Skip to main content

Full text of "Monuments, tablets and other memorials erected in Massachusetts to commemorate the services of her sons in the war of the rebellion, 1861-1865 .."

See other formats



^^^ A.;* - •■ ' '^ ■ ■ c- .0' . — . , ^^ .y . . . , --^^ 

; ■■'■/■■:.' - 'V'-;'^' ' ^- ''~ J- ^^' - "^^ 

> -■' - '-* r^-" ... '^^ ' ^^^ .;v^- ,,^ % A^ ,, 



;i \ 

'- ^^ " :>''--?-;^r' 

% " 

<?*^ •'^"'yi'V-^. ■> 



.5 l' > 







'■ y'%< -y^^*:- /'\. ' 

4 o 

'^ "^<^ '^^ 




^ '^^. 

H^<^^ ^0 ■-%._ %^-^^i^:^*' ^^ 

4 o 

'^. " « ^ ^^ 

■e.. ..<^' .^ 



% .0- 

a- -T.' 




■<''\ ' 










■.V '-;a 




oXy'^'i /h 

^^.. •,^' 



\%7 ,'x:\\]- 



r C ■■ 


'■^'.. ,^' .^'^-V' 

.■^' .:•. 

.'S- --r'- 


\. '^- 

^'■y <-'. 


. "-l- 

" Ji:,'^-i'r- -■ J 

-.-• ^ ". 

.-i :• ■ ■' 

■ , ^ ; - .(^^^ 

, ^ 

--> '^' ' 

,,f-^ ' / *u^:^-_. -B 

'?-' > V 

'-' f* 

■■,■1 - 



-^■" J 

,-S ^., 





•^ .A^' 




.ommemorate the Services of rier bons 


Moituments are the grappling irons that bind one generation to another. " — Jonbert , 




Commander, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Massachusetts 




4 N0V131U 

The mystic chords of memory, stretching from every battle field and patriot 
grave to every living heart and hearthstone all over this broad land, vrill yet swell 
the chorus of the Union when again touched, as they surely will be, by the better 
angels of our nature. — Abraham Lixcolx. 


In the many years succeeding the war, the question has often arisen, 
" Has such a city or town anything to commemorate the struggle which 
cost the nation so much in blood and treasure? " No immediate answer 
has been possible thus far. The material for complete information has 
long been in existence, but, until the present collection was made, nothing 
was known of the many municipalities of the Commonwealth, save a^ 
direct inquiry was made. 

A man travelling through Massachusetts and seeing in so many cities 
and villages the towering shaft, dedicated to the memory of the patriotic 
dead, naturally thinks that almost every division of the old Bay State has 
some kind of a memento of the far-off war times ; but closer observation 
and more extended searching reveal the fact that above one hundred 
Massachusetts towns have, as yet, nothing to indicate a memory of the 
sacrifices that nearly rived the nation almost fifty years ago. Still, the 
record is a proud one, since the excess over one memorial is so great in 
many of the larger towns and in the cities that there is an easy average 
of more than a single tribute for every one of the three hundred and 
fifty-four parts into which the Commonwealth is divided. The cost of 
monument or other memento varies greatly, ranging from the $150,000 
memorial on Boston Common downward to the humble record placed upon 
the inner wall of a rustic town hall, at an expense of $50 or less. 

This compilation is made with a full consciousness that it will not 
meet with the approval of the Universal Peace Society, to which all 
histories and memories of wars are anathema; at the same time the scars 
of the terrible strife are so very fresh and visible that, so long as a sur- 
vivor of the Civil War remains, the people must think and talk about it. 
To satisfy a natural curiosity as to how much the Commonwealth has 
done in this direction, when and in what way it was accomplished, this 
collection was made. 

It has been no easy task. At first, in October, 1908, circulars were 
sent to every Grand Army Post in the State, and, where no Post existed, 
to the town clerk. To the first series of circulars about one hundred 


replies, more or less explicit, were received. To the second series about 
the same proportion of answers was made. Then followed a long period 
of letter writing, with urgent requests for immediate returns. Sometimes 
the same town was besought, through its officers or leading citizens, five 
or six times, until, at last, success followed in some shape from every 
portion of Massachusetts, except in the case of a single town, and that, 
too, not so far from the Hub of the Universe, — one possessing a beautiful 
tablet in its public library. This town the compiler visited in person 
and thus secured the facts he had written for in vain. 

Gen. Eobert E. Lee, the distinguished leader of the Confederate 
armies, is said to have uttered these remarkable words, " The memorials 
of a civil war ought to be formed of wood." Whether this be true in fact 
or theory, in a single instance Massachusetts has acted on this plan, for 
one of her towns has a wooden monument; but the people are far from 
satisfied, and are gradually nearing the point when a more enduring 
tribute will be reared to the memory of her fallen sons. A trip through 
the south, where the stars and bars once " flapped in the morning sun," 
would reveal a bewildei'ing array of marble, granite and bronze tributes 
to the brave Confederates who imperilled, if they did not give, their lives 
for the " lost cause." " Mass'r Eobert," the darling of the southland, 
were he to travel througli the section that followed him, would find his 
principle honored more in the exception than in the rule. 

Xor is the tale for Massachusetts entirely told even now, more than 
forty-five years after Appomattox, for other towns and cities are erecting 
new monuments or are making ready to do so, until it seems possible 
that every township, however poor or dependent, will possess some visible 
token of its appreciation of the sacrifice her people made that tlie Union 
might be preserved and slavery destroyed. 

Too many thanks cannot be given to Comrade James C. Melvin of 
Boston for his generous donation of photogravures of French's " Mourn- 
ing Victory" and the Melvin memorial of Concord's Sleepy Hollow, 
probably the finest personal tribute yet reared to the memory of enlisted 


Worcester, Mass. 

Monuments, Tablets and Other Memorials in 


The Commonwealth has not been niggardly in its appropriations for 
the care of soldiers living nor for the memory of those departed. In 
evidence of the latter statement a visit to the State House grounds reveals, 
as the edifice is approached, the towering equestrian bronze statue of 
Joseph Hooker, the admired and reverenced by every soldier who followed 
him. For the statue itself Massachusetts gave $50,000, and then appro- 
priated $20,000 more for a proper dedication. The Legislature of 1896 
authorized the memorial, and it was dedicated June 25, 1903. The base, 
of Stony Creek (Conn.) granite, is 14 feet high: architects, Messrs. Brite 
& Bacon, Xew York City; builders, Xorcross Brothers, Worcester. The 
bronze horse and rider are heroic in size, Edward C. Potter being the 
sculptor of the steed, H. H. Kitson, of the man. The dedication was 
signalized by one of the grandest military displays ever witnessed in 
Boston. More than 15,000 men were in line, representing all veteran 
bodies of the Civil and other wars, the active militia of the State, together 
with the regular Army and Navy; but probably the most significant array 
in the entire line was that composed of the survivors of Hooker's old 
brigade. For them a dinner was served in Faneuil Hall. At tlie monu- 
ment, in the forenoon, addresses were made by Gov. John L. Bates and 
Lieut.-Gov. Curtis Guild, Jr. The evening exercises, in Mechanics Hall, 
included brief speeches by Gen. 0. 0. Howard and Gen. Nelson A. Miles, 
representing the Union Army, and by Gen. Thomas L. Eosser of the 
Confederates. The principal address of the occasion was by Gen. Charles 
P. Mattocks of Maine. There were, besides, the trooping of the colors, 
under the direction of J. Payson Bradley; the beating of a drum borne 
at Lookout Mountain, by Drummer Welch of the Thirty-third Massa- 
cluTsetts ; and singing by Grand Army men, led by Secretary of the Com- 
monwealth William M. Olin. Vide Plate II. 


When Gen. Charles Devens died, Jan. 7, 1891, the Legislature, in a 
generous and patriotic mood, at once appropriated $15,000 for a fitting 
statue to his memory, the same to stand upon the State House grounds. 
This act took definite shape in 1898, some time between September 27 
and November 30, when there was unveiled a bronze heroic figure of the 
General on the east side of the State House Extension. The sculptor was 
Olin Warner of jSTew York, who died before his work was made public. 
Apparently there were no dedicatory exercises at its unveiling. Vide 
Plate II. 

1'he gilded dome of the State House has long been an object of 
admiration, almost of veneration, with some. The Governor who first 
warranted the gilding of this great surface was K. P. Banks, Jr., and 
there are those who aftirm that the unusual sight of a gilded bronze 
statue of the soldier and Governor, standing near the northeast corner 
of the State House grounds, is owing to a desire to have the two objects 
in unison. Be this as it may, it is certain that the figure of General 
Banks, authorized by legislative act, and costing $30,000, was dedicated 
Sept. 16, 1908. Though the inscription upon the base of the monument 
gives details of the General's military service, he is depicted in civilian 
garb and pose. The artist was H. H. Kitson of Quincy, and the orator 
at the dedicatory exercises was the Hon. Herbert L. Parker, ex- Attorney- 
General of the Commonwealth. 

The interior of the State House has a wealth of memorials recalling 
the strenuous days of 1861-65. As one enters Doric Hall, at the left, 
near the vestil)ule to the Hall of Flags, is the marble figure of the war 
Governor, John A. Andrew. The work of Thomas Ball, sculptor, it was 
dedicated Feb. 4, 1871, the funds ($10,000) for the tribute coming from 
the residue after the statue of Edward Everett, in the Public Gardens, 
had been paid for. At the dedication. President H. H. Coolidge of the 
Senate presided, the principal address being made by Judge William 
Gray of the Supreme Court. The response was by Gov. William Claflin, 
who, with his staff, occupied raised seats near by. 

Entering the vestibule, at the right of the main entrance to the 
rotunda, is a fine figure in high relief, bronze, the work of sculptor 
Bela L. Pratt, of Gen. Thomas G. Stevenson, killed at Spottsylvania. 
Practically an innovation in memorial art, it at once struck a responsive 
chord in the public heart, and has been greatly admired, with hardly an 
adverse criticism. It was dedicated Dec. 7, 1905, when there was a large 
assemblage of old-time friends and admirers. The principal address was 
made by Gen. Francis A. Osborn, who had been the General's second in 


command in the Twenty-fourth Eegiment. All expense incident to the 
preparation and presentation ($5,000) was borne by the General's old 
friends and comrades in arms. 

At the left of the main entrance is a similar figure of Bear Admiral 
John A. Winslow, who commanded the " Kearsarge " when, June 19, 
1864, off the Port of Cherbourg, France, she sent the " Alabama " to the 
depth of the sea. Though not of Massachusetts birth, the officer was of 
Bay State lineage, and his memorial stands as a tribute to the Xavy, 
being warranted by legislative act, the appropriation for the relief having 
been $6,000. The unveiling of the work of art was May 8, 1908, in the 
Hall of Flags, Gov. Eben S. Draper presiding, and the principal address 
being made by Congressman John W. Weeks of iSTewton. The artist 
who delineated the figure of the gallant officer was William Couper of 
Xew York. 

Entering the rotunda, or hall itself, the eye at once falls on the statue, 
in bronze, heroic size, of Gen. William F. Bartlett, who lost a leg at Ball's 
Bluff, and of whom it was said he never entered a fight without being 
wounded. The Colonel, successively, of the Forty-ninth and the Fifty- 
seventh Massachusetts regiments, he came home to a few years of hope- 
less invalidism and then to an early grave. The Legislature of 1901 
authorized the erection of this figure, appropriating therefor the sum of 
$20,000. The work was given to the distinguished Massachusetts artist, 
Daniel C. French of Concord. The figure, complete and in place, one of 
the niches of the rotunda, was dedicated May 27, 1904, the forty-first 
anniversary of the great assault on Port Hudson, one of the engagements 
in which the General won renown. (Tide Plate XVII.) At the pres- 
entation there were remarks by Gov. John L. Bates and Lieut. -Gov. 
Curtis Guild, Jr., while the oration was given by Gen. Morris Schaff of 
Pittsfield, and prayer was offered by Bishop William Lawrence of the 
Diocese of Massachusetts. 

Perhaps the battle-stained flags in the several niches of this magnifi- 
cent hall are the most precious and significant memorials in the Com- 
monwealth, for they represent nearly every engagement of the war, from 
Baltimore to Appomattox. They are not after-thoughts of l)attles, for 
they marked the war in progress. They are priceless in value, for they 
cost human lives by the thousand, and they must ever stand as the most 
precious objects in the care and keeping of the State. Aloft in the ceiling 
of the great hall is a painting showing the return of the flags, and else- 
where are figures and scenes recalling the Eebellion period, but those 
already named are the principal ones. 



In the spirit of preserving the memories of the great battles fought 
for the preservation of the Union, the national government has purchased 
and laid out a nundjer of the areas over which contending armies fought, 
and upon them the several States have been invited to erect monuments 
to commemorate the part taken thereon by regiments and batteries from 
said States. 


Gettysburg was the iirst national battle-field-park thus devoted, and 
upon this the several regiments, or many of them, from Massachusetts, 
with the help of the Commonwealth, have erected individual monuments. 
Later, as other fields were purchased and turned into reservations for 
memorial purposes, it seemed to become the policy of Massachusetts to 
merge all of her regimental memories into one token, this taking the 
shape of granite shaft or pedestal, or, later, the figure in bronze of a 
Union soldier in active camjsaigning. 


After Gettysburg, the next reservation was that of Chickamauga- 
Chattanooga, and on the anniversary of the terrible battle of Chicka- 
mauga, the 19th and 20th of September, 189.5, the National Military 
Park was dedicated. The event brought together the greatest assemblage 
of veterans of the l^lue and the gray that the days subsequent to the war 
had ever beheld. All were in their very happiest mood and not a word of 
rancor marred the delightful occasion. AMiile Confederate memories 
brought out many banners that were flown in the days of old, the flag 
of the Union ^vas everywhere, and under its folds the glorious dedication 
was made. Although the words of speakers on both sides of the great 
battles were worthy of record, it must suffice in this place to state that 
Massachusetts sent a large delegation, headed by her Governor, Frederick 
Thomas Greenhalge, and no more eloquent sentences fell from mortal 
lips in those two days than were uttered by the Governor wdien, sur- 
rounded by his associates from the Bay State, near the top of Orchard' 
Knol), tlie point occujned l)y Grant and his associate officers when the 
assault was nuide on Missionary Eidge, he spoke for Massachusetts and 
her Second and Thirty-third Eegiments in the campaign, which, begin- 
ning at Chickamauga, ended when Sherman marched down to the sea. 


This was on tlie 19th of September, the first day of the celebration, which 
drew to the place many of the most noted citizens of the country, includ- 
ing Vice-President Stevenson and William McKinley, then Governor 
of Ohio. The monument, built of Quincy granite, properly inscribed, 
having the oblong shape or form usual in these later years, cost, in place, 
about $4,000, and the expenses of the Commonwealth in attending the 
dedication added $10,000 more. Vide Plate III. 

The next effort of Massachusetts to memorialize her soldier-citizens 
was at Antietam. The day was the 17th of September, 1898, thirty-six 
years after the bloodiest single day's engagement on the American con- 
tinent. Attended by members of the Council and of the Legislature, 
with many veterans, Gov. Eoger Wolcott had reached the scenes so hal- 
lowed by associations, and, with his retinue, in the forenoon witnessed 
the dedication of a marker for the Twenty-first Massachusetts Eegiment 
on the western end of one of the parapets of the Burnside bridge. Chap- 
lain George S. Ball of the Twenty-first, upheld by comrades, offered 
prayer, and another veteran spoke. At 4 p.m. came the dedicatory exer- 
cises of the monument, which the representatives had come so far to 
turn over to the national government as an expression of sentiment from 
the old Bay State. Surrounded by those who had come so far to witness 
the presentation, tlie Governor spoke in the impressive manner for which 
he was noted, calling attention to the many organizations from the Com- 
monwealth that had, within sight of the Massachusetts token, gone down 
to death and undying fame. The organizations engaged in this great 
battle and whose names are chiseled upon the monument were the Second, 
Seventh, Xinth, Tenth, Twelfth, Thirteenth, Fifteenth, Eighteenth, 
Xineteenth, Twentieth, Twenty-first, Twenty-second, Twenty-eighth, 
Twenty-ninth, Thirty-second and Thirty-fifth Infantry; the First Cav- 
alry; the First, Third and Eighth Batteries; and the First and Second 
Sharpshooters. Of polished Quincy granite, the monument cost, in posi- 
tion, $10,500, and is a fine piece of work, though the observer is prone 
to comment, " Why didn't the State put some sort of a figure on so excel- 
lent a pedestal ? '' In other words, the monument, as it stands, appears 
incomplete. Vide Plate Y. 


While until the present year, 1910, the care of the old stockade at 
Andersonville was largel}^ in the hands of the National Woman's Eelief 
Corps, the Commonwealth made liberal appropriations for a memorial 
there, and on the nineteenth day of December, 1901, dedicated a monu- 
ment, costing $11,800. Constructed of Quincy granite, it stands 14 feet 
in height, a beautiful tribute to the bravery and loyalty of the men who, 
in this terrible place, preferred death to dishonor. The monument was 
unveiled by Lizabeth A. Turner of Massachusetts, Past President of the 
National Woman's Eelief Corps, who had devoted much of her time for 
years to the accomplishment of this result. The principal address of the 
day was made by Lieut. -Gov. John L. Bates, who, as ever, was earnest, 
eloqiient and patriotic. He was followed by the Hon. Eufus A. Soule, 
President of the Senate, and by the Hon. James J. Myers, Speaker of the 
House of Eepresentatives. Personal recollections of the prison pen itself 
were given by Commissioners Francis C. Curtis and Levi G. McKnight, 
who were long held here as prisoners in the days of the Eebellion. In 
this connection it is eminently fitting to mention Mrs. Turner, whose 
unswerving devotion to the cause she loved produced such admirable 
results. It would not ])e saying too much to state that the strength given 
to the work of preserving the place and its memories was exhausted, and 
her death, on April 27, 1907, may be directly attributed to her unceasing 
vigilance in behalf of the cause she loved. A gift from her associates in 
the National Woman's Eelief Corps, costing above $1,000, the monument 
to the memory of Mrs. Turner, was publicly dedicated, June 37, 1908, 
and thus became a part of the hallowed memories of the place. Vide 
Plate IV. 


The creation of the battle park at Vicksburg, Miss., was soon followed 
by the placing therein of memorials of the soldiers who had perished in 
the siege. That for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts was appro- 
priately dedicated, Nov. 1-1, 1903. For the first time in a national park 
the design was varied from former plans, and the Kitson idea, as unfolded 
in the soldier on the march, New1)uryport's tribute to her representatives, 
was employed ; and the bronze figure of a young man, clad in Union 
uniform, as it were alive and alert, will ever be an object of interest to 
the descendants of the Confederates of Vicksburg. The commission that 
had carried out the terms of the legislative enactment, through its chair- 


man, Lient. Col. AYillard D. Tripp of the Twenty-ninth, formally turned 
over the monnment to the keeping of the Commonwealth, represented by 
(tOV. John L. Bates, whose speech in acceptance so pleased his southern 
hearers that they declared if he would come down and make Mississippi 
his home they would make him Governor any way, and possibly President. 
The regiments from Massachusetts engaged in the siege were the Twenty- 
ninth, Thirty-fifth and Thirty-sixth, and for these organizations Ma J. 
William H. Hodgkins spoke in his own inimitable manner, than which 
none could better befit the time and place. School children of Vicksburg 
helped out the exercises by the singing of patriotic airs, apparently as 
interested and devoted as if the young soldier aloft on his pedestal of 
Quincy granite had w^orn the gray instead of the blue. The evening was 
given to a most enthusiastic reception to the entire delegation in the 
principal hotel of the city. Vide Plate V. 


The national park covering any part of battle fields in the Valley of 
Virginia, or, as it is otherwise known, the Valley of the Shenandoah, is 
yet to be created. All efi:ort, thus far, to turn the scenes of Cedar Creek's 
morning's defeat and afternoon's victory into a national object lesson 
have been futile, but the National Cemetery of Winchester holds the 
remains of the most of those who fell in the hot contests which drenched 
that fair portion of the country with fraternal blood. To commemorate 
the faithful sons of Massachusetts who battled in the valley, the Legisla- 
ture set apart the sum of $2,000 for a monument to be erected in the 
cemetery in plain sight of " Stone Wall," the abode of the Confederate 
dead, only the throw of a stone's distance away, all in plain sight. Wliile 
the battle of Winchester was fought on the 19th of September, 1864, and 
Early was then sent " Whirling up the Valley," for the convenience of the 
Governor, the dedication was on the 16th of the month, 1907. Gov. Curtis 
Guild, Jr., had the customary retinue of legislators, councillors, veterans 
and others when he arrived in Winchester on the morning of dedication 
day. The reception by the citizens was gracious if not tumultuous, and 
the exercises of dedication impressive. The northmen were welcomed by 
the Eev. Dr. D. J. Hyde, chaplain of Gen. Turner Ashby Camp, Con- 
federate Veterans, and the Governor spoke in the impressive manner 
characteristic of him. Afterwards the visitors scattered flowers upon the 
graves of their late Confederate opponents, now so silent within the con- 
fines of " Stone Wall," not forgetting the final resting place of Turner 


Ashby, one of the southern Paladins of war; and had they gone a httle 
further, towards the older portions of the burial ground, they might have 
honored in like manner the grave of Gen. Daniel Morgan of Revolutionary 
fame, the trusted lieutenant of Washington himself. The Massachusetts 
organizations borne upon the monument are the Second, Twenty-sixth, 
Thirtieth, Thirty-fourth, Thirty-seventh and Thirty-eighth Infantry; 
the Second and Third Cavalry; and the First Battery. Vide Plate VI. 

The first battle park in Xorth Carolina has yet to l)e purchased. 
Longing eyes have been turned upon Roanoke Island and the Newbern 
battle line for memorial purposes, but as yet nothing national obtains in 
the old north State, save the space devoted to the graves of Union soldiers 
who j^erished here in the years 1861-65. All due preparations having 
been made, a large number of Massachusetts people, led by officials and 
veterans, repaired to the Swiss-named emporium of eastern I^orth Caro- 
lina to have a part in the dedication of the soldiers' memorial, the same 
taking place Nov. 11, 1908. Possibly no similar event in the story of 
dedications had drawn so many people from the Bay State as did this 
at Newbern; the large number of Massachusetts regiments involved in 
the North Carolina campaigns, and the accessibility of the place, all 
invited a large attendance, and it was there in full force. Moreover, the 
citizens of the erstwhile Confederate city apparently vied with each other 
in their efforts to make the day and the event all that the most devoted 
of the visitors could ask for. There were representatives from every one 
of the many regiments interested, besides officers high in rank who 
im])roved this opportunity to revive memories of the long ago. The 
monument, as seen in the illustration, has as its most prominent feature 
the figure of a woman in classic drapery, the product of the artistic talent 
of Comrade Melzar H. Mosman, himself (Forty-sixth Massachusetts) a 
veteran of the campaigns thus commemorated. His part was the turning 
over to the representative of the Commonwealth the result of legislative 
appropriations. $9,000 in all, and his own skill as a sculptor. Unfor- 
tunately, Gov. Curtis Guild, Jr., was detained at home by serious illness 
and his place was taken by the Hon. William D. Chappie, President of 
the Senate, who, in a])])ropriate words, accepted the charge. The unveil- 
ing was done by the joint action of Miss Alice Alden Sprague, daughter 
of Gen. A. B. R. Sprague, formerly of the Second Heavy Artillery, Mrs. 
Laura A. Dugan, daughter of Col. Thomas J. C. Amory, Seventeenth 


Massachusetts Infantry, and Mrs. J. L. Hartsfield, the daughter of a 
Confederate veteran. Prayer had been offered by the IJev. Dr. Edward 
H. Hall of Cambridge, former chaplain of the Forty-fourth Massachu- 
setts. Here, as at Vicksburg, school children bore a part and enlivened 
the occasion by the singing of patriotic airs, and local military companies 
honored the day by their presence. They were not clad in gray nor yet 
in blue, but they wore the khaki, of late the prevailing hue of the militia 
everywhere. The orator of the day was Capt. A. A. Putnam of the 
Second Heavy Artillery, the exercises closing with the firing of a salute 
by the ISTewbern company of the N. C. IST. CI., under the command of 
Capt. J. C. McSorley. The conventionalities exchanged by the citizens 
and the visitors were notable, and out of regard for the hospitable treat- 
ment received, on the 3d of the December following, the official party 
of excursionists sent to the N'ewbern Chapter of the Daughters of the 
Confederacy a magnificent punch bowl of solid silver, praying its accept- 
ance by the ladies wdio had so delightfully entertained their visitors from 
the north. The regiments from Massachusetts that bore a part in the 
North Carolina campaigns, and whose names are borne upon the monu- 
ment, are the Second, Third, Fifth, Eighth, Seventeenth, Twenty-first, 
Twenty-third, Twenty-fourth, Twenty-fifth, Twenty-seventh, Thirty- 
third, Forty-third, Forty-fourth, Forty-fifth, Forty-sixth and Fifty-first 
Infantry; and the Second Heavy Artillery. The account of the project 
and realization of the monument rearing in the old north State has been 
put forth in most elaborate book form by Mr. James B. Gardner of the 
Forty-fourth Eegiment, himself a member of the monumental committee. 


The latest act of Massachusetts in the commemoration of her soldiers 
who risked their all in war times was the placing of a beautiful granite 
shaft within the National Cemetery at Baton Eouge, the capital of the 
State of Louisiana. The operations of the Federal armies in the Depart- 
ment of the Gulf formed a large part of the history of the war, and a great 
many of the organizations of the Commonwealth bore their part therein. 
A monument costing $10,000 has been set up in the State, so far away yet 
so fraught with historic interest, and it awaited the presence of Massa- 
chusetts officials for the final acts of dedication and presentation. Once 
more the exercises are set for the month of November; the elections, due 
early in the month, had l)een held, and one week later, or on the ninth day 
of the month, the Governoi\ with the accustomed following of legislators, 


members of the Council and veterans, set forth for the distant southland. 
Going by way of Chattanooga, Mobile and New Orleans, it was possible 
for the excursionists to halt in these interesting cities and enjoy their 
sights and objects of interest. Eeaching the capital, on the banks of the 
river that for hundreds of years has filled so many pages of historj'-, and 
which, during Eebellion days, was more prominent than ever, the visitors 
performed the office on account of which they were so very far from home. 

In passing, it might be stated that while in New Orleans the party, 
among other interesting places visited, called at the home for worn-out 
Confederate soldiers. Drawn up in two lines, facing each other, it was 
possible for the visitors to grasp each veteran by the hand as they marched 
through. Governor Draper addressed the veterans in an appreciative 
manner, evidently to the great satisfaction of the old '' Graybacks." 
The party had collected $150 for the old men, and this the Governor 
passed over to them, an expression of regard that touched them deeply. 
Then Gen. Charles W. Taylor of the '" Boston Globe " gave the old 
" boys " another $100 of his own, and they were touched again. 

At Baton Eouge the occasion was made much of, drawing out a large 
assemblage of the people, led by the Governor of the State, Jared Y. 
Sanders, and the mayor of the city. Wade Bynum. The master of cere- 
monies at the dedication was General Taylor, who kept things in active 
motion. The children sang patriotic songs and " Nearer, My God, to 
Thee," was rendered beautifully by Mrs. A'irginia Eobert on. The wel- 
coming address in behalf of the State was given most eloquently by 
Governor Sanders and for the city by Mayor Bynum, both of whom were 
responded to in a most happy manner by Governor Draper. The monu- 
ment was unveiled by Miss Lena M. Eemington, daughter of Sergeant-at- 
Arms David T. Eemington, and Miss Sallie Sanders, sister of the 
Louisiana Governor, and was then formally passed into the keeping of 
Capt. A. D. King, custodian of the cemetery. An interesting feature of 
the day was the presentation of a beautiful floral token from the Confed- 
erated Southern Memorial Association, through a letter from its president, 
Mrs. W. J. Behan, who was unable to be present. After the children had 
sung '' x4.merica," the cadets of the State University fired a salute, " taps " 
were sounded and every one joined in singing " Dixie." The day's 
doings ended with a reception by the order of Elks and a play at the 
Theater. The people of Louisiana evidently appreciated the visit of so 
many (60) citizens from distant Massachusetts and the purpose for which 
they came. Vide Plate VI. 



General Devens 
I Worcester I. 

General Hooker 
(State House). 




The monument, constructed of Quincy granite, is a needle shaft 38 
feet in height, standing on a granite base 10 feet square. On its face is 
a bronze eagle with wings uplifted over the carved granite shield of Massa- 
chusetts, above the bronze tablet which bears the names of Massachusetts 
organizations that participated in the Gulf campaigns, viz., the Fourth, 
Twenty-sixth, Thirtieth, Thirty-first, Thirty-eighth, Forty-first, Forty- 
second, Forty-seventh, Forty-eighth, Forty-ninth, Fiftieth, Fifty-second 
and Fifty-third Infantry ; and the Second, Fourth, Sixth, Seventh, 
Twelfth, Thirteenth and Fifteenth Batteries. 


However much Massachusetts has done for the honor of the dead, she 
has done infinitely more for the living. During the war she paid out in 
bounties to her volunteers the vast sum of $17,872,404.82, and for the 
care and maintenance of deserving soldiers and their families, during and 
since the war, the far larger sum of $32,712,348.56, the latter amount by 
way of what is called State or military aid. 

The Soldiers' Home, maintained at Chelsea, was an innovation in its 
way, though there are many others now, there being about thirty State 
Homes in the Union. In the later 70's, Department Commander Horace 
Binney Sargent, with his associates, preached a gospel of justice through- 
out the Commonwealth, whose outcome is the magnificent institution on 
Powderhorn Hill, Chelsea. A great impetus was given to the project 
when Capt. Joseph B. Thomas of Charlestown, in 1881, presented $10,000 
to help it along; other gifts followed, and with State assistance the Home 
was opened, thenceforward being a source of incalculable good to the old 
soldier. The direct crifts and legacies have been as follows: — 

Capt. Joseph B. Thomas, 
Mrs. Elizabeth P. Seaver, 
Mrs. Caroline M. Barnard, 
Hon. .J. Warren Merrill, 
Mrs. Mary J. Taylor, . 
Mrs. Lyman Tucker, . 
Mrs. Ann J. Baker, 
Mrs. Joanna L. Merriam, 
Capt. Gideon Skull Holmes, 
George Draper, 
Gen. William F. Draper, 
Concert of War Songs, 1883, 
Grand Army Carnival, 1885, 

$10,000 00 

4,174 82 

3,000 00 

1,000 00 

100 00 

2,000 00 

300 00 

50 00 

2,620 52 

400 00 

1,400 00 

1,231 00 

62,312 00 



Mrs. Susan W. Weston, .... 

Massachusetts Division, Sons of Veterans, 

Moses Wilde, 2d, .... 

Charles L. Kezar, 

Ladies' Aid Association, 

Ladies' Aid Association, for elevator, 

Eobert C. Billings, 

Col. Josiah H. Benton, 

Capt. J. G. B. Adams, 

W. B. Frothingham, 

William Montgomery, 

Forty-fourth Eegiment Association, 

Otis E. Weld, .... 

$250 00 

750 00 

8,300 00 

100 00 

3,000 0.0 

1,053 00 

5,000 00 

100 00 

1,000 00 

60 00 

1,800 00 

600 00 

1,700 00 

The sum total of personal giving, as above, is $112,301. To this 
should be added the part borne by the Commonwealth, the latter having 
contributed $250,000 for new buildings and $823,000 for maintenance. 
The aggregate for State and individual, in caring for the old soldier at 
Chelsea, amounts to $1,185,301. 

However great this sum may seem it is only a bagatelle compared with 
the vast amount of $32,712,348, which Massachusetts has contributed 
towards the care and comfort of her deserving veterans and their families 
during and since the war. Should we add to the foregoing the $17,- 
872,404 paid out in bounties, some idea may be had of what war has 
cost the Bay State. Other items, as the publication of regimental his- 
tories, the dedication of battle monuments on southern fields, swell still 
larger the grand aggregate. 


The Massachusetts Commandery of the Loyal Legion, with headquar- 
ters in Boston, has remembered a large number of its companions, for the 
most part in the towns where they resided. Thanks are due to Col. Arnold 
A. Eand, for many years the secretary of the Commandery, for the follow- 
ing data covering the tablets thus far placed. As the cost of the memo- 
rials varies somewhat, it is not possible to ascertain exactly the expense 
incident to their placing, but, at an average of $100 each, it will be seen 
that the outlay has been $3,000. It will be observed that all the tablets, 
save four, were placed in Massachusetts. 

Gen. Charles Devens (originally Colonel, Fifteenth Massachusetts Infantry), 
Court House, Boston. 

Gen. George J. Stannard (of Vermont Brigade fame at Gettysburg), Burling- 
ton, Vt. 


Maj. J. Henry Sleeper (Tenth Massachusetts Battery), Boston University, 

Gen. Samuel M. Quincy (originally Captain, Second Massachusetts Infantry), 
Quincy School, Boston. 

Capt. Joseph P. Eockwell (originally Sergeant-Major, Eighteenth Connecti- 
cut), Norwich, Conn. 

Col. Henry Stone (Captain, Eighth Infantry, M. V. M.), South Congrega- 
tional Church, Boston. 

Col. Francis L. Lee (Forty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry), Chestnut Hill 
Chapel, Newton. 

Col. Oliver W. Peabody (originally Captain, Forty-fifth Massachusetts In- 
fantry), All Saints Church, Ashmout. 

Col. William H. Forbes (originally Second Lieutenant, First Massachusetts 
Cavalry), Milton Academy, Milton. 

Col. Edward N. Hallowell (Fifty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry), Public 
Library, Medford. 

Gen. William Coggswell (originally Captain, Second Massachusetts Infantry), 
Armory, Second Coi^ps Cadets, Salem. 

Lieut. George E. Priest (Fifty-seventh Massachusetts Infantry), Public 
iXiibrary, Watertown. 

Gen. John M. Corse (West Point, 1857; at first. Major, Sixth Iowa Infantiy), 
Federal Building, Boston. 

Gen. Francis A. Walker (originally Sergeant-Major, Fifteenth Massachu- 
setts Infantry), Institute of Technology, Boston. 

Capt. Hii'am S. Shurtleff (Fifty-sixth Massachusetts Infantry), Latin School, 

Lieut. -Col. James Francis (Second Massachusetts Infantry), Unitarian 
Church, Lowell. 

Capt. Samuel W. Duncan (Fiftieth Massachusetts Infantry), Public Library, 

Capt. John C. Maker (Twenty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry), High School, 

Gen. Charles A. R. Dimon (First United States Volunteers), City Hall, Lowell. 

Maj. William H. Hodgkins (Thirty-sixth Massachusetts Infantry), Hodgkins 
School, Somerville. 

Maj. Zabdiel E. Adams (Fifth Massachusetts Cavalry), Gettysburg battlefield, 

Lieut. Person E. Cheney (Thirteenth New Hampshire Infantry), ex- 
Governor, State House, Concord, N. H. 

Lieut. Henry W. Howe (Thirtieth Massachusetts Infantry), Memorial Hall, 

Col. Augustus P. Martin (Third Massachusetts Battery), Martin School, 

Gen. Francis W. Palfrey (Twentieth Massachusetts Infantry), Cadet Armory, 

Gen. George L. Andrews (West Point, 1851; Second Massachusetts Infantry), 
Dullum Memorial Hall, West Point, N. Y. 


Lieut.-Col. J. Lewis Stackpole (originally Captain, Twenty-fourth Massachu- 
setts Infantry), Military Historical Society, Boston. 

Capt. Frederick B. Doten (Fourteenth Connecticut Infantry), Unitarian 
Church, Chicopee. 

Maj. Thomas O. Allen (Sixth Massachusetts Infantry), Memorial Hall, 

Capt. J. G. B. Adams (Nineteenth Massachusetts Infantry), First Universalist 
Church, Lynn. 


Massachusetts has 354 cities and towns, of which number 233 have 
each one or more memorials of the Civil War, thus leaving 121 with no 
other token than the monument or headstone, of more or less cost, which 
the national government or immediate friends have reared to departed 
loved ones. In 55 divisions of the Commonwealth there are two and' 
frequently more tokens, to the extent of 92 in all, thus making the total 
322 ; 27 municipalities have monuments in prospect, some of them near- 
ing the point of dedication, hence it is fair to add this number to the 
foregoing total, increasing it to 349, — very near an average of one memo- 
rial for every city and town in Massachusetts. Were we to include in the 
estimate the halls and libraries to which the word " memorial " is 
attached, there would be no troul)le about the average. The total outlay, 
as above, has been $1,401,320. 

Twenty-two cities and towns have so-called " memorial " libraries, 
town or other public hall, and, in one instance, a very costly church, 
whose combined cost is $1,052,750. This amount would l)e somewhat 
increased had the cost of each edifice been given. 

Among the divisions of the Commonwealth expecting to erect future 
memorials, contemplated expenditures are named to the amount of 
$78,900, — an amount which might fairly be added to the monumental 
aggregate, though this has not been done. 

Thirty-four Posts of the Grand Army meet in halls owned by them- 
selves or the co-ordinated Eelief Corps. These quarters have cost the 
Posts, Corps or the public the sum of $363,150, some of the possessions 
being very extensive and valuable. Fifty-six other Posts are given their 
quarters, rent free, by city, town or other generous parties. Thus 120 
Posts are still paying their own bills, of whatever character. 

What the Commonwealth has given for statues of her officers upon the 
State House grounds has been seen in the account of the same ; she has 



also devoted the following sums to objects beyond the confines of Massa- 
chusetts : — 

Gettysburg, .... 


Andersonville, Ga., 

. $11,800 

Chick amauga, Tenn., 


Vicksburg, Miss., . 


Antietam, .... 


Winchester, Va., 


Needham Monument, Lawrence, 


Newbern, N. C, . 


Ladd and Whitney Monument, 

Baton Rouge, La., . 

. 10,000 

Lowell, .... 


Were the sums paid for dedicating the above-named monuments 
added, the total of $77,600 would be easily increased to fully $100,000. 
The aggregate paid by the Commonwealth for the memorials upon the 
State House grounds and in the edifice itself is $131,000. 

The final and grand total for individual, city and town giving, with 
that of the Commonwealth, in or for the State, is as follows : — 

Individual, city and town, ........ 

Massachusetts, in the State House or on the grounds, . 
Massachusetts, elsewhere than within. her own borders, 
Chelsea Home, individual and State, ...... 

Massachusetts, State and military aid during, and since the war, 
Loyal Legion, for memorial tablets, ...... 










Abixgtox (Plymouth County). — As yet there is no monument in 
the town, though prominent citizens, in conjunction with the Woman's 
Relief Corps and the Sons of Veterans, are moving in the matter. Funds 
for this purpose have been started. McPherson Post 73 possesses a steel 
breastplate, Avorn at Ciettysburg by Capt. Jesse H. Jones, Sixtieth Xew 
York Volunteers ; having been thrown away by some weary wearer on the 
way northward from Falmouth, he appropriated it, and a dent upon it, 
just over the region of the heart, attests its life-saving qualities. The 
Post is housed in its own quarters, a roomy and comfortable edifice, as its 
picture indicates, costing $5,000. Through the generosity of Capt. Moses 
N. Arnold, Twelfth Massachusetts Infantry, on May 31, 1909, there was 
dedicated a memorial commemorative of the early public meeting place 
of the primal abolitionists. The location is the old island grove, where, 
years ago, was heard the eloquence of Garrison, Phillips, Pillsbury, Ed- 


iniind Qiiincy, George Thompson, Abby Kelley Foster, Lucy Stone and 
others. The memorial is an immense boulder, with a suitably inscribed 
bronze tablet. At the dedication, wherein the Grand Army was repre- 
sented, there were speeches by Judge E. 0. Harris, Hon. A. E. Pillsbury 
and William Lloyd Garrison, 2d, this being one of the latter's last public 
appearances. (David Warren, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXIX. 

Acton (Middlesex County). — Feb. 27, 1890, the Hon. WiUiam A. 
Wilde of Maiden, but Acton born, presented to his native town a beautiful 
library building, costing $30,000, being known as the Memorial Library. 
At its principal entrance are tablets (estimated value, $500) to the mem- 
ory of Acton's soldiers in the War of the Eebellion; one bears the names 
of those, 29 in number, who lost their lives ; the other, the names of all 
who served. Within, there is a relic room and a safe for the retention 
of the more important objects of interest. Among the relics are a paint- 
ing of the departure of the Davis Guards for the war, the sword of Capt. 
Aaron C. Handley of the Guards (Sixth Infantry, M. V. M.), and a box 
and gavel made from pieces of historic wood by Henry Scarlet; each 
piece has significance in connection with the Eebellion, either on land or 
sea, and all were given by Mrs. Eeuben L. Eead from her very large 
collection of such material. The sister of a soldier in the war, Emery A, 
Symands, Mrs. Eead is a member of Woman's Eelief Corps 62. Both the 
Corps and Isaac Davis Post 138 of West x\cton occupy rented though 
commodious quarters, containing many pictures and minor relics of the 
Eebellion. (From data furnished b}' Eeuben L. Eead.) Vide Plate 

Agushnet (Bristol County). — There is nothing of a public memo- 
rial nature in town, either actual or prospective. 

Adams (Berkshire County). — This town claims its very fine library 
edifice as a war memorial, and the names of Lincoln and Grant appear 
on the exterior walls. Also, the second floor has been elaborately equipped 
and donated to George E. Sayles Post 126 as regular quarters, yet the 
Free Public Library Commission for 1899 says : " It is expected that 
eventually the whole building will be given up to the library." This being 
the case, what becomes of the memorial feature ? It is an expensive plant, 
costing, with lot, nearly $50,000, and its cornerstone was laid by Presi- 
dent McKinley, Sept. 25, 1897. The McKinley statue, which stands 
immediately in front of the library, is really the soldiers' memorial for 


the town. Costing about $10,000, dedicated Oct. 10, 1903, with principal 
address by ex-Gov. John D. I-ong, it is the very first memorial of the 
martyred President erected in New England, — a tribute from his admir- 
ing friends of Adams, where he had frequently visited. On a granite 
pedestal, 6 feet in height, stands the bronze figure of the President, 8 feet 
high. Significant tablets, depicting features of McKinley's life, adorn the 
four sides of the pedestal. The expense was defrayed largely by popular 
subscriptions of small sums each, the balance being met by the Hon. 
W. B. Plunkett. Vide Plate VII. 

Agawam (Hampden County). — Has no memorial, and, as far as 
known, nothing of the sort is contemplated. 

Alfobd (Bekkshire County). — Town Clerk Henry Ticknor writes 
that, save the well-marked graves of deceased soldiers of the Civil War, 
Alford has no memorials of the strife, nor any prospect of the same. 

Amesbury (Essex County). — The only soldiers' monument in 
Amesbury was erected in Union Cemetery in 1874, at a cost of about $500, 
— a sum raised by popular subscription and the town, jointly. E. P. Wal- 
lace Post 122 uses a gavel made from a portion of Libby Prison. The Post 
occupies rented quarters. Though by no means G. A. E. relics, Wliittier's 
former home and his grave hallow Amesbury. (D. E. Gale, Adjutant.) 

Amherst (Hampshire County). — The permanent memorial of this 
college town is a set of marble tablets in the vestibule (second story) of 
the Town Hall. Erected in 1891 by subscription, they cost about $500. 
In the tower of Amherst College Church is a chime of bells (eight in 
number), given by George Howe of Boston, in 1871, as a memorial of 
Amherst College graduates who lost their lives in the war. The town's 
most interesting relic stands erect in the vestibule of Williston Hall, a 
college building. It is a brass cannon from the battle field of Newborn, 
N. C, sent by Gen. Ambrose E. Burnside as a memorial of Frazar A. 
Stearns, class of 1863, and son of President Stearns, who, as Adjutant of 
the Twenty-first Massachusetts Infantry, lost his life on that sanguinary 
field. An elaborate inscription, cut into the metal, describes the reasons 
for its presence there. The town furnishes, rent free, excellent rooms 
for E. M. Stanton Post 147 in the Town Hall, where the Post has a fine 
collection of war pictures, etc. (From data furnished by W. I. Fletcher, 
Librarian, Amherst College.) 


Andover (Essex County). — A large and imposing edifice, devoted 
to library purposes, and called the Memorial Hall, constitutes this town's 
tribute to the soldiers of the Eebellion. John Smith and John Dove 
were the principal givers towards the building fund, Mr. Smith giving 
$1,700 and Mr. Dove $1,200. An appropriation of $4,500, previously 
made by the town for a monument, was turned into the fund, and other 
gifts raised the amount to $57,000. The second story of the hall is 
devoted to memorial uses, and has tablets (estimated value, $500), bear- 
ing the names of Andover soldiers who fell in the war. The dedication 
was May 30, 1873, the address being made by the Rev. Phillips Brooks 
(subsequently Bishop), with dedicatory prayer by the Eev. Prof. Edward 
A. Park of Andover Seminary. Gen. W. F. Bartlett Post 99 is located in 
this town. Vide Plate XX. 

Arlington (Middlesex County). — In Revolutionary days, when 
known as Menotomy or West Cambridge, this town furnished minutemen 
for the strife. Eleven lost their lives on the famous 19th of April, 1775, 
and memorials to their honor stand within her boundaries. She has also 
remembered her sons who served in the War of the Rebellion, setting 
apart for their burial the most sightly portion of her public cemetery, and 
placing in the most prominent location in the town a magnificent monu- 
ment.. It stands where Massachusetts Avenue from Cambridge and 
Broadway from Somerville meet, in the very center of beautiful Arling- 
ton. The funds for its erection came from a small sum, with accrued 
interest, set apart for such purpose during the war, a small appropriation 
by the town and $8,000 raised by subscription. The total cost was 
$14,000. The monument was dedicated, with impressive ceremonies, 
June 17, 1887, with oration by Hon. J. Q. A. Brackett (subsequently 
Governor) and poem by J. T. Trowbridge. Whatever relics the Post and 
town possess are committed to the safe-keeping of the Arlington Historical 
Society. Prancis Gould Post 36 maintains its own hall, the same result- 
ing from the combined efforts of Mr. E. Xelson Blake and Mr. George E. 
Richardson, the Building Fund Association, Woman's Relief Corps 43, 
Sons of Veterans, Camp 45, and the liberal gifts of generous citizens. 
The capacious and elegantly adorned edifice was dedicated in December, 
1894. Situated on Massachusetts Avenue, in plain sight of the soldiers' 
and sailors' monument, elaliorately furnished, equipped with lights and 
everything essential to the comfort of the veterans, it is itself a monument 
to good taste and local generosity. Two naval howitzers on the lawn in 
front give the locality a martial atmosphere. Both Corps and Camp of 


the women and the sons also use the rooms. Many pictured faces of dis- 
tinguished officers in the war, with those of past Post commanders, hang 
upon the walls of the main hall. Held by a board of trustees as long as 
needed for Grand Army purposes, it will eventually revert to the use of 
the Eobbins (Public) Library as a memorial. The total cost of the hall 
was $9,700. (From data furnished by Department Patriotic Instructor 
Charles S. Parker, Post 36.) Vide Plate XTI. 

AsiiBURNHAM (WORCESTER County). — Standing in front of the 
Fairbanks Town Hall is the inspiring figure of a soldier in bronze, 
presented to the town, June 5, 1905, by Melvin C. Adams, Esq., of 
Boston, in memory of the volunteers from his native town. Assisting 
the local Post, Sergeant Plunkett 184, in the dedication, were Post 19, 
Fitchburg, Post 69, Westminster, and Post 153, Winchendon. The bronze 
soldier, seemingly on the march, reaches a height of 18 feet above the 
ground. The product of the genius of Mrs. Theodore Ruggles Kitson, the 
entire memorial cost $5,000. The figure is a replica of that on the Massa- 
chusetts monument at Vicksburg, that being somewhat changed from 
the one in Xewburyport. At the dedication. Colonel Adams eloquently 
made tlie presentation, and the reception address was made by James H. 
AVolff, then Department Commander. In Fairbanks Memorial Hall, 
dedicated on the same day. Woman's Eelief Corps 171, of Ashburnham, 
has placed a bronze memorial, of very attractive design, bearing the names 
of all soldiers and sailors enlisting from the town. This was done at a 
cost of $500. In the relic line Post 18-i is not lacking, since the gavel 
in regular use has, for its head, wood from a tree grown on the field of 
Fair Oaks, the same inclosing a bullet fired on that terrible May or 
June day, 1862. The handle is from the Andersonville stockade. The 
gavel head also carries a grape shot. The gavel stand or block is a piece 
of oak from Libby Prison, and to its several corners are affixed relics as 
follows: a piece of shell from Antietam, bullets from Cold Harbor, 
Petersburg and Newbern, with a small stone from Marye's Heights at 
Fredericksburg, where Sergeant Tom. Plunkett lost both arms in defend- 
ing the colors of the Twenty-first Massachusetts Infantry. This combina- 
tion of relics was prepared by Comrades Harvey Clarke and E. J. 
Cushing. The Post is quartered in fire-engine hall jSTo. 1, at the expense 
of the town. (W. 0. Parker, Adjutant.) Vide Plate VIIL 

AsHBY (Middlesex County). — The Civil War memorial in Ashby 
takes the form of an inscription upon the monument already erected to 


the memory of the soldiers of the Eevohition. Late in the 80"s the town 
expended $500 in resetting the monument and adding a new base, also 
in cutting the names of the soldiers from the town who served in the 
war. The public library has a fine collection of Rebellion relics, largely 
collected by Comrade, the late Kev. George S. Shaw of Asliby. (Comrade 
Alonzo A. Carr.) 

AsHFiELD (Franklin County). — It must be a constant pleasure to 
the citizens of this beautiful town that, involved in the development of 
their soldiers' monument, are ideas of two of their most distinguished 
summer residents in the glad years, now so long in the past. George 
William Curtis and Charles Eliot Norton thought that the useful should 
be combined with the ornamental and the patriotic in monumental proj- 
ects, so the town voted $600 for a monument and drinking fountain 
combined. The resulting memorial was erected in 1867, one of the first 
of its kind, a rare tribute to the sensibilities of the people of Ashfield and 
the wisdom of their visitors. In repairs $200 have been expended since. 
As seen in the view, the summer home of the late Professor Norton is 
disclosed in the background. (John M. Sears, Town C*lerk.) Vide 
Plate XVII. 

Ashland (Middlesex County). — As yet the town has nothing of a 
memorial character, though measures are afoot for the placing of tablets, 
bearing the name of Ashland soldiers, at the entrance to tlie public 
library. The estimated expense is $500, to be met by a town appropria- 
tion. (Since the foregoing was written, the tablets have been placed. 
Nov. 6, 1909, from the Milford works of A. C. Kinney, the marble memo- 
rials were attached to the east and west walls of the library entrance. 
Six feet in height by 8 in width, they bear the names of more than 200 
volunteers credited to the town. The east tablet has the legend at the 
top, ^^ When Abraham Lincoln called, these men of Ashland answered 
' Here ' ", while the western carries, " To their memory, living or dead, 
Ashland dedicates these tablets.") Colonel Prescott Post 18 has occupied 
the same rented quarters for nearly if not quite all of its existence. 
(Ezra Morse, Adjutant.) 

Atiiol (Worcester County). — Through the efforts of Comrade 
William H. Mellen and Congressman F. H. Gillett two cannon have been 
obtained from the national government, and they are placed respectively 
in the upper and lower village. Parker Post 123, with the aid of the 


Matrons of the Eepublie, secured funds and erected in Highland Cemetery 
a monument upon the soldiers' lot, a gift from the town for veteran 
burial purposes. It was dedicated while Past Department Commander 
George H. Evans was alive (he died in 1003), for he was the orator of 
the occasion, on Decoration Day of that year. The cost of the monument 
was $750. There are two posts in the town, Parker Post 123, in the lower 
village, and Hubbard J. Smith Post 140, in the upper, or Athol Center. 
Both occupy rented quarters. In 1866 Athol printed a volume of 264 
pages, containing the personal history of all the men enlisting from the 
town; in itself it is a valuable monument. (C. E. Taft, Adjutant, 
Post 123.) 

Attleborough (Bristol County). — This enterprising town has two 
monuments, one, that in Wood Lawn Cemetery, being erected in 1880, 
at the sole expense of the " boys in blue,'' the latter contributing of their 
substance to the amount of $800. Attleborough veterans claim that it is 
the only monument in the Commonwealth erected exclusively by former 
soldiers. At first there was a large bronze cannon above the granite (vide 
plate), but certain parties stole it for the metal. Three of the miscreants 
were caught and imprisoned; "they should have been hung " is the senti- 
ment among G. A. E. men. The later monument, standing in the thick 
of Attleborough's activity, and costing $8,500, was dedicated June 17, 
1908, with an address by J. Willard Brown, Junior Vice-Commander of 
the Department. The veterans of this town consider Attleborough un- 
usually generous towards the old soldier, and, in evidence thereof, adduce 
the following facts for 1908 : for soldiers' relief, military aid. Memorial 
Day and for G. A. R. rental the town paid out $4,000. The town, also, 
is conspicuous in having the largest private collection of Rebellion curios 
in Massachusetts, too large, indeed, for specification. They fill a large 
room in the second story of the owner's capacious mansion, and are 
cheerfully shown by him to all interested visitors. The town pays hall 
rent for William A. Streeter Post 145. (Maj. E. S. Horton.) Vide 
Plate IX. 

Auburn (Worcester County).- — -John A. Logan Post 97, estab- 
lished in Auburn in the late 60s, was largely instrumental in securing the 
soldiers' monument which was erected in 1870, at a cost of $1,500, by town 
appropriation. Though the Post continued only three years, it fully 
warranted its existence that length of time through its agency in acquiring 
the monument. (Comrade Joseph P. Eaton.) 


Avon (Nokfolk County). — Incorporated Feb. 21, 1888, from the 
town of Stoughton; in 1889, parts of Holbrook and Randolph were added. 
The beautiful monument of Avon is due to the generosity of Orlando 
Leach of this town. It was erected at an estimated cost of $4,000, and 
Avas dedicated, with impressive ceremonies, Memorial Day, 1905, the ad- 
dress being given by Charles E. Stowe. The total height of the monument 
is 22 feet. C. M. Packard Post 193 occupies rented quarters. (Orrin 
Whitten, Adjutant.) 

Ayer (Middlesex County). — In war times there was no town of 
Ayer, hence it is not altogether surprising that as yet there is no soldiers' 
memorial of any kind. Until 1871, the thriving railroad center now 
known as Ayer was called Groton Junction. There is an active Grand 
Army Post, George S. Boutwell Post 48, and plans are in existence look- 
ing to the placing of tablets, at some time, bearing the names of the men 
who enlisted from those portions of Groton and Shirley that now consti- 
tute the town of Ayer. (William H. Sherman, Adjutant.) 

Barnstable (Barnstable County). — Centerville contains the sol- 
diers' monument for this town. Erected in July, 1866, it is one of the 
very first memorials dedicated in the Commonwealth. The site was 
given by the town clerk, F. G. Kelley, and the cost ($1,100) of the shaft, 
which is 15 feet high, was met by the town. The town, also, has provided 
bronze markers for all her deceased soldiers of whatever war. The two 
Posts, Theodore Parkman 204, Centerville, and Y-an-no 213, Hyannis, 
are both housed in rented quarters, Parkman Post possesses the portrait 
of Color Sergeant Parkman, Forty-fifth Massachusetts Infantry, killed 
at Wliitehall, K. C. (M. M. Haskell, Adjutant, Post 204, and W. L. 
Pting, Commander, Post 213.) Vide Plate XIX. 

Barre (Worcester County). — The monument in Barre was pro- 
vided by the town in 1866, at a cost of $7,000. Standing upon the town 
Common, in the center of the village, it is a conspicuous and beautiful 
sight. Samuel F. Woods Post 179 occupies rented quarters. (J. A. Car- 
ruth, Adjutant.) Tide Plate XXVI. 

Becket (Berkshire County). — This town has no public memorial 
of the Civil War. It has considerable pride, however, in the fact that all 
the graves of soldiers are adequately marked. (Henry Ticknor, Town 


Bedford (Middlesex County). — Soon after the war, an association 
of loyal women of Bedford was formed for the purpose of securing funds 
with which to erect a monument. Their success is attested by the shaft 
of Scotch granite, with Quincy granite surroundings, now standing in 
Shawshine Cemetery. Having cost an aggregate of $1,600, its care and 
keeping were passed over to the town. (Abram E. Brown, Town Clerk.) 

Belchertown (Hampshire County). — Twenty-two years ago this 
town dedicated a monument, costing $1,600, to the niemory of the sol- 
diers. It is placed in the middle of the Common, and is made of metal 
composition, called cream of zinc. It subserves the purpose for which 
it was placed, and is highly prized by all townspeople. E. S. Griggs Post 
97 possesses a large folio volume, presented by Past Department Com- 
mander Myron P. Walker at an outlay of $150, in which are found 
sketches of the lives and services of all members of the Post. The town 
donates commodious quarters for the use of Post 97. (H. C. West, 

Bellingham (Norfolk County). — As early as the winter of 1863 
and 1864, when the soldiers were re-enlisting, the ladies began holding tea 
parties, with the ultimate aim of a soldiers' monument. Their commend- 
able efforts then and subsequently resulted in raising $500, to which sum 
the town, in 1872 or 1873, added $300. With this sum a bargain in 
granite was bought and erected, there being an additional outlay of $125 
for flowers, placing, etc. The monument was put in place in the triangu- 
lar plot in the center of Bellingham village, in 1874. In 1907 an 
appropriation of $100 was made to raise the monument some fifteen 
inches, the original placing being too low. The entire cost of the memo- 
rial to date has been $925. (Henry A. Whitney, Town Clerk.) Vide 
Plate X. 

Belmont (Middlesex County). — At a cost of $800, the town 
caused to be placed, at the entrance of the Town Hall, tablets containing 
the names of Belmont soldiers who lost their lives in the war. Veterans of 
this town for the most part belong to the Arlington Post of the Grand 
Army. (Charles N. Houlihan, Town Clerk.) 

Berkley (Bristol County). — While as yet no monument stands in 
Berkley, one is on the way. Several years ago certain energetic Grand 
Army men set about raising a fund for monumental purposes, acquiring, 


by entertainments and subscriptions, about $800. Then, owing to dissen- 
sions, the interest subsided, and the funds collected were placed in the 
bank, amounting at present to $1,000. Veterans feel that the time for 
action is near at hand, and some tangible result is soon to be expected. 
Berkley veterans, generally, belong to the Taunton Post. (Comrade 
Charles W. Cook, Town Clerk and Treasurer.) 

Berlin (Worcester County). — There is no monument, but the 
town has fitted up a room on the first floor of the Town Hall for the use 
of the Grand Army and kindred bodies, placing on the walls marble tab- 
lets (estimated cost, $150) to the memory of the soldiers. The Post 
possesses an 8-inch cannon ball, fired at Fort McAllister, besides a very 
large collection of portraits, in oval black walnut frames, of deceased com- 
rades. Capt. C. S. Hastings Post 54 is housed as above. The Ladies' Aid, 
Sons and Daughters of Veterans, use the same quarters. (G. E. Burgess, 

Bernardston (Franklin County). — This town, to which have been 
given many thousands of dollars by loyal sons, has nothing in the way of 
Eebellion reminders. 

Beverly (Essex County). — In 1883, through the instrumentality 
of J. H. Chipman, Jr., Post 89, a monument was dedicated in Beverly. 
Of the cost thereof, $900 was raised by subscription, the remainder by 
fairs and entertainments; the total expense amounted to $4,850. Later, 
the town, at an outlay of $600, graded the lot and set edgestones. The 
choicest relic is the stump of a tree from Chickamauga, having imbedded 
a solid shot in one side, pieces of shell in the other. Coming from between 
the lines, one side is known as Union, the other as Confederate. Through 
the generosity of the city, the Post is comfortably housed in an abandoned 
schoolhouse. (Winthrop E. Perry, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XIII. 

Billerica (Middlesex County). — This town once had a Grand 
Army Post, and, possibly, it was owing to veteran interest that, on Oct. 8, 
1873, an imposing monument was dedicated, costing $5,000, the entire 
expense being borne by the town. 

Blackstone (Worcester County). — No monument here, nor any 
prospect of one. 


Blandford (Hampdex County). — The postmaster writes that he 
knows nothing of an}^ memorial in town. 

Bolton (Worcester County). — Some of the smaller towns were 
earliest in evidencing their appreciation of soldierly sacrifices, Bolton ded- 
icating her beautiful marble tablets on Dec. 20, 1866. As early as the 
preceding April, measures were taken to secure the memorials, and suc- 
cessive appropriations, together with the gift of $100 by S. Henry Howe, 
chairman of the committee of arrangements, brought the amount up to 
$600. The tablets, with gilded lettering, are placed on the walls of the 
main hall of the town building, facing the principal entrance. The dedi- 
cation was notable, in that the orator of the occasion was the late Hon. 
George B. Loring of Salem, one of the most accomplished speakers of his 
day. The poem was a prominent feature, as it was written by Amos 
Stone, father of one of the boys who died in Andersonville, and whose 
name is graved upon one of the tablets. Quarters for G. K. Warren Post 
172 are furnished by the town in the Town Hall. (A. B. Hanes, Adju- 
tant. ) 

Boston (Suffolk County*) . — There is a Greater Boston, comprising 
not only the original city which sent her soldiers to the war, but the addi- 
tional municipalities of Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, Eoxbury and 
West Eoxbury, the latter including the village of Jamaica Plain. Boston 
also includes the domain of the Commonwealth known as the State House 
grounds, on which are several imposing memorials of the war. These 
several divisions or sections will be treated under their respective heads, 
alphabetically, as they are reached in the list. 

No city in the Commonwealth has a more impressive memorial, nor 
one more fittingly placed, than that which for more than thirty years has 
looked forth from Flag Staff Hill, on the old Boston Common. The 
cornerstone was laid Monday, Sept. 18, 1871, though plans for a monu- 
ment were before the city government as early as April 16, 1866. Martin 
Milmore was the sculptor, and for several years the project dragged along, 
until at last the completed work was dedicated, Sept. 17, 1877, being the 
fifteenth anniversary of the battle of Antietam. The event was observed 
by a great demonstration, both civic and military, the principal address 
being by Gen. Charles Devens. The cost of the monument, complete, was 
$75,000. The grading, foundations and expense of dedication must have 
cost nearly as much more. All outlays were borne by the city. Vide 
Plate II. 


Charles Sumner Statue. — Though not a soldier. Senator Sumner was 
a sufferer for the cause long before the war whose history cannot be written 
without frequent use of his name. His statue in bronze, standing on the 
Boylston Street side of the Public Gardens, near the entrance to the sub- 
way, was dedicated Dec. 23, 1878, with an historical sketch by Gov. 
Alexander H. Eice. Thomas Ball was the sculptor. The cost of the 
figure ($15,000, to which should be added $1,500 given as prizes to com- 
peting artists) was contributed by citizens. If the authorities would turn 
the bronze at least part way around, so that its face might be seen by the 
multitude who throng the subway, the result would be a great improve- 

Emancipation Group. — Standing in Park Square is the bronze figure 
of Abraham Lincoln, with hand outstretched above the crouching form of 
a negro from whose limbs the shackles have fallen. It is the gift of Moses 
Kimball, costing $17,000. The artist was Thonuis Ball, the work being 
a duplicate of the original Freedmen's Memorial in Washington, D. C. 
It was unveiled Dec. 6, 1879, Mayor F. 0. Prince delivering the address. 
Vide Plate XI. 

Shaw Memorial. — Though there are memorials in Massachusetts 
which cost more than that for Col. Eobert G. Shaw and his black regiment, 
the Fifty-fourth, there is nothing in the Bay State, nor in any other State, 
for that matter, which equals the impressiveness of this wonderful alto 
relievo from the fashioning hand of the immortal St. Gaudens. From 
1865 until 1897 the plan was brewing. The initiative was taken by J. B. 
Smith, an escaped slave, the original gift growing until it amounted to 
$23,000, to which, for building and arranging for the completed work on 
the Common, facing the State House, Boston added more than a like sum, 
so that finally the memorial represents nearly $50,000. The architects 
for the setting of the group were H. H. Richardson and Charles F. 
McKim, the latter following on the death of Eichardson. The builders 
were Norcross Brothers of Worcester. The dedication was on May 31, 
1897, with combined exercises on the part of the city and State, Gov. 
Eoger Wolcott presiding with inimitable grace, with principal address by 
Col. Henry Lee Higginson, who had been prominent in the project from 
the very beginning. Very appropriately, Booker T. Washington spoke for 
the race represented by the regiment. Vide Plate XXIX. 

Cass Monument. — The figure, in bronze, of Col. Thomas Cass of the 
Xinth Massachusetts Infantry, slain at Malvern Hill, is a worthy tribute 
to a brave and patriotic man. Originally, at the expense of his fellow 

^ ' W*:saf*- 

s & 


soldiers of the Xinth, a figure in granite had been fashioned and for some 
years it was a not altogether grateful addition to the statuary of the 
Public Gardens ; but when the city intervened and ordered the casting of 
the present figure, better results were secured. The artist was Richard E. 
Brooks of Xew York, and the dedication was on Sept. 22, 1899, with the 
principal address by Major Mci^amara of the Xinth. The cost of the 
memorial was $9,174. 

Farragut Memorial. — The pride of South Boston, the bronze figure 
of the brave old admiral stands on the water front, near the element on 
whose surface he had reigned supreme. Credit for the memorial should 
be given to Thomas F. Keenan, then in the Common Council, who, by 
persistence, put through an appropriation of $22,500, the cost of the 
figure. The artist was H. H. Kitson, since grown famous by his soldiers' 
figures. The dedication was on June 28, 1893, ex-Gov. Alexander H. 
Rice, orator, Henry O'Meara, poet, and the Rev. E. A. Horton, chaplain. 
Advantage was taken of the event to make the parade one of the most 
notable in the history of the city, and surely there had been few occasions 
more worthy of a popular outpouring. The bronze itself was cast in 
Providence. Vide Plate XL 

To this list might be added many tablets in public buildings, with 
personal monuments in cemeteries. 

BouRXE (Barxstable Couxty). — In war times a part of Sandwich, 
chartered in 1884, as yet the town has no memorial, though it is the loca- 
tion of E. B. Nye Post 203, G. A. R., which occupies rented quarters. 
(S. 0. Phinney, Adjutant.) 

BoxBOROUGii (Middlesex County). — Xo memorial here ; only three 
or four veterans left. (S. P. Dodge, Town Clerk.) 

BoxFORD (Essex County). - — The spring of 1875 saw the dedication 
of Boxford's monument. Jonathan Tyler Barker gave $1,000 and the 
remainder was contributed by various persons, the total being $2,017.19. 
Veterans of the town affiliate with the Groveland Post. (John W. Park- 
hurst, Town Clerk.) Vide Plate XXVIII. 

BoYLSTON (Worcester County). — Aug. 18, 1886, the date of cele- 
brating the one hundredth anniversary of the incorporation of the town, 
George A. Cotting of Hudson, formerly of Boylston, presented a memorial 
tablet, placed in the Town Hall, bearing the names of 10 Boylston sol- 


diers who lost their lives in the war, every one vmder thirty years of age. 
Probable cost of the tablet, $150. The public library has an album of 
portraits of Civil War soldiers. (George L. Wright, Town Clerk.) 

Braintkee (Norfolk County). — As early as June, 1865, a public 
meeting was called in Braintree to take action concerning some memorial 
for the dead soldiers. Two years later a public fair was held, which 
netted $1,500 towards the project. Later still the town appropriated 
$3,000 for monumental purposes ; a bequest of $500 by a citizen of the 
town was added. No direct action, however, was taken towards building 
until 1872. The monument, costing $0,500, was dedicated June 17, 1874. 
The oration was given by Gen. and ex-Gov. N. P. Banks. The monument 
bears the names of 58 Braintree soldiers who gave their lives for their 
country. In relics. Gen. Sylvanus Thayer Post 87 is rich, having, among 
others, a uniform (gray) worn by James T. Stevens in Company C, 
Fourth Eegiment, M. V. M., one of the Minutemen; a musket carried 
by John C. Sanborn through his service ; and a bugle presented to W. A. 
Bishop, Third Massachusetts Cavalry, by Gen. N, A. M. Dudley, and used 
by him through the Eed Eiver campaign. In the Grand Army lot. Plain 
Street Cemetery, presented by the town, there is also a monument, costing 
$275, secured by the comrades from the townspeople. The Post occupies 
excellent quarters, leased from the Old Colony Street Railway Company. 
(W. L. Gage, Commander.) Vide Plate XXXVII. 

Brewster (Barnstable County). — Named for the reverend elder 
of the " Mayflower " company, this township lacks any visible token of 
the war, nor does it appear to have expectations. (F. B. Crocker, Town 

Bridgewater (Plymouth County). — The memorial of this old 
colony town takes the form of tablets, firmly set into the walls of the open 
vestibule of the Memorial Library. Of Tennessee marble, they bear the 
names of 36 soldiers of the town who gave up their lives during the war. 
The cost of this feature of the library is estimated at $1,200, raised in 
part by taxation, the remainder by subscription. Bridgewater Post 205 
occupies rented quarters. (F. H. Kirmayer, Adjutant.) Tide Plate 

Brighton (City of Boston). — The soldiers' monument M^as erected 
in Evergreen Cemetery the year following the close of the war, the dedi- 


cation coming July 26, 1866, with an address by the Eev. Frederick 
Augustus Whitney. Thirty feet in height, bearing the names of Brighton 
men who died in service, and surmounted by a ball and eagle, it cost 
$5,000, given by the town. Francis Washburn Post 93 enjoys free 
quarters in the old court house. (John Welch, Quartermaster.) 

Brimfield (Hampden County). — Brimfield was one of the earliest 
to move in the direction of a monument, and March 13, 1866, on motion 
of Capt. F. D. Lincoln, Forty-sixth Massachusetts, the town appropriated 
$1,250 for this purpose. The completed shaft was unveiled July 4, 1866. 
The site for the memorial, east of the park and nearly in front of the 
hotel, the iron fence surrounding the monument, was donated by S. C. 
Herring and E. T. Sherman of New York. The names of 19 men who 
yielded their lives from this town are found in raised letters on the shaft. 
Within the monument enclosure are four condemned cannon, presented by 
the government. In 1899 the town caused to be placed on the walls of 
the Town Hall four marble tablets, costing $325, and bearing the names 
of all the soldiers, some 144 in number, who enlisted from Brimfield. 
Veterans from this town belong to the Sturbridge Post. (Comrade Miner 
H. Corbin, Town Clerk.) Tide Plate X. 

Brockton (Plymouth County). — The North Bridgewater of war 
times, ever the energetic, progressive community, has lively memories of 
the strife. When the city erected her City Hall there was provided an 
impressive rotunda, on whose walls were painted battle scenes in which 
local soldiers had had a part. These are very interesting works of art, 
and all told, architecture and paintings, represent $15,000. The city 
has, also, a fine monument, which was dedicated Nov. 12, 1907. It was 
erected at a cost of $4,000, secured by the local Woman's Eelief Corps 7. 
Among its relics the Post, Fletcher Webster 13, has a case of curios from 
Gettysburg, a beautiful silk banner, presented by the school children of 
the city more than thirty years ago, an extensive collection of portraits of 
veterans, besides many souvenirs from southern battlefields. Comrade 
Harrison 0. Thomas has compiled a biographical sketch of every member 
of the Post, an unexampled task elsewhere. Nearly twenty-five years 
ago the Post purchased the old Hniversalist Church on Elm Street, and it 
has made a most desirable home for Post and Corps during the interven- 
ing years. The cost of the hall in purchase and equipment amounted to 
about $18,000. (George A. Grant, Adjutant.) 


Brookfield (Worcester County). — A wliite bronze monument in 
the cemetery is the tribute of Brookfield to her sons who served in the war. 
Costing $1,100, and standing some 15 feet high, it serves the important 
office of arresting the attention of passers-by. It was dedicated July 4, 
1885. Dexter Post 38 meets regularly in Masonic Hall, where the devo- 
tees of the square and compass cheerfully donate an assembly room to 
the veterans. A fire several years ago destroyed tlie Town Hall and the 
Post rooms, with a fine collection of relics. (Comrade E. D. Goodell, 
Postmaster. ) 

Brookline (Xorfolk County). — An elaborate tablet of marble, 
placed in the grand stairway of the Town Hall, is Brookline's memorial 
to the soldiers. Costing $800, it was paid for bv the town. A monument 
dedicated to the unknown dead, in Walnut Hill Cemetery, was unveiled 
June 14, 1902. Its cost, $337, was provided for by the local Woman's 
Eelief Corps. A valuable relic is a drum used by the Pennsylvania 
Reserves at Malvern Hill, given to Dr. Trull, and by him presented to 
the Post. A cavalry saber from the Wilderness, a stem of a tree from 
Chickamauga, with embedded bullets and canister, and a gavel containing 
a bullet, both from Lookout Mountain, are also in the possession of the 
Post. Some of the relics were given by Comrade W. Y. Gross and 
Thomas Doliver. C. L. Chandler Post 143 has quarters in the Town 
Hall, furnished by the town. (A. W. Bright, Adjutant.) 

BucKLAND (Franklin County). — Lying so near the village of 
Shelburne Falls, indeed, a considerable portion of the latter place being 
in the town of Buckland, the town claims credit for some portion of the 
soldiers' monument which stands in the Falls. (A. C. Bray, Town Clerk.) 
Vide Shelburne. 

Burlington (Middlesex County). — Nothing of a public memorial 
kind here. (H. H. Hickok, Town Clerk.) 

Cambridge (Middlesex County). — The distinctive monument of 
Cambridge, one of the most imposing in the Commonwealth, stands on 
the Common. The result of the artistic skill of the twin brothers Cyrus 
and Darius Cobb, it was dedicated June 17, 1870, with elaborate cere- 
monies. Its cost exceeded $25,000. Harvard University erected during 
the decade following the war a great edifice, known as Memorial Hall, 
devoted to refectory purposes; its imposing entrance contains the names 


of the sons of Harvard who died in defence of home and country, the 
names being chiseled in marble and most impressively placed. This 
work alone must have cost many thousands of dollars. Among other 
memorials is a marble bust of Col. Charles Russell Lowell, costing $1,000. 
The city has three Posts of the Grand Army, viz., William H. Smart Post 
30, John A. Logan Post 186, both occupying rented quarters on Massa- 
chusetts Avenue, and Charles Beck Post 56, whose veterans climb to the 
top story of police headquarters. Each Post has its own collection of 
curios and pictures, while Past Department Commander John D. Billings 
has an excellent array of his own. Mt. Auburn Cemetery contains the 
celebrated granite figure of the Sphinx. Facing the former chapel, now 
the crematory, it has sat since August, 1872, the product of Martin Mil- 
more's artistic skill, paid for by Dr. Jacob Bigelow, who founded the 
cemetery. An interesting feature of the memorial is the inscription pre- 
pared by President Charles W. Eliot of Harvard University. This is 
one of the very first of his efforts in this line, a field which has given him 
a wide reputation. Sculptured in Latin on one side, on the other we may 
read the translation : '" American Union preserved, African slavery de- 
stroyed, by the uprising of a great people, by the blood of fallen heroes." 
Figure and foundation cost $11,554. Besides this, Mt. Auburn has a 
bewildering array of monuments for individual heroes. Vide Plate 

Canton (jSTortolk County). — The Town Hall, erected in 1878, is 
known as Memorial Hall, and, in keeping with this name, the late Hon. 
Elisha A. Morse, a comrade of the local Post, presented marble tablets in 
memory of the 30 soldiers of Canton who died during the war. These are 
placed on each side of the main entrance to the hall. Their cost was 
$2,200. Revere Post 94 occupies free quarters in the Town Hall. (R. L. 
Weston, Commander.) Vide Plate XIV. 

Caelisle (Middlesex County). — The monument in this town is 
due to the generosity of two sisters. Mrs. Lydia A. CI. Farrar bequeathed 
to the town a sum of money, which in 1882 had amounted to $653.70. 
March 20 of that year the town ^'oted to receive and hold the legacy. iVs 
the testator had not stipulated what use should be made of the bequest, 
on Xov. 7, 1882, the town voted to devote it to erecting a monument to the 
memory of the soldiers, the same to stand in the center of the town, and 
appointed a committee to carry out the vote. In March, 1883, the town 


appropriated $300 for foundations and for fencing and grading the lot. 
Realizing that the sum at their disposal was too small for the purpose 
named, the committee suggested that Mrs. Farrar's sister, Miss H. L. C. 
Green, be invited to contribute enough to bring the total amount to 
$1,000. This proposition the sister acceded to, and the project advanced. 
The plan accepted was by Andrews & ^\^leeler of Lowell, and comprised 
a triple receding base of Concord granite, surmounted by a marble figure 
of a soldier of heroic proportions. For properly dedicating the monu- 
ment, Aug. 29, 1885, the anniversary of the second Bull Eun, the town 
apjH'opriated $200, thus bringing the total outlay to $1,500. The exer- 
cises were the most varied and interesting that the town ever witnessed. 
The address was made bj' the Hon. Charles H. Allen of Lowell. 

Carver (Plymouth County). — Nothing tangible as yet, but a 
Soldiers' Memorial Association is working, with a present accumulation 
of $1,000. The trustees of the public library think the memorial should 
assume the form of an edifice for the library. A Camp of Sons of Vet- 
erans is keeping the subject alive. (Henry S. Griffith, Town Clerk.) 

Charlemont (Franklin County). — While there are veterans be- 
longing to Posts in neighboring towns, Charlemont has nothing of a 
memorial character. (George E. Bemis, Town Clerk.) 

Charlestown (City of Boston). — Long before Charlestown had 
given any thought to abrogating her individuality, as early as 1865, the 
subject was broached of a monument commemorative of her part in the 
Civil War, a perfectly natural condition in the city of Bunker Hill and 
that ever memorable monument. Late in 1869 the city appropriated 
$20,000 for the memorial, and the design thereof was committed to Martin 
Milmore, sculptor. The material used is Hallowell (Me.) granite, and the 
location, Winthrop Square, is nearly south of the overtowering shaft on 
the immortal hill. Happily the intervening buildings hide the shaft while 
one views the tribute to the soldier of the later war. The problem in 
Charlestown was more difficult than that in any other place in the Com- 
monwealth. Any ordinary monument was sure to be dwarfed by the 
grandeur of the older token. Under the circumstances, the artist and 
tlie builders succeeded admirably. While Jnmdreds pass on to the more 
famous hill and its tribute to heroes of the Eevolution, a few pause to 
admire the memorial which an appreciative city reared to the memory of 


her sons who were no less worthy than tlie patriots of 1775. The con- 
sulting and supervising architect was Mr. S. J. F. Parker of Boston; 
the builders of the pedestal, Messrs. J. F. & F. L. Gilinan. The dedica- 
tion, an exceeding!}^ impressive exercise, was held on the 17th of June, 
1872, and was participated in by an immense assembly of citizens, together 
with many civic and military bodies. The principal address was by the 
Hon. Eichard Frothingham, and was worthy of the occasion. In 1875, 
June 17, when Boston observed the centennial of Bunker Hill, the Fifth 
Maryland Infantry paid the Hub a visit, and, among commemorative acts, 
specially signalized the day by placing on this monument beautiful 
wreaths indicative of the regard of " Maryland, My Maryland " for the 
old Bay State. Eemembering that many of these soldiers either were in 
the Confederate service themselves or were the sons of those who were, 
the act was particularly gracious. Abraham Lincoln Post 11 for a number 
of years has been most comfortably housed in an old mansion on Green 
Street with mortars on the approaches, rooms most comfortably furnished 
and an assembly room as elaborately equipped as any in the Department, 
Post 11 is a power for patriotism in the monumental city. Great interest 
attaches to the mansion in that it was built and occupied by Samuel Dex- 
ter, wlio was secretary of War and the Treasury under President John 
Adams. A tablet on the inner walls of the edifice tells in brief its interest- 
ing story. Erected in 1782, its considerably more than a century of 
being is crowded full of pictures of thrilling scenes in American history. 
Standing on the slope of Bunker Hill, it must have witnessed every step 
in the building of the famous monument. For pure historic interest no 
G. A. E. hall in the Department equals it. It was acquired by purchase 
for the Post in 1887, and was remodeled and changed to suit the con- 
venience of the veterans. It has cost Post 11 in the vicinity of $25,000. 
(Comrade Linus E. Clark.) 

Charlton" (Worcester County). — Thanks to the generosity of 
William H. Dexter, a native of the town but long a resident in Worcester, 
Charlton has a soldiers' monument, costing $2,000, dedicated Memorial 
Day, 1903, with an address by the Eev. Willard Scott of Worcester. 
Standing directs in front of the Town Hall, also a gift of Mr. Dexter, 
the figure of the soldier, in relief, looks out upon the village Common. 
The artist was T. J. McAulift' of Worcester, and his work is exceedingly 
meritorious. Charlton veterans largely belong to the Southbridge Post. 
(Frank 0. AVakefield, Town Clerk.) Vide pfate XXV. 


Chatham (Barnstable County). — Nason, in his "Gazetteer of 
Massachusetts,'' says that the town furnished 256 men for the Union 
service, of whom 13 lost their lives; also, " To perpetuate their memory it 
has erected a handsome monument." The monument stands in South 
C'hatham. We are told that this was finished in the later 60's, at a cost 
of about $1,300. Frank D. Hammond Post l-tl is the Grand Army asso- 
ciation of the town, having its quarters, which the Post owns, in South 
Chatham. {Samuel Hawes, Commander.) Vide Plate XV. 

Chp]lmsford (Middlesex County). — The town clerk writes that his 
town has nothing of a monumental character, nor does it expect anything. 

Chelsea (Suffolk County). — This city set about erecting a mon- 
ument soon after the war, securing the necessary funds through popular 
subscriptions, the subscribers including men, women and school children, 
and the amount being $10,000. Standing in Union Square, the granite 
base and shaft are surmounted by the bronze figure of a soldier at parade 
rest, the combination reaching the height of about 50 feet. It was dedi- 
cated April 19, 1869. When the terrible fire of April, 1908, laid waste 
the city, the space about the monument was piled high with debris saved 
from the flames ; here also was the tent constituting the headquarters of 
the relief agencies. The soldiers' lot in Garden Cemetery contains 50 
graves, and has a monument about 8 feet in height. Of a very attractive 
design, it was erected by the city in 1866, costing $-1,500. There is also 
another soldiers' lot, in Woodlawn Cemetery, which has cost the city 
$5,000. Here are 300 graves, the city supplying the individual memorials ; 
there is, besides, a general monument, in the form of three inverted can- 
non supporting a fourth upright, this costing the local Post $500. 
Theodore Winthrop Post 35 has long been the envied possessor of one 
of the finest Post quarters in the Department. Originally a Methodist 
Church, built in 1841, it has been worked over so that above the ground 
floor, devoted to store uses and rented, it has banquet room and accessories, 
wliile tlie third floor aftords a hall, 70 by 60 feet, so capacious and well 
equipped that it has proved equal to every demand ever made upon it. Its 
internal adornments, battle scenes and portraits, rival those of any Post 
in the country. Wlien the flames were licking up the city in April, 1908, 
they were mercifully stayed just before reaching this edifice, and its 
al)undant space afl'orded ample room for the militia companies to which 
was committed the preservation of order within the ill-fated district. It 
is valued, with furniture, at $3-1,000. (C. W. Gray, Commander.) Vide 
Plates X., XIX. and XXVII. 








Cheshire (Berkshire County). — Though the town presented to 
President Thomas Jefferson, in 1803, a monumental Cheshire cheese, 
weighing 1,-1-50 pounds, and though the record of the town during the war 
was unexcelled, she has not, as yet, found means for any memorial of the 
services of her sons in the Civil War. (l»alph L. Getman, Town Clerk.) 

Chester (Hampden County). — As yet, the town has no memorial, 
nor, so far as known, is there prospect of any. (James C. Cooper, Post- 

Chesterfield (Hampshire County). — Except for cannon, loaned 
by the government and placed on the Common, tlie town has nothing of a 
memorial character. (Albert W. Hickok, Town Clerk.) 

Chicopee (Hampden County). — Marble tablets are Chicopee's 
expression of regard for the fallen soldier, having been placed at the 
entrance of the City Hall. Two in number, standing about 13 feet in 
height and bearing the names of all those who were killed, wounded or 
died in the service, they cost about $1,500, the amount having been secured 
by the Ladies' Soldiers' Aid Society. As relics, the city has four mortars, 
obtained from the government when the late Gov. George D. Robinson, 
a Chicopee citizen, was in Congress. These are placed in the soldiers' 
lot in the public cemetery, tlie lot being a donation from the town. 
Quarters for Otis Chapman Post 103 have been secured in Masonic Hall, 
for the exceedingly liberal rate of $1 per month, the very next thing to 
nothing. (Z. T. Damon, Adjutant.) 

Chilmark (Dukes County). — N"o memorials here. (F. A. May- 
hew, Town Clerk.) 

Clarksburg (Berkshire County). — No memorial in town, nor is 
any expected. 

Clinton (Worcester County). — As in other towns, the beginnings 
of the Clinton monument were made by ladies, as early as 1867. By enter- 
tainments in church vestries and by solicitation they accumulated $800. 
At the March town meeting, 1873, a building committee was appointed 
and $3,500 appropriated towards the work. At first placed and until 
1908 standing at the southwest corner of the Town Hall, the monument 
was unveiled in 1S75, at a total outlav of about $4,500. Owing to the 


destruction of the hall by fire in the spring of 1908, the monument, which 
had miraculously escaped, was moved to the center of the near-by village 
Common, where it now stands, bearing the names of the 58 Clinton men 
who died in behalf of their country. E. D. Baker Post 64 possesses a 
rare relic in the shape of a tiny anvil, of metal, made from a portion of 
one of the propeller blades which impelled the " Kearsarge " when she sent 
the " Alabama " to the bottom of the sea, off Cherbourg, France, on that 
June day, 1864-. The public library has a memorial volume containing 
personal histories of members of the Post. The Post itself occupies 
pleasant, though rented, quarters. In Woodlawn Cemetery, the soldiers' 
lot, presented to the Grand Army by a vote of the town, is nicely graded, 
at the expense of Camp 14, Sons of A'eterans, and there is mounted and in 
place upon it a coast defense gun, furnished by the United States govern- 
ment. (George L. Gibson, Adjutant.) 

CoHASSET (XoiiFOLK County). — Ko licbellion reminders here, ex- 
cept Henry Bryant Post 98, G. A. P., which is given quarters by the town. 
(Cyrus H. Bates, Commander.) 

CoLRAix (Frankltx Couxty). — Xo public memorial in town, nor 
is any contemplated. H. S. Greenleaf Post 20, with the Woman's Relief 
Corps and Sons of Veterans, owns the hall in which regular meetings are 
held. (H. 0. Scott, Town Clerk.) 

Concord (Middlesex County). — The Rebellion reminder in this 
town of storied memories takes the shape of a beautiful granite pile, 
placed in the A^ery center of the village; it would be a striking object 
anywhere. It was erected in 1867, at a cost of $4,600, the expense being- 
borne by the town. Old Concord Post 180 occupies rented quarters. 
Few dedicatory exercises anywhere were more impressive than those in 
Concord, April 19, 1867, including, as they did, an ode by George B. Bart- 
lett, an extended report of the building committee by the chairman, the 
Hon. E. Rockwood Hoar, an impressive oration by Ralph Waldo Emerson, 
a poem by Frank B. Sanborn and brief addresses by George S. Boutwell, 
Adjt.-Gen. William Schouler, Col. F. J. Parker of the Thirty-second 
Massachusetts Infantry and Col. Lucius B. Marsh, Forty-seventh Massa- 
chusetts Infantry. Into the foundation of the monument was built a 
stone from the abutment of the old North bridge, thus connecting two 
significant April days in Massachusetts history. June 16, 1909, there was 

i/-?/«'^'«0..*f ^nm.vt.'M,/^ 

M-. £4,^,,. //,. 

■ /" / 


T-lU'f/'' '>!'/// rA/ //. ' yr//rr?r/.- ////.//. 


dedicated in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery one of tlie most touching memorials 
in the entire State, that of a brother, James C. Melvin, himself a veteran 
of the Sixth Massachusetts Infantry, to his three brothers, Asa H., John 
H. and Samuel, all Concord boys and members of the First Heavy 
Artiller}^ The cost was $30,000, and it is considered one of the very best 
pieces of work by the sculptor, Daniel Chester French. The dedication 
was impressive and appropriate. (Asa Jacobs, Adjutant.) Vide Fron- 
tispiece and Plate XVII. 

Conway (Fraxklix Couxty). — Tablets in the main hall of the 
town building, erected in 1886, furnish Conway's tribute to her soldier 
sons of Eebellion days. There is also a small monument in memory of 
the unknown dead placed on the public Common. The combined cost of 
tablets and monument was about $600. Francis A. Clary Post 16-i 
occupies commodious quarters in one of the Town Hall anterooms, gratis. 
(Gordon H. Johnson, Commander.) 

CuMMiNGTOx (Hampshire Couxty).^ — -The native town of William 
Cullen Bryant has nothing by way of reminder of the war. (By the 
Town Clerk.) 

Daltox (Berkshire Couxty). — Xo memorial whatever graces this 
town, though it is the home of some of the most distinguished people in 
the Commonwealth. There was once a Grand Army Post here, but its 
charter was surrendered long ago. (Comrade C. B. Scudder.) 

Daxa (AYorcester Couxty). — Nothing of a public memorial char- 
acter in Dana. (D. L. Pichai-ds, Town Clerk.) 

Daxvers (Essex Couxty). — Steps were taken in 1868 towards 
erecting a monument ; at a cost of $7,000 the same was completed and 
dedicated Xov. 30, 1870. Bearing the names of 94 soldiers and sailors 
who lost their lives in the war, it stands in front of the Town Hall. The 
Hon. Edwin Mudge, representative in the General Court, contributed the 
larger part of his salary during his two years of service. Through the 
Xavy Department of the nation there has been placed in the middle of 
the soldiers' lot, in Walnut Grove Cemetery, a 100-pound Parrott gun, as 
a memorial to the veterans buried there. In the high school building 
hangs a portrait of MaJ. Granville M. Dodge, a native of Danvers and one 
of the most trusted officers, serving under both Grant and Sherman. An- 


other portrait of the General, on horseback as chief marshal at the dedi- 
cation of the Grant monument in New York, was given by him to the 
local historical society. The same society has portraits of Gen. Francis 
S. Dodge and Fred. W. Lander, the former a Danvers boy who rose from 
the ranks, the latter, born in Salem, died in Paw Paw, Ya., March, 1862. 
Ward Post 90 is comfortably placed in rented quarters. (Charles New- 
hall, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXI. 

Dartmoutpi (Bristol County). — No memorial of a public nature. 
(B. J. Potter, Town Clerk.) 

Dedham (Norfolk County). — Here is found one of the earliest 
Civil War monuments erected in Massachusetts. In the old Parish Cem- 
etery stands a stone in memory of the men who died at Readville, from 
1861 to 1865, the great organizing place for the eastern part of the State. 
It cost about $1,000, and the bill was paid July 12, 1866. It is placed on 
a plot of ground acquired by the Commonwealth, and on three tablets are 
inscribed the names of 6-1 soldiers who died in the camp. In 1878 the 
State graded and sodded the lot and surrounded it with a granite curbing. 
It is kept in order by the cemetery authorities and decorated each year 
by the local Grand Army Post, expenses being met by the State. In 
Brookdale Cemetery there is a monument erected by the late Eliphalet 
Stone, and by him passed over to Charles W. Carroll Post 141: for burial 
purposes. Dedham stone was used in the structure of the monument, 
and it is surmounted by a Blakely 100-pound shell, fired from a rebel 
battery very early in the war, near Aquia Creek, at a Union vessel loaded 
with wood. The missile passed through the cargo and buried itself in the 
river bank near the camp of the First Massachusetts Infantry. Col. Rob- 
ert Cowdin, Comrade William F. Drugan, then of Company B, now 
chief of police, Dedham, dug it out, unloaded it and sent it home as a relic. 
It forms a fitting intermediary between the shaft itself and the hovering 
eagle. The bodies of 14 comrades lie in the lot. Sept. 29, 1878, at a 
total cost of $47,000, Dedham dedicated her Memorial Hall, located on 
land costing $2,350 and given by leading citizens. Five marble tablets in 
the vestibule bear the names of 47 soldiers who gave their lives for the 
Union. While the offices of the town officers are found there, and there 
is a large public hall, still it well merits its name. Within the hall are a 
Stuart's equestrian Washington, a Fisher Ames and an Abraham Lincoln. 
The Post is in rented quarters. (William B. Gould, Adjutant.) Vide 
Plates XYIIL, XX. and XXXI. 


Deeefield (Franklin County). — Like many other memorable 
events and historic objects in Deerfield, her monument to the memory 
of the soldiers of the Rebellion is due to the thoughtfulness and energy 
of the Hon. George Sheldon, easily the first local historian in the Com- 
monwealth. As early as October, 1864, when listening to the funeral 
service over the remains of Col. George D. Wells of the Thirty-fourth 
Regiment, killed at Stickney's Farm, Va., he resolved that when tlie war 
was over the dead of Deerfield should be remembered in some tangible 
form. The fine monument of Portland freestone is the result. It stands 
upon the Common of the old street, the training field of the first settlers, 
and was dedicated Sept. 4, 1867. The cenotaph, having a base 8 feet 
square, is surmounted by the figure of a soldier in fatigue uniform, in 
place rest. The dedicatory exercises were under the direction of Josiah 
Fogg, Charles Armes, George Sheldon and Xathaniel Hitchcock. The 
address was by the Hon. Henry L. Dawes of Pittsfield, while odes for 
the occasion were written by Eliza A. Starr, Lucrecia W. Eels, Mary 
Willard and Maria B. W. Barnes. The cost of the monument was $3,000 

Dennis (Baenstable County). — Xothing here of a public memo- 
rial nature. (W. F. Baker, Town Clerk.) 

I DiGHTON (Bristol County ) . — Though Dighton Rock has long been 
famous on account of the inscription, which has ever puzzled the anti- 
quaries, even that rock is not in this town, but lies over Taunton River in 
Berkley, nor has the town any public memorial of the war. There is no 
expectation of anything in this line. (Dwight F. Lane, Town Clerk.) 

Dorchester (City* of Boston). — Before this historic section be- 
came a part of Greater Boston, its monument for the Civil War was pro- 
jected and built. It stands in the space in front of the church on Meeting 
House Hill, is constructed of red sandstone, 31 feet high, obelisk in shape, 
and is 8 feet square at the base. It is a very attractive memorial and is 
highly creditable to the genius of B. F. Dwight, who was the designer. 
The names of those who fell in the cause are graven on the surface of the 
stone. It was dedicated Sept. IT, 1867, the very day the National Cem- 
etery at Antietam was also dedicated. The oration of the day was deliv- 
ered by the Rev. Charles A. Humphreys, then of Springfield, himself a 
veteran of the Second Massachusetts Cavalry ; an ode, written by William 


T. Adams (Oliver Optic), was sung by the children. The cost of the 
monument, $5,301, was met through the diligence of the Pickwick Club, 
which started the subscription with a promise of $500 and then circulated 
the paper until the necessary funds were raised. The First Methodist 
Church of Dorchester has an interesting tablet to the memory of mem- 
bers, 51 in number, who enlisted. Of Tennessee marble, 6 by 5 feet in 
size, designed by Comrade E. W. Fowler of Milton, and surrounded by an 
emblematic fresco, the three columns of names are surmounted with the 
words, " iSTot for conquest but for country." The memorial was unveiled 
March 24, 1895, with significant exercises, which included addresses by 
the Department Commander, J. W. Thayer, Eev. Dr. Arthur Little, the! 
Eev. G. A. Phinney, pastor of the church, Secretary of the Common- 1 
wealth William M. Olin and Comrade Alexander Hobbs. Benjamin 
Stone, Jr., Post 68 has long met within its own walls, having erected at 
91 Park Street a commodious edifice and dedicated it to the uses of the 
Grand Army. Post room, banquet room, all that veterans need for com- 
fort and utility, are found here. The total valuation is $7,500. 

Douglas (Worcester County). — Few towns in any State can boast 
of two soldiers' monuments unveiled on the same day, yet this is the proud 
record of Douglas, since, on Sept. 19, 1908, in the forenoon, there was 
dedicated at the Center a white bronze figure of a soldier standing on a 
pedestal, the total height being 12 feet. This was done under the auspices 
of the local Camp of the Sons of Veterans, at a cost of $600. The dedica- 
tion also was under their direction, the principal addresses being made 
by Division Commander William 0. Cutler and Mrs. Lue Stuart Wads- 
worth, Department President, Woman's Relief Corps. At East Douglas, 
in the afternoon, a more pretentious monument, costing in all $3,400, 
resulting from the bequest of James Smith of Douglas, was uncovered in ' 
the presence of a vast throng of people, including Lieut. Gov. Eben F. 
Draper, Gen. A. B. R. Sprague and others. The Hon. W. S. Schuster 
presided, and the dedicatory address was given by Department Com- 
mander, G. A. E., Alfred S. Eoe. The sum bequeathed for the monument 
was $3,000. By way of relics, the town has two discarded rifled cannon. 
Samuel Sibley Post 137 uses for its Post room an old church, properly ' 
transformed, which belongs to the Post. (C. A. Whipple, Adjutant.) 

Dover (Norfolk County). — Though at present without a soldiers' 
monument, the erecting of one in the near future is probable. As yet the 
expense is uncertain. (John H. Faulk, Town Clerk.) 


Dracut (Middlesex County). — There is nothing in town of a 
pnblic memorial nature. A small collection of relics is kept in the town 
library. (John W. Brennan, Town Clerk.) 

Dudley (Worcester County). — Writing in May, 1909, it is proper 
to state that the monument for Dudley is yet to be dedicated, the date 
being July 5, 1909, during the progress of an Old Home Week. The cost 
is to be $3,200, being partially met by a town appropriation of $1,800, 
the remainder to come from the Village Improvement Society. Conant 
Academy, long a source of pride to the town, has in its assembly hall a 
very fine tablet to the memory of academy boys who had a part in the 
great struggle. (Joseph Crawford, Town Clerk.) 

Dunstable (Middlesex County). — Though superlatively rich in 
memories, this town has no tangible memorials, aside from the individual 
headstones in the burial grounds. (Arthur I^T. Hall, Town Clerk.) 

Duxbury (Plymouth County). — It is hardly to be expected that 
any memorial to the soldiers of the Eebellion could rival the imposing 
monument to the memory of Miles Standish, a figure that dominates many 
miles of Massachusetts coast, but there is here " a very beautiful granite 
shaft bearing the inscriptions, ' Memoria in eterna ' and ' Honor to the 
brave.' " Funds for its erection were raised by a society of ladies called 
The Willing Workers, and by public subscription, amounting to $2,500. 
It was dedicated May 30, 1872, with oration by the Hon. Thomas Eussell 
of Boston. William Wadsworth Post 165 meets in its own hall, occupied 
for the first time March 1, 1895. Its original cost was $2,500. (A. M. 
Goulding, Adjutant.) 

East Bridgewater (Plymouth County). — A monument costing 
$4,000, raised by fairs, entertainments and contributions, the principal 
sum, from $300 to $400, being left by the Soldiers' Aid Society, was dedi- 
cated Sept. 17, 1874. It is of granite, about 34 feet in height. Two Posts 
of the Grand Army are located here, viz., Justin Dimick Post 124 and 
Alfred C. Monroe Post 212, both occupying rented quarters. (F. M. 
Kingman, Adjutant, Post 124; P. W. Pool, Adjutant, Post 212.) Vide 
Plate XXX. 

East Longmeadow (Hampden County). — Only metal markers at 
the graves of deceased soldiers commemorate the patriot dead in this town. 
It is fair to state that the division of tlie old town of Longmeadow did 
not take place until 1894, long after the war. (A. G. Crane, Town Clerk.) 


Eastham (Barnstable County). — In 1865 or 1866, through the 
agency of the Ladies' Aid Society, a monument in memory of the Union 
soldiers was placed where once the old Orthodox Church stood, facing the 
county road. Its original cost was $200. In 1895 the town voted to take 
care of it. Eastham Grand Army graves are decorated by the Post in 
Chatham, Frank D. Hammond Post 141, through Peter Higgins and wife 
Martha. The former furnishes foregoing data. Of late, the Jar, incident 
to battleship practice off shore is unsettling the shaft. What a pity ! 

Easthampton (Hampshire County). — More than forty years ago 
the town erected a very fine Town Hall, one of whose front corners runs 
up into an imposing tower, and therein are memorial tablets. It is esti- 
mated that the monumental features of the building represent about 
$10,000 of the total $68,000 which the edifice cost. In this structure is 
found lodgment for George C. Strong Post 166, gratis. On the cemetery 
lot are two 30-pound Parrott guns, mounted on granite foundations. The 
guns came from the government through the agency of the Hon. F. H. 
Gillett, congressman. There also are a large iron vase, given by the 
Woman's Relief Corps, and an iron flagstaff, presented by Comrade B. F. 
Owen. Easthampton is also the seat of Williston Seminary, one of the 
most successful of the several secondary schools in New England. Though 
no memorial in marble or bronze has been erected, especial pains have 
been taken to commemorate the services of former pupils in a section 
of her alumni records, issued about thirty-five years ago. Necessarily | 
they are incomplete, owing to the difficulty of communication, and several 
names should be added, but 366 pupils and 6 teachers in the Union army 
and 4 men in the Confederate service speak volumes for the teaching here. 
Every class from 1842 to 1868 is represented. (A. S. King, Adjutant.) 
Vide Plate IX. 

Easton (Bristol County). — The town has a very fine monument, 
erected in 1882 at an expense of $5,000, appropriated by the town. A. B. 
Randall Post 52 has a Post hall of its own, situated in Eastondale. It is 
valued at $3,000 (estimated). (George G. Smith, Adjutant.) Vide 
Plate XI. 

EdCtArtown (Dukes County). — The monument here, in white 
bronze, costing $1,200, was dedicated July 4, 1902. The funds were raised 
by subscription, largely through the efforts of Comrade E. C. Connell, a 
veteran of the First Massachusetts Infantrv. In 1908 his name was cut 





^ 9 


Barnstable (Centerville). 


in the base of the monninent, at the instigation of the local Woman's 
Relief Corps, thus paying fitting tribute to his devoted service. The 
same corps (No. 166) on Memorial Day, 1907, placed in the soldiers' lot 
of the cemetery a stone commemorative of the unknown dead. The 
veterans of Edgartown affiliate with the Post in Oak Bluffs. (Miss Hattie 
L. Shute, Department Patriotic Instructor, Woman's Relief Corps.) 

Egremont (Berkshire County). — Through the town clerk, Ches- 
ter G. Dalzell, the town reports no memorial, nor any prospects. 

Enfield (Hampshire County). — Erected in 1007, at an outlay of 
$3,000, appropriated by the town, the fine monument yet awaits dedica- 
tion, owing to a claim set up by a citizen on account of the site occupied. 
A cannon with shells, furnislied by the government, is placed near the 
monument. Gen. William S. Lincoln Post 31 has quarters gratis from 
the town, (E. H. Moore, Commander.) Vide Plate XXL 

Erving (Franklin County) . ■ — AVhile the town has no public memo- 
rial, there are metallic markers for the graves, furnished by Mrs. Jane 
Holmes of Farley, a veteran's wife. Many years since there was a Grand 
Army Post in town named " Andrew Briggs," for an Erving soldier who 
was killed in the war, but it was given up, through lack of members, 
thirty-six or thirty-seven years ago. (Henry L. Blackmer, Town Clerk.) 

Essex (Esses County). — In the Town Hall grounds, facing Martin 
Street, is the soldiers' monument, due to the efforts of the 0. H. P. Sar- 
gent Woman's Relief Corps 114 of the town. Its cost, $2,000, was met 
by fairs and subscriptions, the dedication being May 30, 1905, under the 
combined direction of Relief Corps and Grand Army Post. The dedi- 
catory address Avas given by the Rev. C. H. Puffer of Salem. The base 
of the monument is of Rockport granite, the shaft and figure of Xiantic, 
R. I., granite. Among relics may be mentioned a sword, bullets and a 
6-pound cannon ball, all from Port Hudson, while Past Commander J. H. 
Burnham has preserved the pantaloons worn by him in battle, showing 
the holes made by two missiles in the same engagement. 0. H. P. Sargent 
Post 153 fell heir, several years ago, to a vacated schoolhouse near the 
center of the town, and, after fitting up the same at a cost of $300, main- 
tains its quarters here. (Edward W. Lander, Adjutant.) Vide Plate 


Everett (Middlesex County). — Until 1870, that part of Massa- 
chusetts now known as Everett was South Maiden, hence its direct war 
history is a part of that of its sister city. However, many efforts have been 
made to secure a monument for Everett, but thus far without avail. In 
the soldiers' burial lot at Glenwood Cemetery there is a mounted 15-pound 
Parrott gun, loaned by the government. In the city are organizations of 
the Grand Army, Eelief Corps, Sons and Daughters of Veterans, all 
meeting in the hall of James A. Perkins Post 156. The most prominent 
relic in the Post's possession is a section of a pine tree from Chickamauga, 
with a cannon ball deeply imbedded, the same being a present from Mr. 
George A. Brown, a local and loyal professional man. In this year (1910) 
renewed efforts are being made to secure a proper memorial. (Converse 
M. Pettengill, Adjutant.) 

Fairhaven (Bristol County). — In 1867, at an outlay of $1,700, 
the town erected in Riverside Cemetery a granite monument. It is 
appropriately adorned with significant emblems and is a very handsome 
shaft. (Charles F. Swift, Adjutant.) 

Fall River (Bristol County). — Through the generosity of Samuel 
Watson, now an associate of Post -15, the bronze figure of a Union soldier 
stands at the entrance of the South Park, placed there in 1901, at a cost 
of about $800, as a tribute to the local Post of the Grand Army. Equally 
significant is the monument in the soldiers' lot of Oak Grove Cemetery, 
both lot and memorial being gifts of the late Richard Borden. While 
living he bore all expense in maintaining the lot and setting headstones, 
an example followed in intervening years by his family. The outlay was 
about $3,500. Richard Borden Post 46 maintains its quarters in rented 
rooms. (F. H. Cliancell, Adjutant.) 

Falmouth (Barnstable County). — A fine library building, cost- 
ing $40,000, and paid for by the town, is called the Memorial Library. It 
contains a tablet (estimated cost, $200) bearing the names of Falmouth 
soldiers. B. F. Jones Post 206 is favored by the town in that it has the 
free use of an old academy building for meeting purposes. (Hon. Seba 
A. ITolton.) Vide Plate A^I. 

FiTCiiBURG (Worcester County). — Long before the town had 
assumed the garb of a city, as early as April 9, 1866, a committee was 
appointed to consider and report to the town on the subject of a fitting 


memorial. From that time till the date of dedication, Jmie 24, ISi-i, 
there were eighty meetings of this committee, indicating that its labors 
were not entirely nominal. In securing a desirable location for the mon- 
ument great expense was incurred, thus adding to the expense of the 
project. Two valuable lots on Main Street were purchased, on which 
was erected a monument, elaborate and ornamental in design and sub- 
stantial in execution, costing more than $25,000, the product of the 
genius of Martin Milmore. Constructed of granite, with the figures of 
bronze, the completed work is one of the notable memorials of Massachu- 
setts. The bronzes were cast in Chicopee, at the Ames works, under the 
direction of M. H. Mossman. The date for dedication as originally set 
was June 17, but unforeseen obstacles compelled postponement to the 
24:th of the month, a date without special significance. Owing to the long 
delay and consequent rentals from the buildings purchased, the aggregate 
cost of the monument and site, otherwise considerably above $75,000, was 
reduced to $67,000. At the dedication, the Hon. Alvah Crocker, chair- 
man of the soldiers' monument committee, presided. The chief marshal 
of the occasion was General John W. Kimball, and the array of veterans 
and civic bodies that responded to his directions was long and imposing. 
Hon. Amasa ISTorcross, mayor, received the monument in behalf of the 
city, Fitchburg having taken on her urban costume in 1872, and Herbert 
Ingalls, Esq., signalized the event in verse. Gen. IST. P. Banks, as orator, 
fully maintained his great reputation for eloquence, and most appro- 
priately sealed the day's exercises with his patriotic sentiments. The 
local Post, Edwin Y. Sumner Post 19, recalls one of the ten major-gen- 
erals contributed by the Bay State to the war, and every member is justly 
proud of the distinction "v^'on on the field l)y the doughty soldier, whom 
his admirers were Avont to designate as "' Old Bull Sumner." The Post 
has excellent quarters but they are rented. (K. P. Eawson, Commander.) 
Tide Plate XV. 

Florida (Fraxklin County). — The highest township in Massa- 
chusetts has no soldiers' memorial, though the name of Herman Haupt, 
the bridge builder of the war. is forever identified with the Hoosac Tun- 
nel, which was dug through and beneath Florida. (Hannum Brown, 
Town Clerk.) 

FoxEOROUGH (XoRFOLK Couxty). — In 1868 the town appropriated 
$10,000 for the purpose of erecting a memorial hall; to this sum the Hon. 


E. p. Carpenter, chairman of the bnilding committee, added $3,113 to 
complete it. Though nsed for library purposes, it has long been the place 
of meeting for E. E. Carpenter Post 91. (T. B. Bourne, Commander.) 
Vide Plate XXIX. 

Framingham (Middlesex County). ~ Since 1873 there has stood 
in front of the town library, Framingham Center, the bronze figure of a 
soldier at parade rest. It is an impressive reminder of bygone days and a 
tribute to the thoughtful generosity of George Phipps, a wealthy and 
patriotic resident of the town, who gave $3,000 for this purpose. Gen. 
J. G. Foster Post 163 occupies rented quarters in South Framingham; 
Burnside Post 143, Saxonville, also pays rent. The library edifice is 
known as the Memorial Hall, and for a number of years the figure of the 
soldier stood in the main entrance; but so much fun was had at the 
expense of the authorities of the library, who had ruled that every one 
should uncover in the building, and the brazen soldier could not, that it 
was determined to set him outside. The statue is a replica of one cast in 
Chicopee early in the 70's. Mr. George B. Brown learning that this could 
be had at an outlay of $3,000, about one-tenth the cost of the original, 
went to Mr. Phipps with a request that the latter donate the same to the 
town, receiving for a reply an intimation that he was not lacking in gall, 
or something to that effect. The next day Mr. Phipps was to start for 
Florida, and his friend Brown went to the station to see him off. While 
they stood on the platform waiting for the train, Mr. Phipps put his 
hand in his vest pocket, and taking out a paper handed it to Mr. Brown 
with the remark, " There's a check for your brazen image." The latter, 
a creation of Sculptor Milmore, is greatly admired. The library also has a 
marble bust of Gen. George H. Gordon. From the hands of Sculptor 
Daniel C. French, it is a tribute from members of the Second Massachu- 
setts Infantry and other friends, costing $1,057. (Rev. Calvin Stebbins.) 
Vide Plate IX. 

Franklin (Xorfolk County). — Franklin's monument is due to 
the generosity of Comrade Frederick A. Newell, a native of the town, Tv;ho 
served in the Fifth Massachusetts Volunteer Militia, but is now a resi- 
dent of Attleborough. It is of Westerly granite, 7 feet square at the base 
and 381/2 feet high, including the heroic figure of a soldier at parade rest. 
Occupying a prominent place on the Common, and costing $5,000, the 
memorial was dedicated with appropriate exercises. May 30, 1903. Five 


'ears later, or May 30, 1908, a large bowlder was placed on the Common, 
»earing on its side a bronze tablet having in raised letters the address of 
incoln at Gettysburg. This significant token, costing $400, was pre- 
ented to the town by Austin B. Fletclier, Esq. Franklin Post 60 reckons 
.s its choicest relic the carefully prepared biographies of all its members, 
i^repared in duplicate, one copy is retained by the Post, the other is 
ieposited in the town library. In 1895 the town gave the free use of the 
yhapel schoolhouse to the Post. By a series of fairs and entertainments 
laving raised $1,500, the same was expended in arranging and adding to 
he edifice, the result being one of the most convenient Post quarters in 
he Department. Elaborately decorated with mementoes of the war, the 
)lace is an object lesson for the town. The allied patriotic societies use 
he building with the Post. Since preparing the preceding. Post 60 has 
xperienced further good fortune in the shape of a large collection of 
Rebellion and other curios from the liberal Comrade Newell, who still 
urther added to his much giving an addition to the Post hall for the 
:eeping of his gifts, the quarters thus afi^orded costing about $1,000. The 
ame, with the collection, was dedicated with impressive services Decem- 
er 29, under the direction of Commander Eupert J. Chute, with addresses 
y Colonel George W. Xason, Alfred S. Eoe of Worcester, Department 
Commander John L. Parker of Lynn and others. (Walter M. Fisher, 
Ldjutant.) Vide Plate XXVI. 

Freetown (Bristol County). — Nothing of a memorial character 
11 town, though the people have considerable pride in the fact that out 
f 140 able-bodied men in town 88 enlisted. (Col. Silas P. Richmond.) 

Gardner (Worcester County). — The symmetrical monument in 
rardner was dedicated June 27, 1885. The outlay for the same, $5,000, 
ras met by the town. The Grand Army Post has a unique relic in the 
hape of a chair made from wood cut on the field of Spottsylvania, with 
lany bullets embedded, the same being a present to the Post by L. B. 
lamsdell, a public-spirited business man of Gardner and a friend to the 
omrades. D. G. Farragut Post 116 owns its hall, a large roomy struc- 
ure, convenient in every respect. Land and edifice represent an outlay 
f $4,000, and meeting places are afforded for the Woman's Relief Corps 
nd the local Camp of the Sons of Veterans. The Relief Corps aided 
ssentially in paying for the hall. (E. B. Howe, Adjutant.) Vide Plate 


Gay Head (Dukes County). — Scliouler, in his story of Massachu- 
setts in the war, does not include the town of Gay Head, since until 1870, 
as a district, it constituted a part of Chilmark. As the parent town 
furnished more than its quota, we may suppose that Gay Head, with its 
Indian affiliations, was not wanting. There is no public memorial, but a 
tombstone marks the grave of Alfred Eose, killed at Petersburg. (Wil- 
liam Yanderhoop, Postmaster.) 

Georgetown (Essex County). — May 30, 1874, an ornate monu- 
ment was dedicated in this town at a total expense of about $6,000 It is 
of granite, with bronze tablets bearing the names of 23 soldiers who gave 
their lives for the Union. A liberal donation by Mrs. Orin Weston was the 
beginning of the project of a memorial, though it was soon supplemented 
by a $4,000 appropriation by the town. The brothers, 0. W. and F. H. 
Peabody, of Kidder, Peabody & Co., Boston, annually contributed towards 
Memorial Day observances as long as they lived, and since their deaths 
the Hon. Frank E. Peabody, son of F. H. Peabody, has kept up the prac- 
tice instituted by his father. By way of mementoes, the Post has two 
rifled cannon, secured by the late Eben F. Stone when in Congress, a fine 
portrait of Everett Peabody, presented by his brothers, named above, 
with a large number of portraits of comrades, battle scenes, etc. Not 
least among its cherished possessions is a fine memorial volume, given by 
generous fellow citizens. Everett Peabody Post 108 occupies rented 
quarters. (John Munroe, Adjutant.) 

Gill (Franklin County). — This town has taken no action in a 
memorial way, nor is any such action expected. (Henry B. Barton, Town 

Gloucester (Essex County). — This seaside' city is rich in memo- 
rials, having no less than six monuments for the soldiers and sailors of 
1861-65, of whom the city sent about 1,500 into the fray. In order of 
dedication, the first is that in Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, unveiled May 27, 
1868, and dedicated to the memory of the " Men of East Gloucester who 
gave their lives for the Union." A s^anmetrical shaft above 20 feet in 
height, its cost was defrayed by public-spirited citizens. The second is the 
great monument in City Hall grounds, which was dedicated Sept. 11, 
1879. Of granite and bronze, surmounted by a large figure of the Goddess 
of Liberty, the memorial is one of the finest in the Commonwealth. The 
funds for its erection were secured by exertions of the Post with the co- 


operation of citizens. Its dedicatory exercises were the most imposing 
ever witnessed in the city, the address being given by the Eev. Joseph F. 
Lovering, once Chaplain-in-Cliief of the Grand Army. As it stands, the 
monument represents $2,300. Xuml^er three in the list is the monnment 
in I^anesville, dedicated Sept. 29, 1885, by the Gloucester Post, with an 
extended program. Number four is the monument in Eiverdale Cem- 
etery, dedicated June 17, 1886, again under the auspices of the local Post, 
with address by Past Department Commander George Evans. Fifth in 
the roll is the memorial in Annisquam, unveiled June 17, 1890, with 
impressive civic and military exercises, more than 5,000 people partici- 
pating or looking on. It stands on Leonard Avenue. Mt. Adnah Cemetery, 
and is a tribute to the men from Annisquam. The principal addresses 
were given by Maj. George S. Merrill and the Eev. William H. Eider. 
Memorial Day, 1896, the sixth memorial in this remarkable series, located 
at Cherry Hill, was presented to the city, as usual with appropriate cere- 
monies, the address being given by Mrs. Emma B. Lowd, Past Depart- 
ment President, Woman's Eelief Corps, — an eminently worthy selection, 
since the donors of the monument were the members of the local Eelief 
Corps 77. It is claimed that these live monuments out of the center of 
Gloucester, averaged in cost $1,600 each, making an aggregate of $10,300 
for the entire city. Col. Allen Post 45 reckons among its choicest relics 
the sword and saddle cloth of Col. David Allen (Twelfth Massachusetts 
Infantry, killed at the Wilderness), after whom the Post was named; 
also his memorandum book, stained with his life blood, taken from his 
person after that terrible fray. The city furnishes elaborate and con- 
venient quarters, gratis, the Post first occupying them in February, 1897. 
(William H. Cross, Adjutant.) 

Goshen (HAMrsiiiRE County). — Xo monument, but one is con- 
templated through public subscription. Veterans of the war, only 7 in 
number, are reckoned the town's principal relics. (E. C. Packard, Town 

GosxoLD (Dukes County). — Though the town possesses a monu- 
ment recalling the fact that the first English settlement in New England 
was made in this township by Bartholomew Gosnold in 1602, there is 
nothing to commemorate her two volunteers in the Civil A¥ar, for, accord- 
ing to Schouler, that is the total number of the town's soldiers. Until 
1861 this part of the Commonwealth., viz., the Elizabeth Islands, was a 


part of Chilmark, and the onl}' volunteer from the Gosnold part of said 
town was Oliver G. Grenell, Jr. In 18G5 another enlisted, thus doubling 
the list. (J. W. Tilton, Town Clerk.) 

Grafton (Worcester County). — April 2, 1866, a previousl}- ap- 
pointed committee reported, in town meeting, on the building of a soldiers' 
monument, and it was voted that the same committee be authorized to 
erect, on the triangular piece of land nearly in front of the Town Hall, a 
marble monument, not to exceed in cost the sum of $4,000. It is said 
that the memorial, as it stands, cost very much more, but the excess was 
a loss to the contractor, not to the town. Apparently it was dedicated 
Oct. 13, 1867, the address being given by Alexander H. Bullock, then 
Governor. Everybody within reaching distance went to Grafton that day. 
A. B. R. Sprague Post 24 meets in hired rooms. (Edwin A. Howe, Com- 
mander and Town Clerk.) Vide Plate XV. 

Granby (Hampshire County). — ^No memorial for the soldiers in 
Granby. (George F. Bill, Town Clerk.) 

Granville (Hampden County). — No public memorials, nor any 
prospects. (Silas B. Root, Town Clerk.) 

Great Barrington (Berkshire County). — The monument, placed 
in front of the Town Hall, is an attractive one, and probably has no dupli- 
cate in the Commonwealth. It was unveiled in 1876, — a sort of centen- 
nial offering to the memory of men who made a united Union possible. 
Its cost, $10,000, was met largely by town appropriation, helped out at the 
end by individual subscriptions. G. D. Anderson Post 196 occupies 
rented quarters. (Stephen Hay ward. Commander.) Vide Plate XXII. 

GitEENFiELD ( Franklin County). — One of the most beautiful mon- 
uments in Massachusetts is that which stands in the Court House square 
of the shire town of Franklin County. Of red granite, imported Aber- 
deen, it is exquisite in color, form and impression. The outlay, $7,150, 
was defrayed by the town. No beholder can look upon this tribute without 
a thrill of gladness that such a memorial is possible. Edwin E. Day Post 
174 has a hall entirely its own, through the generosity of the town, the 
only condition being that the sidewalk be kept free of snow and ice. 
Abutting on the street, veterans have to climb only one flight of stairs 
to reach the Post room, wliile the everv-dav club room is on the street 

c « > 

2 S o 

B rt rt 
li Si tt 
a li > 

f^ ^ ? 


- 5 ^ 
^ o « 


level. To adorn the grounds are three Eodman guns, loaned by the Gov- 
ernment. The Post has a copy of the " Vicksburg Citizen," July 3, 1863, 
which the rebels had set up, but which Grant's men issued, given by Dr. 
A. C. Walker; also a set of cannon wheels, said to have come down from 
the Revolution, presented by the late T. M. Stoughton of Gill. (J. Solon 
Clark, Adjutant.) Vide Plate II. 

Greenwich (Hampshire County). — The town has no public me- 
morial, nor, so far as known, is any contemplated. (W. P. Sloan, Town 

Groton (Middlesex County). — Xo town in Massachusetts has 
received such careful attention at the hands of the historian as this, 
through the loving devotion of Dr. Samuel A. Green of Boston, but a 
native of Groton. As a veteran of the war, surgeon of the Twenty-fourth, 
his is always a conspicuous figure in the annual Memorial Day parade. 
Also, for almost the whole of his long life, Groton was the home town of 
ex-Gov. George S. Boutwell, and here is his grave. In 1882 the town 
caused to be placed upon the inner wall of the Town Ilall an elaborate 
tablet in marble, having the names of 40 Groton soldiers who lost their 
lives in the struggle. Framed in heavy black walnut, the marble is 61^ 
by 71/2 feet in dimensions. The expense involved was $5,000. E. S. 
Clark Post 115 pays rent for Post room. (C. H. Torrey, Adjutant.) 

Groyeland (Essex County). — ?^ason, in his " Gazetteer," says that 
out of the 117 men who went into the war from this town 24 were lost, 
and a suitable monument has been erected on the Common, near the Con- 
gregational Church. This memorial, set up in 1868, cost about $3,500, 
the result of popular subscriptions. It now stands in Eiverview Cem- 
etery, on the soldiers' lot. The Post has four iron cannon, smooth bore, 
24 pound, used in the war. Charles Sumner Post 1()1 owns its quar- 
ters, an old church made over to suit the needs of the veterans; it has 
cost, from first to last, about $8,500. Capt. '* Jack " Adams enlisted from 
Groveland. (Charles F. Paine, Adjutant.) 

Hadley (Hampshire County). — A library building, erected in 
1902, is known as the ]\Iemorial Building, in memory of first settlers 
and soldiers of all the wars in which the sons of the town may have en- 
gaged. A room for such memorial purpose is reserved on the second floor. 
Tbe birthplace of Fighting Joe Hooker, it is to be hoped that, during the 


present year (1909), while the town celebrates its two hundred and 
fiftieth anniversary of settlement, tablets bearing the names of soldiers 
for the Union may be erected. The building- cost $10,000, met entirely 
by individual subscriptions. (Comrade 0. W. Prouty.) 

Halifax (Plymouth County). — A granite monument, erected in 
18G7 at a cost of $1,200, stands in front of the Congregational Church. 
As was common in those days, the foundation effort was that of the Ladies' 
Aid Association, with the town coming to their help with an appropria- 
tion. The words in raised letters, " Our patriot soldiers," stand out above 
the names of the soldiers themselves. (F. D. Morton, Town Clerk.) Vide 
Plate XXXVI. 

Hamilton (Essex County). — Xothing of a public memorial kind. 

Hampden (Hampden County). — "I am sorry to say that our town 
has no soldiers' monument. Yet the graves have markers, erected, I think, 
about three years ago. We annually have some memorial exercises. Some 
local speakers and the school children take a special interest. The town 
has not made a memorial appropriation for some years." (C. I. Burleigh, 
Town Clerk.) 

Hancock (Berkshire County). — A small tablet, 2 by 4 feet, in 
the public library, bearing the names of those who died in service, is Han- 
cock's memorial. The expense, only $33, is not great, it is true, but it is 
pleasant to know that the town having the name of the President of the 
Continental Congress is not forgetful. (W. K. Hadsell, Town Clerk.) 

Hanover (Plymouth County). — The year 1878 commemorates 
the erection of Hanover's soldiers' monument, costing $1,700, one-half of 
the amount coming from individual work, through fairs, the other half 
by a town appropriation. Active war is recalled by two 12-pound howit- 
zers, mounted, with some 30 empty shells, all near the monument. J. E. 
Wilder Post S3 has free quarters in the Town Hall. (M. Y. Bonney, 

Hanson (Plymouth County). — The monument in Hanson cost 
$1,500, the result of the combined efforts of Post, Corps and Camp, with 
the contributions of loyal and patriotic citizens. The several" patriotic 


organizations, ineliuling T. L. Bonney Post 127, meet in a building 
devoted to their special use, a gift to them by j\Ir. John Foster, a patriotic 
resident of the town. Two stories in height, valued at $3,000, it is a 
cherished possession of the veterans and their friends. (^. T. Howland, 

Hardwiok (Worcester County). — Fortunate in having such a 
loyal son as Col. Lewis E. Granger, originally of the Thirteenth Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, next of the Corps d'Afrique, finally of the Eegular 
Army, in 1889 Hardwick became possessed of a fine memorial, dedicated 
on the 4:th of July of that year. It is of white bronze and is supposed 
to have cost with the expense of foundation and dedication, $2,500. Past 
Department Commander John D. Billings gave the address, and Posts 
from Ware and Barre, besides a large number of other people, enlivened 
the day. (Joel L. Powers, Assessor.) FtV/e Plate XVII. 

Harvard (Worcester County). — While there is no Post of the 
Grand Army in this town, there are loyal citizens, evidenced in the monu- 
ment and tablets, the latter in the vestibule of the public library. Through 
an appropriation by the town and the active services of local ladies the 
funds, $1,200, were secured for the foregoing purpose. All this was more 
than twenty years ago. If the tablets were dedicated when the library 
building was, the date would be June 22, 1887. Upon them one may read, 
" Harvard to her brave sons who fought for the Union in the War of the 
Pebcllion." (James L. Whitney, Town Clerk.) Vide Plates XXIV. and 

Harwich (Barnstable County). — This famous Cape Cod town 
has, as yet, nothing of a memorial nature. (X. C. Underwood, Town 
Clerk.) ' 

Hatfield (Hampshire County). — The library building, given by 
S. H. Dickinson, is known as Memorial Hall, and within are tablets to 
the memory of both Eevolutionary soldiers and those of the Civil War. 
The cost of the tablet was, possibly, $500. (C. M. Barton, Librarian.) 

Haverhill (Essex County). — When only one of the many towns 
in old Essex, Haverhill was the birthplace of John G. Whittier, whose 
trenchant pen and rhythmic voice did so much for the I"^nion and liberty. 
In 18G9 the city dedicated her beautiful monument, at a cost of $6,573. 


The occasion has long been memorable in local annals. Major Howe 
Post 47 considers its most precious relic the home-made flag borne by the 
Hale Guards at the first call for troops. In those days bunting was scarce, 
and the company had no colors, hence Mrs. Nancy Buzzell, a patriotic 
seamstress, using strips of ribbon in her possession, sewed continuously 
from Wednesday till Friday noon, with only two hours' sleep, that the 
soldiers might have a flag under which they could march. In some way 
the flag was lost in the hurly-burly of war times, and for forty-one years 
the good lady looked in vain for the object on which she had labored so 
diligently. At last it came to light and was passed back to the maker, 
who in 1904 turned it over to the Post, to be cared for, it is hoped, until 
the last man has been mustered out, and then to become the heritage of 
library or historical society. It is kept under lock and key in a glass- 
covered receptacle, ever beheld with wondering eyes by hundreds of visit- 
ors. The Post owns its hall, and there all of the patriotic bodies of 
Haverhill regularly assemble. Centrally located, it is ever increasing in 
value, and is, for Post purposes, one of the best plants in the Department. 
The hall and grounds represent about $30,000. (Comrade B. F. Bickuni.) 
Vide Plate XXII. 

Hawley (Franklin County). — Xo memorial nor any prospect of 
one. (F. D. Carter, Town Clerk.) 

Heath (Franklin County). — Though bearing the name of one 
of the brave ofticers of the Eevolution, except for some headstones at 
their graves Heath has no memorial to her soldiers, nor any prospects 
of the same. (Hugh Maxwell, Town Clerk.) 

HiNGHAM (Plymouth County). — The long-time home of War 
Governor John A. Andrew has many reminders of the troublous times. 
Erected of Quincy granite, standing quite 30 feet in height and costing 
nearly $6,650, the monument was dedicated June 17, 1870, with the Hon. 
Solomon Lincoln as orator. The town gave $5,000 of the sum expended, 
citizens and the local Post making up the remainder. The monument is 
suitably embellished with emblems and inscriptions, including the names 
of 74 officers and men who gave their lives for the Union. In 1907, at an 
outlay of about $250, the Loyal Legion of Massachusetts placed in the 
old First Church of Hingham a bronze tablet to the memory of Gen. W. W. 
Blackmar, who died in 1905 while in command of the National Depart- 
ment, G. A. P. The church itself is the oldest structure in constant 


religious use in America. The town is particularly pleased with the fact 
that not only did Governor Andrew spend many of his living years here, 
but in death the town has the custody of his body. Over his grave admir- 
ing friends have reared a most worthy monument, bearing, as its most 
important feature, the sculptured form of the Governor. From the chisel 
of Thomas R. Gould, it cost about $7,000. Francis H. Lincoln, Esq., of 
Hingham supplies the following facts, viz. : March 13, 1872, at the sug- 
gestion of Gen. Luther Stephenson there was formed the John A. Andrew 
Monument Association, for the sole j^^rpose of procuring and erecting a 
suitable monument over the Governor's grave. Every military organiza- 
tion in the Commonwealth that bore a part in the suppression of the 
Eebellion was invited to contribute, and this the officers and men did to 
the amount already stated. The statue was dedicated Oct. 8, 1875, with 
imposing ceremonies. In 1876 Hingham put forth a large volume of 465 
pages descriptive of her part in the war. Alone it would have constituted 
an elaborate memorial. Edwin Humphrey Post 104 in 1888 built a hall 
of its own, taking for its site, in the center of the town, almost the 
exact location of the old fort, commanded by Capt. John Smith in the 
days of King Philip. Used by Post, Corps and Camp, the hall represents 
about $6,250 of money raised by fairs, entertainments and contributions. 
(Arthur Beale, Adjutant.) 

Hinsdale (Berkshiee County). — Tliis elevated town, almost at 
the summit level as the Boston & Albany Railroad crosses the foot hills 
of the Green Mountains, has nothing of a memorial nature. (T. J. 
O'Leary, Town Clerk.) 

HoLBROOK (Norfolk County). — The war history of Holbrook be- 
longs with that of Randolph, from which it was separated in 1872 ; hence 
there is no memorial here, though there is talk of something in the future. 
(Zenas A. French, Town Clerk.) 

Holden (Worcester County). — Marble tablets in the Town Hall, 
locally known as Memorial Hall, bearing the names of all the men from 
the town who joined in the strife, constitute the memorials of Holden. 
Costing about $600, the sum came principally from the Soldiers' Monu- 
ment Association, which had labored for this purpose some time. The 
tablets were put in place in 1876, the nation's centennial year. Theron E. 
Hall Post 77 is accorded free use of rooms in the Town Hall, and like 
benefits are shared by Relief Corps and Sons of Veterans. The Post 


lays stress on the possession of MaJ. Theron E. Hall's portrait, along 
with those of Col. I. N. Boss, the commander of an Ohio regiment, but 
who resided many years in the town, and Capt. Ira J. Kelton of the 
Twenty-first Massachusetts, killed at Chantilly. (George Bascom, Com- 

Holland (Hampden County). — This small town, on the Connecti- 
cut border, furnished 4 more soldiers than her quota demanded, but as 
yet has erected no monument nor tablet to their memory ; nor is the pros- 
pect bright for one in the future. {A. F. Blodgett, Town Clerk.) 

HoLLiSTON (Middlesex County). — This town's monument for the 
soldiers was erected in 1867 by Churchill, Trask & Co. of Lowell. A 
granite shaft, it stands 35 feet in height, with a base 6 feet 7I/2 inches 
square, and cost $3,151.87, a town appropriation. It is placed on Wash- 
ington Street near the Town Hall. It is suitably and elaborately adorned 
and inscribed. Holliston sent 354 soldiers into the struggle. Powell T. 
Wyman Post 6 owns its Post hall, erected in 1878, said to be the first in- 
stance in the Department of a Post thus providing for itself. Possibly it 
was moved to this course on account of having been burned out no less 
than three times before it built its own edifice. The structure, valued at 
$2,500, is roomy and ample for the use of the Post and other bodies that 
regularly assemble here. (John N. Piske, Adjutant.) 

HoLYOKE (Hampden County). — In 1874 Holyoke appropriated 
$10,000 for a monument, and the same was unveiled July 4, 1876, a most 
significant date. Upon a base 10 feet square stands the shaft, surmounted 
by the bronze figure of a woman with hand resting on a shield. The entire 
design is that of H. C Ellicott, a Confederate veteran who, in war times, 
served under Mosby. With suitable emblems, the monument carries the 
names of 55 soldiers who sealed their devotion with their lives. The total 
height of the memorial, including figure, is 25 feet. For many years there 
were evident upon the lawn surrounding the City Hall certain discarded 
cannon, suggestive of the service gunpowder had once rendered the coun- 
try, but popular feeling grew to resent the obtrusion of so much that was 
warlike in appearance, and the guns were taken away to the Eiverside 
Park, where, it is hoped, they will be less irritating to the peaceful minds 
of all beholders. Kilpatrick Post 71 has excellent and well-appointed 
quarters, for wluL-h annual rental is paid. Tlie fact that their monument 


yas designed by an ex-rebel strikes the veterans of Holyoke as one of 
;heir most interesting assets. (George H. Lynds, Post Adjutant.) Vide 
Plate XXII. 

HoPEDALE (Worcester County). — Perhaps the fact that this town 
vas not set off from Milford until 1886 may explain why the life-long 
lome of Gen. William F. and Gov. Eben S. Draper is without visible 
nemorial of the war. In a village possessing a beautiful Town Hall, 
;hurch and other notable structures, the figure of a soldier would fit 
idmirably. Since the foregoing was written (1909) General Draper has 
)assed to his reward, and on Memorial Day, 1910, his widow, Mrs. Susan 
Preston Draper, dedicated to his memory a bronze statue of heroic size, 
;he same standing on the lawn adjacent to the late home of the General 
m Adin Street. As projected, the dedication was in the care of the 
\Iilford Post, G. A. E., with affiliated patriotic bodies. Margaret, the 
aeneral's youngest child, unveiled the statue, and the principal address 
vas by the congressional representative, the Hon. John W. Weeks of 
Newton. Upon a pedestal of pink Milford granite rises the bronze form 
)f the inventor, soldier, representative and diplomat, the creation of 
sculptor Chauncey Pollock of New York, a fitting and adequate memorial 
)f a man who did much for town. State and country. 

IIoPKiNTON (Middlesex County). — -Though business adversity has 
imitten this hilltop town mightily, it cannot take away the excellent 
■ecord made in the war by her sons. To the number of 54, the names of 
;he fallen are inscribed on a tablet in the town library, placed there by 
;he sons and daughters of Hopkinton, and costing about $200. A monu- 
nent to the memory of all those who served in the war for the Union, 
irected in 1892, stands in the burial ground. Costing $1,000, it was paid 
'or by public subscriptions. The lot of land on which it is located was 
^iven by the late Abram Crooks. C. C. Phillips Post 14 meets in rented 
■ooms, and has several interesting souvenirs of the strife, such as the 
portrait of the officer for whom the Post was named and a gavel made 
'rom Andersonville stockade, presented by Comrade H. C. Weston of 
\.tlanta, Ga., Senior Yice-Commander of the Department of Georgia. 
(C. H. Stiles, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXII. 

TIuBBARDSTON (WORCESTER County). — The Ladies' Aid Society of 
;his town had accamulated, soon after the close of the war, nearly $300 
'or monumental purposes. In Xovember, 1865, the town voted $800 


additional, and a committee of three was appointed to carry out the prO' 
visions of the vote. Tlien ensned discussion as to whether a memoria' 
Town Hall would not be more significant. Before the debate ended, grea1 
expense was incurred through the necessary building of a county road 
debt piled up over the construction of a railroad, and the whole mattei 
was left in abeyance. Thus the subject remained until 1885, when thf 
money, raised twenty years before by the women, had grown to some- 
thing more than $500. Once more the monument seemed a possibility 
Luckily a party was found anxious to sell one that he had in stock, and e 
$650 monument was secured and dedicated. Memorial Day, 1885. Stand- 
ing on the village Common, 5 feet square at the base and 14 feet high, it h 
highly creditable. During the first ten years of the life of the Grand 
Array, Burnside Post was located here. Out of the 104 different mer 
furnished by the town, 10 above her quota, 44 died in the service or soor 
after. (W. H. AVheeler, Town Clerk.) Vide Plato XXXVI. 

HuDsOiSr (Middlesex County). — A monument had long been a 
cherished purpose of the Grand Army in Hudson; the veterans were all 
the more anxious to have this token because of the fact that not unti] 
1866 did the town appear on the map, until then having been a part of 
Marlborough, Berlin and Bolton. But there were many active and vig- 
orous veterans, and they were willing to work for the cause. They had 
raised a large sum of money, and an especially successful fair had netted 
considerably more tlian $1,000 for the purpose, when a cloud fell upon 
them in that the custodian of the fund ran away with a large part of it. 
The chief fund, also, suffered in the hands of nominal friends. Thus the 
scheme fell through, and what was left, possibly $1,200, was devoted to 
fitting up a Grand Army room in the new library building, a disposition 
of the money, however, quite distasteful to the majority of the survivors 
of the war. Eeno Post 9 has most excellent quarters, free, in well- 
equipped rooms on the first floor of the Town Hall. 

Hull (Plymouth County). — Again the popular adage, "As goes 
Hull, so goes the State," is negatived, for, while the State has many 
memorials, this famous seaside resort has nothing of the sort, i.e., in and 
of itself. The national governm^ent having equipped a battery in Fort 
Eevere and named it after Col. Curran Pope of the Fifteenth Kentucky 
Volunteers, who was mortally wounded at Chaplin Hills in 1863, in 
gratitude for the honor thus conferred on her father, Mrs. Mary Tyler 

<: ^ 

*»^nMf'rV**' !! 

4) O 

rt ■a 

Si o 


Pope, on Memorial Day, 1909, caused to be dedicated in the battery a 
bronze tablet, giving data as to the services of Colonel Pope. The esti- 
mated cost of the memorial is $150. 

Huntington (Hamtshire County). — Thanks to the generosity of 
a New York resident, the Hon. Alfred Taylor, though he was raised in 
Huntington, the town has a monument to the memory of the soldiers. Mr. 
Taylor's brother, " a boy in blue," sleeps in an unknown grave, and thereby 
possibly he was prompted to this deed of love. The monument stands in 
the town cemetery, 10 feet in height and with a base 4 feet square, and 
has a cannon ball as a cap piece. It cost $600. The town is generous to 
the veterans and assists in many ways, though Gen. Horace C. Lee Post 
176 pays annual rent for its accommodations. (Edward Pease, Adju- 
tant. ) 

Hyde Paek (ISTorfolk County). — The war history of what is now 
Hyde Park was, until 1868, a part of that of Dedham, Dorchester and 
Milton. This is a reason for the absence of a soldiers' memorial in this 
exceedingly active, progressive community. The nearest approach to a 
tangible token of Eebellion days is a small park on the old campground 
at Eeadville. Known as Meiggs Park, it was laid out and graded by 
private subscription. There is a flagstaff in the center, and about it are 
cannon loaned by the general government. Timothy Ingraham Post 121 
occupies leased quarters, which are sublet to associated organizations. In 
1910, active measures are afoot for building a monument. (E. J. 
Chandler, Adjutant.) 

Ipswich (Essex County). — IsTo monument in the Commonwealth 
is more firmly placed than that of this town, since its base rests on the 
solid ledge for which shoreward Essex is noted. The plinth bears, on its 
four sides, bronze tablets having the names of 54 sons of Ipswich who 
died for the Union. Erected at the expense of the town, it cost $3,000, 
and was dedicated Memorial Day, 1870. In 1897 the Woman's Relief 
Corps 42 caused to be placed on a rough granite base a tablet, bearing 
on its face the inscription, " Erected by Gen. James Appleton Woman's 
Relief Corps No. 42 of Ipswich." On the base are the words " Unknown 
Dead." Its cost was $277. Gen. James Appleton Post 128 has in its 
Post hall a case of battle relics, highly prized by veterans and visitor. The 
quarters are rented. (Charles W. Bamford, Commander and Town 
Clerk.) Tide Plate XXYIII. 


Jamaica Plain (City of Bostox). — Vide West Eoxbiiry. 

Kingston (Plymouth County). — The moimment in this ancient 
town, the nearest neighbor to Plymouth, is a fine specimen of the sculp- 
tors art, and was erected in the spring of 1884 at a cost of $2,500. The 
memorial is the gift of Mrs. Abigail H. Adams, a notable expression of 
patriotism, while the grading and curbing are due to a sum of money 
left by a lodge of Sons of Temperance, on disbanding, for some such 
purpose as this. Martha Sever Post 154 meets in rented quarters. (L. E. 
Ford, Quartermaster.) Vide Plate XII. 

Lakevtlle (Plymouth County). — Xeither past, present nor future 
has promise of a soldiers' memorial for this Old Colony town. (E. C. 
Harvey, Town Clerk.) 

Lancaster (Worcester County^). — The fine library building of 
this town, erected at an outlay of $40,000, largely through the generosity 
of the wealthy Thayer family, is called the Memorial Library, and 
marble tablets placed therein carry the names of all the soldiers from this 
town, one of the most interesting in the Commonwealth, having the story 
of destruction by the Indians and the captivity of Mrs. Eowlandson. The 
tablets cost about $500 (estimated). Washington Post 175 has free use 
of rooms in the Town Hall. (John T. Keyes, Adjutant.) 

Lanesborough (Berkshire County). — The birth town of Henry 
Shaw, famous as " Josh Billings," has nothing present nor prospectively, 
in a memorial way, so far as the Bebellion is concerned. (E. M. "Wliiting, 
Chairman, Board of Selectmen.) 

Lawrence (Essex County). — This city of cotton mills has a large 
and impressive monument, erected in 1881 at an expense of $10,000, the 
outlay being met by popular subscription. Needham Post 39, named for 
one of the heroes who fell on the 19th of April, 1861, in Baltimore, has 
as its choicest relic the hatchet which Keedham left in the timbers of the 
house he was lathing when summoned. Also, there are here a portion of 
the baluster of the Marshall house, where Ellsworth was shot, and the 
stars and bars from surrendered Fort Moultrie. At the entrance to the 
City Hall are two 12-pound shot fired at Fort Sumter from the Charles- 

LEE. 67 

ton batteries in 1861. Both Xeeclham Post and General Lawton Post 
146 occupy rented quarters. In a cemetery of the city is a fine monument 
to the memory of Sumner H. Xeedham, slain in Baltimore, paid for by 
the Commonwealth, and costing $6,000. (George H. Hadley, Adjutant, 
Post 39.) Vide Plate XIII. 

Lee (Berkshire Couxty). — In 1873 the town caused to be erected 
a town building, containing a town and memorial hall, at a cost of 
$24,500. Here, besides the regular town offices and public hall, are quar- 
ters for the Scott Bradley Post 177. Three tablets in the hall bear the 
names of 38 soldiers from Lee who gave up their lives during the war; 
also there are three small bronze tablets having the names of as many 
men from Lee who died as members of Xew York organizations. An 
external tablet bears this inscription, " Erected by the town of Lee in 
honor of the martyrs who fell and the heroes who fought in defense of 
liberty and Union." The estimated value of the tablets is $1,000. The 
Post and the Woman's Eelief Corps have free quarters in the building. 
(D. M. "Wilcox, Commander.) Vide Plate XXYI. 

Leicester (Worcester County). — The memorial in Leicester is 
both useful and sentimental, since the Memorial Hall, originally the 
receptacle for the town library, is now the Post room of George H. Thomas 
Post 131. Few if any Posts in the Department have better quarters, the 
same being furnished gratis by the town. The cost involved in the prep- 
aration of the hall, and the placing of the great tablet bearing the names 
of 37 Leicester men who fell in tlie fray, was about $8,000. While the 
Post has a large collection of portraits of distinguished men connected 
with the war, including a large painting of General Thomas, commemo- 
rated in the name of the Post and purchased from Gen. William Earn- 
shaw in 1879, Commander-in-Chief of the Grand Army, an intimate 
friend of the officer, no item is more highly prized than the portrait of 
Eandall Mann, who fell at Eoanoke, and whose body was sent home for 
burial. Years afterwards, when the same was exhumed for reburial, the 
bullet which caused the soldier's death was found in his coffin. This, 
properly encased, hangs in front of his picture. A large room in the 
library building is devoted to curios of all kinds, and here is accumulating 
a wide range of articles interesting and valuable and pertinent to the war. 
(H. Arthur White, Past Commander, Post 131, and John Q. Jordan, 
Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXIII. 


Lenox (Berkshire County). — This beaiitiful town among the 
" Hills of Berkshire " is yet without its soldiers' monument, but at the 
town meeting of 1909 a committee was appointed to report on the cost oi 
such a memorial. (Charles C. Flint, Town Clerk.) 

Leominster (Worcester County). — The monument in this thriv- 
ing town is due to a town appropriation of $2,800, which paid for the 
memorial which stands in the very center of the town, surrounded by ar 
iron fence firmly placed on granite curbing. The grading, fencing, curb- 
ing and mounting of four naval guns cost the town enough more to brino 
the total to about $3,500, all of which was paid for by the town, excepi 
$100, which a patriotic colored man, long the village barber, requested 
the privilege of giving. Four naval guns within the iron fence add to the 
impressiveness of the inclosure, which is known as Monument Square, 
The local Post is rich in historic relics, particularly those of the Eevolu- 
tion, including a captain's commission, signed in 1778 by John Jay, Pres- 
ident of the War Board ; a certificate of membership in the Society of the 
Cincinnati, signed by George Washington, Presi^lent, and Henry Knox, 
Secretary, dated March 1, 1787; also a smaller certificate of membership 
in the Georgia branch of the Order, these coming into the possession oi 
the Post through a deceased member, who, in war times, took them m 
spoils of war from Prince Edward County Court House, Va. Moreover, 
the Post has eight old style Colt's revolvers, a part of a supply purchased 
for Company A, Fifteenth Massachusetts Infantry, in 1861 by Alvah 
Burrage of Boston, but formerly of this town ; also eight old style Spring- 
field muskets, 1861-65. There are portraits of the 37 soldiers who died, 
and whose names are on the monument, and also portraits of nearly ah 
those who have ever belonged to the Post. A reminder of Port HudsoE 
and the Fifty-third Eegiment is a piece of brass ornament, evidentl} 
from the gear of a cavalry or artillery horse. Charles H. Stevens Post 53, 
after many years of rented rooms, April 12, 1906, dedicated quarters of its 
own, on the second floor of a commodious edifice near the heart of the 
town, and is as comfortably fixed as any veterans could wish to be, 
(Thomas A. Hills, Adjutant.) Yide Plate XL. 

Leverett (Franklin County). — There is nothing here in a memo- 
rial way, nor is anything expected. (Israel Taylor, Town Clerk.) 

Lexington (Middlesex County). — Conspicuous in the earliest days 
of the Revolution, Lexington has solved the problem of devotion to the 


soldier of 1861-65 without in the least lessening her devotion to the heroes 
of 1775. Through the generosity of Mrs. Maria Hastings Gary of Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., a native of the town, and the co-operation of the town, there 
was dedicated, April 19, 1871, an imposing Town Hall, to contain not 
only the regular appointments for town offices, but also the Gary Library. 
The oration, one of his best, was by the Hon. George B. Loring. On the 
first floor are four statues, one representing the soldier of the Eevolution, 
with appropriate tablet; another is called the soldier of the Eebellion, or 
" the Union soldier ; " the near-by tablet has the inscription, " The sons 
defended what the fathers won ; " also there are the names of the 20 Lex- 
ington soldiers who gave their lives during the war. Both statues are the 
work of J. G. Batterson of Hartford, Gonn. The other figures represent 
Samuel Adams and John Hancock. These typical figures are supposed to 
have cost about $5,000 each. The building also has a portrait of the late 
Gen. William F. Bartlett, whose parents were born in Lexington. Aside 
from a brass gun, captured from the Confederates and loaned by the 
government to George G. Meade Post 119, there are no conspicuous 
relics of the Eebellion. The Post meets in rented quarters. (Everett 
S. Locke, Adjutant.) 

Leyden (Franklin County). — As yet there is no monument, 
though each soldier's grave is marked with tablet or stone. It is rumored 
in town that a monument is contemplated, but how or when is not yet 
divulged. (S. B. Budington, Town Clerk.) 

Lincoln (Middlesex County). — A number of years ago the town 
erected headstones over the graves of soldiers, but has no other memorial. 
There is no move in sight for anything more. (George L. Chap in, Town 

Littleton (Middlesex County). — In the main entrance of the 
public library, on each side, is a tablet bearing the names of Littleton 
soldiers during the Civil War. Their cost was a little more than $350, 
borne by the town. (Charles F. Johnson, Town Clerk.) 

LoNGMEADOw (Hampden County). — This town, one of the hand- 
somest in the Connecticut valley, has nothing in the way of a public 
memorial of the Civil War, nor is anything expected. (Frank B. Allen, 
Chairman, Board of Selectmen.) 


Lowell (Middlesex County). — This, the far-famed spindle citj 
of America, has a magnificent hall, erected in memory of the soldiers o: 
the great war. Its cost was $260,000. The first floor is for the puhlic 
library. As one climbs the winding stairs leading to the second floor 
lie passes the excellent bronze bust, by Cyrns Cobb, of Gen. Benjamin F 
Butler, long the city's most distinguished citizen, a tribute from the col- 
ored people of Massachusetts for his undeviating devotion to their good 
This was placed thus in 1893, at a total cost of $2,000 (estimated). Th( 
inscription on the memorial reads, " Presented by the colored soldiers o^ 
Boston in memory of the man whose 'contraband of war ' order was th( 
first step towards making the race free." The main hall in the seconc 
story is for the use of G. A. R. Posts, and here hang the coats worn bj 
Ladd and Whitney in the effort of the Sixth Regiment to reach Washing- 
ton, through Baltimore, iVpril 19, 1861. Also, suspended on the wall 
close by these blood-stained garments, is the drum, beaten on the sam( 
march through the Maryland city. In the very angle of the triangulai 
plot of land on which stand the City Hall and the Memorial Building, is 
the monument erected to the memory of Ladd and Whitney by the State 
and city. Dedicated June 17, 1865, costing above $5,000, few monuments 
in the Commonwealth antedate this. The dedicatory address was given b} 
Gov. John A. Andrew, and, besides the usual inscriptions, may be founc 
these lines from Milton's " Samson Agonistes," quoted by the Governoi 
in his address : — • 

Nothing is here for griof, nothing for tears, nothing to wail, 
And knock the breast, no weakness, no contempt, 
Dispraise, or blame, but well and fair. 
And what may quiet us in death so noble. 

April 19, 1909, a bronze tablet was affixed to the base of the I^add- 
Whitney monument in memory of Charles A. Taylor, Company A, Sixth 
Massachusetts, who is supposed to have been the first to fall in the march 
through Baltimore. The city of Lowell paid the bill. Still nearer the 
apex of the angle is a cannon mounted. 

In the Edson Cemetery is a granite monument, surmounted by the 
life-size figure of a soldier in place rest. At its base are great cannon on 
granite foundations, while a near-by anchor, with attached cable, attests 
a recollection of the part borne by sailors on the sea. The expense involved 
at this ]inint. some $1,500, was met by the patriotic societies. Also, on the 
soldiers' lot in the Lowell Cemetery is another monument, costing above 


$400, and paid for by the Woman's Belief Corps. There are three Posts 
in Lowell, B. F. Butler Post 43, James A. Garfield Post 120 and Ladd 
and Whitney Post 185. Owing to some vexatious restrictions, only 
Post 42 uses Memorial Hall; the other Posts are in rented quarters. 
(Benjamin S. Clough, Adjutant, Post 185; George E. Worthin, Adjutant, 
Post 42; Charles A. Stott, ex-]\Iayor.) Vide Plates IX. and XL. 

Ludlow (Hampden County). — This bustling manufacturing town, 
now so largely filled with recent immigrants from northern continental 
Europe, has a monument erected by town appropriation in 1867, at an 
outlay of $1,200. It will do its part in teaching young America, in the 
persons of immigrants' children, what a free and united Eepublic cost. 

Luxemburg (Worcester County). — In 1867, only about two years 
after Appomattox, the town placed marble taljlets in her Town Hall, the 
same bearing the names of the soldiers from. Lunenburg who lost their 
lives in the strife, the expense incident thereto being $300. Now, with the 
prospect of a new library building, there is a feeling abroad that tablets 
should be placed therein having the names of all who enlisted from the 
town. (Comrade Stillman Stone, Town Clerk.) 

Lynn (Essex County). — It would seem that no municipality in the 
Commonwealth has done better than the city of shoes in her outlay in 
memory of the soldiers of the Union. To begin with, the Grand Army 
Hall, Andrew Street, dedicated in 1886, except for the first floor and one- 
half of the basement, is devoted entirely to the uses of General Lander 
Post 5 and kindred bodies. Built of brick, three stories in height, it cost 
$30,000. The Post also owns the land on which stands the Lynn Theater, 
Summer Street, so that its holdings in real estate are valued at more than 
$80,000. The expenditures of Post 5, in the way of aiding deserving 
comrades and their families, exceed $200,000. Occupying the third 
story, the Post room is a wonder to all those beholding it for the first 
time. Very likely in some of the larger cities there may be halls more 
expensively equipped, but it may be safely stated that not one in the entire 
nation is so appropriately adorned as this of Lynn. Those who assemble 
here see on every hand the faces of friends who once gathered with them. 
Already in uniform size and place (1908), there were 633 photographs, 
representing as many comrades who had answered the roll call on the 
other side. It would not be strange if, to one observing this wondrous 


array of faces, they in turn should quote the old-time quatrain of the early 
burial ground, modified for the time and place : — 

Comrade, pause as you glance by, 
As you are now, so once was I; 
As I am now, so you must be. 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

All of the living members of the Post expect to take their stations, 
some time, in this Valhalla of Lynn, and for this purpose sufficient spaces 
are left for all belonging, and also for prospective members. In a sense, 
the scene is his Thanatopsis to every comrade, as he looks upon the pic- 
tured walls. 

Where each shall take 
His chamber in the silent halls of death. 

Xor are these semblances of the " dear departed, brave and true," all 
that the Post possesses by way of memento, since every floor is crowded 
with tokens recalling the grim days of almost fifty years ago. From the 
half-length, life-sized portrait in oil, by Edward A. Burrell, of the Post's 
namesake. Gen. Frederick W. Lander, to that of local notables, we pass 
scores of faces and scenes worthy of hours of study, including the head- 
quarters flag of General Lander. A glance at the picture of a section of 
the hall reveals the face of General Lander looking down upon his old 
friends of Essex County, for he was a Salem boy, his the only portrait 
accorded such honor, where the hundreds, no matter what their rank in 
life, fill equal spaces in death. 

The city, too, is rich in monumental reminders. In Park Square is 
the distinctive soldiers' monument, unveiled Sept. IT, 1873. Allegorical 
and classic, the work was designed by John A. Jackson, a native of Maine, 
then residing in Florence, Italy. The bronzes were cast in Munich, 
Bavaria, the total cost amounting to $30,000. There are many who 
would prefer designs and figures more indicative of the times they were 
made to commemorate. 

In Pine Grove Cemetery, in the soldiers' lot, long stood a granite 
monument, surmounted by a draped urn. Dissatisfied with this combina- 
tion, the veterans, after much discussion, in 1905 replaced the urn with 
the figure of a private soldier, in granite, accomplishing this change at a 
cost of $1,800. Not far from the above-named monument is one erected 

> M.^r x^r r-M.^ < >^ # ^> #>>. ^^^». ^- » #- / sv^^^Nfz^^^aj 

• z 


to the memory of Capt. J. G. B. ("Jack") Adams, long Sergeant-at- 
Arms of the Legisk^ture, and Commander-in-Chief of the Grand Army in 
1893-94. Its most prominent feature is a reproduction of the badge of the 
ISTineteenth Massachusetts Infantry, the regiment to which the officer 

Also, there is a bowlder bearing, in bas-relief, the bronze face and 
bust of Col. Gardner Tufts, the agent of the Commonwealth at Washing- 
ton and at the front, during the war, looking out for the interests of the 
soldiers from Massachusetts. The First Universalist Church has a fine 
bronze tablet, commemorative of Captain Adams, placed there by "his 
companions of the Loya:! Legion. It is valued at $150. In the State 
Armory are war portraits of Col. Timothy Monroe, Eighth Eegiment, 
M. V. M., Capt. Jeremiah C. Bacheller, Eighth Eegiment, M. V. M., 
and Thomas Hart. The Lynn Public Library has a life-size portrait in 
oil of Charles Sumner, presented by the late John B. Alley, In the 
entrance of the Grand Army Building is an oil painting of the three 
sons of John B. Batchelder, all of whom lost their lives in the service. 
St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, erected in 1881, at a cost of $200,000, 
by the Hon. Enoch Eedington Mudge, is a memorial to his children, one 
of whom, Lieut-Col. Charles E. Mudge, was killed at Gettysburg; his 
remains lie in the garth of the church. The grave is annually bedecked 
by Post and Camp, the latter bearing his name. The veterans of the 
Spanish war also have a lot in Pine Grove Cemetery, where stands a 
modest monument with graves of departed soldiers arranged in a circle 
around it. Vide Plates XXXI., XXXIL, XXXIIL and XXXIY. 

Lynnfield (Essex County). — By way of contrast with Lynn, so 
full of memorials, Lynnfield has nothing and expects nothing. At the 
same time, it should be remembered, that within her borders, in war 
times, was Camp Schouler, where were organized the Seventeenth, X'ine- 
teenth. Twenty-second and Twenty-third regiments and other bodies that 
did valiant service in the war. 

Malden (Middlesex County). — About 1885 a monument, at an 
expense of $3,000, was set up on the soldiers' lot in the cemetery, paid for 
by the city. For various reasons this proved so unsatisfactory that finally 
a more worthy token was resolved upon; this conclusion being reached 
through the persistency of Post, Corps and Camp, until, at a mass meeting 
presided over by the mayor, the popular feeling was so clearly indicated 


that the finance committee of the city government reported in favor of an 
appropriation of $15,000. The cornerstone of the monument, to be in the 
heart of the city, was laid Memorial Day, 1909, with expectations of 
dedication a year later. Gen. H. G. Berry Post 40 enjoys most excellent 
though rented quarters. In Maiden's Forest Dale Cemetery is the lot for 
the burial of soldiers dying in the Chelsea Home. It was deemed fitting 
that there a memorial to the memory of Lizabeth A. Turner, once so prom- 
inent in Belief Corps ^vork, should stand. Accordingly, Memorial Sun- 
day, May 24, 1908, there was dedicated in her name a Eoxbury " pudding 
stone " bowlder with bronze tablet. The expense, $425, was met by volun- 
tary gifts from individuals. Posts and Corps throughout the Department. 
Maiden's monument was dedicated May 30, 1910. (S. S. Sturgeon, 

Manchester (Essex County). — The beautiful library building, 
on Union Street, near Central Square, presented to the town in 1887, by 
the Hon. T. J. Coolidge, a native of Manchester, is known as the Memorial 
Building, and is dedicated to the memory of the Union soldier. It is 
stipulated that all parts of the edifice shall revert to library uses after 
they cease to be occupied by the veterans. Within the Memorial Hall 
property are seven marble tablets, bearing the names of 23 soldiers and 
sailors who gave their lives during the war; while opposite to them is a 
larger tablet, 5 by 3 feet, in honor of all those who enlisted from the town. 
There are also bronze shields for those who served in the War of the Revo- 
lution and in that of 1812. The western end of the building contains a 
hall, 30 by 40 feet, deeded to Allen Post 67 for its use as long as it exists. 
It would be difficult to suggest any improvement in the conveniences 
accorded the Post. At the same time, unless there is more in a name than 
Shakespeare was wont to grant, it must be seen that the Memorial Build- 
ing is not monumental, in the sense that the Boston Monument or Shaw 
]\Iemorial is. However, the tablets and equipments of the inner halls* 
must represent an outlay direct of at least $50,000. (James H. Rivers, 

Mansfield (Bristol County). — A very fine library building in 
Mansfield serves as a reminder of national wars, containing, as it does, 
elaborate tablets bearing the names of soldiers, not only in the War of the 
Rebellion, Ijut in that, also, of the Revolution. It was erected early in the 
century, the dedication coming June 17, 1901. Mrs. Elizabeth J. Xoble 


presented the land and foundations, valued at $3,000. Through an asso- 
ciation begun by Mrs. Peddie Eeed, wife of Comrade H. P. Eeed, the sum 
of $750 was realized ; Frank B. Cady donated $500, while an appropria- 
tion of the town brought the total to $11,250. Inasmuch as the corner- 
stone was laid by Department Commander John E. Gilman, Oct. 21, 
1899, while the dedicatory address was made by Gen. W. "W. Blackmar, 
subsequently Department Commander and dying as Commander-in-Chief, 
Silas Barton, Department Commander, presiding, the edifice has a decided 
Ct. a. R. flavor. AAHiile the tablets are on the walls of the main entrance 
of the first floor, the entire second floor is given to the use of John Eogers 
Post 170. The appointments are all that could be asked or desired. In 
1906, through the request of Commander H. C. Hamilton, and the co-oper- 
ation of the Hon. William C. Lovering, congressman, a cannon with a 
quantity of shells was acquired, and is properly displayed before the 
building, all expense incident thereto being met by Mrs. Peddie Reed and 
her loyal associates. As an active agent in beginning the work on the 
memorial, the " boys in blue " do not forget the services of the Rev. Jacob 
Ide, long a clergyman of the town. (Henry C. Hamilton, Adjutant.) 
Fic^e Plate VII. 

Marbleiiead (Essex County). — This historic town, already em- 
balmed in poetry and tradition, has a fine monument, dedicated July 4, 
1876, and costing $4,900. Of Hallowell granite, 8 feet square at the base, 
its total height is 34 feet. John Goodwin, Jr., Post 82 is unusually 
comfortably and appropriately housed, in that the town has assigned to 
its use the old Town Hall, at the same time heating and lighting it for 
the veterans. Built in 1727, it is replete with incidents of its almost two 
hundred years of existence. Though not exactly in the relic line, it 
may be stated that Elbridge Gerry, a signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence, Governor of Massachusetts, and Vice-President of the United 
States at his death, was born in this town. Though flavored with memo- 
ries of an earlier war, Willard's famous oil painting of " The Spirit of 
'76 " may be found on the walls of the new Town Hall. In the minds 
of many, it is the most inspiring picture in the Commonwealth. (Thomas 
Swasey, Past Commander.) 

Marion (Plymouth County). — Though there are veterans in this 
town, there is no Post of the Grand Army. Activity, however, tells, and 
the arduous efl'orts of Comrade C. H. Wing, Post 1, New Bedford, have 
done much for Marion, a name which is so redolent of Revolutionary 


history in South Carolina. Starting out, subscription paper in hand, he 
raised $800 from his patriotic neighbors ; then, getting the proper article 
in the town warrant, secured from the town an appropriation for $600 
more. With this total amount there was erected a monument of white 
bronze, over 21 feet in height, which for many years has withstood the 
mists and winds of the coast. With the assistance of Posts from New 
Bedford, Wareham, Middlcborough and Bourne, each accompanied by 
Camps of Sons of Veterans, the monument was unveiled, Aug. 16, 1894. 
Nor was the zeal of Comrade AVing, even then, entirely quenched, for 
again, with subscription paper, he sallied forth, nor ceased until he had 
secured the sum of $90, with which there was set up in the cemetery a 
monument of white bronze to the memory of the unknown dead. Vide 
Plate XXX. 

Marlborough (Middlesex County).- — One of the more recent 
cities of the Commonwealth, there was erected here in 1869, long before a 
city charter was contemplated, a very satisfactory monument in the very 
busiest part of mercantile Marlborough. It is in the small park, past 
which must pass almost every electric car that enters the city. Not so 
ornate as memorials of a later building, it is well worth the $6,000 which 
it cost the city. John A. Rawlins Post 43 has the proud distinction of 
possessing the bell which, on the old engine house in Harper's Ferry, was 
rung by John Brown's men on that autumn day of 1859, when every stroke 
of its metallic tongue was a knell of slavery. The story of the manner 
of securing the invaluable relic is extended, and so sure that there can be 
no doubt of its authenticity. As a companion piece to the John Brown 
bell is one of the pikes, still mounted on its heavy staff, with which some 
of the men who followed the " hewer of the way " were armed. It was 
presented by Mrs. D. H. L. Gleason of Natick. The Post itself is more 
than comfortably housed in a fine edifice, its own property, very near the 
monument. The building is valued at $25,000, and was dedicated, 
June 28, 1892, James K. Churchill, Department Commander, and Alfred 
S. Eoe, speakers. (Eugene Moore^ Adjutant.) 

Marshpield (Plymouth County). — The town which contains the 
grave of Daniel Webster has a monument in behalf of the soldiers, of 
whom Webster's son Fletcher was one. erected in 1889 by the town, at a 
cost of $1,500. While not exactly relics of the Eebellion, the grave and 
estate of the Defender of the Constitution are visited more than almost 
any other like memorial in the Commonwealth. David Church Post 


189 and the Woman's Eelief Corps, jointl}^, own and occupy a capacious 
and convenient Post hall at Marshfield Hills. It was built in 1891, at an 
outlay of $3,000. (Israel H. Hatch, Adjutant. ) 

Mashpee (Barnstable County).- — This township, suggestive of 
native Indians, has no war history, since previous to 1870, aside from the 
district of Mashpee, it was a part of Sandwich. There is nothing of a 
monumental nature, nor is an}i;hing expected. (L. Z. Amos, Postmaster.) 

Mattapoisett (Plymouth County). — The. gift of George Purring- 
ton, Jr., this town has a very fine monument, erected in 1906, at an esti- 
mated cost of $5,000. (William X. Johnson, Town Clerk.) 

Maynard (Middlesex County) . — iVs the tow^n was not incorporated 
until 1871, it has no history touching the Eebellion, which, doubtless, 
accounts for there being no memorial here, nor is there any immediate 
prospect of one. In the earlier days of the Grand Army a Post, 86, was 
located in Majaiard, but it long since was given up. (F. McCleary, Town 

Medfield (Norfolk County). — Through the industry of Post and 
the Woman's Relief Corps, there is on the soldiers' lot in Vine Lake Cem- 
etery a monument to the unknown dead, costing $800. Also, under 
similar auspices, Moses Ellis Post 117 owns the hall in which regular 
meetings are held. It is valued at about $1,000. (P. C. Grover, Adju- 

Medford (Middlesex County). — Medford was one of the earliest 
of the towns to rear its memorial of the w^ar, for it was in 1866 that a 
monument was erected, at an outlay of $3,789, the same derived from a 
town appropriation. S. C. Lawrence Post QQ abides in rented rooms. 
Medford is also the seat of Tufts College, whose sons proved to be exceed- 
ingly loyal in the days of 1861-65. In token of their fealty there was 
unveiled in the college chajjel, Dec. 15, 1906, a bronze tablet, bearing the 
names of the soldier sons of Tufts. There were addresses by President 
F. W. Hamilton and the Pev. AVilliam E. Gibbs of the class of 1859, also 
by Gov. Curtis Guild, Jr. ; the unveiling by Commander J. Payson Brad- 
ley, of the Grand Army ; services of dedication by Edward W. Kingsley 
Post 113, William H. Puddick, Commander; and benediction by the Rev. 


E. A. Horton, Chaplain of the Post. Tlie College Glee Club furnished 
music. The cost of the tablet was $300. (George D. Kellum, Adjutant.) 

Medway (Norfolk County). — The soldiers' monument for this 
town stands in Evergreen Cemetery of West Medway, in the center of a 
large lot donated for that purpose by the cemetery trustees. Its cost, 
$1,100, was secured by the local Post, which acquired $500 by a fair, and 
the remaining $600 by the sale of the Post hall to the town. It was dedi- 
cated with public exercises May 16, 1896, with an address by Alfred S. 
Eoe of Worcester, then a member of the State Senate. The quarters of 
James H. Sargent Post 130 are those which the veterans provided when 
they erected the hall many years ago. Having sold the same to the town, 
the Post is granted the use of hall and banquet room for the nominal 
rental of $1 per year. (Daniel S. Woodman, Postmaster, West Medway.) 

Melrose (Middlesex County-).- — On the soldiers' lot in the ceme- 
tery is a monument, costing about $700, and in the public library are 
tablets having the names of Melrose men who enlisted from the town, 
these costing about $400 (estimated). Measures are already afoot to erect 
in the center of the city a monument which shall properly recall the 
significance of the Scotch named municipality and the commander whose 
name is linked with the city's Grand Army Post. About $1,300 is already 
in hand ; from $15,000 to $25,000 is expected. The most precious posses- 
sion of U. S. Grant Post 4 is the autograph letter of the great soldier, 
acknowledging the honor done him, since the Melrose Post was the only ; 
one to take his name as its own, while the General lived. This was in 
February, 1867. The Post also has life-size busts of both Grant and 
Lincoln. The Post is very conveniently located in rented quarters. In 
the high school building is a tablet to the memory of Capt. J. Crosby 
Maker, Company K, Twenty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry, erected by his 
companions of the Massachusetts Commandery, Loyal Legion. He had 
been a member of the school committee many years. It was put in place 
June 19, 1900, costing $150. (A. A. Carlton, Commander.) 

Mendon (Worcester County). — The monument in this ancient 
town is due to the liberality of Austin Wood, a life-long resident. It is 
of granite, centrally placed, and cost the donor about $1,400. Erected in 
1891, the town furnished site and foundation. (Horace C. Adams, Town 
Clerk.) Vide Plate XXY. 


Merrimack (Essex County). — The town has no memorial CoL 
0. R. Mudge Post 114 occupies rented quarters. (C. B. Ilunkins, Adju- 
tant. ) 

Methuen (Essex County). — This town possesses a very fine mon- 
ument, tlirough the generosity of Charles H. Tenney, the hind and monu- 
ment costing liim $16,000. Originally presented to the local Post, that 
3ody in turn later gave it to the town for care and keeping. The day of 
iedication, August, 1888, was made memorahle by the presence of Posts 
Prom all of the neighboring cities and towns, Reeves's famous band of 
Providence leading the procession. An immense tent erected on the land 
3f Colonel Xevins held nearly a thousand veterans and friends as they 
partook of the hospitality of Mr. Tenney and citizens of Methuen. Col. 
William B. Greene Post 100 occupies rented quarters. (John S. Tapley, 
Adjutant.) Vide Plate XII. 

MiDDLEBOROUGii (PLYMOUTH County) . — One of the old colony 
towns, Middleborough has a monument of unusual grace and beauty. 
Built of Quincy granite, it stands on the village Common in front of the 
Town Hall. Its height is 40 feet 11 inches, the crowning figure being 
that of a Union soldier. The project of the memorial was started by the 
[ocal Post, but was later taken up by the town, the total outlay for the 
monument being $,"),000 ; and one wonders that so much could be secured 
for so small a sum. The dedication was Memorial Day, 1896, with ex- 
Grov. John D. Long as orator. F. W. Pierce Post 8 has excellent quarters 
in the old academy building. 

MiDDLEFiELD (HAMPSHIRE County) . — The town has no public me- 
morial, nor is any contemplated. (Henry S. Pease, Town Clerk.) 

MiDDLETON (Middlesex County). — No public memorial as yet, but 
a town that makes such liberal appropriations for Memorial Day may 
reasonably be expected to finally take steps towards a permanent reminder 
jf the period of the war, (Samuel A. Fletcher, Town Clerk.) 

Milford (Worcester County). — Probably no so-called memorial 
building in the Commonwealth is so fully devoted to the use and con- 
venience of the veteran soldier as that of Milford. Built of Milford pink 
granite, with trimmings of Longmeadow brownstone, in all of its appoint- 
ments the memorial idea appears to have prevailed. Talked of in 1883, 
authorized by vote of the town in March, 1884, with an appropriation of 


$23,000. the completed structure was dedicated Feb. 26, 1886, with com- 
bined Masonic and Grand Army services. Commander Eichard F. Tobin, 
Senior Vice-Commander George H. Patch and Assistant Adjutant Gen- 
eral Alfred C. Munroe representing the latter body. Maj. E. F. Fletcher 
Post 22 permeates the building. Its name, or that of some feature of the 
war and the soldiers, is found on every one of the three floors of the 
structure. While the library proper occupies the first floor, here also in 
the vestibule are found the names of the more than 1,100 men whom Mil- 
ford sent into the struggle. Twenty-two steps lead to the second floor, and 
on each rise is found the name of one of the important battles of the 
Rebellion. These were given by generous and public-spirited citizens of 
Milford, the name of each donor appearing on the stair given by him. 
The entire arrangement is novel if not unique, and the effect is inspiring 
to a degree. Three of the bronze tablets in the vestibule were given 
by Post 22. The second floor, given up entirely to the Post, has all the 
conveniences possible, with a great display of portraits and scenes incident 
to the war. The space under the roof, on the third floor, affords an 
excellent banquet room for festive occasions. AVithout, upon the lawn 
before the building, are two 10-pound cannon, accompanied by pyramids 
of balls, all for memorials, not for offense or defense. In Vernon Grove 
Cemetery, upon the soldiers' lot, stands a monument erected by the Post 
some years ago, at a cost of $600, and around it take place the Memorial 
Day exercises. All told, the memorial building cost quite $25,000. 
(Charles E. Brock, Adjutant.) Vide Plates XX. and XXVII. 

MiLLBURY (Worcester County). — In 1878 this town erected a fine 
Town Hall, at whose entrance or vestibule were placed elaborate marble 
tablets, bearing the names of the sons of Millbury who had done loyal 
service to the country. These were placed thus at a cost of $500, paid for 
by the town and the local Post. George A. Custer Post 70 possesses a fine 
portrait of the dashing soldier whose name the organization bears, and 
Dee's picture of the " Andersonville Stockade," the latter presented by 
Comrade H. C. Thompson. At a nominal rental, the Post is comfort- 
ably provided for in upper rooms of the Town Hall. (H. F. Hobart, 

MiLLis (X'oRFOLK County). — Until 1885 a part of Medway, the 
town of Millis has no distinctive war history; its veterans belong to Posts 
in Medway and Med field. The town is generous to the veteran soldier. 
(Louis LaCroix, Town Clerk.) 


MiLTOX (Norfolk County). — When this town, in 1867, erected her 
Town Hall, she placed in its front a tablet, containing the names of those 
of her sons who had perished amid the perils of war. The original 
outlay, along with necessar}^ repairs, brings the cost of the memorial to 
$800, a sum paid entirely by the town. A soldiers' lot in the cemetery, 
under the care of the local Post, and a flagstaff in front of the Town Hall, 
erected at an outlay of $375, are also memorials. Huntington F. Wolcott 
Post 102, bearing the name of a brave young son of Milton, a brother 
of the late Gov. Eoger Wolcott, is furnished free quarters in the Town 
Hall. (John Taylor, Adjutant.) 

Monroe (Franklin County). — This township, named for a Eevo- 
lutionary soldier as well as President, is still lacking in memorials. 
(C. W. Eamage, Town Clerk.) 

MoNsoN (Hampden County). — Monson's monument cost $5,500, 
the gift of Cyrus W. Holmes. Of Eyegate granite, surmounted by a 
colossal figure of a soldier, it has a total height of 46 feet. It bears em- 
blematic designs and the names of four great battles. The day of its 
dedication, July 4, 1884, was the greatest in the history of the town, as 
far as crowds of people were concerned. Battery B was present from 
Worcester to help out salutes ; a tent, seating 1,500 people, was pitched 
on Flynt's Park, above the village, and the people of the town fed the 
populace. To crown all, the orator of the occasion was Gen. Joshua L. 
Chamberlain of Maine, ex-Governor, one of the heroes of Little Eound 
Top, and the officer who directed the surrender of Lee's forces at Appo- 
mattox. Also, Monson has a magnificent Memorial Hall, costing $40,000, 
the gift in part of the Hon. Joseph L., E. M. and Theodore Eeynolds, 
they contributing one-half of tlie above sum, and the town the remainder. 
It is of granite, 100 by 66 feet, and has a tower 100 feet high. In every 
way the structure is admirably planned and constructed. On the first 
floor, its fire-proof safe is surmounted by the figure of a color bearer. 
The assembly hall is in keeping with the general tone of the edifice. 
Offices for the town officers are found on the first floor, and above them 
are the quarters of Marcus Keep Post 155, also of Woman's Belief Corps 
and Sons of Veterans. The room is 20 by 46 feet, having a beautiful 
stained glass window, depicting a battle scene, while in the vestibule are 
elaborate tablets bearing the names of all those whom the town sent to 
battle. The cost to the Post for use of quarters is simply that of heat and 
janitor. (Frank C. Park, Adjutant.) Vide Plates X. and XXV. 


Montague (Franklin County). — At Turners Falls, the principal 
village in the town, Manton E. Taft Post 163, at an expenditure of $200, 
has placed a monument on the soldiers' lot in the cemetery, to the memory 
of memhers of the Post who have died. At Montague Center, where is 
Armstrong Post 150, there is no monument whatever. (J. F. Bartlett, 
Adjutant, Post 163; L. B. Sewall, Adjutant, Post 150.) 

Monterey (Berkshire County). — Named for one of Gen. Zachary 
Taylor's victories in the Mexican war, sending 8 more men into the War 
of the Eebellion than lier quota called for, the town still wants public 
tribute to her valiant sons. (F. M. Harmon, Town Clerk.) 

Montgomery^ (Hampden County). — Though commemorating the 
name of a Eevolutionary hero, the town has no visible memorial of the 
war for the preservation of the Union. (E. C. Clark, Town Clerk.) 

Mount Washington (Berkshire County). — The extreme south- 
west township in the Commonwealth, in the language of Dr. Edward 
Hitchcock, in his " Geology of Massachusetts," " affords the grandest 
prospect in the Commonwealth," though, as yet, it does not include any 
memorial to the "boys in blue," nor any promise of one. (Comrade 
Frank B. Schutt.) 

Nahant (Essex County). — "In the early 70's " the town erected 
in Greenlawn Cemetery a monument to the memory of her soldier boys, of 
whom she furnished 43. She annually appropriates $300 for Memorial 
Day. (William F. Waters, Town Clerk.) 

Nantucket (Nantucket County). — This outermost portion of 
the Commonwealth has its monument, erected in 187-4, at an outlay of 
$3,500, secured by voluntary, popular subscription. It holds an elevated 
site, a little out of the busy center of business, but a visitor on the Island 
could hardly see much without passing this tribute to departed bravery. 
Deeply chiseled into the base are the names of 73 islanders who gave 
their lives for the Union. Thomas M. Gardner Post 307 is comfortably 
housed on the principal street in town, on a corner, and its Post room is 
filled with the usual array of pictures and items of interest peculiar to such 
a place. "Wliile the Island furnished many sailors and marines for the sea 


service during the war, her sons were not wanting in the ranks of the 
regiments that from the Bay State helped push her principles southward. 
(G. Howard Winslow, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXXV. 

Xatick (Middlesex Couxty). — The long-time home and the burial 
olace of Vice-President Henry Wilson, the " Xatick cobbler," has had its 
nonument^many years. March 5, 1866, a committee was appointed by 
;he town to investigate and report on the cost of such a memorial. Basing 
;heir inquiries on the monument in Brighton, the committee reported, 
ipril 2, that such a memorial, erected of granite, would cost $3,000. 
rhe report was unanimously accepted and adopted, and July 4, 1868, it 
vas dedicated. It stands on the north side of the Common, and since 
L876 four brass field pieces have adorned the four corners of the inclosure 
)ccupied by the shaft. General Wadsworth Post 63 sets special store, as 
veil it may, on the original Ordinance of Secession as adopted by the 
State of Virginia, bearing the names of Henry A. Wise, .Tubal A. Early 
md many other notables of the Old Dominion. The late Edward L. 
ji-reenwood, in life a member of the Post, in war one of the Signal Corps, 
)n duty in the State House in Eichmond, finding the document, heavily 
'ramed and hanging on the walls of the capitol, took it therefrom, rolled 
t in his signal flags, and sent it home. Its record appears to be authen- 
;ic. The rented quarters of the Post have been held many years and 
vill doubtless be thus held till the end. (E. T. Turner, Adjutant.) 
Vide Plate VIII. 

Xeedham (Xorfolk County). — This town's memorial, standing in 
;he public cemetery, is especially significant. The idea of three inverted 
;annon supporting a fourth, is surely original, and the effect is fine. The 
ixpense incident to the erection, $800, was met by voluntary subscription. 
Surrounded by trees and shrubs, the combination is all that the most 
ikillful landscape gardener could produce. Galen Orr Post 181 owns the 
lall in which it meets. (Charles M. Evans, Adjutant.) Vide Plate 

Xew Ashford (Berkshire Couxty). — The smallest town in the 
;ounty, both in area and population, she filled all demands in war times, 
)ut lacks now, and may ever lack, any visible token of her appreciation 
)f the services of her sons. (Warren L. Baxter, Town Clerk.) 


Xew Bedford (Bristol County). — This famous whaling city in 
earlier days, now one of the great cotton weaving centers, set up her sol- 
diers' monument as early as 1866. The city, ever intense in her patriot- 
ism, voted the money, and it cost $13,300. Standing on the Common, all 
visitors must see it, and it is an everlasting inspiration to the youth of the 
city. Suitably ornamented with sculpture, and surrounded with signifi- 
cant emblems, the monument is one of the notable features of New Bed- 
ford. There are two Posts in the city, viz., William Logan Eodman Post 1 
and E. A. Pierce Post 190. Both are in rented yet excellent quarters, 
and both have many valuable mementoes, the most highly prized, per- 
haps, being the Bunker Hill drum, held by Post 190. It is of British 
origin, captured on that bloody field, and, by lot, became the property of 
Levi Smith, a drummer from '' Little Ehody." After that it did loyal 
American duty, in time passing into the hands of his son, Israel Smith, 
and was beat in the War of 1812. The latter's son, Israel, became pos- 
sessed of the drum, and, himself a member of the Thirty-third Massachu- 
setts, passed it over to the keeping of the Post to which he belonged, 
(George P. Macomber, Adjutant, Post 190.) Vide Plate XXXV. J 

Xew Braixtree (Worcester County). — In 1898, at an outlay of 
$125, voted by the town, a tablet was placed in the Town Hall bearing the 
names of soldiers. (George K. Tufts, Town Clerk.) 

New Marlborough (Berkshire County). — Xothing present nor 
in the future in a memorial way for this town, which bears the name of 
the greatest warrior England gave to the eighteenth century. (Wesley E. 
Field, Town Clerk.) 

Xew Salem (Franklin County). — No public memorial of any 
sort, nor is anything expected. (E. F. Stowell, Town Clerk.) 

X^ewbury (Essex County). — One of the oldest towns in old Essex, 
a monument to the memory of her soldiers is still wanting, but at the 
last annual town meeting, ]\Iarch, 1909, a committee was appointed to 
take the subject into consideration, said committee consisting of five 
members, throe of them veterans of the war, the same to report at a later 
meeting of the town. The committee is working, and will be ready to 
report not later than the next annual meeting. (John C. Eolfe, Town 


Newburyport (Essex County'). — The figure of a soldier in light 
marching order upon a Cape Ann bowlder is the admirable shape in which 
the monument in Newburyport is found. In bronze, it is the product 
of the genius of Mrs. Theodore A. (Euggles) Kitson, and is the famous 
realization of the soldier idea which for some years has been known as 
the Ivitson statue. x\s new monuments are erected the more intense, 
apparently alert fignre of the soldier in motion rather than at rest is 
selected. It is to be hoped that nothing less active will ever grace the 
base of such memorials hereafter. At a cost of $8,500, located on Atkin- 
son Common, the completed work was presented to the city July 4, 1902, 
with dedicatory address by Past Department Commander John E. Oilman 
of Boston. The day was made one of parade and general rejoicing, par- 
ticipated in by the public of both sexes and all ages. The money for the 
tribute came through the activities of a committee of seven from Post 49, 
joined with the Bellville Improvement Society, which raised the funds 
by entertainments, subscriptions, etc. This was formed in 1895. Two 
large cannon, with accompanying pyramids of balls, stand near the monu- 
ment. The Post also has a boat howitzer, loaned by the government, and 
a snare drum, carried by a young soldier until he died; also several 
Springfield rifles, borne home by the soldiers who used them. The Post 
gavel has an imbedded bullet from the field of Gettysburg, while the wood 
is from Libby Prison. The Post also preserves an old flag, flung to the 
breeze in 1861 by the then mayor of the city, the same bearing the thirty- 
four stars to which the flag was then entitled. William H. Bartlett, a 
ISTewburyport boy. Past Department Commander, who died in Worcester 
July, 1904, bequeathed a sum of money ($500) for the erection of a 
drinking fountain in the northern part of the city ; and the same to-day, 
devoted to usefulness, has a semblance of the loyal giver in bas-relief. 
William Lloyd Garrison, whose entire life was given to the cause of 
liberty, was born in Newburyport, and his life-size figure in bronze stands 
near the heart of the city, a fitting tribute to the life-long devotion of the 
patriot. A gift of the Hon. William H. Swasey, it cost (estimated) about 
^5,000. A. W. Bartlett Post 49 has long owned its quarters, the same 
having been identified with military affairs since before the war. Located 
on the principal street in the city, it was the armory of Company A of 
the Eighth Regiment, M. Y. M., one of the very first organizations to 
respond in April, 1861. The plant cost $10,000. Here the Post and 
allied bodies are most comfortal)ly housed. Measures are now afoot to 
have the names of all soldiers and marines who were from Newburyport 


cast in bronze and securely imbedded in concrete, placed on the Common 
near the monument, — a most desirable thing to do. (Charles S. Noyes, 
Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXXV. 

Newton (Middlesex County). — Many residents of Xewton insist 
that their monument, erected in the then town cemetery, is the very first 
in Massachusetts devoted to the memory of the war; indeed, Dr. S. F. 
Smith states as much in his " History of Newton ; " yet it will be seen 
that the palm in point of primacy must be yielded to Somerville. 
However, Aug. 7, 1863, a committee was appointed to consider the 
proposition of a soldiers' monument in Newton, and so well did its 
members do their duty, that the finished product was dedicated July 23, 
1864. That this, one of the very first of the memorials, should have so 
thoroughly embodied the spirit of the nation is noteworthy. The monu- 
ment itself, with a sort of substructure, on which are cut the names of 
the dead soldiers from NcM^ton, up to that time cost nearly $4,000. The 
curbing and posts carried the cost up to $5,220.50. To make up this 
amount a liberal citizen contributed $1,000, 1,200 citizens gave $1 each, 
and above 1,100 children gave 10 cents each. In token of appreciation 
each giver received a rubber medal, suitably lettered, some of which no 
doubt can be found in the city at this time. The remainder came from 
public-spi];ited residents of Newton. At the dedication, Thomas Bice, 
one of Newton's most respected citizens, presided, Eev. E. J. Young 
offered prayer, Prof. H. B. Hackett of the Newton Theological Seminary 
gave the address, and all sang a hymn, especially prepared for the occa- 
sion by the Eev. S. F. Smith, author of the national hymn, " America." 
Of Quincy granite, an octagonal shaft rises from a die and plinth of 
the same material, all together reaching a height of 28 feet. On the 
front of the monument are the words, " In memoriam perpetuam " and 
" Pro patria mortui sunt." Charles Ward Post 62 has excellent though 
rented quarters in Newtonville. Its superbly equipped Post room has, 
for the alt«r and the Commander's stand, sections of trees from southern 
battle fields, the same showing imbedded missiles. The collection of 
relics from scenes 'of strife represents an outlay of $1,500. (C. C. Patten, 
Adjutant.) Tide Plate XXXTIII. 

N"oRFOLK (Norfolk County). — The war history of Norfolk must be 
sought in those of Franklin, Medway, AYalpole and Wrentham, since the 
town was not incorporated until 1870. No memorial is found in town. 


veterans belonging to Grand Army Posts in near-by towns. (Comrade 
Silas E. Fales, Post 60 of Franklin.) 

North Adams (Berkshire County). — The monument in North 
Adams was erected in 1878, while the place was yet a town, and was due 
to the efforts of an organization of loyal women, called the Soldiers' Aid 
Society, at whose head was Mrs. Miles Sanford, mother of C. D. Sanford, 
for whom the local Post is named. The memorial represents $1,200 of 
their hard-earned funds. In 1896-97, Charles D. Sanford Post 79 erected 
at an outlay of $30,000 a very fine memorial hall, devoting thereto 
$17,000, secured for this purpose by general contributions. Finding, 
however, the burden of debt and running expenses too great, a title of 
the entire plant was given to the city, which in turn gave the Post prac- 
tically free use of the building. A\Tiile the Post is not rich in relics, the 
Historical Society of the city has a bolt taken from the " Merrimack,"' 
which was overcome by the " Monitor," in 1862, in Hampton Eoads. 
(Comrade W. F. Darby, Postmaster.) Tide Plates IX. and X, 

XoRTPi x4.ND0VER (EssEX County). — Up to date the monument has 
not materialized, though a fund for this purpose is slowly growing. 
(James W. Leitch, Town Clerk.) 

North Attleborough (Bristol County). — As yet this most active 
and progressive town has no monument, but several years ago the local 
Woman's Relief Corps undertook to build a memorial hall for the use of 
Post and Corps. After putting into the project about $4,000, both bodies 
contributing, they were obliged to surrender their property to the mort- 
gage holder, who in time turned the edifice over to the town. The latter 
gives practically free use of the same to the patriotic organizations. By 
way of relics, Prentiss M. Whiting Post 192 has the sword, belt and com- 
mission of that officer, who was killed at the battle of Salem Church, Va., 
May 3, 1863. The mementoes were presented to the Post by Captain 
Whiting's brother. The officer was the commander of Company I, Seventh 
Massachusetts Infantry. (George L. Jillson, Adjutant.) 

North Brookfield (Worcester County). — Here the soldiers' 
monument stands upon the grounds of the First Congregational Society. 
Designed by Martin Milmore, it was erected in 1869, and dedicated 
Jan. 19, 1870. The speakers were Gen. Francis A. Walker, a native of 


the town, Gov. William Claflin and Gen. Charles Devens. The figure 
of the soldier is at parade rest, is 7 feet high, and stands upon a plinth 
8 feet in height. Its cost, $5,500, was met by $3,000 from the town, 
$2,000 from private citizens and $500 from the local Post of the Grand 
Army. On the east and west sides of the Town Hall are memorial tablets 
bearing the names of soldiers from the town who lost their lives. The 
estimated cost of these is $500. Ezra Batcheller Post 51 occupies rented 
quarters, retaining the same rooms from the start, Pebruary, 1868. 

North Eeadtng (Middlesex County). — In 1875, through the 
generosity of Mrs. Charles F. Flint, there was erected the Flint Memorial 
Hall for library purposes, and in it are two tablets, also given by her, 
having the names of soldiers from the town who died in the war. Costing 
about $200, they serve to keep alive the spirit of devotion. (Arthur F. 
Upton, Town Clerk.) 

Northampton (Hampshire County). — The meadow city has a 
memorial building at whose entrance stand two bronze figures, represent- 
ing the Army and Navy, as it were, guarding the approach. Placed upon 
pedestals, they are imposing forms, costing $6,000. Within are bronze 
mural tablets, bearing the names of soldiers who lost their lives. Inclosed 
by bronze frames are parclmients carrying the names of Northampton 
soldiers in all the wars of the land. In Bridge Street Cemetery there is a 
monument, costing $1,200, to the memory of soldiers sleeping in unknown 
graves. W. L. Baker Post 86, along with many other portraits, has one 
in oil of Lieutenant Baker, whose name the Post bears. Its quarters are 
rented. (J. P. Thompson, Commander.) 

Northborough (Worcester County). — At a town meeting held 
April, 1886, the sum of $3,000 was voted for the purpose of erecting a 
monument for the soldiers of the Civil War, and a committee was ap- 
pointed to carry out this vote. Located on Main Street, a conspicuous 
object to all passers, it was dedicated Sept. 17, 1870, at a total cost of 
$3,536. Joe Johnson Post 96 occupies free quarters in the Town Hall. 
(G. p. Heath, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXXVI. 

NoRTiiBRiDGE (WORCESTER County). — An unusually artistic and 
beautiful monument is that in Wliitinsville, the principal village in this 
busy town. The gift of the Whitin Machine Works and the Whitin 


Brothers, it was dedicated with G. A. E. services, July 29, 1905, Depart- 
ment Commander James H. Wolff presiding. The principal address was 
given by the Eev. John B. Thurston of Whitinsville. The people of 
N^orthbridge are amply justified in calling this work of art unique. Con- 
ceived by Hermon A. MacNeil, sculptor, it was elaborated into archi- 
tectural design by his friend and associate. Prof. A. D. F. Hamlin of 
Columbia University. A full description of base, figure of the young 
American, columns and surmounting eagle would take more space than 
this work warrants; but, at a cost of $11,000, the soldiers of the town who 
gave their lives for country, 39 in all, have here a fitting depository of 
their names. Eouse E. Clark Post 167 occupies rented quarters. Tide 
Plate XII. 

NoFtTiiFiELD (Franklix County). — The memorial for this town, 
so filled with impressions of the life and services of Dwight L. Moody, 
is not yet erected, but it is coming, since a lady left a sum of money, 
now amounting to $7,000, for a memorial hall in which a room will be 
assigned to Grand Army tablets and relics. As the bequest has only 
recently become available, it is difficult to state particulars about the pro- 
jected edifice. Henry H. Johnson Post 171 is afforded free quarters by 
the Sons of Veterans Camp. (Benjamin F. Field, Adjutant.) 

Norton (Bristol County). — One of the older towns of the Com- 
monwealth, the seat of a flourishing seminary for the education of future 
mothers of the Eepublic, it yet lacks any public memorial for her sons, 
of whom she sent nearly 200 into the fray, fully 25 more than the law 
demanded. (Jacob A. Leonard, Town Clerk.) 

XoRWELL (Plymouth County). — Through a town appropriation 
of $1,000, and additions, tliere was dedicated a soldiers' monument in 
this town in 1878. There were contributions of $200 from the Soldiers' 
Aid Society, and the local Post had raised above $2,000, a total of $3,500. 
After considerable discussion, the memorial was finally placed on the 
Common, near the site of the old Town Hall. In 1894 the local Woman's 
Eelief Corps unveiled a monument to the unknown dead, costing $250. 
D. Willard Bobinson Post 112 occupies a hall owned by the Woman's 
Belief Corps. It is valued at $3,000. (George W. Curtis, Adjutant; 
Joseph F. ]^[erritt. Town Clerk.) Vide Plate XXXV. 


NoEwooD (Norfolk County). — Like several other towns, the war 
history of Norwood belongs to that of the parent town, since Norwood was 
not set off from Dedham until 1873. However, the local Post has a lot in 
the Highland Cemetery, given by the cemetery authorities. The Post and 
Corps have secured from the government a large 32-pound " sea-gun," and 
have properly mounted it upon the lot. Weighing nearly 8 tons, it is 
a sightly addition. All expenses incident to transportation were borne 
by the Post and Corps, and it was properly dedicated just before Memorial 
Day, 1898. In 1905 the local Relief Corps directed the placing in the lot 
of a beautiful granite vase, which was dedicated Memorial Day of that 
year. All expenses incurred were paid by tbe Corps. So far as known, 
the relic most highly prized, belonging to the Post, is a mail-pouch used 
by Comrade Shipmoes, who, a member of the Somerville Post, lived and 
died in Norwood. In it he carried the mail between the post-office and 
his regiment after the occupation of Eichmond. George K. Bird Post 169 
is quartered in rented rooms. (E. H. Dunbar, Past Commander.) 

Oak Bluffs (Dukes Cou^'ty). — A memorial drinking fountain in 
Oak Bluffs, for many years known as Cottage City, is the point whence 
start memorial exercises every year. This monument of white bronze, 
costing about $1,200, enjoys the unique distinction of having been 
secured by subscription through the efforts of Charles Strahan, a Confed- 
erate officer, but who, when the monument was acquired, was editor of 
the " Martha's Vineyard Herald." Placed at the junction of several 
streets in this great summer resort, no one visits the place without seeing 
that the soldier is remembered. Henry Clay Wade Post 201 has relics 
from Ball's Bluff, Fair Oaks, Marye's Heights and Gettysburg, besides 
rebel flags from Morris Island, and a piece of the scaffold on which were 
hung the brigands at Andersonville. The Post occupies rented quarters. 
(George W. Mason, Adjutant.) 

Oakham (Worcester County). — In September, 1865, there was 
formed in Oakham a soldiers' union, and, as long as there were veterans 
enough in town to make it worth while, annual reunions were held on 
New Year's night. These gatherings, with entertainments, etc., resulted 
in securing about $1,500 up to 1873. Of this sum, $1,200 was put into the 
memorial Town Hall and $300 went towards paying for tablets in the 
public hall. Considering the limited number of veterans in Oakham, the 
situation is one to be proud of. The lower story of the town building is 


devoted to schools ; the upper story is the Town Hall. Eecently, a me- 
morial library building was erected, and in it is a room devoted to relics 
of all wars in which the town has borne a part. In December, 1908, there 
were living in Oakham only 4 of the 111 men who enlisted from the 
town. (Gardner M. Dean, Chairman, Board of Selectmen, and Adjutant, 
Post 136, Rutland.) Vide Plate XX. 

Orange (Franklin County). — Orange men are patriotic. In 1872 
they dedicated an imposing monument, costing the town $4,000, purpos- 
ing to have graven thereon the names of every soldier who enlisted from 
Orange. In 1893, General Sedgwick Post 17 erected a hall for its own 
use. Constructed of brick, two stories in height, near the center of the 
village, it is an ornament to the already beautiful manufacturing town. 
It is also a notable memorial of the determination of the veterans who 
carried the plan through. Used for meetings of the Post and kindred 
l)odies, it is useful as well as ornamental, and its walls are hung with pic- 
tures significant of the Rebellion and American history. The plant is 
valued at $7,000. (James W. Adams, Commander.) Vide Plates 

Orleans (Barnstable County). — In 1883 the town of Orleans 
erected a granite monument, at an expense of $1,086.60. No town in the 
State had a better war record. The Soldiers' Aid Society, composed of 
ladies, held its seventieth and last meeting in April, 1865, and ended its 
records with this significant entry : " The meeting adjourns, to meet again 
whenever the needs of suffering soldiers should demand, — we hope never 
again." (Hiram Myers, Town Clerk, ) Vide Plate XI. 

Otis (Berkshire County). — Myron Nichols Post 178 reports 
neither memorial nor prospect, though the Post occupies free quarters in 
the To-wTi Hall. (M. S. Hugins, Adjutant.) 

Oxford (Worcester County). — This ancient town of the Hugue- 
nots gives the name " Memorial " to its Town Hall, which was erected 
nearly forty years since and is a fine building. Marble tablets at its 
entrance bear the names of 61 Oxford soldiers who lost their lives during 
the war. The tablets cost $400. Charles Devens Post 27 occupies free 
quarters in the Town Hall. Very likely, were an Oxford veteran to be 
asked what reminder of the war, to be seen in his town, he prized most 


highly, the immediate reply would be, " Clara Barton," for to this, her 
birthplace, has the world-renowned philanthropist returned for the even- 
ing of her long life. Vide Plate XXIX. 

Palmek (HAMrDEN County). — A large building, known as Memo- 
rial Hall, is the form taken by Palmer for her reminder of Eebellion 
days. Costing $30,000, the lower story is devoted to library purposes, 
the second floor is used by the local Post as its meeting room, while a 
marble-lined stairway bears the names of all the soldiers and sailors who 
served from Palmer. Also there is a special tablet for Sergt. L. L. Mer- 
rick and a memorial window for James H. Smith. In addition to these 
memorials, the Woman's Relief Corps raised sufficient money, $150, to pay 
for a monument to the " unknown dead,*' bearing a proper inscription 
on its bronze tablet. The same was dedicated Memorial Day, 1908. L. L. 
Merrick Post 107 has almost palatial quarters in the building, as stated 
above. (J. B. Stone, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XX. 

Paxton (Worcester County). — A monument erected in 1871, and 
costing about $1,000, is Paxton's tribute to her sons. The town gave $500 
towards the project and public-spirited citizens did the rest. (H. S. 
Eobinson, Town Clerk.) 

Peabody (Essex County). — The actual war history of Peabody 
must be sought under the name of South Danvers, for that was the name 
of this patriotic municipality until 1868. In 1881, by town appropriation, 
a monument costing $8,000 was dedicated. Of granite, the towering shaft 
stands in the midst of the pviblic square, a fitting memorial of the cause 
for which so many men gave uj) their lives. In addition to the monument 
there are marble tablets in the entrance of the Town Hall bearing the 
names of 71 soldiers and sailors who gave man's last gift for country. 
These cost $883.75. Union Post 50 pays rent for the quarters occupied. 
(J. K. Cole, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXX. 

Pelham (HAMrsHiRE County). — Xo memorial in Pelham, and 
none expected. (J. W. Keith, Town Clerk.) 

Pembroke (Plymouth County). — June 12, 1889, with impressive 
ceremonies, there was dedicated a monument of Hallowell granite, sur- 
mounted by a white bronze figure of a soldier at parade rest. The monu- 


ment cost something more tlian $1,000, in the main paid for by pubHc 
subscription. Bearing the names of Pembroke soldiers, it is a lasting 
memorial to the deeds of the dead and a tribute to the living. At the 
dedication were many distinguished people of the Commonwealth, includ- 
ing Henry B. Pierce, Secretary; George A. Marden, Treasurer; with 
Alfred C. Monroe, Assistant Adjutant General, Department of Massa- 
chusetts, G. A. R. The orator of the occasion was the Hon. Harvey N". 
Shepard of Boston. Joseph E. Simmons Post 111 meets in W. R. C. 
Hall, which was erected in 1896, and cost $3,000. (Charles H. Poole, 

Pepperell (Middlesex County). — Though named for one of the 
most distinguished of the proA'incial soldiers of Massachusetts, his name- 
sake awaits any memorial of the war, into which went 186 of her loyal 
sons. She gave Col. "William Prescott to the Revolution and Col. Edward 
F. Jones to the Sixth Regiment of Baltimore fame, as well as Chaplain 
Charles Babbage of the same, but while all these memories are glorious 
they are far from being tangible. Thomas A. Parker Post 195 meets in 
rented rooms. (Martin L. Boynton, Adjutant.) 

Peru (Berkshire Couxty). — Judging from the letter of the town 
clerk, the Pern of Massachusetts, unlike that of Pizarro's day, does not 
abound in gold mines. At any rate, the town has never seen the time 
when it could afford to erect any memorial of Rebellion days. (F. G. 
Creamer, Town Clerk.) 

Petersham (Worcester County). — A memorial library, completed 
in 1890, is considered the soldiers' monument for this town. The town 
gave $2,000 of the $20,000 which the edifice cost, but as a memorial it is 
more useful than sentimental. It contains tablets bearing the names of 
both Revolutionary and Rebellion soldiers. Vide Plate XX. 

Phillipstox (Worcester County). — The town for some time has 
had a wooden memorial (General Lee's ideal) of the days of war, but, not 
satisfied with the same, is setting aside money annually for the purpose 
of erecting, at some future clay, an adequate memorial of her 76 repre- 
sentatives who imperiled life for country's sake. The fund now amounts 
to $400. (G. M. Chaffin, Town Clerk.) 


PiTTSFiELD (Berkshire County). — Though there are more costly 
monuments in the Commonwealth, that of Berkshire's county seat is one 
of the most heautiful; and well it may be, since its designer was the 
famous Launt Thompson, who was the sculptor of the statue of Gen. John 
Secigewick at West Point. Scarcely had the war closed when a lady resi- 
dent of Pittsfield, long conspicuous for her devotion to the cause of the 
soldier, proceeded to raise funds wherewith to build a permanent memo- 
rial. By solicitation and by a fair held in 1869 a considerable sum w^as 
secured. Feeling, however, that so important a subject demanded the 
co-operation of the town itself, the funds were placed in a bank against 
such time as the to^\^l should make an appropriation. In April, 1871, 
the sum having risen to $3,000, the town appropriated $7,000 more, 
making enough to pay for the work as designed by the artist. The 
scul]itured ornament and inscription are singularly appropriate. Placed 
at the west end of the park, in the center of the town, where much of 
the enlisting of volunteers took place, the total height of the tribute, 
from base to the tip of the flagstaff which the bronze color bearer holds in 
his hands, is above 25 feet. The town was generous in all that pertained 
to the monument and its dedication, paying out $7,000 for grading and 
curbing its surroundings, and then, when all was ready, devoting $2,500 
more for the dedication. This day, unrivaled in beauty, the 2-lth of Sep- 
tember, 1872, was long remembered in western Massachusetts. Multitudes 
thronged the place, and their ears were charmed with the melody of George 
William Curtis' voice, the orator of the occasion. June 21, 1907, through 
the generosity and efforts of Mr. John H. Manning, a bowlder, with 
properly inscribed bronze tablet, was dedicated to the memory of Gen. 
Henry S. Briggs, first Colonel of the Tenth Massachusetts Regiment, the 
veterans of that body of men participating in the exercises, though the 
address was delivered by the Hon. F. W. Rockwell. The memorial cost 
about $500, and stands on the park. The two Posts of Pittsfield, W. W. 
Roclavell 125 and Berkshire 197, both occupy rented quarters. (C. H. 
Miller, Adjutant, Post 125, and H. A. Brewster, Quartermaster, Post 
197.) Vide Plate XXI. 

Plainfield (Hampshire County). — Twelve miles from the near- 
est railroad station, destitute thus of one of the supposed essentials of 
prosperity, this almost exclusively agricultural community has its sol- 
diers' monument, secured through the eftorts of the local Grand Army 
Post, and erected in 1898 at a cost of $375. Mountain Miller Post 198, 


in its name recalls a pre-eminent man of peace, though living in Eevolu- 
tionary clays, whose singularly holy life linked his name and history with 
those of the " Dairyman's Daughter " and the " Shepherd of Salisbury 
Plain." As written by the Eev. Moses Hallock, his pastor, the story of 
Deacon Joseph Beals has been circulated over the entire world by the 
American Tract Society, and to this day many a pilgrim visits Plainfield 
just to drink from the spring where the " Mountain Miller " quenched 
his thirst and to stand by his grave. Thus do memories militant and 
peaceful mingle in Post 198, whose quarters are found in the Town Hall. 

Plainville (Norfolk County). — The monument in Plainville is 
due to the persistent efforts of Woman's Eelief Corps 74, whose members 
knew no such word as " fail." Having raised $1,000 for this purpose, 
they dedicated a very handsome granite shaft, Oct. 14, 1903, with Alfred 
S. Eoe of "Worcester as speaker. It stands in the cemetery, and is a fine 
tribute, not only to the heroic dead, but to the devotion and industry of 
tlie women, who are ever helping. A recent town, organized as late as 
1905, — indeed, when the monument was erected it was still a part of 
Wrentham, — the perseverance of all concerned is the more remarkable. 
George H. Maintien Post 133 occupies rented quarters. Having passed 
through a fire several years ago, all of its relics perished there. (William 
F. Gragg, Adjutant.) 

Plymouth (Plymouth County). — Pre-eminent among all New 
England towns in its record of the early days of the Pilgrims, steeped 
with memories of the landing, the rock, the first winter. Carver, Brewster, 
Standish, Bradford, Massasoit and many other reminders of the primal 
days of the white man in Massachusetts, the grand old town is not wanting 
in her regard for the soldiers and heroes of a later day. As early as 
Aug. 9, 1869, there was dedicated in the center of her ancient training 
ground a sightly shaft, between 40 and 50 feet in height. Of enduring 
granite, it will long bind the memories of the saving of the nation with 
those of its planting. The amount expended in rearing the monument, 
some $10,000, was secured by fairs, lectures and popular subscriptions. 
Memorial Day, 1901, Collingwood Woman's Relief Corps, through Mrs, 
Welthea E. Savery, presented to the Post a granite urn in behalf of the 
unknown dead. Its cost, $275, was raised largely through the applica- 
tion of Mrs. Savery. Collingwood Post 7G is housed in rented quarters. 
(X. L. Saver}^, Adjutant.) 


Plympton (Plymouth County). — The monument in this town is 
due to the Ladies' Memorial Association. Costing $1,500, it was dedi- 
cated Nov. 30, 1889. (W. Perkins, Jr., Town Clerk.) 

Prescott (Hampshire County). — Nothing of a memorial nature. 
(C. C. Fuller.) 

Princeton (Worcester County). — On the right and left of the 
main entrance of the Town Hall, otherwise Bagg Hall, is a tablet, and 
fronting the entrance itself is a third tablet, together carrying the names 
of Princeton soldiers. Placed there in 1887, they cost the town $174.67. 
(Eaymond J. Gregory, Town Clerk.) 

Provincetown (Barnstable County). — On the very end of the 
extended left arm of the Commonwealth, where the Pilgrims on that 
November day, 1630, first touched dry land, there stands a monument 
in memory of the dark days of 1861-65. J\Ien from these regions were 
necessary to man the fighting vessels of the nation, and well did they 
acquit themselves. By no means so pretentious as the great shaft which 
individuals, the State and the nation are rearing to commemorate the 
halting of one montli at Provincetown by the Pilgrims, yet it answers 
its purpose well, and the Grand Army is justly proud of it. Costing 
$1,200, it was erected in 1870, the to\ni paying the bill, and for more 
than forty years it has been decorated annually. J. C. Freeman Post 
55 is fortunate in having its Post room in an upper story of the public 
library building, Avhose trustees generously donate the same to the vet- 
erans. (George Allen, Adjutant.) 

QuiNCY (Norfolk County). — Though redolent with history of the 
Eevolutionary period, and possessing the bodily remains of two Presi- 
dents of the United States, the veterans of Quincy are not satisfied with 
the monument for the soldiers of the Union they now have in their 
midst. " We have a monument, erected in 1869, costing about $3,900, 
— a small affair, placed in Wollaston Cemetery, with citizens owning 
lots around and close to it." The lot is desecrated by being tramped 
over by the multitude every Memorial Day. Paul Eevere Post 88 has 
the marker of the Fourth Eegiment, M. V. M., the very first Union 
colors raised on the soil of Virginia, presented by Col. Abner J. Packard ; 
also a flag, presented by a daughter of Gen. Paul J, Eevere (after whom 



tlie Post is named), claimed to have been the first Union flag to be 
raised in Eichmond after the rebel evacuation. It is hoped and expected 
that some day a more centrally placed memorial, and one more befitting 
the city and its memories, will rise in Quincy. The Post occupies rented 
quarters. (Franklin Curtis, Adjutant.) Vide Plate VIII. 

Eandolph (Norfolk County). — One of the few towns in the 
Commonwealth named for a southern statesman, the Hon. Peyton Ean- 
dolph of Virginia, it has a good record in every respect. The memorial 
for the soldiers here takes the form of two very large tablets, attached to 
the Avails on each side of the platform in the Town Hall, bearing the 
names of over 100 men who served their country during the war. The 
cost of these tokens, together with that of dedication, was $1,336, de- 
frayed by the town. AVhile the tablets are a grateful offering for a 
righteous cause, many citizens are not satisfied, and talk of a monument 
is in the air. The Post has above $800 for this purpose, and certain be- 
quests have been made by which $1,500 will be realized when life interests 
shall have ceased. The funds in the hands of the Post started with the 
giving for this purpose, by the Hon. John Flood, of his fee as moderator, 
a practice that has obtained in subsequent years. When the auspicious 
moment shall have come, it is expected that a monument costing about 
$5,000 will take shape in Eandolph. Capt. Horace Niles Post 110 occu- 
pies rented quarters, the same possessing interesting portraits and re- 
minders of Eebellion days. (William A. Croak, Adjutant.) 

Eaynham (BPtiSTOL County). — Owing to the generosity of Miss 
Amy Leonard, a resident of the town, a fine monument was dedicated in 
1899, Curtis Guild, Jr., subsequently Governor, being the orator. It 
stands in the center of the town, near the junction of South and North 
Main streets. The town paid for the grading of the plot upon which the 
memorial stands, and the lot was given by the Hon. Elliott Sanford. To 
this patriotic purpose Miss Leonard devoted $1,500, while the town pro- 
vided a fund for the perpetual care of the grounds. (W. A. Harlow, Town 

Eeading (Middlesex County). — A monument costing $1,500 
stands on Eound Hill in Laurel Cemetery. Of the foregoing sum, $500 
came from bequest, the remainder from the town. It was dedicated 
Oct. 5, 1865. This is said to be the third oldest monument of its kind 


in the Commonwealth ; it surely is among the very first, and that fact 
is very much to the credit of the town, which gave birth to Aaron Ban- 
croft, the first biographer of Washington. (L. W. Krook, Adjutant.) 
Vide Plate XXXVI. 

Rehoboth (Bristol Couxty). — The town still lacks, and, accord- 
ing to indications, will continue to lack, any public memorial. (Ellery L. 
Goff, Town Clerk.) 

Revere (Suffolk County). — The Town Hall of Revere is an un- 
usually elegant edifice, and the tablet (costing $500), confronting all who 
enter the main corridor, is quite in keeping with the building. The 
tablet bears the names of all those from the town who had a part in the 
war, though in those days the town bore the name of North Chelsea, 
assuming that of the revolutionary hero in 1871. In the soldiers' lot in 
the cemetery, presented by the town, the local Post erected, in 1893, a 
significant memorial in the shape of a pyramid of fifty cannon balls, and 
around it are had the usual Memorial Day exercises. The relics came to 
the Post from the government, through United States Senator Henry 
Cabot Lodge. William B. Eaton Post 199 esteems as its most valuable 
relic a rebel flag taken from the blockade runner " Alice," in Tampa Bay, 
Florida, by Captain Eaton, for whom the Post is named, of the bark 
" Ethan Allen." It came to the Post from the family of the captain. An 
old schoolhouse was long the home of Post 199, given the veterans by the 
town, until the comrades secured elegant quarters of their own, costing 
$10,000, as good, they sa}', as any in the State. (L. L. BuUard, Patriotic 
Instructor. ) 

Richmond (Berkshire County) . — Though bearing the name of the 
capital of the Confederacy, this town has only that interesting fact to 
recall the days of the strife, nor is there expectation of any public memo- 
rial. Its war record, howe\er, was excellent. (A. G. Kiltz, Postmaster.) 

Rochester (Plymouth County). — Aside from individual markers 
at soldiers' graves, the town has no memorials, nor any immediate pros- 
pect. (A. H. Weld, Town Clerk.) 

Rockland (Plymouth County^. — Though the war history of Rock- 
land really belongs to the parent town of Abington, for the division did 
not come until 1874:, the younger town has taken good care that her part 


of the story shall not be forgotten. Soon after the division, measures 
were taken to secure funds for some sort of a memorial for her patriotic 
sons, and about $2,500 were acquired. Later, the idea of a memorial 
library took form, and the funds of the monument scheme were thus 
applied. To represent this disposition of the money, tablets are placed 
at the entrance of the library, bearing the names of 330 soldiers and 
sailors from this part of ancient Abingion. It is proper to state here that 
to some of the veterans this use of the funds, raised for strictly monu- 
mental purposes, was not at all agreeable. Ilarts'ulf Post 7-i has free use 
of a very fine hall, secured by the vigorous efforts of the local Woman's 
Eelief Corps, an organization seemingly untiring in its labors. A large, 
two-story building, costing $8,000, it is elaborately equipped with all that 
contributes to the well-being of the veterans. Upon the walls of the Post 
room hang some of the great portraits painted by the late Count Schwab, 
who collected what was to be a national portrait gallery of the soldiers 
of the Eebellion. The room is an exceedingly impressive one. (Lewis 
Peed, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XX. 

EocKPORT (Essex County). — Here the memorial assumes the form 
of one of the best appointed buildings, devoted entirely to Grand Army 
purposes, in the Commonwealth. Begun in 1889, it was completed and 
dedicated Memorial Day, 1890, with elaborate and appropriate exercises, 
participated in by the various secret societies of the towTi, with the fire 
department. One story in height, constructed of brick with stone trim- 
mings, having a comely tower surmounted by a flagstaff, the edifice is 
a credit to the town. The funds requisite for the purpose, $4,500 in 
all, were secured through fairs, entertainments, etc., the Post having 
the generous assistance of the Ladies' Memorial Circle ; perhaps it should 
be said that the Circle led in the project. Within the building are stored 
the many relics of the days of 1861-65 which in the intervening years 
have come into the possession of the veterans and their friends. Otis 
W. Wallace Post 106 is the organization enjoying all of the foregoing 
privileges. (Henry C. Davis, Adjutant.) Vide Plate VII. 

RowE (Franklin County). — Xamed for the John Eowe who sug- 
gested the figure of a codfish as a proper emblem of the source of ^lassa- 
chusetts wealth, this to\ni, which contains the eastern entrance of the 
Hoosac Tunnel, has no public memorial of the war. (J. F. Worden, 
Town Clerk.) 



EowLEY (Essex County). — This town, one of the oldest in the' 
Commonwealth, as yet has no monnment, bnt a fund for the erection 
of one hereafter is growing. ]\Iore than $000 are already in hand, and,i 
in the fullness of time, the site for the memorial, even now indicated byj 
stone bounds, shall have its appropriate token. (Benjamin P. Mighill, 
Town Clerk.) 

EoYALSTON (Worcester County). — The town's memorial of the 
Civil War takes the form of four shield-shaped tablets, 4 by 3 feet, placed * 
in the Town Hall, and bearing in raised letters the names of her sons a 
who died in the struggle. They were given by Jose]:>h Eaymond, a public- 
spirited citizen. After writing the foregoing, additional data were re- 
ceived, to the effect that the town took the initiative as early as May 30, 
1866. In several subsequent meetings the matter was considered and 
forwarded, until, Dec. 17, 1867, the committee in charge was able to 
report tlie task accomplished and the tablets in place, the work of B. H. 
Kinney of Worcester and of the best Italian marble. Of the result of 
its labors, the committee says : " These hallowed stones not only adorn 
the walls of this hall by their beauty, but also hallow it by these me- 
morials of the honored dead." The stipulated cost was $500, but before 
the town could settle with the artist, Mr. Eaymond requested the priv- 
ilege of paying the bill himself, — a request which the town thankfully 
granted. (Frank W. Adams, Town Clerk.) 

EoxBURY (City of Boston). — Though a part of the greater city, it 
seems desirable to describe the monument as a particular feature of 
Eoxbury when it was a separate municipality. It was erected in 1867, 
in Forest Hills Cemetery, and cost $13,000, which sum was secured by 
popular subscription and from the city of Eoxbury. Thomas G. Steven- 
son Post 26 possesses one of the most interesting relics in existence any- 
where, viz., a Union flag, made in Libby Prison l)y " Jim " J. Eeagan 
from strips of red, white and blue cloth, secured from prisoners' gar- 
ments and those of the rebels, and used by the prisoners for a 4th of July 
celebration. Later dissevered and held by several of the men until freed, 
it was reunited and presented to the Post. Owing to the kindness of the 
city of Boston, the Post has free quarters in an abandoned church. 
(Frank E. Trask, Adjutant.) 

EussELL (Hampden County). — Though the town played its part 
well in war times, as yet there is no tangible token of appreciation of the 
work accomplished. (E. D. Parks, Town Clerk.) 


EuTLAND (Worcester County). — Soon after the organization of 
George C. Marshall Post 136, measures were taken to secure funds for 
a soldiers' monument. By perseverance and industry, coupled with a 
town appropriation of $500, by 1879 the Monumental Association was 
able to award the contract for the shaft. It is of Pittsford, Vt., marble, 
5 feet square at the base, 23 feet high, including the figure of a soldier 
in place rest. It was dedicated July 3, 1879, with imposing ceremonies, 
and the largest crowd of people the town had ever seen. The address 
was by the Eev. Joseph F. Lovering of Worcester, then Chaplain-in-Chief 
of the Grand Army. Total cost, $1,500. The Post is furnished free 
quarters in the Town Hall. (L. Q. Spaulding, Commander.) 

Salem (Essex County). — This city was the first municipality in 
the Commonwealth to owe its soldiers' monument to the Sons of Vet- 
erans. As early as 1886, through the success attending a fair and by 
individual subscriptions, the local Camp, No. 8, was able to dedicate in 
Greenlawn Cemetery a monument costing $3,000, — a lasting tribute 
of the regard in which the sons held their fathers. Besides, there are 
commemorative tablets at the Universalist Church, in the Crombie Street 
Church and at the high school. On Washington Square, north, at the 
head of Winter Street, is an immense bowlder, moved from the shore 
of the harbor, l)earing a tal3let to the memory of the Twenty-third Massa- 
chusetts men who fell in the service. It was erected by the Regimental 
Association. In the armory of the Second Corps Cadets is a bronze 
tablet commemorative of Gen. William Cogswell of the Massachusetts 
Second Pegiment Infantry, who began his military service there. It is 
safe to state that all of these tablets must represent $800. As for relics, 
Salem is not lacking. The Essex Institute has a goodly array, as well 
as the local Post and individuals. Phil. H. Sheridan Post 34 holds 
weekly meetings in rented though most convenient quarters. (J. Frank 
Dalton, Commander.) Vide Plates XXYIII. and XXX. 

Salisbury (Essex County). — The native town of Caleb Gushing, 
a town that sent 347 men into the war, 26 beyond all demands, of whom 
35 perished in service, has as yet no public memorial. Years ago there 
was a Post of the Grand Array here (Xo. 123), but it was given up 
long since. (William H. Greenleaf, Town Clerk.) 

Sandisfield (Berkshire County). — Xo public memorial, nor 
prospect of any. (W. X. Clark, Town Clerk.) 


Sandwich (Barnstable County). — The soldiers' monument in 
this ancient Cape Cod township is yet in the future, though it has Charles 
Chipman Post 132, which meets in rented rooms. (T. P. Smith, Ad- 

Saugus (Essex County). — The town is justly proud of the monu- 
ment, erected in 1895 and dedicated July 4, with oration by the Eev. 
E. A. Horton of Boston. The cost, $12,132, was partly met by a $10,000 
bequest by Henry E. Howe and the remainder by the town. In 18T4 
the town laid out $2,085 for purchasing, grading and inclosing in granite 
a lot for deceased soldiers in the town cemetery. Gen. E. W. Hincks 
Post 95 occupies quarters in a building owned by members of the Post. 
It is valued at $2,500. (Jolm E. Stockcr, Commander.) Vide Plate 

Savoy (Berkshire County). — Xothing present nor to come, ac- 
cording to A. J. McCulloch, town clerk. 

Scituate (Plymouth County). — "Of all sad words of tongue or 
pen, the saddest are these, ' it might have been.' " Thomas Lawson, of 
continental fame, was ready to donate to the town a fine monumental 
reminder of the sacrifices of war times, even laying extensive foundations 
fen- the same, but the over-free expression of opinion on the part of some 
of his fellow citizens influenced him to change his mind, and a monu- 
ment for the town in which Samuel Woodworth found " The old oaken 
bucket that hung in the well " is still a prospect only. The local Post 
is the possessor of a compilation of biographical sketches of all its mem- 
bers, the volume costing $100, the work of compilation being by the 
adjutant of the Post. The volume was presented to the Post by the widow 
of the late Henry A. Seaverns, lieutenant, Thirty-ninth Regiment Massa- 
chusetts Infantry. Perhaps a duplicate of one relic cannot be found else- 
where. It is a hard tack, bearing the words, " Petersburg, July 4, 1864. 
Army pie. Hurrah for the Union ! John W. Bailey, Thirty-ninth Eegi- 
ment Massachusetts Volunteers." On the death of Comrade Bailey, 
subsequent to the war, a comrade wrote out its story, and then sealed the 
curio and the story in a glass front box, the latter bearing the words : — 

Blest be ye who leave me intact. 

But cursed be he Avbo eats this hard tack. 


George W. Perry Post 31 owns the hall in wliich it meets, the same 
having been a Baptist church, and it is insured for $3,000. There is no 
lack of room, indeed, tliere are summer and winter quarters. The furni- 
ture, ornaments and equipments of the hall carry an insurance of $3,000. 
(A. A. Seaverns, Adjutant.) 

Seekonk (Bristol County), — Though replete with memories of 
Indian warfare, this town, whose aboriginal appellation signifies " wild 
goose," has no memorial of th.e war, nor any prospect. (Asaph C. Hill, 
Town Clerk.) 

Sharon (Norfolk County). — Few towns have a finer memorial 
than that which Sharon owes to the generosity of G. W. and E. L. Gay, 
from whose bequest of $8,000 there was erected and dedicated, May 20, 
1908, as impressive a monument as that amount of money ever produced. 
Standing in the town cemetery, quite out of the active life of the town, 
with appropriate ceremonies, address by Department Commander of the 
Grand Army, Alfred S. Roe, surrounded by hundreds of people, the 
bronze figure of the soldier on the march began the campaign he will ever 
pursue. The bronze soldier is a slightly altered reproduction of that at 
Vicksburg, by Mrs. Theodore A. (Ruggles) Kitson. The donors being 
descendants of Deborah Sampson, the female soldier of the Eevolution, the 
monument also commemorates her services in the earlier days. (George 
H. Whittemore, Town Clerk.) 

Sheffield (Berkshire County). — Though Sheffield produced 
George F. Root, whose war music was worth more to the Union cause 
than many whole brigades of soldiery, any visible token of appreciation 
of his service, or of that of the 269 soldiers from the town, is yet lacking. 
Apparently the effort made, some years since, to secure a memorial of the 
famous musician fell through. The project should be revived. Gen. J. G. 
Barnard Post 210, named for one of the most distinguished natives of the 
town, is located here. (Comrade Dwight Boardman.) 

Shelburne (Franklin County). — In October, 1868, the town 
dedicated a monument of granite, fashioned after that of Gen. William J. 
Worth in Xew York, and costing above $1,800. It is a highly creditable 
piece of work, and though Shelburne located it, the veterans of Buckland 


feel as though they had a joint interest in it. Ozro Miller Post 93 has 
quarters in the Memorial Hall, erected by the town and the Grand Army. 
(Edward Baker, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XVIII. 

Sherborn (Middlesex County). — Though quite up to and beyond 
all military demands during the war, Sherborn yet lacks any public token 
of appreciation of the services of her sons. (E. C. Barber, Town Clerk.) 

Shirley (Middlesex County). — Standing on Shirley Common, at 
the center of the town, is the monument, dedicated May 30, 1891. The 
cost, $1,120, was met by a town appropriation of $500, as much more from 
H. A. Pevear of Lynn, though giving his summers to Shirley, and the 
remainder from citizens. On one side were the names of the 19 soldiers 
who died iji the service. As they pass away, the names of other soldiers 
are cut upon the stone. At present there are 27 thus rememl)ered. (Her- 
num S. Hazen, Town Clerk.) Vide Plate XIII. 

Shrewsbury ("Worcester County). — In 1869 Thomas E. Tateum 
of AVorcester erected upon the Common a marble shaft, at an outlay of 
$4,000, exclusive of foundations. The funds were secured at first through 
a monumental association, organized soon after the war, working through 
fairs, lectures, etc. The old Shrewsbury Rifle Company sold its tent equip- 
ment at auction in 1866 for $68.50, and donated the sum to the fund. By 
such means $1,500 was acquired, and the town added $2,500. By way of 
relics, the Town Historical Society has the knapsack, etc., carried by Ed- 
ward Gleason. Twenty-fifth Massachusetts, through the war. E. A. 
Andrews Post 135, through the generosity of the town, has the free use 
of the old high school edifice, thus continuing to attend the same insti- 
tution towards which the boyish steps of some of the members were 
turned more than fifty years ago. (George E. Stone, Town Clerk. H. W. 
Loring, Commander.) Vide Plate XXXVII. 

Shutesbury (Franklin County). — Xo public memorial in Shutes- 
bury, though the very name is a warlike suggestion. (William H. Hemen- 
M^ay, Town Clerk,) 

Somerset (Bristol County). — Xo public memorial in Somerset, 
nor is any expected. (W. Hood, Assistant Postmaster.) 


SoMERViLLE (MIDDLESEX Couxty). — The citj claims to have the 
very first memorial in the entire country erected to the memory of " that 
brave and fallen few." Standing in the Somerville Avenue Cemetery, it 
was erected in the summer of 1863 by the Somerville Light Infantry. 
A balance of a fund raised for the benefit of the company when it 
responded to the first three-months call remained in the hands of the 
citizens' committee when the State aid act was passed by the Massachu- 
setts Legislature. At the suggestion of Captain Cunningham it was de- 
cided to appropriate the amount for the building of a monument to the 
soldiers who had been lost from the company which enlisted April 19, 
1861. It was finally decided that it should be a memorial for all the 
soldiers who had fallen during the war. Enoch Eobinson donated his 
family lot as a site for the monument. General Schouler, in his admirable 
story of Massachusetts in the war, page US, volume II., says the sum at 
this time had amounted to $2,000. The memorial is a shapely and inter- 
esting token of the spirit which prompted it. Surmounted by an eagle, 
with jjroper emblems, it bears the names of 61 men who perished in the 
service. As the city furnished 1,135 men, this death list necessarily must 
be incomplete. 

The city very neatly links the war of the Eevolution with that of the 
Eebellion in the memorial battery on Central Hill. Erected in 1885, its 
foundations are laid in the earthworks which were thrown up by the 
soldiers of General Putnam, after the retreat from Bunker Hill. The 
work, paid for by the city, was according to plans furnished by Major 
Parker of the regular Army. The guns, four in number, weighing about 
five tons each, were secured from the government, and they have an inter- 
esting history. During the war, while Grant was in chief command, they 
were transported to Plymouth, Mass., and there mounted for defense on 
the walls of Fort Standish. General Grant, while President, signed the 
bill donating these guns to Somerville, and the first salute fired from them 
was when his funeral was in progress, Aug. 8, 1885. While the battery 
was still unfinished, one of the guns was mounted for this special purpose. 
From sunrise to sunset, every half hour, the gun was fired; meanwhile, 
Willard C. Kinsley Post 139 was present on the ground, a sentinel pacing 
his beat throughout the day. At 2 p.m., when the remains of the General 
were deposited in the Eiverside Park tem])oraiy tomb (N^ew York), the 
Post was drawn up in line, in rear of the battery. As the commander 
gave the order, " Post, salute our dead," and each comrade lifted his hat, 
the salute pealed forth from tlie battery. Absorbingly interesting were 


some of the relics displayed on this day, among them being the sword 
that " Little Phil " Sheridan wore on his famous ride from " Winchester 
down." and the flag of truce which Lee sent to Grant at Aj^pomattox, — 
the former having been loaned to Col. Herbert E. Hill, the latter coming 
from the widow of General Custer. Another interestiug relic was a Con- 
federate flag captured by Gen. S. E. Chamberlain, and loaned by him for 
the occasion. In 1890, a tablet with proper inscription was placed upon 
the battery. 

The Memorial Tower on Prospect Hill records Eevolutionary events, 
and also recalls the fact that here, in 1862, were encamped soldiers of 

On Memorial Day, 190U, there was dedicated in Somerville one of the 
most impressive reminders of the war yet erected in the Commonwealth. 
The event was the great feature of the day, and many thousands gathered 
to witness the unveiling, which was by a niece of Captain Kinsley, whose 
name the Post maintains, and to hear the words of ex-Governor Guild, 
Jr., who was orator of the occasion. The poem for the day, by Sam 
Walter Foss, was of unusual merit; its title is " The Unrewarded Dead." 
Standing on Central Hill, and costing $20,000, the monument was de- 
signed by Augustus Lukeman of New York. The entire expense was borne 
by the city. That so sightly a memorial should be erected at this late 
day is largely due to the perseverance of Willard C. Kinsley Post 139, 
which, though proud of the possession of the very first tribute of the sort 
in the Commonwealth, desired something more elaborate and in a more 
conspicuous spot. At a November meeting of the Post, 1906, the com- 
bined efforts of Comrade James C. Macy and Commander Israel H. 
DeWolf secured the appointment of a committee whose persistence pre- 
vailed upon the city government to make the necessary appropriation. 
The Post occupies commodious quarters practically free. Tide Plates 

South Hadley (Ha:\i:p,siiire C^ouxty). — AVithin the small in- 
closure called the Common in South Hadley stands a very fine monument, 
the gift of William H. Gaylord, a life-long resident of the town, and 
costing $4,000. It was dedicated Sept. 23, 1896, under Grand Army 
direction, the address being given by Alfred S. Eoe of AVorcester. To 
the hundreds of young women who annually repair to this college town 
for their educational training the figure of the soldier ought to be an 
inspiration. It is noteworthy that the original college building was 


burned the Sunday following the dedication. Charles C. Smith Post 183 
meets in rented quarters in South Hadley Falls. (Burritt Judd, Ad- 
jutant.) Vide Plate XXXVII. 

Southampton (Hampshire County). — "At the close of the Civil 
War, a soldiers' monument was located in the cemetery, its cost, about 
$600, being borne b)^ individuals and the town. I do not think any stir 
will ever be made to erect another." (F. E. Judd, Town Clerk.) 

SouTHBOROUGH (WORCESTER County). — The monument, of Fitz- 
william granite, on the town Common, was dedicated Jan. 1, 1867. 
Henry H. Peters, a public-spirited citizen, offered in 1866 to give $500 
if the town would raise a like sum; the response was a subscription of 
more than $1,000 by active citizens, including Dr. Joseph Burnett, $100 ; 
the ladies, nearly $200 ; Curtis Xewton, E. D. Rockwood, Peter Fay and 
S. X. Thompson, each $25. Ninety-two others swelled the aggregate to 
$1,630.50. With this amount the shaft was reared in front of the Con- 
gregational Church, from designs by A. E. Esty, Esq. It stands 25 feet in 
height. G. Wesley Nichols Post 44 owns a half acre of land in Fayville, 
and there occupies a part of a brick structure, the other portion being 
rented to the town as an engine house. The plant is valued at $1,000. 
(Francis D. X^gwton, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXYII. 

SouTHBRiDGE (WORCESTER County). — Nothing of a monumental 
nature exists in Southbridge, but when the new Town Hall was in a 
formative state (1888) the authorities were prevailed upon to assign a 
certain portion of the same, on the first floor, as the future meeting place 
for Malcolm Ammidon Post 168, and the same, nicely furnished, is 
known as Memorial Hall. With kitchen and dining room appliances, the 
space is well and appropriately used. The hall itself seats 200 persons 
comfortalily. Tbe Post esteems, as its choicest relics, the wooden markers 
originally on the grave of Lieut. Malcolm Ammidon (Thirty-fourth Regi- 
ment Massachusetts Infantry), who died in rebel prison, Charleston, S. C, 
Oct. 1, 1864. (George W. Corey, Adjutant.) 

South WICK (Hampden County). — That small portion of the Com- 
monwealth which is surrounded on three sides by Connecticut territory 
has nothing in a memorial way, either present or prospective. (D. H. 
Hollister, Town Clerk.) 


Spencer (Worcester County). — Up to this time no memorial has 
been reared, but one is under way, the result of a bequest by the late 
Hon. Erastus Jones, the amount being about $5,000. F. A. Stearns 
Post 37 assembles in rented quarters. Up to the time of remodeling the 
Town Hall there were mural tablets, but they have not been replaced, 
not being thought good enough. As a central figure in the Pine Grove 
Cemetery is a large mortar, mounted on a granite base and having a 
large pile of shells hard by. (George L. Smith, Adjutant.) 

Springfield (Hampden County). — While Springfield has monu- 
ments and statues galore, to find her first one for the soldiers of the Union 
we shall have to visit the cemetery of the city. There, Memorial Day, 
1877, was dedicated a distinctive memorial of the Civil War. During the 
war the city held a great fair, netting therefrom more than $18,000, this 
constituting what was known as the soldiers' rest fund. When all bills 
were paid, and soldiers had ceased to rest in Springfield, there was a 
considerable remainder, which sum, $4,200, was devoted to paying for the 
monument. The work of Manual Powers of New York, the memorial 
consists of a granite base surmounted by the figure of a soldier at guard 
rest. Four cannon mounted are placed around the base. The monument 
on Court Square, the gift of Guerdon Bill, was dedicated Sept. 27, 1885. 
It represents the handsome sum of $10,000. The inscription is worthy 
of reproduction here : " Erected to the memory of the men of Springfield 
who died for their country in the War of the Eebellion, and in honor of 
all who died on land or sea in defense of the national Union." St. 
Michael's Catholic Cemetery has a big mortar, weighing some 23,000 
pounds, donated by the government as a token of memory of the deceased 
soldiers and sailors buried here. The transportation from Portsmouth, 
N. H., was free; the expense of setting up in the cemetery was $124, 
raised by subscription. So far as reported, this is the only instance of a 
public Rebellion reminder within the limits of any Catholic burial ground 
in the Commonwealth. Oak Grove Cemetery has a new monument, not 
yet dedicated, costing $2,000, erected by the local (Wilcox) Post. The 
quarters of E. K. Wilcox Post 16 are among the most notable in the 
Department. Erected some ten years since, dedicated July 12, 1899, three 
stories in height, with every possible convenience for use and diversion, 
as well as comfort, the edifice, with its appointments, is well worth the 
$30,000 at which it is valued. Possessing a large number of excellent 
paintings and engravings, perhaps the most stress is laid on the three- 


fourths life-size painting of Capt. E. K. Wilcox (Twenty-seventh Regiment 
Massachusetts Infantry), who fell witli his face to the foe, June 3, 1804, 
in the terrible charge on the rebel works at Cold Harbor. Springfield, 
desirous of honoring a soldier, and, at the same time, a martyred Presi- 
dent, set up in her Riverside Park, 1905, a bronze bust, heroic size, of 
William McKinley. The dedicatory address was made by Lieut. -Gov. 
Curtis Guild, Jr. The cost of the bust, wath tablet and attendant figure, 
was $8,000. (J. H. Hendrick, Past Commander.) 

Sterling (Wobcester County). — At a cost of $2,000, voted by the 
towm. Sterling dedicated her monument, June 17, 18GG. Owing to stormy 
weather, the exercises were held in the near-by church. The address was 
by the Rev. George Putnam of Boston, while poems by Miss Esther K. 
Waite and Mrs. Mary S. Rugg were read by their respective writers. 
Maj. J. A. Pratt Post 59 has long been cared for by the town, free quar- 
ters having been found in an old brick schoolhouse, wdiere the veterans 
have assembled for years, their ranks annually growing less. (Warren E. 
Burpee, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXXI. 

Stockbridge (Berkshire County). — Of the memorial in this town, 
Schouler in his " History " says, " A very handsome brownstone monu- 
ment has been erected to the memory of the men of Stockbridge who died 
for their country in the War of the Rebellion. The cost of the monument 
was $2,600. It is erected near the center of the village, to which it is an 
ornament, as well as an honor to the memory of those who fell." It is 
one of the early tokens, having been put in place in 18GG. (George Sey- 
mour, Town Clerk.) 

Stoneham (Middlesex County). — As early as Xov. 8, 1864, 
Stoneham voted to set apart a portion of Lindenwood Cemetery as a 
burial place for soldiers. March 6, 1865, first mention in town war- 
rant was made of a soldiers' monument. July 9, 1868, it was voted to 
erect such monument. The same, erected and complete, was dedicated 
Aug. 12, 1869, with Dr. William Symington as president of the day and 
United States Senator Henry Wilson as orator. The occasion was made 
one of general rejoicing and celebration, the civic and military parade 
being specially notable. The monument is of Concord, X. H., granite, 
rising to a total height of about 25 feet. Graven on its sides are names 
of Stoneham's soldiers who lost their lives. The architect of the monu- 


mcnt was Mr. H. Graves of Boston. The total cost of the memorial was 
$3,042. Its location is in the cemetery alongside Montvale Avenue, this 
being the lot originally set apart for the burial of soldiers. The lot has 
been enlarged, and many bodies of veterans now sleep there. It is ex- 
pected that suitable headstones will mark every comrade's grave. Charles 
Thompson, of the local Post, has prepared a record of every member, that 
his war service may be definitely known. J. P. Gould Post 75 occupies 
rented quarters, though the town grants the free use of the armory six 
evenings in the year. (From town records carefully copied by Town 
Clerk George IST. Green, and other data furnished by Comrade Charles 
Thompson.) Vide Plate XXX. 

Stoughton (Norfolk County). — The cemetery authorities of the 
town having presented the local Post with a lot, the Post in turn paid the 
said authorities $200 for perpetual care of the lot, and thereon, Memorial 
Day, 1898, dedicated a very pretty monument, costing $650. All expenses, 
incident both to monument and lot, were met by subscriptions among the 
citizens of the town. A. St. John Chambre Post 72 is highly favored by 
the town in that both the Post and the Pelief Corps have most excellent 
quarters, at only nominal rent, in the first story of the Town Hall. 
(George W. Pratt, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXVI. 

Stow (Middlesex County). — In 1883, at the expense of the town, 
two tablets were placed in the Town Hall, at an outlay of $500, but when 
the public library was erected the tablets were removed to ornament each 
side of the entrance. In 1908 tlie town set apart a portion of Brookside 
Cemetery as a soldiers' lot, and erected thereon a flagstatf, the combination 
being dedicated that year. ( Henry P. Smith, Town Clerk. ) 

Sturbridoe (Worcester County). — In 1871, at the expense of the 
town, a monument was erected near the Congregational Church, on the hill 
in the center of the village. The Hyde Public Library now stands near it. 
The names of the men who lost their lives during the war are inscribed. 
The Town Hall is not far away, and on its walls are four marble tablets 
bearing the names of all of the volunteers from the town, 144 in number. 
These cost $400. It is said that the town appropriation for the monument 
was $500, which seems a very small sum considering the result. The 
local Post also has a volume of personal history, the blank book having 
been presented by the Hon. E. L. Bates, the cost of the same to the donor 


being $50. In process of time the volume will become the property of 
the town library. J. Arthur Johnson Post 173 occupies rented quarters. 
(L. B. Chase, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XIX. 

Sudbury (Middlesex County"). — This town was fortunate enough 
to possess a generous, public-spirited citizen, Samuel B. Eogers, who 
asked the privilege of donating a monument to the memory of the soldier 
of the Eebellion. His proposition was accepted, and May 31, 1897, the 
completed memorial was dedicated, with imposing exercises, including an 
address by the Hon. John L. Bates, later Governor of the Commonwealth, 
a poem by the Hon. Charles F. Gerry, an address by the Eev. Alfred S. 
Hudson, etc. The monument is an imposing one, surmounted by the 
bronze figure of a soldier at parade rest, the entire memorial costing 
$2,000, — a sum that would have had to be doubled to secure the same 
result a few months later, advantage having been taken on stringent times 
and a desire to keep workmen employed. His fellow citizens were wont 
to speak of the donor as " Uncle Sam.'' Few towns are better equipped 
with memorials, since colonial days and Indian depredations are recalled 
in the Wadsworth Memorial, dedicated in 1857 ; and the gift of Mrs. 
Joanna Gleason, set up and unveiled June 17, 1896, recalls the Eevolu- 
tion. The Eebellion reminder stands in front of the Goodnow Library, 
South Sudbury. 

Sunderland (Franklin County). — The town has done nothing in 
the memorial way and, apparently, contemplates nothing. (From the 

Sutton (Worcester County). — At the first town meeting in the 
new Town Hall, April, 1885, it was moved by the Hon. Jason Waters 
that the edifice, in honor of the patriotic dead of the War of the Ee- 
bellion, be known as Memorial Hall, and the motion was unanimously 
carried. During the same year the town also voted to place four marble 
tablets at the entrance to the hall, two on each side. The first at the left 
bears the names of those who lost their lives, with company, regiment 
and dates of death, some 21 in number. Upon the other three are re- 
corded the names of all citizens of Sutton who served in the war, also 
with company and regiment. These were put in place in 1885, at an 
outlay of $600. At each front corner of the hall is a brass cannon, 
properly mounted, loaned by the government. (H. C. Batcheller, Town 


Savampscott (Essex County). — The monimieut in this town was 
erected in 1883 at a cost of $4,000, the result of a town appropriation. 
Gen. James L. Bates Post 118 has for its meeting place a schoolhouse, 
turned over to the Post gratis, the towTi also appropriating $75 yearly 
for heat and light. Nothing in Swampscott appears to be too good for 
the Post. (Peleg Gardner, i\.djutant.) 

Swansea (Bristol County). — While the late Hon. F. S. Stevens 
was living, he gave to the town a finely appointed To\ra Hall. The town, 
by way of adornment for its interior, placed there an elaborate mural 
tablet, bearing the names of all Swansea soldiers, from King Philip's time 
down to and including that of the Eebellion. This was done at a cost 
of $265. The day of dedication, Sept. 24, 1896, was a gala one for the 
town. The address was by Alfred S. Eoe of Worcester. After the hall 
exercises, which were attended by a great mass of people, there was served 
a clam-bake in a neighboring grove. (Henry 0. Wood, Town Clerk.) 

Taunton (Bristol County). — The first monument in this old 
colony city was a very long time in building. The late C. S. Anthony of 
Post 3 contributed a very entertaining article to the Post archives by way 
of telling just how the matter started and terminated. As early as May 4, 
1871, a committee was appointed by the Post to devise ways and means 
for securing a fitting monument for the city. First there came a con- 
cert of war music, which netted $100 ; then another, where there was 
a loss ; mite boxes in the post-ofilce and other public places resulted in just 
60 cents : then a course of lectures, which really added something to the 
fund. Feb. 1, 1887, when the fund had risen to $1,000, it was voted to go 
ahead with the project, and build the monument within that sum. Evi- 
dently other means became available, since we find that wdien completed 
the outlay was $3,278.53. The granite base was designed by Comrade A. 
Coleman; the bronze soldier came from the hands of W. 'N. Mossman of 
Chicopee. The dedication in Mayflower Hill Cemetery was Sept. 5, 1887. 
In the corridor of the City Hall is an immense bronze tablet, erected in 
1888-89, 10 feet wide and 6I/2 feet high, also designed by Mossman, on 
which are found the names of Taunton's sons who perished in the struggle. 
This cost $1,350. AVilliam H. Bartlett Post 3 has exceptionally fine quar- 
ters in the edifice which was built in 1888 for the Presbyterians, at an 
expenditure of $20,000. Owing to financial difficulties the denomination 
gave up the building, whereupon, coming into the possession of Cyrus W. 





Lothrop, a patriotic and wealthy gentleman, he devised the ])lan of trans- 
forming the structure into a home for the local G. A. E. Post. In this 
way, about five years ago, the veterans of Taunton moved into as fine 
quarters as the Department affords. In 1903 Mr. Lothrop began his 
appreciative labors in behalf of the soldier and his memory by erecting 
on Taunton Green a fine monument for the soldier of the Rebellion. 
It is fittingly placed here, since from this central point all of Taunton's 
soldiers departed as they went forth to every Avar waged by ]\Iassachusetts 
as Province or Commonwealth. It is of granite and well worth the $3,100 
which it cost the generous donor. (Capt. James E. Seaver, Old Colony 
Historical Society.) Vide Plate XXI. 

Templetox (Worcester County). — -The question of a monument 
has never been mooted in this town, but Ericsson Post 109 has long met 
in its own building, in East Templeton. for which ground was broken 
July 3, 1868. A two and a half storied structure, valued at $2,400, the 
first floor is rented for a store and post office; the second floor contains 
the so-called Memorial Hall, in which are tablets to the memory of many 
of the men who went from Templeton : while on the third floor are the 
quarters of the Post, not so easily reached now as they were when the 
veterans were thirty years younger. Among interesting relics is a speci- 
Tnen of Confederate artillery, captured at Xewbern, N. C, and presented 
to the Post by Dr. J. C. Bachelor : also, there is a saber taken from the 
enemy at Aldie, Ya., just after Antietam. with a large key, supposed to 
belong to a jail passed by the Twenty-first ^lassachusetts Regiment in 
one of its Xorth Carolina marches. (J. A. ^lerritt. Adjutant.) Vide 
Plate XXVI. 

Tewksbury (Middlesex County). — X'othing of a public memorial 
nature in Tewksbury, nor is there any expectation. (John H. Cliandler, 
Town Clerk.) 

TiSBURY (Dukes County). — In A'ineyard Haven, the most consid- 
erable place in the tovm, the local Grand Army men and Relief Corps 
members uniting, formed a Memorial Association of Vineyard Haven. 
By native tact and industry they raised sufficient money to place in the 
burial ground a large bowlder, liaving a properly inscribed bronze tablet, 
all in memory of the unknown dead. Costing $100, it was dedicated 
:\[emorial Day. 190G. (Comrade Henry ^Y. Cove.) 


Tolland (Hampden County). — -The town has neither memorial, 
nor prospect of any. (W. Mnnn, Town Clerk.) 

TopSFiELD (Essex County). — Of white marble, in the shape of a 
shield, the town in 1874 placed in the corridor of the Town Hall a tablet 
in memory of the local soldiers whose lives were lost in the war. Bearing 
the names of these sons who were sacrificed, it cost $100. Jvistin D. 
Allen, M.D., who died November, 1908, left a bequest of $8,000 for 
monumental, purposes, and as soon as the town receives this sum, which 
will be ere many months, the money will be applied as directed by the 
testator. (A. T. Merrill, Town Clerk.) 

TowNSEND (Middlesex County). — Though nothing of a public 
memorial character has yet been erected, something of the sort, to cost 
about $500, at the expense of the town, is contemplated. (George A. 
Wilder, Town Clerk.) 

Truro (Barnstable County). — Aside from private markers at the 
graves of soldiers there is no visible memorial of the war in Truro. 
(John B. Dyer, Town Clerk.) 

Tyngsborougii (Middlesex County). — The tablet in this town 
is to the memory of soldiers in all of the wars in which her sons have 
fought. At the time of its erection. 1893. there was also put forth 
a pi-inted list of tlie men, Avith a short account of each one. Through 
a fortunate acquaintance with tlie distinguished artist, Mr. Arthur Os- 
borne, the committee Avas able to secure, for the appropriation of $300, 
much better results than would have been possible otherwise. There are 
three parts to the tablet, the upper bearing in relief the figure of a soldier 
in the apparel of earlier days. He represents '' patriotism." The' middle 
section has the kneeling form of a maiden, typifying " gratitude." The 
lower portion, bearing the arms of tlie Tyug family, portrays the town 
itself. (Channing "Whittaker.) 

Tyringham (Berkshire County). — Xo public memorial in town, 
nor is any expected. (George E. Warren, Town Clerk.) 

Upton (Worcester County). — Considering the outlay, the monu- 
ment in Upton is one of the most satisfactory in the Commonwealth. 
Costing $2,500, it was dedicated Oct. 15, 1890, though plans for it were 


begun in March, 1884. A leading spirit in said preparations was Chaplain 
George S. Ball, Twenty-first Regiment Massachusetts Infantry, who, at 
the dedication, read the report of the comrrrittee having the rrronuirrent in 
hand,, besides offering prayer and pronouncing the benediction. The 
prirrcipal address was made by Past Department Commander John D. 
Billirrgs of Cambridge. Standing in the center of the village Common, it 
attracts favorable comments from all beholders. Among the possessions 
of the local Post is a fine crayon of Chaplain Ball, presented to him by 
veterans of the Twenty-first Eegiment at their annual reunion in Upton, 
1891, and after the death of the Chaplain, given to the Post by his family. 
The town afi'ords free quarters to J. Orson Fiske Post 105 in an edifice 
conveniently near the monunrent. Efforts are now making to secure four 
bronze tablets bearing the 219 names of Upton soldiers to be placed on the 
monument. (C. W. Fiske, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XI. 

UxBRiDGE (Worcester County). — Standing in the center of her 
Common, the Eebellion reminder of Uxbridge Avas dedicated Sept. 14, 
1898. The funds, nearly $4,000 for the monument and dedication, were 
secured by sirbscription, not only from local citizens but from those wlio, 
by birth or other reason, were interested in the old town. Including the 
figure above the shaft, the granite memorial is 19 feet in height, and upon 
the four sides of the main block are the names of the 207 soldiers whom 
the town sent into the war. The exercises of dedication were memorable. 
An honored citizen, Charles A. Taft, presided, the monument was received 
by George M. Pice, commander of the local Post, arrd the address was by 
Judge A. A. Putnam, all of Uxbridge. Aside from this monument, so 
conspicuously placed, there is a memorial in the soldiers' lot of Prospect 
Cemetery Hill, in the shape of a shelter tent, a very pretty and significant 
design. By way of relics, H. H. Legge Post 25 has a fine portrait of the 
soldier whose name it bears, also a part of the eagle under which President 
McKinley made his last speech, the same being a present from Associate 
James Daley. Other valuable relics in private hands would readily be 
given up were some permanent place for their care and keeping devised. 
The Post is more than comfortably quartered in a part of the engine 
house, the same being generously donated by the town. (Lawson A. Sea- 
graves, Quartermaster.) Vide Plate VIII. 

Wakefield (Middlesex County). — Wakefield's war-time name was 
South Reading, its present appellation having been assumed in 1868. 


Tliere are tablets in the Town Hall, which is denominated Memorial Hall. 
In 1902, at a cost of about $13,000, there was erected a very fine monu- 
ment, the result of the generosity of Mrs. Harriet S. Flint, who be- 
queathed $10,000 for this purpose, to which the town added $2,000, the 
latter sum paying for the base of the monument. Jan. 31, 1909, a memo- 
rial window was dedicated in Emmanuel Church, commemorative of the 
life and services of Edmund Eice, who attained the rank of Lieutenant- 
Colonel in the Nineteenth Massachusetts Eegiment during the Rebellion. 
Later, as an officer in the Regular Army, he served in the Spanish ^Yar, 
and was retired as a Brigadier-General. The most interesting relic in the 
possession of Horace M. Warren Post 12 is a Union flag which was brought 
home wrapped about the body of Maj. H. M. AVarren, Fifty-eighth Massa- 
chusetts Regiment, mortally wounded at the Welden railroad, and dying 
in the hospital Aug. 27, 1864. Post quarters are had in a schoolhouse 
given to the organization by the town, and therein are found ample accom- 
modations for Post, Corps and Camp. (George H. S. Driver, Adjutant.) 
Vide Plate XXXIX. 

Wales (Hampden County). — This small town, on the borders of 
Connecticut, has nothing of a public memorial nature, and expects noth- 
ing. (E. E. Lamphaer, Postmaster.) 

Walpole (Norfolk County). — Soon after the close of the war the 
town erected a mural tablet in the Town Hall containing the names of 
those who went from Walpole. The cost was about $300. Besides, there 
is in front of the Town Hall a large gun from the Charlestown Navy 
Yard, loaned by the government, and highly appreciated by all towns- 
people. Elbridge Piper Post 157 has free quarters in the Town Hall. 
(S. E. Guild, Adjutant.) 

Waltliam (Middlesex County). — There is no more conspicuous 
spot in the city than that occupied by the soldiers' monument, standing 
in the center of the city Common. From a town appropriation, it was 
erected in 1867 and dedicated in the following year, the entire outlay 
being $7,096.68. Built of enduring granite, elaborately decorated and 
appropriately placed, the memorial is quite worthy of the site and the 
cause. Another monument, costing $1,000, is situated in the middle of 
the soldiers' lot in Mt. Feake Cemetery. This was paid for by subscrip- 
tion, and was dedicated May 30, 1889. E. P. H. Rogers Post 29 occupies 

WARE. 117 

rented quarters. The birthplace and life-long home of ex-Gov. jST. P. 
Banks, the first Major-General appointed from ]\Iassachusetts, it is also 
his hurial place. (Comrade Herman P. Harrington.) Vide Plate XXL 

Ware (Hampshire County). — In 1867 the town of Ware devoted 
$2,000 to the erection of her soldiers' monument, a plain shaft having on 
its sides four bronze tablets, on which are given the names of the Ware 
soldiers who gave their lives for the Union. At the request of the local 
Post, very near the beginning of this century the government loaned 
two howitzers, which are mounted and are in position in front of the 
Town Hall. J. W. Lawton Post 85 has occupied the same rooms for 
more than forty years, and has paid rent all the time. The town has 
been, however, very generous towards the Post, always making liberal 
appropriations for Memorial Day, and, also, has set apart specific sums 
for the Post's charitable work. (H. M. Coney, Commander.) 

Wareham (Plymouth County). — April 19, 1905, at the expense 
of the town, there was dedicated an unusually impressive monument, at 
a total outlay of $5,000. The exercises of dedication were under the 
direction of the Hon. Xoble W. Everett, with Department Commander 
James H. Wolff in charge of the Grand Army portion and Alfred S. Eoe 
of Worcester giving the address. Two heavy guns, loaned by the govern- 
ment, are placed near the base. Of granite, a tall shaft is surmounted 
by the form of a soldier on the march, a very happy advance on the 
former notion of the soldier in place rest. Gen. W. T. Sherman Post 
208 occupies rented quarters. (Thomas T. Hopkins, Adjutant.) Tide 
Plate XXXIX. 

Warren (Worcester County). — With its significant name a monu- 
ment would be expected here, nor are we disappointed. The very fine 
memorial was erected in 1881, through the efforts of the Grand Army 
and a town appropriation, the total outlay being $3,200. Standing in 
the very heart of the busy village, plainly visible to all passing through 
Yfarren by rail, it is well worthy of name and cause. Post members 
think their 12-pound cannon mounted, and four unmounted 32 pounders, 
their most esteemed relics. Clara Barton Post Go has free use of Me- 
morial Hall, through the liberality of the town. (L. W. Gilbert, Ad- 
jutant.) Vide Plate XXIX. 


Warwick (Franklin County). — Xamed for the English king- 
maker, lying on the New Hampshire border, Warwick was one of the 
early towns in erecting a monimient to the soldiers of the great war. 
In 1866 or 1867, at a cost of $1,336, a monument was erected in the 
town cemetery. It bears the names of many brave soldiers. (Samuel 
Hastings, Town Clerk.) 

Washington (Berkshire County). — Though named for the 
Father of his country, and thereby an excellent memorial of the Eevolu- 
tion, the War of the Eebellion is not commemorated by visible token. 
Washington is also the birthplace of Edwin D. Morgan, one of the war 
Governors of New York. 

Watertown (Middlesex County). — The Provincial Congress was 
sitting in Watertown, June, 1775, and thence, on the morning of the 
17th, Gen. Joseph Warren proceeded on his way to Bunker Hill. To 
her patriotic soldiers of 1861-65 the town has erected a monument cost- 
ing $3,600, dedicating the same Oct. 1, 1889. As a relic, the local Post 
prizes a tree stump from the battle field of Chickamauga ; imbedded mis- 
siles testify to the fierceness of the combat there. Isaac B. Patten Post 
81 occupies rented quarters. (John Welsh, Adjutant.) 

Waylaxd (Middlesex County). — This town's appreciation of her 
soldiers' services takes the unusual shape of a memorial book, printed in 
1871, giving the personal history of every man who enlisted from Way- 
land as his residence, with the addition of two who were born in town 
but were credited elsewhere. While nearly every town in the Common- 
wealth has a list of her soldiers, and more or less of descriptive matter, 
it was reserved for AVayland to enter into the subject systematically, and 
produce a quarto volume of 452 pages, giving a very satisfactory state- 
ment of 72 men. According to Schouler, the town furnished 124 men, 
hence the difference between 70 and 124 must have come from outside 
of Wayland. 

AVebster (Worcester County). — The monument in this town, 
liearing the name of the immortal defender of the Constitution, though 
long in coming, is worth waiting for. Not till July 4, 1907, was the 
town's memorial dedicated. Then it occasioned one of the most remark- 
able assemblages ever beheld here or elsewhere, for the significant fact 


was brought out that, aside from the Grand Army and the Sons of A'et- 
erans, there were very few men in the long procession who were Ameri- 
can born, yet all of them were good American citizens or expected to 
become such. Even the brass band behind which the procession marched 
bore a foreign name. Considering the money invested in the monument, 
very likely AVebster has as much to show for its money as any town in 
the Commonwealth. Expending $16,000 in all, there stands one of the 
most imposing compositions erected anywhere. The orator of the occasion 
was the Hon. Herbert Parker, lately Attorney-General of the State. 
jSTamed for the hero of St. Louis at the outbreak of hostilities, in 1861, 
Gen. Nathaniel Lyon Post 61 has some of the most significant relics 
belonging to any military organization. Among them are the camp chest 
of General Lyon, who was killed at Wilson's Creek in 1861, his rapidly 
fading diploma from AVest Point and one of the hoofs of the horse he 
was riding when hit by the fatal shot. Also, muskets from the Revolu- 
tion, war with Mexico and that of the Eebellion illustrate progress in 
gun making. Of the three Dahlgren guns standing near the monument, 
one has a very remarkable history. It passed into the possession of the 
rebels at Norfolk Navy Yard ; Farragut recaptured it in New Orleans ; 
next, when a part of the armament of the United States steamer " Ve- 
locity," it was taken by the Confederates at Sabine Pass; finally, it was 
again captured by the United States steamer " Pinola," Metagolda Bay, 
Florida, February, 1865. Post 61 has always paid rent. (E. B. Wake- 
field, Adjutant.)" Vide Plate XXXIX. 

Wellesley (X'orfolk Couxty). — In war times there was no Welles- 
ley, the town with its name suggestive of the Iron Duke being then a part 
of Needham, and thus continued until 1881. While as yet there is no 
reminder in tangible form of the days of 1861-65, yet plans are afoot 
for a memorial, at the expense of the town, the same to cost in the neigh- 
borhood of $2,000. There is no Grand Army Post in town, but an associa- 
tion of veterans has maintained Memorial Day exercises for a long term 
of years. (F. H. Kingsbury, Town Clerk.) 

Wellfleet (Barxstable County). — Shortly after the war, about 
1867, through the activity of the Ladies' Aid Society, there was dedi- 
cated a soldiers' monument, at an outlay of $700. Though there is no 
Post of the Grand Army in town, the veterans are ever alive to the import 
of Memorial Day. (A. H. Rogers, Town Clerk.) 


Wendell (Franklin County). — Nothing of a memorial nature in 
town, nor is anything of the kind projected. (N. D. Plumb, Town Clerk.) 

Wenham (Essex County). — A monument, costing $1,476.91, was 
dedicated May 30, 1879. The start towards this result was a gift of $300 
by Edwin Mudge of Danvers, the town appropriating the remaining 
amount. (William P. Porter, Town Clerk.) 

West Boylston (Worcester County). — Memorial Day, 1895, a 
monument was dedicated in West Boylston. It is built of granite and 
stands in tlie town cemetery. The address was given by the Eev. George 
S. Ball, Chaplain of the Twenty-first Massachusetts, whose lineage, 
through his mother, lays hold on the neighboring to^^Ti of Boylston. The 
expense incident to the monument, $1,300, and its dedication came from 
the townspeople by means of the Independent Ladies' Relief Corps. 
C4eorge D. Wells Post 28, together with the Eelief Corps and the Sons of 
A^eterans, occupies a large and convenient edifice, erected by the Relief 
Corps for their special use, gratis. The lot and edifice are valued at 
$3,000. (Jeremiah Fisher, Commander.) Vide Plate XXX. 

West Bridgewater (Plymouth County). — The townspeople are 
justly proud of their soldiers' monument, which was erected in 1879 at a 
cost of $3,500, an outlay met by popular subscription. (Edward H. 
Crocker, Town Clerk.) 

West Brookfield (Worcester County). — As yet the town has 
nothing in a monumental way, though there is a disposition to do some- 
thing in this direction. In 1908 the town appropriated $300 ; 1909, $250, 
and about $50 is held which was raised in other ways. It is expected that 
successive appropriations will eventually secure the requisite amount for 
a fitting memorial. Alanson Hamilton Post 160 is favored with free 
rental by the owners of the hall, Messrs. Edson and Woodward, who pur- 
chased of the Post all of its furnishings in this very room, and recoup 
themselves by renting to other parties, but remit all expense to the Post. 
(G. H. Allen, Adjutant.) 

West Newbury (Essex County). — Though nothing has taken 
form as yet in this town there are probabilities of a monument later, at 
a cost of from $3,000 to $4,000, the same to be raised through the local 


Post. Eemarks concerning certain town officers who have evidently ex- 
ercised a restraining influence, which in the words of Horace Greeley 
would make " mighty fine reading," are hardly presentable here. Major 
Boyd Post 151 pays annual rental for Post privileges. (E. P. Stanwood, 

West Eoxbury (City op Boston). — Though now swallowed up 
in the larger city, in war times the township had an individuality of its 
own. It was Sept. 14, 1871, that the monument on the corner of Center 
and South streets, Jamaica Plain, near Curtis Hall, was dedicated, the 
principal feature being an address by the Eev. James Freeman Clarke. 
Of light gray (Clark's Island) granite, on a Quiney base, in Gothic style, 
it stands 3-4 feet high. Decidedly ornate in its embellishments, it was 
designed by Architect W. ^Y. Lummis. Provision for the monument was 
made by vote of the town, March 28, 1870, when $15,000 was voted for 
this purpose. Ko event in the history of West Eoxbury was ever made 
more of than that of the dedication. Everything capable of marching 
was in line. The monument involves four arches, thus forming a canopy, 
beneath which is a marble fablet bearing the names of townsmen who 
lost their lives. Surmounting the union of the arches is the figure of 
a soldier. Boston Post 200, like other Posts of the " Hub," has the free 
use of a discarded schoolhouse. 

"West Springfield (Hampden County). — Allien this town, in 
1874, built a new Town Hall, it had the good sense to place upon the 
inner wall of the same a tablet to the memory of the soldiers, 21 in num- 
ber, who, from West Springfield, had given their lives for their country. 
The estimated cost of this memorial is about $100. In one of the public 
cemeteries there is, also, a very interesting reminder of the days of the 
war in the shape of a brownstone monument, about 20 feet in height, 
erected to the memory of the men of Company I, Tenth Eegiment Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, who were lost in the strife, bearing their names and 
the places where they made the supreme sacrifice. The cost, $600, was 
met by popular subscription under the auspices of local members of the 
company, and it was erected some time in the 70's. (C. E. Brockway, 
Superintendent of Schools.) 

West Stockbridge (Berkshire County). — About twenty-five years 
ago a representative of the Bridgeport White Bronze Monumental Com- 


pany persuaded the town to invest $75 in a tablet of this material, for 
display on the inner walls of the Town Hall. The tal)let, about 4 by 6 
feet in size, bears the names of soldiers who lost their lives in the war. 
No other memorial is expected. (Comrade J. S. Moore, Town Clerk.) 

West Tisbuey (Dukes County). — Whatever there is of war history 
in this town was made when a part of the older Tisbury, the separation 
having been voted in 1893. Hence there is no memorial in town, nor is 
there expectation in this direction. (George G. Clifford, Town Clerk.) 

Westborougti (Worcester County). — At the March meeting of 
the town, 1866, it was voted to erect a granite monument to the memory 
of the soldiers who had fallen in the late ■war, the same to be erected in 
the cemetery opposite the Town Hall. A committee was appointed to 
report a suitable design, and its report was accepted April 1, 1867, the 
report being in favor of a design similar to that of the monument " re- 
cently erected in the town of Newton." There was some dispute as to the 
location, and a vote to place it in the town square was passed, but it was 
afterwards rescinded and the cemetery location approved. Built of Con- 
cord granite and costing about $4,300, the monument is highly creditable 
to the times and the subject. The total height is 28 feet, and upon the 
stone are chiseled the names of the soldiers from Westborough who lost 
their lives. About the base are placed, at intervals, eight shells, weighing 
nearly 200 pounds each. The dedication took place June 17, 1869, and 
was a very noteworthy event in the history of the town. An address at the 
monument was given by the Rev. Dr. C. W. Flanders, pastor of the local 
Baptist Church, and later the principal address of the day was made in the 
Town Hall by the Hon. George B. Loring of Salem, who was as eloquent 
as ever. For many years Arthur G. Biscoe Post 80 met in rented quar- 
ters, but when the Free Public Library sought new space in the just 
erected library edifice, the Post fell heir to the vacated rooms in the Town 
Hall, and the same have been thus used since Oct. 1, 1908. On the first 
floor, the " boys " feel that their lines have truly fallen in pleasant places. 
At an expense of about $400, the town equipped the rooms with all essen- 
tials for a well-appointed club room, and turned the entire outfit over to 
the Post and Pelief Corps. A flagstaff of iron, 60 feet in height, stands 
in front of the hall, also for the use of the Post. In the way of relics 
the town is rich. Charles F. Eaymond of Boston, formerly of West- 
borough, gave a fine oil painting of President Lincoln. One of the battle 


flags of the Thirteenth Massachusetts Volunteers was given by Lieut. 
William R. Warner and Sergts. M. H. Walker and A. C. Stearns, all 
of Company K, a Westborough organization. There is also a fine bronze 
tablet in memory of Lieut.-Col. Charles H. Hovey of the Thirteenth, once 
captain of Company Iv, presented by the regimental association. A 
bronze tablet on a marble base, presented by fourteen citizens of West- 
borough and placed on the walls of the children's room of the public 
library, has the immortal address of Lincoln at Gettysburg. The fore- 
going are in the public library. The Post has three large frames, con- 
taining the pictured faces of members, many of whom have passed away. 
The soldiers' lot in Pine Grove cemetery has a large Parrott rifled cannon, 
and a ship's howitzer marks the lot in St. Luke's. Memorial volumes 
similar to those found in other Posts contain the records of a large number 
of the Post. Not least among the relics is a pass issued to John Homan, a 
Westborough citizen, to visit the camp of the First Regiment ^Massa- 
chusetts Infantry in search of a Westborough boy in Company D, and a 
book of autographs and letters of Union officers in the Army and jSTavy, 
collected by Alvah B. Kittredge of Company B, Sixth Massachusetts, is 
highly prized. (John W. Fairbanks, Postmaster and Acting Adjutant.) 
Vide Plate XXY. 

Westfield (Hampden County). — As the result of a fair, the citi- 
zens of Westfield were able to put about $5,000 into their monument. It 
stands in a very prominent location, the junction of Court, Elm and Broad 
streets. The pedestal is 10 feet high, while the bronze figure of a soldier 
on guard rises 8 feet above that. The latter is from the design of M. H. 
Mossman, and was cast by the Ames Company of Chicopee. In addition 
to numerous and significant emblems, the base bears the names of 66 men 
of Westfield who gave their lives for the cause. The dedication was 
attended by everybody who could get there, and was on the 31st of May, 
1871, above 1,000 people partaking of the feast served by the ladies of 
Westfield. The orators of the day were the Hon. E. B. Bates of Westfield 
and Gen. Judson Kilpatrick of cavalry fame. Lyon Post 41 occupies 
rented quarters. (F. A. Snow, Adjutant.) 

Westford (Middlesex Couxty). — As yet the only memorial in 
town is a marble slab or tablet in the entry to the Town Hall, the same 
bearing the names of those from Westford ■\\-ho perished in the war. 
A monument, however, is expected, the gift of Col. Edwin D. Metcalf of 


Auburn, 'N. Y., he having been a boy in Westford. The probabilities are 
tliat it will be dedicated Memorial Day, 1910. As foretold, the dedica- 
tion took place May 30, 1910, with principal address by ex-Gov. John D. 
Long, who, in his younger days, had been a Westford teacher. The 
monument, standing opposite the village green, consists of a granite 
pedestal surmounted by the figiire of a soldier with all his equipments, 
bearing his gun at right-shoulder shift. The generous donor won his 
title of colonel through staff duty with the late Governor Robinson, and 
was a Westford boy during the war, his father having been the first 
man to be enrolled from the town. The monument was formally pre- 
sented 1)y Colonel Metcalf, received by Selectman 0. B. Spaulding and 
was unveiled by Miss Hazel B. Hartford. (Sherman H. Fletcher, 
Postmaster. ) 

Westhampton (Hampshire County). — The birthplace of the 
father of the late Edward Everett Hale and Sylvester Judd, the author 
of the first American novel, has a small monument commemorative of 
the Civil War, erected at the town's expense in 1869, and costing $500. 
(F. A. Loud, Town Clerk.) 

Westminster (Worcester County). — This, one of the northern 
townships of the Commonwealth, set about monument raising early, 
and in 1868, at an outlay of $2,000, met by the town, the monument 
was dedicated. Standing in front of the Congregational Church, it has 
been an object lesson for more than forty years. As early as March 5, 
1865, the memorial was projected, and, of the original committee, Joseph 
Hager yet survives. At its dedication, July 4, the principal address was 
made by Gen. J. W. Kimljall of Fitchburg. Constructed of Fitchburg 
granite, bearing on its sides the names of Westminster soldiers who lost 
their lives, placed in the center of a plot which is nicely curbed and 
buttressed with cannon secured from the government through ex-Gov. 
John D. Long, the town presents a picture of commemoration not often 
equaled. The town being the birthplace of Xelson A. Miles, the tenth 
full Major-General from Massachusetts during the war, there is a natural 
pride in whatever pertains to him and his history. Hence the presence 
in the library, under a glass case, of his uniform, stained with his blood 
at Gettysburg and at Frederickslmrg; there, also, are his sword and 
shoulder straps. Joseph P. Eice Post 69 has a stump from Spottsylvania, 
made so by the tempest of bullets prevailing there. In the Post hall is 

WESTON, 125 

a case presented by the late E. S. Kendall of the Fifteenth Massachusetts, 
containing fift}' pieces, among them a scabbard rescued from the Potomac 
Piiver, near the scene of the battle of Ball's Bluff, with bullets and bits 
of shell from other fields. There is an enlarged portrait of Col. Joseph 
P. Rice ( Twent3^-lirst Massachusetts), the officer wliose name the Post 
hears, besides many other valuable and interesting curios. The Post is 
furnished most excellent quarters at a nominal rental. (George W. 
Barnes, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XXX VII. 

Weston (j\Iiddlesex Couxty). — The suburbs of Boston contain no 
more beautiful town than "Weston. On the great highway from Worces- 
ter to Boston, in the centuries it has seen almost all of the notables who 
have trodden Massachusetts soil. Both Washington and Lafayette were 
entertained here. In 1866, Avhen the library occupied quarters in the 
Town Hall, a very fine tablet, costing $670, was set up to the memory 
of those Weston soldiers who lost their lives in the Avar. In the new 
memorial library erected in 1002 and costing $47,500, it is, easily, the 
most interesting object in the reading room. Paid for by the town, it 
is one of the most elaborate tablets in the State. (Henry L. Brown.) 

AVestport (Bristol County). — There is no memorial here, nor is 
any planned for. (Edward L. IMacomber, Town Clerk.) 

Westv^ood (Xorfolk Couxty). — As this town was a part of Ded- 
ham until 1897, there is little of the Eebellion record written here. The 
names of her sons are graven on the tablets of the older town. " So far 
as I know, only two veterans reside in the town." (W. W. Baker, Town 

Weymouth (Norfolk Couxty). — In December. 1865, the ball was 
■itarted Avhich eventuated in the dedication of a very handsome monument, 
July 4, 1868, Avith an oration by the Hon. George B. Loring. The monu- 
Qient, of Quincy granite, securely placed on a granite foimdation, rises 
to the height of 25 feet and cost the toAvn the sum of nearly $4,000. Hav- 
ing a Avealth of emblematic design, it also bears the names of 99 men 
jf Weymouth Avho died that the nation might liA'e. The memorial stands 
in Xorth Weymouth, and it is notcAvorthy that the original vote carried 
ivith it sums of money for the other sections of the toAvn, but the other 
;hree divisions of Weymouth do not appear to have utilized their oppor- 


tunities. 'Wliile Eeynolds Post 58 does not report the possession of in- 
teresting relics, somewhere in its keeping or in that of the town library 
must be the letters of declination from Charles Smnner, B. F. Butler, 
N. P. Banks, Oakes Ames and Gov. A. H. Bullock. The Post pays rent 
for its meeting place. (Oliver Burrell, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XL. 

Whatelt (Franklin County). — With a war-time record as good 
as any, this town still wants any public memorial of the stirring days 
of 1861-65, nor is there prospect of anything later. (H. E. Eoote, Town 

AVhitman (Plymouth County). — Until 1875 the south part of 
the town of Abington, the spirit of the people demanded some outward 
token of the part borne by this part of the old town in the struggle. No 
section of the Commonwealth responded more readily nor generally to 
the war call than this, appearing in the first and all subsequent calls for 
volunteers. Beginning in 1894, the question of a Post hall was agitated, 
until finally in 1896, December 3, the very convenient and commodious 
building was dedicated. There were present very many prominent Grand 
Army men, among them John E. Gilman of Boston, subsequently De- 
partment Commander, and Secretary of the Commonwealth William M. 
Olin. The entire cost of the building, $4,600, was completely raised 
before the dedication. Whitman's soldiers' monument came later, in 1908. 
April 8, 1906, a joint committee of veterans and Sons was organized to 
talk the subject over. August 37 of the same .year, the Sons hinted that 
it would be good policy for the veterans to step to the rear, which they 
did, leaving the younger men to do the soliciting and planning. These 
duties they attended to most thoroughly, so that in October, 1908, the 
completed monument was ready for dedication. The 10th of the month 
brought an immense throng of people to the public park in front of the 
G. A. E. Hall, where appropriate exercises were held. The Hon. Guy 
Ham of Boston spoke for the Sons and Department Commander Alfred 
S. Eoe for the Grand Army. The monument itself, whose chief feature 
is a fine bronze figure of a soldier on the skirmish line, is one of the 
most notable in the State, and reflects great credit on the younger con- 
tingent of the Grand Army. The total outlav was very near $5,000. 
It is not too much to state that thus far the Whitman Camp leads the 
Department or Division in practical work for the cause. David A. Eus- 
sell Post 78 has a wealth of relics in its keeping, including two swords 


carried by the late Col. Franklin P. Harlow, one presented to him by his 
men, the other that worn by him through the service, and in his hand 
when he led the successful charge of his Seventh Eegiment on Marye's 
Height, May 3, 1863. These were intrusted to the Post by the widow of 
the gallant soldier. (James E. Bates, Adjutant.) Vide Plate XII. 

WiLBRAHAM (Hampdex County) . — In 1894, through the generosity 
of Mrs. Lucia S. Foskit, representing her late husband, Stebbins Foskit, 
deceased, there was dedicated in the central village a monument bearing 
the names of those enlisting from Wilbraham. The total cost was $2,500 
above the foundations, which were provided by the veterans of the town. 
The exercises of dedication were conducted by E. K. Wilcox Post of 
Springfield, W. P. Derby, commanding. The principal address was by 
the Eev. Martin S. Howard of Wilbraham. While there is no Post of the 
Grand Army in town, there is an association of veterans, and Comrade 
C. E. Peck possesses the hilt and about nine inches of the blade of a 
saber that was captured in a skirmish at Pocotaligo, S. C, in May, 1862. 
On reaching camp, the weapon was broken into four parts, and Peck's 
share was as above. The other parts, also, must be somewhere in this 
State, as they were all sent home. Mr. Peck also has a magazine Spencer 
carbine, capable of carrying nine cartridges. Though not a government 
weapon, it was borne by members of Company F, First Massachusetts 
Cavalry, first, October, 1862, by Sergt. F. 0. Lombard, who as a lieutenant 
was killed Nov. 27, 1863, at New Hope Church. It is claimed that Capt. 
M. C. Pratt, Company G (killed at Snicker's Ferry, Nov. 3, 1862), car- 
ried the gun before Lombard. The historian of the regiment says this 
was the first magazine gun in the service. Next it was carried by Sergt. 
Bernard Newell, who was killed July 28, 1864, at Newmarket. Finally, 
it came into Peck's hands, and he, by leave of the brigade quartermaster, 
brouglit it home. (Comrade Chauncey E. Peck.) Vide Plate XXXIX. 

Williamsburg (Hampshire County). — There is nothing of a 
monumental nature here, nor is there expectation of any. (Henry W. 
Hill, Town Clerk.) 

WiLLiAMSTOwx (BERKSHIRE Couxty). — While the town has noth- 
ing of a memorial character, it is her good fortune to be the seat of Wil- 
liams College, and the latter, July 28, 1868, dedicated a very handsome 
monument, pedestal and figure, reaching a total height of 25 feet. The 
artist was James G. Batterson of Hartford, and the bronze soldier was 


cast at the Ames works, Chicopee. This figure is of heroic stature and 
has an impressive effect on the multitudes who annually go in and out 
before it. The expense incident to its erection, about $9,000, was met 
entirely by subscriptions from the loyal alumni. E. P. Hopkins Post 209 
meets in rented quarters. (W. E. Stocking, Adjutant.) Vide Plate 

Wilmington (Middlesex County). — Nothing just like the origin 
of the monument in Wilmington is found elsewhere in the Common- 
wealth. Years since a party of young people of the town gave certain 
dramas for public edification, and the fund derived therefrom they de- 
posited in a bank. Calling themselves the Ex-High School Associates, 
they voted to devote the money towards the erection of a soldiers' monu- 
ment. Again and again efforts were made to secure town action with 
reference to the same end, hoping to make the memorial larger and more 
imposing. Failing in this, the Associates determined to do the best 
possible with what they had. The result is a Barre granite monument, in 
the rough, save for the face, on which may be read, "1861 — In Memo- 
riam — 1865. To the men of Wilmington who died that the nation might 
live, this monument is affectionately dedicated. Erected 1902 by the Wil- 
mington Ex-High School Associates of 1863." The dedication was on 
Memorial Day, 1902, and the outlay was $-iOO. Henry W. Eames, now 
of AVoburn, was treasurer of the fund, and the above facts are furnished 
by his wife. Vide Plate XXXVII. 

WiNCHENDON (WORCESTER County). — As early as 1878 an organi- 
zation was effected by surviving soldiers and sailors of the Civil War for 
the purpose of securing funds for a monument. By means of plays, con- 
certs and other entertainments, the fund had risen to $1,200 in 1888, 
when the town appropriated $4,000 for a monument, and the same was 
erected and dedicated Oct. 16, 1889. Its location is the middle of Monu- 
ment Park, a beautiful portion of land, presented for this purpose by the 
widow of the late Epliraim Murdock, Jr., some three acres in extent, fac- 
ing the Murdock School. The grounds have been improved by the plant- 
ing of shade trees, and four heavy cannon have been mounted near the 
monument. The latter is of Barre, Vt., granite, surmounted by the 
bronze figure of a soldier at parade rest. Inscribed are the names of sol- 
diers from the town who lost their lives. Gilman C. Parker Post 153 
occupies rented quarters. 


Winchester (Middlesex County). — About 1880 the town appro- 
priated $300 for foundations on whicli to rear a monument of three 
cannon supporting a fourtli, an ajiposite memorial of the Civil War. It 
stands in the soldiers' lot of Wildwood Cemetery. At an outlay of $750 
the town caused to be finished off, in the upper part of the Town Hall, 
superior accommodations for A. D. Weld Post 148. Equipped with every 
convenience, they are heated and lighted for the Post free of cost. The 
veterans feel that the carefully written data of the part borne by tlie town 
and her soldiers as the war progressed, the same being spread on the town 
records, are tlie very l)est relics of the war ])eriod in the keeping of 
town or Post. (J. T. Wilson, Commander.) Tide Plate XXYII. 

Windsor (Berkshire County). — Though the town furnished nearly 
a hundred men for the war, 1"? of whom lost their lives, there is no public 
memorial to their valor and worth, nor any indication of one to come. 
(Charles S. Galusha, Town Clerk.) 

WiNTHROP (Suffolk County). — At a special to^^n meeting. May 
1-4, 1906, it was unanimously voted to accept the report of a committee 
appointed to investigate the subject of a soldiers' monument. Said re- 
port recommended the appropriation of $3,000 for the erection of a 
monument having a base of Milford pink granite, 16 feet 3 inches by 
8 feet 3 inches, the shaft and statue to be of Westerly, E. I., granite, the 
total height to be 16 feet 2 inches ; the same when erected to stand upon 
the library grounds. These plans and specifications were carried out, 
and the monument was dedicated Memorial Day, 1907. There is no 
Grand Army Post in the town, but about 30 veterans belonging to Posts 
in other towns have an association which is favored by Winthrop with' 
free quarters and appropriations for care, keeping and repairs, with ex- 
ceedingly liberal funds for Memorial Day. A room has been set apart 
in the library for relics, but the display, as yet, is small. (Comrade 
Austin T. Sylvester; Preston B. Churchill, Town Clerk. ^ Vide Plate 

WoBURN (^Middlesex County). — Woburn, where Adams and Han- 
cock took refuge when the British invaded Lexington, is not wanting in 
memorials of the Civil War. April 6, 1868, at a town meeting, it was 
resolved to erect a monument on the soldiers' lot in the cemetery. This 
resolve was carried out. and a very neat and appropriate stone was erected, 


1)earing proper inscriptions, the outlay being abont $"2,0()0. At the same 
meeting it was furtlier resolved that .$10,(IO(» be appropriated for the 
erection of a monument on the public square or Common. A committee 
was appointed and the work faithfully performed, so that Oct. 1-i, 1869, 
the memorial was dedicated, Gen. William Cogswell of Salem being the 
orator. Designed by Martin Milmore, the base and column, of Concord 
granite, reach a height of something more than 13 feet, surmounted by 
the figure of a soldier at rest, with hand on the muzzle of liis gun, cast 
at the x\mes works of Chicopee. The monument bears the names of 92 
soldiers who lost their lives. The dedication was a memorable occasion, 
calling together a great numl)er of people, including almost all the gen- 
eral oflficers then living in the State. The soldiers' lot in the cemetery 
proving too small, a larger one was secured, and the bodies already buried 
were removed, and in the new site yet another monument was placed. 
This is of granite, oblong in form, bearing in bronze representations of 
the departure of the soldiers for the war and the return of the colors; 
also, there are significant inscriptions. The cost, $6,000, was secured 
through the efl^orts of local Posts and Corps, added to a $3,000 appro- 
priation by the city. It was dedicated Memorial Day, 1904, with address 
by Lieut.-Gov. Curtis Guild, Jr. Burbank Post 33 and Woburn Post 161 
occupy rented quarters. (W. P. Warren, Adjutant, Post 33; J. Fred 
Leslie, Adjutant, Post 161.) Vide Plates XXIV. and XXVI. 

Worcester (Worcester County). — The very earliest memorial in 
the city is the tablet in the Sunday School room of the First Unitarian 
Church to the memory of former pupils, 8 in all, who lost their lives in 
the war. Dedicated May, 1872, the estimated cost is $200. Next came 
the great monument on the northeast corner of the Common. Designed 
by Randolph Rogers, costing $50,000, it is one of the most prominent 
memorials existing anywhere. It was unveiled July 15, 1874, in the pres- 
ence of a vast multitude, including Vice-President Henry Wilson, ex- 
Gov. A. H. Bullock, Gen. Charles Devens, Gen. A. E. Burnside, Hon. 
George S. Boutwell and many others. The principal addresses were by 
Messrs. Bullock and Devens. May 29, 1883, through the generosity of 
E. A. Goodnow, there were unveiled in the corridor of the Classical High 
School two marble tablets, bearing the names of 15 high school boys who 
lost their lives in the service; the flag covering them was withdrawn by 
Miss Josephine Gird, whose father, Capt. Joseph Gird, was killed at the 
Wilderness, and whose grandmother was an army nurse. Their cost was 



$600. Three and a half years hiter, or Dec. d, 1886, from the purse of 
Mr. Goodnow and from gifts of Post 10, G. A. R., life-size busts of Gen. 
U. S. Grant and Lieut. Willie Grout, Company D, Fifteenth Regiment 
Massachusetts Infantry, were uncovered. The figures, standing in front 
of the tablets, and costing $1,200, were dedicated with an address by Gen. 
Charles Devens, first Colonel of the Fifteenth Regiment. The artist in 
both instances, tablets and busts, was Andrew O'Connor of Worcester. 
Rural Cemetery has the red sandstone monument to the memory of Gen. 
George B. Boomer, killed at Vicksburg. Surmounted by the figure of an 
eagle just ready for flight, the monument is one of the most symmetrical 
to be found anywhere. At its base take place the memorial exercises. 
May 30, preparatory to decorating the graves in this cemetery. The 
estimated cost of the monument is $2,000. Here, also, is the heroic 
In-onze bust of Gen. George H. Ward, second Colonel of the Fifteenth 
Regiment, killed at Gettysburg. At a cost of $1,400, it was dedicated 
Memorial Day, 1896, with address by Alfred S. Roe, then Commander of 
Post 10. It was designed by Sculptor Doyle of New York, the expense 
being met by popular subscription. One of the few equestrian figures in 
the Commonwealth, that of Gen. Charles De^^ens, stands in front of the 
County Court House. The product of the talent and skill of Daniel C. 
French, and costing $42,000, it was dedicated July 4, 1906, with principal 
address by ex-Lieut.-Gov. Stewart L. Woodford of New York, though 
a brief address was made by the then Secretary of War William H. Taft 
of Ohio, now President of the United States. The necessary funds were 
secured by city and town appropriations in Worcester County. One of the 
notable features of the day was the assembling of the remnants of the 
brigade which the General had so long and successfully led, consisting 
of the Seventli, Tenth and Thirty-seventh Massachusetts Regiments, the 
Second Rhode Island and the Thirty-sixth New York. Hope Cemetery 
also has a monument in the soldiers' lot, consisting of three great cannon 
inverted and united at, their bases. Here take place the initiatory exer- 
cises of Memorial Day. Mechanics Hall is full of war memorials in the 
form of life-size paintings. First, one of President Abraham Lincoln, by 
E. T. Billings of Boston, formerly of Worcester, costing $500, and given 
by the lady friends of the Bay State Shoe and Leather Company, on 
Oct. 4, 1866. The life-size oil painting of Vice-President Henry Wilson, 
by Edgar Parker, costing $1,000, was presented by E. A. Goodnow, Oct. 
27, 1886. A companion to the above, of President James A. Garfield, by 
tlie same artist, was presented by the same donor, Oct. 28, 1882, at a cost 


of $1,000. A life-size oil painting of War Governor John A. Andrew 
and of the abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison, both by Billings, costing 
$500 each, were presented by the employees of the Bay State Shoe and 
Leather Company, — the first on Jan. 9, 1869, and the other, Dec. 17, 
1867. An oil painting of Gen. George H. Ward was presented by the 
Fifteenth Eegiment Association on Oct. 23, 1873, at a cost of $450. A 
life-size oil painting of Sergt. Thomas Plunkett, by J. Madison Stone of 
Worcester, was presented by Francis Plnnkett, Esq., Nov. 22, 1895, at a 
cost of $500. A two-thirds life-size oil painting of Gen. Josiah Pickett, 
by Artist Stone, was presented Oct. 30, 1902, by the Twenty-fifth Eegi- 
ment Association, at a cost of $500. A similar oil painting, by the same 
artist, of Gen. A. B. E. Sprague, was presented Dec. 22, 1903, by the 
Fifty-first Eegiment Association, at a cost of $500. Grand Army Hall on 
Pearl Street is simply filled with the most priceless memorials of the war, 
donated by citizens and by members of the Post. While the Post has the 
marble medallion of General Ward, v/hich for several years was attached 
to the granite monument on the field of Gettysburg, and the plaster cast 
of Lieutenant Grout's bust, the rarest relic of all is accounted the bell of 
the rebel ram " Albemarle," which was sunk by the torpedo affixed by 
Lieut. W. B. Gushing, though the vessel had already been rendered useless 
by the ramming of the United States steamer " Sassacus," under the com- 
mand of Lieut. Francis A. Eoe, later Eear Admiral. As Lieutenant Grout 
was the young soldier in whose memory Henry S. Washburn wrote " The 
Vacant Chair," Worcester people feel that somehow his story belongs 
peculiarly to them. George H. Ward Post 10 leases very commodious 
quarters, and has always done so. Vide Plates II. and XL. 

WoETPiiNGTON (HAMPSHIRE County). — Nothing here in a memo- 
rial way, and nothing expected. (F. H. Burr, Town Clerk.) 

Wrentham (Norfolk County). — Until Plainville became a town 
l)y itself, Wrentham could count itself among the towns with a monument, 
but the setting up of the younger town left the parent without a token, 
and, apparently, without prospects. (D. T. Stone, Town Clerk.) 

Yarmouth (Barxstaele County). — Alphabetically the very last 
town in the Commonwealth, Yarmouth repoi'ts " Nothing done in a mon- 
umental way. nor is there anything expected."'* (Benjamin T. Gorham, 
Town Clerk.) O, *1 4i '\ 











.. 'U, 


« ' * "x^ ^ V % ^ " " ' ^ K ■* * °' ■> 


^^■^ ''* 

A . ^v. 


-^a- A-^ 












5' -<:. 




1^ . • 

..0^ ^'A°' ^^ 


■•■' ,>^, 

s " 









w o ^ <> 






O N 

« . % ' 



^ " 



o « o ,. ^<r 










ST. AUGUSTINE ■ > ^'' 


-o t:^-