elmira Sedg- 
wick Terry, is the daughter of Porter and Sarah A. Sanford of 
Terryville, Connecticut. She is a member of the Mayflower Society 
through descent from Governor Bradford. She has accompanied him 
through all the states and territories in much of his scientific work, 
and given great aid and encouragement to his life efforts by her 
scholarly attainments and sweet disposition. Mr. Terry says, " Our 
fathers were associated in business. We were bom in the same village, 
rocked in the same cradle, reared side by side; she is the wife of 
my childhood, my boyhood, my Manhood ! purest and highest type 
of a Christian mother, I honor her. Devotee! I love her, with all 
the strength, with all the soul of human love." 



CARLOS FRENCH 

FRENCH, CAELOS, late manufacturer, ex-congressman and 
public man, of Seymour, New Haven County, Connecticut, 
who was president and treasurer of the Fowler Nail Company 
and a le^dei- in the industrial, social, educational and civic life of the 
busy little town of Seymour, was born in that town August 6th, 1835, 
at which time the place was called Hmnphreysville. He is of Eng- 
lish ancestry, dating for its establishment in America to William 
Fi'ench, who came from Essex, England, to Massachusetts in 1635. 
William French was the author of tJie famous tract entitled 
" Strength Out of Weakness " and was prominent in the public 
offices of his day. Mr. French's parents were Raymond and Olive 
Curtis French. His father was a well-known manufacturer of augers 
and bits, and was one of the pioneer captains of industry in Seymour. 
He went abroad to learn the processes necessary to his industry and 
established one of the strongest }ilants in the Naugatuck Valley. 
He was a man of great public spirit and organizing ability and was 
instrumental in starting the local schools, bank and library. The 
concern which he superintended was known as the Humphreysville 
]^Ianufactiu"ing Company. 

The public schools of Seymour and Russell's Military School in 
New Haven furnished Carlos French's early education. As a boy he 
was energetic and ambitious and evinced unusual skill and inventive- 
ness as a mechanic. In early manhood he invented some corrugated 
car springs which succeeded in lessening the jolting of mi I road 
traveling to a considerable extent. 

As soon as he was ready to go into business Mr. French became 
identified with the Fowler Nail Company of Seymour, of which he 
became president and treasurer in 1869. He held this office until 
his death, April 15, 1903, and was also actively interested in other 
local manufacturing companies. He was vice-president of the H. A. 
Matthews Manufacturing Company. In 1893 he was the chief 
organizer of the Arethusa Spring Water Company of Sevmour. Mr. 

258 



CARLOS FRENCH. 



261 



French was a director of the Union Horse Nail Company of Chicago, 
111., of the Second National Bank of New Haven, of the Colonial 
Trust Company of Waterbury, and of the New York, New Haven and 
Hartford Railroad Company. 

In politics Mr. French was a staunch and prominent democrat 
and he held many offices with great credit and efficiency. In 1860 
and again in 1868 he represented Seymour in the State Legislature, 
and in 1888 he was elected to the fiftieth congress. He was also a 
member of the Democratic National Committee. While holding 
office he served on the Committees on Invalid Pensions, on Claims, 
and on Labor. 

Mr. French was esteemed locally for his energy and generosit}^ 

in promoting all movements for the public welfare. He served on 
the building committee for the SejTiiour High School, was one of the 

organizers of the local fire department and by his gift of land and 

his great interest and zeal he made the SejTUOur Park a sightly and 

beneficial piece of public property. 

In 1863 Mr. French married Julia H. Thompson of Seymour 

and two children were bom to him, Carlotta, born in 1868, died in 

1890, and Raymond T., bom in 1864, who married in 1891 Alice R. 

Hayden of Columbus, Ohio, and to whom the following children 

have been born, Carlos H., Raymond L., William G., and who makes 

his home, as his father did, in Seymour. 

Mr. Carlos French was a member of the Quinnipiac Club of 

New Haven, the Manhattan Club and the Transportation Club of 

New York. 

He died AprH 15, 1903. 



DAVID MCNAMARY READ 

READ, DAVID McNAMARY, late manufacturer, merchant 
and public man of Bridgeport, who held high place in bank- 
ing, legislative, military and political affairs as well as in 
industrial life, was bom in Hoosac Falls, New York, October 12th, 
1832, and died at Bridgeport on December 5th, 1893. He was 
perhaps best known as president of The D. M. Eead Company and 
of The Read Carpet Company and as the president of the Bridge- 
port Board of Trade. He was a lineal descendant of Col. Thomas 
Read, who came to America in the great fleet in 1630 and settled in 
Salem, Massachusetts. This Col. Read was the son of Sir Thomas 
and Mary Comwell of Brocket Hall in Hertfordshire, England. 
The line of descent was through Thomas to Jacob, to Jonathan, to 
John, to David, to Moses Famam Read, the father of David M. 
Read. Mr. Read's mother was Sally Hopkins Read. 

As he was brought up in the country David M. Read spent his 
boyhood days in occupations tliat were wholesome and profitable and 
peculiar to New England's most typical sons of that period. He was 
educated at Drury Academy in North Adams, Massachusetts. In 
1847 he left school and became clerk in a village store in Williams- 
town, Massachusetts, and afterwards performed similar duties in 
Stockbridge and Ticnox. His success encouraged him to devote his 
life to the mercantile and manufacturing business and he subse- 
quently settled in Bridgeport for that purpose. 

In 1857 the mercantile firm of Hall and Read was formed, 
succeeded in 1877 to 1884 by David M. Read, which was also suc- 
ceeded in 1884 by The D. M. Read Company with Mr. Read as 
president, which office he held until his death. In 1868 The Read 
Carpet Company was organized and Mr. Read was president of this 
company also until his death. He was director of the Bridgeport 
National Bank and vice-president of the City Savings Bank. 

In public life, both of city and state, Mr. Read took an active 
and honorable part. He was president of the Bridgeport Board of 

262 



DAVID MC NAMART READ. 265 

Trade for fifteen years and held many otlier city offices. He was at 
one time a member of tlie local school board, also the board of 
apportionment and taxation. He was chairman of the Connecticut 
Commission at the World's Fair at Chicago. In 1881 he was state 
representative and in 1889 and 1891 he was state senator from the 
Fourteenth District. He was president pro tern of the senate during 
the gubernatorial deadlock in 1891. Chief among his achievements 
along legislative lines was his influential part in passing the bills for 
consolidating town and city government of Bridgeport and for 
abolishing the toll-gate system in Fairfield County. In 1884 he was 
a delegate to the Democratic National Convention, in 1888 he was 
delegate at large and in 1892 he was a member of the Electoral 
College. Mr. Read's experience in military life began in the period 
of the Civil War. He was Lieutenant in the Second Connecticut 
Battery A, organized in 1861, Brigade Commissary in the Connecti- 
cut National Guard for eight years and acting Commissary-General 
at the Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia. 

In 1855 Mr. Read married Helen Augusta, daughter of Philo F. 
and Sally Bamum. Her death occurred May 6th, 1897. There 
were five children, Helen A., Charles B., David F., May L., and 
SaUy. Charles B. and David F. survive, sketches of whom follow 
in this work. 

The Hon. David M. Read will long be remembered as a man of 
keen business ability and determination and as a capable public official 
in the city and state, but still deeper memories will remain of his 
loyal friendships, his kindly advice and encouragement to the young, 
his usefulness as a citizen and his genial and noble personality. 



DAVID FARNUM READ 

READ, DAVID FARNUM, president of The D. M. Read Com- 
pany and the The Read Carpet Company of Bridgeport and 
man of prominence in banking affairs, club life, educational, 
philanthropic and civic matters of his community, was bom in 
Bridgeport, October 5th, 1860. He is a son of the late David M. 
Read, whose biography with a brief sketch of the family ancestry is 
elsewhere given in this book, and whose footsteps in the industrial 
life of Bridgeport he follows so closely and honorably. 

After due preparation in the Bridgeport public schools David F. 
Read entered Yale University, where he was graduated in 1883 with 
the B. A. degree. His first work in life was previous to his gradua- 
tion and consisted of traveling as a salesman for The Read Carpet 
Company, beginning in 1880. 

Ever since leaving college David F. Read has been identified 
with the industries founded by his father. In 1894, after his father's 
death, Mr. Read became president of The D. M. Read Company, the 
mercantile concern, and in 1904 he was elected president of The 
Read Carpet Company, the manufacturing concern, both of which 
offices he now holds. 

Since 1899 Mr. Read has been a director of the City National 
Bank and since 1895 a trustee of the People's Sa\dngs Bank, both 
of Bridgeport, of which he was also an incorporator. From 1891 to 
1907 he was a member of the Board of Education, and was vice- 
president of the board at the time of his resignation with two years 
of his term imexpired. He is a director of the Bridgeport Hospital, 
having been elected in 1899, and of the Boy's Club, elected in 1894. 
He is a member of the executive committee of the Yale Alumni 
Association of Fairfield County and also of the Bridgeport Scientific 
Society. In 1907 he was appointed a member of the Sinking Fund 
Commission of the city of Bridgeport and in 1908 he was made a 
member of the Park Board of that city for a t^rm of six years. He 
is also a director of the Mountain Grove Cemetery Association. 

266 



DAVID FARNUM READ. 269 

From 1883 to 1886 Mr. Eead was Lieutenant of the Signal 
Corps of the Connecticut National Guards, serving on the staffs of 
Colonels Crofut and Watrous. His fraternal ties were formed soon 
after the close of his military experience. In 1887 he became a 
Knight Templar and a thirty-second degree Mason. In 1895 he 
Joined Pequonnock Lodge I. 0. 0. F. He is a member of the Uni- 
versity, Lotos and Yale Clubs of New York, of the Graduates Club 
of New Haven and of six leading Bridgeport Clubs. Of three of 
the latter, the Sea-side Outing Club, the Sea-Side Club, and the 
Brooklawn Coimtry Club, he is a former president. At present he 
is president of the Contemporary Club and a member of the govern- 
ing board of the Squash Club, known as the Sea-Side Association. 
Horseback riding, golf and squash are his favorite recreations. His 
political allegiance is given to the Democratic platform. In creed he 
is a Congregationalist. David Farnum Eead is unmarried. 



CHARLES BARNUM READ 

READ, CHAELES BAEXUM, was bom in Bridgeport, Fair- 
field, Connecticut, in the year 1858, on the twenty-third of 
AngTist, son of the late David M. Read, whose biography is 
elsewhere incorporated in this work, and Helen Augusta Barnum, 
daughter of Philo Fairchild Barnum and Sally Taylor. 

He is in direct line of descent from Colonel Thomas Read, who 
emigrated from England to America in 1630. 

Mr. Read has from his earliest years been closely identified with 
the social and civic life of Bridgeport, having resided there his 
entire life. He attended the public schools, and graduated from the 
high school in 1877, going from there into the mercantile house of 
his father where he occupied a position in the financial department 
and became thoroughly acquainted with the details of the business. 
In 1884 The D. M. Read Company was founded, and he became 
associated with his father, David M. Read, and his brother, David 
Farnmn Read, in that corporation. 

Mercantile and manufacturing interests have always occupied 
Mr. Read. He is the treasurer of The D. M. Read Company, having 
been elected at the founding of that corporation, February 27th, 
1884, and secretary of The Read Carpet Company, to which oflBce he 
was elected January 18th, 1904. 

On August 14th, 1894, he was elected a director of the First 
National Bank of Bridgeport, and on June 25th, 1903, he became a 
trustee of the Bridgeport Savings Bank, both of which offices he 
still holds. He has been a member of the board of directors of 
St. Vincent's Hospital since the founding of that institution in 1903. 
He served on the board of apportionment and taxation of the city 
of Bridgeport from the year of his appointment, 1889, until his 
resignation in June, 1907. He has never been active in politics, or 
strongly partisan in his political views, but has always affiliated with 
the Democratic party. 

Mr. Read has been a Knight Templar of Hamilton Commandery 

270 



CHAKLES BARNUM READ. 273 

No. 5 of Bridgeport since December 16th, 1886, a thirty-second 
degree Mason of Lafayette Consistory since June, 1887, a member 
of Sea-Side Council Eoyal Arcanum since November 19th, 1893, and 
of Arcanum Lodge, I. 0. 0. E., since March 25th, 1896. 

He is a member of the Sea-Side, the Algonquin, the Brooklawn 
Country, and the Bridgeport Yacht Clubs, and of the New York 
Yacht Club. He was president of the Brooklawn Coimtry Club in 
1900, and of the Sea-Side Club in 1903, has been treasurer of the 
Algonquin Club, and Corinthian Lodge, F. and A. M. 

On February 12th, 1890, he married Eleanor Landon Atkinson, 
and to them has been born one child, a daughter, Muriel Atkinson 
Read. 

He is a lover of horses, an automobilist, and greatly enjoys 
different forms of sport, but perhaps finds his greatest relaxation in 
golf and squash. 

He is a member of the vestry of St. John's Episcopal Church, 
and is always interested in any movement which may arise for 
furthering the interests of Bridgeport in social or municipal affairs. 



WILBUR FISK OSBORNE 

OSBOENE, WILBUR FISK. It falls ix) the lot of few men 
to leave behind tliem such a worthy record of good citizen- 
ship as that left by Wilbur Fisk Osborne in the associated 
communities of Derby and Ansonia. The best monument is the 
memory of his fellow townsmen, but for the coming generations 
there will be an abiding cenotaph in the Derby Neck Library which 
he established and with which his name must always be connected in 
veneration and gratitude. Early in life Mr. Osborne became prom- 
inent in the industrial and municipal affairs of the allied towns, 
and he was recognized as a potent influence in the advancement of 
their material prosperity. But it is as a permanent benefactor of their 
culture and their spiritual and intellectual development that posterity 
shall know him. 

Wilbur Fisk Osborne was born in Derby, January 14th, 1841, and 
was the son of John W. Osborne and Susan Durand. His father 
was one of the pioneers of the brass industry in this country, and a 
founder and president of the Osborne and Cheeseman Co. 

As Derby was Major Osborne's boyhood home, he received his 
early education in the public schools of that to-wn. He subsequently 
entered Wesleyan University, where he graduated in 1861, as valedic- 
torian of his class, immediately enlisting in the service of the Union 
in the Civil War. He served nearly four years and was promoted 
to sergeant, second and first lieutenant, and captain of artillery, 
being in Companies C and of the First Connecticut Artillery. He 
was also military instructor of the Second Connecticut Artillery, 
inspector-general of the defenses at Washington, and south of the 
Potomac, ordnance ofiBcer, acting quartermaster, and the incumbent 
of other responsible military offices and commissions. After the war 
he became an active member of Kellogg Post, G. A. E. 

As soon as he was released from active military service by the 
close of the war, Wilbur Osborne returned to Derby and became 
identified with his father's industry, the Osborne and Cheeseman 

274 



WILBUR FISK OSBORNE. 277 

Co. From eaxly boyhood he had taken a keen interest in the progress 
and success of the corporation, and was eager to become a factor 
in the development of the business. Through his thorough mastery 
of the details of the industry and his complete Imowledge of it he 
was entirely fitted to take his place at the head of the company on 
his father's retirement. In 1882, a branch company was incorpo- 
rated, known as the Schneller, Osborne and Cheeseman Co. Not 
long after, the Union Fabric Company was organized with Major 
Osborne as its president, where he remained until his death. He was 
also president of the Schneller Stay Works of Ansonia, and the 
Connecticut Clasp Company of Bridgeport, and held these offices up 
to the time of his death. He was one of the incorporators of the 
Derby Silver Company, now consolidated with the International 
Silver Company. In all these responsible positions in the industrial 
world he was not only a thorough, progressive and capable captain of 
industry, and an honorable, dependable business man, but a con- 
siderate, kindly and just employer, who devoted much time and 
thought to having his mill and factories sanitary, convenient, and 
comfortable for his employees, whose health and general welfare and 
rights he deemed most important and interesting. 

Mr. Osborne was always actively interested in any scheme for 
civic betterment, but, in the latter years of his life, the foundation of 
a public library, — one of the best of its size in this country, — for 
that section of the community in which he lived and worked, be- 
came his favorite project. The library took its incipiency in a 
donation of books, chiefly fiction, which he made to a mission school 
in Derby Neck. The immediate appreciation and popularity of the 
idea encouraged him to make it a circulating library of importance, 
and it was definitely organized in 1897. Mr. Osborne was a liberal 
contributor and he used his widespread influence and acquaintance to 
enlarge the collection by special gifts. In recent years he perceived 
that the library had assumed the importance of a municipal institu- 
tion and he succeeded in getting Mr. Andrew Carnegie to assist the 
association to erect a suitable building for a permanent home. As 
a result a handsome and appropriate edifice, one of the artistic and 
decorative features of the allied cities remains to stimulate the 
memory of the founder of the Derby Neck Library, and to foster the 
culture of the community. Mr. Osborne did not live to see the com- 



278 WILBUR FISK OSBORNE. 

pletion and consummation of his cherished plans, but they were 
reverently canied out under the direction of his daughter, Miss 
Frances E. Osborne, and the building was formally dedicated and 
opened last year. 

Mr. Osborne had high ideals of good citizenship, but his efforts 
were sane and practical, not those of a Utopian dreamer, but of a 
man whose mind had the most thorough scientific training and 
whose judgment was formed by unremitting study. The honesty of 
purpose and the sincerity of his humanitarianism conspired to make 
his relations with the working-class singularly felicitous. Although he 
was a man of distinguished scholarship and erudition, especially in 
respect to English literature and American history, he was always 
approachable, and his manner was simple and kindly and cordial, and 
although he declined public honors and had neither time nor taste for 
a political career, he was influential in forming high-minded public 
opinion in the stand for right conditions in the labor world. 

Major Osborne has been well described as an " ideal citizen." 
In business relations he was level-headed, honorable, energetic, and 
just. He was sagacious in his judgment of men and motives, wise 
and generous in advising others, conscientious and firm in main- 
taining his own splendid ideals. Socially he was genial, whole- 
souled, democratic, and sincere. He made friends universally and 
their loyalty was composed of admiration as deep as their affection. 

Mr. Osborne's career was a happy instance of high living and 
right thinking and his influence is perpetuated in a noble philan- 
thropy. 



irORACE CORNWALL WILCOX 

WWjCOX, flOKACK (:()U\WAIjIj, lab; rn an u fa/; turor, 
founfJor ari'J pr^-rii'Jont of the- Meriden Britannia Company, 
Hl,a<.<; B<;nalor and mayor of Mitndan, was U)rcjf\()Ht arnon;^ 
lii(; iri'luntrial Ica/lcrH of that city and was a natural and capable 
)<;;i/l'r of affairs in his community. Jlc whjh a power in the huHiiK^H 
life of liiH city and state not only he<;aiJHe he founded and wan presi- 
dent of one of the leading induHtries hut because he was upright, pro- 
gressive and thorougPi in all his methods and undertakings. 

jMiddJet^jwn was Mr. Wilcox's birthplace and the dal/i of his 
birth was January 2Cth, 1824. His parents were Elisha V>. and flep- 
sibah Corn well Wilcox who liverl on a farm in that part of Middle- 
i/>wn known as Westfield. The Wilcox family is a very old one of 
Saxon origin and was originally located at Bury St. Edrminds, Suffolk 
County, England. In the reign of Edward 111 and later the name 
was prominent in public annals and st^jod for men of high degree;. 
The American branch of the family was fonndwl by John Wilcox who 
came from England and was one of the original proprietors of Hart- 
ford in 1G39. 

Horaf;e C. Wilcox reeeive-d a limit^id schooling but posnensed 
keen power of observation and assimilation that served to at^me for 
the laf;k of greatf^r educational advantages. He grew up on his 
father's farm and learned industrious habits by the performance of 
definil/; duties and a rare knowledge of the world by conta/;t with 
thrifty New Englanders of his father's type. At twenty lie left the 
farm and embarked in the business of pc^ldling tin goods, stariing 
with a borrowed capital of three dollars. Aftr;r a conple of snccess- 
ful years he received recognition for liis ability and persistence as a 
Hab'Hman and was engaged in the manufacture of T'ritannia goods in 
Meriden. Mr. Wilcox was fjuick U) ser; the great possibilities in the 
Britannia industry and as a result in 1852 the Meriden Britannia 
Company was organized by Mr. Wilcox, his brother Dennis C. Wilcox, 
Isaa/; C. Tx'wis, James A. Frary, Lemuel J. Curtis, W. W. Lyman, 
12 281 



282 HORACE CORNWALL WILCOX. 

John Mimsoii, George E. Curtis, Samuel Simpson and William 
H. Johnson. Mr. Wilcox was made secretary and treasurer. In 
1866 he succeeded Mr. Lewis as president and he held this office 
until his own death in 1890. The business progressed rapidl}- 
under Mr. Wilcox's supervision and soon added the manufacture 
of many kinds of plated goods and kindred products to the small 
list originally produced. The plant was gradually enlarged, an ex- 
tensive export trade established and fine warerooms opened in New 
York, California and London. The capital of the concern was in- 
creased from $35,000 in 1852 to $1,100,000 in 1879 and its increase 
in all respects has continued in proportion until now it is the largest 
industry of its kind in America. 

Although the demands on Mr. Wilcox's time and ability made by 
the development of the silver plated business would seem great 
enough to absorb one man he found time and heart for many other 
interests. Through his influence and interest in music the Wilcox 
and White Organ Company was organized, he was its first presi- 
dent and a director in the following concerns : — Meriden Silver Plate 
Company, Manning Bowman and Company, the Meriden Saddlery and 
Leather Company, the Aeolian Organ Company, the Meriden Street 
Eailway Company, Eogers Bro. Company of Waterbury, E. Wallace 
and Sons of Wallingford and several banks, insurance companies and 
other business associations. He was a loyal Eepublican and was at 
different times mayor, alderman and state senator. During the Civil 
War he ardently supported the Union cause. He was an inflential 
and liberal member of the First Congregational Church. 

Mr. Wilcox was twice married — his first wife was Charlotte 
Smith of Middletown who died in 1864. George Horace, son of this 
marriage is president of the International Silver Company. In 
1865 Mr. Wilcox married Ellen Parker who with a daughter, Mrs. 
Louis risk, survives him. 

An organizer and manager of vast business enterprises, a loyal 
citizen, a genuine Christian and true gentleman, Horace C Wilcox 
may be justly termed a maker of Meriden's history industrially, 
morally and socially and a man whose true usefulness none excelled. 



GEORGE HORACE WILCOX 

WILCOX, GEOEGE HOKACE, president of the International 
Silver Company, a prominent Mason and a leading citizen 
of Meriden, is a lifelong resident of that city and was 
bom there on August 22d, 1856. His earliest ancestor in America 
was John Wilcox, who emigrated from England in the early part 
of the seventeenth century. Mr. Wilcox is the son of Horace Corn- 
well and Charlotte A. Smith Wilcox. His father was a manufacturer 
and a man active in public life, having been state senator and mayor. 
His mother died when George was but nine years of age and conse- 
quently had little chance to influence his mind and character. 

The best schools, preparatory and academic, afforded George 
H. Wilcox's early education. He attended The Gunnery in Wash- 
ington, Connecticut, when that institution was presided over by F. 
W. Gunn, probably the best remembered and best loved master of that 
generation, and, later, the Hopkins Grammar School in New Haven. 
He then entered the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University 
and was graduated with the degree of Ph.B. in 1875. 

As soon as he had completed his college course George Wilcox 
returned to Meriden and went to work " at the bottom of the ladder," 
that is, as an office boy. He entered the employ of the Meriden Bri- 
tannia Company, at that time the largest makers of silver plate in 
the country, and was quick to learn their industry in its details 
and to win promotion from time to time. In 1888 he became secre- 
tary of the company and in 1893 he was elected to the presidency of 
tliat corporation, holding the office until the company was bought 
by the International Silver Company, of which he was elected the 
first vice-president at its incorporation, and he is now president of 
that enormous concern, the largest manufacturers of sterling silver 
and silver plate ware in the world, having a capital of $20,000,000 
invested, and operating no less than fifteen different factories in the 
United States and being largely interested in several abroad. Mr. 

285 



286 GEORGE HORACE WILOOX. 

Wilcox is a director in various other important business corporations 
in Connecticut. 

Fraternally Mr. Wilcox has many strong ties. He is a Mason, 
a Shriner, a member of the Royal Arcanum, and past eminent com- 
mander of the St. Elmo Commandery Knights Templar. In politics 
he is a Republican and in church membership a Congregationalist. 
He is fond of outdoor life and wholesome exercise and considers golf 
and fishing the ideal forms of relaxation. The motto that he would 
prescribe as a guide to success in one's life work is concise, practical 
and valuable, and most indicative of his own steady purpose and 
consequent heaping measure of success. He says, " Keep everlast- 
ingly at it — whatever it may be." Since it may be truly said of 
him that he made his own way from office boy to the presidency of 
two of the largest and most important and progressive industries in 
the state, it is conspicuously plain that his advice to others has been 
the creed conscientiously acted upon in his own life. 

Mr. Wilcox has a family numbering a wife and three children. 
Mrs. Wilcox's maiden name was Nettie Barker Curtis when he mar- 
ried her on January 23d, 1884, in New Britain, Conn. Their home 
is at 57 Pleasant Street, Meriden. Their three children are : Harold 
Curtis Wilcox, born January 7th, 1889 ; Roy Cornwell Wilcox, born 
December 24th, 1891 ; and Horace Wilcox, born October 6th, 1893. 



THOMAS ALDRIDGE WESTON 

WESTON, THOMAS ALDEIDGE, was bom near Birming- 
ham, England, April 14th, 1832. His father, William 
Weston, M. A. (Queen's College, Oxford), came of the 
de Weston family of Weston under Lyziard, Staffordshire, dating 
from the Domesday Book. His mother, Mary Aldridge, came of 
another old Staffordshire family which gave the name to Aldridge 
near Walsall, and was born on the Aldridge estate of Thickthorn at 
Kenilworth. 

Mr. Weston's father arrived in the United States with his 
family of seven persons, April, 1848. A month later they were 
settled at Buffalo, Mr. Weston's first request there to his father being 
to apprentice him at the Buffalo Steam Engine Works, obeying his 
lifelong impulse to mechanical work. It was refused and he took 
employment with the firm of Pratt & Co., hardware merchants, who 
later owned the Buffalo Rolling Mills, the Fletcher Furnace and 
other local industries. He served them so well that in 1853, at 
twenty-one years of age, the firm told him he was selected to come 
into it. This he did not desire as it was outside of mechanical lines. 

The panic of 1857 arrested all business. In 1858 Mr. Weston 
went abroad for his health and visited his uncle, Thomas Weston, ex- 
Mayor of Birmingham, England, and the turning point in his life 
came there when, in 1859, he patented the Differential Block. 

In a state noted for patents as is Connecticut, the history of 
this one will have interest. Early in 1861 it became a phenomenal 
success in England with the Tangye Brothers as sole makers. Early 
in 1863 infringement occurred, ending in 1865 by the Chancery Court 
decision of Sir W. Page Wood, which sustained the Weston patent. 
Meantime the steps to secure a United States patent were begun, 
and it was finally issued to Mr. Weston August 6th, 1867, as the con- 
clusion of an interference case with J. J. Doyle. 

Under the Doyle patent the differential block had been widely 
introduced by Samuel HaU's Son & Co. of New York, against whom 

289 



290 THOMAS ALDRIDGE WESTON. 

Mr. Weston then began a suit for infringement. Three other in- 
fringers followed with their products. English made blocks were 
then much cheaper than the home-made, so in order to cut prices, 
as a war measure, Mr. Weston began in 1870 to import them from 
his brother-in-law's firm, the Tangye Brothers, under a threefold 
contract, including that firm, himself as patentee, and as agents J. F. 
McCoy and partners of New York. This trade was a success, and in 
1873, to make it still more profitable to themselves, Tangye Brothers 
allied with the J. F. McCoy Company decided that the patentee 
could be dropped and his share in the profits saved. This trade then 
being his main dependence, the step seemed a safe one, the manu- 
facture and the sales connection being already in their hands and the 
patentee impoverished by his long struggle against infringement; but 
he continued to fight as he was able. 

Early in 1875, through his attorney, C. IST. Judson, now of 40 
Wall Street, New York, a general offer to surrender was made by all 
the infringers, and accepted; whereupon their collective stock in 
trade was transferred to the works of the new licensees, the Yale Lock 
Co. of Stamford, the McCoy stock in New York passing into the 
same control. 

But so far there had been no decision in any United States Court 
sustaining the Weston patent, in consequence of which a Mr. White 
of Naugatuck resumed infringement, ended by an injunction and the 
decision of Judge Shipman of New Haven, June, 1876. This stock 
also was then transferred to Stamford and peace followed. This 
industry brought entire to Stamford, as the conclusion of an eight 
years' fight, has since grown in volume many fold, owing to the 
energy of the Yale Lock Company, now the Yale and Towne Manu- 
facturing Company, to the quality of their products, as also to later 
patents like the Weston triplex block, of more efficiency and con- 
venience. 

Like many other successful inventions, the differential block 
had its germ in preceding failures. Mr. Weston's original claims 
in both the English and American patents covered too much, but 
the English Chancery Court sustained them on grounds of equity, 
impl3dng that the old element in them was valueless apart from 
Weston's added features. English law, therefore, gave him the effec- 
tive whole he had designed, because of its utility and practical success. 



THOMAS ALDRIDGE WESTON. 291 

United States law, with more precision, required that the old ele- 
ment, however valueless but belonging to the public, must be dis- 
claimed. Mr, Weston, therefore, re-issued his United States patent 
with the result that Judge Shipman's decision in 1876 sustained it 
on all issues. A more severe ordeal followed in seeking an extension 
of the patent from Congress. Against strong opposition the Bill 
passed Congress by a large majority vote and was duly signed by 
President Hayes May 28th, 1878. (See Cong. Kecord, May 11, 1878, 
p. 37.) 

In the face of the foregoing decisions for Mr. Weston's claims. 
Knight's Mechanical Dictionary, p. 701, asserts that when the Allies 
entered Pekin, they there found a differential pulley. They found a 
wooden Chinese windlass with a rope coiled thereon, as shown in 
Webster's Dictionary. There could be no differential chain-block 
without block "pitchchain" which chain was impossible until Mr. 
Weston invented the " chain gauge " in 1860, now seen beside each 
" block chain " maker's anvil with his hammer. The differential 
block would probably have been an every day article long before Mr. 
Weston's time, but for the absence of the " chain gauge." He holds 
a receipt for tlie wood pattern made in 1860 by an old Boulton & 
Watt pattern maker, William Broomhead, then in business for 
himself. 

World-wide as is the use of the differential block, Mr. Weston's 
triplex block has exceeded it and all others in actual sales. He can 
fairly claim to be the pioneer founder of the block chain and chain 
block industries, also to have enriched the world's stock of elementary 
mechanical devices, in originating the now well known "multiple 
discs," and the safety winch movement shown in Vol. XIV, Encyc. 
Brittannica, article " Lift," wliich latter is embodied in the Weston 
safety winch, now a manufacture of the Brown Hoisting Machinery 
Company, Cleveland. 

Among other patents of his receiving wide adoption are his 
ratchet drills, 300 or more being used at the Cramp Ship Yards. 
His " multiple discs " have spread into many varied constructions. 
At the last Madison Square Garden Automobile Show, twenty com- 
panies exhibited thirty-six autos containing these discs. The Scien- 
tific American Supplement, June 32d, 1907, illustrates a 150 ton 
crane at Glasgow, 176 feet high to peak of the jib, erected to put the 



292 THOMAS ALDEIDGE WESTON. 

boilers on the big Cunard ship Lusitania, the text stating that a 
Weston (disc) braJ^e is used. During the patent term, licenses to 
use the discs were issued to William Sellers & Co., American Dredging 
Co., and the Yale and Towne Mfg. Co. In England, to Tangj^e 
Brothers, Vickers Sons & Co., Appleby Brothers, and to Harfield & 
Co. for ship's windlasses, of which the discs are the foundation fea- 
ture. This windlass is used by all the navies of Europe and it may 
be seen today on the majority of foreign steamers in United States 
ports. Up to April, 1887, the weight of discs thus used, on 13,000 
ships, was 5,700,000 pounds. To this date the quantity must be 
doubled at least. Multiple discs are shown in Reauleaux Con- 
structor, Berlin and American editions, as in most text-books. They 
frequently appear as an element in new patents, or as a part of some 
new machine in the class papers. 

Mr. Weston's recent " shutter stay " patents have had a testi- 
monial from the New York Architects, McKim, Mead & White, as 
also from users in Stamford. In his old age he lives expecting yet to 
improve upon his record, knowing the inventor cannot evade the law, 
that " the fittest will survive " without respect of persons. To the 
inventor he would say, " Be a student. Know ' the prior state of your 
art' in the patent records, in mechanical literature, in shop practice, 
so much of which is never recorded. Study the mechanics of nature, 
as air-ship men seek points from bird flight. Archaeology too — 
a book eating worm or insect carries a boring tool enabling him to 
perforate twenty thick quarto volumes so that a string passed through 
the hole can suspend them all. The first English safety pin made a 
fortune for the patentee, when exactly similar ones in gold and silver 
wire, could be seen at the Guildhall Museum among the Roman 
remains." 

" The field of inventive competition for first prizes is open to all 
having the Edison five per cent, of inspiration and willing to add his 
ninety-five per cent, of work. The Great Teacher said, ' My Father 
worketh hitherto and I work.' Work is, therefore, elemental even at 
the great central source of all things, and the non-worker, willingly 
such, is an anomaly or an excrescence. Let the inventors and 
mechanics so do their work that they can enjoy it, knowing that others 
will enjoy it also." 



TRACY BRONSON WARREN 

WAEEEN, TRACY BEONSON, former hotel proprietor, city 
oflQcial, military man and prominent club man of Bridge- 
port, Fairfield County, Connecticut, was born in Water- 
town, Litchfield County, Connecticut, December 20th, 1847. He is 
the son of the late David Hard Warren and Louisa Bronson Warren 
and through both parents he is descended from a long line of dis- 
tinguished ancestors. Few men can trace their ancestry back through 
twenty-seven generations and Mr. Warren is one of the few who 
have that distinction, for he is in the twenty-seventh generation 
of descent from William de Warenne, Earl of Normandy, who died 
in 1088 and whose wife was Gundred, youngest daughter of William 
the Conqueror. Down the long line are found many distinguished 
and ancient names as well as some notable ones. The first of the 
family to come to America was Eichard Warren who came from 
Greenwich, England, in the Mayflower in 1620. Later ancestors 
participated in the Eevolution. On his mother^s side Mr. Warren 
is descended from John Bronson who came to Hartford with Hooker 
in 1636. From his mother he inherited strong characteristics pro- 
moting spiritual growth and vigor and all good influences as well 
as a distinguished lineage. 

As he was a farmer's son, Tracy Warren spent his youthful days 
in the wholesome occupations of country life. He was educated in 
New Haven at the Collegiate and Commercial Institute where he 
graduated in 1865. 

As soon as he left school he went to work for a concern engaged 
in the manufacture of carriage hardware. He continued in the 
manufacturing business until 1874. From 1876 to 1881 he was 
actively interested in the mercantile business. In 1890 Col. Warren 
became proprietor of the Atlantic Hotel in Bridgeport and continued 
in that capacity until his retirement in 1902. He is now engaged in 
general insurance business. 

Col. Warren has frequently been a public official, having been 

295 



296 TRACY BKONSOX WAREEN. 

alderman for t^vo terms, 18S3 and 1SS4. and city treasurer in 1885, 
He was a member of the Connecticut National Guard for four years 
and served as Colonel on Gov. Harrison's staff for two years. He 
was a member of the Second Eegiment !N"ational Guard for three 
years, was lieut^enant of the Xew Haven Grays and adjutiint of the 
Fourth Eegiment for several years. He is prominent and popular 
in social and fraternal circles and belongs to the following organiza- 
tions: The Army and Xavy Club, the Algonquin Club, the Brook- 
lawn Country Club, the Bridgeport Yacht Club, the Hoboken Turtle 
Club, the Sea Side Club. Hamilton Commandery, Knights Templar. 
Corinthian Lodge, F. and A. M. In Masonry he has taken the 32d 
degree. He has been commissary of the Old Guard of i!few York 
City, of which he has been a member nearly twenty years. His politi- 
cal views are those of the Eepublican party. He is a devoted member 
of the Episcopal Church and has been a vestryman of St. John's 
Church. Bridgeport, for over a quarter of a century. 

Mrs. Warren was Clara A. iHlls, of Boston, where he married 
her in 1874. She is most active in charitable and philanthropic work 
and in the Society of the Daughters of the American Eevolution, 
of which she has for many years been State Yice-Eegent. Seven 
children have been bom to Col. and Mrs. Warren, of whom four are 
now living — John M., Yale S. S., '96, Louise B., Bryn Mawr, '98, 
Bronson k.. Yale '04, and Harvey T.. Yale '10. The Colonel's 
home is at 405 Sea Tiew Ave., Bridgeport. He is fond of outdoor 
life and considers driving and baseball the best recreation and 
exercise. The same enthusiasm and hearty interest which he gives 
to these sports have always been characteristic of his business and 
social life and his success and popularity have been logical results. 



PETER W. WREN 

WREN", PETER W., wholesale merchant and man of prom- 
inence in educational, banking and public interests of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, where he has lived since 1870, 
was bom in New York City, August 20th, 1847. He is of Irish an- 
cestry and is the son of Peter and Mary Mallon Wren. The early 
days of his youth were spent in his birthplace. New York City, where 
he attended the public schools. When he was old enough to enter 
the grammar grades his family moved to New Haven, and he con- 
tinued his education in the public schools of that city. At fifteen he 
left school to learn the printer's trade in the Journal and Courier 
office. He remained in New Haven occupied as a printer until 1870, 
when he removed to Bridgeport, the city which has been his home 
and the center of his many and extensive business and public inter- 
ests ever since that date. 

Though he was but twenty-two years of age when he came to 
Bridgeport, Mr. Wren embarked immediately upon extensive business 
enterprises and became a partner with John McMahon in the whole- 
sale wine and importing business. This partnership continued until 
Mr. McMahon's death in 1899, a period of nearly thirty years. During 
that time the partners dealt extensively in stocks, bonds and real 
estate and they also developed and owned Pleasure Beach, Bridge- 
port's largest resort and, in fact, one of the largest and most popular 
seaside resorts in Connecticut. 

Mr. Wren is president and treasurer of the Connecticut Brew- 
eries Company, with plants in Bridgeport and Meriden, He is also 
a director in the Bridgeport Hydraulic Company and in the Pequon- 
nock National Bank of Bridgeport and he is chairman of the board 
of trustees of St. Vincent's Hospital, Bridgeport. 

In 1882 and 1883 Mr. Wren was a representative in the State 
Legislature. Then, as always, he loyally upheld the Democratic prin- 
ciples in politics. He was a member of the first Board of Public 
Works established in Bridgeport and was its president for six years. 

299 



300 PETER W. WREN. 

Educational progress has been the chief interest of Peter Wren's 
life outside of but never secondary to his own personal business. 
From 1880 to 1906 he was a member of the Bridgeport Board of 
Education and was its president for fifteen consecutive years — that 
is, until his resignation in 1906. During practically all of this long 
period he was chairman of the important committee on schools and 
always acted with characteristic fairness, impartiality and judgment 
and showed great executive ability in handling the important and 
intricate questions and policies left to his discretion and decision. 
For over a score of years his name was synonymous with the manage- 
ment and control of the local schools and his excellent performance 
of his great trust M^on the greatest respect and appreciation from the 
entire community. 

In 1869 Mr. Wren married Hannah M. Carey of New Haven, 
by whom he has had the following children : George W., Marion V., 
Frederick W., Sarah, Arthur, and Irene. The family are members 
of the Eoman Catholic Church. He is also a member of the Seaside 
Club, the Algonquin Club, the Emmet Club, and the Yacht Club of 
Bridgeport and of the Catholic Club of New York, 



LUCIAN DAYTON WARNER 

WARNER, LUCIAN DAYTON, late president and manager 
of the Malleable Iron Company, whose death in Pasadena, 
California, April 4th, 1905, brought keen loss to the city of 
Naugatuck, Connecticut, was a leading citizen of that place for many 
years. 

Mr. Warner was peculiarly and prominently identified with this 
communit}^, peculiarly because his paternal grandfather, Richard 
Warner, was born in Salem, (now Naugatuck), away back in 1772. 
His son, Adna, the father of L. D. Warner, was also born here in 1796. 
Grandfather and father in the year 1800 went into what was then the 
wild West and settled in Pitcher, Chenango County, New York. Here 
in 1839, September 18th, Lucian D. Warner was bom. Like most 
pioneer settlers of those times they had many obstacles to overcome 
and secured a living only by the greatest diligence, as the family 
was a large one of fifteen children. 

Adna Warner was a man of strong convictions, keen public spirit 
and an ardent Abolitionist. He was a blacksmith by trade though 
mostly a farmer by occupation. His wife, Lucia (Carter) Warner and 
mother of L. D. Warner, was a woman of considerable force of char- 
acter. 

The son, Lucian, was brought up on the farm and in a home 
where industry, thrift and religion prevailed. Besides the opportuni- 
ties of the common schools he had the advantage of a course of instruc- 
tion in the Academy at Cincinnatus, N. Y. This was followed by 
two years' occupation in a general store which included postmaster^s 
duties. 

Returning to the home of his ancestors when he was twenty years 
of age, Mr. Warner was for forty-six years identified influentially with 
the business, social and religious life of Naugatuck, perhaps as much 
as any other one person. On his arrival in 1859, he at once became 
clerk in the general store of Thomas Lewis, his future father-in-law. 
Four years later found him an equal partner. Three years later he 
became secretary and treasurer of the Connecticut Cutlery Company, 

303 



304 LUCIAN DAYTON WARXER. 

whose plant was located in Union City. After three years in this 
position his worth and ability were recognized by tlie Tuttle & Whitte- 
more Company, now known as the Naugatack Malleable Iron Com- 
pany, and Mr. Warner became first the secretary, then treasurer, and 
finally the president. This last position was held until 1899, when 
he retired from active business. 

Mr. Warner united with the Congregational Church four years 
after he first came to Naugatuck, and for thirty-seven years he was a 
deacon and clerk and for many years treasurer of the church. After 
thirty years as superintendent of the Sunday-school, he was reluc- 
tantly released from the position and only after his repeated requests. 
He was one of the founders of the Y. M. C. A. in Xaugatuck and 
its first president. He was also an officer in the Connecticut Bible 
Society and the Connecticut Sunday-school Association. He was a 
corporate member of the American Board of Commissioners for For- 
eign Missions at the time of his death. In the moral betterment of 
the community he was intensely interested, sparing neither service 
nor substance. Mr. Warner acquired a just competence for his 
ability and application in business and the results were evidenced 
in the beauty, comfort and free hospitality of his home. He gave 
generously to organized and public philanthropy and assisted worthy 
need in ways known to few. 

He was a man of positive opinion and firm in his convictions. 
He was public-spirited and pronouncedly Eepublican, but repeatedly 
refused political office. His fraternal ties were with Shepherd's 
Lodge, No. 78, A. F. and A. M., ISTaugatuck, and the Clark Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, Waterbury. 

Mr. Warner married in 1864, Julia M., daughter of his partner, 
Thomas Lewis. Six children were bom to them, of whom five are now 
living: Lewis C, Carleton S., Frederick A., George D., and Lucia 
E., now Mrs. Harry C. Burnett, of Hartford, Connecticut. 

Two and a half years after the death of his first wife, Mr. Warner 
married on November 10th, 1892, Miss Anna B. Eowe, the daughter 
of Dr. Eufus J. Eowe, of Whitehall, New York, who died November 
28th, 1905. 

Mr. Warner's death removes one of Naugatuck's most substantial 
citizens and one who will be sadly missed and yet pleasantly remem- 
bered in his home, his commercial and his church life. 



JAMES PARSONS WOODRUFF 

WOODEUFF, JAMES PAESONS, M.A., M.L., lawyer, treas- 
urer of the Litchfield Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and 
a man of prominence in the political and business life of 
Litchfield, Connecticut, was born in that town on the 30th of October, 
1868. He is of English descent and traces his paternal ancestry in 
America to Matthew Woodruff, who came from England to Hartford 
in 1638, and to Eichard Seymour, who came from England to Hart- 
ford in 1635. On his mother's side, Mr. Woodruff is descended from 
Thomas Parsons, who came from Somersetshire, England, to 
Philadelphia in 1685, and from John Bowne, who came from Derby- 
shire, England, to Boston in 1649. 

Mr. Woodruff is the son of George Morris and Elizabeth Ferris 
(Parsons) Woodruff. His father is a lawyer and president of the 
Litchfield Fire Insurance Company and of the Litchfield Savings 
Society, town treasurer and president of the First National Bank of 
Litchfield, was railroad commissioner for many years and was a 
member of the State Board of Education for twelve years, also judge 
of the Probate Court for thirty-eight years. He is a man of recog- 
nized integrity, uprightness, industry, consistency and good nature, 
and these admirable traits as well as his prominence in affairs have 
come down to his son. 

Most of James P. Woodruff's life has been spent in the village 
of Litchfield. In boyhood he was an eager devotee of out-door sports, 
and as he enjoyed " first-class " health he was able to follow his ath- 
letic inclinations. He had plenty of small tasks to perform and 
earned all of his spending money in this way and thereby learned the 
value of money and the enjoyment of earning it for oneself. He 
attended the Harrington School in Westchester, N". Y., Phillips 
Academy at Andover, Mass., and the Housatonic Valley Institute at 
Cornwall, Connecticut. He then entered Amherst College, where 
he was graduated in 1891 with the degree of B.A. The following 
September he entered Yale Law School, and he received his LL.B. 

307 



308 JAMES PAESONS WOODRUFF. 

degree in 1893 and his M.L. degree in 1894 at that school. He also 
received the degree of M.A. from Amherst College in 1894. 

He was admitted to the bar in 1893 and in accordance with both 
parental and personal wishes, Mr. Woodruff entered immediately 
upon the practice of law at Litchfield, opening his practice there in 
July, 1904, in partnership with his father. In the same year he was 
elected a member of the Board of Education and has served on that 
board continuously ever since and has been its chairman for a number 
of years. 

From April, 1895, to April, 1898, he was a member of the board 
of burgesses and from 1896 to 1898 he was warden of the borough 
of Litchfield. In 1899 and again in 1903 he was a member of the Con- 
necticut General Assembly. In 1904 he was a delegate from the 4th 
Congressional District to the Democratic National Convention at St. 
Louis, Mr. Woodruff is director in and treasurer of the Litchfield 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company, director in and secretary of the 
Litchfield Gas Light Company and a director in the Litchfield Water 
Company and the Litchfield Savings Society, and is at present judge 
of the Probate Court for the District of Litchfield. 

Since January, 1900, he has been clerk of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Litchfield. He is a member of the college fraternity 
of Psi Upsilon, the Law School fraternity of Phi Delta Phi, the Yale 
Chapter Corbey Court, the Graduates' Club of New Haven, the Litch- 
field County University Club and the Litchfield Club. 

In politics he is and always has been a Democrat. Judge 
Woodruff enjoys all athletic sports both as a principal and as a 
spectator, and is particularly interested in tennis, automobiling and 
snow-shoeing, though in the past he inclined more to base ball, tennis, 
golf and skating. He is a great lover of home life, and considers 
home influences both past and present the strongest and best upon his 
life. His family consists of a wife, Lillian Churchill (Bell) Woodruff, 
whom he married in New York in 1895, and three children, Lillian 
Bell, Candace Catlin, and Isabell Parsons Woodruff. 

Judge Woodruff gives a very definite principle as a foundation 
for success in life and it has added weight because it is one which he 
exemplifies. He says : " Play the game for all it is worth, but play 
it straight." 



GOULD ABIJAH SHELTON 

S HELTON, GOULD ABIJAH, M.D., physician, former state 
representative and a man of great prominence in public affairs 

in his community, is a resident of Shelton, Fairfield County, 
Connecticut, — a town which is named for his family and in which 
his ancestors and relatives have been leaders of affairs for many years. 
For one hundred and eighteen years members of tlie Shelton family 
have carried on a successful medical practice in Shelton and the 
present Dr. Shelton perpetuates the family profession most worthily 
in this generation. 

The Shelton family was founded in this country by Daniel 
Shelton, who emigrated from England in 1690 and settled in Strat- 
ford, now Huntington, Connecticut. Two years later he married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Governor Wells of the Connecticut Colony. 
In direct descent from him was Samuel F. Shelton, grandfather of 
Dr. Gould A. Shelton, and brother of Dr. William Shelton, Yale 
1788, who practiced medicine in Huntington for thirty years and who 
was succeeded in his practice by his son. Dr. James Shelton, who in 
turn was succeeded by his nephew, the present Dr. Gould A. Shelton. 
The parents of Dr. Shelton were Judson Curtiss and Hannah Lewis 
Shelton. The father was a farmer and the mother a woman of strong 
personality which radiated the best of moral and intellectual in- 
fluences. 

Gould A. Shelton was born in Huntington, Fairfield County, 
Connecticut, on August 19th, 1841, and until he was eighteen years 
old he lived on his father's farm. He prepared for college at Easton 
Academy and entered Yale with the class of 1866. He left coUege 
in his junior year and taught in private and public schools for 
several terms. In 1866 he began the study of medicine with Dr. 
George W. Hall of New York. He also took a three years' course 
at Yale Medical School, where he received his M.D. degree in 1869. 
In June, 1869, as soon as he had received his medical degree, 
Dr. Shelton opened up his practice in Shelton, thus beginning the 

13 311 



312 GOULD ABIJAH SHELTON. 

third generation of doctors in his family. He has practiced medicine 
in Shelton and vicinity continuously ever since that date and except 
for political and social interests has given his time closely to his pro- 
fession. As a result he has built up a large and successful practice 
which extends through many of the neighboring towns. 

Among the professional organizations of which Dr. Shelton is a 
member are the American Medical Association, the American 
Academy of Medicine, the Fairfield County Medical Society, of which 
he was president in 1889, the Yale Medical Alumni Association, of 
which he was president in 1894, and the Connecticut Medical Society, 
of which he was president in 1903. Since 1892 he has been a member 
of the consulting stafE of the Bridgeport Hospital and he is also 
similarly connected with the New Haven Hospital. He has been 
coroner and medical examiner of the town of Huntington since 1889 
and health officer of Shelton since 1886. 

At the present time Dr. Shelton is president of the Lower Nauga- 
tuck Valley University Alumni Association. In 1891 he received the 
honorary degree of M.A. from Yale University. He is greatly in- 
terested in all collegiate and educational affairs and was for eighteen 
years a member of the local board of education. 

His public offices have been many and important. He was a 
member of the board of burgesses from 1885 to 1889 and warden of 
the borough of Shelton from 1890 to 1893. He represented Hunt- 
ington in the General Assembly in 1895 and was house chairman of 
the committee on public health during that session. He has been 
president of the board of park commissioners of Shelton since 1893. 
In politics he is and always has been a Republican. He has always 
been a member of the Derby and Shelton boards of trade. 

Dr. Shelton is president of the Shelton Water Company, a 
director in the Shelton Savings Bank and a director in the Silver 
Plate Cutlery Company, all of which offices he has held for more than 
a dozen years. He is secretary and treasurer of the board of directors 
of the Plumb Memorial Library. He is a Mason and an Odd Fellow 
and a member of the Congregational Church. 

In June, 1874, Dr. Shelton married Emily Plumb Capel of 
Shelton. No children were bom of this marriage. Mrs. Shelton died 
November 11th, 1897. 




^St^t^c ^ ^/^^>-2^^i^<^ 




GEORGE CATLIN WOODRUFF 

WOODETJFF, GEORGE CATLIN, M.A., editor and news- 
paper proprietor of Litchfield, Litchfield County, Connecti- 
cut, and a man of prominence in the life of his community, 
is the eldest son of George Morris and Elizabeth Parsons Woodruff, 
and was born in Litchfield, June 23d, 1861. His father is a well- 
known lawyer and financier, who has been State representative, judge 
of probate, town clerk and treasurer, railroad commissioner, and is 
now president of the Litchfield Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 
and of the First National Bank and Litchfield Savings Society. From 
him his son inherits integrity, sagacity, and many other worthy 
qualities that insure success in life. On his father^s side George Cat- 
lin Woodruff' is descended from Matthew Woodruff, who came from 
England to Hartford with Thomas Hooker in 1638, and from Richard 
Seymour, who made the same voyage three years earlier. Three other 
paternal ancestors, John Buel, John Marsh, and Nathaniel Woodruff, 
were among the original settlers of Litchfield. Major Moses Seymour, 
Mr, Woodruff's great-great-grandfather, participated in the battle of 
Saratoga, was present at Burgoyne's surrender, and also had personal 
charge, at his home in Litchfield, of Mayor Matthews, the Tory Mayor 
of New York. Mr. Woodruff's grandfather, George Catlin Woodruff, 
from whom he takes his name, was a most distinguished lawyer, a 
colonel of State militia, postmaster of Litchfield, judge of probate, 
State representative, congressman, and a man of great ability and 
firmness. On the maternal side Mr. Woodruff traces his line of descent 
from Thomas Parsons, who came from Somersetshire, England, to 
Philadelphia, in 1685, and from John Bowne, who came from Derby- 
shire, England, to Boston, in 1649. 

Mr. Woodruff prepared for college at Phillips Academy, xlndover, 
entered Yale University in the fall of 1881, and remained there two 
years. He then entered Amherst College, where he received his B.A. 
degree in 1885 and his M.A. degree in 1888. Meanwhile, in 1885, he 

315 



316 GEORGE CATLIN WOODRUFF. 

entered Union Theological Seminary, New York City, and was grad- 
uated from that institution in 1888. 

In the vei'y month of his graduation from the Theological semi- 
nary he became superintendent for Colorado of the Congregational 
Sunday School and Publishing Society, with headquarters at Colo- 
rado Springs. In Kovember of the following year, 1889, he married 
Lucy Este Crawford, of Baltimore, Maryland, a great-great-grand- 
daughter of William Henry Harrison, former United States President. 
In January, 1890, Mr. Woodruff took charge of the Congregational 
Church at Green Mountain Falls, Colorado, where he remained until 
1891, when he returned East and became pastor of the Faith Chapel 
Mission of the New York Avenue Presbyterian Church of Wasliington, 
D. C. He held this pastorate until the summer of 1894, when he 
demitted from the ministry. 

In October, 1894, Mr. Woodruff purchased the Litchfield En- 
quirer, a weekly paper established in 1825, and one of the oldest 
periodicals in the State. He has been editor of that paper ever since, 
and has also been actively identified with the State and National 
Editorial Associations during the same period of time. He has also 
been a delegate to national editorial conventions the greater part of 
the time since 1895, and a member of many important editorial com- 
mittees. His prominence in editorial associations is best shown by 
the fact that he has been president of the State association and 
second vice-president of the National association. His paper is in- 
dependent in its political attitude, but Mr. Woodruff is an ardent 
Democrat, has been a member of the Democratic State Central Com- 
mittee, and was a member of the Connecticut Delegation to the In- 
dianapolis Convention in 1896. 

Mr. Woodruff has been foreman of the Litchfield Fire Depart- 
ment and is now its chief, as well as borough fire marshal. He is 
much interested in Masonic affairs, is a Eoyal Arch Mason, and is 
now serving his second term as master of St. Paul's Lodge, No. 11, 
F. and A. M. He is a member of the college fraternity Psi Upsilon, 
and has been actively identified with the Litchfield Club for many 
years. He delights in college sports, especially in foot-ball, and finds 
traveling the best relaxation from work. He has traveled extensively 
throughout North America. 



CHARLES EDWARD CLARK 

CLAEK, CHARLES EDWAED, banker, of Derby, New Haven 
county, Connecticut, holds many important positions in that 
city, being cashier and active manager of the Birmingham 
National Bank, president of the Home Trust Company, president of 
the Birmingham Water Company, president of the Star Pin Company, 
vice-president of the Derby Gas Company and the Shelton Water 
Company, a director of the Ousatonic Water Power Company, and 
is also connected with many other local organizations. He has been 
treasurer of the city of Derby continuously since its incorporation 
in 1894, and previous thereto was town treasurer for many years. 

In his prominence in public affairs and business, as well as in his 
integrity of character, Mr. Clark follows in the footsteps of a long line 
of worthy ancestors dating back to Deacon George Clark "the Plan- 
ter," who came from Kent and Surrey in England to America in 
1637 in the band of men led by the Rev. John Davenport. He settled 
in Milford in 1639, where he accumulated much property and exerted 
a strong influence on the public welfare. He was one of the organizers 
of the first church in Milford, in August, 1639, and was several times 
a deputy to the General Court at New Haven. Another interesting 
early ancestor of Mr. Clark was his great-great-grandfather on the 
maternal side, Claude Bartelemey (Bartholomew), born at Marseilles, 
France, in 1737. He enlisted in the regiment Royal Rossillon in 1756, 
and was shortly afterwards sent to America with Montcalm, taking 
part in a number of battles. After his army service, he settled at 
Derby and engaged in trade with the West Indies, becoming a large 
ship-owner. He lost three valuable merchantmen through confisca- 
tion by France in 1798-99, when that government was warring upon 
American commerce. 

The parents of Mr. Clark were Merritt and Mary Ann Hodge Clark. 
His father's life spanned the years from 1815 to 1895, a period of great 
importance in American history, in local chapters of which he was 
himself a prominent factor. He was born in Orange, and in 1869 

319 



320 CHARLES EDWARD CLARK. 

located in Derby, where the remainder of his life wd£ spent. During 
his early years in Derby, he was a prominent builder, and it is specially 
recorded of him that he built the first house erected in Ansonia, which 
was in 1845. In later years, he became a coal merchant, in which 
business he was quite successful. He was a director of the Birming- 
ham National Bank for thirty years, and during the last few years of 
his life president of the Star Pin Company. He was a strong and 
influential Eepublican from the organization of the part^' up to the 
time of his death. 

The date of Charles E. Clark's birth was March 18th, 1850, and 
his birthplace was the village of Derby, which is now the city of Derby. 
He began his work in life at an extremely early age, receiving simply 
a district school education, which terminated before his fourteenth 
birthday, when he left school to become a clerk in the Derby post-ofl5ce. 
He also did various kinds of farm work in his spare hours during boy- 
hood, and thus formed habits of diligence which led to his assuming 
a man's responsibilities at an age when most boys are still in elemen- 
tary schools. 

Before his sixteenth birthday, he was teller of the Birmingham 
National Bank of Derby, a position offered him because of his faithful 
and capable work in the post-office. He has remained with that bank 
ever since that time, that is from 1866 to 1908, a period of service to 
one institution rarely experienced by a man still in his prime. In 
1880, he was promoted to the office of assistant cashier, and in 1884 
he became cashier, which office, as well as the active management of 
the bank, he still holds. Since 1894, he has also been vice-president. 
His good judgment of men, thorough knowledge of banking and 
finance, and his untiring devotion to the best interests of his bank have 
greatly advanced its high standing among organizations of its kind 
as a strong, reliable and progressive institution. 

Fraternally. ^Ir. Clark maintains a number of strong ties. He is 
a member of King Hiram Lodge, F. and A. M., of Derby, Xew 
Haven Commandery Xo. 2. Knights Templar, and Ousatonic Lodge 
No. 6, I. 0. 0. F.. of Derby. He is an influential and prominent 
member of the Derby and Shelton Board of Trade, which organization 
not only attends to the usual functions of boards of trade, but is also 
an active social club. He is a Eepublican in politics, but is a firm 
believer in independent voting. He is a member of St. James' Protest- 



CHARLES EDWARD CLARK, 321 

ant Episcopal Church of Derby, of which parish he has been a vestry- 
man since 1873. He is fond of out-door sports and recreation, and 
a strong advocate of athletics. His family consists of a wife, Lillie 
Hawkins Clark, whom he married on October 21st, 1884, and three 
children. His home is at 12 Clark Avenue, Derby. 



CHARLES LEE ROCKWELL 

ROCKWELL, CHAELES LEE, president of the First National 
Bank and the City Savings Bank, of Meriden, was born at 
Kidgefield, Conn. He is the son of Francis A. and Mary 
(Lee) Rockwell and is a worthy representative of one of the oldest 
families in the state. He received his education at Rev. Dr. David H. 
Short^s School in Kidgefield and at the Fort Edward Institute in New 
York State. He began his life work in a bank and has been in the 
banking business ever since. He became teller of the National 
Bank of Norwalk, Conn., in 1863, which position he held until 1870, 
when he became cashier of the First National Bank, Meriden, Conn., 
which office he filled most acceptably until 1902, when, after the death 
of the late John D. Billard, who had for many years been its president, 
he was chosen as head of the institution which office he has filled 
ever since. 

His long connection with the First National Bank has been one 
in which his ability as a financier and counselor has been of great 
benefit to the institution. When the City Savings Bank of Meriden 
was organized, Mr. Rockwell became its first secretary and treasurer. 
He later accepted the presidency and still continues at its head. He 
has always given the Savings Bank close attention, resulting benet- 
ficially to its many depositors. 

Mr. Rockwell was one of the organizers of the Meriden Trust and 
Safe Deposit Company and ever since its organization he has been 
the treasurer and general manager of the company as well as one of its 
trustees. This company was chartered by the legislature of Connect- 
icut, to act as executor, administrator, guardian and tnistee, executing 
any business entrusted to it by persons, corporations, courts of probate 
or other legally constituted authority, Mr. Rockwell's financial ability 
as treasurer and general manager of this institution has enabled him 
to assist the widow and orphan and to win not only the confidence 
but the gratitude of a large number of people, with whom he has come 
in business contact. He was also one of the organizers and is a 

322 



CHAKLES LEE EOCKWELL. 325 

director of the First National Bank, Eidgefield, Conn. He is presi- 
dent of the Miller Brothers Cutlery Company ; a director of the Meri- 
den Cutlery Company; was one of the organizers and directors of the 
Meriden Horse Eailroad Company and for some years its treasurer; 
a director of the Meriden Hospital ; one of the board of park commis- 
sioners and a trustee of Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn. 

In 1889 Mr. Eockwell was married to Miss Mary L. Everest, 
daughter of Eev. Dr. Charles Hall Everest. Mr. and Mrs. Eockwell 
have two children, Mary Lee Eockwell and Charles Everest Eockwell. 



CHRISTIAN SWARTZ 

SWAETZ, CHEISTIAX, treasurer and general manager of The 
Old Well Cigar Company, of South Xorwalk. former mayor of 
South Xorwalk. Sheriff of Fairfield County and one of the 
leading " men of affairs " in his community, is a native of Wiirtemberg, 
Germany, where he wa;? bom Jime 15th, 1S46. His father's family 
were owners and editors of a newspaj^KT in Germany and his father did 
newspaper work there and lat^r on in this country, a^ he wa^ a skill- 
ful translator. 

As he was brought to the United States at the very early age of 
three years. Christian Swartz grew up an American on American soil 
and was educated in American schools. He was a healthy, ambitious 
boy and exceedingly fond of study and good literature. He read the 
available Sunday School books and t^ok especial delight in such 
books as John Halifax. Gentleman. Webster's Orations, and the 
works of Shakespeare, Emerson, and Tennyson. He also foimd great 
pleasure and inspiration in reading the autobiographies of eminent 
men. This natural bent toward intellectual pursuits was prevents 
from any attending danger of a one-sided development by the necessity 
of doing daily farm chores such as milking the cows and feeding the 
live stock and many other humble duties that created a system of doing 
things carefully. All these experiences coupled witli the influence of 
a good mother and a wise and industrious father and the early com- 
panionship of religious people both in and out of the family fitted 
Christian Swartz for an intelligent, profitable and unselfish career 
in life. His actual school education consisted of attendance at the 
grammar schools in Xewark, X. J., imtil the age of fourteen and several 
winter terms at the district schools in Ohio and Minnesota, a 
course at the high school in Hastings, Minnesota, and at Eastman's 
Business College in Poughkeepsie. X. Y., where he graduated in 1866. 
In the summer of 1867 he removed to Danburj, Conn., to accept a 
responsible position with Jeremiah Bernd, a prominent cigar man- 

326 



I 




/^ r7 f €-^^ 



CHRISTIAN" SWARTZ. 329 

ufaeturer, and the following spring opened a small cigar store in 
South Norwalk, Conn., in company with his fonner employer. Mr. 
Bemd afterwards sold his interest to Reed Haviland, a cigar jobber, 
and the business was continued under the firm name of C. Swartz & 
Company until 1880, at which time it was incorporated under the 
name of The Old Well Cigar Company. The growth of the business 
was continuous, and the United States Revenue Department in re- 
numbering the factories in the district, recognized it by awarding 
to the factory the honor of being Factory No. 1. 

In 1882 the business of South Norwalk had grown to such large 
proportions that another bank was deemed a necessity. In company 
with Hon. R. H. Rowan, Hon. John H. Ferris, Hon. Talmadge Baker, 
and other prominent men, he was one of the organizers of the City 
National Bank, and has continued as a director of said bank since that 
time. In the re-organization of the Norwalk Lock Company, he 
became one of the directors and has continued as such. 

Christian Swartz's public services began before he entered business 
life. At the age of eighteen years he enlisted in the Union cause in 
the Civil War and served until peace was established, a period 
of ten months. Since that time his public services have been political 
rather than military, and to him politics has always meant service 
to his fellows of the best and highest kind. He has followed the tenets 
of the Democratic political body and became a Gold Democrat. He 
was city councilman in 1878, mayor of South Norwalk in 1880 and 
again in 1882, sheriff of Fairfield County from 1884 to 1887, and he 
has been a member of the state shell-fish commission since 1893. He 
is the present chairman of the city water commission, president of the 
board of estimates and taxation of the town of Norwalk and Presi- 
dent of the Norwalk Hospital. He has been in many other ways a 
strong factor in local politics and civic growth and prosperity. 

A man of deep religious convictions and training, Mr. Swartz is 
a devoted and regular member of the South Norwalk Congregational 
Church. He is a chairman of the business committee of that church 
and a member of the Christian Inquiry Club connected with that body. 
He has many fraternal and social ties, and is a Mason, and a Knight 
Templar. He was elected Grand Commander of the Knights Tem- 
plar of Connecticut in 1892. He is a member of the South Norwalk 
Club, the Norwalk Club, and the Norwalk Country Club. He is 



330 CHEISTIAN SWAETZ. 

fond of outdoor life, particularly at the sea-shore, and of late years 
has become a devotee of physical culture. 

On February 4th, 1875, Mr. Swartz married Adora M. Flynn. 
Two children have been born of this union. The family home is at 
68 West Avenue, South Norwalk, Fairfield County, Connecticut. 



CHARLES GLOVER 

GLOVEE, CHAELES, president of The Corbin Screw Cor- 
poration of New Britain, president and treasurer of The 
Corbin Screw Corporation of Chicago, vice-president of the 
D. C. Judd Company of New Britain, inventor and skilled mechanic, 
and a director in many of Connecticut's foremost industries, is a 
native of England, though he was brought to this country in infancy. 
He was bom in Nottingham, England, June 16th, 1847, and his 
parents were George and Eebecca Wood Glover. His father was a 
mechanic who brought his family to America when Charles was two 
years old and located in the town of Enfield, Connecticut. The boy 
showed a marked preference for mechanics and great skill in exer- 
cising that taste at a very early age. His schooling was very limited 
and at the age of ten he hired out to a farmer living between Enfield 
and Hazardville. He worked on this farm for nearly four years, or 
until the outbreak of the Civil War, when his father needed him to 
help in his machine shop as the older sons enlisted in the Union 
Army. Charles set about learning the machinist's trade with great 
diligence and employed his evenings in study for he was only too 
eager to supplement his meager education which, during his labors 
on the farm, had been confined to school attendance during the winter 
season only. In fact it may be said that his entire mechanical 
education was acquired after working hours. 

In 1864 the family moved to Windsor Locks and Charles en- 
tered the employ of the Medlicott Knitting Company as a machinist. 
Three years later he went to Hartford to become foreman and con- 
tractor for the National Screw Company and he remained in that 
capacity until the business was sold out to the American Screw 
Company of Providence. 

In 1876 Mr. Glover came to New Britain and entered the 
employ of P. and F. Corbin, who were then contemplating starting 
out in the screw business. He was put in charge of the manufac- 
turing department of the screw business and designed all the screw 

387 



338 CHA.RLES GLOVER. 

machines which were employed in the new plant. When the American 
Hardware Corporation was formed by the consolidation of the P. and 
F. Corbin industry with the Eussell and Erwin Manufacturing Com- 
pany there were three large screw plants involved, two in New Britain 
and one in Dayton, Ohio. These were consolidated in 1903 as the 
Corbin Screw Corporation, Incorporated, and Mr. Glover was elected 
president of the consolidated companies. As has been mentioned, 
he is also president and treasurer of the Corbin Screw Corporation 
in Chicago and vice-president of the D. C. Judd Company in New 
Britain. He is a director in the American Hardware Corporation, 
the Corbin Cabinet Lock Company, the P. and F. Corbin Company, 
the Corbin Motor Vehicle Corporation, the New Britain National 
Bank, the Skinner Chuck Company, the Dean Steel Die Company, 
director and assistant treasurer of the H. E. Walker Company, all 
of New Britain, the Connecticut Computing Machine Company of 
New Haven, and director of the Herculever Company of New Yorl^ 
City. 

Mr. Grlover is a Republican in politics. He is a Mason and is 
a life member of Lafayette Lodge of Hartford. He also belongs to 
the New Britain Club, the Country Club of Farmington, and the 
Hartford Club. He attends the Congregational Church, but is not 
a member of that or any other religious organization. His advice to 
others who would attain the success that has been his is very brief 
and equally forcible and adequate, for he says, " Be honest, work 
hard, and never give up." 

Mrs. Glover's maiden name was Margaret Sophia Wainwright. 
Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Glover, but one of 
whom is still living, Mrs. Ida M. Peterson, who has a daughter, 
Margaret Glover Peterson. Mr. and Mrs. Glover make their home 
at 347 West Main Street, New Britain. 

The inventions resulting from Mr. Glover's rare skill and ability 
as a mechanic are many and important. He has been granted over 
twenty-five patents on a great variety of inventions, which consist 
chiefly of mechanical devices to be used on screw machines and 
cover many valuable, ever}'day uses. His devices have been particu- 
larly helpful in improving the processes of manufacturing hardware 
specialties. 



SIMEON JOSEPH FOX 

Fox, SIMEON" JOSEPH, late manufacturer and soldier, was 
bom October 1st, 1842, at Agawam, Massachusetts. He was 
a descendant of Abraham Fox who emigrated to this country 
from England before the Eevolutionary War. Mr. Fox's father was 
Levi G. Fox, a farmer by occupation. His mother was Elizabeth H. 
Fox, " a woman who was always good and kind." 

A healthy boy and country-bred, Mr, Fox spent his boyhood in 
the way typical of so many of our best American citizens, now busy 
on the farm, and now at study in the district school. He attended 
the Robbins' Preparatory School in New Haven. In 1857 he began 
work in the employ of William B. Johnson and Company, in New 
Haven. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted and was from 
October, 1862, to July, 1863, a private in Company A, 27th Regi- 
ment, Connecticut Volunteers. In 1869, under the administration 
of Governor Jewell, he was appointed Assistant Adjutant-General of 
Connecticut. He held this position until 1883. In 1886 he was Post 
Commander of the Admiral Foote Post, No. 17, G. A. R., and after 
1896 he was a member of the Society of the Sons of the American 
Revolution. In 1898 he was president of the Army and Navy Club 
of Connecticut. He was a capable organizer and much of the progress 
of the National Guard in Connecticut is due to his labor and influence. 
He was a member of the New Haven Grays and was also Quarter- 
master of the Second Regiment, previous to his appointment as 
Assistant Adjutant-General. 

After leaving Wm. B. Johnson & Co., Mr. Fox became connected 
with S. E. Merwin & Son of New Haven. In 1883 he became presi- 
dent of The National Pipe Bending Company. For six years he 
served on the New Haven Board of Compensation and held this office 
until his death. In 1901 he became president of the Board of Char- 
ities and Corrections and held this office the rest of his life. 

Mr. Fox belonged to the Wooster Lodge, No. 79, F. & A. M. He 
was a member and trustee of the Union League Club. In politics he 
was a Republican, in religion a Methodist. 
14 341 



342 



SIMEON JOSEPH FOX. 



On October 5th, 1870, Mr. Fox married Margaret Artemisia Fam- 
ham, who is a direct descendant of John Alden and Priscilla Mullins, 
two of the Mayflower passengers who landed at Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, from England, in 1620. Four children have been born 
to them. The following are now living : Edward Levi Fox, Secretary 
and Treasurer of The National Pipe Bending Company; Farnham 
Fox of Fox & Borden, New York; and Arthur Ward Fox now in busi- 
ness in Hartford. 

As a soldier Mr. Fox served his country faithfully and well. 
As a business man he earned a position of first rank in the manu- 
facturing world. 

Colonel Fox died at his residence, March 25th, 1907. 



WILLIAM SHERMAN WARD 

WAED, WILLIAM SHEEMAN, one of the most enterprising 
c-itizens of Plantsville, and the eflScient superintendent of 
the firm of H. D. Smith and Company of that toAvn, was 
born in Fairfield, Conn., January 22d, 1842, a son of Benjamin W. 
and Susan (Blakeman) Ward. The father, a native of Easton, Con- 
necticut, left home in July, 1842, and was last heard from at Cape 
Town, South Africa. His children were George and William S. Mr. 
Ward's paternal grandfather was Benjamin Ward, of Easton, Con- 
necticut, and his maternal grandfather was Edward Blakeman of 
Stratfield, Fairfield Co., Conn., where he followed the trade of black- 
smith. 

William S. Ward received a common-school education, and in 1858 
began learning the machinist's trade in Bridgeport, serving an ap- 
prenticeship of three and one-half years. In April, 1861, he enlisted 
as a musician in Company H, 1st Conn. V. I., took part in the 
battle of Bull Eun, and was honorably discharged in July of the same 
year. In August, 1862, he re-enlisted at Seymour, Conn., as a 
musician in Company H, 20th Conn. V. L, and participated in the 
battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, later joining Gen. Sher- 
man's army at Chattanooga, marching with him to the sea and taking 
part in all the engagements of that campaign. Mr. Ward was taken 
prisoner at Fayetteville, N. C, March 14th, 1865, and sent to Libby 
prison, where he remained three weeks. On being paroled he was 
sent home, where he arrived April 15th, 1865, but he afterward took 
part in the grand review of the armies of the Union at Washington, 
D. C, and was honorably discharged from the service in May, 1865. 

Since the war he has been a resident of Southington, with the 
exception of five years spent in Newark, N. J., where he established a 
creditable and profitable business with H. M. Strieby, manufacturer 
of carriage hardware. He returned to Plants ville, March 17th, 
1883. He has been superintendent of the factory of the H. D. Smith 
and Company ever since. Being a practical machinist, and having a 

345 



346 WILLIAM SHERMAN WARD. 

thorough understanding of every department of the industry, he has 
most capably and satisfactorily filled his present responsible position. 
He has taken out over fifty patents. 

In April, 1866, Mr. Ward was united in marriage with Miss 
Caroline E. Smith, a daughter of James H. and Sarah (Munger) 
Smith, of Litchfield, and to them have been born four children: 
Emma S., now the wife of Albert H. Botsford; William S., who 
married Flora M. Dayton; Iva A., now the wife of Marcus M. 
Bennett; and Alice F., who died in 1880. Mr. Ward is a member 
of the Plantsville Congregational Church, and is now Past Master 
of the Friendship Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M.; Triune Chapter No. 40, 
R. A. M.; and Past Commander of Trumbull Post, No. 16, G. A. R. 
and the Order of United American Mechanics. In politics he is a 
Republican and he is now one of the ex-wardens of Southington 
borough. He has also filled the office of burgess for two years, and is 
eminently public-spirited and progressive, as well as a genial, courte- 
ous gentleman. 



ALBERT WILLIAM PHILLIPS 

PHILLIPS, ALBEET WILLIAM, M.D., physician, army sur- 
geon and public man of Derby, New Haven County, Connecti- 
cut, was born in the town of Marcellus, Onondaga County, 
New York, July 26th, 1838. His parents, George and Betsy Cleg 
Phillips, were born in Somersetshire, England. They came to America 
and settled in Marcellus, New York, where George Phillips followed 
the farmer's calling. They gave their son the best of educational 
advantages, encouraged his early inclination toward the profession of 
medicine, and surrounded him with the best of moral and spiritual, 
as well as intellectual, influences. 

Like all farmers' sons Albert Phillips' first schooling was afforded 
by the district school of his native town. He was also given private 
tutoring. He taught in the local schools for several terms previous to 
the period of his professional training which began when he was 
eighteen years of age with a course in medicine at Syracuse, New 
York. He then studied for a year at a medical college in Philadelphia, 
after which he took a year's course at Hahnemann Homeopathic 
Medical College in Chicago, where he was graduated in 1861 in the 
first class of that institution. He was prompt to respond to Lincoln's 
call for troops and enlisted as a private in Company A, 12th Eegi- 
ment. New York Volunteer Infantry in May, 1861. In June he was 
appointed hospital steward, and in October, 1862, he was appointed 
assistant surgeon of the 149th Eegiment, New York Volunteer In- 
fantr}'. In this capacity he served in the Army of the Potomac and 
the Army of the Cumberland until the close of the War. 

After the War Doctor Phillips located in Derby, Connecticut, 
where he has practiced medicine ever since. Outside of conducting 
a successful general practice of medicine he has been active in mili- 
tary surgical life and in the public affairs of his town and state. 

From 1897 to 1899 he was Surgeon-General of the State of Con- 
necticut on the staff of Governor Cook; he is Past Commander of 
Kellogg Post No. 26, G. A. E., and an active member of the New 

349 



350 ALBERT WILLIAM PHILLIPS. 

York Commandery Military Order Loyal Legion, of the Society of 
Military Surgeons of the United States, of the Society of the Army 
of the Potomac and of the Society of the Army of the Cumberland. 
He is also a member of the Army and Navy Club of Connecticut. 

Doctor Phillips' offices in professional organizations are many 
and important. He was president of the Connecticut Homeopathic 
Society in 1896 and 1897 and at this time he is president of the 
Clinical Society of New Haven County. He is a member of the Ameri- 
can Institute of Homeopathy and of the State Board of Health. He 
is a trustee of the Derby Hospital and was at one time registrar of 
the vital statistics of the towTi of Derby. 

The public offices held by Doctor Phillips are equally noteworthy. 
For nine years he was a burgess of the borough of Birmingham and 
from Januar)% 1901, to January, 1903, he was mayor of Derby. In 
1903 he was appointed commissioner of the Litchfield County Home. 

Fraternally Doctor Phillips has many strong ties. He is a mem- 
ber of the New Haven Commandery No. 2 Knights Templar, of King 
Hiram Lodge No. 12, F. and A. M., of Solomon Chapter No. 3, 
E. A. M., of Union Council No. 27, E. and S. M., and of Ousatonic 
Lodge No. 6, I. 0. 0. F. In politics the Doctor is a Eepublican. For 
recreation he enjoys travel and fishing and his interest in that is 
manifested by his membership in the liaurentian and Mastigouch 
Fish and Game Clubs of Canada. 

Besides maintaining these numerous professional, public, fraternal 
and social interests, Doctor Phillips is a director in the Derby Savings 
Bank and in the Derby Gas Company. He is also an interested and 
active member of the University Club of the Lower Naugatuck Valley. 

Doctor Phillips married October 16th, 1862, Miss Nancy Pratt 
Owen of S>Tacuse, New York. Their only surviving child, a daughter, 
is now Mrs. Frank E. Bradley of Montclair, New Jersey. Mrs. 
Phillips died March 25th, 1906. Doctor Phillips' home is at 322 
Caroline St., Derby, Connecticut. 



ALLAN WALLACE PAIGE 

PAIGE, ALLAN WALLACE, lawyer, banker, legislator, business 
man, was bom in Sherman, Fairfield Comity, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 24th, 1854. His father, John 0. Paige, was a farmer 
and County Commissioner for Fairfield County thirteen years, held 
various town ofl&ces and was greatly respected and widely known 
for his fairness, honesty and common sense. He married Cornelia, 
daughter of Allan and Lois Joyce, of Sherman, and their son, Allan 
W. Paige, was brought up in the country on his father's farm. His 
parents were sturdy. New England, Christian people but were unable 
financially to give the young man advantages other than those that 
could be had at home. Through the Eev. James Philip Hoyt, a 
graduate of Yale, class of 1864, a Congregational clergyman and a 
near neighbor in Sherman, an opportunity was found for Mr. Paige to 
work his way through Eussell's Military School, where he remained 
for a year and a half. From there he went to Hopkins Grammar 
School, at which time his health broke down and for a period of four 
years thereafter he was unable to continue his studies but taught 
school part of this time. He afterwards entered Yale University Law 
School and was graduated in 1881. He was admitted to practice and 
established a law office first in South Norwalk, then in Danbury. In 
1885 he went to New York City and in 1893 he located in Bridgeport. 
In 1882 he was elected from Sherman a Republican member of the 
House of Representatives and in 1883 was appointed Assistant Clerk 
of the House, in 1884 Clerk, and in 1884 Clerk of the Senate. In 
1890 he was subsequently elected to the House of Representatives from 
the Town of Huntington and served as Speaker during the famous 
dead-lock session of 1891. He served as Senator from the Twenty- 
third Senatorial District, session of 1905, and was chairman of the 
Judiciary Committee. 

For some years Mr. Paige devoted himself to the general practice 
of law but more recently he has acted as general coimsel of the Con- 
necticut Railway and Lighting Company, of which company he 

353 



354 ALLAN WALLACE PAIGE. 

is a director, and as advisory counsel in corporation matters. He is a 
director of the Pequonnock National Bank, Bridgeport, of the Interna- 
tional Banking Corporation of New York and a director of a number 
of street railway, gas and electric companies; also a director of the 
Automatic Vending Company of New York and Great Britain; a 
director of the Nazareth Cement Company of Pennsylvania, and of 
the Automatic Ptcfrigerating Company of New Jersey, and president 
of the Derby Kubber Company of Connecticut. 

He is a member of the Union League Club and City Midday 
Club of New York City; of the Seaside and Algonquin Clubs of 
Bridgeport, and formerly president of the Brooklawn Country Club 
for two years; he is also a member of the Hartford Club, Hartford, 
Union League Club, New Haven, and the Waterbury Club, Water- 
buiy, also a member of various shooting and fishing clubs. He is a 
thirty-second degree Mason and a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

He was married November 15th, 1887, to Elizabeth D., daughter 
of Nelson and Elizabeth Downs of Huntington, and of the three 
children bom of this marriage, two daughters, Marian D. and Aline 
E. Paige are living. 

Mr, Paige is prominent in the affairs of Bridgeport, in seeking 
to build up its industries and making it the foremost city of the 
state. He is also a liberal giver according to his means to charitable 
institutions and to the needy. 



THEODORE SHELDON BASSETT 

BASSETT, THEODOEE SHELDON, manufacturer, vice-pres- 
ident of the Birmingham Iron Foundr}'- of Derby, president 
of the United States Eubber Eeclaiming Works, and formerly 
treasurer of the Bassett Corset Company of Derby, was born in Birm- 
ingham, now Derby, New Haven County, Connecticut, April 26th, 
1839, His parents were Sheldon and Harriet Hull Bassett. His father 
was a manufacturer who held the important position of president of 
the Birmingham Iron Foundry and was also judge of probate of the 
town of Derby. His mother was one of those splendid New England 
mothers whose influence was strongly for good in every particular. 

As he was brought up in a small coimtry town Theodore Bassett 
had plenty of leisure for reading and study and he enjoyed both. He 
kept in touch with current events by intelligent and systematic read- 
ing of the newspapers and did a great deal of broad, general reading 
along many lines of learning. His actual schooling was confined to 
that offered by the local public schools and a few terms at boarding 
school. 

When he reached the age of sixteen, that is in 1855, Theodore S. 
Bassett went to New York to work as a clerk. Since reaching his 
mature manhood he has been engaged in the manufacturing business 
and the success he has earned as a manufacturer is proved by the 
influential position he holds in the concern with which he is so closely 
identified. He is vice-president of the Birmingham Iron Foundry 
of Derby, president of the United States Eubber Eeclaiming Works, 
and was for some time treasurer of the Bassett Corset Company of 
Derby. 

In public affairs Mr. Bassett has also been active and prominent. 
From 1888 to 1892 he was postmaster of Derby. He was at one time 
treasurer of the town of Derby and of the borough of Derby, and is 
a member of the local board of trade. 

Mr. Bassett is a thirty-second degree Mason, member of the 
Algonquin and Calumet Clubs of Bridgeport and of the Eepublican 

357 



358 THEODORE SHELDON BASSETT. 

Club of New York. For recreation he enjoys driving and automo- 
biliag. His home is Fort Trumbull Beach, Milford, New Haven 
County, Connecticut. On April 26th, 1860, Mr. Bassett married Miss 
Caroline Wells, of New York City, who died at their Milford home 
in January, 1907. Of their three children, Caroline W., Harmon S., 
and Theodore, Jr., but one, the last named, is living. 



EDWARD MILTON BURRALL 

BUREALL, EDWARD MILTON, late manufacturer and presi- 
dent of the American Ring Company of Waterbury, was the 
son of John Milton Burrall, a furniture dealer, and Mary- 
Louisa Coley Burrall, and was bom in Plymouth, Litchfield County, 
Connecticut, May 24:th, 1848. He was the great great grandson of 
Colonel Charles Burrall, who bore a prominent part in the Revolu- 
tionary War, being commissioned colonel by Gov. Trumbull in 1776, 
and commander of the Connecticut troops in the battle of Ticon- 
deroga. He was also colonel of the 14th Regiment, Connecticut 
Militia, which did such good service under General Gates in New 
York in 1777, and at Bennington, Vermont. 

The little village of Plymouth afforded scant educational op- 
portunities in the days of Edward M. Burrall's boyhood, and he 
went to Waterbury to receive his education in the public and high 
schools of that town. At the age of eighteen he left school to start 
his work in life as a clerk in a local dry goods store. 

In 1875, after nine years' experience as a merchant's clerk, he 
entered the furniture firm of which his father was the head, and 
which then became J. M. Burrall & Son. In 1887 he gave up the 
furniture business to enter the American Ring Company of Water- 
bury, of which he was elected president the following year. He 
retained this important office until his deatli in 1901. 

For over fifteen years Mr. Burrall was a director in the Plume 
& Atwood Manufacturing Company and the American Pin Com- 
pany, both of Waterbury. He was a vice-president and trustee of 
the Dime Savings Bank, and a director in the Colonial Trust Com- 
pany of Waterbury. 

Mr. Burrall was a member of the Waterbury Club and of the 
Hardware Club of New York. He was affiliated with the Protestant 
Episcopal Church. In politics he followed the platform of the 
Republican party. He was married and is survived by a wife, Mary 

361 



362 EDWARO MILTON BURUALL. 

Eunice Booth Bm-rall, whom he married in 1877, and two children, 
John Booth Burrall and Eunice B. (Mrs. T. D. Thacher). Mr. 
Burrall's death occurred in New York city on November 14th, 1901, 
and meant to Waterbury a loss, not only of one of its leading 
captains of industry, but of one of its most substantial and re- 
spected citizens. 



JOEL FARIST 

FAEIST, JOEL, late president of The Farist Steel Company, of 
Bridgeport, skilled mechanic, and director in many of the im- 
portant institutions of that city, was born in Sheffield, England, 
on June 27th, 1832. His parents were Joseph and Grace Wolstenliolm 
Farist, his father being a steel forger of Sheffield, England. When 
twelve years old he came to America with his parents and went to work 
in a rolling mill in Kentucky, where the first American steel was 
manufactured in 1848. For several years he worked as a blacksmith 
and roller in rolling mills in Covington, Kentucky, Pittsburg, Penn- 
sylvania, and Jersey City, New Jersey. 

Desiring to engage in business for himself, in 1856 he formed 
a partnership with two other workmen and leased a portion of the 
steel plant of the Eockaway Manufacturing Company, of Rockaway, 
New Jersey. They continued in a part of this old plant for six 
months, and so successful was their venture that in the early part of 
1857 they leased for tliree years the Pompton Rolling Mill, near 
Paterson, New Jersey, which they operated through the panic of 1857. 

In 1860 Mr. Farist removed to Windsor Locks, Connecticut, where 
he again engaged in the manufacture of cast steel under the firm 
name of The Farist Steel Company. 

During the War of the Rebellion his unusual skill as a mechanic 
was spent upon making gun barrel and bayonet steel for the United 
States Government, and so valuable were his services that the Govern- 
ment made provision for a substitute in case he should be drafted. 

In 1872 the concern was moved to Bridgeport, Conn., the present 
site of the extensive plant operated by The Farist Steel Company. 
The Farist Steel Company is one of the leading concerns of Bridge- 
port, and Joel Farist was not only its president, but the guiding spirit 
and most successful mechanic in the Company. The concern man- 
ufactures all descriptions of steel, hammered or rolled; also spiral 
and elliptic car springs for steam and street cars, and spreads its 
plant over ten acres of ground. It consists of a huge rolling mill, 
a spring factory, a gas house, a melting shop, a hammer shop, a pro- 

365 



366 JOEL FARIST. 

ducing house and power house, where five large engines generate the 
power needed for such an enterprise. The Company has agencies 
in Chicago, St. Louis, San Francisco and New York City. All this 
for many years was under the direct and personal supervision of Joel 
Farist, who developed the industry into its present prosperous and ad- 
vanced state through his rare skill, practical knowledge, organizing 
ability and wisdom as an employer of men. He, himself, was the 
trained mechanic and thorough worknuin that he inspired his men 
to be. 

For twenty years he served as director in the Pequonnock Nat- 
ional Bank, at Bridgeport, was chief promotor and first president 
of the Bridgeport Electric Light Co., also first president of the Bridge- 
port Crucible Co. 

He was an active member of the Bridgeport Board of Trade from 
the time of its organization; also one of the charter members of the 
Seaside Club. 

As a citizen he was progressive and public spirited, and his interest 
in educational affairs is shown by nine years of effective work as a 
member of the Bridgeport Board of Education. He was also vice- 
president of the Bridgeport Hospital from the time of its organization. 
He was a generous supporter and devoted member of the Washington 
Park Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he was for many years 
a trustee. 

He was honored not only as a successful capitalist and captain 
of industry, but for his earnest work for civic betterment and right 
conditions in the labor world. 

His power as a manager of men and their work was no less 
commanding than his own skill and industry as a zealous workman 
himself. Because of this fact The Farist Steel Co. exemplifies, as 
few industries do, the value of harmony between labor and capital, 
and the consequent success and prosperity of both. 

Mr. Farist died November 12th, 1904. He is survived by his 
second wife, Martha Wood Farist, whom he married in 1867, and three 
children ; a son, J. Windsor Farist, now president of The Farist Steel 
Company, and a daughter, Lulu E., being children of this marriage. 
A daughter, now Mrs. Arthur E. Penfield, is a child of Mr. Farist's 
first marriage to Eliza Estelle, which took place in 1855. Three 
other children of the first union and one of the second have died. 




^' 



-^f^ Cl) ^^^-y^^^ym 



JAMES H. SMITH 

SMITH, JAMES H., late builder, carpenter and historian of 
the town of Litchfield, Litchfield County, Connecticut, lived a 
long and useful life in that to^vn, a life that spanned the time 
from July 11th, 1819, to February 5th, 1907. He was the son of 
Horace Smith, a carpenter, and Sally Marsh Smith. His earliest 
ancestors in this country, Thomas and Elizabeth Patterson Smith, 
came from England in the middle of the seventeenth century and 
settled in East Haven, Connecticut, in 1662. Mr. Smith was in the 
seventh generation of descent from this early settler. Mr. Smith's 
grandfather, Eli Smith, was a Revolutionary officer, who had an 
unusually interesting and gallant record. He was second lieutenant 
of the Litchfield Company, but as his captain was a Tory and his 
first lieutenant a coward and tum-coat, Ensign Smith was actually 
in command. He did very brave work at the burning of Danbury, and 
was frequently chosen as the bearer of vitally important messages 
over dangerous ground. At the time of the evacuation of Long 
Island, Ensign Smith was one of the last two men to leave. In times 
of peace, he was one of the prominent men of Litchfield, the leading 
carpenter of the place, and the second largest taxpayer as well 
as a town official. Ensign Smith was one of four brothers, all of 
whom were officers in the revolution. 

Eeared in the country under the tender guidance of God-fearing, 
righteous and ennobling parents, James H. Smith grew up with a 
fondness for reading and self-improvement and was a faithful and 
earnest reader in spiritual literature. He read the Bible thoroughly 
in boyhood and kept it his constant companion throughout his mature 
life. His education was acquired in the local public schools. He 
worked as a farmer's boy in early boyhood, and as soon as he was 
old enough he learned the family trade of carpenter, as apprentice 
to his father. 

James H. Smith spent the active years of his life as a carpenter 
and builder, and acquired great skill in this calling. He held no 

369 



370 JAMES H. SMITH. 

public office but served for some time in the state militia. In politico 
he was a Eepublican. He was a member of the Congregational 
Church, and greatly interested in its growth and welfare. From 
early manhood he was a strong and zealous temperance man, being 
a loyal and active member of the Sons of Temperance, and a firm 
devotee of the principles of that society. He was a skillful follower 
of his chosen trade, an intelligent, honorable and useful citizen, a 
good neighbor and a noble man. He lived to the ripe age of eighty- 
six, and was considered one of the grand old men of Litchfield 
County. 

In 1843, Mr. Smith married Sarah Ann Munger, whose death 
antedated his a number of years. Eight children were bom to this 
union, six of whom survive. The oldest daughter, Caroline E., is 
the wife of William S, Ward of Southington, whose biography appears 
in this work. 



RIENZI BELCHER PARKER 

PARKEE, EIENZI BELCHER, former president of the Hart- 
ford Life Insurance Company, who is prominently identified 
with two of Hartford's leading banking institutions, was bom 
in South Coventry, Connecticut, on February 15th, 1838. His father 
was the late Lucius Parker, one of the pioneer cotton goods manu- 
facturers of Connecticut, who founded the Mutual Manufacturing 
Company in Manchester and built and conducted the Pacific Knit- 
ting Mills at Manchester Green. Mr. Parker's mother was Bathsheba 
Belcher Parker, who came from South Windsor. 

As soon as he left school Rienzi Parker engaged in the cotton 
industry, beginning his work in 1859 in his father's mills in Man- 
chester. In 1866 he left Manchester to embark in cotton manufactur- 
ing in Vernon where he remained until 1890. 

Since 1890 Mr. Parker has resided in Hartford. In May, 1893, 
he was elected president of the Hartford Life Insurance Company. 
He held this responsible and important office until 1900 when he 
retired after seven years as the head of that company. He is a 
director in the First National Bank and in the Security Company, 
both of Hartford. 

In September, 1865, Mr. Parker married Miss Emma S. Dobson, 
daughter of the Hon. John S. Dobson, of Vernon, Connecticut, who 
was state senator in 1852 and the incumbent of other important 
public offices. His father, Peter Dobson, Mrs. Parker's grand- 
father, came from Preston, England, and started one of the first 
cotton mills in this state. He was a noted mathematician and geolo- 
gist, being a recognized authority on the glacial period. 

The children bom to Mr. and Mrs. Parker who are living at the 
present time, are John Dobson, Julia W., wife of Collins W. Benton, 
and Lucius R. John Dobson married Edith Ellsworth, daughter 
of the late Dr. P. W. Ellsworth, and Lucius R. married Marie An- 
toinetta, of Turin, Italy, who died in Jime, 1902, 

Mr. Parker's home is on Farmington Avenue, Hartford, Conn. 
15 373 



MELVIN EUGENE LINCOLN 

LINCOLN, MELVIN EUGENE, merchant and banker, of Willi- 
mantic, was bom in Windham, Windham Comity, Connecticut, 
February 23d, 1849. He is a descendant in the eighth genera- 
tion from the first member of his family who came from Lincolnshire, 
England, to Taunton, Massachusetts, in the early part of the seven- 
teenth century. Jonah Lincoln, son of this original emigrant, was a 
manufacturer of cloth for soldiers' uniforms during the Eevolution, 
and was several times a member of the State legislature. Mr. Lin- 
coln's father was Lorin Lincoln, whose business was first that of a 
machinist, then a woolen manufacturer, and later limiber and coal 
dealer. He was a man who had no time or inclination for public 
offices, and whose most conspicuous traits were perseverance and indus- 
try. Mr, Lincoln's mother was Elizabeth Parker Lincoln, and as her 
moral and intellectual influence upon her son was the most stimulating 
one he experienced he attributes to her in great measure his am- 
bition to succeed in life. His youth was spent in the country and in a 
village, and as his health was fairly good and there was plenty to be 
done he always worked very hard and was thrown upon his own re- 
sources from his earliest boyhood. He had decided mechanical tastes 
and talent, and enjoyed keenly the study of mathematics, reading, writ- 
ing, and spelling. He attended the common schools in the summer time 
until he was ten, and in the winter until he was fifteen, and had the 
advantage of one term in the high school. He remained at home 
until he was twenty, working at farming, teaming, and in a saw and 
grist mill. 

At the age of twenty, in 1869, Mr. Lincoln began the mercantile 
career, which he followed continuously imtil comparatively recently, 
by purchasing an interest in a grocery business. He afterwards be- 
came associated with his father in the firm of L. & M. E. Lincoln, 
which lasted four years, at the end of which they engaged in the coal 
and lumber business. Since 1886 Mr. Lincoln has been connected 
with the Willimantic Savings Institute, of which he was the presi- 

376 




7>trS^^g,^^.^^^ . 



MELVIN EUGENE LINCOLN. 379 

dent for nine years, till 1906, when he declined to be a candidate, but 
he still continues as a trustee. He has held many town offices, having 
been selectman, borough clerk, constable, collector, burgess, and grand 
juror. He has built and owns more than a dozen of the finest buildings 
in his town, including the armory, the Park Central Hotel, and the 
Lincoln Block, and he has been his own architect. He is now one of 
the appraisers for the receiver of the Cooperative Savings Society, a 
statewide affair. In politics he is a Democrat, who changed with 
many others to be a " Gold Democrat." He attends the Congrega- 
tional Church and is a member of the Society. Though his chief 
exercise has been in hard work and he has not given any conscious 
attention to physical culture, he is fond of a good horse and takes 
a keen interest in football, basket ball and baseball. 

Mr. Lincoln has been married, in 1872 to Sarah A. Burn- 
ham, and in 1879 to his present wife, Edith M. Lincoln. Three chil- 
dren have been born to him, two of whom are now living: Louis B. 
by the first wife, and Frank M. by the second. In passing judgment 
upon his own life Mr. Lincoln says, " Many times I have had too 
many irons in the fire, but I have been ambitious and felt as if I 
could cover the whole ground, which I have sometimes failed to do." 
The principles which he believes most helpful in the struggle for 
success are, "Economy (living within the income), perseverance, and 
industry," and he adds, " It is hard to start a ear, but when started 
a steady, persevering push will keep it going. If you let it stop a 
great effort has to be made to start it again, which results in a large 
net loss." 



THOMAS HAMILTON 

HAMILTON, THOMAS, of Groton, New London County, 
Connecticut, one of the chief exponents of the fish and 
oyster industry in New England, and former state senator, 
is also president of the Groton and Stonington Electric Railway 
Company and of the New London and East Lyme Electric Railway 
Company. He is of Scotch-English ancestry, and is the son of 
Alexander Hamilton, a native of Anan, Scotland, and of Ann S. 
Pillman, a native of London. Alexander Hamilton emigrated to 
New Brunswick in his youtli and later lived in Prince Edward's 
Island, where Thomas Hamilton was born on September 23d, 1846. 

There was so much hard work for Thomas Hamilton to do in 
his boyhood that his schooling was confined to a very few hours of 
the day. When a very small lad he earned his way on fishing vessels, 
working at various kinds of employments on the boats. When but 
twenty-one he became master of a fishing schooner with a crew of 
twenty-one men engaged in fishing in the St. Lawrence Gulf and 
carrying on trade with the West Indies in the winter. 

In 1870 Mr. Hamilton became connected with the wholesale and 
retail sea food dealer, G. M. Long & Company, of which firm he has 
been an active member ever since 1877. In 1885 the company 
bought up the Henry Chappell wholesale and retail fish business, thus 
becoming the largest of its kind in the state. In 1898 they occupied 
the present site of the industrj^ and purchased five hundred acres 
of oyster beds. The firm operates several steamers and carries on a 
most lucrative and prosperous business. 

Captain Hamilton has always been greatly interested in electric 
railways, as is shown by his leadership of two trolley companies. He 
is also president of the Groton Real Estate Company. He is an 
ardent Republican and in 1903 was elected state senator. During 
his term of ofiBce he was chairman of the committee on fisheries and 
game and a member of the committee on executive nominations. 
Another of the strongest interests in his life is in masonry, in which 

380 



THOMAS HAMILTON. 383 

he has attained to high degree. He is a member of Brainard Lodge, 
F. and A. M., Union Chapter, No. 7, E. A. M., Gushing Council, 
No. 4, R. and S. M., and Palestine Commandery, No. 6, Kjiights 
Templar and in the last named order he has been past commander. 
In religious views he is a Congregationalist and he is a most active 
and generous church member. 

On November 27th, 1872, Mr. Hamilton married Eunice Ellen 
Watrous. They have two sons and three daughters. 



DANIEL PATRICK DUNN 

DUNN, DANIEL PATRICK, mayor and merchant of WilH- 
mantic, Windham County, Connecticut, was bom there on 
September 14th, 1859, His parents were Patrick Dunn, a 
laborer, and Mary Morrisey Dunn, a good mother who has always had a 
strong influence over him. The father came from Ireland to America 
in 1846 and the mother in 1847, both locating in Willimantic. 

Daniel Dimn received his education in the Willimantic schools. 
When he reached the age of eleven he attended school during the 
afternoon sessions only, as he worked in a silk mill mornings. He 
was fond of books and though he incLLned to no special line of reading 
he enjoyed and gained much profit from works on our American 
institutions. 

For about fifteen years Mr. Dunn worked in Holland's Silk Mill 
in Willimantic. At the end of that time he was in a position to estab- 
lish himself in business and he embarked in the cigar, tobacco and 
news business. He has continued in this branch of merchandise ever 
since that time, a period of twenty-three years, with great success 
and popularity. 

Mayor Dunn has always been a staunch Democrat and has held 
a number of important town ofiBces. For ten years he was registrar 
of voters of the town of Willimantic, for one year he was town 
auditor, and in 1903 and in 1907 he was state representative from 
the town of Windham. He was elected mayor of the city of Willi- 
mantic in 1906-1907 and re-elected for the years 1908 and 1909, 
being the present incumbent of that important office. He is a 
member of the Mayor's Association and of the Willimantic Board 
of Trade. 

The following organizations enroll Mr. Dunn as a member: The 
Order of Elks, the Knights of Columbus, Foresters of America, 
the Heptasophs, the Putnam Phalanx, the Citizens Corps, G. A. E., 
and the Montgomery Hose Company, No. 2, of which he is an hon- 
orary member. He has held prominent offices in nearly all of these 

384 



DANIEL PATRICK DUNN. 387 

organizations. He is a member of St. Joseph's Roman Catholic 
Church. He keenly enjoys ont-of-door life and takes an interest in 
all sports, particularly baseball. 

On April 23d, 1889, Mr. Dunn married Julia A. Rice of Hart- 
ford. No children have been bom of their union. Mr. and Mrs. 
Dunn make their home at 205 Summit Street, Willimantic. 

Mr. Dunn believes that success in life is sure to come to young 
men who are " honest and upright in all their dealings with their 
fellow men, who try faithfully to fulfill their promise, and who are 
true to their country and flag." 



CHAUNCEY BUNCE BREWSTER 

BISHOP BREWSTER was born September 5th, 1848, at Wind- 
ham, Connecticut. 

His father, Joseph Brewster, was at that time rector there, 
and was afterwards rector of parishes at New Haven, Connecticut 
and Brooklyn, N". Y. Both he and his wife, Sarah Jane Bunce 
Brewster, were people of culture and of the intense but quiet religious 
natures not uncommon in early New England. He is a lineal descend- 
ant from Elder William Brewster of Scrooby, England, whose charac- 
ter is so beautifully depicted in the Journal of Governor Bradford. 
In Elder Brewster's house in Scrooby, the first meetings of the Pil- 
grims before their departure to Holland were held. He came with 
them to Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1620, and was virtually the 
leader of the Colony, not merely its spiritual head. He will be re- 
membered as the prominent figure in the well-known picture of the 
compact in the Cabin of the Mayflower. It is worth noting that the 
Brewsters have very generally been characterized by the sweetness 
of disposition and the religious temper which marked their progenitor. 
Through his mother, Bishop Brewster is descended from two of the 
founders of Hartford. 

Chauncey Brewster received his first instruction in Latin from 
his mother. He was prepared for college at the Hopkins Grammar 
School in New Haven, and entered Yale College a freshman in 
the class which was graduated in 1868. Both at school and college 
his scholastic rank was high. He took many prizes in English 
Composition and in debate, and was unanimously elected class orator. 
After his graduation he remained a year at Yale as a post-graduate 
student, and was for another year a tutor there in Greek and Latin, 
and then studied theology in the Berkeley Divinity School at Middle- 
town. He was ordained deacon in 1873, and priest in 1873. Honorary 
degree D.D., was conferred at Trinity 1897, Yale 1898, Wesleyan 1903. 
From 1872 to 1873 he officiated as assistant in St. Andrews church in 
Meriden, Connecticut, from 1873 to 1881 he was Rector of Christ 

388 



CHAUNOEY BUNCE BREWSTER. 391 

Church, Rye, N. Y. ; from 1881 to 1885 of Christ Church, Detroit, 
Mich.; 1885 to 1888 of Grace Church, Baltimore, Md.; from 1888 
to 1897 of Grace Church, Brooklyn Heights. On October 28th, 1897, 
he was consecrated as coadjutor to Bishop Williams of Connecticut, 
upon whose death, February 7th, 1899, he succeeded as Bishop of 
the Diocese. 

During his ministry Bishop Brewster in addition to his active 
duties, has been a frequent writer on philosophical and religious 
topics. His publications are " The Key of Life," 1894, " Aspects 
of Eevelation," 1901, and " The Catholic Ideal of the Church," 1905. 
In addition he contributed articles on similar subjects to the " Andover 
Review," and to various other periodicals of like character. His 
sermons have always been distinguished by literary grace, breadth 
and grasp of the underiying principles of theology. He is a very 
agreeable speaker on " occasions, " especially at academic gather- 
ings. Both as bishop and man he is respected and beloved for his 
abilities and the unaffected simplicity of his nature. He is an in- 
dependent in politics and is concerned with sociological questions. 
Though a scholar, his interest goes far beyond the world of books — 
to the humanity for whose services his life has been dedicated. 



JAMES GOODWIN 

GOODWIN, Eev. JAMES, B.D., rector of Christ Church, Hart- 
ford, bears a very old, honorable, and significant name which 
was a familiar one in Germany as long ago as the fifth 
century when it appeared as " Gudewin," meaning " good friend " 
or " God's friend ". The same Anglicized to Goodwin has been a 
prominent one in America for seven generations and those who bear 
it in Hartford, Connecticut, today, embody its primitive meaning 
most worthily. The first Goodwin who emigrated to America came 
from England in 1636 and settled in Hartford. Five generations 
later Major James Goodwin, the Eev. James Goodwin's grandfather, 
took prominent part in the business, educational, and religious life of 
Hartford. He was a man of wonderful organizing ability and was 
active in all public charities and benefits. He was president of the 
Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Company and the largest tax- 
payer in Hartford at that time. His son, the Eev. Francis Goodwin, 
is the father of James Goodwin and is, like his son, a clergyman of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church. Until his retirement from active min- 
isterial duties he was rector of Trinity Church, Hartford. He is well 
known for his keen interest in public matters, his broad philanthropy 
and his eloquence and earnestness as God's minister. His wife, Mr. 
Goodwin's mother, is Mary Alsop Jackson Goodwin. 

James Goodwin was born on February 10th, 1865, in Middle- 
town, Middlesex County, Connecticut. As a boy he was blessed with 
excellent health and as he spent most of his time in the country he 
had ample opportunity to enjoy nature and literature — the chief in- 
terests of his youth. History, sociology, and the books of Charles 
Kingsley were his favorite and most influential books and he read 
much outside of the regular school work. He prepared for college 
in the public schools of Hartford and at St. Paul's School in Concord, 
New Hampshire. He entered Trinity College, Hartford, in 1882 
and was graduated in 1886 with honors and as poet of his class. The 
year following his graduation he went abroad and spent a year in 

392 



JAMES GOODWIN. 396 

study in Paris and returning, in 1887, entered the General Theologi- 
cal Seminary, graduating in 1890 with the degree of B.D. In 1889 
he received the degree of M.A. at Trinity College. He was one of 
the three appointed to read essays at the completion of his theologi- 
cal course. He was then ordained Deacon by the Right Eev. John 
Williams, D.D., LL.D., Bishop of Connecticut, in Trinity Church, 
Middletown, and entered immediately upon his self-chosen career in 
the ministry. 

It was in 1890, as assistant minister at Calvary Church, New 
York City, that Mr. Goodwin began his active ministry. He spent 
one year, 1890-1891, at Oxford University, studying theology and re- 
turned in August, 1891. He was soon called to be priest-in-charge of 
St. Barnabas' Mission, Berlin, New Hampshire, and a few years 
later he became rector of the Church of the Good Shepherd in Nashua, 
New Hampshire. In 1902 he was called to Christ Church, Hartford, 
of which he is still rector. While in Berlin, New Hampshire, he 
served on the board of education and wherever he has been he has 
taken a most active interest in all public matters. 

Christ Church is one of the oldest and strongest in New England 
and many great men have occupied its pulpit. At the present time 
as one of the few " down town churches " of a growing city it occupies 
a position of peculiar responsibility and influence and has at its head 
in James Goodwin a man singularly well fitted to guide his church 
so that it may be equal to that responsibility and capable of the utmost 
spiritual influence in the community. Tact, genuine cordiality, quick 
human sympathies, a lively interest in questions of the day and in 
public welfare, untiring energy, and enthusiasm in parish work and in 
keeping in touch with the many working organizations of the church, 
and simple, direct, earnest eloquence in the pulpit are the qualities 
that combine to make James Goodwin so worthy of his charge. The 
crowning reason for his success is his intense love of his work because 
it is God's work. So it is that his advice to others who would make 
their life work a success is as consistent as it is pertinent, for he 
says the young man who would attain true success should cultivate 
" Unselfishness^ profound sense of duty to commimity and common- 
wealth and real patriotism and, above all, personal integrity and 
purity." 

For relaxation from professional cares Mr. Goodwin enjoys 



396 JAMES GOODWIN. 

walking, golf, and boating. His social ties are chiefly with the Hart- 
ford Golf Club, the Century Association of New York, and the Hart- 
ford Yacht Club. Since college days he has been a member of the 
Alpha Delta Phi fraternity. In politics he votes an independent 
ticket. He is fond of travel and spent the summer of 1906 in Europe 
with his father. 

On June 13th, 1895, Mr. Goodwin married Frances Whittlesey 
Brown of Hartford. Four children have been bom to Mr. and 
Mrs. Goodwin, a son and three daughters. Their home, " The Rec- 
tory," is at 76 Garden Street, Hartford. 

Since this article went to print Mr. Goodwin has been made 
chaplain of the Governor's Foot Guard. 





/ ^ ^^^^^t-"— O-C^w^ 



GEORGE THOMAS LINSLEY 

LINSLEY, EEV. GEOKGE THOMAS, clergyman of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, rector of the Church of the 
Good Shepherd, Hartford, and one of the most active, promi- 
nent, and scholarly clergymen in the Diocese of Connecticut is also 
editor of the Connecticut Churchman and an officer in several im- 
portant Diocesan organizations. He was bom in New Haven on 
September 4th, 1864, the son of Frederick H. and Sarah M, (Smith) 
Linsley. His mother exerted a strong and lasting influence on his 
moral and spiritual life and he gives her loyal gratitude for the high 
ideals and purpose inculcated in his early youth, Mr, Linsley's 
earlier ancestors were English and came to this country in early days, 
settling in Branford and New Haven. 

New Haven was Mr. Linsley's boyhood home and the back- 
ground of his school and college experiences. He prepared for col- 
lege at the Hillhouse High School, completing the course in 1882. 
He then entered Yale University, where he was graduated with the 
degree of B.A. in 1885. He had determined upon the ministry as 
his calling in life and lost no time after leaving college in fitting 
himself for that vocation. He studied at Berkeley Divinity School 
in Middletown from 1885 to 1888, when he was ordained deacon ; the 
following year, 1889, he was ordained priest by Bishop Williams. 
Meanwhile, during the years 1888 and 1889, he had acted as mis- 
sionary-in-charge of Emmanuel Church, Glenville, and Calvary 
Church, Eound Hill, Connecticut. During the year 1889-1890 he 
was also missionary-in-charge of St. John's Chapel, Bryam, Con- 
necticut. 

In February, 1890, Mr. Linsley became rector of Trinity Church, 
Newtown, Connecticut, where he remained for twelve years. During 
that entire period he was president of the Newtown Library As- 
sociation and president of the Newtown Academical Association. 
From 1896 to 1902 he was secretary of the Fairfield Archdeaconry. 
In 1898 he was elected a member of the standing committee of the 

397 



398 REV. GEORGE T. LINSLEY. 

Diocese of Connecticut and he is still a member of that important 
committee. It was during his rectorship in Newtown also that an- 
other important step in his life was taken — his marriage to Mary 
Eenshaw Chauncey of New York City, on January 10th, 1895. Mrs, 
Linsley is a granddaughter of Commodore Isaac Chauncey, famous in 
the War of 1812, and is a direct descendant of the Kev. Charles 
Chauncey, the second president of Harvard College. Her father was 
the Eev. Peter S. Chauncey, D.D., once rector of Christ Church, Hart- 
ford. 

In 1902 Mr. Linsley was called to the Church of the Good Shep- 
herd, Hartford, Connecticut, and he is still in charge of that large 
and progressive parish. Since 1902 also he has been secretary of the 
Church Scholarship Society, vice-president of the Church Home Cor- 
poration and editor of the parish paper published quarterly by the 
Good Shepherd Church and one of the most complete and successful 
parish periodicals in the Diocese. Since 1906 Mr. Linsley's ability 
as a scholar, writer, and editor of church literature has had broader 
scope for he has been editor of the Connecticut Churchman, a newly 
founded Diocesan quarterly, which is already established as a worthy 
and interesting and much needed organ of the Church in Connecticut. 
Mr. Linsley's thorough, painstaking and loving work in bringing out 
the notable and complete Stratford Centennial number of the Con- 
necticut Churchman is a great one and the result is a book of real 
historical value and literary merit and a suitable and permanent 
commemoration of that significant epoch in the history of the 
Episcopal Church. 

Outside of the conscientious fulfillment of the duties demanded 
by pulpit and parishioners and by the many clubs and organizations 
of his wide-awake parish, Mr. Linsley has time for few interests other 
than the Diocesan matters already mentioned. He is an enthusiastic 
alumnus of Yale and is a loyal member of the Yale Alumni Associa- 
tion of Hartford and of the Gamma Delta Psi fraternity. In politi- 
cal affiliations Mr. Linsley is an " independent Democrat." He is a 
hearty advocate of out-of-door life and exercise and delights in walk- 
ing and the gathering and study of wild flowers. He believes that 
the surest road to real success is the " pursuit of high character rather 
than financial success." 

An indefatigable parish worker, an earnest minister and a 



REV. GEORGE T. LINSLEY. 399 

scholarly, able preacher, the Eev. George T. Linsley is singularly 
fitted for the progressive and telling work he is doing in one of Con- 
necticut's strongest Episcopal Churches. His capabilities have a still 
broader field in his various official interests in the affairs of the Dio- 
cese of Connecticut. He is considered among both laymen and clergy 
to be one of the most thorough, zealous and diligent churchmen in 
the Diocese and is, through his literary efforts, liis capable discharge 
of official responsibilities and his forceful personality as a clergyman, 
a strong factor in the Church's growth throughout Connecticut. 



EDWARD TRACY BROWN 

BROWN, EDWARD TRACY, president and treasurer of the 
Brown Cotton Gin Company of New London, Connecti- 
cut, one of the largest manufacturing concerns of its kind 
in the United States, was bom in Macon, Georgia, July 20th, 1839. 
His great-grandfather, William Brown, was one of seven brothers, 
all of whom were musicians in the Revolutionary War, and E. E. 
Brown, another ancestor, was justice of peace and a participant in 
the Seminole War in Florida. Israel F. Brown, Mr. Brown's father, 
was a Georgia cotton manufacturer who came to New London in 
1858 and established a cotton gin factory and in 1869 founded the 
present stock company, of which he was president until his death. 
He was a most skillful machinist and the inventor of many valuable 
machines still in use. He was a man of keen judgment and business 
sense and one well informed on all subjects. Mr. Brown's mother 
was Ann Smith Bro-wm. 

Until he was fifteen years old Edward T. Brown lived in Georgia 
and attended the public schools in the town of Columbus. He then 
became engaged in his father's cotton gin business, but after a short 
time he left his father's employ to become a partner in a furniture 
manufacturing business which he soon abandoned that he might 
avail himself of the course at the Albany Business College. In 1858 
he joined his father in New London and in 1869, upon the formation 
of the present company, he was made its secretary and treasurer. 
He was also at different times secretary and treasurer of the Albertson 
and Douglass Machine Company and of the Wilson Manufacturing 
Company. Upon his father's death, Mr. Brown became president 
and treasurer of the Brown Cotton Gin Company which responsible 
office he still holds. The concern consists of a general foundry with 
machine shop connected and is one of the largest factories for the 
manufacture of cotton gins and linting machines for oil mills in the 
country. The company employs five hundred hands, including iron 

400 



EDWARD TRACY BROWN. 401 

founders, machinists and woodworkers and utilizes 104,000 feet of 
floor space. 

Edward Brown is a director of the Union Bank of New London 
and director, secretary and treasurer of the Lyceum Theatre Com- 
pany. He is greatly interested in Masonry and fraternal orders, 
being a member of Brainard Lodge, No. 102, F. and A. M., of Union 
Chapter, No. 7, E. A. M., of Cushing Commandery, No. 6, Knights 
Templar, and vice-president of the Brainard Lodge Corporation. He 
is a member and treasurer of the Thames Club and a member of the 
First Congregational Church of New London. In 1873 he was state 
representative and served on the committee on finance. From 1887 
to 1902 he served on the board of water commissioners and was secre- 
tary of that board for several years. He has also been at different 
times city clerk and common councilman. In politics he votes the 
Democratic ticket. His family consists of a wife, whose maiden 
name was Sarah Lee, and two children, a son, George Tracy Brown, 
and a daughter, Nancy Lee Brown, now Mrs. George Curtis Morgan, 



LIST OF BIOGRAPHIES 



VOLUME IV 



Page 

Norman Adelbert Barnes 402 

Theodore Sheldon Bassett 355 

Greorge Wells Beach 176 

Edward Fuller Bigelow 18 

William Bradford Boardman. . . . 151 

Isaac Washington Birdseye 31 

Henry Alfred Bishop 14 

William Darius Bishop 9 

John Henry Bradbury 174 

Rt. Rev. Chauneey B. Brewster. 389 

Daniel Seymour Brinsmade 28 

William Gold Brinsmade 118 

Isaac Baldwin Bristol 37 

Edward Tracy Brown 400 

Edwin Goodwin Burnham 43 

Edward Milton Burrall 360 

Randolph Henry Chandler 232 

Irving Hall Chase 55 

Edwin Clifford Chipman 192 

Charles Edward Clark 318 

Charles H. Clark 76 

Theodosius Clark 68 

George M. Clark 34 

Henry Herman Clark 72 

William Judson Clark 71c 

Robert Coit 61 

William Brainard Coit 65 

Sidney Winter Crofut 81 

George Munson Curtis 98 

George Redtield Curtis 94 

Lewis Frederick Curtis 102 

Edmund Day 86 

Sidney Ferry Dickeraian 182 

William E. Disbrow 50 

Daniel Patrick Dunn 385 

Levi Warner Eaton 108 

George Clarke Edwards 24 

Henry Elbert Fairchild 114 

Joel Farist 364 

George Austin Fay 218 



Page 

Simeon Joseph Fox 341 

Carlos French 259 

Ferdinand Gildersleeve 374 

Charles Glover 336 

Rev. Arthur Henry Goodenough. 170 

Rev. James Goodwin 393 

George M. Gunn 213 

Edwin Hallock 198 

Thomas Hamilton 381 

Owen Ruick Havens 58 

David Frederick Hollister 121 

Hohn Gordon Howland 83 

Frederick A. Hubbard 40 

Jolm Tomlinson Hubbard 105 

Marshall Jewell 134 

Lyman B. Jewell 138 

Frederick John Kingsbury, Jr. . . 142 

George Burton Lamb 332 

Henry Larrabee 47 

IMelvin Eugene Lincoln 379 

Rev. George Thomas Linsley .... 396 

George E. Matthies 91 

Heniy Seymour Mygatt Ill 

Linus Bushnell Neal 158 

Charles Hine Nettleton 148 

Wilbur Fisk Osborne 275 

Allan Wallace Paige 352 

Charles Ray Palmer, D.D 160 

Rienzi Belcher Parker 372 

Henry Remer Parrott 154 

Alexander Thomas Pattison 166 

Albert William Phillips, M.D. ... 348 

Charles Barnum Read 271 

David Famum Read 267 

David McNamary Read 263 

Frederick W. Read 125 

Frederick Benjamin Rice 188 

Charles Lee Rockwell 323 

Herbert Samuel Rowland 53 

George E. Savage 130 



Page 

George Otto Schneller 244 

Edward Hale Sears 229 

Gould Abijah Shelton, M.D 310 

James H. Smith 368 

George Edwin Somers 210 

Charles Luther Spencer 216 

Robert Russell Stannai'd 240 

Thomas Sedgwick Steele 195 

William Henry Stevenson 235 

Carl Stoeckel 206 

Gustave J. Stoeckel 202 

Christian Swartz 327 

George Sykes 221 

George Edmund Sykes 225 



Page 

James Terry 252 

David Turbee 248 

William Sherman Ward 344 

Lucian Dayton Warner 302 

Tracy Bronson Warren 294 

Thomas Aldridge Weston 288 

George Horace Wilcox 284 

Horace Cornwall Wilcox 280 

Elias Williams 185 

George Catlin WoodruflF 314 

James Gilbert Woodruff 145 

James Parsons Woodruflf 306 

Peter W. Wren 298 



LIST OF FULL PAGE PORTRAITS 



VOLUME IV 



Page 

Theodore Sheldon Bassett 356 

George Wells Beach 177 

Isaac Washington Birdseye 31 

Henry Alfred Bishop 14 

William Darius Bishop 9 

Kt. Rev. Chauncey B. Brewster. 389 

Isaac Baldwin Bristol 37 

Edward Goodwin Burnliam 43 

Edward Milton Burrall 360 

Irving Hall Chase 55 

Charles Edward Clark 318 

Charles H. Clark 76 

Theodosius Clark 68 

Henry Herman Clark 72 

William Judson Clark 71a 

Robert Coit 61 

Sidney Winter Crofut 81 

G«orge Munson Curtis 98 

George Redfield Curtis 94 

Lewis Frederick Curtis 102 

Edmund Day 86 

Sidney Feriy Dickerman 182 

William E. Disbrow 50 

Daniel Patrick Dunn 385 

Levi Warner Eaton 108 

George Clarke Edwards 24 

Henry Elbert Fairchild 114 

Joel Farist 364 

Simr m Joseph Fox 340 

Carlos French 259 

Charles Glover 336 

Rev. Arthur Henry Goodenough. 170 

Rev. James Goodwin 393 

Edwin Hallock 198 

Thomas Hamilton 381 

David Frederick Hollister 121 

Marshall Jewell 134 

Lyman B. Jewell 138 

Frederick John Kingsbury, Jr... 142 

George Burton Lamb 332 



Page 

Melvin Eugene Lincoln 379 

Rev. George Thomas Linsley. . . . 396 

Charles Hine Nettleton 148 

Wilbur Fisk Osborne 275 

Allan Wallace Paige 352 

Charles Ray Palmer, D.D 160 

Rienzi Belcher Parker 372 

Henry Remer Parrott 154 

Alexander Thomas Pattison.... 166 
Albert William Phillips, M.D. ... 348 

Charles Barnum Read 271 

David Farnum Read 267 

David McNamary Read 263 

Frederick W. Read 125 

Frederick Benjamin Rice 188 

Charles Lee Rockwell 323 

George Otto Schneller 244 

Edward Hale Sears 229 

Gould Abijah Shelton 310 

James H. Smith 368 

George Edwin Somers 210 

Charles Luther Spencer 216 

Robert Russell Stannard 240 

Thomas Sedgwick Steele 195 

William Henry Stevenson 235 

Gustave J. Stoeckel 202 

Christian Swartz 327 

George Sykes 221 

George Edmund Sykes 225 

James Terry 252 

David Trubee 248 

William Sherman Ward 344 

Lucian Dayton Warner 302 

Tracy Bronson Warren 294 

Thomas Aldridge Weston 288 

George Horace Wilcox 284 

Horace Cornwall Wilcox 280 

George Catlin Woodruff 314 

James Parsons Woodruff 306 

Peter W. Wren 298 




'# 








LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 




014 111653 8 *■