(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Meredith, N.H. : annals and genealogies"

' H 33 




MEREDITH, N. H. 



Annals and Genealogies 



ARRANGED BY 

MARY E. NEAL HANAFORD 



1932 



The Rumjord Press, concord, n. h., u. s. a. 



KIND FRIENDS: 

TO GATHER THESE BRANCHES OF FAMILIES HAS BEEN 
NO SMALL TASK. ALMOST OBSCURITY SURROUNDS THE 
LIVES OF MANY OF THE EARLY SETTLERS IN THESE OLD 
TOWNS. WE HAVE GROPED IN MANY DARK BYWAYS TO 
OPEN UP A RAY OF LIGHT REGARDING THESE EARLY 
PIONEERS. THE RESOURCES HAVE BEEN VARIED — EARLY 
CHURCH RECORDS AND GRAVESTONE INSCRIPTIONS THAT 
WERE PARTIALLY OBLITERATED. WE HAVE TROUBLED 
MANY HOUSEWIVES TO UNPACK OLD FAMILY BIBLES, 
WHICH WERE VERY GRACIOUSLY BROUGHT OUT, WITH 
VERY VALUABLE DATA THAT HELPED CONNECT THESE 
THREADS IN LINES OF FAMILIES — FOR WHICH WE THANK 
ONE AND ALL. 

Mary E. Neal Hanaford 



MEREDITH 

You may talk of Switzerland's snow-capped mountains, 

Of the moors and locks so clear, 

You may praise the fiords of Norway 

And her waters wild and grand ; 

What of Meredith Bay's pretty views 

Right here in our native land? 

Here we view the cloud-capped White Mountains; 

What of Belknap's protecting grace? 

Can we find old-world marvels 

More grand than the "Great Stone Face"? 

And the Indian Head near by 

Silently stood guard in days gone by. 

Our Meredith Hills rise high and grand 
Over Waukewan, and Wicwas ponds, 
And with protecting arms have 
Guarded many a home in days gone by 
From winter's storms, and icy blasts, — 
Let us give thanks while life does last. 



.MEREDITH 

Meredith was incorporated in 1768. In 1799 Stonedam and 
Bear Islands were annexed. In 1855 the southeasterly portion 
was set off and called Laconia; and in 1873 a portion of Meredith 
was joined on to Center Harbor. 

"Measley Pond" (Waukewan Lake) is connected with Lake 
Winnipesaukee by a small river, which affords some water power. 

The first settlers came in 1748, and called the locality Packers- 
town. Later it was called New Salem, until Meredith was in- 
corporated, in 1768, where the early settlers had a hard struggle 
to live. 

The first child born in the wilderness was "Tamar," daughter of 
Jacob Eaton, who was born March 11, 1767, and the second child 
was Daniel, son of Ebenezer Smith and wife Sarah (Spiller) 
Smith, July 4, 1768. 

The various conditions of the town have been written and re- 
written, so I will pass them by and try and trace out some of the 
early ancestry of the old families of Meredith. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 

OF 

OLD MEREDITH 



MEREDITH 
By George Frank Smith 

In 1606, by charter from King James, Virginia extended from 
the 34th to the 44th north latitude, or from Cape Fear, on the 
south, to Penobscot Bay, on the north, and extended to the Great 
Lakes, so that all New England belonged to the Colony of Vir- 
ginia. Later by a subdivision this territory was divided into 
North and South Virginia. 

In 1621 John Mason of London, England, bought a section 
including the Lake Winnipisocky, Lake Champlain, and extending 
to the St. Lawrence River. This tract was called Laconia. By 
this transaction Meredith became a part of Laconia. In 1632 the 
region of the lake was visited by a party of explorers from Ports- 
mouth, who came by the way of the Piscataqua River, but no 
move was made to push settlement in this direction, on account 
of the numerous tribes of Indians who occupied the lake region. 

Twenty years later, there being a dispute as to the boundary 
of the "Bay State Grant," commissioners were sent out by Gov- 
ernor Endicott to run out and make the boundary. They 
ascended the Merrimac River to Aquadoctan at the outlet of 
Winnipisocky Pond (now Weirs). Here they left inscriptions 
on the now famous " Endicott Rock," in the middle of the channel, 
at the outlet of the lake, in honor of their Governor, more than 
250 years ago. Here, then, is the first authentic record of the 
white man's visit to our town. 

Aquadochitan, now called "The Weirs," and until 1855 a part 
of the town of Meredith, was the scene of many unfortunate 
events in the days of the early settlers. Here the various tribes 
of Indians used to convene to receive their supply of fish; and at 
this time the channel, leading out of the lake, was fitted with 
"wares," for catching salmon, shad and other kinds of fish. 

Here they assembled in the great war dances, and, under the 
leadership of the warlike Chief "Wohawa," a council was called 
to influence the neighboring tribes. Just previous to the bloody 
days of 1675, the intrepid Lovell used to come to punish the red- 
skins for their bloody forays upon the settlers. 

Here blockhouses were built for the protection of the early 
settlers, but they proved inadequate, and many bloody scenes 



4 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

were enacted. Then a fort was built, the remains of which may 
still be seen near The Weirs. 

From 1689 to 1716 New Hampshire was under the control of 
Massachusetts, though in fact there was little in this section to 
control, save the savages. During this period very little progress 
is noted. 

At this time Meredith was called New Salem. The present 
boundary between Massachusetts and New Hampshire was 
established in 1740. 

The first actual settlement of the town was begun in 1748. 
The land being "seuveyed," and laid out as the town of Salem, 
which was soon changed to New Salem, and it was called by this 
name until its incorporation as the town of Meredith, December 
30, 1768, but until that time business was done and meetings were 
held principally at Exeter. 

Among the names of the proprietors were those of Leavitt, 
Shaw, Taylor, Sibley, Bartlett, Whicher, Norris, Fifield, Sanborn, 
Gale, Clark, Thurston, Chase, Robinson, Smith, Jewett, Goodhue, 
Moore, Palmer, Wentworth, Wadleigh, Rowe, etc. 

Six acres were set aside for a schoolhouse, a church, and a train- 
field, also a location for the first settled minister. Each person 
drawing a lot was to build a home and improve the land to some 
extent, within eight years. A meeting house was to be built in 
ten years. 

At a proprietors' meeting held January 2, 1768, it was voted to 
tax the proprietors the sum of 4,000 pounds, to be paid the first 
proprietors who should settle and fall six acres of trees, within 
one year, and clear up three acres of said land fit for planting or 
mowing in sixteen months. 

The first sawmill was built upon the Weirs channel, at the out- 
let of the lake, but was soon removed to the lower part of the 
town, as the water power was better there. After a few years it 
was carried away by a freshet and was rebuilt on the Gilmanton, 
now Gilford, side of the river. 

At a meeting January 6, 1 766, it was voted that Ebenezer Smith 
and William Mead have charge of the sawmill for the next three 
years, and that they shall saw logs to the halves for any of the 
proprietors in said town who shall bring logs upon the stage of the 
mill. 

January 5, 1767, "Voted that Mr. Joshua Folsom shall have 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 5 

paid him forty shillings, lawful money, if he do build a good grist- 
mill in the aforesaid town of New Salem, on a stream that runs 
out of a Pond, between Richard Wibard and Joseph Robinson lot 
into the Great Bay in said township, and finish it completely fit to 
grind corn and grain." This was the mill at Meredith Center. 

June 13, 1769, at a proprietors' meeting held in Exeter, it was 
voted to pay Ebenezer Smith ten pounds and sixteen shillings for 
his charges in getting the incorporation of the town of Meredith. 

The first proprietors' meeting held in Meredith was held at the 
house of Ebenezer Smith, Esq. 

Sept. 17, 1778, William Mead was chosen moderator. 
"2. Vote Ebenezer Smith, town clerk, and sworn. 

3. Ebenezer Smith, Reuben Marston and Ebenezer Pitman, 

to selectmen, and sworn. 

4. Nicholas Carr Folsom, constable, and sworn. 

5. Abraham Folsom, Reuben Marston, surveyor, and sworn. 

6. Thomas Danford, Ebenezer Pitman, as tithing men. 

7. Abram Folsom, Robert Bryant, as assessors and auditors. 

8. Samuel Torrey, Abram Folsom, as fence viewers." 
April 1, 1771, "Voted that the town petition the General 

Court of said Province that the inhabitants of Meredith, may 
have liberty to catch fish in Quinnipisockey River three days in 
each week, that the river be kept clean of Wears, or any other 
incumbrance to the passage of fish, the other four days of each 
week." 

April 6, 1772, "Voted that no person shall use upon the public 
roads of this town any ox sled, or sleds under the dimensions of 
four feet six inches, in width, under the power of forfeiture of 
same to be taken from him, by the selectmen, and to be utterly 
destroyed." 

April 4, 1774, "Voted to build a meetinghouse in said town." 
April 3, 1775, "Voted to raise six shillings lawful money to be 
devoted to hire preaching, some part of the year ensueing, also 
voted to raise the same amount for schooling, and that the select- 
men be instructed to hire some suitable woman to keep the same, if 
such woman could be found." A sum of money was offered to 
the first child born in the new settlement. The first birth was 
that of Tama, daughter of Jacob Eaton, March 11, 1767. The 
second birth was Daniel, son of Ebenezer Smith and wife Sarah 
Spillar, and it was stated that boys were so much more appre- 



6 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

ciated than girls that the money was divided between them, 

instead of all going to the one born first, which would un- 
doubtedly have been given the boy, if he had come first. 
Oct. 4, 1775, the population was 

All males under 16 years 70 

From 16 to 50 years 50 

All males above 50 years 7 

Persons in the army 10 

All females 122 



259 
Arms and ammunition on hand: 30 guns, 50 pounds of powder, 
100 weight lead, 1 2 dozen gun flints, 1 1 guns carried into the army. 
The selectmen were Ebenezer Smith, William Mead, Nathan- 
iel Robinson. 

The Revolutionary Period 

A strong patriotic stand was taken in the Revolutionary con- 
test. At a special town meeting held May 15, 1775, Ebenezer 
Smith was chosen as deputy, to meet with deputies from other 
towns, with full power to adopt such measures as may be judged 
most expedient to preserve and restore the rights of the other 
Colonies. 

"Voted that the selectmen, of this town, purchase one barrel of 
powder with lead bullets, flints as shall be needed, also ten guns, 
also voted to enlist soldiers to hold themselves in readiness, to 
march to the relief of any of our distressed country brethren, and 
that they be furnished at the cost of the town, and that each sol- 
dier shall receive the sum of two shillings for each day hedoputin." 

August 29, 1776, they chose a Committee of Safety, consisting 
of John Folsom, Jonathan Smith, Nathaniel Robinson, William 
Mead, and Lieut. Joseph Roberts; 45 pounds was appropriated 
for firearms, etc. 

At this time a copy of the Declaration of Independence was 
presented to be signed by every male citizen over 21 years old. 
There were 48 in all. This was done in every town and grant 
throughout the State, and a record was kept in the State records 
with the name of every man who refused to sign the same, and a 
close watch was kept on all whose loyalty to the cause of Inde- 
pendence was doubted. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 7 

Among those who entered the Continental Army these names 
appear from Meredith: Nathaniel Holland, John Robinson, Jona- 
than Crosby, Jonathan Smith, Moses Senter, Olion Smith, Thos 
Froheck, Aaron Rawlins, Joseph Eaton, James Sinclair, and 
William Meloon. 

During the War of 1812, Theophilis Dockham of Meredith was 
taken prisoner at General Hull's defeat. 

When the Province of New Hampshire withdrew allegiance to 
King George a temporary group was formed to conduct the 
affairs of the Province, and Ebenezer Smith of Meredith was 
sent as delegate to a convention, which adopted a constitution 
and chose the Hon. Meschic Weare as president. This was the 
first constitution and the first president of the United States. 

The town meetings were held up to 1855, in the old townhouse 
situated on what is known as the Parade, Laconia then being 
known as a part of Meredith. 

It had been decided to build a new townhouse in some other 
location. The northern part of the town outvoting the southern 
or Meredith Bridge portion, the new townhouse was located at 
Meredith Village. 

On March 13, 1855, the first meeting was called, to be held in 
the new hall. The new hall proved to be faulty in construction, 
and there ensued a great catastrophe, caused by the breaking 
down of the floor, precipitating a mass of human beings many 
feet upon the rocks and debris below. None was killed outright, 
but several died of injuries. Following this Meredith Bridge 
was set off by itself and took the name of Laconia. 

On May 11, 1840, Luke Fernald, Joseph Dodge, David Corliss 
Jr., Nathaniel Corliss and John Busiel, formed the organization 
known as the First Fire Engine Co. of Meredith Village. 

Meredith furnished a large quota of her citizens towards the 
army for putting down the Rebellion. Out of a voting population 
of about 500, she contributed a total of 22 per cent officers and 
men, and showed that her people were worthy descendants of 
those noble and patriotic settlers who combined the use of the axe, 
the plow, and the rifle, as they carved out their homes in the 
wilderness. 

On January 28, 1792, the meetinghouse stood on the Parade. 
The first settled pastor of whom I find any record was Rev. Fin- 
ley Williams, whose success as a pastor was not to the liking of his 



8 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

people, so after a period of five years he handed in his resignation. 
He was chiefly noted for having a son who ran away, shipped to 
Russia, entered the service of the Czar, distinguished himself, 
became chief admiral of the Russian Navy, and was made a noble- 
man by the Czar. He visited his old home in 1841 in great state. 

I would like to follow the ecclesiastical history of the town, 
which is very interesting, but the limits of this paper forbid: how 
the Baptist Church was formed in 1779, and how Elder Nicholas 
Folsom, the first pastor, labored faithfully and untiringly under 
very discouraging circumstances, enduring hardships and destitu- 
tion ; and of other religious societies with very interesting histories, 
all of which have had times of prosperity and adversity, but have 
moved steadily forward in their great work, caring for the moral 
and spiritual life of the town. 

Among the early business men of the town were J. B. Swasey, 
whose store stood near where the residence of A. A. Kidder now 
stands, and Samuel Gilman, with a store on the post office site, and 
a pottery back of the lot on which the North Church stands. 
There were at one time three tanneries and a bark mill, where the 
hemlock bark was ground for the use of the tanneries. The latter 
was located at the bridge near the cemetery. Later the site was 
purchased by Seneca Ladd, who carried on an extensive carriage 
manufacturing business, until the plant was destroyed by fire. 
After that he leased the large mill or the "Cotton Mill," as it was 
then called, and entered upon the construction of pianofortes, 
which business he carried on very successfully for many years. 

The cotton manufacturing business was started here by some 
of the leading citizens who formed a company for that purpose. 
Joseph W. Lang, Sr., was agent and proved successful for several 
years. It changed hands and was finally given up. John Towle 
should be mentioned as another of the early traders. 

The subject of this paper opens an almost inexhaustible mine, 

but time forbids continuing further. „ „ „ 

George Frank Smith. 

This was read before the Grange in January, 1904, and soon after 
printed in the Meredith News when Mrs. Eva S. Blake was editor. 

COPY OF ORIGINAL RECORD 

Proprietors' Book of the Township of New Salem, November 3, 
1748, formerly called Packerstown. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



A list of the names of a nomber of men that Dejiev that they may have a 
town ship or trackt of land granted or giuen to them and their heairs for ever. 

Gentlemen whose wright it is to grant or give and request we bring the Lot 
and Duteficial Subjeths to his Majesty King George the Second — we pay you 
to grant or give to us apart of the Land which is to be Laide out into townships 
in our frounttars a bone — 



Ensign Jonath Longfellow 
Benj a Shaw 
Richard Scammon 
Daniel Smith 
Benj Xorris 
William Chase 
Joseph fieto 
John Taylor 
David Rawlins 
Benjamin Smith 
John Purmot 
James Gibson 
Josiah Dandborn 
in the right of 
Josiah Sandborn 
Joseph marvel 
Abra n Clark 
Joseph Rawlin 
Robard Cotton 
Oleuer Smith 
Tilton Lawrence 



SIGNERS 

Joseph Clark 
Captain John Shaw 
James Scammon 
Daniel Gale 
Sam 1 Xorris 
Moses Chase 
Josiah Robinson jr 
Jacob Loue 
Joseph Robinson 
Sam" Goodhu 
Benj Juet 
Joseph Mosfes 
Daniel Thurston 
Sam" Goodhue 
Oliver Smith 
Joseph juett 
Joseph person 
Nath n Batchelder 
John Smith 
Elisha Smith 
John Smith 



Jona th Sibley 
John Light 
Joseph Wadligh 
Samuel Xorris 
Benj" Whicher 
Elazras Dow 
Moses Rawling 
Chase Robinson 
Joseph Rawlins 
Jonathan Shaw 
Josiah Sandborn 
Sam" Palmos 3d 
John morgan 
Thomas ford 
Jacob Longfellow 
Jonathan Wadleigh 
Eliphalet Rawlin 
Ephra Robinson 
Joseph Knowlton 
Daniel olson 



Nov the 10th, 1748, meet as followeth that is — 

Voted Ensign oleur Smith moderator, and Joseph Rawlins Clerk. 

Voted Jethro person toeshear to keued the money that is to be paid by the 
Sicity for careing on the layout. 

Voted Jacob Rawlins five pound old tenor for his part, servues in going to 
the bank and for his expense and copeys relating to Masons wright and quit 
claim to be paid by the treaseuer. 

Thursday Xovember the 2d 1752 

Att a meeting of the propriators of Salem, held by adjorment, at the house 
of Tilton Lawrence at Stratham, in sd province, — 

1st voted that there should be a commitee to choose to lay out the second 
location of lots in sd town. 

2d voted John Leavitt be one of commity, & Joseph Wadleigh, Tilton 
Lawrence, Benj Juet, Ensign Oliver Smith comitee. 

3d voted the comtey have power to hire afistance to the number encluding 
themselves that, they have thirty shillings pr day each man, each day. 

Voted that the comity haue power to hirer a Surueire. We farther fiend 
that their is du to the commitv that laid out the first Deuison of lots viz 



10 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Due to Josiah Sandborn 40-10 

" " Joseph Rawlins 11-2 

" " Daniel Smith 13-3 

" " Tilton Lawrence 36-10 

" " John Sandborn 01-10 

" " Mr. Long fellow 00-190 

Daniel Smith 

Josiah Sandborn \ Committe 

Joseph Clark 

Names of those who have been up and laid out said land as agreed, by records 
and sold to Samuel Palmer and others a tract six miles square: 
Dec ye 26th 1752. 

Oliner Smith 
Joseph Rawlins 
Benj Jewett 

Benj Jewett Survyor. 

The books show that after the division of land, they compelled 
the owners to work twelve days a year to help clear the land, 
before 1766. At a meeting in Exeter they voted to tax each 
original proprietor thirty pounds, old tenor, to help build a road, 
also to build a saw mill, and other improvements. 

The 14th of June, 1768, at a meeting at the house of Caleb 
Robinson, innholder in Exeter, after perambulation of the lines 
of the town, they chose a committee to lay out the second and 
third division into lots according to the charter. 

Voted to have a committee to clean the Province Road through 
the town, and each proprietor should have a chance to work out 
his proportion in clearing of land at three shillings a day, and if a 
man was delinquent he shall be "Doch d " of his wages. 

The Records show that they perambulated much over different 
subjects for some years, until the sections were some of them 
settled. 

FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 

The old town of Meredith "embrased the part of the present 
Laconia, and Lake Village, on the west side of the Winnipiseogee 
River, and Long Bay, the Weirs, Meredith Village, and Mere- 
dith Center, Paugus and Opechee lakes." 

The grant of land was to forty-six men, to which twenty after- 
ward were added. This grant was bought in the house of widow 
Sarah Prush in Portsmouth in December, 1748, of the heirs of 
John Tufton Mason." 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 11 

This tract of land was bargained as six square miles, but the 
encroachment of the waterways on the land reduced the acreage 
so that another grant was added in 1754, making the north line 
twelve miles instead of seven, thus adding Meredith Neck. 
This tract was divided into one hundred shares, reserving six 
acres on the Parade, on the old Province Road, for a meeting- 
house, a schoolhouse, a burying ground, a training field, and for 
what other purposes the inhabitants saw fit to use it. 

Here on this tract for years stood the old meetinghouse and the 
tavern. At one time it was the center of business. 

In 1768 the town was incorporated as New Salem. The 
boundary of the town was given as follows: "Beginning at a 
hemlock tree, by the great bay of the Winnepeseogy River, which 
is the northeasterly corner bounds of that tract of land, granted 
to John Sanborn, and others, and which lies adjoining to the land 
hereby granted, and runs from said tree northwesterly six miles 
to a beech tree, marked, which is the northwesterly corner bounds 
of said tract of land, then running fifty-five degrees east, about 
seven miles, to a white oak tree, by the side of Winnepiseogy 
Pond, marked on four sides, then running southeasterly by the 
side of said pond to the river aforesaid, then on said run to the 
Great Bay, to the hemlock first mentioned." 

In 1777 the town was nine years old, and it was hard work for 
the residents who did not enlist. They were: John Folsom, 
Nicholas Carr Folsom (his son), Joshua Folsom, Joseph Robards, 
Samuel Torrey, David Watson, John Judkins, George Bean, 
Jonathan Clark, Gordon Lawrence, Nathaniel Dockham, William 
and John and Benjamin Mead, Reuben Marston, Jr., Thomas 
Frohack, John Gilman, Isaac Farrar, John Dockham, Joseph 
Sweasey, Jacob Eaton, Benjamin Batchelder, Philip Conner, 
Nathaniel Holland, Robert Bryant, Benjamin Sinclair, Nathaniel 
and Gideon Robinson, William Ray, James Merrill, Thomas 
Sinclair, David Broughton, Eben Pitman, Abram Swain, Joshua 
Crockett, John Kimball, Thomas Dockham, Jonathan and 
Pearson Smith, Timothy Somes, Jonathan Edgerly, Daniel 
Morrison, Jonathan and Samuel Shephard, Jonathan Crosby, 
Elias Swain, Chase Robinson, Abraham Folsom. 

The Revolutionary soldiers were: Nathaniel Holland, John 
Robinson, Jonathan Crosby, Jonathan Smith, Jr., Moses Senter, 
Oliver Smith, Thomas Frohawk, Aaron Rawlins, Joseph Eaton, 



12 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

James Sinclair and William Meloon. More went into the war 
later on. 

An early school-teacher was Jeremiah Smith ("by cash paid 
Jonathan Smith, for scholling; by paid yourself for your wife's 
schooling"). In 1775 the town voted to hire some suitable woman 
to teach. Other teachers were: Eli Folsom, Levi Towle, Solomon 
Daniels, Joshua Smith, William Lowney, Caleb Jones, James 
Folsom, Pelham Sturtevant, Jewell Glines and Coffin. 

In April, 1778, the town voted to petition the Court to change 
the name of the town to Meredith. 

The town meetings were held, up to 1855, in the old townhouse 
on the Parade. Then a new townhouse was built at Meredith 
Village, where the sad accident occurred that injured so many. 

In 1840 Luke Fernald, Joseph Dodge, David and Nathaniel Corlis 
with John Busiel formed a Fire Engine Co., at Meredith Village. 

There were three tanneries and a bark mill, which were 
located on the brook near Plymouth Street cemetery gate, 
and were run by William H. Fernald. Later Seneca Ladd 
had a large carriage factory there, which was burned. He later 
made pianos there also. 

Captain Daniel Smith went to Meredith from New Hampton, 
N. H. It is thought that his father was the builder of the toll 
bridge. He built a sawmill and a house at the corner of Main 
Street of waste lumber, in a solid wall, using nails and spikes that 
had been pounded out by hand from rods and bars in the black- 
smith shop. 

"Free" Clough and his brother, William O. Clough, were born 
in Gray, Maine. They went to Meredith when small boys. Mr. 
Clough was in the Civil War. He enlisted from Meredith. He 
had a son, Eugene F. Clough, who was a well-known singer. 

The Old Cart Path 

A return of highway laid out by us the Subscribers in the town of Meredith 

begining at the end of the road at the brook on Samuel Silleys land in the 

second division thence runing as the Cart way, is trod thru the said Silleys land 

by his house, and by the house of Morris Tucker, by the house of Ensign Daniel 

Smith to the road that leads from Sanbornton to New Hampton: said road is 

laid out three rods wide and the center of the Cart Path is the center of the 

road. 

Meredith Nov. 9, 1792 

EBEN r Smith „ , . 

Selectmen 
John Mead 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 13 

The Return of the road leading from the Province Road to the road leading 
from Elias Swains to Dows Mill, begining at or near James Quimbysjr, dwelling 
house, where the path is now trod, and continues thru Mr. Isaac Farrars, and 
Nathaniel Wadleighs land, where the Path is now trod and also thru land of 
Elias Swain jr, until it strikes the said Mill Road, the center of said path to be 
the center of said road; said road to be two rods wide, and the said Farrar is to 
have the Range on the northerly side, of said Road so far as his land enters, 
which he bought of Abraham Folsom, and also five dollars in cash in compensa- 
tion for the road going thru his land, also Nathaniel Wadleigh is to have as 
much of the Range way at the end of his land as the said roadway takes out of 
his land in compensation for the road going thru his land, and also Elias Swain 
jr, is to have as much of the Range way at the westerly end of his land two rods 
in width, as said road takes out of his land in compensation. 
Meredith March 4, 1795 

Eben 1 " Smith 

John Mead Selectmen 

Reuben Morgan 
We the subscribers do hereby agree to the above return & recompence for 
said road 

Isaac Farrar 
Nathaniel Wadleigh 
Elias Swain 



Third Division of Land 

State of New Hampshire A return of a highway laid out by the Sub- 
Strafford Co. scribers in the third division of land in said Town 

bounded as follows, to wit, begining at end of the road that lead by the house 
of James Gilman, to land William Mead jr, thence thru land, Meads land by 
his house so on to Zebulon Sinclairs by the east end of his house, thence on to 
Theophilus Dockhams by the northeast side of his house, thence to land where 
Philip Merrill lives to the range way between the Lots numbered 78 & 79, the 
course of said road are as the Cartway is cut out of the center of the road as the 
center of the way is now in use, the aforesaid road is laid out two rods and one 
half in weadth and we the subscribs Selectmen allow and set off unto the said 
William Mead jr, the whole of the range-way at the southeast end of his lot 
and one rod of the range way at the northwast end of the Lot we allow unto the 
owner, of the lot numbered 65, one rod of the sideway in weadth and one rod 
of the Range-way at the southeast end of the Lot adjoining the same and we 
allow up to the owner of the Lot numbered 65 one rod of the sideway at the 
east end of said lot we allow unto the owner of the lot number 64 and 75, as 
many rods or so much land as said road took from said lot out of the range 
or sideway adjoining said lot 
Meredith Nov r 1795 

Ebeneezer Smith 

John Mead Selectmen 

Gordon Lawrence 



14 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

We the Subscribers owners of land in part where the above said road is laid 
out agree to the same Laying out of said highway and of the Recompence 
allowed by the said Selectmen for the land taken from us by said road. 
Meredith July 21, 1796 

EBEN r Smith 
Theophiles Dockham 
William Mead 



Layout of One of the First Roads in Meredith 

A return of the highway laid out by us the Subscribers, begining at the road 
near the house of Jacob Bunker, and riming on the line between the said 
Bunker and Ensign Joseph Neal, north westerly 76 rods to a Rangeway, then 
on the same course across said range in to Reuben Mastons jr, land thence 
through the Marston land north westerly on the road now spotted and marked 
by the west end of his barn 132 rods to the line of the town of New Hampton, 
near the dwelling house of Johnson Norris, in said New Hampton, and the lines 
as here described are the senter of said highway and the same is laid out forty 
feet in weadth, and as the aforesaid highway taken twenty feet in weadth 76 
rods in length of land of the said Neals, we allow and set off to him therefor the 
land left for a cross way between the 16 & 17 Lots in the wast division joining 
the said Neals land, and on the said road takes the same quantity of land from 
the said Jacob Bunker, we allow unto and set off unto him the range way at the 
northwest end of his land, being about 36 rods in length, and we allow and set 
off unto the said Reuben Marston jr, for the land taken from him for said 
rangeway at the northwest end of his land that he purchased of Bradbury 
Gilman 26 rods in length, and two rods in weadth, of the range way at the 
southeast end of his land that he owns in the 4th lot in the said 3d division, 
from the land where on James Black live to the afore said new road, also the 
range way to the northeast of the said new road until it conyain 22 rods in 
length from said new road. 

Meredith August 14, 1794 

Ebenezer Smith 

John Mead Selectmen 

Reuben Morgan 

The same day we the subscribers agree to the above laying out of said road 
and the recompence for the land taken from us. 

Joseph Neal, Reuben Marston Jr., Jacob Bunker 
Edmund Black, Samuel Spiler, James Black 

A return of a highway laod out by us the subscribers, begining at the road 
by Samuel Sibleys dwelling house in the second division in Meredith, and is 
laid out in the Cart Way is now trod thru the said Sibleys, Thomas Dolloff, 
Amos Leavitt, Samuel Leavitt and Nathaniel Sanborns land to the brook 
south of the said Sanborns barn thence on the road is spoted thru the said 
Sanborns land, Samuel Edgerlys land Ebeneezer Seaveys land, Deacon Trues 
land and school lot to Sanbornton line to meet the road in said Sanbornton, 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 15 

leading by the house of John Taylor, said road is laid out three rods in width, 
the senter of the Cart Way, and the spotted line is the center of the road. 
Meredith Nov 8- 1792 

Ebenezer Smith 
John Mead Selectmen 

Reuben Morgan 
Meredith Aug 16, 1794, We the Subscribers have this day been and viewed 
the above said road and turned the same to the northwestward thru Nathaniel 
Sanborns pasture and field fifty three rods in length where the same is spotted 
and marked about three years since. 

Ebenezer Smith 
John Mead Selectmen 

Reuben Morgan 
We the subscribers Selectmen of Meredith, herey allow and set off unto 
Samuel Sibley of Meredith, ninty five rods of the rangeway at the northerly 
end of his lot of land where he now lives the whole width of the Range, it being 
an allowance, made him for that length of high way thru his land at the north- 
erly part of his said Lot which he has not before had an allowance for. Mere- 
dith Jan 22- 1799 

Ebenezer Smith 
James Gilman Selectmen 
Daniel Smith 
I Samuel Sibley agree to the above laying out, by the Selectmen. 

A Legend of Bear Island 

Several decades gone by Charles Prescott and William Neal 
owned land on Bear Island, where they pastured cattle during the 
summer months. This land had considerable wood and timber on 
it, and one winter they put some woodchoppers over there cutting 
wood. One evening after supper they thought they would drive 
over and see how the men were getting along with the chopping. 
One of the owners had a spry stepper, and they started out from 
Meredith, on the ice, and drove down around the Neck and over 
by Stonedam Island, supposing the ice was strong over the ledges 
there. All at once the horse and sleigh went down through the 
ice. The horse gave a spring and landed on a rock, and the two 
men climbed out on the rock, pulled the sleigh out, started 
out again and landed on Bear Island. They went to Aunt Dolly 
Nichols' for shelter, feeling pretty chilly after their dip. 
She at once came to their rescue, took the men and wet horse into 
her kitchen, helped dry the horse, and then made some hot 
drinks for the men. All came out none the worse for their scare, 
so the story goes. 



16 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Deed of Land for Meetinghouse and Burying Place 

Copy of deed of land for meetinghouse and burying place, the 
first one in Meredith, opposite the "Old Pound." 

John Leavitt to the town of Meredith, N. H. 

John Leavitt of Exeter for one shilling paid by Ebenezer Smith, in behalf of 
the town of Meredith to the "Inhabitants of said Meredith and their suc- 
cessors for ever, one acre of my land in Meredith aforesaid, to be taken out of 
the first Division Lot drew to my original Right in Said town, the westerly side 
of the so called Province Road, within thirty rods of the north side of said Lott, 
to be taken in a square piece ajoyning said road for a privilage for said town to 
set a Meeting House, and have a Buiring place, and aney such publick useses 
of said town and no other useses but such as Publick in Said Town." 

(Signed) John Leavitt. 

1767. James Gibson, for his share 20 pounds in New Salem, to Eben r 
Smith. 

Copy of conveyance from Eben r Smith, to John Jenness, Sep- 
tember 19, 1795: 

"Whole of James Gibson, (Meredith Bay) for $300, where Said Jenness now 
lives and has for sundrie years past lived and improved and built a Corn Mill, 
House, Barn, and part of a Saw Mill, thereon, excepting out of the same the one 
half part of the stream whereon said Mill stands, with the priviledge to hole 
Logs and Boards from Winnipisoco pond thru the mill yard to Measle Pond, in 
said Lot which I have deeded to William Davise by the desire of said Jenness." 

One right purchased by Ebenezer Smith of John Neal: "1773. 
John Neal to Eben r Smith, the original Jonathan Wadleigh, 1st 
Div., No. 1, 5th Range, for ninty pounds." 

(This John Neal was a brother of "White Oak" Joseph Neal, 
who walked up from Stratham with Joseph and settled in Mere- 
dith. He sold out and removed, according to tradition, to Ver- 
mont; never been able to trace the family or descendants.) 

The Old Cemetery at Laconia 

The land was given for it by Col. Samuel Ladd for a family 
burying ground for the Ladd family. 

Edward Ladd, father of Col. Samuel Ladd, was the first one 
to be buried there, some time previous to 1801. 

Col. Samuel Ladd had two children, both girls, who became 
the first and second wives of Stephen Perley. 

After the decease of Colonel Ladd the lot went into the hands 
of the Perley heirs. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 17 

Col. Samuel Ladd died Apr. 9, 1801, aged 57 yrs.; his wife died 
June 18, 1808, aged 56 yrs. 

There were many stones that crumbled and fell to pieces. 
There were 166 disinterred, and probably over 60 bodies not 
moved from where they had rested since 1801. 

The bodies in this old yard were removed in 1865, as they were 
in the heart of Laconia, which is now the center of the town, to 
make room for buildings, but tradition states that many bodies 
were not found. 

The Old Meredith Pound 

The "Pound" was one of the chief public structures, in use 
instead of private barnyards for caring for stray stock. 

The town of Meredith had built a wooden "Pound " previously, 
but in 1 789 they voted to build one of stone, thirty-six feet square, 
which was used for many decades; but as the farmers gradually 
fenced their land with stone walls this venerable landmark was 
deserted, and gradually grew to be an unsightly spot on the old 
"Province Road " over Meredith Parade. It was built of common 
stones except the front, which was of split rock, with a wooden 
gate that was gone except the hinges, and the posts were tipped 
forward. 

Mrs. Mary Gale Hibbard, the Mary Butler Chapter historian, 
found an old deed that was never recorded, donating the " Pound " 
and the first burying ground, where the pioneers and Revolu- 
tionary soldiers were laid to rest. She at once had the deed 
recorded. 

This property was deeded to the town of Meredith. Later the 
town was divided and the part where this is located called 
Laconia. A committee of ladies went before the City Council 
and asked the town to clean up the graveyard and repair the 
"Pound," as it was town property. 

An appropriation was made and the yard cleaned up and the 
front of the "Pound" repaired, as far as the money would go. 
One of the D. A. R. members donated a granite marker in 
memory of three of her grandfathers, Jeremiah Smith, Joseph 
Neal, and Reuben Marston, Jr., who was the former pound- 
keeper, and had it placed on the front wall of the "Pound." It 
bore the inscription: "Old Meredith Pound, 1789." 



18 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Personnel of Early Pioneers of Meredith Bridge 

Daniel Avery was a trader in 1790. He built a factory. 

Dr. Zadoc Bowman was practicing medicine in Laconia. His 
descendants were David Bowman and Mrs. Daniel Tilton. 

Malachi Davis, 1790. Nathaniel Davis, called Island Davis, 
occupied Davis Island. He was a commanding leader in preach- 
ing and public discussions. In his house were twenty-one rooms. 
They had a school there which was attended by children who 
came over the bridge from the mainland. He had four sons and 
four daughters. John Davis taught school there on the Island. 
Later he was agent in a factory at Lake Village. They were 
Millerites. William Miller in 1840 had a camp meeting on the 
Island. 

A tavern opposite the courthouse was run by Eager, the name 
and tavern gone. 

Abraham Folsom settled in town in 1781. He had a mill, and 
his old house, renovated, still stands at Lakeport. 

Col. Samuel Ladd had a mill bought of Stephen Gale. A 
freshet in 1779 carried it away, then another was built. It was 
carried away three years in succession, and another built each time. 

THE MEREDITH BRIDGE FELLOWS 

Compliments of Fred H. Coffin, Job Printer 

The "varses" below were the contents of a letter passed through 
the post office at a Levee held at Meredith Bridge about 1850, and 
were given to the public at the request of the anxious "marms" 
of these nice young men. 

Some write of flowers, and hills and streams, 
Some write of hopes, and sighs and dreams; 
But mine shall be a nobler task, 
The Meredith Beau the theme I ask. 

Highest among them stands C. S. Gale, 

Who ne'er feared of riding a rail; 

Query — why? his legs are so long, 

Ten men couldn't raise him though ever so strong. 

Then Rufus Parker, so tall and so slim, 

That the young ladies say he looks very prim; 

And right on his track is Isaiah A., 

Who acts with the girls tho' the d — l's to pay. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 19 

Next on the list is Henry G. Tilton, 
Who some people think is a second John Milton, 
While others declare that the great Henry Clay 
Will be far eclipsed by his namesake some day. 

And now we come to James H. T., 
Who's as clever a fellow as you often see; 
Treat him well and he'll use you right, 
But steal his fruit and he's apt to fight. 

There's another Tilton, by most called Dan, 
And all agree he's a nice young man; 
But 'tis my opinion he's one of the b'hoys! 
Brim full of his fun, and frolic and noise. 

Lo, who comes next? 'tis Doctor Sam, 

With his jolly fat face — as happy as a clam; 

If you're troubled with hypos, or some call 'em blues, 

Just send for the Doctor, he'll tell you the news. 

John T. Coffin acts well his part, 
Tho' small of stature he's large of heart; 
And since never before his name I've rung, 
Let me now introduce you to Samuel Young. 

Then there's Joe Hill and Albert Clough, 
Where the girls all go to purchase such stuff, 
As laces and ribbons and other such trash, 
As tickles their fancy and swallows up cash. 

Now comes James Garland, the young machinist, 
A first-rate trade, but none of the cleanest; 
He sings serenades in a style quite peculiar, 
Some in long meter and some in hallelujah. 

There's another professional man, Doc. True, 
Whose system of curing is said to be new; 
And just o'er the way is Doctor Frank S., 
Who pulls people's teeth for a nine-pence or less. 

Joseph E. Odlin, who sells hats and caps, 
And sort of a mesmerizer who gives people naps; 
A Hull & Sanborn — don't accuse me of lying — 
Who get their living by other folks dying. 

Then Nathan H. Baldwin and Brother Charles A., 
Who are both quiet men and have little to say; 
But you know the old adage — confound this quill — 
" 'Tis the quiet pig that eats all the swill." 



20 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Last but not least comes Doctor Aver, 
Who, when you are sick is sure to be there; 
Wherever he goes 'tis a pretty sure sign 
That the girls will go into a gentle decline. 

If any have been overlooked in this ditty, 

'Tis all their own fault, the more's the pity; 

But let me add that each one of them 

Are first-rate chaps, "every mother's son of 'em." 

TERRIBLE ACCIDENT AT MEREDITH 

Seventy-five Persons In'jured, and Six Fatally 

March 13, 1855, the floor of the new townhouse fell in and 300 
were precipitated into space below. It was estimated 800 persons 
were in the building, which was 80 by 50 feet square. Only a 
part of the floor, 30 by 14 feet, went down. 

Those fatally hurt were: George Clark, John O. M. Ladd, 
John Leavitt; back broken, Hiram Plumer, B. C. Tuttle, Thomas 
Eastman. 

Those severely hurt: leg broken, Benning Muggridge, William 
Langley, Benjamin Robinson, Isaac Shaw, Coffin Cook, Hubbard 
Jackson, Nathaniel Nichols, Simeon Hatch, Mooney Baker; 
both legs broken, John Piper, Jefferson Yerrill, Simeon Drake; 
arm broken, Theophilus Sanborn; ankle broken, John Magoon; 
several ribs broken, D. Corliss, Jr.; thigh broken, Jacob Perkins; 
foot smashed, John Perkins; body crushed, William Edgerly, 
Charles Hunt, Moses Sargent; shoulder broken, David Corliss; 
shoulder dislocated, Eben Leavitt; back injured, Noah Robinson; 
badly hurt, Shephard Pierce; internally injured, Louis Boynton, 
Eben Varney, H. N. Burnham, Benj. F. Wiggin, John Smith 5th, 
Benj. Swain, Richard Stanton, Daniel Eastman, T. P. Hanna- 
ford, Washington Smith, Ira Simms, John Chase, Charles Hunt, 
L. M. Tuck, Geo. Kelley, William Fernald, Joseph R. Mead, 
Charles P. Huntress. 

Slightly injured: Joseph Wiggin, Harrison Swain, John L. 
Chase, Edward Chase, Benj. Libbey, L. H. Hadley, John Gilman, 
William Wentworth, Edward Bacon, Dr. J. Sanborn, Eben Bick- 
ford, William Pike, Sr., Moses Plummer, James H. Mudgett, 
Thomas Hart, Stephen C. Lyford, D. S. Prescott, Elihu Davies, 
Rufus C. Stevens, Caleb Gilman, Obed Gray, Veranus York, 
John C. Glidden, Ben Perkins, William Pike, Jr. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 21 

THE OLD FACTORY BELL 
By J. D. C. Hoit, M.D. 

'Mid sunshine and the lightning's flash, 
True to mold in height and girth, 
High above the restless river, 
Hurrying onward in its mirth; 
You have rung alarms of danger, 
In the years long passed away, 
Yes, in truth, but few remember, 
When you summoned to the fray. 

You have told the busy workers 
When to come and when to go; 
You have told the hills of Belknap 
When fiery billows raged below; 
You have told of war's glad ending, 
After years of charge and strife; 
Of the nation saved through carnage 
Springing into stronger life. 

Oh, Bell of lasting melody, 
Yes, of memory dear to me; 
Scarce surpassed by Rome's St. Peter's, 
Nor by Shandons on the Lee, 
As the faithful watchman urging 
Peals that called both out and in; 
How the heights of Gilford echoed 
At the music of your din. 

Factory domed with cadent Tocsin, 

Greeting hills and distant bay; 

Harbinger of labor's grandeur 

Ringing timely, night and day, 

In thoughts of youth thy tones I hear 

Responding still to duty; 

Again, thy rhythmic notes resound 

In realms of scenic beauty. 

A heritage it seems to me 

Deserving well in story; 

Assailed by blows and wintry blasts 

Alas with age now hoary; 

From thy hanging in the belfry 

On the old time Avery mill, 

Midst the hills of old New Hampshire, 

Are you ringing, ringing still? 



22 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

GHOST STORY 

Perhaps an old story, located in the Massachusetts Colony, 
may be of interest to some. 

The legend runs that in days of "Long Ago," Bridget O'Hare 
haunted the Magoun mansion, on the Mystic River, where 
she had faithfully worked for her employer during her life. 
Thatcher Magoun, being very dependent on his Irish house- 
keeper and fearing he should lose her, proposed to make her a 
permanent fixture in the Mansion. After several talks he 
found her judgment very valuable, and gradually he became very 
dependent on her business ability, and married her, amid the 
rebellious gossip of the matrons thereabouts, who would not take 
her into the aristocratic circle. The Tory and his Irish helpmate 
became much attached to each other, and owing to the snobbish 
treatment she received outside, which did not jar Bridget, they 
lived much in seclusion. He, being in the late 1600's a large ship- 
yard owner, was a wealthy man, and he made his wife his sole 
heir. 

This proved her ability, as she managed the business in good 
shape; but it was a hard shock to the gossips. She disposed of 
the estate a little at a time, but was so snubbed that she vowed 
she would put a Gypsy curse on the neighbors. 

Her only relative was brought from Ireland and lived with her 
sister. They were devout Catholics, and sent much support back 
to the home church, as there were no Catholic churches in America. 
After 1792 the Catholic church was started in New England, 
the first one in Boston, a century after Bridget's life. She was so 
persecuted that she developed a great hatred for those outside 
her church. 

Before she went to work for Mr. Magoun she became attached 
to Mickie O'Hearn, who took the view, "Out of sight, find 
another," and married before she was long gone. 

When her sister came to her, Mickie's wife had died, and Mickie 
longed for his first love, but refused to communicate with Bridget, 
and she, sad from trouble, gave the mansion to her sister. They 
finally settled in three rooms in the mansion and shut up the rest 
of the house; they never went out. Finally she and her crippled 
boy deserted the home. Bridget said no Protestant should ever 
occupy the house; if they did her ghost would haunt the place 
until they were driven out. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 23 

After she moved, the place was rented to people from Boston, 
who brought many loads of furniture and opened the house and 
did much repairing; but after a few weeks the furniture was taken 
away, and the house was closed and deserted. 

People imagined they saw Bridget going up and down stairs 
with a candle, then doors would creak, and something seemed to 
flutter around outside. 

Late one night the whole neighborhood was aroused, with 
screams coming from the haunted house. It was a serious situa- 
tion, for the gossips had frightened the neighbors and revived the 
story that Bridget had threatened to haunt the house, so that 
no one dared to venture inside. 

A little later came news from Boston that the widow had filed 
suit in court against the tenants for rent. The answer came back 
that the house could not be lived in, and the rent was not col- 
lectible. So earnest were the witnesses that the court suspended 
the trial, and instructed an officer to go to the old house and 
remain until he unmasked the ghost. 

The man sent was Dick Whipple, who was a strong physical 
person and professed to fear nothing, and no man but he was to 
be admitted. 

One night he got a thrill that he admitted. He wrote: 
" I had my misgivings as I slowly wended my way over the long 
walk from the gate to the big front door, to begin grips with 
the ghost. 

" It was just coming evening. I brought along a luncheon, also 
candles and matches. When I opened the big door the hinges 
creaked, which gave me a start, and I felt crinkling gooseflesh on 
my arms, but I lighted a candle and began to brace up and look 
around the living room. I amused myself reading a paper and 
smoking. At midnight I ate my lunch and began clearing away 
the crumbs. I heard sounds of some person weeping, then a 
scratching, and suddenly my candle was extinguished and I 
trembled in the dark room. I felt objects whisking around my 
head and tappings on the window panes. One of the chairs in 
the room began rocking violently, and I was terribly afraid. 

"I finally found a match and lighted my candle again. There 
was a large fireplace in the farther side of the room, and I heard 
tappings on that end of the room as though someone were 
walking on the staircase. 



24 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

"Soon it was quiet, but I trembled and thought as I waited 
for daylight. At 7 A.M. I took my bag, went out and locked the 
door. I went to the courthouse, wrote my report, then went 
home and to sleep. 

"When I went back to the mansion the next night it was chilly 
and rainy. The old place did not look very welcome, and a 
policeman was hanging over the gate, saying he did not begrudge 
me my job, and that he would not stay there through the night 
for a thousand dollars. 

"He said it was positive that the house was haunted, and that 
he had seen and heard the ghost. I unlocked the door and stepped 
inside; the air was damp and chilly. I lighted my candle and 
looked around; the things seemed to be as I had left them. It 
was so cool I decided to build a fire in the fireplace. I found 
shavings, papers and some sticks outside, and started a fire some- 
time after midnight. The kindlings blazed high and the wood 
burned furiously, and soon pandemonium reigned — weird noises, 
chairs rocking, loud tappings on the window panes. My candle 
was extinguished and I felt something brushing my head and body. 
If I had not been held as if bound to the floor, where I was 
thrown by some unseen force, I should have fled screaming from 
the house. Suddenly I was brought to my senses by a voice 
screaming to me to come outside. I wobbled to the door and 
got outside. The policeman was at the gate waving and scream- 
ing to me to look. There I saw smoke and a tongue of flame, 
and also saw what looked like a great winged monster flopping 
out of the haze and smoke. Suddenly I looked again, and it 
dawned on me that I might be seeing the ghost departing from 
his haunts. 

"I asked the cop to go in with me, and promised to permit him 
to see me unmask the ghost. He declined, saying he would not 
go in for a thousand dollars, as he had a wife and family and was 
afraid of being killed. I went in alone, and what met my eye I 
shall never forget. That room that had been so quiet was a mess 
of life and death, the floor was littered with the bodies of the 
disturbers; one was yet struggling but finally dropped to the floor 
dead. I lighted my candles and looked the place over. The 
floor was littered with bats; one measured four feet ten inches 
from tip to tip of wing, and his rat-like body weighed two pounds. 
I had unmasked the ghost, and made my report at the courthouse. " 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 25 

WINNEPESAUKEE GRANGE 
By George Frank Smith 

On February 9, 1875, a meeting of the citizens of Meredith and 
Center Harbor who were interested in agricultural pursuits was 
held at the office of Dr. George Sanborn to discuss the question of 
organizing a Grange of Patrons of Husbandry in the town of 
Meredith. 

Charles P. Towle was chosen chairman and George E. Gilman, 
secretary. The chairman read the constitution and by-laws, 
and the "declaration of purposes" of the National Grange, after 
which a general discussion of the subject followed, resulting in a 
unanimous vote to organize a Grange. 

Dr. George Sanborn was chosen to select names for charter 
members, and was instructed to draw up a petition and forward 
it to the secretary of the New Hampshire State Grange. At 
a later meeting at the house of Dr. Sanborn, he reported that he 
had secured the requisite number of names to the petition and had 
sent it in to the secretary of the State Grange, and that he would 
name an early date to institute a Grange in Meredith. 

Dr. Sanborn was chosen temporary treasurer and all present 
paid their fees to him. 

It was voted that the Grange should be called " Winnepesaukee 
Grange." A committee was chosen to prepare a list of officers, 
and the following names were reported : 

Worthy Master. . . .William H. Wadleigh 

Overseer Ebenezer S. Robinson 

Lecturer Simeon F. Wadleigh 

Steward R. Lewis Coe 

Assistant Steward. Arthur E. Leavitt 

Treasurer Dr. George Sanborn 

Chaplain Levi Leach 

Secretary George E. Gilman 

Gate Keeper John Deaborn 

Ceres Mrs. William H. Wadleigh 

Pomona Miss Ruth Smith 

Flora Mrs. William C. Marshall 

Lady Assistant Steward 

Mrs. John Deaborn 



26 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

and the names were unanimously chosen for the several positions. 

William H. Wadleigh declined to serve as master and Charles 
W. Neal was chosen in his place. 

March 2, 1875, the meeting was held in the North Church 
society rooms. Brother J. F. Keyes, master of Ashland Grange, 
and Brothers Scribner, Deaborn and Brown from Ashland 
Grange were present. Having been invited by Deputy Shaw to 
assist, Brother Shaw administered the obligation to all charter 
members present, and the officers were installed in their several 
positions. 

The following were the charter members: 

Charles W. Neal Mrs. Jane (Wadleigh) Neal 

Mrs. Georgia A. Neal George W. Hoyt 

Simion F. Wadleigh Mrs. Mary Hoyt 

Charles Wadleigh William H. Wadleigh 

Ebeneezer S. Robinson Rebecca Wadleigh 

R. Lewis Coe William Neal 

Mrs. J. M. Coe Mrs. Mary E. (Smith) Neal 

Arthur E. Leavitt Miss Fannie Ladd 

Mrs. Arthur E. Leavitt Miss Laura Pease 

John Deaborn Charles C. Towle 

Mrs. E. E. R. Deaborn John C. Towle 

Dr. George Sanborn D. Wardsworth Coe 

Mrs. S. D. Sanborn Charles L. Towle 

George E. Gilman Charles R. Swain 

Mrs. Edna E. Gilman Miss Orissa Knowles 

Miss Ruth Smith William C. Marshall 

Miss Abbie Pease Mrs. C. C. Marshall 

John Mead Neal 

Other names enrolled as members previous to reorganiza- 
tion in 1887 were: Lina F. Coe, Daniel B. Eaton, John F. Wood- 
man, Bradbury R. Deaborn, Miss C. E. Elliott, and Rev. William 
H. Stewart, making a membership of forty-three. 

The members met at various homes as invited, and as years 
passed changed officers at times, according to the records. 

In 1887, State Deputy Emri C. Hutchinson was called and 
reorganized the Grange, and installed by proxy: 

Worthy Master D. W. Coe 

Overseer J. W. Lang 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 27 

Lecturer William B. Smith 

Steward Edward F. Wiggin 

Assistant Steward. . . . Fred W. Towle 

Chaplain William Neal 

. Secretary Charles W. Neal 

Gatekeeper Charles Wadleigh 

Treasurer Mrs. Mary E. (Smith) Neal 

Pomona Julia A. Smith 

Flora Lucy A. Lang 

Ceres Bertha Neal 

Lady Assistant Steward 

Fannie L. Coe 

December 15, 1888, G. Frank Smith, Fred H. Smith and George 
N. Eaton were made Patrons of Husbandry. This being the 
annual election, the following officers were chosen: 

Worthy Master G. Frank Smith 

Overseer Joseph W. Lang 

Lecturer Fred H. Smith 

Steward Edward F. Wiggin 

Assistant Steward. . . . Fred W. Towle 

Chaplain George N. Eaton 

Treasurer Mrs. Mary E. (Smith) Neal 

Secretary Charles W. Neal 

Gatekeeper Simeon F. Wadleigh 

Ceres Lucy A. Lang 

Pomona Julia A. Smith 

Flora Bertha Neal 

Lady Assistant Steward 

Fannie L. Coe 
Fair Director Charles W. Neal 

The latter was sent to the State Grange meeting at Manchester, 
which was the first time the Winnepesaukee Grange was repre- 
sented for many years. It created a spirit of faith, hope and 
charity, and success in the years that followed. The meetings at 
this time were held in the Baptist vestry which was kindly offered 
free, and much prosperity followed through the efforts of many 
members. 

In 1913 a lot was purchased and a two-story building was 



28 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

erected. The upper floor was leased to the Masons, and the 
basement served as a dining room and kitchen, where many 
pleasant meetings and gatherings convened. 

To Sister Emma Ballard, who was master during the building 
construction, great praise is due for the energy, spirit and good 
judgment displayed; she showed that a woman can work 
and win, and equal a man. 

Over fifty years passed and many changes took place; many 
went to the great Grange above. We believe they are active and 
happy in the service of the "Great Master," beyond. 

After another reorganization in 1889, the following officers 
served : 

G. Frank Smith 1891-2 

Fred H. Smith 1893-4 

Orville P. Smith 1895-6 

Edward F. Wiggin 1897-8 

J. Fred Philbrick 1899-1900-01 

Dudley Leavitt 1902-3 

William H. Neal 1904 

Arthur J. Mead 1905 

Roy F. Bickford 1906 

Hollis L. Wiggin 1910-1 1-12 

Freeman G. Smith 1913-14 (Died in service) 

Emma Ballard 1915-16-17 

Orville P. Smith 1918-19 

Frank J. Robinson 1920 

Hollis L. Wiggin 1921 

W. Irving Brown 1922 

Emma Ballard 1923-24 

Roy F. Bickford 1925 

Thus we see many of Meredith's prominent citizens were 
members, and interested in this good work. 

CARROLL COUNTY HISTORY 

Description of Winnipiseogee 

Two parts called the "Broads," from Center Harbor, form a 
straight waterway of nearly 20 miles. The "Broads," merging 
with each other in the middle of the lake, with the long bays 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 29 

and smaller coves irregularly on all sides, suggest a huge crab 
with broad back and long claws: the Northwest Cove, or 
Meredith Bay, on the west side; Moultonborough Bay on the 
east side; Merry Meeting, or Alton Bay, on the southeastern part 
of the lake. 

The name was taken from "winne," beautiful; "nipe," water; 
"kees," high; "cuke," place. Algonquin translation, "good 
water," with large pour-out place or outlet; the beautiful water 
of the high place; or "The Smile of the Great Spirit." 

In early days when there was clear passage, no dams, the 
salmon and shad came up and separated; the salmon going 
up the Pemigewasset, and the shad going up the Winnipiseo- 
gee in myriads to the lake, where many were caught in the 
"ah-que-dau-ken-ash," or weirs. 

Buchanan Reed's poem reads in part: 

I heed not, if 

My rippling skiff 

Floats swift or slow 

From cliff to cliff; 

With dreamful eyes 

My spirit lies 

Under the walls of Paradise. 

SQUAM LAKE 

"A peaceful lake, by frowning woods o'erhung 
Sleeps like bright waters among Alpine hills; 
Xo voice is heard, nor lisp of human tongue, 
No sound, save gentle moan of purling rills; 
'Tis far away, beyond the purple mountains, 
Beyond the sunset clouds of golden hue; 
Far in the west among the crystal fountains 
That rush from earth to smile neath skies of blue. 
While sinks the sun o'er wooded hills to rest, 
While golden radiance of the burning west 
Fades o'er the billows with the fading day, 
When midnight lamps o'er moon-bright waters play, 
And crimson clouds, tinted with fiery hue, 
Look from the waveless depths to depths of blue; 
When myriad stars burn in the silent lake; 
While flashing waters round dark islands break; 
When gleaming wavelets at the set of sun 
Bask in his glories when his course is run; 
As breaks the sweet, wild vision on the eye, 
We dream we roam in Classic Italv." 



30 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

THE TOWN REGISTER OF 1908 

Which Comprises Meredith, Tilton, Gilmantox, San- 
bornton, Belmont and New Hampton 

We all know the location of beautiful Meredith, with its lovely 
views. Across the lake is Moosilauke, Asquam Range, Mt. 
Prospect, Osceola, Passaconaway, White Face, and the 
Belknap Range. 

The Indian records are few that tell us what happened in 
centuries long gone. 

Hiawatha's rhyme runs — 

Lo, how all things fade and perish 
From the memory of the old men, 
Fade away the great traditions, 
The achievements of the Warriors, 
The adventures of the hunters, 
All the wisdom of the "Medas," 
All the craft of the "Wahenoos," 
All the marvelous dreams and visions 
Of the " Passakakeeds," the Prophets. 

The fresh water Indians of the interior of the State were called 
"Nopmumks," and the Indian tribes around the lake were named 
"Winnipesaukees," as they inhabitated the lake region, and 
dressed in the furs of the animals they had captured on their 
trails. 

When the white man came they began to imitate his clothing 
and his manner of living, even to imbibing fire-water. 

Their "asquedaukenash," or fish-weir, was a rendezvous for 
the many tribes for a semi-annual gathering, and later for the 
"pale-face" to trap shad. 

The "Great Medicine Man," Passaconaway, was influenced 
strongly by the "Great Spirit," and held the natives in check, to 
keep peace, and after his death his son, " Wonalancet," kept on 
in his father's ways, and became a good Christian. 

In November, 1748, many white men banded together and 
voted to lay out a township between "Pond and Pemigewassett 
River." The layout ran thus: " Begining at a hemlock tree by 
the Great Bay of Winnipesaukee River, which is the southeasterly 
corner bounds of that tract of land granted to John Sanborn and 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 31 

others by said Proprietors, and which lies adjoining to the land 
hereby granted, and runs from said tree northwesterly six miles, 
joining on said lands granted to said Sanborn, or near six miles, 
to a beach tree marked, which is the northwesterly corner bounds 
of the said tract of land; then runing fifty-five degrees east 
about seven miles to a white oak tree by the side of Winni- 
pesaukee Pond, marked on four sides; then running southeasterly 
by side of said pond to the river to the Great Bay aforesaid; then 
to the said bay to the hemlock tree first mentioned." 

It was voted, January, 1753, that Jonathan Longfellow should 
have one shilling, old tenor, per acre for every acre added to the 
township of Salem, but according to history he failed, as there is 
no record that he received any monies for service. 

The name of New Salem was changed to Meredith in 1769. 
In 1855 the eastern portion was taken to make a part of Laconia, 
including Lake Village and Meredith Bridge, and until 1873 a 
part of Center Harbor was called Meredith. 

Among the earliest settlers was Ebeneezer Smith of Meredith, 
also James McCrillis, the great grandfather of Philip McCrillis, 
who lived at the foot of what is now called Neal Hill, and whose 
nearest neighbor was Captain William Ray, who lived four miles 
away, nearer Meredith Bridge, at what is now called "Ray's 
Corner." There were no buildings at Meredith at this date. 

Historians state that Nicholas Gilman, with 23 other Gilmans 
and over 150 pioneers, in 1727 received grants of land in what 
they called Gilman Town. 

During the Revolutionary War days, after the Battle of 
Bunker Hill on June 17, it was reported to Lieutenant Eastman's 
wife, who was Mary Butler before her marriage, that the lieu- 
tenant had been killed in battle. There were no hard roads 
then — the only guide to go by was spotted trees — but Mary 
(Butler) Eastman determined to know if she was left a widow 
with an infant child. The brave woman mounted her horse, with 
her babe in her arms, and rode to her father's home in Brentwood, 
where she left her babe and rode on to Charlestown, Mass., where 
she found her husband alive and well. B. F. Taylor wrote of 
the story thus: 

Then up rose Mary Butler, and set her wheel at rest; 

She swept the puncheon floor, she washed the cottage pride — 

The cottage pride of three weeks old — and dressed him in his best; 



32 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

She wound the clock that told the time his mother was a bride, 

And porringer and spoon she deftly laid aside; 

She strung a clean white apron across the window pane, 

And swung the kettle from the crane, for fear of rusting rains; 

Then tossed the saddle on the bay, and donned her linen gown, 

Full seventy miles to Cambridge town: bring out your civic crown. 

I think we'll fit that brow of hers, who sadly smiled and said: 

"We'll know about your father, boy, and who is hurt and who is dead." 

In 1720 the Governor's Council ordered that Gilmantown, 
should run from Barnstead to Winnipishoky Pond. One com- 
ment on it was "that it was a liberal slice of land." 

In 1748 the early inhabitants voted to lay out a town on the 
east side of Pemisgavaset River, and for a time it was called 
"Crotch-Town," or what they should think best to call it, and in 
1770 the boundary ran thus: "Beginning at a hemlock tree, 
standing by the Great Bay of Winnipesaukee River, marked with 
the letter B, and other letters, and year 1748, and spotted on four 
sides, then running west to a beech tree, marked on four sides, 
thence west to Pemmigewassett River, and running as the river 
runs, bounding on the same to a crotch made by the said river, 
then easterly up the river to the bay, to the tree where the 
bounds started." 

Moultonboro Gore, or Addition, in 1777 was named New 
Hampton. The story goes that Gen. Jonathan Moulton gave 
Governor Wentworth an ox that weighed some 1,400 pounds and 
in return was given a tract of land of over 19.442 acres. In early 
days cattle were scarce and land cheap. 

In 1854 a few decided to start a Freewill Baptist Church at 
Meredith Village. They had been attending the "Oak Hill 
Church," up above Meredith on the hill. For a long time they 
held service in Union Hall. 

In 1858 the society decided to build a Free Baptist Church at 
Meredith Village; but the Antipedobaptists on the Parade had 
split up and offered them the "North Meeting House," which was 
situated just this side of the first burying ground, opposite the 
"Old Pound" on Meredith Parade, and the Freewill Society 
accepted it and moved it down to the Village. A few pairs of 
oxen helped roll it along until they reached the top of Ladd Hill, 
now called " Mile Hill," just this side of the Village, then the force 
of gravity had to be checked in a measure with logs. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 33 

It is described as 38 by 40, with 30-foot posts. When it 
reached its destination, the box pews and sounding board were 
removed and more modern pews installed, and an organ was 
purchased that had to be pumped by hand when in use. A steeple 
was put on and it was modernized in other ways, but the same old 
building, 'The North Meeting House," stands today, and is 
used by the school. It was built in 1786, and in 1936 it will be 
150 years old. 

The people worked hard through the week and some of them 
got sleepy during the service, so they had a "tithing man" to 
keep them awake. When he saw a man nodding he went along 
and tickled his ears with a rabbit's foot tied on a short pole. For 
short he was called a "tidy-man." 

In 1852 the Oak Hill Free Baptist Church was very prosperous, 
and at the outdoor meetings in the oak grove on warm days 
many decided to lead a Christian life. The ordinance of 
baptism was performed at Waukewan Pond, a short distance 
down the hill. One writer states that it seemed as if the Spirit of 
God descended and hovered over those who went down into the 
water and followed the bidding of the Master. At times the 
religious interest spread far into other towns and the membership 
increased to 350 members. 

A PIONEER PREACHER 
By E. W. Lang 

Correspondent of the Boston Journal 

Some Interesting Notes About the First Church and the 
First Settled Minister in the Winnipiseogee Lake Region 

Every section of this New England of ours — in fact every sec- 
tion of this broad country — had its pioneer preacher. This 
ordained servant of God and the people either went in advance of 
the schoolhouse or closely followed it, and it is an obvious fact 
that it is largely due to' his unrequited and zealous labor — to 
his unselfish devotion to the cause which he was commissioned 
to present to men and women — that the country owes its proud 
position as the most enlightened and progressive nation on the 
globe in the nineteenth century. Of the pioneer it may be truth- 
fully said that he endured hardships and privations to which the 



34 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

preacher of today is in a large degree a stranger; and yet, not- 
withstanding his discomforts — as comforts are measured in this 
generation — he doubtless experienced the happiness that comes 
of duty conscientiously performed, the same that the faithful 
minister of today experiences. There is, however, another 
view that lightens the contrast. It is this: He delivered the 
message of the Master to a practically uneducated people, while 
the ministers of today must meet the requirements of the ad- 
vanced thought that our system of education has developed. 
While, then, he was forced to make more physical effort — for he 
was compelled to till the soil for a livelihood and to travel long 
distances on horseback over uneven roads, and often through 
nearly pathless forests — he was in a large measure free from 
great mental strain in the preparation of discourses, which is more 
exhausting to the energies and which is the burden of the men of 
his profession today. 

But it is the pioneer preacher of the Winnipiseogee Lake region 
of New Hampshire that we would write of at this time. He was 
not an educated man. He was, however, a man of more than 
ordinary gifts, a man of sterling integrity, of practical common 
sense, thoroughly in earnest and deeply impressed that the Master 
had chosen him as an instrument through which to deliver an 
important message to the children of men. These convictions 
coupled with a sense of duty and responsibility, caused him to 
assume what proved to be a great task, and although in many 
ways handicapped, to persevere in proclaiming the truth of the 
Gospel, as he understood it, for nearly fifty years of his life. The 
name of this pioneer preacher was Nicholas Folsom. During a 
recent visit in this section of New Hampshire, where he lived and 
labored, we undertook the task — purely a labor of love — of 
rescuing from fading memories and scattered history records the 
story of his life and the early history of the church which he 
founded. 

The following — which includes three or four corrected para- 
graphs which we published some time ago — is the result of our 
research. 

Somewhere in the fourth decade of the eighteenth century, 
there landed on the shores of New England, a young Englishman 
named John Smith. He settled at Brentwood, N. H., and find- 
ing another man of the name of John Smith in the neighborhood 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 35 

he changed his name to John Folsham — Folsham being the name 
of his native place in the old country. He was a farmer, but 
turned his hand at other employment. He therefore became the 
assistant of Ebeneezer Smith in surveying and laying out the towns 
of Sanbornton, Gilford, Meredith — then New Salem — Moulton- 
borough and Sandwich. 

During this time he became possessed of a tract of land, one 
hundred acres, near Sanbornton Bay, and when he was about to 
remove thither with his family and build a log house, Ebeneezer 
Smith made him the offer of a gift of thirty acres of land in New 
Salem providing he would settle upon it. Folsham accepted the 
offer and selected a valley — from which there is a commanding 
mountainous view on all sides — two miles southeast of what has 
since become known as Meredith "Parade" and about three miles 
north of Lake Village. Here in the wilderness with his friend 
Smith and others who had settled ten years before he built a log 
house. The conveyance of the land is dated January 19, 1778, 
and to the original thirty acres, twenty-three acres were added by 
purchase in 1794. 

In 1778, with his family, which included Nicholas Folsham — 
then a returned veteran soldier, who had taken a heroic part in 
the battle of Bennington — he removed to Meredith, as the place 
was then called, and here he spent the declining years of his life. 
The farm became the property of Nicholas, whose name had now 
become Folsom, and in turn the property of his son Nicholas. 
The fourth house — a tidy white cottage farmhouse — takes the 
place of former houses and in it reside the three successive gen- 
erations — the fourth, fifth and sixth generations from the original- 
Joseph G. Folsom, aged 80; John C. Folsom, aged about 50, and 
Charles H. Folsom, aged 18. 

It is to these three generations together with indisputable rec- 
ords that we are indebted for new facts contained in this article 
and for corrections to the paragraphs heretofore written and herein 
incorporated. 

The Meredith settlement was visited from time to time, 
beginning probably as early as 1770, by Dr. Samuel Shephard of 
Brentwood, a Baptist missionary, who, besides being a learned 
physician, was an eloquent preacher. Through his efforts the 
cause of religion was kept alive, and, six or eight years later, 
when the population had increased — although a good deal 



36 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

scattered — he held a revival in which there were more than 
one hundred and fifty conversions and more than one hundred 
persons baptized in one day. 

In 1779 a movement was started to organize a church, and on 
the 4th of November of that year the people met at the house of 
William Mead for that purpose. They adopted the name 
Antipedobaptist Church of Meredith, and at a subsequent 
meeting, held Aug. 3, 1780, adopted Calvinistic articles of faith. 

On the 21st of August in the same year nineteen male and eight 
female members were added to the church, and at the meeting 
held to vote on their reception, John Gilman was chosen clerk of 
the society. Nicholas Folsom and Abram Swain were chosen the 
ruling elders and Jonathan Edgerly and Brother Crockett dea- 
cons. The right hand of fellowship was given to the chosen 
deacons by Elder Folsom, and the ordination prayer by John 
Mead. John Kimball and Gideon Robins assisted in the laying on 
of hands. Meetings were held at private houses, and a good de- 
gree of interest manifested. In fact, their numbers increased so 
that in 1782 it was voted, after a season of prayer and fasting, to 
set apart Nicholas Folsom for the work of the Christian ministry. 
Accordingly, on the second Wednesday in September of the same 
year a council of the ministers and delegates from the churches in 
Brentwood, Madboro, Gilmanton and Sandwich met and or- 
dained Mr. Folsom, the sermon being preached by Elder Hooper 
of Brentwood. In the same year an effort was made to make 
Elder Folsom the town minister, but the town voted not to receive 
him. He was generally respected, but the voters objected to his 
doctrinal views. From this time till near the close of the eight- 
eenth century Elder Folsom continued to preach one-half the 
time in Meredith, and one-half in Sanbornton, during which time 
the church in Meredith lost forty-five members, who removed 
their membership to the last named place for the obvious reason 
that it was nearer their homes. The meetings of the church were 
held in various places, at schoolhouses, and in private dwellings, 
in the three divisions of the town, and were called branch, or 
neighborhood meetings. In the absence of Elder Folsom, some 
of the associate elders or deacons officiated. 

Concerning these men who founded the first church in the 
Winnipiseogee Lake region the Rev. James Graham of Waldoboro, 
Maine, a former settled minister in Meredith, says: "They were 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 37 

men of strong conviction concerning the truth, and considered doc- 
trinal views essential to church membership, withdrawing the hand 
of fellowship on more than one occasion from those who dissented in 
some way from the articles of faith. They took the Bible as their 
counselor in all spiritual matters, and they refused to walk in 
fellowship with those who perverted and ignored the ordinance of 
baptism and the Lord's Supper. They were also zealous in prop- 
agating the peculiar tenets of their faith. Yet it was not only 
purity of doctrine, but purity of life and conduct for which they 
earnestly strove." 

The records of their times show that it was not only considered 
a matter for discipline when any church member indulged in in- 
temperance or any other vice, but, as now, it was in some degree 
an occasion for social ostracism. 

Elder Folsom received no compensation for his services except 
voluntary contributions of the people. He rode about the 
country on horseback and whatever he received by way of dona- 
tions found a place in his capacious saddlebags. "As a preacher," 
says Mr. Graham, who sought knowledge of the Elder among the 
venerable people of the neighborhood where he lived, "he was 
plain, direct and forcible; preaching what he believed to be true 
and that, too, without fear or favor." "As a figure," says the 
eldest of his descendants, "he was more than six feet tall and well 
proportioned. He had black hair and black, piercing eyes. His 
features were round and his expression was that of an exceedingly 
good-natured man who never thought it necessary to be stern, even 
in moments of religious fervor." The domestic life of Elder Fol- 
som was not altogether a pleasant one. He had his "thorn in the 
flesh," being most unhappily married. His wife, who was com- 
monly believed to be insane, gave him no peace. She was irri- 
table and fault-finding and many strange stories are told concern- 
ing her treatment of him. 

The first meetinghouse which Elder Folsom's society built — 
probably about the last of the century — was located on the left of 
the highway on the south hill of the "Parade," and a schoolhouse 
now marks the site. It was about the size of the district school- 
house of today, unpainted and unadorned. Early in the century 
it was set on fire at the instigation of a Mrs. Morgan, an erratic 
woman, and wholly destroyed. She was offended because the 
people came to her house, at the intermission of services, to warm 



38 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

themselves — in those days there were no stoves and places of 
worship were not warmed — and declared that she would have 
relief from the annoyance. Her husband paid for the building 
destroyed. 

Following the destruction of the meetinghouse, the society 
worshiped in the Town House — which stood on the Meredith Vil- 
lage border of the "Parade," on the right, and which is now, hav- 
ing been reconstructed and improved, the Freewill Baptist Meet- 
ing House — in the Village one Sunday and the Congregationalists 
the next, each society alternating in its occupancy, and the 
occupancy of the meetinghouse in the third division of the town. 

The Town House had the old-fashioned high backed pews, a 
high pulpit, above which was a sounding board, and a gallery on 
the highw r ay end, which was the entrance end. 

This latter arrangement by which the society alternated in the 
use of the Town House, could not have lasted many years, for it is 
clear that a second place of worship was built at an early day. 

It stood on the north of the hill, from the "Parade," near the 
General Wadleigh place, where the Union schoolhouse now stands, 
and was a large and more pretentious building than the first. 
This meetinghouse — the people having become largely identified 
with the church of the same denomination at Meredith Village- 
was taken down somewhere about 1844 and removed to Lake Vil- 
lage. It is the building now occupied by the Advent Society of 
that place. 

From 1800 to 1820 little of note occurred. The church was 
compelled to discipline several members and fight a continuous 
battle against the besetting sin of the times — intemperance — but 
it flourished, increased in membership and continued its labor for 
the Master by branch and neighborhood meetings. In the last 
named year Elder Folsom began to show signs of old age and loss 
of power, and therefore the society called, ordained and installed 
as his assistant Parker Fogg. Elder Folsom continued to preach 
— now intermittently — two or three years and finally, in old age, 
surrounded by family and friends, loved and respected by the 
community which he had faithfully served more than forty years, 
he retired to his farm and spent the remainder of his life in free- 
dom from care and in those enjoyments which are consequent to a 
well-spent life. He died in December, 1830, at the age of 83 years 
and 3 months. In his last hours he was attended by Elder Lewis 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 39 

Caswell, then conducting a revival meeting in Meredith and 
afterward for many years a faithful missionary in Boston, who 
closed his eyes in death and spoke his eulogy, assisted by Elder 
Crockett, the settled minister at Lake Village. His mortal re- 
mains were interred in the Smith (now called Opeeche) burying 
ground on the main road (Province Road) between Meredith 
and Laconia. No gravestone was erected, and some years ago 
the place was plowed without notifying his descendants [an error, 
as his grave is known] of the location of his and his father's (John 
Folsom's)graves. [The article states that his last resting place 
cannot be located with any degree of certainty, but there are rough 
stones for him and his father (common granite).] 

It is an undoubted statement among the residents of Meredith, 
that Elder Folsom tried for a time to keep the records of the 
church upon pieces of birch bark. He wrote by the light of a 
tallow candle and upon complaining to his wife of the insufficiency 
of the light, she replied that she would make it light enough for 
him and thereupon seized the records and threw them into the 
fireplace before his very eyes. The records were afterward re- 
written from memory. Elder Folsom was the first moderator of 
the Meredith Baptist Association. Later he presided several 
times over its deliberations, and also wrote the annual missive 
to the churches and brethren. 

In his youth Nicholas Folsom was a soldier in some of the 
Indian Wars. In July, 1777, at a time when the country was in 
great peril and Stark had called the patriots of New Hampshire 
to arms he enlisted in a company of volunteers from Sanbornton, 
commanded by Capt. Chase Taylor, and was a valiant soldier in 
the battle of Bennington. (See his war record in "Old Meredith," 
new book by D. A. R.'s.) The state records show that he was in 
service one month and 28 days, and was mustered out September 
18, 1777. 

The service which he rendered in camp and battle accounts for 
the fact that he lives in the memory and tradition of Meredith as 
a man who was exceedingly fond of relating stories of exploits 
in hunting redskins, and of hairbreadth escapes when under fire. 

These stories were told by him both in and out of the pulpit, 
and it is said that partly because of them his visits in many 
neighborhoods were looked forward to as bright events in the lives 
of the early settlers. His story-telling often ran far into the night, 



40 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

and not a few old people can recall some that were told in their 
childhood days. They were accustomed to beg the privilege of 
their parents to sit up and hear Priest Folsom tell about the 
Indians and the British. It may be added in this connection, 
for it is true, that the good priest was in accord with the customs 
of the fathers and counted it no sin to indulge in an exhilarating 
glass of grog. The grog undoubtedly gave fervor to the story- 
telling. 

The brief details we have given regarding the career of this 
pioneer preacher are not without their lesson. They teach, for 
example, the virtue and manliness there is in self-sacrifice, in the 
faithful performance of duty. Nicholas Folsom knew what it 
was to endure hardships, for they were his constant companion. 
He knew what domestic infelicity was, for his wife gave him no 
peace, but continually annoyed him. He knew what it was to be 
cold and hungry and fatigued for the cause he represented, for he 
braved all sorts of weather and traveled long journeys to fill his 
appointments. It is stated — and it is an unquestionable fact — 
that he often started from home without his breakfast and preached 
in Meredith, Moultonborough and Sandwich in the same day, 
thus traveling nearly forty miles, to reach home at night when all 
his family were asleep and go supperless to bed. Indeed all this 
— and more that might be told — is an instructive lesson touching 
fidelity to duty. 

It seems to me that the little that we do, in recalling 
the heroism, patience, fortitude and devotion to duty of 
men who laid the foundation of our civil and religious liberty 
and who, as the condition of our country today amply proves, laid 
the foundations broader and deeper and more enduring than they 
knew, is merely justice. We ought to build them monuments, 
as enduring as the principles which they crystallized and the 
institutions which they established. So we become worthy sons 
of worthy sires. It cannot but be gratifying to all sons of New 
Hampshire that the State has taken the initiative in perpetuating 
the names and recording the services of these old heroes. 

The granite monuments which we build will be as enduring as 
the granite hills, and not only this, they will be the pride and the 
incentive to patriotism and devotion to duty for all coming 
generations. 

(Signed) Nashoonon. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 41 

Tradition tells us that Nicholas Folsom was drafted into serv- 
ice in 1777, and having no gun went to his neighbor's, Mr. 
Crockett's, and asked him to loan him his gun. Mr. Crockett 
replied, "No, you won't bring it back." Elder Folsom replied, 
"Yes, I will," and reached up and took it from the wall where it 
was hung and walked out. The same gun is in the possession of 
Captain Foss. He returned it. The country was in great peril, 
and General Stark had called a company to be commanded by 
Capt. Chase Taylor and march to Bennington, where Folsom 
was a valiant soldier. He was mustered out after almost two 
months' service. 

It is said that he was fond of relating his war service, his 
exploits hunting redskins, and hairbreadth escapes when under 
fire. 

It is said that he sometimes told of his experiences in the 
pulpit; and it was looked forward to with much interest to have 
him visit and relate what he had been through. Often the par- 
ties stayed up until the wee sma' hours to hear him talk. Nicho- 
las Folsom knew what it was to endure hardships, for they were 
his constant companion. Many times when he started off early 
to preach he had to go without his breakfast and came home late 
at night and, as no one was up, went to bed supperless after a 
long, hard day of preaching at three different locations, where he 
had been on horseback. Much more could be added as an in- 
structive lesson touching fidelity to duty. 

One year there was a scarcity of food, and Priest Folsom was 
talking in church, when someone entered and said, "The shad 
have come. The shad have come." Priest Folsom said, "The 
shad have come. I close my sermon. They will do you more 
good than my talk." The fish were coming upstream at the 
Weirs, and the inhabitants needed the fish for food, so the men all 
rushed down the "Shad Path," now called the "Roller Coaster 
Road." 

Priest Folsom was a surveyor. He and Mr. Longfellow sur- 
veyed most of the country in Meredith and near by. The last 
land they came to was a point of land on Meredith Neck. They 
hesitated and said: "What will we call this point of land?" 
Elder Folsom said, "It looks to me like a spindle." Then they 
decided to call it "Spindle Point," which name it still retains. 

The old barn on the farm still stands, built over 150 years ago. 



42 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Five generations of Folsoms were born on this farm, and have 
all passed on. [These facts were given by Mrs. Abbie (Blaisdell) 
Folsom, wife of one of the Folsoms. She resided at the " Home, " 
and died in 1928.] 

THE MEETINGHOUSE 

We love the venerable house 

Our fathers built to God — 
In Heaven are kept their grateful vow; 

Their dust endears the sod. 

Here holy thoughts a light have shed 

From many a radiant face, 
The prayers of humble virtue made 

The perfume of the place. 

They live with God, their homes are dust; 

Yet here their children pray, 
And in this fleeting lifetime trust 

To find the narrow way. 

On him who by the altar stands, 

On him Thy blessings fall; 
Speak through his lips Thy pure commands 

Thou Heart, that lovest all. 

—Ralph Waldo Emerson. 

AN OLD LEGEND 

In Portsmouth, in 1662, at a town meeting, a motion was made 
to build "a cage or some other means invented by the selectmen, 
to punish such as sleep, or take tobacco on the Lord's Day, out of 
the meeting, in the time of the publique exercise." The men 
delayed this motion for nine years, but in 1671 it was revised, and 
Capt. John Pickering was selected to carry out the contract. He 
being a carpenter, miller and lawyer, started the cage, twelve feet 
square, and seven feet high; "the studs to be six inches broad, 
four inches thick, and the openings between them three inches. 
The studs round the said cage, and at the bottom, and overhead. 
He also was to make a good strong dore, and a substitantial payre 
of stocks and place the same in the cage; also to build on the rough 
of said cage a firm pillory. All which cage, stock and pillory to 
be built and raised some convenient space from the westward end 
of the meetinghouse, by the last of October next ensuing." 

The bargain also included a ladder. The old church had the 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 43 

only bell in New Hampshire at that period. On the front door 
were marks where wolves' heads had been nailed up to get the 
bounty. There were no pews in the church. In after years the 
cage was to be seen where one man was put for smoking tobacco 
on Sunday. Another the tithing-men had set there in the stocks 
for drinking, and another was placed in the pillory on top for 
disturbing the meetinghouse which a Boston merchant had 
built for his family that lived up the river, where they could 
stop and warm themselves and eat their dinner when they came 
down to meeting. 

Imagine the terror of the youngsters, their feet and legs bare 
up to their knees, when the orderly pointed to the cage outside the 
door, and the array of wolves' heads that had been captured during 
the past week and nailed up, and the guns set up on the porch ! 

From the Free-Baptist Cyclopedia 

Rev. Simeon Dana, born in Lebanon in 1776, at the age of 22 
years went to New Hampton as schoolteacher and physician, 
under the labors of Rev. W'inthrop Young. 

About 1800 the first New Hampton Church was organized and 
a house erected for public worship. Dr. Dana was ordained and 
installed as pastor, which position he retained during life until 
1853. His labors were shared by Rev. Josiah Magoon and Rev. 
Thomas Perkins. 

Soon after Dr. Dana went to New Hampton he married Miss 
Jane Bean of Sandwich. They had ten children. His eldest 
son, J. A. Dana, M.D., who died at Ashland, N. H., in 1882, was 
a successful doctor. 

On January 6, 1800, a Freewill Baptist Church was organized 
with 64 members, in the Hanaford District, where hard battles 
were fought and won. Capt. Peter Hanaford was one of the 
first settlers. 

The Brook Meetinghouse in the third division in Meredith, just 
east of the line between Meredith and New Hampton, was organ- 
ized in 1837, as Freewill Baptists. (The Mooney District in the 
western part of Meredith.) 

MEMBERS OF THE FIRST CHURCH OF MEREDITH 

Jonathan Smith, his wife Sarah. 

Reuben Marston, Jr., his wife Mary (Batchelclor) Marston. 



44 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Payne Smith, a son of Daniel Smith, and brother to Ebeneezer. 

Joseph Roberts, his wife Unice. 

Jacob Eaton. 

Widow Martha Batcheldor. 

Joseph Conner. 

Mary Farrar, wife of Isaac Farrar. 

John Boynton. 

Sarah Quimby. 

Simon F. Williams and wife Polly. 

John Rand. 

Widow Lydia Robinson. 

Rebecca Tosser, widow. 

John Karr, his wife Rhoda Karr. 

Samuel Cram, his wife Betsey. 

Jesse Sturtivant, his wife Susanna. 

John Cate, his wife Nancy. 

Elizabeth Neal, wife of Joseph Neal. 

Stephen Fogg, his wife Sarah (Marsh) Fogg. 

Moses Senter, his wife. 

Simon F. Williams, Pastor, August 30, 1792 

October 14, 1792. — Unice (wife of Lieut. Joseph Roberts), Joseph Conner, 
John Boynton, and Polly (wife of Simon F. Williams) were received to full 
communion. 

October 26, 1792. — John Rand, received to full communion. 

December 16, 1792. — Sarah Quimby, received to full communion. 

February 11, 1793. — Received from Epping Church, Lydia Robinson, also 
Rebecca Tosser, to full communion, from reccomendation from the church at 
Hawk. 

April 14, 1793. — Received John Karr and wife Rhoda. 

July 28, 1793. — Received Samuel Cram and wife to full communion. 

June 1, 1794. — Received John Cate and Widow Elizabeth Neal to full 
communion. Received Stephen Fogg and wife Abigail Chase; married Sept. 
16, 1749. Stephen born October 19, 1724, a son of Samuel Fogg and wife 
Mary Fogg. 

Baptisms in Meredith Church 
Under the Pastoral care of Simon F. Williams 

David and Jonathan, sons of Samuel Cram and wife Betsey. 

October 27, 1793.— Nancy, wife of John Cate. 

November 10, 1793. — Children of John and Nancy Cate, Nancy, Polly, 
Thomas French (perhaps the mother's name was French), John, Ebenezer 
Febius, Hannah. 

December 15, same year. — Nabby, wife of Benjamin Foss; children of 
Benjamin and wife Nabby Foss, Ebenezer, Benjamin, John, James, Betsey, 
Nabby, Walter. 

Under the same date. — Stephen Fogg. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 45 

January 18, 1794. — Children of David Robinson and wife (perhaps her 
name was Sturdivant), Sally, Betsey, Jesse Sturtivant. 

January 8. — Children of Stephen Fogg and wife, Stephen, Jonathan Judkins 
(born October 4, 1784), Joseph, Isaiah, Parker, Jeremiah. 

March 9. — Xabby, wife of Joshua Morris. 

March 16. — Josiah, son of Joshua and Nabby Norris. 

June 1. — Hannah, daughter of Mr. Sawyer and wife, Gunstock. 

July 27. — Children of Captain John Roberts, Susa, Daniel Smith, Unice, 
Sally. 

December 14, 1794. — Sally, wife of John Weeks. 

1795, February 15. — David, son of Stephen Fogg and wife, born August 18, 
1759. 

March 22. — Betsey, daughter of John and Nancy Cate. 
April.— - Eastman, child of Mr. Sawyer and wife, Gilmanton. 

May 31. — Molly, daughter of Joshua Norris; Sally, daughter of Benjamin 
Foss and wife. 

October 18. — Sally, daughter of Simon F. Williams. 

1796, February 21. — David, son to David Robinson and wife; John, son to 
John Roberts and wife. 

August 28, 1798. — Voted that the pastoral relation between Rev. Simon F. 
Williams and the church be dissolved, on account of his unchristian conduct. 
Joseph Roberts, Moderator. John Cate, Clerk. 

Baptism and the Lord's Supper 

To pay a serious and constant attendance to the administration of the word 
and Ordinances, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, not ab- 
senting ourselves from special Ordinances without reasonable warrant — 

We Covenant and agree to watch over each other in Brotherly Love and 
tenderness, and to admonish each other, as need may require and conveniency 
offer — 

Not being willing to put a bar in the way of any from enjoying the privilidges 
to which they ma)* have a Gospel right. We will admit to Baptism the seed of 
all professing Parents, who are under no Moral scandal, on their making a pro- 
fession of their belief of the Christian faith. 

All Parents being themselves baptized and under no moral scandal shall have 
liberty to bring their Children to baptism on their assent to the Confession of 
the Christian Faith — and that all Adults, who are desirous of baptism shall 
be admitted on their assenting to the same — 

And as Christ Jesus Instituted his supper for the remembrance of him and 
the nourishment of his children — 

We will "leaving it with God to judge the heart " — admit to full communion 
with our selves, all who are visibly Christians, giving evidence by their fruits 
that their views are serious and such as the Gospel inculcates, always having 
such an eye to the order of the Chh as to endeavour that no root of bitterness 
spring up to trouble us — exercising Charity and forbearance to the weak, and 
ever using all mild and Gospel endeavour to reclaim any who may err or be 
out of the way — 

Bearing with one another in love, and restoring in meekness any who have 



46 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

been overtaken in a fault — on the first appearance to a charitable mind of their 
repentance and desire to return — 

But in obedience to the Divine rule we will have no fellowship with the 
unfruitful works of darkness but rather reprove them; If anyone he a Fornica- 
tor or Covetous, or idoliter, or railer or Drunkard, or extortioner, with such we 
will keep no company. If any walk disorderly, and being often admonished 
continue still incorrigible, after all mild and brotherly attempts are made for 
his reformation, we promise to note such an one agreeable to the Apostles 
advice and have no company with him that he may be ashamed — yet that we 
will not count him as an Enemy but admonish him as a Brother, in fine we will 
make it our great design as a Christian Chh to walk in a Christian manner, and 
endeavor to make it appear that we are Disciples of Christ indeed — and let our 
light shine before men that they may see our good works and glorify our Father 
who is in Heaven. — Ever striving by our prayerful endeavour for the wellfare 
of Zion. — Praying that the God of peace may be pleased to own us as his people 
and bless us as a branch of his Chh, to whom be glory in the Chhs throout the 
world from henceforth and forever, Amen. 

Jona th Smith, with his wife Sarah . . . Reuben Marston . . . ditto Mary. — 
Pain Smith at the same time; Joseph Roberts was rec d . 

Jacob Eaton . . . Widow Martha Batcheldor 
Mary wife of Isaack Farrer 

This Covenant owned and signed before me Simon F. Williams, Pastor 
Aug' 30, 1792, at a meeting of the Bretheren Lords day. 

Unice wife of Lieut* Joseph Roberts . . . Joseph Conner, John Boynton were 
rec d . 

At a meeting of the Chh Lords day Oct r 14, 1792, were rec d to full Commun" 
with this Chh . . . Simon F. Williams, with Polly his wife . . . 

At the same time Jonathan Smith, Reuben Masten and Pain Smith, to 
send the Letters missive for the Instalation. 

At a meeting of the Chh, Oct r 16, voted that the installment be on the 7 
day of NoV ensueing . . . nor. concured . . . 

At a Chh meeting held this day Oct r 23, 1792, Unanimously agree that Wed- 
nesday the 28th of Nov appoint' 1 for the Installment of the Rev d Simon F. 
Williams, to the Pastoral care and charge of s d Chh and People in this Town 
and to desire the Selectmen to insert an article in their warrent for the next 
Town meeting for the concurrance of s d Town in s d matter, if s d Town non 
concur for s d Town then to appoint such day as shall be most agreeable for 
s d purpose . . . 

Oct r 28, 1792. — John Ran rec d to full Communin". 

NoV 28, 1792. — Simon F. Williams, Installed to the Pastoral care of this 
Chh and people. 

Dec r 16. — Sarah Quimby wife of James Quimby, rec d to full Communion. 

At a Chh meeting Feb- V 11, 1793, opened by prayer rec d to full communion 
by virtue of a dismission from Epping Chh, Lydia Robinson. 

Also to occasional Commun" Rebeca Tosser, by a recom 11 from ye Chh of 
Hawk — a . . . 

At the same time Lieut Joseph Roberts, was unanimously chosen to the 
office of a Deacon Ap 1 14. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 47 

Rec d to full Communion J"" Karr, with Rhoda his wife. 
J uly 7, 1 793, voted that all acknowledgements be required to be made before 
the Chh only 

Leaving it with the Chh to req r y m to be made the whole Congrega 11 as 
circumstans may be necss y . 

1795, July 28, Sam 1 Cram and wife rec d to full Com". 

Sep r 1, Jesse Stordivant, and wife Susan", his wife rec d to full Com 11 for 
furnishing the Communion Table. 

Oct r 3, 1793. — the members gave as follows — 

Simon F. Williams 1 Platter and Linnen. 

Reuben Marsten, and Pain Smith, 1 Platter and Bason. 
Reuben Marsten to buy Cups & c 3/ 
Deacon Joseph Roberds, 3/ 

Jacob Eaton 2/8 

John Rand 3/ 

Cap" Stordivant 6/ 

June 1, 1794, J no Cate & Wife rec d to full Com". 
June 8, Widow Elisabeth Neal rec d to full Commu". 

Stephen Fog and wife rec d to full Comm n . 
1795, Sep r 28. — Dismissed in good standing John Karr, and his wife. 
Ocf 11. — Lieut' Mosses Senter and wife rec d to full Cm". 
March 2d 1797. — Chh convened according to timely and legal notice, at the 
Meeting House at 2 O'clock, P. M. 

Opened by prayer. Members present: The Pastor, Deacon Joseph Roberd, 
John Boynton, Reuben Marston, Pain Smith, Jacob Eaton, Stephen Fogg, 
Deacon Roberd, who was chosen Moderator for s d Meeting, Simon F. Wil- 
liams, Scribe. 

1 Ruben Marsten gave charge against the Pastor that his conduct was not 
nor had been agreeable to the Gospel. 

2 The Pastor then requested the Chh to take under consideration and 
answer a request this day read to them that he might resign the Ministry, the 
same request he read to the Society last Lord's Day. — The Chh wished at 
present not to act upon the subject, but to take the matter under consideration. 

Voted to adjourn to the house of L' J"° Oilman on monday 13 Inst, 10 
O'clock A. M. 

March 13, the Chh met according to adjournment. Members present, 
Deacon Joseph Roberd, J"° Boynton, Moses Senter, Pain Smith, Jacob Eaton, 
Theoplus Sanborn, Sam 1 Cram, Step" Fog, John Rand. 

Voted to adjourn this meeting to 22 Inst, 5 O'clock aft r noon. 

Met according to adjourn', March 22. 

Voted to adjourn the meeting to the 30"' Inst, 5 O'C P. M. 

March 30, Met according to adjournment. Voted to adjourn the meeting 
till the first monday in June 3 O'Clock P. M. then met according to adjourn- 
ment on the 5 June. Voted that John Cate keep the minutes of the meeting. 

21y Voted that Pain Smith and John Cate be a commite to receive the 
Church book. 

31y Voted to choose a committee of two men, Joseph Roberds and Ebenezer 
Smith Esq, to go to Maj r Wallses and other placeses as they shall see fit to 



48 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

inquire into the conduct of Simo F. Williams in regard of a number of Storyes 
reported about him not becoming agreeable to a Minister of the gospel. 

41y Voted to adjourn the Meeing to the 22 day of June Aft noon at this 
place. Met according to adjournmentt. . . . June 22. 

Voted to adjourn to the 28 of Aug, at two Clock after noon at the meeting 
house. 

Met according to adjournment 28 August, Voted to adjourn the meeting to 
the 18 September 1 Clock after noon at the meeting house. Met according 
to adjournment September 18. Voted to adjourn to the 23 September, 4 Clock 
after noon at the meeting house. Met according to adjournment September 
23, firstly voted to choose Deacon Joseph Roberds and John Cate to be a com- 
mity to get the advice of the neighboring churches concerning the desmishon 
of the Rev d Simon Fin Williams 

21y Voted to adjourn the meeting to the 4 of December at the home of 
John Cate at 2 Clock after noon. 

Met acording to adjournment the 4th December, then voted to adjourn the 
meeting to the second monday in march at ten oclock fore noon at the house of 
Mr Carer in Meredith. 

Met according to adjournment the 12 day of march. 

Voted to adjourn the meeting to the 21 day of May at 4 clock after noon at 
the house of John Cate in Meredith. Met acording to adjournment 21 day of 
May. 

Voted and apoint the 28 day of June as a day fasting and prayer in regard to 
our difaculty that hath arison between the church and Minister; that God 
would please to direct us into such measures as shall be for our good and his 
own glory. 

21y Voted that Deacon Joseph Robards should send letters to them in 
behalf of the church that they would grant us their kind assistance on said day. 

41y Voted to adjourn the meeting to the 28 day of June at 4 cl afternoon 
at the meeting house. 

Met acording to adjournment 28 June. 

Voted to adjourn the meeting to Deacon Joseph Roberds at 5 cl . 

Met to Deacon Joseph Roberds acording to adjourn. 

Voted to adjourn to the 28 of August at the North Meeting House at 4 ck 
after noon. 

Met according to adjournment 28 of March. Signed John Cate, Scr 

Baptisms in Meredith Chh, under the Pastoral Care of Simon F. Willis 

Baptized 1793 July 28 

David and Jonathan, sons of Sm 1 Cram and wife; Oct 27. 

Nov r 10. Nancy 

Polly 

Thomas French, Children of J no & Nancy Cate, 

John 

Eben r Febius 

I lannah 
Dec r 15. Xabby wife of Benj n Foss 

Stephen Fogg 



FRACTION'S OF HISTORY 49 



22 


Khen r 




Benjamin 




John 




James Children of Benj n and Naby Foss 




Betsey 




Xabby 




Walter 


1794 




Jan 18 


Sally Children of Dav d Robinson and wife. 




Betsey 




Jesse Stordivant 


1794 




Jan* 8 


Stephen Children of Stephen Fog, and wife 




Jonathan Judkins 




Joseph 




Isaiah 




Parker 




Jeremiah 


Mch 9 


Nabby wife of Joshua Norris 


16 


Josiah son of Joshua & Nabby Norris 


June 1 


Hannah Daugh r of M r Sawyer & wife. Gunstock. 


July 27 


Susa Chil u of Cap" J no Roberds 




Dan' Smith 




Unice 




Sally 


Dec 14, 


Sally Wife of John Weeks 



1795 

Feb y 15. David son of Stephen Fogg 

Mch 22. Betsey Daugher of J no & Nancy Cate 

Apr - Eastman, Child of M r Sawyer & Wife, of Gilmanton 

May 31. Molly Dauf of Joshua Norris 

1795 Sally Daughter of Benj" Foss and Wife 

Oct r 18, Sally Daughter of Simon F. Williams Wife 
1796 

Feb y 21, David son to David Robinson & wife 

Mar 20. John son to John Roberds and wife 

August 28th 1798 met according to adjournment & unanimously Pased the 
following vote. 

Voted that the pastoral relation between Rev d Simon F Williams & this 
church be dissolved, agreeable to his request to the church, at their meeting 
March 2'' 1797, at the same time the church cannot consistantly with duty 
dismiss him in regular standing, nor reccomend him to the communion & 
service of sister churches, nor hold him in fellowship, as a private brother, but 
are constrained in faithfulness to God, to themselves, & to him to bear testi- 
mony against his unchristian conduct, as a forfiture of his christian & ministerial 
character & to suspend him from all special previlages in the church, until he 
shall testify his repentance, <S: seek forgivness of the church. 

Joseph Roberds, Moderator. John Cate, Clerk. 



50 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH IN MEREDITH 

'The First Baptist Church in Meredith," according to John 
Asplan, "was constituted in 1779, with fifty-one members. It is 
to be regretted that at the origin of the church they were very 
deficient in recording the doings of the church. The records 
which they have left us are in such a broken manner, that we 
thought advisable not to transcribe any farther back than the 
year 1825." 

In 1823 the church met at Brother Levi Towle's; later at other 
people's homes, until a church was built. 

List of the members' names belonging to the First Baptist 
Church in Meredith, received by baptism and letter: 



1779 


Elias Swain 


Died 1842 


1780 


John Wadleigh 


Dead 1842 




Benj. Swain 


" 1838 




Elsie Kimball 


Dropped 1833 




Mehitable Brown 


ii ti 




Moses Plumer 


Dismissed to Sanbornton 




William Simons 


Dead 1833 




Mrs. William Simons 


11 11 




Edward Fox 


Dismissed to Pine Hill Church, Sanb 




Mrs. Edward Fox 


ii 11 H it K 




Polly Moses 


tt H ll n n 




Sarah Sibley 


Dead 1840 




Nicholas Folsom 


Dropped 




Hannah Sibley 


Dead 1841 


1831 


John Folsom 
Lydia Dow 


Dismissed " " " 




Abigail Wadleigh 


Dead 1849 




Molly Leavitt, 


Dismissed to 2d Church, 1831 




now Rollin 






Anna Leavitt 


Dropped 1833 


1801 


Hannah Philbrick 


Died 1851 




Hopey Towle 


Dismissed to 2d Church, 1832 




Abigail Cass 


1832 


1803 


Lydia Perkins 






Elizabeth Dockham 


Excluded 




Mercy Weeks 


Dead 


1808 


Abigail Pitman 


i * 




Hannah Danforth 


Dropped 1836 


1809 


Molly Chase 






Elisha Piper 


Dismissed to Pine Hill Church, 1833 




Samuel Taylor 


Dropped 1833 




Joseph Robinson 


u ii 




Abigail Robinson 


ii ii 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



51 



Mrs. Polly Wadleigh 

181.^ Mrs. Hannah Gordon 
Hannah Cass 
Betsey Lea\ it t 
Deborah Gilman 
Joseph Fogg and wife 
Ahial Bartlett 
Mrs. Abial Bartlett 
Oliver dough 

1820 Mahala Robinson 
Sibbel Webster 
Parker Fogg 
Wear L. Leavitt 
Sally M. Plumer 

1824 Betsey Fogg 

1827 Xoah Folsom 
Josiah Piper 
Betsey Piper 
Susannah Leavitt 
Jenny Adams 
Polly Clark 
Joseph R. Mead 

1829 Benj. Rollins 
Lavina Leavitt 
Mahala Leavitt 
Miranda Leavitt 
Betsey Leavitt 
Linda Fogg, 

now Lovejoy 
Sally Leavitt 
Polly Mead 
John Cass 
Polly Cass 
Mary Leavitt 
Claresy Kelley 
Judith Leavitt 
Lewis E. Caswell 

1830 Josiah Perkins, Jr. 
Zadoc B. Robinson 
Polly Robinson 
John M. Wiggin 
Samuel Doe, Jr. 
Betsey Hill 
Hannah Chase 
Elizabeth Doe 
Mary Perkins 
Mrs. Elizabeth Doe 
Judith Robinson 



Died 1843 

Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1831 

Dead 

Dismissed to Church in Lowell; dead in 1838 

Dismissed to Rumney, 1831 
it it ii ii 

Dismissed to 2d Baptist Church in Meredith 

ii 1 1 1 1 ii it ii ii 

Dismissed to New Hampton Church 

Excluded 1835 

Dismissed to Haverhill Church, 1832 

1835 
Died 1832 



it (1 



Dismissed to Pine Hill Church, 1833 

11 1 1 u a ii 1 1 

" Vermont, 1836 
Died 1840 
Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1832 



1831 



Haverhill 



2d Church in Meredith, 1831 



Haverhill 

2d Church in Meredith, 1832 

Salem, Mass. 



2d Church in Meredith, 1831 
Died 1833 

Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1834 
" Weare, 1835 



Died 1846 
Dead 



52 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Sally Hill 
Lydia Yeaton 
Mary Crocket 
Betsey R. Mead, 

now Caswell 
Nancy Pitman 
Betsey Pitman 
Susan Roberts 
Mrs. Clark 
Nancy Wadleigh 
Nelly Hill 
Simeon Cate 
Polly Cate 

Simeon Wadleigh, Jr. 
Nancy Smith 
George Hilliard 
Simeon Pottle 
Joseph Dow 
Joseph Wadleigh 
Joseph Roberts 
Polly Roberts 
Daniel Tilton 
1830 Sally Tilton 

Bradley Hanaford 
Ann Hanaford 
Hiram Folsom 
Polly Folsom 
Mahala Hawkins 
Nancy Cram, 

now Lane 
Mary Jane Cram 
Mrs. Nancy Leavitt 
Phebe Smith 
Elisha Smith 
Joshua Wiggin 
John Leavitt 
Betsey Wadleigh 
Sophronia Cram, 

now Pease 
Samuel Merrill 
Abigail Morrill 
Matilda Crocket 
John Boynton 
Sally Boynton 
Stephen Farrar 
James Wadleigh 
Mrs. Sally Farrar 



Died 1845 
Dismissed 



to Gilford, 1840 
to Weare 



Dismissed to Congregational Church 
Dropped to the Methodists 
Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1831 
D. 1858 



D. 1850 

Dropped 

Dismissed to Meredith Church, 1834 

" 1834 
Died 1851 
Dead 



Dropped 

Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1832 



1 1 ii ti ii 



" Haverhill, 1832 

" 2d Church in Meredith, 1832 
,. ■< ., << ,, lg47 



u nit 1 1 ii 



1834 



Dismissed to F. W. Church, Meredith 

" 2d Church in Meredith, 1842 
1856 

to Gilford, 1840 
1845 
1852 
1850 
1847 
Dead 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



53 



1831 



1833 



1835 



1836 



1836 



Francis Lyford 

Samuel Cram, Jr. 

Sally Cram 

Sally Fogg 

Lucinda Fogg 

Tirza Folsom 

Caroline Kelley 

Dorothy Jenness 

Anna Bartlett 

Caroline L. Gordon 

John Tilton, Jr. 

William Farrar 

Mrs. Nancy Wadleigh 

Susan Blaisdell 

Caroline Tilton 

John S. Perkins 

Polly F. Wadleigh 

Irene Neal 

Joseph Neal 

John Wadleigh, Jr. 

Mrs. Mary Ann W. Hanaford, 

now Wadleigh 
Eliza Perkins 
Mrs. Susan Perkins 
Mrs. Lucy Doe Neal 
Sally Blaisdell 
Polly (Mary) Neal 
Mrs. Betsey Neal 
Mrs. Mira Wadleigh 
Mary Clough 
A. M. Swain 
Stephen F. Swain 
Mrs. Eliza Jane Swain 
Olive Roberts 
Joshua R. Robinson 
Abigail Pitman 
Clarissa Crockett 
James P. Hill 
Mrs. Hepzibeth Hill 
Mrs. Ann Chase 
Mrs. Ephraim K. Baley 
Mrs. Amanda Baley 
Mrs. Nancy Neal, 

married Wiggin 
Eliza Ann Watson 
Barzilla Pierce and wife 
Abram Tilton 
Abigail Hall 



Dismissed to 2d Church in Meredith, 1831 



11 


an 1 1 it u u 


tl 


" " 1832 


(1 


" " 1831 


a 


tt ii ( I a II II 


1 1 


" Sanbornton, 18 
■ 


roppec 
ismissi 


i 

;d to 2d Church in Meredith, 1831 


i < 


" Rumney 


( * 


1834 


1 1 


to Lowell 



Dismissed to Pittsfield 

Died 1854 

Dismissed to New Hampton 

Dismissed 

to 2d Church in Meredith, 1842 



Dismissed to Gilford 
Died 1848 



Dismissed 



to Gilford 



Dropped 



Dismissed 



to Amoskeag 



Dismissed 1840 
1840 
Died 1852 



54 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Alfred Robinson 
Angelina Robinson 
John Robinson 
John Wadleigh 
John Watson 
Abram Morse 
Matilda Cate 



RECORDS OF THE SECOND BAPTIST SOCIETY IN 

MEREDITH 

Meredith, January, 1832 

Among the articles it states that the object of the society, shall 
be to support preaching by employing some minister, who shall 
be in full fellowship with the Baptist Convention in New Hamp- 
shire. 

The subscribers names were : 



Benjamin Rollins 
Sam 1 S. Cram, Jr. 
David P. Philbrick 
John W. Cass 
Josiah S. Prescott 
Ebenezer M. Corliss 
Abel Philbrick 
Nath P. Hall 
Benj. B. Rollins 
Chas. S. Prescott 
Geo. W. Oilman 
E. R. Brown 
Wm. Knapp 
Win. E. Green 



Jas. R. Mead 
Chase Fogg 
Benj. Philbrick 
Mark A. Johnson 
Thomas S. Robinson 
John Leavitt 
Andrew Smith 
Isaac L. Robinson 
John Page 
John Neal 
Joseph Neal 
William Neal 
Israel Woodman 



Francis Lyford 
Jona P. Cram 
Daniel Yittum 
Sam 1 Robie 
Benjamin S. Sutton 
Elisha Smith 
James Gilman (3) 
John V. Barron 
David Gilman 
Joseph S. Neal 
S. G. Abbott 
S. Young 
J. M. Wiggin 



September 10, 1832 

The pews were sold at auction to Benj. Rollins, Chase Fogg, 
Francis Philbrick, Sam 1 Robie, Jonathan P. Cram, Sam 1 Cram, 
Francis Lyford, Jas. R. Mead, Jona P. Cram, David Philbrick, 
Daniel Hilton, Stephen G. Wadleigh. 

The building committee employed the following men to work 
on the church : 



Jas. R. Mead 
Jake Hains 
John P. Meloon 
Hawkins 



H. Hill & Co. 
David Corliss 
Perkins Drake 
N. Sleeper 



E. Prescott 
J. Smith 
N. G. Ladd 
W. Kents 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



55 



G. Tofo 
D. Norris 

F. Hawkins 
Francis Lyford 

G. Corliss 
W. Kent 
Sewall Leavitt 
Davit Vittum 
John Thing 
Foss & Wiggin 
S. Clark 

S. Bean 

John Tovvle 

G. >S; Win. Swasey 

C. Flanders 

N. Tailoys 

Charles Chase 

C. Flanders 

H. Adams 

J. Foss 



D. Hilton 
J. Bartlett 

Samuel P. Sanborn 
Daniel Hilton 
Daniel Smith 
Corliss Kenney 
Lawring Cupper 
John Roberts 
B. Patten 
J. Paine 
B. Gilman 
J. VY. Cram 

E. Chapman 
Will Swasey 
W. Hunt 

P. Drake 
S. Chesley 
W. Reading 
J. Chapman 



J. Leavitt 
D. Philbrick 
John 1 lains 
Jona P. Cram 
Bradbury Robinson 
Joshua Wiggin 
L. H. Chesley 
Smith & Lang 
Josiah Leavitt 
J. Gaps 

Avery & Melcher 
Smith & Lang 

D. Johnson 
J. Dodse 
Berry & Bean 

E. Boynton 
A. P. Ladd 

J. S. Marston 
J. Jenness 



June 2, 1831 

In Article I, "voted to purchase a lot of land to be deeded to 
the Second Baptist Society in Meredith." 

In Article II, "the house to be built of brick, on said land, 
40 by 50 feet on the ground, one story, which shall be 18 feet high 
with a belfry and steeple; which shall be voted on and sell shares 
in said building, and a committee shall manage the same and be 
recorded." 

Names of shareholders and shares taken by each one: 



Joseph R. Mead 
Benj. Rollins 
Jonathan P. Cram 
David Philbrick 
Chase Fogg 
Francis Lyford 
Samuel T. Cram 
Sewal Leavitt 



5 shares 

4 " 

3 " 

2 " 

2 " 

2 " 

2 " 

1 " 



Committees were chosen to carry on the work. 

The above names show some of the early inhabitants who 
worked for the church, which has prospered and stands today 
as a monument to these early residents. 



56 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

POTTLE MEETING AT OAK HILL FREE BAPTIST 

CHURCH 

The church of New Durham, in New Hampshire, was founded 
by Benjamin Randall in March, 1780. 

In their articles of faith, they professed to take God's Written 
Word for a perfect rule of faith and practice. 

A branch of the Freewill Baptist Church of New Durham, 
N. H., was founded in August, 1800, under the preaching of 
Elder Simon Pottle. 

The original place of worship was called the "Pottle Meeting 
House." They believe "all men to be equally free in their will or 
choice either to reject or believe in Jesus Christ as God's only Son 
as our only means of salvation, and that the church is a spiritual 
kingdom in which every member who believes on forsaking sin 
and accepts Jesus Christ, who died for us, will be saved." 

The duties of the officers of the church are "teaching elders 
who are preachers in word and doctrine of the gospel of our Lord 
Jesus Christ, and to preach it freely without money and without 
price." 

'They are to administer all the ordinances of the gospel, viz., 
such as baptism, the Lord's Supper, washing the saint's feet, and 
if there be any other performances required to perform, the same 
as they may have faith to perform." 

"They must be humble, grave, sober, discreet, patient towards 
all men ; not reviling any, but praying for all endeavoring to live 
godly lives as examples of righteousness, to stand as way marks to 
Heaven; in food and sleep moderate, temperate; in dress they 
must be cleanly decent." 

August 1, 1800. — In the first meeting held by Elder Simon 
Pottle, the Spirit of God was seen to be present. 

September 3, 1800. — Elder Richard Martin came and preached, 
and held a glorious meeting. The following members professed 
faith in God: Robert Smith and wife Abigail (Cass) Smith, Polly 
Smith, William Pike and wife Phebe (Smith) Pike, Nancy Pike, 
Robert Pease, Rebecca Pease and her daughter Rebecca Pease, 
Nathaniel Pease, Simeon Pease, Peter Peters, Theodah Hart, 
Sally Sinclair. 

September 23, 1800. — Elder Martin baptized eleven more 
members: Ann Boynton, Ebenezer Boynton, John Boynton, 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



57 



Polly Sinclair, Nancy Pease, Benj. Pease, Jr., George Huntress, 
Samuel Hart, Robinson Peters, John Peters, Sarah Johnson. 
These were added to the monthly meeting in Meredith. 

September 24, 1800. — Elder Simon Pottle examined and bap- 
tized Mary Pease, Lydia Griffin, and added these to the meeting. 

October 11, 1800. — Elder Pottle opened by prayer to God and 
praise for his goodness. Each member gave a testimony of their 
happiness and satisfaction. Two more came forward and gave 
their experience and desired baptism — David Boynton, Mary 
Smith. They repaired to the water, and he baptized them and 
admitted them to the meeting. 

Simeon Pease was chosen to go to New Durham to the quarterly 
meeting and for the members of the meeting asked "that the New 
Durham meeting would accept the poor company from Meredith, 
so lately gathered together out of the rubbish of the world, for 
we desire to live and die, and reign with you in Eternity." 

The signers were : 



Robert Smith 
Benj. Pease, Jr. 
Xath 1 Pease 
Eben r Boynton 
John Peters 
Xancy Pease 
Phebe Pike 
Mary Pease 
Benj. Pease 
Theodore Hart 
Sam 1 Hart 



John Boynton 
Hezekiah Swain 
Abigail (Cass) Smith 
Xancy Pike 
Lydia Griffin 
Win. Pike 
Simeon Pease 
George Huntress 
Robinson Peters 
Rebecca Pease 
Polly Smith 



Polly Sinclair 
Sarah Johnson 
Xicholas Smith 
Robert Pease 
David Boynton 
Peter Peters 
Anna Boynton 
Rebecca Pease, 5th 
Sally Sinclair 
Mary Smith 



The preceding names were accepted through Simeon Pease. 

November 12, 1800. — Met at house of Wadleigh Cram in 
Center Harbor, where they examined the applicants, and re- 
paired to the water to baptize Clement Hawkins and wife Mehit- 
able, Judah Cram, Betsey Edgerly, Dolly Berry, Betsey Canney, 
Eugene Gordon. These names were added to the Meredith 
meeting. 

December 3, 1800. — Met at house of Wadleigh Cram, and 
Elder Pottle examined and baptized William Clark and wife 
Deborah, Comfort Hawkins, Abigail Huntress (wife of Noah 
Huntress), Sally Huntress, Noah Huntress, Jr., Joseph Kenney, 
John Knowles, Jr., Susanna Nichols, Hannah Cram. These 



58 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

were given the right hand of fellowship and added to the meeting. 

December 4, 1800. — Elder Pottle preached at Brother William 
Pike's, then examined and baptized Nathaniel Hart, Anna 
Sinclair (wife of Thomas Sinclair), Susanna Pease (wife of James 
Pease) and added them to the Meredith meeting. They now had 
fifty-six members. 

January 23, 1801. — Met at William Pike's, after a good meet- 
ing, examined and went to the water and baptized Walter Sanborn 
of New Hampton and gave the right hand of fellowship to Brother 
Abel Bennett of Lebanon, and added them to the meeting. 

January 28, 1801.— Met at William Clark's, Center Harbor, 
examined and baptized Stephen Hawkins and wife Mary, James 
Huntress. These were added to the Meredith meeting. (The 
ice where they were baptized that day was two feet thick.) 

March 1, 1801. — Examined and baptized Chase Wiggin, Jr., 
Sally Wiggin (wife of John Wiggin) and added them to the meet- 
ing. 

March 26, 1801.— Met at the house of Joel Cram. Elder 
Pottle preached and examined and baptized Nicholas Smith and 
his wife Mary Marston Smith, Jonathan Cram and wife Mary, 
Enoch Cram, John Morse. These were added to Meredith 
meeting. 

April 11, 1801. — Received members from other branches: 
John Knowles and Daniel Veasey from Sandwich, N. H. 

April 12, 1801. — Examined and baptized Thomas Dolloff and 
Sally Cram. These were added to Meredith meeting. 

April 20. — Baptized Anna Randlett at Moultonboro Neck 
and she was added. 

April 21. — Preached at Center Harbor and baptized Hosea 
Sturdivant. 

May 9. — Those members present gave in the travail of their 
minds with strong resolutions, adjourned to meet at Noah Hunt- 
ress' at Center Harbor, where he was baptized. Voted to receive 
as members Thomas Blake and sister, Rebecca Knowles. 

June 3. — Voted to receive Charles Cox. 

These members were taken in at different times Senter Roberts, 
Samuel Wallis, Josiah Page, Peggy Inness, Jane Bean, Ebenezer 
Dow, Joseph Hall, Isaac Currier, Joseph Canney, Benj. York, 
Robert Glines, Benj. Eaton, Obadiah Bunker, Sarah Paine, 
Betsey Paine. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



59 



There were 134 members in two years' time; names not all 
given in the church book. Some had been labored with for not 
attending church. 

In 1804 Nicholas Smith became slow in attending church. 
He was dissatisfied but returned to church. 

Some of the members of the First Freewill Baptist Church 
petitioned about 1805 for the privilige of becoming a church by 
themselves: John Hodgdon, Obadiah Bunker, Nathan Dow, 
Josiah Blake, Livi Fogg, Samuel Blaisdell, Nathl Blake, Flisha 
Smith, John Clement, Samuel Wallace, Noah Robinson, Merriam 
Baily. 

Capt. Noah Robinson of New Hampton was a member of the 
Antipedro Baptist Church, but a constant attendant of these 
meetings. 

Flder Dana Church and Elder Magoon served in 1804. Rich- 
ard Martin churched some that did not attend church and they 
were watched carefully. 

Abigail Foss departed life February 17, 1815, aged 86 years; 
Robert Smith, March 13, 1815; Charles Cox Holderness, May 20, 
1815. 

May, 1817. — Met at meetinghouse. Elder Moses Cheney 
preached. The church was in a broken down situation. A 
committee was sent out to visit the following members: 



Theodore Hart (d. 1823) 
Rradstreet Leavitt 
Joseph Pease 
Noah Dolloff (d. 1825) 
Amos Dolloff 
John Chase 
Isaac Currier 
Perkins Doe (d.) 
Jeremiah Smith 
Christopher Smith 
Joseph Dolloff 
Nathaniel Woodman 
John Cate 
Ezekiel Leavitt 
William Pike 
Simeon Dana Pease 
Thomas Robey (d. 1826) 
Mark YVhidden 
Nicholas Smith, Jr. 



Simeon Pease 
Robinson Peters 
Thomas Dolloff (dis.) 
Chase YViggin 
Sewal Dow- 
Samuel Doe 
John Cotton 
Samuel Leavitt 
Richard R. Wiggin 
Levi Fogg 
Joshua Wiggin 
Jess Dolloff 
Jeremiah Wedgewood 
Benj. Pease 
Ebenezer Dow 
Eleazer Young 
Winthrop Wiggin 
Nicholas Smith 



John Peters 
Simeon Hatch 
Wadleigh Cram 
Stephen Leavitt 
John Dolloff 
Benjamin Foss 
David Blake 
Samuel Smith 
Daniel Yeasey (d.) 
Samuel S. Dolloff 
Joshua Batchelder 

1836) 
John Wiggin 
John Cotton 
John S. Pease 
Simeon Johnson 
Charles Robinson 
Eber r Clifford 



(d. 



60 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Phebe Pike 
Abigail Hart 
Sally Boynton 
Betsey Whicher 
Susanna Woodman 
Sally M. Woodman (d.) 
Nancy Sinclair (d.) 
Polly Pike 
Elsy Dolloff 
Mary Dolloff 
Betsey Dow (d.) 
Betsey Boynton (d.) 
Martha Johnson 
Fanny Stevens 
Polly Sinclair 
Jane Boynton 
Lydia Ladd 
Charlotte Boynton 
Eliza Clark 
Betsey Dow 
Polly Plummer 
Rebecca Pease (d. 1837) 
Hannah Pease 
Polly Woodman 
Jane Dow 
Molly Blake 
Ruth Cheney 
Sophia Boynton 



List of the Sisters 

Abigail Wiggin 
Sally Cotton (d. 1837) 
Nancy C. Wiggin 
Eunice Roberts 
Rebecca Perkins 
Hannah Young 
Susanna Page 
Nancy Dow 
Nancy Drake 
Betsey S. Wiggin 
Nancy Nichols 
Mary Smith 
Abigail W. Knowles 
Betsey Plummer 
Molly Smith 
Isabel Sinclair 
Sally Cram 
Molly Pease 
Desire Boynton 
Sally Chase 
Elener Dow 
Abigail Glidden 
Molly Blake (d.) 
Deborah Davis 
Eliza Dockham 
Maria Hart 
Mary A. Whicher 
Polly Sanborn 



Mary Leavitt 
Polly Cate 
Polly Dow 
Sally Dockham 
Mary Goss 
Phebe Blake 
Polly Yeasey 
Mehitable Pease 
Susanna Pease 
Nanna Sinclair 
Sally Fogg 
Sidney Whidden 
Lucinda Pease (d.) 
Rosilla Cate 
Eunice Wiggin 
Phebe Nichols 
Betsey Clark 
Hannah Mead 
Abigail Johnson 
Matilda Smith 
Mary J. Nichols 
Belinda Sinclair 
Sally Cotton 
Sally Clark 
Betsey Lovejoy 
Polly George 
Mary A. Morse 
Betsey Yeasey 



1818. — After this stirring up of the church, they sent out to 
different people and asked them to attend the meetings: 



Martha Copp 
Elizabeth M. Sinclair 
Betsey Boynton 
Rebecca Woodman 



Relief Smith 
Hannah Odel 
Mary P. Hart 
Mary Nealey 



Mary Cotton 
Betsey Dow 
Sally Cate 



Joseph Smith 
Horace Heath 
Jeremiah Jenness 
Simeon Page 
Edmund George 
Hezekiah Ward 
Samuel Perkins 



The Brothers 

Joshua Paine 
Abraham Briant 
William Odell 
Levi Pettingell 
Moses Russell 
Nathaniel Nichols 
John L. Sinclair 



John Haines 
Albert E. Johnson 
Stephen Crosby 
Wm. Nichols 
Simeon Cate 
Parker Nichols 
Daniel Yeasey 



I RACTIOXS OF HISTORY 



61 



Phineas Fogg 
Thomas C. Hart 
Nath Dockham 
Ithamus Blake 



Madison I Ii.im- 
Edmund ( >eorge 
Simeon Yeasey 



Andrew Nealley 
Smith Morgan 
Samuel Smith 



1840. — Oak Hill Church was organized by George (Yam, 
Thomas S. Cram, Marston Smith, Levi W. Smith, Levi Jenness, 
Abigail Smith, Sally Boynton, Ruth Smith. 

It being forty years since the organization of the church, when 
at the lower end of the pond, fourteen happy converts were 
baptized by Elder Martin of Gilford, Gunstock Church. Pros- 
perity seemed to follow for a time and many were baptized. 

Elder Pottle's Marriages 

Hezekiah Smith of New Hampton married Dolly Sinclair of 
Meredith, September 3, 1801. 

Enoch Currier of Meredith married Polly Batchelder of Center 
Harbor, February 1, 1803. 

Sally Cram of Meredith married February 21, 1803, Ezra Hoit 
of Cabot, Vt. 

William York married Mrs. Lydia Morrill of Moultonborough, 
May 28, 1803. 

Phineas Weeks married Marcy Page, 1802, in Meredith. 

Names of Members of the First Freewill Baptist Church 
in Meredith on Oak Hill; Formerly the Pottle Meeting 

House 



Andrew Nealley 
Daniel Yeasey 
Joseph Pease 
Ithamar Blake 
Sidney Blake 
Polly Smith, widow 
Isabel Sinclair 
Timothy D. Hawkins 
Susan Hawkins 
Louiza Hawkins 
William D. Boynton 
Amanda Boynton (d. 

1003) 
Sally Boynton 
Sally Boynton 
Eunice Robie 
Mary Robie 



Sally Fogg 

Abiah Smith 

Relief Smith 

Thomas Woodman 

Polly Woodman 

Betsey Copp 

Betsey Yeasey 

Nancy Woodman 

Sally Ward 

Samuel Ward 

Nancy B. Pease 

Elizabeth Yeasey 

Lavina Yeasey 

Russell S. Doe (d. 1897) 

Joseph S. Hard 

Hannah Cotton 

Phebe (Smith) Whicher 



Matilda Smith 
Polly Pike 
Clara M. Sanborn 
Thomas Batchelder 
Sarah Batchelder 
Elizabeth M. Sinclair 

(d. 1898) 
Narinda J. Sinclair 
Simeon D. Pease 
Betsey Pease (d. 1898) 
Sophronia J. Hawkins 
Clara A. Woodman 
Lucinda Cram 
John R. Pike 
George C. Boynton 
L. Mead Boynton 
Marilla Boynton 



62 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Daniel. B. Whicher 

Etta L. Sinclair 

L. Etta Sinclair 

Mrs. Almira Pease (d. 

1904) 
Moses C. Pease 
Eliza Batchelder 
Luther Boynton 
Joseph S. Whitcher (d. 

1915) 
Thomas Sinclair (d. 

1897) 
Moses Webster 
Moses G. Webster 
James Pike 
George Corliss 
Ebenezer T. Blake 
Frank Webster 
Simeon P. Smith 
Manual J. Meader 
George Brown 
Robert C. Pike 
Frank Hacket (d. 1870, 

age 27 yrs.) 
Noah Sinclair 



Nancy Hatch 
Mary L. Lawrence 
Augusta E. Pease 
Ann Maria Batchelder 
Maria Pike 
William Robie 
Lewis H. Cheney 
John W. Edgerly 
Mary E. Boynton 
Maria A. Doe 
Arzelia J. Pease 
Laura E. Pease 
Mary R. Pease 
Sarah F. Smith 
Martha Cotton 
Elder Gilman Sanborn 
Mrs. Gilman Sanborn 
Almyra A. Sanborn 
Leonette Pease 
E. Josephine Whitcher 
Nellie E. Brown 
James D. Bartlett 
Lydia R. Bartlett 
Rev. Justin Erskine 
Martha J. Erskine 



Henry L. Smith 
(d. 1919, his wife) 

Mary E. Smith 

(d. 1920, their daugh- 
ter) 

Lottie J. Smith (d.) 

Daniel S. Burleigh 

Clara M. Burleigh 

Charles R. Pease 

L. Etta Veasey 

Luella B. Pease (d. 1926) 

Anna A. Smith 

William Brown 

Sarah Smith 

Mrs. Amanda Boynton 
(d. 1903) 

J. S. Whicher 

Mamie E. Whicher 

J. Milton Whicher 

Charles Ward 

Rev. Arthur Lewis 

Phebe M. Whicher 

Mina J. Whicher 

John W. Pease 

Mrs. Fannie Ward 



Moses C. Pease 



May, 1852, Members Joined 

Moses G. Webster Thomas J. Sinclair 



Betse 


y M. Pease 


Luther Boynton 

Received 


Elder Knowles 








Died 






Died 


1800 


Theodore Hart 


1843 


1829 


Joseph Smith 


1848 




Simeon Pease 


1843 




Thomas C. Hart 


1830 


1801 


John Knowles 


1845 


1830 


Simeon Cate 


1830 


1802 


Benj. York 


1845 


1800 


Joshua Payne 


1844 


1811 


Isaac Currier 






Simeon Yeasey 


1848 


1811 


Christopher Smith 


1843 




Daniel Yeasey 






Robert Smith 


1816 




Hezekiah Ward 


1843' 




Joseph Pease 




1800 


Abigail Hart 






Jeremiah Smith 






Phebe Pike 






Nicholas Smith 






Nancy Sinclair 






Simeon Hatch 






Mary Smith 




1818 


John Cate, Jr. 


1847 


1800 


Mary Pease 






Ebenezer Dow 


1846 




Betsey Payne 


1845 ; 




Winthrop Wiggin 


1844 




Judith Cram 


1844 




Eleazer Young 




1800 


Hannah Smith 





FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



63 







Died 






Died 




Susanna Pease 






Deborah Folsom 


1845 


1801 


Mary Cram 






Eunice Robie 






Sally Taylor 


1846 




Hannah Young 




1801 


Hannah Pease 


1850 


1826 


Mary Sanborn Batcheldi 


sr 




Polly Stanton 


1 845 




Mary Sinclair Bean 


1864 




Alice Veasey 


1846 




Betsey S. Wiggin Hart 




1801 


Alice Dolloff 






Charlotte Boynton Cottc 


>n 




Mary Dolloff 




1829 


Sally Dockham 
Nancy C. Wiggin Rob- 


1846 


1801 


Nancy Cram 


1845 




erts 


1843 


1803 


Molly Blake 


1846 


1830 


Maria Hart Payne 


1844 


1811 


Sally Fogg 






Matilda Smith 






Polly Smith 






Nancy Dow 


1846 




Susan Hart 






Polly Yeasey 


1848 




Polly Pike 




1838 


Ebenezer Boynton, Jr. 


1845 




Sally Smith 






Russell S. Doe 




1831 


Andrew Nealley 






Thomas Woodman, Jr. 




1832 


Sewall Smith 


1848 




Charles M. Seavey 


1845 


1834 


Ebenezer Smith 




1838 


Benj. P. Woodman 




1835 


Levi Fogg 


1853 




Benjamin Ward 






Ebenezer Smith 


1846 




George Smith 


1846 




Ira Davis 






Charles Smith 


1847 




John Smith 






Elisha Smith 


1846 




Mark Davis 






Parker P. Boynton 






Moses B. Smith 


1845 


1839 


David P. Cotton 






William Mead 




1840 


Dexter Smith 


1847 




Nathan Davis 






Jacob Reynolds 


1850 




Thomas Roberts 


1843 




Samuel G. Bartlett 




1835 


Solomon Mead 






Joshua Jenness 




1836 


Miles Buzzell 


1846 




William Pike, Jr. 


1844 


1837 


Benaiah Dolloff 


1844 




James Pike 






John Buzzell 


1844 




George O. Cram 


1845 




Mark F. Cotton 


1845 




Thomas S. Cram 






John Mudgett 


1844 




Levi Jenness 


1845 




Jeremiah Yeasey 


1843 




Levi W. Smith 






James Bartlett 






Betsey Yeasey 






James Bickford 


1846 




Martha Copp Yeasey 


1845 


1838 


Joshua W. Wiggin 






Mary P. Hart 


1850 


1811 


Polly Woodman 






Relief Smith Woodman 






Mary Whicher 


1845 




Mary Nealey 






Jane Dow 






Sally Cate 






Lavina Smith 


1872 




Betsey Boynton 


1840 


1812 


Sally Woodman 






Mary Goss Smith 






Sally Boynton 




1831 


Irene Buzzell 


1846 




Isabel Sinclair 






Abiah Smith 




1817 


Sidney Blake 






Nancy Woodman 




1818 


Hannah Wiggin 


1844 




Hannah Currier 


1845 



64 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Died 

Hannah Cotton Sinclair 
Hart 

1833 Betsey Copp 

1834 Polly Randlett 1845 
Mary Prescott 1845 
Mary Davis 

Elizabeth Davis Bartlett 
Lois Davis 

1835 Eliza Batchelder 

1836 Mary J. Reynolds Wentworth 
Clarissa Dolloff 1845 

1840 Joseph S. Hart 1837 

William D. Boynton 
Solomon Bickford 1845 

Charles Boynton 
Amos Crockett 1855 

1842 Jonathan Jenness 
Ezekiel Jones 

1843 Ithamir Blake 
1838 Samuel Ward 

1846 Joshua W. Payne 1847 

1847 John L. Sinclair 1851 
Daniel Smith 

David Vittum 

John Haines 

Calvin Fogg 

Harrison Smith 

Hanson Beedee 

Ebeneezer Chapman 

John How 

Richard J. Plummer 

Francis Hawkins 

Samuel Leavitt, Jr. 

Elias Philbrick 

Stephen Crockett 

Mooney Baker 

Ebeneezer Stevens 

Nathaniel Clark 

Benj. F. Vittum 1891 

John Chapman 

Amos Cram 

True Bean 

Woodbury Watson 

1837 Anna Mudgett 
Ruth Leavitt Smith 

Rhoda Maxfield Davis 1850 
Polly Hill Pease 



Died 
Maria Davis 1847 

1838 Sally Cotton 

Susan R. Boynton 1845 

Eliza Doe 1843 

Nancy B. Pease Ward 
Naomi Sinclair 1847 

Lavina S. Veasey 
Mary wife of Sewall Smith 

1846 

1839 Sarah Cram Smith 
Nancy Boynton 

1840 Eliza Smith Brown 
Louisa Demeritt 
Sally Boynton 

Ruth Smith Shephard 

Mary Boynton 1845 

Clarissa Bachelder 
1847 Samuel Hall 1840 

Greenleaf Maloon 

John Batchelder 

Timothy D. Hawkins 

William S. Cram 

Newell Ladd 

John M. Hendricks 

Joseph M. Robinson 
1850 Hiram Stevens 
1840 Priscilla Caverly 

Mary E. Boynton 1845 

Nancy S. Boynton 

Maria Pike 
1842 Aseneth Davis 

Crasina Jenness 1849 

1840 Cynthia Clark 
1844 Clarissa Copp 

Affy Cumings 

Hannah S. Cawley 

Elizabeth Veasey 

1846 Maria Payne 1847 

1847 Olive E. Sinclair 1851 
Ruth Smith 

Dolly Vittum 

Ruth Cotton 1853 

Rhoda M. Cotton 

Sarah Ann Smith, wife of Har- 
rison Smith, sister of Free- 
man Hawkins 

Caroline M. D. Vittum 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



65 



Died 



Died 



1847 



Patience B. Yittum Towle 
Susan Bean 
Polly I lawkins 
Lucinda Mow 
Laura Clark 
Mary Boynton 
Abigail W. Haines 
Nancy Plummber 
Polly Fogg 
Adeline Chapman 
Lucy Crockett 
Mary Jane Haines 
Martha Sanborn 
Abigail Gale 
Mary Brown 
Elizabeth H. Woodman 
Sally Thomas 



Mahala Leavitt 
Jane S. Cram 
Abigail Hall 
Polly Maloon 
Lydia Jones 
Mary Ann Beedee 
Susan P. Hawkins 
1847 Susan Hawkins 

Louisa H. Hawkins 

Busiel 

Catherine P. Hill 
Mary Sinclair Bean 
Caroline Copp 
Dolly Hanson 
Lavina Lane 
Mary Ann Chapman 



\s\<> 



Thus ends, in 1848, the names of the early members of "Oak 
Hill Church," which shows the names of many that could not be 
found in other ways, or connected up with family records, so we 
take this way to remember many of the early settlers of Meredith. 

FREE BAPTIST CHURCH AT MEREDITH CENTER 

In June, 1810, a few of the people agreed to band themselves 
together and "watch over each other for their own good, in the 
fear of God." The following were the signers: 



Daniel Smith 
Washington Smith 
Samuel Crocket 
Sally Smith 
Polly Roberds 



Betsey Roberds 
Easter Tilton 
Daniel Tilton 
Jerusha Kelly 
Sally Crocket 



Polly Roberts, 2d 
Polly Mead 
Polly Quimby 
Nancy Tilton 
Joseph Roberds 



A quarterly meeting at the upper meetinghouse towards New 
Hampton was held. Elder Knowlton spoke from the words, 
"Take heed to yourselves, what you intend to do"; which "fast- 
oned on Polly Swain, till she happily was converted to God." 
A reformation started and many were converted and baptized 
and added to the Church of God. 

A meeting at the house of Washington Smiths to consider our- 
selves children of one family, and to watch over each other, for 
our good in the fear of God, and take the New Testament for our 
rule of faith and practice. 



66 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



In 1810 fifteen had been converted and with the assistance of 
Rev. Stephen J. Pitman and Rev. David Knowlton they organized 
what was called "The Second Freewill Baptist Church of Christ," 
in Meredith, N. H. 

In 1822 and afterward the church sent a delegate to the New 
Durham quarterly meeting with the desire to be a branch of that 
body, where they had retained membership for twenty years, 
when it came 1830. 

In 1831 the people gathered material and built the present 
church, much to their credit and after a hard struggle, but God 
was their guide and helper, and through the passing years added 
some to their members. Land was given by Lane Plummer 
and lumber by Deacon Ashael Sanborn. Others aided as time 
passed with the work given. They succeeded and later built a 
parsonage and had the buildings free from debt. 

At times some of the members were not present for various 
reasons, perhaps illness, or the home comfort and dread of the 
cold winters. At times there was a committee sent out to labor 
with them. In 1830 a conference was held at the schoolhouse 
and they were united together as a church, and some had gone 
to join the Calvin Baptists. 



List of the Members in 1813 



Andrew Woodman 
David Fogg 
Levi Benny 
Leonard Stevens 
Nath 1 Morgan 
John Cate 
Joseph Neal 
David Woodman 
Thomas Blake 
Newel Richardson 
Levi Swain 
James Johnson 



Joseph Swain 
John Swain (died) 
Jacob Swain (gone) 
Asa Randlet 
Nath 1 Wadleigh 
Josiah Wadleigh 
John Hill (gone) 
Joshua Pitman 
Jacob Perkins 
Peter Robinson 
Noah Lawrence 
Isaac Currier, Jr. 



Jeremiah Marston (died) 
Nath' Ray 

Brother Oilman (gone) 
John Batchelder 
Jeremiah Glidden 
John Swain 
Benj. Dowan (died) 
Nath 1 Batchelder 
Daniel Piper (died) 
Noah Robinson 
Philbrick Perkins 
Eben r Bickford 



Baptized by Elder Moses Cheney February 20, 1819 



Betsey Swain 
Fanny Woodman 
Polly Stevens (gone) 
Nancy Quimby (gone) 
Hannah Cate 
Eleanor Bickford 



Polly Farrar 

Lydia Robinson 

Hannah Sanbourne 

(died) 

Sister Woodman (gone) 

Priscilla Lawrence 



Phebe Page 
Nancy Williams 
Polly Sanbourne 
Polly Eager 
Eliza Smith 
Betsey Brandburv 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



67 



Polly Gilman 
Lydia Sleeper 
I tannah ( dines 
Judith Swain 
Betsey Young 
Anna Marston 
Charles Swain (died I 
Lydia Vickney 
I Iannah Stevens 
1 iannah Folsom 
Abigail Wadleigh 
Polly Robinson 
Polly Ray 
Rachel Randlet 
Nancy Marston 
Sally Ray 
Eunice Marston 



Polly Leavitt 

Polly Marston 
Lilly Robinson 

Polly Flanders 
Sally Danford 
Dotha Ray 
Susanna Swain 
Sabrina Huntress 
Irene Leavitt 
Polly Hill 
Hannah Pitman 
Mercy Smith 
Hannah Fogg 
Eleanor Bryant 
Hannah Smith 
Xancy Cate 
Sarah Bickford 



1 )orOthy Robinson 

Nancy (rocket 
Betsey Judkins 
Persiler Swain 
Betsey Blake 
Sally Williams 
Nancy Leavitt 
Sally Randlet 
Betsey Glidden 
Nancy D. Pike 
Sally Chase 
Nancy McCrillas 
Sally Swain 
Sally Glidden 
Betsey Glidden 
Elizabeth Shephard 
Stephen J. Pitman 



Baptized by Elder David Moody, 1826, Magil Pickering 

Elder John Sinclear, 1835, John B. Swain and wife 
Elder Hill, 1S35, William Crocket 

Names of Those Members Taken from the Old List, Which 
We Found in Good Standing in 1832 in the Church 



Joseph Neal 
Nathaniel Batcheldor 
Daniel Smith 
Andrew Woodman 
Eben r Swain 
Hannah Cate 
Betsey Blake 
Nancy Williams 
Betsey Glidden 
Datha Sanborn 
Elizabeth Shephard 
Mercy Smith 
Hannah Currier 
Betsey Mudgett 
Sally Crockett 
Abigail Pickering 



Thomas Blake 
John Cate 
John Swain 
John B. Swain 
Fanny Woodman 
Sally Robinson 
Eunice Marston 
Polly Leavitt 
Eliza Smith 
Susanna Swain 
Betsey Young (d. 1733) 
Sal ley Smith 
Betsey Robinson 
Elinor Bryant 
Polly Blaisdell 
Mrs. John B. Swain 



Jacob Swain 
Joseph Swain 
Washington Smith 
William Crocket 
Nancy Cate 

Polly Wadleigh Wood- 
man 
Nancy Leavitt 
Sally Robinson, 2d 
Sally Chase 
Hannah Glines 
Anna Marston 
Betsey Bickford 
Jerusha Kelly 
Betsey Robinson 
Nancy Tilton 



Names of the Brethren and Sisters that Were Found 
United at the Conference Holden at the Schoolhouse in 

1830 



Dea. John Batchelder 
Washington Smith 
Eben r Bickford 



Stephen J. Pitman 
Newel Richardson 
John Rundlet, Jr., .^d 



Mary Robinson 
Priscilla Swain 
Mrs. Mary Marston 



68 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Priscilla Lawrence 
Anna Marston 
Sally Leavitt 
Hannah Rundlet 
Polly Folsom 
Benj. Batchelder 
Chase Crocket, Jr. 
Stephen Pickering 
Thomas Eastman 
Samuel Crocket 
Jacob Perkins 
Porter Robinson 
Josiah Swain 
Noah Robinson 
Isaac Currier 
Nathaniel Ray 



Abigail Bickford 
Sally Ray 
Betsey Glidden 
Polly Moses 
Sister Richardson 
Nancy Perkins 
Polly Perkins 
Freeman Randlet 
Daniel Fogg 
Benj. Batchelder 
John S. Morgan 
Hazen Marston 
James Johnson 
Philbrick Perkins 
Joshua Pitman 
John Leavitt 



Asa Randlet 
Noah Lawrence 
Andrew Woodman 
Eleanor Russell 
Polly Marston 
Sister Pitman 
Dorothy Tilton 
Sally Perkins 
Lydia Robinson 
Sally Randlet 
Samuel Mudget 
Benj. S. Manson 
Andrew Pickering 
Jeremiah B. Swain 
Joseph Neal 
Jesse Dolloff 



Elder Benj. S. Manson Baptized April, 1830, and January, 

1832 



Barnett Currier 
William Crocket 
Susan Mudget 
Mehitable Swain 
Mehitable Pickering 
Eliza Manson 
Hannah Crockett 
Polly Roberts 
Susan Smith 
Rachel Swain 
Daniel Pickering 



William Watson 



John B. Swain 
Marian Swain 
Asneth Swain 
Eliza Rowe 
Ruth Batchelder 
Leah Rundlet 
Rachel Smith 
Betsey Perkins 
Invreas Bachelder 
John Currier 
Eben Swain 

December 17, 1831 

James Gordon 
Alvin Batchelder 



Sally Grant 
Jane Pitman 
Sally Pickering 
Betsey Batchelder 
Sally Perkins 
Caroline Pitman 
Polly Smith 
Polly Wiggin 
Abraham Bachelder 
Robert Carr 



Henry H. Swain 



February 14, 1832 

Winthrop True Phillip Clough 

February 22, 1832 

"Henry Swain 



Jeremiah Leavitt 
Olive French 
Sally Harriss 
Sally F. Bickford 
Nancy Dolloff 



February 28, 1832 

Sally Hart 
Lucinda French 
Warren Sanborn 
Sobria Willard 
Sally Wiggin 



Eliza Glidden 
Sally Shephard 
Hannah Currier 
Elizabeth Pitman 
Charlotte Morgan 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



69 



Sally Crockett 
Hannah Mudgett 



Mary A. Matten 
Diana Bryant 
Nancy Sinclair 
Abigail Moulton 



Patience Williams 
Asenath Swain 
Mrs. John B. Swain 



Susan Hart 
Hannah Swain 

January 31, 1832 

Sally Currier 
Margaret Watson 
Ruth Hoyt 
Polly Yetton 

February 14, 1832 

Martha Clough 
Hannah Sanborn 
Abigail Pickering 



Polly Richardson 



Harriet Shephard 
Susan Gordon 
Nancy Calley 
Susan Blaisdell 



Mahala Sanborn 
Mary Dame 



In 1831 the present church edifice was erected and a monthly- 
conference was held for the first time April 30, 1833, with Rev. 
Benj. Manson, Pastor. The church prospered. 

February 10, 1838, names of those members taken from the old 
list who are found in union and who have agreed to watch over 
each other in the fear of God. 



Elder Steven J. Pitman 
Jacob Perkins 
Henry Swain 
John J. Currier (d. 1843) 
Wm. Watson 
Andrew Pickering 
Hazen Marston 
Noah L. True 
John Glidden 
Elbridge Leavitt 
Joseph B. Tilton 
Edward Chase 
Gilman Plumer 
Ruth C. Batchelder 
Sally Perkins 
Aseneth Swain 
Roxanny Wilson 
Jane Webster 
Hannah Pickering 
Hannah Chase 
Widow Mary Marston 
Sally Perkins 
Nancy Batchelder 
Tryphena Marston 
Susan Severance 
Joshua Pitman 



Daniel Pickering 
John G. Robinson 
Oliver Hill 
Jonathan Ladd 
Dea. John Batchelder 
David Fogg 
Jeremiah B. Swain 
Abigail Batchelder 
Eben r Bickford 
Washington Smith 
Jonathan Dow 
Samuel Lawrence 
Benj. Mudget 
Alvin Batcheldor 
Jewel Severence 
Peter Severance 
Betsey Glidden 
Susan Mudget 
Nancy Perkins 
Betsey Bickford 
Theophilis Sanborn 
Abigail Swain 
Ursula Severance 
Susannah Smith 
Susan Batcheldor 
Sally Tilton 



Elizabeth Batchelder 
Hannah Davenport 
Sylvana Bickford 
Ebenezer Swain 
James Gordon 
Sherborn D. Batchelder 
Charles Perkins 
Joseph Chapman 
Dea. Benj. Batchelder 
Josiah Swain 
Increase Batchelder 
Winthrop True 
Chase Crockett 
Freeman Pitman 
Abram True 
Smith Glidden 
Dana Woodman 
Philbrick Perkins 
Thomas Robinson 
Charles Crocket 
Hannah Swain 
Mehitable Swain 
Eliza Dow 
Mary True 
Nancy Glidden 
Sister Jane Woodman 



70 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Mary Ann Blake 
Sister Yeasey 
Kliza Rowe 
Marian Blake 



Nancy Cummings 
Betsey Blake 
Emeline Bickford 
Chase Crocket, Jr. 



Noah Robinson 
Daniel Robinson 
Thaddeus Ward 
Samuel Lawrence 



In 1841 more were added 



Mary Perkins 
Hannah Swain 
Susan Smith 
Betsey Plummer 
Elizabeth T. Perkins 
Rachel C. Robinson 
Hannah Chase 
Rachel Sanborn 
Nancy Lawrence 
Polly Smith 
Nancy Glidden 
Sibbel Webster 
Belinda Webster 
Reuben Stanton 
Sally Leavitt 



Hannah Crocket 
Susan Gordon 
Nancy Sinclair 
Wid. Sally Smith 
Dorothy Tilton 
Sally Peabody 
Nancy Robinson 
Susan Lawrence 
Lorenzo Crockett 
Priscilla Swain 
Sally Robinson 
Sally Perkins 
Susan Hart 

(J. Batchelderw.) 
Ruth Hovt 



Abigail Bickford 
Polly Leavitt 
Lydia Howe 
Lucinda Robinson 
Susan Dow 
Priscilla Lawrence 
Lydia Robinson 
Betsey Perkins 
Sally Foss 
Elizabeth Shephard 
Polly Robinson 
Wid. Betsey Peabody 
Sally Glidden 
Priscilla Lawrence 



Names of Members Added to the Church in 1842-3 



Widow Nancy Wadleigh 
Olive Jane Pickering 
Precentia J. Pitman 
Precentia A. Pickering 
Mehitable M. Swain 
Mary E. Swain 
Betsey Jane Pitman 
Catherine A. Pickering 
•Malvinah Pickering 
Hannah Pitman 
Olive Wiggin 
Eliza Wiggin 
Lucy A. Wiggin 
Mary A. Tilton 
Sarah A. Weeks 
Mary A. Pain 

November 29 

Hannah F. Plummer 

Sally Patchelder 

Mrs. Stephen Pickering 



Age 




Age 


40 


John Wiggin (d. 1852) 




18 


Aaron Tilton (d. 1847) 




13 


John G. Busiel 


16 


11 


Horatio N. Busiel 


19 


15 


Lois Currier 


16 


13 


Stephen Pickering (d. 1843) 




11 


Daniel L. Lawrence 


20 


15 


Mary A. Moses 


21 


13 






13 


January 31, 1H43 




13 


Geo. W. Swain 


30 


17 


Arthur Atwood 


27 


11 


John L. Swain 


18 


13 


Sarah Glidden 


22 


14 


Polly Pickering 


47 


14 


Asa Peabody 


38 




Lucinda French 


26 




Hezekiah Swain 


21 




John Batchelder 


24 




B. F. Mudgett 


16 




William Swain 


25 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



71 



N v.mes of Members Added to the Church in January, 1843 



Benjamin Badger 
Angeline Blake (d. 1844) 
Joshua W. Hart 
Win. C. Crockett 
Win. Edgedy 
Lauretta Dolloff 
Sally (iraves 
Joseph Straw 



Nancy French 
( liarlotte Doten 
Thomas Leavitt 
Paul H. Stanton 
Win. M. Webster 
Joseph Robinson 
Eliza Sanborn 



John Blake 
David Wilson 
Jane Leavitt 
Greenleaf Shaw 
Lafayette Kimball 
Sarah Jane Robinson 
Addalade Bradburv 



SECOND FREEWILL BAPTIST CHURCH 

The following is a list of the members composing the Second 
Freewill Baptist Church in Meredith, May 10, 1845, in regular 
standing, as reported by the committee chosen to investigate the 
church book: 



Died 



Died 



Elder Stephen J. Pitman 




Jane Woodman 




Dea. Benjamin Batchelder 




Hannah Lewis 




Dea. Jacob Perkins 




Mary Ann Blake 




John Batcheldor 




Susannah Smith 




Josiah Swain 




Wid. Mary Marston 


1851 


Henry Swain 


1857 


Eliza Pickering 




Abram Batchelder 


1849 


Sally Perkins 




Ebeneezer Bickford 


1844 


Sally Tilton 




Chase Crockett 




Mariam Blake 




Hazen Marston 




Elizabeth Batchelder Randlett 


1857 


Jonathan Dow 


1846 


Tryphena Marston 


1853 


Samuel Lawrence 




Betsey Blake 




Smith M. Glidden 




Susan Sevrance 




John L. Glidden 




Sylvanus Sanborn 




Benj. Mudgett 


1846 


Emiline Sanborn 




Dana Woodman 




James Gordon 




Alvin Batchelder 




Oliver Hill 




Joseph B. Tilton 




Elizabeth Perkins 




Thomas J. Robinson 




Ruth Swain 


1852 


Moses G. Plummer 




Rachel C. Robinson 




Hannah Swain 




Polly Smith 




Ruth C. Batchelder 




Susan Blaisdel 




Sally Perkins 




Betsey Plummer 




Nancy Perkins 




Susan Shores 




Eliza Dow 




Priscilla Swain 




Betsey Bickford 


1850 


Sally Robinson 




Theophilis Sanborn 




Lydia Robinson 


1859 


Nancy Glidden 




Betsey Perkins 


1847 


Jane Webster 




Susan Gordon 





72 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 





Died 




Elizabeth Shephard 


1846 


Jane Webster 


Abigail Bickford 


1849 


Caroline Pitman 


Polly Robinson 




Hannah Mudgett 


Dorothy Tilton 




Aseneth Swain 


Betsey Peabody 


1846 


Hannah Sanborn 


Sally Peabody 




Jeremiah Glidden 


Lydia How 




Ruth Perkins 


Sally Glidden 




Polly Swain 


Nancy Hill 




Abigail Swain 


Lucinda Robinson 




Polly Wadleigh 


Susan Lawrence 




Sally Wiggin 


Percentia J. Pitman 




Lewis S. Wells 


Mary E. Swain 




Francis Reed 


Betsey Jane Pitman 




Jacob F. Perkins 


Hannah Pitman Swain 




I. M. Bedell 


Olive YViggin 




Mary P. Corliss 


Eliza Wiggin 




Rachel A. Swain 


Lura Wiggin Pike 




John W. Pitman 


Mary A. Tilton 




Asa Randlet 


Sarah A. Weeks 


1845 


S. G. Randlett 


Sally Batchelder 




Eliza Robinson 


Olive Pickering 




Peter Severance 


John Wiggin 


1852 


Betsey M. Martin 


Stephen Pickering 


1851 


Robert E. Downing 


Geo. W. Swain 




Julia A. Downing 


Mary A. Batchelder 




Abigail Downing 


Arthur Atwood 




Mary B. Glidden 


John L. Swain 




Mary A. Randlet 


Sarah Glidden 




Martha Glidden 


Polly Pickering 




Cyntha A. Sanborn 


Lucinda Swain 




David Philbrick 


John H. Batchelder 




0. Butler 


William Swain 




Elisabeth Swain 


John Blake 




Anna Marston 


Charlotte Doten 




Belinda Webster 


Joshua W. Hart 




Joseph Chapman 


Paul H. Stanton 


1858 


Benjamin Badger 


William Edgerly 




Andrew Pickering 


Launettee Dolloff 


1856 


Hannah Pickering 


Sarah J. Robinson 


1850 


Prudence Ann Pickering 


Sally Graves 




Catherine A. Pickering 


Eliza Sanborn 


1848 


Melvinah Pickering 


Addelaide Bradbury 




Olive Jane Pickering 


Win. W. Batchelder 




Sarah Hanes Glidden 


Betsey Hatch 




Mary Wells 


Almira Ann Hart 


1846 


Aphia G. Reed 


Olive B. Pitman 




Mary Corlis 



Died 



1856 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



73 



Clarinda Dolloff 
Israel P. PI u miner 
Abby L. Sanborn 
Melvina Taylor 
David Edgerly 
Sarah S. Edgerly 
Rebecca Hall 
Rosanah G. Pitman 
Aramenta D. Robinson 



Died 



1857 



Betsey Downing 
Adline Downing 
Warren Taylor 
Judith Severance 
Warren L. (ilidden 
Laura D. Smith 
Marilla A. Perkins 
Abigail Philbrick 
M. S. Butler 



Died 



1855 



As we review the past fifty years they show pleasures and some 
clouds as we go along the pathway of life, and it brings to mind 
the words — 

Showers of blessings, showers of blessings we need, 
Mercy drops on us are falling, but for the showers we plead. 

The Meredith Center Church still stands, and in 1877 we find 
the many changes that come to all. The older founders are gone, 
but not forgotten. 





Died 


Hazen Marston 


1890 


Smith M. Glidden 


1884 


John L. Glidden 


1901 


Joseph B. Tilton 


1878 


Thomas B. Robinson 


1886 


Moses G. Plummer 


1886 


Ruth C. Batchelder 


1884 


Nancy Glidden 


1893 


Sally Tilton 


1882 


Sally Glidden 


1892 


Miriam Blake 


1887 


Elizabeth J. Carr 


1900 


Rachel E. Robinson 


1892 


Betsey Plummer 


1898 


Dorothy Tilton 


1880 


Mary E. Robinson 


1877 


Ruth Tuttle 


1886 


Mary F. Tuttle 


1887 


Mary M. Cate 




Warren B. Leavitt 




John H. Batcheldor 


1906 


Mary Fogg 


1877 


Albert Pitman 




Ellen B. Swain 


1879 


Lyman D. Yeasey 


1913 



Died 



Lucy H. Plummer 

Ida B. Batcheldor Corliss 

George L. Corliss 

Elisha S. Cram 

Rev. John Willis 

Jane Willis 

Eva L. Perkins 

Hattie E. Tilton 

Sarah J. Ladd 

Cora Agnes Plummer 

Dwight E. Arnold 

Flora E. Chase 

Abbie Weymouth 

Rev. Geo. H. Pinkham 

Mrs. Geo. H. Pinkham 

Gracie Pinkham 

Fred L. Batchelder 

Frank Arnold 

Rev. Lyman E. Hall 

Emuly H. Hall 

Frank P. Corliss 

Fannie E. LeBarrow 

Mary E. Piper 

Sarah D. Glidden 

Ruth Perkins 



1890 



1893 
1897 



74 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Jacob F. Perkins 

Melvina Chase 

Laura D. Yeasey 

Mary A. Pitman 

Eliza Robinson 

John Webster 

Eliza Pease Clifton 

Ashael Sanborn 

Nathan G. Plummer 

Mary A. Sanborn 

Hannah Shores 

Caroline Batcheldor 

Charlotte J. Leavitt 

Emma R. Robinson Emory 

Eliza A. Perkins 

Sarah E. Plummer 

Eleanor Russell 

Eliza R. Chase 

Mary Ann Batcheldor 

William H. Cate 

Francis Graves Davis 

Emma Pitman 

Newton B. Plummer 

Nancy D. Plummer 

Annie E. Swain 

Warren K. Kimball 

Orin F. Swain 

Rev. Francis Lyford 

Catherine Lyford 

Emma Robinson 

Carrie E. Webster Pickering 

Nellie P. Ladd Harriman 

Mary Grace Perkins 

Elmer E. Perkins 

Orlando S. Marsh 

Sarah F. Marsh 

E. W. Smith 

Hattie Pitman 

J. Frank Batchelder 

Nelson Chase 

Eliza J. Kimball 

John R. Robinson 

Hannah G. Robinson 

Edgar A. Adams 

Herbert N. Plummer 

Noah F. Chase 

Clara F. Chase 



Died 


Rev. David Calley 


Died 


1901 


Mary E. Calley 
Ida M. Perkins 
Lucinda Swain 




1901 


Rebecca Call 




1903 


Marilla Butler 




1884 


William B. Swain 
Sylvan ia Robinson 
Joseph S. Plumer 
Noah H. Chase 


1883 


1887 


Clara F. Chase 
Henry Hall 




1878 


Sarah M. Chase 


1901 


1877 


Phebe Plumer 
Abbie Weymouth 




1913 


Emma Yeasey 




1879 


John Yeasey 
Mary A. Sanborn 




1897 


Orlando S. Marsh 




1902 


Sarah F. Marsh 
Mary A. Pitman 
Dwight Arnold 
Anna Swain 




1902 


Jacob F. Perkins 
Eliza A. Perkins 
Mary F. Tuttle 
Martha Plummer 
Etta H. Filgate 
Eva J. Perkins Felker 






William I. Filgate 


1898 


1890 


Aseneth Hoyt 


1885 


1888 


Cynthia A. Copp 
Warren L. Glidden 






Nancy Crocket 


1883 




Joseph S. Robinson 






Martin B. Plumer 






Sarah H. French 






Wilber J. Collins 






Betsey A. Crocket 






William C. Marshall 






Carrie Marshall 






Hattie Osgood 






Jessie F. Sanborn 






Asahel Sanborn 


1881 




Flora E. Chase 






Francis Graves Davis 


1910 




Hattie E. Swain 





FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 75 

Died Died 

Elisha (ram W. B. Leavitt 

Philena Rider Mary Grace Perkins Jones 

Thus ends the members of over half a century, and may God 
bless the present members and help them to gather more in and 
flourish as in days past. 

THE MEREDITH CENTER HARBOR CHURCH 
By Sarah M. Notes 

On the 2()th of February, 1815, a council of ministers convened 
at Mr. Moses Morse's in Center Harbor — Rev. Messrs. Shaw, 
Hedden, Habard, Turner, Field and Warren. 

The church was organized as "The Congregational Church of 
Christ in Center Harbor and Meredith, Third Division." 

The place of meeting was a small church building built in 1813, 
west of Center Harbor Village, which had been used by different 
denominations. 

The First Congregational Society in Meredith was incorporated 
by the New Hampshire Legislature in 1817. This society was 
composed of twenty-two men members. Many years later 
women were allowed to join the society. 

For four years the church had no pastor; only pastors of neigh- 
boring churches came and served. 

The members indicated by a vote in 1816, "To worship God, 
statedly in a public manner, on the Sabbath, even if they had no 
preaching." 

The first pastor was Rev. David Smith, who was installed 1819 
and died 1825. We are indebted to his daughter for particulars. 

He came from Temple in the District of Maine, with his wife 
and six children on an ox sled, 130 miles, and his household goods. 
It took ten days to make the journey. They were genuine 
pioneers. 

The house they came to was the one occupied by Mrs. James 
Hines, one mile from the Village on the road to Center Harbor 
from Meredith. 

The minister's salary was 200 dollars. The story runs that Dr. 
Sanborn, passing on horseback, reproved the minister for working 
Saturday afternoon, as he thought he should be in his study 
preparing for his Sunday sermon. Rev. Smith replied : "Yes, but 



76 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

my family must have bread, and I must plant my corn to furnish 
it. I feel rich when I can have Saturday afternoon in my study, 
but I can't have even that today." 

The old meetinghouse was on the other side of the road, not 
far from the parsonage, a plain wooden building too cold for 
comfort in winter, so the services were held in cold weather in 
the schoolhouse. 

Mr. Smith died in 1824 of consumption; his wife died two years 
later. She walked to church with a crutch and kitchen chair, 
which she had to rest in on the way. The membership was 
forty-one members when Rev. Smith died. 

The next minister was Rev. Reuben Porter who settled in 1829, 
and was dismissed in 1830, with an addition of eleven members 
during that time. 

Rev. Joseph Lane came next. In 1832 the church voted to 
build a meetinghouse without a cupola. It was built at the foot 
of the Neal Hill, near the lake shore. The pews were sold at 
vendue to the highest bidder. During Mr. Lane's pastorate there 
was a great growth in membership. 

In 1833 Mr. Lane became agent for the New Hampshire Bible 
Society and Rev. Abram Wheeler filled the pulpit. Twenty- 
eight were admitted to the church, and Miss Jane B. Leavitt 
married Rev. John L. Seymour, and went as a missionary. 
Judith Leavitt, another member, married Rev. John Taylor. She 
joined the Baptists, and went to Siam as a missionary. 

Dudley Leavitt, the astronomer, attended this church. One 
evening his wife made a fervent prayer that her husband might 
be saved. When she was through, Dudley Leavitt arose and said : 
"We read in God's Word that the unbelieving husband shall be 
justified by the prayers of the believing wife." He took his hat 
and walked out. Their son, Isaac Leavitt, and wife were mem- 
bers, and their descendants are faithful to the church of their 
ancestors. 

In 1838 a church was started in Center Harbor with Rev. Eli 
W. Y. Taylor as pastor. Fourteen members were transferred. 

As the years passed the members made resolutions about slave- 
holding, that it be abolished. 

In 1842 they voted to keep boys in their place during worship, 
also in the use of ardent spirits as a beverage. The same year 
Rev. Giles Leach was installed. He was an earnest worker and 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



77 



much respected. Two of his daughters married in Meredith. 
One married Dr. Henry Sanborn and one married J. W. Lang, Jr. 
During 1842 the church was removed to Highland Street in 
Meredith. 

Dr. Sanborn joined in 1817 and remained faithful as clerk. 
Deacon Furber joined in 1831, also Deacon Levi Leach, Daniel 
Norris, George H. Norris, Charles D. Maloon and Frank Bartlett. 

As time passed to 1871, Mr. Burnham served some time and 
repairs were made. The bill was given by Mrs. Joseph W. 
Lang; chandelier, by Mrs. Geo. W. Lang; pulpit, by Mrs. Metcalf ; 
pulpit lamps, by Mrs. Irene Neal Smith; the communion table, 
by Mrs. S. W. Rollins; organ lamps, by Mrs. N. B. \Yadleigh; 
and many other ladies assisted. 

In 1886, Rev. John E. YVildey resigned and Rev. Frederick 
Perkins, a brother to Mrs. Joseph Wadleigh, supplied. 

In 1833 the members were: 



John Sanborn 
Josiah Xorris 
Reuben P. Smith 
Samuel Bean 
Stephen Tilton 
Joseph W. Lang 
John Bachiler 
Daniel Xorris 
Jonathan Cram 
Jonathan Brown 



Dea. Richard Furber 
Joshua Xorris 
Bradbury Robinson 
Burley Oilman 
Alice Swasey 
Xewell Tilton 
John Towle 
Jabez W. Berry 
Jonah Leavitt 



Guerille Corliss 
John Furnald 
Timothy Badger 
Daniel Xorris, Jr. 
Peter Genness 
Seth Bartlett 
Daniel Meloon 
Jeremiah Prescott 
Daniel Hilton 



These were the records of the First Congregational Church, 
organized 1817. 

Signed by J. \Y. Lang, 

Daniel Norris, 
Isaac Leavitt, 
Josiah Norris. 

Stones in the First Congregational Yard in Rear of 

Richard Neal Farm 

David Robinson (probably son of Joseph Robinson), 1759-1834 
His wife 
Hannah Robinson, 1745-1825 

Second wife 
Elizabeth Robinson, 1763-1833 
Hannah, daughter of David and Hannah Robinson and wife of John Batchel- 
der, 1781-1837 



78 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Hannah, wife Reuben Prescott and daughter of John and Hannah Batchelder, 

1811-1834 
Reuben Prescott, 1798-1830 

Eliza A., daughter of John and Hannah Batchelder, 1813-1836 
Moses Kenney, 1777-1851 

Abiel Bartlett, 1749-1816. A Revolutionary Soldier 
His wife 

Maria Goodhue, 1750-1826 
Horace Twichell, 1817 1844 
James W. Lane, 1804-1836 

Willard, son of J. W. and Nancy Lane, 1830-1835 
Hannah Gennis, 1793-1837 
Nancy, wife of Nehemiah Leavitt, 1788-1829 
Children 

Nancy P., daughter of Nehemiah Leavitt, Jr., and Nancy, 1813-1830 

Daniel, son of Nehemiah and Nancy Leavitt, 1814-1816 

John D. Leavitt, 1827-1866 

The Third or North Sanborn ton and Meredith 
Baptist Church 

History states that there were "Christian brethren and sisters, 
living in North Sanbornton, and over the line in Meredith, who 
in 1828 commenced to build a meetinghouse on 'Pine Hill,' near 
Merrill Brook in Meredith, which was finished in 1829, on the 
south side of the road." 

An old neglected burying ground is all that marks the location 
where many early pioneers that lived near worshiped. 

The church was organized in June, 1833, where four churches 
convened as the Meredith and Sanbornton Baptist Church, 
under Meredith Hill. 

Samuel Mathison was pastor, and the church membership grew 
from nine to twenty-seven members. (We have not been able 
to find the charter members.) A few were added until 1839; then 
they did not have a pastor and the meetinghouse was moved from 
"Pine Hill" in Meredith to North Sanbornton. In 1840, Elder 
Moses Cheney supplied. 

The records are very scarce preceding that time, but it pros- 
pered better later on. Being in a sparsely settled locality, the 
people were not able to always support a pastor. 

A few were dismissed from other churches to join this one. 
Among them were: 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 79 

Moses Plummer, dismissed in 18.W 
Dea. Edward Fox, 
1 lis wife 
Anna Fox 
Elisha Piper, August 3, 1 1 >2 U 
Josiah I'iper, January, 1837 
His wife 
Betsey Piper, " " 

We tried to find out who were buried in the old grown-up yard 
and were told that there were a few stones, but we failed to find 
any. Probably overgrown. A few were buried in "Merrill 
Brook" churchyard. 

Moses Merrill, and wife Eunice. 

Noah Smith. He had no children. 

Moses Merrill lived across the road from where the church stood, 
and where the yard is fenced in. He was a Revolutionary soldier. 

THE FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH OF 
MEREDITH AND CENTER HARBOR 

The church was organized February 20, 1815, with thirteen 
members. 

The First Congregational Society was incorporated as a legal 
body by a special act of the New Hampshire Legislature, June 18, 
1817. 

The church had residents of Center Harbor and Meredith. 
The first meetinghouse was situated on the Center Harbor Road, 
about a mile from Meredith, on what is now called "Neal Hill." 
The old churchyard is grown to bushes and contains many graves 
of the early settlers. Many are unmarked and will never be 
identified. 

The names of the original members were: 

Ephraim Doten David Robinson Moses Morse 

Jeremiah Towle Joshua Xorris Stephen Norris 

Hannah Morse Elizabeth Robinson Mary Ladd 

Abigail Xorris Dorothea Sturtevant Sarah Norris 
Susanna Doten 

Original members of the Society: 

John Towle David Bean David Robinson 

David Corliss Samuel Bean John Roberts 

Jonathan Brown Jeremiah Fogg Moses Senter 

Isaiah Fogg Josiah Norriss Timothy Tilton 

John Sanborn Josiah Bean 



80 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

The above of Meredith. Those of Center Harbor were: 

Moses Morse Nathan L. Morse Jeremiah Towle 

Moses Morse, Jr. John Adams Joshua Norris 

Daniel Norris 

Most of the members of the society later joined the church. 

In 1833 a meetinghouse was erected at Meredith Village, and 
in 1843 was moved to the present location. 

In 1838 a Congregational Church was organized in Center 
Harbor, and there was a separation of members, a part going 
to Center Harbor. 

In 1832 the church voted that "no person be admitted to the 
church who would not pledge entire abstinence from ardent 
spirits, except in sickness." 

The story runs, through the old church records, that when they 
got ready to raise the church in Center Harbor, one of the deacons 
stated that it would be raised on "cold water." The custom at 
all "raisings " was to have a barrel of rum. Some of the outsiders 
of the church, that always frequented and helped to raise build- 
ings, stood back and stated "they would not help if they could 
not have some rum to drink." Everything was ready to start 
the next morn at 9 a.m., but the helpers stood out. 

After supper (the night before), the deacon hitched his horse in 
the two-seated wagon and drove away up towards Cass Hill. 
Nothing developed that evening, and the men went home and 
retired for the night. 

About 8 a.m. the next morning the deacon was seen coming 
down the hill with three men besides himself in the wagon, and 
close by team after team followed the deacon until quite a crowd 
had gathered. They deliberately got out and each owner 
hitched his horse and the crowd went over to the pile of lumber, 
getting ready for raising the church. The story goes that the 
few natives that had stood out, seeing that they were going to 
succeed, were ashamed and stepped up and gave a helping hand, 
and the church frame went up with plenty of help and the deacon 
succeeded in his prophecy that they would raise it with "cold 
water." God helps those who help themselves in a worthy cause, 
and the church stands today, in a prosperous condition, a 
monument to show the power of God through man to keep 
the pledge. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 81 

MEREDITH NECK CHURCH 
By Eleazer D. Cawley 

Some time ago there came into my possession through the death 
of a relative an historical document, at least to the old timers of 
Meredith and Meredith Neck, that dates back some ninety years. 
The names are partially illegible. (One whose first name was 
Nathaniel — his surname perhaps Nichols; at least, it commenced 
with the letter N. One lady whose first name was Susannah, 
possibly her name was Page, because by an act of conference "it 
was voted to add to the list of signers Sister Page.") 

The document relates to the formation of the church situated on 
the Neck, on the summit of what was known as "Boardman's 
Hill." 

There are several old letters relating to this interesting event 
from the clerk of the Freewill Baptist Church of Meredith Village, 
whose name was Noah Sinclair. These letters were addressed to 
"Brother Daniel Wiggin," who was also the first signer of the 
petition, and seems to have been one of the leaders in the move- 
ment to withdraw from the Freewill Baptist Church at the Vil- 
lage. It is plainly evident from the letters that those in authority 
did not want to grant letters of dismissal to form the Neck Church 
and it nearly came to a split in the church at the Village. Com- 
mittees were appointed "to meet with the Neck Brothers to try 
and patch up their differences," but it appears that the Neck folks 
remained firm in their determination to withdraw until finally the 
committee capitulated and recommended "that their prayer be 
granted." 

I knew many of the signers of this old document when I was a 
boy and lived on the Neck, where I was born. 

Some were my relatives. Daniel Wiggin was my grand- 
father. The people of the Neck were bound together by very 
close ties. They were a community by themselves and each de- 
pended upon the other for all necessary aid, when the snows of 
winter packed and drifted the roads high across the stone wall 
fences; when motive power was almost wholly the slow and patient 
ox team ; when they raised their sheep and carded and spun their 
wool into yarn to be worked up in the old hand loom into cloth, 
with which they clothed themselves; in short, when their entire 
living had to be wrested from the stony soil. No telephones, no 



82 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

electric lights, no automobiles, no rural free delivery, no summer 
boarders, and being situated as they were, is it any wonder they 
became closely bound together . J What was the joy of one family 
was the joy of all families, or the sorrow of one the sorrow of all. 

My mother tells me that there was very little real money among 
any of them, but since they had to have a meetinghouse in which 
to worship they talked the matter over and each agreed to furnish 
something. Some donated lumber and had it sawed at the old 
mill on " Fish Brook " ; others something else. My mother states 
that my grandmother became responsible for the necessary nails 
used in the building, also glass for the windows. She had to make 
butter which grandfather would take to the Village to exchange 
for its value in nails or glass; no cash, but all barter or trade. 

After everything needed had been collected together, one day 
all the Neck folks assembled by previous arrangement and started 
work on this new church. The women did their part by seeing 
that all had enough to eat at the noon hour, and how everybody 
worked! There were no shirkers that day and I imagine that the 
scene on the old hill would remind one of Nehemiah, 4: 6, "For the 
people had a mind to work." 

If that old meetinghouse could only speak, what a tale it could 
unfold of love and hope and help it had rendered to the com- 
munity during those many years. There are still some living 
in Meredith, whose parents signed this document; but the 
signers have played their part in their day and generation. The 
snows of many winters have covered their graves, where their 
bodies rest while waiting for the final summons, in the little 
cemetery, beside the church for which they labored and ac- 
complished so much and loved so well. 

Following is a copy of the old petition: 

We the undersigned members of the First Free Will Baptist Church of 
Meredith think that being located as we are it would be more convenient and 
for our best interest to become a Free Will Baptist Church by ourselves, 
therefore we ask for letters of commendation, and dismission. 

We in Duty Bound Ever Pray. 

Meredith, July 27, 1839. 

SIGNERS 

Daniel Wiggin Eleazer Bickford Nancy B. Lovejoy 

John \ichols Jesse Lovejoy Nathaniel Dockham 

Friscilla Nichols Sally K. Lovejoy Sally Wiggin 



FRACTIONS or HISTORY 



83 



Parker B. Nichols 

Mahal. i Bryant 
Ebenezer Bickford 
Augusta Chase 
Susanna Page 
Priscilla Bickford 
Charles Bickford 
Thomas Bickford 
Jonathan Bickford 
Betsey Chase 
Nancy Roberts 

October 12, 1839. 



James Roberts 
Martha Ann Clark 
Adeline Wiggin 
Ruth Bickford 
(lias. Wiggin 
1 Iiram Bryant 
Paul P. Nichols 
Robert M. Nichols 
Eleanor Lovejoy 
Mary Jane Dockham 
Phebe Nichols 



Nancy Jenness 
Madison Chase 
Stephen Board man 
Sally Boardman 
Nathaniel Nichols 
John Clark 
Thomas Chase, Jr. 
Elizabeth Nichols 
I luldah Nichols 
Betsey Lovejoy 



Agreeably to a vote passed in two conferences — 

This certifies that the above named brothers and sisters are regular members 
of the First Free Will Baptist Church in Meredith, and agreeably to their 
Petition we hereby commend and dismiss them. 

In behalf of the Church, 

Noah Sinclair, Clerk. 

Attached to this note of October 12, on the reverse side, was the 
following petition of brethren on the Neck: 

Bro. Wiggin: 

You will perceive that the Petioners will remain Members in the old 
Church, until they become organized into a Church; also, that it will be 
necessary for your organization to inform our Clerk of the same, &c. 

Yours 

Noah Sinclair. 



THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH AT MEREDITH 

BRIDGE 

Adopted June 28, 1824 

The Church at Meredith Bridge was organized June 28, 1824. 
Rev. Francis Norwood was ordained as its first pastor, July 6, 
1825, and dismissed June 8, 1830. Rev. John K. Young was 
installed over the church and society November 30, 1830. 



OFFICERS 



Rev. John K. Young 
Benj. T. Sanborn 
John B. Jewett 
Benj. T. B. Sanborn 
Stephen W. Mead 



Pastor 

Deacons 

Clerk 
Treasurer 



84 



ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 



Ebenezer S. Lawrence 
Timothy D. Somes 
Benjamin Boardman 



Examining 
Committee 



Members of the Church at Meredith Bridge 



1824 



Jacob Jewett (Deceased) 
Daniel E. Jewett (Dismissed) 
Sally Pollard 
Ruth Jewett (Dead) 
Mercy B. Robinson 



Benjamin Jewett 

Ruth E. Jewett 

Hannah Maxwell (Excommunicated) 

Huldah Jewett Blood (Dismissed) 

Benjamin Swain (Dead 1825) 



1825 



Martha Gilbert 
Eliza Rowland 
Betsey Avery 



Lois Jewett 
Anna Randlett 
Oliver L. Avery 



(Dismissed) 



Lucy Stevens 
Charles D. Horr 



1826 



(Dismissed) 



Ruth Plummer (Dead) 
Elizabeth Piper 



1827 



Hannah Tucker 

Caleb Haines 

Hannah Haines (Dismissed) 

Isaac S. Jewett 

Betsey Bradbury 

Harriet Fernald 

Abigail Parker 



Nathl Goodhue (Dismissed) 

Sarah Goodhue (Dismissed) 

Asa Parker 

Ann Gilman 

Abigial Ladd (Dead) 

Mariah Parker (Dismissed) 



1828 
Irene Marsh 



Clarissa Robinson 



1829 
Mary Ann Coolridge (Dead) 

1831 
Isaac M. Parker 



Joshua Avery 



1832 



Jona C. Prescott (Dismissed) 
Mary H. Prescott (Dismissed) 
Lucy Ann Cheney (Dead) 
Hannah P. Swasey 
Emily Swasey 
Horace L. Hazelton 



Mary Ann Hazelton 
Stephen C. Lyford 
Stephen Wingate 
Abigail Wingate 
Ebenezer S. Lawrence 
Hannah P. Lawrence 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 



85 



Sally B. Swain 

Sarah F. Marsh 

Hannah Cole 

Caroline Hunt 

Therina Brown 

Catherine L. Wording 

Jane Rowe 

Elizabeth S. Rowe 

Leah Prescott 

John B. Jewett 

Joanna Jewett 

Lous Jewett 

James V. D. Wardwell 

Polly Hunt 

Statira Jewett 

Ann Leavitt 

Betsey Stevens 

Benj. T. Sanborn 

Clarissa L. Sanborn 

Betsey Gil man 

Harriet Taylor (Excommunicated) 

Alice Jane Swasey (Excommunicated) 

Benning Mugridge 



Thomas M. Sanborn (Dismissed) 

Nancy Horr 

Betsey Mudgett 

Olive Eager 

Benj. Jewett, Jr. 

Leonard Sanborn 

Lucia P. Badger 

Nancy Randlett 

Mary Ann Nichols 

Ann Buzzell 

Sarah L. Currier 

Abigail Jewett 

Smith Jewett 

Hannah Jewett 

Betsey (Smith) Lawrence 

Mrs. Chas. Martin (Dead) 

Eunice Hunt (Dead) 

Sally Jewett 

Lucian H. Davis 

Mary Beaman 

Frances N. Stevens 

Salmon Stevens 



1833 



Otis Beaman 

Josiah Crosby 

Olive S. Crosby 

Mary W. Young 

Joseph Danford 

Elizabeth Danford (Dead) 

Mary Ann Lawrence 

Ursula Freeze 

Betsey Morrison (Dead) 

Benj. Jewett, Jr. 

Maria F. Jewett 

Caroline A. Robinson 
Sarah Stevens 
Abigail Mead (Dead) 
Abraham Brigham 



Hugh Wilson 
Rebecca Wilson 
Sally R. Badger 
Mahala Edwards 
Nancy F. Hunt 
Mahala Oilman 
Sally Dame 
Nancy Ames 
Emma Jane Beaman 
Elizabeth Vent 



1834 



Alma Brigham 
Rhoda S. Clifford 
Polly Fitch 



1835 



Sarah Dimond 



Joseph Hall 



Sarah Chase 



John Swain 



MEREDITH CENTER MILLS 

We found an old deed at Dover which shows a little data about 
the first mills at Meredith Center, where Elisha Thomas of Epping 



86 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

deeded land and mill and power to Ebenezer Dow. Other papers 
show that Phillip Dow was an owner there earlier and Robert 
Smith was also interested. 
The deed runs as follows: 

Know all men by these Presents that I Elisha Thomas of Epping, in the 
County of Rockingham & State of New Hampshire Tailor for & in considera- 
tion of the sum of Two Hundred and thirty pounds of lawful money to me in 
hand, paid before the delivery hereof by Ebenezer Dow of Epping aforesaid 
yeoman the receipt whereof I do hereby acknowledge have given granted 
bargained sold & released & by these presents do give grant bargain sell alien 
release convey & confirm to him the said Ebenezer Dow his heirs & assigns 
forever one half part of a certain lot of land lying in Meredith in the County of 
Strafford in said State which whole Lot contains one hundred and twenty acres 
which Lot I lately bought of Joshua Folsom & the half Lot is bounded as 
followeth, viz Beginning at the north end of said Lot Sibleys line called and 
extend Southerly carrying the whole width of said Lot so far as will contain one 
half part of said Lot and also one half part of my saw mill and one half part of 
my grist mill standing in said Meredith which is one half part of them mills 
I lately built & also one half part of the flowed land & also one half part of the 
privilege bought of said Folsom. 

To have and to hold the said granted premises with the appurtenances 
thereof to him the said Ebenezer Dow his heirs & assigns to his & their proper 
use benefit & behoof forever I hereby, engaging to warrant & defend the said 
granted premises against all claims or demands of any person claiming by 
from or by me the said Elisha Thomas or any other person whomsoever. 

In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand & seal this twenty first day 
of October Anno Domini one thousand seven hundred eighty two. 

Signed sealed and Delivered Elisha Thomas [seal) 

in the presents of Phineas Fogg 
Abraham Perkins. 

State of New Hampshire, Rockingham ss. Epping, 
October the 21st day 1782, Then the above named Elisha Thomas personally 
appearing acknowledged the above written instrument to be his voluntary act 
and deed Before me. 

Abraham Pkrkins Justice Peace. 

Received September Twenty third, 1783. Examined by Thos Wk Waldron 

Recorder. 

SQUAW COVE 

History tells us that "Squaw Cove," or Squam Lake, derives 
its name from a block of granite on one of its ledges that has the 
appearance of the figure of a woman. The Indians had a legend 
for this block of granite. 



FRACTIONS OF HISTORY 87 

"Waunega," an old chieftain, lived here. His squaw had long 
ago gone to the "Happy Hunting Ground." As time passed he 
grew lonely and fell in love with the Princess Suneta, a beautiful 
maiden, whose father was the sachem of an allied tribe. 
The marriage feast was made ready, but the dusky maiden was 
sad, as she loved Anonis, a young warrior, who was heavy-hearted 
to lose the maid. 

A fearful storm came that night and the father slept 
quietly while his daughter, Suneta, lay sleepless, moaning 
over her fate of being compelled to marry one she did not want, 
when suddenly a low voice whispered, "Come, the night is dark 
and stormy; my canoe is on the lake; my beloved, I cannot live 
without you; you are mine; without thee I cannot live." "But 
listen to the storm. The Great Spirit is angry, even now, and 
will punish me." 'Thou art mine," answered Anonis. 

In the darkness the lovers fled to the shore, but the storm awoke 
the chieftain, and, seizing bow and arrow, he pursued his daughter 
Suneta. He saw them entering the canoe and discharged an 
arrow at Anonis, who with a loud cry sank in the raging wa- 
ters. Suneta reached a ledge. Imploring the Great Spirit, her 
father cried, "May the lightning blast her." His words were 
answered. A flash of lightning and a roar of thunder made the 
rocks tremble. Waunega plunged into the water, and was never 
seen again at the council fires of his tribe. 

On the rock where Suneta had clung is the huge granite block 
which gave the name to the cove. 



OUR ANCESTORS 



TO CHERISH AND PRESERVE THE MEMORY OF OUR 
ANCESTORS IS NOT ONLY OBEDIENCE TO THE 

commandment: "honor THY FATHER AND THY 

MOTHER," BUT IT IS A FINAL DUTY RECOGNIZED 

ALIKE BY JEW AND GENTILE, CHRISTIAN 

AND HEATHEN PEOPLE 

EVERYWHERE 



GENEALOGIES 

ADAMS 

Henry Adams lived in Meredith for a time, at the top of Ladd 
Hill. His farm was where the white schoolhouse stood until 
recently. His family are all gone. 

Tradition says that he had a wen on his left cheek. He was 
one of the victims who fell through Meredith townhouse floor. 
It is said that when he went down through it scraped the wen 
completely from his face, and left no scar when healed. He is 
connected with the bear story, in 1814. He was a blacksmith. 

Henry Adams, 1788-1871, married as his second wife, Esther 
F. Swasey, 1793-1880. The Adams family are buried in the 
Swasey yard in Meredith. John Q. Adams, 1835-1853, was 
their son. 

A BEAR HUNT 
By George Frank Smith 

A bear hunt which George Frank Smith's father took part in 
happened about 1814. One day in early summer a young woman 
living in the family of Stephen Wadleigh, one of the leading 
farmers of that day, was out in the pasture picking berries; look- 
ing up she was startled to see a huge bear, not far away, also 
busily engaged picking berries, and seemingly not noticing her 
at all. Getting away as quickly and silently as possible, she 
ran to the house and gave the alarm. 

Word was quickly sent to adjoining farms and soon several 
men arrived, armed with guns, clubs and knives, accompanied 
by dogs, and all set out to get the bear. In the meantime the bear 
had become alarmed and started away, taking an easterly course 
over the hill. The dogs were soon on his track, and followed 
closely until, nearing the shore of the lake, they pressed him so 
hard he climbed a tree to get away from them. 

Here the hunters found him, and fired several bullets into him 
without effect, except to make him very angry; so he determined 
to come down and fight it out, which he did, backing down the 
tree very rapidly. 

Now Henry Adams, one of the party of hunters, was a young 



92 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

man, a powerful blacksmith, and entirely fearless. His home was 
on the hill near where the white schoolhouse stood, which was 
formerly a part of the Adams farm, and his shop was near by. 

Adams had started out on the hunt accompanied by his large 
bear dog, a mastiff, and armed only with a club and his hunting 
knife. 

When the old bear reached the foot of the tree, on his way down, 
Adams was there to receive him, aiming a blow at the bear's 
head with his club; but Bruin, being a skillful boxer, warded off 
the blow, leaped instantly at Adams, knocked him down and 
landed heavily on him, placing him in a very dangerous position. 
But his dog came to the rescue with a furious charge at the bear, 
fastening his teeth into the bear's neck, causing the animal to 
turn his attention to the dog. Adams jumped up, recovered 
his club, dealt the bear a blow that stunned him and then quickly 
finished him with his hunting knife. He then skinned the bear, 
which was estimated to weigh 500 pounds, and the carcass was 
divided among the hunters, and a piece was sent to each family 
in that part of the town. 

This story, as Mr. Smith said, "was told me by my father, who 
was a lad of ten years, and was present when the bear was killed." 

STEPHEN ADAMS 
Inscription on a stone in the Lang Cemetery in Meredith: 

STEPHEN ADAMS 

He was a native of Hamilton, Mass., and followed the sea until the Revolution 
when he removed to Moultonborough, N. H., being one of the earliest settlers 
of that town. Thence he removed to Meredith, where he lived until his death, 

October 1819, aged 73 yrs. 

He was the first tenant of this graveyard. 

This stone was erected by his son, Ira Adams. 

His posterity see that he is remembered. 

John Q. Adams, died 1853, aged 18 yrs. 

Henry " "1871 "82 yrs. 

His wife, Esther F. " " 1871 " 83 yrs. 

From Boston Transcript, February 6, 1929: The death certifi- 
cate of a Henry Adams, 1788-1871, who died in Meredith, N. H., 
in 1871, states that his father, Stephen Adams, was born in 
Hamilton, Mass., which was a part of Ipswich, until 1722. 
Essex Antiquarian, Vol. 2, states that Stephen Adams was a 



GENEALOGIES 93 

descendant of William Adams. Stephen Adams' wife was Jane 
B. Adams, as certificate. 

SAMUEL H. BAKER 

Among the Ashland men who responded to the first call of 
Abraham Lincoln in 1861 were John C. Thompson, George K. 
Hughes and James Small. Ai Baker Thompson was in the Sec- 
ond N. H. Regiment and some of the Ashland men who were in 
the Third were Francis M. Hughes, Avison Baker and John Haze 
Thompson. Of these Francis M. Hughes and Avison Baker were 
members of the band; John Haze Thompson was commissary 
general. The Fourth N. H. Regiment had only one Ashland 
representative; in the Fifth were Roy and Addison Heath, who 
were buglers. During the first year of the war the excitement in 
Ashland ran high. Military squads were formed and drilled 
in the main street. A company of men commanded by John 
Pepper and Nat Shackford was most noticeable. This excitement 
served to stir the hearts of the people and prepare them for the call 
of 1862. To this they responded with great enthusiasm and many 
of the young men went forth from the mills and the farms to 
shoulder their arms and loyally support their country in this 
dark hour of history. 

Heavy were the hearts of those left behind as they resumed the 
regular routine of their daily occupation and strove to forget 
the danger of their loved ones. 

Barnet Hughes was the foremost man of the town, being the 
first selectman during that year of 1861. He lived in the Hughes 
homestead and was engaged in the occupation of farming. 

Among the industries of the town at that time were the follow- 
ing: A hosiery mill, managed by John Pepper. It was where the 
woolen mill now stands. George Stevens was manufacturing 
latch needles in the old shoe shop. Ambrose Scribner and Drake 
had charge of the paper mill. The town had two blacksmith 
shops. One owned by James Baker stood on the site of Fifield's 
garage. The other was owned by Eaton Plaisted and Caleb 
Huckins. It was on the corner now occupied by the fruit store. 
A peg mill was under the management of Ladd and Gordon and 
stood on the site of the glove shop. The merchants of the town 
were Hiram Hodgdon, Cutting Follansbee and John Shephard. 



94 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

The store of Hodgdon and Follansbee was in the building now 
occupied by Thomas Carr as a meat market. John Shephard 
owned Ora Brown's store and lived in the house opposite, now 
the home of Miss Susie Dean. The hotel proprietor was Mr. 
Martin. He was followed by James Thompson, in the same year. 
The town's tailor was Thomas Neil, and his shop was in a room 
over that now used for a bowling alley. 

The only physician at the time was Dr. Dana. His home was 
the house now owned and occupied by Dr. Cheney. James 
Baker lived on what is now Highland Street. His home was the 
John Carr house, opposite the Episcopal Church. Beyond Dr. 
Dana's house, on the left hand side of Highland Street, there 
were only four houses, those now occupied by Henry Dearborn, 
Cox and Timlin. On the right hand of the street were only 
fields and pastures which overlooked the river, until at the summit 
of the hill was situated the Drew homestead. 

On River Street the only houses were what is now the Stevens 
homestead and that is owned by Lillian Draper. On Thompson 
Street, beyond the Francis Hughes home, the only houses then 
standing were those now occupied by George Hodgdon, Samuel H. 
Baker, the Ella Perkins home and the Curtis Baker house. Over- 
looking this street, on a small plateau surrounded by pine woods 
and commanding a magnificent view of the river, the sloping fields 
and the distant mountains, is the original Andrew Baker home- 
stead (bought of Hercules Mooney, and he is buried under a wil- 
low tree by the side of the water). This house is one of the oldest 
in the town. It was built in 1796 on the track of land given to 
Andrew Baker by his father Joseph Baker, one of the original 
proprietors of the town. (Joseph Baker bought it of Hercules 
Mooney, as Dover History.) It is now owned by Bert Baker. 
Joseph Baker lived on what is now the Otto Willoughby farm. 
This tract of land was granted to him, as one of the proprietors of 
the town, by the charter of King George III. This old place 
has always remained in the possession of some descendant of 
Joseph Baker, and is now the home of Annie Willoughby, a direct 
descendant of Joseph Baker, whose people were of English descent 
or origin, and who came to this country about the year 1716. 

The only houses on Depot Street were the John Murry place, 
the Caleb Huckins house, the Mandy Hussey place, the Lyford 
and Edward Warner houses. There were two schoolhouses. 



GENEALOGIES 95 

One was the building now occupied by Albion Belanger; the other 
on the site of Mrs. (). I). Thompson's house. This building was 
afterward moved to River Street and is now owned by Charles 
H. Heath. The teachers of these schools were Frank Woodman 
and Mrs. Eben Thompson. 

Other old places in town were the Cheney house, now owned 
by John Dow, and the house of Mrs. Davis, on the same street. 
This house was built by Russell Baker, who was guide to General 
McDowell at the battle of Bull Run. The Wilson place was 
occupied by Elder Sargent, the Baptist minister. The Byron 
Smith place was built and occupied by Thomas Hughes. All 
the other houses in that vicinity have been built since 1861. 
The railroad station was on the site of the present freight station 
or depot. 

There were two churches in town at that period of its history, 
the Baptist in the same location, also the Episcopal, where it 
now stands. The same old bell in the Baptist Church belfry 
called the people to worship. The telegraph office was in the 
building now occupied by Arthur Fifield as a store. The tele- 
graph operator was Thomas P. Cheney; he was also postmaster at 
this time in a building that stood where J. G. Morrison's shop 
now stands. Afterward the post office was in a small building next 
to Filield's garage, known as "The Hole in the Wall Building." 
Mrs. Cheney and her sisters, Lucy and Emily Keyzer, assumed 
the duties of the postmaster when Thomas P. Cheney answered 
the call in 1861. 

The only secret order at that time was the Masonic lodge, 
formed that year. Its past master was Ai Baker Thompson. 
For amusement the young people held dances in the Squam Lake 
Hall, afterward burned. This building was on the site of the 
present Town Hall. The Squam Lake Hall was built by con- 
tributions of money and labor by the people of the town. 

There were two bands, the Squam Lake Band and the Thomp- 
son Band. Dr. Dana was the musical director of the Thompson 
Band and Hosea Thompson was the leader of the Squam Lake 
Band. In July, 1868, the town of Holderness was divided by 
political trouble. For the part now known as Ashland, two names 
were suggested, Oakland and Ashland; Oakland because of the 
many oak trees, which predominated. The men who assembled 
to decide the matter of names were Barnet Hughes, Henry 



96 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Dearborn, Orlando Keyes and Clark Wight. The result of the 
vote was to call the town Ashland. These facts were obtained 
from the memories of some of the oldest inhabitants of the town 
of the present day. There may be errors which we shall be glad 
to correct. 

BAKER 

Data from Mrs. Minnie (Baker) Smith of Ashland, N. H. 

Joseph Baker, the emigrant, had, as history, a son named Sam- 
uel Baker. He had sons, James (who was killed by the Indians), 
Samuel Hazen Baker, also Andrew, 1740-1803, who married Anna 
Knowlton of Northwood, N. H., who was born in Hampton. 
They removed to Northwood after 1763. 

Anna Knowlton, 1753-1846, wife of Andrew Baker. Their 
children: 



James 


1771-1843 


Betty 


1773-1872 


Thomas 


1775-1777 


Anna 


1777-1783 


Sarah 


1779-1854 


Kozza 


1781-1841 


Stephen 


1783-1815 


Andrew 


1786-1867 


Ebenezer 


1788-1871 


Nathan 


1791-1834 


Joseph 


1794-1874 



James Baker, 1771-1843, married Jane Smith, 1776-1859. 
Their children: 

Thomas 1795-1795 

Andrew 1796 

SamuelS. 1799 

Married Avis Drew, 1801-1875, of Holderness 

James 1803 

Charlotte 1806 

Mary Mooney 1816 

My Father's Family 

Samuel S. Baker, 1799-1880, married Avis Drew, July 7, 
1822. Their children: 

Angeline W. 1823 

George Washington 1826-1883 
Frances O. 1829 



GENEALOGIES 97 

Charles Albert 1832-1873 

Esther Jane 1834 

Daniel S. 1836 

Samuel Hazen 1838 

Mary Mooney Smith 1841 

George Washington Baker, 1826-1883, married Ann Eliza 
Sanborn, 1831-1886, daughter of Jeremiah Sanborn and wife 
Caroline Basford of Candia, N. H. They lived in Holderness, 
N. H. 

Their third child, Sidney Sanborn Baker, born October 8, 1858, 
at the Baker homestead in Holderness, married Hattie YVilmina 
Fernald, born February 10, 1861, on Plymouth Street in Mere- 
dith, daughter of William Fernald and wife, Loretta Burleigh. 
Tradition tells us that William H. Fernald and wife were married 
under an oak tree on the shore of Meredith Bay. (Was it the 
"Old Oak Tree" on Clough's Park?) He was representative for 
the town two years, and ran a tannery up near the cemetery. 

Sidney Fernald Baker, son of Sidney Sanborn Baker, and wife, 
Hattie Wilmina (Fernald) Baker, born Sept. 22, 1890, at Milford, 
came to Laconia, in 1909. In 1921 he married Nora Eva 
Fecteau, born in Laconia. He is in the electrical business 
and now owns the Mount Washington boat on the Lake. 
Their children: 

Betty Jane, b. Sept. 30, 1922, in Laconia, N. H. 
Sally Ann, b. 1929. 

Children of Sidney Sanborn Baker and wife Hattie XV. Fernald, 
born February 10, 1861: 

A daughter, b. Mch. 7, 1880. 

Ethel L., b. Nov. 20, 1881, in Meredith. 

Norman Clyde, b. Jan. 8, 1883, is a physician in Boston. 

A daughter, d. young. 

Sidney Fernald. 

A daughter, b. Sept. 3, 1886, in Meredith. 

Notes. — Minnie Baker married Henry Smith of Ashland. 
Jennie E. married Earl P. Harrington of Hooksett. 

Leonard Baker was born in Rowley, England, in 1622; later 
came to New England. He died in Rowley, Mass., in 1691; 
married Margaret in 1648. Her birthplace unknown. 

Jonathan Baker, born in Rowley in 1657; died in 1741. He 



98 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

married, first, Sarah Palmer, in 1687; she died; married, second, 
Margaret Ellenthrope, a widow Ward, in 1691. 

John Baker, born in Rowley in 1703-1753. He married Jane 
Bailey in 1726. Connections not found. 

Peggy (Margaret) Harriman, born in Manchester, Mass., 
married Samuel Smith, 1751 1838, of New Hampton, N. H. 
Peggy, 1749 1839. Their children: 

Jane Smith, 1776-1859 

A son, 1777 

Rachel, 1779-1861 

Peggy, 1780-1854 

Nathan L., 1782 

Susanna, 1784-1864 

Nancy, 1785-1869 

Elizabeth, 1787-1853 

John Smith Baker of Meredith, son of William Henry Baker, 
who married Elmira Sanborn. Their children: 

George. 
John Sanborn. 

Nellie, m. Hawkins of Boston. 

Anna, m. Moulton of California. 

Matthew Piper, m. Caroline Burbank of Franklin. 
Charles. 

John Baker, son of Francis Baker, Meredith, married Lilla 

Piper. Her first husband, Gould of Holderness. She was 

a daughter of Charles Wesley Piper and wife Mariah Baker, the 
daughter of Sullivan Baker of Lowell, Mass. Her children by 
Everett Henry Gould: 

Malcom Piper. 
Kenneth Everett. 

BALLARD 

Jeremiah Ballard came from Connecticut, in 1761; probably 
went in Colonel Moulton's Regiment in the Revolution to Sara- 
toga. 

In General Moulton's held, some years since, was the grave of 
Mr. Ballard, where it was seen before the grave was desecrated 
by some thoughtless ploughman with no respect for a pioneer, 
and his plough removed the marks of what should have been left 
to be respected. 



GENEALOGIES 99 

Llewelyn Ballard was born in Belfast, Maine. When he was 18 
years old he went to Boston and worked as a machinist; later he 
went to California, and, as tradition, sent money home to his 
family. Later he was never heard from. He married Sophia, 
daughter of Nathaniel Maloon of Deerfield, later Meredith, and 
wife, Betsey Wadleigh, whose father was Josiah Wadleigh, a 
pioneer of Meredith. 

Wilbur W. Ballard, horn in I860 in Meredith, at one time 
owned the farm where his wife's great-grandfather, Josiah Wad- 
leigh, cleared the land and built a portion of the house which 
was built of lumber that Josiah Wadleigh hewed by hand. He 
had a brother, Charles Hartwell, who settled in Boston. 

Wilbur Weston Ballard married in 1889 Emma N., daughter of 
( )ren Roberts. Their children : 

Frank L., b. 1891. 
Alice J., b. 1893. 

In 1891 they arranged the house for a summer boarding house 
that would accommodate about thirty people. The house stands 
on a high location, overlooking Waukewan Lake, and the moun- 
tains beyond make a very attractive picture. 

BARTLETT 

The Bartletts, as history, came from Normandy. Stopham 
County, England, is where they settled. 

Richard Bartlett of the Wiltshire Colony came to Newbury, 
Mass., on the boat Mary and John in 1633. 

No colony that settled in the Province of Massachusetts had 
among its men those who w r ere more honorable than these. 

Richard Bartlett married about 1610 Abigail — in Eng- 

land. They had children: 

Joseph Bartlett, 1655 1736, married Margaret Rust. They 
had ten children all buried on "Burial Hill," in Plymouth, Mass. 
In 1773 John and Joseph Bartlett owned land in Stratham, N. H. 

The Committee of Safety, in 1776, made a resolution, and di- 
rected the selectmen of Newburyport, Mass., to see that all men 
above 21 years old signed it (lunatics, idiots and negroes excepted). 
It was called the "Association Test." 

In 1777 John Bartlett of Epping was sent to Fishkill, N. Y., to 
drive Continental teams. 



100 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Josiah Bartlett was mustered in 1777 to go to Saratoga. 

Josiah Hall Bartlett was mustered as a Minute Man to Winter 
Hill as sergeant. 

Lieut. Thomas Bartlett, was major of the Militia in 1775, and 
served as colonel of his regiment at West Point in 1780. 

An interesting article of the Passengers, on the Mary and John 
boat in 1634 reads thus: 

Whereas by a Warrt bearing date, 22ond of 1634, the sev r all ships, following 
bound for New England, and now lying in the River Thames, were made staye 
of until further order from their L'offs Yiz't; the Clement & Job: the Reforma- 
tion: the True Love: the Elizabeth Bonadventure: the Sea Flower: the Mary and 
John: the Planter: the Elizabeth and Dorcas: the Hercules: and the Neptune. 

The Masters of ships, gave bonds of one hundred pounds each; "That all 
and every Person aboard their ships, now bound for New England, that shall 
blaspheme, or profane the Holy name of God, shall be severely punish't: 
2ond That they cause the Prayers be said Morning and evening, aboard their 
ships. 

Among the passengers on the Mary and John was John Bartlett, 
also Rev. Thomas Parker, a Pilgrim who was a religious leader 
and fond of singing. After landing, Rev. Parker was compared 
(by a Boston minister as he was averse to the Mother Country- 
form of religion), "like to a colt who kicked her dam." 

The Bartlett family held together on their religious views of 
equal brotherhood in heart and voice, as "The God of universal 
aid — The God, the Father of us all." History tells us that in 1712 
a mob tore down their second church, and eleven of the Bartletts 
still clung together and the Governor promptly favored them, 
and the bishop prayed that "God favor their pious endeavors," 
as they had conquered. 

The second son of Richard 3 Bartlett and wife was John Bart- 
lett, 1678-1741, called "John Tertius." He married Mary 
Ordway. He was a tanner and weaver in Newbury, Mass. 
Their second son and eighth child was Moses Bartlett, 1714-1804; 
married Judith Rogers of Newbury, Mass. Their fourth child 
was Abial Bartlett, 1749-1816, lived in Deerfield and there signed 
the "Test." He was a Revolutionary soldier. Later he lum- 
bered in Rumney, and later settled in Meredith. His old home 
was east of the present Austin Moulton home. He and wife, 
Marie Goodhue Bartlett, were buried in the First Congregational 
yard back of the Richard Neal Home. Their children were: 



GENEALOGIES 101 

Abial. 
John G. 

Joseph, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Dudley Leavitt, the Astron- 
omer. 
Moses. 
Mary Jane. 

Samuel G. Bartlett, 1807-1876, married Sally Rowe of Gilford 
in 1803, daughter of Ezekiel Rowe. He was a carpenter and 
farmer in Meredith. Their children: 

James D., 1833-1861, m. Olive Libbey of Wolfeboro. He 
was chorister of the Free Baptist Church in Meredith 
many years. 

James D., m. 2d, 1856, Lizzie R., dau. of Rodney Hubbard. 

Elizabeth, m. Charles P. Leavitt of Meredith. 

Lucinda, m. John R. McCrillis of Center Harbor. 

Emily Jane, m. Jonathan Fox of Center Harbor. 

Arvilla, m. Joseph Howard of Northfield, Mass. 

James Bartlett, born in Center Harbor, settled in Meredith, 
also lived for a time in Campton, but returned to Meredith, 
where he died in 1891. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Nathan Davis of Center Harbor. Their children : 

Sarah, m. Melthro Clark of Center Harbor. 

Mirrila, m. Charles Webster. 

Maria, m. Ira Wilkinson. 

Frank A. 

George W. Bartlett, b. 1857, was a plumber in Meredith, 
also employed in the Shook and Lumber Co. He also kept 
stoves and ranges and was employed in the Electric Light 
Co. 

Joseph Bartlett, 1791-1859, son of Abial and wife, Marie 
Goodhue, 1750-1826, married Elizabeth Leavitt, 1796-1858, 
daughter of Dudley Leavitt, 1772-1851, and wife, Judith Glidden, 
1778-1853, who moved to Meredith in 1806. They had eleven 
children. 

Betsey, m. Twichell. 

Joseph, m. Charlotte Bruce. 

Dudley, m. Hannah Pease. Lived in Tamworth. 

Lorenzo, m. Ellen Brown. 

Judith Maria, m. James Bryant of Laconia. Their dau., 

Jessie, m. Horace E. Stowe. They had two children. 

George, m. Emogene ; a son, Clyde. Elizabeth, 

m. Brown; one son. Abbie, d. 1853. 



102 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mary Jane Bartlett, born in 1826, daughter of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth Leavitt, married in 1846 William Prescott Smith of New- 
Hampton. They settled in Illinois. Their children: 

Charles Harvey, 1855-1856. 

Charlotte E., b. 1858, m. Henry S. Puterbaugh in 1879. 
Seven children. 

Leonora L., b. 1861, m. Daniel \V. Plumer, b. 1844, son 
of Benj. F. Plumer, b. 1802, and wife, Hannah Wilson of 
Holderness. They moved from Meredith to Fairhaven, 
111., in 1857. Benj. F. Plumer, was a son of Jesse, Jr., 
Plumer, and wife, Sarah (Pearsons) Plumer, a direct 
descendant of Francis Plumer, who came from Wales. 

Wilbert H. Smith, b. 1869, in Illinois, m. Lorette Weir. 
They have six children. Henry Martin Bartlett, 1835- 
1913, m. Sarah Cragin, b. 1840. Their children: Emma 
May; Henry, d. young; Clarence C, b. 1868, m. Eleanor 
A. Tarbett of Stoneham. Their child: Lorna Tarbett, 
b. 1910. 

Adam Bartlett, born in Beverly, Mass., had a son, Abial 
Bartlett, who settled in Deerfield, 1751-1816. He was a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, is buried in the First Congregational church- 
yard with his wife, Maria Goodhue. They lived on the Austin 
Moulton farm on the Center Harbor Road. The old yard is on 
the Xeal farm. (Present owner.) Their children: 

Abial. 

John G. 

Joseph. 

Moses. 

Mary Jane, who m. William Smith; went west. 

James D. Bartlett, born in Deerfield, N. H., married Olive 
Libbey of Wolfeboro. He had farms in Meredith and Center 
Harbor. Their son: 

Samuel G., b. in Meredith, 1807, was a carpenter and farmer. 
He m. Sally, dau. of Ezekiel Rowe of Gilford, N. H.; she 
b. 1803. Their children: Elizabeth R., m. Charles P. 
Leavitt of Meredith. Lucinda, m. John R. McCrillisof 
Center Harbor. Emily Jane, m. Jonathan Fox of Center 
Harbor. Josiah R., settled in Center Harbor. Arvilla, 
m. Joseph Howard; went to Mass. 

James D. Bartlett, b. 1833, in Center Harbor, learned the 
mason's trade, in Lowell. In 1858 he went to Meredith and 
worked some years at his trade. In 1856 he married Lydia R., 



GENEALOGIES 103 

daughter of Rodney Hubbard of New Loudon. He was of the 
firm of Bartlett and Smith, contractors of Meredith. 

James Bartlett and wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Nathan Davis 
of Center Harbor, settled in Meredith, where he kept a store and 
later was on a farm. Their children: 

Sarah. 

M \RI.\, m. Ira Wilkinson. 
Frank A., settled in Meredith. 

George Wright, b. 1857 in Center Harbor, was a plumber 
in Meredith and steam fitter, also kept stoves and ranges 

Abiel Bartlett, another of the pioneers of Meredith, descended 
from Richard Bartlett, who came over on the Mary & Joint in 
1635, and was classed as one of the Pilgrims. He brought his 
"Breeches" Bible with the family records in it, which is still in 
existence. He signed the "Association Test" in Deerfield and 
served in the Revolution in Deerfield, before removing to Mere- 
dith, and finally settled on the Center Harbor Road, on what is 
now the Austin Moulton farm. His one-story house was on a 
ridge down in the field. He was a maker of hand rakes, an in- 
dustry that has descended down through the family descendants. 

He married Maria Goodhue. They had a son Joseph Bartlett, 
who married Elisabeth, oldest daughter of Dudley Leavitt, a 
near-by neighbor. 

LEAVITT 

Dudley Leavitt, "Master Leavitt," so styled in early days, 
was born in Exeter, N. H., in 1772. He descended from fine 
Puritan stock. 

The Dudleys were from Governor Thomas Dudley, whose 
ancestry dates back to 1576. He was chosen governor of Massa- 
chusetts Colony before leaving England for New England by 
Governor Winthrop. 

In 1649 he served as preacher in Portsmouth, later preached in 
Exeter, where he was granted 600 acres of land near "Great Hill, " 
now called Brentwood. 

One of his descendants, Dorothy Dudley, married Moses 
Leavitt. One of their descendants was Dudley Leavitt, far 
famed for being a fine mathematician and astronomer, and the 
people of his day felt that the "Leavitt's Farmers' Almanac" 
was next to the Bible for reference. He published his first al- 



104 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

manac in 1797 and made calculations some years ahead that 
were used after he had passed on. 

Dudley Leavitt married Judith Glidden of Gilmanton. They 
settled in Meredith, not far from the Lake in 1806, and were 
favored with a large family of children. One of their sons married 
Sarah, daughter of Capt. Elisha Smith of New Hampton. One 
of their granddaughters, Huldah Leavitt, lived in the old home 
with her brother Arthur Leavitt, which was an attractive place 
for people to call and visit with Huldah. She was very intelligent 
and attractive and gave a cordial welcome to her friends. She 
died some years ago. The descendants of Arthur Leavitt still 
live in the "dear old home," and are very cordial to visitors. 

Dudley Leavitt is a good farmer, who raises blooded stock, and 
is much interested in the Grange work. He and two sisters, Alice 
and Marion, are occupying and keeping up the old home in fine 
shape. 

A hard, dark-colored rock, called "Trap Rock," which is scarce 
in this section and is used for road building, is being mined on 
the place. "Master Leavitt" used to hold the "Meredith 
Academick School" at his house, just beyond the present Dudley 
Leavitt home on the same farm, where many young people gath- 
ered for learning. He taught the higher branches, having ac- 
quired them by his own efforts. 

Mrs. Polly Prescott, one of his pupils, stated that "when you 
saw one of Master Leavitt's children you would see a book." 

It was said of him that he never came in from the field so tired 
but that he would take up a book to work his mind while he rested 
his body. It is stated that when twenty-five years old he took 
up the study of Greek and Latin, and after 1806, when he removed 
to Meredith, he took up the study of Hebrew and French. 

One of Dudley Leavitt's daughters married John T. Jones, who 
went as a missionary to Siam. He was the first man to translate 
the Bible into the Siamese language. 

Another daughter married Rev. John Seymour. They went as 
missionaries to Minnesota and taught among the Indians. While 
there they had a daughter born, who was the first white girl born 
in what is now the state of Minnesota. 

A story comes to us that some white people cheated the Indians 
at that time and these missionaries' lives were threatened that 
night, but a terrific thunder shower quieted the Indians' wrath, 



GENEALOGIES 105 

as they thought the "Great Spirit" was angry with them for their 
murderous threats, and no harm was done. 

"Master" Dudley Leavitt was the oldest child of Joshua 
Leavitt and wife Elizabeth (James) Leavitt, and the great-grand- 
son of Moses Leavitt and wife, Dorothy (Dudley) Leavitt of 
Exeter. 

Dudley Leavitt's name is among the proprietors in 1727-28 of 
Gilmanton in the Masonian Papers. 

Dudley Leavitt died suddenly in 1857 and left a record as a 
worthy man, respected by all. 

BACHILER 

Rev. Stephen Bachiler, born in England in 1561, married - 



. She died in England. He married, second, Helen 

1583-1642; married, third, in Hampton, N. H., in 

1648. 

Steven, as the Batchelder Genealogy, matriculated at St. 
John's College, Oxford, in 1581. His home was in Wherweil, 
England. 

In 1605 Mr. Bachiler (as then spelled) was deprived of his 
benefice, or Calvinistic opinions by order of James I. 

History states that he went to Holland, as the Plymouth Pil- 
grims did in 1608. 

His son-in-law, Rev. John Wing, was the first pastor of an 
English Church in Middleburg, Holland, from 1620 on. 

Rev. James Samborne had a son, Rev. James Samborne, Jr., 
who was rector of "Grately," a place near by, in 1604. These 
Sambornes were of a Berkshire family, not far from Wherweil, 
England. 

When Rev. Stephen Bachiler was in London, in 1631, while 
arranging to go to New England, he gained permission for him- 
self, his second wife, and daughter, Ann Sandburn, widow (who 
was then living in the Strand in London), to go on a visit to his 
children at Flushing for two months. This town was garrisoned 
by English soldiers (probably Mr. Bachiler's children and grand- 
children were on the island of Walcheren, which connects Flushing 
and Middleburg). He sold his property for cash before sailing 
March 9, 1623, on the William and Francis. 

Rev. Stephen Bachiler's daughter, Theodate, and her husband, 
Capt. Christopher Hussey (born 1596), her sister, Deborah (born 



106 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

1592), who married John Wing and settled at Plymouth, Mass., 
came with their father and others. 

A son, Nathaniel 2 , born in England in 1590, married Hester 
Mercer of Southampton, England. 

Their son, Nathaniel, born 1630-1710, lived at Hampton, 
N. H.; he married December 10, 1656, Deborah Smith, daughter 
of John Smith of Martha's Vineyard. Deborah died in 1675, 
and he, not enjoying single life, thought he would marry again. 
Undecided which way to go, took up his cane (as the story goes) 
and took a chance with it. He held it up perpendicular and when 
it fell on the floor it pointed southwest in the direction of Woburn. 
So thither he walked and called on his wife's cousin, Mrs. Mary 
(Carter) Wyman, she a daughter of Rev. Thomas Wyman and 
widow of John Wyman. He proposed marriage to her and told 
her he was going to Boston and that she could think it over. He 
would call for her answer on his way back. She accepted and 
they were soon married. 

A son, Samuel, born January 10, 1681, married Elizabeth Davis 
of Newbury, Mass. In 1707 he was in Lieut. Joseph Swett's 
Company in the fruitless expedition against Port Royal. He was 
in Capt. James Davis Company in 1712; served as a scout. He 
lived in Hampton, N. H. 

Their son, Capt. Carter Batchelder, born October 31, 1726, 
married Huldah Moulton, daughter of William Moulton, 1732- 
1 773. Carter married, second, in 1 778, Hannah Lane, daughter of 
Thomas Lane, born 1742-1810. He was a sea captain, and died 
at sea, July 16, 1806. He lived in New Hampton and Sanborn- 
ton, N. H. They had nine children. 

The third son, William Batchelder, born September 7, 1764, 
in New Hampton, married Mary Burley of Stratham, in 1786, 
she a daughter of David and V. (Smith) Burley, born 1767-1830. 
He moved to Sanborn ton from New Hampton in 1788. He was 
a farmer and settled on the William Chase place near the Meadow 
School House. He moved to Meredith, but later returned to 
Sanbornton, where he died, on the William Batchelder farm, in 
1816, beyond the William Odell farm, on the same side of the road. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier when he was 16 years old. He 
died June 1, 1846. They had eleven children: 

Abraham, b. 1787, m. Nancy Mason. 

Nancy, b. 1790, m. William' Mason of Meredith. He died 



GENEALOGIES 107 

and she m. 2d, Nath 1 Morris, Esq., of Meredith and d. 
there in 1857. 

Samuel, b. 1792, m. Sally Clark. 

BURLEY, 1). 1793, in. Betsey Taylor. 

William, b. 1796, d. of consumption in 1820. 

Benjamin, b. 1798. d. 1799. 

Nathan, 1>. 1800, m. (). Currier. 

JOSIAH B., 1). 1802, in. Louisa Sanborn. 

Joseph, b. 1804, d. of consumption in 1830. He was a doc- 
tor and was the seventh son. 

Comfort Mason, b. 1808, m. 1833, John Buntin of San- 
bornton, b. 1807. He resided for some 30 yrs. at Cnion 
Bridge, d. 1875; she m. 2d, Jeremiah Leavitt. Their 
children were: William M. Buntin, 1834-1864; Hannah 
B., 1840-1849. 

Hannah, 1810-1835. 

Captain Josiah (William, Carter, Samuel, Nathaniel, Stephen), 
born in Sanbornton, X. H., October 10, 1802, married Louisa 
Sanborn of Meredith, daughter of Samuel Sanborn and wife 
Deborah (Gale), born in 1805. He was a farmer, a captain in 
the Militia and was a successful teacher in vocal music be- 
tween 1823 and 1840. Their children: 

Jane Orissa, b. Mch. 23, 1835, m. Rufus Clark. 

Rachel, b. July 19, 1836, m. John Knowlton, son of Oliver, 
in 1832; he came from Northwood. Their children: 
Herbert Clarence, b. 1859; Amy Cora, b. 1861; Jennie 
Laura, b. 1863; Clara Louisa, b. 1869; Laura Ann, b. 
1842, m. Daniel Fox of Meredith; Mary Elizabeth, b. 1849, 
m. 1867, George A. Furgeson of Lakeport. 

BATCH ELDOR 

Hampton history states that Rev. Stephen Batcheldor, the first 
minister of Hampton, was born in England and came to America 
in 1632 with his second wife, Helena Mercer. He left married 
children in England: one Theodate, who married Christopher 
Hussey and came to New England. Helena, his wife, died and 

he returned to England after marrying, third, Mary , 

where he died at Hackney, aged 100 years. 

A grandson, Nathaniel, son of Nathaniel Batcheldor, who lived 
in England, married Deborah, daughter of John Smith of Martha's 
Vineyard, by whom he had six children. She died at the birth 
of the sixth child in March, 1676. In October, 1676, he married, 



108 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

second, the Widow Wyman, former wife of John Wyman, she a 
daughter of Rev. Thomas Carter and was a cousin to his first 
wife, Deborah (Smith) Batcheldor. 

The story goes that when his wife died he decided to marry 
again, so he played a game of chance before starting out to find 
another wife. The game was that the direction in which his 
staff, held perpendicularly over the floor, should fall when he 
dropped it from his hand, would be the direction he would follow. 
The story goes that it fell pointing to the southwest, and thence 
he started out. Reaching Woburn, Mass., he called on the Widow 
Wyman and proposed marriage to her, stating that he was going 
to Boston and on his return, he would call forheranswer. She 
accepted him and they raised nine more children. She died and 
he married, third, in 1689, Elizabeth, widow of John Knill. 
He died in 1710, aged 80 years. 

His twelfth child, Samuel 2 , born January 10, 1681, married Eliz- 
abeth Davis of Newbury, Mass. They settled in Hampton, N. H. 

Their tenth child, Carter Batchelder 3 , born October 31, 1726; 
died in 1806; married Huldah, daughter of William Moulton 
(son of Robert) and wife, Abigail, she a daughter of Christopher 
Page and wife Abigail, she a daughter of Daniel Tilton and wife, 
Mehitable (Sanborn) Tilton. They had nine children. 

Their fourth child, W 7 illiam 4 , born Sept. 7, 1764; married Mary, 
daughter of David Burley of Stratham, who went to Sanbornton 
in 1778 and settled on what was later the Eben Chase farm, near 
the Meadow schoolhouse. He married, second, Mrs. Rachel, 
widow of Taylor Pearsons, Jr. They had six children. He moved 
in 1804 to the edge of Meredith, on the Benjamin Burleigh farm 
on Steel Hill, then later to Sanbornton, where in 1816 his son, 
Josiah, settled and died there in 1846, aged 82 years. He was the 
father of twelve children. 

Their ninth child, Josiah 5 , born Oct. 10, 1802, married Louisa 
of Meredith, daughter of Samuel Sanborn (and brother of 
Theoplis Sanborn) and wife, Deborah (Gale) Sanborn, she a 
daughter of John Gale and wife, Susan McCarty. A romantic 
legend, relating to Susan's father (great-grandfather of Josiah 
Batcheldor) runs thus: His parents died in Ireland and he was 
sent from there when very young by an aunt, who wished to get 
rid of him so that she could try and get hold of a large property 
which he should have inherited. The aunt gave him to a sea 



GENEALOGIES 109 

captain to be taken to parts unknown. He was finally landed 
in Exeter. Here he married and the aunt on her death bed re- 
pented and sent for him, she having learned where he was located. 
Josiah Batcheldor was a teacher of music, and taught singing 
schools very successfully in many towns in New Hampshire. 
History states that he taught sixty-nine schools, between 1823-40. 
He was a captain in the training practice. They had four children. 
(1) Jane Orissa, born in 1835; married Rufus Clark, son of 
Joseph S. and wife Nancy (Smith) Clark; she daughter of Captain 
Elisha, born in 1771 (captain in the training field) and wife, Alary 
(Hoit) Smith. They lived on her father's home place, Elisha 
Smith, who married Lydia Norris of Stratham, N. H. As 
tradition, Elisha Smith came into possession from his father of 700 
acres of land that extended from the Samuel Calef land up to 
the Meredith line, and while living in Epping he used to walk 
back and forth with a willow cane while he was clearing land 
and building a loghouse to live in. On one of these trips up to 
Sanbornton from Epping he broke his cane in four pieces and 
stuck them in the ground. The one he stuck down near the 
corner entrance to his home grew and made a mammoth tree, 
and some of the old roots and sprouts still stand at the entrance 
to the present N. Davis house. Elisha Smith signed the "As- 
sociation Test" in Sanbornton, so he was a resident there in 
1776. He gave each of his sons 100 acres of land for a home out 
of the 700 acres he inherited. He built later a sawmill and 
gristmill on "Black Cat Brook." His numerous descendants 
have proved an honor and credit to their ancestors. He is buried 
with other Smiths in the old yard, back of the Parsonage, at San- 
bornton Bay Church. Children of Jane Orissa and Rufus Clark: 

Flora Ann, b. Dec. 22, 1854; m. Oscar Brown, b. 1854, son 

of David and wife, Hannah Densmore (Fox) Brown, who 

lived in Meredith on Sugar Hill. 
David Leslie Clark, b. 1858; m. Sarah B., dau. of Lewis 

and wife, Mary E. (Cotton) Huckins;she a dau. of William 

and wife, Mary (Libbey) Cotton. 
Rachel Batchelder, b. July 19, 1836; m. John Knowlton. 

(See Knowlton family.) 
Laura Ann, b. Jan. 14, 1842; m. Daniel Fox of Meredith, 

1862. She d. 1863. 
Mary Elizabeth, b. Feb. 7, 1849; m. George A. Furgeson, 

1867, at Lakeport. Both have passed on. 



110 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

BATCHELDER 

Abraham Batchelder was a descendant from Rev. Stephen, 
through Nathaniel, and was one of four brothers, John, Increase, 
Abraham, and Samuel. He married, 1773-1802, Abigail, daugh- 
ter of John Buzzell; among ten children were Nathaniel and 
Solomon. 

Nathaniel married Patience Page, settled in Gilmanton, now 
Belmont; afterwards he moved to Meredith. Their children: 

Abigail, m. Uriah Lamprey of Belmont; they had Lourette, 
Josephine, Georgianna (who married Charles Neal, son 
of Richard Neal, of Meredith), Henrietta and Albion. 

Mary, m. Albert Taylor; settled in Meredith Bridge. 

Betsey, m. Simeon Pease ; settled in Meredith with his father, 
Joseph Pease. Their children: Jennie, Laura, Mary, 
Abbie, Frank and Loren. 

Lyman, m. Mary A. Moses; settled in Meredith. 

Nathaniel married second Mary (Neal) Robinson, of Meredith, 
daughter of Joseph and Hannah (Smith) Neal. 

Solomon Batchelder, 1782-1854, as gravestone, married 1809, 
Hannah, daughter William Watson, of Pittsfield, settled in 
Meredith, and is buried with his family on their old farm, on 
the Province Road, in Meredith. Children by 1st wife Hannah 
Watson : 

Eliza, never m. 

Albert, 1815-1835. 

William W., m. first, Ann Sanborn; m. second, Deborah 

Rowe, 1817-1862; m. third, Lizzie Perkins. They had a 

child who d. young. He lived with his father, Solomon, 

on the farm. 
Maria, 1816-1844, m. John Buzzell; settled in Meredith 

and is buried in the family yard. 

Solomon Batchelder, born 1782, married, second, Fanny 
Stevens, 1786-1861, of New Durham. Their children: 

Clarrissa, 1823-1911, m. Charles Batchelder; they settled 

in Meredith, later in Lake Village. 
Abigail, 1825-1843, single. 

In a Yard Near the Other Yard 

Deacon John Batchelder, 1778-1869, married Betsey, daughter 
of Increase Batchelder, 1743-1827, and wife, Anna (Taylor), 
1743-1838, who lived in Meredith. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 111 

Increase, m. Susan Hart of Meredith; d. 1875. 
Abraham, single. 

John, in. Caroline Folsom in Meredith. 
Frank A., 1855-1864, as gravestone. 
Alvin, 1856-1911, in. Sarah Lawrence; m., second, 
Hill. 

Deacon John Hatchelder, married, second, Widow Mary 
(Sanborn) Folsom, daughter of Dudley Sanborn of Meredith. 
Their children: 

Alvin, 1856-1911; his wife. Clarrissa, 1843-1911. 
Abbie, 1858-1877. 
Nellie, 1860-1862. 
Edith, 1866-1888. 

BATCHELDER 

These Batchelders lived and died on the Corliss farm, beyond 
the Center. 

Benjamin Batchelder, 1789-1871; his wife, Nancy, 
1792-1822; his second wife, Ruth G., 1795-1884. Chil- 
dren: David, 1815-1860; Sherburn D., 1817-1839; William 
D., 1822-1849; Nancy D., 1823-1842. 

Other People in the Same Yard, Probably Relatives 

Benjamin Mudgett, 1767-1846; his wife, Hannah, 1759- 

1834. 
Joshua Mudgett, 1769-1830. 

Enoch Currier, 1779-1853; his wife, Mercy H., 1806-1875. 
Mary L., wife of Josiah Randlett, 1826-1857; their son, 

Erving B., d., age five months. 

BATCHELDER 

Rev. Stephen Bachilar, whose son Nathaniel settled in Hamp- 
ton (from history they changed the spelling of the name by adding 
the letter T) had descendants John, Increase, Abraham and Sam- 
uel. 

Abraham married in 1773, Abigail, daughter of John Buzzell, 
who lived in Barrington. She died in 1802. Among their chil- 
dren was Nathaniel, born May 16, 1786; died in 1867. He mar- 
ried Patience Page and they settled in Gilmanton, now Belmont; 
afterward he moved to Meredith Village. He married, second, 
Mary (Neal) Robinson, widow of Joseph Robinson, 1795-1879, 
who formerly lived in Newcastle, but she was born in Meredith. 



112 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Nathaniel Batchelder of Meredith Village, born May 16, 
1786; died in 1867; married March 7, 1862, Mary (Neal) Robin- 
son, born September 15, 1795; died in 1869. She was born in 
Meredith and she and her sister, Irene (Neal) Smith, widow of 
Charles Smith, are both buried in Meredith Village Cemetery 
with their father, mother, a sister and brother, William Neal. 

Nathaniel Batchelder was a son of Abraham Batchelder and 
wife, Abigail (Buzzell) Batchelder. 

BATCHELDOR 

This is a branch of the family from Rev. Stephen Bachiler, 
born in England, 1561. The lineage runs down through Nathan- 
iel to Samuel, 1713-1797, in Hampton. 

Three of Samuel's sons, Abraham, Increase and John, started 
out for themselves into the wilderness with their flintlock guns 
and axes and stopped in what is now Northwood. History tells 
us they did not dare sleep for three nights, as the wolves were 
very vicious, but they built a log house, where they could get in 
for shelter. They cleared up some land, and built more shelter. 
In 1773 Abraham Batcheldor married Abigail Buzzell. They 
had five daughters and four sons that attained manhood — Abra- 
ham, Solomon, Nathaniel and John. 

John Batcheldor, worked farming until 21 years, then tied his 
things up in a handkerchief, and went to Meredith. He was a 
deacon of the Freewill Baptist Church at Meredith Center and 
prospered and earned a good property. He married Betsey 
. They had children : 

Increase, d. in Campton. 

Abraham, d. 1858. 

Alvin, d. 1889, in Concord. 

John Batcheldor married, second, Mrs. Mary F. Folsom. 
John, the only living child, had the home place, but worked in 
Meredith as a wheelwright. He went to Boston and worked for a 
time, but returned home and worked the farm with his father. 

In 1849 John Batcheldor married Caroline, daughter of Noah 
and wife, Polly F. (Sanborn) Folsom. Her father, born in 1803, 
was a son of John Folsom, born in 1781, and a grandson of Rev. 
Nicholas Folsom, born in 1742, the first Baptist preacher who 
settled in Meredith. Polly Sanborn's mother was a daughter of 



GENEALOGIES 113 

Dudley Sanborn of Meredith. Elder Nicholas Folsom was a 
son of John Folsom, both buried at Opeechee in the town of 
Laeonia; both Revolutionary soldiers. John Folsom was a son 
of Nathaniel Folsom, who was killed by the Indians at Notting- 
ham. Children of John Batcheldor and wife, Polly Sanborn: 

Mabelle. 
Alice. 

Frank, d. young. 
Freeman, lived in Concord. 
Burton, a farmer. 
Lyman, a carpenter. 
Edward, went to California. 

Samuel Batcheldor, born in Sanbornton in 1792; died in 1855; 
married in 1818, Sally Clark, 1790-1863. Their children: 

Olive, b. 1819; m. 1839, John L. Swain of Meredith. 
Sally, b. 1820; m. 1837; d. 1838; child, John \\\, m. Sarah 

F. Tilton. 
George W., 1840-1863; wounded in Civil War. 
Frank B., m. Mrs. Jennie Tucker; two sons. 
Mary A., d. young. 
Emma, 1848-1863. 
Morrill S., b. 1850. 
Laura J., b. 1852; m. George Downing. 
Mary H., b. 1859. 

Josiah Batcheldor, born in Sanbornton, 1802; married in 1833, 
Louisa Sanborn of Meredith, daughter of Samuel and wife, Deb- 
orah (Gale), born in 1805. He was teacher of vocal music from 
1823-1840. Their children: 

Jane Orissa, m. Rufus Clark. 

Rachel, m. John Knowlton, son of Oliver of Northwood, a 
farmer in Meredith, and taught school many terms. Their 
children were: Herbert, Clarence, Amy Cora, Jennie 
Laura and Clara Louisa. 

Laura Ann, m. Daniel T. Fox of Meredith. 

Mary Elizabeth, m. George A. Furgeson of Lakeport. 

Hezekiah Drew Batcheldor, born in 1796; married in 1820, 
Nancy YYilley of Northfield, born in 1797. They had seven 
children. The seventh, Joseph Burleigh Batcheldor, born in 
1837, married in 1857, Martha Ann Sanborn, daughter of B. M. 
Sanborn; died in 1878. He was a printer, and editor of the 
Laeonia Democrat for six years. 



114 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John Batcheldor, born in Meredith in 1815; married in 1849, 
Caroline Folsom, born in 1829. He was a son of Deacon John 
Batcheldor, was born on the old homestead in Meredith, which is 
now in Laconia. He worked for Mr. Lang and later worked on 
piano cases. He married the daughter of his stepmother. When 
his father died the old homestead fell to him. He was a Free 
Baptist Church member. Their children: 

John F., b. 1851; m. Abbie E. Bartlett. 

Frank A., 1854-1862. 

Freeman H., b. 1857; lives at Meredith Center. 

Burton L., b. 1863. 

Lyman P., b. 1867. 

Edward W., b. 1870; went to California. 

Alice, 1872-1873. 

Lucinda Batcheldor, born in 1819; married in 1840, Newell 
Sanborn of Meredith. He was born in 1844. She married sec- 
ond, Joseph B. Swain of Meredith ; third, John Fields of Vermont; 
resides in Laconia. Children: 

Odell Batcheldor Sanborn, b. 1840. 
Georgia Anna Swain, b. 1853. 
Albert B., d. young. 

Lucinda Batcheldor was a daughter of John Batcheldor, born 
in Northwood in 1793, and wife, Dorcas Demeritt, 1791-1850. 
He married, second, widow Mrs. Ruth Sanborn, widow of William 
of Gilford, where he moved and died. 

Nathaniel Batcheldor, born in Northwood, in 1786; married 
Patience Page; second, Mrs. Mary (Neal) Robinson, daughter of 
Joseph and wife, Hannah (Smith) Neal of Meredith. They 
lived at Meredith Village. His children by the first wife, Patience 
Page: 

Abigail, m. Uriah Lamprey of Belmont. Their children: 
Lauretta, Josephine, Georgianna, who m. Charles Neal of 
Meredith. They had George, Richard and Abby, who 
m. James Youngman. She died soon after marriage 
with measles. 

Mary, m. Albert Taylor; went west. 

Betsey, m. Simeon Pease of Meredith. Their children: 
Jennie, Laura, Mary, Abbie, Frank, Loren. 

Lyman, m. Mary A. Moses. 



GENEALOGIES 115 

BEAM AN 

Peter Beaman and wife, Mary (Stone) Beaman, came from 
Grafton, Yt., to Meredith Bridge in 1832. Their son, Otis 
Beaman, 1803-1879, horn in Grafton, Yt. He and his brother, 
Alexander, went into mercantile business. They made cotton 
goods. He married Emma J., daughter of Zachariah Robbins, 
in 1833, who was in the Revolution. He was a farmer, after 
helping to defend his country. Mr. Beaman was a director in the 
Meredith Bridge Savings Bank. Their children: 

George Otis, b. 1835-1895, in Laconia. 
Emma J., m. Frank J. Osgood, of Laconia. 
Edward F. 

BEAN 

Scribner Mudgett, born in England, came to Gilmanton and 
settled, in 1783, on two hundred acres of land and cleared a farm. 
His children were: Edward, Richard, Samuel, John, Mary, and 
Sally, who married Levi Sleeper. Susan married - - Clifford. 
Betsey born in 1788, twin to William, married Elijah Bean, 
born in 1788. Elijah Bean and wife, Betsey Mudgett, had 
children: 

Fanny G., b. 1815, m. Joshua Wood, son of John Wood. 

Joseph M., b. 1817, d. in Manchester; m. Catherine Tilton. 
They had three children. He m. second, Hannah, dau. of 
Richard Neal and wife, Betsey Neal, of Meredith. They 
had a dau., Ellen Catherine, b. 1858, m. Otis Clark of 
Manchester. They had a dau., Carlie Clark, m. Daniel F. 
Healey. They have two sons in College. Mr. Clark d. 
1892, and later she m. Frank Davis of Canterbury. They 
had one dau., Dorothy Davis. Mrs. Davis died. 

Betsey, b. 1822-1839. 

Erastus, b. 1827-1852, m. Augusta Ewer of Belmont. 

Alpheus L., settled on the homestead in Belmont; was 
successful as a farmer and business man. He m. in 1844, 
Folly G., dau. of Joseph Dow; she d. 1846; m. second, 
Matilda A., dau. of Joseph Bean of Brentwood; m. 
third, Mrs. Addie L. (Leighton) Morrill, dau. of Moses 
Leigh ton, who was a son of Edwin Leighton. 

Moses Leighton of Sanbornton had children: 

Lydia, m. Colleen J. Smith; one dau., Carrie, d. young. 
Samuel, enlisted in N. H. Cavalry; d. from disease con- 
tracted in the Civil War. 



116 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ira, m. Martha A. Somes of Laconia; two children, d. young. 

Wesley, enlisted in the Civil War, was killed at Fredericks- 
burg. 

Freeman, d. in early manhood. 

Edward, m. the widow of Frank Morrill of Gilford, who 
was Lottie Currier of Belmont. They had three children. 
After Edward Bean married they had: Mattie May, b. 
1870. Later she m. Edward G. Rand of Belmont. 
Frank A. Bean, b. 1876, is a farmer. 

BEEDEE 

John W. Beede married Caroline Fogg, born in Laconia. Their 
son, J. Fred Beede, has been associated with his father in business, 
and the store was kept in the name seventy-two years. He 
married Martha B. Melcher, daughter of Woodbury Melcher and 
wife, Elizabeth (Boker) Melcher. Their children: 

Frances M. 
John A. 

Fred Beede has been in the banking business in Meredith and is 
also associated with the Laconia Bank. 

BEEDE 

John Fred Beede, born in Meredith in 1859, is a descendant of 
Judge Daniel Beede of Sandwich, through John Beede, who lived 
on the Wentworth farm, near Israel Mountain. 

J. F. Beede married, in 1901, Martha B. Melcher, daughter of 
Woodbury Melcher of Laconia; they have a daughter, Frances, 
and a son, John A. Beede. Mr. Beede attended school at Tilton, 
and has been a trustee of the school for several years. He is one 
of the directors of the Peoples National Bank at Laconia and is 
president of the Meredith Village Savings Bank, also is connected 
with many business propositions in and around his native town. 

John W. Beede of Meredith married Caroline Fogg of Gilman- 
ton in 1857. 

Another branch of the family was Hanson Beede; he married 
Mary Jane Clark of Bristol in 1839. Members of the family that 
are left have removed from Meredith. 

BERRY 

Jonathan Berry, 1782-1867, born in Dorchester, married 
Nancy Howe, 1797-1856, born in New Hampton, N. H., daughter 



GENEALOGIES 117 

of Ebenezer Howe. They later settled in Holderness, in dairy 
business. Their children : 

Dexter. 

Mary Jam:, m. James Gardner; settled in Methuen, Mass. 

Lavina, m. Reuben (.rant; settled in Boston. 

Parker. 

George. 

Electa, m. Robinson; settled in Baltimore, Md. 

Perris. 

Melissa, m. Horace Dudley of Laconia. 

Sarah, m. Charles Jackson. 

Asa. 

Horace W., settled in Boston. 

Jeanette, m. Simeon D. Rollins, went to Minnesota. 

Charles H., settled in North Adams. 

Napoleon B., went to New York City. 

John Howe Berry, after he attained manhood, went to 
Boston and worked ten years, then came back home and 
bought a farm near "Little Squam" (now Asquam), 
where he lived for a short time, then he sold and bought a 
larger farm, from which he produced a good income. He 
m. 1861, Clara, dau. of Jonas Buzzell of Meredith. They 
had ten children, of which four d. young. 

BICKFORD 

John Bickford was the pioneer of the family in America. He 
went to Wolf borough early; was a weaver. His son, Jonathan, 
was a farmer and millwright. He settled on land now occupied 
by his grandson, Joseph H. Bickford, son of James Bickford. 

Samuel Bickford of Epsom, son of Thomas of Epsom, 1765- 
1773, leaving a wife, Mercy; she died in 1824. They had seven 
children. Benjamin married 1779, Hannah, daughter of Francis 
Locke. Samuel was called "Drummer Sam"; he married Abi- 
gail; had eight children. Thomas, 1764-1819, married 1786, 
Olive Haines, 1765-1848, daughter of John Haines. Mary, born 
1765, married 1787, Jonathan Elkins of Gilmanton. John was 
born 1768. 

An Eleanor Bickford of Epsom married 1891, John Bryant of 
Meredith. Sally Bickford of Epsom married 1799, Nathaniel 
Bryant of Meredith. 

Thomas Bickford, 1660 1706, son John, and his brother, 
Thomas, who married Bridgett Furber, 1690. They lived at 
Bickford's Point, and kept a garrison. 



118 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Benjamin Bickford, born 1672, married Sarah Bassum. They 
lived at Bloody Point. Their children: 

Mary, m. 1707, Joshua Crockett. 

Benjamin, m. 1718, Deborah Baur. 

Thomas, m. 1711, Sarah Simpson. They had eleven chil- 
dren. 

Abigail, m. 1716, Zebulon Damm. 

Elizabeth, m. 1718, John Damm of Newington. 

Deborah, m. 1720, Joshua Babb. 

John, m. 1725, Sarah Hodgdon of Rochester; settled in 
Northwood, also Solomon Bickford. 

James E. Bickford, 1841-1916. His wife Mary A., 1843-1902. 
Henry A. Bickford, 1863-1879. 

Clara Bickford, 1866-1890, married Hiram E. Cook, 1860- 
1922, son of Albert and wife, Hannah E. Cook. 

Meredith Neck 

From an old Bible printed in 1H30 

Jonathan Bickford, born November 16, 1766. Lived on south 
end of Bear Island. His wife, Abigail - —, born May 12, 1769. 
Their children : 

Lydia, b. July 22, 1789. 

Bracket, b. Apr. 1, 1791. 

Jonathan, b. Feb. 6, 1793; m. Priscilla - -, 1811-1882. 

Phebe, b. Jan. 4, 1795. 

John, b. June 26, 1798. 

Ebenezer, b. Oct. 5, 1800. 

Priscilla, b. Sept. 19, 1803. 

James, b. Oct. 5, 1805. They had four sons: James, Alonzo, 

Oliver, Moses. 
Abigail, b. July 27, 1810. 

From the same Bible 

Abram Bryant, born October 10, 1810, son of Robert Bryant 
and wife, Abigail. Probably his wife, Mahala — , born 

January 26, 1812, of Moultonboro. Buried in Meredith. 
Probably their children : 

Lorenzo F., b. Oct. 7, 1832. 

Harriet B., b. Nov. 7, 1834. 

Arvilla J., b. June 2, 1840. 

Hosea H., adopted son, b. Sept. 8, 1850; adopted May, 1857. 



GENEALOGIES 119 

Eleazer Bickford, 1781-1873, lived on Hear Island. His wife, 
Sally ■ -, 1783-1866. Their son, Eleazer Bickford, 1822- 

1904. His wife, Ann - -, 1835-1894. Their children: 

Charles, 1840-1916. He settled on the main land, Mere- 
dith Neck. 
JOSEPH, 1844-1914. Yet owned land on Bear Island. 

Charles Bickford, 1809-1893. His wife, Augusta Bickford, 
1812-1881. Their children: 

Hezekiah, 1843-1918. 

AMENDA, 1845-1917; m. Moulton. 

Anna, 1846-1897. 

Henry, 1848. 

Frank P., 1851-1876. 

Eleanor, 1853-1924. 

Eben, 1856-1857. 

Mabel, 1876; m. 1896, Willie I). Brown. 

Charles H. Bickford married in 1871, Eleanor L. Wilkenson. 

BLAISDELL, BLASDALE, BLISDALE 

Ralph Blaisdell was a tailor in Salisbury and received land there 
in 1640. He bought rights of John Harrison, 1642; died in 1650; 
married Elizabeth - -, who died in 1667. Children: 

Henry 2 , b. 1633 in England. Three others. 

Henry- (Ralph) was one of the first settlers of Amesbury, Mass. ; 
received grant of land in 1632; married in 1656, Mary Haddon, 
daughter of Jarrett. He died in 1707. Children: 

John 3 , b. 1668. Eight others. 

John 3 (Henry 2 , Ralph) was born May 27, 1668; married in 
1692 3, Elizabeth Challis, daughter of Philip and widow of John 
Hoyt; died in 1793. Children: 

Philip 4 , b. 1700. Four others. 

Philip 4 (John 3 , Henry 2 , Ralph), born August 9, 1700; married 
Elizabeth Goodwin. Children: 

Jacob 5 , b. 1735. Two others. 

Jacob 5 was born July 23, 1735. He married, first, - 
second, June 4, 1761, Lydia Morrill, daughter of William Barnes 
and his second wife, Judith. He served as a lieutenant in the 
Revolutionary War. Children. 



120 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Philip 6 , b. Mar. 16, 1762; m. Lydia Randlett. 

Thomas. 

John, b. Mar. 31, 1765; m. Elizabeth Sanborn; second, 

Esther Kelley. 
Elliott, 1767. 
William 6 . 

Judith, b. 1771; m. Henry Sanborn. 
Rhoda 6 , b. 1773; m. John Rice Smith. 
Joshua, m. Olive York. 
David, m. Rachel Randlett. 
Jacob 6 , b. 1780; m. Deborah Barker. 
Betsey, d. single. 

John 6 (Jacob, Philip, John, Henry, Ralph) was born in Epping. 
He settled on Meredith Parade, about 1792. He married Betsey 
Dearborn Sanborn in 1793, She was born October 18, 1773, 
died July 14, 1801. He married, second, Esther Kelley, daughter 
of James Kelley of Stratham, who served in Deering's Company, 
at the defence of Portsmouth Harbor, 1781. She was born 
November 12, 1775; died February 28, 1864. John lived in 
Meredith; died January 8, 1844. Children: 

Elizabeth (Betsey 7 ), b. Jan. 21, 1795; m. Stephen Boynton. 
William 7 , b. Dec. 30, 1798; d. June 12, 1854. 
Hannah, b. Sept. 21, 1800; m. Isaac Farrar. 

Second wife's children: 

Daniel 7 , b. Feb. 20, 1805; d. 1847. 

Mary, b. Oct. 5, 1807; m. Benson Clock. 

David, b. Feb. 9, 1809; d. 1888. 

Sally, b. Feb. 16, 1811; m. Cyrus Coffin. 

Susan, b. Nov. 8, 1813; m. Cyrus Baldwin. 

Laura, b. Sept. 5, 1816; m. Anderson Corning. 

David Blaisdell 7 was born February 9, 1809, at the old home- 
stead on Meredith Parade; spent his boyhood on his father's 
farm, attending the district school. At an early age he learned 
the carpenter's trade, which he followed all his life. August 22, 
1837, he married Eliza Sanborn Gilman of Tamworth. She was 
born March 17, 1814, the daughter of Jeremiah and Hannah 
Sanborn Gilman. She died March 28, 1899. After her marriage 
to David Blaisdell they lived for a few years at Lakeport, but 
after the death of his father he moved back to the old home on 
the Parade. In 1854 he built the house now occupied by C. H. 
and William B. Swain. After a few years the old house was taken 



GENEALOGIES 121 

down. A depression in the field is all that is left to tell where the 
old house stood. Children: 

David Napoleon 8 , b. Jan. 3, 1839; d. Feb. 19, 1850. 
Charles Henry, b. July 1, 1841; m. Marion Wardwell. 
Eliza Anna, b. May 27, 1845; m. George Gray; d. May 19, 

1923. 
John Clark, b. Sept. 23, 1874; d. 1919. 
Hannah Gilman, b. - -; m. John H. Robinson; d. Jan. 5, 

1925. 
Frank Napoleon, b. Sept. 20, 1851; m. Grace E. Weeks; 

d. June, 1913. 
Mary Susan, b. Aug. 25, 1853; m. J. Frank Weeks; d. Sept. 

30, 1902. 
Stephen Boynton, b. Mar. 4, 1856; d. Jan. 20, 1918. 

Frank Napoleon 8 (David, John, Jacob, Philip, John, Henry, 
Ralph) was born September 25, 1851, at the old homestead on 
Meredith Parade. He attended the district school. At an early 
age he learned the carpenter's trade and worked with his father. 
He also worked for many years on the steamboat Lady of the 
Lake. April 29, 1886, he married Grace E. Weeks of East Boston, 
Mass. She was the daughter of John Francis and Mary R. 
(Strate) Weeks. She was born August 13, 1863. He died June 
11,1913. The latter part of his life he spent as a farmer. Their 
child: 

Carl Forrest, b. Aug. 31, 1887. 

Hugh Blaisdell, a son of Jacob Blaisdell, born October 18, 1765, 
at East Kingston, was buried in the McCoy yard. Hugh Blais- 
dell was an early settler in Meredith; born June 6, 1793; died 
June 10, 1876; he married Mary Quimby, September 3, 1816; 
she was born in 1788 and died June 10, 1860. They had a son, 
Winchell Blaisdell, born in Meredith, February 15, 1821; died 
June 6, 1892. He married Mary Jane Runnells, July 21, 1843. 
She was born May 20, 1821 and died in 1893. She was a daughter 
of Israel Runnells, who was the only child of Hannah Follett 
Runnells. History states that the line runs back to John Alden 
and Priscilla. Abbie (Blaisdell) married a Folsom. She was a 
daughter of Winchell and wife, Mary Jane Runnells. 

Bertram Blaisdell, born in Meredith in 1869, was a son of 
Philip D. Blaisdell and wife, Jane B. (Leavitt) Blaisdell. He has 
been associated with several kinds of business, besides his legal 



122 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

practice. He married Georgia Moulton of Roxbury, Mass. 
Their children : 

Beatrice, b. 1898; m. Edward K. McDonald. 
Dorothy F., b. 1901. 

BOYNTON 

From Mrs. {Sanborn, daughter of Jacob) Bond's Papers 

Taken from a copy of deed from Simon Finley Williams to 
Richard Boynton, of what he had left of the land of Minister's 
lot in Meredith: 

Begining at a stake and stones South of my house, close by the ledge, on the 
Province Road, then runing on said road northwardly till it Strikes the bound 
of land to the said Richard Boynton 's formerly a part of said Lot then Runing 
on said Line North about seventy & a half degrees west to (Isaac) Farrers line 
then on said Farrers line to the Corner tree that bounds said Lot thence on the 
rangeway till it comes to a Stake & Stones the bounds of a fifteen acre piece of 
Land Sold to the Town then on said line eastwardly or thereabouts to the 
bound in the Road first mentioned. 

Dated Aug 1st 1799. 

Richard Boynton's wife was a Williams. (From Boynton 
Book.) Richard 5 Boynton, born May 15, 1756, in Rowley, 
Mass.; married Susannah Williams, who was born on Davis 
(Governor's) Island, July 11, 1754. He removed to Meredith 
about 1795 and was the leading merchant there; he died in 1802. 
She died in 1835. They had a daughter, Sally, who married 
Nathan Davis of Meredith, also a son, John, born in 1786; 
married Sally (Durgan) Page, born in 1789. He was a farmer in 
Meredith and town clerk for some years; he died in 1845. They 
also had a son, Stephen, born in 1782; married; died in 1852. 
This Stephen had a daughter, Mary Boynton (from local people), 
who married a Mr. Hall of Portsmouth, Ohio. Stephen 6 Boyn- 
ton and a daughter, Mary, later lived in a small house on the right 
side of the lane going in to the County Farm. Mrs. Lewis Perley 
knows where the house stood. This must be the house where 
Mrs. Herbert Sanborn states that her great-grandfather, David 
Boynton, a brother of Richard, lived for a short time, while 
building the red house, where Mrs. Joseph Pitman's house now 
stands. 

From the Boynton Book: David was a brother of Richard, 
above; baptized 1745/6. He married, first, Susanna Woodman 



GENEALOGIES 123 

of Rowley, January 7, 1773; married, second, previous to 1794, 
I.ydia, widow of William Sibley. They removed from New 
Rowley, Mass., to Meredith about 1790. He died about 1790; 
she died October 1 ( >, 1826. Their children, sixth generation: 

Susanna, m. William Moses; lived in Gilmanton. 

Betsey, moved west. 

NATHANIEL, b. Mar. 20, 1778; m. Hannah F. Morse, Oct. 3, 

1806; both d. in Vermont. 
FRANCIS W'., b. 1786; m. first, Mary Oilman; she d. Nov., 

1841. He m. second, the Widow Clough. 

Children, seventh generation: 

Susan B., m. Bradstreet Wiggin. 

Charlotte, m. William F. Noyes. 

Mary, m. Harrison Messer. 

George. 

Lewis W\, b. Mar. 7, 1825; m. Eunice E. Smalley, 1848. 

They had a son, David, d. single at Campton; also a dau., 

Ella A. Boynton. 
Nancy, b. Nov. 3, 1791, in Meredith (her mother d. then, 

opposite Mrs. Perley's. Mrs. Sanborn is authority for 

this). Nancy m. Nathaniel J. Randlett of Oilmanton. 

She d. in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1880. 
Susan Raxlet, seventh generation, m. William Moses; 

resides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Line of David and Richard: 

John, b. 1614; came to Rowley, Mass., 1638; was a tailor by 
trade, also tilled "acre and a half of land." 

Joseph, b. 1644; m. Sarah Swan of Rowley, 1669. 

Richard, b. 1675; m. Sarah Dresser 6 1701; children b. in 
Rowley. 

Nathaniel, sixth child, b. 1712 ; m. Mary Stewart of Rowley, 
Mar. 8, 1736 7. He was shipwrecked and lost near Annis 
Squam, Cape Ann, May 13, 1762. Their twelve children 
b. in Rowley. 

The history of Rowley, Mass., gives the name of John Boynton, 
who early settled there. He came to America with a brother. 
William Boynton and wife were dismissed from church at Salis- 
bury to join a church at Kingston, August 20, 1732. 

David Boynton came to Meredith before 1800; he married Mrs. 
Sibley, who had a son, George L. Sibley. He has a son, Francis 
Worcester Boynton, who married Mary Gilman Sanborn of 



124 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Gilmanton, 1784-1841, a daughter of Josiah Sanborn and wife, 
Jeminah, of Epping. Their children: 

Matilda, 1811-1814. 
Susan, b. 1813. 
George F., 1815-1815. 
Charlotte, b. 1817. 
Mary G., b. 1819. 
George F., b. 1822. 
Lewis W., b. 1825. 
Charles H., b. 1827. 

David Boynton had a daughter, Charlotte, born March 1, 1785. 

Richard Boynton, a brother to David, had land and buildings 
in 1763, in Kingston, from William Boynton, perhaps his father. 
Richard Boynton lived in Meredith on a small place, the land a 
part of the "Minister's lot," so called, about opposite the old 
Pound. Later it was the "Davenport Tavern," which inn he 

kept for a time. He married Susanna , 1754-1835, as her 

gravestone states. They are buried in the first yard in Meredith, 
opposite the Pound. Tradition tells that he died of spotted fever. 
His pension record is among the Revolutionary pensioners of 
Meredith and states that he went as a substitute for Joseph Smith 
of New Hampton, who was mustered the second time. Richard 
Boynton was given a land bounty of 160 acres; part of the land 
lies in Meredith and a part in New Hampton. The cemetery is 
on the line on his land bounty. The land has a road on each side, 
one leading to Meredith Centre. The east side road leads up the 
hill, towards Meredith, this side of where Robert Smith, the 
Pioneer, settled. The old Boynton farm was the one where John 
Pollard now lives. It had a log house first, and a spring near the 
house supplied water on the bounty land. 

From Gravestones 

William Boynton, 1761-1814, married Mary -, 1763- 

1831. 

Ebenezer Boynton, 1777-1847, married Sally Boynton, 1783- 
1860. 

William Boynton, 1780-1860, married Amanda Hawkins, 
1784-1858. Their daughter, Emma Boynton, married John 
Reynolds. Lives in Meredith. 



GENEALOGIES 125 

A sister, Mary Etta, married Charles McCrillis. He died and 
she married, second, Freeman Jewell. 

John Boynton, married Sally (Durgin) Page, widow of Dr. 
David Page. 

Joseph Boynton, 1789-1834, married Nancy, 1794-1854. 

David Boynton, 1744-1807, married Anna, 1757-1842. 

David Boynton, 1808-1879, married Mary, 1808-1892. 

Charles McCrillis' father was Hiram. He lived on McCrillis 
Hill. Charles had a brother, George. 

Old Bible Records 

Mark Boynton, married Desire . Their children: 

Capt. Coburn R., 1815-1845; m. Mary - — in 1843. 

John C, 1817-1819. 

Mark W., 1819-1867; m. Desire Barrell in 1814. 

Josiah B. and Desire (twins), b. 1820. 

James M., b. 1821. 

Susan T., b. 1823; m. Andrew J. Walker, Lawrence, Mass. 

Nathaniel, b. 1828; had a son, Hosea; lives near Beech Hill. 

Thomas R. and John S. (twins), b. 1830; Thomas m. Mary 

R. Cram in 1853, sister of Samuel. John m. Sally Smith; 

another sister, m. Moses Pease. 
George H., b. 1832. 
Oliver Otis, b. 1834. 

Mark W. Boynton, born in 1819, and wife, Desire Barrell. 

Their son, Nathaniel Boynton, married Mary , 1831-1850. 

Their child, Lizzie B., 1868-1868. 

Nathaniel Batchelder Boynton married, second, Olive Jane 
Chapman, 1830-1899. She was a daughter of Joseph Chapman, 
1770-1812, and wife, Phebe R. Boynton, 1798-1867. They lived 
nearly opposite the Ed Wiggin place, and are buried in the 
Wiggin yard. 

Christopher Chapman, 1807-1835, his wife, Polly Chapman, 
1773-1809. Josephine Chapman, 1822. Stones are also in this 
yard. 

Mark Wentworth Boynton, born in 1856, a grandson, inherited 
a beautiful set of china from the Chapman family, which he has 
in his home, on the D. W. Highway, above Meredith. He 
married, in 1879, Nellie J. Smith, born in 1857, daughter of 
Francis Fisk Smith and wife, Mary J. Philbrick, she a daughter 



126 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

of Joseph and Polly Chase of Deerfield. Francis Smith was a 
son of Stuart Smith and wife, Lydia Hoyt. 

Mark W. Boynton and wife had a son, Albert C. Boynton, 
1886-1911. Another son of Mark Boynton was George Henry 
Boynton, who married Jane Fogg, daughter of Levi Fogg and 
wife, Sally (Wedgewood) Fogg, who lived at Winona. They 
were buried at the Fogg's Tavern yard, but were removed to 
Meredith by Mr. Stone, who bought the farm. Another son of 
Mark Boynton was Mark C. Boynton, who married Ruth 
Hawkins in 1845. 

John Boynton, 1782-1859, married Eliza, widow of Francis 
Lyford, 1808-1873. Their child died in 1849, aged 19 months. 
Another child, Colburn, 1815-1845. Buried at Winona. 

Luther Boynton, 1823-1892, married Sarah E. Mead, 1819- 
1896. Their son, Mead Boynton, married S. Eliza Veasey, 
1859-1894, daughter of Aaron Veasey of New Hampton. She 
died and he married, second, Alice Mary Lawrence in 1897. 
Their children : 

Hazel Elizabeth, b. 1898; m. Ronald E. Downing. Their 
child, Rosamond Downing. They live in Meredith. 

Leslie Mead, b. 1901; m. Evelyn Dow of Moultonborough. 

Marion Mead, b. 1903; m. Bernard Cady Smith, son of 
Cady Smith of New Hampton. Their children: Bernard 
Cady Smith, Jr., b. 1926; Bessie Elizabeth, b. 1928. 

Markers in the Boynton Yard at Winona 

Mary Boynton married Benjamin Hawkins; parents of Albert, 
Edwin, Rufus, Mary Ella (who married Harrieson Perkins), 
William Hawkins. Samuel Boynton, Nathan and Mary were 
brothers and sister. 

Inscriptions 

Ira C. Boynton, 1837-1920; his wife, Sarah Chase, 1842-191o. 
Their children : 

Bessie L, b. 1875. 
Mariette E. Chase, b. 1846. 

Nathan Boynton, 1814-1891 ; first wife, Johanna L., 1808-1866; 
second wife, Lucy Sceggel, 1827-1913. 
Arthur W. Boynton, 1848-1871. 



GENEALOGIES 127 

Charles R. Boynton, 1821-1864, was in 12th Regiment, Co. 8, 
N. H. Vols. His wife, Lucy Hawkins, 1830-1913. Their 
children : 

Elbridge G., 1853-1928; d. at Ashland. He was born in 
Center harbor; buried at Green Grove Cemetery, Ashland. 
Their children: Mrs. Minnie Drake of New Hampton; 
Mrs. Blanche Taylor of New Hampton; Mrs. Alice Hughes 
of Ashland; Eddie and Elmer Boynton of Ashland; Carl 
Boynton of Wayne, Maine; Clarence Boynton of Littleton. 

Eddie V., 1858-1865. 

Charles M., 1859-1915. 

Rufus Boynton, 1823-1898; his wife, Joan S., 1823-1867. 
Mark Boynton, his son, Nathaniel Boynton. Children: 

Joseph, lived beyond Slab City. 

Mark Wentworth, 1790-1807, Meredith. 

Lizzik B., d. young. 

Hosea, lives near Beech Hill. 

Harry C, m. Catherine - -; lives on Meredith Neck. 

Nathaniel, m. Abby Pierce. He b. 1858; she d. 1929. 

Aaron Chase's mother was Sarah Boynton. 
David V. Boynton, 1744-1807; married Anna - -, 1758- 

1843. Their children: 

William B., 1761-1 SI 4. 
Nancy B. 
Augusta B. 

David B.. 1808-1879. 

Mrs. Reynolds' Bible Records 

Marietta Boynton, born in 1854, married Freeman Jewell of 
Holderness. 

Emma A. Boynton, born in 1856, married John J. Reynolds in 
1882. 

Susan Hawkins married John Hart; lived on the Sinclair Farm; 
moved west. Children: 

Sands M., b. 1852. 

Fred A., 1853-1854. 

Charles D., 1856-1877. 

Elmer W., b. 1863. 

Lilla A., b. 1864 in Racine, Wis. 

Nellie Louisa, b. 1868. 



128 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Monument in Smith Yard at Winona 

Eben r Boynton, 1798-1881; his wife, Betsey; his second wife, 
Susan Boynton, 1812-1856. Their daughter, Ann B., 1831-1847, 
married McKinley, 1847-1920. Children: Emily and Edwin. 
Relatives of above Boynton family. 

Monument in Meredith Village Cemetery 

William D. Boynton, 1814-1878; first wife, Mary Woodman, 
1813-1845, daughter of William D. and Mary Woodman; second 
wife, Amanda Hawkins, 1822-1902; Laura J., 1843-1856. 

Front of Monument in Meredith Village Cemetery 

Timothy Dudley Hawkins, 1795-1881, was a soldier in War of 
1812. His wife, Susan, 1793-1873. Their children: 

Alonzo, 1819-1826. 
S. Jennie, 1833-1856. 
Harriett T., 1840-1843. 

Sarah Boynton was the wife of Luther Boynton. She was 
Susan Mead. 

Mrs. Roberts was a Davis, a sister of Mrs. Folsom, who had a 
son, John. 

John Folsom's grandmother, Sally (Davis) Boynton, and 
Nancy (Davis) Boynton were twins, and they married Eben and 
William Boynton. 

BROWN 

John Brown, born on the Island of Jersey, off the coast of 
England, came to New England and settled in Hampton in 1639, 
on four acres near a branch of the river, which was granted him. 
He did not stay there, but bought ten acres not far away from it, 

and had more land. He married Sarah ; they had eight 

children; he died in 1687. Their third son and fifth child, Jacob, 
born in 1653, married Sarah Brookin of Portsmouth. They had 
nine children. Their oldest child, John, born about 1684, 
married in 1706, Ruth, daughter of Roger Kelley; they lived at 
Hampton Falls, and had five children. Their third son, Daniel, 
of Stratford, 1712-1786, married in 1749 (Polly) Mehitable, 
1724-1786, daughter of Jacob Brown and wife, Mary Brown. 
She was a daughter of Isaac Green and wife, Mary (Cass) Green. 



genp:alogies 129 

Jacob Brown, born in 1691, was the son of Benjamin and wife, 
Sarah (or Elizabeth) Brown of Salisbury, Mass. (the division 
called Seabrook). Benjamin Brown was son of John Brown, as 
first mentioned, and wife, Sarah. He was born in England. 

Daniel Brown of Strafford and wife, Polly, were cousins. They 
moved from Strafford to Holderness and later to Campton. 
Their children : 

William, m. Eliza Smith; he b. 1822. 
Nicholas, m. Eliza Page of Holderness. Two children. 
Edward, m. Mehitable Perkins of Campton. One child. 
Nancy, m. Newman Crowell of Campton. Five children. 
Daniel, m. Caroline Willoughby of Holderness. Two 

children. 
Mary, m. Oscar York. Seven children. 
John, m. Amanda Downing. Nine children. 
Stephen, m. in Iowa. 

Lightning at one time struck a maple tree near the house, ran 
into the chimney and through a brick, leaving a hole the size of a 
knitting needle, then out and around the room and down into 
the cellar. 

William Brown, born in 1822, married Eliza, daughter of Robert 
Smith and wife, Sally Morrill, a daughter of Smith Morrill and 
wife, Sally Smith; she a granddaughter of Moses Smith, who 
lived on the Sayward farm. They had five children: 

William Harrison, b. in Holderness, July 4, 1843; d. 1924. 
He m. Sarah Elizabeth Willoughby in 1865. Their 
children: Harry Leslie, b. Dec. 1866; m. Mary Webster in 
1888, dau. of Amos W^ebster of Center Harbor. She d. 
1890; he m., second, Mrs. Emma Wilson, dau. of Alanson 
Cox of Meredith. No children. Bertha Beartice Brown, 
b. 1871, m. 1901, Ira L. Powers, b. in Lyman. Their chil- 
dren: Sarah Mary, d. 1903; Bernard L., b. 1905 in Meredith. 

Sarah J., m. John Ames. Five children. 

Mary Elizabeth, m. Henry L. Smith. Four children. 

(See Smiths.) 
Elmina J., m. Daniel W'hicher. Five children. 
Nellie E., m. John Adams; both dead; buried in Los 

Angeles, Calif. 

BRYANT 

Old Bible Records from an old Bible sold at Auction 

Robert Bryant, a Revolutionary soldier, buried on Meredith 
Neck. 



130 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Abram Bryant, born October 10, 1810; his wife, Mahala, born 
in 1812. Their children : 

Lorenzo F., b. 1832. 

Harriet B., b. 1834. 

Ar villa J., b. 1840. 

Hosea H., b. 1850. He was adopted by them in May, 1851. 

BICKFORD 

Jonathan Bickford, born in 1766; his wife, Abigail, born in 1769. 
Children: 

Lydia, b. 1789. 
Bracket, b. 1791. 
Jonathan, b. 1793. 
Phebe, b. 1795. 
John, b. 1798. 
Ebenezer, b. 1800. 
Priscilla, b. 1803. 
James, b. 1805. 
Abigail, b. 1810. 

As history, Walter Bryant was born in New Castle, about 1710; 
was at "Lamprey River Village " in 1735. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Jeremiah and wife, Elizabeth Folsom, she a sister of 
Col. Jeremiah Folsom of Revolutionary fame. 

Walter 2 married Molly Watson in 1778. He married, second, 
1786, Hannah Goodwin. He was a land surveyor and run the 
line between Kingston and Exeter. He was a Revolutionary 
soldier. 

John 2 settled in Pembroke; was a member of the legislature from 
Bow and Dunbarton. He was prominent in church work. 

Mary 2 married Edward Smith, son of Benjamin Smith and wife, 
Jemina, she a daughter of Edward Hall. 

Anne 2 married Eliphalet Smith, born in 1759, son of Cornet 
Winthrop Smith, born in 1732, married in 1756, Mary, daughter 
of Rev. John Moody. She was, as history states, a woman of 
strong intellect and very amiable. 

Another daughter married Eddy Hall Burgess. 

Henry Bryant settled in Lowell. James was a soldier, in 1755, 
in the French and Indian War. 

Benjamin Bryant settled in Moultonboro. His son, Hazen 
Bryant, 1797-1868, was in Meredith. 



GENEALOGIES 131 

Ensign Robert Bryant was a Revolutionary soldier. He was 
in Meredith, lived on Meredith Parade, on the Wadleigh Farm, 
before the Revolution, working as a carpenter, and later lived on 
Meredith Neck. He married Abigail — . They had among 

children, as their old Bible states, Abram Bryant, born October 10, 
1810, in Moultonboro, who married Mahala - — , born in 1812. 
They lived on Meredith Neck. They with his father, Ensign 
Robert Bryant, and wife, Abigail, are buried on "Boardman 
Hill," Church yard, in the northwest corner, with field stones to 
mark their last resting place. These new settlers were poor, but 
descended from the best New England families. 

Children of Abram and Mahala Bryant: 

Lorenzo F., b. Oct. 1, 1833. 

Harriett B., b. 1840. 

Hosea H., b. 1850, adopted by them in 1857. 

Meredith town records state that Charles Bryant married 
Julia E. Jenness, in 1868, in Meredith. 

Robert Bryant had a sister, Dolly (Bryant) Nichols, who lived 
part of the time on Bear Island and ran a "carry" to the main 
land. 

In the allotment of seats in the Meetinghouse at Portsmouth, 
1693, impowering the Selectmen to allot seats for the men, Robert 
Bryant was among them, and "the room over ye womens stairs 
if for women to sit in." Among them was Robert Bryant's wife. 

Walter Bryant and wife, Elizabeth (Folsom) of Dover, had a 
daughter, Mary, who married Edward Smith, a descendant of 
Capt. John Smith. 

Walter Bryant, born 1710 at Newcastle, lived at Newmarket 
(Lamprey River Village). James Bryant was a soldier in 1755. 

From Old Bickford Bible 

Robert Bryant and wife, Abigail, of Moultonboro, had a son, 
Abram Bryant, born in 1810; his wife, Mahala Bickford, born in 
1812. Their children: 

Lorenzo, b. 1832. 
Harriett B., b. 1834. 
Arvilla, b. 1840. 

Hosea H. Bryant was adopted by them in 1857. He was born 
in 1850. 



132 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

BURLEY OR BURLEIGH 

Runnells writes that the name Burley, or Burleigh, according to 
history, dates back to Queen Elizabeth's day. "Burghley, the 
castle on the moor." Later the name was shortened to Burley, 
by four brothers — Joseph, Nathaniel, David and Daniel. At one 
time when they were together, they stepped on the scales and 
tipped 900 pounds. 

Giles Burley married Elizabeth - - in Ipswich, Mass., in 

1648. Runnells gives a good history and lineage in the "San- 
bornton Town History of the Burley Family." 

They, like other new settlers, went farther into the interior 
country to make homes, through Newmarket to Gilmanton, where 
some of the fourth generation signed the "Association Test." 

Nathaniel' married Sarah Powell, and settled for a short time in 
New-Market, later in Canterbury. In 1767 he signed the "Peti- 
tion" there, and moved on to Sanbornton. They crossed the 
river at Sanbornton Bridge (now Tilton), not far below the present 
Tilton Island, on a bridge covered with birch poles. Mrs. Bur- 
leigh rode a horse with her two youngest children, and had a sack 
containing a half bushel of meat to cook, and also their poultry in 
a straw bed-tick with holes cut through for the chicken's heads so 
that they could breathe. These were put on each side of the 
horse's back. The father, with the two older children, boys, 
drove two cows along to their new settlement of 50 acres, which he 
had received from the proprietor's, as he was the first carpenter for 
houses in town, where he had previously built a small log cabin. 
When they arrived he helped his wife and children off the horse, 
opened the door of the cabin made of bark, and said to his wife, 
"Walk in, ma'am." She laughed and cried. 

The story goes that for sometime he had to go back for work as 
far as Deerfield, as they had no crops, or much land cleared to 
plant crops. He went to Deerfield, some 40 miles southeast, and 
brought corn home on his back for them to eat. Their cows ran 
and browsed in the woods, and he gathered meadow grass to help 
feed them in winter. He was a highway surveyor of the town in 
1795; he died in 1818; they had nine children. Their youngest 
son, David Burleigh, settled in the Second Division near the 
Meredith line. He married twice, had six children, one who 
served in the Revolution. David, the youngest son, born in 1773, 



GENEALOGIES 133 

married Polly, daughter of Jacob Thompson. He finally settled 
in Meredith Hill; died there in 1819, aged 46 years. They had 
ten children. The oldest son, Jacob Thompson Burleigh, born in 
1797, married Nancy S. Mason of Meredith, daughter of Comfort 
Burleigh and her second husband, Mason of Meredith. 

He married, second, Lydia (Bodwell) widow of Daniel Smith 
Burleigh of Meredith. Their son, Daniel Smith Burleigh, born 
in 1844, drove a mail stage from New Hampton to Tilton foreight 
years. He married Clara Minnie Pike of Peabody, Mass. She 
was born in Laconia in 1852, daughter of James and wife, Lucy 
Ann (Wiggin) Pike. They settled in her father's home (Ridge- 
field Farm), near Meredith Center, where he died. Children: 

Gracia Josephine, b. May 19, 1870, in Peabody, Mass. 
James Pike, b. Sept. 7, 1872, in Meredith. 
Ada Belle, b. Apr. 4, 1876, in Meredith. 

BURLEY 

Giles Burley, as history states, had a wife named Elizabeth. 
Their children: Andrew, James, Giles and probably John. 

Giles Burley's will (as Essex records), dated July 18, 1668, 
states "that all ingagements by my uncle deceased, be fulfilled." 
He mentions "wife Elizabeth, eldest son Andrew, James, John and 
his property." He makes "his friend Theophilus Wilson ex- 
exeter, and friend decon Thomas Knowlton, and Jacob ffoster 
overseers to see that the will is performed." 

Their second son, James (2), born February 10, 1659; died in 
Exeter about 1721. He married in 1685, Rebecca, daughter of 
Thomas and wife, Susanna (Worcester) Stacy. She died in 1686. 
Susanna was a daughter of Rev. Witham Worcester of Salisbury. 
In an agreement in 1723 between Joseph, Josiah, Giles and James 
Burley they are mentioned as sons of James Burley, late of 
Exeter. 

Their fifth son, Josiah (3), born in 1701 ; died in Newmarket in 
1756. He married Hannah, daughter of Hon. Andrew Wiggin, 
who was judge of probate. 

Their second son, Thomas (4), died in Sandwich. He married 
Mercy Norris at Deerfield in 1776. He was one of a committee 
to "look out for a suitable place to Sett a meeting house." In 
1774 he was justice of the peace and in 1775 moved to Sandwich 
to what was known as "Burleigh Hills." 



134 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Their fourth child, Samuel (5), died in Sandwich, July 5, 1851. 
He married Ruth daughter of Joshua and wife, Ruth (Carr) 
Prescott, she born December 7, 1768; died in 1843. Their chil- 
dren: 

Molly, b. 1785; m. Joseph Kelley, son of Jacob and wife, 
Deborah (Page) Kelley. Deborah Page was a dau. of 
David Page of Epping. Their children were: Samuel and 
Eliza, who m. Henry Bean. 
Sally, b. 1788; m. Benjamin Tuttle of Meredith. 
Stephen, b. 1791; m. Hannah, dau. of Rev. Daniel Quinby 
of Lyndon, Vt. He m., second, Hannah, dau. of Col. 
Parker and wife, Priscilla (Senter) Prescott. She was a 
widow of Charles Cox, b. 1800. Their children: Charles 
A., who m. Emma Cummings of Holderness; also Daniel 
and Elvira. 
Samuel Norris, b. 1793; m. his cousin, Ruth, dau. of Rev. 

David and wife, Annie (Prescott) Bean. 
Benjamin, b. 1795; m. in Boston. They had one dau. 
Hannah, 1796-1829; m. 1819, her cousin, Daniel Q. Bean. 
John, 1798-1877; m., first, Priscilla, dau. of Col. Parker and 
wife, Priscilla (Senter) Prescott of Holderness, she b. 1802; 
m., second, 1864, Sally, dau. of Ebenezer and wife, Sally 
(Wentworth) Hodsdon. She was a widow of Andrew 
Folsom of Ossipee. Their children: 
Betsey, 1825-1848. 
Priscilla (7), m. John Ambrose. 

John Curtis, b. 1829; m. Rebecca Leeds; one son, Josiah 
Leeds, and a dau., Ann, who m. Norman Woodbury. 
Josiah, 1823-1855; m. Clara Ham in California. 
Samuel H., b. 1839; m. Betsey Smith, dau. of Andrew 
and wife, Sally (Wentworth) Hodsdon, b. 1831. 
Their children: Evelyn, b. 1871; Emily, b. 1848. 
Ruth, b. 1800; m. Daniel Randlett; settled in Vermont. 
Mercy, b. 1802; m. Samuel Smith of Sandwich. 
Thomas, b. 1804; m. Theresa Pierce. Their children: 
Hannah, m. Dr. George Sanborn; Annette (7), m. Dr. 
George Sanborn. Their children: 

Annette and Annie. Annie Theresa (7), b. 1838; m. 
1858, Levi Wentworth. Their children: Mary, b. 
1861; Grace, b. 1865; Theresa, b. 1870. 
Frank E. (7), b. 1843; m. 1867, Emily M. Ambrose of 
Sandwich; one son, Thomas, b. 1868. 
Polly, 1807-1830. 

Joshua Prescott (6), b. 1810; m. Betsey Bowker, dau. of 
David and wife, Lydia (Creig) Silsby, b. in Maine. Their 
children: 



GENEALOGIES 135 

Laura Amanda (7), m. John T. Nanus of (lay, N. Y. 
Horace Webber (7), b. 1841; enlisted in the 18th Maine 

Artillery. He died in a hospital in Washington in 

1864. 
Charles Lewis (7), b. Aurora, Maine; m. Ann Giles. 

He served three years in 81st New York Regiment, 

and was discharged. 
John Henry (7), b. 1845; m. Mary McCarthy; was one 

month in the army. 
Frances Elizabeth (7), b. 1847; m. Robert Parker. 
Maria Langdon (7), b. 1849; m. Cyrus Pierce; lives in 

Brewster, Maine. 
David Silsby (7), b. 1851; m. Flora Parker. 
Samuel Melvin (7), b. 1852; m. Aurelia Foster; lived 

in Michigan. 
Clarence Edwin (7), b. 1858. 
Brainerd Willis (7), b. 1861. 

Stephen Burley (Samuel and wife, Ruth (Prescott) Burley), 
born in 1791, married Hannah Prescott. Their children: 

Daniel, who lived on Oak Hill, Meredith. 
Elvira, m. M. Daniel Hawkins. 

Olive, m. Stone. 

Loretta Wilhelmina, m. William Fernal of Meredith. 

Harriett, m. Gordon. 

Chase. 

Another Record 

Stephen (6) Burley married, first, Hannah, daughter of Rev. 
Daniel Quimby of Lyndon, Vt. He married, second, Hannah, 
daughter of Colonel Parker and wife, Priscilla (Senter) Prescott, 
she a widow of Charles Cox, born in 1800 in Holderness. Stephen 
was a son of Samuel (5) Burley and wife, Ruth (Prescott) Burley. 

Samuel (5) was a son of Thomas (4) and wife, Mercy (Norris) 
Burley. Thomas died in Sandwich. He married, first, 1779, 
Hannah Etheridge. He married, second, Susan, daughter of 
Benjamin and wife, Lydia (Hanson) Watson, widow of Colonel 
Lewis Went worth of Dover. 

Note. — Perhaps both are right, as many of them named their 
children the same name. 

BURPEE 

From the old Burpee Bible, printed in 1809. The Burpees of 
New Hampton, N. H., came from Boscawen, N. H. 

Joshua W. Burpee, married Mary A. Webster, January 1, 1833. 



136 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Eliza Burpee, married John Knowlton, March 10, 1825, at 
Potter Place, 

Judith W. Burpee, married Reuben Goodwin, December 6, 
1832. 

Mary S. Burpee, married Hiram Simpson, March 24, 1836. 

Roxy Burpee, married James H. Peabody, October 26, 1836. 

Augustus Burpee, married Sarah G. Robinson, September 25, 
1837, at New Hampton. 

Hubbard G. Hutchinson, married Phebe Webster, October 20, 
1834, at Canterbury. 

Nath 1 F. Webster, married Miriam Couch, September 22, 1834. 

James R. Webster, married Mrs. Catherine Cannon, July 31, 
1886. 

Joseph W. Webster, married Eliza Bogardus, June 15, 1842. 

Mrs. Mary A. Burpee, married Samuel Gilman, Sept. 5, 1843. 

Augustus Burpee, died May 22, 1885, at New Hampton. 

Births 

Jeremiah Burpee, born February 19, 1748; married Elizabeth 
Maxfield, born May 1, 1748. Their children: 

Betsey, b. May 25, 1777. 
Jeremiah, b. Mar. 15, 1779. 
Nathaniel, b. Feb. 27, 1781. 
Betsey, b. Mar. 17, 1783. 
Elizabeth, b. Oct. 2, 1786. 
Esther, b. Nov. 30, 1788. 
Cynthia, b. Apr. 3, 1792. 

Old Bible Records 

Joshua W. Burpee, born April 29, 1809; died in 1839; married 
Mary A. Webster, born May 20, 1810. Their children: 

James R. W., June 17, 1834-1836. 
Phebe E., Aug. 1, 1836-1837. 
Joshua Francis, July 3, 1838-1859. 

Jeremiah Burpee's children: 

Eliza., b. Feb. 20, 1805. 
Judith W., b. Mar. 8, 1807. 
Joshua W., b. Apr. 20, 1809. 
Augustus., b. July 12, 1812. 
Roxy B., b. Feb. 3, 1815. 
MaryS., b. Feb. 9, 1817. 



GENEALOGIES 137 

Deaths 

Betsey Burpee, died May 28, 1701; daughter of Zerah and 
Elizabeth Burpee. 

Elizabeth Graves, died October 8, 1801; daughter of Thomas 
Thompson. 

Thomas Burpee, died May 22, 1807 ; son of Nath 1 and Catherine 
Burpee. 

Betsey Emery, died July 20, 1809, aged 27; daughter of Zerah 
and Elizabeth Burpee. 

Esther Burpee, died May 20, 1810, aged 88 years; daughter of 
Ezra Scott Burpee. 

Elizabeth, died October 13, 1812, aged 82 years; daughter of 
Eliphalet Burpee. 

Lewis Sheridan, died November 16, 1812; son of Zerah Burpee. 

Eliphalet Burpee, died January 6, 1819, aged 29 years; son of 
Zerah and Elizabeth Burpee. 

Deacon Nath 1 Burpee, died December 25, 1815. 

Nancy Burpee, died December 17, 1817. 

Catherine Burpee, died February 14, 1818. 

Hester Burpee, died February 22, 1819. 

Old Bible Records 

Amos Wardwell, born October 11, 1770. 
Polly Wardwell, born August 28, 1772. 
Isaac Wardwell, born November 29, 1775. 
Abiel Wardwell, born November 25, 1777. 
Phebe Wardwell, born April 29, 1780. 
Sally Wardwell, born February 11, 1785. 
Ihon Wardwell, born September 19, 1786. 
Jose Wardwell, born December 3, 1788. 
Jese Wardwell, born December 3, 1790. 
Reuben Wardwell, born April 23, 1795. 

BUZZELL 

The early Buzzells came from Barrington. John Buzzell, born 
in 1802, was a carpenter, and settled in Meredith, now Laconia. 
He attended the Advent Church, in Lakeport, for over fifty years; 
he and four other men built the church. He married Miss Hill; 
they had four children. He married, second, Miss Batchelder 



138 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

of Meredith; they had two children. He married, third, Abigail, 
daughter of Ebenezer Marston of Tamworth; they had five chil- 
dren. The oldest was Charles E. Buzzell, who left school to go 
into the Civil War. He was in the midst of several battles 
and badly wounded, was discharged in 1864 and returned. He 
worked for the Concord and Montreal Railroad and built several 
passenger stations; also built the Greene residences on Long 
Island, the Senter House at Center Harbor, and superintended 
building the Court House at Laconia. He married in 1867, 
Jennie, daughter of Amos L. Veazey of Meredith. They had a 
son, Charles W. Veazey Buzzell, who filled many offices of public 
trust. 

CALEF 

The earliest record, as history states, of the family is of Jeremiah 
Calef, or Calfe, in Exeter in 1751, who married Molly (Mary) 
Calef of Exeter in 1772; she died in 1797. Jeremiah was a clothier 
in Exeter. His will was probated in 1762, in which he bequeathed 
domestic utensils and plate to his son, Jeremiah, then abroad, or 
in case he did not return to New England, his native country, 
the same to go to Jeremiah's daughters. He moved to Sanborn- 
ton in 1789, in a double sleigh, and bought a place and called it 
"Calef Hill." Evidently he gave a saw and grist mill and 27 
acres of land in Exeter village for his Sanbornton farm, where he 
built a house in 1793, and history states that Elder Woodman 
offered a prayer "when the frame was ready to raise." (A much 
better example than the custom with many in ye olden days, that 
celebrated with a barrel of rum at a raising.) 

The descendants of the several generations that followed were 
highly respected and good citizens. 

Samuel, son of Samuel, born in 1816, was a farmer and shoe- 
maker. He married, first, Sally Ford, daughter of William Ford, 
a descendant of Capt. John Ford of Nottingham, who kept a 
garrison. William's wife was Hannah W. Coffin. 

Sally's father, William Ford, established the iron foundry 
business in Concord and made a specialty of ploughs and stoves. 
Their stove, the "Eclipse," bears the palm. Sally died in 1852, 
at Meredith, near the Center, where they had settled. He mar- 
ried, second, Nancy Badger, born in 1798, widow of John Ladd 



GENEALOGIES 139 

of Upper Gilmanton (Meredith); she died in 1858. There were 
children that drifted to other homes. 

JONATHAN CALLEY 
Elisabeth, His Widow 

August 16, 1832, Jonathan Calley of Sanbornton, aged 76 
years, deposed : 

that he enlisted at Epping, N. H. in Mch or Apr, 1775, under Capt Brown, 
of Poplin, N. H. and was stationed at Portsmouth, and at Great Island, under 
Col Long, for three months: 

September 1st 1775, he enlisted under Capt Norris, Col Cilley, as a substitute 
for his brother Eliphalet Calley, for six mos, lacking four days: 

that he again enlisted in May 1776, under Capt Daniel Gordon, serving at 
Peeksville, N. V. and Plonk's Point for three mos; 

that in Aug 1778, he voluntered at Epping under a Muster Master, and 
served three mos in R. I. under Capt Dalton; 

that in June 1780, he enlisted under a committee sent from Newburyport, 
Mass, and was to appear at Newburyport, in a few days to muster. After this 
he was drafted from Daniel Gordon's Co, of Militia in Epping, for a Continental 
Soldier, and the town of Newburyport, paid his fine of $500. to Capt Daniel 
Gordon, for not responding to the draft; was put under Sergeant Oliver Stearns, 
and marched directly to West Point, where he was put under Capt Brimhall, 
Col Weston; (Certificate from Town Clerk of Newburyport that $900. dollars 
was paid Jonathan Calley for six mos service, as a soldier for said town, raised 
by virtue of a resolve of the General Court of Mass, June 1780, is annexed to 
Soldier's declaration: that while at West Point he saw a Soldier by name of 
Clifford, from Rye, N. H. condemmed to death by General Washington, and 
shot, and declarent made his coffin: he served six mos, at West Point and in 
N.J: 

that he was born in Epping, and lived there until the close of the Revolution, 
when he moved to Sanbornton, N. H. where he has since resided. 

(Signed) Jonathan Calley. 

Rev. Abraham Bodwell and John Sanders, both of Sanbornton, 
certify to their belief in soldier's veracity, etc. A receipt is also 
enclosed in application: 

Epping the 22day of June 1780: Received of Jonathan Calley, five hundred 
dollars, I say received by me as witness my hand, It being for his fine, as he 
was drafted for the Contal Service. 

(Signed) Daniel Gordon, Capt. 
Aug 2d 1832, John Osgood, of Gilmanton, N. H. aged 71 years, testified that 
Soldier served in R. I. for three mos, with himself, under Capt. Moses Dalton 
of Epping, in 1777 or 1778. 

John Osgood 



140 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Aug 20th 1832, Jewett Sanborn, of Kensington, N. H. aged 73 yrs, testified 
to service with soldier at West Point, in 1776, for three mos, beginning in Aug, 
in 1776, under Capt William Prescott, Col Tash, 

Jewett Sanborn 

Claim allowed. 

March 8, 1843, Elisabeth Calley of Sanbornton, aged 85 years, 
applied for pension, Act of 1838, and 1842, and deposed: 

that she is the widow of Jonathan calley, Revolutionary Pensioneer, who 
died Jan 18th 1840, in Sanbornton, N. H. 

and that she was married to him, June 28th 1781, at Epping, N. H. her 
maiden name was Betty Cole. (Certificate from Town Clerk of the record of 
town is annexed) ; 

Signed by a mark. 

Same day, Jonathan Calley, of Sanbornton, N. H. aged 54 yrs, testified that 
he had lived under the same roof with applicant for more than fifty yr years: 

that Soldier died as stated, and that she remains his widow. 

Jonathan Calley 

Claim allowed, under Act 1843. 

CARR 

Robert Carr of Newbury, Mass., married Ruth . 

Robert Carr, aged 60 years, born in New Hampton, lived in 
Meredith (Laconia), as vital records show. He married, second. 

Clara (Bean). Her first husband was Graves. She was a 

daughter of Henry Bean of Brentwood, and was married in 1873. 
They are buried in the Page yard (Community) at Weirs. 

Robert Carr, aged 63 years, was a farmer in Meredith ; married 
in 1873, Abigail Smith of Laconia, aged 50 years, which was her 
second marriage. Tradition states that he kept the Carr Tavern, 
as early as 1823, on Meredith Parade, where Clarence Jones now 
lives. In 1850, Capt. William Pike was the last landlord. It 
was sold in 1856 to John Blaisdell. 

Dr. Orren M. Carr of Meredith, aged 25 years, son of Robert 
Carr, born in Cambridge, Mass.; married in 1876, Mrs. Lizzie J. 

(Perkins), widow of Batchelder, aged 44 years, her second 

marriage. She was a daughter of Jacob Perkins of Ashland. It 
was said that Dr. Carr was a man of great strength and a good 
farmer. At one time his judgment failed him. He did not feel 
well and went to Meredith to mill and to see Dr. George Sanborn. 
The doctor looked him over and gave him a box of pills, with 
directions to take one pill as a dose. He went back to the mill 



GENEALOGIES 141 

after his grist and showed the pills to Frank Canney the miller, 
saying, "I don't believe those little things will do me any good, 
one at a time, and I will eat half of them if you will eat the other 
half." This was agreeable to the miller, so they divided the pills 
and each ate half of them. The result was that Frank had to take 
his bed for a time. The doctor was tough and would not give up, 
but he had a hard time. The story went that Dr. Carr carried 
rocks in his pockets to keep him balanced so that the wind 
would not blow him off the hill. 

Robert Carr, father of Dr. Orren Carr, was born near the Ben- 
nett Swain farm and is buried in Meredith Village Cemetery. 
He married, first, a Miss Batchelder and, second, Lizzie Perkins. 
He lived early in life with Ebeneezer (called Sullivan) Robinson. 
Tradition tells the story that Dr. Carr was quite a talker. It is 
told that at one time some summer people called for a drink of 
water, which he gave them. (His well was deep and the water 
very cool. They remarked that it seemed as cold as ice water, 
and asked the doctor how he kept it so cold. His reply was: 
"I'll tell you. In the fall of the year I pump the water all out of 
the well, then I turn in a pailful and let it freeze, then after it 
freezes I turn in another pailful and let that freeze, and keep 
doing it until the well is full, and as it thaws out we draw it up. 
That makes good cold water." The callers believed the story 
for a long time and told it, and they often returned to quench their 
thirst. 

Another yarn was: "A man came along, and said I should like 
to buy some milk of you. Yours looks good and clear and that 
that I have been buying has a scum on it after it sets over night 
and I don't like the looks of that scum." The doctor sold him 
milk. 

Inscriptions on stones in Carr Burying Ground, Gilford: 

Robert Carr, died 12 Mar. 1849; aged 71 years 

His wife 

Ruth died 30 Mar. 1865; aged 84 years 

A daughter 

Dolly, died 22 Feb. 1814; aged 2 years, 9 months 

John L. Carr, died 28 Apr. 1851; aged 37 years 

Capt. Richard Carr, died 28 Nov. 1891; aged 85 years 

Betsey Clifford, wife of Capt. Richard L. Carr, died 21 Aug. 1883; aged 73 years 

Mary ()., wife of Charles H. Boynton, died 16 Mar. 1887; aged 41 years 



142 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Back row in yard, next the fence: 

Simon C. Carr, died 8 Aug. 1880, aged 47 years 

Masonic emblem on stone 

Wife 

Harriet B., died 7 Feb. 1865, aged 34 years 

Small stones, children: 

Elisabeth, died 26 Dec. 1863; aged 5 years 

Hattie F., died 17 Aug. 1868; aged i}4 years 

Richard S. Carr, died 23 Aug. 1868; aged 1 year 

CARTER 

The family of Daniel Parsons Carter. He had sisters: Mary, 
married Nason Smith, lived in Meredith; Betsey, married Asa 
Ladd. The family moved to Holderness, as statement of Rox- 
anna C. Fogg, who was over 90 years of age; she was the wife of 
Albert C. Fogg of Sandwich. They went with an ox sled and 
cleared the land and built a log house near Rattlesnake Mountain. 
In later years, the house burned. The names of other families 
that lived on that road were Smiths and Felches, near Chick's 
Corner to Holderness. 

Daniel Parsons Carter was a Revolutionary soldier. He mar- 
ried (Polly) Mary French, a relative of Asa French. They lived 
in Holderness, near Rattlesnake Mountain, going to Sandwich. 
Their children: 

Daniel, b. 1805; m. 1826, Mary W. Carr, b. 1804, of 
Meredith, a sister to Robert Carr, who lived on the 
" Province Road." 

Robert Carr, m. Clara Bean, 1817-1873, dau. of Henry 
Bean, 1793-1872, and wife, Comfort Bean, 1790-1869. 
The Bean family are buried in the Page yard, at the Weirs, 
also other children of Henry Bean and wife. Comfort 
Bean, 1828-1856, was the wife of Dudley Swain. Betsey, 
wife of Levi Bean, 1805-1827; Mary and George Gault. 

Children of Daniel Carter and wife, Mary W. Carr: 

John Martin, 1826-1856; m. Susan M. Webster of Holder- 
ness in 1846. 

Charles Sargent, 1828-1902 ; m. 1892, Mary Jane Gould of 
Vermont. Their children : Augusta L., b. 1857 ; m. George 
E. Anderson; second, George E. Tasker. Charles E. r 
1866-1873. 



GENEALOGIES 143 

ROXANNA Clara A., b. 1830; m. Albert C. Fogg in 1848. 
Their dau., Mary A. Fogg, b. 1850. 

Russell Hoyt, b. 1833. 

Alfred Dana, 1837-1839. 

Alfred Lewis, b. 1842; m. Martha Boynton; second, Mary 
Frances Wiggin. Their son, Guy, married Jennie Ladd, 
on Ladd Hill. Their children: Daniel and Russell. 

Mary Frances, b. 1851. 

CATE 

Ebenezer F. Cate, 1792-1850; his wife, Hannah, wife of Na- 
thaniel Norris, formerly wife of Ebenezer Grove, 1796-1864. 

Simeon Cate, 1763-1852; his wife, Nancy, 1766-1850. 

Simeon Cate, 1793-1879; his wife, Polly, 1799-1850. 

Ebenezer H. Cate, 1799-1873; his wife, Naomi P., 1810-1860. 

John Mooney Cate had a son and daughter — John Lyman 
Cate and Mary Cate, who married Norman Corliss. They had 
children: Norman, Jr., and Clarence Corliss, who married Clara 
Belle Cox. 

CAVERLY 

From Daniel Perkins Record Book 

George A. Caverly was born in Meredith, May, 1834. After 
attaining manhood he worked as a shoemaker at Meredith Center. 
He married Mary J. Sanborn, born 1840, daughter of Christopher 
Sanborn and wife, Mehitable Philbrick. Their children: 

Nellie May, b. 1861. 
Charles, b. 1863. 
Elizabeth, b. 1865. 
Carrie Lenora B., b. 1867. 
Jennie L., b. 1869. 
John C. Ervin, b. 1871. 
Annie Maud, b. 1877. 
Dan, b. 1879. 

Stephen Hunt, the youngest son of Philip and wife, Anna 
Perkins Hunt, born in Sanbornton, married Polly Folsom of 
Gilmanton in 1824. Their son, Charles Albert Hunt, born in 
1827, married Mary Susan Dudley in 1849. He was a soldier in 
the Civil War, lived in Laconia; died in 1868. Their son: 

Fred Oscar, born in 1851, learned the printer's trade. He 
married Sadie Wilkinson in 1873. Their son, Harry 
Frederick Hunt, born in 1874 in Laconia. 



144 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

CAWLEY 

Thomas Cawley and wife, Mary , as history states, were 

early in Epping, a subdivision of Exeter. They had three sons 
who were said to be the ancestors of the branch of the family in 
Meredith. Their sons: 

Thomas, Jr. 

Jonathan, b. 1757 in Epping. 

Josiah, b. 1758 in Epping. 

History states that one Thomas Cawley removed to Sanborn- 
ton, probably from Stratham, and lived near "Turkey Bridge," 
over Salmon Brook (where a mill was built, and some one stole 
a turkey for the raising, so the story goes). This was before 1784. 

Thomas Cawley had a sister, Mahala Cawley, born March 18, 
1780, who married Timothy Smith, Jr. He was in Sanbornton 
before the Revolution and was one of the four Smiths in Sanborn- 
ton who signed the "Association Test"; he died February 12, 
1812, and was buried on his farm west of the Obadiah Eastman 
farm on "Steele Hill," where they lived on the brow of the hill 
overlooking one of nature's wonderful views of the lakes and 
mountains, and in the distance can be seen land in the state of 
Maine. The land was later owned by Benjamin Burleigh, and 
is now the property of Mr. Tyler. 

From Mrs. Olive E. (Cauiey) Swain 

Thomas Cawley of Sanbornton, ancestors of the Meredith 
branch, also the Thomas branch that lived at "Turkey Bridge." 
Their children: 

Mahala, b. Mar. 18, 1780; m. Timothy Smith, Jr. 
Chase, 1782-1810. 

Sally, b. Oct. 18, 1784; m. Richard Moulton. 
Nancy, b. Jan. 23, 1787; m. Henry Morrill. 
Thomas, Jr., b. Aug. 31, 1789; m. Huldah Wadleigh. 

Chase Cawley, 1782-1810, married . Their child, 

William Dame Cawley, 1803-1833, married Nancy T. Sanborn, 
daughter of Lowell and wife, Mary (Marden) Sanborn, born in 
Gilford. Lived at Weirs. Their children: 

Lowell Chase, 1826-1877, m. Olive Chandler Wiggin, 1851, 
dau. of William Whitehouse Wiggin and wife, Sally Swain 
Wiggin. Lowell Chase was a farmer on Meredith Parade. 



GENEALOGIES 145 

Henry Morrill, 1828-1831. 

Amanda Dame, 1830-1897; m. Wilson Chase; m. second, 
William H. Wiggin of California, 1864. 

Francis Moses, 1832-1889, m. 1860, Susan Maria Wiggin, 
dau. of Daniel Wiggin of Meredith Neck. Their children: 
Eleazer Davis, b. 1862 in Meredith; Sarah Maria, b. 1864 
in Laconia; Nancy Lucinda, b. 1866 in Laconia; Katie 
Lizzie, b. 1869 in Meredith. 

By Mrs. Cawley 

Lowell Chase Cawley branch (Thomas \ Chase 2 , William Dame 3 , 
Lowell Chase 4 ). Lowell Chase Cawley, born September 23, 1826, 
in Gilford, died October 24, 1897; married January 7, 1851, 
Olive Chandler Wiggin, daughter of William Whitehouse and 
Sally (Swain) Wiggin, who was born March 26, 1829, and died 
February 16, 1913. They lived in Laconia. Children: 

Henry Morrill, b. Mar. 18, 1857; m. Caroline Lavinia 

Bonyman. 
Emma Sarah, b. Oct. 13, 1859. 
Frank Lowell, b. Mar. 13, 1862. 

Annie May', b. July 2, 1864; m. Charles Everett Morgan. 
Fannie Louise, b. May 14, 1866; m. Herbert Rufus Young, 

son of Rufus Young of Easton. 
Olive Eva, b. May 23, 1868; m. Aug. 3, 1893, Charles E. 

Swain. 
Charles Wilbur, b. Aug. 5, 1871; m. June 20, 1908, Elsie 

Vanzandt Jensen of California, b. Jan. 31, 1877. 

Henry Morrill Cawley branch (Thomas 1 , Chase 2 , William Dame 3 , 
Lowell Chase 4 , Henry Morrill 5 ). Henry Morrill Cawley, son of 
Lowell Chase and Olive (Wiggin) Cawley, was born March 18, 
1857, in Laconia; married Caroline Lavinia Bonyman, December 
28, 1887. She was born March 14, 1867. He lives in Salem, 
Mass. Children: 

Ada Verbena, b. in Salem, Mass., Oct. 10, 1888; d. July 29, 

1911; m. Dec. 25, 1908, Frederick Osborne Morrill, b. 

Dec. 29, 1883. Child, Marjorie, b. Feb. 6, 1909. 
Frank Bonyman, b. in Salem, Mass., Mar. 23, 1891; m. 

May 3, 1924, Winifred Morris Catlin, dau. of Dr. Arnold 

Wel'ls Catlin, who was b. Jan. 12, 1903. Child, Arnold 

Wells Catlin, b. Mar. 31, 1925. 
Henry Lowell, b. in Salem, Mass., July 25, 1893; m. Nov. 

21, 1923, Ethel Florence Brown, who was b. Mar. 16, 1903. 

Child, George Lowell, b. Mar. 12, 1925. 



146 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Annie May Cawley branch (Thomas 1 , Chase 2 , William Dame 3 , 
Lowell Chase 4 , Annie May 5 . Annie May Cawley, born July 2, 
1864; married September 20, 1882, Charles Everett Morgan, son 
of Langdon Gilman and Olive (Sanborn) Morgan. He died 
March 11, 1894. Children: 

Henry Langdon, b. in Laconia July 8, 1884; m. June 6, 1906, 
Caroline Evelyn Taylor. Child, Kathleen Olive, b. Apr. 
23, 1909. 

Harvey Frank, b. in Laconia May 7, 1887; m., first, Bernice 
E. Twombly, Oct. 9, 1907. Child, Roland Douglas, b. 
July 10, 1908; m., second, Catherine A. McCabe, Oct. 10, 
1920. Children: Ann Louise, b. Jan. 25, 1922, and d. 
Mar. 20, 1923. Richard Everett, b. Apr. 26, 1926. 

Fannie Louise Cawley branch (Thomas ! , Chase 2 , William Dame 3 , 
Lowell Chase 4 , Fannie Louise 5 ). Fannie Louise Cawley, born May 
14, 1866; married November 27, 1889, Herbert Rufus Young, 
son of Rufus W. and Lucinda (Merrill) Young, who was born 
May 30, 1865; died February 18, 1912. Children: 

Infant, b. July 1, 1891; d. July 3, 1891. 

Ray, b. Apr. 8, 1895 ; m. Feb. 4, 1924, Irene Gage Southwick, 

who was b. Sept. 27, 1898. 
Harold Herbert, b. May 30, 1903. 

Amanda Dame Cawley branch (Thomas 1 , Chase 2 , William 
Dame 3 , Amanda Dame 4 ). Amanda Dame Cawley, born May 8, 
1830; died October 2, 1897; married, first, July 26, 1851, Wilson 
Chase, who died November 4, 1864. Children: 

Henry Eugene, b. Sept. 3, 1852; d. Mar. 15, 1871. 
Mattie Ann, b. Oct. 5, 1854; d. June 5, 1869. 

Married, second, September 6, 1868, William Henry Wiggin, 
who lived in California. He was an eastern man, but no one 
seems to know where he was born. 

Francis Moses Cawley Branch (Thomas 1 , Chase 2 , William 
Dame 3 , Francis Moses 4 . Francis Moses Cawley, born in Gilford, 
May 20, 1832; lived in Pittsburgh, Pa., and was a railroad man; 
died December 9, 1889; married August 9, 1860, Susan Maria 
Wiggin, daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Robinson) Wiggin of 
Meredith. Children: 

Eleazer Davis, b. Mar. 28, 1862; m. June 12, 1902, Edith 
Fulghum Stewart, dau. of Rev. Robert Stewart. Child, 
Ruth Wiggin, b. Mar. 9, 1903. 



GENEALOGIES 147 

Sarah Maria, b. Julv 22, 1864; unm. 

Nancy Lucinda, b. July 24, 1866; m. Mar. 21, 1897, William 

A. Walker, Jr., of Pittsburgh, Pa., who d. Feb. 16, 1925. 

Child, William A., b. Aug. 8, 1900. 
Kate Lizzie, b. Feb. 11, 1869; d. July 23, 1874. 

CHAPMAN 

Robert Chapman, born in 1616, was one of the first settlers 
of Say Brook. The Saxon word Chapman means marketman or 
merchant. In the "History of the Pequot War" he was in 1637 
in a skirmish with the Indians. 

Robert Chapman settled on land at Oyster River (Dover) ; 
probably he was a native of Yorkshire, England. His parents 
were Puritans. He married Ann Blith in 1642. They had 
seven children. 

The early Chapman family were in Newbury, and later in 
Hampton, on the Winnicut River. History tells us that they 
came from the northeastern part of England, near the Scottish 
line, about 1642. 

Moses Chapman married Almeda Blake. They had a son, 
born in 1867. 

Moses E. Chapman, son of Moses of Dover, married, in 1875, 
Sarah E. Cram, daughter of Lucian Cram of Meredith. 

Robert Chapman was an early taxpayer in Dover, in 1663. 

Mary B. Chapman married Andrew Nealey of Meredith. 
Their son, John Xealey, died in 1854, aged 65 years. 

Nellie Chapman died in 1890, aged 16 years, daughter of Moses 
Chapman and wife, Margaret Westwood. 

Sarah P. Chapman married Caleb Swain. He died in 1855. 
Their son was Samuel B. Swain. 

Ebenezer Chapman married Adeline Neal in 1820. 

Edward 1 Chapman came from Yorkshire, England, to Ipswich, 
Mass. He married there and had several children. His wife, 
Mary Symonds, died in 1653. He married, second, Dorothy, 
a daughter of Richard Swain. 

A descendant, Moses Chapman, went to Meredith from Dan- 
vers with the Martin shoe factory after the railroad came in. 
He married in Danvers, Mass., Margarey Westwood from Dun- 
fermline, Scotland; they had ten children. The eighth one, 
Jennie Alberta Chapman, was born in Meredith, where Camp 



148 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Anawan is now located, near Center Harbor line. She married 
Rev. Justin D. Fulton of Somerville. He had been a pastor in 
Tremont Temple ten years. 

The old Chapman homestead is still owned by the family and 
leased to Camp Anawan, which is a recreational camp for girls. 

Mrs. Fulton still occupies a summer home on the old homestead. 
She has one daughter married, Mary Fulton Brinig, who came 
here with her mother in summer for a time. 

Moses Chapman was in the 12th New Hampshire Volunteers. 
Joseph Lang was Captain of the company, from Meredith and 
William Foss was drummer boy. 

From Mrs. Jennie C. Fulton 

Moses Chapman was the first of that family to settle in Mere- 
dith. His ancestors came from England and settled in Ipswich, 
Mass., in 1835. He was born in Danvers, Mass., where he mar- 
ried Margaret Westwood of Dunfermline, Scotland, and where 
he remained until, with his family, he removed to Meredith to 
superintend the first shoe factory established there prior to the 
Civil War. 

In 1858 he purchased the farm bordering on Lake Winne- 
pesaukee, on the Center Harbor town line. After the death of 
the parents, their son, George, and their daughter, Anna, occupied 
the homestead during their lives, and it still remains in possession 
of the family, although used by Camp Anawan as a summer 
recreation camp for girls. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War, Moses Chapman enlisted in 
the 12th New Hampshire Volunteers and served with Company I 
in many of the major battles of the war. 

Two of his children, Dr. Frank H. Chapman of Groveton and 
Mrs. Jennie (Chapman) Fulton of Somerville, Mass., are, with 
their families, still summer residents of Meredith. 

CHASE 

As history states, Aquilla Chase came to America in 1630. He 
was at Newburyport, Mass. Thomas 2 , born in 1646. Jona- 
than 3 , born in 1683. 

William 4 , born in 1709, married Phebe Rollins. They removed 
from Newbury, Mass., to Stratham, N. H. Their son, William, 



GENEALOGIES 149 

1742-1806, married Phebe Piper, 1751-1834, a daughter of 
Thomas Piper. They removed to what was then Sanbornton 
(later Meredith) in 1777 and settled near the site of the First 
Baptist Church, originally "Meredith and Sanbornton Church." 
The church later was moved to Gaza, in Sanbornton, but the old 
burial yard has grown to trees, partially walled in and deserted. 
He was the first deacon of that old church, when Elder Crocket 
preached there. 

William Chase had thirteen children. The eighth child was 
William 6 , 1774-1816. He married Abigail Piper, daughter of 
Gideon Piper and wife, Widow Rachel (Sanborn) Griffith of 
Meredith. This William 6 lived and died on the John Russell 
farm, beyond the Dolloff neighborhood. 

Abel Chase and Susan Russell were married in 1819 by Elder 
Moses Cheney. Abel is buried on the Russell farm. They had 
children : 

Frank of New Hampton. 

Moses Russell, 1832-1901; m. Jane Corliss of Meredith. 

James, m. in Lynn, Susan Newhall. Their children: 
Emma, m. John Veasey; Ethan, lived in Massachusetts. 

John B., settled one mile over the New Hampton line from 
his father's home (Abel). He m., in 1854, Sarah Ann 
Marston, dau. of Hazen Marston and wife, Tryphena 
(Ray) Marston; Tryphena Ray, a dau. of Capt. William 
Ray of Meredith. Their children : Ida, b. 1855, m. George 
Saunders of Laconia. Harry S., b. 1859, m. Katherine, 
dau. of Samuel B. Smith of Laconia. Their dau., Olive 
Chase, m. George Mayo. Their children are George 
Mayo, Jr., and Katherine Olive Mayo. 

John Chase, born in 1786, at Meredith. His wife, Sally 
Leavitt, born in 1790. Their children: 

Luther M., b. 1811 ; m. Roxanna Gordon; lived in Meredith. 
Their children: Albert A., a physician who d. in the Civil 
War, and Noah H., who lived in Meredith. 

Aaron B. 

William, d. 1871; m. Mrs. Melvina (Smith) Taylor, dau. 
of William Smith of Holderness. Children of Mrs. Mel- 
vina Smith Taylor: Flora E., m. George H. Mooney of 
Lakeport. Abbie, m. Harry Peeks. Nelson J. Chase, b. 
1869, a successful farmer in Meredith. After William 
Chase died his brother, Luther M., m., second, his widow, 
Melvina (Smith) (Taylor) Chase. 



150 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John W. 
Stephen L. 
Wealthy. 
Maria. 
Hosea. 

Russell Farm in Meredith 

Abel Chase, 1798-1855. His wife, Susan Russell, 1802-1861. 
Their son, Moses, married Jane Collis, a sister to George Collis 
and Frank Collis. 

Nathaniel Chase, 1843-1831. 

There are several graves with field stones. 

James, m. Susan 



John B., m. a dau. of Hazen Marston. 

Frank, m. Sarah Swain. 

Mark, single. 

Mary, m. Leavitt Dolloff. 

Eliza, m. Dolloff. 

Susan, m. Jared Sparks; second, Webster. 

Eleanor, m. Martin. 

Nathaniel Chase, a Revolutionary soldier, was killed in 1781. 
His wife's name was Betsey. 

Thomas Chase had a son who lived on Meredith Neck. He 
had a son, Madison, buried in Meredith Village. 

Edward Chase lived on Chemung Road, and owned mill prop- 
erty he bought from Captain Bickford. 

Daniel Chase lived near the David Gilman place. 

Moses Russell Chase married Sarah Susanna Blood, in 1829, 
both of Meredith; married by Elder Parker Fogg. 

James Chase of Meredith married Eliza Davis of Gilford in 
1834. 

John S. Chase of New Hampton married, in 1871, Frances J. 
Tilton, a daughter of John Sanborn Tilton and wife, Mary F. 
Thompson; lived near the Cawley farm in Sanborn ton. Their 
children: 

Lillian Irene, b. 1872. 

Mary Francis, b. 1873. 

Mary, m. Leavitt Dolloff. 

Susan. 

Nellie. 

John Busiel. 

John Chase, m. Mary Perkins in 1839; both of Meredith. 



GENEALOGIES 151 

Aquilla Chase, born in Cornwall, England, about 1618, was in 
Hampton. He married Anna, daughter of John Wheeler; died in 
Newbury, 1670. They had eleven children. 

John Chase, grandson of Aquilla of Newbury, Mass., married 
Abigail Chase. As history, these were the ancestors of the 
Chase family in New England. 

Old Bible Records 
Mrs. Myra (Chase) Burpee's Record at Lake port 

The Chase family lived in Meredith, down near the lake. The 
road runs east, opposite the Roller Coaster Road on the D. W. 
Highway. 

Jonathan Chase. His son, John Chase, married Mary Chase of 
Meredith. Their daughter, Myra Ella Chase, married Augustus 
Ross Burpee of New Hampton. They lived in Meredith, near 
the Perkins family. 

Jonathan Chase, born October 9, 1779; died in 1861 ; married in 
1805, Polly Tilton, 1785-1861. Their children: 

Almira, 1807-1846; m. Joshua W. Wiggin, as his second 

wife, in 1826. Their children: Jane, m. Abram Moore; 

they moved west. John, settled in Belmont. Martha. 

Sarah, d. young. 
John, 1810-1862; m. in 1839, Mary Perkins, 1812-1897. 

John Chase and wife's children: Avis Ann, 1842-1870. 

Lydia J., b. 1845. David P., 1847-1864. Myra Ella, b. 

1852; m. Augustus Ross Burpee in 1875. Their dau., 

Ethel Theodate Burpee, b. 1884, is a teacher near Boston. 
Hannah M., 1812-1861. 

Mary Ann, 1818-1895; m. Benjamin G. Young in 1850. 
Cynthia, 2d wife, 1821-1872. 

Mary Eliza, 1855-1877, m. Manley Burpee in 1875. 
John D., b. 1867, lives with his sisters, Lydia, and Mrs. 

Burpee at Lakeport. 

From the Chase Bible, Printed in 1830 

Thomas Chase, born March 20, 1775; his wife, Abigail, born 
June 13, 1775. Their children: 

Thomas, Jr., b. Dec. 17, 1799. 

Sally, b. Mar. 15, 1801. 

Moses, b. Mar. 13, 1803; m. Sarah S. Chase, b. May 27, 

1809. 
Nancy, b. Jan. 4, 1805. 
Clarissa, b. Feb. 27, 1807. 



152 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Madison, b. Aug. 1, 1809. 
Augusta, b. Nov. 20, 1811. 
Belinda, b. Mar. 12, 1815. 
Abigail, b. June 8, 1817. 

Mira Abby Eaton, married April 2, 1829; died in 1856. 
Salmon S. Chase, born July 22, 1879; married Salmon Farrar, 
born May 13, 1809. 

Asa Blood, born December 15, 1780; died in 1853. 

Sally Blood, born August 30, 1803. 

Martha Blood, born December 7, 1835; died in 1857. 

Asa B. Blood, born July 2, 1807; died in 1825. 

Sarah Susanna, 1809-1827. 

Jonathan Blood, born in 1811. 

Martha Blood, born in 1814. 

Hannah A. and Frances M. Blood, born October 2, 1822; died 

in 1822. 

CHENEY 

John Cheney, the emigrant, came from England to Newbury, 

Mass., with his wife, Martha , where he died in 1666. 

Their grandson, Daniel 3 through Daniel, 2d, born in Newbury in 
1670, married Hannah (Emerson) Duston of Indian fame. Their 
grandson, Nathaniel ', through Nathaniel, 3d, born in Haverhill, 
Mass., was a Revolutionary soldier and moved to Sanbornton. 
He died in Campton. 

Nathaniel Cheney, born October 7, 1747; died August 3, 1833; 
married Elizabeth Ela, born August 4, 1746; died June 12, 1832. 
Their children: 

Daniel, b. June 26, 1770; d. Dec. 18, 1849. 

Elizabeth, b. June 11, 1772; d. July 19, 1807. 

Moses, b. Dec. 15, 1776; d. Aug. 9, 1856. 

Hannah, b. Mar. 19, 1779; d. about 1869. 

Abigail, b. June 21, 1781. 

Marah, b. July 28, 1783. 

Nathaniel, b. Aug. 20, 1785. 

Israel, b. June 10, 1788. 

Rebecca, b. Oct. 4, 1790; Nov. 23, 1830. 

(These inscriptions were taken from the old family Bible, 
published by His Majesty's Printers, Mark & Charles Kerr, 
MDCCXCV.) 



GENEALOGIES 153 

The third child of Nathaniel and wife, Elizabeth Cheney, 
Moses, born December 15, 1776, married Abigail Leavitt, daugh- 
ter of Moses Leavitt. They lived in Sanborn ton, where he stud- 
ied for the ministry. He preached his first sermon on a large 
rock on the Batcheldor farm, and was the first man to preach in 
the Bay Meeting House in Sanbornton. He preached for a time 
in several towns; was settled in Meredith (then Gilmanton), in 
the Pease neighborhood; he was a Baptist. There are many 
descendants in different towns and states. 

Moses Cheney, son of Nathaniel Cheney, the Revolutionary 
soldier (who died in Campton, and was removed to Blair's yard, 
on the Cheney lot, with his wife), born in 1776. He married 
Abigail, daughter of Moses Leavitt, born in 1767, who was a 
Revolutionary soldier also; both lived in Sanbornton. He 
learned the joiner's trade, but felt a call to preach and studied at 
Gilmanton Academy. He preached his first sermon on a rock 
ledge, on the Batchelder farm, and was the first man to preach 
in the Second Baptist Church at the "Bays," which church was 
built in 1808. He preached there some eight years and later at 
"Pine Hill Church." (Pine Hill was a Meredith and Sanbornton 
Union Church, but later was moved down to the town of San- 
bornton and is now the Third Baptist Church in that town. I am 
informed it is the original building repaired; a very neat little 
church.) 

When settled at "Oak Hill Church" in Meredith, he felt that 
he had better go to Hill to preach, and, being undecided, one 
evening at prayer he asked God's guidance as to his decision. 
Rev. Moses had a son, Joseph, a lad some ten years of age, who 
did not want to go to Hill to live. Being a lively lad, he went up 
on to the roof of the house, while his father and mother were at 
their evening prayer, and when his father was asking guidance, 
young Joseph spoke down through the big square chimney and 
answered his father thus: "Moses, tarry thou another year in 
Meredith." 

Another son of Elder Moses Cheney was Moses, born in 1812, 
in Sanbornton. He was a fine scholar, very musical, and he 
taught singing at schools in many locations, also in eighty towns 
in Vermont. He was a very good teacher, but had a bad temper 
when bothered. While teaching in Montpelier, Vt., where he 



154 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

was very strict, there was one boy among his scholars, not liking 
his disipline, who wrote: 

"The Devil flew from North to South 

With Old Mose Cheney in his mouth, 
And when he found he'd got a fool 

He left him here to teach our school." 

CLEMENT 

The Clement family came from Leicistonshire, England, about 
1642. After being here for a time Robert Clement was at Salis- 
bury, at the mouth of the Merrimac River, and went up to Penn- 
tucket, where some acquaintances of his had stopped and bought 
land of Passaconaway, where Haverhill now stands, which was 
named for Haverhill in England. Here Robert Clement cleared 
land for "ye planting of ye corn." In 1645 he was one of thirty- 
two landholders there. History states that he caught a stray 
horse and gave this description of her: "She is a sorrel, with a 
little white star on her forehead and a few white hairs on her left 
shoulder; she is a mare which has been ridden." 

As the generations grew up and increased they began to build 
places of worship. In 1708 Nathaniel Clement having attained 
manhood, being 19 years old, was one of fifteen who were given 
permission to build "a seat to sit in," in the west gallery of the 
meetinghouse at Haverhill. They promised not to build it so 
high as to "damnify the light of the window at the end of the 
gallery" and to make up the number of twenty persons to occupy 
the seat. 

Jonathan 4 Clements, born in Newbury, Mass., was a great- 
grandson of Robert 1 . He was a prominent shipbuilder in New- 
bury, Mass. He married Mary Greenleaf, born in 1699. Their 
children multiplied and married, and the generations that fol- 
lowed down to Jonathan 6 , who was born in Kingston in 1753, a 
subdivision of Hampton. He married, in 1773, Hannah Page, 
daughter of Ephraim and wife, Hannah (Currier) Page. In 1773 
he went to Warren and was given a lot of land there by Enoch 
Page, one of the proprietors. He built a log house, and went 
"down country," and got him a wife. He was not of age at the 
time he was married. He enlisted in 1777 with a company that 
marched from Concord and joined the Continental Army; he 



GENEALOGIES 155 

attained the rank of sergeant. After his return he kept a tavern 
at Warren. 

The story runs that at one time the people had a church service 
at the inn. Jonathan Clement sat inside the bar of his inn, with 
his hat on, as there was a crowd in the office. The minister 
preached a while to the saints, then began talking to the wicked. 
Mr. Clement jumped up and shouted Amen, and said that he 
thanked God that the minister was preaching to sinners. An- 
other man arose and said that he advised the minister not to 
dwell long on the subject, as there was only one sinner present and 
that he was shut up in the liquor bar, where he couldn't do any 
harm. Tradition states that he always wore a hat, and was 
never seen with his head bare. 

Jonathan Clement and wife, Hannah Page, had fifteen children. 
Six died from spotted fever in 1815. He was a good citizen, and 
the children who lived married well and raised families. 

Their fourth child, Jonathan, born in 1780 at Warren, married 
Margaret French, born at Epping in 1778. As there were no 
railroads, he started a freight route between Boston and Montreal, 
where he carried, by wagon, tea, tobacco, molasses, etc., up into 
the country, and on the return trip took produce which he either 
bought or had pay for transporting. Later he ran the Clement 
Tavern, which was a meeting place for the county. They had 
political meetings that were called "Hotbeds of enthusiasm." 
They also had religious conventions. He was strongly religious, 
and his wife also. He was elected deacon in the church, and was 
active in the militia. 

They had eight children. The second, Jonathan, born in 1805, 
married Betsey P. Aiken, born at Wentworth. He was a sur- 
veyor and was in the lumber business in Warren ; also a member of 
the militia. 

They had ten children. The oldest, Albert Aiken 9 Clement, 
born in 1836, at Warren, married Hannah E. Page, and married, 
second, Susan E. Marston. They had seven children, the first, 
Albert Aiken, born in 1836, married at Woburn, in 1873, Hannah 
E. Page, daughter of Luther and Hannah (Murray) Page. He 
was in the ice business for a time, but later was in real estate. In 
1891 he moved to Laconia and bought a farm on Ladd Hill in 
Belmont, where he farmed for ten years, then returned to Woburn, 
Mass. Bv first wife he had three children. The first was Louise 



156 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Page Clement, born in 1874. She married, in 1895, Edward 
M. S. Culver. She married, second, in 1898, Dr. Greenwood H. 
Knight of Dexter, Maine. He died. Their children: Dorothy 
Hathaway Knight, Enid Louise, Weston Clement. Mrs. Knight 
resides in Laconia. 

CLOUGH 

John Clough, sometimes spelled "Cluff," sailed from England, 
on the ship Elizabeth, in 1635, as history states. He stopped for a 
time in Charlestown ; later drifted inland. He married Jane 

, by whom he had seven children. She died in 1680 at 

Salisbury, Mass. He married, second, in 1686, Martha Cilley. 
The Norfolk records show several transfers of land as he went 
farther inland. 

The several generations of descendants ran down to Phillip, 
born in Canterbury. He named a son Phillip, born in Canter- 
bury, 1799-1887. After attaining manhood he went up into 
Meredith and bought land and settled there, where he lived sev- 
eral years. He was a great reader, and thereby secured much 
information on the topics of the day. In his last years he had the 
great misfortune of being blind. He married Martha S., daughter 
of Samuel and wife, Louisa (Sanborn) Shaw of Meredith, she 
having been born in Chichester. Their children: 

Martha S., m., second, Ezra Avery of Campton. They 
had one child. Mr. Avery d. and she m., third, Eli Bun- 
ker of New Hampton. 

John S., d. young. 

Aaron Sanborn, b. 1834; traveled extensively dealing in 
stock. He was in the rebellion on a hospital boat on the 
Potomac. After a time he returned to Meredith, and ran 
a provision store. In 1890 he opened a house to accom- 
modate summer boarders, which became very popular and 
profitable. He m. Ellen N., dau. of Joseph Knowles of 
Moultonboro. Their only child, Bessie M. Clough, 
1877-1892. He made several inventions, among them a 
plough, which was liked. 

This branch of Cloughs are of Scotch descent. 

Oliver Clough, 1762-1847, was a Revolutionary soldier in Col. 
Alexander ScammeH's 3d N. H. Regiment; he is buried in Mere- 
dith Village Cemetery. He married Martha, daughter of John 
Libbey, whose ancestors settled in Portland. They were some of 



GENEALOGIES 157 

the oldest members of the Congregational Church of Meredith, 
probably after it was moved into the village. Oliver Clough 
married, second, Sally Kenney. He moved to Meredith in 1843. 
Children by second wife: John Kenney Clough, 1812-1877, 
married Ellen Lunt of Gray, Maine. They had seven sons: 

William O., 1840-1906, m. Julia Moore of Manchester. He 
was editor of the Nashua Telegraph. Their children: 
Charlotte, m. Chester Cornish of Portland. 
Christine Rolfe, b. 1888 in Manchester; lives in Nashua. 
John Freeman, b. 1841, was mustered in 1862, in the 12th 
N. H. Regiment, was wounded at Chancellorville, Va., and 
discharged at Concord in 1863. He married Annie L. 
Kenney. 
George S., 1843-1898; d. in Goffstown. Their children: 

Mrs. Mae Poore and Mrs. Lizzie Mudgett. 
Charles B., 1845-1863. 

Henry Byron, b. 1847; m. Irene Cilley of Meredith. 
Frank E., 1851-1917. 

Edward Hamlin, b. 1860; lived in Meredith until 1880, 
when he moved to Manchester and went into business. 
He m. in 1884, Etta P. Prouty, b. 1866 in Spencer, Mass. 
Their children: 

Frank E., b. 1886 in Manchester. 

Elsie, b. 1888; m. Frank G. Gilcrest. Five children. 
William Oliver, b. 1892; d. in France in the World War. 
Julia Marion, b. 1899; m. Richard I. Bouton in Man- 
chester. They had two children. The mother 
passed away. 

The "Spindle City" has not weaned Edward Hamlin from his 
birthplace, "Old Meredith," and the old home ties of his child- 
hood. He has built a pretty home, which fronts Meredith Bay, 
near his birthplace, where he spends many week-ends. He 
cleaned up the water front, has put in a nice wall, and has a park 
with stones from many parts of the world around it, where he has 
preserved an old oak tree whose age is unknown. He has beauti- 
ful shrubs and statues which attract much attention from passers- 
by on the road to Center Harbor and Meredith Neck. Mr. and 
Mrs. Clough entertain many friends there. 

Oliver Kenney Clough, another son of Oliver Clough, the 
Revolutionary soldier who rests with his kindred in Meredith 
Village Cemetery, was born in Gray, Maine, 1816, and died in 
1852. From a fly-leaf of a pocket Bible it shows that he resided in 
Nashua in 1839. 



158 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

In 1843 he left Meredith Village for Illinois (at that time it was 
sparsely settled) and joined a company of eastern pioneers who 
had settled at Du Quoin, 111. Here he took up land and followed 
his trade as carpenter. He took an active part in social and 
church affairs, and was a charter member of one of the First 
Presbyterian churches organized in Central Illinois. 

In 1844 he married Mrs. Mercy Ann Hill, widow of Rev. 
Jeremiah Hill of the M. E. Church; she died in 1872, aged 57 
years. 

Oliver K. Clough died, leaving a wife and two children — Har- 
riett, 1848-1857, and John P., born in 1845. In 1864, while in 
school in Chicago, he enlisted in the Union Army. 

In 1866 he drove four yoke of cattle across the plains, from the 
Missouri River to Montana, which took three months and twenty 
days. 

In 1868 he rode horseback from Montana down through Utah 
and the Colorado Canyon to Arizona and to Los Angeles, a town 
then of 4,000 inhabitants. Later he went to Nevada and, upon 
the completion of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific Rail- 
roads, he returned to Du Quoin, 111. 

In 1871 he married Lucy A. Ross, whose parents were from 
Vermont, she being their only child. 

Oliver T. Clough, born in Du Quoin, 111., in 1873, married and is 
proprietor of a drugstore at Fillmore, Calif. His son, Oliver P. 
Clough, is married and resides in Los Angeles. 

COE 

Robert Coe was born in Suffolkshire, England, in 1596, as 
history states. In 1634 he took his family, a wife and three sons, 
and sailed in the Francis to Boston. He later went to Wethers- 
field and settled. It was the custom there to trade with the 
Indians. After he was made a freeman, in 1643, he helped in 
settling the colonies and was a prominent man in establishing the 
settlements. 

The descendants run down through several generations to John 
Coe, born in Durham in 1797-1862. After attaining manhood he 
worked at shipbuilding with his brother, Joseph. Tradition tells 
us it was a custom among shipbuilders to serve liquor every day 
at 11 a.m. The new firm decided to stop the practice and posted 
notices that no liquor would be served, but that the money value 



GENEALOGIES 159 

of the drink would be added to each man's pay. This created an 
uproar and a strike followed, but the new firm soon found men to 
fill the strikers' places. 

He married Lavina V. Senter, daughter of Samuel M. and wife, 
Lettice Alls (Bean) Senter. After some years he bought his 
father-in-law's hotel at Center Harbor, the Senter House, which 
later he let his son, Curtis Coe, have charge of. He also ran a 
hotel in Boston, and went into the real estate business for a time. 
They had children: 

Curtis Senter, m. Laura Merrill. 
Annie L., m. Charles P. Towle. 
John Lyman. 

Ellen L., m. S. J. Quimby. 
Rufus L., m. M. J. Canney. 

Daniel Wadsworth, b. in Center Harbor in 1838; m. 
Fannie, dau. of Seneca Ladd of Meredith. 

John Senter of Londonderry, in 1719, was the first Senter in 
Center Harbor. 

COLLIS 

(Disconnected) 

Woodbury Collis. His sons, Daniel, George and David. 
David had sons, John and Charles; lived near Meredith Center. 

Sherburne Corliss, 1813-1870, lived in New Hampton; married 

Smith. He married, second, Hannah Smith, daughter of 

John Smith, who lived on the Straights. Their son, Frank 
Corliss. Sherburne married, third, Nancy Shaw. 

Frank Corliss married Luella Belle Batchelder, daughter of 
John Huntress Batchelder and wife, Mary Ann Blake, by a former 
husband, Ithamer Blake, 1804-1858, and wife, Sydna L. YYhidden, 
born in 1804, of Holderness, who were married in 1824. Their 
children: 

Mary A., 1825-1827. 
John S., 1827-1853. 
Olive, 1829-1844. 
Ellen, b. 1834. 
Laura J., b. 1838. 

Millie M. Corliss, born in 1884, married William F. Edgerly 
of New Hampton. Their son, Walter H., born in 1888, married 



160 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Susie Guards; live in Meredith. Children: Florence, Charles, 
Mary, Harriett, Abraham and Thomas. 

Reuben S. Corliss, born in 1892. Single. 

Nancy M. Corliss, born in 1895, married Richard Daniels; live 
in Lakeport. Their children: Virginia, Theda, Richard, Kenneth 
and Esther Belle, born in 1899, married David Philbrick from 
Vermont. No children. 

Clarence Corliss, son of Norman Corliss and wife, Mary Cate, 
she a daughter of John Mooney Cate of Meredith. 

Clarence Corliss married Carrie Belle Cox. Their children: 
Delwin, died young; Harry R., born in 1901. 

Eben Cook was born near Red Hill in Moultonboro. He was 
a fine mechanic, and made many wooden articles, also farm 
implements. He married Hannah Batchelder. Their son, 
Nelson B. Cook, born in 1814, was very successful. After a time 
he carried on the Town Farm, and lived there for a time, but later 
bought a farm of his own. He married Adeline, daughter of 
Thomas Moulton, who was born in Moultonboro, but later moved 
to Vermont. 

Thomas Moulton was one of Benning Moulton 's sons and he 
was a grandson of Gen. Jonathan Moulton, the ancestor of the 
family in that section of the country. 

Their son, Charles C. Cook, born in 1843, owned a large farm in 
Center Harbor. After reaching manhood he went to Illinois and 
was an engineer on the railroad for some years, then returned to 
his native country and bought a farm, where he raised good crops. 
He married, in 1873, Abbie A., daughter of James M. Paine, born 
in 1803, at Center Harbor. Her great-grandfather was John 
Paine, who came from Rye, N. H., and her grandfather, Jonathan 
Paine, came with his parents when he was twelve years old. 

Their son, James M. Paine, was a prosperous business man and 
very capable. He married Sally, daughter of Levi Towle. Their 
children: 

Arthur L. 
Addie A. 

James M., m., second, Mrs. Linda S., dau. of Samuel M. 
Senter, who was a widow of Dr. William Bailey. 

Charles C. Cook and wife had children — Lillian May and 
James Nelson. 

Samuel Cook, as history states, came from Newburyport and 



GENEALOGIES 161 

settled in Campton. His son, Ephraim Cook, born in 1765, was 
born and lived in Campton as a farmer. His son, Jacob Cook, 
did some farming, but ran a mill, where he ground wheat and 
corn. He died in Gilmanton. He has several children. 

One son, Gardner Cook, born in 1824, at Beech Hill in Campton. 
When he attained manhood he went into the car shops at Laconia 
that had just started. He claimed he cut the first timber 
used there, in 1849. In 1852 he went into the lumber business 
with W. H. Leavitt. Some years later he bought the whole 
business and took his son, Addison, in as a partner. In 1847 he 
married Martha Allen. Their children: 

Frank D., of the Nashua Co. 

Addison G., who was a partner with his father. 

COX 

Alanson E. Cox, born February 25, 1827, died in 1912, was a 
son of William and wife, - - (Marden) Cox. He was a lumber 
surveyor, and was in the Civil War in the 12th N. H. Vol. Inf. 
He married Elizabeth A. Huntress, 1833-1848. They lived in 
Holderness. Their children: 

Heman Alanson, b. at Hill, 1848, d. 1888; m. 1871, Zorada 
Plummer, b. at Hill, 1848, d. 1888, a dau. of Henry J. 
Plummer and wife, Mary J. (Parks) Plummer. He m., 
second, 1888, Abigail A. Sanborn, dau. of Charles Sanborn 
and wife, Sarah (Ayer) Sanborn; Abigail, b. 1841, d. 1922. 

Zelma, b. 1852; m. 1866, Corp. Freeman Cox of Holderness. 
He was in the 6th N. H. Vol. Inf.; b. at Stanstead, P. Q. 
Freeman Cox was a son of Jacob Cox. 

Frank Dudlev, alias Frank Pierce, of Center Harbor, b. 1853, 
d. 1903; m. 1878, Emma B. Swain, b. at Meredith, 1857, 
a dau. of Benaiah and wife, Sarah A. (Kelley) Swain. 
Shem., second, 1896, Jeremiah Downing of West Campton. 

Fred John of Meredith, 1854-1912, a machinist; m. Myra J. 
(Shedd) Corliss, b. at Ossipee Center, 1860, d. 1890, a 
dau. of Horace and wife, Harriett (Aldrich) Shedd, she a 
widow of Moses Corliss. 

William G. of Meredith, a farmer, b. 1856; m. 1877, Mary 
G. Plummer, b. at Hill, 1858, dau. of Henry J. and wife, 
Mary J. (Parks) Plummer. He m., second, 1886, Ella M. 
Welch, b. at Concord, a dau. of Albion and wife, Martha 
Welch, b. at Hebron, 1855, she a dau. of Robert L. and 
wife, Hannah Francilla (Wise) Wise, she a widow of 
Frank B. Mudgett. 



162 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ai Otis, b. 1860, a barber; m. 1880, Frances Fogg, b. at 
Moultonborough, 1864. He m., second, 1882, Jane C. 
Clark, b. at Franklin, 1866, a dau. of Horace W. and wife, 
Irene - - Clark. He m., third, Grace Evelyn Whitten, 
b. at Laconia, 1879, a dau. of Elmer C. and wife, Nancy J. 
(Davis) Whitten. 

Colby Dana of Meredith, b. 1863, a painter; m. 1888, Eliza H. 
(Skidgill) (Goodwin) Kelley, b. at Wolfboro, 1854, dau. 
of Horace and wife, Harriett C. (Aldrich) Skidgell, and 
widow of Charles Goodwin and William Kelley, her 
second husband. 

Emma L., b. 1863; m. 1881, Fred B. Wilson of Laconia, 
photographer, b. at New Boston, 1857, son of Benjamin 
Wilson. She m., second, Harry Leslie Brown, a machinist, 
b. at Campton, son of William H. Brown and wife, Sarah 
E. (Willoughby) Brown. 

The only child of Frank Pierce Cox, born in Meredith, Lulu 
Belle Cox, born in 1876, married in 1912, Stephen Herbert Ennis 
of Meredith. He was born at Lacolle, P. Q., in 1879, son of 
Stephen and wife, Mary (St. Amand) Ennis. 

Frank Pierce Cox was a brother to Ai Cox and others. He mar- 
ried Emma Belle Swain, daughter of Benaiah P. Swain of Meredith. 
Their daughter, Lulu Belle, married Stephen Herbert Ennis. 

Jonathan Cox lived in Holderness. His son, Andrew Smith 
Cox, born on the homestead, married Mary, daughter of Nathaniel 
and wife, Mary (Crawford) Cummings. They were farmers in 
New Hampton. Their children: Clara Cox married George H. 
Gay. Edwin Cox, born in 1844 at Holderness. When he was 
seven years old his father passed on, and he early began to work 
in a mill. Later he worked for Daniel S. Beede in express and 
livery work. In 1867 he was appointed agent of the Cheney & 
Co. Express, which later was transferred to the American Express 
Co. He was a popular man, ready to accommodate the public, 
and served in several public offices. He married, in 1867, Arzelia 
J., daughter of Simeon D. Pease and wife, Betsey (Batchelder) 
Pease of Meredith. Their son, Clarence Edwin Cox, who took 
up his father's business. Both have passed. 

CRAM 

John Cram was the first in New England. He came from 
England in 1639 and was among the settlers of Exeter, where a 
Government Combination was framed. 



GENEALOGIES 163 

The name was then spelled " Gramme." When he first came 
he could not write, but made his mark. Later he learned to 
write. Me settled at Hampton Falls. He and his wife, Esther, 
were members of the church. His reputation was of the best. 
The town book of Hampton records his death, "Died 5th of 
March, 1681, Good Old John Gram, one just in his generation." 
His wife, Esther, died in 1677. 

Their oldest son, Benjamin, married a relative of Oliver Crom- 
well, "the Protector of England." Benjamin, born in 1666, 
married Sarah — . They had a large family. 

Among the descendants was John, born in 1730 at Hampton 
Falls. He married Elizabeth Heath. Their sixth child, Joel, 
born in 1743 4, married Betsey, daughter of Deacon Stephen 
Batchelder. She died in Deerfield. He married, second, Sarah 
Hoitt, sister of Joseph Hoitt, and in Deerfield signed the "Associa- 
tion Test," in 1776. In 1789 he sold his farm to Capt. Jonathan 
Jenness of Rye and moved to Meredith. 

Two brothers, John and Alfred, in 1639 were among the early 
settlers at Exeter from England. A son of John, Benjamin, 
married Argentine Cromwell in 1662. Benjamin and wife, 
Argentine, had nine children. Their second child, John, born in 
1665, married Alary Wadleigh. They had seven children. The 
fourth child, Wadleigh Cram, born in 1703, married Hannah 
Marston, daughter of Samuel Marston, in 1723. John Cram 
married, second, Susanna Batchelder. 

Wadleigh Cram married, second, in 1 725, Ruth Gilman of Exeter. 
They lived in Deerfield, where he was a successful business man. 
He was a moderator of the first town meeting in Deerfield, which 
was held in Capt. Samuel Leavitt's house in 1766. In 1746 he, 
with thirteen others, was impressed and sent to Canterbury, 
under Serg. Joseph Rawlins, to carry provisions for the people 
living in the Garrison House there. 

Wadleigh Cram, 1754-1840, a Revolutionary soldier, removed 
in 1780 from Pittsfield, where he had lived a time, to Meredith 
at the head of Lake Waukewan (now in Center Harbor), and 
settled on what is now called the Lovett farm. The family 
burying ground, with old slate stones, is back of the barn on a 
side road. His son, David Cram, 1784-1842, married Harriett 
B. Paine in 1822 Their son, David Wadleigh Cram (named for 
his father and grandfather), married Cora Cox, daughter of 



164 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Daniel Cox. born in Holderness. Their daughter, Mary E. 
Cram, married James R. Lovett. 

Jonathan Cram, 1778-1858, married in 1810, Margaret Fogg, 
born in 1786, daughter of Samuel Fogg of New Holderness. 
Their children: 

Climena B., b. 1811; m. Calvin Fogg. Their dau., Mary 
Jane Fogg, m. Oscar Sanborn of Lakeport. Eliza \V. Fogg, 
b. 1813 

Samuel B., b. 1815; m. 1843, Sarah Smith, dau. of Moses 
Smith and wife, Sally Cram. Their son, Elisha Smith 
Cram, m. 1868, Annie E. Batcheldor, aged 21; also a 
daughter Lucinda. 

David C, b. 1817. 

Sarah B., b. 1819. 

Nancy W., b. 1821. 

Almira, b. 1823. 

Mary A., b. 1825. 

Lucinda, b. 1827. 

Calvin Fogg and wife had a daughter, Sarah, who married 
Charles Clay. Their children : 

Harry E., b. 1868. 
George F., b. 1875. 

Capt. John Fullerton lost his wife. Before she died she 
charged him not to marry Molly, who lived at Deacon Cram's. 
The man thus charged had a mind to do so, however, and at dusk 
the captain would wend his way to where Molly lived. Mr. 
White, knowing the case, thought to frighten him out of it. So 
one night as the captain reached the dooryard, Mr. White ap- 
peared all wrapped in a sheet, thinking the captain would take it 
to be the ghost of his departed wife, but the captain did not believe 
in ghosts or hobgoblins. He was aware that true love does not 
run smooth, and Molly he meant to have in spite of the Devil 
and all his works, so he gave chase while White fled, carrying the 
sheet on his arm, and ran home for fear of a beating. 

From J. Franklin Cram of Dorchester, Mass. 

I will give you the Cram history back some years. 
J. Franklin Cram, son of Charles W. and Ella E. (Brown) 
Cram. 



GENEALOGIES 165 

Charles W. Cram, son of Samuel Tilton, Jr., and Sally 1). 
(Jenness) Cram. 

Samuel Tilton Cram, Jr., son of Samuel Tilton and Betsey 
(Philbrook) Cram. 

Samuel Tilton Cram, son of Benjamin, Jr., and E. Mary Cram. 

Benjamin Cram, Jr., son of Benjamin and Abigail (Deaborn) 
Cram. 

Benjamin Cram, son of John and Mary (YVadleigh) Cram. 

John Cram, son of Benjamin and Argentine (Cromwell) Cram. 

Benjamin, son of John and Hester Cram. 

John and Hester Cram settled in Boston, Mass., in 1635, went 
to Exeter in 1639, then to Hampton Falls, where he died in 
March, 1681. Hester died in May, 1677. John was born at 
Xew Castle on Tyne, England, in 1609, and was the youngest of 
twelve children of Burkart and Barbury Cram. 

Samuel T. Cram, born at Poplin, X. H., 1760, died in Meredith 
in 1834. He married Betsey Philbrick in Epping. She was born 
in 1762; d. at Meredith in 1855. Their children: 

David, b. in Poplin, 1783; d. in Meredith, 1815. He m. 

Polly Adams in Aug., 1808. 
Sally, b. 1789, d. 1792. 
Jonathan Theophilus, b. 1791; d. in Meredith, 1857. He 

m. Polly Norris, May 27, 1818. 
Betsey T., b. in Meredith, 1798; d. 1872. She m. Josiah 

Robinson in 1841; m., second, Ladd. 

Samuel Tilton, Jr., b. 1803; d. 1876; m. Sally D. Jenness, 
Mar. 3, 1825. Children: 

Lucius VY., 1827-1898; m. Harriett Davis. 
Mary E., 1831-1860; m. E. W. Boynton. 
George T., m. Carrie D. Trobridge. 
Charles \V., 1849-1879; m. Ella E. Brown. Their son, 
Charles H., of Meredith, b. 1877; m. 1896, Mabel E. 
Sampson of Haverhill, Mass., dau. of Charles W. 
Sampson and wife, Euola Wedgewood. 

Lucius W. Cram, born at Meredith on "Cass Hill" in 1827; 
died in 1898; married in 1850, Harriett M. Davis, born in Sutton, 
Yt., in 1831. Their children: 

Charles YVayland, b. in Manchester, 1851. 

GEORGE Henry, b. 1853; m. Emily Farnsworth Marston, 
dau. of Samuel and wife, Lucinda (Farnsworth) Marston 
of Pembroke, Maine. Lucinda Farnsworth was a dau. of 



166 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Jonas Farnsworth and wife, Abi Gardner, of Pembroke, 
Maine. Their children: 
Lura Estelle, b. 1886. 

Harriett Lucinda, b. 1888. She was named for her two 
grandmothers. She m. Guy L. Smith, son of Milton 
and wife, Maud Tucker Smith, of Plaistow. They 
had three daughters. Maud Augusta, b. 1891; m. 
Lee Prince, son of Frank and wife, Ruth Prince, of 
Salisbury. They had two boys. Ruth Marston, 
b. 1895; m. Ray Prince of Salisbury. 
Sarah Estelle, b. 1857. 

Edwin Lincoln, b. in Roxbury, Mass., moved to Meredith. 
He m. Lillian G. (Lee) dau. of Orvis Merrill. He son of 
Edmund Merrill and wife, Lydia (Drew) Merrill, of Wood- 
stock. Lillian G. Lee Merrill was a daughter of Daniel 
Merrill and wife, Martha J. (Bagley). 
Lucius Samuel, b. 1863; m. Harriett M. Davis at Man- 
chester in 1850. Their child, Harriett M., m. David 
Bickford of Meredith. David Bickford had a sister, 
Priscilla, who m. Jazreel Robinson of Meredith. 

CRAM-DAVIS 

Thomas Davis, 1786-1883, married Clarissa , in 1796. 

Their children: 

Sylva, b. 1816. 
Darius, n. 1818. 
Charles, b. 1822. 
Alvah, b. 1824. 
Thomas, 1826-1848. 
Daniel, b. 1828. 

Harriett, b. 1831 ; m. Lucius W. Cram of Meredith. 
Mary, b. 1833. 

Clara, b. 1838; m. Charles Fox, ancestor of John Fox, near 
Center Harbor Town House. 

Jonathan Cram, born at Meredith in 1785; died in 1858. His 
wife, Sally, born in 1783; died in 1834. 

Enoch Cram, 1785-1858. His wife, Sally, 1783-1834. She 
married George Frank Smith of Meredith. 

Annis Cram married Jane S. Prescott of Meredith in 1821. 
Married by Elder Parker Fogg. He also married Samuel T. 
Cram in 1825 to Sally Jenness of Meredith. 

David Cram of Meredith married in 1817 Hannah Thompson 
of Deerfield. 



GENEALOGIES 167 

John Cram married in 1825 Sally A. Lane, both of Meredith. 
Jonathan Theophlis Cram, born in Poplin, married Mary Norris 
of Center Harbor in 1818. He died at Meredith in 1857. 

Daniel Webster Story 

{From the Manchester Union) 

Meredith May 19. — The following letter was written to John 
Smith, Jr., a real estate agent of Boston, and a former resident of 
Meredith, in answer to an inquiry from Mr. Smith in regard to 
one of the incidents that marked one of Daniel Webster's visits 
to Center Harbor, about four miles from Meredith. 

Dear Sir — Yours received and I make haste to comply with your request. 
The words are easily recalled, but to produce Jonathan T. Cram, with all his 
inimitable styles and quaint drolleries as you and I knew him, no pen can write 
or pencil portray. My father used to say that in point of ability he might have 
become one of the most brilliant men in the state. 

He was in early life a music teacher of repute, a popular instructor of public 
schools and well versed in the law. He had a wonderfully retentative memory 
and I have heard him repeat a sermon that he had listened to many years 
before, giving the text, heads of the discourse, the prayers that were offered, 
hymns that were sung, and wind up with the benediction without a skip or a 
break. He would come into my office when deep in his cups, quote Latin and 
Greek and recite Burn's poems by the hour, and that, too, with the veritable 
Scotch brogue. 

On the occasion you refer to, the immortal Daniel Webster, with a number 
of friends, was stopping at the Center House at Center Harbor. John Coe, 
the landlord, seeing Squire Cram go by, called him in and introduced him to the 
godlike man, whereupon he seized one of Webster's hands in both of his own, and 
with a voice tremulous from age said to him: 

"Reverend and most honored father, I have heard of thee by the hearing 
of the ear, but now, blessed be God, mine eyes beholdeth thee face to face. 
I have preserved thy speeches between the lids of my Bible at home and when 
the Sabbath comes around, I read a chapter in that and then one of thy speeches, 
and upon my honor I cannot tell which is the best. 

" I heard thee many years ago at Exeter and thought if I could peradventure, 
but touch a hem of thy garment, I should be made whole. 

" Didn't thou discover that virtue went out of thee at that time? And now, 
oh Lord, let me exclaim with Simeon of old, 'having seen thy salvation, let thy 
servant depart in peace.' Farewell, Daniel." And Webster pinched Coe's 
arm until it was black and blue. 

This letter is signed by John W. Sanborn of Franklin Falls. 



168 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mrs. Climena B. (Cram) Fogg 

Mrs. Climena B. (Cram) Fogg, aged 88 years, 7 months and 21 
days, passed quietly away at the residence of her son, John Calvin 
Fogg, at 31 Bridge St., Lakeport, on Thursday evening, January 
11, 1900, at 6:55 p.m. Death was the result of an accident which 
occurred December 24. As she came down stairs, on entering the 
dining room her dress became tangled in the door, throwing her 
heavily to the floor, and breaking her limb two inches below the 
thigh. Owing to her advanced age, she was unable to stand the 
result of this painful accident. A peculiar circumstance in regard 
to her death is that a brother, Samuel B. Cram of New Hampton, 
aged 84 years, fell through a scuttle on the 13th of last month 
and died on the 27th from the injuries received, while a sister, the 
late Mrs. Sarah Jones of St. Johnsbury, aged 76 years, fell on the 
floor in a similar manner in which Mrs. Fogg broke her hip and 
died from the result of the accident. This occurred some six 
years ago. 

Mrs. Fogg was the daughter of the late Jonathan and Margaret 
(Fogg) Cram, and was born in the town of Meredith on May 21, 
1811. Her family are a long4ived race; her mother was 86 years 
of age when she died and her father 81. She was united in mar- 
riage to Calvin Fogg at Meredith, on March 15, 1834, and they 
moved to New Hampton a short time after and entered the hotel 
business (Foggs Tavern) in the vicinity of what is known as Fogg 
Station (now Winona). 

Mr. and Mrs. Fogg moved to this place 41 years ago (1859), 
and were always highly respected in the community. The de- 
ceased was the oldest person in Lakeport. She is survived by 
a son, John Calvin Fogg, foreman of the woodwork department 
of the Boston and Maine Repair Shops at Lakeport; two daugh- 
ters, Mary Jane, wife of Fred Gilman of Meredith, and Sarah 
Clay; also three sisters. Mrs. Charles Currier, aged 86 years, 
resides in Minneapolis. 

Buried in the First Congregational Churchyard, near the Rich- 
ard Neals: 

Ephraim Cram, 1750-1839, a Revolutionary soldier. His 
wife, Mary, 1754-1826. Their child, Jonathan W. Cram, 1780- 
1850. His wife, Polly Dockham Cram, 1779-1861. Their son, 
Amos Cram, 1800-1879. (He built the Elm Hotel in Meredith.) 



GENEALOGIES 169 

His wife, Jane S. Prescott, 1779-1867. They were married in 
1821. Their daughter, Maria J. (Cram) Cox, born in 1836; 
Albert Cox, 1835-1885. 

Buried in the same lot, Alice W., wife of Charles W. Maloon, 
1854-1885. 

A son of Amos Cram, George F. Cram. The G. A. R. Post at 
Meredith is named for him. His son, Frank H. Cram. His 
daughter married Orville Smith. 

Jonathan Cram came to Meredith in early days. He was a 
carpenter. His son, Amos Cram, born in Meredith, worked 
with his father, also did some farming. He married Jane S. 
Prescott. Their son, George S. Cram, born in 1826, learned his 
father's trade. He enlisted in the Civil War. In 1863 he w r as 
promoted to the rank of first lieut. He was killed at the battle 
of Chancellorsville. He married in 1846 Abbie J., daughter of 
Jeremiah Dean of Maine. Their children: 

Clara J., m. John James. 

Alberto J. 

Francis Henry, b. 1848; m. Mary C, dau. of Benjamin P. 
Woodman and wife, Elizabeth N. (Hill), in 1870. Mrs. 
Mary C. (Woodman) Cram's grandfather, Thomas Wood- 
man of New Hampton, who was an early settler, m. Polly, 
dau. of Benjamin Pease of Meredith. Benjamin Pease, 
m. Elizabeth N., dau. of Rev. John Hill. They had 
children : John O., Mary C, W. Scott, Benjamin F., Emma 
L., and Charles S. Pease. 

Charles H. Cram, born in 1876 in Meredith, a son of Charles W. 
Cram and wife, Abbie M. (Drake), born in Holderness. He has 
been connected with the Meredith Shook and Lumber Co., also 
with the G. H. Clark Lumber Co. He ran a successful bakery 
for a time, and at present has a furniture store. He owns about 
twenty-five acres of land, called "Hilltop," where he has a little 
colony of "over-night porches" for tourists, and has good 
accommodations for quite a crowd. He married Martha Hallihan 
of Rhode Island. They reside in Meredith. 

Jonathan W. Cram, 1780-1859, married Polly- — , who died 
in 1861, aged 82 years. 

Almira Adams Cram, born in 1823, daughter of Jonathan 
Cram and wife, Margaret Fogg. 

Amos Cram, 1800-1879; his wife, Jane S. , 1799-1867. 



170 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Alberto J. Cram, 1852-1912; his wife, Eleanor E. Bruce, 1845- 
1918. 

Francis H. Cram, 1843-1910. 
Mary C. Cram, 1847-1910. 

CROCKET 

Among the first settlers in New Salem were Ebenezer Smith and 
Joshua Crocket. They with five others (who returned back 
early) walked up into the wilderness and stopped on Cotton Hill, 
where they built a campfire, as it was early spring. After a 
night's rest they awoke and looked north into the valley which is 
now Laconia, and, as history states, were much pleased. They 
pushed on and selected a piece of land with water on both sides. 
He afterward was called Captain Crockett. He established his 
land on Lake Paugus and Lake Winnisquam, staked out his claim 
and began to build a log house, which was the first dwelling house 
nearer than forty miles. 

The next year he went to Newburyport for his widowed mother 
and brought her to his cabin, and the struggle that followed was 
severe. He was a good hunter and they had plenty of wild fowl. 
He was captain of a company of rifle men in the Revolutionary 
War. He married, but his wife died giving birth to a son. 
Captain Crocket died at the age of 76 years. 

His son, Samuel Crocket, born in 1780, inherited his father's 
estate and his natural ability. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Moses Wilcomb, an early settler of Gilford. They had a fine 
estate, the Crockett farm, above Laconia, and attended church 
at the old Gunstock Meetinghouse in Gilford, called the "Fortress 
Church," which was built on a hilltop. 

Joshua Crockett was a son of Joshua Crockett, who lived near 
Portsmouth at a point called "Bloody Point," where Smith's 
fort was located, so named on account of having been in charge of 
Col. Ebenezer Smith's ancestors, which accounts for the fast 
friendship that existed between Col. Ebenezer Smith and Col. 
Joshua Crockett. Previous to going to New Salem the Crocketts 
lived at the Isle of Shoals, in the old town of Gosport. There 
were no roads in this new locality, only trails and spotted trees. 

William Crockett, 1760-1813. 

Samuel Crockett, 1780-1854. His wife, Sarah Wilcomb, 1781- 
1876. Their son, William W., 1818-1839. 



GENEALOGIES 171 

Capt. Joshua Crockett, 1783. His wife, Sarah, 1752-1792; 
second wife, Merian, 1833. Only inscription on the stone. 

James Crockett, 1777-1855, son of John T. Crockett. His 
wife, Mary, 1780-1877. A son, 1820-1824. 

A field stone in the Smith yard is marked " E. Z. D. 1792, D. of 
S. C, A. E. 46." 

Capt. Joshua Crockett, born in 1773. Their third child, 
Joshua Crockett 2 , born in 1772, son of Capt. Joshua, married 
Judith Swain, 1800-1863. They were married in 1822, she a 
daughter of Hezekiah Swain and wife, Marion York, of Meredith. 

From Joshua Crockett's monument at Robinson yard, Mere- 
dith Center: "Joshua Crockett, died Mch. 8, 1848, aged 75 yrs., 
11 mos." Their children: 

Lorenzo, b. 1823; m. Sarah B. Thayer of Nashua in 1849. 
Melyina, b. 1826. 
Sulden, b. 1830. 
John Frank, b. 1833. 

Hiram Crockett married Nancy Downing. He had a son, 
Warren Crockett, aged 24 years, who, as vital records say, 
married Betsey A. Lawrence, aged 18 years, in 1859, at Meredith. 
Their daughter, Betsey Crockett, married John Lawrence. 

John Crockett married Nancy Glidden at Epping in 1806. 
Their son, John Crockett, of Meredith, 1809-1897. 

Samuel Crockett, 1780-1854, married in 1791, Deborah Doe 
at Exeter; married, second, Sally Wilcomb, 1781-1866. They 
were married in 1803 by Elder Richard Martin. They had four 
boys and one girl. Their son, Seldon Crockett, was proprietor 
of the Bromfield House many years and a highly respected 
man. He was born in 1804; married in 1831 Lucy, daughter of 
Thomas and Susan (Larned) Elliott of Watertown. Children 
by second wife: 

Selden Frank. 

Sarah W. (Mrs. William W. Hague). 
Susan E. (Mrs. S. Stillman Blanchard). 
Grace H. (Mrs. J. L. Granden). 
Lucy E. (Mrs. S. A. Shannon). 

Moses Crockett, born April 19, 1810. 

Solomon Crockett of Meredith married in 1818 Sally Harper of 
New Hampton. 



172 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Solomin Crockett married in 1853 Mariana Beekford of New 
Hampton. 

Stephen Crockett of Meredith Center married Lucy M. Fogg 
in 1846. 

William Crockett married Mary of Meredith. They 

had a daughter born in 1855. 

Charles W. Crockett married Nancy Swain of Meredith in 

1843. Their son, 1847-1889. 

William T. Crockett of Meredith married Susan R. Leavitt in 

1844, she a daughter of John Leavitt and wife, Sarah Edgerly, of 
Lake Village, where she died, 1821-1888. 

George A. Crockett, born in 1847, son of Charles Swain and 
wife, Nancy Swain, born in 1850, she a daughter of John Swain 
and wife, Hannah L. (Folsom) Swain. George A. Crockett 
married, second, in 1886, Nellie Kilpatrick, born in 1851 in 
Canada. They had one daughter, born in 1887. 

William Crockett, brother to Capt. Josiah Crockett is buried 
in the Randlett yard, two miles below Meredith Center, on the 
Chemung Road. He married Nancy, daughter of Benjamin 
Swain and wife, Polly (Davis) Swain. They had a daughter 
Sarah, who married - - Johnson in Concord. They had a son, 
Zachara Taylor, born in Meredith in 1851; married in 1875 Flora 
E. Dalton, daughter of Joseph Dalton of Meredith and wife, Ann 
(Lewis) Dalton, born in Meredith, she a daughter of C. Burnham 
and wife, Susan Smith Dalton, born in Center Sandwich. Their 
children: 

J. Frank, b. in Laconia. 
William. 

George A. Crockett, born in 1847, married in 1886 Nellie E. 
Webster of Plymouth. He married, second, Sarah A. Swain, 
daughter of Langdon Swain and wife, Hannah Weeks. Their 
son, Edwin Clarence, married Agnes Shea of Braintree, Mass. 
Mr. Crockett died and she married, second, Frank Sargent of 
Laconia. 

Charles H. Crockett, born in Sanbornton, married in 1868 Rosy 
M. Gault, daughter of John Gault, born in Canterbury, and wife, 
Emily L. (Tobins) Gault, born in Bridgewater. He married, 
second, Allal Stevens of Plymouth, daughter of Freeman and 
wife, Mary (Howe) Stevens, born in Holderness. 



GENEALOGIES 173 

John Crockett, son of Ephraim of Stratham, born in 1739, 
died in 1817, married Mary, daughter of Deacon Lane and wife 
of Stratham, born in 1744, died in 1806. Their children: Mary, 
John, George, Samuel, Elizabeth, Ephraim and James, who 
settled in Meredith and married - — . Their children: 

Mary, m. Blaisdell; lived in Gilford. 

Matilda, m. Robinson; lived in Meredith. 

Clarissa, m. Smith; lived in Laconia. 

James. 

Joshua Crockett, son of Joshua, born in 1809, died in 1861, 
married Nancy Downing. Their children: 

Mary Jane, 1831-1851. 
Sarah Ann, 1833-1856. 

Warren L., 1835-1900; m. Betsey Ann Lawrence. Their 
children: 

George Smith, b. 1861. 

Ena Estella, b. 1868. 
Martha Etta, b. 1840. 

Joshua Crockett, buried at the Robinson yard in Meredith 
Center, was a son of Capt. Joshua Crockett, buried at the Smith 
yard (Opeechee). 

Joshua Crockett 2 , born in Meredith, as death certificate (at 
Concord), married Judith Swain, a daughter of Hezekiah Swain 
and wife, Marion (York) Swain. She died March 26, 1863, aged 
65 years. 

Hezekiah Swain's pension record gives his birth and death in 
Meredith, and we know that he is buried on his old farm, alone. 
His wife died in Canaan at her daughter's; burial unknown. 
We failed to find the grave in Canaan yard. Their children: 

Hiram, m. Nancy Downing. Their children: Mary Jane, 

Warren Lovell, Sarah Ann and Martha Etta. 
John Frank, m. Melvina Houston. They had no children. 
Elm Ira, m. - - Carlie. They had a son George. 
Mel vixa. 

Warren Lovell Crockett, son of Hiram, married Betsey Ann 
Lawrence, daughter of Smith Lawrence. Their son, George 
Smith, married Julia Mcintosh. They had a daughter Georgia, 
who teaches in Massachusetts. He married, second, widow 
Hannah Hunter. Their daughter, Ena Estella, lives in Meredith 
Center when at home. 



174 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

DOE 

History tells us that the name of Doe is found in several countries. 

Nicholas Doe, in 1666, resided at Oyster River, Dover, and 
from family legends it appears that he came from London, 
England, and that his father owned a street with all the buildings 
on it painted blue. 

Nicholas Doe, 1631-1691, married Martha Thomas. They had 
three children or more. 

John, b. 1669; m. Elizabeth . 

Sampson, b. 1670; m. Temperance. 
Elizabeth, b. 1673. 

John 2 Doe, who married Elizabeth, history states, had seven 
children. 

John 3 Doe, who settled in Durham, was one of the proprietors 
of Canterbury. He married M. Susan Wormwood, and had 
three children. Each generation went farther inland, where they 
could get more land to cultivate. 

Capt. John Doe, born in 1762, was a Revolutionary soldier. 
He married Mary Sanborn, born at Rumney in 1786. Their 
second daughter, Mary, married Samuel Chase. The story runs 
that she had a nice flock of geese, and one day there sounded a 
big commotion among them. She ran to the rescue and found a 
large fox with one of her geese in his mouth, trying to swing the 
goose over his back. She, being pretty spunky, took Reynard 
by the ears and, after a fierce battle, conquered him and dragged 
him into a back room in the house and shut the door. After the 
fox had been there awhile and she had rested a little she looked 
through the door, which she had opened a little, and saw Reynard 
sitting on the projection above the fireplace as though planning 
to go through the glass in the door, Mrs. Doe had no idea of 
letting him escape, so she went and put on some thick leather 
gloves and, going into the room, caught Mr. Fox by the ears and 
dragged him to her bedroom, put a bushel measure over him, 
lifted one leg of her bedstead onto the bushel measure, and there 
kept him until her husband returned, when he despatched him for 
his pelt. 

Jonathan Doe, 1740-1814, is buried in the Doe yard, near 
Charles Johnson's home, in Sanbornton. This inscription is on 
his stone: "Old Mr. Doe." He married Mrs. Mollie Borden. 



GENEALOGIES 175 

His son, John Doe, 1775-1850, born probably in Northwood, 
married Rhoda Mead of Deerfield, 1775-1848. They started the 
Doe-Ford burying ground. He lived near Charles Johnson's 
in Sanbornton, a beautifully kept yard. The farm was later 
owned by Thomas J. Sanborn, on the Bay Road. He was a trader 
in furs, purchased in Canada, going on horseback to collect his 
furs. He was active in the Second Baptist Church and prominent 
in town business in Sanbornton. Jonathan Doe's children: 

Mary, m. Joseph Johnson. 

Deborah, b. 1771; m. Samuel Crockett of Northwood. 

Sally, b. 1773; d. young. 

Johx, b. 1775; m. Rhoda Mead. 

Nabby, b. 1777. 

Samuel and Sally, b. 1780; Samuel m. Eliza Merrill. 

The Doe-Ford yard was so called for Jonathan Doe, who lived 
on the Thomas Sanborn farm. William Ford lived on the Oliver 
Calef place. 

John 2 Doe, Esq., born in 1775, married Rhoda Mead, born in 
1773. They lived on the Thomas J. Sanborn farm. Their 
children: 

Mahala, 1803-1810. 

Sarah Smith, 1804-1837; m. David Taylor in 1826. Their 
children: 

John Doe, b. 1827; a successful lawyer in New York. 

Rhoda Ann, b. 1829; m. Jeremiah Leavitt Fogg in 1854. 

Sarah Woodman, b. 1834; m. Martin L. Abbott. 

Martha Rundlett, b. 1837; m. Samuel J. Lane. 

Mary Doe, sister of John D. Doe, Esq., married Joseph John- 
son. Their daughter, Mary H. Johnson, married Christopher 
Sanborn, and lived on what was the Town Farm in Sanbornton. 
He married, second, Mehitable Philbrick of Franklin. A daugh- 
ter by second wife, Mary Johnson Sanborn, born in 1840, married 
George A. Caverly of Meredith. 

From the Old Doe Bible 

Jonathan 4 Doe (Lieut. Samuel, Sampson, Nicholas 1 ). 
Samuel M. Doe, 1780-1851, married in December, 1800, Eliza 
Merrill, 1774-1853. Their children: 

Sarah Ann, 1807-1808. 
Joseph ML, b. 1809. 



176 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Elizabeth, 1811-1846. 

Samuel Merrill, b. 1814; m. widow Charlotte (Smith). 

Charlotte Moulton, 1824-1887. 

Lizzie M., 1849-1851. 

Helen M., 1851-1863. 

Martha E., 1853-1881. 

Charlotte E., b. 1856. 

Abbie F., 1859-1877. 

George S., 1864-1865. 

Samuel Doe bought a farm in Meredith, the place west of the 
Jonathan Dow farm, on the "Roller Coaster Road," in 1816. 
After his death the farm was sold to his son, Samuel Merrill Doe, 
in 1851, by a brother, Joseph Merrill Doe, in Meredith. 

Joseph Merrill Doe, son of Samuel Doe, married in 1834 
Laura, daughter of David and wife, Sally Page, of Meredith. 
She died in 1884. 

Joseph Merrill Doe, born in Meredith in 1809, where the family 
for several generations > had lived, worked as a farmer, but after 
his marriage he and his wife went to Lowell and had a furniture 
store there. Later he moved to Boston and followed the same 
business. He died in 1871. 

Each generation raised a family and scattered, and made 
other homes. 

Ezra W. Doe, born in 1816 at Rumney, married Louise J. 
Lockwood. She died in 1874. He married, second, in 1876, 
Lydia P. Wiggin. He married, third, in 1877, Mary E. York, 
daughter of Daniel York and wife, Mary E. (Brown). Children 
by first wife: 

Aloxzo W., b. in Cambridge, 1836; m. Jane Masterson of 

Newport. He m., second, Ellen - — , 1853-1912. 
Laura Jane, b. 1848; m. Nathan B. Shaw. 
Elizabeth M., m. Thomas J. Sinclair of Meredith. 

Augustus Doe, 1809-1887, born at Laconia, married Mahala 
Blaisdell, daughter of Elliot Blaisdell and wife, Susan Chase, 
born in 1811. She died at Meredith in 1881. He was a large 
land owner in Gilford and Lake Village. He was left fatherless 
when young, and was bound out to James Hoyt of Gilford, where 
he stayed his time. He then went to Boston, later returned to 
Laconia, and was foreman of dredging the channel at the outlet 
of the lake. Mr. Blaisdell left his farm to his daughter, after his 



GENEALOGIES 177 

decease. After Mr. Doe went there he bought more land and 
started a brickyard. It was said of him that he was one of the 
most energetic business men that Laconia has ever known. He 
was well informed on business of the day, a good debater, a most 
influential man, and strict in his religious views. Their children: 

Morrill B., 1834-1882; m. Sarah Walker. 
Lydia Ellen, b. 1840; m. O. P. Warner of Ashland in 1869. 
He was a manufacturer of woolen goods. 

Eliza Doe, born in 1844, married William J. Morrison, born in 
Plymouth. After he got his education he worked for Mr. Doe. 
He began work as a brakeman on the B. C. & M. Railroad. He 
soon became a passenger conductor, for four years, then resigned 
and cared for Mr. Blaisdell in his old age, taking charge of the 
farm and brickyard. He was a member of the first City Council 
of Laconia, where he served three years. 

Jacob Doe, Jr., born in 1771 at Deerfield, married in 1794 Sarah 
Thurstin Jones, 1778-1865, of Rumney. He and his brother, 
William, settled in the part of town called " Doe Town." William 
moved to Rumney. They had thirteen children. The seventh 
one, Russell Sanborn, born in 1807, married in 1831 Eliza Fogg. 
He married, second, Lucretia Perkins in 1843. She died in 1880. 
He died at Meredith in 1897, aged 97 years. He lived on "Oak 
Hill Farm," after 1839. Children by first wife: 

Eliza Jane, b. 1833; m. William C. Burleson of Boston. 
William Frank, 1839-1872; served in the Civil War. 

Children by Lucretia Perkins: 

Mary Adelaide, b. 1844. She was a teacher for several 

years, and died on the home place in Meredith. 
Mary Ellen, 1846-1848. 

Augustus Doe was born in Meredith, 1808; died in 1887. His 
father died when he was young, and he was taken by James Hoyt 
of Gilford to bring up, and served his time. It was told of him 
that when a boy he pointed to a piece of land lying between the 
road to Meredith and the lake. He said that he would own it 
some day, and he worked until his prophecy came true. After 
attaining manhood he went to Boston for a time, but at the 
time of the project of opening the channel from out of the lake 
he came back and was foreman of the job until the work was 



178 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

done. He resided with Elliot Blaisdell and helped him on his 
farm. 

Elliot was a son of Thomas Blaisdell. He later married 
Mahala, daughter of Elliot Blaisdell, who fell heir to her father's 
farm. Mr. Doe bought more land and started a brickyard above 
the Weirs, which was quite a source of income. He was called an 
"honest man, which is the noblest work of God." He was just 
and truthful in all his dealings. Children: 

Morrill B,, 1834-1882, who d. from an operation. 

Lydia E., m. O. P. Warner of Ashland. 

Eliza, m. William J. Morrison, b. at Plymouth in 1846, and 

later came to her old home and carried on the farm and 

business. 

Thomas Sinkler's daughter, Etta, married Anthony. 

Their daughter, Bessie, married Smith. Tradition states 

that they owned the Addie Doe farm near Oak Hill Meeting 
House at Winona. 

Addie Maria Doe was a daughter of Russell Doe, who married, 
second, Lucretia Perkins. Their children: 

Addie Mariah. 

Mary Ellen, d. young. 

DOLLOFF 

The earliest record of a person named Dolloff is Christian 

Dolloff of Exeter, in 1667. His first wife was Rachel ; the 

second, Sarah - . He died in 1708, leaving Samuel, Richard, 

Thomas, Mary, Prudence and Catherine. 

Samuel and Richard spelled their names Dolloff, although there 
were other spellings previously. No trace of the name of Dolloff 
has been found in England or Scotland. 

Tradition states that in early days an Englishman brought a 
Russian lad by the name of Dolloff to New England, and he may 
be the ancestor of the family of Dolloffs. 

Christian Dolloff was a man of influence and some property. 
The Dolloffs are mostly confined to New England. 

Samuel Dolloff lived in Epsom and had a son, Samuel, in 
Epsom. In Meredith was a Samuel Dolloff called "Little 
Samuel." "Little Samuel" had a son, John Steven, who was the 
father of Phebe Ann Plummer of Laconia, and another son. 



GENEALOGIES 179 

Samuel, born in 1809, who lived in Waterville, and there died in 
1895. In this line were four generations of the name of Samuel. 

Early records show Samuel Dolloff of New Hampton signed a 
deed with his wife, Rhoda (Flanders) (born December 19, 1734, at 
Salisbury, Mass.), where they sold land in Poplin (a part of 
Exeter, now Freemont) in 1772 to Thomas Chase. The land 
was given to him by his grandfather, Samuel Dolloff of Exeter, 
in his last will. In this deed he signed himself "Samuel Dolloff 
of Poplin." In 1782 he deeded to one Giddings of Exeter the 
homestead of his late father, Samuel Doloff of Exeter. In this 
deed he signed himself "Samuel Dolloff of New Hampton." 

These two deeds show that Samuel Dolloff of New Hampton 
formerly lived in Poplin and was the son of Samuel Dolloff, Jr., of 
Exeter and grandson of Samuel Dolloff, Sr., and great-grandson of 
Christian Dolloff of Exeter. 

Rhoda (Flanders) Dolloff was the daughter of Samuel Flanders, 
who was the great-grandfather of Capt. John M. Flanders of New 
Hampton Village. Rhoda had brothers and sisters, Samuel, 
Abigail, Mary, Mehitable and Onesiphorus. 

The Sanbornton Town History states that Samuel Dolloff of 
Exeter early removed to New Hampton, when his son, John, was 
16 years old. He was born in 1701, so it looks as though Samuel 
Dolloff and family moved to New Hampton in 1717, the year that 
the town was incorporated. He preempted a claim and built a 
log house, and tradition states that he said when he cut the first 
tree, " Here I cut my first tree and here my body shall lie." Their 
burial ground was made on this spot, and here Samuel and wife, 
Rhoda (Flanders), and John and Elizabeth are laid. Jonathan, 
Joseph, Betsey and others rest here. No stones mark the graves 
of Samuel and wife. A record shows that in 1782, Samuel Dolloff 
and John Dolloff were present when 250 acres of land were 
purchased for seventy-five pounds. This land was a hill farm 
where a beautiful view of country was to be seen, some two and 
one-half miles from Winona station, five miles from New Hampton 
and three miles from Meredith Center. The old house was 
removed, and a frame building was also pulled down and another 
house built. Mr. Dolloff died, aged 86, in 1820, and the place 
was sold, but a son of John Dolloff, Sr., purchased the place in 
1836, and it still remains in the family. The youngest daughter 
(Erma) of Joseph P. Dolloff now owns it. 



180 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Samuel Dolloff probably married in Poplin (now Freemont) in 
1760. His children, John and Mary, who married Deacon 
Joseph Sanborn, born in 1760 and died in 1834. His wife, born 
in 1766 and died in 1826. Their children: 

Levi, b. 1786; d. 1818; m. Hannah Prescott of New Hamp- 
ton. 
Polly. 

Asahel, m. Sarah Favor; they had a dau. 
Joseph, b. 1791; d. 1824. 
Polly, b. 1794; d. 1878. 
Betsey, b. 1798; d. 1821. 
Rhoda, b. 1801 ;d. 1827. 
Parker, b. 1803; d. 1833. 
Plummer, b. 1806; d. 1829. 
Ashahel J., b. 1810; d. 1846. 

There are two unmarked graves. 

Genealogical descent: Christian Dolloff 1 , Samuel 2 , Samuel 3 
(born February 1, 1703), Samuel 4 of New Hampton, John 5 , John 
and brothers and sisters 6 , their children 7 , grandchildren 8 , great- 
grandchildren 9 . 

From New Hampton Town Records 

John Dolloff, Sr., born September 19, 1761; died in 1833; 
married Elizabeth Preston, born September 18, 1762; died Decem- 
ber 25, 1846. Their children, born in New Hampton. 

Samuel, b. Sept. 19, 1785; d. 1824. 

William Preston, b. July 5, 1788; m. 1816 Mary Emmons 
of Bristol. They had a son William, who lived and died in 
New Hampton. 

Polly H., b. 1790; d. aged 75 yrs.; m. Jonathan Judkins, Jr., 
of Sanbornton; he b. 1794, d. 1834. They had five chil- 
dren. 

John, Jr., b. July 23, 1792; d. 1847; m. Nancy Thomas, b. 
July 20, 1798, d. 1875; she dau. of Jacob Thomas and 
granddau. of "Master Abraham Perkins" of Sanbornton. 
In 1817 he removed to Strafford, Vt. In 1821 he returned 
and lived on the Bunker place in Sanbornton, living with 
his wife's father, Jacob Thomas; later he lived on the 
Alonzo Dolloff place in New Hampton, thence to Meredith 
Center, and lived with his dau., Laurenia (Mrs. Daniel 
Pike Smith), where he died aged 79 yrs. It was said of 
him that "his word was as good as his bond." 

Laurenia, b. 1815; m., first, Amos Small; second, Nathan 



GENEALOGIES 181 

Ballard; third, Daniel Pike Smith. Mrs". Smith cared for 
her parents. She d. 1879. They lived in the old home- 
stead and their home fell to their son, Joseph. 

John Dolloff, Jr., married Nancy Thomas. Their children: 

Laurenia, b. 1815. 
Joseph Preston, b. July 27, 1818. 
Jacob Thomas, b. July, 1820. 
John Simpson, b. March, 1824. 
Elizabeth Perkins, b. July, 1826. 

Erma Perkins Dolloff, born January 22, 1845 (Joseph Preston 
Dolloff, born in 1794, and wife, Betsey (Young) Dolloff; John D., 
Sr., and wife, Elizabeth Preston, born in 1762; Samuel, "Little 
Samuel " Dolloff, born in Epsom). Erma Perkins Dolloff married 
in 1869 John W. Edgerly of Meredith. She owns the Samuel 
Dolloff homestead, and lives there in summer and in Concord in 
winter. Joseph P. Dolloff bought back the old home in 1836. 
Mrs. Edgerly is the youngest daughter of Joseph P. Dolloff. 

John Dolloff, Jr., who married Nancy Thomas, their sixth child 
was as above. 

Julia Ann, b. Sept. 1829. 
Betsey A. Harvey, b. 1831. 
Susan Perkins, b. 1834. 
Alonzo Franklin, b. 1836. 
Lydia M. Perkins, b. 1840. 
Lyman Perkins, b. 1842. 
Edwin Allen, d. young. 

Joseph Preston, born July 23, 1794; died in 1847; married 
Betsey Young; she died in 1847. They had nine children: 

Jonathan, b. Jan. 5, 1796; d. 1831; m. 1822 Martha Copp, 

b. 1797. 
Betsey Simpson, b. May 8, 1798;d. 1872 ;m. Joseph Palmer; 

six children. 
Sally Veasey, b. June 20, 1801 ; d. 1872; m. Henry Batchel- 

dor, who was b. in Meredith in 1800. They moved to 

Maine. 
Elijah Blake, b. 1803; m. Sally Bryant of Meredith, Feb. 

12, 1825. They had two sons and a daughter. 
Beniah, b. April 18, 1805; d. 1869; m. Clarissa Veasey of 

Boston in 1827. He cared for his parents. His father 

d. 1833. In 1842 he sold the place to Deacon Daniel 

Veasey and his son, Lyman Veasey. Mr. Dolloff removed 

to Maine. They had nine children. 



182 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

There were two other families of Dolloffs in Meredith, David 
and Thomas. 

Some of the Meredith Dolloffs lived at times in New 
Hampton. 

Miss Ellen A. Mills, 41 Chestnut Street, Nashua, is said to be 
compiling a genealogy of the Dolloffs. 

The journal of Rev. John Pike, dated September 15, 1707, 
states that John Dollar of Exeter was slain by "ye" Indians in 
the woods. 

Kingston, N. H., First Church records state that February 14, 
1853, Sarah Dollar married Alexander Gordon. 

From Boston Transcript 

Amos Leavitt was in Meredith before 1800. Did his sister, 
Elsey, born in 1761, marry Thomas Dolloff, 1780, at Raymond? 

Thomas Dolloff removed to Meredith from Brentwood with 
his family, and among his associates were Leavitts. 

There was an Amos among them, and Thomas and Elsey 
(Leavitt) Dolloff. They named their second son Amos. 

Thomas Dolloff was a Revolutionary soldier (record is proved), 
born in 1759, died in 1841. His father was Thomas; mother's 
name unknown. 

Thomas Dolloff, 1759/60-1818, Revolutionary soldier, who 
enlisted at Raymond for the town of Kingston, married in 1780, 
Elsey Leavitt, 1761-1854, at Candia. 

Samuel S. Dolloff, 1784-1871, born at Epsom; intention of 
marriage filed in Epsom, June, 1808, with Mary Dolloff, daughter 
of Thomas Dolloff of Meredith and wife, Elsey Leavitt. They 
were married in Meredith, September 22, 1808. 

They had a son, Samuel, Jr., 1810-1895; married in 1832, 
Mary H. Webster of Meredith. Their son, John S. Dolloff, 
1822-1897, married in 1845, Harriett S. Kimball, 1821-1893. 

Their daughter, Phebe Smith Dolloff, married Joseph L. Plumer 
of Meredith in 1865. (This runs back to Mary Plumer, who 
married Clemenceau.) 

Their daughter, Mary, married George Thompson of Gilford. 
They had a daughter, Arabelle Thompson, who married Edwin 
M. Pitman of Laconia in 1888. 

Their son, Benjamin Dolloff, married Lulu Merrill. They had 



GENEALOGIES 183 

a son, Carl, born in 1886, who married Winnifred Barlow. Chil- 
dren : 

Florence Winifred, b. 1906. 
Armena, b. 1908. 
Freda A., b. 1911. 
Carl Fred, Jr., b. 1915. 

Another son living in Dorchester, Mass., Rev. Eugene Dins- 
more Dolloff, born in Gilmanton in 1890, married Eva Belle 
Bueklin of Hill. Their children: 

Maurice Eugene. 
Lawrence Stanley. 
Ruth Marjorie. 
(This is from the grandmother.) 

Children of Thomas Dolloff and wife, Elsey (Leavitt) Dolloff: 
Jesse Dolloff, 1800-1878, Meredith, married in 1822 Nancy P. 
Huckins, 1801-1881 (as on gravestones) of Meredith. They had 
a son, Alpheus, born in 1823, who married Eliza Jane Chase, 
daughter of Abel Chase of Meredith. She died and he married, 
second, Love, daughter of Nicholas Folsom of Meredith. 

As Thomas Dolloff 's pension record: Joseph Dolloff, born in 
1800 at Meredith, married in 1825 Hannah Smith, 1842-1908, of 
New Hampton. 

Disconnected 

Gravestones in old yard, towards New Hampton, in Meredith: 

Samuel S. Dolloff died November 20, 1871, aged 87 years. 
His wife, Mary, died February 3, 1800, aged 93 years. A 
daughter, Ella Annette, died in 1862. 

John Dolloff, son of John S. Dolloff and wife, Harriett, died 
June 6, 1863, aged 13 years. 

Betsey B., wife of Thomas J. Kimball, died April 25, 1860, 
aged 48 years. 

Emogene E., daughter of E. A. Kimball, died February 15, 
1857, aged 2 years. 

Joseph G. Smith died August 23, 1857; wife, Betsey, died 
October 23, 1872. 

Joseph Smith died September 19, 1865 (child); Rosey Smith 
died May 19, 1865. 

Mary M. Dow, died October, 3, 1865. 



184 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ella Annette, daughter of Moses and wife, Mary Webster, 
died in 1862, aged 3 years. 

Stones in Oakland Yard, Meredith Center: 

John Dolloff, 1792-1871; wife, Nancy, 1798-1875. 
Alonzo F. Dolloff, 1836-1910; wife, Nance P., 1837-1913. 

Harriet S., wife of John Dolloff, 1821-1893. 

Eliza Dolloff, widow of Moses Seavey, 1821-1892. 

Disconnected 

Noah Dolloff of New Hampton married Nancy Merrill, 1818, 
both of Meredith. 

Thomas Dolloff of New Hampton had sons, Asahel and Col. 
Jesse, and daughter Abigail, who married Stephen Gordon. 

As pension record: Mahala Dolloff, 1800, married Amos Veasey 
(Veasey) of Bridgewater, 1834. 

In Meredith was Samuel Dolloff (called "Little Samuel") 
who had a son, John Stephen Dolloff, who was the father of 
" Phebe Ann Plumer." He had a son, Samuel, born in 1809, who 
lived and died in Waterville, Maine, in 1895. 

Amos Dolloff, 1800 (as pension records), married Nancy Dolloff 
of New Hampton. Amos was killed driving down a hill. Their 
daughter Abigail Dolloff, married Daniel Smith. Children: 

Nancy Elizabeth, m. Mooney Russell. 

Thomas Smith, m. Lizzie Veazey. They had an adopted 

son Charles. See Smith family. 

Mary Susan, m. Sanborn. 

Stephen, single. 

Gilman, single. 

Joseph Frank, b. 1849; m. 1881, Belle Robinson, dau. of 

Thomas J. Robinson; she b. 1855. 
Mariam S., m. 1835, Thomas Yeazey. Their son, Kendal 

Veazey, m. Mahala Chase, dau. of William Chase. They 

had a dau., Alma; Albert, d. young. 

A granddaughter of Amos Veazey and wife, Marilla Dolloff, 
married Jacob Fred Perkins, 1852. Their son, Elmer F. Perkins, 
married Anna Sanborn in 1899 at Meredith. They have two 
children. 

Ellis Dolloff married Eliza, daughter of Thomas Veazey in 
1810 at Meredith. 

Abigail Dolloff, 1806, married Daniel P. Smith of Meredith. 



GENEALOGIES 185 

Among their children, Joseph F. Smith, married Belle Robinson. 
Their children: 

Joseph, m. Swain, dau. of Morrill Swain. Two 

children. 
ROBINSON, m. 1918, Ruth Hull, dau. of Charles E. and wife, 

Florence N. (Green) Hull of Meredith. 

Widow Abigail (Dolloff) Smith married, second, 1832, James M. 
Marston of Meredith. 

Leavitt Washington Dolloff, 1824-1891, born in Meredith, a 
railroad man at Lancaster, married Mary, daughter of Abel 
Chase, 1823-1852. He married, second, Sarah Smith Herrick 
at Franklin. Children, Rozina and Augusta. 

Alonson Dolloff married Susan Harriman; married, second, J. 
Taylor. 

Alpheus Dolloff married Eliza Jane Chase, 1844, of Meredith. 

Leavitt Washington Dolloff married, third, Mrs. Ellen (Mana- 
han), widow of Emerson Marston, 1826-1888, she daughter of 
John Manahan and wife, Winnie Manahan of Milton, Mass. 
They lived in Meredith. He married, fourth, Octavia J. Ricker, 
born in 1847 on the Atlantic Ocean. After his decease, she 
married John Elder of Meredith. 

Mrs. Boyn ton's Line 

According to history, Christian Dolloff came from Holland. 

He married Rachel of Exeter. In 1667 Christian had a 

daughter, Mary. His second wife's name was Sarah. 

Bell's History of Exeter states that Christian Dolloff 's name was 
on the Exeter town books in 1668. Records state that Christian 
Dolhoof of Exeter died in 1708. His children were Samuel, 
Richard, Thomas, Mary, Prudence and Catherine. 

History of Exeter states that about 1716 the Indians carried 
away four children that were playing, three of them undoubtedly 
daughters of Richard Dolloff. Their father in 1717 petitioned 
the Assembly of the Province for them and went to Canada to 
redeem them, and got one by paying her Indian captor twelve 
pounds and seven shillings. He again prayed the Province of 
New Hampshire would aid him to get the other two released. 
The Assembly voted him in 1717 ten pounds and the next year a 
like amount. Tradition tells that after peace was established 



186 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

the father brought two back; the other one had married an 
Indian. She also returned, but, thinking she was slighted on 
account of her marriage with an Indian, she was ashamed and 
returned to Canada. 

Christian 1 Dolloff, Samuel 2 , Samuel 3 , born February 1, 1703, 
went from Salisbury, Mass., in 1770 to New Hampton, N. H. 

Samuel Dolloff 4 went from Exeter to New Hampton. He 
married Rhoda Flanders. 

Mary 5 married Deacon Joseph Sanborn. They had eight 
children. 

John 5 , 1761-1833, married Elizabeth Preston, 1762-1846. 
They had ten children : 

Samuel 6 , 1785-1824. 

William Preston, 1788-1817, m. Mary Emmons; their 

son, George 8 A. Dolloff, m. Laura A. Ward. 
William Preston 8 m. Phebe T. Smith, 1840, dau. of John 

Smith. 
Mary 7 , 1790-1865, m. Jonathan Judkins in 1814. Five 
children. 
John 2 Dolloff lived at the head of Nigger Pond. When less 
than 16 years old he was cutting a large tree in the woods 
and found a bear in the trunk that had hibernated there 
for the winter and was asleep. He despatched Bruin with 
his axe, his little dog trying to help him. He later removed 
to Vermont. His son, John, b. Mar. 22, 1792, in Vermont, 
d. 1871; m. in Sanbornton Nancy, 1798-1875, dau. of 
Jacob and wife, Ruth (Perkins) Thomas, she a dau. of 
Abraham Perkins, and his wife, Mrs. Mary (Sanborn) 
Fogg, she dau. of Jeremiah Fogg. 

John 3 , Jr., 1792-1871, lived on the Bunker place, in 
Sanbornton, and d. at Meredith Center at Mrs. 
Daniel P. Smith's, his dau. 

Abraham Perkins was called "Master Perkins." He was born 
in Ipswich, Mass., in 1735, and did much to help the town by 
laying out roads, and was very influential in many ways. After 
finishing his last school on Calef Hill, he went home and said "his 
lifework was done." He died soon after, in 1804. His wife's 
father, Jacob Thomas, was a fifer in the Revolution at the age of 
15 years. He settled on the Bunker Farm in Sanbornton, but 
died with their daughter at Meredith Center. 

Joseph Preston, 1794-1847, m. Betsey Young of New 
Hampton in 1823. Their dau., Louvina P. Dolloff, m. 



GENEALOGIES 187 

William E. Gordon in 1847. A son, Charles H., b. 1845, 
also a son, John Samuel Simon Dolloff, who had a son, 
Dr. Albert Simeon, b. 1863, who m. 1888, Amy J. Babb, 
dau. of John Babb and wife, Josephine. 

Samuel 4 Dolloff and wife, Rhoda Flanders went to Meredith 
from Exeter, or Poplin, with his mother, Esther (Beard) Dolloff; 
she widow of Samuel 3 of Exeter. In 1781 they removed to New 
Hampton and Meredith. Samuel Dolloff married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and wife, Elise Leavitt of Raymond. 

Thomas Leavitt, 1759-1841, son of Amos Leavitt. Some of 
their children were Amos, John R., Noah, Jesse, Joseph, Sarah, 
Mary, Abigail and Mahala. 

Samuel Dolloff is buried in a yard on the old farm in Meredith, 
which is now owned by Fred Dolloff, son of John, born in 1822, 
and grandson of Samuel, 1784-1871. 

Jonathan 7 , 1796-1831, m. in 1822 Patty Copp of Tufton- 

boro. 
Betsey 7 Simpson, 1798, m. in 1816 Joseph Palmer; both of 

New Hampton. 
Sally 7 Veazey, 1801-1872, m. Nathaniel Chase; m., second, 

in 1821, Henry Batchelder of Meredith. They had ten 

children. Their son, Charles S. Batchelder, 1802-1869. 
Elijah 7 Blake, 1803, m. in 1825 Sally Bryant; m., second, 

in 1845, Lucy Ann Moses. 
Benaih, 1805-1869. 

Stephen G. Dolloff married in 1831, Abigail Smith, 1812-1851, 
of New Hampton; she married, second, in 1841, Jonathan Dolloff 
Huckins. 

Mrs. Frank {Francis) Robinson s Ancestry 

Thomas Dolloff, 1729-1811, married Elsey Leavitt, 1761-1854. 
A son, Samuel, 1784, married Mary Dolloff, 1786. Their daugh- 
ter, Mary Dolloff, 1813-1896, married Moses Webster, 1814-1898. 
Their son, Moses Gilman Webster, 1835-1920, married Hannah, 
daughter of John Smith, 1842-1908. Their daughter, Edith 
Eldora Webster, 1868, married Francis Joseph Robinson, 1864. 

Relationship to Thomas Dolloff Unknown 

David Dolloff, son of David Dolloff of Meredith, born at 
Northfield, 1792-1849 (as gravestones), married in 1817, Jane, 



188 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

1793-1862, daughter of Samuel Huckins, 1764-1840, and wife, 
Mary Jane Heson. Children born in Meredith: 

Sylvester, b. 1820; m. Lucy Ann Messer. 

Lorenzo D., 1821-1905, m. 1845, Susan P., dau. of Joseph 

and Elizabeth Bean. Their dau., Mary C, m. John C. 

Baxter in 1872; also B. Jennie, m. Ebenezer Buzzell. 
Nancy D., 1825-1894, m. William M. Webster, son of 

Thomas and wife, Jane (Staples), b. in Gilford, 1805-1887; 

lived in Manchester. 
Mary Jane, 1826-1890, m. Charles Layfette Kimball, son 

of Joseph and Elizabeth (Smith) Kimball of Meredith. 

Their children: Charles, m. Lettie T. Webster; Edwin, m. 

Amy, dau. of Lang Russell. 
Eliza A., m. Jeremiah Morrill Smith, son of John of Mere- 
dith; she m., second, Seavey of Laconia. 

Miriam, 1828-1871, m. John, son of Samuel Batchelder and 

wife, Asenath Currier of Lakeport; b. in New Hampton. 
Phineas, 1834-1902, a farmer in Meredith, m. 1863 Emeline 

E. (Dolloff) Marston, 1826-1888, widow of Jeremiah 

Marston, and dau. of John L. and Elizabeth (Colby) 

Dolloff. He m., second, Emma A., dau. of Stephen and 

Elizabeth Blake. 
Elizabeth, 1837-1882. 
Abigail, 1837-1892, m. Stephen A. Newell of Lakeport. 

DOW 

Joseph Dow, in his History of Hampton, N. H., states that the 
history of Hampton in earlier years was the history of the "Prov- 
ince of New Hampshire," being one of the original towns; a half 
shire town of Norfolk County in the Massachusetts Colony. 

According to history, John Dow was the first of the name in 
Hampton, but he returned to England and died in Tylner, Norfolk 
County, England, in July, 1561, leaving three children, Thomas, 
John and Edith. 

Henry Dow, the eldest son of Thomas, married Elizabeth 
— . They had six children. Their second son, Henry, came 
to Hampton from Runham, Norfolk County, England, where he 
was born in 1608; he married in 1631 Joane, widow of Roger Nudd 
of Ormsby. He procured a license in 1637 to emigrate with his 
family to America, he then being 29 years of age, his wife Joane 
30 years old, with four children and a servant, Anne Manning, 
aged 17 years. He settled first in Watertown, Mass. His wife 
died there and he married, second, Margaret Cole and removed 



GENEALOGIES 189 

in 1644 to Hampton, where he had bought a house and several 
tracts of land. This farm descended to the sixth generation 
before it was sold into another name. 

As history states, Capt. Henry Dow, son of Henry, 1st, was 
about 25 years of age when his father died. He married Hannah 
Page, who came from Ormsby on the same ship with the Dow 
family. 

Henry Dow, 2d, was a prominent man. He was a land sur- 
veyor, selectman, town clerk, and was appointed marshal of 
Norfolk County when Abraham Drake resigned in 1673. In 1689 
he was ensign of the Hampton Company of Militia, and rose to 
be captain in 1692; later he was councillor in court until his 
death in 1707. Captain Dow and wife had children: 

Lucy, m. James Hobbs. 

Ezekiel, b. 1698; m. Abigail Robey. Their children were 
Esther, Nathan, Lydia, Patience, Lucy and Jabez. 

As we come down through the several generations, much inter- 
esting history gives details of them. One thing mentioned is 
Capt. Henry Dow's diary, which is still preserved and photo- 
graphed. It is described as a little leather-covered book which 
has characters written on the pages that require a cipher alpha- 
bet to read. The author, Joseph Dow, ciphered out some of it 
and Englished it. He states that it gives an account of Jacob 
Leisler's "Declaration in 1689 when he seized the 'Fort' in New 
York and adhered to the Protestant Religion." 

Sergt. Joseph Dow, born in Watertown, Mass., 1639-1703, 
was the third son of Henry Dow and wife, Joane. Joseph Dow 
married Mary Sanborn; their son, Joseph Dow, married at 
Amesbury, Mass., 1687, Mary Challis. Their third son, Phillip 1 , 
born April 26, 1695, married Hannah Griffin in 1723/4; she died 
in 1853. He was a yeoman in Kingston. History states that 
they had eight children. Phillip married, second, Sarah (Ayers). 
She died in 1748. (She had previously married in 1736 Jonathan 
Freese, born in 1714; he died and she married Phillip Dow, son of 
Joseph Dow.) 

Kingston First Church records give some children of Phillip 
Dow: 

Ezekiel, b. 1731. 
Jemima, b. 1734. 



190 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ephraim, b. 1736. 
Phineas, b. 1738. 
Ebenezer, b. 1739. 

Phillip Dow, 1st, as history states, was in Kingston and was of 
the Quaker faith. He had a son, Ebenezer, who, statistics state, 
married in 1761, Sarah French, born in 1734, of Hampton, daugh- 
ter of Samuel French and wife, Mary Perkins (as Dow's History 
of Hampton) . Ebenezer's brother, Benaiah Dow, married Sarah's 
sister and they settled in Gilmanton. Zebulon and Winthrop 
Dow enlisted in Epping with Sergeant Ebenezer, drawing the 
same pay and four dollars each for an overcoat. Ebenezer's wife 
died leaving a son, Phillip, 2d, who went to live with his grand- 
father, Phillip, until he grew up to manhood. Ebenezer (pension 
record) married, second, Mary Sanborn of Epping, in 1772. 
They had two children when he enlisted in 1775 for Revolutionary 
service: 

Mary, m. a Griffin. 
Jane, d. single in 1859. 
Nathan, b. later. 

After Ebenezer's return from the war, Strafford County deeds 
show that in 1782 he was in Meredith, and had a deed from Elisha 
Thomas of Epping to Ebenezer Dow, yeoman (which shows that 
he owned other land), a piece of land in Meredith, 120 acres 
containing a half of a gristmill and one half of a sawmill, that 
was bought of Joshua Foulsom, beginning at the north end of 
Sibley's line and extending south, which looks like the mills at 
Meredith Center, dated October 21, 1782. Sibley had lots Nos. 2, 
3 and 4 in the First Division. Meredith town records give 
Sewall and Ezekiel in the First Division, in 1812; Phillip, Jona- 
than and Abram in the Second Division, in 1830-1835; and 
Abram in the Second Division, 1840-1850. 

Meredith town records state: 1827, paid Phillip Dow for wood in 
School District No. 8; 1832, paid Phillip Dow for sawing plank, 
for bridges. (This looks as though Phillip was connected with 
the sawmill that his father Ebenezer bought years before at 
Meredith Center.) 

A deed from Abraham Swain to Phillip Dow, 2d (son of 
Ebenezer and Abraham Swain's son-in-law), conveys one half of 
lot No. 6, in the Second Division in Meredith, being laid out for 
120 acres, beginning at the northwesterly end, at the Rangeway, 



GENEALOGIES 191 

and running southeasterly, earring the whole width of the lot, 
with equal width until half of the lot is measured off for quantity, 
and not for quality. "I am the lawful owner of said land with 
no incumbrance." Signed, Abraham Swain. Dated, December 
9, 1794. 

Another deed from Randlett to Phillip Dow, 2d, dated Decem- 
ber 27, 1800, for ten acres, being a part of lot No. 12, in the 
Second Division in Meredith, the same credit to Abraham Swain 
and conveyed to Ebenezer Dow, as by said Swain (his son-in-law). 
Signed, John Randlett. 

This is near the place where Jonathan Dow and wife, Eliza 
Glidden, are buried with a son, Frank Gilman Dow, also Eliza 
Glidden's second husband, John S. Pease, 1802-1877 (a brother 
to Simeon Pease). He died and she married, third, John P. 
Clifton, 1812-1884. 

(Tradition tells us that she once told a neighbor that she had 
three husbands named John, but the last one was the best.) 

Information from Mrs. Elite May {Dow) {Smith) Gordon 

Phillip Dow, 2d, married Lydia, daughter of Abraham Swain. 
Their children: 

Ebenezer, b. 1799; m. Nancy Wiggin. 

Jonathan, m. Elizs Glidden. 

Abram Swain, m. Mary Jane Moore. 

Gilman, d. young. 

Lucy, b. 1804; m. Joseph Neal; buried at Meredith Village. 

Polly, m. Nathan Clay; published 1833; buried in Union 

Cemetery. 
Sabrina J., 1806-1866; m. George Hilliard; buried at Weirs. 
Hannah Susan, m. George Shores; buried in Robinson 

Yard, Meredith Center. 
Another dau. m. Greenleaf Fogg of Holderness. 

Jonathan Dows children: 

John Mooney, m. Nellie Kimball, sister of Warren Kimball. 

Smith, d. South. 

Frank Gilman, d. aged 28 yrs. 

Abraham Swain Dow's children (he born 1816): 

Charles Glidden, b. 1850. 
Anna M., 1852-1877. 



192 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John Gilman, b. 1854. 

George Harry, b. 1859. 

Ellie May, b. 1865; m. Smith Gordon, 2d. 

Bible Records 

From Mrs. Ellie May (Dow) (Smith) Gordon, a daughter of 
Abram Swain and Mary Jane Moore: 

Phillip Dow, 2d, had a brother, Sewell, born 1780; married 
Lydia, daughter of Abraham Swain. Their children: 

Ebenezer, 1789-1881, d. in Moultonborough. He is buried 
on Meredith Neck in Boardman Hill yard. He m. 1826, 
Nancy, dau. of Chase Wiggin and wife, Mary Eaton. 
Their children: 

Smith, m. 1853, Louise Boardman. They had a dau. 
who m. Elon Clark. He was a brother to Mrs. Maria 
Alexander of Meredith. 
Lucian, m. 1856, Harriet A. Lovejoy; d. 1903; buried at 
Lakeport. They had a dau., Emma, b. 1860, who 
m. James Chase of Meredith and a son, Harry, who 
d. young. Lucian m., second, 1902, Vettie M. Chase, 
age 65 yrs., dau. of Madison Chase and wife, Nancy 
(Roberts) Chase; a dau., Emma, b. 1860, m. 1881, 
James L. Chase of Meredith. 
Ebenezer Lawrence, 1827-1905, m. Octavia Libbey, b. 
1835 in Sanbornton. Their children: 
George W., 1862-1912. 
Herbert E., b. 1868; m. Grace Shephard. 
Albert E., b. 1869; m. Verdee Veasey of Meredith; she 

later m. Arthur Hutchins. 
Frank, m. Emma Belle Sinclair. 
Ervin Lawrence, lived in East Holderness. 
Octavia, m. Samuel Amos Twombly. Their children: 
one m. a Knowles; Alice Twombly, single; Elizabeth 
Oranna, m. James Herbert Stratton. Their dau., 

Elizabeth, m. Holt. 

Mary A., 1846-1902; m. James A. Bickford, 1841-1916. 
Their children: 

Clara A., b. 1866; m. Hiram A. Cook, 1860-1922. 
Henry A., 1873-1889. 

Lizzie E., b. 1882; m. Elbridge P. Thompson in 1904. 
Their children: James A., b. 1906; Howard F., b. 1911. 

Jonathan Dow, son of Phillip, 2d, and wife, Lydia Swain, 
married, in 1833 Eliza Glidden. Their children: 

John Mooney, d. 1918 in Boston; m. Nellia Kimball at Mere- 
dith Center. They adopted a dau., Minnie Dow, 1871- 



GENEALOGIES 193 

1915 ; she was an artist with her father, John Dow. They 
are buried in Union Cemetery, on lot 547, owned by Chase 
Cawley Weeks, b. in Sanborn ton, who m. Sarah A. Bick- 
ford and aunt of John Mooney Dow; also a small stone, 
Nancy Mary. Tradition tells us that Chase C. Weeks 
built the summer hotel "View De Leau" and run it for a 
time, then returned to Boston; he d. in 1918, and is buried 
in Union. No stones. 

Smith, d. in Boston. 

Frank Gilman, d. aged 28 yrs., is buried beside his mother 
in a little yard back of the Ebenezer Dow home, where 
Jonathan Dow and wife were laid, also her second hus- 
band, John S. Pease, 1802-1877. After his death she m., 
third, John P. Clifton, 1812-1884. 

Copied from Mrs. Abram Swain Dow's Bible 

Abram Swain Dow, 1816-1881, married in 1848 Mary Jane 
Moore, 1822-1877, she a daughter of Joseph Moore of Sanborn- 
ton. Their children: 

Charles Gordon, b. 1850. 

Anna M., 1852-1877. 

John Gilman, b. 1854; m. Laura A. Fellows. 

George Henry, b. 1859; m. Zoa Wiggin, d. 1859. 

Ellie May, b. 1865; m. Edwin Parry Smith of Meredith, 
son of Jacob Smith of Sanbornton and wife, Nancy J. 
Pearson of Meredith. They settled on Meredith Ridge; 
had a son, Ernest Parry Smith, b. 1885, who lives with his 
mother at Lakeport. After Mr. Smith died she m., second, 
Elisha Gordon of Lowell; he d. 1928. Abram Swain Dow 
is the ancestor of the Bristol branch of Dows, and the 
father is buried near Bristol. 

Records 

Jonathan Dow of Brentwood, " Pioneer" in 1782, died in 1850; 
married in 1790 Sally Hanaford of New Hampton, daughter of 
Capt. Peter Hanaford, Revolutionary soldier; she was born in 
1771, died in 1832. They had twelve children. 

Abigail, 1791-1872, m. 1807 Daniel Huckins of New 
Hampton, son of James and wife, Dorcas (Bickford) 
Huckins. Their children: 
Nathan, b. 1808. 
David, b. 1810. 

Jonathan Dolloff, b. 1812; m. Abigail Smith, widow of 
Stephen Dolloff. 



194 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Daniel, 1814-1818. 

Calvin, b. 1816. 

Sarah, 1819-1894; m. 1841 Ezekiel Pike, son of Daniel 

Pike and wife, Sarah (French) of New Hampton. 
Abigail, 1824-1849; m. Daniel C. Kelley. 
Daniel B., b. 1826. 
Joseph D., b. 1828. 

Dana D., 1830-1865; left a son, Albert D., b. 1859. 
Hosea Q., 1832; m. Helen Davis Nickerson. 

Jonathan Dow, born in 1803, at Weare, a son of Stephen Dow, 
1764, and wife, Lydia Gove, married in 1830, Harriet Chase. 

Jonathan Dow of Gilmanton in his will, signed April 1, 1821, 
gave his wife half of the farm, also two cows and three sheep. 
His three daughters were Jemima Morrill; Hannah, wife of John 
Ferro; Dolly, wife of Josiah Farrar, who were married in 1796. 
He gave John, his son, half the farm and personal property. He 
married Elizabeth Chapman of Sanbornton in 1803; married, 
second, Deborah Page in 1867. To a son, Ephraim, he gave one 
dollar, he having had his share. He married Elizabeth French 
in 1790. To their son, Richard, he gave $110. He married 
Jemima Worthen, of Kensington in 1809. The daughter to have 
a certain amount of money later on. He decreed that his son, 
John, provide wood to keep one fire for his mother as long as she 
remains his widow. 

Old Bible Records 

Jabez Dow, 1748-1808, born in Kensington, N. H., removed to 
Deerfield. He married Anna Jewell, 1755-1840; married in 1777 
at South Hampton, N. H. He served in the Revolution, four 
years, for which he received a pension. Later he removed to 
Meredith with his family, and was buried in the Jonathan Dow 
yard, on the so-called "Roller Coaster Road," where he lived. 
There were nine Dows that served in the Revolution ; not a Dow 
stayed at home. Their children: 

Lydia, 1777-1870, d. in Laconia. She was a school teacher 
in Meredith and Deerfield. 

Sarah, b. 1781. 

Ezekiel, 1785-1849, b. in Kensington, removed with his 
parents to Meredith. He m. 1814, Sarah Hill, 1786-1880, 
dau. of Jonathan Hill and wife, Abigail Tilton. He was a 
surveyor and farmer. They attended the Congregational 
Church in Meredith. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 195 

Lorenzo Ware, 1815-1912. He was called "Honest 
Ware Dow." He was b. in Meredith and d. in Somer- 
ville, Mass. He m. at Meredith, in 1842, Susan, b. 
1821, dau. of Nathaniel Morrison and wife, Susan 
(Evans), she b. 1792, dau. of Edward Evans, 1752- 
1831. He was b. in Salisbury, Mass. He was adju- 
tant in the Revolutionary War, under Gov. Mesheck 
Weare. The Evans family were prominent citizens. 
Children of Lorenzo and wife, Susan Dow: 
Sarah F., 1843-1910. 
Henry W., b. 1850; m. Elizabeth Lovejoy Nichols 

in 1880. 
Susan Emma, 1854-1899, m. W. L. Snow. 
Walter A., b. 1858; m. Stella Griffin in 1885. 
Willie M., 1858-1863. 

The grandchildren of Lorenzo Dow: 
Ethel Mildrid, b. 1885. 
Walter Weare, b. 1887. 
Emma G., b. 1890. 
Feda L. Baun, b. 1897. 

Henry Dow of Northwood married in 1813, Betsey Watson of 
Nottingham, she a daughter of William Watson. He was a 
cooper. Their descendants went to Meredith and settled near 
the Dows, and made their homes. 

Synopsis of will of Anna (Jewell) Dow, wife of Jabez Dow, 
dated Meredith, N. H., July 8, 1837: 

1. I give to Lydia Dow, my daughter, one-third of my wearing apparel, also 
one-third of household furniture, etc., and $50 of my pension money, now 
due, provided I do not live to pay it myself. 

2. To Sally Deaborn, my daughter, one-third of my wearing apparel, also 
one-third of household furniture, and $20 of pension money soon due. 

3. To my beloved grandsons, Lorenzo W. Dow and Jonathan Gustavus 
Dow, sons of my son, Ezekiel Dow; also to Samuel Deaborn and Joseph Jewell 
Deaborn, sons of Sarah Deaborn, each one feather bed. 

4. To Ezekiel Dow, my beloved son, the residue of my estate, real and 
personal; and that Ezekiel Dow shall be executor. 

(Signed) Anna (Jewell) Dow. 

Copied from the Old Dow Bible 

Ezekiel Dow had a son, Jonathan Gustavius Dow, 1819-1895. 
He was a good farmer. He married in 1854, at Deerfield, Mary 
M. Tilton, born in 1830, she a daughter of Elbridge Tilton, 
born in 1798, and wife, Melinda, daughter of Sewall Deaborn. 
They are buried in the Dow Yard. Their children: 



196 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Myra E., 1855-1893. 
Charles, 1864-1866. 

Mrs. Jonathan G. Dow willed to Walter Dow (son of Weare 
Dow) and his brother, Henry (her husband's nephews), the 
brickyard at Weirs and the Mountain woodlot. 

Ezekiel Dow, as Meredith inventory, was a resident of Mere- 
dith, 1812-1833, in the First Division; also Sewall Dow. 

Ephraim Dow married Sally Hill in 1814 at Meredith. 

Thomas Dow died in Meredith in 1840. 

Sabrina Dow married George Hilliard, above the Weirs. 
Buried at Weirs. 

Sewell Dow, a brother to Phillip Dow, 1780-1835, died in Lynn, 
aged 55 years. He married in 1804, Eleanor Whicher of New 
Hampton. Sewell's father's homestead was in Meredith Bridge, 
in the part now called LacOnia. He removed to Thornton. 

DREW 

William Drew, born probably in Devonshire, England, in 
1627, was at Oyster River in 1648. He lived at Drew's Point, 
where the cellar of the " Drew Garrison," built by him or his son, 
Francis, may be seen. 

Old depositions show that William Drew died in 1669. His 

widow, Elizabeth , born in 1628, was a daughter of Francis 

and Tomasine (Channon) Matthews, who after her husband's 
death married William Follett in 1671. 

William Drew and wife, Elizabeth Matthews, had three chil- 
dren. Their second son, John, born in 1651, settled about 1675 
on the west side of Dover Neck, and was a cooper by trade. In 
1680 he bought of William Follett, his mother's second husband, 
land, and built a house on it; later he bought more land of different 
men. History states that it was thought that he built the old 
garrison, now standing on "Spruce Lane," known as the "Drew 
Garrison," which is not far from the Drew family burial ground, 
on lot No. 13, that formerly was owned by William Drew Dam. 

John 2 Drew was a sergeant in the militia and occupied offices of 
trust in town. He married, first, in 1675, Sarah Field, daughter 
'of Darby Field, by whom he had four children. He married, 
second, Rebecca Cook. He died at Back River, Dover, in 1723, 
aged 73 years. 



GENEALOGIES 197 

John 3 Drew, born about 1680, married in 1705 Elizabeth, 
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Tucker) Hopley of Ports- 
mouth. He died at Back River, Dover, in 1711. Their third 
child, Francis 4 , born in 1712, married before 1737 Mary, daughter 
of Joseph and Sarah (Davis) Hicks of Madbury ; she born in 1725. 
Their sixth child, Andrew 5 , born in 1750, married Hannah, 
daughter of Ephraim and Ruth Davis. He married, second, 
Esther, daughter of Winthrop and Love (Cromwell) Bickford; 
she born in 1766, died in 1844. He was living near Pascataqua 
Bridge in 1793, but removed to Holderness, now Ashland, in 1808, 
and died in 1 841 . He had five children by the first wife, and four 
by the third wife. The first child by the second wife was Avis 6 , 
born August 15, 1801; married Samuel S. Baker of Holderness; 
she died May 27, 1875. 

Andrew Drew 5 , 1750-1841. His wife, Esther Bickford, 1766- 
1844. Their children: Avis Drew, 1801-1875; Andrew, Jr., 
1803-1850; Emily W., 1808; Sophronia, 1809. 

Nicholas Drew resided in Durham, and died there in 1895. 
He was a member of the Durham Artillery Co. when it received 
General Lafayette on his last tour through the States. Their 
oldest daughter, Ellen K. Drew, born September 20, 1833 ; married 
Oliver Knowlton of Newmarket; he was born March, 1791, in 
Northwood. (The Sanbornton Town History states that he 
married Lucinda Batcheldor of Northwood, she born October 29, 
1802.) Oliver Knowlton, after his marriage, lived on the Francis 
Smith farm in Sanbornton, where he was elected selectman, also 
representative of the town. He went to Sanbornton, as a school 
teacher, where he taught several terms at the Bay District. 
Their third child, John Knowlton, born May 25, 1832, resided in 
Meredith. He married Rachel in 1858, daughter of Josiah B. 
Batcheldor and wife, Louisa, daughter of Samuel Sanborn of 
Meredith. Their children: 

Herbert Clarence, b. April 11, 1859. 
Amy Cora, b. Aug. 28, 1861. 
Jennie Louisa, b. Oct. 12, 1863. 
Clara Louisa, b. June 25, 1869. 

DUDLEY 

Governor Thomas Dudley, born in Northampton, England, in 
1576, died in 1653, at Roxbury, Mass., leaving a son and daughter. 



198 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Rev. Samuel Dudley, born in England in 1606, died at Exeter 
in 1683. 

James Dudley, born in 1690. 

Stephen Dudley, born in 1734. 

Joseph Dudley, born at Exeter in 1728, son of James, died at 
Raymond in 1792. His daughter, Mary Dudley, born at Exeter 
in 1758, died at Gilmanton, in 1836; married Nathaniel Wells, 
born at Raymond, 1750-1833. 

Nathaniel, son of John Wells and wife, Apphia, died in Loudon 
in 1796. 

Dudley Wells, son of Nathaniel Wells, 1793-1831, died at 
Gilmanton; married Mehitable Burleigh, September 14, 1817, 
daughter of Stephen and Abigail (Taylor) Burleigh, born at 
Gilmanton, 1797-1873. Their children: 

James Dudley, b. at Gilmanton, 1819; d. at Manchester, 

1866. 
John Webster, b. at Gilmanton, 1823 ; d. at Palo Alto, Calif. 

James Webster, son of James Dudley Wells, married Mary 
Adelaide Morrison, October 12, 1887, at Meredith. 

Eunice Wells, daughter of Nathaniel Wells, married Isaiah 
Tibbetts, 1803. Their daughter, Eliza Wells Tibbetts, married 
Nathan B. Wadleigh of Meredith in 1842. Their children: 

Oliva Wadleigh, 1844-1844. 

Ann Maria, b. 1845 ; m. Alphonso Charles in 1868. A child, 

Willie N., b. 1874. 
May Flora, b. 1857 in Laconia. 

DURRELL 

Thomas Durrell, 1800-1884, was born at Gilmanton in 1820. 
He inherited a large acreage of land from his father and grand- 
father, who were among the earliest settlers in the forests of 
Gilmanton. He was active in public affairs of the town. Chil- 
dren: 

Ann Maria, b. 1840; m. John Shannon Wallis of Sanbornton. 

Eliza, m. H. Richardson. They settled in Concord. 

Augusta, m. Lyman Folsom. They lived in Laconia. 

Lewis. 

Charles, lived in Laconia, d. in California. 

Joseph B., a farmer, who owned 1,600 acres of land, was a 

prominent man; he m. Abigail Shannon. Their children: 

Adeline, Lorrain, Fisk, Martha and Inez. 



GENEALOGIES 199 

Joseph B. Durrell, 1865-1896, married, second, Frances S., 
daughter of Perley and Eliza (Merrill) Farrar of Gilmanton. 
Eliza Merrill, was a daughter of Israel Farrar, an early settler of 
Gilmanton. Israel Farrar had children: 

George W., m. Fanny Hill, who lived in Gilmanton, and 

died in Laconia. 
Eliza A., m. John Moore. They had seven children. She 

m., second, Samuel Hutchins. They had one child. 
Mary Jane, m. George Knapp. Their son d. in the Civil 

War. 
Emalie A., d. young. 
Frances Susan. 

Christiana, m. Joseph Odlin. Two sons. 
Alfred P., d. young. 
Arthur M., d. in early manhood. 
Addie L., m. Henry Lamprey, who d. soon after he returned 

from war. 

Charles W. married and had eight children. 

DUSTAN 

From Moore's Genealogy, pages 167, 168 
From Chase's History of Haverhill, page 185 

On the 15th of March, 1697, a party of about twenty Indians 
came suddenly and without warning upon the western part of the 
town and, with the swiftness of the whirlwind, made their attack, 
and as suddenly disappeared. The first house attacked was that 
of Thomas Dustan. 

There have been various accounts published, but Chase leans 
to that of Rev. Cotton Mather as being the most reliable, he hav- 
ing heard the account from the lips of Mrs. Dustan herself soon 
after her return from captivity. He published it in 1702. 
Hannah Dustan and her nurse, Mary Neff, were in the house, 
Mrs. Dustan having given birth to a child a week previous. 
When the Indians came Thomas Dustan was at work in a field, 
and reached his house to save his family. He hurried all his 
children, except the babe at its mother's breast, away on the road 
to the settlement at Haverhill, the nearest house or shelter being a 
mile away. Finding himself unable to save his wife, he hurried 
his horse after his children, whom he overtook about forty rods 
from the house. He kept them in front of him and shielded him- 
self behind his horse. 



200 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

It is not known whether he fired on the Indians or not. It is 
probable that he did not, but kept them at a distance, as, if he had 
fired, they would have rushed upon him before he had time to 
reload. The Indians fired at Dustan and the children, but not 
one of them received an injury, although there were eight of 
them, and their pace that of a child five years old. The other 
Indians meanwhile made Mrs. Dustan get up, and, after rifling 
the house, they set it on fire, taking Mrs. Dustan and her nurse 
with them, first dashing out the brains of the child against a tree. 
Several other captives were killed. 

That night they traveled about a dozen miles. The home of 
the Indian who took Mrs. Dustan was a small island at the junc- 
tion of the Contoocook and Merrimack Rivers, a few miles above 
Concord, N. H. To this place, since known as Dustan's Island, 
they were taken. The Northern Railroad passes across it. A 
monument should be erected on the spot where Hannah Dustan's 
exploit took place. (Chase so states in his History.) 

After remaining at this place about five weeks, preparatory 
to being taken to Canada to be delivered to the French, Hannah 
Dustan one night planned to kill the Indians with the assistance 
of her nurse, Mrs. Neff, and a young lad named Samuel Lennard- 
son, an English youth captured at Worcester a year and a half 
before. They took hatchets and killed ten of the Indians as they 
slept, only one squaw, sorely wounded, escaping in the dark. 
Mrs. Dustan took some food, her dead master's gun and toma- 
hawk, and, scuttling all the canoes but one, embarked with her two 
companions in the remaining canoe and went down the Merrimack 
River to Haverhill. They turned back to take the scalps off the 
heads of the Indians for proof of their deeds, and soon after doing 
this they wrapped them in a piece of linen cloth taken from her 
house when she was captured. A part of this cloth is still pre- 
served by some of her descendants. They arrived safely at 
Haverhill, as though returned from the dead. The gun was pre- 
sented to the Dustan Monument Association in 1859, after being 
in the male line since the death of Thomas Dustan. 

On recovering from their journey Mrs. Dustan, with her two 
companions, journeyed to Boston, where they arrived April 21st. 
They took the gun, tomahawk and the ten scalps and petitioned 
the General Assembly, then in session, for recompense. It was 
given them and voted to give 50 pounds from the public treasury, 



GENEALOGIES 201 

Mrs. Dustan to have one half and Mary Neff and Lennardson the 
other half. 

Hannah Dustan was the daughter of Michael and Hannah 
(Webster) Emerson, and the eldest of fifteen children. She was 
born December 23, 1657, and was married to Thomas Dustan, 
December 3, 1677, by whom she had thirteen children. The 
time of her death and also that of her husband is uncertain. 
There is a tradition that she survived her husband some years, 
going to live with her son, Jonathan, on the original Dustan farm 
in the south part of town. Thomas Dustan was living in March 
in 1 729. Chase calls attention to the greater heroism of Thomas 
Dustan as compared with the more famous exploit of his wife. 

Page 194. 'The name first appears on our town records as of 
those who built cottages between the years 1699 and 1875; next 
in a deed in 1675-6 from Thomas Dustan to Peter Green, then 
among the soldiers in King Phillip's War, August, 1678, then in a 
list of cottages built between 1875 and February, 1877." 

Savage's General Dictionary of the Early Settlers of New Hamp- 
shire, 1860, says: "Dustin or Duston, Josiah of Reading, 1647, 
had Josiah, born May 14, 1656, and perhaps others, and died Janu- 
ary 16, 1672. Thomas of Dover perhaps removed to Kittery 
before 1652. Thomas of Haverhill, perhaps son of the preceding, 
married Hannah Emerson, December 3, 1677." 

Page 195. Chase concludes from an exhaustive investigation, of 
which he gives the details, that Merrill in his search correctly 
located the spot where the original Dustan house stood. This 
location can be gleaned from the account, but is not easily indi- 
cated apart from it. 

After the Indian raid and Mrs. Dustan's capture, measures were 
taken to provide for defense and against surprise. 

April 5, 1696-7. Copy of town order: 

To Thomas Dustan , upon the settlement of Garrisons. You being appointed 
master of the Garrison at your house, you are hereby in his Majesty's name 
required to see that a good watch is kept at your Garrison, both by night and 
by day, by those persons hereafter named who are under your command, and 
inspection in buildings or repairing your Garrison, and if any person refuse or 
neglect their duty, you are accordingly required to make the return of the 
same, under your hand to the committee of Militia in Haverhill. 

The persons appointed are as followeth : Josiah Heath, Son Josiah Heath, Jr., 
Joseph Bradley, John Heath, Joseph Kingsbury and Thomas Kingsbury. 
By order of the Committee of Militia: 

Samuel Ayer, Capt. 



202 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mr. Dustan was for the time largely engaged in brick making. 
The business, however, was attended with no little danger. The 
clay-pits were only a short distance from the garrison, but a file of 
soldiers had to be constantly on duty. 

Page 308. In a petition to the General Court of Hannah Brad- 
ley (she being taken prisoner in the same raid as Hannah Dustan, 
but forced to travel further than she): "The next night but one 
there came to us one squaw, who said Hannah Dustan and the 
aforesaid Mary Neff assisted in killing the Indians of her wigwam, 
except herself and a boy, herself escaping very narrowly, showing 
to myself and others seven wounds." The Court granted Neff 
200 acres of land at this time, 1728, when this petition was heard. 

Page 658. Dustan Monument Association, organized October, 
1855. January 22-23, 1856, a levee was held in aid of the project, 
at which was exhibited the gun taken by Mrs. Dustan from the 
Indians, the scalping knife said to have been used on the occasion, 
a tankard presented to Mrs. Dustan and Mrs. Neff by Governor 
Nicholson of Maryland, a pair of tongs, a platter formerly belong- 
ing to Mrs. Dustan and the pocketknife of Thomas Dustan. 

On June 1, 1861, a monument of Italian marble, 5 feet square 
and 24 feet high, was erected by the Association, at an expense of 
about SI 200. 

The tablet contains the following inscription: 

HANNAH, DAUGHTER OF MICHAEL AND HANNAH EMERSON 

WIFE OF THOMAS DUSTAN 

BORN IN THIS TOWN DEC. 23, 1657 

CAPTURED BY THE INDIANS MARCH 15, 1697 

At Which Time Her Babe, Then 6 Days Old, Was Barbarously Murdered 

by Having Its Brains Dashed Out Against a Tree 

They were taken to an island in the Merrimack River, near 
Penacook, now Concord, N. H., on the night of April 20, 1697. 
Assisted by Mary Neff and Samuel Lennardson, she killed ten of 
the twelve savages in the wigwam and, taking their scalps and her 
captor's gun as trophies of her remarkable exploit, she embarked 
on the waters of the Merrimack and, after much suffering, arrived 
at her home in safety. 

Thomas Dustan, on the memorable 15th of March, 1697, when 
his house was attacked and burned and his wife captured by the 
savages, heroically defended his seven children and successfully 
covered their retreat to a garrison. 



GENEALOGIES 203 

Thomas Dustan and Hannah Emerson were married December 
3, 1677. Their children: 

Hannah, b. Aug. 22, 1678. 

Elizabeth, b. May 7, 1680. 

Mary, b. Nov. 4, 1681; d. Oct. 18, ; m. Samuel Wats, 

Jr., of Haverhill, May 25, 1715. 
Thomas, b. Jan. 5, 1683. 
Nathaniel, b. May 18, 1685. 
John, b. Feb. 2, 1686; d. 1690. 
Sarah, b. July 4, 1688. 
Abigail, b. Oct., 1690. 
Jonathan, b. Jan. 15, 1691-2; m. Elizabeth Wats, May 18, 

1715. 
Timothy, b. Sept. 14, 1694. 
Mehitable, b. Sept. 12, 1694; d. Dec, 1694. 
Martha, b. Mar. 15, 1696-7; d. Mar., 1696-7. 
Lydia, b. Oct. 4, 1698. 

At the time of the capture of her mother little Abigail Dustan, 
mother of Hannah Watts Emerson, was just six and one-half 
years old, one of the youngest children, hurrying away as fast as 
their legs would carry them to safety, pursued by the savages, 
and protected by the Colonist, Thomas Dustan, with his horse 
and rifle. 

Little Jonathan, her youngest brother, was only five years old. 
Timothy was barely able to walk, being only two and one-half 
years old, and was probably carried by one of the older children, 
as may have been the case with Jonathan also. 

Data from Howard P. Moore, 80 Maiden Lane, New York, on 
Dustan family: 
Hannah Dustan. 

Abigail Dustan, m. Wats. 

Hannah Watts, m. Benjamin Emerson. 
Abigail Emerson, m. Ortho Stevens. 
Abiah Stevens, H. John Moore. 
Archelau Moore, m. D. F. Moore. 
Rufus A. Moore. 
Juliette Moore. 
Chase's History of Haverhill has the Hannah Dustan line: 
Nathaniel Cheney was a son of Daniel Cheney and Hannah, 
born November 25, 1711. 

Jonathan Dustan, married Elizabeth Wats May 18, 1715. 
Mary Dustan, married Samuel Wats, Jr., May 25, 1715. 



204 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

EASTMAN 

Ensign Ebenezer Eastman, 1746-1810, married in Stratham, 
Abigail Barker, 1754-1824; he went to Sanbornton, on the Mere- 
dith line, before the Revolution. He was one of sixteen Sanborn- 
ton men that went into the Revolution about 1775. 

Thomas Eastman, 1760-1834, who was a son of Edward East- 
man and wife, Sally , married in 1784 Sally Brown of 

Poplin, 1766-1820. They had eleven children. 

Daniel Eastman, 1785-1812, son of Thomas, was killed by being 
thrown from a horse. 

Ruth Marion Eastman, 1792-1830, daughter of Thomas East- 
man, married Benjamin Thompson, 1787-1822, son of William 
Thompson and wife, Mary Chase. 

Hannah Eastman, 1795-1864, daughter of Thomas and Sally, 
married William Taylor, 1791-1872. . 

John Eastman, 1897-1818. 

Abel Brown Eastman, 1799-1882, married Eliza Woodman, 
1799-1882, of Meredith, a daughter of Thomas Eastman and wife, 
Huldah Sanborn, daughter of Dr. Benaiah Sanborn. 

Obadiah Eastman, 1804-1882, son of Thomas and Sally, mar- 
ried first, Mary Belinda Sanborn, 1813-1832, daughter of George 
Washington Sanborn and wife, Mary Sanborn; second, Hannah L. 
Hoit, 1814-1840, daughter of Stuart Hoit and wife, Mary Burley, 
1813-1832; third, Susanna Prescott, 1813-1872, daughter of Asa 
Prescott and wife, Hannah Thompson, daughter of Moses Thomp- 
son; fourth, Mrs. Lucy (Kelley) Potter of New Hampton. 
Obadiah had three children. 

Sarah W'oodman Eastman, 1836-1873, daughter of Abel East- 
man, married Joseph Perley (his second wife), son of Nathaniel 
Perley and wife, Dorothy Bartlett of Haverhill, Mass. 

George Washington Jefferson Taylor, 1820-1898, son of William 
Taylor and wife, Hannah Eastman, daughter of Thomas and 
Sally (Brown) Eastman, married Hannah Perkins Lane, daughter 
of Joseph Hilliard Lane and wife, Mary Lane. 

John W. Eastman, born in 1845, married Addie M. Brown in 
1877, daughter of Sylvester Brown, he a son of David Brown 
and a grandson of Samuel Brown, 1754-1827, a Revolutionary 
soldier. He was one of the first settlers, and married, first, Sally 
Paine, 1 755-1819- married, second, Mrs. Robinson. Sylvester 
Brown married Eunice Gale Fox of Meredith. 



GENEALOGIES 205 

A daughter of Abel Eastman and wife, Eliza Woodman of 
Meredith, was Mary Susan, the eighth child, born in 1849. She 
married Lyman H. Cate, son of Thomas Cate and wife, Sarah 
Wiggin of Meredith, daughter of David Wiggin and wife, Nancy 
(Dockham) Wiggin. A son, Horace Hook Eastman, born in 1833, 
married Angeline B. Colby. Their children: 

Fred F., b. 1863; lives on the Horace Eastman farm in 

Laconia (Old Meredith). 
Axgie May Eastman. 



EATON 

John Eaton married in 1708 Esther, daughter of Moses Swett. 

John Eaton of Seabrook, born in 1750, as history states, was 
a tailor. He married Sarah French. They settled in Pittsfield, 
N. H., and had eleven children. 

The oldest child, Elisha 1 Eaton, born in 1768, married Betsey 
Sherburne. He was a farmer and died in 1794, leaving one child, 
Elisha 2 , born in 1794. He was only four months old when his 
father died. His grandparents took him and kept him, and he 
fell heir to the old home. He married Betsey, daughter of 
Ephraim Brown of Guilford. Ten children: 

Daniel B. 

Sarah Jane, d. aged 23 yrs. 

Miriam, m. Isiah C. Morrill of Guilford. 

Reuhamah G., m. Isaac Morrill. 

Emeline T., m. Calvin Rollins of Alton. 

John D., settled in Salem, Mass. 

Mary, m. Henry Duffee of Alton. 

Martin B., was in Moultonboro. 

Joseph W., resided in Salem, Mass. 

Laura A., m. William Downs of Salem. 

Daniel Brown Eaton, born at Guilford in 1820, settled in Mere- 
dith. When a young man he taught school several winters. He 
lived on his farm, where he was successful. He also did probate 
business, was a surveyor and did the work when the Enterprise 
Linen and Fibre Co.'s mill was started in Meredith. He married 
in 1849 Susan 1 , daughter of Joseph P. Smith of Guilford. Their 
children: 



206 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mary S., m. Rev. C. W. Taylor. 

Julia A. 

Sarah J., d. in middle life. 

John S., d. in early manhood. 

Daniel E., was cashier of the Meredith Savings Bank for 

many years. He m. Ella E. Everett. 
Joseph S., settled in Massachusetts. 

Mrs. Susan (Smith) Eaton died in 1876. In 1882 Mr. Eaton 
married, second, Mrs. Emily A. (Whidden) Corliss, widow of 
Mark Whidden of Portsmouth. 

EDGERLY 

Some of the early Edgerly family came from England and 
settled here at Oyster River. As they married and their families 
grew larger, they went farther inland and made homes. 

Samuel Edgerly, whose father was a Revolutionary soldier, 
went to Kensington for a time, then removed to Meredith, 
where he settled and made a home. He married Betsey Smith. 
They had nine children: Joseph, David, John, Daniel, William, 
Sarah, Polly, Jane and Hannah. 

William M. Edgerly, born in 1812 at Meredith, lived at home 
for twenty-five years. He married Lydia, daughter of David 
Fogg of Meredith, and bought his home. Their children: 

George G. 

Joseph W., went to Syracuse, N. Y. 

Frank G., lived in Concord. 

One of the sons, John W. Edgerly, born at Meredith in 1846, 
attended the Meredith schools, and also New Hampton Institu- 
tion. He went into a grocery store in Concord, and later owned 
one. He married in 1869 Emma P., daughter of Joseph Dolloff 
of New Hampton. Her parents died when she was young, and 
she lived in Concord with a sister and graduated there from high 
school. 

Emma P. Dolloff's great-grandfather, Samuel Dolloff, was of 
Russian descent, as history states. He was an early settler of 
New Hampton, where he cleared a homestead. His son, John 
Dolloff, was born and died in New Hampton. He farmed some 
and was a cooper. He was a very religious man. 

John Dolloff's son, Joseph Dolloff, was born and lived on the 
old homestead most of his life. Their children : 



GENEALOGIES 207 

Emma P. 

Lavina P., m. William E. Gordon of New Hampton. 

Martha M. N., m. Edward R. Robinson of Concord. 

Joseph Y., lived in Concord. 

Frank F., lived in Concord. 

Johx S. S., d. in the Civil War. 

William P., resided in New York; d. in Concord, 1891. 

John P. Edgerly's mother, Lydia Fogg, daughter of David Fogg, 
had a brother, George S. Fogg, a lawyer, and very able in business. 
He was sent to Switzerland as minister, as he was a United States 
Senator. Tradition tells us that George C. Fogg introduced 
Abraham Lincoln to a Concord audience as "our next President," 
and, being chairman of the National Committee, Lincoln ap- 
pointed Mr. Fogg as United States Minister to Switzerland, and 
he filled the position. After his return to Concord, he edited a 
paper until he sold out and retired. He died in 1881. 

ELA 

The Ela family were of English descent. Daniel Ela settled in 
Haverhill, Mass., about 1658. Israel Ela was made freeman in 
1677. He married Abigail Bosworth. He died in 1700. Their 
son, John Ela, born at Haverhill in 1683, married Rachel Page. 
He died in 1742. They had five children. Their oldest, Jacob, 
was born in 1711-12. His wife died and he married, second, 
Mrs. Ednah (Little) Gale. They had eight children. Their 
oldest was John, the sixth child. A daughter, Lydia, married 
Daniel Appleton. John (son of Jacob), was born in 1740-1. 
He was a large man, weighing some 400 pounds. He married 
Ruth Whittier. Their oldest children were twins, Nathaniel W. 
and John Whittier Ela. 

Nathaniel ran a hotel in Dover for over fifty years. John was 
a farmer in Durham and Lee. He married Mehitable Dame of 
Durham in 1793. Their children were Ednah, Joseph and John. 
Their father died in 1801, when Joseph was four years old. 
When Joseph was fifteen years old he went to Dover to learn the 
hatter's trade of his uncle Nathaniel. He was a pensioner of the 
War of 1812 and a very successful business man. He started 
business for himself at Norway Plains (Rochester). His health 
was poor, but he went to Meredith in 1822 and took charge of 
the store of Joseph Smith of Dover, the great merchant of the 



208 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lake. The confinement soon impaired his health and drove him 
to outside work, and he went out and drove a team. In 1828 he 
was appointed deputy sheriff, which kept him outside, and he 
regained his health in the thirty years after. He worked for the 
Lake Company, purchasing right of flowage land, which he 
bought himself, and owned much land along Plymouth Street in 
Meredith on which he built homes. At one time he owned 
fifty-two houses in Meredith. 

Mr. Ela was one of the incorporators and trustees of the Mere- 
dith Village Savings Bank. He married in 1832 Sally Miller 
Moulton, daughter of Jonathan Moulton and wife, Abigail 
Smith, daughter of Benjamin Smith and wife, Mary Hobbs. 
Benjamin was a son of Capt. John Smith of Hampton. Mrs. 
Ela died in 1878, aged 65 years. They had five children in 
Meredith. Laura E. married, first, Daniel S. Beede, whose 
daughter, Nellie, was the widow of James W. Horn. She married, 
second, Alvin Peavey, a son John W. Ela, who studied law. 
He was in the Civil War and later practiced law in Chicago. 
A son, Charles H., died. A daughter, Ednah, married George 
E. Oilman. A daughter, Luella, died, aged 17. 

FARNHAM 

Benjamin Farnham, 1796-1871, son of Barachias Farnham and 

wife, Stevens, who early lived in Lebanon, Maine, but moved 

to Meredith, later lived in New Hampton, was a miller. He died 
at Joseph Leavitt's place, and is buried in the Leavitt yard. He 
was 76 years old in 1871. He married Mehitable, daughter of 
Elisha Piper of Meredith, and had several children, who settled 
elsewhere. 

FERNALD 

Old Kittery and Her Families states that in 1645 the agent for 
Sir Ferdinando Gorges gave a perpetual lease of Puddington 
Islands at Kittery, Maine, the Navy Yard, to Thomas Fernald, 
son of Renald Fernald ; the price of the lease was two shillings, six 
pence a year. 

The lease was made to a twelve-year-old boy of Dr. Fernald 
for his father's sake. Thomas later deeded to his brother, Wil- 
liam, "Lay Clayme" Island. In 1806 this island was in posses- 



GENEALOGIES 209 

sion of Capt. William Dennett, which he sold to the United States 
Government for $55,000. It contained 60 acres and was formerly 
used to dry fish on 

About 1840 Seavey's Island, the old home of Thomas Fernald, 
was sold to the Government and added to the United States 
Navy Yard. 

John, son of John Fernald, was born December 31, 1757, in 
Exeter. (We lack connection of the family, but the names seem 
to have been kept.) In 1807 Thomas and Samuel Fernald lived, 
as Nottingham history states, on the Turnpike District, and paid 
taxes there. 

Newfield History states that Dr. Renald Fernald married 

Joanne . He was a surgeon of some eighty emigrants sent 

over to Pascataqua, by Capt. John Mason in 1631. They 
petitioned for Strawberry Bank to be called Portsmouth. Some 
of his children were John, Samuel, William and Thomas. Thomas 
was a land owner in 1660 in Portsmouth. "Ye whole of ye 
Doctor's Island in Portsmouth." 

Capt. Joseph Fernald was born in 1779 at Newfield. His 
father died when he was young and he was bound out to Deacon 
Thomas Drowne, where he learned the tanner's trade and was 
a shoemaker until he enlisted as lieutenant in the company of 
Capt. Peter Hersey. He was discharged in 1814 and moved to 
Exeter in 1817. There he erected a tidemill for grinding bark. 
He married Nancy Smart, who died in 1805, aged 30 years. 
She was a daughter of Josiah Smart. In all his dealings with men 
he was above reproach, strictly honest, and lived an upright life. 

Charles Fernald signed the "Association Test" in Nottingham 
in 1776. (I fail to find any record there of Luke Fernald, who 
was the father of William H. H. Fernald, born (as on his grave- 
stone) in 1802 at Nottingham. In 1779, as Nottingham history 
states, the Eighth District School was kept at Charles Fernald's. 
Also in 1807 a petition was made to set off the Turnpike District. 
Among the petitioners was Thomas Fernald, Jr. The amount 
of his tax for building the schoolhouse was $2.12. (Not much 
as it is today.) 

William Fernald, a Revolutionary soldier, of Meredith, served 
in 1776 at Fort Sullivan, was also in Col. Josh Wingate's Regi- 
ment at Fort Ticonderoga and signed for a pension at Exeter for 
service at Fort Sullivan. He ran a tannery in an old building, 



210 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

still standing near a brook, this side of Plymouth Street Cemetery 
entrance gate at Meredith, and had the reputation of being a 
good blacksmith, liked by all his patrons. He lost his health 
going to war. He was postmaster in his last years. 

The Thirsty Disciple 

As we are quoting Nottingham history, the story of the 
"Thirsty Disciple" of Nottingham comes before us. 

There were several religious sects in Old Nottingham, and on 
one occasion the minister observed the Sacrament of the Lord's 
Supper in a schoolhouse on a small stand. He told much of the 
life and suffering of Christ, and wrought his hearers up to show 
much emotion. He broke the bread and gave it to the deacon to 
pass, then filled the goblet with wine and, holding it in his hand, 
said, "This is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for 
the remission of sins"; and, passing it to the deacon, said, 
"Drink ye all of it." That moment a man came in all covered 
with dust and perspiration, having walked many miles to attend 
this meeting. He approached, and the deacon recognized him 
as one of the faithful, took the cup from the deacon and quaffed 
the wine to the last drop, and, returning the cup to the deacon, 
exclaimed. "Oh, Lord, I's dry as dust." So it' was in Paul's day 
at Corinth. "One is hungry, and another is drunken." The 
cup was empty. (One step from the sublime to the ridiculous.) 

Luke Fernald, born in Nottingham, became a member of the 
Brainard Mission, and in 1826 he and his wife were at Mission 
Ridge near Chicamauga. He and his wife, Betsey, are buried in 
Plymouth Street yard in Meredith; as on gravestones: Luke 
Fernald, 1799-1851, his wife, Betsey, 1795-1863. Their children: 

Mary Elizabeth, 1827-1844. 

Capt. William H. H., 1833-1872; m. Loretta S. Burleigh, 
1835-1889. He was in the Civil War, captain of Co. B, 
12th Regiment Volunteers. Their daughter, Hattie 
Wilmina, b. Feb. 10, 1861, in Meredith, m. Sidney Sanborn 
Baker, son of George Washington Baker and wife, Ann 
Eliza (Sanborn) Baker, of Holderness. (Tradition tells us 
they were married under an oak tree, beside the lake in 
Meredith.) 

The earliest history of Luke Fernald is that he was in Meredith 
in 1844 and helped form a fire company there. He was a black- 



GENEALOGIES 211 

smith in Meredith and had his shop on the "Flat," so called. 
Tradition tells us that Luke and John Fernald were left orphans 
when quite young;, and were put into families to grow up to man- 
hood. (It looks from history that they came from Maine.) 

John Fernald, 1805-1886, married Hannah Smith, 1806-1878, 
a daughter of Rev. David Smith. A daughter, Jane, 1846-1854. 
Emma, 1843-1917, married E. C. Coval, 1840-1906, of Laconia. 

A son, David Smith Fernald, 1832-1881, born at Nottingham, 
married in 1854 Almira Wiggin, 1835-1923, daughter of George 
Washington Wiggin of Meredith; she was a sister of Charles, 
Frank and Edwin Wiggin, also a sister to William Foss' wife, also 
Joe Clark's wife. Their children: 

Ida L., 1854-1920, when she was 27 yrs. old, m. in 1881 
E. J. Huse, age 35 yrs., son of John Huse of Newburyport, 
Mass. 

Carrie, b. 1862, m. Frank Kerby, 1857-1881. Frank 
Kerby and his father-in-law, David S. Fernald, were 
drowned in Squam Lake. While out fishing they broke 
through some thin ice, Dec. 14, 1881. The funeral was 
in Meredith Town Hall, and a very large gathering, with 
a double service. 

John and Luke Fernald had a sister, Mary Worcester Fernald, 
who married Jabez S. Robinson of Meredith in 1854. He m., 
second, Priscilla Bickford, at Meredith Neck; m., third, Luella 
, from Lakeport. 

SMITH 

Mrs. James Ford Huckins of Ashland, N. H., has the family 
lineage. 

Rev. David Smith, 1769-1824, was the first resident Congrega- 
tional Minister in Meredith. He came from Temple, Maine. 
He married Hepsibah Worcester, 1772-1827 (relative of the 
Worcester Dictionary editor). Their son, Sewall, 1811-1847, 
married Mary Goss, 1809-1875, of New Hampton. Children: 
Martha S., 1838-1857; Hannah, b. 1878, married John Fernald, 
brother of Luke Fernald. The widow of Luke Fernald died 
in 1863. 

The Smith family and John Fernald are buried on the Sewall 
Smith lot in Plymouth Street yard. 

Inscriptions on the Lovely-Batchelder Monument in Mere- 
dith Village yard: 



212 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Alice Batchelder of Holderness married Lovely. She 

married, second, Harry Fernal,'son of W. H. Fernal. Their 
children, on the Lovely side of monument: 

Ethel Fernald, 1821-1897. 
William Fernald, 1877-1883. 
Gertrude Fernald, 1880-1885. 

On the Batchelder side of monument: 

Simeon Batchelder, 1818-1900. 
Ann Batchelder, 1818-1898. 
Herbert P. Batchelder, 1865-1911. 
Bertha Batchelder, 1872-1893. 
Anne Batchelder, 1888-1902. 

FLANDERS 

James Flanders, came from England. 

James Flanders, Jr., married Lydia Gordon. 

James Flanders, married Margaret Moses. 

These Flanders of the family lived on the Mooney farm, near 
the New Hampton line. 

Abbie L. Flanders, married Charles Avery, April, 1905. No 
children. 

Emma Flanders, married Bert G. Ordway, in 1899, moved to 
Ashland, later returned to the Mooney farm in Meredith. 
Children : 

Martha, b. Oct. 19, 1900; m. Robert W. Dearborn in 1921. 
Beatrice W., b. Mar. 28, 1906. 
Christian W., b. Mar. 17, 1910. 
Retta May, b. Feb. 2, 1921. 

FOGG 

History states that the first of the name in the United States was 
Samuel Fogg, who came from Exeter, England, in 1630, and 
settled in Hampton, N. H., 1638. He had four sons: Samuel, 
Daniel, Seth and James, from whom are many descendants. 

Stephen, b. Aug. 12, 1730, in Exeter; m. Mrs. Sally Marsh 

in 1782. 
Isaiah, b. June 10, 1789, at Meredith. 
Stephen Norris, b. Feb. 3, 1817, at Meredith; m. Mar. 21, 

1816, Sarah Libby, b. 1779, at Rye. 



GENEALOGIES 213 

Amanda Gause, b. 1822. 

Josephine Brooks, b. 1858. 

Stephen Norris, Jr., b. Mar. 13, 1863; m. in 1890 Caddie 

Cowperthail, who came from Delaware. Their children: 

Thomas, b. 1891; Gilbert Norris, b. 1892. 

Stephen Fogg, born in Exeter, January 12, 1760, died in Mere- 
dith, December 26, 1842. He served in the Revolution as a 
private in Capt. Daniel Gordon's Co. of Colonel Waldron's 
Regiment of N. H. Militia from June, 1775, to January, 1776; 
was also a private in Capt. Ezekiel Worthen's Co. of Colonel 
Peabody's N. H. Regiment, under command of General Sullivan, 
from October, 1777, to October, 1778, during which time General 
Sullivan had a battle with the British in Rhode Island, in which 
he (Stephen Fogg) took part. He also served as private under 
Capt. Richard Sinclair in Col. Thomas Bartlett's Regulars from 
July, 1780, to the close of the war in 1781, being stationed a 
portion of the time at West Point and the remainder at Stony 
Point on the North River, N. Y. He married in 1782, Sarah 
Marsh, 1763-1842. She died in Meredith. Their children: 

Stephen Norris, b. Mar. 10, 1783, d. 1898; m. Amanda 

Gause, 1822-1899. 
Jonathan, b. Aug. 25, 1784; m. Susanna Gilman. 
Joseph, b. Feb. 4, 1787; m. Judith Gilman. 
Isaiah, b. June 10, 1789, d. 1877; m. Sarah Libby in Rve. 
Parker, b. July 29, 1791. 
Jeremiah, b. May 5, 1793. 
David, b. Jan. 20, 1795. 
Chase, b. Dec. 19, 1797, d. 1872; m. 1821 Sally B. Leavitt, 

1798-1888, dau. of M. Elizabeth Fogg. 
Sally, b. Nov. 27, 1799; m. Pratt Abbott. 
Polly, b. Nov. 27, 1799. 
JOSIAH, b. Oct. 24, 1801; m. Sarah Norris, 1818. Their 

son, Horace, m. Nellie Clark. 
Hannah. 

Abigail, b. Oct. 6, 1803; m. Daniel Cass of Meredith. 
Hannah, b. Apr. 4, 1805. 

Cass Hill 

Not a country highway only 

Has this old road been, 

Winding very crookedly as it does 

Tediously over Cass Hill, 

Where the stagecoach used to run, 

And today is a grassy pathway grown. 



214 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Its deserted house and buildings mostly gone, 

Its tumbled-in and open cellar walls, 

Its old fields and pasture, 

Reflecting sadness, and embracing 

Generations that are gone, 

A story of long ago and sad could tell. 

Linger here and pause a moment in Meredith — 

Become a counterpart of all the past; 

Try to feel its darkened shadows; 

Be a traveler, weary, yet fascinated, 

Wandering and musing o'er the "Old Homestead," 

And the sadness of the "Old Fogg Home." 

Legend of the Stephen Fogg Home on Cass Hill 
a ghost with a lighted candle 

On the high plateau overlooking Meredith Bay, an arm of 
Lake Winnepesaukee, and standing well back from the main road 
leading from the village of Meredith to Center Harbor, there 
stood many years ago, one of the prettiest farmhouses in New 
Hampshire. It was owned with a hundred acres of land, or more, 
by an old lady who had inherited it from her husband. Unable 
to carry on the land she sold it to a man, who, she claimed, 
cheated her out of the purchase money. He occupied the place 
but a short time after her death and then moved into a neighbor- 
ing house for some unexplained reason. The farm remained idle 
for several years and then it was rented to a Mr. Thoroughgood. 

It was not until some time after Mr. Thoroughgood had taken 
possession that he was made aware that his tenancy was a joint 
one. Returning one winter evening with his wife from a call on 
a neighbor they observed at the same moment that one of the 
chambers of their house seemed to be lighted, dimly at first, but 
growing brighter until what appeared to be the figure of a woman, 
robed in white and carrying a lighted candle, passed by the win- 
dow into a hall and on into another chamber, apparently opening 
and closing the doors between. 

As the phantom passed the window in the second room it was 
seen to turn half around and look out, giving to Mr. and Mrs. 
Thoroughgood a view of the face and figure. Then the chamber 
became dark and nothing more was seen of the mysterious visitant 
at that time. The house was examined by the couple, but the 



GENEALOGIES 215 

doors and windows were found to be bolted and barred, just as 
they had been left, and nothing had apparently been disturbed. 

It was not until some weeks later that the tranquillity of the 
household was again interrupted. Mr. Thoroughgood had com- 
bined with his agricultural occupations the making of shingles, 
and these were carefully made up into bundles and piled near the 
head of the attic stairs. One night after having completed ar- 
rangements for taking his shingles at an early hour the next 
morning to Meredith Village, he was awakened from a sound 
sleep by a terrific crash which shook the house, followed by what 
sounded like the bundles of shingles sliding from the attic down 
two flights of stairs, breaking their fastenings and distributing 
themselves over the entire distance. His wife, who had heard 
the noise, shared his apprehension that much of his work would 
have to be done over again. They made no investigation at the 
time, and their surprise was great on finding when day dawned 
the shingles intact and just as they had been left when they 
retired the night before. 

Again there was a brief respite from nocturnal visitors; then, 
in the middle of the night, came an uproar upstairs and down as 
though pandemonium had broken loose. A minute later the noise 
was transferred to the barn. The cattle were apparently, loose 
and goring each other, and their bellowing could be heard above 
the shock of their deadly encounter. Urged on by his terrified 
wife, and without stopping to dress, Mr. Thoroughgood rushed 
out to the scene of the conflict prepared to witness a distressing 
spectacle. He threw open the great barn doors, letting in a 
flood of moonlight on the sleeping cattle resting quietly and 
peacefully in their stalls. 

Despairing of being able to lead a quiet life in such close 
proximity to so unruly a spirit, Mr. Thoroughgood finally con- 
cluded to give up his lease on the farm and leave the neighborhood. 

Jonathan Fogg (second son of Stephen), was born August 25, 
1784, he married Susanna Gilman, daughter of Bradbury Gilman 
and wife, Hannah, she a daughter of Biley Gilman and wife, Mary 
(Webster) Gilman. Their children: 

Esther B., m. E. Morse. Their children: Randolph, 
Nathan and Harold. 



216 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Katherine G. 

Charles Gilman, m. Anna Worcester. Their children: 
Gilman, b. Feb. 4, 1903; Davis Howard, b. July 4, 1911. 

Chase Fogg, 1797-1873, married Sally B. Leavitt. 1798-1887. 
Their children: 

Sarah Adams, 1822-1912; m. Rev. Cleaves. 

Jeremiah Leavitt, 1825-1912; m. 1875, Ella Archie, dau. of 

Edith Adele; m. Harry Hayne Fogg in 1880. 
Nancy L., 1828-1912; m. Parmenas Heath and lived at 

home. She cared for her parents. 
William Taylor, 1830-1900. 

Catherine R., 1832-1913; m. second, Rev. Cleaves. 
Susan Gilman, 1837-1922; m. Pratt Abbott. 
Mary Elizabeth, 1839-1903. 

Sarah Adams, born in 1822, married Rev. Francis E. Cleaves, 
Their children: Edwin Chase; William Perley, born in 1854. 

Rev. Francis E. Cleaves, married, second, Catherine R. Fogg, 
1832. Their children: Charles Stanley, died in 1917; Annie. 

Jerermah Leavitt Fogg, born in 1825, married Rhoda Ann Tay- 
lor, 1839-1873; marriage, second, Ella A. Brown, born in 1847. 
Their children: Edith Adele, born in 1876; Harry Hayne, 1880- 
1883. 

Nancy Leavitt Fogg, born in 1828, married Parmenas Watson 
Heath. Their children: Selwin Chase and Edward Warren, 

William Taylor, born in 1830, married Frances Ann, 1833-1907, 
of New Hampton, only daughter of Dr. Jeremiah Smith, 1796- 
1863, and wife, Charlotte Smith, 1804-1850. Their children: 

Edward Harvey, 1860-1926, was a prominent business 
man in Manchester. He d. at his home in Manchester 
and at his request was laid beside his mother at Winona, 
near their old home. He had passed through the higher 
degrees of Masonry, and some of the highest Masonic 
officials of the state gave the impressive Masonic Con- 
sistory burial service at the grave. 

Clara S., b. 1857; m. Francis Henry Bacon, who d. 1898. 
They lived in Brookline, Mass. She was a talented 
successful teacher, before her marriage. She is now living 
with the sister at the old home in Manchester. 

Jennie C, 1863-1864. 

Susie C, b. July 2, 1872, has been a successful teacher, but 
left her work and cared for the mother and brother in 
their last days. She now occupies a position as councillor 



GENEALOGIES 217 

and is president of the Natural Science Department of the 
Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences in the art school 
of northern New England. 

Josiah Fogg, born in 1801, married Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Ferguson of Center Harbor. Lived in Moultonboro. Their 
children: 

Horace, b. 1863; m. Nellie Clark of Meredith. 

Charles N., m. Maggie Wheeler of Meredith. He m., 

second, Flora May Knowles, of Meredith Neck. 
Josiah, had a son John A. and his sons, John S. and Charles 

S. and a daughter Phebe. 
George W. 
Parker. 
Sarah, m. Charles Read. They had Abby and Lydia. 

From Vital Records 

Gilman B. Fogg, son of J. J. Fogg, and wife, S. G. Fogg, of 
Meredith, married Josephine, daughter of R. G. Smith and 
wife, M. A. Smith. 

Horace E. Fogg, son of Josiah of Center Harbor, married in 
1887, Nellie L. Clarke of Meredith, daughter of Frank Clark. 

Monument Inscriptions 

Flora M., wife of Chace Fogg, November 3, 1870. Their son, 
Harvey L. Fogg, May 14, 1905. On the other side, Annie J. 
Whittiman Knowles, 1862-1922. 

Children of G. H. and Martha N. Cram: Gladys, born in 
1905; died in 1906; Infant, born 1910. 

Clara A. Cram, 1850-1912, wife of John James. 

Eliza Jane, daughter of Russell S. Doe and wife, Eliza (Fogg) 
Doe, born in Cambridge, died in Boston, March 8, 1911. 

Stephen Norris Fogg married Emeline S. Burleigh, November 
15, 1838; she born May 29, 1817, in Sandwich. 

Mary N. Fogg, born October 8, 1839, married Elbridge Bur- 
leigh, in 1844, at Center Harbor. 

Mary N. Fogg married Henry Gilman. Their son, Jerome 
Gilman. 

Elbridge B. Fogg married Anna B. Marshall in 1868 at Phila- 
delphia; died in 1870. 



218 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Fogg Index 

Chase Fogg. His children : Stephen, Chase, Josiah and Joseph. 

Stephen Fogg. His children: Stephen, born in 1760; Jonathan, 
Joseph, Isaiah, Parker, Jeremiah, Daniel, Chase and Josiah. 

Isaiah Fogg. His sons: Dexter, Stephen W. and Josiah. 

Chase. His sons: Jeremiah L. and William T. 

Josiah. His children: John S., Charles S., George W., Parker, 
Sarah, Abby and Lulia. 

John S. Fogg. His sons: John A. and John S. 

(See pension records of Stephen and Samuel Fogg.) 

Samuel Fogg, 1761-1845, married Hannah Barton in 1782. 
He was born in Newmarket and lived there until 1788, then 
moved to Sanbornton, for a time, and later to New Hampton, 
then Holderness and Meredith. He enlisted as private under 
Capt. Ezekiel Worthen for nine months and went to Rhode 
Island. They had eleven children. 

December 8, 1845, Marquis D. Robinson of Meredith stated 
that he had been acquainted with Samuel Fogg and children for 
forty years. The children were: 

Samuel, 1761-1828. 

Lydia, 1785-1845; m. Noah Worcester of Thornton. 

Ebenezer, b. 1783. 

Margaret, b. 1778; m. Jonathan Cram. 

Phineas, 1748-1820; m. Lydia - -, 1745-1835. 

Josiah. 

Sally. 

December 9, 1845, Newell Fogg, born in 1781, of New Hamp- 
tom testified that he was 64 years old, a son of Phineas Fogg and 
a brother to Samuel, who was the oldest of ten children. 

December 9, 1845, Calvin Fogg of New Hampton, grandson of 
Phineas and son of Newell Fogg, said that his grandmother lived 
with Newell until she died, 1745-1835. He said that his grand- 
mother often spoke of her son, Samuel Fogg, who was in the 
Revolution. 

December 8, 1843, Jonathan Cram of Meredith, who lived on 
Cass Hill, testified that he was 67 years old in 1843; that he mar- 
ried Margaret, the third child of Samuel Fogg and wife, Hannah 
(Barton) Fogg. They had two children older than his wife, 
Margaret; they were Lydia and Ebenezer. From record in 



GENEALOGIES 219 

family Bible in possession of Samuel Fogg's brother, Newell 
Fogg of New Hampton. Their children : 

ClimenA B., b. 1811. 
Eliza \V., b. 1813. 
Samuel B., b. 1815. 
David C, b. 1817. 
Sarah B., b. 1819. 
Nancy W., b. 1821. 
Almira A., b. 1823. 
Mary H., b. 1825. 
Lucinda, b. 1827. 

Mrs. Climena B. (Cram) Fogg, aged 88 years, 7 months and 21 
days, passed quietly away at the residence of her son, John Calvin 
Fogg, at 31 Bridge Street, Lakeport, on Thursday evening, Janu- 
ary 11, at 6:55 p.m. Death was the result of an accident which 
occurred December 24. As she came down stairs, on entering the 
dining room, her dress became tangled in the door, throwing her 
heavily to the floor and breaking her limb two inches below the 
thigh. Owing to her advanced age, she was unable to stand the 
result of this painful and fatal accident. A peculiar circumstance 
in regard to her death is that a brother, Samuel B. Cram of New 
Hampton, aged 84 years fell through a scuttle on the 13th of 
last month and died from the injuries received on the 27th, while 
a sister, the late Mrs. Sarah Jones of St. Johnsbury, aged 76 
years, fell onto the floor in a similar manner in which Mrs. Fogg 
broke her hip and died from the result of the accident. This 
occurred some six years ago. 

Mrs. Fogg was the daughter of the late Jonathan and Mar- 
garet Fogg Cram, and was born in the town of Meredith on May 
21, 1811. Her family are a long lived race, her mother was 86 
years of age when she died and her father 81. She was united in 
marriage to Calvin Fogg at Meredith on March 15, 1834, and 
they moved to New Hampton a short time after and entered the 
hotel business ("Fogg's Tavern") in the vicinity of what is 
known as Fogg Station (now Winona). 

Mr. and Mrs. Fogg moved to this place 41 years ago (1859), and 
were always highly respected in the community. 

The deceased was the oldest person in Lakeport. She is 
survived by a son, John Calvin Fogg, foreman of the wood-work 



220 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

department of the B. & M. repair shops at Lakeport; two daugh- 
ters, Mary Jane, wife of Fred Gilman of Meredith, and Sarah 
Clay; also three sisters. Mrs. Charles Currier, aged 86 years, 
resides in Minneapolis. 

Jonathan Cram married Margaret Fogg. Their children: 

Mrs. Nancy Chase of Morrisville, Vt. 
Mrs. Charles Currier of Minneapolis, Minn. 
Climena B. Cram, b. in Meredith, May 21, 1811; m. Calvin 
Fogg in 1834. They went to New Hampton and ran the 
"Fogg's Tavern." They had a son, John Calvin Fogg. 
Mary Jane, m. Fred Gilman of Meredith. 
Sarah, m. Clay. 

Samuel B. Cram, 1815-1899, married in 1844, Sally B. Smith, 
1816-1898, she a daughter of Moses Smith, born in 1792, and 
wife, Hannah Cram, 1790-1815. Their children: 

Elisha Smith, b. 1846. 
Charles Henry, b. 1849. 
Lucinda Jane, b. 1852. 

Deacon Simeon Pease died July 30, 1843, aged 65 years. His 
wife, Mehitable Wedgewood Pease, died September 13, 1840, 
aged 65 years. 

Benjamin Pease died February 26, 1802, aged 58 years. He 
married in 1793 Rebecca, daughter of William Pike and wife, 
Phebe Smith, she a daughter of Robert Smith and wife, Abigail 
Cass. 

Phineas Fogg, son of Samuel and wife, Mary of Hamp- 
ton, 1738-1820, married Lydia — , born August 9, 1745. 

Their children: 

Samuel, b. Dec. 12, 1761. 

Simon, b. Oct. 9, 1764. 

Nathan, b. Dec. 31, 1768. 

Asa, b. Nov. 13, 1772. 

Mesech, b. Mar. 11, 1775. 

Noah, b. Jan. 5, 1779. 

Newel, b. Nov. 22, 1781; m. 1806 Polly Wedgewood, d. 

July, 1854. Their dau., Mary Ann. 
Deaborn, b. Feb. 29, 1784. 
Levi, b. Jan. 8, 1787. 
David, b. June 6, 1789. 

Phineas Fogg's ninth son, Capt. Levi Fogg, 1787-1853, married 
in 1809 Sally Wedgewood, 1785-1863. They lived for a time 



GENEALOGIES 221 

above Foggs Station (Winona). He was a very large man, 
weighing about 400 lbs. He and his wife died at "Fogg's Tav- 
ern," and were buried with several others in the orchard, north 
of the buildings, but when the Tavern was sold, the new owner 
removed the bodies to Meredith Village Cemetery. Those that 
had stones were removed. The rest remained. Children: 

Martha, 1820-1840. 

Parker, 1824-1841. 

George S., 1826-1863; was captain on a boat on Lake 

Memphremagog. He was killed at the battle of Chancel- 

lorville, Va., Mar. 2, 1863, aged 37 years. 

We could not find the family record of all of the Fogg family, 
but tradition tells us that Levi had a son, Calvin, who married in 
1835 Climena Cram of Meredith. 

John Fogg married Boynton at New Hampton. 

Mary Jane Fogg married Henry Boynton, a son of Mark 
Boynton. They had a daughter, Mary Jane Boynton, who 
married George H. Hall of Campton. 

Sarah Fogg married Charles Clay at Lake Village. 

John Calvin Fogg married in 1863 Augusta, daughter of Moses 
Sanborn and wife. Their son, Oscar V. Sanborn, lived at Lake- 
port. He married Hattie . Their children: 

Gladys Agusta Sanborn, m. Wilfrid Gauthier. 
Lillian Jane Sanborn, m. Dr. Conway, a dentist. 
Helen Sanborn. 

Disconnected 

Asa Fogg died August 5, 1776. David died in 1791. Phineas 
born in 1738, died in 1820. A Revolutionary soldier. His wife, 
Lydia, 1745-1835. Simon Fogg died in 1842; wife, Eliza Doe, 
died in 1845. 

Newell Fogg, 1781-1854; Molley, 1771-1851. 

Capt. Levi Fogg, 1787-1853; his wife, Sally Wedgewood, 1795- 
1863. 

John Fogg, 1801-1833; wife, Phebe, 1804-1877. 

Nathan F. Fogg, 1793-1852; wife, Hannah, 1793-1843; wife, 
Louise Perley, 1809-1889. 

George Fogg lived opposite Winona Depot. He was a son of 
Levi Fogg. A sister of George Fogg married Russell Doe, who 
was one of twelve children who lived in "Doe-town" (Rumney). 



222 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Russell Doe married, second, Lucretia, daughter of Timothy- 
Perkins of Center Harbor. They had a son, Rev. Paul Perkins. 

Charles W. Fogg (son of George Fogg, born in 1893 at Center 
Harbor, and wife, Lydia Hanscomb Fogg) married in 1863. 
Charles Fogg married in 1888 Mary Alice, daughter of Lorenzo 
Roby and wife, Jane , born in Holderness. 

Samuel Fogg of Meredith married Charlotte Wilkinson of 
Guilford in 1816. 

Abel Fogg married Mary Richardson in Meredith in 1822. 

George Gilman Fogg, born in Meredith Center, May 26, 1813, 
died in Concord, N. H., in 1881. He was a son of David 
Fogg and wife, Hannah Gilman (Vickery) Fogg. Her father 
born in Pittsfield, and mother in Exeter. He studied law with 
Judge Lovell at Meredith and Harvard Law School. He was a 
member of the N. H. Historical Society. He never married. 
He was a U. S. Senator and appointed by President Lincoln as 
U. S. Minister to Switzerland. He graduated from Dartmouth 
in 1839, and practiced law in Gilmanton. In 1866, he was U. S. 
Senator from New Hampshire. 

Seth Fogg lived and is buried in an old yard, where the Belknap 
County Farm was later located. He married Betsey Gile of 
Gilmanton (Belmont). They had a daughter, Caroline F. Fogg, 
who married Mr. Beede. Their son, Fred Beede of Meredith. 

(I have no connections of the Fogg family with Seth Fogg.) 

The Old Fogg Homestead 

Fractions from an article written on "The Ideal Abandoned 
Farm," by Allen Chamberlain in the New England Magazine in 
1897 (he was later associate editor of the Boston Transcript) , 
describing the Stephen Fogg homestead on Cass Hill in Meredith, 
which was located on the old Stage Road to the White Mountains. 

It was one fair day late in August, that we climbed the long hill by a winding, 
weed grown road, to get a close view of the ruin that we had seen through a 
glass from the valley below. 

The flowers and strawberry blossoms, with a ripe berry occasionally, were 
seen in the weeds, as we passed along. At nearly the top of the hill we turned 
aside on an old lane, that crossed a rocky pasture, skirted along the western 
edge by a magnificent maple grove and stone walls, and old orchards of apple- 
trees. This lane seemed to be nearly one fourth of a mile long, and ended in 
the dooryard above the orchard. 

There in front of the old homestead was a most beautiful picture of Nature's 



GENEALOGIES 223 

handiwork that nothing in art could equal — the view of the hills, lake, and 
valleys. 

The old house, in soft yellow browns and grays, weatherbeaten by the storms 
of many decades, and by its side the grinning skeleton of a former huge barn 
with lichens on its north side. 

To the south and west the hill sloped away overlooking thirty miles of island 
set and mountain girth lake, five hundred feet below, and westward were 
thrifty white farmhouses in the valleys and on the lower hillsides with their 
pastures, fields and woodlots, and beyond, in the distance, mountains on moun- 
tains. The view was delightful, but the old house attracted us next. It was 
with awe that we approached it, the varying angles of the roofs looked to have 
been built in four installments many years apart. This gave the flavor of 
antiquity. 

It suggested the old English manor houses with wing after wing, built by 
succeeding generations, and each addition showing a new architectural form, 
where the three generations each left its imprint. 

The original one-room low roofed cabin of the grandfather, Stephen Fogg, 
with a great chimney of old-fashioned soft brick, all out of proportion to the 
size of the house it was made to serve. 

On the other side of the chimney a roof of higher pitch arose, covering the 
addition of a couple of rooms. Beyond this another bit had been added. 
Apparently after a lapse of years they built the main house on the other end 
of the settler's cabin and the new part faced the west, with its gables standing 
north and south, while from the southeast corner the older sections formed a 
shop and carriage shed. This left the dooryard towards the barns, sheltered 
from the inclement quarters, and open to catch the winter sunshine. 

On the south the oaks shaded the dooryard and looked as though a landscape 
architect had laid out the plan for the old pioneer settler. 

After studying the house within and without, we came to think the old 
Grandfather must have had a potent seed of artistic grain hidden away in his 
makeup. Certain it is that it developed in his children and grandchildren. 

We learned from a neighbor that it had been one of the finest farms in the 
country; that it raised the finest corn which was the wonder of the autumn fairs 
and its hay topped the record of the town, for the land was fertile. Its long 
lines of massive stone walls, six feet thick at the base and four feet high, 
witnessed the patient labor and foresight of the owner and showed stability 
and taste. 

The house was the old story-and-a-half style, the main part 25 by 30 on the 
ground, it had been painted white on the south end and west, and on the colder 
side a warm buff. 

The windows had pretty green blinds that the wind had made havoc with the 
slats. The roofs were drained with gutters and conductors, and the gable 
ends and chimneys bristled with the lightening rod delusion. 

Along the western side was once a flower garden, with a riot of hardy shrubs 
and flowers that disputed the passage of visitors up the little brick path to the 
front door, with its broad hewn stone step, its heavy hand-made panels, and 
its wrought iron latch that had a dignity all its own. 

At the side door of this New England farmhouse, letting into the warm 



224 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

kitchen entry, we found the door fastened with a piece of ox-chain drawn 
through the latch and hooked. For nearly a quarter of a century no one had 
crossed the threshold in home-coming, though countless summer boarders had 
roamed through the rooms as the years came and went, heedless, feeling no 
reverence for the old associations that seemed to echo with every footfall along 
the ancient floors. 

When we opened the door the chain fell clanking against the casing, the door 
swung in with a weird creaking and we paused on the threshold of the great 
kitchen, which was a long, low-studded room that was half the width of the 
house, with only a small bedroom taken out of the width on the north end. 

Scarcely a whole sash of glass remained in the house and the winds had free 
access, so there were no musty odors. 

The doors of adjoining rooms, also of closets and cupboards, were wide open. 

The old fireplace had been bricked up, and beside it the brick oven, where in 
former days were baked beans, brown bread and Indian puddings, the thought of 
which made our mouths water for a taste as they came forth from its cavernous 
depths in the days gone by. 

Opposite the fireplace a door and three windows opened to the fields where 
many crops had been harvested. 

Here in this great room we felt like intruders, for this is where centered the 
family life. We fancied we could see the mother standing in the doorway, 
with a tin horn in hand listening for the halloed response to the noontide sum- 
mons for dinner. 

Here the children gathered in the evening to study (for they were well 
schooled, we learned), while the mother and older daughters made music 
on the spinning wheel and loom. 

On the poles overhead were strings of dried apples, with perhaps onions also, 
and in the chimney corner no doubt a pitcher of cider, for like all the farmers 
in olden days they made many a cask of cider in the old press, where the great 
hand-made wooden screws and massive beams are all that remain to mark its 
site. 

Everything pointed to the comforts of a happy household. Five stalwart 
sons and five splendid daughters must have relieved the father and mother 
of much of the heavy work. 

It was in vain that we searched about the house and farm for some clue to 
solve the mystery of the abandonment, but later we learned some of the hidden 
history of how this beautiful home came to be deserted. 

Two of the sons lost their lives on the lake. Another served his country 
on the battle field and left his ashes in the sunny south. The remaining two 
were ambitious to learn a trade and left the paternal roof and never once re- 
turned. One by one the daughters found other objects of their affections and 
went to make other happy homes. 

The mother thus left childless in old age, succumbed to a malady common 
enough but seldom recognized — a broken heart. 

The father was left in a cold cheerless home, and turned his tottering foot- 
steps towards his daughter's in the neighboring village. 

The farm would not sell and later, after the father was laid away in his last 
resting place in the little now deserted yard, not far from the house, marked 



GENEALOGIES 225 

only by a flat field stone unhewn and unlettered and beside it another unmarked 
grave where rests the broken-hearted mother, was the gratitude of these 
children who went out in the world and were successful. 

After a time a sale was forced and the homestead passed from being the pride 
of the country to be a horse pasture. 

In their last days two of the daughters felt the love of childhood drawing 
them toward their old home, and longed to be laid in the family graveyard 
behind the old house. There today their marble tombstones are the only 
incongruous features of the whole moss and weed grown spot, walled in and 
locust shaded, with some half a dozen stones. The lichen-covered slate stones 
of the grandparents are visible. Vet we were told by an elderly man that they 
were a happy household. The world and its people are queer. 

Out of the kitchen on the northeast was a sunny room used as a sitting 
room, grained very tastily, and across a front hall was a room used as a parlor, 
which opened into the kitchen, thus taking us completely around the great 
chimney; also a little kitchen bedroom, probably occupied by the father 
and mother. 

Across the kitchen, near the door where we entered, a door opened into the 
older portion of the house, and reverently we entered the grandfather's first 
abode. Here was unquestionable antiquity. No plaster anywhere; the walls 
cased in boards of old growth pine of a width that seems fabulous today; the 
ceiling planked across two massive beams of ax hewn oak; windows small with 
unequal sash and set with cheapest glass; and a great chimney with fireplace 
and oven occupying almost one entire wall. No paint ever touched the wood- 
work here, but smoke and age had toned those boards into a rich warm brown. 

A narrow doorway beside the chimney led into the first addition, made neces- 
sary by a growing family. Here were the first signs of aspirations to elegance. 
The walls were plastered and papered and one room had a cozy fireplace, 
presumably the first parlor. 

By giving the roof of this part a little higher angle than that of the original 
house, a goodly garret was made, where the children may have slept. 

At some later day another bedroom was added to the ground floor, a mere 
closet, just big enough for a bed and chair, with one window. 

The garrets were explored and here again was written the wealth of the native 
forests in heavy timbering of the roofs and in more of those wide pine boards 
upon the floor, soft as satin and brown as walnut. 

We sought the cellar, opening the two stout double doors of the rollway 
from without and peering into the two high brick vaults under the main 
chimney. Coming as we did from the strong sunlight into this subterranean 
den, those yawning arches filled with strong earthy odors and rumbling with 
a deep echo of our voices, suggested all sorts of uncanny things. It was like 
a dungeon of a ruined castle, but we knew that the place had never held aught 
but potatoes and apples safe from the frost and cold of winter. It was like 
experiencing Heaven after a taste of Hades, to come forth into the sunshine 
again. 

Back of the house, in what was used as a shop, we found the deep dark well 
with a great wooden grooved wheel hung in the rafters overhead, on which the 
bucket rope once ran. Here too was a chimney with bricked in kettles, where 



226 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

the sap was probably brought in the spring to be boiled down into maple sugar 
and syrup. 

From the hilltops we looked across the old fields so long untouched by plough 
or scythe and coming up to pines. Wherever was grass were pretty wild 
flowers. 

Sadly we left the scene, when the sun ran low in the western sky, to Nature, 
where the cricket sings unheard by humans. 

Let the winds sing a requiem as they whisk the autumn leaves through 
the old house (parts of which still stand, upheld by its sturdy frame) to him 
who will attune his ear to catch the air of the poetic story. 

Stephen Fogg was a Revolutionary soldier. He enlisted at 
Exeter in 1777, went to Machias, Maine, and was on the ship 
Ambuscade, which lay in the harbor for defence of Machias 
and adjacent river. After his discharge he again enlisted and 
served at Penobscott, Maine; also at Rhode Island in 1778. 
He was a pensioner in 1840 and lived on the Center Harbor 
Road in Meredith. He died in 1842. 

Elder Richard Martin, who came from Lee, N. H., was pastor 
of a Freewill Baptist Church in Guilford. He established in 1797 
a church called Gunstock Parish, and preached there until his 
death, besides preaching in many other places during this time. 

In 1800 he preached at Oak Hill in Meredith, and while there 
he baptized among others Robert, Abigail and Polly Smith of New 
Hampton. 

FOLSOM 

As history, John Foulsham, about 23 years old, his wife, his 
wife's father and mother (Edward and Mary Clark Gilman), 
three younger Foulsham brothers (Edward, John, Moses), Sarah 
and Lydia, who married in 1645 Daniel Cushing, were among a 
colony that landed at Boston in 1638. They came to Hingham, 
Mass., from Hingham, England. 

John Folsom and wife, Mary Gilman Folsom, as history, seem 
to be the ancestors of the family in New England. He was bap- 
tized in 1615 at Hingham, England, and married in 1655 Mary, 
the oldest child of Edward and Mary Clark Gilman. He died in 
Exeter on what was called "Rocky Hill." 

Abraham'' Folsom was of the third generation He married 
Huldah Eastman, and moved to Epping. 

John 4 Folsom, 1718-1790, married Abial Carr, in Brentwood. 
Their son, Nicholas Carr, 1747-1827, married Mehitable Flanders 



GENEALOGIES 227 

of Poplin, settled in 1769 at Meredith, and was ordained on a 
rock outdoors, August 31, 1782. 

Abraham 5 Folsom, 1744-1801, married his cousin, Hannah 
Folsom, settled in Meredith, and lived at Lake Milage, where he 
had a mill. He was in the Revolution. He had a son, Abraham 6 
Folsom, born at Meredith, 1777-1824, married Mary Libbey, 
1789-1865. They had a son, Joseph L., 1816 1855, who gradu- 
ated at West Point and went to California as a government 
employe. 

Nicholas Carr Folsom and wife, Mehitable Flanders, had a son, 
Samuel, born in 1767 at Exeter, married Lydia Smith, daughter of 
Elisha Smith and wife, Abigail Norris Smith. They had four 
children: John 6 , born at Meredith in 1781, married Sally, daugh- 
ter of Jesse Plummer; she died suddenly. In 1836 he married, 
second, Mrs. Eunice, widow of James Wadleigh. Their children: 

Noah, b. 1804; m. Polly Sanborn of Meredith in 1828. 
Tirza Fox, b. 1809; m. 1830 Charles W., son of David 

Brown. 
Sarah Morrill, b. 1837 ; m. Luther Morrison of Sanbornton. 
Chase Proctor, b. 1847; m. 1869, Celestia Howe; a farmer 

on the Plummer place in Sanbornton; other children 

married and went to other towns. 

Another daughter, Mary, born in 1774, married Capt. Elisha 
Piper. Their third child, Susanna Piper, born in 1799, married 
Smith Leavitt of Meredith, a farmer. 

Moses Piper, born in 1801, married Betsey Ambrose, died 1863. 
He was a deacon in the Pine Hill Baptist Church in Sanbornton 
and Meredith. 

Rev. Nicholas Folsom was the fifth generation of Folsoms in 
this country. His great-great-grandfather was the pioneer 
ancestor. John Folsom 1 , who was baptized in Hingham, Eng- 
land, in 1617, married in 1636 Mary Gilman and came to this 
country in 1638 with the Gilmans and others in the ship Dili- 
gent, settling first in Hingham, Mass., and in 1647-50 removed 
to Exeter. His line is John 1 , Nathaniel 2 , Nathaniel 3 , John 4 , 
Rev. Nicholas 5 . 

In a deed of gift to his daughter, John l Folsom signed the deed 
"John Foulsham, alias Smith." From research done in England, 
I find that our John first and all members of his English family 



228 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

signed "alias Smith " to distinguish them from the other numerous 
Folsom families living so near together. 

His grandfather, Adam (Foulsham), married Agnes Smith. 
Adam died and the children were probably brought up in the 
grandparents' family named Smith, so this branch of the family 
was called alias Smith, to distinguish them; and John 1 , to make 
his deed absolutely sure, signed it "John Foulsham, alias 
Smith." 

One year there was a scarcity of food, and Nicholas Folsom was 
speaking at the morning service, when some youngster entered 
and said, "The shad have come! The shad have come!" Priest 
Folsom stopped talking and said, " I close my sermon. The shad 
will do you more good than my talk." The fish were coming up 
stream at the Weirs, and the inhabitants needed the fish for food. 
The men all rushed down the "Shad Path," now called the 
"Roller Coaster Road." 

Nicholas Folsom was a surveyor. He and Mr. Longfellow 
surveyed most of the country in Meredith and near by. The 
last land they came to was a point of land on Meredith Neck; 
they hesitated and asked, "What will we call this point of land?" 
Elder Folsom said, " It looks to me like a spindle." They decided 
to call it "Spindle Point," which name it still retains. 

The old barn on the Folsom farm, built over 150 years ago, 
still stands. Five generations of Folsoms were born on this farm, 
who have all passed on. These facts were given by Mrs. Abbie 
(Blaisdell) Folsom, who has since passed on. 

John C. Folsom, born August 6, 1831, died March 3, 1892, 
spent his life in the old home. His death ended the fourth genera- 
tion who had lived and died on the same farm, which fell to his 
widow and son, Charles N. Folsom. 

John C. Folsom had one sister, Hannah Laverna (Folsom) 
Swain, widow of John M. L. Swain. 

Priest Nicholas Carr (Smith) Folsom was the first settler, long 
prior to 1800. After his death his son, Nicholas, had the farm, 
then his grandson, Joseph, and his great-grandson, John C. 
Folsom next. 

John Folsom, the father of Nicholas, came to Meredith in his 
latter days and lived with his son, Priest Nicholas, and is buried 
in the Smith burying ground (Opeechee). He was a prominent 
man in Colonial days and was in the French and Indian Wars. 



GENEALOGIES 229 

His father, John Folsom, was also a prominent man. He was 
killed by the Indians at Nottingham, N. H., as history. They 
were a worthy family. 

Died in Meredith (Laconia), on his farm, Priest Nicholas Carr 
(Smith) Folsom, June 4, aged eighty-three years and 6 months. 

Died, February 24, Mrs. Judith Folsom, aged 76 years and 10 
months. 

Died in Meredith, Hannah, wife of Nicholas Folsom, aged 78 
years. She left a husband and two children. 

Copy of Hannah Lavernia Folsom's Book 

Made May 20, 1849 

In Memory of the Generations of Folsoms 
Nathaniel Folsom, killed by the Indians at Nottingham, Aug. 22, 1747. 
Susanna Folsom, d. Mar. 30, 1759. 

John Folsom, b. Mar. 23, 1719; d. Nov. 27, 1810, new style. 
Abiel Folsom, b. June 15, 1721; m. Oct. 17, 1741; d. Sept. 17, 1796. 
John and Abiel Folsom's children's ages: 

Susanna, b. Jan. 6, 1743; d. Apr. 2, 1759, old style. 

Mary Folsom, b. Sept. 21, 1744; d. Oct. 17, 1791, old style. 

Sarah, b. June 15, 1746; d. Aug. 6, 1746, old style. 

Nicholas, b. July 3, 1747; d. Dec. 29, 1830. 

Nathaniel, b. June 21, 1749; d. Oct. 7, 1730 (error in date). 

Nathaniel, b. Apr. 16, 1751; d. Aug. 15, 1756. 

John, b. Mar. 26, 1753; d. Jan. 1, 1775. 

Abiel, b. Aug. 19, 1755; d. Jan. 2, 1775. 

Elizabeth, b. Mar. 19, 1757; d. Apr. 16, 1759. 

Joseph Seecomb, b. Aug. 26, 1760; d. Mar. 22, 1761. 

Nicholas Folsom, b. July 3, 1747; d. Dec. 29, 1830. 
Mehitable Folsom, b. Nov. 7, 1742; d. July 16, 1828. 
Their children: 

Samuel, b. Sept. 18, 1767; d. Aug. 1, 1845. 

Susanna, b. Dec. 23, 1769; d. May 22, 1845. 

Nathaniel, b. Aug. 6, 1772; d. in Meredith, 1811. 

Mary, b. Sept. 5, 1774; d. May 15, 1802. 

Nicholas, b. Nov. 25, 1777; d. Sept. 12, 1847. 

John, b. Nov. 17, 1781; d. Sept. 12, 1847. 

Abel, b. Mar. 25, 1781; d. Apr. 3, 1790. 

William, b. Mar. 25, 1786; d. Nov. 22, 1801. 

Nicholas Folsom, Son of Nicholas Folsom and Mehitable Folsom 
Nicholas Folsom, b. Nov. 25, 1777; d. Sept. 12, 1847. 
Hannah, b. Jan. 7, 1772; d. Apr. 1, 1850. 
M. Feb. 28, 1799. 



230 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Their children: 

Joseph G., b. Jan. 6, 1801; d. Feb. 20, 1886. 
Polly, b. Mar. 29, 1807; d. Apr. 31, 1870. 
Hiram G., b. July 13, 1809; d. Feb. 6, 1847. 
Joseph G., b. Jan. 6, 1801; d. Feb. 20, 1886. 
Deborah, b. May 9, 1791; d. Mar. 5, 1874. 
They were m. Feb. 12, 1821. 
Children: 

Sally ML, b. Oct. 31, 1821; d. Mar. 5, 1848; m. Nov. 12, 1846. 
Hannah Laverne, b. Aug. 17, 1820. 
John C, b. Aug. 6, 1831. 
Hiram G., b. July 13, 1809; m. Feb. 7, 1832. 
Judith (Perkins), b. Apr. 14, 1812. 
Their children: 

George P., b. Apr. 7, 1833. 
Mary M., b. July 11, 1834. 

Abraham Folsom, born in 1777, married Mary Libbey. He 
built the Folsom Batcheldor house on lot No. 14 in the plan of 
Meredith of 1770, which was allotted to Nathaniel Bartlett on 
Winnipisioca Pond, later called Lake Village, in the southern 
part of Meredith. 

He also, after the Revolution, built what was called the 
"Folsom Mills." The old house has been changed, but still 
stands facing Franklin Square. 

They had six children. The fourth child, Joseph L. Folsom, 
when young went to West Point Military School. After gradu- 
ating he was sent by the U. S. Government to California and, 
after a trip of about a month by water, he landed at Yerba Buena, 
now called San Francisco, and there served as quartermaster for a 
time. 

Joseph Folsom was among the forty-niners who went up in the 
mountains seeking gold, and was successful. He bought land in 
sections of California and several lots in what is now San Fran- 
cisco, and passed on in the prime of life. 

The town of Alameda and Alameda Bay were named by Cap- 
tain Folsom for one of his sister's daughters. The street of Fol- 
som was named for him in San Francisco, where he owned most 
of the lots, and the town of Folsom, near Sacramento, was also 
named for him. 

History tells us his early ancestor, John Foulsam, came over in 
the Diligent boat from England in 1638. The tradition is that 
John Foulsam was John Smith in England, but there were so 



GENEALOGIES 231 

many Smiths in early days, for distinction he changed his name 
to Foulsam. 

He was called an upright man, enterprising, and had a large 
number of descendants. 

Abraham 5 Folsom (Abranr 1 , Abram 3 , John 2 , John 1 ), born at 
Epping, married in 1 765 Hannah Folsom of Newmarket. He 
died in 1811 at Meredith and was buried in the Smith yard. He 
was a Revolutionary soldier. He had a mill at Lake Village. 
They had children. 

Abraham Folsom, born at Meredith in 1777, died in 1824; 
married in 1806 Mary Libbey, 1789-1865. They lived at Lake 
Village. The old Folsom house is still standing; it has been 
remodeled. They had six children. Among them was Joseph 7 
L. Folsom, 1816-1855. He graduated at West Point, and was 
stationed in San Francisco, Calif. 

Rev. Nicholas Carr Folsom (John 4 , Nath 3 ), 1747-1827, married 
Mehitable Flanders of Poplin, went to Meredith in 1768 and in 
1782 was ordained as pastor of the Baptist Church, the ordination 
being on a ledge. Children: 

Samuel, b. at Exeter in 1767; m. Lydia, dau. of Elisha 
Smith and wife, Lydia Norris Smith of Sanbornton, who 
cleared and settled the N. S. Davis farm. 
John, b. at Meredith in 1781; d. 1836; m. Sally, dau. of 
Jesse Plummer. He m., second, in 1837, Mrs. Eunice, 
widow of James Wadleigh. Children of James Wadleigh 
and wife, Eunice: 

Noah, b. 1804; m. Polly F. Sanborn of Meredith in 1828. 

Two daughters. 
Ebenezer P., d. young. 

Tirza Fox, b. 1809; m. 1830 Charles W., son of David 
Brown of Sanbornton. Their children: 

Lucinda, b. 1831 ; m. P. Y. Howland of Sanbornton. 
Noah F., b. 1833; m. Ellen McC. Smith. Five 

children. 
Sarah Morrill, 1837; m. Luther Morrison. 
Elizabeth Moses, d. young. 

Chase Proctor, b. 1847; m. Celestia Howe, a farmer 
on the Plummer place in Sanbornton. 
Joshua or Nathaniel Folsom. 

Susanna, b. 1769; m. Nathaniel Plummer of Meredith. 
They had seven children. Their third child, Sally Morrill, 
b. 1795, m. David Ames of Campton. Their fourth child, 
Nicholas, b. 1797, m. Susan Kelley. 



232 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mary, 1774-1802; m. Capt. Elisha Piper, son of Gideon 
Piper. They had four children. The third child, Susanna 
P., b. 1799, m. Smith Leavitt of Meredith. 

Moses P. Folsom, born in 1801; died in 1863; married Betsey 
Ambrose. He was a deacon of the Pine Hill Baptist Church and 
leader of the choir for many years in North Sanbornton. 

Elder Nicholas Carr (Smith) Folsom was ordained as a Baptist 
minister in Meredith on a rock in a ledge that is on ground owned 
by the State Home, on the Province Road, the second Wednesday 
in September, 1782. A short distance this side of where Elder 
Folsom was ordained, a small church was built, about the size of 
an ordinary schoolhouse, on the other side of the road, near 
where the schoolhouse now stands. Later he married 289 couples 
and baptized 297 persons into the church before he died in 1827, 
aged 80 years. He was buried in the Washington Smith burying 
ground, now called "Opeechee," on the Province Road. 

Ancestry of Amelia Folsom, Who Married Brigham Young 

John Folsom 1 . 

Peter 2 , married Susanna Cousins. 

John 3 , married Hannah Gilman; second, Sarah Lyford; third, 
Mary Eastman Burley. 

Peter 4 , born in 1718; married Hannah Morrison and lived in 
Newmarket. 

Benjamin 5 , born in September, 1740; married Hannah Pease. 
He lived in Wolfboro and was killed by a falling tree, 1773. 

Benjamin, Jr. ,; , born about 1764; died in 1823. He married at 
Gilmanton in 1785 Agnes Fullington, born in Portsmouth in 1759. 
Both are buried in a cemetery on the side of a mountain that was a 
part of their farm in Holderness, near the Mount Livermore 
House. 

William Fullington 7 , born at Holderness in 1788; married at 
Sandwich, N. H., in 1809, Hannah Skinner, born in 1789 at Lyme, 
N. H. She died at Buffalo, N. Y., in 1834. He married, second, 
in 1834, Ann Cornwell Bettis, born in Stamford, Conn., in 1802. 
He had nine children by the first wife and two by the second wife. 
He died in 1853 at Buffalo, N. Y. The third child was: 

William Harrison 8 , born at Portsmouth in 1815; married at 
Pembroke, N. H., in 1837, Zervia Eliza Clark, who died at Salt 
Lake City in 1863. He joined the Mormons and married, second, 



GENEALOGIES 233 

in 1863 at Salt Lake City, Elizabeth Gregory, born at Hyde, 
Cheshire, England, in 1839. He married, third, in 1865 at Salt 
Lake City, Lovina Huff, born at Navoo, 111., in 1845 ; died in 1907. 
By his first wife he had seven children; by his second wife seven, 
and by his third wife eight, twenty-two in all. His oldest child by 
the first wife was: 

Harriet Amelia Folsom 9 , born at Buffalo, N. Y., August 23, 
1838. She married in Salt Lake City, January 24, 1863, Brigham 
Young. She died December 12, 1910. 

Amelia's father has descendants numbering into the several 
hundreds from his twenty-two children. She had a brother 
Hyrum who died in 1924. 

Many are the amusing tales told of the sprightly Amelia in 
tormenting her old spouse. She was the seventeenth wife of 
Brigham Young. He had twenty-two wives, as history. 

FORD 

Capt. John Ford of Nottingham, a Revolutionary soldier, kept 
the garrison. He was a blacksmith and had eleven children. 
The third child, William, born in 1779 at Nottingham, married 
Betsey Hilton in 1801 at Deerfield. She was born in 1783, a 
daughter of Colonel Hilton of Deerfield, who was a lieutenant in 
the Revolution, where he was wounded in the hip. They lived 
in Deerfield until 1803, then removed to Sanbornton, where he 
served as a blacksmith for thirty years, having a shop and mill on 
Sucker Brook; then he moved to the Oliver Calef farm, about 1833, 
where he died, aged 70 years, in 1849. They had twelve children. 

Captain John had a brother Thomas, who was said to be the 
grandfather of Governor Ford of Ohio. 

Thomas married Amanda Randlett of Sanbornville, an aunt to 
Mary Elizabeth Hanson (an only child). 

Thomas Ford in 1754 drew lot No. 5 in the First Division, 
Range 7, and 75 acres in the Third Division. Thomas Ford was 
one of the Masonian proprietors of Meredith. 

GEORGE 

Josiah George, son of Josiah, was a Revolutionary soldier, who 
died in service. While he was in the army his home burned and 
his wife and babe perished, but a son, Josiah, rescued two young 
sisters. He lived with Nathaniel Piper and there served his time. 



234 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Josiah 2 George married Peace Hodgdon about 1793, and settled 
in between the Turnpike and New Hampton Road (the old 
Mountain Road), where he died in 1847. His wife, Peace Hodg- 
don was born in 1774. She was a member of the Free Baptist 
Church at New Hampton. They had twelve children. After 
the death of her husband she removed to Lake Village, and there 
died in 1858. 

Their second son, Edmund Hodgdon George, born March 7, 
1801, was a farmer on the old Mountain Road in New Hampton. 
He married in 1826 Mary Huse, born in 1801 . daughter of William 
Huse, a Revolutionary soldier, and wife, Rachel Bryer, in Epping. 

The church history states that in 1786 William Huse renewed 
his covenant with God and the same day his wife, Rachel, was 
baptized and admitted to full communion, and a few days later 
three children were baptized and admitted to the church. Per- 
haps this was the "Old Pine Hill Church." 

Benaih Sanborn George, born December 10, 1832, married 
Annie L. Gordon in 1860, daughter of James Gordon, a farmer at 
the Weirs. He was postmaster at Weirs. They removed to Lake 
Village. She died at Weirs in 1878. They had a daughter, Grace 
Marion, born in 1871. 

He married, second, Gertrude Mary Davis, born at Milton, 
Mass., October 15, 1861, a daughter of John Lovell Davis, born 
in Campton, N. H., and wife, Sarah Porter Blodgett, she born in 
Fort Covington, N. Y., daughter of Ebenezer Blodgett, born in 
1786, at Hudson (then Nottingham, west). He died in 1870. 
He married at Dorchester, N. H., 1827, Sally Cheever of Danvers, 
Mass., she born in 1800; died in 1886. 

Ebenezer Blodgett was a son of Asahel 5 Blodgett, born in 1755 
at Hudson, N. H.; died in 1842. His wife was Catherine Pollard, 
1761-1795. He married, second, Lois Pollard. They had six 
children. 

Asahel ; Blodgett was the son of Jeremiah 5 Blodgett, born in 
1721, and his wife, Miriam Provender, who died in 1800. Their 
children by second wife: 

Catherine, b. Nov. 24, 1782. 
Asahel, b. May 15, 1784. 
Ebenezer, b. Jan. 14, 1786. 
Isaac, b. Aug. 12, 1787. 
Sibyl, b. Nov. 13, 1789. 



GENEALOGIES 235 

Lois, 1). Feb. 17, 1792; m. 1845 Wales Dole Canaan. 
Caleb, b. Dec. 13, 1 793. 

OILMAN 

Edward Gilman, the emigrant, was born about 1587 at Hing- 
ham, Xorfolk County, England. They came to Boston in 1638 
with three sons and two daughters. Edward 4 Gilman married 
Mary Clark, June 3, 1614, who died in 1681. 

Their daughter, Mary 2 , baptized August 6, 1615, at Hingham, 
England, married John Foulsham, one of the passengers on the 
ship Diligent. His grandson, Elder Nicholas Folsom, was the 
first preacher in Meredith, on the Parade. He was ordained on a 
ledge outdoors before any church was built. The ledge is now 
owned by the State Home. 

Moses Gilman, baptized March 11, 1630, at Hingham, England, 
married Elizabeth, daughter of William Hersie and wife, Eliza- 
beth. His will was probated in 1702. 

Their third child, James Gilman, born May 31, 1665, died in 
1753, married Mary, daughter of Christian Dolloff. He was 
among the petitioners for the protection of Massachusetts Colony. 
He sold a part of Moses Gilman's grant of 600 acres of land. He 
presented a claim to land, granted his father in 1714, and received 
a deed of land from his mother, April 25, 1714. He gave land for a 
highway from Newfield to Nottingham. He with 262 others 
petitioned to be joined to Massachusetts in 1739. 

Jeremiah 4 Gilman, born in 1700, died in 1796, was a proprietor 
in Gilmanton, 1727. He had land assigned him in Gilmanton, 
later called Meredith, nine acres at home and seven acres at 
Mackeral Brook, joining his father's ten acres. He sold his land 
in Newmarket to Samuel Brackett. 

A second son 5 , born in 1727, died in 1824, at Meredith, married 
Elizabeth Mead, daughter of John Mead, on the Province Road 
in Meredith, she born in 1727, buried at Meredith in 1824. He 
was killed by the Indians at the massacre at Fort William Henry, 
Lake George, in 1757. 

Their second son, Bradbury 5 Gilman, born November 5, 1755, 
died in 1842, married his cousin, Hannah Gilman, born in 1757, 
daughter of Biley Gilman fi and wife, Mary (Webster) Gilman, 
1730-1803. Their children: 



236 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Susanna, m. Jonathan Fogg, b. at Meredith in 1820; d. 1892. 
He m. Caroline Melvin: 

Gertrude B., b. 1863; m. 1891, John White Center. 
Susanna G., b. 1868; m. 1913, Victor E. Stevens. 
Mary Ellen, b. 1844; m. 1883, Trueman J. Chase. 
Charles, b. 1850; m. 1872, Clementine Hartford. He d. 
1909. Their children were b. in Manchester. 

One writer states that branches of the Gilman family were 
numerous in New Hampshire. The branch that went to Mere- 
dith sprang from Moses, who was in Hingham, Mass. ; later in 
Exeter. 

The line runs: Moses 1 , James 2 , Timothy 3 , James 4 , David 5 , 
James 6 , who was a son of David and wife, Sally (Clark) Gilman, 
and a grandson of James 4 and wife, Deborah (Goodhue) Gilman, 
born at Meredith in 1813. 

James 4 , born at Newmarket in 1750, was a farmer for forty 
years at Newmarket, when they, with children, James, Samuel, 
Uriah, Deborah, David and Josiah, removed to Meredith in 1790. 
He was in the Revolution, served from Portsmouth, and was a 
highly respected man. He died in 1838; his wife died in 1815. 

David 5 , fourth son of James, married Sally, daughter of Moses 
Clark of Sanbornton. Their children were James, Martha and 
David. Less than five years after David's marriage, he died, 
and his father, David 5 , took his grandchildren and their mother 
home. 

James 6 Gilman, the oldest of the three grandchildren, farmed at 
his grandfather's and resided in the house his grandfather built in 
1790. In 1836 he married Susan, daughter of William Mead and 
wife, Eunice (Roberts) Mead, born in 1810. Mrs. Eunice 
(Roberts) Mead descended from two pioneer families, William 
Mead, who had seven girls and four boys. William Mead Gilman 
married Eunice, born in 1789, daughter of Lieutenant Roberts. 

William Mead Gilman 2 was a farmer, where his grandson, 
Joseph Gilman, later lived on Meredith Neck. 

Joseph Mead Gilman married twice. He had fifteen children: 
Eunice, Joseph, William, John, Joshua, Benjamin, Daniel, Polly, 
Abigail, Susan and her twin, Stephen Smith, Stephen and Sarah 
Gilman. 

James Gilman and wife, Susan (Mead) Gilman, had children: 



GENEALOGIES 237 

Granville B., b. 1837; m. Carrie Fletcher. Lived in Cali- 
fornia. 

Martha Jam:, b. 1839. 

James Marshall, b. 1842; m. Mattie Smith. Lived in 
California; six children. 

Mary Susan, b. 1843. 

David Frank, b. 1846. 

Sarah Frances, 1849-1850. 

ELLEN Lill, b. 1851; m. Fred S. Prescott. They had chil- 
dren, Leo F., Harry S. and Frank G. 

Fanny M., d. young. 

Bradbury Gilman married Hannah Gilman, daughter of Biley 
Gilman and wife, Mary (Webster) Gilman. Their children: 

Susanna, m. Jonathan Fogg. 

Deborah, m. Robert Sargent. 

Charles, m. Anna Worcester of Meredith. 

Mary, m. John Robinson. Their son, Henry Harrison 

Robinson. 
Elizabeth, m. Dudley Safford of Exeter. 
Burley, m. Mercy Robinson, b. 1761, in Newfield. 
Hannah, m. Timothy Sanborn. 
Judith, m. Joseph Fogg. 
James, m. Elizabeth Robinson of Meredith. They had a 

son, David Robinson. 

GOVE 

As history, John Gove was in England in 1647. A little later 
he came to Cambridge, Mass. From him descended the family 
down to Ebenezer Gove, who followed the tailors' trade, and also 
made clothes for the Revolutionary soldiers. History tells us 
that he sewed nights by the light of a pitch-pine knot, where he 
fixed a place in his chimney to hold the knot. He went to San- 
bornton and settled, as he signed the "Test" there before 1776. 
He lived near Winnesquam Bay, and married Susanna Swain, a 
sister to Ichabod Swain, who lived near the Josiah Sanborn farm, 
below the Bay Meetinghouse, and another sister married Josiah 
Sanborn. Later he traded farms (as many did when they saw 
that they could improve their situation), and in 1815 he moved to 
Andover, later to Vermont, where he died. They had eight 
children. 

His son, Richard Gove, born in 1776, married Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Ezekiel Fellows of Andover. He had a lieutenant's com- 



238 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

mission given him by John Langdon in 1785. He was a jeweller 
and lived for a time near Sanbornton Bridge, then for a time in 
Dover, and later was in Peru, N. Y. Their children: 

Benjamin Page Gove, born in 1806, was a jeweller. He mar- 
ried Rhoda C. Stone of Winchester in 1837. They lived in differ- 
ent locations. He died in Hebron. His widow married Ransom 
S. Ladd, a farmer of Laconia, in 1860. She is buried between both 
husbands in Meredith Bridge Cemetery. Mrs. Ladd at her 
decease gave her home on Court Street to start a hospital. Dr. 
Wiley occupies the homestead, which has been changed. A 
daughter of Richard Gove and wife had a daughter, Nancy 
Gove, who married - Stearns. He died and she married, 

second, Levi S. Gordon of West Plymouth, a farmer. Their son, 
Albertus Stanford Gordon, born in 1848 at Hebron, worked with 
his uncle, Richard Gove, in Laconia. He married Anna Elkins. 
After her death he married Alta Burnham of Laconia, who died 
some years ago. Another son, Richard Gove, born in 1815 at 
Dover, went to Boston when young and learned the jewellers' 
trade. He went to Meredith Bridge and started business in 1833, 
with a small capital, but prospered, as he was a good repairer of 
watches and clocks. He married Mary Ann P., daughter of 
John Pickering Smith of Gilford, in 1837. Both died some years 
ago. 

Laconia 's First Automobile 

Edgar Harland Wilcomb writes of the first automobile seen in 
this section, under date of November 30, 1927, in News and 
Critic: 

Early one morning, somewhere about three quarters of a cen- 
tury ago, Laconia people were aroused by a terrible rumpus on 
the streets. The first thought of some was that Gabriel had 
arrived and was sounding his final warning, whereat they prayed 
fervently. Couldn't they plainly hear the shrill notes of his horn 
as he sped up and down the highways and byways just as had 
long been predicted? Others who were not in the habit of giving 
much thought to such serious matters stuck their heads out of 
their chamber windows, sniffed the pungent odor of burning 
wood and anxiously inquired of their next-door neighbors where 
the fire was. The drowsy night clerk at the old Willard Hotel 
shook himself, kicked his shins a few times to ascertain whether 



GENEALOGIES 239 

he was really awake, and hurried out to the sidewalk, where he 
was immediately accosted by an early bird who had been par- 
taking of his regular morning constitutional. 

"Did yer see it?" tremulously inquired the early bird, striving 
hard to remove the tell-tale moisture from his chin whiskers. 

"No; what in thunder was it? " asked the night clerk somewhat 
nervously. 

"Looked ter me like er young railroad engine jest hatched out 
an' runnin' wild with no perticular place ter go," replied the early 
bird. 

A condition of alarm was plainly noticeable everywhere in the 
neighborhood. Half-dressed people were flocking to the streets 
and conferring anxiously with each other. Dogs were slinking 
behind their masters with their tails between their legs, and the 
heretofore noisy roosters had ceased crowing. 

Fortunately it was too early in the morning for many horses 
to be about, but the market man's usually staid old nag, hitched 
between a wagon and a post at the corner of Main and Mill 
Streets, was vigorously pulling at his stout rope halter and acting 
for all the world as if he would like to break loose and run away, 
even at his sedate old age. 

The tooting, puffing, hissing, clanking thing, whatever it might 
be, was now coming back down the street, and everybody hurried 
to get out of its way. As it passed any observer could see that it 
was a steam engine mounted on wheels and being propelled by its 
own power much in the manner of a railroad engine. 

The boiler stood upright and was burning wood, as was evident 
by the smoke. This was the most common fuel at that period. 
In fact coal had not come much into use in Laconia, and gasoline 
for motive power was something that hadn't been thought of. 
The engine was not much different from the ordinary horizontal 
type and the whole thing resembled a crude hoisting engine 
mounted on wheels more than anything else. 

The contraption roared up and down Alain Street at a speed of 
fully ten miles per hour, which in itself was enough to astonish the 
nation. Imagine anything going as fast as that in Laconia 
seventy-five years ago! Also try to imagine the noise! It was 
simply terrifying to man and beast. 

A man sat behind the boiler feeding it with chunks of wood and 
manipulating levers — several of them — and, whenever he had 



240 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

time, blowing the whistle, though that seemed unnecessary, for 
the rattle and bang of the machine could be heard for miles away, 
at least. 

Thus we have somewhat of an idea of Richard Gove's "horse- 
less carriage," the first thing in the automobile line in the world 
so far as we know. Thereafter it occasionally appeared in public, 
generally on moonlight nights when there were few horses about, 
for twenty-five or thirty years. 

Maybe this father of all automobiles is still stored somewhere 
in Laconia; who knows? Richard Gove was the well-known pro- 
prietor of a jewelry store near the present News and Critic office. 
He was succeeded in business by Albert Gordon. 

HAM 

Clement, son of Jean and Maria (Machon) Messervey of the 
Isle of Jersey, England, born in 1655, was in Portsmouth, N. H., 
in 1673. He and his wife died before 1720. Their fifth child, 
Tamson, married in 1704, Joseph Ham. Their son, Joseph 1 , 
born in 1726, was a master shipbuilder at Portsmouth and later 
bought a farm in Deerfield. They had ten children. Joseph, 
born 1761-1843, married Betsey Page, 1767-1832; they settled 
in Canterbury on a farm. He was deacon of the Center Congre- 
gational Church for about forty years. They had five children. 

Joseph Ham, Jr., born in 1789. married in 1815, Susan Sargent, 
born in 1791, daughter of Zebadiah and Hannah (Foster) Sargent 
of Canterbury. Joseph Ham was prominent in town affairs and 
represented the town in the State Legislature, and succeeded his 
father as deacon in the church. They had five children. Their 
second child, Thomas Ham, 1817-1900, after he received his edu- 
cation, learned the wheelwright trade, and worked at that for a 
time, then he built a sawmill and gristmill in Lawrence, but later 
returned to Meredith. He was hired as superintendent of the 
Lake Company and had charge of building dams for some ten 
years. When the Lake Village Savings Bank was organized he 
was elected treasurer, and some twenty-five years later was elected 
president. He also made patterns in the B. J. Cole Machine 
Shops. Thomas Ham married in 1844 Mary Elizabeth, daughter 
of Captain Daniel Smith of New Hampton, who was Captain of 
the militia. He also kept a store and hotel, was postmaster of 



GENEALOGIES 241 

New Hampton, and a prominent Mason. History tells us that, 
his wife saw from their home on Park Street, the first train of 
cars pass through Lake Village. 

Capt. Tobias Ham, a mariner of Portsmouth, was knocked off a 
swinging boom from his schooner near Seabrook, and drowned, 
in 1800. His son, Samuel, born in 1794 at Portsmouth, followed 
farming. In 1837 he settled on the old Ham homestead. He 

married Caroline — , born in New Castle, N. H. They had 

ten children who lived to grow up: William F., Joseph O., Ben- 
jamin O. (lived in Portsmouth), Sylvester, Charles E., George H. 
and Mary Caroline, who died. Ann Maria married Charles 
Gray of Portsmouth. 

Tobias Ham, born in 1824, lived on Meredith Neck; married in 
1851 Hannah, daughter of James and Lydia (Bean) Randall of 
Center Harbor. Their children: Aaron, James, Haven, Sally, 
John, Ann, Lydia, Hannah, Oliver, Benjamin. Emma Etta 
married George N. Eaton of Meredith. She died in 1927. 

HATCH 

The early spelling of the name was "Hache." One John Hache 
came to Portsmouth in 1684 from the "Island of Jersey on the 
coast of Normandy." He was the first officer of a ship named 
"Shuttross." Later his name showed that he was the first officer 
of the gun ketch "America." He was a prominent man in 
Massachusetts Bay Colony. He left a son, Samuel, who was 
called " Captain." The generations later moved into the interior, 
and vital records show that Hatchs were in Stratham, and later 
in Tarn worth, N. H. 

In Gilmanton (Belmont) records show that Simeon Hatch, 
born in 1783, married Betty Edgerly of Belmont. She was a 
daughter of Hosea, and died near Meredith Center. Gravestones 
show it was in 1863. His wife Betsey died in 1843, aged 62 years. 
Records show that Betsey Hatch was born September 29, 1781, 
in Belmont, a daughter of Hosea Edgerly and wife, Betty. They 
were buried in a field of their home at Meredith Center and 
removed to "Oakland" with their descendants. Their children: 

Nancy, 1812-1868, was a tailoress; lived single. 

David, 1816-1872; m. Adeline Swain, dau. of John Swain 

and wife, Priscilla Bickford. Adeline d. 1881, aged 63 yrs. 

Their children: 



242 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

William Henry, 1844-1855. 

George A. Hatch, b. 1848; d. by his own hand, Sept. 30, 
1900. He ran a drug store in Laconia for many 
years and was a popular business man. The Hatch 
genealogy does not take in the Meredith family. 



HAWKINS 

Stephen Hawkins married at Dover, in 1719, Rachel Walling- 

ford. He married, second, Sarah . His son by Rachel, 

his first wife, John Hawkins, born in 1729; died young. Children 
by second wife: 

Mary, b. 1739. 

Stephen, b. 1741. 

Rachel, b. 1744. 

John, b. 1746; m. Lydia Bunker. 

Abigail, b. 1748. 

Elizabeth, b. 1750; m. Daniel Rogers of Durham; lived in 

Rochester. 
Hannah, b. 1752. 

Benjamin, b. 1757; m. Susanna Bunker; both of Barnstead. 
William, b. 1758; m. 1778, Lydia, dau. of John Bickford. 
Thomas, b. 1759. 
George, b. 1761. 
Ann, b. 1765; m. George Snell Hayes. 

From Hosea Canney 

John Hawkins, 1744-1820, son of Stephen Hawkins and wife, 

Sarah , came to "Moultonboro Gore" (later called Center 

Harbor) from Barnstead. He was a pioneer there and took up a 
tract of land (as tradition), which was given him for "bounty 
land" for his four years' service in the Revolutionary War. It 
was called Hawkins Hill until the land was sold to John Canney, 
then the name was changed to Canney Hill in 1826. 

John Hawkins married in Barnstead, Lydia Bunker, and 
started a house there to live in. He had to go to the war to serve 
his country, and left his wife and two young children. 

After Mr. Hawkins' return from the army it looks as though he 
came up to see his bounty land and concluded to settle on it. 
After Mr. Hawkins settled on Hawkins Hill, with his family, his 
wife's mother seems to have come and made her home with them, 
as she is referred to as being a very strong woman. Tradition 



GENEALOGIES 243 

states that she could lift a barrel of cider by the chimes of the 
barrel. She lived to be 108 years old, and undoubtedly is buried 
with the Hawkins family in the little yard on Hawkins Hill. 

John Hawkins and wife are said to be buried there also, and 
some of the family, as one stone still stands (that of Steven Haw- 
kins), a son of John and wife, Lydia Bunker Hawkins. Mr. 
Canney placed the grave of the Revolutionary soldier, John 
Hawkins, as well as he could, near his son, Steven, and the Mary 
Butler Chapter, D. A. R., set a government marble stone at the 
grave and placed a D. A. R. marker on the grave. 

Several children of Mr. Hawkins and wife are buried on the 
front row of the yard, with only field stones to mark the graves, 
as in those days marble or slate stones were to be had only at 
fabulous prices, and the early settlers could not get them or afford 
to buy them, and they used what they could get for markers. 

Their son, Stephen Hawkins, 1769-1825, married Polly Hunt- 
ress of New Hampton. The stone is readable, but worn from the 
storms of many decades. It looks as though Steven Hawkins is 
the child, five years old, his mother was leading when the bears 
chased her, and that she had another babe in her arms. This was 
in Barnstead, while her husband w r as gone to war. (See story 
later on.) 

There are some old settlers buried in the old yard, Nathan Fogg 
and wife, Mary; several of the Thompson and Berry families, and 
others unknown. 

John Hawkins, born at Dover, 1744; died at Center Harbor, 
1820. His wife, Lydia Bunker, born in 1745; died in 1817, at 
Center Harbor. Their children: 

Stephen, 1769-1825; m. Polly Huntress. 

Clement, b. 1770; m. Abigail Chase. 

Elijah, 1771-1851; m. 1793, Sarah Dudley, b. 1777. They 

had a son, Timothy Dudley, who had a dau. Louisa, who 

m. Charles H. Canney. 
Lovey, 1773-1853; m. Leavitt Roberts, b. 1772. 
Hannah, b. 1775; m. 1797, Stephen Kenney, b. 1771. They 

are buried in Meredith Village Cemetery. 
Ebenezer, drowned when young. 
Sally, b. 1781. 
Comfort, 1783-1850. 
John, m. Lydia Smith, dau. of Peter Smith and wife, Hannah 

Sanborn; lived in Exeter and Sanbornton. 



244 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

William, 1785-1870; m. Abigail Thompson in 1791. 

Francis, b. 1786 in Barnstead; d. in Meredith. He married 
Polly, b. 1789, dau. of Hosea Sturtevant of Moultonboro, 
b. 1762. He was one of eight children. His parents 
moved from Halifax, Mass., to Squam Neck (now Center 
Harbor Neck). Hosea Sturtevant was a Revolutionary 
soldier, was taken prisoner for a time, and was in New York. 
He d. 1850, aged 88 years. His wife was Sarah Paine. 
He was the oldest son of Church Sturtevant and wife, 
Sarah (Leach) Sturtevant. 

Francis Hawkins was famous as a building framer. He framed 
and helped raise a large barn in New Hampton when he was 80 
years old. 

They had children: 

Mahala, b. 1809; m. 1840, Salmon Farrar, in Meredith. 
John Smith, b. 1816; m. Elizabeth Lane; went to Oregon. 
Sarah S., b. 1819; m. Joshua Merrill. She m., second, 
John C. Mudgett. 

Hosea Francis, born in 1833, married in 1855 Sarah A., daughter 
of William Mudgett of Bristol, born in 1786 and married in 1815, 
Eunice Huckins. Their children: 

Laura Ella, b. 1856; m. Fred Rollins. He d. 1916. 

Arther Stanley, 1859-1880. 

Frank Alliston, b. 1862; m. 1888, Ella F. Atwood. 

Amy Eunice, 1868-1881. 

Harmon Curtis, b. 1872; m. 1894, Grace H. Wiggin of 

Meredith. 

Hosea Francis Hawkins married, second, Mary Evina, 1837- 
1890, daughter of Rev. Charles Homan. Their children: 

Charles Homan, b. 1877; m. Charlotte Wilson Seavey, b. 

1878 in Chicago, 111. 
Lyman Smyley (Jacobs), 1878-1879. The mother d. 1890. 

Hosea F. Hawkins married, third, Elvira J. Bemis. She died 
at the Home, 1819, in Laconia. He was deacon of the Baptist 
Church in Meredith for 47 years. 

From Mrs. Ruth E. (Hawkins) Woodman, wife of Ray Woodman 

Benjamin Sturtevant Hawkins married Mary Newell Boynton, 
daughter of William Boynton and wife, Nancy (Davis) Boynton 
of Holderness. Children: 



GENEALOGIES 245 

Albert Sumner, b. 1850; m. Clara Woodman. Their 
children: 

Elmer W., 1874-1896. 

Florence, b. 1875; m. Joseph W. Smith; one child living, 

Esther F. Smith, who is in Boston University. 
Arthur, 1881-1901. 
Bessie, 1889-1894. 
Edwin Newell, b. 1852; m. Emma Francis Smith, b. 1853, 
she a dau. of Francis F. Smith, b. 1829, and wife, Mary J. 
Philbrick, b. 1852; m. 1872. No children. They adopted 
a dau., Ethel, who m. John Hammond, a representative 
to the State Legislature. 
Rufus Colby, b. 1854; m. Addie Jones of Portland, Maine, 
dau. of William H. Jones and wife, Evelyn Byron. Their 
children: 

Laura, b. in Laconia; m. Harry F. Shields. 
Gertrude Ruth, b. 1891 in Fitchburg, Mass.; m. Ray- 
mond Pease Woodman, son of Henry Frank Woodman 
and wife, Bessie Jenkins. Their children: 
Frank Henry, b. 1920. 
Eleanor Ruth, b. 1925. 
Phillip Colby, b. 1927. 
Clarence Ellsworth, m. Jennie G. White. 
William Newell, m. Alice Smith; was killed blasting rocks 
at Winona on the railroad grounds. 

Stephen Hawkins, son of John, was a farmer. He enlisted in 
the Civil War and died from exposure. He married Jane B. 
Plaisted, 1810-1884; she was a daughter of a Revolutionary 
soldier. Their children were: Clara, William H., Lorenzo, James, 
Melisa, and Jonathan. 

William H. Haw T kins was born in Holderness. He was a shoe- 
maker in Meredith . He married Helen M . , daughter of Jonathan 
Emery of Meredith. He enlisted among volunteers in 1863 as a 
private and died from battle wounds. Their child, Dr. Frederick 
Hawkins, born in Meredith, studied and graduated in 1886 from 
Meredith, and later from a Medical School in Philadelphia. He 
located in Meredith, where he has earned a wide reputation for 
his skill, and has a large practice. He has also filled many offices 
of public trust. He married in 1889 Geneva, daughter of 
Thadeus S. Moses and wife, Emily S. Currier of Meredith. 
Their children: 

Helen, m. Leander J. Pynn. 
Ruth, m. Royal P. Richardson. 
Freda is a school teacher. 



246 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

A daughter of William Hawkins and wife, Abigail Thompson, 
married Harrison Smith of Center Harbor. No children. 

John Hawkins had a son, Elijah Hawkins, 1771-1851, who 
married in 1793 Sally Dudley of Center Harbor. Their children: 

Timothy Dudley, b. 1795; had a dau. Louise, who m. C. 

Canney. 
Mary, b. 1797. 
Jacob Eaton, b. 1800. 

Stephen, b. 1806; m. Jane Plaisted of Center Harbor in 1833. 
Elijah, Jr., b. 1811. 
James Madison, b. 1814. 
Jonathan Chesley, 1818-1838. 
Angeline, b. 1826. 

Elijah Hawkins settled on Great Island in Squam Lake, but his 
wife was afraid of the water, so they moved on to the mainland in 
Holderness and lived there some years. In late life they moved 
to Vermont, and there died. 

Timothy Dudley Hawkins, born in 1795; married Susan Piper, 
born in 1793; died in 1811. Their children: 

Alonzo, 1819-1826. 

Amanda, 1822-1902; m. 1846, William D. Boynton. 
Melvina, 1824-1904; m. 1850, Joseph B. Smith. 
Susan R., 1827-1873; m. 1851, John S. Hart. 
Louisa H. Piper, 1828-1868; m. 1862, Charles H. Canney, 
son of Hosea Canney, a cousin to Mrs. Reynolds. Their 
children: 

Hosea, b. 1863; living. 
Alice, b. 1868. 
Sophronia, 1833-1856. 
Frances H., b. 1840. 

CANNEY 

History tells us that the first Canney came to Kittery, Maine, 
in 1640. The family later moved to Tuftonboro, the father and 
seven sons, where he died in 1816, aged 90 years. 

John H. Canney, great-grandfather of Hosea Canney, in 1826 
went to Center Harbor, where he bought the Hawkins Hill. 
John's son, Charles Canney, 1835-1910, married Louisa H. 
Hawkins, 1828-1869. 

Charles Canney was a great-grandson of Major Bradbury 
Richardson of Revolutionary fame. 



GENEALOGIES 247 

Louisa Hawkins Canney was a daughter of Timothy Dudley 
Hawkins and wife, Susan Piper. Louisa was a great-grand- 
daughter of the first white settler in Holderness. 

John Hawkins was in the Revolution four years. At its close, 
after his return home, he took his wife and children and moved 
to Hawkins Hill in 1826. 

Timothy Dudley Hawkins married Susan Piper. He was the 
first white settler in Holderness. He was a lineal descendant of 
Thomas Dudley, the first deputy governor of Massachusetts 
Bay Colony. He came to Massachusetts about 1652. 

Charles Canney and his bride went to Center Harbor in January, 
1862. In May, 1867, they removed one-half mile away to where 
he spent the rest of his days. Their children: 

Hosea, b. Sept. 17, 1863, in Center Harbor. 
Alice, m. Charles Hill; resides with her son, Herbert, in 
Framingham. 

Charles Canney married, second, Mary E. Cox. 

The Lydia (Bunker) Hawkins Bear Story 
By Hosea Canney 

John Hawkins, when called into the Revolution, left a wife with 
a child who could walk (probably Stephen) and a babe in her arms, 
in some location between Durham, N. H., and Haverhill, Mass., 
as he was a Massachusetts soldier. 

Tradition tells us that he had started a house with two rooms. 
The sides and one end were boarded in, but one end was partially 
open, with some coverlids and quilts hung up in one end to divide 
it. 

After he left, the bears were prowling around, hungry, and 
entered the open end of the building, hunting food, but did not 
push by the quilts that shut Mrs. Hawkins from the outside. 

She was very much frightened, and the next day started out 
with a bundle of clothing, leading the older child, with the babe in 
her arms, who was probably Hannah, the oldest girl, who married 
Stephen Kenney. They are some of the oldest buried tenants of 
the Meredith Village Cemetery, with slate stones in the front 
of the yard. 

Mrs. Lydia (Bunker) Hawkins was dreadfully frightened. 



248 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

As she walked away from her home the bears were following her, 
and she feared she must give up one of the children. She threw 
the bundle down and started to run, as well as she could with lead- 
ing a small child and one a babe in her arms, praying God's 
guidance which child she should leave, and screaming and praying 
as she ran. The bundle of clothes she had thrown attracted the 
bears' attention for a time, and they stopped and tore the bundle 
in pieces, which gave her a little time to get ahead. 

Her screams were heard by an old gentleman who lived in a 
clearing not far away. He came to her rescue and took her to 
his home, where she lived until her husband, John Hawkins, re- 
turned from the four years' service in the Revolution. (Perhaps 
Hawkins Hill was given him for his military service.) 

This story was told to Mr. Hosea Canney by a granddaughter 
of Lydia (Bunker) Hawkins, who was Sophronia Roberts, then an 
old lady. 

Stephen Kenney of Meredith, 1771-1797/8, married Hannah, 
daughter of John Hawkins and wife, Lydia (Bunker) Hawkins. 
Hannah Hawkins, 1745-1847, died in Meredith. Their children: 
Mehitable, Trueworthy and Patience. 

From Vital Records 

Hosea Hawkins and wife, Sarah Sturdevant. Their daughter, 
Polly Sturdevant, 1790-1872, married Francis Hawkins. 

Hosea Hawkins married Sarah E. Mudgett. Their third child 
was born in 1862. Amey, 1875-1855. Hosea F. Hawkins, wife 
Melissa. Ason, born in 1872. 

BUNKER 

Durham History states that Joseph Bunker, the emigrant, is 
buried in Durham, also Benjamin Bunker, who was in the seige of 
Louisberg. Crossing Bunker's Creek, on the hill north of the 
highway, is the remains of the "Old Bunker Garrison," and near 
by is the old Bunker home, which has passed into other hands. 

The old Bunker graves are in a field across the highway, near 
the river. The field where the emigrant Joseph Bunker is buried 
is owned by a Mrs. Smith. 

Durham was the location of many Indian murders. 



GENEALOGIES 249 

HAWKINS 

Hannah Hawkins, 1774-1860, daughter of John Hawkins and 
wife, Lydia, is perhaps the youngest child of the "Bear Story." 
She married Stephen Kenney, 1771-1847. They lived near by 
and are buried in the Meredith Village Cemetery. 

Some of the children found of John Hawkins and wife are: 

John, m. Betsey Lane of Moultonboro; he of Meredith. 

Stephen, b. 1839. 

William, who was a shoemaker in Meredith; m. Helen M. 
Emery; she b. 1843. They had a son, Freeman Hawkins. 

Francis, 1785-1877, had a son, Charles; also a son, Hosea. 
Francis m. Polly Sturdevant, 1789-1872. They had a 
dau., Laura, 1814-1851; also a dau., Susan, 1819-1897. 

Timothy Dudley Hawkins (son of Elijah) married Susan 
Piper. He was in the War of 1812. He was a lineal descendant 
of Governor Dudley. They had a daughter, Louise, 1828-1868, 
who married Charles Canney, 1835-1910. 

William Hawkins, 1785-1870; his wife, Abigail, 1791-1854. 

Otis Hawkins, 1827-1909; his wife, Emaline, 1832-1893; their 
son, Benjamin, 1864-1870. 

Benjamin Hawkins, 1824-1863. He w^as in the Civil War, 
Co. I, 12th N. H. His wife, Mary Boynton, 1826-1901; their 
son, William, 1856-1898. 

Albert Sumner Hawkins 

The funeral of Albert Sumner Hawkins was held from their 

home January 14, at Winona, N. H., Rev. Cate officiating. 

A large collection of beautiful flowers were sent by loving friends 
and neighbors from in and out of the State. 

Albert S. Hawkins was born in Center Harbor. He was the 
oldest child of Benjamin Sturdevant Hawkins and wife, Mary 
Newell Boynton, she a daughter of William Boynton and wife, 
Nancy (Davis) Boynton of Holderness. 

Edwin Newell Hawkins, the second son, lived in and near 
Laconia, where he was a frequent caller with farm produce. 

The other sons have passed on. A daughter, Mary Ella, 
married Harrison Perkins of Center Harbor. She helped tenderly 
care for her brother through his suffering at the last. 

Albert S. Hawkins married Clara Ann Woodman, daughter of 



250 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Noah Woodman and wife, Relief Rogers Smith (Ebeneezer; 
Captain Elisha; Nicholas). They were married in 1872 and 
lived together fifty-four years on the old Smith homestead in the 
shadow of "Beech Hill," on the "Old Stage Coach Road," where 
a near-by neighbor, Captain Sinclair, each day put on two extra 
horses to help the four already on, over the steep climb up "Beech 
Hill." 

Here Mr. and Mrs. Hawkins were blessed with four children. 
Arthur, a brilliant young man, died at the age of 20 years. Two 
others, a boy and girl, died young. There was left to comfort 
them only one daughter, Florence E., who married Joseph W. 
Smith of Winona, and both of them showed devoted care at the 
time when Mrs. Hawkins was very sick with pneumonia. 

HEATH 

The Heath family came from Henniker to Meredith. 

David Heath, 1776-1850, married Judith Sargent in 1801. 
She died in 1802. He married, second, Eleanor Watson in 1805. 
Their children: 

Judith Sargent, 1806-1823. 

Abiah Gile, 1807-1900; m. Deacon Frederick Eaton, 1863. 

Anna Gile, 1809-1985; m. S. Sargent; d. 1900. 

Miriam Sargent \ . / 1811-1885. 

Sarah Harvey J twins \ 1811-1836. 

David Brainard, 1815-1850. 

Ruth Watson, 1817-1902; m. H. Sargent. 

Daniel Kelley, 1820-1857; m. Rebecca Wheeler, 1845- 

1897. 
Eleanor Watson, 1822-1880; m. Franklin R. Fuller, 1845. 
Parmenas W. Heath, 1825-1899; m. Nancy Leavitt Fogg, 

1851, she a dau. of Chase Fogg and wife, Sally B. Leavitt. 

HIBBARD 

David Hibbard of Concord, Vt., served in the Revolution. 
His son, Silas Hibbard, ran a hotel, and later in life farmed some. 
He married Olive, daughter of Zuriel Albe, born in Chesterfield. 
They had five children. 

Ellery A. Hibbard was born in St. Johnsbury, Vt., in 1826. 
After some years of study he came to Meredith Bridge, and won 
the title of being one of the best read lawyers of New Hampshire. 



GENEALOGIES 251 

He was a judge of the Supreme Court, in 1873, and was counsel 
on many railroad cases. He helped as one of the original directors 
of the Laconia National Bank and filled many offices of trust. 
He married in 1853, Mary, daughter of Jacob Bell of Haverhill, 
who was a direct descendant of Josiah Bartlett, one of the signers 
of the Declaration of Independence. Their children. 

Charles B., who m. Mary Gale, a retired teacher. He d. in 

1927. 
Jennie O., m. Ormon J. Lougee. 
Laura B., lives in Laconia. 



HILLIARD 

George Hilliard of Meredith married Sabrina Dow, 1806-1865. 
Their daughter, Catherine, married in 1861, Henry Moulton. 
Their son, George Damon Hilliard, 1852-1914, married Susan J., 
daughter of Isaiah Swain of New Hampton and wife, Lois Stanton 
of Meredith. They are buried in the Weirs yard. Their chil- 
dren: 

Harry Francis, b. 1878; lives on the Hilliard farm. 
Thomas E., b. 1881. 
Orrin G., d. young. 
Freeman S., d. young. 

Mamie Sabrina, m. Chester Avery; m., second, Stone of 

Gilmanton. 

Lydia Hilliard married Isaiah Swain of New Hampton. 
Benjamin Swain married Dolly Davis of Warren. They were 
parents of Isaiah Swain. 



HILTON 

Capt. Daniel Hilton, a Revolutionary soldier, 1748-1827. 

Maj. Daniel Hilton died February 27, 1867, aged 72 years. 
His wife, Eliza, died May 13, 1869, aged 70 years. Their chil- 
dren: 

George, d. 1830, aged 4 yrs. 
George, d. 1838, aged 6 yrs. 

Amanda, m. Jabez Garmon; d. 1904, aged 81 yrs. Their 
dau., Fannie E., d. aged 63 yrs. 



252 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Col. Joseph Neal, born in 1810; died in 1879; married Elizabeth 
Gordon of New Hampton. She died in 1881, aged 62 years. 
Their daughter, Clara E., 1846-1894, married George S. Hilton, 
born in Meredith, a son of Major Hilton. He built the house 
where Edward Ambrose lives. 

HODGEN 

Samuel Hodgen was born in 1842 at Halifax, Yorkshire County, 
England. He was a son of Ellis and wife, Sarah (Lassey) Hodgen. 
He was educated in England, and when 14 years old his great- 
uncle, George Wilcock, needed help so he took the position of 
manufacturing cotton yarns, where he worked for eight years. 
In 1866 he gave the position to his father and came to New 
England. He found work at Lowell in the dyehouse to color the 
yarns. One of the men there, Mr. Appleyard, soon after went to 
Lake Village to start a dyehouse, employed Mr. Hodgen, and 
gave him an interest in the business. In 1870 he began to manu- 
facture cotton and wool hosiery, and later made mittens, with 
good success. He later went to Meredith and there prospered. 
He married Elizabeth A. Dow of Ashland, who was a good help- 
mate. 

HUCKINS 

James 6 Huckins (James 5 , James 4 ) of New Hampton, farmer. 
He was born January 7, 1789. He married May 5, 1811, Abigail, 
daughter of Benjamin and Judith (Pottle) Smith of New Hamp- 
ton, born September 9, 1791 ; died in 1854, aged 62 years (as town 
record). He died January 21, 1825, at New Hampton. Their 
children: 

Ruth, b. July 4, 1812; d. Feb. 5, 1907; m. Dec. 9, 1841, 
Perrin P., son of Peter and Mary (Prescott) Dow of New 
Hampton (town record) ; a farmer, b. 1822 ; d. in California. 
Children b. at New Hampton: 

George L. of Gilmanton, farmer, b. 1842; d. Jan. 25,. 

1892; m. 1867, Emma F. Bryant. 
John M. of New Hampton, a soldier in the Civil War, 

b. 1844; d. July 7, 1864, at Washington, D. C. 
Elizabeth A., b. Oct. 2, 1846; m. Dec. 2, 1877, Samuel, 
son of Ellis and Sarah (Lassey) Hodgdon of Meredith; 
manufacturer, b. Jan. 19, 1842, at Halifax, Yorkshire, 
England; d. 1909. 



GENEALOGIES 253 

Rufus P. of Laconia, machinist, b. Jan. 1, 1849; living in 
1909; m. 1871, Abigail O., dau. of - - Sawyer. 

CharlesH.of Ashland, farmer, b. Feb. 28, 1851. Single. 
Hannah, b. Jan. 22, 1796; d. Feb. 17, 1882, at Plymouth, 
N. H.; m. Jan. 23, 1820, Bradbury, son of Benning and 
Deborah (Langley) Wilkinson; farmer; soldier in the War 
of 1812; a pensioner of Guilford in 1820; Campton in 
1830. Bradbury, b. Apr. 19, 1893, at Allentown; d. 
Nov. 22, 1851, at Campton. Their children: 

Mary P., b. at Guilford, Nov. 29, 1820; d. July 19, 1878; 
m. Nov. 29, 1848, at Boston, Ephraim A. Chandler of 
Wheelock, Vt., a farmer. 

Warren W., b. at Guilford, Jan. 1, 1823; lived in Plym- 
outh, 1865; m. Apr. 8, 1847, Mary M., dau. of John 
and Nancv (Adams) Moses, b. Aug. 22, 1826, at 
Campton; d. Oct. 31, 1904. 

John H., b. at Guilford, Dec. 18, 1824; a railroad em- 
ployee; d. Dec. 31, 1870; m. Apr. 15, 1863, Mary C, 
dau. of Daniel M. and Hannah (Abbott) Smith, b. 
May 14, 1834, at Holderness. 

Lavina, b. at Campton, Feb. 6, 1828; d. 1849; m. Feb. 6, 
1849, Alfred, son of Samuel and Vashti (Dustin) 
Page of Campton. 

Charles H., b. at Campton, in Plymouth, Apr. 5, 1830; 
a dairy farmer; d. May 6, 1897; m., first, 1864, Hor- 
tense Brown, she d. 1865; m., second, Sept. 3, 1867, 
Martha E., dau. of Anthony and Esther (Smith) 
Colby, b. 1840 at Franklin, d. 1872; m., third, 1876, 
Hannah Powers at Hebron, d. 1897. 

George H., b. at Campton, May 26, 1837; tinsmith; 
d. 1899; m. Feb., 1863, Mary A., dau. of Jacob and 
Leah Wilkinson, b. at Guilford, d. May, 1874; m., 
second, Oct. 28, 1878, Elizabeth Tyler, b. at Canaan; 
living in 1909 at Braintree, Mass. 

JENNESS 

William Jenness, 1791-1869; his wife, Betsey, 1793-1878. 
Their children, Anna, 1834-1855; George, 1834-1857. 

Betsey (Jennes) Curry, 1828-1894; George W. Curry, 1826- 
1894. 

John H. Jenness, 1852-1926; his wife, Josephine Kelley, 1860. 

Samuel Jenness, 1823-1914; his wife, Elvira, 1834-1880. 

Joshua Jenness, 1820-1900; his wife, Diantha, 1824-1888. 
Their children, Martha Ann, 1850-1850; Permelia Ann, 1860- 
1910. 



254 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Solomon Kelley, 1801-1876; his wife, Sarah Jenness, 1811-1876. 
Their children, Martin V., 1844-1861; Robert, 1848-1850. 

Orrin Jenness, 1816-1861; his wife, Sally, 1825-1849. 

John Jenness had a mill at Meredith Village, where Ebenezer 
Smith had bought James Gibson's right in 1767, which was where 
the brook ran from Measley Pond to Meredith Bay. John 
Jenness bought this in 1795, reserving a part of the land. His 
sons: Orin, Prescott and Josiah. 

Orin Jenness married Lydia Jenness, daughter of Josiah Jen- 
ness, a double cousin. Their children: 

Ella, m. Albert Jenness, son of Charles Jenness and grand- 
son of Prescott Jenness. 
Alonzo, Jr. 

Samuel, son of John Henry Jenness. 

Alonzo Jenness, 1852-1919; his wife, Lydia, 1854-1902. 

JULE, JOYELL, JEWELL 

History states that John Jewell, who was born in the north of 
Devonshire in 1522 and died in 1571, was probably one of the 
ancestors of Thomas Jewell, who was born (as authentic records) 
in the early part of 1639, and when the Pilgrims landed, more than 
eighteen years afterward -at Plymouth, he had a wife and one 
child. 

The Boston Record stated that "the 24 day, 2 month, 1639" 
there was "granted to Thomas Jewell of the Mount Miller, for 
three heads, twelve acres, upon the covenant of three shillings 
an acre." This "Mount" was Mt. Wallaston, first settled in 
1625, and named for Captain Wallaston. It was incorporated 
as Braintree in 1640. Quincy was set off in 1702 and Randolph 
in 1793. The tract was laid to Boston by the General Court or 
Legislature in 1634; and December 11 of that year the inhabit- 
ants, after convening, chose seven men who should divide these 
lands to each person who might improve them, at the rate of four 
acres to each person in the family; gratuitously to citizens of 
Boston and for three shillings per acre to others. 

Thus is recorded "24th day, 12th mo., 1649, granted to Henry 
Adams (a progenitor of the President), for 10 heads, 40 acres, upon 
the same covenant of three shillings per acre." 

His will reads as follows: 



GENEALOGIES 255 

The will of Thomas Jewell of Brantray, while he is yet in perfect memory. 

My soule I commit into the hands of Almighty God in ye mediation of Jesus 
Christ, and my body to the dust. 

All ye estate which God hath given me I doe give to my wife for to be hers as 
long as she is a widow, and so remains; but if she shall marry, then to divide it 
into three parts; and two parts to be divided among my children, and the third 
to be hers; I doe by this will give power to these two of my friends herein men- 
tioned name William Neadam and Tho ffoster, to take the care and oversight 
of all my estate for my wife and children good, according to your best wisdom 
to be orered. 

dated the 10th, 2d month 1654. 

From Farmer's "Genealogical Register" 

Thomas Jewell of Brantry had sons: 

Joseph, b. Apr. 24, 1642; d. in Stow, Mass. 

Nathaniel, b. Apr. 18, 1648; d. in Plainfield, Conn., in 1712. 

Thomas, m. Susannah Guilford, Oct. 18, 1672. Their 

children were Thomas, Hannah, John, Hannah, Samuel 

and Joseph. 

Thomas 3 married Martha- — . Their children, Nathaniel 
and Benoni. 

John Jewell married Hannah Prowse January 9, 1702. Their 
children: Abigail, Thomas, Hannah, John and Barnes. 

Samuel Jewell married Sarah King November 6, 1712. Their 
children: David, Mary, Sarah, Elizabeth, Ruth, Susannah, 
Dorothy, Thomas and Timothy. 

Joseph Jewell married Anna Quimby January 1, 1717. Their 
children: Mary, Jonathan, Anna, Hannah, Lydia, Judith. 

Fourth generation: Nathaniel Jewell married -. 

Children, James and Samuel. 

Benoni Jewell married Dorcas Hadlock about 1748. Their 
children : Thomas, James, Martha, Benjamin, Sarah, Asa, Benoni, 
Polly, David and Dorcas. 

Thomas Jewell married Judith Lancaster, 1732. Their chil- 
dren: Henry, John, Sarah, Judith, Hannah, Anna, John, Enoch 
and Polly. 

Barnes Jewell married Dorothy Jones, 1740. Their children: 
Ezra, Susanna, Miriam, Anna and Dorothy. 

David Jewell married Elizabeth Dowe. Their children: 
Joseph, David, Daniel (born in 1744, died at Stratham in 1838), 
Susanna, Elizabeth, Sarah and Mary. 



256 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Daniel Jewell married Sarah Sanborn. Their daughter, 
Betsey, married Jonathan Thompson; second, Nathaniel Bur- 
leigh. She died in Holderness. 

Betsey married Robert Haight; second, Rogers. 

Nancy married David Burleigh. 

Sally married Joseph Crocket. 

Daniel died in New Hampton. 

Anna (Nancy), born in 1768; married Phillip Smith; second, 
Abraham Drake; died at Holderness March 31, 1865, in her 92d 
year. 

Anna and Phillip Smith's children: Parker, Page, Betsey, 
Sally (who married Jeremiah Burleigh), and Charlotte, who 
married Dr. Jeremiah Smith, son of Deacon Nicholas Smith of 
New Hampton and wife, Mary Marston, daughter of Reuben 
Marston, Jr., of Meredith. They settled near the Dr. Dana 
Meetinghouse, where he practiced medicine. 

Lydia, born in 1771; married John Haines in 1794; died at 
Newmarket in 1849. Their daughter, Eleanor, born in 1795, 
married Joseph Batcheldor in 1839; second, Josiah Folsom of 
Newmarket. 

John Haines, born March 19, 1797; married Hannah Parker; 
second, Mary Neale of Newmarket. 

Frederick Haines, born in 1799; married Olive Merrill about 
1821, Newmarket. 

Daniel Jewell, born in 1801; married Mary T. Batcheldor in 
1836; died in 1859. 

Thomas Jeferson, born May 14, 1804; married Mary Rollin 
in 1828. 

George Washington, born in 1806; married Eunice Conant in 
1832; second, Abigail Folsom in 1849; lived in Newmarket. 

Lydia Jewell, born in 1807; married Ebeneezer Knowlton in 
1834; lived in Manchester. 

James Madison, born in 1809; married Lydia Tuthill in 1834; 
lived in Red Wing, Wis. 

Sarah married Rev. Ebeneezer Leavitt; died at North Hampton 
in 1851. Their children: Benning, Ebeneezer (lived in Rye), 
John, William, Sarah Ann and Ursula. 

Daniel, born about 1778; died in 1836; single. 

Simeon, born in 1789; died at Stratham, aged 80 years. 

Asa, born in 1782; died at Stratham in 1836. 



GENEALOGIES 257 

The Jewell family went from Stratham to Holderness, N. H. 

John Jewell married, about 1735, Hannah Lancaster; he of the 
fourth generation. He was a son of Thomas Lancaster and wife, 
Judith . 

Daniel Jewell married Sarah Sanborn. Their daughter, 
Betsey, married Jonathan Thompson; married, second, Nathaniel 
Burleigh. He died in Holderness. Their children: 

Betsey, m. Robert Haight, also - — Rogers. 
Anna Nancy Burleigh, dau. of Nathaniel Burleigh and 
wife, Betsey Jewell (Haight), m. 1768, Phillip Smith. 
They had children: 
Parker. 
Page. 
Betsey. 

Sally, m. Jeremiah Burleigh. 

Charlotte, m. Dr. Jeremiah Smith; lived near Winona. 
Anna Nancy (Smith), m., second, Abraham Drake. 
He d. at Holderness Mar. 31, 1860. 

JONES 

The Jones family, as far back as great-great-grandfather, Jacob 
Jones, who with his wife lived in Pittsfield, N. H. 

Jacob Jones was a clock maker, and made tall grandfather clocks 

that are so popular today. Jacob Jones married Ruth . 

Their children: 

Mary. 

Joseph learned clock making; settled in Vermont. 

Billdad and John, twins. 

Jacob. 

Nathan, d. young. 

Huldah. 

Abner. 

Jonathan. 

Joseph P. Jones married in 1830 Mary D. Davis. They had 
ten children. 

David D. Jones, 1835 1915. The third child enlisted in the 
Civil War, from Bristol, Vt. He married in 1859, Martha M. 
Conley. Seven children. 

Eugene D. Jones, the fifth child, born in 1870, married Grace 
Perkins, born in 1866, daughter of Jacob Fred Perkins and Eliza 
Ann Tuttle of Meredith. Their daughter, Ida Frances, born at 



258 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Plymouth, October 2, 1899, married Andrew Jackson Smith, born 
in 1881, son of Edwin K. Smith of Pennsylvania. 



KELLY, KELLEY 

Tradition tells us that the "Old Kelly Farm" contained three 
ridges of land that was used in early days for "Musters." They 
also held sham battles on the two outside ridges and met for battle 
on the center ridge. During this period was the Battle of Bunker 
Hill, which was thought to be heard on "Kelly Hill," among the 
virgin forest, some 100 miles away. 

The site of the home of Samuel and Elizabeth Bowdoin was on 
Kelly Hill, near the present home of Samuel, who married Sarah 
Shaw. The site of the present house was where the old school- 
house stood. 

When Samuel, son of Elizabeth (Bowdoin) Kelly (he was 15 
years old when they moved there) married Abigail Roberts he 
took the old schoolhouse, dug a cellar and added to it more rooms, 
for a home Every generation added more to it, and now it is a 
pleasant farm home, occupied by Luther Drake. 

The old Samuel Kelly land (he aged 42 when he came there) 
was the original grant from the government, which comprised 
many acres from which he gave each child a farm that had never 
been given or deeded or sold by his great-great-great-grand- 
daughter, Mrs. Sadie (Kelly) Pike. 

Darby Kelley married Sarah Huntoon, January 1, 1728; lived 
in Exeter and Kingston. Sarah's father was Phillip Huntoon, 
born in England. 

Samuel Kelley, born in 1733, married Elizabeth Bowdoin, a 
daughter of William Bowdoin, born in 1713 at Boston. His 
father, James Bowdoin, born in 1676 at La Rochelle, France, lived 
and died at Boston, 1747. His father, Peter Bowdoin, married 
Sarah Campbell. 

Elizabeth Bowdoin's mother, Phebe Murdock (her father, John 
Murdock, who married Phebe Morton) lived in Plymouth, Mass. 
Her father, John Morton, born in 1650 at England. His father, 
George Morton, came in the ship Anne in 1623. His wife was 
Julian Carpenter; lived in Wrentham, England. Her father was 
Alexander Carpenter. 

John Morton married, first, Phebe Shaw, daughter of Jonathan 



GENEALOGIES 259 

Shaw. His father, John Shaw, who married Phebe Watson, a 
daughter of George Watson. His father, Robert Watson, lived 
in Plymouth. 

Phebe Watson's mother was Phebe Hicks; her father, Robert 
Hicks, who came to New England on the boat Fortune. He died 
in 1647. 

Darby Kelley, tradition states, was a school-teacher, and a 
quick-witted Irishman. He landed near Portsmouth and later 
settled in Brentwood, where he signed the Association Test in 
1776. He had a son, Samuel Kelley, born in Brentwood in 1733, 
died at New Hampton in 1813. He married Elizabeth Bowdoin, 
1740-1816. They had two children before leaving Brent- 
wood, which they brought with them to New T Hampton, settling on 
a hill, later called "Kelley Hill," and are buried there. He served 
in the Revolution from Meredith, under Col. Ebenezer Smith. 
They came to New Hampton about 1776, where he built a log 
house all by hand, and worked hard. Their children were : Samuel, 
William B., Nathaniel, and Betsey, who married Thomas Simp- 
son. He gave a farm that joined Meredith on the east and San- 
bornton on the south. Other children located in Meredith and 
other places. He built the first meetinghouse in New Hampton 
and helped lay out roads and other improvements in the town. 
His wife lived to be 103 years of age. 

Not far away were the three Gordon sisters, who owned their 
farm, and long ago passed on, but a legend connected with their 
home was that an apple tree which stood near the house had three 
branches. When the first sister died one of the branches dropped 
off; later another sister passed and then a second branch dropped 
off; and on the day that the last sister died the last branch fell off, 
leaving nothing but the trunk of the tree as a memory of those 
three who lived there threescore and ten years of good, useful 
lives. 

Samuel Kelley and wife, Elizabeth (Bowdoin) Kelley, had nine 
children: 

Betsey Bowdoin, 1757-1829, m. Thomas Simpson; lived 

near. 
Samuel 2 , b. in Brentwood, 1759; m. Abigail Roberts of 

Meredith. She d. 1832. They had seven children. 
William B., m. Mary, dau. of Judge Ebenezer Smith. 

They had eleven children. He was prominent in town 



260 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

offices. Their seventh child, Susan, m. Ezekiel Lawrence; 
d. 1850 in Meredith. Susan was an aunt to Samuel, who 
m. Eunice Goss. 

M. Clemenceau of Paris married a daughter of Susan Kelley, 
who married Nicholas Plummer of New Hampton. Susan was a 
daughter of Samuel and wife Abigail (Roberts) Kelley, born in 
1800, who married Nicholas Plummer, sister to Jonathan Kelley. 

The oldest sister married W. C. Hopkins of Burlington, Vt. 

Alice S. Kelley married John Foster McMillan of Elizabeth, 
N.J. 

Janet married Leonard Lovejoy Stanley, son of Stanley, the 
inventor of electric transformers, also indestructible thermos 
bottles. 

Isabel married Paul Manship, a sculptor. 

Martha Belle Kelley married Capt. D. B. McElwaine. Five 
children. 

Joseph R. Kelley, oldest son of Samuel Kelley and wife, Abigail 
Roberts, of Meredith, born April 18, 1786. He married Martha 
Farnham. Three children. 

Samuel 3 Kelley, 1788-1858, married Hannah Gordon of San- 
bornton. Their children: 
Benoni G., 1817-1885. 
Samuel Bowdoin. 

Elizabeth, m. 1855, John Neally; she d. 1888; he d. 1884. 
Mary Ann. 
William P., 1836-1873. 

Jonathan F. Kelley, son of Samuel and wife, Abigail (Roberts) 
Kelley, born 1802 1877. Samuel married, first, Abigail Roberts, 
1803-1877. He married, second, Eunice T. Foss, 1810-1873. 
Children by Eunice Foss Kelley: 

David Tilton, b. 1830. 

Lucy E., b. 1833; m. - - Pattie. She m., second, Obadiah 
Eastman of Meredith; third, John Flanders of New 
Hampton. 
Abigail S., b. 1840; m. George Bean of Springfield, Mass. 
They had two children: 

Samuel G., b. 1837; m. 1874, Sarah E. Shaw of New 

Hampton. 
Sophia M., b. 1847; m. Bowdoin Piper of Meredith, son 
of Dudley Piper. His mother a relative of Kelleys, 
who live near by. 



GENEALOGIES 261 

Gen. Benjamin Franklin Kelley, son of William B. and wife, 
Mary (Smith) Kelley, born at New Hampton in 1807, married, 
first, - - Goshen; married, second, a daughter of Judge Robert 
Bruce of Cumberland, Aid. General Kelley was commissioned 
in May, 1861, by General McClelland, and assumed command 
of all troops in Virginia. He did valiant work, and was severely 
wounded. Children of General Kelley and wife, - (( ioshen) 

Kelley: John G., William B., Mary (who married J. C. Sullivan), 
Frank (died 1870), Wright (died 1869), M. Belle (married D. B. 
Mcllwain). 

Samuel Kelley, who married Abigail Roberts. Their son, 
Jonathan, married, second, Eunice Goss. Their son, Samuel, 
born in 1837, married Sarah Shaw, born January 1, 1839. Their 
daughter, Sadie Marion, born March 16, 1870, married Milo Pike 
in 1896; he a son of Luther Martin Pike and wife, Ella Huckins; 

she a daughter of George Huckins and wife, Smith. Their 

son, Randolph Kelley Pike, born in 1899. 

KENNEY 

Stephen Kenney of Meredith, born July 5, 1771; died in 1847; 
married in 1797/8, Hannah Hawkins, daughter of John Hawkins 
(the pioneer) and wife, Lydia Bunker Hawkins. Hannah was 
born in 1775 and died in 1860. Their children: 

Mehitable. 

Trueworthy, 1805-1846, m. Lettice Bean, 1808-1884. 
Their children: 

William P., 1837-1885; was in the Civil War, 1st N. H. 

Battery. 
Frances H., 1839-1898 ; b. in Meredith, d. in Manchester, 

N. H. 
Stephen, 1840-1921; d. in Colorado. 
Mary H., 1841-1861. 
Anne Lettice, m. John F. Clough. Their son, Eugene F. 

Clough. 
Eliza, m. Harvey L. Currier. Their children: Florence, 
Mary Currier, and Clinton of Brown University. 

Buried in the Stephen Fogg yard on Cass Hill: Dudley Kenney, 
1774-1868; his wife, Sally (probably Fogg), 1794-1874. Their 
children: George W. Kenney, 1822-1852; Lew r is and Lew r is, died 
young. 



262 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

KEYSER 

Nathaniel Keyser, a carpenter, and wife, Betsey (Messer), came 
from Massachusetts. She was a daughter of Stillman Messer 
of Luenburg, Mass. Their children: 

Elizabeth, m. William Gibbs of Massachusetts. 

Nathaniel. 

Nancy, m. Edward M. Derby of California. 

Mary, m. Moses Proctor of Boston. 

Henrietta, m. Alonzo Perkins of Center Harbor. 

Walter H. was six years old when his mother died and his 
older sister took him and cared for him. After attaining 
manhood he drifted around some and bought a farm in 
Center Harbor, which he sold, and went to Meredith and 
there bought a home, and called it "The Mountain View 
House." He married Georgianna Gline. They had 
children: Emma, Charles W., Sadie E., Arthur J. and 
Edwin W. 

KIMBALL 

The early Kimballs settled in Watertown, Mass., and later 
went to Sanbornton, N. H., thence scattered through Meredith 
and adjacent towns. 

Joseph Kimball, born in 1811, lived in New Hampton. His 
son, Thomas J., married Betsey B. Dolloff, daughter of Samuel 
Dolloff. Their children : 

El vina, m. John M. Dow of Meredith Center. 
Sarah Ann, m. James M. Thompson of Laconia. 
Betsey Frances, m. Curtis L. Moore of Center Harbor. 
j Levi (twin). 

1 Warren Kelley (twin), m. 1868 Eliza Jane Piper, b. 1847, 
dau.of Dudley Sanborn Piper and wife, Eliza (Shaw) Piper. 
Eliza Jane was a dau. of Hilliard Shaw, who served in the 
War of 1812. He married Elizabeth Witham, dau. of 
Peletiah Witham, a Revolutionary soldier. They had four 
children, Eliza Jane, Greenleaf, Elijah and Daniel Shaw. 
Eliza Jane Shaw m. Dudley Sanborn Piper of Meredith; 
he b. Nov. 24, 1811. They had seven children. 

Warren Kelley Kimball, who married Eliza Jane Piper. Their 
children: 

Nettie Eldora, b. 1869; m. Luther Flanders, son of Rufus 
Flanders and wife, Loanda Sanborn of New Hampton. 
They have children: Loanda and Robert. 



GENEALOGIES 263 

Herman Leroy, b. 1872; m. Lillian V. Tuttle, dau. of Frank 
and wife, Lizzie Prescott. 

Frank Blake, b. 1880; m. Bessie Mullen, she b. in Connecti- 
cut. 

Irville W., b. 1887; m. Gladys D. Harmon, she b. in Nova 
Scotia. 

Warren Kimball and wife live in Meredith Center, both mem- 
bers of the church there. 

Lieut. Abner Kimball, a descendant of the Kemble family in 
England, born in Haverhill, Mass., 1755-1818, lived in North 
Sanbornton, and later near the Meredith line. He married 
Abigail Gage; married, second, Mrs. Mercy (Judkins) Colby, 
1766-1865, widow of Anthony Colby. She had a son, Anthony 
Colby, born in 1800, and after her marriage to Lieut. Abner 
Kimball they had two children. They are buried in the Joseph 
Leavitt private yard, as they lived near by, beyond Steele Hill. 

KNIGHT 

William Knight was an early colonist from English ancestry. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier and served in the Battle of Ben- 
nington, and received a commission of captain for service. He 
engaged from Massachusetts. In 1808 he settled at Hanover. 

William Knight, his son, was born in Massachusetts, 1788- 
1800, but moved to Hanover. He married Avis, daughter of 
John Ladd, in 1815, who was born in Haverhill, N. H. Her 
ancestor, Daniel Ladd, came to Ipswich, Mass., on the boat 
"Mary and John." He was granted six acres of land there and 
built a house. He moved to Salisbury, Pentucket and Haverhill, 
Mass., and there took up a land grant. He had a sawmill in 
Pentucket. He had a son, Daniel, Jr., who was captured by the 
Indians, but later escaped. 

William Knight, Jr., and wife, Avis (Ladd) Knight, had 
children born in Hanover: John, Francis and Edwin, 1816-1857. 
He married in 1845, Elizabeth W., daughter of Silas T. and wife, 
Polly (Ingalls) Vaughn, born in 1825 at Hanover, N. H. The line 
of Vaughns were : 

Henry, b. 1656. 
Henry, b. 1657. 
Joseph, b. 1723. 
Luther, b. 1758. 
Polly Ingalls, 1797. 



264 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mrs. Elizabeth W. T. (Vaughn) Knight died in 1872. She left 
five children. 

William Franklin Knight, born in 1847. In 1864 he went into 
the Parker Brothers store in Laconia as a clerk. Later he bought 
out the business, and has served in many offices of trust connected 
with banks and political affairs. He married in 1872, Fannie E., 
daughter of James Taylor of Franklin, who has passed on. 

KNOWLTON 

Thomas Knowlton was the first man of the name known in 
Hampton, N. H. He was born there January 5, 1708, and died in 
1774. His wife, Amy, was born in 1714, and died in 1791. He 
lived in Kensington from 1739 to 1769. He bought, in 1767, 
fifty acres of land in the province of Nottingham and the parish of 
Northwood. In 1768 he built a log house and moved his family 
there; he had a wife and four children. He had previously lived 
in Epping, from 1762 to 1768. They had three boys, Jonathan, 
Thomas and Ebenezer. 

Jonathan was born at Kensington in 1739. He married Ruth 
Page on April 29, 1762; she was born June 16, 1739. Their fifth 
child and second boy was David Knowlton, he being the first 
Knowlton born in Northwood, September 10, 1770. He married 
Drusella Durgin, born March 17, 1774, daughter of John Durgin 
and wife, Susanna (Pitman) Durgin of Durham, N. H. Their 
children: 

Oliver. 

Samuel, who m. Sally Demond of Concord, N. H., Feb. 17, 

1808. 
Eliphalet D. 
George. 
George W. 
Hettie. 
Rhody. 
Harriett. 
Lydia. 

Oliver Knowlton, the Sanbornton Town History states, was born 
in Northwood, N. H., in 1791. He married Lucinda Batcheldor, 
born in 1802. They were married September 20, 1825 (as vital 
records). He went to Sanbornton, N. H., when a young man, 
with his worldly possessions in his pocket, which consisted of a 



GENEALOGIES 265 

pen knife that he used to whittle goose-quill pens for his pupils 
to learn to write with, as he had no others in that time. They 
used feathers plucked from the wings of a goose when they pulled 
easy. After his marriage he lived on the Francis Smith farm in 
Sanborn ton and there died March 17, 1872, aged 81 years. He 
represented the town in the Legislature, also was selectman for 
some terms. He went to Sanbornton as a schoolteacher, where 
he taught several terms at the Bay School. He served in the 
War of 1812. 

John Knowlton, their third child, born May 25, 1832, resided 
in Meredith. He married in 1858 Rachel, daughter of Josiah B. 
Batcheldor and wife, Louisa, daughter of Samuel Sanborn of 
Meredith. Their children: 

Herbert Clarence, b. Apr. 11, 1859; m. Menta Belle Gale 
» in 1833. He d. in 1886. 

Amy Cora, b. Aug. 28, 1861; m. 1889 John M. Goodwin of 
Taunton, Mass. He d. in 1922. Their son, Clarence 
Knowlton, b. 1890; d. 1891. 

Jennie Laura, b. Oct. 12, 1863; d. 1879 in Meredith. 

Clara Louisa, b. June 25, 1869; m. Lewis Stephen Perley of 
Laconia, son of Dr. John Langdon Perley and wife, Dora, 
dau. of Betsey (Potter) Rundlett of Gilmanton. Their 
son, Lew Knowlton, b. 1890; m. Edna Jane, dau. of Wil- 
liam Sawyer Kendall and wife, Iantha Annie (Lawrence) 
Kendall of Lakeport. He is a graduate of Dartmouth and 
Thayer School of Engineering. Their child, Lucile 
Perley, b. Aug. 12, 1922. 

Marion Louise Knowlton, born January 16, 1893, is a graduate 
of Dana Hall and had two years at Wellesley. She married 
Nathaniel Joy Harriman, June 7, 1919, son of Dr. Alpher Haven 
Harriman and first wife, Katherine E. Walker of Lovell, Maine. 
Dr. Harriman is a prominent physician and surgeon in Laconia. 
Nathaniel Joy Harriman is cashier in the People's Bank in 
Laconia. Their children: 

Katherine, b. Dec. 3, 1920. 
Haven Perley, b. May 2, 1924. 

John Russell Perley, born November 25, 1900, is a graduate of 
Dartmouth College and Penn University Medical College. He is 
a physician in Laconia. 

Stephen Perley, born in Ipswich, Mass., October 7, 1770, died 
in 1855, son Allen Perley and wife, Susanna Bokeson. 



266 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Allen Perley came from St. Albans, Herefordshire, England, in 
1630, and settled in Ipswich, Mass., in 1634. Their third son, 
Stephen Perley, after attaining early manhood, settled at Mere- 
dith Bridge. He did much to help establish and get many indus- 
trial activities started in the town. He foresaw a chance for 
much business with the water power of various kinds, and tradi- 
tion states that he dug a canal to connect the river at Church 
Street with the same river near Lake Winnisquam, where the 
car shops now stand. He married, first, Abigail (no record of her 
family name). They had a daughter who married Dr. John 
Durkee of Meredith Bridge. He married, second, Mehitable, 
born in 1783, daughter of Col. Samuel Ladd, one of the pioneers 
of Gilmanton, and Ladd Hill was named for him, in what is now 
Belmont. Their children were : Stephen Jefferson, John Langdon, 
Louisa, Martha Maria and Abigail. 

Dr. John Langdon, born June 10, 1805, studied medicine with 
Dr. John Durkee and practiced until about forty years old. In 
1837 he went west into an unsettled country, and later returned 
to Meredith Bridge and went into the lumber business. He was 
one of the incorporators of the Meredith Bridge Savings Bank, 
which later was changed to the Belknap Savings Bank, and 
resigned. Later the bank went out of business. He married 
February 20, 1839, Dora, daughter of Josiah and Elizabeth 
(Potter) Rundlett of Gilmanton. Their children: 

John L., b. Dec. 1839; enlisted in the Civil War and was 
promoted to second lieutenant; he d. 1862. 

D. Augusta, m. Jacob Sanborn, who lived on the Province 
Road. Their dau. Pearl Smith Sanborn. 

Mary P., m. 1871 Josiah Sturtevant, b. in Center Harbor. 
He was a hosiery manufacturer in Meredith, also pro- 
prietor of a drug store and prominent in public business, 
and connected with the Congregational Church, of which 
his father was a deacon. 

Lewis S., m. Clara L. Knowlton (see Knowlton, also Batch- 
eldor families) in 1888. He was prominent in business 
circles in Laconia. 

Clara E., m. Dr. A. L. Norris of Cambridgeport, Mass. 
They have three children: Albert P., C. Maud and Grace 
M. 

Louisa, m. Nathan T. Fogg of Belmont. 

Abigail, m. John H. Brewster, editor of a paper. 

Martha Maria, b. Nov. 19, 1815; m. 1835 Joseph Plum- 



GENEALOGIES 267 

mer Atkinson, 1). in Gloucester, Mass. He had charges 
in several places, and settled in 1852 in Laconia; d. 1888, 
aged 79 yrs. Their children: 

Mrs. Josephine P. Thwing of Boston. 

Orville A. 

Joseph P. Atkinson, a prominent merchant of Laconia. 

LADD 

Edward Ladd, 1707-1767, married Caton , 1711-1773. 

Their children: 

Abigail, 1734-1747. 
Edward, b. 1736. 
King, 1738-1847. 
Nathaniel, b. 1740. 
Samuel, b. 1744. 
John, 1746-1770. 
Abigail, 1749-1754. 

Samuel 2 Ladd married Abigail Flanders in 1786. Their son, 
John Ladd, 1771-1860, married Mehitable Gale, in 1793. Their 
children : 

Abigail, b. 1794. 

John, 1796-1890; m. Nancy Badger, dau. of Thomas Badger, 

and wife of Newmarket. 
Susan, 1798-1874; m. Moses Taylor, b. 1795. 
Dudley, 1800-1827. 

Stephen D., 1803-1826; m. Lydia Dow. No children. 
Gould D., 1805-1875; m. Betsey Chase of Sanbornton, in 

1832, she a dau. of Ebenezer and wife, Rebecca Cheney. 
Mary, 1807-1855; m. Henry Pearson of East Tilton. They 

were parents of William Pearson. His children were 

Frank, a brother Winthrop, and sisters (names unknown). 

A brother to William Pearson starved to death in Libby 

Prison. 
Eliza, b. 1809; m. Barnard H. Ladd in 1827. 
Daniel, 1811-1855; m. Lydia Randlett in 1835. 
Eunice, 1813-1898; m. John Lawrence. Their children: 
John Lawrence, m. Eunice Ladd. Their children: Otis 
Smith, Jane, and Clara Ellen, m. Jeremiah Freeze 
Sanborn, he b. in Webster. Their children: Otis 
Lawrence (m. Isabel Smith) and Florence Jane. 

Children of Otis Lawrence Sanborn and wife, Isabel Smith: 
Lawrence, Leroy Freeze and Louise. 



268 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

From the old Bible, printed in 1816 

Edward Ladd, born June 22, 1707; died in 1787. His wife, 
Caton, born May 19, 1711. Their children: 

Abigail, b. Dec. 7, 1734; d. 1747. 
Edward, b. Apr. 13, 1736. 
Thing, b. July, 1738; d. 1801. 

John Ladd, born March 25, 1771; died June 12, 1860. His 
wife, Mehitable, born October 13, 1770; died April 20, 1854. 
Their children: 

Abigail (Ladd) Keaser, b. July 10, 1794. 

John (Ladd), b. Oct. 3, 1796; d. 1874. 

Susan (Ladd) Taylor, b. Oct. 8, 1798; d. 1874. 

Dudley (Ladd), b. Oct. 9, 1800; d. 1821. 

Stephen G., b. Feb. 11, 1805; d. 1875. 

Mary (Ladd) Pearson, b. Apr. 5, 1807; d. 1855. 

Eliza, b. 1908. 

David G. Ladd, b. Oct. 11, 1811; d. 1855. 

Eunice (Ladd) Lawrence, b. Oct. 1813; d. 1898. 

John Lawrence Ladd, d. 1888. 

Moses Taylor Ladd, b. Jan. 1, 1795. 

Samuel Ladd, born February 21, 1747; died in 1801. He mar- 
ried Abigail — — , November 10, 1768. Their children: 

Samuel, b. Dec. 4, 1769; d. Apr. 13, 1836. 

John, b. Mar. 25, 1771. 

Edward, b. Mar. 22, 1773; d. 1820. 

Isaac, b. Feb. 6, 1775. 

Abigail, b. 1777; d. 1798. 

Jonathan, b. July 24, 1779; d. 1826. 

Dudley, b. Dec. 23, 1780. 

Mehitable, b. Apr. 3, 1783. 

Thema, b. May 20, 1785; d. 1824. 

Old Bible Records 

Abigail Ladd married Joseph Kezar, November 14, 1816. 
John Ladd married Nancy Badger, December 23, 1817. 
Mary Ladd married Henry M. Pearson. 
Stephen G. Ladd married Lydia Dow. 

Eliza L. Ladd married Barnard H. Ladd, November 28, 1827. 
Eunice Ladd married John P. Lawrence, February 2, 1832. 
Gould D. Ladd married Betsey Chase, April 10, 1832. 
Daniel G. Ladd married Lydia Randlett, October 28, 1835. 



GENEALOGIES 269 

Revolutionary Rolls, Vol. 2, page 194: Samuel Ladd from Mid- 
dleton. He was lieutenant in 1777; enlisted at Exeter. He was 
in Col. Thomas Stickney's regiment of militia, General Stark's 
brigade in 1777. There was an account of rations for several 
officers. 

Mrs. Olive Jane (Ladd), daughter of Jonathan and Betsey 
(Lawrence) Ladd, was one of the pioneer settlers in Laconia as 
early as 1780. She married Dr. Joseph Knowles; married, second, 
Dr. David S. Prescott. She was born, lived and died in the same 
house, which has recently been sold for the city offices. Her 
brother was Lucian Ladd, and he and family lived with her in her 
last days. 

Lucian Ladd married Annis, daughter of Esquire Charles 
Smith and his wife, Annis; she was a daughter of John Perkins, 
who married Lucy Prescott in 1773. 

Esquire Charles Smith was a descendant of one Ebenezer 
Smith. (See Granite Monthly, March, 1888.) His wife, Annis, 
died and he married Irene Neal, daughter of "White Oak" 
Joseph Neal and wife, Hannah (Smith) Neal of Meredith. 

History tells us that Daniel Ladd came from London with his 
wife, Ann, in 1633, on the ship "Mary and John," to Ipswich, 
Mass. In 1638 he helped found the town of Salisbury. In 1640 
he helped organize Haverhill, with eleven others. He was de- 
scended from a family in Kent, England, in the fifteenth century. 

Daniel Ladd, a lineal descendant, was born in Epping in 1742, 
a farmer, but, like many of that day, he went into newer country 
in Lee, then Canterbury, and Loudon, where he traded in land. 
He married Judith Lyford in Raymond in 1765. They had nine 
children; the eighth was Gideon Ladd. He was called a very 
smart man. He married Polly Osgood and settled in Loudon, 
where he died in 1848. They had twelve children. Their sixth 
child and fourth son, Seneca Augustus Ladd, born at Loudon in 
1819, was educated in the schools in winter until thirteen years of 
age, but, as history states, did not enjoy the method of teaching 
and went to Raymond to learn the carriagemakers' trade, in which 
he made a success. He went to Meredith and made carriages for 
two years, then went to Boston for one year and learned of Timo- 
thy Gilbert how to make pianos, which was then the second factory 
in the United States where they were made. In 1839 he returned 
to Meredith, built and bought mills and started a large carriage 



270 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

factory, when he was 20 years of age. He kept the business for 
eleven years, when the whole plant burned. The cotton factory 
at that time was idle. He leased it, put in new machinery and 
made pianos and melodeons. This business was kept up for 
eighteen years in Meredith and Boston. He was successful and 
made himself independent financially. He had observed how the 
youth had little ability or desire to lay up something ahead, and 
conceived the idea of a savings bank to help them save part of 
their earnings. He procured a charter in 1869 and, with other 
influential men, the Meredith Village Savings Bank was started 
to help young people to save for after life. He was said to never 
pass a child without speaking, and scattered many kind deeds. 
He joined the church when young, and was a strict temperance 
man. He married Susan Tilton of Meredith in 1840 She died 
in 1850. Their children: 

Fannie C, who m. D. W. Coe of Center Harbor. 
Charles F., who d. 

Seneca A. Ladd married, second, Catherine S., daughter of 
William Wallace, Esq., of Henniker, in 1852. One child: 

Virginia B., who was an invalid; she d. 1927; was a highly 
respected woman and had many friends. 

Daniel 2 Ladd, who took the "Oath of Supremacy and Alle- 
giance" to pass from Deal, Kent County, England, to sail on the 
boat "Mary and John," in 1633, for a new home in New England. 

History tells us that there were about a baker's dozen, who 
landed at Ipswich in February. 

One of them was Daniel Ladd. He was granted six acres of 
land in 1637, and in 1639 he was "in ye town of Salisbury," 
where he was granted more land. Like all early settlers, as his 
family grew larger, he needed more land for support, and went 
farther inland to Haverhill, Mass., where he died in 1693, leaving 
eight children. He married Ann - — . He was a prominent 
man in the early history of Haverhill, Mass. Their children: 

Elizabeth, b. 1640; m. 1663 Nathaniel Smith. 

Daniel, b. 1642 in Salisbury; m. Lydia Singletery. No 
children. 

Lydia, b. 1645 in Salisbury; m. Josiah Gage. 

Mary, b. 1646 in Haverhill; m. Caleb Richardson of New- 
bury. Their children were Mary and Ruth. 



GENEALOGIES 271 

SAMUEL, b. 1647 in Haverhill; m. Martha Corliss. 
NATHANIEL, b. 1651 in Haverhill; m. Elizabeth Gilman. 
EZEKIEL, b. 1654 in Haverhill; m. Mary Folsom. 
Sarah, b. 1657 in Haverhill; in. Onisiphorus Marsh, Jr., in 
1695. 

Nathaniel 2 Ladd, born in 1655, moved to Exeter and married in 
1678 Elizabeth, daughter of Hon. John Gilman. He died from 
wounds from fighting the Indians. Mr. Gilman was a prominent 
man. Their children: 

Nathaniel, b. 1679; m. Catherine Gilman. 

Elizabeth, b. 1680; m. John Glidden. Their children were: 

Daniel *, John, Elizabeth, Jacob, Mary, Abigail, Moody and 

Steven. 
Lydia, b. 1684; m. Charles Rundlett. Their children were: 

Nathaniel, Charles, Lydia, Catherine, Anna, and Mary. 
Daniel, b. 1686; m. Mehitable Philbrook, in 1712. 
John, b. 1689; m. Elizabeth Sanborn in 1714. 
Ann, b. 1692; m. Jonathan Folsom. Their children were 

Gen. Nathaniel and Col. Samuel Ladd. 

Nathaniel 3 Ladd, born in 1679, married Catherine, daughter of 
Edward Gilman of Exeter. She died. Their children: 

Nathaniel, m. Ann Hilton, dau. of Dudley Hilton. 
Daniel 4 , b. in Exeter, 1705; his home was in Exeter; later 

moved to Lee; m. Alice . 

Edward, b. 1707; m. Catherine Thing. 

Elias, m. Ann Gilman. 

Josiah, b. 1713; m. Sarah Morse. 

Nathaniel's second wife, Rachel Rawlins, who died at Stratham 
in 1717, had no children. 

Nathaniel married, third, Mrs. Mercy Hilton in 1742. Their 
children: 

Paul (twin), b. 1719; m. Martha Folsom. 
Love (twin). 
Dudley, lost at sea. 
Mercy. 

Daniel 4 Ladd, born in 1705, married in Epping, Alice 

Their children : 

Daniel 5 , b. 1742; m. Judith Lyford. 
Nathaniel, b. 1745; m. Mary Ayers. 
Jeremiah, m. Tamison Sias. 



272 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Daniel 5 , 1742-1801, married Judith Lyford, and settled in 
Loudon. Their children: 

Mary, b. 1766; m. Dr. Weir. 

Olive, b. 1769; m. Joseph Batchelder, son of Major Nathan 
Batchelder. One of their daughters, Julia, m. Stephen 
Tilton. Stephen Tilton and wife, Julia Batchelder, were 
grandparents of George Henry Tilton of Laconia. 

Judith, b. 1771; m. William Moulton of Stanstead, Canada. 

John, b. 1774; m. Lydia Sanborn. 

Elsa, b. 1777; m. John Rollins of Gilmanton. 

Susan, b. 1779; m. Levi French of Loudon. 

Gideon, b. 1782, m. Polly Osgood. They had a son, Seneca 
Ladd, who settled in Meredith. He married Susan Tilton, 
a second cousin. 

James, 1784-1786. 

Gideon Ladd of Loudon, N. H. (Daniel of Epping; Nathaniel, 
who married Catherine Gilman.) Gideon Ladd married in 1808 
Polly Osgood, daughter of Daniel Osgood and wife, Judith 
(Lyford) Osgood, of Epping. He died in 1848. She died in 
1870. Their children: 

Rosina Ann, b. 1809; m. E. E. Smith of Gilmanton. 
James Gilman, 1813-1813. 

Olive Maria, b. 1815; m. J. B. Mardton of Gilmanton. 
Albert Warren, b. 1816; m. Mary M. Wallace. 
Seneca Augustus, b. 1819; m. Susan Tilton of Meredith. 
Newell Corses, b. 1821 ; m. Sarah, dau. of Robert Smith of 
Center Harbor. 

Philander M., 1823; m. Carrie . 

Joseph Warren, 1827-1833. 

Benjamin F., 1829-1846. 

Charles Joseph, b. 1831; m. Eliza Lang. 

Seneca Augustus Ladd, son of Gideon Ladd and wife, born at 
Loudon in 1819, married Susan Tilton in 1840. She died in 1850. 
He married, second, Catherine S., daughter of William Wallace, 
in 1852. Their children by Susan Tilton: 

Frances Caroline Augusta, b. 1841; m. Harber D. Wods- 

worth Coe of Center Harbor in 1878. 
Charles F., 1847-1851. 

Newel Courser Ladd of Concord married Sarah Smith, daugh- 
ter of Robert Smith and wife, Sarah Merrill of New Hampton. 
He died in 1877. She died in 1903. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 273 

Florence M., b. 1843; m. Frederick Boardman in 1882. 

Austin, b. 1845; m. Fannie Blake. 

Addik, b. 1850. 

Wendell Phillips, b. 1852. 

[ennie B., b. 1855. 

Waldo B., b. 1858 



i Twins. 
Minnie, b. 18o8 J 

Charles P., b. 1860. 

Fliphalet Ladd (Timothy, John, Samuel, Daniel), 1755-1827. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier in the battles of Bennington and 
Saratoga. He married Mary, daughter of Joseph Park of Wind- 
ham in 1778. They moved to Meredith in 1806, where he died in 
1827; lived on Ladd Hill. Their children: 

Alice, b. 1779; m. John B. Swasey. Their children: 

George B. 

Mary Park, m. M. J. Chapman. 

Jane B. 

Cassandria, m. Eben Stevens. 

Asenath, d. young. 
Joseph Park, b. 1781; m. Mehitable Towne. 
Timothy, b. 1783. He was a brilliant scholar and a famous 

teacher in Meredith. He was a cripple. 
Lydia, 1784-1876; m. Benjamin Swasey in 1809. Their 
children: 

Laura, b. 1809; m. John J. Sanborn of Baltimore in 1836. 

Darius, b. 1811; m. Salvia Davis. 

Alice, b. 1812; m. Jonathan F. George of Pelham, N. H. 

Emily, b. 1813. 

Edwin, b. 1815; m. Mary Tarbel of Lyndeboro. 

Alexis, b. 1816; m. Emily Terry of Chicopee. 

Marv Park, b. 1818; m. Henry Moore of Marlboro. 

Lydia, 1820-1836; m. Clark H. Obear of New Ipswich. 

Benjamin, b. 1822; m. Emily Marshall of Chicopee. 

Eliza, b. 1825. 

Lydia Ladd married Benjamin Swasey in Meredith. Their 
children : 

Alexander Park, b. 1786; m. Charlotte Hacket. 

Darius, 1788-1831; m. Emily Augusta Prescott. 

Mary Jane, b. 1789; m. William Salmond of Belfast, Maine. 

Asenath, 1791-1792. 

Asenath, b. 1793; m. James P. Bowman of Belfast. 

Alexander Park Ladd (Eliphalet, born in 1755 at Haverhill, 
Mass.) married Charlotte Hacket of Holderness in 1814. Their 
children: 



274 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mary Taylor, b. 1814; m. William Ladd; m. second, 

Pingree Cummings; and third, Ira Davis. Their children: 

James Orr Monroe Ladd, b. 1816; m. Nancy Coombs; 

second, Ruth Abbott. 
Timothy Boyd Ladd, b. 1820; m. Susan Emerson in 1851. 
Joseph Park Ladd, b. 1822; m. Charlotte Virgin in 1821. 
Eugene Hackett Ladd, b. 1834; m. Josephine Fournival. 

Timothy Boyd Ladd, son of Alexander Park Ladd of Meredith, 
married Susan Emerson of Andover, N. H., in 1851. They 
removed to Chateaugay, N. Y., where they kept a hotel. 

Asa Ladd, son of Timothy Ladd and wife, Jane Coy of Maine, 
married Nancy Sanborn of Meredith in 1823. Their children: 

Elizabeth, 1824-1878. 

Jonathan, b. 1826; m. Anna Harris of Boston. 

Mary Jane, b. 1828. 

Annette, b. 1830. 

George W., b. 1833; m. Rose Evans in 1867. 

Asa, Jr., 1835-1862. 

Louisa B., b. 1838; m. Alonzo Nenton. 

Sophronia J., b. 1831; m. Charles C. Pickney. 

Jonathan P. Ladd, son of Asa Ladd and wife, Nancy Sanborn, 
married Anna Harries of Boston. Their children: 

Emma Frances, b. 1854; m. Martin Taber. 
Clara Belle, b. 1857; m. John Flanry. 
Horace Parker, b. 1860. 
John Plummer, 1874-1882. 

Eliphalet Ladd of Exeter was a bonder of the N. H. ship, 
"Dispatch," November 9, 1781, in the American Revolutionary 
naval service; 6 guns, 20 crew. August 6, 1777, on "Friends 
Adventure," N. H. schooner; 6 guns, 20 crew. His bond was 
$5,000; was a bonder also on "General Sullivan," N. H. 
brigantine; 14 guns, 100 crew; bonds, $10,000. He was one of the 
owners. Also February 26, 1777, on N. H. ship, "White Oak;" 
6 guns, 15 crew. Master. Bond, 84,000. 

Col. Samuel Ladd of Belmont (son of Edward Ladd and wife, 
Catherine Thing; Nathaniel Ladd and wife, Catherine Gilman) 
married Abigail Flanders in 1768. Their children: 

Samuel, b. 1769; m. Polly Davis. 
John, b. 1771; m. Mehitable Gale. 
Edward, b. 1773; m. Hannah Hoit. 
Isaac, b. 1775; m. Lois Woodman. 



GENEALOGIES 275 

Abigail, b. 1777; m. Stephen Perley. 

Jonathan, b. 1779; m. Rachel Prescott. 

Dudley, b. 1780; m. Abigail Plummer. 

Mehitable, b. 1783; m. Stephen Perley. 

Thomas, b. 1785; m. Eunice Lyford in 1806; she b. 1787. 

John Ladd, 1771-1860, of Sanbornton, N. H. (Col. Samuel, 
Nathaniel, Nathaniel, Daniel) married Mehitable Gale of Gil- 
manton in 1793. Their children: 

Abigail, b. 1794; m. Joseph Keyser. 

John, Jr., b. 1796; m. Nancy Badger. 

Susan, b. 1798; m. Moses Taylor. 

Dudley, 1800-1826. 

Stephen G., 1803-1826. 

Gould Dimond, b. 1805; m. Betsey Chase. 

Mary, b. 1807; m. Henry M. Pearson. 

Eliza L., b. 1809; m. Barnett H. Ladd, a cousin. 

Daniel, b. 1811. 

Eunice, b. 1813; m. John A. Lawrence in 1833. 

A grandson of John Ladd and son of Gould D. Ladd and wife, 
Betsey Chase, Elbridge Gerry Ladd of Belmont, married Henri- 
etta, daughter of L T riah Lamprey and wife, Abigail (Batchelder) 
Lamprey, in 1871. Their children: 

Orry Gerry, b. 1873. 
Edward Gould, b. 1876. 
Merton Freeman, b. 1880. 

Edward 3 1773-1820, married Hannah Hoit in 1798. Their 
children: 

Nancy, 1799-1839; m. Jonathan Taylor. 
Harriet, b. 1803; m. Daniel Sanborn. 

Barnett H., b. 1807; m. Eliza Ladd in 1827; he d. 1877. 
Their children: 

Julia A., b. 1828; m. Stephen A. Hadley in 1868 at 
Laconia. 

Eunice L., b. 1831. 

EmelineS., 1833-1861. 

Harlan Page. b. 1836; m. Sarah Jane Noble. 

Jason J., b. 1839; m. Ann Maria Boynton in 1865. 

Eliza J., 1843-1863. 

Langdon Ladd, the fourth child of Edward Ladd and wife, 
Hannah Hoit of Belmont, born in 1773, married in 1837 Sylvania, 
daughter of Bernard Colby. His father died when he was nine 



276 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

years old, and he lived with his mother and attended school. He 
later represented the town in the legislature in 1874. He lived 
on the farm and in the house built by his grandfather, Col. 
Samuel Ladd, in 1837, and where his grandfather died in 1887. 
Their children: 

Arthur Stuart, m. Ellen M. Porter in 1867. Their chil- 
dren: 

Edith Silvina, b. 1867. 
Florence Emma, b. 1872. 
Candace Porter, b. 1875. 
Martha A., b. 1839; m. Charles G. Gale in 1860. 
Curtis B., 1841-1841. 
Grace Colby, b. 1842. 
/ Allen Young (twin), b. 1853; m. Kate J. Bennet in 1876. 
\ Emma J. (twin), 1853-1870. 

Isaac 4 Ladd of Belmont, born 1775, married Lois Woodman. 
She died in 1828. Their children: 

Henry, 1802-1802. 

Charlotte, b. 1803; m. George L. Mead of Laconia. 

Charles, 1805-1831. 

Isaac, Jr., b. 1807. 

George S., b. 1808. 

Harriet, 1810-1877. 

John W., b. 1813. 

Mary J., b. 1815. 

Jonathan fi , 1 779-1826, married in 1808 Rachel, daughter of Col. 
Dudley Prescott and wife, Martha (Swain) Prescott. She died 
in 1815. He married, second, Betsey Lawrence in 1816. Chil- 
dren by first wife: 

Susan Augusta, b. 1810; m. Andrew Watkins in 1835. 
Lucian Augustus, b. 1812; m. Mary Jane, dau. of Esq. 
Charles Smith and wife, Annis Smith. Their children: 
Charles S., b. 1844; m. Lilla Good in 1873. 
Francis A., b. 1849. 

Frederick J., b. 1851; m. Zoe M. Parter in 1881. 
Clara J., b. 1853. 
A child by second wife, Betsey Lawrence: 
Olive Jane. 

Dudley 7 Ladd of Belmont, born in 1780, married Abigail 
Plummer, daughter of David Plummer of Newbury, Mass. 
Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 277 

Hannah P., b. 1812; m. Ebenezer Lawrence. 
David Plummer, b. 1816; m. Julia A. Hoit. 

Thomas 7 Ladd of Belmont, 1785-1834, married Eunice Lyford 
in 1806. Their children: 

John Lyford, b. 1807; m. Jane Eager. 
Drusilla, 1808-1866; m. Jeremiah Jaques, 1809-1890. 
Ransom S., 1811-1886; m. Rhoda Gove, 1816-1892, widow 
of Benjamin Gove, 1806-1858. 

John Lyford Ladd, 1807-1873, oldest son of Thomas Ladd and 
wife, Eunice Lyford, married Lucy Jane Eager, 1810-1851; 
married in 1828. They are buried in Meredith Bridge Cemetery, 
Laconia. Their children: 

John C., b. 1827; m. Hannah L. Taylor. 

'Mary Jane, 1829-1847. 

Thomas Eager, b. 1831; d. young. 

Frances E., 1833-1851. 

Adelia B., 1839-1868; m. Oscar Merrill. 

Thomas E., b. 1841; m. Emma Plummer. 

Warren Ladd, in The Ladd Family History, states that Daniel 
Ladd took the Oath of Allegiance to pass to New England, on the 
"Mary and John" boat in 1633/4. In 1637 he was granted in 
Ipswich six acres of land, where he built a dwelling house. 

As time passed he, like other settlers, went farther inland and 
bought land. In 1678 he and his wife, Ann, had changed to sev- 
eral locations. His will was dated 1694. He died in 1693 and 
his wife died in 1694, leaving nine children. 

Through the generations through Nathaniel, born in 1651, who 
through his marriage with Elizabeth Gilman became a member of 
a leading family. He died in 1691. They had seven children. 
The fifth child, Daniel, born in 1686, married Mehitable Phil- 
brook. Their son, Daniel, born in 1742, married Judith Lyford. 
Their son, Gideon of Loudon, married in 1808 Polly Osgood. 
They had twelve children. Their seventh child, Newell Corser, 
born May 6, 1821, died in 1877, married in Meredith Sarah 
Smith, died in 1863, daughter of Robert Smith of New Hampton, 
N. H. Their children: 

Florence M., b. 1843; m. Frederick Boardman in 1882. 
Austin S., b. 1845; m. Fannie Blake. 
Addie R., b. 1850. 
Wendell P., b. 1852. 



278 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Jennie B., b. 1855. 
Waldo E., b. 1858 \ . 
Minnie E., b. 1858 / twins - 
Charles P., b. 1860. 

Seneca Augustus Ladd, a brother of Newell C. Ladd, both sons 
of Gideon Ladd and wife, Polly Osgood, born in 1819, married 
Susan Tilton in 1840. Their children: 

Fannie C, b. 1841; m. D. W. Coe in 1878; lived in Center 

Harbor. 
Charles F., 1847-1851. 

Mrs. Ladd died in 1850 and he married, second, Catherine S. 
Wallace in 1852. They had a daughter, Virginia B., 1861-1927. 

Seneca Ladd was very energetic at an early age and went to 
Meredith and had a factory, was burned out, then he went to 
Boston and worked at the pianoforte business, then returned to 
Meredith when twenty years of age and later made pianos and 
melodeons. He helped establish the Meredith Village Savings 
Bank, which has prospered. 

Eliphalet Ladd married Mary Park, daughter of Joseph Park of 
Windham in 1778. They settled in Meredith in 1806. He died 
in Meredith in 1827. Their children: 

Alice, b. 1797; m. John B. Swasey. Their children were: 

George B. 

Jane B. 

Mary Park, who married J. Chapman. 

Cassandria, m. Eben Stevens. 

Asenath, d. young. 
Joseph Park, b. 1781; m. Mehitable Towne. 
Timothy, b. 1783; was a noted teacher. 

Lydia, 1784-1875; m. Benjamin Swasey in 1808. Their 
children: 

Laura, b. 1809; m. John G. Sanborn. 

Darius, b. 1811; m. Sylvia Davis. 

Alice J., b. 1812; m. Jonathan George. 

Emily, b. 1813. 

Edwin, b. 1815; m. Mary Tarbel. 

Alexis, b. 1816; m. Emily Torry. 

Mary Park, b. 1818; m. Henry Moore. 

Lydia, b. 1820; m. Clark H. Obear. 

Benjamin, b. 1822; m. Emily Marshall. 

Eliza, b. 1824. 
Alexander Park, b. 1786; m. Charlotte Hackett of Holder- 
ness in 1814. 



GENEALOGIES 279 

Darius, b. 1788; m. Emily Augusta Prescott in 1831. 

Asenath, 1791-1792. 

Asenath, b. 1793; m. James P. Bowman. 

John Ladd of Sanbornton married Mehitable Gale of Gilman- 
ton in 1793. He died June 12, 1860. They had ten children. 
The seventh child, Mary, born April 5, 1807, married Henry M. 
Pearsons March 28, 1824. John Ladd was a son of Samuel Ladd, 
born February 21, 1744, who married Abigail Flanders. 

Henry M. Pearsons, 1797-1857, is buried in Union Cemetery, 
Laconia. 

Eliphalet Ladd of Windham removed to New Salem and from 
there to Meredith in 1806. He died in 1837. 

Alice Ladd, born March 2, 1797, married John B. Swasey. 

Lydia Ladd, born December 19, 1784, died in 1875, married 
Benjamin Swasey in 1809. 

LANG 

The Langs came from England. William Lang married Sarah 
Their second son was Josiah Lang, 1746-1828, of Green- 



land-. He moved in 1816 to Tuftonborough. He worked as a 
shoemaker in Portsmouth. During his stay there he enlisted in 
the Revolutionary War and guarded a garrison. He married 
Pearn Johnson, 1747-1841, a daughter of Colonel Johnson of 
Portsmouth, who served in the Revolution. 

Josiah, 1746-1828, tradition states, was a great reader, and 
well posted on the topics of the day. He was a Methodist Church 
believer and his wife was a Congregationalist, but there being no 
denominations of either creed in Tuftonborough, they both joined 
the Christian Church there. Children: Josiah' 2 , 1772-1856, 
Stephen, Zabeth, Deborah, Daniel, Sarah and William. Josiah 
married Sarah Whidden, 1774-1851, born in Portsmouth. They 
moved to Meredith with their son, Thomas E. Lang, in 1855, and 
died there. Their children : 

Joseph Whidden, 1798-1886. 
Thomas Elwyn, 1801-1889. 
Josiah, 1804-1815. 

Joseph Whidden Lang, born in Portsmouth, went to Tufton- 
borough in 1815 and worked on his father's farm for two years; 
later he worked for a Dover man, driving a tin peddler's cart, and 



280 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

later went into a store in Dover, run by Joseph Smith, who also 
ran stores at Alton Bay, Wolfeboro, Moultonboro and Meredith. 
In the latter town he was placed in charge of a store which he 
purchased in 1830. 

He married Mehitable C. Young of Tuftonboro. She died in 
1863. They had no children, but adopted a girl, Jane, who died 
at the age of 18 years. In 1866 he married Mrs. Julian (Perkins) 
(Taylor), widow of Jonathan H. Taylor and a daughter of John B. 
Perkins and wife, Comfort, daughter of Dr. Benaiah Sanborn, and 
wife, Huldah, 1781-1858, daughter of Deacon Christopher Smith, 
she born in North Hampton. 

Mr. Lang was a leading member of the Congregational Church 
in Meredith and a prominent Mason. He was president of the 
Meredith Village Savings Bank at his decease and was also direc- 
tor of the old Boston, Concord and Montreal Railroad. 

Thomas Elwyn Lang, 1801-1889, brother of J. W. Lang, was 
born in Portsmouth on the Thomas Elwyn farm, where his father 
was employed. He went to Tuftonboro with his parents in 1816, 
when 15 years old, and in 1855 he settled in Meredith, where he 
bought a small farm. He married Cynthia Blaisdell in 1827, 
daughter of Rev. William Blaisdell, a clergyman of the Christian 
Church of Guilford. Their daughter, Sarah Whidden Lang, born 
in 1828 at Tuftonboro, married in 1867 Nathan B. Wadleigh, 
1822-1885. Mr. Wadleigh was a large lumber dealer in Mere- 
dith. Their children: 

Thomas Lang, b. 1858 in Meredith; m. Lillian Hodgdon of 
North Troy, Vt., in 1884. He was general manager of the 
Meredith Shook and Lumber Co. 

Annie Gertrude, b. 1870; m. Alfred Francis Hall of Mere- 
dith, who was general manager of the Atlas Linen Co. 
Their daughter, Margaret Ellen, b. 1904. 

Joseph William Lang, the second child of Thomas E. Lang and 
wife, Cynthia (Blaisdell) Lang, born in 1832, died at Meredith in 
1903. He went to Meredith in 1852 and clerked in the store of 
Lang & Stevens, Mr. Lang being his uncle. After three years he 
bought out Mr. Stevens' share in the business and was a partner 
with his uncle until 1862, when he started to raise a company to 
help defend his country. 

He was first to enlist in Company I, 12th New Hampshire 
Volunteers, and, turning the store into a recruiting office, en- 



GENEALOGIES 281 

thused twenty-five others that came that afternoon. In four 
days he recruited ninety-eight men and three officers, and he was 
chosen captain. 

The 12th New Hampshire was the last regiment to leave after 
the battle of Fredericksburg. Captain Lang commanded his 
company there and at Chancellorsville, where he was wounded in 
the thigh and taken prisoner. He was paroled, and granted a 
furlough after thirteen days. Later he was at Point Lookout 
with his regiment, guarding rebel prisoners. 

After the war he did some farming and some mercantile busi- 
ness. He engaged in town business, was the first commander of 
the George S. Cram Post, G. A. R., also a charter member of the 
Masonic lodge. He married in 1860 Lucy A. Leach, daughter of 
Rev. Giles Leach of Wells, Maine. Their daughter, Elizabeth 
Whidden Lang, was born in 1861 at Meredith. 

John Lang was in Portsmouth before 1692. History tells us 
that the Langs came from England. One branch went to Hamp- 
ton Falls, another to Sanbornton and Meredith. 

Robert 1 Lang (Stephen 2 , Stephen*, William 4 , Josiah 5 ) was 
at Greenland in 1772, also recorded at Portsmouth in 1797 
and Tuftonboro in 1816. He was a cordwainer. 

Josiah 5 Lang, born January 16, 1747, died in 1828; was a son of 
William and Sarah Lang of Hampton Falls, who were married at 
Greenland, December 17, 1771. He guarded a garrison in Ports- 
mouth the last part of the Revolution, enlisting in 1777 in the 
New York Expedition. Their son, Josiah Lang, born in 1772, 
married Sarah Whidden. They had a son, Joseph Whidden Lang 
of Meredith, born June 21, 1798, died in 1863, who married June 
10, 1824, Mehitable, daughter of Benjamin and wife, Rebecca 
Young of Tuftonboro. 

He was president of the Meredith Savings Bank, a director in 
the Boston, Concord and Montreal Railroad, and a prominent 
business man. He married, second, Julian (Perkins) Taylor, 
1810-1896, daughter of Captain John B. and wife, Comfort 
(Sanborn), she a daughter of Dr. Benaiah Sanborn and widow of 
Jonathan H. Taylor. 

Captain Taylor, as history states, was very active and wonder- 
fully cheerful, with a great memory. It is said that he broke 
colts when about 88 years old and made boots after he was 90 
years. 



282 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Joseph Whidden Lang had no children. They took a boy to 
raise by the name of Bean, 1827-1905. He was called Thomas 
E. Lang, but was not legally adopted. He married Susan Moul- 
ton, 1832-1871. 

They adopted a girl, Jennie B. Lang (Bean) ; no relation to the 
boy that they brought up. 

From Thomas Lang's Bible (His mother's name was Bean) 

Thomas E. Lang, born in 1827, married Emma Wright in 1847 ; 
married, second, Susan B. Moulton, she born in 1832; married in 
1849. Children: 

Joe E., b. 1851. 

Fred A., b. 1854; m. Ruth M. Ladd in 1871; m., second, 
Nettie Ryder in 1877; m., third, Mattie G.Wilber in 1890. 

Charles Alvah Lang, 1859-1919. 

James W., born in 1861 ; married Carrie E. Streeter in 1886. 
Jennie M. B. Lang, born in 1863; married William H. Grant in 
1880. They had a son, Henry Grant, born in 1883. 
George Elwin Lang, born in 1878. 

Bean 

True Bean, born September 5, 1793; married Susan Marston, 
June 9, 1812. 

Susan, born in 1795. 

Hannah, born in 1815. 

Calep M., born in 1816. 

Alvah, born in 1819. 

Benjamin M., born in 1823. 

Charles Alvah Lang, son of Rev. Thomas Lang, an Advent 
minister, died October 18, 1919, aged 59 years. He was a travel- 
ing salesman for the Goodyear Rubber Co. He died in a hospital 
in Maine, leaving a wife, Martha H. Lang; one sister, Jennie 
M. B. Grant of Concord ; James W. Lang of Prairie Elk, Montana, 
and two nephews. He had been away from Meredith many 
years, but was born on Lang Street in Meredith. 

Josiah 6 Lang, 1772-1855, born in Portsmouth, was a farmer. 
Her married Sarah Whidden of Portsmouth, 1774-1861. It was 
said that he was a great reader and prominent in church work. 
Their son, Josiah 7 , 1804-1815. 



GENEALOGIES 283 

Thomas Elwyn Lang, born in 1801 at Portsmouth; died in 
1889. He moved with his family to Tuftonboro in 1816, later 
removed to Meredith, where he bought a farm. He married 
Cynthia Blaisdell of Guilford, 1802-1890, daughter of Rev. 
William Blaisdell, a Christian minister. Their daughter, Sarah 
Whidden, married in 1857, Nathan Batcheldor Wadleigh of 
Meredith. Their daughter, Annie G. Wadleigh, born in 1870, 
married Alfred F. Hall, born in 1872. Their daughter, Margaret 
Ellen Hall, born in 1904. 

Thomas Lang Wadleigh, 1858-1913, married Lillian Hodgdon 
in 1894. No children. 

Old Statement 

I Huntington Porter, senior Pastor of the Church in Rye, in the county of 
Rockingham, & state of N. H. certify and depose that the following words — 
namely "seventeen hundred and seventy one, Dec 17th Josiah Lang & Pearn 
Johnson of Greenland, were married", are recorded in the church records in the 
hand writing of Rev. Samuel Parsons, formerly Pastor of said church, and said 
records now are in my possession and have been for fifty years past. 

(Signed) Huntington Porter. 

State of New Hampshire. 

JOHNSON 

In "Rambles About Greenland," "How" quotes: 

And now we're back upon the road that leads 

To Boston, and to Johnson's home: and if one heeds 

This fine long ridge of land, a mile or so in length, 

He'll see how nature here has meted out its strength. 

The road has almost made itself; a nice wheel path 

Has marked the way, along by which a Johnson hath 

So long ago stuck down his stakes, and builded well 

A habitation, tilled the soil, but what befel 

The race of Johnsons, records do not tell us much. 

"When they reached the destined end, which bounds 
All human lives, they died. The Town Clerk's record shows 
The time the old folks left, and that is all one knows 
Of them, that's worth recording here, as they are gone; 
Not e'en a cellar left to tell the tale anon." 

Lieutenant Johnson was prominent in town business, and the 
several families were strong, influential citizens. One young 
lady, Effie, sister of Pearn Johnson, was noted for her bravery. 
History tells us when the British landed in Rye she, undaunted, 



284 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

took a rifle and started to meet them, but the "Redcoats" es- 
caped. A story runs that a robber hid in her room, but when he 
saw her he rushed out and escaped in the darkness. She was 
said to be very daring and rode a fiery horse, and feared none. 

One one of her trips she had a noted "one-horse shay." While 
her horse was climbing a long hill a vicious-looking man caught on 
behind, clinging to the cross-bar. She soon came to Packer's 
brook, drove into the water and turned and lashed the man until 
he cried for mercy and dropped off in the water from exhaustion. 

History states that Effie Johnson had long, beautiful hair. 
When she rode her favorite horse her hair was loose and floated 
in the breeze, and many called to her as she rode, "Hey, Effie 
Johnson, with your long hair." 

WHIDDEN 

Samuel Whidden, born February 21, 1769. 

Hannah Whidden, born June 17, 1770. 

Thomas Whidden, born August 19, 1772. 

Sarah W'hidden, born 1774; married Josiah Lang in 1796. 

Mary W 7 hidden, born June 18, 1776; died in 1859; married 

Tuckerman. 

Elizabeth Ann Whidden, born October 18, 1778. 

Joseph Whidden, born October 26, 1780. 

Michael Whidden, born February 2, 1783. 

Mark Whidden, born October 15, 1785; died in 1865. 

Fanny Whidden, born March 31, 1788. 

Daniel Whidden, born February 23, 1791; died in 1842 at New 
Orleans. 

Margaret Sarah Whidden, born May 28, 1793. 

The fourth son, Mark Whidden, married Sarah Whidden in 
Meredith. Their children: 

Joseph, b. Sept. 24, 1810. 
Daniel, b. Feb. 17, 1812. 
Mary Elizabeth, b. Oct. 5, 1814. 
Mark A., b. July 1, 1816. 
Michael, b. May 21, 1818. 
Margaret, b. Aug. 28, 1820. 
William, b. July 8, 1822. 

Emily Ann, b. May 5, 1824; m., first, Henry Palmer of 
Portsmouth; d. 1858; m., second, David Corliss; m., third, 



GENEALOGIES 285 

Daniel Eaton. He had a son by his first wife, who was a 

Brown of Guilford. 
Frances, b. Apr. 10, 1826. 
Susan E., b. Aug. 11, 1830. 

The second child of Thomas E. Lang and Cynthia (Blaisdell) 
Lang, Capt. Joseph William Lang, was born in Tuftonboro in 
1832. He attended school at home and later the Meredith 
Bridge Academy. 

In 1852 he began to clerk in the store of Lang & Stevens. 
When he was 22 years old he, being a nephew of Mr. Lang, 
bought out Mr. Stevens' interest and continued a partner with 
his uncle until 1862, when the Civil War broke out. He raised in 
four days ninety-eight men and officers. These were mustered 
into the army as Company I, of the 12th New Hampshire Volun- 
teers. They chose Joseph W. Lang as their captain and left 
September 27, 1862, for Washington. They were changed sev- 
eral times, and in the battle of Fredericksburg they were the last 
to leave the field. 

Captain Lang commanded his company in the battle of Chan- 
cellorsville, where he was taken prisoner, after being wounded. 
He was in prison thirteen days, then parolled and sent to Wash- 
ington, and given a furlough home. 

In 1863 he went back to his regiment and was sent to Point 
Lookout, where he guarded rebel prisoners until 1864, when his 
wound troubled him so that he resigned his commission and 
returned home to Meredith, where later, when able, he went into 
business. 

Captain Lang married in 1860 Lucy A. Leach, daughter of 
Rev. Giles Leach, a Congregational minister. Their only child, 
Elizabeth W., became a teacher in later years. 

John A. Lang, 1822-1877, born in Sanbornton, married - 
- first, is buried in Swasey yard. They had a daughter, 
Alice, who married Charles Nichols (lived in Concord), and Cora 
E., single. He married, second, Mary E. Prescott, born in Cen- 
ter Harbor, married in 1877, lived in Meredith. 

Lucy Adrian Ham 

Mrs. Lucy Adrian Ham, wife of Asa Ham of Portsmouth, born 
in Greenland, April 2, 1807, daughter of Mark Ackerman and 
wife, Deborah (Lang) Ackerman, as history states, remembered 



286 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

seeing General Lafayette in the procession when the "Lafayette 
Road" was formally opened. They had an archway erected 
over the road, and when the long procession reached it a gate was 
opened and the road declared open to trade. 
"Rambles About Greenland" gives this rhyme: 

"When General Lafayette his tour made around the States, 
His cortage passed through Greenland, as one to me relates"; 

Mrs. Ham stated that she remembered when her Grandmother 
Lang was baptized by immersion at Tuftonboro, the year she was 
96 years old. The men carried her in a chair into the water, as 
they thought her too feeble to attempt to walk. 

LANGLEY 

In a History of Nottingham, by Cogswell, it states that Adalad 
Langley came early to town. He was one of the first settlers and 
was said to be a good fisherman and mingled much with the 
Indians near North Pond. Tradition states that he married a 
beautiful Indian girl and she proved an excellent wife and mother. 
They had a son, Benjamin, who settled near Langley Pond. It is 

stated that he married . Their children were 

Thomas, Joseph, Sally, Lovey, Judith and another. 

Thomas Langley, 1794-1854, married Lois , born in 

1797, daughter of Samuel Emerson. They had Mary Jane, born 
in 1817, married Joseph E. Tilton, who died in the army, leaving 
three children. 

Josiah, born in 1818, married Susan Small of Northwood. 
Josiah was employed by the railroad. 

Joseph Longfellow Langley, born in 1834, married in 1856, 
Elizabeth Templeton, born in 1831. He was a railroad man for 
many years. 

A descendant, Winthrop Langley, 1758-1839, early settled in 
Guilford, on the Daniel Webster Highway, just across Long Bay, 
at a point called Langley's Cove. He came from Newmarket in 
1775. He married Achsah Quimby, daughter of John Quimby of 
Guilford, in 1813. John Quimby was captain in N. H. Infantry 
in 1785. Mr. Libbey, an old neighbor, remembered attending her 
funeral when a small boy. She was buried beside the highway on 
a small elevation, where we found twelve graves, under some 
pretty pine trees, with field stones for head and foot of graves 



GENEALOGIES 287 

(the cuttings nearly worn off by the elements), which is the last 
resting place of the Langley family, just across from Quimby 
Island, in Langley Cove that formerly was main land, but the 
water has worn a passage and made it an island. 

Winthrop Langley owned four pieces of land in 1789; one he 
bought of Peter Folsom. 

James Quimby lived in a log house on what was originally the 
Abram Clark land ; he had eight in his family. The Quimby fam- 
ily were respected citizens. 

One of the descendants, John, had a wife, Sarah. They lived 
on the White Oaks Road and had sons, James and Charles, who 
never married. It was said that they let their hair and whiskers 
grow to a luxuriant length and only barbered each other once a 
year. 

A characteristic of the family was that they were wide between 
the eyes, which signified much intelligence. 

Stephen Langley settled on land near Benjamin Libby's, on 
the White Oaks Road. He married Mary Colany in Guilford in 
1813. He was drafted into the 1812 War, to help protect the 
Canadian border. 

Rowel Langley, son of Jonathan and wife, Abigail (Leathers) 
Langley, born in 1777, came from Nottingham and married in 
Gilmanton, Hannah Martin, in 1798. They were married by 
Elder Richard Martin, and had ten children. Elder Richard Martin 
was a pioneer who supplied the pulpit at Gunstock Meetinghouse. 
He was a good man. He and his family rest in McCoy Yard in 
Guilford. It was said that his wife had good business ability, as 
she traded much in land, which helped the family financially, 
while the Elder ministered to the spiritual needs of the people. 
Children: 

Noah Webster, b. 1799. 
Richard Martin, b. 1801. 
John Osborne, b. 1804. 
Thomas Jefferson, b. 1805. 
Hannah Martin, b. 1808. 
Jesse, b. 1809. 
Levina Goldsmith, b. 1811. 
Christopher W. f b. 1814. 
Adeline Demount, b. 1818. 
Louis Folsom, b. 1822. 



288 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Old Records 

Moses Langley lived and owned five tracts of land, about 1812, 
in Guilford (then Gilmantown). Lancaster writes of the town, 
that "in 1727, the town ran from the head of Barnstead to Wini- 
pissokee Pond," and was "a liberal slice of earth." Moses 
Langley married Hannah of Durham. Their children: 

Phillip Rowell. 

Olive Jane, m. George H. Robie. Their son, George H. 
Robie of Lakeport, has a daughter, Mrs. Webster. 

George H. Robie's great-grandfather was Winthrop Langley, 
who married Achsah Quimby. Their daughter, Louise, married 
Phillip Rowell. Their daughters: Olive Jane; Sally M., married 
Thompson. They are buried in McCoy Yard, Guilford, N.H. 

Samuel Langley married Hannah Preadly in 1803 at Ports- 
mouth. 

Stephen Langley married Mary Colany in 1813. 

Winthrop Langley married Carrie Quimby in 1813 at Guilford. 

James Langley married Mary Garland in 1812 at Durham. 

Rufus Langley married Almira Leavit in 1834 at Guilford. 

Langleys in the Revolution: Benjamin, Elihu, Elisha, Win- 
throp, David, Joseph and Jonathan. 

An old landmark on the Langley land, in view from the Boule- 
vard, is a large boulder with a bunch of pretty white birches grown 
up on one side. On this boulder is a marking that looks like the 
letter "W." Was this cut on the stone, or was it worn by the 
elements of many decades gone by? From this boulder is a 
pretty view of Langley Cove and Island, and across the bay. It 
is near the site of the old cellar, where was a Langley home. 
Bunches of roses are scattered here, planted by loving hands long 
gone to rest on the hillside, not far from others of the family, with 
no stones to mark their graves. 

LAWRENCE 

Tradition tells us that the Lawrence family descended from 
Capt. James Lawrence, "who would not give up the ship." 

Joseph Lawrence married Mehitable in Epping. Their 

son, David Lawrence, was in Exeter. He was prominent in 
church work. He was early in New Salem, as he and Judge 



GENEALOGIES 289 

Ebenezer Smith presented a petition in Portsmouth for the in- 
corporation of New Salem in 1766, under the name of " Meredith." 
He married Lydia Sias of Lee in 1795, she a daughter of Capt. 
Joseph Sias and wife, Ruth, and Ruth a daughter of Francis and 
wife, Lydia (Drew) Mathes, a very prominent man and a delegate 
to Congress during the Revolution. He was a justice of the court. 

Gordon Lawrence was a son of David Lawrence, and he a son of 
David, 1715-1797, and his wife, Leavitt M. Lawrence, a daughter 
of Stephen Leavitt and wife, Mary Gordon. Gordon Lawrence 
married in 1802, Mary Eliza Kelley of Loudon. They were mar- 
ried in Pittsfield and settled on land near the Crocket Schoolhouse 
on the Province Road, and are buried on their old farm in Mere- 
dith, now set off as Laconia. The gravestones are marked Gor- 
don Lawrence, 1749-1812. His wife, Mary, 1752-1799. They 
had a son, Lyman P. Lawrence, born at Meredith in 1807. 

Samuel Lawrence, 1781-1824, married in 1800 Susanna 
Smith, daughter of Col. Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah Spiller 
Smith. She died and he married, second, in 1806, her sister, 
Betsey Smith. Their children: 

Ebenezer Smith, 1807-1871. 

Sarah, 1806-1876. 

Ezekiel Brown, 1809-1873; m. Susan Kelley; she d. 1873. 

Mary Ann, 1814-1867. 

Catherine, 1817-1890. 

Ezekiel Brown Lawrence married Susan Kelley of Loudon. In 
his will, made in 1873, he mentions his wife, Susan K.; his son, 
George Chapman. (See article written by Grace E. Lawrence, 
on the family); his son, Samuel. Henry was named executor. 
Signed by Ezekiel Lawrence. Witnesses: Samuel S. Blaisdell, 
Ebenezer S. Robinson, and Mary J. Bowers, who later married 
Samuel Henry Lawrence. 

Two daughters of Ezekiel Brown Lawrence married Washing- 
ton Smith, son of Judge Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah Spiller 
Smith. 

Samuel Henry Lawrence, 1844-1882, married two Bowers girls. 

George Chapman Lawrence in 1846 married Mary A. Wood- 
man. (See article following, written by his daughter, Grace E. 
Lawrence.) 



290 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lawrence Family 

By Grace E. Lawrence 

Samuel Lawrence, 1781-1824, married, first, Susanna Smith 
and, second, June 14, 1806, Betsy Smith, daughters of Ebenezer 
Smith and wife, Sarah (Spiller) Smith, and sisters of Washington 
Smith. Their children: 

Ebenezer Smith, b. May 13, 1807. 
Sally S., b. June 3, 1808. 
Ezekiel B., b. Oct. 25, 1809. 
Mary Ann. 
Catharine. 

Betsy Lawrence was appointed guardian of these children in 
March, 1827, as they were minors when their father died. 

1. Ebenezer Lawrence married a sister to Plummer Ladd (?). 
My father isn't sure. Their children were: Ann, Charles, Julia 
and Almenah. 

Ann Lawrence married Lewis Busiel. She died when her 
daughter, Ann, was born. 

Charles was an engineer in the Navy during the Civil War. 
We do not know more. 

Julia Lawrence married Otis Howe and lived in Roxbury, Mass. 
Their one child, Lewis, died after reaching manhood. After the 
death of her husband and son, Julia entered the Old Ladies' 
Home, 108 Revere Street, Boston. 

Almenah Lawrence did not marry. 

Ebenezer Lawrence was the first clerk of court (in Laconia) and 
later was employed in the Customs House, Boston. He repaired 
the old Willard Hotel, called it the " Winnipesaukee Hotel." 

2. Sally S. Lawrence married a Mr. Currier, who lived near 
Meredith Center. Their daughter, Elizabeth Currier, married, 
first, Moses Batchelder of Plymouth, and after his death married 
Charles Taylor. They had one daughter, Daisy (adopted), and 
lived in Manchester, N. H., and later went South, where Mrs. 
Taylor died. Elizabeth Currier Batchelder kept a millinery store 
in Lakeport, and Carrie Bowers worked for her. 

3. Ezekiel B. Lawrence, 1810-1873, married Susan Kelley, 
1806-1873, daughter of William Kelley of New Hampton. Their 
children: Harriet S. (1838-1862), Samuel Henry, and George 
Chapman. 



GENEALOGIES 291 

Harriet S. Lawrence died of tuberculosis when about 24 years 
old. 

A son, Samuel Henry Lawrence, married, first, Carrie Bowers. 
Their child, Harriet Grace, married Wesley Sanborn, son Joseph 
Noah Sanborn. She died in 1875. Carrie E. died young. 
He married, second, Jane (or Jennie) Bowers. 

Samuel Henry Lawrence (called Henry) kept the store later 
owned by Mr. Atkinson of Laconia. 

George Chapman Lawrence married Mary Abiah Woodman, 
daughter of Noah and Relief R. Woodman of New Hampton, 
December 5, 1868. Children: 

Alice May, b. May 6, 1870. 
Susan Relief, b. Jan. 17, 1873; not m. 
Grace Edith, b. Feb. 28, 1879; not m. 
Ethel Blanch, b. Oct. 4, 1881 ; not m. 

George Chapman was named by a Mr. John Chapman, who 
kept a hardware store in Laconia — no relation — hence Chapman 
was not a family name. 

Alice May Lawrence married Mead Boynton of Meredith, 
March 30, 1897, son of Luther and Sarah Mead Boynton of 
Meredith. Mead married, first, Lizzie Veasy, daughter of Aaron 
Veasy of New Hampton, who died. Children: 

Hazel Elizabeth, b. July 26, 1898; m. Roland E. Downing 

of Orford, N. H. 
Leslie Mead, b. June 10, 1901 ; m. Evelyn Dow of Moulton- 

boro. 
Marion, b. Feb. 16, 1903; m. Bernard Cady Smith of New 

Hampton. 

Raymond Downing, son of Hazel Boynton and Roland E. 
Downing, was born . 

Bernard Cady Smith, son of Marion Boynton and Bernard 
Cady Smith, was born June, 1926. 

4. Mary Ann Lawrence never married. 

Catharine Lawrence married William E. Wording of Castine, 
Maine, a lawyer and judge. He served the government (U. S. 
tax commissioner) in South Carolina, and later lived in Racine, 
Wis., and Fargo, N. Dak. Catharine Lawrence Wording (en- 
dowed) built "Wording Hall" for Ricker Classical Institute, or 
Houlton Academy, Houlton, Maine, in memory of her husband. 
This is one of the preparatory schools for Colby University. 



292 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Among old letters and deeds we find the names Hazen Law- 
rence (1818 and 1819) and Gordon Lawrence (about 1860), but 
my father cannot place them. Aunt Harriet wrote that Gordon 
Lawrence "came on" to visit Ebenezer Lawrence in Boston. 

In a deed, dated November 4, 1824, Noah Lawrence, 1782-1865, 
deeded his "dwelling house, barn, sawmill and gristmill and 20 
acres land in lot No. 25, Second Division, and 65 acres land in 
lot No. 69, southerly side of highway leading from Samuel Sibley's 
to above mentioned mills," to Betsy Lawrence. This was the 
Noah Lawrence who lived at Meredith Center. 

One of the daughters of Ebenezer Smith married Col. Ebenezer 
Lawrence. 

It is evident that there were hvo Gordon Lawrences, one a 
Revolutionary soldier, and the other living about 1860. 

Belknap County Deeds 

March 20, 1844, Samuel Lawrence, demised, leased for life to 
Noah Lawrence all land that he lived on, in Second Divison, lot 
No. 45. The description is on the Chemung Road, from San- 
bornton to Meredith Center. This looks as though Noah was a 
son of Samuel Lawrence, as the lease is signed by Samuel Law- 
rence, and witnessed by Priscilla (Marston) Lawrence, wife of 
Noah Lawrence, also by Susan Lawrence, an unmarried daughter 
of Noah Lawrence. 

Ezekiel Brown Lawrence married Susan Kelly of Loudon. 
Their children: 

Samuel Henry m., first, Carrie Bowers; m., second, Mary 
Jane Bowers in 1876. Their son, William Wording, d. 
young in 1880. 

Hattie Grace, 1872-1902; m. Wesley D. Sanborn in 1898. 

Carrie E., 1874-1875. 

Ebenezer Smith of Meredith for the love and consideration I have to my 
daughter Betsey Smith Lawrence, wife of Samuel Lawrence of Meredith, and 
$300, a part of her portion out of my estate, a certain lot of land in Meredith; 
No. 3, in the First Division, having the point lot drawn to the original right of 
David Rawlins of Canterbury. 100 acres. 

July 8th 1806. Eben' Smith 

Sarah S. Smith 
Wit: 

John Mooney 

Catherine Smith 



GENEALOGIES 293 

John Mooney, Judge Probate, Strafford Co., Meredith, 9 Sept. 1820, Samuel 
Lawrence Will, witnessed by Nicholas Folsom and John Smith, and Polly 
Smith. Samuel Lawrence professed unto Betty Smith Lawrence, who gave 
bond, and accepted the trust to execute his wishes. 

Ebenezer Smith Lawrence, 1807-1871, married Hannah P. 
Lawrence of Guilford. Their children: 

Ann Maria, b. 1832 in Guilford. 
Charles Henry, b. 1835. 
Julia A., b. 1839. 
Almenah Jane, 1842. 

Ebenezer Smith Lawrence, son of Samuel Lawrence and his 
second wife, Betsey Smith Lawrence, was a prominent man. He 
opened the first temperance store in Laconia, about 1828. Later 
he repaired the Willard Hotel, and named it the "Winnipesaukee 
House," and ran it for several years as a temperance hotel. He 
served the town of Guilford as first selectman and was a repre- 
sentative in the General Court. He was the first clerk of the 
court in Belknap County, where he filled the office from 1840 to 
1853, when President Pierce appointed him to an office in the 
Customs House in Boston. All these offices he filled with strict 
integrity and with much credit to himself. He was a deacon of 
the Congregational Church in Laconia, and when he moved to 
Boston was elected a deacon of the Maverick Church in East 
Boston. He died there, aged 64 years. 

Old Lawrence Bible of Samuel and Betsey Smith Lawrence 

Printed in 1816 

Samuel Lawrence married Susanna Smith in 1800; married, 
second, Betsey Smith in 1806; both daughters of Col. Ebenezer 
Smith and wife, Sarah Spiller Smith. Their children: 

Ebenezer Smith, 1807-1871. 

Sarah, 1808-1876. 

Ezekiel Brown, 1809-1867; m. 1833, Susan Kelley. 

Mary Ann, 1814-1867. 

Rufus King, b. 1815. 

Catherine, 1817-1890; m. Wording. Lived in west. 

Notes in Bible 

Sister Sally, 1796-1822. 
James P. Smith died in 1819. 



294 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mother died December 1823, aged 50 years. 
Father died February 1825, aged 56 years. 

Gravestones at Smith Yard 

Mrs. Susan Lawrence, 1706-1804. 

Major Samuel Lawrence, 1781-1824. His wife, Betsey Thing, 
1780-1850. Their daughter, Mary A. Lawrence, 1814-1867. 

Ezekiel Lawrence, 1810-1873. His wife, Susan Kelley, 1806- 
1873, she of Loudon. Their daughter, Harriett, 1838-1862. 

Noah Lawrence married Polly Marston, daughter of Jeremiah 
Marston, of Meredith, 1849. Their son, Smith Lawrence, mar- 
ried Miranda Wilson of New Boston in 1830. He married, 
second, Mrs. Mary (Fogg) Calef in 1877. His son by first wife, 
Edward E. Lawrence, married Mary E. Pickering in 1860. He 
died in 1887. 

Children of David Wilson and wife, Rebecca, , of New 

Boston : 

Naomi, b. 1794. 
David, b. 1797. 
Lydia Butterfield, b. 1799. 
Rebecca, b. 1802. 
Lavina, b. 1808. 

Miranda Cleaves, b. 1809; m. Smith Lawrence, 1830. 
Mary Jane, b. 1811; m. Dana Woodman, 1834, of New 
Hampton. 

LAWRENCE 

Capt. Noah Lawrence (captain of the Militia), 1782-1865, 
credited to be a son of Samuel Lawrence and his second wife, 
Betsey Smith, married Mary W. Marston, born in 1773. She 
died and is buried in the Robinson yard at Meredith Center. 
No children. Capt. Noah Lawrence married, second, Priscilla 
Marston, 1783-1847, both wives daughters of Jeremiah Marston 
and wife, Mary Roberts. Jeremiah Marston was a son of Reuben 
Marston, Jr., born in 1722, and wife (married 1745), Sarah 
Batchelder, born in Hampton. Their children: 

Edward, d. young. 

John P., 1804-1888; m. Eunice L. Ladd, 1814-1898, both 
buried in Meredith Bridge yard in Laconia. Their son, 
John Lawrence, had a dau. who m. Freeze Sanborn. She 
lives in the old Lawrence home on Court Street. 



GENEALOGIES 295 

Mary Brown, 1808-1887, m. Abram True. (See True 

ancestry.) 
Smith Marston, d. 1847; m. 1830 Miranda Wilson of New 
Boston. He m. second, in 1877, Mrs. Mary (Fogg) Calef. 
His children by Mrs. Wilson: 

John E., m. 1856 Martha E. Crockett of Meredith 

Center. 

Edward Eastman, b. 1838; m. 1860 Mary Elizabeth 

Pickering, dau. of Stephen Pickering and wife, Polly 

Sargent, born in Parsonsfield, Maine. Their children: 

Nellie Frances, m. Frank Smith, son of Jeremiah M. 

Smith and wife, Eliza Dolloff. 
Nettie, m. George Hines. Two children. 
Miranda, m. Loren Williams. Eight children. 

Settled in Vermont. 
Olive Ann, b. 1878. 

Herman Edward, b. 1880 in Guilford; m. Sadie, 
dau. of William Odell and wife, Mary E. Hun- 
kins, dau. of George W. Herman Lawrence is 
one of the directors of the Lakeport Bank. 
Leila May, b. 1882, m. Wilber Morrill, son of Albert 
Morrill of Guilford and grandson of Isaac Mor- 
rill. Their children: Rosalie Etta, b. 1898, and 
Jennie R. 
Mary Olive. 

Mary Susan Lawrence, born in 1811, married Edwin Cutting, 
both of Lakeport. 

Betsey Ann Lawrence, 1813-1831, married Warren Lovell 
Crocket, son of Hiram Crockett and wife, Nancy Downing. 
Hiram Crockett was a son of Joshua Crockett and wife, Judith 
Swain; Judith a daughter of Hezekiah Swain and wife, Miriam 
York Swain. 

Hiram Crockett had a half brother, Frank, also Selden, and a 
sister, Almira, who married — - Carlie. They had a son, George 
Carlie. 

LAWRENCE 

Betsey Ann, m. Warren Lovell Crocket. Their children: 
Ena Estella, b. 1868; lives in Meredith Center. 
George Smith, m. Julia Mcintosh. Their daughter, 
Georgia, a teacher in Wilmington, Mass. George 
Smith m., second, Hannah Hunter; live in Massa- 
chusetts. 
David, d. young. 



296 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

David, b. 1817. 
George, m. Julia Swain. 

Samuel L., 1820-1867; m. 1845 Ann Violetta Hunt. Their 
children: 

Edwin True, b. 1846; m. Ellen J. Marsh, dau. of James 
W. Marsh, and wife, Ruth L. Rowe of Guilford. 
They had ten children. 
Ella Ann, b. 1848; m. Frank Pickering. 
Samuel Abbott, b. 1859 in Meredith; m. 1880 Widow 
Augusta (Horn) Miller, b. 1852, dau. of Stephen 
Horn in Exeter, expressman there. 
Nancy, 1822-1860; m. Joseph Robinson, son of Chase. 
Priscilla, 1824-1852; m. George Horn. 

Abbott W. Lawrence, aged 29 years, son of Josiah Lawrence, 
born at Epping, and wife, Caroline Waldron, lived in Chelsea, 
Mass., married Frances A. Ladd, aged 30 years, daughter of 
Lucian A. Ladd and wife, M. J. Smith, she a daughter of Esq. 
Charles Smith and wife, Annis Smith of Meredith. 

LEAVITT 

Joshua 5 Leavitt lived for a time in Exeter and later removed 
to Deerfield. He married Elizabeth James of Newmarket, and 
they removed to Northfield. Their children: 

Dudley 6 , b. 1772 at Exeter. He was a celebrated almanac 
maker and a noted school teacher. He m. 1794 Judith 
Glidden, 1778-1853. They lived in Gilmanton, and later 
removed to Meredith. They had eleven children. 
A dau., Betsey, 1795-1858; m. Joseph Bartlett in Meredith. 
They had a dau., Jane, who m. William Smith of New 

Hampton (see Smiths), also a dau. who m. Bryant. 

Isaac, 1798; m. Sarah Huse Smith, dau. of Capt. Elisha 
Smith and wife, Sarah Huse of New Hampton. Their 
children: 

Arthur E., 1831-1911; m. Ann Drew in 1856. Their 
children: 

Dudley, b. 1857; lives on the homestead. 
Charles Edward, b. 1861. 
Mary Alice, b. 1866. 
Sarah Marion, b. 1870. 
Huldah Jane, b. 1836. 

Lavina Smith, 1843-1889; m. Ezra Dixi Neal in 1871. 
Their children: 

Edith, b. 1874; m. Charles Perine. Two children, 

Judith and Dudley L. 
Grace Lavina, b. 1878; m. and lived in Oklahoma. 



GENEALOGIES 297 

Enos, 1801-1819. 

Josiah, 1803-1837; m. Patience Kenney of Meredith. 

Judith, 1805-1813. 

Jane, 1807-1851; b. in Meredith; m. 1837 Rev. John L. 

Seymour, a missionary. 
Dudley, b. 1810. A Harvard graduate. 
Mary, 1813-1886; m. Josiah Prescott. 
Judith, 1815-1846; m. Rev. John Taylor, in 1840. They 

went as missionaries to Siam from 1840/46. 
LrviLLA, h. 1818; m. Charles Prescott in 1855. 

Joseph Leavitt, 1755-1840, a descendant of Deacon John 
Leavitt, 1608-1691, was the immigrant ancestor of the Leavitts 
in this vicinity. Joseph was in the Revolution. He married 
Sarah, 1751-1823, daughter of John Cheney and wife, Sarah 
Colby. John Cheney was a son of Nathaniel Cheney and wife, 
Elizabeth Ela of Haverhill, Mass., and a grandson of Hannah 
Dustin. 

They had four children. John and Joseph, Jr., twins, were born 
in 1798. Their father's parting words to Capt. Chase Perkins, 
when his twin sons left for Portsmouth in 1814, was, "Chase, take 
good care of the boys." John, 1798-1869, lived on his father's 
place with his sister, Sally, 1800-1882. Joseph, Jr., died in 1829. 

LOVEJOY 

Mr. Stillman Lovejoy very kindly gave this data from memory 
to the "Annals of Meredith." Tradition states that the first 
Lovejoy came from Holland and married with the English in 
1638, and settled in America. 

Loyal Lovejoy was a lumber dealer on Causeway Street in 
Boston, Mass. One of his descendants, Caleb Lovejoy, 1780- 
1841, had a brother Obadiah. Caleb Lovejoy was one of the 
first settlers in Meredith. He married Susanna, 1780-1853, 
daughter of Moses Richardson. Their children moved to Mere- 
dith in 1813: 

David, 1805-1875; m. Belinda, 1815-1897, dau. of Thomas 
Chase. She was b. in New Hampton, but her parents re- 
turned to Pembroke, where they formerly lived. Their 
children: 

Harriet Ann, b. 1834; m. Lucian Dow of Meredith Neck; 
later removed to Moultonboro. They had a dau. 
Emma E. Dow, who m. James L. Chase of Meredith 



298 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Village. James L. Chase and wife had a son, Henry 
Albert Chase, who lived in Lakeport. He had a dau., 
Marguerite, who m. Leonard N. J. Fuyat, a noted 
architect, and another dau., Mrs. Fred Yeaton. 
Emeline, b. 1836; m. George W. Paine of Center Harbor. 
They are buried in Meredith Village Cemetery. He 
had a brother, Edward S. Paine, who m. Lucy M. 
They had a dau., Ethel Glesca Paine. They lived in 
Lakeport. 
George Edward and Essie Emeline Paine, twins. When 
they went to school the teacher asked them their ages 
and both gave the same date. The teacher said, 
'Then you are twins." The boy said no, that Essie 
was born fifteen minutes before he was. 
Smith H. Paine, son of George W. and wife, Emeline, 
lived in Wolfboro. They had Florence A. and Wilma 
Paine. 

Mary Jane, b. 1838; m. Horace A. Wood; buried at 

Bayside. 
D. Stillman, b. 1840; m. Mattie Paine. She d. in 
Iowa. He m., second, Frances Ferris of Calma, 
Iowa. No children. 
James Harries, b. 1843; m. Hannah B. Thomas of 
Iowa. They settled in Napa, Calif. They had 
two daughters. 
J. Elizabeth, b. 1845; m. Eugene Stowell. He rana 
hosiery mill in Lakeport; later settled in Ashland, 
where both died. 
Ellen Abbie, b. 1848; m. and lived in Iowa. 
Fred Warren, 1852-1854. 
Mehitable, m. Thomas Chase. They settled on Meredith 
Neck. Their children were: Silas, Martha, Susan, Eli and 
Mary Ann. 
Martha, m. McDaniel Lovejoy. (His mother was a Mc- 
Daniel.) They lived for a time in Meredith, then removed 
to Moultonboro, where they died. 
Nathan, 1809-1926. 
Sarah, b. in Pembroke; never m. 

The last three children of Caleb were born in Pembroke. In 
1813 Caleb Lovejoy moved his family to Meredith. 

Jesse, b. 1814; m. Eleanor Bickford, 1814-1880. They 
settled on Bear Island. Their children were: Ezra and 
Solomon, who m. Lizzie S. Wiggin. They had a son, 
Ralph Lovejoy, who is a great inventor. In 1927 he sold, 
as reported, a shock absorber, which is claimed to be the 
best known for automobiles, to the General Motors for a 



GENEALOGIES 299 

fabulous sum. History tells us that as a young man he 
developed a fondness for machinery and worked much on 
motor boats. When the "auto craze" developed, he was 
one of the first to investigate the "whys and wherefores" 
of the "buzz wagons." He makes these shock absorbers 
in Boston, and has shown them far and near. He has 
also invented several other useful articles. 
Nancy, b. 1816; m. Rufus Smith. They settled in Moulton- 
boro, but later removed to Lake Village. Their children 
were Lucy, George and Henry. 
Herbert, 1818-1896; m. Hannah Clark, 1814-1872, of 
Meredith. Their children: 

Julia Ann, d. young. 1 T • 

Juliette J lwins - 

William Smith. 

Eva, m. John W. Wiggin, son of George Wiggin. 



McCRILLIS 

In 1743 three brothers, William, Henry and Daniel, came from 
the north of Ireland and settled near Portsmouth. 

William settled in Gilmanton, probably in that part later called 
Meredith, where James later settled. 

The family was of Scotch descent. The Scotch went over into 
Ireland on account of British oppression. They were Scotch 
Presbyterians and good colonists. 

John McCrillis married Margaret Harvey. 

James McCrillis was a Revolutionary soldier. He lived at the 
foot of McCrillis Hill, now called Neal Hill, on the Center Harbor 
Road in Meredith. These brothers were the sons of John. 

James (Henry 1 , John 2 ) settled in Meredith. He had two 
wives. A son by the first wife was Andrew. The second had 
Phillip and Deborah. 

Phillip, son of Henry, had children: Benjamin, James, John, 
Phillip, Mary, Deborah and Asenath, who died young. 

Benjamin and Phillip lived in Meredith. Mary married 
Nathaniel K. Thurber and lived in Meredith, but removed to 
Tamworth. They are buried in the Swazey yard in Meredith. 
Benjamin married Nancy A. Huntress and lived in Center 
Harbor. 

Hiram McCrillis married Amanda Plaisted. George married 
Catherine Bryden. Children: 



300 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Harry Irvin, d. 1923. 
Millard went away in 1888. 

George went into the war in 1862. When he returned he 
settled in Boston. 

Hiram and George returned and bought the old home in Center 
Harbor. 

Phillip McCrillis settled in Meredith and latter moved to Center 
Harbor. Children: 

Phillip enlisted in the 6th N. H. Regiment. 

John R., m. Lucinda Bartlett of Center Harbor; enlisted in 

the 5th N. H. Regiment. 
Mary Jane, m. Jonas Tuttle of Center Harbor. 

The McCrillis family are buried near the old home. 

James McCrillis, b. 1 745, a Revolutionary soldier, lived at the foot 
of what is now called "Neal Hill," out of Meredith on the road to 
Center Harbor, before there were any houses in Meredith Village. 
His wife was taken sick and died. There were no neighbors near. 
He told the children to keep quiet, as their mother was asleep, and 
started out, it being afternoon, and spotted trees with his axe 
so as to find his way back. He walked several miles down to the 
William Ray home on the Province Road for assistance, and did 
not return home until the next morning. Mrs. Ray went home 
with him (a sad experience of pioneer life). He buried his wife 
in the woods near by. He was killed at the raising of a building 
and was buried in the woods near his home, beside his wife. No 
one knows the exact location. His great-grandson, a Civil War 
veteran, tried in vain to locate their graves. 

James McCrillis was in Lieut. Col. Ebeneezer Smith's Com- 
pany, in Meredith and adjacent towns. They marched to the 
garrison at Ticonderoga. Capt. William Ray went at the same 
time in 1777 from Meredith. (It was Moultonboro, as Revolu- 
tionary rolls, at that time.) 

In 1926, George S. McCrillis stated that he found an old burying 
ground that was used when the first Meredith-Center Harbor 
Church stood for a time at the foot of McCrillis Hill (now called 
Neal Hill), back of the Richard Neal farm, where now is a closed 
lane grown up to bushes. There are many early pioneers buried 
there, where the two townspeople built their church. For some 
reason they moved the church down the hill and started another 



GENEALOGIES 301 

burying ground near by on this new location, and used only field 
stones for grave markers. 

MALOON 

Lieut. Nathaniel Maloon, born in Exeter in 1733, married Mary 
Norris of Epping in 1757. She was born in 1731, a daughter of 
Samuel Norris. He moved to Nottingham (now Deerfield) and 
cleared land there, and owned six or eight hundred acres, all 
adjoining. In 1771 he was appointed surveyor of highways by 
Gov. John Wentworth. He was also appointed ensign of the 
13th Company in the 4th Regiment of Militia, commanded by 
Col. Nathaniel Folsom of Exeter. In 1773 he was appointed 
lieutenant in the same company. 

Their sixth child, Jonathan Maloon, born in 1767, married 
Susan, 1771 1850, daughter of Deacon Samuel Pulsifer and wife, 
Hannah, she a daughter of Daniel Sanborn and wife, Abigail 
(Prescott) Sanborn of Brentwood, who was a great-granddaughter 
of James Prescott, born in England in 1643. 

The seventh child of Jonathan Maloon and wife, Susan Pulsifer, 
was Nathaniel, who was born (as gravestone) in 1810 and died in 
1874. (Family records state that he was born in 1805.) History 
states that Nathaniel was a carpenter and worked in Boston on 
many fine buildings there, previous to going to Meredith, where 
he built the leading hotels in Center Harbor and Meredith. He 
accumulated a competence and retired from public work, and 
lived on the farm that his wife fell heir to, which was her father's 
(Josiah Wadleigh's), on the heights of Meredith, on the "Old 
Province Road," and died there. He married Betsey, daughter 
of Josiah YYadleigh and wife, Sally (probably Chapman). 

Nathaniel Maloon and wife, Betsey (Wadleigh), 1805-1867, 
had a daughter, Sophia, who married Llewelyn Ballard, who was 
born in Belfast, Maine. Sophia Maloon fell heir to the farm 
and Mr. Ballard, a machinist in Boston, went to California during 
the gold craze. He sent money home to his wife, who was caring 
for her father on the farm, and was never again heard from; 
probably one of the victims at that time who were robbed and 
their bodies disposed of in the gold mines. 

Llewelyn Ballard and wife had a son, Wilber Weston Ballard, 
1860 1926, who married in 1889 Emma N. Roberts, born in 



302 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

1864, daughter of Oren Roberts and wife, Julia A. (Smith) of 
Meredith. Their children: 

Frank L., b. 1891; m. 1922 Wylliam Dunning of Colorado. 

They reside in Corvallis, Ore. They have one child 

Richard L., b. 1891. 
Alice J., b. 1893; a teacher of fine standing. 

MARSTON 

Nottingham, England, the capitol of Nottinghamshire, is a 
place of much interest, with a population of 262,000. This is 
where Rev. William Lee started his invention of the stocking 
frame, in 1589, and later Hargreaves started in 1768 his spinning 
jenny, and the next year Arkwright added his first spinning mill. 
These machines have been added to, revamped, and more and 
finer work has been made, and today produce nice work. The 
Nottingham laces at one time took the lead, but others have been 
made that are very nice. 

Many interesting places are near Nottingham. The battle 
field of " Marston Moor," where Cromwell won over the Royalists, 
is said to be the location where the Marston family originated (it 
is a beautiful place, where I would like to linger) that emigrated 
to New Hampshire. 

Near by is York, which is a military town, with the wonderful 
"York Minster," of which one writer stated: "I hold most dear 
in life's experiences the antiquarian spirit that one should never 
enter York Minster without bending the head in gratitude to God 
for this holy place, where a solemn stillness pervades and where 
one should think of the past and form good resolutions for the 
future." It is a temple built ages ago, the strong backbone of 
our social system. 

As our party came out the beautiful chime of bells called for the 
daily 4 o'clock service, which a crowd attended. As we passed 
"Marston Moor," I looked long and as far as my eye could 
reach, thinking of where some of my ancestors fought for life 
and liberty. 

In 1641, Robert Marston received three acres of meadow 
"near the Boares head" at Hampton, N. H. He had a house 
lot abutting the "Meetinghouse Green" in Hampton, where he 
died in 1643. 



GENEALOGIES 303 

Capt. William Marston, with three sons and thirty-eight people 
from Salem, Mass., went to Winnecumet and started the town of 
Hampton. They took the part east of the Merrimack River in 
the old county of Norfolk. History tells us that Captain William 
was a Quaker who was much censored for his strict religious 
belief, and that his wife died after 1651. He married, second, 
Sabrina Page, who had one child by him. Children by first wife: 

Thomas, b. 1615. 

William, b. 1621 ; m. Rebecca Page; m., second, Widow Ann 

Philbrick. 
John. 

Prudence, m. William Swaine; m., second, Moses Cox. 
Tryphena, b. 1663. (This name follows down through the 

generations.) 

Capt. William 2 Marston, 1621-1672; married in 1652, Rebecca 
Page (as Norfolk records), she a daughter of Robert Page and wife, 
Lucy of Ormsby, England. He married, second, Ann, widow of 
James Philbrook. Their daughter: Rebecca, m. John Smith, 3 
son of Robert Smith, born in 1611, of Exeter; he was called 
"John Smith, 3 the tailor," who settled in Hampton. 

Their fourth child, Ensign Samuel 2 Marston, 1661-1723, 
married Sarah Sanborn, daughter of William Sanborn and wife, 
Mary Moulton. They had ten children in North Hampton. 

Their fifth child, and fourth son, Reuben Marston, Sr., born in 
1696, married in 1717 Sarah Leavitt, born in 1694, she a daughter 
of John Leavitt, born in 1670, and wife, Sarah (Hobbs) Leavitt. 
Their children: 

Sarah, 1718-1732. 

Love, b. 1720; m., first, William Gross; second, Paul Smith, 

son of Capt. John Smith. His sister, Jerusha Smith, m. 

Caleb Marston in 1737. 

Reuben 4 Marston, Jr., born in 1720, married in 1745, Sarah, 
daughter of Stephen Batchelder, settling in Nottingham. (Named 
for Nottingham in Old England.) In 1776 he was in Effingham 
with his father, where both signed the "Association Test," and 
in 1777 both moved their families to Meredith Parade. Reuben, 
Jr., kept the "Old Wooden Pound." He lived where Carl 
Blaisdell resided. 

Eliphalet, 1725-1777. 

Mary, 1728-1802; m. Erancis Page. 



304 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John, b. 1731; d. young. 
Martha, b. 1733. 

Reuben 4 Marston, born in 1722, married Mary Bachelder in 
1745. He was lieutenant in 2d Company, 2d Regiment of N. H. 
troops in the French and Indian War. Their children: 

Reuben, 5 b. 1746. 

Sarah, b. 1747; m. John Whitcher. 

Jane, b. 1749. 

Stephen, b. 1751. 

Abraham, b. 1752. 

Mary, b. 1755; m. (as gravestones) Deacon Nicholas Smith, 

who served as a Revolutionary soldier of New Hampton. 
John, b. 1757. 
Susan, b. 1759; m. (as gravestones) Moses Smith of New 

Hampton. 
Jeremiah, b. 1761. 
Elizabeth, b. 1763; m. (as gravestones) Joseph Smith, who 

served as a Revolutionary soldier. 

Three Marston sisters married three Smith brothers, sons of 
Robert Smith and wife, Abigail Cass, daughter of Joseph Cass 
and wife, Phebe Nason, who came from Brentwood, 

Robert Smith and wife were pioneers of New Hampton. He 
and his wife and some descendants are buried in the old homestead 
yard, now called Winona. 

Where the sixth generation of Smiths live, and the old Marston 
homestead on Marston Hill, is where the sixth generation of 
Marstons live. 

Reuben Marston (Reuben 1 , Reuben 3 , Samuel 2 , William, Jr. 1 , 
William, Sr.) was born in Hampton. He married Sarah Danforth, 
and lived in Meredith until 1803, when the old Marston house 
was built. He moved to the Province of Quebec. Some of the 
children married and returned to New Hampshire. Among his 
children were: 

Sarah, b. 1772; m. Isaac Boker. 
Susan, b. 1775; m. David Lawrence. 
Josiah, b. 1778; m. Mercy Robinson. 
Lucy, b. 1781; m. Solomon Prescott. 
Stephen, b. 1784. 
Jeremiah, b. 1787. 

Jeremiah Marston, son of Reuben 4 , born in 1761, married Mary 
Roberts about 1782. He went to Meredith when a boy and set- 



GENEALOGIES 305 

tied on the homestead above Meredith Center, where he died in 
1840. Their children: 

Chase, b. 1783; Eunice FolsOm. 

Priscilla, b. 1786; m. Noah Lawrence. (See Lawrence 

family.) 
Mary, b. 1788; m. Isaac Farrar. 
Sarah, b. 1791; m. Elias Glidden. 
Smith, b. 1794; d. young. 
Jeremiah, b. 1796. 
Mahala, b. 1798; single. 
Johx, b. 1801; d. young. 
Hazex, b. 1803; m. Tryphena Ray. 
Jane, b. 1805; d. young. 

Mary Marston, born in 1788, married Nathan Farrar, she a 
daughter of Jeremiah Marston and wife, Mary Roberts. 

Mary Marston Farrar's son, James Marston of the seventh 
generation, was born at Meredith in 1810. He married Abigail 
Dolloff in 1831 and settled above Meredith Center in the Dolloff 
neighborhood. James and wife, Abigail Marston, had four 
children. 

Their second child, Jeremiah Marston, born in 1832, married 
Emeline E. Dolloff in 1857. They settled in the Dolloff neighbor- 
hood. 

Another son, Joseph D. Marston, born at Meredith in 1840, 
married Annie Glidden in 1865 They settled in Meredith. 

Stephen Marston, son of Chase Marston and wife, Eunice 
Folsom, married Sarah Emerson. Their daughter, Sarah, mar- 
ried Eben r L. Smith (Strafford deeds.) 

Reuben Marston, Jr., of Meredith, deeded to his son, Josiah 
Marston, land in Meredith. Reuben, Jr., first lived on the 
Province Road and tended the "pound" before the stone pound 
was built in 1792. 

Josiah Marston, born at Meredith in 1778, son of Reuben 5 
Marston, married Mercy Robinson, about 1800. They moved to 
Center Harbor in 1804, where their children were born, then re- 
moved to Cabot, Yt., where he died. The children returned to 
New Hampshire. Their children: 

David L., b. 1802. 

Sarah, b. 1804; m. Samuel Dudley. 

Nancy, b. 1807; m. Capt. Thomas Robinson. 



306 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Priscilla, b. 1810; m. Findlay Robinson. 
Lovina, b. 1812; m. Smith Shephard. 
Mary, b. 1815; m. George Ramsey. 

Buried in the Marston Private Yard 

Hazen Marston, born in 1803, married Triphena Ray in 1827. 
She died. He married, second, Mrs. Mary Gilman. They lived 
on the Marston homestead, and are buried in the little yard on 
the farm. Tradition states that Mary Marston, wife of Nicholas 
Smith, and her father, Reuben 4 , and wife, Mary Bachelder, 
were also buried in that yard; also Stephen Pitman, 1767-1851, 
has a stone there. He was a father of David Pitman and lived 
a little below the Marstons. The house is gone. Children of 
Hazen Marston and Tryphena Ray: 

Mahala, b. 1828; m. George Conner. 

Noah, b. 1830; m. Mary Gilman, dau. of Joseph Gilman, in 

1857. 
Sarah, b. 1832; m. John Chase, who lived in the Dolloff 

neighborhood. Their son was Harry Chase of Laconia. 
Elizabeth, 1835-1837. 

Hazen married, second, Mrs. Mary Gilman, widow of Joseph 
Gilman. She died in 1926. Their children: 

Cora, b. 1859; m. Fred C. Shabbott. 

Carrie, b. 1861; m. Charles Prescott. They live on the 

John Smith place. 
Tryphena, b. 1864; m. Archie Card of Cambridge, Mass. 
Leon, b. 1874; lives on the old Marston Homestead. He is 

the sixth generation of Marstons living there. 

GILMAN 

Joseph T. Gilman, born in 1804, married Mary H. Doe, 1807- 
1888. Their children: 

Albert, b. 1831. 

Mary E., b. 1837; m. Noah Marston in 1857. 

Joseph, b. 1851. 

Joseph F. Gilman died and his wife, Mary H. (Doe) Gilman, 
married as her second husband Hazen Marston, she being his 
second wife. 



GENEALOGIES 307 

In the old Gilman family Bible is this proverb which Albert 
Gilman used in his daily life: "Be careful, and let truth be your 
motto, and you will have friends on both spheres, and will pros- 
per." This was saved by his mother, Mrs. Mary H. (Doe) 
Marston, which shows that her son was a good man. 

Buried in the Dolloff Yard, above Meredith Center 

John Smith, 1759 1834. His wife, Phebe, 1765-1834. 

Emerson S. Marston, 1834-1886. His wife, Widow Ellen J., 
wife of Alanson Dolloff , 1836-1889. Melissa and George, children 
of the above. 

Thomas Dolloff, 1759-1841. His wife, Elice, 1761-1854. 
Their son, Xoah Dolloff, 1786-1825. 

James M. Marston, 1809-1881. His wife, Abigail, 1806-1890. 

Jeremiah L. Marston, 1836-1861. 

Hannah, wife of Andrew J. Tucker, 1827-1861. 

Rufus Huckins, son of Jonathan Dolloff 7 Huckins, married 
Dorothy Dow in 1836; later he married his cousin, Abigail (Smith) 
Huckins, daughter of John Smith and Esther Huckins, 1812-1851, 
born in New Hampton. Children by Abigail Smith. The 
second child, Rufus of New Hampton, born in 1845, died in La- 
conia, May 18, 1910. He married in 1878, Mahala J. (Marston) 
Conner, daughter of Hazen Marston and wife, Tryphena (Ray) 
Marston, and widow of George, 1837-1909, born in Meredith. 

History states that one Caleb Marston, born in 1729, was 
baptized in Oyster River. He married and his son, Caleb, born 
in Newmarket in 1762, married Rhoda Mead in 1785 at Meredith. 
They settled in the part of Gilmanton that later w r as set off as 
Guilford. They had ten children, who married with the Potter, 
Weeks, Bean and Sanborn families, and scattered. 

Josiah Sanborn Granted to Reuben Marston, Senior 

Witnesses: Nathaniel Parker, Ebeneezer Smith. 

Warranty Deed, dated Dec. 24, 1777; acknowledgment Sept. 3, 1806; the 
consideration, fifteen pounds, lawful money. Dower released. 

Description 

Seventy acres of land in the township of Meredith aforesaid, the same being 
part of Lot Xo. 8, in the 6th Range of lots in the First division bounded as 



308 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

followeth, Vizt, beginning at the northeasterly end of said lot thence to extend 
southwesterly into said lot earring the whole whidth of the same until the said 
seventy acres is measured of and completed. 

At the Superior Court of Judicature holden at Exeter within & for the 
County of Rockingham on the third tuesday of September in the year of our 
Lord, one thousand eight hundred and six, personally appeared Nathaniel 
Parker, and made Solemn Oath, that he saw Josiah Sanborn sign seal, & deliver 
the within written instrument that he and Ebeneezer Smith set their names 
thereto as witnesses to the Execution thereof, and that the grantor has since 
died. 

Re'cdOct 1, 1806. 

Reuben Marston, Sr., to John Bickford 

June 17, 1807. 

A certain piece of land, in the town of Meredith, which is my Homestead 
farm, containing fifty acres, it being out of Lot No. 4, in the fifth Range, and 
first division, to be taken off the South side of said lot, also one other piece of 
land containing two acres and nineteen rods, the same beginning by the road 
at the Range line between the fifth and sixth Ranges, thence to run south 
about seventy three degrees, west nineteen rods, thence to run north eleven 
degrees west nineteen rods and ten feet, to a stake, and stones, thence runing 
north, seventy three degrees east the aforesaid range line, thence south twenty 
degrees, east on said range line to the bounds begun at, except a privilege re- 
served to the widow Deborah Mead, to make the cider which she annually 
makes in the cider mill that belongs to said farm. 

John Bickford to Ebeneezer Weeks 

Feb 20, 1815. 

A certain piece or parcel of land in Meredith, which was the Homestead farm 
of Reuben Marston, Sr., & by said Marston's deed to me will more fully appear, 
and is part of Lot number four, in the fifth Range, and first division in said 
Meredith, taken off of the south side of said lot. Also one other piece of land 
containing two acres and nineteen square rods, the same being purchased of 
Reuben Morgan, containing in the whole, fifty two acres, and nineteen rods, 
with the buildings thereon. 

William Marston, Sr., was the patriarch of Hampton, N. H. 
He was born in England about 1592, and came to Salem, Mass., 
with his family in 1634. In 1638 he, among fifty-five, went to 
Winnicumet and settled on granted land in Hampton. History 
tells us that he was a kind, godly man, was a member of the 
Quaker Church, and was persecuted for his belief. He died in 
1672, leaving six children; among them was the second son, Capt. 



GENEALOGIES 309 

William'-, Jr., who was born in 1622 in England. He married 
Rebecca Page, daughter of Robert and wife, Lucia Page. She 
died and he married, second, Mrs. Ann Philbrick, about 1675, 
widow of James Philbrick, Sr. Their children: 

Rebecca, b. 1654; m. 1676, John Smith. 
Hannah, b. 1656; m. 1676, Samuel Eogg. 
Mary, 1659-1660. 
Samuel, b. 1681. 

Lucy, b. 1665; m. Moulton. 

William, 1667-1667. 

William, b. 1669. 

Maria, b. 1695; m. James Prescott. 

Capt. Samuel 3 Marston, 1661-1723, married Sarah Sanborn, 
1666 1738, daughter of William Sanborn. They had eleven 
children. Their seventh child, Reuben, was born in 1696. 
Sarah, born in 1699, married Jacob Libby. Mary, born in 1707, 
married Moses Perkins in 1730. 

The sixth child, Reuben 4 , born in 1696, married Sarah Leavitt. 
They had seven children. Their third child, born in 1722, mar- 
ried Sarah Batchelder in 1745. They lived in Hampton until 
1777, then removed to Meredith. He was a lieutenant in 2d 
Company of 2d Regiment, N. H. troops, in 1755, French and 
Indian War. Children: 

Reuben, b. 1746. 

Sarah, b. 1747; m. John Whitcher. 

Jane, b. 1749. 

Stephen, 1751-1751. 

Abraham, b. 1752; d. young. 

Mary, b. 1755; m. Deacon Nicholas Smith. 

John, b. 1757. 

Susan, b. 1759; m. Moses Smith. 

Jeremiah, b. 1761. 

Elizabeth, b. 1763; m. Joseph Smith. 

Three Smith brothers married three Marston sisters. 

Reuben 5 Marston (Reuben 4 , Samuel 3 , William 2 , William 1 ), 
born in 1746, married Sarah Danforth. They lived in Meredith 
until 1803, then removed to Province of Quebec, and died there. 
The family returned to Meredith. Their children: 

Sarah, b. 1772; m. Isaac Bowker. 

Susan, b. 1775; m. David Lawrence of Meredith. 

Josiah, b. 1778; m. Mercy Robinson. 



310 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lucy, b. 1781; m. Solomon Prescott. 
Stephen, b. 1784. 
Jeremiah, b. 1787. 

Jeremiah Marston, a brother of Reuben 5 Marston, 1761-1820, 
and son of Reuben and Sarah Batchelder, married Mary Roberts 
about 1782. They settled in Meredith. Their children: 

Chare, b. 1783. 

Priscilla, b. 1786; m. Noah Lawrence. 

Mary, b. 1788; m. Nathan Farrar. 

Sarah, b. 1791; m. Elias Glidden. 

Smith, b. 1794. 

Jeremiah, b. 1796. 

Mahala, b. 1798. 

John, b. 1801; d. young. 

Hazen, b. 1803. 

Jane, b. 1805; d. young. 

Josiah Marston, born in 1778, son of Reuben and wife, Sarah 
Danforth, married Mercy Robinson about 1800. They removed 
to Center Harbor in 1804. Later they moved to Cabot, Vt., 
where he died. His family returned to Meredith. Their chil- 
dren: 

David L., b. 1802; m. Sarah Piper, 1823, of Holderness. 

Sarah, b. 1804; m. Samuel Dudley. 

Nancy, b. 1807; m. Thomas Robinson. 

Priscilla, b. 1810; m. Findlay Robinson. 

Lovina, b. 1812; m. Smith Shephard. 

Mary, b. 1815; m. George Ramsey. 

David Lawrence Marston, born in 1802, son of Josiah and wife, 
Mercv Robinson. Their children: 

J 

Josiah, b. 1823. 

Benjamin P., b. 1825. 

Jane P., b. 1827; m. Samuel Merrill. 

Thaddeus, b. 1830. 

Sarah D., b. 1832; m. Warren Merrill. 

Mara A., b. 1835; m. Horace Huntress. 

Margaret, b. 1837; m. Jeremiah Stickney. 

Augustus, 1840-1858. 

Elder Richard Martin 

September 3, 1800, Elder Richard Martin of Guilford baptized 
fourteen persons at Oak Hill in Meredith. 
Robert Smith and wife Abigail (Cass) Smith. 



GENEALOGIES 311 

Polly Smith, daughter of Robert Smith. 

Capt. William Pike and wife, Phebe Smith, daughter of Robert 
Smith. 

Nancy Pike, a sister to Capt. William Pike. 

Rebecca Pease, 2d. 

Nathaniel Pease. 

Simeon Pease, the pioneer. 

Robert Pease married Mary Smith, daughter of Deacon Joseph 
Smith and wife, Polly (Smith) Pease. 

Deacon Theodore Hart married Abigail Smith, daughter of 
Deacon Joseph Smith and wife, Elizabeth (Marston) Smith. 

Peter Peters. 

Sally Sinclair. 

These meetings were characterized by great religious fervor and 
"power." Often people were possessed of so much "power " as to 
lose consciousness and remain in this state for some hours, which 
at that time occasioned no alarm. These were seasons of spiritual 
agony, called "Travail of the Soul." 

MEAD 

From History of Nottingham, Deer field, North-wood 

There were three branches of Meads. The one of New Hamp- 
shire, John Mead, was a sea captain in early days, whose large 
sea chest, or trunk, is still in the Plumer family in Epping. 

John Mead lived in Stratham and married a daughter of Colonel 
Folsom of Newmarket. 

Colonel Folsom lived in an old brick garrison house, between 
Newmarket Village and South Newmarket, where now stands the 
house of Constantine Matthes. 

The grandmother of Mrs. Plumer of Epping was born in the 
garrison house. 

One night, when about ten years old, at dusk she stepped out of 
the door, and saw an Indian peeping around the side of the house; 
she gave an alarm. That night two families who lived near by 
were carried off by the Indians into Canada. 

This was the beginning of the French and Indian War, and the 
first intimation that war had commenced. 

This John Mead had five daughters and sons. Benjamin, who 



312 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

lived in Newmarket; a son, John, lived in Deerfield; Jeremy, the 
youngest son, lived in Newmarket. The daughters: Rhoda 
married - ■ Willey in Deerfield; Mary married - — Shute of 
Northwood ; another married Doe. 

Levi Mead, born in 1753 at Newmarket, married Susanna 
Hilton. She was born in 1757, a daughter of Ichabod Hilton and 
wife, who was Susanna Smith, daughter of Joseph Smith of 
Newmarket. 

This Ichabod Hilton was a son of Winthrop Hilton, who died in 
1781. His wife was Martha Weeks, daughter of Joshua Weeks, 
but at the time of her marriage to him was the widow of Chase 
Wiggin. She died March 31, 1769. 

1674. George Mead of Devon, in Old England, was com- 
mander of the ketch "Triall." 

1714. John Mead of Exeter received from Nicholas and wife, 
Elizabeth Mead, land and buildings in Exeter. 

1727. John Mead received land in the Bow Charter. 

1746. John Mead and wife, Mary Hersey, daughter of Capt. 
Jeremiah Folsom of Newmarket; Lieutenant-Colonel of 4th 
Regiment of N. H. Militia. He signed the Association Test 
July 12, 1776. Probably died soon after. His will was dated 
July 17, 1776. 

From Mrs. Eliza Mead Waltz of Lakeport 

John Mead, a Revolutionary soldier, was buried above Laconia 
on his farm. 

Capt. Stephen Mead, 1766-1804, of Meredith married Deborah 
Woodman, 1767-1846, daughter of Capt. Joshua Woodman, born 
in 1736 at Lee, died in 1827 at Sanbornton. He was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. His wife, Lois, was born in Maine, 1736-1820. 
They removed to Meredith, 1758/89, then removed to Sanborn- 
ton in 1794. Their children: 

Asa was a Congregational minister. 

Stephen m. Widow Ladd, who had two children, Lucian 
Ladd and a dau. who m. Dr. Knowles. He d. and she 
m., second, Dr. Prescott of Laconia. Stephen Mead and 
his wife, formerly the Widow Ladd, had a son, George L., 
formerly of Laconia, but d. in Boston. Stephen Mead m., 

second, Charlotte . They had a dau., Lizzie, who 

d. at the "Home for the Aged." 



GENEALOGIES 313 

Joshua, 1803-1831, m. 1826 Sally Folsom, dau. of Abraham 
Folsom of Lake Village. Their children: 

Mary Octavia, b. 1827, m. Jeremiah D. Sleeper of 
Gilmanton, b. 1828. Their dau., Viola Rogers 
Sleeper, b. 1856, m. Frank G. Robbins. She m., 
second, Elvert G. Perkins. They had one dau., 
Viola Octavia Perkins, b. 1883; live in California. 
She m. 1907, Luther E. Long. 
Illevia Ann, b. 1830, m. Proctor Sargent. They had 
one dau., Amy Ann, 1859-1860. She m., second, 
Wilson McKie. They had a dau., Beulah, b. 1871, 
m. Francis Walker, 1893. They have ten children; 
live in Lone Oak, Texas. 
Lois, 1795-1875, m. John Neal, 1790-1864, of Meredith. 

They had eleven children. (See Neal family.) 
Polly (Mary), m. Thomas Gate. (Record not found.) 
Betsey (Elizabeth), m. Elder Lewis Caswell; d. in Boston, 

Mass. 
A dau. m. Elder Abel Philbrick; went West. 
William Henry, 1804-1868, of Meredith, m. Abigail W. 
Hayes, 1812-1838, dau. of John P. Hayes and wife, Molly 
Emery. They had a son, Asa Lewis Mead, who went 
West, into a mining region, and was never heard from. 
William Henry Mead m., second, Rhoda Fletcher. Their 
children: 

Charles Fletcher, 1839-1906; never m. 
Abigail Fletcher m. Charles Proctor of Bristol. 
Eliza Ann m. George Waltz. Their dau., Madeline 
Ella, m. Julius Edwin Sanborn; m., second, Harry 
Bernard Merrill. 
William Henry, 1846-1904, m. Martha Norwell, 1849- 
1863. Their children: 

Frank N., lives in Franklin. 
Mary Ella, 1849-1863. 
Betsey C, m. Albert Burleigh. Their dau., Bertha, m. J. 
Bert Sanborn. 

Meredith Neck Branch 

William Mead, went to Meredith in 1766. He had three sons 
and seven daughters (William, Stephen, John,) . 

William Mead, 1762-1840, married Eunice - -, 1768-1813. 
His second wife, Sally — , 1787-1855. They settled on 

Meredith Neck. A son, Joseph R., 1791 1857, married Mary 
Roberts, 1794-1874. Their daughter 



314 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Sally E., b. 1818, m. Luther Boynton. Their children: 
George C, b. 1852. 

Mead, m. — Veasey; m., second, Mary Woodman. 
(See Smiths.) 

Joseph R. Mead, 1821-1899, married Mary E. Boynton in 
1855, daughter of Ebenezer and wife, Betsey S. (Hart) Boynton. 
Their children: 

Infant daughter, 1856-1856. 

Joseph Willis, b. 1858; m. Lydia S. Peabody in 1886. He 

d.; she m. Fred Smith of Meredith. 
Frank Arthur, 1859-1872. 

Nellie Maria, b. 1861; m. 1888, Alfred C. Wyatt. 
Frank Albert, b. 1869; m. Lettie E. Berry in 1905. They 

have an adopted son, J. Walter, b. July 19, 1920. 

William P. Mead, 1824-1890, married in 1850 Abigail H. Boyn- 
ton, born in 1823, a daughter of Ebenezer Boynton and wife, 
Betsey S. (Hart) Boynton. Their son, Charles William, born in 
1852, married Abbie - -. Their son, Willie, 1876-1895. 

Minnie married Frank Bickford. Mary and Grace. 

Five generations of Meads are buried in the yard on the Mead 
farm. 

Daniel, W r illiam and Joseph Mead were brothers. 

William S. Mead, son of Daniel Mead, married Betsey French; 
married, second, Hannah Jewett. Their children: 

Solomon, m. Eunice J. Wiggin. Their son, Arthur Clar- 
ence, m. Lillian S. Robinson. 
Benjamin. 
William, m. Joanna Jewett. Their son, Arthur J. Mead. 

William S. Mead had a brother Joshua Mead. (No record.) 

Eunice Mead married Richard Wiggin. 

Mary Mead married Thomas Sinclair, a Revolutionary soldier. 
They are buried in the Sinclair yard, near "Oak Hill Meeting 
House." 

The Names of Meads, Buried on the Old Home Farnl 

John Mead. 

William Mead and wife, Eunice, daughter of Lieutenant 
Roberts. 

Joseph R. Mead, 1791-1857; wife, Mary Roberts, 1794-1874; 
second wife, Sarah E. Roberts. 



GENEALOGIES 315 

William Mead, who was one of the three sons of William Mead, 
and he a son of John Mead, the Revolutionary soldier, who lived 
above the Crockett schoolhouse on Mead Hill, formerly Meredith, 
now Laconia. 

John Mead is buried on his old farm, and his grave is marked 
by D. A. R.'s. 

John Mead, the Revolutionary soldier, lived on the left going up 
Mead Hill, and William, his son, lived on the right on top of the 
hill. He is the William that moved over to Meredith Neck, and 
married Eunice Roberts. 

Stephen Mead, 1770-1804, lived in his father's home (John 
Mead) on the left, part way up the hill. His son, Capt. Stephen 2 , 
was hurt and died in 1804 during the building of the Weirs Bridge. 
He is buried (as tradition) in the old Mead yard, and has only a 
field stone at the grave. He married Deborah Woodman. Their 
children: 

Asa. 

Stephen, injured and died from fall at Weirs Bridge. 

Joshua. 

Mead Marriages 

Stephen Mead, 1765-1804, of Meredith, married Deborah 
Woodman of Sanbornton, she a daughter of Joshua Woodman; 
buried in Woodman yard. Their children: 

Asa Woodmax, b. Mar. 25, 1792, in Meredith. 
Polly S., b. Dec. 16, 1794, in Meredith. 
Louise Woodman, b. Aug. 13, 1796, in Meredith. 
Melinda, b. June 13, 1798, in Meredith. 
Stephen W., b. Apr. 9, 1800; d. 1879 in Meredith. 
Betsey, b. Apr. 1, 1801. 
Joshua, b. Apr. 19, 1803. 
William, b. Apr. 2, 1804. 

John Mead married Hannah in Stratham. Their 

children: 

Susanna, b. Eeb. 6, 1709. 
John, b. May 4, 1712. 
Thomas, b. Mar. 19, 1715. 
Joseph, b. Aug. 17, 1717. 
Benjamin, b. Oct. 23, 1718. 

Stephen Mead married Lucy - — . Their children: 



316 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lucy, b. July 1, 1780. 
John, b. Aug. 29, 1786. 
Rebecca, b. Mav 1, 1791. 
Sally, b. Sept. 30, 1796. 

Disconnected 

John Mead married Lucy Lord, Newmarket, December 25, 
1794. 

John Mead married Hannah How, New Hampton, November 
3, 1805. 

William Mead married Sally French, Gilmanton, March 16, 
1814. 

William Mead married Hannah Jarvett, Guilford, in 1845. 

Joseph Mead married Polly Roberts, Meredith, June 16, 1817. 

Joshua Mead married Sally Potsam in 1827. 

Stephen W. married Betsey Ladd, March 8, 1832. 

William H. Mead married Abigail Hayes, Bridgewater, May 1, 
1833. 

William W. Mead married Rhoda Fletcher in 1837. 

Stephen W. married Charlotte Ladd, August 31, 1842. 

William P. Mead married Abby H. Boynton, Meredith, in 
1850. 

Deaths of Meads 

Joseph R. Mead died August 16, 1889, aged 78 years, son 
Joseph and Polly Roberts. 

Stephen W. Mead died September 27, 1879, aged 80 years, son 
of Stephen and Deborah Woodman, she a daughter of Joshua 
W'oodman of Sanbornton. 

William P. Mead died April 4, 1890, aged 65 years, son of 
Joseph and Mary Roberts of Meredith. 

Hannah Mead died October 1, 1877, aged 76 years, she born in 
Guilford, daughter of Benjamin Jewett and wife, Rebecca Jewett. 

William Mead married Eunice - — . Their children: 

Eunice, b. Feb. 19, 1789. 
Polly, b. July 7, 1801. 
Joseph Roberts, b. Aug. 20, 1791. 
Joshua, b. Mar. 28, 1796. 
Daniel R., b. Jan. 7, 1804. 
Abigail, b. Aug. 7, 1806. 
John, b. Apr. 6, 1794. 
William, b. Apr. 6, 1794. 



GENEALOGIES 317 

Joseph R. Mead married Polly Roberts in 1817. Their chil- 
dren: 

Sarah E., b. Apr. 23, 1818. 
Joseph R., b. Eeb. 24, 1821. 
William P., b. Apr. 30, 1824. 

From Old Wills and Deeds at Concord, N. H. 

June 28, 1714. John Mead (son) of Exeter, N. H., deed from 
Nicholas Mead of Portsmouth and wife, Elizabeth, land and 
buildings in Exeter. 

1727. John Mead. (See Bow charter.) 

1741. John Mead had land in Newmarket. 

February 19, 1746. John Mead (husband) of Mary Folsome, 
daughter of Jeremiah Folsome of Newmarket. 

1753. John Mead of Newmarket deeded one share in Bow 
original right of his father, John Mead. 

March 18, 1760. John Mead of Stratham and wife, Ruth 
Mead, deeded to Joseph Clark, home in Stratham. 

1763. John Mead, from Chase Wiggin of Falmouth, Main 
(Maine), deeded land on Great Bay, which said Wiggin bought of 
Andrew Wiggin February 23, 1757. 

1768. John Mead, Newmarket, April 16, administrator of 
estate of John Bowden, to Nathaniel Folsom, land in Exeter. 

1768. John Mead, Jr., received deed of land in Newmarket. 

February 19, 1746. Mary Mead (wife of John, who was 
daughter of Jeremiah Folsome). (See will, Newmarket, N. H.) 

A Mead connected with the Stephen Mead deceased. 

John Cate farm. Relatives of whole and half blood 

Asa. Joshua Quimby. Sally Smith. 

Brother of first W m Mead (b. 1766) 

went to Meadville, Pa. Joshua — Polly dec. 

This \V m Mead is son of 1st W m Mead in Meredith. 

W m Mead Eunice Roberts, dau. of Lieut Joseph Roberts. 

Susan. James Gilman. Joseph R. Mary Roberts. William. Betsey Quimby. 

James Marshall. Martha B. Smith. 

Sarah E. (Luther Boynton) 

Joseph R. (Mary Boynton) 

W m P. (Abbie Boynton) 
W m S. (Joanna Jewett) 



318 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Herbert (dead) 

James Granville 

Joseph Willis (dead) 

Nellie (Mrs. Wyatt) 

Albert Frank 

Arthur J. 

MERRILL 

The Merrill family, as history states, were of Norman descent. 
They were located in the north of France, and later came through 
England to New England, Nathaniel being the early emigrant to 
Newbury, Mass. They married and raised descendants down 
through to William of the seventh generation, born in 1805; died 
in 1876 at Holderness. He bought and sold wool, and farm 
produce. He married Hannah C, daughter of Deacon Abraham 
Batchelder, 1780-1871, of Northwood. Their children: 

Mary Augusta, b. in Holderness; d. in Meredith in 1846. 
Susan Maria, b. 1836; m. Andrew Dimock of Boston. 
Emily Ann, b. 1840; m. James W. Hoit of Lynn, Mass. 
Hollis W., b. 1842; m. Mary S. Young; m., second, Mrs. 

Hattie M. (Leavitt) Gore. 
George Boardman, b. 1848; m. Addie M., dau. of Samuel 
James and wife, Eliza C. (Hyde) Osgood. Samuel James 
Osgood was b. in Tamworth. His real surname was 
Hackett, but when he reached manhood he had his name 
changed to Osgood. Their children: 

George B. Osgood, b. in Laconia; d. in the Civil War in 

battle. 
Kate J., m. Fred L. Beaman. 
Clara H., m. Frank J. Tourtclot. 
Addie M. 
Annie M., m. Albert W. Wilcox. 

John Franklin Merrill, son of William and wife, Hannah 
(Batchelder) Merrill, born in 1833 at Holderness, learned the 
granite and marble business and became partner in 1856; later he 
bought the business and sold it in 1892. When Union Cemetery 
Association was started in 1860, he was elected one of the direc- 
tors. He married in 1850 Eleanor J. Eaton. She died in 1864. 
He married, second, in 1865, Flora Abby, daughter of Morrison 
and wife, Sarah (James) Rowe. Their children: 

Albert Rowe, b. 1867; resided in Lynn, Mass. 
Frank Carlton, b. 1869; m. Christanna Lamprey. 



GENEALOGIES 319 

Eva Lillian, b. 1871; m. Eugene N. Bast, a lawyer in 

Minneapolis. 
Frederick Dlmock, b. 1877. 

The Merrill family lived and are buried on the Webster East- 
man place, in Holderness. 

David Merrill was an early settler and had a son, Jacob Merrill, 
who lived on his father's place. His son, John Merrill, lived and 
died on Mile Hill, out of Meredith. His sister, Julia Merrill, 
married - - Webster. She died on Pine Street, Meredith. 

John Merrill married Roxy Crowell, a daughter of Newman 
Crowell and wife, Nancy Brown. Nancy Brown was an aunt to 
William Brown, who died in Meredith. 

Moses Merrill came to Meredith after he had served in the 
Revolutionary War. His pension record states that he lived in 
Meredith forty-six years and died there. He is buried in the 
first Sanbornton-Meredith Church yard, later called "Pine Hill 
Church," where many were laid to rest, with only a field stone to 
mark their graves. The yard is grown up to bushes, and few are 
left that know who were laid there. 

Thomas Leavitt deeded to Moses Merrill a parcel of land in the 
so-called "Letter H of common land," north of the land sold to 
Solomon Smith, up to the New Holderness line, for Moses Merrill 
to hold forever. (Signed) Thomas Leavitt. Witnesses: John 
Lovering, Jr., Edward Langmaid. Dated August 9, 1815. 

John Merrill lived part way down Ladd Hill in Meredith. He 
married Roxy Crowell, a daughter of Nancy Brown, who was a 
sister to William Brown, who early lived in Campton and died in 
Meredith. Nancy Brown married Newman Crow r ell. Their 
children: Roxy, Charles, and Ellen, who married Josiah G. 
Thompson. 

John Merrill was a son of Jacob Merrill; he a son of David 
Merrill of Holderness. He lived on the Webster Eastman farm. 

David Merrill was a descendant of the Salisbury, Mass., 
branch. He settled in Holderness on what is now called the 
"Webster Eastman farm." He was a son of Jacob Lee Merrill 
(as tradition) of Plymouth, who purchased land in Campton, 
north of Baker's River. 



320 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John Merrill had a sister, Julia A. Merrill, born in 1844, who 
married Amos D. Webster, 1832-1909. They were married in 
1861. Their daughter, Mary E. Webster, born in 1888, married 
Harry L. Brown, born in 1861, son of William H. Brown and wife, 
Sarah Willoughby. 

Mary Ella Webster, born in 1866. 
Fred Everett W r ebster, born in 1867. 
Ida May Gibbs, born in 1870. 
Edward Everett Webster, born in 1895. 
Mary Edna Webster, born in 1897. 

David Merrill, 1769-1859, married Sarah H. Lee, 1778-1847, 
from Ossipee Mountain. 

David Lee Merrill, 1802-1826. 

Mary A., 1807-1826. 

Eliza, m. Joseph Smith on Red Hill. 

Julia A., 1814-1858; m. Benjamin H. Eastman. 

William Elliott. 

Hepzabah, 1820-1858; m. Stephen B. How. 

Jacob Lee Merrill. 

Jacob Merrill, 1778-1847, married Mary, daughter of John 
Smith and wife, Polly (Mary) Mudgett. Their daughter, a 
sister of David Merrill, married Charles W. Eastman. 

Julia Merrill married — — Webster, great-grandfather of Mrs. 
Julia Webster, who lived in Meredith. 



MOONEY 

The old records state that a section of old Dover was called 
Barbadoes; is now called Madbury. 

In 1739 Benjamin Evans sold to Hercules Mooney, then a 
schoolmaster in the part of old Dover, now Durham, eleven acres 
of land. Hercules Mooney came from Ireland and was called a 
great teacher. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin 
and Mary (Field) Evans of Dover. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 321 

Lieut. Benjamin, b. Jan. 6. 1740; m. Hannah Burnham, b. 

1745. He died at Guilford in 1798; he was a Lieutenant 

in the Revolution. 
Jonathan, b. 1744; m. 1770 Patience Gould. He d. in 

(Eaton) Holderness. 
Obadiah, m. Joanna Moore; moved to Canterbury. 
Elizabeth, bapt. 1750 in Dover. 

Hannah, b. 1752; m. 1769 Ezekiel Harper of Brentwood. 
John, b. 1754; lived in Meredith; m. Catherine Roberts, 

1782-1854, of Guilford. He was a judge of probate of 

Strafford County. 
Solomon, enlisted in 1779. 
Susanna, m. James Smith. 

Hercules Mooney was an active man in clearing and making the 
Province Road for the settlers. At Ticonderoga in 1777, he lost 
most of his belongings. He lived at Durham until 1785, then 
removed to Holderness. He died in 1800 and is buried under an 
old willow tree, down beside the river on the Baker farm, which he 
then owned. Only a field stone marks his grave. 

As history states, Hercules Mooney was the earliest school 
teacher in Durham; was a tutor in a nobleman's family in Ireland, 
and was said to be Ireland's precious gift to New Hampshire. 
He was a great commander in battle. He also served as repre- 
sentative four times in Lee, and was a grantee of Holderness. 

MOORE 

The descendants of Ensign John Moor of Canterbury, N. H., 
by Howard P. Moore, is a very valuable and interesting descrip- 
tion of the early Moore family, on which much time and money 
has been used to accomplish so good a history. 

The early Moor family were in Portsmouth, N. H., and the 
descendants of each generation drifted farther inland, as it be- 
came safe to settle and make a home. 

John Moor married Hannah Sias, a descendant of three brothers 
who were Huguenots. Their religion was Protestant and, with 
others, were "Puritans of France," and emigrated to other coun- 
tries until there were many seeking freedom of thought left in 
their native land. 

Tradition states that John Moor, in 1733, went from his home in 
Durham and had an allotment of land as grantee under the 1727 



322 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Charter, as he was a landholder in Durham. He acquired and 
purchased land in Canterbury, enough for his four sons, and 
himself a farm. He went through the woods from Durham to 
Canterbury and made "The Moore Cave" to live in, so as to hold 
a title to his land. He made a cavity in the bank of earth beside a 
fine brook. He put in timber, hewn from trees on the 40-acre 
lot that he had bought, and used them as a support on the sides 
and overhead, and built a chimney of stones and clay, and prob- 
ably a front of wood. 

History states that he lived here alone for a time, to hold his 
title; but as his sons grew up they went with him and helped clear 
the land, as there were no roads, only bridle paths, and Indians 
prowling about for mischief. 

The cave was later filled with rocks, where it had fallen in, so 
that the stock pasturing there would not fall in and get hurt. It 
was some 20 by 26 feet in size. 

John Moor was the forefather of all the descendants of Moores 
in this locality. 

History states that many times John Moor would walk in the 
brook to the outlet of the Merrimack, to throw the Indians off his 
trail and go to the store on Boscawen Plains on the other side of 
the river. He in after years would relate to his children his 
hardships in the early settlement, when the wolf and other wild 
animals would howl around his home, and would tell them of the 
lands and homes in Old England ; and as the mother was a Hugue- 
not refugee, they would tell the children of the homes in sunny 
France, also the adventures of his father, Samuel Moor, who sailed 
to the Barbadoes from Portsmouth. 

John Moor was prominent in town offices, and did much to 
settle the town. 

The generations that followed lived in Canterbury and Loudon, 
and as the country became more settled they drifted inland. 

Archelius, born in 1779, married Abigail Fifield, daughter of 
Capt. David Fifield, and went to Gilmanton in 1780 from 
Stratham. They had seven children. 

David Fifield Moore, born at Loudon Ridge in 1815, died in 
1888 at Lakeport. He married Susan Frances Clifford, daughter 
of Joseph and wife, Clarissa Clifford. The Clifford family date 
back to "William the Conqueror." David F. Moore studied 
medicine, received a degree from college, and in 1855 moved his 



GENEALOGIES 323 

family to Lake Village, where for thirty years he practiced medi- 
cine successfully. He was one of the earliest Homeopathic 
doctors in central New Hampshire, and well known through the 
length and breadth of Meredith. They had nine children: 

George Franklin, b. 1841 on Loudon Ridge. He m- 
Louisa Parker, dau. of William H. Parker and wife, Lucy 
Barker Lang, b. in Tilton. He m., second, 1878, Frances 
Hawes Proctor, dau. of Franklin Proctor and wife, Julia 
Ann Hawes of Dorchester. Their son, Howard Parker 
Moore, b. 1868 in Lowell; m. Annie Maria Hoyt, dau. of 
Corp. Samuel Baker Hoyt and wife, Sarah M. Day, dau. 
of Rev. H. Day. He has held many offices in insurance 
companies and traveled abroad in many countries in 
connection with his work. He wrote in 1918 "The De- 
scendants of Ensign John Moor of Canterbury." They 
have one daughter, Dorothy, b. 1896. 

Hannah Frances, 1843-1868; d. at Lake Village. 

Joseph Clifford, 1844-1909; studied medicine with his 
father. He m. Mary Emily Hopkins. He was connected 
with the Manchester Union, also other business. He d. in 
Lakeport. 

Mary Ellen, b. 1846; m., at Lake Village, Henry Tucker, 
son of Alvah Tucker and wife, Mary J. (Bean) Tucker. 
He served in the Civil War. He also was agent at the 
Halifax Mills, and practiced medicine. They had two 
children. 

Edwin Forrest, 1850-1867; d. at Lake Milage. 

Rufus Reed (called Choate), 1851-1884; d. at Lake Milage. 
He m. Susan M. Proctor, sister to Frances H., who m. 
George F. Moore. They had a dau., Juilette Frances 
Moore, b. 1880 at Lake Village. She occupies the old 
Moore homestead at Lake Village and runs a gift shop in 
Laconia. Rufus Reed Moore, m., second, Fannie Wil- 
liams, b. 1864 at Littleton, N. H. One child, Josephine 
Clifford, b. 1884 at Lake Village. She m. Franklin 
Everett Bradway Sanders, b. at Lake Village. They live 
in Franklin and are proprietors of a laundry there. 

Three other children d. young. 



MORRILL 

Abraham Morrill, the emigrant, the first to come to this coun- 
try, went to Salisbury, Mass., and died there in 1662. He landed 
in Boston on the ship "Lion," with his brother, Isaac, in 1623. 
He was a blacksmith, called in ye olden time "The Tubal Cain 



324 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Workers." He had a house and lot in 1641 at Salisbury. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Robert Clement of Haverhill, in 1645. 
Their children: 

Isaac, b. 1646. 
Jacob, b. 1648. 
Sarah, b. 1650. 
Abraham, Jr., b. 1652. 
Moses, b. 1655. 
Aaron, b. 1658. 
Richard, b. 1660. 
Lydia, b. 1661. 
Hepsibah, b. 1663. 

Mrs. Sarah (Clement) Morrill married, second, Thomas 
Mudgett and had a daughter, Mary Mudgett. 

Barnard Morrill was born in Brentwood and later settled in 
Gilmanton (now Guilford). He was a shoemaker and ran a 
tannery, and held many town offices. He married in 1809, 
Judith, daughter of Jonathan Morrison, a Revolutionary soldier. 

Their son, John J. Morrill, born in 1816 at Guilford in the same 
house, and died in the same room, in 1892, where he was born. 
He studied under Dudley Leavitt, also at Gilmanton and New 
Hampton, for schooling. He dealt in lumber besides his tanning 
and farming. General Wadleigh appointed him colonel on the 
State Militia staff. In 1840 the campaign of the Whigs ran high, 
and much excitement was created. It was known as the "Log- 
Cabin" and "Hard Cider Contest." After electing a president, 
the slavery question divided the party. He represented the 
town of Guilford in the Legislature, and in 1876 he was one of the 
electors for president. He married Nancy, born in Brentwood in 
1819, daughter of Mesech Sanborn. She was a school teacher. 
They had children: 

Stark, 1846-1880. 
John Barnard, 1849-1852. 

John B. Sanborn, b. 1854, who graduated at Dartmouth in 
1879, but later returned and cared for the home. 

Mr. Morrill married in 1882, Mary S., a daughter of Simon 
Rowe of Guilford, who was a school teacher. He was a repre- 
sentative to Concord, and one of the trustees of the Guilford 
Public Library. 

A son of Abraham was Isaac Morrill. He lived in Salisbury 



GENEALOGIES 325 

and followed the trade of his father, being one of "ye Tubal Cain 
workers." He married Phebe, daughter of John Gill. They had 
eleven children. 

Down through the several generations is John Dudley Morrill, 
son of William in Brentwood, born in 1768. 

John Dudley Morrill married Lavina Robinson. They had 
three children; the youngest, George W. Morrill, married M. 
Frances, daughter of Thomas and Nancy (Hill) Weeks. They 
had three children. He was a farmer and stock raiser in Guilford. 



MORRISON 

History says that this is another Scotch family who were op- 
pressed and went to the north of Ireland and later came to Amer- 
ica. The descendants drifted inland with others. 

John Morrison went into the Revolution when eighteen years 
old. After serving three years he received the commission of 
"fife major." After his discharge he married Abigail Libbey. 
History credits fourteen children to them. 

Their fourth child, Abraham 5 Libbey Morrison, born in 1788, 
married Hannah Lane, daughter of David Lane. The family had 
moved from Boscawen to Sanborn ton. 

Their fifth child, Abraham Libbey Morrison, born in 1818, took 
up stage driving and was one of the last that drove through the 
\\ innepesaukee Valley. He drove between Laconia and Holder- 
ness. His coach burned in 1846. He then was connected with 
the Farmer Hotel in Concord, which ran several stage lines. 

In 1856 he had charge of the Willard Hotel for a time and sold 
it to George H. Everett. He then had a stage route to Center 
Harbor over Cass Hill, on which he and John Little of Laconia 
made the trips alternately. He married Susan H. Whipple, who 
died from an accident. 

He married, second, in 1871, Mrs. Betsey Elizabeth Howe, a 
daughter of James Howe, 1786-1864, and wife, Rebecca (Wyett) 
Howe, 1787-1876, of New Hampton. Her great-grandfather 
served in the Continental Army. 

Rebecca Wyett was a daughter of Deacon Wyett of Campton, 
N. H., and her mother descended from John Rogers of the "Pil- 
grims." The mother married, first, Daniel Wilson of Holderness, 
and they had four children: Myra, Hannah, David and Daniel. 



326 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

James Howe married, first, Nancy Drake of New Hampton. 
Their children: Lorenzo G. Howe, James M., Henry D. and 
Nancy D. Howe. 

After James Howe married Rebecca (VVyett) they had children : 
Horace F., Josiah S., Aaron M. (who studied to be a physician), 
Harriett S., Martha D., William G., George W. and Betsey Eliza- 
beth Howe. 

Betsey Elizabeth Howe married, first, Charles Stevens, who 
was a proprietor of the Mount Belknap House for some years at 
Lakeport. She had a daughter, Nellie M. Stevens, who married 
Eben Hoyt. He died and she married in 1897, George Burnham 
Cox. She had two children, a daughter, Alice L., who died 
young, and a son, Louis E. Cox. 

Abraham L. Morrison was one of the old stage drivers of the 
Winnepesaukee Valley. He was born in 1818 at Sanbornton, 
son of Abraham and wife, Hannah Lane. He was one of twelve 
children. 

In 1842 Mr. Morrison settled in Laconia and drove the horses 
on a stage from Laconia to Holderness (Ashland). In the big 
fire in 1846, the stable of Gove Place, which housed the stage and 
fittings, burned. 

In 1856 he ran the old YVillard Hotel at Laconia. After thirteen 
years he sold it to George Everett and kept a livery until 1886, 
when he sold out. In early life he had a stage line to Center 
Harbor, where he and John Little of Laconia drove alternate 
trips. He died in 1896. 

A. L. Morrison, married Susan Whipple of Sanbornton. They 
had children: George A., Curtis and Nellie Maria, who married 
Eben Hoyt, 1843-1894, a music dealer. After he died she mar- 
ried George B. Cox, a reputable lawyer of Laconia. They had 
two children. 

Mrs. Morrison died in 1869. In 1871 he married, second, 
Mrs. Betsey E. (Howe) Stevens, daughter of James Howe and 
wife, Rebecca (Wyett) Howe of New Hampton. Rebecca was a 
daughter of Deacon Wyett of Campton and wife, who was a 
descendant of John Rogers of the " Pilgrims." Her first husband 
was Daniel Wilson of Holderness. They had children: Myra, 
Hannah, David and Daniel. 

James Howe served in the Continental Army in the Revolution. 



GENEALOGIES 327 

He married Nancy Drake of New Hampton. They had children: 
Lorenzo G., James M., Henry D. and Nancy D. Howe. 

James Howe, 1786-1864, married, second, Widow Rebecca 
(Wyett) Wilson, 1787-1876. Their children were: Horace F., 
Josiah S., Aaron M., Harriet S., Martha D., William G., George 
W. and Betsey. 

Elizabeth Howe, who married Charles Stevens of Gilmanton, 
ran the Mt. Belknap Hotel at Lakeport several years. Elizabeth 
(Howe) Stevens married, second, Abraham L. Morrison. 

MOULTON 

In lovely Warwickshire, the Shakespearian country, was where 
Margaret Moulton lived until she was 13 years old. Her father 
Thomas de Moulton, died in 1313. He had a good friend, Ralph 
de Dacre, to whom he had betrothed her when of suitable age. 
After the father died King Edward II claimed her as his ward, and 
the large estate. 

There were no boys to inherit the castle and manor of Moulton 
(Multon), and it fell to Margaret. She was called "the flower of 
Gillesland." The King put her in the care of the Earl of War- 
wick. 

The Moulton Castle was called "Naworth Castle." It was 
Margaret's home. It was built to have a garrison built on. 

"Stern on the angry confines Naworth rose; 
In dark woods islanded, 
Its towers looked forth 
And frowned definance on the angry north." 

The writer well remembers the beautiful location, as we visited 
there. It was built to defend the Scots. 

Margaret bid defiance to the King, and the man he picked for 
her to marry, and when she was 17 years of age she was carried off 
in the night from Warwick Castle by her espoused suitor, 
Ralph de Dacre; thus he united two big estates of two powerful 
families. Margaret had four sons by him who became pillars of 
the church and state. 

Jonathan Moulton's ancestors came from Norfolk County, 
England. He was among those who settled at Winnicumet in 
the town of Hampton in 1638. History states that General 
Jonathan descended from John Moulton. He was born in 



328 ANNALS OF MEREDITH. N. H. 

Hampton, N. H., 1726-1788. He bought and received much 
land and helped to settle many people farther inland. 

In 1763 the town of Moultonboro was granted to sixty-two 
men, and he was one of them. It was granted by the Masonian 
owners. He was noted for his war service with the Indians and 
the Ossipee tribe on the border of the town on the north, where he 
became acquainted with the country on the western shores of the 
lake, which helped him to secure the land grant bordering Moul- 
tonboro. 

In 1763 he had an ox weighing 1,400 pounds, which he had fed 
and prepared for the occasion. He hoisted a flag on his horns 
and drove him from Hampton to Portsmouth and presented him 
to the Governor. The Governor offered to pay him, but the gen- 
eral refused any pay and said "that he would like a charter of a 
small gore of land that he had found joining the town of Moulton- 
boro, of which he was one of the principal proprietors." The 
Governor granted this simple request and the general called it 
"New Hampton" in honor of his native town (Hampton). This 
small "gore" of land contained 19,422 acres, a part of which is the 
present town of Center Harbor. 

General Moulton helped form New Hampton, Center Harbor 
and Moultonboro, which was called "Moultonboro Gore, or 
Addition." 

General Jonathan was of the fourth generation (Jacob 3 , John 2 , 
John 1 ). He married in 1849, Abigail, daughter of Benjamin 
Smith, who died in 1775 from smallpox. He married, second, 
Sarah, daughter of Dr. Anthony Emery. After his death she 
married Rev. Benjamin Thurston. She died in 1788. 

By Mr. Moulton's first wife, Abigail Smith (ancestor of the 
Smiths of New Hampton and vicinity), they had eleven children. 

Their sixth child, Benning Moulton, 1761-1834, married Sally 
Leavitt (Lovet). He settled in Center Harbor in 1783. They 
had eight children. The oldest, Jonathan Smith Moulton, born 
in Center Harbor, 1785-1855, married Deborah, daughter of 
"Red Oak Joseph Neal" of Meredith. They had nine children. 
The second child, John Carrol Moulton, was born in 1810 in 
Center Harbor. He attended school under Master Dudley 
Leavitt, the noted almanac maker, who taught in Meredith an 
annual term of school. At the age of 20 years he went in business 
in Center Harbor. In 1833 he married Nellie B. Senter and 



GENEALOGIES 329 

opened a hotel there, which prospered under the management of 
his wife. 

In 1841 they removed to Meredith Bridge and ran the Belknap 
Hotel, where the stages stopped, and it became a popular place. 
He was elected postmaster for several years. 

In 1848, the railroad was built up to Plymouth, and the Gar 
Works came along, which did a large business for that time. He 
was connected with several other houses of business and he did 
much to improve the town. 

His wife, Nellie B. Senter of Center Harbor, was a daughter of 
Samuel B. Senter, and he a descendant of Ebenezer Chamberline, 
also of Col. Joseph Senter, both pioneers of Center Harbor. They 
had five children. 

Edwin Carroll, 1834-1867, married Augusta Randlett, daugh- 
ter of Charles Randlett of Laconia. They had a daughter who 
married Charles Leavitt of Concord. Charles Randlett had 
three other children beside the above: Josephine, who married 
Blair, David and Belle. 

Some of this data was furnished by Mrs. Austin Moulton. 

Samuel Moore Moulton, born in 1857, served in the Civil War 
three years. He married Martha B., daughter of Benjamin E. 
Thurston of Laconia. He filled many offices of public trust in 
Laconia. 

William Hale Moulton, 1844-1849. 

Horatio Francis Moulton married Ella S. Melcher of Dover. 
Their children: Helen became a deaconess; John Carroll went to 
Mexico; Samuel Moulton went to California. 

Ida L. Moulton, born in 1850, married Joshua B. Holden of 
Boston. Their children: Annie, Ellen, Mary B., Joshua, Jr., 
Natoli, Francis, Gladys and Gwendolyn. 

John C. Moulton married, second, Mrs. Sarah McDougal in 
1886. 

Benning Moulton, son of Jonathan Moulton and Abigail Smith, 
was born in 1761 and settled in Center Harbor. He married 
Sarah Leavitt. Their children : 

Nancy, m. Jonathan Moulton. 
Jonathan Smith, b. 1785. 
Thomas L. 



330 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Benning. 

John H. 

Elizabeth, m. Daniel Hilton. 

Jonathan Smith Moulton, 1785-1855, had a large farm and 
did some exchange business besides his farming. He married in 
1808, Deborah, daughter of "Red Oak Joseph Neal " of Meredith. 
Their children: 

William Carroll, d. young. 

Sarah Ann, m. Simeon Crane; lived in Boston. 

Amanda Melvina, d. young. 

Otis Monroe. 

Charles Smith, d. young. 

Frances Maria, m. Moses Fairbanks; lived in Boston. 

Andrew McCleary. 

Joseph Neal. 

John S., lived in Boston. 

Abra Wentworth, m. Charles H. Somes of Chicago. 

Tradition states that General Moulton, while trafficing with 
his "gore" of land the Governor had traded him, spent much 
time around Center Harbor, and had a house on the hill where 
Camp Anawan is now located. History states that some of the 
descendants settled there. 

The Boston Transcript in 1926 had an article stating that Mr. 
and Mrs. Weddell of Virginia had purchased "Agecroft Hall," 
Warwick Priory. They had it taken down and boxed. It filled 
fifteen cases of stone work. 

Mrs. Weddell wrote me that they were going to produce with 
this material a "Virginia Historical Society" building of the 
Elizabethan type, similar to "Sulgrave Manor." 

Governor Winthrop, the first Governor of Massachusetts, was 
born some six miles from Warwick, near the old castle. 

Samuel 2 Moulton's son, Nathan Smith Moulton, married 
Priscilla Senter, daughter of John Senter, who had a brother 
Samuel. Their children: 

Alvin. 

Edwin Winfield. 

Austin S., who in 1884 m. Laura Ann, dau. of James Creigh- 
ton Burleigh and wife, Catherine A. Cheney, b. 1830, 
she a dau. of Jonathan H. Cheney and wife, Lydia Tuttle, 
who was a dau. of Stoughton Tuttle and wife, Deborah 
Stokes, 1776-1871. They live on the Abial Bartlett farm, 



GENEALOGIES 331 

now called "Elmwood," are prosperous farmers, and have 
served in public business. Their children : 

Alice Moulton, m. Arthur Edwards of Meredith. 
Nathan Smith Moulton, m. Ruth Graves Towle of 

Center Harbor, she a dau. of Towle and wife. 

Eliza Sutton (Graves) Towle. They have two chil- 
dren, Edwin Win field Moulton and a young daughter. 

The other children of Samuel Moulton were: Tim F., Hattie 
May, Sarah, and Walter C; live on the old homestead. 

Lieut. Joseph 7 Neal Moulton (Jonathan 6 , Benning 5 , Jonathan 4 , 
Jacob 3 , John 2 , John 1 ) married in 1853, Sarah J. True. He served 
in the Civil War. They had two daughters. 

Jonathan 6 Moulton (Edward B. 5 , John 4 , Jacob 3 , John 2 , John 1 ) 
was born in Moultonboro in 1781. He settled in Meredith. He 
married - — Moulton of Center Harbor; married, second, Mary 
Morse, daughter of Dr. Morse. Five children. 



MUDGETT 

Joseph Mudgett, born October 25, 1761, died in 1848; married 
Mehitable Eastman, born November 30, 1763; married January 
22, 1786. Their children: 

William, b. 1786; m. Eunice Huckens, May 9, 1815. 

Abigail, b. 1791; m. Robert Huckins, Sept. 22, 1823. 

Hannah, 1789-1872; m. Levi Swain in 1816. 

Sarah, b. 1795; m. Andrew Baker in 1822. 

Ezekiel E., b. 1797; m. Charlotte Swain in 1822 ; m., second, 

Betsey Swain in 1829. 
Mehitable, b. 1799; m. Jeremiah B. Swain in 1824; a dau., 

Mehitable, b. 1827. 
Levi, b. 1804; m. Adaline Clark. 
Joseph, 1793-1796. 
Joseph, 1800-1803. 

Hannah Mudgett married Levi Swain, November 14, 1816. 
Their children: 

Polly W., b. July 29, 1817. 
Hannah Mead, b. Aug. 31, 1819. 
Susanna S., b. June 12, 1821. 
Melinda M., 1833-1845. 
Rachel, b. May 23, 1827. 

Abigail Mudgett, born in 1791, married in 1823 Robert Huck- 
ins, born in 1775. Their children: 



332 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Deborah, b. June 15, 1829. 
Stephen P., b. June 12, 1826. 
Orlando G., b. July 5, 1828; d. 1880. 

William Mudgett and wife, Eunice Huckins, married May 9, 
1815. Their children: 

Mary M. T., b. Feb. 29, 1816; m. James H. Brown, 1843. 

Hannah H., b. Apr. 21. 

John P., 1821-1842. 

Cakim W., b. Aug. 15, 1823. 

Orinda M., b. Apr. 17, 1827. 

Laura L., b. Jan. 21, 1829. 

Sarah Ann, b. July 22, 1833. 

Ezekiel Mudgett, born in 1797, married in 1822 Charlotte 
Swain, 1798-1828. Their children: 

Joseph F., b. Dec. 2, 1823. 
Plasenta, b. July 7, 1825. 
William, b. May 24, 1827. 

Joseph E. Mudgett married, second, Betsey Swain, born in 
1795; married January 14, 1829. Their children: 

Adaline, b. Oct. 6, 1829. 
Franklin S., b. Dec. 18, 1830. 

Mehitable Mudgett, born in 1801, married Jeremiah Swain, 
December 12, 1825. Their daughter, Mehitable M., born Feb- 
ruary 27, 1827. 

Levi Mudgett, born April 19, 1804, died in 1868; married Ada- 
line Clark, July 4, 1833. Their children: 

Grace E. W., b. Dec. 18, 1835; m. Sept. 21, 1852, Noah 

Smith. 
Mary C, b. Mar. 9, 1836; died 1841. 
Ellen Maria, b. Apr. 28, 1840; m. Frank Flanders, January 

17, 1869. 

Leon Mudgett, born April 19, 1804, married December 20, 
1842, Eliza A. Cox, born in 1819. Their children: 

Albert M., b. Jan. 10, 1845; m. 1868, Julia Griffith. 
Mary Adelaide, b. Sept. 10, 1847; m. 1866, John M. 

Flanders. 
Clara S., b. Sept. 19, 1849; m. 1873, Albert E. Porter. 
George M., b. Sept. 29, 1852. 

Abbie A., b. Oct. 18, 1854; m. 1883, Wilbert E. Porter. 
Charles H., b. Aug. 4, 1856; m. Mary Johnson. 
Myra Emma, b. May 23, 1859; d. young. 



GENEALOGIES 333 

James S. Baker, horn May 29, 1832; died in 1890. 

Andrew Oliver, born March 10, 1827. 

Leonard H. Baker, born January 2, 1825; died in 1906. 

Andrew Baker, born March 17, 1796. 

Sarah Mudgett, born in 1795; died in 1870. 

Emily W. Ordway Swain, died in 1892. 

NASH 

Moses Nash, born in 1812, at Amherst, son of John Nash and 
wife, Sally (Lewis). For a time he and his brother kept a store 
in New Hampton and Concord. He married Susan M. Smith, 
daughter of Jacob Smith and wife, Louisa C. Robinson. Her 
great-grandfather, Jeremiah Smith, an early settler, came to 
Meredith about the same time his brother, Ebenezer, came from 
Exeter. These brothers descended from Richard Smith, who 
came from England. 

A son of Jeremiah Smith, who married Hannah Lock, daughter 
of Deacon Locke, had a son, John Rice Smith, who married Rhoda 
Blaisdell. They had five children. Among them was Jacob, 
who was 86 years old at his death. 

Jacob Smith, who married Louisa C. Robinson, had a daughter, 
Susan M. Smith, 1832-1887, who married Moses Nash. Ellen 
M. married Arthur A. Tilton, son of Carlos Tilton of Andover. 
E. L. married Morrill Doe, son of Augustus Doe. Sarah married 
John Garland. 

The field was very level on Meredith Parade, and Jeremiah 
Smith gave the use of the field adjoining the house to a company 
of militia for a training ground. The old home was left to Mrs. 
Tilton, who is of the fifth generation of Smiths that have lived 
there. 

NEAL 

The Neal family are historically referred to in the reign of King 
Edward the 4th, in 1460. There were many Neals in early days 
who were well educated and stood high in business stations. 

The first Neal that we read of in New England was Capt. Wal- 
ter Neal, who landed June 1, 1630, at Portsmouth, N. H. He 
came employed as a governor of the lower settlement of New 



334 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Hampshire. He was born in Bedfordshire, England, about 1612. 
History states that he married Elizabeth Lacon. 

"Provincial Papers," Volume No. 4, state that he brought a 
family with him and fifty men and twenty-two women. He 
was agent for a "Pattent of Laconiah." This consisted of 20,000 
acres of land at "Randsvough," which laid on the south side of 
the Piscataway River. 

The boat they came over in was the "Warwick." It was a 
ship of 80 tons. It was sent by Gorges and Mason, for the pur- 
pose of exploring the country, also to intercept the trade on 
beavers. 

Captain Neal, with others, looked around the country inland 
considerably. As history states, Capt. Walter Neal, in company 
with Darby Field, discovered the White Mountains and he called 
them the "Crystal Hills." 

When he returned to England he left animals and grain and 
household things, so it looks as though he had some family here. 
History states that he lived at "Strawberry Bank," which is in the 
city of Portsmouth, and near the old first burying ground in 
New Hampshire, called the "Point of Graves Burying Ground." 
It is located near the Boat Club, in the city of Portsmouth, and 
this yard is where Capt. Walter 2 Neal is buried. I drove down 
there in May and tried to find the grave of Capt. Walter 2 , but 
could not locate a Neal stone, although there are many stones on 
which the inscriptions are worn off by the weather and are not 
readable. I found an old record in Boston which stated that 
Capt. Walter 2 bought a fourteenth part of the "Point of Graves 
Yard," which contains about one-half an acre of ground. The 
land was owned by a Mr. Pickering. The yard is owned by the 
city, as it contains some of the oldest inhabitants that settled in 
that region. 

Capt. Walter 2 married Mary Ayers. There are some stones 
not far from the center of the yard with the name of Ayer on. 
Perhaps they were relatives of Mary Ayers and buried on this 
fourteenth part of the yard. I wrote the city clerk to see if there 
was any plat of this yard, but there is none in Portsmouth, so 
probably none at all, as records are very scarce in early days, but 
the yard is well kept up and clean. One thing is in existence, 
that Mr. Pickering reserved the right of way across the lower 
part of the yard, so that he could walk across to his mill pond, 



GENEALOGIES 335 

and the path is still used there and no fence to obstruct the walk. 
That was a reservation in the deed of the land for a graveyard. 
It is well fenced and has a good iron gate. 

History tells us that Capt. Walter lived in Mason's stone house, 
at Strawberry Bank, which has disappeared. 

In an article published in the Granite Monthly on "Colonial 
Portsmouth," it speaks of Thompson's grant of land of 26,000 
acres in 1622, this being a patent of all lands between the Kenne- 
bec and Merrimack Rivers. 

Thompson built a house on Odiorne's Point, the first built in 
Pannaway. It was built of rubble stones chinked with swale 
grass and clay, which he gathered near by. It was called the 
"Stone House." Later it was called by the Indian name "Pas- 
cataqua House." 

When Capt. Walter Xeal came to "Pannaway," the worthy 
company of Myles Standish, as history tells us, he brought a 
family and about fifty people. History states that he took pos- 
session of this house and called it the "Chiefe Habitacion." 
Nothing of this house remains. 

Capt. Walter Neal claimed no profession "but his sword, nor 
other fortunes than war." He was the first governor of all 
land east of Massachusetts Bay, then known as New Hampshire, 
which he explored, even up to the "White Hills." He traded 
some with the Indians, and under Capt. John Mason's direction, 
in 1630, Pascataqua plantation thrived, yet he never came over, 
and Capt. Walter Neal returned to England in 1632, as history 
states. 

"Provincial Papers," Volume No. 4, page 2, speaks of the fam- 
ily that Capt. Walter Neal brought with him to Portsmouth. 

The old Indian deed of 1629 to W'heelwright is existing in the 
Historical Society rooms at Concord, with the marks and emblems 
of the Indians affixed to their names. Walter Neal was one of 
the signers, also Thomas Wiggin, Edward Hilton and four others. 
The marks look like some of the markings on a "Totem Pole." 

Capt. Walter Neal had three sons, Samuel, John and Andrew. 

At a town meeting in Portsmouth, January 22, 1660, land was 
apportioned to all persons over 21 years old. Lieut. Capt. 
Walter Neal received 39 and 21 acres. "His home lot doth ex- 
tend from Goodman hayins, his fence due north and by east unto 
Winocont River" —the land lying in Greenland in Portsmouth. 



336 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Brewster refers to him, 1643-1656, as one who received the seat 
of honor in the church at Portsmouth. 

"Masonian Papers" state that Capt. Walter Neal lived in a 
stone house at the mouth of the Piscataqua River, as they were 
engaged in fishing. 

Lieut. Capt. Walter 2 Neal, as a farmer, married Mary Ayers 
in 1660. They had a son, Samuel, born June 14, 1661. Lieut. 
Capt. Walter Neal and others desired jurisdiction of Massa- 
chusetts in 1690. 

As history states, we find him connected in many offices to help 
establish the colony. 

Samuel, son of Capt. Lieut. Walter, married Jane Foss. They 
had children, among them Samuel 2 , who married Elizabeth 
Locke, born in 1780, a daughter of Deacon William Locke and 
wife, Mary (Clark) Locke. They were married February 2, 
1710/11. 

They had a son, Samuel 3 Neal, who married February 7, 1754, 
Elizabeth Haley, daughter of Andrew Haley and wife, Mary 
Briar. Andrew Haley, son of Andrew Haley, was called the 
" King of the Shoals." He was a wealthy man engaged in fishing 
at the Isles of Shoals. 

"Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors," Volume II, page 301, 
gives Samuel Neal's Revolutionary service. He enlisted at 
Kittery, Maine (across the river from Portsmouth, N. H.). He 
was in Col. James Scammon's (30) Regiment. Muster roll, 
May 3, 1775, served three months. Later he was a private and 
went to Rhode Island for six months; later served on boats. 

In the Revolutionary rolls, I find an Ebenezer Neal who en- 
listed from Meredith in 1777 for three years and died in battle in 
1777. Newfield history gives one Ebenezer as a son of Walter 4 
and Anna (Mattoon) Neal. He was their 5th child. (I do not 
see the connection between this Ebenezer and Walter's son.) 

Joseph and John walked by spotted trees to Meredith. They 
bought 100 acres of land and cleared it and built a home. Later 
John sold his share to Joseph and bought other land. 

Joseph Neal married Hannah Smith, daughter of Jeremiah 



GENEALOGIES 337 

Smith and wife, Hannah Lock, 1743-1815. Jeremiah was a son 
of Daniel Smith and his second wife, Deborah Wicom, married 
in 1721. Daniel Smith was a grandson of Richard Smith, who 
came from Shropshire, England. Jeremiah Smith had a son, 
John Rice Smith, and a daughter, Nancy, who married Simeon 
Cate. 

Samuel Neal and wife, 1733-1784, Elizabeth Haley, 1734-1785, 
of Stratham, buried in Piscassic Yard, now Newfield, had 
children: 

Samuel, b. Mar. 22, 1755, in Stratham. He was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. 
Andrew, b. Jan. 19, 1758. 
Jeremiah, b. Nov. 4, 1759. 
Joseph, b. Mar. 23, 1762; d. 1851. 
John, b. Mar. 10, 1764. 

Elizabeth, b. May 29, 1768, m. Capt. William Ray. 
Sarah, b. June 23, 1773. 
Abigail, b. Jan. 29, 1775. 
Deborah, b. Jan. 22, 1778. 

Old Bible Records' 

Joseph Neal, 1762-1851, married Hannah Smith, 1770-1851, 
born in Meredith. Their children: 

William, 1789-1830; was a carpenter and shipbuilder; single. 

John, 1791-1864; m. Lois Mead, dau. of John Mead. 

Elizabeth, 1793; m. Richard Neal, son of "Red Oak 
Joseph" and wife, Abigail. 

Mary, 1795-1879; m. Joseph E. Robinson of New Castle. 
He d. 1854; she m., second, in 1862, Nathaniel Batcheldor. 

Joseph, Jr., 1797-1855; m. Lucy Dow, 1804-1855, dau. of 
Ebenezer Dow and wife, Mary Sanborn. 

Hannah S., 1801-1835; d. of consumption. 

Smith, 1806-1887; m. Sarah Elizabeth Smith, dau. of Nich- 
olas and wife, Lavina Smith. 

Nancy, 1810-1854; m. Joshua Wiggin as his second wife. 

Irene, 1813-1902; m. as second wife of Charles Smith in 
1849. Charles Smith's first wife was Annis Smith. They 

had a dau. who m. Weeks. They had Isabel, b. 1857, 

and John H., b. 1859. 



338 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

From Lois {Mead) Neat's Bible 

John Neal, 1790-1864, married Lois Mead, 1798-1875. Their 
children: 

Hannah S., 1815-1901 ; m. 1862 Rev. Mark True, 1815-1875. 

Mary Jane, 1818-1839. 

Son, d. young in 1818. 

Martha, 1819-1824. 

Betsey M., 1823-1854. 

Darius J., 1824-1908; m. 1855 Frances Moody. She died 

1893. * 
Martha A., 1828-1912; m. Eben S. Thompson as his second 

wife. He d. 1877. 
Susan Maria, 1931-1817; d. in Stoneham, Mass. 
John Mead, 1832-1924; m. Jane Wadleigh. 
Harriet N., 1835-1926. 
Ezra Dixi, 1839-1910; m. 1871 Lavina S. Leavitt, dau. of 

Isaac Leavitt. 

Darius J. Neal married Frances Susan Moody of Canterbury- 
Their son: 

Charles Ames, b. 1862 in Chicago; m. Melanie T. Norton. 
Their children: Elliot Jay, b. 1897; Kimball Ladd, b. 1900. 

Martha A. Neal, born in 1828, married Eben S. Thompson in 
1858 as his second wife. The first wife was Sarah Hanaford of 
New Hampton. She had a daughter, Eleanor, who died in 
California. 

John Mead Neal, born in 1833, married Jane Wadleigh in 1860, 
she was born in 1833. Their daughter: 

Emma Jane, b. 1863; m. Clarence Clark. Their children: 
Helen N., b. 1901; m. Henry Bean. 
C. Henry, b. 1902. 
Harold J., b. 1906; m. Marion Cotton. 

Sarah E. Neal, born in 1864; married in 1928, Edwin R. Taylor 
as his second wife. 

John Frank Neal, born in 1867; married Margaret . 

One daughter, Phebe Neal. 

Ezra Dixi Neal married Lavina S. Leavitt, born in 1871, daugh- 
ter of Isaac Leavitt and wife, Sarah Smith, she was a daughter 
of Capt. Elish Smith. Their children: 

Edith Leavitt, b. 1875; m. Charles Perine of Chicago. 

She d., leaving two children. 
Grace L., b. 1878; m. Harry C. Mills. Three children. 



GENEALOGIES 339 

Hannah Jane, born in 1829, daughter of Joseph Neal and wife, 
Lucy Dow, married Charles H. Roberts. They lived in Tarn- 
worth. Their children: 

Joskpii Neal, b. 1865; m. Pauline A. Davison. Their 
children : 

Mary Jane, b. 1890 in Holderness. 

Henry Joseph, b. 1893. 

Frances Pauline, b. 1901. 
Charles Hezekiah. 
Dixi Guy. 
Arthur Sidney. 

William Neal, 1830-1875, was killed by a train at Bridgewater 
crossing in September, 1895. He married in 1863 Mary E. 
Smith, 1842-1892, daughter of Deacon Benjamin N. Smith. 
Their children: 

Arthur Joseph, 1864-1882. 

William Howard, b. 1871. 

Bertha, b. 1873; m. Deacon Charles Eaton. 

William Howard Neal, born in 1871, married in 1904 Lucy 
M. R. Neal, born in 1872, daughter of James Neal of Moulton- 
borough. Their son: 

William Joseph, b. Aug. 3, 1905, in Meredith. 

Smith Lock Neal, 1840-1886, married Eliza Heath, 1841-1886; 
she was a daughter of Samuel R. Heath and wife, Mary A. Dan- 
forth. Smith Lock Neal was named for his grandmother, Hannah 
Lock, who married Jeremiah Smith (as my father told me). 
Their children: 

Alice E., b. 1862; m. Frank W. Swain, 1898. 

George Elmer, 1864-1927; m. Martha D. Moore, 1890, in 

Sherbrook. 
Charles Everett, b. 1866; d. 

Franklin P., b. 1870; m. Nellie M. Davis. Three children. 
Clarence, 1873-1873. 
Joseph Warren, b. 1874; m. Julia E. Barlow, b. 1883. 

Franklin Pierce Neal married Nellie Davis. Their children: 

Herbert F., b. 1894. 

Clarence Ermah, b. 1898; m. Josephine D. Cutting, 1922. 

Ralph D., b. 1900; m. Gladys S. White, 1922. 

Clarence Ermah Neal married, in 1922, Josephine D. Cutting. 
Their children: 



340 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Nellie Davis, b. 1924. 
Darrill Walter, b. 1928. 

Ralph Davis Neal, born in 1900, married Gladys S. White in 
1922. Their children: 

Ronald Howard, b. 1923. 
Elizabeth, b. 1925. 
Ralph Frank, b. 1926. 

Elizabeth Neal, daughter of "White Oak" Joseph Neal, 1793- 
1870, married Richard Neal, 1787-1871. He was a son of "Red 
Oak" Joseph Neal. Their children: 

Col. Joseph, 1812-1879, of Meredith, m. Elizabeth K. 
Gordon of New Hampton. They had a dau., Clara, 
1846-1884, who m. Attorney George Hilton of New 
Jersey. No children. 
Catherine, 1813-1890, dau. of Richard and Betsey Neal, 
m. Jonathan P. Norris, 1828-1895. Their children: 
Lucy C, b. 1847; d. young. 
Ellen, b. 1855; d. young. 

Ellen, m. Bartlett. One son, F. A. Bartlett. 

Hannah, dau. of Richard and Betsey (Neal) Neal, m. 
Joseph M. Bean as his second wife. Their dau.: 

Ellen Catherine, b. 1858 in Gilmanton, m. Otis Clark of 
Manchester. Their dau., Carlie, m. Daniel Healey. 
They have two sons; live in West Medway, Mass. 
Mary E., dau. of Richard and Betsey Neal, m. J. N. True, 
in 1823. Their children: 
Edward N., 1848-1865. 

Mary R., b. 1852; m. David Ambrose. They had one 
son, David Edward, b. 1892, m. 1912 V. Blanchard. 
Their children: 

Adele Victoria, b. 1913. 
Dorothy Blanchard, b. 1914. 
Charles W., 1837-1892, son of Richard and Betsey Neal, m. 
1864 Georgia Lamprey, dau. of Uriah Lamprey and wife, 
Abigail of Belmont. Their children: 
Abbie, 1868-1900, m. James Youngman. 
George Richard, b. 1872 in Meredith, m. 1900 Ada Maria 
Eastman, b. 1872 in Danbury. Their children: 
Rachel Irene, b. 1902; m. 
Charles Richard, b. 1905; a fine vocalist. 
Robert John, 1907-1910. 
Frederick Eastman, b. 1909. 

George Franklin, b. 1910. The family live in 
Woburn, Mass. 



GENEALOGIES 341 

Joseph 3 Neal, Jr., born in 1796, son of "White Oak" Joseph 
Neal and wife, Hannah Smith, born in 1838, married Lucy Dow, 
1804-1854. She was a daughter of Ebenezer Dow and wife, Mary 
Sanborn of Epping. He was of Meredith. Their children: 

Hannah Jam;, 1829-1899. 

William. 

Lydia, 1832-1895; m. Gilman Whittaker in 1853. Their 

dau., Jennie, 1856-1882. Lived in Deering. N. H. 

All dead. 
Smith Lock, 1840-1889. 

Joseph Warren Neal, born in 1874, married, second, in 1903, 
Julia E. Barlow, born in 1883. Their children: 

Arther Mortimer, b. 1903. 

Louise Ray, b. 1907. 

Elsie May, b. 1909; m. Richard T. Andrews. Their son, 

Neal Tyler Andrews, b. 1928. 
Hazel Dell, b. 1912. 

Smith Neal, 1806-1887 ("White Oak" Joseph and wife, Han- 
nah Smith), married in 1852 Sarah Elizabeth Smith, daughter of 
Nicholas Smith and wife, Lavina (Smith) Smith. Their daugh- 
ter, Mary Elizabeth, born October 2, 1853, married John P. 
Hanaford. 

In a deed dated May 17, 1629, from four Indian sagamores to 
John Wheelwright and others, recorded in York County records, 
Walter Neal is styled governor for the company of Laconia. 

In 1631 Capt. Walter Neal was agent of Gorges, Mason and 
others for their patent including Portsmouth, Newcastle and 
Rye. He and his family (as early records) lived at Little Harbor, 
at the mouth of the Piscataqua River. As history states, he 
discovered the White Mountains, drove away pirates, hanged an 
Indian, and made a survey and map of the territory he governed. 
In 1634 he returned to England. 

In 1683 another Walter Neal, called Captain, married Mary 

, was a freeholder in Portsmouth, and signed a petition to 

the King and was sent to England by Nathaniel Weare. 

In 1785 Walter Neal and his brother, Enoch, went from New- 
market, N. H., and settled on the middle road in Parsonsfield, 
Maine. 

Walter Neal (as Fitts), 1731-1820 (Walter 4 , Samuel 3 , Capt. 
Walter 1 ), married Lydia, daughter of Abraham and wife, Eunice 



342 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

(Sargent) Parsons, 1736-1829. Their children, born in New- 
market: 

Walter, b. 1756, a Revolutionary soldier; m. Martha 
Creighton. 

Lydia, m. Jerry Mason. 

Enoch, b. 1762; m. Nancy Towle. He d. 1817 in Parsons- 
field, Maine. 

Nathaniel, m. May 29, 1800, Rachel, dau. of Capt. Thomas 
Folsom. 

After the Revolution, Walter, who was a Revolutionary soldier 
and pensioneer, and his brother, Enoch, in 1779 (as history) went 
to Parsonsfield, Maine, and with their axes cleared land and set- 
tled on what is now called the "Middle Road," less than a mile 
apart, and their old homes are still standing, but passed into other 
names. 

Walter Neal, 1756-1833 (as gravestones). His wife, Martha 
(Creighton) Neal, died in 1838, aged 90 years. Their son, Walter, 
Jr., m. Mary Shores of Kittery, Maine, b. Nov. 15, 1791, and d. 
1887 in Newfield, with one of her youngest sons, William Neal. 

Record of the family of Walter Neal, Jr., born July 23, 1791, 
and Polly (Mary), his wife, born November 14, 1791. Their 
children born at Parsonsfield, Maine: 

Nancy Hilton, b. Sept. 11, 1814. 

Walter Creighton, b. June 30, 1820. 

Mary, b. June 15, 1822. 

Joseph, b. Apr. 3, 1825. 

George, b. July 28, 1827. 

Martha, b. Sept. 23, 1829. 

William, b. Jan. 4, 1834. 

Stephen Shores, b. Apr. 22, 1835; d. 1835. 

A true copy of the original handed me March 7, 1837. Book 
1, page 61. 

Attest by Tobias Ricker, Town Clerk, Parsonsfield, Maine. 

Enoch Neal, 1762-1817, married in 1788, Nancy Towle, 1766- 
1840 (family records). Their children: 

Betsey, 1790-1842, m. Daniel Knapp in 1816. They had 
two children: Joshua Neal, m. Mary Wedgewood. They 
had a son, Enoch Wedgewood, who m. Elizabeth - — . 
Sally Knapp m. Josiah Wedgewood; lived in Parsonsfield. 

Nathaniel, m. 1800, Rachel, dau. of Capt. Thomas Folsom, 
b. 1769; lived in Tuftonboro. 



GENEALOGIES 343 

Xancy Xeal, born in 1814; died in Parsonsfield, Maine. 

Enoch Xeal, Jr., the fifth child and third son, was a farmer like 
his father, on the old homestead. 

Enoch 3 Xeal, 1803-1867, married in 1829, Nancy Lord, 1819- 
1882, daughter of Richard Lord and wife. Children: 

Lorenzo, 1830-1857. 

Enoch, m. Sarah Morrill, 1832-1857. They had a dau., 
Nellie, and a son that settled near Manchester, N. H. 

Edgar, m. Matilda Hodsdon; lived near Boston, Mass. 

Luther, 1886-1918, m. Eveline Rumsey, 1881-1910, of 
Effingham, dau. of John Rumsey, a highly respected man. 
Luther lived on Enoch's farm, and among his children 
were Luther of the third generation; C. L. Xeal of Hiram, 
Maine, and Dr. John Xeal of Portsmouth, who has re- 
cently d. John, m. Miss Lord. They had a son, Herbert, 
who lived in Sanford, Maine, also a son who lived at home 
and a dau. Hattie J., who d. 1887. 

Charles, m. Hattie - — . They had a son, Otis, 1887- 
1894. 

Lydia Axx, 1841-1841. 

Neal Cemetery inscriptions: Charles Xeal, died in 1864, aged 
20 years; Robert, son of Moses and Alice (Xeal) Chase, 1906- 
1910; Otis Xeal, son of Charles and Hattie, 1887-1895. 

Walter Neal 

August 20, 1832, Walter Xeal of Parsonsfield, Maine, 75 years 
of age, deposed: 

That he enlisted in New Hampshire Militia in 1775 under Capt. James Hill, 
at Newmarket, X. H., marched to Portsmouth, where he staid a month; then 
enlisted under Captain Baker and marched to Great Island, Xewcastle Harbor, 
a few miles beyond Portsmouth, where he was stationed till the last of Decem- 
ber. 

That they marched to Cambridge, Mass., where they remained until dis- 
charged February 25, 1776; six months. 

That in August, 1776, he enlisted under Captain Gordon, marched to the 
Hudson River and served at Peekskill until December 12, 1776, being paid 
for four months. 

That in August, 1777, he enlisted in Massachusetts Militia, under Captain 
Jenkins and Colonel Johnson, marched to Stillwater and, after the surrender 
of Burgoyne, was marched to White Plains, X. Y., where they were discharged 
the last of December, 1777, being paid for five months. 

That October 7, about thirty men in his regiment were killed and three 
wounded in Captain Jenkins' Company. 



344 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

That he was born in Newmarket, N. H., September 13, 1756; lived there 
when called into service; but has lived in Parsonsfield since 1779. 

That he has no documentary proof of service, as he never received a written 
discharge; "but still has in his possession a journal made at the time of service 
and two original letters written at the time: one to him from his father, whose 
name was Walter, and one to his father, written by himself; also a sketch of the 
troops and ordnance, surrendered by General Burgoyne, given him by a High- 
land adjutant in Albany, and a memorandum of towns passed through, made 
at the time." 

Walter Neal. 

(The muster roll of Capt. Samuel Cook's Company, Colonel Woodbridge's 
Regiment, Massachusetts Militia, engaged till the last of November, 1777, en- 
dorsed with a minute of the British troops and foreigners killed and taken since 
the evacuation of Ticonderoga, signed by W r alter Neal and Joseph Plaisted and 
dated November 24, 1777, was forwarded to the department with this applica- 
tion and sent the War Department, January 16, 1913.) 

August 20, 1832, Josiah Colcord of Parsonsfield, Maine, testified that he 
lived in New Market, N. H., in 1775, 1776 and 1777 and was well acquainted 
with Walter Neal of New Market, N. H., served with him in 1775, under Capt. 
James Hill, and in the same regiment the rest of the term, but under Capt. 
Joseph Parsons, and also served in same regiment in 1777. 

James Colcord. 

August 20, 1832, Rufus Mclntire testified to acquaintance with Walter Neal, 
for fifteen years or more; that the town records are in his possession and he 
finds the name of Walter Neal among the early settlers of the town. 

Rufus McIntyre. 

Claim allowed and certificate of Maine agency was issued 
November 28, 1832. (Only Revolutionary pensioner named 
Walter Neal from any state.) 

Part of a diary kept by Walter Neal, in 1776, sent on applica- 
tion: 

Newmarket, September 30, 1776. 
Upon our journey to New York the towns we passed through: 
First Epping 
2 
3 Chesher 4 Lonnon Darry 

5 Notting west 

6 East Duenstable 

7 West 

8 Grotan 

9 Sherle 

10 Lanster 

11 Suseanten and then came into the Post Road Sest by Bemon's Tavern- 

12 Holden 13 Woster 



GENEALOGIES 345 

14 Lustor 15 Spencer 16 Bruckfield 

17 Woster . 18 Kingstown 

19 Willbraham 20 Springfield and then come into 

Connecticut. 
21 Infield Woods; 13 miles thro 

21 Winsor and then over Connecticut River, and then into herford city: 
23 Weathersfield 24 Middletown 

25 Wollinford 26 Northhaven 27 New Haven 

28 Midford fairfield 30 Gransfarms 31 Norwock 

32 Stanford and there drawed lovvence and then we was orddered to horse 
neck and marched 8 miles and then come orders to turn away at the Right 
up to a Place called fishkill and got within a mile and then had orders to turn 
back to fishkill. 

No mils back 

from pickskill to flanks pint 5 mile and there we wass stashend there 14 dais 
Capt gerdon company Lieut gilman and 19 men had orders with 45 tories to 
fishkill and staid thare 5 dais and then Capt gorden and the rest of his men 
80-order to Town Lefent gilman with his party at Fishkill: and there Capt 
gordens company was stashened in the coledg at fishkill, Capt Gorden and 
Lieut gilman and part of thair men went down to fourt consterhishen and staid 
there 5 dais and then Returned Back to the coledg again and staid there'till 
our times wer out and so on 

and a hill that we come up was seventy steps high up as stairs chamber 

we seed a flock of sheep there was fine five and twenty hundred in that flock. 
The places we have marched through in this year 

Newmarket Tucksbery 

Exeter Bilrike [Billerica] 

Kingston Bedford 

Plastow conkord 

haverel sudbrey 

Bradford Mulbry [Marlboro] 

Andover Woster 

The names of the towns from the Fishkills to Wooster 

1 To Kent in Connecticut 25 miles 

2 New Milford 8 Springfield 

3 Litchfield 9 Palmer 

4 Harrington 10 Western 

5 Hartford 11 Kingston 

6 Windsor 12 Spencer 

7 Suffield 13 Lester 

14 Wooster 
Jno. McNaughton 182" 

Newbury Hadley River 

Bradford crost coneticut 

Boxford Northampton 

Andover Chesterfield 



346 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

tuxbery Worthington 

Bilrickey Patridgefield 

chanford gageburer 

Westford New providence 

grotten East Husick 

Shurley Williamstown 

Luenburg Pownal 

filsbury Bennington 

West mister Shafsbary 

templeton Alleton 

Petershem Sunderland 

New Salem Manchester 
Shuxbury 
Hamherst 

This letter is dated at Fishkill in the Dutch Country in the 

State of New York, about 53 miles from the main army. 

Der Farther & mother I take this opertunity For to inform you that I am 
well as I hoap these Lines will find you & desire to Be Remembered to all En- 
quiring Friends, coin Tash Regmen is in a veary good State of helth there is 
none sick in our company of 4 companys of our Regment is kept to guard up 
and Down hudsan's River a Bout 23 miles from main Body which is now at 
White Plains & the other companies of our Regiment is a Bout 30 miles Furder 
up where the congress Sets of this State, Our Duty is to protect them and guard 
the tories, I hav Ben in formed that Calup (?) michel and his Brother are wel, 
now our living his good & our Duty is not hard — — Theophlis wiggins & Benja 
Pines is both well, So nothing more at present, But I Remain your Dutiful Sun 

till Death parts, „. , T 

Walter Neal 

November ye 6, 1776 

Addressed to 

Walter Neal 

at Newmarket. 

In the State of Newhampshire with care and speed. 

Newmarket, September 23, 1777 
Dutiful Son 

I received your Letter Dated Sept 4 and by it I understand that you are 
Well as We are at Present, 

We have Nothing New at Present amongst us But the Defeat that Poor 

Bygoyn meet with 

All our friends and Relatives are well. 

Do write to us the first opportunity 
So no more at preasent 
this from your Honored father 
Addressed to Walter Neal 

Walter Neal 
att Manchester 
In Cap Jenkens Company, Col Tamsons Regiment. 



GENEALOGIES 347 

Walter 2 , an inhabitant of Portsmouth as early as 1653, and 
whose house stood in the part of the town that later was set off 
as Greenland, near the mouth of the Winnicut River, on Heard's 
Neck. This property was adjacent to that of Capt. Francis 
Champernowne and Samuel Haynes. 

The first in America of the Neal name was the celebrated Capt. 
Walter Neal, one of Mason's stewards. He came on the ship 
"Warwick" in the spring of 1630 to Piscataqua and, as first 
records state, brought a family and was governor over Captain 
Mason's interests. 

In 1631 when the whole plantation of New Hampshire was 
divided, he was given control of the Lower Plantation, which in- 
cluded Portsmouth, Rye, Newcastle, Newington and part of 
Greenland, while Capt. Thomas Wiggin had control of the Upper 
Plantation, which covered Dover, Durham, Newmarket, Stra- 
tham and part of Greenland. 

In 1632 Dixy Bull with fifteen men had dismantled the fort at 
Pemaquid. Captain Neal equipped four pinnaces and shallops, 
manned them with forty men and joined w r ith a barge from Bos- 
ton, with twenty men, and sailed for Pemaquid, but owing to bad 
weather they did not meet the enemy and were forced to return. 
This was the first naval armament ever equipped for New 
Hampshire. 

In 1632 Captain Neal, Henry Jocelyn and Darby Field dis- 
covered the White Mountains, in the Province of Laconia, and 
gave them the name of the "Crystal Hills." As history states, 
these were the first white men who ever set foot on the moun- 
tains. 

Captain Walter was undoubtedly the father of Walter 2 , as 
early records of the Colony state that Captain Walter brought a 
family, and Walter 2 occupied land over which the captain had 
control and w r as interested in. 

Walter 2 Neal in 1653 resided on Heard's Neck, Portsmouth. 
In 1678 his son, Samuel Neal, appears, and in 1673 Walter 2 was 
styled lieutenant of Capt. James Pendleton's Company, and 
became a captain prior to 1692. His garrison is referred to in 
town records of 1692, in which Captain Nele of Greenland fur- 
nished ammunition to several garrisons. He was selectman, 
tythingman, one of the first members of the North Church of 



348 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Portsmouth, and was among a committee to regulate the seating 
in the church. 

No record of anyone by the name of Neal is found except 
Captain Walter 2 and his son, Samuel. Captain Walter's wife's 
name was Mary Ayers, as records in 1661. 

His pew in the North Church was assigned in front of the 
minister, and his son, Samuel, had a seat in the men's gallery. 
Walter 2 was a member when Nathaniel Rogers was ordained 
in 1699. 

December 5, 1653, town records show that "it was granted unto 
Walter 2 Neal a lot of eight acres to his house upon the neck of 
land by Winnicotte River," commonly called John Heard's Neck, 
and later 50 acres were allotted him by the town. 

Samuel \ son of Captain Walter - and wife, Mary Neal, born at 
Greenland, June 14, 1661. He was admitted to the North Church 
at Portsmouth, November 29, 1694, and (as church records) had 
children: Thomas, Walter, Jeremiah, John, all baptized by Rev. 
Joshua Moody in 1695, and Joshua, baptized April 11, 1697. 
Jeremiah settled in Portsmouth and paid tax there in 1727. 
Joshua settled in Stratham, where he had a daughter, Olive, born 
December 15, 1721, by wife Abigail. 

Walter 4 of the Newmarket line came from Portsmouth and 
settled in Exeter, where he married before 1717, Ann, daughter of 
Richard and Jane (Hilton) Mattoon. He was probably a son of 
Samuel who was baptized at Portsmouth, April 21, 1695. Chil- 
dren: 

Hubartus 5 , b. 1717; m. 1747 Mary, dau. of John and 

Rebecca (Smart) Perkins; d. Dec. 13, 1805. She d. 

June 18, 1806. 
Samuel 5 , b. 1720; m. Catherine Burley. 
John 5 , b. Apr. 5, 1722, d. 1806; m. Lydia Wiggin. 
Ann 5 , 1724-1736. 
Ebeneezer 5 , b. 1726, m. first, Lydia Clark; m., second, 

Elizabeth Perkins. 
Walter 5 , 1731-1820; m. Lydia Parsons. 
Deborah 5 , b. 1733; m. as second wife of Walter Wiggin of 

Stratham. 
Ann 5 , b. 1736; m. Joshua Robinson. 

Hubartus 5 , son of Walter and Ann (Mattoon), resided near 
Rockingham Junction. He was captain previous to 1775; 
signed the Association Test on 1776. His children were: 



GENEALOGIES 349 

Bartholomew ,; , b. 1748; d. young. 

Hubartus 6 , 1752-1815; m. 1774, Mary, dau. of Joseph and 
Sarah (Glidden) Smith of the "Brick House" in New- 
market. He signed the Association Test with his father 
in 1776. 

Molly", 1756-1760. 

Enoch fi 1762-1814; m. 1788, Nancy Towle; settled in Par- 
sonsfield, Maine, and d. there. 

Hubartus h and wife, Mary (Smith) Neal, lived on the home- 
stead in Newmarket. Children: 

John Glidden 7 , b. 1775, m. Elizabeth Leavitt; settled in 
Maine. They had children: Mary Ann, Caroline, John, 
Sarah, Elizabeth, and Helen, who m. James Howard of 
Skowhegan, Maine. 

Mary 7 , b. 1784; m. Joseph Merrill. 

Joseph Smith, b. 1788; m., first, Olive Ringe; m., second, 
Abner P. Stinson of Newmarket. 

Andrew \ 1792-1876; m. Sarah Bowker. 

Ebeneezer 7 , b. 1797; m. Mary Tarlton. 

Both Hubartus 5 and Hubartus (; Neal, with their wives, are 
buried in the Rockingham Junction Cemetery, with stones. 

Supplement to Neal Family 

Walter 4 Neal of Newmarket was the son of Samuel of Green- 
land. This fact has been established by records. It came 
through manuscripts, genealogy of the families of Hubartus 
Neal, Sr., and Col. Joseph Smith. Samuel 3 Neal, son of Cap- 
tain Walter '-' of Greenland, married Jane Foss. He was a signer, 
with his father, to the petition desiring the jurisdiction of Massa- 
chusetts over the New Hampshire settlements in 1690. 

Children of Samuel 3 Neal and Jane Foss: 

Samuel 4 , m. Hannah Lock; resided in Greenland. 

Thomas 4 . 

Walter 4 of Newmarket. 

Jeremiah 4 . 

John 4 , m. Whitten. 

Joshua 4 . 

Walter 4 Neal, son of Samuel 3 , was born in Greenland in 1692. 
He was baptized by Rev. Joshua Moody of Portsmouth, 1695- 
1755. His will proved at Exeter, April 22, 1755. Hubartus 5 , 
son of Walter 4 , married in 1742, Mary Perkins. 



350 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Samuel 5 , born in 1720, died April 8, 1760; married Catherine 
Burley (Bradley?) in 1739. 

Ebeneezer 5 , died April 15, 1805. 
Deborah 5 , born November 14, 1733. 
Ann 5 , born in 1736. 

North Church Records, Portsmouth 
April 21, 1695. Thomas, Walter, Jeremiah, John Neal, 
children of Samuel Neal and wife, Abigail Brier, admitted to the 
church, April 20, 1693. 

Excerpts from Old Deeds and Wills 
From the history of Parsonsfield, Maine 

In a deed dated May 17, 1629, from four sagamores to John 
Wheelwright and others, recorded in York County, Maine, 
records, Walter Neal is styled governor for the company of 

Laconia. 

In 1631 Walter Neal was agent of Gorges Mason and others 
for their patent, including Portsmouth, Newcastle and Rye. He 
lived at Little Harbor at the mouth of the Piscataqua. He dis- 
covered the White Mountains, made a survey of and map of the 
territory he governed, drove away pirates, hung an Indian, and 
returned to England in 1634. 

From "History of Kittery, Maine" by Stack pole 

Capt. Walter Neal was a soldier for sometime before coming to 
Pascataqua in 1630. He was made captain of a London com- 
pany of artillery, which office he retained until 1637. There is 
some trace of him at Plymouth, England, in 1639. 

A Walter Neal, born in 1633, is mentioned often as living in 
Greenland, N. H., from 1653, from whom there are many de- 
scendants. 

History tells us that Walter Neal came over on the "Pied 
Cow," and in an old book in Concord it states that he brought a 
family, among them several women, who were married by a 
magistrate after they stepped from the boat. 

In 1673 Lieut. Walter Neal was in office and in 1689 he was 
captain of a military company of Portsmouth. 

In 1683 Walter Neal, called captain, married Mary Ayers. He 
was a freeholder in Portsmouth and signed a petition to the King, 
and was sent to England by Nathaniel Weare. 



GENEALOGIES 351 

On June 25, 1667, Walter Neal took oath of freeman. 

In 1702 Walter Neal of Greenland deeded land to Samuel, 
"my grandson, he being the son of my son, Samuel." 

In 1 702 Walter Neal of Greenland willed to William Philbrook, 
who married Mary Neal, daughter of Walter, "land and buildings 
at Greenland, and my personal property at my decease." 

In 1735 Walter Neal of Newmarket deeded land in Gilman 
Town to Robert and John Light. 

Copy of Will of Walter Neal 

In the name of God, Amen, I waiter Xeal of New Market, this 15th, day of 
April, 1755, in the 28th year of the reign of his Majesty King George, the Sec- 
ond, «S:c, — 

ITEM. I give and bequeathe to my dear and well beloved wife the use and 
benefit of K of my dwelling house, viz the north end thereof along the river, 
and all the household goods, and all the provisions that are now in my home, 
and three cows, and five sheep and their lambs for her own, and the keeping of 
the cows and sheep, winter and summer, and their lambs, till they shall want 
hay. and two hundred weight of beef a year, and four barrells of cyder, and 
half the corn and grain which my son Walter shall raise upon the land, which I 
gave him, and the getting all her meal ground for her, which she shall yearly 
need for bread, and corn and what rum, sugar, and molasses she need, and the 
paying the Doctor's bills of which she shall need in sickness; all which is my 
will that my Ezec hereafter named should do, and provide for my wife as long 
as she lives, providing she accepts this my will to renounce or disclaim her 
dower or thirds. 

ITEM, I bequeathe to each of my sons, Hubartus; Samuel; John; and Eben- 
ezer fifty pounds old tenor to be pa d by my Exec, hereafter named within ten 
years of my decease, and to my son John, I also give and bequeathe my common 
right at Spruce Swamp in Exeter; and I give and bequeathe also to my son 
Eben r all the apple trees, and the land which is under them, which stand upon 
the land I bought of David Lyford. 

ITEM, I give and bequeathe unto each of my beloved daughters, Deborah, 
and Anne, one hundred pounds old tenor, to be paid within four years, after my 
decease, if they dont marry before that time, but if they do marry sooner to 
be paid at the time of marriage, by my Exec, hereinafter named, and the north 
end of my house till they marry. 

ITEM, I give and bequeathe unto my beloved son Walter, all my land build- 
ings, mills, and all my estate, both personal and real which is not mentioned 
before in my will, and provision for burial etc. 

(Signed) Walter Neal 

Witnesses 

Gideon Colcord 
Jerusha Colcord 
Note. 

Inventory 50 acres of land. 



352 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

1744. Walter Neal's wife was Ann Mattoon, she a daughter of 
Richard Mattoon. 

1751. Walter Neal deeded land to son Ebeneezer Neal in 
Newmarket. 

1763. Walter's son, Ebeneezer Neal of Stratham, received from 
Samuel Yeasey and wife, Mary, Ebenezer's right one sixth part 
of Mary's estate that came from her father, Thomas of Stratham. 

Ebenezer sold land in Epping, also land and buildings in New 
Market. 

1737/8. Samuel Neal was apprenticed to Jonathan Wiggin. 
(This was Samuel 3 .) 

1755. Samuel Neal deeded to Walter and Margaret (Neal) 
Philbrook land and share in house in Greenland. 

1756. In the will of Samuel Neal in Greenland his wife, Eliza- 
beth (Haley) Neal, he gave Comfort, the wife of Francis Berry, 
his daughter; also daughter, Margaret, wife of Walter Philbrook; 
and Hannah Neal; also Ruhamah, wife of William Norton; also 
to Daniel and Samuel Neal Mason, sons of Elizabeth (Neal) 
Mason ; James and Jonathan Neal Berry, sons of our late daughter, 
Genea Berry, and husband, Francis Berry. 

1719. Joshua Neal of Portsmouth received from Joseph and 
Sarah Hill, land in Salem. 

1760. In will of Joshua Neal of Stratham his wife, Abigail 
Haines, sister of Samuel Haines, also both children of their father, 
Samuel Legatees; Abigail, who married Samuel Cate; Elizabeth 
and Olive Griffith ; a son-in-law, Thomas Veasey, his son a legatee, 
Joshua Veasey; and Stephen Cate, another grandchild. 

1766. Hannah (Lock) Neal, daughter of Deacon William Lock 
and wife of Samuel Neal of Greenland, received from Daniel 
Mason, as legatee; also Francis Berry and Comfort Berry; 
Walter and Margaret Philbrook; William J. and Ruhamath 
Norton, land and buildings in Greenland, from the estate of 
Samuel Neal of Greenland. 

John Neal of Loudon deeded to Samuel and Joseph Neal farm 
and buildings in Third Division No. 17, 95 acres in Meredith. 

Ebenezer Smith deeded to Joseph Neal whole lot of land No. 16 
in Meredith, excepting out of same, 60 rods in breadth, the 
northeasterly side of the same the whole length of the lot whereon 
Jacob Bunker lives, excepting the road laid out through said land 
sold to Joseph Neal, and to have the rangeway at the easterly end 



GENEALOGIES 353 

of the land sold as set off by the selectmen of Meredith for said 
road. Joseph Neal paid for above 45 pounds, 18 shillings. 
Dated April 30, 1789. 

Portsmouth Land Grants and Surveys, July 10, 1655 

It is further granted unto Walter u Neal for an out lot, 50 acres 
of land laid out by the captain's lot. As granted this lot was near 
Winicut River at the bottom of the Great Bay. 

Walter u Xealle, this 22 of July 1655, his home lot, doth extend from good- 
man havens, his fence due north, and by east unto Winicout Riuer, leaning a 
way from Captain Champernounes, between his housesses, where he formerly 
wente: he has allowed 50 acres by ye towne. 

Captain Walter 11 Neal, on July 22, 1665, was selectman, also 

to 1688. He married Mary of Greenland parish in 

Portsmouth. In 1673 he was one of a committee to help establish 
Massachusetts. In 1693 he was one of the men to help in the 
seating of the people in the Old North Church, or Meeting House, 
in Portsmouth, and he was captain of a company of Portsmouth 
men in 1708. 

May 24, 1671, in the " Point of Graves" Cemetery, Portsmouth, 
Walter Neal had a division. This was half an acre of land in 
which several men had a share, and Walter Neal shared with 
fourteen others for his share. He was credited 15 shillings. 

In 169 3/4, in the allotment of seats in the North Church, Sam u 
Nele had a seat; also his wife, Abigail (Brier) Nele, in Portsmouth, 
had a seat. The children of Sam u Nele and wife, Abigail, were 
admitted to the North Church: Thomas, Walter, Jeremiah and 
John. 

In the North Church records of 1697 was Joshua Neal, son of 
Samuel Neal, who was admitted to the church in 1697. 

In 1671-1697, as North Church records, Walter Neal was a 
member; also Sam Neal was admitted in 1695. (This looks as 
though Walter had died, and is buried in the "Point of Graves" 
yard, in lot No. 14.) 

Walter 4 Neal (Samuel 3 , Walter 2 , Capt. Walter), born in 1692, 
married January 17, 1715, Anne Mattoon, daughter of Richard. 
He died in 1755; she died in 1756. Their children: 

Hubartus, b. Oct. 22, 1718; m. Mary Perkins. 
Samuel, b. Mar. 26, 1720; d. 1734. 



354 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ebenezer, b. Jan. 18, 1726; m. Eliza Perkins; second, Lydia 

Clark. 
Walter, b. June 22, 1731; m. Lydia Parsons. 
Deborah B., b. 1733; m. Walter Wiggin. 
Ann, b. Nov. 13, 1736; m. Joshua Robinson. 

Samuel 5 Neal (Walter 4 , Samuel 3 , Walter 2 , Capt. Walter), 
born March 26, 1720, married Catherine Bradley. Their 
children: 

William i; , a Revolutionary soldier. 

John. 

Joseph" (called "Red Oak" Joseph), m. Nancy Perkins. 

(She was called "Kitty.") 
Mary, m. Walter Philbrick. 

Samuel, born June 8, 1749, married Abigail Conner. They are 
buried in Newfield. This Samuel was a son of Samuel of Kittery 
and wife, Hannah Locke. 

Samuel 3 , born in 1661, married Jane Foss. Walter 2 (Capt. 
Walter) and wife, Mary, who came to America in 1631 with a 
family (as first records in Concord), and had some 50 men with 
him, settled in Greenland Point or Little Harbor. They came on 
the "Warwick." Capt. Walter was agent for the London 
Company. He was called back to England, as history states, and 
left goats, malt and other things, and returned to England. (No 
record that he ever returned to America.) 

Joseph Neal (called "Red Oak" Joseph for distinction), 
1759-1836, was a son of Samuel. When he was 16 years old he 
ran away from home and enlisted in the Revolutionary War. 
Later he was discharged and went home, and married Lydia 
Perkins (called "Kitty"). They had a son, John, born in 
Stratham. The wife died in 1734. He married, second, Nancy 
Perkins, and they came to Meredith and settled on what was 
later the Richard Neal farm on Neal Hill. 

After John, the son, grew up, he married Betsey, daughter of 
William Wadleigh, and lived on what is now called "Green Acres" 
farm. They had children that are buried on the southwest corner 
of the field. 

Children of Joseph Neal and his second wife, Nancy Perkins: 

Lydia, m. William Wadleigh. 
Deborah, m. John S. Moulton. 
Nancy, m. James Wadleigh. 



GENEALOGIES 355 

Polly, m. Stephen Wadleigh. 

Olive, m. Stephen Wadleigh as his second wife. 

Adeline, m. Ebenezer Chapman. 

Richard Neal married Elizabeth Xeal, daughter of "White 
Oak" Joseph Neal, she born in 1795. Their children: 

Col. Joseph, 1813-1879; m. Elizabeth Gordon, 1819-1881. 
Their dau., Clara, 1846-1894, m. George Hilton, a lawyer 
of Meredith, and later of Paterson, N. J. 
Catherine, 1818-1875; m. Jonathan Perkins Norris, 1808- 
1875. Their dau., Julia, 1844-1890, m. David Whicher, 
1831-1915. Their children: 
Lucy, d. young. 

Ellen YV., m. Frank Bartlett. Their son, Norris P. 
Hannah, b. 1821; m. Joseph M. Bean as his second wife. 
Their dau., Ellen C, b. 1858, m. Otis Clark of Manchester. 
Their dau., Carlie, m. Daniel Healey. They have two 
sons. 
Mary E., b. 1823; m. J. N. True, 1823-1912. Their 
children: 

Edward N., 1848-1865. 

Mary R., b. 1852; m. David Ambrose. Their son, 
David Edward, b. 1892, m. A. V. Blanchard. (See 
family.) 
Charles, 1837-1892; m. Georgia Lamprey of Belmont. 
Their children: 

Abbie, 1869-1900; m. James Youngman. 
George Richard, 1872; m. Ada M. Eastman, b. 1872. 
Their children: Rachel I., b. 1902; Charles R., b. 
1904; Robert J., b. 1907; Fred E., b. 1909; George F., 
b. 1910. 

Samuel Neal and wife, Elizabeth Haley, settled in Stratham, 
near "Frying Pan Lane." Their children: 

Samuel, b. Mar. 22, 1755. 

Andrew, b. Jan. 19, 1758. 

Jeremiah, b. Nov. 4, 1759. 

Joseph (called "White Oak" Joseph), b. Mar. 25, 1762; 
m. Hannah Smith of Meredith. He and John walked by 
spotted trees to Meredith and there bought land. 

John, b. Mar. 10, 1764. 

Elizabeth, b. May 29, 1766; m. Capt. William Ray. 

Mary, b. June 1, 1770. 

Abigail, b. Jan. 29, 1773. 

Sarah, b. Jan., 1775. 

Deborah, b. Jan. 22, 1779. 



356 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Joseph Neal 
("White Oak" Joseph) 

From information gathered from various items, notes, family 
records, and tradition through our parents, Samuel Neal 3 , who 
married Elizabeth Haley in 1754 and served in the Revolutionary 
War, was the son of Samuel 2 , who married Elizabeth Lock in 
1710, and the daughter of Deacon William Lock. Samuel 2 
served in the French and Indian War. He was a grandson, twice 
removed, of Walter Neal of Provincial days and who did much to 
help establish New Hampshire as a State. 

Samuel 3 Neal lived near "Frying Pan Lane," so-called, in 
Stratham. There was much controversy about laying out roads 
in early days of "driftways," "Frying Pan Lane" being one of 
them, which was so narrow that two teams could not pass, and 
running to the Exeter Road, through gates, and from the by-ways, 
down to "Thresher's Lane," where they had to ford streams, as 
there were few bridges in those days. The middle road was 
called "Drinkwater Road," so-called because early records state 
that a man walked down through the whole length, asking at 
every home for a drink of cider and in every case was given water. 
He said: "This must be Drinkwater Road." 

Samuel 3 Neal and wife, Elizabeth Haley, had ten children. 
Among the family were Joseph and John. Tradition tells they 
were very poor, as most of the early settlers were in those days, 
and Joseph was bound out, as records state, to Mr. Wiggin for 
some years. After serving his apprenticeship he and his brother 
John went to Boston and worked for a time; then, hearing of good 
land in Meredith, recently laid out, they walked up, following 
spotted trees, and settled in the wilderness, bought lot No. 4, and 
hewed lumber to build a shelter near "The Smile of the Great 
Spirit." 

In 1797 the selectmen of Meredith laid out a road, described as 
from a "birch tree, in the First Range, by Simeon Cate's corner 
on the Wares Road, to run north on the 'Old Cart Path,' through 
Joseph Neal's paster to Joseph Neal's 'Pond Lot' (100 acres)," 
the present John Neal farm on the Daniel Webster Highway. 
Soon after this another road was laid out on a "bridle path," 
across from the present highway, passing the Joseph Neal home 
to the "Old Province Road." 



GENEALOGIES 357 

After building a home Joseph Neal married Hannah, daughter 
of Jeremiah Smith and wife. They raised nine children, and 
among them was Joseph, Jr., who was one of the deacons of the 
first church in Meredith, situated on the Parade. History tells 
us that they had what was called a "tidy man"; he had a long 
pole with rabbit's ears tied on the end. The sermons were long 
in those days, and the men were weary from hard work and some- 
times fell asleep. It was the duty of this "tidy man" to walk 
around and brush the rabbit's ears across their faces to waken 
them. (Some of this information comes from William H. Neal, 
who is much interested in the history of old Meredith.) 

Many Revolutionary soldiers who had meagre government 
pensions settled in this locality, as land was good. 

Joseph Neal who had raised his stock, had six oxen, with which 
he went "to market" twice a year, taking along any provisions, 
such as beef and pork, that they had raised. He traded these for 
supplies needed in the homes, such as salt fish, salt, molasses, 
tobacco, and usually a barrel of rum was included to be dis- 
tributed among the farmers. (In those days of "long ago" it 
was not considered courtesy, if the minister called, not to give 
him a little tonic.) These pioneers also felt that they needed a 
little in haying time, at barn raising, which was quite an event in 
early days; also in early spring, when they polled rafts of logs to a 
sawmill to be prepared into lumber for building, which often 
reached far into the night. It was sometimes hard to keep the 
logs from getting away, and the men usually came home chilled 
and wet from head to feet. Then they took a little that was held 
in reserve for sickness or chills. Another time when it was used 
was at the annual "sheep washing," when they had a neighbor- 
hood place to wash their sheep and clean the wool. In the 
Charles Wiggin pasture, on a clean ledge, they ran uhe water 
from the brook through a wooden spout from the brook near by. 
After the sheep had their bath they were sheared, and the "gude" 
housewife carded the fleeces by hand into rolls and spun and wove 
the wool into cloth for clothing and yarn for knitting hose for her 
family. The girls had their share of knitting for the family. 

John Neal, the brother of "White Oak" Joseph, who came up 
into the wilderness by spotted trees, settled for a time near by, but 
the lure of cheaper land enticed him to go farther north and settle. 
He married a daughter of Capt. William Ray, who was a Revolu- 



358 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N H. 

tionary soldier, and lived in a pole house for a time, on Lot No. 3, 
where the N. H. State papers state that he had eight acres cleared, 
and four in his family. Capt. William Ray married a sister of 
Joseph Neal, and he and his wife rest in the old Neal yard with 
two children on the old farm. After he and his wife died, the 
sons, not having land enough to live on, went to Ellsworth for a 
time and later came farther south for better land. The older 
Ray boys are buried in different towns. The descendants live in 
West Rumney, and have there raised a family. 

Another Joseph Neal, who was born in Newmarket, then a part 
of Stratham, was a cousin to the previous Joseph Neal. (History 
states that when he was sixteen, he ran away from home and 
enlisted in the Revolution. After he came home he also went to 
Meredith and settled on the Center Harbor Road, at the top of 
Neal Hill, where three generations lived after him. 

There being two Joseph Neals living near each other in Mere- 
dith, for distinction the people called the latter one "Red Oak" 
Joseph Neal and the first one "White Oak" Joseph Neal. Tradi- 
tion says that these epithets were used on account of the wood or 
lumber that grew on their farms. 

"Red Oak" Joseph Neal had a son, Richard, who was a 
prominent man in town affairs. He married Betsey (Elizabeth) 
Neal, daughter of "White Oak" Joseph Neal and wife, Hannah 
(Smith) Neal. His grandson, George Richard Neal, is employed 
by the Standard Oil Co. and lives in Woburn, Mass. He is the 
last Neal of that branch of the family. 

A descendant of "White Oak" Joseph Neal is William Howard 
Neal, who lives in Meredith on Neal Hill. He is a noted stock 
raiser, and has won many blue ribbons and silver cups for pre- 
miums. He has also helped much with the ancestry of many of 
the Meredith families in these annals of Meredith. 

Another descendant of "White Oak" Joseph Neal is John 
Frank Neal, who has been employed for some years by the Stand- 
ard Oil Co. 

Joseph Neal ("White Oak" Joseph), of Meredith, was a son of 
Samuel 3 Neal and wife, Elizabeth Haley, who was called the 
"King of the Shoals." Joseph Neal, 1762-1851, married Han- 
nah, 1771-1851, daughter of Jeremiah Smith. (See Smith.) 
Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 359 

William, 1789-1830. He was a ship carpenter. 
John, 1790-1864; m. Lois Mead, 1795-1875, dau. of John 
Mead. Their children: 
Hannah, 1815-1901. 
Mary Jane, 1817-1839. 
Son. 1818-1818. 
Martha, 1819-1824. 
Betsey M., 1822-1908. 

Darius J., 1824-1908. He m. Frances S. Elliott in 
Canterbury; they resided in Chicago. Their son, 
Charles Ames, b. 1862, m. Melanie F. Norton. Two 
sons, Elliott, b. 1897; Kimball Ladd, b. 1900. 
Martha A., 1828-1914; m. Eben S. Thompson as his 
second wife. His first wife was Sarah Hanaford. 
She had a dau., Eleanor, who m. Rev. Nathan Pal- 
meter. 
Susan Maria, b. 1831; single. 

John Mead, b. 1833; m. Jane Wadleigh. Their chil- 
dren : 

Emma Jane, b. 1863; m. 1897 Clarence Clark, b. 

1866. Their children: Helen, b. 1901, m. Fred 

Bean; C. Henry, b. 1902; Harold, b. 1906; m. 

Marion Cotton, b. 1909. 

Sarah Jane, b. 1864; m. Edward Taylor, b. 1862; 

she his second wife. 
John Frank, b. 1867; m. Margaret S. Murray, b. 
1887. They have one dau., Phebe, b. 1921. 
Harriet, 1835-1927. 

Ezra D., 1839-1910; m. Lavina S. Leavitt, 1871, dau. of 

Isaac Leavitt and wife, Sarah Smith. Their children : 

Edith L., 1875-1916; m. Charles H. Perrine, a 

professor in Chicago. Their children: Judith 

Grace, b. 1908; Dudley Neal, b. 1914. 

Grace L., m. Harry C. Mills. He d. Their 

children: Harry N., b. 1904; Charles E., b. 1906; 

Lois, b. 1910. ' 

Elizabeth, 1793-1836, dau. of "White Oak" Joseph Neal, 

m. Richard Neal, son of "Red Oak" Joseph Neal and 

wife, Abigail. "Red Oak" Joseph Neal m., first, Lydia 

Perkins, called "Kitty." She d. leaving a son., John, b. 

in Stratham, who came to Meredith with his father and 

m. Betsey Wadleigh, dau. of William Wadleigh. They 

lived on what is now called "Green Acres," and tradition 

says the family are buried there in the southwest corner 

of the field. "Red Oak" Joseph Neal m., second, Nancy 

Perkins. Children: 

Richard, m. Elizabeth Neal, dau. of "White Oak" 
Joseph Neal. 



360 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lydia, m. William Wadleigh of Meredith. 

Deborah, m. John S. Moulton. 

Nancy, m. James Wadleigh. 

Polly (Mary), m. Stephen Wadleigh. 

Olive, m. Stephen Wadleigh as his second wife. 

Adeline, m. Ebenezer Chapman. 

Children of Richard Neal and wife, Betsey (Neal) Neal : 
Col. Joseph, 1812-1879; m. Elizabeth Gordon. 
Their dau., Clara, m. George Hilton; lived in 
Paterson, N. J. 
Catherine, 1818-1876; m. Jonathan P. Norris, 
1808-1875. Their dau., Julia, 1844-1890, m. 
David Whicher. They had a son, Norris 
Bartlett Whicher. 
Hannah, m. Joseph M. Bean in 1853. Their dau., 
Ellen Catherine, b. 1858, m. Otis Clark of 
Manchester. They had a dau., Carlie, who m. 
Daniel Healy. They have two sons. 
Mary E., 1823-1912; m. J. N. True. Their chil- 
dren: Edward N. and Mary R. b. 1852, m. 
David Ambrose. Their son, Edward Ambrose, 
m. Yictorine Blanchard. Their children: Adele 
Victoria, b. 1913; Dorothy, b. 1914; David G., b. 
1915; PaulT., b. 1920. 
Charles, m. Georgia Lamprey of Belmont, N. H. 
Their children: Abbie, 1868-1900, m. James 
Youngman; George Richard, b. 1872, m. Ada M. 
Eastman, b. 1872. Their children: Rachel Irene 
b, 1902; Charles Richard, b. 1902; Robert John, 
1907-1910; Frederick E., b. 1909; George Frank- 
lin, b. 1910. 
Mary, 1795-1879; m. Joseph E. Robinson of Portsmouth. 
He d. 1854; she m., second, Nath x Batchelder, and lived 
in Meredith Village and there died. 
Joseph, 1797-1854; m. Lucy Dow, dau. of EbenezerDow, 
the Revolutionary soldier. Their children: 

Hannah Jane, 1829-1899; m. Charles C. Roberts, son of 
Joseph Roberts and wife, Mary (Daniels) Roberts. 
They lived in Tamworth, N. H. Children: 
Lucv Jane, 1859-1859. 
Charles H., 1860-1913. 
Joseph Neal, 1862-1862. 
Joseph Neal, b. 1865. 
Arthur, 1869-1916. 
Dixie Guy, b. 1874. 
W T illiam, b. 1830; m. Mary Esther Smith, dau. of 
Deacon Benjamin Smith of Sanbornton, 1842-1892. 
William Neal was killed by a train at Bridgewater, 



GENEALOGIES 361 

going home from the fair at Plymouth in 1895. 
Their children: 

Arthur J., 1864-1882. 

William Howard, b. 1871; m. Lucy M. R. Neal, 
b. 1872, dau. of James H. Neal and wife, Adeliza 
J. Copp. Their son, William Joseph, b. 1905. 
W. H. Neal and son are noted stockmen. 
Bertha, b. 1873; m. Deacon Charles H. Eaton of 
Meredith, N. H. 
Lydia, b. 1832; m. Gilman Whittaker. They had a 

dau., d. 
Smith Lock, 1840-1889; m. Eliza Heath. Their 
children: 

Alice E., b. 1862; m. Frank Swain. 
George Elmer, b. 1864; m. Mattie Moore. 
Charles E., b. 1856. 

Frank P., b. 1870; m. Nellie M. Davis. Their 
children: 

Herbert Frank, b. 1894. 

Clarence E., b. 1898; m. Josephine Cutting. 
Their children: Nellie Davis, b. 1924; 
Darrell Walter, b. 1928. 
Ralph Davis, b. 1900; m. Gladys White, b. 
1902, dau. of Rev. Howard White and wife, 
Nellie (Lincoln) White. Their children: 
Roland, b. 1923; Elisabeth, b. 1925; Ralph, 
b. 1927. 
Hannah S., 1799-1855; lived single. 

Smith, 1806-1887; m. Sarah Elizabeth Smith of New 
Hampton, dau. of Nicholas Smith and wife, Lavina 
Smith. (See Smiths.) Their dau., Mary Elizabeth, b. 
1853; m. John P. Hanaford. (See Smiths.) 
Nancy, 1810-1854; m. Joshua W lggin. 
Irene, 1813-1902; m. Charles Smith; lived in Meredith. 



THE JOHN MEAD NEAL REUNION OF FAMILY IN 1898 

By Mattie (Neal) Thompson 

At the homestead on the hillside, what a group of children — eleven: 
A babe, a child, two older sisters died, and left our number seven; 
Years sped on, some went, some tilled the soil, and kept the home, 
Father, mother still abiding, with no thought or wish to roam. 

At the homestead on the hillside, see that group gathered today; 
To recount, remember, life's events through all the way. 
Father born in 'seventeen-ninety, mother born in 'ninety-five; 
Mother died at almost fourscore, father almost seventy-five. 



362 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Days have sped like weavers' shuttles, filling in life's varied woof, 
Days of sunshine, days of shadow, since we left this sheltering roof; 
Past the goodly age of fourscore, past the threescore and ten — 
Stepping briskly through the 'sixties, girls and boys, now women, men. 

Do we dream the babe we tended, thought him cunning, handsome, fine; 
Stands among us, gray-haired deacon, born in 'eighteen thirty-nine. 
What a record, what a history, reaching through a century; 
Joy and gladness — pain and sadness — has it brought this family. 

'Neath this well-kept roof we gather, cross the threshold as of yore, 
To the hill, the brook, the orchard, to the field, the woods, the shore 
Of the Lake Winnipesaukee, scrambling over rocks and sand; 
Well we knew each rock, tree, brooklet, every spot in father-land. 

Hills and rocks, brook, field and woodland, greet us smiling verdant still; 
We forget life's uphill journey, dreams of youth our pulses thrill. 
From the hilltop, in the pasture, finer landscape few have seen — 
Sparkling lake, dotted with islands, distant mountains draped in green. 

Golden sunsets; oft we tarried till the sun was sinking low, 

As it lingered for a moment, lovingly its rays to throw 

O'er the landscape, lake and mountains, o'er the clouds, the sky so bright, 

Ere it kissed the far horizon, brightly, tenderly, good night. 

From the zenith to the horizon, what a picture to behold, 
Rainbow tints blending and fading, to a sky of blue and gold; 
Oh the pictures vivid, lifelike, photographed on memories wall, 
Like a living panorama, we review them one and all. 

But the orchard, "gate tree," "bar tree," "father's stripe tree," "mother's 
Old sweet tree" in the corner, where we used to sit and eat — ■ 
All are gone, trees young and old, yield the fruit we pick today; 
Few decrepit, scattered broken, stand the old trees by the way. 

We have come each single-handed, girl nor boy brings back their mate; 
One by one they passed before us, on the other shore they wait. 
We shall part, no more to gather, all our sacred number seven, 
Till we meet, life's journey over, all our loved ones, safe in Heaven. 

Joshua Neal 

April 14, 1818, Joshua Neal, born in 1756 at Tuftonborough, 
Strafford County, N. H., age 62 years, deposed : 

That he enlisted in August, 1776, in New Hampshire under Capt. Calef, Col. 
Pierce Long, New Hampshire troops, for one year; served out his term and was 
discharged at Stillwater, N. V., in August, 1777; 

That he was in several skirmishes at Ticonderoga, and also at Patterson's 
Island in the Hudson on the retreat from Ticonderoga in 1777. 



GENEALOGIES 363 

November 17, 1819, Mark Wiggin of Wolf borough, X. II., 74 years of age, 
testified that he saw Joshua Xeal in service, on the retreat from Ticonderoga, 
in July, 1777, and has no doubt that Neal served until the regiment was dis- 
charged, August 8, 1777, at Stillwater, \\ V. 

I commanded the First Company, in said regiment, and was present with my 
company until the regiment was discharged, and was well acquainted with 
Joshua Xeal. 

Mark Wiggin. 

October 2°, 1819, Richard Lock of Rye, X. H., "late a private in Revolu- 
tionary War," testified to personal knowledge of Joshua Xeal's service, as he 
saw him frequently while in service. 

Richard Lock. 

Claim allowed, and certificate issued under Act of March 18, 
1818. 

July 11, 1820, Joshua Neal of Tuftonborough, N. H., 64 years 
of age, testified that he has in his family a wife (no name given), 
64 years of age. 

Pension continued. 

(Only Revolutionary pensioner named Joshua Neal from any 
State.) 

Joshua Neal, born June 23, 1756, died November 4, 1840; 
married Mary Tarlton, born August 12, 1756, died December 10, 
1825. (Elias 3 , Elias 2 , Richard Tarlton l . Their children: 

Betsey (Elizabeth), b. May 2, 1777; d. Jan. 18, 1861. 

Richard, b. Dec. 9, 1779; d.'jan. 4, 1780. 

Hannah, b. Mar. 22, 1781; d. Aug. 23, 1865. 

Mary, b. Dec. 15, 1782; d. Apr. 1, 1786. 

Mehitable Berry, b. Julv 17, 1785; d. Oct. 24, 1870. 

Polly (Mary), b. June 26, 1791; d. 1844/5. 

John, b. Oct. 13, 1793; d. Sept. 23, 1855. 

John Neal married Nabby Hussey, born September 28, 1789; 
died May 9, 1872. Their children: 

Richard B., b. Mar. 13, 1820; d. Sept. 25, 1890; m. Nancy 

Piper Kelsey. 
Thomas W., b. May 6, 1822; d. Nov. 27, 1880; m. Tryphena 

Kelsey. 
John L., b. Nov. 3, 1827 ; d. Oct. 28, 1877 ; m. Lydia A. Scott. 
Joshua A., b. Oct. 14, 1827; d. Oct. 14, 1887; m. Angeline 

Bernel. 
Mary A., b. Apr. 13, 1832; d. Feb. 23, 1861. 
James H., b. Jan. 29, 1835; d. Nov. 13, 1860; m. Nov. 13, 

Adeliza Copp, b. Apr. 4, 1835; d. Nov. 20, 1913; she a dau. 



364 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

of Isaac N. Copp and wife, Hannah Rogers. Their 
children: 

John, b. Mar. 6, 1863, in Tuftonboro. 

Frederick \V., b. Mar. 9, 1865; mar. Oct. 7, 1897, Anna 

A. Roberts of Dover. 
Isaac B., b. Mar. 9, 1866. 

Lucy W. R., b. Nov. 1, 1872; m. William Howard Neal 
of Meredith. Their son, William Joseph, b. Aug. 3. 
1905. 

Isaac N. Copp and wife, Hannah Rogers. Their children: 

Mary Elizabeth, b. Feb. 3, 1831; d. Jan. 6, 1834. 
Adeliza J., b. Apr. 4, 1835; d. Nov. 13, 1860. She m. 
James H. Neal. He was b. in Tuftonboro, Jan. 29, 1835. 
William R., b. July 4, 1728; d. Apr. 6, 1752. 

Richard Tarlton, Whose Daughter, Mary, Married Joshua 

Neal 

Richard Tarlton, born August 12, 1728; married September 2, 
1752. Mary (His Comfort), born Dec. 20, 1727. Their children: 

Mary, b. June 2, 1753; d. Apr. 13, 1755. 
Mary-, b. Aug. 12, 1756; d. 1825; m. Joshua Neal. 
Elizabeth, b. June 9, 1758; m. Aug. 11, 1758. 
John, b. Oct. 2, 1762; m. Jan. 11, 1763. 
Hannah, b. May 20, 1764. 
Ruth, b. June 2, 1769. 

Hannah Rogers, Who Married Isaac N. Copp 

William Rogers, born February 8, 1756, died in 1810; married 
in 1780 Mary Chamberline, born May 5, 1760; she died Septem- 
ber 10, 1795. Their children: 

John, b. Apr. 22, 1781; d. Feb. 1, 1807. 

Eleanor, b. Mar. 2, 1783; d. Sept. 6, 1819. 

William C, b. Jan. 13, 1785; d. Nov. 16, 1852. 

Nathaniel, b. Dec. 12, 1786; d. Nov. 19, 1848. 

David, b. Mar. 9, 1789; d. Aug. 16, 1823. 

Mary, b. Jan. 10, 1792; d. June 4, 1845. 

Mary Conner, b. July 7, 1796; d. Apr. 18, 1844; m. Nov. 10, 

1767. 
James, b. Jan. 2, 1798; d. Dec. 30, 1878. 
Samuel C, b. Aug. 24, 1799; d. Apr. 26, 1861. 
Nancy, b. June 20, 1802; d. Dec, I860. 
Susan, b. June 20, 1804. 



GENEALOGIES 365 

Hawaii, b. Apr. 23, 1806; d. Nov. 12, 1884; m. Isaac N. 

Copp. 
Jane, b. Oct. 30, 1808; d. Sept. 17, 1810. 
Phoebe C, b. Sept. 3, 1810; d. Mar. 6, 1855. 

William H. Copp and wife, Elizabeth Blake of Tuftonboro. 
Their children: 

Belinda, b. Oct. 12, 1796; d. Oct. 4, 1854; m. James Canney. 
LvniA.b. Dec. 16, 1798;d. Mar. 2, 1881 ; m. Jonathan Burley. 
Isaac N., b. Dec. 31, 1800; d. May 14, 1887; m. Nov. 15, 

1827, in Tuftonboro, Hannah Rogers, dau. of William 

Rogers and wife, Mary Chamberline. 
JOHN L., b. Mar. 14, 1804; d. Nov. 14, 1804. 
Elizabeth A., b. Oct. 11, 1805; d. Mar. 26, 1872; m. John 

Eox, 1827. 
William, b. Apr. 22, 1807; d. Sept. 24, 1857; m. Hannah 

Morrill, Nov., 1831, in Tuftonboro. 
Dearborn, b. Mar. 10, 1811; d. Mar. 4, 1896; m. Elizabeth 

Burlev. 
Martha A., b. Apr. 6, 1814; d. July 7, 1871. 
Arvilla, b. June 20, 1816; d. Aug. 25, 1854; m. George W. 

Piper, 1835. 
Langdon, b. Sept. 27, 1817; d. May 23, 1848; m. Sarah A. 

Burley. 



NEALLEY 

William Nealley was the ancestor of the family who settled in 
Nottingham about 1725. He was one of the Scotch-Irish 
Presbyterians, or Puritans, who landed in Boston, and one of the 
first settlers in Londonderry. He had four sons and one daughter : 
William J. Mathew and John. 

Mathew was born in Nottingham. He proved a smart man 
and became a large land holder. He had sons, Joseph and 

Andrew Nealley died in 1865 at Meredith from a fractured 
spine, after a fall. He was a Revolutionary soldier; enlisted from 
Nottingham; was in Capt. Henry Dearbon's Company at Bunker 
Hill. He married Mary B. Chapman. They had a son, John, 
1819-1884; born in North wood; died in Meredith on the farm 
owned by him and his father, Andrew Nealley. They settled in 
Meredith on the Old Province Road, beyond the Batchelder and 
Pease farms. 

Deacon Andrew Nealley, 1790-1865 (date of birth wrong, if a 



366 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Revolutionary soldier). Their daughter, Mary, married Calvin 
Wadleigh. Jane died young. 

John Nealley, 1819-1884, married Elizabeth Kelley, born on 
Kelley Hill in New Hampton, 1823-1888. Christopher lived 
single. 

Mrs. Elizabeth (Kelley) Nealley had a brother, William C. 
Kelley, who married Hattie King of Franklin. The mother died 
and Deacon Andrew Nealley and wife took the babe and brought 
her up (Fannie Kelley, born 1864) and educated her. She 
married Marvin Brown. She died in 1931. 

The Nealley farm was sold, and 100 acres went with the house. 
The place was sold to Miss Arnold and called "Clover Ridge 
Farm." It is to be the future regional estate of the New England 
Girl Scouts for a summer camp on the "Old Province Road." 

NICHOLS 

Robert Nichols and wife were killed by the Indians in 1675 in 
Saco, Maine. He was a soldier in King Phillip's War. 

In Elizabeth Lok's will (widow of Henry Lok, 1551) she men- 
tions Elizabeth and Robert Nichols as descendants. 

In the History of Candia it mentions William ' and Mary 
Nichols of Topsfield, Mass. 

John - and Lydia of Topsfield had a son, Thomas 3 , baptized 
1669/70, who married in Salem, Mass., in 1694, Joanna Towne. 
Their son, Isaac 4 , baptized in Salem in 1701, married in 1727/8, 
Sarah Wilkins. They settled in Sutton, Mass. Their son, 
William 5 , born in 1739, married in 1760, Kezia Fitts. Their son, 
Robert 6 , born at Oxford, Mass., August 2, 1773, married in 
Royalton, Mass., 1796, Esther, daughter of Capt. Gad Pierce and 
wife, Mary Foster. Their son, Gad Pierce, born in 1799, married 
Hannah Chapman in Meredith, near Camp Anawan, near Cass 
Hill. 

Robert More Nichols died April 2, 1879; he married Huldah 
Jane Fogg. They are buried in Meredith Village Cemetery at 
Meredith. Their children: 

Sarah Jane, b. 1842, m. Dr. John P. Elkins, b. in New 
Durham. He was a physician in Elkins (the town named 
for him). He d. in 1895. They adopted a girl whose birth 
name was Bertha Mastin, adopted as Elkins. She has a 
brother, Frank Mastin of Hill, N. H. 



GENEALOGIES 367 

George Franklin, 1S44 1862. 

James Edwin, 1845 1914; m. Elizabeth Greege of New York 
City. 

James Edwin Nichols was one of the founders and for thirty 
years the head of what was said to be the largest grocery house in 
the United States. The firm name was Austin, Nichols & Co. 
He gave the town of Center Harbor a beautiful library building, 
in memory of his father and mother. 

Robert M. Nichols and wife, Huldah Jane Fogg Nichols, were 
respected citizens. He had a strong personality and his counsel 
was valued high as a merchant, banker and citizen. His life and 
character were an inspiration to his fellowmen. He died in 
Austria, leaving a wife and one sister, Mrs. Sarah Jane (Nichols) 
Elkins. She died in Laconia at her home there, and was laid to 
rest at Elkins with her husband. When Mr. Nichols was a 
young man he worked in the Folsom & Smith store in Laconia 
for a time. 

Robert More Nichols, 1807-1873, married Huldah Jane Fogg. 
They are buried in Meredith Milage Cemetery. Their children: 

Sarah Jane, b. 1842. 

George F., 1844-1862. 

James Edwin, 1845-1914; m. Elizabeth Gregge of New 
York City. He gave the town of Center Harbor a library, 
in memory of his parents. He was president of the New 
York City Savings Bank. A man held in high respect. 
He died in Austria at the commencement of the \Yorld 
War, leaving a wife and one sister, Mrs. Sarah P. Elkins, 
born in 1842, who married Dr. John P. Elkins, born in 
New Durham. He practiced medicine in the town that 
was named for him. He died in 1895. They had an 
adopted daughter, Bertha Mastin Nichols, who had a 
brother, Frank Mastin, who lives in Hill, N. H. 



NORRIS 

From the Norris Family in America, 1640-1892 

Nicholas 1 Norris was the ancestor of the family in New 
England, born about 1640. He was a tailor by trade and a 
planter; early lived in Hampton. History states he was one of 
the English settlers in Ireland, where he was born. He came to 



368 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

America when 14 years old. He married Sarah Coxe in Novem- 
ber, .1663. This is the first record of him in Hampton. 

In 1666 he was in Exeter. In 1696 he took the oath of alle- 
giance and in 1696 was a soldier in a garrison. His home, in 
Exeter, was near Meeting House Hill, where he lived 57 years. 
History states that his descendants have become like the sands of 
the seashore. 

His fourth child and second son, Moses 2 , was born in Exeter, 
August 14, 1670. He received sixteen acres of land, in 1698, on 
the road to Hampton Farms, from his father-in-law, Samuel 
Folsom of Exeter, whose daughter, Ruth, he married in 1692. 
Her mother's name was Mary (Robey) Folsom. She was a 
granddaughter of John Folsom, the immigrant, who came on the 
ship "Diligence" in 1638 to Ipswich. 

Their seventh son, James 3 , born in Exeter, settled near West 
Epping. He was a soldier in Capt. Daniel Ladd's Company, 
and scouted for Indians six days near Lake Winnipesaukee. He 
married, first, Mary; second, Mrs. Alice, widow of Joshua 
Mitchell of Newmarket. He was a prominent man in business. 

His eleventh child, Major Daniel 4 , born in Epping, settled in 
Raymond. He was a deacon in the church. He married Mary, 
daughter of Joshua Lane and grand-daughter of William Lane. 
She was born at Hampton in 1748. 

Their oldest son, Daniel 5 , born 1767, married Lucy Perkins, 
daughter of Deacon Jonathan and wife, Rhoda (Sanborn) 
Perkins of Pittsfield, born in 1774, married in 1794. Daniel 
Norris died in 1852, aged 85 years. His wife, Lucy, died January 
27, 1867, aged 92 years. Children: 

Betsey, d. 1804, aged 6 yrs. 
Rhoda, d. 1817, aged 17 yrs. 
Betsey, d. 1875, aged 63 yrs. 

Daniel Norris built the first frame house in 1794 at Center 
Harbor, on the division line. Steven Norris was in Meredith, 
Joshua and Daniel in Center Harbor. 

Jonathan and wife, Rhoda (Sanborn) Perkins Norris, children: 

Sally (i , b. 1795; m. Samuel Bean; lived in Meredith Village. 

Betsey, 1797-1804. 

Rhoda, 1800-1817. 

Daniel, b. 1804; lived in Meredith. They spelled their 



GENEALOGIES 369 

name Norry until they came to Meredith, then changed it 
to Norris. 

Jonathan Perkins, b. 1807; lived in Center Harbor. 

BETSEY, b. 1812 ; lived in Center Harbor. 

RHODA, b. 1816; m. 1851, Nathaniel Beach; lived in Ver- 
mont. Their son, Daniel N., 1856-1857. 

Their fifth child, Jonathan Perkins Norris, born in 1807, lived 
in Center Harbor. He married December 12, 1837, Katherine, 
1813-1890, daughter of Richard Neal and wife, Betsey Neal, of 
Meredith. Their children: 

Julia A., b. 1843; m. 1862, David M. Whicher. She d. 
1889. Their dau., Ellen A., b. 1863; m. Jan. 1, 1884, 
Frank A. Bartlett. Their son, Perkins Norris, b. 1885. 
Two daughters d. young. 

Lucy, b. 1847. 

Ellen, b. 1855; d. 1858. 

A brother of Daniel, Joshua Norris 5 , born at Raymond in 
1769. He was in New Hampton and one of the signers of a peti- 
tion for incorporation of Center Harbor, June 8, 1797. He 
married Abigail, daughter of Major Josiah Fogg, son of Stephen 
Fogg, pioneer of Meredith; married second, Betsey Gilman. He 
died in Center Harbor, December 3, 1853, aged 85 years. He 
lived on the so-called Webster place. Children: 

Josiah «, 1792-1872; m. Mary Bean in 1823. Their children: 
Dudley, m. and lived on the Brown farm. 
George, m. Martha Mudgett. 
Jane, m. Tuttle. 

Mary, b. 1795. 

Josiah Norris sold his farm to William Brown. 

A brother, Stephen 5 , born in 1781 at Raymond, married in 
1804, Sarah Libbey, born in 1779. He was superintendent of 
the first Sabbath school in the Meredith and Center Harbor 
Church, located first back of the Richard Neal house. Some 
stones remain of the first church yard there. He died in 1815. 
Their daughter, 

Ruth's b. 1807; m. David S. Emery in 1827. He was a 
blacksmith. They lived in Center Harbor. Their chil- 
dren: 

Stephen N., 1828-1831. 
Sarah L., b. 1832; m. Dr. William A. Page. 
Smith F., b. 1836; m. 1864 Susan H. Moulton. Their 
children: Caroline P., John H., Alice and others. 



370 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lydia Norris, a sister to the preceding, of the fifth generation, 
was born in 1823 and married Jonathan Brown. She died 
in 1858 and he died in 1861. They lived in Meredith. 
Their children: 

Sallie, b. 1817; m. 1838 Alphonso C. Emery. They lived 

in Center Harbor. Their son, George, b. 1840. 
Jonathan, b. 1822; m. 1845 Elizabeth Fullerton. Lived in 
Meredith. Their children: 

Mary F., b. 1849; m. Frank Keazer. Their son, 

Henry F., b. 1875. 
Sarah E., b. 1853; m. Charles Miller. Their son, Earle 

W., b. 1885. 
John N. f b. 1855. 
Charles N., b. 1857; m. Carrie Neal. Their son, 

George N., b. 1885. 
George E., b. 1862. 
Jennie H., b. 1864. 

James Shapley Norris (Benjamin B. 5 , Samuel 4 , Nicholas 3 , 
Moses 2 , Nicholas l , born at Portsmouth in 1813, where he lived 
sixteen years; Boston, eleven years; Cuba and West Indies, three 
years, and in Meredith, forty-seven years. He was a cooper 
by trade. He married Maria Tufton in 1835, daughter of 
Samuel and wife, Mary (Spinney) Tetherly of South Eliot, 
Maine. She was born there, and died in Meredith in 1883. 
Their children: 

Mary Elizabeth and Mary Jane, b. 1842 in Dover. 

Mary Jane m. Oscar Perkins, b. in Meredith, 1838; d. 

1881. 
James Henry, b. 1843 in Alton; d. in Meredith, 1849. 
Proctor, b. 1847. 
Emma Isabel, b. 1851; m. 1871 Allen I. Sanborn. Lived at 

Lake Village. Their son, Charles, b. 1874. 
Maria Louisa, b. 1854; m. 1872 James Henry Maguire of 

Lowell, Mass. 
Ada Rogena Brockman, b. 1857; m. Frank Clough. Lived 

in Boston. 

Tablet on a boulder in Meredith Village yard: Proctor T. 
Norris, 1847-1903; Adelaide Norris, 1848-1904. 



GENEALOGIES 371 

Daniel 5 Xorris (Daniel ', James 3 , Moses 2 , Nicholas), was born 
in Raymond, N. H., September 30, 1767. He married Lucy 
Perkins and they lived in Center Harbor. She was a daughter 
of Deacon Jonathan and wife, Rhoda (Sanborn) Perkins of 
Pittsfield. She was born June 17, 1774. They were married 
February 27, 1794. He died October 2, 1852. She died January 
27, 1867. Their children: 

Sally 6 , b. Aug. 17, 1795; m. Samuel Bean of Meredith. 

Betsey, b. Oct. 20, 1797; d. 1804. 

Rhoda, b. May 27, 1800; d. 1817. 

Daniel, b. Mar. 28, 1804; lived in Meredith Village. 

Jonathan Perkins, b. 1807; lived in Center Harbor. 

John Norris, b. Aug. 23, 1809; lived in Lancaster. 

Betsey, b. June 20, 1812; d. 1875. 

Rhoda L., b. Dec. 23, 1816; m. Nathanile Beach in 1851. 

Joshua Norris, brother of Daniel 5 , was born at Raymond, 
February 23, 1769. He was in New Hampton and signed a 
petition for the incorporation of Center Harbor, June 8, 1797. 
He married Abigail, daughter of Josiah Fogg; married, second, 
Betsey Gilman. He died in Center Harbor, December 3, 1853, 
aged 85 years. Children by Abigail Fogg: 

JosiAH 6 , b. July 29, 1792; d. 1872; m. Mary Bean in 1823. 



NOYES 

William Noyes married Mary Graves. Their son, William 
Furnace Graves Noyes, born in 1820, married in 1851 Charlotte 
Boynton, born in 1817 at Meredith. Note — There were freight 
boats that in early days freighted goods from Alton Bay, where the 
freight was brought overland from Portsmouth and other sea- 
ports, distributing to inland towns. William Furnace Graves 
was a prominent man on this line of boats. William Noyes and 
wife named their boy for this grandfather of Mary Graves. 

William Furnace Graves Noyes and wife had a daughter, Susie 
Eliza Noyes, born in 1883. She lived in Laconia, also in Mere- 



372 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

dith. She married Herbert Nathaniel Sanborn, born in 1862. 
Their children: 

Ernest Noyes, b. 1884; m. Carrie Belle Cox of Meredith, 
b. 1882. Their children : 
Ruth Leonette, b. 1910. 
Frank Herbert. 
Charlotte Clara, b. 1888; m. Herbert A. Hopkins from 
New Hampton; d. 1919. Their children: 
Bernice Margaret, b. 1907. 
Daris Olive, b. 1912. 
Orvis Herbert, b. 1919. 
Clarence Herbert, b. in Laconia, 1894; m. 1914, Minnie 
Bullman, b. 1892. Their children: 
Louis Bullman, b. 1917. 
Wilber Clarence, b. 1919. 



ODELL 

Thomas Odell was early in Stratham, N. H. His son Thomas 
settled in Nottingham. Children: 

John, of Durham, N. H. 

Jacob. 

James, of Salem, Mass. 

Noah, of Boston, Mass. 

Joseph Odell, 1772-1825, settled in Sanbornton on a farm and 
worked at shoemaking. He was a deacon of the Bay Second 
Baptist Church. He married Nancy Ford in 1797; she was born 
in 1775, a daughter of William Ford and wife, Elizabeth Hilton. 
William Ford was a lieutenant in the Revolution. He lived on 
Sucker Brook, and was a blacksmith. Later he moved to the 
Oliver Calef farm. He is buried in the Ford-Doe yard, and his 
grave is marked by the D. A. R. marker in Sanbornton (one of 
the neatest kept yards in the section, with a large natural boulder 
in the front). Their children: Jacob, Joseph, William, Ebenezer, 
David of Sanbornton and Ira, who went to Massachusetts. 

William Odell, born in 1804, kept a grocery store. He was a 
deacon of the Free Baptist Church. He married Hannah, 
daughter of Stoten Tuttle of Meredith, who came from Notting- 
ham. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 373 

Nancy, b. in New Hampton; d. young. 

Sarah, m. Uriah Morrison of Lake Village. 
Mary E.. d. in Montreal, Canada. 
Mary Anna, d. in Lakeport. 

Joseph Lowe Odell, born in 1831, taught school for a time in 
1854. He went into the drug business in Lake Village and served 
in several offices in town. In 1854 he married Abbie Swain in 
Gilford, 1834-1895. Their son, Willis Patterson Udell, was born 
in New Hampton in 1831. He was educated in Boston Uni- 
versity, and preached some years. He married Miss Beede of 
Meredith, who has passed on. 

OSGOOD 

Captain Timothy Osgood was one of three brothers who came 
from England in 1634. William, the youngest, settled in Salis- 
bury, Mass. One of the sons, Chase Osgood, married three times; 
he lived in Epping and later in Loudon. He was the father of 
twenty children. 

Timothy Osgood, born at Salisbury, Mass., was in Epping 
before he was five years old. He went to Raymond in 1770; 
married Jane Deaborn of Hampton. He died in 1835. They 
had eleven children. He was 83 years old. His widow died in 
Northwood in 1847, aged 98 years. 

Ebenezer, a brother, was born in Epping. He was in the 
Revolution. He married Mary Eogg and they settled in Epping 
in 1782. He married, second, Anna Fullonton. In 1803 he 
moved to Loudon. 

John Osgood married Susanna Prescott, daughter of Stephen 
Prescott. They moved to Loudon in 1795, later moved to 
Gilmanton, where his wife died in 1834. He died in 1848, aged 
86 years. They had seven children. One of his sons, Stephen, 
lived on his farm. 

Reuben Osgood of Epping had sons, Samuel, Joseph and Reu- 
ben. They settled in Gilmanton. 

Samuel Osgood had Samuel, Reuben, Polly, John, Betsey, 
David, Elisha, Sally, Susan, Benjamin and Moses. 

Joseph Osgood had True, Jonathan, Rachel, Molly, Daniel, 
Joseph and Anna. 

Reuben Osgood, by his first wife, had Nancy, Polly, Betsey and 



374 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Dudley; by his second wife, Hannah Morrill, whom he married 
May 27, 1792, they had Isaac, Oliver, Ruth, Reuben, Fanny and 
Sarah. 

Daniel Osgood married Betsey Osgood. They had Malinda, 
Greenleaf, William, John Hazen, Nancy, Lucinda, Joseph, Julia 
Ann and Asa. 

Dudley Osgood had Abiah (who married Lewis W. Gilman), 
Perley, Mary and Jacob. 

Capt. John Osgood, aged 26 years, of Gilford, married March 
10, 1903, Leah Prescott, aged 20 years. 

Dudley Prescott Osgood died in Gilford in 1873, aged 67 years. 
He married Eliza Jane Rundlett. She died in 1857, aged 55 
years. 

Charles Osgood married Mary Elizabeth Hanson of Laconia. 
He died in Potosi, Miss., in 1901. Their children: 

Fred Hanson, b. Sept. 24, 1861. 

Ray Susan, b. May 23, 1866; m. - - Penfold. 

Georgia Serena, b. Apr. 17, 1868; lives in Laconia. 

HANSON 

John Hanson of Berwick, Maine, was a Quaker in 1710. One 
day while he and his oldest daughter were at church the Indians 
were watching to catch the children. The two oldest boys were 
in the field and the wife at home with four small children. The 
Indians went in, killed the children and took the mother and a 
babe, fourteen days old, also the nurse, one son and two young 
girls. They sacked the contents of the house, got what they 
wanted and took the party to Canada, where they sold them to 
the French. 

When the mother's milk gave out, from exhaustion and fright, 
she warmed water in her mouth for the babe, until the Squaws 
taught her to beat walnut meats and boil them with husked 
corn for nourishment for the baby. 

John Hanson went to Canada the next spring and redeemed 
his wife and all the children, except the oldest girl. He saw her 
and talked to her, but they would not let her go with her father, 
even for money. She married a Frenchman, but never returned. 
Mr. Hanson made another unsuccessful trip to Canada and died 
at Crown Point, in 1725, on his way back. 



GENEALOGIES 375 

This ended the fray between the French and Indians, as a 
treaty was signed in 1726 at Dover, N. H. 

Some of the Hanson family were in Dover, down through the 
generations to John Hanson, who married Susanna Prescott, 
daughter of Stephen Prescott. They removed to Loudon in 
1795, later settled in L T pper Gilmanton (Belmont), where his 
wife died in 1834. He died in 1848, aged 86 years. They had 
seven children. 

Among some of the descendants of John Hanson and wife, 
Sarah Tuttle of Dover, were James M. Hanson, who married 
Abra T. Randlett, who came from Ossipee or Tamworth. Their 
gravestones, in Meredith Bridge yard, give their dates. They 
were the parents of Mary Elizabeth, who married Charles Osgood 
in Laconia. 

Many are sleeping in their windowless places of rest, in the 
shadows of Belknap hills, where for many years they saw the sun 
rise and set in early life. 

RANDLETT 

From Miss Osgood's Records 

Grandfather Noah Randlett married Rachel Osgood. Their 
children: 

Trew O., m. Abigail Dow, Feb. 10, 1814, in Epping. 

Joseph had three children. 

Charles had five children. 

Noah. 

Henry W. 

Ann Randlett, m. Somes. They had five children. 

Eliza G., m. Osgood; five children. She was grand- 
mother to Miss Georgia Osgood of Laconia. 

Rachel, m. Edwards. 

Mary, m. Wymann. 

Allie, m. Bean. 

Abegail. 

Prescott P. Randlett married April 14, 1859, Lydia J. Simpson, 
daughter of Alexander Simpson and wife, Mary Anna Smith, 
daughter of Elisha Smith and wife, Abigail Robinson of Meredith. 
They lived in Belmont. Another sister, Abby R. Smith, married 
Calvin West Shephard of East Tilton. 



376 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Thomas Ford of Nottingham in 1748, one of the Masonian 
proprietors of Meredith, married Amanda Randlett of Sanborn- 
ville, near Ossipee, she an aunt to Mary Elizabeth Hanson, an 
only child. 

Thomas Ford, in 1754, drew lot No. 5 in First Division, Range 
No. 7, a point lot, also No. 75 in the Second Division and No. 75 
in the Third Division. 



PEARSON 

History of the Pearson Family in America 
Published in 1904 

Tradition says that early in the seventeenth century three 
brothers by name of Pearson sailed from England to America. 
One settled in what is now the state of New York; the other two 
came to Massachusetts. 

Now the history becomes authentic. Unto one of the brothers 
last mentioned was born, on the 26th day of April, 1758, a son 
who was named Edmund. While yet young, he heard and heeded 
the call to fight for the independence of his country, and by his 
resolute courage and brave acts the rank of major was conferred 
upon him. At the age of 21 years he married one Dorothy 
Swasey, a maiden of 19 years. They settled in Exeter, N. H., 
and the house they lived in remains in a good state of preservation 
unto this day. Unto them were born ten children, five sons and 
five daughters. 

Dorothy, the eldest, and of the same name as her mother, 
married a Rundlett and settled in East Kingston. James 

married — ; his wife died leaving a daughter, after 

which he went to sea and died there at the age of 38 years. 

William married a Miss Osborne and lived in the state of Maine. 
Fanny married Samuel Dodge and lived in Exeter. Edmund 
married Hannah Philbrick, and after his father's death, in 1842, 
removed to Bloomfield, Maine. Mary married John F. Moses 
and lived on the old homestead in Exeter. Henrietta, the first, 
died at the age of two years; Henry M. married Mary Ladd of 
Gilmanton, now Belmont; Nathaniel married Caroline Gerrish 
and located in Exeter; Henrietta, the tenth and youngest of the 
flock, never married. She made Exeter her home, although she 



GENEALOGIES 377 

traveled quite extensively. She died March 27, 1881, the last 
of her father's family. 

Seven of the ten children reared families, if my memory serves 
me right, though those of James and Nathaniel have become 
extinct. Our own branch of the family tree was perhaps the 
largest and has been the best preserved. 

The descendants of the "Pearson brothers" are scattered far 
and wide, yet one is sure to find traces of them near the home of 
their birth. 

Since the War of 1776 there has not been wanting a representa- 
tive to fill the ranks in our country's service, and one of our num- 
ber, Samuel D. Pearson, of precious memory, yielded his life in 
the defence. Henry Morrill Pearson was born December 23, 
1795. At the age of 17 years he responded to the call of duty and 
enlisted in the War of 1812, and, although not called into active 
service, by this act signified a desire to serve his country, if 
needed. At the age of 27 years he married Mary Ladd, daughter 
of John and Mehitable (Gale) Ladd of Gilmanton. She was the 
seventh of a family of ten children, equally divided as to sex: 
John, Stephen, Goold, Dudley, Daniel, Abigail, Susan, Eliza, 
Mary and Eunice. All lived to manhood and womanhood; eight 
reared children. Three families are extinct. All of them were 
of sterling worth and ability. 

Our mother, Mary L., was married at the age of 17 years. She 
was a God-fearing woman, a faithful wife and mother. Our 
parents were united in their efforts to sustain religious meetings, 
and their doors were ever open to ministers of the gospel and for 
social worship. They gave largely, according to their means, for 
religious and educational work and were always interested in 
every enterprise that promised to benefit the community in which 
they lived, or the world at large. We believe the world is better 
for their having lived in it. May this prove true also of their 
descendants, who rise up to call them blessed. 

Unto them were born fifteen children, nine of whom were 
married; eight reared families. That of John, the eldest, has 
become extinct. He married Elizabeth Crockett. Their only 
child, Clarence H., a lawyer by profession, died in 1899, leaving 
no issue. Dorothy died at 16 years. Caroline G. never married. 
She is located in Danville, N. H. Hattie L. died at 24 years. 
Fanny married an Emerson and resides in Peabody, Mass. 



378 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Mary married Monroe H. Philbrook and is located in Belmont, 
N. H. William died at 8 years of age. Edmund married Susan 
Griffin, and resides in North Hampton. Jennie married Charles 
G. Corliss, who served three years in the Civil War. They live 
in Belmont, N. H. Samuel D. was a soldier in the Ninth New 
Hampshire. He served two years and four months; was then 
taken prisoner by the rebels and died of starvation in Salisbury, 
N. C, prison, November 9, 1864, 20 years of age. Hannah 
married Edmund R. Blake, a war veteran, who served in the 
First Rhode Island Cavalry three years and ten months. They 
are located in Danville, N. H. William became a soldier at 16 
years of age. He was in active service one year and two months. 
He married Jennie Cutler and resides at Laconia. Fred S., a 
minister of the gospel, married Sylvia Newbegin and lives in the 
state of Washington. Henrietta, a twin sister of Fred, married 
John A. Page. They are located in the Dorchester district, 
Boston, Mass. Oscar, the youngest of the family, died at the 
age of 20 months. 

There are nine of the children living, twenty-five grandchildren, 
fourteen great-grandchildren. Thirty-six of this number met on 
the shore of the beautiful Winnipesaukee River, near the old 
home, and held a reunion June 18, 1901. 

We recognize the hand of divine Providence in thus watching 
over and caring for those left orphans at an early age, when it 
seemed they needed a mother's love and a father's protecting 
care. We believe He has fulfilled His promise, " I will be a father 
to the fatherless," to us, and we will render thanks to Him Who 
has permitted so many of us to meet again so near the home of 
our birth. Let us kindly remember the absent ones who would 
gladly meet with us if they could, and let us not forget the larger 
gathering in the beyond where we shall meet and greet those from 
whom we have long been separated in the "Home Land" above, 
where sorrow is unknown. Let each one seek to have his name 
placed upon the roll up yonder, that when it is called we may 
enter in and dwell in those mansions God has prepared for those 
that love Him. 



GENEALOGIES 379 

THE MEREDITH PEASES 
By Miss Madge Pease, Ashland, N. H. 

The Meredith branch of the Pease family trace their ancestry 
to John Pease who came from England to Salem, Mass., in the 
year 1634. He later settled at Marthas Vineyard, where, from 
1646 till his death, his name stands associated with the island. 

In his last will and testament, dated March 4, 1674, John 
Pease mentions the names of ten children. One of these is 
Samuel, who has no history on the island later than the date of 
his father's will. It is probable he left the island when a young 
man. 

Papers on file in the office of the registry of deeds at Exeter, 
N. H., give the name of Samuel Pease in a list of sixteen persons 
who were summoned on a jury at Portsmouth, N. H., January 16, 
1694. The records also state that Samuel Pease received a grant 
of 50 acres of land from the town of Exeter in 1698. 

Nathaniel Pease of Exeter was born in 1691. He married 
Phebe, daughter of John and Sarah (Philbrook) Sanborn in 1725, 
and settled in the part of Exeter later called Newmarket. He 
was a carpenter and purchaser of land, according to the county 
records. He died in Newmarket, October 20, 1748. 

Their thirteen children are as follows: 

Sarah, b. July 10, 1726. 

Samuel, b. Dec. 14, 1727; settled in Parsonsfield, Maine. 

(Note. — It was customary in early days to give the eldest son 
and the eldest daughter the names of the paternal grandfather 
and the maternal grandmother. It will be noticed that Nathaniel 
Pease named his first child, a daughter, Sarah for her maternal 
grandmother, Sarah (Philbrook) Sanborn. The second child, a 
son, was named Samuel. This leads to the belief that Nathaniel 
Pease was the son of Samuel Pease of Exeter.) 

Ann, b. Nov. 17, 1729. 
Abigail, b. Jan., 1732. 
Bathsheba, b. Mar. 16, 1734. 
Phebe, b. Dec. 21, 1735. 
Nathaniel, b. Feb. 21, 1737; lived in Exeter. 
John, b. July 10, 1739; settled in Epping. 
Zebulon, b. July 21, 1741; is said to have d. in the Conti- 
nental Army at Cambridge. 



380 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Benjamin, b. Aug. 2, 1743; settled in Meredith. 

Eleanor, b. June 2, 1745. 

Simeon, b. Mar. 24, 1747; lived in Poplin, N. H., in 1769 and 

at Sanbornton in 1772. 
Eliphalet, b. May 13, 1747; went to Cornish, Me. 

Mark Pease of Cornish, Maine, son of Eliphalet and grandson 
of Nathaniel Pease of Exeter, said in 1869, when the Pease gene- 
alogy was being compiled, that his Great-grandfather Pease 
came from Martha's Vineyard. This leads very strongly to the 
belief that Samuel Pease of Exeter was John Pease's son, Samuel 
of Martha's Vineyard, and that Samuel Pease was the father of 
Nathaniel of Exeter. Mark Pease also stated that his Great- 
grandfather Pease was killed by Indians while working in his 
cornfield in Exeter. History shows that the Indians were very 
hostile to the inhabitants of Exeter from 1690-1710. 

Benjamin Pease, son of Nathaniel Pease of Exeter, was the 
first of the Peases to settle in Meredith. The exact date of his 
coming is unknown, but it was between 1777 and 1797, as the 
following will show: 

On March 27, 1777, a call was issued for all legal voters in 
Meredith to assemble, and a list of their names was entered on 
the town records. The name "Pease" does not appear in this 
list of 47 voters. 

But in April, 1797, in a petition of the Baptist Society to the 
legislature for incorporation, the names of Benjamin Pease and 
his sons, James and Joseph, appear. 

As five of Benjamin Pease's eleven children were born previous 
to the year 1777, it is evident that he had a family when he came 
from Newmarket to Meredith. He was born at Newmarket 
August 2, 1743. There he married his first wife, Annie Sanborn, 
to whom were born three children : 

James, b. Oct. 15, 1764, at Newmarket. 
Joseph, b. Oct. 25, 1766; d. 1770 at Newmarket. 
Dolly, b. May 2, 1770; m. Nathaniel Sinclair and went to 
Vermont. 

Annie Sanborn, first wife of Benjamin Pease, died before he 
settled in Meredith. On April 28, 1773, he married Rebecca 
Pike of Exeter, who was born January 29, 1752. It was her 
ancestor, Justice Pike of Exeter, who stopped the whipping of 



GENEALOGIES 381 

Quaker women in Exeter in 1662. Justice Pike, flintlock in hand, 
said: "Strike another blow and I will blow your head off." 

The children of Benjamin and Rebecca (Pike) Pease were as 
follows: 

JOSEPH, b. Mar. 10, 1774. at Newmarket; d. May 4, 1862. 
BENJAMIN, b. Dec. 17, 1775, at Newmarket; d. Apr. 3, 1831. 
Simeon, b. June 11, 1778; d. July 30, 1843. 
Nancy, b. Oct. 20, 1779; m. Benjamin Sinclair of New 

Hampton. 
Robert, b. Dec. 24, 1782; m. Polly, dau. of Joseph and 

Elizabeth (Marston) Smith of New Hampton; d. Apr. 

15, 1813. Robert and his wife, Polly, are buried on the 

Robert Smith farm, also her second husband, John 

Boynton. 
Rebekah, b. Nov. 28, 1786; m. Rev. Thomas Perkins of 

New Hampton, a prominent Freewill Baptist minister. 
Nathaniel, b. Apr. 9, 1789; went to Brighton, Mass.; m. 

Mary Perkins of Maiden, Mass.; went to Quincy, 111., 

where he d. July 24, 1836. 
Polly, b. Jan. 6, 1791; m. Thomas Woodman of New 

Hampton. 

Benjamin Pease and his wife, Rebecca Pike Pease, are buried 
in the Pease lot on Oak Hill, which was near their home. They 
settled on the farm formerly known as the Moses Pease place. 
The writer has heard her grandfather (Robert Pease) tell how he 
and his brother, Simeon, used to take a hand sled and sometimes 
a yoke of steers attached to a sled, and go up to the Moses Pease 
place and get their grandmother (Rebecca Pike Pease) and bring 
her down to the home of their father, Joseph Pease, who lived 
in the old house near the residence now occupied by Loring S. 
Pease. 

Benjamin Pease's sons, Joseph Benjamin' 2 and Simeon, settled 
near each other along what is known as the Pease Road. 

Joseph (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) lived on the farm later occu- 
pied by his son, Simeon, and now owned and occupied by his 
grandson, Loring S. Pease. 

Benjamin' 2 (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) lived on the farm later occu- 
pied by his only son, Noah, and now owned by Will Roberts. 

Simeon (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) lived on the farm settled by 
his father and later occupied by his son, Moses, and now owned 
by Nathaniel Piper. 

Joseph (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) was born in Newmarket, March 



382 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

10, 1774. On April 11, 1796, he married Hannah, daughter of 
Benjamin and Agnes Folsom of Holderness. He died May 4, 
1862. Children as follows: 

Benjamin, b. Sept. 25, 1797. 

Lucinda, b. June 15, 1799; m. Joshua Wiggin; d. Nov. 5, 

1827. Children: Charles and Ben. 
John Shepard, b. March 6, 1801. After living in Boston 

some years, he settled in Meredith. He m. Eliza Dow, 

Mar. 21, 1848. They had one dau., Ella, b. 1854. 
Betsey, b. Oct. 29, 1802; m. Levi Woodman of Manchester; 

d. Feb. 20, 1878. 
Rebecca, b. May 11, 1805; d. Apr. 11, 1864. 
William P., b. Sept. 18, 1806; lived in Connecticut 30 years; 

unmarried; d. in Meredith. 
Joseph Freeman, b. Oct. 6, 1808; m. and lived in Candia; 

d. in Manchester 
Nathaniel, b. Nov. 5, 1810; d. July 17, 1825. 
Simeon Dana, b. July 7, 1812; d. Jan. 21, 1885. 
Robert Folsom, b. June 18, 1814; m. Lorinda A. Piper of 

Holderness; d. in Ashland, Nov. 7, 1900. 
Hannah, b. June 29, 1817; m. Dudley Bartlett of Meredith. 

One son, George, is now living in Haverhill, Mass. 

Benjamin 2 (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) was born in Newmarket, 
December, 17, 1775; married Polly Cram. Their only child, 
Noah, was born April 20, 1811. 

Simeon (Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) was born January 11, 1778; 
married February 16, 1802, Mehitable Wedgewood, who was 
born November 5, 1777. She died September 13, 1840. Simeon 
died July 30, 1843. They are buried in the Pease lot on Oak Hill. 
Children: 

John W., b. July 14, 1804; m. Sophronia Cram, Nov. 24, 

1831 ; d. Apr. 2, 1836. One child, Mary. 
Sally, b. Nov. 5, 1806; m. Benjamin Ward; d. Apr. 22, 1871. 

Children: Noah, Simeon, George, John and Mary. 
Mary Ann, b. June 1, 1809; d. Feb. 15, 1810. 
Nancy B., b. June 10, 1814; m. Samuel Ward. Children: 

Benjamin, Frank, Nellie and Carrie. 
Moses Cheney, b. Aug. 30, 1817; d. Nov. 22, 1894. 

Simeon Pease, father of the above named children, was the 
first clerk of the Oak Hill Church. He was also deacon, as 
recorded on his tombstone. He and the minister, Rev. Moses 
Cheney, must have been on the best of terms. They were about 



GENEALOGIES 383 

the same age. The minister's son, Nathan Smith Cheney, lived 
with Simeon Pease from the age of 12 to 21. It will be seen from 
the above list of children that Simeon Pease named his youngest 
son Moses Cheney Pease for the minister. The minister re- 
turned the compliment by naming his next son Simeon Pease 
Cheney. 

The hospitality of the people of Meredith was no exception to 
that of early days. The writer has heard her grandfather say 
that the number of people invited to the house of his father, 
Joseph Pease, for dinner during a session of the Quarterly Meeting 
at Oak Hill Church was so large that an entire sheep would be 
consumed during the meal. 

Coming down a generation later we find Noah, Simeon and 
Moses Pease, three cousins, living along the Pease Road on the 
farms of their fathers, Benjamin 2 , Joseph and Deacon Simeon, 
who were brothers. These three cousins were nearly the same 
age. 

Noah (Benjamin 2 , Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) was the only son of 
Benjamin 2 and Mary (Cram) Pease. He was born April 20, 1811 ; 
m. Betsey M. Prescott, January 1, 1833; d. in Meredith, April 
29, 1864. Children as follows, nearly all of whom went to 
Chicago: 

Benjamin L., b. Nov. 4, 1834; d. in Chicago. 

Mary Elizabeth, m. Andrew Rollins of Rollinsford. 

Sarah Frances, m. Joseph Lawrence of Lee. 

Charles Henry, b. Feb. 12, 1842. 

George D., b. July 11, 1843; d. in Chicago. 

Edwin Brooks, b. July 21, 1847; d. in Chicago. 

Emma J., b. Dec. 12, 1850. 

Ella, b. May 16, 1854; m. in Chicago. 

Harriet, b. Jan. 31, 1857; d. young. 

Edith, b. Oct. 21, 1863; lives in Chicago. 

Simeon Dana (Joseph, Benjamin 1 , Nathaniel 1 ) was born July 
7, 1812; married Betsey, daughter of Nathaniel and Patience 
(Page) Batchelder. He worked in Boston when a young man, 
and returned to Meredith. Near the home of his father he built 
a new house for his bride. Everything was ready for housekeep- 
ing. A fire was built to heat the brick oven. That night the 
house burned to the ground. Not discouraged, he immediately 
built another on the same site. Here he lived the rest of his 



384 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

days, being interested in all phases of the life of the community 
and town. He and his family were members of the Oak Hill 
Church. He served in the legislature. His children were as 
follows : 

Azelia Jane, b. Apr. 1, 1845; m. Edwin Cox. Resides in 
Meredith Village. 

Laura E., b. Feb. 10, 1847; unm. Resides in Meredith 
Village. 

Mary, b. Nov. 10, 1849; m. Howard Prescott; d. in young 
womanhood. 

Hannah Abbie, b. Feb. 22, 1854; m. Frank Cummings of 
Holderness; d. in Holderness. 

Frank B., b. Dec. 23, 1855; m. Clara Hoyt; was a store- 
keeper in Meredith Village; d. there. 

Loring S., b. Aug. 26, 1859; m. first, Mary Ellen Hanson; 
second, Mrs. Mary Allen. Resides on farm of his father. 

Moses Cheney (Deacon Simeon, Benjamin 2 , Nathaniel 1 ) was 
born August 31, 1817; married first, Betsey Ramsey, February 
21, 1844, who died September 15, 1853. To them were born 
four children, as follows: 

Augusta Emeline, b. Nov. 15, 1844; m. first, James Coffin; 

second, Dr. Phineas H. Wheeler; d. Feb. 1, 1904. 
Martha Elizabeth, b. Apr. 12, 1846; resides in Laconia. 
Ellen Wheeler, b. Dec. 15, 1848; m. John Frank Leighton; 

d. May 11, 1897. 
Leonette, b. Aug. 16, 1853; m. Frank P. Cox; d. Jan. 23, 

1919. 

Moses Cheney Pease married, second, Almira A. Cram, Aug. 
23, 1854, who died July 29, 1904. To them were born five chil- 
dren: 

Eddie Wendall, b. Feb. 11, 1856; d. Aug. 15, 1857. 

Carrie Evelyn, b. June 10, 1859; d. 1927. 

Luella Belle, b. Feb. 14, 1861; d. 1927. 

John Wheeler, b. July 8, 1863; m. Anna M. Gould; d. 

June 25, 1919. 
Charles Rogers, b. July 8, 1863; m. Adelle Dearborn; 

resides in Laconia. 

It has been said: "You will never find elsewhere the ready 
hospitality and humor that is in a New Hampshire kitchen in 
winter — the little intimate associations, the wood box piled with 
birch, the good wife over the sink, the mince pies, the chairs 



GENEALOGIES 385 

tilted back against the wall, the farmhands stamping snow from 
their boots by the stove." The homes of these three farmers — 
Noah, Simeon and Moses — with more than twenty young people 
must have been happy indeed. 

PEASE 

Nathaniel Pease, born in 1691 ; married Phebe Sanborn; died at 
New Market in 1748. 

Mark Pease, grandson, stated that his great-grandfather came 
from Martha's Vineyard, and was killed by Indians in Exeter. 
His father, Nathaniel, lived in Exeter, A Samuel also lived there. 

John Pease, Sr., in his will mentions a son Samuel. 

Robert l Pease, progenitor of the Pease family, supposed to 
have been the son of Robert and Margaret Pease of Great Bad- 
dow, Essex County, England, came to Ipswich in the ship 
"Francis" to Boston, April 1634, settled at Salem, Mass., and 
died in 1644, aged 37 years. 

John - Pease, Sr, married Mary Goodell, daughter of Robert 
Goodell of Salem; married, second, Anne Cummings, daughter of 
Isaac Cummings of Topsfield, Mass.; moved to Enfield, Conn.; 
died July 8, 1689. Their children: John, Robert, Mary, Abra- 
ham, Jonathan and probably Samuel 3 ; by second wife: James, 
Isaac and Abigail. 

Nathaniel 4 Pease, born in 1691, supposed son of Samuel Pease, 
last of Exeter, and supposed grandson of John, Sr., of Salem and 
Enfield, supposed to have moved to Marthas Vineyard, married 
Phebe, daughter of John and Sarah (Philbrook) Sanborn, in 1725. 
He was a carpenter and purchaser of land in Exeter, and died 
there October 20, 1748. Children: Sarah, Samuel, Anne, Abigail, 
Bathsheba, Thebe, Nathaniel, John, Zebulon, Benjamin 5 (born 
August 2, 1743), Elinor, Simeon and Eliphalet. 

Benjamin 5 Pease married Anna Sanborn; married second, Re- 
becca Pike, April 25, 1795; settled in Meredith. Children: James, 
Joseph and Dollie; by second wife: Joseph, Benjamin, Simeon 6 
(born June 11, 1778), Nancy, Robert, Rebecca, Nathaniel and 
Mary. 

Simeon 6 Pease married Mehitable Wedgewood, February 16, 
1802; settled in Meredith, a farmer. Children: John, Sally, 
Mary A. (married Benjamin Ward), Nancy B. (married Samuel 



386 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ward and lived in New Hampton, in 1844) and Moses 7 C. (born 
August 10, 1817). 

Moses 7 Cram Pease married Betsey (Elizabeth) Ramsey, 
February 21, 1844; married, second, Almira A. Cram, August 25, 
1854; resided in Meredith. Children: Augustus E., Martha E., 
Ellen W., Leonette; by second wife: Eddie W., Carrie, Luella 
Belle, John and W. and Charles s R. 

Charles 8 R. Pease married Adelle Dearborn. Children: 
Arthur D. (born January 13, 1889), Alice M. (born October 19, 
1891), Frances K. and Arthur D. Pease (married Ella Madeline 
Andy, June 13, 1916). 

Simeon Pease, Meredith, 1778-1843, married Mehitable Wedge- 
wood, 1777-1840. Their children: 

John W., 1804-1836. 
Sally, b. 1806. 
Mary Ann, 1809-1810. 
Nancy B., b. 1814. 
Moses C, b. 1817. 

Sally Pease, born in 1806, married Benjamin Ward in 1834. 
He died in 1857, aged 50 years. She died in 1871, aged 64 years. 

Noah Ward married in 1865, Sarah F. Woodman, daughter of 
Noah Woodman and wife, Relief Rogers W'oodman, New Hamp- 
ton. 

John F. Ward, son of Benjamin Ward, married in 1870, Julia E. 
Melvin, who died in 1913. 

George Ward, son of Benjamin, married Alice Parker in 1869. 

Benjamin Ward, born in 1806, married Sally Pease, born in 
1806; married in 1834. Their children: 

Simeon P., 1835-1879. 
Noah S., 1837-1899. 
John F., 1839-1907. 
George, 1841-1902. 
Mary Ann, 1845-1870. 

Noah S. Ward and Sarah Fanny Woodman Ward died in 1924, 
aged 78 years. Their children: 

Charles S., b. 1865. 

Clarence E., b. 1874; m. 1897, Ida Roberta Webster, 
Laconia. Their children : 

Everett Gilman, 1901-1918. 

Ralph Lester, b. 1904. 

Helen Frances, b. 1906; m. Emerson B. Trask in 1928. 



GENEALOGIES 387 

Charles S., b. 1865; m. 1896, Mary E. Greenfield of Roches- 
ter. Their children : 

Jasper Greenfield, b. 1897. 
Richmond Earle, b. 1900. 
Vernon Charles, b. 1903. 

PEPPER 

William H. Pepper, born in 1830 in Nottingham, England, was 
a son of Daniel Pepper and wife, Mary Parkins, who was a lace- 
maker. The family located in Portsmouth, where Daniel Pepper, 
made hosiery. Their son, when 17 years old, went into his 
father's place of business and worked on a hand loom. Later he 
drifted around a while. In 1857 he went to Lake Yillege and had 
charge of Appleton's Mill. In a short time he formed several 
partnerships, and was connected with the Lakeport National 
Bank. He married Ellen A. Jackson of Maine. He married, 

second, Mrs. Addie of Lakeport, and married, third, 

Nellie S., daughter of William P. Moulton of Lake Village. His 
daughter by the first wife, Emma M., who married George A. 
Sanders, had a daughter, Ethelyn M., who, after her mother's 
death, was taken into the grandparents' home. 

PERKINS 

From History of Rye, N. H. 

Abraham Perkins, born about 1613, came from England with 
his wife, Mary, on account of their religion, and settled in Hamp- 
ton, N. H., about 1638. The Perkins Bible, printed in London in 
1599, was brought with them and was in the possession of James 
H. Perkins of Rye. Their children: 

Abraham, b. 1639. 

Luke, b. 1641. 

Humphrey, b. 1642; d. young. 

James, b. 1644. 

Timothy, b. 1646. 

James, b. 1647. 

Jonathan, b. 1650. 

David, b. 1654. 

Abigail, b. 1655. 

Timothy, b. 1657. 

Sarah, b. 1659. 

Humphrey, b. 1661. 



388 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Humphrey Perkins, son of Abraham, born in 1661, married 
Martha Moulton. Their children: 

James, b. 1695. 

John. 

Jonathan, d. young. 

Joseph. 

Abraham. 

Abigail, m. Leonard of Bridgewater. 

Martha, m. Tilton. 

Sarah, m. Flanders of Exeter. 

James Perkins, son of Humphrey, 1695-1774, married Huldah 
Robe. He moved from Hampton to Rye in 1730, when there was 
only a footpath from his house to the meeting house. During the 
Revolution he dug iron ore on his farm in Rye and hauled it to 
i\mesbury Mills. Before then he loaded shallops with it and, 
with the money so earned, bought a clock, which is said to be still 
in existance in the family. Their children: 

Huldah, b. 1718; m. Deacon Elijah Locke. 

Anna, m. Stephen Page of Hampton. 

John. 

Abraham. 

Martha, b. 1732; m. Henry Dow; m., second, Simon 

Lamphrey. 
James, baptized 1735. 

From Pension Records at Washington 

Benjamin Perkins of Meredith, dated April 29, 1818, 57 years 
old, deposed. He enlisted in Epping, January, 1777, under Capt. 
Jason Wait, Col. Joseph Cilley, in 1st N. H. Regiment, for three 
years, served his time and was discharged at Danbury, Conn., 
January 25, 1780. He was in both battles at Saratoga or Still- 
water, in 1777, and at Monmouth in 1778. 

The discharge certificate of Benjamin Perkins of Epping, Rock- 
ingham County, N. H., who served three years in the 1st N. H. 
Regiment, dated Camp Danbury, January 25, 1780, signed by 
Col. Joseph Cilley. Nothing on file to indicate that pensioneer 
ever applied to have his name remain on the rolls in 1820. 

August 23, 1832, Benjamin Franklin Perkins of Meredith, 72 
years of age, applied under Act of 1832, and returned the certi- 
ficate sent him under Act in 1818. He testified that he had lived 
in Meredith more than forty years, was formerly a pensioneer but 



GENEALOGIES 389 

dropped under Act of 1820, and has not since been restored. 
( laim allowed and certificate No. 6320, N. H. Agency, was issued 
February 28, 1833. From memorandum on file it appears that in 
1840 Benjamin Perkins, aged 79 years, was still living in Meredith. 
He is the only Revolutionary pensioneer named Benjamin Per- 
kins from a New England State, although there is one from Vir- 
ginia. 

Benjamin Perkins, 1760-1848, came from Epping. He mar- 
ried, about 1783, Betsey Swain, 1762-1847, a daughter of Elias 
Swain of Meredith and a half sister to Bennett Swain. Their 
children: 

Mary (Polly), 1785-1848; m. Daniel Mead. 

Philbrick, 1787-1863; m. Sarah - -, 1786-1866. They 

had a son, Charles, who was an Advent minister, 1819- 

1859. 
Sally, 1789-1859. 
Jacob, 1791-1875; m. Widow Nancy (Randlett) Crockett 

in 1819. They had children: Mary Frances, 1829-1873; 

Benjamin, Jacob and Elizabeth. 
John, 1796-1816. 
Betsey, 1799-1816. 
Nancy, 1801-1875. 
Ruth, 1804-1897. 

Mary (Polly) Perkins, 1785-1848, married Daniel Mead. 
Their daughter, Eliza Jane, born in 1812, married in 1837 Salmon 
Hibbard Sanborn, born in 1812 at Meredith (grandfather of 
Mrs. Felker). Their children: 

Almira J., 1838-1859. 

Evanah T., 1840-1928; m. Benjamin Perkins, 1822-1913. 
They were m. in 1870. Their dau., Eva, b. 1871, m. 
Andrew L. Felker, b. 1869. He came from Barrington, 
N. H. Their children: 

Lewis Heath, b. 1895; m. Ruth Preston. Their children: 

Morris Harold, b. 1924; Dorothy Eva, b. 1925. 
Harold Perkins, 1898-1923; m. Corinne Emerson. 

Their child, Marjorie Clyde, b. 1922. 
Walter Andrew, b. 1907. 
Mary E., b. 1842; m. William Lovering; went to Massa- 
chusetts. 
Lydia A., b. 1845; m. William Smith in 1869. He was a son 
of Elisha Smith and wife, Polly Hoyt of Sanbornton. 
William Smith bought in 1869 the Gideon Piper farm on 
Meredith Hill. Their children, born in Meredith: 



390 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Charles Lauren, b. 1871; m. Edna M. Tucker. 

Mary Alice, b. 1873. 

Wilfred, b. 1876. 

Samuel. 

Wallace. 

Charles Lauren Smith, son of William Smith and wife, Lydia 
Ann Sanborn. Their children: 

Pearl Phebe, b. 1911. 
Dorothy Lydia, b. 1913. 
Charlesina Edna, b. 1915. 
Lauren William, b. 1916. 
Louise Charlotte, b. 1918. 

The fourth child of Benjamin Perkins and wife, Hannah Swain, 
was Jacob Perkins, 1791-1875. He married in 1819 the Widow 
Nancy (Randlett) Crockett, 1785-1867. He was said to be a 
brother of Selden Crockett. Children: 

Benjamin, b. 1821. 

Jacob Fred, b. 1823; m., first, Marilla Doloff, 1832-1864. 
Their children: 

Clara Ida, 1854-1864. ) Twing 

Charles Alvert, d, aged 23 days. J 

Annie Emmabelle, 1855-1888; m. 1873, Orin Freeman 

Swain, b. 1852. 
Abbie Marilla, 1857-1864. 
Elmer Freemont, 1858-1864. 

Jacob Fred Perkins married, second, Eliza Ann Tuttle, 1837- 
1905. Their daughter, Grace, born in 1866, married in 1893 
Eugene Jones. He died. Their daughter, Ida Frances, born in 
1899, married in 1926 Andrew Jackson Smith, born in 1902. 
They live in New York. 

Benjamin Stokes Tuttle, 1805-1883, born in Nottingham, 
married at Campton, N. H., Ruth Cheney, 1805-1886. Their 
children : 

Eliza Ann, 1837-1925; m. Jacob Fred Perkins of Meredith. 
Deborah Jane, 1839-1875. 
Mary Frances, 1841-1887. 
John B., 1847-1870. 

Ashael Sanborn married Hannah Swain, a sister to Josiah 
Swain. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 391 

Polly, m. Smith Leavitt. 

Sarah, m. David Edgerly. They had twelve children. 

Kith, m. John Randlett. 

Hannah, m. George Shores. 

Salmon Hibbard, m. Eliza Mead, dau. of Daniel Mead. 

Moses, single. 

Ashll, m. Mary Ann Collins. 

GlLMAN. 

Salmon Hibbard Sanborn and wife, Eliza Mead, had a daughter 
Evanah Sanborn, who married Benjamin Perkins, 1821-1913, 
parents of Mrs. Felker. Children: 

Eva W., 1841-1928. 

Eliza R., b. 1847; m. John \V. Mathes of Laconia. 

Salmon N., 1851-1868. 

Emma V., b. 1853. 

Jesse F., b. 1856. 

Lieut. John Leavitt, 1768-1847. 

Sally Leavitt, 1774-1853. 

Sophia M. Leavitt, 1848. 

Tom Leavitt, son of John Leavitt, gave the Leavitt Park at 
Lakeport. 

Hannah Swain was a half sister to Bennett Swain and an own 
sister to Josiah Swain. 

John Perkins and family, consisting of his wife, Judith, and five 
children, came to Ipswich, Mass., from England in 1631. They 
were passengers on the same boat as Roger Williams. 

William Perkins, born in 1616 in England, a relative of John, 
settled in New Market. He was 116 years old. He was a direct 
ancestor of Mrs. John H. Smith. A descendant of William 
Perkins, by name of John Perkins, born in 1700, owned much 
land in New Market. John's son, Richard, born in 1738, married 
in 1760, Molly Parsons. Their children: 

Andrew. 

Lydia. 

Molly; m. James Black. 

John. 

Sally. 

Eunice. 

Abraham. 

Josiah Perkins, born in 1767, was a grandfather of Mrs. Smith. 
He moved to Meredith and his mother, being a widow, came with 



392 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

him. He was a deacon of the First Baptist Church in Meredith. 
Molly Perkins, daughter of Richard and wife, Molly (Parsons) 
Perkins, born at New Market in 1765, married James Black, 
1764-1849. They removed to Meredith and later to Maine. 
Their children: 

Edmund, b. 1788; m. Comfort Wiggin. 

James, b. 1791; m. Sally; second, Lydia Perkins. 

Perkins, b. 1793; m. Tuck. 

Joshua, b. 1796; m. Mary Bryant. 
Olive, b., 1801; m. Clarendon Black. 

Josiah Perkins, the fourth child of Richard and Molly (Parsons) 
Perkins, 1767-1852, married Lydia (Rollins) Sanborn of "Bride's 
Hill," Hampton, then called Exeter, in 1790. He removed to 
Meredith, and later to that part of the town now Laconia. He is 
buried in the Jonathan Dow yard on the "Roller Coaster Road," 
above the Weirs, near the D. W. Highway. His father, Richard, 
died when Josiah was young, and he was apprenticed to Deacon 
Samuel Lane in Stratham to learn the shoemakers' trade and 
tanner. He served his time, but was not sent to school. He mar- 
ried and lived in Stratham until four of his children were born. 
In 1795 he bought a farm in the Third Division (so-called) in 
Meredith, where they resided some eight years, then he came down 
and bought a place by the Lake above the Weirs, where he con- 
tinued his trade, as he was a good workman, and his boys culti- 
vated the land. He was a great reader and a devout Christian 
man. It was said of him that no man ever lived in Meredith who 
exerted a wider influence of good. He was deacon of the Baptist 
Church many years and was a fine singer. He was very devoted 
to his wife. They lived together sixty-two years and had eleven 
children. 

Copy of Old Bible Records Owned by Mrs. M. E. {Chase) Burpee 

Josiah Perkins, born June 2, 1707, died January 22, 1852, son of 
Josiah 6 Perkins, married Lydia Sanborn in 1790. She was born 
in 1773, died in 1867, and was a daughter of John and Lydia 
(Sanborn) Perkins. They were married in 1764. Lydia was 
born in 1745, died in 1776. They lived in Exeter. Their 
children: 

Andrew L., 1790-1868; went to Maine. 
Josiah, 1792-1878. 



GENEALOGIES 393 

Lydia, 1794-1826. 
Sally, 1796-1826. 
Richard, 1801-1891. 
Aura 1 1 am, 1803-1862. 
John Swasey, 1807-1895. 
David P., b. 1810. 
Mary, b. 1812. 
Eliza, 1813-1851. 
Jesse S., b. 1816. 

The above is a copy of the old Bible. Description of the 
children: 

1. Andrew L. Perkins, 1790-1868; married Abigail Lovejoy, 
January 1. 1814. Their children: 

Avis O., b. 1815; m. Phillip L. Hanson, Sept. 23, 1837. 
Their children : 

Ellen S., b. June 23, 1838. 

Laura, b. Jutv 17, 1840; d. 1863. 

Charles, b. Jan. 5, 1843. 

Mary Abby, b. Julv 23, 1845. 
Laura, b. Mar. 1, 1818; m. Eben Sibley in 1837. Their 
children: 

Nancv, b. Sept. 15, 1839; d. 1858. 

Oscar, b. Mar. 9, 1844. 

Avis Melissa, b. Jan. 27, 1850; d. 1868. 
John Andrew, b. 1822; m. 1845 Augusta Ann Judkins. 
Their children: 

Adopted bov, 1850-1885. 

Mary M., 1857-1857. 

2. Josiah Perkins, Jr., of Stratham, born in 1792; married 
Lydia Johnson in 1822. Their children: 

John, 1824-1853; m. Lydia . 

Hiram, 1826-1828. 

Sally, b. 1828; m. George P. Hunt. Their daughter: 
Eliza A., b. Jan. 6, 1852. 

Hiram, 1832-1834. 

Abigail, b. 1833. 

Emeline, dau. of Josiah and Lydia (Johnson) Perkins, b. at 
Meredith 1839, lived with her father and mother during 
their life, and had the homestead. She m. John H. Smith 
in 1863. He was b. 1839, was a farmer and an industrious, 
worthy man. He obtained his schooling in Sandwich and 
later worked on stone work and farming. Their children: 
Charles Hamilton, m. Mabel Floyd. Their children: 
Edna M., b. 1900. 
Melba E., b. 1901. 



394 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Vernon, b. 1902. 

J. Roydon, b. 1903. 

Charles Frank, b. 1905. 

Harold B., b. 1907. 

Doris B., b. 1908. 
Mabel Josephine, m. Joseph L. Smith of Gilford. 
Nellie May, d. aged 2 years, 1873-1875. 

3. Lydia Perkins, born June 15, 1974, died in 1869; married 
James Black, 1832-1860, as his second wife (he having married 
her sister, Sally, first). They were married in 1827. Their 
children: 

Sally, b. June 7, 1831; d. 1857. 

Josiah Perkins, b. 1832. 

Mary Elizabeth, b. 1834; d. 1859. 

4. Sally Perkins, born in 1796, died in 1826; married James 
Black. Their children: 

Sabre Hill, 1821-1843. 

Emeline, b. 1825; m. M. B. Crossman in 1852. Their 
children : 

Jane B., b. July 6, 1850. 

Alice Mariah, b. June 7, 1852. 

Jesse O., b. Feb. 1, 1855. 

Sally Elizabeth, b. Jan. 2, 1858. 

5. Richard O'Brian Perkins, born in 1801, married Betsey Ann 
Littlerield in 1842. He died at the Weirs. Their daughter: 

Deborah, b. July 26, 1844; d. Aug. 28, 1863. 

6. Abraham Perkins, was born in Meredith in 1803, son of 
Deacon Josiah Perkins and wife, Lydia (Sanborn), lived on the 
farm known as the "Sam Doe" place, in the Third Division, 
which father and son purchased. He married Susan French of 
Sandwich in 1830. He was a cabinetmaker, but took up farming, 
instead, to care for his parents in their old age. He was a kind 
friend and ever ready to help. In 1862 he was called to help care 
for a stranger who was very sick with what proved to be smallpox. 
He took the disease and died January 5, 1862. No children. 

7. John Swasey Perkins was born in 1807 in Meredith. He, 
with the other children, attended the district schools. Later he 
learned to be an expert shoemaker. He married Sally (Mason), 
daughter of Noah Mason and wife, Martha Clark (she a sister to 
Joseph Clark, born in 1807, grandfather of Clarence Clark). 



GENEALOGIES 395 

Sally Mason was born in 1813 and was married in 1837 at Mere- 
dith, where John Swasey Perkins had built a new house. He 
worked at his trade over fifty years. He often said "his home 
was the dearest spot on earth, for he looked the whole world in the 
face and owed not any man." Their children: 

Oscar, b. Apr. 29, 1838; d. 1880; m. Jane Norris of Boston. 

Martha S., b. Jan. 24, 1842; d. 1925; m. John Pike as his 
second wife. He d. in 1925 and was buried with his first 
wife. Martha Susan (Perkins) Pike, d. 1927. She is also 
buried with her husband in Manchester, N. H., at "Pine 
( .rove." 

Josiah, 1851-1854. 

Sarah Eliza, b. Apr. 15, 1854. 

8. David Y. Perkins, born January 29, 1810, married Lydia C. 
Lane. Their children: 

David L., b. Mar. 2, 1838; m. Lvdia C. Lane, d. Oct., 1838. 

He m., second, Apr. 16, 1839, Mary Melissa Wood. Their 

children: 
Lvdia A., b. Feb. 14, 1840; d. 1889. 
Mary Eliza, b. May 24, 1841. 
David P., m. Melissa Cook. 

9. Mary Perkins, born in 1812, married John Chase, May 19, 
1839. He died in 1862. Their children: 

Avis Axx, b. Oct. 5, 1842. 

Lydia P., b. May 23, 1845. 

David P., b. Oct. 19, 1847. 

Almira, b. Aug. 14, 1852; m. Ross Burpee of New Hampton. 

Mary Eliza, b. 1855. 

10. Eliza Perkins, born December 9, 1813, died in 1851, mar- 
ried Paul Lane of Pittsfield in 1837. He died May 23, 1888. 
Their children: 

Jesse P., b. Jan. 28, 1838. 

Sophia J., b. Oct. 22, 1839. 

Mary Elizabeth, b. Apr. 9, 1843; d. 1846. 

Hollis Vexsox, b. Sept. 21, 1845. 

Lydia Melissa, b. Sept. 24, 1847. 

11. Jesse S. Perkins, born March 17, 1816, married Sarah 
Powers in 1841. He died in Lakeport. Their children: 

Abram, b. 1842; m. Nancy Augusta Brown. 
Sabra Axx, b. 1843; m. William H. Staten. 



396 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

He married, second, Mary Bowles. Their children: 

Charles H., b. Aug. 4, 1865; m. . 

Jesse Perkins, b. Oct. 14, 1869; m. — — Day. 

Abram Perkins, born in 1842 (brother to John) at the old home 
in Meredith, married Nancy Augusta Brown. He served in the 
War of the Rebellion over three years. 

Lemuel Perkins was born in 1751 at Strafford. His son, Tim- 
othy Perkins, 1789-1881, when a young man took up a tract of 
land in Holderness, which he cleared. After a time he sold and 
bought a farm in Center Harbor, where he lived and died. He 
served in town office many years, was a justice of the peace, and 
did much probate business in settling estates for over forty years. 
He married Sally, daughter of John Jones, 1795-1867, of Strafford, 
who was a large land owner. They had children: 

William J., settled in Center Harbor. 

Emeline R., m. Gooding Piper, who d. in the Civil War. 

Paul, settled in Ashland. 

John S., settled in Holderness. 

George S., settled in Lakeport. 

Ebenezer F., d. 

Timothy, d. young. 

Charles S., d. young. 

Alonzo, b. 1832, m. Henrietta C, dau. of Nathaniel Keyser. 

They had a dau., Carrie Etta, who m. Ned B. Sanborn of 

Meredith. 

Sarah Perkins married George P. Hunt, she a daughter of 
Josiah Perkins, Jr., who was born in 1792 at Stratham, N. H., and 
his wife, Lydia Johnson. Their children: Eliza Hunt (born in 
1852), Mary, David, John, Richard, Jesse, Lydia, and Abraham 
Perkins. 

Josiah Perkins, Jr., born in 1792, was a great reader and a good 
farmer. He read his Bible each day and other historical books. 
A favorite motto of his was, "Never let your work drive you, but 
keep ahead of your work." He died in 1883 at the age of 91 years. 

It is said that just before he passed away he repeated the names 
of his sisters and brothers. 

J n0 Perkim 

L y Prescott 

1773 



GENEALOGIES 397 

Taken from what looked like a marriage announcement in a 
frame, found in the attic of the Horace Eastman farm in Meredith. 

From Data Given by Carl Blaisdell 

Annie Perkins, daughter of John Perkins and Lucy (Prescott) 
Perkins, born in 1775, married John Smith, son of Ebenezer 
Smith and wife, Sarah (Spiller) Smith. They had a daughter, 
Annis Smith, who married Esq. Charles Smith, a son of Ebenezer 
Smith and wife, Mehitable (Sheafe) Smith. Esq. Charles Smith 
and wife went back to the Perkins place, where Mrs. Smith died 
in 1848, leaving a daughter, Ann Maria, who died in 1849, aged 17 
years. He later married Irene Neal, daughter of "White Oak" 
Joseph Neal. Mr. Smith died March 21, 1874. His second wife 
died June 20, 1902. She was buried in her lot with her sister, 
Mary (Neal) Batchelder, and her parents in Meredith Village 
Cemetery. Esq. Charles Smith was buried with his first wife, 
Annis, at Opeechee. 

John Smith, son of one Ebenezer Smith and wife, Mehitable 
Sheafe (called John Smith, Esq.), died in 1857, aged 85 years. 
His wife, Annis (Perkins) Smith, died in 1864, aged 89 years. 
Besides Annis, John Smith and wife had a daughter Polly, who 
died in 1863, aged 74 years, also a daughter Susan, who married 
Blaisdell and lived on the Head farm. 

Mary Smith, a sister of Esq. Charles Smith, married Rev. John 
K. Young, who preached in Laconia. 

PICKERING 

John Pickering came to Portsmouth, N. H., in 1636 from Eng- 
land. History states that he is the father of the several Pickering 
families of this part of the country. He was said to be a man of 
good reputation and good business ability. He lived in Ports- 
mouth. He had two sons and four daughters. He was one of 
several men who gave fifty acres of Globe Land for the ministry. 
He died in 1669. His children grew to maturity and raised 
their families. 

The old South Church and the "Point of Graves" Cemetery, 
with their moss-covered slabs that are centuries old, is a sacred 
place where in 1669 John Pickering was laid on his own estate, 
called "Pickering's Neck." 



398 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

In 1671 the "town made an agreement with the heirs that they 
should have full liberty, without interference, to enclose half an 
acre on the Neck, where the people have been wont to be buried; 
which land shall be used forever for a burying place; only that 
Air. Pickering shall have liberty to feeding the said neat cattle, 
and that the town any of them shall have liberty to pass over the 
land to bury their dead on the 'Point of Graves'." Ten years 
later the old South Church was built on the land Mr. Pickering 
gave. 

The men of that period were not above the average in size. 
The story runs that after one of the descendants had built a log 
hut on Great Bay and was clearing land, an English man-of-war 
came into Piscataqua Harbor and a gang was sent ashore to get 
men recruits for service. Two of them found Thomas Pickering 
alone felling trees. They talked to him awhile, complimented 
him on his muscular appearance, and said to him that he was just 
about such a man as his Majesty needed, and commanded him to 
stop work and follow them. Thomas declined, saying that he was 
needed at home, as he had a young family. The reply was, "No 
excuse, sir, march." Thomas seized one of the officials by the 
back of his neck with his left hand and threw him face down on 
the ground, and with his right hand raised his axe as though to 
chop off the fellow's head. The other man seized his arm that 
held the axe and both begged for mercy. Thomas let the 
arrogant one get up, and history states they both took a fast trot 
and left the place, evidently feeling that they had escaped from 
a lion. 

John F. Pickering married Carrie E. Webster, born in 1860, 
February 28, 1883. Their children: 

Ervin F., b. 1883. 
Clarence E., b. 1888. 
Stella L., b. 1891. 
Lewis E., b. 1892. 
Raymond V., b. 1896. 

Stella Pickering married Frank Mudgett. Their children: 

Elsie E., b. 1911. 
Bernard. 

As Vital Records 
Sylvester Pickering, aged 24 years, son of Stephen and wife, 



GENEALOGIES 399 

Olive, married in 1866, Priscilla Robinson, aged 18 years, daughter 
of Benjamin and wife, Lois Robinson of Meredith. 

Frank A. Pickering, born in Gilford, brother of Sylvester, 
married in 1865, Ella A. Lawrence, both of Meredith. 

Daniel Pickering married in 1820, Betsey Wadleigh, both of 
Meredith. 

Stephen Pickering, aged 65 years, married in 1879, Sarah D. 
Webster, he a son of Stephen and wife, Hannah, she from New- 
buryport. His son, Joseph Pickering, aged 70 years, son of 
Stephen and wife, Hannah Jacobs, married in 1882, Abigail 
Smith, aged 70 years, she a daughter of John Robinson and wife, 
Lydia, third marriage. 

John C. Pickering, aged 42 years, son of Andrew and wife, 
Mehitable Pickering, born in Gilford, married in 1877, Lucy M. 
Renou of Meredith. 

Joseph A. Pickering of Meredith married in 1832, Eliza Rowe. 

Lyman D. Pickering of Laconia married in 1859, Clarinda M. 
Martin of Gilford. 

Leon E. Pickering, aged 20 years, son of Lyman D., aged 55 
years, born in Meredith, and wife, Clara Martin, married in 1891, 
Jennie D. McLosky, daughter of William McLosky and wife, 
Mary Page of Haverhill. 

Charles F. Pickering, aged 19 years, son of Moses Pickering 
and wife, Sally, married in 1863, Susan S. Piper of Holderness, 
daughter of Richard S. Piper and wife, Xancy. 

Arthur Francis Pickering, aged 21 years, son of Charles F. 
Pickering and wife, Roxanna Webster, married in 1899, Mary 
Elizabeth Bemis, aged 22 years, daughter of Lyman Bemis and 
wife, Mary Jane Hutchins. 

Walter D. Pickering, aged 20 years, married Gertrude M. 
Plumer, both of Lake Milage, in 1891, she a daughter of George 
Plumer-Ladd, he a son of Charles W. Pickering and wife, Mary E. 
Bean. 

George F. Pickering, aged 29 years, son of Alanson Pickering, 
married in 1883, Mrs. Carrie E. Webster, daughter of Jonas R. 
Wheeler, both of Meredith. 

Edward E. Pickering, aged 24 years, son of George W. Picker 



400 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

ing and wife, C. A. Kimball, married in 1886, Cesta W. Whaley, 
aged 23 years, of Meredith. 

Albert J. Pickering, aged 20 years, son of Moses Pickering and 
wife, Sarah, married in 1866, Leoria J. Rowe, daughter of Dan- 
forth Rowe and wife, Abby R., born in Campton, both of Mere- 
dith Center. 

Charles H. Pickering, aged 26 years, of Meredith, married 
Jennie Chase of New Hampton. 

Albert J. Pickering of Meredith married Mary A. Shaw of 
Gilford. 

George W. Pickering married in 1851, Charlotte Kimball of 
Meredith. 

Frank A. Pickering, born in 1839, married Ella A. Lawrence, 
born in 1847, both of Meredith. They lived in Gilford. 

Joseph A. Pickering married in 1832, Eliza Rowe, both of 
Meredith. 

Daniel Pickering married in 1820, Betsey Wadleigh, both of 
Meredith. 

Albert J. Pickering, born in 1846, son of Moses Pickering and 
wife, Sarah, married in 1866, at Meredith Center, Leoria, daugh- 
ter of Danforth and wife, Abby Rowe. She was born in 

Campton. 

Frank Mudgett married Stella Pickering, a daughter of Frank 
Pickering and wife, Carrie Webster. Their children: 

Elsie, b. 1911. 

Alvin Barnard, b. 1913. 

Olive Pickering married Joseph Mudgett. She is sister to 
Lyman and John Pickering of Lakeport. 

Catherine married Isaac Colby. 

Sarah married Frank M. Rollins. 

Amanda married Smith Dockham. 

Placentia married Frank Lyford. 

Stephen Pickering, born in 1814, son of Stephen Pickering and 
wife, Hannah, married Sarah D. Wescott in 1879. Their children: 

Mary Elizabeth, m. Edward E. Lawrence. 

Sylvester, b. 1846; m. Priscilla Robinson, dau. of Benjamin 



GENEALOGIES 401 

Robinson; he was one of several who broke through 
Meredith Townhouse floor. Sylvester and Frank were in 
the Civil War. 

Disconnected Pickerings in Meredith 

Frank, born in 1839, and Sylvester were in the Civil War. 

Cassanda Pickering married Stevens in Moultonboro. 

Their children were Sydney and Ida; lived in Manchester. 

Comfort. 

Frank A. Pickering, born in 1839, married Ella A. Lawrence, 
born in 1847, both of Meredith, but settled in Gilford. 

Albert J. Pickering, born in 1846 in Meredith, son of Moses and 
wife, Sarah, married in 1866, at Meredith Center, Leoria, daugh- 
ter of Danforth and wife, Abby Rowe of Campton. 

Edwin E. Pickering, born in 1862 at Meredith, son of George W. 
and wife, Cesta W. Whaley, born in Vermont. 

George F. Pickering, son of George W., married Carrie F., 
daughter of John Webster of Meredith. 

John C. Pickering, born in 1835, son of Andrew and wife, 
Mehitable, married in 1877 Lucy M. Renou of Gilford. 

Daniel Pickering married in 1820, Betsey Wadleigh, both of 
Meredith. 

Joseph A. Pickering married in 1832, Eliza Rowe, both of 
Meredith. 

Stella Pickering, daughter of Frank and wife, Carrie Webster, 
married Frank Mudgett. Their children: 

Elsie Mudgett, b. 1911. 
Alvin Bernard, b. 1913. 

Charles Pickering at Meredith Village had a daughter who 

married Swain. 

Ezekiel Mudgett and wife, Olive Pickering. Their children: 

Frank, b. 1876; m. Anna Wise in Hebron. 

Orris. 

Olive, m. William Thomas of Meredith; live in Maine. 

Andrew Nealley and wife adopted a girl who married Russell 
Brown. The Xeally farm was sold to a Miss Arnold, who has 



402 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

fitted it up for a summer camp for Girl Scouts. It is this side of 
the Pease farm on the "Old Province Road." 



PIKE 

John l Pike of Portsmouth came from Southampton, England, 
on the ship "James" in 1635. He was in Newbury, Mass., in 
1638, and died in Salisbury, Mass., May 26, 1654. Five of their 
children were born in England. 

Robert 2 , born before March 17, 1616, married, first, Sarah 
Sanders; married, second, Mrs. Martha Goldwyer. 

John 2 married Mary Moody. 

Dorothy married Daniel Kendrick. 

Ann married and had children; no record of them. 

Israel 2 . 

Sarah died in 1659. 

Major Robert (John 1 ), born in England, married in 1641, Sarah 
Sanders. He married, second, 1685, Martha Goldwyer, widow of 
George Goldwyer. He was made a freeman, May 17, 1637, with 
sixty-five others. He left Newbury and settled at Salisbury, 
Mass., in 1639. He was an early member of the church at Salis- 
bury, was prominent in public office and was a representative to 
the General Court, 1648/9. He was lieutenant of the Train Band 
in 1647, later was captain and major. He helped establish the 
line between Exeter and Hampton in 1651. He was serjeant- 
major, over a militia company of Norfolk and Pascataqua, 1770. 
He was councillor, 1687, and commander in chief of the militia 
east of the Merrimack River, 1690. He wrote a letter to Jona- 
than Corwin, stating his reasons why "special evidence" was not 
reliable in the trials of witchcraft in 1692. He died in 1706. 
His wife died in 1713. He had eight children by first wife. 

Sarah, b. 1742; m., first, Helman Bradbury; second, John 

Stockman. 
Mary, b. 1644, d. young. 
Dorothy, b. 1645; m. Joshua Pierce; second, John Light of 

Portsmouth. 
Mary, b. 1647; m. - - Andrews, second, John Allen. 



GENEALOGIES 403 

Elizabeth, b. 1650; m. William Carr. 

John, b. 1653; m. Sarah Moody. 
Robert, b. 1655; m. Mary Eollansbee. 
Moses, b. 1659; m. Susanna Worcester. 

Their seventh child. Robert :i Pike, born in 1655, married in 
1684, Mary Follansbee of Amesbury. They settled in Salisbury. 
He died in 1690. His widow married, second, William Hook of 
Salisbury, Mass. 

The first son of Robert :! Pike and wife, Mary Follansbee, 
Robert 4 Pike, born September 3, 1687, married Hannah Gilman 
of Exeter. He sold the farm in Salisbury given him by his grand- 
father. Major Robert Pike, and moved to Exeter in the part called 
Newmarket Parish, now the town of Newfield. There he bought 
a farm, and settled on the Piscassic Road. 

Their third son, Robert 5 Pike, born in 1718, married Elinor 
Perkins and settled in Newfield. Their children: 

Molly (Mary) m. John Wedgewood. 
Robert, b. 1746; m. Mehitable Perkins of Epping in 1777. 
Mercy m. Stephen Lyford of Hall's Mill Road. 
William, b. 1748. 

William Pike, born in 1748, when 29 years old joined the Con- 
tinental Army, and was in Capt. Nathaniel Ambrose's Company, 
Col. Welch's Regiment of Volunteers. They marched from 
Moultonboro and adjacent towns, September 30, 1777, and were 
under General Gates at Saratoga. He was killed in 1804 on his 
farm by a falling tree, when 56 years old, leaving his mother, 
Phebe (Smith) Pike, a widow. She was born July 24, 1762, 
daughter of Pioneer Robert Smith, 1724-1762, and wife. Abigail 
(Cass) Smith, born in 1724, of New Hampton, then called "Moul- 
tonboro Gore." 

Phebe (Smith) Pike lived on the home farm, and died there in 
1857, aged 96 years. Their daughter, Nancy, married Dr. 
Thomas Chattle and settled in New York State. Their son, 
William Pike, 1748-1804, married Polly Pease. They had 
eight children. 



404 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

PIKE FAMILY 
Salisbury, 1914 

'Twas in nineteen hundred one 

The Pike Family first did meet 
In ye ancient town of Salisbury, 

Whose walls echoed to the feet 
Of the earliest Pikes, who came 

From the land across the sea, 
To found upon these Western shores 

A Home for Liberty. 
All honor to those early Pikes 

Who came as Pioneers 
To redeem the wilderness 

And to build for future years. 
For they laid the stones so well 

That in times of strain and stress, 
We have never lacked a leader 

To release us from duress. 
And when, all through the country 

Superstition riot ran 
Here, in this town of Salisbury, 

There lived a famous man; 
Major Robert, you all know him, 

He who stood so firm for right and true, 
For that Liberty, God-given, 

Which is each man's due. 
"No lash," said he, "for women's backs, 

No slave to Churchman's zeal. 
But this little town of Salisbury 

Will give each one a fair deal." 
So he kept this quiet village 

From smirching its fair fame, 
And for justice and fair dealing, 

It has ever had a name. 
Therefore we all do honor him; 

May we ever have his like, 
And may the quaint old town of Salisbury 

Never lack a Pike. 



PIPER 

Nathaniel Piper was in Ipswich, Mass., in 1666. He married 
Abigail Church. They had a daughter, Sarah, who married 
Capt. Thomas Wiggin. They were the ancestors of the Stratham 
Wiggins. 



GENEALOGIES 405 

Nathaniel Piper 4 married Hannah, daughter of Christopher 
Smith of Hampton. They settled in Sanborn ton She was 
called a very smart woman. After she had three children of her 
own, she attended a neighbor's funeral, Mrs. Jerusha Burley's. 
They had been neighbors in Stratham before removing to San- 
bornton. Mrs. Burley left a babe, Polly, born October, 1794, who 
was only two months old when her mother died. The minister, 
Rev. Woodman, remarked during the service, that "the Lord 
would bring someone that would be a mother to the little girl 
(then less than two months old). History states that Mrs. Piper, 
on returning home that night, was sure that it could not be herself, 
for she had three little ones of her own, but early the next morning 
her vigorous direction was: "Sir (addressing her husband), put 
the saddle on the horse; I must go down to Mr. Mason's." She 
took the motherless little one, who was afterward treated as one 
of her own family, adopted her and presented her with a silver 
spoon and gold beads, at 18 years old, as well as her own daughters. 
Polly married Deacon Levi Carter and was a lovely wife and 
beloved by all. They both professed religion together and 
brought up a family in a Christian home. 

Gideon Piper of Stratham, 1741-1816, moved to Pembroke and 
had children there. About 1783 he went to Meredith and cleared 
land near the Sanborn ton line. He married Rachel, daughter of 

Deacon Daniel Sanborn, in 1761. She was the widow of 

Griffith of Meredith. She died in 1798. He married, second, in 
1799. Anna Chandler. She died in 1810. He married, third, 
Betsey Morrill, 1765-1827. Children by Rachel (Sanborn) 
Griffith-Piper: 

Abigail, b. 1762; m. William Chase of Meredith, son of 
Ebenezer Chase, who lived near the Meadow schoolhouse 
in Sanbornton. 

Anna, 1765-1845; single; lived in Meredith. 

Elisha, b. 1768; m. Mary, dau. of Rev. Nicholas Folsom, 
1774-1802 ; m., second, Molly Plummer, dau. of Jesse. He 
was captain in the militia. They had six children. 

Daniel, 1771-1814; m. Hannah Piper of Holderness. They 
lived in Meredith. 

Sarah, b. 1774; m. Nathaniel Piper. 

Elisha 2 , son of Gideon Piper and Rachel. Their daughter, 
Mehitable Piper, born in 1797, married Benjamin Farnham, who 
died at the Sally Leavitt place on Steele Hill in Sanbornton, and 



406 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

was buried in the Leavitt yard. He was a Revolutionary soldier, 

and his grave is marked. His daughter married Smith Leavitt of 

Meredith ; moved to Vermont. Her name was Susanna Farnham. 

Moses 3 P. Piper, son of Elisha '-, Gideon l , 1801-1863, settled at 

"Piper's Mills," North Sanbornton. He was a deacon in the 

"Pine Hill" or "Merrill Brook" (Sanbornton and Meredith) 

Baptist Church. This church was built near Moses Merrill's, on 

the opposite side of the road from Mr. Merrill's farm (the old 

forsaken churchyard, walled in, with most of the wall down, all 

grown up to trees, and no one living that can tell who or where 

they were laid). Here some of the early members were buried, 

among them Moses Merrill and wife. He was a Revolutionary 

soldier. Deacon Moses Piper and wife rest there, and many 

others. If there were stones, they are fallen and covered with 

leaves. The church history states that the church was moved to 

Sanbornton, and used in summer and kept in good repair, with a 

neat little yard near. The old yard is a disgrace to all Meredith 

citizens, as well as many other neglected yards, and we hope in 

the near future the law will be obeyed and these old yards, where 

our early pioneers were laid to rest, cared for. 

Moses P. Piper married Betsey Ambrose, 1802-1870. They 
were married in 1825 in Meredith. They had four children. 

Gideon 3 Piper married Caroline J. Taylor. He was selectman 
of Meredith, 1854/5, and also represented the town. He moved 
from Meredith to North Sanbornton. 

Nathaniel Piper, born in 1630 at Devonshire, came to Ipswich, 

Mass., in 1653. He married Sarah . 

Their seventh child, Thomas Piper, born in 1666, married 

Grace Hawley, of Wenham in 1692. They removed to Stratham. 

Their second child, Nathaniel Piper, 1701-1778, married 

Hannah Goss (as Exeter probate records). He was a prominent 

business man. 

Their second son, Gideon Piper, born in Stratham, 1741, died at 
Meredith in 1816, where he moved in 1783 from Pembroke. 
Before leaving Pembroke he was drafted for military service by 
Captain Head (as records). He married Mrs. Rachel (Sanborn) 
Griffith in 1761. Their children: 

Abigail, b. 1762; m. William Chase. 
Anna, 1765-1845; never m. 



GENEALOGIES 407 

ELISHA, 1768-1834; m. Mary Folsom; second, Molly Plum- 
mer. They had seven children. He was captain of the 
militia. 

Daniel, 1771-1814; m. Hannah Piper of Holderness. 

Sarah, b. 1774; m. Nathaniel Piper of Holderness. 

Elisha Piper, 1768-1834, married Mary Folsom, 1774-1802, 
daughter of Elder Nicholas Folsom of Meredith. Their children : 

Rachel, 1795-1837; m. John Palmer of New Hampton. 
Mehitable, 1797-1859; m. Benjamin Farnham, of Meredith. 

He d. on Steel Hill, and was buried in the Leavitt yard. 

He was a Revolutionary soldier. 
Susanna Plummer, b. 1799. 
Moses P., b. 1801. 
Josiah, b. 1803; m. Margaret Ann Huckins, dau. of Nathan 

C. and wife, Sarah (YVhidden) Huckins. 
Gideon, b. 1805. 
Molly, b. 1807; m. Edward Chase, son of Thomas. They 

lived in Meredith Center. He was a clothier and farmer. 

Susanna P. Piper, daughter of Elisha 2 Piper, married Smith 
Leavitt of Meredith. They moved to Vermont. 

Moses P. Piper, another son of Elisha, lived at Piper's Mills for 
nearly 40 years. He was a deacon of the Pine Hill (Sanbornton, 
and Meredith) Baptist Church, and choir leader. He married 
Betsey Ambrose of Meredith in 1825. They had four children. 

Oscar J. Piper married Ina J. Nelson of Plymouth. He served 
in the Civil War, in the 12th N. H. Regiment. He was a prom- 
inent business man. 

Their son, Oscar G. Piper, born in 1879, married in 1903, Grace 
B. Bartlett, daughter of Clifton J. Bartlett and wife, Sarah 
Fernald. They had sons: Earl G., Harold B., Lloyd, Donald and 
Jesse Lin wood. 

Ralph L. Piper, a brother of above, born in 1882, has been a 
prominent business man in Meredith. He married Lillian L. 
Bonney. daughter of James D. Bonney and wife, Lucy Ann 
(Young). James D. Bonney was a sea captain in early life. 
They have one son, Nelson Bonney Piper. 

Tradition tells us that four brothers by the name of Piper (Ben- 
jamin, John, Nathaniel, and Gideon) came from Scotland. 

Stephen 5 Piper (Stephen 4 , Thomas 3 , Thomas 2 , Nathaniel 
Piper '), was born in 1 733 at Stratham, N. H. He was deacon of 
the church in Stratham and a State Representative. He is said 



408 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

to be the ancestor of the Pipers in Sanborn ton. He married in 
Stratham, Abigail (Church) Wiggin 4 , daughter of Capt. Thomas 
Wiggin and wife, Sarah (Piper) Wiggin, born in 1754. Their 
children: 

Mary P., b. 1756; m. Andrew Jewett. 

Patience, b. 1758; m. Noah Buzzell. 

Stephen, b. 1760; m. Mary Ayers. Their children: 

Asa 6 , 1784-1860; m. Sophia Chellis; she b. 1796, in 

Newfield. They had nine children. 
Nancy, 1786-1834; m. Winthrop Hill. 
Stephen, b. 1788; m. Louisa Parsons, dau. of Ensign 

Stephen Parsons and wife, Abigail Moore. 
Abigail, b. 1790; m. Charles W. Whicher in 1810. 
James, b. 1792, a sea captain, died at sea; m. Alice 

Perkins. 
Pelatiah, b. 1795; m. Mary Stevens. 
Israel, b. 1798; m. Sarah Hill. 
Stephen 6 , m., second, Widow Fogg. Their children: 
Nathaniel, b. 1802; m. Mehitable Varney; m., second, 

Ruth Durgin. 
Thomas, 1804-1834; m. Sabrina Dunnells. 
Stephen 6 , m., third, Widow Mary Martin, 1770-1846, of 

Brookfield, N. H. 
Abigail, b. 1762; m. Simeon Cate in 1789 at North Hampton. 
They settled in Meredith. Their children: 

Simeon, Jr., b. July 20, 1790; m. Lydia Durgin. Their 
son, Asa Piper, b. 1813 in Northfield, was a prominent 
business man ; also eight other children, as Sanbornton 
History. 
Asa Piper, drowned when 14 years old. 
Sarah 5 , 1766-1779. 
Israel, b. 1768; lived in Wolfeboro. 

Elizabeth, b. 1770; m. Andrew Sanborn of Sanbornton in 
1794. 

Tabitha, b. 1773; m. Chase. 

Thomas, b. 1776; lived on the old homestead. 
Hephzibah, b. 1779; m. John Wiggin, who was an 1812 
soldier from Sanbornton. 

Charles A. Piper, born at Meredith, married Flora J. Nudd, 
born at Center Harbor in 1879. He was a son of Hanson Piper, 
born in Meredith, his mother was Deborah Moses, born in Camp- 
ton. Flora J. Nudd was a daughter of Enos G. Nudd, born in 
Center Harbor, and Clarissa Hadley. 



GENEALOGIES 409 

Benjamin Piper, son of Nathaniel Piper and wife, Jennie 
Sanborn, married Betsey Moses of Meredith in 1879. 
John Piper and Sarah Moses Piper. Children: 

Lucetta Piper Webster. 

Oscar J., m. Mary Batchelder. Their dau., Emma, m. 

Frank Arnold. 
Emily had a dau., Carrie, who m. Frank Pickering. 

Oscar J. Piper, born in Meredith, married in 1875, Ina Nelson, 
born in Plymouth. Their children: 

Fred Harold, b. 1877. 
Oscar Guy, b. 1879. 
Ralph N., b. 1872. 
Earl R., d. 1887. 

Oscar Piper, born in Meredith, was a son of John Piper and 
wife, Sarah Moses, born in Bridgewater. 

Nathaniel Piper married Jennie Sanborn. Their children: 
Benjamin, Dudley, John, David, Polly, Susan, and Abigail. 
They lived on the Piper farm above Meredith Center. 

Ceaser Wallace, the African who was sold as a slave in early 
days, lived here, died and is buried on this farm. He served four 
years in the Revolutionary War, and had a bounty. Tradition 
tells that his discharge was signed by George Washington, the 
only one signed by the President. He rests in an unmarked 
grave, with his family. 

Gideon Piper, born September 7, 1741, in Stratham, married 
Rachel Sanborn, daughter of Deacon Daniel Sanborn. She died 
in 1798, aged 61 years, in Meredith. Giedon Piper married, 
second, Anna Chandler; third, Betsey Merrill. 

Nathaniel Piper married in 1820, Polly Hill, both of Meredith. 

Josiah S. Piper married in 1823, Sally Swain, both of Meredith. 

Lyman Piper married in 1845, Elizabeth Dame, both of Mere- 
dith. 

Josiah S. Piper married in 1847, Caroline F. Conner of Mere- 
dith. 

George W. Piper married in 1849, Mary Jane Pickering of 
Meredith. 

Albert B. Piper married in 1897, Eliza Shaw, daughter of Jona- 
than Kelley and wife, LInis Goss of New Hampton. Albert was 
son of Dudley Piper. 



410 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Piper Family In Meredith 

This name was spelled in early days Pyper. History states 
that Nathaniel Piper first operated a trading ship between 
Ipswich and other Bay Colonies, as shown in a "trial," "Nath 
Pyper versus John Keene," held at Ipswich, in 1673. History 
states that nearly all the Pypers in this country emigrated from 
Dartmouth in Devonshire, England, and settled in Ipswich. 

Solomon Pyper drew a share in Plum Island in 1665. He emi- 
grated to America during the Revolution, in the days of Charles 
the First, under Oliver Cromwell (as old records). 

It is recorded that in 1653 Nathaniel Pyper deeded land. He 

married Sarah , probably in America, as his children were 

born in Ipswich. He died in 1676 and his will was proved in 
1676, which shows that they had children. 

Copy of the Will of Nathaniel ' Pyper 

From the Ipswich records in Essex registry of deeds at Salem, 
Mass.: 

IN THE NAME OF GOD, AMEN. I, Nathaniel Pyper, of Ipswich, in 
America, being weake in body, but of good and perfect memory, blessed be 
God, doe dispose of that estate God hath lent me, as followeth. IMPRIMIS: 
I give unto Sarah, my loveing wife, my house and house lott, barne and orchard, 
and all my lands at Hog Island, with all my marsh both there and elsewhere in 
Ipswich, and all my stock of cattle and sheepe, with all my household goods and 
.debts, dureing her widdowhood, and untill my children come to the age of one 
and twenty yeares, or be marryed. 

And then my will is that my daughter Sarah shall have five pounds payd her 
by her mother soe soone as she can convenyently; also I give my son Nathaniell 
ten pounds at the age of one and twenty yeares, or at his day of marriage; also 
I give unto all my other children, Josiah, John, Thomas, Mary, Margarett, 
Samuel, and Jonathan, five pounds apeece, as they come to age or marry away; 
also my will is that none of these legases shall be payd soe as to hinder my wife 
her comfortable subsistence while she lives; and also my will that if any of my 
children shall depart this life before they come to age, that then there portions 
shall be equally devyded amongst the rest of my children that shall survive; 
also my will is that if my wife should marry againe that she shall have one halfe 
of my house and halfe of my home lott dureing her naturall life, and the use of 
halfe my household goods; after her decease my will is that Nathaniel my son, 
shall have all my house and home lott; and all my land at Hog Island, with the 
marsh there and elsewhere, all these being prised and equally devided amongst 
all my children then liveing, every one of them alike, only my son Nathaniell 
to have dubble portion out of the same. I doe make Sarah, my loveing wife, 
sole executrix of this my last will and testament, dated the seaventh day of 



GENEALOGIES 411 

March, in the yeare of Grace sixteene hundred and seaventy and five, 1675. 
In witness whereof I have hereunto sett my hand and seale. 

Nathaniel Pyper. [seal] 
These being wittnesses: 

Francis Wainwright, 

James Chute, Sen f . 

Nathaniel Pyper and wife had twelve children. The eighth 
was Thomas' 2 Piper, born November 26, 1666. He married 
Grace Hawley of Wenham, November 21, 1692. Among their 
children was Thomas 3 Piper, born November 17, 1697, in Wen- 
ham, Mass. He removed to Stratham, N. H., and married 
Tabitha Rollins. They had children, among them Stephen 4 
Piper, born in Stratham, who married Abigail Church Wiggin, 
daughter of Captain Thomas and wife, Sarah (Piper) Wiggin. 
They were married June 20, 1754. They had twelve children. 
Among them (as history) Stephen is the ancestor of the Sanborn- 
ton, N. H., Pipers. Children: 

Mary 5 , b. Jan. 20, 1756; m. Andrew Jewett. 

Patience, b. 1758; m. Noah Buzzell. 

Stephen, b. June 23, 1760; m. Alary Ayers. 

Abigail, b. Apr. 23, 1762; m. Simeon Gate of Meredith. 

Nathaniel, b. Apr. 16, 1764; m. Jenny Sanborn, dau. of 

Asa Sanborn; resided in Sanbornton. 
Sarah, d. aged 13 years. 
Israel, b. 1768; resided in Wolfeborough. 
Elizabeth, b. 1770; m. Andrew Sanborn in Sanbornton. 

Tabitha, b. 1773; m. Chase. 

Thomas, b. 1776; lived on the old farm in Stratham. 
Hephzibah, b. 1779; m. John Wiggin. 
Susanna, b. 1782; in. Coleman. 

Nathaniel Piper lived on the Piper farm above Meredith 
Center, where Caesar Wallace is buried. Their children: 

Benjamin, 1804-1884; m. Mar. 3, 1879, Betsey Moses, 1801- 

1884. He owned the old Piper farm. 
Dudley Sanborn. 

David, m. Mary E. - . 

Polly, d. young. 

Susan. 

Abigail, d. young. 

John, m. Sarah Moses. Their children: 

Lucetta, 1842-1864. 

Oscar J., b. Nov. 27, 1845, d. May 18, 1914; m. in 
Meredith, Mary Batchelder. Their dau., Emma, m. 



412 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Frank Arnold. They had a dau., Carrie, who m. 
Frank Pickering at Meredith Center. Oscar J. Piper 
m., second, Ina Nelson, born in Plymouth, July 26, 
1853; d. 1926. Their children: 

Fred Harold, b. Sept. 27, 1877; reside in Meredith. 

Oscar Guy, b. Aug. 15, 1879; reside in Meredith. 

Ralph Nathaniel, b. Dec. 1, 1882. 

Earl K., d. 1887. 

Dudley Sanborn Piper and wife, Eliza (Shaw) Piper, had a 
daughter, Eliza Shaw Piper, who married Warren Kelley Kim- 
ball, April 30, 1868. Their children: 

Nettie Eldora, b. 1869, m. Luther Flanders of New Hamp- 
ton. They have two children, Loamba Elizabeth and 
Robert Flanders. 

Herman Leroy, m. Lillian Tuttle. 

Frank Blake, m. Bessie Mellor. 

Irville Warren, m. Gladys Harmon. 

Dudley Sanborn Piper, and wife, Eliza (Shaw) Piper, had 
children: 

Polly, who m. Joe Moses; lived in Meredith. 
Benjamin, m. Betsey Moses; lived in Meredith. 

John Piper married Sarah Moses. 

Abigail and Susan died young. 

David Piper was single; died in Quincy, Mass. 

Albert B. Piper (aged 42 in 1897) married January 16, 1897, 
Sophia M. Kelley (aged 49), daughter of Jonathan Kelley and 
wife, Unis Goss of New Hampton. 

Dudley Sanborn Piper and wife, Eliza Shaw, had a daughter, 
Eliza Shaw Piper, who married Warren Kimball April 30, 1868. 
Her mother, Eliza Shaw, was a daughter of Hilliard Shaw, born 
in Chichester. He was an 1812 soldier. Hilliard Shaw married 
Elizabeth Witham, daughter of Peletiah Witham, who was a 
Revolutionary soldier. Hilliard Shaw and wife, Elizabeth, had 
children: Eliza Greenleaf, Elijah and Daniel Shaw. 

Inscriptions 

Inscriptions on stones in a small yard enclosed by a wall on the 
Piper farm, called the B. Piper estate: 

Benjamin Piper died June 17, 1884, aged 80 years. His wife, 
Betsey Moses, died January 25, 1869, aged 68 years. 



GENEALOGIES 413 

Susan Piper died July 13, 1859, aged 29 years. 

Ida A. Piper, daughter of David and Alary E. Piper, died 
April 20, 1877, aged 3 years. 

Lucetta A. Piper, wife of John Webster, died January 24, 1864, 
aged 22 years. 

Dudley S. Piper, born November 24, 1811; died October 18, 
1889. His wife, Eliza Shaw Piper, born December 28, 1811; 
died November 16, 1898. 

From Rev. John W. Haley's Piper Family Records 

Nathaniel Piper \ grandson of the emigrant, was born in Wen- 
ham, Mass., January 22, 1701, and died in Stratham, N. H., 
November 26, 1778. As probate records at Exeter, N. H., state, 
he married Hannah Goss. They had children. After his death 
several of his sons went to Pembroke (then Suncook), and the 
mother went to live with her children. In her will, dated Decem- 
ber 18, 1779, she mentions names of children: Martha Thurston, 
Hannah Goss Piper; sons, Thomas, Gideon, William, Benjamin 
(dead) and Nathaniel or Nathan, who was made sole executor of 
her estate. In 1779 this Nathaniel of Pembroke had been ap- 
pointed administrator of Nathaniel's (his father's estate), late of 
Stratham. (The records of Stratham are few; the oldest ceme- 
tery in Stratham has been ploughed up and the tombstones 
carried away. What do our laws amount to?) 

Gideon Piper, the second son of Nathaniel and Hannah Goss 
Piper, was born in Stratham, September 7, 1741, and died in 
Meredith, May 18, 1816. He moved from Stratham to Pembroke 
in 1762, where his children were born. In 1783 he moved to 
Meredith and cleaned up a farm on a hill overlooking North 
Sanbornton, and there died. In 1781 he was drafted into the 
Revolutionary War by Captain Head. Their children were: 

Abigail, b. Oct. 28, 1762; m. William Chase of Meredith. 

They had six children. 
Anna, b. Mar. 24, 1763; d. 1845; never m. 
Elisha, b. May 2, 1768; m. Mary Folsom, dau. of Rev. 

Nicholas Folsom, she b. Sept. 5,' 1774; d. May 18, 1802. 

He m., second, Molly Plumer, dau. of Jesse. She d. 1824; 

he d. June 30, 1834. They had seven children. 
Gideon, b. May 4, 1805, m. Caroline J. Taylor, dau. of William, 

May 31, 1852, in Concord. They moved from the old 

farm in Meredith in 1866 to North Sanbornton, and later 



414 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

to the Bridge (Tilton). He was a prominent man. They 
had a dau., Nellie Chase Piper, b. Aug. 16, 1861. 

Gideon Piper married Mrs. Ann Chandler of New Hampton, 
November 4, 1799. 

Gideon Piper married Betsey Merrill, April 30, 1810, Meredith. 

Gideon Piper married Caroline J. Taylor of Sanbornton, May 
31, 1852. 

Abigail Piper, daughter of Stephen Piper and wife, Abigail 
Church Wiggin of Stratham, married Simeon Gate. They settled 
in Meredith. Her sister, Elizabeth Fiper, born November 5, 
1770, in Stratham, married Andrew Sanborn. They lived in 
West Sanbornton. Another sister, Hepizibah, married John 
Wiggin of Meredith. 

As RUNNELLS, THE PlPERS IN THE SWAIN LlXE 

Nathaniel Piper 4 (Stephen, Thomas, Nathaniel) removed to 
Sanbornton, N. H., about 1787. He was a large landowner, be- 
low the chapel. He married June 13, 1787, Hannah Smith, 
daughter of Deacon Christopher, who lived in Hampton, N. H. 
They had thirteen children. The third son, Nathaniel Piper 5 , 
born April 20, 1800, married Susan Swain, daughter of Ebenezer 
Swain and wife, Sarah Fogg. 

Ebenezer Swain was born in 1765; moved from Epping to New 
Salem. He enlisted when 17 years old and was taken prisoner 
and carried to England, hence his widow was granted a pension. 
He was married before going to New Salem. He died June 29 r 
1807 (as gravestone), aged 42 years. They had (as Sanbornton 
Town History) nine children. (Tradition says he is buried on his 
old farm, north of the Abraham Swain farm in Meredith, which is 
disputed, as I have been informed there are no stones in that yard, 
only field stones, for thirteen graves there. Question?) 

PLUMER 

Joseph Plumer, "The Hermit," descended from Francis 
Plumer, who settled in Newbury, Mass., and was admitted as 
freeman in 1634. 

One of his descendants, Jesse Plumer, married Sarah Merrill. 
They removed from Londonderry to Crotchtown (this name is 
found on the old Massachusetts records, from its position on the 



GENEALOGIES 415 

fork of the rivers), and, as the State Archives state, it was laid out 
as the infant town of Sanborn Town, about 1768. The family 
lived a short time on the "Minister's Great Lot," No. 76, now 
Sanbornton Square. Three years later they settled permanently 
on the edge of Meredith, in the so-called Plumer Neighborhood. 

Their fourth child, Joseph, born in Londonderry in 1774, was 
called very sensitive and timid towards people, and had fear of 
mankind. He was a good scholar and well read. When 21 years 
old he bought seven acres of land at the foot of Meredith Hill, and 
built a house in the forest with a circular cellar. His chimney was 
built of stones with old scythes protruding upward so that no one 
could climb down the chimney and surprise him in the fireplace, 
where he burned long pieces of wood, which he cut, and as the 
ends burned off he would push the stick farther in the fire until 
it was consumed. 

He did not have any windows in his house for any outsiders to 
look in at him, and the only entrance was a door some four feet 
high and three feet wide. In front of this door, inside, which set 
some two feet above the ground (without any steps), was a trap 
door, so if anyone tried to surprise him suddenly he could open 
the trap door and the intruder would fall into the cellar. His 
bedstead was made of spruce poles with boards to edge it, also on 
the bottom, with herbs that he had gathered in the woods to 
sleep on, as he had great faith in Nature's remedies, and always 
kept brimstone along with the herbs for disinfecting. 

The young people often went there for curiosity, and as long as 
they behaved he made them welcome. He entertained the ladies 
by weighing them with a pair of steelyards he had suspended from 
a beam overhead in the room. A hoop hung in it for the lady 
to sit in at a "penny a weight." 

The theological students from New Hampton often visited him 
and held arguments on Bible topics, but he invariably got the best 
of the argument, as he was a good Bible student and could quote 
Scripture as well as the most learned of the students. 

He wore homespun cloth uncolored for clothing and no hat. It 
is said that he wrote some jingles but never read a newspaper. 
He was said to watch strangers with an eagle eye, until he was 
satisfied that they were friendly towards him. 

The family were industrious, well-to-do citizens and well spoken 
of in the communitv. 



416 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

He died as he had lived, "alone," aged 84 years. 

The Plumer family came from England, and settled on Plumb 
Island, about 1635, then drifted inland to Newburyport, Mass. 

Joseph Plumer settled in Gilmanton as a farmer; he married 
Sally Lamprey. Their children : 

Ann E., m. Ayers; settled in Maine. 

Mary E., m. Henry E. Marsh of Gilmanton. 
Laura, m. J. H. Drew of Gilmanton. 

Charles E. Plumer was a large landowner of over one thousand 
acres. He was an extensive stock raiser. He married Mary, 
daughter of Stephen Moody of Gilmanton. Their children: 

Etta J., m. Edwin N. Sanborn of Laconia. 
Carrie E., m. Frank H. Furber of Alton. 

William A., born in 1865, was a Dartmouth graduate. He went 
to Canaan and taught school, where he was popular as a teacher, 
and later he attended the Boston University Law School; was 
admitted to the New Hampshire Bar in 1889, and a little later 
was a partner of Hon. S. S. Jewett. He married in 1890, Ellen F., 
daughter of George W. Murray. They had one son, Wayne M. 
Plumer, born in 1891. 

Inscription on the stone of Col. Dudley Prescott on his farm, 
now grown up to big trees. He married Martha Swain, June 22, 
1780, in Epping, and settled in Belmont in 1786. 

Sacred to the Memory of Col. Dudley Prescott 
Who Was Born in Epping July 9, 1758, 
and Died in Gilmanton August 3, 1815 
He volunteered his services to his country in the darkest period of the Revolu- 
tionary War, and was in some of the battles that contributed to give freedom 
to the Colonies. At an early period he found his way through a tractless wilder- 
ness into the westerly part of Gilmanton and after great industry and depriva- 
tion made the wilderness smile with the fruits of trees and flowers of spring. 
His life was devoted to acts of charity and many of the first settlers of Gilman- 
ton were often sustained by his assistance. May his ashes slumber in sweet 
repose, his faults be forgotten and his virtues imitated by posterity. 

Ye grieve, friends, now cease to mourn. 
To die, you know, we all were born. 

PRESCOTT 
Colonel Dudley Prescott was a Revolutionary soldier. He 
married Martha Swain in Epping, and they settled in Upper Gil- 



GENEALOGIES 417 

manton (Belmont). Martha was a daughter of Nathan Swain, 
born in 1760, died in 1834. He was a colonel of the 10th Militia. 

Their son, Horatio Gates Prescott, born in 1780, married Leah 
Prescott Wadleigh, his cousin, born in 1783 at Hampton Falls. 
They lived at Meredith Bridge (Laconia). 

Their second child, Rachel Prescott, born in 1784, married 
Jonathan, son of Samuel Ladd, born in 1779, a merchant at 
Meredith Bridge. She died in 1814/5. He married, second, 
Betsey, daughter of Gordon Lawrence. He died in 1826. 

Their seventh child and fourth daughter, Hannah, born in 

1 796, married Daniel Ela Swasey in 1820. He died in 1825. One 
daughter, Martha Ann, born in 1823, married Royal Winter in 
1844. He died in 1851. Mrs. Swasey died at Meredith Bridge 
in 1857. 

Josiah Prescott married Hannah Batchelder. Their first child, 
Josiah, born in 1743, married Betsey Smith, sister to Judge 
Ebenezer Smith of Meredith. Betsey (Smith) Prescott married, 
second, Jeremiah Bean of Candia, and married, third, Dr. Jona- 
than Hill of Gilmanton Iron Works. They were married in 1798. 
She died at Grandtham in 1830. Her daughters by Josiah Pres- 
cott were: Mary, Elizabeth and Hannah. 

Mary Prescott, daughter of John and wife, Hannah Rundlett of 
Epping, married Gordon Lawrence, brother of Edward of Epping, 
born in 1750. They settled in Meredith as farmers. She died in 

1797. He married, second, Betsey Kelley of Salem in 1812. 
Erastus W. Prescott, born in 1827, a blacksmith of Meredith 

Village, married Tryphena Huntress. He was a son of David 
Prescott and wife, Polly Glines of Holderness. 

Gordon Lawrence, born in 1781, son of Gordon Lawrence and 
wife, Mary (Prescott) Lawrence, married Polly, daughter of John 
Wadleigh, in 1801. They settled in Canada. 

Their fourth child, Samuel Lawrence, married, first, Susan 
Smith, daughter of Hon. Ebenezer Smith of Meredith. She died 
and he married, second, her sister, Betsey, who lived and died in 
Meredith. 

Their seventh child and fifth son, Noah Lawrence, born in 1782, 
married Priscilla, daughter of Jeremiah Marston,in 1804. She was 
born in 1783, died in 1807. He married in 1847 her sister, Mary 
Marston. They settled in Canada East. 

The eighth child and sixth son, Hazen Lawrence, son of Gordon 



418 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Lawrence and wife, Mary Prescott, born in 1787, married Sally, 
daughter of Col. Daniel Smith of Meredith, and later removed 
to Gilmanton. He died in 1856 in Canada East. 

Their third daughter and ninth child, Betsey Lawrence, born in 
1791, married Jonathan Ladd, a merchant, at Meredith Bridge 
(Laconia) in 1816. He was born in 1779 and died in 1816. She 
married, second, Stephen Woodman Mead of Meredith in 1832. 
He was born in 1799. She died in 1841. 

John Perkins of Meredith married Lucy Prescott. Their 
daughter married John Smith, son of Hon. Ebenezer Smith of 
Meredith and his wife, Sarah (Spiller) Smith. He was a farmer, 
justice of the peace, and worthy citizen. 

John Smith, "the tailor," married Rebecca Marston in Hamp- 
ton. 

Josiah Hall, son of John Hall and wife, Ruth Prescott, born in 
1784 in New Chester (Hill), married as his second wife, Sarah 
(White) Ferrin. Their sixth child, Rev. King Solomon Hall, 
born at Groton, N. H., in 1819, married Ann E. Buswell, daughter 
of Caleb Buswell of Warner, in 1847. He was educated at New 
Hampton Literary and Theological Institution, where he gradu- 
ated in 1845. In 1851 he was settled over the Baptist Church at 
Lake Village, where he remained until 1859. In 1854 he was 
elected a member of the Board of School Commissioners. In 
1855 he was secretary of the board and later settled as pastor 
again at Lake Village, formerly a part of Meredith. 

Jeremiah Prescott, son of Col. Jeremiah Prescott (who signed 
the Association Test in 1776) and wife, Jane Sherburne of Epsom. 
Their son, Jeremiah, married Molly Sanborn, daughter of 
Timothy Sanborn of Epsom. 

Their third child, Jeremiah, born in 1794, married Betsey 
Moses in 1815. They lived at Meredith Village, where he died 
in 1860. She died at Pittsfield and is buried at Meredith. 

Their sixth child, Jane S. Prescott, born in 1800, married Capt. 
Amos Cram in 1821. He was a son of Jonathan W. Cram and 
wife, Polly Dockham, born in 1799. He was a carpenter and 
painter at Meredith Village. He was a captain of the militia 
and held many town offices. 

William Thompson, a son of William Thompson and wife, 
Catherine (Mason) Thompson of Stratham, born in 1758, died, 
aged 40 years. He married Mary, daughter of Major Prescott, 



GENEALOGIES 419 

baptized 1758. Their fourth son and fifth child, Benjamin 
Thompson, born in 1788, married Ruth, daughter of Thomas 
Eastman of Meredith, in 1809. He was born in 1792. She died 
in 1829, aged 37 years. He died in 1829. 

John Hubbard of Sandwich, born at Ipswich Hamlet in 1847, 
drifted through many towns. He married, in Gilmanton, Judith 
Prescott. Their daughter, Mary, born in 1780, married John 
Ambrose of Moultonboro. He died in 1806. She married, 
second, Parker Plummer of Meredith. Later they removed to 
Sandwich. Their sixth child, Catherine, born in 1787 (a twin), 
married Timothy Badger and settled at Meredith in 1807. Their 
eighth child, Susan, born in 1791, married Dr. John Sanborn of 
Meredith Village in 1820. She died in 1866. 

Josiah Rundlett, son of Josiah and wife, Mary (James) Rund- 
lett of Epping, born in 1762, settled in Upper Gilmanton. He 
married Dolly, daughter of Micah Prescott and wife, Abigail 
(Brown) of Epping. Their fourth child and third son, Daniel P. 
Rundlett, born in 1790, married Polly Hadley. They lived in 
Meredith. Their seventh child. Polly, 1797-1851, married 
Bailey Young of Meredith. 

Prescott Memorial 

Samuel Lawrence married Susan, daughter of Hon. Ebenezer 
Smith of Meredith. Their son, Ebenezer Smith Lawrence, born 
in 1807, married in 1829, Hannah Plummer Ladd, daughter of 
Dudley Ladd. They lived on the Gilford side of Meredith 
Bridge Village, where they lived some years, but later he received 
an appointment to the Custom House office in Boston. Their 
third child, Ezekiel Brown Lawrence, born in 1809, married 
Susan Kelley, born at New Hampton. They lived on a farm 
in Laconia. 

Noah Lawrence, son of Gordon Lawrence and wife, Mary 
Prescott, daughter of John Prescott and wife, Hannah Rundlett, 
married Priscilla Marston, daughter of Jeremiah Marston of 
Meredith. Their third child, Mary Burleigh Lawrence, born in 
1808, married Abraham True of Meredith in 1827, he born in 
1800. They had one son, Noah L. True. Their ninth child, 
Nancy Boynton Lawrence, born in 1822, married Joseph W. 
Robinson of Meredith in 1845. She died in 1850. 

Hazen Lawrence, born in 1787, son of Gordon Lawrence and 



420 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

wife, Betsey Kelley, married Sally Smith, daughter of Daniel 
Smith Lawrence, who was born in 1820. He was a blacksmith 
at Laconia. Their eighth child, Sally Smith Lawrence, born in 
1823, married Alvin Jay Batchelder of Meredith in 1842. He was 
a son of Deacon John Batchelder of Meredith, a blacksmith and 
removed to Charlestown, Mass. They had two sons and two 
daughters. 

Betsey Lawrence, born in 1791, married Jonathan Ladd, a mer- 
chant at Meredith Bridge. Their son, Lucian Augustus Ladd, 
born in 1821, married Mary Jane Smith, daughter of Charles 
Smith and wife, Anna Smith of Meredith. They were married 
in 1843. Their second child, Olive Jane, born in 1824, married 
Dr. Joseph Knowles, son of William Knowles of Northfield. He 
died at Meredith Bridge in 1852. She married, second, David S. 
Prescott in 1853, a physician. Lived in Laconia. Betsey 
Lawrence married, second, Stephen W. Mead. Their son was 
George Lawrence Mead, born in 1853, died in Boston. 

Samuel Washington Prescott, born in 1786, married Mary, 
daughter of Enoch Brown of Pittsfield in 1812. They lived in 
Lake Village and Gilford. Their son, Enoch Brown Prescott, 
born in 1813, married in 1839 Hannah Gove Thing, born in 1815. 
He lived in Lake Village and was a blacksmith. Their sixth son, 
Samuel Washington Prescott, born in 1823, lived in Meredith. 
Their seventh child, John Oliver Prescott, born in 1825, married 
in 1851 Lydia B. Randall, born in 1827. He was a machinist in 
Lake Village. 

John S. Osgood, son of Samuel Prescott of Gilford, married 
Leah Prescott, born in 1782. Their daughter, Livonia, married 
Abial, son of Benjamin Sanborn of Gilford; later moved to La- 
conia. Their sixth child, Rachel, married Elbridge G., son of 
John Haven of Meredith Bridge Village. 

Jonathan Bean Prescott, son of Samuel Prescott, married 
Phebe Morrison of Sanborn ton, daughter of Bradbury Morrison. 
Their sixth child, Dr. David Sanborn Prescott, born in 1823, 
married in 1853 Mrs. Jane L. Knowles of Laconia, widow of Dr. 
Joseph Knowles, she a daughter of Jonathan Ladd and wife, 
Betsey Lawrence (Ladd). He was a Dartmouth graduate, and 
in 1853 took up Dr. Knowles' practice. 

Susan Hubbard, born in 1791, married Dr. John Sanborn of 
Meredith Village, born in 1789. Their second child, Susan 



GENEALOGIES 421 

Catherine, born in 1823, married Levi Leach; lived in Meredith. 
Their third child, Dr. John Henry Sanborn, born in 1830, married 
Elizabeth Leach in 1854. He practised with his father in Mere- 
dith Village. 

Enoch Brown Prescott, born in 1813, son of Samuel W. Prescott 
of Lake Village, and wife, Mary Brown, married Hannah G. 
Thing of Lake Village. Their children: 

John Freeman Thing, b. 1841. 
Susan Adda, b. 1850. 
Enoch True, b. 1852. 
Cora Ellen, b. 1857. 

Therina Osgood married Col. Ebenezer Stevens, son of Paul 
Stevens of Gilford; lived in Meredith. Their children: Cyrus, 
Pelestena and Ann. 

Susanna Prescott, daughter of Asa Prescott and wife, Hannah 
Thompson of Sanbornton, married Obadiah Eastman; lived near 
Meredith Line. Their children : 

Hannah Elizabeth, b. 1846. 
George Prescott, b. 1848. 

Mary Prescott, born April 12, 1766, daughter of Samuel Pres- 
cott and wife, Anna Healey of Gilmanton, married Daniel son of 
Moses Flanders of Loudon, in October, 1835; resided in Andover. 
Their children: 

Eunice, b. 1788; m. William, son of Edward Scribner of Gil- 
manton, Oct. 8, 1810; lived in Gilmanton and removed to 
Holderness, where he d. 

Lucy, b. 1790; m. John, son of Ezekiel French of Gilmanton. 

Nancy, b. 1792; d. 1794. 

Sarah, b. 1795; m. Dudley Dearborn. 

Nancy, b. 1797; m. Scribner, son of Samuel Mudgett, in 

1825. Mary married Daniel Flanders (as above). 

Lemuel, b. 1801; m. Eliza Gilman; went West. 

Lydia, b. 1803; m. Oliver Osgood. 

Judith, b. 1808; m. Edward Gould Mudgett, son of Edward 
of Gilmanton (Meredith), Oct. 1826; resided in Canaan. 
Issue of Mary Prescott and Daniel Flanders: 

Mary Frances, b. 1835; m. John Geddon of East Boston, 
1853. 

Sarah Ann, b. 1837; m. Reuben Cook of East Boston. 

William Mudgett, b. 1839; d. 1840. 

Daniel Bailey, b. 1844. 
Other children born and died young. 



422 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Samuel, son of Jonathan Prescott, and wife, Rachel Clifford of 
Kensington and Gilmanton. 

Jonathan Prescott, born in 1723, married Rachel Clifford, born 
in 1723. They settled in Kensington, where all his children were 
born. He signed the Association Test there in 1776, entered 
the service of his country, and served through the Revolution. 
He went to Pierce's Island in 1775 under Capt. Joseph Clifford 
and Col. Thomas Tash. In 1776 he went to New York under 
Capt. William Prescott and Col. Thomas Tash. He was at West 
Point and other places in New York State, the last years under 
Capt. Henry Butler and Col. Thomas Bartlett. He removed to 
Gilmanton in 1793, where he died December 10, 1809, aged 
86 years. 

Maj. William Prescott, born in 1728, married, in 1750 his 
cousin, Susanna, daughter of Joseph Sanborn, Jr., and wife, 
Susanna (James) Sanborn. Joseph Sanborn, Jr., was a son of 
Joseph and wife, Mary (Gove) Sanborn, Sr., who was the son of 
John and Mary (Tuck) Sanborn, the emigrant, who was one of the 
first settlers if Hampton, N. H. Susanna Sanborn, born April 18, 
1728; died in 1800. Maj. William Prescott settled in Hampton 
Falls, built a large house there in 1780, sold it to John Wadleigh 
and removed to Sanborn ton when the town was sparsely settled, 
where he died September 28, 1811, aged 83 years. He was 
prominent in the Revolutionary War and was commander of a 
regiment, under Col. Jonathan Moulton when they went into 
winter quarters at Peeksville. He was captain in that company, 
Abraham Sanborn was lieutenant and Ebeneezer and Jonathan 
Prescott were privates. 

Capt. Jonathan Prescott, was a son of Jonathan Prescott and 
wife, Elizabeth, born in 1675. He died at Kensington January 6, 
1755, aged 80 years. He was one of the petitioners for the new 
town of Kensington in 1736. In 1696 he labored seven days at 
Fort William and Mary, and in 1710 was one of a scouting party 
under Capt. John Gilman. 

Jonathan Prescott, born in 1675, was the son of James Prescott 
and wife, Mary Boulter. James came from Dryby in the County 
of Lincolnshire, England, in 1665 and settled in Hampton, which 
was in the "Old County of Norfolk," Mass. His farm was some 
two miles north of Hampton Falls Academy. He was a man of 



GENEALOGIES 423 

integrity and influence, in whose opinion people placed the utmost 
confidence. 

Frank R. Prescott, born in 1870 at Weirs, son of Samuel W. 
Prescott and wife, Emma (Jenness) Prescott, born in Vermont. 
He moved to Meredith and went into the lumber business, where 
he has been very successful. He is connected with the Meredith 
Trust Co. and the Utilities Power Company. He married in 
1915, Mary, daughter of Gilbert Pynn of Meredith. 

Flanders Family 

By William Prescott, Author of Prescott Memorial 

Jonathan 5 , Richard C. 4 , Jonathan \ John 2 , Stephen Flanders 
and wife, Apphia Danford. He married, second, Sophronia 
Knowlton of Hopkinton, N. H., in 1820. They had ten children. 

Jonathan 5 Flanders was born October 23, 1791; and was a 
farmer in Gilmanton. 

Moses F., born April 21, 1786, Concord, son of Oliver and wife, 
Abigail Chandler. 

Moses F., born June 2, 1762, son of Ezekiel and wife, Sarah 
, Hampton. 

Moses F., born June 2, 1767, Boscawen, son of sixth Jesse and 
Ruth. 

Moses F., born January 20, 1749. 

RAY 

Caleb Ray, in the year of 1645, appears in early records of the 
Second Church of Boston, and a brother of his, Daniel Ray, of 
New Plymouth, in 1630. On the genealogical tree of the Ray- 
family are inscribed the following lines: 

"The hasty Coffin — fractious loud; 
The silent Gardner — plotting; 
The Mitchells good, the Barkers proud, 
The Macys eat the pudding; 
The Rays and Russells coopers are, 
The knowing Folgers lazy — 
A learned Coleman very rare, 
And scarce an honest Hussey." 

William Ray was a descendant of Caleb Ray. 
Daniel Ray, the emigrant, of Danvers, Mass., married Hep- 
zibah Peabody. 



424 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Joshua Ray. 

Zorabel Ray of Danvers, Mass., married Margaret Rogers. He 
died in 1744. 

Caleb Ray, born in 1727, died in 1760, was a physician 
and surgeon, in an expedition against Ticonderoga in 1758. 
He married Widow Abigail Sargent, second, married Ruth 
Porter. 

Caleb, son of Caleb of Windham, Maine, born in 1790, died in 
1849; married Susan Bickford. 

Fabius Ray, born in 1837, graduated at Bowdoin College, and 
studied law; was a member of the Maine legislature, was in the 
House in 1871 and in the Senate in 1885. He married Mary M. 
Marrett. 

Lieut. William Ray, Vol. 1, returned to Meredith from 4th Co. 
as lieutenant, also ensign Vol. 2, in Lieut. Col. Ebeneezer Smith's 
Co., 1777, at Ticonderoga; Vol. 3, in Capt. Sinclair's Co., West 
Point, 1780. 

Vol. 1, William Ray, among men who went to Canada in Capt. 
Joseph Badger's Co., returned to Gilmanton (Meredith). March 
12, 1812, he received pay for road going through a part of his land 
beginning at "the stone casway" till it strikes Jacob Currier's 
land. He married a sister of "White Oak" Joseph Neal. He 
died about 1831. 

Betsey Ray (Elizabeth), daughter of William Ray and wife, 
died when young, October 6, 1814. 

John Ray, born in 1804; died December 3, 1878, at Meredith, 
aged 74 years. 

Hannah C. Ray, daughter of John Nason and wife, Elizabeth 
Nason, died January 14, 1877. 

Fred Smith's wife has a history of the Roberts and Meads. 
'Her husband was a Mead descendant. 

Joshua Wiggin died March 25, 1860, aged 48 years. 

Nancy (Neal) Wiggin died March 18, 1855, aged 44 years. 

Lieut. William Ray and His Descendants of 
West Rumney, N. H. 

Lieut. William Ray came from Nottingham. Tradition states 
that he brought thirty or forty apple sprouts with him and 
planted them in Meredith. One old tree is to be seen in the 



GENEALOGIES 425 

Joseph Xeal orchard at the present time, where he settled near 
the home of Joseph Neal, his brother-in-law, between the "Prov- 
ince Road " and the D. W. Highway. Lieut. William Ray married 
Elizabeth Neal, sister of "White Oak" Joe Neal. Among their 
children was a son, Nathaniel Ray, who was captain of the militia 
in training days. Two children are buried in the Joseph Neal 
burying ground, on the old farm, where it appears that Lieut. 
William Ray and wife, Elizabeth, are also buried. 

Capt. Nathaniel Ray married Sarah Bickford. They had a 
son, Nathaniel, also a son, Ebeneezer Bickford Ray. When he 
was young, they were poor and only had small parcels of land and 
no money to buy more, so they moved to Ellsworth, where they 
could get land cheaper. When they moved they left behind the 
gun that the lieutenant used in the Revolution, also a sword, with 
a long rod with an iron hatchet on the end for protection. Capt. 
Nathaniel Ray was buried at Ellsworth. No stones. 

Lieut. William Ray lived on the east side of the Province Road, 
near the Joseph Neal homestead, and his son, Capt. Nathaniel 
Ray, lived on the west side of the Province Road, where the Tut- 
tles, who bought the place, made a burying ground, using the 
cellar wall as an edge to the yard or fence. This yard is where 
Stoten Tuttle is buried, above the Ray corner, and the Tuttle 
watering trough. 

Nathaniel Ray, born in Meredith, August 24, 1810, died in 
New Hampton, October 2, 1871. He was a son of Capt. Nathan- 
iel Ray and wife, Sarah (Bickford) Ray. His father was William 
Ray, who married Elizabeth Neal, a daughter of Samuel Neal and 
wife, Elizabeth Haley of Rye and Stratham. 

Nathaniel Ray, born in Meredith, married Mary Locke, born in 
Alexandria, September 26, 1832, a daughter of William Locke, 
born in Epsom, September 6, 1785; he was married December 25, 
1808, to Mercy Shaw, born in Epsom, March 8, 1791, died in 
Lowell, Mass., in 1869. He was a farmer in Alexandria, and died 
in Epsom in 1829. They had six children (as the Locke Gene- 
alogy) . 

William Locke was a son of William Locke, born in Rye, June 
16, 1758; married October 29, 1779, Abigail Saunders, born 
October 7, 1760, daughter of John Saunders, born in 1720, of 
Torbay, England, and his wife, Tryphena Philbrick, born in Rye, 
April 24, 1729, married January 29, 1760, as John Saunder's 



426 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

second wife. He was lost in the big gale of 1770, and she married, 
second, in 1780, Jonathan Berry. 

Tryphena Philbrick, born in 1729, daughter of Joses Philbrick, 
born in 1703, and wife, Abigail Locke, bom at Rye in 1706, mar- 
ried January 4, 1826/7. Joses Philbrick was a son of Joseph and 
wife, Tryphena (Marston) Philbrick. Abigail Locke, born in 
1706, was a daughter of Deacon William Locke, born at Hampton, 
April 17, 1677; married in 1699 Hannah Knowles of Kingston, 
daughter of John and Jemina (Austin) Knowles. Hannah 
Knowles, born at Hampton in 1678; died at Rye, September 12, 
1769, aged 91 years. Deacon Locke bought many different pieces 
of land in Portsmouth and "on ye bank to Greenland." In 1728 
he bought, in Rye, land called "Ye island of ye pond," once called 
"Locke's Hole." He died at Rye in 1781. He was a son of 
Capt. John Locke, baptized at London, England, in 1627; married 
about 1652, Elizabeth, daughter of William and Jane (Berry) 
Locke. Captain Locke was killed by the Indians August 26, 
1696, while working on his land. They had twelve children (as 
Locke's Genealogy). 

Ebeneezer Bickford Ray was born at Meredith in 1808, and 
lived to be 93 years old. He married Jane Marston. 

William Frank Ray, only son of Ebeneezer Bickford Ray and 
wife, Jane Marston, married Addie M. Dolloff of Rumney, N. H., 
daughter of Augustus Dolloff and wife, Martha Jane (Elliott) 
Dolloff of Dorchester, N. H. (This town was formerly opposite 
Rumney.) Children of William Frank Ray and wife: 

Edward Eben, b. Sept. 22, 1883. 

Everett Agustus, b. Nov. 7, 1884. 

Susie Jane, b. Aug. 24, 1886; m. William B. Atwood of 

Rumney, June 10, 1910. 

George Thurman, b. June 11, 1888. 

Archie Marston, b. Dec. 5, 1889. 

Ethel Tryphena, b. Mar. 11, 1893. 

Frank Hubert, b. Mar. 5, 1895; d. young. 

William Hovey ) , . , , T 02 1Qn . 
T u > twins, b. May 23, 1896. 

John Hibbard \ y 

Rufus Dolloff, b. May 11, 1902. 

William Ray is a cousin to Alonzo Ray Sanborn, born in Camp- 
ton. He married Martha J. Avery. Their son, Alonzo Ray 
Sanborn, born at Campton in 1869, lives part of the time on the 



GENEALOGIES 427 

Emerson Martson farm in Meredith. He married Nellie Tucker 
of Thornton. 

William Ray, originally in family of Lazarus Row, cleared ten 
acres in 1770. 

John Neal, originally Jonathan Wadleigh, had land, and one in 
the family cleared one acre in Meredith which was settled De- 
cember 31, 1748. Granted to Samuel Palmer, called "Palmers- 
towne," later called "New Salem," and changed to Meredith in 
1768. 

Daniel Smith came to Palmerstown in 1748, near Winepesioca 
Pond. 

Towle to Ray 

John Towle of Meredith, consideration $150 dollars, granted to Nathaniel 
Ray, being part of the homestead, owned by Capt. William Ray, bounded 
beginning at the corner of Ray's land by the side of the highway that leads to 
Dovv's Mill, about 2 rods from the north corner of Ray's house, thence to run 
westerly, binding on highway, 8 rods to stake and stone; thence northerly from 
the first boundary adjoining the Province Road, so called, 10 rods to a stake 
or stone, thence westerly to where the road runs to Dow's Mill 8 rods to a stake; 
thence southerly to the second bounds, to contain half an acre, and is the same 
land where John Towle built a small building, Dec. 29, 1797. 

Silas Ray, April 8, 1818, of Amenia, N. Y., enlisted in Keene, 
under William Ellis, Colonel Scammel, for three years. On June 
26, 1820, he was 64 years old. He enlisted in 1777 at Charlestown. 
His family was a wife, 54 years old, two sons, 23 and 11, and a 
daughter, 13 years old. Names not stated. 

September 25, 1829, William Ray, son and heir to Silas Ray, 
testified that his father enlisted in 1776. Silas Ray died in 
Dutchess County, N. Y., April 16, 1828. He never received a 
bounty, to which he was entitled, and William Ray applied for 
100 acres of land. William Ray married Elizabeth Neal, daugh- 
ter of "White Oak" Joseph Neal, and lived near his father-in-law. 
He, his wife and two children are buried in the old Neal yard on 
the farm. 



ROBERTS 

Stearns' History states that Thomas Roberts settled on Dover 
Neck, about 1623. The land he was on was occupied by Roberts' 
descendants over two centuries. They were men who were in 



428 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

public offices and occupied high positions. In 1662 he rebuked 
his sons, who were constables, for enforcing the law against 
Quaker women. 

Whittier's poem on how they drove the Quaker women from 
Dover: 

The tossing spray of Cohecho's falls 

Hardened to ice on its icy walls 

As through Dover town, in the chill gray dawn, 

Three women passed, at the cart tail drawn, 

Bared to the waist, for the north wind's grip 

And keener sting of the constable's whip. 

The blood that followed each hissing blow 

Froze as it sprinkled the winter snow; 

Priest and ruler, boy and maid, 

Followed the dismal cavalcade; 

And from door and window, open thrown, 

Looked and wondered, gaffer and crone. 

Thomas Roberts had been a member of the church over twenty 
years. He died about 1673 and was buried on Dover Neck. 
Tradition, through Charles Roberts of Meredith, states that 
Thomas Roberts was drawn on a jury as one of the men to punish 
the Quaker women for maintaining their religion. He refused and 
the Dover magistrate took his cow away to punish him. In his 
will he gave most of his property to his daughter, Sarah, and 
husband, Richard Rich, but remembered in his will, John and 
Thomas; Hester, wife of John Martin; Anne, wife of James Phil- 
brick of Hampton; and Elizabeth, wife of Benjamin Heard. 

John Roberts, born in 1629, his son, was prominent on Dover 
Neck; he married Abigail, daughter of Elder Hate-evil Nutter. 
They had children: Joseph, Hatevil, and probably Thomas and 
Abigail Nutter Roberts. In 1679 John was in Portsmouth, 
served as marshall of the Province, but resigned in 1681. 

Thomas Roberts, born in 1633, married Mary, daughter of 
Thomas Leighton of Dover. 

Nathaniel lived on Dover Neck; married Elizabeth Mason. 
Their children : 

Hester, m. John Martin of New Jersey in 1673. 
Anne, m. James Philbrick of Hampton. 
Elizabeth, m. Benjamin Heard. 
Sarah, m. Richard Rich. 

John Roberts, 1793-1870, married Nancy, widow of Nathaniel 
Drake. (Sanbornton, N. H., records.) 



GENEALOGIES 429 

Benjamin Roberts, born in 1809, was a blacksmith at Pipers 
Mills and resided on the edge of Meredith. He was a deacon of 
the Pine Hill Baptist Church. He married Polly Leavitt, who 
came from Sutton, Vt. Their children: 

Benjamin Franklin, b. 1839; m. Lizzie E. Woodward. 

Leavitt Sylvester, b. 1840; m. Laura E. Burley. She d., 
aged 20 years. He m., second Nora L. Liston, b. in 
Canada in 1865. He served three years in the 12th N. H. 
Regiment. 

Ellen P., b. 1844; d. young. 

Ellen P., b. 1846 in Moultonboro; m. Horace P. Howe. 

Dr. John Leavitt Roberts, 1772-1850. He was a wheelwright; 
he made cart wheel blocks with the fellies of rock maple, and the 
tread of the wheel was rounded and made without any tire. He 
married Lovey Hawkins, 1774-1853. They are buried in the 
Bean cemetery. He settled on a farm midway between Meredith 
Milage and Squam Bridge, in the town of Holderness. They had 
children: Levi, John, James, Calvin, Sanders (1801-1847), Ben- 
jamin, Thomas, Washington and Nancy Leavitt Roberts. 

Leavitt Roberts' family were rugged, healthy and industrious. 
Two of them were blacksmiths and six farmed. 

John, James and Thomas settled on Meredith Neck, also their 
sister, Nancy, who married Madison Chase and lived near the 
Advent Church. Several of the family are laid to rest in the 
Bean yard, over the line out of Center Harbor, in Moultonboro, 
one-half mile from Center Harbor Village. 

Sanders married Sophronia and settled on Center 

Harbor Neck. His children were: Harriet J., born in 1842; Ben- 
jamin, 1843-1847; Lydia Melvina, 1834-1856, married David M. 
Huckins. Calvin lived in Moultonboro and Benjamin and Wash- 
ington lived in Sanbornton Levi settled in Barton, Vt. 

Leavitt Roberts lived mostly in Meredith, but died in Center 
Harbor. He married Laura Esther Burleigh, born in 1841, a 
daughter of John S. and wife, Esther Wadleigh, who was a daugh- 
ter of James Wadleigh, Jr., and his wife, Eunice Farnham, and 
she a daughter of Capt. Barachias W. Farnham. He was born in 
1760 at Lebanon, Maine, and married a Stevens. He was in the 
War of 1812, from Sanbornton. His children married into the 
Simpson and Kelley families and lived on Kelley Hill, near the 
Turnpike. Leavitt Roberts had eleven children. Three were 
Baptist deacons. 



430 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John Roberts was one of the first settlers on Meredith Neck. 
His children: 

James. 

David Moody, m. Abby . Their son, Otis S., m. 

Mar. 31, 1883, Cora E. Locke of Gilford, dau. of John C. 

Locke and wife, Mary T. Locke. 

Lieut. Joseph Roberts' son, Joseph R., married Mary Roberts. 
Their three children married Boyntons. 

Warren Roberts, 1804-1851, married Abigail Drake in 1841. 
She died in 1856 at Meredith Center. 

William D. Roberts married in 1823 Phebe Roby in Meredith. 

(This history was written for a Roberts who lived in Texas: it 
may help someone in future days.) 

John Roberts, 1797-1867, married Phebe - -, born in 1799. 
As Durham history states, John Roberts was in the "Parish of 
Madbury," in the town of Durham, in 1758, and John Roberts, 
Jr., was an inhabitant in 1764, among a company of men to pro- 
tect the country called "Gentlemen Troopers." Among them 
were Huggins (Huckins), Davis, Doe, Capt. Joseph Bickford, 
Leathers, Langleys, etc., whose descendants came and settled in 
Meredith. 

Births 

Martha A. Roberts, born February 4, 1819. 

Fannie Roberts, born September 24, 1823; died in 1910. 

William S. Roberts, born December 1, 1826; died in 1845. 

Benjamin R. Roberts, born August 9, 1833; died in 1836. 

John S. Roberts, born June 21, 1838; died in 1910; married 
Sarah J. Whidden, born in 1849 on "Christian Hill" in Holder- 
ness, now Ashland, daughter of Reuben Whidden and wife. 

Reuben Whidden, in the cold year of 1816, raised forty bushels 
of wheat on high land, cut it wet, dried it by the fireplace and 
distributed it among the settlers on the low land who could not 
raise any, and helped feed them that year. The citizens were so 
grateful that in after years they marked his grave on a boulder on 
"Christian Hill." It still stands in memory of his great charity. 

Charles Cutter Roberts, son of Joseph Roberts and wife, Mary 
(Daniels) Roberts, born in Strafford, N. H., December 17, 1835, 
died in 1880; married Hannah Jane Neal in 1858, a daughter of 



GENEALOGIES 431 

Joseph Neal and wife, Lucy Dow, born in Meredith in 1829, died 
in 1913. They settled in Tamworth, N. H. Their children: 

Lucy Jane, 1859-1859. 
Charles Hezekiah, 1860-1913. 
Joseph Neal, 1862-1862. 
Joseph Neal, b. 1865. 
Arthur, 1869-1916. 
Dixie Guy, b. 1874. 

John Roberts was the first Roberts settler in Madbury (Dur- 
ham). His son, Thomas Roberts, died in Brentwood in 1821. 
He married Nancy Wiggin; married, second, Mary, daughter of 
Coffin Sanborn, born in 1737, and wife, Hannah Hilliard, born in 
1741. They settled on the Sanborn Road in Sanbornton. Coffin 
Sanborn was a son of Abner Sanborn and wife, Rachel (Shaw) 
Sanborn, born at Hampton Falls. 

James Roberts married Sarah Whidden of Holderness, a 
daughter of Ezra S. Whidden of Holderness and wife, Susan H. 
-. As stones: Ezra, 1805-1859; Susan, 1811-1863. Their 
children: 

Hosea M. Whidden, 1847-1849. 
Charles E. Whidden, 1850-1857. 
Sarah Whidden Roberts, 1839-1927. 
John S. Roberts, 1838-1910. 

James Roberts married Elmira Clement of Holderness. Their 

daughter, Nancy Ann, married Lovejoy Their daughter, 

Eva Lovejoy, married John Wiggin, a son of George Wiggin; 
lived on Meredith Neck. 

Levi Roberts, a brother to James, 1795-1861, married Abiah 

, 1796-1869. Levi was a brother to James, John and 

Thomas. 

Leavitt Roberts of Meredith. His son, Thomas Roberts, born 
in 1812, helped on the farm until he was married, then he bought 
a farm. He married Nancy Wiggin, daughter of Winthrop 
Wiggin and wife, Hannah Cate. Their children: Betsey, Ann, 
George, Smith and Nancy C. 

Thomas Roberts and wife, Nancy C. (Wiggin) Roberts. 
Children: 

George Smith. 

Eben Fisk. 

Frank; settled in Meredith. 



432 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Oren Nason, b. 1838. After he attained manhood he went 
to Massachusetts, and after some years he returned to 
Meredith and, with his brother, George, and Simeon 
Wadleigh, formed a company called the Wadleigh Plough 
Co., in which he stayed some four years, then bought a 
farm, and served in town business. In 1864 he m. Julia 
Ann, dau. of Clark Smith. Their children: 

Fred S. of Laconia. 

Emma N., m. Wilbur W. Ballard of Meredith, he d. 1926. 

Charles N. of Meredith. 

Harry F. of Massachusetts. 

Bertie C. 

Leavitt Roberts, a pioneer of Meredith Neck. His son, 
Thomas Roberts, 1812-1886, born in Meredith, worked as a 
stonecutter in Quincy, Mass., and later farmed. He married 
Nancy C. Wiggin. Their children : 

George Smith, settled in Chicago, 111. 
Oren N. of Meredith. 
Eben Fisk of Medford. 

James Frank, b. 1852 in Meredith, and spent his life as a 
good farmer. He m. Mrs. Avis E. (Shattuck) Ferry, dau. 
of Rev. Calvin S. Shattuck, who lived in Pittsfield and 
m. Phillis Gray. Their children: 

Rev. Frank Shattuck, who lived in Rochester, N. H. 
Avis E., who m. James Frank Roberts of Meredith. 
Rev. Charles W. Shattuck of Lakeport, N. H. 

John Roberts' daughter, Martha, married John Clark of 
Meredith Neck. Their daughter, Fanny, married Daniel L. 
Alexander. 

James Roberts' children: Newell and Moody. 

Clark 

John Clark, 1812-1860, married Martha A. Roberts in 1838. 
She was born in 1819. Their children: 

Moses Eton, 1846-1921; m. Sarah A. Dow in 1875. 
Fannie M., b. 1849; m. Daniel L. Alexander in 1866. He 
b. 1843, d. 1918. Their children: 
Mattie L., 1876-1899. 

Amy, 1881-1902; m. Arthur Sherlock, 1879-1916. She 
m., second, 1924, George S. Jenks, b. 1876. 
Charles F., 1857-1881. 
Sarah A., 1856-1917. 



GENEALOGIES 433 



ROBERTS 



John Roberts, one of the early settlers on Meredith Neck, had 
a son, John Sawyer Roberts, who married Sarah Whitten. They 
were some of Meredith's respected citizens, who had attained 
fourscore years and past. 

Sarah (Whitten) Roberts was a daughter of Reuben Whitten of 
Holderness (now Ashland Village), who, history states, raised 
forty bushels of wheat, on "Indian Hill," now called "Christian 
Hill," which lies on the upper part of Highland Street in Ashland 
Village, now so called. He was the son of a Revolutionary 
soldier and a pioneer of Holderness, which lies in the foothills of 
our beautiful White Mountains. 

The legend runs that in the cold, sunless year of 1816, Reuben 
Whitten succeeded in raising his wheat. The crops of his neighbors, 
who lived on lower ground, were all drowned out, and many fam- 
ilies starved in that section of the country. Mr. W'hitten gath- 
ered his wheat so as not to lose a kernel, dried it around the 
fireplace, and each week gave some of his neighbors a little,, as 
no vegetables were raised, and with fish and wild game they 
managed to live through the cold, rainy summer. In early fall a 
hard blizzard came and froze many cattle in the pastures, and 
later the flesh was gathered, they were so short of food. 

In 1847, the children of the families that Reuben W'hitten had 
helped save through the sacrifice to his own family, erected a 
monument with this inscription: 

Reuben Whitten 

1771-1849 

This was erected on "Indian Hill," in his memory, where were laid to rest, 
he and his wife, and their son Calvin and his wife, overlooking beautiful Squam 
Lake, in gratitude for saving them from starvation. 

David M. Roberts, born at Meredith in 1872, married Abbie 
Bickford, born on Bear Island. Their son, Willie J. Roberts, 
born , at Meredith. Children: 

Otis. 

Alice J., m. George O. Brown of Campton. 

Benjamin of Meredith. 

Emma, m. Newell Prescott. 

Ada, m. Willard C. Page of Meredith. 

Almeda, m. Albert James of Massachusetts. 



434 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Willie J., who was the third son and seventh child, m. 
Jesse Maloon, dau. of David Maloon and wife, Susan C. 
Wiggin of Bear Island. Their son, Carlton E., lived on the 
farm. 

Charles N. Roberts, born in 1869 at Meredith, son of Orin N. 
Roberts and wife, Julia Ann (Smith) Roberts. Orin N. Roberts 
was a farmer in Meredith, 1738-1826. 

Charles N. Roberts married Jennie M. Prentice, daughter of 
Adrastus P. Prentice and wife, Helen M. (Smith) Prentice. 
Children: Ella, Lloyd E., Frances and Charles N., Jr. 

Charles Cutter Roberts, son of Joseph Roberts and wife, Mary 
(Daniels) Roberts, born in Strafford, N. H., December 17, 1835, 
died September 6, 1880. He married Hannah Jane Neal April 19, 
1858, daughter of Joseph Neal and wife, Lucy Dow, born in 
Meredith April 9, 1829, died April 14, 1913. They settled in 
Tamworth. Their children: 

Lucy Jane, b. Feb. 25, 1859; d. 1859. 
Charles Hezekiah, b. Sept. 22, 1860; d. 1913. 
Joseph Neal, b. Nov. 10, 1862; d. 1862. 
Joseph Neal, b. June 13, 1865. 
Arthur S., b. Apr. 18, 1869; d. 1916. 
Dixie Guy, b. Mar. 8, 1874. 

From an Old Bible at the Zoo in Meredith 

Leavitt Roberts, 1772-1850, lived in Meredith and died in 
Sanbornton at his son's home. His wife, Lovey Roberts, 1774- 
1853. They had eleven children; among them was Benjamin, 
born in 1809, who was a blacksmith at Piper's Mills, on the edge 
of Meredith. He married Polly Leavitt of Sutton, Vt. He was 
a deacon of the Pine Hill Baptist Church ; also two of his brothers 
were deacons of churches. 

Levi Roberts, 1798-1864; his wife, Abiah C, 1796-1869. 

Sanders Roberts, 1801-1847. 

Benjamin Roberts, son of Moody Roberts, married Sin- 
clair. His brother, Will Roberts, married Jessie Maloon, daugh- 
ter of Stephen Maloon, on Meredith Neck. 

Thomas Roberts, 1812-1887; his wife, Nancy G. Roberts, 
1811-1868. 

Thomas Roberts, born Sept. 11, 1812. 

Nancy C. Roberts, born April 6, 1813. 

Oren N. Roberts, born April 16, 1838. 



GENEALOGIES 435 

George S. Roberts, born December 16, 1839. 

Eben F. Roberts, born July 15, 1842. 

James F. Roberts, born November 7, 1852. 

James Roberts, born June 2, 1900. 

John Roberts, 1797-1867. 

Phebe Roberts, 1799-1866. 

Benjamin R. Roberts, 1833-1836. 

William S. Roberts, 1826-1845. 

Fannie R. Lovejoy, 1823-1910. 

Sally P. Bickford, 1810-1836. 

James Roberts, 1803-1833; his wife, Ann Roberts, 1777-1817; 
second wife, Nancy Roberts, 1805-1845. Their son, Benjamin F,, 
1837-1859. 

At the Smith Yard (Opeechee) 

A field stone, chiseled W. R. 1797, near the Roberts graves. 

Joseph Roberts, 1771-1849; his wife, Mary Roberts, 1775-1850. 
In the same line is the grave of Joseph Roberts with a government 
marble marker, Revolutionary soldier, put there by the Mary 
Butler Chapter, also a sunken grave supposed to be that of his 
wife. By the side are the stones of Noah Robinson, 1794-1874; 
his wife, Betsey Robinson, 1778-1858. Their daughter, Mary S., 
wife of Elihu Dow, 1807-1875. 

Sarah B., wife of Joshua B. Robinson, 1817-1875. 

Joseph W. Robinson, 1817-1864. 

Matilda Robinson, 1811-1863. 

James M. Robinson, 1819-1906; his wife, Sarah M. Smith, 
1818-1864. Child died young. 

Jacob J. Severance, 1805-1896; his wife, Susan R. Severance, 
1812-1896. 

Mary R. Severance, 1834-1913. 

Mary, wife of C. Orrill Corliss, 1815-1891. 

John S. Collins, 1835-1893, soldier in 1st N. H. Regiment. His 
wife, Nettie S. Collins, 1848-1899. 

Lieut. John Perkins, 1750-1827; his wife, Lucy Perkins, 
1752-1843. 

Lieut. Daniel Woodman, 1831-1866. 

Edward and Harry, sons of Daniel and wife, B. L. Woodman, 
1854-1856. 

Daniel Woodman, 1791-1857; his wife, Eunice W. Woodman, 
1790-1879. Their son, George Woodman, 1826-1842. 



436 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

ROBINSON 

John Robinson, born about 1616 in Meppershall, Bedford 
County, England, was a son of John Robinson and wife, Kath- 
erine "Eaden." They came to Exeter and Haverhill, and lived 
there. He was killed by Indians in 1675. Their son, John 

Robinson, married Elizabeth of Newbury (probably 

Truckly). Their children: 

John, b. 1641; d. young. 
John, b. 1642; lived one week. 

Jonathan, b. 1645; m. Sarah of Exeter. 

Sarah, b. 1647/8. 

David, b. 1649; m. Sarah Taylor of Exeter. 

Elizabeth, b. 1651. 

Jonathan- married Sarah Robinson. They had eight children: 

John 3 , b. 1671; m. Mehitable Stanyon of Exeter. 
Sarah, b. 1673. 
Esther, b. 1677. 
Elizabeth, b. 1679. 

Jonathan, b. 1681; m. Mary D. . 

David, b. 1684 in Epping; m. Sarah Sanborn; second, Martha 

Scribner of Stratham. 
James, b. 1686; m. Mary Jackson. They had a son, b. Nov. 

27, 1716. He m., second, Elizabeth of Stratham. 

Their son, Joseph R. Robinson, was probably an original 

proprietor of Meredith. 
Joseph, b. 1690. 

John 3 married Mehitable Stanyon. Their children: 

Lydia, m. Morrison. 

Sarah, m. Palmer. 

Jonathan 4 , b. 1720; m. Mercy Chase, 1737/8. 

Jeremiah. 

Daniel. 

Mary, m. Follansbee. 

Jonathan 4 , born in 1720, married Mercy Chase, born in 1738, 
daughter of Jonathan Chase and wife, Joana (Palmer) Chase of 
Stratham. Jonathan Chase was a son of Aquilla Chase, the 
emigrant. Children of Jonathan Robinson and wife, Mercy 
(Chase) Robinson : 

Chase 5 , 1738-1831; b. in Stratham; d. in Meredith. He 

was an original proprietor of Meredith. 
Jonathan, b. 1741; called captain; m. Mary . 



GENEALOGIES 437 

Mary, b. 1744; m. Jonathan Randlett. 

Bradbury, b. 1 748 ; he was a Revolutionary soldier ; moved to 

Nova Scotia. 
Jeremiah, b. 1750; m. Molly, - -; lived in Sandwich; a 

Revolutionary soldier. 
Thomas, b. 1753; m. Polly Prescott; lived in Pembroke. 
Noah, b. 1756; m. Betsey Sinclair; was captain and lieuten- 
ant in the Revolutionary War. They had a son Josiah 
who m. Harriet A. Pitman. They settled in New Hamp- 
ton. 
David, b. 1759; m. Elizabeth Eastman; lived in Meredith. 
They were buried in the First Congregational yard, near 
the Richard Neal Farm. There are stones in the grave- 
yard. 

David Robinson, 1759-1834. 

Elizabeth Robinson, 1763-1833. 

Their dau., Hannah, 1781-1837; m. John Batchelder. 

First wife, Hannah W., 1746-1825. 

Their dau., Hannah Batchelder, 1811-1834; m. Reuben 

Prescott, 1798-1834. 
Eliza A., 1813-1836. 

David Batchelder was a Revolutionary soldier, and had 
many descendants; he was also a pensioner from 
Meredith. 
Wixthrop, b. 1761 ; lived in Center Harbor; a Revolutionary 
soldier. 

Chase 5 Robinson, 1738-1830; married Priscilla, 1734-1830, 
daughter of John and Priscilla (Thurber) Pratt; she was born in 
Seakonk, Maine, and died in Meredith, N. H. Their children 
were buried in the Robinson yard, at Meredith Center. Chil- 
dren : 

John 6 , 1759-1848; m. 1784, Lydia, dau. of Ebenezer and 
wife, Susan (Mackrice) Pitman, 1759-1839. He was a 
Revolutionary soldier for seven years and pensioner; he 
was a nephew of Noah Robinson of New Hampton (as 
pension records). He settled first on his father's lot in 
the Edgerly District (southern part of Meredith), after- 
wards removing to the farm near Ladd Hill. 

Chase, Jr., 1738-1890; m. Ann ; lived in Center 

Harbor. 

Mercy, m. Josiah Marston of Meredith Center; second Col. 
Shephard Folsom. 

Jonathan 6 , b. 1776; m., Dolly, dau. of Thomas and wife, 
Dolly (Folsom) Norris of Exeter. 

Anna, m. Chase Crockett; lived in Meredith. They had a 
dau., Mary Crockett, 1795-1877. 



438 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Thomas 6 , 1769-1827; m. 1796, Polly Crocket, 1778-1842, 
of Epping. They settled in Meredith. Their son, 
Thomas Jefferson Robinson, 1804-1886, m. 1838 Eliza 
Glidden, 1816-1901. Their children: 

Anna M., m. John Edward Butler, son of Rev. Oliver 
Butler, who preached at Meredith Center. His wife 
was Miriam (Sawyer) Watson. Her father was Elijah 
Watson. Thev had a son, Ralph E. Butler, b. Julv 
11, 1871. 
Mary Caroline, d. young. 
Emma Rachel, m. Rev. Charles E. Emery, a pastor at 

Gilford. 
Isabel, m. Joseph Frank Smith, son of Daniel Smith. 
Their children: 

Dr. Robinson W., m. Ruth Hull. 
Joseph F., m. Marion Swain. 

Frederick, m. Grace ; is president at New 

Hampton School. Two daughters. 
Abbie Maud, m. E. Rollins. They have one daugh- 
ter. 
Rachel, m. Wilfred Smart. 
Thomas, d. young. 
Joseph, m. Marion Swain. 
Mary, m. John Ansboro. 
Barbara, m. Edward Edwards. 

John 7 Langdon Robinson, 1809-1897, married Rachel C. 
Smith in 1831, daughter of Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah 
Spiller. Their son, John 8 Henry, married in 1869, Hannah 
Blaisdell, a daughter of David Blaisdell and wife, Eliza. They 
had a daughter, Elnor B., born in 1878. 

Peter 7 Robinson married his cousin, a daughter of Jeremiah 
Robinson. Their son, John Greenleaf, married in 1831 Lucinda 
Roberts; second, in 1852, he married Eunice R. Little. 

Buried in the Robinson Yard, Opposite Mr. Felker's 

Chase Robinson, born in 1738; died July 27, 1829. Stones 
gone. His wife, Priscilla, born in 1735; died November 27, 1830. 

Thomas P. Robinson, born in 1769; died December 22, 1827. 
His wife, Polly Crocket Robinson, born in 1778; died July 10, 
1842. Anna W. Chase Crocket, born in 1748; died January 13, 
1829. 

Mary C. Robinson, born in 1795; died March 16, 1877. 

Capt. H. Robinson, born in 1797, died March 13, 1850. 



GENEALOGIES 439 

Thomas J. Robinson, born in 1804; died May 26, 1886. His 
wife, Eliza Glidden, born in 1816, died December 15, 1901. 

John Langdon Robinson, born in 1809; died April 16, 1897. 
His wife, Mrs. Rachel C. Smith, born in 1811; died January 12, 
1892. 

John Robinson, born in 1759; died March 7, 1848. His wife, 
Lydia Pitman, born in 1769; died March 23, 1859. 

Chase Robinson, born in 1790; died July 9, 1880. His wife, 
Sally Wadleigh, born in 1793; died April 16, 1879. 

Joseph W. Robinson, born in 1818; died May 9, 1886. His 
wife, Frances Weld, 1831-1906. 

John P. Robinson, born in 1822; died August 13, 1861. His 
wife, Lavina. Their daughter, Nellie, died in 1858, aged one 
year. 

John S. Ladd, 1820-1869. His wife, Sarah J. Robinson, 1828- 
1890. Their daughter, Mary C. Ladd, 1864-1865. 

John C. Huse, 1794-1841. 

Noah Robinson, born May 7, 1754, in Stratham was a 
Revolutionary soldier with Washington at Valley Forge. He 
went to sea as commander of the Marines. Tradition states 
that they captured 137 British vessels in the Bay of Biscay. 
They got a British man-of-war. He married Nancy Wiggin in 
Stratham; buried in Meredith. Noah Robinson was a son of 
Capt. Mark D. L. Robinson. His son, De La Fayette Robinson. 

Noah 6 Robinson, born in 1775, married in 1799, Susan Home 
of Barnstead. Their children: 

Christiana, b. 1800. 
Hannah S., b. 1802. 
Susan Howe, b. 1804. 
Noah M. W., b. 1808. 
Nancy Pratt, b. 1811. 
Betsey Jane, b. 1813. 

John Robinson, who married Lydia Pitman. Their children: 

Susan 7 , b. 1785; m. Abram Swain of Meredith Center. 
Ebenezer, b. 1787; m. Betsey Shaw. Their children: 
Munroe 8 had one dau. who m. John Collins. 

Sally Wadleigh, born in 1792; married John C. Huse, 1794- 
1841, of Sanborn ton. He is buried opposite the Felker home. 
Sally married, second, Chase of Campton. 



440 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Noah 7 Robinson, born in 1794; married Betsey Sinclair. They 
had a son, Joshua, who married, when 61 years old, Harriet A. 
(Hatch) Pitman. He aged 38 years; she a daughter of Isaac C. 
Hatch and wife, Emily. 

Jonathan 7 Robinson, born in 1797; married in 1829, Charlotte 
Smith of Meredith; no children. 

Joshua B. 7 Robinson, born in 1800; married in 1842, Sarah 
Hall of Gilmanton. 

Abigail Robinson, born in 1803; married Joseph Edgerly; mar- 
ried, second, Elisha Smith. 

John P. Robinson, born in 1805; married in 1834, Lorinda C. 
Kenney of Meredith. 

Betsey K. Robinson, born in 1815; married Daniel Randlett; 
went to Virginia. 

Chase 7 Robinson, 1789-1880, was buried opposite the Felker 
home. He married in 1811, Sally Wadleigh, 1792-1879, daughter 
of Nathaniel Wadleigh, who enlisted in the Revolution when 
19 years old from Candia, N. H. Their children: 

Nathaniel 8 , b. 1815; d. in one week. 

Joseph Wadleigh, 1818-1886. In 1850 he lived in Gilford. 
He bought out the heirs of Chase Robinson (now owned by 
Mr. Felker) in Meredith. He m. first, Nancy B. Lawrence 
of Meredith. He had a dau., b. 1851. He moved onto 
the old farm in 1852. He m. (one account states) Matilda 
G. Crocket of Meredith in 1841. Nancy B. Lawrence 
was a dau. of Noah Lawrence and a sister to Smith Law- 
rence. 

Joseph Wadleigh Robinson married, second, Frances Eliza 
Weld, 1831-1906. Their son, Francis Joseph, born in 1864, 
married in 1889 Edith Eldora Webster, born in 1869 at Center 
Harbor, daughter of Moses S. Webster and wife, Hannah Webster. 
A son, George W., married Mary B. Nickerson of Lisbon in 1894. 

John Pratt Robinson married Lavina , 1822-1851. 

They had a daughter, Nellie, 1858-1859. 

Sarah Jane 8 Robinson, 1828-1890, married John Sturdivant 
Ladd, 1820-1869. A daughter, Mary C. Ladd, 1864-1865. 
Sarah Jane (as tradition) was widow of Charles Smith. 

Some of the family rest in the Robinson yard at Meredith 
Center, said to be over 100 years old. 

Ebenezer Robinson married Betsey Shaw. Their son, 
Ebenezer (called Sullivan), married Lucy Sanborn. Her nephew 



GENEALOGIES 441 

is Fred Sanborn, editor of the Norway, Maine, paper; lives in the 
same town with Mellie Dunham. 

Munroe Robinson married Sarah Smith, daughter of Capt. 
Washington Smith and granddaughter of Ebenezer Smith and 
wife, Sarah (Spiller) Smith. Munroe Robinson was a son of 
Ebenezer 7 and Betsey Shaw. They had a daughter, Annette, 
who married John Collins. They live on the Bennett Swain farm 
at the foot of Marston Hill. They had another son, Lewis 
Collins, who married Grace Leavitt, daughter of George A. 
Leavitt and wife, Alice (Woodman) Leavitt, also another son, 
Ralph, who married Jewett. 

Washington Robinson married Abbie Blaisdell, daughter of 
Aaron Blaisdell of Meredith. Their children: Ella, Clara, 
George, Bessie and a son. . 

Peter 7 Robinson, son of Thomas 6 , had a daughter, Dolly 
Robinson, 1797-1880, who married John Tilton, 1794-1874. 
She was called "Aunt Dolly" Tilton, a very estimable woman. 
She used to spin and weave by hand. After she passed away her 
loom was bought by N. S. Davis (an old neighbor, but later re- 
moved to Sanbornton Bay) and used in the frame work of a 
small building that his son, Ned, used for a little store to sell 
candies and tobacco. The building is still standing under the 
"Old Willow Tree," marked by the State Forestry. 

Tradition tells us that the reporter, Mrs. Hall, who lives near 
the Country Club, owns the John Tilton place and that a monu- 
ment, unmarked, stands in Opeechee yard for Joseph Tilton 
Robinson (a brother of John), who married Nanny Robinson, 
who lived back of the church at Meredith Center. A sister, 

Nancy, married Hill; lived in Meredith Center, next house 

to "Aunt Dolly" Tilton. 

Mary Ann Robinson married George Ham, who came from 
Maine. They lived with "Aunt Dolly" and are buried in 
Robinson yard at Meredith Center. Their children: 

Georgia, m. Cromett. 

Belle, m. Weeks. 

Frank went to Me. 
Ida d. young. 

Sally (Graves) Davis, wife of N. S. Davis and daughter of 
Alvah Graves, 1806-1850. Their boy, 1844-1849. She married, 
second, Joseph Odell, 1801-1872, a brother to Jacob Odell. 



442 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Stephen Robinson Branch 

John Robinson of Ipswich, Newbury, Haverhill and Exeter, 
was (as Stearns' History) in 1664, one of three men to help lay 
out the highways in Exeter, where he was killed in 1675 by In- 
dians. Little is known of his family. A David and Jonathan 
were in Exeter, from 1657-1683, also Stephen and John, who prob- 
ably were sons of John. Through some generations was a John 
who removed from Exeter to Sanborn ton, about 1793, where he 
died in 1799. Probably he is the John who married Elizabeth 
Folsom. John of Sanbornton had several children, among them 
Daniel, born at Exeter in 1781, died at Laconia in 1869. He 
lived many years in Sanbornton, a good citizen, and in his last 
years lived with his son, Stephen, in Laconia, and there died. 

Daniel Robinson married Betsey Philbrick, 1789-1860, daugh- 
ter of Deacon David Philbrick. Their children: 

True Philbrick, 1817-1837. 

Ira, 1807-1837; m. Caroline M. Cleverly. He was at 
Chancellorsville in 1863, and discharged disabled. 

Abigail Marston, b. 1822; m. Horace Chapman of Bel- 
mont. 

Sarah Ann, b. 1824; m. Samuel S. Hersey. 

Stephen Coffran, 1827-1905, b. in Sanbornton, lived on his 
father's farm until 1869, then removed to Laconia. He m., 
first, Nancy Maria Odell, 1830-1888, dau. of Jacob and 
wife, Almira (Aiken) Odell. They had one child, Frank 
Orrin Robinson, 1854-1923. After his education in 1874 
he went to Newburg, N. Y., in the railroad business. He 
m. in 1880, Henrietta Scott. They had two sons, Royal 
Herman, b. 1884, and Frank P., b. 1886. Stephen Coffran 
Robinson, after his wife d. in 1888, m. Clara A. Harvell, 
b. 1856, dau. of John W. and wife, Sarah Ann (Jameson) 
Harvell. 

John Robinson was in Exeter in 1652. He was shot by Indians 
in 1675. His son, John, was with him and escaped. 

Nathaniel Robinson, born in 1753, married in 1799 Polly 
Marston of Deerfield. 

Levi Robinson of Nottingham (as vital records) had Jeremiah, 
born in 1778; married Phebe Keniston in 1800 at New Hampton. 

Josiah Robinson, born in 1780, married Polly Weeks in 1815 at 
Gilmanton; married, second, Louisa Morrison in 1835. 

Levi Robinson married in 1781 Rachel Rinea of Durham. 
Their children : 



GENEALOGIES 443 

Joseph R., b. 1780; m. in 1803, Elizabeth Gordon of New 

Hampton. 
Benjamin, b. 1782. 
Mary, b. 1784. 
Ephraim, b. 1786. 
Joanna, b. 1788. 
Sarah, b. 1790. 
Levi, Jr., b. 1795. 
Nathaniel, b. 1797. 

Noah Robinson of New Hampton married in 1805, Elizabeth 
Brown of Portsmouth; married, second, in 1824, Widow Rosa- 
mand Taylor of Sanborn ton. 

The Stones in the Old Yard on the Farm 

Noah Robinson, 1757-1827. 

Rosamond, died 1859 (age worn off). 

Elizabeth (not legible). 

Mercy, wife of Major Richard Shephard, died April 16, 1860, 
aged 87 years; she was probably a sister to Noah. 

Nancy E Marston, daughter of Noah and Elizabeth Robinson, 
died 1827, wife of Thomas S. Robinson. 

Josephine, daughter of Thomas and Nancy Robinson, 1839- 
1869; married Israel Woodman. 

Thomas Robinson, 1796-1880, married Nancy Marston, 1796- 
1881, daughter of Josiah Marston. Nancy Marston was an own 
cousin to Mary Marston, daughter of Reuben Marston, Jr., who 
married Nicholas Smith of New Hampton. Their children: 
Thaddeus Pulaski and Nancy Josephine. 

Thaddeus Pulaski Robinson, 1824-1900, married in 1847, Eliza 
Ann Farnham of Lynn, she born in Newmarket, 1824-1907. 
Their children: 

Emma G., 1849-1883, m. 1871 John Dearborn Wadleigh, son 
of General Wadleigh of Meredith; John d. at West Point, 
Nebraska. Their dau., Jennie Dearborn Wadleigh, b. 
1872, lives in Meredith. 

Ettie E., 1854-1899. 

Buried in Meredith Village Yard 

David Robinson, 1796-1876. 
Mehitable Robinson, 1800-1869. 

Hannah E. Robinson, 1834-1886, married Benjamin F. Cox, 
1814-1882. 



444 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Nathaniel Robinson Line 

In 1652 John Robinson was one with others chosen to lay out 
"the Exeter Meeting House" (as Dow), to be made 20 feet in 
extent, of square logs, with rude benches of boards as they came 
from the sawmill. This building served as a place of worship 
over forty years. 

As history, John Robinson was a blacksmith, who removed in 
1657 to Hampton, N. H. He carried a warming pan in his hand 
as he drove his team; he was called "Goodman Robinson." 

Among his descendants was Jonathan Robinson. They came 
from England. As Deerfield history, Captain James Robinson 
was one of the first settlers in Brentwood. He married Mary 
Gilman of Exeter in 1732. 

Their four sons settled in Brentwood. Capt. James' wife died 
in 1750. He then married Anna Trask, by whom he had two 
sons and two daughters. One of the sons, Nathaniel Robinson, 
served in the French and Indian War; later he settled in Mere- 
dith; he came from Epping, and took up wild land. His son 
Capt. Joseph Robinson, born in 1760, served in the Revolution 
under General Stark, and was in the Battle of Bennington. 
After his return he married Judith York, 1768-1834. They are 
buried in Meredith Village Yard. Their son, Zadoc Bowman 
Robinson, 1799-1882, married August 27, 1820, Polly Moses, 
1797-1888, of Meredith. (The Old Nathaniel Robinson Bible, 
printed in 1816, gives the names and dates in his own hand- 
writing.) Their three children: 

Joshua Alford, b. Mar. 10, 1821; d. Oct. 22, 1886. He 
m. Adeline Fox. Their dau., Laura T., b. June 10, 1846, 
in Meredith, m. J. Freeman Prescott. After the first wife 
d., he m Aug. 28, 1850, Julian Perkins Moore, she b. in 
Sanbornton, July 9, 1820, d. Feb. 26, 1901, in Laconia, 
a dau. of Mark Moore and wife, Betsey Gale. He was 
a carriage maker in Meredith Center. Their son, Mark 
Moore Robinson, b. Aug. 22, 1853, in Meredith, worked as 
a jeweller with S. E. Young in 1876. Later he and Frank 
Lougee formed a partnership in the furniture business, 
and have one of the largest stores in northern New Hamp- 
shire and sell goods all over the world. He m. May 30, 
1880, Charlotte Libbey Moore, she b. Jan. 27, 1858, in 
Laconia, dau. of Jonathan Lovejoy Moore and wife, Lucy 
J. Sanborn, she a dau. of Col. Daniel Sanborn and wife, 
Harriett Ladd of Sanbornton. 



GENEALOGIES 445 

Angeline, m. Noah Brown of Tilton. 

John M., h. Aug 14. 1828, d. July 12, 1906. When some 
25 years old, he went to Ohio and worked as a railroad man 
for a time, then returned to Lakeport, working there until 
1861. He then retired to the old homestead that had 
come down from his great-grandfather, Nathaniel Robin- 
son. He filled several town and public offices He m. 
Mar. 26, 1856, Lucinda H. Severance, she b. Aug. 14, 
1829. d. Feb 17, 1909, a dau. of Peter and wife, Judith 
(Glidden) Severance. Their children: 
Judith Annie, b. 1858; a teacher. 

Carrie Blanche, b. 1860; m. Samuel A. Garland of 
Meredith. Their children : 

Irving R. m. 1919 Gladys Leavitt. 
Edgar Drew, m. 1921 Pauline Robinson. 
Ellen Wadleigh b. 1863. 

From Mary (Neal) Robinson s Old Bible 

Joseph E. Robinson, 1783-1854, married, second, Mary Neal, 
daughter of "White Oak Joseph" Neal. Children of Mr. 
Robinson by first wife: 

George B., b. Dec. 18, 1812. 
John S., b. Jan 1, 1814. 
Mary S., b. Sept. 19, 1822. 

Joseph E. Robinson is buried with his first wife in the Pease 
yard. He died May 23, 1867, aged 81 years. He was living in 
Newcastle when he married, second, Mary Neal. Tradition says 
he was born on the Felker farm, in Meredith, and married, 
second, January 30, 1844. 

Disconnected 

John Robinson married Mary Gilman of Meredith. 

The Robinson family on Cass Hill were related to Pulaski 
Robinson, who lived near- Fogg's Tavern. 

In 1766 Chase E. Robinson had seven or eight acres of trees 
felled on land, and three cleared on what is now the present Felker 
farm. He had built a log house, which stood opposite the present 
barn, on the same side of the road as the Robinson burying ground. 

New Hampton Robinsons 

Levi Robinson of Nottingham married in 1781, Rachel Rinea 
of Durham. Their children: 



446 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Benjamin, b. 1782, in New Hampton. 
Ephraim, b. 1786. 

Levi Robinson married February 5, 1823, Lucy Chritchet. 
Their children: 

Jeremiah, b. 1778; m. Phebe Keniston in 1800, in New 

Hampton. 
Josiah, b. 1780. 
Mary R., b. 1784. 
Joanna, b. 1788. 
Sarah R., b. 1790. 
Levi, Jr., b. 1795. 
Nathaniel, b. 1797. 
Joseph R., b. 1799; m. Elizabeth Gordon. 

Noah Robinson married in 1805, Elizabeth Brown of Ports- 
mouth; married in 1824, Rosanna Taylor of Sanbornton. 

James M. Robinson married Sarah E. Smith in 1844 at Mere- 
dith. 

John D. Robinson married Jerusha Mason of Bristol in 1854. 

Jabez S. Robinson, 1831-1919, married in 1854 Mary Fernald; 
both of Meredith; married, second, Priscilla Bickford, 1845-1902. 

ROBY 

Henry Roby, 1618-1688 (as provincial papers), was born in 
England. He came to New England in 1639 and settled in 
Exeter, where he signed the Combination; then removed to the 
part called Hampton, where he occupied several offices of trust, 
was selectman, constable, and justice of the peace many years. 
He kept an "Ordinary" for some ten years in Hampton. They 
had seven children — four boys and three girls. His wife died 
in 1673. 

John Roby, the second child, married Mary ; moved in 

1675 to Haverhill, in the part that was assigned to New Hamp- 
shire, under the "Mitchell Line" (as history). He was killed by 
the Indians. He left seven children, all under twelve years of age. 

Other branches settled in Dunstable, and kept the family 
names. 

James Roby. 1734-1802 (as history), was in Durham, and later 
settled in Center Harbor. His son, Samuel, died in 1846. He 
married May 7, 1821, Eunice Roberts of Meredith, daughter of 
Joseph Roberts. (Reported from Gilford.) Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 447 

Susan. 

Mary, b. Sept., 1824. 
Nancy, b. 1826. 

James, b. Oct., 1828; m. Elnora A. Hanes of Gilford in 1850. 
Thomas, b. Dec, 1830; m. Addie Hoyt of Meredith in 1860. 
He was a conductor on the B., C. & M. railroad for many 
years. 
William, 1832-1907; m. Harriet M. Chase, 1838-1872. 
Their children: 

Samuel Hastings, b. 1862 in New Hampton; m. Lizzie 
O. Mills. He was editor of the Chelsea, Mass., paper. 
Charles Warren, b. 1858, is vice-president of the Ameri- 
can Railroad Express. He has a son, Harold William, 
who keeps the "old home for a summer home," called 
"Rock Ridge." 

William R. Roby of New Hampton married, second, in 1875, 
Martha G. Walker of Ashland, 1836-1923. 



ROWE 

Jeremiah Rowe, born in Gilford (now in Laconia), was an ex- 
tensive farmer. He married Ruth Lone; married, second, Ruth 
Seward. He had a son, Morrison, by the first wife, and by the 
second wife: Ezekiel, Jeremiah and Charles M., born in Gilman- 
ton, 1810-1868. When he was twenty-one he bought a farm of 
125 acres in Belmont, where he was a successful farmer. He was 
a representative in the legislature in 1855. He married Sarah B., 
daughter of Jonathan James. Their children: 

Mary J., m. Franklin Cook of Plymouth, N. H. They had 
three children. 

Flora A., m. John F. Merrill of Laconia. They had four 
children. 

Charles H., 1837-1855, born in Gilmanton (now Belmont), 
followed farming for a time; later he was in the real estate 
business and then ran a store with his son, Daniel M., for 
five years. Tradition tells us that he owned some twelve 
acres in Laconia, on Court St., and gave out of this acreage 
enough land for Fair, Bay and Charles Sts. to the town, 
and la d out thirty-three house lots, which he sold and 
built on. He married in 1861 Marietta R., dau. of Daniel 
G. and wife, Lydia (Rundlett) Ladd of Belmont, They 
had children: Daniel M., Leon G. and Merton C. 



448 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

SANBORN 

The earliest mention in history of Sanborne is in England in 
1194, but since the fourteenth century the last letter has been cut 
off and it makes the shorter word, Sanborn. 

Lieut. John Sanborn, born in 1620, whose mother, Anne, 
daughter of Rev. Stephen Bachiler, who came to Hampton, 
N. H., married Mary, daughter of Robert Buck. They had 
twelve children. Through several generations were: Shubael 6 
Sanborn, Benjamin 5 , Shubael \ Shubael 3 , Richard ? , John x of 
Canterbury. He married Phebe, daughter of. Jacob Smith and 
wife, Betsey Cass. Jacob Smith came from Epping in company 
with Satchel Clark and John Thorn, and settled on a clearing west 
of "Tin Corner" (in what is now Tilton). He came in time to 
sign the "Petition" in 1768; he also signed the "Association 
Test" in 1776. 

Their eighth child, Jeremiah Sanborn, 1806-1883, was a farmer 
in Holderness. He married Caroline Basford of Candia. She 
died in 1836. Their daughter, Ann Eliza Sanborn, married 
George Washington Baker of Holderness. Children : 

Luther. 

Jason. 

Caroline, m. Thomas Hughes of Ashland. 

Phebe, m. Stephen Eastman. 

George W. 

Sidney Sanborn Baker married Hattie Wilmina Fernald of 
Meredith, daughter of William Fernald and wife, Loretta Bur- 
leigh, she a daughter of Stephen Burleigh and wife, Hannah 
(Prescott) Burleigh. Sidney Sanborn Baker and wife had a son, 
Sidney Fernald, born September 22, 1890, in Milford, the fourth 
child. He married in 1921 Nora Eva Fecteau, born in Laconia. 
Their children: 

Betty Jane, b. Sept. 30, 1922. 
Sally Ann, b. Feb. 19, 1928. 

John, William and Stephen Sanborn were sons of William and 
wife, Anne, daughter of Rev. Stephen Bachiler, who came to 
Hampton about 1630 with their grandfather. Their father (as 
history) died in 1630 in England. Their mother was a widow, and 
in 1631 resided at "ye Strand." They had "licenses to pass 
beyong the seas." 



GENEALOGIES 449 

Lieut. John Sanborn, horn in 1620, had a house in Hampton, 
near "Meeting house Green," and had grants of land. He mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of Robert Tuck of Gorlston, Suffolk County, 
England, and she later was in Hampton, N. H., where she died in 
1668. He married, second, Margaret (Page) Moulton, widow of 
William Moulton and a daughter of Robert Page of Ormsby, 
Norfolk County, and later in Hampton. They had twelve 
children. Two daughters, Abigail, born in 1653, married 
Ephraim Marston, and Dinah married James Marston. 

Their eleventh child, Deacon Benjamin, born in 1668, was one 
of the grantees of Kingston, but lived at Hampton Falls. He 
married Sarah — , 1666-1720; second, Meribah (Page) 

Tilton, widow of Josiah Shaw and second wife of Samuel Tilton. 
Meribah Sanborn died in 1740. He married, third, Abigail 
(Gove) Dalton, daughter of Capt. Edward Gove and widow of 
Philemon Dalton. Deacon Benjamin Sanborn died in 1740, 
leaving twelve children. 

Their eleventh child. Benjamin, born in 1712 at Hampton Falls, 
married in 1733 Hannah Tilton, daughter of David Tilton; mar- 
ried, second, in 1736, Dorothy (Tilton) Prescott, widow of James 
Prescott. 

Their fourth child, Theophilus, born in 1747 in Hampton Falls, 
married Anne Shaw. They moved to Meredith. Their children : 

Lois, b. 1793; m. Samuel Shaw of Chichester. 

Benjamin, b. 1771. 

Theophilus, b. 1772; m. Patty Gale; lived in Meredith. 

Xo children. 
Dudley, b. 1775. 
Samuel, b. 1777. 
Newell, 1779-1801. 

Nancy, b. 1783; m. Noah Ward of New Hampton. 
Aaron, b. 1789. 

Their second child, Benjamin, born in 1771, lived and died in 
Meredith. He married Hannah Bean of Gilmanton, who died 
1802; married, second, Polly Chase of Sanbornton, died in 1848. 
Their children: 

Nancy, b. 1802; m. Asa Ladd of Gilford. 

Mahala, b. 1804; m. Nathaniel Cawley of Sanbornton. 

Sally, b. 1806; m. Alvah Graves; m. second, Job Batchelder 

of Meredith. 
Hannah, b. 1811; m. Joseph Wadleigh of Sanbornton. 



450 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Luther, b. 1812. 
Newell, b. 1814. 
Benaih, 1817-1839. 
Eliza L., 1822-1848. 

Dudley Sanborn, born in 1775-1853, son of Theophilus and 
wife, Anna Shaw, lived and died in Meredith; married in 1799 
Polly Fox, daughter of Deacon Edward Fox of Meredith ; married, 
second, in 1803, Polly Sanders, daughter of John Sanders of 
Sanbornton, born in 1783. Their children: 

Mary F., 1803-1879; m. 1827, Noah Folsom of Sanbornton; 

m. second, 1842, Deacon John Batcheldor of Laconia. 
Warren, b. 1806; m. Ann Lougee of Sanbornton. Five 

children. 
John, b. 1809; d. young. 
John M., b. 1810; single. 
Electa J., 1818-1849. 

Phebe Sanborn, 1774-1840, married John Sanborn; married, 
second, Jesse Plumer of Meredith. 

Harriet Whitman Sanborn, born in 1838, married George Smith 
Roberts of Meredith. 

Benaih Sanborn, born at North Hampton, 1757-1841, married 
Huldah, daughter of Deacon Christopher Smith, North Hampton, 
1760-1858. They had twelve children. Their fifth child, 
Huldah, born in 1791, married Thomas Eastman of Laconia, 
son of Thomas of Meredith. 

John Roberts of Meredith married Polly Sanborn, born in 1777, 
daughter of Zadok Sanborn, born at Brentwood in 1733, and wife, 
Susanna Judkins of Kingston, born in 1736. 

Eunice Sanborn, born in 1860, daughter of Deacon John San- 
born, born at New Hampton, 1730-1760, served in the French 
War. He moved to Gilmanton in 1764; married Mary Glidden 
of Greenland, 1732-1706. Their third child, Eunice, married 
Richard Boynton of New Hampton. 

Betty, daughter of Capt. Nathan Sanborn, born at North 
Hampton, baptized in 1735, early moved to Deerfield; Capt. 
Nathan signed the "Test" there. He married Jemima French, 
who died at Daniel Clough's in Gilmanton in 1817. Their 
daughter, baptized in 1760, married - - Farrar of Meredith. 

Lucretia, 1786-1874, daughter of Jeremiah Sanborn, born in 
1757 at Kensington, moved to Gilmanton in 1777. Jeremiah's 



GENEALOGIES 451 

wife was Lydia Tilton. Lucretia married in 1809, Capt. Nicholas 
Folsom, son of Elder Nicholas Folsom. 

Aschel Sanborn of Epping, 1770-1860, lived and died in Mere- 
dith. He married Hannah Swain. Their children: 

Polly, b. 1798; m. Smith Leavitt of Meredith. 

Sarah, 1801-1823; m. David Edgerly of New Hampton. 

Ruth, 1805-1852; m. John Randlett of Meredith. 

Moses, 1808-1850. 

Salmon, b. 1812. 

Ashkl, b. 1818; m. 1853 Mary Ann Gollins of Meredith. 

Hannah, b. 1821; single. 

Stephen Sanborn, born at Epping in 1772, lived and died in 
Meredith. He married Esther Thompson. They had nine 
children. 

Samuel Sanborn, 1777-1859 (son of Theophilus and wife, Anna 
Shaw), lived and died in Meredith; married Deborah Gale, 1 782— 
1858, of Sanbornton. Their children: 

Hannah, 1803-1807. 

Louisa, b. 1805; m. 1833 Capt. Josiah B. Batchelder, son of 

Carter Batchelder of Sanbornton. 
Theophilus S., b. 1808; m. 1832 Margaret Ann Hutchinson. 

Ten children. 
Samuel, b. 1810; d. young. 
True, b. 1811 in Meredith; m. 1837 Sally Heagan, in Maine. 

Six children. 
Deborah, b. 1814; m. 1838 Lieut. Daniel Robertson of 

Boston. 
Samuel, b. 1819; m. 1844 Sylvania S. Bickford, dau. of 

Ebenezer. Three children. 
La VINA, b. 1819; m. 1852 Dwelly Turner Smith of Boston. 
Jonathan, b. 1821 ; m. in 1845 Emeline H., dau. of Ebenezer 

Bickford and a sister of the wife of Samuel Sanborn. One 

child, Alma Ann. 

Aaron Sanborn, born in 1785 at Meredith and died there; 
married in 1813, Lydia Woodman, daughter of Thomas Wood- 
man, 1793-1839, of New Hampton; married, second, Sarah Jane 
(Tilton) Abbott. Their children : 

Levi W., b. 1814; moved to Maine; m. Frances Ann Rolle. 

Three children. 
Noah W., b. 1816; moved to Maine; m. Mary E. Merrill. 

Two children. 



452 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ann W., b. 1819; m. William Batchelder, son of Solomon of 
Meredith. 

Arvilla, b. 1822; m. 1844 Benjamin C. Batchelder of Mere- 
dith and Sanbornton. 

Belinda, b. 1831; m. Alonzo Lane; lived in Maine. 

Lydia Ann, 1848. 

Children of Samuel Sanborn : 

Betsey, b. 1812; m. John S. Towle. 

Maria, b. 1816; m. Philip 0. Blaisdell of Gilford, son of 

Eliphalet. 
John S., b. 1820. 

Newell, son of Timothy Sanborn, 1789-1865, lived in Loudon; 
married Polly F. Shaw, who died in 1846; married, second, Betsey 
Tenney. Their children: 

Harriet, 1817-1846. 

Lucy L., b. 1820; m. 1841 E. Robinson of Meredith. 

John Shaw, 1823. 

William Tenney, 1825-1829. 

Samuel P. Sanborn, son of Timothy, born in 1805, married 
Sally Prescott of Meredith. Their children: 

Charles Leach, b. 1844. 

Timothy Bracket, b. 1846; lived in Holderness. 

Mary Elizabeth, b. 1851. 

John Sanborn, born at North Hampton in 1769; inherited his 
grandfather's farm. 

Daniel Sanborn married Phebe Sanborn, who died in 1840, after 
she married Jesse Plumer. They had twelve children. 

Ira Sanborn, 1801-1891, born at Meredith, son of John San- 
born of Epping and wife, Sarah Dow; married in 1796; married, 
second, in 1824, Abigail Plumer, 1796-1852. Their children: 

Hannah, b. 1826, m. J. E. Mudgett of Laconia. 
Nathan P., b. 1827. 
Abigail S., 1830-1857. 

Cynthia, b. 1835; m. Edmund Copp of New Hampton. 
John Taylor, b. 1838; lived in Meredith; m. 1864 Emily H. 
Weld. b. 1839. Their children: 

Carrie E., d. 1868. 

Arthur Lincoln, b. 1869. 

Annie Maud, b. 1874. 



GENEALOGIES 453 

Salmon Hibbard, 1812 I860, lived in Meredith, son of Asahel 
Sanborn, born in 1770; married Hannah Swain; Salmon married 
Eliza Jane Mead, 1812-1870. Their children: 

Ai.mika Tank, 1838-1860. 

EVANNA T., 1840-1870; m. Benjamin Perkins of Meredith 

( enter. 
Mary Elizabeth, 1842-1844. 
Lydia Axx, b. 1845; m. William S. Smith of North Sanborn- 

ton. 
Eliza Ruth, b. 1847; m. 1871 J. W. Mathesof Laconia. 
Jesse Fremont, b. 1850; lived at Meredith Center. 
Moses Salmon, 1851-1869. 
Emma Yalora, b. 1855; lived Meredith Center. 

William Thompson Sanborn, born in 1799, son of Stephen and 
wife, Esther Thompson. They had nine children; lived in New 
Hampton, also Bristol. William married Rachel Swain, who 
died in 1843 at Bristol; married, second, Mary Gordon; third, 
Susan Mudgett. Six children. 

Nathaniel Sanborn, 1801-1873, born at Meredith, son of 
Stephen Sanborn and wife, Esther Thompson. Nathaniel mar- 
ried in 1825, Sarah, daughter of Joseph Roberts of Meredith, 
1807-1889. Buried at Smith yard in Meredith. Their children: 

Mary R., b. 1826; m. John T. Jewel of Laconia. 

Phebe Ann, b. 1828; m. J. S. Weeks of Laconia. 

( )i.iye Esther, b. 1830; m. Langdon G. Robinson of Laconia. 

Sarah Jane, b. 1833; m. D. W. Tenney of Methuen, Mass. 

Joseph Noah, b. 1836. 

Charles Francis, b. 1838. 

Wesley Curtis, 1841-1869. 

Anna C, b. 1844; m. Charles A. Davis of Fall River, Mass. 

Frederick Milton, b. 1856. 

Joseph Noah Sanborn, born at Meredith in 1836 (son of Na- 
thaniel and wife, Sarah, 1807-1889, daughter of Joseph Roberts of 
Meredith), married in 1857 Esther P. Stockridge, 1839-1861. 
Joseph Noah married, second, in 1862, Ruth K. Smith, daughter 
of David Smith of Sanborn ton, where the famous grapevine 
flourished. Children by Esther Stockbridge: 

George C, b. 1859 in Gilmanton; an electrician of Lake- 
port; m. 1885 Harriet A. Collins of Laconia, b. 1864; they 
have children : 

Henry Arthur, b. 1886. 

Carl Collins, b. 1889. 



454 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Children by Ruth K. Smith: 

Mildred Laura. 

Willis J., b. 1865 in Sanbornton; a Baptist preacher. 

Orrin N., b. 1866; m. 1885 Nellie E. Bowers. 

Olive E., b. 1870. 

Wesley D., b. 1872, an electrician. 

Mary A., 1876-1893. 

David Sanborn, 1803-1838, son of Stephen and wife, Esther 
Thompson; lived and died in Meredith. (No records.) 

A brother, Moses Sanborn, born in 1810, married Dorothy 
Swain; one daughter, Emily, born in 1837. 

Another brother, Richard Sanborn, born in 1813, later moved 
to Belmont; married Mary Swain of Meredith. Their children: 

Mary Judith, b. 1845; m. Gordon Burleigh of Laconia. 

Stephen Richard, b. 1847; m. 1871 Harriet A. Moulton, 
she b. 1852. One son, Roscoe C, lives in Laconia. 

David S., b. 1850; m. and left a dau., Mrs. E. Howe of La- 
conia. 

George H., b. 1853; m. and had a dau., Ida. (No other 
records.) 

Luther Sanborn, 1812-1861, born in Meredith (son of Benjamin 
Sanborn, a brother to Newell, born in 1814), married Lucinda 
Batchelder, daughter of John, born in 1819; lived in Sanbornton, 
died in 1844, leaving one son, Odell Batchelder, born in 1840. 
She married, second, James B. Swain; third, John Fields of 
Laconia. 

^William Chase Sanborn, born al New Hampton in 1807 (son of 
Walter Sanborn, born at Brentwood in 1770, and wife, Jane Chase 
of Sanbornton), married Mary Smith. Their children: 

Sarah Ann, b. 1838. 

Frank D., b. 1839; m. Martha Pike, b. 1850. Children: 

Ida L., b. 1873; m. Herman Johnson of Sanbornton. 

Eva R., b. 1877. 

John Y. Sanborn, born in 1842. 

Another brother, Moses Sanborn, born in 1817 at New Hamp- 
ton; married Sarah Jane Kelley. Eight children. 

Dr. George Sanborn, born at Gilford in 1820 (a son of Samuel 
Gilman Sanborn, born at Gilmanton in 1787, and wife, Sarah, 
daughter of Samuel B. Mason of Gilford). A physician in 
Meredith; married in 1847, Sophronia D. Stockbridge, 1821-1888. 



GENEALOGIES 455 

A son, George Freeman, born in 1857, married Charlotte J. 
French of Meredith, born in 1857. A druggist there. Their 
child, Roydon \V., born in 1886 at Meredith. 

Col. David Sanborn, 1797-1878, born at Sanbornton, a colonel 
in the militia (son of Dr. Benaih Sanborn, born in 1757, and his 
wife, Huldah, daughter of Christopher Smith, 1760-1858). They 
had twelve children. 

The fifth child, Huldah, married Thomas Eastman, son of 
Thomas of Meredith and his wife, Mary Belinda, born in 1813; 
married in 1831. 

Another son, Obadiah, son of Thomas Eastman and wife, Mary 
Belinda. She was a daughter of George Washington Sanborn 
and wife, Molly Sanborn. 

Col. Daniel Sanborn went into business in Meredith. He 
married in 1822, Harriet, daughter of Edward Ladd, 1803-1885. 
Their children: 

Emmeline B., b. 1823; m. David Allen of Newport; d. 1851. 
She m., second, Alfred Burleigh of Sanbornton. (See lineage 

in Sanbornton Town History.) 
Hannah Ladd, b. 1825; m. Arthur C. Taylor of Sanbornton. 
Eliza Ann, b. 1828; m. Jacob Wadleigh of Laconia. 
Mary Simpson, b. 1831 ; m. Edwin Sanborn of Lowell, Mass. 
LuciNDA M., b. 1835 ;m. Barnard H. Burleigh of Sanbornton. 
William Henry, b. 1838; m. Eliza Conner of Laconia. 
Esther, b. 1847; m. Frank F. Libbey of Laconia. 

Benjamin Sanborn, born at Gilford in 1793 (son of Neb, 
born at Gilmanton in 1766, settled in Gilford and there died. He 
married in 1792, Judith, daughter of John Tilton), married 1819, 
Sally, daughter of John Smith, 1797-1834, of Meredith. He 
married, second, Lucinda, daughter of Deacon Caleb Marston. 
Their son, Eben S., born in 1820, married in 1846, Joanna Eliza- 
beth Ferguson, born in 1825, who came from Pelham. Their 
children: 

John Smith, b. 1847. 
Sarah Jane, b. 1850. 
Susan C, b. 1832, and three others. 

Dr. John Henry Sanborn, born at Meredith in 1830, studied 
medicine, and practiced. (Son of Dr. John Sanborn, born at 
Sanbornton in 1789. He lived and died in Meredith; was a 
deacon of the Congregational Church in Meredith; married 



456 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Susan Hubbard. Their daughter, Susan C, born in 1823, mar- 
ried Levi Leach of Meredith.) He was assistant surgeon of the 
12th Regiment, N. H. V. ; served in many battles. He married 
in 1854, Elizabeth Hervey, daughter of the Rev. Giles Leach of 
Meredith. He removed to Franklin Falls in 1874. Their 
children: 

Giles Leach, b. and d. 1855. 

Hattie Leach, b. 1856; m. Edgar A. Jones. 

Susan Lillian, 1861-1873. 

Elizabeth Thompson, 1873-1887. 

Kingston First Church records state that Zadoc Sanborn mar- 
ried August 5, 1755, Susanna Judkins. Early records state that 
they were in Brentwood. Their son, Walter Sanborn, born in 
1770 at Brentwood, went to New Hampton and settled in 1802. 
He married Jennie, born in 1775, daughter of William Chase. 
Their children were: John, Eliphalet, Susan, William, Phebe, 
Jane and Moses. 

Moses Sanborn lived on the homestead in New Hampton, then 
moved to another part of the town; later he went to Lake Village, 
where he worked on the railroad. He married Sarah Jane, 
daughter of Benjamin and wife, Hannah (Avery) Kelley. Their 
children : 

Augusta L., m. John C. Fogg of Lake Milage. 

Edwin, m. 1861 Elsie A. Glidden. 

Annie M., m. Arthur Tucker. 

George E., m. Fanny Lane; they settled in Connecticut. 

Wesley C. was drowned. 

Herman L., d. young. 

Oscar C, a machinist in Lakeport. 

Fred C. was a machinist, then went on the railroad as brake- 
man and later was conductor on the Lakeport and Dover 
branch. He m. 1878 Fostina E., dau. of Moses and wife, 
Ann Maria (Chase) Young of Belmont. Her great- 
grandfather was b. at Loudon in 1755 and moved to Gil- 
manton, by "spotted trees," on horseback with his wife 
and five children. 

Deacon Bailey Young married Molly Randlett. The old 
homestead fell to Deacon Bailey Young, who was a prosperous 
farmer and deacon of the Free Will Baptist Church in Gilmanton. 
Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 457 

Louisa, m. Dr. Weymouth of Andover. 
Mary Jane, m. John Avery. 
Harriet. 

Kmeline, m. Edwin Nutting. 
Adeline, m. Ezekiel Gilman. 
Charlotte, m. and lived in Vermont. 
John S., m. Mehitable Cole. 
George B., m. and went to St. Louis. 
Charles A., m. Ellen Leavitt. 
Ansel F., d. in the army. 

Moses worked at stonecutting; later farmed. He m. a dau. 
of John Voung, Ann Maria (Chase) Voung. She was a 
granddaughter of Zachias Chase. Their children: 

Oscar T., settled in North Andover, Mass. 

Fostina E. 

Charles S., settled in Northfield. 

Sarah E., d. young. 

Hattie A., d. young. 

Ansel C, d. young. 

Abbie M., m. Albert Head of Laconia. 

/ Amy A., m. Fred W. Chatfield \ ~ . 
s a • J } lwins. 

[ Annie, d. young 

Nathaniel Sanborn married in 1691, Rebecca Prescott of 
Hampton. He signed the "Test" in Epping. 

Nathan Sanborn married Catherine Sattalee, 1710-1810. 
They had five children at Hampton Falls, then moved to Epping. 

Nathan 4 Sanborn (Nathaniel, John, John ! ), 1809, signed the 
"Test" in Epping. 

Nathaniel, born in 1737, married Polly French, settled in 
Meredith (Chemung). Their son, John Sanborn, 1767-1836, 
married in 1796, Sally Dow, 1770-1843, of East Kingston. Their 
son, Ira Sanborn, born in 1801, married in 1824, Abigail Plummer, 
1796-1852, in Meredith. Their son, John Taylor Sanborn, 1838- 
1891, married Emily H. Weld of Boothbay, Maine, she born in 
1839. They were married in 1864. Their daughter, Anne Maud 
Sanborn, born in 1874, married Elmer Perkins of Meredith. 

Nathaniel Sanborn married Sally Roberts of Meredith, 
December 25, 1825. 

Nathan Sanborn of Sanborn ton married Agnes Durgin, 
February 20, 1800. 

Nathaniel Sanborn married Mary Dow, February 2^, 1799, 
both of New Hampton. 



458 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

From David Perkins Records 

John Sanborn, 1789-1870, son of John and wife, Lydia (Rollins) 
Sanborn of Hampton, who lived on " Bride's Hill." His line runs 
back many generations through the Sanborns of Sanbornton. 
He studied medicine with Dr. Shaw of Moultonboro and com- 
menced practice in Meredith Village in 1815. He was a man 
of strict integrity, of a social disposition, an advocate of temper- 
ance; was a member of the Congregational Church for more than 
fifty years, and served as a deacon forty years, often proving his 
piety, as a physician for souls, as well as the bodies of his patrons. 
He married, in 1820, Susan Hubbard, 1791-1866, of Moultonboro. 
Their children, born in Meredith: 

Jesse Appleton, b. 1820; m. Sarah Sanborn in 1842; went 

west. 
Susan Catherine, b. 1823; m. Levi Leach in 1845. 
Infant son, b. 1828. 
John Henry, b. 1830; m. Elizabeth H. Leach in 1854. 

Susan Catherine Sanborn married Levi Leach in 1845. He was 
born in Bridgewater, Mass., and was a teacher of vocal music. He 
enlisted in the 12th N. H. Regiment and was promoted to ser- 
geant; was at Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, 
where he was severely wounded. After his return they lived 
several years with her parents at Meredith, later removed to 
Franklin Falls. Their children, born in Meredith: 

Willie S., b. 1847; served in the Civil War; d. there in 1863. 
Edward Giles, b. 1849; m. M. Agnes A. Robinson in 1874. 
He is a lawyer by profession; resides in Franklin. Their 
children: 

William Eugene, b. 1877. 
Robert Milton, b. 1879. 

John Sanborn, born in 1620 in England, son of William and 
wife, Anne, daughter of Rev. Stephen Bachiler. Lieut. John 
Sanborn came to New England with his grandfather, Rev. 
Stephen Bachiler; was in Hampton in 1639. In 1679 he was com- 
missioned lieutenant of Hampton forces and served as lieutenant 
in King William's War. He married Mary, daughter of Robert 
Tuck, and they had children; she died in 1668. He married, 
second, Margaret (Page) Moulton. He died in 1692. 

John 2 Sanborn, born in 1649, eldest son by first wife, married in 



GENEALOGIES 459 

1674, Judith, daughter of Tristam Coffin, born in 1653. They 
had ten children. 

Nathaniel 3 Sanborn, born in 1666, married Rebecca, daughter 
of James Prescott of Hampton. They had five children. She 
died in 1704. He married, second, Sarah Mason, and had six 
children. He was prominent in town business in Kingston. 

Nathan 4 Sanborn, born in 1709 at Hampton Falls, married 
Catherine Satterlee, born in 1710. They removed to Epping, 
where he signed the "Association Test" Act; later removed to 
Sanbornton, where she died in 1810, almost 100 years old. Their 
second daughter, Hannah, born in 1735, married Joseph Cass, 
grandfather of Lewis Cass. 

Nathaniel 5 Sanborn, born in 1737 at Hampton Falls, married 
at South Hampton in 1764, Polly French of Kingston. They 
removed to Epping, where he signed the "Test Act." They had 
eight children. Their fifth child, Polly, born in 1776, married 
Stephen Leavitt of Meredith. 

Stephen ri Sanborn, born in 1772 at Epping, lived and died in 
Meredith. He married Esther Thompson. They had nine 
children; several of them never married. 

Nathaniel ' Sanborn, born in 1801 at Meredith, was a successful 
farmer. He married in 1825, Sarah, daughter of Joseph Roberts 
of Meredith; she was born in 1807, died in 1889. Their children: 

Mary R., b. Oct. 15, 1826; m. John T. Jewell of Laconia. 

Phebe Ann, b. Aug. 27, 1828; m. John S. Weeks of Laconia. 

Olive Esther, b. Nov. 7, 1830; m. Langdon C. Morgan of 
Meredith. 

Sarah Jane, b. Nov. 6, 1833; m. D. W. Tenney of Methuen, 
Mass. 

Joseph Noah, b. Mar. 6, 1836; m. Esther P. Stockbridge of 
Gilmanton in 1857, she b. 1839, d. 1861; they had a son, 
George C. Sanborn, b. 1859 at Gilmanton; m. 1885 Harriet 
A. Collins, b. 1864. He lives in Lakeport. Their children : 
Harry Arthur, b. 1886; Carl Collins, b. 1889; Mildred 
Laura, b. 1891. Joseph Noah m., second, Ruth Knowlton 
in 1862, dau. of David and wife, Olive (Knowlton) Smith, 
b. 1836. He removed to his father-in-law's, David Smith's 
in Sanbornton, near the Meredith line in Rocksbury, so 
called, where he lived over forty years; was a very success- 
ful fruit grower, and was prominent in church affairs. 
Their children: 

Rev. Willis, b. 1865 at Sanbornton; a Baptist Minister; 
m. Georgia Lambert. 



460 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Orin N., b. 1866; m. Nellie Bowers, b. 1854, d. 1904. 
Their children; Robert, Earl, Ray, Ernest. He m., 
second, Mrs. Grace Hallowell. 

Olive E., b. 1870. 

Wesley David, b. 1872; has been connected with several 
electric firms and is an electrical contractor and dealer 
in Laconia. He m. Hattie Grace Lawrence of Mere- 
dith in 1897, dau. of Samuel Henry Lawrence and wife, 
Carrie (Bowers) Lawrence of Sanborn ton. She d. in 
1902. He m., second, in 1904, Nellie R. Taylor, 
b. in Greensboro, Vt. 

The name of Samborne is found in Warwickshire and Hamp- 
shire, England. Two branches of the family were found in early 
days during the Herald's visitations; one in Oxfordshire and one 
in Somersetshire. The arms of all the various branches are the 
same. The pedigree through the generations came down to John, 
the father of the three American emigrants. 

The State Papers between 1650 and 1660 refer to three Sam- 
borme brothers, who were merchants in France. They aided in 
the Restoration. John Sanboine (as history) was held in high 
esteem and honor by the Court, and held many commissions from 
the King. When the King was banished and escaped from 
Worcester, John Sanborne was the trusted person to know his 
location. 

John Samborne was born about 1590, and removed to London 
(as history) with two brothers, but the family ties were in Dorset- 
shire, near Hampshire. Here lived Rev. Stephen Bachilor, whose 
daughter married John, father of these three brothers — John, 
William and Stephen. Their father died in England and the 
brothers came with Rev. Stephen Bachilor to America. He was 
the first preacher in Hampton, N. H. 

William's houselot in Hampton is described in the town records: 

Imp r five acres upland for a houselot, and three quarters of an acre laying 
between the ground of John Browns towards the east, and the ground of Aquilla 
Chases; sometime Stephen Sanborn's in p r t towards the west, abutting upon a 
common way towards the north, and a certaine swamp towards the south. 

William, the second son, born near 1622, married Mary Moul- 
ton. He died in 1692. 

Their sixth child, Stephen Sanborn, born September 4, 1671, 
married in 1693, Hannah Philbrick, born April 30, 1646, died in 



GENEALOGIES 461 

1750, daughter of Lieut. James Philbrick (a mariner) and wife, 
Hannah, daughter of Isaac Perkins. 

James Philbrick, mariner, from 1690 to 1700 (books show), was 
trading between Marthas Vineyard and Hampton in lumber, 
wood, hides, spices, molasses, iron and wooden ware, cloths and 
other goods. The story goes that he was captured on the high 
seas by a French privateer, who took his vessel. A hard storm 
arose and he guided his captors to a safe place. They in gratitude 
gave him back his vessel. During the storm he had an old Bible 
that his captors were going to throw overboard, but he begged so 
hard for it they gave it back to him. The Bible in 1892 was 
owned by Joseph A. Philbrick. It was published in 1583. 

Their seventh child (as Hampton History), Zadok Sanborn, 
born June 1, 1707, married Sarah Robinson (as vital records in 
Brentwood). 

Their son, Zadok Sanborn, baptized in Brentwood May 2, 1733, 
his mother being a widow (as Hampton History) when he was 
baptized. 

His son, Walter Sanborn, born February 23, 1770, died 
August 5. 1856; married Jennie Clark (the Sanborn ton Town 
History calls her Phebe), born in 1780, a descendant of Aquilla 
Chase, who came to this country in 1630. 

John Sanborn, born at New Hampton, January 20, 1803, died 
September 1. 1868, married Polly Kelley in 1828. 

Eliphalet, born August 23, 1804, died in 1835, married Lydia G. 
Robinson in 1831. 

Susan, born March 15, 1806, died in 1877, married Perrin 
Prescott. 

William C, born November 10, 1807, died in 1888, married 
Mary Smith in 1837. 

Phebe C, born August 21, 1809, died in 1882. 

Jane, born August 12, 1815, died in 1885, married Noah B. 
Brown. 

Moses, born October 29, 1817, died in 1894, married Sarah J. 
Kelley in 1840, who died in 1866. She was born at New Hampton 
September 26, 1820, daughter of Benjee Kelley and wife, Hannah 
(Avery ) Kelley. Their children : 

AUGUSTA L., b. June 6, 1841; m. John Calvin Fogg, 1863. 
Edwin F., b. Sept. 23, 1842; m. Elsie A. Glidden, 1861; 
d. 1873. 



462 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Annie M., b. Aug. 3, 1844; m. Arthur Tucker, 1866. 
George E., b. May 11, 1846; m. Mary E. Gilman, 1865. 
Wesley C, b. Mar. 15, 1850; drowned, 1862. 
Herman L., b. Dec. 14, 1854; d. 1863. 
Fred C, b. Oct. 9, 1857; m. Fostine Young, 1877. 
Oscar C, b. Feb. 10, 1860; m. Hattie Boynton, 1887. Their 
children: 

Gladys Augusta, b. 1895; m. Wilfried Gauthier. 

Lillian Jane, b. 1899; m. Dr. James F. Conway. Their 
son, Robert Francis Conway, b. 1923. 

Helen May, b. 1901. 

Nathaniel Sanborn married Mary French. Their son, Stephen 
Sanborn of Meredith married Esther Thompson of Massachusetts. 

Nathaniel Sanborn, born at Meredith in 1801, married Sarah, 
born in 1807, daughter of Joseph and wife, Molly (Davis) Roberts, 
who was a son of Joseph and wife, Eunice (Leavitt) Roberts; 
buried in the Smith yard, Opeechee. Molly Davis, wife of 
Joseph Roberts, was a daughter of William and wife, Molly 
(Boynton) Davis. 

Nathaniel Sanborn, who married Sara Roberts. Their chil- 
dren: 

Mary Rosetta, b. 1826. 
Phebe Ann, b. 1828. 
Olive Esther, b. 1830. 
Sarah Jane, b. 1833. 
Joseph Noah, b. 1836. 
Charles Francis, b. 1838. 
Wesley Curtis, b. 1841. 
Anna Comfort, b. 1844. 
Fred Milton, b. 1850. 

Charles Francis, born at Laconia, married Clara, daughter of 
Daniel Gray. They were prosperous farmers in Meredith 
(Laconia). Their children: 

Frank M., resided in Laconia. 
Ella G., m. Charles F. Sanborn. 

Herbert Nathaniel Sanborn, born in 1862 at Laconia. In 1886 
he bought a farm in Meredith. He married in 1883, Susie E., 
daughter of William F. G. Noyes, born in 1821, and wife, Charlotte, 
daughter of Worcester Francis Boynton, born in New Raleigh, 
Mass. He was a tanner and currier. He served as selectman in 



GENEALOGIES 463 

Meredith and also a sheriff of Strafford County. He married 
Mary Gilman. 

Mrs. Sanborn's grandfather was William Noyes, who married 
Mary Graves. He was an iron moulder and a person of much 
literary talent. Mrs. Sanborn's great-grandfather was David 
Boynton, who married Molly Bradbury. 

Herbert Nathaniel Sanborn and wife, Susie E. (Noyes) San- 
born, had children: Ernest, Charlotte, Clara and Clarence 
Herbert. 

Jacob Sanborn lived in Gilford. He had two sons, Enoch and 
William Sanborn. 

William Sanborn, born in Gilford, after thirty years removed to 
Moultonboro Neck. In 1850 he returned to his native town. 
He married Sally, daughter of Richard Dame, who came from 
Portsmouth. Sally (Dame) Sanborn was a teacher of fine edu- 
cation. They had two children, El vena and . 

Jacob Sanborn, born in 1843 at Moultonboro, lived in Gilford. 
After he received an education he assisted on the farm as valuable 
help. In 1866 Polly Smith of Old Meredith felt old age creeping 
on and, needing assistance on her farm, where a respectable family 
had been raised, and no boys to see to the outside work, she em- 
ployed Jacob Sanborn to care for the farm, which he did in a 
faithful way, and cared for her. She willed him the farm. He 
prospered, bought more land, and kept the buildings up in good 
repair and raised good stock. He married Augusta, daughter of 
John L. Perley and wife, Dora, daughter of Josiah and Betsey 
(Potter) Rundlett of Gilmanton. They had a daughter, Pearl, 
who studied law and was admitted to the bar. She married 
Attorney J. Waldo Bond. She died in Winchester, Mass., in 1927. 

Esquire Samuel Sanborn, born in 1820, was a resident of Gil- 
ford. He had sons, W. A. Sanborn, the popular captain of the 
steamer "Lady of the Lake," in days past. 

George F. studied for the medical profession at Harvard and 
Dartmouth. After practicing in Gilford he moved to Meredith 
and followed his profession for over thirty years. He married 
Sophronia B., daughter of George Stockbridge of Alton. 

Their son, George F. Sanborn, born in 1857, after completing 
his education started the paper, Meredith News; later he had a 
drug store in 1883. In 1896 he organized a company to make 
what was called " Paris Night Robes." He has been prominent in 



464 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

other kinds of business in Meredith. In 1885 he married Char- 
lotte J., daughter of John B. French of Meredith. They had a 
son, Royal W. Sanborn, who married Cora A. Adams. He is in 
business with his father in the drug store. Their children: 
Charlotte J. and George F. 

Newell Sanborn married Polly Shaw. Their daughter, Lucy L. 
Sanborn, married Ebeneezer Robinson (son of Ebeneezer), who 
lived the first house below the watering trough at Meredith 
Center. They did not have any children. 

Newell Sanborn and wife, Polly Shaw, had a son, John Shaw 
Sanborn, who married Dorcas A. Brown of Norway, Maine. 
Their daughter, Harriet Eleene Sanborn, born at Norway, Maine, 
married in 1923, Charles E. Osgood of Hudson, N. H. Their 
children: 

Newell S., m. Lottie Robinson; lives in Lakeport. 

John Miner, m. Ida G. Plumer, dau. of Nathan at Meredith 

Center. 
Ralph is business manager of the Norway Advertiser. 
Elena, m. Chester C. Russell of Farmington, N. H. 

Fred Walter Sanborn, editor of the Norway Advertiser, married 
Laura A. Hill of Strafford, N. H. She died in 1923. 

William Sanborn, born in 1842 at Sanbornton, settled on the 
Gideon Piper place on Meredith Hill in 1866 and lived there in 
1881. He married Lydia A. Sanborn, born in 1845, daughter of 
Salmon Hibbard Sanborn of Meredith. They were married in 
1869. She was a descendant of the early Samborne family. 

John Mooney Sanborn married Lydia Ann Sanborn, daughter 
of Aaron Sanborn, who lived at the top of Meredith Hill (Saddle- 
back). 

Joe B. Sanborn, born in 1872, son of John Mooney Sanborn, 
married Bertha Burleigh, daughter of Albert W. Burleigh and 
wife, Betsey (Elizabeth) Mead, a daughter of William Henry 
Mead and wife, Rhoda Fletcher, who was born in Bridgewater. 
William Henry Mead and wife, Rhoda, are buried in the Mead 
yard, above Laconia. They lived in Lakeport. 



SANDERS 

George Sanders came from England with his family and settled 
in Rye, N. H. Children: 



GENEALOGIES 465 

Henry, d. at sea. 

Mary, m. Xemiah Sleeper of Gilford. 

GEORGE was a sea wanderer. He sailed from Portsmouth, 
when the War of 1812 broke out, on a privateer. In 1813 
he bought a farm in Gilford and was prosperous. He m. 
Philena, dau. of Elder Richard Martin, who in his early 
life lived in Lee and ran a grocery store. In "y e " olden 
days the country stores sold liquor. When Elder Martin 
was asked for more by a customer he saw had plenty, his 
reply to him was to come again. He gave up the store 
and moved to Gilford, and preached at the "Gunstock 
Meeting House." He died suddenly after preaching there 
in the morning. Their children: 
John went away. 
Richard was a painter. He d. in Laconia; is buried at 

McCoy, I think. 
Christopher was a minister in Vermont. 
Hannah m. Vowel Langley; probably buried among the 
many graves, on the hillside at Langley Cove. (No 
stones.) 
Ruth m. Hezekiah Sleeper. 
Betsey m. Elder William Blaisdell. 

Thankful m. Jackson. 

Philena m. George Sanders. They had children: 
Ruhamah m. William G. Hoitt of Gilford. 
Olive m. Tenny Hibbard. 
Richard M. d. young. 
Orrin d. young. 
Francis m. Emma Tuttle. 

George W. Sanders, after his education, taught for some time, 
went into a shoe shop for a time, and then returned home. After 
a time he went into the lumber business. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Joseph P. Smith of Gilford. She died in 1894. Their 
children: 

Joseph S. resided at home. 

George A. was in business with his father-in4aw, William 

Pepper. 
J. Frank was in business in Lakeport. 
Roscoe M. was a carpenter. 

Isaiah Sanders, a revolutionary soldier, fought under Colonel 
Stark. He lived in Mason. 

His son, Joseph Sanders, was a cabinetmaker, and farmed some 
also. He married Sarah Mansur. They had six children. 

Their son, Samuel Sanders, 1819-1892, was a tinner by trade, 



466 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

and kept a hardware store. He served as selectman of Meredith, 
and was earnest to help in any good cause. He helped divide 
Meredith and form the town of Laconia. He also served as post- 
master and filled other offices of public trust. He married 
Serena Randlett. 

George A. Sanders, born at Meredith Bridge in 1846. In 1887 
he bought the stove business from his father. He was connected 
with the Laconia Savings Bank. He married in 1872, Addie 
Currier of Cambridge, Mass. She died in 1886, leaving a son, 
Frank C, and two daughters. He married, second, Ida M., 
daughter of John B. Chase of New Hampton. He served in many 
public offices of trust. 

SHAW-WITHAM 

Hilliard Shaw came from Chichester. He married Elizabeth 
Witham, daughter of Peletiah Witham, a Revolutionary soldier, 
also a shipbuilder. He lived and died in Nottingham. Hilliard 
Shaw was in the War of 1812. He settled near Wicwash Pond. 

Jonathan Leathers, another 1812 soldier, is buried near Hilliard 
Shaw. Jonathan Leathers had sons, Samuel, Freeman and 
David, and a daughter, Dolly Leathers. The Leathers boys had 
their name changed to Emery. One of them is buried at Bayside. 

Hilliard Shaw was a grandfather of Mrs. Warren Kimball. He 
had a daughter, Eliza Shaw, who married Dudley Sanborn Piper 
of Meredith. Their daughter, Eliza Jane Piper, married Warren 
Kimball. 

Peletiah Witham, father of Elizabeth Witham of Nottingham, 
also had a son, Asa Witham. 

Asa Witham had eight sons in the Civil War. All returned but 
one, Peletiah, named for his grandfather, who served in the 
Revolution. This grandson was killed in the battle of Chancel- 
lorsville, where George Swain had the same fate. 

Hillard Shaw, from Chichester, married Elizabeth Witham, a 
daughter of Peletiah Witham, a shipbuilder at Nottingham. 
Peletiah Witham was a Revolutionary soldier; lived and died in 
Nottingham. 

Hillard Shaw was in the War of 1812. He settled near Wequash 
Pond. The house he lived in is gone. He is buried near by, also 
Jonathan Leathers. He had sons, Samuel, Freeman and Daniel, 



GENEALOGIES 467 

and a daughter, Dolly Leathers. They all had their names 
changed to Emery. Millard Shaw was a grandfather of Mrs. 
Warren Kimball. He had a daughter, Eliza Shaw, who married 
Dudley Sanborn Piper of Meredith. Their daughter, Eliza Jane 
Piper, married Warren Kelley Kimball of Meredith Center. 
They are highly respected people. 

Asa Witham, son of Peletiah Witham of Nottingham, had eight 
sons who served in the Civil War, and all returned but Peletiah, 
who was named for his grandfather. He died in the army. 

Revolutionary Pension Declaration 
Nathan Witham of Meredith. (Declaration missing.) . 

Affadavit. 

We, Rhoda (Witham) Bagley and Sally G. Bagley, both of Meredith, in the 
County of Strafford, State of N. H., depose and say that we were acquainted 
with Nathan Witham, a Pensioneer of the U. S. Pension Roll in the State of 
Maine, and that the said Nathan Witham departed this life on the 6th day of 
Nov. 1824 — And further depose and say that Rhoda Witham the widow of said 
Nathan Witham deceased, was living a few days since, and have not any 
doubts they were lawfully married, as they lived together many years, and 
were the parents of seven children, and I the said Rhoda Bayley being one of 
their children. 

(Signed) Rhoda Bagley. 

Aug. 31, 1832. Sally G. Bagley. 

Verified by Daniel Gale, J. P. 



SHERMAN 
Dryden says of the Shearmans: 

Do thou as your progenitors have done 

And by their virtues prove yourself their son. 

The Shearman Trade and Name 

In olden times the shearman sheared the long nap from the 
new-made woolen cloth (made from the wool sheared from the 
sheep by the shearer). The name of his trade became the sur- 
name of the man. Later, in the common speech, "Shearman" 
was clipped to Sherman. The shearman, by industry, rose to be a 
clothmaker, in olden times also called a clothier. 

Henry Shearman in his will, dated 1590, bequeathed to his son 
his "Shearman's Crafte." The Shearmans lived in Dedham, a 



468 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

parish in the north of Essex County, England, near the River 
Stour. This locality was where mills for making cloth and fulling 
mills were in 1382. 

The early inhabitants fled to this place to escape religious perse- 
cution. The town was established here in the Bay (baize) and 
Say (serve weaving). 

The Sherman's coat of arms and motto on the shield is the lion 
rampant, sable, between three oak leaves, vert. (The lion signi- 
fies that they were associated with the crown.) 

Reuben Shearman was born in Gloucester, R. I., July 22, 1763; 
died in Lisbon, N. H., May 2, 1843. His residence during the 
Revolution was Douglas, Mass. He enlisted at Gloucester, R. I., 
April 12, 1779, as a private for one year in Captain Carr's R. I. 
Regiment; he again enlisted in April, 1781, in Capt. Nemiah Lov- 
ell's Vermont Company and served until the last of December, 
1781. He was allowed a pension as (Shearman). He married in 
1823 at Barnet, Yt., Ruth Smith, who was born in Sandwich, N.H., 
in 1798. 

Mrs. Janette (Shearman) McMurphy was one of seven children 
of Reuben Sherman and wife, Ruth (Smith) Sherman. She was a 
"Real Daughter" of a Revolutionary soldier and was accepted 
by the National Society of Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, April 12, 1924. She died January 3, 1927, at the home of 
her son, Edward McMurphy, 16 Irving Street, Laconia. She 
was a member of the Advent Church at Lakeport, where she had 
resided several years, and was an estimable Christian woman. 
The son's wife, Mrs. Edward McMurphy, said that in the thirty 
years she had lived with her, she never heard her speak an unkind 
word . 

John McMurphy came to America from the north of Ireland 
with other Scotch people who had settled there in that location to 
escape oppression because of their religious belief. They were 
Presbyterians. 

John MacMurphy, after coming to New England, settled in 
Londonderry in 1720. In 1722 he was prominent in public affairs, 
and a member of the General Court for eleven years. He was 
said to be a man of great intelligence and morality. He served as 
town clerk for fourteen years. He was assigned as proprietor of 
land in Londonderry. This land fell from father to son, and is 
still in the name. 



GENEALOGIES 469 

It was said that he built the second framed house in the town, a 
part of which is still standing. He died in 1755 at Portsmouth, 
and was buried in Londonderry, while a member of the General 
Court. His obituary was: "John MacMurphy, Esq., Justice of 
the Quorum, who departed this life September 21, 1755, at Ports- 
mouth, was carried to Londonderry, and buried the 24th, at ye 
old Burying Place in the town, with an extraordinary company, 
aged 73 years." Some of the descendants scattered into "Old 
Hary's Town," later in 1751 named Derryfield. 

Henry MacMurphy, born in Deeryfield, enlisted August 18, 
1862, as private, aged 27 years, credited to Lisbon. He was in the 
Civil War in Company C, 5th New Hampshire Regiment. He 
was wounded December 13, 1862, in the battle of Fredericksburg, 
\'a. ; was also in the battle of Antietum. He was discharged 
September 7, 1863, as disabled. He married Janette Sherman, 
daughter of Reuben Sherman and wife, Ruth (Smith) Sherman. 

SIBLEY 

Jacob Sibley was born in Salem, Mass., in 1746. History states 
that his ancestors came with the "YYinthrop Fleet" to Massa- 
chusetts. When he was 18 years of age his father, one of the 
proprietors of Meredith, N. H., where he had acquired land 
a short distance southwest of Meredith Center (and later set- 
tled), sent Jacob to assist in building the first bridge across 
YYinnipisogee River, near the outlet of the lake. This was the 
present site of Main Street bridge in Laconia (as history). 

In 1771 Jacob married Anna George at Haverhill, Mass. Her 
mother was a Jewett. After their wedding they rode a horse 
nearly to his sister's home in Hopkinton (within two miles). 
There being no road, they had to walk the rest of the way to their 
humble home, driving a little spotted pig before them. Her 
fitting out, as history states, was three white cups and saucers, 
three knives and forks, one coverlet made of hair and tow, and one 
of wool. They settled near Sugar Hill in Hopkinton, where he 
cleared three acres of land and burned it over to raise corn. 

In 1776 Jacob Sibley was in the military service at Portsmouth. 
He worked on Fort Constitution, leaving his wife at home where 
she hoed the corn and cared for it. 

It seems, from history, that they lived in Meredith for a time, 
but in later life returned to Hopkinton and there died, and are 



470 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

buried in Sugar Hill yard, one of the oldest yards in the country, 
overlooking a long distance where one can view lovely pictures of 
Nature. There are many unknown graves and many old stones 
that are worn past reading. 

Samuel Sibley, born in 1751, married in 1775 Sarah Dow of 
Kensington, N. H., one of the Dow family that later settled above 
Meredith Center. He had land given him by his father, who was 
an early settler. Samuel lived and died in Meredith. He was 
said to have been a small man, and tradition states that the cause 
of his being so small was that he ate too much bean porridge. A 
youth in later life heard the story and asked him if it was true. 
Being very indignant at the youth, he replied: "No, I did not 
get enough of it." 

Rev. Isaac D. Stewart wrote that when Mr. Sibley moved to 
Meredith there was but one log house at Meredith Bridge. His 
nearest neighbor on one side was three miles distant, and on the 
other side four miles away. He carried his corn to mill to be 
ground, ten miles away. After he had earned something he 
bought a horse to use. 

Being in need of salt, later on, he went to Exeter on horseback 
to procure some for family use. In 1789 some settlers had come 
in. Benjamin Perkins had settled about half a mile away, and 
he asked him to look after his wife and family while he was 
gone and assist her in keeping the bears out of the corn, if need be. 

As history states, it was a beautiful still, moonlight night in 
the month of October when Mrs. Sibley heard a destructive 
crashing in the corn. Leaving her four children in bed, she ran 
out and called to Mr. Perkins to come to her aid. He soon 
arrived, went into the cornfield and discharged the contents of his 
gun, and crippled the bear badly. She moved off as fast as she 
could with two cubs, but stumbled over a log and fell. Mrs. 
Sibley caught her by one hind leg and held her while Mr. Perkins 
came up and cut her throat with his pocket knife. This probably 
furnished meat for a time to the settlers. The cubs got away. 

Among the descendants were: 

Josiah Dow Sibley, born in 1779. 

Hannah Sibley, born in 1780; married Jeremiah Gove. 

Richard Sibley, born in 1782; also Nancy, Mark and Sophia. 

Mary Sibley, born in 1784; married in 1815 Paul H. Stanton of 



GENEALOGIES 471 

Bartlett. They had children: Richard, born in 1816, and Sarah, 
born in 1818. 

Members of this Sibley family are some of the ancestors of Mrs. 
Dr. (Sibley) Norris of Laconia and Tilton, chiropractic physician. 

In 1768 he went to Hopkinton, N. H., boarded with his sister, 
Mrs. Stevens, in the wilderness, and died in Hopkinton, June 25, 
1831. 

It appears that Jonathan and Jacob settled a short time in Un- 
ion, Maine, but (from records) Jacob removed. They were sons 
of Jonathan, born in 1701, he a son of Samuel of Salem, Mass., 
and he the son of Richard, born probably in England. (He 
may have been the son of John who lived in Charlestown, Mass., 
and came over with the Winthrop fleet.) 

Some years ago George Littlefield of Meredith Bridge (whose 
features and movements were like those of the late Amos Sibley of 
Hopkinton) was followed a long distance on Washington Street in 
Boston by a gentleman who mistook him for James Sibley of 
Sutton, Mass., the late United States marshal. 



SINCLAIR 

A few branches of the Sinclairs in Meredith and those over the 
New Hampton Line. 

The Sinclair History by L. A. Morrison, published in 1896, gives 
the early history of the family and refers to the "Hermit," the 
"Holy Well" and the "Hermitage" in France, described as fol- 
lows: 

Far in the wild, unknown to public view, 
From youth to age a reverend Hermit grew; 
The moss his bed, the cave his humble cell, 
His food the fruits, his drink the crystal well, 
Remote from man, with God he passed his days 
Prayer all his business — all his pleasure praise. 

The chief home of the Sinclairs was in Normandy, where the 
original family, down through the ages of "long ago," lived in 



472 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

their castles, and fought as was the custom of the kings and dukes 
of England, which is a long drawn-out tale. 

History states that John * Sinkler was the founder of Exeter, 
one of many generations past. He bought ten acres of land in 
Exeter in 1659. 

Old Norfolk County records at Salem, Mass., so state. He and 

his wife Mary settled there. He married, second, Deborah . 

She, being a business manager, made a contract previous to their 
marriage. His will, made in 1699-70, shows that he had children. 
The generations that followed lived on Quoboag Road, known as 
the Sinclair place, which dates back to 1725. The Sinclair place 
was located on "Sinkler Path." It led across the farm of Richard 
M. Scammon, near "Frying Pan Lane," in Stratham. The 
generations that followed were related as: 

Joseph 3 Sinkler (James 2 , John l ), born about 1692. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Lyford, daughter of Thomas Lyford of Exeter- 
He was born in Exeter and one of the original proprietors of Gil- 
mantoh, which at one time took in a part of Meredith. 

Thomas 4 (Joseph 3 , James 2 , John l ), born in South Newmarket 
in 1721. His mother's father was Thomas Lyford. In 1758 he 
located in Pembroke, N. H. At that time the people lived on 
fish, caught at Amoskeag Falls, now Manchester, where the 
Indians for centuries before the palefaces came had caught much 
of their sustenance. William Stark, the poet, wrote of the value 
of the eels that were so abundant there: 

From the eels they formed their food in chief, 
And eels were called the Derryfield beef; 
It was often said that their only care, 
And their only wish, and their only prayer, 
For the present world, and the world to come, 
Was a string of eels, and a jug of rum. 

Thomas Sinkler sold out, and the next town where he settled 
and helped found was Sanbornton. He was there in 1768 or 
earlier, and served as tything man, 1773-76. He served in the 
Revolution in Capt. Chase Taylor's Company, Col. Thomas Stick- 



GENEALOGIES 473 

ney's Regiment, Gen. John Stark's Brigade, but only went to 
Charlestown, N. H. His son, James Sinkler, after a long and 
honorable service in the Revolution, lived in Sandwich, and to 
him he sold his farm of 90 acres in 1785, which was situated on 
Steele's Hill. Thomas Sinkler felt the age that had crept over 
him, being 72 years old and a pioneer in four towns — South New- 
market, Pembrook, Allenstown, and Sanborn ton. His sons had 
removed to other places, so he sold his Sanbornton home and he 
and his son, James, went to Hardwick, Vt., where he died in 1 796, 
aged 75 years. He had seven children. His second son, Thomas, 
was born in Newmarket in 1751. He settled in Meredith before 
1772. His home was in the Pease School District, near "Oak 
Hill Church." (In 1888 the farm was owned by a son of Deacon 
Thomas Veazey.) He married Mary Meed in 1774; she was 
born at Stratham in 1755 and died at Meredith in 1790. He mar- 
ried, second, Nancy Pike of Meredith in 1791, who was 34 years 
old. She had two children who died young. She died in 1827, 
aged 70 years. Thomas Sinkler and wife, Mary Meed, are buried 
near "Oak Hill Church," in a small enclosed yard. One stone has 
this inscription: 

Thomas Sinclair, 1751-1824 
Mary Meed, 1755-1790 

[At the base of the stone] 

My Grandparents 
J. L. Sinclair 

I am informed by an old resident near Oak Hill that J. L. 
Sinclair is Rev. John Langdon Sinclair, born in Meredith in 1809, 
near "Oak Hill Church." He was the son of Joseph Sinclair, 
the sixth child of Thomas and wife, Mary (Meed) Sinclair. 

Joseph and wife, Isabel (Dockham) Sinclair, who was born on 
Meredith Parade in 1780, daughter of John Dockham, who later 
moved to Meredith Neck, are both buried in this neat enclosed 
yard with a few others. 

His seventh child, Constantine Sinclair, died in Meredith before 
1783. He settled near the line between New Hampton and 
Meredith. In 1772 he owned and lived on Lot 19 in the Second 



474 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Division in Meredith. He married Huldah . In 1783 

he passed to the "Great Beyond" and left no record of any chil- 
dren. 

Their fourth child, Mary Sinclair, born in 1781, married Heze- 
kiah Smith; lived in Meredith. 

Their fifth child, William Sinclair, born in 1782, married Nancy 
Dow; lived in Meredith; died in 1815. 

Their sixth child, Joseph fi Sinclair, born in 1785, married Isabel 
Dockham, daughter of John Dockham of Meredith Neck. She 
was born on the Parade in Meredith in 1780. She was a great 
weaver of table linen and carpets, also fulled cloth. She spun 
and wove a suit of clothes for one of her sons when he was 21 
years old, and is said to have nearly paid for fifty acres of wood- 
land, which her husband bought, by her work weaving. She 
was an unusually smart woman and very religious. She died in 
1878, aged 97 years. They had seven children. 

Their first child, Belinda Sinclair, born in 1806, married John 
Cotton of Meredith. 

Their third child was Rev. John Langdon Sinclair, born in 1809; 
died at Lake Village in 1888. 

Rev. John 7 Langdon Sinclair (Joseph 6 , Thomas 5 , Thomas 4 , 
Joseph 3 , James 2 , John 1 ), born in Meredith in 1809, near the 
"Oak Hill Church." He was educated in New Hampton Acad- 
emy. Later he taught school. He joined the church at Mere- 
dith and was licensed to preach in 1832. He labored in many 
towns, was a good financier and helped many poor churches. He 
gave to the Sinclair Orphanage in India and did much mission 
work in India. He married in 1837 Olive Eastman, daughter of 
David and Mehitable (Hilton) Haynes of Deerfield, she born in 
1812. They had a son, Joseph Haynes Sinclair, 1838-1858. 

Nathaniel 6 Sinclair (Benjamin 5 , Thomas 4 , Joseph 3 , James 2 , 
John '), born in Meredith in 1773, married Sarah, daughter of 
Benjamin and wife, Rebecca (Pike) Pease of Meredith, she born 
at Newmarket in 1770. They were married in 1795. He 
lived in Greensborough, Vt., and later Hard wick. In 1801 his 
wife deeded her right in the homestead farm of her father, Benja- 



GENEALOGIES 475 

min Pease, in Meredith, to Simeon Pease, and went to Vermont, 
where both died. They had eleven children. 

Jacob 6 Sinclair, born at Epping in 1752. He enlisted in the 
Revolution in 1775; was at Winter Hill and in the battle of Bunker 
Hill, June 17. He again enlisted, went to Montreal and to Penn- 
sylvania, also took part at Trenton, N. J., 1776. As pension 
record, he was serving from April, 1775, to March, 1777. He 
was called lieutenant, having filled that office probably in the 
militia. He married in 1777 Rachel Clifford of Epping, she born 
in 1759. They lived in Epping until 1790, when they bought of 
Andrew Neal, for 100 pounds, 50 acres, with buildings, in New 
Hampton. This farm Andrew Neal and wife had bought of Dan- 
iel Ward in 1777. It was situated in the part called "Moulton- 
borough Gore," afterward included in New Hampton. He lived 
in the log house nine years, when he built the large home on the 
same site his grandson, Charles P. St. Clair, later occupied. The 
bricks for the massive chimney (20,000) he made and burned him- 
self up in the clay pit under Beech Hill. Later he bought more 
land. F~or his military service he received a pension of eight dol- 
lars a month, which started in March, 1819. He and his family 
attended church at New Hampton Center, where some of his 
children were baptized. The location was on high ground, which 
commanded a fine view of the country and lakes around. 

Thomas Sinclair, a pioneer settler in New Salem, was two miles 
away. Zebulon, another relative, was a resident until 1801 in 
Meredith, where, in plain view, were to be seen the "White Face" 
and the Ossipee Range, and almost within the shadow was an- 
other cousin, Richard 4 Sinclair, in Sandwich, N. H. With these 
relatives near by and a loving family, living on the acres that pro- 
duced abundant support, he lived to be almost 78 years old. 
His wife was 93 when she passed away. They had five children. 
Betsey, 1778-1858, married in 1798, Joshua Roberts of Meredith, 
now Laconia. He died leaving two children — Polly Roberts, 
who married Eli Dow, and Eliza Jane, who married Noah Swain. 
She married, second, Ebenezer Pitman. They had a son, Joshua 
Robinson Pitman, who married Sarah Hall of Belmont. Betsey 



476 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Sinclair married, second, Noah Robinson. Their fourth child, 
Polly Sinclair, born in 1789, married Washington Smith, son of 
Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah Spiller Smith. He was injured 
in the fall of the floor of the Town House at Meredith and died 
in 1855. She died in 1863. Tradition of their children: 

George W. 

Rachel, m. John Langdon Robinson. 
Mary. 
Joshua. 

Sarah E., m. Monroe Robinson. 
Ebenezer. 
Samuel L. 

Catherine, m. Nathan Baldwin of Laconia. 
Ira Sinclair, b. in New Hampton, 1796, d. in Deerfield, 
1875. 

John 6 Meed Sinclair, born at Meredith in 1776, married Sarah 
Lovett of Deerfield and settled in Maine. They had five chil- 
dren. 

James Sinclair, born at Meredith in 1777, married Sally Wiggin 
of Stratham, a sister to George Wiggin, she born in 1778. They 
had eleven children. 

Belinda Sinclair, born at Meredith in 1806, married in 1826, 
John Cotton of Meredith, born at Gilford in 1806. They had 
seven children. 

Their second child, Mary Cotton, born in 1828, married Oliver 
Ambrose of Sandwich Center. 

Their third child, Isabel Sinclair Cotton, born in 1830, married 
Lewis Smith of Sandwich. He was born at New Hampton in 
1830; died in Maryland; was a soldier in the 14th N. H. Regiment. 
Their children: 

Evelyn A., 1857-1858. 
Mabel E., b. 1859. 

Rolf S., b. 1860; m. 1884 Carrie E. Smith. Their dau., 
Ethel W., b. 1887. 

Thomas Jefferson Sinclair (Noah 7 , Joseph 6 , Thomas 5 , 



GENEALOGIES 477 

Thomas 4 , Joseph \ James 2 , John •). born at Meredith in 1838. 
His father, Xoah Sinclair, died when he was five years old. His 
mother married, second, in 1846, and he went to live with his 
step-father, Joseph S. Hart. He married in 1858 Elizabeth 
Melissa, daughter of Ezra Wilmarth and wife, Louisa Jane (Lock- 
wood) Doe, born in Rumney; lived in Meredith. Their children: 

Laura 9 Etta. 

Noah Leroy, b. 1863; settled in Concord; m. Georgiana 
Beatty, dau. of John Beatty of Holderness. 

Myrtle Beatrice Sinclair, born in 1872; lived in Meredith. 



SMITH 

From English research Richard Smith, a yeoman, came from 
Shropshire, England, in 1648 and settled in Ipswich, Mass. 

Richard 2 Smith, born in England in 1640, married in 1660 at 
Newbury, Mass., Hannah Cheney, a sister of Nathaniel Cheney, 
who mentions her in his will as "his sister Smith," and wills her 
"my great Bible." He also mentions Lydia, wife of John Ken- 
drick of Ipswich, and others. 

Their second child, Daniel s , 1673-1755, married Elizabeth 
Payne, founder of the Ipswich Grammar School. She died in 
1719. He married, second, Deborah Wicom (Wilcomb), born in 
Exeter; the Wilcombs came to the Weirs and settled early. 

Their fourth child, Payne Smith, married — Pickering. 
They settled in Meredith, and are buried in the old Smith yard. 

Their fourth child, Jeremiah, 1733-1794 (as gravestones), 
moved to New Salem in 1768. New Salem was so called because 
seventeen families moved from Salem, Mass., and settled there. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier. He married Hannah Lock, 
1743-1815, daughter of Deacon William Lock and first wife, 
Meribah Page. Their children : 

Anne, b. 1765 in Exeter. 

John Rice, 1768, m. in Meredith Rhoda Blaisdell of Epping. 
Their children: 



478 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

John, Jr., 1797-1897, m. 1821 Rhoda Davis, 1794-1876. 
Their children : 

Ebeneezer Lock m. Sarah Marston of Warren. 
Jeremiah Morrill m. Eliza Dolloff. Their children: 
John Morrill. 

Frank m. Nellie Lawrence. They had eight 
children, among them Earl Smith of Detroit, 
Mich. 
Mary Ann m. Henry Folsom, 1829-1879, of Bel- 
mont. 
Rhoda, single, 1831-1923. 
Martha m. Joseph Carson, 1838-1918; both buried 

with their parents in Union yard. 
Susan m. Moses Nash, 1812-1892. 
Anna G., 1834-1856; single. 
Jacob (son of John, Jr., and Rhoda Davis) m. Louisa 

Robinson of Meredith Center. 
Hannah m. Stanford Jackson; m., second David Gilman. 
Nancy m. Nathan Collins. 
Betsey m. Samuel Mudgett. 

Hannah Smith, daughter of Jeremiah and wife, Hannah Lock, 
married Joseph Neal ("White Oak" Joseph) of Meredith, son 
of Samue 1 Neal of Stratham and wife, Elizabeth Haley. (See 
Neal family.) 

Ebeneezer 4 Smith, 1735-1807 (Daniel 3 , Richard 2 , Richard l ), 
married in 1766 Sarah Spiller, 1759-1807, of Exeter. They went 
to Meredith, following spotted trees, on horseback. She rode 
on the horse behind him, he carrying their child and, in his coat 
pocket, a little dog. Later he was called the "Father" of the 
poor people, as he helped them any way he could in the new coun- 
try. He served in the Revolution, and was colonel of a Meredith 
company. Their children: 

Ebenezer, Jr., b. 1765 in Exeter. 

Daniel, b. 1767; the first white child born in Meredith. 
Sarah, b. 1769; m. John Mooney. 
John, b. 1771; lived at home. 

Polly, b. 1773; m. Col. W. B. Kelley. They had eleven 
children. 



GENEALOGIES 479 

Susanna, b. 1776; m. Samuel Lawrence as his first wife; shed. 
Elizabeth, b. 1779; m. Samuel Lawrence as his second wife. 
Catte (Catherine), b. 1781; m. Winthrop Dudley of Epp- 

ing. 
Washington, b. 1784. 

About 1761 Ebeneezer Smith was a proprietor in Gilmanton 
(Meredith) and was one of several who gave bonds for its settle- 
ment. He was a large landowner. 

A little later Ebeneezer Smith and Joshua Crockett, with five 
others, went up into the then wilderness, looking up land. The 
five others went back, but these two remained, staked out a claim 
and built cabins at the head of Opeechee, where he later brought 
his family on horseback. History tells that before 1766 he had 
cut the trees on six acres of land and had three all cleared for culti- 
vation. 

History also states that he and David Lawrence went to Ports- 
mouth and presented a petition to have the name of New Salem 
changed to Meredith, which had previously been called Packers- 
town. (No reason for calling the new town Meredith.) The 
petition was granted and Col. Ebenezer Smith received ten 
pounds and sixteen shillings for pay in securing the charter. 
For forty years he was one of the leading citizens. He served in 
many public offices as senator, presidential elector, and received 
many votes for governor. 

Tradition says that when his son, Daniel, was born (the first 
white child born in New Salem) he was given 200 acres of land. 

Later in life Colonel Smith built a large two-story house, near 
the site of his early camp, and died there. His son, Washington 
Smith, and family occupied it many years, but it was removed 
later on. 

Colonel Smith had a sawmill at Gilford and sawed the lumber 
for the Gunstock Hill Meetinghouse, besides helping build the 
church. 

It is also said that he had another sawmill, nearer home, and 
sawed the lumber, and helped build the first church in Meredith, 



480 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

on the Parade. (That is used as a gymnasium for the school in 
Meredith now.) 

He was lieutenant-colonel of the 10th Regiment of N. H. Mili- 
tia and, in 1781, was one of the leading members in helping frame 
a State Constitution. 

Maj. Gen. B. F. Kelley, 1807, a descendant of Col. W. B. 
Kelley and Polly. Smith, married in 1835 Isabel Goshen, 1816- 
1860. Their daughter, Martha Belle, 1850-1908, married in 
1872 Capt. David B. M. McElwaine, 1840-1914. They had 
nve children: 

Mary Clare, b. 1873; m. 1912 William C. Hopkins; d. 1926. 
Their dau., Cornelia Alice, b. 1913. 

Alice S., b. 1875; m. 1917 John F. McMillan. 

Frank Kelley, b. 1881; m. Grace Spicer, b. 1893. 

Isabel Goshorx, b. 1883; m. 1913 Paul Manship. Their 
dau., Pauline Frances, b. 1913. They settled in New- 
Jersey. 

A son, Samuel Lawrence Smith, 1825-1901, lived in Charles- 
town, Mass. 

Washington Smith, born in 1784, son of Ebenezer Smith and 
wife, Sarah Spiller, married two daughters of Ezekiel Brown 
Lawrence and wife, Susan Kelley. He had a daughter, Rachel, 
who married Langdon Robinson, and a son, Joshua R., 1813-1915, 
who married Clarissa Crockett, 1817-1866. Their son, Henry 
J., born in 1840, was corporal in the 12th N. H. Regiment of 
Volunteers, was wounded and died at Gettysburg. Anna M., 
only daughter of Joshua R. Smith and Clarissa (Crockett) Smith. 

By Miss Weymouth 

The History of Hampton, N. H., states that Robert ' Smith, 
born about 1611, was in Exeter in 1639 and settled in Hampton 
about 1657. He was a tailor by trade. He died in 1706. His 
wife, Susanna, was struck by lightning June 12, 1680. They had 
a son, John 2 , who married Rebecca Adams; married, second, Re- 
becca Marston, daughter of William Marston and wife, Rebecca 



GENEALOGIES 481 

Page, who was a daughter of Robert Page (as Norfolk records). 
Their children: 

Mehitable. 

Leah. 

Joseph, b. about 1653; m. Dorothy Cotton; m., second, Mary 

Moore; d. 1717. 
Abigail, b. 1678; m. Moses Blake 
Ithiel. 
Jacob. 
Israel, b. 1680; m. Mary Gilman of Brentwood. Their son, 

Chase, b. 1732 at Brentwood; m. Abigail Sanborn, b. 1732. 

Their son, Joseph Gilman, b. 1759; m. Elizabeth Gilman 

in 1778. They moved from Brentwood to Candia in 1771. 

Their children: 

Joseph Chase, Jr., b. Mar. 19, 1781; m. Betsey Bean in 

Brentwood, 1803; d. 1857. 
Stephen m. Dorothy Rowe of Candia. 
Betsey. 

Mary m. Samuel Martin. 
Jesse m. Lydia Sargent. 
Sally m. David Young. 
Mehitable, single. 

Joseph Chase Smith, Jr., and wife, Betsey (Bean) Smith, moved 
to Corinth, Vt., for a few years, then removed to Meredith on the 
New Hampton Road. They are buried on a knoll of land on their 
oldfarm. Their children: 

Gilman, m. Mahala Bickford of Meredith. 

Daniel, 1809-1899; m. Abigail Dolloff of Meredith in 1830. 

Joseph C, m. Mary Edgerly of Meredith. 

Mary never married. 

Betsey, m. Gilman Plumer. 

Susanna, m. Lorenzo Dolloff. 

Sarah Ann, m. Steven Colcord; d. 1869. 

Daniel Smith (ancestors not given) married Abigail Dolloff. 
Their children : 

Elizabeth, m. Mooney Russell; no children. 

Thomas, m. Elizabeth Veazey. They brought up a boy and 



482 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

gave him the name of Charles Smith. (See lineage in 
Smiths.) Elizabeth Veasey was one of the Veasey daugh- 
ters in New Hampton, or near the line of Meredith. 

Malissa, d. aged 19 years. 

Stephen, d. aged 15 years. 

Laura, m. Lyman Veazey. They had five children. 

Gilman, d. in the Civil War, aged 17 years. 

Mary, m. William Sanborn. They had one son. 

Joseph F., m. Isabelle Robinson; eight children. 

Abbie, m. Herman C. Weymouth; two children. 

Thomas Smith, who married Elizabeth Veazey, and Joseph 
Frank lived in Meredith, Joseph (who married Isabelle Robinson), 
at the home place. Their children: 

Rachel, m. Wilfred Smith Smart; no children. 
Daniel Thomas, d. in infancy. 
Mary E., m. John Ansboro; two children. 
Barbara W., m. Truman Edwards; one child. 
Robinson W., m. Ruth Hull; no children. 
Frederick, m. Grace Vohr; two children. 
Maurice P., m. Elsie Lynn; one child. 

Joseph Frank Smith still kept the old home in the family in 
Meredith. 

John Smith, born in Plymouth, England, who was with the 
British in the Revolution, escaped when he reached Boston and 
went to Holderness and settled. His son, William, born in 1794 
at Holderness, married Lucinda, daughter of Stephen Pillsbury. 
He later went to Massachusetts, where in 1836 he was killed by 
an explosion in a mine. Their children: 

Melvixa, m. David Taylor; m., second, William Chase; 

third, Luther M. Chase. 
Adaline, m. Charles Belden. 

Alva, b. 1824, after leaving school went to Concord, later to 
Lowell. He m. Mehitable, dau. of Jeremiah B. Swain, in 
1851. After his marriage he bought a farm at Meredith 
Center for a home. Their son, W r illiam B., b. 1852; m. 
Julia Mclntyre; lived in Meredith. Their sons: 
Herman A. 
Howard A. 
George H., d. young. 

Curtis F., b. - — ; m. 1874 Hattie M., dau. of David M. 
Hawkins of Center Harbor. 



GENEALOGIES 483 

George Henry Smith, born at Moultonboro in 1847, son of 
Rufus and wife, Nancy, daughter of Caleb Lovejoy of Meredith. 
Her ancestor came from England, and later the four or five gener- 
ations had homes in Pembroke. Rufus Smith lived on a farm, 
but was a good machinist, also lumbered some. He settled in 
Laconia, in the part set off as Gilford. They had a daughter, 
Lucy J., and a son. George Henry Smith, after he was educated, 
went into the Cole Manufacturing Co. for some years. He later 
went into the dry goods store in Lakeport. He married Eliza E. 
Gardner of Boston. Their son, Harry L. Mr. Smith, married, 
second, Carrie A. Bryant of Tamworth, N. H. 

John P. Smith, born in Gilford, April 30, 1830, son of John P. 
Smith, Sr., and widow, Abigail (Smith) Smith. The grandfather, 
Daniel Smith, lived in New Hampton, N. H. He was a promi- 
nent man in public business and a successful farmer and store- 
keeper. He married Mary Pickering. Their children were 
Daniel, James, Sarah, Abigail and Susan. 

John Pickering Smith, Sr., was born in East Meredith. After 
receiving his education, when he was 29, he had charge of a farm 
that contained 500 acres. Later in life he had a farm of his own. 
He was a deacon of the Free Baptist Church for some 40 years, 
also served as selectman for some time. He died in Gilford. His 
children: 

Mary Ann, m. Richard Gove. 

Daniel K. 

John Pickering, b. 1830 in Gilford, worked with his father 
farming for a time. After he was of legal age he went to 
Sanbornton, and there farmed. He m. Eliza Smith, 
dau. of Samuel P. Smith and wife, Sarah, of New Hamp- 
ton, but returned to his old home in Gilford His wife d. 
in 1887. They had children: Vina. d. 1863; Abby, d. 
1878. He m., second, Sarah Potter of Gilford. 

Thomas L. Smith, son of Daniel P. Smith and wife, Abigail 
Dolloff, daughter of Thomas Dolloff, a Revolutionary soldier, 
buried in one of the Dolloff yards above Meredith Center. Daniel 
P. Smith was a son of Joseph Smith and wife, Betsey Bean, who 
came from Brentwood, N. H. They are buried on his old farm 
on the New Hampton Road. 

Thomas L. Smith married Lizzie Yeasey of New Hampton, 
N. H. He was a brother of Joseph Smith of Meredith Center. 



484 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Their son, Charles Smith, married Lizzie Constantine, daughter 
of Washington Constantine. His father came from England. 
His brother was an adjutant of the G. A. R. Post in Laconia. He 
was in the Civil War. Washington Constantine married Sarah 
Batchelder, born in Sandwich. She had a brother, Edward B. 
Batchelder, who lived in Meredith, and a sister, Martha, who 

married Atwood. 

Charles Smith and wife's children : 

Evelyn, m. and lives in Montpelier, Vt. 

Anzel, lives in Laconia. 

Gilman, lives in Laconia. 

Lelia, d. 

Gladys, d. 

Ernest, d. 

Lee. 

Ashland, N. H., October 3, 1927. 
David Smith and Hepsibah Worcester were married at Hollis, 
N. H., January 1, 1795. Their children were: 

David Page, b. at Hollis, Sept. 20, 1795. 

Noah, b. Sept. 7, 1798. 

Hepsibah Rolinda, b. Sept. 27, 1801. 

Emmons, b. Dec. 7, 1802. 

Martha, b. July 14, 1804. 

Mary, b. Sept. 19, 1805. 

Hannah, b. Sept. 20, 1806. 

Lydia, b. Aug. 1, 1808. 

J. Sewall, b. at Temple, Maine, May 5, 1811. 

Martha, b. at Temple, Maine, Dec. 26, 1813. 

Eunice Woodbury, b. at Temple, Maine, Dec. 2, 1816. 

David Smith was the first resident minister in Meredith. 
The church was on the old road to Center Harbor, afterwards 
was moved to Meredith Village, just above S. A. Ladd's residence. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Smith are buried in Plymouth Street Cem- 
etery. For the first twenty years they were buried on the hill 
near the old church lot. When they were moved to the village 
Mrs. Smith was so heavy it took eight men to lift her. They 
opened the coffin and found her petrified. 

Mary Sewall Huckins. 

From History of Marthas Vineyard 
John Smith, born 1615/16-1670, the Annals of Edgartown 
state, was the ancestor of one Smith family on the Island. He 



GENEALOGIES 485 

settled first in Watertown in 1634, where he married Deborah 
Parkhurst, daughter of George and wife, Phebe Parkhurst, she 
baptised in 1619 at Ipswich, England. He removed to Hampton, 
N. H., in 1644, and to Edgartown in 1653. He died and his widow 
was appointed executrix of his will, dated February 14, 1670. 
Their children: 

John-, b. 1640. 

Deborah, b. 1645; m. Nathaniel Batchelder of Hampton. 

Philip, b. 1650. 

Samuel, b. 1651. 

Abigail, b. 1652; m. perhaps James Covell. 

James ? Covell, son of James \ who was a resident of Barnstable, 
and first mention of him was in 1651 at Edgartown, had four sons. 
The second, James 2 , born about 1660, resided at Edgartown and 
married Abigail, who may have been Abigail Smith. He was 
living in 1734 and died before 1749. His house was located at 
Meshacket. They had children: 

Lydia, b. 1685; m. Richard Holman in 1706. 

James, b. 1687. 

Bethiah, b. 1689; m. Jonathan Hillman, 1722 3. 

Thomas Mayhew, Jr., came to New England in 1631 with his 
father when ten years old; attended school in Medford, 1631/35, 
and later in Watertown, where he was well educated. He mar- 
ried a step-daughter of his father, Jane Paine. In 1646 his father 
went to the Vineyard and his son, Thomas, Jr., went with him. 

Thomas Mahewe, Jr., and wife, Jane Paine, had children: 

Matthew, b. 1648. 

, b. 1649. 

Thomas, b. 1650. 

John, b. 1651/2. 

Jerusha, b. 1654; m. first, Joseph Wing of Sandwich; m., 2d, 

Thomas Eaton of Shrewsbury, N. J., about 1688. 
Jedidah, b. 1656; m. Benjamin Smith before 1685. 

John Smith, born in 1595 at Dorking, England, married Deb- 
orah Parkhurst. He made a will in Nantucket, Marthas Vine- 
yard, and died 1670. 



486 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Copy of Will of John Smith of Felix Neck 

I, John Smith, of Marthas Vineyard being in perfect health and soundness of 
mind both in body and mind, doe make my last Will and Testament, this 14th 
day of February in the year 1670 as followeth: — 

Imprimis! I give unto my two sons John and Samuel, all my lands on the 
Island of Nantucket, with all privileges thereto belonging to be equally divided 
between; they paying their two sisters, Debora and Abigail, unto either of them 
five pounds, to be paid within one year after their entrance and possession 
thereof. 

Item: I give unto my sonne Philip my land and house at Marthas Vineyard 
with all privileges, belonging to the aforesaid land, to be his after the decease 
of his mother; and in the meantime after my decease, my will is that the said 
Philip my son shall enjoy two thirds of the said lands and privileges. 

The true intent and meaning of this my gift unto my sonne is that because 
the wise disposing hand of God hath ordered that my said sonne at present is 
impotent in his understanding, that his weakness shall not alienate the land 
from my family: therefore my will is that the lands and priviliges as afore 
mentioned shall be thus disposed, namely if the said Philip shall marry and 
have issue the lands are given to him and his heirs forever, but if the said philip 
shall dy without issue then it shall at his decease fall to the next heir in the 
family; 

And further I give to my sonne Philip what drawing cattle are in or being on 
the land, or living aforesaid, at my decease, with carts, plows and all furniture 
belonging to the same; and also two cows and liberty to dwell in the house all 
the time of his mother's life. 

Item: I make Debora, my wife, whole executor of this my last will and I de- 
sire and appoint my loving friends Mr. Thomas Mahew, and Isaac Robinson, 
at the Vineyard, and Mr. Edward Starbrick, and Thomas Macy, of Nantucket 
overseers of this my last will and testament and in case one or more of these 
friends dy, or leave the country, and their places vacant then the survivers or 
remainders, shall have liberty to choose others to supply, and are desired so to 
doe, for the confirmation hereof I the said testator have hereunto set my hand 
the day and year above written. 

Witnesses. 

Thomas Macy junr. 
Sarah Macy. 
Mary Starbrick. 

John Smith, immigrant ancestor, came from England at some 
time between 1632 and 1636 and was one of the original settlers of 
Hampton, N. H. He was closely associated with Christopher 
Hussey and with Rev. Stephen Batcheldor. His daughter, 
Deborah, married Nathaniel Batcheldor, son of Rev. Stephen 
Bacheldor. It seems certain that he was the John Smith mentioned 
in the formation of "The Company of the Plough" of London. 

In London, England, in 1630 was formed an association called 
"The Company of the Plough," which was of a religious nature, 



GENEALOGIES 487 

although at this time it is impossible to know what was their 
belief. 

Their leader was Stephen Bachildor, and their plans were to 
come to America. They did not get away until 1632, when they 
sailed on the ship "William & Francis," and (as history) it seems 
that John Smith came then, also Christopher Hussey and others. 

Comprised in the association were Bryan Benckes, John Dye, 
Anthony Jupe, Thomas Jupe, John Smith, Bryan Kipling and 
some twenty others. After arrival in America they made several 
attempts to plant their colony, with rather indifferent success in 
several places, but the original settlement was at Hampton, N. H., 
during nine years of trials. 

John Smith, with others, first settled at Hampton, but shortly 
afterward he and Christopher Hussey removed to Marthas 
Vineyard; and all later reference to him is referred to as John 
Smith of Nantucket or John Smith of Marthas Vineyard. He 
was one of the heads of sixteen families named John Smith who 
settled in Massachusetts prior to 1650. 

On March 16, 1641, Thomas Mayhew, Sr., and Thomas May- 
hew, Jr., in a deed conveyed to John Doggett, Daniel Pierce, 
Richard Beeres, John Smith and Francis Smith, one half of the 
Island of Nantucket, "beyond the Pond," etc. His name ap- 
peared as a witness in a deed of Nantucket signed by Thomas 
Mayhew on July 2, 1659 There were two witnesses, John Smith 
and Edward Scale. 

In an Indian deed recorded June 29, 1671, " Wanackwamack, 
head sachem of ye Island of Nantucket, sells and conveys to 
Tristram Coffin, Thomas Macy, Richard Swayne, Thomas 
Bernard, Christopher Hussey, Robert Pyke, John Smith, John 
Bisop, Edward Starbuck, Peter Coffin, James Coffin and Stephen 
Greenleaf, all ye west end of ye aforesaid Island, etc." 

It appears that John Smith resided on Marthas Vineyard and 
not on Nantucket, for his name appears under date of August 16, 
1662, as a member in the militia company, organized under 
Thomas Boyer, captain at the Vineyard. He was one of the 
proprietors, and may have lived at both places. 

In 1671 the proprietors were Tristram Coffin, Jr., Robert Pyke, 
Thomas Coleman, Nathaniel Starbuck, Thomas Look, James 
Coffing, John Smith, Robert Bernard, Edward Starbuck and 
Thomas Mayhew. Jr. 

John Smith married Deborah Parkhurst, daughter of George 



488 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Parkhurst. They had two children, John, Jr., and Deborah. 
Deborah married Nathaniel Bacheldor and settled in Hampton, 
N. H. John Smith died previous to 1674, his will being dated 
1670. 

The place of birth of John, Jr., is uncertain. He remained in 
Hampton after his father went to Nantucket, and was called John 
Smith, "the cooper," there being another John Smith there called 
"the tailor." He married Huldah, daughter of Christopher 
Hussey. 

Christopher Hussey was baptized in Dorking, England, the son 

of John and wife, Mary (Ward) Hussey. He solicited in marriage 

the daughter of Rev. Stephen Bachildor, who gave his consent on 

condition that he w T ould come to America with them, which he 

did. They settled in Hampton, where he died in 1686. Their 

children: 

Stephen, m. Martha Bunker. 

John, m. Rebecca Perkins. 

Joseph. 

Huldah, m. John Smith. (She lived to be 97 years old.) 

Mary. 

Theodate. 

His enlistment in King William's War was noted thus, "Searg. 
John Smith. His son, John Smith." 

Lieut. John Smith of Hampton, N. H., and wife, Huldah. 

Theodate, b. Dec. 16, 1667; d. Oct. 2, 1675. 

John, b. Aug. 21, 1669; d. 1708. 

Deborah, b. Apr. 7, 1671; d. 1671. 

Samuel, b. Oct. 31, 1672; m. Ruth Haskell, dau. of Pease. 

Stephen, b. Apr. 23, 1674; d. 1692. 

Huldah, b. July 6, 1676; m. Thomas Deaborn. 

Christopher, b. Dec. 12, 1677; d. 1701. 

Deborah (2), b. Apr. 12, 1679; d. 1682. 

Phillip, b. 1683; d. 1745. 

Lieut. Elisha, b. 1685; m. Abigail Marston. 

Abigail, b. Feb. 24, 1687; m. Jonathan Marston. 

Mary, b. 1690; m. Jeremiah Marston; d. 1760. 

Capt. John Smith, son of Lieut. John Smith, born at Hampton, 
August 21, 1669, lived at Bramble Hill; married Abigail Shaw, 
daughter of Benjamin Shaw. Their children: 

Stephen, b. May 26, 1696. 
Benjamin, b. May 31, 1697; d. 1756. 
Jeddidah, b. May 25, 1699. 



GENEALOGIES 489 

Sylvanus, b. Mar. 29, 1701 ; m. Mary Weare, a widow, dau. 

of Jos. Taylor, and settled at Chester. 
Ruth, b. Apr. 3, 1703; m. David Page. He d. 1769. 
Paul, b. Jan. 8, 1704; m. Love Gross, a widow, dau. of 

Reuben Marston, settled in Chester and died there. 
Abigail, b. July 6, 1707. 

Jerusha, b. Feb. 2, 1709; m. Caleb Marston. She d. 1738. 
John, b. Apr. 1712. 

Benjamin Smith, son of Capt. John 5 Smith and wife, Abigail 
Shaw of Northampton, born May 31, 1697, died in 1756; married 
MaryHobbs, 1704-1747. Their children: 

Abigail, b. 1728; m. Gen. Jonathan Moulton. She d. from 
smallpox in 1775. 

Theodate, b. 1730; m. Elisha Batchelder. 
/ Mary, b. 1732; m. Jonathan Page. 
\Huldah, b. 1732; d. 1746. 

Benjamin, b. 1734. 

Christopher, b. 1736; m. Mary Page. 

Josiah, b. 1739. 

Ann, 1741-1745. 

, b. and d. 1747. 

Extract from the Will of Benjamin Smith, June 11, 1755 

I give and bequeathe to Sarah [second wife] my beloved wife the west end of 
my house, from top to bottom, and a privelidge in my other suller, and her 
goods that she brought with her, and that she have 100 weight of good pork, 
and 60 weight of good beef, and 12 bushels of Indian corn; 3 bush, of grain, 
one half wheat, and half rye, and K' bushel malt, and fifteen weight of flax, 
from the swingle; also the income of three good sheep, and two good cows; and 
sufficient fire wood cut fit for the fire; and 3 barrells of cider. 

All the above provissions yearly, and that she be provided with a horse for 
meetings, and that she also have a horse to market, and that she have con- 
venient mourning, and that she have sass for eating, and a convenient garden; 
and that she be well provided for in time of sickness, and that she have a cover- 
lid, and two blankets, that she made since here, and that she have the privilidge 
of the Dairy this year. 

These things to be continued as long as she remains my widow. 

Roger Shaw, born in England, was an ancestor of the Shaw 
family in New Hampshire. He was made freeman in 1636 in 
Cambridge, went to Hampton in 1647 and became a prominent 
man there. He married, first, Anne - — ; second, Susanna, the 
widow of William Tilton of Lynn. She died in 1655. He died 
in 1662. He had seven children by the first wife: Margaret, 
Joseph, Esther, Mary (died young), Mary, Benjamin and Ann. 



490 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Benjamin, son of Roger and wife, Anne Shaw, born about 1640, 
died December 31, 1717. He married Esther Richardson in 1663. 
She died in 1 736, aged 91 years. They had twelve children : Mary, 
Esther, Sarah, Abigail, Ruth, Benjamin, Roger, Joseph, Edward 
(died young), Edward and Abigail Shaw who married Capt. John 3 
Smith in 1695. 

Fourth generation. Benjamin Smith of North Hampton, son 
of Capt. John Smith, born in 1697. In 1727 he married Mary 
Hobbs, daughter of Morris Hobbs, born in 1680, and married 
November 18, 1703, Theodate Bachiller, daughter of Nathaniel 
Bachiller. 

His father was named Morris, born in 1652, and on June 13, 
1678, married Benjamin Swett; lived at Hampton, N. H. 

Morris Hobbs, father of Morris Hobbs, was the emigrant an- 
cestor, born in England in 1615, came to Hampton and married 
Sarah Eastow, daughter of William Eastow. He died in 1706. 

Children of Benjamin Smith and Mary (Hobbs) Smith: 

Abigail, b. Apr. 28, 1708; d. of smallpox. She m. Gen. 
Jonathan Moulton, he having had it before. 

Theodate, b. Apr. 20, 1730. 
f Mary, b. Apr. 23, 1732; m. Jonathan Page; d. 1793. 
\ Huldah, b. Apr. 23, 1732. 

Benjamin, b. Sept. 25. 1734. 

Christopher, b. Oct. 11, 1736; d. 1814. 

Josiah, b. June 21, 1739; d. 1746. 

Ann, b. Oct. 6, 1741; d. 1745. 

Child, b. 1747. 

Fifth generation. Deacon Christopher Smith of North Hamp- 
ton. He served in the Colonial Militia and was first lieutenant. 
He served in the Continental Army and was in the Revolution as 
private in Col. Jonathan Chase's Regiment of N. H. Militia at 
Ticonderoga; was discharged June 16, 1777. He is buried at 
North Hampton, N. H. Christopher Smith married Mary Page, 
who was the mother of his children. She died in 1778; later he 
married Abigail Cilley. They had one daughter, Anna. 

Christopher's wife, Mary, was the daughter of Shubael Page, 
born in April, 1738. Shubael Page, born in 1707, married in 1731 
Hannah Dow. His father was Christopher Page, born September 
20, 1670; married in 1689 Abigail Tilton. Christopher Page's 
father was Thomas Page, born in 1639; married in 1664 Mary 
Hussey, daughter of Capt. Christopher Hussey. 



GENEALOGIES 491 

(Note that this marriage brings the Hussey and Bachiller blood 
back to the family. See the marriage of Lieut. John Smith and 
Huldah Hussey, sister of Mary Hussey. 

Children of Christopher Smith and wife, Mary Page: 

Benjamin, b. Oct. 21, 1757; m. Judith Pottle. He d. 1842. 
John, b. Jan. 20, 1760; d. 1842. 

Huldah, b. Jan. 20, 1762; m. Dr. Benaiah Sanborn; d. 1857. 
Mary, b. Feb. 6, 1764; m. Daniel Marston, son of Isaac 

Marston. 
Hannah, b. Dec. 8, 1764; m. Nathaniel Piper; d. 1850. 
Reuben Page, b. Jan. 3, 1770; d. 1843. 
Ebeneezer, b. Apr. 27, 1773; d. 1844. 
Christopher, baptized Feb. 1, 1778. 
" Anna, baptized May 12, 1789. 

Most of the children settled in the interior of the state, four 
going to Sanbornton. 

Benjamin 6 , oldest son of Christopher and wife, Mary Page 
Smith, settled in New Hampton, and was known as Lieutenant 
Smith, also as Deacon. He served in the Revolution from North 
Hampton. He was present at the taking of Burgoyne. He 
married Judith Pottle, daughter of Samuel and wife, Jennie 
(Piper) Pottle. She died May 15, 1804. Their children: 

Peter 7 , b. 1785; drowned 1805. 

Mary, b. 1787; m. Nathaniel Robinson. Their children: 

Mary Jane m. David Moore. 

Mahala m. Samuel Dalton. 

John. 

Nathaniel. 

Josiah. 

Betsey m. Hammond. 

Phebe m. Samuel Colby of Penacook. 
Josiah 7 , b. 1789; m. Hannah Gilman. Their children: 

Betsey m. B. Smith Huckins. 

Mary m. George Robinson of Candia. 

Louise m. Noyes. 

Abigail 7 , b. Sept. 9, 1791; m. James Huckins. Their 
children : 

Ruth m. Perrin Dow; d. 1907. 

x lugail m. Huckins. 

John. 

Martin Luther m., first, Sarah Dow; second, Mary 
Mudgett. 

Caleb d. 1908. 



492 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Hannah 7 , b. Nov. 28, 1793; m. Thomas Abbott. Their 
children: 

Esther m. Austin Shaw. 

Thomas Perry d. young. 

Anna. 
Samuel 7 Pottle, b. Dec. 9, 1795; d. 1880; m. Sally Judkins 
of Sanbornton. Their children: 

Eliza m. John Parker Smith, Sr. 

Mary m. Kendrick W. Smith. 

Julia m. Stephen Worthen. 

Laura m. Luther Sanborn (twin); the other d. 

Addie m. Samuel Stickney. 
Sally 7 , b. Apr. 16,1 798 ; m. James Gordon. Their children : 

George. 

Smith. 

Anna. 

Leonard. 

Sarah. 

The girls remained single. 
Daniel 7 Marston, b. 1801; m. Hannah Abbott. Their 
children: 

Mary Charlotte Hodgdon m. J. H. Wilkinson. 

Naomi Jane. 

Benjamin Abbott. 
Esther 7 , b. Aug. 28, 1803; m. Anthony Colby; d. 1847. 
Their children: 

Abbie m. Alfred Clark. 

Mary. 

Benjamin m. Mary Booth. 

Martha m. C. H. Wilkinson. 

Samuel Pottle, b. Apr. 26, 1844; d. 1868. 

Benjamin Smith married Widow Elizabeth Marston, daughter 
of Stephen and Elizabeth Sleeper, of Poplin, N. H. Elizabeth S. 
(Marston) Smith; died in 1842. Their only child, Anna, born in 
1806, married Nathaniel Drake. She died in 1862. Their chil- 
dren: George, Elizabeth, Frank M. and Mary Ann. 

John 6 Smith of North Hampton and New Hampton, son of 
Christopher, born in 1760, died at New Hampton, July 17, 1842. 
He served in the Revolution. (Rev. Rolls, Vol. 1, page 642, 456, 
etc.) Miss Hattie M. Smith, his great-granddaughter, also has 
his family Bible, printed in London in 1577, which fell to her 
father, John Smith. Shortly after the close of the Revolutionary 
War he removed to New Hampton, in the interior of the state, 
and settled on "Beech Hill," where he died July 17, 1843. He 



GENEALOGIES 493 

married Martha Drake, daughter of Abraham Drake. Their 
children: Levi, Christopher, John, Abigail, Lydia, Polly, Martha, 
Hannah and Anna. 

Of these, John was the only one leaving any descendants 
named Smith. He died at his farm on "Beach Hill" and was 
buried with his wife on the home farm. 

Some years ago his daughter, Hannah, who married a Merrill, 
removed the bodies of her parents to a small cemetery in Holder- 
ness and reinterred the bodies in the family lot. John Smith's 
grave is marked by the Sons of the Revolution marker, placed 
there in 1909 by his great-grandson. 

John Smith, Jr., of West Center Harbor, son of John Smith, 
was born on Beech Hill in 1792; died in Meredith, and was buried 
in the old yard. He married Mary Mudgett and lived on a farm 
at West Center Harbor, later occupied by Amos Webster. He 
was one of the best farmers in the state, and later sold it to Jacob 
Merrill, who married his daughter, Mary, and removed to 
Meredith Village. Their children were: Priscilla, Mary, Tim- 
othy, Esther, Abigail, Huldah, John, Benjamin, Lavina, George 
and Hannah. 

(Copied from papers of Mrs. Jennie Wilkinson Fifield, 338 
Main Street, Laconia, N. H.) 

This data came through Mrs. Fifield, which she obtained from 
Ralph M. Smith of Beverly, Mass. in 1909: 

John l Smith, the emigrant ancestor, was born in Dorking, 
England. He came to America in 1632 on the ship "William and 
Francis." He was a member of the association, "The Company 
of the Plough," formed in London, England, in 1630, a religious 
order. The leader was Stephen Bachillor, who returned to 
England in 1656, leaving his family here, and died in England at 
the age of 100 years. 

Christopher Hussey married Batcheldor's daughter. 

John - Smith, son of John l Smith, married their daughter, 
Huldah, in 1667 ; so are related to the Smith, Hussey and Batchel- 
dor families. John * Smith was one of the original owners of 
Nantucket, and died there. Rev. Batcheldor made the original 
settlement there, at Hampton. 

John J Smith, called John Smith, "the Cooper," was a lieuten- 
ant in the local militia, also in Colonial service as Serg. John 
Smith. He was one of twelve men who were granted 40 acres 



494 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

each at the North Plantation in 1669, upon agreeing to build and 
settle there, now called North Hampton. 

Capt. John 3 Smith, born at Hampton in 1669, lived on Bramble 
Hill. 

Benjamin 4 Smith, born at North Hampton in 1697, died in 
1756. His daughter, Abigail, married Gen. Jonathan Moulton, 
who exposed her to smallpox, and she died (as tradition), so that 
he could marry a younger woman. 

Deacon Christopher 5 Smith, First Lieut, in the Revolution 
(his stone is marked, born October 29, 1736; died December 7, 
1814), was deacon of the Congregational Church 33 years. 
Married, first, Mary (Mollie) Page; second, Abigail Cilley. 

Deacon Benjamin 6 Smith, born at North Hampton in 1757, 
was in the Revolution; married Judith, daughter of Samuel and 
Jennie (Piper) Pottle of Stratham, born in 1761. The Pottles are 
supposed to have come from England. Their children: 

Peter, b. 1785. 

Mary, b. 1787. 

Josiah, b. 1789; m. Hannah Pitman. 

Abigail, b. 1791. 

Hannah, b. 1793. 

Samuel, b. 1795. 

Sally, b. 1798. 

Daniel Marston, b. 1801. 

Esther, 1803. 

Deacon Benjamin Smith married, second, Elizabeth Marston, 
daughter of Stephen and Elizabeth Sleeper of Poplin, who die 
in 1842. Their child, Anna, born in 1806. 

Benjamin Smith died June 29, 1842, and is buried with his first 
wife and son, Peter, in what is known as the Kendrick Smith 
farm, not far from the Dr. Dana Meetinghouse, in New Hampton. 
It was to this farm that he made his way by "spotted trees"; and, 
after clearing a space and building a cabin, he brought his wife on 
a pillion. His second wife is buried in the cemetery nearer the 
Meetinghouse. 

Mary Smith, born in 1787, married Nathaniel Robinson, died 
in 1861. Their children: 

Mary Jane, m. David Moore; d. 1902. 

Mahala, m. Samuel Dal ton; d. 1881. 

John. 

Nathaniel, m. Abigail Thompson. 



GENEALOGIES 495 

Josiah, d. 1861. 

Betsey, b. Mar. 1, 1818; d. 1892; m. Rufus Hammond. 
Phebe, b. Sept. 17, 1822; m. Gilman Colby of Pennacook. 
Josiah Smith, m. Hannah Pitman. Their children: 

Betsey m. B. Smith Huckins. 

Mary m. George Robinson of Candia. 

Louisa m. Noyes. 

Abigail Smith, born in 1791; married James Huckins. Their 
children: 

Ruth, m. Perrin Dow. She d. 1907. If she had lived a 
short time she would have been 95 years old. She had a 
sister in Hanover 92 years old, and two brothers — Luther 
of Holderness 86 years old and Caleb Huckins, 84 years 
old. She had five children: Mrs. Sam Hodgdon of Ash- 
land, Rufus of Laconia and Charles, with whom she was 
living when she passed away. 

B. Smith, m. Betsey Smith. 

Abigail, m. Hutchins of Maine. 

John, in Australia. 

Luthur, m., first, Sarah Dow; second, Mary Mudgett. 

Caleb, m. Lucretia Ward. 

Hannah Smith, born in 1793, married Thomas Abbott. Their 
children : 

Esther, m. D. Austin Shaw. 
Thomas Perry, d. young. 
Anna. 

Samuel Pottle, born in 1795, married Sallie Judkins, and later 
Mrs. Hoyt. Their children: 

Eliza, m. John Parker Smith. 
Mary, m. Kendrick \V. Smith. 
Susan, d. young. 
Julia, m. Stephen YVorthen. 
Laura, m. Luther Sanborn. 
Addie, m. Samuel Stickney. 

August 22, 1918, John A. Marsh married Alice C. Smith, daugh- 
ter of Albert W. and Ella M. Smith, she a granddaughter of 
Kendrick \V. and wife, Mary Smith. 

Sally Smith, born in 1798, married James Gordon. Their 
children: 

George, m. Hannah Flanders. Their children: Marilla, 
Everett and Elmer C. 



496 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Smith, m. Sarah Smith. Their children: Leavitt, Curtis 

and Emma. 
Anna. 
Leonard, m. Ellen Brown. Children: Albert, Ida and 

Willis. 
Sarah. 

Daniel Marston, born in 1801, married Hannah Abbott, daugh- 
ter of Paul and Naomice (Carr) Abbott. Their children: 

Mary Charlotte, m. John Hutchins Wilkerson. 
Naomi Jane. 
Benjamin Abbott. 

Esther Smith married Anthony Colby. He married, second 
time and had a son, Hiram. Their children: 

Abbie, m. Alfred Clark. 

Mary, single. 

Benjamin Smith, m. Lilla Batcheldor; Mary E. Booth. 

Martha, m. Charles H. Wilkinson. 

Samuel. 

Anna Smith, born in 1806, married Nathaniel Drake. Their 
children: George, Elizabeth, Frank M. and Mary Ann. 

An Old Story 
By Mrs. Jennie Wilkinson Fi field 

The story runs that in early Colonial days one Jonathan 
Moulton presented the Governor of the State, or rather the 
Colony, a fat ox for a thanksgiving feast, which so pleased his 
Excellency that he gave General Moulton a tract of wild land "up 
north." What is now Moultonboro was a part of the grant. 

The wife of General Moulton was Abigail Smith, daughter of 
Benjamin Smith, who lived in North Hampton. When the 
general was giving homesteads from his wild land to his own 
young nephews, he also gave a tract to Mrs. Moulton's nephew, 
Benjamin, son of her brother, Christopher Smith. 

Young Benjamin found his way to his lot and cleared some land, 
built a house of three rooms (something rather unusul in those 
days), returned to North Hampton and married Judith Pottle 
of Stratham. 

With their worldly possessions packed on a large white stallion, 
and Benjamin's own sturdy shoulders, they took the "trail," 



GENEALOGIES 497 

marked only by spotted trees, for their new home. Behind the 
saddle, where rode the bride, Judith, was the priceless "live 
goose" feather bed and all the bridal setting-out. With a meal 
sack across Benjamin's shoulders containing seed corn and beans, 
and with his trusty musket in his arms, they steadily pushed their 
way into the wilderness to New Hampton, some two miles from 
the now so-called "Dr. Dana Meetinghouse." Tradition also 
says that he led a cow along for their use. This farm is still 
occupied by a great-great-granddaughter, Mrs. John A. Marsh, 
who before her marriage was Miss Alice Smith, so it is that in 
very recent years the occupants bore other names than Smith. 

The following story is still current among the descendants of 
Benjamin and Judith Smith, particularly if any of them are 
thought timid. 

One cold night in early spring the couple were peacefully sleep- 
ing when a very unusual noise awoke Mrs. Judith, who after 
listening a short time decided that a bear was after one of the 
precious litter of pigs. 

With a sharp prod of her elbow she endeavored to arouse her 
husband, at the same time shouting in his ear, "Ben, Ben, wake 
up; there is a bear after the pigs; get up; get up!" 

Ben rolled over, vowing he would not get out that cold night 
for all the pigs in the county. Not so with Mrs. Judith. She 
sprang up, slipped her feet into her husband's cowhide boots and, 
grabbing the axe as she dashed past the woodpile, followed the 
sound of the squealing pig and lumbering bear, all the while 
shouting with all her strength, until Mr. Bruin decided to drop his 
prey and betake himself to safety, whereupon Mrs. Judith seized 
the badly frightened pig and returned to the house where she 
proceeded to very thoroughly waken her husband, Benjamin, 
and gave him a piece of her mind. 

After a few years a neighbor came to settle about three miles 
away, beyond the so-called "Little Hollow." 

One afternoon Grandmother Judith took her knitting and went 
over to "set a spell" with a neighbor, upon arriving home, she 
discovered that she had left her best apron. After supper she 
went back over the "blazed trail," got the apron and returned 
home. 

Mrs. Judith (Pottle) Smith, must have been a fit wife for a 
pioneer. When she was sick she requested to be buried in the 



498 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

orchard just above and back of her present home. She died May 
15, 1804, her request was granted, and she rests with her husband 
and a brother in the old orchard. 

Lieut. John 2 Smith, the "Cooper," and sister, Deborah, were 
children of John Smith of Marthas Vineyard. The sister, 
Deborah, married Nathaniel Batchelder. She died in 1674, and 
Mr. Batchelder thought single blessedness was not pleasant, and 
he decided to marry again, so, as the legend runs, he took his 
staff and held it up, determined to be guided by the direction that 
the staff fell when dropped from his hand. That should be the 
direction he would follow to seek a wife. The staff pointed 
towards Woburn, and he walked down there and called on the 
Widow Wyman. He proposed marriage to her, saying that she 
could have a little time to think it over before she decided, as he 
was going to Boston, and would call for his answer on his way 
back. She decided to accept him. He had six children by 
Deborah and eight more by Mrs. Mary (Carter) Wyman, who 
was a cousin to Deborah. The descendants drifted inland and 
settled. 

Lieut. Christopher of the fifth generation was born in Hampton, 
and married Mary Page, 1737-1778. His children were: 

Benjamin, 1757-1842; he settled in New Hampton. 

John, 1760-1842. 

Huldah, 1762-1858; m. Dr. Benaiah Sanborn, a man of 
much energy. He had a practice that extended for miles. 
He, as history states, advised opening a road through the 
valley from Sanbornton to New Hampton, which was later 
called the "Turnpike." Often when out to call on his 
patients he had to leave his horse and go on snowshoes, but 
never neglected anyone. His wife, Huldah, was a very 
generous-hearted woman. 

Hannah, 1765-1850; m. Nathaniel, son of Stephen Piper and 
wife, Abigail C. Wiggin. Stephen Piper was a deacon of 
the Congregational Church in Stratham. 

Mary, 1767-1826; m. Daniel Marston, 1764-1800, of Par- 
sonsfield, Maine. After his death she m., second, Josiah 
Deaborn, a superior mathematician and astronomer who 
made almanacs. He clerked in a store at Sanbornton 
Square for some years. The children of Mary Smith by 
Daniel Marston were: 

Polly, b. 1790; d. young in Parsonsfield, Maine. 
Molly, b. 1792; d. young in Sanbornton. 



GENEALOGIES 499 

Isaac, b. 1794; m. Sally Lane. 

Abigail, b. 1797 ; m. Jonathan Cawley. He was a deacon 
of the North Sanbornton Baptist Church. 

Smith, b. 1799; m. Hannah Dudley, b. 1804, dau. of 
Samuel C. Dudley, who came from Brentwood, and 
wife, Mercy Thorn. 

Reuben Page Smith, 1770-1843; lived in Meredith, now 
Laconia. He m. Sarah Huse Smith, 1798-1867, dau. 
of Capt. Elisha Smith and wife, Sara Huse Smith of 
New Hampton, and later settled on a farm at the 
entrance to Meredith Neck. 

Ebeneezer Smith, 1773-1844. 

Christopher, b. 1775. 

Abigail, 1778-1801. 

.Anna, 1788-1805. 
The children of Mary (Smith) Marston, by Josiah Deaborn: 

Josiah Smith, b. 1803; d. young. 

Sarah Freese, b. 1805; m. John S. Pearson, son of Jethro 
of Meredith; second, Gilman Clark; third, Sylvester 
YYyman. 

Anna Smith, b. 1807; m. John Peaslee of Weare. 

Daniel Marston, b. 1800; m. Mary Jane Gordon, dau. of 
William and Margaret (Moses) Gordon of New Hamp- 
ton. She d. 1843. He m., second, her sister, 
Harriett, b. 1815. He was ordained by the Meredith 
and Sanbornton North Baptist Churches. He began 
preaching in 1843, farmed some besides, and was called 
a gifted man. They had nine children. Lived 
in Meredith. 

Samuel John, b. 1812; m. Mary A., dau. of Josiah 
Robinson of New Hampton. Two children. 

John 7 Smith, who married Martha Drake, was a son of 
Christopher Smith and Mary Page, and was called "Shaving 
John" for distinction from other Johns. Their children: 

Christopher, b. Oct. 4, 1786; d. 1843. 
Martha, b. Oct. 6, 1788; d. 1876. 
Levi S., b. Aug. 30. 1790; d. 1853. 
John, b. Dec. 31, 1792; d. 1866. 
Abigail, b. Dec. 12, 1796; d. 1858. 
Annie, b. Sept. 25, 1800; d. 1858. 
Lvdia, b. May 30, 1802; d. 1834. 
Mary, b. Apr. 2, 1805; d. 1834. 
Hannah P., b. July 20, 1810. 

John 7 Smith, son of John a and wife, Martha Drake, who 
married Mary Mudgett. They are buried in the Lang Street 
yard, Meredith. 



500 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Priscilla M., b. Oct. 21, 1818. 

Timothy, b. Apr. 23, 1821; d. 1822. 

Mary, b. Mar. 20, 1823; d. 1908. 

Esther, b. Oct. 9, 1825; d. 1844. 

Abigail, b. Jan. 20, 1828; d. 1915. 

Huldah P., b. Aug. 9, 1829; d. 1915. 

John, b. July 6, 1831; d. 1908. 

Benjamin- M., b. Nov. 1, 1833; d. 1912. He gave the Mere- 
dith Public Library in memory of his parents. 

Lavina, b. Sept. 6, 1835; d. 1856. 

George S., b. June 14, 1837; d. 1898. 

Hannah, b. Nov. 28, 1842; d. 1908; m. 1860, Moses Gilman 
Webster, son of Moses Webster and wife, Mary (Dolloff) 
Webster. Their children: 

Marietta, b. Jan. 16. 1861; m. Alonzo Corliss. 
Daniel Frank, b. 1864; m. Alice Lincoln in 1887. 
Charles Gilman, b. 1866; d. 1867. 
Edith Eldora, b. 1868; m. Francis Joseph Robinson. 
Nellie Eveline, b. 1871; m. 1893, Herbert Cox. 
Ida Roberta, b. 1874; m. Clarence Ward in 1897. 
Emma Jane, b. 1876; m. Edward Bickford. 
The children all born in Center Harbor. 

Orville Parker Smith, born in 1861, was the only child of Noah 
Smith and wife, Grace E. W. (Mudgett) Smith. Noah was a son 
of Parker Smith, who settled on the farm in 1821. Orville P. 
Smith lives in Center Harbor, where he owns 65 acres of land, and 
he owns 150 in Holderness, 40 in New Hampton, all near his home. 
He married Anna L. Grant. She died and he married, second, 
Elena B. Cram, daughter of Francis H. Cram and wife, Mary 
Catherine (Woodman) of Meredith. 

Another Record of "Shaving John" Smith's son, who married 
Mary Mudgett. Their children: 

John, m. Almatia Gourd. 
Benjamin, m. Mary Grendall of Salem, Mass. 
George, m. Ellen Adams of Haverhill, Mass. 
Mary, m. Joseph Merrow of Meredith. 
Abbie, m. Stephen How. 

Priscilla, m. Cotton Downing and, second, Eastman. 

Huldah, m. Hiram Bixby, father of William Bixby. 

Hannah, m. Gilman Webster. 

La viN a and Esther, both d. young. 

Deacon Christopher Smith, born October 11, 1736, married 
Mary Page in 1757. They lived in Hampton. 



GENEALOGIES 501 

Their sixth child, Reuben Page Smith, born January 3, 1770, 
married Sarah Huse Smith, daughter of Capt. Elisha Smith and 
wife, Sarah Huse Smith. They settled in 1817 on Meredith Neck 
and died there and are buried on the old farm. Their children: 

Elisha, 1798-1847, m. Phebe Ring in 1823. They settled in 

Meredith, and had a son who went to California. 
Mary, b. 1799; m. - - Shaw; settled in Holderness. 
Shoebal Page, 1801-1803. 

Benjamin, 1805-1864; went to Wisconsin; single. 
Reuben Page, 1807-1868; m. Anna Smith; second, Judith 

; settled in Laconia. One son, who had children: 

Benjamin, Reuben and John. 
Anna, b. 1809; lived in Meredith; single. 
Christopher, 1811-1891; settled in Campton; m. Louisa 

French. They had two sons: David and Reuben. 
Huldah, 1813-1839. 
Lavina, 1816-1840; m. Levi Towle; lived in Meredith. No 

children. 
John, 1819-1891; lived on the home farm. He was promi- 
nent in public office; m. Sarah J. Badger in 1828, dau. of 
Timothy Badger and wife, Catherine Hubbard, 1787-1864. 
Their children: 

Sarah Catherine, b. 1850; m. 1877 George H. Adams, b. 
in Campton, 1851-1911; lived in Plymouth. Their 
children: 

Walter Blair, b. 1887; m. Marguerite Draper. 

Their son, Walter Blair, Jr., b. 1919. 
George Herbert, b. 1890; m. Inez Perkins of Salem, 
Mass. Their son, George Herbert, Jr., b. 1916. 
Louisa Jane, b. 1853. 
Abbie Haseltine, b. 1858; m. Lester Dearth; live in 

Laconia. 
Maud Badger, 1865-1884. 

Grandmother Smith's Bible 

Owned by Louisa F. Smith, West Campton, N. H. 

Bible published by Luther Roby, Concord, N. H., 1846. 

Now owned by Miss Frances Smith, Plymouth, N. H. 

Christopher and Louisa F. Smith, married in Plymouth, De- 
cember 19, 1837. Their son, David French Smith, and Jennie R. 
Stout, married in Blackberry, 111., March 5, 1862, by Rev. R. L. 
Hayden. 

Reuben Page Smith and Ermina Mitchell, married in Campton, 
September 27, 1866, by F. Barron. 



502 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Christopher Smith, born in Sanbornton, November 2, 1811; 
died in 1891. His wife, Louise F. Smith, born in Campton, 
August 24, 1809; died April 27, 1900. Their children: David F., 
born December 20, 1838, died July 16, 1874, and Reuben P., born 
June 8, 1843, died October 23, 1920. 

Reuben F. Smith, son of David F. Smith and wife, Jennie R. 
Smith, born December 24, 1863. A daughter, Mary H., born 
July 28, 1865. 

Frances Helen, daughter of David F., and wife, Jennie R. 
Smith, born October 29, 1866. 

John Coleman, born May 8, 1868; died March 7, 1925. 

David F., son of David and Jennie R. Smith, born December 27, 
1869; died in 1903. 

Lewis, son of Reuben P-. and wife, Martha Ermina Smith, born 
April 3, 1870; died in 1911. 

Maggie Louise, daughter of David F. and Jennie R. Smith, 
born September 29, 1871; died in 1872 

Jennie R., wife of David F. Smith, died August 11, 1876. 

Jenny Wycoff, daughter of David and Jenny R. Smith, born 
April 9, 1874; died in 1875. 

Perley Blair, son of Reuben P. and wife, Mary Ermina Smith, 
born in Jefferson, Iowa, December 8, 1876. A sister, Kate 
Smith, born in Jefferson, Iowa, March 12, 1892. 

Richard Hawley, son of John Coleman Smith and wife, Delma 
W. Smith, born November 19, 1890. A sister, Rebecca M., born 
at Campton, March 9, 1897. A sister, Helen Louise, born July 
31, 1899. A brother, Daniel French, born September 11, 1901. 

By Miss Frances Smith, Plymouth, N. H. 

Christopher Smith, son of Reuben Page and Sarah Huse Smith, 
was born in Sanbornton, N. H., November 2, 1811; died in 
Campton, September 4, 1891 ; married Louisa French of Campton 
(born August 24, 1809, died April 27, 1900), December 19, 1837. 
Their children: 

David French, b. Dec. 20, 1838; d. July 16, 1874. 
Reuben Page, b. June 8, 1843; d. in Dubuque, Iowa, 
Oct. 23, 1920. 

David French Smith married Jennie R. Stout in Blackberry, 
111., March 5, 1862. Their children: 



GENEALOGIES 503 

Reuben Fernand, b. Dec. 24, 1863. 

Mary Hannah, b. July 28, 1864, a graduate of Plymouth 
Normal School; m. Dr. Friend C. Suitor of La Crosse, Wis. 
Frances Helen, b. Oct. 29, 1866. 
John Coleman, b. May 8, 1868; d. Mar. 7, 1929. 
David French, b. Dec. 27, 1869; d. Jan. 20, 1923. 
Maggie Louise, b. Sept. 29, 1871; d. Aug. 6, 1872. 
Jenney Wycoff, b. Apr. 9, 1874; d. Jan. 1875. 

John Coleman Smith married Delma Wilson of Oskaloosa, 
Iowa, August 13, 1889. Their children: 

Richard Hawley, b. Nov. 17, 1890. 

Rebecca Margaret, b. Mar. 9, 1897; graduate of La Crosse 
(Wis.) Normal School; teaching in Arizona. 

Helen Louisa, b. July 31, 1899; graduate of Boston Uni- 
versity; teaching in Hartford, Conn. 

Donald French, b. Sept. 11, 1901. 

John Coleman Smith married the second time, June 8, 1923, 
Lulu M. Willand of Kittery, Maine. 

David French Smith, Jr., married Margaret Smith of Newton, 
Mass. 

Richard Hawley Smith married, first, Elizabeth Basset, who 
died November 26, 1929; he married, second, Emily L. Disinger 
of Lockport, N. Y. Their daughter, Frances Helen, was born 
October 31, 1930. 

History states that in 1671 an elderly woman, who was called 
"Goody Cole," was styled a "witch" in Hampton, N. H. She 
was poor and had no home, and was subject to the many whims 
of the people, who boarded her a week at a time, as she was a 
public charge, then she was turned over to another neighbor. 
Her life was made miserable by charges that she appeared in 
various forms, as a dog, an eagle, or cat, or a woman that tried to 
entice young girls to go and live with her. Finally she was tried 
in court and Nathaniel Smith appeared against her, but did not 
make sufficient proof, and finally: "In ye case of Unis Cole, now 
prisoner, all ye Bar not Legally Guilty, but so decided, and accord- 
ing to Inditement, butt just grounds of vehement suspisyon of her 
hauving had famillyarety with the Deuill." So she was let go 
and passed many unhappy days the last of her life in Hampton. 

John Smith and his sister, Deborah, children of John Smith of 
Marthas Vineyard, as Hampton history states, were in the town of 



504 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Hampton the last part of the seventeenth century. The sister, 
Deborah, married Nathaniel Batcheldor. She died in 1676 at 
the birth of her sixth child. He married, second, the Widow 
Wyman of Woburn, Mass., October 31, 1676. They had eight 
more children. She died and he married, third, in 1689. He 
died in 1710, aged 86 years. 

One of their sons, Lieut. John Smith, called the "Cooper," 
married February 26, 1667, Huldah, daughter of Christopher 
Hussey. They had eleven children. 

Their second child, Capt. John Smith, married in 1695, Abigail, 
daughter of Benjamin Shaw and wife, Esther (Richardson) Shaw. 
They lived on "Bramble Hill Road" in North Hampton and 
raised nine children. 

Their second child, Benjamin, born in 1697, married Mary 
(born in 1704, died in 1747), daughter of Morris Hobbs and wife, 
Theodate, she a daughter of Nathaniel Batcheldor and second wife, 
Widow Mary (Carter) (Wyman) Batcheldor. 

Their sixth child, Deacon Christopher, born October 11, 1736, 
died in 1814. He was a Revolutionary soldier. He married 
Mary, daughter of Shubael Page and wife, Hannah Dow, she a 
daughter of Deacon Samuel Dow and wife, Mary, born in 1739, a 
daughter of Christopher Page and wife, Abigail Tilton. 

Their second son, John Smith, born in Hampton, January 20, 
1760, died in 1842. He was a Revolutionary soldier; married 
Martha Drake, born August 30, 1767, daughter of Abraham 
Drake. John Smith lived up over Beech Hill in New Hampton, 
where for a time in early days the old stage coach passed each day 
(when passable) with four horses. Tradition tells us that Cap- 
tain Sinclair each day hitched on two more horses to help climb 
Beech Hill, as the old stage coach was pretty heavy with its load 
of passengers. At this period there were several John Smiths, 
and it was sometimes hard to distinguish them. It was a custom 
to nickname them for distinction, and this John, who was a very 
nice man, was called "Shaving John." He had a method, which 
showed his frugality, of measuring his meat in the pork barrel by 
putting wood shavings between the layers of meat, so that a 
certain layer of meat must last until Candlemas Day (the old 
adage, "half your wood, and half your hay"). This showed his 
good management to provide for his family so that they should not 
get short of meat. 



GENEALOGIES 505 

John Smith and wife, Martha (Drake) Smith, were the parents 
of Anna, who married Parker Smith in 1800, son of Benjamin 
Smith. 

Phillip Smith, son of Benjamin Smith and wife, Mary Hobbs, 
married Anna (Nancy) Jewell, born in Stratham in 1768, daughter 
of Daniel Jewell and wife, Sarah (Jewell) Smith. The children 
of Phillip and wife, Anna (Jewell) Smith, were: 

Parker. 

Jonathan Page. 

Betsey (Elizabeth), who m. Charles Shephard. 

Sally, who m. Jeremiah Burleigh. 

Nancy, who m. Nathaniel Huckins. 

Charlotte, who m. Dr. Jeremiah Smith, son of Deacon 
Nicholas Smith, and wife, Mary Marston, dau. of Reuben 
Marston, Jr., of Meredith. Dr. Jerry settled for a time 
near the Dr. Dana Meeting house, in New Hampton, but 
later moved to Meredith, and there practiced medicine. 

Anna (Jewell) Smith married, second, Abraham Drake. She 
died in Holderness in 1868, in her 92d year. 

Parker Smith, son of Phillip, born in New Hampton February 7, 
1796, died in 1836; married Anna Smith, daughter of John Smith, 
born in New Hampton, and granddaughter of Deacon Christopher 
Smith, who was a son of Benjamin Smith. When Parker Smith 
was 27 years old he bought the Joseph Cox farm in Center Harbor, 
where his son, Noah and family lived, and now occupied by his 
grandson, Orville Parker Smith. 

Noah Smith, son of Parker Smith and wife, born March 7, 1831, 
in Center Harbor, married Grace E., daughter of Levi Mudgett 
of New Hampton. She died January 19, 1927, aged 93 years. 

Orville Parker Smith, born March 31, 1861, married Anna L. 
Grant, daughter of Daniel B. Grant of Moultonborough. Mr. 
Smith is a prominent business man and selectman of Center 
Harbor. He married, second, Eleanor B. Cram, daughter of 
Frances H. Cram and wife, Mary C. (Woodman) Cram, June 12, 
1900. 

Mrs. Grace Smith, widow of Noah Smith and daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. Levi Mudgett of New Hampton, died, aged 92 years, 
October 15, 1902. She was survived by two sisters, Mrs. Abbie 
Porter of Lynn, Mass., and Mrs. Ellen Flanders of Ashland, N. H. 

John Smith, 1760-1842, was a Revolutionary soldier, son of 



506 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Deacon Christopher Smith and wife, Mary Page of Hampton. 
Their children: Christopher, Patty, Love, Lydia, Polly, Hannah, 
Ann (the mother of Noah Smith and grandmother of Orville 
Smith), and Nabbie, single. 

Captain John Smith, son of Lieut. John Smith, who married 
Abigail Shaw, had nine children. 

Benjamin, who married Mary, daughter of Morris Hobbs. 
Their children: 

Abigail, 1728-1775; m. Jonathan Moulton in Hampton. 
Theodate, b. 1730; m. Elisha, son of Josiah Batchelder. 
Mary, b. 1732; m. Jonathan, son of Jonathan Page. 
Huldah, 1732-1746. 
Benjamin, b. 1734. 

Christopher, b. 1736; m. Mary, dau. of Shubael Page. 
Their children: 

Benjamin, b. 1757; m. Judith Pottle. He d. 1842. 

John, b. 1760; m. Drake. 

Huldah, b. 1762; m. Dr. Benaiah Sanborn; d. 1857; 
buried in Sanbornton. 

Hannah, b. 1754; m. Nathaniel Piper, buried in Mere- 
dith. 

Mary, b. 1767; m. Daniel Marston. 

Reuben Page, b. 1770; m. Sarah Smith, dau. of Elisha 
Smith. 

Ebenezer, b. 1773; m. Stevens. 

Christopher, b. 1775. 

Abigail, b. 1778. 
Josiah, 1739-1745. 
Ann, 1741-1749. 

The Children of Abigail Smith and Jonathan Moulton: 

Josiah, b. 1749; m. Miss Shackford. 

Sarah, 1752-1754. 

Jonathan, b. 1754. 

Abigail, 1758-1759. 

Mary, d. young. 

Benning, b. 1761; m. Sarah, dau. of Jonathan Leavitt and 

his second wife, Anna, widow of John Dole; settled in 

Center Harbor. 
Anna, b. 1763; m. John, son of Lieut. Elisha Marston and 

wife, Mary, dau. of Abraham Drake. 
William P., b. 1766. 
Elizabeth, b. 1768. 
Jacob Smith, b. 1770. 
Joseph, b. 1772. 



GENEALOCxIES 507 

John Smith, born at North Hampton, owned a farm there. 
The ancestors settled there about 1640. 

His son, Parker Smith, born at New Hampton, had a son, John 
Parker Smith, Sr., born at Center Harbor, married Eliza, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Potter Smith of New Hampton. Her grandfather 
was a Revolutionary soldier. They had four children. 

The third child, John Parker Smith, born in 1854 at New 
Hampton, came to Laconia in 1879 and worked in the J. H. 
Tilton store some six years. Mr. Tilton died and he conducted 
the store until the Tilton business was settled. In 1884 he 
married Hattie F., daughter of George I. Greeley of Franklin. 
They had one son who died young. He was a deacon of the 
Congregational Church for some years. 

Found in the attic of Horace Eastman's house, what appears to 
be a marriage certificate: 

J no Perkins 

L y Prescott 

1773 

Data given by Mr. Carl Blaisdell 

Annie Perkins, daughter of John Perkins and Lucy Prescott 
married John Smith, son of Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah 
(Spiller) Smith, who were pioneers of Meredith. 

John Smith, 1772-1857, and wife, Annie (Perkins) Smith, 
1775-1864, had a daughter, Annis, who married Esquire Charles 
Smith of Meredith, he a son of Ebenezer Smith and wife, Me- 
hitable Sheafe. (He was another branch of the Smith family.) 

John Smith and wife, Annie (Perkins) Smith, also had a daugh- 
ter, Polly, 1789-1863, and another daughter, Susan. They lived 
on the Head place. Frank N. Blaisdell, 1851-1913, son of David 
Blaisdell and wife, Eliza (Gilman) Blaisdell. He was the eighth 
generation who came from England in 1640. Frank N. Blaisdell 
married in 1886 Grace E. Weeks, born February 24, 1857. They 
had one son, Carl Blaisdell. 

Esquire Charles Smith and wife, Annis (Perkins) Smith, 
settled on the Perkins farm and had children. She died in 1848, 
and is buried in the Smith yard, near her parents. They had a 
daughter who married Weeks. Their children: 

M. Isabel, b. Feb. 24, 1857. 
John* Herbert, b. June 1, 1859. 



508 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

After Esquire Charles Smith left his farm and moved to Mere- 
dith Village, J. C. Sanborn lived on the place. Then Horace 
Eastman bought it and he and his son, Fred W. Eastman, lived 
there 55 years. 

Horace Eastman was the son of Abel Eastman, who was a son of 
Thomas Eastman, who lived in Meredith, over the line of 
Sanbornton. 

Thomas Eastman was a Revolutionary soldier. He left the 
army with one silver dollar, with which he bought a brass kettle. 
He was a small man and could shelter himself under a barrel, 
as history states. 

Capt. Elisha Smith, 1754-1834, was a nephew of Robert Smith, 
who was among the first settlers in the territory called " Moulton- 
boro Gore," later changed to New Hampton. He married Sarah 
Huse, 1754-1811, daughter of Thomas Huse and wife, Hannah 
Webster. Hannah Webster was a daughter of John 2 and wife, 
Ann Webster. 

Thomas Huse was a descendant of Abel Huse, 1665-1690. 
His home was in Newburyport, Mass., near the so-called, in early 
days, "Frog Pond." He was held in affectionate remembrance 
as the founder of the Huse family in America. 

Capt. Elisha Smith served in the Revolution from Massachu- 
setts. After he removed to New Hampton he served in the War 
of 1812. In the war records he is recorded as from Meredith, 
where he enlisted. 

From Moses Smith's Bible 

(Printed in 1818) 

My father, Elisha Smith, born Jan. 2, 1755; died in 1834. 
" mother, Sarah (Huse) Smith, born May 4, 1754. 
" mother-in-law, Lydia, born March 5, 1766. 

Children by Sarah (Huse) Smith: 

My brother, Elisha, Jr., born Aug. 16, 1777; married Harper; buried at 

head of Long Pond, 
sister, Sally, born Oct. 17, 1778; married Reuben Smith, 
brother, Hezekiah, born Jan. 3, 1780; married Polly Sinclair, 
brother, Ebenezer, born Jan. 7, 1782; married Abiah Stevens, 
sister, Anna, born Oct. 6, 1783; married George Rand of Lowell, 
brother, Huse, born Oct. 10, 1785; married Perkins; lived in Vermont. 



GENEALOGIES 509 

My sister, Betsey, born July 17, 1790; married Johnson; second, Deacon 

Sanborn, 
brother, Moses, born May 4, 1792; married Hannah Cram in 1815, born in 

1790. 
sister, Lavina, born March 3, 1794; married Nicholas Smith of New Hamp- 
ton. (See Smiths.) 
" brother, John B., born May 30, 1797; died in 1798. 
" brother, John B., born July 27, 1799. 

Captain Elisha Smith and wife's third child, Hezekiah Smith, 
born in 1780, married Polly (Mary) Sinclair, born in 1781, of 
New Hampton. Their children: 

Mary M., b. 1802; m. and settled in Vermont. 

Ebenezer, b. 1804. 

Moses B., b. 1805. 

Moody Huse, b. 1807; m. Caroline Warner. 

Sally Huse, b. 1809; m. Reuben Smith. 

Thomas M., b. 1811. 

Nancy P., b. 1813. 

Lavina, b. 1815. 

Eliza, b. 1817. 

Hezekiah Smith's oldest son, Ebenezer, 1804-1885, married 
Sarah Cram. They lived on the Weirs road. Their children: 

HANNIAL P., 1839-1913; d. in the west. 
Simeon P., 1841-1863. 

George Frank, 1845-1931; m. in 1876, Charlotte Porter 
Kent. Their children: 

Frank Percy, b. 1878; m. Bertha Pease; m., second, Vera 
Berry. Their children : Edward Otis, Frances Esther 
and Jean Alice. 
Marion K., m. Waldron W. Hodsdon. Their children: 
Marshall Sinclair, b. 1901. 
Charles Kent, b. 1904. 
John Wesley, b. 1906. 
Emily Bracket, b. 1908. 
Alice Robbins, b. 1913. 
Mary Ellen, b. 1847; m. Charles A. Thomas. 
Flora L., b. 1851 ; m. Arthur Merrill Black. Four children. 
Sarah Luella, 1854-1864. 

Jessie, b. 1857; m. Moses A. Withey. They have a son, 
David Earl Withey. 

Children of Hezekiah Smith's fourth child, Moody Huse, and 
wife, Caroline Warner: 



510 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Augustus M., b. May 26, 1840; d. 1909, of Center Harbor; 

m. Laurelia Clifton, b. 1864, of Lynn. 
Charles Brooks, b. 1842; m. Clara H. Burleigh, b. 1880, in 
Lvnn. Their children: 
Mertie F., b. Sept., 1869. 
Charles O., b. May, 1872. 
Walter, Ida,. Guy. 
William E., b. June 7, 1844, of Meredith. 
Francena Curtis, b. Apr. 17, 1846; m. John Frank Smith of 
Campton, Nov. 6, 1878. Their children: 
Arthur L., b. Oct. 2, 1880. 
Alice W., b. Mar. 12, 1882; d. 1899. 
Carrie L., b. Aug. 30, 1883. 
Horace Wellington, b. June 27, 1848; d. 1897; m. and 
lived in Biddeford, Maine. Their child, Linwood Smith, 
m. Zoe Jose of Biddeford, Maine. 
Arthur, b. Sept. 29, 1850; d. 1897. 
Elizabeth M., b. Nov. 3, 1851; m. Joseph Shephard. 
Frank W., b. Nov. 16, 1852; d. 1911. 
Ellen Maria, b. Dec. 17, 1854. 
Fred Herbert, b. Feb. 9, 1856; m. Lindie C. Smith in 1888, 

dau. of Lewis Smith of Sandwich. He m. second, 

Head. Their children: 
Edith, b. Oct. 2, 1890. 
Clarence, b. Sept. 21, 1892; d. 1893. 
Mildred E., b. June 24, 1899; d. 1901. 
George H. Sumner, b. Apr. 7, 1857; m. Laura Cram in 1886. 
Their children: 

Bessie, b. Dec. 13, 1889. 
Beatrice, b. Feb. 9, 1897. 
Arthur Willis, b. 1859; d. young. 

Carrie E., b. Feb. 1, 1861; m. Rolfe Smith, son of Lewis 
Smith of Sandwich. Their dau., Ethel W., b. Apr. 18, 
1887, m. Herbert J. Darios of Meredith. 
Fred H., m. in 1888, Linda C, dau. of Lewis Smith of 
Sandwich. Their children: 
Edith M., d. young. 
Clarence A., d. young. 
Mildred E. 

The fourth child of Capt. Elisha Smith and wife, Sally (Huse) 
Smith. 

Ebenezer Smith, born January 7, 1782, died in 1846; married 
Abiah Stevens, born October 4, 1792; died in 1872. Their chil- 
dren: 

Betsey, b. Feb. 20, 1809; m. Deacon Daniel Yeasey; d. 1865. 



GENEALOGIES 511 

Relief R.. b. June 26, 1813; d. 1878; m. Noah Woodman, 

1807-1835. 
George F., b. Aug. 21, 1814; d. 1846; m. Ruth Ransom. 

Their child d. aged 2 years. 
Mary, 1). July 22, 1821; m. Ira Taylor. She d. 1853. 
Ruth C, b. July 6, 1828; m. Richard Shephard. One child, 

Ella Shephard; lives in Exeter. 
Simeon Dana, b. Nov. 12, 1837; d. 1885. 

Lackawana (Later Called New Hampton) 

The name of a neighborhood on the road to New Hampton was 
called "Lackawana, or the Yeasey Neighborhood." 

Samuel Woodman of New Hampton married Ruth Harper. 
Their children: Israel, Rodney, Martin, Oliver and Addie. 

Thomas Woodman, who died April 14, 1843, aged 91 years, was 
a Revolutionary soldier. He married Ann Drake. She died 
September 7, 1845, aged 85 years. Their children: 

Lydia, d. aged 41 years. 
Amos C., d. 1830, aged 35 years. 

Thomas, d. 1838, aged 74 years. Thomas's wife, Polly 
Pease, sister to Joseph Pease, who d. 1863, aged 71 years. 
Their children: 

Hiram S. was in Co. E, 12th N. H. Regiment Volunteers; 

d. at Berlin, Md., 1862, aged 28 years. 
Nathaniel, d. Sept. 6, 1829, aged 2 years. 
Rebecca, d. Feb. 14, 1840, aged 30 years. 
Mary P., m. William D. Boynton, Apr. 27, 1813. 
Mara, m. G. W. Stevens; d. June 21, 1859, aged 35 years. 
Sarah, m. Joseph Boynton; d. 1850, aged 30 years. 
Their dau., Sarah E., d. 1850, aged 12 weeks. 
Nancy S., m. George Haynes; d. 1861, aged 45 years. 
Mary O., d. Aug. 21, 1851, aged 3 months. 
George F., d. Feb. 18, 1853, aged 5 months. 
Benjamin P., 1819-1891, m. Elizabeth Hill, 1820-1904. 

Woodman 

Thomas Woodman married Polly Pease. Their son, Noah 
Woodman, 1807-1888, married Relief (Smith), daughter of 
Ebenezer Smith and wife, Abiah Stevens. She died in 1875, 
aged 65 years. Their children : 

John Kelley, b. Mar. 30, 1837; d. aged 4 vears. 
Mary A., b. July 6, 1843. 
Sarah F., b. Jan. 1, 1846. 



512 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Clara Ann, b. Dec. 5, 1853; m. Albert Sumner Hawkins 
Dec. 25, 1872. Their children: 

Elmer W., b. Sept. 16, 1874; d. 1886. 
Florence E., b. July 23, 1879; m. Joseph W. Smith, son 
of Henry L. Smith and wife, Mary E. (Brown) Smith. 
They had three children; one living, Esther Smith, 
who is in Boston University. 
Arthur W., b. Aug. 2, 1881; d. 1901. 
Bessie M., b. Jan. 14, 1889; d. 1894. 

Thomas Woodman and wife, Polly Pease, had a son, Frank 
Woodman, who married Bessie Jenkins in Salem, Mass. Their 
children: 

Ray, who m. Ruth Hawkins, dau. of Rufus Colby Hawkins 
and wife, Abbie (Jones) Hawkins of Fitzburg. Ray and 
wife have three children: Frank Henry, Ruth Elinor and 
Philip Colby. 

Frank. 

Mary. 

Florence. 

Fannie S. Woodman married Noah Ward, February 4, 1865 
Their son, Clarence Ward. 

Mary A. Woodman married George C. Lawrence. They had 
three daughters. 

Captain Elisha Smith's ninth child, Moses Smith, 1792-1874, 
married in 1815, Hannah Cram, 1790-1869. Their daughter, 
Sally, born in 1816, married Samuel Cram; lived in New Hampton. 
Their children: 

Elisha Smith, b. 1846; m. Annie Batchelder, 1868; m., 

second, Almena E. Avery, 1878. 
Charles Henry, 1849-1863. 
Lucinda Jane, 1854-1883. 

Captain Elisha Smith's tenth child, Lavina, born in 1794, 
married Nicholas Smith, a son of Deacon Nicholas and Mary 
Marston. (See Smiths.) Nicholas was a Revolutionary soldier, 
born in 1764. His wife was Mary Marston, daughter of Reuben 
Marston, Jr., and granddaughter of Reuben Marston, Sr., and 
wife, Sarah Batchelder. Reuben, Sr., and Reuben, Jr., were 
Revolutionary soldiers. Reuben was a pioneer on Meredith 
Parade. They came from Hampton, N. H. 

Reuben, Jr., kept the "Old Wooden Pound." He also built 



GENEALOGIES 513 

the Marston house on Marston Hill, in 1803, which is still occu- 
pied by a descendant of the Marston men, he being the sixth 
generation of Marstons who have lived there, and Joseph William 
Smith is the sixth generation of Smiths who have lived on the 
Robert Smith place since Robert Smith and wife, Phebe Nason, 
came there from Brentwood. 

Children of Nicholas Smith and wife, Lavina Smith: 

Sarah Elizabeth, b. Aug. 24, 1824; d. 1886; m. Smith Neal, 
son of the so r called "White Oak Joseph" Neal, a pioneer of 
Meredith. Their only child, Mary Elizabeth arranged the 
"Meredith Annals"; b. Oct. 2, 1853, m. John P. Hana- 
ford in 1890. 

Nicholas Marstox, b. Sept. 15, 1825; d. 1898; m. Lydia 
Kimball of Sandwich, 1829-1860; lived and died in Mere- 
dith, leaving one dau., Frances Lydia, b. Feb. 15, 1856; 
m. John P. Hanaford of Illinois. Their dau., Frances 
Lydia, b. Apr. 21, 1879; m. Fred Spencer; one son, Earl 
Spencer. Live in Canada. 

Nicholas Marston Smith moved west; married, second, Clara 
Ferrin, born in 1844 at Bridgewater, Vt., daughter of Alfred 
Ferrin and wife, Nancy (Hold). Their children: 

Ida B., b. Jan. 25, 1869; m. Mike Dilschneider. They have 

had five children and live in Montana. 
Frank Marstox, b. Feb. 8, 1871; m. Alice Carter. They 
have John Nicholas and Una E. Smith; live in North 
Dakota. 
Lilla M., b. Dec. 17, 1873; lives in North Dakota; m. 
Thomas Fitzgerald. They have five children: 
Lewis Marston, b. Sept. 7, 1903. 
Morris Alfred, b. Aug. 10, 1905. 
Clara Ann, b. May 7, 1907. 
Ida Elisabeth, b. Sept. 25, 1910; m. 1932 Gunvald Nelson ; 

live in North Dakota. 
Thomas Franklin, b. July 24, 1912. 
Mary Blanch, b. June 2, 1915. 

Lewis Cass Smith (Nicholas; Deacon Nicholas; Robert, the 
pioneer), born April 23, 1829, in New Hampton (Winona), died 
in Illinois, at the home of his niece, Mary E. Neal Hanaford, 
with whom he had made his home for many years. He was 
brought back and buried on his lot in Meredith with his father 
and mother, Nicholas and Lavina Smith. 



514 ANNALS OF MEREDITH, N. H. 

Ebenezer Smith died September 24, 1831 (as tradition, in 
Gilford). He married Mehitable Sheaf, 1761-1843. He was 
married May 5, 1785, Thursday evening, between the hours of 
8 and 9 P.m. Their children: 

Jacob Sheaf, b. Apr. 28, 1786; d. 1791; baptized by Rev. 

Mr. Ogden in 1787. 
Ebenezer, b. Oct. 22, 1787; d. 1867; m. Hannah Richardson 

of Dover in 1814. 
Rev. Henry, b. June, 1789; d. 1799. 
Alfred, b. Feb., 1791. 
Margaret, b. Oct. 12, 1792; d. 1796. 
Mehitable, b. June 20, 1794; d. 1833; m. Ebenezer Coe, 

1813, of North wood. 
Charles, b. Nov. 19, 1795; m. Annis Smith; m., second, 

Irene Neal. 
Addison, b. June 21, 1798; d. 1800. 
Emily, b. Aug. 13, 1799; d. 1800. 
Charlotte, b. Oct. 3, 1801; d. 1903. 
Mary W., b. May 10, 1807; m. Rev. John Kimball Young, 

1803-1875. He preached in Laconia. 

Robert Smith was born in England about 1611. He came, as 
history states, to Boston and later settled in Exeter, where he 
signed the Exeter Combination. He took the Freeman's Oath, 
October 7, 1644. He removed to Hampton and died there 

August 30, 1706. In 1639 he married Susanna . "She 

was struck by lightening" June 12, 1680, and he remained a 
widower 26 years. He was a tailor by trade, also farmed land. 
Their children (no dates have ever been found of their birth) : 

John, m. May 14, 1675, Rebecca Adams ; m., second, in 1676, 

Rebecca Marston. 
Meribah, m. Francis Page. 
Aschel. 

Jonathan, b. 1645, was a bricklayer in Exeter; m. Mehitable 
Holdred. Their children: 
Israel, b. 1671. 
Jacob, b. 1673. 
Ithiel. 

Abigail, b. 1678. 

Joseph, 1680-1717. He was a judge of the Superior 
Court in 1703. He married, first, Dorothy Cotton; 
second, Mary More; third, Elizabeth Marshall. 
Leah, b. 1683. 
Mehitable, 1685. 



GENEALOGIES 515 

History tells us that many of the men in early days were 
"Smithys," and took the name of Smith. They were industrious 
and workers of iron and wood, and made, by hand, all the nails 
used for building. It is said that the men did not have any 
Christian name to distinguish them, but later on these were 
added. 

We rind the "coat of arms" of Robert and Richard Smith very 
similar, and from data read I am inclined to think that they 
were closely related and descendants of Nicholas.