(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Mines and Mineral Resources of Sierra County"

Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing tliis resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for in forming people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http: //books .google .com/I 



CALIFORNIA STATE MINING BUREAU ^ V 

FERRY BUILDING, SAN FRANCISCO 

FLETCHER HAMILTON State Mineralogist 

San Francisco December, 1918 



Mines and Mineral Resources 



SIERRA COUNTY 



By ERROL ^AC BOYLE 



I 
I 









A; 



t^'. 



i v> 



CONTENTS. 









■J 



Page 
MINING DISTRICTS — 1 

Alleghany 1 

American Hill 5 

Bhandy City 6 

downibvillb ,-: , --^ — — 8 

GiBSONVILLB • -r — 11 

Indian Hill . — 13 

Pike 14 

J Poker Flat 15 

Port Wine 1,9 

Poverty Hill : 23 

Sierra City , 26 

TABLE OP MINERAL PRODUCTION : 28 

MINES AND MINERALS _— 29 

Chromitb 29 

Copper 30 

Gold 31 

Drift mines .— 31 

Hydraulic mines ^i , ;_ .^6 

Lode mines ^ , ,^_--, , , -» 75 

Placer mines (surficial) . ^ ,_ 134 

\ Iron , ■. 138 

P INDEX ^ ___^ , ^__^___ 189 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Paqe 



Town of Alleghany and surrounding country. Alleghany in center. Tightner mine 

below and Sixteen to One mine on left 1 

View looking west from Chips Flat hydraulic diggings. Sixteen to One and 

Tightner mines in center 1 

Old mining town of Forest. Bald Mountain on right 3 

Old hydraulic workings at Chips Flat 3 

View showing width of an ancient channel and amount of gravel removed by 

hydraulic operations of early days 7 

Distant view of •the Rowland Flat-St. Louis- Port Wine gravel channel. Table 

Mountain in background 16 

Old hydraulic workings of the Port Wine channel showing basalt sheets in gravel 

bank 20 

View showing basalt sheet in gravel at Port Wine 22 

Upper end of the Rowland Flat-St. Louis-Port Wine Neocene river channel. Table 

Mountain and town of Rowland Flat on left 23 

Lava-capped channel at Scalea Shows derrick used for hiandling large boulders 25 

Sierra Buttes from the Keystone mine. View looking north, across the North 

Yuba River 27 

General view of Brandy City hydraulic mine 65 

Brandy City hydraulic mine. Close view of gravel bank overlain with volcanic 

tuff 65 

Brandy City hydraulic mine. Shows tailing impounding dam built of hydraulic 

debris 67 

Method of starting hydraulic debris dam 67 

Kate Rardy mine 96 

Surface plant at North Fork mine . 106 

View of Sierra Buttes outcrop 120 

Open cut along outcrop of Sierra Buttes lode 121 

Sixteen to One Mine. Tightner mine on right 123 

Town of Alleghany and Tightner mine below 127 






i» ■ 



\ 



SIERRA COUNTY. 



MINING DISTRICTS- 



ALLEGHANY MINING DISTRICT. 

Including Alleghany, Forest, Chips Flat and Minnesota. 
Introduction. 

The Alleghany district is one of the older California gold camps, 
famous in early days for rich placer and drift mines. Miners working 
gold quartz veins often find extremely rich ore shoots which present 
interesting problems in vein formation. 

Situation, etc. 

The district is situated in the southwestern part of Sierra County, 
twenty-five miles northeast of Nevada City. Alleghany may be 
reached by stage from three railroad points — ^from Nevada City via 
Mountain House (forty miles) ; from Loyalton and Truckee on the 
northeast and southeast, respectively, via Downieville and Mountain 
House. A regular daily stage from Nevada City is the shortest route. 
The stage roads are poorly located in regard to rain and snow, 
causing the region to be isolated during winter. The freight rate 
from Nevada City to Alleghany is $20 a ton. The Nevada County 
Narrow Gauge Railroad terminates at Nevada City, and the Southern 
Pacific Railroad connects with the other points. 

The climate is characterized by heavy rains and deep snow in 
winter, and by dry, warm summers. The growth of yellow pine has 
been almost completely cut, but there are still large areas covered 
with timber on the ridges south of the South Fork of Yuba River and 
on the North Bloomfield divide. 

The Alleghany district was one of the first placer regions to be 
worked in California. The rich river bars were mined first, after 
which hydraulieking and drifting in ancient gravel beds of Neocene 
age was carried on. Lode mining became important in 1907 after 
the discovery of the Tightner vein at Alleghany. The total gold 
production to 1913 is estimated at between $5,000,000 and $6,000,000 ; 
in 1912 it amounted to $293,561. 

Bibliography. 

Ferguson, Henry G., Lode Deposits of the Alleghany District, California, U. 8. 
Geol. Survey Bull. 580 I. 

Topography. 

The topography is characterized by streams separated by gently 
rolling areas. The river canons are deep and precipitous. Alleghany 
and Chips Flat are on opposite slopes of the canon of Kanaka Creek, 
a branch of the Middle Fork of Yuba River. The northern part of the 
district, about Forest, is drained by Oregon Creek. A broad andesite 



2 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

breccia ridge between Oregon and Kanaka creeks is about 1000' above 
the general level, with a moderate slope on the south side. The 
general elevation of the region is from 4000' to 5000'. 

Geology. 

The region consists' off intensely folded sedimentary rocks, intruded 
by basic igneous rocks; andesite breccia covers both igneous and. 
sedimentary rocks in certain areas. The sediments and intrusioiis 
were eroded before the andesitic flow took place and fragmentary 
areas of the andesite are sometimes underlain by old Neocene gravel 
beds. Slates and sandstones are exposed as parallel bands running 
approximately north and south. A band of Cape Horn slate one mile 
wide lies to the west, while the Blue Canon formation, which is three 
miles in width, lies to the east. The general strike of the beds is 
north with dips of 80° to 90° E. The Delhi formation is com- 
posed of a dark brown, hard, fine-grained rock, and occurs in contact 
with serpentine near the southwest border of the district. 

The Cape Horn and Blue Canon formations are separated by. 
serpentine and amphibolite. Compressive stresses have caused the 
igneous rocks to be schistose in character, especially the amphibolite 
which has probably been derived by pressure, from diorite or gabbro. 
In some places the amphibolite schists are chloritic and diflScult to 
distinguish from clay slates. 

West of Alleghany the serpentine consists of four parallel narrow 
bands in amphibolite. Along Oregon Creek a serpentine belt encloses 
a mass of gabbro ; the surface exposure of this belt is broken on the 
ridge south of Oregon Creek by a capping of andesite breccia. 

Historical geology. 

The oldest known rocks in the region are those of the Blue Caiion 
and the Cape Horn formations, which belong to the Carboniferous 
division of the Paleozoic. The former is composed of gray slates and 
quartzitic sandstones, while the latter is composed only of clay slates. 
The Delhi formation in the southwestern part of the district rests on 
Cape Horn slates which are known as the Calaveras formation in 
other regions. 

At the end of the Carboniferous period the sediments were closely 
folded and compressed. Erosion took place during the Juratrias 
period, at the end of which the sediments were folded into high moun- 
tain ranges. Intrusions of basic and igneous rocks occurred at about 
the same time. The principal ore deposits followed these intrusions. 

A period of folding and faulting occurred again in late Cretaceous 
time and* the high Sierra Nevada range was formed. Deposition, 
following erosion, built up auriferous gravels in the river beds of the 



I: 



;l]t 



SIERRA COUNTY. 3 

Neocene period ; some of these have been covered by andesite breccia 
which flowed down the Neocene river valleys, at the close of the 
Tertiary period, as volcanic mud. Andesite covers the chief inter- 
stream ridgea and has preserved many of the auriferous gravel 
deposits from being eroded. 

Mineral depoiiU. 

The mineral deposits occur both as lode and placer. The lode 
deposits are well-marked fissure veins. The placer deposits are 
covered by andesite and recent river bars. 

Tertiary grave it. 

A tributary of a Neocene river runs through Minnesota, Chips Flat, 
Alleghany and Forest. At Minnesota 20' of fine quartz gravel is 
exposed. The channel below the andesite has been drifted along its 
satire length and was found to be very rich. At Chips Flat a few 
acres are exposed, consisting of coarse gravel with well-washed 
quartz boulders. At Smith's Flat, one mile south of Alleghany, 
gravel banks 50' high show flat cobbles of quartz and siliceous slate 
on bedrock. The gold is coarse and has often worked its way down 
into bedrock. At Forest, $150,000 is reported to have been produced 
i'rom a small amount of heavy gravel; one foot of bedrock was 
extracted with 2j' of gravel, yielding $7 per cubic yard. Drifting 
fiperations have been carried on in a small way at various points 
along the ridge west of Alleghany. In general the Neocene gravels 
were deposited in branches of a great drainage system that sloped to 



Photo No. 4. Old hfdriulic workinf) «( Chip* FItt, 



$ MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

tfie Sacramento Valley. Both bedrock gravel and bench gravel con- 
tain gold, but the former is richer. Gravels intercalated with 
andesite tuff seldom carry values. 

The gold probably accumulated during erosion of the various quartz 
veins of the region. In some cases the Neocene gravels themselves 
have been eroded, and the gold reconcentrated in modern streams; 
an example of this is the shifting bars of Kanaka Creek and the 
Middle Fork of Yuba River. 

Lodo deposits. 

The gold quartz veins are mineral fillings of fissures in the bedrock 
(pre-Cretaceous) series. Quartz has been deposited by waters circu- 
lating in the fissures, which vary in size and regularity. A large vein 
eiten splits into a series of stringers, especially when passing from 
amphibolite into serpentine. The gold is seldom evenly distributed, 
usually being concentrated in bodies or in elongated steeply dipping 
ore-shoots, several of which may occur along a vein. Productive 
veins occur in slate, serpentine and amphibolite, but chiefly in the 
latter. They strike north, northeast and east, and dip from 40° 
to 60° E. 

The veins in the amphibolite are generally persistent but vary in 
width. There is usually a well-defined wall, where they pinch out, 
with some gouge which may be followed until the quartz reappears. 
Serieite occurs in minute veinlets within the veins, especially in the 
crushed portion. Secondary dolomite and siderite are sometimes 
found as crystals formed on the quartz. 

Arsenopyrite occurs in the veins as large-bladed crystals, and as 
irregular masses broken and veined by quartz. It is the most impor- 
tant vein sulphide, as it contains gold and is an indicator of rich ore- 
shoots. Banded quartz is regarded as a favorable indication for good 
gold values; the arsenopyrite in such ores occurs as bands and has 
been recrystallized in minute perfect octahedral crystals. Fine 
crystalline arsenopyrite found in veins some distance from the shoots 
of high grade ore usually contains only small amounts of gold. The 
gold ranges in size from microscopic particles to pieces several milli- 
meters across. It occurs as thread-like veinlets and as replacements 
of the quartz veinlets which cross the arsenopyrite. It also occurs in 
small irregular fissures, away from the arsenopyrite, usually asso- 
ciated with galena. The galena is not abundant but is commonly 
associated with rich ore. It often occurs as a replacement of quartz, 
one crystal being the center of radiation of closely spaced slender 
galena needles, about two millimeters long. ^linute crystals of dark 
brown sphalerite often occur with the galena and pyrite is found 
associated with the other sulphides. Tetrahedrite and chalcocite 



SIERRA COUNTY. 5 

occur in small amounts. Minerals occurring in the wall rock are 
calcite, dolomite, mariposite, arsenopyrite and pyrite. 

As shown by the microscope,* arsenopyrite crystallized before the 
quartz and the gold is deposited later than the arsenopyrite. The 
coarsely crystalline arsenopyrite carries gold; apparently the gold 
was carried in later solutions traveling through the vein and was pre- 
cipitated by the arsenopyrite. Near the arsenopyrite, gold and 
various sulphides, such as galena, were deposited in minute fissures. 

AMERICAN HILL MINING DISTRICT. 

This district includes the country within two miles of the town of 
American Hill. The region contains both lode and placer deposits, 
but mining has been done chiefly in the Tertiary river gravels, which 
are especially rich in the region of the quartz veins. It is in south- 
western Sierra County, about five miles east of Alleghany, and thirty- 
one miles northeast of Nevada City. The nearest shipping point is 
Nevada City, terminus of the Nevada County Narrow Gauge Eailroad, 
from which a daily stage is run to Forest. The distance from Forest 
to American Hill is about six miles over fair roads. 

The summers are warm and dry, but there are heavy rains and 
snowfall in the winter. This region is but sparsely timbered. Wolf 
and Bear creeks furnish a good supply of water. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, pp. 142-143. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, 1900. 

Topography. 

The region in general consists of rolling interstream ridges. 
American Hill (elevation 5000') is situated on a flat topped ridge 
covered with andesite which lies between two branches of Wolf 
Creek. The canons of Wolf and Bear creeks, which drain the region, 
are from 1000' to 1500' de^p. 

Geology. 

The formations consist of closely folded Blue Canon slates and 
quartzitic sandstones, intrusive granite, and andesite and basalt flows. 
The Blue Canon is the oldest formation, being of Carboniferous age. 
The granite intruded in early Cretaceous or late Jurassic time. 
Stream gravels accumulated during the Neocene period and at its 
close much of the region was covered by volcanic andesite breccia. 
In early Pleistocene the partially eroded andesite was covered in 
places by local basalt flows. 

♦Ferguson, H. G., Lode Deposits of the Alleghany District, California, U. S. Geol. 
Survey Bull. 580 I. 



6 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The basalt is fine grained, sometimes vesicular, and generally eon- 
tains small crystals of olivine. The granite is coarse grained and of 
light gray color. It consists of white feldspar with large crystals of 
gray quartz, with small amounts of hornblende and biotite. Other 
rocks present are the same as in the Alleghany District. 

The Tertiary gravels are characterized by coarse gold. At 
American Hill and extending for a mile westward around the head 
of Little Wolf Creek bench gravels outcrop. On the east side of 
Wolf Creek, at Bunker Hill, a gravel bed 300' thick lies in a trough 
in the bedrock and is covered with clay and sand. This channel is 
believed to extend under the lava cap. Two long tunnels, driven 
some years ago, but now inaccessible, showed the existence of two 
channels at different elevations. 

There are two known quartz veins in the district, one directly 
south of American Hill, and the other about a mile in a southeasterly 
direction. Their outcrops strike northerly and may be traced for 
perhaps a quarter of a mile. The first vein dips 80° E ; it is a fissure 
vein in Blue Canon slate. The southern vein appears to occur along 
a contact between slate and granite. 

BRANDY CITY DISTRICT. 

The Brandy City mining district is located in the extreme western 
portion of Sierra County, twelve miles by trail west of Downieville. 
It comprises the auriferous gravels of the west fork of the Neocene 
channel of North Yuba River, which have been worked for gold since 
the early fifties. Brandy City is situated at an elevation of about 
3700' on the southwest end of a gently sloping ridge. Clipper Mill, 
eight miles by trail west of Brandy City, has stage connection with 
Oroville, thirty-four miles distant, and Quincy, fifty miles distant. 
Downieville is about forty-eight miles, by stage, southwest of Loyal- 
ton, a point on the Western Pacific Railroad; also about sixty-eight 
miles by stage northeast of Marysville, and about forty-four miles 
north of Nevada City. During the spring and summer months the 
stage roads and trails are fair, but during the winter months, owing 
to heavy rainfall and snow, they are very poor. Sufficient water for 
that portion of the district immediately around Brandy City has been 
obtained from Canon and Cherokee creeks. Rock and Slate creeks 
furnish water for the section north of Brandy City. 

History of mining. 

The deposits of auriferous gravels belonging to the La Porte 
channel have been hydraulicked. Operations on a large scale were 
carried on at Poverty Hill in the extreme north of the district until 



- ■■■'Axu^ 



J 



SIERRA COUNTY. 7 

1891. In 1906 and 1907 the gravels of Poverty Hill were prospected 
with the idea of working them by drifts. 

Opposition to hydraulic mining in 1891 stopped large operations 
carried on along the channel between Canon Creek and Cherokee 
Creek. The Brandy City Mining Company later obtained control of 
the water rights and most of the claims. Water is carried by ditches, 
under the supervision of the U. S. Debris Commission, and in 1909, 
30,000 cubic yards of the upper part of the gravel was hydraulicked 
with a recovery of lOff per cubic yard. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, p. 101, 1911. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 43, Bidwell Bar, 1898. 

Topography. 

Slate Creek, to the north of this district, flows along the north- 
western side of a ridge, and Canon Creek flows along the southeastern 
side of the same ridge. The canons formed by the two creeks are 
steep and precipitous. On the ridge are the Council Hill, Pairplay, 
Union Hill, Scales and Poverty Hill diggings. 

Brandy City, Grizzly Hill and Indian Hill diggings are situated on 
a ridge lying between Canon Creek to the northwest and the North 
Fork of Yuba River to the south. The district is drained by the 
North Fork Yuba River, and its tributaries. 

Geology. 

Amphibolite composes most of the exposed portion of this district. 
An area of Calaveras slate is in contact with it on the north. Small 
exposures of andesite tufif cap the auriferous gravels at Poverty Hill 
and Union Hill. At Council Hill, near the line of contact between 
the amphibolite and the Calaveras formation, a small exposure of 
andesite tuflf caps the auriferous gravels. A strip of the Calaveras 
formation about one-fourth mile wide extends through the amphibo- 
lite north of Brandy City and trends in a northerly direction. A 
portion of this, as well as a considerable portion of the amphibolite, 
is capped by andesite tuflf north of Brandy City. A narrow strip of 
serpentine cuts through the amphibolite and is in contact with 
andesite tuflf and the underlying auriferous gravels at Brandy City. 
Southwest of this serpentine is an area of Calaveras slates, trending 
southerly, in contact with amphibolite. On this exposure of the Cala- 
veras formation is found the auriferous gravels of Indian Hill. A 
small exposure of gabbro occurs about one mile southeast of Brandy 
City. 



8 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The auriferous gravels of the district are all of Neocene age. The 
main channel extends from the Poverty Hills inlet of Scales Diggings, 
reappears at llock Creek outlet and continues to Union Hill, Fair- 
play, Council Hill, Brandy City, Grizzly Hill and Indian Hill. 

DOWNIEVILLE MINING DISTRICT. 

Including Downieville, Goodyears Bar, Eureka, Sierra Turnpike and Cornish 

House. 

The Downieville district includes large deposits of recent aurifer- 
ous gravels, along the North Fork of Yuba River and its branches, 
from which millions of dollars have been washed; the most valuable 
deposits are exhausted. Tertiary auriferous gravels occur in two or 
three scattered areas. The district is one of the largest producers of 
placer gold in the region. Small amounts of gold have been obtained 
from two or three quartz veins. A lens of dolomitic limestone in the 
extreme eastern part of the district extends northwesterly from the 
North Fork of Yuba River for about one mile in length. 

Downieville, the county seat, is situated at an elevation of 3000' in 
the west-central portion of Sierra County. It is forty-four miles by 
road north-northeast from Nevada City, via North San Juan and 
Camptonville. The distance by road from Marysville, in Yuba 
County, is sixty-eight miles. Downieville may also be reached from 
Loyalton, forty-eight miles by road to the east on the Western Pacific 
Railroad. 

The climate of the district is moderate. The summers are warm 
and dry, but during the winter months there is heavy rainfall and 
some snow. It is in the central portion of the Tahoe National Forest 
and is wooded with yellow and sugar pine, spruce, fir and oak. The 
region has an abundant water supply. The North Fork Yuba River 
and its tributaries run through the district and furnish a cheap source 
of electric power. 

History of mining. 

Gold-bearing gravels of modern streams were worked at an early 
date. Tertiary auriferous gravels were mined by a shaft at the 
Pliocene mine, four miles south of Downieville. At the Ruby mine, 
one mile north of Table Mountain and three miles south of D(>wnie- 
ville, gravels have been mined by means of a tunnel. At the head of 
Slug Canon, two miles south of Downieville, the City of Six gravel 
deposits occur where an old river channel has been tunneled through 
to Rock Creek, a tributary of the North Fork Yuba River to the west. 
The Bald Mountain Company has worked its channel by tunnels that 
enter the ridge on the south slope. The gravel of the Nebraska 



SIEERA COUNTY. 9 

diggings, two and a quarter miles southeast of the Pliocene shaft, 
has been extensively mined. In 1905 the Downieville district pro- 
duced $34,000 in placer gold; in 1909 the production dropped to 
$17,000. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Greol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, p. Ill, 1911. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1905, p. 182 ; 
1906, p. 196 ; 1907, part I, pp. 225-226 ; 1908, part I, pp. 350, 768 ; 1909, 
part I, pp. 284-285. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 1897. 

Topography. 

Downieville is located at the juncture of the North Fork of the 
North Fork with the North Fork of Yuba River. The land rises 
from Downieville in three directions. To the northwest the eleva- 
tion increases from 3000' to 5000' in less than two miles. To the 
northeast the canon sides are most steep, the slope being greater 
than 1:1, and the elevation reaches 5500' along the ridge. This 
ridge runs parallel to the North Fork Yuba River, and forms the 
divide between it and the. East Fork of the North Fork; south of 
Downieville the land rises to a long level ridge trending east between 
the North Fork and the Middle Fork of Yuba River ; at Table Moun- 
tain it reaches an elevation of 5619'. 

Geology. 

The region is made-up primarily of folded and compressed sedi- 
mentary rocks of the Calaveras formation, which have been meta- 
morphosed to clay-slates and quartzites. Intrusions of serpentine, 
gabbro and amphibolite have taken place in the western part of the 
district. The serpentine extends north and south as long belts 
through the district. It is covered with andesite on Fir Top Moun- 
tain, but is exposed on the eastern slope of Saddleback Mountain 
farther to the north; it makes up the east slope of Goodyear Creek 
Canon. In the southeastern portion of the district a large intrusion 
of granite occurs in the Calaveras formation. 

One-half mile east of Downieville a long narrow dike of gabbro 
intrudes the Calaveras formation; it is about two miles long and 
extends in a northwesterly direction. Near its northern extremity 
the Gold Bluff quartz vein occurs. 

Eureka is located five miles by trail northwest of Downieville. It 
.is on Neocene gravels which rest on a belt of augite-porphyrite less 
than one-half mile wide enclosed by the Calaveras formation. The 
augite-porphyrite was probably derived from augitic tuffs, lavas and 
dikes of Juratrias age, compressed and metamorphosed along with 
the surrounding sediments. 



10 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The Calaveras formation composes the country west of Eureka. 
On the upper portion of the broad flat ridge furthest west there is a 
capping of andesite breccia continuous with the andesite running 
southwest in Poverty Hill district. 

During Eocene time the Sierra Nevada was eroded, and during the 
Neocene period auriferous gravels accumulated. At the end of 
Neocene time extensive lava flows occurred, a remnant of which is 
the andesite breccia remaining on the highland in the south of 
Downieville district. About the same time a great dislocation 
occurred along the eastern base of the Sierra Nevada, which changed 
the grade of the western slope of the range and greatly increased 
erosion. Eruptions of basalt occurred in early Pleistocene time and 
cover many scattered areas such as the Table Mountain region. 

Mineral deposits. 

On the high ridge south of Downieville auriferous Tertiary gravels 
occur capped with andesite. There are two distinct channels. The 
older one extends toward the Bald Mountain Extension mine channel. 
The younger channel lies 116' lower and connects with the old Rock 
Creek diggings. At the Pliocene mine, a shaft was sunk through the 
andesite breccia to the gravel resting on Calaveras bedrock, and at 
the Ruby mine, three miles south of Downieville, a tunnel was put in 
at the base of the andesite breccia. 

The City of Six gravels occur at the head 'of Slug Canon, at the 
base of andesite and basalt, the bedrock being Calaveras slate. The 
exposed material is 500' wide and one-third of a mile long, with 
pebbles composed of quartz and metamorphic rock. 

Tertiary river gravels three miles northwest of Downieville have 
been hydraulicked at the Monte Cristo mine, at the Excelsior mine, 
one mile northeast of the latter on the opposite side of the andesite 
cap, and at two places on the ridge between the North and Middle 
Forks of the North Fork Yuba River. This ridge also contains the 
Wide Awake drift which extends under the andesite cap. 

Auriferous gravels of recent origin occur along the North Pork of 
the North Fork of Yuba River to a point five miles north of Downie- 
ville. They occur at the river junction at Downieville and in dis- 
connected patches in each direction along the North Pork of Yuba 
River. The deposits are extensive at Goodyears Bar and for two and 
one-half miles up Goodyear Creek. Water- worn pebbles of chrome* 
iron have been found in the gravels of Goodyear Creek; these have 
apparently been washed from the neighboring serpentine. 

Recent gravels also occur along the Middle Fork of the North Pork 
of Yuba. Some of these now lie at an elevation of 150' above the 



SIEERA COUNTY. 11 

river. At Downieville remnants of gravel benches, formerly mined 
with good returns, are still preserved. 

Two gold-quartz veins have been developed in the canon of the 
North Fork of the North Fork of Yuba River, about a mile north of 
Downieville. The veins are quartz fillings in the Calaveras forma- 
tion, one being of the contact type. The outcrop extends for one- 
fourth of a mile in a north and south direction. At the Good Hope 
mine, west of and about 500' above the river branch, a contact vein 
between slate and serpentine, strikes northwest and dips 45° W. 
into the hill. The Gold Bluff vein occurs farther north on the 
opposite side of the creek ; it is being worked near the north end of the 
gabbro dike east of Downieville. Quartz veins are numerous on the 
ridge south of Downieville and prospectors have discovered four 
gold-quartz veins in Jim Crow Ravine. 

GIBSONVILLE MINING DISTRICT. 
Including Gibsonville and Whiskey Diggings. 

This district contains extensive exposures of Tertiary auriferous 
river gravels. Gibsonville has been only a moderate producer of 
gold. Some chrome has recently been produced. 

This district is located in the northwest comer of Sierra County. 
Gibsonville is sixty-eight miles by road northeast of Marysville, 
twenty-six miles by road south of Quincy, and approximately thirty 
miles by road west of Clio, a point on the Western Pacific Railroad. 
The condition of the roads in summer permits of the use of auto- 
trucks, but in winter there is a great deal of rain and snow, and the 
roads are often impassable. A daily stage runs from Marysville. 

Gibsonville is a few miles north of the Tahoe National Forest, and 
a great deal of timber is still uncut in the surrounding region. A 
good supply of water is furnished by Little and East branches of 
Slate Creek, and their numerous tributaries. Electric power is 
furnished at a low rate. 

History of mining. 

Nearly all the main Tertiary river channel between Gibsonville 
and the old Hepsidam camp has been mined by means of tunnels. 
From 1875 to 1895, the Niagara Consolidated Company drifted on the 
channel between Hepsidam and Bunker Hill, a distance of about a 
mile. The channel at Hepsidam between rims was 800' wide, of 
which 500' to 600' was drifted. The recovery from much of the 
drifted ground was as high as $3 a cubic yard. One and a half miles 
southwest of Gibsonville the Feather Fork Gold Gravel Company has 
drifted for one mile up the channel from the Thistle shaft, which is 
said to have been pumped dry at great expense. 



12 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

In the region about Gibsonville and Whiskey Diggings 2,500,000 
cubic yards of gravel are reported to have been washed, and in 1891, 
500,000 cubic yards were estimated to be still available. In the year 
1905 Gibsonville produced $6600 and La Porte $18,000 worth of 
placer gold ; in 1909 both together produced $32,000. 

Bibliography. 

LlndRren, W., Tertiary Grcavels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, pp. 106-107. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1907, part I 
p. 286; 1908, part I, p. 351; 1909, part I, pp. 284-285. U. S. Geol. Survey 
Folio 37, Downleville, 1897. 

Topography. 

This small district lies mostly on the south slope of a flat ridge 
between South Fork Feather River and Slate Creek, a tributary of 
the North Fork Yuba River. Gibsonville is at an elevation of 5000' 
on the south slope of the ridge and is 200' above the bed of Little 
Slate Creek, which flows southwestward. 

Geology. 

The southern portion of the district is composed of amphibolite, 
continuous with- that in the Port Wine district to the south. East of 
Gibsonville serpentine and Calaveras slates and quartzites occur in 
contact with the amphibolite. Along the ridge north of Gibsonville 
fmd Whiskey Diggings a capping of andosite covers the amphibolite, 
serpentine, and the Calaveras rocks. 

One mile southeast of the Hepsidam drift a dike of quartz-porphyry 
intrudes the Calaveras formation ; it outcrops for over one-fourth of 
a mile and strikes northwest. A small body of glacial detritus 
remains three-fourths of a mile south of the Hepsidam drift. 

Mineral deposits. 

The only mineral of economic importance at the present time is 
gold which occurs in the gravels of the Neocene river channels. 
The main Tertiary river channel west of the Neocene divide in the 
Downieville quadrangle passes through Gibsonville, Whiskey 
Diggings and Hepsidam. From Gibsonville the channel slopes 
southwestward through La Porte, Scales and Indian Hill, toward 
Camptonville. 

From Gibsonville to La Porte the channel is deeply covered by 
andesitic tuffs and clays. At the Thistle shaft, one and one-haH 
miles southwest from Gibsonville, the clays composed largely of 
volcanic mud, become from 300' to 400' thick; the channel is 1500' 
wide and the rims rise very steeply. Similar conditions hold between 
Gibsonville and Hepsidam. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 13 

Following up the channel from La Porte to Gibsonville the average 
present grade 'is about 80' to the mile; from Gibsonville to Whiskey- 
Diggings it is about 250' to the mile, and from there to Hepsidam 
about 400' to the mile. Although the grade of the channel between 
Gibsonville and Hepsidam greatly increases there is no change in the 
character of the gravel; the rapid increase in grade is ascribed to a 
differential elevation toward the east. From Thistle shaft to Hep- 
sidam the channel is easily accessible by tunnels, having been mined 
almost continuously. 

The channel has been mined continuously underneath the ridge, 
two miles above Gibsonville, by the Niagara Consolidated Mining 
Company. It is 800' wide between rims, 500' to 600' of which was 
drifted. The gold on the bedrock was coarse and the upper gravels 
carried some gold in places. Much of the drifted ground yielded as 
much as $3 per cubic yard. Several sudden * jumps* of 3' or 4' each 
occur in the channel and probably represent faults crossing the bed- 
lock. Under the summit of the ridge a sudden drop occurred, 
necessitating another tunnel 50' lower; this was found to be the 
beginning of a fault zone which depressed the channel on the Nelson 
Creek side by several hundred feet. This fault zone lies approxi- 
mately in the extension of the Spanish Peak fault, in the Bidwell Bar 
quadrangle, but they can not be connected with certainty. 

There is another fault zone in the region of La Porte. The block 
between these two zones, which includes the channel from La Porte 
to Hepsidam, has been sharply tilted. 

The Bunker Hill drift, across the ridge in Plumas County, is a mile 
and a quarter northeast of Hepsidam. There the channel is exposed 
imder the lava-capped ridge, on the slope to Feather River. The 
channel between Bunker Hill and Hepsidam has been mined by drifts. 

INDIAN HILL MINING DISTRICT. 
Including Indian Hill and Snowden Hill. 

This district is situated in the west central portion of Sierra County. 
Indian Hill lies a mile and a half south of the North Fork Yuba River 
and ten miles southwest of Downieville. It is fifty miles, by road, 
northeast of Marysville; and forty miles, by road, north of Nevada 
City. There is an abundance of water, timber and cheap electric 
power. 

Gold is produced chiefly from mines in Tertiary and modern stream 
gravels. Hydraulic mining was at one time extensively carried on. 
One quartz vein, containing gold, is as yet merely a prospect. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary River Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey 
Prof. Paper 73, 1911. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 1897. 

2—46901 



14 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Topography. 

Indian Hill is situated in a saddle of a ridge 900' in cflevation above 
Indian Valley. The level floor of this valley is somewhat less than 
one-fourth mile in width and is about three miles long. 

No streams of importance from the south flow into the North Yuba 
at Indian Valley, but to the east Humbug Creek and St. Catherine 
Creek flow from Snowden Hill. On the east side of this hill Woodruff 
Creek flows northward to Goodyears Bar. Fiddle Creek drains the 
region north of Indian Valley and almost parallels the North Yuba 
to within three-quarters of a mile from their junction. 

Geology. 

The Calaveras formation makes up most of the eastern portion of 
the district. Amphibolite and serpentine form the eastern border, 
intrusions of granite, amphibolite and serpentine with some augite- 
porphyrite occur in the west. Flows of andesite and basalt occur in 
the southeastern portion of the district. 

PIKE MINING DISTRICT. 
Including Tippecanoe, Grizzly Gulch and Nelson Mill. 

Gold occurs, in this district, in small scattered areas of Tertiary 
river gravels. At Tippecanoe a few acres of Tertiary auriferous 
gravels have been hydraulicked. A quartz vein at the Alaska mine, 
one-haH mile north of Pike, was worked to a considerable extent 
thirty-five years ago. 

Pike is situated in the extreme southwest corner of Sierra County 
at an elevation of 3300'. A good water supply is furnished by 
Oregon Creek, Grizzly Creek and the Middle Fork of the Yuba River. 
Various uncut bodies of timber in the surrounding country are 
sources of lumber. The nearest railroad station is Nevada City, 
twenty-eight and a quarter miles to the south, by way of Campton- 
ville. Marysville, on the Southern Pacific Railroad, lies fifty-three 
miles by road to the southwest. 

Bibliography. 

Liindgren, W., Tertiary River Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey- 
Prof. Paper 73, p. 138. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1907, part I, 
pp. 225-226; 1908, part I, p. 769. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax, 1900. 

Topography. 

The region is made up of many small ridges and divides. Pike 
occupies a flat ridge which extends about a mile and a half southward 
and then drops 1200' in one-half mile, to the Middle Fork Yuba River. 
Grizzly Creek drains Pike and the region to the southeast. To the 
north of Pike the land rises to an elevation of 4000', forming the 



SIERRA COUNTY. 15 

divide south of Oregon Creek; this creek is a long tributary almost 
paralleling the Middle Fork Yuba. River and draining the northern 
region about Tippecanoe and Forest. Tippecanoe is on a broad ridge 
drained by Indian Xjreek to the south. . 

Geology. 

Diabase occurs around Pike. North of the diabase a broad belt of 
serpentine is in contact with Delhi Tocks on the east; it carries 
irregular bodies, of amphibolite. In the northeastern part of the 
district, north of the andesite cap, and? in contact with the Delhi 
formation to the west, there is an intrusive body of granite-porphyry. 

The region is composed largely of black siliceous folded sedimen- 
tary rocks of the Delhi formation, pierced by the above intrusives. 
Both sedimentary and intrusive rocks forming the present interstream 
ridges are usually capped by andesite, which also covers the aurif- 
erous gravels which were deposited in channels of rivers during the 
Neocene period. Pleistocene erosion has left this andesite only on 
the uplands. 

Mineral deposits. 

A Tertiary river channel almost coincides with Oregon Creek. 
Areas of gravel exposed along this channel at Tippecanoe lie in flat 
benches sometimes less than 100' above. the present stream. At 
Tippecanoe the deposit is 100' thick and consists of quartz and chert 
pebbles, often imperfectly washed; no volcanic rocks are contained 
in the deposit. A small body of gravM is exposed one-half mile east 
of Nelson Mill. Another gravel deposit one mile east of Plum Valley 
rests on a bedrock of the' Delhi formation and is capped with andesite 
to the northeast. Some drift mining rhaCbeeii done three and three- 
quarter miles northeast of Pike, in. a gravel deposit resting on 
serpentine. 

The Alaska vein occurs one-half mile north of Pike. It strikes 
east, outcropping for a distance of about one-half mile, and dips 
north. The vein is of quartz, filling a fissure in diabase. The ore 
once produced was very rich in coarse gold. 

POKER FLAT MINING DISTRICT. 

Including the region aboiit Poker Flat, Table Rock and Rowland Flat. 

This district lies southeast of the Gibsonville district. Table Rock 
is seventy-two miles by road northeast of Marysville; roads also 
connect with Quincy, thirty miles to the north via Gibsonville, and 
with Mohawk, twenty-seven miles to the northeast. Daily stages run 
from Marysville and from Quincy when weather permits. In the 
winter, when there is much snow and rain, the roads are in many 



MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 17 

places impassable, but in the summer they are in fair condition tod 
permit the use of motor trucks. Water is supplied by num[^H)ti«r 
tributaries of Slate Creek and Canon Creek. Cheap electric po"V^er 
may be obtained. 

History of mining. 

On the south slope of the ridge southeast of Table Rock a gravel 
deposit, known as the California Diggings, has been hydraulicked. 
On the south side of Canon Creek, opposite the California Diggings, 
the Deadwood gravel deposit has been worked by both hydraulic and 
drift mining. The gravel has been followed under the andesite eap 
in a southeasterly direction to the Bunker Hill mine. The gravete 
about Potosi and Howland Plat have been drifted along the ebamiel 
under the lava. 

The production of placer gold at Table Rock, along with that of 
St. Louis in the adjoining Port Wine district, was $28,000 in 1905 
and $26,700 in 1909. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, pp. 108-109, 1911. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 19'09f, part 1, 
pp. 284-285. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 1897. 

Topography. 

Table Rock and Mount Fillmore lie between Canon Creek and Slate 
Creek, tributaries of the North Pork Yuba River. Table Rock, ele- 
vation 6980', is a high peak on a ridge which extends southwestward 
to Queen City and Port Wine. Canon Creek lies south of Table Rock 
at an elevation of 4800'. In the Poker Flat region to the east andesite 
forms a cap continuous with that on Table Rock and Mount Fillmore^ 
elevation 7816'. The north slope is drained by the East Branch of 
Slate Creek. Rattlesnake Peak, elevation 7400', is on a ridge three 
miles east of Poker Flat ; its north slope is characterized by irregular 
spurs. The ridge south of Poker Flat is broad and flat, and purtially 
covered with andesite ; it continues westward to Deadwood Peak. 

The main drainage of the district has a general southwest direction ; 
the streams are all tributaries of the North Fork Yuba River. 

Geology. 

Closely folded slates and quartzites compose most of the district. 
They generally strike north and dip nearly vertically. In the extreme 
southeastern portion of the district they strike northwest and dip 
75° E. On the ridge east of Deadwood Peak the sediments have a 
northeast strike. 

Both north of Potosi and west of Poker Flat amphibolite occurs. 
Northwest of Potosi it strikes northeast, and dips 70° SB. 



18 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

About one and one-half miles west of Mount Fillmore a belt of 
serpentine, about three-fourths mile wide, is in contact with amphib- 
olite on the west, and with the Calaveras formation on the east. A 
narrow belt of serpentine just east of Poker Plat extends in a north- 
easterly direction; it is probably continuous, under the andesite cap, 
with the northern belt. 

One mile east of Poker Flat a body of augite-porphyrite one-fourth 
mile wide and two miles long extends northward towards Mount 
Fillmore. A small body of the same rock also occurs one-half mile 
west of Poker Flat. 

One mile northeast of Rattlesnake Peak a body of granite about 
one-half mile in diameter intrudes the Calaveras formation. Its 
northern border is covered by basalt. 

Deadwood Peak is covered by an isolated body of andesite, which 
itself is covered by a small body of basalt. A mile and a half north- 
cast of Poker Flat a small area of andesite partly covers a narrow 
area of rhvolite lava. 

At some time in the Juratrias period there were flows of augitic 
lavas and tuffs ; these were compressed with the Calaveras formation 
and form the augite-porphyrite of the present time. The amphibolite 
may have been formed in a similar manner, but it is likely that the 
amphibolite and serpentine were intruded into the Calaveras forma- 
tion at the end of the Juratrias period. Granite was probably 
intruded about this time. 

During the Tertiary period the region was eroded and auriferous 
vein material accumulated in the river beds. Toward the end of 
Neocene time rhyolite flows occurred, followed later by an extensive 
flow of andesite, covering practically the entire region. Following 
this an uplift occurred, which increased the rate of erosion. 
Scattered basalt flows took place during the early part of the 
Pleistocene epoch and a period of glaciation followed during the 
middle part of the Pleistocene. One small area one mile northwest 
of Rattlesnake Peak remains covered by glacial detritus. 

Mineral deposits. 

The only mineral deposit, at present of economic importance, is 
gold which occurs in gravels of the Neocene river channels. Water- 
worn pebbles of chrome-iron found in the gravel at Howland Flat 
probably came from the serpentine area east of Gibsonville. 
' The main Tertiary river channel west of the Neocene divide extends 
from Port Wine and St. Louis through Howland Flat and Potosi, 
disappearing at the latter place under the lavas of the Mount Fill- 
more ridge. The channel has been followed through the ridge by 
tunnels, reappearing on the south slope at Gold Canon. It is reported 



SIERRA COUNTY. 19 

that the channel rises towards the middle of the ridge and then falls 
so that at Gold Canon the elevation is the same as at Howland Plat. 
The rise and fall is by steps, the channel being suddenly cut off at 
several points by polished and striated walls indicating faults. At 
Howland Flat the gravel is well exposed and rests on a bedrock of 
amphibolite ; to the south at Table Rock the channel is covered by 
andesite. 

The California Diggings are located on the south slope of Table 
Rock, in a ravine draining into Caiion Creek. The bedrock is 
amphibolite; the andesite of Table Rock partially covers the gravel 
and separates the exposure from that at Howland Flat. 

White quartz gravel occurs in the Deadwood channel, one mile 
southwest of Poker Flat, on a bedrock of the Calaveras formation. 
To the south the gravel is capped by andesite, under which the 
channel has been followed for about a mile in a southeasterly direc- 
tion to a claim known as the Bunker Hill. In the tunnel many faults 
and numerous lava dikes have been encountered. 

Auriferous gravel has been mined on the south slope of the lava- 
capped Rattlesnake Peak ridge by drifting at the Red Oak property 
and by hydraulicking at the Rattlesnake property. The gravel rests 
on the Calaveras formation. Some drifting has been done in the 
basalt-capped gravel lying on granite northeast of Rattlesnake Peak. 

PORT WINE MINING DISTRICT. 
Including the region about Port Wine, Queen City and St. Louis. 

Port Wine is located close to the northwestern border of Sierra 
County, sixty-five miles, by road, northeast of Marysville, a point on 
the Southern Pacific Railroad. There is a mountain road from Port 
Wine to Johnsville via Gibsonville, thence to Blairsden on the 
Western Pacific Railroad, a distance of about thirty-five miles. The 
roads are fair in the summer, but in many places impassable during 
the winter, at which time there are heavy rains and snowfall. Port 
Wine and Queen City lie at elevations of about 5000' above sea level. 

The district is wooded with fir and spruce. Water is plentiful in 
Caiion Creek, Little Canon Cl-eek, and the tributaries of Slate Creek 
which flow through the district. 

History of mining. 

In 1897, at the Bunker Hill claim, not to be confused with the mine 
of the same name further south in the Poverty Hill district, a tunnel 
was run under the lava. At the Lucky Hill mine development work 
has shown that gravel underlies portions of the andesite cap between 
the Bunker Hill and the Iowa shaft to the south. 



MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 21 

Most of the Tertiary channel has been mined from Port Wine 
through Queen City, Grass Plat, Gardener's Point, Cedar Grove 
Ravine and St. Louis to Howland Flat. In 1891 it was estimated 
that on the Port Wine ridge 1,600,000 yards of gravel had been exca- 
vated, while 5,000,000 cubic yards remained. The value of the placer 
gold produced at Port Wine in 1905 was $3500, and in 1909, $1000. 
The St. Louis property had a somewhat higher production. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, pp. 108-110, 1911. Turner, H, W., Further Contributions to the 
Geology of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual 
Report, part I, p. 602, 1886. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1908, part I, 
p. 351. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 1897. 

Topography. 

The district consists of two parallel divides, and a portion of a 
third. These ridges, and the streams between, have a northeasterly 
direction. 

Port Wine and Queen City, one-half mile apart, lie between Canon 
Creek and Slate Creek. West of these settlements the ground slopes 
gently to Slate Creek, while to the east it rises to the top of the divide, 
and then drops 1200' to Canon Creek. 

A broad flat divide becoming a narrow ridge to the north, separates 
Canon Creek from Little Canon Creek. Grass Flat is on the same 
divide as Queen City. St. Louis is on the southwestern end of How- 
land Plat, between Slate Creek and Cedar Grove Ravine. 

Geology. . 

A belt of the Calaveras formation extends in a northwest direction 
through Port Wine and Queen City. It is in contact with amphibolite 
both to the northeast and southwest ; Queen City lies near the north- 
eastern contact. It consists of closely folded slates and quartzites, 
which strike northwesterly and dip nearly vertically. Andesite 
covers these formations on the ridge between Slate and Canon creeks. 

A series of lenticular shaped bodies of augite-porphyrite arc 
enclosed in the Calaveras formation and extend under the andesite 
southeast of Queen City. It is composed of volcanic tuffs or lava 
flows that have been folded in with the sediments and metamor- 
phosed. The age of the formation of igneous rock which later was 
changed to augite-porphyrite is probably Juratrias. 

Amphibolite may have been formed in a manner similar to the 
augite-porphyrite, but is possibly a metamorphosed diorite or gabbro. 
Two miles northeast of Queen City the schistosity has a vertical dip 
and an east-west strike. The amphibolite, if intrusive, is probably 
post-Juratrias in age. 



22 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Auriferous gravel accumulated during the Neocene epoch. Toward 
the end of this time an extensive flow of andesite occurred probably 
covering the entirp region, and. later still an uplift increased the rate 
of erosion ; most of the andesite was worn away but considerable 
remains capping the interstream ridges. 

Minaral deposits. 

The only mineral deposit known at the present writing is placer 
gold which occurs in the gravels of the Tertiary river channels. 



The Port "Wine channel is a branch of the main Tertiary river 
channel to the west of the Neocene divide (Sierra Buttes). The 
gravel, in general, consists of well-washed white quartz pebbles lying 
in a well-defined channel several hundred feet wide and 50' deep. 
Heavy masses of pipe clay, occurring above the gravel, are often 
covered by andesite tuff. 

The Bunker Hill gravel, one-half mile southwest of Port Wine, 
covers the contact between amphibolite and the Calaveras slates. 
The bedrock at Port "Wine consists of the Calaveras formation. At 
Queen City the bedrock is both Calaveras and amphibolite, while at 
Grass Plat it is amphibolite. The deposits are al! partially covered 
with andesite on the ridge to the southeast. The Lucky Hill drift 
mine, between the Bunker Hill and the Iowa shaft to the south, proves 




4 



O 



1} 

E 



Gi 

T 

Q 

G 
w 
in 



SIERRA COUNTY. 23 

the continuity of the Tertiary channel, below the andesite cap, 
between the latter two places. 

At St. Louis, an extensive gravel deposit is exposed. There is only 
one small area of andesite breccia capping the gravel in this region 
and that lies to the east on a spur from Table Rock. The bedrock in 
this region is amphibolite. 

A deposit of gravel which occurs on the ridge between Canon 
Creek and Little Canon Creek has been extensively mined. Good 
exposures are seen at Morristown, two miles southeast of Port Wine, 
and at Craig's Flat, one and one-fourth miles farther south. At 
Craig's Plat the upper surface of the gravel appears to have been 
eroded before it was covered by andesite breccia. These gravels are 
probably on the same channel as the gravel at Eureka, in the Eureka 
District, one and one-half miles southeast. 

POVERTY HILL MINING DISTRICT. 
Including Poverty Hill, Scales and Mount Pleasant. 

This district includes large deposits of Tertiary auriferous river 
gravels which have been developed along the main channel extending 
from Hepsidam to Scales. No gold is obtained from the more recent 
river gravels nor from quartz veins. 

The district is located near the western boundary of Sierra County. 
The elevation of Scales is 4300' above sea level. Marysville, on the 
Southern Pacific Railroad, is fifty-nine miles by road to the south- 
west. A very mountainous road runs from Scales northeast to Clio, 
on the Western Pacific Railroad. The roads are in fair condition in 
summer, but in many places impassable in winter, during which time 
there is heavy snowfall and much rain. Water is plentiful. Several 
lakes occur in the immediate vicinity of Scales. Canon Creek, with 
numerous short tributaries, flows through the district. In the north 
are Slate Creek and its tributaries. Cheap electric power is available. 

History of mining. 

Hydraulic mining has been carried on at the Sailor Boy and the 
Fairplay mines and at McMahons, Scales and Poverty Hill. The 
gravels have been drifted at the Lucky Hill, Iowa and Bunker Hill 
properties. The Poverty Hill District produced $11,000 in placer 
gold in 1905, but only $6800 in 1909. 

Bibliography. 

Lindgren, W., Tertiary Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, IT. S. Geol. Survey Prof. 
Paper 73, pp. 108-110, 1911. Turner, H. W., Further Contributions to the 
Geology of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual 
Report, part I, p. 351, 1896. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1908, part I, 
p. 351; 1909, part I, pp. 284-285. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 
1897. 



24 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Topography. 

The region consists of the southeastern portion of the elevated area 
between Slate Creek to the north and Canon Creek to the south, and 
also of the broad ridge south of Canon Creek. 

Poverty Hill is on a southern tributary of Slate Creek. Mount 
Pleasant lies at an elevation of 4500', two miles southeast of Poverty 
Hill. At the base of the gently sloping south side of Mount Pleasant, 
Scales is located on a nearly level area a mile and a half southwest of 
the summit. Southeast of Scales the ground slopes towards Caiion 
Creek. 

Geology. 

The chief formation in the southern part of the district is the Cala- 
veras, consisting of closely folded slate and quartzite. It is con- 
tinuous with the same formation in the Indian Hill District to the 
south. 

In the eastern part of the district are belts of serpentine and 
amphibolite. The amphibolite inert fuses in. width to the northwest 
and is covered by flows of andesite on the ridges east of Poverty Hill 
and south of Caiion Creek. A lonj?, narrow cap of andesite extends 
along the rim of the canon southeast of Scales. A small intrusive 
body of granodiorite underlies the Tertiary gravels at Scales and is 
in contact with the Calaveras formation to the southwest. 

In Rock Creek, one-fourth mile southwest of Scales, dikes of white 
quartz-porphyry cut the Calaveras formation. The rock has a fine 
grained ground mass of quartz and feldspar, with phenocrysts of 
feldspar, biotite, hornblende and quartz. These dikes may be geneti- 
cally related to the granodiorite. 

The region was eroded during the Neocene epoch and the auriferous 
gravels were deposited, the gold probably being derived from eroded 
quartz veins. 

Mineral deposits. 

Gold is the only mineral of economic value in the region. It occurs 
as small particles of various sizes in Tertiary gravels which are 
generally richest where the rivers crossed the auriferous slate belts. 
In 1891 it was estimated that at Scales and Mount Pleasant 4,050,000 
cubic yards, and at Poverty Hill 2,250,000 cubic yards, of gravel had 
been removed. The amounts still available at these places have been 
estimated at 60,000,000 and 5,000,000 cubic yards, respectively. 

One of the main channels of the Tertiary river systems ran from 
Scales southward through Indian Hill to Camptonville. North of 
Scales the channel forked, one branch extending through Poverty 



SIERRA COUNTT. 25 

Hill, La Porte and Hepsidain, the other through Mount Pleasant, dis- 
appearing under the lava and reappearing at Bunker Hill, Port Wine 
and Potosi. 

The main gravel channel has an average grade of 100' to the mile 
taken as far south as- Camptonville. The lowest grade, 60' to the 
mile, occurs between Poverty Hill and Scales; there the channel has 
a general soiithi'rly direction, and is filled with quartz gravel to a 
depth of 120'. The bedrock is granodiorite and the Calaveras forma- 



Photo No. 10. Lavt-capped chuincl at Scales. Shows deirick used foi handling Urge hauldeia. 

tion. Prom Poverty Hill the channel extends through Secret 
Diggings to La Porte. 

The smaller Port "Wine branch is almost parallel to the main 
channel, lyin^ only from two to three miles east of it. The channel 
is several hundred feet wide and has well-defined rims of amphibolite 
rising several hundred feet above the bottom. The quartz gravel, 
iibout 50' deep, is overlain by heavy masses of pipe clay, which is 
covered by andesite tuff or basalt. 

The Iowa shaft was sunk through cemented gravel at a point nearly 
three miles, by road, northeast from Scales. The elevation of the 
collar of the shaft is 4900', while that of the lowest bedrock found 
exposed is 4582'. The mine was worked about thirty years ago and 
it is reported that $30,000 worth of gold was recovered. 

A small amount of hydraulic mining has been done at the Sailor 
Boy property two miles east- south east of Scales; drift mining has 
been carried on at the Biinker Hill property two miles southeast of 



26 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Scales. At both places the gravel rests on a bedrock of the Calaveras 
formation and is composed of pebbles of dark quartzite, siliceous 
schist and Tertiary lavas. At McMahons, two and one-half miles 
east of Scales, the gravel rests on amphibolite; the pebbles in the 
lowest gravels are composed of white quartz; High bedrock inter- 
venes between these gravels and those at Eureka. 

SIERRA CITY MINING DISTRICT. 
Including the region around Sierra Buttes, Furnier and Church Meadows. 

This district includes some of the most profitable quartz mines in 
the entire Downieville quadrangle. There are only a few deposits 
of auriferous Tertiary gravel within the district, but recent gold 
bearing gravels occur along the North Fork Yuba River. 

Sierra City is situated in the south-central portion of Sierra County, 
twelve miles by road east of Downieville along the North Fork Yuba 
River. The distance by road from Nevada City is fifty-six miles via 
North San Juan and Camptonville. A road connects with Loyalton, 
thirty-six miles northeasterly, and with Marysville, county seat of 
Yuba County, eighty miles to the southwest. A daily autostage 
makes the twenty-mile run between Sierra City and Blairsden, a 
town on the Western Pacific Railroad, between the months of June 
and December. The region about Sierra City has warm summers, 
but the winters bring heavy rainfall and snow. An abundance of 
water is supplied by the North Yuba River with its many tributaries 
and by many glacial lakes which occur in the eastern part of the 
country. 

History of mining. 

The only mineral product of present economic importance is gold. 
Many lenses of magnesian limestone occur to the west and north of 
Sierra City, and there are masses of magnetite in the extreme 
northern part of the district. 

The placer gold deposits along the North Fork Yuba River were 
worked long ago and produced much gold. 

The gold quartz veins have been worked with profit for many years 
but are now undergoing a period of depression. The largest of these 
veins are found at the Sierra Buttes, the Young America, the Moun- 
tain mine and the Phoenix mine. 

Bibliography. 

Turner, H. W., Further Contributions to the Geology of the Sierra Nevada, 
U. S. (Jeol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. Llnd- 
gren, W., Tertiary River Gravels of the Sierra Nevada, U. S. Geol. Survey 
Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112-113. Mineral Resources of the U. S., 1905, p. 182; 
. 1907, part I. pp. 225-226; 1908, part I, p. 350; 1909. part I, pp. 284-285. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Falio 37, Downieville, 1897. 



SIBEEA COUNTY. 



28 



MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 



Topography. 

The district is very rugged and mountainous. Sierra City is in the 
narrow valley of the North Fork Yuba River at an elevation of 4300'. 
It lies at the southern base of the Sierra Buttes, which rise to an 
elevation of 8615' in a distance of two miles. To the south the region 
rises abruptly from the river to a flat-topped ridge, 2500' above the 
river. 



Sierra County — Table of Mineral Production, 1880-1918. 



Year 



1880 

1881 

1882 

1883 

1884 

1885 

1886 

1887 

1888 

188.1 

i8i;o 

1891 
1802 
18!>3 
18:>4 
1895 
1896 
1897 
180« 
1899 
ISOO 

lyoi 

1902 
1903 
1904 
1905 
1906 
1907 
1908 
1903 
1910 
1911 

1912 

1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 



Totals- 



Gold, value 



$974^2 

960,000 

1,100,000 

1,075,000 

1,177,349 

1,433,881 

1,967,152 

l,S0e,469 

1,260,000 

1,446,486 

7^3,528 

701,702 

688,464 

839,343 

«)4,722 

694,470 

786,175 

370,208 

399,063. 

450,116 

659,696 

675,427 

326,155 

810,770 

374,763 

517,308 

409.366 

483,904 

412,626 

189,672 

312,085 

461,513 

732,988 

1,006,573 
730.000 
726,362 
724,-2o6 
384,428 
289,368 

$28,771 ,66i 



Silver, value 



Amount 



1576 
6,000 



146 

11 

tAU 

202, 

1,500 

1,222 

2,039 

811 

28 

46 



107 

424 

46 

619 

359 

3,463 

755 

811 

476 

1,222 

8,687 

2,618 

2,621 

1,917 

957 

1,330 

5,604 

2,777 

4,305 
3,000 
3,156 
3,291 
1,629 
2,121 



$61,587 



24,000 gals. 



120,000 gals. 



(1,285 lbs. 



13,031 lbs. 
807 tons 



Miscellaneous 



Value 



Mineral water 



$6,000 



Mineral water ' 12.000 



Copper 

Lead 

Lead 



other minerals 

Copper 

Chromite 



212 

440 

08 



1,960 

8,558 

40,012 

$64,276 



SIERRA COUNTY. 29 

CHROMITE.* 

Case and VLjer Property. Owners, Case and Myer, Downieville. 
Leased to Bynon and McGonigal, Downieville. Comprises seven loca- 
tions and 90 acres of patented land, a total of 230 acres, situated 
thirty-five miles from Rlairsden. 

Pipes of chromite in serpentine have been developed by an open 
cut, shaft and stopes. In July, 1918, nine men were employed. The 
property had produced four carloads of ore at that time and was 
thought capable of yielding perhaps six carloads more. The ore was 
said to average about 45% CrgOg. It was hauled a mile in wagons, 
one-half mile in an aerial tram and thirty-three miles in autotrucks 
to Blairsden on the Western Pacific Railroad. The hauling season 
lasts from June 1 to the first rains in autumn. 

Dorriff IBne. Owners, Dorris, Davis, Bradbury and Dobbie, all of 
Forest. Leased to Morgan and Leichester of Nevada City. Includes 
five unpatented locations, 100 acres, near Forest and thirty-three miles 
by road from Nevada City. 

Small lenses of chromite have been mined by shallow shafts and an 
open cut. The production to the end of July, 1918, was a small car- 
load with possibly 15 tons of ore still in sight. Hauling to Nevada 
City in autotrucks cost $15 a ton. 

EvaBs Prospect. Owner, Robert Evans, Forest. Four tons of 
chromite taken from a small 'shaft was shipped in July, 1918, and 
there was said to be no more ore in sight at that time. The claim 
is near the Dorris mine. 

Fiaane Prospect. Owner, Steven Finane, Forest. This claim, 
located near the Dorris mine, produced 8 tons of 45% chromite ore up 
to August 1, 1918, and showed no promise at that time of further 
production. 

Macchaus Mine. Owners, Macchaus, Redmayne, McGonigal and 
Finane, of Alleghany. Located twenty-nine miles from Nevada City, 
near Alleghany. The property consists of 3 unpatented claims 
covering an area of about 60 acres. 

This mine yielded a little over 200 tons of chromite, said to average 
46% CrgOg, from lenses containing 15 to 20 tons each which were 
mined by open cuts. The property was reported worked out and 
abandoned August 1, 1919. 

•Note. — For the following data on chromite properties in Sierra County, we are 
Indebted to the United States Bureau of Mines for the use of field notes taken by 
Harry Thompson. 



3—46901 



30 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Redmayne and McOonigal Prospect. Owners, Geo. Bedmayne and 
D. McGonigal. 

This property, located four and one-half miles from Sierra City, 
showed about 25 tons of float ore said to carry 30% CrgOg, which was 
too low grade to be profitably handled, considering the long haul to 
the railroad. 

White Bear Mine. Owner, John Costa, Downieville. Leased to 
Ostrom Brothers and Lindvall Brothers, Downieville. Comprises 5 
placer locations situated seven miles from Downieville and forty miles 
from Blairsden. 

The four lessees worked the property during the summer of 1918, 
and produced about 250 tons of ore containing 40% to 45% CtjOs. 
The ore was taken .on pack animals one-half mile, then loaded on 
trucks which hauled it to Blairsden. The total cost of hauling was 
$20 a ton. The claims are on a steep mountain-side where the outcrop 
was poor, and it was hard to estimate future production. Work 
stopped in September, 1918, on account of rain. 

COPPER. 
Antelope Neck Claim. Owner, Mr. Beamer. 

Location: On patented land in Sec, 27, T. 21 N., R. 15 E, 3 miles southwest of 

Loyal ton (B. & L. R. R.). 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Bull. 50, p. 189. U. S. Geol. Survey Topo. 

Sheet, Sierraville. 

A wide vein of copper sulphide outcrops on this property. 
Basset's Pride Claim. Owners, Albert Church et al. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 11, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 5 miles 
northeast of Sierra City, 31 miles southwest of LoyaJton (B. & L. .R. R.) 
by good automobile road. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Bull. 50, p. 189. U. S. Geol. Survey 
Folio 37, Downieville. 

Some native copper shows in the deposit in which a tunnel has been 
driven. 

Copper Mine. Owner, B. Pride, Sierra City. 

Location : ^Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 13. T. 20 N.. R. 12 E.. 4 miles 
northeast of Sierra City, thence 20 miles north, by road, to Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.) or 56 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Hapgocd and Miller Prospect. Owners, J. H. Hapgood and J. J. 
Miller. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 30, T. 20 N., R. 13 E., 3i miles north- 
west of Sierra City, thence 43 miles southeast, by road, to Boca (S. P. 
R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Bull. 50, p. 189. U. S. Geol. Survey 
Folio 37, Downieville. 

This prospect shows veins 15' in width, carrying oxide, sulphide 
and carbonate ores of copper. 



SIERBA COUNTY. 31 

Lassiat Claim. Owner, John B. Lassiat, Table Eock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 21 N., R. 10 E. Poker FUt 

is about 30 miles, by wagon road, south of Quincy. 
Bibliography: Oal. State Min. Bur. Bull. 50, p. 1S9. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 37, DownievlUe. 

One claim showing a copper deposit about 60' wide, carrying 
pyrites, oxides and carbonates of copper comprises this property. 

Zuver Mine. Owner, George Zuver. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 19, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 3 miles 
northwest of Sierra City, thence 56 miles, by good automobile road, south- 
westerly to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R R.). 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Bull. 50, p. 189. U. S. Geol. Survey 
Folio 37, DownievlUe. 

There is a 40' shaft on this mine. Copper sulphides have been 
extracted and shipped. 



GOLD— DRIFT MINES. 
Badger Hill Mine. Owner, Jensen, DownievlUe. 

Location : DownievlUe Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., i mile east 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G, R. R). Elevation 3000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property, relocated by Jensen, was formerly owned by A. 
Lakeree. There were four or five men working under a slide on 
recent river gravels. 

Bald Mountain Mine. Owners, Bald Mountain Mining Company, 
Jas. McGregor, Mrs. S. V. Heinstzen. 

Location: Forest City Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 13 miles, 
by road, south of Downieville, 39 miles, by road, northeast of Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation (mouth of main working tunnel) 4637'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property has a total area of 441.02 acres and consists of the 
Bald Mountain, Parkman and Oregon Creek Tailings claims, covering 
a length along the channel of 5000'. The surface is lava capped and 
covered with manzanita brush. 

It was discovered in 1869 by a shaft 268' deep. A bedrock tunnel 
1800' was run to this point in two years. The cost of putting the 
property on a paying basis, in 1872, was $20,000. From that time 
until 1887 the total production was $3,100,000; the net profit, 
$1,300,000, was divided among 20 stockholders. The death of H. W. 
Wallis, manager and superintendent in 1887, was followed by the 
closing down of the mine. A consolidation of the Bald Mountain, the 
Bald Mountain Extension and the Ruby properties, covering an area 
of abotit 1500 acres, was brought about by Mark N. Ailing, of Downie- 
ville. He, with the assistance of W. F. Coperland of Alameda, 
organized a development company to reopen these mines. Work was 
begun in July, 1914. 



32 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The higher ehamiel, the * Great Blue Lead/ was about worked out 
and the pillars nearly drawn, when an incline was put down on the 
contact of the bedrock and the lava filling of a deeper channel, which 
found the channel to be 62' deeper than the higher lead and to contain 
rich gravel. A break 400' long in the bottom of this deeper lead at 
this point was worked and $60,000 is said to have been extracted. 
This deeper channel was again tested by a shaft 400' soutli of this 
point. 

The property covers two ancient channels, the * Great Blue Lead* 
(now worked out), being the older and the higher, and the 'Deep 
Bald Mountain Channel,' an intervolcanic channel of the andesitic 
period. The older channel was worked to the Ruby mine line, where 
the lava filling of the newer channel cut off the pay gravel almost 
exactly on the boundary line. This channel comes in from the Ruby 
claim, crosses the 'Blue Lead' diagonally with a southwest course at 
the north end of the Bald Mountain ground, courses south along the 
west side of the 'Blue Lead' in close association with the same, 
encroaching on the higher lead, more or less, for 3900', when it again 
crosses the 'Blue Lead '"just below the point of confluence of the Bald 
Mountain Extension tributary with the 'Blue Lead,' there cutting 
away several hundred feet of the higher channel. The Ruby Com- 
pany discovered this same deep lead and worked the west benches 
of it for about 1000' to the Bald Mountain line. Except for 400', 
the 'Deep Channel' has not been worked from the Ruby line to the 
south line of the Bald Mountain property. Calaveras slates and 
amphibolite schists with long parallel lenses of serpentine make up 
the country rock. Rich quartz ledges occur in the schists and slates 
along the contacts. Erosion of these by ancient rivers and tributaries 
accounts for the richness of the ancient channels. The pay gravel 
ranged from 300' to 600' in width and from 10' to 50' in depth. The 
gravel was all quartz and quartzites, medium sized to fine; bedrock 
mostly slate (Calaveras), soft and a good gold catcher. The gold 
was mostly coarse, nuggets ranging from 1 to 20 ounces being 
common, with some pieces weighing as much as 73 ounces, though fine 
gold was also found. Black sands and arsenical sulphides were 
common. Several quartz ledges were found in the mine, one with 
free gold in place in the rock; the gravel below where the channel 
had crossed the ledge was cemented together with sulphides. 

In the southern portion of the Ruby ground the 'Deep Bald Moun- 
tain Channel' cuts diagonally across and down through the 'Blue 
Lead,' eroding away about one-half mile of original channel and 
I'econcentrating. This channel was profitably worked by the Ruby 
Company downstream to their boundary line 3900' further south. 
The Bald Mountain Company sank an incline into this channel, the 



SIERRA COUNTY. 33 

gravel being practically all quartz, free and rich in gold. Four 
hundred feet further south a shaft was sunk into this channel and. 
rich quartz gravel 7' thick was found. About 3200' further south the 
South Fork Company crossed this channel and found the gravel prac- 
tically all quartz, aud carrying about 50ff per ton car in gold. It 
appears that the bulk of the gold contained in the *Deep Lead/ and 
derived principally from the erosion of the higher channel, lies on 
the Bald Mountain ground. On this assumption it is estimated that 
this deep channel will pay to work throughout the entire 5000' 
channel in the Bald Mountain claim. 

(October 2, 1915.) A shaft is being sunk to tap the north extension 
of the Bald Mountain channel and is down 80'. Anottier shaft is 
being sunk to develop a quartz ledge encountered in tunnel workings. 
The Bald Mountain tunnel is being repaired and placed in shape for 
C'perations. 

Bald Mountain Extension Mine. Owners, Bald Mountain Exten- 
sion Gold Mining Company, Downieville ; John Costa, president, W. I. 
Redding, secretary, Downieville. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sees. 14, 22 and 23, T. 19 N., R 10 E., 

24 miles northeast of Forest City; 13 miles, by road, south of Downieville; 

8S miles, by road, northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Eleva- 
, Uon 4300'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Repts. VIII, p. 580; XI, p. 408; XH, p. 261 ; 

XIII, p. 371. LIndgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey. Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 

113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Since Report XIII of the State Mineralogist (1896), the channel 
has been worked about 1000' northward from where the tunnel struck 
the channel. It was here cut off by lava, which fills the depression 
of some secondary channel. After spending much money and more 
than a year's time in searching for the continuation of the pay lead, 
the mine was closed down. 

In working south, or downstream, the pay channel was followed to 
within 300' of the face of the old workings, extending into the moun- 
tain from Forest City. Here the pay was cut off by lava, resulting in 
the abandonment of this portion of the mine, including the tunnel 
one and one-fourth miles in length, run from the headwaters of 
Kanaka Creek, about three miles easterly from Forest City, through 
which the above work was done. 

It is thought that about one-half mile of virgin channel still lies in 
the northern portion of the property. Extensive surveys were made 
in 1914 to ascertain the position of this segment. 

A large, deep, unprospeeted channel also extends through the 
property from north to south along the western boundary, the eastern 
tributaries of which are probably responsible for the erosion of the 
higher channel at the various intervals where it has been cut away. 

The Bald Mountain mine adjoins on the west. 



34 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Balsam Plat Claim. Owner, Captain Morrill, Alleghany. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile east of 
Alleehany, thence 31 miles, by road, southwesterly to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. (Jeol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
*' l42. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

No work has been done on this property for a long time. 
Bellevue Group. Owner, Bellevue Mining Company. 

Location : GlbsonvIUe Mining District, Sees. 25 and 36, T. 22 N., R. 9 E., 
2 miles southwest of' Gibsonvllle, thence 26 miles north to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 4700'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of the Bootjack, Chalcedonia, Irish and 
Bellevue claims, a total area of 353.4 acres, all patented. 

Blue Ohannel Mining Company. (Bunker Hill.) Owners, Blue 
Channel Mining Company. Bonded to W. F. A. Hood, Bunker Hill. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, 2 miles southeast of Poker Flat near 

Table Rock ; 30 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey FoHo 37, Downieville. Lindgren, W., U. S. 

Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. 

This property consists of one patented claim. No work has been 
done for some time. 

Brown Bear Mine. Bonded to J. G. Jackson et al., Oakland. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 13, T. 20 N., R. 9 E., 12 miles, by 

trail, west of Downieville. Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Henry Spaulding of Downieville is in charge of operations being 
carried on by J. G. Jackson et al. In July, 1915, the pump and other 
machinery had been put in order, supplies taken in and a crew of 
men put to work. 

Bruckermann Claim. Owner, Fred Bruckermann, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles by road, north to Quincy. Elevation 5600'. 

Bibliography : Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105, U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 372. 

Buckeye Mine. Owner, Buckeye Mining Company; Albert Read, 
president, Alleghany; E. L. Crafts and E. R. Jones, Forest City; John 
Walsh, Plumbago. 

Location: Forest City Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 7 miles, by 
road, from Forest City to the southeast, thence 13 miles, by road, to 
Downieville. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of two locations, the Buckeye and the 
Buckeye Extension, covering an area of 320 acres situated on the 
lava covered ridge between Kanaka and Wolf creeks. There is some 
timber on the property. 

The deposit is an old river channel coursing north, capped with 
andesite, and supposed to be a southern extension of Marble Mertz 



SIERRA COUNTY. 35 

channel. The gravel is quartz, partly cemented, on slate bedrock. 
It is dry. The channel is about 250' wide and 3' deep. 

Cutty, of Chips Flat, worked it in 1879. He ran a 900' tunnel 
but did not strike gravel because too far west. The present company 
upraised 50', then drifted on gravel west 125', but did very little 
breasting. Assessment work only being done. Equipment consists 
of rails and cars. 

Bunker Hill Claim. 

Location: Glbsonville Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles 

northwest of Gibsonville by road, thence 26 miles, by road, northerly to 

Quincy. Elevation 4450'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, 

p. 263; XIII, p. 373. 

Bunker Hill Prospect. Owners, Lloyd and Andrews, Port Wine. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 27, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile south- 
west of Port Wine, thence 34 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 4825'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Gteol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Caledonia. (See under Hydraulic Mines.) 

California Consolidated IVGning Company. Owner, M. McDonnell, 
Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sea 5, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile north- 
west of Poker Flat; 30 miles, by road, south from Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Sold to state in 1914. 

Canada Mining Company. Owner, Canada Mining Company, Grass 
Plat ; A. Harris, agent. La Porte. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 13, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 2 miles, by 
road, south of St. Louis, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Captain Cook Claim. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, T. 21 N., R. 10 K., 2 miles south of 
Poker Flat, thence 32 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

Carleton Claim. Owner, Albert Hough, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 
5400'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Sold to state in 1912. 

Carmen Claim. Owners, Edwards Brothers. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 15. T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 10 miles, by 
road, north of Sierra City, 18 miles south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Ele- 
vation 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117, 118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 

Patented, 



36 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

(RiaUenge Olaim. Owner, J. J. Johnson, San Jose, California. 

Location: Port Wine Miningr District, Sees. 13 and 14, T. 21 N., R 9 E., 
2 miles south of St. Louis, thence 30 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 
Elevation 4860'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Clipper Ship Mine. Owners, Clipper Ship Mining Company ; B. H. 
Wemple, president, San Jose, California. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 7, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile south- 
east of St. Louis, thence 32 miles by road northeast to l^ohawk <W. P. Ry.). 
Elevation 5700'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property, consisting of 56 acres and covering a length along 
the channel of 800', was worked by hydraulicking in the early days. 
Not patented. Formerly leased and bonded to G. G. Chamberlain of 
Los Angeles. 

A 950' tunnel lacks 100' of reaching the main channel. A 10' raise 
passed through slate bedrock and struck clean wash quartz gravel 
carrying flaky gold. The gravel is capped with andesite. Wemple 
took out $35,000 to $40,000 by hydraulicking. 

Columbia Channel Mine. Owner, Columbia Channel Mining Com- 
pany, Palace Hotel, San Francisco; W. E. Sharon, president, San 
Francisco ; John C. Newlands, secretary ; J. M. Harper, manager. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 12, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 28, 29, 
T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 7 miles east of Forest City, by road, thence 13 miles, 
by road, to Downieville; 39 miles from Forest City to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.) by road. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of from 1000 to 1600 acres of patented 
ground, including the Yuba, Gallant, Stanislaus, San Joaquin, Sacra- 
mento, Merced, Columbia, and Wolf Creek claims, covering a length 
along the channel of five miles. 

The deposit consists of old channel gravels, coursing north and 
capped with lava. The gravel is quartz and granite with some big 
boulders on a bedrock of slate, porphyry and granite. It varies from 
4' to 5' in depth and has a width of 600'. It has been worked for 
the past 10 or 12 years only during the winter and spring on account 
of shortage of water, which is obtained from Wolf Cre^k and from 
the tunnel. 

There are 5000' of tunnels, drifts and raises. The main tunnel, 
3500' long, has exposed over 600' of gravel. The amount of gravel 
worked could not be determined. 

Equipment consists of a boarding house, blacksmith shop and tools. 

Comrade Claim« 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles south- 
east of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Eleva- 
tion 4500'. 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Lindgren, W., U. S. 
Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 37 

Conglomerate Claim. Owner, T. C. Corlett, Table Bock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District. Sec. 13. T. 21 N., R. 10 E.. 3 miles south- 
east of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Eleva- 
tion 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downleville. 

Corotoman Claim. Owners, Corotoman Gold Mining Company, 
Forest City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 28, 29, 32, 33, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 
IJ miles southwest of Forest City, thence 39 miles, by road, southwesterly 
to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Assessment work only being done. No other work has been done 
for a number of years. 

Crown Point Claim. Owners, Sinnott and Carmichafel, Gibsonville. 

Location: Eleven miles east of Gibsonville; thence 26 miles northerly to 

Quincy. Elevation 5575'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 374. 

Dead River Ckoup. Owner, Dead River Mining Company; White, 
secretary, Wilkesbarre, Pennsylvania. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., near Alleghany, 
thence 31 miles, by road, southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R. ). 

Bibliography: W. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of the Deep Blue Placer, Wyoming and 
Wyoming Extension locations. 

There are 2000' of drifts and tunnels. Some quartz ledges, but no 
channel. 

Blacksmith shop only equipment. 

£agle Claim. Owners, 0. Libertie and N. Marchetti, Port Wine. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 23, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., near Port 
Wine, thence 34 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 4890'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Owners are driving a tunnel. 

Empire Claim. Owner, E. G. Squire, Willows. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 19, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., i mile north 
of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles, northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 
5495'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Erie Claim. Owner, L. W. France, Port Wine. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 23, T. 21 N., R. 9 E.„ i mile north- 
east of Port Wine, thence 34 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 4880'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Erwin Claim. Owners, Wm. Erwin et al., Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec, 17, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles 
northwest of Downieville, thence 44 miles, by road, southwesterly to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4900'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

'Assessment work only being done. 



38 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Excelsiar daim. Owner, Excelsior Drift Mining Company; C. E. 
Bauer, Courtland. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sees. 12 and 13, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile 

southeast of St. Louis, thence 30 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Elevation 5500'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 265; XIII, p. 376. Llndgren, 

W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. U. S. Geo!. Survey 

Folio 37, Downieville. 

Excelsiar Group. (Hawkeye and Bell Point.) Owners, Frank 
Montre, F. Tanguay and J. Merhan, Forest. 

Location: American Hill Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 9 N., R. 11 E., i mile 
west of American Hill, thence 8 miles, by road, west to Mountain House, 
thence 35 miles southwest, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R. ). 
Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 267; XIII, p. 378. Llndgren, 
W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142-143. U. S. Geol. Folio 66, 
Colfax. 

There is a 400' tunnel run as assessment work. Not in a channel. 
A little gravel found. 

Feather Pork Claim. Owner, W. C. Wingate, Downieville. 

Location: GIbsonvIlle Mining District, Sees. 25 and 36, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles 
southwest of Gibsonville, thenoe 26 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Llndgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XE, 
p. 419; XII, p. 265; XIII, p. 376. 

First Chance, Last Chance and Doherty Group. Owner, H. Eppin- 
ger, 320 Oakland avenue, Oakland. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 2 miles west of 
Port Wine, thence 37 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
TJ. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

These claims are on Slate Creek near La Porte. 

Forest Queen Mining Company. (Forest and Queen.) Owners, 
Forest Queen Mining Company, Table Rock ; P. L. Carmichael, presi- 
dent ; J. K. Wall, secretary. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 23, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., IJ miles 
southeast of Poker Flat, 6 miles east of Table Rock, thence 30 miles north, 
by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of two placer locations, the Forest and the 
Queen, each 160 acres in area, and covering a length along the channel 
of three-fourths of a mile. It is situated in a valley surrounded by 
lava-capped ridges, and has good timber. 

H. C. Stout discovered the property in the early '80 's. Con- 
solidated in 1885 by the present owners. Three men are doing 
assessment work at present. There is a 700' tunnel with a 60' shaft 
at the end, all in lava. 

Garnet Claim. Owner, H. Skinner, Gibsonville. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles east 
of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 
6000'. 

Bibliography : Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 39 

Oibraltar Mine. Owners, Gibraltar Consolidated Gold Mining 
Company, Downieville; J. Keiffer, president, Downieville; P. L. Car- 
miehael, secretary, Browns Valley. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 7, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., north of 
Rattlesnake Peak; 9 miles east of Table Rock by trail, thence 30 miles by 
road, north to Quincy. Elevation 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of seven claims of 160 acres each, namely, 
Gibraltar, Germania, Eclipse, Eclipse Extension, Divide, Gibraltar 
Extension and Germania Extension. The aggregate of 1120 acres 
covers a length along the channel of two miles. There is a good stand 
of fir timber suitable for mine timber, fuel, etc., on the ground. The 
property was first located in 1881 by Fritz Trimphin,. who ran a 600' 
tunnel. The present company was reincorporated in 1893. Two men 
were working in the summer of 1914. 

The deposit is made up of old. river channel gravels, blue quartz on 
soft slate bedrock with andesite capping. The gravel courses west 
and varies from 2^' to 5' in depth. There is not much water in the 
channel. 

Development consists of a 1780' tunnel, 80' too high, several 
upraises between the 900' point and the face of tunnel, a 310' shaft 
sunk to bedrock, 400' from the face of tunnel, and a 35' drift in bed- 
rock at the 296' point. All pay gravel taken from the shaft. No 
breasting has been done. The main channel is supposed to be east of 
the shaft, or in other words, the shaft struck a high reef of bedrock. 

There is an 8-h.p. gasoline hoist on the property and a sawmill 
is under construction. 

Oolden Hope Claim. Owner, C. E. Mott, Forest. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles, southwesterly to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R R.). Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Assessment work being done. 

Gtold Hill Group. (Lucky Hill.) Owner, J. B. Lassiat, 6437 Har- 
rison court, Oakland. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 33, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 2J miles south- 
west of Port Wine, by road, thence 34 miles, by road, northeast to Quincy. 
Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp.. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Gtold Hill property consists of two placer claims, the Gold Hill 
and the Gk>ld HiU Extensian, lying on the west side of the Port Wine- 
Scales ridge. There is a total of 320 acres, covering a length along 
the channel of a mile and a half. 



40 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

This property has been located several times. It was last owned 
by Chas. Hendel under the name of the Lucky Hill, until relocated by 
the present owner in 1913. 

The deposit is made up of quartz gravel of the Port Wine channel. 
Its course is southwest and it is from 60' to 80' in depth, lying on a 
bedrock of schist, and capped with 500' of andesite. 

A shaft is to be sunk 300' through lava on the Gold Hill claim 
farthest north. 

Adjoining mines are the Iowa on the southwest, the Mountain Boy 
on the north and the Bonton, Bella Union and Hardscriabble on 
the east. 

Gtold Star Mine. Owners, Golden Star Mining Company; W. G. 
Motley, Nevada City, agent. 

Location: Alleghany Mining District, Sees. 32 and 33, T. 19 N., R. 10 E.. 

2 miles southwest of Alleghany, thence 31 mlle^ by road, southwest to 

Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.).- Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 

142. U. S. Geol. Survey Polio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of located land aggregating about 700 acres, 
of which 140 acres are patented. There is good timber on the ground 
for mining purposes. 

The mine was formerly leased to and operated by Chinese, wko 
made good pay, but in 1910 it was sold to the state. The present 
company was organized and it was reopened in July, 1914. A 
deposit of gravel extending the full length of the claim was over- 
looked by the Chinese. About 1000' of the channel has been worked, 
producing in the neighborhood of $1,000,000. 

Development work consists of a number of long crosscut tunnels 
and drifts, the present crosscut working tunnel being 1800' in length 
to where it cuts and bottoms the channel. This tunnel intersects the 
channel near the western end of the property, so that the gravel is 
extracted by working upgrade on the stream, thereby draining itself. 
A number of long drifts have been extended into the ehannel from 
the main working tunnel and an immense quantity of gravel has been 
opened up. The upper tunnel, designed to ventilate the mine, is 
1200' long. It will have to be continued 180' in order to connect with 
the east drift, thereby giving the required ventilation to the whole 
mine. . 

The channel system passing through the Gold Star is part of the 
Blue Lead of the Neocene period, and is known as the Narry Red, 
Young America, or Gold Star, and Cortoma and Slattery chani^l^ 
from the names of nearby mines. The trend is southeasterly, south- 
erly and southwesterly. The channel is from 150' t6 200' in width 
and from 4' to 10' in depth, and is capped with a large deposit of 



SIERRA CJOUNTY. 41 

vol^a»ic lava. Portions of the gravel are uncemented and free- 
washing, while other portions are cemented. Samples show from $3 
to $7 per ton. This channel has been worked in the Young America 
and Cortoma properties when it ran from $5 to $10 per car. To the 
west, in the Omega and Slattery properties the values proved equally 
B£B good. At present there is a breast of gravel 250' in length across 
tli« drift, and from 4' to 10' in depth. This can be worked as soon 
as the drift is put in proper working condition. There is a reserve of 
ahotrt 4600' of channel in this ground. 

A number of quartz veins having the general characteristics of 
veins m the Alleghany District are found on the property, in a broad 
belt or finger of serpentine which runs northwesterly and south- 
easterly through its center. East of the serpentine is amphibolite, 
to the west is slate, and the Oriental vein is on the amphibolite- 
serpentine contact. The Oriental mine has produced $3,000,000, one 
btinch of (yte containing $740,000. That portion of the Oriental veins 
which i& in the Gold Star ground should be developed, as there are 
in^eatioiis that it would probably be a large producer. On the slate 
and serpentine contact is a continuation of the vein found on the Kate 
Hardy property to the north. This property has produced large 
amounts of specimen ore. 

The mine is equipped with several trains of gravel cars, blacksmith 
shop, complete set of tools, and outbuildings. There are a number 
of long flumes for washing the gravel, but these are out of repair. 

Water can be obtained free the year round from a ravine situated 
about 2000' west of the mouth of the working tunnel. It will be 
necessary to construct a 4" pipe line from the mouth of the tunnel to 
the ravine in order to give ample water for all requirements. Mining 
is done principally with pick and shovel, powder being used only 
occasionally to loosen the ground. The channels are overlain by a 
cemedted sand whi^h makes a splendid roof, requiring but little 
timbering and the cost of mining the gravel should not exceed $1 per 
ton. One miner can produce from 4 to 6 cars of gravel per shift and 
is paid at the rate of $3 for 8 hours work. 

The Kate Hardy property adjoins on the north, the Oriental on the 
southeast, the Young America on the east, the Cortoma on the north- 
east and the Omega and Slattery properties on the west. 

Greenwood Mining and Development Company. Owners, same. 
Port Wine. 

Li06atien : Port Wine Mining: District, at Cedar Grove near St. Louis, thence 

33 miles northerly by road to Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downleville. 



42 MIKES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Hal Taber Mine. (Taber.) Owners, W. H. SpeMer, HaLP. Tal)cr, 

Downieville. 



• -. 



Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 25, T. 22 N., R. 9 E.. in. OibsonvUle,. 
tiience 26 miles, by road, north to Qulncy. Elevation 5340*! ' ■ " 

Bibliograohy : Cal. State MIn. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 273 ; XIII,, p. 384. ,Linclgreo, 
W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. U. S.' G^ol. 'Sur^y 
Folio 37, Downieville. , . . ... - 

This property consists of the following claims : Hal Taber, E. PUls-. 
bury (same as Pennsylvania) and Plumas. They are situated on the 
flat ridge between Slate Creek and South Fork Feather Biy^r, and 
cover a length along the channel of 3500^ There is ^ good st^nd of 
big timber on the property. ., , 

The gravel is free blue quartz lying on amphibolite schist and 
capped with andesite. The channel courses southwest. 

It is developed by a 3828' tunnel which includes a 297/ incline north 
with a vertical drop of 90'. For 1400' the tunnel goes through lava, 
gravel and pipe clay, then through hard bedrock for 1500', and soft 
bedrock for 500'. The incline is in pipe clay and gravel. A good 
deal of water was encountered. A 370' air shaft, meeting the tunnel 
at 2200', cut through 180' of lava, 10' of gravel and 180' of bedrock. 

The mine is equipped with a 20-h.p. generator, 30-h.p. steam engine, 
Pelton water wheel, 20-h.p. engine, several small dynamos and cen- 
trifugal pumps, 6 cars, blacksmith shop, tools, and engine house. 

Hanley and Company. (Gold Star.) Owners, Mrs. Hanley and 
son, Alleghany. 

Location: Alleghany Mining District, 1 mile southwest of Alleghany, thence 

31 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 267; XIII, p. 378. Lindgren, 

W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Gteol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

Herkimer and Bunker Hill Group. Owners, A. Hough, Table Eock; 
C. 'Keiler, Downieville; P. Carmichael, Table Rock. Bunker Hill 
bonded to Blue Channel Mining Company. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 23, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles 
southeast of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles north, by road, to Qulncy. Ele- 
vation 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren^ W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio Zl, Downieville. 

The Herkimer property consists of two claims, the Herkimer and 
the Enchantress, a total of 280 acres; the Bunker Hill also contains 
two claims, the Bunker Hill and the Evening Star, a total of 320 
acres. Together they cover a total length along the channel of 6000'. 
There is good timber on the Herkimer property but very little on the 
Bunker Hill. 

The deposit is old channel gravel on slate bedrock capped with 
andesite. Where worked in the Bunker Hill claim it had a maximum 
width of 50', an average of 30' and a depth of from 4' to 6'. 

In the Bunker Hill property the channel has been worked to within 
100' of the east line. Mining is going on at present on this claim. A 



SIERRA COUNTY. 43 

tunnel 1600' long, bearing N. 30° E., was being run from the south 
side of the ridge to reach the channel beyond the point worked, and 
has 150' to go. It starts on the Herkimer claim in lava and continues 
for 600', then passes through slate for 500', and the balance. is in 
hard lava. 

Hilo. (See under Hydraulic Mines.) 

Homestake Claim. Owner, H. Forbes, Gibsonville. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 
5900'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Hustler Claim- Owner, C. A. Reid, Bangor, California. 

Location : Port Wine Mining District. Port Wine is 37 m.les, by road, south of 

Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Iowa Mine. Owners, A. Harris, La Porte; Dixon Brattan, 775 
Twelfth street, Oakland. Leased (1914) to Mason and C. S. White- 
house, 476 Sixtieth street, Oakland. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 9, T. 20 N., R. 9 E.* 3 miles south- 
west of Port Wine, thence 34 miles northeast, by road, to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Iowa property embraces 400 acres patented, including the 
Iowa, Manhattan, Centennial, and Iowa Tailings mine. Besides this, 
Harris owns the Black Bear location (139.14 acres). Quartz Hill, 
patented (39.98 acres), and Canada (Empire) location (300 acres, 
mostly worked out to Port Wine). The property is situated on the 
flat south of Lone Tree and Bald Mountain and contains good timber. 

The deposit is an old Neocene channel coursing north on schist 
bedrock and capped with andesite. 

It was located in the early 70 's. Bought by Harris and others in 
1876 and worked by them until 1879. The property is credited with 
a total output of $85,000. 

The channel is developed by a shaft 300' deep, a 600' incline and a 
drift 400' to the north, also a 6000' drain tunnel. The shaft is sunk 
100' through lava. In the 400' drift to the north, in the last work- 
ings, a rim is said to be dipping steeply to the northwest and it is 
claimed that the channel lies west of the workings and that all the 
workings are in a breakover from the main channel. A 3000' tunnel 
is to be driven from the ravine on Canon Creek. 

There are no records of the amount of gravel worked, but it is said 
that it averaged $1.75 to $2 per car, and that one man could take out 
10 ears per day. 



44 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Adjoining properties are the Canada Hill, mostly piped off, and the 
Quartz Hill and Black Bear, whieh were never worked; these latter 
properties are lava capped and must be drifted. 

Kanaka Mine. Owners, Mark N. and Emeline H. Ailing, Downie- 
ville; Ross L. and Ella M. Taylor, Paul St. Darrah, Fred Kuhfeld, 
G. W. Voelzel. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 1, T. 18 N., Sec, 36, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 
and Sec. 31, T. 19 N., Sec. 6, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles, by road, south- 
west of Forest City, about 35 miles in a southwesterly direction, by road 
to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4050'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Kanaka drift mine consists of the Kanaka Nos. 1 and 2, whicli 
cover the 'Kanaka Blue Lead' channel for about 4000', and the 
Kanaka Nos. 4 and 5, which cover about 4000' of the * Kanaka White 
Lead' channel, a south extension of the 'Mount House drift mine' 
channel. Claim No. 5 embraces a portion of the old Unmedico claims. 
There is a total area of about 600 acres of unpatented ground. Claims 
Nos. 1 and 2 include 'Long Point,' a lava-capped ridge extending in 
a southerly direction. Nos. 4 and 5 extend south across a lava-capped 
ridge covered with thick manzanita brush on top and yellow pine, 
spruce, fir, cedar and oak timber on the sides. 

Tunnel work was prosecuted in a small way by Dr. Eraser of San 
Jose from 1900 to 1911 on the old Unmedico claims with the aim of 
tapping the 'White Lead.' The claims were abandoned on his death 
and relocated in 1912 by the present owners. The property was 
being developed by Arthur Fritsche of Berkeley, who had the mine 
under lease and- option to purchase in 1915. Operations began 
October 7, 1914, and a small crew of men were to be employed during 
the winter. 

The 'White Lead' is a channel from 200' to 400' in width, filled 
with white quartz gravel from 3' to 10' in thickness. A thick layer 
of pipe clay lies over this with andesitic lava tuffs, mud and breccia 
on top, capped in turn with basaltic lava cemented mud. This 
channel courses south. The 'Kanaka Blue Lead' lies at such a level 
and courses in such a direction that it is thought to have been a 
tributary to the 'White Lead.' The gravel is fairly coarse but not 
big and the gold is free. Soft Calaveras schists and slates form the 
bedrock of the channel, which follows along close to the east contact 
of the west belt of serpentine in the Calaveras rocks. 

A lower tunnel (No. 1) 500' in length, extends in a northeasterly 
direction from the west branch of Blue Ravine. It begins in ser- 
pentine and strikes slate at the face. Two raises disclosed pay 
gravel, but not in place, and the channel proper is thought to lie 
about 600' further in the hill in the Calaveras formation. This tunnel 
is about 80' lower than the channel proper, and another tunnel was 



SIERRA COUNTY. 45 

started about 40' higher and 100' southerly and run almost parallel 
for 430'. Nothing but serpentine was found as it did not extend to 
the contact. Prospect shafts are now being sunk on the surface 
preparatory to running a bedrock tunnel to the main channel. The 
gravels are to be treated in revolving trommels before running 
through sluices, owing to gold being carried away on the unwashed 
rocks. 

In 1914 there was only prospecting equipment on the ground. 
Water is obtained from Blue Ravine and local springs. The Yuba 
Hydroelectric Company's power line crosses the property near its 
center. 

Klondike Mine. W. W. Turner, manager. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 19 N., R. 12 E. Downieville 

is 44 miles by road, northeasterly from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Operations were resumed on this property in August, 1915. 
Development consists of two shafts and drifts, but it was decided to 
drive a crosscut tunnel to tap the channel at depth. Snowsheds 
erected early in the winter of 1915-1916 permitted continuous work, 
and the drift had been run 240' by March. It will be extended 100' 
further to tap the channel. Eight men were employed and more 
were to be added with the opening of spring. The nearby Alleghany 
mine is to be operated by the same interests. 

LaAt Chance Claim. Owners, W. B. and D. E. Ownes, Goodyear 
Bar. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 9, T. 19 N.. R. 10 E., 5 miles southwest of 
Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Last Chance Prospect. Owners, T. Donohue, St. Louis; J. F. 
Cowdery. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec 32, T. 22 N., and Sec. 5, T. 21 N., 
R. 10 E., within 1 mile of Table Rock ; 30 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 
Elevation 5600'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Little Grizzly Claim. Owner, Chas. Kelles, Downieville. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 23, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south 
of Poker Flat, thence 32 miles northerly to Quincy, by road. Elevation 
6200'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

Lost River Mine. (Rocky Peak, Monterey, Bunker Hill.) Owners, 
Mark N. and Emeline A. Ailing, Downieville; Geo. F. Taylor, W. I. 
and Lena A. Redding, Lillian B. Shindberg, Gustave W. Voelzel, 
Chas. AUenberg. 

Location: Brandy City Mining District, Sec. 4, T. 19 N., and Sees. 28 and 33, 
T. 20 N., R 9 E., about 4 miles northeast of Brandy City. Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.) about 40 miles, by road southerly. Elevation (at lower 
end of property) 4015'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 101. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 43, Bidwell Bar. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rots. XII. 
p. 271 ; XIII, p. 382. 

4 — 46901 



46 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The Lost River mine consists of the following claims: the Lost 
Kiver Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, and the Tailings claim, a total of 700 acres, 
covering about two miles of channel. It is situated on lava-capped 
tableland, heavily timbered on the slopes and covered with dense 
manzanita. The Bunker Hill contains 640 acres, covering a length 
along the channel of two miles, making a total of four miles. 

The property was discovered about 1880 and James Arnott, Sr., 
organized a company known as the Rocky Peak Mining Company, 
and two main tunnels were run. Owing to exhaustion of funds, the 
company ceased operations about 1895, finally abandoning the prop- 
erty about nine years later. In 1904 it was relocated, but after 
failing to organize a development company it was again abandoned. 
In 1911 the property was again located by Mark N. Ailing and others, 
and in 1913 Norton E. Wilcox of Berkeley and Paul W. Smith of 
Downieville took the property under lease and option to purchase. 
During the summer of 1914 they put down ten drill holes locating 
the channel. Two shifts of two men each and three men cutting 
M'^ood were employed. The Bunker Hill was discovered in 1875. 
Five men were at work in 1914 running a 325' tunnel, 6' by 5' in 
the clear. 

The Rocky Peak Mining Company ran a tunnel in a northwesterly 
course for 700' or 800', and some pay gravel was found a short 
distance from the mouth on what was thought to be a bench. The 
tunnel, which started in slate bedrock, soon ran into lava, filling the 
trough of an ancient river. At the face a shaft was sunk 90' in lava, 
but a heavy flow of water forced the abandonment of this attempt. 
The company then moved down to Monterey Ravine and ran a tunnel 
under a big surface slide. This Monterey tunnel is from 700' to 800' 
in length, begins in slate bedrock and runs N. 70° W. (magnetic) into 
hard fine sand and granular *pipe clay.' No channel in place was 
found. Wilcox and Smith have recently used a No. 3 Keystone 
churn drill, and located both rims and the approximate position of 
the deepest poHion of the channel. The average depth of the holes 
is 155'. Gravel was found in six of them, there being as much as 
10' in some. Pay gravel was struck in the tenth hole, about 600' 
west of the NW. J of Sec. 4. The gold is small and well rounded. 
A tunnel to develop and drain the mine was to be started in the spring 
of 1915. 

The channel appears to be of good size, ranging in width from 200' 
to 400', with gravel composed of quartz and quartzite rocks, but no 
lava pebbles. It is free and contains medium sized boulders on the 
bedrock of hard, siliceous black slate. Several feet of granular pipe 
clay immediately overlies the gravel, above which comes andesites 
and basalt. The channel courses about due south, or a little to the 



SIERRA COUNTY. 47 

west of south, and this channel is thought to be a southern extension 
of some of those worked in the Port Wine Ridge. 

About three miner's inches of water was developed by the old 
Monterey tunnel. 

Lucky Dog Mine. Owners, Frank and Wm. Davies, Forest ; Thos. 
Fitzgerald, J. B. Moulton, E. R. Jones. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., IJ miles west of 

Forest City, IJ miles south of Mountain House, thence 35 miles to Nevada 

City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 268; XIII, p. 373. Lindgren, 

W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Lucky Dog property consists of one claim, with an area of 150 
acres covering a length along the channel of 400'. It is a relocated 
claim and assessment work only has been done in the last ten years. 

The deposit consists of old channel gravels, mostly lava, but with 
some quartz, lying on porphyry bedrock and capped with lava. The 
channel courses north and the pay gravel has a depth of 4'. . 

The ground has been developed by a tunnel through hard rock and 
1300' in the channel. Some water was encountered. 

There is a cabin on the property. 

Mabel Mertz Mine. Owners, Forest City Mining Company, 
Downieville; W. J. Redding, Downieville, president; H. B. McCor- 
mick, Downieville, secretary. 

Location: American Hill Mining District, Sees. 29 and 30, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 
5 miles east of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4800'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142-143. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Mabel Mertz property consists of five locations, a total of 495 
acres, covering a length of 6000'. It is situated on a lava-capped 
ridge near the headwaters of Kanaka Creek, and has a good stand of 
timber. 

The property was located July 7, 1895, by the present company and 
has been worked at intervals for the last 16 years, producing to date 
about $2000. It was shut down in May, 1914, but was to be worked 
by two men during the winter. 

There is a total of about 8000' of tunnels, drifts and raises. The 
lower is 2700' long; the upper tunnel, 92' above, is 800' long. The 
tunnels are driven through shale and porphyry, most of the work 
having been done in the fault zone in the northern part of the channel. 

The gravels are the same as those in the Emigrant channel of the 
Nebraska mine. They course south on a bedrock of slate and are 
capped with andesite. 

The northern part is said by Ailing to have been raised 105' with 
a throw to the west of 250'. 

Considerable water encountered. 



48 MIN£S AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Equipment consists of a blacksmith shop and a boarding house. 
The adjoining Buckeye, to the south, and the Nebraska, were worked 
out 30 or 40 years ago. 

Mammoth Springs Mine. Owners, J. W. MacGuire, Alleghany; 
P. C. Davis, 2506 Folsom street, San Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sees. 23 and 26, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles 

east of Forest City, thence 39 miles, southwest to Nevada City (N. C. 

N. G. R R.). Elevation 5500'. 
Bibliography : Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnts. XII, n. 268 ; XIII, p. 373. Lindgren, 

W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, nn. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of a total of 510 acres, which cover a length 
of one mile along two channels. The surface is steep and rugged, 
and estimated to carry a stand of about 300,000' of pine and cedar. 
Three men were working in 1914 driving a tunnel. 

A blacksmith shop and cars make up the equipment. 

The deposit is made up of old channel gravels, mostly red, on a 
bedrock of slate. The gravel is 30' deep, and the capping of andesite 
averages 50' in width and 4' in depth. 

The west channel was struck by a 1600' tunnel and shaft. Water 
was encountered. A tunnel which will have to be 1500' long, was 
being run 100' lower. An area 50' by 1500' has been worked. 

Manchester Mine. (Boston Mine.) Own(»r, Edward Petny, Gib- 
sonville. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 12 miles, by 
road, soutli of Gibson ville, theno* 26 miles north, by road, to Quincy. 
Elevation 6100'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. G^ol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of one claim, the Manchester, with an area 
of 19 acres covering 600' of channel. Price worked the property in 
early days, and it was relocated by the present owners in May, 1913. 

The deposit is part Whiskey Creek wash and part old channel 
gravels, on a bedrock of soft slate. The tunnel, which will be 800' in 
length, had been started in 1914. 

The water right on Pilot Flat ditch is owned, and a house and 
blacksmith shop are on the property. 

Henry Skinner owns two claims above and east of the Manchester. 
Other adjoining properties are the Corbett and Ne Plus Ultra, and 
120 acres owned by Hicks Forbes. Assessment work only is being 
done on these properties. 

MidAS Claim. Owner, C. W. Cox, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 5, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., i mHe west 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles, by road, northerly to Quincy. Elevation 
5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

Miner's Home Mine. (Union, Hibernia, Shirley.) Owners, Thos. 
Corker et al., Table Eock. Bonded to Ilowland Flat Mines Company, 



SIERRA COUNTY. 49 

79 Mills Building, San Francisco; Edwin L. Oliver, San Francisco, 
president; Scott Hendricks, Mills Building, San Francisco, secretary. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 5, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., within 1 mile 
of Table Rock; 75 miles northwest of Marysville, daily stage; 65 miles 
east of Oroville by stage road ; 30 miles south of Quincy, but road Is 
generally impassable in winter. All supplies have to be hauled in during 
the summer months. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downleville. 

The Miner's Home mine comprises five claims and a tailings claim, 
namely, the Kewana, North Kewana, Union, Hibernia, Shirley, and 
Creek tailings claim, a total of 155 acres, covering a length along the 
channels of from 3000' to 4000'. It is situated on the rolling ground 
at the base of Table Rock. 

The lower channel was worked out by the Union and Hawkeye 
companies during the early days by drifting. It is said to have 
averaged 60^ per square foot of bedrock. In the Hawkeye 66,506 
square feet of bedrock yielded a gross return of $77,000, or $1.16 per 
square foot. When, work stopped, gravel was running $7.75 per 
18 cubic foot car. This region has produced in the neighborhood of 
$14,000,000. 

The main tunnel, 6' by 6' in cross section, is 3170' long. It is 
called the Talk tunnel and is driven on the north rim 1800' (40' below 
the old Hawkeye tunnel), then a raise of 12' and the tunnel continues 
'J 50' in old gravel and clay, then a raise of 33' into the north rim of 
the upper channel, in which it continues 500' farther east. A few 
laterals have been driven into the gravel, but very little breasting 
has been done. A drift across the channel would be advisable to see 
whether the pay gravel and clay will be found across the whole width 
as developed in the lower channel. 

The deposit is an intervolcanic channel lying on rhyolite tuflf, etc, 
The channel courses southwest with a big swing to the south between 
the Hawkeye and the end of the property. The gold is found in a 
so-called blue clay which is evidently a fine ash containing large 
boulders of white quartz, well rounded and waterworn, together with 
fine wash gravel, and it is said to be coarser than that which was 
taken out of the lower channel, ranging in size from fine to pieces as 
large as a dime. It appears that the old channel was first covered by 
the rhyolitic deposit and later, at the time of the deposition of the 
blue ash, there was a break above and the gold and old channel gravel 
was washed down onto the rhyolitic bedrock. The blue clay disin- 
tegrates in the water. In the upper channel there is said to be 6000 
square feet of bedrock blocked out which will average $1.06 per 
square foot and 230,000 square feet practically proven. The width of 
the channel is reported to have been 500' and the upper channel was 
worked to a considerable width in the Hawkeye claim by Overstreet 



50 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

at a large profit. The lower gravel is stated to have been 5' to 10' in 
thickness, above which was the rhyolitic tuff, then came 1' to 2' of 
pay gravel mixed with 'blue clay' and from 25' to 109' of fine wash 
gravel capped by andesite. 

Equipment consists of a washhouse, blacksmith shop, 10 cars (18 
cubic foot) and all tools for 20 men. Water through a 10" pipe 
under 60' head is purchased from the Water Company at $250 per 
year. Labor costs $3.25 to $4 per day. Freight from Marysville to 
mine is 1^^ per lb. There is no timber on the property and lagging, 
delivered costs $6 per M. 

At the Hawkeye mine, adjoining, considerable gravel was worked 
during the summer of 1915 with good results. Snowsheds were built 
so work can be continued throughout winter. 

Monte Carlo Mine. Owners, Lavezzola, Dondero and Poggi, 
Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District. Situated in Clarks Cafion. Sec. 27, 
T. 21 N., R. 10 E. It is 44 miles southwest by*road, from Downieville to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R R.). 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Monte Carlo mine was being operated in the summer of 1915, 
yielding nuggets worth $3 to $4 each. The pay continues to increase 
as the main tunnel is driven in a northeasterly direction. August 18, 
1917, the cleanup for work of three men since July 1, amounted to 
$1400. 

Morristown and Angora Group. Owner, A. Harris, La Porte. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., and Sec. 30. 

T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles by road east of Port Wine, thence 34 miles by 

road north to Quincy. Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: Liridgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paner 73, pp. 108-110. 

Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 

p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of the Angora Creek claim (patented) and 
the Morristown, 400 acres, not patented. It covers a length along 
the channel of 3000'. 

The Morristown property was purchased by Harris in 1885, 
hydraulicked in 1888, and closed down in 1890. 

The deposit consists of old channel gravels 75' deep, 200' wide and 
capped with andesite, coursing north. The gravel is free, contains 
some quartz boulders and lies on slate bedrock. There is said to be 
400 acres that could be hydraulicked; $7000 was taken out in one 
short season with water obtained from Little Grizzly Creek. There 
is a 3-mile ditch which delivers 2500 inches under 125' head for 4J 
months out of the year. 

Must be drifted on back channel to work. 



SIEBEA COUNTY. 51 

Hott Mine. Owners, Mott and Morrison, Forest ; Harlan, San Jose. 

Location: Downlevilje Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 19 N., R< 10 E. It is 44 
miles northeast by road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) to Downie- 
ville. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

This gravel property was leased in October, 1914, to Gilbreath and 
Hughes of Downieville, who will repair the 1200' tunnel and lay track 
preparatory to working. The channel is known as ^ black lead,' the 
gravel being dark and well cemented to bedrock, but it has yielded 
well when worked. 

Mott and Brady Group. Owner, C. E. Mott, Forest. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 11, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles north of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles by road to Nevada City. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. G^eol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. 

Mountain House. Owners, W. J. Belcher, W. W. Casserly, G. W. 
Voelzel and Mark N. Ailing, Downieville. Leased and under option 
to Shaw Brothers, Oakland. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 18, 19, 30, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., and 
Sec. 25, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile east of Mountain House, thence 35 miles 
southwest by road to Nevada City. Elevation 4720'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Mountain House property consists of eight claims, the Moun- 
tain Nos. 1 to 8, inclusive, discovered and located in 1911, 1912, 1913. 
It covers a length along the channel of 13,000'. The surface is 
characterized by a high lava-capped ridge covered with brush and 
timber, with good loam in the flats and on the northern slopes. 

A discovery tunnel, about. 700' long in the gravel, is supposed to be 
following down stream, but no grade in the channel was found 
beyond the first 75', indicating that the deposit discovered is either a 
bench or a flat place of unusual length. Lava, with considerable 
water, was encountered in this tunnel, so a tunnel 40' lower was run 
400' and the same lava encountered again, indicating that a second 
and deeper channel has cut through the original or else that the main 
channel is lower than any of the workings. No breasting has been 
done except for testing purposes. The main tunnel has been run 
along the center of the deposit, laterals being extended to the 
supposed rims on either side. 

The channel courses due south on Calaveras formation between 
serpentine bodies throughout the property. The gravel is quartz, 
ranging from 2' to 6' in thickness, nearly every pebble of which is 
white. It is about 200' wide and is capped by about 22' of pipe clay, 
overlaid with several hundred feet of andesite tuff, mud and breccia, 
covered in turn with basalt. The gravel is free and the gold assays 
946 fine. 

Where the channel had grade, it was prospected for a width of 
cbout 65', an occasional pan being found yielding as much as 50ff. 



52 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Where the lava was encountered at the end of about 600' of dead 
level deposit, the gravel carried very little gold. This channel is 
thought to be the south extension of the White Bear channel. A 9' 
quartz ledge follows the contact along the west side of the Calaveras 
formation. 

Equipment consists of 2 iron cars, 10 cubic foot capacity, 8- and 
12-lb. T-rails, 7" galvanized air pipe and blower rim by gasoline engine, 
washing floor 16' by 20', dwelling houses and a blacksmith shop at 
the mouth of each tunnel. Water supply from local springs has been 
developed. 

Timbers, spruce and fir, cost only $1 per set, as plenty of timber is 
standing on the ground. Five men were employed, wages being $2.50 
per day, with board, in 1914. 

At present, the gravel is washed in a small sampling wash yard 
and run through a short string of boxes with pole and Hungarian 
riffles, the tailings being dumped into a ravine. 

The Kanaka drift mine adjoins. 

Mountain View Claim. Owner, Wayland, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining: District, Sec. 24, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles east of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R). 

Bibliography: Lindgren. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property was relocated by Wayland in 1913. Assessment 
work only being done. 

Mountain View Consolidated Group. Owners, Schield and Meesery, 
La Porte. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 30, T. 21 N., R 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Port Wine, thence 32 miles by road northerly to Quincy. Elevation 
5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Surxey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37. Downieville. 

Mount Vernon and Mott Tunnel Group. Owners, H. Mott, Forest ; 
Hermon, San Jose. Bonded and leased to E. Gilbreath and H. V. 
Hughes. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 19 N., R 10 E.. 2 miles 
south of Downieville by trail, thence 44 miles southwest to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). ElevaUon 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of four or five claims situated on the lava- 
covered ridge between Rock Creek and North Yuba River. They 
carry some timber. 

The deposit is old channel gravel, cemented and dark colored, with 
some quartz boulders. The bedrock is slate and the gravel is capped 
with andesite. 

The channel is developed by an old tunnel 1200' long which passes 
through slate. Three men working in 1914, reopening this tunnel. 
A raise 400' in, strikes cemented gravel. Some breasting has been 
done at intervals. The cemented channel is supposed to be 500' 



SIERRA COUNTY. 53 

vertically below the Ruby channel. In June, 1915, Gilbreath and 
associates opened a new channel of unworked gravel of very high 
grade. 
The Ruby mine adjoins. 

Mount Alta Mine. Owner, Mrs. R. M. St. Claire, 421 Fifth street, 
Marysville. 

Location : Indian Hill Mining District, Sec. 33. T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 2 miles north 
of Pike City, thence 28 miles, by road, south to Nevada City. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 111. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

Gravel of good grade is being opened at several points. Five men 
employed in 1915 driving main adit. A large area of virgin ground 
is available, and it is planned to keep the tunnel 300' ahead of all 
working faces, insuring a good area of workable ground, when 
sufficient water for washing is obtainable. 

(In 1918 it was reported that the tunnel was 4000' long and had 
been driven 1600' without seeing bedrock except by sinking. The 
channel was said to be swinging toward the Pleasant View property.) 

Mugwump Mines Company. Owners, S. L. Bright, San Francisco ; 
A. D. Foote, L. P. Larue, C. F. Clinch and A. II. Tickell, Grass Valley. 

In February, 1916, the Gold Star and Young America lode and 
j2:ravel properties were consolidated under the above name. Mine 
equipment has been ordered and development of the main gravel 
channel will be pressed at once. Later on the quartz deposits will 
receive attention. 

New Jersey Claim. Owner, A. Eckhart, 531 Dolores street, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 19 N., R. 10 K, 3 miles southwest 
of Forest, thence 39 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Assessment work being done. 

Nugg'et Nell ClainL Owners, J. McGregor and others, Downieville. 

Location: Just north of Telegraph, Sec. 4, T. 20 N., R. 10 E. 

A 1500' tunnel has been driven on this 400-acre holding. 
Occidental Claim. 

Location: Forest Mining District. It is 39 miles by road, Forest to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.), 

About 600' of new tunnel had been completed at creek level in 
March, 1914, and promising prospects shown. (E. and M. J., 
March 7, 1914.) 

Orient Group. Owners, Orient Gold Mining Company; John Frood, 
North San Juan, secretary. 

Location: Indian Hill Mining District, Sees. 22. 27, 28, 33. 34, T. 19 N., 
R 9 E., 2 miles southwest of Indian Hill, thence 40 miles southerly, by 
road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3800'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 



54 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The property comprises mineral entry rights to lots 37, 40, 41, 42, 
43 and 44, located in the sections given above. 

Pacific Group. Owners. James Jones, La Porte; Will Schwering, 
Rowland Flat. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District. Sec. 18, T. 21 N.. R. 10 E., 2 miles 
northeast of Port Wine, thence 65 miles, by road, to MarysviUe (S. P. 
R. R.) ; Quincy 32 miles north by road. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliogrraphy : Lindgren, W.. V. S. Geol. Survey Prof.' Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., V. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of five locations, including the Roscoe, Jenny 
Lind, Excelsior and Dreadnaiight, covering a length along the channel 
of two miles. It was located by Phil Doray, but purchased by the 
present owners from John Littick. The property was under bond in 
1914 to Henry Valhoff of Los Angeles, who was working the Clipper 
Ship, which adjoins. The old Neocene river channel has not yet been 
encountered by the tunnel being run through bedrock and graveL 

Pennsylvania Claim. Owner, L. 11. Molter, Table Rock. Bonded 
to Phelps. 

Location: Poker Flat Miring District. S^-c. 2, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles east 

of Table Rock, thence 30 miU's northerly to Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. IT. S. CJcol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Polio 37, Downieville. 

Pioneer Mine. Owner, Mrs. Elizabeth A. Rodgers, Palace Hotel, 
San Francisco. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, portions of Sec-s. 13, 14, 23 and 24, 
T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 11 miles northeast of Port Wine, thence 36 miles 
northerly to Quincy. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survev Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 
Rpts. XI. p. 412; XII, p. 270; XIII, p. 381. 

The Pioneer property is patented, and contains 360.26 acres. From 
40 to 50 acres have been hydraulicked, 10 acres of which produced 
from $300,000 to $400,000. The gravel is 80' in depth and capped by 
pipe clay. At the top it is fine for 60', then coarser gravel for 20'. 
All carried good pay, the top gravel 2^ to 5^ per yard. 

Pleasant View Mine. Comprises the Pleasant View No. 1 and No. 2 
(formerly called the Jackson and Roman) and the Flatiron claims, 
covering 220 acres, with 2250' of channel still said to be unworked. 
The property is on Oregon Creek three miles from Camptonville, and 
thirty miles from Nevada City by wagon road. It is owned by E, E. 
Brownell, II. N. Stetson and Julia C. Wyncoop, and is leased, with 
option to purchase, to 0. D. Woodman of Camptonville and Nevada 
City. 

The deposit is in a deep channel and has been worked by tunnel 
200' below the surface. In the fall of 1918 the tunnel was 1635' long, 
and a total length of 900' of channel had been mined. The bedrock 
is slate, the capping pipe clay, and the pay gravel is said to be 65' 
wide. Five feet of gravel and 10 inches of bedrock are mined. 



SIEBEA COUNTY.. 55 

Woodman reports a total operating cost of $1.50 a ton. Shallow 
flat holes are driven by hand and are shot with one-half a stick of 
dynamite. Round pine and fir timber is used. Gravel is washed in 
a line of sluices 175' long, but the gold is coarse and most of it is 
caught in the first 20'. Marion Creek furnishes enough water for ten 
months work. Tailings are restrained by a dam, and a new dam 10' 
high was planned. The present operator began work in December, 
1916. He planned to employ five men in the winter of 1918-19. 
Miners are paid $3 a day and board. The total production of the 
property to date is said to have reached $100,000. 

Poker Pla-t G0I4 Gravel Mining Company. Owners, Carl Bettinger 
and J. B. Lassiat. Bonded to Poker Flat Gold Gravel Mining Com- 
pany, 110 Market street, San Francisco; E. J. Holt, president; Geo. 
Gray, secretary. 

Location: Poker Plat Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles south 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles north by road to Quincy. 

Bibliogrraphy : Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

s 

This property consists of two claims, the Lassiat and Bettinger, a 
total of 120 acres with a length along the deposit of 2000'. The sur» 
face is flat. 

In early days it was worked as a hydraulic mine, but was relocated 
by the present owners in 1908. Six men were employed at $4 per day 
in 1911 

The channel has been developed by a 505' vertical 2-compartment 
shaft, 4' by 8'. The west rim was struck at 505' and an incline at 
45' was run following the rim for 300', but gravel has not been 
encountered as yet. The channel is an old Neocene channel coursing 
south, capped with lava. 

Equipment consists of a 2' Pelton wheel, hoist, buildings, black- 
smith shop and tools. 

P^or Bojr-B^Ua Union Group. Bonded to F. M. Phelps. 

Liocation: Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. 32, T. 20 N., R. 9 E., 4 miles by 
road and trail south of Port Wine, thence 34 miles north by road to 
Quincy. Elevation 4825'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 105, 108. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

F. M. Phelps and associates started prospecting on the Poor Boy- 
Bella Union group with a Keystone drill in October, 1915. Following 
the locatiou of the channel and determination of its width and depth, 
a long paain tunnel will be driven to develop the holdings. Pre- 
liminary surveys indicate it will be necessary to extend the tunnel 
25Q0^ From this point raises will be put up to open tlie channel to 
the best advantage. The owners hoped to locate the channel before 
snow flies, and to prosecute underground work during the winter 
months. 



56 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Pyro Group. Owners, Hunter Gold Mining Company. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, Sees. 3 and 4, T. 21 N., R. 10 B., 2 miles 
east of Table Rock, thence 30 miles northerly by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downleville. 

The Pyro and other claims, all patented, having a total area of 650 
acres, comprise this property. 

Rattlesnake Mine. Owner, Dillos, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District. Downieville is 44 miles northeast of 

Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by road. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

It was reported that gravel yielding $4 per car was being worked 
by Deal and Dillos during November, 1915., A recovery of 9 ounces 
of gold in 7 days was made by two men in December. The gold is 
becoming smoother and coarser as work progresses. 

Riley Claim. Sold to state, 1914. 

Location : Port Wine Mining District. Port Wine is 7 miles, by road, south of 

Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Ruby Mine. Owner, E. L. Case, Downieville. Bonded to W. F. 

Copeland, Alameda, and Mark N. Ailing, Downieville. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sees. 10, 11, 14 and 15, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 

2 miles north of Forest City and about 40 miles northwest, by road, from 

Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, p. 406; XII, p. 271; XIII, p. 382. 

Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Ruby property consists of the patented Guatemala and Guate- 
mala Extension claims, 440 acres, and the Garnet placer (20 acres), 
arid Rock Creek tailings locations, covering in all about 3000' of the 
creek. 

In 1856 an ancient channel was discovered by a shaft sunk on the 
bank of Rock Creek at the north end of the Ruby claims, and the 
gravel was worked for years. The property was purchased in 1871 
by the Ruby Gold Gravel Mining Company, and in 1880 the 2200' 
double compartment bedrock tunnel was started. Two years later 
the main Ruby channel was struck and the mine was then opened up 
on a large scale and profitably worked for 11 years, during which 
time portions of two distinct channels were mined. The Ruby 
channel, a quartz channel varying in width of pay gravel from 200' 
to 600', was lost about the center of the property and about 2000' of 
this channel still remains intact within the limits of the Ruby claims. 
An intervolcanic channel was worked to the south boundary line of 
the property about 1000' in 1894. Since 1896 the mine has been 
leased and b'onded to two different parties who did some work 
searching for the lost Ruby channel, without success. It is now 
bonded to Copeland and Ailing, who work this property in connection 
with the Bald Mountain and Bald Mountain Extension properties, 
and are endeavoring to reopen them as one mine. 



SIEBBA COUNTY. 57 

Pay gravel in the Ruby channel averaged $3 per ton car, although 
much richer gravel was frequently found. That in the intervolcanic 
channel averaged $2.50 per ton car. The gold was mostly coarse and 
easily saved, although the gravel from the intervolcanic channel was 
somewhat cemented and the tailings ran high. Nuggets ranging from 
1 to 45 ounces were common, and one was found which weighed 
201.56 ounces, this being in the intervolcanic channel and along the 
contact of serpentine and Calaveras bedrocks where most of the 
coarse gold occurred. This so-called *Line of Coarse Gold' extended 
in a north and south direction and was especially noticeable for about 
800'. Quartz ledges rich in gold have been found in the Ruby, and 
c»ne, although only a small ledge, has been considerably developed. 
The general course of the three Ruby channels is southerly although 
they have wound about and across each other. 

The water-right in Rock and Little Rock creeks is owned and the 
mine itself discharges from 3 to 4 miner's inches. As the Yuba 
Hydroelectric Company has recently installed a power line to Forest 
City, it is the plan of the operators to install electric power for 
haulage and revolving trommels to disintegrate and thoroughly wash 
the gravel before dumping it into the creek, to be worked over later 
as heretofore. 

Russell Hill Claim. Owner, W. S. Russell, Camptonville. (See 
TJ. S. Geol. Survey Folio.) 

Location : On Depot Hill," 5 miles north of Camptonville. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnts. XII, p. 272; XIII, p. 382. 

Scott Mine. (Manxman and Bluebell.) Owners, Jas. Scott and 
Brothers, P. L. Carmiehael and J. C. Poor, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sees. 2 and 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 B., 2 miles 
to Poker Flat by trail. Table Rock 6 miles west by trail ; thence 30 miles 
north by road to Quincy. Elevation 5500' to 6000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survev Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, DownieviUe. 

The Scott property consists of the Bluebell (80 acres). Common- 
wealth (160 acres) and the Manxman (160 acres), all locations. It 
is situated on the lava-covered ridge at the head of Tennessee Gulch 
and carries a good stand of timber. Although Tennessee Gulch was 
worked in early days, Corlett took $45,000 out of one-half acre during 
the year 1900. 

This deposit is made up of old channel gravels, coursing N. 52° W. 
The gravel, with quartz boulders, is 12^ deep, covered by 80' of pipe 
clay, and lies on bedrock composed of blue slate and quartzite. 
Water was encountered in too large a quantity to pump, the mine 
flowing 100 inches. 

Development work on the Scott consists of a tunnel through 100' 
of slate, 60' through vein into pipe clay and 200' in intervolcanic 
gravel carrying some gold. A winze sunk 80' through pipe clay 



58 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

from end of drift struck quartz gravel and boulders. Water and 
sand prevented reaching bedrock. A new tunnel is being started on 
a line between the Bluebell and Manxman. It is in 130' in blue slate, 
and will strike the bottom of the old shaft at 1400'. 

"rtiere is a blacksmith shop on the property, and electric power 
from Canon Creek is available. 

Adjoining mines are the Carlton, Bruckerman and Coal Canon. 

Sierra Qeneva Mine. Owners, M. W. Davis and seven associates. 

Location Forest Mining District, Sees. 31 and 32, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles 
west of Alleghany, which Is 31 miles northwest by road from Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Sierra Geneva property, covering 270 acres and nearly a mile 
of channel, promises to become one of the most important drift mining 
enterprises of the district. Much fine gold was panned here by old- 
timers, but the main deposit was overlooked owing to heavy timber 
and surface soil, until exposed a few years ago by a shaft in the Kate 
Hardy quartz mine on the east. The channel crosses the big Kate 
Hardy ledge from which rich surface pockets of gold undoubtedly 
fed the gravel, and is entirely below a serpentine dike. 

Bedrock is slate. An inclined shaft is being sunk to the bottom 
of the channel on the northern rim to get into the dish of channel and 
work upstream. The old, rich New Jersey claims adjoin on the wesi. 

Smith and Brundage Group. Owner, Rose Conlan, St. Louis, Sierra 
County. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District; Port Wine is 37 miles south, by road, 

from Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downleville. 

South Pork Gold Mining Company. Owner, South Rio Antigua 
Mining Company, Los Angeles; A. E. Pomeroy, 701 Grant Building, 
Los Angeles, president; L. S. Field, Los Angeles, secretary; James H. 
Haine, 337 Douglas Building, Los Angeles, treasurer. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., situated within 

the town of Forest, 39 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (JT. C. 

N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5500'. 
Bibliography : Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnts. XII, p. 272 ; XIII, p. 383. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. G^eol. Survey 

Folio 66. Colfax. 

This property consists of one claim, the South Fork, 800 acres in 
extent. There is some second growth timber on the property. 

It was discovered in 1873, and in early days the old Blue Lead 
was worked through the property. The present company leased the 
property in 1903 and purchased it in 1910. Ten men were working 
in 1913; three men were doing assessment work in 1914. It was 
bonded in December, 1915, to Thos. Wilson of Manhattan, Nevada, 
representing a Nevada company, who planned to soon begin active 
work. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 59 

The channel is developed by a 5500' tunnel starting from Oregon 
Creek, below Forest. It runs southeast for about 700', all timbered, 
then runs 1800' N. 73° 28' E., where a raise of 16' struck gravel; then 
HOC in gravel and islands of bedrock, then east for 600' and finally 
1200' to the side line of the claim. The tunnel cuts a flat deposit of 
gravel 1100' in width carrying free gold. Numerous raises have been 
driven. It is probably a second period channel containing quartz 
and fine gravel. The course is north and south and it is capped 
with lava. 

Equipment consists of one Temple-IngersoU air electric drill, com- 
pressor, blower, blacksmith shop and timber shop. Electricity is used 
for power and lighting. Adjoining mines are the North Fork and the 
Red Star. 

St. Charles HUl Oroup. Owner, Frank R. Wehe, Monadnock 
Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Poverty Hill Mining District, Sees. 25 and 36, T. 20 N., R. 9 K, 

5 miles west of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to 

Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 

Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 

p. 600. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property comprises the following claims: St. Charles Hill 
No. 1, No. 2 and No. *i, 298.53 acres in all, and the Cleveland lode, 
J 8.63 acres. 

Steamboat Mine. (Snowden.) Owners, Alleghany Mining Com- 
pany; Evan R. Jones, Forest; W. W. Tairer, San Jose; Carl B. 
Thompson, Oakland; T. B. DeLauney. 

Location: Alleghany Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 18 N., R. 10 B., 1 mile south- 
east of Alleghany, thence 31 miles, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 272; XIII, p. 383. 

The Steamboat property, is composed of two claims, the Snowden 
and St. Elmo, an area of 40 acres. It is situated on the lava-covered 
ridge on the east side of Kanaka Creek, and contains timber. 

A vein 4' in width is developed by a 40' tunnel, which gives 40' of 
backs. At 450' in, the vein lies 4' below where rich gold was found 
in gravels. 

Suffolk Claim. Owner, A. Cuthill, San Francisco. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District. Sec. 24, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile north- 
east of Port Wine, thence 36 miles, by road, northerly to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 5520'. 

Bibliography : Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property was apparently abandoned in 1914. It was last 
worked a few years previous by Wm. Brady of San Francisco. 

Telegraph Mining Company. (See under Lode Mines.) 



60 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Thistle Shaft Claim. W. C. Wingate, Gibsonville, manager. 

Location : Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 25 or 36, T. 22 N., R. 9 E.. 2 miles 

southwest of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Elevation 6000\ 
Bibliography: LIndgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106. 107. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37. Downlevllle. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, 

pp. 330 and 419; Xll, p. 265; XIII, p. 376. 

True Grit. Owners, Meek Mercantile Company, and Mrs. Hath- 
away, Oroville. Bonded to J. C. Donnelly, Goodyears Bar. 

Location: West bank of Oregon Creek, 8 miles from Camptonville and 30 miles 
by road from Nevada City. 

This is an old drift mining property which has been idle for years. 
Lately there has been some talk of working the property by hydraulic 
mining, but this talk had not crystallized into actual work late in 
1918. 

True Grit and Eureka Cansalidated Group. Owners, W. B. Meek, 
and Mrs. Hathaway, Camptonville. Bonded to J. C. Donnelly, Good- 
year's Bar. 

Location : Eight miles from Camptonville, in Indian Hill Mining District, 
Sees. 26 and 35. T. 19 N., R. 9 E., about 30 miles, by road, north of 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R, R). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downlevllle. 

Uncle Sam Placer Mine. (North Fork.) Owners, John S. Bin- 
ning, Alleghany; H. J. Gould, O. T. Owens, Forest. Bonded to Wis- 
consin North Fork Gravel Mines, 116 Natoma street, San Francisco; 
(i. E. Clark, president; D. E. Hayden, secretary. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 15, 16, 21 and 22, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 

25 miles north of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road to Nevada 

City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4600'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, d. 380. Lindgren, W.. U. S. Gaol. 

Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, 

Colfax. 

The Uncle Sam property consists of the Uncle Sam gravel claim and 
the Uncle Sam Extension placer claim, unpatented. It covers a 
length along the channel of 6000', the surface being rough and hilly. 
There is good timber on the property on th^ north side of Ridge road. 
It was discovered and first worked in 1850, closed in 1853, reopened 
in 1869, closed in 1870, reopened in 1896 and closed in 1898. Swell- 
ing bedrock was the reason for closing each time. It has again been 
reopened, and after cutting through 1600' of old workings, the pay 
streak was found in September, 1914. Fourteen-inch timbers which 
have to be constantly repaired, are used to hold the swelling ground, 
the average cost per running foot amounting to $8 for a tunnel 
(9'x5')x8'. 

The gravel is chiefly white quartz pebbles with some boulders, on 
soft bedrock of chloritic schist, talc and serpentine. The gravel is 
capped by rhyolitic tuf¥ which is in turn capped by basalt. The 
channel courses southwest with pay gravel from 40' to 150' in width 
and 6" to 4' in depth. 



SIEERA COUNTY. 61 

Rich gravel was uncovered in April, 1915, the strike appearing to 
be the most important made in the district in years. The pay streak 
averaged 35' wide, with the product yielding about $5 per car. Con- 
siderable coarse gold and many small nuggets have been extracted. 
The gravel is a portion of the White Bear channel, and is being 
operated through the same shaft as the North Fork mine. 

Power is purchased from the Middle Yuba Hydroelectric Company 
at a rate of 1^^ per kilowatt hour. Fourteen-inch round timbers are 
used, costing $3 per set. Ten men were employed in 1915 at a rate 
of $3.25 per 8 hours. The run averages 4 cars (2500 lbs. each) per 
day per man. 

Union Group. Owner, Jane Tomb. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 25, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile east of 
Port Wine, thence 37 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 4750'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Two claims comprise this property, the Union No. 1 and No. 2. It 
is developed by a 30' shaft and 600' of drifts in the auriferous gravels. 

Union Consolidated Mine. (Happy Hollow.) Owner, Timothy 
eTudge, Gibsonville. 

Location : Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile north- 
east of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 5600'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survev Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, 
p. 274; XIII. p. 384. 

The Union Consolidated comprises the Union, Manzanita and 
Western claims. 

The channel varies in width from 100' to 250', averaging 200'. It 
has been developed by 2000' of tunnel, 1200' of which paid $500 per 
foot of channel, giving a total production of $600,000. 

Van Slyke Claim. Owner, Victor Titus, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 11, T. 20 N., R. 11 B., in Big Cafton, 

about 6 miles northerly, by road, to Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 
Bibliography : U. S. o^eol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Virginia Iffine. Owners, Mrs. P. L. Carmichael, Table Rock ; Becker 
Estate, C. J. Becker, Marysville ; W. H. Hartley, Table Rock. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, 1 mile from Table Rock, 31 miles from 
Quincy, Sec. 5. T. 21 N.. R. 10 E. 

This is a relocation of the old Bonanza and adjoining ground. The 
deposit is old channel gravel capped with andesite. The Bonanza 
tunnel is being reopened. 

The Miner's Home property adjoins on the southeast. 

Walioo Mining Company. Owners, same. Port Wine. 

Location: Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. — , T. 20 N., R. 9 E., east part 
lot 54, Mount Pleasant; 41 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 600, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

5—^6901 



62 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

WfkttB Claim. Owner, Boston Company; Fred Joubert, superin- 
tendent. 

Location : Indian Hill Mining District, Sec. 15, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 2 miles north- 
east of Indian Hill, thenoe about 40 miles by road southerly to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliograpliy : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 
Rpt XII. p. 274. 

Welker ard HOffsi Oroup. Owner, Indian Hill Mining Company, 
Boston. 

Location: Indian Hill Mining District. Sec. 20, T. 19 N., R. 9 B., i mile north 
of Indian Hill, thence about 40 miles, by road, southerly to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. O. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

West Point-Monte Cristo Group. Owner, T. E. Winrod, Downie- 
ville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 16, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 5 miles 
northwest of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. ^Jf. R R.). Elevation 5300'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property is composed of the following placer claims : the West 
Point, Exchange Extension, Bald Mountain, Eureka and Eureka 
tailings. 

White Bear Mine. Owner, White Bear Mining Company; W. J. 
Blecher, Marysville, president. Leased to John Costa, Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sees. 9 and 16, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 
6 miles north of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The White Bear property consists of the White Bear, Brown Bear, 
Bed Rock, Serpentine, Lava, Belcher, Black Bear and Polar Bear loca- 
tions, having an area of about 100 acres and covering a length along 
the channel of a mile and a half. 

The property was worked in early days, and a second time by 
Slavonians, working at intervals, about 1890. The White Bear 
channel was faulted toward the south, and Winrod is now trying to 
find the faulted part. Costa took over the property in July, 1906, 
and it has been worked ever since. Twelve hundred feet of channel 
yielded $200,000. A 2200' tunnel through slate passed the channel 
and a total of about 1000' of upraises did not disclose it. A new 
tunnel one-half mile north is 2000' long. Three raises were put up, 
one 70' and another 116'. Prom the latter drift was run 200', then 
raised 130', without passing out of bedrock. Twelve hundred feet of 
channel, width of from 60' to 70', depth of pay 4', was worked from 
the adjoining Monte Cristo claim. 

The deposit is old river channel gravels coursing NE.-SW. The 
gravel is composed of free white quartz lying on a bedrock of slates 
and serpentine and capped with lava. The depth of the deposit is 
5', the width 6' to 100'. 

In May, 1916, work was resumed in the New York tunnel to find 
the northern extension of the White Bear channel. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 63 

Equipment consists of houses and blacksmith shop. Three men 
v/ere working. 

Wide Awsdse Mine. (Argentine, Never Sweat and Germania.) 
Owners, H. H. Meyers and E. L. Case, Downieville. Bonded to 
Jason S. Frye and Blevins. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec 12, T. 20 N., R. 10 E. ; Downieville 
9 miles south by trail; thence 44 miles by road southwest, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5600'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 274; XIII, p. 384. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of the Wide Awake, Never Sweat, Germania 
and Argentine locations, an area of 200 acres, with a length of a mile 
and a half along the channel. It is situated on a lava-capped ridge 
and there is considerable timber on the property. 

The "Wide Awake was first discovered in 1884. It was worked as a 
drift mine up to 1894 and produced $100,000. The Never Sweat pro- 
duced $10,000 by ground sluicing, and Rouse piped out $10,000 from 
the Argentine by hydraulicking. Four men were working and about 
$900 was spent on development work in 1914. 

The channel courses NE.-SW. and is developed by three tunnels. 
The old No. 1 tunnel was run in lava 900', then in gravel 800', worked 
by incline. No. 2 tunnel is 2000' long, part in lava. No. 3 tunnel, 
20' below No. 2, ran 1000', 700' of which was in lava, to strike the 
gravel, worked downstream at intervals for 1000', then ran north- 
northwest 700'. A front channel is supposed to have been opened by 
a new tunnel from the Never Sweat 'spell-out.' It is in slate 71', 
then 276' in workings, including 200' of gangways in gravel worth 
80^ a load. 

The deposit consists of old Neocene channel gravel, 25' in depth, 
capped with 500' of andesite and pipe clay, and lying on bedrock of 
slate. The gravel is free, with some quartz and blue quartzite in 
large boulders. 

The front channel is 60' deeper than the back channel, but the 
gravel is of the same character. Considerable water was encoun- 
tered. Equipment consists of a boarding house, blacksmith shop, gas 
engine and homemade sawmill. 

Winkeye Mine. (Hawkeye and Pittsburg.) Owners, George and 
Henry Goard, Table Rock; Chas. C. Giltner, Stanford Hotel, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Poker Plat Mining District, Sec. 32. T. 22 N.. R. 10 E. The mine 
is at Table Rock, 30 miles south of Quincy, by road. Elevation 5800'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paner 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Winkeye property consists of two claims, the Hawkeye and the 
Pittsburg, covering a length along the channel of 1600'. It is situated 
on the flat at the bottom of Table Rock, and what timber there is, 
is small. 



64 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

J. Ross Brown began work on the Hawkeye in 1857, spending 
$30,000. The property was purchased from Aaron Todd, and worked 
by the present owners from 1900 to 1910. 

The lower channel was mined in early days, though a block of 
ground is said to be left, and later bedrock was worked. Idle at 
present. 

The deposit is old Neocene channel gravel on bedrock of volcanic 
sand and ash, and capped with andesite. It is opened by the Wink- 
eye tunnel 2200' in length with 300' in gravel, and the balance in 
amphibolite and schist. An area of about 200' by 200' by 4' has been 
mined in the upper channel. Water is obtained from the Sierra 
Union water ditch, owned by T. Donohue Estate and J. H. Thomas, 
Oakland. The Miner's Home property adjoins. 

Wisconsin-North Fork Mine. Owner, Wisconsin-North Fork 
Gravels Mines, 405 Crocker Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 15, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., li miles north of 
Forest CJity, thence 39 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Assessment work only being done. 

The company arranged in April, 1916, to drive a main drainage and 
working tunnel from the Wisconsin side of the ridge, which will 
effectively drain the property and avoid the use of pumps. The Uncle 
Ham adit has been abandoned. Numerous small nuggets, weighing 
from a few grains to 9 ounces, have been recently found in the 
channel. The company is also exploring the Blue Point claim. A 
tunnel was in 600' in 1916 and is advancing to tap the north end of 
the channel adjoining the Ruby mine. A compressor and machine 
drills are to be installed at once to facilitate driving of the new 
Wisconsin tunnel. 

Yellow Jacket and Bear Greek Group. Owner, J, W. Evans, 
Graniteville. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sec. 34, T. 19 N., R. 10 E. Forest is 39 miles 

by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Young America Mine. Owners, Young America Mining Company, 
Forest City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 28 and 33, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile 
south of Forest City, thence 39 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. 
XII, p. 275; XIII, p. 384. 

The last work was done on this property about 1910, and since then 
assessment work only has been kept up. Early in 1916 it was bonded 
to E. J. Wiley of Nevada City. The 1000' adit was being repaired for 
resumption of work. 



66 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

GOLD— HYDRAULIC MINES. 

Agate Claim. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 13, T. 21 N., R. 12 B., 10 miles 
north of Sierra City, whicii is 38 miles by stage from Hawley (W. P. Ry.). 
• Elevation 7100'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Property not worked. 

American Hill Mine. Owner, Dos Pesos Company, New York. 

Location: American Hill Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 19 N., R. 11 E,. 7 miles 

southwest of Downieville. Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142, 143. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

There are 263 acres of patented ground. The Sharon Estate rmis 
Columbia channel every winter, taking out pay gravel. 

Brandy City Mine. Owners, E. L. Goldstein Company, 333 Kearny 
street, San Francisco; B. Trowenfeld, president; Geo. F. Taylor, 
Brandy City, manager ; Chas. Allenberg, 333 Kearny street, San Fran- 
(»isco, secretary. 

Location : Brandy City Mining District. Sees. 6 and 7, T. 19 N., R. 9 E. 

Property is in Brandy City, 30 miles north of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
. R, R.) by road. Elevation 3700'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, n. 262; XIII, p. 372. Lindgren. 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. idl. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 43, 

Bidwell Bar. 

The property consists of 1000 acres of unpatented placer locations, 
covering a length of two and one-half miles. There is some small and 
second growth timber on the claims. 

The mine was worked extensively from 1883 to 1890; was idle for 
17 years and then reopened in 1907 by the present owners. Ten to 
12 men have been employed throughout the year, 35 during the season 
from June to August, when 2000 cubic yards per day are hauled. 

The deposit consists of old Neocene river channel gravels, the 
gravel being small, cemented in spots and containing very few large 
boulders. The channel is winding, but has a general N.-S. course. 
The greatest depth is 200' and the pay gravel has a width of from 
700' to 800'. It has a 40' lava capping. 

There are 6 monitors, 2 being used at a time, and 6000' of 4' by 4' 
tiume, with sawed blocks 1' square laid on a grade of 2^" in 12'. A 
Hendy water power tramway handles boulders up to 5 tons. 

Two thousand inches of water from Canon Creek and 1000 inches 
from Cherokee Creek under a 240' head, are owned. 

Transportation costs are $1.75 per 100 pounds from San Francisco. 
Labor was paid $3 to $3.50 per day in 1914 and the cost of mining 
300,000 yards was $40,000. 

With an abundant water supply, hydraulicking was being done 
with good returns in May, 1916. 



SIERRA COUNTY, 



68 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Burlington Claim. Owner, John Freeman, Sierra City. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 2. T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 8 miles east 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City 
; (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper .73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Caledonia Mine. (McBride's Hydraulic.) Owners, A. McBride 
r and Brothers, St Louis, Sierra County. 

I Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile south- 

east of St. Louis, thence 32 miles by road to Mohawk (W. P. Ry.). Ele- 
vation 5535'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 602, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property covers an area 1500' by 1600', with a length along 
the channel of 1500'. There is no timber on the property. 

The claims, first worked in 1854, were bought by the uncle of the 
r present owners in the seventies, and worked at intervals until 1904, 
• and it was again just opened up when the water supply was cut off. 
Thre6 men were working, cleaning up. 

The deposit is old Neocene channel gravels opened by a 2500' tunnel 
on gravel, a good deal of which has been worked. The gravel is 
^ quartz, partly cemented, on a bedrock of schist and capped with 
andesite. There is a depth of from 75' to 100'. Water was obtained 
from the Sierra Union Water Company, T. Donohue Estate. 
Equipment consists of a blacksmith shop and houses. 
Adjoining mines are the Star and Clipper Ship on the north and the 
Excelsior on the south. 

Charcoal Ranch Claim. Owners, L. F. Foumier and J. Bume, 
Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 36, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles west 
of Sierra City, 52 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R. R). Elevation 3800'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., IT. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. ,S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Idle. 

Coal Canon Claim. Owner, C. R. Scott, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south- 
east of Table Rock, thence 30 miles, northerly by road to Quincy. Ele- 
vation 5050'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paoer 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio "37, Downieville. 

^ Craycroft Mine. Owner, W. H. Spaulding, 14 Sansome street, San 
Francisco. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles north 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, n. 263 ; XIII, p. 374. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property comprises the following patented claims: The Mc- 
Millan (11 acres), Eggleston (20.18 acres), Weil (24.94 acres), Mil- 
holland (27.91 acres), Holmes (33.24 acres), Eggleston and Mowry 
(2.47 acres) and the Blue Range (a location). 

No work has been done for some time. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 69 

Crown Point. (See under Drift Mines.) 

Depot Hill Mine. (Joubert Mine.) Owner, Joubert Company, 
•\Iills Building, San Francisco; Frederick Joubert, Camptonville, 
president; F. J. Joubert, Camptonville, secretary and manager. 

Location: Indian Hill Mining District, Sec. 19, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 5 miles 
northeast of Camptonville, by good road, thence 22 miles south to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by good road. Elevation 3100'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 111. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 264 ; 
XIII, p. 375. 

This property consists of 60 acres of placer locations, covering a 
remaining 400' of channel on the Pendola claim. It is situated on 
the nearly flat surface of a valley and all timber has been cut. 

It was discovered in 1852 by J. Joubert, brother of the present 
owner, and has been run during the water season, from 4 to 6 months, 
continuously for the last 14 years. Five men are employed. 

The deposit is on the same channel as the Brandy City, Grizzly Hill 
and Indian Hill mines. It is blue gravel 100' deep and 300' in width 
lying on a slate bedrock, and is cemented on the bottom 4' to 6' deep. 
The gravel averages about 10^ per cubic yard, the gold being flaky 
like bran. Water is obtained from branches of Indian Creek. The 
amount depends on rainfall, varying from 400" to 800" under a 140' 
head. Monitors are used. 

For impounding the tailings, there is a concrete dam, 54' high, 15' 
to 18' thick at the bottom, 6' wide on the top, and 240' long ; 400,000 
cubic yards were already stored in 1914 and 6' more were to be added 
for a total capacity of 500,000 cubic yards. Houses, blacksmith shop, 
pipe line, tools, etc., comprise the equipment. 

Adjoining mines are the Indian Hill, Walker and Rossi, Italian 
Diggings, and the worked-out Indian Ranch. 

Eureka Claim. Owners, Spaulding, Costa and Company, Downie- 
ville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 7, T. 20 N.. R. 10 E., 6 miles 
northwest of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4800'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 375. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 
37, Downieville. 

Excelsior Mine. (St. Lawrence.) Owner, John Costa, Downie- 
ville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec 15, T. 20 N.. R. 10 E., 4 miles 
north of Downieville by trail, thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4950'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 375. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 
37, Downieville. 

This property consists of the following claims : St. Lawrence, Dead 
Broke, Saw Wood (1836), Excelsior, Excelsior No. 1, Excelsior No. 2 
und Tonopah, a total of 860 acres covering a length along the channel 
of two miles. It is situated on a lava-covered ridge. 



70 MINES AND MINERAIi RESOURCES. 

The deposit is old channel j^ravel, mostly white free quartz on a 
bedrock of slate. The channel runs south, and the gravel is 60' to 
80' deep. 

It was worked in the early days. The last hydraulicking was in 
1883, and there has been practically no work since, although it is still 
equipped with a hydraulic plant. The output to date is unknown. 

Tunneled from the east and west side of ridge 3500' at slightly 
different elevations. In early days the St. Lawrence was on the east 
and the Empire on the west. 

GibsonvUle Water and Mining Company. G. N. Cox, agent, Table 
Rock. 

Location: GibsonvUle Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles east 

of GibsonvUle, thence 26 miles northerly, by road to Quincy. Elevation 

6000'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 266; XIII, p. 376. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 37. Downievllle. 

Gold Valley Mine. (Poverty Hill Hydraulic Mine.) Owner, 
Henry Kingdon, San Francisco. 

Location: Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. __, T. 20 N., R. 9 E., at Poverty 
Hill, 39 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography : Cal. State Min. Bur. Rot. XII, p. 265. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 105-108. 

Has not been worked for many years. 

HaK)y-Oo-Lucky Claim. Owner, W. S. Chestain, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 11, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 
5500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paoer 73, d. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Hardscrabble Mine. Owner, Mrs. Lamonte Brown, Poverty Hill. 

Location: Poverty Hill Mining District. Sec. 34, T. 21 N., and Sec. 3, T. 20 N., 
R. 9 E., J mile east of Mount Pleasant, thence 41 miles northerly, by road, 
to Quincy. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

The Hardscrabble is a patented claim with water right. Good 
hydraulic gravel has been struck. 

Hidden Treasure Claim. Owner, Chas. F. Bettinger, Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 21 N., R 10 E., ^ mile south 
of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 
5050'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Hilda Mine. Owner, Hilda Gravel Mines Company, 948 Market 
street, San Francisco. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 2 and 3, T. 19 N., R. 12 E., 2 miles 
south of Sierra City, thence 56 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliographv : Lindgren, W., U. S. .Geol. Survey Prof. Paner 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property includes the Hilda, Etta, Sierra, Delia, Ethel, Alonia, 
Paris, Isabel, Bluff, San Francisco and Sacramento placer claims, 
water rights, ditches, etc. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 71 

Hilo Obim, Owners, Hilo Mining Company, 41 Market street, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Downievllle Mining District. Sec. 17, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 5 miles 
northwest of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R- R.). Elevation 4900'. 

Assessment work only being done. 

Homestake Claim. Owners, Atkinson Brothers, Camptonville, 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 14. T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 10 miles 
north of Sierra City, 19 miles south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Elevation 
7000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Mln. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 378. Llndgreti, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downie- 
vllle. 



findian Hili ClauiL Owners, Indian Hill Hydraulic Mining Com- 
pany, Boston, MJaasachusetts. 

Location: Sec. 20, T. 19 N.. R. 9 E., at Indian Hill, 32 miles northerly by road 
from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 2800'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 111. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Eurkpaibridc Bfine. (Eclipse.) Owners, Kirkpatrick Estate, San 
Francisco ; John C. Donnelly, manager. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 15, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles, by trail 
north of F'orest City, 4 miles by trail south of Downieville, 39 miles by 
road Forest City to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. 8. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112,113, 
142. U. S. GoGl. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

A 1700' tailings flume was completed during the summer of 1915 
and operations were resumed. The flume conveys the debris to a safe 
dtii£if>ing ground, where it is prevented from escaping to neighboring 
streams. Rich gravel was recently encountered, and the company is 
washioig a large yardage. 

Ladies Canon Mine. Owners, J. Laveroni, Sierra City; John and 
Tom Costa, Downieville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 13, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles 
northwest of Sierra City, thence 36 miles northeast to Loyalton (B. & L. 
R. R.), or 50 miles southeast to Truckee (S. P. R. R.). Elevation 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 655, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Ladies Canon property is patented ground covering a length 
alocLg the chamnel of one mile. The present owners have had it for 
25 years and have worked it on a small scale every summer. It was 
one of the early producing properties and the total yield is probably 
$500,000. 

Mayday and Undtee Oroup. Owners, E. L. Case, H. II. Meyer and 
Jas. McGregor, Downieville ; John F. Owens, Forest. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 13, 23 and 24. T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 
9 miles north of Sierra City, 11 miles south of Blairsden, by road. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paner 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653. 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property was discovered in 1901 and worked for eight seasons, 
to January, 1909. There are two claims, the Mayday and Undine, 



72 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

patented, an area of 39.89 acres, covering one-half mile along the 
channel. Idle. 

The Oxford mine adjoins. 

Miner's Home. (See under Drift Mines.) 

Monistown and Angora. (See under Drift Mines.) 

Mugginsville Claim. Owner, W. A. Morse, Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sec. 18, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles north 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles, by road, southwest to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Neocene Placer Mining Company. Owners, Neocene Placer Mining 
Company, 624 I. W. Hellman Building, Los Angeles; J. V. Akey, 
president; N. Raymer, 420 Citizens National Bank Building, Los 
Angeles, manager. 

Location : Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec __ , T. 20 N., R. 9 E. Scales, near 
the mine, is 59 miles by road from Marysville ; 41 miles by road east of 
Oroville. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 105-108. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 600, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Dowieville. 

The Neocene Placer Mining Company's property consists of the 
following claims: Cleveland and Sierra hydraulic (98.86 acres), 
Oversight (110.45 acres), Gold Cup (136.61 acres), Keservoir (150.04 
acres), Relocation (104.94 acres), Lincoln (58.54 acres), Baltimore 
(20.70 acres), Good Hope (112.50 acres) and Southern (93.96 acres), 
a total of 896.6 acres, all patented. It is situated on the gently 
sloping plateau between Mount Pleasant and Scales, and there is 
good timber on the property. 

These claims have been worked since early days. In working the 
channel, owing to the extreme difficulty of breaking up and trans- 
porting the boulders which have to be handled by derrick or slack 
(able, only about three hours a day can be devoted to piping during 
a working water season of four months. Six hundred feet of the 
channel has been worked, but very little of the lower gravel has been 
touched in the last ten years, owing to the boulders. The method of 
working is by sluices, tunnel and undercurrents. A system has been 
used here which it seems could be successfully applied to other 
hydraulic mines. The boulders are piled up across the channel and 
then a small sluice with a 4^oj^ of 4" in 12' carries the fine sand and 
gravel to the piled rock, there depositing them to form a dam. The 
present company built a dam about four miles below^ Scales costing 
$12,000, but it was filled up in one year by the piping and gravel from 
natural erosion, and they are now considering putting in another one 
«t a point where it is estimated that a dam 400' high would impound 
all the available gravel in the district. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 73 

Neocene river gravels below the junction, probably, of the La Porte 
and Port Wine channels form this deposit. It consists of large 
lioulders lying in volcanic ash and fine gravel, partly cemented from 
50' to 150' in depth in a channel coursing south on slate bedrock. 
Most of the hydraulicking has been done on top gravel, 30' above bed- 
rock. It is estimated that the gravels will average 50^ a cubic yard, 
some ground in the Scales pit having gone $2 6r $3 per cubic yard. 
Three men were working in 1915. ' 

Equipment consists of three derricks, slack cable hoist, pipe lines, 
reservoirs, etc. An electric generating plant was installed about 
1910, but was only used for a short time. Water, under 150' head, 
is obtained from two reservoirs capable of holding sufficient water 
for a two weeks' run. 

The Poverty Hill, Washington drift and Iowa mines adjoin. 

New York Oravel Mines. Owners, Wes^all and Hughes, Sierra 
City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 13, 14, 23, 24 and 26, T. 21 N., 

R. 12 E., 8 miles north of Sierra City, 20 miles south of Blairsden 

(W. P. Ry.). Elevation 6800'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 378. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 

Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downie- 

ville. 

This property is composed of three patented placer claims: the 
Yuba (93.43 acres). New Year (149.45 acres) and New York (57.5 
acres). A little work is being done. 

North American Consolidated Grold Mining Company. Owner, 
same, Oarden City Bank Building, San Jose. 

Location : Gibsonville Mining District, claims at Hepsidam, near Gibsonville, 
Sec. 30, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 26 miles by road south of Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downievllle. 

Property consists of the Nevada claims at Hepsidam. 
Old Doherty Claim. Owner, Hong Fat, Table Rock. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 32, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., J mile north 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles by road northerly to Quincy. Elevation 
560Q^ 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. l05. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

Pig Canon Claim. Owners, Dan R. Thompson and Brother, Sierra 
City. 

Location: Downievllle Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 6 miles 
northeast of Downievllle, thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

Reese Ravine Claim. Owner, Reese Ravine Mining Company, 655 
Congress street, Portland, Maine. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles south 

of Poker Flat, thence 32 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 

6000'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 270; XIII, p. 382. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, 

Downievllle. 



74 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Itenaissance Ghdm. Owner, Fred Bruckermann, Table Rook. 

Location: Poker Flat Minin^r District, Sec. 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles nortlierly to Quincy. Elevation 5800'. 

Bibliography: LinOgren, W., U. S. Geo!. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Sierra Union Olaim. Owners, J. H. Thomas, Oakland ; T. Donohue 
Estate, San Francisco. 

Location : Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., ^ mile north 
of St. Louis, 33 miles south of Quincy. Elevation 5050'. 

Bibliography: LIndgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Smith Claim. Owner, Dan R. Thompson, Sierra City. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 7 miles 
nortlieast of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 6000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

TippeoaXLoe Claim. Owner, George Parent, Pike City. 

Location : Pike City Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 18 N., R. 9 E., 3 miles north- 
east of Pike City, thence 28 miles southerly by road to Nevada City 
^N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 4200'. 

Bibliography : Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 384. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 138. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Union Hill Claim. Owner, Billy Reed, Brandy City. 

Location : Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. 18, T. 20 N., R. 9 E., 1 mile west 
of Scales, thence 42 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

IXrashington Claim. Owner, C. M. Cox, Table Rock. 

Location: Gibsonvllle Mining District, Sees. 20 and 21, T. 22 N., R. 10 B., 
2 miles northeast of Gibsonville, 27 miles by road northerly to Quincy. 
Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey .Folio 37, Downieville. 

Westall Claim. Owner, E. J. Westall, Sierra City. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, 9 miles north of Sierra City, 11 miles 

south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 
Bibliography : Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnt. XIII, p. 378. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 

Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 

Willow Claim. Owners, J. Hayes, Arthur Pride, N. B. Willets, 
Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 14, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 3 miles 
northeast of Sierra City, thence 20 miles northerly by road to Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.), or 56 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5600'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Yuba Claim. Owner, Ed Westfall, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 13, 14, 23 and 24, T. 21 N., 
R. 12 E., 9 miles by road north of Sierra City, thence 56 miles, by road, 
southwesterly to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) ; 11 miles by road 
northerly to Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Elevation 7000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., L. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 75 

GOLD— LODE MINES. 

Adelaide Mine. Owners, Adelaide Gold Mining and Milling Com- 
pany, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 9 miles north 
of Sierra City by road; 56 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.) or 20 miles by road northerly to Blairsden (W. P. 
Ry.). Elevation 6800'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 371. U. S. Geol. Survey Polio 
37, Downieville. 

No work has been done on this property for years. 

Albany Consolidated €froup. Owner, Martin White, Table Rock. 

Location: F'orest Mining District, Sees. 5 and 6, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles 
southwest of Alleghany, 44 miles by road northeasterly from Nevada City 
<N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3500'. 

This property consists of two patented claims with an area of 
41.16 acres. 

Alhambra GFOup. (Sierra Phoenix.) Owner, J. Freeborough, 
Table Rock. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 10, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles by 
road southeast of Table Rock, which is 72 miles, by road, northeast of 
MarysviUe (S. P. R. R.), 30 miles by road south of Quincy and 27 miles, 
by road, southwest of Mohawk (W. P. Ry.). A daily stage, when weather 
permits, from MarysviUe to Quincy. Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paepr 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of two claims, the Alhambra and Alhambra 
Extension, an area of 40 acres covering a length along the lode of 
3000'. It is situated on both sides of Canon Creek. There is no 
timber on the property. 

It was first located by Lindsay and leased by a Scotch company 
(Sutherland). Abandoned and relocated by P. Carmichael. Bought 
from him by present owner in 1895. Freeborough has taken out 
$10,000 from pockets. Assessment work only was being done in 1914. 

The lode has been developed by a 350' tunnel on the vein in the 
banging wall, a 150' shaft and two crosscuts 300' and 35' in length 
toward the foot-wall. Very little stoping has been done. 

The deposit is along the contact of serpentine and slates. There is 
a 140' fissure filled with mariposite, quartz and altered rock, in which 
free gold is found in decomposed stringers in the slate hanging wall. 
The ore contains free gold, pyrite and galena. The quartz veins vary 
from 2' to 3' in width, strike N. 57° W., dip 45° E., and have a proven 
length on the surface of 3000'. 

Water rights on 600 inches of water under 130' head from Canon 
Creek are owned and the property is equipped with a Huntington 
mill, Sears roller quartz mill, house and blacksmith shop, and a saw- 
mill built in July, 1914. 

It was bonded to M. Caulfield and J. S. McFarlane of Downieville 
and a small crew of men put to work in 1915. Ore was being taken 
out and further work was planned for the spring of 1916. 



76 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Alhambra Ifiine. Owners, P. 0. Richardson, Downieville; J. H. 
Rixey and E. Spoindli, Ilayward. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, See. 21. T. 19 N.. R. 11 E , 6 miles by 
trail or 9 miles by road southeast of Downieville. Elevation 5000' to 5500'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of eleven claims, including the Alhamhra, 
Alibaba, Comet and Jumbo. There are 220 acres in all, with a length 
along the lode of 6000'. The surface is steep, rising from Jim Crow 
Canon to the lava-capped ridge. 

The property was worked by Jesse Carney in 1875 with a 5-stainp 
mill. The present owners bought it in August, 1912, and located the 
northern extension. Three men were working in 1914, two in the 
mine and one in the mill. 

The Alhambra vein is developed by a 360' tunnel on the vein, which 
reaches a depth of 175' below the outcrop, and 300' of open cuts on 
the surface. On the Comet claim there is a tunnel 350' through slate, 
then on the ledge south 200'. One hundred feet above the lower 
tunnel 250' has been driven on ledge to the south. There are 
numerous crosscuts on the Comet, but the ground is not well opened 
up, and very little ore has been stoped. 

There are six parallel veins on this property. The Alhambra vein 
may or may not be the northern extension of the Comet vein. The 
ore contains free gold and arsenopyrite, and lies between a porphyry 
foot- wall and a hanging wall of slate. The whole country rock is 
decomposed and altered. The vein varies from 6' to 8' in width, 
strikes N. 10° W. and dips 80° W. The 30' lode on the Comet 
property is said to vary from $1 to $9 per ton for a width of 14'. 

There is good timber on the property. The equipment consists of 
a sawmill driven by a 10-h.p. Peerless gasoline engine, a Rix 20-h.p. 
6"x 6" Duplex upright compressor, lighting dynamo, a complete o' 
Sears roller mill driven by a water wheel, mill building and board- 
ing house. 

Gasoline and water are both used for power; 12 inches of water 
under 300' head is available. 

The Ironsides mine adjoins. 

American Exchange and Buffalo Group. (Primrose.) Owner, 
Geo. T. Morrison, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 12 and 13, T. 20 N.. R. 11 E.. 

7 miles, by road, northwest of Sierra City. The latter is 56 miles, by 

road, northeasterly from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 

7000'. 
Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Gool. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 

part I, p. 653. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 371. 

The American Exchange mine, Sec. 12, and the Buffalo and Prim- j 
]'ose. Sec. 13, are all owned by Morrison. No work has been done in 
a number of years. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 77 

American Flag Claim. Owner, Mrs. T. Jackson, 1620 Larkin street, 
San Francisco ; A. T. Hathaway, San Francisco, manager. 

Location: Sec. 32, T. 19 S., R. 9 E. 

This property is not being worked. 

Andy Fitz Mining and Milling Company. Owners, same. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 17, T. 19 N., R. 10 E. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey, Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Gteol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

This property was examined by Andrew Fitzgerald in the summer 
of 1914 and arrangement for underground development work and the 
construction of a new surface plant were completed. In November, 
1915, a permit from the State Corporation Department to sell 75,000 
shares at 25^ per share for exploration and development of the quartz 
lode on the claims was received. The property includes the Fruitvale 
claim. 

Ante Up Claim. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sea 17. T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 37 miles, by 

road, northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 4000'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

Atom Group. Owners, C. W. Turner, Chas. Turner, Camptonville, 
Yuba County. 

Location : Camptonville Mining District, Sec. 30, T. 19 N.. R. 9 E., 4 miles 
northeast of Camptonville, 17 miles southwest of Downieville by 
Downieville-Camptonville road: 51 miles, by road, northeast of Marysville 
(S. P. R. R.) and 27 miles by road north of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R. R.). Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Mln. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 261; XUi. o. 371. Llnigren, 
W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 105-108" U. S. Geol. Survey 
Folio 18, Smartsville. 

This property consists of two locations, the Atom lode and a placer 
claim, covering 20 acres in area and a length along the lode of 1500'. 
It is situated at the head of Williamson Creek, and contains some 
limber. Cochrane and Turner located the property 25 years ago. 

The vein is developed by a 50' tunnel driven on it, and by hydraulic 
glory holes 100' deep. Both walls are made up of slates and por- 
phyry. The vein is 20" wide, strikes northeast, and has a vertical 
dip. It is covered by gravel except where exposed by hydraulic 
workings. Assessment work only being done at present. 

A cabin and a blacksmith shop are on the property. 

Bank Mining and Promoting Company. Owners, same, 318 Pru- 
dential Building, Buffalo, N. Y.; W. H. Barnhardt, Nevada City, 
agent. 

Location: Pike Mining District. Sec. 12, T. 18 N.. R. 9 E.. 4 miles east of Pike 
City. From the latter point it is 28 miles, by road, southerly to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4200'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of one location in Sec. 12 and also the east 
one-half of one-quarter of Sec. 2. 



6—46901 



78 MINES AND MINERMi RESOURCES. 

Bannister Claim. Owner, Luke Bannister. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 19 N., R. 10 E. Downieville 

is 44 miles, by road, northwest of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. It). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Rich ore was encountered on this property by W. 0. Frost in doing 
assessment work, early in 1916. Development was planned by the 
owner in the spring. 

Bella Union Cansolidated Group. Owner, E. Caya, La Porte. 

Location : Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. __ , T. 20 N., R. 9 E., at Mount 
Pleasant, near Lewis Ranch, 41 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 1896, 
p. 600. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Bessler Mine. Owner, Mrs. Annie Bessler, Baker City, Oregon. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, W. i of SW. i Sec. 26, T. 20 N., R 10 
E., i mile north of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road, to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 2600'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property comprises one unpatented claim, located on the 
Downieville- Alleghany serpentine belt. 

The mine, a former 'high grade' producer, was reopened in March, 
1916. The main tunnel was retimbered and the north drift extended 
60' to tap the pay shoot. Good values have been found in the new 
ground opened. 

Bigelow Mine. Owner, Croesus Mining Company; Hugh McCor- 
mick, superintendent. 

Location: Sierta City Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., i mile north 
of Sierra City, thence 56 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City, 
20 miles by road, north to Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Elevation 4400'. 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

It was reported in April, 1916, that high grade ore had recently 
been struck. The property was being developed by the Croesus 
Mining Company. 

Black Jack Claim. Owners, Deforest Brothers, 30 Broad street, 
New York. 

Location: American Hill Mining District. Sec. 16, T. 19 N., R. 11 E.. 8 miles 
by road, a little north of east from Forest City, from thence 13 miles to 
Downieville, by road, or 39 miles by road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R. R.). Elevation 5400'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 143. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 60, Colfax. 

This property consists of one patented claim, last worked in 1883. 
All workings are inaccessible. 

Black Warrior Claim. Owner, H. J. Gould, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 20 N., R 10 E., 4 miles 
northerly by wagon road from Downieville, thence 44 miles southwest to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R.R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Situated north of the Baker mine. 

A 320' crosscut was run to a contact of serpentine and slate, but 
no vein was encountered. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 79 

Bolivia Claim. Owner, John Avignoni, Sierra City. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 2 miles west 
of Sierra City, 54 miles northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by 
road. Elevation 4300'. 

Bibliography : Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

One claim located. Assessment work only being done. 

Bonanza Olaim. (Banquet.) Owners, J. Wise, Seattle; B. 
Edwards, Alleghany ; Frank Hillier, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sees. 2, 3, 5 and 8, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 
1 mile south of Alleghany, by trail, and 32 miles from Nevada City. 
Elevation 4200'. 

This property consists of one claim, the Banquet, with an area of 
20 acres and a length along the lode of 1500'. It lies on the ridge 
north of Kanaka Creek. There is some timber on the property. 

It was first located by Rorig and Apple, owners of the adjoining 
Mariposa, but .was relocated in 1911 by the present owners. 

A 25' vertical shaft cuts a vein of white quartz, containing free 
gold and arsenopyrite, which is the southern extension of the Mari- 
posa vein. The foot-wall is serpentine and the hanging wall jasper. 
It strikes N. 15° W., and dips 70° E. Faulted. 

Brush Creek Claim. Owner, Frank Wehe, Call Building, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 20, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 35 miles north- 
east by road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Bran Campbell Claim. Owner, Jas. Jones, La Porte. 

Location : Poverty Hill Mining District, adjoining Gold Valley claim. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. G«ol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 600, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37. Downieville. 

Bullion Mine. (Colombo.) Owners, F. J. Cook, Sierra City; J. 
Spaulding, S. V. and Leon Heintzen, Browns Valley. 

Location: Sec. 30, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 3} miles northwest of Sierra City, thence 

43 miles southeast by road to Boca (S. P. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. X, p. 648; XIII, p. 374. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. Turner H. W.. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Sevententh Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of eight claims: the Bullion, Bullion No. 1 
to No. 5 inclusive, California Boy and California Girl. There are 
150 acres with a length along the Bullion lode of 7500' and 3600' 
along the California. It is situated on the steep west bank of the 
North Fork Yuba River, and contains sufficient timber for mining 
purposes. 

J. Arenoni and others first discovered this property in the '70 's. 
It was sold to Roebling Brothers, who put up a 20-stamp mill and 
worked it from 1886 to 1896. Later relocated by the present owners. 
It was worked in 1910 and 1911 by Chas. R. Thompson for Geo. N. 
Truman of San Francisco, $18,000 being spent. 

The total output to date by Roebling Brothers and lessee is said to 
be $365,000. 



80 MINES AND MINEBAIi RESOURCES. 

The Bullion vein has been developed by three tunnels. The Upper 
tunnel is a 180' crosscut and 1070' driven northwest on the vein; it 
is inaccessible. The Middle tunnel, 180' below, is a 900' crosscut and 
300' on the vein, but is caved for 400'. The Lower tunnel, 130' below 
the Middle tunnel, is an 1100' crosscut adit with 75' to go to cut the 
vein. There are 600' of backs running into the hill from the Upper 
tunnel. Ore has been stoped for 80' above the tunnel level, 10' by 
200'. A winze in the Middle tunnel 20' deep showed a 9' vein of ore 
going $12. There are surface workings only on the California vein. 
The Lower tunnel is open in slate and serpentine. It will be neces- 
sary to drift 400' northwest on the vein from where the Lower tunnel 
will intersect it to strike the big shoot. 

The veins are both quartz fissure veins, carrying free gold, pyrite 
and galena. The foot-wall is slate, the hanging wall -is * porphyry,' 
red oxide of iron full of quartz stringers, and there is gouge on both 
walls. The Bullion vein varies from 3^' to 12' in width, strikes 
northwest, dips 50° NE., and has a proven length on the surface of 
7500'. Three pay shoots developed, one 70' long and 3^' wide plated 
$15, another 100' by 5', and a third 300' by 6' plated between $7.50 
and $12. Between the Upper and Middle tunnels there are 30,000 
tons of ore in main shoot reported to average on the plates $7.50. 
The California vein shows a width on the surface of 6'. It strikes 
east and dips 50° N. 

There is a new two-story boarding house and a blacksmith shop on 
the property, also cars, rails and pipe. 

Water is used for power, 150 inches under a 1000' head is available 
for six months of the year from Black Canon, and 27 inches is 
obtained from the Middle tunnel under a 400' head. 

The Lee and Sierra Buttes mines adjoin. 

Bullion and El Dorado Group. (See El Dorado.) 
Butcher Ranch Group. Owner, G. Ponta, Downieville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 1, 11 and 12, T. 20 N., R. 11 E.. 
6 miles northwest of Sierra City, thence 56 miles by road, southwesterly 
to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 6500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 
Rpt. XIII, p. 373. 

This property comprises five and a fraction patented claims, a total 
of 69.15 acres. Idle. There is said to be a vein 6' wide, striking 
north. 

Cedar and Baltimore Group. (Rising Sun.) Owner, T. Z. Blake- 
man. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 34 and 35, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile 
east of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rots. XII, p. 263; XIII, p. 374. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

The property comprises two patented claims, area 22.88 acres. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 81 

City of Six Mine. Owners, Hodgkinson and Henderson, Los 
Angeles. 

Location: DownieviUe Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 19 N., R. 10 B., li miles 
south of DownieviUe, thence 44 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

A new adit in which rails and an air pipe line are being placed, was 
being driven in 1914 to cut the vein which occurs in a contact of 
serpentine and porphyry. In September, 1915, a contract was let 
for extending the lower adit 100', it being expected that it will inter- 
sect the rich shoot formerly worked near the surface, giving 400' of 
backs on the vein. Henry Appilom was superintendent. 

Cleveland Mine. Owners, John Costa and Lavaroni, Sierra City. 
Bonded to B. G. Gillespie of Pittsburg. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 20 N., R 11 E., 4 miles west 
of Sierra. City, by road, and 8 miles east of DownieviUe, by road. Eleva- 
tion 4250'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, DownieviUe. 

An electric plant was installed and put in operation early in 1916, 
supplying the various buildings with lights. This mine is run in con- 
junction with the Monarch, which is also bonded to Gillespie. By 
the middle of February, 1916, shaft sinking had reached 350' and was 
progressing rapidly. A 10-stamp mill was working one shift, and an 
IngersoU-Rand compressor was being installed to facilitate mining. 
Ben McMonigal was manager, and there were 35 men employed. 

Cleveland Claim. Owner, A. L. House, 304 Kohl Building, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 4, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles southwest 
of Alleghany, thence 33 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. X, p. 650; XI, p. 414; XIII, p. 374. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of one patented claim, the Cleveland, with 
an area of 20.6 acres. 

Colorado- Yellow Jacket Mine. Owner, C. C. Craig, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south- 
west of Alleghany, 34 miles by road northwest of Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp 112, 113, 
143. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Colorado-Yellow Jacket mine consists of three claims, the Colo- 
rado, Colorado Extension and Yellow Jacket, a total of 37.66 acres of 
patented ground. After having been practically abandoned, this 
mine has suddenly become one of the most promising in the district. 
In July, 1914, the caretaker in charge, an experienced prospector, 
discovered a large shoot of gold-bearing quartz, and the owner 
returned to develop the property. An electrically operated air com- 
pressor will be installed and ore will be opened up by drifts. The 
mine is on Kanaka ridge and is a south extension of the El Dorado. 



82 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Continental Claim. Owner, Continental Mining Company; B. B. 
Lewis, Alleghany. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 26, T. 9 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile east of 

Forest City, thence 37 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Gt'ol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Dajrton Consolidated Oronp. Owner, S. Stephenson, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sea 36, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles west 
of Sierra City, 52 miles northeasterly, by road, from Nevada City (N. C, 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4750'. 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

Del Norte and Scotia Mine. Owner, E. L. Crafts, Forest City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 4, T. 18 N., and Sec. 33, T. 19 N., 
R. 10 E., li miles southwest of Alleghany. Alleghany Is 31 miles by road 
northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rots. XII. n. 272; XIII, p. 382 (Scotia). 
Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of two claims — the Del Norte (10 acres), 
and the Scotia (20 acres), both locations, covering a length along the 
iode of 1300'. They are covered with a good stand of second growth 
timber. 

The deposit is made up of kidney veins of quartz, in schist, carrying 
free gold, some arsenopyrite and pyrite. The foot-wall is diabase, 
the hanging wall serpentine. The width of the kidneys varies from 
1' to 3', with a maximum length 100'. Strike is north, dip 15° W., 
and the pay shoot developed is 2' wide by 50' long. 

Electric power can be obtained from Middle Yuba Hydroelectric 
Company. 

Development work consists of a 400' tunnel on the vein, reaching 
a vertical depth of 250' below the outcrop, also open cuts and 
prospect holes. 

There is a 2-stamp (1000-lb.) triple discharge mill, driven by a 
Union Iron Works 10-h.p. horizontal engine with locomotive boiler, 
on the property, and 100 tons of ore were milled, 40 tons of which 
averaged $6.25. 

The Oriental and Cleveland mines adjoin. 

Diadem Claim. Owner, J. M. Harper, Forest. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., near Forest City, 
39 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R). 
Elevation 4700'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Assessment work only. 

Docile Claim. Owner, Edwin E. Smith, 71 First street, San Fran- 
cisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sec. 35, T. 19 N.. R. 10 E., 1 mile east of 

Allee:hany. thence 3 miles by road southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 

R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 264; XIII, p. 375. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

F'olio 66, Colfax. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 83 

This property consists of the Docile claim (10.61 acres), patented, 
and the Loosner location. The last mill run was made about 1894, 
and the mine has been idle since. Total production about $100,000. 

It was developed by tunnels on the vein and upraises. Gold was 
not found in the quartz filling, but in the schist hanging wall. The 
foot-wall is serpentine. 

Dreadnaught Mine. Owners, Evan R. Jones and Owen T. Owen, 
Forest. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile east of 
Alleghany, by road, thence 31 miles southwest, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.) Elevation 4400'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 264 ; XIII, p. 375. 

There are two claims in this property, the Dreadnaught, 20 acres, 
and the Seneca Fraction, 5 acres, covering a length along the lode of 
1600'. They are situated on the northwest bank of the South Fork 
Kanaka Creek, and have some timber on them. 

Development consists of a 280' crosscut to the vein and 320' run 
on it, reaching a vertical depth below the outcrop of from 200' to 250'. 
A raise connects with old workings, and a winze has just been started. 

The vein is a quartz filled fissure, the foot- wall being serpentine and 
the hanging wall schist. It averages 4' in width, strikes N. 12° W., 
and dips 45° W., and has a proven length on the surface of 1500', but 
may be faulted. A 200' pay shoot was encountered. 

This property has been under the present ownership for the past 
ten years. It is now bonded to Walter Harris, F. B. Delaney and 
Jerry Wood, all of Alleghany. Harris and one man were working 
the property in 1915. The total output to date is between $50,000 
and $100,000. It is equipped with a 1-stamp mill. 

Adjoining mines are the Gold King and the Docile. 

DiuiBton Gold Mining Compaiiy. Owners, same, 903 Merchants' 
National Bank Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 3 and 4. T. 18 N., R. 10 E., about 40 
miles, by road, northwest of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey FoUo 66. Colfax. 

C. O. Jackson took the Louise and Sphoon claims under bond in 
November, 1913, for the above company. Twenty men were em- 
ployed grading for buildings and developing quartz veins on both 
claims. During December, 1913, the Eastern and Western Cross and 
the Morning Fraction claims were bonded. Most of these properties 
have produced good ore, but have never been developed to much 
depth. 



84 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Eastern Star Mine. Bonded to C. A. Jackson. 

Location : Forest Mining District. Forest City is 41 miles northeast of Nevada 

City (N. C. N. G. R. It). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

It was reported in March, 1916, that good ore had been opened up 
on this property. A compressor and other machinery will be erected 
as soon as the roads are in shape for transportation of heavy equip- 
ment. It is operated under bond by C. A. Jackson, representing 
Middle West investors. 

Sdwards Group. Owner, A. W. Edwards. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sees. 10 and 15, T. 21 N., R 12 E., 
10 miles by road south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, 1896. Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, 
pp. 112-113. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Edwards property consists of the Tunnel quartz claim (12.85 
acres), the Consolidated Gold Lake quartz claim (54.28 acres) and the 
Philo Hayden placer claim (302.25 acres), all patented. 

Eighty-Nine Claim. Owner, Geo. W. Cox, 2955 Claremont avenue, 
Berkeley. 

Location : Gibsonville Mining District, near Rowland Flat, thence 28 miles 

northerly, by road, to Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of one claim, the '89.' 

Elcy Mine. (Buckingham.) Owners, J. L. Buckingham, Downie- 
ville and H. J. Noyes, Downieville or Los Angeles. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, 7 miles southeast of Downieville. by 
road and trail, thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliogrraphy : U. S. Greol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of two claims, the Elcy and Mariposa, a total 
of 40 acres, covering a length along the lode of 1500'. 

Buckingham located the property September 6, 1896. Develop- 
ment and assessment work has been done ever since. In 1914 it was 
bonded to Alfred Van Hovenberger, 717 Pacific Building, San Fran- 
cisco ; formerly was bonded with the Emerald quartz group to Clifford 
Smith and others, of San Francisco. 

Development consists of a 643' adit on a vein, which may not be 
the Elcy vein, also a 75' shaft and open cuts. 

There are two main veins, the Elcy and Mariposa, and a number 
of other veins and 'blowouts.' The Elcy is a quartz fissure vein 
containing free gold, pyrite and arsenopyrite, between a foot-wall of 
slate, and a hanging wall of granite ('porphyry'). It varies from 
2^' to 4' in width, strikes north, following the contact, dips 45° E., 
end has a proven length of 2000' on the surface. The Mariposa vein 
varies from 18" to 2' in width, strikes northeast and dips vertically 
between walls of granite. Ore in the Elcy shaft ran $27, and that 



SIERRA COUNTY. 85 

uow being milled from open cuts goes $15 to $20. Concentrates run 
high in value. The total output to 1914 was about $5000. 

There is a 5-stamp mill run by water power, obtained from springs 
through 800' of pipe under a 243' head ; also a cabin and blacksmith 
shop. There is good timber on the property. 

£1 Dorado Mine. Owners, Fessler Estate, Alleghany. 

. Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 34 and 35. T. 19 N., R. 10 E., and 
Sees. 2 and 3, T. 19 N., R. 10 E.. i mile east of Alleghany, thence 31 miles 
southwest by road to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4000'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, p. 407; XII, p. 262; XIII, p. 372. 
Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Three claims, the El Dorado, the El Dorado Extension and the 
Terrible, make up this property, which adjoins the Tightner. There 
are 45 acres covering a length along the El Dorado lode of 1800' and 
along the Terrible of 1500'. It is situated on the steep south side of 
the South Branch of Kanaka Creek and contains some timber. 

The owners have held this property for 35 years, but in 1915 it was 
bonded by Fessler Brothers to J. L. and J. W. Armstrong of Alle- 
ghany. A total of $150,000 had been taken out to 1914, the greater 
part by Fessler. 

The El Dorado is developed by an 1100' tunnel on the vein, 900' 
bearing S. 58° to 70° E., then 200' bearing S. 2° W. The vertical 
depth below the outcrop, at the end of the tunnel, is 700'. At a 
distance of 980' in from the tunnel mouth is a 25' winze in good ore ; 
800' in an 18' main raise. At 980' there is an upraise of 225', with 
ore stoped on each side for a width of 30'. 

The El Dorado vein is a fissure with well defined walls, filled with 
quartz, mariposite, and altered wall rock and carrying free gold and 
arsenical pyrite. The foot-wall is serpentine and mariposite, the 
hanging wall amphibolite schist. The vein varies from 3' to 10' in 
width, strikes S. 58° to 78° E., curving and striking S. 2° W., dips 
60° SW., and has a proven length on the surface of 1500'. Three pay 
shoots were encountered, as follows: 190' from mouth of tunnel a 
pay shoot 40' long and 3' wide ; 800' in, one 60' long and 3' wide ; 
980' in, one 125' long and 2' to 3' wide. Ore from the inside stope 
averaged $40 per ton for a width of 2'. The ore carried 1.2% con- 
centrates, worth $70 per ton. 

Mine equipment consists of blacksmith shop and a cabin, tools, a 
compressor (water power), 2 Waugh and 1 Ingersoll drills. The 
reduction equipment consists of a 10-stamp 750-lb. Risdon mill and 
2 Johnson concentrators driven by a Pelton water wheel. 

A water right to 150 inches under 115' head from South Fork 
Kanaka Creek is owned. 



86 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

[The property was worked for about three months in 1917 by the 
Croesus Gold Mining and Milling Company. Operation ended when 
a pocket or small ore shoot was worked out, and the property is 
idle (1918).— C. A. Logan.] 

Emerald Quartz Group. Owners, D. W. Smith and Wm. Shipsey. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 9, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 7 miles south- 
east of Downieville by road and trail, thence 44 miles southwest to Nevada 
City, by road. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Bonded in February, 1915, with the Elcy, to Wolfram and Baiin of 
San Francisco. A 5-stamp mill was erected for a test run of ore 
developed on the property. C. S. Smith in charge. 

Bonded in March, 1916, to James H. Bacon of San Francisco. 
Prospecting is said to have revealed a large ledge carrying free gold. 

Empire Group. Owners, Empire Gold Mining Company, Humboldt 
Bank Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 25 and 26, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 
8 miles, by road, northwest of Sierra City, thence 56 miles southwesterly, 
by road to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 7000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 265; XIII, p. 375. Turner. 
H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of patented ground having an area of 22.25 
seres. It is equipped with a mill, an electric plant, office building, etc. 

P. and P. Group. Owners, James Finan, Forest; 0. H. Fuller, 
Grass Valley. 

Location: F'orest Mining District, Sees. 28, 29 and 30, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 
2 miles southwest of Forest, thence 39 miles southwesterly, by road, to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Federal Mine. Owners, Federal Mining Company, Nevada City; 
J. M. Harper, president, Fairmont; J. W. O'Neil, secretary, Nevada 
City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 27, T. 19 N., R. 10 E.. within 1 mile of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles, by road, southwest to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 
113, 142. 

This property comprises four locations, part placer and part lode, 
a total of 120 acres covering a length along the lode of 3000'. 

The vein is developed by a 600' crosscut tunnel to a serpentine 
contact, then a southerly drift along the contact vein for 500'. 

It varies in width from 6" to T or 3', strikes north and dips slightly 
to the west. 

The Red Star mine adjoins. 

Forest Queen Mine. Owner, J. F. Parkinson, Palo Alto. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 10 miles 
north of Sierra City, and 19 miles south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 
Elevation 6650'. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 87 

Four Hills Mine. Owner, Wm. Acland Hood, Camptonville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 2, 9. 10 and 11, T. 21 N., R. 11 B., 
12 miles south of Johnsville, by poor wagon road, 7 miles by trail ; Blairs- 
den 18 miles northeast by good road, Johnsville to Blairsden, 6 miles over 
poor road. Elevation 7374'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 293. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey 
Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geo!. Survey 
Folio 37, Downieville. 

There is a total area in this property of 887 acres, all patented, as 
follows: Franklin, Napoleon, Luther, Wallace, Hull, Four Hills, 
Reynolds and Southeast Extension of Four Hills, quartz claims of 
180 acres total ; Whippoorwill placer, 160 acres, and Gibraltar placer, 
147 acres, covering the outlet of Spencer Lakes and Middle Fork 
Yuba River; timber land in the SW. i of Sec. 11-21-11; SW. i of 
Sec. 35-22-11, SE. and NE. i of SE. i Sec. 11-21-11, 400 acres. The 
property covers a length along the lode of 3000'. It is situated on the 
high lava-capped ridge between Jamison Lakes and Gold Valley near 
the headwaters of East Fork and Middle Fork of the North Fork 
Yuba River. There is very little timber at the mine, but the timber 
tracts are well wooded. 

The mine was worked in early days by Mexicans. Later a 4-stamp 
mill was erected by a man named Spencer. The Four Hills Company 
took out from $250,000 to $500,000 in one pocket from a hole 15' 
below the surface. Since the purchase of the property by the present 
owner, very little real development work has been accomplished, and 
only pocket mining has been done the last two years. Pockets rang- 
ing from $1500 to $6000 have been taken out from near the surface 
during this time. Two men are working the outcrop. 

The main vein is developed by a 300' vertical shaft. A drain 
tunnel crosscuts 1100', then runs 200' south on the vein and cuts the 
shaft. at the 150' level. From this point 1300' of drift was run south 
on the vein. Sixteen hundred feet was run on the vein by the Upper 
Mill or Mexican tunnel into the hanging wall to intersect the raise. 
Numerous crosscuts have been run at different points in the workings 
without results. A number of shoots have been stoped, ranging 
from 100' to 300' in length; *Big Stope,' from the mill level to sur- 
face, a width of 6' and length of 200', was said to average $60 per 
ton; $20,000 is said to have been taken from one *Main Stope' put up 
70' from the Drain Tunnel when the ore pinched out, and by drifts 
from the shaft 100' below the Drain tunnel level for a length of 300'. 

The above is the only vein so far developed, though there are others 
on the property. It is a quartz filled fissure vein. Large bodies seem 
to be formed by the intersection of veins and stringers with the main 
fissure, and the ore is said to be enriched at these points. The ore 
carries free gold near the surface, many rich pockets of oxidized ore 
having been taken out at shallow depths. In some places sulphides 



88 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

(pyrite, chalcopyrite, galena and arsenopyrite) come to the surface. 
The walls are quartz porphyry and schist, and the vein varies in 
width from 1' to 20', the average being 4' to 5'. On the north end it 
strikes east, on the south end north, forming a horseshoe. It dips 
45° SW., and has a proven length on the surface of 3000'. There are 
said to be a number of shoots of ore averaging $5, which have never 
been stoped. On the surface, there is an outcrop 20' in width, in 
which the best values occur along the foot and hanging walls, the rest 
of the vein being massive white quartz. This property in many ways 
resembles the Plumas Eureka, being on the same belt of quartz 
porphyry as the Plumas Eureka, four miles to the north, and the 
Sierra Buttes, ten miles to the south. 

Equipment consists of Pelton wheels and generator capable of 
developing 300 horsepower, but it would cost $600 to put them in 
shape. There is also an electrically driven compressor, a hoist driven 
by compressed air, and a 20-stamp mill, 850-lb. and 950-lb. stamps, 
only 5 of which are being used. 

Water from Spencer Lakes is taken down to Middle Fork under 
950' head, and there is also a water supply from springs. 

Adjoining mines are the Empire and Sierra Iron. 

(Jabland Mine. (Little John and Klondike.) Owners, Mitchner 
Mining Company, Harry Mitchner, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 7, T. 19 N., R. 12 E., 3 miles south- 
west of Sierra City: 13 miles east by road from Mountain House, thence 
35 miles southwest by road to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

There is a 3' vein having a proven length on the surface of 200', 
coursing north and dipping 25° W. The foot-wall is slate; the 
hanging wall, porphyry. 

The vein is developed by a number of tunnels, one 125' long, and a 
20' crosscut. Assessment work is being done. In 1900 Bussel put in 
a roller mill, but never used it. 

Garibaldi Claim. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, in Gold Vallev, i mile southeasterly 

from the Empire, Sec. 36. T. 21 N.. R. 11 E. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. XIII, p. 376. Turner, H. W., U. S. 

Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653. U. S. Geol. 

Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

General Grant Group. Owner, Elam Biggs, Grass Valley. 

Location : Pike Mining District, Sec. 19, T. 18 N., R. 9 E.. 3 miles southwest of 
Pike City, thence 26 miles southerly, by road to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property comprises two patented claims, the General Grant 
(17.79 acres) and the Blue Anchor (18.49 acres). 
No work being done at present. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 89 

Gold Bluff Mine. (See Oxford-Gold Bluff Group.) 

Gold Canon Mine. (Two Counties Mine.) Owner, Mrs. C. Hill, 
37 Croxton avenue, Oakland. Bonded to Gold Canon Mines Company 
of Nevada City ; Edwin T. Blake, president, Oakland Bank of Savings, 
Oakland; Chas. C. Derby, manager, Nevada City, California. 

Location: Alleghany Mining District, Sec. 11, T. 18 N., R. 10 E.. 3 miles south 

of Alleghany, Sierra County. Elevation 3000'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Greol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Gold Canon property, embracing the Gold Canon patented 
claim and the Gold Queen, Fortune and Gold Canon Extension loca- 
tions, a total area of 72 acres, lies on both sides of the Middle Fork of 
the Yuba River, which forms the boundary between Sierra and 
Nevada counties. 

The mine was discovered in the '60 's. It has been worked at 
intervals since and is credited with a production of $730,000, the 
greater portion of which came from above the adit level. There are 
two main quartz veins known as the Gold Canon and Gold Queen, 
but most of the exploratory work has been done on the Gold Canon 
vein. The Gold Queen vein has been opened to a depth of from 30' 
lO 50' by a 100' crosscut and a drift on the vein 150' in length. The 
development work on the Gold Canon lode, which can be traced for 
a distance of 1800' on the surface, consists of an adit tunnel, driven 
as a crosscut a distance of 600' and then on the vein for 1600', giving 
a depth below the outcrop of from 80' to 300'. 

An incline shaft was sunk to a depth of 370' and connected with 
the adit, and 160' below the connection a drift was run northwest on 
the vein a distance of 500'. 

The Gold Canon vein is said to vary in width from a few inches to 
4', and the Gold Queen to average about 2'. The veins are quartz- 
filled fissure veins with a general strike of N. 40° W., and a dip of 
45° NE. 

They cross the contact of serpentine and amphibolite schist, the ore- 
bodies occurring in the schist within a few hundred feet of the 
contact. The well known Plumbago and Tightner mines occur in 
this same area of amphibolite schist and serpentine and the occurrence 
of orebodies and the mineralogical content of the ore in the Gold 
Canon vein is characteristic of the other mines of the district. The 
ore is quartz carrying free gold and arsenopyrite, containing a high 
percentage of gold ; some pyrite, chalcopyrite, galena and zinc blende. 
The ore shoots are as a rule small and irregularly distributed 
throughout the vein, generally being found near the foot-wall. 

The property is equipped with a 5-stamp mill (1000-lb.), a 400 
cubic foot Hendy air compressor, a small 8 x 10 duplex hoist, drill 
tools, boarding house and other buildings. Electric power is supplied 



90 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

to mine and mill from a hydroelectric plant owned by the company. 
The mine was closed in July, 1914. 

Otolden King Mine. Owner, Golden King Mining Company, 118 
California street, San Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sec. 35. T. 19 N.. R. 10 E.. 1| miles east of 

Alleghany, thence 41 miles southwest by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 

N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, p. 417; XII. p. 266; XIII, p. 377. 

Lindgren. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

The Golden King consists of two claims, the Gold King and Gold 
King Extension, an area of 40 acres and covering a length of 3000' 
along the lode on both sides of Kanaka Creek. It was last worked in 
1895. Production 1890-1895, $250,000. 

The vein is of the quartz fissure type, containing free gold and 
arsenopyrite, with a foot-wall of schist and a hanging wall of serpen- 
tine. It varies from 1' to 12' in width, strikes northwest and dips 
45° NE., and has a proven length of 3000' on the surface. 

It was developed by a 400' vertical shaft, on the west side of the 
creek, 100' above the creek level, and an adit tunnel 800' long, driven 
on the vein from the collar of shaft. Ore stoped to the surface is 
said to have gone $25 per ton. On the 400' level a drift was run 
from the shaft, northwest 600'. 

The mine is equipped with a good 10-stamp Hendy mill and 3 Frue 
vanner concentrators driven by water and steam, also a bunkhouse, 
superintendent's house and assay office. 

Gtolden Fraction Mine. Owner, E. Carlsen, superintendent. 

Location: Forest Mining District, situated on the east side of Kanaka Creek. 

Forest City is 39 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. 

N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 

142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Work was resumed on the Golden Fraction in August, 1915, with 
several buildings under construction. The mine has produced some 
rich ore, though never worked along broad lines. 

Golden Scepter. (See under Placer Mines.) 

Oold l^iTig Claim. Owner, Marie 11. Welden, Post Office Box 803, 
Grass Valley. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 5, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles southwest 
of Alleghany, thence 41 miles southwesterly by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R^. Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of one patented claim, the Gold King, con- 
taining 20.66 acres. 

Operations were resumed during March, 1916, by W. H. Weldon, 
and it was planned to install a compressor and machine drills with 
the arrival of good weather. (Work was suspended without any 
important developments and the mine was idle in September, 1918.) 



SIERRA COUNTY. 91 

Gold Lake ClainL (Glidden.) Owner, Arthur Edwards, Prescott, 
Arizona. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 15, T. 21 N., R. 12 K, 10 miles 
north of Sierra City, 19 miles south of Blairsden. Elevation 6800'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 266; XIII, p. 376. Turner, 
H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Not working at present. 

Gray Eagle Mine. (Gold Point.) Owner, Mrs. Patton, Cadillac 
Hotel, San Francisco. Bonded by W. H. Remington, Mills Building, 
San Francisco. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 6 miles east 
of Downieville. by road, thence 44 miles southwest by road, to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3800'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Gray Eagle property consists of the following locations : Gray 
Eagle, Gray Eagle Extension and South Extension, Wood, Annex A., 
Annex B., East, Gray Eagle Annex No. 2, Gray Eagle Extension 
No. 2, Gray Eagle Annex No. 9, Gray Eagle Annex No. 12, 3 millsites. 
Pour men are doing assessment work. 

A 10-stamp mill and tramway with electrical equipment are on the 
property, and water rights are owned. 

Was to be sokl November 30, 1914, at sheriff ^s sale to satisfy 
labor liens. 

Graphic Claim. Owner, Thos. Rose, Camptonville. 
Hartman Claim. Owner, Henry Hartman. 

Location: Pike City Mining District; Pike City is 28 miles by road north of 

Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property covers a gold-bearing ledge 3' to 5' wide on the 
Alleghany serpentine belt. Much rich float indicates the possibility 
of another high-grade producer. 

High Commission Mine. Owners, John A. and Annie Reid, Downie- 
ville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sees. 25 and 36, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 
1 mile east of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City. Elevation 4000' to 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The property consists of two claims, the High Commission North 
and High Commission South, also the High Commission North Exten- 
sion, a fraction, making up a total of 50 acres and covering a length 
along the lode of 3600'. It covers the surface from the South Fork 
of the North Yuba to Ben Pauly Ravine on the East Fork of North 
Yuba. There is some timber on the property. 

Judge Davidson discovered this property about 1888 and took out 
$18,000 in a bunch of arsenopyrite by sinking an 18' shaft. It was 
lield by him until relocated in 1905 by the present owners, who have 



92 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

since taken out about $1700. Two men worked during the summer 
of 1914. 

There are two veins, the High Commission and Big Ledge. There 
is an adit tunnel on the former, 280' long; 250' vertically below, a 
crosscut timnel 38' long Avas run and tapped the Big Ledge, showing 
11' of vein matter, mostly slate, porphyry and quartzite. On the 
High Commission South claim there is a 15' tunnel on each vein. 
The 280' tunnel is 900' above the road and 700' below the top of 
the hill. 

The High Commission is a quartz vein carrying free gold and 
arsenopyrite. It averages 4^' in width, strikes north and dips nearly 
vertically with a proven length on the surface of three miles. The 
foot-wall is slate, the hanging wall porphyry. The Big Ledge vein, 
parallel and 60' distant, is an 11' vein, dipping vertically and filled 
with quartz, slate and decomposed porphyry carrying free gold and 
no sulphides. 

The Mexican mine adjoins and the High Commission vein is parallel 
to and 300' east of the Mexican vein. 

Homestalce Claim. Owner, IVIrs. B. Haskell, General Delivery, 
Oakland. 

Location: Downievine Mining District, Sec. 9, T. 9 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south- 
west of Downieville, 38 miles, by road, northeast of Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5600'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, DownievIUe. 

Assessment work only being done. 

Ina Claim. Sold to state in 1904 for taxes. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, near Rowland Flat, 1 mile northwest of 
Table Rock, thence 30 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Independent Claim. Owmer, F. A. Pearson, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles southeast 
of Alleghany, tlience 31 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3200'. 

Bibliograpliy : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

Property consists of one patented claim of 18.35 acres. 
Ireland Mine. Owner, K. K. Ash, engineer in charge. 

Location : Forest Mining District, north of the Plumbago mine, on ridge 

between it and Alleghany (town). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Early in 1916 another rich deposit was encountered in the upper 
tunnel, 860' from the mouth. A survey of this section of the mine 
has been made and plans drawn for extensive work. Idle in Sep- 
tember, 1918. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 93 

Ironsides Mine. (Sierra Del Oro Company.) Owners, H. B. 
McCormick, W. I. Redding, Downieville ; John Mayer, Sierra City. 

Location: American Hill Mining District, Sec. 20, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 9 miles 
east of north of Mountain House, by trail and road, thence 35 miles south- 
west to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R R.) or 57 miles southwest to Marys- 
ville (S. P. R. R.) by road. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142-143. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Ironsides mine adjoins the Alhambra and consists of eight 
claims, the Sierra Del Oro, South Extension, North Extension, North 
No. 1, North Extension No. 2, East Extension, West Extension, and 
West Extension No. 1, a total of 160 acres, covering a length along 
the lode of 7500'. It is situated in a steep canon dropping from the 
lava covered divide between North Pork and Middle Fork Yuba 
River. Some timber grows on the property. 

Jack Ironsides discovered this property in the '60 's. A small mill 
was erected and a little stoping done, but later the mill burned down. 
The ground was relocated by the present owners in 1910. From nine 
to fourteen men worked up to May, 1914, and it was expected to 
work six or seven men during the winter of 1914-1915. 

The deposit includes the Ironsides and some other parallel veins 
which have not been developed except by open cuts. The Ironsides 
is a fissure vein with a filling of quartz, slate and porphyry, carrying 
free gold, arsenopyrite and galena, cutting the strike of the slates at 
an angle. Both the foot and hanging walls are sometimes slate and 
sometimes porphyry. It varies in width from a small stringer vein 
to 16', strikes north, dips 61° E., and has a proven length on the 
surface of 7500'. The main pay shoot developed was 200' long and 
from 4' to 12' wide. 

The Ironsides is developed by an 80' crosscut to the vein, then 600' 
on the ledge to the first shoot 110' long (stoped to surface). At a 
point 60' further the top of another shoot 32' long and 3' wide was 
struck, and a winze sunk 10' in ore. The upper tunnel, 70.5' above 
the lower one, is an 80' crosscut driven to the vein, then along it for 
240' through pay ore, which was stoped 72' to the surface. A winze 
was sunk 200' from the crosscut for 42' in good ore. A short tunnel 
on the south side of the gulch, 52' above the lower tunnel, struck 
another shoot 90' long, which was worked to the surface. A crosscut 
tunnel 1500' long from the creek would give 575' of backs below the 
lower tunnel level. 

A blacksmith shop, a lighting dynamo, and a Nissen 1-stamp mill 
having a capacity of 8 tons of quartz per 24 hours, driven by a 12- 
h.p. Fairbanks-Morse distillate engine, comprise the mine equipment. 

The Pilgrim ditch, two miles in length, takes water from Harris 
Meadow. A minimum of 28" and a maximum of 150" under a 450' 
bead is available. The operators were putting in a pipe line in 1914. 

7—46901 



94 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

More water can be developed from Nigger Canon by a ditch three- 
fourths of a mile in length. 

Labor cost $3 per day or $2.25 per day and board. Lumber cost 
$45 per thousand feet and distillate 9^^ at Marysville in 1914. 
Freight from Marysville was $1.50 per hundred pounds ; from Nevada 
City, $1.35 per hundred. 

Jim Crow Claim. Owners, L. and Thomas Buckingham, Yuba City; 
G. Powell, Marysville. 

Location: American HIU Minlnir District, Sec. 9, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 6 miles 
southeast by road and trail from Downieville, thence 44 miles southwest to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Llndgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142-143. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

The Jim Crow property consists of one claim, the Jim Crow, twenty 
acres in area, located in 1897 by the present owners, and covering a 
length along the lode of 1500'. 

There are two veins, the North Extension of the Elcy, and the 
Blanket vein, both quartz fissure veins. The former varies from 18" 
to 3' in width, strikes north and dips 45° E. The foot-wall is slate, 
the hanging wall granite. The Blanket vein varies from 6" to 2' in 
width, dips 10° E. and has slate walls. 

There is a 40' shaft driven to the Blanket vein and a 400' tunnel on 
the contact. No quartz was encountered, so the mine was abandoned. 

The Elcy mine adjoins. 

Jumper and Tippecanoe Group. Owner, John Reid, Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sec. 1, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., on main road 
Downieville to Sierra City, 1 mile east o? Downieville, thence 44 miles 
southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The property consists of two claims, the Jumper and Tippecanoe, a 
total of 40 acres, covering a length along the lode of 3000'. It is 
situated south of the South Pork of the North Yuba at the head of 
Slate Castle Ravine, extending to the top of the ridge, between Slate 
Castle and Secret ravines. There is good timber on the property. 

Wm. Kidd first located the claims in 1900. They were purchased 
from Kidd by Julian and Sergent, lapsed and relocated by the present 
owner in 1910. Two men were working in 1914, putting ore through 
an arrastra, run by means of an overshot wheel, which used water 
from a large spring. 

There are two veins on the property: the Big Ledge and Little 
Ledge, parallel and 250' apart. No work has been done on the Big 
Ledge, which is hard quartz. The Little Ledge is a 3^' vein com- 
posed of clay gouge with sulphides. It strikes north, and has a 
proven length on the surface of 300'. The dip is probably vertical, 
but may be a little to the east. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 95 

Development consists of a 30' incline on the Little vein, and a 90' 
crosscut tunnel which has not yet reached it. The upper tunnel is 
only 8' above the lower one. The workings are in a slide. 

The Moore mine lies between the Jumper and Tippecanoe property 
and the High Commission, all being on the same formation. This 
deposit is a southern extension of the High Commission. 

Kanaka Claim. Owner, L. Foss, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, midway between Downieville and Sierra 
City, 50 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R R.). 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, p. 404; XIII, p. 379. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Kate Hardy and Derelict Mines. Owners, Jose Realty Company, 
Knox Building, San Jose. Bonded to Kate Hardy Mining Company, 
Knox Building, San Jose; W. M. Cooper, president. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 29 and 32, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles 

southwest of Forest City, 30 miles by road southwest to Nevada City (N. C. 

N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4200'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 

142. Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 181. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of the Kate Hardy and Derelict claims, 
patented, covering 2900' along the lode; also the Blue Bird, Blue 
Bird Extension, and Hooligan unpatented; and an undivided half- 
interest in the Brush Creek Placer claim ; a total area of 240 acres. 
The Kate Hardy lies on the south side of Oregon Creek, and the 
Derelict on the north. There is some timber on the property. 

The Kate Hardy mine has been worked at intervals since about 
1860 and has a reported production of $225,000. Baggs purchased 
the property from Tyler Dudley in 1908. Twelve men were 
employed, 2 on top, 7 in the mine, and 3 in the mill, in 1914. 

The vein on the Kate Hardy is developed by a lower tunnel 650' 
long, the face being 275' below the surface, and an upper tunnel, 300' 
long, 160' above the lower one. A raise, 360' in the lower tunnel, 
strikes a middle tunnel 90' above, 300' in. There is a crosscut 27' 
long, and 360' in on the lower tunnel, to the hanging wall. From the 
bottom of a 45' winze from the lower tunnel crosscut, another driven 
to the hanging wall shows 15' of quartz. A. tunnel on the Derelict 
claim is run 150' on the vein at the same level as the lower Hardy 
tunnel. All the tunnels are run on the foot-wall. A surface crosscut 
on top of the hill, 350' to 400' beyond the face of the tunnel, shows 
42' of quartz. The present operators propose to sink 500 feet. 

The deposit is a quartz fissure vein, the ore having a ribbon struc- 
ture and carrying free gold, pyrite and arsenopyrite. The ore is 
partly oxidized, but contains considerable quantities of sulphides, 
which commonly consist of small patches of finely crystalline pyrite, 
the latter rarely going over $10 per ton. The foot-wall is serpentine, 
and the vein varies from 10' to 30' in width. It strikes N. 24° W. 



MltfES AND MINERAL KEEOVRCE8. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 97 

and dips 83° W. Six pay shoots are developed. The gold ranges in 
value from $16.30 to $16.75 an ounce. 

Equipment consists of a Dow duplex compressor, 12"x 12", electric 
driven, 600 cubic foot capacity ; blacksmith shop, 3-stamp Hendy mill, 
and a Wilfley table and electric pump. Electricity from the Tuba 
Hydroelectric Power Company, at Colgate, is used for power. 

The Brush Creek mine adjoins. 

Kenton Mine. Owner, Dr. Royal, Pasadena, California. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 4, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile soutliwest 

of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 

N. G. R. R). Elevation 3200'. 
Bibliography: Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 175. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Kenton property consists of the Kenton, King Solomon, and 
King Solomon millsite locations, covering 60 acres, and extending 
:>000' along the lode. 

It was discovered in 1860 and is supposed to have had a large pro- 
duction. Eight stamps were installed in 1864 and 10 more added in 
1882, but for the last few years practically no gold has been obtained. 
It was last worked about 1912 by Judge Polk, of Los Angeles. 
Bonded in April, 1915, to New York people, represented by Judge 
Case. 

A 90' crosscut tunnel strikes the vein 125' below the outcrop, 400' 
was drifted on the vein and from 4^' to 9' stoped on the hanging wall 
side. A crosscut tunnel runs 120' below the upper tunnel, 513' to the 
ledge and 14' south on the vein. On the King Solomon claim there 
is a 150' crosscut tunnel and a 350' drift south in broken country 
rock, but no well-defined vein was encountered. 

The Kenton quartz vein carries free gold and patches of pyrite, 
snd arsenopyrite throughout. It varies from 4' to 16' in width, 
strikes a little east of north and dips 45° E., between walls of schist 
or diorite. 

Besides the old 18-stamp mill containing 4 Union vanners, there is 
a boarding house and bunkhouses. 

Preparations were being made in 1914 to again operate this prop- 
erty, with A. Madden in charge. 

Kentucky Mine. Owner, E. A. Loeffler, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 27, T. 20 N., R. 13 E., 1 mile north- 
east of Sierra City, thence 50 miles by road to Truckee (S. P. R. R.) or 
36 miles northeast to Loyalton. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73. pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I. 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Kentucky mine consists of two claims, the Grandma and the 
Kentucky. The total area is 40 acres and the length covered along 
the lode is 3000'. It is one of the early discoveries, relocated by the 
present owner in 1910. 



98 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The vein is developed by a 700' tunnel. The crosscut cuts the vein 
at 530', giving 250' of backs, but no drifting has been done. A new 
tunnel was being run on the Grandma claim in 1914. 

Keystone Mine. Owner, Sam W. Cheney. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 5 and 6, T. 19 N., R. 12 E., 3 miles 
southwest of Sierra City, thence 19 miles north by road, to Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.). Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property comprises three patented claims, a total of 50 acres, 
and also the Martini quartz location. It is bonded to Whitcomb of 
Sierra City, representing the Alta Sierra Gold Mining Company of 
237 First street, San Francisco. 

Rich ore was encountered in the mine in December, 1914. In Feb- 
ruary, 1916, ore averaging $10 per ton was being milled, 10 stamps, 
dropping one shift per day. Mine developments continued to open 
fair grade ore. Nine men were employed breaking ore in the stopes. 

The property is equipped with a mill and other buildings, ears, 
tools, etc., and was being operated in 1916 on a lease by Bigelow 
and Gilbreath. 

Keystone Gold Mining Company. Owners, same; J. R. Powell, 
Plymouth, Pennsylvania. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., about 3 miles 
east of Forest City, tlience 40 miles sou tii westerly to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Keystone property consists of the following locations: the 
Columbia (quartz), the Mountain View, Mountain View Extension 
and Pliocene (placer). 

King Consolidated Group. (Ilaycs Consolidated.) Owner, John 
Hayes, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 31. T. 20 N., R 12 E. 3 miles west 
of Sierra City, and 53 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). P^levation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37. Downieville. 

Kinselbach Mine. Owners, Dr. J. C. Frazer Estate, J. T. Church 
and Gardner Smith, Pasadena. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sec. 36. T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles southeast 
of Forest City, and 39 miles southwest by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

There is a total area of 60 acres, covering a length along the lode of 
4500'. It was worked in early days. 

The vein shows a width of 6' at the outcrop, strikes N. 15® W., dips 
85° E., and has a proven length on the surface of 4500'. It is 
developed by a 150' tunnel located 55' north of the creek on a contact. 
Some pockets have been taken out. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 99 

Lawler Claim. (Mount Moriah.) Owner, D. B. Mcintosh, San 
Francisco. 

Location : American Hill Mining District, 7 miles northeast of Minnesota, 
thence 44 miles southwest by road to Nevada Glty (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. 
XII, p. 269 ; XIII, p. 380. 

Lonesome Pine Mine. (Dolly Varden.) Owners, Homer Gould, 
Downieville ; John Donnelly, Sacramento. 

Location: American Hill Mining District, Sec. 8, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 5 miles 
southeast of Downieville, thence 44 miles by road southwest to Nevada 
Cicy. Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142-143. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Lonesome Pine property contains two claims, the Lonesome 
Pine North and the Lonesome Pine South, a total area of 40 acres 
with a length along the lode of 3000'. The surface is quite steep and 
contains some timber. 

This property was discovered in the early days by placer miners, 
and is said to have produced to date $15,000 from pockets. It was 
worked during the summer of 1914. 

The vein is of quartz and altered wall rock, carrying free gold and 
arsenopyrite. It strikes north and dips east between a hanging wall 
of slate, and foot- wall of porphyry. 

It is developed by two tunnels, one 80' on the vein from the creek 
level and another crosscut adit 120' to the vein and 100' on it. A 
60' shaft is caved. 

There is a house and blacksmith shop. It would be possible to get 
300" of water under a 125' head with an 1800' ditch. 

The Pappoose mine adjoins. 

Lone Star Group. Owner, Lone Star Consolidated Gold Mining 
Company; Mr. Thomas, Citizens Bank, Grass Valley, secretary. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sec. 25, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 8 miles by 

road northwest of Sierra City. Elevation 6750'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 

Rpts. XI, p. 405; XII, p. 268; XIII, p. 379. 

The property comprises three patented claims, the Mount Pleasant, 
Mount Pleasant Extension and the Rough and Ready, a total of 52.44 
acres. No work has been done for years. 

Lorenzo Claim. Owner, P. Lorenzo, Johnsville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 26, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 8 miles by 

road northwest of Sierra City. Elevation 6000'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Lost Treasure Mine. Owners, Fred Phippiner, Wm. Davies, Forest 
City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 20, T. 19 N., R. 10 E.. 3 miles west of 
Forest City, 35 miles northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R) by 
road. Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
143. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colf^. 



100 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The Lost Treasure property consists of two claims, the Comet and 
the Lost Treasure, an area of 40 acres covering 1500' along each lode. 
The surface is steep and rugged, with a good stand of timber. It 
was located in 1909 by the present owners. 

The Lost Treasure vein is developed by a 70' tunnel on the vein, 
reaching a depth below the outcrop of 40', and the Comet vein by 
open cuts and a shaft 12' deep. 

The Lost Treasure vein, 400' east of the Comet vein, is a fissure 
filled with quartz and porphyry and carrying gold, arsenopyrite and 
pyrite, with some free gold near the surface in oxidized ore. Both 
walls are porphyry. The vein is from 1' to 8' in width, strikes a 
little north of west, dips 45° S., and has a proven length of 1000' on 
the surface. Bunches of arsenopyrite, but no pay shoots, developed. 
The Comet is a quartz fissure vein carrying free gold and pyrite. The 
walls are porphyry. It is 2' wide, strikes east, dips 45° S. and 
has a proven length on the surface of 1500'. 

The mine is within two miles of the Middle Yuba Hydroelectric 
Company's line, but a blacksmith shop with tools is the only 
equipment. 

The Brush Creek mine lies one mile to the west, the Kate Hardy 
one and one-half miles to the south. 

Luella Claim. Owner, Jas. D. Alexander, Downieville. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south 
of Poker Flat, thence 32 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 
6000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Mammoth Springs Mine. Owners, J. W. MeGuire, Alleghany, and 
F. C. Davis, 2506 Folsom street, San Francisco. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 26, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R. ). 
Elevation 5500'. 

The Mammoth Springs quartz property consists of three claims, 
the Contact, Contact No. 1 and Contact No. 2, a total of 60 acres, 
covering a length along the lode of 4500'. 

The deposit consists of the Talc contact vein and a quartz vein 
100' to the west. On the Talc vein there is an upper tunnel driven 
500' on the ledge, and reaching a depth of 150'. From the face of 
this tunnel there is a 250' incline shaft. A tunnel, 150' below, will 
have to be driven 200' further to reach the shoot. The Quartz vein 
is developed by a 30' shaft and a 100' tunnel on the vein reaching a 
depth of 50' below the outcrop. 

The Talc vein carries free gold in talc schist and 1^% of arsenical 
pyrites. The foot-wall is serpentine, and the hanging wall slate. 
It varies from 8' to 12' in width, strikes N. 10° to 30° W., 
dips 65° E., and has a proven length on the surface of 3500'. One 



SIEBR^V COUNTY. 101 

pay shoot developed 30' in length. The Quartz vein contains free 
gold, strikes N. 10° to 30° W., and dips 65° W. 

Equipment consists of 5 stamps and 1 Huntington mill, capacity 
25 tons per 24 hours, a blacksmith shop, boarding and bunkhouse. 

Mammoth Claim. Owners, Richard Sparling Estate, Table Rock, 
and Mrs. Strand. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 4 miles east 
of Table Rock, thence 30 miles north to Quincy by road. Elevation 5500'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Assessment work only being done. 

Maple Grove Claim. Owner, E. L. Crafts, Forest. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 26, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles east of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. H). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Marguerite Claim. Owners, Westall Brothers, Sierra City. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 20 N., R 12 E., 6 miles north 

of Sierra City. Elevation 3900'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Mariposa and Ophir Group. Owners, IVIrs. H. Apple, Palo Alto, 
owns Ophir ; A. S. Grant owns Mariposa and 1000' of Eclipse. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., and Sees. 2 and 3, T. 18 N., 
R. 10 E., 1 mile south of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4400'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of three claims, all patented: the Ophir 
(17.87 acres), the Mariposa (15.34 acres), and the Eclipse (20.65 
acres). 

The last work was done about 15 years ago. The total production 
is said to be $118,000. 

The property is developed by three tunnels. The upper tunnel, 
300' long, reaches a depth of 70' below the outcrop; the middle 
tunnel, 70' lower than the first, is 250' long, and the lower tunnel, 70' 
below the second, is 600' long. They are all driven on the vein. A 
crosscut tunnel started 180' west of the lower tunnel has been driven 
a distance of 200'. The vein is worked from the 180' level in a winze 
to the upper workings. There is a 200' prospect tunnel and winze on 
the Eclipse vein from North Fork Kanaka Creek, and from the west 
side of the creek a 300' tunnel on the Ophir vein showed it to be from 
18" to 4' wide, 300' below the surface. Some rich ore was produced. 
The vein is spotty, and productive in specimen ore. 

The Mariposa and Ophir vein is a fissure vein, from 18" to 3' in 
width, striking N. 30° W., and dipping 45° NE. The foot-wall is 
serpentine and the hanging wall schist. 

Property bonded to J. R. Hilmsley and Clay Covenay in August, 
1915. Arrangements have been made to install electric power. 
There is a 5-stamp mill on the property. 



102 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Mexican Group. Owners, T. J. Jerome and Ed York, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sees. 25 and 26, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 
1 mile east of Downieville, thence 44 miles by road southwest to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. GJeol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Mexican group comprises five locations, the Colorado, Golden 
Star, South Fork, Mexican No. 1 and No. 2, a total of 100 acres, with 
12 acres of patented land on the river. The claims are situated on 
the high ridge east of Downieville, and are cut through by the Yuba 
River. There is some timber on the property. 

Mexicans located the property in early days, and it was later 
relocated by Judge Davidson, who did assessment work for 30 years. 
It was again relocated in 1906 by York Brothers, who have since been 
doing assessment and development work. 

The Mexican and a parallel vein, 40' west, have been worked by 
two tunnels. The lower tunnel, 30' above the road, is in 350' on the 
vein, and the upper tunnel, 125' vertically above it, is in the same 
distance. Both tunnels are in a pay shoot, shown by open cuts to be 
900' long on the surface. Another vein, the South Fork, has been 
developed by surface cuts only. The Hartley vein has been developed 
by a lower crosscut tunnel 300' long, with 50' driven on the vein; 
80' above this a crosscut tunnel was driven 70' and 150' drifted on the 
vein, all in ore. In 1914 stoping was being done above the upper 
tunnel to the surface, 45' above. One hundred fifty tons of ore 
stoped frojn July to November 15, milled $3.30. 

The deposit is in quartz fissure veins in slate, the vein filling being 
quartz and slate, carrying free gold, arsenopyrite and pyrite. The 
Mexican vein varies from 2' to 15' in width, the parallel vein averages 
4' to 5' in width. They strike north, dip 70° to 80° E., and have a 
proven length on the surface of 3000'. The South Fork vein is a con- 
tact vein carrying pyrite, but no arsenopyrite. The foot-wall is 
quartzite, the hanging wall slate. This vein is 20' wide, strikes 
north, and dips east. The Hartley vein runs across the formation, 
striking northeast, and dipping 60° NW. It is 5' wide on the foot 
and hanging wall with a 5' horse between. 

A mill completed in June, 1914, is equipped with a Hendy mill 
having five 900-lb. stamps using 50-mesh screens, and a Johnson con- 
centrator. There is room in the building for 10 stamps. 

Electric power is obtained from the York Electric Plant, which 
supplies Downieville. Three thousand inches of water from the 
Middle Fork of North Fork Yuba River are available. 

The Gold Bluff mine adjoins. 

Mineral Mountain Claim. Owner, W. O. Frost, Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile south 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwest, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R). Elevation 3800'. 

Bibliography: IT, S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville, 



SIERRA COUNTY. 103 

Minnesota Development Group. (Gold and Silver Mining Com- 
jjany.) Owner, same; J. 0. Jones, Forest City, superintendent. 

Location: Forest Mining District, li miles southeast of Alleghany, thence 
41 miles by road southwest to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpt. 
XIII, p. 379. 

Minnie D. Mine. Owner, Albert Holm, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N, R. 10 E., situated just 

below the town of Alleghany, 31 miles by road northeajst of Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4400'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 

142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. 

Survey Bull. 580, p. 173. 

The Minnie D. quartz property has a total area of 30 acres. The 
two claims, the Lucky Holm (20 acres) and the Minnie D. Fraction 
(10 acres), have a length along the lode of 2300'. It is situated on 
the steep west side of the gulch formed by the North Fork of Kanaka 
Creek, with the outcrop on the top of the hill. Located in 1905 by 
the present owner. 

It is developed by two tunnels, 60' apart vertically. The upper 
tunnel follows the vein for 150' ; the lower tunnel, 320' long, struck 
the vein 25' in. The face is 100' below the surface. The following 
notes are largely from H. G. Ferguson's report in Bulletin 580, U. S. 
Geol. Survey: 

The vein strike varies from N. 65° W. to N. 80° W. and the dip 
averages 46° NE. It cuts sharply across the schistosity of the 
iimphibolite and is, in several places, joined by stringers from the 
foot-wall side. The thickness varies from a maximum of 15" to prac- 
tically nothing, the usual width being about 2". The quartz is dis- 
tinctly banded and in places approaches comb structure. It contains 
nests of little pyrite crystals, accompanied by specks of sphalerite and 
gafena. Free gold is found where the stringers from the foot-wall 
intersect the vein. The gold is in the quartz near the sulphides and 
is very commonly smeared out along slips in the vein. A rare occur- 
rence of gold was seen in the presence of minute specks on the faces 
of pyrite crystals. 

The Tightner, Morning Glory and Martin Rorig mines adjoin. 

Monarch Mines. Owners, J. H. and F. M. Lee, Sierra City. Bonded 
to R. G. Gillespie, Pittsburg. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, 3 miles northwest of Sierra City ; Blairs- 
den 30 miles north of mine by road via Sierra City. Elevation 6500'. 

The Monarch Mines property consists of 520 acres of locations 
covering a length along the lode of 12,000'. They are the Alconda, 
Mountain Lily, Monarch, Homestake, Miner's Dream, Independence 
No. 1, Snowflake (water right), besides 20 other claims. It is located 
along the west rim of the ridge from Sierra Buttes, and there is some 
good timber on the property. 



104 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Lee Brothers located the claims in 1909. They were worked in 
1910 by Thompson and bonded in 1912 to Gillespie, who began work 
in August, 1913. A total of 35 men were working two shifts, 12 in 
the mine and 4 in the mill, at that time. 

The vein is developed by a 100' shaft in the hanging wall, a 225' 
crosscut, which is being driven into the foot-wall, and 500' driven on 
the vein. An old 170' shaft is connected by a 60' incline. 

The vein is made up of quartz stringers in decomposed amphibolite 
at the contact of serpentine, amphibolite and slate. There is 100' of 
decomposed rocks with stringers, 6' of which has been worked. The 
foot-wall is serpentine, the hanging wall is slate and * porphyry,' prob- 
ably oxidized amphibolite. It strikes N. 38^ W., dips 60° to 65° 
NE., and has a proven length on the surface throughout the claim. 
A pay shoot 100' long has been developed. The ore is oxidized and 
free milling. 

The shoot of rich ore, encountered early in 1916 on the lower level, 
has been traced for 150' along the foot- wall, and is apparently 
developing into one of the best veins yet discovered in the property. 
The management is considering driving a long working tunnel to open 
the ore bodies several hundred feet below the present workings. 
This tunnel would also displace the shaft as the main working 
avenue. 

Mine equipment consists of a 150-k.w. Pelton hydroelectric 
generator unit, 12,200' of pole line, 2-drum Hendy electric hoist, 220- 
volt, 50-h.p. motor, sawmill of 5000 feet a day capacity, large 
bunkhouse, hoisthouse, and blacksmith shop. There is a 20-stamp 
mill equipped with 10 new Taylor Grass Valley stamps and 10 old 
stamps in a new corrugated iron building. A new pump and an air 
compressor are being installed and a large dam is being constructed 
in Black's Canon to hold the tailings. Twenty stamps were dropping 
in 1916. Dan McMonigal is manager. 

In February, 1916, the vein on the 200' level had been opened for 
over 300' by the west drift. It averages 7' in width and is of milling 
grade. The shaft is to be deepened to 400', giving 700' of backs, and 
a main working adit will be driven later. 

Power is obtained from the South Fork of North Pork Yuba 
through an 8300' ditch, carrying 600 inches of water with a 150' head. 

The Sierra Buttes properties adjoin on the southeast. 

Monroe Consolidated Group. Owner, Monroe Consolidated Quartz 
Mining Company. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., near AUeghany, 
thence 31 miles southwesterly to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by road. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Monroe Consolidated quartz mine has a total area of 29.29 
acres, all patented. 



SII»RA COUNTY. 105 

Morning Olory Mine. Owner, Martin Rohrig, Alleghany. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., adjoins town of 
Alleghany; 31 miles, by road, northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Elevation 4500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

(The five-stamp mill was run three shifts for one month and one 
shift for about six weeks longer, in 1917, but the results are not 
known. The property was idle in the autumn of 1918. This is a 
pocket mine. — C. A. Logan.) 

Mountain Mine. Owner, F. B. Wehe, Monadnock Building, San 
Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, 3 miles north of Sierra City, 27 miles 

south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Elevation 6500'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Pai)er 73, pp. 117-118. 

Turner H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 

1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The vein is a quartz fissure, from 10' to 20' in width, striking north- 
northwest, and dipping 60° E. Last worked about 1905. 

Mountaineer Claim. Owner, S. Shinn, New York City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 5, T. 20 N, R. 12 E., 6 miles by 
road and trail, north of Sierra City; 24 miles south of Blairsden (W. P. 
Ry.). Elevation 6100'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Mountaineer Claim. Owner, Harry Morris. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 7 J miles 
north of Sierra City. 

Patented. 

Mount Fillmore Consolidated Oroup. Owners, J. C. Wolters and 
Prank Bonnie of Gibsonville. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles 
southeast of Gibsonville, thence 26 miles north by road to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnts. XII, p. 269; XIII, p. 380. Lindgren, 
W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, 
Downieville. 

The Mount Fillmore property consists of four claims, the Sunny- 
side, Rattlesnake No. 1 and No. 2 and Blue Jay. There is an area 
I of 80 acres covering a length along the lode ojf 3000'. It was for- 
merly owned by Wingate, but was relocated by the present owners. 

The mine is developed hy a 350' tunnel driven on the vein, the face 
. being 125' below the outcrop. Three crosscuts, 50' apart, are from 
15' to 25' in length across the vein. 

The latter is quartz, carrying free gold, pyrite and galena. The 
foot-wall is slate, the hanging wall slate and 'porphyry.* It varies 
I'rom 15' to 25' in width, strikes northwest, dips 46° W., and has a 
proven length on the surface of 3000'. The ore taken out ranged 
from $5 to $20 per ton. . 

There is a. cabin and also a blacksmith shop on the property. 

Water is available from Canon Creek under a head of from 50' to 
€0', 4he-wat«r right being owned. - - 

Mugwiunp Mines Company. (See under Drift Mines.) 



106 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

New York ICine. Owner, Schuld. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 21 N., R. 10 K., 1 mile north 

o( Poker Flat, thence 31 milea north by road to Qulncy. 
Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37. Downlevllle. 

The New York mine conaists of one claim 20 acres in area, with a 
length along the lode of 1500'. It is situated on the north side of 
Canon Creek. This property was abandoned after working out an 
ore shoot 30 years ago, Durell relocated it, but later forfeited, and 
it was then acquired by Sehuld. 

A quartz Assure vein carrying free gold and pyrite is developed 
by an E.-W. tunnel of unknown length. The foot-wall is serpentine, 
the hanging wall slate. The vein has a width of about 3', strikes 
north, and dips 65° E. The Freeborough mine adjoins. 

Horthem Bell Group. Owner, L. Rosenfeld, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 20 N., R. 12 E.. 2 milea east 
of Sierra City, thence 30 miles northerly to Blalraden (W. P. Ry. ). Ele- 
vation 4300'. 

BiWtograpliy : Turner. H. W., U. L. 

part I. p. 853. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downlevllle. 

The Straussuer, Straussuer Extension, Bulletin Extension and the 

Hunkidora claims comprise this property. 

North Pork Mine. Owner, North Fork Mining Company, 1301 
Merchants Exchange Building, San Francisco, 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 21, T. 19 N., R. 10 B., t mile north of 
Forest City, thence 41 milea, by road,- soulhweBterly to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4900'. 
Bibliography : U. 8. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfait. 

Early in 1916 preparations were under way to sink the shaft 200'. 
This will give a total depth of 385' and is expected to pass through 



SIERRA COUNTY. 107 

the broken formation which has caused much trouble in the present 
workings, and enter the contact between serpentine and porphyry. 
Some rich arsenical pyrite was extracted at 185'. There are three 
pumps in operation in the shaft and they are expected to easily handle 
the water, which has seriously hampered the work lately. The ledge 
lies between diorite and schist. 

Oakland Mine. Owner, F. A. Gowing. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 13, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 11 miles 
north of Sierra City, by road; 8 miles southwest of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Polio 37, Downievllle. 

This property was sold by F. B. Voyle to F. A. Gowing of Oakland 
in December, 1914. 

Oriental Oroup. Owners, Oriental Gold Mining Company, New 
York ; Schley & Moore, New York. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 33, T. 19 N., and Sec. 4, T. 18 N., 

R 10 E., 1 mile west of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest to Nevada 

City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by road. Elevation 4600'. 
Bibliography: Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, pp. 176-177. 

Lindgren. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Oriental group consists of the following claims, all patented : 
Carrolson, Ethel, Pittsburg, Alta, Alta Annex, Admiral, Blue Jay, 
Oriental and Oriental Millsite, making a total of 153.4 acres. The 
mine is situated on the north side of Kanaka Creek. 

The mine had been idle for some years previous to 1915. One shoot 
between the surface and the 400' level produced $3,000,000, of which 
amount $734,000 came from a single area 14' by 22'. 

The following description is drawn nearly verbatim from H. G. 
Ferguson's report in Bulletin 580 I, U. S. Geol. Survey: 

The vein is reached by a 4150' tunnel from the canon side at an 
elevation of 4050', which, for the most part, passes through amphib- 
olite schist, but from the 3600' point to the face is in much altered 
microcline granite. Two veins developed on this level. The southern 
vein cuts the granite, but is here small and poorly defined. The 
northern vein is at the northern contact of the granite and schist and 
has been developed only on this level. For about 400' it follows the 
contact very closely, but at the west end it passes first into granite 
and then into schist. The southern vein is developed on several 
levels. 

The strike varies, but averages about N. 70° W. The dip is from 
30^ to 35° N. in the lower levels, but steepens to 50° in the upper 
levels. In places the quartz pinches out for short distances, but on 
the whole it is fairly persistent, with a maximum width observed of 
10'. All stoping was done along the foot-wall, generally the lower 
2' of the vein being mined. Small quartz stringers are very common 



108 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

in the schist near the vein, and pyrite occurs in the quartz in small 
patches half an inch across. The granite near the vein carries pyrite 
and much carbonate and is said to carry gold. In the rich ore, how- 
ever, there is the same association of gold and coarsely crystalline 
arsenopyrite that occurs in the other mines of this district. 

Operations were resumed in May, 1915, with 10 men employed by 
the Croesus Gold Mining and Milling Company, with Walter B. 
Pearson in charge. A 10-stamp mill with two 6-foot Prue vanners 
was placed in commission December 5. Bunkhouses and other build- 
ings have been completed. 

[This company is said to have mined about 5000 tons from below 
the tunnel, but abandoned the property in 1917. — C. A. Logan.] 

Ore Oroup. Owners, Oro Quartz Gold Mining Company ; L. Rosen- 
feld, Merchants Exchange Building, San Francisco. 

Location: DownlevUle Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 20 N., and Sec. 2, T. 19 N., 
R. 10 E., I mile south of Downieville, thence 44 miles by road, to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3600'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Oro property consists of the Oro No. 1, Oro No. 2 and Code 
claims, a total of 47.44 acres of patented ground. 

There are two gold-bearing veins on the property, one small but 
very high grade, the other assaying $3 to $6 per ton. 

Bonded to Dr. G. P. Reynolds and associates, of Alameda, and work 
resumed in June, 1915. Early in 1916 a contract was let at $9 per 
foot for extending the tunnel 200'. 

Osceola Mine. Owner, R. G. Gillespie, 605 Park Building, Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., I mile northeast 
of Alleg-hany, thence by road 31 miles southwest to Nevada City. Ele- 
vation 4600'. 

Bibliography: Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 508, pp. 173, 174. 
Lrndgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Pro:. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 66,- Colfax. 

This property consists of one patented claim, the Osceola, 20.66 
acres in area. It is situated above the North Fork of Kanaka Creek. 
Development work was in progress in May, 1913. 

H. G. Ferguson* says the following regarding this property : 
''The upper tunnel, at an elevation of 4370', follows the vein N. 
60° W., for about 40', and then for the same distance N. 47° W. The 
dip is here 55° NE. The vein consists of white quartz and is 6' wide 
at the portal and 2' at the face. The lower tunnel at an elevation of 
4200', has a length of 1650'. The strike of the vein in the outer part 
of this tunnel is N. 45° W., in the central part between N. 60° and 
70° W., and near the face N. 25° W. Near the portal the dip is 50° 
NE. In the central part it steepens to 70° or more, and near the face 
of the tunnel it flattens to 35°. The vein has a maximum width of 



♦U. S. Geol. Surv. Bull. No. 580-1. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 109 

10', but between points 650' and 1150' from the portal the quartz 
pinches out and the tunnel follows a crushed zone in the schist. 
From the 1150' point to the face the quartz is continuous. Near the 
portal there is a split in the vein and a part goes ofif to the north with 
a dip of 60° W. In the richer patches the quartz contains narrow 
dark bands of crushed arsenopyrite, and near these free gold is 
found. The ore, so far as could be seen, is similar to that of the 
other mines in this district. * * * A large amount of ore has 
been taken out from this mine, but the production is unknown." 

Owen and Janes Oroup. Owners, Owen and Jones, Forest City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles west of 
Alleghany, tlience 31 miles soutliwesterly, by road, to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliograpliy : U. ri. Geol.* Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Gold King mine adjoins on the south. 

Oxfard-Oold Bluff Groups. 

Oxford Group : Owners, E. L. Carr and H. H. Meyers, Downieville. 
Bonded with Gold Bluff, to Grant Snyder and Cliff Mining Company. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sees. 22, 23, 26 and 27, T. 20 N., 
R. 10 E., 1 mile north of Dov^rnieville, thence 44 miles by road southwest 
to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3400'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rnts. XII, n. 269; XIII, p. 381. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Oxford group consists of the Good Hope, Good Hope Extension 
No. 1, No. 1 South, No. 2 North and No. 3 North, claims, all patented. 
The total area is 100 acres, with a length along the lode of 6000'. 

The main tunnel starts from the east side of the claim, at an eleva- 
tion of 3400'. This tunnel crosscuts the slate, and reaches the vein 
at 650', from which point 800' is drifted on the vein to the north and 
100' to the south. Another tunnel, on Extension No. 1, is a 150' 
crosscut and 50' drifted on the vein. On Extension No. 2 a 250' 
crosscut cuts the vein 80' from the mouth, and drifts north on the 
vein for 30'. 

The deposit is in a quartz fissure vein 50' away from the contact 
of slates and serpentine. The ore is oxidized, the quartz carrying 
free gold, but arsenopyrite will probably be found at depth. The 
walls are a mixture of slate and soapstone, but the hanging wall on 
No. 2 Extension is porphyry. The vein strikes N. 15° W. to N. and to 
N. 15° E., dips 53° E., and has a proven length on the surface of 6000'. 

Operated with the Gold Bluff, which is also under bond to Grant 
Snyder. A tramway is being built to transport Oxford ore to the 
mill on the Gold Bluff. 

A 150-light generator is installed to furnish electric light to mill, 
boarding house and bunkhouse. 



8—46901 



110 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Gold Bluff : Owner, Lewis Rosenf eld, Merchants Exchange Build- 
ing, San Francisco. 

Location: DownieviUe Miningr District. Sees. 13. 14, 16, 22 and 23, T. 20 N.. 
R. 10 E., li miles north of DownieviUe, tlience 44 miles southwest to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3200'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 266; XIII, p. 376. U. S. Geol. 
Survey Folio 37. DownieviUe. 

This property consists of the following patented claims : Gold BluflE, 
Gold Bluff No. 1 Extension and Gold Bluff No. 2 Extension (53.42 
acres), Gold Bluff No. No. 5 and Fraction (41.62 acres), Gold Bluflf 
No. 4 and No. 5 Millsites and Christmas Millsite (14.90) and (Jold 
Bluff Placer, and the unpatented Oregon, New Year, Christmas, 
Monterey, Sailor, Ravine, Gold Bluff No. 3, Gold Bluff No. 4 Exten- 
sion, Gold Bluff No. 6 Extension, Brevity, Sleeper, BuUer, Sweet- 
water, Rosenfeld, Gold Bluff Millsite, Gold Bluff No. 3, No. 2, No. 6 
Millsite and Monterey Millsite, locations. 

The property was discovered in 1851, and though changing hands 
in the meantime, it was run with few intermissions until 1902. 

The deposit comprises three veins : the Gold Bluff and two parallel 
veins. They are quartz fissure veins along the contact of slate and 
porphyry dikes, containing free gold and pyrite. The Gold Bluff 
vein averages IV in width, strikes north, and has a proven length an 
the surface of one mile. The foot-wall is slate, the hanging wall 
porphyry. 

Development consists of two main tunnels. No. 3 and No. 4. No. 3 
tunnel intersects the main vein at 1050', from which point 600' is 
drifted north on the vein. No. 4 tunnel, 210' below, intersects the 
vein at 1400', from which point 600' is drifted to the north on the vein. 

Mine equipment consists of assay office, blacksmith shop, boarding 
house and buildings. A compressor is to be installed. Reduction 
equipment consists of a 20-stamp mill, 1000-lb. stamps, and 1 Johnson 
concentrator, mill building, with a tramway erected to connect with 
the mine. 

All the water necessary for power is obtained from a ditch, two 
miles in length, under 230' head and from the Middle Fork of the 
North Fork Yuba River under 300' head. 

At present bonded to Grant Snyder, 414 Judge Building, Salt Lake, 
representing the Cliff Mining Company, of the same address. 

Pacific Alta Oroup. Owner, D. Conlan, St. Louis, Sierra County. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 21 N., R 9 E., i mile east 
of St. Louis, thence 32 miles by road, northerly to Quincy. Elevation 
5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, DownieviUe. 



SIERRA COUNTY. Ill 

Pappoofi6> Alice and Plummer Oroup. Owners, Mrs. John G. 
Morse, Forum Building, Sacramento; Capt. Harry Rowland; S. W. 
Shaeffer, 3238 Eneinal avenue, Alameda, owns Plummer. 

Location : Downievllle Mining District, Sec. 8, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles south- 
west of Downieville by trail and road, thence 44 miles southwest to Nevada 
City by road. Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Pat Young Claim. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District; Sierra City is 56 miles northeast by 
road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.), 20 miles south by road from 
Blairsden (W. P. Ry). 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, 1896. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, 
pp. 117-118. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This is a southerly continuation of the Sierra Buttes property. 

Phoenix Mine. Owners, heirs of C. J. Winstead, in litigation with 
lieirs of J. W. Kane. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 21 and 22, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 
1 mile north of Sierra City, 20 miles south of Blairsden. Elevation 6300' 
to 6500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rots. X, p. 653; XI, p. 402; XIII, p. 381. 
Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. Turner, 
H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Phoenix group contains 124.7 acres of patented claims, namely, 
the Phoenix, Phoenix Millsite, Phoenix Extension No. 1 and No. 2, 
West Extension No. 1, No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4, Phoenix East Extension, 
No. 1 Millsite, and, besides these, five unpatented millsites, making 
Jibout 150 acres in all. The lode is covered for a length of 9600'. It 
is situated on the southeast and southwest slopes of Sierra Buttes. 

The property was discovered by Mexicans in 1862. Later it was 
owned by James Winstead, who took out $112,000, $44,000 of which 
was from the West Extension. Next owned by Beard and Winstead, 
and bought by A. C. Busch in 1889 from Beard for $27,000. Busch 
took out $48,000 until 1891, since which time it has been in litigation. 

The mine is developed by a 700' adit tunnel to the vein, with drifts 
on the vein 450' west and 350' east. There is a 112' winze from drift 
20' east of the adit, and a raise of 150' on the main shoot. Two old 
shafts are both caved. One-half of the ground above the adit tunnel 
level has been stoped, averaging $5.50 per ton, with limits of $8 
and $4. 

The vein is a quartz fissure carrying free gold, pyrite, galena and 
ehalcopyrite. There is quartz gouge on both walls, the foot-wall being 
blue diorite and the hanging wall porphyry. The width of the vein 
is about 3^', and it strikes east, and dips 63° to 74° N. Three shoots 
developed as follows: 125' by 3' wide, 50' by 3' and 84' by 3'; 1% 
to 2% concentrates go $150 per ton. 

Equipment consists of a 20-stamp Hendy mill, 20 years old, but in 
good condition, and electrical machinery, moved to the Young 
America mine, but still owned by the Phoenix. 



112 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Electric power is used, a flume two and one-half miles long sup- 
plying 2500 inches of water from North Fork Yuba and 500 inches 
from Big Spring, the water right being owned. 

Adjoining mines are the Sierra Buttes, Butte Saddle, Mountain 
View and J. H. Henderson claims. 

Pilgrim Mine. Owners, Dos Pesos, 20 Broadway, New York. 

Location: American HiH Mining District. Sec. 23, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., near 
American Hill, Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) is 45 miles southwest by 
road. Elevation 4680'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey, Prof. Paper 73, pp. 142, 
143. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of the Pilgrim Annex, a patented claim of 
20.55 acres ; also two patented placer claims, the Essex and Petticoat, 
covering 296.24 acres. A good deal of work has been done on this 
property, but none in recent years. Two or three pay shoots 
developed. 

Plumbago Mine. (Croesus.) Owner, Croesus Gold Mining and 
Milling Company, 747 Fifth avenue, New York; Grant B. Schley, 
president. 

Location: Porest Mining District, Sea 2, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 2 J miles southeaBt 

of AllcRhany, thence 31 miles soutliwest by roacl to Nevada City ( N. C. 

N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 178. Lindgren, 

W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112,113. 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Plumbago property consists of eight quartz claims and one 
.millsite, all patented, namely, the Hope (17.21 acres), Crofts (10.84 
acres), Clute (17.21 acres). Gold Beater (12.72 acres), Standard 
(13.22 acres), Standard Extension (19.25 acres). Enterprise (17.54 
acres), Marion (20.36 acres) and Plumbago Millsite (3.64 acres), a 
total of 132 acres. It is situated on the south side of the divide 
between Kanaka Creek and the Middle Fork Yuba River. 

Work has been carried on at intervals since before 1860, and the 
production is said to have amounted to several millions. A total of 
55 men were employed in 1915. 

The mine is developed by a 200' crosscut tunnel, then 3800' of 
drifting on the vein. This is called No. 4 or lower tunnel. At 2300' 
from the portal there is a 330' winze with level No. 5, 113' below, 
then 135' to No. 6, then 80' to No. 7. On No. 6 level 500' has been 
drifted NW.-SE., on No. 6 drifts run 130' east and 460' west, and 
between No. 6 and No. 7 a drift runs 210' west. At the northwest 
end of No. 4 tunnel a break or split was encountered, the same as in 
the upper levels. 

The vein lies in a belt of amphibolite, between two bands of ser- 
pentine less altered than usual. This belt is about 300' wide at the 
widest part, but narrows to the northwest, where it passes under the 
gravels which cap the ridge and wedges out again to the southwest. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 113 

The vein strikes N. 45° W., and dips 30° to 45° NE., sometimes 60°. 
The quartz forms in lenses, varying from 1' to 12' in width, with rich 
spots which seem to follow poorly marked shoots which have a south- 
east pitch. The localization is considered to be due to an intersection 
of -two veins. The quartz carries free gold in bunches. Outside of 
the high grade the ore carries irregular amounts of sulphides, prin- 
cipally pyrite, but including also galena, sphalerite and chalcopyrite. 
Prom 1% to 2% of concentrates run $80 to $100 per ton. 

Equipment consists of 2 Westinghouse generators, 180-h.p., 220 volt, 
and 240-h.p., 220 volt ; two compressors, 550 cubic foot and 700 cubic 
foot capacity, Norwalk and IngersoU, respectively, and a Ward drill 
sharpener, houses, etc. The mill is equipped with a 20-stamp 850-lb. 
Joshua Hendy battery and 4 Johnson concentrators. Mill and con- 
centrating plant were destroyed by fire March 17, 1915, but a new 
15-stamp battery and concentrators, arranged to facilitate th-i 
addition of extra units, went into operation on July 5, 1915. 

Water is obtained from Middle Fork Yuba River under 94' head 
through 6000' of 34" redwood pipe. Transportation costs are $15 
per ton from Nevada City. 

[The mine was closed in the summer of 1918 and the manager's 
absence made it impossible to get any new data. The winze is said 
to have reached a depth of 800' below No. 4 tunnel, which is said to 
be the limit attainable with the present hoist. Information regard- 
ing reopening of the property is conflicting. — C. A. Logan.] 

Prospect Oroup. Owner, Prospect Mining Company. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 2, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., i mile soutli 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3600'. 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property embraces the Triple Pocket, York, Jump and Cleo- 
patra claims, a total of 96.22 acres of patented land. 

Rainbow Mine. Owner, J. H. Hunt, San Francisco. Leased to 
E. S. Brindle and Company. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 2 and 3, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile 

south of Alleghany, thence 31 miles by road southwest to Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4000'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII, p. 270; XIII, p. 381. Ferguson, 

H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 177. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 

Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, 

Colfax. 

The Rainbow property consists of three claims, all patented, the 
Farnham (12.6 acres). Groves (17.21 acres) and Hanley (20.64 acres), 
covering a length along the lode of 4500'. It is situated on the steep 
banks of Kanaka Creek. 

The vein was discovered in 1885 in the course of gravel mining and 
is said to have produced $1,500,000. There had been a 10-stamp mill 
which was burned down in May, 1913, on the property. Leased for 
six months to E. S. Brindle and Company, starting September 1, 1914. 



114 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The vein is developed by two tunnels. The lower one is a 1500' 
crosscut to the vein, then on it for 700'. The upper tunnel, 500' 
above lower tunnel, is 3000' in length. An upraise from the lower 
connects with the upper tunnel. 

Two veins have been developed to some extent. The smaller one 
has an average strike of about N. 15° W., and dips 65° W.; the other 
vein has a general strike of about N. 70° W., and dips 30° to 65° 
north. The latter has furnished the gold yielded by the mine. The 
quartz is milky white, generally between 1' and 2' wide, but in some 
places reaches 5' or 6'. Intersecting veins enter from both foot and 
hanging wall, but a band of gouge everywhere separates the inter- 
secting vein from the main vein, indicating later movement parallel 
to the strike. The ore occurs in small rich shoots, very rich masses 
of free gold and arsenopyrite having been taken out around the edges 
of the large mass of quartz found near the intersection of two veins. 

There is an Ingersoll-Rand 12" x 14" single stage compressor on the 
property. Both electricity and water are used for power. Water is 
obtained from Kanaka Creek under 160' head. 

Consolidated with the Twenty-One, in April, 1915. B. W. Mitchell, 
manager. 

RaO (or Rao) Prospect. Owner, R. T. Garnier, 1735 Mission 
street, South Pasadena. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sec. 34, T. 19 N.. R. 10 E.. mine at Alle- 
ghany; Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) 31 miles southwest by road. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This prospect contains 14 acres. The vein strikes N. 60° W., the 
country rock being schist and serpentine. One crosscut tunnel runs 
55' to a stringer vein and 50' is driven on this. A new crosscut 
tunnel, which will be 150' long, was being run to strike the big vein. 

The Osceola adjoins on the south. 

Red Jacket Claim. Owner, Thos. Rose, Pike City. 

Location: Pike City Mining District, 28 miles by road north of Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Bonded, together with the Good Hope and Good Hope Extension 
claims, to H. J. Elbert of Grass Valley in April, 1915. The claims lie 
on Oregon Creek and have been prospected sufficiently to indicate the 
presence of rich ore. The new operator has arranged for vigorous 
development and has started preliminary work. 

Red Ledge Mine. (Red Chief.) Owner, Bank Mining and Pro- 
motion Company, Prudential Building, Buffalo, New York; W. H. 
Barnhart, at same address, president. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 12, T. 18 N., R. 9 E. ; Forest 6 miles 

northeast; Nevada City 33 miles southwest by road. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 

142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 115 

This property consists of four locations, held by the present com- 
pany for 14 years. The surface is steep. 

About 75 tons of machinery and 50,000 feet of lumber had been 
delivered (December, 1914) preparatory to construction of a mill the 
next spring. A crosscut has passed through 122' of $4.50 to $7 ore. 
J. B. Moulton in charge. The new 10-stamp mill was placed in com- 
mission in September, 1915. Byron James, superintendent (since 
deceased). 

Republic Grroup. Owner, A. B. Jenkins, Tuolumne City. 

Location : Downieville Mining District. Downieville is 44 miles by road north- 
easterly from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The property consists of two claims on which assessment work was 
being done in 1914. 

Rising Sun Mine. Owners, F. Morton, San Francisco, and Alfred 
B. Morton, Baltimore, Maryland. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile east of 

Alleghany, thence 31 miles by road to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Elevation 4430'. 
Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XI, p. 418 ; XII, p. 382. Lindgren, W., 

U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. Survey 

Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property has not been worked for 15 or 20 years. Old work- 
ings are inaccessible. 

Robinson Claim. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District. Sierra City is 56 miles northeast by 
road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.), and 20 miles by road south of 
Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Adjoins the Antlered Crest. 

Roman Claim. Owner Richard Phelan, Phelan Building, San Fran- 
cisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 19 N., R. 12 E.. 2 miles south- 
east of Sierra City, thence 56 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R R). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Sacred Mount Mine. Owners, Richard Phelan, Phelan Building, 
San Francisco, and Dennis Phelan, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 20 N.. R. 12 E., 1 mile from 
Sierra City and 20 miles south of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

This property was located in 1900 by Sam Langdon, who sold it to 
Richard Phelan. It is situated above Sierra City, on the south slope 
of Sierra Buttes. 

The vein has been developed by a 100' tunnel drifted on the ledge. 
Ore was stoped to the surface 65', and worked through the Butte 
Saddle Mill. The vein is a quartz fissure coursing northeast through 
country rock of quartz porphyry and slate. 



116 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

A. Church and associates, lessees, were sinking a winze during 
March, 1916, to get under ore assaying $8 per ton on the surface. 
Bonded, in April, 1916, together with the Buttes Saddle property, to 
San Francisco operators. 

A cyanide plant, completed in 1915, was in operation on tailings 
which assay over $9 per ton. 

Salinas acd Mercer Claims. Owner, Ed. Freeman, Sierra Valley. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 35, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 5 miles west 
of Sierra City, 51 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R R.). Elevation 5700'. 

Bibliography : Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Assessment work only being done. 

San Lois Mine. Owner, Mitchner Mining Company, and H. Mitch- 
ner, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 6, T. 19 N., R. '12 E., 2i miles 
southwest of Sierra City, thence 20 miles north by road to Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.). Elevation 6000' to 7000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The San Lois property contains four or five claims. There is good 
timber on the property, but no ore has ever been milled. 

Development work consists of a lower tunnel 1000' long, which did 
not encounter the vein, and an upper tunnel, 1000' above the lower 
one, which cut the vein 250' in. Drifts were run each way, 150' 
and 100'. 

The maximum width of the vein is 2'. It strikes east, and has a 
dip of 60° S. between a foot-wall of slate, and a hanging wall of 
porphyry. The country is pretty well broken up. 

Equipment consists of a boarding house and blacksmith shop, A 
contemplated 5-stamp mill, to be run by steam, was never erected. 

Adjoining mines are the Roman and the Keystone. 

Sebastopol Mine. (Last Resort Placer Claim.) Owners, Chris 
Hansen and Brothers, Sierra City. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 21 and 26, T. 21 N., R. 12 E. 
Blairsden is 17 miles north by good road. Elevation 7000'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of the following locations: the Sebastopol, 
Extension and Star, a total of 60 acres, covering 3000' along the 
Sebastopol vein and 1500' along the Star. The property is situated 
in Mountain Meadows and contains good timber. 

It was worked in early days as a placer mine, and proved rich. 
The present owners discovered quartz in 1912. 

The Sebastopol vein is developed by a 300' crosscut, which is driven 
250' on the vein. The greatest depth reached below the outcrop is 
90', and one raise 60' long is driven to the surface. 



/ 



SIERRA COUNTY. 117 

The deposit consists of quartz and altered country rock, carrying 
free gold and less than 1% of sulphides. There is no well-defined 
vein. The foot-wall is augite-porphyrite, altered near the vein, and 
the hanging wall is said to be the same. The lode varies from 12' to 
20' between walls and gold is stated to be found throughout. Its 
strike is east, the dip 70° N., and it can be traced on the surface for 
600'. One pay shoot 250' in length developed. 

Equipment consists of cars and a blacksmith shop. A 5-stamp 
Risdon mill is now being erected, the mill building being large enough 
for 10 stamps. Five men were employed in 1914. 

Water is obtainable from the Westphal Dam under 90' head. 

Adjoining mines are the Round Lake quartz mine and the Westphal 
placer claim. The latter has not been worked for the last five or 
six years. 

Secret Canon Mine. Owner, George Henk. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 1, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles south- 
east of Downieville, thence 44 miles by road, southwest to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Assays on manganese ore from the shaft being sunk on the ledge 
by George Henk showed values of from $38 to $80 per ton. Negotia- 
tions were nearing culmination, in August, 1915, for the acquisition 
of important quartz and placer properties by George Henk and 
associates, representing California and eastern investors. The hold- 
ings concerned extend from Secret Canon to Forest and embrace the 
Ruby and other mines. 

Shaughnessy Claim. Owner, Wm. Shaughnessyj Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining. District, Sec. 32, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., in upper end 
of Shady Flat and Mobile Flat. Downieville is 44 miles northeasterly by 
road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Shaman Mine. Owners, Bradbury Estate, Mrs. E. J. Jenkins, 
Seattle. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., and Sees. 3 and 4, T. 18 N., 

R. 10 E., IJ miles southwest of Alleghany, thence 31 miles by road to 

Nevada City. 
Bibliography: Perguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survev Bull. 580, p. 175. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper, 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 66. Colfax. 

The Sherman property consists of one patented claim, the General 
Sherman, 25 acres in area, and covering 2200' along the lode. H. G. 
Ferguson has substantially the following to say regarding this 
property : 

"There is a tunnel 1000' long on the vein (100' below its outcrop). The main vein 
is well defined for the first 700'. At 650' from the portal the tynnel encountered a 
nearly horizontal quartz stringer, which has been followed for 450'. Beyond this It 
pinches out, and only small discontinuous stringers of quartz are found to a point 
within about 50' of the face, where a vein about 1' wide comes in. 

The vein is sinuous, the strike varying between north and N. 30° W., and the dip 
averaging about 60° W. The vein material is white quartz, slightly iron-stained. 
In places it contains small inclusions of schist, and rarely small patches of pyrlte 
associated with a little minutely crystalline arsenopyrite. Parallel to the walls are 
streaks of gouge, containing pyrite." 



118 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The average width of the vein is 3', the maximum from 10' to 12'. 
Electricity is used for power. The Nevada group of mines adjoins. 

Sierra Alaska Miniiig Company. (Alaska Mine.) Owners, Sierra 
Alaska Mining Company, Pike City ; W. S. Schuyler, Pike City, presi- 
dent, and Oliver Crook, Pike City, secretary. 

Location: Pike City Mining District Sees. 5 and 7, T. 18 N., R. 9 E., I mile 
north of Pike City; 25 miles, by wagon and automobile road, north of 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. VI, part II, p. 58; XII, p. 261; XIII, 
p. 371. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Sierra Alaska property embraces the following claims: The 
Bates (11 acres), Spencer (11 acres), Phillips (9 acres). Grizzly (17.18 
acres), all patented, and the Hog Eye (20.65 acres), New Alaska 
Extension (20 acres). Parasite (20 acres) and Lonesome Cub (20 
acres), unpatented, as well as two patented homesteads, making a 
total of 480 acres. The Alaska lode is covered for a length of 4600', 
and the Grizzly for 2600'. There is some timber on the property. 

The lodes were discovered in 1863 in washing Texas Ravine. The 
property has been sold to two different companies, and exploited in 
London and Glasgow. It was sold to an English company, then 
bought by present owners at a bankrupt sale in 1904. The total pro- 
duction to date has been about $1,000,000 from 100,000 tons of ore. 
Forty men were working in 1914. 

The mine is developed by a vertical 3-compartment shaft, 900' deep. 
At level No. 1, 120' below the collar, there is a drain tunnel 1300' 
long; on level No. 2, 300' deep, is a drift 800' west on the Cassely 
vein spur. On level No. 3, 450' deep, a drift runs 1500' east on the 
Alaska vein, also a crosscut 62' west of the shaft runs to the Cassely. 
Drifted on the Cassely for 400', then crosscut 200' to the Grizzly and 
drifted 320' on the vein. At 550' (No. 4 level), crosscut 165' to the 
Cassely, drifted on Cassely 235' west, crosscut 76' to the north, to the 
Alaska vein and drifted on the latter 130' west and 1900' east. At 
680' (No. 5 level), crosscut 64' to the Alaska vein and straight into 
the northwest wall 266', then drifted west 200' and east 1500'. A 
main winze being sunk 1325', was down 235' and drifting east and 
west from the 115' level was in progress in 1914. The areas stoped 
are very irregular. 

Grizzly workings : No. 1 tunnel, 80' below surface, was run 200' on 
the vein. The No. 2, starting in the drain tunnel of the Alaska, rims 
770' on the vein. At 760' in, a raise now 100' up, is being driven to 
the surface for ventilation. 

The Alaska vein is characterized by lenses in serpentine. These 
lenses are quartz, and calcite with quartz, carrying free leaf and 
crystal gold. There is some ribbon rock. The vein averages 84' 
' '^tween walls, while the quartz lenses have a maximum width of 16'. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 119 

As a rule the best values are in the enlarged part of vein, in true 
lenses. The vein strikes N. 53° E., and dips 80° N. from the surface 
to the 680' level, where it swings and at the 900' level it dips 45° S. 
The Grizzly vein shows in line. Its walls are diabase, and the strike 
is N. 78° E., the dip varying from 36° to 45° N. 

It is necessary to pump 712,000 gallons per day from level No. 3, 
using two Worthington 4-stage centrifugal pumps, 1000 gallons each, 
against a 380' head. On No. 5 a Jamesville 150-h.p. turbine pumps 
330,000 gallons to No. 3. On No. 4 a Byron Jackson 2-stage 50-h.p. 
turbine pumps against a 100' head. A maximum of 1,500,000 gallons 
per day is handled. There is also a 35-h.p. 3-stage 4" Albinger 
pumping 300 gallons per minute against a 200' head. 

Equipment consists of an 850 cubic foot 98-lb. compressor, made 
with Regler valves, requiring 185 horsepower loaded, a machine shop, 
lathe, drill press, blacksmith shop complete. Ward drill sharpener, 
and a 2-drum, 75-h. p. General Electric hoist capable of 1500'. 
Reduction equipment consists of a 40-stamp Joshua Hendy mill con- 
taining 20 850-lb. stamps and 20 1050-lb. stamps, using 35-mesh 
screens with high discharge, giving 92% amalgamated in the mortar. 
The mill was erected in August, 1912, and also contains 6 Wilfley and 
2 Deister tables. Water from the mine is used in the mill. 

Power is obtained from thfe Pacific Gas and Electric Company at 
440 volts. The total operating cost per ton is from $3.90 to $4; 
wages were $2.75, $3 and $3.25. Transportation from Nevada City 
costs $9 per ton. Reported idle in 1917. 

Sierra Buttes Mine. Owners, E. A. and J. 0. Hayes, San Jose. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 1 mile north- 
west of Sierra City, thence 20 miles north to Blairsden, by road. Eleva- 
tion 4300' to 6000'. 

Bibliography: Cal. State Min. Bur, Rpts. VI, part II, p. 56; VIII, p. 573; X. 
p. 643 ; XI, p. 402 ; XII, p. 272 ; XIII, p. 382. Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. 
Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey 
Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 
37. Downieville. 

The Sierra Buttes property consists of fifteen claims, six of which 
are not patented, and includes the Independence quartz, Bigelow 
quartz and millsite, Buttes Union quartz and Ariel quartz; also the 
Oaks, Excelsior, Buttes and Packer placer claims. There is a total 
of 660 acres, 360 of which is timber acreage. The property is situated 
on the steep side of Sierra Buttes and covers a length of a mile and 
a half along both veins. 

Work was first begun on the mine in 1850. It was owned and 
mined by an English company between 1870 and 1904 or 1905, when 
it was purchased by Hayes, since which time it has been continuously 
worked. The production by the English company was in the neigh- 
borhood of $17,000,000. 



120 MINES AND MINBRAI. RESOURCES. 

Mining was being done in 1914 from the sixth level. On the ninth 
level, 1200' northwest of the shaft, ore which averages $9 is 8aid to 
have been encountered. A crosscut driven 400' into the hanging wall 
tneountered a ledge which is probably one of the branches of the 
Ariel vein. The No, 9 tunnel runs in from the level of the road at 
Sierra City. 7200', to the Independence shaft, then 1350' to the end 
of the drift. Of the 7200', 2000' is crosscut, the balance on the ledge. 
The No. 6 level is 400' farther into the hill than the end of No. 9. 
The main slope is the Mammoth, which follows down the Independ- 
ence shaft. Stoped, at places, above the eighth level. 



There are several veins in the property. The Ariel, also caJled 
Independence, is the main one. The South Cliff is a branch vein from 
the "Whiskey, which approaches the Ariel, but does not intersect it. 
The Ariel branches into a number of different veins on the ninth level, 
on which practically no prospecting has been done. The veins are 
quartz fissures, carrying free gold, pyrite and a small amount of 
galena and chalcopyrite. The Ariel is from 6' to 20' in width, the 
f-trikc varying from N. 51" W. to S. 80° W. The dip is 54° N. The 
foot-wall is greenstone and serpentine; the hanging wall quartz- 
porphyry. Four pay shoots developed, the Mammoth being 300' long 
and from 15' to 20' wide. 

Mine equipment consists of a 2-stage compressor driven by water 
power under 500' head, a blacksmith shop, 10 Ingersoll machine drills, 
and boarding house. There are two mills, the lower one containing 



SIERRA COUNTY. 121 

-iO 900-!b. stamps erected in 1905 aud run by water caught at No. 8 
level, 500' above. The ore is handled by tramway. The upper mill 
is a 20-8tamp Pulton, 850-lb. stamps, with Challenge feeders. This 
mill is at No. 5 level. Both mills were in running order in 1915. The 
com pressor- house, part of stamp mill and other equipment was swept 
away by a snowslide on January 9, 1916. 

A ditch from Salmon and Sardine lakes delivers 300 inches of water 
at No. 6 level under a i>00' head, a 1600' head abo^"^ the river. 



Pholo No. 19. Open cul alonf; outcroii of Sinra Buttrs lod(. 

A eroaseut driven into the hanging wall from No. 6 tunnel (July, 
]!)15) intersected a new vein from 5' to 6' wide, with ore of good 
milling grade showing. The vein is in new territory, with about 
IMO' of backs available. 

The Bigclow claim was bonded to the Croesus Mining Company of 
Xew York in July, 1915. 

Sierra PoormaJl Mine. Owner, Sierra Poorman Mining Company, 
Downieville, 



! Fodo 37, Downieville. 
The following claims comprise the Sierra Poorman property: Little 
Boulder, Big Boulder, Poorman, Black Angel, Iron Cube, Bine Jay 
and Highland, 



122 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Sierra Standard Miiuiig Company. Owner, Sierra Standard Min- 
ing Company, Downieville; Jason S. Frye, Downieville, president; 
R. E. Blevins, Colusa, secretary. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 22, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles 
north of Downieville, which is 44 miles northeast by road from Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4250'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Sierra Standard Mining Company's property embraces two full 
and three fractional mining claims, the Standard, Baker, Baker South 
Extension, Standard Extension and Standard West Extension, having 
a combined area of 80 acres and covering a length along the lode of 
2010'. In general contour the surface is steep, and it contains some 
timber. 

The property was located by Tom Steel and Baker, who extracted 
$28,000. It was purchased by the present owners from Crittenden in 
1910. The total production to 1915 is said to be $75,000. Assessment 
work only is being done at present. 

Development consists of a 77' crosscut adit to the Big vein, then 
along the vein 250' to its intersection with a cross-vein. It was 
followed 100' beyond the intersection and then crosscut 60' to the 
cross-vein. Drifted on cross-vein for 150' and then crosscut back 
into the hanging wall for 100' to the Big vein. There are six tunnels, 
from a few feet to 120' in length on the Big vein. A block 40' by 
120' by from 5' to 8' was stoped on the cross-vein, producing $55,000. 

The Big vein is quartz with gouge and talc in places near the con- 
tact of serpentine and porphyry. The ore carries free gold and is 
oxidized near the surface. The walls are porphyry, the distance 
between walls being 14', and the average width of vein 4'. It strikes 
N. 40° W., dips 50° to 60° E., and has a proven length on the surface 
of 1500'. The production of this vein has been about $20,000. The 
cross-vein carries free gold and arsenical pyrites. It crosses the for- 
mation layers of black porphyry, strikes east, dips 45°, and is from 
3' to 4' in width. 

The mine is equipped with a 42 cubic foot 4^" x 4^" upright Duplex 
air compressor. A 350' ditch delivers a minimum of 12 inches and a 
maximum of 500 inches of water under a 125' head from Sailor 
Ravine, averaging 200 inches for six months of the year. 

The Oxford mine adjoins. 

Sixteen to One Mine. Owner, Original *16 to 1' Mine, Incorpo- 
rated; S. B. Connor, 2009 Central avenue, Alameda, president; 
Walter C. Beatie, 607 Monadnock Building, San Francisco, secretary. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sees. 3 and 4, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., | mile 

southwest of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road to Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4400'. 
Bibliography: Ferguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 175. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 



SEEBRA COUNTY. 123 

The '16 to 1' property consists of two claims, both fractions, the 
'16 to 1' and the Bagle, covering a length along the lode of 2200'. It 
is situated on the steep slope between Alleghany and Kanaka Creek. 

The property was located in 1908 by Lawson and Bradbury. Its 
production is estimated by H. G. Ferguson to have been between 
$150,000 and $300,000. 

The main tunnel is a 125' crosscut to vein, then 900' on the vein. 
From this level a winze is driven 325' on the dip of the vein on an 



Photo No. 20. SUtctD to One mine in left center. TighCner mine on right. 

ore shoot, with levels every 50' to 100', The upper tunnel, 125' 
above, is connected with the lower tunnel by three raises. One other 
winze 30' deep is located 20' beyond where the crosscut struck the 
vein. H. G. Ferguson' describes the deposit aa follows : 

"The country rock Is amphlbollte: in piBcea near the vein slUclfled, and alons the 
walls It Is everywhere much crushed. The strike of the vein la northwest. The dip 
\a to the northeast— In the raise above the adit about 30', at the adit level 60', and 
in the winze from 60' Id T0°. For about 200' along: the tunnel there Is a well- 
deflned quartz vein. Beyond Is a band o( giouge, In places 2' wide, which carries 
email lenses of quartz mixed with marlposlte and dolomite. The pay ore occurred 
in a single shoot, about SO' In width along the drift and 100' up the dip, which had 
a pitch of 30* to 10° northwest. Within this shoot the high grade ore occurred In 
small zonea transverse to the pitch of the shoot." 

Equipment consists of two compressors, a Grant 10" x 12" Duplex 
and a Clayton 10" x 10", an electric hoist with ^ton skip, blacksmith 
iihop, machine shop, storehouse, bunkhouse and boarding house. 
Reduction equipment consists of a crusher and Burdln pan- 
amalgamator (150-lb.), Electricity is used for power. 

Twenty men employed in March, 1916. 

The Tightner mine adjoins. 

•V. S. Geol. Survey Bulletin 580, pace 175. 



124 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

A light 10-stamp mill, formerly in use at a mine near Washington, 
was hauled to the Sixteen to One late in 1918, and was reported to be 
ready for operation January 15, 1919. A new hoist has also been 
installed. 

The vein being mined has recently been the subject of a lawsuit 
between this company and the Twenty-One Mining Company. The 
latter company was said to be mining the downward extension of the 
Sixteen to One's vein. In the suit the Twenty-One Company con- 
tended that the vein was an extension of one outcropping within their 
own surface boundaries. On the showing made in the underground 
workings, judgment was awarded the Sixteen to One. 

Finally, the Twenty-One Company brought suit to force the Sixteen 
to One to confine mining operations on the Sixteen to One vein, under 
the surface of the Twenty- One property, strictly to the area of the 
vein as defined by the walls. This latter case had not been decided 
in February, 1919. 

Slug Canon Tunnel Company. Owner, Slug Canon Tunnel Com- 
pany; I. Copeland, 530 California street, San Francisco, manager. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 3, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., li miles 
soiitli of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3500'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min.. Bur. 
Rpt. XIII, p. 382. 

South Fork Gk>ld Mining Company. Owners, South Kio Antigua 
7vlining Company, Los Angeles, California ; A. E. Pomeroy, president, 
701 Grant Building, Los Angelas; E. S. Field, secretary, Los Angeles; 
Jas. II. Hurin, treasurer, 337 Douglas Building, Los Angeles. 

Location: F'orest Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., situated within 
the town of Forest City, 39 miles by road northeast of Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The ledges, 12 or 13 in number, are included in 10 claims, the 
Amethyst, Amethyst Extension, Phoebe, Mable, Marguerite, Verdi, 
Lady Bug, Honey Bee, Bullion and another, aggregating 200 acres, 
most of which is also covered by placer locations. 

There is no development work on the veins, but assessment work is 
now being done. 

The so-called Tightner ledge is 60' between walls and contains 
quartz in bunches. The foot-wall is slate, the hanging wall porphyry. 
It strikes N. 12° W., and dips 45° E. In July, 1915, drifting was 
being done on a ledge thought to be an extension of the Tightner 
vein system. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 125 

Sovereign Mine. (Mascot.) Owners, Pacific Coast Real Estate 
and Investment Company, Monterey. Dr. Roberts, president, Mon- 
terey; H. A. Morse, Sierra City; H. E. Mertz, secretary, Monterey. 
Leased to George Bigelow and Horace A. Morse. 

Location:. Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 24, T. 20 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles 
northwest of Sierra City, thence 20 miles by road north to Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.). Elevation 5500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Sovereign mine consists of ten claims, a total of 200 acres, 
covering a length along the lode of 4500'. 

The Nevada vein is tapped by a 700' crosscut which gives 350' of 
backs. From this point drifts have been run 150' north and 100' 
south on the vein, and a raise of 60' put up. A 115' shaft has been 
sunk on the Elanore vein, and a timnel 175' long has been driven on 
the Yuba vein. A 400' crosscut had not reached the Yuba vein 
in 1914. Practically no stoping has been done, the mine just having 
been opened up. Six men were to be employed. The tailings, which 
average $5, are leased to George E. Bigelow, Sierra City, who is 
putting up a 25-ton cyanide plant. 

The Nevada vein is a fissure vein cutting across the strike of the 
slates, the ore running 3% pyrite and galena. Free gold averages 
$1.50. It has a maximum thickness of 11', but averages 3', strikes 
north, dips 60° W., and has a proven length on the surface of 4500'. 
The Yuba vein carries free gold, with very little sulphides. It has a 
width of 12', strikes N. 20° W. and dips 55°. The Elanore vein 
carries free gold and has a width of 3', strikes N. 10° E. and dips 
60° W. 

Equipment consists of two 50- ton Beer's roller mills, 30-50 mesh, 
and a 25-ton cyanide plant, agitated with air, 3 Overstrom concen- 
trators, air compressor, drills, etc. A new compressor is being 
installed. Water is carried in a 14" pipe under a 250' head from 
Ladies Canon, giving a minimum of 85 horsepower at low water. 

The Lee mine is two miles northeast of this property, and the 
Sierra Buttes adjoins. 

St. Charles Hill. (See under Drift Mines.) 

Steamboat. (See under Drift Mines.) 

Swastika Mining Company. (Chipps.) Owner, Swastika Mining 
Company, 304 Kohl Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 26 and 27, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 

2 miles west of Sierra City. Elevation 4675'. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73. Turner, H. W., 

U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. X, p. 652 ; 

XI, p. 402; XIII, p. 374. 

The old Chipps mine consists of one quartz and placer claim, 
patented, 158.5 acres in area. Many pockets and rich bunches of ore 

9— -46901 



126 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

were taken from it in early days. Development work is being done 
by a shaft sunk on a shoot which was encountered in 1912. In 
August, 1915, the 10-stamp mill was placed in commission, and it is 
stated that there is enough ore exposed to keep it running indefinitely. 

Telegraph Mining Company. Owner, Telegraph Mining Syndicate ; 
Dr. H. W. Pearson, 116 South Michigan boulevard, Chicago, president. 
H. V. Hughes, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 4, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 8 miles north 
of Downieville, by wagon road ; thence 44 miles southwest by road to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 5500' to 6000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Gcol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 
Rpt. XI, p. 410. 

This property consists of seventeen and one-half claims, both 
quartz and gravel, with a total area of 340 acres. It is situated on 
a steep lava-covered ridge, and contains some timber. It was located 
in 1889, and called the Telephone mine. The owner, Mitchell, took 
out $500,000 from the gravel, it having averaged $50 to the car. A 
company was formed in Chicago and purchased the property 12 years 
ago. They advanced the purchase price $30,000, and also $15,000 
additional, and a power house (40 horsepower) usin^ water from 
the mine and melting snow, giving a minimum of 10-15 horsepower 
and a maximum of 100 horsepower was built. It was worked for 
four or five years when a quartz ledge was discovered, which was 
drifted on 50' and stoped 30' to the lava capping above. A 5-stamp 
mill was carried away by a snowslide, rebuilt, and again carried away 
in 1907, after which the mine was closed down. It was reopened in 
1908 to prospect for gravel. 

The gravel claims of the Telegraph Company were bonded to Hunt 
ajid Bell in June, 1915. There is no well-defined channel, but 
apparently a series of benches. 

The property has been developed by a 1500' tunnel, and two shafts, 
one 65' deep not on the vein, and one 35' deep on the vein. The main 
tunnel branches, one branch extending 500' north to an incline in the 
old workings, the other running 800' east, where work will be recom- 
menced. The main tunnel has been retimbered, and the compressor 
and hoisting machinery have been overhauled and put in shape to 
begin sinking on the vein at once. 

Equipment consists of a 5-stamp Hendy mill with 750-lb. stamps, 
concentrator and boarding houses, and a 180-gallon per minute 
centrifugal pump. 

Adjoining mines are the Hilo and Monte Cristo. 

Serious damage to buildings and machinery by fire and snowslides 
compelled suspension of active quartz development. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 

Tightner Mine. Owner, Tightner Mines Company ; Robt. Bedford, 
manager, eare North Star Jlines Company, Grass Valley. 

Location: Forest Mining District. Sees. 27 and S4, T. 19 N., R 10 B. The 
mine Is unilerneath tlie town ot Allegliany. Nevada City (N. C. N. Q. 
R. R.) Is 31 miles southwest by road. Daily stage except Sunday. Ele- 
vation -iOOO' to ROOD'. 

Bibliography: Keraiiaon, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 5S0. pp. 171-173. 
LInclBren. W,. U. B, Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73. pp, 112, 113. 142. U. S. 
GpoI. Survey Folio 8«, Colfai. 

The Tightner property consists of the following locations: the Con- 
tact, Contact Extension, one-third of Ellipse claim (to creek). Eclipse 
Extension and Red Star placer, which cover a length of one mile 
along the lode. The property is situated on a lava-eovered ridge with 
some timber, and the vein does not outcrop. The following data are 



Photo No. 21. Town ot Alleghany and Tightner mine below. 

drawn largely from Bulletin 580 1, U. S. Geol. Survey, by H. Q. 
Ferguson ; 

The Tightner vein was rediscovered by H. L. Johnson in 1907, 
During the placer operations of early days the vein had been cut in 
a bedrock tunnel, but no attention was then paid to it. Mr. Johnson, 
interested by stories of old-timers regarding rich quartz gold, 
reopened the old tunnel and is reported to have taken out nearly 
$500,000 in gold. The present company began operations in 1911 
and has developed the vein on the lower level. The production under 
the present management had been about $600,000 up to Jane, 1913. 

The upper tunnel (elevation 4495.8') was driven in from the ravine, 
30' below the hotel, and at a distance of 650' encountered the vein. 
A number of tons of very rich ore were taken out, and several other 
rich bunches were discovered in drifting and sinking. A fault, slip 



128 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

J 00' vertical and 300' horizontal, was encountered in sinking, and the 
vein was lost. A lower tunnel was started from the North Fork of 
Kanaka Creek, one-half mile below the town on the Eclipse claim, at 
an elevation of 4082.5'. It was driven in a northwest direction 
through the hanging wall of the vein for a distance of 1265', where a 
crossing was encountered with talc gouge and quartz stringers. A 
drift was started N. 30° W. on this formation, and at a distance of 
350' north of crosscut intersected the main vein striking north. 

The Tightner vein is a fissure vein in schist, altered near the vein 
and slips to talcose or chloritic schist. Hydrothermal alteration is 
common, but irregular. Masses of dolomite and mariposile are 
irregularly distributed along the walls, and in places there is silicifi- 
cation as well. The vein crosses the steeply dipping laminae of the 
schist, but the schist is so sheared and altered near the walls that 
the difference in dip between the vein and the schist can only rarely 
be observed. The fissure vein, which is faulted by a vertical slip 100' 
and horizontal 300', has a well-defined black clay gouge on the fault 
wall, showing striations raking 73° to the north from horizontal. 
The principal values are in rich * specimen' gold, which occurs in 
'rich bunches' in poorly defined ore shoots. Arsenopyrite carrying 
large amounts of free gold makes up the rich ore. The foot-wall is 
amphibolite schist, altered schist, talcose, etc. The hanging wall is 
soft and heavy talc, chloritic schist and serpentine. The maximum 
width of the vein is 20', the average from 3' to 5'. Its strike varies 
in different parts through an angle of 45°, around north. The dip 
\aries from 30° to 55° E. The rich ore taken from the lower work- 
ings has come from two areas, one just south of the winze connecting 
the upper and lower workings and the other about 700' north of the 
winze. At each place the vein is wider than the average, its width 
being about 7' at one place and 10' at the other ; moreover, they both 
lie at the north ends of marked enlargements of the vein and at 
nearly equal distances, about 100', north of intersecting veins. In 
March, 1916, the long crosscut from the lower adit intersected the 
Osceola vein, disclosing medium grade ore. Crosscutting was being 
continued to reach the Red Star ledge, which yielded bonanza in the 
upper workings. 

Milling is done with mine water. The 10-stamp mill is running 
steadily. About 100 men were employed in the summer of 1915. 

The mine and mill were being operated with a small force of men 
in September, 1918. The lower levels of the mine have been tempo- 
rarily abandoned, but some stoping was being done above the main 
working tunnel. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 129 

The Tightner vein has been prospected for 1200' on the strike and 
for 800' on the horizontal projection of the dip, the winze having 
reached an inclined depth of 340' below the upper (main) level. The 
main tunnel has been driven north 6500' under the Red Star claim 
without developing much rich ore. There is an unprospected vein 
varying in width from 6" to 30' on the Contact Extension claim. 

Where the ore was low grade, pillars were left and no timber was 
used; in good ore, stulls and headboards were put in. An electric 
hoist at the top of the winze brought the ore from the lower levels 
and it was hauled thence to the mill by mules. Mining costs about 
$4 a ton. Only about 15 men were employed in September, 1918, and 
it was said to be nearly impossible to get miners. 

It was found that the galena in the concentrate carried about $100 
a ton, while the pyrite was worth only about $40 a ton. On account 
of the lack of any plant nearby for treating the sulphides, and the 
high cost of hauling to the railroad ($20 a ton being the rate to 
Nevada City) a differential concentration was being made in 1915. 
The galena was saved on two Deister tables and the pyrite was run 
to waste. This plan was abandoned soon, and lately all the sulphides 
have been saved and stored. Two new batteries of five heavy stamps 
each on concrete foundations were running in 1915, giving a total of 
20 stamps with a capacity of about 2700 tons a month. Cost of treat- 
ment was said to be about $1 a ton. Besides $470,000 produced 
during the Johnson regime, the present company reports a yield of 
$1,526,000 to the end of 1917. 

Tightner Mine Dump. Owner, Tightner Mines Company. Leased 
to R. L. Hathaway and W. H. Martin, of Nevada City. The lessees 
erected a battery of five 850-lb. stamps in 1916. The rock milled was 
the dump thrown out during H. L. Johnson's regime. The mill was 
in operation from September 12, 1916, to September 1, 1917. It was 
run by electric power and plain amalgamation only was used. Prob- 
ably somewhat over 5000 tons were milled and it is said locally that 
a handsome profit was realized. 

Tomboy Eureka Mine. (Tomboy.) Owner, 0. P. Bixby, Forest. 

Location : Forest Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles west of 
Forest, 37 miles northeast by road from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Elevation 1300'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Tomboy Eureka property consists of two unpatented claims, 
the Tomboy and the Tomboy Extension, having an area of 40 acres, 
which covers a length along the lode of 3000', and the Eureka, a 
N.-S. claim along the serpentine contact. The property was located 
35 years ago, and relocated 20 years later by A. M. Bixby. The out- 
put to date has been between $4000 and $5000. 



130 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

The Tomboy vein is developed by a tunnel 12' crosscut and 200' 
driven on the vein. Another tunnel 50' below is a 240' crosscut, then 
140' on the vein ; 310' in from the mouth of the lower tunnel, there is 
a raise on an ore shoot. The Eureka vein is opened up by a 200' 
crosscut, and 100' on the vein. 

The Tomboy vein is quartz and porphyry, carrying free gold, a 
little arsenopyrite and pyrite, with porphyry walls. It varies from 
6" to 7' in width, strikes east, and dips 60° S. The Eureka vein 
varies from 3" to 3' in width, strikes north, and has a flat dip to the 
east. The ore is in lenses of quartz which carry principally arseno- 
pyrite. 

Equipment consists of a cabin, blacksmith shop, tools, etc. Elec- 
tricity is transmitted a distance of 1500' and used for power. 

The Kate Hardy mine adjoins. 

True Fissure Group. Owners, True Fissure Consolidated Quartz 
Mining Company, Geo. Reynolds and Bishop, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 19 and 30, T. 21 N., R. 12 E., 
7 miles north of Sierra City, tlience 56 miles southwesterly, by road, to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 7400'. 

Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 
part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey F'olio 37, Downieville. 

The True Fissure property is comprised of the following patented 
claims: Summit, Deer, Gold Lake, True Fissure and Cavern, a total 
of 90.17 acres. 

Twenty-One Mine. (21.) Owners, Twenty-One Mining Company, 
J. H. Hunt, San Francisco. Bonded to North America Exploration 
Company, 1023 Mills Building, San Francisco; J. H. G. Wolf, 1023 
Mills Building, president ; Dorsey Ash, secretary. 

Location: Alleghany Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 19 N., and Sec. 3, T. 18 N.. 

R. 10 E., i mile south of Alleghany, thence 31 miles by road southwest 

to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3500'. 
Bibliography: P'erguson, H. G., U. S. Geol. Survey Bull. 580, p. 174. Lindgren, 

W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, po. 112, 113, 142. U. S. Geol. 

Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Twenty-One property contains four claims, the Twenty-One, 
Belmont, Valentine and Tightner Extension, a total of 60 acres cover- 
ing 2400' along the lode. It is situated on the steep rise from Kitnaka 
Creek to Alleghany. The production from early day pocket mining 
to date has been about $100,000. The North American Exploration 
Company surrendered their bond in February, 1915, and the property 
was taken over by G. W. Mitchell and associates of Sacramento. 

There are two veins, the * 16 to 1' and the Tightner. The former is 
a quartz and talcose schist fissure vein, carrying free gold and arseno- 
pyrite, with walls of schist. It strikes N. 40° W. and dips northeast 
from 45° to vertical. The Tightner vein pinches and swells greatly, 
quartz being absent for considerable distances. Although at a lower 



SIERRA COUNTY. 131 

level than neighboring mines, there appears (according to H. G. 
Ferguson) to be more oxidation, and secondary pyrite is said to be 
prominent. The walls are schist, and the strike varies from N. 10° 
to 50° W., the dip being from 30° to 50°. 

Development work consists of an old shaft 165' deep, now full of 
water. A tunnel was driven 500' on the '16 to 1' vein from Kanaka 
Creek, then crosscut 155' northeast to the Tightner vein, which was 
drifted on for 1400', giving 900' of backs. At a point 350' from the 
face of the drift on the Tightner vein a 90' raise was driven. An inter- 
mediate drift was started at the top and some stoping has been done 
from this raise. Three shoots have been developed as follows: 120' 
north of the crosscut a shoot 120' long, 2' wide, averaging $7; 580' 
north a second shoot 240' long by 3^' wide, averaging $10; and 
1020' north a third shoot, 300' long by 4' wide, averaging $11. 

There is a blacksmith shop on the property and a mill with 10 
stamps. Lane mill and Frue vanners are being installed. Electric 
power is obtained from the Middle Yuba Power Company. 

Ten men were w^orking in 1914. 

The Tightner mine adjoins this prospect on the northwest. 

Late in 1918 the company was involved in a lawsuit with the Six- 
teen to One, in which judgment in the sum of $100,000 was awarded 
the latter, because of alleged invasion of the Sixteen to One vein. 

Uncle Sam Mine. Owners, John G. Binning, Alleghany; Owen T. 
Owens, Homer T. Gould, Forest. Bonded to North Fork Mining 
Company, 1301 Merchants National Bank Building, San Francisco; 
Alexander Russell, 1301 IMerchants National Bank Building, presi- 
dent; L. Tasheira, 405 Crocker Building, secretary. Gravel rights 
are rebonded to Wisconsin and North Fork Gravel Mines Company. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 15, 16, 21 and 22, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 
2 J miles north of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwest by road to Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 4600'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Patier 73, pp. 112, 113, 
and 142. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Uncle Sam property consists of the Uncle Sam and the Uncle 
Sam Extension placer claims, and the Simpson (1500' by 420'), 
Verrue (1500' by 420'), Yates (1500' by 220'), and Keller (1500' by 
220'), claims covering 3000' of the ledge discovered in working the 
gravels. 

The ground was worked in early days for gravel, and $100,000 was 
taken out. Stone began work on the ledge in 1910, and it has been 
developed by a 1037' inclined shaft (14°) through lava into the 
channel. A 700' crosscut runs to the west rim, from which point a 
55° inclined shaft, 75' to the first level and 100' to the second, 
encountered an ore shoot 120' long and 6' in width. A drift along 



132 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

the wall 100', and crosscut of 90', picked up a ledge dipping 60^ NE. 
On No. 2 level a 60' crosscut has been run into the hanging wall. 

A winze sunk in April, 1915, intersected an ore body 5' wide, 
showing gold and arsenical sulphides. A marked change in the vein 
occurred after passing water levels and the ore is the most peculiar 
ever found in the district. Extending to a point about 30' below 
water level the vein contained considerable iron sulphurets, some 
gold and traces of silver. Further down the sulphurets are displaced 
by arsenical minerals with a higher gold content and a rapid increase 
in silver values. In 1914 the ore was said to carry practically equal 
values in gold and silver, marking the first time in the history of the 
district that silver in important percentages has appeared. 

The ore occurs in quartz lenses carrying free gold, arsenopyrite, 
pyrite and marcasite. The foot-wall is chloritic schist and black 
coal,(?) the hanging wall is a hard diorite. The vein varies from 2' 
to 18' in width, strikes N. 20° W., and dips 80° SB. It is estimated 
that 2000 tons of $7 ore is exposed, and the erection of a 5-stamp mill 
is contemplated. 

Equipment consists of a blacksmith shop, 10-h.p. electric hoist, 
12"x 12" compressor and machine drills. Electricity is used for 
power. 

There were eight men employed in 1914. 

Union Consolidated Group. Owner, Tim Judge, Mount Pleasant. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District; Sierra City Is 56 miles by road, north- 
east of Nevada City (N. C. N. G, R R. > and 20 miles by road south of 
Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Wheeler Claim. Owners, John and Emma Hughes, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 26, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., i mile north 
of Downieville, thence 44 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). Elevation 3300'. 

Bibliography: U. S. G^ol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

William Tell Claim. Owner, Julius Johnson, Downieville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 34, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 1 mile east 

of Sierra City, thence 56 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 

(N. C. N. G. R R.). Elevation 5000'. 
Bibliography: Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, 

part I, p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State 

Min. Bur. Rpts. X, p. 653 ; XII, p. 275 ; XIII, p. 384. 

Assessment work only being done. 

Willowby Mine. Owners, Robert Jump, Fruitvale ; Ernest Farrel, 
Downieville. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 24. T. 21 N., R. 11 E., about 10 
miles north of Sierra City, and about 10 miles south of Blairsden 
(W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Willowby property consists of five claims, with a total area of 
100 acres. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 133 

It is an old mine, discovered by Willowby. In 1906 it was worked 
by Roddy, who purchased it for $20,000 from Pete Lorenzi, of Johns- 
ville. Roddy sold it to the present owners in 1909. 

The development works consists of two tunnels, one 566' long, part 
crosscut, and a lower one 700' long, part crosscut. Some stoping has 
been done on the front ledge. The back ledge is not cut by either 
tunnel, but ore was being taken in 1915 from a shaft, then 20' deep, 
which was being sunk on the back ledge. 

There are two parallel veins from 75' to 100' apart, both quartz 
fissure veins containing free gold, pyrite and galena. The strike is 
north, and the dip 60° W., between a foot-wall of slate and hanging 
wall of porphyry. Ore averaging $40 per ton was being taken out 
in June, 1915. 

Equipment consists of an old 10-stamp Union Iron Works mill, 
900-lb. stamps, and two concentrators, remodeled, and run by steam. 
There is also a boarding house, blacksmith shop and office. Four men 
are employed at present. 

Adjoining mines are the Oakland and Empire. 

York Mine. Owner, Mrs. M. L. Tinney, Downieville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec* 35, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 44 miles 

northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) by road. Elevation 3000'. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The York mine is located on the AUeghany-Downieville belt of 
serpentine, adjoining the townsite of Downieville on the south. It 
has yielded over $75,000 in bonanza ore that required no milling, from 
a shaft less than 100' deep, and was to be reopened in the summer of 

1915 under bond and optioij by a Sacramento company. Early in 

1916 preparations were under way for the unwatering of the old 
100' shaft preparatory to further sinking. All materials were on 
hand, and the work of repairing the power line was in progress. 
Geo. B. Morse is in charge. 

The Tinney Mines, Incorporated, of 825 Tenth street, Sacramento, 
was incorporated May 1, 1916, to take over the option. 

7oung America Mine. Owner, S. M. Green, Denver, Colorado. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 8 and 9, T. 20 N., R. 12 E., 4 miles 
north of Sierra City, 16 miles south by road from Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 
Elevation 6500'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
Turner, H. W., U. S. Geol. Survey Seventeenth Annual Report, part I, 
p. 653, 1896. U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. 
Bur. Rpts. X, p. 643; XII, p. 275; XIII, p. 384. 

The Young America mine, formerly a large producer, was bought in 
1893 by S. M, Green, of Denver, for $13,500. Since that time it has 
lain idle. The ore ran about $3.25 per ton. All the old workings 
are inaccessible and the old mill was burned. Bonlay and Zachert, 
in July, 1915, purchased the tailings dump, which is said to contain 



134 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

from 50,000 to 60,000 tons assaying from $1.50 to $2.50 per ton. They 
will be treated by a special process, reported to be oil flotation. 

Yuba Consolidated Group. Owner, Sierra-Yuba Gold Quartz 
Mining Company, 1744 Oxford street, Berkeley, California. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sees. 10 and 11, T. 18 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles 
south of Alleghany, thence 31 miles southwesterly, by road, to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Yuba Consolidated comprises the following patented claims : 
the Yuba (Ireland) (19.26 acres), Yuba Extension (18.36 acres), and 
the Arabian (20.64 acres). 



GOLD— PLACER MINES. (Surficial.) 
. Alturas Mine. Owner, Maschella, San Francisco. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District; 1 mile west of Port Wine, thence 30 
miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. Elevation 4000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Cal. State Min. Bur. 
Rpts. XI. p. 332; XII, p. 221: XIII, p. 371. 

This property has been worked for the past thirty years. Ten to 
fifteen men employed in 1914. Gravel is elevated from the creek and 
sluiced. 

American Mining and Development Company. Owners, American 
Mining and Development Company. 

Location: Indian Hill Mining District, Sees. 14 and 15, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., 
2 miles northeast of Indian Hill, thence 40 miles by road southerly to 
Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

These holdings comprise 175 acres of patented land. 
Antlered Crest Mine. Owner, Geo. Sanborn, La Porte. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District. Sierra City is 56 miles, by road, north- 
east of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.) and 20 miles, by road, south of 
Blair sden (W. P. Ry). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117, 118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

A hard bedrock tunnel was being run in 1914 and was in 430'. 
Big Plat Claim. Owner, W. W. Casserly, Goodyear 's Bar. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles north 
of Goodyear's Bar, thence 40 miles, by road, southerly to Nevada City 
(N. C. N. G. R. R). Elevation 2900'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Bon Ton Consolidated Group. Owner, John Down, La Porte. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, near Poker Flat on east side of Port 
Wine ridge. Poker Flat is 33 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Bradley Consolidated Group. Owner, same. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 28, T. 20 N., R 12 E., 56 miles, by 
road, northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R), 20 miles by road, 
south of Blair sden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117, 118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property includes the Gard and Orr, patented claims. No 
work has been done for a number of years. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 135 

Bumham Consolidated Placer Mine. Owner, W. T. Burnham. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District. Sees. 5 and 8, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles 
east of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Bumham Patent contains 60 acres. 

Cold Spring Group. Owner, W. L. Wilson, Downieville. 

Location : Downieville Mining District, in Sec. 12, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 44 miles 

by road northwest of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The property consists of the Cold Spring and First Chance claims. 
Deer Group. Owners, E. A. and J. 0. Hayes. 

Location : Sierra City Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 21 N., R 12 E., 7 miles by 
road and trail, northwest of Sierra City ; 14 miles, by road and trail, south 
of Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 112, 113, 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Deer Patent contains 160 acres. • 

Diana Mining Company. Owner, same, Merchants Exchange 
Building, San Francisco. 

Location: On Gibson Creek between Gibsonville and Whiskey Diggings, Gib- 

sonville is 26 miles, by road, south of Quincy. 
Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. Lindgren, W., U. S. 

Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 

Dragon Ply Mine. Owners, N. H. Squire, C. J. Simmons, Downie- 
ville. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 33, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 8 miles, by 
trail, northeast of Downieville, 18 miles to Blairsden (W. P. Ry.) by 
trail and wagon road. Elevation 5000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of three claims, the Dragon Fly, Dragon Fly 
Extension and the Pinchbug, containing 60 acres and covering a 
length along the channel of 1300'. It is situated on the Middle Fork 
of the North Fork Yuba River, and is a back channel of the present 
stream covered by a slide. The deposit is about 23' in depth and 
consists of black wash and some quartz on a slate bedrock. Pay 
gravel averages about 16' in width and 3' in depth, plus V of bed- 
rock. There is a 500' drain tunnel and 300' of drifts, all in gravel. 

The property was located in 1905 by the present owners, and two 
men have worked it with a total output of about $3000 to June, 1914. 

There is some timber on the property, and water is obtainable 
under a 120' head, minimum 20", maximum 100". Hoisting is done 
by water power, and there is electric equipment for lights and 
blowers. 

Adjoining mines are the Wideawake and the Sierra Poorman. 

Golden Era Mine. (Edwards; see under Lode Mines.) Owner, 
Richard Moore. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sec. 18, T. 21 N., R 10 B., 2 miles south- 
east of St. Louis, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Golden Era consists of 103.3 acres of patented ground. 



136 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. 

Oolden Scepter Group. Owner, G. A. Maxwell, Continental Build- 
ing, San Francisco. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, near Table Rock, Sec. 22, T. 21 N., 

R. 10 E., 30 miles south by road, from Quincv. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The holdings consist of the Golden Scepter and Golden Anchor 
placer claims, and the True Friendship and Golden Sheath quartz 
claims. 

Halsey Oroup. Owner, W. D. O'Brien, 718 Monadnock Building, 
San Francisco. Bonded to Wm. H. Loftus, Los Angeles. 

Location : Sierra Citj^ Mining District. Sierra City is 56 miles, by road, 
northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.), 20 miles, by road, south of 
Blairsden (W. P. Ry.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 117-118. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Holdings include the Claybank or Plumas Development Company's 
property and also the United Consolidated and Excelsior claims. 

Hayes Claim. (Pine Grove.) Owner, Ah Gook, Table Rock. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile 
northwest of Table Rock, and 30 miles by road south of Quincy. Ele- 
vation 5600'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W.. U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Hobby Mine. Owner, M. W. Hobby, Camptonville. 

Location: Indian Hill Mining District, Sec. 17, T. 19 N., R. 9 E., in lower end 
of Indian Valley. Indian Hill is about 40 miles, by road, north of Nevada 
City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: IT. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property is a one-man mine. 

I. X. L. and South I. X. L. Oroup. Owner, Thomas Hayes, Table 
Itock. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 33, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., near Fill- 
more, about 2 miles northeast of Table Rock and 32 miles south, by road, 
from Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paoer 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Keystone Gold Mining Company. (See under Lode Mines.) 
Michigan Claim. Owner, L. L. Clough, Quincy. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District. Gibsonville is 26 miles south, by road, 

from Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 

U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

Middle Tuba Mine. Owners, Poorman and Hastings, 1724 Santa 
Clara avenue, Alameda. 

Location: Pike City Mining District, Sees. 15, 16, 20, 21 and 22, T. 18 N., 
R. 9 E., 2 miles southeast of Pike City, thence 28 miles southerly, by road, 
to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R R.). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 138. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

The Middle Yuba property consists of 90.35 acres of patented 
placer ground along the Middle Fork of the Yuba River. 



SIERRA COUNTY. 137 

Mount Rainier Claim. Owner, R. J. McCuUough, Alleghany. 

Location: Forest Mining District, at Topohachkin Flat; Sees. 8 and 9, T. 18 N., 
R. 10 E. Forest is 39 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

Omega Gold Mining Company. Owners, same. Forest City. 

Location: Forest Mining District, Sec. 29, T. 19 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles west of 
Forest City, thence 39 miles southwesterly by road to Nevada City (N. C. 
N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: IT. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of two claims, the Omega and the Manzanita, 
the latter having formerly been known as the Lucky Dog. 

Pennsylvania Claim. Owner, John Doherty. Bonded to Hong 
Flat Company. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 32, T. 22 N., R. 10 E., 1 mile north 

of Table Rock, 29 miles south by road from Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 

Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of one patented claim, the Pennsylvania, 
vvith an area of 11.26 acres. 

Pilot Peak Mining Company. Owner, Frank Delahunty. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, near Whiskey Diggings, 25 miles south 

by road from Quincy. 
Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 

U. S. GJeol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property is adjoined on the west by the Swift Shore mine. 
Poor Boy Claim. Owner, W. W. Casserly, Goodyear Bar. 

Location: Downieville Mining District, Sec. 32, T. 20 N., R. 10 E., 3 miles west 
of Downieville, 42 miles by road northeast of Nevada City (N. C. N. G. 
R. R.). Elevation 2900'. 

Bibliography : U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. . 

Slate Creek Claim. Owner, C. A. Reed, Bangor, Butte County, 
California. 

Location: Gibsonville Mining District, Sec. 36, T. 22 N., R. 9 E., Sec. 31, 
T. 22 N., R. 10 E., and Sees. 1 and 11, T. 21 N, R. 9 E., on Slate Creek at 
mouth of Gibsonville Creek; 26 miles south by road from Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 106-107. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This claim extends up the bed of the creek a distance of 1200'. 
Slate Creek Debris Dam Company. Owner, J. H. Thomas, Oakland. 

Location : Poverty Hill Mining District, Sec. 31, T. 21 N., R. 9 E., 2 miles 
northwest of Mount Pleasant, thence 41 miles northerly, by road, to 
Quincy. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
IT. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

This property consists of tailing claims on Slate Creek, extending 
from the Yuba County line to 1600' above it. 

Soldier Boy Claim. Owner, M. M. Marshall, 655 Congress street, 
Portland, Maine. 

Location : Poker Flat Mining District, Sec. 15, T. 21 N., R. 10 E., 2 miles south 
of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly by road to Quincy. Elevation 
6200'. 

Bibliography: Lindgren W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 



138 MINES AND MINERAL BESOUBC?ES. 

Sunnysvle Claim. Owner, Franklin Consolidated Placer Gold 
Mining Company; B. L. Jones, agent, Quiney. 

Location: Poker Flat Mining District, Sees. 5 and 8, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 4 miles 
east of Poker Flat, thence 33 miles northerly, by road, to Quiney. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, p. 105. U. S. 
Oeol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

The Sunnyside placer claim covers 160 acres and is patented. 

Swastika mining Campany. (See under Lode Mines.) 

Tailings Claim. Owners, John Rosenfelds and Sons, 1024 Mer- 
I'hants Exchange Building, San Francisco. 

Location: Port Wine Mining District, Sees. 25 and 36, T. 21 N., R 9 E., 
2 miles southeast of Port Wine, thence 37 miles northerly, by road, to 
Quiney. 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Geol. Survey Prof. Paper 73, pp. 108-110. 
U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downievllle. 

This claim is located in Canon Creek, between Craigs and Morris- 
town crossing. 

Tough and Hardy Claim. Owner, W. B. Meek, Camptonville. 

Location: Pike City Mining District, Sec. 6, T. 18 N., R. 9 E., IJ miles east 
of Camptonville, thence 53 miles southwesterly by road to Marysville 
(S. P. R. R.) ; li miles nothweFt of ^ik'- City, thence 28 miles southerly, 
by road, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R ). 

Bibliography: Lindgren, W., U. S. Oeol. Srrvpy Prof. Paner 73, p. 138. IT. S. 
Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. Cal. State Min. Bur. Rpts. XII; p. 273 ; XIII, 
p. 384. 

Viola Group. Owner, Forest City Mining Company, Downieville. 

Location: Forest City Mining District, Sec. 19, T. 19 N., R. 11 E., located 
3000' east of Cornish Ranch ; Forest City is 39 miles northeast, by road, 
from Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 66, Colfax. 

This property consists of two claims, the Viola and Viola Extension. 



IRON. 

Sierra Iron Mine. Owners, Sierra Iron Company, 310 Sansome 
ptreet, San Francisco. 

Location: Sierra City Mining District, Sees. 11 and 14, T. 21 N., R. 11 E., 
about 10 miles, by road and trail, northwesterly of Sierra City, thence 
56 miles by road, southwesterly, to Nevada City (N. C. N. G. R. R.). 
Elevation 7000'. 

Bibliography: U. S. Geol. Survey Folio 37, Downieville. 

The Sierra Iron mine has a total area of 292.48 acres of patented 
land. There is a large deposit of iron ore on this property. 



INDEX. 



Page 

Adelaide mine 75 

Agate claim 66 

Alaska mine. (See Sierra Alaska 
Mining Company) 

Albany Consolidated Group 75 

Alhambra Group 75 

mine 76 

Alice and Plummer Group 111 

Alleghany Mining Company 59 

Mining District 1-5 

bibliography of 1 

geology of 2-3 

gold production of—! 1 

lode deposits of 4-5 

mineral deposits of 3-5 

situation and general features 1 

Tertiary gravels of 3-4 

topography of 1-2 

Alta Sierra Gold Mining Company 98 

Alturas mine 134 

American Exchange and Buffalo 

Group 76 

Flag claim 77 

Mining and Development Com- 
pany __ 134 

American Hill, elevation of town of 5 

mine 66 

Mining District 5-6 

bibliography of 5 

geology of 5-6 

topography of 5 

Andy Fitz Mining and Milling Com- 
pany 77 

Angora Creek claim. (See Morris- 
town and Angora Group) 

Antelope Neck claim 30 

Ante Up claim 77 

Antlered Crest mine 134 

Argentine mine. (See Wide Awake 
mine) 

Arsenopyrite, in Alleghany district 4—5 

Atom Group 77 

Auriferous gravels 1, 

3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 

15, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 

Badger Hill mine 31 

Bald Mountain mine 31-33 

Mountain Extension mine 33 

Balsam Flat claim 34 

Baltimore Group 80 

Bank Mining and Promoting Com- 
pany 77, 114 

Bannister claim 78 

Banquet claim. (See Bonanza claim) 

Basset's Pride claim 30 

Bear Creek Group 64 

Bell Point mine. (See Excelsior 
Group) 

Bella Union Group 55 

Union Consolidated Group 78 

Bellevue Group 34 

Bessler mine '__! 78 



Page 
Bibliography of Alleghany Mining 

District i 

American Hill Mining District— 5 

Brandy City Mining District 7 

Downieville Mining District 9 

Gibsonville Mining District 12 

Indian Hill Mining District 13 

Pike Mining District 14 

Poker Flat Mining District 17 

Port Wine Mining District 21 

Poverty Hill Mining District 23 

Sierra City Mining District 26 

Bigelow mine 78 

Big Flat claim 134 

Black Jack claim 78 

Warrior claim 78 

Bluebell mine. (See Scott mine) 

Blue Channel Mining Company 34 

Bolivia claim 1 79 

Bonanza claim , — 79 

Bon Ton Consolidated Group 134 

Boston Company 62 

mine. (See Manchester mine) 
Boulders, method of handling used by 

Neocene Placer Mining Company 72 

Bradley Consolidated Group 134 

Brady mine 51 

Bran Campbell claim 79 

Brandy City, elevation of 6 

mine 66 

Mining Company _ 7 

Mining District , 6 

bibliography of 7 

geology of 7-8 

history of mining in 6-7 

topography of 7 

Brindle and Company, E. S 113 

Brown Bear mine 34 

Bruckermann claim 34 

Brundage Group 58 

Brush Creek claim 79 

Buckeye mine 34-35 

Buckingham mine. (See Elcy mine) 

Buffalo Group 76 

Bullion mine 79-80 

and El Dorado Group. (See El 
Dorado mine) 

Bunker Hill claim 35 

Hill mine. (See Blue Channel 
Mining Company; also Lost 
River mine) 

property 42 

prospect 35 

Burlington claim 68 

Burnham Consolidated placer mine 135 

Butcher Ranch Group 80 

Caledonia mine 68 

California Consolidated Mining Com- 
pany 35 

Canada Mining Company 35 

Captain Cook claim 35 

Carleton claim 35 



140 



INDEX. 



Page 

Carmen claim 35 

Case and Myer property 29 

Cedar and Baltimore Group 80 

Challenge claim 36 

Charcoal Ranch claim 68 

Chipps mine. {See Swastika Mining 
Company) 

Chips Flat District 1-5 

Chrome iron. (See Chromite) 

Chromite, in gravels 10, 18 

mines 29-30 

production, 1880-1918 28 

Church Meadows District 26-28 

City of Six mine 81 

Cleveland claim 81 

mine 81 

Cliff Mining Company 109 

Clipper Ship mine 36 

Coal Caflon claim 68 

Cold Springs Group 135 

Colombo mine. (See Bullion mine) 

Colorado- Yellow Jacket mine 81 

Columbia Channel mine 36 

Comrade claim 36 

Conglomerate claim 37 

Continental claim 82 

Copper mine. The 30 

mines 30-31 

production 1880-1918 28 

Cornish House District 8-11 

Corotoman claim 37 

Cost data 66, 94, 119, 129 

Pleasant View mine 55 

Tightner mine 129 

Craycroft mine 68 

Croesus Gold Mining and Milling 

Company 86, 108. 112, 121 

mine. (See Plumbago mine) 

Mining Company 78 

Crown Point claim 37 

Dayton Consolidated Group 82 

Dead River Group 37 

Deer Group 135 

Del Norte and Scotia mine 82 

Depot Hill mine 69 

Derelict mine 95 

Diadem claim 82 

Diana Mining Company 135 

Districts. (See Mining Districts) 

Docile claim §2-83 

Doherty Group 38 

Dolly Varden mine. (See Lonesome 
Pine mine) 

Dorris mine 29 

Dos Pesos Company 66, 112 

Downieville Mining District 8-11 

bibliography of 9 

geology of 9-10 

history of mining in 8-9 

mineral deposits of 10-11 

topography of 9 

Dragon Fly mine 135 

Dreadnaught mine 83 

Drift mines, gold 31-64 

Durston Gold Mining Company 83 

Eagle claim 37 

Eastern Star mine 84 



Page 
Eclipse mine. (See Kirkpatrick mine) 

Edwards Group 84 

Eighty-nine claim 84 

Elcy mine 84-85 

El Dorado mine 85 

Emerald Quartz Group 86 

Empire claim 37 

Group 86 

Erie claim 37 

lirwin claim 37 

Eureka claim 69 

Consolidated Group 60 

District 8-11 

Evans prospect 29 

Excelsior claim 38 

Group 38 

mine 69-70 

r 

F. and F. Group 86 

Feather Fork claim 38 

Federal mine 86 

Ferguson, H. G., cited 

5, 107, 108, 117, 123, 127, 131 

Finane prospect ^ 29 

First Chance, Last Chance and 

Doherty Group 38 

Forest City Mining Company 47, 138 

Forest District 1-5 

mine. (See Forest Queen Min- 
ing Company) 

Queen mine 86 

Queen Mining Company 38 

Four Hills mine 87-88 

Franklin Consolidated Placer Gold 

Mining Company 138 

Furnier District 26-28 

Gabland mine 88 

Galena, in Alleghany district 4-5 

(See, also. Lead) 

Garibaldi claim 88 

Garnet claim 38 

Geheral Grant Group 88 

Geology of Alleghany Mining Dis- 
trict __ 2-3 

American Hill Mining District 5-6 
Brandy City Mining District— 7-8 
Downieville Mining District— 9-10 

Gibsonville Mining District 12 

Indian Hill Mining District— 14 

Pike Mining District 15 

Poker Flat Mining District_-17-18 
Port Wine Mining District— 21-22 
Poverty Hill Mining District— 24 
Germania mine. (See Wide Awake 
mine) 

Gibraltar mine 39 

Gibsonville, elevation of 12 

Mining District 11-13 

bibliography of 12 

geology of 12 

history of mining in 11-12 

mineral deposits of 12-13 

topography of 12 

Water and Mining Company 70 

Glidden claim. (See Gold Lake 
claim). 



INDEX. 



141 



Page 
Gold, production of Sierra County 
1880-1918 1 28 

of Alleghany District 1 

Gold mines . 31-138 

drift 31-64 

hydraulic 66-74 

lode 75-134 

placer (surflcial) 134-138 

Gold and Silver Mining Company 103 

Bluff Group. (See Oxford-Gold 
Bluff Groups) 

Cafion mine 89-90 

Hill Group 39-40 

King claim 90 

Lake claim 91 

Point mine. (See Gray Eagle 
mine) 

Star mine 40-41 

iSee, also, Hanley and Com- 
pany) 

Valley mine 70 

Golden Era mine . 135 

Fraction mine 90 

Hope claim 39 

King mine 90 

Scepter Group 136 

Star Mining Company 40 

Goldstein Company, E. L. 66 

Goodyears Bar District 8-11 

Graphic claim 91 

Gravel deposits. (See Auriferous 
gravels ) 

Gray Eagle mine 91 

Greenwood Mining and Development 

Company 41 

Grizzly Gulch District 14-15 

Halsey Group 136 

Hal Taber mine : 42 

Hanley and Company 42 

Hapgood and Miller prospect 30 

Happy-Go-Lucky claim 70 

Happy Hollow mine. (See Union 
Consolidated mine) 

Hardscrabble mine 70 

Hartman claim 91 

Hawkeye mine. (See Winkeye mine) 

Bell Point Group. (See Excel- 
sior Group) 
Hayes claim 136 

Consolidated Group. (See King 
Consolidated Group) 
Herkimer and Bunker Hill Group__42-43 
Hibernia mine. (See Miner's Home 
mine) 

Hidden Treasure claim 70 

High Commission mine . 91-92 

Hilda mine 70 

Hilo claim 71 

Hobby mine 136 

Homestake claim 43, 71, 92 

Hong Flat Company^ 137 

Rowland Flat District 15-19 

Flat Mines Company 48 

Hunter Gold Mining Company 56 

Hustler claim 43 

Hydraulic mines, gold 66-74 

Ina claim 92 

Independent claim 92 

10—46901 



Page 
Indian Hill claim 71 

Hydraulic Mining Company- 71 

Mining Company 62 

Mining District 13-14 

bibliography of 13 

geology of 14 

topography of 14 

Iowa mine 43-44 

Irelarvd mine 92 

Iron mines 138 

Ironsides mine 93-94 

I. X. L. and South I. X. L. Group 136 

Jackson and Roman mine. (See 
Pleasant View mine) 

Jim Crow claim 94 

Jones Group 109 

Jose Realty Company 95 

Joubert mine. (See Depot Hill mine) 

Company 69 

Jumper and Tippecanoe Group 94-95 

Kanaka claim 95 

mine 44—45 

Kate Hardy and Derelict mine 95-97 

Kenton mine . 97 

Kentucky mine 97-98 

Keystone Gold Mining Company 98 

mine 98 

King Consolidated Group 98 

Kinselbach mine 98 

Kirkpatrick mine 71 

Klondike mine 45 

(See, also J Gabland mine) 

Ladies Cafion mine 71 

Lassiat claim 31 

Last Chance and Doherty Group 38 

claim 45 

prospect 45 

Resort placer claim. (See Se- 
bastopol mine) 

Lawler claim 99 

Lead, production 1880-1918 28 

Limestone, magnesian, deposits of 26 

Little Grizzly claim ». 45 

John mine. (See Gabland mine) 

Lode mines, gold 75-134 

Logan, C. A 86, 105, 108, 113 

Lonesome Pine mine 99 

Lone Star Group 99 

Lorenzo claim : 99 

Lost River mine 45-47 

Treasure mine 99-100 

Lucky Dog mine 47 

Hill mine. (See Gold Hill 
Group) 

Luella claim 100 

Mabel Mertz mine 47-48 

Macchaus mine 29 

Magnesian limestone, deposits of 26 

Magnetite, deposits of 26 

Mammoth claim 101 

Springs mine 48, lOO-rlOl 

Manchester mine 48 

Manxman mine. (See Scott mine) 

Maple Grove claim 101 

Marguerite claim 101