Skip to main content

Full text of "Middlesex: biographical and pictorial"

See other formats


', ,^5yEUNIVER%. _^10SANCEI^^ ^OFCAUFOff^ ^OFCAllFOff^ 






-<i5uDNvso# "^/iiGMNn-iwv^ '^<?Aiivaani'{^ 







^lOSANCfltfA 



5 SI 








^tUBRARYQ<: 




■Ay ">— ^ ' ^ 



^SStUBRAHYO/r. 
§ 1 </— ' '^ 




\Qi[m-i^^ 



^5j\EllNlVERX/4 



^IOSAUCEUAx 

CO 




^lUBRARYO/f 



■<'3T]3NVS01=<>' "^/ilUAINflaftV^ ^OJIWJJO'^ 




,^lUBRARY(?/v 







s 



^^;OFfAtlF0% 



^OFCAllF0Rt> 



=o =r 




>&Aav!jani^ ^CAavaaiii^ 



aMEUNIVERJ/a 




^JUUDNVSOl^ 



^10SANCEI% 




"^aaAJNiiwv 



^OF-CAllFOff^ 




^ /— 'I I- § 

^^Auvaaii-^^ 



^OFCAIIFO% 




^OAdvaaiH^"^ 






\WEU(JIVERy/A 




o 
%13DNVS0# 



5yEUNIVERr/A 




<Ol]DNVS01=^ 



jijcVOSANCElfj-^ 
o 




■^/^ajAiNiiJft'^ 



^10SANCEI% 
o 




%a3AiNn-3ftV^ 



-s^^tUBRARYO/^ 




^OJlilVDJO'^ 
^OFCAUF0% 



^HIBRABYQ^ 




>&Aavaani^ 




^^Aavaan-^^ 



^5»EUNIVEI?% 




:? I Y y o 



<;5j\EHNIVERy/4 







^lOSANCElfj-, 



^i 




%a3AiNn]WV^ 



^lOSANCEltr. 
o 




■^/fa3AINIl-3Wv^ 



Elfj^ 
■2; 



v^ 



ao 



-i^tUBRARYQ^ 



^ s 




-s^HIBRARYQc. 



^AOJllYDJO'*^ 



^.OFCAIIFOR^ 




^OFCAIIFO/?^ 




^(?Aavaaiii^ 



'^OAavaain'^ 



.5!AEUNIVffiy/A 

I- - '^ 




^^^WEUNIVERf/^ 







^U)SANCEl£f^ 




■^ajAiNimv 



^lOSANCElfj-^ 




3> 

■V/ia3AINIllftV' 



^^tUBRARYQ/v 
§ 1 if' ^ 




^.OFCAllFOff^ 



*5}S-UBRARYQ< 




^OF-CAUFOR^ 




>&Aava8n-i'{^ 



^oAavaan-^"^ 



.5XlEUNIVEl?y/A 




CO 



^lOSANCEl£r^ 




%a3AiNnmv 



^^WEUNIVERJ/^ ^lOSANCEUr^ 




-^fJUDHVSOl^^^ 



-< 



^fUBRARY^^ 




^lUBRARYQc. 



^OF-CAUF0% 




j^Aavaani'^ 




^(JAavaaiH'^ 



AWEUNlVERy/A 




j^lOS-ANCElfj-^ 




<rii]3fivsoi^ ■'<'/ya3AiNn3Wv' 



.^WEUNIVEfiy/A 




^J'^HDNVSOl^ 



.^VOSANCEltr^ 
o 




■%S3AlNnH\V' 



.55^tlIBRARYQc. ^UIBRARYQ<^ ,5j\EUNIVERy/A, ^10SANCEI% -5;ySlUBRARY(3c ^l^UBRADYOc. 



j.OfCAllF0%, .AlrtEUNIVERS/A ^sj;lOSANCEl£r. 











<rjiJDNVS01'^ ■^Aa3MNn-3WV^ 



-< 











>\V\El)NIVEBS/A ^^ 

^ o 

-n l_i 




^>;10SAI 



.jjclOSMEltr,. 

o 




^/iJ)3AINn-3WV 







%OJI1VJJO^^ 






.5yEUNIVERJ/A 



^jclOSANCEl^;^ 




•^CiUDNVSOl^ 



'^''/saBAiNnjiV^ 







'♦'.!/0JnV3J0'^ '^WJIV 



^lOSANCFlfj-^ 







^OFfAllFOff^ ^OFCAllFOfi'^ 




.^WE•UNIVER% 



vj^lOSANCflfj^ 




^<?Aava8iH>i^'^ ^<?A«vaa^•5'^'*' ^tjiidnvsoi^ ■^/ja3AiNn-3\\v 



^OFCAIIFO/?^ 



.-;,.OFCAI 

^ _ 




-^Aavaaii^ '"^OMn 



<AHIBRARYQr^ 




%Qi\m-i^^ 



^^.OFCA1IFO% 




■5. ^— '» !• £? 



AWfUNlVERS/A 




o 



<^5X\EUNIVER% 




CO 



^lOSANCElfj;* 




%aiAiNn3ttV^ 



^lOSANCElfj^ 




'^/ya3AiN(i-3ftV 



^lUBRARYQ^ 



^lElBRARYa 



,.aEDNIVERS/A. 




>&A(iva8ii'i^ •^^Aavaaii'^^^ 






■^AajAi 







%MAINn'3l\V^ 



^lOSAHCElfj^ 



^ajAiNn^mv^ 



*;^tUBRARYQc. 




^OFCAIIFO/Xfc 



^;;^H1BRARYQ^ 




^OFCAIIFO)?^ 




en 



.5MEl)NIVERy/A 

I- - -^ 

< 
^^^-^^ 



^^^\E•UNIVERS•/^ 




^lOSANCEier^ 




'%a3AINn3WV^ 



•>&Aavaan-^^ <riuDNvsoi=^ 




"^aJAlNIHWV^ 



5^UIBRARYQc 



^illBR 




^<iOJllVJJO'^ 



^tfOJII' 



_^lOSmEl£J-^ ^.0FCAtlF0/?^5>^ ^-OFCAI 




^<?Aavaan# 



^<?AaV!i 



^tUBRARYQ? 



^5J\EUNIV!1IJ/^ 




^IOSAHCEICTa ^vStUBRARYOA, ^^tUBRARYQ^ 



^.iOJIlVDJO'^ "^JSlJONVSOl^ %a3AINn3l\V^ ^OJIIVDJO'^ 



^OF-CAllFORto 











o 



^lOSANCEltfA 



^ s 




%- -I 

"v/iaaAiNnjwv* 





1-3 

^ 




•>&Aava8n'^^ 



^<?Aavaan# 



aWEUNIVERVa 
^TJlJONVSOl^ 



^OF-CAllF0«to ^OFCAIIFO*"^ ^xWEUNIVERJ/^ 



•<IVl30NVS01^ 








'*^Aa3Mi 



,^vlOSANC[l£r> 



<>\tllBRARYClr. 



<^UIBRARY/9r. 



.\WEllNIVERy/A 



vK-VOSANCElfr.^ 



.-aMIRRARY/)/. 



.>\fllRR 




HER GRACE THE DUCHESS OF BEDFORD. 



j^^r^ 



^^^ 



m 



' IJU/ / kl-ilj -il^'ilj ^; ,.lLF_'i|| ^j 



l^iograpl^ical and f^ictorial. 



.^^:-B^e^^ 



PUBLISHED ONLY FOR SUBSCRIBERS. 



PRICE £3 3s. PER COPY. 



LONDON : 

ALLAN NORTH, BAXTER LODGE, CLISSOLD PARK, N. 

a* 

1906. 



;^i^ 



cJfe?Rt 



SALTMARSH A SON, 

I'lilSTEKS, 

oS3, Hum ll(i.M), ToTTEKllAM, 

MiDDLESKX. 



— -vVVVv— 



(olO 
M6 M5g 



contents. 

His Grace The Duke of Bedford, K.G. (Lord Lieutenant of 

Middlesex). 
A. K. Carlyon, Esq., D.L., J.P. (HicxH Sheriff of Middlesex, 1906-7). 

His Grace The Duke of Northumberland, K.G. 

The Right Hon. The Earl of Jersey. P.C, G.C.B., G.C.M.G. 

DL., J.P. 
The Right Hon. The Earl Waldegrave, P.O., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Earl of Mansfield. 

The Right Hon. The Earl Cadogan, K.G. 

The Right Hon. The Earl of Bessborough, C.V.O., C.B., D.L., 

J.P. 
The Right Hon. The Earl of Mexborough, D.L., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Earl of Lucan, K.P., J.P. 

The Right Hon. Lord George Francis Hamilton, P.O., G.C.S.I. 

The Right Hon. The Viscount Enfield, A.M.I.C.E., J.P. 



1 1 09^1 O 



The Right Hon. The Lord Sate and Sele, D.L., J.P., C.C. 

The Right Hon. The Late Lord Arundell of Wardour, D.L., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Lord Fitzhardinge, D.L., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Lord Sandhurst, G.C.LE.. G.C.S.I., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Baroness Burdett-Coutts and Mr. W. L. A. 

Bartlett-Burdett-Coutts, M.P. 
The Right Hon. The Lord Hillingdon, D.L., J.P. 

The Right Hon. The Lord Amherst op Hackney, D.L., J.P. 

Colonel Sir Howard Vincent, Bart., M.P., K.C.M.G., C.B., 

D.L., JP. 
Captain Sir Charles Gibbons, Bart., R.N., D.L , J.P. 

Sir Frederick Dixon-Hartland, Bart., M.P., J.P. 

Sir Cory Francis Cory-Wright, Bart., D.L., J.P. 

Colonel Sir Alfred Somerset, K.C.B., D.L. J.P. 

Adelaide Lady Somerset 

Sir George Christopher Trout Bartley, K.C.B., J.P. 

Sir Bradford Leslie, K CLE., J.P. 

Sir Edward George Clarke, K.C. 

Sir Richard Nicholson, F.S.A. * 

Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid, LL.D., J. P., D.L. 

Sir John Glover, J.P. 

Sir Ralph D. M. Littler, C.B., D L., J.P. 

Sir William John Crump, J.P. 



Commander Sir Hamilton Pym Freer-Smith, R.N. 

Sir Clifton Robinson, J.P., Assoc.Inst.C.E., Mem.Inst.E.E. 

Leopold de Rothschild., Esq., C.V.O., D.L., J. P. 

A. H. Tarleton, Esq., R.N., M.V.O., D.L., J.P. 

Captain C. B. Balfour, M.P., D.L., J.P. 

Herbert Nield, Esq., M.P., J.P., M.C.C. 

Thomas Bateman Napier, Esq., M.P., LL.D,, J.P. 

Lieutenant-Colonel E. G. M. Donnithorne, J.P. 

Montagu Sharpe, Esq., D.L., J.P. 

Percival Bosanquet, Esq., D.L., J.P. 

George Dunbar Whatman, Esq., D.L., J.P. 

The Howard Family. 

Joseph Howard, Esq., J.P. 

Colonel H. F. Bowles, J.P. 

P. W. P. Carlyon-Britton, Esq., J.P. 

George William Barber, Esq., J.P. 

Arthur Pye-Smith, Esq., J. P., A.I.C.E. 

County Alderman George Wright, J.P. 

W. J. Collins, Esq. 

Colonel George Brodie Clark. 

The Rev. W. E. Oliver, LL.D. (Vicar of Ealing). 



The Rev. William Charles Howell, M.A. 

Dr. J. F. Butler-Hogan, LL.B., D.P.H., etc. 

Aldermah E. W. Sloper. 

William Henry Presoott, Esq., A.M.LC.E., M.I.M.E., F.S.I., etc. 

Joseph Box, Esq. 

Edward Crownb, Esq. 





HIS GRACE THE DUKE OF BEDFORD, K.G., 

The Lord Lieutenant of Middlesex. 




Bis 6race CDe Duke of Beafora, K-6- 

[ROMINENT amongst the noble Houses to which England is 
deeply indebted for some of her wisest Statesmen is that of 
Russell, of which the present head is Herbrand Arthur 
Russell, K.G., nth Duke of Bedford, the Lord Lieutenant 
and Gustos Rotulorum of Middlesex. 

The Russells were important landowners in Dorset so early as 
1202, for in that year John Russell (who held the Manor of Kingston 
Russell by sergeancy to be Marshal of the King's buttery) paid fifty 
marks to the Crown on his marriage with Rohesia Bardulf, widow of 
Henry de la Pomerai of Berry Poraerai, County Devon. He was 
afterwards, in 1220, Governor of Corfe Castle. Other branches of the 
Russell fimily were about that time settled on lands in Dorset at 
Kingston Lacy, Tyneham, Weymouth, Meleorabe Regis, West Holne 
and Berwick in the parish of Swyre. 

The lineal ancestor of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford was 
Henry Russell, who was the Member of Parliament for Weymouth 
and who was living in 1455. His great grandson, John Russell, 
was the 1st Earl of Bedford, and was born in 1485. He 
resided at Berwick, about four miles from Bridport. His rise 
to fame was distinctly romantic in its origin. In 1506 the 
Archduke Philip of Austria, only son of the Emperor Maximilian 
I. and husband of Joanna, daughter of Ferdinand and Isabella, 
King and Queen of Castile and Arragon, was driven into 
Weymouth by a storm whilst on his passage from Flanders to Spain. 
He was received at Wolferton by Sir T. Trenchard, Knt., who sent to 



inform Henry VTI. of the Prince's landing. While waiting the King's 
instructions, Sir Thomas invited his kinsman, John Russell, who had 
lately returned from the Continent with some knowledge of foreign 
languages, to attend upon the Archduke. So well was the Prince 
pleased with his new acquaintance, that when he was summoned to 
Windsor, he was accompanied by John Russell, who quickly became a 
favourite at Court and was appointed one of the gentlemen of the 
Privy Chamber in 1507. He proved equally popular with Henry 
VIII. and attended that monarch during his French wars. Honours 
were bestowed upon him and he was advanced to the peerage under the 
title of Baron Russell and created a Knight of the Garter in 1539. 
When the great Monasteries were dissolved in 1540 he obtained a grant 
of the lands formerly belonging to the Abbey of Tavistock. He was 
made Lord High Admiral of England in 1542. Under Edward VI. 
he obtained also a grant of the monastery lands at Woburn, Bedford- 
shire, and was created Earl of Bedford in 1550. His lucky star 
continuing in the ascendant, the Earl was appointed by Queen Mary an 
ambassador to Spain, being charged with the special duty of escorting 
to England her husband, Philip II. Dying in 1555, the Earl was 
succeeded by his son Francis, who flourished under Queen Elizabeth. 

The 5th Earl, who at the Restoration of Charles II. carried 
St. Edward's sceptre, was in 1694 created Marquess of Tavistock and 
Duke of Bedford. His second son was the distinguished patriot, 
William Lord Russell, who was first returned to Parliament for the 
County of Bedford in 1678. He was subsequently charged with high 
treason as a partici^^ator in the Rye House Plot, declared guilty and 
beheaded at Lincoln's Inn Fields, July 21st, 1684. 

The 1st Duke of Bedford was succeeded by his grandson, 
Wriothe.sley, son of William Lord Russell. The 2nd Duke, by his 
marriage with Elizabeth, daughter and heir of John Howland of 
Streatham, acquired a considerable fortune. His second son, John, 
who subsequently succeeded as 4th Duke, was in 1756 Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland, and in 1762 was the Minister Plenipotentiary 
to the Court of France, in which character he signed at Fontainebleau 
the preliminaries of peace between France and Sjaain. John the 6th 
Duke was also Lord Lieutenant of Ireland 1806-7. The present 
Duke's father, the 9th Duke, was Lord Lieutenant and Custos 
Rotulorum tor the County of Huntingdon. He sat in Parliament as 
the Member for Bedfordshire from 1847-72. He was succeeded in 
his dignities by his eldest son, upon whose death without children in 
1893, his brother, the present Duke, succeeded to the titles and estates. 



As Lord Lieutenant of Middlesex the Duke of Bedford holds 
a i^ost wbicli was filled by one of his ancestors, Lord Edwai-d Russell, 
in 1700. The office is one which is hoary with ago and venerable in its 
antiquity. The appointment is made by the Sovereign by Patent 
under the Great Seal. 

It is interesting to note that the office had its origin in the 
occasional Commissions of Array issued by the Crown in times of 
danger, requiring experienced persons to muster the inhabitants of the 
Counties to whicli the Commissions were sent and organise them on 
military lines. The historical student will remember that the Long 
Parliament denied the right of the Crown to issue such Commissions, 
and it was this very question which proved the immediate cause of the 
breach between Chai-les I. and his subjects. The legality of the 
Commissions was vindicated by a declaratory Act passed at the time 
of the Restoration, 

The Duke of Bedford by virtue of his position as Lord 
Lieutenant of Middlesex, an office which he has held since 1898, is the 
permanent local representative of the Crown and is at the head of the 
Magistracy and Auxiliary Forces. He is the official channel of 
communication between the Government and the Magistracy, and in 
an emergency would be responsible for the preservation of public 
tranquillity in the County. 

His Grace, who was born on the 19th of February, 18.58, in 
London, was educated at Balliol College, Oxford. In 1879 he joined 
the Grenadier Guards, with which regiment he served during the 
Egyptian Campaign of 1882, subsequently receiving the medal with 
clasp and the Khedive's star. From 1884-88 he served as A.D.C. 
to Lord Duffisrin, the Viceroy of India. His Grace still retains his 
active interest in military matters and is Lieut. -Colonel Commanding 
the 3rd Battalion Bedfordshire Regiment, as well as Hon. Colonel of 
the 19th Middlesex R. V. and Hon. Colonel of the :3rd Vol. Battalion 
Bedfordshire Regiment. 



"O' 



In 1900 the Duke of Bedford was the first Mayor of Holborn. 
He is Chairman of the Bedfordshire County Council, as well as being 
a Deputy Lieutenant and Justice of the Peace for that County. 

Since 1899 His Grace has been President of the Zoological 
Society of Loudon. 

His Grace married, January 30th, 1888, Mary du Caurroy, a 
Lady of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem and daughter of 



the Veil. W. H. Tribe, late Archdeacon of Lahore, by whom he has issue 
Hastings WilHam Sackville, Marquess of Tavistock. The Duchess of 
Bedford is well known for the active interest which she takes in 
natural history, and for her dexterity in riding^, fishing, and shooting. 

When in town the Duke and Duchess of Bedford reside at 15, 
Belgrave Square, S.W. They have numerous country seats, the 
principal being Woburn Abbey, Bedfordshire, which is famous for its 
collection of pictures in which is included some of the best works of 
Rembrandt, Murillo, Salvator Eosa, Claude Lorraine, Caspar Poussin, 
Titian, Tintoretto, Bubens, Teniers, Canaletti and Both. Chief 
amongst the treasures of Woburn Abbey is the Bacchanalian vase 
which was purchased from Lord Cawdor in ] 800 for seven hundred 
guineas, and which was dug from beneath the ruins of Adrian's Villa. 

The Duke ot Bedford, who is a Liberal Unionist in politics, is a 
staunch Churchman and the patron of twenty -five livings. 

Amongst the other titles which appertain to the Russell family 
are those of Marquess of Tavistock (1694) ; Earl of Bedford (1550) ; 
Baron Russell of Chenies (1539) ; Baron Russell of Thornhaugh 
(1603); Baron Howland of Streatham (1695). The family motto is 
the philosophical dictum, " Che sara sara." 





n. K- Carlpon, €$q-, DX-, 3.P-t 

Riab Sberift of iKiaaiesex (1906)- 

^H 

|LDEST son of the Jate Rev. Philip Carlyon, M.A., formerly 
Vicar of Wisbech St. Mary, Cambridgeshire, by his wife 
Grace Julia, daughter of the late Colonel Keith Young 
(71st Highlanders), of Holly Hill, Sussex, and Ascreavie, 
Forfarshire, Mr. Alexander Keith Carlyon, of Mount Park, Harrow- 
on-the-Hill, the present High Sheriff of Middlesex, was born April 
30th, 1848. He was educated at Sherborne School, and was called to 
the Bar at Lincoln's Inn in 1887. 

Mr. Carlyon married April 24th, 1873, Julia Ann Augusta, 
daughter of the late Major Carlyon, J.P., D.L., of Tregrehan, 
Cornwall, and Alperton Lodge, Middlesex. He has one son, Tristrem, 
who was born August 4th, 1877, educated at Harrow and St. John's 
College, Oxford, and now a Lieutenant in the Royal Field Artillery, 
and five daughters. 

Both Mr. Carlyon and his wife belong to the ancient and 
honoured Cornish f;imily of Cai'lyon of Tregrehan, which has had its 
principal residences for centuries in the parishes of St. Austell and St. 
Blazey. Mention of its members are to be found in Gilbert's and 



other Histories of Cornwall, and Lysons in his " Magna Britannia " 

says of them : — 

" Carlyon of Tregrehan in St. Blazey — This family has been settled at 
Tregrehan and at Menagvvins in St. Austell more than three centuries. There is 
no document extant to confirm the conjecture, but it is most probable that they 
were originally of the same stock as the Carlyons of Carlyon in Kea which barton 
belonged at an early period to a family of that name. . . Carlyon or Carlion is 
supposed by Tomas the ancient Rhymer whose Romaunce was published in 180 J 
by Mr. Walter Scott to have been the residence of his hero Sir Tristrem. It is 
worthy of remark, perhaps, that among the more remote ancestors of Mr. 
Carlyon of Tregrehan Tristram occurs as a Christian name, in allusion probably 
to this celebrated hero of romaunce whose name by Carew's mention of it 
appears to have been well known in Cornwall." 

Sir Walter Scott himself was interested in searching out the 

locality and history of the "Carlion" mentioned by Tomas the Rhymer 

in the following lines : — 

Tristrems schep was yare 
He asked his bensoun 
The haven he gan out furr 
It hight Carlioun. 

Hals, another ancient historian of Cornwall, makes the following 

remarks : — 

" In this parish liveth Curlyon, gent, that married Hawkins." And he 
goes on to say — " If I were admitted to judge or conjecture, I would say this 
family of Cur-Lyon, by its name and arms were descendants of Richard Carlyon, 
alias King Richard I." 




\-. 




Bis Grace CDc Duke of RortDumberlaiid, K-6- 

^^ 

YON (or Sion) House is one of the most conspicuous 
ornaments in the County of Middlesex. It stands in a 
beautiful park which stretches from Brentford to Isleworth 
along the bank of the river Thames. 

The mansion is a large quadrangular building, with a square 
tower at each angle faced with Bath stone, three stories high (including 
the ground floor) and crowned with an embattled parapet. In the 
centre of the west front is an embattled portico which affords a covered 
way for carriages and serves as the grand entrance, a flight of steps 
leading from it to the Great Hall. From this front a broad lawn 
extends to the footpath to Isleworth, being flanked on either side by an 
embattled square stone lodge. 

The east or river front has an arcade extending the entire 
length of the ground floor, between the towers. The projecting 
central bay, which is carried the whole height of the building 
was crowned on September 3()th, 1 874, with the wellknown 
lion, mounted on his old arched pedestal, which, until its demolition, 
graced the Strand froi:t of Northumberland House. This front with 
the surrounding trees is seen to great advantage from the Thames, and 
has certainly gained in dignity and picturesqueness by the addition of 
the Percy crest, which aptly breaks the hard line of battlements. 

The view is very charnung, the lawns bordered by noble trees 
sloping down to the river which, as the boundary wall is sunk and 



concealed, appears to flow through the grounds, Kew Gardens on the 
opposite bank forming in semblance a part of the domain. 

The Great Hall is a noble room 66ft. by 31ft, and 34ft. high. 
The floor is of black and white marble, antique statues being placed 
along the sides of the walls. It leads to the Vestibule which is 
regarded as one of the richest, and most effective of Adams' apartments. 
This is about 34ft. by 30ft. and 21ft. high. The twelve Ionic 
columns of verd antique were found in the Tiber and purchased by the 
Duke of Northumberland for £1,000 each. Sixteen pilasters of the 
same costly material further ornament the apartment, while the floor is 
of scagliola worked in patterns. 

The Drawingroom, 44ft. by 2lft. and 21ft. high, is the most 
sumptuous room in the house. The fittings, furniture and decorations 
are of the richest and most costly kind, and ihe ornate ceilings, 
chimney pieces, Mosaic tables and Roman antiques found in the Baths 
of Tiberius, deserve attention as works of art as well as ornament. 

In the Diningroom, a fine apartment mea.suring 62ft. by 2lf't. 
and about 22lt. in lieight, the walls are relieved by marble pilasters. 
There are several portraits, amongst them being those of former Dukes 
and Duchesses of Northumberland by Reynolds, Barry, Lawrence, etc., 
and a portrait of Queen Charlotte by Reynolds. In an adjoining room 
hang portraitsof Bonaparte and Wellington, Landseer's "Deerstalkers," 
and a ''Boarhunt" by Snyders. 

In the corridors and smaller rooms ai-e portraits by Albert 
Durer (of his father), Schoreel, Vandyck, Bernard Van Orley, and 
other famous masters. There are also one or two portraits by Hans 
Holbein. The other pictures include works of various degrees of merit 
by Garofalo, Luca Giordano, Salvator Rosa, Both, Gaspar Poussin, 
Teniers, and other masters of the various schools. 

The Gallery, of which Horace Walpde claimed to have given 
the idea, extends the entire length of the Eastern front, and is 135ft. 
long, I4ft. wide, and 14ft. high. The walls and ceiling are 
decorated with stucco work, and paintings in chiaroscuro. It is 
arranged as a combined museum and library and contains, besides a 
fine collection of books, numerous objects of antiquity, anil a splendid 
vase of Irish crystal mounted in gold, which was presented by the 
ladies of Ireland to a late Duchess of Northumberland when leaving 
Ireland at the close of the Duke's Lord Lieutenancy. 



The grounds are chaniiing. They were laid out by " CapabiHty " 
Browne, but have since been much altered. The lawns are wide and 
smooth, the trees and shi-ubs of unusual variety, size and beauty. 
There are nia<j[nificent ced.U'S, the largest stonepines in England, silver 
firs uf surprising h-ight, as well as many other varieties of the fir tribe, 
spruces, poplars, Turkey oaks, cop])er beeches, Judas tr-ees, tulip trees, 
magnolias, catalpas, large gr-oups of acacias, giant Portugal laurels, and 
most of the ordinary park trees. 

The gardens of Syon are of great extent and beauty, and have 
long been celebrated. The Protector Somerset (the builder of the first 
house) formed a botanic garden here, one of the first in England. It 
h;is since been several times remodelled, its ])resent form being in the 
main due to the late Richard Forrest. There are also excellent flower-, 
fruit, and kitchen gardens. The Great Conservatory (designed by 
Fowler) is in the form of a wide crescent, with pavilions at the 
extremities, and a lofty central donre. 

In the outbuildings are some fragments of Syon Monastery, and 
tradition affirms that the ancient mulberry trees, now kept alive with 
difficulty, once belonged to the Convent Gardens. 

The Percy seat at the beautiful village of Albury, with its 
magnificent trees and wonderful silent pool, is also a noted spot, both in 
EcclesiasMcal as well as in Komari history. As r-egards the pcjol, there are 
various tr-aditional stories connected wiih it, and these the late Martin 
Tupper has utilis -d in his romance of " Stephen Langton." Albur-y 
park is of a moderate size, but it is so s -eluded an 1 d usely wooded in 
the part immediately overUxjking the mansion that it has a most 
i"omantic a])pearance, ;ind as its boundaries in the east seem to blend 
with the wild and beautiful common, it appears larger than it really is. 
The grounds, which are admirably laid out, originally by John Evelyn,^ 
of "Sylvan" celebrity, formerly belonged to the Howards, Earls of 
Arundel and Dukes of Norfolk, from whom it passed to the family of 
Finches and was purchased in the year 1819 by tfie late Mr. Henry 
Drummond, M.P., being for many years the seat of the Drummond 
family. After this distinguish'jd politician's death, Albur-y came by 
the uiarr-iage of his daughter with the Duke of Northumberland into 
the possession of the Percies, and has been handed down to the present 
Duke. 

Henry George Percy, the 7th and pr-esent Duke of this noble 
and illustrious House, in addition to being a Knight of the Garter, is 
^Iso a Baronet and a Privy Couricillor, V.D,, F.R.S., D.C.L., and 



F.S.A., and an A.D.C'. to Kiw'j; Edward VII. His Grace was born 
On the 29th day of May, 184G, and was educated at Christ's Colleo'e, 
Oxford. He is the eldest son of the 6th Duko, who niari-ied Miss 
Louisa Drunnnond, and by whf>ni, as explained above, Albury park 
came into the possession of the Percy family. The fitli Duke was 
greatly interested in the lifeboat system, and in 1850 offered a valuable 
prize for the best form of lifeboat. 

The present Duke was in 1887 summoned to the House of 
Lords in his father's Barony of Lovaine, and succeeded to the Dukedom 
in 1899. In ISfiS his Grace married Lady Edith Campbell, a daughter 
of the late 8th Duke of Argyll, K.G. 

The original name of the family was "Smithson," derived from 
one Hugh Smithson, a zealous Royalist who was created a Baronet in 
16G0. Sir Hugh died in 1G70 and was succeeded by his son, Sir 
Jerome Smithson, who died in 1G84. His son. Sir Hugh, thereupon 
succeeded to the title. Dying in 1729, he was succeeded by his son. 
Sir Hugh (4th Bart.) who in the year 1750 was created Duke of 
Northumberland, and assumed by Act of Parliament the name of 
Percy. 

However proud the family may be, and undoubtedly are, of the 
name, and "long roll" of eminent Percies, the original patronymic — 
" Smith.son " — is not without honour. " The noble family of North- 
umberland," says a distinguished writer, " have always been famed for 
their hospitality and humanity. The name of ' Smithson ' has obtained 
fame of an adjectival form in the United States, where the munificence 
of an Englishman (who claimed some kind of connection with the 
noble family of Northumberland) has given that country the opportunity 
of raising a noble institution for the advancement and popularisation 
of science." 

As regards the Percies, William de Percy (one of His Grace's 
ancestors) was greatly in favour with King William I., who gave him 
a Barony. He took pai-t in the first Crusade and died in siglrt of the 
City of Jerusalem, in the year 1096. The 3rd Baron's daughter, 
Agnes de Percy, married a descendant of Charlemagne, Joscaline, who 
assumed the name of Percy. The 0th feudal Bai-on, and 1st Baron 
Percy of Parliament, was one of the noble lords who in the year 1.391 
signed the letter to Boniface III., notifying that the King of England 
was not to be answerable to any Tril)unal for his rights. The 4th 
Lord became Earl of Northumberland and his eldest son was the 
celebrated Hots^^ur who fought at Otterburn (Chevy Chase) in the 



year 1888, and fell at Slirew.sl)uiy in the year 1403. The Eavl also 
fell fio-htino- against Henry IV. in 1408 at Bramham Moor. The 
2nd Earl, his grandson, fell figlitiiig for Henry VI. at St. Albans, 
in the year 1455. Tiie Or I 111 irl lei th i van of the L iioa-trians it 
Towton in the year 14G1. The 4th Earl was required by Henry VTI. 
to raise a subsidy in his County, but he was slain in the year 1489 by 
the populace in his house. John Dudley, Duke of NDithuuiberland, 
an eminent statesman, was beheaded in the Tower in the year 1553. 

The title having become extinct, it was renewed with the 5th 
Earl's grandson, who conspired against Queen Elizabeth, and was, ia 
the year 1572, beheaded at York, avowing to the last the Pop-'s 
supremacy. The 8th Earl, his brother, was suspected of favouring 
Mary, Queen of Scots, and, in 1585, was found dead in the Tower of 
London. The 9th Earl was most severely treated about the year 
1665, vigorous efforts, wdiich completely failed, being made to prove 
that he had been connected with the Gunpowder Plot. The 10th 
Earl promoted the Parliamentary interests, but afterwards advocated 
and supported those of Charles II. 

For a second time, the title became extinct with the 11th Earl 
who died in the year 1G70. King Charles II. in the year 1674 created 
the Duchess of Cleveland's third son, George Fitzroy, Earl and then 
Duke of Northumberland. Elizabeth, daughter of the 11th Earl, 
married in the year 1682, Charles, Duke of Somerset. Her eldest son 
was the first of the present Earls of Northumbei'land, being raised to 
the dignity in the year 1749. His daughter Elizabeth, married the 
before-mentioned Sir Hugh Sniithson, Bart., who was created Earl 
Percy in the year 17G6. Such are a few of the interesting events 
connected with His Grace's ancestry, and the early devolutions of the 
titles attached to the Dukedom and Earldoms. 

The other titles connected with the Dukedom are Earl of 
Northumberland, Baron Warkworth (1749), Earl Percy (1766) Eirl 
of Beverley (1790), Lord Lovaine, l>aron of Alnwick (1784). Som^ 
former titles l)elonging to this house h;ive passed to the Dukedom of 
Atholl. The present Duke is appropriately enough Lo;-d Lieutenant 
of the County of Northumberland, which being literally inter[)reted 
signifies "lands north of the river Humber;" 

From 1868-85 His Grace was Treasurer of Queen Victoria's 
Household. From 1874-75 he was President of the Archaeological 
Institute, and from 1884-92 a Trustee of the British Museum. As 



Earl Percy he sat from 1868-85 in the House of Commons as the 
Conservative Member for North Northumberland. 

The Duke of Northumberland is a staunch Conservative and at 
the present time occupies the highest position in the most important 
of the leading (.Constitutional Associations, 

In the House of Lords His Grace's utterances command the 
most profound respect, and there is scarcely a benevolent, literary, or 
scientific institution in the United Kingdom that does not receive 
both sympathetic, as well as financial and other support, whenever an 
appeal is made for the exercise either of the Duke's power or 
benevolence. 

Many generations of this illustrious House resided when in 
London at the ancient historic "Northumberland House." This 
noble ancestral home of the Percies was situated at Charing Cross, 
near Parliament Street, and was ea.sily recognisable by the blue Lion 
Statant (the crest of the Percies). For nearly three centuries it stood, 
a most conspicuous feature in London — or rather Westminster - but 
in order to make room for pressing modern improvements, viz., a new 
thoroughfari^ from Charing Cross to the Victoria Enjbankment, the 
stately mansion was demolished in the autumn of 1874. Though a 
somewhat dull, plain building, its unusually massive character caused 
it to .stand out in bold relief from the adjacent structures, and this, 
combined with all its historic associations, endowed it with a 
considerable amount of dignity. According to the antiquary Pennant, 
the building originally stood on the site of a certain Chapel, or 
Hospital of St. Mary, which had been founded in the leign of Henry 
HI. by William Eail of Pembroke, on a piece of ground which he had 
given to the Priory of Rouncivalle, in Navarre. 

The present Duke's town residence is 2, Grosvenor Place, S.W. 
His clubs are the Carlton, Travellers', and St. Stejjhen's. 

In addition to the residences at Syon and Alhury, His Grace 
inherits from his ancestors many generations removed, numerous otiier 
magnificent seats, compiising no fewer than four ancirnt Castles all in 
the County of Is'orthumberland, these being the Castles of Alnwick, 
Kielder, Warkwoith and Prudhoe, which have been intimately 
associated with many important and stirring events in English History. 
Centuries ago, the family wt re forced to surrender them to the State, 
but "the Percies" are still their proud possessors, for, happily, in 
more quiet and conscientious times they were restored. It was at 



Alnwick Castle in the sumiuer of the present year (1906) that the 
Duke and Duchess of Northumbei'land had the honour of cntcrtainin'jf 
King Edward and Queen Alexandra, and there the King was shown 
ainonofst other treasures ancient books and MSS which in the olden 
times belonged to his predecessors ou the Throne of England. 
Amongst these was Anne Boleyn's " Book of Ecclesiastes," having 
annotations written in the margin by the unfortunate Queen ; and 
the " bherborne Mi>sal," which ranks amongst the most ]iriceless 
MSS in the world. It is in abbreviated Latin, being illuminated with 
allegorical figures and stories of tlie saints. Here, too, is also Henry 
VIII. 's own private Prayer-book, having his signature upon the fly- 
leaf, and which was presented by him to Queen Margaret of Scotland. 

His Grace is the Patrou of twenty-six ecclesiastical livings, 
spread over an extensive area of four Counties, viz., Northumberland, 
Durham, Yorkshire, and Surrey. The Duke is greatly interested in 
Ecclesiastical matters, and few lay Patrons exercise a sounder discretion 
in the selection and appointment of Clergy for the spiritual livings at 
their dis])osal. 





THE RIGHT HON. 
THE EARL OF JERSEY, P.C, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., D.L., J.P. 




Cbc Right Bon. Cftc €arl of Jcrscp, 

P.C, 6.C.B., 6.C.m.6., D.C, J.p. 

IF Royal descent and belonging to a race the members of which 
have continuously been honoured by intimate association with 
the reigning Monarch, the Right Hon. The Earl of Jersey 
has worthily upheld the best traditions of his family. Born 
in 1845, he is the eldest son of the 6th Earl and Julia, eldest daughter 
of the late Right Hon. Sir Robert Peel, Bart. He was educated at 
Eton and Baliol College, Oxford, and succeeded his father in 1859. 

From 1875-77 the Earl of Jersey was a Lord in Waiting to 
Queen Victoria, while from 1889-90 he was Paymaster-General. As 
GovfTUor-General of New South Wales, which post he lield from 1 890- 
1893, Lord Jersey has had the opportunity of studying Colonial needs 
at first hand, and his experience in this office has since often stood liim 
in good stead when in debate need has arisen for confuting with the 
knowledge gained by practical experience the windy periods of orators 
whose arguments had no basis but theory. From 1904-5 his Lordship 
was Acting Agent-General for New South Wales in London and in 
the latter year attended the International Agricultural Conference at 
Rome as British Delegate. 

Lord Jersey has always shown himself actively interested in 
County affairs. He has been Lord T lieutenant and Gustos Rotulorum 
for Oxfordshire since 1887, is a member of the Oxfordshire County 
Council and an Alderman for Middlesex, besides fulfilling the duties of 



Justice of the Peace for Middlesex and Oxtordshire and those of a 
Justice of the Peace and Deputy Lieutenant for Warwickshire. He 
was formerly a Cornet in the Oxfordshire Yeomanry. 

As Chairman of the Light Railway Commission of 189G-1905, 
Lord Jersey displayed considerable tact and business ability, combined 
with that patience which is a sine qua non for the proper holding of so 
important a position. As a County man whose rural journeyings have 
made him well acquainted with the necessities of outlying districts, his 
Lordship must view with intense satisfaction the advantages already 
resulting from even the early stages of the Light Railway movement. 
While motor cars are the luxury of the well-to-do, the poorer members 
of the community now possess in the electric tramways a means of 
locomotion which not only aids them materially in their business 
undertakings, but also helps them at leisure times to secure some of 
that fresh air and change of environment which the toilers of to-day 
find so essential to their well-beinsf. 



'&• 



In the banking world the Earl of Jersey is well known as one 
of the principal proprietors of Child's Bank, Amongst Freemasons, 
also, his is a name to conjure with, for he has been Provincial Grand 
Master of Oxfordshire since 1885. 

The Earl of Jersey married in 1872, the Hon. Margaret 
Elizabeth Leigh, eldest daughter of the second Lord Leigh, and has 
two sons and three daughters, his heir being known as Viscount 
Villiers. 

The family history of the Villiers is one of great interest. 
Their descent is traced from the Villiers, Seigneurs of L'Isle Adam, in 
Normandy, a member of which house came over to England with 
William the Conqueror. Subsequent to tlie coming of the Norman, 
records show that Pagan de Villiers was Lord of Crosby in Lancashire 
and also possessed Newbold in Nottinghamshire, which his posterity 
held until the reign of Edward III. This Pagan was a witness to the 
Foundation Charter of Roger of Poictou to the monastry of Lancaster 
and flourished in the reigns of \^'illiam II. and Henry I. 

To a Gilbert de Villers King John granted for homage and 
service "all the mediety which he possessed in the vicarage and mill of 
Mesnascel." Anotlier descendant of the Norman Villiers, Sir Nicholas 
de Villiers, in 1268 followed Edward I. to the Holy Land. In the 
26th year of Edward IIL's reign, this Nicholas's second son, Geoflery, 
who had succeeded his elder brother to the the title and estates, was 




LADY JERSEY. 



one of the knights for the County of Leicester in the Parliament held 
at Westuiinster. ' Sir George Villiers, Knight of Brokesby, was a person 
of note in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, being Sherift' for the County 
of Leicester in 1591. Sir George married twice. By his second wife, 
who survived her husband and was created Countess of Buckingham in 
1618, he had three sons, one of whom was the famous George, Duke of 
Buckingham, the celebrated favourite of James I. and Charles I., and 
who was the chief promotor of the family fortunes. 

Edward, Sir George's second son by his first wife, was in 1620 
sent as an Ambassador to Bohemia, and in 1622, as the result of the 
influence of his half brother, the Duke of Buckingham, was appointed 
to the Presidency of Munster, in Ireland, on the death of the Ear! of 
Thoinond. To the grief of the whole population he died in 1626 and 
was buried in the Earl of Cork's Chapel at Youghal where these lines 
attest the esteem in which he was held — ■ 

Munster may curse the time when Villiers came 

To make us worse by leaving such a name 

Of noble parts as none can imitate, 

But those whose hearts are married to the State, 

But that they press to imitate his fame 

Munster may bless the time when Villiers came. 

Sir Edward's fifth son, Sir Edward Villiers, Knight of Richmond, 
was for his gallantry as a military officer knighted by Charles II. in 
1680 and was appointed Knight Marshal of the Household and 
Governor of Tynemouth Castle. From Charles II. he had a grant of 
the Manor of Richmond. His wife was governess to the Princesses 
Mary and Anne, daughters of James II., both of whom were afterwards 
Queens of England. It was tlie eldest son of this marriage, Edward 
Villiers, who wan the first Earl of Jersey. He was created Baron 
Villiei's of Hoo, County Kent, and Viscount Villiers (peerage of 
England) in 1691 and Earl of the Island of Jersey (peerage of 
England) in 1697. He was successively Special Ambassador to the 
Hague, Ambassador to the States General, and to France. Other 
offices which he filled were those of Lord Justice of Ireland, Secretary 
of State, Master of the Horse, Lord Chamberlain of the Household 
and Knight Marshal. He died in 1711 and it was his grandson, the 
third Earl of Jersey, who succeeded his kinsman as 6th Viscount 
Grandison. 

It was throunfh the marriage of this third Earl that the Villiers 
are entitled to quarter the Royal Arms of I'lantagenet. In 1733 he 



married Lady Anne Egerton, widow of Wriothesley, third Duke of 
Bedford and daughter of Scroojj Egerton, Hrst Duke of Bridgewater, 
who was directly descended from Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk, by 
his marriage with Mary, Queen Dowager ot France, sister and co-heir 
of King Henry VIII. 

Besides being Earl of Jersey, the head of the Villiers family is 
also Viscount Grandison of Limerick in the County of Leitrim, 
Viscount Villiers of Dartford, and Baron Villiers of Hoo, Kent. 
Special interest attaches to the Viscountcy of Grandison, which was 
lirst brought into the family through the wife of the above-mentioned 
Sir Edward Villiers. Her uncle, Sir Oliver St. John, was in 1620 
created Viscount Grandison in the Peerage of Ireland, with remainder 
to liis neice Barbara who, as we have said, was the wife of Sir Edward 
Villiers. Upon his death in 1630, the 1st Viscount was succeeded by 
his grand-nejihew, William Villiers, the eldest son of Barbara and a 
zealous partizan of Charles I., for whom he fought so valiantly at 
Bristol in 1643 that he died from the wounds then received. John, the 
5th Viscount, was in 1721 created Earl Grandison in the Peerage of 
Ireland. Upon his death in 1766 the Earldom became extinct, but he 
was succeeded in the Viscountcy by his kinsman William the 3rd Earl 
of Jersey, who was one of the Gentlemen of the Bedchamber to 
Frederick, Prince of Wales, at whose funeral in 1751 he was one of 
the pall bearers. This Earl's successor and son, the 4th Eai'l of 
Jersey, was successively a Lord of the Admiralty, Lord Chamberlain 
of the Household and Master of the Buckhounds. His son George, 
the 5th Earl, married in 1804 Sarah Sophia, eldest daughter of John, 
10th Earl of Westmorland by Sarah, daughter and sole heir of Robert 
Child, Esq., of Osterley Park, and by Royal Licence he assumed the 
additional surname of Child in 1821. He was twice Lox'd Chamberlain 
to William IV. and twice Master of the Horse to Queen Victoria. 
Dying in 1859, he was succeeded by his son George Augustus 
Frederick, the father of the present holder of the title, who upheld the 
Conservative interest in Parliament as the Member successively for 
Honiton, Weymouth and Cirencester. 

Osterley Park, the Earl of Jersey's Middlesex seat, possesses an 
interesting history and has been the scene of many an important and 
noble gathering. In 1508 it was bequeathed by the then jjossessor, 
Hugh Denys, to the Prior and Convent of Sheen, subsequently being 
conveyed to the Abbess and Conv^ent of Sion. Upon the Suppression 
of the Monasteries, it was granted by the King to Henry Marquess of 
Exeter. Reverting to the Crown upon his attainder, it was given in 



1557 to Augustus Thier. Between this period and 1570 it came into 
the possession of Sir Thomas Gresliaui, to whom London is indebted 
for its iioyal Exchange. Sir Thomas began to rebuild the Manor 
House, but it was not completed until 1577. Norden describes it as 
'• a faire and stately building of brick" and speaks of '• a very faire 
heronrie " which existed in the Park. 

But Sir Thomas fi)und it quite impossible to absolutely leave his 
money-making behind him in London, and within the park he erected 
paper, oil, and corn mills, the motive power tor which he found in the 
lakes. On one occasion Queen Elizabeth paid Sir Thomas a visit at 
Osterley, and took exception to the size of the courtyard before it, 
thinking the house would look better were it divided into two. With 
marvellous rapidity, Sir Thomas summoned workmen from London ; 
and while the Queen slept the suggested wall became a fact. Com- 
menting upon the speed with which the work was eftected, one of the 
courtiers, with the {tunning wit of the day, is said to have observed 
that " it was no wonder he who could build a Change could so soon 
change a building " ; whilst another, less kind, reflected upon the 
internal troubles of the Gresham family, by remarking that "a house is 
more easily divided than united." 

Sir Edward Cook was a later resident at Osterley, and after 
him it was occupied by the Earl of Desmond, who married one of the 
co-heiresses of the estate, and made Osterley his residence for many 
years. The next owner was Sir Williun Waller, the Parliamentary 
General, who lived here until his death in 1G68. The subsequent 
occupant was Dr. Barton, a great projector known by his treatise 
published in 1696 on "the expediency of coining the new money lighter." 
which was written in answer to a pamphlet by Locke, who advanced the 
opposite view. By Dr. Barton the estate was mortgaged to Sir Thomas 
Child, subsequently passing to the Earl of Jersey by his marriage with 
the grand-daughter of Robert Child, Esq. 

The greater portion of Sir Thomas Gresham's structure was 
pulled down by Sir Francis Child in 17(50, when he began to 
rebuild. In form the house resembles a quadrangle enclosing a central 
court. Upon the north-east or priiiGi[)al front, where was the court 
divided to please Queen Elizabeth, there is now a grand portico 
composed of twelve Ionic columns which support an angular pediment, 
the tympanum of which, together with the roofing of the portico, is 
richly ornamented. The stables and one of the square turrets which 
stand at the corners of the building are the only remaining portions 
of the mansion erected by Sir Thomas Gresham. 



The interior was furnished by Robert Child, Esq., who 
succeeded to the j^ossession on the death of Sir Francis Child in 1763. 
The great entrance hall is adorned with stucco work and the staircase 
is embellished with a ])aintii)g by Uubeus representing the apotheosis 
of William, Prince of Orange, which was brought from Holland by Sir 
Francis Child. 

In the gallery are pictures by Rubens, Vandyck and Romney, 
among the most notable of them being portraits of the Earl and 
Countess of Westmorland and of George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham 
The beautiful library contains a valuable collection of books which are 
kept in highly carved and ornamental cases. The mansion stands in 
the centre of a well kept park of some 350 acres, diversified by three 
broad sheets of water and a quantity of fine timber, the whole 
comprising a very rich and extensive landscape. 

The Earl of Jersey has also a residence at Middleton Park, 
Bicester. His clubs are the Carlton and the Junior Carlton. 




Cbe Rigbt l>on. 
Cbe €arl Waldcsrauc, P.C, J.p. 



fIS Lordship, who was born on the 2nd March, 1851, is the 

son of the late Viscount Chewton, and the only daughter of 

Captain Bastard, R.N. He was educated at Eton and 

Trinity College, Cambridge, where he took his M.A. 

Deo-ree. In 1859 he succeeded his orandfather. 




o 



From 1886-92 Lord Waldegrave served as a Lord-in-Waiting 
to Queen Victoria, and again from 1895-96, in which latter year he 
was appointed Captain of the Yeomati of the Guard, a position he held 
till the change of Government in 1906. From 1889-96 his Lordship 
was the second Conservative Whip in the House of Lords, and since 
1896 he has been the Chief Whip. 

Earl Waldegrave has been an Hon. Commissioner in Lunacy 
since 1899. He served in the London Riile Brigade for 28 years and 
retired in 1901 with the rank of Hon. Lieutenant -Colonel. His 
Lordship was Chairman of the National Rifle Association from 1891-96 
and is at the present time Vice-Chairman, and is always ready to urge 
the importance of seeing that so far as possible the vital matter of 
Home Defence is properly provided for. 

Earl Waldegrave married in 1874, Lady Mary Dorothea 
Palmer, daughter of the 1st Earl of Selborne, and has one son, 
Viscount Chewton, and two daughters. 



The noble Earl is a man of wide general knowledge and literary 
culture. He is '.veil versed in home and foreign matters and is a keen 
student of the times. A staunch Conservative, his views are by no 
means of an antiquated or autocratic character. He sees clearly that 
the spirit of the age is unmistakably in the direction of progress, and 
so far from being opposed to progress, Lord Waldegrave fiivours it, 
providing, of course, that it be of a really constitutional character. 
He certainly has no sympathy with the policy of the extreme 
Kadicals, considering that the Conservative Party are the truest 
friends of the people and consequently the better deserving of the 
country's support. 

The surname of this family is derived from a place in 
Northamptonshire originally written Walgrave. So far back as 1205 
a John de Walgrave served as Sheriff of London. His great grandson. 
Sir Richard Walgrave, Knight of Smallbridge, Suffolk, having 
represented that County in the reigns of Edward III. and Richard II., 
was Speaker of the House of Commons under the latter King. 

His son, Sir Richard Walgrave, Knight, in the right of his 
mother was styled Lord of Bures and Silvesters. He was enjoined, 
with Lord Clinton, Sir John Howard and Lord Falconbridge, in 1 402, 
to keep the seas, and landing 10,000 men in Brittany won the town of 
Conquet and Isle of Rhe. His grandson was knighted for valour on 
Towton Field, March 20th, 1461. 

Another celebrated ancestor of the family was Edward 
Waldegrave, who felt fully the differences of religious opinion shared 
by the Tudor monarchs. By Edward VI. he was sent to the Tower 
because he did not forbid the celebration of Mass in the Household of 
the Princess Mar3\ When she became Queen he was, of course, in 
favour and \va^ niade by lier a Privy Councillor. But the wheel 
turned again when Elizabeth was on the throne and for a second time 
he sojourned in the Tower, where he died. His grandson. Sir Edward 
Waldegrave, was indeed a saliant Knight. At the age of seventy he 
took u]3 arms on behalf of Charles I. when the Civil War broke out 
and as some recognition of his prowess he was by the King created a 
Baronet in 1G43. At a skirmish at Saltash in Cornwall, he had the 
triunipli of personally taking forty prisoners. Verily, there were giants 
in those days ! 

The 4th Baronet was in 1685 made Baron Waldegrave of 
Chewton, Somerset, and was appointed Comptroller of the King's 
Household. James, the 2nd Baron, was made Viscount Chewton and 



Earl Waldegrave in 1729, also being appointed a Privy Councillor and 
a Knight of the Garter in 1738. 

The 2nd Earl was Governor and Privy Pui'se to George III. 
when Prince of Wales, also serving in a similar capacity Prince 
Edward, Duke of York. 

In the neighbourhood of the family seat at Chewton Priory, 
Bath, and on his other estates. Earl Waldegrave enjoys the reputation 
of being a very considerate landlord. Both in Somerset and in 
Middlesex, for which County he is a Justice of the Peace, he is also 
known as a generous supporter of numerous deserving public 
movements and institutions. His Lordship is a devoted student of 
natural history, and is very fond of shooting. He is the owner of a 
fine gallery of pictures, included in which are some of the best examples 
of the work of Reynolds and Gainsborough. 

Earl Waldegrave's toAvn residence is 20, Bryanston Square, W. 
His clubs are the Carlton and Constitutional. 





TSE LA.TE THE RIG ST HON. THE EA.RL OF MANSFIELD, P.O. 




Che Rifibt Ron. Che €arl of mansfieia. 

■■•■■^-? 

[HOUGH its distant views have been somewhat curtailed by 
the incessant growth of London and its outer rings, Ken 
Wood, the Middlesex seat of the Earl of Mansfield, is one of 
the most beautiful estates in the County. Those who are 
experts in forestry believe that the mighty oaks and beeches still to be 
seen in its verdant glades are the real descendants of the primaeval 
giants of the ancient Forest of Middlesex, of which Ken Wood was 
once an integral part. 

As to the origin of the name, historians have suggested several 
theories based upon the different spellings which have at various times 
been used, namely Caenwood, Kanewood, Canewood and Kenwood. 
Lysons believed it was not improbable that both this estate and what 
he describes as "the neighbouring hamlet of Kentish Town, which in old 
records is written Kentesstonne," were both called after the name or 
title of some very remote possessor. He calls to mind that one of the 
Deans of St. Paul's was a Reginald de Kentewode and suggests that 
either he ar one of his ancestors derived their name from living near a 
wood so called. Loudon prefers to think that the name was derived 
from the " kerns " or oaks witli which its site was formerly covered ; 
while Lloyd holds the opinion that it is simply taken from the Norman 
town of Caen, because the Conqueror after coming to England gave 
the lands to a relation of his own who, having assoclatioas with the 
French town, decided to call his new possessions after it. 



The earliest mention found of Ken Wood dates from the time 
of the suppression of the Monasteries, when records show that the 
monks of Waltham had an estate in the parish of St. Pancras called 
Canelond with woods, fishponds, etc., of the yearly value of £13. 

Between 1640 and 1642, Sir James Harrington resided at Ken 
Wood. He was so active a Commonwealth man that he deemed it 
wiser to flee over the seas when the Restoration was brought about in 
order to escape the arrest which nearly overtook him. 

Subsequently, Mr. John Bill the younger, whose father, Jolin 
Bill, one of the King's printers, had been sequestrated for delinquency 
by the Long Parliament, acquired the property. Before making his 
purchase he wrote and asked the advice of Sir Harry Vane who was 
then (1658) resident at Hampstead. Sir If arry reported that " the 
estate of Ken Wood appears to me to require handling well. The 
home desnaesne is particularly good and capable of much improvement." 
He goes on to say that he considers the price asked is too high by £100 
and, in fine, advises young Bill to leave the matter alone. But Mr. 
Bill evidently preferred to disregard this pronouncement, for he com- 
pleted the purchase in 1660. The estate was then described as con- 
sisting of 250 acres of land, well covered with timber, while the house is 
mentioned as " a capital messuage of brick, wood and plaster." 
Amongst other appanages of the estate there were eight cottages, the 
fishponds which had formerly supplied the monks of Waltham with 
their fastday fish, and a windmill which was no doubt the Manor Mill 
and a source of profit to the Lord, since all the tenants were compelled 
to grind their corn there at his own price. 

It was barely a year later that Mr. Bill had for his neighbours 
the Fifth Monarchy men, those politico-religious enthusiasts whose 
leaders, having been imprisoned in consequence of their conspiracy 
against Cromwell in 1657, had but recently been liberated. Under the 
command of Venner, a militant cooper, they were driven out of Lon- 
don and took refuge in Ken Wood. There for three days in mid- 
winter flew their banner with its wild motto, " The King Jesus with 
their heads at the gate," and there they kept their stronghold till 
Raresby rode out from the City with a band of soldiers and surrounded 
them. Venner showed fisfht to the last and was not taken until 
severely wounded. 

Mr. Bill died in 1680 and the estate then passed into the hands 
of other families. In 1698 it was the home of Mr. William Bridges, 
Surveyor General of the Ordnance. When Mackey wrote his " Tour 



through England" in 1720, Ken Wood had become the property of 
Dale, an upholsterer who had purchased it as a result of his speculations 
in connection with '■ The South Sea Bubble." But liis good fortune 
('.id not hold long, for he mortgaged it to Lord Hay for ,£1,675. He 
was unable to redeem his pledge and in October, 1724, the Courts 
ordered him within six months to pay the mortgagee the sum of 
ii 1,907 7s. 6d. This he was unable to do and the estate consequently 
passed into Lord Hay's possession. 

The matter is especially interesting as showing how the value of 
the estate had increased. Whereas in the time of Henry VIII. the 
monks of Waltham only considered it to be worth £18 per annum, and 
in 1724 a portion of it which covered twenty-two acres was considered 
to b^ worth less than £100 per acre ; yet, by 1892, when the late Lord 
Mansfield sold part of it for public purposes, he was able to demand 
his jmce of £1,000 per acre and also to insist upon certain fencing, 
etc., being carried out by the purchaser. 

In the same year that Lord Hay recovered the estate, the 
famous Duke of Argyle purchased it and at his death left it to liis 
nephew. Lord Bute. The latter married the only daughter of the 
celebrated Lady Mary Wortley Montague, the some time friend and 
correspondent of Horace Walpole and Pope. To pay his debts, ho 
sold it in 1755 to Lord Mansfield, the famous Judge and the lifelong 
companion and friend of some of the greatest wits of his time. 

Lord Chief Justice Mansfield was one of the principal founders 
of the fortune of his House which traces Its descent from Sir William 
Murray of Tullibardine who died about 1511 leaving issue William, 
ancestor of the Dukes of AthoU and Sir Andrew Murray, who married 
the heiress of Balvaird. 

Sir David Murray (of Gospertie), 1st Viscount Stormont, was 
the cupbearer of James VI. He became a great favourite with that 
monarch, having been instrumental in saving his life from the attempt 
made upon it by the Earl of Gowrie and his brother. In IGO-S he 
accompanied the King to England and was created Lord Scone in 
1605, having previously obtained a grant of the Abbey of Scone. In 
1621 he was created Viscount Stormont. 

His descendant was the celebrated 1st Earl of Mansfield, 
William Murray. Ho was a younger son of the 5th Viscount Stormont, 
and was born at Scone, March 2nd^ 1705. He received his education at 
Westminster School and Christchurch, Oxford, iieing called to the Bar 



in 1730, he subsequently attained the highest reputation in his profession, 
his eloquence earning for him the appellation of " the silver-tongued 
Murray." In 1742 he was appointed Solicitor General, becoming in 
1754 Attorney General. Two years later he was made Lord Chief 
Justice of England, being at the same time elevated to the peerage as 
Baron Mansfield of Mansfield in the County of Nottingham. In 1776 
he was created Earl of Mansfield in the Peerage of Great Britain. 

Of critics the 1st Earl has had many, but all who have studied 
his life have acknowledged his possession of the virtues of courage, 
faith and self reliance. His clients, of whom Sarah, Duchess of 
Marlborough, was one, were not slow to discover his good points. 
That George II. thoroughly appreciated him is seen from the following 
anecdote. When Lord Mansfield was appointed Attorney General, he 
felt thei-e was a possibility of his loyalty to the Hanoverian cause being 
attacked in the House of Commons, and on the ground that the holder 
of so important a post should not be even suspected of high treason, 
offered to resign. The King's i"eply proved his discernment, for it was 
— " Sir, were I able to replace you with as able a man as yourself, 
I might, perhaps, permit you to give up your place." 

It was from Lord Mansfield's li[is that first fell the celebrated 
dictum that the air of England is too pure for a slave to breathe and 
that ever}' man who inhales it is free, this being his decision pronounced 
in favour of a runaway negro, James Somerset. As a Judge he also 
decided against the barbarous custom of wreckinsf • he was in favour 
of freedom of religious opinion ; gave literary copyright to authors 
and is considered to have been " the founder of the commercial law of 
the country." 

That he knew how to be good to those less fortunate than 
himself is shown by an old record which preserves the fact that on 
January 1st, 1773, he entertained at Ken Wood (a spelling which he 
himself is alwaj^s said to have favoured) four hundred people, giving 
each after dinner half a crown and a quartern loaf. 

But in June, 1780, he became unpopular by reason of his voting 
in favour of the Bill for the relief of Catholics. In the course of the 
Gordon Riots the mob became so inflamed by this knowledge that they 
sacked his house at Bloomsbury, burning his library and valuable 
notebooks, and doing calculable damage to the extent of £30,000. Not 
satisfied with thus having shown their views, they proceeded to march 
to Ken Wood, intent upon doing similar mischief there. They were 
frustrated by the tactful behaviour of the landlord of The Spaniards 




KEN WOOD, HIGHGATE. 



Inn, which stands just outside the walls of the Ken Wood desmense. 
The weather was hot, the mob tired and thirsty. The landlord invited 
as many as could to rest at The Spaniards and enjoy his famous ale ; 
while the rest of the crowd were, at his instigation, encouraged to camp 
in the roadway while they enjoyed the contents of barrels hastily 
procured from the Ken Wood cellars. Meanwhile, urgent messengers 
were sent Citywards, with the result that the military appeared to find 
a mob whose truculence had vanished under the soothing influence of 
drink, and Ken Wood was saved. 

Lord Mansfield's freedom from viudictiveness is seen in his 
acquittal of Lord George Gordon who, for his part in the riots, was 
tried before him on a charge of high treason. 

He was utterly opposed to the severe tendency of the laws of 
his day. On one occasion he was trying a man accused of stealing 
a trinket. So that the extreme sentence might be avoided. Lord 
Mansfield urged the jury to declare the value of the article as less than 
ten shillings. The jeweller pleaded that its chief worth lay in the 
fashioning of it, whereupon the Lord Chief Justice said — " Gentlemen, 
we ourselves stand in need of mercy. Let us not hang a man for the 
fashion's sake." 

In 1788 Lord Mansfield resigned his office, and spent the 
remainderof his time at Ken Wood. With the 2nd Earl of Mansfield 
it was also a very favourite residence. He was one of the most 
enthusiastic supporters of the opposition to the attempt made in his 
time to enclose parts of Hampstead Heath. In 1835 the 3rd Earl 
and his Countess had the honour of entertaining at Ken Wood King 
William IV. and Queen Adelaide, their Majesties being present at a 
garden party held there. Their semi-state entry into Hampstead, and 
the many joys which marked the occasion are still remembered in the 
locality. 

Succeeding his grandfather (who lived to the advanced age of 
92 and was for many years the " Father" of the House of Lords) in 
1898, the 5th Earl was for years an honoured and always popular 
figure in Highgate and Hampstead, for he entered keenly into the 
local life of the districts and conscientiously did his utmost to promote 
the best welfare of the people in numerous ways. Always hospitable 
and generous. Lord Mansfield was ever ready to bestow his influence 
and even when he was unable to be personally present he would 
frequently lend the spacious grounds of Ken Wood for public purposes. 



Born in 1860 he was the eldest of the five sons of the late 
Viscount Storniont, son of the 4th Earl of Mansfield by his marriage 
with Emily Louisa, eldest daughter of Sir John Atholl Macgregor, 
3rd Baronet of Macgregor. For some years he served in the 
Grenadier Guards, but after his father's death in 1893 he retired in 
order to assist his grandfather in the management of the propert3^ 
But at the time of the South African War he showed his readiness to 
actively aid his country by joining the Royal Guards Reserve 
Regiment in which he stayed until it was disbanded in 1901. 

In Scotland, as in Highgate, Lord Mansfield was active in 
aiding the administrative work of the districts in which his property 
was situated, serving as member of School Boards, District and 
County Committees and in other ways taking the position to which 
his large possessions entitled him. He presided with success over one of 
the Scottish private bill procedure committees and was Chairman of 
the Royal Commission on Physical Culture in Scotland. 

Unionist in politics, Lord Mansfield was at the head of the 
organisation of the party in Perthshire and was an active supporter 
of the Unionist Associations of Hampstead and St. Pancras. His 
sudden death on April 29, 1906, from acute pneumonia, at his Castle 
of Comlongon, Ruthwell, Dumfriesshire, came as a sad blow to the 
large circle of his admirers who had learned to honour him for the 
manly way in which he always upheld the dignity of his race. 

He was succeeded by Alan David Murray, the present and 6th 
Earl of Mansfield, his elder surviving brother and the third son of the 
late Viscount Stormont, who was born in October, 1864. He was 
educated at Charterhouse and the Royal Military College, Sandhurst. 
From 1886-94 he was a Lieutenant in the Black Watch, being adjutant 
from 1889-1903. He has been a Gentleman Usher of the Green Rod 
(Order of the Thistle) from 1895. 

Lord Mansfield married in 1899 his cousin, Margaret Helen 
Mary, second daughter of Rear Admiral Sir Malcolm Macgregor, 4th 
Baronet of Macgregor by his wife the daughter and heir of the 9th 
Earl of Antrim. 

His Lordship's elder brother, the Hon. Andrew Murray of the 
Cameron Highlanders, was killed in South Africa, while in command 
of Lovat's Scouts. 

Ken Wood is picturesquely situated, the grounds being of a 
very diversified character by reason of the extensive woodlands and 



the water. Amongst the ti-easures which the house contains are an 
original portrait of Pope, presented by him to the 1st Earl of 
Mansfield, an antique bust of Homer in white marble ( which also 
belonged to Pope), an original half length portrait of Garrick and a 
head of Betterton, said to have been painted by Pope. The 1st Earl's 
possession of this last was evidently regarded with great admiration, 
for it is said that as a consequence of the burning of his Bloomsbury 
house some hundreds of people called at Ken Wood to ask if Pope's 
portrait was saved. 

The library, a beautiful apartment some 60ft by 2lft, decorated 
by Adam and ornamented with paintings by Zucchi, holds also 
paintings by Claud and Teniers. In the dining room is a fine portrait 
of Lord Chief Justice Mansfield by Sir Joshua Reynolds. 

Several trees in the grounds are said to have been planted by 
the 1st Earl, notably the cedars of Lebanon near the house, three of 
which stand at the angles of an equilateral triangle and, unlike most 
of their kind, grow from 50ft to 60ft high without branches. The 
trunk of the largest measures in girth 14ft. 

In addition to Ken Wood, the Earl of Mansfield is the owner 
of three Scottish seats, namely — Scone Palace, Perthshire ; Schaw 
Park, Clackmannanshire ; and Comlongon, Dumfriesshire, 





THE EIGHT HO]!J. THE EAKL CADOGAN, K.G. 




Che RigM Bon* CDe earl Cadogan, K-6- 

[WO of the most interesting personages in Society life of 
to-day are undoubtedly the Earl and Countess of Cadogan, 
who most happily show how charming a life can be spent 
when health, wealth and intellect combine to form a dignified, 
harmonious whole. Middlesex has every reason to feel proud that it 
enjoys the honour of ranking so great a nobleman as the Earl amongst 
its County Justices, for it is the presence of such honourable men as he 
who lend the I'equisite dignity to County administrative affairs. 

George Henry Cadogan, 5th Eai-1 Cadogan, Viscount Chelsea, 
Baron Cadogan of Oakley in the Peerage of Great Britain and Baron 
Oakley in the Peerage of the United Kingdom, was born in Durham 
on the 12th May, 1840. The family of which he is the head is a Welsh 
one which dates back authentically to the thirteenth century. The 
member of it first raised to the peerage was Major-General William 
Cadogan who had a brilliant military career and after taking part in 
the campaigns of the famous Duke of Marlborough, whom he 
succeeded as Chief in command of the Army, was created Baron 
Cadogan of Reading, Baron Cadogan of Oakley, Viscount Caversham 
and Earl Cadogan. He died in 1726 without issue, when all his titles 
lapsed, with the exception of that of Baron Cadogan of Oakley, of 
which the remainder, in default of issue, was by the terms of its 
creation limited to his brother Charles, who is the ancestor of the 
present Earl. 



In 1717 that nobleman married Elizabeth, daughter of the 
eminent physician, Sir Hans Sloane. As a result of this alliance, 
the Manor of Chelsea came into the possession of the Cadogan family. 
By George III. the 3rd Baron was created Viscount Chelsea, the title 
of Earl Cadogan being also conferred upon him at the same lime. 
Upon the 3 I'd Earl Cadogan the Barony of Oakley was bestowed by 
William IV. in recosfnition of his distinguished services as an Admiral 
in the Royal Navy. 

The present Earl, who is a grand-nephew of the famous Duke 
of Wellington, was sent at the age of thirteen to Eton, going in 1859 
to Christchurch, Oxford, where he was distinguished by his earnestness 
of mind and his indomitable perseverance. 

A political career from the first appealed to his Lordship and 
at the General Election of 1868 he endeavoured to storm Bury which 
was then a Radical constituency. Although he was not returned he 
had the satisfaction of knowing that he greatly reduced the previous 
majority and at a bye-election of 1873 he was sent to the Commons 
as the Member for Bath. However, he only sat for a very brief 
period, for his father dying on the 8th of June in the same year he 
succeeded him as the 5th Earl Cadogan. 



-'&'• 



But his advancement by no means checked Earl Cadogan's 
determination to distinguish himself in the political woi'ld, and on his 
first appearance in the Gilded Chamber he had the gratification of 
seconding the address to the Throne, discharging his duty so well that 
he was recognised as a man likely to make his mark on the affiiirs of 
his time. He very quickly became known as a speaker of great ability 
and in his speeches delivered at meetings in the country proved remark- 
able for bis caustic criticism of the policy of his opponents. 

His abilities being recognised by Loi'd Beaconsfield, Earl 
Cadogan was, in 1875 appointed Under Secretary for War, an 
appointment rendered of greater importance than usual, consequent 
upon the troublous state of Eurojoean politics at the time. This 
position beheld until 1878 when, upon Lord Derby's retirement from 
the Ministry, many transferences were necessary. The Chief 
Secretaryship for Ireland being filled by Mr. James Lowther, Lord 
Cadogan was appointed to succeed him as Under Secretar}^ of State for 
the Colonies, a post which pi'ovided him with the requisite scope for the 
exercise of his diplomatic talents. 

On the 25th March, 1875, in the House of Lords a vote of 
censure was moved on the Government for its mismanagement of 



Colonial Aftliins. The speecli which the Earl Cadogan delivered in 
reply, defending the Government policy in South Africa, has ever since 
ranked as one of the finest made by him. 

In 1886 Lord Cadogan was appointed Lord Privy Seal without 
a seat in the Cabinet, which, however, he joined a year later. In 1887 
the management of Irish Legislative business in the House of Lords 
was entrusted to his care. The Government's Land Bill of that year 
was first introduced by him into the Uijper House, and he was largely 
responsible for its ultimately passing. It was his share in the debates 
on this thorny question which induced Lord Salisbury to invite his 
Lordship to enter the Cabinet. 

From 1895-1902, Earl Cadog-au held the hhA\ office of Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland, and in this appointment reached the high water 
mark of a brilliant political career. His reign at Dublin Castle proved 
eminently popular, for with the aid of his gracicnis Countess, he 
succeeded in establishing a lasting repute for the brilliancy of his 
Courts. But it was not only by those who shared in the brightness 
of the period that Earl Cadogan was applauded. In their turn, he 
paid equal attention to the poor of the Emerald Isle, and during his 
term of office, worked most zealously, and to an extent successfully, in 
ameliorating the hardness of their lot. 

Earl Cadogan is an Hereditary Trustee of the British Museum 
and a Magistrate for Norfolk as well as for Middlesex. Since 1886 he 
has been Hon. Colonel of the 5th (Militia) Batt. Royal Fusiliers, and 
was formerly Major in the Royal Westminster Militia. In 1900 he 
was the first Mayor of Chelsea. 

His Lordship married in 1865, the Lady Beatrix Jane 
Craven, V.A., fourth daughter of the 2nd Earl of Craven. His heir. 
Viscount Chelsea, was formerly the Member of Parliament for Bury. 

Culford Hall, the Suffolk County seat of the Cadogan family, is 
one of the country homes which has been honoured by a visit from their 
Majesties the King and Queen, who in the autumn of 1905 were 
entertained there by the Earl and Countess Cadogan. The occasion 
was one the memory of which will linger long throughout the country 
side, for the festivities were marked with magnificence almost media3val 
in character, and no effort was left unspared to lieighten the artistic 
effect of the welcome offered to a beloved King and Queen 

Lord Cadogan's town house is Chelsea House, Cadogan 
Place, S.W., and his clubs the Carlton, St. Stephen's and White's. 




THE EIGHT HON. THE EARL OF BESSBOROUGH, C.V.O., C.B. 




THE COUNTESS OF BESSBOROUGH. 




CDC Right Bon. Cbe €arl of Bcssborouflh, 
C.V.O., C.B., D.£., 3.P. 

|N the Earl of Bessborough Middlesex possesses a Justice of 
the Peace who has had the additional advantage of enjoying 
a legal training, for he was admitted a barrister in 1879. His 
Lordship has always endeavoured to act up to the worthiest 
of ideals, and has patiently and perseveringly pursued the path of 
probity and patriotism. Gentlemen of leisure, of substance, and 
position, such as he are best qualified to become the local administrators 
of Justice, for in them we are most likely to find the broad human 
sympathies and clear mental vision which are most surely productive 
of pure and unbiassed judgment. 

The eldest son of the 7th Earl of Bessborough, the present 
Lord was born March 1st, 1851. For some time he was in the 
Navy, from which he retired in 1874 with the rank of Lieutenant. He 
afterwards turned his attention to legal study, and having been 
admitted a barrister in 1879, he was Secretary to Lord R. Grosvenor at 
the Treasury from 1880-84. From 1884-95 he filled the arduous post 
of Private Secretary to Viscount Peel, whilst he was Speaker of the 
House of Commons, and again from 1896-99 he discharged similar 
duties for the Caledonian Canal Commissioners. 

Lord Bessborough married in 1875 Blanche Vere Guest, sister 
of the 1st Lord Wimborne, and has an heir Viscount Duncannon born 
in 1880. 



In addition to serving on the Commission of Peace for 
Middlesex, Lord Bessborough is a Deputy Lieutenant, Justice of the 
Peace and a County Councillor for County Kilkenny, and also a 
Justice of the Peace for County Carlow, for which he was High 
Sheriff in 1899. 

The family of Ponsonby, of which the present head is the Earl 
of Bessborough, takes its name fi'om the Lordship of Ponsonby in 
Cumberland. John Ponsonby of Haugh Heale, Cumberland, was 
father to Simon Ponsonby of Hale, whose grandson Henry went to 
Ireland in 1649 and obtained a grant of land in Kerry. Henry's elder 
brother, Sir John Ponsonby was a Cromwellian Colonel of Horse, 
He too Avent to Ireland and upon the reduction of that Kingdom was 
appointed one of the Commissioners for taking the depositions of the 
Protestants concerning the murders said to have been committed 
during the war. He was Sheriff of Wicklow and Kilkenny in 1654. 
He had two grants of land under the Acts of Settlement and by 
accumulating debentures amassed a considerable fortune. By his 
second wife he had two sons, of whom the youngest, William, was the 
1st Viscount Duncannon of Bessborough. He was M.P. for Kilkenny 
in the reigns of Queen Anne and George I., Avas sworn a Privy 
Councillor in 1715 and was elevated to the Peerage of Ireland by the 
title of Lord Bessborough, Baron of Bessborough, Count}^ Kerry, 
September 11th, 1721. He was created Viscount Duncannon of 
Duncannon Fort, County Wexford, in 1722. The 2nd Viscount was 
advanced to the dignity of Earl of Bessborough in 1739 and was created 
a Peer of Great Britain as Baron Ponsonby of Sysonby, County 
Leicester, in 1749. The 4th Earl was created Baron Duncannon of 
Bessborough in the Peerage of the United Kingdom in 1834. He was 
Lord Lieutenant of Ireland in 1846. 

Lord Bessborough's residence is 17, ('avendish Squ?.re, W. His 
clubs are Brooks's and the Beefsteak. 





THE COUJ^TESS OF MEXBOKOUGH. 




CDC RJdDt l)on. 
Cfte earl or mexborousDt DX., j.p. 

HH 

JIDDLESEX is rich in possessing within its Magistracy many 
representatives of the most distinguished Houses. Amongst 
these gentlemen is the Earl of Mexborough, the founder of 
whose family was Sir John Savile, Knight, of Bradley Hall, 

Yorkshire, who was one of the Barons of the Exchequer in the reigns 

of Queen Elizabeth and King James I . 

Lord Mexborough, who also bears the titles of Viscount 
PoUington and Baron PoUington of Longford in Ireland, was born in 
1843, being the son of the 5th Earl of Mexborough, and. Rachel, 
daughter of the 3rd Earl of Orford. He was educated at Eton and 
Trinity College, Cambridge, where he took his B.A. Degree in 18G3 
and his M.A. in 1866. His Lordship married in 1867, Venetia 
Stanley, third daughter and co-heir of Sir Rowley Stanley Errington, 
Bart., one of the co-heirs to the Baronies of Umfraville and Kyme. 
Secondly, in March, 1906, Donna Sylvia Cecilia Marie, daughter of 
the noble Carlo Ser- Antonio, of Lucca and Naples, and widow of Capt. 
Claude Clenk. 

In the days of his youth, Lord Mexborough was exceedingly 
popular as an actor, and in 1861 he became assistant stagemanager of 
the famous Cambridge Amateur Dramatic Club. 



Before succeeding to his titles, Lord Mexborough twice tried to 
enter the House of Commons, fighting the Conservative cause at 
Pontefract in 1872 and again in 1874, but on each occasion he was 
defeated. The first fight was especially memorable, as it was the first 
Parliamentary election at which the voting was by ballot, and also 
because His Lordship was opposing the re-election of a Cabinet 
Minister on taking office, his opponent being Mr. Hugh Childers. To 
enter the fray his Lordship had only ten days' notice, and even then 
had to hurry back from Switzerland, so that he still remembers with 
triumph that, despite all the circumstances against him, he only lost 
the day by some fifty-six votes. 

His Lordship was formerly a Lieutenant in the 1st West 
Yorkshire Imperial Yeomanry. 

Agreeable and courtly, all that the Earl of Mexborough does is 
well done, for there is nothing halting or lukewarm about him. He 
has his own views and ideas of things, and is never afraid to make 
them known ; yet, he is happily one of the too few men who have 
learnt that to love any political or other principles need not be 
tantamount to, or entail, entertaining feelings of spleen against those 
of an opposite scliool of thought. The noble Earl is, indeed, liberal- 
minded, and has a befitting respect for the views of others. He has 
the reputation of being a very kind and sympathetic landlord, and 
deservedly so, for he attends, as much as he consistently can, to the 
wants and wishes of his tenants, by whom he is held in the greatest 
respect. Incidentally, we may mention, that his Lordship is in 
relision a Buddhist. 



'O' 



Never a lover of much publicity, the Earl of Mexborough 
prefers a quiet life, enjoying every opportunity of following his 
favourite recreation of reading, to which he is becoming more 
engrossed as advancing years make it less easy for him to indulge in 
his penchant for gardening. 

Lord Mexborough has no Middlesex seat, but enjoys a pretty 
residence known as " Cannizaro," on Wimbledon Common, while in 
Yorkshire he is the owner of Methley Park, Leeds. His present 
town residence is Wellington Court, Albert Gate, S.W. Formerly he 
was the owner of the palatial mansion known as 33, Dover Street, 
Piccadilly, but when that thoroughfare became popular with clubs and 
dressmakers, he sold it, the new owners pulling down the old mansion 
and rebuilding. 




CU Rim l>on. CDe earl of £ucan, K.p., 3.p. 

ALEHAM House, Staines, the picturesque seat of the Earl 
of Lucan, was in earlier years the residence of Maria, Queen 
of Portugal. Both gardens and park are pleasingly laid 
out and very carefully kept. 

In contradistinction to many of our nobles, tlie Earl of Lucan 
(Sir George Bingham, K.P., J.P,) represents a family of purely 
Saxon origin, the forebears of which were foriiierly resident at Sutton 
Bingham, Somerset. Sir John de Bingham who held the property in 
the time of Henry I. was the direct ancestor of Sir Ralph de 
Bingham who was consecrated Bishop of Salisbury in 1229. He 
carried on the work of building the Cathedral, died in 1246, and was 
buried beneath the Nave. Sir Ralph's second son, Robert de Bingham, 
Mas an ancestor of Robert Bingham of Melcombe, whose brother, Sir 
Richard, was one of the most eminent soldiers of his time and who 
settled in Ireland. He was instrumental in reducing the insurrections 
in that kingdom in 1586, 1590 and 1593, and in recognition of his 
services was created Marshal of Ireland and a Baronet of Nova Scotia. 

His brother. Sir George, was military Governor of Sligo in 
1596. He and Sir Richard made a good road into County Roscommon, 
through the Curlew Mountains which had before been considered 
impassable. Even in these early days in the family history a connec- 
tion with Middlesex was established, for Sir George Bingham's 
grandson married the daughter of Sir Hugh Myddleton, of New River 
fame. 



Tlie 5th Baronet, Sir John Bingham, was Governor and 
Member of Parhament for County Mayo. He married Anne, 
daughter of Agmondesham Vesej', of Lucan, County Dubhn, by 
Charlotte, his wife, only daughter and heir of Patrick Sarsfield, Earl 
of Lucan, who fell at the Battle of Landen in Flanders. The 6th 
Baronet, Sir John Bingham, also represented Mayo in Parliament, and 
dying unmarried was succeeded by his brother. Sir Charles, who was 
created 1st Earl of Lucan. 

The present Earl's father, the 3rd Earl of Lucan, was a Field 
Marshal in the Arnw, Colonel of the 1st Life Guards, G.C.B., 
Commander of the Legion of Honour, Knight 1st Class Medjidieh, a 
Knight of St. Anne of Russia and Lieutenant of Mayo. 

The 4tli Eail of Lucan was born in 1830. Like his father, 
he followed a military career for some time, joining the Coldstream 
Guards, of which regiment he was Captain and Lieutenant-Colonel in 
1859, retiring in I860. In 1854 he served as A.D.C to his father in 
the Crimea. 

His Lordship married in 1859, the Lady Cecilia Catherine 
Gordon-Lennox, youngest daughter of the 5th Duke of Richmond, 
K.G., and has six sons and one daughter, his heir being Lord Bingham, 
who sat for some time as the Conservative member for the Chertsey 
Division of Surrey. 

From 18G5-74, the Earl of Lucan, like several of his ancestors, 
represented the County of Mayo in Parliament, sitting in the 
Conservative interest. Since 1901 he has been His Majesty's 
Lieutenant and Custos Rotulorum for that County. His Lordship, 
who is a Representative Peer foi- Ireland, has since 1889 been Vice- 
Admiral of Connaught, County Mayo, in which Province his Irish 
seat, Castlebar House, is situated. He is also a Knight of the Legion 
of Honour and the Order of the Medjidieh, 5th Class. He has been 
an Alderman of the Middlesex County Council since 1889. 

Lord Lucan's clubs arc tlie Carlton and the Turf. 




THE RIGHT HON. LOKD GEORGE HAMILTON, P.O., G.O.S.I 




P.O., ( 




LADY GEORGE HAMILTON. 




CDc RidDt 1)011. 
Cord George Francis Bamilton, PX., 6X.SJ. 

^-^ 

NAME which is respected throughout Middlesex is that 
of Lord George Haiiulton, who for many years represented 
the County in Parliament, and who holds high office as a 
Freemason Lord George may be said to have an inherited 
interest in the County as for some years Bentley Priory, Great 
Stanmore, was a favourite residence with his father, the Duke of 
Abercorn. The house derives its name from a priory of Austin 
Canons which existed there as early as 1243. Queen Adelaide leased 
the Priory in I 848 and died there in 1849, the apartment still known 
as ''the Queen's Room" having been her ftivourite chamber. In a 
summer house in the grounds Sir Walter Scott is said to have 
corrected the proof sheets of " Marvnion," and the poet Rogers 
traditionally wrote some part of his " Pleasures of Memory" in the 
beautiful gardens for which the Priory is famous. 

The third son of the 1st. Duke of Abercorn, Lord George 
Hamilton belongs to a family of statesmen. He was born in 1845, and 
was educated at Harrow. He married in 1871, Maud, youngest 
daughter of the 3rd Earl of Harewood. 

In 1868 his Lordship entered Parliament as the representative 
for the County of Middlesex. In that j^ear it was separated iato 
Divisions and from then until 1902 he went to St. Stephen's as the 
member for the Ealing Division, lu the House of Commons he 
continually showed that he could hold his own against anyone. 
Although to a certain extent always an independent politician with 
original and well-matured ideas of his own. Lord George Hamilton is a 
Conservative to the back bone in the best sense of the word, and a 



convinced believer in the fundamental principles of the party, the 
general policy of which he heartily adopts, but alvfays reserving to 
himself the right of jorivate judgment and of free comment and 
outspoken r;riticism. This notwithstanding, he has done not a little 
towards popularising Conservatism. He has worked hard for it, both in 
the House, where he has contributed ably to the debates, and outside, 
v.diere he is always sure of a welcome as a platform speaker who can 
ensure the attention and awaken the enthusiasm of his audience. His 
speeches are always interesting, being invariably fresh, vigorous and 
epigrammatic. His Lordship is never afraid to say what he thinks, 
and though he may not always please all by his manly frankness, he 
unquestionably enjoys the admiration of the majority. 

From 1874-78 Lord George Hamilton held the important post 
of Under-Secretary of State for India, wdiile from 1878-80 he was 
Vice-President of the Council, a position in which he added not a little 
to the good opinions already entertained of him. From 1885-92 he was 
First Lord of the Admiralty. Tn 1895 he returned to his first 
department, and became Secretary of State for India, a post which he 
lield until 1903. 

As a Member of the London School Board, Lord George 
Hamilton also did some extremely good work. As Chairman, which 
post he occupied from 1894-95 his well-balanced judgment proved 
exceptionally serviceable to him and throughout his period of office he 
showed himself a genuinely sympathetic public worker and one who 
was anxious that everything possible should be done to put the 
education of the young upon a rational basis so that the Nation might 
have the utmost advantage of the huge sums expended. 

His Lordship is a Justice of the Peace for Middlesex. 

As Captain of Deal Castle, which post he has occupied since 
1899, Lord George Hamilton enjoys a picturesque modern residence 
close by the old Castle which was built by Henry VIII. in 1539. 

Since 1892 Lord George Hamilton has bfeen Provincial Grand 
Master of Middlesex, a Province in which he is greatly revered by the 
members of the Craft on account of the keen interest he takes in all 
that appertains to the welfare of the Masonic Order. He is also a 
Governor of Harrow School, the foundation stone of the new Speech 
Room for which was laid by his father on July 2nd, 1874. 

Lord George Hamilton's town residence is 17, Montagu Street, 
Portman Square, W. His clubs are the Carlton and the Athemeum. 




Che RiflDt Ron. 
CDC Viscount enficld, Jl.m.I.C.e., 3.P. 



IS a County Alderman, both for Middlesex and Hertfordshire, 
Edmund Henry Byng, Viscount Enfield, is recognised in the 
County as a gentleman who constantly and strenuously works 
for the advancement of all that will tend to promote the 
public weal. Though he has never cared to exert himself to attain 
success as a public man. Viscount Enfield has become recognised as a 
valuable assistant in matters administrative on account of the quiet and 
sincere interest which he is always known to take in County aflfairs. 

A cause which has undoubtedly contributed much to increasing 
the value of Viscount Enfield's advice in public matters has been the 
fact that he is no mere theorist who has always enjoyed only the soft 
side of life, but he has himself taken a practical share in arduous work. 
Viscount Enfield for some years worked as a civil engineer, serving an 
apprenticeship with the late Mr. W. H. Barlow, Past President of the 
Institute of Civil Engineers and being employed on work on the 
Midland Railway and the new Tay bridge. He was subsequently 
appointed Resident Engineer for the new dock built at Methie, in Fife, 
from 1884-87. This has since become an important coal exporting 
centre for the east of Scotland, 



In later years his Lordship has turned his attention more to 
commercial affairs, having been a member of the Loudon Stock 
Exchange since 1888. Besides this, he has been extensively engaged 
in farming in Middlesex, where he is well known as the owner of 
pedigree herds of Jersey and Shorthorn cattle. This year (1906) his 
Lordship is President of the English Jersey Cattle Society, as well as 
of the Herts Agricultural Society, in addition to being a Member of 
the Council of the Bath and West of England Agricultural Society. 

Born on the 27th January, 1862, Viscount Enfield is the eldest 
son of the 5th Earl of Strafford, thus being directly descended in the 
female line from the famous Sir Thomas Wentworth, the ill-fated Eai'l 
of Strafford. The present Earl of Strafford, who prior to his succession 
to the title was a noted ecclesiastic and Hon. Cha]:)lain to Queen 
Victoria, was in 1889 Grand Chaplain of Freemasonry in England. 

Viscount Enfield married in 1894, ]\Iary Elizabeth, the youngest 
daughter of the late Sir Thomas Edward Colebrooke, by whom he has 
two daughters. He is a Justice of the Peace for both Middlesex and 
Hertfordshire. In Middlesex his Lordship has a residence at Dancer's 
Hill, Barnet, his town house being 5, St. James's Square, S.W. 





THE RIGHT HON. 
THE LORD SAVE AND SELE, D.L., J.P. 




Cl)c Right Ron. 
Cbe £ora Sapc ana Scle, DX., 3.P*, CX. 

^H 

BEW noblemen have done more useful ])ul)lic work for Middlesex 
than Lord Saye and Sele, who in his earlier daj^s worked 
most ardently in the County cause, sitting on so great a 
number of Committees that the then Lord Lieutenant the 
Earl of Straftbrd, twitted him with being " the greatest pluralist in the 
County." Amongst his colleagues in administrative matters his 
Lordship has always been exceedingly popular, for he is known to 
infuse considerable energy and earnestness into every subject he has 
taken up, and whenever he has identitied himself with a public move- 
ment or institution, he has taken good care that the same shall not 
sufter for want of any active efforts on his part. 

Whilst at the height of his public activity for the County, Lord 
Sayc and Sele did not confine himself within any narrow grooves of 
interests, for amongst the County Committees he has served on at one 
and the same period have been those for the Hanwell, Banstead, 
Colney Hatch, and Claybury Asjdums, as well as those of Pentonville 
and Coldbath Prisons. His Lordship was also at the same time a 
valued worker on the Councils of St. James's House, Fulhani, and 
Brompton Hospital, in addition to being Chairman ot the Middlesex 
Industrial School at Tottenham. 

Lord Save and Sele is a worthy uphohler of the best traditions 
of his family. H'j is liberal-minded, widely sympathetic, and generous 



hearted. Frank and genial, he is, in brief, a splendid specimen of that 
country gentleman we all admire. He is invariably pleased to be of 
service to those around him, and he bears a high reputation, not only 
on his own estates, but wherever he is known, for courtesy and a kindl}^ 
consideration towards others. 

John Fiennes Twisleton-Wykeham-Fiennes, 17th Baron Saye 
and Sele, was born in 1830, being the son of the 16th Lord, and his 
first wife, Emily, daughter of the 4th Viscount Powerscourt. He was 
educated at Harrow and Christchurch, Oxfoi-d. In his younger days 
Lord Saye and Sele served as a captain in the Oxfordshire Yeomanry 
Cavalry. He married in 1850, the Lady Augusta Sophia Hay, 
youngest daughter of Thomas Robert, 10th Earl of Kinnoull, by whom 
he has issue four sons and six daughters, his heir being the Hon. 
Colonel Gioffrey C. T. \V. Fiennes. His Lordship's golden wedding 
was kept in 190G with general rejoicings. 

As was the case with many of our noble houses, the family first 
came to England in the train of William the Conqueror, one of whose 
companions was William de Saye. This gallant fighter married Agnes, 
daughter of the famous Hugh de Grentesuiaisnill and grand-daughter 
maternally of Ivo, Count de Bellamonte. A grandson of this marriage 
was William de Saye, Baron Saye, whose grandson, Geoffrey de Saye 
was one of the Barons opposed to King John and one of the 
twenty-five Barons who were entrusted with the duty of enforcing the 
monarch's obligations under Magna Charter. 

This Baron's son, William de Saye, Lord of Birling, Sele, etc., 
Kent, was Governor of the Castle of Rochester in 1260 and was 
succeeded by his son, William de Saye, who was summoned to 
Parliament in 1294. Dying the following j-ear he was succeeded by 
his son Geoffrey de Saye who was summoned to Parliament, 1313-21. 
Sir Geoffrey de Sa3'e, who was Admiral of the Fleet and a Knight 
Banneret, married Maud, daughter of Guy de Beauchamp, Earl of 
Warwick. Their son, William de Saj'e was summoned to Parliament, 
but the male line ceasing with the death of his son John, the Barony 
of Saye devolved upon John's sister, Elizabeth de Saye, at whose 
decease in 1399 it fell into abeyance between the descendants of her 
Ladyship's aunt Joan, who married Sir William Fiennes, tenth in 
descent from John Fiennes, Baron of Fiennes, kinsman and companion 
of William L, and sixth hereditary constable of Dover Castle. They 
had issue Sir William de Fiennes wlio was Sheriff of Surrey and 
Sussex in 1297 and again in 1300 and Sir James Fiennes, 1st Lord 



^^^^^^^H^K^ 


^ 


■ 


^^p 


^ j^ 


^ 


^^^^R^^ .^H 


^^K^V J^^^^H 


^Iccl^ ' ^^^^B 


K^!B 


1^1 


^^^^^L ^^V^^^^^^S 


l^fl 


HH 




H 


c 


'■- 'Jl-' 



LADY SAY£ AND SELE. 



Saye and Selewho was summoned to Parliament in 1447 as Lord Saj'o 
and Sele and was created in the same Parliament, the Lords spiritual 
and temporal acquiescing, a Baron of the Realm by the same title. He 
had ])reviously obtained the grant of the offices of Constable of Dover 
and Wai'den of the Cinque Ports to himself and his heirs male for 
ever, and was constituted Lord Treasurer of England in 1449. But 
his good fortune "fell away like water from him." At the time of the 
insurrection raised by Jack Cade he was a prisoner in the Tower. 
When Cade's mob entered the City he was dragged to the Standard in 
Cheapside and there beheaded in 1451. 

His son the 2nd Baron obtained in 14G1 a grant of the office of 
Constable of Porchester Castle and of Pevensey Castle for life. He 
had the good fortune to be one of the Lords who attended the King 
in the north and was made Vice-Admiral to Richard Nevil, the great 
Earl of Warwick, then High Admiral of England. In the tenth year 
of Edward IV. he was one of the Ijords who fought with the King in 
Flanders, and upon his Majesty's return landed with him at Ravenspur 
in Holdernesse. He was slain at the Battle of Barnet in 1471. He 
married Margaret Wykeham, who was descended from William 
Champneiss who married Agnes, sister of William of Wykeham, Bishop 
of Winchester, and Founder of Winchester College and New Colleofe, 
Oxford. Through this marriage Lord Saye and Sele acquired the 
Lordship of Broughton in Oxfordshire. He had a son, Henry Fiennes, 
the 3rd Baron, who was never summined to Parliament. Owing to 
various family reasons the title was for some time allowed to remain in 
abeyance, but the 7th Baron obtained the recognition of his claim to 
the Barony by letters patent from James I., dated 1603, wherein the 
title was confirmed to himself and his heirs general. 

William, the 8th Baron and 1st Viscount, was one of the 
Commissioners for the public safety in the time of Charles I., and also 
for the provisions of the Treaty of Newport. By Clarendon this Lord 
is reproached for having been one of the worst of the Parliamentarians, 
but by Whitelock who wrote for the other side, he is spoken of as a 
statesman of great wisdom and integrity. His eldest son James, 
succeeded him, while his second son, Nathaniel, was a Colonel in the 
Parliamentary Army, a Privy Councillor, and Speaker of the Lords 
under Cromwell. His son, Lawrence, became the 5th Viscount. 
Upon his death the title devolved upon his cousin, Richard Fiennes, 
the 6th Viscount, with whom the Viscountcy expiretl. But the 
ancient Barony which had remained in abeyance since 1674, upon the 
death of the 6th Viscount was claimed in 1781 by Thomas Twisleton, 



as heir general of James, 9th Baron and 2nd Visccunt, which claim 
beins: allowed he was summoned to Parliament in 1781 as 13th Lord 
Saye and Sele. 

His son Gregory William, the 14th Baron, assumed by Royal 
Licence, February 26th, 1825, the surname of Fiennes after that of 
Twisleton. He died in 1845 and was succeeded by his only son 
William Thomas, on whose death in 1847, he was succeeded by his 
cousin, Frederick Benjamin, 16th Baron, who was Treasurer and 
Canon Residentiary of Hereford Cathedral and Archdeacon of 
Hereford and High Steward of Banbury. He was twentieth in 
descent from the Geoffrey Lord Saye who defied King John. He 
assumed the additional surnames of Wykeham-Fiennes in 1849. Upon 
his death in 1887 he was succeeded by his son, the j'l'esent and 16th 
Baron Saye and Sele. 

Broughton Castle, Banbury, is the country seat of Lord Saye 
and Sele. It is a magnificent and very picturesque castellated 
mansion, situated amidst woods and water and undulating grounds. 
It was here that the Lord Saye and Sele who was " the godfather" to 
the disappointed party in the time of Charles I., held most of his 
meetings, the rendezvous being a secret inner room where the agitators 
were safe from any kind of intrusion. But although his Lordship had 
so much to do with fomenting the trouble which resulted in the Civil 
War, he absolutely disapproved of the beheading of Charles I. After 
that event he refused to have anything to do with the Republic and 
retired to the Isle of Lundy. His former friends, being incensed at 
this behaviour, sacked Broughton Castle, a proceeding w hich, however, 
he was mao-nanimous enouoh to forgive them. He rose hioh in favour 
under Charles II., being made by him Lord Cliamberlain of the 
Household, Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire and Lord Privy Seal. 

Lord Sa^'e and Sele is a Deputy Lieutenant and Justice of the 
Peace, ana an Alderman for the County of Oxford. He is also a 
Justice of the Peace for Middlesex (to which Commission he was 
appointed by the 2nd Duke of Wellington), as well as for Warwick and 
Westminster. 




I'HE RIGHT HON. 
THE LORD ARUNDELL OF WARDOUR, D.L., J.P. 

[Since the test o£ this bouk weut to Press the deeply htmeuted 
death of the Lord Ar-undell of Wardoar has been amrounced.] 



Cl)c Rigbt Ron. 
Cl)c Cora flrundcll of Wardour, D.C, 3.p. 

fROMINENT in the bead roll of noted Endish Roman Catholic 
families is that of Arundell of Wardour, whose head, John 
Francis Arundell, 12th Baron Arundell of Wardour, is also 
a Count of the Koly Roman Empire, his title to the dignity 
being by patent dated 1595. It is the boast of the family that since 
mediaeval times its members have never ceased to uphold the Roman 
Catholic faith. 

Archives carefully stored in the muniment room at Wardour 
Castle, Wiltshire, show that the pedigree of the family can be traced 
back to Sir Ralph de Arundell who was Lord of Treloy and Sheriff of 
Cornwall in 1260. By a deed dated 1264 he was authorised by 
Thomas de Tracy to deliver the Castle of Restormel and the Barony 
of Cardigton into the hands of Simon de Montford, Earl of Leicester. 

Sir Ralph's son, Sir Renfred, presented to the rectory of St. 
Columb in 1260, and his grandson, Renfred, became, in right of his 
wife, Alice, daughter of John de Lanherne, Lord of Lanherne. The 
great grandson of this Lord, Sir John de Arundell, Knight, married 
the daughter and co-heiress of Sir Oliver Carminow, Chamberlain to 
Richai-d II. The grandson of this couple, Sir John Arundell of 
Lanherne, by an agreement made in 1418 with Thomas Beaufort, Duke 
of Exeter, took a force of 364 men at arms and 770 archers to France 
in 1418, as is shown by a deed written in Norman French and preserved 



in the Wardour muniment room. He died in 1435 and it is evident 
that his gallant spirit was inherited by his descendants, for his 
grandson was one of the commanders in France in the time of 
Henry VI. 

The famous Wiltshire seat of the family, the Castle of Wardour, 
was with the Manor of that name purchased from his cousin, Sir Fulke 
Greville in 1547 by Sir Thomas Arundell, Knight. This gentleman 
was created a K.B. at the Coronation of Anne Boleyn, but being 
convicted under Edward VI. of conspiring to murder John Dudley, 
Duke of Northumberland, he was beheaded in 1552. He married 
Margaret, daughter and co-heir of Lord Edmund Howai'd, third son 
of Thomas Duke of Norfolk, and sister to Catharine Howard, fifth 
wife of Henry VIII. 

It was Sir Thomas's grandson who first brought the title of 
Baron Arundell of Wardour into the family. This gentleman went in 
his youth to Germany. He served as a volunteer with the Imperial 
Army in Hungai'y and took with his own hand the Turkish standard 
durinq' an enofagfement at Gran. For this achievement he was created 
by Rudolph II., Emjaeror of Germany, a Count of the Holy Roman 
Empire, his patent of dignity being dated at Prague in 1595. Upon 
his return to England in 1605, he was elevated to the Peerage as 
Baron Arundell of Wardour. In the annals of his house he is known 
by his surname of " The Valiant." 

It was in the time of the 2nd Baron that evil befell the Castle 
of Wardour, which in those days was a building magnificent in its 
architecture and proportions. The Baron was a Royalist, and during 
his absence from home the Parliamentarians under Sir Edward 
Hungerford besieged the Castle. With a garrison of only twenty-five 
men, it was gallantly defended by the Baron's wife, who was a 
daughter of Edward Somerset, Earl of Worcester. At the close of 
the ninth day it was surrendered to the besiegers, upon honourable 
terms. But the conquerors failed to keep their part of the treaty. 
When the noble owner returned he was so incensed at what had 
occurred that he ordered a mine beneath the Castle to be sprung, 
thus utterly wrecking it and preventing the intruders from further 
gaining advantage from their broken covenant. 

The Baron died of wounds received in battle in 1643. He was 
succeeded by his son Henry, the 3rd Baron, who suffered five years' 
imjjrisonment in consequence of the information laid by the infamous 
Titus Gates. After his release, he regained Royal favour and was 



sworn a member of the Privy Council in 1685. He was constituted 
Lord Kee2:)er of the Privy Seal in the following year, when he was 
also honoured with the Order of the Bath. Upon the abdication of 
James II., he retired to Breamore in Wales. About the year 1690 
this Lord Arundell kept the celebrated pack of hounds which were 
subsequently sold to Hugo Meynell and became the progenitors of 
the Quorn hounds. 

The present and 12th Lord Arundell of Wardour, who is one 
of the Justices of the Peace for the County of Middlesex, was born 
December 28th, 1831. He was educated at Stonyhurst College and 
married in 1862, Anne Lucy, daughter of John Errington, Esq., of 
High Warden, Northumberland. His Lordship is both a Justice of 
the Peace and a Deputy Lieutenant for the County of Wiltshire. 

Though the old Castle of Wardour is now merely a picturesque 
pile of ruins covered with ivy, the new Castle, which was erected 
between 1776 and 1784, is a very fine building, and there Lord 
Arundell of Wardour spends much of his time. He is exceedingly 
fond of hunting and shooting and has also entered the ranks of the 
authors, having published in 1885 a work entitled "The Secret of 
Plato's Atlantis." 





Cfce Right Boik Cbe Cord Jitzharainge, 

h'^ 

INE of the most pleasant of the County Seats of Middlesex is 
Cranford House, the residence of Lord Fitzhardinge. The 
estate has been for some generations in the ])ossession of the 
Berkeley family, several of the members of which are buried 
within tlie Parish Church of Cranford. In this sacred building there 
is also a mural monument of marble and alabaster erected to the 
memory of the celebrated Thomas Fuller, D.D., who was Rector of 
Cranford in 1658, and who will be long remembered by his famous 
" Church History of Great Britain." Dr. Fuller's successor in the 
Rectory was Dr. John Wilkins, Bishop of Chester, 16G8-72, who was 
the Founder of the Scientific Society which at the Restoration became 
the Royal Society. ' 

Charles Paget Fitzhardinge Berkeley, of the City and County 
of Bristol, was born in 1830, and succeeded his brother as the 3rd 
Baron Fitzhardinge in 189G. He married in 185G Louisa Elizabeth, 
only daughter of Henry Lindow-Lindow, Esq., who died in 1902. Lord 
Fitzhardinge is a Justice of the Peace and a De})uty Lieutenant for 
the County of Sussex, also filling the latter position for the County of 
Gloucester. From 18G2-65 he sat in the House of Commons as the 
Member for Gloucester. 



The 1st Baron Fitzhardinge was the Right Hon. Sir Maurice 
Frederick Fitzhardinge Berkeley, G.C.B., who was an Admiral in the 
Royal Navy, and was raised to the Peerage in 1861. He, too, for 
some years was the Member of Gloucester. The 2nd Baron, 
who was Lieut. -Colonel in the Royal Horseguards, was the Member 
for Cheltenham from 185G-G5. 

The family of Fitzhardinge traces its descent from the Kings of 
Denmark. The first member to come to England was Harding who 
accompanied William the Conqueror and fought at the battle of 
Hastings. Of him an old writer says — " But all I have seen of him is 
that after the Conquest he held Whitenhort (now called Whetenhur.st) 
in Com' Glouc. of Earl Brictrick in mortgage and that he died on 
November 6th, 111 5." His son, who was called Robert Fitzharding, was 
an adherent of the Empress Maud and her son Henry, who afterwards 
came to the English throne. By this King, Robert was rewarded with 
the Manor of Berthone in Gloucestershire, as well as lands in Berkeley, 
being subsequently given the whole Lordship of Berkeley and Berkeley 
Hernesse when their former owner, Roger de Berkeley, was divested 
of his possessions as a punishment for advocating the cause of King 
Stephen. 

Berkeley Castle, which is a favourite residence with Lord 
Fitzhardinge, was built by the above mentioned Robert in 1168. 
Within its walls he entertained Dermot McMourrough, King of 
Leinster. Twice was the Castle, with the lands appertaining to it, 
seized by the Crown in consequence of its owner having incurred the 
Royal displeasure. Here was enacted the murder of Edward II. which 
Grey's " Bard " foretold. 

" Mark the year and mark the night 
When Severn shall re-echo with affright 
The shrieks of death through Berkeley's roofs that ring ; 
Shrieks of an agonising King." 

During the Great Rebellion, Berkeley Castle sustained a siege 
for some time, but its custodians were at length compelled to yield on 
honourable terms to the Parliamentarians. 

The chief landowner at Cranford, Lord Fitzhardinge, is Lord of 
the Manor of Cranford St. John, which, in their palmy days, was owned 
by the Knights Hospitallers, and also of Cranford le Mote, the ancient 
Manor House belonging to which was pulled down in the latter part of 
the 18th century. 

Lord Fitzhardinge's clubs are the Wellington and Travellers'. 




THE EIGHT HON. THE LORD SANDHUKST, G.C.I.E.. G.C.S.L, J.P. 



CI)C RifiDt Bon, 
CDe £ora Sanafturst, 6XJ,€,, 6X,$J., 3,p. 




pSSESSED of a distiuo-uished ancestry, Sir William 
jNlaiistield, the second Baron Sandhurst, who is one of the 
Justices of tlie Peace for the County of Middlesex, has had 
his own share in adding to the honours alreadj^ belongin"' 
to his family. Born 21st August, 1855, at Bruii, in Norfolk, he is the 
son of the 1st Baron Sandhurst and Margaret, daughter of Robert 
Fellowes, Esq., of Shoteshani Park, Norfolk. He was educated at 
Rugby School. Joining the Army, he became a Lieutenant in the 
Coldstream Guards, from which regiment he retired in 1879. From 
1880-85 he was a Lord in Waiting to the late Queen Victoria. His 
Lordship held the post of Under Secretary of War in 1886 and again 
from 1893-94. From 1895-1900 he was Governor of Bombay, a 
reminder of which period in his career remains in his Hon. Colonelcy 
of the Bombay RiHes. 

In adopting a military career. Lord Sandhurst was following 
the example of his lather, Sir William Rose Mansfield, the first Lord 
Sandhurst, who was a soldier of eminence. He was the fifth .son of 
John Mansfield of Diggeswell House, Herts, by Mary Buchanan his 
wife, daughter of General Smith, of the United States and 
grandson of Sir James Mansfield, Lord Chief Justice of the Common 
Pleas, and a former Member of Parliament for Cambridge University. 



Sir William Mansfield was one of the gallant soldiers to whose 
strenuous deterniinatioii in the middle of the nineteenth century 
England owes her Indian Empire. He went through the Sutlej 
Campaign of 1845-46, was A.D.C. to Viscount. Gough at Sobraon and 
commanded the 53rd Regiment in the Punjaub Campaign of 1848-49. 
He was present at Goojerat. During the operations of 1851-52 he 
was employed on the Peshawur Frontier. In 1855 he was appointed 
responsible military adviser to the English Embassy at Ccnstantinople, 
and accompanied Lord Stratford de liedcliffe to the Crimea. 

When the Mutiny broke out in India in 1857, General Mansfield 
was made Chief of Statf with the local rank of Major-General, and 
served through the whole of the war — 1857-59. He was present both 
at Lucknow and Cawnpore, also taking part in the operations in the 
Dooab and the various actions in the campaign of Rohilkund and Oude. 
So distinoruished was his assistance through the whole of this troublous 
time that at its close Lord Clvde, the General Commander in Chief, in 
his Oude Dispatch of Januar}' 7th, 1859, to Viscount Canning, the 
Governor General of India, wrote — " I cannot conclude this dispatch 
without referring to the very great and cordial assistance which I have 
constantly received from Major-General Sir W. Mansfield, K.C.B., the 
chief of staft". As it seems probable that a(itive operations will now 
cease, I have the greatest pleasure in seizing the opportunity 
of recording my grateful sense of what I owe to this officer, and of 
recommending him in the strongest possible manner for the favourable 
consideration of your Excellency. Sir W. Mansfield executed all the 
details of the various operations which I had thought it advisable to 
order, with the greatest ability, and showed the most unwearied 
diligence in directing, as was necessary, the simultaneous movements of 
so many bodies of troops scattered often in small detachments over a 
very great extent of country, and his care and attention have in a great 
measure tended to bring about the very rapid and favourable results 
which have been obtained." 

For his services Sir William Mansfield received the thanks of 
Parliament April 14th, 1859. In 1860 he was made Commander-in- 
Chief of the Bombay Army, being in 1865 appointed Commander- 
in-Chief for India. Five years later he was appointed Commander-in- 
Chief of the Forces in Ireland, and was raised to the Peerage with 
the title of Baron Sandhurst of Sandhurst, Berks, in 1871. 

In addition to his military and political services, Lord Sandhurst 
has also been active in matters of local administration. In addition to 



being a Justice of the Peace for Middlesex, his Lordshi]) is also ;ui 
Alderman of the London County Council, where he is much valued as 
a member of the Finance aud Improvement Committees. A Liberal in 
l)olitics, he belongs to the Progressive Party, by whom hi^ knowledge 
and experience are recognised and fully appreciated. 

Exceedingly charitable aud philanthropic, Lord Sandhurst is 
always ready to do what he cau for the poor and sutfering. He 
pai'ticularly intei'ests himself in the work of the London Hospitals and 
for several years was the able Chairman of the Board for the Middlesex 
Hospital. 

In 1881 Lord Sandhurstmarried the Ijady Victorix Alexandrina 
Spencer, (J.I., daughter of tho 4th Earl Spencer, K.G., who died 
March 13th, I'JOG. The two childreu of the marriage died in infancy. 

In 1898, His Lordship was made a Knight of Grace of the Order 
of St. John of Jerusalem and G.C.S.L on returning from the 
Governorship of Bombay. 

Lord Sandhurst iu I'JOGwas nominated by H.M.S. Government 
a member ol the Committee which was sent to South Africa to enquire 
into and report as to the new Coustitutioti to be granted to the 
Transvaal Colony, and on this Report the Constitution was mainly 
founded. 

Lord Sandhurst's town residence is (30, Eaton Square, his clubs 
Brooks's, Garrick, Turf, and National Liberal. 




CDe Baroness BuraettCoutts ana 
IKr. W. £♦ i\. BartkttBuraettCoutts, \XtV* 

h'-i 

lEXT to Qaeeu Victoria, the first lady in England," so said 
King Edward VII.— when Prince of Wales— alluding to 
the "^ Baroness Angela Georgina Burdett-Coutts. Her 

■ Ladyship was born on the 21st April, 1814, and was the 

fifth and youno-est daughter of the late Sir Francis Burdett, Bart., M.P., 
and Sophia, daughter of tlie late Thomas Coutts, Esq., the well-known 
Banker of the Strand. It was in the year 1837 that she a.ssumed the 
additional name of " Coutts." 

As another modern historian has jnit it, London's gracious 
benefactress, the Baroness Burdett-Coutts, was an important figure ni 
the marvellous Reform demonstration of December, 18GG. The events 
of December 3rd may be regarded without exaggeration as the 
culminating triumph of an illustrious career. 




Miss Coutts and a small party of her iutiiuate friends watched 
at the bay-window of the drawing-room in Stratton Street for the first 
approach of the monster gathering. It had been given out by the 
leaders of the Reform Movement that there would not be fewer than 
one hundred thousand men, who would march to Lord Ranelagh's. 
They walked with arms linked togeither, six or eight abreast, and in 
columns. 

" As they came opposite Stratton Street, though Miss Coutts 
stood more out of sight than any of us, they caught a glimpse of her 
well-known face ; and in one instant a shout was raised, not only by 
the members of the procession, but by all the bystanders, ' Three 
cheers for Miss Coutts !' which was taken up again and again, as each 
rank filed by, and never intermitted till all the crowds had dispersed. 
Every hat was raised, every arm was unlinked, every eye was directed 
to her, every face gleamed and glistened with pleasure, as with 
unaffected simplicity, and with a gentle movement of her head, she 
returned the universal greetings. For upwards of two hours the air 
rang with reiterated huzzahs— huzzahs unanimous and heartfelt, and 
as if representing a national sentiment." 

The Baroness Burdett-Coutts has been loved for what she is, 
not for what she has. " What is the use of my means," she wrote to 
Dickens, " but to try and do some good with them ? " 

The Baroness inherits many of her most brilliant qualities of 
mind and character from her father, Sir Francis Burdett, 5th baronet 
of his line. The Burdetts came over to England with the Conqueror 
and, obtaining the manor of Louseby in Lincolnshire, they were for 
several centuries settled in that count}'. Sir Nicholas Burdett, Grand 
Butler of Normandy and Prefect of Evreux, fell in the battle of 
Pontoise in 1440. His son Thomas was beheaded in 1477, under 
Edward IV. 

The Burdett baronetcy was created in 1619, and its first holder 
acquired by marriage the estate of Foremark in Derbyshire. Francis 
Burdett, father of the Bai'oness, was born in 1770, and was educated 
at Westminster and Oxford. He was in Paris during the Revolution, 
and attended debates in the National Assembly and the meetings of 
tlie political clubs. Like Wordsworth, he was early inspired with the 
passion for freedom, and in Parliament upheld in many a fierce 
conflict the right of liberty of speech. His energy, his fervour, his 
noble presence fascinated the House. Sir Francis was member for 



Westminster during thirty eventful j^ears ; Mr. Burdett-Coutts has 
held the seat Avithout interruption since 1885. To understand the 
real position which Sir Francis occupied in our public Hfe at the 
beoiiming of the last century, we must study the political pamphlets 
of the time. One writer remarks — " Since the dehnt of Mr. Fox on 
the political theatre of England, no individual has attracted half so 
much notice as Sir Franc's Burdett." 

His root-principle, like that of Ebenezer Elliott, was " The 
people. Lord, the people, not crowns and thrones, but men." 

He Avas imprisoned in the Tower by order of the Speaker for 
daring to protest against the arrest of John Gates Jones, who had 
criticised the exclusion of strangers from the House during the debates 
on the Walcheren Expedition" His house. No. 80, Piccadilly, was 
strongly barricaded, and for four days the emissaries of the Government 
vainly attempted to break through the immense nuib of his sujiporters 
who surrounded the house. The Lifeguards had at length to be called 
in to remove him to the Tower. In the Paris papers these exciting 
scenes were described as " A Revolution in London." After a three- 
weeks' imprisonment, " Old Glory," as Sir Francis was proudly called 
by his constituents, was allowed to return to his home. In 1819 ho 
was again in trouble with the Government, was tried at the Leicester 
Assize.Sj and fined £2,000. 

Stormy as was the public career of Sir Francis Burdett, his 
private life was singularly fortunate and serene. Soon after his 
return from Fi-ance he became a visitor at the house of the wealthy 
banker, Thomas Coutts, and met his " three braw dauchters " — Susan 
(afterwards Countess of Guildford), Frances (afterwards Marchioness 
of Bute), and Sophia. Like Lord Advocate Prestongrange in 
Catriona, Mr. Coutts might have said of his three girls, " I think they 
are more famous than papa." Francis Burdett won the heart of 
the beautiful Sophia Coutts, and they were married on August 5, 
1793. By this union Sir Francis had one son and five daughters. 
The youngest daughter, Angela Georgina, born on April 21, 1814, is 
now the Baroness Burdett-Coutts. 

The history of the late Thomas Coutts — his Scottish ancestr}', 
his great financial genius tlie ceaseless toil by which he amassed his 
vast wealth, his infiuence with statesmen and princes, his love of 
literature and the ch-ama, and his two romantic marriages — may be 
studied most conveniently in the excellent work of Mr. Ralph 
Jlichardson, Coutts cO Co. (Elliott Stock). Thomas Coutts was the 



fourth son of John Coutts, Lord Provost of Edinburgh, and was born 
in a house in the President's Stairs, Parhament Close, Edinburgh. 
His mother was a daughter of Sir John Stewart, Bart., of Allanbank, 
Berwickshire. He received his early education at the High School, 
Edinburgh, and, with his three brothers, was placed in his father's 
bank in Edinburgh to receive a thorough grounding in business. At 
their father's death the four brothers decided to open a bank in 
London. The London branch was first established by Patrick and 
Thomas Coutts in Jeftrey's Square, St. Mary Axe. The present 
banking house of Coutts & Co., in the Strand, was originally known 
as Campbell & Coutts, James Coutts having left the Edinburgh bank 
and joined Mr. George Campbell, one of the chief London bankers of 
the eighteenth century. About 17 tO Mr. Campbell died, and_ from 
that time onwards James and Thomas Coutts were sole partners in the 
bank. Death early removed the other two sons of the Lord Provost. 
James Coutts became Member of Parliament for Edinburgh, but 
Thomas never took any personal part in politics. He does not seem 
to have interfered with the political activities of his son-in-law, Sir 
Francis Burdett. At the time when Sir Francis was sent to the 
Tower, Queen Charlotte, who had a small sum in Coutt's bank, sent 
to give notice that she would withdraw it in three days. He at once 
rephed, presenting his humble duty and assuring Her Majesty that in 
order to withdraw half a million of money from the bank of Coutts 
& Co., only three hours' notice was required. The Queen, it is said, 
did not close her account after all. 

In the County of Wiltshire, five miles from Hungerford, lies 
Ramsbury Manor, the favourite home of the Burdetts. Here the 
Baroness spent much of her childhood, and there are still old residents 
in the village who remember seeing her riding her ))ony on the 
Marlborough Road. 

The village was once a seat of the Bishops of Wiltshire, and 
the stately church stands on the site of a much more ancient building. 
In 1890, under the impulse of the Baroness, the church was restored 
at a cost of £6,000. 

The 7th baronet died in 1892, and the window over the 
altar in Ramsbury Church was erected in his honour by his widow and 
children. His successor. Sir Francis Burdett, the 8th baronet, was 
born in 1869 and is unmarried. He served in the South African War, 
and has recently acted as aide-de-camp to Sir J. West-Eidgeway in 
Ceylon. 



Ill the newer pait of the churchyard is a tombstone of grey 
granite, raised by the Baroness Burdett-Coutts to the memory of a 
dearly loved sister. The following words are engraved on it ; 

Susannah Trevanion, . 

Widow of J. J. B. Trevanion, of Caerhayes 

Castle, Cornwall, 

second daughter of 

Sir Francis Burdett, Bart, M.P , 

and Sophia Coutts, bis wife. 

Born November 29, 1800, 

died May 17, 188G. 

This stone, recording the affection felt for the 
loving sister and affectionate step-grandmother, 
is placed in this churchyard of Ramsbury 
(her early home) by Angela, Baroness Burdett- 
Coutts, wife of W. A. Bartlett Burdett-Coutts, 
M.P., and by Hugh Charles Trevanion. 

At the foot of the stone is this verse from a well-known hymn : 

When the day of toil is done 
When the race of life is run, 
Father, grant Thy wearied one 
Rest for evermore. 

In the year 1881 the Baroness married Mr. William Lehman 
Ashmead Bartlett, and shortl}' afterwards he assumed the name of the 
Baroness — " Burdett-Coutts." He was born in the United States in 
the }-ear 1851, and was the second son of the late Ellis Bartlett, 
of Plymouth, New England, and Sophia, daughter of John King 
Ashmead, of Philadelphia, the grandparents on both sides being 
British subjects. He was educated at Keble College, Oxford (Scholar 
M.A., 1876). For many years prior to his marriage, he was associated 
in various benificent undertakings with the Lady who was eventually 
to become his bride. 

The Baroness having originated the Turkish Compassionate 
Fund, Mr. Bartlett volunteered to proceed to the seat of the Russo- 
Turkish War as a Special Commissioner. In 1877 he was awarded 
the Star, and second class of the Medjedie. He was one of the 
principal originators of the Fisheries Exhibition, and has interested 
himself considerably in the question of the food supply of the poor of 
London. 



In the year 1899-1900, he visited Ireland to assist in organising 
relief in the distressed districts. Subsequentlj^ he largely developed 
the Baroness' scheme for benefiting Irish fishermen. He was the 
founder of the Brookfield Stud. 

Besides being a Trustee of the Baltimore Fishery School, Mr. 
Burdett-Coutts is also a Governor of Christ's Hospital. In 1888 and 
1889 he was Master of the Turners' Company, and was one of the 
Founders of the British East African Possessions. His greatest 
political achievements have been the passing of the " Hampstead 
Heath Act, 1885," by which Parliament Hill and three hundred acres 
were made public recreation grounds, the " Police Enfranchisement and 
Metropolitan Amendment Act, 1887," and the " Advertisement Eating 
Act, 1889." In 1900 he went out to South Africa as The Times 
correspondent with regard to the sick and wounded, and his reports led 
to the appointment of a Royal Commission of Enquiry. After the 
publication of the Commission's report, the Government promised a 
" drastic reform " of the Army Medical service, and an elaborate 
scheme of improvement has since been passed. 

At the General Election of 1900, Mr. Burdett-Coutts was 
opposed by an independent Conservative on the Hospital question, 
with the result that he was elected by 2,715 to 439 votes. At the 
last General Election he was returned as the Member for Westminster. 
In addition to his Parliamentary and other duties, Mr. Burdett-Coutts 
finds time to conti'ibute to the literature of the day. 

The Baroness Burdett-Coutts, in addition to beinof co-heir to 
Thomas Coutts (the Banker), was also heiress to the Duchess of St. 
Albans. 

Her Ladyship is possessed of three residences — No. 1, Stratton 
Street, Piccadilly, W. ; Heydon Hall, Reepham, Norfolk ; and Holly 
Lodge, West Hill, Highgate. 

The last named residence, with the grounds, was formerly the 
property of the late Duchess of St. Albans, and passed to the Baroness 
at her death. In the days when the Duchess lived there, Holl}' Lodge 
was famous for its fetes and garden parties, and those given b}' the 
Baroness have been at least equally celebrated. One of the most 
memorable was that which took place on the 19th July, 1870, in 
honour of the Belgian Volunteers, when the party especially invited to 
meet them included King Edward (then Prince of Wales). The house 
has little architectural character externally, having become what it is 



by frequent additions ; hut the interior is handsome and commodious, 
and contains many good pictures and objects of art. The Conservatory, 
in addition to a rich store of exotics, contains a fine collection of 
minerals, admirably classified by Professor Tennant. The gardens are 
kept in the finest condition, and the grounds are varied, well wooded, 
and in parts from the fir hill afford good vievvs. 

In Swain's Lane, a short distance from Holly Lodge, is Holly 
Village, a group of detached model cottages built by Miss (now the 
Baroness) JBurdett-Coutts in 1865-6 from the designs of Mr. 
Darbyshire. 

Her Ladyshi]) is Baroness in her own right, the creation dating 
from 1871 (United Kingdom). She is also a Lady of Grace of the 
Order of St. Jolin of Jerusalem, as well as possessing the Turkish 
Orders of " Chafokat " and the Medjedie (1st Class). The Freedoms 
of the Cities of London and Edinburgh have also been conferred upon 
her. 

The Baroness is patron of three livings — St. Stephen's, 
Westminster ; Ramsbury and Baydon, Wiltshire. 

Not only is the Baroness Burdett-Coutts famous for her wealth, 
but also for her extensive benevolence, and Queen Victoria acknov/- 
ledged her many acts of charity by raising her to the peerage. At the 
time of the publication of Sir Walter Besant's famous novel. All Sorts 
and Conditions of Men, it was an open secret that he had modelled 
his heroine upon the Baroness. She is a staunch supporter of the 
Established Church, and has founded Bishoprics for Adelaide, Natal, 
and Columbia, in the North West of America ; and has also erected 
Churches in Westminster and Carlisle. The Columbia ]\Iarket and the 
Highgate model lodging houses testify to her love for the poor, while 
all her life has been spent in fostering and aiding every work in any 
way calculated to promote the welfare of her countrymen, or alleviate 
the sutl^erings of the poor and afflicted. Amongst Englishwomen of 
every class she will always be remembered with feelings of love and 
respect. 




i 




1 



CDe RidM l>on. 
CH Cord l)illin9aon, DX.. J.p. 

HE senior partner in the firm of Glyn, Mills, Currie and Co., 
Lord Hillingdon ranks high in the financial world, being 
one of the select circle in whose hands lie much of the 
stability of international commerce. The question. " What 
is a pound ? " was once put in an interesting debate in the House of 
Commons, and was more easily asked than readily answered. Monetary 
questions are necessaril}'' abstruse, and even confusing to the lay mind. 
We are not all financiers and bankers. Like the poet, perhaps, it may 
with considerable truth be said that the capable banker is born, not 
made. A good banker must be endowed with certain natural gifts, 
although, of course, acquired qualities are not to be despised. Financial 
acumen, commercial prescience, quick calculation, shrewd wit, and ready 
resource are only a part of his professional equipment. 

Lord Hillingdon is the eldest son of the 1st Lord Hillingdon, 
by Lady Louisa Lascelles, eldest daughter of Henry, 3rd Earl of 
Harewood. He was born in 1855, and was educated at Eton. He 
married in 1886 the Hon. Alice Harbord, .second daughter of the 5th 
Baron Suflfield. 

In Kent, where he has a residence. The Wilderness, Sevenoaks, 
Lord Hillingdon has always taken a great interest. Formerly he was 
a Lieutenant in the West Kent Yeomanry Cavalry, and from 1885-92 
sat as the Conservative member for Sevenoaks. He is a Justice of the 



Peace and a Deputy Lieutenant for the County, and also Lieutenant 
for the City of London. 

As head of the Mills family, Lord Hillingdon traces his descent 
from the Rev. John Mills, M. A., rector of Barford and Oxhill, co. 
Warwick, the eldest son of John Mills, one of the clerks in the Court 
of Chancery. He was born in 1712 and married in 1749, Sarah, 
daughter of the Rev. William Wheler, banker, of Leamington 
Hastings, co. Warwick, and grand-daughter of Admiral Sir Francis 
Wheler, Kt., younger son of Sir Charles Wheler. 

The eldest son of this marriage, William Mills, of Bisterne, 
Southampton, was the Member of Parliament for Coventry, and his 
third son, Charles, was created a Baronet. He was a Justice of the 
Peace and a Deputy Lieutenant for Middlesex and at one time was a 
member of the Council of Lidia. He married in 1825, Emily, daughter 
of Richard Henry Cox, of Hillingdon. Their eldest son, who was 
created the first Baron Hillingdon in 1886, was the Member for West 
Kent from 1868-85. 

As the owner of Hillingdon Court, Uxbridge, and one of the 
principal landowners in the surrounding district. Lord Hillingdon is 
well known and widely respected in Middlesex. As a landlord he 
bears a high reputation. He is diligent in the discharge of the 
duties of his position and is symjiathetic and liberal. He recognises 
that property has not only its dues, hut its duties. He is animated by 
the true spirit of benevolence which seeks opportunities for doing good, 
instead of waiting for the occasion to be pointed out and the means 
solicited. For instance, when he sought to perpetuate the memory of 
his father, he built at Hillingdon Heath, in 1899, a men's club and 
institute which has proved a valuable addition to the social amenities 
of the district available for the workinof classes 



o 



True to the traditions of his family. Lord Hillingdon has always 
regarded Conservatism as the champion of the best and truest interests 
of the people of this country. Being satisfied that the principles of the 
Party are sound, he has never hesitated to accord it his very warmest 
support, both in Parliament and out, firmly believing that for 
Conservatism to remain popular, its sympathies must be catholic, 
its principles progressive and its work comprehensive. 




Cfte RisM Bon^ 
Che Cora JlmDerst of Backncp, DX., 3.P- 

jS a Justice of the Peace and a Deputy Lieutenant for the 
County, Lord Amherst of Hackney maintains an active 
interest with Middlesex, although his ftimily hails from 
Kent, and he himself has devoted a great number of years 
to the Parliamentary service of Norfolk. 

The name of Amherst (or, as it is found in old documents, 
Hamherst, Hemeherst, or Emherst) is taken from a placo called 
Amherst or Hamherst in Pembury parish, near Tunbridge, co. Kent. 
The name of a member of the family appears in Pipe Roll of the 1 5th 
Henry III. A.D. 1230. A Roger de Hemeherst is mentioned in a 
deed, of which a copy is preserved in the College of Arms and his 
name has a place upon a pedigree of the family which was attested by 
Camden. His descendant Walter, who is mentioned in the above deed, 
appears upon a subsidy Roll of Pembury Parish in the first year of 
Edward IH's reign, being spoken of as Walterus de Emherst. His 
name occurs more than once in this connection. 

The pedigree referred to above as being attested by Camden, 
begins with John Andierst of Amherst in the village of Pembury, who 
was living in the reign of Richard II. and left a son and heir, Thomas, 
whose son and heir, also Thomas, is named in a record, dated 1433, as 
one of the chief persons in the district. He died in 1460, possessed of 
much land in Pembury, Capel, and Hadlow, 



His son, Thomas, was the fether of four sons of whom John, the 
third, who died in 1578, was the ancestor of the Earls Amherst. 

Thomas Amherst's great-great-great-grandson was John 
Amherst who was High Sheriff of Kent in 1698. His brother Nicholas 
was a Captain in the Army, and by his second marriage with the only 
daughter and heir of Robert Evering, junior, of Evering, Kent (the last 
of the male line of the family of Evering or Averenches, the 
younger branch of the family of Averenches, Lords of Folkestone 
and Vicomtes of Averenches in ^Js^ormandy), became Lord of the 
Manor of Evering, which had descended lineally since its creation by 
William the Conqueror as a knight's fee held of the Barony of Folke- 
stone and by castle guard service of Dover Castle. 

John Amherst, grandson of Nicholas Amherst, was a Captain in 
the Royal Navy, and by his marriage with his second wife, Mary Tyssen, 
their daughter became eventually possessed of the Manors of Hacknej^ 
Middlesex, and Foulden, Norfolk. His said only surviving daughter 
and sole heiress, Amelia Amherst, married William George Daniel, of 
Folev House, Kent, who in rioht of his wife became Lord of the Manor 
of Hackney and by Royal license in 1814 assumed the surname and 
arms of Tyssen in addition to Daniel. The eldest son of this marriage, 
William G, Tyssen Daniel Tyssen (afterwards Tyssen-Ainhurst) was 
High Sheriff of Norfolk in 1843. By Royal sign manual he in 1852 
assumed the name of Tyssen-Amhurst, discontinuing that of Daniel. 

It is his eldest son who is the present and first Baron Amherst 
of Hackney, a dignity to which he was raised in 1892. Lord Amherst 
(William Amhurst Tyssen-Amherst) has resumed by Royal License 
(1877) the more ancient and correct spelling of his surname — Andierst. 

A great deal of his time Lord Amherst spends at his Norfolk 
seat, Didlington Hall, Brandon, Norfolk, for the Western Division of 
which County he sat as Member of Parliament from 1880 — 85, rej^re- 
senting the South Western Division from 1885 — 92. He is a Justice 
of the Peace for the County and in 1866 served as its High Sheriff. 
He is also a Justice of ths Peace for Westminster. 

Lord Amherst, who was born in 1835, married in 1856 Margaret 
Susan, the only child of Admiral Eobert jMitford, of Humanly Hall, 
CO. York, and of Mitford Castle, Northumberland. Lady Amherst, 
who is the authoress of a sketch of Egyptian History (1904), is a Lady 
of Grace of the Order of St. John, of Jerusalem, of which Order Lord 
Amherst is a Knight of Justice. Lord Amherst has six daughters 



living-, the uklcst of whom, and his heir under special remainder, is 
Mary Rothes Margaret, Lady of Justice of St. John of Jerusalem, who 
manicd in 1885 Lord William Cecil, M V.O., third son of the Marquess 
of Exeter, and who has four sons. 

Lord Amherst's town house is 8, Grosvenor Square, W., and 
his clubs the Marlborough, Athenaeum, Carlton, Travellers' and Royal 
Yacht Squadron. 




♦t 




Capt. Sir Cbarks 6ibtons, Bart 
R.n., DX., 3.p. 

ITANWELL Place, Staines, the family residence of Capt. Sir 

' Charles Gibbons, is situated in a picturesque part of the 
County, and in a district, moreover, which is inseparably 
bound up with the Nation's most treasured liberties, for it 
was within a mile of Staines that King John signed Magna Charta, and 
it is stated, though probably without foundation, that after affixing his 
signature King John repaired to Staines and there lay for a night at a 
house near the church, upon the site of which Duncroft House, a 
picturesque Jacobean dwelling, once the residence of Lord Cranstoun, 
now stands. 

In 1603 Sir Walter Ealeigh was summoned to Staines from 
London, where the Plague was then raging, and was tried and 
condemned for high treason by the Royal Commissioners sitting in the 
Old Market House. 

The Protector Cromwell was a frequent visitor in Staines, and 
Cromwell House, situated in the High Street, is pointed out as a place 
where he broke his journeys to Windsor. 

Another notable landmark in Staines is the London Stone on 
the bank of the river. This denoted the limit of the authority of the 
City of London over the upper reaches of the Thames. The stone 
bears the date 1280 and the inscription, " God preserve the City of 
London," together with the names of several Lord Mayors who 
visited it in their official capacity. Staines Bridge is the connecting 



link between Middlesex and Surrey. It was first officially erected in 
1262, when three oaks were granted from Windsor Forest for its repair, 
which was undertaken by Thomas de Oxenforde, a merchant who greatly 
used the bridge and adjacent roads in conducting his trade with Ijondon. 
The present bridge, a handsome stone structure of three arches, 
erected at a cost of ^41,000 was opened by William IV. in 1832. 

Two miles to the north-east of Staines is the village of Stanwell, 
the Manor of which for many centuries belonged to the Windsor family. 
But Henry VII. compelled the then Lord to surrender the property 
and he himself used the house for many years as a hunting seat. The 
Manor remained in Roj'al hands until the time of James I. who 
bestowed it upon the Lord Knyvett. He there had charge of the 
King's daughter. Princess Mary, who died there. 

At the time of the Civil War, Dr. Bruno Ryves, the militant 
Royalist and author of " Mercurius Rusticus," was Rector of Stanwell. 
He was ejected from the living by Cromwell, but was replaced at the 
Restoration and died 13th July, 1677. 

It was on the site of the old Manor House that Stanwell Place, 
which has now for many decades been the residence of the Gibbons 
family, was built. It is very prettily placed, being surrounded by a 
beautifullj^ wooded ])ark through which a tributary of the river Colne 
meanders with surprisingly beautiful results. 

Since the death of Sir John Gibbons, his father, Sir Charles 
Gibbons has resided at Stanwell Place and quietly and unostentatiously 
performed tho duties of a County gentleman. Born in 1 828, Sir Charles 
early displayed a liking for the sea and in due course joined the Royal 
Navy, from which he retired in 1877 with the rank of Captain. 

In his early naval days Sir Charles saw active service in many 
parts of the world. He was in the Black Sea during the Crimean War 
and for his services in connection with the campaign was decorated 
with the Crimean medal and clasp. 

In 1864 Sir Charles married Lydia Martha, the fourth daughter 
of Major John Doran (of the 18th Regiment) of Ely House, co. 
Wexfoi'd, and sister of General Sir John Doran, K.C.B. By this 
marriage he has had three sons and two daughters. 

From 1868-79 Sir Charles Gibbons held an important post in 
the Government Emigration Office, but he finally retired from official 
service in the last mentioned year. 



As a landed proprietor, Sir Charles knows something of the 
present agricultural distress, having been obliged to let his farms at 
considerably reduced rents. His duties connected with his estate, added 
to those devolving upon him as a Justice of the Peace — Sir Charles is a 
regular attendant at the Spellthorne Petty Sessions, of which for many 
years his father, Sir John, was Chairman — preclude Sir Charles from 
taking a very active part in local government. But Lady Gibbons is 
a member of the Staines Board of Guardians and also of the Rural 
Council, in which offices she takes a keen interest and has proved 
herself invaluable. Her Ladyship is a great believer in emigration as 
a remedy for poverty and strongly urges upon her colleagues on the 
Board of Guardians the advisability and advantages of aiding suitable 
people to go to Canada. 

In the latter part of 1904 Stanwell Place was partially 
destroyed by fire, originating in the servants' quarters through an 
overheated flue. Owing to the state of the weather — a severe frost 
prevailing — it was sometime before the fire brigade arrived and pending 
their appearance Sir Charles and his heir, Captain Gibbons, organised 
a bucket brigade of guests and servants. 

Sir Charles is a very popular landlord and is much respected 
throughout the district. 

The Gibbons family has had interesting connections with the 
Island of Barbadoes, to the House of Assembly of which the 1st 
Baronet (who was raised to that dignity in 1752) was Speaker. The 
2nd Baronet, Sir John Gibbons, was the Member of Parliament for 
Wallingford, and his brother, Robert, was Member of Council to the 
Island of Barbadoes. Robert's third son, William Barton Gibbons, 
was Lieutenant-Colonel, Provincial aide-de-camp, and Justice of the 
Peace for Barbadoes. 

Honourable military traditions also belong to the family, for 
Robert Gibbons' second son, Frederick, served with the forces during 
the Peninsular War and as a Lieutenant in the 7th Fusiliers, was 
severely wounded at Albuera in 1811, whilst his cousin, Captain 
George Gibbons (son of Sir William Gibbons), was killed there. 





Sir Frcaerick DixonBartland, BartM iK.P.t 3*P- 



GENTLEMAN to whom Middlesex owes much is Sir 
Frederick Dixon Dixon-Hartland, who has sat continuously 
as the Conservative member of Parliament for the Uxbridge 
Division of the County since 1885, prior to which period he 
represented Evesham for five years. 

The family which Sir Frederick represents is an old one known 
to have been settled in Devonshire at an early period. Thence it 
removed to Gloucestershire as a result of becoming possessed of a 
property near Newent, called Cagley Hall. A member of this family— 
who became Governor of Berwick-on-Tweed, and the key of that town 
was bj/ licence incorporated in the family arms — Nathaniel Hartland, 
of the Oaklands, Charlton Kings, married in 1825 Eliza, daughter and 
heiress of Thomas Dixon, of King's Lynn, and their eldest son who 
was born in 1832 is the present member for Uxbridge. 

Sir Frederick was educated at Cheltenham College and at 
Clapham Grammar School. In 1867 he married Grace, youngest 
daughter of Col. Wilson, K.H.. by whom he has three daughters, and 
in 1895 he married, secondly, Agnes Chichester, daughter of W. 
Langham Christie, Esq., of Glyndebourne, Lewes, M.P. 

As a public worker Sir Frederick Dixon-Hartland has done 
much in various directions other than that of Parliament. He can 
claim to have been intimately associated with an organisation which 
has had a considerable share in modern politics, for he was one of the 
Founders of the Primrose League, a body which in its earlier days was 



ridiculed by many of the older politicians as being only fit for " the 
young parsons and the poetic young ladies " But as the League 
became older it was able to show its detractors that it is perfectly 
possible for the beautiful to be useful and decidedly effective. 

As a Middlesex Alderman and Chairman of the Finance 
Committee, Sir Frederick has proved that he has sound business 
abilities and that he is always ready to exercise them for the benefit of 
the County. Another important business position he has held is that 
of Chairman of the Thames Conservancy for ten years, and he is a 
Director of the London, City and Midland Bank, and also a Governor 
of Christ's Hospital. 

Sir Frederick Dixon-Hartland was created a Baronet in 1892. 
He is a Justice of the Peace for Middlesex, London, Worcestershire, 
Gloucestershire and Sussex. 

His own particular bent is shown in his publications which are 
" The Royal Genealogical and Chronological Chart of the Royal 
Families of Europe," and " The Chronological Dictionary of the Royal 
Families of Europe," the excellence with which these are arranged 
being evidence that Sir Frederick has followed his hobby with the 
vigour and thoroughness which distinguish him in other matters. 

When in London Sir Frederick lives at 14, Chesham Place, S.W. 
He is the owner of two fine country seats in Middleton Manor, Sussex, 
and Ashley Manor, Gloucestershire. His clubs are the Carlton and 
Garrick. 





SIR CORY FRANCIS CORY-WRIGHT, Bart., D.L., J.P. 




Sir Corp Francis CorpWrigM, Bart,DX-J.p. 

IE Cory Francis Cory- Wright is one of the best known 
commercial men in the City of London, and at the same 
time he is equally well known throughout Middlesex for 
his long and honourable connection with local government 
and the administration of justice within the County. 

Sir Francis was born in 1839 and in his veins the blood of the 
Army and the Church may be said to co-mingle. His father was the 
late Lieutenant William Wright, of the Rifle Brigade (now 95th 
Eegiment), who served in Holland in 1813 and 1814 and was present 
at the attack on Merxem and the bombardment of the French Fleet at 
Antwerp. He also took part in the campaign of the following year and 
was wounded at the end of the day at the battle of Waterloo. 
Subsequently, he Avas with the Army of occupation of Paris and 
retired from active service in 1828. On his mother's side Sir Francis 
is descended from Bishop Hooper, the Martyr of Queen Mary's Rei<i-n, 
while one of his ancestors, Daniel Race, was Chief Cashier of the 
Bank of FiUgland from 1740-75. 

Mr. Cory-Wright, at the age of 21, entered the business house 
of William Cory & Son, of London, probably the largest firm of coal 
distributors in the world, the annual turnover amounting to over six 
million tons. In 1888 Mr. Cory-Wright succeeded to the"' headship of 
the firm and assumed the additional surname of Cory before that of 
Wright. He is an active member of the Company of Wm. Cory & 
Son and Chairman of the Board. 



Early in 1874 Mr. C. F. Cory- Wright became a member of the 
Hornsey Local Board and in 1893 he succeeded the late Mr. Henry 
Reaver Williams as Chairman. He was re-elected year after year even 
when the old Local Board of Health had given place to the District 
Council, and only retired from the post when Hornsey became a 
Municipal Borough in 1903, after completing 30 years as a member of 
the Board, of which for 10 years he w^as Chairman. In June, 1903, he 
received the honour of a Baronetcy. For more than 30 years Sir 
Francis resided at " Northwood," Hornsey Lane, Highgate, and on 
the occasion of the Diamond Jubilee of Her late Majesty, Queen 
Victoria, he was one of those who combined to elaborately decorate that 
thoroughfare. His own house and grounds were perhaps the most 
extensively illuminated of any and Sir Francis and Lady Cory-Wright 
stood out upon the lawn, while for several hours the enormous crowd 
attracted by news of the spectacle filed in at one gate and out at the 
other. 

In his administrative capacity Sir Francis was, and is, a strict 
economist and he successively opposed schemes for Public Baths, Public 
Libraries, and Electric Light in order that the ratepayers might have 
a clear knowledge of the cost involved and themselves decide as to 
whether they could afford anything but absolute essentials. 

To Sir Francis's initiative and energetic advocacy, both at the 
District Council and at the County Council, was due the preservation 
of some 52 acres of beautiful woodland at Higligate — part of the 
primaeval forest of Middlesex — from the speculative bull ler for the free 
use and enjoyment of the people for ever. After having been thus 
secured by the passing of a private Act of Parliament, the woodland 
was formerly opened by H.R.H. the Duchess of Albany, and named 
" Queen's Wood " in commemoration of the Diamond Jubilee of 
Queen Victoria. 

Sir Francis was also one of the first to join in the effort to 
secure the Alexandra Palace and Park for the people, and he was one 
of the seven gentlemen who together provided £5,000 to secure the 
option of purchase. Naturally, he became a Trustee when the 
difficult task had been accomplished and the Palace and Park became 
the property of the people. 

In addition to his work on the local Council, Sir Francis has 
for many years devoted a great deal of time to the affairs of the 
County of Middlesex, of which he is an Alderman. He is Chairman 
of the Light Railways Committee, and is concerned with the completion 




CAEN WOOD TOWEES (East View). 





imm. 




■■j^^p^^S^^^nlft^^MVMJI^^^^^ 


^J • 1 -1 


Lu 




f ^ ^ 






Ni%^ 






■~^^P^HS^ * ^^^^^^^^^^H 


^■^^^^■i(ta«w^'^nM"^-..» .' - iHI^ *■**"— 


■— * I^^Q 


^^^^^■P^ niiii<iii(Ui':==>7'jM^"_ ^UBB^S^ 




] 



CAEN WOOD TOWEES (South View) 



of a scheme involving over two millions sterling. He is also 
Chairman of the New Asylums Committee, where, again, the work 
has been of an exceptionally responsible nature. 

Sir Francis Cory-Wright served the office of High Sheriff of 
Middlesex for the year 1902-3. He is a Justice of the Peace and a 
Deputy-Lieutenant for the County of Middlesex, and is Chairman of 
the Highgate Petty Sessional Bench. He is also a Justice of the 
Peace for the County of London and was for over ten years a Visiting 
Justice at both Pentonville and Holloway Prisons. Sir Francis also 
sits on the Thames Conservancy Board as a representative of the Ship- 
owners of the City of London. Always in great sympathy with the 
work of the Hospitals, Sir Francis has identified himself very closely 
with both the Tottenham Hospital and the Great Northern Central 
Hospital, being Chairman of the one and Deputy Chairman of the 
other, but owing to the work at Tottenham he resigned his position 
at the Great Noi'thern Hospital. He has also taken a great interest 
in the movement for increasing the support and development of the 
Volunteer Forces in Middlesex. 

Politically, Sir Francis has always been a staunch supporter of 
the Conservative Party. He was the founder of the original 
Conservative Association for the Highgate district of Hornsey, but has 
always declined to become a candidate for Parliamentary honours, 
although on several occasions he has been invited to contest various 
constituencies. 

Sir Francis resides at Caen Wood Towers, Highgate. His 
clubs are the Junior Carlton and the St. Stephen's. 

In 1868 he married Mima, youngest daughter of the late Sir 
Hugh Owen, formerly of the Local Government Board. 

Sir Francis and Lady Cory- Wright have a family of two sons 
and three daughters. The eldest son and heir, Arthur Cory-Wright, 
Esq., is a Justice of the Peace for Hertfordshire ; the younger son, 
Dudley, is a Barrister-at-Law of the Inner Temple, and is a Justice of 
the Peace for Middlesex. Sir Francis' eldest daughter, Elsie Maud, 
married in January, 1899, the Rev. Gilbert Montague Hall, M.A., 
Oxon., Rector of Bushey, Herts., and his second daughter, Mabel, in 
April, 1901, Herbert Nield, Esq., J.P., Barrister-at-Law, and Member 
of Parliament for the Ealing Division of the County. His youngest 
daughter, Hilda, is unmarried. 







i 




^m^mt 


s^* 


i^ ~ 


f 




' ► r 


-?-»-- 


A 


/ ^ > 




1 \ ^■ 


m^-^ *. 


m ' 







COL. SIR ALFRED SOMERSET. K.C.B.. D.L.. J.P. 



Colonel $ir fllfrca Somerset, K.C.B.. D.C., 3.p. 



■^z- 




fESCENDED from a distinguished and historic line, Colonel 
Sir Alfred Somerset, of Enfield Court, has himself added 
many honours to the family escutcheon. He is a type of 
the older British aristocracy whose members are all too few 
in these pushing days of new men and new estates. Sir Alfred is a 
soldier and a gentleman. Innate is his spirit of courtesy ; his neigh- 
bourly concern for all cLisses around him a natural intuition ; while 
his patriotism is an example to all stations. And who could be held 
in higher esteem ? Probably, even Sir Alfred Somerset and his 
family scarcely realise how whole-hearted and deep rooted are the 
respect and regard in which they are held in a district now, ala^, 
being rapidly invaded by the modern builder. 

In olden days when the Great Forest of Middlesex extended 
right into Hornsey, the wild boar, the bear and the wolf were 
amongst the denizens of Etifield Chase, and even when they had 
been exterminated there still remained attractive sport for many a 
monarch and ecclesiastic who found the Forest's proximity to London 
a matter of keen satisfaction. Of Queen Elizabeth Enfield has 
many a legend, for with the other children of Henry VIII. she was 
brought up at Enfield House, where, indeed, after her father's 
death, she resided for some time, and where she also visited after 
her accession to the Throne. Amongst famous people wlio in later 
days have resided at Chase Side have been Charles Lamb, Isaac 



D'Israeli, the father of the famous Earl of Beaconsfield, and William 
Pitt, the first Earl of Chatham. Charles Keats, too, when a boy 
was educated at a private school there. 

The only son of the late Colonel Lord John Thomas Henry 
Somerset, seventh son of the 5th Duke of Beaufort, and Catherine 
Annesley, daughter of the first Earl of Mount Morris, Sir Alfred 
Somerset was born in 1829. Following the military traditions of 
his house, Sir Alfred Somerset joined the Ariny. He was gazetted 
in January, 1847, to the 52nd Oxfordshire Light Infantry, and in 
May the same year was transferred to the 13th Light Infantry, with 
■which regiment he served in Ireland, Scotland and on foreign 
service. Upon leaving this regiment, in 1860, he raised in Enfield a 
corps of Volunteers called the 35th Middlesex. In 1861 he was 
appointed by General Sir James Yorke Scarlett to the command of 
the Central London Rifle Rangei's whose headquarters were at 
Gray's Inn and to whom the 35th joined as a company. In 1866 
he was appointed Lieut.-Col. Commandant of the West Middlesex 
Rifle Volunteers, becoming Hon. Col. in 1871. Simultaneously he was 
Senior Major of the King's Own Tower Hamlets Light Infantry 
(now the 7th Battalion Rifle Brigade). He continued to hold both 
these posts until 1 872, when he was appointed Colonel Commandant ot 
the latter, and Hon. Col. in 1892. In January, 1907, he will have 
completed a grand total of sixtj- years' service. 

Belonging to that class whose robust love of all honourable 
sport enthuses vitality and prosperity along the country side, Sir 
Alfred has strenuously endeavoured to enpsure that others should 
benefit from his own enjoj-ment of life and for sixteen years he drove a 
public coach of his own, called *' The Hirondelle," from Enfield to 
Hitchin, having four teams on the road. From time to time his genial 
and popular figure is still welcomed along the County highways when 
he is driving his coach and four. As one of the most ardent admirers 
of the equine race it is not surprising that Sir Alfred has no affection 
for the modern motor. 

From 1875 to 1885, he was master of the Hertfordshire Hounds. 
They met at Luton Park on Friday, December lOth, 1880. The 
King hunted with the Pack on that day as he was staying at Luton 
Park. 

In 1885, Col. Somerset started the Enfield Chase Stag Hounds 
and resigned the Mastership in 1889. The present Master is Mr. 
Walker, of High Canons Park, Shenley. 




SILVER CUP 



Presented to Col. Sir Alfred Somerset 
by the Gentry and Inhabitants of Enfield, February, 1876, 



Enfield Court, Sir Alfred Somerset's Middlesex residence, is a 
picturesque mansion of which parts date from the seventeenth 
century. Although much of it has been rebuilt and considerably 
modernised, tliere still remain various quaint specimens of brickwork 
whicii are the delight of antiquarians. Inside the house the eye of the 
visitor is very quickly cauglit by the various public presentations which 
evince the very general and widespread esteem felt for (Sir Alfred in and 
around Enfield. In the hall are also to be seen several highly interest- 
ing and valuable historical trophies in the form of French sabres and 
cuirasses " picked up " by Sir Alfred's father on the field of Waterloo, 
in which famous battle he and various other members of the Somerset 
House distinguished themselves. 

In the dining room hangs a splendid oil painting by the Hon. 
John Collier, being a portrait of Sir Alfred in hunting costume. An 
inscription explains ' that this was presented to " Colonel A. P. 
Somerset, C.B , D.L., J.P., by the Enfield Chase Stag Hunt, 
September, 1897." It is interesting to compare this portrait with 
another painted fifty years earlier, also hanging in the diiiing room, 
and which shows Sir Alfred in the smart and picturesque uniform then 
belonging to the 13th Prince Albert's Light Infantry, a uniform uuich 
more ornate and efl:ective than the one now in vogue. 

In the drawing room are two exceedingly handsome silver cups. 
The first of these was presented to Sir Alfred so long ago as February 
•Jth, 1876. It was the gift of the gentry and inhabitants of Enfield 
to Sir Alfred on the occasion of a public dinner given in his honour. 
The cup is of very chaste design and workmanship, having round its 
base four models in silver of chestnut horses. The inscription records the 
sentiments of over two hundred subscribers : — " Presented to Colonel 
Alfred Plantagenet Frederick Charles Somerset, J. P., and Deputy 
Lieutenant for'the County of Middlesex, in token of their great esteem 
for his uniform courtesy and liberality towards them." 

A second cup was presented to Sir Alfred by the 35th in iy6'2, 
whilst in 1892 he received from the 7th Battalion Itifie Brigade a silver 
statuette of himself on horseback. This bears two inscriptions, one 
recording that it was the gift of tlie officc^r's, non-commissioned ofilcers, 
and men of the battalion as a small token of their sincere esteem over 
a period of twenty-eight years' services, during twenty of which he was 
in command. The second inscription runs :^" This statuette is a replica 
of the Somerset challenge trophy w hich was subscribed for by the 
oftlcers past and present to perpetuate in the battalion the memory and 



name of their old Chief. The base is cast from bronze of French guns 
captured at Waterloo, a battle in which Colonel Somerset's father and 
other relatives distinguished themselves." 

The grounds which sun-ound Enfield Court are elegantly laid 
out, their chief pride being a fine terraced garden with clipped yews 
that boasts a walk some four hundred feet in length. The New River 
runs through the estate and from it water is obtained (under a business 
arrangement with the Water Board) for filling a large ornamental fish 
pond, the centre of which is spanned by a level rustic bridge. Near 
this pond is a veteran willow, now, it is feared, fixst becoming decayed. 
This tree has an interesting history, for it has grown from a cutting 
from the willow which drooped over Napoleon's grave at St. Helena ; 
but although it will soon exist only in memory, other cuttings have 
been taken in time from it so that in other parts of the domain its 
traditions will be perpetuated. Amongst the remaining trees in the 
arrounds are four hollies of remarkable mas^nificencc which have been 
immortalized by engravings in the historic " Beauties of Middlesex." 

In front of Enfield Court is another fine old tree, a fir, now 
advanced in years, which owes its existence to the fact that it was a 
cutting from a fir tree which stands in the srrounds of the celebrated 
Queen's Palace at Enfield. 

A small building in another part of the grounds was formerly 
the armoury for the 35th. It was used in IS'oO and it was there that 
some of the men were drilled. In those days the Volunteers were 
drawn mainly from the professional and well established middle classes 
who not only found their own uniforms but also subscribed annually to 
provide the expenses of the corps. Colonel Somerset regrets that 
this system no longer prevails. He is also strongly of opinion that it 
was a great pity that the Militia were ever drafted into the Volunteers 
as the eftect of this has been only to weaken both. 

All his life Sir AHred Somerset has been associated with the 
welfare of Enfield and to this day his solicitude for the happiness of 
his neighbours is shown in the fixct that his spacious and handsome 
riding school is frequently placed, without any sort of charge, at the 
disposal of the public. For this riding school Sir Alfred has obtained 
the County Council dancing and music licenses. It has a seating 
capacity for 691 people, and every alternate Sunday and Wednes- 
day afternoon the Enfield Town Silver Prize Band here entertain 
crowded audiences who thoroughly appreciate the music they are 
enabled by Sir Alfred's generosity to enjoy in comfort. The Sunday 



i 


4^ 


■ 


^wJi^ 




i^ -. w^^^sgsgsHHIi^^k-f 


1 


%m^ 




^.^--■'"►^.■^e^'* 


i?fi; 



SILVER STATUETTE OF COL. SIR ALFRED SOMERSET. 

Presented to him by the Officers, 
Non-Commissioned Officers and Men ot the 7lh Batt. Rifle Brigade, 1892. 



programmes are composed entirely of sacred music, Uut on Wednesdays 
secular airs of the most interestint( type are discoursed On some 
occasions soirees are held when lady and gentlemen artistes from London 
give entertainments. This riding school has been f>hiced to strangely 
different uses for the public benefit. For instance, some years ago when 
the parish church was being restored it was temporarily used as a 
Church, Sir Alfred adding a small wing, known as " the vestry," to 
improve the accommodation. During the winter months the school 
and the adjoining handsome coach house (which is then cleared of its 
equipages) are placed at the disposal of the Enfield public for balls and 
concerts, the coach house forming an admirable supper room. It was 
in this riding school that the Coronation Ball was held. It is such 
generous thoughtfulness as this which has caused Sir Alfred Somerset 
to occupy so large a place in the hearts of the people of Enfield. At 
various times those who have benefited so greatly from his kindness 
have been anxious to show their appreciation of it, and one such result 
is to be seen in a hatidsome silver cup, which, together with a framed 
testimonial subscribed by some two hundred of the gentry and resitlents 
of Enfield, was presented to Sir Alfred at a town's meeting. Other 
demonstrations of public esteem have also taken the form of presenta- 
tions. For instance, Sir Alfred is the owner of two very handsome 
silver mounted four-horse whips, one of which bears the inscription — 
"Presented by the Enfield Brass Band, 28th June, 1884, as a token of 
gratitude " ; the other having been " Presented to Col. Somerset, the 
Proprietor of the Hirondelle, by James Oddy, Esq., in token of respect 
and esteem, 14th August, 1883." 

In 1857 Colonel Sir Alfred Somerset married Adelaide Harriet, 
daughter of Vice-Admiral Sir G. Brooke-Pechell, Bart., M.P. He 
was created a Commander of the Bath in 1892, receiving the dignity 
of K.C.B. ten years later. • 

The ancestry of the Somersets is one of considerable distinction,' 
dating back to Charles Somerset who was created a Knight of the 
Garter in 141)G. He married the only daughter of William Herbert, 
Earl of Huntingdon, Lord Herbert of Ragland, and Chepstow and 
Gowei-, in whose right he assumed the title of Lord Herbert, being 
summoned to Parliament in this dignity in 1509. Lord Herbert was 
appointed Lord Chamberlain for life as a reward for the distinguished 
part he played in the taking of Teroueunc and Tournay, and was 
created Earl of Worcester. 



A very notable Royalist was the second Marquess of Worcester 
who was apjjointed Lord Lieutenant of Wales by Charles L Not only 
for fealty, but as a scientist and inventor, the name of the Marquess is 
yet remembered. There is still in existence evidence of his acquaint- 
ance with mechanics and steaai power in a literary work of his entitled 
" A century of the names and scantlings of such inventions as at 
present I can call to mind to have tried and perfected, which (my 
former notes being lost) I liave at the instance of a powerful friend, 
endeavoured now, in the year 1655, to set these down, in such a way 
as may sufficiently instruct me to put them into practice." This book 
was first printed in 1663, and in its pages the power and application of 
the steam-engine are distinctly described. 

In addition to being a popular member of the Four-in-hand and 
Coaching Clubs, Sir Alfred Somerset is also a member of the Army and 
Navy Club. 





LADY SOMERSET 

And her Favorite Cat, " Scudamore," February, 1906. 




naelaide Cadp Somerset. 

h-< 

|NE of the best known and most highly honoured of the Ladies 
in the Enfteld Division of the County is Adelaide Lady 
Somerset, the wife of Colonel Sir Alfred Somerset, K.C.B., 
and daughter of the late Admiral Sir George Brooke- 
Pechull, Bart., oC Castle Goring, Sussex. 

Lady Somerset, who is a god-daughter of the late Queen 
Adelaide, delights in good works. Many of her most successful 
efforts have been made as President of the Soldiers' and Sailors' 
Families Association, with the management of which she has been 
connected since it was founded in 1885. The ardour with which she 
espouses any object having her full approval was clearly shown in her 
ceaseless eftbrts for the benefit of this association during the late 
South African War. Her Ladyship still continues to hold the post 
of President for the Enfield Division. 

Since the close of the War, Lady Somerset has been chiefly 
concerned in organising and promoting the League of Mercy, of which 
she is President for the Enfield District. Her great efforts to secure 
its support won for her the personal thanks of H.R.H. the Prince of 
Wales. 



For many ycai's Lady Somerset was President of the Middlesex 
Needlework Guild, of which she is still a Vice-President. 

Until recently Lady Somerset was active as a political worker, 
being Dame President of the Primrose League, but the multiplicity of 
other work necessitated her retirement from this office. 

As her father's heiress, Lady Somerset succeeded to large 
estates in Sussex, the management of which she personally supervises. 
In that County she is also Patron of two clerical Livings. 





Sir ecorgc CDristopber Crout Bartlep. 
K.C.B., 3.P. 



[ORN ill 1842 in the parish of Stoko Newiiigton, Sir George 
Bartley, ex-M.P. for North Islington, delights to make it 
known that he i.s " a Cockney." He received his early 
education at a private seminary and afterwards went to 
University College School. Entering the public service he catue 
under Sir John Donnelly at the Science and Art Depaitment at 
South Kensington. There, during a period of twenty years, he rose 
stejj by step until he occupied a high position in the department. 

He took a great and growing interest in all educational matters 
and the conditions of life among the poor, liis idea being by the dis- 
semination of education both to fit the young people for industrial 
callings and to encourage thrift and independence as the only true pre- 
ventives of poverty. To this end he wrote a number of books for 
which he gleaned his data at first hand by leaving his house in the 
West End to live for a time among each section of the people he 
desired to study. 

"A Square Mile in the East End," published in 1870, was a 
faithful reflex of the condition of the people of Bethnal Green and 
district, educationally and socially. It was at this time that Mr. W. E. 
Forster was launching his Elementary Education Act and he welcomed 
the assistance of Mr. Bartley — as he then was — publicly acknowledLring 
the value of that aid in the House of Commons. 



In 1871, Mr. Bartley published " Schools for the People," this 
being practically a history and a critical review of every kind of 
school for ])rimary instruction then in existence. Mr. Bartley was 
o])posed to the principle of free education, holdinj; then, as now, tena- 
ciously to the belief that every parent should at least pay some- 
thing for the education of his children. He advocated a generous 
extension of a national .system which should give greater fecihties 
to the clever children of poor parents by scholarships and otherwise. 

His ideas on the prevailing improvidence of the people were 
crystalizing, and in ] 872 he published a volume of " Provident Know- 
ledge Papers," which was followed in 1874 by '' The Seven Ages of a 
Village Pauper," and "The Parish Net, How it is Dragged, and what 
it Catches," in 1875. These two last named books enjoyed a con- 
siderable run and, among other effects, had the result of bringing 
the author into direct and personal communication with Lord 
Shaftesbury. 

As Assistant Director of the Science Division of the Science 
and Art Department, Sir George Bartley took a great interest in and 
gave every possible aid to Technical Education and more particularly to 
that form of Technical Education in which science is applied to com- 
mercial and industrial pursuits. For some years he was treasurer 
of the Society of Arts. 

Giving a practical turn to his ideas on Thrift, Mr. Bartley some 
thirty-five years ago started a Penny Bank — the forerunner of the 
National Penny Bank with which his name will be for ever associated 
— in a small house in the Edgware Koad. Here deposits of coins 
ranging from a penny to sixpence were taken. Lord Shaftesbury 
praised the scheme, but said that the life of the institution nuist 
depend upon Mr. l^artley's. The National Penny Bank is, however, 
destined to survive its Founder, for the growth and success of the move- 
ment has been phenomenal To-day the Penny Bank has central 
offices in Victoria Street, Westmin.ster, and 13 branches in different 
parts of London. Since its formation it has taken about twenty 
millions sterling in amounts varying from one penny to one hundred 
pounds. Its depositors number two hundred thousand and last year, 
just prior to the Christmas festivities, about a ton of gold and five tons 
of silver coins were counted out for distribution in the board room ot 
St. Margaret's House. The Bank is Sir George Bartley 's pet child 
and, when erecting the central offices in Victoria Street, he took 
care to have them so constituted that even in his own library at St. 



Margaret's House, Victoria Street, he is practically on his business 
premises. 

Sir George represented North Islington in Parliament for over 
twenty years. His first attempt to enter the House of Commons was 
made in 1880, when he stood for the old Borough of Hackney, an area 
comprising some fifty thousand voters. He was unsuccessful. The 
Redistribution Act followed, and in the election of 1885 he stood and 
was returned for NorLii Islington. Sir George held the seat in the four 
succeeding elections of 1886, 1892, 1895 and 1900, against the assaults 
of Mr. Clayden, Mr. Hill, Dr. Napier and Mr.' E. C. Rawlings, 
and the Liberals of the Division had come to regard their case as 
hojjeless. At the General Election of 1900, however, Sir George was 
numbered in the Unionist rout and he then announced his intention of 
devoting himself to his business and his hobbies until a vacancy 
occurs for some suitable seat to contest again. 

In the quarter of a century during which he took an active part 
in politics. Sir George did a not inconsiderable amount of work for 
his Party both inside and outside the House of Commons, and for 
the two years which led to the stirring elections of 1885 to 1886 he 
was the chief agent of the Conservative Party. But honours came 
lather late, for it was not until 1902 that he was made a K.C.B. 

Sir George was a member of the Traffic Commission and was one 
of those who visited various Continental and American cities for the 
purpose of personally investigating the methods obtaining abroad tor 
the regulation of vehicular traffic. 

An enthusiastic diarist and an amateur photographer of more 
than ordinary skill. Sir George has travelled much in both hemis- 
pheres and fifty large and interesting volumes on his library book- 
shelves contain records and impressions by pen and by camera of 
places he has visited with his wife and daughter. He was in South 
Africa when the war with the Boers broke out, and he formed a 
very decided opinion as to what were the intentions of the two 
Republics had they been able to secure control of Cape Colony. 

Sir George married the daughter of Sir Henry Cole- — who 
established the South K^ensington Science and Art Department — and 
has a family of four sons and one daughter. His eldest son is a 
clergyman, and the second son a barrister, while the two younger 
both saw service in South Africa, one being an engineer in the Railway 
Pioneer Regiment and the other in the Royal Horse Artillery. 




Colonel Sir l^oward Vincent, in.p., 
K.C.m.6., C.B., DX., 3.P. 

INE of the most honoured of the Middlesex Justices of the 
Peace is Colonel Sir Howard Vincent. In the midst of the 
exciting political events which marked the General Election 
of January, 1906, amongst the constituencies most keenly- 
watched was that of Central Sheffield, for which, since 1885, Sir 
Howard had sat in the House of Commons. More fortunate than 
many of his colleagues in former Parliaments, he retained his seat and 
had the satisfaction of once again being sent to St. Stephen's as the 
result of a substantial majority. This was the more remarkable as 
Colonel Sir Howard Vincent is ore of the most ardent advocates for a 
revised Tariff ; indeed, he is, and has been throughout the whole of 
his political career, an out and out Protectionist. 

Colonel Sir Charles Edward Howard Vincent was born at 
Slinfold, Sussex, May 3lst, 1849, being the second surviving son of the 
late Rev. Sir Frederick Vincent, 11th Bart., by Maria Copley, 
daughter of the late Harries Young, Esq., of Auchenskrug, co, 
Dumfries. He married in 1882, Ethel Gwendoline, daughter of the 
late George Moffatt, Esq., of Goodrich Court, Herefordshire, by whom 
he has one daughter. 

Having been educated at Westminster School and the Royal 
Military College, Sandhurst, Sir Howard Vincent in 1868 joined the 
Royal Welsh Fusiliers, and after becoming favourably known for his 



reports and lectures upon foreign armies and his knowledge of Russian 
and other languages, retired as Lieutenant in 1873, -when he was 
appointed Captain in the Royal Berks Militia, which commission he 
i-esigned for the Lieut. -Colonelcy of the Central London Rangers. 
This post he held from 1875-78, in which latter year he was appointed 
Director of Criminal Investigations to completely re-organise the 
Detective Establishment and with absolute control over the criminal 
administration of the Metropolitan Police. He had previously, in 
1876, been called to the Bar at the Inner Temple, and practised for 
two years on the South-Eastern Circuit, as well as in the Probate, 
Divorce and Admiralty Division of the High Court of Justice. In 
1877 he entered the Paris Faculte de Droit. Sir How'ard resigned 
his appointment in the Metropolitan Police in 1884, receiving the 
thanks of the Home Secretary and of many other officials, British and 
foreign. He was then appointed Colonel Commandant ot the Queen's 
Westminster Volunteers, which he held until 1904, and of which 
reafiment he is now Hon. Colonel. 



-O' 



It was in 1885 that Sir Howard was first returned as the 
Conservative and Industrial Member for Central Sheffield, and his 
constituents have shown their appreciation of all he has done for them 
and the country while in Parliament by stedfastly returning him at 
each subsequent General Election. A Protectionist and an ardent 
Imperialist, Colonel Sir Howard Vincent is a constant advocate of the 
necessity for cementing as much as possible the ties between the 
Mother country and her sons and daughters over the seas. As a 
pubhc speaker he is candid and clear, seldom dull and certainly never 
inflated. It is his characteristic to be weighty in argument rather 
than voluble in style. Wisely sacrificing all flii^pant oratory of that 
order which searches for a passing cheer by a shallow or sarcastic 
examination of the opponents' cause, he gives himself completely over 
to a dignified utterance of principles which he believes to be those of 
a sound political creed. He does not try to make capital by the 
frequently adopted, though not too scrupulous modus operandi of 
merely sneering at the course pursued by antagonistic politicians. He 
has not sat in Parliament for over twenty years without appreciating 
the imprudence and weakness of such a mode of procedure. Not 
merely in the House, but also on public platforms in various parts of 
the country Sir Howard has explained and elucidated the political 
creed which he holds so staunchly and which he believes capable of 
affording relief from much of the distress at present experienced in 
England, 



In Metropolitan government Sir Howard has taken an active 
share at different times. ' He was formerly a member of the Vestry of 
St. George's, Hanover Square, and one of its representives on the 
Metropolian Board of Works on which he .sat from 1880-96 as the 
member for the West End, St. George's, Hanover Square Division. 
From 1889-90 he was Chairman of the ^Metropolitan Fire Brigade 
Committee. Nor does this sum up the total of Sir Howard's public 
work. In 1891 he founded the United Empire Trade League and has 
from the start been its Hon. Secretary. in the same year he toured 
Canada and addressed a great number of public meetings in the 
Dominion concerning the objects of the League, being so well received 
that he gained sufficient adherents to the cause to show tliat there was 
widespread acquiescence with many of his views. Sir Howard is 
President of the Workman's Association for the Defence of British 
Industry. 

Since 1885 he has been on the Council of the National Union 
of Conservative Associations, and was in 1893 elected Vice-Chairman, 
being chosen Chairman in 1895. He is also President of the North 
of England Conservative Agents' Association. Since 1896 he has 
filled tiie important post of Chairman of the Publication Committee of 
the Conservative Party. In_l901 he was Vice-Chairman of the 
Primrose League Grand Council. 

In 1878 Sir Howard Vincent obtained the appointment of a 
War Office Committee to inquire into the requirements of the 
Volunteer Force. This resulted in many reforms and his subsequent 
Parliamentary action iu March, 1880 (by which the then Government 
was nearly defeated) led to the apjwintment of another Committee the 
effect of whose deliberations was seen in the increase of the Volunteer 
Capitation Grant. Again in 1891 Sir Howard obtained a Select 
Committee to inquire into the need for Rifle Ranges, as a result of 
which there have been passed legislative measures long needed in the 
interests of National Defence. In 1887 he carried the Probation of 
First Offenders Hill, on the Massachusetts model, through Parliament, 
the value of which received early proof in the fact that in the United 
Kingdom upwards of 4,000 persons were saved from imprisonment 
under the Act in 1888, 1889, and 1890, and only seven per cent, of 
this number lapsed again into crime. 

Sir Howard Vincent went to Rome in 1898 as the British 
Delegate of the Anti-Anarchist Conference. In 1 901 he was Chairman 
of the Committee of the Royal Irish Constabulary and Dublin 
Metropolitan Police. 



When the South African War broke out, Sir Howard Vincent 
took an active part in the formation of C.I.V. and Volunteer 
contingents for the field. He was iu South Africa from 1899 to 1902 
and has received the War Medal. 

As a writer Sir Howard Vincent has a large circle of critical 
and keenly interested readers. Amongst his chief publications are 
" Reports on the Prussian Array," 1871 ; " Russia's Advance 
Eastward," 1872; " MiUtary Geography, Reconnoitring and Sketch- 
ing," 1873; "Law of Criticism and Libel," 1877; "Law of 
Extradition," 1880; "Police Code and Manual of Criminal Law," 
1882 ; " Reports on British Commercial Interests in Canada, Japan, 
China, etc., and on various Foreign Armies," and " The Howard 
Vincent Map of British Empire" which reached its thirteenth edition 
in 1905. 

The Order of Commander of the Bath was bestowed upon Sir 
Howard Vincent in 1885, he being made a Knight Commander of the 
Order of St. Michael and St. George three years later. He is also a 
Knight ot the German Crown and of the Crown of Italy. Sir Howard 
enjoys too the honour of being A.D.C. to the King. He is senior 
Dejjuty Lieutenant of London. 

Sir Howard resides at 1, Grosvenor Square, London, W., 
and is a Member of the Marlborough, Carlton, Naval and jNIilitary 
and Royal Societies Clubs. 





Sir Braarora Ccslic, K.C.I.e., 3.P. 

fURING the various ages through which the world has passed, 
the science of engineering has at all times proved one 
which has created vast even if silent revolutions, and one 
which has left memorials of its triumphs in all lands. The 
pyramids oi' Egypt, the ancient Temples of Mexico, the Coliseum of 
Kome, and, to glance at modern structures, such achievements as the 
Eiffel Tower, the Assouan dam and the many gigantic bridges whereby 
man has been able to link up vast territories and secure the march of 
civilization, all show to a wondering world the tremendous enterprises 
which may be attempted and successfully carried out. 

Civil engineering as a profession may be reckoned to have been 
first follu^\ed in England about 1770, when the imi^rovements made by 
Watt upon Stephenson's application of steam to locomotion caused a 
demand for skilled services of this class. Previous to that time the 
only people who united the various members of this craft under 
organised bodies were the great masters of hydraulic engineering, the 
Dutch. 

The fact that India is the supreme jewel in England's Crown is 
due to the gallant soldiers who have first made ready the pathways, 
and, after them, to the valiant engineers whose work has assisted the 
maintenance of peace and commercial prosperity. 



Foremost amongst the English Enghieers who have been the 
means of bringing about great triumphs in India is Sir Bradford 
Leshe, who was the original designer and builder of several large 
bridges in Bengal, including the Jubilee Bridge which spans the river 
Hooghly, and the Howrah Bridge over the same river in Calcutta. 

Sir Bradford, who was born in 1831, is the son of the late 
Charles Leslie, R.A. He married in 1885, Mary Jane Eliza, daughter 
of the late W. Honey, Esq., but is now a widower, his wife having died 
in 1886. 

Sir Bradford was created a Knight Commander of the Indian 
Empire in 1887. He is a Fellow of Calcutta University, a Member 
of the Institute of Civil Engineers and a Justice of the Peace for 
Middlesex. 

8, Sussex Place, Regent's Park, W., is Sir Bradford's 
residence. 





Sir eawara George Clarke, KX. 

lORN on February 15th, 18 41, at 15, King William Street, E.C., 
Sir Edward Clarke is the eldest son of the late Mr. Job Uuy 
Clarke, jeweller, of 38, Moorgate Street, E.G., and his wife, 

Frances, daughter of the late Mr. Henry George, of Bath. 

Hp becran his education at College House, Edmonton, subsequently 
ffoino- to the City Commercial School in Lombard Street. Leaving 
school in 1854 he continued his studies at the evenmg classes at Crosby 
Hall and Kin^r's College (of which he is now a Fellow) becoming in 
1856 Prizeman in English Literature at the first examination of the 
Society of Arts. 

In 1859 Sir Edward obtained a writership in the India Office by 
open competition. He, however, retired therefrom in the following 
year to enter as a student at Lincoln's Inn. He gained the open law 
Tancred law studentship in 1861 and after reading law in the chambers 
of the late Mr. T. R. Bennett, was called to the Bar at Lincoln s inn 
in 1864. He took silk in 1880 and two years later was made a Bencher 
of his Inn. 

In addition to practising in the Common Law Courts and at the 
Surrey Sessions, Sir Edward during the early part of his career as a 



barrister did a good deal of journalistic work as a reporter in the House 
of Commons and on the literarj- staff of Tlie Morning Herald and The 
Standard. 

He had not been many years at the Bar before he acquired a 
reputation as a sound lawyer and an able advocate, especially with 
commercial cases. He came most directly in front of the public in 
1877 in connection with the trial of the Stauntons for the Penge 
murder, appearing for the defendant, Patrick Staunton, and in the 
detective case, in which he defended Mr. George Clark. In 1886 he 
successfully defended Mrs. Bartlett in the Pimlico poisoning case, his 
professional reputation being still further enhanced by his connection 
with the baccarat case in 1891 and the Jameson case in 1896. 

Sir Edward entered Parliament in February, 1880, being then 
returned as the member for Southwark. At the General Election in 
April of the same year he was returned for Plymouth, which seat he 
held until 1900. From 1886-1892 he was Solicitor-General. His 
political associations afterwards with Brighton were most cordial, and 
represent an interesting period in his life. Again, at the General 
Election of 1906, he re-entered Parliament as one of the Members for 
the City of London, scoring one of the few phenomenal Unionist 
successes ; but a few months later, owing to the state of his health, 
and under the strict medical injunction to travel abroad. Sir Edward 
re.signed, much to the regret of a wide circle of enthusiastic political 
supporters. Everyone rejoices that the several months of rest and 
change abroad have recuperated Sir Edward, enabling him to return to 
his legal work with renewed health and strength. 

In 1866 Sir Edward married Annie, the daughter of Mr. 
George Mitchell. His first wife dying in 1881, he married in 1882 
Kathleen Matilda, the daughter of Mr. A. W. Bryant. 

Amongst Sir Edward's publications have been a Treatise on the 
Law of Extradition, as well as various series of his Public Speeches. 

As the owner of the charming river-side residence of Thorncote, 
Staines, Sir Edward is able to indulge in his favourite recreation of 
boating. This part of Middlesex has benefited considerably by reason 
of his association with it. One of the most striking evidences of his 
benevolence exists in the church of St. Peter, Laleham Road, which he 
erected at a cost of £10,000. 

Sir Edward's clubs are the Carlton, St. Stephen's, Garrick, and 
the City Carlton, 




Sir Ricbara nicholson. F.SJ. 

h-i 

[HE holder of an important and extremely responsible position 
in the County, Sir Richard Nicholson, the Clerk of the 
Peace for Middlesex, enjoys an active life in which the 
spice of variety has been by no means lacking. Born in 
Hertfordshire in 1828, Sir Richard is the fifth son of George 
Nicholson, Esq., of Hertford, and his wife, Anne, daughter of John 
Searancke, Esq., of St. Albans. 

Having been educated at Mount Radford School, Exeter, Sir 
Richard determined upon trying a Colonial life. In 1843 he joined 
the Surveying Staff of the New Zealand Co., and assisted in laying 
out the town of Wanganui. Later, he also surveyed the town of 
Dunedin and laid out its country sections. 

Admitted a solicitor in 1851, Sir Richard's natural abilities 
soon enabled him to build up for himself a reputation as an able 
member of his profession. Sir Richard has always worked hard. 
He has an enthusiasm for it, and has personally proved the truth 
of the assertion that let a man but honour his vocation, and the 
vocation will soon honour the man. In 1869 he was appointed Clerk 
of the Peace for Middlesex, and the same year had the satisfaction 
of bringing to a triumphant issue the claim of the late Earl of 
Shrewsbury and Talbot to the Earldom of Shrewsbury and the 
estates annexed to the title. Another important office which Sir 



Richard has had the pleasure of filling is that of Clerk of the Peace 
for London, to Avhich he was appointed in 1888. 

As Chairman of the Law Fire Insurance Co., and p. Director 
of the Law Life Assurance Co., he is well known in the best com- 
mercial cii'cles. 

Althouah of late years Sir Richard has not taken a very 
prominent part in politics, he is a staunch Conservative, and in 
1876 contested the Hastings seat in the interests of his Party. 

Sir Richard has been twice married ; his present wife, whom 
he married in 1882 being Catherine Leicester, eldest daughter of 
the Rev. Canon Atkinson, Vicar of Danby. 

When enjoying his somewhat infrequent periods of leisure, 
Sir Richard proves himself an ardent sportsman, thoroughly appre- 
ciating the open air life he can live when recruiting at Eden, lianfF. 
His town residence is 19, Cleveland Gardens, Hyde Park, W. His 
clubs the Conservative and St. Stephen's. 





SIR HUGH GILZEAN-REID, LL.D., J. P., D.L. 




Sir Pufll) 6ilzcari=Rda, CC.D., J.p., D.C. 

MIDDLESEX Justice of the Peace who has made his mark 
upon more than one section of modern life is Sir Hugh 
Gilzean-Reid. He is essentially a self-made man who 
follows Emerson's advice — "Grudge no office thou canst 
render." So admirably has he acted up to this maxim throughout his 
career that he has always been ready to exert his efi'orts f(n' the good 
of the general community, without distinction of ]3arty or creed. 
Whenever he has embarked upon any project having for its objective 
the amelioration of the lot of any class or section of the public, he has 
first evinced remarkable aptitude in making himself conversant with 
the conditions, needs, capabilities and resources of those whom he 
desires to assist. But, above all, he is a firm believer in the virtues 
of self-help. Concentration of pur])ose combined with a personal 
magnetism such as is the possession of few, has enabled him many a 
time to inspire those whom he seeks to aid with that magic spark of 
ambition which has fired them into making the requisite eftbrts on 
their own behalf On one occasion when presiding over a conference 
in Rome at which nearly twenty different languages had been spoken, 
someone expressed surprise at his being able to impress people wlio did 
not understand his wortis ; there came the emphatic response — " It is 
the contagion of enthusiasm." 



Sir Hugh cherishes the sentiment of his Scottish parentage 
and especially of the fact that his mother, who was the only daughter 
of James Gilzean — a land steward — took an active part in the Church 
Disruption of 1843, that heroic protest, the outcome of which was that 
the Free Church of Scotland carried with her out of the Establishment 
her Confes.-ion of Faith and Catechism, her form of Church Government 
and her Ritual of Worship, preferring to abandon the endowments of 
the State rather than deviate in any way from the recognition of the 
one Headship or from the position of independence held by her 
members to be aright as the true National Church of the Reformation. 
In records of the " Ten Years' Conflict" she was designate the 
" inspired peasant." 

Our subject was born at Cruden, Aberdeenshire, on the llth 
August, 1838 — or as some accounts have it, 1839, and through his 
mother's family, tradition says, he was descended from a distant branch 
of the Boyd family, one of whom, the gallant and learned James Lord 
Boyd, became Earl of ErroU, 1758. He began his education at the 
Episcopalian and Free Church Schools in the parish, subsequently 
attending University classes at Aberdeen and Edinburgh. 

Beginning life at Aberdeen in an art-publishing office with Sir 
George Reid, late President of the Royal Scottish Academy, he 
subsequently chose journalism as a profession. In 1857 he conducted 
a paper in Peterhead, the capital of his native Buchan. and three 
years later became editor of a popular " Weekly " and tri- weekly in 
Edinburgh, and a few years later led in establishing daily and weekly 
newspapers in Aberdeenshire, Yorkshire, Lancashire, the Midlands and 
in London. He was the originator of the North-Eastern Daily 
Gazette (Middlesbrough-on-Tees) — which is the first existing complete 
halfpenny evening \rA\)ev in the Kingdom — thus [)ioneering a vast 
modern industry. 

A veteran knight of the pen and the printing press, hi^ 
autobiographical reminiscences and recollections are necessarily largely 
of newspapers and men of letters, and he can peculiarly appreciate 
Thackeray's tribute in " Pendennis " to the newspaper as " the great 
engine that never sleeps." 

In his earlier days he was thoroughly fluniliar with the strain 
and stress, the responsibilities and the difficulties connected with the 
proprietorship and production of a new journal. He was activel}^ 
concerned in this work at an especially interesting time, for during no 
period of our own history have science and invention made greater 



strides, particularly in connexion with the Press, than during the last 
half centur}-. In that time the art of printing, so far as it concerns a 
newspaper, has been revolutionised, and the telegraph, telephone, 
electricity, stereotyping, and the i-otary machine have made it possible 
to produce in a lew h'.urs that which would have occupied almost as 
many days less than fifty years ago. Like a mighty well-conditioned 
army, the steady advance of the Press has been unchecked, the records 
ever showing 

" That where the vanguard camps to-day 
The rear shall rest to-morrow." 

Sir Hugh has founded numerous important newspapers. At 
one time he was associated with Andrew Carnegie and others in a 
small syndicate which owned nearly twenty daily and weekly papers in 
different parts uf the country. He was, therefore, entitled to speak 
with some authority on journalism, and can tell you that the newspaper 
worthy of the name is the expression of something more than a mere 
collection of individuals ; that though it may be the production of a 
large number of persons, it is the mouthpiece of a still larger number. 
Like Thomas Carlyle he can describe how the Editorial entity "flits 
among the leaves of society, going from club to club and from coterie to 
coterie, listening to the surmises of one and the opinions of the other, 
now chatting with the pessimist, and now conversing with the optimist 
and then he goes into the recesses of his sanctum, and combines all 
these various threads of thouo^ht and items of intelligence into one 
coherent article, in which the reading public finds its mind reflected 
and its tastes respected." He has told how he started in early years 
one small weekly paper with a press that worked by four men and two 
boys, with girls for folding, produced some 450 copies per hour, and 
how he introduced within a few years the most modern web-printing 
presses which were producing the same paper daily at the rate of 50,000 
copies per hour, cutting them up and folding in one endless process, 

A firm believer in the value of co-operation, one of his earliest 
endeavours on attaining leisure was to establish a freemasonry amongst 
the wielders of the pen, and the result of his efforts was seen in the 
Institute of Journalists, which was incorporated by Royal Charter in 
1890 and of which he was the chief Founder and the first President, 
remaining a Fellow. It was for this and other services to the country 
that his first notable distinction was given him by Queen Victoria in 
1893. It is well known that he had previously declined, on various 
grounds, so-called "higher" honours which had been proffered. His 
occupancy of public office has been varied and extensive. He was 
president of the Society of Newspaper Proprietors and Managers 



(1898-99) and was in 1904 chosen President of the World's Press Parlia- 
ment, U.S.A., at the inauguration of which, in St. Louis, there was a 
gathering of over 4,000 delegates, representing 37 different countries, 
and the opening address was delivered by the late State Secretary, the 
Hon. John Itay. He was also an energetic promoter of the International 
Pi'ess Congress, founded in Belgium in 1894, which has held its annual 
gatherings in the chief cities of Europe, representing over 16,000 
organised Journalists. He has often said that the only cause for which 
he can claim any special credit is his work in promoting the organization 
of Journalists into a distinctive profession, having devoted years of his 
life to the work in the United Kingdom, on the Continent, and in the 
United States of America, and that through the enlightened co-opera- 
tion of leading journalists the world over, great and enduring results 
have been accomplished. The Institute of Journalists, which includes 
the whole of the British Empire, the International Press Congress, and 
the World's Press Parliament of America owed much to his initiative 
and inspiring leadership. 

Sir Hugh's opinion upon the recent great developments made 
in the newspaper world is instructive, and to show this we quote a few 
lines from an article on " The Press " which he contributed in 1896 to 
a collection of papers on "The Civilization of our Day," In this he 
says — 

"Well within twenty five years the small sheet of four pages was 
uncomplaininnjy accepted by readers as adequate ; and a circulation of twenty 
thousand per day or per week would have been considered large. The same 
newspapers now consist of six, eight, twelve or sixteen, or in eases of weeklies of 
twentyfour or thirty pages including forty to eighty columns of reading matter 
acd advertisements ; with a circulation of tens or hundreds of thousands, many 
of them reaching fifty to sixty thousand a day, and some even two hundred and 
fifty thousand to half a million ; whilst some of the leading weeklies issue five 
hundred thousand or a million copies per issue. Proprietors who regarded an 
iiicomc of hundreds or thousands a-year as yielding a sufficient return on the 
capital invested now count their revenue by tens of thousands." 

In the same essay it is clearly shown that he thoroughly appreciates 
the great cost at which this growth and also the freedom of the Press 
have been achieved, for he remarks " The Press as well as the Pulpit 
has its record of martyrs." 

A worker of great determination. Sir Hugh readily grasps the 
most intricate problems. He has a keen insight, is a good tactician 
and has many times proved himself the right man in the right place. 
One of the achievements of his life was the founding, along with a 
stalwart workman, James Colville, and a few others, in Edinburgh, in 
1861, of a Co-operative house-building scheme, as a result of which 




GLIMPSE OF DOLLIS HILL. 



thousands of the working men of Edinburgh have long been their own 
landlords. The movement which produced this very desirable result, 
arose out of a stiike in the Edinburgh building trades which was the 
first struggle for reducing the hours of labnur to nine per day. After 
three nuniths the masters gave in and agreed to the altered conditions. 
Mr. Gilzeaii-Ecid (as he then was) disinterestedly stood by the men, 
being then Editor of a popular Edinburgh weekly though not long out 
of his "teens;" and at the conclusion of the strike he pointed out to 
the men that matters would have been uukIi better for them if the 
money on which they had been living during tlie workless three months 
had been made productive. After much deliberation the Co-operative 
Building Society was formed. Twenty-five pounds only was at first 
subscribed. But feeling certain that success would follow, the 
pioneers stuck to their project, which was to carry on building 
especially with a view to acconnnodating all classes of workmen who 
were desirous of becoming the owners of their own homes, subscribers 
being specifically bound'by the Articles of Association to promote 
" the interests of the Company to the utmost of their power." 

So quickly did the advantages of the scheme recommend 
themsdves to the men that very soon the entire capital was subscribed, 
and more money being required a practically unlimited Deposit Fund 
was formed whence loans were advanced to members. Excellent 
dwellings were provided in increasing numbers, profits of from eight to 
ten per cent, were received back by the members— on the usual 
Co-operation princip)le. all sharing alike ; and it soon became evident 
that as a consequence of improved conditions the workers became 
increasingly self-respecting and that their lives were uplifted by far- 
reaching aims and ideals. The men gradually acquired the actual 
ownership of their houses by annual payments which did not exceed 
the ordinary rent of the decayed tenement hovels in which many had 
previously been housed. 

In a pamphlet from his own pen on this subject, the author 
expresses the opinion that the success of the Edinburgh Co-operative 
experiment justifies the belief that similar movements could be brought 
to fruition in all the larger centres of industrial activity — as in some 
cases has been already done— proving that co-operation can overcome 
the difficulties which'had often defied the united wisdom and baffled 
the able eff'orts of social reformers, the principle havmg been 
' established that houses embracing modern requirements of health 
and comfort, at once cheap and profitable as investments, can thus 
be expeditiously provided for the vast wage-earning classes. 



The gratitude felt for the pioneer of this movement was 
manifested in an interesting manner when in 1863 he left Edinburgh, 
Then the workmen of the City, under the presidency of the famous Free 
Church leader, the late Rev. Dr. Begg, made him a pul)lic presentation 
" in acknowledgment of his invaluable services in social, industry, and 
Co-operative movements." His memory is kept alive also by " Reid 
Terrace," as the first block of houses built by the Society was 
designated. 



& 



In 188G Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid was returned as the first 
Member of Parliament for Aston Manor, Warwickshire. Possessing 
very decided and piogressive views, he sustained the reputation of 
being a sound and capable public man, even his opponents admitting 
that he discharged his duties with a diligence, thoughtfulness and 
courtesy deserving of all commendation. 

From earliest youth— first in association with the American 
philanthropist, Elihu Barrett — " the Learned Blacksmith," as he was 
well desisfnated — Sir Huofh was a strenuous and constant advocate of 
International Penny Postage. He seconded in the House of Commons 
the first motion proposed by Mr. Henniker Heaton for the adoption of 
this reform, towards the attainment of which considerable advance has 
been made ; and when at length the first great instalment, Imperial 
Penny Postage, was established in December, 1899, he received one 
of the commemorative silver pennies struck at the Royal Mint. 

Varied as are the interests in which our subject thus took a 
foremost part, these mentioned form by no means the limit of his 
achievements. He has long been actively connected with iron and 
steel industries. He was President of the Association of Sanitary 
Inspectors and Engineers in 1889-1901, and as a consequence of his 
frequent and lengthy residences in Belgium he has taken a defined 
place in the social and industrial life of that prosperous countr}^, and 
given an independent and entirely voluntary support in advancing 
the civilisinof and reliijious aafencies in the Congo Free State. 

In 18(33, Sir Hugh married Anne, daughter of John and 
Margaret Craig. Lady Gilzean-Reid (who died in 1895 as the result 
of a carriage accident) was a fertile wiiter, and tnok a prominent part 
in the oiganisation of women for social and political work. A 
pamphlet written by her, in 1887, on " Women Workers in the Liberal 
Cause," was signalised by receiving the special approval of the late 
Mrs. Gladstone who wrote a preface to the booklet — the substance of 



which had been contributed to the Westminster Review; the production 
had a wide-spread circulation and help 3d largely to extend and 
consolidate the " woman's movement." As a writer, Sir Hugh himself 
has attained considerable popularity. Amongst his best known 
publications is " The Story of Old Oscar," which it is estimated reached 
a circulation in different countries, of nearly a milUon ; whilst in his 
"Studies and Sketches of Landseer," aud his biographic " Monographis _" 
of the Rev. John Skinner— tho i)re-Burns Scottish Poet, Disraeli, 
President Garfield— with whom he had corresponded when both were^ 
peasant boys — and other eminent men, he has shown markel powers of 
portraiture and analysis. Another is " 'Tween Gloamin' and the Mirk," 
a book in which he has depicted in a graphic style many of "the short 
and simple annals of the poor," especially showing how high ideals and 
lofty aims are nurtured in many a lowly Scottish home by means of the 
heroic tales which are constantly repeated round the huml^le hearths. 

For some years Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid made his home at 
Dollis Hill, Middlesex, N.W., in' the district of Willesden,_where the 
novelist, Harrison Ainsworth, once resided, and where in the old 
manor of Dollis Hill the noted higliwayniau, Jack Sheppard, was 
harboured, and whose daring deeds the novelist made to live. When 
the need and the call came, Sir Hugh readiiy resigned his interests in 
the picturesquely located home, with all its historic associations, for he 
saw with others that in this densely populated district the necessity 
was keenly felt for an open-air space which should remain as a 
permanent " lung" of Greater London By unanimous consent it was 
designated " The Gladstone Park " in memory of the illustrious 
statesman who had so often resided at Dollis Hill House and who 
so loved the people to whose use his frequent home has been dedicated 
for ever. The ceremony of throwing open to the ])ublic this beautiful 
park, ornamented with its lilied pond and fair lawns, studded with 
noble trees, was in May, 1901, fitly performed by the Eail of Aberdeen 
who, with his gifted Countess, made Dollis Hill a residence from 1882 
to 1895, having taken it over from his father-in-law, the late Lord 
Tweedmouth, To whom it had been a cherished retreat for many years. 
Many well-known people were present— Sir Henry Campbell- 
Bannerman, afterwards Prime Minister, the Chairman of the 
London County Council, Sir Ralph Littler, C.B.— and the crowd was 
estimated at from fifteen to twenty thousand. The host described 
himself as the " evicted tenant," and rejoiced at being able in any way 
to facilitate the attainment of the most desirable object. The liouse 
and grounds were added at a subsequent date to the Park. 



At the invitation of the noble owners and under the specific 
advice of his ]jhysician, Sir Andrew Clark, who considered the Dollis 
Hill air particularly suited for the aged statesman, Mr. Gladstone, 
accompanied by his wife, used to spend there frequent week ends and 
often much longer j^eriods. Besides numerous memorable social and 
]iolitical gatherings given by Lord and Lady Aberdeen, it was here on 
Saturday, May 14th, 1887, that Mr. Gladstone gave a garden party to 
the Delegates of the Colonial Conference, when Lord Granville and 
Mr. Childers were present, as well as Delegates from Newfoundland, 
Western Australia, the West Indies, and other Colonies. On another 
Saturday he received here a deputation of Americans from New York, 
who came to present a silver trophy, in the shape of a casket three feet 
hiofh. in recoo^nition of Mr. Gladstone's services to the Irish cause. 
Here also was splendidly celebrated Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee, 
when it was said by a leading London Journal that one felt, moving about 
the grounds, that he had seen every face he met in an illustrated paper. 

In the garden surrounding the house Mr. Gladstone in the 
summer time lived largely in the open air, enjoying his meals whilst 
fanned by the healthgiving breezes, and passing much of his time 
reading in a hammock. For another reason the garden is memorable, 
for it was there that Mr. Gladstone and Mr. Chamberlain took their 
last meal together, in 1886, at a conference when both statesmen 
hoped, but hoped in vain, that some mutual understanding might be 
arrived at on the subject of the Home Rule Bill. 

After the operation on his eyes, Mr. Gladstone was sent to 
recuperate at Dollis Hill, and he was first visited there by Lord 
Rosebery, I\Ir. Arthur Balfour, the Archbishop of Canterbury, and 
Mrs. Benson. Of these last two visitors a somewhat amusing little 
incident is recorded. On one occasion, while staying at Dollis Hill, 
Mi's. Gladstone wrote from there and invited the Archbishop and Mrs. 
Benson to dine. The appointed evening arrived, dinner was ready in 
the house at Carlton House Terrace, but no guest came. Impatient 
at the delay, Mr. Gladstone declared — " I would do this for no man on 
earth except the Archbishop of Canterbury " It was not until nine 
o'clock that the guests were announced, and then it was discovered that 
Mrs. Gladstone had .written her invitation on Dollis Hill House paper, 
not mentioning that the dinner would be held at Carlton House 
Terrace. Consequently, the Bensons had had th' ir appetites 
sharpened by a drive from London to Willesden and back. In the 
grounds are trees planted by Mr. Gladstone— one immediately after 
the House of Commons passed the Home Rule Bill, and there also 




TENTERDEN HALL, 

The Residence of Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid. 



is the secluded rosery from which usually came the roses that formed 
his familiar button-hole. All are to be strictly preserved for ever, and 
the cost of the House and about 100 acres, v>^ith laying out was 
estimated at nearly £60,000 — Gladstone's greatest and not least 
beneficial memorial. 

Dollis Hill House has other interesting associations, for it was 
here that George Elliot used to meet her physician and friend. Sir 
Andrew Clark, and here is laid the scene in " Daniel Deronda " in 
which Herr Klesmer discourages Gwendoline's efforts to sing. 

In 1887, when Lord Aberdeen was appointed Governor General 
of Canada, the Dollis Hill estate was given up by him and taken over 
by its last occupant and his famil}'^ ; they gave uji the house for three 
months to Mark Twain, who was charmed with the place, and 

afterwards wrote, adapting Tennyson — " Better days of Dollis 

than fifty years of Cathay." Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid, it can be said, 
well maintained its social and political traditions. One year the 
Aberdeens returned for a few months and held there numerous 
charming "At Homes" after the manner of the Gladstone days. 

In addition to the Knighthood bestowed upon him by Queen 
Victoria, Sir Hugh is also an Officer of the Order of Leopold, a 
distinction granted him in 1897, and two years later he was made a 
Knight-Commander of the Order of the Crown. He is an Hon. LL.D. 
of Aberdeen University, and also of the State University, Columbia, 
U.S.A. As before indicated, chiefly on various grounds he declined 
nomination for the dignity of a Privy Councillor in 18 'JO, and that of 
a Baronet in 1892. He has travelled much in Europe and America, 
generally with some specific public or diplomatic purpose, and he and 
his family possess interesting souvenirs of "services rendered"; on 
one occasion he was oftered the title of Viscount with a hio-h 
ecclesiastical order. He has long been a Justice of the Peace for 
Warwickshire, and in 1904 he was nominated a Magistrate for 
Middlesex by the Lord Lieutenant, the Duke of Bedford. Soon after 
leaving Parliament, he was nominated by the Marquis of Rij^on a 
Deputy Ijieutenant for the North Riding of Yorkshire. 

For more than twenty years he resided at Warley Abbey — on 
the borders of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, which was in 190G 
purchased by the Corporation of Birmingham, from his son-in-law, Mr. 
H. L. Tangye, of Maxstoke Castle, and dedicated, as Dollis Hill had 
been, to the use of the people as a Public Park ; it is a further 
coincidence that his first residence in Yorkshire, with its extensive 



gardens^ — Newlands Park, Middlesborough — became an important 
Catholic Institution. He now resides chiefly at Tenterden Hall, 
Middlesex, N.W., once the family residence, giving his title, of the 
famous Lord Chancellor of 1827. Queen Elizabeth planted there a 
cedar of Lebanon, and Cardinal Wolsey visited the place. Like 
Warley, it formed in the days of the Monks part of a Monastery. 

Married early in life, a numerous family blessed the hapjiy 
union, the eldest son being Mr. Philip J. Reid, B.A., (Trinity College, 
Cambridge) and the eldest daughter, Annie Gilzean, who married the 
eldest son of Sir Eichard Tangye, the femous engineer, sometimes 
designated the " Quaker Philanthropist." 

The life which we have described has been a strenuous one, 
seamed by many sorrows and darkened by many shadows; indeed, an 
autobiography contributed as one of the series, " In the Days of My 
Youth," to M.A.r., edited by T. P. O'Connor, M.P.. concludes with 
these pathetic words: — " When one calmly reflects on all the struggles 
and troubles, failures as well as triumphs, one is inclined, without 
afiectation, to look on lite as a hugh failure, so much more might and 
could have been accomplished, by concentrated, self-restraining, and 
well-directed effort." Sir Hugh Gilzean-Reid has only had one hobby 
begun in boyhood, when he was a contributor to the Art Journal, 
under Mr. S. C. Hall Ever since he has been a zealous collector of 
original studies and sketches, often for their great pictures, by eminent 
artists, from whom many of them were directly obtained ; they have 
been freely lent for exhibition and for purposes of engraving — 
altogether, to the owner and others, a perpetual source of pleasure 
and instruction. It ought to be added that lie has been closely 
associated with men of distinction in all walks and in most countries, 
and has often declared that, having created an extensive network of 
social, literary, and political interests and obligations, both at home and 
abroad, exacting Parliamentary duties were found to be incombatible 
with this outside activity, which few cared to pursue, and which he 
always found to be alike useful and full of charm — in a word, his 
special and imperious mission to mankind. 





SIR JOHN GLOVER, J.P. 




Sir 3oMi eiODer, 3?* 

[,IR John Glover, J.P., of Highgate Lodge, West Hill.Highgate, 
is the fourth son of the late Alderman Glover, J. P., of South 
Shields, in which northern town he was born on September 
6th, 1829. His education was received at the private 
school of Mr. William Wilson, and was of the ordinary type in those 
ante-Board School days. Upon entering the commercial arena he 
made sundry experiments in finding a calling to his mind, including a 
clerkship in the office of an iron merchant, and a period in the office of a 
solicitor. He came to London so far back as 1847, almost casually, as 
so many of the early steps of successful men appear to be taken. It 
happened that one day a ship-broker of the firm with whom his 
father did business in London was calling on Mr. Glover, sen., and was 
introduced to his son. The result was an appointment in the London 
office of this firm. 

A few years' service in the City so developed the young man's 
talent that he was able to begin business on his own account as a 
ship-broker in partnership with the late Mr. Robert R. Glover, of 
Allendale, Green Lanes, N., under the style of Glover Bros. They 
were joined in the early sixties by Mr. Septimus Jonathan Glovei', of 
Aberdeen Park, Highbury, but Sir John still continues an active, as 
he is the senior, member of the farm. In addition he is Chairman of 
the Mercantile Steamship Company, and Chairman of Lloyds Registry 
of British and Foreign Shipping. 



In 1880 Sir John Glover was elected Chairman of the Chamber 
of Shipping, and to him fell the task of making the reply of the 
Shipowners to the legislation prompted by Mr. PlimsoU's well meant 
agitation for measures for increasing the safety of life at sea. Mr. 
Chamberlain was then at the Board of Trade and Mr. Glover was able 
to point out on what particular points legislation was needed and how 
in other cases it was to be deprecated lest it should injure the great 
national industry which was already suft'ering much in competition with 
foreign vessels entering our ports and which were not under the same 
restrictions as our own vessels. 

In 1883 Mr, Glover came much into prominence by reason 
of his criticism of the proposed arrangement between the British 
Government and M. de Lesseps for the construction of a second Suez 
Canal. On his initiative, at an important meeting at Lloyds, a 
resolution was passed and dispatched post haste to the Government 
asking that "the shameful contract" made by Mr. Childers should on no 
account be (confirmed. The result was that the contract was withdrawn 
and in direct negotiation between M. de Lesseps and the shipowners, 
another contract was made, providing for large reductions in the dues, 
and an increase in the representation of Great Britain on the Council 
of Administration of from three to ten Directors. 

Sir John has never been in Parliament, although in 1885 he was 
a candidate for the representation of Scarborough in the Liberal 
interest. He well nigh succeeded, but he declined to accept the 
conditions imposed by Mr. Parnell, and preferred to be defeated. He 
has not sought election since, but has never ceased to take a keen 
interest and prominent part in politics. The Home Rule measures of 
Mr. Gladstone estranged him from the old Party and he went over to 
the Unionists, for whom he did much work. In the City he was 
Chairman of the Liberal Unionist Association. 

Sir John's absorbing interest in the Shipping industry has been 
the chief factor of his City life and still continues so to be. It is well 
sustained and recognised by his position as Chairman of Lloyds 
Registry, in effecting the late improvements in which, and the present 
system of classification of vessels he has borne a leading part. His 
colleagues on the Conmiittee of the Registry have further shown 
their appreciation of his work by having his jjortrait painted for their 
Committee room by Sir Geoi-ge Reid. 

Any notice of Sir John Glover's work would be incomplete did it 
Uot contain a reference to his papers to the Statistical Society, showing 



the growth of British Shipping Tonnage during five successive periods 
of ten years each. 

For several years after the death of the late Mr. Bodkin, Sir 
John Glover, who is on the Commission of the Peace for London and 
Middlesex, was Chairman of the Highgate Bench. In 1900 he was 
knighted by her late Majesty, Queen Victoria. 

Sir John married in 1854 Louisa, daughter of Richard Moser, 
Esq., of Penge, and in 1904 Sir John and Lady Glover celebrated their 
golden wedding in the midst of a large number of relatives and a still 
larger number of friends. 

In religion Sir John is a Fi'ee Churchman and when living in 
Highbury he was a Deacon of Union Chapel during the ministry of the 
Rev. Dr. Allon. 

Sir John's clubs are the City Liberal and the Reform.' 





SIR RALPH LITTLER, C.B., K.C. 




Sir Ralph D. m. Eiltkr, C.B., D.C, J.p. 

^H 

[ROBABLY, one of the best known men in all Middlesex is 
Sir Ralph Daniel Makinson Littler, and probably, too, he 
is the best hated ; for it is next to impossible for anyone to 
sit as Chairman of the Middlesex Quarter Sessions year 
after year sending numbers of persons to durance vile for varyino- 
periods, without incurring the deep-rooted enmity of an ever-widenino- 
circle among the criminal classes. Sir Ralph has earned the reputation 
of being a stern judge, and it is to be noted that, notwithstandino- the 
much modified views held by other Jurists regarding our methods of 
dealing with habitual criminals, Sir Ralph stands most stedfasily to 
his old convictions as to the absolute necessity for long sentences. 

Sir Ralph is the son of the late Rev. Robert Littler and was 
born on Oct. 2ud, 1835. He was educated at University College 
School and University College, London, of which he is a Common Law 
Prizeman. He was called to the Bar, Inner Temple, in 1857 ; became 
a Barrister of the Middle Temple in 1870 ; he took silk in 1873 ; was 
made a Bencher in 1882 and Treasurer in 1901. He formerly went 
the Northern and North Eastern Circuits, but lately he has been 
obliged to limit his work almost entirely to the Parliamentary Bar 
where he has a very large practice. In the course of a busy life he 
has found time to write several legal treaties. 

But it is not only as a capable and successful lawyer that Sir 
Ralph is known. At least the half of his time has for many years past 
been devoted to local and county government. He now resides at 89 



Oakwood Court, W., but formerly he lived near Bowes Park in order to 
keep in touch with the local aftairs of Wood Green, the administration 
of which as Chairman of the District Council he guided and controlled 
for several years. 

Sir Ralph Littler was the first to come forward with a project to 
prevent the Alexandra Park felling into the hands of the builders. It 
was mainly due to his strenuous advocacy tliat the Middlesex County 
Council voted so large a sum towards the purchase money. It was in 
recognition of this work that Sir Ralph was made Chairman of the 
Trust which now governs the Palace. 

Sir Ralph Littler has also rendered immense service in the 
capacity of Chairman of the Middlesex County Council. He has given 
unremitting attention to the j^urification of the rivers and streams of 
the County. The building of the new bridge over the Thames at Kew 
at the joint expense of the Counties of Middlesex and Surrey made 
great demands upon him, but much of it was, to Sir Ralph, work of a 
congenial kind and on its completion he had the honour of receiving 
the King and Queen, when their Majesties attended in State to open 
it. In addition to filling the offices above mentioned Sir Ralph is also 
Chairman of the County Licensing Committee, of the Standing Joint 
Committee, and of the Justices' Parliamentary Committee ; and in 
every department of the work, Sir Ralph's great administrative ability, 
combined with his vast legal knowledge and experience, has proved of 
the utmost value to the County of which he is so proud, the area and 
rateable value of which, in recent years, he has made such heroic 
efforts to preserve undiminished. 

8ir Ralph was knighted in 1902 in honour of the King's 
Coronation, and friends and foes alike held that honour had been well 
won. 





SIR WILLIAM CRUMP, J.P. 



-*T*^v-'.Bpy^<:>^ig^j- :■ :-■i-^^ ^^^^f^''^ll»^-r^-^ ■ ■-- > •: j-^-^ 




LADY CRUMP. 




Sir William John Crump, J.p. 

JUSTICE of the Peace for the County of Middlesex, and 
a member of the County Licensing Committee, Sir William 
John Crump is the eldest son of the late William Alexander 
Crump, Esq., solicitor, of 17, Leadenhall-street, E.C., and 
was bom in 1850. Having been educated privately, he elected to 
embrace the law and has now one of the largest maritime, mercantile 
and comj^any practices in the City of London. 

Sir William has always taken a great interest in politics and 
since 1884 has been Chairman of the North Islington Conservative 
Association and a most active supporter of Sir George Bartley. 
For some time, too, ho held the treasurership of the Metropolitan 
Division of the National Union of Conservative Associations, but on 
the de th of Sir Robert Fowler he resigned that [)osition to become 
one of the Vice-Chairmen. He has for years been a member of the 
Council of the National Union, and has recently been appointed a 
member of its Organization Committee in connection with the re- 
organization of the Unionist Party. 

For the past thirty years Sir William Crump has been an 
active Freemason, and has served the office of Secretary to the Board 
of Grand Stewards. He is P.M. of several Lodges, P.A.G.D.C. 
(England) and P.P.G.W. (Essex) and Vice-President of the three 

Masonic Charities, 



When resident in Stroud Green, Sir William was a member 
of the second School Board for Hornsey, and when living in Hornsey- 
lane a member of the Hornsey District Council from its inception, 
until April, 1901. During that time he took an active interest in 
the provision of open spaces for the people of North London. He 
was one of the Founders and a Director of the Crouch End Playing 
Fields, which have proved such a boon to tennis players and 
cricketers. He rendered valuable assistance in preserving Queen's 
Wood to the public and in the acquisition of the Alexandra Palace 
and Park. In this latter connection he was one of the seven 
guarantors who by a large deposit raised amongst themselves secured 
the option of purchase, and his influence greatly assisted in raising 
the £150,000 publicly subscribed to take this fine property out of 
private hands for all time. 

In November, 1900, Sir William Crump (although not a 
member of the Borough Council) was elected the first Mayor of 
Islington and was re-elected for a second year of office in 1901. 
During that period he did much to raise the standard of loc d 
government in Islington and worked veiy hard to adapt the 
machinery of the old Vestry to the new order of things resultant 
from the London Government Act of 1899, under which Islington 
became a Metropolitan Borough with additional powers and duties. 
For these two years he was Vice-Chair man of the Association of 
Metropolitan Mayors and ex-Mayors, a body which rendered good 
service in securing unanimity of policy in many things municipal, 
L^pon ceasing to occupy this office he was presented with a handsome 
testimonial by his colleagues. He was a member of the Mansion 
House Sub-Committee in connection with the King's Dinners to 
the Poor. At the time of the Coronation Festivities he was the 
gentleman selected to present the Address to the King and Queen on 
behalf of the Boroughs North of the Thames and he received the 
Coronation Medal. He was knighted in 1902. 

Sir William is a great stickler for forms and ceremonies, and 
makes an excellent Chairman. lie takes a keen interest in housing 
questions, and soon after he was elected Mayor of Islington he called 
a Conference of the Metropolitan Boroughs for the purpose of 
arriving at some definite line of policy with regard to the adminis- 
tration of the Housing of the Working Classes Act by the London 
County Council. He has opposed the action of that body in covering 
large areas in the outlying districts with workmen's dwellings, holding 
that the people to be catered for under the Act are in the main those of 




GLENTHORNE, HARROW WEALD. 




THE CEDAR TREE, GLENTHORNE. 



the casual labourino- classes who cannot aftbrd even a tram fare to get 
to and from their work. He also opjjosed the establishment of 
public libraries both in Hornsey and in Islington, and no public 
libraries were established until he ceased to be a member of the 
Councils. He is a firm believer in centralization of Municipal 
services, and favours the idea of transferring all the powers, duties, 
and obligatit)ns of the Poor Law and Education authorities to the 
Borough Councils. 

Golf is Sir William's favourite recreation. He is a member of 
the Junior Carlton and City Carlton Clubs. 

Glenthorne, Sir William Crum])'s residence, is situated on one 
of the beauty spots of Middlesex, being about three miles from 
Pklgware, one and a lialf miles from Staiimore and about two and 
three-(]uarter miles from Harrow. From the front an uninterrupted 
view of charming country extending to the Oxfordshire hills is 
obtained, and from the back the deliglitful greenery of Hampstead 
Heath is discernible. The house itself is covered with rosos and 
wisteria on every side, and is set in sweet smelling pine woods in 
which squirrels may l>e seen disporting themselves within twenty 
yards of the house. In the early summer the rhododendrons which 
fringe the woods add to the beauty of the scene with their prodigality 
of colour. A feature of great interest near the entrance to the 
grounds is an old brick and mortar obelisk, one side of which gives the 
latitude and longtitude of the site, the height above sea-level, the 
mean variation of the compass and the local mileage. On the 
other side are the distances and time bearings of a number of places 
as remote as Oxford, Cambridge, Salisbury, and Portsmouth. 
Although domiciled in this rural paradise, Sir \Villiam Crump is 
still a hard worker in the (Jity and North Islington, while his appre- 
ciation of the conveniences of modern civilization may be seen from 
the fact that Glenthorne is lighted throughout by electricity from an 
installation on the premises, and is on the telephone .system. 




1 




4 . 




9 

m 
^I^^^B 


• 

• 
• 



COMMANDER SIR HAMILTON PYM FREER-SMITH, R.N. 




Commanaer Sir Hamilton Ppm ?recr=$mitl)t 



lOMMANDEK Sir Hamilton Pym Freer-Smith, R.N., of 
Benwell, Sunbury, Middlesex, is a gentleman with a lengthy 
and enviable record covering long years spent both ashore 
and afloat. He has had the unique distinction of participating 
in the thanks of the Government for services rendered in warfixre, at 
sea, and of receiving direct thanks for the performance of civil duties 
on land. 

Sir Hamilton is the third son, by his second marriage, of Adam 
Freer Smith, Esq., an East India merchant, twice High Sheriff of 
Calcutta— 1843 and 1847. His father married in 1827, Josephine 
Hume, by whom he had issue, two sons and two daughters, viz., Adam 
and David, Josephine and Eliza. The last-named was subsequently 
the wife of Major-General Welby Boddara. David became a Surgeon- 
Major in the Bengal Army and Professor of Military Medicine at 
Netley. He saw long service in India and was repeatedly thanked 
by officers commanding — including Sir Harry Tombs, K.G.B., V.C. — 
for services rendered in the field in the campaign of 1857-58. Sir 
Hamilton's half-sister, Eliza, was one of the few ladies who escaped 
from Delhi, and her sister Josephine married Surgeon-General Balfour 
of Indian Mutiny fame. 



In 1840 Sir Hamilton's father married Clara Jane Denman, the 
daughter of Captain Edmund Denman, R.N., by whom he had issue, 
Edmund Denman (became Captain 3rd Goorka Regiment), Tarton 
(became Inspector-General of the Punjaub Police), Hamilton Pym (the 
subject of this sketch), Mary Egerton (married Colonel Keith E. 
Jopj), R.E.), and Clara Jane Florence. 

In passing, it is interesting to note that Sir Hamilton's grand- 
father, Captain Denman, R.N,, was an officer of considerable note. As 
a midshipman in the '' Royal Sovereign," he was present at the actions 
of Lord Howe on May 28th and 29th, and the glorious 1st of June, 

1794. On the same ship he took part in the retreat of the Vice- 
Admiral, the Hon. William Cornwallis, of the 16th and 17th June, 

1795. In June, 1809, he was appointed to the command of the 
" Redpole," and in 1815 on being ordered home to be paid off. he 
brought the despatches of Rear- Admiral Cockburn, announcing the 
safe arrival of Bonaparte at St. Helena. 

Sir Hamilton was also related through his grandfather, the Rev. 
George Smith, D.D., to Robert Louis Stevenson, the famous novelist. 

Educated at Edinburgh Academy, Sir Hamilton subsequently 
went to the famous cadet trainingship, " Britannia ; " and as a midship- 
man in H.M.S. "Mersey" was at the occupation of Vera Cruz in 
December, 1861. He was again on active service two years later, when 
as Sub-Lieutenant of H.M.S. "Perseus" he was at the attacks on the 
batteries of Kagosenia in 1863 and Simono-seki in 1864, His ship was 
in the advance squadron at the engagements, and bore the brunt of the 
attack, being specially mentioned in despatches. Sir Hamilton was 
Senior Lieutenant and for different periods acting Commander of 
H.M.S. "Daphne" when in 1872-73 the Admiralty conveyed to the 
Commanding Officer and ship's company their thanks of the efficient 
manner in which the '•' Daphne " and her boats had laelped to suppress 
the slave trade on the East Coast of Africa. 

Retiring from the Navy with the rank of Commander, Sir 
Hamilton passed the Civil Service examination and was appointed a 
Factory Inspector under the Home Office in 1875. In this 
capacity he was for some years in charge of the Sheffield district. 
On his appointment there was some dissatisfaction expressed in 
the locality at the placing of a sea captain in such an important 
post. Sir Hamilton, however, went about his duties in such a 
broad-minded, courteous and yet highly efficient manner, that he 
not only received the hearty support of the many thousands of 




LADY FREER-SMJTH. 



employes in his district but also of the employers. Indeed, he was 
described in an official publication as follows :—" Commander Hamilton 
Smith comes near enough to the ideal Inspector of Factories to be 
accepted as such." 

On leaving the Sheffield District, Sir Hamilton received a 
special vote of thanks from tlie cutlers of Sheffield who placed on 
record their high appreciation of the services he had rendered, and 
which had so much benefited the lives of the workpeople. 

He was a member and secretary of the Home Office Committee 
on Dangerous Trades, 1895-1905, being specially thanked for his 
services by the Chairman and members of that Committee and by the 
Secretary of State for the Home Department in March, 1898, and 
again in July, 1900. In February, 1903, he was appointed as 
Superintending Inspector attached to the Home Office for special 
duties in connection with Dangerous Trades, and is the author of 
various technical works, being especially thanked by Professor Thos. 
Oliver, of Newcastle, for his valuable assistance in that gentleman's 
standard work, " Dangerous Trades." 

In November, 1905, His Majesty the King showed his high 
appreciation of Sir Hamilton's service by bestowing upon him the 
honour of Knighthood, and at the same time granted him the Koyal 
Licence to adopt the name of Freer-Smith. 

Sir Hamilton resigned his office in May, 1906, and in August ot 
the same year Mr. Herbert Gladstone, the Secretary of State for Homo 
Affairs, rendered him the highest honour possible for a public servant, 
for, speaking in the House of Commons on August 1st, he said, " he 
wished in passing, to pay a tribute to the work of Sir Hamilton P. 
Freer-Smith, to whom, on his retirement, a word of public 
acknowledgment was due for his great and meritorious services in 
connection with the work of the Factory Department." _ The 
members of the House of Commons also testified to their appreciation 
of Sir Hamilton's services in no uncertain way. 

Sir Hamilton, who is a landowner in Middlesex, married in 
December, 1879, Constance Emily, the daughter of G. F. Bagnall, Esq., 
of Cheltenham, by whom he had issue Constance Emily Mary (1885). 
His first wife dying in 1885, Sir Hamilton married Selina Kingsford, 
daughter of the late George Wilson, Esq., of Tapton Hall, Sheffield, 
by whom he has issue Denman Freer, born 1892, a student at 
Harrow, and Florence Freer, born 1898. 



A keen sportsman, Sir Hamilton's recreations are shooting, golf 
and yachting. He Is the owner of the motor-yacht " Plelone." 

Sir Hamilton is a member of the Army and Navy and 
Motor- Yacht Clubs, and also of the Eoyal Navy Club, 1765. The 
latter is a dining club, the members of which meet together on 
the anniversaries of the great Naval battles. 





SIR CLIFTON ROBINSON, J.P. 

Assoc : Inst : C.E. Mem: Inst : E.E. 




Sir Clitton Robinson, 3.p., Assoc : Inst : C-€. 

mem: Inst: €♦€. 

hH 

fIR J. Clifton Robinson, of Keith House, Porcliester Gate, 
W., and Garrick's Villa, Hampton, Middlesex, was born at 
Birkenhead in 1849, but his fresh colouring, his physical 
and mental alertness, and his buoyant spirits make it difficult 
to realise that he has passed his half century. Indeed, it was with 
something of a shock that a year or two ago one found him contributing 
a page of autobiography to the "In the Days of My Youth" series in 
" M.A.P." He began life early as the junior member of the staff 
of the late George Francis Train, when in 1860, he boarded the 
first tramcar introduced into Great Britain, and thus entered upon a 
strenuous career, the full story of which would be a history of 
tramways development in two continents during the last fifty years. 

Mr. Train's young assistant soon gave proof of more than 
average capacity, and in 1866 he accompanied his chief to America. 
There, in New York and other Cities and States, he gathered 
experience of practical " rail roading," which stood him in good 
stead in later years. In 1871 he returned to this country, and in 
Liverpool, London, Dublin, and Cork he extended his knowledge 
of the business to which he had devoted himself, and was every- 
where recognised as one who would make his mark. In 1875 he 
became the first general manager of the Tramways Company then 
formed in Bristol, and there he spent seven busy years organising 
and developing the horse tramways of the city. From Bristol 



he went to Edinburgh as general manager and secretary of the 
Edinburgh Street Tramways Company, and while there he read before 
the Royal Scottish Societ}' of Arts the (;xliaustive paper on " Cable 
Traction," which led to his being called into complete the construction 
and organise the operation of the Highgate Cable Tramway in 1884, 
the first practical demonstration of the system in Eurojje. 

Proceeding to Los Angelos, California, the young engineer 
was engaged to convert to cable, and subsequently to electric traction, 
as well as to extend and consolidate the numerous street railways 
existing in that city, and in the course of one year he completed the 
immense work of putting into operation about fifty miles of line. In 
1889 the American Street Railway Association appointed him to report 
on mechanical traction, and his report which was presented to the 
Convention at Pittsburgh in October, 1891, did much to enhance the 
international reputation of its author. He remained in America for 
five years, and in Texas, California, IMexico, and Canada did much, and 
learned more. 

Returning to England in 1891, he was invited by his old Board 
of Directors to advise them upon the electrification of the Bristol 
tramways. His report was so strongly in favour of the adoption of 
electric traction that the conversion of the system was immediately 
proceeded Avith. Moreover, he was entrusted with the task of 
carrying his proposals into effect, with the result that there was opened 
in October, 1895, the first electric street tramway in Great Britain in 
■whose construction and operation the newly-made regulations of the 
Board of Trade had been adapted. The success of the undertaking 
was immediate and complete, and resolutions were passed by the 
Board to convert all the existing lines to the new method of 
traction, and to extend the system in various directions — a gigantic 
enterprise, which Sir Clifton, as the responsible engineer, has carried 
out from its first inception to its present high state of development. 

Concurrently with his great Bristol work. Sir Clifton Robinson 
was engaged, on behalf of the Imperial Tramways Company, in the 
re-organisation of the Dublin Southern Tramways. The system, then 
in an almost moribund state, was first .successfuUy resuscitated as a 
horse tramway and, after a great fight, was then entirely re-constructed 
and electrically converted, with results which caused the Town Clerk 
of Dublin to say years later that the name of Clifton Robinson " must 
always be recognised and respected as that of a public benefactor to 
the city." 




LADY CLIFTON ROBINSON. 



In 1897 similar work of reconstruction and electrical 
conversion, only on a larger scale, was next carried out on Tees-side, 
where the important Boroughs of Middlesborough, _ Thornaby, and 
Stockton were linked up by a modern system of electric tramways. 

While introducing electric trams into Bristol, Dublin, and the 
Tees-side towns, Sir Clifton Robinson had been preparing the way for 
their advent in London. In 1894 the London United Tramways 
Company had been formed to acquire the derelict West Metropolitan 
Horse Tramways in Hammersmith, Acton, Chiswick, Kew, and 
Richmond. With Sir George White as chairman. Sir Clifton 
Robinson, as managing director and engineer, literally re-created 
the system, and within a couple of years these tramways were quoted 
as the best constructed, best equipped, and best managed system of 
horse tramways in the kingdom. 

The way had thus been paved for the first steps towards the 
ultimate goal of electrification and extension. The prejudice against 
tramways had, to a considerable extent, been dissipated, the local 
authorities had been pacified, and the public had been pleased. There 
remained, however, a series of up-hill fights to be won, and the next 
few years were probably the busiest and the most exciting in Sir 
Clifton Robinson's life. It was not until 1 898 that substantial progress 
was made. In that year an Act was obtained authorising the electrifi- 
cation of the existing system and the extension of the line from Kew 
Bridge through Brentford and Isleworth to Hounslow. Two years 
later another Act and a Light Railways Order added Ealing, Hanwell, 
Southall, Hayes, Hillingdon, Uxbridge, Twickenham, Teddington, and 
Hampton to the company's sphere of operations. Difficulties raised 
by the Royal Observatories of Greenwich and Kew delayed the actual 
opening of the electrical era, but on April 4th, 1901, it was the proud 
privilege of Sir Clifton Robinson to inaugurate the first electric tram- 
way in°London. Henceforward Sir Clifton had the people on his side, 
and their fiiith in and support of him greatly facilitated the negotiations 
which have since added the Lower Thames Valley, an important and 
populous section of Surrey, and the whole of South-West Middlesex 
to the London United Tramways area. To-day he is the managing 
director, engineer, and presiding genius of a system extending in its 
authorised form over nearly one hundred route miles, and carrying over 
fifty million passengers a year — a system which owes its inception to his 
genius, and its construction and successful development to his 
indomitable perseverance. 



Sir Clifton Robinson was amon,^ the first to see that in the 
conjunction of tram, train, and "Tube" lay the best hope of solving 
the overcrowding problem of London, and it was inevitable that sooner 
or later he would become ideiitified with these modern forms of rapid 
transit. The story of how he became associated with the financial 
group which now controls the Underground Railways of London, 
including the Metro])olitan District Railway and the " Bakerloo," and 
is actively pushing forward the construction of other " Tubes," though 
intensely interesting, is too long to be told here. It must suffice to 
say that he is now a director of the District Railway Company and of 
the Underground Electric Railways of London, and it will be strange 
if, before many years have elapsed, he does not add largely to the 
obligation which all Londoners teel towards the pioneer of that method 
of traction which has conferred upon them such an inestimable boon. 

In public affairs Sir Clifton Robinson has so far been content 
to play the part of a keenly-interested spectator, but since August, 
1904, he has been a J.P. for Middlesex, and it may be hoped that 
some day the county, or better still, the country — may have the good 
fortune to enlist in its service the great talents which at present find 
their chief exercise in the sphere of action he has made his own. As 
matters stand his directorships of great undertakings occupy aU his 
time, and he would be overburdened with work and responsibility if he 
had not an enormous capacity for both. 

Honours have come to Sir Clifton unsought. The sense of 
" something attempted, something done " is the only reward for which 
he really cares. Yet his knighthood, conferred upon him in 1905, 
gave him sincere pleasure, for he entertains a passionate loyalty to 
King Edward, and it was naturally a' source of great gratification to 
hira°that in his person His Majesty should have honoured the 
profession to which he belongs, for he has the distinction of being the 
first practical tramway manager ever selected for the honour. Sir 
Clifton is a Freeman of the City of London and a Liveryman of the 
Worshipful Companies of Makers of Playing Cards and of Coachmakers 
and Coach Harness Makers, and has also a seat on the Board of the 
London Hospital 

Sir Clifton Robinson married in 1874, and in the charming 
Irish lady who became INIrs. (and later. Lady) Robinson, he found an 
ideal partner. They have one son, Mr. Clifton Robinson, jun., who, as 
superintendent of the London United Tramways, is worthily following 
ia his father's footsteps. 




Ccopold ac Rotbscbild, €sq., C.V.O., D.C, 3.p. 

[HE owner of Gunnersbury Park, Ealing, Mr. Leopold de 
Rothschild belongs to a family whose fame is world-wide 
and the story of whose rise is one of the most romantic that 
can be boasted. The founder of the Rothschild fortune was 
Meyer Amschel Rothschild, whose name is by many felt to be 
synonymous with honour and integrity and whose story is eminently 
significant of the truth contained in the Shakespearian lines — 

" There is a tide in the affairs of men 

Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune." 

At the time of the invasion of Germany by the Republican 
army of France, Meyer Amschel Rothschild was a banker on a 
comparatively small .scale at Frankfort-on-Maine. The passage of the 
Rhine by the French was the signal for the abandonment of their 
territories by almost all the minor Princes of Germany. Amongst 
others, the Sovereign of Hesse Cassel became a fugitive and arrived 
with his money and jewels at Frankfort, hoping there to find some 
place where he might deposit them in safety until his troublous times 
were over. The Prince had heard of the banker Rothschild and to 
him he went with his treasure, the task of keeping wliich was at first 
refused by him. But at length the Prince prevailed and showed the 
perfect confidence he had in the man whom he had trusted by 
requiring no receipt. Upon tiie departure of his visitor, Meyer 
Rothschild's first care was to discover a secure hiding place for his 
trust, and he had barely succeeded in so doing when the French 
entered Frankfort. 



So active had he been in his cHent's interests that he had no 
time to attend to the safeoruardintj of his own fortune and it was all 
lost ; but the Prince's treasure was undiscovered. 

When these stirring times were over, Meyer Rothschild secured 
the Prince's money ;',nd with its aid reorganised his bank. In 1802 
His Rdyal Highness felt that it was safe to return to Cassel. On his 
way thither he stopped at Frankfort and sought out Rothschild. He 
had heard of the banker's loss and quite believed that his own wealth 
had also been acquired by the French. To his surpi-ise, Rothschild's 
first step was to return to him the whole of the capital sum 
entrusted to his care, plus five per cent interest during the time he had 
used it in his own concerns, whilst the parcel of jewels was returned to 
its owner absolutely intact. The Prince was amazed at such an event, 
but insisted that at least the banker should use the accumulated 
interest and principal for twenty years more at the low rate of two per 
cent. Nor did his gratitude towards the man who had proved so 
scrupulous a guardian of another's wealth fade quickly, for at the 
Congress of Vienna he represented Rothschild's conduct in such true 
and glowing terms that all the potentates assembled were infiuenced in 
his favour and as a consequence of his integrity he became the premier 
Banker in the world. 

Meyer Amschel Rothschild had five sons — Aiiselin of 
Frankfort, Solomon of Berlin and Vienna, Nathan Mayer of 
London, Charles of Naples and James of Paris. Having settled 
in London, Nathan Mayer received letters patent of denizeuship in 
the 44th year of George III.'s reign and was subsequently advanced 
to the dignity of a Baron of the Austrian Empire. His eldest son, 
Baron Nathan Rothschild, was the Member of Parliament for London 
and was the father of the present Baron Rothschild, G.C.V.O., his 
third son being Mr. Leopold de Rothschild. 

Bai'on Lionel Nathan de Rothschild occupies a prominent place 
in the annals of English politics as the first member of the Jewish 
community who was allowed to take a seat in the House of Commons. 
He was elected to Parliament for the City of London so far back as 
1847, but on the House of Lords rejecting a Bill for the Removal of 
Jewish Disabilities in 1848 he resigned his seat, and again offered himself 
for election. He was once more returned, and in 1858, after sitting for 
four sessions as a stranger in the House of which he had been duly 
elected a member, he presented himself at the table of the House of 
Commons and demanded to be sworn. A resolution was proposed again 



altering the form of the oath, but this was neoatived. and an amendment, 
made by Mr. Hume, allowing- the Baron to be sworn on the Old 
Testament, was carried by a majority of 54, When the oaths were 
administered, however, Baron de Rothschild, omitted the words, *' On 
the true faith of a Christian," and was consequently ordered to withdraw. 
Eventually, the House of Lords was induced to pass a clause, worded by 
Lord Lucan, which enabled either House to modify the form of the oath 
according to necessity. The House of Commons thus had it in their 
power to authorise the omission of that portion of the oath referring to 
the Christian religion, and the long struggle to gain for the Jews the full 
privileges of other British subjects was ended ))y the Baron, after 
having served on a Committee, being allowed to take his seat in the 
same year. 

Mr. Leopold de Rothschild, who was born in 1845, was educated 
at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he took his B.A. Degree in 
1867 and his MJ.A. in 1870. He married Marie, daughter of Signor 
Achille Perugia of Trieste, by whom he has three sons, the eldest of 
whom, Lionel Nathan de Rothschild, is a Lieutenant in the Bucks 
Imperial Yeomanry. Mr. Leopold de Rothschild is one of His 
Majesty's Lieutenants for the City of London, as well as being a 
Deputy Lieutenant and Justice of the Peace for Buckinghamshire. 

Gunnersbury Park, Ealing, is Mr. Leopold de Rothschild's 
Middlesex seat, his other country residences being Aseott, Leighton 
Buzzard, and Palace House, Newmarket, while his town house is 
5, Hamilton Place, W. 

Like all the members of his family, Mr. Leopold de Rothschild 
is distinguished for his great commercial and financial genius, as well as 
for his many excellent social qualities. On his own estates he is 
revered and admired by all with whom he comes in contact for he has 
consistently revealed himself as being a man imbued with generous and 
charitable instincts which he exercises not exclusively fortlie benefit of 
those who belong to his own faith. 

Gunnersbury Park, which was purchased by the Rothschild family 
about the middle of the nineteenth century, is surrounded by grounds 
of considerable extent, in the laying out of which Inigo Jones is 
reputed to have exercised some control, as well as having designed 
some of the houses which help to make them attractive. In olden 
records the name is found as Gonyldesbury, or Gunyldsbury, the 
name being probably derived from Gunyld or Gunnilda, niece of 
Canute, who tradition asserts resided here until she was banished 



from England in 1044. Another unhappy lady who lived at the 
Manor was Alice Pierce or Ferrers, and after she, too, became an 
exile, it was seized by the Crown. 

The mansion which preceded that now standing was built in 
1663 by Sergeant Ma^^nard from plans and under the superintendence 
of Webbe, a pupil of Inigo Jones. In 1761 it was jmrchased for the 
Princess Amelia, daughter of George II., who expended large sums of 
money upon it and made it hei' occasional residence until the time of 
her death, when it was sold in compliance with her will. It was here 
that the Princess entertained her nephew , the King of Denmark, in a 
most magnificent manner. 

After having passed through several hands, the estate was 
bought by a tradesman as a matter of speculation. He took down 
the house and disposed of the materials, a proceeding which seems to 
have given considerable satisfaction to certain Middlesex historians 
who took exception to the ugliness of the previous design. A large 
portion of the estate was purchased by Alexander Copland, Esq., 
who erected a handsome villa partly on the site of the earlier mansion. 
This is now the property of Mr. Leo|iold de Rothschild In the 
grounds are some very fine cedars of Lebanon which were planted by 
Kent who laid out part of the grounds in 1740. Under the present 
owner's rule, the gardens have greatl}' improved in beauty. Many 
of the spacious conservatories contain priceless specimen flowers, 
whilst other features of special interest to the ardent horticulturists 
among whom IMr Leopold de Rothschild holds a prominent place are 
the numbers of fruit trees in pots and the remarkably effective 
Japanese and bamboo gardens. 





A. H. TAfiLETON Esa., E.N., M.V.O. 




H. f>. Carktoii, esq., R.n., m.v.o., dx., 3.p. 

h-4 

NE of the best known and most highly esteemed of the 
residents in the Uxbridge Division of the County is Mr. 
Alfred Henry Tarleton, who, during a large portion of the 
year, resides upon his fine old estate, Breakspears. 

A sailor by heredity and inclination, Mr. Tarleton is (after 
gaining the rank of Lieutenant in the Royal Navy) still on the 
Emergency List of Officers and took part in the last manoeuvres. 

Despite the numerous calls upon his time, he personally 
manages his estates, as well as sitting regularly on the Uxbridge 
Bench of Magistrates. He is also a Deputy Lieutenant for the 
County; was Sheriff in 1903; is President of the Conservative 
Assocfation for the Uxbridge Division ; President of the Tariff Reform 
League, Uxbridge and District ; Chairman of the Uxbridge Constitu- 
tional Club ; Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Deptford 
Fund ; President of the Deptford District League of Mercy — Order of 
Mercy — and a zealous supporter of the Navy Employment Agency ; 
Treasurer of the St. George's, Hanover Square Branch, Soldiers' and 
Sailors' Families Association ; Member of the Council of the Navy 
Records Society ; Hon. Sec. of the School for Naval Officers' Daughters 
at Twickenham, etc , etc. His public work has brought him well 
deserved recognition, for he has been created a Knight of Grace of the 
Order of St. John of Jerusalem and a Member of the Victorian Order. 



Mr. Tarleton has proved a generous benefactor to Harefield, 
having established there an excellent Institute which is thoroughly 
appreciated by the young men of the village and district. It was 
inaugurated in 1896, and there are now over one hundred members. 
He also encourages local football, and has given a cup to be competed 
for in the Uxbridge and District Junior League ; while occasionally 
he entertains and inspects the Uxbridge ComjDany of the 2nd V.B. 
Middlesex Regiment. 

From these facts it will readily be seen that Mr. Tarleton's 
interests in Harefield, Uxbridge, his County and his Country are of the 
widest nature, and it may be added that he is a political force in the 
Parliamentary Division, his work for the Conservative Party during 
the General Election of 1906 having been important and useful. 

Mr. Tarleton is the only son of the late Admiral Sir J. Walter 
Tarleton, K.C.B., eldest surviving son of Thomas Tarleton, Esq., of 
Bolesworth, A.D.C to Queen Victoria, a Lord of the Admiralty 
from 1871-74. Sir Walter was also the Admiral Superintendent 
of the Naval Reserve from 1874-77 and served with distinction 
in the Burmese War of 1852. He commanded H.M.S. "Euryalus," in 
which shij) the late Duke of Edinburgh first served the Navy. Mr. 
Tarleton's first ship was the " Sultan" which, when he joined in 1876, 
was commanded by the Duke. In this he was present at the 
forcing of the Dardanelles in 1878. 

On February 8th, 1888, Mr. Tarleton married Henrietta 
Charlotte, the only child of Admiral Tennyson d'Eyncourt, C.B., of 
Bayons Manor, Lincolnshire, and Lady Henrietta d'Eyncourt, who 
was the youngest daughter of the 4th Duke of Newcastle. Mr, 
Tai-leton was a godson of the Duke of Edinburgh. He has three 
daughters living. 

Mr. Tarleton succeeded to the estates of Breakspears, Cranfield, 
Garsington and Deptford under the will of Mrs. Drake, widow of Mr. 
W. W. Drake, of Breakspears. The latter was a son of the Rev. 
W. W. Drake, Rector of Malpass, Cheshire, by Eliza, daughter of 
Thomas Tarleton, of Bolesworth Castle. He traces his descent from 
the ancient faniil}' of Tarleton, of Aigburth, Lancashire, and Boles- 
worth Castle, Cheshire, in which Counties they were seated early in 
the 13th century. There is a charity now existing in Liverpool called 
Tarleton's Charity for seamen's widows, which was established by 
Captain Edward Tarleton, R.N., in 1680. 




BREAKSPEARS. 



Breakspears is one of the best-managed estates in Middlesex, 
and has an interesting history. The family to whom Nicholas 
Breakspear (Pope Adrian IV. — the only Englishman who ever 
occupied the Papal Throne) belonged, owned it for centuries. An 
interesting summing up of the various traditions which have gathered 
round the house in this connection is given by Mr. Tarleton himself in 
his extremely comprehensive work, " Adrian IV., Englishman and 
Pope," which he published in 1896. 

Mr. Tarleton's reasons for writing this history are stated by him 
very cogently in his preface, from which the following lines may be 
extracted : — 

" It is strange that, notwithstanding the unique character of Breakspear'a 
career, he is still very little known. Every schoolboy can give an outline of the 
life of Thomas a Beket, who was made Archdeacon of Canterbury in the year 
Adrian IV. died ; while it is not every one who can even fix the century in which the 
English Pope lived. ... It seems unjust that while his enemies and inferior 
men are remembered, he should be numbered among the forgotten heroes of 
England. If it is good for us to study the lives of those who by unsullied careers 
have added lustre to their native country and to revere their names, we 
Englishmen can surely spare some of our admiration for Nicholas Breakspear." 

Those who have had the pleasure of perusing Mr. Tarleton's 
work will agree that it makes fascinating reading. The writer has 
studied his subject with the most loviog care, has spared no pains to 
marshal his facts and to depict clearly and vividly the personality of 
the Pope. While admitting Adrian's faults, Mr. Tarleton shows him 
to have been a man of the highest character, a skilful diplomatist and 
a profound scholar. Patiently and scrupulously he sifts the truth 
from the mass of inaccuracies which in the course of centuries have 
often gathered about it, enabling his readers to gain correct ideas. 

Speaking of the early life of Nicholas, prior to his rejection by 

the Abbot of ISt. Albans, and after having quoted the brief records 

concerning him given by such authorities as Stowe, Camden and 

Fuller, Mr. Tarleton says ;— 

" I think we may be certain that Adrian IV. was the son of Eober*' 
Brekespere and was born at Abbot's Langley somewhere about the year 1100, His 
name was Nicholas and his father either a man of humble means or from reduced 
circumstances compelled to leave his home on the banks of the River Colne and 
take up his dwelling in Abbot's Langley. If his family were of importance, 
Robert was at any rate a younger^son and preferred to earn his own living to being 
dependent upon his relations." 

Referring to the traditions which have from time immemorial 
associated Adrian's name with Breakspears, Mr. Tarleton continues : — • 



" We now come to tradition ; and here it mxy bs woll to remember how 
large a part the handing down from father to son of local events has added to 
history. In such a matter as where a great man lived his birthplace and his 
home, these unwritten records command our most serious attention. On a quiet 
countryside the memory of so great a man would cling and hang round a locality 
for centuries. Local names, registers, and such like, all offer silent evidence to the 
truth of the legends associated with them. The rustic brain, dulled by the 
monotony of agricultural labour, unrelieved by the advantages of the education of 
the present day, !iad not in former times the wit or the knowledge to invent tales 
Exaggeration in course of dme might grow round a single fact. But I think I may 
safely say that in nine out of ten cases of local, or folk lore, there is some solid 
foundation in truth; while in a case where the same tradition can ba traced bick 
for centuries from son to father, supported by the evidence of nomenclature, we 
may almost accept it as historical fact. A tradition of this niture has clung 
persistently to two parishes which in the twelfth century was under the direct 
influence of the great Abbey of the Holy Martyr Alban. One is that of Abbot's 
Langley, in Hertfordshire, the other Harefield, on the Hertfordshire border of 
Middlesex. In the former, which is a village dating back into Saxon time', it is 
said Nicholas Breakspear was born ; while in the other is a small country house which 
has born the name of Breakspears certainly since the latter end of the twelfth 
century, and which is said to have been the place where his family lived, and to 
have been occupied by their descendants for many years." 

Writing of the Breakspear family's connection with the place 
which bears their name, Mr. Tarleton explains : — 

" We have before us the records and papers of a quiet English country 
house, the inhabitants of which have from the earliest times lived peacefully 
undisturbed by the upsetting influences of wars, revolutions, and drastic 
changes. 

"Deeds, papers, and records have slowly accumulated, and now stand 
as mute evidence of the life of peacable country folk, with no startling events to 
record, beyond the uneventful and monotonous sequence of births, marriages, and 
deaths, varied only by the household and estate records of management. 

" The family living in the house, at the earliest period, I have yet been 
able to discover, was named Brekespere, or Breakspear, and that was in 1317. 
The records of Moor Hall mention the name at an earlier date still. A deed 
dated 1371, now before me, grants a lease of sixty years of some land at Hare- 
field to William Brekespere of Brekespere, and is signed by one William de 
Swanland, who was in those days Lord of the Manor. The house remained in 
the possession of this family until 1430, and the various Christian names include 
Adrian, Nicholas, and Eobert." 

A deed exists in the House bearing date 1317. Eeferences to 
the Breakspear family are found so late as 1591, when Anne Breakspear 
was married at Harefield. But in the fifteenth century the Manor of 
Breakspears passed into the hands of the Ashby family by the marriage 
of Robert Ashby with Margaret Breakspear, heiress of Breakspear, In 
1475. Their descendants held it until comparatively recent times. 



^m 




i-''-;,: ■ ■ ■.:..* 




1^^^^^ 


^^. 




fl^K 


^m 


ML . 


■* 





r .:.r ^ 



I Kiih feLA^ e:Li I 



J I'm 






v-ra 



BREAKSPEAES, 



'" 




A 






: \ 




^ 


p^ J^ 


'■jk' 

■■'tiC^i iff 


1 




^ 












B 


■nil 




pll 


R 


r ^ Wi^^'^m 


tl« ^- 


■Bll 


inlfil 


BKWB^^H 




iK 


'^lIpHi 


'- .' ' . '"i ■ 






:-:;vi' 


: ,. 










^^^^^^^^s^~- * 


"■'-. 


1 



BREAKSPEARS. 



when the male line became extinct, and it passed through the female 
line to the present owner. 

In the Breakspear Chapel of the Parish Church of St. Mary the 
Virgin, Harefield, there are numerous brasses and monumental tablets 
erected to the memory of various members of the Ashby family. 
These include one to George Assheby, who was a clerk of the signet to 
Henry VIII. The latest of these tablets is dated 1774. 

One of many interesting features of the house is its numerous 
stained glass windows whereon are emblazoned the arms of many noble 
families who at times had connections ^yith the Ashbys. Among these 
appear the arms of Queen Elizabeth, who in one of her progresses 
honoured Harefield, and Breakspears, with her presence. Near the 
Queen's arms are also those of her favourite statesmen, the Earls of 
Leicester and Warwick. 

In recent years Breakspears lias been much added to and greatly 
improved. The house now stands in a lovely garden and is surrounded 
by several acres of wood and pasture land, including some good game 
preserves. Mr. Tarleton's gardens are as near perfection as can be, for 
he is nothing if not thorouafh. 

A modern feature of Breakspears is its splendidly equipped fire 
brigade. Thei-e is a useful steamer, designed by Mr. Tarleton himself 
and also a manual and the employ (^'s are periodically drilled by this 
energetic master. On several occasions The Breakspear brigade has 
done notable service at outbreaks of fire in the district, for its good 
offices are always at the disposal of neighbours of all classes who may 
have the misfortune to need them. 

As we have shown, Mr. Tarleton's life is practically devoted to 
the public service in numerous ways and his popularity in the County 
is well deserved. 

Mr. Tarleton's town house is 58, Warwick Square, S.W. His 
clubs are the Marlborough and Arthur's, and the Koyal Naval Club, 
Portsmouth. 





CAPT. C. B. BALFOUR, M.P., D.L., J.P. 



Captain C B. Balfour, m.p,. DX., 3.p. 

^^ 




lAPTAIN" Charles Barrington Balfour, the Member of 
Parliament for the Hornsey Division of Middlesex, is the 
son of the late Charles Balfour, Esq., J. P., of Balgonie, 
Fif(!, and Newton Don, Kelso, and the Hon. Adelaide 
Barrington. Born in 18G2, he went in 1875 to Eton, whence in 1880 
he passed second on the list to the Royal Military College. Sandhurst. 
Tlie following year he came out third from the Royal Military College, 
and was gazetted to u Lieutenancy in the Scots Guards, with which 
regiment he saw active service in the Egyptian Campaign of 1882. 
He was present at the battle of Tel-el-Kebir, but was invalided home 
in the October of that year. 

In 1890 Captain Balfour severed his connection with the Scots 
Guards, and took up residence at Newton Don, which had not been 
occupied since his father's death in 1872. Although from that period 
interesting himself keenly in County and political matters. Captain 
Balfour did not altogether abandon military work, for he took connnand 
of a company as a Captain in the Berwickshire Volunteers (2nd King's 
Own Scottish Borderers) from 1891-95. 

After the disastrous " Black Week " of the South African War 
he offered himselt for the front, but was not passed for foreign 
service. He therefore expressed his willingness to undertake any 
duty at home where he could be of use and was posted to the depot of 
the K.O.S.B. at Berwick in the early spring of 1900, serving there 



until transferred to the Royal Guards Reserve Regiment on its 
formation in the summer of the same year. The regiment was 
disbanded in 1901. 

In 1885 Captain Balfour unsuccessfully contested Roxburgh- 
shire. When the Scottish Local Government Act of 1890 came into 
operation he became a member of the Berwickshire County Council 
and subsequently Chairman of the Finance Committee of that body. 
He is also a member of tlie Berwickshire West District (.!!ommittee, and 
of the County Secondary Education Committee ; and Chairman of the 
Nenthorn Parish Council and School Board. 

In 1892 he stood for Berwickshire against Mr. Majoribanks, 
but failed to capture the seat. At the bye-election occasioned by the 
death of the Liberal member for that Division in 1894, Captain 
Balfour contested the seat with Mr. H. J. Tennant, but here again, as 
well as in 1895, when the fight was repeated, the effort was 
unsuccessful. 

During the year 1894-5, Captain Balfour did a considerable 
amount of good work as President of the National Union of 
Conservative Associations of Scotland, in addition to his County 
Council duties. In 1899 he made another attempt to enter 
Parliament, contesting the Southjiort Division of Lancashire with 
Sir G. Pilkington, but again suffered defeat. 

In the following year, whilst still serving in the Royal Guards 
Reserve Regiment, Captain Balfour was adopted as the Conservative 
and Unionist candidate for Hornsey, in succession to Mr. II. C. 
Stephens who was retiring, and at the election was returned unopposed. 
At the General Election of 1906 his seat was hotly contested, but he 
contrived to hold it, notwithstanding that Conservative colleagues all 
round him fell " with the swing of the pendulum." In the House he 
is known as a good working member, and is on the Police and Sanitary 
Committee. 

As the representative of Hornsey Captain Balfour has interested 
himself in the endeavour of the Hornsey Town (Council to secure 
adequate postal facilities and a telephone service for the Borough, and 
he also proved the friend at court when the Hornsey Education 
Committee were in peril of being hard hit with regard to their Higher 
Elementary School by the new regulations issued by the Board of 
Education. 




LADY NINA BALFOUR. 




:iNEWTON DON, KELSO. 




^MS?*i^^^?^j^tii 



NEWTON DON HOUSE, KELSO. 



Captain Balfour, who, in addition to his other offices, is a 
Justice of the Peace for Roxburghshire, and a Justice of tlie Peace 
and Deputy Lieutenant for Berwickshire, married in 1888 Lady Nina 
McDonnell, daughter of the 5th Earl of Antrim, a lady who has made 
herself very popular with her husband's constituents. 

Captain Balfour is a Director of the British Linen Bank and 
also of the Scottish Widows Fund Life Assurance Society. 

When his Parliamentary duties permit, CajJtain Balfour 
delights in deer stalking with his friends in the Highlands, or in 
salmon fishing, shooting aud hunting on his beautiful estate, Newton 
Don. Unlike his cousin, the ex- Premier, he is not a golfer. 

Newton Don, Kelso, has an interesting history easily traceable 
from the twelfth century. 

The various portions of the estate were purchased from diffei-ent 
proprietors and made into one by Sir Alexander Don in the 17th 
century. The Don family were in possession of the property for two 
hundred years and by various members the policies were laid out and 
trees were planted, thus giving it its present picturesque appearance. 
The existing house was built in 1817-18 by another Sir Alexander 
Don, but it may have been begun, or at least planned, by his father 
who owned the estate from 1776-1815. The architect was Sir R. 
Smirke. Sir William Henry Don, the 7th Baronet, was born May, 
1825. Almost immediately after his father's death there was a sale 
of furniture and effects at Newton Don and during his minority 
different portions of the estate were sold, till on his attaining his 
majority in 1846 it was reduced fi-om an acreage of 3,330 to its present 
extent of 1,225 acres. Sir William left the Army deeply in debt and 
turned his attention to the stage. In 1861 he went to Australia and 
died at Hobart Town, Tasmania, in the following year. 

In 1847 the remaining portion of the estate of Newton Don was 
sold to Charles Balfour, Esq., brother of James Maitland Balfour, Esq., 
of Whittinghame, and on his death in 1872 it passed to his son. Captain 
Charles Barrington Balfour, the present owner. 

Upon Captain Balfour's Fife estate at Balgonie he has done 
a great deal for the improvement of the property since he came of age. 
Farm buildings and cottages have been remodelled or rebuilt, and a 
new water supply has been provided In 1887 the new pit, which had 
taken three years to sink, began working, and this has since caused the 
employment of a larger number of men than the old one, which was 



sunk in 1845, and from which had been removed all the coal that could 
})rofitably be worked. In the spring of 190G Lady Nina Balfour 
opened at Coaltown of Balgonie a public hall which had been built at 
Captain Balfour's expense for the use of the village where most of his 
workmen live. Captain Balfour is unable to reside on this estate, 
for the old Castle of Balgonie is a ruin and another house 
belonging to him on the property is let on a lease v/hich still has some 
years to run. But despite this Captain Balfour takes a very keen 
interest in all that affects the welfare of those connected with the land, 
which he visits periodically, inspecting it thoroughly with his agent. 

Captain Balfour's town residence is 14, Grosvenor Crescent, S.W. 
He is a member of the Carlton, Guards, Bachelors, and Bath Clubs in 
London, and of the New^ Club, Edinburgh. 





HERBERT NIELD, Esq., M.P., J.P. 




mwt Ricid, €sq., IH.P., 3.p., in.C.C. 

>-H 

HE second sou of the late William Robert Niekl, Esq., of 
Midge Hall, Saddleworth, Yorks, Mr. Herbert Nield was 
born in 1862. He was educated privately, and, deciding to 
embrace the Law, he was admitted a solicitor in February, 
1885, after obtaining a place in the Honours List of the Incorporated 
Law Society's final examination. He practised in the City until 1895, 
when he was called to the Bar (Inner Temple) and became a pupil of 
the present Mr. Justice Bray. 

Turning his attention to Municipal matters, Mr. Nield 
obtained a seat for the High Cross Division of Tottenham on tlie 
County Council of Middlesex in March, 1895, after an election hotly 
contested on political lines. But his victory was well won, for he 
retained his seat without opposition in the subsequent elections of 
1898, 1901 and 1904. 

Education is one of Mr. Nield's strong points, and from 1 897 
to 1900 he was a member of the Tottenham School Board when that 
body was responsible for the tuition of some 25,000 children in daily 
attendance. In addition to tlie valuable work he does as a member of 
the Middlesex Education Committee, Mr. Nield is a member of the 
Committee of Management of the Tottenham Polytechnic and County 
School and a Governor of that very ancient foundation, Tottenham 
Grammar School. 



In 1906 Mr. Nield was elected an Alderman of Middlesex in 
succession to the late Mr. Davenport and lie also represents the 
County on the Lea Conservancy Board. His name was placed on the 
Commission of the Peace for Middlesex in the year 1897, and he was 
subsequently appointed one of the Visiting Magistrates of Wormwood 
Scrubs Prison, an office which he still holds. Mr. Nield is also Vice- 
Chairman of the Light Railways Committee of the Middlesex County 
Council, in which position he has done a great deal of hard work in 
connection with the tramway extensions of the last few years. He is, 
besides, Vice-Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee of that body. 

Politically, he is a strong Conservative, being as it were 
" born in the faith." Although he has always been resident in the 
County of Middlesex, Mr. Nield comes of an old North of England 
Tory family long dwelling on the borders of Yorkshire and Lancashire, 
where formerly they were landed proprietors and millowners. His 
father on coming south identified himself with the Conservative cause 
in Tower Hamlets — then apparently a hopelessly Radical constituency 
— and to his efforts was largely due the return of the Rt. Hon. C. T. 
Ritchie in 1874, when he first entered the House of Commons. 

Mr Herbert Nield himself served his Party for over seventeen 
years in Tottenham. He was Secretary and Treasurer of the Central 
Conservative Association for that Constituency and acted as voluntary 
election agent for Mr. Joseph Howard at the General Election in 1895 
and again in 1900. In 1904 Mr. Nield was selected as the 
Conservative candidate for Ealing and in Januar^'^, 1906, he was 
successful at the polls — succeeding the Rt. Hon. Lord George 
Hamilton, P.C., G.C.S.I., formerly Secretary of State for India, in the 
representation of that most important I'arliamentary division. Mr. 
Nield is and has been for years a member and an active speaker of the 
United Club, he also represents St. Stephen's Club, ( for which he is 
political secretary) on the governing body of the Association of 
Conservative Clubs. He is also a member of the Executive 
Committee and of the Council of the Home Counties Division of the 
National Union and in 1906 was elected one of three representatives 
of the Home Counties Division Central Council of the National Union 
of Conservative Associations, one of the most important positions in 
the world of Unionist orafanization. 

In the old days Mr. Nield was a member of several Local 
Parliaments, including the London Parliament and Debating Society 
meeting at the Memorial Hall, Farringdon Road, and the one-time 



celebrated Hackney Parliament, in which he hold office. As Premier 
of the North London Parliament — an amalgamation of the old 
Hackney and Islington societies — he in 189G prepared and brought in 
a Bill " To provide for more effective elementary and technical 
education in England and Wales," which, in several vital points, 
foreshadowed the Act subsequently passed by the Imperial Houses and 
which obtained for him the commendation of such men as Mr. Justice 
Grantham, the late Lord Stanhope, Sir Frederick Milner, the Bishop 
of Bristol, Dean Gregory and others. He is a member of the Church 
of England, and on the Council of the London Diocesan Home 
Mission. 

Mr. Nield married in 1890, Mary Catherine, daughter of the 
late John Baker, Esq., of Colyton, Devon, but who died in 1893, 
leaving two sons, Wilfred Herbert Everard, born 1891, and Alan 
Edgar, born 1893. In 1901, Mr. Nield married Mabel, second 
daughter of Sir Francis Cory-Wright, Bart., of Caen Wood Towers, 
Highgate. 

He is generally found at work, as the foregoing public 
positions would indicate, and which leave him but little leisure. 
Among his recreations is mUsic, and for some time he held an 
appointment as Honorary Organist at a London church. Among 
sports he has a declared preference for shooting. 

Bishop's Mead, The Bishop's Avenue, Hampstead Lane, is 
Mr. Nield's picturesque residence, situated but a short distance north of 
Hampstead Heath, and not far from the time honoured and historical 
Spaniards Inn. 





Chomas Bauman napicr. €sq., 
m.p., ££.D., 3.p. 



lARRISTER-AT-LAW and Member of Parliament for the 
Faversham Division of Kent, Dr. Napier, of 25, Hendon 
Lane, Finchley, is the eldest son of Richard Clay Napier, 
Esq., of West Cliff, Preston, Lanes., and Sarah, daughter 
of Thomas Bateman, Esq., of Salford. He was educated at Rugby 
and graduated at London University with First Class Honours in 
Law^ subsequently obtaining the Doctorate in the Faculty. 

Dr. Napier's student days were especially full of distinguished 
successes. In the Trinity Term of 1870 he was the Incorporated 
Law Society's Prizeman, being Scott Scholar and gaining the 
Conveyancing Gold Medal in the same year. In 1881, the year in 
which he gained his First Class Law Honours at the London 
University, he was also the Inner Temple Equity Scholar (Hilary Term). 
The corresponding term of the following year saw him Senior Student 
in Jurisprudence and Roman Law at the Inns of Court Examination 
and First Prizeman of the Council of the Legal Education School for 
Lectures on Roman Law, etc , while in the Trinity Term he gained 
Honours in the Bar Call Examination. 

Dr. Napier is now a Fellow of the University of London and 
was tor many years connected with the organization of the new 
University. He had a seat on the Senate for twelve years, always 
being a sturdy champion of the rights of Convocation. 



In 1893 Dr. Napier was elected a representative of North 
Islington on the Ijonclon Count}^ Council as a Progressive of 
the moderate type. He was Chairaian of the Corporate Property 
Committee for many years and, later, of the Parliamentary Committee 
for three years. 

His first political contest took jolace in 1895 when he opposed 
Sir George Bartley as the Parliamentary candidate for North 
Islington, but was not returned. In the same year he was made a 
Justice of the Peace for Middlesex, since when he has sat with 
considerable frequency on the Highgate Bench. In January, 1906, he 
stood as the Liberal candidate for the Faversham Division of Kent, 
and defeated his opponent, Capt. J. Howard, by 1,834 votes. 

Dr. Napier has travelled a great deal in Europe, one of his 
favourite recreations being mountaineeering, though he also pleads 
guilty to golf, cricket, tennis and rowing. He has written a number of 
legal books, including "A Concise Practice of Queen's Bench, 
Chancery Division." 

In 1882 Dr. Napier married Florence Emily, daughter of 
A. ,T. Eoberts, Esq., of Upminster, Essex. His eldest son is an 
excellent cricketer, having a place in the Cambridge XL and also 
playing for Middlesex. 

Dr. Napier's clubs are the Reform and the Eighty. 





COL. E. G. M. DONNITHORNE, J. P. 




EieutcnantColoncl e. 6. IK. Doniiitboriic, 3.p. 

GALLANT soldier and an English gentleman is Lieut.- 
Colonel Edward George Moore Donnithorne, J.P., of Colne 
Lodge, Middlesex. Though representing an ancient Cornish 
family, Colonel Donnithorne was born in Middlesex, at 
Twickenham, in 1842. He was educated at Cbiirterhouse, that 
historic Foundation which can proudly claim to have had the training 
of many great men, including Addison, Steele, John Wesley, Grote, 
Havelock and Thackeray. Thence he passed to the Royal Military 
Academy, Woolwich, subsequently being gazetted to the Scots Greys, 
in which regiment he rose to the rank of Lieut.-Colonel. 

Than the Army, of course, there is no better school for training 
in thoroughness and attention to detail, and this is probably how it is 
that these qualities now seem to be almost inherent in Cplonel 
Donnithorne. During his active military career he saw service in 
New Zealand, and received the medal struck in commemoration of 
that war, where he was present at the storming of the Gate Pah. 

Under Lord Strathnairn, Colonel Donnithorne also served 
through the Fenian insurrection in Ireland in 1866. He took the two 
captured American Irish leaders, Burke and Doran, from Kilmainham 
to receive their sentence for high treason. They were adjudged to be 
drawn on a hurdle to the place of execution and there to be hanged, 



drawn and quartered, and were the last in England to receive the old 
sentence for this crime. 

As the inventor of the wire entanglement system which is now 
so extensively used in warfare, Colonel Donnithorne can claim to have 
taken an important part in connection with the South African and 
Japanese wars. He submitted the idea to the War Office in 1884 and 
was sent to Chatham to demonstrate its value. 

That Colonel Donnithorne is of a practical turn of mind is 
shown by the fact that upon the expiration of Dr. Otto's patents for 
propulsion by the explosion of gas he was one of the first to pioneer 
the motor industry in England. For its extension the Colonel 
established at Twickenham the Colne Valley Engineering Cou)pany 
which was carried on successfully for five years, but was compelled to 
close its doors in 1894 in consequence of the general depression in the 
enafineering trade. 

Colonel Donnithorne married in 1875, Harriette Lucia, only 
daughter of the late John Alexander, Esq., of Milford House, Carlow, 
who was a former Member of Parliament for Carlow and Representative 
of the Earls of Stirling. 

As we have mentioned. Colonel Donnithorne is the descendant 
of a very ancient Cornish famil3^ The name was originally spelt 
De Bonython, and family records show that its members were 
located at Bonython prior to the Conquest and were resident for six 
hundred years afterwards at Carclew, Falmouth and St. Agnes, 
Cornwall. An inscription on a tankard belonging to Sir Langdon 
Bonython, late Premier of South Australia, shows that one of its 
members assisted at the Coronation of James I. as Cupbearer. 

While the senior line of the House of Bonython, of Bonython, 
terminated in 1725, the direct line of the family of Bonython of 
Carclew flourished until 1860. This was founded by the marriage in 
1190 of Richard de Bonython, second son of Symon de Bonython, to 
Isabelle D'Aungiers, the heiress of Carclew. A prominent scion of 
this branch was Nicholas Donnithorne of St. Agnes, Cornwall, who 
married Anna, daughter of Thomas Comyn, Esq., of Barking, Essex, 
the lineal descendant and representative of the Comyns of Badenoch 
and the Red Comyn who was murdered by Robert Bruce in 1306. 

Mr. Donnithorne was Warden of the Stannaries to the Prince of 
Wales. He died in 1796, leaving two sons and five daughters. The 




MRS. DONNITHORNE. 



eldest son Isaac succeeding to the Estates of Ilayne Castle, Devon, 
assumed the n;',uie and arms of Mohun-Harris, an ancient Devonian 
family, the descendants of Robert de L'Aisne or Hay ne, Earl of Mortain, 
younger brother of William the Conqueror. His son Hugo, became 
Duke of Cornwall and the Ha^^ne Estates were bestowed on him by the 
Conqueror. Charles II. was secreted at Hayne for some days durin^ 
his tlight from Worcester. The second son James, of Holmer, 
Hereford, and St, Agnes, Cornwall, was Judge Chief Commissioner 
and Governor of the Bengal Mint. He married in 1807, Sarah, 
daughter of Captain Bampton, R.N., the Pacific navigator and 
discoverer of the islands which bore his name. Dying at Sydney.New 
South Wales, Judge Donnithorne left two sons and three daughters. 
The eldest son dying, without issue, his second son, Edward Harris 
Donnithorne, of Colne Lodge, D.L. and J.P. for Middlesex, became 
a Lieutenant in the 16th Queen's Lancers. He was born in 1810 
and married in 1834, Elizabeth Jane, 3'oungest daughter of the Rev. 
George Moore, Rector of Sowton, Devon, and by her had two sons and 
three daughters, of whom the eldest is Colonel Donnithorne. 

As a Justice of the Peace for the County, Colonel Donnithorne 
has always shown that he believes in fulfilling his obligations without 
fear or favour. Few gentlemen are better versed in public matters 
than he, and few bring to bear upon them a more unbiassed mind, or 
sounder judgment. In the performance of his various public and 
private duties he has always been actuated by the loftiest of motives, 
and by the one desire to do his best for all concerned. 

A staunch Conservative in politics. Colonel Donnithorne is 
also an ardent advocate of Tariff Reform, believing that in that 
direction lies the main solution for many of the commercial troubles 
which distress and threaten the Empire. 

Colonel Donnithorue's town residence is 76, Queen's Gate, 
Kensington. 





MONTAGU SHARPE, Esq.. D.L.. J.P. 




montaflu SDarpe, €$q*, DX., 3*P* 

^H 

[HE only son of the late Capt. Benjamin Sharps, R.N., of 
Hanwell Park, Middlesex, Mr. Montagu Sharpe was born in 
1 856. He is a Justice of the Peace for Middlesex and West- 
minster (1883), and a Deputy Lieutenant of the County 
(L888). Since 1896 he has been Deputy Chairman of the Court of 
Quarter Sessions and Vice-Chairman of the County Council of Middle- 
sex since its formation in 1889. Barrister, Grays Inn, 1889. He is 
Chairman of the Brentford Petty Sessions and of the Commissioners 
of Taxes ; President and Treasurer of the Hanwell Cottage Hospital ; 
President of the Brentford Division of the League of Mercy, and a 
member of the Council of the League, and has been awarded the 
Order of Mercy ; Chairman of the Council of the Royal Society for 
the Protection of Birds — in which connection he has done much to 
preserve the wild birds of Middlesex and to promote legislation and 
nature study by County competitions ; and he has been Chairman 
of the Hanwell Conservative Association since 1883, etc. 

Mr. Sharpe is a well-known Freemason. He is P.G. Deacon of 
the Grand Lodge of England and was the Founder of the Jersey 
and of the Horsadun liodges. He is also Treasurer of Hobbaynes' 
Charity, Hanwell, which v/as founded in 1484 ; a Director and one of 
' the promoters of the Egyptian Delta Light Railways, of the Tendring 
Hundred Water Company, and Chairman of John Birch and 
Company. 



Mr. Sharpe is the author of " Some Antiquities of Middlesex," 
and " The Vill by the Old Brent Ford." 

His favourite recreations are boating, photography and the 
workshop. For three years Mr. Sharpe was the winner of the 
Civil Service Mile Challenge Cup. He forraerl}' hunted with the 
Queen's and Sir R. B. Harvey's hounds. 

In 1888 Mr. Sharpe married Mary Annie, only daughter of the 
late Capt. J. Parsons, R.N. 

Mr. Sharpe's Middlesex residence is Brent Lodge, Hanwell. 
His town address 3, Elm Court, Temple, E.G., and liis club tjie 
Junior Carlton. 





PERCIVAL BOSANQUET, Esq., D.L. J.P. 



PerciDal Bosanquett esq*, DX-, 3-P- 

FAMILY possessed of the rich assets of brain power, mental 
and physical vigour and commercial genius, which was 
amongst the many founded in England as a consequence of 
the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, is that of Bosauquet, 

which has now for centuries been held of the highest repute in the 

bankino- world. 




'& 



The House was originally settled in Languedoc, and when 
Louis XIV. issued his drastic proclamation againbt the Huguenots, 
two of its cadets fled to England, there to rebuild fortunes which 
their swift flight from France temporarily ruined. One of these 
refugees was David Bosanquet who came to England in 1686 and v/as 
subsequently naturalised. So firm was he in his religious convictions 
that he refused a legacy of 1,800 livres left him by his father on 
condition that he returned to Franco and became a Roman Catholic. 
His descendant, Jacob Bosanquet, of Broxbournebury, Herts, was 
High Sheriff for that County in 1803, an office which was also held by 
his eldest son, George, in 1833. 

Mr. Percival Bosan(|uet, who is the second son of Augustus 
Henry Bosanquet, Esi]., of Osidge, Southgate, by Louisa Piiscilla, 
eldest daughter of David Bevan, Esq., of Belmont, East Barnet, and 
Fosbury Manor, Hungerford, was born at 13, Hanover Terrace, 
Regent's Park, on the 30th December, 1831. He began his education 
at the Kev. William Browne's school at Cheam, Surrey, afterwards 
studying under the Rev. R. B. Mayor, at Rugby School ; thence 
going to Dr. Wagner's academy at Korb, near Stuttgardt. 



For some time after enteviiiL,' the commercial arena, Mr. 
Bosanquet trailed as a West India merchant, but retired iu 1883. He 
is now a Director of the Alliance Assurance Corporation, the Union of 
London and Smith's Bank and the Provincial Bank of Ireland. 

In 1859 Mr. Bosanquet married Charlotte Louisa, daughter of 
Richard Bevan, Esq., of Higli Cliff Lodge, Brighton, and has three 
sons. 

A Justice of the Peace for Middlesex, as also for Westminster 
and Hertfordshire, of which latter County he is also a Deputy 
Lieutenant, Mr. Bosanquet is diligent in the discharge of the duties of 
his position. Like the members of his family of whom earlier mention 
was made, he has also served Hertfordshire as High Sheriff', which 
appointment he held in 189G 

A vigorous Conservative, and one who thoroughly believes in the 
urgent necessity for Tariff Reform, Mr. Bosanquet has frequently 
proved his worth as an able and impressive public speaker, his utter- 
ances showing him to be possessed of high ideals and broad views. To 
the consideration of problems that may be under discussion, he brings 
a n)ind singularly free from bias and prejudice and the disciplined 
faculties of a keen and well-informed observer of public affairs. He 
was for some years Ruling Councillor of the Barnet and Hertford 
Habitations of the Primrose League. 

In religion Mr. Bo.sanquet is an Evangelical Churchman. He 
resides at Ponfield, Little Berkhamstead, Hertford. 





GEORGE DUNBAR WHATMAN, Esq., D.L., J. P. 




fieorse Dunbar WDatman, esq., DX-, 3-P- 

[HE eldest sou of William Godfrey Whatman, Esq., of 73, 
Lombard Street, J^ondoii, and the grandson of James 
Whatman, Esq , of Vinters Park, Maidstone, Mr. George 
Dunbar Whatman was born February 21st., 184G. He was 
educated at Eton College, that famous Foundation 

" Where grateful science still adores 
Her Henry's holy shade" — 

a jjoetic allusion by Gray to Henry VI., who established the College 
in 1440 under the title of " The College of the Blessed Mary of Eton 
beside Windsor " 

From Eton Mr. Whatman went to Oxford, where he graduated 
B.A. in 1867 at Exeter College — a College originally known as 
Staplcdon Hall, in memory of its Founder, Walter de Stapledon, 
Bishop of Exeter, sometime Lord High-Treasurer of England, who 
removed to this place his scholars from Hart Hall, and made a 
foundation for a rector and twelve fellows. 

Adopting his father's profession, that of a banker, Mr. Whatman 
subsequently became a partner in the private bank of Messrs. 
Bosanquet, Salt and Co., of 73, Lombard Street, E.C. In 1884 this 
was amalgamated with Lloyd's Bank, Ltd., of which famous institution 
Mr. Whatman is a Director. He holds a similar position in the Bank 
of British North America, the Provincial Bank of Ireland, the 
Liverpool, London, and Globe Insurance Co., and the Anglo 
Foreign Banking Company. 



Mr. Whatman married in April, 1872, Frances, the eldest 
daughter of George Arthur Fuller, Esq., Banker, of The Rookery, 
Dorking, and 77, Lombard Street, E.G., and has an only .son, Arthur 
Dunbar Whatman, born 1873. 

In 187G Mr. Whatman was appointed one of H.M. Lieutenants 
for the City of London. In 1885 he was placed on the Commission 
of the Peace for . Middlesex and serves in a similar capacity for the 
County of London. 

A Conservative in politics, Mr. Whatman has no sympathy at 
all with the avowed principles of Radicalism, and >is keenly opposed to 
change for the mere sake of change. Neither does he believe in State 
interference in the ordinary affairs of men's lives. Mr. Whatman does 
not rely ujjon others for his opinions, but strikes out on his own 
responsibility and judgment. He is a gentleman with a high sense of 
honour, and is possessed of broad and generous sympathies. 

The family which Mr. Whatman represents is proud of its 
descent from a race of independent Kentish yeoman of Saxon times. 
A prominent member of the family in the eighteenth century was 
James Whatman, Esq., who was born in 1741 and in 1767 was High 
Sheriff for Kent. The association with the banking world was begun 
in his time, for he mnrried as his second wife, in 1776, Susannah, the 
eldest daughter of Jacob Bosanquet, Esq., banker, while in 1798 his 
second daughter married Samuel Bosanquet, Esq., of Dingestow 
Court, Co. Monmouth. 

Mr. Whatman resides at 2, Granley Gardens, South Kensington, 
S.W. His clubs are the Windham, White's, the WelHngton and 
Hurlingham, and he is a member of the Marylebone Cricket Club. 





LUKE HOWAED, E^q., F.E.S. 




CDe l>ou)ard Fattiilp. 

JINCE the first Domesday Survey was made, Tottenham has 
been able to point with pride to a considerable number of 
great men who have sojourned within its borders. But, 
probably, few of these have so firmly impressed their 
beneficent personality upon the district as the members of the 
Howard family, whose connection with Tottenham lasted for consider- 
ably over a century and of whose great-hearted kindness and untiring 
efforts for the welfare of the neighbourhood those who knew them best 
are never tired of telling. 

The first of the family to settle in Tottenham was Mr. Luke 
Howard, who was born in 1772, and whose name is known all the 
world over as one of the founders of the science of meteorology and for 
having given to the chief cloud formations the names by which they 
are still known. Luke's father, Robert Howard, who amassed a 
considerable fortune in London by manufacturing iron and tin goods, 
was the chief introducer of the Argand lamp. Like many of his 
descendants, he possessed a facile pen and his pamphlet on "Corn 
and Quakers " is interesting reading. This was published in 1800 to 
dpfend the members of the Society of Friends from the imputation 
thai they were doing all in their power to raise the price of corn. 

A Quaker like his father, Luke was educated from his eighth to 
his fifteenth year at a private school at Burford in Oxfordshire, where, 
he complained in later life, he " learned too much Latin grammar and 



too little of anything else." Whatever be the correct view on this 
point, his maturer life showed that he had acquired the precious 
capacity to use and develop his own brain power and that while at 
school he was started upon the intellectual path which ultimately led 
to his becoming what Emerson has described as " an accurate and deep 
man." 

Chemistry being the science which in his teens chiefly 
attracted the lad, he was apprenticed to a Stockport druggist and his 
determination to make his mark is shown by the fact that after 
business hours he taught himself French, botany and scientific 
chemistry. 

In 1793 he opened his own business as a chemist in London, 
near Temple Bar. Thi-ee years later, with William Allen — another 
Friend- — he was a partner in the retail business in Plough Court, 
Lombard Street, now known as Allen and Hanburys, Limited. At 
that time the larger proportion of medicinal substances were of 
vegetable and animal origin, the number of chemicals in use being 
comparatively few. But as the demand for the latter grew, Allen and 
Howard decided uj^on opening a factory in which pharmaceutical 
chemicals could be prepared on a manufacturer's scale. As a result, in 
1797, a piece of land was secured at Plaistow and near there Luke 
Howard went to live, he superintending the manufacturing branch of 
the business, while Allen remained in the City. Success followed the 
venture and at the beginning of the nineteenth century, larger premises 
being needed, a move was made to Stratford where an old distillery, 
known as the City Mills, was acquired. About this time the 
partnership with Allen was dissolved, but Luke Howard retained the 
Stratford works and there founded the firm of manufacturing chemists 
which has acquired a world-wide reputation as Howards and Sons. 

When Luke Howard first went to Stratford, the Marshes near 
which the Mills were situated were a great waste of undrained land 
but sparsely dotted with houses, and with the heron and the wild duck 
ranking as their most numerous denizens. Now, the Marshes are 
almost non-existent and the land is covered with houses, factories and 
tenements, forming one of outer London's greatest centres of industrial 
enterprise. 

But active as was Luke Howard's interest in his business, it by 
no means absorbed his entire mental activities. Possessed of a brain 
which was keen, virile and exceptionally well trained, he was always in 
the forefront of the mental progress of his time. He became a Fellow 




ROBERT HOWARD, Esc^. 



of the Royal Society and also a member of the Linnean Society, before 
which latter association he in 1800 read an interesting " Account of a 
Microscojjic Investigation of Several Species of Pollen with remarks 
and questions on the Structure and Use of that part of Vegetables," a 
paper which has proved a fruitful starting point for research by 
botanists who have succeeded him. 

Another scientific society with which Luke Howard was 
prominently connected was the Askesian, to which almost all the 
leaders of scientific thought at that time belonged. It was before this 
select coterie that in 1802 he first read his famous paper on " Modifi- 
cations of the Clouds." It is by his studies on this subject that he is 
chiefly remembered to-day, for he proved to be a pioneer whose 
followers have seen no reason for altering the nomenclature he then 
assigned to the chief formations. 

One very interesting result of Luke Howard's studies in this 
direction was his correspondence with Goethe. The famous German 
was attracted by some of Howard's theories concerning clouds, and 
desired to know something of the writer's personal history. Howard's 
response was an autobiographical sketch, and Goethe in return sent 
him a short poem entitled '' Howard's Ehrengedachtniss," and a 
description in verse of the chief cloud forms according to his 
correspondent's classifications. Another correspondence which occupied 
a considerable place in Luke Howard's life was that with Dalton, the 
propounder of the atomic theory, who like Howard was a member of 
the Society of Friends. It is worthy of note that towards the close of 
the eighteenth century, many of the prominent thinkers of the day 
belonged to this Society, the members of which Howard himself 
described as having formed a " special compact to shun the priest and 
live peaceably with all men and in unity as brothers, sweai-ing not at 
all, and taking care of each other in a religious way." 

Yet another scientific direction in which Luke Howard became 
a pioneer was in the study of meteorology. It was in 1806 that he first 
began to pursue his investigations. He kept a register and in 1833 
publi-shed his work on •' The Climate of London," in which he brought 
his observations down to the year 1830. Despite the fact that his 
instruments were far from the ])erfect ones which an investigator of 
to-day would be able to employ, Howard's work still remains a standard 
authority on the subject, and is indeed almost the only record of 
observations of the character made in the early part of the 19th 
<;entury. 



His scientific interests by no means filled the whole of Luke 
Howard's life. The greater part of his leisure was devoted to 
philanthropic and religious work. He was a contributor to the 
periodical literature of his day, one of his chief efforts being " The 
Yorksliireuian," a veil varied miscellany of religious and literary 
articles which he edited from 1833-37. As a member of the Committee 
of the Bible Society he took an active part in the controversy 
concernitig the circulation of the Apocrypha, considering that it should 
be included in Bibles intended for countries where Roman Catholicism 
flourished. He also published some English translations of the 
Apocrypha from the Vulgate. 

As would be expected, Luke Howard was a zealous supporter 
of the anti-slaver}'^ agitation, hating tyranny in any form. He also 
actively assisted the movements for the relief of the German peasants 
in districts ravaged by the Napoleonic wars subsequent to the retreat 
from Moscow. In this connection he visited Gez-many for the purpose 
of superintending the distribution of the funds raised by himself and his 
friends, and received from the Kings of Prussia and Saxony and the 
Free City of Magdeburg generous acknowledgments of his exertions. 

It was in 1812 that Luke Howard first made his home in 
Tottenham. His house stood on the North side of Tottenham Green 
and was one of two built upon the site where had previously stood the 
mansion of Sir Abraham Reynaldson, a Lord Mayor of London. This 
house was erected in 1590. Reynaldson, who was Lord Mayor of 
London in 1649, was an ardent Royalist, and refused to proclaim the 
Act abolishing the kingly power in England. As a consequence, he 
was by Parliament discharged from his Mayoralty, was fined £2,000 
and committed to prison. He died at his Tottenham residence in 1661 
and the public grief displayed at his funeral was eloquent testimony to 
the firm hold he had upon the affections of those amongst whom his 
life had been spent. From 1752-1810 his house was occupied by the 
Foster family who there maintained a boarding school which attained 
considerable repute. 

Luke Howard married in 1796, Mariabella, the daughter of 
John Eliot of London, and later of Tottenham, who was also a writer, 
amongst the works she published being " The Young Servant's Own 
Book." She died in 1852. Their notable sons were Robert 
Howard, F.C.S., who was born in 1801, and died in 1871, and John 
Eliot Howard, F.R.S., F.I.S., born in 1809 and who is known as " the 
greatest of British quinologists." Luke Howard outlived his wife by 




JOHN ELIOT HOWARD, Es^., F.R.S., F.L.S. 



twelve years, dying at Bruce Grove on the 21st March, 1864, in the 
92nd year of his age. 

Robert Howard entered the chemical works in 1816, his brother 
John Eliot following him seven years later. Both inherited their 
father's keen analytical and scientific brain, but devoted their attention 
almost entirely to chemical matters. Robert was one of the earliest 
members of the Chemical Society, and both he and John Eliot Howard 
assisted in the formation of the Pharmaceutical Society which was 
incorporated in 1843. 

It is with the manufacture of quinine that the name of Howard 
and Sons became most widely celebrated, and great impetus was given 
to their cultivation of this branch by the investigations of John Eliot 
Howard. Like his father, he was a member of the Lirinean Society 
and also became a Fellow of the Royal Society. In 1852 he 
published a report on the collection of cinchona bark in the British 
Museum made by the Spanish botanist, Pavon. As a sequel to 
his studies he purchased from Madrid in 1858 the manuscript of 
the " Nueva Quinologia" and the specimens of cinchona bark 
belonging to Pavon. He employed a botanical artist to illustrate 
the work, and published in 1862 the elaborate "Illustrations of 
the ' Nueva Quiiinologia ' of Pavon and Observations on the bark 
described." His second great book, published in 1869 on " The 
Quinology of the East India Plantations," was the result of his 
examination of the bark and of the forms of cinchona introduced into 
India from the Andes by Markham, Spruce, and Cross. To John 
Eliot Howard himself was largely due the honour of introducing the 
cultivation of this bark into India and Ceylon. In his spacious 
gardens at Lord's Meade, Tottenham, he cultivated a great number 
of the young plants for experimental purposes and thence many of 
them were exported to trojDical plantations. He was also keenly 
interested in watching the results of hybridising the cinchonas. For 
his research on this subject he received the thanks of the Government. 

Like his father, John Eliot Howard evinced a deep interest in 
religious study. He was Vice-president of the Victoria Institution, 
where he delivered an address on " Science and Revelation." He 
died at Lord's Meade on the 22nd November, 1883. 

In succession to Robert Howard, the carrying on of the firm 
of Howards and Sons devolved upon the surviving partners, one of 
whom was Col. Samuel Lloyd-Howard, C.B., eldest son of Robert 
Howard. The Colonel retired in 1897 and died in 1901. The 



business is now a Limited Company, being under the Chairmanship of 
Robert Howard's fourth son, Mr. David Howard, D.L., J.P., whose 
co-directors are his brother, Mr. Theodore Howai-d, and his sons, Mr. 
David Lloyd Howard, F.C.S., and Mr. Bernard Farnborough Howard, 
his nephew, Mr. Geoffrey E. Howard and Mr. Alfred Graveley 
Howard, F.C.S., the son of Mr. Joseph Howard, Tottenham's former 
Member of Parliament. 

Mr. Joseph Howard's brother, Mr. William Dillworth Howard 
(the elder son of John Eliot Howard) was for nearly half a century 
associated with the firm, but retired in 1901. Like all the 
members of his family, Mr. Dillworth Howard is prominent amongst 
the philanthropists. An organisation in which he takes special 
interest is the London City Mission, to which he has given many a 
helping hand. 

Such are a few of the " footprints on the sands of time " left by 
members of a family which Tottenham honours for its unflinching 
examples of uprightness and loyalty to duty and because the lives of 
its members have been fruitful in labours, useful to the community and 
honourable to the individuals. Whether as scholars, religionists or 
philanthropists, it has ever been the pride of the Howards to be 
amongst those who love their fellow men. Many are the persons who 
have had reason, and still have, to utter the name of Howard with 
feelings of thankfulness and gratitude. We are told that to do good 
truly and trustfully is the healthiest of humanity's conditions ; and 
great, far-reaching, but always unostentatious has been the good done 
by the Howards. 





WM. DILLWOKTH HOWARD, Esq. 





ALFRED G, HOWARD, Esq., F.C.S. 



THEODORE HOWARD, Esq. 





D. LLOYD HOWARD, Esq., F.C.S. 



DAVID HOWARD, Esq., D.L, J.P. 




JOSEPH HOWARD, Esq., J.P. 




fON of the late J. Eliot Howard, F.R.S., and Maria, 
daughter of the late William Dillworth Crt'wdson, banker, of 
Kendal, Mr. Joseph Howard belongs to a family which has 
been connected with Tottenham for over a century. Mr. 
Howard's grandfather, Mr. Luke Howard, F.R.S., was an authority on 
meteorology. In 1803, when quite a young man, he read before the 
Royal Society and published, a paper giving the results of his 
researches into cloud formation. In this he assigned to the several 
types of clouds names which have since been universally adopted, 
and to this day in any discussion of this branch of study of 
the heavenly phenomena the name of Howard is of frequent occur- 
rence. Mr. Howard's father was likewise made a Fellow of 
the Royal Society in recognition of his scientific investigation 
of the several properties of chinchona barks, made in cunnection with 
the well-known firm of Howards & Sons, who were pioneers in the 
manufacture of quinine. 

Mr. Howard was born at Lord's Mead, Tottenham— a house 
since demolished — in 1834. He was educated at University College, 
London. He took his B.A. degree at London University in 1853 and 
was called to the Bar (Lincoln's Inn) in 1856. He has, however, not 
practised since 1867, and has for many years been engaged in the iron 
tube trade at 50, Cannon Street, E.C. 



Mr. Howard married in 1859 Ellen, daughter of Henry 
Waterhouse, and a cousin of Alfred Waterhouse, the celebrated archi- 
tect, and has a family of five sons and two daughters. He is a Justice 
of the Peace for the County of Middlesex, and a member of the Justices' 
ParHamentary Committee of the Court of Quarter Sessions. He is 
also one of H.M.'s Lieutenants for the City of London. When the 
County Council was created in 1888, Mr. Howard was elected an 
Alderman, and he has been connected with the County government 
ever since. 

In politics Mr. Howard is a Conservative. He represented 
Tottenham at St. Stephen's from 1885 to 1905, when he declined to 
stand again. 

Mr. Howard's town house is 18, Kensington Court, and his club 
is the Carlton. 





COL. BOWLES, J. P. 




MRS. BOWLES. 




Colonel !>♦ ?* Bowles, 3-P* 

^^ 

OLONEL Bowles lives on his father's estate at Forty Hall. 
The Mansion was designed by Inigo Jones. The handsome 
gateway to the stables is still intact. 

The house contains many details fascinating to the connoisseur. 
In the drawing room there is a beautiful old ceiling of plaster and also 
in two bedrooms ; and some of the panelling is very good. 

On the ground floor, in the Pillar Room, a portrait of Sir 
Nicholas Raynton, by Dobson (the pupil of Vandyke), is let into the 
wall over the fireplace. This is an admirable work of art, and is in a 
very good state of preservation. 

Colonel Bowles is the " Father " of the Middlesex County 
Council, having been elected on the first Council in 1889, and has 
represented Enfield on it ever since. For many years he has been 
Vice-Chairman of the Education Committee. 

From 1889-1906 Colonel Bowles represented the Enfield 
Division of the County in Parliament. 



At Forty Hall there are aquaria with a collection of Sea 
Anemones. There are specimens from all parts of the world, 
reminding us of how the poets also have been charmed by their 
attractions. Southey wrote : — 

" Here, too, were living flowers. 
Which like a bud compacted 
Their purple cups contracted ; 
And now in open blossom spread, 
Stretch'd like green anthers many a seeking head." 

We have also been told that 

" Seas have — 
As well as earth — vines, roses, nettles, melons, 
Mushrooms, pinks, gilliflowers, and many millions 
Of other plants, more rare, more strange than these, 
As very fishes, living in the seas." 

And many such glories are in the aquaria at Forty Hall. In addition, 
there are prawns from the Island of Sark and other wonders of the 
deep. For instance, there are three-tailed gold fish from Japan and 
various aquatic freaks. There are, besides, several brilliant specimens 
of reptiles, lizards from the South of France and from Spain, tree frogs 
and Indian lizards. 

Colonel Bowles married in 1889 the third daughter of John L. 
Broughton, Esq., of Tunstall and Almington Halls, Shropshire. 





THE PILLAR EOOM, FORTY HALL, ENFIELD. 




IN THE WOOD AT FORTY HALL. 




FORTY HALL, ENFIELD. 




rOflTY HALL, ENFIELD. 









" 4 


4 

« 

4 



p. W. p. CARLYON-BRITTON, Esq.. J.P. 




p. W. p. CarlponBrmoii. €sq., 3.p. 

^-i-- 

fLTHOUGH for long associated with the County of Middlesex, 
Mr. Carlyon-Britton derives from a West country family, 
who have been seated for the last four centuries at Bitten, 
in the County of Gloucester, in which Parish is situated 
Hanhaui Court, the seat of Mr. Carlyon-Britton, who is a De})uty 
Lieutenant for that County and Lord of the Manor of Hanham Abbots 
or West Hanham. 

The earliest mention of the family at Bitton is met with in the 
Subsidy Rolls of the 14th and 15th years of Henry VIII., where the 
names of Thomas Breton and John Breton occur as paying the subsidy 
in the tithing or hamlet of Oldland in the Parish above mentioned. 
From that date the name of Breton, in that form and its derivative of 
Brittoa, regularly occurs. Thomas and John Breton were descended 
through a'femily of tliat name in Essex from Nicholas Breton, of 
Layer°Breton, in that County, who was living there in the early part of 
the fifteenth century. 

At an earlier date the name is met with in the Counties of 
Gloucester, Somerset, Devon, and Cornwall, the first progenitors being 
Alured, Ansger and Joscelyne Brito, who came from Brittany as 
members of the Army of Alan, Duke of Brittany, in the wake of 
William the Conqueror. As tenants in chief of the King^ they and 
their sons soon received grants of various Manors in the Counties of 



Gloucester, Somerset, Devon and Cornwall as well as in Essex and 
other Counties, and reference to such tenures can be found in Domesday 
Book. 

Of the Britton family a prominent member was Simon Gage 
Britton, M.D., of King's Close, Barnstaple, Devon, who was a surgeon 
in the Royal Navy and was present on board the "Victory" at the 
battle of Trafalgar. 

Mr. Carlyon-Britton, the present head of the family, was born 
on the 13th of October, 1863, at Bristol, being the elder son of the late 
Henry William Britton, of " Caer Brito," Ashley Hill, Bristol, by his 
wife, Hannah Canter, daughter and sole heir of the late Benjamin 
Poole, of Summerhill House, St. George's, near Bristol. 

He was educated at Manila Hall School, Clifton, and elected 
to follow the legal profession. Passing his Final Examination with 
honours, he was admitted a Solicitor of the Supreme Court in the year 
1886 and has since practised in London. He is on the Commission of 
the Peace for the County of Middlesex and is Under Sheriff for the 
County, 1906-7. He was formerly Captain 1st V. B. Royal Fusiliers, 
and subsequently Captain, 3rd Batt. Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers. 

In other directions Mi*. Carlyon-Britton has been no less active, 
his sympathies being largely directed to Antiquarian matters. He is a 
Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London and of The Royal 
Society of Antiquaries (Ireland), and is also a Fellow of the Royal 
Numismatic Society. Considering that the last mentioned Society did 
not devote sufficient attention to Numismatic matters of an essentially 
British nature, he himself, with the co-operation of Mr. W. J. 
Andrew, F.S.A., and Mr. L. A. Lawrence, F.R C.S., founded in 1903 
the British Numismatic Society, of which he was unanimously elected 
President, a position he has since continued to hold. This latter 
Society under his energetic care has in puint of membership and 
otherwise long surpassed the older organization. 

In politics he is a Conservative and has taken a very active part 
in the Parliamentary organization in Middlesex. 

He married 8th September, 1886, Agnes Cassandra, daughter 
of the late Charles Alfred Carlyon, B.A., of Quemerford, co. Wilts, 
and Kirby Muxloe, co. Leicester, a member of an ancient Cornish 
family. Mrs. Carlyon-Britton is twenty-first in descent from King 
Edward III., tracing back to her Plantagenet ancestors through the 
families of Winstanley, Prideaux of Netherton, Grenville, St. Leger, 




MKS. CARLYON-BKITTON. 



Neville, Staftord, Percy, and Mortimer. She has also many other 
lines of descent from Edward III. and earlier Kinsrs. 

By License under the Royal Sis^n Manual, dated 29th April, 
1897, Mr. Carlyon-Britton was permitted to assume the name of 
Carlyon in addition to his own name and to quarter the Arms of 
Carlyon with those of Britton. 

Of the above mentioned marriage there has been issue three 
sons and one daughter, the eldest son being Winstanley Carlyon- 
Britton, born 26th July, 1887, and educated at Harrow. He is a 
Lieutenant 1st V.B. The Royal Fusiliers, while the second son, Henry 
Courtney Carlyon-Britton is a Royal Naval Cadet (Cadet Captain, 
1906). 

The London residence of Mr. Carlyon-Britton is 14, Oakwood 

Court, Kensington. 






; 

4 


1 


I 


^■mSMSi^i 


k<^ 


1 






F 



GEORGE W. BARBER, Esq., J.P. 




George William Barber, esq*, 3,p. 

hH 

|F according to the old proverb, those nations are the happiest 
which have no history, may it not be stated with greater 
truth that those Hves are happiest whose records are least 
full of incident ? Each man seeks his own enjoyment after 
his particular fashion. But to have been an actor in great events, to 
have known many men and cities, does not necessarily add much to 
the sum of human happiness. Anyway, Mr. George William Barber, 
albeit an active public man, has not sought to make his life eventful 
by noisy self-advertisement or popularity hunting. Quietly, but 
earnestly, he has done invaluable work for his County, with the result 
that he is known and widely respected as a man of sterling qualities 
and sound views. 

The eldest son of the late George Henley Barber, Esq., J.P., 
CO., of The Elms, Hounslow, and Julia Sophia, daughter of the late 
James Shoolbred, Esq., of The Elms, Acton, Mr. G. W. Barber was 
born on the 16th October, 1858, at Stanley House, Addison Road, W., 
and received his early education at Uppingham School. 

All his life Mr. Bai'ber has believed thoroughly in the gospel 
of hard work, and both as a Justice of the Pence for JSIiddlesex and as 
a member of the County Council, on which he sits for the Hounslow 
Division, he has never spared or begrudged a minute in helping to 
further the best interests of Middlesex, and no one will deny that in 
these capacities he has rendered very substantial services to the 
County. He has always given of his time and his abilities freely and 
cheerfully, and has certainly discharged his duties most thoroughly 
and faithfully. 



In politics INIr. Barber is a staunch Conservative. As Chairman 
of the Council of the Central Conservative Association for the Brent- 
ford Division of Middlesex, and also as Chairman of the Hounslow 
Conservative Association, he is a well known and always popular 
speaker at the gatherings of the Party in those districts, for he has 
stedfastly shown that he is always ready to serve the Cause with his 
voice, as well as with his vote. 

Mr. Barber is a thoroughly practical politician and does not 
believe in deluding the poor working man's fancy with golden visions 
far more impossible of realization than was Robert Owen's " New 
Harmony," More's '* Utopia," or J)r Johnson's "Hapjjy Valley." In 
politics, as in everything else, Mr. Barber prefers as far as possible the 
concret(% and turns aside from everything opposed to common sense. 

It must not, however, be thought that he is indifferent to the 
interests of the working classes, for no one is more desirous than he to 
brighten their prospects and increase their comforts. The genuineness 
of his desires in this respect he has often proved by his work for their 
welfare as a Middlesex County Councillor. 

Mr. Barber having performed during many years so much 
sound political work for his Party, and being himself an attractive 
personality in political circles, it is not surprising that, whatever his 
own wishes on the subject may be, his numerous friends would find 
genuine and permanent pleasure in witnessing him one day consenting 
to lend his great energy and ability to a wider sphere of usefulness on 
behalf of his Party by going to St. Stephen's, if not as the representa- 
tive of Brentford, perhaps of some other constituency. The first 
difficulty is in })ersuading Mr. Barber on the point and of breaking- 
down his reserve in the matter. 

Himself a keen sportsman, being particularly fond of shooting, 
he attaches great importance to the encouragement amongst the rising- 
generation of all manly outdoor exercises. He believes in all young- 
people being brought up with a zest for healthy, honourable sport, and 
this fact accounts for Mr. Barber's enthusiastic support always 
willingly accorded to local movements in his own district for the 
success and furtherance of athletic games. 

Mr. Barber, who is unmarried, resides at Park House, 
Englefield Green. His clubs are the Junior Carlton, St. Stephen's 
and the City Carlton. 



Arthur PpcSmitl), €sq., 3.p., fli.l.C.e. 




JNE of the members of the Highgatc Bench of Justices is 
Arthur Pye-Smith, Esq., of 6, The Grove, Highgate. He 
was born in 1845 in BilHter Square and was educated at 
Amersham Hill, where among his schoolfellows were Mr. 
Augustine Birrell and Lord Justice Cozens-Hardy. 

Ml-. Pye-Smith took up the profession of a Civil Engineer and 
subsequently spent some three years on official service for the British 
Government in Bombay. Since 1875 he has been a partner and 
Director of the St. Pancras Iron Works. 

In politics Mr. Pye-Smith is a Liberal Unionist with strong 
Free Trade views, and from 1886 up to its dissolution in 1905 he was 
Chairman of the St. Pancras Liberal Unionist Association. He has 
been active as a Free Churchman and was Chairman of the London 
Consfreo'ational Union in 1896. 

Mr. Pye-Smith does not i)lay golf, but in his earlier years was 
an enthusiastic cricketer. To-day his favourite recreation is cycling. 
He is fond of books and pictures, and although he would not describe 
himself as in anyway a collector, his bachelor residence holds many 
literary and artistic treasures, including some of the very earliest 
examples of printing and some fine Elzevirs. 

He is a member of tlie Savile and National Liberal Clubs. 



ntw Countp fliderman fieorfle WrisM, 3.p. 




E. GEORGE WRIGHT, of the Manor Lodge, East Acton 
is a member of an old SuflFolk family, but he has lived in 
Acton for nearly forty years, and few men have identified 
themselves more closely than he has with the parish and the 
County of their adoption. He was the founder of the firm of George 
Wright and Co., the great billiard table makers, and though it is many 
years since he severed his connection with it, the name remains 
unchanged. Brickmaking has, however, been the real business of his 
life, and it is perhaps natural that it should have been so, for his 
famil}' for five generations have been making the famous Suffolk white 
bricks. His first " field " was at Acton Vale, where for a very long 
period bricks were made in large quantities, and he has now fields 
at Edmonton, Bracknell, and Tolworth, with a depot at Acton. His 
business has always been on a very large scale and he never neglects it, 
but he has the enviable knack of getting through work quickly and 
this, combined with rich powers of organisation, has enabled him to 
devote a gi'eat share of his time to public afftiirs. 

For nineteen years he was a member of the Acton Local 
Authority and four years its Chairman. It was during this period 
that the foundations of modei^n Acton were laid, and it was partly due 
to his ability and knowledge that they were so " well and truly " laid. 
The growth of his county and magisterial work at last compelled him 
to retire from the District Council, but he remains keenly and 
sympathetically interested in the doings of that body. 



When the Middlesex County Council was formed he was elected 
as one of the two representatives of Acton, and he was re-elected again 
and again until, seven years ago, he was appointed a County Alderman 
— a position of greater honour and independence, but certainly not of 
less responsibility. While County Councillor for Acton he had very 
much to do with carrying through the High Street widening scheme 
which was undertaken by the local authority with the support of the 
County Council. He was one of the pioneers of the movement which 
resulted in the Alexandra Palace and Park being acquired for public 
purposes, and he is now a member of the Board of Trustees which has 
the management of the place. He is also Chairman of the County 
General Pui-poses Committee, and an active member of several others. 

In 1893 he was placed on the Commission of the Peace for the 
County and was attached to the Willesden Division, of which he 
became chairman two years ago. He has always taken a great interest 
in his magisterial work, and it was largely due to him ihat a year or 
two ago the Home Secretary severed the parishes of Acton and 
Chiswick from the West London Police (Jourt district, and added 
them for all police and petty sessional court purposes to the Willesden 
Division of Middlesex. Acton and Chiswick were at the same time 
given their own police courts — a change which local residents regarded 
as very much for the better. 

In politics Mr. Wright is a staunch Conservative, and he has 
rendered many and great services to his party. It was he, who, when 
Acton Priory was in danger of demolition, bought the place and 
established the Priory Constitutional Club, of which he became and 
remains Chairman. He is also Chairman of the Acton Conservative 
Club, of the Acton Conservative Association, and of the Central 
Conservative Council for the Ealing Division, In the trying time 
through which the Party passed when Lord George Hamilton retired 
from the Government, and ultimately from the representation of the 
division, Mr. Wright's tact and the confidence universally reposed in 
him held the party together. There were a few defections, but there 
was never anything like a split, and at the General Election, when the 
Liberals captured a majority of the Middlesex seats, Mr. Wright had 
the satisfaction of seeing the Unionist Candidate for the Ealing 
Division returned by a majority of over twelve hundred. 

Mr. Wright's sports are golf and motoring. He was the 
founder and is popularly known as the "father" of the Acton Golf Club 
— whose fine course is laid out on land in his occupation, and he has 



quite recently secured thirty acres more land in order that the course 
may be further extended and improved. He uses a motor in his 
business, but he employs it for pleasure also, and his annual holiday 
usually takes the form of a motor-golf and shooting tour. 

Young as public men go, strong, full of life and energy, Mr. 
Wright looks good for another quarter-century of useful public work, 
and it is, at any rate, safe to say that it will not hd his fault if his 
remaining years, be they few or many, are not as full of occupation as 
those that are past. 





MR. & MRS. W. J. COLLINS & FAMILY, 

At Rookfield. 




W. 3. Collins, esq. 

|T is a trite saying that no Nation can be permanenth' 
prosperous if deprived of a well sustained birthrate. To 
pursue this thought for only a minute or two will suffice to 
remind the world that, given a constantly increasing com- 
munity, there can be no public wellbeing unless, from some direction or 
another, enterprise is forthcoming to provide necessary habitations for 
an ever growing' population. 

Particularly in London is it important that this fact should be 
recognised. The Metropolis is expanding annually to an extent the 
significance of ^^hich is frequently overlooked in these days when almost 
every section of the business world is engrossed with its own affi^irs. 

Think what it means that the development of London is 
equivalent to the whole of Birmingham being annually dropped into 
our midst. 

It is in many circles fashionable to allude only with sharp 
criticism and with caustic reservation to the business operations of 
those whose zeal renders it possible for the people of London to be 
housed. 

Is it necessary, in order fairly to recognise the value of such 
large building estates as Mr. W. J. Collins has successfully carried 
through, to suggest what the extreme alternative would mean ? 
Suppose private building enterprise were entirely abandoned around 
London for a few years, where would the vast new population 
constantly growing up into manhood find satisfactory homes ? 



The great point, of course, is that a Nation should be housed 
in compliance with the beneficial laws of sanitation and with an 
increasing appreciation of the inexpensive but refining luxuries of 
homelife. 

In this work dealing with the present day History of 
Middlesex, we have therefore selected one (and only one) Representa- 
tive of the building industry in North London. 

During the past twenty years Mr. W. J. Collins, of "Eookfield," 
Muswell Hill, hss built large portions of Stroud Green, Crouch End, 
and Muswell Hill, and his work is typical of what can be accomplished 
by a sound Builder who is also a sound man of affairs. If in every part 
of Middlesex new homes for the future generation were always 
constructed on his lines, they would remain as permanent and excellent 
evidence of what private enterp)rise on an extensive scale can carry 
out. 

Outside his very large business undertakings, Mr. Collins 
enjoys keenly the social and recreative side of life, both at Muswell Hill 
and at his seaside retreat in the Isle of Wight. He and Mrs. Collins 
are also well known as earnest supporters of the Baptist cause in North 
London, and from time to time their beautiful grounds become the 
rendezvous of social gatherings for the promotion of the Church in 
whose welfare they take such a deep interest. 





Colonel 6eorse Brodie Clark* 

Clerk to the Justices of the Brentford Petty Sessional 
Division of the County since 1869, Colonel G. B. Clark has 
acquired a well-founded reputation for being a genial and 
capable official. The soundness of the guidance he gives 
in adniinistrrttive matters is apparent from the fact that since his 
appointment there have been but few successful appeals from the 
niao-isterial decisions at the Brentford Police Court. 

Colonel G. B. Clark is the second son of the late Mr. J. J. 
Clark, whose family became connected with Brentford so long ago as 
1793. Mr. J. J. Clark, who was also Clerk to the Justices of the 
Division, occupied the residence at Brentford End known as Syon Park 
House and famous for being formerly the school where Shelley was 
educated under the drastic rule of Dr. Greenlaw. In this house 
Colonel Clark was born. 

Being intended for the Navy, he was educated at the late Mr. 
Irving's school at Drayton Green, near Ealing. But owing to the 
death of his elder brother, Colonel Clark decided to adopt the legal 
profession in lieu of the sea service. Having obtained his articles, he 
entered into partnership with the late Mr. W. Ruston, whose sons are 
now meuibers of the hrni of Ruston, Clark, and Ruston of Brentford. 

In 1869 Colonel Clark was appointed, with Mr. Ruston, as 
joint clerks to the Justices and on the death of his colleague in 1884 
he became sole Clerk, which post he has since held with such signal 
credit, 



Besides holding this office, the Colonel is also Clerk to the 
Commissioners of Taxes and Clerk to the Burial Board of New 
Brentford. 

Although prevented by family reasons from serving his Country 
at sea, Colonel Clark has devoted much strenuous effort to the 
Volunteer cause. As a youth, in 1830, he joined the 16th Middlesex 
R.V. then formed under the command of the late Colonel Gosling 
Murray of Whitton Park, being promoted shortly after to the rank of 
Colour Sergeant of the Brentford Company and then receiving a 
commission as Ensign. In 1862 he was advanced to the rank of 
Lieutenant and on the death in 1864 of Captain Cooper, his Company 
Officer, he was promoted to the vacancy. Colonel Clark held the rank 
of Captain until 1875, when he became Senior Major in the corps 
which was then known as the 7th Administrative Battalion R.V. 

In 1882 the designation of the corps was again changed to the 
8th Middlesex R.V., the Commanding Officer being the late Sir 
Francis Burdett, Bart., formerly of the 17th Lancers. 

On the resignation of Colonel Sir Francis Burdett in 1884, 
Colonel Clark was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, and 
took over the command of the Battalion, which he retained until 1895. 
Under the territorial system the name had been once more changed, 
in 1886, to that of the 2ud Volunteer BattaUon the Duke of 
Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment.) 

During his command of the Battalion, Colonel Clark was one of 
the first Volunteer Officers to earn the long service decoration for 
twenty-five years' service, receiving his award from the hands of the 
late Duke of Cambridge, then Commander-in-Chief, at the Horse 
Guards' Parade in 1885, and in the same year he was granted the 
rank of Hon. Colonel. 

On relinquishing the command of the Battalion in 1895, Colonel 
Clark was appointed Honorary Colonel of the corps, which honour he 
held until 1906, when he resigned in flavour of Colonel H. Bott, who 
was then giving up command of the Battalion. 

The activities of Colonel Clark have not been confined merely 
to his official and volunteering duties. In 1868 he raised and 
organised the Brentford Volunteer Fire Brigade and was appointed 
Superintendent by the Committee of wliich the late Colonel Stracey 
Clitherow, of the Scots Guards, an old Crimean officer, was Chairman. 



In 1884 Colonel Clark gave up tliis appointment on taking ovef 
command of the Volunteer Battalion; but on the death of Major K. R. 
Montgomery, his successor, in 1893, he resumed the post at the request 
of the local authority, and still retains the supervision of the Brigade, 
which is now a paid force. 

Colonel Clark also in 1882 re-organised the Volunteer Fire 
Brigeade at Isleworth, of which he was superintendent until 1884. 

Of public administrative work Colonel Clark has also done his 
share, having served continuously for fifteen years on the Heston and 
Isleworth Local Board and District Council, from which he retired in 
1898. 

Despite the many calls made on his time by the various duties 
referred to above, Colonel Clark has managed to devote some of his 
leisure to athletic and field sports, he being an enthusiast where all 
manly recreations are concerned. In his younger days the Colonel was 
much devoted to the practice of the noble art of self defence, one of 
his earliest tutors therein having been Xat Langham, a notable figure 
in his day and the only man who was able to boast that he bad beaten 
the famous Tom Sayers. 

Although past the period of active military duties and athletic 
prowess, (Jolonel Clark still evinces the liveliest interest in the doings 
of his old Battalion, and renders all the service he possibly can to 
promoting the cult of the rifle and all forms of healthy recreation. 





Cb« R«o. W. €. Oliocr, ££.D., Vicar of ealing. 

HH 

NORTH countryman by birth, and has had thirty-three 
years of residence in the South of England, the Vicar of 
Ealing has naturally wide sympathies, a broad outlook, 
and a many-sided character. His rhetoric is remarkable 
in its richness of phrasing and imagery, in organisation and the 
management of affairs he has the caution of a Northerner, while the 
suavity of his address is distinctly Southern. 

Dr. Oliver was born at Liverpool in 1849. He took his degrees 
at Dublin University— B. A., and LL.B. in 1873, and LL D. in 1880. 
In 1872 he was admitted to deacon's orders in the Church of England 
by Dr. Mackarness, then Bishop of Oxford, and was ordained priest in 
the following year. His first curacy was at Horton, Bucks., where 
Milton's mother lies buried, and he remained there for two years 
(1872-4). There followed short periods of service at Upton-cum- 
Chalvey, Slough (1874-6), Lee, Kent (1876-8), and Southall, 
Middlesex (1878-9). 

In 1879 he became Senior Curate and Clerk in Orders at 
St. Pancras, and there he spent seven years. It was a large and 
difficult parish, with a population of 20,000, rangin* from the well-to-do 
residents of the " squares " in the south to the denizens of the slums in 
the north, and if the magnitude of the work to be done, almost appalled 
, the new senior curate, the variety of it had a compensating charm. 
In the pulpit and in the street — as preacher and as parish priest — Dr. 
Oliver soon made his personality felt and gained the confidence and 
liking of all classes of the j)arishioners. 



It was at St. Pancras that he established the first of the Self- 
Help Societies, of which there are now nearly twenty in the diocese. 
The story of its genesis is interesting. In the terrible winter of 1885 
there was great distress in St. Pancras, and money was spent freely in 
relieving it. But when all had been done that could be done, there 
remained the depressing fact that no permanent improvement had been 
effected in the condition of the people. " Let us," said the Senior 
Curate, " call a meeting of the people themselves, and see if they can 
tell us how we can help them." The meeting was called. There was 
much wild and rambling talk, but no practical suggestion was offered 
until an old man rose and said, " Wot we wants is to be able to lay 
hold of five bob when we wants it." He was a hawker, it appeared, 
and he could usually turn five shillings into ten. The difficulty in bad 
times was to find the first " five bob." 

The idea " gave furiously to think," and the outcome of much 
thought was the formation of the St. Pancras Self-Help Society. As 
a bank the society received the savings of its members ; as a loan 
society, it came to their assistance when they were in temporary need 
of money. A member could borrow only on the security of the 
deposits of fellow members who were prepared to stand as security for 
him ; he could not default without robbing them ! In practice, it has been 
found by this and other societies established on the same lines that the 
guarantors are seldom called upon ; and incalculable good has been 
done in encouraging thrift, in tiding members over periods of distress 
or misfortune, and in enabling men to start in business for themselves. 
In St. Pancras the members' subscriptions in twenty years have 
totalled £25,449, the amount lent has been £41,293, and the amount 
lost through death or other causes is under £6 ! 

In 1886 Dr. Oliver became Vicar of Ealing in succession to the 
Rev. E. W. Helton. The parish, already a large one, was destined to 
develop into one of the most populous and important on the western 
fringe of London, and the task of keeping pace with its growth has 
afibrded plenty of scope for the Vicar's talents and energies. In 
twenty years much has been done. In the civil parish of Ealing four 
new permanent churches have been built, and one is now in course of 
erection. In these developments Dr. Oliver has played the part that 
belongs to his office, but it is with the ecclesiastical parish of St. 
Mary's (which is the ancient parish church) that he has been most 
intimately concerned. Here, the old church has been beautified and a 
lych gate added ; a block of " Church Homes " has been built at a 
cost of £3,636 ; anew vicarage has been erected at an expense of 



£3,840 ; All Saints' Church — one of the most beautiful in the diocese 
— has been built in memory of the Rt. Hon. Spencer Perceval, Prime 
Minister of England from 1809-12 ; and a Mission Hall and 
Institute has been provided for South Ealing. The parochial schools 
have been enlarged and improved, agencies innumerable for the spiritual 
and material good of the parishioners have been created. In all these 
activities the Vicar has had devoted assistants in his assistant clergy 
and lay workers ; but in all matters of moment he has supplied the 
driving force and the directing mind. A " Twenty Years' Retrospect," 
which has just been published, records the fact that during the period 
under review the amount collected and distributed in the ))arish 
is over £81,000. " Figures talk," and these are eloquent — Summary, 
1886-1906 : Number of sermons preached by the Vicar, 1650 ; 
communicants, 98,823; marriages, 636; baptisms, 2,043; burials, 
1,135 ; coins in offertories, 931,885. 

In the municipal life of the borough the Vicar has always 
been keenly interested and he has been an active and able supporter of 
the policy of wise and well-ordered progress which has been pursued 
by the local authorities ; but in local as well as national politics he 
regards the setting forth of high ideals as the chief business of the 
Clergy. 





THE EEV. W. 0. HOWELL, M.A. 




Cfte Rei). William Charles t>om\l m.}\. 

IREATNESS is the dream of many and the reaUzation of 
few. Like the spot where the rainbow touches the ground, 
it is nearly always one field ahead. Yet if a man does not 
achieve the intense satisfaction of gaining fame during his 
lifetime, surely the next best thing to so doing is to win the esteem and 
respect of others ; and that as a result of a consistent endeavour to 
spend his life in striving to be of real use in the world. 

A life of assiduous and arduous work for the benefit of others 
has been that spent by the Rev. William Charles Howell, M.A., who 
was for forty years Vicar of Holy Trinity, Tottenham, and who upon 
leaving the district after some fifty years passed within its borders had 
the proud consciousness that while he left many friends he had not a 
single enemy, and this not because he had refrained from approaching 
the vortex of public life, but because while ever striving to help with 
matters of public import, he was known to always have the courage of 
his opinions, the vigorous expression of his thoughts being ever 
tempered by his breadth of view and the kindly manner which^ had so 
great an influence during his long work in Tottenham in making him 
revered and admired by all who came into contact with him. 

Througliout the whole of his work in Tottenham, the Rev. W. 
C. Howell always evinced a very warm interest in the welfare of the 
working classes, whose sympathy and respect he enjoyed, and in a quiet 



way, without any great parade, he preserved the true status of his high 
office, finding the fulfihnent of the Church's mission in tlie promotion 
of general happiness, in encouraging right sentiments respecting human 
brotherhood, as well as in the propagation of those principles on which 
he relies for vanquishing mortal and eternal grief. 

Upon leaving Brasenose College, Oxford, where he graduated in 
Honours in the First Class in Mathematics and Physics in 1840, the 
Rev. W. C. Howell was ordained in 1842, having his first curacy at 
(Jxbridge. In 1850 he went as Curate to the parish church of All 
Hallows, Tottenham, a church which has many ancient associations. 
From early records it is shown that it was given between 1135 and 
1153 by David Bruce of Scotland to the Canons of the Holy Trinity, 
London, while Henry VIII. gave the rectory and parish of Tottenliam 
to the Cathedral of St. Paul's, in the gift of the jlean and Chapter of 
which the living still remains. 

The first Vicar of Tottenham of whom there are records is 
Robert de Burton, who was incumbent in 1327, and to the Rev. W. C. 
Howell is due the uneafthintr of the fact that Dr. Bedwell, a foi-mer 
Vicar of the parish, and one of the translators of the Authorised 
Vei'sion of the Holy Scriptures, was employed in writing out the 
minutes of the Council of Trent. The vestry, or saints', bell belonging 
to All Hallows and which was given to the parish by Humphrey 
Jackson, Esq., F.R.S., in 1801, was formerly the alarm bell of the 
garrison of Quebec, and was taken at the siege of that place in 1759 
by General Townsend. It bears the date 1663. 

When Mr. Howell first came to Tottenham, the living of Ail 
Hallows was held by the Rev. Thomas Newcome, a non-resident 
Vicar who had another living in Hertfordshire. Upon his death, in 
1851, he was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Hall, a minor Canon of 
St. Paul's. 

In 1865 Mr. Howell was preferred to the living of Holy 
Trinity, a parish which was formed out of All Hallows. The church, 
which was conseci'ated May 26th, 1830, was erected from the designs 
of Mr. Savage, and was built at a cost of about £5,000. This was the 
first ecclesiastical partition which occurred in Tottenham, and it proved 
to be the forerunner of tremendous changes. 

There are few clergymen who can claim to have been more 
intimately acquainted with the altered conditions of life around outer 
London during the latter half of the nineteenth century than the Rev. 



W. C. Howell. When he first came to Tottenham it was a eharminf,' 
rural retreat from London, being mainly inhabited by the well-to-do, 
who found there the quiet and' rest they were denied in the City. 
These members of the wealthy and cultured classes lived in commodious, 
old-fashioned residences, and in most parts of the district delightful 
sylvan views were to be enjoyed. 

But by the time Mr. Howell left Tottenham in 1904 a complete 
change had come over the place. Serried streets of houses had sprung 
up ; a huge working class population had arrived and crowds of 
London poor, ousted from the more squalid parts of the City, had 
migrated into the parish. Simultaneously, an exodus had taken place 
of the old-established families from the district. 

So far-reaching were the changes brought about, that four times 
during Mr. Howell's vicariate of Holy Trinity he was instrumental in 
yielding up portions of his parisli and assisting in the creation of four 
entirely new ecclesiastical districts necessitated by the constantly 
increasing needs of the new population incessantly surging into 
Tottenham. 

But notwithstanding these surrenders, when Mr. Howell left 
Holy Trinity in 1904, the parish contained then a larger population 
than he found there in 1865. 

When he first arrived in Tottenham, Holy Trinity parish 
occupied about a square mile of area. Some four or five years before 
Mr. Howell became Vicar, a slice was cut off Holy Trinity for the 
making of St. Ann's parish. At that time, the neighbourhood of 
Stamford Hill was a particularly select one, the Church folk including 
a number of people who could afford to keep carriages. Thus St. 
Ann's started its career as a separate parish being regarded as the 
wealthy ecclesiastical district. But how times have changed ! St. 
Ann's is to-day known as one of the poorest and most crowded parts of 
Tottenham. The four districts which were partly formed from Holy 
Trinity during Mr. Howell's incumbency are those of Christchurch, 
St. Mary's, St. Peter's, and St. Philip the Apostle, and^ at the time 
this volume is going to press the permanent church of St. Philip the 
Apostle, in Philip Lane, is being completed in a district which Mr. 
Howell well remembers as being entirely composed of fields. 

Of course, the cutting off of each portion of the parish adds 
considerably to the anxieties of a parish priest, because it means the 
loss of church workers, as well as of church revenue. But Mr. 



Howell is a born organiser, and each time he quicklj' gathered together 
his forces and saw to it tliat the temporary depletion was quickly 
turned into a source of strength and that the health and power of 
the mother parish were improved rather than weakened by the 
change. 

Realizing keenly that the future of the Church depends 
absolutely upon the training of the j^oung, the Rev. W. C. Howell was 
always assiduous in the cause of public elementary education, paying 
careful attention to the needs and necessities of the children. For 
twentyfive years he carried on three day schools in connection with 
his parish and with the suppcrt of local church people. So staunchly 
-was he upheld that he always managed to keep the finances of the 
schools perfectly straight, although in chatting over these reminiscences, 
he smilingly recalled the fact that on one occasion their balance in 
hand diminished to the low figure of sevenpence. Their expenses were 
always heavy, for in those days, amongst other things, they had to pay 
i20 a year rent for the school at Willow Walk. 

When the School Boards came into existence, Mr. Howell saw 
in the new regime fresh incentive to further efforts He was a member 
of the first Tottenham School Board and retained his seat for eighteen 
years, during which time he was practically the vice-chairman of the 
Board. In the course of those busy years, owing to the rapid 
growth of the district and its then union with Wood Green for 
elementary educational purposes, the detail involved in the duties of 
this position were very heavy indeed. Many and many a late evening- 
had to be devoted to Committee and Board work and throughout this 
long spell Mr. Howell stuck valiantly to his task, ev"er keenly alert to 
see that the best interests of the children were insured, and always 
acting with a broad, impartial mind for the welfare of all the scholars 
and of no one particular class. 

But it was not only in matters of elementary education that 
Mr. Howell proved a vigilant and ever watchful guide, for he is also 
one of the Governors, at present the oldest surviving Life Governor 
(we are writing in August, 1906), of the Tottenham Grammar School, 
having been continuously in office since 1873. This Grammar School, 
of which the original founding is lost in obscurity, was enlarged and 
endowed under the will, dated May 17th, 1686, of Sarah, Dowager 
Duchess of Somerset, who married on the decease of the Duke in 1675, 
Henry, Lord Coleraine, whose famil^^ were at one time owners of 
Bruce Castle, Tottenham. 



The Rev. W. C. Howell would be one of the first to admit that 
during his work at Tottenham he was always well supfjorted by kind 
and sympathetic helpers. Amongst them were the various members of 
the Howard family, with whom he always found it a keen ])leasure to 
co-opei'ate. Originally he was brought into frequent touch with Mr. 
Joseph Howard's grandfather, next with his father, and afterwards 
with Mr. Joseph Howard himself. Mr. Howell speaks with ardent 
admiration and I'espect of the character and local loyalty of the 
Howard family. 

Throughout many generations they were the best friends of 
Tottenham. Mr. Joseph Howard's grandfather, Mr. Luke Howard, 
who lived in The Grove, displayed a splendid gift and ability in the 
study of meteorology, and his work on " The Climate of London " is 
and will remain a standard authorit}^ on the subject. When the 
Tottenham public library was opened, Mr. Howell had the pleasure 
of presenting a cojjy of the book to that institution. 

Another member of the Howard lamily, Mr. David Howard, is 
a gentleman of note in Essex, and he, like all his kin, Mr. Howell 
remembers as being remarkable for his great benevolence and generous 
support of religion. Mr. Joseph Howard, in his turn, has always been 
a staunch supporter of the Church and its allied organisations, and has 
constantly shown his readiness to do his utmost to augment the eftbrts 
of his colleagues on any public body, whether educational or 
philanthropic. 

In 1904, having devoted a long and strenuous life to the service 
of the Church, Mr. Howell found that failing eyesight compelled him 
to resign his living and abandon active work as a parish priest. When 
his decision was announced to his parishioners, eloquent evidence was 
found of the manner in which he had won all hearts, not onlv of 
members of his own congregation, but of those professing other creeds 
than his, and who, though often opposed to Mr. Howell in matters of 
public policy, recognised and admired his virile advocacy of the 
courses which his own convictions forced him to uphold. 

Few more impressive gatherings have ever taken place in 
Tottenham than that which assembled at the Green School, Somerset 
Koad, on October 6th, 1904, to give public testimony to the admiration 
felt for one who had worked so splendidly in their midst and to express 
the grief occasioned by the unavoidable separation. 



Mr. Joseph Howard, who was then the Member of Parliament 
for the Tottenham Division of the County, presided, and every section 
of the community \\as well represented in the assembly, which included 
representatives from other churches and chapels in the neighbourhood. 
Indeed, one of the most eloquent testimonies to Mr. Howell's 
magnificent work voiced during the evening, came from the Roman 
Catholic priest of Tottenham. 

Another striking tribute to Mr. Howell's worth was made by 
the Rev. Prebendary Hobson, Rural Dean, who, in speaking of Mr. 
Howell's work, said — " When I first came to Tottenham, Mr. Howell 
was a fine old English gentleman, and he is a little older, a little finer, 
and no less a gentleman now." 

In presenting to Mr. Howell the cheque for one hundred guineas 
and the illuminated album containing the names of the subscribers, 
which was tangible proof of the esteem and aftection felt for him, Mr. 
Joseph Howard said that they all regretted losing Mr. Howell. He 
had been with them a long time, fiist as Curate at the parish churcli, 
and then for nearly forty years as Vicar of Holy Trinity. They knew 
how well he had occupied that position, and were glad of an 
opportunity for showing their respect and regard for him. Tliey had 
known him in various capacities — as a fine old English gentleman ; as 
a scholar of great erudition ; as a man who had occupied various 
public positions with great credit to himself and advantage to the 
parish and, above all, as a Minister of the Christian religion. He had 
devoted himself manfully to the services of the (Jhurch and the welfare 
of the people, especially the children. They all hoped he would be 
spared many years to enjoy the leisure which he had earned so well 
and that he would be enabled to devote himself to those pursuits in 
which he was so much interested. 

The address which was presented to Mr. Howell, read as 
follows : — 

Address presented to the Eev. W. C. Howell, M.A., Oxen., on the occasion 
of his retirement from the incumbency of Holy Trinity, Tottenham, together 
with a cheque for one hundred guineas from the parishioners of Tottenham and 
the congregation of Holy Trinity. The address is presented to the Eev. W. C. 
Howell, MA , Vicar, by some of his many friends in testimony of their admiration 
of his great and varied talents and in loving appreciation of the genial and 
amiable disposition he has consistently manifested during his ministry for more 
than half a century amongst them. 

Tottenham, 6th October, 1904. 



In the course of his speech of thanks the Rev. W. C. Howell 
referred to the intellectual pursuits in which he hoped to interest 
himself in his new home. In making a passing mention of some of the 
work which he had already achieved, he spoke of the task which he 
had undertaken with other members of the Gilbert Clulj, of translating 
the famous De Magnets of William Gilbert, of Colchester, the father of 
the science of electricity and physician to Queen Elizabeth. After 
years of labour this translation was completed and the work published 
in 1900. 

At a previous meeting, the girls of the Green School, a few old 
scholars and the teachers presented Mr. Howell with an easy chair 
with double leg rest action, while another evidence of the fixr-reaching 
nature of his work was seen when some twenty deaf and dumb adults 
of North London whose afflictions he had earnestly endeavoured to 
alleviate, asked his acceptance of a silver entree dish. Other reminders 
which Mr. Howell possesses of the place his earnest work forged for 
him in the hearts of those to whom he ministered so long and so truly, 
are a walking stick mounted in ivory and silver, which was given him 
by the members of the Choir ; a wooden porringer mounted in silver, 
with silver spoon, from the boys of the Sunday School, and a 
Georo'e III. silver tankard from the members of the Mothers' Meeting. 

For some years Mr. Howell has been a member of and an 
attendant at the meetings of the British Association for the 
Advancement of Science, besides having been for a long period a 
member of and contributor to the proceedings of tlie Bristol and 
Gloucestershire Archaeological Society and the Essex Field Club, of the 
Council of which latter he is also a member. Not content with merely 
gathering up knowledge for his own use, Mr. Howell, during the course 
of his long ministry, delivered many series of lectures in Jiis own parish, 
as well as in other places in England and also on the Continent, on 
Ecclesiastical, Astronomical, Archaeological and other scientific 
subjects. These lectures were illustrated by experiments and diagrams, 
Mr. Howell's aim always being to trace as far as possible the Power, 
Wisdom, and Goodness of the Creator in the works of Nature. 

From the above brief notice of a life spent in doing good to 
others it will be seen that ]\Ir, Howell has well won the peaceful 
retirement in Regent's Park Road, where he now lives with his family. 
In Tottenham the loving tribute which always follows the mention of 
his name shows that he has indeed gained the reward of a patient 
endeavour to be guided ever by the spirit expressed in George 



Herbert's lines : — 



Be useful where thou livesfc, that they may 

Both want and wish thy pleasing presence still. 

Kindness, good part, great patience are the way 
To compass this. Find out men's wants and will, 

And meet them there. All worldly joys grow less 
To the one joy of doing kindlinesses. 





DR. BUTLEE-HOGAN, LL.B,, D.P.H. 




Dr. J. F. ButkrBoflati, CC.B., D.p.P., etc. 

H^ 

MAN of one supreme ambition, and that to see the Nation 
healthy, is Dr. John Francis Butler-Hogan, Tottenham's 
vigilant and skilful Medical Officer of Health. Born in 
Dublin, August 24th, 1864, Dr. Butler-Hogan is in the 
prime of life, and but a very brief glance at his numerous achievements 
suffices to show that from his student days he has been a vigorous and 
successful brain worker. He took his B.A. degree at the Royal 
University of Ireland in 1887, and later secured a travelling scholarship 
which gave him the inestimable advantages of studying in the chief 
medical centres of Great Britain and Europe. 

Dr. Butler-Hogan became a Licentiate of the Faculty of 
Physicians and Surgeons (Glasgow) in 1889 ; Diplomate of Public 
Health (Cambridge) 1893 and took his M.D. degree in Brussels in 
1894, in addition to being a Licentiate of the Royal College of 
Physicians and a Licentiate of the Royal College of Surgeons 
(Edinburgh), of which latter he was Hygiene Exhibitioner. He is 
also a Surg.-Lieutenant of the Volunteer Medical Statf Corps, a 
Fellow of the Royal Institute of Public Health, a Member of the 
British Medical Association, the Royal Sanitary Institution, the 
Society of the Incorporated Medical Officers of Health and of the 
Association of the Medical Officers of Schools. 



But not content merely with laurels won in the realms of 
Medicine, Dr. Butler-Hogan has also turned his attention to the Law. 
He was Exhibitioner in Jurisprudence at Queen's College, Cork, and 
gained his LL.D. degree in 1904, and in the following year was 
admitted a Barrister at Gray's Inn ; thus ranking with the 
comparatively few men who have qualified as distinguished members 
of the two learned professions. 

^ At the close of his student days, Dr. Butler-Hogan first settled 
down in private practice at Ley ton, Essex, where he was appointed 
School Medical Officer. In March, 1902, he came to Tottenham to 
take up the onerous duties of Medical Officer of Health for that very 
large and rapidly growing district. How greatly the residents therein 
are increasing may be seen from the fact that at the Census of 1891 
the population was 71,343 souls, while in April, 1901, it had increased 
to 102,531. In Midsummer, 1905, it was estimated that the population 
of Tottenham amounted to 124,126 persons. 

From the first it was evident that in Dr. Butler-Hogan 
Tottenham had secured as its Medical Officer a man who honoured his 
profession and was determined to do his utmost to achieve for the 
public the best possible results. As practical proof of the efficacy of 
those of his views which he has been successful in having enforced 
upon the public of the district, it is interesting to note that since his 
appointment the infantile deathrate has been decreased by thirty in the 
thousand, as compared with what it was at the time of his arrival in 
Tottenham. This improvement is remarkable and it does not require 
a very reflective mind to realize that there must be a very genuine 
connection between this fact and the thoroughness of the care and 
supervision exercised by Dr. Butler-Hogan as the chief Medical Officer 
of the district. 

A subject to which Dr. Butler-Hogan has devoted an immense 
amount of attention and careful study is the oft-mentioned j^hysical 
deterioration of the Nation. Although he does not join hands with 
the pessimists in thinking that this deterioration is inevitable, he 
admits that its existence is undeniable, proof of it being furnished by 
the statistics regarding recruits, and the reports of the head masters of 
our great public schools, whilst numerous printed records show that 
abnormal humanity in all its phases is continually increasing — in other 
words, that the number of degenerates is growing larger with each 
succeeding year, as is evidenced by the increased proportion of 
criminals, tramps, inebriates (the debased, degraded, corrupt and 



useless wastrels of both sexes) as well as of the lunatics, idiots, 
imbeciles, epileptics, inmates of poor houses and incurable hospitals, 
etc. As for the causes of this decay. Dr. Butler-Hogan is of opinion 
that much is to be answered for by the gradual!}^ inc/easing Urbanisa- 
tion of our population with all its train of attendant evils — less pure 
air, less sunshine, less healthy exercise, less wholesome diet, less rest, 
but more hurry and worry, more noise, more artificial stimulation, more 
exposure to the germs of disease. A second cause he finds in the 
marriage of persons, one (at least) of whom is immature, or diseased, 
or drunken. While a third and equally important factor he recognises 
in the ignorance which prevails so largely regarding the elementary 
rules of health. 

In common with other Medical Officers of Health, Dr. Butlex-- 
Hogan deplores the continued decrease both in local and national 
Birth Rates. But at the same time he feels that the qwility of the 
vital output is of even more importatice than its quantity, and 
considers that could we only feel that what has been lost in the latter 
respect is being compensated for in the former, there would not, for the 
present at least, be cause for any serious alarm. Unfortunately, 
however, he finds that no such solace is possible. Comparing the 
England of to-day with that of fifty years ago, a greater pi'oportion of 
our population is now born undeveloped, starved physically and 
mentally, becoming, when they do survive infancy, a greater tax upon 
the State than that which it has to pay for the national education or 
national defence. What the Country needs, he declares, are children 
who will grow — if they get the chance — to the full capacity and beauty 
of manhood and womanhood. 

A cure for many (jf the troubles which beset human life Dr. 
Butler-Hogan considers might be found if the duties of all local 
sanitary authorities were enlarged, and carried out with tact and zeal, 
especially with regard to the food suppl}' of the people, milk and meat 
being the articles of diet upon which ho would have the most strenuous 
care exercised. Pie maintains that every considerable di-strict, 
particularly where there are ci-owded jiopulations as in Tottenham, 
should have a public abattoir. He is thoroughly aware that private 
interests, well established custom and prejudice are all against the 
reform. The local butcher who has his own little slaughter house, and 
the local i-atepayer who, often a small man with limited means, looks 
askance at any suggestion bringing possibly an increased demand ujjon 
him in the form of additional rates to pay — these aud their friends are 
against any proposal for a public abattoir. 



But in such a matter Dr. Butler-Hogan most decidely considers 
it a case when publicum honum pvivato est pra'ferendum. The 
medical officer in authority whose Hfe is given to studying and 
perfecting the means of defending the health of the people, knows 
fully well the little private slaughter house is liable to become a serious 
menace to the public health. The butcher can kill on his private 
premises night or day, and frequently the work is done at night when 
there is no opportunity of inspection and when the public cannot be 
safeguarded ; whereas, if a public abattoir were provided, the killing 
must be done entirely under inspection, the process would be safe- 
guarded as regards cleanliness, and dirt and disease could be prevented 
from working their dread havoc. 

Whether or no this reform is likel}'' to be carried out in 
Tottenham in the near future depends upon the public support accorded 
Dr. Butler-Hogan in his official capacity. Butchers are now a 
powerful, Avell-organised body. Certainly, they will want compensation 
for the abolition of their slaughter houses, and at the time of this book 
going to press a Bill is in contemplation for the purpose of fixing a fair 
valuation in respect of such compensation. As regards the business 
aspect of the question, Dr. Butler-Hogan hopes that in Tottenham a 
public abattoir could be combined with a market place, so as to provide 
for the cost of the upkeep and make it self-supporting. 

Then again, on the question of the milk supply. Dr. Butler- 
Hogan feels that although recent years have brought certain improve- 
ments, we are yet throughout England a very long way off anything 
like the ideal state of affairs. He reminds us that although almost 
every individual unit of the population is more or less a consumer, 
although milk is being taken in some form or other from morning to 
night by rich and poor, young and old alike, yet the most scanty 
means of protecting the public from any impurities being supplied with 
it are at present provided by law, and those means only discover 
mischief after its deadly effects have been allowed to exercise their 
contaminating influences. 

The sole power of inspection is on the part of the public 
analyst who can only take samples from the retailers some hours after 
the injurious matter has been admitted into the milk. Dr. Butler- 
Hogan considers it astonishing that, considering the great consumption 
of milk that takes place, and the greater consumption which should 
take place, in the interests of the ])ub]ic liealth, there should be 
allowed to exist the present haphazai'd method of bringing the milk 
from the cow to the householder. 



With his characteristic thorous^hness, Dr. Butler-Hogan would 
go to the root of the whole inatter. He would begin by authorising 
supervision for the purpose of enforcing the grooming of the cow. 
At present, it is an unheard of thing for a cow to receive any 
attention in this direction. In this uecfloct exists the beginning 
of the peril. The udder gets surrounded by undesirable matter 
which passes with the milk into the receiver. Again, it .should 
not be left to chance or individual caprice as to the cleaulineSfJ of the 
hands of the milker. This should become compulsory and inspection 
authorised. Next, tlie cleanliness of the receiving can should be 
closely watched. Negligence should become penal. After the 
straining of the milk it should be equally compulsory for it to be 
cooled to a temperature of forty degrees to prevent the multiplication 
of germs. And so the career of the milk from a well groomed cow, 
whose udders should be constantly inspected as a safeguard against 
uncleanliness, to the householder's table, should be complete at every 
point, whether in the railway train, in the wholesale dairy, the 
receiving depot, or iu the milk retailer's premises and utensils. 

Dr. Butler-Hogan also considers it is of vital importance that 
the local authority should have power to prevent the sale of milk in 
small, undesirable retail shops where, as now frequently happens, milk 
is sold to the poor from a more or less unclean utensil, surrounded by 
the dust and grime resulting from the proximity of sugar, oil, candles 
and the stock of a small general retail dealer. To people of all ages 
and of all stations milk is a most valuable article of diet, and too much 
care cannot be taken by the State in respect of its preservation from 
anything and everything that can render it impure. 

But until these larger reforms can be carried out, Dr. Butler- 
Hogan does his utmost by means of constant advice to the liouseholders 
of Tottenham to encourage them to protect themselves as far as 
possible. He explains that the householder's first precautionary step 
should be to exercise careful judgment when choosing the milkman ; 
secondly, to see that the household storage place and appurtenances 
are clean and suitable and that the milk is always kept covered from 
the attacks of flics and other insects. The Hy iu particular, he reminds 
his readers, is an extraordinary menace to public health. Its notorious 
fondness for dirt and tilth makes it a winged messenger of evil as often 
as it visits and poaches upon the domestic milk supply, for it always 
carries with it the germs of dirt and disease. During the South 
African War the fly was the means of conveying from one subject to 
another the germs of enteric fever. 



As will be seen, Dr. Butler-Hogan is an exceptionally keen 
student and reformer in the matter of public health. With Horace 
he most emphatically believes that 

Pauper enim non est cui rerum suppetit usu', 
Si ventri bene, si lateri pedibusque tuis, nil 
Divitise poterint regales addere majus. 

Prominent amongst his axioms Dr. Butler-Hogan places one 
which insists that " cleanliness and temperance are passports to good 
health." One of his chief duties he considers to be the proper 
safeguarding of " the Little Ones," and to this end he never tires of 
insisting that if England's very serious infantile mortality is to be 
checked it is most important to have (a) Parents with healthy bodies 
and healthy habits ; (h) A milk supply drawn from healthy and 
well-groomed cows ; (c) Healthy homes, including clean floors 
and walls ; (d) The compulsory education of senior girls in our 
schools in the principles of elementary hygiene and domestic 
economy necessary in the feeding of infants and the general 
management of a home. Dr. Butler-Hogan points out '' it is 
unfortunately a fact that children under five years of age die 
two or three times as fast in our large centres of population as in 
rural districts and small towns, and that upwards of 1,500 children 
die annually in the County of Middlesex whose lives could be and 
ought to be saved. Not only could these lives be preserved, but the 
measures taken to strengthen the weak would tend to make others 
strono-er, they would become from the outset better able to fight the 
battle of life, and increased physical strength would invariably produce 
corresponding increase in mental and moral vigour and a general all- 
round improvement." 

Dr. Butler-Hogan is equally emphatic in emphasising that "the 
hygienic reform of the future must depend almost entirely for its 
success upon the proper education of the children in our schools, and 
our aims must be to make them citizens of good moral and physical 
stamina, which is tlie most valuable and abiding of all national assets. 
Our efforts are but too often wasted in attempting to teach their elders, 
over whom the forces of old custom reign supreme. Since then their 
ignorance is generally invincible, our duty is to capture the children, 
and enrol them in the cause of Public Health. We must not expect 
too much from Public Health legislation, for however good and wise it 
may be, it is of little service unless it can be backed up by effective 
local administration. At the present day, such administration is too 
often inhibited by that enemy to all progress — the ogre of Expense. 



Prejudice, apathy, ignorance, selfishness, and vested interesis, still 
exist as bars to sanitary progress, and they clog the wheels alike of 
legislation and administration. The solution of many public health 
problems, means the solution of problems which are at once social and 
political. The Public Health worker can scarcely hope for a complete 
realisation of his schemes and ambitions, and to his labours tliere can 
be no end. But his reward is the satisfaction of witnessing, almost 
daily, some beneficent result from his work, and it is this that 
stimulates and eives him zest." 



^' 



On the general question of alcoholic drink. Dr. Butler-Hogan, 
as a public Medical Officer, attributes no small degree of the trouble he 
has to deal with to the drink habit. Alcohol, he insists, has no dietary 
value. Its use exists as a drug, pure and simple. Consumption, 
overcrowding, infantile troubles and numerous assaults upon the public 
health are to be directly traced to the drink habit. It is not that 
people who ofl:end are necessarily drunkards, or even those who are 
commonly known as excessive (h'inkers, but alcohol undermines the 
public health. As an occasional drug its value is in helping a 
constitution to tide over a temporary physical difficult3\ ISut any fillip 
given to the human system by alcohol is immediately followed by a 
reaction. In the poorer portions of Tottenham, where the infantile 
deathrate is troublesome. Dr. Butler-Hogan declares that those who go 
to the root of the matter find that these cases occur where drink holds 
sway, and not necessarily in the poorest and most destitute homes, but 
in tho.se of all classes where drink is liberally resorted to. 

In Tottenham, with its teeming population, one of the perils to 
the public health arises from the constant tendency to overcrowding and 
great vigilance has to be exercised by Dr. Butler-Hogan's department 
to see that this evil is not permitted to gain a hold. This involves a 
system of night inspection, particularly in the districts containing a 
foreign population. Tottenham has at least one alien colony in its 
midst. This is in tlie neighbourhood of The Hale, which is colloquially 
known as Little Russia, on account of the considerable settlement 
there of the Czai"'s subjects. 

At the present time Dr. Butler-Hogan is endeavouring to secure 
the adoption by his Council of authority of considerable importance in 
relation to the scourge of consumption. lie is strongly in favour of a 
certain number of beds being taken at the Mount Vernon Sanatorium, 
in the absence of a County Scheme. It is, he thinks, exceedingly 
regrettable that the project for the proposed County Sanatorium for 



Middlesex could not be carried to a successful completion. He 
considers that such an institution could have been made a great 
success throughout the County, one of its considerable benefits 
consisting in the fact that it would materially assist in educating 
the people at large to the importance of fresh air, exercise and 
cleanliness in personal habits. But, at any rate, Dr. Butler-Hogan is 
determined that Tottenham shall have the full benefit of his own 
research on this matter. As we have said, in respect to the local cases 
of consumption which can be cured (not being in the last or fatal stages 
of the disease), he is recommending his Council to secure accommodation 
at the Mount Vernon Sanatorium ; while as regards hopeless cases in 
the district he is urging that steps should be taken to ensure their 
isolation, as the presence of a consumptive in the family is an injustice 
to every other member of the household. In 1906 there are certainly 
at least five cases at Tottenham of patients in the last stage of this 
disease living at home with their families and the whole family living 
in one room! How can each wife and the children expect to escape ? 

Vigilance on the part of the Medical Officer is of the first 
importance in the matter of detecting incipient consumption. Dr. 
Butler-Hogan has established a bacteriological department, and he 
encourages all medical practitioners in the district and, indeed, any 
private individual, to send for his scrutiny in that department any 
suspicious matter which suggests consumption, or any other infectious 
disease, as having attacked a patient. 

In his public work Dr. Butler Hogan attaches special value to 
the assistance he now receives from two ladies attached to his staff. 
One is a lady sanitary inspector who looks after all female labour 
employed in local workshops, or in any capacity. The second is a lady 
health visitor who devotes her time more particularly to watching the 
young children, especially those under one year of age. The 
discharge of her public duties calls for infinite tact and resource, but 
they are carried out with pronounced success to the great advantage of 
the infantile health of Tottenham. 

Again, the public health of Tottenham is guarded by a visit 
from Dr. Butler-Hogan, usually once in each week, to every school in 
the district, for Dr. Butler-Hogan is the Medical Officer to the 
Education Authority. In this capacity he is a ceaseless advocate for 
the adoption of the highest possible hygienic standard in the provision of 
accommodation for — and the personal management of — the pupils. In 
the main, he is now very well satisfied with the health of the children 




MRS, BDTLER-HOGAN. 



and considers tliat, having regard to the nature of the district, they are 
reasonably well nourished. For cases requiring aid, provision is made 
by means of a voluntary soup kitchen in the Stamford Hill School, 
and similar arrangements Dr. Butler-Hogan would like to see 
introduced into the Lower Ward for exceptional eases. But as regards 
the great majority of cliildren in this immense working clas.s 
constituency, he finds that they are fivirly well cared for by their 
parents. Dr. Butler-Hogan believes in parental responsibility and 
thinks it would be a mistake to adopt any sweeping rule for providing 
free meals systematically for all school children alike. 

But what he considers of supreme importance is that the 
mentally afflicted children should be separated from the great 
congregation of other scholars, so that they might be taught by 
special teachers. For this purpose he would like to see in Tottenham 
three separate schools assigned for such children. These schools need 
not be specially built as there are existing ones, portions of which are 
suitable for the purpose. 

Like all his confreres, Dr. Butler-Hogan of course prepares 
annually for the Tottenham District Council, and also the Education 
Committee, a report upon the year's health of the District. In various 
parts of the country we have perused many such reports, and we have 
been particularly impressed with the luminous manner in which 
Dr. Butler-Hogan ))resents his matter. His reports are most 
voluminous, but unlike so many others of their kind, are not by any 
means a dry-as-dust collection of hard facts, baldly ))resented. On 
the contrary, his are so graphically written, and his fertile ideas are in 
them so clearly set fortli, that to read them is an intellectual pleasure, 
as well as the means of gaining a vast amount of sanitary and hygienic 
knowledge most useful in ordinary, everyday life. 

In addition to such reports. Dr. Butler-Hogan has also published 
an interesting pamphlet on "The Smallpox Epidemic, 1901-2," another 
on " Important Methods in the Treatment of Smallpox," and also a 
work on " Sanitary Dwellings," besides having contributed to various 
publications articles on "The Lives and Homes of the _ London 
Working Classes," " Locomotion after Rupture of the Liver : A 
Medico-Legal Question," " School Hygiene," and " Causes of Physical 
Deterioration." 

Dr. Butler-Hogan married in 1889 Miss Jeanette Josephine 
Ryan, of Cork, and has now a family of five. 



We have touched upon only a few typical details in the life of this 
skilful, ever vigilant, conscientious public officer, but we have said 
sufficient to indicate how full are his days of strenuous public endeavour 
to protect the health of the older generation and to secure for the younger 
generation improved stamina and the old-fashioned sturdy British 
physique. Of Dr. Butler-Hogan's opinion of his office we can find no 
better expi-ession than that given in his own words, taken from the 
above-mentioned "Sanitary Dwellings," where he points nut that 
— " There can be no holier or higher ambition than this, to ameliorate 
the Health of the People, not only from a physical but also from a 
mental and moral standpoint; it is the aim alike of the true Pastor 
and the good Physician, of the truest patriotism and the most perfervid 
philanthropy." 





ALDERMAN E. W. SLOPER. 



fliderman €♦ W, Sloper 




|R. EDWIN WILMOTT SLOPER was born at Wivelis- 
combe on August Gth, 1865, and was educated at the Church 
College, Taunton, and at the Devon County School, West 
Buckland. He entered business as a bank clerk in Bristol 
in 1882 and eight years later he came to London. He now fills the 
responsible post of sub-accountant in the British Bank of South 
America, in Moorgate-street. 

Mr. Slojjer was early attracted to local politics and Municipal 
work. He first came into prominence as Secretary of the Harringay 
Conservative Association. In 1894 he was elected a member of the 
first Hornsey District Council and his ability found all but instnnt 
recognition. In 1896 he was again elected, and thrice subsequently 
he was returned unopposed, while at the election immediately fol- 
lowing the receipt of the Charter of Incorporation, he gained the 
second highest number of votes in the election of Aldermen. 

Mr. Sloper was one of the first to recognise the insufficiency of 
the method of keeping accounts prescribed by the Local Govern- 
ment Board. It was in great measure due to his continued advocacy 
that that .system was supplemented by others more suited to the 
needs of the local governing body and that, finally, an accountant was 
appointed. 

The first Hornsey Councillor to move in the matter of obtaining 
Incorporation was Mr. Sloper, who did much to help in securing 



o 



the Charter. He is now, and has been for some years, the Chairman 
of the Highways and Lighting Committee of the Borough, and his 
great desire is to see the Town Council maintain its reputation for 
disinterested work in the service of the pubHc. Wlien Alderman 
Lawson was elected the first Mayor, Alderman Sloper was named 
as Deputy Mayor and he has since twice declined the honour of 
Mayoralty. 

For a brief period Mr. Sloper represented Hornsey on the 
Middlesex County Council, but he resigned in consequence of lack 
of lime and under a conviction that to do the work of the Count}' 
fittingly it was necessary to be a man of leisure. He also served for 
some years as a member of the Hornsty Charity Trustees. 

During the rather anxious period in 1903, when the School 
Board for Hornsey was giving place to the newly-constituted Edu- 
cation authority, Mr. Sloper achieved a great success by reason 
of his tactful guidance of the Education Committee and there was 
general regret when, having seen it settling to its work he resigned 
the chair and again confined himself to the ordinary work of the 
Town Council. 

Early in 1903 Mr. Sloper was elected as one of the Hornsey 
representatives on the Board of Trustees of the Alexandra Palace 
and in this connection he has done a great deal of good work. It was 
largely the result of his vigorous advocacy that the meetings of the 
Trustees have been thrown open to the Press — a steji calculated to 
ensure jmblic confidence in the administration of that important trust. 

Although Mr. Sloper devotes so much time to i\Iunici2jal work, 
he yet finds leisure in the evenings to edit a Fashion paper which 
has the largest circulation in South America and which is published 
in two editions — one in Spanish and the other in Portuguese. An 
ardent cyclist, the exigencies of public life are such that Mr. Sloper 
has had to cut down his wheeling to a minimum and he has now 
practically but one hobby, the collection of foreign stamps, which he 
has pursued from boyhood. Formerly he was devoted to Rugby 
football, and before coming to London used to play regularly for the 
Bristol Kugby L'lub. 

Mr. Sloper, who resides at 226, Stapleton Hall-road, Stroud 
Green, is married, and has three children, 




W. H. PEESCOTT, Esq., A.M,I.O.E., M.I.M.E., F.S.L, &c. 




William Bcnrp Prescott, €$q., 

ii.m.i.c.e., m.i.m.e., f.$.!., etc. 

f AID Cecil of Sir Walter Raleigh—" He can toil terribly." 
Such strenuous work as is depicted in these words has Mr. 
Prescott done for Tottenham. Early and late he has 
laboured to cope with the ceaseless requirements of his office, 
for with a District like Tottenham in which the population, already 
dense, is constantly on the increase, the man who holds the important 
post of Engineer and Chief Surveyor needs to be indefatigably active. 
Without such able and skilled men as he to bestow their expert 
knowledge upon the troubles and necessities of everyday life, civilised 
existence in large centres would quickly become an absolute impossi- 
bility. Yet it is somewhat seldom that their intricate assistance in 
such matters is adequately acknowledged by the mass of the public, 
despite the fact that as a consequence of their ceaseless thought for 
the general welfare 

" More sorvants wait on man, 
Than he'll take notice of." 

Brains and industry almost always tell in every walk of life. 
A review of Mr. Prescott's career reminds us that there exists no bar 
to a boy's advancement in England, his progress being largely in his 
own hands. Mr. Prescott has every reason to be proud of the fact 
that his distinguished positions have each been gained solely as the 
result of his own independent efforts and persistent culture of the gifts 
with which Nature endowed hiui. 



To-day, in the early prime of life, Mr. Prescott is recognised 
throughout the length and breadth of the land as being practically at 
the head of his profession. Yet he entered upon his career only at 
the completion of an ordinary Grammar School curriculum. The same 
educational advantages which were his are the common lot of 
thousands and hundreds of thousands of British lads to-day. The 
secret of his success undoubtedly lies in his firm belief in the truth 
contained in the words of the old aphorism, nam et ipsa scientia 
potestas est, and in the determination which has been his from his 
school days that, at whatever cost to himsolf, he would acquire that 
knowledge which he realised as essential for his advancement. With 
this end in view he chose his 

" Path to a clear-purposed goal, 
Path of advance." 

By dint of close study, the tireless exercise of his ricli intellectual 
gifts and as a consequence of constant application to his work, he has 
made his mark as a brilliant member of his profession, a man who by 
the repeated proofs he has given of exceptional ability has inscribed 
his name firmly amongst " the Aristocracy of Talent." 

Mr. Prescott was born in Lancashire and educated at Blackburn. 
At the conclusion of his school days he became a pupil in the office 
of the County Borough Engineer of Southampton. Upon the com- 
pletion of his articles he was appointed Assistant Borough Engineer 
and Surveyor to the County Borough of Grimsby. His next 
promotion was to Darwen, wliither he went as Deputy Borough and 
Water Engineer. While there he desio^ned and carried out a sewasfe 
outfall scheme costnig over ,£70,000, as well as other important public 
works. After three and a half years' service with the Darweu 
Corporation, he received the appointment of Borough Engineer and 
Surveyor to the Corporation of Reigate, for the benefit of whicH town 
he designed and carried out public works involving an expenditure" of 
over £200,000. 



At the close of five years' service to Reigate, Mr. Prescott 
came to Tottenham in September, 1900, as Engineer and Chief 
Surveyor to the District Council. The six years during which he has 
held this post have proved a time of exceptional responsibility and 
activity, and Tottenham has gained inmieasurably from the unques- 
tionably valuable expert industry Mr. Prescott has been able to apply 
to its public aflairs. 



It is not too much to say that during this period, from the 
standpoint of an engineer and surveyor, the wliole district _ has 
undergone a complete metamorphosis. In Mr. Prescott's position 
only a strong man, robust alike in physical and intellectual health, 
with his heart in his work and the enduring public good as his guiding 
star could have surmounted the difficulties in the way, bringing into 
perfectly smooth running order the affairs of a rapidly growing area 
and dealing so satisfactorily with matters in which technical knowledge 
and the ntcest accuracy have constantly been called upon to prove 
their value. Experience has shown that whatever may be the affairs 
with which Mr. Prescott has to cope, he is always rich in ideas, fertile 
as to suggestions for carrying' them out, vigorous and able in the 
execution of what may be decided upon. 

Without attempting to enumerate all the large undertakings 
which with his characteristic energy and progressive vigour Mr. 
Prescott has successfuUv engineered from beginning to end, a few may 
be mentioned by way of illustration. He has accomplished the 
picturesque laying out of the two additional parks which have been 
added to the District— the Chestnuts and the Downhills. The whole 
of the tramway system has undergone electrification under his super- 
vision. All the main thoroughfares have been paved with wood, at a 
cost of £50,000. A refuse destructor has been erected at a cost of 
£27 000. Municipal buildings, public baths and a fire station on The 
Green are now owned by the District, having been built at a cost oi 
£75,000. A motor fire station at Harringay, a Central Depot and 
workshops at Tottenham have been constructed at an expenditure of 
£18,000, besides numerous branch depots. 

Such undertakings have all been carried through by Mr. 
Prescott in addition to the ordinary routine public work of his 
Department, the expenditure connected with which averages £80,000 
per annum. The outside staff alone numbers between six and seven 
hundred men, for the supreme supervision of whose work Mr. Prescott 
is solely responsible. 

One of the public matters in which Mr. Prescott proved his 
mettle as a man who, working for the public good, has ever been 

" Prepared to task his strength to the uttermost 
In furtherance of a certain aim," 
was that connected with the transfer of the Council's water undertaking 
to the New Metropolitan Water Board. When the late Conservative 
Government brought in their Water Bill for the acquisition of the 



Metropolitan Water Companies, Tottenham was not included in the 
project. Instantly the vigilance and professional keenness of Mr. 
Prescott became excited. He at once fully appreciated the menace 
which this might imply to the future water supply of Tottenham. If 
nothing were or could be done, he foresaw that the policy of the 
Government would result in Tottenham becoming surrounded by the 
water area of a new and extremely powerful Water Board, able to 
foster enterprises which would tap the sources of Tottenham's supply. 

Mr. Prescott saw quite clearly the direction in which the 
interests of Tottenham lay. The Government Bill must be opposed. 
Under his advice the Government were first of all appealed to. But 
they were obdurate. Therefore, fiiiling to secure redress and 
consideration by friendly means, it was necessary to wage war against 
the Government Bill. This on the part of one comparatively 
uninfluential District like Tottenham was no small order. But such 
are the occasions when men of natural power and genius prove their 
worth. Mr Prescott spared no effort during a period of many 
months. In order to defeat the Government he had to prepare 
himself, as the only expert witness, to stand up before the House of 
Lords Committee. He had to be ready on every point with every 
piece of technical information, correct and tested, so that the legal 
giants espousing the Government cause should not be able to trip 
him up. 

For nine months Mr. Prescott was working night and day 
searching into and becoming familiar with all the intricate details of 
every contract previously entered into by the Tottenham Local 
Authority during the entire past history of the Tottenham Water 
Undertaking. Numerous contracts and countless documents had to be 
studied. Without enlarging further upon this important and historic 
combat, sufllce it to say that Mr. Prescott was able to maintain his 
ground in the witness box. He satisfied the House of Lords of the 
justness of the position taken up on behalf of Tottenham. It was 
consequently ordered that Tottenham should be included in the new 
water area, with the result that the ultimate arbitration ended in verv 
heavy compensation being paid to the Council, the amount being 
sufficient to extinguish all the existing loans and debts in connection 
with the Water Works, and to leave a net profit of £40,000 to go to 
the relief ot the general local funds. 

Those who have taken part in public life and who have been 
concerned with the administration of Local and County affairs will 



quickly appreciate the value of such services rendered to Tottenham. 
Only a thoroughly capable and industricais Engineer, jjosscssed in a hiyh 
degree of vigour, energy and ability, could have carried through so 
difficult and arduous a conflict with the Government of the day. 

Within two years of Mr. Prescott's arrival in Tottenham he 
took in hand the new sew erage scheme for the District, which was 
successfully completed at a cost of over £60,000. 

In addition to being the Engineer to the Tottenham Council, 
j\Ir. Prescott is Survej'or to the Tottenham Education Committee and 
Consultino- Engineer to the Tottenham and Wood Green Joint 
Drainage Board. For this authority he has recently carried out a 
large and supplemental sewerage scheme costing over £50,000, which 
was rendered necessary owing to the building of numerous workmen's 
dwellings by the London County Council, who have provided in the 
District housing accommodation for 40,000 persons. As a result, the 
main sewerage system has required augmenting, it not being previously 
of sufficient capacity to deal with the increased requirements for this 
and other estates now being rajjidly developed in the Board's area. 

Another particular in which Mr. Prescott has brought about a 
decided improvement since he has been in Tottenham is in the matter 
of the Council's stud. When he first took up his present appointments 
the local authority onlj" o^\■ned souie half dozen horses, depending for 
the greater part of their needs in this direction upon hired team 
labour. Mr. Prescott has now organised a stud of eighty-four horses 
which do all the Council's work, whilst everything required in 
connection with this is made in the Council's own workshops. 

A short time ago the Tottenham Council obtained an electric 
light provisional order, and before this could be done the necessary 
preliminaries kept Mr. Prescott busy arranging the details of the 
scheme in conjunction with Mr. Hawtayne. The estimated cost of the 
project was £7G,000. But the Council ultimately decided to transfer 
their powers to the Metropolitan Electric Power Supply Company. 

As a sequence to Mr. Prescott's energies in another direction, 
the Tottenham Council are now entering into an agreement with the 
London County Council for culverting that part of the river Moselle 
which runs through the London County Council's above-mentioned 
housing estate. This improvement will cost £7,000, and the work will 
be executed by Mr. Prescott on behalf of the Tottenham Council at 
the expense of the London County Council. 



In connection with the electrification of the tramway system, 
Mr. Prescott again showed how keenly he exercises his perceptions 
and foresight for the purpose of securing in every way possible the 
utmost advantage for Tottenham. It was upon his advice that the 
Tottenham Council made it one of the conditions of their consent to 
the passing of the Bill promoted by the Metropolitan Electric Tramwa3's 
Company that the latter should make certain street widenings in the 
main thoroughfares. It is expected that these improvements, costing 
nearly i;lOO,000, will be begun on an early date, notices having already 
been served by the Company for the acquisition of the ])roperties 
affected. When completed, this action on Mr. Prescott's part 
will have brought about another consiaicuous improvement greatly 
tending to promote the public comfort and safety in Tottenham. 

On another occasion Mr- Prescott prepared for his Council a 
scheme for erecting houses for the working classes, at an estimated cost 
of £126,000. But this undertaking is in abeyance at the present time 
as the Council are reluctant to enter into competition with private 
building enterprise and also in consequence of the great scheme being 
carried out in the District by the London County Council. 

That Mr. Prescott ranks very high in his profession is shown 
by the fact that quite recently he was one of two candidates finally 
selected from a number who applied for the post of City Engineer and 
Surveyor of Birmingham, whilst he occupied a similar position when 
the post of Engineer in Chief to the Metropolitan Water Board (at a 
commencing salary of £2,500) was vacant. On a third occasion he 
was one of three candidates finally selected for the position of Engineer 
and Surveyor to the City of London. The view taken of his 
qualifications by expert judges is very clearly shown by the fact that 
the Corporation honoured him by making him a Freeman of the City. 

Yet another indication of Mr. Prescott's eminence in his own 
profession is found in his appointment as an Examiner for the Municipal 
and County Engineers' Association. The Examiners are only twelve 
in number and every new Municipal Engineer has to be passed by this 
body before he can obtain his certificate of competency. The present 
membership of the Association totals fifteen hundred. 

From the brief glimpses here given of Mr. Prescott's multifarious 
achievements, it will be gathered that his is a life of considerable 
interest and certainly of large importance in the public welfare, for the 
success of public work of great magnitude and value is constantly 



depending entirely upon the accuracy of his professional judgment, his 
skill and absolute probity. 

That Mr. Prescott belongs to a gifted family is evidenced by 
the fact that two of his brothei'S are also holding distinguished positions 
in the public service in other parts of the country. One is the Solicitor 
and Town Clerk of the Metropolitan Borough of Fulhara, who, it will 
be remembered, some little time ago declined the oflfer of the Town 
Clerkship of the City of Glasgow. The other brother is the Engineer 
and Surveyor of Eastbourne. 

Brilliant as are Mr. Prescott's present attainments, a much 
larger and still more important career is only just opening before him. 
He is already a student of Gray's Inn, is eating his dinners and will be 
called to the Bar in the course of a year or two. It is easy to foresee 
the great authority he will then become as a Barrister who is also an 
admitted expert as an Engineer and Surveyor. 

In yet another connection is Mr. Prescott likely to make his 
mark in the future. When he cares to avail himself of opportunities 
and chooses to exert his dialectic skill, he is a forcible speaker, capable 
of uttering " thoughts that breathe and words that burn," and as he 
takes a very keen interest in politics, those who know him sincerely 
hope that his voice will one day be heard at St. Stephen's. 

Believing that health is the condition of wisdom and that 
exuberance of life physical and mental is the sequel to a wise indulgence 
in healthy exercises, Mr. Prescott not merely privately follows his own 
convictions on this subject, but gives them added value by 'publicly 
supporting local movements m this direction. He takes a sjiecial 
interest in the Baths, is President of the Tottenham Swimming Club 
and also President of the Tottenham District Council Athletic Club. 
He is a firm advocate of the importance of physical exercise, holding 
that to stint the opportunities for manly indulgence in such would be to 
invite the muscular to relapse into mental and general decrepitude. A 
vigorous and healthy physical frame invariably aids an active and 
pregnant mind. The moveless arm will stiffen into hopeless catalepsy, 
while 

" The athlete worsted in the Olympic games. 
Gains strength, at least, for life." 

Mr. Prescott married in December, f897, Miss Bessie Smith 
Stanley, of Grappenhall, Cheshire, and his name and his wife's, like 
those of Dr. and Mrs. Butler-Hogan, are household words amongst 
the poor of Tottenham. Probably, neither ot these gentlemen nor 



their wives realize the extent to which their deeds of thoughtful 
phllanthrophy are freely and grateful)}^ mentioned throughout the 
District. They are known as the sincere helpers of the indigent, of 
whom Tottenham has more than its share, for there much is seen of 
" the turbid ebb and flow of human misery." It is always easy to give 
a cheap verbal expression of pity for the condition of those whose lot is 
hard, but such cold comfort is not what these helpers of the poor mete 
out to those who are being worsted in life's battle. It is common 
knowledge that during the great distress of the winter of 1905 
numerous Tottenham famillGS suffered acutely. Whilst in many official 
and other circles academic discussions were pursued as to how best to 
ameliorate the lot of those dragging on a miserable existence in a state 
constantly verging upon starvation, Mr. and Mrs. Prescott, and Dr. and 
Mrs. J3utler-Hogan, were quietly active lightening the hardships of 
many of the deserving poor in their neighbourhood. Such acts of 
practical and well timed charity, performed with the grace and courtesy 
which give them an added charm, live in the hearts of the many 
distressed families with whom the names of these generous helpers are 
synonymous with " the true friends of the poor." 





J. BOX, Esq., Mayor of Ealing, 1905-6. 



Joseph BoXt esq- 




lEN such as Mr. Joseph Box, of Avenue Lodge, Ealing, 
may be truly said to be the salt of public life— by then- 
work and their example they keep it sweet ! With no 

^ personal object to serve, they spend themselves freely in the 

ijublic service— their only reward the sense of having done what seems 
to them a plain duty -the duty of bearing a part of the burdei. o 
discharging the functions which are essential to the hie of organised 
communities. 

Mr Box was born in London on April 2Gth, 1840, and is the 
eldest surviving son of the late Mr. Eobert Dixon Box, who ^yas 
descended from one of the oldest Yorkshire families, who for smnething 
like two hundred years were members of the " bociety of Friends. 
He was educated at a private school, and, entc^ring business lite early, 
devoted thirty-four years to commerce, before retiring to enjoy the traits 
of his industry. But even during these thirty-four years he found time 
to serve for seventeen years as honorary auditor of the accounts of the 
Vestry of St. James's, Westminister, and to act as a manager of the 
parochial schools. 

Upon his retirement from business, he lived first at Averley 
Tower, Farnham, removing in 1891 to Ealing, where he has spent 
fifteen years in active service on behalf of the people among whom he 
lives. 



He was quickly recognised as an acquisition to the neighbour- 
hood, and it was not long before a congenial field was found for the 
exercise of his talents. In 1892 he was elected one of the representatives 
of Ealing on the Brentford Board of Guardians, and he at once 
applied himself with characteristic enthusiasm and thoroughness to the 
work of that important body. He was made Chairman of the 
Infirmary Committee, and it was under his personal supervision that 
the fine building opened ten years ago by the Duchess of Teck 
was planned and erected. 

In I 900 he was elected Vice-Chairman of the Board, and two 
years later he succeeded to the Chairmanship upon the retirement of 
Mr. B. Hardy. This office he held for three years, when (according to 
a Standing Order of the Board) he was compelled to relinquish it, he 
was prevailed upon to again take the post of Vice-Chairman. On the 
death of his successor in the chair, he resumed the work of presiding 
over the deliberations of the Board until the end of the official year, 
when he was again elected to the Vice-Chairmanship — a jjosition he 
still holds. A strong temperance man, he founded a Band of Hope at 
the Poor-Law Schools in 1896. 

In the same year as he first became a Guardian, he also became 
honorary secretary of the Ealing Cottage Hospital, and he held that 
office for eleven years, until, in fact, he was elected Chairman of the 
General Committee of the Hospital in 1903. Among all the institutions 
with which he is connected there is none whose interests lie nearer his 
heart than the Cottage Hospital. 

The year 1893 saw Mr. Box returned as a member of the Ealing 
Local Board, and he remained a member of the local authority until 
1898, when, with a good many other members, he lost his seat in 
consequence of his opposition to the introduction of electric tramways. 
In 1901, however, the district was incorporated by Royal Charter as 
a municipal borough, and at the first election of Town Councillors Mr. 
Box was successful at the polls. He was at once made Chairman of 
the Finance Connnittee — a responsible position which he continues to 
hold — and his knowledge of accounts was put to further test by his 
nomination by successive Mayors as their auditor. He was elected an 
alderman in 1902, and on November 9th, 1905, he became Mayor of 
the Borough. At the time of writing, his mayoralty is drawing to a 
close, and it is safe to say that it will be remembered as one of th^ 
most successful in the history of the borough. 



Mr. Box is a loyal member of the English Church, aud he has 
served her in many offices — as warden of the Ealing Parish Church 
from 1898-1904; as secretary of St. Mary's Provident Fund; as 
representative of the Deanery on the London Diocesan Council of the 
Church of England Temperance Society, and as a Vice-Chairman of that 
body; as a member of the London Diocesan Conference from 1898- 
1905 ; and as honorary secretary of the Ealing Deanery Church 
Extension Association. 

Mr. Box has always taken a great intei'est in the education of 
the young, and he was treasurer to St. John's Schools at Ealing for 
eleven years, and an active member of the Ealing Education 
Association, which for thirty years saved Ealing the expense of a 
School Board. Upon the creation of a Statutory Education 
Committee for the Borough under Mr. Balfour's Education Act, Mr. 
Box was made a member of it, and he acts as Chairman of the Finance 
Sub-committee. 

Space fails to enumerate the many other directions in which 
Mr. Box finds outlet for his energy and zeal. A capable organiser, a 
platform speaker of more than average merit, open-minded, there is no 
cause which does not welcome his assistance, and no worthy one which 
seeks it in vain. 

Mr. Box is married, and has three sons and two daughters. 








' -^y^im^^S^ ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^m 


VjjP^ 


A 


.'^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^H^'; 

>» -^^^^^^^^^^^^^E* 


^._,^_. 


1^ 


JS^" 



EDWARD CROWNE, Esq. 




eawara Crowne, esq. 

H^ 

HIRTY-SEVEN years of continuous public service in the 
same district covers a long span of human life and must 
involve attention to a multiplicity of complex details, all 
intended to add to the total sum of human happiness. 

Mr. Edward Crowne is, as Clerk, the veteran officer of the 
Tottenham Urban District Council. He first entered the public 
service of the Distiict in 18G9, when he came from Greenwich. He 
was then twenty-five years of age and had had a few years' experience 
in the office of the Vestry Clerk at Greenwich. 

When Mr. Crowne arrived in Tottenham its affiiirs were 
managed by a small Local Board consisting of seven members, all of 
whom have since died, namely, Dr. William Hall, who was the Chairman, 
and Messrs. Edward Clark, Kirby, Tregellis, Robert Luke Howard, 
John F. Lovering, and James Brickwell, who was then the Managing 
Director of the Gas Company. 

Thus Mr. Crowne has seen Tottenham evolve from a com- 
paratively insignificant place to its present huge dimensions. In 1869 
the population, including Wood Green, was under 18,000. To-day, 
with a third of the old area cut off, Tottenham has a population of 
130,000. In 1869 a penny rate produced something less than £200 ; 
now the result is £1,830. 



A punctilious man of great method, early imbued with diligent 
habits, and having a genius for industry, nothing but the nicest 
exactitude will satisfy Mr. Crowne in respect to attention to any public 
work passing through his department. It would be superfluous to 
enlarge upon the value to the community of tiie services rendered by 
this experienced public officer. So multitudinous are the local interests 
in the ensuring of which Mr. Crowne is incessantly concerned, that it 
is impossible in a limited space to do more than briefly glance at a few 
of them. 

Probably, the most important large questions with the minutiae 
of which he has had to deal for the benefit of Tottenham have 
concerned the arrangements for the disposal of the sewage of the 
District ; the fight against the Government Water Bill of 1904, which 
ended triumphantly in the complete recognition of Tottenham's rights ; 
the organization required in relieving the Unemployed under the Act 
of 1905 and the provision and maintenance of a fire brigade which is 
one of the finest in the countiy, owning better appliances and equi^J- 
ment than London. 

Evidence of the gratitude felt towards Mr. Crowne for the 
consistent loyalty which he has shown in safeguarding the affixirs of 
Tottenham was evinced on March 24th, 1906, when he w^as the recipient 
of a public testimonial which took the form of a horizontal half length 
portrait of himself (which is hung in the Council Chamber) and a 
replica, painted by Mr. Frank Ogilvie, together with a splendidly 
bound and artistically wrouglit album containing an address and the 
names of the subscribers on vellum. At the same time a canteen of 
solid silver of old English pattern was presented to Mrs. Crowne. 

Mr. Crowne's leisure hours are few. In the past they have 
been mostly devoted to Volunteer work. For twenty-five years he was 
in the St. George's Corps and afterwards joined the London Rifle 
Brigade. He is an enthusiastic Freemason, and has been Master of 
the Eleanor Lodge (of which he is one of the four oldest members) 
which formerly met at Tottenham but now has its reunions at the 
Great Eastern Hotel, Liverpool Street. He is also a Grand Officer 
for the Province of Middlesex in the Mark Degree. 

Over a considerable number of years Mr. Crowne encouraged 
and aided the Choral Society attached to the Parish Church, for which 
he was in the earlier times a sidesman ; but since the Mission Church 
of St. Philip the Apostle has been opened, he has identified himself 
with its work and now fills a similar position there. ^ 



v^ 



|<^| |V^| 1-^3 t^^l |<^| |<^| 

^.!/ojnvDJo^ ^.yojnvDjo'^ ^J5U3nvso\^ v/yajMNn-jftv ^^mmi^"^ ^(Jojiwdjo'*^ 



oo 















^.OFCAllFO/?^ ^OFCAlIFOff^ ^1(J\EUNIVER%, ^lOSANCflfj-^ ^-OFCAllFOft^ ^.QfCAllFOff^ 




^<?Aavaan# 



^^\\EUNIVER% 







^mim/ji^ 




'^smmm^ 



^llIBRARYQf 




^.i/ojnvD'jo'^ 



^OFCAIIFO/?^ 







^^^WEUNIVEW/^ 



University of California 

SOUTHERN REGIONAL LIBRARY FACILITY 

305 De Neve Drive - Parking Lot 17 • Box 951388 

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90095-1388 

Return this material to the library from which it was borrowed. 



SAhJlS 




-^sm-imov^ 



mj, 



% 




5 2 

3 ? 




\Qimi^^ \(ii\mi^ 




- - ?? 



d\lEUNIVER% 




i^WEUNIVERy/A 



^<?Aava8n# 



^lOSANCElfj-^ 

so 

>■ 



v^lOSANCEl£fo. 





;^tUBRARYQc. ^^J^HIBRARYQc 




l;OFCAllF0% 






^OFCAllFOff^ 
is 




t^OAUvaani^ ^(?Aavaani'^ 



j^^WE-UNIVER% 




<Cn33NVS01^ 



^lOSANCElEr^ 







'<r?ij3Nvsoi=^ ■^/iaiAiNrtiftV 



^lOSANCElfjV 

CO 



I 




^OFCAUFOR^ ^OF-CAUFOfi!^ 




'^(?Aavaan#' "^^^AMvaan-^- 



ameuniver% 




"^JJllDNVSOl^^ 



^lOSANCEt^x 

O 




5 „ 

v/5a3AINfl]ftv' 






CO 

30 



^^tUBRARYQc 



^t•UBRARYG^. 




5 

^OFCAIIFOP^ 




^OFCAIIFO)?^ 



(•a 



.5ji^EUNIVERr/A ^lOSAJJCElQv -^jJIHBRARYO/- ^^HIBRARYOc 




^J"il3DNVS01=^ %a3AINft-3W>> \oi\mi^^ %Qi\mi^^ 




^OFCAIIFOR^ 



j>;;OFCAllF0%; 



1^1 is tel f •©! 



i SJ^I V<^B V<^TiS 

■ %a3MNIllWV' ^^OJIIVDJO'^ ^<J0JnV3-iO>' 










'^/Sa3AIN(l-3l\V' 



^lOS-ANCftfj^ ^OfCAllFORfc, <i,OfCAllF0P^ . ^\\[ UNIVERJ/a ^lOSMflfj^.! 








*^OABvaain^'^ 




^-TJliDNVSO^ 




%a]MN(13Kv^ 



.ONAl U6RARYFA 



D 000 435 571 5 

m B 







^^OJITVDJO'*^ 



^OFCAIIFOR^ 



I' 



^<?AavaaiH'^ 




<(3T3DKVS01^ 



is 




"^^UDNVSO^ 



^vosANcner^ 




v^lOSANCfl% 




■^/yajAiNrtiftv^ 



^HIBRARYO^ 
5 "I ( f^ ^ 




%a]MNn-3\*^ ^^OilTVD-JO'^ 



^OFCAllFORji^ 



§ 1 1 /"^ ^ 





<j;OFCAllF0ff^ 



^OAavaan-i:*^^ 




5 ^-' » »• ^§ 

jt^Aavaan-iv^ 



.^^\E•UNIVERi/A 
c- — - 








o 



c? 




■^'^a^Ai 







%a]AINf|-3\\V^ 
v^lOSANCElfT. 




■^/SaJAINIllViV* 



*>JIUBRARYQ<- 




^UIBRARYOc. 

ITS ~ 



^OFCAIIFOM^^ 







^.OFCAIIFO/?^ 




■^oABvaaiH'^ 



AMEUNIVER% 







%13DNVS0# 
^5j\EUNIVERy/4 




i&Aavaaii^' ^j^udnvsoi^ 



I 

^/ia3AIN(l-3WV^ 



^lOSAKCElfj^, 




"v/iajAiNniftv 



^^lUBRARYQf 



5 




^tfOJIlVJJO'^ 



^(JOJll 



^OFCAIIFO/?^ ^OFCA 




^ ,1/1 I- C^ 

>&Aava8iii^ 



"^OAav 



fc #™s% 




^yMEUNlVERJ/^ ^lOS'ANCElfj-^ ^UIBRARYO/^ 




{, .^OFCAIIF0%. 



^WEUNIVERS/^ 

«3 




'&Aavaaii# 






^lOSANCEltr^ 
o . _ 

CO 

so 

> 
%a3AlNfl-3ttv^ 



-^lUBRARYQr^ 
§ 1 ir^ * 



^ ^iOJITVDJO'^ "^JJHDNVSO^ "^/iaBAINniftV^ "^aOJUVDJO"^ 




^OFCAUFOff^ 




%ojnv3JO'^ 

^OF-CAllFOff^ 



>&Aavaan# 




>&Aavaan-3i'>^ 



.5WEUNIVERS/A 
>■ ~ 




o 



^J^UONVSOl^ 




■^/sasA 




c? 

"^/saj/ 



^lOSMElfj-^ 



^tUBRARYGc. ^vMUBRARYO/ 




I i 

%a3AIN(l-3WV^ 
v^lOSANCEl% 



^<J03I1V330'^ '%03llVD3O'i^ 
^OFCAllFOMto ^.OFCAllF0ff,(^ 




.?Ji\EUNIVERy/A AvlOSANCElCr^ 



'^ 




%il33NVS01=^ ^/ya3AINn3V^^ 
;JS\El)NIVER% ^lOSANCElf/^ 




^vStllBRARYO^ ^W 




f^ cc 



^OFCAUFOPh^ <jcOFCi 

R IT