(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Mount Morris: past and present; an illustrated history of the township and the village of Mount Morris, Ogle County, Illinois, in their various stages of development, together with a local biographical directory"

m.l: 

Gc 

977.302 
M867ka 
1222054 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01071 5636 



c 



Mouni Morrls: Fasi and Present 



AN ILLUSTRATED HISTORY 



Township and the Village of Mount Morris, Ogle 

County, Illinois, in Their Various 

Stages of Development 



TOGETHEK WITH 



A Local Biographical Directory. 



COMPILED AND PUBLISHED BY 

KABLE BROTHERS. 



Mount Mokkis. III.: 
MOUNT MORRIS INDEX PRINT. 



1222054 



T=>IBEI^.ii^CE. 



It is found by observation and experience that one of the 
greatest pleasures that a man may enjoy is to return, after an 
absence of many years, to the place of his nativity, to view 
the scenes dear to him in days of youth and grasp the hands 
of old schoolmates, the memory of whose faces has been al- 
most obhterated by the passage of time. No matter how 
meagre was his old home, nor how simple his surroundings, 
still there remains that undying interest in the scenes of his 
youth which causes him often to sigh for a few hours to roam 
over these old familiar spots. The poet has truthfully said: 

Hard indeed must a man be made 

By the toil and traffic of gain and trade 

To love not the spot where a boy he played. 

It was therefore thought that if a book could be written 
and supplied with the necessary illustrations to bring back 
some of the pleasant memories of the boyhood days of the 
many old citizens of Mount Morris who have removed to other 
fields of labor, as well as recall to those remaining, facts and 
history which may have escaped their memory; to bring back 
to students of old Rock River Seminary and of Mount Morris 
College, memories of pleasant hours in class-room and on the 
campus; and further to perpetuate in tangible form for the 
present rising generation, the state of affairs and, by many 
views, the appearance of the town and her most influential 
citizens, when they too may go forth to other fields of labor, 
or their memories of their childhood days fade in the dimness 
of advancing age, — could a book be written to accomplish all 
this, and further serve to preserve the main facts for their 
intrinsic historical value, it was thought that a work of the 
kind would be both appreciated and given the proper support. 
With this impression of mind the matter in the following- 
pages was prepared and is presented with the hope that it 
may not prove entirely unsuccessful and that due considera- 



tion may be taken by its readers of this, the first attempt by 
the publishers, of a work of this kind. 

The material herein embodied was gathered from innu- 
merable sources, and it is reasonable to suppose that some 
unavoidable mistakes have been made in names, dates, etc. It 
is not expected to be so perfect that it may be above and be- 
yond criticism, but it is the publishers' hope that it will be 
found measurably correct and generally accurate and relia- 
ble. Much of the information was obtained by personal in- 
terviews with those possessing the desired information, and 
also much was gathered from old and time-worn records, 
scrap-books and newspapers, which were kindly entrusted to 
us by their owners. Among those to whom we are grateful 
for aid in this work might be mentioned: Samuel Knodle, 
Martin T. Rohrer, Hon. R. R. Hitt, Major Chas. Newcomer, 
Capt. Peter Householder, Jonathan Hiestand, Reuben S. Mar- 
shall, Henry Sharer, Michael Bovey, Prof. J. G. Royer, Revs. 
L. L. Lipe, F. W. Nazarene, and D. F. Seyster, N. A. Ank- 
ney, Chas. H. Sharer, H. G. Newcomer, T. C. Williams, and 
many others. Our thanks are also due the many people of 
Mount Morris who have assisted in making the illustrative 
feature of the book a success. 

The photographs reproduced herein have also been 
gathered from various sources. The old views of Mount 
Morris are from old photographs which have long been the 
valued property of our former venerable townsman, Mr. Sam- 
uel Knodle. The majority of the photographs were taken, 
however, by Roy Householder, professional photographer, 
and Roy Jackson, amateur photographer, and some of the 
older ones by J. M. Hosking, deceased, and J. M. Rinedollar. 
Prof. W. L. Eikenberry secured the views which illustrate the 
chapter on " Local Calamities." 

In conclusion we wish to again thank all concerned, not 
only for their support and assistance in the work, but for the 
confidence which has been imposed in the ability of the pub- 
lisliers to produce a work worthy of their assistance and sup- 
])ort. 

HARVEY J. KABLE. 

Drrrmhn; lUUI). HARRY G. KABLE. 



COnSTTEILTTS- 



CHAPTER. PAGE. 

I. Early History and Development, - - - - 9 

II. The Growth of the Village, _ . . . 33 

III. Incorporation of the Village, ----- 57 

IV. Incorporation of the Township, - - - . 73 
V. Rock River Seminary, ------ 81 

VI. Mount Morris College, ----- 95 

VII. The Public Schools, ------ ng 

VIII. The Village Press. ------ 138 

IX. Musical Organizations and Families, - - - - 144 

X. Local Calamities, ------ 152 

XI. Coming of the Railroad, ------ 167 

XII. Religious Organizations, ----- 176 

XIII. Secret Organizations. - - - - - - 199 

XIV. Miscellaneous History, - - - - . 2I6 
XV. Mount Morris of Today, - - - - - 226 

XVI. Township Biographical Directory, - - - 269 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



CHAPTER I. 
EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 

More than three-score years have passed since the hardy immigrants 
from the eastern states pushed their way across mountains and rivers to 
what was then the wild frontier of civilization, — the state of Illinois. 
A company of these pioneers, from Maryland, made the first permanent 
settlement in the wilderness, which now, under a far different aspect, 
bears the name of Mount Morris township. Here, where the primeval 
forest had never been traversed, save by the foot of the red man or by the 
flight of wild game, they hewed the rough timber for their dwellings, and 
established themselves in a colony for the purpose of promoting their 
interests and general welfare. How well they succeeded in laying the 
foundation of a prosperous community, the beautiful and charming town 
of Mount Morris today is a testimony. 

Were one to ascend the steel structure upon which rests the water 
supply of our village, and from this point of vantage contemplate the 
expanse of country spreading out like a panorama for many miles around 
him, noting the several hundred cozy dwellings of our contented and 
peace-loving citizens, the substantial mercantile structures, the several 
institutions of learning, the different church buildings, and, beyond the 
village precincts, the broad well-tilled acres with their neat farmhouses, 
the waving grain reflecting the bright rays of the great orb of day, the 
monotony of which is broken by frequent strips of timber land, the hazy 
smoke of our sister towns going heavenward far oft" near the horizon, over 
all this enchanting scene a spirit of restfulness and contentment resting 
like a benison from on high,— were one to note all this at the present day, 
and then, from the same point, view the same area of land as it appeared 
when the hardy pioneers first trod the virgin soil, what a complete meta- 
morphosis would greet the eye! All the charming attributes of the fore- 
going brightly-depicted scene would vanish, and in their places would 
appear an unbroken expanse of prairie grass, dotted here and there with 
patches of brilliant wild flowers, but not a shrub or a tree to break the mo- 
notony of the view. At a distance, where now are pleasant farmhouses, 
broad areas of well-fenced fields of grain, and miles of graded road, there 
would appear nothing but alternating expanses of unbroken prairie and 
trackless forests, neither bearing evidence of ever having been traversed 
by the foot of man, save, perchance, the slight mark of a trail leading be- 
tween growths of timber, along which bands of Indians galloped upon 

(9) 



10 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT, 

their wiry ponies, and where the deer ruminated, their dainty hoofs dyed 
blood-red by the juice of wild strawberries, ruthlessly trampled under 
foot. 

A description of the region around Mount Morris as it appeared in 
the days of old is most fascinating to the younger generation when they 
have the privilege of hearing it direct from the lips of the old pioneers. 
The present site of Mount Morris, as stated before, was an open prairie, 
with not a tree or a shrub to be found. What is now the college campus 
was then the crest of a hill of considerable size, the country sloping from 
it in all directions. The early settlers say that before the view was ob- 
structed by buildings and trees, the altitude of the hill was very percepti- 
ble. The prairie grass was very rank. In fact, in some places it grew so 
luxuriantly that it was almost impassable. Most of the ravines and hol- 
lows were in a wet, boggy state; and the streams and ponds retained the 
water from rains much longer than now, because of the absence of tiling 
in the lowlands. There abounded hundreds of springs, which have long 
since ceased to flow, owing to the rapid drainage now effected by the work 
of tiling and the development of the soil. 

The patch of prairie in the midst, or rather on the crest, of which 
Mount Morris was founded, contained probably less than ten square miles. 
The margin of timber approached on the north to about the present loca- 
tion of George Windle's residence; on the east, to John T. Kanode's farm; 
on the south, to the Barnhizer and Shaw farms; on the southwest, to 
N. A. Watts'; on the west, to William Lohafer's; and on the northwest, to 
the present timber known as Hitt's woods. The margin, of course, was 
irregular, affording many "bays" of the prairie along the skirts of the 
timber. In these little coves, hidden just within the edge of the woods, 
the first settlers built their rude log-cabins, invariably near some of the 
many fine springs, so that pure fresh water could be readily obtained. 
None of the first settlers ventured oiit upon the prairie to build, probably 
because of the extra labor involved in getting logs for building, and in ob- 
taining fuel and fence-rails. 

The log-cabins built at that time were of the most primitive character. 
They were generally one-story structures, made of round logs, which were 
sometimes not even " scutched down." The roof was made of clapboards, 
which consisted of thin slabs, called " shakes," about three or four feet 
long, split from logs. In the absence of nails, the tiers of these rude 
shingles were held down by lodge-poles. . If there was more than one 
room, it was, in all probability, a shed addition built on one side. If there 
was an upstairs to the house, it was reached by a rough ladder, made from 
a conveniently-sized sapling, through which holes were bored at desired 
intervals, and then the pole was split in half. For rounds, the smaller 
undergrowth of hickory, oak or ash was next brought into use, cut to the 
proper length and the ends dressed down, so as to fit the holes in the side- 
pieces of the ladder. This ladder would be erected in one corner of the 
room, or put up side of the chimney on the exterior of the house. In 
the latter case, a hole was cut through the outer wall of logs, which would 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 11 

furnish admission to the attic. The floor of the dwelling was often of 
nothing but the bare ground, and the furniture was of the most meager 
sort. Three-legged stools were used for chairs; and tables were often 
made from rough slabs split from logs, dressed down with a broad-axe to 
a proper thickness, then fastened together by a cross-piece underneath, 
which was held in place by wooden pins. In each corner a hole was bored 
into which a leg was fitted. Bedsteads were made as follows: A hole was 
bored at the proper height in one of the logs of the side of the building, 
about four feet from the corner. About six feet from the wall, a post was 
driven into the ground. One end of the side-rail of the bed would be fit- 
ted in the auger-hole, and the other end fastened to the post. The foot- 
rail was then provided for in the same way. The slats were next fastened 
from the side-rail to the side of the house, and the bed was done. In the 
case of hotels these bedsteads were often made so that by placing one 
above the other, a single bed- post would support as many as six beds. If 
the occupants of the house consisted of both sexes, or if, as was often the 
case, several families occupied the same room, the beds would be sepa- 
rated by curtains of deer-skins or of some other material, or else the 
light was put out before retiring. This was done by covering up or throw- 
ing water upon the embers in the fire-place. If, by accident, the fire was 
extinguished, it was rekindled by striking flints and catching sparks on 
tinder, there being no matches in those days. 

As mentioned before, the first settlers built their houses along the 
margin of the timber. Later arrivals, however, began to realize the value 
of the prairie land, and started to take up claims there. Probably the 
prairie sod in this vicinity was first turned during the year 1836, but 
many years passed before the entire prairie was brought into the present 
state of cultivation. 

Unlike many sections of Illinois, Mount Morris was entirely free from 
tragedies with the Indians; in fact, the warlike tribes had been driven 
westward before this part of the country became settled. This county 
was originally a part of the hunting-grounds of the Winnebagoes and 
Pottawattomies,and their trails from one grove to another were easily dis- 
cernible, while hundreds of their arrow-heads and other weapons have 
been and are still being found in all parts of the township. In 1832 oc- 
curred the terrible Black Hawk War, and as a result all of the red men, 
except a few dozen peaceful families, were driven westward. At that 
early day no settlers had yet stopped here and consequently the trouble 
was all over when civilization began to dawn in this vicinity. The only 
sight which the early settlers ever got of these swarthy aborigines was an 
occasional band crossing the plains in quest of game or begging. These 
were the most quiet and peaceful of the Indian tribes of the country, but 
they, too, finally became dissatisfied with the restrictions of their treaty 
with the whites, and followed their more warlike brethren to the wilder- 
ness west of the Mississippi, leaving their former lands free to the onward 
march of civilization. 

Settlements were made at a number of points in the county before 



12 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

any claims were taken up in Mount Morris township. Ketfs History of 
Ogle County says: "Isaac Chambers passed through the county limits 
early in the summer of 1827, en route for Galena, and was so favorably im- 
pressed with the beauty of the country and the richness of the soil, that 
he determined to make it his future home, which determination he carried 
out in 1829. John Ankney came up from the southern part of the state, 
in the spring of 1829, and located a claim at Buffalo Grove (west of Polo), 
near where the old Galena road crossed Buffalo creek. After making his 
claim, he returned for his family: and, while he was absent on that mis- 
sion, Isaac Chambers returned from Galena with his family, and stopped 
at White Oak Grove, a small growth or patch of timber about a half-mile 
west of the present village of Porreston. But, not altogether suited, he 
remained there only a short time. He reasoned that the timbered parts 
of the country would become more valuable than the prairie land, because 
of the superabundance of the latter and the comparative scarcity of the 
former. After prospecting around for a while and examining different lo- 
calities, he finally settled at Buffalo Grove, about ten miles south of his 
first stopping place at White Oak Grove. He removed his family there 
and commenced to make arrangements to build a home. . . . As it hap- 
pened, Mr. Chambers had taken the claim previously selected by Mr. 
Ankney; and, while he was perfecting his plans and arrangements for 
opening a road and erecting his house, Mr. Ankney came back with his 
family, and was somewhat surprised to find that his claim had been 
'jumped,' or taken, by Mr. Chambers, while the latter was no less sur- 
prised at the appearance of the former." Mr. Ankney was compelled to 
make a new claim farther down the creek. The History continues: "After 
their houses were built, Chambers and Ankney proceeded to establish the 
dividing line between their claims. Other boundary lines were unneces- 
sary, for there were no other claimants in all the country; and, if they so 
willed it, one of them could claim Rock river for his eastern line, and the 
other one, the Mississippi for his western line. They were, for the time, 
'monarchs of all they surveyed.' One clear star-light night, when the 
moon did not shine, and when there were no clouds floating across the 
sky, they went together to the south side of the grove; and, from a red-oak 
stump, they started toward the North Star, hacking the trees which stood 
in their way, the marked trees being the line between them." 

From the most reliable information it appears that John Phelps was 
the original pioneer in this township, having visited the county and taken 
up a claim about two and one-half miles east of Mount Morris as early as 
1835. It would be interesting to know who was the first white man to set 
foot within the present corporate limits of the village or even the town- 
ship, but information upon this subject cannot be ascertained with any 
degree of accuracy. Possibly Chambers or Ankney may have made a trip 
over from Buffalo Grove, or some trapper or hunter may have wandered 
over this part of the prairie. Possibly Phelps may have been the first, as 
late as 1834, when he came into the county; but certain it is that Phelps 
was the first permanent settler in the township. In the summer of 1836 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 13 

Samuel M. Hitt aud Nathaniel Swiugley cam-e to the township and found 
him living in a cabin two and one-half miles east of the present site of 
Mount Morris: Larkin Baker had a cabin and a claim about four miles 
southeast, subsequently owned by Daniel Price; David Worden lived one 
and one-half miles southwest; and probably one or two others had settled 
along the edge of the timber. Hitt and Swingley, however, went out upon 
the prairie, then left free from the encroachment of civilizatipn, and 
made several claims, including the present site of Mount Morris. They 
remained here during the summer, but at autumn returned to Maryland 
and hired a number of men to settle with them in the new country, prom- 
ising to pay them one dollar per day for service in building houses, split- 
ting rails and building fence, breaking the prairie and harvesting the 
crops. Among those thvis engaged were Michael Bovey, Adam, Daniel and 
John Stover, Balka Niehoff, Samuel Grove, Eli Householder, William 
McDannel, Abram and Jonathan Myers, and Fred Pinkbohnar. This 
party started for their new homes in the west in the spring of 1837. 
Householder, McDannel, and Daniel Stover were accompanied by their 
wives: Mrs. Elizabeth Ankney, with her little son Albertus and her daugh- 
ter Mrs. William Watts, was also a member of the party. They traveled 
by wagons to Wheeling, West Virginia, by boat on the Ohio, Mississippi, 
and Blinois rivers to Peru, and the remaining distance by wagon. Early 
in the spring they arrived at a vacant cabin in Fridley's grove, east of the 
present site of Mount Morris. This cabin had been built and occupied by 
Judge Ford, afterward governor of the state. Here the first Maryland 
colony, as these settlers were afterward termed, remained for two 
weeks, while the men-folks proceeded to erect their cabins. The first one 
built by them, which was also the first in the township, was a double log- 
cabin, on the claim of Mrs. Ankney, about three-quarters of a mile south- 
west of the present village of Moimt Morris. Half of this house was 
moved, at a later day, down into the grove near a spring, and was finally 
torn down. The other half stood in the field a few rods east of the pres- 
ent residence of N. A. Watts, and was used as an implement house until a 
a year or so ago, when it, too, shared the fate of its partner and was torn 
down for fuel. Unfortunately, no photograph was ever taken of this his- 
toric old building, but probably the majority of our citizens can yet re- 
member its appearance as it stood isolated, a rude monument to the toils 
aud hardships of our pioneer fathers. In the two small rooms of this 
cabin lived four families, - those of Mrs. Ankney and Eli Householder in 
one part, and Messrs. Stover and McDannel in the other. 

While this cabin was being completed, the entire party remained in 
the Ford cabin. A bakeoven, constructed by Mrs. Ankney, was used in 
preparing their food, and at night they slept on " wagoner beds," which 
consisted of plain mattresses, rolled up during the day and spread out on 
the garret floor at night. Several other cabins were soon completed, how- 
ever, and the members of the colony became more comfortably located. 
Mr. Swingley kept the men whom he had brought along busily engaged in 
cutting down trees in the timber, splitting rails and building fences, and 



u 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



cultivating several small fields of grain, for which prairie sod had been 
broken in the spring. Mr. Bovey worked with these men during the entire 
summer and following winter, and tells many interesting tales of their ex- 
periences. With three companions he went up near Forreston. one week 
in harvest, and worked six days cradling a field of oats. During the first 
night their horses trampled their provisions and left them with nothing to 
eat. Luckily a man, who was bound eastward toward Swiugley's cabin, 
came along, and through him they got word to their employer. After a 
day with nothing to eat but several small potatoes, they were relieved with 
a new supply of provisions. Mr. Bovey also relates an incident of that 

winter, when with several of 
the men of the colony he got 
lost on the prairie during a bit- 
ter cold night; and the party 
drove over the snow-covered 
ground for many hours in a 
fruitless search for their cabin. 
Daylight finally righted them 
and they then reached home in 
safety. 

Of these settlers most .of 
them remained in the county. 
Mr. Bovey took up a claim 
northwest of town and lived 
there until old age compelled 
him to retire, when he took up 
his abode with his daughter, 
Mrs. Josiah Avey. He is one of 
perhaps less than a dozen of the 
very early settlers of the town- 
ship who survive. Eli House- 
holder lived here two years and 
then moved six miles south, 
where he died in 1896. Mr. 
Stover also died in this vicinity. 
Mr. McDannel, after living 
many years on his farm in Pine 
Creek, moved to Iowa, where he died. Fred. Finkbohnar moved north to 
Adeline, where his relatives still live. 'Squire Samuel M. Hitt built a log- 
cabin on one of his claims, about three miles west of town, later known as 
the Zumdahl property. There with his family, including Margaret, 
Andrew, Robert, George, John W., and Joseph, he lived until his death in 
1859. In 1858 he began the erection of the fine stone residence, now owned 
and occupied by Christian Zumdahl, and, although it was not quite com- 
pleted, he was living in it at the time of his death. The new house stands 
very near the foundation of the old log-cabin. Captain Nathaniel 
Swingley took up the claim of the farm, subsequently owned by Jacob 




MICHAEL BOVEY. 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOP.MB^'T. 



Keedy and later by his son, Ed- 
ward Keedy, and still later by 
William Koontz. Mr. Swingley 
lived there only until 1850, when 
he became affected by the gold- 
fever craze and started for the 
gold-fields in California. After 
three years in California, he re- 
turned to Ogle county, and 
located at Creston, Dement 
township, where he died. 

In this first emigration were 
a number of children who ac- 
companied their parents on the 
long overland journey, shared 
with them the inconveniences 
of settling in an undeveloped 
country, and grew up to man- 
hood and womanhood amid the 
I'ough surroundings of their 
homes in the wilderness. These 
should therefore be classed 
along with the earliest settlers 




ALBERTUS ANKNEY. 




CAPT. PETEf- 



HOUSEHOLDER. 



of the township. Among those 
who came here in early child- 
hood were Anna and Albertus 
Ankney, children of Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Ankney (who afterward 
married James McCoy, Sr.), and 
Peter Householder. Of these, 
Anna Ankney married William 
Watts, Sr., and lived on the old 
Watts homestead until the time 
of her death in 1898. Her broth- 
er Albertus and Peter House- 
holder are now living, and are 
respected residents of our vil- 
lage. These last two were aged 
respectively four and two years 
when brought from the east, 
and they have literally grown 
up with the country. Both are 
yet in their sixties, and bid fair 
to witness many more years of 
the steady advancement and 
the healthful growth of Illinois. 



16 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Solon Crowell, father of the present State's Attorney of Ogle county. 
S. W. Crowell, was a very early settler in the township, having occupied 
a claim a mile north of town, and this claim is now included in the farms 
of S. F. Stonebraker and I. W. Marshall. During the year 1837, in which the 
body of settlers already described as the first Maryland colony came to the 
township, there also came the Rev. T. S. Hitt, Jacob Rice, Sr., and John 
Wagner, whose families have been among the most substantial and promi- 
nent citizens of this community. Rev. Hitt and wife left Ohio in a car- 
riage in the fall of 1837, to examine the new country of which his brother 
Samuel had written such favorable accounts. He was a Methodist -minis- 
ter, and expected to continue his work in the new country. On arrival 
here, in September, he occupied a house which Martin Reynolds, a brother- 
in-law, was then completing on the site of William Lohaf er's present resi- 
dence, west of town. Later he invested in a tract of land two and one-half 
miles south of town. This tract embraced one thoiisand acres, one hun- 
dred of which was broken. The price paid Mr. Painter for the same was 
twenty-five hundred dollars. Rev. Hitt, however, soon moved to a claim 
which his brother Samuel had reserved for him. This claim consisted of 
what is now the Railroad Addition to the village and the farm immedi- 
ately northeast, now owned by R. R. Hitt and cutlivated by Gera Watts. 
Here Rev. Hitt lived until his death, September 23, 1872. _ He had eight 
children, as follows: Hon. R. R. Hitt, Mrs. Margaret Newcomer and Mrs. 
Charles Newcomer, of this place; John, who has been Deputy Collector of 
Customs in Chicago over thirty years; Emery, Morris and Henry P. Hitt, 
and Mrs. Elizabeth Wagner, all living in the vicinity of Tyndall^ South 
Dakota. Of this family the most widely known is the first mentioned. — 
Congressman Robert R. Hitt. Mr. Hitt was but three years of age when 
his father emigrated from the east in 1837, and has a full knowledge of the 
early pioneer days of Ogle county. For sixty-three years he has been a 
resident of Mount Morris, during which time he has steadily mounted the 
arduous ladder leading to the temple of fame until his name and the pres- 
tige of his statesmanship have become known not only in this country but 
also in foreign lands. Mount Morris is proud of the fact that he grew to 
manhood in this community, and that he continues to make the village his 
place of residence. As one of the early settlers of the township his por- 
trait is inserted in this chapter, along with the other pioneers who survive. 
However, a more complete history of his eventful life will be found in the 
biographical directory in the rear of this book. 

Jacob Rice, Sr., and family left Washington county, Maryland, in 
September, 1836, intending to locate in Hlinois. They wintered in Ohio 
with Mr. Rice's brother-in-law, John Wagner. Sr., and in the spring both 
men came on horseback to Ogle county, to take up claims, which they did 
within three miles of Mount Morris. Their families, each consisting of 
twelve children, followed them in July. Mr. Rice's claim was the old Rice 
farm north of town, now owned by his grandson, J. L. Rice, and occupied 
by William Funk. Here the large family was raised and scattered to dif- 
ferent parts of the country. Those of the family best known in Ogle 




HON. ROBERT R. HITT. 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 



19 



county were Hon. Isaac Rice, father of banker J. L. Rice; John Rice, father 
of banker John H. Rice; and Jacob Rice, Jr., father of Fred, and William 
Rice, living north of Mount Morris, all three of whom are now dead. 
Mrs. Daniel Etnyre, of Oregon, and Mrs. Susan Thomas, of Leaf River, 
are two of the daughters yet living. 

John Wagner's claim comprised the farm now owned by George Carr, 
northeast of town. Here his rather remarkable and time-honored family 
was raised, every one of his six sons and six daughters living to a ripe old 
age and scattering to all points of the compass. The circle was not broken 
until the death of Joseph, in 1891, at which time the eldest was aged 75 
years and the youngest 49 years. Eight are yet living; viz., Mrs. J. A. 
Knodle, of Mount Morris; Mrs. Barbara McNeill, Mrs. Catherine Griffin, 
Capt. David C, Reuben and Nehemiah, of Chicago; Mrs. Henry Wertz, of 
Falls City, Nebr., and Mrs. Sarah Good, of Sedgwick, Kans. Capt. Benj. 
Wagner died in 1898: John, in 1897; and Mrs. John Timmerman, in 1898. 
This family, so well preserved for so many years, held many enjoyable re- 
unions, a number of them in Mount Morris. The last, the twelfth since 
the Civil War, was held in June, 1896, at the residence of one of the sisters, 
Mrs. J. A. Knodle, in Mount Morris, at which the eleven living members of 
the family were present. x\t that time it was estimated that thirty-eight 
of their children, seventy-two grandchildren and five great-grandchildren 
were living. A picture was taken at this reunion of Aunt Kittie Rice, 
Grandmother Mumma, Uncle 
George Fouke and Uncle John 
Timmerman, all of them being 
over ninety years of age. An- 
other, taken of the entire assem- 
blage, is shown on page 21. 
Many persons appear in it who 
have since died. 

Another arrival from the 
east in 1837 was Caleb Marshall 
who was accompanied by his 
family. His son, Reuben S., 
now living on the old home- 
stead, three miles north of town, 
was but ten years of age at that 
time, and he has a vivid remem- 
brance of the early pioneer days. 
Mrs. John Gale, of Oregon; Mrs. 
Elmira Spenser, of Nora Spring, 
Iowa; and Isaac S. Marshall, of 
Decatur county, Iowa, are the 
other living children. 

In September, 18.37, for one 
thousand dollars, John Fridley 
purchased the old Ford cabin reuben s. Marshall. 




20 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



and claim, where he continued to live until the time of his death. The 
land then became the property of his sons, Andrew, David, John, Jacob 
and Benjamin. Of these, Andrew, John and Benjamin are yet living in the 
township, and David and Jacob have died. 

These settlers who arrived in 18.37 were well pleased with the new 
counti'y, and consequently in the following spring, 18.38, at the solicitation 
of 'Squiie Samuel Hitt and Capt. Nathaniel Swingley, who had induced 
many of the settlers of the year previous to emigrate, a large number of 
families, known as the Maryland colony proper, left their eastern homes 
and came to Mount Morris township. Many of them took vip claims here, 
while others went to Carroll county and other places. Among these fam- 
ilies were the Hers, the Etnyres and the Sprechers. In May, A. Quimby 
Allen, father of R. Q. and E. J. Allen; Philip Sprecher, father of John and 
George Sprecher: and John S. Miller arrived in a carriage from Maryland. 
Mr. Allen remained and taught the first school in the township. Mr. 
Sprecher returned to Maryland and brought his family back with him the 
following spring, settling upon a claim part of which is the farm now 
owned by Henry Moats, northeast of town. Others who came during 1838 
and 18.39 were John Smith, John Coffman and family, Henry Artz, Michael 
Brantner, Henry Sharer, Henry Hiestand and family, John Wallace, Sr., 
and others. Mr. Coffman. who was the father of Frank Coffman, of this 
place, settled about two miles southwest of the village, where he died sev- 
eral years ago. Mr. Artz lived 
for many years three and one- 
half miles southeast of the vil- 
lage, and has also died. Michael 
Branter lives near Maryland 
and is now well advanced in 
age. Henry Sharer is still an 
honored and respected citizen 
of Mount Morris, and passed 
his eighty-third milestone 
March 29, 1900. His portrait 
appears on page 25. John 
Wallace, who married a sister 
of Rev. Thomas and Samuel 
Hitt, owned the farm now the 
property of Mrs. Margaret New- 
comer and cultivated by Wil- 
liam Castle. He died at this 
place over forty years ago. 

Among others who came 
during the early forties might 
be mentioned Jacob Turney, 
Michael Swingley, David Mum- 
ma,William Printz, Jonas Shafs- 
BENJAMiN SWINGLEY. tall, Moses Crowcll, Jacob Buck, 




EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 23 

Daniel Wolfe, Joseph Rowe, Jacob Detrick, Samuel S. Fouts, Beujaniin 
Myers, Silas Snyder, Adam Patterson, Otho Wallace, Solomon Nalley, 
Henry A. Neff, Bartholomew and Benjamin McNutt, Jacob Hiestand, Wil- 
liam Watts, Daniel and P. B. Brayton, Peter, Emanuel, Jonathan, Jacob 
and Joseph Knodle, many of them with their families. Still later came 
Benjamin Swingley, whose portrait is shown on page 20; Prank Hamilton, 
Samuel Newcomer and his son Charles, George Avey, father of Josiah 
Avey: Emanuel, Henry and Andrew Newcomer: Joseph and Prisby Watts, 
and scores of others. About this time they began to come so rapidly that 
it would be useless to attempt to keep track of them. In fact, the Mary- 
land people have never ceased coming, and today the great majority of the 
residents of Mount Morris township are either natives of Maryland or 
children of immigrants from that state. It is a noticeable fact, and one 
often commented upon, that the obituaries of those dying in this com- 
munity, as published in the Mount Morris papers almost invariably con- 
tain the clause, " was born in Washington county, Maryland."' 

Much more than what has already been said concei-ning the appear- 
ance and condition of the country in the thirties and early forties and 
of pioneer life of those days, could yet be written. As has already been 
stated, the Indians had practically left this part of the country when the 
first settlers arrived, and no trouble was experienced with them. But the 
township did not entirely escape from the ravages of the early bands of 
pi'airie robbers who harassed the settlers principally by stealing their 
horses and smuggling them during the night-time along certain lines of 
dishonest settlers, something in the manner of the ''underground rail- 
way " by which slaves were aided in their flight to Canada before the war. 
These prairie pirates were well organized all over the country, being a 
combination of horse thieves, counterfeiters and murderers. At a very 
early day they held almost undisputed and unobstructed dominion 
throughout this whole section of the country, and very few of the honest 
settlers were fortunate enough to keep all their property from being swept 
into the meshes of the net-work these land pirates had spread around 
them. The principal leaders of this gang of cut-throats were John Dris- 
coll, John Brodie and Samuel Aikens and their eight sous, William Bridge 
and Norton Royce. Although none of them were residents of the town- 
ship, their operations were often carried on in this vicinity. Their nefari- 
ous transactions became so intolerable at last that an organization of 
settlers, known as Vigilantes, was formed, the members of which proceed- 
ed to clear the country of these villains in a summary manner. A man by 
the name of John Campbell, of White Rock, captain of the Vigilantes, was 
shot by the Driscolls in 1841, and immediately the entire country was 
scoured until the murderers were caught. A brief trial was given them, 
the entire one hundred and eleven Vigilantes serving as a jury, and 
being found guilty, they were shot without further parley, each being 
pierced by over fifty rifle balls. By this vigorous action the settlers pro- 
tected their interests very effectually until the time when the regular 
courts of justice dealt with this class of criminals. A number of settlers 



24 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

from this vicinity had a hand in the execution of the Driscolls. The 
prairie fires is one of the interesting topics that might be discussed. 
At least once every year, and often several times in one season, some 
careless settler would allow fire to get started in the long grass on 
his claim; and, ere he could mend the mischief, the flames, fed by the thick 
growth of vegetation, would soon be speeding across the prairie with the 
speed of the wind, often faster than a horse could gallop, a leaping, de- 
vouring wall of flame and smoke. The settlers kept these fires from de- 
vastating their fields and homes by plowing up the soil in wide tracts, over 
which the flames could not leap. Occasionally, persons were caught out 
upon the broad prairies by these fires, and were compelled to adopt sum- 
mary means for protection, if flight were found impracticable. This was 
accomplished by starting a new fire at the place where they stood. This 
new fire, caught by the wind, would soon start ahead and burn a track 
upon which they could advance and be free from the fire advancing in the 
rear. When the country became fairly well settled, and one of these fires 
would get started, the men over the whole neighborhood would turn out 
to fight the devouring element. Many of our citizens can yet remember 
instances of this kind. 

The first settlers found an abundance of game in this region. The 
most plentiful was the deer, thousands of which were native in the coun- 
try. Mr. Michael Bovey avows having counted as many as sixty in a herd, 
and Henry Sharer, who was something of a hunter, claims to have seen 
herds containing over a hundred. While in the east Mr. Sharer was a 
great lover of fox-hunting with hounds, and he brought five good hounds 
with him when he came west in 18.39. He soon found, however, that the 
still deer hunters here were very much opposed to hounds, because they 
tended to frighten the deer from the neighborhood. Accordingly, it was 
not long until all of his hounds had been shot. At that time one could 
not go through the timber very far without stirring up several droves of 
the timid deer, which, however, spent most of their day-time upon the 
prairie, if not too much molested, and retreated to the timber at night. 
They were very timid, and considerable experience was necessary to en- 
able the hunters to get sufficiently close to kill them. Then, too, the 
hunters were not as well supplied with guns and ammunition as they might 
have been, since these articles had to be brought from Chicago by team. 
However, some of them were able to slaughter many of the deer, and a 
liberal supply of venison was kept on hand. The Rock River Register, a 
paper published in Mount Morris in 1842, of which a full account appears 
elsewhere, contains the following item of news, headed "Gunning Un- 
paralleled," which shows to what extent deer were slaughtered then. 
It is interesting now, when a live deer would be a curiosity in this region. 

The extent to which David Mumma. of this neighborhood, shoots down our deer 
strikes us as ])eing pretty alarmingly exhausting. While his extraordinary Nimrod- 
ian exploits render David our boast, yet we must fear that he is i)laying havoc with 
our game. 

He has shot seventy deer this season. He has sold deer skins to the amount of $:!(». 
besides which he has taken and sold otters" skins and other peltry. He is now taking a 




HENRY SHARER. 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. '2 1 

load of venison (hindquarters) to Chicago. Here mark hispro-PENCE-City. Besides all 
this, he has feasted on the forequarters. and treated his neighbors bountifully to the 
same luxury. 

In one of his hunts, he sent a l)nllet through the vitals of three deer at once, laying 
them all low. Who has ever equaled this shot? We ask who? 

The deer in Ogle county have long since been exterminated. Prob- 
ably the last killed in this vicinity vi^ere shot in 1862 by Reuben S. Mar- 
shall, several miles north of town. For a number of years previous very 
few of the animals were ever sighted, but these had evidently escaped the 
Nimrods of the country and wandered from some unfrequented timber, 
only to fall victims to Mr. Marshall's good marksmanship. These last deer 
were a buck, a doe and a fawn, all of which Mr. Marshall succeeded in kill- 
ing. 

Small game was also very plentiful in this vicinity. Prairie chickens 
without end nested on the prairie, and the hunters could bag them by the 
hundred. Wild ducks also were numerous in certain seasons and they af- 
forded many a delicious repast for our hard-working fathers. There were 
some rabbits in the county, but not nearly as many as at the present time, 
— a rather peculiar fact. In the timber, squirrels of several varieties were 
plentiful, and pheasants were frequently met with. 

In addition to the game animals there were two varieties of the wolf, 
— the grey and the red, the latter being much the smaller and more nu- 
merous. These animals were too small and timid to do the settlers bodily 
injury, but each possessed a very noticeable "bark," one being capable of 
making as much noise as a half-dozen dogs, as an old settler expressed it. 
Dozens of them in the winter time made the nights hideous with their 
barking and yelping, especially if there was a dog about to worry them. 
When the snow lay upon the ground for long periods, these animals would 
become desperate for something to eat, and at such times were quite bold 
in attacking some of the smaller domestic animals. 

The long thick prairie grass harbored an endless number of different 
varieties of the snake, some of them being of a dangerous character. 
Rattlesnakes were probably the most numerous of the poisonous kind, 
and quite frequently some unwary youngster, and sometimes older people, 
would be bitten by them. Being on the alert for such emergencies, the 
settlers were able to administer speedy remedies, and fatal results were 
easily averted. Copper-heads, blue-racers and bull-snakes were also plen- 
tiful. Persons traveling on the prairie, whether for short or long dis- 
tances, always carried a stout club, if not a gun, and no one ever lost the 
opportunity of dispatching all of these reptiles they chanced to meet. 
By this vigilance the cultivated portions of the prairie were in a few years 
practically freed from these dangerous pests. 

Old settlers are frequently heard to remark upon the great abundance 
of wild strawberries which grew in the bottoms and along the timbei*. 
The berries grew in large luscious clusters, with long stems to hold the 
ripening fruit near the top of the high growth of vegetation. Those who 
gathered them in their childhood days affirm that they were sweeter and 



28 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

better than the present cultivated species. Besides strawberries, the set- 
tlers had access to many wild plum thickets, the fruit from which was ex- 
cellent and easily gathered. In the groves, hickory nuts and walnuts were 
so amazingly abundant that the amount gathered was but a tithe of those 
allowed to go to waste. Then, instead of rushing to the timber when the 
nuts were so green that a blow from a stout club would be necessary to 
disengage each individual nut from its twig, as the custom now is, the peo- 
ple waited until the frost burst open the hulls and the nuts could be gath- 
ered by the sackful under the trees. 

At an early day fish were very abundant in Pine creek and Rock river. 
In the former stream, before the dam was built and when the water stood 
considerably higher than in late years, many fine fish came up from the 
river and were easily captured. Fishing was generally done with seines, 
there being no laws in those days to restrict it, as there are now. 

The first fences built were of two varieties. When the owner of a 
claim had access to timber, he would probably split rails and construct 
the ordinary " worm," or " stake and rider," fence, which was common un- 
til late years, it being replaced principally by light but substantial patent 
wire fences, to keep up with the march of progress. The first fence built 
on the prairie, however, was constructed of sod. A ditch about three feet 
wide and four feet deep was dug, and the dirt thrown up to a height of 
four feet on one side, the sod taken from the ditch being planted on the 
ridge to keep it in shape. 

Old settlers tell us that the winters of the thirties, forties and fifties 
were much more regular than in late years. Snow lay upon the ground all 
winter, and the weather continued cold until spring gradually took posses- 
sion of the earth. Winter and spring and fall and winter weather appar- 
ently did not change to such sudden extremes, but converged more regu- 
larly. No cyclones were ever heard of. 



The stories of the founding of Mount Morris and of Rock River 
Seminary are one and the same, and in a chapter devoted to the latter the 
subject is treated at some length. It will suffice to say here 
The Village ^^^^ ^^^ Illinois Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
**"" ^ church, which was deeply interested in the cause of educa- 

tion, had, at the earnest solicitation of many of the then limited members 
of the church in the state, concluded to establish a seminary in Illinois, 
and appointed a committee to select a location. The members of the 
Maryland colony determined to land the enterprise, if possible, and final- 
ly, having pledged an extraordinarily large sum, both in cash and in lands, 
they succeeded. The committee, May 4, 1839, proceeded to select a site for 
the future seminary, which was destined to exercise such an important in- 
fluence in northern Illinois, and they " drove the stake " for the building 
on the summit into which the grandly-rolling prairie crested. From this 
point the committee had a commanding view of a large extent of country 
of almost marvelous beauty, dotted on every side with near-approaching 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 29 

groves. Not a building was standing within the present corporate limits 
of Mount Morris when this selection was made, showing that the location 
of the seminary constituted the real founding of the village. The con- 
tract for the building was let at eighteen thousand dollars to James B. 
McCoy, father of J. E., A. S., and James McCoy. Work was begun at once. 

The first house built within the corporate limits of the village was a 
small frame building erected by Mr. McCoy to board his carpenters. It 
was located within the present campus limits, across from the old Hilger 
house on the south side. In 18il it was moved south to the present site of 
A. S. McCoy's residence. Later it was moved still farther south to the lot 
now owned by Robert Wright, where it was occupied for many years as a 
residence by William Fouke. At present it is situated in the rear of Mr. 
Wright's new house, and is being used as a barn. An engraving of it ap- 
pears as the frontispiece of this volume. The house is not very inviting 
in appearance, but it is interesting because of its being the first house in 
Mount Morris. 

The second building erected was, of course the seminary structure, 
the corner-stone of which was laid July 4, 1839. This structure stood 
through many years of usefulness, but was finally torn down in 1893, to 
give place to a ladies' new dormitory, which was erected a few rods west of 
the old foundation. The next building erected was a barn, raised by Rev. 
John Sharp in 18-10. But living room being in great demand at that time, 
it was divided into two apartments and occupied by Rev. Philo Judson 
and Frederick Petrie together with their families, one family in each 
room. It was afterward finished up and moved to about the present site 
of William Miller's furniture store on Front street, and was transformed 
into the residence of M. T. Rohrer. Later it was torn down to give place 
for the erection of G. W. Deppen's opera house, now William Miller's fur- 
niture store. The next house built, the first expressly for a residence, was 
a brick structure occupying the present site of William Newcomer's resi- 
dence. It was used for a time as a hotel and was finally torn down in 1872 
by Andrew Newcomer, and the present frame building was erected in its 
place. Houses were built so rapidly after this that it is impossible to 
name them in the order of their erection. During the first several years 
the seminary was the only enterprise in the village, the inhabitants being 
principally those connected with that institution. During the latter part 
of 1841 the village acquired a newspaper, the Rock 'River Register, the pub- 
lication of which was a rather hazardous experiment at that early day, as 
any one can readily conceive when the extreme sparseness of the popula- 
tion is taken into consideration. Of this publication more is said in a 
subsequent chapter. The state of the village upon the first day of Janu- 
ary, 1842, when the first number of the Register was issued, is given in the 
following item, which appeared in that issue: 

M<JUNT MORRIS. 
We hail from the top of Mount Morris; and it is our purpose, while we reign edi- 
torially, to hail very effectually,— each of our conglomerations being of the " weight 
of a tulent." 



30 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Most seriously, we hail from the new and hale little village of Mount Morris, in 
Ogle county, state of Illinois {en passant, we shall not be very ill in noise; we hope to 
do a share of noise.— but to Ogle shall be far from us !). 

Well. Mount Morris was well founded in the spring- of 1841. and it is now already 
found, when not yet ten months old. to hold 282 souls, inclusive of the teachers and 
students at Rock River Seminary, which dignifies the center of the village. This day, 
Jan. 1, 1842. the citizens number 137. and the town consists of twenty-one houses. 

Mount Morris is five miles west of Oregon city, in the same county, and eighty 
miles west of Chicago. It is handsomely situated on a considerably elevated portion 
of one of the most beautiful and extraordinarily fertile prairies which distinguish 
Illinois. —especially the Rock river region,— for abundance and excellence of agricul- 
tural productions. 

Mount Morris is named in honor of Bishop Morris, of the M. E. church. 

The everyday life of the citizens at that time contained much that 
would be novel indeed to the present resident of Mount Morris. Peter 
Knodle, who died at his home in Mount Morris in 1892, came to the town- 
ship in the fall of 1841, and for a time after his arrival he kept a diary, 
which is still preserved by his wife, Mrs. Mary Knodle. The entries give 
some idea of the local conditions at that time. The record is considered 
to be of sufficient interest to reproduce here. Beyond a few necessary 
changes in orthography and grammar, the diary is given exactly as writ- 
ten by Mr. Knodle: 

PETER KNODLES DIARY. 
Commenced on 

Wednesday. Seftembeh 29, 1841. 



Landed.— We were traveling for six weeks and finally landed at Mr. James CofP- 
mans. on Wednesday at 10 o'clock A. M.. September 29. 1841. 

Building. — We commenced building a frame house in Mount Morris, to live i:i, in 
order to l)e handy to the printing-office. Commenced on Monday. October 4. 

East.— Mr. James Coffman is taking his seat in the stage this day for Washing- 
ton county. Maryland. Wednesday. October 6. 

Raising. — We raised our house on Monday, October 10. with five hands: viz., father, 
Walter McNutt. Edmond Coffman. Jonathan Knodle and myself. 

Hauling.— We brought from Pecatonica two loads of siding for our house on 
Tuesday. October 19. 

Flooeing Wobked.— Walter McNutt and myself commenced working flooring 
plank on Wednesday, October 20. 

Rain. — We had a good shower of rain this day. or rather, to he more explicit, this 
morning. Tuesday, October 19. 

FiKE. — There was a fire broke out west of Mr. .James Coft'man's. and drew towards 
the timber. We had hard fighting, as the wind was blowing hard against us. It was 
on Thursday. Octol)er 21. 

Husking.— Mr. John Coffman husked his corn on Wednesday, October 27. Com- 
menced about one o'clock P. M. and finished about dusk, and then returned to the house 
for supijer. 

Tkip to Chicago. — Father started to Chicago for some articles, such as a cooking 
stove, window-sash, putty, glass, etc. Friday. October 29. 

CovEKiNG.— Commenced covering our house on Friday. October 29. The coverers 
were Walter McNutt and myself. 

Rain.— Saturday. October :^0. we had considerable rain. It commenced raining 
early in the morning and continued until evening, when it commenced blowing and 
blew very rapid nearly all night. 



EARLY HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT. 31 

Window-Frames. — We made our window-frames on Monday. November 1. Walter 
McNiitt and myself commenced in the morning and finished five frames till night. It 
was very stormy and rainy this day. It was thought that it was the heaviest wind that 
was experienced in this part of the country for more than eighteen months. 

Snow.— November 3. We had snow this day, to the depth of one-half an inch, and 
very hard winds with it. hard indeed and cool accordingly. 

Akeived.— From St. Louis. Emanuel Knodle, November 18. He brought our press as 
far as Peru. He purchased type and other printing materials. 

Snow. — On Thursday morning. November 28. before daylight, it commenced snow- 
ing and storming, and continued most of the day. The depth of the snow was four 
inches. 

Mehcury. — November 21, at half-past five o'clock P. M., the mercury stood at fifty- 
three degress. November 22, early in the morning, it was thirty-eight degrees. At five 
o'clock P. M.. same day, it was thirty-five degrees. Tuesday. Novemljer 23. it was freez- 
ing most of the day. 

Snow. — Monday night. November 29. it snowed about an inch. 

Butchering.'— John C. Coffman butchers Tuesday. November 30. 

Wolf Hunt. — Samuel M. Hitt, Esq.. Dr. .1. J. Beatty and others turned out on a 
wolf hunt December 1. 

Butchering.— At James CofFmans, Thursday, December 2. 

Received. — Our press on Saturday, November 29. 

Goods Received. — On Monday, December 6, Mr. Mc delivered our goods in 

Mount Morris: also Mr. Beellers two boxes. 

Removed.— Our press on Wednesday, December 18, to Mr. McFarland's, in a room 
that he rented to ns. 

Moving.— On Thursday, December 9, we moved in our new house at Mount Morris. 

Rain. — A drizzling rain fell all day today and part of the night. December 14. 

Snow. — December 1.5 we had snow to the depth of about one-quarter of an inch. 

Arrived. — On November 27 James Coffman and Nathaniel Swingley started from 
Washington county, Maryland, for Ogle county, Illinois, and arrived at Mount Morris 
December 16. They brought along a letter for me from my cousin Samuel Knodle. 

Distributing. — Commenced distributing type December 16, and also made a table 
for the forms, a galley, and other sundry articles for the office. 

Trip to Chicago.— On Friday, December 17, father and Jacob Knodle started to 
Chicago to procure a stove for the printing-office, printing paper and many other 
articles. 

Composition Roller.— I made a composition roller on Saturday evening. Decem- 
ber 18. I got through with it about nine o'clock. I had a little difficulty in moulding 
it the first trial, it being too stiff, and we had to boil it a little more until it got a little 
thinner. 

Accident. — On Monday. December 20, I was leveling the composing-stone in the 
press, and by pressing on it, it cracked clean across the width of the stone. 

Snow and Rain.— On Tuesday, December 21, it commenced snowing and raining, 
and continued until the next day. 

Setting Type.— Commenced setting type on Monday, December 13. 

Lyceum. — I was present when the merits of the Subtreasury system were debated 
on Friday evening. December 24. The decision was in favor of the Subtreasury system. 

Arrived.- Father arrived from Chicago on Sunday, Dec. 26, with printing paper 
and stove for the office. 

Accident.— On Tuesday, January 4, 1842, as I was going to the printing-office, I 
slipped and fell, cutting my wrist. 

Mercury.— January 4. Seven o'clock A. M., two degrees below zero. Noon, eight 
degrees above zero. Four o'clock P. M., four degrees above zero. 

Commenced Work. — On January 10, after having been delayed a week on account 
of having a sore arm. 

Cutting Logs.— Jacob and Jonathan Knodle commenced cutting logs, to build a 
printing-office and workshop, January 14. 

Received a Pamphlet. — January 16. from Samuel Knodle. The postage was 
twenty-five cents, there being a few lines written therein. 



32 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Visit.— Mr Philip Sales paid us a visit on Satnrdii.v evening-, January 1.'). He re- 
mained with us all nig-ht. 

Snow.— On Wednesday evening and Thursday morning, January 18 and 19, there 
fell snow to the dejjtli of six inches. 

Accident.— On Monday morning. January 23, Mr. Steward met with a sad accident 
in cutting down a tree. It fell on him and broke his arm and leg. He lives near Days- 
ville. Dr. Beatty is now attending him. 

Editor Removed. — On Thursday. February 24, we removed Mr. Emanuel (Knodle) 
from the printing-office to Jonathan Knodles. a distance of about one-half a mile. 

A Meeting.— There was a meeting held in Oregon city, on Saturday, February 26. 
on this territorial question. 

Foggy. — This evening. March 1. it is so foggy that you cannot see one-quarter of a 
mile ahead, and it is thundering and lightening. 

Died. — At Mount Morris, on Sabbath morning, March 13, Emanuel Knodle, son of 
Samuel and Jane Knodle. of Washington county. Maryland, in the thirty-second year 
of his age. 

Started to the East. — Mr. Lemond arrived here on the evening of March ?.0. He 
remained all night with us, and on the following morning started for Maryland, with 
the intention of moving to this country if he could arrange things to suit. 

Examination.— The examination took place on Wednesday, March .'j. On that 
same evening the ladies read their copies, and on Thursday evening the young gentle- 
men made their speeches, etc. 

Arrived from Maryland.— On Monday evening. April 2.5. Michael Stonebraker, 
Daniel Wolfe and brother, and several more, arrived in Mount Morris from Maryland. 

Foundation for the Office.— Finished digging the foundation for the printing- 
office on April 24. 

Planting Corn. — James Coffman commenced planting corn on Tuesday, May 3. 

Hauling.— We commenced hauling plank, on Thursday. May .i. to fence in our lot 
and Miss Shepard's. 

Raising. — We raised our office on Monday, May 9. 

Married. — On Thursday. May 19, Michael Stonebraker to Catherine Coffman, eld- 
est daughter of James Coffman. 

Died, — On Thursday evening. May 19. Michael Detrick. 

Hail Storm.— On Monday evening. June 27. about half-past eight o'clock, there 
was a hail storm. It blew the doors open, and broke twenty-five panes of glass for us 
and fifty or sixty for Bear's. I suppose there were five or six hundred panes of glass 
broken in Mount Morris. 

Animal Magnetism.— There was a lecture delivered Tuesday evening, June 2.5. in 
the seminary. There was a boy put to sleep, who, after he was asleep, commenced 
talking, and would answer anything that was asked him. 

Arrived from Maryland.- On Thursday morning, about eleven o'clock. June 30. 
Messrs. Hiestand. Neff and family. Bartholomew McNutt and family and also his 
mother, and Benjamin McNutt. 

Plastering.— We had the office plastered on Saturday. July 2. !)y Jacob Petrie. 

Hail Storm.— On Monday. July 4. there was a hail storm almost severe enough to 
break the panes of glass in the windows. It did break some of our neighliors" glass. 

Removed. — We removed the office on Wednesday, July 6. in the part of our house 
that we had built on purpose for it. 

Ventriloquist.— There was a ventriloquist in our burg on Thursday and Friday 
evenings, July 7 and 8. He also went through the performance of some sleight-of- 
hand. This ventriloquism is first-rate. 

Arrived.— John George Pea arrived here on July 30. He is just from New Orleans. 

Frozen.— The river froze over Friday night, November 18. 



CHAPTER II. 
THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 

The first store in Mount Morris was a general one and was opened in 

October, 18il, by Daniel Brayton and son Frederick, in an addition on the 

west side of a small frame house, which they erect- 

. ^ . ed that summer at about the present location of 

Business Enterprises j^^^^ Bollinger's property, on Main street midway 
between Short and Wesley streets. The senior Brayton was a Methodist 
minister, and occasionally preached in the old seminary chapel. The firm 
afterward changed to Brayton & Judson; and in 1850, after the death of 
Daniel Bi-ayton, the business was conducted by F. B. Brayton & Baker, 
who discontinued all lines except the book and drug departments. Later 
Mr. Brayton, whose portrait appears on the next page, assumed entire con- 
trol of the business, and conducted it for many years. In the early sev- 
enties John P. Hand became a partner. In 1873, Mr. Brayton's son, Arthur 
W., entered the business, and has owned and conducted it since that time. 
Thus it transpires that the first store in Mount Morris has continued up 
to the present day, and has been owned successively by three generations 
of the Brayton family, extending over a period of almost sixty years. 
During that time the firm name has contained that of the Brayton family, 
and for the greater part of that time the store has been the exclusive 
property of Daniel, Frederick, or Arthur Brayton, or a combination of 
father and son. 

The second store of any importance was also a general store, opened 
several years after that of the Braytons by Samuel Bents. This store was 
located in a small brick building which stood on the northeast corner of 
Wesley and Front streets, the location of the present Seibert block. Mr. 
Bents sold out to S. M. Hitt and F. F. Petrie, who had previously been en- 
gaged in making brick in the northeast part of town. Enoch Wood suc- 
ceeded Mr. Hitt, and associated with Mr. Petrie under the firm name of 
Wood & Petrie. This firm continued the business for many years. Mr. 
Wood finally sold out to H. J. Farwell. Coffman Brothers later acquired 
the stock. The business was discontinued by them shortly before the war. 

A one-story brick machine-shop was built in 1814 by Baker, Pitzer & 
McCoy, on the corner now occupied by the Methodist church. Here they 
began the manufacture of traveling threshing machines. This business 
they continued for five years, and their machines, which threshed grain 
by being loaded and driven around in a circle, became quite popular. Mr. 
Baker afterward manufactured what wei-e known as "Fountain" reapers. 

In the year 1844, Hitt ct Coffman built a grist-mill on Pine creek, 
southwest of town. A short time after this they opened the third store in 



34 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Mount Morris. This store was managed by Prof. D. J. Pinekney, and after 
a year was sold to F. B. Brayton. 

About 1853, Messrs. Brayton, Baker and Petrie rented an old saw-mill 
located on Pine creek, about a mile below the dam, and fitted it up for the 
manufacture of linseed oil. This work they continued for about two 
years, turning out about two barrels of oil per day: but, as the facilities 
were not very favorable, they erected a new mill near the southwest part 
of town upon the present farm of Jacob Hilger. This mill was a large 
two-story structvire with a stone basement. The machinery was operated 
by steam, which also ran a saw-mill. The enterprise was operated under 

the supervision of Jacob Hilger 

for about twenty years, it being 

then discontinued because of a 
scarity of flaxseed. During 
this time a terrible accident oc- 
curred in the saw-mill. Ernest 
W. Brayton, a brother of A. W. 
Brayton, and a lad of about ten 
years, was killed by coming in 
contact with the rapidly-revolv- 
ing saw. P. G. Petrie also lost 
a hand by a similar accident. 
The building passed into the 
ownership of Petrie & Sheets, 
who transformed it into a flour- 
ing mill. This proved unprofit- 
able, however, and the building 
was taken down and removed to 
the east side of Rock river, op- 
posite Oregon, where it still 
stands. 

Orville N. Adams, of Ga- 
lena, opened a general store in 
Mount Morris about 1850, and 
after about eighteen months 
took in Prof. D. J. Pinekney as 
a partner. They also managed 
the grist-mill on Pine creek for one year. After that time the partnership 
was dissolved, and shortly after the mill was burned down. 

A copy of the Mount Morris GazeMe, dated January 23, 1851, preserved 
by Samuel Knodle, furnishes some interesting items in relation to the 
business of the town at that day. Mount Morris was then one of the 
most important business centers in Ogle county, as the general import of 
the paper plainly indicates. Among the advertisements, Bryant & Petrie 
advertise their hardware business; Wood & Petrie advertise dry-goods, 
groceries, crockery, glassware, paints, books and stationery; Brayton & 
Baker advertise general merchandise; William Little & Son inform the 




FREDERICK B. BRAYTON. 



1222054 

THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 35 

public that they are prepared with seasoned lumber to extensively manu- 
facture wagons, etc., and do all kinds of blacksmithing; George Bray ton 
advertises to do all kinds of tailoring with neatness and dispatch: John 
Ankney announces the discontinuance of his business, and T. C Ankney 
advertises his cheap auction store; Drs. B. G. Stephens and E. W. Myers 
publish their professional cards; William Hedges advertises to do all 
kinds of coopering; S. N. Beaubein advertises to make harness, saddles, 
etc., and trim carriages in the house formerly occupied by W. S. Blair. A 
notice of the Amphictyon Society appears, announcing that the following 
resolution will be discussed: Resolved, That the political and intellectual 
condition of Europe is improving. The notice is signed by A. N. Odel, 
Secretary. The Mount Morris Division Sons of Temperance also publish 
a notice, announcing meetings every Tuesday evening at their hall on 
Center street. 

Prom the time of its founding in 18.39, the village gradually increased 
in size and importance, until in 1855 it became a prominent trading point, 
and bid fair to become the largest place in Ogle county. But during that 
year the Illinois Central railroad was built through near Buffalo Grove, 
and the new town of Polo attracted much of the business which Mount 
Morris had formerly captured. The village, however, continued to grow 
nevertheless. 

About 1854, Jonathan Mumma opened a store in the store-room west 
of his hotel; and in 1858, when J. M. Webb purchased the hotel, the store 
was sold to Potter & Webb. In 1856, Atchison & Clems conducted a cloth- 
ing store, and Edward Davis dispensed confectionery to the students and 
others. 

In 1866, after the close of the war, there appears to have been a con- 
siderable enlivening of trade in Mount Morris, and numerous new stores 
were started. In that year, John Sprecher and H. H. Clevidence opened a 
general store in the building occupied at present by Strock's grocery, on 
the corner of Center and Wesley streets. They continued in partnership 
twenty-five years, later occupying spacious quarters in the Masonic block. 
In 1891, they sold out to L. C. Stanley, of Chippewa Falls, Wis., who in 
turn sold to A. H. Knodle & Co. F. K. Spalding came next in succession, 
and after several years combined with his dry-goods the grocery stock of 
Ed. Cripe, who had been preceded by John Keever and Daniel Wingert in 
the grocery business, and moved into the Seibert block. This combined 
grocery and dry-goods business is now conducted by G. W. Deppen. 

About the same year, Lookabaugh and Middour also established their 
business, and conducted it for over twenty years. Also during 1866 a 
branch of John Etnyre's store in Oregon was established here by Mr. 
Briggs, but was short-lived. 

Quite a number of the present business enterprises of Mount Morris 
can be traced back over very long periods of time, as in several cases 
already cited. For instance, the grocery business of Charles H. Sharer is 
the continuation of a long succession of changes, dating back to the es- 
tablishment, about 1860, of a grocery store by Henry Newcomer, father of 



36 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



H. E. Newcomer. Mr. Newcomer sold to Henry Sharer, who took in John 
Swiogley as a partner. The engraving on this page shows the condition of 
the business portion of the village at the time these gentlemen were in 
partnership. Note their sign upon the north wall of the building. The 
picture was taken in 1876, shortly after the erection of the building. But 
to continue, Sharer & Swingley sold out to William Rine, who took in his 
brother David as a partner. D. N. M'^iugert and John Swingley were the 
next purchasers, and later Mr. Wingert alone assumed the business. The 




BUSINESS BLOCK OF MOUf 



succession was then Lewis Funk, Wingert & Co. (here dry-goods were 
added); Wingert & Sprecher (Philip T.); Wingert &■ Brubaker: J. A. Bru- 
baker & Co.: and Brubaker & Sharer (Charles H.). At the next transfer 
Charles Sharer took the grocery department and R. E. Arnold & Co. the 
dry-goods. The latter firm sold out to G. W. Hamlin, of Rochelle, in 1900, 
but Mr. Sharer still continues the grocery business. 

The present grocery of J. Strock is another business which can be 
traced back quite a number of years. In 1875, William H. Bull purchased 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 37 

a stock of groceries and placed them in the brick building now occupied 
by Mr. Strock. After a few years in the business he sold to Benjamin 
Rine. Holly Clark & Ira Wingert came next, and were followed by New- 
comer Bros. (A. M. and W. A.) and John Tice. W. A. Newcomer and Mr. 
Tice purchased A. M. Newcomer's share, and in 1891 sold to J. Strock, who 
is the present owner. 

In 1866, Andrew Newcomer, father of A. M. and W. A. Newcomer, start- 
ed a small store in the house on Front street, now occupied by Robert 
Crosby, but soon sold out to George Windle. However, when his son, 
W. A., returned from the army in 1876, the two went into partnership, and 
conducted a grocery business until the death of the former, after which 
A. M. and W. A. Newcomer took charge. For a time William was engaged 
with Tice in another grocery, as mentioned before, and Arthur was sole 
proprietor until William again bought a half- interest, and the firm name 
of A. M. & W, A. Newcomer was adopted. In October, 1898, the former 
retired and his son, H. G. Newcomer, became a member of the firm, now 
known as the Newcomer Co. 

Joseph S. Nye conducted the first hardware store of any importance 
in Movmt Morris. In 1857 he bought the tin-shop and hardware portion of 
the business of Brayton & Baker, and for its accommodation built the 
brick building on the corner of Wesley and Front streets, now occupied 
by C. E. Price's hardware. He continued the business for ten years, and 
finally moved his goods to Lanark. J. M. Smith & Pickard started a hard- 
ware in 1870. Later Pickard dropped out and subsequently Smith sold to 
I. B. Kinne, who disposed of the stock by various methods. Subsequently 
David Rine purchased a new stock of hardware and soon took in George 
Sprecher as a partner. Daniel Smith was the next purchaser, followed by 
Hitt, Smith & Co., B. F. Sheets & Co., Gushing & Armstrong, Armstrong & 
Price, J. D. Armstrong, and J. M. Piper, successively, and lastly by Clinton 
E. Price, the present owner. 

One of the first meat markets in Mount Morris was established in 1873 
by Samuel P. Mumma. He was succeeded by Samuel Middour, and Mid- 
dour & Mumma (Benj.). Middour sold to Mumma, who conducted the 
business for many years. Henry H. and Ernest E. Newcomer and James 
Mumma were the next purchasers, the latter dropping out after three 
years. The later owners have been Benj. Rine, Rine & Whitman, and 
Wishard & Powell, the last-named being now in possession. There have 
been other meat markets conducted, but none of long duration. 

The local grain-buying business did not commence in Mount Morris 
until after the building of the Chicago & Iowa railroad from Oregon to 
Forreston. The first carload of grain marketed from the village was 
raised and shipped to Chicago by Charles Newcomer, who erected the mid- 
dle elevator in 1871. This elevator was sold to John Weller, and later be- 
came the property of H. H. Clevidence and Daniel Smith. The north 
elevator was built in 1875 by Daniel Sprecher, father of Lewis and Daniel 
Sprecher, Jr. H. H. Clevidence and John Sprecher purchased this ele- 
vator in 1879, and since 1891 it has been the property of the former, who 



38 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAvST AND PRESENT. 



has been engaged in the grain business for more than twenty-six years. 
The south elevator was built in 1882, by Daniel Sprecher, and was sold to 
Daniel Smith. Thomas C. Williams, the present owner, purchased it of 
Mr. Smith. The grain business in Mount Morris, before the building of 
the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad through Leaf River and the 
Chicago, Burlington & Northern through Stratford, was much more ex- 
tensive than at present. Elevators were built at these towns, and serious- 
ly curtailed the extensive territory from which the Mount Morris elevators 
formerly drew the cereal prodvicts. 

Samuel Mumma flrst began buying stock in Mount Morris in 1873, and 

began shipping extensively to 
the city market in 1879, which 
he has continued to do until 
the present time. 

The first bank in Mount 
Morris was established August 
1, 1877, by Charles Newcomer 
and Isaac Rice. The latter 
dropped out after several years 
and the former continued the 
business until January 1, 1899, a 
period of nearly twenty-two 
years, when the business was 
turned over to the Citizens' 
Bank. Mr. Newcomer is now 
living a retired life, enjoying 
the fruits of his labors. The 
Citizens' Bank was established 
in 1893 by Joseph L. and John 
H. Rice, and is now the only 
bank in the village. 

The name of Hon. Isaac 
Rice stands second to none in 
connection with the growth and 
development of our village. 
Concerning his parentage we 
have made mention in Chap- 
ter I. Dr. Isaac Rice, as he was familiarly known, was born in Washing- 
ton county, Mai'yland, October 28, 1826, and came to Ogle county in 1837, 
making the trip in company with his father and uncle, when they removed 
to the wild west. The senior Rice built a schoolhouse in this vicinity at a 
very early day, and Isaac " wielded the birch " in this educational institu- 
tion when but eighteen years of age. He also attended Rock River Semi- 
nary "and prepared for his profession under the preceptorship of Dr. 
Francis A. McNeill. In the winter of 1852 he entered Ru^sh Medical Col- 
lege, Chicago, and graduated in 1855. After his graduation he returned to 
Mount Morris and engaged in farming, in which occupation he gained 




lARLES NEWCOMER. 





'u0L^^\J^' ,^?.-L.^eJZ, 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 



il 



considerable renown as a successful tiller of the soil. In 1876, he located 
his home in Mount Morris, and in the following year he associated with 
Charles Newcomer in the establishment of the Mount Morris Bank, as re- 
lated before. In 1872 and 1874, he was a member of the State Assembly, 
and in the fall of 1880, he was elected to the upper house of the Legisla- 
ture of Illinois. January 14, 1857, Mr. Rice was married to Sarah 
Hiestand, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth Hiestand. His wife had been 
one of the playmates of his youth, and later was one of his pupils in the 
pioneer schoolhouse. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Rice: 
Roland, February 10, 1858, who died in infancy: Anna, March 22, 1850, who 
died at the age of eighteen; and Joseph L.. December 23, 1866, who is now 



ik.^J 


^ 


!l . 


■:- i 


--j i.ili 


f ^ 


|j 


m 


M ^lii 


f- i^-^j^gfii 


3_Hl 


-^ --' — - ~ _ 1 




,1 


P' 




1 II 

1 


^'"" . . ' 


, .-^v,, >,.'. 


■ •• -\-l! 



A VIEW OF BLAIR-S HOTEL IN 1873. 

2i"ote the diminulii'e size of the maple, in front of the brick on tlie ric/ht, 
nolo grown to enormous proportions. 

engaged in banking in Mount Morris. Dr. Rice died at his home in Mount 
Morris in 1897. 

The hotel business dates back almost to the founding of the village. 
Daniel Brayton kept a public house from the time of the establish- 
ment of his store, about 1841. The first regular tavern was erected by 
James Clark several years later. The building is still standing, being the 
old brick on the corner of Wesley and Main streets, now owned by George 
Sprecher and occupied by Rigdon McCoy as a shoe-shop and M. F. Maloney 
as a residence. After running this for a short time, under the name of 
the "New York House," Mr. Clark returned to his farm at Washington 
Grove and rented his tavern to Mr. Brayton. In 1851, W. S. Blair opened 



42 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Blair's Hotel in the brick house on the corner of McKendrie and Bangs 
streets. This building has since been converted into the residence of Dr. 
George B. McCosh. An engraving of this old house and also that now oc- 
cupied by N. A. Ankney, as they appeared from the the northeast in 1873, 
appears on the preceding page. The brick house to the right was occupied 
from 1863 to 1875 by Samuel Knodle, as a residence. With the exception 
of about two years Mr. Blair continued to conduct this hotel vmtil 
about the year 1880. In 1854, Jonathan Mumma built the old hotel on the 
present site of Hotel Rohrer, and, under the caption of the Eldorado 
House, kept boarders, principally students, until 1858, when it was pur- 
chased by J. M. Webb; and, after 1860, it was continued for many years as 
Webb's Hotel. After the death of Mr. Webb, the house was enlarged and 
was conducted successively by Mrs. J. M. Webb, Sr., Mrs. Benj. Rine, Mrs. 
Mary McCoy, Andrew J. Long, and Charles Rohrer. Mr. Rohrer built the 
present Hotel Rohrer in 1894, and died soon afterward. Since that time 
the landlords have been J. I. Housewert and A. T. Olson. The hotel is 
owned at present by a stock company of business men of the village. 

Previous to the building of the railroad through Mount Morris, lumber 
for building was hauled from Chicago and Rockford, and later from Polo 
and other nearby towns. After the completion of the railroad, the first 
regular yard was established by John Nye, father of U. C. Nye. The suc- 
cession of its owners from that time to this has been: John Nye, Henry 
Gilbert, Philip Sprecher, Riner & Clark, Minnesota Lumber Company, and 
lastly, Clark & Wingert, the present owners. 

The tonsorial profession in Mou^nt Morris was ably represented in the 
past by a number of artists, notable among whom were William Star, 
Boone Washington, and Joseph Patterson, colored: and Daniel Bowers. 

The bakery bvisiness has been represented by a large number of bakers, 
most of them continuing in business l)ut a short time. Ed. O. Startzman 
was one of the first, and is yet in the business after a term of about 
twenty-four years. 

Ketfs Histoi^y of Ogle County, in a short sketch of Mount Morris, 
gives the following list of the business enterprises of the village, with the 
dates of their establishment, which existed in 1878, at the time of the pub- 
lication of that history: 

General Merchants.— Lookabaugh & Middonr. May. 1866 : Sprecher & Clevidence, 
1866: Gilbert Bros., formerly Gilbert & King, April 7, 1874; Newcomer Bros., December 
12, 1877. 

Hardware.— J. M. Smith, formerly Smith & Pickard, 1870: Hitt, Smith & Co.. April 
23, 1877. 

Groceries.- Wingert & Swingley, 1874; William H. Bull, March 17. 187."). 

Druggists. — A. W. Brayton, formerly P. B. Brayton, 1860; O. H. Swingley, Novem- 
ber 11, 1868. 

Furniture.— Upton Miller, 187:5. 

Hotels.— Blairs Hotel, 1851 ; Webb's Hotel, 18.'38. 

Restaurants.— E. O. Startzman, November 25, 1876; H. .Jimmerson, -Tune 21, 1877: 
S. Knodle. 1.S77. 

Carpenters and Builders.— George H. Riner, N. E. Biiser. 1868; B. Rine. J. T. 
Stewart. .Jonathan Knodle. 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 43 

Blacksmiths.— A. W. Neff . Calvin A. Potter. 1852 : Nicholas Koontz. 

Wagon Makers.— Joseph Knodle. B. F. Tracy. 

Lumber Dealer.— P. T. Sprecher. 

Harness Makers.— Joseph F. Thomas, 187.5: H. H. Newcomer, Sr. 

Jewelers.— J. A. Knodle & Son, 1875. 

Butchers.— Smith & Eberts, 1877: Middour & Lookabaiig-h, 1877. 

Liverymen.— H. L. Smith, May, 1876; the first livery stable was kept by Peter Funk, 
then C. C. Wag-oner, then F. B. Brayton, then H. L. Smith; others having engaged in 
that business at various times. 

Boot and Shoemakers.— George W. Fouke. Peyton Skinner, 1854; M. F. Noel. 1856. 

TAILORS.--C. B. Stanger, 1870; W. E. Moats, 1876. 

Milliners.— Mrs. C. Startzman, Mrs. Mary McNeill. 

Mantua Maker.— Mrs. Sarah J. Coggins. 1845. 

Physicians. Dr. D. Newcomer, Allopath: Dr. B. G. Stephens, Allopath, 18,50; Dr. 
John McCosh, Allopath. 1863; Dr. R. Berry. Physio-Medical, 1878. 

Painters.— S. G. Trine, 18.59; Peter Householder, L. J. Brogunier. 

Barber. — Daniel Bowers. 

The medical profession in Mount Morris was first represented by 
Dr. James J. Beatty, who practiced here sixty years ago. His practice ex- 
tended over a very large territory. While returning from a professional 
call over near Forreston, at one time he had a very thrilling, and well-nigh 
fatal, adventure. He was astride a very fine horse, and, being in a hurry 
to reach home, attempted to ride the animal through a prairie fire, depend- 
ing upon its fleetness of foot to carry him through without injury. 
However, the animal stopped, crazed by the fire, and stood stock-still, 
while the rapidly-moving flames licked up the long grass around them. 
Both horse and rider were terribly burned. The doctor recovered from 
his burns, but the horse died from the experience. Apparently the doc- 
tor's ill-fortune clung to him; for a few years later, while en route for the 
California gold-flelds, he was taken ill and died on the plains. Other doc- 
tors of prominence who practiced in Mount Morris in the past are 
Augustus Post, Benjamin G. Stephens, Francis A. McNeill, Thomas Wins- 
ton, J. I. Mershon, W. T. Speaker, and David Newcomer. The last-named 
physician deserves more than a passing notice, in virtue of his long con- 
nection with the aft'airs of our village,— nearly thirty years, — during which 
time he has attended and ministered to our sick. Dr. David Newcomer 
was born July 26, 18.30, in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, and was of Swiss 
descent. November 18, 1852, he was united in marriage to Mary S. Funk, 
who was born in the same township as himself. In 1859, he graduated 
from the Jeft'erson Medical College, Philadelphia, and returned to the 
place of his nativity, to practice his profession. In May, 1862, he received 
his appointment as Assistant Surgeon of the Army of the Potomac, and at 
once entered upon his duties. He filled this position with credit, and 
after a service of nine months he was honorably discharged. In 1865, he 
went to Martinsburg, West Virginia, where he established his practice. 
After six years' residence at this place, he determined to try the already 
famous state of Illinois, and came to Mount Morris in 1871. He has since 
resided here, continuing in active service up to a few months ago, when 
failing health compelled him to relinquish his practice and retire. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Newcomer were born six children, two of whom are dead. Those 



44 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



living are: Mary Katie, wife of M. W. Solenberger, of North Dakota; Bar- 
bara Ann, married to J. W. Thomas, a retired Lutheran minister, now re- 
siding in Mount Morris; David is in business at Kansas City, and is 
married to Nellie McFadden; Harry C. is a graduate of West Point Mili- 
tary Academy and is serving his country as a soldier. 

In 1878, John Hitt and Thomas Mumma erected a large building in 
the south of town. Here they established the Mount Morris Creamery, 
with a capacity of one thousand cows, for the manufacture of butter and 
cheese. This was a valuable addition to the business interests of Mount 
Morris. The creamery passed through a number of hands; viz., Michael 

Miller, William H. Jackson, 
Campbell & McMaster, and is 
at present owned and operated 
by Robert C. McCredie. The 
old building was burned down 
some yeaxs ago and a new one 
erected to take its place. 

Alfred R. Biukley has been 
a figure in the business circles 
of Mount Morris during the 
greater part of the past twenty 
years. About 1880, he bought a 
confectionery business, which 
had been started by Charles H. 
Allen and continued later by 
by Samuel H. and Samuel E. 
Sprecher. Adding a stock of 
groceries, he conducted this 
business for fifteen years. He 
then sold to Jacob G. Miller 
who later disposed of the stock 
at auction. Mr. Binkley again 
started a grocery store in 1896 
with Oliver S. Watts as a part- 
ner, but soon dropped out, leav- 
ing the business to Mr. Watts, 
who still conducts it. Again, in 
September, 1899, Mr. Binkley established a grocery in Mount Morris, hav- 
ing brought a stock of goods from Forreston, and is now in the business. 

William H. Miller took up the furniture and undertaking business, 
which his father had been conducting, in the year 1892, and has been found 
regularly in his place since that time. 

John D. Miller opened a harness shop in Mount Morris in 1888, having 
previously followed the profession of telegraph operator. Since that time 
he has been one of the town's business men, and has followed the harness 
trade ever since his advent into the mercantile circles of our promising 
village. 




DR. DAVID NEWCOMER. 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 



45 



One of the most promiueut men in the business circles of Mount 
Morris the past half-century was Samuel Knodle, who retired from busi- 
ness in the spring of the present year (1900). Mr. Knodle came to Mount 
Morris in 1856, expecting to teach the village school; but circumstances 
favoring his embarking in the jewelry business, he relinquished the peda- 
gogical profession, and in May, 1856, opened a jewelry shop in rooms in the 
Eldorado House, then conducted by Jonathan Mumma. Prom that day 
until his retirement, as mentioned before, he continued to pursue that 
avocation. At the time of his retirement he could claim the distinction 
of having been engaged in mercantile business a longer period of time 
than any other man in the vil- 
lage. In connection with the 
jewelry business, he was identi- 
fied with the various newspaper 
enterprises up to 1879. His con- 
nection with these newspapers 
is given in another chapter 
upon the press. Mr. Knodle 
was born at Pairplay, eight miles 
south of Hagerstown, Maryland, 
August 4, 1820. He secured a 
common school education at the 
Pairplay public schools, and ac- 
quired an academic education 
while engaged as a clerk in a 
number of stores. In May, 1843, 
he became a teacher in the 
Boonsboro public schools, and 
filled that position three years. 
He was also in partnership with 
his brother Josiah in the publi- 
cation of The Odd Fellow at 
Boonsboro. In 1846, he began 
the publication of the Williams- 
port Times, continuing it two 
years, after which he again en- 
gaged in teaching, this time at 

Pairplay. He retained this position eight years, and then came to Mount 
Morris. During his long residence here he was very active in local affairs. 
He was clerk of the township of Mount Morris from 1858 to 1861, and he 
was village clerk in 1860, 1861 and 1868. In 1871, he served as village trus- 
tee and president of the board. In 1883, he was again elected village 
clerk, and was annually re-elected up until the present year, when he re- 
fused to be renominated. In 1876, he was collector of the township of 
Mount Morris. Pew men have had such a close and extensive connection 
with local affairs as Mr. Knodle, nor enjoy a greater degree of the esteem 
of their fellow-citizens. He is passing his declining years at Oregon. 




SAMUEL KNODLE. 



46 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

The past decade of this closing century has brought iu a number of 
new firms. John Sprecher, after ending his long business career in part- 
nership with H. H. Clevidence, rested several years, and then, in 1893, again 
entered the mercantile circle, with S. C. Kinsey as a partner. In 1895, Mr. 
Kinsey sold out, and Mr. Sprecher continued the business alone until 1899. 
Since that time W. W. Wheeler has been a member of the firm. Melchor 
Newcomer, in 1888, established a gi-ocery and dry-goods store in the Seibert 
block. D. S. Cripe became a partner in 1891, and in 1893 became proprie- 
tor, and he is still in the business. McCosh & Mishler launched in the 
drug business in 1896. Since 1899, the former has conducted the business 
alone. H. J. Wolfe started a bakery in 1895, and since his death, several 
years ago, the business has been continued by his son Walter. S. A. 
Shriner started a new harness shop in 1898, and B. E. Avey, a hardware 
store in the spring of the present year. N. E. Buser established a lumber 
yard in 1893, which was later purchased by J. T. Baker and Frank Coff- 
toian, the present owners. More extensive mention is made of all these in 
a later chapter upon the present condition of the village. 



Mention has already been made of the erection of the first few resi- 
dences in the village. Many of the early houses were built of brick, which 
were burned in this vicinity. A brick-kiln was situated 
ing up j^ ^j^^ northeast part of the village, and another upon 

the Village ^^^ Samuel Domer old farm, northwest of the village. 
David Gloss was one of the men engaged in burning brick and also Sam- 
uel Domer. The college buildings were constructed of stone, quarried 
from sandstone ledges on the farm of Josiah Avey along Pine creek. 

By the courtesy of Samuel Knodle, we are able to reproduce a number 
of old photographs of the village, taken in the early seventies. Probably 
those most interesting are three looking eastward over the business part 
of the village at slightly difl'erent angles from the cupola of " Old Sand- 
stone." The view shown on page 48 shows the village as it appears look- 
ing directly eastward from the cupola. The two larger views following, 
the first looking northeast and the second, southeast, include all and more 
than the small view, and accordingly the explanations will be made from 
them. 

The view on page 49 will prove to be exceedingly interesting to a per- 
son knowing the present conditions. It is readily seen that the entire 
business portion of the present village, from and including Seibert's block 
northward to beyond Gregor Thompson's building, is entirely lacking. 
The two-story brick building, numbered 1, on the corner occupies the 
present location of Seibert's block. The residence marked 3 is on the 
present site of Mrs. Mary McCoy's millinery store and part of that occu- 
pied by William H. Miller's furniture store. In the foreground is seen a 
winding path, leading across the campus through what is apparently a 
growth of underbrush, now grown up a stately maple grove. Pour saddle 
horses are hitched along the street, showing the usual mode of travel in 



THE GROWTU OF THE VILLAGE. il 

those days. The brick house numbered 1 was built some time between 
1842 and 1845, but at first was only one story high. In this building Wood 
& Petrie kept their general store at an early day, and later Lookabaugh & 
Middour were engaged in business there. The building was torn down in 
1873 to give place to the present Seibert block. 

No. 2 was at one time occupied by Peter Funk. It is still standing and 
is owned and occupied by Rigdon McCoy. 

No. 3 occupies the present location of William H. Miller's store, for- 
merly Deppen's opera house. It was occupied for many years as a resi- 
dence by Martin Rohrer. The east half is the bviilding spoken of on page 
29 as the barn built in 1810 by Rev. John Sharp. The west half was built 
on later for a restaurant by James Fouke. 




VIEW SOUTH FROM "OLD SANDSTONE'' ABOUT 1870. 

When this picture was taken, the schoolhouse had been built but 

a short time. The small size of the pine trees in 

the yard is very iboticeuble. 



No. 4 was recently purchased and moved to the south part of town by 
G. B. McCosh. Here it was remodeled and is now the residence of William 
Domer. The house between Nos. 3 and 4 was last used as a residence by 
A. W. Neff , but was torn down and John Deppen's present residence erect- 
ed in its place. 

No. 5 was the residence of Andrew Newcomer. The frame part was 
moved several rods westward and a new house built in its place several 
years ago by Mrs. Newcomer. 

No. 6 is the old schoolhouse, afterward used by William H. Miller as a 
residence. It has been superseded by Mr. Miller's present fine house. 



48 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



No. 7 is the present residence of P. T. Sprecher. A part of it was 
built by Abram Thomas. 

No. 8 is the brick house owned by Mrs. Crawford and occupied by 
S. A. Shriner. 

No. 9. which is but faintly discerned behind the trees, is the old brick 
hotel on the corner of Front and McKendrie streets, which has been re- 
placed by William Newcomer's hoiise. 

No. 10 is the present x-esidence of Martin T. Rohrer. It was built by 
Elias Baker. 

No. 11 is the old house occupied until recently by Miss Maria Malone. 
It was moved to the Amick Addition in the spring of 1900 by S. E. Avey. 




VIEW DIRECTLY EAST FROM "OLD SANDSTONE'- IN 1870. 



Nos. 12 and 25 (see plate ou page 51) were built about 1857 or 1858, aud 
were the first brick buildings built in the regular square mercantile shape. 
No. 12 was built by Brayton & Baker for their store, and is the building 
now occupied by C. E. Price as a hardware store. No. 13 originally occu- 
pied that position and was used as a store by Brayton & Baker, but was 
moved to the position in the rear, as shown in the picture. It was again 
moved at a later date to the rear of the livery stable now owned by Charles 
Nimau, and used as a building in which to bale hay and straw. It was 
finally torn down. 

No. 14 was occupied for many years by John Stewart. He replaced it 
with a new building, which is now owned by Miss Callie Black. 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 53 

No. 15 was built in 1858 by D. C. and B. Wagner. It was later raised 
to two stories and is the present meat market building. 

No. 16 was also built by Brayton & Baker. After standing there for a 
number of years, it was moved to the corner of First and A streets, in the 
Railroad Addition, and is now serving as the residence of A. J. Long. 

No. 17 was built in 1851 by Joel K. Frost, who also had a blacksmith 
shop a little to the northeast of this residence. This house was subse- 
quently owned by H. T. Knight, and is now the property of Richard Shaw. 

No. 18 (see plate on page 51) is the old Masonic building. It was built 
about 1818 and used as a Masonic hall from that time until 1876, when the 
present Masonic block was erected, part of the site of which it occupied. 
It is now standing north of No. 25 and is being used by S. A. Shriner as a 
harness shop. Previous to its occupancy by Mr. Shriner, Samuel Knodle 
was stationed there for thirteen years with his jewelry store. In this ven- 
erable old building many of the old, old citizens of Mount Morris met and 
became Masons, a fuller account of which will appear in a chapter on 
secret societies. 

No. 19 was built some time in the forties, and was occupied as a book- 
store by Samuel Knodle from 1862 until 1876. In the place of this build- 
ing and No. 18, the present Masonic edifice was erected. 

No. 20 is the Sons of Temperance old building, and at the time of 
the photograph it was occupied as a shoe store by W. H. Atchison. It was 
later owned by C. H. Swingley. It was removed to the present site of Dr. 
McCosh's building, and a small part of it is now contained in that struc- 
ture. 

No. 21 is Peyton Skinner's old shoe-shop. The awning in front, con- 
structed of boughs of trees, is the style of artificial shade which the busi- 
ness men made along the street during the great excitement always 
connected with the seminary annual " exhibitions," as the final exercises 
at the seminary were called. This little bviilding was moved back and is 
still standing in the rear of the new shoe-shop which Mr. Skinner erected 
and which is now occupied by Hess's restaurant. 

No. 22 was the property of Edward Davis, father of Solomon Davis, 
who kept the post-offlce there at one time. It was torn down in 1899 to 
make room for H. E. Newcomer's new brick building. 

No. 23 was, at the time the picture was taken, the office of Dr. B. G. 
Stephens, who died in Moiuit Morris some years ago. 

No. 25 was built in 1857 by Joseph S. Nye and used as a hardware store 
by him for about ten years. Since that time the building has had a great 
many occupants, many of the later fii'ms which did business in the village 
having had their origin there. It is now owned by Reuben S. Marshall 
and occupied by Strock's grocery. No. 26, just east of No. 25, was built by 
Mr. Nye as his residence. 

The little building at the left of No. 25 was later moved northward 
and repaired, forming at present the barber-shop of Levi Bear. 

No. 27 was built at an early day by John Ankney, who came here from 
Buffalo Grove, where he was a very early settler. The building was used 



M 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



by him as a residence and post-office, the latter being kept in the grout 
addition on the west side, which has since been torn down. The main 
structure is still standing, having served as the residence of Peyton Skin- 
ner for many years. 

No. 28 once stood near the grist-mill along Pine creek and was used as 
the residence of the miller. It was moved to Mount Morris probably dur- 
ing the sixties, and was used as a residence by various parties. Later a 
new house superseded it. 

No. 29 was built by W. S. Blair. It has been superseded by the house 
now occupied by Joseph Baker. 




VIEW SOUTHWEST FROM "OLD SANDSTONE'' ABOUT 1870. 

Notice that the college campus then included the two blocks to 

the west of the jjresent campus limit, now entirely built tip 

with new residences. The house to the left is the 

old parsonage of the Methodist church now 

owned and occupied by J. W. Crump. 



No. 30 is the present residence of John Sprecher, Sr. It was built and 
occupied for a time by Henry A. Neff and family. 

No. 31 is still standing, being the residence of Mrs. Samuel Domer. 
The rear of it was built by Henry Frost and the front part by Henry Mid- 
dlekauff. 

No. 32 is the John Holsinger old house on the corner of Clark and 
Bangs streets. It has been replaced by Oliver S. Watts's fine residence. 



THE GROWTH OF THE VILLAGE. 55 

No. 33 is Samuel Mumma's present residence. It was built by Mrs. 
Spenser Mattison. 

No. 34 was built in 1855 by F. B. Brayton, and for many years was the 
finest residence in Mount Morris. It is now occupied by his son, A. W. 
Braytou. A modern view of this residence with its elegant park-like lawn 
is found elsewhere in this volume. 

No. 35 is Daniel Eversole's house, of which further mention is made in 
the chapter dealing with the history of our public schools. 

No. 36 was built by Cyrus Alden, and is now owned and occupied by 
Prof. J. G. Royer. 

No. 37 is readily discerned to be the present residence of Charles H. 
Sharer. From an early day it was owned by his father, Henry Sharer. 

No. 38 is the residence of Frisby Keplinger. 

No. 39, at the time this picture was taken, was being used as the Luth- 
eran church. It was later purchased by the Christian denomination, and 
the present steeple added to it. A modern view of it appears in the chap- 
ter upon church history. It was built in 1845. 

No. 40 is the livery barn, which, having been several times remodeled, 
is now occupied by Niman's' livery. 

In this picture can be seen four more saddle horses hitched along the 
street. 

A few years after the time the preceding views were taken of Mount 
Morris, the Chicago & Iowa railroad was built through the town and a re- 
markable business boom followed. Elevators were built and the grain and 
stock-buying industries commenced. Robert R. Hitt, M. Emery Hitt and 
Emily Hitt laid off the Railroad Addition to the village in 1872. This has 
since been substantially built up. Morris Hitt thought that the building 
of the railroad north of the business portion of the village would draw all 
new mercantile structures in that direction, and consequently he erected a 
store building a few rods south of the depot, on the corner of Second and 
Wesley streets. His supposition, however, proved a mistake and later his 
building was moved southward to the business portion of the village. The 
structure is now used by A. W. Brayton for his drug-stoi-e. The cellar 
which was dug vinder the building can yet be seen on the vacant lots east 
of George Sprecher's residence. Shortly after the building of the railroad 
a number of large brick structures were built and smaller frame store 
buildings. Seibert's building, a two-story brick edifice having a hall above 
and three business rooms below, was commenced in 1873 and completed in 
March of the following year. During 1874, another large two-story build- 
ing, costing twelve thousand dollars, was erected by Henry Sharer, John 
Sprecher and J. H. Nye. This building also contains three store rooms on 
the first floor. During the seventies were also erected the present Masonic 
bu.ilding and the brick structure now occupied by O. S. Watts's grocery. 
The first was built by Sprecher & Clevidence in 1876 and the second by 
Cyrus Alden in 1875. 

Since the boom of business during the seventies the village has con- 
tinued to advance with a healthy growth. During the years from 1891 to 



56 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

1894, or thereabouts, another impulse of prosperity overtook the village, as 
a result of which more than seventy-five new residences, two new college 
buildings, the Old Folks' Home, five or six store buildings, a bank building 
and various other structures of more or less importance, were erected. 
During 1894:, more buildings were put up in Mount Morris than in all the 
other Ogle county towns combined. 

Concerning the present progress of Mount Morris, its business inter- 
ests and many desirable qualities as a place of residence, an entire chapter 
is devoted later on. 



CHAPTER III. 
INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. 

In an investigation of the past history of the churches, schools, and 
even of the township of Mount Morris, it is found that the old records, in 
the majority of cases, have been woefully neglected, many of the old books 
being entirely lost sight of. In the case of the village, however, the clerks 
whose duty it was to keep the minutes of the proceedings of the Village 
Board of Trustees preserved the old records from the time of the first 
movement toward organization of the corporation to the present time. 

From the time when the first settlers built their rude dwellings within 
the present limits of Mount Morris, late in the thirties, until 1818, Mount 
Morris was simply a precinct of Ogle county. The first step toward incor- 
poration was made December 28, 1817, when copies of the following notice 
were posted about the town: 

A MEETING 

of the inhabitants of the town of Mount Morris will be held at the chapel of said town 
on Saturday, the 8tli day of Janua'ry. (1848K at 2 o'clock, for the purpose of determin- 
ing- whether we \^ ill incorporate said town. (Signed) 

Mount Mohkis. Dec. 28. 1847. MANY CITIZENS. 

STATE OF ILLINOIS. /, , 

Ogle County. ^ " j. Daniel Brayton. of Mount Morris. Ogle county, Illi- 

nois, do hereby solemnly swear that there was over two hundred inhabitants residing- 
in the town of Mount Morris. Ogle county, and state of Illinois, on the 28th day of De- 
cember. 1847. and that on the same day I posted three notices in three of the most pub- 
lic places in said town. The above notice, signed "Many Citizens." is a true copy of 

"^^•^ "°'^''^- DANIEL BRAYTON. 

Subscribed and sicorn to be/ore me j 
this 20th day of Januar//, 1848. ^ 
E. Wood. J. P. ') 



•i\ 



In conformity to the above notice, a meeting of the white male in- 
habitants, of the lawful age, who had been residents of the village six 
months immediately preceding this date, or who were owners of freehold 
property in the village, was held, as ordered, in the seminary chapel, at the 
time specified. On motion, Daniel Brayton was called to the chair and 
F. G. Petrie appointed clerk. The following obligation was then taken: 

I. Daniel Brayton. as president, and I. F. G. Petrie. as clerk, do solemnly swear by 
the everliving God. that we will faithfully discharg-e the trust reposed in us as presi- 
dent and clerk of tliis meeting. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me i 

this Wi day of January, 1848. L 

F. G. Peteie. Clerk. ' 

(.171 



58 MOUNT 310RKIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

A viva voce vote, to decide whether the village should be incorporated, 
was then taken. Nineteen votes were cast in favor of the measure and 
none against. The following notice was also posted by Daniel Brayton on 
the twenty-eighth day of December, 1847: 

NOTICE. 

A meeting- of the inhabitants of Mount Morris will be held in the chapel of Rock 
River Seminary on the lath day of January, 1848. at 2 oclock P. M.. for the purpose of 
electing-, vivevoce. five (residents and freeholders of said town) trustees of the same. 

Mount Morris. Jan. 8. 1848. F. G. PETRIE. Clerk. 

This meeting was duly held, and the following trustees were chosen: 
Aaron C. Marston, Andrew Newcomer, James J. Beatty, Jonathan Knodle, 
Sr., and William McCune. On the twenty-second day of January, 1848, 
this board, with A. C. Marston as clerk, formulated and passed eight ordi- 
nances, which, possibly with a number of revisions, form the groundwork 
of the present excellent village ordinances. They are quite interesting 
from the fact that they are the first laws passed by the first Board of 
Trustees of Mount Morris. They are as follows: 

PREAMBLE. 

We. the president and trustees of the town of Mount Morris, as a body corporate 
and acting in accordance with the powers vested in Chapter 25. Section 12, of the re- 
vised statutes of the state of Illinois, do hereby declare and make known the follow- 
ing, as below subjoined, to be luiisances within our jurisdiction, and that after ten 
days" public notice being given, the same shall take effect. And any person or persons 
persisting, in whole or in part, in any infringement of the laws herein provided or en- 
acted by said Board of Trustees, be it unto them made known that civil process will be 
immediately issued against them according to the laws herein provided. 

Article 1.— Be it ordained by the president and Board of Trustees of the town of 
Mount Morris that the boundaries of said corporation shall be as follows : Commencing 
at a stake set at the southwest corner of the land owned by the Rock River Semi- 
nary, thence on a line due north one mile, thence east one mile, thence south one mile, 
thence west one mile to the place of beginning. 

Article 2. Be it further ordained by the president and Board of Trustees of the 
town of Mount Morris, that the licensing of groceries for the purpose of retailing 
spiritous or malt liquors within the jurisdiction of the corporation is strictly injurious 
to the good and well-being of the citizens of said corporation. 

Article :i.~ Resolved, therefore, and be it ordained by the president and tru.stees 
aforesaid, that the sale or vending of spiritous or malt liquor is. by virtue of this ordi- 
nance, strictly prohibited, and any person or persons found violating said ordinance, he 
or they shall be subject to pay a fine not exceeding five dollars for each offense. 

Article 4.— Provided always and be it ordained by the president and Board of 
Trustees of the town of Mount Morris, that a permit may be granted from time to time 
for the sale of spiritous liquors for medical and mechanical purposes, and for none 
other. 

Article !).— Be it ordained by the president and trustees of the town of Mount 
Morris, that all gambling and drunkenness of whatsover class may be. is. by virtue of 
this ordinance, declared a nuisance and will be proceeded against as such; and any 
per.son or persons found violating said ordinance shall be subject to pay a fine not ex- 
ceeding twenty-five dollars for each offense. 

Article 6.— Be it ordained by the president and trustees aforesaid, that all shows, 
circuses, theaters, or exhiljitions of that class, not having license under the seal of the 
president of the Board of Trustees of the town of Mount Morris are. by virtue of this 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. 59 

ordinance, strictly forbidden to exhibit such shows, theaters or performances, under a 
penalty of paying- a fine not exceeding twenty-five dollars for each offense. 

. Abticle 7.— Be it ordained by the president and trustees of the town of Mount 
Morris, that all riotous behavior, such as quarreling, fighting, or in any way disturb- 
ing the quiet and peace of the citizens of said town, is strictly forbidden. Any person 
or persons wantonly or presumptuously violating this ordinance shall pay a fine not 
exceeding twenty-five dollars for each offense. 

Aeticle 8. — Be it ordained by the president and Board of Trustees of the town 
of Mount Morris, that horse-racing is hereby strictly forbidden and prohibited within 
the limits of the corporation : also that shooting at marks or firing of guns within the 
limits of this corporation is, ))y this ordinance, declared a nuisance, and any person or 
persons violating this ordinance shall pay a fine not exceeding twenty-five dollars for 
each offense. 

The record next contains six more ordinances, passed by the same 
board in a meeting held April 5, 1848. The first prohibited persons from 
suffering- the carcasses of animals, owned or claimed by them, to remain 
unburied, and provided a penalty for the same. The second prohibited 
the indecent exhibition of animals in the village. The third provided that 
all male residents of the village, who had arrived at the age of twenty-one 
years, should labor three days on the roads, streets or alleys, as they might 
be directed by the supervisor of the same; and further provided that any 
one neglecting to do so when notified should be fined one dollar for each 
day's labor neglected, the same to be laid out on the streets where labor 
might be required. The fourth provided a penalty and method of prosecu- 
tion of persons who should idle away their time, or act disorderly, or re- 
fuse to obey the supervisor under whose charge they were placed when 
working on the streets. The fifth specified the duties of the supervisor of 
the town. The sixth provided penalties for the wanton or malicious de- 
struction of property within the corporation. At this same meeting the 
board passed the following resolution: 

Resolved, That all trials shall be before the president of the board and conducted 
in the same manner as they are before justices of the peace, and all fees and costs pro- 
ceeding therefrom shall be the same as if issued before a justice of the peace. 

These two meetings of the board appear to have been the only ones. 
No corporation officers were appointed, and for several years nothing fur- 
ther was done, at least there are no records of any elections until January 
1, 1856, when the following notice appeared: 

ELECTION NOTICE. 

There will be an election held at the house of William S. Blair in the town of 
Mount Morris, on the 15th day of January, 1856, for the purpose of electing five trus- 
tees of the town of Mount Morris, in Ogle county, Illinois. 

Mount Morris. Jan. 1, 1856. F. G. PETRIE, Clerk. 

Jacob Coffman, Frederick B. Brayton and D. A. Potter were appointed 
judges of this election, and had the following oath administered to them 
by James M. Webb, Justice of the Peace: 

I. , do solemnly swear that I will perform the duties of judge according to 

law. and the best of my ability, and that I will studiously endeavor to prevent fraud, 
deceit and abuse in conducting the same. 



60 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



As a result of this election, Jacob Coflfman, David A. Potter, Elias 
Baker, William Schultz and Henry I. Little were the trustees elected. The 
whole number of votes cast was thirty-six. The poll-list was as follows: 



William Little. 
Thomas Winston, 
F. B. Brayton. 
Henry Coggins, 
E. M. Cheney. 
Jacob Cotfman, 
J. D. Hays. 
J. M. Webb. 
Peter Knodle, Jr. 



W. S. Blair, 
Ezra Toms. 
John Winders. 
Hiram Beard. 
Robert ONeal. 
D. A. Potter, 
J. A. Knodle, 
Thomas Clems, 
J. A. Noel, 



William Hedges. 
Jonathan Mumma. 
L. J. Brogunier, 
E. W. Little. 
D. S. Coffman. 
John F. Wallace. 
G. W. Harshman, 
B. Cooper. 
Peyton Skinner, 



Simon H. Coffman, 
B. F. Shryock, 
Jesse Mayberry, 

B. R. Thomas, 
Jonathan Knodle, 
Richard Brown, 
Andrew Newcomer, 

C. R. Cheney. 
A. H. Bailey. 



The newly-elected board met and organized January 19, 1856. D. A. 
Potter was elected president; William Schultz, clerk; Jacob Coffman, 
treasurer; and Peter Knodle, Jr., constable. The first business of im- 
portance transacted was concerning the taxes. By a unanimous vote the 
motion was carried that a tax be raised of fifty cents on the one hundred 
dollars of all the real estate within the limits of the corporation, accord- 
ing to the last assessment, for the purpose of making sidewalks and im- 
provements of roads, streets and alleys within the corporation. The 
ordinances passed by the trustees in 1848 were re-enacted at this meeting. 
Peter Knodle, Jr., was appointed corporation tax-collector. 

February 15, 1856, it was provided that sixteen blocks of sidewalk be 
built, and the same to be made three feet wide and of two-inch plank, the 
lots in front of walks to be taxed to pay three-fourths of cost of same. 

February 22, 1856, a tax of fifty cents on the one hundred dollars was 
again levied on all real estate in the corporation, and the collector author- 
ized to proceed to collect the general tax in ten days. March 7, Jacob 
Coffman was appointed street commissioner. April 11, the cost of build- 
ing sixty-six feet of sidewalk was estimated at $13.34 by the trustees. 
June 13, all huckstering was forbidden in the seminary square and within 
the bounds of the streets svirrounding the same; also the sale and firing 
of firecrackers or any kind of fireworks was prohibited within the limits 
of the corporation, except by permit. 

March 28, 1857, fifty dollars was appropriated to build a pound. April 
22, William Schultz was appointed assessor and his compensation fixed at 
$1.50 per day. William H. Coho was appointed constable and pound- 
master. May 1, Jonathan Mumma was appointed street commissioner 
with a compensation of $1.25 per day. Provision was also made for nine 
more blocks of sidewalk, the owners of land to pay three-fourths of the 
cost of building in front of their lots. May 15, Lewis Fletcher was ap- 
pointed collector for the ensuing year, his compensation to be three per 
cent. A tax of five mills was levied on all taxable property. 

March 1, 1858, the spring election took place in the house of W. S. 
Blair. Jacob Coft'man, D. A. Potter and William Schultz were judges. 
New names appearing on the polling-list were those of Elias Williams, 
Nelson Potter, S. V. Miller, William Knodle, Jeremiah Stuff, Warren Little, 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. 61 

Eugene Mattisou, George Davis, H. I. Little, B. G. Stevens, D. C. Wagner, 
A. Q. Allen, H. N. Ryan, Samuel Knodle, J. L. Nye, D. Routzhan, George 
W. Fouke, L. Fletcher, Reuben Wagner, Andrew Newcomer, F. A. McNeill, 
Michael Noel, H. A. Neff, L. Redfield, A. B. Pickard, William Schultz, H. H. 
George, Solomon Davis, L. H. Coffman, W. S. Pope, H. H. Newcomer, 
Charles Brook, E. Baker, and J. M. Webb. The trustees elected for the 
following year were Elias Baker, D. A. Potter, J. B. McCoy, William 
Schultz, and J. McClelland Miller. 

The following, the latter part of the oath of office taken by the trus- 
tees at this time and for several years later, would sound rather queer, and, 
of course, would be entirely unnecessary at this time: "Also we do solemn- 
ly swear that we have not fought a duel, nor sent or accepted a challenge 
to fight a duel, the probable issue of which might have been the death of 
either party, nor in any manner aided or assisted in such duel, nor been 
knowingly the bearer of any such challenge or acceptance since the adop- 
tion of the Constitution, and that we will not be so engaged or concerned, 
directly or indirectly, in or about such duel during our continuance in of- 
fice. So help us God! " This part was dropped in 1871, and a briefer form 
adopted. 

The boai'd organized March 19, 1858, with D. A. Potter president and 
William Schultz clerk. J. B. McCoy was elected treasurer; H. N. Ryan, 
corporation attorney; J. S. Nye, constable and pound-master; J. McClelland 
Miller, street commissioner; William Schultz, corporation assessor. April 9, 
J. McClelland Miller was elected collector and Peter Knodle, Jr., assessor. 
April 14, an ordinance was passed, providing that many of the sidewalks of 
the town be widened from three to four feet. The tax levy for this year 
was forty cents on the one hundred dollars. 

At the spring election of 1859, eighty-eight votes were cast, and Elias 
Baker, James B. McCoy, Henry Nefl", Samuel Knodle, and Andrew New- 
comer were elected trustees. At their first meeting, Elias Baker was chosen 
president; Samuel Knodle, clerk; and H. A. Nefl", treasurer. Later, Sam- 
uel Knodle was elected collector and town constable, and Jonathan Knodle, 
street commissioner and pound-master. September 2, a tax of twenty-five 
cents on the one hundred dollars valuation of real and personal property 
was assessed. 

March 5, 1860, at the annual election, fifty-three votes were cast, and 
J. B. McCoy, Andrew Newcomer, Samuel Knodle, Henry A. Neff", and James 
M. Webb were elected ti-ustees. Andrew Newcomer was elected president; 
Samuel Knodle, clerk; and Henry A. Neff", treasurer. The board appoint- 
ed Peter Knodle, Jr., and William L. Coho corporation constables, and 
Jacob Coft'man, street commissioner. A tax levy of twenty cents on the 
one hundred dollars was made for the year. 

The same trustees were re-elected in 1861, and the president, clerk, and 
treasurer remained the same. A tax rate of twenty cents was again levied 
for the year. 

December 7, 1861, the following petition, signed by twenty-six citizens, 
was presented to the board: 



62 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

To THE Honorable Board of Trustees of the A'illage of Mount Morris: 

Gentlemen: — In view of the fact that an ordinance of this village against tlie sale of 

beer, etc., is dail.v violated by certain shopkeepers, and of the fact that all good citizens 

desire the abatement of this nuisance: 

Therefore, we. the undersigned, beg that .vour body will assemble and either call 

a pul)lic meeting of the citizens, to take some measures for the suppression of this 

traffic, or that .von will .yourselves, having knowledge of the fact named, take due 

course for the execution of the law. and in maintaining temperance and the honor of 

our community. 

In compliance with the above, the board called a meeting of the citi- 
zens of the village, to devise some means to suppress the nuisance. The 
meeting was held in the Methodist church, but no record of the action 
taken by the assembly can be found. 

The tax rate for 1862 was placed at ten cents on the one hundred dol- 
lars. The trustees for this year were the same as the year previous. 

March 2, 1863, seventy-nine votes were recorded at the election. The 
trustees elected were all new men, as follows: James Clark, W. H. Atchi- 
son, H. I. Little, F. B. Brayton, A. Q. Allen. They organized with James 
Clark as president: A. Q. Allen, clerk: and William H. Atchison, treasurer. 
This board continued in office two years. Jvily 25, 1864, Peter Punk was 
appointed pound-master and William Bull, street commissioner. 

In 1865, votes polled, twenty-three. Trustees elected: James B. McCoy 
(president), A. Newcomer (clerk), Henry I. Little (treasurer), J. McClelland 
Miller, and F. B. Brayton. Appointments: J. McClelland Miller, street com- 
missioner at ^2.50 per day; Peter Knodle, constable; William Nichols, 
pound-master. 

In 1866, twenty-nine votes were polled. Trustees elected: F. B. Bray- 
ton (president), Andrew Newcomer (clerk), Henry I. Little (treasurer), Mar- 
tin T. Rohrer, and J. McClelland Miller. Appointments: J. McClelland 
Miller, street commissioner: Peter Knodle, constable: William Fish, pound- 
master. (The pound at this time, and a number of years previous, appeared 
to have been used a great deal for the imprisonment of hogs, many of 
which were allowed to run upon the streets. The trustees often had oc- 
casion to legislate upon this nuisance.) 

In 1867, twenty-four votes were polled. The trustees elected were the 
same as the previous year. Appointments: Stephen H. Cheney, road 
commissioner: William Myers, assistant. A tax of fifty cents on the one 
hundred dollars was assessed for the year's expenses. 

In 1868, forty-seven votes were polled. Trustees elected: Elias Wil- 
liams, Samuel Knodle, Morris Gaffin, John Sprecher, Henry Middlekauff. 
There is no record that the members of this board ever took the oath of 
office or held a single meeting during their year of office. From appear- 
ances, the board of the year previous met in their stead. 

In 1869, the board of 1867 was again elected in the spring election, in 
March. They chose P. B. Brayton president, M. T. Rohrer clerk, and W. I. 
Little treasurer. 

In 1870, eighty-two votes were polled. Trustees elected: F. B. Bray- 
ton (president), M. T. Rohrer (clerk), W. I. Little (treasurer), A. Newcomer, 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. 63 

and Samuel Lookabaugh. Commencing at this election, the president was 
elected by direct vote instead of being selected by the trustees from 
among their own number, as was done heretofore. April 27, this board 
passed a stringent ordinance, " relating to the sale and traffic in wine, rum, 
gin, brandy, whisky, beer, cider, or other intoxicating liquors." For the 
ensuing year a rate of one dollar on each one hundred dollars' worth of 
property was levied. 

In 1871, eighty-eight votes were polled. The board elected was as fol- 
lows: Samuel Kuodle, president; Ezra Toms (clerk), Upton Miller (treas- 
urer), M. Stroh, S. H. Cheney. A tax of two dollars on each one hundred 
dollars was levied for the ensuing year. January 27, a considerable 
amount of new sidewalk was ordered built and the contract let to John T. 
Stewart at thirty-five cents per rod. 

In 1872, seventy-six votes were polled. Board elected: Henry Sharer, 
president; Jonathan Knodle (clerk), Henry Clevidence (treasurer), Henry 
H. Newcomer, John Startzman. More sidewalks were laid this year to 
keep up with the rapid growth of the village. A tax of $500 was levied for 
corporation purposes for the ensuing year. 

In 1873, fifty-seven votes were polled. Board elected: Martin T. 
Rohrer, president; Samuel Lookabaugh (clerk), Henry H. Clevidence 
(treasurer), Oliver H. Swingley, John French. S. H. Cheney was appointed 
street commissioner, and a tax of S700 was levied. 

In 187i, seventy votes were polled. Board elected: Samuel Looka- 
baugh, president; Samuel Mumma (clerk), Henry Sharer, J. A. Knodle, 
H. H. Clevidence. Stephen H. Cheney was reappointed street commis- 
sioner, and a tax of S800 levied. On February 25, 1875, a petition was pre- 
sented to this board, asking that an election be held to vote for or against 
village organization under the general law, enacted by the General Assem- 
bly of Illinois. The petition was granted and the election was set for 
March 27, 1875, with H. I. Little, Elijah Scott, and John Sharer, judges, 
and Peter Householder and A. W. Little, clerks of the election. The elec- 
tion resulted in favor of the proposed village organization, thirty-five votes 
being cast for the measure to one against. 

In 1875, an election was called and held April 20, to elect six trustees, 
a village clerk and police magistrate, as required by the new organiza- 
tion. The result was as follows: Andrew Newcomer, I. H. Allen, H. I. 
Little, H. H. Clevidence, Peter Householder, J. M. Piper, trustees: village 
clerk and police magistrate, M. T. Rohrer. The vote polled was 110. O. H. 
Swingley was appointed treasurer, and Stephen H. Cheney, street commis- 
sioner. September i. a tax levy of S500 was made. September 17, a con- 
siderable amount of new sidewalk was ordered built at a cost of thirty- 
four cents per rod. 

In 1876, the village officers elected were as follows: John H. Swingley, 
H. H. Clevidence, Henry I. Little, Joseph M. Piper, J. A. Knodle, Charles 
Miles, trustees: Martin T. Rohrer, village clerk. Mr. Little was selected as 
president. A. W. Little received the appointment of street commissioner, 
and J. B. McCoy that of village constable. The annual appropriation bill 



64 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

was passed July 29, providing a tax of $625. Later aa additional appropri- 
ation of SlOO was made, to build a calaboose. 

The election held April 17, 1877, was as follows: For trustees, Henry 
Clevidence, John H. Swingley, Samuel Mumma, Benj. G. Stephens, Jacob 
A. Knodle, Thomas Williams; village clerk, John Sharer. B. G. Stephens 
was chosen president. O. H. Swingley was appointed treasvirer; Peter 
Punk, street commissioner; and J. B. McCoy, village constable. The an- 
nual appropriation was $500. 

In 1878, the election was held April 16, and resulted as follows: For 
trustees, H. L. Smith, T. C. Williams, H. H. Newcomer, L. J. Brogunier, 
H. H. Clevidence, W. S. Blair; village clerk, Arthur M. Newcomer. H. H. 
Clevidence was chosen president. Appointments: O. H. Swingley, village 
treasurer; Rigdon McCoy, street commissioner; Addison W. Neff, village 
constable. During this year the first licensed saloon was opened by W. H. 
Wallace, who paid $400 per annum for the privilege. Licenses were also 
granted to Pool Brothers and Solomon Davis to run billiard-halls. An ap- 
propriation of $4:00 was made for all purposes for the ensuing year. B. F. 
Tracy was appointed street commissioner September 9, to fill vacancy, for 
the remainder of the term. 

In 1879, the election resulted as follows: Trustees, John W. Hitt, John 
H. Nye, Charles C. Miles, George W. Shank, Lewis Sprecher, J. F. Whit- 
man: village clerk, Edward Mooney. John W. Hitt was elected president. 
Appointments for the year: O. H. Swingley, village treasurer: James B. 
McCoy, village constable; H. C. Clark, street commissioner. A levy of 
$500 was made to meet the year's expenses. 

In 1880, the election resulted as follows: Trustees, Charles Newcomer, 
Peyton Skinner, George H. Riner, John French, Samuel Middour, H. H. 
Thomas; clerk, E. L. Mooney. License was made an issue at this election, 
and apparently a very strong sentiment had arisen against the saloons, as 
the result shows that 174 votes were cast against and not one for license. 
The board organized with Charles Newcomer as president. At this time 
the term of the trustees was changed from one to two years, three of the 
six to be elected every year. It being necessary to divide the board into 
two classes, one to serve one year and the other, two, lots were cast, which 
resulted as follows: Charles Newcomer, Peyton Skinner, and John French 
were to serve one year, and George H. Riner, Samuel Middour, and H. H. 
Thomas, two years. Appointments for the year: Village constable, A. W. 
Neff; treasurer, O. H. Swingley; village clerk, to fill vacancy caused by res- 
ignation of clerk-elect. Holly C. Clark; street commissioner, B. F. Tracy. 
Later H. L. Smith was chosen to succeed Mr. Neft" as village constable. 
The sum of $1,075 was appropriated for the year's expenses. 

In 1881, the three new trustees elected were Andrew Newcomer, George 
Sprecher, and John French. Holly Clark was elected village clerk and 
Andrew Newcomer was chosen president. Appointments: O. H. Swingley, 
treasurer; B. F. Tracy, street commissioner: Robert Crosby, marshal. 
Rigdon McCoy was later chosen to succeed Mr. Crosby as marshal. The 
annual appropriation was $800. 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. ' 65 

lu 1882, the trustees elected were as follows: H. H. Clevideuce, Luther 
J. Brogunier, Archibald S. McCoy; village clerk, W. H. Miller. H. H. 
Clevidence was chosen president. Appointments: David Rine, treasurer; 
B. F. Stouft'er, marshal: Robert Crosby, street commissioner. A saloon 
and a billiard-hall were licensed by this board, the former paying a license 
of $500. The annual appropriation bill amounted to $1,000. Rigdon McCoy 
acted as marshal during the latter part of the fiscal year. 

In 1883, the officers elected were as follows: Trustees, George Sprecher, 
David Newcomer, A. E. Canode; clerk, Samuel Knodle. H. H. Clevidence 
was chosen president. Appointments: David Rine, treasurer; Robert 
Crosby, street commissioner. No appropriation appears to have been made. 

In 1881, the trustees elected were Isaac Rice, Benjamin F. Mumma, 
John Harmon; to fill vacancy, John Stewart. Samuel Knodle was elected 
village clerk, and Isaac Rice was chosen president. Appointments: A. M. 
Newcomer, treasurer; John E. Miller, street commissioner and marshal; 
George S. Cheney, assistant marshal. William C. Withers was appointed 
street commissioner, to fill vacancy, during the latter part of the year. 
Appropriation, $1,881. The records of this year show considerable activity 
on the part of the board in suppressing the illicit sale of liquor. 

In 1885, trustees elected: David Newcomer, John T. Stewart, Jacob 
Good; clerk, Samviel Knodle. Isaac Rice was again selected president. 
Appointments: A. M. Newcomer, treasurer; William C. Withers, street 
commissioner and marshal. Appropriation, $1,000. 

In 1886, trustees elected: William H. Jackson, Benj. F. Tracy, Peter 
Householder; clerk, Samuel Knodle. David Newcomer was selected presi- 
dent. Appointments: A. M. Newcomer, treasurer; William C. Withers, 
street commissioner; George S. Cheney, marshal and pound-master. The 
office of marshal was later transferred to Jacob Withers. In May of this 
year, the present village hall and lot were purchased of John Sprecher for 
$300. The calaboose was moved upon the newly-purchased lot, and the re- 
mainder used as a pound. In August, the board commenced the work of 
revising the ordinances, which were afterward published in pamphlet form. 
Jacob Good, an honored member of the board, died during this term, and 
resolutions of respect were passed and spread upon the minutes. The an- 
nual appropriation amounted to $1,500. 

In 1887, trustees elected: Full term, David Newcomer, John T. Stewart, 
Samuel Rowe; to fill vacancy, Oliver H. Swingley: clerk, Samuel Knodle. 
Dr. Newcomer was again chosen president. Appointments: William C. 
Withers, street commissioner; A. M. Newcomer, treasurer. Annual ap- 
propriation, $1,000. 

In 1888, the election resulted as follows: For president, Charles New- 
comer: trustees, Daniel N. Wingert, Joseph M. Piper, Charles Sharer; 
clerk, Samuel Knodle. Appointments: Benjamin F. Tracy, street com- 
missioner and marshal; A. M. Newcomer, treasurer. Kerosene lamps for 
lighting the streets were purchased in August and placed on the principal 
corners of the town. The appropriation for the fiscal year amounted to 
$1,000. 



66 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

In 1889, the election resulted as follows: For president, Charles New- 
comer: trustees, George Sprecher, John T. Stewart, George B. McCosh; 
clerk, Samuel Knodle. Appointments: A. M. Newcomer, treasurer; Sam- 
uel Rowe, marshal and street commissioner. In July of this year, three 
large cisterns, to provide water in case of fire, were built, each cistern hav- 
ing a capacity of 150 barrels. They have long since been filled up. A fire 
company of seven persons was formed at this time. The annual appropri- 
ation was §1,000. 

In 1890, the election resulted as follows: For president, Charles New- 
comer; trustees, A. E. Canode, Clinton E. Price, Henry H. Newcomer; 
clerk, Samuel Kuodle. Appointments: William H. Miller, treasurer: Sam- 
uel Rowe, marshal and street commissioner. Annual appropriation, $1,000. 

In 1891, result of election: For pi-esident, Charles Newcomer; trustees, 
George B. McCosh, Henry L. Smith, Jacob Craley; clerk, Samuel Knodle. 
The question whether a village tax of one mill should be levied for a public 
library was an issue at this election. Seventy-one votes were cast in favor 
of, and one against, the proposition. William Miller and Samuel Rowe were 
reappointed treasurer and marshal and street commissioner respectively. 
The annual appropriation was $1,500. 

In 1892, result of election: For president, Charles Newcomer; trustees, 
Samuel P. Mumma, A. M. Newcomer, Daniel B. Keedy; clerk, Samuel 
Knodle. William Miller was again appointed treasurer and Samuel Rowe, 
street commissioner and marshal. The annual appropriation was $1,650. 

In 1893, result of election: For president, W. H. Jackson; trustees, 
Philip T. Sprecher, Charles H. Sharer, C. H. Mishler; clerk, Samuel 
Knodle. Officers of the year previous were reappointed. The street lead- 
ing to the depot, known as " Midway," was opened and macadamized. An- 
nual appropriation, $1,8.50. 

In 1894, result of election: For president, W. W. Hanes: trustees, Clin- 
ton E. Price, Henry L. Smith, Benj. Rine; clerk, Samuel Knodle. Officers 
of the previous year were reappointed. During the summer the first five 
blocks (5,728 square feet) of tar-concrete walk were constructed by J. F. 
Wisner, of Rockford. The annvial appropriation bill amounted to $2,500. 
At the meeting of the board on February 4, 1895, the following petition, 
signed by N. E. Buser, Charles Newcomer, Joseph Amiek, L. A. Plate, R. E. 
Arnold, Simon E. Yundt, and 168 others, was submitted for their consider- 
ation; 

To THE PkESIDENT AND BOAKD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF MoUNt'MoRKIS : 

Genllemeii: — The uiidersig-ned, citizens and tax-payers of Mount Morris, feeling 
that the time has arrived when the village should have a system of water-works, here- 
with suljmit this petition, and respectfully ask your honorable body to take the 
legal preliminary measures necessary to submit the question of water-works to the 
voters of the village at the coming spring election, — said water-works not to exceed 
$1.5.000, and to be so constructed as to furnish ample protection from fire to the lumber 
yard of Clark & Wingert, the elevators, and Chain-Stay Fence factory, on the north 
side: P. T, Sprecher, A. W. Brayton. and .John Rice, on the east side; the creamery. Old 
Folks" Home, and public school building, on the south side; Mr. Liitz and John French, 
on the west side: and all property included \\ itliin the above limits. 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE. 67 

The ordinance prohibiting- the pasturing of cattle on the streets was 
ordered to be strictly enforced, and the practice was eflt'ectually done away 
with. 

In 1895, result of election: For president, W. W. Hanes; trustees, full 
terms, John H. Rice, Philip T. Sprecher, W. A. Newcomer; to fill vacancy, 
Ira W. Wingert: clerk, Samuel Knodle. The question whether a water- 
works system should be put in was voted upon, 96 votes being cast in favor 
of, and 69 in opposition to the measvire. The officers of the year previous 
were reappointed. May 6, it was ordered that bonds to the amount of 
$8,000 be issued by the village to apply on the construction of water- 
works. It was provided that these bonds be eight in number, and each be 
for $1,000, one bond payable each year in ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, four- 
teen, fifteen, sixteen, and seventeen years respectively from the date of 
issue, said bonds to bear interest vmtil paid at the rate of five per cent from 
the date of issue (July 1, 1895). The bonds secured purchasers and are 
now in the hands of Farson, Leach ct Co., of Chicago. May 11, a special 
meeting of the board was held to consider the kind of water-works that 
would be suitable. A number of authorities were consulted, and a com- 
mittee, appointed with power to let the contract for the system, visited 
Amboy, and reported in favor of a steel tower. June 27, the annual appro- 
priation ordinance was passed, providing $100 for interest on water- works 
bonds, $1,500 for increase of water system, and $1,100 for other purposes, 
making a total of $3,300, the largest sum ever appropriated for village pur- 
poses, previous to that time. July 21, the contract for drilling the artesian 
well was let to J. P. Miller & Co., of Chicago, and August 8, the contract 
for the tower, power-house, and equipment complete, was let to the United 
States Wind, Engine and Pump Co., of Batavia, for $6,163. April 6, 1896, 
the following ordinance was passed: 

Be it ordained by the president and Board of Trustees of the villag-e of Mount 
Morris, that all sidewalk on the principal streets hereafter to he constructed shall be 
laid of tar-concrete, stone, brick, or artificial stone, excepting- the sidewalk in front of 
stores and other business houses on Wesley avenue and other l)usiness streets, where it 
may be impracticable or undesirable to lay walks with other material than plunks or 
boards. 

In 1896, result of election: For president. W. W. Hanes: trustees. Ira 
W. Wingert, Edward Slater, Benj. Rine: clerk, Samuel Knodle. William 
H. Miller was again appointed village treasurer and Samuel Rowe, marshal 
and street commissioner. In July, complete settlement was made with the 
U. S. W., E. and P. Co. for the water-works system, the amount of the bill 
being $6,435.91. The annual appropriation bill amounted to $3,300, $100 
being set aside for interest on bonds, $1,500 for increase of water- works 
system, and the balance for sidewalks, streets, and contingences. 

In 1897, result of election: For president, A. W. Brayton; trustees, 
Philip T. Sprecher, H. E. Newcomer, W^ A. Newcomer; clerk, Samuel 
Knodle. Appointments: William H. Miller, treasurer; Samuel Rowe, 
marshal and street commissioner; C. H. Whitman, fire marshal. During 
the spring of this year, 2,169 lineal feet of tar-concrete walk was laid. 



68 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

aggregating about seven blocks, in addition to the wide walk leading to the 
depot. The annual appropriation provided $3,300, of which §1,200 was de- 
signed for increasing the water-works system. 

In 1898, result of election: For president, A. W. Brayton; trustees, 
A. E. Clevidence, Benj. Rine, Ira W. Wingert; clerk, Samuel Knodle. Ap- 
pointments: William H. Miller, treasurer: Samuel Rowe, marshal: C. H. 
Whitman, fire marshal: George Lampert, street commissioner. In Ajiril, 
7,5611^ lineal feet of tar-concrete walk was laid. Appropriation, S3.300, 
of which amount 8900 was for increase of water system and S700 for walks. 

In 1899, the election resulted as follows: For president, W. W. Hanes; 
trustees, H. E. Newcomer, W. A. Newcomer, Philip T. Sprecher: clerk, 
Samuel Knodle. Appoiutments, William H. Miller, treasurer; Samuel 
Rowe, marshal; George Lampert, street commissioner. Appropriation, 
$3,300. No provision was made for the extension of the water-mains, 
an extra large amount being set aside for sidewalks. In July of this year, 
the street commissioner purchased an improved road-grader, with which 
much good work has been done on unmacadamized streets. Nearly 3,000 
lineal feet of tar-concrete walk was laid during the year. 

In 1900, the election resulted as follows: For president, W. W. Hanes; 
trustees, Ira W. Wingert, Benj. Rine, William Peacock; clerk, B. E. Avey. 
Appointments, Roy Householder, treasurer; Samuel Rowe, manager of 
pumping-station; William Keedy, marshal and street commissioner. The 
annual appropriation bill, passed June 7, again provided $3,300 for current 
expenses during the tiscal year. In August, William Keedy resigned, and 
William Withers was appointed street commissioner, while the duties of 
marshal were again assumed by Samuel Rowe. 




W L £ 







to 

CD 



O 
CD 

^' 
o 






O 

c 



O 

5* 



^3 
C/) 



t3' 



CHAPTER IV. 
INCORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 

The township of Mount Morris was organized in the year 1850, under 
the Township Organization Law, passed by the State Legislature in Feb- 
ruary of the year previous. The first town meeting was held on the sec- 
ond day of April, 1850, in the chapel of the Rock River Seminary, for the 
purpose of choosing town officers. Of this meeting D. J. Pinckney was 
moderator and Benj. G. Stephens, clerk. A resolution was passed to divide 
the township into six road districts, and an overseer of highways was ap- 
pointed for each district. The election of town officers, as are required by 
law to be elected by ballot, resulted as follows: For supervisor, James B. 
McCoy; town clerk, A. Q. Allen; assessor, M. Garman; collector, Jonathan 
Kuodle, Sr.; highway commissioners, Abram Thomas, Jacob Myers, Henry 
Hiestaud: constables, Peter Knodle, Henry Little; justices of the peace, 
James M. Webb, Henry Little; overseer of the poor, Benj. G. Stephens. 

The voters at this first township election numbered 107, many of whose 
names are probably forgotten by the present citizens of Mount Morris. 
The list will be of interest to many, and is as follows: 



David Gloss. 
Samuel S. Miller, 
David Beard. 
John Beard, 
Abraham Thomas, 
John Harmon, Jr., 
D. J. Pinckney, 
Peter Glasgow, 
Andrew Rowland, 
James D. Hays, 
Joseph Miiller, 
William Griibb, 
Jacob Beard, 
Walter McNutt, 
Jonathan Knodle, Sr., 
John Palmer, 
Charles M. Haller, 
Washington Phelps, 
Samuel Garber, 
Samuel Webb. 
Jacob Philips, 
Henry Coif man, 
James Mitten, 
Thomas Bryant, 
John Rice, 
George Fouke. 
John Miller, 
Henry Little, 



Michael Garman, Jr.. 
Martin Rodermel, 
George Bra.vton, 
Daniel Sprecher, 
Michael Garman. Sr.. 
William Little, 
Jacob Coffman, 
Salathiel Highbarger, 
Jacob Rice. Jr., 
Jacob Meyers, 
O. N. Adams. 
Henry Clarke, 
C. C. Olds. 
Jacob Hoffman, 
John Wallace, 
Adam Patterson, 
John Ankney. 
John Lauderbaugh, 
David Butterbaugh, 
Andrew Newcomer, 
Jacob Hykas, 
Henry Agard, 
Joel R. Carll. 
William Falkler, 
James M. Webb, 
Talbot C. Ankney, 
C. Misner, 
John Hammer, 



F. G. Petrie. 
John Schultz. 
Daniel Arnold, 
William Schultz, 
Stephen H. Cheney, 
Peter Knodle, 
Otho Wallace, 
Henry Newcomer, 
Henry Neff. 
Enoch Wood. 
Elias Baker, 
Richard McClain, 
Samuel Foutz, 
Henry Thomas, 
George Avey, 
Thomas Winn, 
Benj. Hedrick, 
Aaron Billig, 
F. B. Brayton, 
Matthew Ayers, 
J. J. Beatty, 
N. J. Stroh. 
Benj. G. Stephens, 
J. B. McCoy. 
L. S. Carll, 
Stephen Adams, 
W. S. Blair. 
William Hedges, 
(73) 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



Matthew Blair. 
Samuel McMilleii. 
Lawrence Wallace, 
James Fouke. 
Peter Funk, 
Jonathan Kiiodle. Jr.. 
S. M. Fellow s. 
Jacol) A. Knodle. 



Alexander Hedrick, 
N. J. Jndson. 
Cooper Crews. 
Peter Knodle. Sr.. 
John F. Grosh. 
Isaac Rice. 
Jonathan Meyers. 
Samuel Thomas. 



Philip .Sprecher. 
Samuel Swingle.v. 
A. Q. Allen. 
John Reitzell. 
A. C. Marston. 
William Stephens, 
Jonas Shafstall. 



Prom the time of this first town meeting, held in April 1850, the meet- 
ings have been continued regularly in that month each year, being known 
as "Annual Town Meetings." The principal business to come before 
these meetings is the election, by ballot, of township officers, the appoint- 
ment of overseers of highways of the several road districts into which the 
township is divided, the appropriation of funds to defray the expenses of 
the township, and the passage of a few laws found necessary from year to 
year for the welfare of the general public. 

The poll-list of the first election has already been given. The poll-list 
of 1852 is interesting from the fact that in it are found the names of Hon. 
Shelby M. Cullom and General John A. Rawlins, who were evidently stu- 
dents at the seminary at that time. The poll-list of 1860 is an excep- 
tionally large one, containing the names of 235 voters. A perusal of the 
list disclosed the fact that the majority of these old residents are either 
dead or greatly advanced in years. Their names inserted here will prove 
of interest: 



S. Vinton Miller. 
Isaac H. Allen, 
A. Q. Allen. 
D. C. Morgan. 
Andrew Newcomer. 
Samuel Rennie. 
Daniel Sprecher, 
Solomon Davis, 
G. W. Marshall, 
Henry S. Jones, 
G. W. Gibbs, 
Daniel E. Thomp-son. 
John McClelland Miller, 
William Rine, 
William H. Bull. 
Jacob A. Knodle. 
Isaac Prichard. 
W. H. Gibbs. 
Henry Middlekautf, 
Henry Sharer. 
Carlton R. Cheney, 
Enoch J. Coifman, 
Philip Sprecher. 
Alfred M. Doward, 
John A. Noel, 
Jacob CotPman. 
Joseph S. Nye. 
Sidney Redlield. 
William J. Fletcher. 



Henry Butterl)augh 
Joseph N. Knodle. 
Elijah Lott. 
Samuel Knodle. 
Jacob Stouffer, 
John Sharer. 
Peter Knodle. Sr., 
Theodore Higrley. 
J. A. Ormsbee, 
David Rine. 
Jacob Phillips. 
Jeremiah Lambert, 
William S. Blair. 
Samuel Domer, 
H. I. Little. 
Robert Hitt. 
Lyman S. Carll, 
Edwin Cheney, 
Samuel Foutz, 
William Fish. 
Peyton Skinne-r, 
James D. Hays. 
James M. Webb, 
George Knodle, 
William Knodle, 
Peter Knodle, Jr., 
James H. Fouke, 
A. Pope. 
Bolivar Cooper, 



Amos Wiley. 
Horace Hansom. 
John Dunton. 
Frederick Lohafer. 
Jonathan Knodle, 
James B. McCoy, 
Jacob Sharer, 
William T. Coojjer, 
John Newton, 
Jacob Corell. 
Rodney Burnett, 
John T. Long, 
John D. Welty. 
D. B. Morgan. 
William Newcomer, 
Edward Davis, 
William J. Gibbs, 
J. R. Holsinger, 
Cyrus Alden. 
William S. Pope, 
Milton McAnley, 
Abrani Pelker, 
David Felker, 
John F. Miller. 
Adam Patterson, 
Jonathan Hill, 
Thomas Barker, 
Elijah Glasgow, 
F. A. McNeill. 



INCORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 



Henry Thompson. 
B. K. Shryock. 
Isane Fry. 
Henry Newcomer. 
Michael Noel. 
Walter B. McCoy. 
William Nichols. 
John Sprecher. 
Samuel Householder. 
John Stover. 
William L. Coho. 
Christian Rockenbaug^h. 
Calvin Potter. 
George Sprecher. 
Jacob J. Mace. 
Michael Garmaii. Jr.. 
Aug-ust Steinmeyer. 
Jacob Mace. 
Henry Thomas. 
Ernest Floto. 
James Potter. 
Henr.v Stover. 
Joseph Waterme.ver. 
A. Billig. 
Jacol) Hilg-er. 
Benjamin Rowe. 
John Page. 
John Hamping. 
Martin T. Rohrer. 
Jacob Mitchell. 
Joseph MuUer. 
Henry A. Neif . 
David A. Potter. 
Henry F. Newcomer, 
Emanuel Stover. 
John Gloss. 
D. C. Routzhan. 
Jonas Shafstall. 
Jacob Cross. 
John Felker. 
David Turne.v. 
Richard Shaw. 
Daniel Shaw. 
N. J. Stroh. 
Alexander Hedrick. 
Abram Weaver. 
F. W. Stonebraker. 
A>)ram Thomas, 
David Gloss, 
S. O. Pickard. 



Daniel Stover. 
Leonard Thompson, 
Caleb Marshall. 
Georgre Smith. 
Michael Brantner. 
Isaac Newcomer. 
D. H. Butterbaugh. 
H. J. Farwell. 
J. Martin Davis. 
Isaac Rice. 
Eli Thonijjson. 
John W. Hitt. 
John F. Wallace. 
Joel Newcomer. 
Andrew F. Long. 
James Fleming, 
John Davis, 
Daniel Zellers, 
Benj, Swingle.v, 
James Wallace, 
William Spero. 
William H. Atchison. 
Richard Allison. 
Reuben Marshall. 
John W. Hammer. 
Otho Wallace. 
.John S. Spero, 
Benj, Hammer. 
George W. Fouke. 
F. B. Brayton. 
Henry Baker. 
Ezra Thomas. 
Stephen H. Cheney, 
David Cornell. 
Thomas Coggins, 
Stephen .Smith. 
Myron Phillips, 
John H. Nye. 
William Hedges, 
Carlos Meddler. 
Jonathan Myers. 
Pratt German. 
Peter Glasgow. 
Lewis H. Routzhan, 
William Grubb, 
Walter McNutt, 
John Jones, 
Christian Tockey, 
Peter Punk, 
A. W. McMullen, 



Willard Pond, 
Elias Williams, 
Samuel Thomas, 
Joel R. Carll. 
Thomas Winston, 
Frank Highbarger. 

C. Hills. 
Martin Miller, 
Joshua Slifer, 
Daniel Knodle. 
Andrew Sharp. 
Samuel Long. 
B. G. Stephens, 
David Nikirk, 
John L. Jones. 
John Startzman. 
Solomon Nally. 
W. J. Fouke. 
George Eavey, 

D. J. Pinckney. 
J. S. Shook. 
Elias J.Ohr. 

A. Warren Little. 
Jacob Miles. 
Henry Shilling. 
Muhlenburg Stroh. 
Ujjton Miller, 
Harri-soa Sage. 
Henry Johnson. 
Benjamin Seibert. 
John Martin. 
Nelson J. Potter, 
Andrew Hitt. 
Chris. MiddlekaufF, 
Emery Hitt, 
Franklin Black, 
William Little, 
Emanuel Toms, 
Joseph Hitt. 
J. A. McKean. 
H. E. Stout. 

F. M. Clark. 
J. H. McKean. 
William H. Harlow. 

G. B. Charles, 

H. B. Cartwright, 
J, M, Pijier, 
M, Y. Wood. 



October 29, 1864, a special town meeting was held, and the question 
voted upon whether the town should or should not levy a tax sufficient to 
pay the expenses incurred in furnishing eleven volunteers for the service of 
the United States, in accordance with the call of the President for more 
troops, issued a short time previous. There were 151 votes polled, 134 in 
favor of the tax and 17 against. 



76 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



o 

>^ 
o & 

&^ 



i 

p 






1' 

< 


i 
® 

2^ 




















: 1^ : 

il 

ill 

m 


1 
® 

a 

ID 
S 

1 
» 

1 

d 
iiD 

li 

0) S 
|l 

il 

n 
Jit 

|i 

Is 




i 


£ 


'1 


1 

IS 

% 


i \ 
5-; 


i 
c 


'a 


7 


t 


1 

^ 


s 

I 


£ 

C 
1 




1 


8 ; 

f 

-5 


i 




'■'■'■ c 

: • x: ' 

■ 'i. » 

: S § 

• 2S 

S 5 f£ 


^ 




< 

O 


1 


1 


'■ 1 

s 




j 




£ 
1 




1 
1 

1 




"aj 
1 




t 








1 

K 

E 

1 




1 

in 


1 

1-5 


I 

I 

j 

a: 




i 

PL, 

rfi 




1 

a; 
c 

1 


s - 


y 


U 






Q 


■J 




5 


1 

H 
















8 
z 

1 

11 










< 


O rH M TO -* « co' 1-^ 00 oi" o ^ c>; 9^' -f ire «5 1-: 00 05 O rt" (^l cc -+■ 

oooooocoGOoooocooooocoooocciooOQOCcoocoGOaooouo.ooco 



INCORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 



73 O 
«3 O 



Q " 

CO 






o ^ 



u 


>. 




X 
















>> 






o 


a 




1) 


^^ 


^ 


fl 




^ 


Si 


ti 




p 


fir 




a 










fl 




Oj 








0) 




43 








t3 











JS 












































K 


^' 


bxi ; 











































1 




1= i %i:i 






55 1 


© ■ ■ 

llli 




> 



1 




?asS"^^.-3= =s«:S^S5 5^2'^^"' 








^1^1^ <- ^^ 6^ ^1^^ ^a^dxv^ 




1 


























































w 


















































2 't; 
















































■^ u 












































































































































'o'i 


O 






i 








i- . 








is 
















r^ 


1 


^ ^' cAj fl r2 K ffi -am 


1 


.3 
« 




-4-l,C3-- ■«• - -SS-- ■- *^ u ■ - ' ^ - 




> !- 




^ ^ <A u^ ' S-'-Sci- • •,=-* S 


■■ o *"" 1 








11 

as 




V 










































































































































o 






















































i? 














































































































^ 




















































o'B 


« 












■ 








^ 


T3 






■£.2 


s 




b 


>. ^ 




c 


= t< 




— '> 




i. 


ills-- ■ ■^■JilliS 






1 


r^«i^« 111^^^^ 




^ » 
s-'" 


H 


ii s'x^s ^.jhkSs 




»° 




^ 1.2^1. _ ^.=5 &35|| . . . . 




Is 








cSfi 




«•' ^ illl ffillllll 




■>- 

.5 ° 








^ S 




















































: °53 




















































t. *' 




















































d « 




















































!D^ 








































































































ir. f- 













c 








• -; 




• ss 


m 










Qi 








■""^ >-. 


> 












g = 5 : 




"^ m 








1? 


^ 
P 

m 




S5 

^ 
















i i s' i i i i i i i i 1 i i i i 1 i 1 1 1 i i 1 


II 




>< 


^^rtrt^^rHrt-,rtrH^^-H.H^,-^jH^^rt^-Wr- 


rH ^ 





78 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Highway Commissioners of the Township 



YEAR. 


Name. 


YEAE. 


Name. 


1850. . . 
18.51. . . 
18.52,.. 
1853, . . 
1854, . . 
18.5.5... 
1856. . . 
18.57. . . 
18.58... 
1859, . . 
I860,.. 
1861, . . 
1862,.. 
1863... 
1864... 
1865,.. 
1866, . . 
1867... 
1868,.. 
1869. . . 


\ Abrani Tlionias. Jacob Myers... 


1870,.. 
1871,.. 
1872,.. 
1873,.. 
1874... 
1875,.. 
1876,.. 
1877,.. 
1878... 
1879... 
1880,.. 
1881. . . 
1882... 
188*,.. 
1884... 
1885. . . 
1886... 
1887.. 
1888. . 
1889,. 
1890.. 
1891.. 
*1892.. 
1893,. 
1894,. 
1895.. 
1896,. 
1897,. 
1898.. 
1899,.. 
1900. . 


William Lohafer 

Charles Sn)ith 

Reuben Marshall 

William Lohafer. 


(Joel R. (aril. Jacob Turney 

/ Henry .">liarer 

\ Joel R. Carl. Jacob Myers 


Charles Smith 

W. S. I^lake 


* George S\yingley 

/ Henry Hiestand. Lyman S.Carll, 

\ A. Q. Allen. Jacob CofFman 

'/ William Falkler 

* Jacob Coffman. A. Q. Allen 

1 H. J. Farwell 


R.S.Marshall 

Jonathan Shafstal 

R. S. Marshall 

JacobG.Miller 

Jonathan Shafstal 


) Abram Thomas. Jacol> Coif man. 


JacobG.Miller 

Jonathan Shafstal 

R. S. Marsliall 

Henry Stahlhnt 

(Jeorsre V. Farwell 

R.S.Marshall 

Henry Stahlhnt 


\ Jacob Cotfman. J. B. McCoy 

1 L. S.Carll 

\ J()el R. Carll, Jacob Coffman,. .. 


( William Rine. Joel R. Carll, 


Same as year previous. 

\ William Rine. Joel R. Carll, 

/ B F Hedrick. 


R. S. Marsliall 

George Y. Farwell 

R S Marshall 




Martin T Rohrer 


Jacob Phillips. 


Prank Midler 

Georg-e V. Farwell 

R. S. Marshall 

Edward Potter 

W E McCreadv. . . . 


H J Farwell 


Renl)en Marsliall 

Jacob Pliillips. 


H J Farwell 




Ira W. Marshall 








*No election. 







Justices of the Peace op the Township 



YEAH. 


Name. 


YEAE. 


Name. 


1850. . . 
1854, . . 
18.58. . . 
1860, . . 
1862. . . 

1866, . . 
1870. . . 
187L.. 


i; James M. Web)) 


1874, . . 
1875. . . 
1877. . . 
1881... 
1885. . . 
1889. . . 
1893. . . 
1897. . . 


William Rine 


)Henrv Little 

1 Benjamin T. Hedrick, 




/ Joiin Weller. 


1 James M \Vel)l) 




1 Charles M Haller. 


"/A.Q.Allen 

(John Weller 


Joel K. Carll 


•? Daniel Fajrer 




S James M Webb. 


( R. 1). MeClure 

\ \i. 1). McClnre 




\Elijali Lott 

") Andrew Newcomer, . . 


<, R. D. McCUure, 

} Jonathan Hiestand, 


^Elijah Lott 

"/Daniel Thomas 


*Kaiitf man failed to qmilify. and A. M 


. Newcoi 


iier w as elected next spring. 



INCORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 

Constables of the Township 



Note. — Jiidg-ing- from the records, the office of constable was filled in a very er- 
ratic manner, some years there being two officers elected: some years, only one. and 
frequently, none at all. A blank after a year signifies that the office was not supplied 
by election. The term of service also varied, being of different lengths until 1881. 
when it was fixed at four years. 



YEAR. 


Name. 


YEAR. 


Name. 


1850, . . 

1851. . . 
1852,.. 
1853. . . 
1854, . . 
1855, . . 
18.56, . . 
1857. . . 
1858, . . 
1859. . . 
1860, . . 
1861, . . 
1862, . . 

1863, . . 

1864, . . 
1865... 
1866. . . 


\ Peter Knodle, 


1867. . . 
1868. . . 
1869. . . 
1870. . . 
1871. . . 
1873. . . 
1876. . . 
1877, . . 
1880, . . 
1881, . . 
1885, . . 
1889, . . 
1893, . . 
1897, . . 


) William Bull. 


1 Henry Little, 


1 Peter Knodle 






^ James Fouke, 


( Peter Knodle, 


/ A. M. Doward, 


S Franklin W Black. 


■^ Alex. A. Cook 




( Lewis Fletcher. 


A. W. Little. 


i J B McCoy, 


1 William L. Coho 




\ Peter Knodle. 


James B. McCoy, . 


( Henry L Smith. 


/ William L. Coho 




William Rull. 


\ Charles Smith 

1 Daniel 1? Keedy. 




\ Charles Smith 


\ William }5ull. 




1 Peter Knodle 


i Charles Kubsamen 


< William Bull. 


"(William H. Keedy 


1 Fred. Long. 


1 Peter Knodle 





School Trustees of the Township 



From 1870, the year of the establishment of the office, up to 
the present time. 



YEAR. 


Name. 


YEAR. 


Name. 


1870. . . 
1871. . . 
1872. . . 
1873, . . 
1874. . . 
1875,.. 
*1876... 
1877. . . 
1878. . . 
1879. . . 
1880. . . 
1881. . . 
1882... 
1883. . . 
1884,.. 
1885, . . 
1886,.. 


Henry Sharer. 


1887... 
1888. . . 
1889. . . 
1890. . . 
1891, . . 
1:1892, . . 
1893. . . 
1894,.. 
1895. . . 
1896. . . 
1897... 
1898. . . 
1899. . . 
1900. . . 


( Jacob O. Thomas. 


John E McCoy. 


} fWiliam Stahlhut. 


Isaac Rice 


W. S. Blake 


Henry Sharer. . . 


William Stahlhut. 


JohnE McCoy. 


Josiah Avey. 






John E. McCoy. 


( Andrew Gigous. 


Levi Kerns. 


HW A Newcomer 


Henry T. Moats 


< Jacol) (). Thomas 

HArthiir M. Newcomer 

C A Zunidahl. 


John E. McCoy. 


Levi Kerns 


John Weller 




-lohn E. McCoy 

Levi Kerns. 




W. A. Newcomer 


W S Blake. 


John E Tice 


William Stahlhut 






*No one elected. jTo fill vacancy. 


tNo ele 


ction held. 



80 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Juue 30, 1870. a special town meetiug was lield to vote for or against a 
donation of 875,000 to the Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company. This ques- 
tion is discussed more fully in the chapter on the coming of the railroad. 

Mount Morris township has furnished competent men,, not only for 
the administration of her own affairs but also has sent many of her most 
prominent citizens to fill places of trust and honor in the various depart- 
ments of the county government: a number have been elected to seats in 
the General Assembly of Illinois: and one has entered the halls of our 
National Legislature, where he has acquired a world-wide reputation. 
Probably no more appropriate place covild be found for enumerating these 
distinguished men. They are as follows: 

Member- of Congress, House of Representatives.— Hon. Robert R. Hitt. 

Illinois State Senate. Prof. Daniel J. Pinckney, 25th and 26th Gen- 
eral Assemblies: Hon. Isaac Rice, 32nd and 33rd General Assemblies. 

Illinois State House of 1 ^jresewfafn-es.— Samuel M. Hitt, 14th Gen- 
eral Assembly: Prof. Daniel J. Pinckney, 19th, 20th and 24th General As- 
semblies; Dr. Francis A. McNeill, 22ud General Assembly; Hon. Isaac Rice, 
28th and 29th General Assemblies; Hon. Franklin N. Tice,. 30th and 31st 
General Assemblies. 

Sheriffs of Ogle County. ~^E\is Baker, 1853 and 1854; Charles Newcomer, 
1855 and 1856; Fredericflt G. Petrie, 1859 and 1860. 

County Judge. — James M. Webb. 

County Si(rveyors.^Joshusi Rice, 1843-'45; A. Quimby Allen, 1857-'58 
and 1861-76. 

Comity Superintendents of S'c/; ooZs.— Eldridge W. Little, 1859-'62, Jo- 
seph M. Piper, 1888 . 

Cotmty Coroner.^Dr. W. W. Hanes, 1892 . 

County Commissioners.— Henry Hiestand, 1845-1846. 

Members Constitntional Convention.— Daniel J. Pinckney, 1848: Charles 
Newcomer, 1862. 



CHAPTER V. 
ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 

The name Rock River Seminary is perhaps fading from the memory of 
the younger generation, but to the older citizens of Mount Morris, and to 
thousands scattered all over this broad land, the remembrances of that 
grand old institution of learning will live until they are effaced by the 
hand of Death. During the most palmy days of the seminary, Mount 
Morris enjoyed the distinction of being the great literary center of the 
northwest, and was justly proud of " Old Sandstone," standing so promi- 
nently in the center of the dignified little village. In reviewing the pro- 
gress of this institution, it mvist be remembered that its pupils were gath- 
ered from a veiy wide extent of territory. There are probably more young 
men and women now in one-half of Ogle county, who desire and need the 
advantages of such an institution, than there were then in all northern 
Illinois and southern Wisconsin, and Rock River Seminary was the only 
institution of the kind then in existence in all this great territory. For 
this reason, if for no other, the seminary exerted a more commanding in- 
fluence in all this region than is now exerted by the present college or any 
other institution of similar character. It is not strange, therefore, that, 
during the long term of its existence, the school played a very important 
part in moulding the destinies of the inhabitants of the comparatively 
unknown northwest, — a part that cannot be told in words, but which is 
nevertheless written in characters ineffaceable upon the hearts of those 
who within the walls of " Old Sandstone " received their inspiration to be- 
come noble men and women and to be of use in the world, the fruits of 
whose endeavor eternity alone can reveal. 

Rock River Seminary was founded in the year 1839, chiefly by the ex- 
ertions of a few large-hearted, far-seeing, and public-spirited settlers liv- 
ing in the vicinity, — Hon. Samuel M. Hitt, Rev. Thomas S. Hitt, Hon. John 
Wallace, Martin Reynolds, Capt. Nathaniel Swiugley, C. Burr Artz, and 
several others. These gentlemen were strong advocates of liberal edu- 
cation and had previously instituted and supported a school called the 
Pine Creek Grammar School, taught by A. Quimby Allen. They conceived 
the idea of developing this school into an institution of learning of high 
character; and, after consultation, they decided that the Rev. Thomas S. 
Hitt should attend the Illinois Conference of the M. E. church, in session 
at Jacksonville in 1838, for the purpose of iuducing that body to take the 
Pine Creek Grammar School under its special charge and develop it into 
an institution of high standing. Mr. Hitt laid the matter before the con- 
ference, of which Rev. John Clark was presiding elder. The conference, 
which was very much interested in the cause of education, was inclined to 

(81) 



H'l MOUNT morris: past and present. 

consider such action of doubtful propriety, but finally decided to establish 
a seminary in northern Illinois, for which the Maryland colony would be 
given a chance to contest. A committee, of which Elder Clark, Rev. Hitt, 
Rev. Leander S. Walker, and Rev. P. R. Barien were members, was ap- 
pointed, to receive propositions from various places desiring the seminary 
and willing to contribute to its support. Propositions were received from 
Joliet, Chicago, Roscoe, Kishwaukee, and the Maryland colony. The citi- 
zens of the Maryland colony were determined to secure the location; and, 
in numerous consultations, a general line of action was agreed upon, each 
pledging a liberal contribution. Eight thousand dollars and four hundred 
and eighty acres of land were pledged, an exceedingly heavy burden to be 
boldly assumed by a small handful of men in a new country where money 
was scarce and laborers few. In a speech at the students' reunion, held in 
Mount Morris in 1886, Col. B. F. Sheets remarked that " if men would 
give tO' the cause of edvication now, in proportion that the founders of this 
seminary gave to the early foundation, you would posssess a university 
fully equipped." 

The committee upon location paid a visit to each of the places from 
which propositions had been received, arriving at the Maryland colony last. 
They visited the grammar school in the rude log schoolhouse, and, after 
witnessing the exercises, requested the pupils to retire, that they might 
have the room for consultation. The discussion was heated and lasted far 
into the night, there being several members of the committee who favored 
Kishwaukee, and others, Roscoe. Finally the chairman threw his influ- 
ence in favor of the Maryland colony, and this settled the question. A 
number of the settlers, the teacher and the pupils of the school had tar- 
ried outside, listening with anxiety to the discussion. When the favor- 
able decision was reached, all gave vent to their feelings by throwing their 
hats in the air and awakening the stillness of the night with their joyous 
hurrahs. The next day the committee selected the crest of the hill, out 
upon the open prairie and now included in the present college campus, as 
a site for the future seminary. 

The work was immediately pushed forward with energy. A building 
committee, consisting of Messrs. Samuel M. Hitt, Nathaniel Swingley, and 
C B. Artz, was appointed. They received plans and proposals from James 
B. McCoy and Elias Etnyre. Mr. McCoy's proposition to erect the build- 
ing for eighteen thousand dollars was accepted, and the contract awarded 
to him. He commenced work at once, and succeeded in advancing the 
basement walls to such a height that it was decided to lay the corner-stone 
with appropriate ceremony on July 4, 1839. On the appointed day the 
southwest angle of the walls had been raised sufficiently high to support 
the corner-stone. The people gathered from as far as forty miles around, 
for it was an occasion of intense interest to the community. The number 
of people present was estimated to have been over five hundred, an immense 
crowd for such a thinly-populated country. It was a glorious day for the 
pupils of Mr. Allen's school. They were marshaled in double file, with 
their teacher at their head, in front of the old log schoolhouse; and, pro- 



ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 83 

vided with a banner, one side of which bore the words " United We Stand, 
Divided We Pall," and the other, " Science and Virtue," they marched 
with proud and elastic step to the beautiful spot where the corner-stone 
of a temple of instruction was to be laid for their benefit. The services 
were conducted by Rev. T. S. Hitt, who laid the stone and delivered the 
oration. After the exercises, the half-dozen families residing within a 
radius of several miles spread a bounteous dinner upon the ground east 
of the foundation, and the visitors were invited to partake of the tempting 
esculents. 

During the summer in which the corner-stone was laid, a part of the 
prairie about the building was surveyed and platted by D. Fletcher 
Hitt, a brother of 'Squire Samuel and Rev. Thomas S. Hitt; and the town 
was named Mount Morris. There is some controversy as to the origin of 
this name. The Rock River Register, in an article which is reproduced on 
pages 29 and 30 of this book, says that it was named in honor of Bishop 
Morris of the M. E. church. Most of the old settlers are of that opinion, 
but Horace Miller, of Kishwaukee, who was very active in his efforts to 
secure the location of the seminary at that place, is said to have claimed 
that he, himself, gave the village its name in honor of Mount Morris, 
New York, his former residence. He was deeply interested in the semi- 
nary, was one of the first trustees of the institution, and his claim seems 
plausible. It may be that he suggested the name of his old town and the 
Methodist elders adopted it at once because of its being in honor of 
Bishop Morris as well. 

The first meeting of the Board of Trustees was held November 18, 1839, 
at which Rev. John Clark, Rev. B. Weed, Rev. Thomas Hitt, John W^allace, 
Horace Miller, C. B. Artz, Dr. J. J. Beatty, Capt. Nathaniel Swingley, and 
S. M. Bowman were present. Rev. Clark was elected president; Rev. Weed, 
vice-president; S. M. Bowman, secretary: and Grant Goodrich, George 
D. H. Wilcoxon, and James Johnson, members of the Board. Rev. Hitt, 
who had been appointed agent of the institution, reported at this meet- 
ing the amount of contributions which had been pledged. He was author- 
ized to raise money upon the sale of scholarships, as follows: For one 
year, $25; for two years, S50; for four years, 8100: perpetual, 8500. At this 
meeting a committee of three was appointed to draft a charter to be sub- 
mitted to the General Assembly of Illinois; and another of five, to em- 
ploy a principal and teachers. 

January 27, 1840, at a special meeting of the Board of Trustees, held 
at Oregon, the following resolution was adopted: 

liesolrrd. That u circular l)e drafted and addressed to the several presiding- elders 
of the Methodist Episcopal church in the northern part of Illinois, and the territories 
of Wisconsin and Iowa, setting forth the present condition and ultimate design of the 
Rock River Seminary, and earnestly requesting- them to use their influence with the 
several traveling and local preachers and others in their respective districts to take 
up, as soon as practicable, collections in small sums from all individuals who may be 
willing to contribute to the erection of said seminary. 



In 



anticipation of the opening of the school, it was ordered, at 



84 MOUNT 510RRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

meeting iu April, 1840, that the price of board for students under 15 years 
of age should be S1.50 per week: over that age, $1.75. The scale of prices 
for tuition was also established. It was further agreed that John Wallace 
should act as steward of the seminary. 

In May, 1840, the committee appelated to hire a principal reported 
having secured Prof. Joseph N. Waggoner, of the Genesee (N. Y.) Wes- 
leyan Seminary, and arrangements had been made with him whereby he 
should receive for his services for three months commencing June 1, 1840, 
the sum of $30 for his traveling expenses to this country, and $20 per 
mouth for his services as teacher. At the meeting at which this report 
was made. Rev. Alexander Irvine, an earnest and active Methodist minis- 
ter, was appointed to visit Chicago for the purpose of soliciting donations. 

Later, he reported having obtained subscriptions to the amount of 
$186.75, also a stove, whereupon the board voted that he should have the 
stove and his stage fare, $35, as compensation for his services. 

Prof. Waggoner, the principal engaged, arrived by the specified time, 
June, 1840: and, the seminary building not being completed, he was de-. 
tailed to teach during the summer in the old log schoolhouse, where A. 
Quimby Allen formerly taught, situ^ated a short distance south of the 
present residence of William Lohafer. He was re-engaged at the expira- 
tion of the first three months at $20 per month until the beginning of the 
first term, when his salary was to be fixed at $300 per annum. 

The annu^al session of the Rockford Conference was appointed at 
Mount Morris in the fall of 1840, when it was expected the seminary 
building would be so far completed that the meeting could be held be- 
neath its roof, but in this expectation the people were disappointed, as the 
plastering had not been completed by the appointed time. Consequently, 
they held a camp-meeting in the grove about two miles northwest of the 
unfinished edifice. In September, the Rock River Conference appointed 
the following Board of Trustees of the seminary: John Clark, Samuel M. 
Hitt, John H. Rountree, J. B. Crist, Anthony Pitzer, Nathaniel Swingley, 
Leander S. Walker, James Mitchell, John Sinclair, C. Burr Artz, Thomas 
Ford, Bartholomew Weed, Thomas S. Hitt, and James J. Beatty. Rev. 
John Sharp was appointed steward, and all arrangements made for the 
opening of the school. 

On the first Friday in November, 1840, the first term of the Rock 
River Seminary was opened and continued twenty-two weeks. Consider- 
ering the sparse settlement of the covintry, the attendance was very good. 
The board of instruction consisted of Prof. Joseph N. Waggoner, principal 
and professor of languages; Rev. Lyman Catlin, professor of Mathematics; 
and Miss Cornelia N. Russell, preceptress. The second term commenced 
on the first Friday in May, 1841. A primary, in charge of Mrs. Fannie 
Russell, was established, and of course increased the enrollment. Mrs. 
Russell received $2 per week and board. Her department was discontin- 
ued after several years. 

In December, 1841, the trustees passed the following resolutions, de- 
signed to build up the village and increase the seminary's patronage: 



ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 85 

Rf'sdircil. That lots he (h)iiiite(l to applicants applying until the first of June next, 
who shall build a house, of stone, brick or frame, not less than 16x24 feet, one and one- 
half stories high, to be fitted for occupancy by the first of January. 1841. or sooner. 

Jiesolvcrl, That all lots in the town of Mount Morris be deeded with the proviso 
that houses of ill-fame, gambling, and retailing of ardent spirits be prohibited. 

The seminary was formally dedicated January 3, 1841, Samuel N. Sam- 
ples, a lawyer of Oregon, delivering the address. About this time, Rev. 
Luke Hitchcock, later an eminent Methodist divine, was appointed an ad- 
ditional special agent, to assist Samuel M. Hitt, the regular agent, whose 
health was failing. The seminary was also incorporated and a charter ac- 
cepted. 

The first school year ended October 7, 1841. The order of the closing 
exercises was as follows: 

GENTLEMEN. 

1. Miixic. 

2. Prayer. 

3. Music. 

4. Stability of Our Republic. - - - John B. Cheney. Boonsboro. Md. 
."). Man a Social Being. ----- Henky Madden, Belmont. Wis. 

6. Freedom. ------- Jesse S. Pitzek, Ottawa, 111. 

7. Miisic. 

M. Beauties of Nature. - - - - James D. Tuhnee. Freeport, 111. 

9. Intellectual Culture. - - - Ephkaim Ingals. Palestine Grove, 111. 

10. Music. 

11. Formation of Character, - - - Chakles M. Hammond, Sycamore, 111. 

12. The Art of Printing. . - - . Samuel M. Fellows. Dixon, 111. 
ri. Independence. . - . . Benj. G. Stephens. Apjjle River. 111. 
14. Mu.iic. 

1.5. True Greatness, ----- Charles Dement. Dixon, 111. 

16. A Superintending Providence Manifest in the Affairs of Nature. 

George A. Ingals. Palestine Grove. 111. 

17. ilAcs/c. 

18. Benediction. 

LADIES. 

1. Praypr. 

2. All Is Not Gold That Glitters. SusiE V. West. 

'■^. Attachments to Early Habits. . - - - Elizabeth O. Clement. 

4. Advantages of History. ------ Helen M. Judson. 

.T. Advantages of Strict Adherence to Truth. - - - - Emily' Young. 

6. Perseverance Accomplishes Everything. . . - Amanda Wheeler. 

7. Contemplation. ------- Almira M. Robertson. 

8. Benediction. 

Prof. Waggoner, principal of the school during the first year, was an 
able and faithful instructor. After leaving Mount Morris, he was for 
many years a prosperous bookseller of Galena. Miss Russell was also an 
accomplished teacher and made many warm friends during her term of 
service. 

The catalogue issued at the end of this year, a copy of which is pre- 
served in Hon. R. R. Hitt's library in Mount Morris, proves to be very 
interesting. It consists of eight pages and a cover. Page 1 is the title 
page: page 2 contains the names of the members of the Board of Trustees, 
the Agents, and Board of Visitors; page 3 contains the names of the 



86 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

instructors and the start of the list of the male students, which ends on 
page 6. The names of the female students commence on that page and 
conclude on the next, after which there is a summary of all the students, 
as follows: Male, 108: female, 48; total, 156. The eighth page contains 
general information, and is interesting enovigh to be reproduced here. It 
is as follows: 

Course of Study. 



The Course of Study to be pursued in the different departments of the school 
has not been definitely determined. Classes have been taug-ht during- the year in the 
following' branches: viz.. Spelling. Reading. Writing-: Colburn"s, Adams"s, and Emer- 
son's Arithmetic: Mitcheirs and .Smiths Geography: Town's Analysis; Scholar's Com- 
panion: Parkers Composition: Hale's U. S. History ; Brown's Grammar; Bailey's and 
Day's Algebra: Daviess Legendre's Geometry: Olmsted's Compendium of Natural 
Philosophy; Olmsted's Astronomy: Comstock's Philosophy and Chemistry; Andrews 
and Stoddard's Latin Grammar; Anthon's Latin Lessons; Jacob's Reader and Anthons 
Caesar; Anthon's Greek Lessons and Grammar: Surault's French Grammar; Vie de 
Washington; Burritt's Geography of the Heavens: Mrs. Lincoln's Botany; Jameson's 
Rhetoric; Wayland's Moral Science: Hedge's Logic : Painting and Music. 

TERMS, VACATIONS, &C. 

The Academic j'ear is divided in tiuo terms of liventy-two weeks each, one beginning 
on the first Friday in May ; the other, the first Friday in November. 

There are two vacations of four weeks each. The terms are subdivided into two 
quarters of eleven weeks each, without any intervening vacation. 

There will be a public examination and exhibition at the close of each term. 

EXPENSES. 

Ttdtion i}er Quarter of eleven ireeks. 

Spelling and Reading. ------ $>.oo 

Small Geography. Small Arithmetic. &c.. - - - ;^_00 

Higher Branches of English. ----- 4.00 

All other Branches. - - 5.00 

Painting, extra. :iOO 

Music. •■ - - - - - - - - 10.00 

Boarding with the Steward, including room-rent and use of 

furniture, per week, ------ 150 

Students furnish their own lights. I)eds. and towels. A small charge is made dur- 
ing the winter for fuel. 

Payment for board and tuition must be made Quarterly in advance: but in case 
students are obliged to leave the institutiori on account of sickness, the money will be 
refunded. 

During the second year of school, Rev. Daniel J. Pinckney, then pro- 
fessor in the Genesee (N. Y.) Wesleyau Seminary, was elected principal 
of the seminary, and arrived in Mount Morris in August, 1842. Upon his 
arrival he found the school in a much less prosperous condition than it 
was the year previous. The heavy debt was being diminished very slowly; 
the building was not yet entirely completed, and only sixteen students 
were in attendance. He at once put his shoulder to the wheel, and dur- 
ing the summer traveled extensively in northern Illinois and southern 



ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 



Wisconsin, working up the interests of the institution with such good ef- 
fect that the fall term opened with one hundred and fifty students 
in attendance. From that time on throughout the many years that 
Prof. Pinckney was connected with the school, it was very successful and 
had an abundance of students. Its usefulness, however, was much crip- 
pled because of a lack of finances. 

The following sketch, a part of the history of the seminary, written 
by Hon. R. R. Hitt and which appeared in the catalogue of the seminary 
for 1874, will be interesting at this juncture: 

ide i-egioii of far-sweeping- 



The eoiintr; 
pruiries. with 



was tlieu very sparsely-settled. 

indiiig- strips of 
woodland following: the course of the 
streams.— the few people scattered 
here and there were mostly persons 
with narrow means, working- dili- 
g-ently to open farms, living in small, 
inconvenient, temporary houses.with 
the pressure of necessity— clothing, 
food, the improvement of the land, 
their stock and crops— to divert their 
attention from the future value of 
education to their sons and daugh- 
ters. They generally possessed more 
individual energy and force of char- 
acter than is found in the average 
citizen nowadays, and responded 
readily to the appeals of the agents 
of the seminary and the enthusiastic 
Methodist circuit riders, who enter- 
ed upon this cause as heartily as 
they do upon every other good 
thing. The students who came were, 
many of them, crude and awk- 
ward beginners: a few were ad- 
vanced by previous advantages in 
the east, but they were generally of 
good families, and their education in 
the school was preceded and sup])le- 
mented Ijy home and social educa- 
tion, rendering it ten-fold more 
valuable. They grew up with the 
spirit of the period upon them, the 
energy characteristic of a new coun- 
try, and. as a result, there is a surprising proportion of those whose names occur as 
students in the catalogues of those days who have risen to distinction as clergymen, 
lawyers, merchants, politicians, editors, influential and substantial citizens, or accom- 
plished, useful and honored women. Among those whose names appeared in the first 
catalogues were Dr. Augustus H. Ankney. now a leading and wealthy citizen of Clin- 
ton, Iowa: T. C. Ankney, of Viroqua, editor of the Wisconsin Independent: Rev. John 
Emery Clark, a well-known Methodist educator: John B. Cheney, afterward a bril- 
liant lawyer: Albert Deere, the manufacturer of the Deere plow at Moline: Prof. S. M. 
Fellows, long a teacher here, a man of great worth and scholarship: Richard M. Ham- 
ilton, of Chicago: James C. T. Phelps. William J. Mix. of Oregon: Rev. William R. 
Irvine. Hon. James D. Turner. Gen. W. H. L. Wallace, afterward a prominent lawyer, a 
soldier of distinction in the Mexican War. and in the late war rising to the rank of a 
General officer, fell fighting gallantly at Shiloh: Gen. M. R. M. Wallace, brother of the 




PROF. DANIEL 



'NCKNEY. 



88 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

preceding, now at Chicag-o and judge of the Cook county court ; Captain John F. Wal- 
lace, another brother, who served in the army and died at Galveston. Texas, Among 
the ladies, Margaret C, Hitt, now wife of Hon. D. J. Pinckney: Helen M. Judson, now 
wife of Gov. John L. Beveridge. Eliza))eth Re.vnolds. now wife of Hon. L. P. Sanger. 
Scores of others, equally well-known and honored, might be mentioned from the l.i6 
names in the first catalogue. 

Since the writing of the foregoing in 1874, some of the persons men- 
tioned advanced to still more prominent jaositions, but most of them have 
now died. In addition to those already mentioned must also be added our 
townsman and member of Congress from this District, Hon. Robert R. 
Hitt; John W. Hitt, for many years a prominent citizen of Mount Morris, 
now of Iowa: Robert S. Hitt, of Chicago: Dr. Benj. G. Stephens, who died 
in Mount Morris a number of years ago: Almira M. Robertson, now Mrs. 
A. M. Bacon of Oregon: Ann E. Swingley, now Mrs. J. C. Phelps of Oregon; 
John Hitt, Deputy Collector of Customs at Chicago over thirty years; 
James Martin, afterward a professor in the institution, and later principal 
of a seminary near Sacramento, Cal. During later years when Prof. 
Pinckney was principal, a great many other prominent men attended the 
seminary, among whom were Gen. John A. Rawlins, Secretary of War 
under President Grant: Gov. John L. Beveridge: Gov. Shelby M. 
Cullom, at present U. S. Senator; Hon. G. L. Port, member of Congress: 
Hon. James H. Beveridge, ex-State-Treasurer; Hon. Henry L. Magoon, at 
one time member of Congress from Wisconsin: Rev. Dr. Fowler, editor of 
the Christian Advocate and Journal, New York: Daniel H. Wheeler, after- 
ward professor at Cornell College and in the Northwestern University at 
Evauston, and later editor of the Methodist at New York: Hon. Moses 
Hallett, afterward United States Judge in Colorado: John V. Farwell, a 
partner in one of the largest wholesale dry-goods houses in Chicago: 
Congressman George W. Curtis, of Iowa: James H. Cartwright, Chief 
Justice of Illinois; John P. Hand, Justice Supreme Court of Illinois: 
Judge Theodore D. Murphy, Woodstock, Illinois: Judge Edmund W. 
Burke, Chicago: Judge Lucien C. Blanchard, Oskaloosa, Iowa: Judge Reu- 
ben C. Bassett, Seneca, Kansas; Gen. Smith D. Atkins, Freeport, Illinois; 
Prof. Fernando Sanford, Leland Stanford University, California; and 
many others who have achieved success, but cannot readily be traced. 

Prof. Pinckney left the institution iu the hands of his assistant. Prof. 
S. R. Thorpe, during the latter part of the school year 18i4:-'45, on account 
of ill-health. Dr. J. C. Pinley succeeded him during the next year, after 
which Prof. Pinckney again took charge. In 1847, he was elected a mem- 
ber of the Constitutional Convention, and, during his absence, left Prof. 
Fellows in charge of the seminary. Prom 1847 to 1850, Rev. Carmi C. Olds 
served as principal, also Prof. Fellows during the latter part of the school 
year 1849-'50, after which Prof. Pinckney was again elected to the office. 

About this time " Old Sandstone " began to be entirely inadequate for 
the requirements of the school, with its large number of students, and 
plans were put on foot for the erection of the large stone building now 
known as " Old Sandstone," the name being transferred to it when the 



ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 89 

original "Old Sandstone" was torn down in 1893. At a naeeting of the 
Board of Trustees, September 9, 1850, action was taken and the following 
resolution adopted: 

Resolved. That we advertise in the Mount Morris Gnzettp. to receive proposals for 
stone and brick work and other materials, for the walls of a new seminary building- 
forty by one hundred feet, four stories high, until the first of October, 1850. 

Prof. Pinckney, F. B. Brayton, and Enoch Wood were appointed a 
building committee, and in May, 1851, were authorized to close a contract 
with Jacob Myers for the erection of the stone walls for the new building, 
and work was commenced soon afterward. The immense quantity of 
stone necessary was quarried from a ledge along Pine creek. 

To establish an endowment fund for the seminary, the scholarship 
system was adopted in 1851. Scholarships were to be perpetual and sold 
for $60. The next year, as an additional means to raise funds, a part of 
the seminary land, now the Botanical Garden Addition, containing thir- 
teen and one-half acres, was ordered surveyed, divided into forty-eight 
lots, and recorded as an addition to the village. 

In 1852, a new charter was drafted, and Prof. Pinckney went to Spring- 
field to apply to the Legislature for an act of incorporation as a univers- 
ity, with university privileges, in which he was entirely successful. Prof. 
Pinckney resigned as principal in January, 1853, and Prof. George L. Little 
was his successor. Prof. Little was succeeded by Prof. Spencer Matteson, 
and upon the death of the latter, in November, 1853, Prof. Pinckney again 
assumed active control of the school. 

The new stone building, commenced in 1851, was not yet completed in 
June, 1854, it being estimated at that time that six thousand dollars would 
be sufficient to complete it. The trustees passed the following resolution: 

Resolved, That we raise twelve thousand dollars on well-secured pledges, to be ap- 
propriated to the payment of the debts of Rock River Seminary, and to the finishing- 
and furnishing of the new building. Provided, the said sum of twelve thousand dol- 
lars shall be thus pledged and secured by the twentieth day of September next. 

Prof. Pinckney again resigned the principalship, in June, 1855, and his 
active connection with the institution ceased. For more than thirteen 
years he had devoted his time, energies and money to advance the pros- 
perity and usefulness of the Rock River Seminary, and had been its prin- 
cipal most of that period. He was its greatest worker and strongest 
director through trying but famous years. He was a fine teacher and bold 
thinker, possessing a brilliant, many-sided mind. 

Prof. N. T. Harlow followed Prof. Pinckney as principal, the new 
building being then ready for occupancy. A loan of twelve thousand dol- 
lars was obtained from the Northwestern University, secured by the sem- 
inary property and notes, to pay for the new building and other debts. 

In 1858, the seminary property was rented to Profs. Harlow and Pope, 
who conducted the school for a number of years. 

June 20, 1865, Prof. Harlow resigned as principal, and Profs. John 
Williams and O. F. Matteson were elected associate principals. In 1867, 



90 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Rev. J. M. Caldwell became principal and served two years. June 23, 1869, 
the entire faculty having resigned. Prof. Brush was elected principal but 
would not accept, and Rev. R. H. Wilkinson was then chosen. He served 
until June, 1870, when he resigned. On September 28, 1870, a contract was 
made with Rev. S. H. Adams, whereby he should run the seminary accord- 
ing to the provisions of the charter, and have all the revenues from the 
same until they reached the sum of four thousand dollars. Elaborate 
provisions were made for the disposition of any surplus that might accrue. 
This appears to have been a very weak period in the history of the school, 
and for several years afterward the doors of " Old Sandstone " were closed 
and the school suspended. 

May 7, 1873, the trustees held a meeting and passed a resolution that 
the executive committee be authorized to make, in connection with R. R. 
Hitt, such arrangements with some person or persons, as would secure the 
opening of the school and the ranning of the same, without incurring ex- 
pense or liability to the trustees. Later, this committee reported having 
secured the services of N. C. Dougherty as principal, together with a full 
and competent faculty. Prof. Dougherty managed the affairs of the in- 
stitution for a number of years with skill and ability, and once more the 
time-honored halls resounded with the tread of students. The faculty 
during the first year of the administration of Prof. Dougherty consisted 
of himself as principal: R. Arthur Edwards, professor of Latin and 
Greek; Miss Lottie M. Smith, preceptress. Miss Maria Hitt, teacher of 
Music. 

Toward the close of the principalship of Prof. Doughtery, the semi- 
nary bore the appearnnce of prosperity, but an expensive faculty was too 
much of a burden upon the financial resources of the institution, and the 
school finally closed down in 1878 for that reason. Then, too, the Metho- 
dists had established at Evanston a much larger and better-equipped 
school known as the Northwestern University, which encroached very ser- 
iously upon the territory from which the seminary had drawn her stu- 
dents. The heavy mortgage upon the property of the seminary finally 
ended the administration of the Methodists. To satisfy the creditors the 
property was sold, Hon. R. R. Hitt being the purchaser. Mr. Hitt kept the 
seminary property in his possession for some time, but finally disposed of 
the two old buildings and campus to Elders Melchor Newcomer and D. L. 
Miller, and John W. Stine, for the sum of six thousand dollars. The two 
blocks west of the present campus and now known as the Seminary Addi- 
tion, Mr. Hitt had platted and sold in lots. 

Thus ended the career of the renowned and time-honored Rock River 
Seminary, after a checkered but influential life of forty years. In her his- 
tory it has not been deemed necessary to refer to the hundreds of men and 
women whose names were inscribed upon the rolls during the long series 
of years in which the institution continued the most flourishing in this 
part of the country. The names of many of them who have attained suc- 
cess in various avocations after leaving Mount Morris have already been 
given. Hon. R. R. Hitt has very briefly summed up a few points concern- 



ROCK RIVER SE3IINART. 93 

irig the most prominent principals and preceptresses, as follows: "The 
long administration of Principal D. J. Pinckney was conspicuous for its 
ability and success. Principal C. C. Olds was an excellent teacher and a 
general favorite. Prof. D. H. Wheeler, now of Northwestern University 
and editor of the Lakeside Monthly, first a student and then a professor, 
gave abundant promise of the great reputation as an author, scholar and 
minister which he has achieved. Several of the preceptresses who suc- 
cessively had charge of the young ladies, were of unusual character and 
grace: notably, Miss C. A. Hurd, afterward Mrs. Pettingill, of Niles, Mich.: 
Miss E. V. Mitchell, afterward Mrs. A. M. Hitt: Miss Rosalie D. Blanchard, 
later wife of Major Charles Newcomer, of Mount Morris: Miss Elizabeth 
Clement, now Mrs. Dr. Dinsmore, of Omaha. Nebr.: Miss Sarepta Irish, 
now Mrs. S. M. I. Henry, of Rockford, Illinois." 



In December, 1885, after the institution had been under the control of 
the Brethren for several years, a number of the citizens of Mount Morris, 
who still harbored a warm afl:'ection in their hearts for the old school, con- 
ceived the idea of having a reunion of the alunini of the seminary, to- 
gether with all those who attended from its origin in 1839 to the close in 
1879. The plan received enthusiastic support, and the reunion, which oc- 
curred in June, 1886, was a great success. The first move toward the 
carrying out of the project was the calling of a meeting in February, 
which resulted in the appointment of the following officers: Hon. R. R. 
Hitt, president: A. W. Brayton, treasurer: Dr. W. T. Speaker, secretary. 
As many names and addresses of old students and teachers were obtained 
as possible, and a circular issued, requesting names and addresses of 
others. This circular was sent to about three hundred persons, and 
from this small nucleus the whereabouts of more than sixteen hundred of 
" Old Sandstone's " graduates and students were learned. From north and 
south, east and west, came letters conveying the names and addresses of 
farmers, merchants, clergymen, governors, senators, legislators, judges, 
bishops, poets, and men and women occupying the most prominent and 
enviable positions in life. Also missives from across the briny deep told 
in tender and loving words of the deep regrets, and the longings to be 
present with that noble band of boys and girls, students of " Old Rock 
River Seminary." From the flattering results obtained from the first cir- 
cular, committees were appointed to carry forward the completion 
of, and arrange dates for, the grand reunion. The twenty-ninth and thir- 
tieth days of June and the first day of July, 1886, were the days selected 
for the occasion, with a program filled with many rare treats. 

Not less than 7.500 students went out into the world from the shades 
of " Old Sandstone " since its foundation. Out of this number, 365 names 
were enrolled on the secretary's book at the reunion, and their owners 
answerered " present " at the " roll-call " during " chapel exercises." 
Mount Morris gave the visitors a royal welcome. Wesley street was gaily 
decorated with evergreens and flags, and the " Welcome," in huge letters, 



94 3I0UNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

stretched entirely across the street, showing due appreciation of the event. 
A large flag was also stretched above the stile at the east entrance of the 
college campus. In the southeast corner of the beautiful grassy campus, 
under the foliage of large spreading maples, seats were erected for a 
thousand people, and a stage that would accommodate a hundred. 

The programs of the three days were participated in by scores of men 
who possessed great ability. Thousands of people gathered each day to 
hear them relate tales of their old college days, and tell of the pleasures, 
as well as the hardships, of the days spent in acquiring knowledge with- 
in "Old Sandstone." Among the old students who gave the longest 
and most interesting speeches were Hon. John Hitt, of Chicago: Col. B. F. 
Sheets, of Oregon; and Hon. R. R. Hitt. Later in the summer, there was 
published a 56-page booklet, containing a complete report of the proceed- 
ings of the three days, also the letters of regret sent in to the secretary, 
and the entire roll of all the old students who attended the reunion. It is 
a valuable keep-sake. 

The reunion was a grand success, and the pleasure and profit afforded 
by the three days sjent in talking over " auld lang syne " will not be for- 
gotten by those present while life lasts. And may it be likewise with 
"Old Rock River Seminary!" 



i?.-.... 


• M^K 


.i.-4jr 


TJ -W-TT-ri^f'/.- - 


■». 




l/R'^l^ffi 


r«. 




J 






\W| * 




P 










'lii'ai 


l/''?\'^ 


^^ 






I 


aM^ 




■r^\ 1 9m 


'a \ I q • 








Mf 




^^^S\iSM 


'" '%i " 








n 




^ml-81 


M^^ 








n 


11^ 


HIhI 




•? 


BljHBiraLj,J:' 




i*»«>J 




MM 


R iL._JNL 


Ji <_Aj|^9H 



CHAPTER VI. 



MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 



One of the first attractions to engage the attention of the visitor to 
our village is Mount Morris College, with its three substantial buildings 
and park-like campus, situated on the crest of the elevation upon which 
the village is built. The ideal situation of the institution— just opposite 
the two principal business blocks — makes a very favorable impression up- 
on the stranger, and expressions of admiration are frequently heard. The 
college of today is the monument which has been reared upon the ruins of 
the old and time-honored Rock River Seminary, whose eventful career has 
been followed in the pieceding chapter. Before proceeding with a de- 
scription of the college as it is today, it will be well to trace its history 
from the time the Brethren purchased the property in 1879. 

As has already been noted in the previous chapter, the Rock River 
Seminary, during the seventies, gradually became involved in financial 
difficulties which finally ended her career. Hon. R. R. Hitt purchased the 
property, which he later disposed of to Elders Melchor Newcomer and 
D. L. Miller, and John W. Stein, for $6,000. These gentlemen were mem- 
bers of the German Baptist Brethren church, and they purchased the 
property with the intention of starting a school which should be conduct- 
-ed under the auspices of that denomination. After expending several 
thousand dollars in improvements, the three gentlemen reopened the 
school under the name of Rock River Seminary and Collegiate Institute. 
Mr. Stein was elected president and D. L. Miller, business manager. A 
catalogue and a circular were issued, a competent faculty engaged, and all 
preparations made toward getting the institution in working order. 

On August 20, 1879, the first term of the school under the management 
of these Brethren was opened. Sixty students— a very encouraging be- 
ginning considering all the circumstances— were in attendance. Prof. 
Stein displayed remarkable ability as president of the college and as an 
instructor, but in the year 1881 he became the principal of an es- 
capade, the equal of which never occurred in Mount Morris before or 
since. On pretence of going to Europe for his health, he left his wife and 
family and eloped with his ward, Miss Delilah Tombaugh, who had been 
living with the family and attending the college.* 



*This sensational esca])a(le of Prof. Stein ^\ as a romance long disc 

It ai)])oars that when I'rof. Stein and his family came to Mount Morris 



Morns people. It ai.jjears that when I'rof. Stein and his family came to Mount Morris 
they were accompanied l)y Miss ToniI)anK-h, who is said to have been ag-irl of strikin°-ly 
handsome face and form. She came to Mount Morris to enjoy the educational advan- 



96 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

After his departure, Elder D. L. Miller became president and also con- 
tinued as business manager of the college, which rather dignified title the 
institution was then beginning to assume. Under his management the 
patronage of the school rapidly increased, young men and women coming 
from all parts of the country where members of the Brethren church were 
located. 

In 1884, the trustees obtained a new charter for the school and changed 
the name to Mount Moi-ris College. The capital stock at that time 
amounted to $30,000. In that year. Prof. J. G. Eoyer came here with his 
family from Indiana, and invested considerable money in stock. He was 
then elected president, which position he has filled with much credit ever 
since. Prom that time the advancement of the college has been steady, 
and its development has been noted with much pleasiire by the citizens of 
Mount Morris. Each year new improvements have been added and the 
equipment and facilities of the college greatly increased for the better 
accommodation of the young men and women who came from nearly all 
parts of the Union to develop their moral and intellectual capabilities. 

During the latter part of the eighties, the two original seminary 
buildings, shown on page 91, began to be recognized as entirely inadequate 
for the growing necessities of the college. Accordingly, plans were set on 
foot for the building of a new temple of instruction, the present College 
Hall, shown on page 99. About $20,000 were necessary for the erection 
of the desired building, and Pres. Royer started to solicit the amount by 
subscription throughout the Brotherhood. The canvass proved successful 



tages of the college. In intellect she was far the superior of Mrs. Stein, and she and 
Stein \\ere constantly stiid\infi- togetlier. possessing, it is said, an affinity of ta.stes. 
The result of this companionship can be conjectured. Though there \\ as a difference 
of twenty years in their ages, tiie jtresident of the college and his iiupil fell in loye w ith 
each otlii-r". The yigilant pui.lic soon discosered this fact and Stein conunenced to de- 
vise « ays and means to e\ ade the conse((ueiices of his guilty amour. He ga\e out that 
the duties of the presidency were weighing upon him to such an extent that it was 
imperative for him totakeatrij) to Eui'ojie in oi-der to recu])erate. He also repre- 
sented that Miss Tomhaugh was to lie married to a young man named Petri, in Chi- 
cago, and he accompanied her thither, returning with a glow ing account of the wed- 
ding. Later he started on his supposed trip to Euro])e. With the exce|>tion of a letter 
from New York and one from Vienna notlniig further was heard fi-om him for two 
years. The Hrethren became alarmed, and through Congressman Hitt. then Assistant 
Secretary of State, iuciuiries were set on foot and search made by ministers and con- 
sids in all the ijrincipal cities of Kuroix- for six months, but without success. At last 

ing man. who was li\ ing at Port land. < )reg()n. In his comnuniicat ion. .Stein confessed 
that he had neyei- l>een to Kurope. but that he was liyingw itii Miss Tondiaugh on a gov- 
ernment claim in ( )regon. The letter from Vienna w as <nd\ a blind, he ha \ ing given it 
at New York to a (Jerman tourist, w ho mailed it foi- him w hen he arri\ed at the Aus- 
trian capital. The news of Stein's du|. licit v came upon the Hrethi^eii like a thunder- 
holt out of a clear sky. They had reposed the utmost confidence in him as a reliable 
educator and a faithful minister of the gospel. Under the circumstances. tlie\ were 
compelled to disow n him. Prof. Fernando Sanford. w ho w as a member of the faculty 
during Prof. Stein's presidenc\ . now of the Leland Stani'ord l'ni\ersit\. in a letter to 
theC.Mitiiry Reunion of students and pi-ofessoi'i; of Mount Moi'ris College, held during 
the Brethren's annual meeting at North .MaiiclN'ster. Indiana, in .lune. lilOO. touchinglv 
refers to the unfortunate occurrence as follows: 'No (nie who eyer came under the 
spell of that wondei-ful man. .John VV. Stein, can forget the impression w hi<di he made. 
I .speak of lum reverently, not att.Mnj.ting to excuse in any manner his fatal weakness, 
the result of [ know not w hat heredity, but w ithout w hicli he would have seemed to ns 

mv life has influenced me more toward chai'ity for the weaknesses of my fellow -men 
than tlie sad e.xami.le of him w hom we all loved as a father." 



MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 



99 



and the contract was given to N. E. Buser. Ground was broken for the 
building in March, 1890, and the edifice was completed and ready for oc- 
cupancy at the beginning of the fall term of 1891. This building is the 
most massive structure in Mount Morris. It is a plain, substantial, brick- 
veneered building with 72 feet front and, including a spacious chapel, 122 
feet long. The main part is three stories above the basement, and con- 
tains fifteen well-arranged rooms, most of which are of ample size. On 
the first floor are two large recitation rooms, separated from the com- 
modious chapel by folding-doors, which when opened permit the rooms to 
be used as annexes to the chapel, thereby greatly increasing its seating 
capacity. There also two smaller recitation rooms and a Bible library and 
reading-room on this floor. The library contains 600 good text-books and 
treatises upon the Bible and Bible subjects. The second floor contains 
the president's office, the bookstore and business manager's office, three 
recitations rooms, 
two of them, the 
Mathematics room 
and the Studio, being 
quite roomy; and the 
general library, con- 
taining in the neigh- 
borhood of 20,000 vol- 
umes. These books 
are arranged on all 
four sides of the 
room, from the floor 
to the ceiling. There 
is also a large rack 
filled with books. At 
one time this large 
library formed part 
of the famous col- 
lection of books owned by Abram H. Cassel, of Harleysville, Pa., an old 
patriarch of the Brethren church, who spent almost his entire life in the 
acquisition of rare and valuable books. The library was purchased in 
1881 by Messrs. Miller, Newcomer and Stein, for the sum of $6,000. The 
library room is also nicely fitted up for a reading-room, and is supplied 
with the best periodicals of the day. A view of a portion of the library is 
shown on the next page. On the third floor are two recitation rooms, the 
bell-ringer's apartment, and the elegantly-furnished halls of the Amphic- 
tyon and the Philorhetorian Literary Societies. These halls were furnish- 
ed by the societies at their own expense, and are the finest rooms in the 
building. Each is supplied with up-to-date opera chairs, arranged in 
semi-circular sections. The curtains, carpets, tables and chairs for the 
officers, and the papering and decorations of these halls are quite elabo- 
rate, and correspond with the importance of the work being carried on 
by the members of the societies. In the rear of the Philorhetorian and 




COLLEGE HALL. 

Erected in 1S90-1S91 at a cost of $20,000. 



100 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



to one side of the Amphictyon hall is the Masie room, which contains two 
flrst-class pianos. By throwing open the folding-doors, this room can be 
utilized as an annex by either one of the societies. 

Before leaving the subject of the literary societies, it will be well to 
give something concerning the history of these important adjuncts of the 
college. Scores of men who have achieved fame in the various avenues of 
life derived their power of oratory from their early attempts at speaking 
and debating in these literary societies. The halls of our national Con- 
gress have often rung with the stirring oratory of men who attribute 
much of their success to the early training which they received from their 
society work. The history of both the societies extends further back than 
that of Mount Morris College, the Amphictyon being nearly as old as 
Rock River Seminary. It was organized in about the year 18J:6, and, with 
the exception of a number of short-lived organizations, was the only liter- 
ary society in the seminary until the winter of 1851-'52, when a division 




A VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE GENERAL LIBRARY 



occurred in the Amphictyon ranks, and the Philorhetorian Literary So- 
ciety was organized. It seems that there were many of the"Amphics" 
who resided in the country and no longer had any connection with the 
school, or took any interest in society except to attend on special occa- 
sions, to take prominent part in controlling elections, etc. The other 
members were students, who were active in literary work, many of them 
being young people of more than ordinary ability. Trouble naturally 
grew out of such a condition of affairs, and there was an attempt made to 
exclude those members who were no longer active. There were some tur- 
bulent scenes, and finally a part of the members drew off and formed an- 
other society, which they called the Philorhetorian. Since that time the 
two societies have been in existence, generally on an equality as to the re- 
spective merits of their members. Both are now in a flourishing condi- 
tion. The Amphictyon Society originally held its meetings in the historic 



MOUNT MORKIS COLLEGE. 



101 



old chapel at the north end of the basement of 
the original "Old Sandstone." After the or- 
ganization of the Philorhetorian Society, sepa- 
rate rooms on the upper floor were assigned to 
the societies. When the building now known as 
"Old Sandstone" was completed, the societies 
occupied rooms on the fourth floor, the "Am- 
phics " at the east end and the " Philos " at the 
west end. The societies' present cozy quarters 
in College Hall surpass the previous ones in 
every particular, and engravings of them are 
shown on the next two pages. 

In the year 1893, fortune again smiled upon 
THt I f LSI uEN J *^^^^ college to the extent that a new dormitory 

IN hi^ of-ricE for the ladies was found to be a necessity, and 

the historic "Old Sandstone," which had been 
used for that purpose for so many years, was leveled to the ground and a 
larger and more modern structure erected. The new dormitory cost in the 




neighborhood of SIO,- 
000, and was erected 
by N. E. Buser, who 
also erected College 
Hall. The building 
is a fine three-story 
brick-veneered struc- 
ture, with a base- 
ment; its dimensions 
are 30x80 feet. It is 
situated several rods 
to the west of the old 
seminary building. 




THE SUPPLY ROOh 



The greater part of 
the basement is tak- 
en up for the college 
dining-hall, a view of 
w h i c h appears on 
page 105. The ciii- 
sine is situated in 
the rear of the din- 
ing-hall. With the 
exception of several 
parlors, the upper 
three stories are di- 
vided into rooms for 



the accommodation of about seventy of the fair sex. The cozy character 
of the rooms makes Ladies' Hall a very desirable home for the lady stu- 
dents. An engraving of the building appears 
on page 104. 

A year or so after the erection of the two 
new buildings, a number of changes in "Old 
Sandstone " No. 2 became necessary, there be- 
ing a demand for more rooms for young men. 
Consequently, the building was given a thor- 
ough overhauling. Every floor and partition 
was torn out: in fact, everything was changed 
except the walls. This building is a massive 
stone structure, 120 feet long and 40 feet wide. 
At the east end of the first floor is a chapel in 
which the daily chapel exercises are held for 
the benefit of the students. The west end is business manager 




10-2 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



occupied by the scientifle department of the college, under the manage- 
ment of Prof. W. L. Eikenberry. In this department there are four rooms; 
viz., a chemical laboratory, a museum and library room, and two recitation 
rooms. The library contains about 300 volumes, treating on scientific sub- 
jects. The second floor is partly taken up by a spacious Commercial Hall, 
where Prof. Aaron L. Clair supervises the instruction of bookkeeping, 
commercial law, and the transaction of actual business. This department 
is always well filled. It also contains a technical library of 300 volumes. 
The remaiader of the second floor and all of the third and fourth floors 
are arranged into about sixty rooms for the accommodation of the gentle- 
men students. This building, as well as College Hall and Ladies' Hall, is 




THE AMPHICTYON LITERARY SOCIETY'S HALL. 



heated throughout by steam. During the sessions of school, in the 
evening when the studious inmates of "Old Sandstone" are busily en- 
gaged in preparing their lessons for the morrow, the scores of windows 
seuding rays of glim jierina: light across the campus impress the observer 
very strongly of a bee-hive of industry. Surmounting College Hall and 
"Old Sandstone" are observatories, which, being a considerable height 
from the ground, furnish fine bird's-eye views of the surrounding country. 
An engraving of " Old Sandstone " appears on page 104. 

Thus, improvement has followed improvement, until now the college 
possesses three buildings of which they may well be proud. The college 
at first was the property of individual stockholders, but Elder Miller, upon 



MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 



103 



• his withdrawal from active conuectioa with the school and a number of 
others donated their stock to the Brethren church. Since that time more 
stock has been turned over to the church, until only a few thousand dol- 
lars' worth yet remains in the hands of individuals. In the near future, 
it is though that the entire stock will become the property of the church; 
and, since this would the only one of the several Brethren colleges in 
that condition, it is only reasonable to believe that, like the Brethren Pub- 
lishing House, it will be carefully fostered, and its future be made even 
more prosperous than its past. 

The Board of Trustees of Mount Morris College at present consists of 
seven members; viz.. D. L. Miller, Joseph Amick, J. G. Royer, A. L. Clair, 




THE PHILORHETORIAN LITERARY SOCIETY'S HALL. 



G. E. Weaver, Ephraim Trostle, and 



Elder D. L. Miller has 



been a member of the board since its organization. The following is a 
list of all the persons who have served as trustees in the past: D. L. Mil- 
ler, M. S. Newcomer, John W. Stein, Samuel C. Price, Daniel Vaniman, 
J. C. Lehman, S. S. Young, S. E. Yundt, J. G. Royer, S. Z. Sharp, Joseph 
Amick, E. S. Young, Galen B. Royer, Grant Mahan, C. W. Lehman, J. E. 
Miller, A. L. Clair, D. D. Culler, W. L. Eikenberry, G. E. Weaver, Ephraim 
Trostle. 

During the twenty-one years in which the college has been conducted 
by the Brethren, many noble men and women have been sent forth into 
the world, fitted to pursue lives of usefulness. A list of the graduating 



lOi 



3IOUNT .MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 




LADIES- HALL. 



1893 at a cost of about $1(1.000. 



classes of these eventful years discloses the names of many who have con- 
ducted themselves with credit both to themselves and to their alma mater. 
The names of those graduating in literary courses alone is quite large and 

is as follows: 

1881. — Harry C. 
Newcomer, Alfonzo 
G. Newcomer, E. D. 
Peifer, A. W. Vani- 
man. Angle Yarger, 
S. H. Anrand, Fred. 
N. Rice. 

1882.--Adaline 
Hohf Beery, J. H. 
Brubaker, J. T. Bru- 
baker, L. H. Eby, 
Flora Grant Mer- 
shon, Reba Kosier 
Newcomer, J. Carson 
Miller, Mary E. Mil- 
ler, C. W. Lehman, 
Isaac H. Miller. 

1883. Jennie Fearer. Albert Gebhardt, John Heckman, A. L. Shute, 
Jennie Mackay, Anna L. Sharp Davis, E. S. Young, Grant Mahan, Albert 
Motschman, Mary J. Stees, Annie S. Miller, Kate Kepner, G. E. Dawson, 
G. N. Falkenstein. 

1884. Effie Mackay, B. G. Davis, E. A. Orr, Marcellus Rohrbaugh, 
Elmer Sanford, Levi 

Benbow, S. L. Hang- 
er, Edward C. Page, 
Georgia Bixler Jenks. 

1885. — James M. 
Neff , Cyrus Newcom- 
er, Allen P. Sword. 
W. B. Thompson, Jen- 
nie Tice Peifer. 

1886. — James M. 
Neff, E. B. Hohf, G. 
L. Shoemaker. Abba 
Fager, Elva Newcom- 
er Gripe, M. Eliza 
Canode. 

1887.— J. K. Shel- 
leubarger. Laura V. 
Ullom. J. P. Yoder. 

1888.— C. E. Culp, Ida Royer Myers, Nettie Royer Brubaker, Lizzie 
Shaw Evans, Fannie Stephens, Chauncey Vaniman, C. M. Vaniman, Cyrus 
Walleck. 




•OLD SAN D5TONE 



Erected in the early 



renovated in 1895. 



MOl'XT MORRIS COLLEGE. 



105 



1889.— Alice J. Boone, Charles Carpenter, Anna Gouekly Hohf, W. 

Lewis Eikenberry, Charles Lehman. Ed. Markley, T. M. Miller, Nettie 

Royer Brnbaker, Salome Stoner Myers, Vinnie Stoner, Ida Shellenberyer 

Oren,Wilbur B. 
Stover. 

1890. -J. E. 
Miller, Minnie 
Windle Harn- 
ley, T. T. Myers, 
Tobias J. C. 
Diekhoff, Lillie 
Royer Fogerty, 
N. R. Baker, 
Prank Mertz, 

Ivey D. Eversole, J. N. Brnbaker, Will Mertz, O. Perry Hoover, Ida M. 

Wagner Hoft", E. J. Zern, Mary Emmert Stover, Will E. Carpenter, Daisy 

Kemp. 




BOOKKEEPI NC DEPARTMENT. 




OF THE Dl Nl NC-HALL. 



1891,— Wilbnr B. Stover, Ida M. Royer Myers, Salome A. Stoner 
Myers, J. Z. Gilbert, Ella Amick Eekerle, Dollie Stephens, Lou Ella Rep- 
logle, W. I. T. Hoover, Sarah Whitmore Harnley. 

1892.— Tobias J. C. Diekhoff, J. E. Miller,W. L. Eikenberry, O. P. Hoover, 
C.F.Ford,G.V. 
Goshorn, J. D. 
Clear, S. S. 
Young, E. N. 
Goshorn, Anna 
Eversole, W. P. 
Rodabaugh, W. 
I. Thomas, E. 
R. Yundt, M. S. 
Bolinger, J. H. 
Harnley. 

1893.— G. W. Tanreuther.N. J. Brnbaker, Bertha I. Miller, D. D. Culler, 
D. L. Forney, M. W. Emmert, S. C. Garber, M. Alice King Eby, N. J. 
Miller, Lydia E. Taylor, H. M. Barwick, Salome A. Stoner Myers. 




BUSINESS DEPARTMENT. 



106 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



1894. E. R. Yundt, E. N. Goshoru, I. B. Hendrickson, J. S. Fb^ry, E. C. 
Thomas. O. L. Shaw, A. M. Stine, L. A. Pollock, Charles Leckrone, O. R. 
Myers. Katharine Hershey Youug, M. W. Emmert, Anna May Miller, H. M. 
Spickler. 

1895. Maude Carpenter, S. M. Hoover, Josephine Royer, Delia Sayder 
Lehner. Lizzie Grater. 

1896. G. W. Furrey, J. W. Thomas, O. A. Fackler, L. H. Carpenter, 
S. A. Long, Viola Trostle Ynndt. 




THE LADIES' TENNIS COURT. 



1897. -J. B. Carpenter, Lucia McCosh, Lizzie Myers Emmert, Arthur 
M. Stiiie, Etta Moore Long, Delia Myers Peifer, J. M. Myers, Mamie 
Yarger, Nettie Felthouse, C. H. Shock, S. A. Long. 

1898.— E. T. Reiser, Liilu Kable, J. C. Shaw, Etta Rowland, Harvey J. 
Kable, Dollie Kepner, H. B. Metzger, W. H. Weybright, Emma Horning, 
Thomas E. Newcomer, Blanche Lentz, J. D. Suter. 




THE GENTLEMEN'S TENNIS COURT. 



1899.— Calvin McNelly, J. P. Wilson, Marie Strickfaden, Elmer Metz- 
ger, J. S. Flory. Cora Amick, Leslie Rees, W. S. Sanford, Myrtle Royer, 
O. Cr. Brubaker. 

1900. Frank B. Scott, B. L. Brayton, William Kohl, Edna Felker, Liz- 
zie Shirk, O. T. Sidler, Frank D. Miller, B. B. Baker, A. B. Keller, E. H. 
Price, C. K. Burkholder, Reuben Marshall, I. E. Finney. 

Among these graduates, and also among the many students who at- 
tended the college, but never finished any prescribed course of study, can 
be found the names of many young men who have achieved fame in various 
avenues of life. Among them might be mentioned the following: Prof. 




'^^m^:M:jffz'd 







.MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 



109 




ELOCUTION DRILL. 



Alfoiizo G. Newcomer, Lelaud Stanford Uuiversity: Capt. Harry C. New- 
comer, U. S. A.; Adaline Hohf Beery, poetess; J. H. Brubaker, architect, 
Indianapolis, Ind., and New York: Grant Mahan, associate editor of Gospel 
Messenger, Elgin, 111.: Prof. Edward C. Page. State Normal School. DeKalb, 

111.; Prof. Cyrus Newcomer, 
Carthage College: Prof. To- 
bias J. C. Diekhoff, Uni- 
versity of Michigan, Ann 
Arbor: Prof. W. I. T. Hoov- 
er, president Lordsburg 
College; Prof. O. Perry 
Hoover, Juniata College, 
D. L. Forney and W. B. 
Stover, missionaries, India; 
Mary Emmert Stover, 
in charge of the orphanage . 
mission of the Brethren church, India: Galen B. Royer, secretary of the 
General Missionary and Tract Committee, Elgin, 111. Quite a number of 
the graduates returned to their alma mater as instructors after pursiiing 
advanced work in leading universities. Among these are Prof. J. E. Mil- 
ler, now of the academic department of the Illinois State University at 
Urbana: Prof. D. D. Culler, now president of Smithville College, Ohio: 
Prof. S. L. Boothroyd, now engaged in a leading university of Idaho: Prof. 
E. N. Goshorn, now engaged in scientific farming in Indiana: and the ma- 
jority of the members of the present faculty; viz.. Profs. A. L. Clair, O. R. 
Myers, G. W. Furrey, Josephine Royer, and Heber M. Hays. A number of 
the former professors have attained to high positions in prominent uni- 
versities. Among them might be mentioned J. W. Jenks, Cornell Univers- 
ity; W. S. Locy, Lake Forest University; Fernando Sanford, Leland Stan- 
ford University; F. W. Hanawalt, Wesleyan University, Mount Pleasant, 
Iowa: and M. R. Maltbie, Columbia University. To those names can be 
added that of A. 
W. Burnett, at the 
head of the pub- 
lishing house of 
Henry Holt & Co., 
New York. 

The foregoing 
names are but a 
few of the vast 
number of those 
whose owners are 
exerting a power- 
ful influence in various callings, and who obtained their preparation for 
their life's work at Mount Morris College. 

The faculty of the college is each year carefully selected from among 
men of ability. As a consequence, the school maintains a high grade of 




PHYSICAL CULTURE EXERCISE. 



110 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



work, which is readily recognized by the larger colleges and universities 
when students from Mount Morris apply for admission. The following 
names of tlie many instructors of the college, classified in their respective 
departments, will be of interest: 

Gkeek and Latin.— .1. W. Jenks. E. C. Hughes. Karl Reiser. H. P. Moyer. James 
M. Netf. E. J. Shaw. E. A. Bechtel. D. W. Loucks. A. H. Haines. J. J. Schlicher. J. E. Mil- 
ler. Heber M. Hay.s. 

English.— A. W. Burnett. Mrs. Mattie Lear. Bai-thoh)niew. Galen B. Royer. A. 

H. Harnley. Grant Mahan. D. D. Culler. O. K. Myers. 

German.- A. E. Gephardt. Tobias Diekhoff. Grant Mahan. D. D. Culler. O. R. Myers. 

Mathematics. L. P. Cravens. M. R. Malthie. F. W. Hanawalt. S. L. Boothroyd, 
Theo. Lindquist. E.N. Goshorn. G. W. Furrey. 

Science.— Fernando Sanford. W. S. Locy. E. A. Orr. L. Ralph Jones. G. N. Falken- 
stein. A. A. Kester. Mrs. Ella Buck Schlicher. N. J. Miller. W. L. Eikenberry. 

Elocution.— W. E. Lockhard. S. Z. Sharp, D. D. Thomas. Anna Richards. Mrs. A. 
Cro.ssnian Kester. Mrs. Alma Mikesell Trump. Parmelia Mahan. Josejihine Rf)yer. 

Sacred History.— J. G. Royer. E. S. Young-, Mrs. Salome Stouer Myers. Mrs. Flora 
E. Teague. J. F. Souders. 



HE 


pHr^H 




W 


- ^ -3 


^H^'**'ii|^!;*ib^ "^^^ 



MOUNT MORh 



ZOLLECE FACULTY OF l893-'94. 



Music— Mrs. Nellie MeClure. J. H. M.vers. M. P. Lichty. Miss Marguerite Bi.xler. 
Mrs. Susie McCosh Sharer. Mrs. Cassia Beery Vandyke. Mrs. Ida Royer Myers. J. T. 
Miller. H. B. Metzger. Miss Sadie B. Miller, Mrs. Libbie Robertson, Miss Lucia McCosh. 

Art.— Miss Siders. Mrs. Lillie Brayton Miller. G. E. Weaver. Miss Myrtle Royer. 

Commebcial.— M. (i. Rohrbaugh. D. R. Young, J. B. Middleton. I. M. Walker. Miss 
Jennie Richie. Reuben Hutford. J. D. Suter, Mrs. Flora E. Teague, A. L. Clair. 

The faculty for the last full school year, 1899-1900, excluding the as- 
sistants in the several departments, was as follows: J. G. Royer, presi- 
dent: D. D. Culler, Rhetoric, Literature and German: J. E. Miller, Greek 
and Latin: O. R, Myers, Psychology, Pedagogy and French: G. W. Furrey, 
Higher Mathematics, Astronomy and Political Economy: W. L. Eiken- 
berry, Science and Civil Government; A. L. Clair, principal Commercial 
department; G. E. Weaver, principal Art department; Mrs. Flora E, 
Teague, Phonography and Typewriting: Mrs. Libbie Robertson, director of 



MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 118 

Musie; Miss Josephine Royer, Elocution and Physical Culture; A. W. Ross, 
Vocal Music. For the year 1900-1901 there are several changes. Prof. 
Heber M. Hays takes the place of J. E. Miller, who accepted a position in 
the State University at Urbana, and Miss Lucia McCosh, a graduate of the 
Chicago Musical College, takes Prof. Robertson's place as director of 
Music. D. D. Culler withdrew from the faculty at the close of the school 
year, June, 1900, and is now president of Smithville College, Ohio. His 
place is being filled by Prof. O. R. Myers. J. F. Souders is a new in- 
structor in the Bible department: J. D. Suter is first assistant in the Com- 
mercial department; Myrtle Royer conducts the Painting department and 
is also assistant in Music; M. W. Emmert teaches Geography and U. S. 
History; and Wallace Fike is assistant in the Art department. 

The engraving of the college faculty on page 111 is an excellent like- 
ness of the members of that august body. Short sketches of the lives of 
the respective professors will be interesting because of the many lessons 
afforded by the story of each one's perseverance in developing his or her 
God-given talents. 

Prof. John G. Royer, M. A., president of the college, has had a long- and notable 
career in educational lines, both in the public schools of the land and in college work ; 
and. with his prominent work as minister of the gospel in the Brethren church, he has 
become known over the entire Brotherhood. He was born April 22. 18:38. at Hartleton. 
Union county. Peiuisylvania, V)eing the son of Jacob and Susan (Myers) Royer. His 
father was a farmer, but was also a minister of the Brethren church, preaching as op- 
portunities were afforded him. Prof. Royer gained his early education in the country 
schools of his native count.v. and later attended the academy at Mifllinburg. but com- 
pleted his literary course at Union Semiiuiry. at New Berlin. Pa. In the meantime he 
did some teaching in country schools, entering upon the work when he was but sixteen 
years of age. At twenty he had completed his college education and he decided to pur- 
sue teaching as a life profession. Prom 18.58 to 1863 he was engaged in teaching in the 
graded schools of his native state. Then, at the age of twenty-five, he went to Darke 
county, Ohio, and there continued teaching in graded .schools eight years, being prin- 
cipal of the schools at Welister and Versailles the last six years. In 1871. he went to 
Burnettsville. White county, Indiana, and was principal of the high school at that 
place four consecutive years. He then accepted the superintendency of the high school 
at Monticello. Indiana, and held it with honor for eight years. While at this place the 
degree of Master of Arts was bestowed upon him. entirely unsolicited. From Monti- 
cello he came to Mount Morris and was assigned the chair of English Literature in the 
college. The year following his arrival he was elected to the presidency of the college, 
and has filled that position with much credit ever since. Pres. Royer is a strict disci- 
plinarian, and his advice and admonition, given in private and chapel talks, has been of 
untold value to the students. December 8, 1860. Prof. Royer was married to Miss Lizzie 
Reitf. of his native county, who was l)orn November :30, 1838. To them have been born 
eight children, as follows: Galen B.. born September 8. 1862. married Anna Miller, of 
Mount Morris: Susan, born July 10. 186.5. married to Prof. E. S. Young; Mary, born 
June 16, 1867, and is living at home; Ida. born October 27. 1868, married to J. M. Myers; 
Nettie, born March 31, 1870. married J. A. Brubaker: Lillie, born November 18, 1872, 
married James Fogerty; Josephine, born October 9. 187.5; Myrtle, born June 18, 1880. 
Josephine and Myrtle are teaching in the college. Prof. Royer was elected to the 
ministry in 1872. at Monticello. Indiana, and. along with his school work, he has al- 
ways taken an active part in church matters. In 1881. he was advanced to the elder- 
ship and has continued to act in that capacity ever since. He is now regarded as one 
of the most able ministers of the Brethren church in Illinois. 

Phof. Aaron L. Clair, business manager and treasurer of the college, and prin- 
cipal of the Commercial department, was born at Nora, Illinois. July 25. 1866. and is the 



Hi MOUNT morris: past and present. 

soil of Preston and Mary Clair. His early life was spent on his father's farm near Lena. 
Being a country hoy. his educational opportunities were measured by the facilities af- 
forded by the district school near his home. In the fall of 1888 he entered Mount Morris 
Colleg-e. By June. 1890. besides the literary work done, he had completed the Shorter 
Commercial and Pen Art courses. Within a .year he was called to the position of prin- 
cipal instructor in Penmausl»ip and assistant in the Business department of Maryville 
Seminary. Missouri. The year following- he was promoted to the principalship of the 
Business department of the seminar.v. In the fall of 1892 he ag-aiu entered Mount 
Morris College. During- 189o-"94. he served as an assistant in the B\isiness college, and 
in Septeml)er. 1804. he was promoted to the principalship. which he still fills. Prof. 
Clair is an instructor whom every one likes, because of his jovial nature and his very 
ag-reeable manner of conducting recitations and the work in the Commercial depart- 
ment. With rare tact and skill he directs the work in Commercial Hall, and the large 
attendance in this department is a testimonial to his ability as an instructor. Prof. 
Clair was married June 16. 1892. to Lizzie Albright, daughter of Jacob and Martha 
Albright, of Lena. Illinois. Three children have been born to them ; viz.. Ada Belle, 
May 16. 1896; Alva Burdette. March 17. 1898. died December 30. 1899: and an infant daugh- 
ter, born September 12. 1900. In July. 1900, Prof. Clair was elected to the first degree of 
the ministry of the Brethren church. 

Prop. W. Lewis Eikenbeeky, B. S., profes.sor of the Science deiiartnient. is the 
son of William and Susan Eikenberry, and was born near Waterloo. Iowa. July 12, 1871. 
The famous " little red schoolhouse" also played an important part in the education of 
this member of the faculty. After leaving the country school, he attended a short time 
at a private school in Waterloo, and finally came to Mount Morris College in the fall of 
1887. and. after two years of solid work, graduated in the Academic class of 1889. In 
1890, he again entered the college and did two years of Seminary work, graduating 
from that department in 1892. In the fall of the same .year he enrolled at the Univers- 
ity of Michigan. Ann Arbor, and graduated after two years, receiving the degree of 
Bachelor of Science. He was immediatel.v engaged as professor of Science by his alma 
mater, and has since filled the position, with the exception of the spring term of 1899 
when he made an extended trip through the west for the benefit of his health. ' Prof. 
Eikenberry is a practical scientist in every sense of the term. Each day of his lifei he 
observes and investigates every phenomenon of nature which comes to his notice, and 
keeps in touch with the progre.ss of the scientific world. He is one of the exceedingly 
small number of men who have had the presence of mind and the opportunity to 
photograph a moving tornado, which feat he accomplished in 1898. Copies of the pic- 
ture have appeared in quite a number of papers and magazines all over the United 
States, and. along with a number of other photographs of the effects of the tornado, 
will be found in a later chapter upon calamaties. Prof. Eikenlierr.v is muiiarried. In 
1893, he was elected to the first degree of the ministry of the Brethren church, and was 
later advanced to the second degree. He ranks well among the local ministers of the 
church, preaching frequently in the college chapel. 

Pkof. Oscar R. Myers comes from the " Ke.vstone" state. He was born at Lewis- 
town. April 16. 1873. being the son of George S. and Susanna Myers. From the time of 
his arrival at the school age until the fall of 1889, he attended the public school at Lew- 
istown and worked in his fathers lumber establishment. He then came to Mount 
Morris College and comjjleted a busiiie.ss course. He then became clerk and book- 
keeper in the general store of D. N. Wingert & Co.. which position he filled fourteen 
months. He completed the preparatory work and graduated with the Academic class 
of 1894, but continued two more years in the Seminary department. In 1896. he enter- 
ed the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. After two years of work, he graduated 
from that institution with the class of 1898, receiving the degree of Ph. B. He re- 
turned to the University in the fall of 1898 and in the spring of 1899 received his second 
degree,— that of Master of Philosophy. In the fall of 1899 he became a member of the 
faculty of his alma mater, and soon became recognized as one of the best. Prof. Myers 
is a young man of much energy, as is evidenced by the fact that he worked his way 
through college by canvassing views during summer vacations. He is unmarried. 



MOUNT MORRIS COLLEGE. 115 

Pkof. Geokge W. Fukkey. Ph. B.. has charg-e of the deimrtnient of Mathematics. 
He is a son of Jacob and Sarah Furrey. of White county. Ind.. and was born July 4. 
1867. Besides his common school training, he attended the high school at York. Nebr., 
and later the Harper Normal School and Business College, at Harper. Kans.. from 
which he graduated with the class of 1890. In 1892. he came to Mount Morris College, 
and. with the exception of one year, attended regularl.v until 1896, when he graduated. 
Another year was spent here in Seminary work, after which he entered the University 
of Michigan, from which institution he graduated in 1899, receiving the degree of Ph. 
B. Prof. Furrey pos.sesses marked ability, not only in his siiecialty but also in literary 
lines. While in college he made very rapid progress in his studies, completing courses 
with exceptional thoroughness in much le.ss than the prescribed time. As an instruc- 
tor in mathematics he is one of the ablest the colleg-e has had. He advances his stu- 
dents rapidly, at the same time getting thorough work from them. Prof. Furrey was 
married August 26. 1897. to Miss Martha Her.shey. daughter of Daniel and Barbara Her- 
shey. of Mount Morris. They have one little girl. Margaret Lucille, born May 1.5. 1899. 

Pkof. Guilfdhd E. Weaver, principal of the Art department, is the son of Solo- 
mon and Mary Weaver, of Wabash county, Ind,, and was born March 3. 1865. His career 
commenced as a farm-hand and later as a painter. At the latter vocation he awaken- 
ed his talent for works of art, and his brushes gradually became finer until at last he 
altogether discarded the clumsy paint daubers and took up the artist's delicate brush 
and the pen. While taking work in art at a school in Logan.sijort, Ind.. his instructor's 
health failed and young Weaver was appointed in his place. He held this position 
nearly two years and then entered the Zanerian Art College of Columbus. Ohio, from 
which institution he graduated after two years' work. Another year was spent at the 
same college in post-graduate work. Prof. Weaver then traveled throughout north- 
ern Indiana, organizing art classes and attending county fairs, receiving over one 
hundred premiums for work exhibited. In 1889. he came to Mount Morris and has 
been engaged in the college ever since. As a peiuiian. Prof. Weaver has few equals in 
the state. He also has marked ability in other lines of art. being especially at home 
with the crayon. He does an extensive mail-order business in card writing, enlarging 
pictures, etc. Prof. Weaver was married June 1-^. 1893. to Miss Hattie Brubaker. young- 
est daughter of Elder and Mrs. D. E. Brubaker. who were residents of the villag-e of 
Mount Morris. The union has been blessed by three children; viz.. Mabel Fawn, born 
April 18, 1891; Marie Ruth, born January 2,5, 1897: and Bessie Blanche, born December 23. 
1898. 

Pkof. Hebek M. Hays, instructor of Latin and Greek, comes from Virginia, He 
was born at Moore's Store, in that state. May 7, 1876. being the son of Daniel and Sarah 
Hays. After the usual common school education. Heber spent four years in the Broad- 
way ijublic schools of his native state. He came to Mount Morris in 1897. and spent two 
years here. He returned to Virginia in 1899 and entered the State University. By hard 
work he completed the I^atin and Greek in the M. A. cour.se in one year. Upon the 
withdrawal of Prof. J. E. Miller, at the close of the school year of 1899-1900, the chair 
of Latin and Greek was tendered to Prof. Hays, who accepted the offer and is filling 
the position with much credit. While attending college. Prof. Ha.vs exhibited remark- 
able ability in all lines of work, especially in his chosen line. He is unmarried. 

Mrs. Floka E. Teagce. professor of Shorthand and Typewriting, is a daughter of 
David and Susan Kinsey, of Miami county, Ohio, where she was born January 13, 1853. 
She attended the Covington high school, and also the Normal University at Lebanon, 
Ohio. During 1890-'91. she was a student of Mount Morris College, and in 1892 was en- 
gaged as instructor in the Bible department of the college, also in the Shorthand and 
Typewriting department, and she has held the position ever since, being one of the 
most valuable members of the faculty. Mrs. Teague is a prominent church worker, 
having served as Sunday-school superintendent for many years, and in other capaci- 
ties. She is thoroughly versed in Bible work and is a most competent instructor in 
that line of knowledge. May 15. 1873, she was married to John J, Teague, at Green- 
ville, Ohio. She has one daughter. Evelyn, who is the wife of Prof. E. T. Keiser. of 
Lordsburg College. California. t 



116 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Miss Josephine Royek. teacher of Elocution and Physical Culture, and matron of 
Ladies" Hall, is the daufrhter of Prof, and Mrs. J. G. Royer. and was horn near Mon- 
ticello. Ind.. Octoher 9. 1,S7."). Her hig-her education was grained in Mount Morris Col- 
leg-e. from which she graduated in 189."). and the Columbian School of Oratory. Chicago. 
In 189.V9t3. shetaug-ht Latin. German and English at Lordshurg College. Cal.. and the 
follow ing year was instructor of Elocution at Mount Morris College. For nearly two 
years after this, she resided at Cando. North Dakota, where she took uj) a claim of a 
quarter-section of land. In 1899. she was again engaged as Elocution teacher in her 
alma mater, and she is still holding the position. 

Miss Lucia McCosh. of the department of Music is a new member of the faculty of 
the college, although she served in the same capacity several years ago. when that de- 
partment was in an undeveloped state. She is a daughter of Dr. John and Elizabeth 
McCosh. of Mount Morris. She finished the prescribed course of study in the Mount 
Morris public school, and later completed the Latin-Scientific course in Mount Morris 
College, graduating in 1897. She also did two years of Seminary German iind French. 
Previous to her work in the college here, she completed a course in shorthand and 
typewriting in the Gmaha iNebr. ) Busijiess College, and spent two years in stenograph- 
ical work in that city. In 1898. she entered the Chicago Musical College, and gradu- 
ated in the class of 1900. completing a two years" course in piano, harmony, canon, 
fugue and musical composition. Her work in this college deserves special mention. 
She stood second in her class, having a grade of 99. and was one of the fourteen mem- 
bers of the concerto class, selected from among a class of eighty, to play at the finijl 
public examination at graduation. 

Jesse D. Sutek. first assistant in the Commercial department, hails from Frank- 
lin Grove. He gained his early education in the Ashton public school, and afterward 
taught a year there, in the Grammar department. He entered Moiuit Morris College 
in 1892. and. with the exception of about a year and a half, has ht-i-u continuously at 
work here, graduating in a literary course in 1897 and the two gears' Commercial 
course in 1900. He is now working on his third year in Seminary mathematics and 
other branches of the Seminary department. Mr. Suter is well fitted for his position in 
the Commercial department. 

Michael W. Emmeet. teacher of a number of the common liranches. attended 
Mount Morris College five years, graduating in the Academic department and com- 
pleting one year Seminary work. He also spent short periods of time in colleges in 
Des Moines and Cedar Rapids. Iowa, and taught scliool several years. He w as elevated 
to the second degree of the ministry of the Brethren church in 1894. and had charge of 
a mission at Cedar Rapids nearly three years, giving up that w ork to accept his pres- 
ent position. He does some Seminary work along with his teaching. August :?, 1899, 
Mr. Emmert w as married to Lizzie Myers, and they have one son. born July 10. 1900. 

J. F. Soudehs became an instructor in the Bible department at the beginning of 
the fall term of 1900. He comes from (Jren, Ohio, near which place he taught school 
five years. He has attended the Ohio Normal University at Ada. two years at the North 
Manchester (Ind. I college, and one year at the University of Chicago. He specialized 
in Bible work and is well skilled in that line. He is a notable addition to the faculty. 

Miss Myktle Royek. instructor of Vocal Music. Oil Painting. Water Color and 
Pastel, is the youngest daughter of Prof, and Mrs. J. G. Royer. and was horn near 
Monticello. Ind. She graduated from the Academic department of Mount Morris Col- 
lege in 1899, and has also completed one year Seminary work. 

Wallace W. Fike. assistant in the Penmanship department, is a native of Mil- 
ledgeville. 111. He comj)Ieted a course under Prof. Weaver in 1898. In the following 
year he became a Benedict. Miss Ella Haugh being the girl of his choice. Mr. Fike is 
a gentleman possessed of those traits of character that gain recognition and favor in 
every walk of life. 



MOUNT JIORRIS t'OLLEGE. 



117 



Athletics have never occupied the exalted position in Mount Morris 
Colleit?e that they do in a great number of the institutions of learning. 
However, all clean sports that help the student to keep a sound mind in a 
sound body are not objected to by the management. Tennis courts are 
laid out on the campus, and, when the weather permits, numerous devotees 
of the game may be seen dexterously passing the lively balls back and 
forth over the net. lu baseball and football the college has never attained 
to much reputation, — no doubt because the majority of the stvadents are 
young people who must make every moment of their time tell, and con- 
sequently they cannot afford to spend much of their time in the required 




10RRIS COLLEGE FOOTBALL THAI 



practice. Since the school draws most of its students from the farm, an 
abundance of brawn is always at hand, and, if turned in the right direc- 
tion, would result in skilled playing, second to none in the county. On 
this page is shown a view of the football team of 1899. Although organ- 
ized rather late in the season, the eleven made a very creditable showing. 
The line-up was as follows: Center, A. B. Keller; right guard, F. D. Miller; 
left guard, Clyde Bechtelheimer; right tackle, Myron Sager; left tackle, 
Clayton Gloss: right end, Roy Sweeley; left end, Elmer Shank; right half- 
back, Verne Roland: left half-back, Earl Clevidence; quarter-back, Wil- 
liam Pouke: full-back, Dudley McCosh. Substitvites, Preston Stuckey, 
Marion Wasson. 



CHAPTER VII. 
THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

As mentioned already in this volume, the first settlers of Mount 
Morris township were deeply interested in the cause of education, and 
were determined that their children should not want for educational priv- 
ileges. In conformity with these views, Messrs. Hitt and Swingley en- 
gaged A. Quimby Allen to accompany them west, when they returned for 
their families in 1838. Soon after they established a school, with Mr. 
Allen as teacher, in an old log-house which they erected in the grove about 
eighty rods southwest of the present residence of William Lohafer. This 
house was torn down many years ago. It was the first school in this sec- 
tion of the country, and was called the Pine Creek Grammar School, under 
which rather pretentious title it was the first step toward the founding of 
Rock River Seminary. The pupils in this school numbered twenty-six, 
among whom were Margaret C. Hitt, later Mrs. D. J. Pinckney: John W. 
Hitt, now an influential citizen of Oskaloosa, Iowa: George Hitt, now de- 
ceased; Andrew W. Hitt, Joseph Hitt, John Hitt, now Deputy Collector of 
Customs, Chicago; Robert S. Hitt, of Chicago; Hon. Robert R. Hitt, Mar- 
tin R. M. Wallace, later a judge of Chicago: Elizabeth Reynolds, Caroline 
M. Reynolds, Ann E. Ankney, later Mrs. Phelps: Urilla Swingley, John H. 
Swingley, Upton Swingley, Augustvas H. Ankney, afterward a leading citi- 
zen of Clinton, Iowa: Ann M. Ankney, later Mrs. William Watts, deceased; 
Clinton Helm, later an eminent physician of Rockford: James C. T. 
Phelps, afterward a farmer near Rochelle: James Reynolds, the Worden 
boys, Richard McClain's children, and Nathaniel A. Ankney and Peter 
Householder, both residents of Mount Morris today. The school contin- 
ued under the direction of Mr. Allen for nearly a year, during which time 
the scheme of locating the Rock River Seminary here was accomplished. 
As is noted elsewhere, the first term of the seminary opened in November, 
1840. In the spring of 1841, the Pine Creek Grammar School was taken 
under the wing of the seminary, being conducted under the management 
of Mrs. Fannie Russell, as the Primary department of that institution. 
For some reason it was discontinued in 1843. N. A. Ankney was one of the 
boys who attended during the time the school was under the charge of the 
seminary. The sessions were held in the basement, in one part of which 
was the culinary department of the seminary. Mr. Ankney remembers 
that the boys soon found out that the cook produced an extra fine dough- 
nut, and often helped themselves from the supply when there was no one 
about. 

For several years after the discontinuance of the Primary department 
of the seminary, private schools, generally of a short daration, were con- 

(1181 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 



119 



ducted at different houses iu the village. Mrs. Ellen Trine, of this place, 
remembers of having attended school at five different places. One was in 
an old house, then owned by Mrs. Fellows, on the site of the new house now. 
occupied by Mrs. McCosh, on Main street. This was a select school taught 
by a Miss Bennett. There was another select school tavight by Mrs. Stuff, 
the wife of a Methodist minister, on the lower floor of the old Masonic 
Hall, on Wesley street, numbered 18 in the engraving on page 51 of this 
book. The other three which Mrs. Trine attended were the one in Daniel 
Eversole's house, the Crofts school, and the district school in the old 
house recently torn down by W. H. Miller. Further mention is made of 
these three. 




THE DANIEL EVERSOLE HOUSE. 



Another school of which some of our older citizens have a slight mem- 
ory was one taught by a Miss Fi-ankinberry and held in the basement of 
Blair's Hotel, now Dr. G. B. McCosh's residence. Henry Sharer remem- 
bers a small frame building, standing just west of Dr. McCosh's residence, 
in which a school was taught at an early day. A. Quimby Allen taught a 
school in a house during the winter of 1845 '16. Probably a number of 
other private schools were conducted during the forties and fifties, but lit- 
tle can be learned concerning them. 

After the Primary department of the seminary had been closed, one 
of the first schools to start up for the enlightenment of the juvenile por- 
tion of Mount Morris was held in the main part of the residence of Daniel 



120 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Eversole, on the corner of McKendrie and Center streets. This house 
was raised and altered somewhat several years ago. An engraving of the 
building as it appears today is shown on the preceding page. In this old 
house school was held for about two years, during which time the follow- 
ing were among the teachers: L. Bell, Major Woodcock and his sister 
Miss Sarah Woodcock, and James Ransom. There were probably twelve 
or fifteen pupils in attendance, among whom were N. A. Ankney and Mrs. 
Ellen Trine. The old house was also used for a number of years as a 
wagon-shop, and an upstairs room frequently served the Odd Fellows as a 
lodge-room. 

Probably the first school supported by the regular means of taxation 
was that held in a house on Main street. Later it was occupied as a resi- 
dence by William H. Miller, who tore it down in the spring of 1900 to make 
room for his present fine residence. The information concerning the old 
house is exceedingly obscure, and the little which could be found was 
gleaned from a score of sources, and may contain some errors. As nearly 
as can be ascertained, the house was built especially for school purposes 
either in 1845 or 1846, only a few years after the building of the McParland 
house, mention of which is made elsewhere. The building was quite long 
and narrow, and was divided by a light board partition into two equal 
apartments, one for the younger and one for the more advanced pupils. 
Here it was that the great majority of the present middle-aged citizens of 
Mount Morris gained their education and spent many pleasant hours of 
their early lives, 

" Some upon their books intent. 
But more on furtive mischief bent." 

The latter part of the quotation was true to a great extent if credit can be 
given to the laughable stories now related by many of the former pupils. 
The school continued in the rather hampered quarters afforded by the old 
house for probably over a score of years. The rooms were very much 
crowded at the last, so much so that in the summer time visitors would be 
astonished to find boys sitting on the stove for want of better seats. Dur- 
ing these years hundreds of people with whom all are familiar attended the 
school, and many of them are now residents of our village. 

Thomas C. Williams was one of the mischievious boys who attended 
the school; and one day, probably for amusement during some tiresome 
hour, he copied the names of every pupil attending at that time into his 
spelling book, one name along the inside margin of each page. With the 
exception of three or four all of the names are easily legible, and are as 
follows: Prank Mum ma, William McCoy, William H. Miller, William 
Newcomer, Arthur Newcomer, Harley Hedges, Benj. Hedges, Milton Neft", 
David McCoy, Lewis Davis, Prank Knodle, Edwin Allen, Samuel Rohrer, 
Edwin Newcomer, Merritt Pinckney, John Warburton, Edwin Knodle, 
Prank Baker, Douglas Hedges, Charles Knodle, James Wertz, C. Parwell, 
Frank Black, Otho Davis, Clayton Startzman, Ed. Startzmau, Calvin Mid- 
dlekaufF, David Warburton, John McCosh, Scott McCosh, Melvin Knodle, 
Ed. Sharp, " Den " Householder, George Coffman, Thomas Williams, Ella 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 



121 



Funk (now Mrs. H. J. Griswold), Alice Pond (now Mrs. Knodle, of Aurora), 
Ida Newcomer (Mrs. Knodle). Lottie Rohrer (Mrs. William Newcomer), Ida 
Pinckney ( Mrs. Ed. Butt, now dead), Eliza Ohr (Mrs. Forbes, of Iowa), Lib- 
bie Allen (Mrs. R. D. McClure), Arbanna Middlekauff (Mrs. N. E. Buser), 
Follie Brayton (Mrs. W. M. Gilbert, State Center, Iowa), Lillie Brayton 
(Mrs. W. H. Miller, Alpena, S. Dak.), Sarah Ohr (Mrs. Follet), Josie Hays 
(Mrs. Wise), Laura Neft" (first wife of A. S. McCoy), Josie Cheney (deceased), 
Mary Hedges (deceased), Lizzie Guy (now of Franklin Grove), Susie Typer. 
Besides the foregoing list a number of others might be noted: Mattie 
Middlekauff, Charles Allen, Mary Allen, Robert Q. Allen, Cashus Crowell, 
A. W. Brayton, John Davis, Solomon Nikirk. Thomas and James Neff:', 




THE FIRST PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDING IN MOUNT MORRIS. 

[This building was occupied for many years as a residence by W. H. Miller. 

who removed it in the spring of 1900, to make way for 

a more modern dwelling-.] 



Waldo and George Cheney, Lillie and Jennie Knodle, the McCoy and the 
Stewart boys, and others too numerous to mention. 

A complete record of the teachers who taught this school is not ob- 
tainable. Among them were A. Quimby Allen, Mr. Streeter, Mr. Shultnee, 
Mr. Cross, John Page, with Hannah Cheney (who later married Mr. Page) 
as assistant; Holly Allen (father of Charles H. Allen, township assessor), 
James Allen (a brother of Holly Allen), Enoch Coffman, Miss Sibyl Sam- 
mis (later married to Andrew Hitt), Miss Helen Coffman, Miss Hattie Lit- 
tle (now Mrs. Samuel Middour), Miss Christina Coffman, Daniel Rohrer, 
Morris GafRn, Maggie Pouke, Miss Miles, and the Misses Frances and Plor- 



122 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

ence Hoverlaud (who later married Charles Crawford and Dr. B. G. Steph- 
ens respectively). 

Miss Frances Hoverland took charge of the senior room in 1864, and a 
little later prevailed upon the school board to allow her to write to the 
east for her sister, Florence, to take the other room, in place of Miss Miles 
who could not handle the mischievous urchins. These two ladies contin- 
ued teaching in the old house until the present stone structure was built. 
Frances, now Mrs. Crawford, is still one of the present corps of teachers, 
having taught during the entire time except for several years spent in 
schools in Milledgeville and elsewhere. Thus she has had a hand in the 
teaching of nearly every boy and girl who has gone through our school, for 
the remarkably long period of not less than thirty-five years. Children 
whose parents were disciplined by her in the old schoolhouse have passed, 
and are still passing, under her instruction. Her sister Florence has al- 
most a parallel record, having ceased teaching in our public schools but a 
few years ago. 

Many interesting reminiscences can be related concerning the old 
school days in the Miller house. As is invariably the case, there were nu- 
merous mischievous spirits among the boys and girls, and their pranks are 
still remembered by those who were contemporaneous with those "glorious 
old times." Mrs. Crawford relates a story of how two boys determined to 
have a vacation from study by hiding all day in the loft, which was merely 
a little cubby-hole, with neither light nor ventilation. When she arrived 
at the schoolhouse in the morning — a hot summer day— some of the schol- 
ars were building a roaring fire in the stove, and, when questioned, signifi- 
cantly put their fingers to their lips and looked toward the loft. She took 
in the situation at once and helped the joke along by allowing the boys to 
remain in the loft and keeping up a good fire to make a healthy heat in 
the usually hot apartment above. At noon Mrs. Crawford and her sister 
went through the form of leaving the schoolhouse by walking heavily 
to the door and opening and closing it, but remaining inside. Imagine 
the looks on the boys' faces as they slid down from the loft and found 
them waiting! No further punishment was deemed necessary. 

When Holly Allen was teaching, Ed. Allen, now a successful auctioneer 
of Mount Morris, was an attendant. One day when about to be punished 
for some misdemeanor, he made a dash for the door and down the road. 
The teacher, however, proved the better athlete and succeeded in running 
him down and bringing him back, which caused some entertainment for 
the school, the nature of which may easily be surmised. C. C. Crowell was 
a pretty lively scholar, and on more than one occasion had to stand on one 
leg for punishment. He remembers that one noon the boys knocked ott" a 
half dozen yards of plastering and threw the chunks about the room until 
the white dust obscured the view. Penalty— a licking and three weeks in 
at recess. 

The partition between the two rooms was made of loose boards, which 
the boys could easily remove on special occasions. At the end of every 
term the school gave an exhibition, when miscellaneous programs were 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 123 

participated ia by the scholars, and on such occasions the partition was 
removed. Mrs. Crawford often received fine presents from the scholars 
at these exhibitions, and still possesses and prizes them very highly. 

Besides being an old schoolhouse, the Miller building has the honor of 
once serving as a meetinghouse. Immediately after it was built, the Rev. 
N. J. Stroh, who was stationed at Oregon, came up every two weeks and 
preached in it for the Lutherans. The church records are lost, but there 
is reason to believe that it was used more or less by the Lutherans for a 
place of worship until the new brick churchhouse, now belonging to the 
Christian denomination, was built in 18.54. Rev. A. A. Trimper preached 
in the old house and probably Rev. Nicholas Burkett. Later, in the six- 
ties, long after the brick churchhouse had been built, a number of the 
Lutherans,— Rev. Rufus Smith, Daniel Sprecher, some of the Hedges, and 
others, — became dissatisfied with the progress of affairs in the church and 
a split occurred, and the bolters started to hold meetings of their own in 
the old schoolhouse. This branch existed for a time but soon died out. 

In 1882, William H. Miller purchased the house, and after residing in 
it for eighteen years, erected in its place a fine modern residence. 

Another old school building was the McFarland house, which stood on 
Mulberry street, and for many years was occupied as a residence by Mrs. 
Susan Heminger, until the spring of 1900, when it was purchased by Elder 
D. L. Miller, and torn down to make room for his elegant residence. 

The old house was built in the spring of 1841 by Samuel McFarland, 
of Boonsboro, Md., and at the time of its erection Mount Morris was yet 
in its extreme infancy. Mr. McFarland moved into the hovise after its 
completion and resided there with his family for a number of years. In 
the meantime a number of other houses were built and immigrants began 
to come in rapidly from the east. Among the arrivals during the summer 
after the house was completed was a party in which were Jonathan and 
Emanuel Knodle, of Boonsboro, Md., who brought with them a complete 
printing outfit. They rented the north wing of the McFarland house, and 
there began the publication of the Rock River Register, the first paper 
printed in Ogle county, a complete account of which is given in the chap- 
ter upon the press. After the removal of the printing-office from the 
house in 1842, the old house is lost sight of for nearly twenty years, but it 
is naturally supposed that it was simply used as a residence, and occupied 
by probably a dozen different families for shorter or longer periods. In 
1853 it came into the possession of a schoolteacher, an old lady by the 
name of Crofts Mrs. Emeline Crofts, mother of the Rev. George W. 
Crofts, who later had charge of the Congregational church at Cedar 
Rapids, Iowa. In about the year 1860, or possibly earlier, Mrs. Crofts 
started a private school in the front room of the old house, using the re- 
mainder of it for living rooms. Owing to the crowded condition of the 
public school, then being held in the Miller house, she soon gathered in 
twenty-five or thirty scholars, mostly from among the smaller children, 
and proceeded to " enlighten " them. Many of our present citizens re- 
ceived their first instruction under her. Among them are A. W. Brayton, 



124 



3IOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



William Stewart, Mrs. John Walker, and a score of others. Mr. Brayton 
remembers her rather novel method of distributing reward cax-ds. The 
room formerly used as the Register office was used by her as a bedroom, 
and there on her bed she would spread out the reward cards, of which 
there were some very nice ones for the brightest students, and others not 
quite so pleasing. After they had been arranged, the best scholar was al- 
lowed to go into the room and take his choice: after his return, the second 
best took his turn, and so on until the least deserving carried away the 
leavings. William Stewart remembers that she was very severe in her 
methods of punishment, but failed to mention, however, if it was because 
he was particularly mischievous or not, that his memory was so keen on 
that point. One of her ways of bringing culprits to justice was to come 
up behind the victim and getting him by the forelock pull him upon his 
tip-toes until he expected his scalp to part with his cranium. Another 
method, for many years a favorite among " schoolmarms," was to get a grip 
on that convenient handle, the ear, and twist it until the offender was glad 
to choose between losing his ear or coming to time. The dunce cap also 
came into frequent use. Nevertheless she was a good teacher and taught 
many a " young idea how to shoot." Her school continued in the old house 
until after the war, and was discontinued probably in 18G6 or 1867. Mrs. 
Crofts left the village about that time with her son, Lee Crofts, and went 
west. 

After the close of the Crofts school, the old house sunk into obscurity. 
It was simply used as a residence and saw many changes and a variety of 
inmates. And now, in the year 1900, the closing year of the nineteenth 
century, it has gone down to its fate, having watched over the varying des- 
tinies of the town and its intelligent people from almost its earliest period. 
A few more years and it will be forgotten forever. Thus it is with both 
man and his works. 

An examination of the deed discloses the iuteresting fact that the 
house changed hands no less than eighteen times. The two lots, upon one 
of which it stood, and which have always been transferred with it, are lots 
13 and 14 of block 16. They wei'e included in the original patent for an 80- 
acre plot from the United States Government to Anthony Pitzer, and later 
became the property of Rock River Seminary. The later transfers were 
as follows: 



1843, . . R. R. Seminary to Suimiel McFarlaud 
1844,.. Samuel McFarlaud to B. Rosenbeck 

1847, B. Ro.seiibeck to Jacob Hiestaiid 

1847, Jacob Hiestaiid to David Gloss 

1847, David Gloss to John Martin 

1851, John Martin to Enoch Wood 

18.W, Enoch Wood to Emeline Crofts 

185.5, Emeline Crofts to F. G. Petrie 



1857. F. G. Petrie to J. A. Rontzhan 

18.59 J. A. Rontzhan to Emeline Crofts 

1876 Emeline Crotts to Jno. M. Smith 

1879 Jno. M. Smith to D. B. Kenne 

1881, D. B. Kenne to David Moore 

1882. David Moore to John D. Teeter 

1884, .... John D. Teeter to Susan Heminger 
1900, Susan Heminger to D. L. Miller 



It will be noticed that three transfers were made in one year, — 1847. 
Mrs. Heminger was by far the longest occupant of the house, having 
lived in it about sixteen years. A portion of the old house was moved to 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 125 

the south part of town, and is being used as a barn by William Domer. 
For a view of this historic old house s.e the chapter dealing with the 
press. 

Before tracing the village schools further, it would be well to make 
mention of the old schoolhouse built by the father of Dr. Isaac Rice. It 
was simply a roughly-constructed log-house, situated north of town, and 
its history dates back almost to the beginning of the Pine Creek Gram- 
mar School. Isaac Rice, then a youth of eighteen years, was one of the first 
teachers in the school. Reuben Marshall was a pupil at this institution of 
learning, and remembers the house to have been an exceedingly rough 
structure. It was built in the hollow north of the Jacob Rice residence 
and east of the cemetery. One winter there was considerable trouble be- 
tween the teacher and the pupils, and finally the large boys tore the old 
building down, piled the logs on a heap, and burned them. Mr. Marshall 
remembers that one day several dogs ran a deer out of the woods near the 
schoolhouse, and there being a crust on the snow which the animal's sharp 
hoofs penetrated, the boys easily headed it upon an expanse of snow and 
knocked it on the head with an axe. The incident was quite thrilling. 
Among the teachers in this school were Joshua and Isaac Rice, John A. 
Wagner, Alfred Brown, John W. Ritz, John O'Conner, Julia Holcombe, 
Charles F. Lynn, and Robert Deppeuham. 

In the year 1868 the present large stone schoolhouse, located on block 
5 of the Botanical Addition, was completed at a cost of $10,000. At first 
there were but four rooms in the building and only three of these were 
used, there being but three teachers and three departments. Miss Frances 
Hoverland (now Mrs. Crawford) who had been principal in the old build- 
ing was again elected and served in that capacity from 1868 to 1872,— the 
first four years that the new building was in use. Miss Florence Hover- 
land taught during the first two years, until the time of her marriage to 
Dr. B. G. Stephens. The other teachers during these four years were the 
Misses Cornelia A. Sterns, May Quigley, and Olive Antisdel. Miss Lottie 
Rohrer (now Mrs. W. A. Newcomer) was an advanced student and heard a 
number of classes for the principal. 

Prof. Joseph M. Piper, the present County Superintendent of Schools, 
succeeded Mrs. Crawford and remained principal four years. The teach- 
ers during these four years, 1872 to 1876,— as nearly as Mr. Piper can re- 
member, were as follows: Frankie Kosier, Ella Fisher, Miss Eichholts, 
John P. Hand (now a supreme judge of Illinois), Helen A. Night, John 
Hammond (remembered by his red hair), Lottie Waggoner (daughter of 
Prof. Joseph Waggoner, first principal of Rock River Seminary), and Addie 
McKean. 

About this time a fourth department was added and the number of 
teachers raised to four. Horace G. Kauft'man was elected principal in the 
fall of 1876, with Holly C. Clark in the Grammar department; Ella Fisher, 
Intermediate, and Lottie Waggoner, Primary. 

The teachers from 1877 to 1900 are herewith given, together with the 
graduates— when there were any. The first graduating class received their 



126 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



diplomas in the spring of 1878, at the close of Mr. Kanff man's second year. 
Before that time the scholars attended only until something turned up for 
them to do, and they left whenever they pleased, without completing any 
prescribed course of study. It was during this year that the first course 
of study was outlined and printed in pamphlet form. In the following 
the principal will be mentioned first, then the teachers of the Grammar, 
Intermediate, and Primary departments in their respective order: 

1877 78.— H. G. Kaufi:'mau, H. C. Clark, Mrs. Rebecca Kauff:"man, Lottie 
Waggoner. Graduates, Susie McCosh (Mrs. C. H. Sharer), Eva Davis, Fred. 
Knodle, Harry Little, Charles Davis. 

1878-'79. — H. G. Kauft'man, 
H. C. Clark, Mrs. Kauft'man, 
Helen A. Night. Graduates, 
Laura Hedges (Mrs. Swift, of 
DeKalb), Lillie Farwell (Mrs. 
Harry Cushing), Mary Weller 
(Mrs. George Shryock), Clara 
Clevidence (Mrs. Ira Wingert), 
Clara Noel, Alfonzo Newcomer. 
1879-'80. — Miss Virginia 
Brown, Mrs. Carey, (name of 
Intermediate teacher not ob- 
tainable), Mrs. Crawford. Grad- 
uates, Martin Rohrer, Jr., Min- 
nie Rohrer, Lillie Myers, Jessie 
Knodle, Georgie Bixler, Jennie 
Weller (Mrs. Hanawalt), Anna 
Thomas, Viola Greger. 

1880-'81. — Miss Virginia 
Brown, Mrs. Carey, Hattie Bar- 
low, Mrs. Crawford. About this 
time the higher rooms of the 
school began to enter into a 
state of disorder, which grad- 
ually became worse through the 
two succeeding years and cul- 
minated in the almost complete 
disorganization of the highest room under the priucipalship of Prof. Bur- 
bank, mention of which is made later. It appears that Miss Brown made 
no attempt to graduate a class in this, the second, year of her principal- 
ship. Those who were in the highest class and would have graduated at 
the end of the year were U. C. Nye, Verne Clevidence Phelps, Alice Look- 
abaugh Fager, Joshua Ohr, Nettie Long, Mollie Skinner, Arthur Nalley, 
and probably several others. 

1881 '82.— B. Earl Berry, Mrs. Berry, Mrs. Stephens, Mrs. Crawford. 
As principal Prof. Berry did not prove to be a much better disciplinarian 
than Miss Brown, and the school did not prosper. There was no graduat- 




JOSEPH M. PIPER, 

Comity Siiijeriutondeiit of Schools 




MOUNT MORRIS PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDING. 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 129 

ing class at the end of this year. Among those who were in attendance in 
the advance class were Ida Punk Fitz, Isabel Funk Pitz. Hattie Davis, 
Mabel Holsinger, Lucia McCosh, Flora Thomas Shellenberger, Parnell 
Newcomer, Myrtle Rine Miller, Prank Palmer, Ralph Trine. William 
Startzman, Howard Long, and Cyrus Newcomer. 

1882-83.— The teaching force remained the same as the year previous, 
except that Clara Middlekauff succeeded Mrs. Berry in the Grammar de- 
partment. In Prof. Berry's room the order became worse and the attend- 
ance smaller, so much so that at the end of the year there was again no 
pretence toward the graduation of the advance class, which consisted part- 
ly of the class of the preceding year. 

1883-'84.— During the four years of Miss Brown's and Prof. Berry's 
principalship, the disorder and confusion of the advance rooms became so 
flagrant that the attention of the school board was finally drawn to the 
matter, and they resolved to hire a principal who could restrain the mis- 
chievous natures of the pupils and again bring the work up to a standard 
of excellence. Prof. Charles Burbank, of Byron, was the man engaged, 
but the board erred in their selection, as the sequel will show. With 
the intention of quelling the turbulent spirits by ruling with an iron 
hand. Prof. Burbank entered the schoolroom the first morning and inju- 
diciously informed the pupils who had assembled that he "could lick the 
whole school with one hand tied behind his back," and that dire conse- 
quences would follow any attempt at disorder or insubordination. These 
tactics, as many will remember, only aroused the ire of the boys, and 
the order, or rather disorder, was much worse than previously. The first 
serious trouble arose one day when Prof. Burbank left his room and went 
into the Grammar i-oom, to settle several youngsters for his wife, who had 
charge there. He had not proceeded far when the boys made a rush for 
him, seized him on all sides and gave him an old-fashioned drubbing. 
While this was in progress, John Seibert ran out into the front hall, and, 
opening the door of the high school, shouted: "Come on, boys; we've got 
him! " which added to the excitement. Finally, the members of the school 
board arrived and settled the disturbance. A few days later the pupils of 
the professor's own i*oom became incensed at some inconsistency on his 
part, and a " free-for-all " was again precipitated. Heavy double slates, 
erasers, books, and all manner of missiles were hurled at the unfortunate 
pedagogue. Most of the boys were aggressive, but a few of the older ones, 
Z. O. Do ward principally, tried to keep the bellicose faction from injuring 
the professor. In the sciiffle the organ was thrown from the platform and 
badly damaged. The besieged instructor finally escaped to his desk and 
hastily penned a note to the directors and dispatched one of the more 
timid scholars with it. It is remembered that after the missive had been 
written, upon the bottom of the sheet he stamped a large blotch of blood 
from a deep cut in his hand, caused by a slate, to impress the directors 
with the urgency of the case. Trouble frequently arose after this, but 
Prof. Burbank worried through the remainder of the year. It is said that 
to insure his safety the school board accompanied him to the depot when 



130 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

he left town. The boys and girls who attended that year are often heard 
talking over those " stirring times." At the end of the year no graduating 
exercises were held, but diplomas were granted to Carrie Weller, May Mc- 
Coy and Maude Newcomer. 

1884-'85.— To build up the school after the exciting times of the year 
previous, the board hired Horace G. Kauftman, who had proved a good 
disciplinarian during his former term of service. During the year the 
Primary department, which included about one hundred pupils, was divid- 
ed into two sections,— the First Primary and the Second Primary,— Mrs. 
Crawford being engaged to teach the latter, and Miss Lillie Farwell, the for- 
mer. The other teachers were Mrs. Kauffman and Mrs. Stephens. The 
graduates were H. E. Newcomer, Emily Newcomer ( Mrs. J. L. Rice), Fannie 
Stephens, and Grace McCoy (Mrs. Frank Coffman). 

1885-86.— Mr. Kauffman was re-engaged as principal, but being in poor 
health, went east and left the work in the hands of Mrs. Kauffman. The 
other teachers were Karen Hollinger, assistant principal: Mrs. Stephens, 
Mrs. Crawford, and Miss Farwell. Class of '86, Daisy Kemp, Mattie New- 
comer, Minnie Stouffer, Lilian Hess, Dollie Stephens, Bert Clevidence, 
Eugene Thomas. 

1886-'87.— During the summer of 1886 the addition on the west side of 
the building was made, to be used as a recitation room. Later, the Pri- 
mary department was moved into this addition and the principal's room 
divided into two parts, forming what are now the high school and Gram- 
mar rooms. The teachers were H. G. Kauftman, Mrs. Rebecca Kauftman, 
Mrs. Stephens, Mrs. Crawford, and Miss Farwell. Class of '87, Claude 
Householder and Daniel Brogunier. 

1887-'88.— Teachers, same as preceding year, except that Miss Elsie 
West took Miss Farwell's place. Mrs. Kauftman resigned the assistant 
principalship at the end of the winter term, and Emery I. Nett' completed 
the year in her place. Class of '88, Nettie Kinsey, Ada Mumma, Oliver 
Sprecher. 

1888-'89.— Teachers engaged, same as preceding year. Mr. Kauft'man 
was again compelled to leave the school on account of ill-health, and with 
the consent of the board left the principalship in the hands of Alfonzo G. 
Newcomer, who had just graduated from Cornell University. Mr. New- 
comer proved to be a very able instructor. His graduating class consist- 
ed of Minnie Kable, Ida Castle, Ollie Smith, and Morris Newcomer. 

1889-'90.— Teachers, T. E. DeButts, Alice J. Boone, Mrs. Stephens, Mrs. 
Crawford, Fannie Stephens. Class of '90, Solomon Avey, Allie Kable, 
Minerva Eversole, Edward C. Thomas. 

1890^'91. — Teachers, same as preceding year. Class of '91, Joseph 
Granger, Bert Thomas, Benton Kinsey, Kittie Sprecher. 

1891-'92.— Teachers, C. W. Egner, Antoinette Shryock, Mrs. Stephens, 
Mrs. Crawford, Fannie Stephens. Class of '92, Anita Holsinger, Lulu 
Kable, Pearl Williams, Lulu Koontz, Mae Ankney, William Myers, 
George Toms, Hugh Stephens, Bessie Griswold, Benj. Price, Grace Han- 
stine. 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 



131 



1892-93.— Teachers, same as preceding year. Class of '93, George 
Schelling, Pearl Buser, Emma Plate. 

1893-'94.— Teachers of previous year again hired. Class of '94, Louis 
Brayton, Maude Thomas, Earl Householder, Lucy Buck. 

1894-'95.— Teachers, E. E. Winders, Antoinette Shryock, Mrs. Steph- 
ens, Mrs. Crawford, Fannie Stephens. Class of '95, Lee Stonebraker, 
Anna Bollinger, Agnes McDannel. 

1895-'96.— Teachers, E. E. Winders, Lydia Pierce, Ella Rohrer, Mrs. 
Crawford, Mary McClure. Class of '96, Burton Strock, Harvey Kable, 
Harry Kable, May Driscoll, Maude Rowe, Reuben Marshall, Riner 
Clark, Edward Jimmerson, Roy 
Brayton. 

1896-'97. — Teachers, E. E. 
Winders, Mary McClure, Lilian 
Hess, Mrs. Crawford, Ella Rohr- 
er. Class of '97, Ada Allen, 
Gertrude Eshelman, Amanda 
Lutz, William Pool, Melvin 
Householder, Robert Newcom- 
er, Roy Jackson, Bessie Mar- 
shall, Minnie Longman. 

1897 '98. ^ Teachers, A. E. 
Elmore, Mary McClure, Lilian 
Hess, Mrs. Crawford, Ella Rohr- 
er. Class of '9S, Mary Naza- 
rene, Chas. Poacock, Martha 
McClure, Allie Williams, Earl 
C [evidence, Pearl Rank, Lura 
Neflf. 

1898-'99. — Teachers, S. A. 
Long, Mary McClure, Lilian 
Hess, Mrs. Crawford, Lulu Ka- 
ble. During the latter part of 
the year, at the suggestion of 
the energetic principal. Prof. 
S. A. Long, the board length- 
ened the course of study a year, 

making nearly three years of high school work. Owing to this fact there 
was no graduating class. A fine laboratory was added to the school 
during the year. Prof. Long soliciting the money for the same. 

1899-1900.— S. A. Long, Mary McClure, Lilian Hess, Mrs. Crawford, 
Lulu Kable, Ella Rohrer. Class of '00, Vernon Rees, Ray Allen, Mina 
Middour, Bessie McNett, Earl Thomas, Florine Soott. In June the 
course of study was revised according to the action of the board the 
year previous, and published in pamphlet form. 

The total enrollment of the school is nearly two hundred. Those in 
the third year high school class, who will graduate as the class of 1901, if 




PROF. S. A. LONG. 



132 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

they continue their work are Ida Nazarene, Harry Rowe, Jesse Allen, 
and Jelis McCoy. 

Considering the fact that Mount Morris is a college town and many 
pupils of the public school stop attending before graduation to enroll at 
the college, the pviblic school course is an exceptionally good one. Fol- 
lowing is the course of study for the three high school years: 

FIKST YEAK. 
Fall Term . Winter Term Spring Term 

Arithmetic Arithmetic Algebra 

English English English 

u.s.History ] &4?''*"'"". ! ! ;; ! ! ! ; ! !: ! ! :! i! Civics 

Physiology Physiology Physiology 

Orthography Orthography Orthography 

Penmanship Penmanship Penmanship 

Drawing Drawing Drawing 

Music Music Music 



SECOND YEAH. 

Algebra Algebra Algebra 

English English Bookkeeping 

Latin Latin Latin 

Physical Geography Physical Geography Botany 

Drawing Drawing Drawing 

Music Music Music 



THIBD YEAR. 

Geometry Geometry Geometry 

General History General History General History. 

Latin Latin Latin 

Physics Physics Physics 

Drawing Drawing Reviews 

Music Music Reviews 



At the present time the school is in its most flourishing condition. 
The corps of teachers consists of Prof. George A. Jacobs, principal: Miss 
Delia lone Billig, assistant principal: Miss Lilian Hess, Grammar depart- 
ment: Mrs. Crawford, Intermediate; Lulu Kable, Second Primary; Miss 
Jennie Harley, First Primary. A fine half-tone engraving of the foregoing 
instructors appears on the opposite page. Brief sketches of their educa- 
tional careers will be of interest. 

Prof. George A. Jacobs, principal of the Mount Morris public schools, was born 
June 25, 1871, at Linden, Wis., and is the son of Robert and Nancy Jacobs. He spent his 
early school days in the school of his native town. At the age of fourteen he moved 
with his parents to Livingston. Wis., where he entered the public school, graduating 
in 1888. After this he entered the Northern Indiana Normal School, from which insti- 
tution he graduated in 1897, having spent .several intervening years teaching country 
schools. At graduation, as a result of four solid years of study. Mr. Jacobs received 
diplomas from four different courses; viz.. the Normal, Business, Phonographic, and 
Scientific. He also received the degree of Bachelor of Science. In the fall of 1897 he 
was elected to the prineipalship of the Carbon Hill (Illinois) school and filled the posi- 
tion with satisfaction to all concerned for three years, until he was selected, during the 
summer of 1900. as principal of the Mount Morris public schools. Prof. Jacobs was 
married August 17, 1899, to Miss H. Elizabeth Livingston, of Livingston, Wisconsin. 



THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 135 

Miss D. Ione Billig, assistant principah is a native of Lincoln township, being 
the daiig-hter of Samuel and Emma Billig. After gaining a primary education in the 
country school near her home, she entered a private school, taught by Mrs. Dr. Wins- 
ton, in Forreston. and was a pujjil under that lady's instruction about three years. In 
1889, when but fifteen years of age, she entered the Wisconsin State University, at 
Madison, and enjoyed the distinction of l)eing the youngest student that ever entered 
the institution up to that time. After three years of study, she returned to her home 
and taught one year of school near Brookville. The following year she again entered 
college, this time at the Columbian School of Oratory, Chicago, graduating in 189.5. In 
the fall of 1898 she began teaching at the West Branch school, in Lincoln township, and 
held the position two years, until her election as assistant principal in the Mount 
Morris public schools, in the summer of 1900. 

Miss Lilian Hess, Grammar department, is the daughter of Willoughby and 
Alary Hess, and was born in Leaf River township. Her educational career commenced 
in the country schools near her home, and was afterward continued in a school in 
Winnebago county, where her parents moved. Later they came to Mount Morris and 
Miss Hess became a student in the public schools of this place, graduating with the 
class of 1886. She then spent two years in Mount Morris College, preparing for the 
pedagogical profession. She taught her first term of school at the Stonebraker school- 
house, north of town. Four or five years were spent in teaching in country schools, 
one of which was in the Primary department of the Adeline school. In the summer of 
1896 she was elected a member of the Mount Morris public school faculty, and is now- 
serving her fifth year.— three years in the Intermediate department and, including the 
present year, two years in the Grammar department. 

Mes. Frances E. Crawford. Intermediate department, has followed the pedago- 
gical profession in Mount Morris possibly longer than than any two other teachers 
either in the public schools or college, her term of service e.xtending over more than a 
score of years. Mrs. Crawford is a native of New York, her birth-place being near 
Springville. Erie county. She secured her early education in a district school, and at 
the age of fifteen entered the Griffith Institute at Springville, spending two years of 
diligent study there. The following year she entered upon her long career of teach- 
ing, when but seventeen years of age. She taught three terms in the country near 
Springville and then came to Ogle county, Illinois, first engaging for three terms in the 
Byron school. In 1864, she came to Mount Morris and acted as principal of the village 
school seven years, serving the last four in the new building, as mentioned elsewhere 
in this chapter. Her next teaching was at Egan City, where she passed two winters, 
and later at Bailey ville. where she was engaged three years and one term, part of the 
time serving as principal of the school. Returning to Mount Morris in 1879, she was 
re-engaged in the village schools, and has held the position continuously since that 
time, a period of twenty-one years. This entire time has been spent in primary work, 
either in the First or Second Primary departments, with the exception of the past two 
years, during which time she has had charge of the Intermediate department. One of 
Mrs. Crawford's chief recommendations as an educator is her ability to keep order.— a 
quality absolutely necessary in the education of the little folks. 

Miss Lulu Kable, of the Second Primary department, is the daughter of John 
and Elizabeth Kable, of Mount Morris. She entered the public schools of this place 
when she arrived at the prescribed age. She graduated at the age of fourteen, and 
then spent a few terms in Mount Morris College. She obtained a teachers certificate 
as a result of this work, and began teaching north of the village when she was but sev- 
enteen years of age. In 1897, she again entered Mount Morris College, and graduated 
from the Teachers' course with the class of 1898. She was immediately engaged as 
First Primary teacher in the Mount Morris public schools, and the following year was 
advanced to the Second Primary room. The present year, 1900-'01, is her fifth year in 
the work of teaching. 

Miss Jennie Harley, First Primary teacher, is the daughter of Jacob K. and 
Sarah Harley, of Harleysville, Pa. Besides the public schools, she attended Brunner 
Seminary, atLansdale, Pa., one year, and the State Normal, at West Chester, one term. 



136 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Before coming: to Mount Morris, ill 1896. she had nine years of practical experience in 
teaching in Pennsylvania, four years in country schools near Harleysville and five 
years in Secondary and Primary work in the graded schools at Lansdale. Since com- 
ing- to this place she has spent a short time in the college. During the summer of 1900 
she was elected to her present position. 

Prominent among the men who, in the capacity of school director, had 
to do with the destiny of the schools and served well in the cause of edu- 
cation in Mount Morris, stands Henry J. Farwell, whose portrait appears 
on this page. Mr. Farwell served as a member of the school board more 
than a score of years,— longer than any two other members. He was presi- 
dent of the board from 1865 to 1890, a term of twenty-five years, and dur- 
ing that time exerted un- of young pine trees along 
tiring efforts for the 
school's welfare and 
advancement. He 
was instrumental 
in building the 
present stone 
edifice, an im- 
provement very 
painfully neces- 
sary at the time 
of its erection. 
It appears that 
there were a 
number of non- 
enterprising 
tax-payers in 
the district who 
opposed the plan 
and Mr. Farwell 
did all in his power 
to lessen the expense 
When the need of shade 
trees in the school yard 
was felt, he himself drove to 
Pine Creek, dug up a number 



the bluffs and transplant- 
ed them in the regular 
rows in which they 
at present appear. 
Mr. Farwell was 
president of the 
board at the 
time of his 
death in 1890. 

Previous to 
1895 there were 
elected three 
school direc- 
tors, one each 
year,with terms 
of three years, 
but in that year, 
in compliance 
with the law pro- 
viding that all dis- 
tricts with over one 
thousand inhabitants 
must have a board of edu- 
FARWELL. cation with a president and 
six members, the new arrange- 
ment was adopted, and since that time a president and two members are 
elected each year. The present board consists of R. D. McClure, presi- 
dent; A. M. Newcomer, clerk; J. L. Rice, G. W. Deppen, I. W. Marshall, 
C. E. Price and R. C. McCredie. R. D. McClure has served as president 
of the board since its organization in 1895, and was a director for about 
eight years previous. Next to H. J. Farwell, he has served the school for 
the longest period. 

Other men who were directors' for a considerable length of time are 
Oliver Swingley, H. C. Clark, Dr. Isaac Rice, H. G. Kauffman, and 
many whose names are not obtainable. 




THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 187 

The present school board is composed of men who in every way are in 
sympathy with the strong educational sentiment which prevades the com- 
munity. They have taken the opportunity to improve the standard of 
work in the school by the careful selection of teachers and do not hesi- 
tate to sanction and approve any plausible suggestion which may be made 
for improvement in any line. They meet in business session on the first 
Friday of each month. 



CHAPTER VIII. 
THE VILLAGE PRESS. 

It is generally conceded that the printing press is one of the most 
potent factors in molding the destiny of a newly-settled territory, but 
it is also a fact, however, that it is among those the least appreciated by 
the people when called upon to sustain it. The first settlers of Mount 
Morris township had no access to daily papers, and even weeklies very 
rarely found their way into their hands; for mails were irregular and in- 
frequent, the mode of transferring them being by horseback, and very 
often that means failed. The only papers taken by the people during 
the early days were possibly a few eastern journals and some religious 
papers. 

The great esteem in which all educational interests were held by the 
first settlers of Ogle county is evidenced by the fact that when the 
country was yet almost a wilderness the corner-stone of " Old Sand- 
stone," or Rock River Seminary, was laid,— on the fourth day of July, 
1839. Consequently it was thought generally in the east that among 
a people so thoroughly imbued with the importance of educational ad- 
vantages, a newspaper would find a ready support, but this estimate, as 
the sequel will show, proved a serious mistake to the projectors of the 
first newspaper venture in Mount Morris. The principals in this enter- 
prise were Jonathan and Emanuel Knodle, of Washington county, Md., 
the former as publisher and the latter as editor of the proposed paper. 
These gentlemen purchased the press and materials with which a small 
paper entitled T/ie Casket was printed at Boonsboro, Md., and on the 
sixteenth day of July, 1841, the former accompanied by his family and 
with their household goods, including the said printing outfit, they set 
out in wagons for Mount Morris. When they arrived at Wheeling, W. Va., 
finding their loads too heavy to be drawn by the teams, the press and 
printing materials were shipped from there by boat around to Savanna, 
Illinois. 

In a letter dated Peoria, 111., October 27, 1841, Emanuel Knodle wrote 
to his brother, Samuel, in the east: " We found it necessary to go to St. 
Louis for some type, rules, composing sticks, etc. When I left Mount 
Morris, on the twenty-fifth, we had not yet heard of our press and type, 
but think that by this time they should have come around to Savanna." 
A later letter shows that the press, etc., were received from Peru, instead 
of Savanna. The water being low in the Mississippi the boats could not 
ascend as far as Savanna. December 8 the outfit was moved into a 
house built west of the Seminary property by Samuel McFarland during 
the spring previous. This house, of which a half-tone appears here- 

' (i:»i 



THE VILLAGE PRESS, 



139 



with, stood until the present year, 1900, when it was partly torn down, 
and the remainder moved to the south part of town where it is now be- 
ing used as a barn by William Domer. Further is said concerning it in 
the previous chapter upon the public schools. The shed-like addition on 
the right hand is the part in which the printing-ofBce was established. 

During the remainder of the month of December, Messrs. Emanuel 
and Jonathan Knodle, and also Peter, Jacob and Joseph Knodle, and 
Joseph Hooper, were hard at work to " bring order out of chaos," which 
was the condition in which the material was found after its long and 




THE FIRST PRINTING-OFFICE IN OGLE COUNTY. 

A building which played many parts in the history of Mount Morris. 



perilous journey by land and water. Composition rollers had to be 
made and a hundred and one other articles supplied, which in so new 
a country were beset with almost insurmountable difficulties, the 
crowning trouble of all being that the bed of the press was broken when 
the attempt was made to put it in place. This press was known as the 
"Ramage" and was nearly the exact style of that used by Ben j. Frank- 
lin, which now stands in the National Gallery at Washington. 

All obstacles in the way of this pioneer newspaper enterprise were at 
last overcome, however, and on the first of January, 1842, the first num- 



140 BIOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

ber of the Rock River Register was issued from the old house and dis- 
tributed to its patrons, thus going on record as the first newspaper pub- 
lished in Ogle county. It was a small flve-column sheet, printed one page 
at a time, on a very inferior quality of paper. Its motto, suggested by 
Rev. T. S. Hitt, was, "We hope to be recognized as fellow-laborers in 
the noble work of enlightening the human mind." The terms were " S2.50 
in advance; or S3, if not paid in advance." A number of articles from 
the Register, which give an idea of the condition of the country when the 
paper was being published, are reprinted in a preceding chapter upon the 
early history of Mount Morris. 

Mr. Emanuel Knodle, the first editor of the Register, was a very spicy 
and fluent writer. In the second number issued, he invited the patrons 
of the paper to furnish occasional " original communications " saying: 

We have among our patrons here, as we have already been informed, in the 
brief space of our residence in Og-lewcouuty. writers who are capable of Hitting off 
■ matter and things in general," in such an interesting manner as to please all man- 
ner of readers; that we may expect evidence of some very Sharp pens, and that the 
necessary A7-tz will not fail us in our efforts to treat our readers handsomely. Upon 
the whole, we Judge that we can at- Ford our readers complete satisfaction. 

Vol. I, No. 4, contained the notice of the marriage of Michael Cheshire 
to Margaret McAllister, by Rev. L. S. Walker, noted by the editor to have 
been " the first case of matrimony which ever occurred in Mount Morris." 
In the same number appear the business cards of H. A. Mix and Henry 
Roberts, attorneys-at-law at Oregon; James J. Beatty, physician and sur- 
geon, Mount Morris; and an administrator's notice in the matter of the 
estate of William Driscoll. The paper dated Feb. 26, 1842, mentioned 
the severe illness of the editor, Emanuel Knodle, and No. 12, issued in 
April, announced his death. He is said to have been a young man of 
extraordinary ability and had he lived would have had a brilliant future 
without doubt. He was the oldest brother of Mr. Samuel Knodle, for 
many years a resident of Mount Morris. The paper which announced 
Mr. Knodle's death bore the names of Knodle and Stephens, publishers, 
D. C Duncan being engaged as editor. In September the paper was re- 
moved to Grand Detour, on account of the poor mail service at Mount 
Morris. It eventually ceased publication after a career of less than two 
years and was entirely lost sight of. 

Seven years passed after the failure of the Register before any par- 
ties found sufficient courage to try another newspaper enterprise, but in 
February, 1850, Mr. J. Frederick Grosh and Mr. Tomliuson Ankney pur- 
chased the material with which the Rockford Free Press had been print- 
ed, removed it to Mount Morris, and in March the first number of the 
Mount Morris Gazette was issued, published by J. F. Grosh and edited 
by Prof. D. J. Pinckney. Concerning this paper Ketfs History of Ogle 
County says: "It was a seven-column folio sheet, tolerably well printed 
and ably edited. It was professedly neutral in politics, but the editor 
was very independent in the expression of his opinions, and sometimes 
the paper inclined somewhat strongly to the party with which he affiliated. 



THE VILLAGE PRESS. 141 

The printing of the first number of the Gazette was a notable event in 
the history of both tow^n and county, and occasioned as much excite- 
ment as did the completion of the railroad to the same place tvi^enty years 
later. The Gazette, hovi^ever, was not a success financially and the pub- 
lishers, after a year's experience, discovered that its publication was a 
losing business, and in the spring of 1851 disposed of the material to R. 
C. Burchell, of Oregon, who removed it to that place and established the 
Ogle County Gazette, afterward the Reporter, which still exists. The 
sale of the material, however, does not appear to have stopped the 
Mount Morris Gazette. No. 3 of the second volume, dated May 29, 1851, 
bears the name of Brayton, Baker & Co., publishers, and Prof. Pinckney, 
editor. It says that there were no press, type or printers in Mount Mor- 
ris at that time, and although the paper was published there, it was 
printed elsewhere, probably by Mr. Burchell at Oregon. But this manr 
ner of publishing a newspaper did not suit the enterprising citizens of 
Mount Morris who organized a joint stock company, purchased a new 
outfit, and No. 3, dated June 26, was beautifully printed in new type, and 
was one of the handsomest papers ever printed in the county. It was 
under the editorial charge of Professors D. J. Pinckney and S. M. Fellows, 
and it is needless to add was conducted with signal ability. The paper 
was not self-sustaining, however, and after a year's experience the com- 
pany rented the office to Messrs. C. C. Allen and S. D. Atkins, then at- 
tending school at Rock River Seminary. These gentlemen, by devoting 
a part of their time to the office and the remainder to their studies, were 
enabled to prolong its existence until the spring of 1853, when the office 
was sold to them and removed to Savanna, 111. 

Three years later, in 1856, Messrs. Atwood and Metcalf started a 
paper called the Northwestern Republican. Samuel Knodle managed its 
publication for over a year when it was sold to Col. M. S. Barnes, who 
had been running a daily in Chicago. He changed the name of the pa- 
per to Independent Watchman. After a year under his management it 
was purchased by a company of town merchants and put under the edi- 
torial management of Prof. W. S. Pope, Dr. F. A. McNeill and J. D. Dopf , 
with Mr. Dopf publisher. Its publication continued until the winter of 
1860-'61 when Mr. Dopf removed the material to Polo where it developed 
into the Ogle County Press, still being published. 

After this Mount Morris was without a newspaper for fifteen years, 
the utter failure of all the early enterprises having evidently frightened 
every one from again making the attempt. Ten years later, however, a 
job printing-office was established by Samuel Knodle with a small hand- 
press and an assortment of job type. Mr. Knodle's job office became fa- 
mous all over the county and the amount of printing which he did was 
remarkable. The press used by him is preserved in the Mount Morris 
Index office and compared with the present improved printing machinery 
is quite a relic. 

In 1876, Mr. Knodle was instrumental in forming an incorporated 
stock company, he himself owning half the stock, and the Mount Morris 



142 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Independent was started, with Prof. D. J. Piuckney as editor. Misman- 
agement by the board of directors again made this enterprise a failure, 
and it was sold in May, 1877, to John Sharer and changed to the Ogle 
County Democrat, with Mr. Sharer as editor and Dr. B. G. Stephens, 
associate editor. It was successfully conducted under this caption for 
nearly nine years, when it was moved to Oregon and changed to the 
Independent-Democrat, which in the fall of 1900 was incorporated with 
the Ogle County Constitution, of that place. However, the presses, type 
and entire printing outfit was brought back to Mount Morris by Mr. 
Sharer, and in July, 1890, was sold to Charles T. Coggius, who established 
the Mount Morris Index. For six or seven years Mr. Coggins conducted 
the paper with much success but finally began to neglect the business, 
and in 1897 unceremoniously left town. His wife, Mrs. Carrie H. Coggius, 
edited the paper for a time and later took as a partner Mr. Harry C. 
Walrath. In September, 1898, the plant came under the management 
of H. J. and H. G. Kable, who, after two years in the business, have 
brought the paper up to its most flourishing state of prosperity. Very 
little of the Index equipment as turned over by Coggins & Walrath 
yet remains. The old worn-out presses were discarded and new im- 
proved machinery put in their places, with a new gasoline engine to fur- 
nish the power. The large cylinder press added in the fall of 1899 prints 
four pages of the Index at one impression at the rate of 1,500 per hour. 
The old " Guernsey," which it succeeded was purchased at the time of 
the establishment of the Mount Morris Independent, in 1876, and was 
used nearly twenty-five years in printing the weekly issues of the Dem- 
ocrat and the Index. It was operated by a crank which was attached to a 
very large fly-wheel, and the whole proved no very easy task to operate. 
Persons who helped to turn it in years past are often met with, the num- 
ber of them having been thus engaged being extremely large, from the 
fact that not many cared for the job more than the first trial. Robert 
Long, now a prize fighter, was a frequent operator of the old press, and 
can probably attribute a part of his muscle to that vigorous exercise. 
Besides excellent presses the Index office is equipped with an improved 
stapler, a large paper-cutter and new book type. Since September, 1899, 
the plant has occupied spacious quarters in the building formerly occu- 
pied by the Brethren Publishing House on the northeast corner of the col- 
lege campus. 

May 20, 1896, Mount Morris acquired a second newspaper, — the Mount 
Morris News, edited and published by Charles H. Canode, with M. Eliza 
Canode as associate editor. In October, 1900, Mr. Canode sold out to A. 
H. Rittenhouse & Co., who now conduct the business. The plant is 
situated upstairs over the rear of the grocery store of the Newcomer 
Company. 

Besides newspapers, Mount Morris has had a number of religious and 
educational journals. During the gap of fifteen years, 1861 to 1876, be- 
tween the publication of the Independent Watchman and Mount Morris 
Independent, The Annual, a Sunday-school paper, was published for 



THE VILLAGE PRESS. 143 

several years, commencing about 1862, with Col. B. F. Sheets and later 
Rev. J. H. Vincent as editors; and also about that time a paper was issued 
under the auspices of the literary societies of Rock River Seminary, de- 
voted exclusively to matter pertaining to that institution. At present, 
Mount Morris College issues a paper regularly, known as Our Young 
People, which sometimes, as in the case of July of 1900, reaches a circula- 
tion as high as ten thousand. 

In the year 1880, M. M. Eshelman moved a private printing outfit to 
this place from Lanark, where he had been publishing a Danker paper 
known as the Brethren at Work. He continued the same here with a cir- 
culation of about four thousand, occupying, at that time, quarters in 
the Seibert block. In 1881, Mr. Eshelman failed and the business was 
purchased by Elders D. L. Miller and Joseph Amick. In 1884 these gen- 
tlemen consolidated with their plant that of the Primitive Christian, of 
Huntingdon, Pa., and changed the name to the Gospel Messenger. From 
that time until 1896 the company began the publication of a large number 
of church papers, books and tracts, and built up a very profitable busi- 
ness. In 1896 the entire publishing business was turned over to the 
Brethren church, and is now the property of that highly-respected Chris- 
tian organization. In September, 1899, the plant was moved to the city 
of Elgin, at which time the circulation of the Messenger reached nearly 
twenty thousand and the volume of a year's business amounted to over 
$125,000. Among those prominently connected with the house in late 
years are Eld. J. H. Moore, H. B. Brumbaugh, Eld. D. L. Miller and 
Grant Mahan, editors; Eld. Joseph Amick, business manager; L. A. Plate, 
foreman of the composing room; and S. M. Eshelman, foreman of the 
mailing department. 



CHAPTER IX. 

MUSICAL ORGANIZATIONS AND FAMILIES. 

A history of Mount Morris would not be complete without some men- 
tion of the many musical organizations which the village has produced, 
and of the musical talent of both the past and present. At an early 
day Mount Morris was seldom behind in anything, and many of the or- 
ganizations and enterprises now common throughout the country, were 
first produced in this enterprising little village. It lays claim to the 
first printing-office, one of the first schoolhouses, and the first of a num- 
ber of other pioneer ventures; and there is also strong evidence that the 
first brass band in the county also found birth in Mount Morris. The 
band, in question, was organized in the spring of 1845, only six years 
after the founding of the village. Mrs. Mary Knodle has in her possession 
a number of accovint books of this old band, kept by her husband, Mr. 
Peter Knodle, deceased, which show that the members were H. J. Burns, 
Peter Knodle, John P. Grosh, Samuel Knodle, Jacob A. Knodle, Jonathan 
Knodle, Nathan Evans, A. C Marston, Simon Warner, A. Coffman, Rob- 
ert S. Hitt, Chauncey Sheldon, Andrew Hitt, Frederick Pinkbohnar, 
Christian Pinkbohnar, Frederick B. Brayton, Henry Neft", William Lott, 
William J. Pouke, P. Hedrick and B. G. Stephens. These were not all 
members at its first organization, but some came in later to supply the 
places occasionally made vacant by the dropping out of older players. 
The account kept of the finances of the band is quite interesting. A 
few of the entries are as follows; 

.Tuly 1. 1845, Pnid l>.v the members for instruments $129.00 

.Inly 1. Paid Ijy citizens, 21.00 

•Tuly 12. Paid for the instruments, '. $150.00 

.July 12, Members taxed .50 cents per piece, 7.50 

-Inly 12. Peter Knodle, fined for lending: drum, 1.00 

.July 24. F. B. Brayton, fined for not voting- 05 

.Iiily 24. Each member taxed 25 cents 5. .50 

.July 24. Paid to Peter Knodle for motithpiece .37 

August 4. Freight and storage, 6.75 

August 4. One pound of candles, .15 

August U Paid Jacob Knodle for table, 4.00 

.August 4. Postage on three letters, .:?9 

Entries for candles occur frequently, showing that the band spent 
much time in practice. John P. Grosh assumed the leadership shortly 
after organization, and many entries show the payment of considerable 
sums into the treasury for tuition, the some then being tiirned over to 
him. Evidently the band had excellent discipline, from the number of 

(144) 



MUSICAL ORGANIZATIONS AND FAMILIES. Ii5 

flues recorded to have been imposed for " contempt to society," for not 
voting, for neglect of duty, for absence, for breaking instruments, etc. 

This band appears to have existed until sometime in the early fifties, 
and, owing to the scarcity of such organizations in northern Illinois at 
that time, traveled among the surrounding towns quite extensively. A 
number of their old instruments can yet be found about town. Jacob 
A. Knodle still posesses the E6 clarinet which he played, and Mrs. Mary 
Knodle has an old Bb clarinet and the old bass drum, the latter having 
been played by Peter Knodle. Emery Neft", of Leaf River, also pos- 
sesses the old flute played in this band by his father, Henry Neff. 
These old instruments are curiosities from the fact that they are much 
different from the modern instruments bearing the same name. The bass 
drum is one of the most curious, being double the width of the modern 
pattern. 

Before proceeding fui'ther, it will be well to mention two musical 
families who have lived in Mount Morris and were intimately connected 
for many years with all matters concerning the melodious art. Henry 
A. Neft" has already been mentioned as a member of the first band in 
Mount Morris. His wife also possessed musical talent and their ear for 
the art was transmitted undiminished to their four sons, Milton, Clark, 
Addison W. and Emery I., and two daughters, Lura, (Mr. A. S. McCoy's 
first wife) and Nettie (Mrs. G. W. Deppen). Milton was the musical 
genius of the family, having been probably the best all-around cornet 
player the town has ever produced. When leader of the band, he con- 
tributed much to its success by his elegant execution of brilliant 
triple-tongue cornet solos. Clark Neft', for many years also leader of the 
band, was also a fine cornetist, and figured conspicuously in musical 
circles. Milton died at Mount Morris, in 1878, and Clark, in Mount Mor- 
ris, in 1892. A number of the older members of the family also devel- 
oped their God-given talent. 

The other family in question is the McCosh family, consisting of Dr. 
and Mrs. John McCosh and their five sons. Prof. David S., James, Dr. 
George B., Scott, and Benjamin; and three daughters, Sarah, Susie and 
Lucia, the two former now being Mrs. Jacob Strock and Mrs. Charles 
Sharer. Prof. D. S. McCosh has in the past and is still making music 
his profession, and has written hundreds of fine selections for band and 
orchestra and led many large bands. He plays a variety of instruments 
and when younger was a fine cornetist. In fact he is the musical genius 
of the family. "Hear Dem Bells," a vocal selection composed by him 
reached the circulation of many hundred thousand copies. His musical 
publications have altogether been very successful on the market. Dr. 
G. B. McCosh attained much proficiency as a tuba player in some of the 
old bands, and he also plays a number of other instruments. He has 
composed some music, showing that he possesses much ability yet un- 
developed. Benjamin is also a music publisher and band leader liv- 
ing at St. Charles. These three and also Scott, who is dead, and James, 
now living in Tennessee, all were thorough musicians and played for 



146 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

years in the old bands of Mt. Morris. Later mention is made of the 
three sisters of the family. It is a peculiar fact that every member of 
the family should have been so well endowed with the genius of a musi- 
cal ear. The children of a number of them are, with few exceptions, also 
born musicians. 

To get back to the subject of bands, the first old band was disorgan- 
ized in about the early fifties, and from that time until after the Civil 
War, remained so. About the year 1867 a new band was organized with 
Morris Gaffin as leader. Some of the early members were Clark and 
Milton Neff, David aud James McCosh, William Bull, Calvin Potter, Dav- 
id Rine, John Nye, Frank Knodle, Lee Crofts, George Keplinger, Jacob 
Pager and Charles Knodle. The band continued in organization for 
probably not less than twenty years, with, however, a continual change 
of membership owing to the coming and going of musical talent. Prob- 
ably the best period in its existence was during the time when Milton 
Neft" was leader. At that time some of the members were Clark 
and Emory Neft", George and Benj. McCosh, Charles and P. P. Knodle, 
Charles Sharer, Ed. Allen and James Webb. They played in a number 
of contests and had many engagements at fairs at Oregon, Rochelle and 
Mount Carroll, and for numerous other events. They became quite noted. 

Por a score of years past there have been a large number of bands, 
but generally they have been short lived, probably from a lack of suffi- 
cient financial support. In 1890 a " kid band " was organized, which, like 
the others, was of brief existence. During the winter of 1896-'97 another 
band of boys was organized and by diligent practice every week they 
have attained to a degree of efficiency equalled by very few of the old 
bands. The organization is known as the Mount Morris Military Band. 
A portrait of the band with its membership during the summer season of 
1900 appears on the opposite page. A fine new band-stand was erected 
in 1898 upon the southeast coi-ner of the campus. In this stand Saturday- 
night concerts are given during the summer, large crowds gathering 
from the surrounding country to hear the enlivening music. The band 
is finely uniformed and furnished with good instruments. Engagements 
have been filled at the Rock River Assembly, at Preeport, Rochelle, 
Lanark, Oregon, Polo, Forreston, and other places. The band was first 
organized under the leadership of Charles H. Canode, who was succeeded 
by William Lohafer, Jr., and later by Prof. David S. McCosh, who acted as 
instructor until his departure from Mount Morris in the spring of 1900, 
when Burton Strock took charge and is the present leader. Among the 
members connected with this band since its organization are the follow- 
ing, some of whom are not now members: Prof. D. S. McCosh and two 
sons, Leighton aud Dudley; William Lohafer, Charles Canode, Burton 
Strock, Roy Brayton, Roy Jackson. Blair McCosh, Harvey Kable, Harry 
Kable, Robert Buser, Leslie Rees, Vernon Rees, Earl Clevidence, Ernest 
Brayton, William Pouke, Oscar Olson, Merritt Miller, Merritt Deppen, 
Edward Marvin, Pred Stoner, and Clayton Gloss. Elmer Shank is the 
band's drum major. 




5 >. « 
^ o ^ 

?«« 5 
E2 § 

- Ph -; 

w .y, :::J 
I ^ 

M CO 

- S- Q^ 
>> '-^^ h. 

K oi ^ o 

KK * 

- - fa 

00 a: 



W^o 






MUSICAL ORGANIZATIONS AND FAMILIES. 



Ii9 



In the way of orchestras, Mount Morris has had a great many, and 
any detailed account of them would be impossible. There were many 
very excellent ones, notable among which was Thompson's orchestra, of 
a half-score years ago. A photograph of this organization is reproduced 
on this page. Some of the best violin players of the present time are 
Gregor Thompson, Blair McCosh and P. F. Knodle. 

In the past there have been a number of good pianists, several of 
whom gave instruction upon that instrument. Among them will be re- 
membered Alice Lott, Florence Bray ton, (now Mrs. Gilbert of Iowa), Jose- 
phine Cheney and a Mr. Armsby. Miss Lucia McCosh is probably the 




E. E. Winders Henry Magoon John Thomas Oscfvr Dowurd 
Charles Ford Thos. Newcomer Gregor Thompson Levi Bear Irviu Thoma: 

THOMPSON'S ORCHESTRA. NOW DISORGANIZED. 



most accomplished pianist in Mount Morris at present, having devoted 
a great deal of time in training and practicing upon this instrument. 
She graduated with special honor from the Chicago Musical College in 
1900. She does some composing and has charge of the musical depart- 
ment of Mount Morris College. Mr. U. C. Nye and Miss Olive Lipe are 
also graduate pianists, the former of the Chicago Musical College and 
the latter of the musical department of the Wisconsin State University, 
at Madison. Mrs. J. L. Rice received a year's training in Boston, and 
Miss Pearl Williams, a year in the Chicago Musical College. These five 
rank high in technical execution and are regarded as skilled musicians. 
Other musically-talented people in the community who have devoted 



150 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

considerable time to the piano are Mrs. F. C. Remmer, Roy Brayton, and 
the Misses Susie Zumdahl, Myrtle Royer, Estella Pry, Olive Stahlhut, 
Gladys McCosh and Lura Neft". 

Among vocalists who claim Mount Morris as their place of nativity, 
probably the most conspicuous have been Miss Catherine McNeill, 
daughter of Dr. Francis A. and Mrs. Barbara McNeill, who was married 
to Dr. Hoffman at Honolulu, Hawaiian Islands, in 1899, and Miss Susie 
McCosh, now Mrs. Chas. Sharer, of Mount Morris. These ladies sang to- 
gether on many occasions, at one time taking a gold medal for the best 
duet at a musical convention held at Cedar Lake, Iowa. Miss McNeill's 
beautiful contralto voice was developed in the best schools at Boston 
and Paris, after which she traveled extensively with the best opera com- 
panies of the country. Mrs. Sharer possesses a very fine soprano voice 
and became very well known as a soloist, as much so in this vicinity as 
Miss McNeill. Many favorable newspaper comments were made con- 
cerning her singing. After one appearance in Mount Morris the Demo- 
<^rat said: " There are but few ladies outside of the role of professionals 
so able to captivate an audience. ... It is proper to say—attribute 
it to whatever cause — that there never sang a lady to our people who was 
so popular as Miss Susie McCosh." Miss Maria Hitt, now Mrs. Chas. 
Newcomer, was also a well-known vocalist, having had an excellent mu- 
sical training at Washington, D. C, and having been instructor in music 
in Rock River Seminary. J. M. Piper was a singer of note, having led 
the Methodist choir for years. Chas. H. Sharer was also a member of 
the M. E. choir, having an exceptionally fine tenor voice. He also played 
baritone in the band. A quartette, consisting of Susie McCosh, soprano; 
Sarah McCosh, alto; Charles H. Sharer, tenor; and Geo. B. McCosh, bass, 
was a very popular organization a few years ago, and did much singing 
in public. Other old singers were Misses Minnie E, Little and Lillie 
Knodle, sopranos; and William Little, bass, who were always called upon 
when any public entertainments were given in which local singers were 
needed. At the present time Mount Morris possesses a strong force of 
good singers, a number of them being included in the church choirs. 
Among those not already mentioned who have had considerable vocal 
training are U. C. Nye, Mrs. B. T. Ryder, Mrs. G. W. Deppen, Misses Eliza 
Canode, Myrtle Royer, Olive Lipe, Lura Neff, Minerva Eversole, Dr. J. 
B. Moats, and others. 

In 1900 the Harmonia Male Quartette, consisting of Walter Wolfe 
first tenor; U. C. Nye, second tenor; F. C. Remmer, first bass; C. H. Can- 
ode, second bass, was formed and was in demand upon special occasions. 

Mention has already been made of a number of musical families. 
This faculty is also quite noticeable among the Knodles, as will be no- 
ticed by the frequent occurrence of that name in connection with some 
of the bands mentioned. F. F. Knodle is still a resident of Mount Mor- 
ris, devoting his entire time to composing orchestra music and giving 
lessons on the violin. The family of William Lohafer, Sr., is also 
musically inclined. Henry and William Lohafer, Jr., are old band boys, 



MUSICAL ORGANIZATIONS AND FAMILIES. 



151 



the former playing tuba, and the latter, cornet. William is a triple- 
tongue cornet soloist of much ability, being the best in this part of the 
country. Misses Rosa, Nettie and Pearl are good vocalists. The three 
sons of A. W. Brayton are all connected with musical organizations, the 
eldest, Louis, being leader and first mandolin player of the State Uni- 
versity mandolin club. 

Besides local musical talent there is always a considerable number 
of students at Mount Morris College who possess ability in that line, 
there being ample provision for the study of both vocal and instrumental 
music in that institution. 




BAND STAND. 

Southeast comer of college campus. 



CHAPTER X. 
LOCAL CALAMITIES. 

It is probably a fact that no village or township or municipal corpor- 
ation over the broad states of the entire Union has escaped with a local 
history void of calamity by storm, fire or pestilential disease with result- 
ant losses of valuable property and possibly life, in greater or less degree; 
and so it is with Mount Morris, with which this book is concerned, although 
it must be said that the number of calamities has been probably below the 
average, especially in the way of fires and contagious diseases. 

In the history of Mount Morris is recorded the occurrence of two torna- 
does, one passing directly over the village on the morning of June 8, 1874, 
and the other devastating a path of destruction across the southeast cor- 
ner of the township on the evening of May 18, 1898. The first passed as 
nearly through the exact center of the village as would be possible from 
the fact that the college campus lay immediately in its path, the roof 
of the large stone dormitory being partly carried away. Concerning this 
tornado the following newspaper writeup was sent to the Ogle County 
Grange for publication by some resident of Mount Morris, and appeared 
in that paper. It gives a good idea of the storm: 

•"About five o'clock tliis morning two great black clouds, one from the east and 
one from the west, were seen approaching. Over the northwest portion of Mount Mor- 
ris they met and spread devastation far and wide. For a1>out ten minutes there was a 
terrible roaring of wind and crashing of trees and houses. Then followed the calm. 
Citizens hurried together from all quarters. S. Munima's stables were completely 
wrecked. The pieces were scattered in every direction, some even passing through 
the siding and plastering of the houses of adjoining residents. The horses and a yard 
full of stock escaped unhurt. The harnesses were carried across the garden and 
rolled in the mud. One new buggy was torn in ijieces and much fruit destroyed. Sid- 
ney Redfield's house was staved in and carried clear otf its foundation. His wife was 
severely injured but the baby was dragged unhurt from under a pile of debris. Peter 
Glasgow's house was completely riddled by flying fence-boards and other missies; 
stove broken into bits, barn destroyed, the garden deprived of its fence, and many 
fruit trees blown down. Mr. James Withers lost one entire part of his hoiise. Close 
by was the residence of Widow Weakle. the windows of which were broken, sash and 
glass. The raging storm next seized the residence of Elder Walker, mtw oceuijied by 
F. Black, and tore up his trees, demolished the l)arn and out-houses: ripped up the 
fence and sidewalk, sending one large timl)er through a window across a bed contain- 
ing two men. and smashed into the partition on the other side. The occupants were 
some injured by the flying glass. One rocking-chair took a flying leap into the Sem- 
inary yard. Mrs. M. A. McKean lost half the roof of her house. The adjoining resi- 
dence of Mrs. E. Crofts received but little damage. l)ut the fruit trees were laid in all 
directions. Two large cherry trees standing close to the house were completely twist- 
ed off. Thence the storm s\\ept over the Seminary tearing otf the west half of the 
roof and scattering the debris over the principal street. It injured Seibert some, 
smashing in half the front of his billiard hall. The east end of D. Rine's agricultural 

(l.-)2) 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 153 

house was lifted and moved around upon the foundation of Sprecher & Clevidence's 
new storehouse. In the southeast part of town the gable end of the brick residence of 
Widow McCoy was tumbled in upon nice furniture and fine carpets. The barn and 
out-buildings were severely racked. Both gable ends of the brick residence of E. 
Lott were thrown in upon the nicely-furnished rooms. One hundred apple trees and a 
barn were destroyed for A. Cunningham. The town residence of A. Q. Allen lost part 
of its roofing. The barn and fence of George Fouke were blown down. Such was the 
destruction wrought here in so short a time that no one had time to become fright- 
ened or be aware of the extent of the danger before it was all over. Then they found 
this part of the town to have been subjected to a terrible calamity. No lives were lost 
and none seriously hurt.'' 

The tornado of 1874 was a wonderful exhibition of the marvelous 
power which the winds are able to exercise, but compared with that ter- 
rible devastating cloud which hewed a path of destruction across Ogle 
county in 1898, was but a breeze, a gentle zephyr toying with the foliage 
of a forest. All have yet a vivid remembrance of that 18th day of May. 
Those who had an opportunity of viewing the huge, black, revolving cloud 
and heard its sullen roar as it licked up every available object and 
whirled it into the terrible vortex above, grinding and mincing and scat- 
tering to the four winds, will never forget it. 

Diu-ing the afternoon of the day of the storm the appearance and 
maneuvers of the clouds were remarkable. At times far overhead could 
be seen light clouds floating lazily in one direction, while much farther 
beneath were blacker, heavier clouds moving in exactly the opposite 
direction, showing that there were two distinct layers of air. Fitful gusts 
of wind and short showers of rain and hail were frequent during the 
afternoon, but toward five o'clock the air became still and calm, and re- 
mained so for about an hour. The clouds were of inky blackness, some- 
times of slightly different hues, and presented a most ominous appear- 
ance. Not a leaf was astir; the atmosphere became oppressive and 
breathing difficult. Between five and six o'clock persons out of doors 
detected a dull rumble coming from the southwest which at first was 
supposed to have been thunder, bu.t the persistency of the sound and its 
gradual increase in volume soon attracted attention, and persons in the 
country and the south and west parts of town were appalled by the ap- 
pearance and rapid approach of one of those funnel-shaped clouds, the 
identity of which was not long in doubt in the mind of anyone. The 
cloud continued to approach in a path apparently headed fol- Mount 
Morris, but when within about three miles from town could be seen to 
shift more to the southward, which was afterward proved by an examina- 
tion of its path. This change of course carried the cloud about a mile 
south of town and it very soon receded in the distance, disappearing from 
view beyond Rock river. 

Although this storm passed over only a small corner of Mount Morris 
township, it will probably not be out of place to trace its terrible work 
through a part of Buffalo, Pine Creek and Rockvale townships, consider- 
ing the fact that it came so near the village, and traversed a territory so 
familiar to Mount Morris people. 

After leaving the vicinity of Polo the cloud encountered the G. E. 



4 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Fahrney premises, about three miles west of Stratford, and demolished 
the residence, barn, and all the outbuildings, his farm machinery being 
destroyed and considerable stock killed and injured. The family escaped 
death in the cellar. The barn of the farm of Mr. Pahrney's mother, a little 
farther east, was in the track of the tornado, and was demolished. One 
mile east of Mr. Pahrney's premises the lawn trees at the residence of 
George Garnhart were uprooted, but the house and barn escaped with 
but slight damage. At this place a wing of the cloud swung to the south- 
ward and swept a path through about one-half mile north of Stratford, 
demolishing the barn on the Charles Hayes farm. The main body of 




SNAP-SHOT OF THE TERRIBLE CLOUD. 

Photogrraphed by Prof. W. L. Eikenberry. 

the cloud crossed the farm of William Coffman, one mile northwest of 
Stratford and almost completely obliterated the fine residence and farm 
buildings, which covered nearly an acre of ground. The next day the 
place presented a desolate appearance, and was viewed by hundreds of 
people. Men were gathering up wounded pigs, calves, etc., in the barn- 
yard, and eighty rods northeast of the house five horses were being buried 
that had been carried away with the barn. The inmates of the house 
had a narrow escape. They all went to the cellar except the hired man 
who had gone up stairs for his pocketbook, which was in his Sunday 
pants. While he was on the second floor the building was carried away 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 157 

aud he was dashed to the ground with the falling timbers, receiving 
only a few scratches. He crawled out of the wreck and spied his pants 
hanging on a tree near by with the money safe. The family had taken 
refuge in the northwest corner of the cellai', where nothing injured them. 
A pitch-fork and set of harness were dropped just in front of them but 
no heavy timbers fell near them. Had they taken refuge in any other 
part of the cellar the result might have been otherwise, as it was filled 
with the collapsed walls, and no one could have escaped. 

Prom the Coffman farm the whirling monster passed north of George 
Clevidence's residence, and sweeping through his pasture field, killed a 
number of cattle and horses. It next encountered the tenement property 
of Charles Weller, which was occupied by Samuel Lawrence. The house 
was carried but a short distance from the foundation and demolished. 
The steel roof with the gable ends still in place was left lying near, as is 
seen in the halftone on the preceding page. Here the safe part of the 
cellar was the southeast corner, where the family had fortunately taken 
shelter. The remainder of the cellar was filled with timbers, stones and 
bricks: and a pig sty, which had occupied a position about fifty feet to 
the southeast, was picked up and dropped in upon the mass of rubbish. 
The corner sought by the family came also near proving a death trap, 
a large cook-stove having landed upon the wall just over their heads. 
Had it been moved but a few feet farther they would have been crushed. 

The next residence was that of Joseph Artz. A large barn, 2ix6i feet 
was swept away, very little of it being left to mark the spot. The roof 
was taken oft" of the west side of the house and several corn cribs dam- 
aged. A new granary which stood about twenty rods west of the resi- 
dence was demolished, and a new buggy and considerable farm machinery 
destroyed. Mr. Artz had a fine lawn set with immense shade trees in 
which he had taken much pride. After the passage of the storm these 
large trees were found either uprooted or broken oft' and the beauty of 
the place sadly ruined. The roadway was completely blocked by the 
trunks of some of the trees carried from this yard. 

One of the most peculiar sights along this route was the manner in 
which the buildings upon the farm of William Ambrose were handled. 
The residence is built of brick and stands on the brow of a hill about 
ten rods back from the road. The entire wall on the south side of this 
brick structure was drawn out, leaving the floors and rooms on that side 
exposed. All of the furniture was carried from one of the rooms on the 
second floor while another retained only the bedstead and springs, ready 
to receive again the bedding if it ever should be found. The large bank 
barn was entirely carried away except the lower floor and wall and ma- 
chinery which was dropped on the south side and badly damaged. A 
new wagon was dashed into the hollow near the barn, one of the wheels 
of which had the tires with all the felloes in place torn from the spokes 
almost as smooth as a wagon-maker could have cut them. Leaving this 
scene of destruction the cloud passed near the farm of Charles D. Weller, 
one wing demolishing sheds, tearing doors from the barn and scattering 



158 



MOUNT MORBIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



his farm machinery over the surrounding country. A hay loader in one 
of the sheds was literally torn to pieces. Mr. Weller was the only man 
in that section who had his loss covered by tornado insurance. 

The tornado crossed Pine Creek about five rods north of the Pine 
Creek bridge and entered the timber owned by William Watts and Oliver 
Coffman, doing serious damage. Trees were felled into the road from 
either side, completely blocking it, and a large amount of cord-wood 
ranked in the east part of the timber, south of the road, was scattered 
over the fields for half a mile to the eastward, as were also the rails from 
the fences along the road. Amos Baker and family fled to the fields upon 
the approach of the cloud and escaped its fury, as did also their house, al- 
though numerous trees were broken down. Across the road in the field a 




DESTRUCTION WROUGHT ON THE D. E. PRICE FARM. 



roll of fence wire weighing four hundred pounds was picked up and car- 
ried half a mile and then dropped in the outer course of the storm. A 
wing moved out south of the main body and did considerable damage on 
the Samuel Price farm. The Salem church escaped, although several rods 
of fence immediately north of the structure were demolished. 

The tornado now appeared to gather new energy and swept across the 
open field north of the residence on the farm owned by Elder D. E. Price, 
unroofing the north part of the house and completely demolishing the 
barn. A large pine tree in the yard had part of its top mowed oft" as if cut 
to order. The barn was .34 by 56 feet with a granary 26 by .34 feet. Nearly 
1000 bushels of oats and about 900 bushels of corn were stored in the barn 
and granary, but the greater part was saved, as the floors were not moved. 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 



159 



The farm was occupied by Carlton Wolfe, who was a heavy loser in the 
storm. His binder, plows, corn planter, and other machinery were broken 
beyond repair and a number of cattle, horses and hogs were badly injured. 
One horse was carried fifty rods and afterward found with a piece of tim- 
ber firmly imbedded in its back. 

The residence of Benj. Fridley, about one and one-half miles south 
of Mount Morris, was the next place directly in the path of the tornado and 
there it was that the terrified residents of the village first closely in- 
spected the awful work of the storm. The house, barn and every out- 
building were so completely swept away that nothing was left to indicate 
the former abode of the family save the cellar walls, an old battered fence 
and the mud-plastered stumps of several trees which had stood in the yard. 




WHAT WAS LEFT OF THE FRIDLEY HOUSE. 



So complete was the ruin that the mind could scarcely be forced to be- 
lieve the truth, presented before one's very eyes. Excepting a few splin- 
tered boards and planks scattered near the foundation and in the field to 
the eastward, hardly a vestage of the house and its furnishings could be 
found. It would seem that the great bulk of the material used in the con- 
struction of the buildings could have been found, at least within a radius 
of a mile, but such was not the case; it was evidently carried into the vor- 
tex of the mighty whirlwind, churned into a million atoms and strewn 
along the path of destruction for many miles. At this place occurred the 
first injury to human life along the path described. Mr. Fridley, his 
daughters, Mattie and Bessie, and sons, John and Benj., decended to the 
cellar at the approach of the cloud, but John, the eldest son, left the cellar 



160 



MOUNT 3I0RRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



to investigate and was caught by the storm on the south side of the house. 
He seized hold of a tree, and in some miraculovis manner succeeded in 
clinging to it vintil the fearful disturbance had passed, notwithstanding 
the fact that the tree was broken off not far above his head and the bark 
skinned off of the stump nearly to the ground. He was exceedingly fortu- 
nate that he escaped with his life and as it was, he had one leg broken, 
and sustained numerous severe bruises caused by being struck by flying 
missiles. The others of the family who remained in the cellar were only 
slightly injured by flying debris, Mr. Fridley being bruised the most. 
Here there were many curious sights, such as chickens with every feather 
blown off running about as if to escape the kettle, and animals with pieces 
of boards driven into them. The path of the storm both west and east of 




RUINS OF BARN ON OLD FRIDLEY PLACE. 



the Fridley place presented a most remarkable aspect, because of the 
thoroughness with which all fences and vegetation were swept away and 
the clear definition of its limits, shown by the thick slimy mud with which 
everything remaining was covered. 

The old Fridley place, along the railroad, occupied by Jacob Bonar 
next was visited by the funnel-shaped cloud, and although the house was 
unharmed the huge bank barn was left in a heap of ruins. Mrs. Bonar, 
and her brother, David Hedrick, were milking in the barn at the time, but 
both escaped without serious injury. Mr. Bonar lost much valuable farm 
machinery. At this place there were further evidences of the terrible 
force of the storm. Pine sticks, some of them not more than a quarter of 
an inch thick, were driven through inch boards in the gable of the corn 
ci'ib, and the steel wind-mill tower twisted to the ground as though it were 
but a stock of grain. 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 163 

On John Pridley's farm the barn was unroofed and the sides partly 
demolished. The shingles were blown off of a part of the house roof, but 
otherwise the house escaped unharmed. From this point the storm wid- 
ened to nearly a mile, one wing reaching as far east as Andrew Fridley's 
place, overturning out-buildings and mangling the orchard trees. At 
David Pridley's farm, the summer kitchen was carried away, a part of the 
barn unroofed and the windwill thrown over. As a result of the cloud's 
visit to the premises of Andrew Gigous the house had almost to be rebuilt 
and many demolished out-buildings replaced. A corn-planter left stand- 
ing in the field was missing after the storm and not a trace of it was ever 
found. A small amount of insurance was granted him by the Pine Creek 
company in which his property was insured. 

The farm owned by the Thomas brothers on the Mount Morris-Oregon 
road was next devastated, but the damage was slight. The main body of 
the cloud passed to the northward through the timber on the old Phelps 
farm, owned by Major Chas. Newcomer, and again at this place the spec- 
tators of the day following had occasion to open their mouths and eyes 
in wonder. Every tree was badly mutilated, the most of them, both large 
and small, being either broken off, twisted down or uprooted. Past the 
timber the small Martin home was obliterated, and that of J. Wareham 
handled almost as roughly. Farther on, a number of buildings on the 
farm of Harvey Griswold were destroyed and the cloud then passed on 
to Rock river. In passing over the high bluff on the west side, the danc- 
ing pavilion erected on the crest by a Chicago club, was rolled down the 
slope and deposited in the road beneath. Persons living near say that 
vast volumes of water were drawn up into the cloud as it passed over the 
river, and undovibtedly the stream was very much disturbed. 

After crossing the river suffice it to say that the tornado continued on 
its destructive course to Stillman Valley where much damage was done 
and a number of lives lost. 

After the cloud had passed by Mount Morris to the eastward, the 
citizens of Mount Morris, realizing from the appearance and terrible roar 
of the storm that much mischief must have been done, hastened without 
delay to the nearest part of the path which was at the former location of 
the Fridley residence. Daring the remainder of the evening and far into 
the night and during several succeeding days hundreds of people visited 
the scene, and many followed along the entire path. It was certainly a 
most remarkable exhibition of what the elements are capable of, and the 
people of Mount Morris are to be congratulated upon the freak of the 
tornado in changing its course and avoiding the limits of the village. 



Besides tornadoes, the vicinity of Mount Morris has been visited by 
a number of very severe hailstorms, which did much damage to windows 
and vegetation. Probably the most severe of these was the one which 
occurred on the evening of May 13, 1886, when the pellets of ice destroyed 
much property. The storm came from the southwest, such that all win- 



164 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

clows facing that direction were brolten and also many shutters and sashes 
broken. After the hail ceased falling and the wind subsided, the south 
side of the gentlemen's dormitory presented a sorry appearance, the 
forty-eight windows having hardly a single unbi'oken pane of glass. The 
hailstones were some of them as large as base balls, and some of very 
irregular and jagged appearance. On the day following the storm Mr. 
Michael Bohuer made a careful computation of the number of panes of 
glass broken in the village of Mount Morris alone, and gave the following 
result from an estimate made upon personal inquiry and individual in- 
vestigation: Total number of panes broken, 4,415; loss, about $1,150. Other 
losses occurring raised it to nearly $5,000, including the damage to the 
fruit crop. 

Probably the hailstorm which would rank second in point of violence 
and amount of damage done is the one which visited the town in May, 
1860, coming from the same direction as the one above mentioned. Al- 
though the hail was not so large, a general breaking of windows occurred 
throughout the town. 

On page thirty-two of this volume, in Peter Knodle's diary, is the ac- 
count of a hailstorm on Monday evening, June 27, 1842, in which five or 
six hundred panes of glass were broken in Mount Morris. 



Mount Morris can be said to have been very fortunate in the past 
in the way of fires, there having never been a conflagration in which more 
than one large building was destroyed, and but few instances where a 
single structure has been burned entirely to the ground. There have 
been but two cases of total destruction of valuable buildings by flre 
within the limits of the village, both occurring during the 90's; the first 
the destruction of R. C. McCredie's creamery in 1895, and the second 
the property of J. A. Kable in 1897. The former was started by a spark 
from the smoke-stack, alighting on the roof. The fire was discovered 
at about the middle of the forenoon, April 13, 1895, and it was not long 
until the structure was a heap of ashes. The village, at that time, had 
no flre protection except the '• bucket brigade " which was always formed 
at flres and consisted of a column of men, extending from the burning 
structure to any available pump, along which pails of water would be 
passed as fast as they could be filled by two or three men operating the 
pump handle. This method, however, failed to be of any use in this 
case owing to the headway the flames had gained when the flre was 
discovered. The estimated loss was about §3,500, which was partly cov- 
ered by insurance. Mr. McCredie immediately rebuilt the creamery. 

The immediate result of the burning of Mr. McCredie's creamery 
was the creation of a strong sentiment in favor of the establishment 
of a system of water-works for the village, to bar against further loss. 
The matter was made an issue at the following village election, and a 
majority vote cast in favor of it, after which the present system of wa- 
ter-works was put in. 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 165 

The secoud fire mentioned, tliat of tlie burning of J. A. Kable's 
property, on A Street, occurred after ttie new water system liad been 
put in, but before the water mains had been extended far enough or 
suflScient hose purchased to carry water to the scene of tlie fire. A 
neighbor who was tending a sicli son, discovered smouldering flames 
in Mr. Kable's carpet-weaving shop at two o'clock in the morning, dur- 
ing the dead of winter, and hastily gave the alarm. The fire had evi- 
dently been burning for a considerable length of time and could not 
be extinguished. The house and shop, with all the weaving apparatus, 
were burned to the ground and was a total loss, there being no insur- 
ance on either. 

In the early sixties, an old hovel standing out on the pi'airie some- 
where near the present residence of John McNett, was set on fire by 
a number of mischievous boys who wished to see a blaze. The old 
building was formerly used as a schoolhouse, but when destroyed was 
uttei-ly valueless except for firewood. 

During the seventies there were two fires in which the flames 
gained considerable headway, but were finally extinguished by the 
bucket brigade before the buildings were entirely destroyed. Mrs. Sheets' 
residence on the corner of Hitt and McKendrie Streets was so badly 
damaged that it was soon afterward torn down and a new one erected, 
which is at present occcupied by John Merriman. The other was the 
house on the corner of Fletcher and West Front Streets, owned at that 
time by Peter Glascow and later property of Daniel Beard. It was easily 
repaired, however. 

In the fall of 1885 occurred the first serious fire which threatened the 
safety of the business section of the village. It was discovered in the Sei- 
bert block at about nine o'clock in the evening, when luckily there were 
plenty of men still on the streets. The elevator shaft was in flames from 
the basement to the roof, but the strong pump just behind the building 
furnished an abundance of water to the bucket brigade, and under the di- 
rection of several cool-headed men the crowd succeeded in heading oft" the 
fiery element. To those who saw the flames leaping from windows on both 
the first and second floors, the prospects of saving any of the north busi- 
ness block seemed hopeless, and, in fact the extinguishing of the fire was 
a marvelous piece of work. Another fire in the business street was threat- 
ened one evening in the spring of 1900, by a small blaze in the Mount Mor- 
ris News office in the Mammouth block. The present efficient water sys- 
tem served to make the danger of short duration. A. R. Binkley also once 
had a threatened blaze in his store and there may have been several other 
small blazes but none of consequence. 

Among other fires which have occurred in the residence portion of 
Movrnt Morris, might be mentioned those in the residences of E. S. Young 
and A. E. Canode. Both caused considerable excitement but were prompt- 
ly extinguished by the bucket brigade. 

In the township of Mount Morris, outside of the village, there have al- 
so been fires, several of which resulted in the complete consumption of 



166 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

farm residences aud large barns. In 1883, the residence of Michael Miller, 
on his farm west of town, was destroyed aud that of Solomon Nalley, a 
new house, in the year 1878. 



CHAPTER IX. 
COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 

The history of Mount Morris might properly be divided iuto two 
epochs,— one reaching from the time of its founding in 1839 until the com- 
ing of the railroad in 1871, and the second from 1871 until the present time. 
During the period embraced in this first epoch Mount Morris was isolated 
from the world, and the restlessness of her citizens knew no bounds. 
Merchandise of all kinds had to be transported by team from Polo and 
other towns and grain was hauled long distances to market. Passengers 
and the mails were transported by the old-time stage coach or on horse- 
back. At last Mount Morris people began to be very impatient for a rail- 
road and the subject became the principal topic of discussion both in the 
home and on the groceryman's store box. Every rvimor of a possible rail- 
way project was grasped by the anxious people and every effort made to 
encourage any such enterprises. It was as early as 1853 when this " rail- 
road fever" began to take hold of the people throughout this part of the 
county, caused no doubt by the success of the Illinois Central railroad, 
built through the west part of the county in that year. Numerous lines 
were projected, and the people were called upon to aid in their construc- 
tion by subscriptions to capital stock, donations and loans of credit, both 
in their individvial and corporate capacities. Among those that were pro- 
jected about this time was the Chicago, St. Charles & Mississippi Air Line 
Railroad, which was designed to cross Ogle county from east to west. The 
board of supervisors of the county met and voted in favor of taking 
$100,000 in the capital stock of this railroad. This railroad like many oth- 
ers failed to materialize, however. 

The next railroad project to cause hope to rise in the breasts of the 
people was that of the Ogle & Carroll County Railroad Company which 
was incorporated in 1857 by the General Assembly of Illinois. Section two 
authorized the company to " locate, construct and complete, maintain and 
operate a railroad from the town of Lane (now Rochelle), in the county of 
Ogle, to the town of Oregon in same county: from thence to the town of 
Mount Morris: from thence on the most eligible and direct route to or 
near the town of Mt. Carroll, in the county of Carroll; from thence to the 
Mississippi river." The company was also empowered to construct said 
railroad east from Oregon to the city of Chicago. The capital stock was 
fixed at one million dollars, divided into shares of one hundred dollars 
each. The company made but little eftort to organize under the original 
act, and two years later the charter was amended by " An act to amend an 
act entitled ' An act to incorporate the Ogle & Carroll County Railroad 

(167) 



168 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Company,' " approved February 24, 1859. The company then organized 
and elected directors, among whom was Frederick G. Petrie, of Mount 
Morris, who was elected pi'esident. 

After this railroad company was actually organized in 1859, still there 
was apparently no better prospects of a railroad through Oregon and 
Mount Morris than before. Notwithstanding the fact that Oregon and 
other towns had repeatedly voted aid, the company had accomplished 
nothing toward the construction of the road as late as 1867. The nearest 
railroad point to Oregon, was at Franklin Grove, Lee county, on the Chi- 
cago & Northwestern Railroad, twelve miles away. Finally, however, the 
right man became interested in the railroad scheme and there began to be 
evidence of the railroad becoming a reality. Concerning this, Ketfs His- 
tory of Ogle County says: 

" In the spring of 1867, shortly after the last vote of the town of Ore- 
gon (a vote to donate $50,000 to the company, under certain specified con- 
ditions and restrictions), the contract to build a new wagon bridge across 
Rock river at Oregon was awarded to Messrs. Cauda & Hinckley, of Chica- 
go. Mr. Francis E. Hinckley had the supervision of the work. While here 
Mr. Hinckley became aware of the existance of the charter of the Ogle & 
Carroll County Railroad Company and the condition of its affairs. He be- 
came interested, investigated the matter and determined that the road 
should be built. He waited upon the officers of the Chicago & Northwest- 
ern Railroad, who expressed a willingness to carry out the terms of the 
contract with the old G. & C. U. Company, and agreed to furnish the iron 
and ties as soon as the work of grading was completed, and the preliminar- 
ies relating to use of cars, drawbacks, etc., should be arranged. The firm 
of Cauda & Hinckley, dissolved and Mr. Hinckley assumed sole control 
' having,' it is authoritatively stated, ' possessed himself of a contract for 
the rights and franchises of the Ogle & Cari"oll County Railroad Com- 
pany.' " 

It seems, however, that this old company became disorganized and 
many of the old members, together with Mr. Hinckley as the moving spirit, 
applied to the General Assembly for the incoi'poration of the company 
under a new name, the Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company. The Assem- 
bly passed the act of incorporation March 3, 1869. This act provided that 
"all such persons as may become stockholders in the corporation" should 
be a body politic and corporate, etc. This company was authorized to 
locate, construct, complete, maintain and operate a railroad from Chicago 
to a crossing of Rock river at or near the town of Oregon, thence through 
Ogle and Carroll counties to the Mississippi river at Savanna; thence up 
said river to Galena and the northern boundary of the state. The capital 
stock was fixed at oue million dollars, in shares of one hundred dollars 
each, and might be increased by the directors to any sum not exceeding 
five millions. The act provided that the several towns, villages and cities 
along or near the route of the railroad, in their corporate capacity, might 
subscribe to the stock of the company or make donations thereto, or lend 
their credit to the company to aid in constructing or equipping the road, 



COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 169 

provided, that no such subscription, donation or loan should be made un- 
til the same should be voted for by the people of the respective towns, 
cities or villages. 

The Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company was organized soon after its 
incorporation, by the election of Francis E. Hinckley, James V. Gale, 
Frederick G. Petrie, Elias S. Potter, and David B. Stiles, directors; and 
the board organized by the election of Francis E. Hinckley, president, and 
James V. Gale, vice-president. Thenceforward the work was prosecuted 
by this company, entirely superseding the Ogle & Carroll County Rail- 
road Company. In fact, the corporation act authorized the construction 
of this railroad over substantially the same route as the proposed Ogle & 
Carroll County Railroad. The promoters of the scheme proceeded im- 
mediately to solicit aid of the various towns and cities along the route, as 
provided by the corporation act. Oregon was the first to respond and 
voted to donate 850,000 to the enterprise, by a vote of 152 to 1. 

During the summer and autumn of 1869, the engineers of the Chicago 
& Iowa Railroad Company surveyed and located the road from Rochelle 
to Oregon, the work of grading was commenced and nearly completed. 
When it had nearly been finished, Henry Keep, of New York, had been 
elected president of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company, and 
when Mr. Hinckley applied for the iron, which had been promised by that 
company, he was told that it could not be furnished him. Mr. Hinckley, 
accompanied by Mr. Petrie, immediately went to New York, but Mr. Keep 
could be induced to give no reason for violating the agreement, further 
than that it was not to be the policy of his company to foster or encour 
age any more branches. This failure, or refusal, of the Chicago & Noi'th- 
western Railroad Company to furnish the iron and ties for the road de 
layed its completion, but Mr. Hinckley and his associates at length sue 
ceeded in making satisfactory arrangements with Mr. Joy, president of 
the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, for a connection 
with that road at Aurora. An appeal was then made to the cities and 
towns along the proposed line of the road for aid. Aurora voted one 
hundred thousand dollars, Flagg fifty thousand. Mount Morris and For- 
reston each seventy-five thousand, Alto, Lee county, thirty-three thous- 
and, and several of the towns between Alto and Aurora twenty-five thous- 
and dollars each. Pine Rock ten thousand dollars, Nashua five thousand 
dollars. After all these appropriations had been made Mr. Hinckley and 
his friends had no trouble in interesting New York capitalists to the ex- 
tent of advancing a million dollars on a first mortgage, and late in the fall 
of 1870 grading commenced in Aurora, and on the thirty-first of Decem- 
ber, 1870, the construction train reached Rochelle. 

Concerning the appropriation of $75,000 by the township of Mount 
Morris toward the building of this railroad, the township clerk's record 
book says: " At a special town meeting held in the town of Mount Morris 
in the covinty of Ogle and state of Illinois, at the shop of A. W. Little, on 
the Both day of June, A. D. 1870, to vote for or against a donation to the 
Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company. The meeting was called to order by 



170 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

Frederick B. Brayton. town clerk. M. T. Rohrer was on motion of Wm. 
H. Atchison duly chosen as moderator, who being duly sworn by F. B. 
Brayton, town clerk of said town, entered upon the duties of his office. 
The polls for the election for or against donation were opened, proclama- 
tion thereof being first made by the clerk." Following this is the poll 
list of 269 voters who participated, and the result of the election, as fol- 
lows: For donation, one hundred and sixty-three votes: against donation, 
one hundred and six votes. 

Here a word regarding these many donations will be in order. It 
was an exceedingly peculiar or rather remarkable piece of scheming and 
financiering on the part of Mr. Hinckley, who was really the principal 
owner of the road, how he managed, with little or no capital of his own 
to start with, to build and equip this railroad, by actual out-and-out 
donations, and came out in the end with a fortune. In fact it might 
literally be said that the people of Illinois deliberately handed him over 
a sufficient sum of money to build himself a railroad. Although the 
statement seems somewhat hyperbolical it is not far from the truth. 
The fact of the case is, the people were placed in a rather queer position 
with a difficult question to decide upon. Men came along and made 
propositions that if aid would be voted the railroad could be built and 
many well knew that the coming of the railroad would surely be worth 
to the community the amount of money to be paid, — $25,000, $50,000, or 
$75,000, etc., as the case might be, — but on the other hand there was that 
objection to the thought of deliberately handing over money to a man 
or company of men and creating for them fortunes, merely because they 
were in a position to ask it. This latter way of looking at the matter 
and other objections to these donations were evident to many people and 
there was of course a strong minority in opposition, and bitter animosi- 
ties sprang up, which unfortunately are not allayed even yet in some 
places. The strong opposition by the minority iii many towns caused 
quarrels, and much litigation was entailed upon the people in conse- 
quence. The majority of the people, however, believed the flattering 
tales which the railroad projectors told them, and willingly voted the 
aid requested, as mentioned before. They were led to believe that every 
man's farm would be a fortune if they would but aid liberally in the 
construction of railroads. After a time their dearly-bought experience 
led them to discover the folly of svich a course, and in the latter part of 
1870 they amended their constitution to prohibit such corporate action 
in an amendment to the organic law of the state providing that "no 
county, city, town, township or other municipality, shall ever become 
subscriber to the capital stock of any railroad or private corporation, 
or make donation to, or loan its credit in aid of such corporation." 

The minority, which had opposed the original voting; of donations, 
took every opportunity to prevent the issuing of the bonds and also the 
payment after they had been issued, which action was the cause of the 
trouble afterward encountered by Mount Morris and, in fact, all points 
along the line. Many towns refused to issue the bonds voted, and some 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 163 

On John Pridley's farm the barn was unroofed and the sides partly 
demolished. The shingles were blown off of a part of the house roof, but 
otherwise the house escaped unharmed. Prom this point the storm wid- 
ened to nearly a mile, one wing reaching as far east as Andrew Fridley's 
place, overturning out-buildings and mangling the orchard trees. At 
David Pridley's farm, the summer kitchen was carried away, a part of the 
barn unroofed and the windwill thrown over. As a result of the cloud's 
visit to the premises of Andrew Gigous the house had almost to be rebuilt 
and many demolished out-buildings replaced. A corn-planter left stand- 
ing in the field was missing after the storm and not a trace of it was ever 
found. A small amount of insurance was granted him by the Pine Creek 
company in which his property was insured. 

The farm owned by the Thomas brothers on the Mount Morris-Oregon 
road was next devastated, but the damage was slight. The main body of 
the cloud passed to the northward through the timber on the old Phelps 
farm, owned by Major Chas. Newcomer, and again at this place the spec- 
tators of the day following had occasion to open their mouths and eyes 
in wonder. Every tree was badly mutilated, the most of them, both large 
and small, being either broken oft", twisted down or uprooted. Past the 
timber the small Martin home was obliterated, and that of J. Wareham 
handled almost as roughly. Farther on, a number of buildings on the 
farm of Harvey Griswold were destroyed and the cloud then passed on 
to Rock river. In passing over the high bluff on the west side, the danc- 
ing pavilion erected on the crest by a Chicago club, was rolled down the 
slope and deposited in the road beneath. Persons living near say that 
vast volumes of water were drawn up into the cloud as it passed over the 
river, and undoubtedly the stream was very much disturbed. 

After ci'ossing the river suffice it to say that the tornado continued on 
its destructive course to Stillman Valley where much damage was done 
and a number of lives lost. 

x\fter the cloud had passed by Mount Morris to the eastward, the 
citizens of Mount Morris, realizing from the appearance and terrible roar 
of the storm that much mischief must have been done, hastened withoiit 
delay to the nearest part of the path which was at the former location of 
the Fridley residence. During the remainder of the evening and far into 
the night and during several succeeding days hundreds of people visited 
the scene, and many followed along the entire path. It was certainly a 
most remarkable exhibition of what the elements are capable of, and the 
people of Movmt Morris are to be congratulated upon the freak of the 
tornado in changing its course and avoiding the limits of the village. 



Besides tornadoes, the vicinity of Mount Morris has been visited by 
a number of very severe hailstorms, which did much damage to windows 
and vegetation. Probably the most severe of these was the one which 
occurred on the evening of May 13, 1886, when the pellets of ice destroyed 
much property. The storm came from the southwest, such that all win- 



164 MOtJNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

dows facing that direction were broken and also many shutters and sashes 
broken. After the hail ceased falling and the wind subsided, the south 
side of the gentlemen's dormitory presented a sorry appearance, the 
forty-eight windows having hardly a single unbroken pane of glass. The 
hailstones were some of them as large as base balls, and some of very 
irregular and jagged appearance. On the day following the storm Mr. 
Michael Bohner made a careful computation of the number of panes of 
glass broken in the village of Mount Morris alone, and gave the following 
result from an estimate made upon personal inquiry and individual in- 
vestigation: Total number of panes broken, 4,4:15; loss, about 81,150. Other 
losses occurring raised it to nearly 85,000, including the damage to the 
fruit crop. 

Probably the hailstorm which would rank second in point of violence 
and amount of damage done is the one which visited the town in May, 
1860, coming from the same direction as the one above mentioned. Al- 
though the hail was not so large, a general breaking of windows occurred 
throughout the town. 

On page thirty-two of this volume, in Peter Knodle's diary, is the ac- 
count of a hailstorm on Monday evening, June 27, 1842, in which five or 
six hundred panes of glass were broken in Mount Morris. 



Mount Morris can be said to have been very fortunate in the past 
in the way of fires, there having never been a conflagration in which more 
than one large building was destroyed, and but few instances where a 
single structure has been burned entirely to the ground. There have 
been but two cases of total destruction of valuable buildings by fire 
within the limits of the village, both occurring during the 90's: the first 
the destruction of R. C. McCredie's creamery in 1895, and the second 
the property of J. A. Kable in 1897. The former was started by a spark 
from the smoke-stack, alighting on the roof. The fire was discovered 
at about the middle of the forenoon, April 13, 1895, and it was not long 
until the structure was a heap of ashes. The village, at that time, had 
no fire protection except the '• bucket brigade " which was always formed 
at fires and consisted of a column of men, extending from the burning 
structure to any available pump, along which pails of water would be 
passed as fast as they could be filled by two or three men operating the 
pump handle. This method, however, failed to be of any use in this 
case owing to the headway the flames had gained when the fire was 
discovered. The estimated loss was about 83,500, which was partly cov- 
ered by insurance. Mr. McCredie immediately rebuilt the creamery. 

The immediate result of the burning of Mr. McCredie's creamery 
was the creation of a strong sentiment in favor of the establishment 
of a system of water-works for the village, to bar against further loss. 
The matter was made an issue at the following village election, and a 
majority vote cast in favor of it, after which the present system of wa- 
ter-works was put in. 



LOCAL CALAMITIES. 165 

The second fire mentioned, that of the burning of J. A. Kable's 
property, on A Street, occurred after the new water system had been 
put in, but before the water mains had been extended far enough or 
sufficient hose purchased to carry water to the scene of the fire. A 
neighbor who was tending a sick son, discovered smouldering flames 
in Mr. Kable's carpet-weaving shop at two o'clocli in the morniug, dur- 
ing the dead of winter, and hastily gave the alarm. The fire had evi- 
dently been burning for a considerable length of time and could not 
be extinguished. The house and shop, with all the weaving apparatus, 
were burned to the ground and was a total loss, there being no insur- 
ance on either. 

In the early sixties, an old hovel standing out on the prairie some- 
where near the present residence of John McNett, was set on fire by 
a number of mischievous boys who wished to see a blaze. The old 
building was formerly used as a schoolhouse, but when destroyed was 
utterly valueless except for firewood. 

During the seventies there were two fires in which the flames 
gained considerable headway, but were finally extinguished by the 
bucket brigade before the buildings were entirely destroyed. Mrs. Sheets' 
residence on the corner of Hitt and McKendrie Streets was so badly 
damaged that it was soon afterward torn down and a new one erected, 
which is at present occcupied by John Merriman. The other was the 
house on the corner of Fletcher and West Front Streets, owned at that 
time by Peter Glascow and later property of Daniel Beard. It was easily 
repaired, however. 

In the fall of 1885 occurred the first serious fire which threatened the 
safety of the business section of the village. It was discovered in the Sei- 
bert block at about nine o'clock in the evening, when luckily there were 
plenty of men still on the streets. The elevator shaft was in flames from 
the basement to the roof, but the strong pump just behind the building 
furnished an abundance of water to the bucket brigade, and under the di- 
rection of several cool-headed men the crowd succeeded in heading oft" the 
fiery element. To those who saw the flames leaping from windows on both 
the first and second floors, the prospects of saving any of the north busi- 
ness block seemed hopeless, and, in fact the extinguishing of the fire was 
a marvelous piece of work. Another Are in the business street was threat- 
ened one evening in the spring of 1900, by a small blaze in the Mount Mor- 
ris News office in the Mammouth block. The present efficient water sys- 
tem served to make the danger of short duration. A. R. Binkley also once 
had a threatened blaze in his store and there may have been several other 
small blazes but none of consequence. 

Among other fires which have occurred in the residence portion of 
Mount Morris, might be mentioned those in the residences of E. S. Young 
and A. E. Canode. Both caused considerable excitement but were prompt- 
ly extinguished by the bucket brigade. 

In the township of Mount Morris, outside of the village, there have al- 
so been fires, several of which resulted in the complete consumption of 



166 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

farm residences and large barns. In 1883, the residence of Michael Miller, 
on his farm west of town, was destroyed and that of Solomon Nalley, a 
new house, in the year 1878. 



CHAPTER IX. 
COMING OP THE RAILROAD. 

The history of Mount Morris miglit properly be divided into two 
epochs, — one reaching from the time of its founding in 18.39 until the com- 
ing of the railroad in 1871, and the second from 1871 until the present time. 
During the period embraced in this first epoch Mount Morris was isolated 
from the world, and the restlessness of her citizens knew no bounds. 
Merchandise of all kinds had to be transported by team from Polo and 
other towns and grain was hauled long distances to market. Passengers 
and the mails were transported by the old-time stage coach or on horse- 
back. At last Mount Morris people began to be very impatient for a rail- 
road and the subject became the principal topic of discussion both in the 
home and on the groceryman's store box. Every rumor of a possible rail- 
way project was grasped by the anxious people and every effort made to 
encourage any such enterprises. It was as early as 1853 when this " rail- 
road fever" began to take hold of the people throughout this part of the 
county, caused no doubt by the success of the Illinois Central railroad, 
built through the west part of the county in that year. Numerous lines 
were projected, and the people were called upon to aid in their construc- 
tion by subscriptions to capital stock, donations and loans of credit, both 
in their individual and corporate capacities. Among those that were pro- 
jected about this time was the Chicago, St. Charles & Mississippi Air Line 
Railroad, which was designed to cross Ogle county from east lowest. The 
board of supervisors of the county met and voted in favor of taking 
$100,000 in the capital stock of this railroad. This railroad like many oth- 
ers failed to materialize, however. 

The next railroad project to cause hope to rise in the breasts of the 
people was that of the Ogle & Carroll County Railroad Company which 
was incorporated in 1857 by the General Assembly of Illinois. Section two 
authorized the company to " locate, construct and complete, maintain and 
operate a railroad from the town of Lane (now Rochelle), in the county of 
Ogle, to the town of Oregon in same county; from thence to the town of 
Mount Morris; from thence on the most eligible and direct route to or 
near the town of Mt. Carroll, in the county of Carroll; from thence to the 
Mississippi river." The company was also empowered to construct said 
railroad east from Oregon to the city of Chicago. The capital stock was 
fixed at one million dollars, divided into shares of one hundred dollars 
each. The company made but little eft'ort to organize under the original 
act, and two years later the charter was amended by " An act to amend an 
act entitled ' An act to incorporate the Ogle & Carroll County Railroad 

(167) 



ibS MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Company,' " approved February 24, 1859. The company then organized 
and elected directors, among whom was Frederick G. Petrie, of Mount 
Morris, who was elected president. 

After this railroad company was actually organized in 1859, still there 
was apparently no better prospects of a railroad through Oregon and 
Mount Morris than before. Notwithstanding the fact that Oregon and 
other towns had repeatedly voted aid, the company had accomplished 
nothing toward the construction of the road as late as 1867. The nearest 
railroad point to Oregon, was at Franklin Grove, Lee county, on the Chi- 
cago & Northwestern Railroad, twelve miles away. Finally, however, the 
right man became interested in the railroad scheme and there began to be 
evidence of the railroad becoming a reality. Concerning this, Ketfs His- 
tory of Ogle County says: 

"In the spring of 1867, shortly after the last vote of the town of Ore- 
gon (a vote to donate gi50,000 to the company, under certain specifled con- 
ditions and restrictions), the contract to build a new wagon bridge across 
Rock river at Oregon was awarded to Messrs. Cauda & Hinckley, of Chica- 
go. Mr. Francis E. Hinckley had the supervision of the work. While here 
Mr. Hinckley became aware of the existance of the charter of the Ogle & 
Carroll County Railroad Company and the condition of its affairs. He be- 
came interested, investigated the matter and determined that the I'oad 
should be built. He waited upon the officers of the Chicago & Northwest- 
ern Railroad, who expressed a willingness to carry out the terms of the 
contract with the old G. & C. U. Company, and agreed to furnish the iron 
and ties as soon as the work of grading was completed, and the preliminar- 
ies relating to use of cars, drawbacks, etc., should be arranged. The firm 
of Cauda & Hinckley, dissolved and Mr. Hinckley assumed sole control 
' having,' it is authoritatively stated, ' possessed himself of a contract for 
the rights and franchises of the Ogle it Carroll County Railroad Com- 
pany.' " 

It seems, however, that this old company became disorganized and 
many of the old members, together with Mr. Hinckley as the moving spirit, 
applied to the General Assembly for the incorporation of the company 
under a new name, the Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company. The Assem- 
bly passed the act of incorporation March 3, 1869. This act provided that 
"all such persons as may become stockholders in the corporation" should 
be a body politic and corporate, etc. This company was authorized to 
locate, construct, complete, maintain and operate a railroad from Chicago 
to a crossing of Rock river at or near the town of Oregon, thence through 
Ogle and Carroll counties to the Mississippi river at Savanna; thence up 
said river to Galena and the northern boundary of the state. The capital 
stock was fixed at one million dollars, in shares of one hundred dollars 
each, and might be increased by the directors to any sum not exceeding 
five millions. The act provided that the several towns, villages and cities 
along or near the route of the railroad, in their corporate capacity, might 
subscribe to the stock of the company or make donations thereto, or lend 
their credit to the company to aid in constructing or equipping the road. 



COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 169 

provided, that no such subscription, donation or loan should be made un- 
til the same should be voted for by the people of the respective towns, 
cities or villages. 

The Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company was organized soon after its 
incorporation, by the election of Francis E. Hinckley, James V. Gale, 
Frederick G. Petrie, Elias S. Potter, and David B. Stiles, directors; and 
the board organized by the election of Francis E. Hinckley, president, and 
James V. Gale, vice-president. Thenceforward the work was prosecuted 
by this company, entirely superseding the Ogle & Carroll County Rail- 
road Company. In fact, the corporation act authorized the construction 
of this railroad over substantially the same route as the proposed Ogle & 
Carroll County Railroad. The promoters of the scheme proceeded im- 
mediately to solicit aid of the various towns and cities along the route, as 
provided by the corporation act. Oregon was the first to respond and 
voted to donate S50,000 to the enterprise, by a vote of 152 to 1. 

During the summer and autumn of 1869, the engineers of the Chicago 
& Iowa Railroad Company surveyed and located the road from Rochelle 
to Oregon, the work of grading was commenced and nearly completed. 
When it had nearly been finished, Henry Keep, of New York, had been 
elected president of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company, and 
when Mr. Hinckley applied for the iron, which had been promised by that 
company, he was told that it could not be furnished him. Mr. Hinckley, 
accompanied by Mr. Petrie, immediately went to New York, but Mr. Keep 
could be induced to give no reason for violating the agreement, further 
than that it was not to be the policy of his company to foster or encour 
age any more branches. This failure, or refusal, of the Chicago & North- 
western Railroad Company to furnish the iron and ties for the road de 
layed its completion, but Mr. Hinckley and his associates at length sue 
ceeded in making satisfactory arrangements with Mr. Joy, president of 
the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, for a connection 
with that road at Aurora. An appeal was then made to the cities and 
towns along the proposed line of the road for aid. Aurora voted one 
hundred thousand dollars, Flagg fifty thousand. Mount Morris and For- 
reston each seventy-five thousand, Alto, Lee county, thirty-three thous- 
and, and several of the towns between Alto and Aurora twenty-five thous- 
and dollars each, Pine Rock ten thousand dollars, Nashua five thousand 
dollars. After all these appropriations had been made Mr. Hinckley and 
his friends had no trouble in interesting New York capitalists to the ex- 
tent of advancing a million dollars on a first mortgage, and late in the fall 
of 1870 grading commenced in Aurora, and on the thirty-first of Decem- 
ber, 1870, the construction train reached Rochelle. 

Concerning the appropriation of $75,000 by the township of Mount 
Morris toward the building of this railroad, the township clerk's record 
book says: " At a special town meeting held in the town of Mount Morris 
in the county of Ogle and state of Illinois, at the shop of A. W. Little, on 
the Both day of June, A. D. 1870, to vote for or against a donation to the 
Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company. The meeting was called to order by 



170 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

Frederick B. Brayton, town clerk. M. T. Rohrer was on motion of Wm. 
H. Atchison duly chosen as moderator, who being duly sworn by F. B. 
Brayton, town clerk of said town, entered upon the duties of his office. 
The polls for the election for or against donation were opened, proclama- 
tion thereof being first made by the clerk." Following this is the poll 
list of 269 voters who participated, and the result of the election, as fol- 
lows: For donation, one hundred and sixty-three votes; against donation, 
one hundred and six votes. 

Here a word regarding these many donations will be in order. It 
was an exceedingly peculiar or rather remarkable piece of scheming and 
financiering on the part of Mr. Hinckley, who was really the principal 
owner of the road, how he managed, with little or no capital of his own 
to start with, to build and equip this railroad, by actual out-and-out 
donations, and came out in the end with a fortune. In fact it might 
literally be said that the people of Illinois deliberately handed him over 
a sufficient sum of money to build himself a railroad. Although the 
statement seems somewhat hyperbolical it is not far from the truth. 
The fact of the case is, the people were placed in a rather queer position 
with a difficult question to decide upon. Men came along and made 
propositions that if aid would be voted the railroad could be built and 
many well knew that the coming of the railroad would surely be worth 
to the community the amount of money to be paid,— $25,000, $50,000, or 
$75,000, etc., as the case might be, — but on the other hand there was that 
objection to the thought of deliberately handing over money to a man 
or company of men and creating for them fortunes, merely because they 
were in a position to ask it. This latter way of looking at the matter 
and other objections to these donations were evident to many people and 
there was of course a strong minority in opposition, and bitter animosi- 
ties sprang up, which unfortunately are not allayed even yet in some 
places. The strong opposition by the minority in many towns caused 
quarrels, and much litigation was entailed upon the people in conse- 
quence. The majority of the people, however, believed the flattering 
tales which the railroad projectors told them, and willingly voted the 
aid requested, as mentioned before. They were led to believe that every 
man's farm would be a fortune if they would but aid liberally in the 
constrviction of railroads. After a time their dearly-bought experience 
led them to discover the folly of such a course, and in the latter part of 
1870 they amended their constitution to prohibit such corporate action 
in an amendment to the organic Ihw of the state providing that "no 
county, city, town, township or other municipality shall ever become 
subscriber to the capital stock of any railroad or private corporation, 
or make donation to, or loan its credit in aid of such corporation." 

The minority, which had opposed the original voting of donations, 
took every opportunity to prevent the issuing of the bonds and also the 
XJayment after they had been issued, which action was the cause of the 
trouble afterward encountered by Mount Morris and, in fact, all points 
along the line. Many towns refvised to issue the bonds voted, and some 



COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 171 

actually avoided the payment by taking advantage of certain technical 
errors in regard to the legality of the elections when the donations were 
voted, or some trifling breach of the agreement on the part of the railroad 
company; others compromised, but many were compelled to pay the full 
amount, besides a great deal more to cover expenses incurred during liti- 
gation. Concerning Mount Morris's well-known unsuccessful attempt to 
avoid the payment, more is said farther on, in the chronological order of 
events. 

As stated before, the Chicago & Iowa railroad was completed as far as 
Rochelle in December, 1870. It was farther completed from Rochelle to a 
point on the east bank of Rock river, opposite Oregon, April 1, 1871, and 
regular trains for passengers and freight put on. The bridge across Rock 
river was completed and the cars crossed it for the first time, October 20, 
1871. During the summer of 1871 work progressed on the grading of the 
road between Oregon and Mount Morris, which was watched with great 
interest by the people of the township, delighted as they were at the 
thought of having a railroad. The first passenger train was run to Mount 
Morris November 12, and the people celebrated the event in grand style. 
An elegant public svipper was given in honor of the railroad officials. 

As soon as the road was completed to Porreston, a connection was 
made with the Illinois Central railroad, which opened a route from Chi- 
cago to Sou.ix City, Iowa. A contract was made between the two roads by 
which the cars of the Illinois Central reached Chicago over the Chicago & 
Iowa railroad. New depots were erected along the line in 1872; through 
trains between Chicago and Dubuqvie were put on, and the road entered 
upon a period of good management and general prosperity. The Illinois 
Central continued to run trains over this road to Chicago until about 1888, 
when their own road was completed through Freeport and Rockford to 
that city. 

The first station agent in Mount Morris was Mr. A. W. Brayton, now 
a prosperous druggist and book-seller in the village. His night operator 
was H. D. Judson, a young man who had made his home with the family 
of F. B. Brayton. Mr. Judson advanced rapidly in favor with the railroad 
company and is now superintendent of the road. He acted as night opera- 
tor under A. W. Brayton and later succeeded Mr. Brayton as agent, with 
Samuel Rohrer and later " Bob " Lillie as night operators. The succession 
of agents and operators since that time cannot be definitely ascertained, 
but the following is probably nearly correct, the agent being mentioned 
first and the night operator second: C. E. Holbrook and Lyle Newcomer, 
Ed. L. Mooney and George Shank, Thomas Webb and F. F. Knodle (still a 
resident of Mount Morris), F. F. Knodle and J. D. Miller (now a harness 
dealer in Mount Morris), and since 1888, after the Illinois Central trains 
ceased running, and the night operator was dispensed with,— F. F. Knodle, 
Reuben Godfrey (three years), S. G. Brown (three years), and F. C. Rem- 
mer. Mr. Remmer, the present agent, attends well to the business of the 
road, is a genial and obliging young man and is well liked by both his em- 
ployers and the patrons of the road. He first came to Mount Morris as 



172 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

agent in October, 1895. Longer than the term of service of any of these 
agents is that of James Driscoll, who has been foreman of the section dur- 
ing the greater part of twenty-one years past. 

The record of the big iight carried on by Mount Morris for so many 
years in an attempt to avoid the payment of the money voted to be donat- 
ed to the railroad is in some respects a rather peculiar piece of history. 
The complications arising in the case render the task of tracing it one of 
great delicacy. As to the propriety of voting the donation of §75,000 in 
the first place there is of course a diversity of opinion, and also upon the 
right and wrong of attempting to evade the payment of the same, but it is 
not the purpose of this book to render any verdicts, one way or another, 
but merely to give the facts in the case. Undoubtedly the township has 
derived §75,000 worth of actual benefit from the presence of the railroad 
and would not part with it for that amount of money, or even for the 
larger amount actually being paid in consequence of the addition of inter- 
est during the period of litigation. 

By the terms upon which the donation of S75,000 was voted by Mount 
Morris, the company was required to complete the road through the town 
before the bonds should be issued. While the work was progressing the 
people apparently somewhat regretted their liberality and the minority, 
who had strongely opposed the measure at the election, decided to do all 
in their power to prevent the issuing of the bonds. Consequently an in- 
junction, signed by Daniel J. Pinckney, John W. Hitt, Jacob H. Mumma, 
John E. McCoy, Milton E. Getzendaner and John Sprecher, was drawn up 
and filed in the circuit court of Ogle county, praying that the township of 
Mount Morris be restrained from the issuing of bonds for the payment of 
the seventy-five thousand dollars, or any part thereof, or the interest 
thereon, or any part thereof; also to restrain the township from causing 
any tax to be levied for the payment of the same. In the writ, an alleged 
illegality of the election, when the donation was voted, was claimed as the 
pretext for filing the injunction. The injunction was temporarily grant- 
ed and the case brought up in the circuit court. But while the slow pro- 
cesses of law were at work on the matter negotiations were in progress 
between Mr. Hinckley and Supervisor J. W. Hitt for an amicable settle- 
ment of the matter, and an agreement was finally reached to compromise 
the bond issue at 850,000. This arrangement was decided upon by the 
people at a special town meeting held March 19, 1875. Regarding this 
meeting and its action the old village record book has the following: 

Special town meeting met at the shop of A. W. Little in persuance of call. On mo- 
tion A. Newcomer. Esq., was chosen moderator and O. H. Swingley, secretary. On 
motion, the meeting- adjourned to Seibert Hall. The hour of two o'clock, P, M., hav- 
ing arrived, the meeting proceeded to business. On motion the supervisor i J. W, Hitt) 
of the town of Mount Morris was requested to make a full statement to the meeting 
of all corresijondence and negotiations that had taken place between himself and 
Mr. Hinckley with regard to the settlement of the claim of the Chicago & Iowa 
Railroad Company against the town, whereupon the supervisor made a full statement 
of all that had taken jilace between himself and Mr. Hinckley, including Mr. Hinck- 
ley s proposition for a final settlement of the question at issue, viz.. 

That the Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company would accept bond to the amount 



COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 173 

of $50,000 dated March 1. 1875, running not to exceed ten years, at ten per cent annual 
interest, or in lieu thereof $45,000 in cash in full liquidation of said claim. After full 
and free discussion the following resolutions were adopted without a dissenting voice. 

Resolved, that after a full consideration of the terms of the proposition made 
by Mr. F. E. Hinckley, president of the Chicago & Iowa Railroad Company through 
our supervisor to settle the claim of said company against the town, now in litigation, 
we regard said proposition as alike fair and honorable on the part of Mr. Hinckley, 
and are of the opinion that the same ought to be accepted in the same spirit in which 
it is offered. 

Resolved, That fully recognizing the services rendered the town by the parties 
who, with honest and consistent purpose, have so persistantly contested the issue of 
the bonds of the town to the amount of $75,000 we are partly in favor of so arranging 
the settlement with Mr. Hinckley that they shall receive, at the expense of the town, 
the sum of sixteen hundred dollars ($1,600), being the amount they have expended in 
lawyers' fees, traveling expenses and court charges. 

Resolved, That the parties in the suit and the town authorities be and are here- 
by requested to conclude the settlement without unnecessary delay. 

On motion of A. Q. Allen, the following was ofPered and unanimously adopted : 

Resolved, That we are largely indebted to our supervisor, J. W. Hitt. Esq.. for 
the faithful, efficient and successful manner in which he has conducted these negotia- 
tions and guarded the interests of the town, and that a vote of thanks be and is here- 
by tendered him. A. Newcomer. 

O. H. Swingley, Secretary. Moderator. 

In compliance with the above, bonds to the amount of $50,000 were is- 
sued to the railroad company and sold, the German Insurance Company 
of Freeport purchasing most of them. According to the above agreement 
the bonds and interest were to be paid in ten years and the matter rested 
quietly for seven years. Then again in 1882, seven years after the bonds 
had been issued, plans were again laid by the minority who opposed the 
payment, to restrain the officials from le\'ying any tax at the expiration of 
the ten years with which to pay the bonds. Accordingly a second injunc- 
tion was filed in the circuit court in that year by John Harmon, Samuel 
Domer, Daniel Pager and Reuben S. Marshall. The case came up in the 
circuit court shortly after and was finally decided against the town. It 
was then appealed to the supreme court of the state of Illinois and in the 
year 1888, was finally also settled there, the verdict again going against the 
town, and the injunction was dissolved, after a continuous term of lawing 
extending over a period of about six years. 

The decision in 1888 by the supreme court dissolving the injunction 
did not yet bring the town to its last extremity and the payment was fur- 
ther staved off several years by electing town clerks and immediately 
sending them away, and paying them to stay away. It being necessary to 
have the signature of the clerk on the paper making the levy, this very ef- 
fectually preventing the necessary levy and the owners of the bonds were 
still compelled to carry the indebtedness. Finally, however, as many peo- 
ple anticipated, the town was compelled to give up and the injudicious 
fight was discontinued. N. A. Watts became clerk of the town and not be- 
ing willing to " skip " as his predecessors had done, the payment of the 
vast sum of money, then more than doubled by the accumulation of the 
ten per cent interest, became no longer avoidable and the levy was made 



174 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

for the first payment, — the sum of $47,000, — which was collected by D. B. 
Keedy, in the spring of 1894. This large payment, more than three times 
as large as the usual tax, was met with considerable difficulty by many tax- 
payers, but with a year's notice to prepare for it, few people were actually 
crippled financially, and all were glad that the attempt was made after it 
had been paid. The heavy debt hanging over the town was a great men- 
ace to its prosperity, and it was certainly a wise measure to no longer de- 
lay its obliteration. Not only did the former condition of affairs drive 
people away who might have settled in the township, but the credit of the 
township was kept worthless. By this one stroke, the payment of the 
$47,000, Mount Morris was again put upon a solid financial basis and the 
best of credit restored. 

The remaining $50,000 of the debt was disposed of by the issuing of 
new bonds to be paid off in yearly installments. A special town meeting 
was held to make this arrangement, the town clerk's record of which is as 
follows: 

Special town election, held the ninth day of December. 1893. at the village hall, 
town of Mount Morris. Og-le county. Illinois, the form of ballot being as follows: 

Proposed issue of twenty town bonds for $2,517.50 each, agg-reg-atlng- $50.:350, bear- 
ing five per cent interest, one bond payable May 1st of each year till all are paid, com- 
mencing May 1st, 1894, the interest on all said bonds payaljle annually, said bonds to be 
issued in lieu of bonds held by the German Insurance Company, of Freeport, Illinois, 
the principal and interest of which will aggregate $50,:550 May 1, 1894, and which are 
numbered 1. 2, 5, 9, 12, 14, 16, 21, 22, 2:3, 25, 27, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, :35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 
4:3, 44, 45, 46 and 47, for $500 each ; and eleven bonds, numbered 57, 65, 66, 68, 70, 71, 72, 73, 
74 and 75, for $1,000 each, bearing ten per cent interest. 

The result of this election was 250 votes in favor of issuing the bonds 
and 61 against. It seems, however, that these bonds were not accepted 
and new arrangements were necessary. The following petition was filed 
in the town clerk's office on the 30th day of April, 1894: 
To the Town Clerk of the Town of Mount Morris, Ogle County, III.: 

The undersigned legal voters of the town of Mount Morris, being residents there - 
n respectively request and petition that a special election be called to submit to the 
voters of said town the question of issuing the bonds of said town of the third class 
to the amount of $57,600, consisting of 112 bonds of $500 each, and 16 bonds of $100 each, 
bearing interest at the rate of five per cent per annum, said bonds to be dated the 
first day of June, 1894, and be made payable at the office of the state treasurer, in the 
city of Springfield, Illinois, said bonds to be so issued that $:3,600 thereof shall become 
due June 1st. 1895, and a like amount annually thereafter until all are paid ; said bonds 
to be issued for the purpose of refunding the following indebtedness of the town of 
Mount Morris, to wit : 

Judgment of (ieortre W. Suuford. and interest $ 4,738 :32 

Judgment of Eiiunu E. Pitt, and interest 5,066 30 

Judgment of William Talcott. and interest 4..520 48 

Judgment of Chester K. Williams, and interest, 32,537 40 

Judgment of A, A, Yiele. and interest, 2,215 67 

Judgment of Catherine Randall, and interest, 2,315 96 

IJonds numliered 28, 48. 49 and 50 of $.500 each, and bond num- 
bered 67 for $1,000, issued to the Chicago & Iowa Railroad 

Company, 6,535 12 

Total $57,929 25 

The above petition was signed by 49 legal voters of the town. In com- 
pliance with the petition a special election was called by posting ten no- 
tices in ten of the most public places in said town, also by notice being 



COMING OF THE RAILROAD. 175 

published in the Mount Morris Index. The question of the issuing of 
new bonds, substantially as quoted in the above petition, was voted upon 
on the 26th day of May, 1894, the date set for the election, and the follow- 
ing result obtained: For issuing the bonds, 248 votes; against issuing 
the bonds, 43 votes. These bonds were then issued and accepted by the 
creditors of the town. 

And thus the matter was finally amicably settled. The payment of 
the remaining portion of the debt continues each year in small install- 
ments which are not noticed in the least by the taxpayers of the township. 
The last payment will be made in the year 1909. Although these pay- 
ments are being made each year, it is a fact that the rate of assessment in 
Mount Morris is as low and most cases lower than in the other towns in 
Ogle county. At the present time the credit of the town is restored, the 
ill-feelings engendered by the controversy concerning the bond case for- 
gotten and " All is well." 



CHAPTER XII. 
RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 

The religious advantages of Mount Morris, both in the past and pres- 
ent, have been, and are, unexcelled in Northern Illinois. It is an undis- 
puted fact that the morals among both the young and old in " The College 
Town" are above the average in any other places in the county or neigh- 
boring counties. The fact is often commented upon by visitors from 
abroad, and it is a condition continually boasted of by the people them- 
selves, and by Mount Morris College in advertising the village as a safe 
place for young men and women, leaving their homes to get an education. 
The religious atmosphere of the place has always prevailed against the 
great evils common in many towns and kept the environments of its young 
people pure and clean and untainted. Open saloons were opposed from 
the time of the first settlements, as will be seen in the chapter on " Vil- 
lage Organization" and at other places in this volume. Open saloons 
have, in fact, been tolerated but on one or two occasions and at very short 
periods at that. For a score of years past there has not even been an 
attempt made to gain a saloon license. If license and anti-license were 
made an issue at a village election it would be voted down by an over- 
whelming majority, without doubt. Such is the sentiment which the 
churches of Mount Morris have created in the hearts of her good people. 

Four Christian denominations are well represented in the village and 
township, and each has a commodious place of worship. And though they 
differ somewhat in faith and practice, still they dwell together in perfect 
harmony. Few places of like population can claim so many ministers, 
there being no less than fifteen or eighteen at one time, yet one never 
hears of any unpleasantness among them. In fact Mount Morris might 
be called the " Preachers' Paradise." 

Of the four churches in Mt. Morris the history of the Methodist Epis- 
copal dates back the farthest. 

The first preaching in this part of Ogle county, at least the first under 
Methodist auspicies was by the Rev. Thomas S. Hitt, father of Hon. R. R. 
Hitt, a cultured and earnest local preacher, who came to this state in 1837 
and settled with the Maryland colony. He entered a large tract of land, 
but devoted his time very largely to the development of the religious and 
educational interests of the country. He was in frequent demand for fu- 
nerals, weddings, church dedications and educational meetings. He was 
largely instrumental in securing the seminary at this place, for which he 
contributed liberally, and by his influence and eloquence raised large 
amounts of money. As a pioneer preacher he did faithful work, and laid 

(176) 




REV. THOMAS S. HITT. 

Father of Hon. R. R. Hitt and one of the promoters of early 

Methodism in Ogle county. 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 179 

the foundation from which many strong churches have grown and pros- 
pered. 

One who recollects Rev. Hitt as he was in vigorous manhood describes 
him as follows: " As a speaker he was interesting, with a clear musical 
voice, which expressed every shade of feeling. His language was choice 
and copious. In bearing he was dignified and easy and his gestures were 
natural and graceful. He stood six feet tall and seemed under all circum- 
stances, in public or private, perfectly possessed." 

He died September 23, 1852, having successfully planted Methodism in 
this section and giving its religious and educational interests an impulse 
that has been felt ever since. 

Rev. Barton Cartwright was appointed to the charge, then part of a 
large circuit, in the fall of 1838. 

Aug. 20, 1840, Rock River Conference was organized, at a camp-meet- 
ing held in the grove two miles northwest of town. Bishop Waugh was 
the presiding bishop and Rev. B. T. Kavanaugh, secretary. 

The location of Rock River Seminary at Mount Morris, under the con- 
trol of the Conference, gave the local church quite an impetus. When the 
first seminary building was completed in 1840, the north portion was used 
for church purposes, until the erection of the second building called " Old 
Sandstone," when the two lower stories of the east part were fitted up as a 
chapel and used by the church for about 25 years. 

The location of the school gave the church considerable prestage dur- 
ing its earlier history and some of the strongest men of those times served 
it as pastors. It has been impossible to obtain a complete list previous to 
1857, but the following list is nearly accurate: Revs. Thos. Hitt, Barton 
Cartwright, Worthington, McMurty, Snow, Walker, Wagner, Jewett, Jud- 
son, Stufi', Cone, Winslow, Keegan, Stoughton, Parks. Rev. Blanchard 
was pastor in 1857, followed by Rev. J. H. Vincent, now bishop, in 1859. 

Prom 1860 until the present time the following pastors were assigned 
in their order: 1860, L. Anderson: 1863, W. A. Smith; 1865, J. H. More; 
1867, W. A. Stout; 1868, C. R. Ford; 1869, S. H. Adams; 1872, L. Curts; 1875, 
E. M. Battis; 1876, E. W. Adams; 1878, A. T. Needham; 1879, James Bush; 
1882, G. L. Wiley; 1885, Robert Proctor; 1887, R. Brown; 1890, J. H. Thomas; 
1895, A. S. Mason; 1898, P. W. Nazarene. 

For a number of years Mount Morris was the head of a district, and 
the home of the Presiding Elder. Among others who resided here while 
filling that office were Richard Haney, Hooper Crews, John Clark, Philo 
Judson and Luke Hitchcock. 

The congregation worshipped in the seminary chapel until the school 
passed from the control of Rock River Conference in 1877. During the 
pastorate of Rev. E. W. Adams, the present edifice was erected at a cost of 
about $8,000. It is a beautiful and commodious building situated on the 
corner of Center and McKendrie streets. It has a large auditorium, with 
gallery, and lecture room, etc. It has been kept in thorough repair and 
remedied several times, and fully meets the necessities of the congrega- 
tion. The first parsonage was erected in 1852, a grout building located 



180 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



southwest of the seminary. It appears in a view from the seminary on 
page 54. It was used until 1890 when the present convenient house was 
erected, just south of the church. 

The church has always stood well in the charges of Eock River Con- 
ference, and has constantly developed along all lines of church enterprise. 
At the present time it enjoys a good degree of prosperity, and has a good 
property free from debt. It contributes liberally for pastorial support, 
and the various benevolences of the church. The present membership is 
about two hundred. The Sunday school is in a prosperous condition, un- 
der supervision of Mr. Charles H. Sharer. The Epworth League, with A. 
M. Newcomer as president, is a very earnest and aggressive body of young 




METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



people. All the departments of church work are organized and are work- 
ing harmoniously and successfully. 

The sixtieth anniversary of the organization of the church at Mount 
Morris was celebrated with special services of an interesting nature, be- 
ginning Dec. 4, and closing Dec. 11, 1898. 

Following is a short biographical sketch of Rev. F. W. Nazarene, the 
present jjastor: 

Rev. F. W. Nazarene. the youngest son of Frederick and Mary A. Nazarene, was 
born in Washington county, Md., January 2.5, 18.56. He removed with his parent to 
Ogle county, 111., in the spring of 1864. The first year of his sojourn in Illinois 
was spent at Mount Morris. In the spring of 1865 the family moved on a farm 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 



181 



near Brookville. and the following spring to Polo, where his parents resided until 
their death. His father died in June, 189S, and his mother in June, 1899. The subject 
of this sketch attended the public schools of Polo, graduating- from the High School 
of that place in June, 1874. He spent some time teaching and then attended the Rock 
Kiver Seminary, under the presidency of N. C. Dougherty. He united with the Polo 
M. E. church in 1875, and was licensed as a local preacher in 1877, and united with Rock 
River Conference in 1881, at which time he was ordained to Deacons orders by Bishop 

Wiley. He was ordained to Elders 
orders by Bishop Fowler in 1885, at 
which time he completed the four 
years theological studies prescribed 
by the Conference. 

His first pastoral charge was at 
Davis, 111., where he labored for two 
years. The church there was greatly 
strengthened by a remarkable revival, 
and by the remodeling and repairing 
of the church building. The new 
church building at Rock City was also 
erected during this pastorate. This 
was followed by a full p astorate o 
three years at Orangeville, during 
which time a new church was erected 
on the charge. Successful and pleas- 
ant pastorates followed at Hanover, 
Shirland, Leaf River and Byron. In 
the autumn of 1892, on account of the 
failing health of his younger daugh- 
ter, and by advice of physicians, he 
took a supernumerary relation to his 
Conference and moved to South Dako- 
ta, and served as pastor at Milbank 
and Aberdeen, two of the leading ap- 
pointments of that Conference. In 
the fall of 1896 he went to Jameston, 
North Dakota, where he had one of 
the best years of his ministry. His 
daughter's health having been fully 
restored he returned to Rock River 
Conference in 1897. and the following February was appointed pastor of the Mount 
Morris church, it being his third pastorate in Ogle county. His work here has been 
pleasant and evidently satisfactory to the membership, as at the end of each succeed- 
ing Conference year the official board has given him a unanimous invitation to re- 
turn. The church property has been thoroughly remodeled and improved during his 
pastorate, the finances all met and all the departments of the church are working 
pleasantly and harmoniously. On the first day of June, 1880, he was married to Miss 
Amy S. McHoes, the eldest daughter of Peter McHoes, of Davis, 111. They have two 
daughters. Mary and Ida. both in school in this city ; the former at the College, and 
the latter in the High School. 

Lutheran Evangelical Church. 




REV. F. W. NAZARENE. 



The first Lutheran minister in this part of the state was Rev. N. J. 
Stroh who came from Pennsylvania in the fall of 1845 and settled at Ore- 
gon. He began preaching at once in Mount Morris every two weeks in the 
chapel of the old M. E. Seminary. In consequence of many conflicting ap- 
pointments in the Chapel, he quietly withdrew and began holding services 



182 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

in a schoolhouse a few miles from Mount Morris on the Oregon road.. 
When a school house was built in Mount Morris he began preaching in 
that, but soon having more appointments than he could fill, he relin- 
guished Mount Morris and Oregon to Rev. Nicholas Burket. Rev. Burket 
was succeeded in turn by Revs. Ephraim Miller and A. A. Trimper. Un- 
der the pastoral care of Rev. Trimper the congregation was fully organized 
and a constitution adopted which, with only fews changes, is still in force, 
though the exact date of the formal organization can not now be ascer- 
tained, as the earliest records have been lost. It seems that a church 
building was about this time begun. Rev. Stroh having solicited the funds,, 
and on June 17, 18.54, the corner stone was laid by Rev. Stroh, assisted by 
Rev. Dr. C. B. Thummel. 

Rev. Geo. A. Bowers was pastor here for a season during which a " fine 
brick church " was dedicated May 2, 1856, at a cost of $3000.00, all " paid 
for by the active band." 

On the 23rd of April, 1857, Mount Morris became a separate charge, hav- 
ing been in connection with Oregon to that date, though Rev. Bowers, pas- 
tor at Oregon, continued to preach here occasionally. 

Rev. Cornelius Riemensnyder became pastor in April, 1858, and served 
one year. In October, 1859, came Rev. Daniel Schindler who likewise was 
pastor one year, when Rev. Ephraim Miller again took charge, continuing 
until Apr., 1863. Rev. Ruf us Smith became pastor in May, 1861, and served 
for more than a year, during which time a parsonage was purchased, April 
29, 1865, for S900.00. Rev. Whitehill came in October, 1867, and was suc- 
ceeded in November, 1869, by Rev. A. Frick, who in turn was followed by 
Rev. L. L. Lipe in January, 1872, who continued in the pastorate until Oc- 
tober, 1879. 

In May, 1877, it was decided to select another location and build a new 
church costing $5,000, more or less, the work not to begin, however, until 
$3,500.00 had been provided for that purpose, independently of the old 
property. The cornerstone was laid September 30, 1877, Rev. Detweiler 
preaching the discourse. The church was dedicated November 10, 1878, 
the venerable Prof. Samuel Sprecher, D. D., L. L. D., Springfield, Ohio, de- 
livering the sermon, after which $1800.00 were raised for the indebtedness. 
The church and furniture cost a little over $7000.00, the lot which was do- 
nated by Hon. R. R. Hitt not included. 

Rev. J. W. Henderson, coming to the pastorate in October, 1879, and 
continuing until March, 1881, was followed by Rev. Max Lentz, July, 1881, 
who served until February, 1884. During his pastorate the old parsonage, 
now the improved property of Josiah Avey, was sold for $1,100.00, as had 
been the old church to the Christian denomination for $900.00 previously, 
the proceeds of both going to the payment of the indebtedness on the new 
church, which was fully met and cancelled by additional subscriptions. 

A jubilee service was held June 29, 1883, when Rev. Haithcox, presi- 
dent of Northern Illinois Synod, preached a suitable sermon, after which 
Samuel Lookabaugh, the treasurer, read a report which showed that the 
organization had no indebtedness resting upon it, and from that time to 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 



183 



the present the congregation has always promptly met its financial obli- 
gations. It was likewise during the term of Rev. Lentz, in 1882, that the 
Synod of Northern Illinois held in this town its Thirty-second Annual 
•Convention conjointly with the Fifth Annual Convention of the Woman's 
Missionary Society of the Synod; also that the four hundreth anniversary 
of the birth of Martin Luther was celebrated, November 10 and 11, 1883, 
when appropriate addresses were delivered by Prof. Carl W. Belsar, Hon. 
R. R. Hitt and others. 

The church was without a pastor a year and a half after Rev. Lentz's 
departure but its pulpit was supplied the greater part of the interval by 
Prof. E. L. Bartholomew, then teaching in the College, and Rev. W. 







-**"!Jr 



LUTHERAN CHURCH AND PARSONAGE. 

Eichelberger, of Virginia, who served the church by special arrangement 
for one month, closing with Easter Communion and fifteen accessions. 

Rev. Edwin S. Hoffman became pastor in June, 1885, and closed his 
work in October the following year. Rev. L. Ford, pastor at Oregon, for 
a few years supplied the pulpit here every alternate Sabbath, until Nov. 
1, 1890, when he severed his relation as pastor at Oregon, and began to 
give his whole time to Mount Morris. Meanwhile the present parsonage 
was erected at a cost of about twelve hundred dollars, the lot being given, 
as in the case of the church, by Mr. Hitt; also the roof of the church was 
reshingled, the building painted and a new furnace installed in the base- 
ment. 



184 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Rev. L. L. Lipe immediately followed Rev. Ford, beginning his second 
term as pastor her ^ Nov. 1, 1897. A year ago the auditorium was hand- 
somely repaired and decorated at an expense of about eight hundred dol- 
lars and the last summer about two hundred dollars were expended on 
the lower rooms, so that the interior of the church is now in excellent 
condition. 

Daring its history this church, like all similar organizations, has en- 
joyed at intervals its seasons of special prosperity, and likewise exper- 
ienced seasons of decline, but, all in all, there has been gradual growth 
and its present condition is both substantial and hopeful, numerically, 
spiritually and financially. 

The present resident membership is about one hundred and twenty- 
five. The membership is amenable to the church council elected by the 
congregation and formally installed for a term of two years, the pastor be- 
ing chairman. The present ofiicers are A. E. Canode and W. H. Miller, eld- 
ers, and S. Mumma, W. H. Jackson, C. E. Price and W. H. Swingley, dea- 
cons. Mr. Miller is likewise secretary of the council and treasurer. 

The Sunday school is under the superintendence of Mrs. Flora S. Lipe 
with an enrollment of about one hundred and thirty-five. The school is 
well organized, has good equipment in all respects and not only supports 
itself but contributes liberally towards the benevolences of the church at 
large. Mrs. Ella Winders is president of the Christian Endeavor Society 
which has at present a membership of about thirty and gives twenty-five 
dollars each year to the support of a missionary in Africa. The president 
of the Ladies' Aid Society is Mrs. Nellie Baker. This organization by its 
varied activities raises several hundred dollars every year which it appro- 
priates as the needs of the church seem to require. 

The Mount Morris church is in connection with the Synod of North- 
ern Illinois which belongs to the General Synod of the Evangelical Luth- 
eran church in America, one of four large bodies into which the Lutheran 
church in;this country is divided on accovint of differences in languages, 
religiovis customs and interpretation of certain articles of the Augsburg 
Confession which all Lutherans hold in common and to which its minis- 
ters are required to give their adherence. Members in general, however, 
are only asked to pledge themselves to the observance of a faithful Chris- 
tian life and accept the doctrines of the Apostles' creed and give obedi- 
ence to the disciplinary rules of the church. That great latitude in theo- 
ogical views is permitted in the ministry is evinced by the fact that with- 
in the last thirty years there has not been perhaps a single trial for heresy 
in the General Synod. 

The Mount Morris church has recently enjoyed the rare privilege of 
entertaining for the second time the Synod of Northern Illinois which 
held its Fiftieth Annual convention here October 17, 1900, comprising in 
attendance about fifty ministers and delegates. 

Biographical sketches of Rev. Stroh, and Rev. L. L. Lipe, the present 
pastor, will here be appropriate: 

The Rev. Nicholas J. Steoh was, at the time of his death, the oldest Evangel- 




REV. N. J STROH. 
Pioneer Liitlieruu minister: Died Jaiiuar.v 1. 1897 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 187 

ical Lutheran minister in the Synod of Northern Illinois and probably in the United 
States. More than sixty of the ninety-nine odd years of his long life were spent in 
active ministerial duties. Forty of these years were devoted to work in Illinois. He 
was licensed at Lebanon, Pa., in 1823. His last charge was at West Grove, northwest 
of Mount Morris, and after the termination of his connection there he lived in Mount 
Morris, retired from the active duties of the ministry, until his death on Jan. 1, 1897. 

He was familiarly known as " Father Stroh." The name of his father before him 
was the same as his own, and the senior Stroh was a well-to-do farmer of Pennsyl- 
vania. He was a successful business man and passed the greater portion of his life 
in Dauphin county in that state. 

Mr. Stroh was born May 5, 1798, in Dauphin county, and received his education 
partly in the public schools of his native state, and was an attendant at the schools of 
his native county. He early formed a resolution to enter the ministry, and was fitted 
for that calling under the instruction of private tutors. He first entered upon his 
classical and theological studies under the preceptorship of his brother-in-law. Rev. 
J. N. Hemping, of Lykins Valley, Dauphin Co.. Pa., and later he continued his studies 
with Rev. George Lochman, D. D., of Harrisburg. After being licensed to preach in 
the year named, he was assigned (in connection witli Rev. A. H. Lochman) to home 
missionay work, in the northwestern counties of his native state, in which he was 
for a short time engaged. After the expiration of his missionary tour, he received 
a pressing invitation to locate in Lewistown, Miflin Co., Pa., where he organized the 
first Evangelical Lutheran church, besides other organizations in different parts. 
He officiated in the interests of the Lewistown church for some time. Previous to his 
efforts there the church was chiefly Mennonites. 

He next accepted a call to Newville, Cumberland Co., Pa., where he conducted 
the organizing of several Lutheran churches, and, after a service there of more than 
five years, he divided his work, and located at Shippersburg, where he remained 
about seven years. A part of his field of labor was in Franklin county, in the same 
state. Later he went to Mechanicsburg in the south of Cumberland county and 
preached there for a period of five years. While engaged in furthering the interests 
of his church in his native state, he founded at least a dozen church socities. and 
Ijlaced them on a firm and enduring basis. 

In the fall of 1845 he came to Illinois. Oregon, in Ogle county, where he located, 
was then in its primary days, and consisted of but a few houses. He was occupied 
in the duties of his calling there for eighteen months, and during that time he found- 
ed a church society of his own denomination, which is still in good working order. 
His next field was at Mount Morris, where he located on a farm in the vicinity of 
the village ; he had purchased it while at Oregon, the conditions making it necessary 
for him to give part of his energies and attention to the pressing necessities of the 
growing wants of his family, the church organization not being sufficiently large to 
supply them in the usual way. 

After removal here, he built churches and formed several socities of the Luther- 
an denomination. He also improved a farm on which he made his home. He con- 
tinued his connection with the duties of an active ministerial life until about 1880, and 
has since relinquished regular labor in that avenue. His life was one of useful effort 
and, in the best sense, one of success. 

Mr. Stroh and Miss Elizabeth Givler were joined in marriage in 1827. in Pennsyl- 
vania. She was a native of the same section of the county as himself, and was born 
Dec. 2, 1807. Her parents were natives of the Keystone state, also, where they passed 
the entire course of their lives. Of ten children born to them only five survive : Mrs. 
Maria Shultz, of Mount Morris; Mrs. Martha E. Sprecher, of Chicago; Gustavus, of 
Elgin; Mrs. Augustus C. Riner, of Kansas City; and Mrs. Josephine Clark, of Mount 
Morris. 

LuTHEE L. Life, the subject of this sketch, is Germanic in blood, belonging to the 
fourth generation born in America. The father, Daniel Lipe, and the mother, Matilda 
Walter, were both natives of Cabarras county, North Carolina, and joining in mar- 
riage at an early age. two years later they migrated to Illinois, reaching their destina- 
tion in Montgomery county, in the fall of 1834. Here they invested a few hundred 



188 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



dollars in government prairie land, erected thereon a log hut in the fringe of ad- 
jacent woodland, and began thus the pioneer life of hard work, bitter self-denial and 
rigid economy, which enabled them eventually to own a large and well-improved 
farm. Upon this farm, seven miles north of Hillsboro. this sturdy couple lived until 
1868, when they removed to Sterling, where the mother died at the age of seventy-nine 
and the father at the age of eighty-six. Both had from childhood been members of 
the Lutheran church. 

Ten children were born to these parents, six daughters and four sons, all of 
whom are yet living except the third daughter, who died in young motherhood. 
Luther L. was the sixth child and the third son. Reared on the farm, he went regular- 
ly to the district school until seventeen years of age. when he began his collegiate 
and theological education at Springfield. 111., and which was uninterruptedly con- 
tinued in Pennsylvania College, and completed in the Theological Seminary at Gettys- 
burg, in 1870. Ordained to the Gospel ministry of the Lutheran church in Septem- 
ber, 1871. by the Synod of Northern 
Illinois, in January following he be- 
came pastor of the church at Mount 
Morris, remaining until the last of 
September, 1879. While pastor here 
Mr. Lipe was wedded to Miss Flora 
Stager, youngest child of John S. 
Stager. Esq., Sterling. 111., in Novem- 
ber. 1872. and two children were born 
to them : John Stager, who died at the 
age of eleven months, and some years 
later Olive was given to them, their 
last born and only living child. 

The congregation prosi^ered and 
in 1878 the old brick church in the 
east part of the town was relin- 
gnished for a more eligible site, and 
the l)eautiful house of worship com- 
l»leted at a cost of over seven thousand 
dollars. 

The next pastorate was in Dixon, 
l)egiiiniiig October 1. 1879, and lasting 
until August, 188.'), — very happy and 
successful years for both pastor and 
people. — when he went to Lincoln, 
Nebr.. in charge of the Women's Sec- 
ond Memorial, St. Mark's church, an 
important mission. Mr. Lipe happily 
avows that it was here that he met 
with his first and last serious disap- 
pointment in his ministerial career; 
when a fine central location had been 
purchased; the plan of a new and costly church edifice adopted: the bids of con- 
tractors on file with the liuilding committee and the required funds practically se- 
cured. — at this last hour personal ambition to change and control location engen- 
dered strife, causing serious division, and the whole project was defeated. 

Three years were next spent in West Point, Nebraska. The church building was 
doubled in its capacity by large additions, the membership greatly increased in num- 
bers and all departments flourished: This place was likewise a mission. 

September 1, 1892. he went to Sharon, Wis. The church had been rent asunder 
by bitter contention and personal animosities, and two full years were required to 
unite the forces in church fellowship again. Dissatisfied with the business manage- 
ment of the church which he had tried in vain to improve, at the end of five and a 
half years as pastor there Mr. Lipe withdrew and again assumed charge at Mount Mor- 
ris, November 1, 1897. In the summer of 1899 the auditorium was renovated and im i 




REV. L. L. LIPE. 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 189 

proved, at a cost of about eight hundred dollars and the basement has just undergone 
similar changes at an expense of about one hundred and seventy-five dollars. The 
membership, on the whole, heartily co-operates with the pastor and the church, and 
all its organized departments are regarded as in good condition. The Synod has at 
different times entrusted to Mr. Lipe highly responsible duties as its secretary and 
president for several terms, trustee of Carthage college a number of years, and 
delegate to the General Synod on several occasions. He solemnly avers, however, 
that he is best satisfied when quietly and exclusively in pursuit of the welfare of his 
own church and people. 

Christian Church. 

The Christian church (Disciples of Christ) of Mount Morris was or- 
ganized in March, 1880, by State Evangelist J. H. Wright with about forty 
charter members. Prior to 1880 there were probably about a dozen mem- 
bers of this faith living in Mount Morris. The Christian church at Pine 
Creek was the nearest place where they could worship according to their 
faith and frequently they were in attendance at that place. During the 
fall of 1879, Rev. D. G. Howe, pastor of the Lanark Christian church, con 
ducted a series of revival meetings here, lasting over three weeks, during 
which time about fifteen converts were made. These with those already 
members of the church immediately decided to establish a church in 
Mount Morris, and after extended negotiations finally purchased the brick 
edifice in the eastern part of the town, which had been property of the 
Lutheran church and been used by them for many years, but was vacant 
on account of the building of their new edifice in the west part of town. 
For this property they paid $900 and during the winter of 1879-'80 several 
hundred dollars more were expended in repairing the church, — painting it 
inside and out, building the steeple, furnishing the interior with new seats 
and putting in the baptistry under the pulpit and the dressing rooms on 
either side. 

After the building had been prepared for occupancy, occurred the or- 
ganization of the church by State Evangelist J. H. Wright, in March, 1880, 
as previously mentioned. Jacob Keedy, W. S. Blake and Joseph Wagner 
were chosen the first trustees; Dr. Mershon and C. G. Blakslee, elders; and 
W. S. Blake and Scott Kennedy as deacons. For about a year the organi- 
zation conducted its own services, until 1881, when Rev. G. W. Ross was 
engaged as pastor, dividing his time equally with the Pine Creek congrega- 
tion. Rev. J. H. Carr came next in the spring of 1885 and remained two 
years, and was followed by Rev. D. R. Rowe, who came over from Lanark 
every two weeks to preach. His pastorate was brief and the Rev. G. W. 
Pearl took charge, alternating every other Sunday with the Pine Creek 
congregation. Following him came in succession the Revs. T. B. Stanley, 
C. T. Spitler, J. B. Wright and H. G. Waggoner, all of whom devoted their 
entire time to the charge, each remaining about two years with the excep- 
tion of Messrs. Spitler and Waggoner, who were here only about one year. 
After the departure of Rev. Waggoner the church was without a pastor 
about a year, until Rev. D. F. Seyster, the present pastor, took charge in 
February, 1900. Rev. Seyster lives at Pine Creek and divides his time be- 
tween the Mount Morris and Pine Creek churches. 



190 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



At present the congregation is enjoying prosperity, meeting all finan- 
cial obligations with ease. They make frequent donations to missions and 
support their pastor liberally. The membership is about 100, 

A Sunday School with a membership of about 75 meets each Sabbath 
morning at 9:30 o'clock. Prior to June, 1900, A. B. Keller, a student of 
Mount Morris College, had been superintendent for several years. Since 




CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 



that time Miss Ada Allen has filled the office with credit, and with an effi- 
cient corps of young teachers is doing a good work among the young people. 
The Christian Endeavor Society, which meets each Sunday evening, is 
a band of enthusiastic young Christian workers, under the guidance of 
Miss Winnie Doward, president of the society. Their meetings are inter- 
esting and helpful to themselves and their visitors. 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 



191 



The Ladies' Aid Society does much toward raising the necessary fi- 
nances of the church. Mrs. John Pridley is president of the society. 

Following is a biography of Rev. D. F. Seyster, present pastor of the 
church: 

Rev. David Franklin Seystek is a native of the township of Pine Creek, where 
he was born June 14. 1858. He is a son of David and Catherine Seyster, who were born 
in Washington county. Md., and who were well known in the country to which they re- 
moved in its early days. The father was born in 1826 and the mother in 1829 and their 
marriage took place in their native country in 1853. The father was reared in Ogle 
county, and was educated in the common schools of his township. When ready to set- 
tle down in life he returned to Maryland for his wife. They entered 120 acres of land 
in section 10 in Pine Creek township, in the year of their marriage, the tract being en- 
tered at the land office at Dixon, and is registered as the last piece of land entered in 
the state of Illinois, the land office being closed the day succeeding that on which they 
took out the papers. The father remained on this possession until he owned 300 acres 
of land. He died in 1864. His widow married John M. Kennedy some twelve years later 
and is still a resident of Pine Creek. 

David Franklin, the subject of 
this sketch, is the youngest of the 
three living members of their family 
of six children. He attended the coun- 
try school of his district and later the 
Polo high school several years, after 
which he engaged in teaching school 
in the district in which he had himself 
been a pupil and in summers he oper- 
ated as a farmer. He served as town- 
ship assessor and in the Pine Creek 
Sunday school filled the position of 
superintendent for seven or eight 
years. Mr. Seyster finally decided to 
enter the ministry, and preached his 
first sermon at LeClair, la.. Feb. 12. 
1888. He was called to the pastorate of 
the Coleta church in March, 1889, sup- 
plying the pulpit at the Pine Creek 
church half of the time. In the fall of 
1889 he resigned to attend Eureka Col- 
lege. Five years were spent in study 
there, during which time he preached 
on Sundays at Kempton, Roanoke and 
Woodhull. In 1894 he graduated from 
the Eureka College, having completed 
the classical course and done part of 
the work in a theological course. 

Immediately after graduation. 
Rev. Seyster was called to take charge 
of the Central Christian churcli of 
Kankakee, 111., and spent three and 

one-half years of successful work there. In the fall of 1897 he came to Pine Creek to 
visit the scenes of his childhood and commenced a series of revival meetings in the 
Pine Creek church. His efforts were rewarded with wonderful success, there being 
forty-six accessions. 

In the fall of 1897, he resigned the charge at Kankakee to accept a call to the Lj-nn- 
ville (111.) church, where he continued until February, 1900. Since that time he has had 
charge of the churches at Mount Morris and Pine Creek and is leading them l)oth very 
successfully. Mr. Seyster has experienced particularly good success in evangelistic 
work, as evidenced by his work at the Pine Creek church in 1897. mentioned above. 




REV. D. F. SEYSTER. 



192 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Brethren Church. 

The German Baptist Brethren or Dunkard church is the strongest de- 
nomination in Mount Morris and differs radically in point of faith and 
practice from the other three. Their most distinctive feature is their 
form of dress, which, like everything else about their mode of worship, is 
required to embody principles of plainness and simplicity. 

The first church of this denomination in Ogle county was at West 
Branch, about seven miles northwest of Mount Morris, in Lincoln town- 
ship, where the few members in Mount Morris township worshipped for a 
number of years. Finally in the year 1867 the territory of the West 
Branch church was divided and a new church established ia Mount Mor- 
ris township, about four miles northeast of Mount Morris, what is now 
known as the Silver Creek church, with a membership of about 100. Eld. 
D. E. Price was put in charge of it and continvied its elder for many years. 
Prom 1867 until about 1879, the Brethren residing in the village of Mount 
Morris attended services at this church at Silver Creek. 

In the year 1879, as previously mentioned in detail in this volume, the 
Old Rock River Seminary, which had been conducted by the Methodist 
denomination for so many years, became the property of several members 
of the Brethren church, and although it continued the property of indi- 
vidiials, it became a str ictly Dunkard school, conducted in strict accord- 
ance with the rules of the church. The members of the faculty sel cted 
were nearly all members of the church and together with their families 
and other people of the denomination who were drawn here to educate 
their children or for other purposes, soon formed quite a colony of the 
Brethren, living in the village. They began immediately to hold religious 
services in the old seminary chapel and soon formed a strong church, with 
many able members. 

The entire membership of the old Silver Creek church, the Mount 
Morris church, and of the Salem church, later established in Pine Creek 
township, south of town, was known as the Silver Creek congregation and 
still continues under that name. Eld. David E. Price, first elected elder 
of the Silver Creek church in 1867, has been re-elected each year and still 
holds that position, after a term of faithful service of thirty-three years. 
The church here in Mount Morris soon outstripped the formerly strong 
Silver Creek church and by gradual growth each year has now attained a 
membership of 275 persons residing in the village alone. The entire Sil- 
ver Creek congregation, however, iucluding the Silver Creek and Salem 
churches has a membership of over four hundred. The church is governed 
by an official board consistiug of the presiding elder, his associate minis- 
ters and deacons. The present deacons of the congregation are Willough- 
by Felker, Wm. Gaffin, David Emmert, Wm. Price, Lewis Miller, A. M. 
Plory, Ernest Long, Prof. G. E. Weaver and Henry Mumma. 

Financially, the church is in the best of circumstances. There is no 
salary paid any of the ministers but the members give over $1,500 yearly 
for benevolences. Of this from $1,100 to $1,300 goes to defray expenses of 
the church and about $300 or $400 applied to home and foreign missions. 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 



193 



( 



The money for the church expenses is raised by regular taxation, each 
property owner paying according to his means. The younger members 
who have no property make volunteer contributions. The money raised 
for missionary purposes is made up entirely by volunteer contributions. 

The members of the Mount Morris Brethren church are far ahead of 
the great majority of churches in the way of religious advantages for their 
spiritual advancement. The presence of the college adds many individ- 
uals of ability to its ranks who can readily take prominent part in servic- 
es of all kinds. Among the professors are always a number of ordained 
ministers of the gospel and together with an exceptionally large number 
of resident preachers who have been drawn to Mount Morris by its excep- 
tional religious and educational advantages, give the church much pres- 
tige. Regular attendants at the College chapel have opportunity to hear 
a great variety of sermons as no 
one man seldom preaches there 
of tener than once in two or three 
months. Then, too, it is very fre- 
quent that visiting ministers, some 
of the best in the Brotherhood, 
preach in the chapel on Sundays 
or hold long revival services dur- 
ing the winter time. The attend- 
ance during the school year, while 
the students are here nearly equals 
that of the .other three churches 
combined, especially on Sunday 
evening in the winter. 

Besides the advantage of an 
endless change of its ministerial 
appointments, the frequent occur- 
rence of enlivening revival meet- 
ings, and the vim and vigor of all 
doings of the church, due to the 
presence of the large ministerial 
force, the Mount Morris congrega- 
tion has access each year to a two- 
weeks' special Bible term at the 
college. Frequently, the church 
has the pleasure of entertaining 

large gatherings of the Brethren, such as the District meeting, Sunday 
School and Ministerial meetings, etc., with delegates from all over North- 
ern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin, which add much to the interest of 
the local members in church work. 

Prominent among those who have served the church as ministers in 
the past and helped build it up to its present strength, are Elds. D. E. 
Price, D. L. Miller, J. H. Moore, J. G. Royer and Joseph Amick. Elder 
Price is already mentioned as having served the church as the presiding 




KLD. D. L. MILLER. 



194 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



elder for thirty-three years. During this period he has devoted much 
time to the duties of his office, and deserves much credit for the harmony 
and the standard of loyalty which he has preserved among the members. 
Eld. D. L. Miller is another to whom the church is deeply indebted. He 
has spent over twenty years in Mount Morris connected with the Breth- 
ren Publishing Company and Mount Morris College. His travels in Eur- 
ope and the Bible Lands make him one of the best informed men in the 
Brotherhood and one of their very best preachers. When it comes his 
turn to preach in the chapel he is always greeted by a very large audience. 
Mr. Miller is also a lecturer of ability, having in the past few years given 
hundreds of " talks," as he prefers to call them, concerning his travels in 
the Bible Lands, which are illustrated by the use of a fine stereopticon. 
A more extended biography of Mr. Miller appears in the biographical di- 
rectory in the rear of this book. Eld. J. H. Moore, while pursuing his 
work as one of the editors of the Gospel Messenger, preached in his turn 
and took active part in the affairs of the church. He is a deep thinker and 
presented weighty sermons. His removal to Elgin with the Brethren Pub 





'^m^ 


m 


m^mm&'^^ 




! 


flii^;^i^^ifit?:/**^'^_^: 



PARTIAL VIEW IN COLLEGE CHAPEL. 



lishing House was much regretted as was also that of Eld. Joseph Amick, 
business manager of the publishing house and Galen B. Royer, secretary 
of the General Missionary and Ti'act Committee. Both of these gentle- 
men were able preachers and were prominent in the church here. Prof. J. 
G. Royer, like Eld. D. E. Price, still remains with the church to continue 
his long term of usefulness. His sermons are second to none in point of 
excellence to any clergyman in Mount Morris. A portrait of Prof. Royer 
appears on page 111 and a biography on page 11.3. Eld. Simon E. Yundt, 
who moved to California in the fall of 1900, was an elder in the church 
about five years and a valuable member of the ministerial force. He did 
some evangelistic work during his last year here. Profs. J. E. Miller and 
D. D. Culler of the college, who went to other fields in the summer of 1900, 
were ministers of the church and for a number of years previous to their 
removal preached able sermons to the people in their turn. 

At the present time, besides Elds. D. E. Price, D. L. Miller, and J. G. 
Royer, already mentioned, the ministerial force of the church contains 
Elds. D. E. Brubaker, W. G. Cook and Ephraim Trostle, Prof. W. L. Eiken- 
berry and M. W. Emmert. Eld. Brubaker is a pleasing speaker and 



RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 



197 



spends considerable time in late years conducting revival meetings at var- 
ious places. Eld. Cook but recently moved to Mount Morris from Dakota 
where he had been preaching in a country church. Eld. Trostle came to 
Mount Morris in November, 1900, having previously lived north of town, 
and preached principally in the Silver Creek church. Prof W. L. Eiken- 
berry attends to occasional ministerial duties along with his work in the 
college. He is a good sermonizer. A portrait of Prof. Eikenberry appears 
on page 111 and his biography on page 114. M. W. Emmert is one of the 
best of the younger preachers. He is at present teaching and doing some 
work in the college. See biography on page 116. 

There are also living in Mount Morris a number of superannuated 
ministers, who have done some preaching and occasionally fill the chapel 
pulpit or the pulpits at Silver Creek and Salem. Among them are Eman- 
uel Newcomer and Isaac Barnhizer. 

The ministerial force of the Mount Morris Brethren church is also 
often augmented by young ministers who are attending the college. Such 
is the case during the present school year, 1900 1901. At the quarterly 
council meeting of the church held in Mount Morris in July, 1900, two new 
ministers were elected, viz., — Prof. A. L. Clair, of the college, and Nelson 
Shirk, son of Levi Shirk of this place. They will be ordained after the 
proper preparation has been made. 

The Brethren Sunday school meets at 11 o'clock each Sunday with an 
attendance in the summer of between 150 and 175 pupils and in the winter, 
during the session of college, about 250 pupils. It is divided into two 
distinct sections, the primary and advanced. M. W. Emmert is sviperin- 
tendent of the former and Nelson Shirk of the latter. The weekly con- 
tributions amount to between three and five dollars, all of which goes to 
missions. Experienced corps of teachers are engaged in this work. 

The spiritual vim of the members of the church is kept from flagging 
by two prayer-meetings, — one Sunday evening and one Thursday even- 
ing. On Sunday evening there are senior and junior sections, the latter 
being attended by the younger members of the church and the students. 
Among the students are always a considerable number of young men who 
are preparing for the ministry and young ladies who expect to do mission- 
ary work, and together they have very enjoyable and profitable meetings. 
In the senior section there is also plenty of talent to discuss the questions 
adopted for each week's consideration. On Thursday evening the two sec- 
tions combine. 

The church also has a Sisters' Aid Society, a missionary society and 
a missionary reading circle. 

The future of the church is very encouraging. Mount Morris College 
which is now almost entirely property of the general Brethren church, 
continues as one of the foremost of the several colleges under the surveil- 
ance of the denomination, and prospects for its further advancement are 
very bright, which of course means further prestige for the local church. 

On the preceding page is a view of the Old Folks' Home in Mount 
Morris, which, like the college, is under the control of the Brethren. It 



198 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

is owned and supported by the District of Northern Illinois. In 1895 this 
division of the church appointed Elds. Jos. Amick, Edmund Forney and 
Melchor Newcomer a committee to incorporate and found a home for aged 
members of the church, and orphans. Mount Morris was selected as a suit- 
able location and their present spacious building erected on a 15-acre 
patch in the south edge of the village in 1895 at a cost of about $10,000. 
The funds for its establishment were donated by the various churches in 
the district. An endowment fund of about $18,000 for its support was 
created by Jacob Petrie of Polo who willed his estate for the establish- 
ment of the home. This fund has been raised to over $20,000 and is ex- 
pected to reach the $30,000 mark in the near future. At present about 
twenty-five aged members of the church are being taken care of in the 
home. A new building will be built in course of several years. Already 
an addition costing $1,500 has been built. The present trustees are Jos. 
Amick, Willoughby Pelker and D. L. Miller. Lewis Miller is superintend- 
ent, having succeeded Levi Kerns in that position. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



SECRET ORGANIZATIONS. 



One of the prominent elements in the make-up of man is his desire for 
associatian with his fellow creatures. This, together with the natural 
feeling of fraternal regard which exists between men, has been the means 
of the organization of hundreds of religious and civil denominations and 
societies, clubs, and fraternities. Among civil societies are many which 
are organized mainly for purposes of insurance and others merely for the 
fraternal and social benefit to its members. Every town or hamlet of 
whatever size has one or more of these societies. 

At the present time Mount Morris has seven secret societies, viz., — 
the Grand Army of the Republic, Modern Woodmen of America, Masons, 
Odd Fellows, Rebeccas, Maccabees, and Knights of the Globe, histories of 
which are here appended. 

Grand Army of the Republic. 

The G. A. R. is not a secret society in the exact sense of the other six 
mentioned, but from the fact that its meetings are not public, and the 
object of its organization is for the mutual benefit of its members, it can 
properly be classed with the others. In connection with this, the war his- 
tory of Mount Morris township will be in order. 

In the year 1861, as every one knows, the United States was plunged 
into a long and bloody war,— the South pitted against the North in terrific 
struggle, lasting over four long years. During this time President Lin- 
coln made eleven separate calls for volunteers to help suppress the rebel- 
lion. Among the 3,369,748 men who responded to these calls were many 
loyal citizens from Mount Morris township, who left their homes and 
families and sacrificed all in defense of their country's flag. The follow- 
ing list of names of men who enlisted from Mount Morris township is com- 
plete as far as obtainable: 



15th Illinois Infantry. 
Capt. Wm. H. Gibbs, company H. 
Adjutant Geo. Q. Allen, company H. 
Judd L. Bond, company H. 
Carlton R. Cheney, company H. 
Levi Palmer, company H. 
Jasper C. Washburn, company H. 
Charles F. Neif , company H. 
O. W, Newton, comijany H. 

23rd Illinois Infantry. 
Peter Freerkson. 



34th Illinois Infantry. 
Major J. McClelland Miller, company H. 
Capt. Henry H. Newcomer, company H. 
Capt. Peter Householder, comijany H. 
Lieut. Benj. R. Wagner, company H. 
2nd Lieut. John M. Smith, company H. 
Corp. Robert C. Heister, company H. 
Corp. Wm. J. Fouke, company H. 
Corp. Charles Fletcher, company H. 
Corp. Levi R. Holsinger, company H. 
Corp. Luther M. Stroh, company H. 
Thomas J. Avey, company H. 

(199) 



200 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Wni. H, Coggins, company H. 

Davis B. Meridith, company H. Killed at 

. Resaca, Ga. 
John A. Noel, company H. Killed at Shi- 

loh. 
John H. Sharer, company H. 
Harrison Sage, company H. 
Daniel B. Turney. company H. Killed at 

Shiloh. 
Thomas W. Withers, company H. 
Jacob H. Withers, company H. 
Nehemiah Wagner, company H. 
Capt. David C. Wagner, company K. 
Dr. Francis A. McNeill, surgeon. 

46th Illinois Infantry. 

Capt. Frederick H. Marsh, company E. 
Jasper N. Stonebraker. company E. 
Elaphilet J. Stonebraker, company E. 

GOth Illinois Infantry. 
John H. Pritchard, company K. 

140th Illinois Infantry. 
Capt. James H. Cartwright, company I. 
Sergeant Wilbur A. McNeill, company I. 
Sergeant Henry Stewart, company I. 
Alfred E. Stroh, company I. 
Fenton F. Skinner, company I. 
James N. Smith, company I. 
Elisha Wolford. company I. 
Samuel R. Blair, company I. 
Daniel Castle, company I. 
Geo. W. Davis, company I. 
L. L. Davis, company I. 
Luther D. Potter, company I. 
John K. Palmer, company I. 
Benjamin Rine, company I. 

Ii2nd Illinois Infantry. 
Henry Hiestand, company D. 

149th Illinois Infantry. 
Sergeant Benj. F. Hiestand, company D. 

Died at Andersonville Prison. 
1st Lieut. G. W. Marshall, company K. 
Geo. W. Fouke. company K. 
James B. Cheney, company K. 
Thomas Coggins, company K. 
Geo. W. Anderson, company K. 
Thos. W. Carter, company K. 
Robert Crosby, company K. 
John S. Fish, company K. 



Spenser V. Miller, company K. 

Charles T. Marsh, company K. 

Charles B. Potter, company K. 

Muhlenburg Stroh, company K. 

August Stahlhut, company K. Wounded, 

and died at Andersonville prison. 
Wm. S. Speraw, company K. 
Wm. H. Sheets, company K. 
Eli G. Withers, company K. 
David B. Turney. company K. 
Dr. Thomas Winston, surgeon. 

U. S. Colored Infantry. 
Jesse Crawford. 

2nd Illinois Cavalry. 
Daniel Shaw, company A. 
Francis Turney, company A. 

4th Illinois Cavalry. 
Jesse O. Allen, company D. 
Alfred M. Doward, company D. 
Augustus Fenton, company D. 
Wm. Householder, company D. 
Thomas M. Hitt. company D. 
Thomas L. Potter, company D. 
Henry Rice, company D. 
Isaiah Rowland, company D. 
John E. Withers, company D. 
Eli G. Withers, company D. 
Wm. Wolfe, company D. 
Sergeant M. H. Wallace, company E. 
Franklin Black, company E. 
Andrew M. Glasgow, company E. 
Capt. Joseph E. Hitt, company M. 
Edwin Fenton, company M. 
Quartermaster John W. Hitt, company D 
(consolidated). 

7th Illinois Cavalry. 
Andrew Sharp, company B. 

12th Illinois Cavalry. 

Capt. John F. Wallace, company L. 
Lieut. Oliver H. Swingley, company L. 

14th Illinois Cavalry. 
Lieut. Isaac H. Allen, company D. 
Wm. E. McCready, company E. 
Reynolds Fouke, company E. 

Major Chas. Newcomer. Paymaster in De- 
partment of the Cumberland. 



After the close of the war many veterans, who had enlisted in Mary- 
land and other eastern states, settled in Mount Morris township. The 
following roll call of the dead contains the names of a number of them, 
who made Mount Morris their home for a number of years but whose 



SECRET ORGANIZATIONS. 



203 



names do not appear in the foregoing list, from the fact that they enlisted 
elsewhere. Most of them lie buried in one or the other of the two ceme- 
teries near Mount Morris. Following is the list: 



Allen. Isaac H, 


Herbert, H. 




Smith. J. M. 


Corning-. W. R. 


Heister. R. C. 




Stroh. M. 


Cog-g-ins, T. C. 


Kerns, Wm. 




Sage, W. H. 


Carter, T. 


Long, A. R. 




Shumway, E. 


Cheney, J. G. 


Long, J. T. 




Stuckenburg-, F. 


Castle. D. 


McNeill. F. A. 




Turney. D. 


Craddock, J. 


Mundabaugh. 


S.J. 


Thompson. G. W 


Crawford. J. 


Merriman, C. 




Typer. A. 


Cheney, C. 


Miller, J. McClelland 


Wallace. .J. 


Fletcher, C. 


Nefe, C. 




Withers. T. 


Freerkson, Peter 


Newcomer, H. 


H. 


Wagner. B. F. 


Fish, J. 


Newcomer, Dr 


■. D. 


Wilson. J. 


Fenton. E. 


Noel, J. A. 




Wallace. M. 


Granger. J. 


Pike, W. 




Wallace. Wm. 


Hitt. .Joseph 


Potter, C. 




Withers. H. 


Hickman. August 


Stroh. A. 




Welty. S. F. 


Householder, William 


Shaw. D. 




Worley. W. 


Hosking, J. M. 


Stahlhut, A. 




Wolfe. W. 


Hiestand, B. F. 


Sharp, A. 







The J. M. Smith Post No. 720, G. A. R., was organized in August of 1892. 
The object of its organization is that the old soldiers may properly care 
for each other in time of sickness or adversity and further, for their social 
and fraternal benefit. 

The first commander elected was Joseph M. Hosking, who served 
two and one-half years. Following him, Peter Householder served two 
years; R. D. McClure, one year; Ed. Slater, one year; H. C. Clark, two 
years: and Joseph Baker, the present commander, is serving his first year. 
The other officers chosen at the last election are: F. D. Fouke, Senior Vice 
Commander; L. L. Davis, Junior Vice Commander; G. W. Davis, Chaplain; 
Dr. D. Newcomer (deceased). Surgeon; Captain Peter Householder, Adju- 
tant; H. C. Clark, Quartermaster; B. F. Tracy, Officer of the Day; Oliver 
Beard, Officer of the Guard. 

Following are the names of the members of the Post and also the 
veterans living in the township who have not identified themselves with 
the organization: 



Oliver Beard. 2d Md. Inf. 
Uriah Brantner, U2d 111. Inf. 
A. R. Binkley, 140th 111. Inf. 
S. R. Blair, 140th 111. Inf. 
J. T. Baker, 69th 111. Inf. 
Robert Crosby, 192d 111. 

Mounted Inf. 
H. C. Clark. 37th Mass. Inf. 
P. Householder, 34th 111. Inf. 
James Stevens, 9th Pa. Cav. 
Chas. Unger, 21st Pa. Cav. 
John Small, 15th 111. Inf. 
Daniel Ridenour, 2nd Pa. 

Heavy Artillery. 



Ed. McCready, 14th 111. Cav. 
Benj. Rine, 140th 111. Inf. 

F. D. Fouke. 7th 111. Inf. 
J. E. Withers, 4th 111. Cav. 

A. M. Doward, 4th 111. Cav. 
R. D. McClure, 2d Pa. Inf. 
H. L. Smith, 2d 111. Cav. 

G. W. Davis. 140th 111. Inf. 
L. L. Davis, 140th 111. Inf. 
Rigdon McCoy, 7th Md. Inf. 

B. F. Tracy, 1st 111. Cav. 

Dallas Wesner, 

Ed. Slater, 10th Ohio Cav. 
John Merriman, — Pa. Cav. 



John Harris, 1st Md. Inf. 

Thomas Avey, 34th 111. Inf. 

Isaac Barnhizer, ;34th 
Inf. 

Levi Holsinger, 34th 111. Inf. 

Fred Frawert, 46th 111. Inf. 

Chas. Rubsamen, 3d Md. 
Cav. 

Charles Newcomer, Pay- 
master. 

Wm. E. Withers, 188th Pa. 
Inf. 

James Withers, 188th Pa, 
Inf. 



204 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

John Longman. 1st Md. Inf. John Palmer, 140 111. Inf. Wm. Finney, 142 111. Inf. 

Ed. Bricknell. 65th 111. Inf. Philip Shouse, Wm. J. Fouke. 34th 111. Inf. 

W. G. Cook, 73d Ind. Inf. Henry Easton, 13th 111. Inf. S. V. Miller, 92d 111. Inf. 

Masons. 

Samuel H. Davis Lodge, No, 96, A. F. &. A. M., has a history dating 
back over a half century. It was organized some time before 1850, the ex- 
act date of which does not appear on the records of the society. After or- 
ganization it worked under a dispensation for several years until a char- 
ter was obtained and reorganization effected October 6, 1851. The first 
principal officers under the charter were Isaiah Nilcoxen, W. M.: James 
Clark, S. W.; Wm. Little, J. W. Others of the first members after the 
charter had been obtained were Joseph S. Nye, Thomas Winston, Joseph 
Hale, W. T. Harlow, Elbridge W. Little, Nathaniel A. Ankney, Wm. A 
Plantz, Isaac Rice, Francis A. McNeill, Peter Knodle, Jonathan Knodle H 
I. Little, Benjamin K. Shryock, Ansel Streeter, S. H. Clems, John Donald- 
son, D. B. Turney, Abraham Pope, Edward Knock, James H. Fouke, Danie 
Highbarger, John Stanger, Benjamin Swingley, W. S. Pope, James M 
Webb. A Bible belonging to the Lodge and which was presented by the 
ladies of Mount Morris at the time these men, who are now nearly all dead, 
were members of the society, is still to be found in the lodge-room. It 
bears the date June 21, 1851. 

James Clark, who filled the office of S. W. at the time of the charter 
organization in 1851, afterward enjoyed the noted destinction of being the 
" oldest Mason in the world." He was made a Mason at Sunbury, Ohio, in 
1820, and remained in good standing in the society until the time of his 
death, which occurred but recently at his home at Quincy, 111. He lived 
in Mount Morris for a number of years and took active part in all doings 
of the Lodge. He finally moved from Mount Morris to Quincy, 111. Sever- 
al years before his death, when he became widely known as the oldest Ma- 
son in the world, the Masons of Sheffield, England, sent to Quincy to se- 
cvire a portrait of him. 

At the time of the organization of the Masonic fraternity in Mount 
Morris, they occupied what is known as the " Old Masonic Hall," where 
many of the old pioneer and prominent citizens of Mount Morris met reg- 
ularly for many years. In the view on page 51, reproditced from a photo- 
graph taken in about 1870, can be seen the venerable old building, the up- 
per story of which was used for the hall. It is ntimbered 18. It is now re- 
moved and with some alterations is still standing north of J. Strock's gro- 
cery, and is used by S. A. Shriner as a harness shop. In 1876 the new Ma- 
sonic building was erected in which they have since had quarters. Their 
room is large and well arranged, and probably the most elaborately fur- 
nished lodge-room in Mount Morris. They have a lease on the hall for 
ninety-nine years. The principal officers at present are: Gregor Thomp 
son, W. M.; R. C. McCredie, S. W.; Frank Cofl:man, J. W.; A. W. Brayton 
Treasurer; and T. C. Williams, Secretary. Messrs. Brayton and Williams 
have been repeatedly re-elected for many years. The other members of 
the lodge at present are: 



SECRET ORGANIZATIONS. 207 

Charles Smith U. C. Nye S. E. Avey 

Peter Householder A. C. Irviii B. E. Avey 

Benj. F. Shryock J. B. Moats Geo. Myers, Leaf River 

Samuel Knodle Charlie Myers Frank Graves, Leaf River 

Henry Sharer Georg-e Myers Dr. Mitchell, Leaf River 

N. A. Ankney Harry Cashing Dr. Bowerman, Leaf River 

J. T. Baker Bert Smith Benj. Rebman, Forreston 

A. E. Canode D. F. Stevens John Boekholder, " 

John E. McCoy Edward Jimnierson D. Harry Hammer, Chicago 

J. G. Miller Geo. B. McCosh C. W. Webster, Seward 

Chas. H. Canode George Zeigler Gottlieb Rummel, Freeport 

William Lohafer, Jr. N. E. Buser 

November 17, 1876, the Samviel H. Davis Lodge, No. 96, of Moviut Mor- 
ris, and Forreston Lodge No. 413, were consolidated under the former 
name, with O. H. Swingley, W. M.; D. Eine, S. W.; and J. H. Nye, J. W. 
This accou.nts for the occurrence of names of Forreston and Leaf River 
Masons in the above list. 

Knights of the Globe. 

Dick Yates Garrison, No. 31, K. of G., is an insurance as well as frater- 
nal and social organization, and is a comparatively new society in Mount 
Morris. A garrison was first organized here in 1891 by the Supreme Cap- 
tain-General W. W. Krape, with a membership of 15. There were not 
enough members to make them eligible to a charter and the members soon 
lost interest in the organization. Most of them gradually dropped out 
and the garrison became practically disorganized. Finally during the 
summer of 1900, Col. C. R. Greene of Jacksonville, general recruiting offi- 
cer of the Knights of the Globe, came to town and set the garrison again 
upon its feet. The required membership of thirty being secured, a charter 
was granted them, dated August 28, 1900. The officers elected were: John 
C. Marshall, Supreme Judge; S. P. Mumma, President; H. C. Clark, Judge; 
C. H. Canode, Vice-President; A. M. Newcomer, Commander; E. O. Startz- 
man, Lieut.-Commander. The appointive officers are: John Muller, En- 
sign; D. J. Beard, Provost Commander; C. H. Mishler, Quartermaster; H. 
G. Newcomer, Adjutant; Edward Mumma, Guard; George Weller, Sentinel. 
The other members of the Garrison are: 

R. R. Hitt I. W. Marshall William Fairlamb 

R. D. McCliire Dr. C. J. Price Chas. W. Weller 

J. G. Miller Roy Crawford Charles Niman 

Gera Watts R. C. McCredie Thomas Watts 

George Medlar Oliver Miller T. C. Williams 

Dr. W. W. Hanes A. T. Olson Dr. J. F. Canode 

Those who have served the garrison and who are entitled to the title 
of Honored Judge are: R. R. Hitt, R. D. McClure, T. C. Williams, J. G. Mil- 
ler, S. P. Mumma, E. O. Startzman and C. H. Mishler. 

The Garrison meets in the Odd Fellows' hall on the second Monday of 
each month. On the 22nd of every February a banquet is given in honor 
of the establishment of the organization. 



208 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

Modern Woodmen of America, 

Mount Morris Camp, M. W. A., No. 4526, is one of the youngest secret 
societies in Mount Morris, yet it is by far the largest in point of member- 
ship. The Woodman order is pre-eminently an insurance fraternity but 
also is organized with provisions for sociability among its members and 
benefits in times of sickness or disaster. 

The Mount Morris camp was organized February 9, 1897, by Deputy 
Head Council O. B. Olison, with a charter membership of twenty. The 
first officers elected were as follows: J. H. Miller, Venerable Council; Os- 
car Warble, Worthy Advisor; A. E. Clevidence, Banker; F. K. Spalding, 
Clerk; E. E. Winders, Escort; E. J. Allen, Watchman; Samuel Rowe, Sen- 
try; Dr. Hanes, Physician. The first board of managers elected were C. E. 
Price, 3 years; R. C. McCredie, 2 years; and A. W. Brayton, 1 year. 

The first member received into the camp was H. G. Newcomer, who 
was initiated into the mysteries of Woodcraft May 21, 1897. Only one 
death has occurred in the camp, that of Prof. E. E. Winders, who died No- 
vember 1, 1897. He carried $3000 insurance. The total amount paid by 
him in entrance fees and dues was only 816.60. 

The camp had its most prosperoias time during the spring of 1899, 
when the membership was raised to over one hundred, a surprisingly large 
number for one camp in a town of the population of Mount Morris. 

A photograph of the Forrester team which did the work of initiating 
the new members is reproduced on the opposite page. Elaborate uniforms 
were bought for their use. 

The present membei-ship of the camp is lOi. Most of them carry in- 
surance, varying from $500 to $3000. The total amount of insurance car- 
ried by all the members is $153,000. 

The present officers are: I. W. Marshall, Venerable Council; W. H. 
Keedy, Worthy Advisor; F. M. Baker, Banker: H. G. Newcomer, Clerk; H. 
E. Longman, Escort; S. B. Alter, Watchman: John H. Miller, Sentry; W. W. 
Hanes, Physician. The present board of directors is John H. Miller, Geo. 
W. Deppen and W. H. Jackson. 

The camp met for a number of years in the Masonic Hall but at pres- 
ent have a nicely-furnished hall over Watts' grocery. They meet on the 
1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month. The camp is in a very prosperous 
condition. The present members outside of the officers already men- 
tioned are: 

E. J. Allen F. M. Baker Wm. Donier 

S. B. Alter Elmer Baker Edward Drexler 

S. E. Avey L. R. Bear Jerry Easton 

Geo. C. Bain A. E. Clevidence Fred Frederickson 

J.W. Bechtold H. W. Gushing- Wm. Felker 

A. W. Brayton C. H. Canode I. E. Finney 

D. M. Bock J. B. Canode Alonzo Geiger 

C. N. Beard Fred Crosby John Green 

D. J. Beard J. F. Canode F. S. Gloss 
Otho Baker George Deppen W. W. Hanes 
Harry Baker James DriscoU Earl Householder 



SECRET ORGANIZATIONS. 



211 



Fred Hllger 

W. J. Healy 

O. E. Huff 

H. B. Haney 

A. C. Irvin 

S. J. Hess 

W. H. Jackson 

Fred Long 

H. E. Long-man 

L. E. Lizer 

Charles Leek 

J. B. Lookabaugh 

H. F. Longman 

S. M, Lyon 

F. A. Middlekauff 

John H. Miller 

James A. Mongan 

F. W. Nazarene 

A. T. Olson 

B. S. Price 
B. T. Ryder 



Ed. Jimmerson, Jr. 

B. S. Keister 

C. H. Mishler 
Wm. H. Keedy 
H. E. Keedy 
H. L. Kanode 
H. J. Kable 

J. C. Lehner 
A. C. Lookabaugh 
Chas. B. McCoy 
I. W. Marshall 
J. H. Miller 
R. C. McCredie 
J. D. Miller 
E. W. Middour 
Sam McNett 
Wni. Mongan 
Geo. H. Myers 
Robert McCoy 
H. G.* Newcomer 
J. D. Newcomer 



C. E. Price 
Samuel Rowe 
F. C. Remmer 
"Wm. Stewart 
George D. Steele 
George S. Shryock 
Chas. Spielman 
Dennis Tracy 
C. F. Thomas 
Oscar Warble 
F. K. Spalding 
C. E. Smith 
Geo. D. Shifter 
F. S. Stonebraker 
F. A. Tice 
C. H. Whitman 
Lewis Wallace 
*J. L. Rice 
*B. E. Avey 
*A. M. Newcomer 
*J. F. Muller 



In 1898, the various Woodman camps in Ogle county formed a picnic 
association, and each year since have held a grand picnic at some place in 
the county. The first picnic was held in Mount Morris in August, 1898, 
and was a grand success. 

Odd Fellows. 

Elysian Lodge, No. 56, 1. O. O. F., is also an organization of consider- 
able age. It was organized under a charter granted by the Grand Lodge 
of Illinois, dated July 25, 1849, with the following charter members: 
George W. Fouke, John F. Grosh, James N. Martin, Daniel Highbarger, 
Walter Wilson and Emanuel W. Myers. They met in various rooms 
about town for a time, notably in the second story of the old hovise now 
occupied by Daniel Eversole, shown on page 119. 

In 1850-52 many of the members of the lodge removed to California 
and elsewhere, weakening the society to such an extent that, in 1853, the 
charter was surrendered to the Grand Lodge. November 1, 1874, the 
lodge was re-organized, and the same charter and books were returned 
to it. The charter members and gentlemen who procured this re-organ- 
ization were Henry Sharer, B. G. Stephens, Elijah Lott, G. W. Fouke and 
W. J. Fouke. 

After this second organization the lodge met for a number of years 
in the room over C. H. Sharer's grocery, later used as the Index office. 
They next rented the room over John Sprecher's store in the Masonic 
building, now known as Stanley hall. Later they came into possession 
of a hall of their own in the second story of W. A. Newcomer's residence, 
upon which they have a lease for ninety-nine years. This hall is spa- 
cious and is elaborately furnished. They rent it to a number of the 
other secret organizations of the town. 



* Social member. 



212 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

The Odd Fellow lodge is probably in the best financial circumstances 
of any order in Mount Morris. Besides practically owning their hall 
they have in their treasury about $1500, accumulated in years past, 
which they have invested in government bonds and other property. 

At present the lodge is not as large numerically as it has been in the 
past, owing to a number of circumstances, one of which is the forming 
of a new lodge at Leaf River in March, 1900, which drew away several 
members. Also many of the members have moved away and been trans- 
ferred to other lodges. The present oflScers and members are: 

John MuUer, Noble Grand Jacob Craley H. G. Newcomer 

Fred Fry. Vice Grand J. D. Hays Jonathan Shafstal 

Fred Frederickson. Record- H. B. Haney C. N. Green 

ing Secretary L. E. Lizer George Ziegler 

Wm. Miller. Financial Sec- W. E. McCready J. M. Smith 

retary John McCready I. M. C. Reeder 

A. M. Newcomer, Treasurer Ernest Newcomer 

The Odd Fellows meet on Wednesday night of each week. Like the 
Masons, they are organized not only as a social fraternity, but have pro- 
vision for financial assistance to their sick or afflicted members, to be 
drawn from their beneficiary fund. 

Rebeccas. 

Sandstone Rebecca Lodge, No. 538, was instituted February 14, 1899, 
by Deputy Grand Master Electo C. Reynolds, of Oregon, with a charter 
membership of twenty. This organization is the ladies' degree of Odd 
Fellowship, and like it, has for its object advancement of the social and 
fraternal spirit of its members. Gentlemen as well as ladies are admitted. 
The first officers elected were Julia S. Slater, Noble Grand; Laura S. Lizer, 
Vice Grand; Edna Newcomer, Treasurer; Maude Rowe, Financial Secre- 
tary; H. G. Newcomer, Recording Secretary. 

The charter members of the Lodge who are yet in good standing are: 

A. M. Newcomer Mrs. Anna Rowe W. E. McCready 

Mrs. A. M. Newcomer Miss Maude Rowe Mrs. Lizzie McCready 

Miss Edna Newcomer L. E. Lizer H. G. Newcomer 

Fred Frederickson Mrs. L. E. Lizer H. A. Jimmerson. Leaf River 

Mrs. Fannie Frederickson Edward Slater Mrs. Julia Jimmerson, Leaf 

Mrs. Wm. H. Miller Mrs. Julia Slater River 

Miss Lizzie Lizer Mrs. Harry Knodle Miss Alice Nale, Leaf River 

Since the organization of the Lodge, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Fry, John 
Muller, Mr. and Mrs. Henry B. Haney and Miss Nellie Smith have been 
initiated and taken in as new members. 

The Rebeccas meet on the second and fourth Friday evenings of each 
month in the Odd Fellows' hall. The present officers are: Edna New- 
comer, Noble Grand: Lizzie Lizer, Vice Grand; Mrs. Wm. Miller, Treasur- 
er; Mrs. Sadie Fry, Recording Secretary; H. G. Newcomer, Financial Sec- 
retary. 



SECRET ORGANIZATIONS. 215 

Maccabees. 

Olympia Tent, No. 2.53, K. A. T. M., was organized May 11, 1899, with 
twenty-two members. The order very much resembles the Woodman, be- 
ing an insurance, fraternal and social organization. The Tent has no 
charter but is working under a dispensation. At present interest appears 
to be lagging among the members and probably not more than half of 
them are yet loyal. No meetings are being held, but a part of the mem- 
bers continue to keep up their insurance. 



CHAPTER XIV. 
MISCELLANEOUS HISTORY. 

The first settlers of Mount Morris township were not often favored 
with mail matter and the receipt of a letter, parcel or paper was consid- 
ered quite an event. In Peter Knodle's diary, page 31, Mr. 
^, Knodle makes a special entry announcing the fact that he 

Fostoiiice j^^^ u received a pamphlet," which illustrates the import- 
ance of the receipt of mail matter at that early day. The first regular 
mails to arrive in Mount Morris were brought in 1839 and 1840 by a stage 
line run between Chicago and Galena by Frink & Walker. Hon. R, R. 
Hitt remembers that the stage driver always stopped at his father's house 
(the old house north of the farm residence now occupied by Gera Watts) 
to water his horses. 

The mails were brought by stage from the eastward for probably 
nearly fifteen years, until finally the Illinois Central railroad was built 
through Polo in 1853 and a mail route established from that place. F. 
B. Brayton, who was postmaster from 1860 to 1881, acquired the stage 
line between Polo and Oregon in 1861, and carried both mail and pas- 
sengers from that time vintil the coming of the Chicago & Iowa railroad 
in 1871, when it was of course done away with. This stage operated by 
Mr. Brayton made daily trips between Polo and Oregon, thus afl'ording 
the Mount Morris people a daily mail. At about the beginning or closing 
of the school years at Rock River Seminary this stage line had to be in- 
creased by several additional vehicles, and did a prosperous business. 

After the coming of the Chicago & Iowa railroad and the commence- 
ment of the passage of numerous Illinois Central trains over the line to 
Chicago, the people of Mount Morris had a very good mail service for 
many years. Since the Illinois Central trains reach Chicago by another 
route, the mails have been somewhat less frequent, but sufiicient for all 
purposes, nevertheless. Mails now arrive from the west at 10: 28 A. M. 
and 6 P. M., and from the east at 12: 25 P. M. and 9: 45 P. M. Most of the 
mail comes in, however, on the 10: 28 A. M. passenger from the west. 

A postoffice was first established in Mount Morris in 1841, and Rev. 
John Sharp appointed postmaster. Mr. Sharp was succeeded by his son- 
in-law, Frederick G. Petrie. After him, followed for a short time, Hiram 
Beard; then John Ankney for many years, who was succeeded by Benja- 
min G. Stephens, followed by Edward Davis, and then Frederick B. Bray- 
ton, who held that position for twenty-one years, as previously mentioned. 
Prior to this time the postoffice was usually kept in a store of which the 
postmaster was generally the owner, and consisted of nothing further 

(216) 



MISCELLANEOUS HISTORY. 219 

than a box with the necessary pigeon holes and which could, and usually 
was, moved from one' place to another, when the postmastership changed, 
on a wheelbarrow. It is remembered that John Ankney kept it in his 
store which occupied an old grout addition to the house on Center street, 
between Wesley and McKendrie streets, now occupied by John Blecker 
as a residence. This old grout addition has long since been removed, bvit 
the remainder still stands. It is numbered 27 in the view on page 51 of 
this book. Mr. Brayton, who held the office for so long, was first ap- 
pointed postmaster by Abraham Lincoln in 1861. He kept the office in 
his store. 

Following Mr. Braytou the succession of postmasters up to the pres- 
sent time has been as follows: O. H. Swingley, 1882 to 1886; Henry Sharer, 
1886 to 1890; Frank Tice, 1890 to 1894; John E. McCoy, 1894 to 1898; Holly 
C. Clark, 1898 to the present time. In 1894, Mr. McCoy, upon coming inta 
possession of the office, purchased the elegant new office fixtures which 
are now in use. The case is one of the finest in the county. 

Mr. H. C. Clark, the present postmaster, took possession in March, 
1898, and will continue in office until March, 1902. It is seen that each 
postmaster holds over about one and a half years after the presidential 
election, due to an irregularity made years ago. 

Since the Civil War there have been but two Democratic postmasters 
in Mount Moi'ris,— Messrs. Henry Sharer and John E. McCoy. The re- 
election of President McKinley in November, 1900, assures another Re- 
publican postmaster followdng Mr. Clark, or Mr. Clark's re-appointment. 
The salary at present is 81,500, a reduction of $.300 over 1899 and several 
years previous, due to the removal of the Brethren Publishing House. 
Postmaster Clark is at present ably assisted in the work by Mr. U. C. Nye. 

Graveyards. 

The village of Mount Morris has two graveyards, one known as the 
Mount Morris Cemetery or the " Old Cemetery," situated in the southwest 
corner of the corporation, and the other, the Oakwood Cemetery, nearly 
a m.ile west of the corporation limit. 

The Old Cemetery grounds contain about 5 acres, and like most of 
the remainder of the land now covered by the village, was at one time 
property of Rock River Seminary. The Seminary authorities set it aside 
and donated the ground to the community for a public graveyard, and 
for about sixty years past the site has served as the " silent habitation 
of the dead."' 

This cemetery was consecrated on the 2d of February, 1842, when the 
first burial took place, — that of a little child, the daughter of Captain 
Nathaniel Swingley. The words of consecration were pronounced by 
Rev. Thomas S. Hitt, as follows: "Here is our Machpelah, the entrance 
gate through which we pass the subterraneous road to heaven. Here the 
rich and the poor meet on a level. Today Mary Eliza, sweet morning 
flower, retires from all the ills of life, and takes possession first. Fol- 
lowed by the aged and the young, sooq shall we see the willow and the 



220 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

epitaph tacitly saying: ' See where she sleeps.' Here in peace shall rest 
the teacher and the student, the minister and his hearers, relatives and 
their friends, whose graves shall be approached in after times by be- 
reaved, weeping friends, saying in the language of Scripture, (Where have 
they laid him?) Then from the polished marble erected where we now 
stand shall come the response: 'Suffer little children to come unto me 
and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of heaven.' ' Blessed 
are the dead who die in the Lord.' " 

This cemetery is situated on rather low ground, and for many years 
was not in a good condition. It is said that often men were stationed at 
a newly-made grave, to bail out the water, which flowed in from the sat- 
urated soil, so that when the funeral procession arrived at the grave, the 
interment would not seem so much like a burial at sea. This condition 
was remedied some ten years ago when the ground was thoroughly tiled 
and an excellent drainage system thereby effected. 

The " Old Cemetery " is property of no individuals, stock company or 
corporation, but is what might be called property of the community. 
As before stated, it was at an early day property of the Seminary and set 
aside by the authorities of that institution for the use of the general pub- 
lic. It being public property in that sense there was, of course, no one 
in particular authority to attend to it, and as a consequence, when peo- 
ple died and were buried there, no record of any kind was kept of it 
other than what can now be obtained from inscriptions on the tomb 
stones. A great many are to be found marking graves of Mount Morris 
citizens who died during the fifties, but stones bearing dates earlier than 
1850 are not very plentiful, those remaining being small and discolored 
by age. 

The lack of a record of the burials in this cemetery maies it difficult 
to determine even an approximate estimate of the number of bodies now 
lying buried within the limits of the grounds, owing to the fact that 
many have been removed to Oakwood cemetery, and many graves are 
unmarked. It is thought, however, that a rough isstimate would place 
the number of bodies buried in the cemetery, at the present time, at be- 
tween four and five hundred. Notable among those who found their last 
resting place there are Rev. Thomas S. Hitt, who is mentioned as having 
pronounced the words of consecration of the cemetery; his wife, Emily 
Hitt: Hon. John Wallace, a noted citizen of this community: James B. 
McCoy, who built "Old Sandstone"; Andrew Newcomer, and others. 

Whenever improvements of any kind were found necessary about the 
grounds the funds had always to be raised by subscription. With no 
officers of any kind work of this sort was often sorely neglected. George 
Shank was for many years the moving spirit in all movements for the 
improvement of the grounds. Finally, a few years ago, however, a num- 
ber of people who had buried relatives there, came together and formed 
an association, elected officers and prepared to conduct the matter 
in the proper manner. A sum of money was gathered together, with 
which, besides other improvements, Mr. N. E. Buser was hired to proper- 



MISCELLANEOUS HISTORY. 221 

ly survey and plat the cemetery. Since that time the letting of lots has 
been done systematically. 

The cemetery is at present in very good coadition. Probably about 
half of the persons who die in this vicinity in late years are interred 
there. The present trustees are W. A. Newcomer, president; S. C. Kinsey, 
secretary; A. E. Canode, S. R. Blair and O. S. Watts. 

Oakwood Cemetery. 

Before the "Old Cemetery" was tiled many Mount Morris people were 
dissatisfied with it as a burying ground, and finally in the year 1875 a 
movement was set on foot for the establishment of a second cemetery. 
In December of that year John W. Hitt, David Newcomer, Samuel Look- 
abaugh. Oliver H. Swingley and John Sprecher applied to the Secretary 
of State for a license to form a corporation making the following state- 
ment of their purposes: 

1. The name of such eorijoratioii is ■■ The Mount Morris Cemetery Association." 

2. The object for ^\ hich it is formed is to purchase a suital>le lot or tract of land 
in the township of Mount Morris, in the County of Og-le. and State of Illinois, and to 
use the same as a burial ground for the dead. 

o. The capital stock shall be two thousand dollars ($2,000). with the privilege of 
increasing- the same to ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or less. 

4. The amount of each share shall be ten dollars ($10). 

."). The numlier of shares two hundred (200) with the privilege of increasing to 
ten hundred il.OOOi or less. 

(). The location of the principal office is in Mount Morris, in the County of Ogle, 
and State of Illinois. 

7. The duration of the corporation shall be ninety-nine (99) years. 

Books of subscription were opened after the license had been se- 
cured and the stock all readily taken by thirty-nine of the most promi- 
nent people of Mount Morris. John W. Hitt took forty-eight shares; D. 
J. Pinckney, ten shares; and the majority of the remainder, five shares 
each. The directors elected were O. H. Swingley and John W. Hitt, one 
year: David Newcomer and John Sharer, two years; Samuel Lookabaugh 
and Francis W. Stonebraker, three years. The present site of Oakwood 
Cemetery was finally selected, it being a tract of timber land along the 
south side of the road, one mile west of Mount Morris, containing fifteen 
acres, for which was paid the sum of $150 per acre. 

This new cemetery was surveyed into regular blocks and lots and 
put into fine shape. It has since been given the best of care by the as- 
sociation and is a credit to the community. The present oflicers of the 
Association are John E. McCoy, president; T. C. Williams, secretary; C. C. 
Miles, and S. P. Mumma. 

The records of the Association show that there are now buried in the 
cemetery 239 bodies. The register printed here will no doubt be of in- 
terest. A number were removed from the Old Cemetery. 



222 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



NAME DATE OF DEATH AGE 

Aldeu. Charles Emery. Aug. 9. 1858 1 

Alden, Lucy Ann. April 19, 1860 36 

Anderson, Frances, July 12, 1881 — Infant 
Atchison, Mrs. Elizabeth, April 15, 1880. 73 

.Allen, Aaron Quimby, Jan. 24, 1883 68 

Brayton, Daniel. June 30, 1850 58 

Brayton. Ann. March 30. 1864 77 

Brayton. Elizabeth. Aug-. 25, 1842 18 

Brayton, Ernest Wing. June 27, 1855 10 

Brayton, Mrs. Charlotte L., May 9, 1885.. 64 

Brayton, Frederick B.. Dec. 10, 1897 79 

Black. Mary E.. April 4, 1879 57 

Black, David B.. Dee. 5, 1857 6 

Blake. Lillian Lolo. Sept. 2, 1880 .... Infant 
Blake, Eugenia Elizabeth, Jan. 26, 1896 .37 

Bain, Willis Edward, Jan. 24. 1879 1 

Baker, Essie May, Oct. 23. 1886 5 

Baker, Francis W., Nov. 10, 1897 10 

Butt, Mrs. Ida (Pinckney ), July 26, 1883 .33 
Conaway, Benjamin, July 20, 1870 . . Infant 
Conaway, Mrs. Mary F., Feb. 19, 1872 . . .33 

Cheney, Osmyn E.. Nov. 1. 1845 Infant 

Cheney, Ella A., Feb. 27, 1872 14 

Cheney, Josie H., Oct. 8, 1872 18 

Cheney, Cloe A., March 22, 1879 67 

Cheney, Winnie lone, Feb. 24, 1882 3 

Cheney, Ida Belle, March 17, 1883 25 

Cheney, Stephen Hardin, Jan. 4, 1894 ... .81 

Craddock, Ann Yirginia, Oct. 7, 1849 2 

Craddock, John, July 28. 18.50 .53 

Craddock, Victor W.. Oct. 13. 1857 5 

Craddock. Amelia, July 31, 1865 56 

Craddock, John. July 12, 1890 50 

Clark, unnamed, Dec. 31, 1878 Infant 

Cosgrove, Jean. August 21, 1872 Infant 

Cro well, AUce J., Oct. 13, 1892 34 

Detrich, Elizabeth. Nov. 16, 1864 6^ 

Deter, Charlotte. Oct. 12. 1869 51 

Domer, Alva Bruce. June 17, 1883.. . Infant 

Donaldson. John, Oct. 30. 1884 63 

Felker, Catherine, Feb. 29, 1880 66 

Felker, Hannah J., March 13, 1858 1 

Felker. Abraham. Sept. 4, 1869 67 

French. Lizzie May. Sept. 11, 1878 14 

Far well, Henry J., April 2, 1890 69 

Few, Guy L.. Jan. 20, 1894 Infant 

Getzendaner, Mary. March 22, 1881. Infant 
Getzendaner. Edward, Dec. 6, 1886 .Infant 

Gloss. Elsie M.. Aug. 12. 1880 Infant 

Glasgow, Elizabeth Jane, Nov. 7, 1881 .. .42 
Granger. John i colored i , Feb. 2, 1882 .... 62 

Greenfield, Maria. Feb. 13. 1882 83 

Gibbs, William Johnson, Dec. 3, 1882 74 

Gibbs, Sarah. Feb. 1, 1884 72 

Gilbert, Arthur N.. June 9, 1885 Infant 

Gilbert, William F.. March 12. 1887 Infaiit 



NAME DATE OF DEATH AGE 

Hitt. Samuel M.. Nov. 16, 1859 60 

Hitt, George VV.. Aug. 2. 1856 22 

Hitt, Samuel M.. March 2, 1845 2 

Hitt. Mary Ella, Sept. 18, 1854 6 

Hitt, Edith, March 22, 1872 1 

Hitt. Electa V. M., Nov. 10, 1855 29 

Hitt, Frederick G., Aug. 16, 1870 1 

Hitt. Joseph E.. July 28, 1878 42 

Hitt, Ella Mary, March 5, 1884 1 

Hitt. Mrs. Sibyl Sammis. May 2S, 1885 ... .45 
Hitt, Mrs. Barbara Hershey. Fel). 2. 1890.84 

Hitt, Kobert Smith, April is, i.syi 65 

Hitt, Edith Augusta, April 4, 189? 24 

Hitt, Andrew M.. May 2. 1899 72 

Hershey. Catherine. Nov. 10. 1871 87 

Hilger. Appolonia. Dec. 9, 1892 70 

Hiestand. Olive May, Aug. 21, 1894 13 

Hendrickson, Katheryn, Feb. 20, 1897. Inft 

Judson, Alonson, Nov., 1849 Infant 

Keedy , Jacob, March 15, 1881 84 

Keedy. Mrs. Susan, May 27, 1881 79 

Keedy. Elizabeth. April 30, 1892 58 

Keedy, Edward, March 1, 1897 68 

Keedy, Daniel Blecker, March 10, 1897 .. .37 

Knodle, Barbara, July 2, 1881 85 

Knodle, Jonathan, Sept. 25, 1882 56 

Knodle, Mary Catherine, Sept. 12, 1847.. . 9 
Knodle, Margaret, March 26, 18.52 .. .Infant 

Knodle, Susanah, April 27, 1853 Infant 

Knodle. David. May 23, 1853. Infant 

Knodle. Samuel Myron, Jan. 7, 1854 3 

Knodle. Jonathan, July 15, 18.54 59 

Knodle. Mary, May 1, 1872, 46 

Knodle, Benjamin. July 5, 1863 Infant 

Knodle. Mary V., Jan. 17, 1883 55 

Knodle. Willard Pond. June 5, 1889 10 

Knodle. Peter. Aug. 3. 1892 70 

Keplinger. David A.. Dec. 18. 1876 1 

Keplinger. AVilliam F., Nov. 22, 1878. Infant 
Keplinger. Anna Irene, Oct. 29, 1879. Infant 

Keplinger. Mabel lola. May 30, 1881 1 

Keplinger Jennie F., March 29, 1899 25 

Kennedy. Alma Hattie, May 7, 1874 2 

Knight. Hezekiah. Dec. 6, 1895 89 

King. Katherine J.. Jan. 6, 1899 13 

Lynn. Ida. April 21. 1878 1 

Lynn, Elroy. June 23. 1881 Infant 

Lohafer. Charlie George, Feb. 8, 1881 .... 3 

Lohafer, Frederick D., Feb. 28, 1872 4 

Lohafer, F. W., Sept. 29.1873 Infant 

Long. Mary J.. July 15, 1881 40 

Long, Floy Josephine, Dec. 16, 1886 1 

Long, Jacob. Jan. 29. 1888 63 

Long. Adolphus R.. May 6, 1898 .59 

Lookaliaugh, Samuel. Sept. 4, 1899 72 

Marshall, Robert R., Jan. 18, 1874 1 



BIISCELLANEOUS HISTORY. 



223 



Marshall, Lena May, March 31. 187.5 5 

Miller. John A.. Nov. 1, 1880 67 

Miller. Francis Joseph. Oct. 21. 1882 22 

Miller. Michael Lester, Feb, 1, 1883 .Infant 

Miller, Cyrus E.. Aug. 6. 1861 9 

Miller, Mary E.. Oct. 13. 1862 1 

Miller, Maria Lousia, Sept. 25. 1886 54 

Miller, Lloyd Willis. July 24, 1887 .. .Infant 

Miller, Orville, July 20. 1892 Infant 

Mercer, William A.. March 27. 1879. Infant 

Motter, AnnE.. May 21, 1862 73 

Motter, Jacob B.. Feb. 18, 1872 86 

Motter. Hiram, Jan. 8. 1893 76 

Meek. Robert G.. Oct. 27, 1856 38 

McCosh. John. Oct. 23, 1882 32 

McCosh. Dr. John. March 19, 1883 59 

McNeill, Frederick A., Sept. 15, 1868 1 

McNeill, Frank Asbury. Feb. 3, 1872 62 

McNeill, Mary E., Feb. 7, 1861 2 

McNett. . 

Myers. 

Mumma, Benj. F., July 5, 1888 38 

Mumma. Daniel Shafer. Sept. 10. 1888.. . .70 

Mumma, Ann Mary, Oct. 13. 1894 67 

Mumma, Jacob H.. Oct. 4, 1897 72 

Merriman, Chas., Nov. 21. 1892 — 

Miles, Mary, Feb. 23, 1895 85 

McCredie. Quinter, Feb. 18. 1897 Infant 

McCoy, Howard, Jan. 10. 1892 11 

Newcomer, Henry H.. April 24. 1880 44 

Newcomer, Sarah A.. Jan. 17, 1882 SO 

Newcomer, Samuel. June. 1849 49 

Newcomer. Rosalie D.. Nov. 11. 1872 44 

Newcomer, Alice Rice. Dec. 14. 1894 22 

Ohr, George B., Sept. 14. 18.59 Infant 

Ohr, Charles H., June 9. 1860 4 

Ohr, Francis W., Oct. 6, 1865 4 

Pinckney, Mary Belle. Aug. 30. 18.5S 1 

Pinckney, Thyetta B.. Feb. 5. 1874 ..Infant 
Pinckney, Daniel Jarvis. June 17. l^S! .65 
Petrie. Francis Catherine. < )ct. 24. ls47 . 1 
Petrie. William A.. Aug. 23. l.s.-,(( . . . Infant 
Petrie. Philo Judson. Feb. 24. l,s.-)2. Infant 

Petrie. Lydia. Oct. 24. 18.52 — 

Petrie. Elizabeth. June 4. 1S5 1 2,s 

Petrie. Hale. June 7. Is53 Infant 

Petrie. Fredrick A.. July 11. 1.SS7 08 

Page. John, Oct. 9. 1863 2s 

Potter, Calvin A.. June 2;<. ItSS .jO 

Potter, Mrs. Rebecca. 1H97 84 

Pond, Willard L., Nov. 28. 1897 t^l 

Piper, Earl J., Feb. 13. IfOO 1 

Rice. Rowland, Sept. 26. IWS Infant 

Rice, Anna, Jan. 13. 1878 17 

Rice. Hannah. Aug. 26. 1875 Infant 

Rice. Emma. Aug. 29. 1875 Infant 

Rice. Mary C. Oct. 11. 1879 14 



Rice (an infant soni. July 1. 1877 

Radjesky, Thos 

Smith. Susan 

Smith. Olive Gertrude. Aug. 5. 1881. Infant 

Smith. Rosia E.. Sept. 12. 1870 6 

Swingley. Cyrus A.. Aug. 2. 1872 Infant 

Sharp. Sarah. Feb. 23. 1846 45 

Sharp. Catherine. Dec. 24. 1849 — 

Sharer. Morton H.. Oct. 10, 1846 Infant 

Sharer, (.'ornelia E.. Sept. 22, 18.53 30 

Sharer. Cornelia. Oct. ISI. 18.53 Infant 

Sharer. John. Dec. 28. 1860 77 

Sharer. Sarah A.. June 6. 1892 ! .... .58 

Sharer, Jacob. June 7. 1865 38 

Sharer, Amelia. Dec. 17, 1895 S8 

Stewart. Margaret E.. Sept. 6, 1867 ..Infant 
Stewart. Edward A.. Aug. 22. 1872. . Infant 
Stewart. Mrs. Laura Ellen. Dec. 13. 1S80 46 

Stonebraker. John Y.. July 30. 1S68 9 

Stonebraker. Fred. Sept. 26. 1868. .. Infant 
Stonebraker. Ella, Sept. 13. 1875 . . ..Infant 
Stonebraker. Daniel W.. July 15. 1883. . .:2 
.Stonebraker. Lewellyn R., May 5. ls,S7. .. U 

Shaw, Hiram T.. April 21. 1869 20 

.Stephens. Dr. Benj. G.. Jan. 10. 1879 .59 

Stanger. John F.. Sept. 12. 1880 81 

Stroh. Cecilia A.. Oct.. 1840 1 

Stroh. Alfred E.. Oct. 29. 1870 27 

Stroh. Elizabeth. Nov. 16. 1894 86 

Stroh. Rev. Nicholas J.. Jan. 1. 1897 98 

Sprecher. Orville H.. Nov. 14. 1889 7 

Thomas. William T.. April 28. 1879 24 

Thomas. Garoline C. Jan. 30, 1880 60 

Thomas. Blanche E.. June 9. 1890 11 

Thomas. Ruth. Sept. 24. 1896 Infai.t 

Thomas. Emma Bell. Nov. 14. 18i;6 15 

Thomas. Joshua. March 18, 1884 73 

Thomas. Eliza Jane. Feb. 5. 1897 41 

Thomas. Abram. Aug. 29. 1879 79 

Trapp. Mrs. Sarah J.. Sept. 5. 1867 38 

Tice. 

Tice. Gertrude. June 12. 1887 16 

Tracy, Willis B.. Jan. 29. 1888 5 

Withers. Thomas W., Feb. 12. 1880 78 

Withers. Elsie May. March 24. 1881 1 

Withers. Hanora Y. E., Oct. 7, 18.56 19 

Withers. Blanche. Aug. 11. 1882 Infant 

Withers. Benjamin F.. Dec. 25. 18H2 29 

Withers. Infant 

Withers. John W 

Withers. Elizabeth. Jan. 14. 1X85 73 

Withers. Henry. Nov. 4. 1887 72 

Withers. B. C. March 20. 1888 15 

Withers. Frank. Nov. 4. 1887 — 

Withers. Emma E.. April 18. 189K 55 

Wagoner. Edger E.. Nov.. 1864 88 

Williams. Willis W.. April 19. 1S75 1 



224 MorxT MORRIS : past and present. 

Williams. Windle, Charles Elmer. Aug-. 24. I'vS.") .... 19 

Williams. Elias. Oct. (!. ISiiO 67 Wing-ert. David R.. April is. 1M80 64 

Wolf, Woltz. Jacob Elmer. .Jan. 14. 1888 1 

Wolf. Charlotte. March l(i. 1891 38 Woltz, Jame.s Walling. May 26. 1^89 . . .72 

Wolf. William. Oct. 14. I,s92 — Woltz, L. Albert. Jan. 19. 1892 Infant 

Wolf. Grant Woltz. Lonsia A.. April 10. 1S9S 76 

Wendle. 

Athletics. 

In the way of athletics the principal game which has fascinated the 
gymnastic propensity of youth in Mount Morris in the past has been the 
great national game of base ball. For many years the great enthusiasm 




MOUNT MORRIS BASE BALL TEAM OF 1895. 



for this sport ran high and few weeks of summer passed without Satur- 
day afternoon or mid-week contests on the diamond, with nines from 
neighboring towns or between home teams. Probably the most interest- 
ing series of games ever played in Mount Morris was during the summer 
of 1895 when a tri-county league was formed, composed of Mount Morris, 
Oregon, Di.xon, Lanark and Polo teams, and a series of games played for 
the championship. Mount Morris easily out-classed Polo, Oregon and 
Lanark and tied Di.xon for the championship, but lost in the deciding 
game in a close score. 

Among professional base ball players produced by Mount Morris are 
J. D. Lookabaugh and Wm. Householder. The former is a pitcher and 



MISCELLANEOUS HISTORY. 225 

has played for years with league teams. Some years ago he stopped play- 
ing ball and is now practicing magnetic healing in Mount Morris. Mr. 
Householder commenced his professional career with Preeport, staying 
with them several seasons. Last season he was with the Souix Falls, 
South Dakota, team and did very creditable playing. Prospects for his 
rapid advance in favor in base ball circles are promising. 

For several years past the game of base ball appears to have some- 
what fallen from favor with Ogle county athletes. Few games of any im- 
portance have been played for several years. Foot ball appears to be 
more popular and each year is demanding more attention. 



CHAPTER XV. 
MOUNT MORRIS OP TODAY. 

Mount Morris of today! What a contrast to seventy years ago, when 
the spot, where now stand beautiful residences, business houses, churches 
and institutions of learning, was then a trackless prairie, roamed over by 
the native American the Indian. Then, where now is heard the hum of 
voices in song, the conversation, laughter and merry-making of jolly 
school children and shouts of lively students, the ring of anvils, and oth- 
er evidences of energetic life,— then were heard only the howl of the 
prairie wolf, the hiss of poisonous reptiles, and the sighing of the wind as 
it swept through the forest trees or swayed the long prairie grass. Mount 
Morris of today is a flourishing little city of 1200 inhabitants, situated in 
the midst of one of the richest and most fertile agricultural districts in 
the state of Illinois. The country which surrounds Mount Morris is al- 
most entirely taken up by well-improved farms. The original wooded 
lands have been mostly cleared of trees and the low lands and swampy 
places redeemed by thorough tiling. Farmers, as a general rule, cultivate 
over one hundred acres, some as high as two hundred or more. The prin- 
cipal products are corn and oats, and some cattle and hogs in the way of 
live stock. The land is mostly in a condition to make the raising of grain 
the more profitable, however, and the principal source of income is, there- 
fore, from the products. Some of the levelest, most productive and best 
improved farms in close proximity to Mount Morris are valued at over 
ninety dollars per acre and some even higher. 

Mount Morris township, including the village, is an exceptionally 
wealthy community. The schedule of all personal property in the town- 
ship on the first day of April, 1900, and all the lands and town lots as re- 
ported by the assessor, Mr. Allen, shows that the total value of all proper- 
ty whatsoever in the township was 8"2,i32,975. Considering that the total 
population is 2,000, this would make an average wealth of S1200 for each 
man, woman and child in the township. The following tabular statement 
showing the totals of personal and real property by the last assessment 
will show the wealth of Mount Morris township. 

The village of Mount Morris is situated in section 26 and 27 near the 
southern part of the township, a little to the east of a line running 
through the center. The area enclosed within the corporate limits of the 
village is about 640 acres. There are laid off and platted at the present 
time about fifty blocks. Within the corporate limits of the village are 
now 270 habitable residences and fifty public buildings, including the 
stores, churches, college buildings, public schoolM)uilding, liverylstables, 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 227 

A TABULAR STATEMENT 

Showing the Totals of Personal and Real Property 
OF Mount Morris Township, for the Year 1900. 

Compiled from the Books of the Toimiship Assessor. 



PERSONAL PROPERTY. 



Nc 



Yah 



Horses of all ages 

Cattle of all ages 

Sheep of all ages, 

Hogs of all ages, 

Steam Engines, inckiding Boilers, 

Fire or Burglar Proof Safes, 

Billiard, Pigeon-hole, Bagatelle, or other similar tables, 

Carriages and Wagons of whatsoever kind 

Watches and Clocks 

Sewing and Knitting Machines, 

Piano Fortes, 

Melodeons and Organs ' 

Annuities and Royalties, 

Merchandise on hand 

Material and Manufactured Articles on hand 

Manufacturers" Tools, Implements and Machinery, 

Agricultural Tools, Implements and Machinery, 

Gold and Silver Plate and Plated Ware, 

Diamonds and Jewelry 

Moneys of Bank. Banker, Broker or Stock Jobber, 

Moneys of other than Bank, Banker, Broker or Jobber,. . . . 
Credits of other than Bank, Banker. Broker or Jobber,. . . . 

Bonds and Stocks 

Property of Companies and Corporations, not enumerated, 

Household or Office Furniture or Property, • 

Investments in Real Estate and Improvements thereon, . . . 

Grain on hand, 

All other Personal Property required to be listed, 



Total Value of Personal Property, 

LANDS. 

Improved and Unimproved Lands, 

Town Lots, improved and unimproved, 



1273 

3.374 

201 

2198 

12 

17 

1 

692 

547 

341 

64 

1.30 

3 



Total Value of all Property as Assessed, 



1 72,615 

67,470 

1,085 

17,522 

3,800 

1,285 

10 

18,655 

4,413 

3,810 

7,405 

3,345 

2,410 

47,750 

200 

5,885 

12,370 

645 

1,000 

2,700 

700 

315,785 

15,000 

1,500 

49,445 

150 

43,120 

185 

700,260 



1,454,340 
278,375 



2,4.32,975 



228 



MOUNT morris: past axd present. 




blacksmith shops, elevators, lumber 
offices, creamery, etc. The streets in 
the village measure approximately 
nine miles in length with probably 
about twelve miles of sidewalk, much 
of which is tar-concrete: in fact an 
ordinance passed by the village board 
of trustees prohibits the building of 
any more board wnlks and they are 
gradually disappearing. 

Mount Morris has all the modern 
improvements of an up-to-date little 
city, — fire protection, water works, 
telephone exchange and electric lights. 
The Mount Morris water works system 
is owned and operated by the village. 
An account of the official proceedings 
leading up to the building of the sys- 
tem is to be found on pages 66 and 67. 
It was in 189.5 when the citizens of 
Mount Morris determined to secure 
themselves against fire, and before the 
coming of cold weather the system was 
completed. The water tower is an ele- 
gant steel strvicture, 115 feet high from 
the foundation to the peak of the roof. 
The roof is also surmounted by a 35- 
foot flag-pole, from which Old Glory 
floats on special occasions. The tank 
has a capacity of 21,000 barrels and is 
kept full of good, pure water at all 
times for emergencies in case of fire, 
and to supply the many patrons of 
the system. At present there are 58 
water renters, most of which are for 
private residences and lawns. An arte- 
sian well 500 feet in depth furnishes 
an exhaustless supply of water, which 
is lifted from the well and forced up 
into the tank by a powerful air pump, 
operated by a 29-horse gasoline engine. 
The power house or pumping station 
is situated just at the foot of the mag- 
nificent tower, and is in charge of 
Samuel Rowe. At the present time 
the water mains are extended over the 
principal streets of the village a total 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 



:3l 



distance of only a few hundred feet less than two miles. A hose cart with 
700 feet of hose is kept in the power house, ready to be pulled out on a 
minute's notice. Enough hose is kept on hand so that the houses in the 
most out-lying parts of the village can be reached by a stream of water 
in case of fire, though hydrants are in some places several blocks distant 
from the farthest houses. A fire company composed of a number of the 
younger men of the town, is formed and know what to do in case of an 
alarm. A large fire bell is hung beneath the tower, with which a very 
speedy alarm can be turned in. C. H. Whitman is fire marshal. 

The local telephone exchange is one of the improvements of the year 
1900. The Ogle County Telephone Company, of Roehelle, was granted 




VIEW OF MOUNT MORRIS LOOKING NORTHWEST FROM WATER TOWER. 



a franchise to string their wires through the streets and alleys of the vil- 
lage in the May meeting of the village board of trustees. During the 
month of September the poles were set, the wii-es strung and the 'phones 
placed in the residences and business houses of the patrons of the sys- 
tem. At first there were thirty-five phones put in, but since others 
have been occasionally added and at present about 40 of the most en- 
terprising people of the town save time and bother by this convenience. 
The principal streets of the town have assumed quite a metropolitan 
aspect by the addition of the rows of poles heavily laden with tele- 
phone wires. The exchange office is located in the north Seibert block 



232 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

over the Citizens' Bank. The day operator is Miss ]Maude Eowe and 
th e night opei-ator, Mr. David Craley. 

The electric lighting system is the latest of the improvements of the 
year 1900. A franchise was granted in October by the village board of 
trustees to Edward Thomas to do the necessary wiring in the streets and 
alleys. A new building was erected for the accommodation of the plant 
in the north part of the village, near the railroad. At the time of the 
publication of this book the system is neariug completion, and is ex- 
pected soon to be in active operation. Present indications are that it 
will be liberally supported both by the village and private individuals. 

Mount Morris is pre-eminently a residence and college town. As a res- 
idence town it has many advantages over the majority of small cities and 
towns. In the first place it is one of the most beautiful places to be found 
in many a day's journey, with its beautifvil and imposing college campus 
and buildings, its neat lawns and the long rows of shade trees lining near- 
ly all of the streets, so that in summer time it looks like a cool and beau- 
tiful forest. A view of the street along the west side of A. \V. Brayton's 
elegant lawn, one of the finest of the shady streets, is shown on page 205. 
It is seen that the branches of the trees on either side of the street al- 
most meet in the center, forming a most beautiful arch of green. The 
many shade trees in Mount Morris are not native here, the spot having 
originally been open prairie, but the work is all result of judicious fore- 
thought on the part of the early settlers, who brought the young maples 
from the Mississippi river. One of the largest of the many stalwart 
maples is the one half way between J. Strock's grocery and C. U. Niman's 
livery stable, standing with a protecting wing over the old house at one 
time occupied by John Ankney. Mr, Ankney himself planted the tree 
nearly sixty years ago. It is supposed to be the oldest tree in town. The 
spread of its roots before disappearing under ground is marvelous. 

Mount Morris is desirable as a residence town because it is one of the 
most healthful places to be found. It stands on an eminence among the 
highest in Illinois, and has excellent drainage; no waste or swampy 
land anywhere in the vicinity. Ague and kindred diseases are unknown. 
Water is easily reached at a depth of twenty-five feet to sixty feet, and is 
of the purest and sweetest quality, which one can never forget who has 
once become acquainted with it. 

The religious advantages of Mount Morris are probably unexcelled in 
northern Illinois. The very atmosphere of the place is religiovis, and this 
in connection with the advantages enjoyed by the different denomina- 
tions represented, renders the town particularly attractive to those re- 
ligiously inclined. No better location can be found for the retired busi- 
ness man or farmer who prefers to spend his declining years with his 
family, where the best of intellectual and spiritual influence may be en- 
joyed. The intellectual inspiration coming from the college, blended 
with the strong moral and religious sentiment prevading the town and 
community, give strength and refinement to the moulding influences 
of society. Young men and young women reared under such healthy 



3IOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 



233 



influences will be well equipped for the conflicts of a busy life. The 
saloon has never been tolerated in the town, which accounts largely for 
the high standard of morality among both the young and old. The 
Christian denominations represented are the Methodist, Lutheran, Chris- 
tian and Dunkard, a complete history of each of which is given in a sepa- 
rate chapter on religious organizations. All of these churches are well 
represented and members of any of them who are looking for a location 
will do well to investigate Mount Morris. This is especially true of the 
Brethren. Many of the most substantial citizens are members of this 
church and are exerting a wide influence for good in the community. 
They are bitterly opposed to the liquor traffic in all its forms, and as well 




SIX MOUNT MORRIS BOYS WHO BELONG TO THE STATE MILITIA. 



as the members of the other churches, may be counted upon as a solid in- 
fluence against the saloon business. In no town in northern Illinois can 
so many Brethren families be found, and at no other place in the United 
States can they find such superior church, Sunday school and educational 
privileges. This they are not slow to see, as may be attested by th^ 
families coming here each year with a view of making it their home. 
Mount Morris certainly can be recommended as a very desirable place 
for the Brethren, desiring the best of church privileges, to locate. Es- 
pecially is it desirable for those who wish to retire from the active pur- 
suits of life and spend their last days quietly in the midst of their breth- 
ren. 



234 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

The educational advantages afforded the citizens of Mount Morris is 
another feature which makes the place an exceptionally fine residence 
town. True education consists in the development of all the powers of 
man,— physical, mental and moral. Mount Morris claims to possess 
facilities for this purpose in a very high degree. It has already been 
stated that the atmosphere of the place seems to be religious, but it may 
be said with emphasis that it is more intensely educational. Education 
is the life of the town. It is intensified in the very spirit of the people. 
It can be noticed on every important movement among our citizens. 
The very foundation of the town was laid in that spirit, and by it the peo- 
ple have been swayed and influenced for nearly two generations. As 
everybody knows, the foundation of Mount Morris College was laid way 
back sixty years ago when the wild animals still roamed over the prairie 
and no vestage of Mount Morris of today was to be found. A class of 
people have grown up around the institution, who seem to thrive on the 
intensely religious and educational influences that have continually pre- 
vaded the place. 

The public school is among the best in the country. The building is 
large, commodious and substantial. The course of instruction is thor- 
ough and affords a good preparatory education on which to build the 
more advanced culture of the mind. Concerning the history and more 
about the present condition of the public school see the separate chapter 
upon that subject. 

Concerning Mount Morris College, the pride of the town and com- 
munity, we cannot speak too highly. It is centrally located and affords 
the best of educational advantages for the young men and women desiring 
to fit themselves for the active and responsible duties of a useful life. 
Here a polished education can be obtained under the most favorable 
moral and religious influences. Education alone may tend to skepticism, 
but when secured in connection with such moulding influences as per- 
vade this institution it becomes a power for good in all the responsible 
pursuits of life. The managers of the College are deeply imbued with 
the spirit of morality and religion, as well as the spirit of education, be- 
lieving that all true education should be given in connection with prop- 
er religious culture, and for this reason the school has a reputation for 
a high order of training, in all that goes to make up true manhood and 
womanhood, that should be a credit to every state. While the College 
is exclusively under the control of the Brethren, it is opened to pupils 
from all denominations, and not a few of them are sending their children 
here on account of the moral restriction thrown around them while in 
pursuit of knowledge. 

A home college is a great thing for the people of the place where the 
college is located. Viewed from a financial angle Mount Morris College 
is very valuable to Mount Morris and vicinity. It saves thousands of 
dollars expense and at the same time brings in thousands of dollars in- 
come. It saves the expense of sending away to college the young people 
of our community. Parents have an opportunity to give their children 




AUNT KITTY RICE, 
Who will be 104 years of age. August 24, 1901. 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 287 

a college education with no outlay of money other tlian the tuition. This 
is a small sum compared with the expense incurred by those who come 
long distances by rail, and when here are obliged to pay, besides tuition, 
board, room and fuel. All this expense is saved to the people of Mount 
Morris in the education of their children, and in its stead they receive as 
an income thousands of dollars brought here by those who come 
here from a distance. This is not all. Our home college is also a college 
home. To be convinced that this is true, one need only visit the several 
departments of the college and note the manner in which everything is 
directed. Therefore aside from the financial phase, the people of Mount 
Morris receive the culture resu.lting from this well-ordered college life 
blended with the helpful atmosphere of a safe and cheerful home life. 

Details concerning Mount Morris College, its history and condition 
at the present time and also a history of the old Rock River Seminary 
are to be found in separate chapters elsewhere in the volume. 

Many other desirable points in favor of Mount Morris as a residence 
town might be mentioned. We repeat again that the people are of the 
very best class. They are whole-souled, free-hearted, intelligent, sociable, 
and a pleasant people to live among. Eastern states are represented in 
the make-vip of the population, the larger number being from Maryland 
and Pennsylvania. Of late years Ohio and Indiana are also beginning to 
be represented. Mount Morris is a growing town, and becomes more 
desirable every year. Property and lots are not advanced to fancy prices, 
however, as in some growing towns. Good building lots within a few 
blocks of the college can be obtained at moderate prices. Building ma- 
terial is cheap, stone quarries are convenient and all facilities for build- 
ing are of the best. In fact, to any out-of-town reader of this book who 
is looking for a place of residence, — to one who wishes to retire from 
business or from the farm to educate children, to enjoy the privileges of 
churches, Sunday schools, to live in a place of quiet comfort and ease, we 
say come and see Mount Morris. You will find a spot combining many 
of the advantages and few of the evils that go to make up a desirable 
place of residence. 

Business Enterprises. 

Mount Morris College is, of course, the leading business enterprise 
in Mount Morris. Dozens of families are supported directly or indirectly 
by its presence. In fact, it is the very backbone of the village. The at- 
tendance of sev ral hundred out-of-town students raises the apparent 
population during nine months of the year, and gives more hustle and 
bustle to things in general. Concerning this enterprise much has been 
previously said in this book. 

Doctors. — The medical profession in Mount Morris is ably represent- 
ed by Drs. George McCosh, W. W. Hanes and C. J. Price. Dr. McCosh 
acquired his first knowledge of the profession from his father. Dr. John 
McCosh, under whom he studied for three years. He then took the pre- 



238 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 




DR. GEORGE B. MCCOSH. 

is President of the Village 
Board of Trustees. Dr. C. J. 
Price, physician and surgeon, 
is a comparatively new man in 
Mount Morris, having located 
here in August, 1900. He took 
up the practice abandoned by 
the late Dr. David Newcomer. 
He is a man of ability and the 
citizens of Mount Morris are 
giving him a good share of 
their patronage. He has more 
than the usual amount of med- 
ical training, having attended 
both the Northwestern Med- 
ical school and the Hahne- 
mann Medical College, tak- 
ing a special course in the lat- 
ter. He has also spent his va- 
cations in Chicago in and about 
the hospitals, and gained much 
useful experience in that way. 



scribed [course in the Rush 
Medical College in Chicago, 
graduating in 1880. After grad- 
uation he commenced prac- 
tice immediately in Mount Mor- 
ris, and has built up a large 
business. He has his office lo- 
cated in rooms over his drug 
store. Dr. W. W. Hanes has 
been practicing medicine in 
Mount Morris since 1886, hav- 
ing come here from Adeline, 
111. He is a graduate of the 
P. M. Institute of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, and directly after gradu- 
ation in 1883, he located at 
Adeline, 111., and after three 
years there came to Mount 
Morris. He has built up a 
good substantial practice and 
is considered a good physician. 
His office is located over C. E. 
Price's hardware. Dr. Hanes 




DR. W. W. HANES PRZS. VILLAGE TRUSTEES 



MOUNT MORKIS OF TODAY. 



241 



He occupies the old Newcom- 
er office, north of the College 
campus, where he can be found 
night or day. 

Veterinary Surgeon. — Dr. 
D. F. Stevens is the only veter- 
inary surgeon in this vicinity, 
and is kept constantly busy 
attending to the many calls for 
his professional skill. He is 
a graduate of the Ontario Vet- 
erinary College, located at To- 
ronto, Canada, finishing the 
prescribed course in April, 
1888. He came to Mount Mor- 
ris in July of the same year, 
and has since practiced at this 
place. 

Dentists.— Mount Morris has 
two dentists, Drs. J. B. Moats 
and J. F. Canode. Both are ex- 
pert workmen and give general 
satisfaction. Dr. Moats has 







MOATS. DENTIST. 



DR. C. J. PRICE. 

been established here the long- 
er period. He is a graduate of 
the Dental Department of the 
Iowa State University, having 
previovisly attended the Chi- 
cago College of Dental Sur- 
gery. After graduation he lo- 
cated here and built up a good 
practice. His office is over 
McCosh's pharmacy. Dr. Can- 
ode is also a graduate of the 
Chicago College of Dental Sur- 
gery, where he attended three 
years. He located in Mount 
Morris iu 1898. His office is lo- 
cated up stairs in the old Bank 
of Mount Morris building. The 
office is conveniently divided 
into a number of nicely-ar- 
ranged apartments, including a 
reception'room, operating room, 
and laboratory. Mr. Canode 
perfectly understands his pro- 



242 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



fession and does nothing but 
first-class work. 

Contractors and Builders. 
— The contracting and building 
business in Mount Morris is 
represented by two firms,— Bu- 
ser & Mumma, Kinsey & Tracy. 
The firm of Buser & Mumma, is 
composed of Nathaniel E. Buser 
and Willis S. Mumma. Mr. Bu- 
ser, the senior member, com- 
menced his career as a carpen- 
ter under Henry Middlekauff in 
1868. After an apprenticeship 
of three years he launched into 
the building business alone. 
He first began making plans 
and specifications in 1876. One 
of his first contracts was for the 
present residence of Hon. R. R. 
Hitt, which has, however, un- 
dergone a number of alterations 
and improvements in later 





NATHAN I EL £. BUSER. 



J. F. CANODE, DENTIST. 

years. At various times Mr. 
Buser entered in partnerships 
with other contractors, but 
worked alone most of the time. 
George H. Riner was at one 
time his partner. Mr. Buser 
has built all of the large build- 
ings in Mount Morris in late 
years, with few exceptions, and 
most of the finest residences. 
Among the large buildings 
which he has erected are the 
Lutheran church, the College 
Hall, the Ladies' Dormitory, the 
Old Folks' Home, Hotel Rohrer, 
Seibert block and Sharer's 
building. Among the scores of 
fine residences which he has 
erected in Mount Morris are 
those of J. L. Rice, Wm. B. 
Shank, Maj. Chas. Newcomer 
and Harry Cushing, half-tones 
of which are shown in the last 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 



245. 




chapter iu this book. Mr. Bu- 
ser has also built extensively in 
neighboring towns. Among the 
buildings which might be men- 
tioned is the Catholic church at 
Oregon; a 820,000 poorhouse at 
Mount Carroll; two churches in 
Leaf River; one church in Ade- 
line; numerous country church- 
es and schoolhouses in different 
parts of this and neighboring 
counties; and two bankers' i-esi- 
dences at Manson, Iowa. He 
also superintended the con- 
struction of a $20,000 building 
for the Brethren Publishing 
House at Elgin. He is now the 
only licensed architect in Ogle 
county. Mr. Mumma, the .jun- 
ior member of the firm, first 
commenced an apprenticeship 
under Mr. Buser, and after only 
a few years' work acquired a 

thorough knowledge of the bus- willis s. mumma. 

iness, and in 1898 Mr. Buser 

took him in as partner, since which time they have worked together with 
much success. Mr. Mumma not only superintends the construction of 
buildings but assists with the work of making plans and specifications. 
The season of 1900, although a dull season with builders, has brought them 
an abundance of work. They have erected buildings the aggregate value 
of which exceeds 825,000, which includes three residences in Elgin. Buser 
& Mumma occupy offices in the bviilding on Wesley street, erected 
by Mr. Buser in 189i. The main part of this building was constructed 
from the old Webb Hotel and the remainder of the lumber used in its con- 
struction and also in the building to the west used as a carpenter shop 
and lumber warehouse, was formerly used in the constrviction of the Cali- 
fornia building at the World's Fair. Kinsey & Tracy, the other firm spok- 
en of, consists of Samuel C. Kinsey and Benjamin P. Tracy. John T. 
Stewart was formerly a member of the firm but has now retired. The re- 
maining members have worked together about fifteen years. They have 
erected many substantial residences including those of Emanuel Slifer, A. 
L. Clair, Price Stouft'er, William Watts and others. 

Music Composers and Engravers.— Prof. D. S. McCosh, who is en- 
gaged in this work, has been spoken of at length in the biographical di- 
rectory. He has a cosy office over the rear of McCosh's Pharmacy and is 
equipped with all the tools and appliances necessary in the profession, 
P. P. Knodle has lately acquired a set of engraver's tools and is also now 



246 MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

engraving some music plates, besides pursuing his fcjmrr wcrk cf com- 
posing violin and orchestra music and instructing violin pupils. 

Laundry.— Previous to January, 1899, the people of Mount Morris 
were compelled to send their lauudry to the surrounding towns to be 
washed, until on the above date, when Mr. Samuel M. Lyon started a 
hand lavindry here. Mr. Lyon had considerable experience in the busi- 
ness, having formerly conducted the Cascade Steam Laundry at Free- 
port, and traveled extensively for the Troy Laundry Machine C( mpany 
of Chicago. He conducted the business with success until Sept., 1900, 
when he sold out to Guy Smith and Walter McNett, two energetic Mount 
Morris boys, who are doing their work in a manner satisfactory to all. 
The presence of the college in Mount Morris makes the investment a pay- 
ing one. They are equipped with all late-improved machinery, including 
an ironer, starcher, generator, etc. 

Blacksmiths. Mount Morris has four blacksmiths.— A. C. Looka- 
baugh, A. W. NefF, N. T. Koontz and J. H. Lambing. Mr. A. C. Looka- 
baugh first began this business here about ten years ago, at which time 
he purchased equipment of Hiram Rowe. He first started to learn the 
trade at the age of nineteen, at Franklin county. Pa. Prior to coming to 
Mount Morris he operated a shop at Adeline thirteen years. Mr. Looka- 
baugh is a thorough mechanic, and enjoys a liberal patronage. He is 
at present assisted in the work by George C. Bain, an expert horse-shoer, 
and James McCoy, wood- worker. In 1899, Mr. Lookabaugh put in a stock 
of buggies, wagons and farm machinery. A. W. Neff, another knight of 
the anvil, learned the trade in his father's shop in Mount Morris. He 
then secured a position in Dixon, 111., where he worked four years, and 
later spent five years at Plymouth, Kans. Finally, in 1873, he returned 
to Mount Morris, and after working two years for a Mr. Depew, set up in 
business in 1875 for himself and has worked regularly here, with the ex- 
ception of five years spent in Iowa. Mr. Neff is a good workman and has 
his shop located in a building built for the purpose below the Thompson 
building. N. T. Koontz has been in the blacksmith business in Mount 
Morris continuously since 1864. He came here from Bruceville, Md., at 
that time. He learned the trade at a very early age. He was assisted 
here for a number of years by his son, William Koontz. John H. Lamb- 
ing first came to Mount Morris in 1899, and entered the employ of A. C. 
Lookabaugh, until April, 1900, when he started up in business for 
himself. An entirely new equipment of tools and machinery necessary 
in the business was purchased. Mr. Lambing does a general blacksmith- 
ing business, besides horse-shoeing and wood-working. He gained his 
knowledge of the trade in his father's shop at Abilene, Kans. 

Jeweler and Stationer. - H. E. Newcomer, early in the spring of 
1892 began business by opening a little jewelry and stationery store in a 
one-story frame building, which still stands just one door south of his 
present location. There, in a little room eleven feet wide and nineteen 
feet long, with low ceilit)g and only two small front windows admitting 
the feeble ligbt, his business grew and thrived. Favored by the confi- 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 249 

dence of an appreciative public, borne along by the constant efforts of 
his own hands, and early mastering the secrets of successful advertising, 
he built up in a few years a most profitable and permanently-established 
trade. But after a while the little room " grew too small," and in 1899 Mr. 
Newcomer erected on the adjoining lot, a little south of the " Alden " 
building, a handsome, one-story brick and stone building, standing today 
a model of neatness, solidity and beauty. On another page is presented 
an interior view of his store. In addition to his regular jewelry trade 
Mr. Newcomer has, by long-continued, persistent and judicious advertis- 
ing, built up a large mail-order business, every year receiving hundreds 
of orders for gold and silver watches from customers in nearly every state 
and territory in the Union, which business in a little while bids fair to ex- 
ceed his entire local trade. In 1889, when but nineteen years of age, Mr. 
Newcomer was appointed agent for the American Express Company, and 
five years later succeeded to the agency of the Adams Express Company, 
which position he has held continuously ever since, having now served 
eleven years in this capacity. In 1897 he began the organization of what 
is now the insurance and real-estate firm of Newcomer & Price, and as 
junior member of this firm has rendered most valuable assistance in 
bringing the business up to its present thriving condition, more mention 
of which is made on this page. In passing, we cannot help noting 
that in all of Mr. Newcomer's business enterprises the first and most 
lasting impression one receives is the evidence of that greatest of all true 
business principles, — perfect system which probably in a very large de- 
gree accounts for the splendid success he has thus far achieved. 

Insurance, Real Estate and Loan Agents.— In October, 1897, H. E. 
Newcomer and C. E. Price entered into partnership and under the firm 
name of Newcomer & Price, opened an office for the transaction of all 
classes of business pertaining to insurance, real estate and loans. Be- 
ginning at the very bottom of the business, they have forged rapidly for- 
ward and upward, until today they enjoy the confidence and patronage 
of a large community. Loaning money for various eastern companies, 
buying and selling Iowa and Illinois real estate, and writing all classes 
of fire, cyclone, life and accident insurance, their business each succeed- 
ing year covers a larger and wider territory, and necessitates almost con- 
stant additions to their facilities. At this writing nine different insur- 
ance companies are represented by this agency,— six for the sale of fire 
and cyclone insurance, one life, one accident and one for plate-glass and 
burglary indemnities. A small but very neat office has been fitted up ex- 
clusively for their business in a portion of Mr. Newcomer's newly-erected 
building on the " south side." 

Groceries. — Five well-stocked grocery stores in Mount Morris supply 
the people of the town and surrounding country with good things for 
their tables. Jacob Strock has been in business in Mount Morris nine 
years, occupying the brick building on the corner of Wesley and Center 
streets. The firm name has existed longer without change than any of 
the other five grocery firms in the village. Mr. Strock carries in stock a 



250 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

full line of fancy and staple groceries, cigars and tobacco, candies, queens- 
ware, and also a line of heavy boots and shoes. He engages Fred Middle- 
kauff as clerk. The Newcomer Company consists of Wm. A. Newcomer, 
an old experienced groceryman in Mount Morris, and Howard G. Newcom- 
er, who succeeded his father, A. M. Newcomer, in the business. They car- 
ry a large stock of everything to be found in a first-class grocery store, be- 
sides a number of side lines, including queensware, bakery goods, etc. 
Charles Sharer prides himself in doing a nice careful business and be- 
lieves in winning trade by careful buying, courteous treatment and an 
orderly kept store. He enjoys a large country and town trade. Chris. 
Reynolds is his efficient clerk. Oliver S. Watts has now been in the gro- 
cery business in Mount Morris about four years, during which time he has 
built up a substantial trade among both town and country people. His 
stock is nicely arranged in the spacious store-room in his own building, 
situated just south of the Masonic block. His stock includes everything 
found in a first-class grocery store. J. P. Holsinger, an experienced gro- 
cery clerk, assists in the business, A. R. Binkley's grocery store has been 
operated in Mount Morris less than two years, the stock having been re- 
moved to this place from Forreston. Mr. Binkley has, however, as men- 
tioned on page 44, long been a grocer in Mount Morris. Of late years he 
has been afilicted with paralysis and unable to attend to the business him- 
self. Mrs. Binkley and Thomas Sprecher attend to the wants of the pa- 
trons of the store. George W. Deppen entered the grocery business in 
Mount Morris in the summer of 1900, buying out the stock previously 
owned by F. K. Spalding. His store is spacious and well-filled with staple 
and fancy groceries, besides a small stock of dry goods. 

Dry Goods. — G. W. Hamlin, D. S. Cripe and G. W. Deppen are propri- 
etors of dry goods stores in Mount Morris, the first two being exclusively 
engaged in that business, and the last carrying a small stock in connec- 
tion with his grocery store. In the present year G. W. Hamlin of Rochelle 
purchased the large and profitable dry goods business built up by R. E. 
Arnold, and put the store in charge of his brother, D. F. Hamlin. Besides 
a full line of all variety of dry goods, they carry a stock of shoes, gents' 
furnishing goods and carpets. The goods are neatly and tastily arranged, 
and give the store an inviting appearance. Miss Mae Ankney assists in 
the sale of goods. D. S. Cripe's dry goods store is situated in the south 
room of the old Seibert block. He has a large and well-select d stock of 
goods and enjoys a large patronage. Mrs. Cripe clerks in the store. 

Bakers and Confectioners.— E. O. Startzman has been continually en- 
gaged in the bakery and confectionery business in Mount Morris for near- 
ly twenty-five years. He occupies the old Startzman building and has 
spacious and convenient apartments. His oven and bake-shop are in the 
basement of the building. During the winter season he manufactures 
most of the candies oft'ered for sale. A cosy ice cream parlor is fitted up 
in the rear of the store. In the store is his soda fountain, one of the first 
brought to town. Besides carrying a full line of confectionery and bak- 
ery goods he has a partial line of groceries. Walter Wolfe's business is a 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. • 255 

combined bakery, confectionery and restaurant. Mr. Wolfe is. a young 
man full of energy and with a thorough knowledge of the business. He 
has elegant new quarters in the new Sharer building. The main floor is 
divided into two apartments, the east half being fitted as a parlor where 
ice cream is served in the summer time. In the basement is the bake 
shop, a very large oven and a chvirning room, where a large ice cream 
churn is situated. The churn is operated by a 21., horse-power gasoline 
engine. In the winter time Mr. Wolfe manufactures large quantities of 
fine candies and in the summer time, ice cream, which he disposes of by 
retail and wholesale. The stock carried on hand inckides a line of fancy 
groceries, and the finest candies on the market. Mr. Wolfe started in 
business on a very small scale, but has succeeded in building up a large 
and profitable trade. His soda fountain, purchased recently, is as fine a 
fountain as can be found anywhere in Ogle county. 

McCosh's Pharmacy and Jewelry Store. — Dr. G. B. McCosh and C. 
H. Mishler established a second drug store in Mount Morris in 1896, 
which, since 1898, has been conducted by the former. Besides the regular 
stock of drugs, chemicals and medicines, a full line of books and station- 
ery, wall paper, paints and oils, and holiday goods are kept on hand, and 
nicely arranged in the Doctor's own building, erected in 1892. E. O. 
Bailey, a registered pharmacist, is employed by Mr. McCosh. In the win- 
ter of 1899-'00, the Doctor's son, Blair, attended the Bradley Polytechnic 
Institute at Peoria, and gained a knowledge of the jewelry and optical pro- 
fessions. An office was established in the pharmacy in May, 1900, since 
which time he has been regularly engaged in the work. A stock of jewel- 
ry and optical goods has been added. 

Brayton's Old Rell\ble Drug and Book Store.— The preceding title 
is fittingly applied to the large drug and book establishment owned and 
conducted by Arthur W. Brayton. The name of Brayton has been fore- 
most in prominence in business circles of Mount Morris for nearly sixty 
years and the known and established reliability of the business conducted 
by the several generations of the family has well earned the sobriquet of 
" Old Reliable Drug and Book Store" for Mr. Brayton's place of business. 
As has been mentioned on page 33, Mr. Brayton's business directly de- 
scends from the first store established in Mount Morris, by his grand- 
father, Daniel Brayton, in 18il, and handed down by his father, Frederick 
B. Brayton, whose portrait appears on page 34. The stock carried at the 
present time is one of the largest and probably the most valuable in 
Mount Morris. He has a full line of drugs, books, stationery, paints, oils, 
wall-paper, lamps, and a large holiday stock of beautiful and useful arti- 
cles and toys of all varieties, in season. A news stand with the popular 
papers and magazines of the day is maintained and has been a feature in 
the store over forty years. The exceptional neatness and elegant arrange- 
ment of the stock is a noticeable feature. Mr. Brayton became a regis- 
tered pharmacist in about 1880. Besides compounding prescriptions and 
other pharmaceutical work, he has made a number of chemical discover- 
ies, and manufactures, among other things, a tabule for the preservation 



265 MOUNT morris: past and present. 

of milk tests, for which a very large sale has developed among creamery- 
men over many states of the Union. Earl Householder is an apprentice 
and clerk in the store, and Miss Annabel Smith takes care of the books 
and also assists with the sales. A very large patronage is enjoyed by Mr. 
Brayton. 

Hardwares. — Each of the two principal business blocks has a hard- 
ware store. Clinton E. Price bought ovit the hardware store owned by J. 
M. Piper in 1890 and has since been actively engaged in the business. Mr. 
Price is a very pleasant gentlemen to deal with and has an excellent pat- 
ronage over a large territory. His store is well stocked with everything 
in the hardware line, besides stoves and furnaces. A line of buggies is al- 
so carried in stock. A tin-shop in the rear is well supplied with all the 
tools necessary in the tinning and repairing trade. Mr. Price is an exper- 
ienced plumber and is doing a growing business in that line, especially in 
the work of putting in furnaces. To assist him in the tin shop Mr. Price 
hires a tinner and a second man most of the time. J. W. Crump is en- 
gaged as clerk in the store proper. The toll station of the Union Central 
Telephone Company is taken care of by Mr. Price and his assistants. B. E. 
Avey is proprietor of the second hardware store; the stock is entirely new 
having been purchased and first placed on sale in March, 1900. Besides 
the regular lines of heavy and fancy hardware, Mr. Avey deals in stoves 
and farming machinery. His sale of stoves during the season, 1900, ex- 
ceeded a half hundred. Among the lines of machinery handled are Cham- 
pion binders and mowers, Hamilton corn-shellers, etc. 

Restaurants and Lunch-eooms.— S. J. Hess carries a large restaurant stock, in- 
chiding- candies, cigars and tobacco. He has a soda fountain and serves many of the 
popular soda drinks during the warm weather. Warm meals are served at all hours 
of the day and evening. Sprecher Brothers have fitted up the room under Sprecher & 
Wheelers store and have a fine new stock of goods on sale. They also serve warm 
meals. Both Mr. Hess and Sprecher Brothers enjoy profitable trades. 

Well-dhilleb.— W. H. Hedges has been drilling wells in the vicinity of Mount 
Morris for about twenty -five years, having succeeded his father in the business. He 
recently purchased a new outfit and is now prepared to drill wells to a considerable 
depth . The well at the creamery, which is 268 feet deep, is the deepest drilled by him. 
Mr. Hedges also erects wind-mills, in which business, as well as that of drilling, he has 
no competition in this territory. 

LiVEKY Stables.— Long & Son. C. U. Niman, and Wm. H. Keedy represent the liv- 
ery l)usiness in Mount Morris. A. J. and Fred Long purchased the livery stable on 
AVesley street of George Bovey in 1894. and have since added a number of new vehicles 
and horses. In January, 1899, C. U. Niman bought from .John H. Miller the stable 
formerly conducted liy H. L. Smith. He has eleven head of horses, all good animals. 
and among other vehicles, a large carry-all to use for picnics, etc. Samuel Halsey 
assists with the business. Wm. Keedy is the proprietor of the 10-cent feed-sheds and 
livery stable combined, situated on the corner of Hitt and Wesley streets.. His equip- 
ment is entirely new and first class. 

Barbers.— The tonsorial profession is represented by three first-class barbers,— 
Wm. Stewart. Levi Bear, and George Toms. Each has a nicely-furnished shop and has 
about an equal share of patronage afforded by the community. Harry Castle is an 
apprentice in Mr. Bears shop and can be found there on Saturdays. 

Citizens Bank.— This bank, the only one in Mount Morris, was established in 189:5 
by Joseph L. and John H. Rice, the present owners. The former is president and the 
latter cashier of the institution. They do a general banking business, issue exchange 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. . 261 

and attend to collecting. Their deposits are very large and they are one of the sub- 
stantial institutions of Ogle county. 

Printing Offices.— Two printing offices, the Index and the News, are maintained 
in Mount Morris. They have been spoken of in chapter VIII, ■ The Village Press." 

TiNNEE. — O. L. Doward has a tin shop in the Miller building and besides doing a 
general tinning and repairing business, has a small stock of tinware for sale. Mr. 
Doward is a good machauic and does excellent work. 

Clothing and FuenisiIings.— Sprecher & Wheeler are the only dealers in clothing 
in Mount Morris. Besides a very large stock of everything in the clothing line, they 
have complete lines of gents" furnishing goods, holiday supplies, boots and shoes, etc. 
Their store covers more floor space than any other store in town. The meml)ers of 
the firm are John Sprecher. who has been a business man in Mount Morris for nearly 
forty years, and W. W. Wheeler, who had been a resident of Kansas City for a number 
of years previous to entering partnership with Mr. Sprecher in 1899. Mr. Sprecher's 
son, John, and daughter. Kittle, assist as clerks in the store most of the time. 

FuENiTUEE Dealee AND UNDEETAKEE.~Wm. H. Miller is the only representative 
of these businesses in Mount Morris. He occupies the old opera house building 
and carries a fine line of the best grades of furniture and sells his goods over a large 
territory of country. In the undertaking business Mr. Miller is thorovighly informed 
and in this also enjoys a large patronage. He first learned the undertaking profes- 
sion and became acquainted with the furniture business with his father, Upton Miller, 
having worked with him twenty years. In 1887 he went to Sterling, 111., where Prof. 
Sullivan had organized a class in embalming and from him received his first diploma. 
Later in 1896 he attended the Champion College of Embalming and received his sec- 
ond diploma. After the passage in 1898 of a law requiring undertakers to hold li- 
censes, Mr. Miller took the examination and was successful. As a result he now holds 
a license from the Illinois State Board of Health. Mr. Miller has three hearses, a 
child's hearse and two large ones, the newest, purchased only a few years ago, being 
one of the finest in northern Illinois. Mr. Miller has been continuously engaged in 
the business over thirty years and is regarded as one of our most substantial citizens. 

Tailoes. — Gregor Thompson has a large and well-stocked tailoring establishment, 
occupying the lower floor of his own building situated on the corner of Main and Wes- 
ley streets. Mr. Thompson learned the tailor's trade in Norway and has followed it all 
of his life. He has been in the business in Mount Morris about fifteen years and has a 
very large patronage. Fred Frederickson's tailor shop is situated on the south busi- 
ness block, where his patrons keep him busy the year around. More is said of Mr 
Frederickson in the biographical directory. 

Harness Shops.— J. D. Miller has been conducting a harness shop in Mount Morris 
for twelve years and by square dealing has built up a large trade in all kinds of horse 
goods. He employs a practical harness maker to assist in making new harness and to 
do repair work. S. A. Shriner owns the second and only other harness shop in town. 
He has worked in a harness shop three years at Taneytown, Md., two years in Welling- 
ton, Kan., nearly nine years in the shoe factory at Dixon and two years in a harness 
shop at Dixon. He has been in Mount Morris since November, 1898, and is enjoying a 
good trade. 

Shoemaker.— Kigdon McCoy, formerly a stone-mason, purchased the shoe-mak- 
ing business formerly conducted l)y Andrew H. Dahl, in September, 1899, and has since 
acquired considerable proficiency as a cobbler. He is the only shoemaker in town. 

Hotel Rohrer.— This hotel, the only one in Mount Morris at present, was built in 
1894, mention of which is made on page 12. The present landlord is A. T. Olson, who 
took charge April 1, 1898, and who had formerly been landlord of Hotel Glen View at 
Mount Carroll. Hotel Rohrer contains twenty-two sleeping rooms, a sample room for 
salesmen to exhibit their goods, office, parlors, bath room, dining room and kitchen. 
The building is steam heated and furnished throughout with city water. Mr. Olson is 
an expert cook and does the cooking for the hotel himself. 

Photograph Gallery.- The Elite Photograph Gallery is owned and operated by 
Roy Householder, who is a skilled artist and does work in the latest and l)e.st styles. 
He is kept busy the year around and in his work gives the best of satisfaction. 

Jewelers. — C. H. Whitman, who is engaged in the watch and clock reparing busi- 



^b- MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 

ness in the old bank building-, served un apprenticeship of three year., in Bel- 
videre and later operated a jew elry store there. In November, 188."). he boug-ht out Ja- 
cob Fager in Mount Morris and was eng-aged in the biisines.s here for a number of 
years, selling out to S. Knodle and H. E. Newcomer in 1890. In the spring of the pres- 
ent year, 19C0. he again went into the business in Mount Morris, taking up the work 
abandoned by S. Knodle. He does a general repairing business. Blair McCosh. 
the only other person in Mount Morris with a knowledge of the trade has been 
spoken of elsewhere. 

Lumber Yards.— Two large and well-stocked lumber yards in Mount Morris at- 
tract patronage from many miles on all sides of the village. The firm of Clark & 
Wingert, composed of Holly C. Clark and Ira W. Wingert. has been doing business at 
the yards near the depot since 1889. They carry a large stock of lumber and coal 
and are doing a prosperous business. Harry Longman is a trusted employee of the 
firm. Baker & CofFman are continuing the business started by N. E. Buser & Co.. in 
• 891. The firm is composed of Jos. T. Baker and Frank Coif man. Their yards are 
known as the Midway Lumber Yards. Besides a stock of building material and coal 
they have wagons, binders and mowers, and binder twine for sale. A large business 
has been built up. 

Meat Market.— Numeroils attempts to establish and maintain a second meat 
market have failed and we .still have but one. It is at present owned and operated by 
Charles Wishard and Upton Powell, who purchased the business of Rine & Whitman in 
December, 1898. They keep on hand a supply of all kinds of fresh, salted and dried 
meats and game of several kinds in season. The butchering is done at Mr. Powell's 
home seven miles southwest of Moiuit Morris. James Mumma assists in the shop. 

Creamerymen.— The Mount Morris Creamery, owned and operated by Robert C. 
McCredic. receives from five to fifteen thousand pounds of milk daily, varying with 
the season of the year. About l.'iO.COO pounds of butter have been made and marketed 
during the year 19C0. Power for the machinery in the creamery is furnished by a ten- 
h<jrse engine. Two separators are used and a No. 6 Disbrow combined churn and but- 
ter-worker, the latter with a capacity of ICOO pounds at each churning. Andrew Palm- 
gren, an experienced butter-maker, assists in the creamery. A second butter-maker is 
engaged during the summer time. John Bechtold assisted during the summer of 1900. 
Mr. McCredie also operates the creamery at Stratford, where a large business is also 
carried on. Wm. H. Jackson, formerly the owner of the Mount Morris creamery, is 
still a resident of Mount Morris and operates creameries at Leaf River and Adeline. 
Both are well equipped and produce large quantities of the highest grade butter. Mr. 
Jackson is a thorough business man and enjoys the respect of his patrons and friends. 

Elevators. — Two firms are at present engaged in the grain buying business in 
Mount Morris, viz.,— H. H. Clevidence and the Neola Elevator Company. As mentioned 
before Mr. Clevidence has been continuously engaged in this business since the early 
seventies and ranks as one of the foremost of the business men of Mount Morris of 
both the past and present. Mr. Clevidence has charge of the two north elevators, the 
first with a capacity of 50.000 bushels and the second. 2.5,COO bushels. During the year 
ending with December, 1900. Mr. Clevidence shipped about 300 cars of grain to Chicago 
approximating in the neighborhood of 300.C00 bushels. Corn and oats, of course, pre- 
dominated, with lesser amounts of wheat, rye and barley. The machinery in the north 
elevator is operated by a .5-horse gasoline engine. Mr. Clevidence also deals in farm 
machinery, buggies, and binder twine. During the year 1900 he disposed of about $1,000 
worth of Deering machinery. $12,000 worth of Rock Island buggies and 16.000 pounds of 
binder twine. Among the nuichinery sold were eighteen binders and thirteen mowers. 
Besides the two elevators. Mr. Clevidence has a large machinery warehouse, which 
was formerly the Chain-stay fence factory. The Neola Elevator Company's interests 
are looked after by F. J. Lindsay. The l)usiness was but recently purchased of Thom- 
as Williams. The elevator has a capacity of 2.5,000 liushels of grain. Besides the grain 
buying l>usiness. the company deals in flour and feed, wholesale and retail. A mill for 
grinding corn meal and chop feed is in.stalled in the elevator and kept quite busy by 
the patronage of farmers. Power is furnished l)y a l.")-horse gasoline engine, the larg- 
est in town. The Neola Elevator Company owns a large number of elevators in Illi- 
nois principally along the Burlington railroad. 



MOUNT MORRIS OF TODAY. 265 

Cahpet-weaver.~J. a. Kable is the formost carpet-weaver in Ogle county, doing 
work in all parts of the county except the extreme eastern section. He is kept busy 
the year around, with usually from one to four months" orders ahead, awaiting their 
turn. For the year ending December, 1900, he manufactured in the neighborhood of 
4.300 lineal yards of carpet. An assistant is engaged during a part of the year. 

Stock-buyee. — Samuel P. M\imma is the principal stock-buyer and shipper in 
Mount Morris. About eighty-iive cars of cattle and hogs are shipped to Chicago each 
year of w hich all but probably less than a dozen are bought and shipped by Mr. Mum- 
ma. During the year 1899 he marketed 7,800 hogs. Mr. Mumma has been in the busi- 
ness since 1872. Price Stouff er and Emanuel Slifer also occasionally ship stock. 

Beayton's Feuit Faem. — A. W. Brayton is extensively engaged in the raising of 
fruit on his farm, lying at the edge and partly within the corporate limits of the vil- 
lage. His principal crop at the present time is small fruits, including strawberries, 
gooseberies, currants and raspberries. About 2^2 acres are put out in strawberries 
from which 200 bushels were picked during the season of 1900. He also picked 50 bush- 
els of gooseberries and thirty bushels of currants. A young vineyard has been planted 
with 100 grapes, and a peach orchard of 100 trees, a pear orchard of 160 trees, a cherry 
orchard of 200 trees, a plum orchard of 300 trees and an apple orchard of -tOO trees. Mr. 
Brayton also raises a quantity of vegetables of various kinds. 

Papee Hangees. Solomon E. Avey. Frank Baker. 

Painters. Solomon E. Avey. Capt. Peter Householder. Melvin Householder. M. F. 
Maloney, J. W. Granger, Harry Castle, Wm. Beard. 

Plasterers. — E. J. Allen. Samuel Grimm, A. M. Newcomer. 

Stone Masons.— Jack McCoy. Claude McCoy. D. S. Holsinger. J. W. Blecker. 

Auctioneer.— Edwin J. Allen. 

Wood Workers.— Upton Miller. J. A. Knodle, A. M. Doward. James McCoy. 

Carpenters.- N. E. Buser. Willis Mumma. Jacob Craley, Alburtus Stutsman, S. C. 
Kinsey, B. F. Tracy. C. H. Mishler. Benj. Rine, John Merriman. H. E. Longman. Dennis 
Tracy. Edward Davis. John Jimmerson, M. F. Blake John H. Miller. 

Insurance Agent.— Chas. H. Allen. 

Teachers.— Besides the college professors and teachers in the public school, the 
following are among the persons who hold teachers" certificates in Mount Morris: 
Chas. H. Allen. Jacob G. Miller, T. M. Miller. Robert Buser, R. S. Marshall, Leslie E. 
Rees. Chas. R. Holsinger. B. F. Canode. Grace Hanstine. Orpha Windle. Edith Rowe, 
Mary C. Garber, Cleora E. Wallace, Katy Finney, Myrtle Wright, Elsie Emmert. Annie 
Eversole. Ivy Eversole. Frank Scott. 

Traveling Salesmen. Harry Gushing. George Myers, Roscoe Clark. E. E. New- 
comer. B. E. Rine. B. T. Ryder. 

U. S. Railway Mail Clerk.- A. C. Irvin. 

AIaeket Gardeners.- John French. Wm. Nalley. John McNett. Wm. Peacock. A. S. 
McCoy. A. W. Brayton. 






OS 

O 


1 

■JO 


6>-K!t.WM« 




ti Sicr 






1 






1 




CLARK 








h^< 


-11 


>., 


•iw"' 


kW^ 


k'-'^^ 


?"• 


p:^-^' 


>%1 


Ss 


;^?S 


N*^, 


P^ 


t^. 


rn 



Is V XJ. 



CD 

2 
1 


'":r' 


; 


'"T" 


1 






FfiBLCr 


b 

n 

TO 


i>= 


■0^ 


— 


A.-^w 


><>, 


iO 


.Ti-t 




:;'3 




— 


:*_., 


- 





CHAPTER XVI. 
TOWNSHIP BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY. 



Allen, Edwin J., auctioneer and plas- 
terer ; born October 22, 1852. in Mount 
Morris township ; is married and lias 
two children. 

Allen, C. H., school teacher and in- 
surance agent : born August 1, 1846, at 
Keedysville, Md. ; married December 22, 
1878, to Ella Wolfe ; has six children. 

Alter, Sherm.vx, farm hand ; unmar- 
ried. 

Andrews, Ch.\rles, farm hand. 

Ankney, N. a., retired farmer. He 
was born August 17, 1833, at Cleai-- 
spring, Washington county, Md., and 
came to Mount Morris, in 1837, with 
his mother when but a lad of 
four years. Mention of this is made 
on page 15, where his portrait is also 
shown. Mr. Ankney gained his early ed- 
ucation in the country schools of the day. 
In 1859 he went to Galifornia and re- 
mained there eight years, engaged in 
mining and freighting. After his return 
from California in 1867 he worked at 
the carpenter trade for a time in part- 
nership with Williams & Middlekanff. 
Among the buildings they erected were 
the Silver Creek Dunkard Church and 
Peter Funk's residence. January 14, 
1860, he was married to Maggie Mumma. 
In 1870 they moved about five miles west 
of town and engaged in farming for a 
number of years, there and at other 
places. In 1886 they quit farming and 
moved to Mount Morris and have since 
lived retired lives. They have one daugh- 
ter, Miss aiae Ankney, who is living at 
home. 

Appel, Henry, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many April 28, 1831 : married in 1857 
to Mary Shank ; eight children, five 
living. 

Appel, Fred, farmer : born January 
11, 1868, in Mount Morris township. 

Appel, George, farmer ; born April 
7, 1875, in Mount Morris township. 

AvEY, Josi.iH. retired farmer : born 
January 15, 1845, in Washington coun- 



ty, Md. ; married in 1845 to Lizzie 
Bovey : one son. 

AvEY, Benj.^min E., hardware dealer ; 
was born in Lincoln township, August 
3, 1874. He is the only son of Josiah 
and Elizabeth Avey, now residents of 
Mount Morris. Mr. Avey early showed 
ability as an artist, and to develop his 
talent first attended Mount Morris Col- 
lege and later the Zanerian Art Col- 
lege of Columbus, O. At the latter place 
after graduation he took post-graduate 
work under A. C. Foley, now of Paris, 
and Phil K. Clover, of Columbus, O. 
After the completion of his education he 
was engaged by the Fenton (Mich.) 
Normal College as principal of their de- 
partment of fine art, which position he 
filled one year. Later he was professor 
of art in Eldorado College, at Eldo- 
rado, Kan., for a term of three months, 
until the college went under. His last 
professorship was with the Michigan 
Correspondence Normal, located at Glad- 
win. Mich., which position he filled 
with credit for three and one-half years. 
In January, 1899, Mr. Avey came home 
and purchased the confectionery busi- 
ness of Otto Baker. After a year he 
disposed of the stock and opened his 
present hardware and implement house, 
which is affording him a good business. 
Mr. Avey is unmarried. 

AvEY, Solomon E., painter, decorator 
and paper hanger. He was born in 
Mount Morris, August 9, 1872, being the 
son of Thomas and Laura Avey. He 
gained his education in the Mount Mor- 
ris public school, graduating with the 
class of 1890. After leaving school he 
spent four years in Chicago, learning 
the painting, papering and decorating 
trade. In 1894 he commenced working 
at his trade in Mount Morris, which he 
has followed successfully since. Decem- 
ber 25. 1895, he was united in marriage 
with Belle Beard, daughter of Oliver 
and Julia Beard. Three children have 



270 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



been born to them, viz. : Gladys, born 
November 1, 1896 ; Syril, born January 
26, 1899, and Olive B., born September 
19, 1900. Mr. Avey is busy the year 
round at his trades and hires an assist- 
ant paper hanger and a number of 
painters during the busy season. 

Avey, Thomas J., laborer. He was 
born October 14, 1837, at Baliersville, 
Washington county, Md. He came west 
to Illinois at an early day and in 1866 
was married to Laura J. Davis, daugh- 
ter of Solomon and Rebecca Davis. 
Three sons were born to them, viz. : 
Ferdinand, Solomon E. and one dead. 
Mr. Avey's first wife died while quite 
young and he was again married to 
Laura Knodle. They have three chil- 
dren, viz. : Minnie, Edward and Lulu. 
Mr. Avey is a veteran of the Civil War, 
having served in Company H, 34th Hli- 
nois Infantry, during three years of 
the strife. His hearing was injured at 
the battle of Kenesaw Mountain by the 
explosion of a large shell. 

Avey, Edward, painter ; born in Mount 
Morris, March 17, 1879 ; unmarried. 

Bain, Sanders, farmer ; born at Cald- 
well's Furnace, Pa., March 8, 1852 ; 
married Nancy Lookabangh in 1861; 
has eleven children, one dead. 

Bain, George C, blacksmith ; born 
at Lawsonham, Pa., August 15, 1873 ; 
married Ina Reese in December, 1899. 

Baker, Joseph T.. lumber dealer ; 
born in Pine Creeli township, December 
9, 1842 ; married Annie C. Herbert in 
1866 ; two children ; second marriage 
in 1895 to Mrs. Julia A. Lester. 

Baker, O. AV., laborer ; born October 
26, 1850, in Washington county, Md. ; 
married Elenore Wilson in 1878 ; has 
eight children, five living. 

Baker, Harry W., laborer ; born 
September 14, 1878 ; unmarried. 

Baker, Wm. F., laborer. 

Baker, Frank M., paper hanger : born 
November 14, 1872, in Washington 
county, Md. ; married Grace A. Watts 
in 1898. 

Baker, Elmer W., laborer ; born 
April 16, 1876, in Washington county, 
Md. : married Ida M. Wallace in 1897. 

Bakner, Fred, stone mason and 
butcher ; born in Franklin county. Pa. ; 
married Catherine Waggaman in 1850 ; 
has eight children, six living. 

Barnhizer, Isaac, retired ; born Feb- 



ruary 2, 1840, in Ogle county. 111. ; mar- 
ried Susan Artz in 1867 ; seven chil- 
dren. His first wife died and he was 
again married to Ann B. Hopewood ; 
three children, one living. Mr. Barn- 
hizer served in Company H. 34th Illi- 
nois Infantry, during four years of the 
war. 

Barber, Jasper, farmer ; born De- 
cember 2, 1873, at Hennepin, 111. ; mar- 
ried Ida Nalley December 9, 1896 ; two 
children. 

Beard, Oliver J., carpenter ; born 
June 1, 1836, at Cavetown, Md. ; mar- 
ried Julia A. Houser in 1859 : eight 
children. Mr. Beard served in the army 
during the Civil War, and participated 
in many of the bloodiest battles. 

Beard, Daniel J., farmer ; born June 
10, 1860, in Washington county, Md. ; 
married Florence O. Koontz in 1883 ; 
has one child. 

Beard, Lewis H., farmer ; born Sep- 
tember 25, 1868, in AVashington county, 
Md. : married Annie S. Gimple in 1895 ; 
two children. 

Beard, John W., painter : born Oc- 
tober 27, 1866, at Covetown, Md. ; mar- 
ried January 1, 1890, to Mary Gardner ; 
three children. 

Beard, C. N., farmer : born April 22, 
1863 : married in 1887 to Mary Oswald ; 
three children. 

Beard, Georoe C, farmer : born 
March 28, 1875, in Washington county, 
Md. ; unmarried. 

Bearman, August, farmer ; born 
in Mount Morris township, February 
26, 1868 ; married Mary Shipman April 
21, 1891 ; five children. 

Bearjian, Fred C, farmer ; born May 
7, 1856. in Stephenson county. 111. ; 
married Ida Lookabaiigh in 1884, three 
children. 

Bearman, Harmon C, farmer ; born 
February 10, 1858, in Stephenson coun- 
ty ; married January 12, 1888, to Mary 
Cramer : three children. 

Bearman, Henry C, farmer ; born 
December 17, 1859, in Stephenson coun- 
ty ; married Susan E. Wallace ; three 
children. 

Bearman, F. E., farmer ; born Jan- 
uary 1, 1870, in Mount Morris town- 
ship : married Nina Dennis November 
25, 1894. 

Beak, Levi R., barber ; was born in 
Pine Creek township, November 15. 



DIRECTOKY. 



271 



1861, and spent his boyhood days gain- 
ing an education in the country school of 
his district. Since moving to town he 
has followed the tonsorial profession 
with success, for a period of fourteen 
years. Mr. Bear is a musician of con- 
siderable ability. His portrait appears 
in chapter XV. 

Bear^ Isaac M., laborer ; born Octo- 
ber 27, 1855; unmarried. 

BechtolDj John W., buttermaker ; he 
was born near McConnell, 111., where 
his parents, Levi and Mary Bechtold, 
still reside. He spent his early life on 
the farm attending the public school of 
his district. In the fall of 1898 he en- 
tered Mount Morris College and at- 
tended during a part of two years, 
spending the intervening time working 
on neighboring farms. During the sum- 
mer of 1900 he was engaged in R. C. 
McCredie's creamery. The beginning of 
the new century finds him again a stu- 
dent of the college. 

Bennett, Walter, carpenter : born 
August 4, 1850, at Oregon, 111. ; un- 
married. 

BeaRj John, born in Mount Morris 
October 27, 1856; unmarried. 

BinkleYj a. R., groceryman ; bon 
January 13, 1846, in Washington coun- 
ty, Md. ; married Laura Sprecher in 
1878 : is a veteran of the Civil War. 
His portrait will be found in chapter 
XV. 

BicKFORo, H. A., farmer ; born Au- 
gust 7, 1875, in Canada ; married in 
1896 to Lilly Grove ; one child. 

Blecker, John, stonemason ; born 
June 14, 1847, in Marion township, lUi- 
no's ; married Sophia E. Grimm, March 
2L, 1879 ; one son. 

Blair, S. R., farmer ; born in Mary- 
land township July 1. 1845, and has 
lived his entire life in or near Mount 
Morris. He was married July 1, 1867, 
to Carrie V. Fish ; they have one child. 
Mr. Blair is a veteran of the Civil War, 
Aaving served in Company I, 140th Illi- 
nois Infantry. 

Blair, Williaji M., farmer. He is 
the only son of S. R. and Carry Blair 
and was born in Mount Morris town- 
ship, August 3, 1868. He obtained a 
good education in the public school of 
his district. Most of his life has been 
spent assisting with the farm work on 
his father's farm, one mile east of town. 



Blake, M. F., carpenter ; born in 
Washington county, Md., March 24, 
1855 ; married February 2, 1879, to 
Jennie Augel ; has eight children. 

Bowman, J. W., retired farmer ; bom 
July 31, 1846, in Washington county, 
Md. ; unmarried. 

BossERMAN, L. p., student in col- 
lege ; is studying for the ministry ; is 
married and has one son. 

BoRNEMAN, Lewis, farmer ; born 
February 12, 1849, in Germany ; mar- 
ried Rebecca Mace in 1881 ; four chil- 
dren. 

BoRNEMAN, Henry, farmer ; born May 
14, 1857, in Germany ; married Lena 
Horst in 1884 ; five children. 

BovEY, Michael, retired farmer ; was 
born November 29, 1815, in Washing- 
ton county, Md., and came to Illinois 
in 1815. For portrait and further his- 
tory see page 14. 

Bollinger, Je.sse, laborer ; born 
April 29, 1832, in Adams county. Pa. ; 
married Angeline E. Baker in 1868 ; 
they have three children, two living. 

Bock, David, farmer ; born December 
28, 1858, in Franklin county, Pa. ; mar- 
ried Viola Marshall in 1889 ; have three 
children. 

Bopp, John, farmer ; was born Octo- 
ber 16, 1829, in Dauphin county, Pa., 
being the son of Martin and Anna Bopp. 
He moved with his parents to Maryland 
in 1845. His schooling was obtained in 
the district schools of Pennsylvania. 
In 1864 he moved to Montgomery coun- 
ty, Ohio, and engaged in farming there 
ten years. Coming to Illinois in 1876, 
he first settled on a farm owned by R. 
G. Marshall in Mount Morris township 
and remained there two years. The fol- 
lowing nine years were spent on the 
Jos. Palmer place, and still later lived 
on Edward Butterbaugh's farm, three 
years. In 1893 he moved to his present 
home just east of Mount Morris. Mr. 
Bopp was married August 16, 1855, to 
Matilda Secore, who died in 1896. Sev- 
en children were born to them, viz. : . 
John Henry, born 1856, died 1862 ; 
Benjamin Franklin, born January 26, 
1858, died April 23, 1858 ; Wm. Thomas, 
born 1859, died 1860 ; Mary Ellen, 
born December 22, 1862 ; Emma J.. De- 
cember 2, 1866, and Ida May, September 
26. 1871. 

BoNAR, Jacob W ., farmer ; born 



272 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Franklin county, Pa., May 1, 18G2 ; 
married Olive Hedrick February 2G, 
1891 ; have three children. 

Beubaker, D. E.. Dunkard minister ; 
born in East Tennessee March 26. 1841 ; 
married Mary Funk in 1860 ; have six 
children. The oldest son, Samuel H. 
Brubaker, is a successful architect of 
Indianapolis, Ind. 

Bricknel, Edwin, retired farmer ; 
born March 28, 1836, at Elsbere, Eng- 
land : married Lydia Miller in 1869 ; 
five sons and two daughters were born. 
Mr. Bricknel is a veteran of the Civil 
War, having served in the 65th Illi- 
nois Volunteer Infantry, Company A. ; 
was several times severely wounded. 

Bricknel, Lewis O., laborer ; born 
September 29, 1866, in Mount Morris 
township ; married Elizabeth Bain June 
20, 1899 ; they have one child. 

Brayton, Arthur W., druggist : was 
born January 7, 1847, in Mount Morris , 
married Hattie Grigsby ; they have 
three sons. For a sketch of Mr. Bray- 
ton's business in Mount Morris and his 
portrait see chapter XV. 

Brayton, Louis, student ; is the eld- 
est son of A. W. Brayton ; is attending 
the Illinois State University. 

Brayton, B. L., student : second son 
of A. W. Brayton : is attending the 
Illinois State University. 

Brinker, L. a., farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township. 

Beinkman, Roelf, retired farmer : 
born February 8, 1831, in Germany. 

Beeaw, Levi W., farmer : born in 
Canada May 27, 1867: married Annie 
Meyer December 15, 1892 ; one child. 
dead. 

Butterbaugh, Edward C, farmer : 
born July 8, 1863, in Mount Morris 
township ; married in 1882 to Mary C. 
Popp : they have four children, three 
living. 

BusER, Nathaniel E., licensed archi- 
tect and superintendent of construction. 
He was born April 28. 1851, at Boons- 
boro, Md., being the son of Jeremiah 
and Mary Buser. At the age of 16, in 
the year 1868, he came west and has 
been a resident of Mount Morris town- 
ship since that time. He was married 
September 15, 1872, to Arbanna Mid- 
dlekauff, daughter of Christian and Jane 
Middlekauff. Six children have been 
born : Florence, born December 14, 



1873 ; Oliver, born June 20, 1875 ; 
Pearl, born November 5, 1878 ; Robert, 
born September 7, 1880 ; Ruby, born 
April 27, 1882 ; Charles, born October 
27, 1885. Oliver and Charles died in 
infancy. Immediately upon arriving 
west from Maryland Mr. Buser com- 
mences work at the carpenter trade un- 
der the instruction of Henry Middle- 
kauff and after three years formed a 
partnership with him in the contracting 
business. After several years Mr. Mid- 
dlekauff dropped out and Mr. Buser 
conducted the business alone. In 1876 
he commenced making plans and speci- 
fications. He was one of the first archi- 
tects in the state to receive a license, 
and bears the distinction of being the 
only man in Ogle county now holding 
one. He went into the lumber and coal 
business in 1894, taking Jos. T. Baker 
as a partner the next year. After two 
years Mr. Buser sold his interest in the 
stock to Frank Coffman, but retained 
ownership of the buildings and grounds. 
In 1898 he formed a partnership with 
W. S. Mumma, under the firm name of 
Buser & Mumma, contractors and build- 
ers. During the last year they have 
been building extensively in the city of 
Elgin. A portrait of Mr. Buser and 
more concerning his business career will 
be found in chapter XV. 

Canode, Dr. Jonas Findley, dentist. 
He was the son of Wm. L. and Mary 
Canode and was born January 23, 1863, 
in Greenwood, Franklin county. Pa. He 
came to Rockvale township. Ogle county, 
111., with his parents in 1876 and spent 
h;s boyhood days on the farm. He finally 
became a citizen of Oregon and was en- 
gaged in various lines of business thei-e. 
He conducted a jewelry business and 
later a grocery there and then spent 
some time as traveling salesman in the 
employ of the McCormick Manufactur- 
ing Company. Two years were spent in 
an air brush studio in Rockford and 
three years in the laundry business in 
Oregon, he having started the Oregon 
Steam Laundry. In 1895 Mr. Canode 
entered the Chicago College of Dental 
Surgery and graduated with honors in 
1898. After graduation he located in 
Mount Morris and has since been em- 
ployed here, enjoying a lucrative busi- 
ness. Mr. Canode was married Nov. 26, 
1896, to Lucy A. Seyster. They have 



DIRECTORY. 



275 



two children : Mary, born April 9, 1899, 
and Morris, born July 30, 1900. 

Canode, a. E., carpenter ; born Jan- 
uary 2, 1832, in Washington county, 
Md. ; married Amelia J. Worley in 1854 ; 
nine children. 

Canode, B. F., school teacher : born 
in Franklin county, Pa. ; unmarried. 

Canode, Ciias. H., printer ; born Oc- 
tober 24, 1872, at State Line, Franklin 
county, Pa. ; married Eva Lutz in 1896 : 
was founder and publisher of the Mount 
Morris News, sold out in fall of 1900. 



worked on his father's farm in summer 
and attended school in winter until 1863, 
when he enlisted in a Massachusetts 
regiment of infantry, serving in the 
Army of the Potomac. He took part 
in nearly all the terrible fighting, be- 
ginning with the Wilderness, May 5, 
1864, to the surrender of Lee. Was 
severely wounded at the battle of Sailor's 
Creek, Va., April 6, 1865. Returning 
home after the war he attended school, 
graduating from Eastman's National 
Business College at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., 




Premises of Postmaster Holly C. Clark 



Castle, William E., farmer ; born 
October 10, 1863, in Washington coun- 
ty, Md. ; married Lizzie Fridley March 
21, 1889 ; they have one daughter. 

Castle, Harry E., painter ; born at 
Hagerstown, Md., October 23, 1876 ; un- 
married. 

Carr, Charles O., farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township, October 6, 
1871 ; married June 12, 1894, to Belle 
Goodrich ; one child. 

Clark, Holly C, postmaster ; was 
born in the town of Becket, Berkshire 
county, Mass., November 20, 1847. He 



in 1866. Went to Martinsburg, W. Va., 
in the spring of 1867, where he remained 
until 1871. engaged in teaching. Coming 
West in the spring of 1871 he located at 
Macon, Mo., where he lived two years. 
He came to Mount Morris in February, 
1873. where he has since resided. He 
continued teaching school until 1880, 
making thirteen years of service as a 
teacher. From 1881 to 1884 he was 
in the lumber business. From 1884 to 
1889 he conducted a successful grocery 
business. In February, 1889, he formed 
a partnership with Ira W. Wingert, under 



276 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



the firm name of Clark & Wingert, and 
bought the lumber business of the Min- 
nesota Lumber Company, at this place, 
which they have conducted to the present 
time. In politics Mr. Clark has always 
been an active Republican. In March, 
.1898, he was appointed postmaster, which 
office he now holds. He was married 
March 31, 1875, to Josephine, youngest 
daughter of the late Rev. N. J. Stroh. 
They have three living children — two 
sons and one daughter — Roscoe C, who 
is married, resides in (Oregon, 111., and is 



Morris and two years later embarked in 
the mercantile business in partnership 
with John Sprecher, and retained an in- 
terest in the business until 1891. In 
the meantime, after the coming of the 
railroad, he began buying and shipping 
grain and since the early seventies has 
continually been engaged in that busi- 
ness, with much success. In late years 
he has also been doing a prosperous ma- 
chinery business. A portrait and more 
concerning his business will be found in 
chapter XV. Mr. Clevidence was mar- 




Residence of Prof. A. L. Clair. 



a successful lumber salesman ; Holly 
Riner, who is attending school at Hiram 
College, Hiram, Ohio, and Grace, who 
is at home. 

Clakk, Rinek. student, son of Po.st- 
master H. C. Clark, is attending Hiram 
College at Hiram, Ohio. 

Clevidence, Henry II., grain buyer 
and implement dealer. He was born Jan- 
uary 18. 18.36, in Washington county, 
Md., being the son of Samuel and Xancy 
Clevidence. He gained a practical edu- 
cation in the district schools of his na- 
tive state. In 1861 he came to Mount 



ried January .5, 1860, to Sophia E. Mid- 
dlekauff, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Jacob C. Middlekauff. Eleven children 
have been born to them : Mazie M., 
Clara B., Alvernon, Howard, Arthur E., 
Bert and Earl. Four are dead. 

Clevidence, Arthur E., grain buyer 
and implement dealer. He is the son 
of Henry H. and Sophia Clevidence, and 
was born in Mount Morris June 11, 
1868. He attended public school in 
Mount Morris and later during 1887, 
1888 and 1889 attended Mount Morris 
College. He served as clerk in the store 



DIRECTORY. 



Ul 



of Sprechei' & Clevidence from April, 
1889, to March, 1891. He was married 
January 24, 1895, to Lillie D. Billig, 
daugliter of Samuel and Emma BilMg, 
of Forreston. Mr. Clevidence is asso- 
ciated with his father in the grain buy- 
ing and implement business and like 
his father is an experienced and reliable 
business man. His portrait appears in 
chapter XV. 

Clopper, Ludwick, laborer ; born July 
19. 1838, in Wayne county, Ind. ; mar- 
ried Melinda Himes in 1839 : two sons. 

Clopper, J. E., farmer : born April 8, 



COFFJMAN, Frank, lumber dealer : was 
born in Pine Creek township. May 5, 
1870; married Grace McCoy in 1898. 
Mr. Coff man's portrait appears in chap- 
ter XV. 

Cornell, W. D., farmer ; born in 
Blount Morris township, June 26. 1861 ; 
married Cora Hogan in 1883 ; four chil- 
dren, three living. 

Cornell, Fred D., farmer ; born Sep- 
tember 9, 18.55, in Mount Morris town- 
ship ; married Emma Bly in 1883 : two 
children. 

Cow.iN. George, builder of cement 




Residence of Mrs. Mary Coff man. 



1870, in Henry county, Ind. ; unmar- 
ried. 

Clopper, Oren L., born in Delaware 
county Ind., September 20, 1879 ; un- 
married. 

Clair, A. L., college professor : biog- 
raphy on page 113 and portrait on page 
111. 

Cook, W. G., retired farmer : born 
in Marshall county, Ind., November 9, 
1841 ; rtarried Margarette Hoover in 
1868 ; seven children. Mr. Cook is a 
minister of Dunkard church. He served 
in the Civil War in Indiana infantry. 



walk : married Elizabeth Sllfer ; four 
children. 

CoDDixGTOX, Ernest, paper cleaner 
and decorator : born in Pine Creek 
township ; married Anna Ridenour : two 
children. 

CoDDiNGTON, Harry, laborer ; born in 
Pine Creek township ; unmarried. 

Crawford, Chas., retired ; born No- 
vember 17, 1838, in Cattaraugus coun- 
ty, N. Y. ; married Frances E. Hover- 
land in 1873. 

Crawford, Mark Leroy, harnessmak- 
er. He was born at Pierceton, Ind., June 



278 



MOrXT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



30, 1876, being the son of Jasper and 
Cally Crawford. He attended the public 
school at Pierceton and graduated with 
the class of 1899, and entered the em- 
ploy of J. D. Miller as harnessmaker, at 
which trade he has had considerable 
experience. He worked at his trade two 
years at Warsaw, Ind. 

Cralei", Jacob, carpenter, born at Lei- 
tersburg, Ta., October 9, 1835 ; mar- 
ried Anna A. Canode in 1860 ; four 
children. 

Craley, David B., telephone oper- 



Ckowell, C. C, proprietor bus and 
dray line. He was born May 2, 1857, in 
Marion township, Ogle county, where he 
grew to manhood. In April, 1869, he 
left Illinois and went to Iowa with three 
of his uncles, where he was engaged a 
number of years breaking horses and 
engaged in other work. In 1874 he re- 
turned to Ogle county and pursued the 
avocation of a farmer for two years, 
east of Oregon. In 1876 he worked in 
Mount Morris with W. H. Hedges and 
the following year spent the summer in 




Residence, of Harry Cualdng. 



ator ; born in Franklin county. Pa., 
August 8, 1871 ; unmarried. 

Crosby, Robert, laborer : born Sep- 
tember 5, 1844, at Philadelphia, Pa. ; 
married Mary E. Cozzens in 1874 : one 
son. Mr. Crosby is a veteran of the 
Civil War, having served in Company K. 
149th Illinois Infantry. 

Crosby, Fred, printer ; born August 
21, 1878, in Mount Morris ; unmarried. 

Cripe, David S., dry goods merchant • 
born February 17, 1864, at Sacramento, 
Cal. : married Elva Newcomer, daugh 
ter of Eld. M. S. Newcomer ; one son 



Iowa. Returning again to Mount Mor- 
ris in 1878, he engaged for a number 
of years in teaming. In 1892 he first 
took charge of the dray line and carry- 
ing of mail and express. He has since 
conducted the draying business against 
all competition. He has also been oper- 
ating the ice business in Mount ^lorris 
during all this time, and for four years 
has run the street sprinkling business 
in the summer time. Mr. Crowell was 
first married in 1880 to Alice Knodle, 
who died in 1892. He was again mar- 
ried in 1895 to Virgie I. Stevens, daugh- 



279 



ter of Mr. and Mrs. James Stevens. 
They have three children. 

Crump, John W., hardware clerk ; 
born December 17, 1854, in McCoupin 
county, 111. ; married Amanda Gibson in 
1879 ; two children. 

Gushing, Harry W., traveling sales- 
man ; born September 1, 1862, at Grand 
Detour ; married Lillian Farwell in 
1887 ; they have one son and one daugh- 
ter. Mr. Gushing travels for the Sup- 
plee Gompany, of Philadelphia, one of 
the largest hardware firms in the United 
States. 

Gurry, Wii. O., farmer ; born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1856, in New York ; married 
Emma Harmon in 1881 ; six children. 

Davis, Joseph L., laborer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., November 20, 
1833 ; married Irene Bar in 1865 ; seven 
children. 

Davis, Edward G., carpenter ; born 
Washington county, Md., August 16, 
1874 ; married Emma Wissinger in 
1895 ; two children. 

Davis, Lewis L., laborer ; born 
Boonesboro, Md., May 18, 1842; un- 
married ; served in Givil War in Gom- 
pany I, 140th Illinois Infantry. 

Davis, G. W., laborer : born January 
21, 1845, at Boonesboro, Md. ; married 
Emma Skinner in 1870 ; four children. 
Davis, James S., farmer ; born Au- 
gust 27, 1852, in Washington county, 
Md. ; married Delia Crawford in 1881 ; 
two children. 

Davis, Wm. D., retired farmer ; moved 
from rine Creek township in November. 
1900 : born in Washington county, Md. 
Deppen, George W., grocer ; born in 
Dixon October 13, 1860 ; married Net- 
tie Neff ; two children. 

Deppen, John R., retired ; born 
March 17, 1831, at Reading, Pa. ; mar- 
ried Sarah J. Shelhamer in 1853 : one 
son living. 

DiEHL, John, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, September 26. 1843 : married 
Anna G. Horst in 1868 : seven children, 
five living. 

DiEHL, George, farmer ; son of John 
Diehl ; unmarried : born in Mount Mor- 
ris township. 

Doward. Alfred M., mechanic. He is 
the son of Jesse and Esther Trautman, 
and was born October 5, 1833, at Read- 
ing, Pa. When three years of age he 
was taken by his parents to Delaware 



county, Ohio, and there gained his edu- 
cation in the public schools. He came 
to Illinois in 1850, and to Mount Morris 
in 1857. In 1863 he enlisted in the 4th 
Illinois Cavalry and served during the 
remainder of the war. He received an 
honorable discharge in July, 1865. Mr. 
Doward is an expert saw filer and wood- 
worker and is continually kept busy at 
work in his shop in the rear of A. N. 
Neflf's blacksmith shop. He is a par- 
ticularly fine woodworker. Mr. Doward 
was married in 1860 to Annorah Nich- 
ols. They have six children, viz. : Wil- 
liam, born December 24, 1864 ; Frank 
M., born June 12, 1862 ; Oscar L., March 
3, 1864 ; Zenas O., June 19, 1866 ; 
Winnie O., June 19, 1806 ; Daisy D.. 
August 2, 1872. 

Doward, O. L., tinner ; born March 
3, 1864 ; married January 26, 1883, to 
Helen Lizer ; three children, two living. 
Doward, Wji. A., laborer ; born in 
Mount Morris, December 24, 1860 ; un- 
married. 

Domer, W. H., teamster ; born in 
Mount Morris township, April 20, 1859 ; 
married Dec. 19, 1881, to Mary K. Al- 
ter ; four children. 

Driscoll, James, railroad section 
boss : born at Rochelle, 111.. June 15, 
1857 : married April 21, 1878, to Nellie 
O'Loughlin ; five children. 

Drumheller, William, carpenter: 
born in Leaf River township April 3, 
1871 ; married December 22, 1897, to 
Ida E. Wakenight. 

Drumkeller, Chas. p., carpenter ; 
born in Leaf River township June 7, 
1866 ; married December 22, 1897, to 
Sadie B. Wakenight. 

Dunne, Simon E., farmer ; born in 
Germany in 1839 ; married in 1866 to 
Charlotte Navelsick ; five children, one 
dead. 

Dunne, August, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township ; is the son of 
Simon Dunne ; unmarried. 

Easton, Jerry, farmer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., August 1, 
1854; married September 17, 1878, to 
Susan Woltz ; seven children. 

Easton, William, farm hand : son 
of Jerry Easton ; married in 1899 to 
Flora Finger ; one child. 

Emmert, George, son of Daniel Em- 
mert ; born in Mount Morris township 
February 27, 1875 ; unmarried. 



MOUNT MORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Emmert, Daniel, laborer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., May 19, 1850 ; 
married in 1873 to Emma A. Potter ; 
four children. 

EvERSOLE, Daxiel, retired farmer ; 
born at Harper's Ferry. Va., April 19, 
1831 : married in 18.58 to Catherine 
Buser : six children. 

Farwell, George V.. farmer : born 
March 18, 1860, in Mount Morris town- 
ship : son of H. J. and M. J. Farwell : 
has served as supervisor from Mount 
Morris township four years; unmarried. 

Fairlamb, W. F., laborer ; born in 
Lancaster county, Pa., March 14. 1865 : 
married in 1896 to Xettie Kerns, who 
died in 1899 ; two children. 

Feltjiax, George, farmer ; born in 
Germany April 26, 1848 ; married in 

1871 to Cathrina Kleemann : ten chil- 
dren. 

Feltmax, .Jacob, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township December 22, 
1874 : married in 1899 to Annie Jones. 

Feltmax, William, farmer ; born Oc- 
tober 12, 1876, in Mount Morris town- 
ship ; unmarried. 

Felker, Willolghby M., farmer ; 
born in Washington county, Md., Febru- 
ary 22, 1844 : married in 1868 to Alice 
Butterbaugh ; four children. 

Felker, ;Merritt. farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township June 15. 1878 ; 
married in November, 1900, to Maude 
Wilson. 

Felker, Hexry, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township October 15, 

1872 ; unmarried. 

Felker, William, farmer : born in 
Mount Morris, February 2, 1867 ; un- 
married. 

Few, William, farmer ; born Decem- 
ber 3, 1863, in Washington county, Md. ; 
married Anna Ridenour in 1888 ; two 
children. 

Fixxey, William, carpenter ; born at 
Sterling, III., December 25, 1849 : mar- 
ried in 1871 to Melinda Shafstal ; two 
children. 

Fixxey, Ira E., school teacher : born 
near Adeline. 111.. March 13, 1873 : un- 
married. 

Fixxey, Alvix, farmer : born March 
8, 1872, in Lincoln township ; married 
Mary A. Newcomer in 1897 : one child. 

Fischer. Jacob, farm hand. 

Flory. a. M., retired farmer : born 
in Augusta county, Va., March 1, 1843 ; 



married March 17, 1870, to Susan C. 
Miller ; three children. 

Flory, H. D., student ; born in Iowa 
county, Iowa,' September 27, 1876 ; un- 
married. 

Flory, E. N., student : born in Iowa 
county, Iowa. April 7, 1879 ; unmar- 
ried. 

Floto, Lewis, farmer ; born in Mount 
Morris township May 8, 1863 : married 
in 1888 to Minnie Bearman ; three chil- 
dren. 

FouKE, Dorset, laborer ; born March 
22, 1836, at St. Louis, Mo. : married 
Elizabeth Alsip November 12, 1874 : four 
children. 

FouKE, Fred, blacksmith ; born No- 
vember 21, 1877, in Mount Morris : un- 
married. 

Frawert, Frederick, farmer : born in 
Germany August 14. 1839 : married in 
1886 to Mary Rohns ; three children. 

Frawert, Hexry C, farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township June 27, 1873 ; 
married in 1897 to Amanda Sandmeyer ; 
three children. 

Fridley, Johx. retired farmer : born 
in Rockvale township September 30, 
1838 : married in 1863 to Lizzie Hilde- 
brand ; seven children : married second 
time November 24. 1886, to Cecetia 
(Adams) MiddlekaufiE. 

Fridley, Irvix, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township April 22, 1877 ; 
unmarried. 

Frey, Yost, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many June 29, 1850 : married in 1880 
to Anna Konig ; six children. 

Frexch, Johx H., market gardener ; 
born in Washington county, Md., August 
12, 1837 : married in 1863 to Malinda 
Ilause : three children, one dead. 

Fry, Fred E., teamster : born in 
Maryland township July 26, 1868 ; mar- 
ried in 1892 to Sarah Lizer ; three chil- 
dren. 

Fredericksox, Fred, tailor, was born 
March 20. 1872, in Copenhagen, Den- 
mark, being the son of J. P. E. and 
Johanne Marie Frederickson. At the 
age of thirteen he graduated from public 
school and was then apprenticed in a 
large tailoring establishment in Copen- 
hagen to learn the tailor's trade. After 
an apprenticeship of five years he went 
to Norway and worked in several cities. 
From Norway he went to Stockholm, 
Sweden, and after traveling over that 



281 



country a few months he returned home. 
He next went to Hamburg. Germany, and 
after traveling over the principal por- 
tions of Germany he went to Calais, 
Prance, where he remained nine weeks. 
He then returned home and was exam- 
ined for the army, but was rejected. 
He then determined to try his fortune 
in the United States. Accordingly he 
took a steamer for New York and after 
landing came direct to Mount Morris 
and commenced work for Gregor Thomp- 
son. After working for him a short 
time he concluded to establish a busi- 
ness of his own. He has now been in 
business about six years and has built 
up a good substantial trade. Mr. Fred- 
erickson was married September 17, 
1S9.3, to Fannie Wilson, a native of 
Ogle county. 

Funk, Peter, retired farmer ; was 
born at Beaver Creek, Md., January 18, 
1818, being the son of Isaac and Anna 
Funk. He came to Mount Morris in 
1844 and for many years was engaged in 
blacksmithing and the livery business 
in the village. He also cultivated his 
farm situated near the village limits 
Mr. Funk was man-led May 22, 1844. 
at Richmond, Ind., to Sarah Ann Hor- 
nish. One child, Chas. W. Funk, was 
born to them, who d'.ed at the age of 
twenty years. Mr. Funk's flr-st wife died 
only six years after their marriage and 
he was again married March 10, 18.32. 
to Isabella Heller. To them were born 
seven children, viz. : Mary Ella, born 
January 30, 1853, married H. J. Gris- 
wold in 1875 : Anna S., born August 5, 
1855 : Sarah E., born December 11, 
1857, married F. N. Jackson in 1883 : 
Lillie B., died in infabcy ; Arthur L., 
born November 24. 1863, married in 

1888 to Lucy A. Beal, and after her 
death a second time to Cora B. Tyler in 
1000 : Ida and Isabel, twins, born Sep- 
tember 29, 1866, the former married to 
E. O. Fitz in 1890 and the latter to M. 
W. Fitz in 1884. 

Funk, George, farmer : born August 
8, 1839, in Germany ; married in 1865 
to Catherine Smith : Ave children. 

Funk, Otto, farmer : born in Ger- 
many October 19, 1873 ; married in 

1889 to Triene Wichman : one child. 
Fi'RREY, George W., college professor : 

portrait on page 111 and biography on 
page 115. 



Funk, Williaji H.. farmer ; born in 
Germany April 10, 1868 : married in 
1896 to Minnie Frawert ; four children, 
three dead. 

Funk, Henry,, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many ; unmarried. 

FuNDERBURGH. EjiANUEL J., farmer. 

Garkey, Henry C, farmer : born in 
Germany May 1, 1852 : married Feb- 
ruary 7, 1878 : seven children. 

Gaffin, W. II., farmer ; born in Leaf 
Iliver township April 27, 1850 : mar- 
ried February 10, 1876, to Frances Gaf- 
fln : Ave children, one dead. 

Gaude, I'ail, farmer : born in Ger- 
many. 

Ge.sford, Wji., farm hand. 

Genandt, H. a., farmer ; born in 
Germany June 30, 1861 ; married in 
1880 to Johanna Hageman ; two chil- 
dren. 

Geiger, W. Alonzd, farmer: born at 
Dubuque, Iowa, November 24, 1862 ; 
married in 1885 to Susan Edwards : four 
children. 

GuiPLE, David, farmer : born in 
Washington county, Md., September, 
1841 : married in 1867 to Rebecca 
Grove ; three children, one dead. 

GiJiTLE. Edward, farmer ; born in 
Washington, Md.. September 10, 1875 ; 
unmarried. 

GiBBEL. I. D., engaged in raising small 
fruits ; born in December, 1858. Burks 
county. Pa. : married in 1881 to Mary 
Pross : seven children. 

GiGous, Andrew, farmer : born in 
Oregon township October 9. 1841 ; mar- 
ried in 1864 to Lydia Rowland : eight 
children, four dead : married second 
time to Maria McKee, January 4. 1882 ; 
three children. 

Glasgow, Wil.son, farmer : was born 
August 14, 1830, in Blair county. Pa., 
being the son of Taylor W. and Ann 
Glasgow ; married in 1863 to Elizabeth 
J. Domer : two children ; married sec- 
ond time to Clara M. Wagner, in 1882; 
five children. 

Gloss. Williaji L., farmer : born in 
Lincoln township July 31, 1861 ; mar- 
ried in 1807 to Emma Bakener. 

Gloss, Abram, laborer ; born June 30, 
1833, in Washington county, Md. : mar- 
ried March, 1860, to Cordelia Fletcher, 
who died February 15, 1870 ; nine chil- 
dren, six dead. 

Gloss, O. C, retired farmer ; born 



282 



MOUNT MORRIS : PAST AND PRESENT. 



February 16, 1854, in Washington 
county, Md. ; married in March, 1879, to 
Florence B. Stonebralser ; two children. 
Grove, John J., farmer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., December 15, 
1872 ; married in 1892 to Wilhelmina 
Bruner ; three children. 

GeimMj Samuel M., plasterer ; born 
November 26, 1847, at Sharpsburg, Md. ; 
married in 1870 to Sarah C Kowe ; one 
child. 

Geimm, O. H., laborer ; born in Mount 
Morris December 21, 1873 ; married 
November 15, 1899, to Elsie V. Winters. 
Gkangek, J. W., painter ; born June 
14, 1877, at Sharon, Wis. ; unmarried. 
Geangek, B. I., barber ; born in Mount 
Morris March 1, 1871 ; married August 
8, 1900, to Viola Ingall. 

Hanes, W. W., physician and sur- 
geon ; born in Pine Creek township 
June 13, 1861 ; married August 14, 1889, 
to Georgia Rohrer ; one child. See por- 
trait in Chapter XV. 

Hartje, August, farmer ; born in 
Germany May 19, 1859 ; came to Amer- 
ica in 1879 ; married March 26, 1885, 
to Amelia Schnulle. 

Haltee, John, farmer ; born in 
France July 4, 1852 ; served in French 
army several years ; married August 6, 
1882, to Catherine Thompson ; three 
children. 

HAi.SEY, S. C, hostler ; born in Wash- 
ington county, Md., August 20, 1855 ; 
unmarried. 

IlANEi', H. B., farmer ; born in Rock- 
vale township September 29, 1869 ; mar- 
ried February 26, 1896, to Mabel Smith ; 
one child. 

Hamjiond, WiLLiAir J., farmer ; born 
in Leaf River November 24, 1864 ; mar- 
ried in 1881 to Ada C. Thomas; one 
child. 

Hamlin, David Feanklin, dry goods 
merchant ; born November 16, 1858, at 
Lynnville, III. ; married. 

Hageman, Heney, Se., farmer ; born 
in Germany January 13, 1831 ; married 
to Carolina Meyers ; six children. 

Hageman, Feed H., farmer ; born in 
Germany March 16, 1864 ; married ; five 
children. 

Hageman, Heney F., farmer ; born in 
Germany January 13, 1857 ; married 
August 9, 1881 ; eight children, one 
dead. 

Hageman, Lewis, farmer ; born Sep- 



tember 15, 1877, in Mount Morris town- 
ship ; married in 1898 to Gussie Miller ; 
three children. 

Hageman, Heeman H., farmer ; born 
in Germany December 16, 1860 ; mar- 
ried October 7, 1882, to Minnie Weeg- 
ens : four children ; married second time 
to Maggie Genandt ; two children. 

Healy, Wayne, J., farmer ; is the 
son of Sullivan and Emiline Healy and 
was born in Eagle Point township 
March 8, 1854. He attended his home 
school until seventeen years of age, when 
he took up studies in the Polo High 
School and was for three years under 
the tutorship of J. H. Freeman, one of 
Ogle county's very brightest instructors. 
When Mr. Healy was one year old his 
parents moved to Whiteside county, but 
moved back to Ogle county in March, 
1864, and he lived with them on the 
farm until he became of age. He farmed 
his father's farm from 1871 to 1879, 
when, his health failing him, he was ad- 
vised by friends to go to California. He 
remained in California three years, when 
he came back well and hearty. Upon his 
return (1882) he took charge of his 
sister's farm, which he cultivated suc- 
cessfully for seven years. Finally, in 
1894, he moved to Mount Morris town- 
ship, where he has since resided. Mr. 
Healy was united in marriage September 
3, 1888, to Miss Luella Alice Rhinehart. 
Five children have been born to them : 
Floyd S., July 11, 1889 ; Ethel E., Au- 
gust 26, 1891 : Ruth C, July 17, 1893 ; 
Monte D., March 23, 1895 ; Hazel V., 
July 21. 1897. 

Hess, Sidney J., township collector 
and proprietor of restaurant ; son of 
Willoughby and 'Mary Hess; born June 
11, 1870, in Leaf River township. His 
education was acquired in public school 
and later he took the shorthand and 
typewriting course in Mount Morris Col- 
lege. In 1897 he purchased the restau- 
rant stock of Ed. Mullendore and to the 
present time has worked up a good 
patronage. Mr, Hess was elected town- 
ship tax collector in 1898 and has held 
the office with credit since that time. 
A portrait of Mr. Hess appears in Chap- 
ter XV. 

Hedges, W. H., well driller ; born 
November 20, 1849, in Hedgesville, Berk- 
ley county, W. Va. ; unmarried. 

Heelyn, Lucas, farmer ; was born in 



DIRECTORY. 



283 



Germany March 15, 1853 ; married in 
1881 to Froulie Anderson. 

Hefler, C, college janitor ; born 
March 26, 1858, at Danville, Pa. : mar- 
ried in 1898 to Ellen Holsinger. 

IIershey, Daxiel,. carpenter ; born 
December 29. 1845, in Pine Creek town- 
ship ; married in 1866 to Barbara John- 
son : four children — Minnie Katherine, 
who married Prof. W. R. Young, princi- 
pal of the Idaville public schools : Mar- 
tha, who married I'rof. G. W. Furrey, 
of Mount Morris College ; I'earl, who 




Jonathan Hiesfand, J. I'. 



is at home, and Orney, who is in Cali- 
fornia. 

HiESTAND, T. M., farmer : born in 
Leaf River township August 14, 1852 ; 
married September 11, 1879, to Laura 
J. Pond ; two children, one dead. 

HiESTAND, Jonathan, justice of the 
peace and notaiT public ; son of Henry 
and Elizabeth Hiestand, who settled in 
section 4 in 1837. He was born in 
Mount Morris township November 21, 
1842, and gained his early education in 
the district schools, and during the '60s 



attended Rock River Seminary. His 
early life was spent on the farm, but 
he came to the village of Mount Morris 
in 1885. He has taught school sevei-al 
years and acted as town clerk one year ; 
has traveled extensively over the United 
States and visited Europe in 1891. Mr. 
Hiestand has literary tastes and keeps 
well informed on topics of the day. He 
is unmarried. 

HiLGER, Jacob, retired farmer ; born 
in Germany December 21, 1820 ; mar- 
ried in 1852 to Apelonia Deitrich ; two 
children. 

HiLCER, Fred, farmer : born March 
17. 1859. in Mount Morris ; married in 
1891 to Hannah Berge : four children. 

HiTT, Hon. Robert R., member of 
Congress from this district, is the most 
distinguished and highly respected citi- 
zen of Mount Morris. Ever since there 
lias been such a place as Mount Morris, 
closely connected with it has been the 
name of Hitt : and, in fact, one of the 
very first white men to set foot in 
Mount Morris township was Samuel M. 
llitt, an elder brother of Rev. Thomas 
S. Hitt, father of the subject of this 
.sketch. After the planting of the Mary- 
land colony, as narrated in Chapter I, so- 
called because of the number of settlers 
from that state who had migrated to 
nothern Illinois, Rev. Hitt, upon the 
solicitation and advice of his brother, 
decided also to locate in the new country 
and accordingly with his family, includ- 
ing Robert, he started overland for 
Mount Morris from Urbana, Champaign 
county, Ohio, where he arrived in the 
fall of 1837. Upon his arrival the family 
occupied a house west of the present 
village on the Lohafer farm ; but later 
he purchased a tract of land containing 
one thousand acres, located about two 
and a half miles south. He soon re- 
moved, however, to a tract reserved for 
him by his brother. Samuel, comprising 
what is now the Railroad Addition to 
the village and the farm immediately 
northwest, now being cultivated by Gera 
Watts. It was here that this illustrious 
family grew in manhood and woman- 
hood. The father, Thomas S. Hitt. a 
portrait of whom appears on page 177 
of this volume, was a Methodist minis- 
ter, and was a man of fine physique and 
mental training. More is said of him on 
page 176. Robert, the second son, was 



284 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



born at Urbana, OhiOi January 16, 1834, 
and was therefore but three years of 
age upon arriving with his father at 
Mount Morris. Ha received his first 
learning under A. Quimby Allen, a 
teacher who had charge of a private 
school established by a number of the 
early settlers. Later Mr. Hitt continued 
his education in classic old Rock River 
Seminary, which has turned out so many 
noble men and women. After several 
years' preparation there he entered As- 
bury University, Greencastle, Ind., where 
he graduated in 1855. He was exceed- 
ingly fond of books and at the time of 
his graduation he had not only acquired 
an excellent all-round education, but was 
also an expert at shorthand, an art lit- 
tle known at that early day. He began 
his active career, after a year's rest at 
home, as a law reporter and newspaper 
writer. While thus employed in the 
courts in Chicago he became acquainted 
with Abraham Lincoln, who was at that 
time practicing law in Illinois. Subse- 
quently he accompanied Mr. Lincoln as 
reporter upon that remarkable speech- 
making tour of the state in 1858, begin- 
ning at Ottawa, August 21, and closing 
at Alton, October 15. It was during this 
time that occurred the famous Lincoln- 
Douglas debate, and Mr. Hitt was as- 
signed to report it, which he did with 
credit. To this work of Mr. Hitt the 
country is indebted for the complete re- 
ports of this remarkable campaign, 
which brought the most marvelous man 
of the age for the first time to the 
knowledge of the nation. During the 
legislative sessions of the Assembly ol 
Illinois, in 1858, '59 and '60, Mr. Hitt 
was the oflicial reporter employed by 
the state. In 18G3 he was engaged in 
the Senafe of the United States as secre- 
tary of a committee examining into the 
naval expedition of Rurnside and Banks 
In 1805 he accompanied a board of 
treaty commissioners to the Northwest, 
ascending the Missouri river a distance 
of 1,500 miles for the purpose of nego- 
tiating with the Indian tribes in what 
was then a wilderness. Most of the fol- 
lowing year he passed at Washington 
and at Raleigh, N. C. as recorder of 
military courts. In 1867-8 he made an 
extensive tour of Europe and Eastern 
countries, during which time he visited 
Switzerland, Scotland, Italy and Egypt. 



In 1871 he went to Santo Domingo with 
three commissioners who were sent to 
that island by President Grant to in- 
quire into its resources and affairs, with 
a view to its annexation to the United 
States. In the latter part of this year 
and in 1872 he was busily engaged as 
reporter of the noted Kuklux committee 
of the two houses, and wrote a large por- 
tion of their report of thirteen volumes. 
For some time after this he acted as 
private secretary of Senator O. P. Mor- 
ton, who afterward became vice-president 
of the United States. In 1873, Rock 
River Seminary at Mount Morris had 
failed financially and Mr. Hitt, not for- 
getful of the deep interest taken in it 
by his father, bought it, put it in re- 
pair and started it again, but sold out 
after six years, as previously narrated 
in Chapters V and VI of this book. On 
the 28th of October, 1874, Mr. Hitt was 
united in marriage to Miss Sallie Rey- 
nolds, of Lafayette, Ind., a beautiful and 
highly edvicated woman, who has always 
had her heart in the work of her hus- 
band. For a wedding tour they sailed 
for Europe and while absent Mr. Hitt 
was appointed secretary of the legation 
at Paris, in which position he was con- 
tinued under President Hayes. While 
in France, two sons were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Hitt — Robert Reynolds and 
William Floyd. Returning to this coun- 
try in 1880, and while at his home in 
Mount Morris, Mr. Hitt received an 
urgent telegram from Secretary of State 
James G. Blaine to come to Washington. 
Upon arrival there he was offered the 
position of Assistant Secretary of State, 
which he accepted and filled with credit. 
He proved a keen-witted and clear- 
sighted diplomatist and an excellent man 
for the place. The duty which he en- 
tered upon included the superintendence 
of over 500 consular officers, scrutiniz- 
ing their work and giving them direc- 
tions and aiding the Secretary in pass- 
ing upon the questions that arose in in- 
tercourse with foreign nations. He re- 
signed the position after the death of 
President Garfield. Some time after 
this, two days before the Republican 
convention to nominate a candidate to 
represent the Sixth Illinois District in 
Congress. Hon. R. M. A. Hawk, the pro- 
posed candidate, died and upset all 
plans. A committee asked Mr. Hitt if 



287 



it might present his name and upon his 
consent nominated and elected him to 
the position. He has since been success- 
fully elected each term until the present 
time, and it never enters the public mind 
to do otherwise than send him to the 
national capital to represent our inter- 
ests in the making of laws for this great 
nation. His congressional work has been 
chiefly done in the committee on foreign 
affairs, of which he is chairman. He is 
a positive and systematic protectionist 
and an advocate of sound money. In 



approached upon the subject. 

HoLSiNGEE, J. P. clerk ; born in Bed- 
ford county. Pa., October 17, 1864 ; mar- 
ried November 17, 1887, to Minnie O. 
Biddle ; two children. 

HoLSiNGER, Levi, laborer ; born in 
Blair county, Pa., October 20, 1840 ; 
married in 1865 to Harriet Cheesman ; 
five children ; married second time No- 
vember 2, 1875, to Mary Grosnickle ; 
three children. 

Householder, Peter, painter ; born 
August 10, 1835, at Williamsport, Md. 




Premises of Capt. Peter Householder. 



1895 Mr. Hitt underwent a very 
severe spell of sickness, from which his 
friends despaired of his recovery. It 
took two years to gain his usual good 
health. Mr. Hitt enjoys the friendship 
of the greatest men in the country, in- 
cluding I'resident McKinley. He and his 
good wife spend a portion of each sum- 
mer at their pleasant Mount Morris 
home, and near the close of the recent 
campaign Mr. Hitt favored the people 
with a sound discussion of the issues of 
the day. He is probably the best in- 
formed man alive on the early history 
of Mount Morris and talks freely when 



He gained his education in the country 
school. He came to Illinois in 1838, and 
spent his life on the farm until Septem- 
ber 7, 1861, when he enlisted in the 
army from Mount Morris and was mus- 
tered into the United States service at 
Camp Butler as sergeant of Company H, 
34th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under 
Captain J. M. Miller and Colonel E. N. 
Kii-k, to serve three years or during the 
war. The regiment was assigned to the 
2d Brigade, 2d Division, 14th Corps, 
Army of the Cumberland, and partici- 
pated in engagements at Shiloh, Tenn., 
April 6 and 7, 1862 ; Corinth, April 30 ; 



8 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



La Vergne, November 27 ; Knob Gap, 
December 26 ; Stone River, December 
31 ; Liberty Gap, June 25, 1863 : Cbick- 
amauga, Ga., September 19 and 20 ; Re- 
saca. May 13 to 16, 1864 ; Kenesaw 
Mountain, June 9 ; Atlanta, July 28 to 
September 2 ; Jonesboro, August 31 ; 
Sherman's march to the sea, November 
15 to December 10 ; Bentonville, March 
19 to 21, 1865. Mr. Householder was 
promoted to First Lieutenant December 
27, 1862, and to Captain September 12, 
1863. He was wounded in left side and 
spine at Stone River December 31, 1862, 
and through both thighs by canister 
shot at Resaca May 14, 1864. He re- 
signed on account of disability November 
6, 1864. Mr. Householder was married 
November 28, 1869, to Annie A. Sheets. 
Six children have been born — Claude, 
William, Roy, Earl, Melvin and Blanche. 

Householder, Claude, laborer ; born 
June 4, 1871 : unmarried. 

Householder, William, professional 
baseball player ; born in Mount Morris 
township July 8, 1873 ; unmarried. 

Householder, Roy, photographer ; 
was born July 4, 1876, the one hun- 
dredth anniversary of the Declaration of 
Independence. His parents are Peter 
and Anna Householder. He completed 
the prescribed course of study in the 
Mount Morris public school in 1891 and 
several years later became apprentice to 
J. M. Hosliing, photographer. He con- 
tinued in Mr. Hoskin's employ until the 
sudden death of that gentleman. Mr. 
Householder conducted the business for 
two months until J. M. Rinedollar pur- 
chased the gallery, when he .spent some 
time as a painter in the employ of the 
Burlington Railroad and did work in 
many places along that railroad. The 
painting trade he had previously learned 
of his father. March 1, 1899, Mr. House- 
holder purchased the photograph gallery 
of J. M. Rinedollar and entered into 
business for himself. He has since 
worked diligently at the art and does 
an excellent class of work. He is now 
serving his first term as village treasurer. 
He is unmarried. 

Householder, Earl, drug clerk. He 
was born April 4, 1878, in Mount Morris, 
being the son of Peter and Anna House- 
holder. He obtained his education in 
the Mount Morris public school, and 
on Nov. 25, 1896, entered the employ of 



A. W. Brayton as clerk in his drug 
store. He is unmarried. 

HoLSiXGER, Charles R., student and 
school teacher. He is the son of Levi 
and Mary Holsinger, and was born in 
Jewel county, Kan., December 9, 1879. 
He came with his parents to Ogle coun- 
ty, 111., in 1880, and gained his early 
education in the district and public 
schools of Mount Morris township. Later 
he attended Mount Morris College sev- 
eral years. He has taught four terms of 
school and worked some at the printer's 
trade. 

Holsinger, David S., stonemason ; 
born in Blair county. Pa., August 20, 
1853 : married in 1875 to Sarah E. 
Mondabaugh, deceased ; married again 
in 1885 to Annie E. Wolfe, who is also 
dead ; married a third time, November 
28. 1894, to Belle Lizer. 

Holsinger, W. S., laborer ; born in 
Pennsylvania August 10, 1855 ; married 
in 1891 to Florence O. Knodle ; one 
child. 

Holland, John, laborer ; born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1852, in Franklin county. Pa. ; 
married : three children. 

HossACK, George, retired farmer ; 
was born in Canada, November 3, 1833 ; 
unmarried. 

HoRST, George, Sr., farmer ; born in 
Germany, April, 1823 ; married. 

HoRST, George, Jr., farmer ; born in 
Germany, August 18, 1855 ; married in 
1880 to Sarah Rebman ; six children. 

HoRST, KONRAD, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, March 29, 1850 ; married in 1876 
to Louisa Tohefer ; four children. 

HOPPE, Joseph, farm hand. 

IIowLAND, George P., unmarried. 

HoLLiNGER, Samuel, farmer ; born in 
Dark county, Ohio, April 12, 1876 ; mar- 
ried December 27, 1899, to Ellen Metzger. 

Huff, O. E., farmer ; born in Leaf 
River township, December 23, 1871 ; mar- 
ried in 1892 to Elsie Marks ; one child. 

Herbert, Fred, farm hand ; born in 
Washington county, Md. ; unmarried. 

IRVIN, A. C, railroad mail clerk ; born 
at Chicago. HI., March 28, 1858 ; mar- 
ried in 1883 to Julia S. Weller ; one 
son. 

Jackson, D. A., retired ; born July 29, 
1820, at Fairfield, N. Y. ; married 
September 19. 1848 ; three children. 

Jackson, William H., butter manu- 
facturer ; born in Salisbury, N. Y., Feb- 



DIRECTORY. 



289 



ruary 27, 1856 ; married March 12, 1878, 
to Carrie H. Hyde ; tliree cliildren. 

JaxsseNj Eildert, farmer ; born in 
Germany, July 1, 1840 ; married July 7, 
1868, to Lena Brinkema ; four children. 

Janssex, Meixt, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, February 16, 1845 ; married in 
1873 to Hattie Anderson ; eight children, 
two dead. 

Janssen. Dihk, farmer; born in Ger- 
many, September 13, 1878 ; unmarried. 

Jacobs, Geouge A., teacher ; portrait 
on page 133 ; biography on page 132. 

JiJiJiERSOX, Edward, Se., laborer ; 
born in Knox county, Ohio. September 
15, 1852 ; married July 4, 1874, to Mary 
Gossler ; three children. 

JiMMERSOx, JoHX J., carpenter; born 
in Mount Morris township, January 17, 
1876 ; married September 1, 1898, to 
Georgia Watts ; one child. 

Ji^niERSox, Edward Otto, laborer ; 
born in Mount Morris township. May 25, 
1879 ; unmarried. 

Kable, Johx a., carpet weaver. He 
was born in Dauphin county. Pa., June 
27, 1847, and was the son of Christian 
and Esther Kable. He obtained his edu- 
cation in the district schools of Dauphin 
county. He came west with his parents 
to Carroll county, 111., in April, 1866. 
Before coming west Mr. Kable spent a 
number of years working in a coal mine. 
While in Carroll county he operated a 
threshing outfit and farmed several 
years. Later he learned the carpet- 
weaving, and located at Mount Morris 
in the spring of 1882, and has built up 
an enormous business. He weaves 
thousands of yards of durable carpet 
every year for people living twenty 
miles on every side of Mount Morris. 
Mr. Kable was united in marriage June 
27, 1872, to Elizabeth A. Speicher. 
daughter of Christian and Anna Speicher 
of Tanark. Eight children have been 
born — Minnie M., August 6, 1873 : Allie 
E., March 20, 1875 ; Lulu E., September 
7, 1877 ; Harry G. and Harvey J., July 
15, 1880 : AVilliam, September 15. 1883: 
Hazel, May 25, 1891 ; Ruth, January 14, 
1894. All are living except William, 
who died in infancy. 

Kanode, Johx T., farmer; born August 
29, Frederick county, Md. ; married in 
1876 to Sarah C. Wetzel : one child. 

Kanode, Harry L., carpenter ; born 
March 27, 1866, in Frederick county. 



Md. ; married in 1890 to Emma Glasgow ; 
three children. 

Keefer, M. C, farmer ; born in Ogle 
county, July 28, 1866 ; married in 1889 
to Hannah Skiles ; three children. 

Keedy, F. C, engineer ; born in Wash- 
ington county, Md., August 8, 1869 ; 
married in 1899 to Altha A. Coffman ; 
one child. 

Keedy, William H., liveryman ; born 
in Washington county, Md., June 5, 
1867 ; unmarried. 

Kexdel, Samuel, farmer ; born in 
Washington county. Md., August 29, 
1823 ; married in 1863 to Abbie A. Haz- 
zard : eight children, one dead. 

Kexdel, Daxiel, farmer ; born in For- 
reston township. 

Kexdel, Trumax W., farmer ; born 
March 28, 1875. 

Keplixger, W. F., laborer ; born July 
4, 1846, at Keedysville, Md. ; married in 
1870 to Fannie M. Hedrick ; seven chil- 
dren, sis dead. 

KixsEY, S. C, carpenter ; born July 
10, 1844, in Washington county, Md. ; 
married December 5, 1869, to Nancy C. 
Funk ; two children, one dead. 

KoxiG, Charles, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many March 13, 1877 ; married in 1896 
to Henrietta Fischer ; two children. 

KoxiG, Ferdinaxd, farmer ; born in 
Germany, May 10, 1827 ; has two chil- 
di-en. 

KxoDLE, J. A., wood worker ; born 
October 10, 1823, in Washington county, 
Md. : married in 1848 to Anna C. Little; 
one child : married second time in 1867 
to Hannah Wagner. 

KxoDLE, F. F., music composer and 
engraver ; born April 29, 1853, in Mount 
Morris township ; married January 3, 
1877, to Cora B. Crowell ; one child. 

KooxTZ, N. T., blacksmith ; born in 
Maryland. 

KooxTZ, W. W., -farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris, 111., May 22, 1870 ; mar- 
ried in 1898 to Sarah A. Domer. 

KuMP, Daxiel, laborer ; born in Wash- 
ington county, Md., October 31, 1875 ; 
married in 1896 to Rilla Slifer; two 
children. 

Lampert. George, laborer ; born in 
New York City, November 18. 1869 ; mar- 
ried August 18, 1892. to Licia Bain ; 
three children . 

Lambing, John H., blacksmith ; was 
born November 18, 1876, at Weeping 



290 



MOUNT MOEEIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



Water Neb., being the son of George W. 
and Sarah Lambing. He attended the 
high school at Weeping Water, and at the 
age of seventeen commenced to learn the 
blacksmith trade under his father, and 
worked at the business three years. He 
belonged to the Volunteers of America 
and spent two years at mission work. 
He came to Mount Morris June 1, 1899, 
and worked at his trade for A. C. Look- 
abaugh for ten months, at the end of 
which time he purchased himself a set 
of new tools and started up in business 



Lindsay, F. J., grain buyer; born 
June 9, 1S69, at Seneca, 111. ; married 
Margaret Fogle in 1899 ; operates the 
south elevator for the Neola Elevator 
Company. 

LehxeRj J. C. ; born in Germany, 
September 8, 1831 ; married August 20, 
1856, to Louisa Krell ; one child. 

Life, L. L., pastor of Lutheran 
church ; biography and portrait on page 
188. 

LizER, Jerejiiaii, laborer ; born Jan- 
uary 9, 1846, in Washington county, 




Residence of Frank Ktcdi/, Built in 1900. 



for himself. Mr. Lambing was married 
November 15, 1898, to Lydia Muller of 
New York City. They have one son, 
Donald George, born March 17, 1900. 

Law SON, Fred, farmer ; born in Ogle 
county, March 21, 1854 ; married Jan- 
uary 18, 1882, to Eva D. Wood ; three 
children. 

Light, J. Frank, farmer ; born August 
22, 1875, in Leaf River township ; mar- 
ried Mary E. Sprecher in 1898. 

Link, George XL, farmer ; born July 
5, 1865, in Lincoln township ; married 
Augusta Bicker in 1888 ; four children, 
three living. 



Md. : married and has eight children, 
five living. 

LizER, John, laborer ; born July 9, 
1840 ; married in 1865 to Mary Lloyd ; 
ten children, three dead. 

LizER, Luther E., drayman ; born 
August 29, 1864, in Franklin county, 
Pa. ; married Laui"a Speilman in 1888 ; 
four children living. 

LoHAFER, William, Sr., farmer ; born 
in Germany, May 10, 1838 ; has six chil- 
dren. 

LoHAFER, Henry F., farmer ; born 
December 8, 1865, in Mount Morris 
township ; married Mary E. Haney in 



DIRECTORY. 



291 



1893 ; two children. 

LoHAFER, WiLLiAMj JR., farmer ; un- 
married. 

LONG:, Ernest, farmer ; married to 
Olive Felker. 

Long, Feed, liveryman ; married in 
1900 to Grace Davis. 

Long, Andrew J., liveryman ; born 
October 15, 1841, in Washington county, 
Md. ; married to Louisa V. Weller in 
1867 ; two children ; second marriage, to 
Susan Miller, in 1887. 

Long, Samuel E., farmer ; born August 
15, 1868, in Mount Morris township ; un- 
married. 

Longman, John, janitor ; born Novem- 
ber 24, 1838, in Frederick county, Md. : 
married and has three children ; sei-ved 
in Civil War, in the 1st Md. Infantry, 
and saw much hard fighting. 

Longman, Harry F., laborer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., December 29, 
1872 ; unmarried. 

Longman, Herlock E., carpenter ; 
born October 28, 1875, in Washington 
county, Md. ; married Elsie V. Looka- 
baugh in 1899. 

Lookabaugh, John F., laborer ; born 
January 28, 1853, in Franklin county. 
Pa. ; married Anna Winters in 1890. 

LooK-VBAUGH, James, laborer ; born 
October 17, 1857, in Franklin county. 
Pa. ; married September 29, 1889, to 
Mrs. M. Schelling ; worked some at 
carpenter trade. 

LooK.ABAUGH, ALBERT C, blacksmith ; 
born January 11, 1855, in Franklin 
county. Pa. : married in 1878 to Mary 
Delila Davis ; four children living. 

Lookabaugh, Jacob, laborer ; born 
May 16, 1825, in Franklin county. Pa. ; 
married Rachael Buzzard in 1848 ; eight 
children. 

Lookabaugh, Jacob D., magnetic heal- 
er ; born March 28, 1863, in Armstrong, 
Pa. ; married Effie Morford in 1890 ; 
three children. 

Lutz, J. M., retired farmer ; born 
MarcTi 29, 1839, in Franklin county. 
Pa. ; married Sarah Garber in 1865 ; 
eight children, five living. 

Marvin, Edward H., farmer ; born 
October 3, 1872, at Franklin Grove, 111. ; 
married Mary Donaldson in 1900. 

Marshall, Ira W., farmer and dairy- 
man. He is the son of Ruben S. and 
Matilda Marshall, and was born August 
24, 1859. He was married December 17, 



1897, to Delia Smith, daughter of Stephen 
and Lydia Smith, of Mount Morris, who 
had previously attended the Mount Mor- 
ris public school and college and taught 
school a number of years. They have 
two children — Bessie, born March 26, 
1881 ; and Jesse, born July 29. 1882. 
Mr. Marshall was engaged in farming 
in Leaf River township for a number of 
years and during five years conducted 
a butcher shop in Leaf River, doing the 
butchering himself at his home and hire- 
ing a man in Leaf River to run the shop. 
He also had a branch in Byron for one 
year. After selling his Leaf River and 
Byron shops, he moved to Rockford, and 
conducted a shop there for one and a 
half years. In 1895 Mr. Marshall pur- 
chased his present farm, north of town, 
of Daniel Smith, and in 1897 established 
the milk route in Mount Morris, which 
now has grown to be a large and pros- 
perous business. Mr. Marshall was 
elected road commissioner for a term of 
three years in 1890, to succeed his 
father, R. S. Marshall, who had filled the 
ofiice for many years. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Board of Education of the 
Mount Morris public school. Mr. Mar- 
shall is now having a fine new residence 
erected. 

Marshall, Eeubbn S., farmer. He is 
one of the pioneers of Mount Morris 
township, as is mentioned on page 19 ; 
his portrait is also found on that page. 
Mr. Marshall was born October 4, 1827, 
in Clinton county, New York, and was the 
son of Caleb and Louisa Marshall. His 
birthplace was on a farm near Platts- 
burg : his father having participated in 
the memorable battle of Plattsburg, 
which occurred near the old homestead. 
In November, 1834, his father's family 
started for the wild frontier in Illinois. 
At Cleveland, Ohio, hearing such alarm- 
ing reports of the deeds of hostile 
Indians in Illinois they stopped until 
hostilities were over. In February, 1837, 
they left Cleveland by team for Oregon, 
Ogle county, and reached their destina- 
tion after about four weeks of driving. 
They were compelled to remain in Or- 
egon about three weeks before being able 
to cross Rock river, on account of unsafe 
ice. They then proceeded to their claim, 
northeast of the present site of Mount 
Morris, and erected a very rude log cabin, 
12x14 feet, into which the family moved. 



292 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



As soon as the frost was out of the 
ground five acres of ground was broken 
and their first crop in Illinois planted. 
It consisted of 2 acres of wheat. 1 acre 
of oats, IVi acres of sod corn and V2 
acre of potatoes. The subject of this 
sketch was but ten years of age when 
his father's family thus established them- 
selves in Mount Morris townshp. He 
attended school until seventeen years of 
age, during the winter term of school, 
which at the most was only twenty-one 
days in length. On leaving school he 
settled down to a life of hard work, and 
durirg the sixty years and more since 
that time has done far above the aver- 
age in the work of developing this great 
State. Mr. Marshall always manfested 
an interest in politics, and has ably 
served his township in a number of 
offices. He has served as school director 
for thirty years, road commissioner 
thirty-six years, two terms as a member 
of the Board of Supervisors. While rep- 
res?nting his township as supervisor he 
did invaluable service as one of the 
building committee for the erection of 
our pressnt courthouse in Oregon. Mr. 
Marshall was married January 13, 18.52, 
to Matilda Steffa, who died February 24, 
1875. They became the parents of 
twelve children, ten of whom are living. 
Those living are Wm. C. born March 6, 
1853 : Emma May, born May 25, 1855 ; 
Ira W., born August 24, 1857 : Albertus 
S.. born July 27, 1861 : Frank E., born 
June 12, 1863 : Ida C. born February 3, 
1866 : John C, born September 10, 1867 ; 
Grace A., born April 24, 1869 : Viola, 
born December 11, 1870 ; Oliver E., born 
March 21, 1873. One son and one 
daughter died in infancy. 

M.\R.SHALL, Frank E., farmer : born in 
Mourt Morris township ; married Annie 
Sm'th in 1804 : one child. 

Makshall, Wm. C, retired farmer : 
born in Mount Morris township : married 
Mary Rowe in 1876 : two children. 

Marshall, John C, farmer; born in 
^klount Morris township : married Grace 
Koontz ; two children. 

Mayer, J. W., farmer : born February 
1, 1859, in Stephenson county, HI. : mar- 
ried Annie V. Wakenight in 1887 : four 
children. 

Mkrrymax, John, carpenter : born in 
Blair county. Pa., November 7. 1842 : 
married Clara M. Sheets in 1870; six 



children, five living. 

Maloxey, M. F. : born in Ireland in 
1860 : married Ida Stover in 1886 ; five 
children. 

Metzger, C'H.iRLES, farmer ; born in 
Germary : has two sons. 

Metzger, Adam, farmer : married. 

Metzger, Alvin, farmer : married. 

Meyer, Henry, farmer ; born February 
27, 1876. in Maryland township : un- 
married. 

Meyer, William, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, November 5, 1822 ; married Win- 
nie Bremmer in 1866 ; six children. 

McCoy. Rigdon, shoemaker ; born Feb- 
ruary 3. 1843, at Funkstown, Md. ; mar- 
ried Helen E. Harper in 1867 ; six chil- 
dren. 

McCoy, Jacksjn, bricklayer and 
stone mason : born March 27, 1872, at 
Funkstown, Md. ; married in 1899 to 
Mabel Routzhan. 

McCoy, Richard, laborer ; born in 
Mount Morris. 

McCoy, Claude, stone mason : born in 
Mount Morris, September 12, 1877 : un- 
married. 

McCoy, James B., woodworker ; born 
in Mount Morris, August 17. 1845 : mar- 
ried Mary A. Smith in 1873 ; two sons, 
one dead. 

McCoy, Robert, laborer ; youngest son 
of James B. and Mary McCoy ; unmar- 
ried. 

McCoy, A. S., farmer ; born January 
1, 1849, in Mount Morris township : 
married first to Lura A. Nefif ; married 
second time in 1889 to Hattie McQuoid. 

McCoy, John E., farmer and ex-post- 
master : born in Mount Morris township, 
January 22, 1842; married in 1865 to 
M. Elle !S> ng-l \ fl c 11 ren. 

McCoy, Charles B., tinner : son of 
John E. ;McCoy : unmarried. 

McCoSH, Dr. Georgs B., physician and 
surgeon : born March 4, 1857, in Frank- 
lin county. Pa.: married Wanda Blair; 
five children living. 

McCosH. David S.. music composer 
and engraver and band leader. He is the 
son of Dr. John and Elizabeth McCosh, 
and was born December 15. 1847, in 
Franklin county, Pa. He attended the 
public school of his district, and later 
a select school in Quincy. At the age of 
seventeen he came west with his parents 
and settled in Mount Morris. The first 
year he spent as a farmer hand, work- 



293 



ing foi- Wm. Rine, and then attended 
Rock River Seminary a nximber of years, 
during which time he became a member 
of the village band and began his musical 
career. After quitting the seminary he 
went to Dixon, and besides deriving in 
a booljstore played In the Dixon band. 
He soon became leader of the band and 
remained there seven years. He then 
went to Freeport and organized a helicon 
band which afterward consolidated with 
the Germania Band as the Grand Union 




Prof. D. S. McCosh. 

Band. Here at Freeport, in 1876, he 
first began to publish music, although 
he had done some composing in Dixon. 
After a term of three years in Freeport 
Professor McCosb then went to the city 
of Chicago and continued to publish 
music and Instruct bands and orchestras 
on a larger scale. His first band there 
was the Sixth Battalion Band, now the 
famous Second Regiment Band. He 
next became leader of Lyon & Healy's 
famous band and with it traveled ex- 
tensively with the St. Bernard Com- 
mandery of the Masonic fraternity. His 



last trip with them was to San Fran- 
cisco. Other bands under his control 
later were the West Side Military Band 
and Bowman's Military Band, the latter 
of forty pieces. At one time he furnished 
music at five of the biggest skating 
rinks in Chicago, having in his employ 
forty-five musicians. One of these rinks 
was what was known as the "Palace 
Rink," occupying ground where the 
Auditorium now stands. Professor Mc- 
Cosh's musical compositions have been 
exceedingly numerous and have been very 
successful on the market. It is estimated 
that he has composed not less than 
4,000 separate pieces, of which probably 
the most successful was the song "Hear 
Dem Bells," which was sung all over 
the United States. Among other musical 
compositions are nine sets of orchestra 
books, two sets of band books, and many 
single pieces, for C. T. Root & Son ; five 
set§"\of orchestra books and one band 
book for Henry Detmer ; two sets of 
orchestra books for John Church Com- 
pany ; one set for Lyon & Healy, and 
many other single compositions. In late 
years Mr. McCosh returned to Mount 
Morris, and is engaeed in the publishing 
business with Dr. G. B. McCosh and 
Wm. H. Smith. He is kept busy com- 
posing and engraving music and leading 
bands. The work of engraving he has 
been doing for about eighteen years past. 
Mr. McCosh was married September 19, 
1879, to Lottie Huntington, of Xew 
York city. They have two sons, viz. : 
Dudley, born December 17, 1880, and 
Leighton, born October 1, 1882. Both 
have inherited their father's exceptional 
musical talent. Dudley has already be- 
come an efficient band leader, and both 
are good cornet ists. 

McCready, W. E., farmer. He is the 
son of John and Eliza McCready, and 
was born February 27, 1845, in Clinton 
county, N. Y. He came with his parents 
to Illinois in 1S50, settling in Mount 
Morris township. His boyhood days 
were spent in the public school of his 
district, and at the early age of seven- 
teen enlisted in the army. He joined 
the 14th Illinois Cavalry in January, 
1863, and served during the remainder of 
the war, participating in various engage- 
ments, from Knoxville to Atlanta. Was 
with the command of General Gerard in 
the famous raid after Morgan, capturing 



294 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



him at Blnffington Island, iu June, 1864. 
After the war he married and went to 
farming. During the first year he farmed 
one of R. S. Marshall's farms in Mount 
Morris township ; the second year, went 
to Lincoln township, on what was then 
known as the John Nye farm, and re- 
mained there twenty-five years. He 
served thirteen years as road commis- 
sioner in Lincoln township. Moving to 
Mount Morris township in 1894, he con- 
tinued farming, occupying the Seibert 
farm east of Mount Morris. He is now 
serving the township as road commis- 
sioner, having been elected in 1899. Mr. 
McCready was married March 2, 1868, 
to Sarah Xye, who died in the early 
eighties. Three children were born to 
them, viz. : John C, born December 21, 
1869 ; Vernie E., October 18, 1871 ; and 
Chas. E., born October 12, 1876. Mr. 
McCready was again married in 1885 to 
Elizabeth Marsh. They have one son, 
Frederick H., born February 13, 1886. 

McCeeady, John, eldest son of W. E. 
McCready ; unmarried. 

McCre.vdy, Chas. W., laborer ; second 
son of W. E. McCready ; unmarried. 

McCkeady, Charles ; born in Clinton 
county. New York ; unmarried. 

McClure, Robert D., farmer ; born 
July 27, 1845, at Pittsburg, Pa. ; married 
I51izabeth Allen, January 1, 1876 ; four 
children. 

McCluee, Ray, law student ; born in 
Freedom township, Carroll County ; un- 
married. 

McNett^ John, teamster ; born in Pine 
Creek township, September 6. 1844 : mar- 
ried Margaret A. Hause in 1867 ; six 
children living. 

McNett, Samuel, laborer ; born De- 
cember 21, 1869, in Mount Morris ; un- 
married. 

McNett, Charles, laborer ; born De- 
cember 16, 1872, in Mount Morris ; un- 
married. 

McNett, Walter, laundryman ; born 
December 26, 1877, in Mount Morris : un- 
married. 

McIlvanie, Charles H., farm hand ; 
born in Mount Morris township. August 
29, 1874 ; unmarried. 

Miller, Elder D. L., editor, author, 
and minister of the Dunkard church, is 
now living a semi-retired life in his 
pleasant new home in Mount Morr's. 
Honored and respected by all, there is no 



man in Mount Morris who occupies a 
more exalted position in the estimation 
of the good people of the town. One of 
the most prominent men in all the 
Brethren church, he is known not only 
in Ogle county but has thousands of 
warm friends over the entire United 
States. Mr. Miller is a self-made man 
in every sense of the term. His father 
having a very conservative idea of the 
necessity of education, gave him only the 
knowledge which it was possible for him 
to obtain in the little country school- 
house of his district, and at the age of 
twelve put him out with a neighboring 
farmer to work. For a number of years 
he labored as a farm hand and assisted 
in his father's mill, but finally con- 
tracted the Western fever, and, leaving 
his father's farm, which was partly in 
Washington , county, Md., and the re- 
mainder in Franklin county. Pa., came 
out to Illinois. He first worked for his 
uncle, John Long-, on his farm north- 
west of Mount Morris. After a few 
years in Illinois he returned to Mary- 
land, and again assisted for a time in his 
father's mill. He soon decided to come 
west again, however, and this time 
stopped at Polo, engaging as a clerk. 
One of his first business ventures in 
Polo was in the dry goods business, in 
partnership with Samuel Shoop. He 
next bought grain in partnership with 
George Ambrose, now of Pine Creek, 
and later opened up a grocery store in 
partnership with the same gentleman. 
Mr. Ambrose sold out his share in the 
business after the first year and Mr. 
Miller conducted it alone for about five 
years with much success financially. It 
was while engaged in this business that 
Mount Morris College was purchased by 
the Brethren. In casting about for a 
competent man to become business man- 
ager of the college Mr. Miller's sterling 
business qualifications, as attested by his 
exceptional success in Polo, were brought 
to notice and he was solicited to fill the 
position. With some reluctance he dis- 
posed of his business in Polo and in 
1879 moved to Mount Morris, assuming 
his duties as business manager with the 
first opening of the school under the 
auspices of the Brethren in the fall of 
that year. For five years he was actively 
engaged in the work of managing the 
business of the school, a part of which 



DIRECTORY. 



295 



time, after the departure of J. M. Stein 
(see page 95), also doing the worli of 
president, although he would never al- 
low that title to be applied to him. 
Soon after becoming business manager 
he became a stockholder, and it was 
also during these years that the enter- 
prise known as the Brethren at Work 
was purchased by Joseph Amick and 
himself. Mr. M. M. Eshleman, former 
owner of the plant and business, had 
failed, but the new owners soon built up 
an exceedingly prosperous business, con- 



Germany, Denmark and other parts of 
Europe, and in the Holy Lauds. Dur- 
ing these nine months Mr. Miller wrote 
a famous series of communications to the 
Gospel Messenger, which were read with 
a great deal of interest all over the 
Brotherhood and served to greatly in- 
crease the Messenger subscription list. 
After his return to America letters came 
from many quarters urging him to write 
a book concerning his trip, embodying 
the substance of his letters. This was 
done and during its preparation agents 




Fine Neic Be^idcnce of Eld. D. L. Miller, Built in ivoo. 



cerning which more is found on page 
143 of this volume. Mr. Miller, along 
with his duties in the college, acted as 
office editor of the Brethren at Wmk, 
later changed to the Gospel Messenger, 
and together with other work was an 
exceedingly busy man. In 1883 Mr. 
Miller decided to go abroad, and in 
August of that year, having completed 
all the preparations for the year 1883- 
'84 of the college, which his office of 
business manager demanded, embarked 
at New York in company with his wife 
on his first trip across the Atlantic. 
Nine months were spent journeying in 



went to work unsolicited and the entire 
edition was disposed of before it was 
off the press. Other editions were later 
printed and easily sold. After his re- 
turn from this first trip abroad Mr. 
Miller remained at home nine years and 
did double duty in the college and the 
publishing house, his principal work 
being in the latter, however. In 1892 
Mr. and Mrs. Miller again went abroad, 
and after their return Mr. Miller's 
second book, "Wanderings in the Bible 
Lands," made its appearance. It was 
even more successful than the first, and 
a number of large editions were sold.- 



296 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



About this time he also prepared the 
manuscript for a book entitled "Seven 
Churches of Asia," and made a present of 
it to the mission board, the proceeds of 
its sale to be used in mission work. 
It was also very successful on the 
market. Mr. Miller's third trip abroad 
was made in company with Joseph 
Lehman, his wife remaining at home. 
On this trip they spent considerable 
time in Egypt, traveling 1,000 miles up 
the Nile. After their return from th.s 
trip Mr. Miller did not remain at home 
long and again in May, 1895, in com- 
pany with his wife embarked at New 
York on their most novel experience — a 
trip around the world. They returned 
safely by way of San Francisco after an 
absence of over a year. Two years after 
their return Mr. Miller's last and most 
successful book, "Girdling the Globe," 
made its apearance, dedicated to the 
cause of missions. In 1898 Mr. Miller 
niade his fifth and last tour abroad, ac- 
companied again by his wife. They spent 
six weeks in Jerusalem, five weeks in 
Smyrna and three months in India. 
During his many travels Mr. Miller 
gathered numerous photographs, from 
which slides have been made. With a 
powerful stereopticon and these slides he 
has illustrated hundreds of his interest- 
ing lectures concerning his travels. He is 
always greeted with enormous crowds. 
At present Mr. Miller is living practically 
retired, although he still does consider- 
able work as one of the editors of the 
Gospel Messenger and chairman of the 
General Missionary and Tract Committee. 
He is very deeply interested in the 
cause of missions, both at home and, 
particularly, abroad, and contributes lib- 
erally of his means for the promotion of 
the work. Stock in both Mount Morris 
College and the Brethren Publishing 
House has been donated to the church. 
For many years Mr. Miller has been a 
minister of the Brethren church and 
is a very able talker, one of the fore- 
most in ability in the pulpit to be found 
in the Brotherhood. As a result of his 
natural talent and by much i-eading and 
extensive travel Mr. Miller has come to 
be, with the exception of Mr. Hitt, 
probably the best informed man in Mount 
Morris, or even in Ogle county. It has 
been said of him that he is a veritable 
."walking encyclopedia." Mr. Miller is 



now in his fifty-ninth yeai-, and continues 
in the best of health and vigor. Mr. 
Miller was married in 1867 to Lizzie 
Talley of Thiladelphia. She was born, 
and lived until the time of her marriage, 
in that city. She accompanied Mr. Miller 
on all of his trips to Europe except the 
third. She is the author of one book 
entitled, "Letters to the Young from the 
Old World," written at the solicitation 
of friends, from letters published in the 
Young Disciple. Three editions of 
1,000 each were sold, the proceeds going 
for charitable purposes. 

Miller, Wm. H., undertaker and 
furniture dealer ; born in Washington 
county, Md.. July 23, 1850 : married in 
1878 to Mary Ellen Wallace : three chil- 
dren. 

MiLLEK. Michael E., retired farmer ; 
born in Mount Morris township, in 1841 ; 
married to Elizabeth Welty ; twelve chil- 
dren. 

Miller, John II., carpenter and 
farmer : boi-n November 27, 1864 ; mar- 
ried Mary E. Smith in 1890 ; three chil- 
dren. 

Miller, Johx H., employed by Deer- 
ing Harvester Company ; born December 
24, 1865, in Mount Morris township ; 
married Myrtle Rine in 1890 ; two chil- 
dren. 

Miller, John H., farmer : born in 
Franklin county. Pa., June 8, 1864 : mar- 
ried in 1887 to Fannie Roadenizer : two 
children. 

:\IiLLER, Thomas E., school teacher; 
born in Mount Morris, September 1, 
1803 ; unmarried. 

Miller, Upton, cabinet maker : born 
March 22, 1828, in Washington county, 
Md. ; married in 1849 to Maria Lou 
Davis ; five children, three living ; second 
marriage in 1887 to Catherine (Koontz) 
Newcomer. 

Miller, Oliver L., horse dealer ; born 
in Mount Morris township, September 
15, 1872 : married in 1894 to Elva 
Stevens ; four children. 

Miller, Haruv G.. farmer : born De- 
cember 12. 1869, in Franklin county, 
Pa. ; married Nettie Deihof in 1891 ; four 
children. 

Miller, Jacob G., school teacher ; born 
May 16, 1847, in Pine Creek township. 
Ogle county : married to Annie Swingley ; 
one son. 

Miller, Lewis D., superintendent of 



DIRECTORY. 



Old Folks' Home ; born in Mount Morris 
township January 18, 1852 ; married in 
1873 to Mary A. Diehl ; married second 
time in 1878 to Susan E. Diehl. 

Miller, George M., farmer ; born May 
15, 1874, in Mount Morris township ; 
married Ilattie Lewis in 1900. 

Miller, Jacob G., school teacher ; born 
May 16, 1847, in Pine Creek township ; 
married ; one son. 

Miller, John D., harness maker and 
dealer in horse millinery. He was born 
October 26, 1858, in Mount Morris, being 



business, with a large and profitable 
trade. March 1, 1885, he was married 
to Carrie E. Stone of Polo. They have 
three sons — Dale E., born July 25, 1889 ; 
Harvey L., born April 7, 1894 : and 
Wilbur E., born March 10, 1896 ; three 
sons have died. 

MiDDOUR, Samuel, farmer ; born Jan- 
uary 31, 1831, at Waynesboro, Pa. ; mar- 
ried Hattie A. Little in 1866 ; three chil- 
dren. 

MiDDOUR, E. W., farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township ; unmarried. 



■ ." \'i ^ \>^ 


V^'- 


~-% \ jrakJS^^^ ^^v \ u ^ ■ 




, ^y^^^^j^^^^^^^m^ 






)^^^n 


^^^^^^mifw h'^fK/Jm '^' '^'^^^imHHBlHl 


iP^^^^^C^ 


- ■-— ----^^J^^^^fex JH -^^H 


^^^^^--^f^ 


_^^jh|H|^^^^^^^^^^ 


\rir\ 1/^-' 


t^ppi^ifi 


ll^( 






'•" ' "■■■■^■■ft^- 





New Residence of Wm. H. Miller, built in 1900. 



the son of Upton and Louisa Miller. He 
completed his school education in 1877 
and worked at farm work several years. 
In 1881 he started to learn telegraphy, 
and after an apprenticeship of one year 
was engaged by the Burlington Railroad, 
serving as station agent and telegraph 
operator at a number of places on the 
Burlington system for a number of years. 
He was engaged principally at Mount 
Morris and Chana. October 5, 1885, he 
bought out Wm. Cushing's harness shop, 
and during the fifteen years since that 
time has been actively engaged in that 



MiDDLEKAUFF, AUSTIN, farmer : born 
in Mount Morris township, March 22, 
1863 ; married Mary C. Moats in 1887 ; 
three children. 

MiDDLEKAUFF, Fred A., grocery clerk ; 
born November 15, 1859, in Washington 
county, Md. ; unmarried. 

Mishler, Calvin H., carpenter ; born 
August 21, 1857, in Stephenson county, 
111.: married Louisa A. Miller in 1883; 
four children living. 

Miles, Charles C, fence builder ; 
born in Washington county, Md., De- 
cember 6, 1841 ; married January 1, 



300 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



1884 : one daughter. 

Moats, Hexky T., farmer ; born July 
31, 1830, in Washington county, Md. ; 
married Ann E. Speicher in 1864 ; three 
children. 

M0.4.TS, Dr. Joseph B., dentist. He is 
the son of John W. and Rebecca Moats 
and was born in Mount Morris township, 
October 2. 1863. In ISTO he moved 
with his parents from the township to 
near Des Moines, la., and there gained 
his early education in the country 
schools. He soon returned to Mount 



Swingley, who died June 3, 1897. Two 
sons were born to them, Ollie and Fred, 
who are now living with their grand- 
parents in Iowa. Mr. Moats was again 
married in September, 1899, to Isadore 
Uinehart. 

MoNGAN. James, farm hand: born in 
^yashington county, Maryland, April 8, 
1869: married Ida Bopp in 1892; one 
child. 

MoNGAN. Wm., farm hand, born in 
Washington county, Md. ; unmarried. 

MujniA. Samuel T., stock buyer ; born 




Property of Lewis Miller, Occupied by George Deppen. 



Morris, however, and farmed the home 
place three years. He then studied 
medicine eighteen months under Dr. G. 
B. McCosh and finally entered the Chi- 
cago College of Dental Surgery, taking 
his junior course in that institution. 
His senior course he took in the dental 
department of the Iowa State Univer- 
sity, graduating with the class of 1891. 
He began the practice of dentistry here 
immediately and has been at work con- 
tinuously since that time. Mr. Moats 
was first married to Grace Swingley, 
daughter of Benjamin and Catherine 



October 4, 1844, in Pine Creek township ; 
married Louisa Swingley in 1870 ; four 
children. 

MuMMA, Willis S., contractor and 
builder : is the eldest son of Samuel 
and Louisa Mumma, of Mount Morris. 
He was born in Pine Creek township 
December 2, 1870, and besides attend- 
ing the Mount Morris public school 
spent two years of diligent work in 
Mount Morris College. During the 
building of College Hall in 1889 he en- 
tered the employ of N. E. Buser to learn 
the carpenter's trade, and in a surpris- 



DIRECTORY. 



301 



ingly short time became an expert in 
the business. Mr. Buser engaged liis 
services the year round at good wages 
and soon intrusted the entire work of 
building houses to him, from cellar to 
roof. In 1898 he formed a partnership 
with Mr. Buser and with him continued 
the contracting business. He is a rapid 
and efficient workman, a most success- 
ful superintendent of construction and 
an accurate calculator. For particulars 
concerning his work see Chapter XVI. 
Mr. Mumma was married March 21, 



Mui.LEKj Jos. C, farmer ; married 

MuLLER, Hero J., farmer : born 
Germany ; married : 
dren. 

Myers, John A., 
Maryland township 
married Barbara A. Strock 
children, seven living. 

Myers, John H., farmer ; born in 
January, 1835, in Washington county, 
Md. : married in 1835 ; four children. 

Myers, George M., traveling sales- 
man : born in Mount Morris December 



has several chil- 

laborer ; born in 
August 7. 1843 ; 
n 1870 : nine 




Residence of Contractor W. S. Mumma. 



1896, to Anna L. Rice, daughter of A 
drew and Barbara Rice. 

MuJisiA, Ed S., born September 24, 
1876, in Mount Morris ; unmarried. 

MuJiMA, James, butcher : born in Ogle 
county April 15, 1841 : married to So- 
phia Etnyre ; six children, three dead. 

MuLLER,, Frank, farmer ; born May 
30, 1839, in France : married Anna 
Klock in 1864 ; seven children. 

MtTLLER. John F., farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township January 2, 1871 ; 
unmarried. 



26. ]S6<;: married Ella Lohafer. who 
died in 1899 ; four children. Mr. Mey- 
ers is engaged by the Goar-Scott Thresh- 
ing Machine Company. 

Myer, Wm. F., farmer : born in Ger- 
many December 15, 1864 : married 
Amelia Bicker in 1889 ; four children. 

Myers, Joseph, laborer ; son of John 
A. Myers ; unmarried. 

Xalley, William, laborer : born De- 
cember 10, 1835, in Washington coun- 
ty, Md. : married in 1862 : one son. 

Xalley, Frank, son of Solomon Xal- 



301 



3IOUNT morris: past and present. 



ley, deceased ; born August 6, 1879, in 
Mount Morris township ; unmarried. 

NazarenEj Feed W., pastor of the M. 
E. church ; portrait and biography on 
page 181. 

Xewcojier, Thomas E., student at 
Ann Arbor ; son of Mrs. Maggie New- 
comer. 

Xewcomer, Charles, retired banlser : 
born in Maryland August 22, 182,"> ; mar- 
ried in 1853 to Rosalie D. Blanchard : 
three sons ; married again to Miss Ma- 
ria Hitt. sister of Hon. R. R. Hitt ; was 
paymaster in the war of the rebellion. 



public school Mr. Newcomer spent one 
year in Rock River Seminary. May 6, 
1875, he was married to Laura Shank, 
daughter of George and Susan Shank, 
of Pine Creek. They have one son. How- 
ard, born September 18, 1876. and a 
daughter, Edna, born July 30, 1880. 
Mr. Newcomer followed the plastering 
trade for fifteen years, until 1885, when 
he went into the grocery business in 
partnership with his brother, Wm., and 
continued in the partnership with, how- 
ever, several changes of firm name, until 
October, 1808, when he sold to and was 




Eesidence of Major Charles Neiccomer. 



Newcomer, D. H., fa,rmer ; born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1859, in Franklin county. Pa. ; 
married Cora E. Long in 1884 ; four 
children. 

Newcomer, Emanuel, medicine vend- 
er ; born March 11, 1829, at Williams- 
port, Md. ; married Isabella Knock in 
1853 ; four children ; is an old resident 
of the village. 

Newcomer, Arthur M.. plasterer and 
retired groceryman : was born April 3, 
1848, in Mount Morris: is the son of 
.\ndrew and Eliza Newcomer, old settlers 
in Mount Morris. Besides attending the 



succeeded by his son, H. G. Newcomer. 
Mr. Newcomer has held an exceptionally 
large number of public offices, having 
been census enumerator in 1880 and 
1900, and served as collector for two 
years, village treasurer three years, vil- 
lage clerk one year, school treasurer two 
years, member of village board two 
years, justice of the peace three years, 
and is now serving his sixth year as 
clerk of the board of education. It is 
a singular fact that Mr. Newcomer has 
spent his entire life residing and doing 
business on one single block in Mount 



i 



303 



Morris. He was born on one corner, 
lived his married life on another corner 
and had his store close to a third corner 
on the same block. 

Newcojiee, Howard G., grocer. He is 
the only son of Arthur M. and Laura 
Newcomer, of Mount Morris, having 
been born in the village September 18, 
1876. He entered public school at the 
usual age and completed the specified 
course of study. He also attended 
Mount Morris College several years, tak- 
ing work in the commercial department. 
Much of his time was spent clerking in 



ward attended Rock River Seminary 
during 1869 and 1870. He clerked in his 
father's store in Mount Morris for sev- 
eral years and in 1871 enlisted in the 
United States army, joining Company H, 
Ninth United States Infantry. He served 
in this capacity five years, being dis- 
charged in 1876. He then went into 
the grocery business with his father and 
has been engaged in that vocation to 
the present time. An account of his 
business changes appears on page 37. 
^Ir. Newcomer was united in marriage 
to Lottie Rohrer. daughter of Martin F. 



m ^^mJ^-~~~- wKSKLl ^ l ift i ^mF' '^^'^^^H 



Residence of A. J\I. \ewco)iier. 



the grocery store of A. ;M. & W. A. New- 
comer until 1899, when he purchased 
the interest of the former, his father, 
and has since been engaged in that busi- 
ness, associated with his uncle. Wm. A. 
Newcomer, under the firm name of New- 
comer Company. :Mr. Newcomer is an 
obliging clerk and a thorough business 
man. 

Newcomer, William A., groceryman, 
is the son of Andrew and Eliza New- 
comer, and was born in Mount Morris 
March 29, 1850. He went to school in 
the old M'.ller schoolhous? and after- 



It oh re r. 

Newcojikr, H. E., jeweler and sta- 
foner : born in Mount Morris March 
25, 1870. See Chapter XV for business 
writeup. 

Neff, Addisox W.. blacksmith ; born 
March 14, 1847, in Mount Morris : mar- 
ried October 9, 1873, to Emily A. Black. 

NicHOL, David W., farmer ; born in 
Cumberland county. Pa., November 10, 
1870 : married in 1899 to Sarah Steflfa ; 
one child. 

Nye, Ulysses C. postofflce clerk ; born 
in Mount Morris April 12. 1864. 



30i 



310UNT morris: PAbT AND PRESENT 



XuiAX, C v., liveiyman ; born in 
Tine Creek township November 16. 1808 : 
married November 14. 1900, to Minnie 
Mae Kable. 

OLSOX, A. T., landlord ; born in Swe- 
den November 8, 1864 ; married March 
30. 1864, to Dina Gifford ; four chil- 
dren. 

I'ATTEHSOX, Robert^ farmer ; is the 
son of Adam and Mary (McDonald) Pat- 
terson. He is of a family of eight chil- 
dren, three sons and five daughters, of 
whom one son and one daughter are 
(h':u\. William ('. Patters;>n. the only 




Robert Putlerscni. 

living son besides the object of this 
.sketch, was a member of Company D. 
it2d Illinois Volunteer Mounted Infantry, 
and was the first man wounded in the 
regiment, which occurred at the battle of 
Harrison Landing. Robert, the other 
son. was born on the farm occupied by 
the Patterson family, five and one-half 
miles northwest of Mount Moi'ris. Au- 
gust 31, 1850. He was educated in the 
district schools and continued to live 
on the farm after the death of his father 
in 1868 until the year 1881. when he 



purchased eighty acres of land of Daniel 
J. Pinckney, lying one and one-half miles 
west of Mount Morris, on which place 
he has continuously resided with his 
Widowed mother for twenty years. Be- 
sides his farming, Mr. Patterson makes a 
specialty of raising thoroughbred chick- 
ens. 

Pai.mei!, Jnux K.. laborer; born April 
27. 18S.J. in Washington county, Md. ; 
married in 1861 to Ellen V. Skinner; 
seven children, six dead : married the 
second time to Laura V. Shirey, Decem- 
ber 24, 1870 : five children. 

Palmeu, David Z., farmer ; born in 
Leaf River township October 17. 1857; 
married in 1883 to Harriet Slifer : eight 
ch.ldren, one dead. 

Pail. Jesse W.. farmer ; born March 
.->. is7."i. in :M()unt Morris township. 

Paii,. Lewis W.. farmer ; born in 
Mfuyland township September 15. 1857 : 
mairiert in 1882 to Grace Brinkman. 

Pail. C. C farmer ; born in (ierman.v 
November 25. 1848 ; married in 1873 
to Dora I'othast ; five children, one 
dead. 

I'AFL. EmvAKD F.. farmer : born De- 
cember 11. 1873, in Mount Morris 
township. 

Palm 
Sweden 

Pi:Ari 
I'dlo. li 



born 



EX, a:, Vittermaker 
married. 

K. \V-M. II.. laborer: born in 

Sei)tember 0. 1862 : married 

r<i Mary A. Thompson : four 



■liiklren. 

PiEi'Ei: 

Jeniiaiiv 



AxTciXE. farmer: born in 
August 3n, 1852 : married in 
1875 to Caroline Schnulle : ten children. 

PiEi'EU. FuED. farmer : born in Mount 
^Morris township ; unmarried. 

I'OTTER. Nelsox T., retired farmer ; 
liorn in Washington county, Md.. Octo- 
l)er 20. 1829 : married in 1862 to Bar- 
bara Iliestand ; five children. 

I'oTTER. Edward E., farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township April Id. 1867 : 
married in 1893 to Emma Long: two 
children. 

Potter. Ikvixg IL. farmer; born June 
15. 1870. in Mount Morris township ; un- 
married. 

Potter. Robert, laborer : born in 
Mount Morris township Januar.v 8. 
187(> ; unmarried. 

Potter, T. L., music teacher ; born 
in Washington county, Md.. April 16, 
1840; married in 1866 to Urilla Hies- 



305 



tand : six children. 

Price, D. E., Brethren minister ; born 
in Waynesboro, Franlilin county, Pa., 
September 7. 1832 : married November 

25, 1853, to Helen B. Roland : six chil- 
dren : married the second time February 

26. 1809, to Mary E. Hicks. 

Price, Dr. C. J., physician and sur- 
geon ; located in Mount iMorris in sum- 
mer of 1900. See portrait and siietch 
in Chapter XV. 

Price, Clixtox ]•]., hardware dealer ; 
was born in Pine Creek township Novem- 
ber 27, 1854, being the son of Samuel C. 
and Sarah Price. He obtained his edu- 
cation in the Polo high school and at 
Rock River Seminary. He spent three 
years at carriage trimming in his fath- 
er's shop, and three years stock raising 
in eastern Nebraska. He went into the 
hardware business in 1882. in which he 
is still engaged. Mr. Price was married 
December 31. 1885, to Kittle Winders, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Winders. 
One child has been born — Pauline, Au- 
gust 1. 1896. 

Pressel. D. n.. farmer : born in 
York county. Pa., November 23, 1870. 

Raxey, Jacob E., laborer : born in 
Berkeley county, Va., August 30, 1853 ; 
married May 28. 1878, to Martha Gor- 
don : eleven children, one dead. 

Raxey, Charles, laborer : son of Ja- 
cob Raney : unmarried. 

Reyxold.s, Christian- C. clerk : born 
I^'ebruary 24, 1874, in Jefferson county, 
Tenn. : unmarried. 

Rebman, Joxathax. farmer : liorn 
in Maryland township June 8. 1854 : 
married in 1881 to Annie L. Timmer : 
three children, one dead. 

Rejimer. F. C, railroad station agent ; 
born in Yorkville, 111., September 18, 
1873 ; married in 1897 to Ada Neff. 

Rees, J. M.. retired Lutheran minis- 
ter ; born in Lewisburg, Union county. 
Pa.. October 6, 1836: married in 1873 
to Mary Plumb : seven children. 

Rittenhouse, Abraji H., printer ; 
born in Myerstown, Pa., February 13, 
1879 : married in November, 1900, to 
Etta Shirk : is editor of the Mount Mor- 
ris Neirs. 

Rixo, William II.. farmer : born in 
Brooklyn, N. Y.. August 15. 1857: mar- 
ried in 1888 to Sarah Feary. 

RiDEXouR, Daxiel, laborer : born in 
Washington county, Md., November 6, 



1836 : married Susan Rowland in 1873 : 
seven children, four dead : served in the 
2d Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery, Com- 
pany B. 

RiDEXcjiR, William, laborer : son of 
Daniel Ridenour : unmarried. 

RiDEXDUR, Bexj., farmer ; born in 
Washington county. :Md., May 6. 1839; 
married in 1857 to Susan Ilouser : six 
children. 

RiDEXouR, J. M., miller and farmer ; 
born in Cavetowu, Md.. May 24. 1858 : 
married in 1883 to Margaret C. Burger ; 
four children. 

RiDEXouR, Lee, farmer : born in Blount 
Morris township. October 6, 1877 : un- 
married. 

Rice, Joseph L., banker: was born 
in Maryland township December 23, 
1866, being the son of Isaac and Sarah 
Rice. Besides a common school educa- 
tion, he attended two years at Rock 
River Seminary and three years at the 
Northwestern L'niversity at Evanston. 
In company with J. Ileistand he visited 
Europe in 1891 and has also traveled 
extensively in the United States. Jan- 
uary 19, 1893, with his cousin, John 
II. Rice, he established the Citizens' 
Bank in Mount Morris and some time 
later bought out the Bank of Mount 
Morris. He is an energetic business 
man. December 23, 1895. he was united 
in marriage to Emily Newcomer. 

Rice, Johx II., banker ; born in 
Washington county. Md. : son of John 
Rice. Sr., deceased : unmarried. 

Rice, Fred, farmer : born in ^Nlary- 
land township August 5, 1859: unmar- 
ried. 

Rice, William, farmer : born August 
4. 1854. in Maryland township : unmar- 
ried. 

Rice, Eldridge, farmer : born in 
Maryland township December 7. 1863: 
unmarried. 

RiXE, Bexjamix. carpenter : born in 
Cumberland county. Pa., January 5, 
1845 : married in 1865 to Mellisse Fish ; 
four children. 

RoHRER, M. T., retired citizen : born 
in Washington county, Md., June 9, 
1827: married in 1853 to Margarett A. 
Avery : eight children. 

RoYER, J. G., president Mount Morris 
College. See portrait on page 111 : bi- 
ograjihy, page 113. 

RowLAXD. Aquilla, retired: married. 



306 



MOUNT morris: past and PRESEN-i 



wife dead. 

RoDERJiuxD, August, farmer : born in 
Germany April 13, 1851 ; married in 
1881 to Elizabetli Stengel : five ctiildren. 

KoDERMUND, WILLIAM, farmer, son of 
A. Rodermund ; unmarried. 

RoHxs, Wm., farmer ; born in Mount 
Morris township September 5, 1862 ; 
married in 1883 to Lana Wilt ; six chil- 
dren. 

Row, Hiram H.. retired farmer ; born 
in Washington county, Md., September 2, 
1829 : married in 1851 to Catherine Bo- 
ward : six children. 



son of Hiram and Catherine Rowe. He 
obtained his early education in the pub- 
lic school at Hagerstown, Md., and also 
attended school two years in Mount 
Morris township after coming west. He 
was united in marriage December 2, 
1876, to Anna Barnhizer, daughter of 
John and Elizabeth Barnhizer. Three 
children have been born — Clyde and Fay, 
who died in infancy, and Maude, born 
March 28, 1878. Mr. Rowe came west 
from Maryland several years after the 
war closed. He worked at farming until 
about 1801, when he was employed by 




Residence of Banker J. L. Rice. 



Row, Wesley, teamster ; born in 
Hagerstown, Md., October 29, 1857 ; mar- 
ried June 15, 1882, to Annie E. Royer ; 
six children. 

Row, Wm. H., farmer : born in Wash- 
ington county, Md., August 28, 1850 ; 
married in 1875 to Alice Swingley ; five 
children. 

Row. Benjamin S., farmer, born in 
Mount Morris township October 29, 
1879 ; unmarried. 

Rowe, Samuel, engineer at water 
works. He was born in Washington 
county, Md., April 26, 1853, being the 



the village as marshal and street com- 
missioner, which position he held until 
1900, when he was employed as engi- 
neer at the pumping station. 

Rudy, Theodore T., farmer ; born in 
Pine Creek township January 9, 1852 ; 
married in 1878 to Mary A. Ridenour ; 
two children. 

RuBSAMEN, Charles, born in Wash- 
ington county, Md., August 15, 1844. 
He was a private in the Civil War, be- 
longing to Company H, 3d Maryland 
Cavalry. He took part in the battle of 
Shreveport, La., and served with his 



307 



regiment to the close of the wa;-. He 
followed the blacksmith trade until 1868, 
when he removed to Mount Morris. He 
then worked seven years upon a farm 
until 1873, when he was united in mar- 
riage to Susan A. Correll, and the fol- 
lowing children born : James Harvey, 
December 22, 1875 ; Charles Edward 
December 31, 1878 ; Lulu, October 25, 
1880 ; Lewis B., March 3, 1883 ; Vilaa 
v.. May 4, 1885 ; Ernest A., October 3, 
1891. Mr. Rubsamen has served the 
township seven years as assessor. 

Rydee, B. T.. traveling salesman : 



unmarried. 

Samsel, Roy, laborer ; born in Mount 
Morris township January 18, 1880 ; un- 
married. 

Schwab, August, farmer : born in 
New York City June 1. 1878 ; unmar- 
ried. 

ScHAPBE, WiLLiAMj farmer ; born in 
Germany July 22, 183G : married in 
1864 to Charlotte Brockhorn ; six chil- 
dren, three dead. 

Scott, Frank B., school teacher ; son 
of Mrs. Joseph Smith : unmarried. 

Seibert, John, born in Mount Morris 




Residence of John V. Seibert. 



born in McHenry county. 111., August 17, 
1862 ; married in 1886 to Jesse Hyde ; 
one child. 

Samsel, W. C, retired farmer : born 
in Washington county, Md., December 
16, 1836 ; married in 1867 to Cather- 
ine Ridenour ; four children. 

Samsel, Daniel R., laborer ; born in 
Mount Morris township June 19, 1873 ; 
married in 1897 to Helen Stauffer ; two 
children. 

Samsel, Bruce, laborer ; born in 
Mount Morris township March 13. 1877 ; 



township ; married to Flora Wolfe ; one 
child. 

Seibert, Benjamin D., born in Mount 
Morris township ; unmarried. 

Seibert, Alfred T., attorney-at-law ; 
born in Mount Morris township ; un- 
married. 

Sigler, George, born in Washington 
county, Md. ; unmarried. 

Sharer, Henry, retired merchant and 
ex-postmaster. He is a native of Wash- 
ington county, Md., where he was born 
March 29, 1817, and was one of the 



308 



MCUNT 3I0RR1S: PAST AND PRESENT. 



very earliest settlers in Mount Morris 
township, having first visited Illinois 
in 1834. lie did not settle permanently, 
however, until in 1839, when he drove 
from Maryland in a two-seated carry- 
all. He stopped for a time with his 
brother-in-law. Captain Swingley, and 
lived in Brawdie's Grove several years, 
until in 1849, when he moved upon the 
farm east of town now owned by J. T. 
Kanode. He remained there until about 
1865, when he moved into the village of 
Mount Morris and went into the mercan- 
tile busines.s in the building now occu- 



Shakeu, Charles II., groceryman ; 
born in Mount Morris township Septem- 
ber 2.5. 1859 : married in 1887 to Susan 
McCosh ; five children. See business 
writeup and portrait in Chapter XV. 

Shoop, Danikl. farmer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., in November. 
1846 : married in 1899 to Amanda 
Shoop. 

Shirk, Levi B.. retired farmer : was 
born July 13, 1838, near Mifflin, Juni- 
ata county. Pa. He is the youngest 
child of David and Mary Shirk. In 1857 
Mr. Shirk came west and located at 




Residence of Chas. H. Sharer. 



pied by J. Strock. lie occupied this 
building until in 1874, when he moved 
to his own building, now occupied by 
his son, C. H. Sharer. He continued in 
this business until in 1876, when he re- 
tired from active life. Mr. Sharer has 
been married twice, the first woman of 
his choice being Cornelia Motter, to 
whom three children have been born. 
He was married the second time in 1858 
to Sarah (Felker) Hewitt, to wliom one 
child has been born. See portrait nr 
Mr. Sharer on page 25. 



West Grove, 111. Later he purchased 120 
acres of land near Shannon. He returned 
to his native state soon after securing 
the land and was married to Miss Bar- 
bara Shelley, of which union there have 
been three children — Lizzie, Nelson and 
Etta. After their marriage, January 21, 
1864, Mr. and Mrs. Shirk commenced 
farming on the land near Shannon, and 
remained there until December, 1898, 
when <^hey remo.ed to Mount Morris. 
Mr. Shirk has successfully followed the 
occupation of farming his entire life. 



DIRECTORY. 



309 



and although age has compelled him to 
retire from active service, he still takes 
a part in the tilling of the soil, hav- 
ing numerous land and jiroperty inter- 
ests in Mount Morris. 

Shirk, Nelson, son of Levi Shirk : 
born near Shannon, 111. : unmarried. 

Shaw, Richakd, retired farmer ; born 
in Alontgomery county. Ohio, May 4, 
1823: married in 1848 to E. L. Wilson: 
one child. 

Shaw, Johx E., farmer ; born in 
Hardin county, Iowa, June 28, 18G9 : 
married in 1893 to Vernie Davis. 



Franklin county, I'a., November 2.j, 
1830 : married November 2, 18.j4, to 
Louisa Guyer : six children. 

Slater, Edward, veteran of Civil 
War : born in Mansfield, Ohio, November 
21, 1833 : married July 34, 1872, to 
Julia Stone. 

Slifer. E.\rAxrEL, retired farmer : 
born December 21, 1848, in Washington 
county, Ma. : married in August, 1880, 
to Martha Thomas : two children. 

Slifer, Elmer, farmer : born in 
Washington county, Md., February 9, 
1868: married in 1 S9,5 to Annie Hill: 




Residence of Levi Shirk, occupied by W. W. Wheeler. 



Shaxk, William B., retired farmer ; 
born in Washington county, Md., Octo- 
ber 20, 1853 : married in 1879 to Annie 
E. Spesard : one child. 

Shrixer, S. a., harnessmaker and 
dealer in horse goods : born in Freder- 
ick county, Md., March 26, 1863 : mar- 
ried in 1889 to Annie L. Huges ; font 
children. 

Shryock, B. K., born January 29, 
1826, at Hagerstown, Md. : married 
March 1, 1855, to Elizabeth Potter: 
eight children, two dead. 

Show alter, Levi, farmer; born in 



three children, one dead. 

Smith, H. L., retired liveryman : born 
February 28, 1831. in Orange county, 
N. Y. ; married in 1855 to Aldoret 
Brace : one child ; married second time 
in 1867 to Rebecca Holley : one child: 
married third time to Carrie L. Knodle 
in 1877 : four children, one dead. 

Smith. Charle.s, plasterer and brick- 
layer : born in Mayfield, N. Y., December 
17, 1834: married January 1, 1856, to 
Sarah Ann Knodle : four children, one 
dead. 

Smith, Williaji K., farmer; born at 



310 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



Funkstown, Md., September 14, 1863 ; 
married in 1890 to Fannie E. Artz ; five 
children. 

S.MiTH^ Charles E., farmer ; born in 
Wasliington county, Md., November 5, 
I860 : married in 1887 to Flora Austin ; 
five children. 

Smith, Feank, farmer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., April 9, 1871. 

SxELL^ Chaeles, farm hand ; born in 
Indiana February 1, 1878. 

SoLLEXBEKGEE, M. L., retired farmer ; 
born in Franklin county, Pa., January 
20. 18.j3; married in 1876 to Adplia 



Mount Morris township, April 14, 1861 ; 
unmarried. 

Speechee, Chas. C, partner with 
brother in restaurant business ; born in 
Mount Morris October 22, 1873 ; un- 
married. 

SpeecheRj Wentwoeth, in restaurant 
business ; born in Mount Morris ; un- 
married. 

Speechee, Philip T., retired farmer ; 
born in Washington county, Md., Decem- 
ber 10, 1848 ; married in 1879 to Mary 
C. Sprecher : two children. 

Si'itECHER. Lewis C. farmer : born in 




Residence of Wm. B. Shank. 



Netsley : two children ; married second 
time in 1887 to Minnie Gish. 

Speiljian, Melvin p., retired farmer : 
born March 24, 1843. at Felghmantown, 
Md. : married in 1865 to Mary E. New- 
comer ; nine children. 

Speilhan, Chaeles E., laborer ; born 
in Lincoln township December 20, 1874 ; 
married September 12, 1900, to Lulu 
Easton. 

Spbecher. John, Se., merchant ; born 
September 22, 1832, in W'ashington coun- 
ty, Md. ; married and has nine children. 

Sprechee. John, Jr., clerk : born in 



Mount Morris township January 20, 
1849 ; married in 1880 to Anna E. 
Lookabaugh ; one child. 

Sprecher, Samuel H., born in Mary- 
land ; married to Alice Keedy. 

Sprecher, Thomas L, grocery clerk ; 
was born at Hagerstown, Md., December 
9, 1876, being the son of Frank and An- 
nie Sprecher. Besides a common school 
education he attended Wolfe's Business 
College in Hagerstown. graduating from 
a three-years' course with the class of 
1894. He then worked three years in 
the nickeling department of the Craw- 



DIRECTORY. 



311 



ford Bicycle Works. Mr. Sprecher was 
a member of the Maryland state militia 
and at the outbreak of war between the 
United States and Spain he volunteered 
his services and spent ten and a half 
months for Uncle Sam in Company B, 
1st Maryland Volunteer Infantry. His 
regiment saw no active service, however, 
and was mustered out at Augusta, Ga., 
February 28, 1899. Mr. Sprecher came 
to Mount Morris in the spring of the 
same year and has been an efficient clerk 
in grocery stores owned by A. R. Bink- 
ley at Forrestou and Mount Morris since 
that time. 



Frederick and Mary Stine. He was born 
January 25, 1852, in Franklin county, 
Pa., near the Mason and Dixon line, 
where at twelve years of age he wit- 
nessed the battle of Antietam. He at- 
tended school from the farm until he 
became of age, with the exception of 
two years spent in mining iron ore, 
about three hundred feet imder ground. 
He came to Illinois in 1876 and has been 
engaged in farming since that time. He 
first cultivated the ^'ewcomer farm in 
Rockvale township and later operated a 
farm east of Oregon for two years, but 
had the misfortune to lose all his house- 




Residenee of Emanuel Slifer. 



Sprecher, George, retired farmer ; 
married twice ; has six living children. 

Sprecher, Irvix, son of George 
Sprecher ; born in Mount Morris town- 
ship ; unmarried. 

Sprecher, Bert, laborer : son of 
George Sprecher ; born in Mount Morris 
township ; unmarried. 

Stine, Frederick, farmer ; born in 
Pennsylvania April 27, 1821 : married 
in 1844 to Mary Canode ; fifteen chil- 
dren, two dead. 

Stine, W. L., farmer, is the son of 



hold goods in a fire which destroyed the 
farm residence. He then moved to 
Mount Morris township in February, 
1885, where he has since resided and 
tilled the soil. Mr. Stine was married 
December 16, 1879, to Mary Janette 
Zellers. Five children have been born 
to them — W. Ward, April 15, 1881 : 
Mary F. (deceased), October 10, 1882; 
B'annie May. June 25. 1884 ; Carrie Belle, 
June 15. 1889 : D. Raymond. August 31, 
1891: Ralph W.. May 17, 1894. 
St.\.rtzmax. E. O., baker and confec- 



312 



MOUNT JIORRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



tioner ; born iu Hagerstowu, :M(1.. July 
19. 1854 ; unmarried. 

Stahlhut. Hknry, farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township November 19, 
18.j0 ; married in 1887 to Laura C. 
Feidt ; two children. 

Stahlhut. William, farmer : born 
in Mount Morris township August 7, 
1855 : married in 1875 to Lydia C. 
Thomas. 

Stoxebeaker. Frank S., retired farm- 
er ; is the son of F. W. and Philoma C. 
Stonebralfer. lie was born December 7, 
1864. in Mount Morris township. He 



Stonebrakek. S. Lee. laborer; born 
in Mount Morris township August 3. 
1878 : unmarried. 

Stuock. J., groceryman ; born in 
Bedford county. Pa., in 1851. He came 
to Illinois in 1854 and worked on his 
father's farm till 1891, when he moved 
to Mount Morris and engaged in the 
grocery business. Mr. Strock is an en- 
terprising citizen and built for himself a 
tine residence in 1897-98. Since living 
here he bought the lot and built what is 
now the laundry building. He was mar- 
ried in 1880 to Sarah McCosh : has six 




Residence of J. Strock. 



acquired a common school education in 
the district school and afterward at- 
tended Mount Morris College and also 
the Northern Illinois Normal School at 
Dixon, 111. Mr. Stonebraker was mar- 
ried to Mary Slifer, to whom have been 
born five children. 

Stoxebr.vker. S. F.. farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township .January 12. 
1871 : unmarried. 

Stoxebraker. C. v., farmer : born in 
Mount Morris February 9. 1851 : mar- 
ried December 6, 1874. to Oussie (). Wil- 
liams : one child. 



children. 

Stute.sjiax. Albertis. carpenter : 
born iu Dark county. Ohio. May 14. 
1851 ; married September 10. 1874 : 
three children. 

StouffeRj Price, farmer : born in 
Washington county. Md., October 19. 
1807 : married in' 1888 to Emma Haugh : 
four children. 

Stevens, James II.. farmer ; born in 
Fulton county. Pa., November 15, 184.3 : 
married March 21, 18G7, to Ellen Carr : 
four children. 

Stevens, Orion, farmer : born in 



DIRECTORY. 



313 



Huntingdon county, Pa., February 21, 
1868 ; married in 1895 ; one child. 

Stevens, David F., veterinary sur- 
geon ; born in Fulton county, Pa. : mar- 
ried to Dora (Bocliholder) Rohrer. 

Stewart, John T., carpenter ; born 
at Elliot Mills. Md., May 25, 1829 : mar- 
ried in 1852 to Laura E. Franks ; two 
children ; married second time in 1882 
to Mary A. Barrett. 

Stewakt, William H., barber : born 
at Martensburk, Va.. November 6, 1857 : 
married in 1886 to Susie A. Huffmaster. 

St"ngel, Joseph, farmer : bom in 



September 17, ISIG, and is the son of 
Michael and Mary Swingley. He was 
one of the very early settlers in the 
township, having come west with his 
father in 1842. A portrait appears on 
page 20. He was married November ."SI. 
1837, to Catherine Hershey. and is the 
father of eight children. 

Swingley, J. H., farmer ; born in 
Washington county, Md., October 10, 
1840 ; married in 1868 to Anna C. 
Sharer ; three children. 

Swingley, Charles O.. farmer : born 
in Mount Morris township. September 




Residence of Mrs. Kaihevine Smitli. 



Blount Morris township November 19, 
1860; married in 1884 to Anna Wilt; 
six children. 

Stengel, Andrew, farmer ; born in 
Germany November 6, 1828 : married in 
1857 to Grace M. Hoppa ; nine children, 
four dead. 

Steinhagen, Christian, farmer ; born 
in Germany January 15, 1835; married 
in 1873 to Louisa Hageman ; have two 
sons, Fred and Henry. 

Swingley, P.enjamin. retired farmer : 
was born in Washington county. Md.. 



23. 1869 ; unmarried. 

Swingley, Frank, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township. January 9. 
1878 ; unmarried. 

Tallacksen, Alfred, painter ; born in 
Norway, August 7. 1850 ; married in 
1875 to Jennie Lollsen : five children. 

Terveen, F. H.. farmer ; born in New 
York City, September 19. 1855 ; married 
in 1887 to Swansea Dolan ; one child. 

TicE. Frank, laborer ; born in For- 
reston township. September 30. 1863 ; 
married in 1899 to Susie L. Baker. 



314 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



TicE, John E., farmer : born at Hal- 
dane. 111., December 19, 1S56 : married 
in 1881 to Laura M. Stonebraker ; two 
children. 

TiCE, C. F., farmer ; born in Wash- 
ington county. Md., March 15, 1852 ; 
married in 1874 to Caroline Zoller ; five 
children : one dead. 

TicE, Henry, farmer ; son of C. F. 
Tice ; unmarried. 

Thojipsox, Gregor, tailor ; born in 
Denmark, July 17, 1868 ; unmarried. 

Tracy, B. F., carpenter ; born in 
Franklin county. Pa., December 23, 



Morris township. June 3. 1876 : married 
February 15. 1898, to Lillie Baker. 

Thomas, Williah R., retired farmer ; 
born in Mount Morris township, Feb- 



1881 



to 



born in 
1871. 
born in 



ruary 29, 1844 ; married in 
Lovenia Slifer. 

Thoiias. Edgar S., farmer 
Pine Creek township, July 27 

Thomas, Jacob O., farmer 
Mount Morris township, February 28 
1846 ; married in 1885 to Jennie Felker 
one child. 

Thomas, J. W.. retired Lutheran min- 
ister ; born at Camden, Ind., May 22^ 




Resichnce of William Watts. 



1845; married in 1875 to Mary E. Pot- 
ter : four children. 

Tracy, Dr.xxia, carpenter : born in 
Mount Morris township : unmarried. 

Trostle. E. p., retired farmer : born 
at Gettysburg, Pa., January 15, 1850 : 
married in 1873 to Alice J. WingCx-t ; 
three children. 

Toms. Johx A., teamster ; born at 
Davenport, Iowa, September 6. 1847 : 
married to Mary A. Suman : three chil- 
dren : one dead. 

Tojis, George, barber; boi-u in Mount 



1850: married in 1881 to Alice B. New- 
comer ; one child. 

Thomas, Noble F.. farmer ; born in 
Rockvale township, December 12, 1872 ; 
married in 1897 to Susie Young ; two 
children. 

UxGER, CH-iRLES H., retired ; born in 
Franklin county. Pa., October 30, 1846 ; 
married in 1867 to Hannah A. Foster ; 
two children. 

UxGER, U. G.. teamster : born in Frank- 
lin county. Pa.. November 4. 1868 : mar- 
ried in 1891 to Lillian M. Fouke ; five 



DIRECTORY. 



315 



children. 

Watts, Thomas O., retired farmer : 
born in Pine Creek townstiip, January 
10, 1851 ; married in 1876 to Mattie S. 
Avey ; two ctiildren. 

Watts, N. A., farmer ; born in IMue 
Creek townsliip, February 20, 1853 ; mar- 
ried in 1891 to Victoria Weller. 

Watts, W' illiam H., laborer ; born in 
Pine Creek township, May 3, 1860 ; mar- 
ried in 1893 to Ella McNett ; one child. 

Watts, Fred L., farmer ; born in Pine 
Creek township, February 7, 1869 ; mar- 
ried in 1894 to Fannie F. Felker. 



Morris. After three mouths he bought 
Mr. Binkley's interest and has since con- 
ducted the business alone. Later he 
purchased the store building which he 
occupied. Mr. Watts was united in 
marriage October 25, 1898, to Ada 
Mumma, and for a wedding tour took 
in the Trans-Mississippi Exposition at 
Omaha. Mr. and Mrs. Watts now oc- 
cupy the fine residence shown herewith, 
which was erected during the summer of 
1899. 

Watts, Gera. farmer. The subject of 
this sketch was born on his father's 




Residence of Oliver S. Watts. 



Watts, O. S., groceryman ; was born 
in Pine Creek township, March 28, 1871, 
being the son of William H. and Anna 
O. Watts, deceased. lie attended the 
district school until about fifteen years 
of age when he attended two winters in 
the Mount Morris public school, and 
afterward attended Mount Morris Col- 
lege two and one half years, graduating 
from the commercial course with the 
class of '92. He worked on the farm 
for his father from 1892 to 1897, when 
he formed a partnership with A. R. 
Kinkley in the grocery business in Mount 



farm in I'ine Creek township, March 20, 
1852. Besides a common education he 
attended Mount Morris College during 
1875 and 1878. In 1878 he went to 
Quitman, Mo., a small town of five 
hundred inhabitants, but remained only 
one season, returning to Illinois in the 
fall of the same year. With the help 
of his brother he farmed a number of 
years, until in 1885 when he was mar- 
ried and rented the Hitt farm at the 
edge of the village, where he has re- 
mained ever since, a successful tiller of 
the soil. Mr. Watts has made several 



316 



MOUNT JIZRRIS: PAST AND PRESENT. 



trips into Iowa with a view of buying 
lancj but has not yet made a purchase. 
In r>ecember 24, 1885. he was married 
to Emily J. Wallace. Three children 
have been born — Robert Reynolds, July 
22, 1888 ; Charles A., June 14, 1890 : 
May E., May 4, 1894. 

W.iGXER^ Joseph, retired farmer : born 
in Washington county. Md., September 
21. 1S2G: married March 10, 1859, to 
Susan Gerhart. 

Wagner. Williaji, farm hand : born 
in Leaf River township, February 7, 
1874 : unmarried. 



Wallace, Chilion, farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township, June 19, 1877 : 
unmarried. 

Wallace, Lewis A., farmer : born In 
Mount Morris township, December 10, 
1867. 

Wallace, Lawrence, retired farmer ; 
born in Washington county, Md., August 
26. 1824 ; married February 22, 1859, to 
E. Louisa Leek ; eight children ; one 
dead. 

Welty, G. G., farmer ; born in Freder- 
ick county. Md.. October 6, 1865 : mar- 
ried September 28. 1884. to Cora B. 




Residence of Prof. G. E. Weaver. 



Wakenight, John W., laborer ; born 
in Ohio, May 2, 1852 : married May 24, 
1874, to Susan R. Strock : nine children ; 
four dead. 

Wakenight, Harry M., laborer : born 
in Buffalo township, November 5, 1875 ; 
unmarried. 

Wallace, Lewis, 
Washington county, 
184.3; married in U 
four children. 

Wallace, Eigene R., farmer : born 
Mount Morris township. July 15, 187 
married in 1898 to Xorie Taylor. 



farmer ; born in 
Md., October 1.3. 
66 to Mary Long ; 



Martin ; five children ; two dead. 

Weller, John, retired lawyer : born in 
Berkeley county, Va., June 11, 1830 ; 
married in 1855 to Annie Getzendaner ; 
four children. 

Weller, C. R., retired farmer ; born 
in Berkeley county, Va. : married. 

Wehmeyer, Hio, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, August 10, 1867 : married in 
1891 to Mellie Wallace ; two children. 

Weaver. Brof. E. G., principal of A -t 
Department. Mount Morris College ; see 
portrait on page 111 and biography on 
page 115. 



DIRECTORY. 



317 



Weegens, Yost, farmer ; born in Ger- 
many, December 23, 1841 ; married In 
1873 to Catherine Taten ; five children. 

Weegens, William, farmer ; born in 
Lincoln township, October 19, 1876. 

Whitman, C. H.. ieweler ; born at 
Belvidere, 111., August 19, 1858 ; mar- 
ried December 28, 1891, to Maude A. 
Rine ; two children. 

Whetsel, Jesse A. ; born in Tennes- 
see, November 8, 1867 ; married Janu- 
ary 21, 1896, to Ada Null ; two children. 

Wheeler, W. W., merchant : born at 
St. Charles, 111., September 6, 1847 ; mar- 



Wingert's grocery store. In 1884 he 
went to Kansas City, engagng for six 
months in the grocery and furniture 
businesses. He returned to Mount Morris 
in 1885 and on the 15th of October was 
married to Clara Clevidence, daughter of 
Henry H. and Sophia Clevidence of 
Mount Morris. One daughter has been 
born to them — Maurine, born March 31. 
1894. After his marriage Mr. Wingert 
clerked in H. C. Clark's grocery store 
about four years, and then in partner- 
ship with Mr. Clark went into the lum- 
ber business, which is still being coii- 




Residence of Ira W. Wingei^t. 



ried to Ella Sharer ; one child. 

Whitelaw, Thomas (colored), farm 
hand ; born in Tennessee. 

Wingert, Ira W., lumber dealer ; is 
the son of Joshua and Susan Wingert of 
Franklin Grove ; was born June 12, 1859. 
Mr. Wingert gained his early education 
in the public school of his district near 
Franklin Grove and later spent part of 
two years at the Northwestern College 
at Naperville, 111., and one year at the 
Davenport (la.) Business College. He 
came to Mount Morris in the fall of 
1891 and clerked three years in Daniel 



ducted by them. For seven years they 
also owned a lumber yard at Maryland. 

Wingert, Daniel, retired merchant : 
born in Franklin county, Pa., October 
26, 1819 : married in 1843 to Nancy 
Foreman ; three children. Married second 
time to Catherine Butterbaugh. 

Williams, Thomas C, is the son of 
Ellas and Mary Williams and was born 
at Mount Morris, July 17, 1851. He 
graduated from the Mount Morris public 
school and later attended Rock River 
Seminary. He spent a number of years 
in the nursery and small fruit business. 



318 



MOUNT morris: past and present. 



and in late years was a grain buyer and 
feed dealer, which latter business he sold 
out, however, to the Neola Elevator Com- 
pany in 1900. Mr. Wiliams was mar- 
ried to Maggie C. Lookabaugh. daughter 
of Samuel and Mary Lookabaugh. Three 
children have been born — Willis (de- 
ceased). Pearl, and Allie. 

Withers, W. C, laborer ; born in 
Williamsbury, Pa., June 10, 1847 ; mar- 
ried in 1874 to Jennie Stewart. 

Withers, James P., laborer ; born in 
Williamsbury, Pa., February 22, 1844 ; 
married in 1874 to Lettie Conklin ; seven 
children, four dead. 

Withers, Jajies B. ; born in Blair 
county, Pa., August 15, 1850. 

Withers, John E., laborer ; born in 
Blair county, Pa., April 18. 1848; mar- 
ried in 1888 to Mrs. Mollie (Derr) 
Routzahn ; two children. 

AViTHERS, Jacob H., laborer : born in 
Adams county. Pa., January 25, 1842 ; 
married in 1866 to Emma E. Withers 
(deceased) ; six children ; two dead. 

WisiiARD, Charles A., butcher ; born 
in Franklin county. Pa. : unmarried. 

WiNDLE, George, farmer and real 
estate agent ; born in Shenandoah county, 
Va., November 18. 1842 ; married In 
1865 to Mary Sprecher ; four children. 

WiNDLE, Philip, son of George 
Windle ; born in Mount Morris township ; 
unmarried. 

Wolfe, John, farmer ; born in Wash- 
ington county, Md.. April 24. 1841 : mar- 
ried January 12, 1869, to Mary C. 
Kerns. 

Wolfe, Ernest, farmer : born in 
Mount Morris township November 10. 
1873 ; married January 26, 1896, to 
Grace Kendall. 

Wolfe, Carlton E., farmer ; born in 



Washington county, Md., August 5, 
1857; married January 10, 1884, to- Ella 
Fridley ; two children. 

Wolfe, Walter C, baker and con- 
fectioner ; is the son of Hiram J. and 
Catherine Wolfe, and was born near 
Hagerstown. Md., May 21, 1878. He 
began his education in Hagerstown but 
moved with his parents to the State of 
Missouri, and later to Mount Morris. 
While at Nevada, Mo., Mr. Wolfe learned 
the baker's trade of his father, and for 
a time had charge of a bakery at But'er, 
Mo. Upon the death of the senior Wolfe 
in Mount Morris, he helped his mother 
run the business for several years, but 
became sole proprietor in March, 1900. 
Mr. Wolfe is unmarried. 

Wright, Robert B., farmer and car- 
penter ; born in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., 
July 22, 1822 ; married April 4, 1878, to 
Sylvia B. Scoles ; two children. 

ZuMDAHLj Fred, farmer ; born in 
Lincoln township, September 21, 1851 ; 
married in 1886 to Eliabeth Drake ; five 
children ; one dead. 

ZuMDAHL, C. A., farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township, November 1, 
1850 ; married in 1882 to Helen E. Tim- 
mer ; eight children ; three dead. 

Zdmdahl, a. H., farmer ; born in 
Lincoln township. August 7, 1866 ; mar- 
ried December 16, 1896, to Anna M. 
Drake. 

Zellers, Martin H., farmer ; born in 
Mount Morris township, November 14, 
1863 ; married in 1885 to Annie M. 
Keedy ; four children. 

Zellers, Daniel, retired farmer ; born 
in Washington county, Md., April 12, 
1818; married in 1843 to Mary Long; 
nine children ; two dead. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 319 

i 

2 




A 50UVENIR OF ROCK RIVER SEMINARY. 

I Illustration -3 Size.) 



jj The accompanying- cut illustrates a most beautiful souvenir spoon of the s 

It old Rock River Seminary, where so many readers of this volume attended t 

» school in days long- since gone by. The old familiar sandstone dormitory and « 

J dining-hall and the huge four story stone building- with its tali cupilo and « 

|j quaint old belfry is brought out in bold relief, etched in the l)owl of the spoon. ^ 

t The seal of the state and the name " Illinois" is beautifully embossed upon the t 

Z handle. S 



IJ The above illustration does not do full justice to this handsome souvenir, j 

JJ which w as produced by me several years ago and of which I have sold large 2 

* numbers to the old-time students of Sandstone. t 

j» Each spoon is made of pure coin silver, nicely proportioned, elegantly en- B 

JJ graved, extra heavy weight and regular teaspoon size. Prices $2.25 each for an ? 

t all silver spoon or $2.50 each for gold bowls, with ten cents extra for postage if J! 

I sent by registered mail. A beautiful and most valuable and appropriate article 2 

jj for Anniversary. Birthday, Wedding and Christmas gifts. Your orders are re- t 

5 spectfuUy solicited. S 

n I 

I H- E. Newcomer, Jeweler, i 

)» « 

I Mount Morris, _ . . _ Illinois, s 

I Newcomer & Price, j 

I MOUNT MORRIS, ILL. | 

I iQsuraQce, F^eal Estate, Loans | 

!^ Mount Morris farm and city property I 

I bought, sold and exchanged. Corres- | 

a pondence Sohcited. g 

% i 

I HENRY E. NEWCOHER CLINTON E. PRICE ^