(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 9999 06583 091 



BOSTONtA m 







Given By 
Miss R. .1. Gri f f i n 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Boston Public Library 



http://www.archive.org/details/municipalregiste1931bost 



Boston 

MUI^ICIPAL KEGISTEK 

For 1931. 



/ 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827. 



The City Seal was adopted by ''An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.'" The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii., 57: "God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, w^as first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," published in 1827, and is 
established as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'Sicut Patrtbus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata, A.D. 1822,' as herewith set forth." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 




SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted 'Hhat the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they ''ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first ''Court" held in Boston was a "General Court" 
on October * 19, "for estabhshing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for publique meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640. 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 5 

when ''Mount Woollaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present limits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres ''for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) " to build a public hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 

The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows: 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29, 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury Januarv 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and .583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

* Old style. 



CITY OF BOSTON 
IN CITY COUNCIL 

ORDERED: That the Statistics Department be authorized, 

UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE COMMITTEE ON RuLES, TO PREPARE AND 
HAVE PRINTED THE MUNICIPAL REGISTER FOR THE CURRENT YEAR, INCLUD- 
ING THEREIN A MAP OF THE CITY WITH WARD LINES, AND THAT THE ClERK 

OF Committees be authorized to prepare and have printed a pocket 

EDITION OF THE ORGANIZATION OF THE CiTY GOVERNMENT, THE EXPENSE 

OF SAID Register and Organization to be charged to the Appro- 
priation FOR City Documents. 

In City Council, January 26, 1931. Passed. 

Approved by the Mayor January 27, 1931. 

Attest : 

W. J. DOYLE, 

City Clerk. 



[Document 37— 1931.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL REGISTEE 
FOR 1931 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 

RULES OF THE CITY COUNCIL, 

AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 

WITH CHANGES SINCE, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

ALSO 

THE WARD BOUNDARIES, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 



CITY OF BOSTON 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT 

1931 



G"3 57 /? 



z'"' 



151 - A^u^j 



8 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Contents. 



Paqb 

Introduction 9, 10 

The City Government, 1931 ......... 11 

Officials of the City Council 13 

Committees of the City Council ....... 14 

Rules of the City Council . . . 15, 20 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1929) ... 21, 37 

Officers in charge of executive departments, with term, etc. . . 38,40 

Notes on the executive departments, lists of their officials, with 

term of each 41 

Various City, County and State officers, with term, etc. . . 106 
Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., with officials and 

assistants 108 

Regulation of Building Heights 132 

Department amounts allowed by Mayor for 1930 and 1931 . 134 

Valuation of Boston 141 

Gain and Loss 142 

Boundaries of the 22 wards (new) 144, 157 

Members of City Government by years, 1909-1925 . . . 160 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1929 164 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855 to 1909 . . . 165, 166 

Presidents of the Common Council, 1822 to 1909 .... 166 

Presidents of the City Council, 1909 to 1931 168 

Orators of Boston, annually appointed, 1771 to 1930 . . . 168 

Suffolk County member-s Qf;l931;St9;te -Legislature : .;.": . . 170 
Members of 72d -Congress -from Massa'chuset'ts/ with Boston's 

Congressional districts ....... . . . . 171, 172 

Foreign Consuls in Boston ... . .' 173 



INTRODUCTION. 9 



INTEODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having been published in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 
1840 the title of the volume was : The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the 
document contained merely a register of the City 
Council and a list of the dfficers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title Municipal Register was adopted in 1841 
when the publication became more ambitious, incor- 
porating in its pages, the Rules and Orders of the Com- 
mon Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, statutes 
of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a fist of the 
public schools, the City Government of 1841, the com- 
mittees and departments (consisting at that time of 
the treasury, law, police, health, public land and build- 
ings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public charitable 
institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a list of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876 statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive. The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes in 
same since that year have been stated in footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 

Beginning in 1924, The Boston Year Book, the most 
comprehensive municipal publication yet undertaken, 
was issued. It treats extensively of municipal activi- 
ties as well as community conditions and interests, 
containing illustrations and diagrams. This publica- 
tion, covering a different and much broader field than 
The Municipal Register, now 90 years old and hav- 
ing a reputation to live up to, is not intended to absorb 
that annual document. 





DERICK J. Glenn ff^ ^ 

Assistant (I 11 

iTY Messenger "* U 




Harnden 

Offici«l 
Stenographed 



Entranc 



Boston City Councm 



PH VIcQRATIJ 
PRESlotNT 



^ O^lr- 




o 



Edward J. Learv 

Cptv Mcseenger 



Harnden 

OrriciAL 

ITENOCtlAPHCf) 




VI. £ALLfGHER 



JAMES HEIN 



JOSEPH p. COX 



PETiR A. MURRAY 




TON 



Entrance: 



S-TffEET JL^f/NO Out Dept. Er-nt.Div. 



Entrance 



ouNciL Chamber 1931 




PRESIDENT BOSTON CITY COUNCIL 



CITY GOVEHNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 

OF THE 

CITY OF BOSTON, 

1931. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

Residence, 
350 Jamaicaway, Jamaica Plain. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1931. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 630, 730; 

Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; Stat. 1924, 

Chaps. 328 and 479.] 



JOSEPH McGRATH, President. 
Timothy F. Donovan, 100 Bayswater street. 
Thomas H. Green, 117 Baldwin street. 
John I. Fitzgerald, 7 Allen street. 
Seth F. Arnold, 92 Huntington avenue. 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 464 Beacon street. 
Michael J. Mahoney, 270 West Third street. 
William G. Lynch, 670 Columbia road. 
John F. Dowd, 22 Greenville street. 
Richard D. Gleason, 66 Highland street. 
Leo F. Power, 12 Eldora street. 



Ward 


1. 


Ward 


2. 


Ward 


3. 


Ward 


4. 


Ward 


5. 


Ward 


6. 


Ward 


7. 


Ward 


8. 


Ward 


9. 



Ward 10. 



12 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Ward 11. Edward L. Englert, 92 West Walnut park. 
Ward 12. Herman L. Bush, 132 Seaver street. 
Ward 13. Joseph McGrath, 9 Castle Rock street. 
Ward 14. Israel Ruby, 102 Talbot avenue. 
Ward 15. Francis E. Kelly, 24 Topliff street. 
Ward 16. Albert L. Fish, 12 Rowena street. 
Ward 17. Robert Gardiner Wilson, Jr., 44 Ken- 
wood street. 
Ward 18. Clement A. Norton, 8 Austin street. 

Peter A. Murray, 7 St. John street. 

Joseph P. Cox, 176 Temple street. 

James Hein, 1135 Commonwealth avenue. 

Edward M. Gallagher, 21 Oak Square 



Ward 19. 
Ward 20. 
Ward 21. 
Ward 22. 
avenue 



[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. 332; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; 
Stat, 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 11.] 

Clerk, ex officio. 
Wilfred J. Doyle, 81 WeUington Hill Street, 
Dorchester. 

Assistant Clerk, ex officio. 
John B. Hynes, 36 Laban Pratt Road. 

Regular meetings in Council Chamber, City Hall, fourth 
floor, Mondays at 2 P. M. 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICIALS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CITY MESSENGER. 

Office, City Hall, Room 55, fourth floor. 

Edwakd J. Leary. 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Council and 
committees thereof, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the City Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstaffs, the display of flags in the public 
grounds, and the roping off of streets and squares on public occasions. 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City Hall, Room 56, fourth floor. 

John E. Baldwin. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of all committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
Hall Reference Library. 

ASSISTANT CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Chester M. Macomber. 

SECRETARY OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

William J. J. O'Neil. 

The Secretary of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

ASSISTANT CITY MESSENGERS. 

City Hall, Room 55, 

Frederick J. Glenn. 
William J. Walsh. 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OF PROCEEDINGS. 

Edward W. Harnden. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE CITY 
COUNCIL. 

1931. 



STANDING COMMITTEE. 
Executive. — All the members, Councilor Gallagher, Chairman. 



On the following committees the first-named member is Chairman. 

Appropriations. — Coun. Curtis, Cox, Arnold, Englert, Norton, Fitz- 
gerald, Gallagher. 

Claims. — Coun. Bush, Donovan, Wilson, Fish, Kelh'. 

County Accounts. — Coun. Fitzgerald, Curtis, Green, Power, Mahoney. 

Finance. — Coun. Bush, Green, Mahoney, Gleason, Hein, Murray, 
Donovan. 

Inspection of Prisons. — Coun. Gleason, Bush, Norton, Lynch, Mahoney. 

Jitney Licenses. — Coun. Murray, Cox, Gleason, Mahoney, Power. 

Legislati^t: Matters. — Coun. Green, Donovan, Wilson, Gleason, Fitz- 
gerald. 

Ordinances. — Coun. Hein, Curtis, Cox, Englert, Power, Arnold, Fitz- 
gerald. 

Parkman Fund.- — Coun. Wilson, Arnold, Murray, Curtis, Gleason. 

Printing. — Coun. Cox, Wilson, Green, Donovan, Gallagher. 

Public Lands. — Coun. Lynch, Englert, Fish, Green, Mahoney. 

Rules. — Coun. Donovan, Arnold, Gallagher, Fish, Lynch. 

Soldiers' Relief. — Coun. Norton, Lynch, Ruby, Hein, Dowd. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEES. 

Parks and Playgrounds. — Coun. Englert, Dowd, Hein, Ruby, Murray. 
Public Safety. — Coun. Power, Fish, Kelly, Bush, Norton, Dowd, Cox. 
Unclaimed Baggage. — Coun. Ruby, Dowd, Kelly. 
Hospitals. — Coun. Arnold, Gallagher, Ruby, Curtis, Kelly. 



RULES OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 15 



RULES OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 



Day of Meeting. 
Rule 1. Unless otherwise ordered from time to time the regular 
meeting of the city council shall be held on every Monday at two o'clock 
p. m. Special meetings may be called by the president at his discretion, 
and by the city clerk for the purpose only of drawing jurors. 

President. 

Rule 2. The president of the council shall take the chair at the hour 
to which the council shall have adjourned and shall call the members to 
order, and a quorum being present, shall proceed with the regular order 
of business. In the absence of the president the senior member by age 
present shall preside as temporary president or until a presiding officer is 
chosen. 

Rule 3. The president shall preserve decorum and order, may speak 
to points of order in preference to other members and shall decide all 
questions of order, subject to an appeal. Any member may appeal from 
the decision of the chair, and, when properly seconded, no other business, 
except a motion to adjourn or to lay on the table, shall be in order until the 
question on appeal has been decided. The question shall be put as follows: 

"Shall the decision of the chair stand as the judgment of the council!" The 
vote shall be by a roll call, and it shall be decided in the affirmative unless 
a majority of the votes are to the contrary. 

Rule 4. The president shall propound all motions in the order in 
which they are moved, unless the subsequent motion shall be previous in 
its nature, except that, in naming sums and fixing times, the largest sum 
and the longest time shall be put first. 

Rule 5. The president shall, at the request of any member, make a 
division of a question when the sense will admit of it. 

Rule 6. The president shall, without debate, decide all questions 
relating to priority of business to be acted upon. 

Rule 7. The president shall declare all votes; but if any member 
doubts a vote, the president shall cause a rising vote to be taken, and 
when any member so requests, shall cause the vote to be taken or verified 
by yeas and nays. 

Rule 8. The president shall appoint all committees, fill all vacancies 
therein, and designate the rank of the members thereof. 

Rule 9. When the president of the council or the president pro tempore 
shall desire to vacate the chair he may call any member to it; but such 
• substitution shall not continue beyond an adjournment. 



16 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Motions. 

Rule 10. Every motion shall be reduced to writing if the president 
shall so direct. 

Rule 11. Amotion to strike out and insert shall be deemed indivisible; 
but a motion to strike out being lost shall not preclude amendment, or a 
motion to strike out and insert. 

Rule 12. No motion or proposition of a subject different from that 
under consideration shall be admitted under color of amendment. 

Rule 13. When an order or resolution relates to a subject which may 
properly be examined and reported upon by an existing committee of the 
city council, such order or resolution shall, upon presentation, be referred 
to such committee. When a motion is made to refer any subject, and 
different committees are proposed, the motions shall be put in the following 
order: 

1. To a standing committee of the council. 

2. To a special committee of the council. 

Any member offering a motion, order or resolution, which is referred 
to a committee, shall be given a hearing on the same by the committee, 
before a report is made thereon, provided he so requests at the time of 
offering the order or before final action by the committee. 

Rule 14. After a motion has been put by the president it shall not 
be withdrawn except by unanimous consent. 

Rule 15. When a question is under debate the following motions 
only shall be entertained, and shall have precedence in the order in which 
they stand arranged. 

1. To adjourn. 

2. To lay on the table. 

3. The previous question. 

4. To close debate at a specified time. 

5. To postpone to a day certain. 

6. To commit. 

7. To amend. 

8. To postpone indefinitely. 

Rule 16. A motion to adjourn shall be in order at any time, except 
on an immediate repetition, or pending a Verification of a vote; and that 
motion, the motion to lay on the table, the motion to take from the table, 
and the motion for the previous questions, shall be decided without debate. 

Readings. 
Rule 17. Every ordinance, order and resolution shall, unless rejected, 
have two several readings, both of which may take place at the same 
session unless objection is made, -provided, however, that all orders for the 
expenditure of moneys, unless reported upon by a committee of the coun- 
cil, shall lie over for one week before final action thereon. Whenever 



RULES OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 17 

the second reading immediately folloAvs the first reading, the document 
may be read by its title only; provided, that all orders releasing rights or 
easements in or restrictions on land, all orders for the sale of land other 
than school lands, all appropriations for the purchase of land other than 
for school purposes, and all loans voted by the city council shall require 
a vote of two-thirds of all the members of the city council, and shall be 
passed only after two separate readings and by two separate votes, the 
second of said readings and votes to be had not less than fourteen days 
after the first. 

Reconsideration. 

Rule 18. When a vote has been passed any member may move a 
reconsideration thereof at the same meeting, or he may give notice in 
writing to the clerk of his intention to move a reconsideration at the 
next regular meeting; in which case the clerk shall retain possession of the 
papers until the next regular meeting. No member shall speak for more 
than ten minutes on a motion to reconsider. 

Rule 19. When a motion to reconsider has been decided, that decision 
shall not be reconsidered, and no question shall be twice reconsidered 
unless it has been amended after the reconsideration; nor shall any recon- 
sideration be had upon the following motions: 

To adjourn. 

The previous question. 

To lay on the table. 

To take from the table. 

To close debate at a specified time. 

A motion to reconsider may be laid on the table or postponed indefinitely 
and the effect of such action in either case shall be to defeat the motion 
to reconsider. 

Conduct of Members. 

Rule 20. Every member when about to speak shall rise, address the 
chair, and wait until he is recognized, and, in speaking, shall refrain from 
mentioning any other member by name, shall confine himself to the 
question and avoid personalities. Any member who, in debate or other- 
wise, indulges in personalities or makes charges reflecting upon the char- 
acter of another member, shall make an apology in open session at the 
meeting at which the offence is committed or at the next succeeding 
regular meeting, and, failing to do so, shall be named by the president 
or held in contempt and suspended from further participation in debate 
until said apology is made. 

Rule 21. No member shall speak more than once on a question 
when another member who has not spoken claims the floor, and no mem- 
ber speaking shall, •without his consent, be interrupted by another, except 
upon a point of order. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Rule 22. No member shall be permitted to vote on any question, 
or to serve on any committee, where his private right is immediately 
concerned, distinct from the public interest. 

Rule 23. Every member who shall be present when a question is 
put, unless he is excluded by interest, shall give his vote, unless the coun- 
cil for special reason shall excuse him. Application to be so excused on 
any question must be made before the council is divided, or before the 
calling of the yeas and nays; and such appUcation shall be accompanied 
by a brief statement of the reasons, and shall be decided without debate . 

Standing Committees. 
Rule 24. The following standing committees of the council, and all 
other committees, unless specially directed by the council, shall be ap- 
pointed by the president: 

1. A committee, to be known as the Executive Commiltee, to consist 
of all the members of the council. 

2. A committee on Appropriations, to consist of seven members of 
the council, to whom shall be referred such appropriation orders as may be 
submitted to the council from time to time. 

3. A committee on Claims, to consist of five members of the council, 
to whom shall be referred all claims against the city arising from the act or 
neglect of any of its departments. They shall report annually an account 
of the claims awarded or approved by them, and the amount of money 
awarded or paid in settlement thereof. 

4. A committee on County Accounts, to consist of five members of the 
council. 

5. A committee on Finance, to consist of seven members of the council, 
to whom shall be referred all applications for expenditure which involves a 
loan. 

6. A committee on hispection of Prisons, to consist of five members of 
the council. 

7. A committee on Jitney Licenses, to consist of five members of council. 

8. A committee on Legislature Matters, to consist of five members of 
the council, who shall, unless otherwise ordered, appear before the 
committees of the General Court and represent the interest of the city; 
provided, said committee shall not appear unless authorized by vote of the 
city council, and shall not, unless directed so to do by the city council, 
oppose any legislation petitioned for by the preceding city council. 

9. A committee on Ordinances, to consist of seven members of the 
council, to whom shall be referred all ordinances or orders concerning 
ordinances. 

10. A committee on Parkma,n Fund, to consist of five members of the 
council, to whom shall be referred all matters concerning the Parkman 
property, or the expenditure of the income from the Parkman Fund. 

11. A committee on Printing, to consist of five members of the council, 
who shall have the charge of all printing, advertising or publishing ordered 



RULES OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 19 

by the city council as one of its contingent or incidental expenses, and the 
supply of all stationery or binding for the same purpose. The committee 
shall fix the number of copies to be printed of any document printed as 
above, the minimum, however, to be four hundred; and they shall have 
the right to make rules and regulations for the care, custody and distribu- 
tion of all documents, books, pamphlets and maps by the city messenger. 

12. A committee on Public Lands, to consist of five members of the 
council, to whom shall be referred all matters relating to public lands. 

13. A committee on Rules, to consist of five members of the council, 
to consider all matters concerning the rules, and to whom shall be referred 
all resolutions expressing opinions, principles, facts or purposes. 

14. A committee on Soldiers' Relief, to consist of five members of the 
council, who shall determine the amount of aid to be allowed to soldiers 
and sailors and their families and submit a schedule of the same to the 
council monthly. 

Order of Business. 
Rule 25. At every regular meeting of the council the order of busi- 
ness shall be as follows: 

1. Communications from his Honor the Mayor. 

2. Presentation of petitions, memorials and remonstrances. 

3. Reports of city officers, etc. 

4. Unfinished business of preceding meetings. 

5. Reports of committees. 

6. Motions, orders and resolutions. 

Spectators. 

Rule 26. No person, except a member of the council, shall be permitted 
to occupy the seat of any member while the council is in session. 

Rule 27. No person, excepting heads of departments, officials con- 
nected with the city council, and reporters, shall be allowed in the ante- 
rooms or upon the floor of the council chamber while the council is in 
session. Spectators will be allowed in the gallery of the council chamber 
when the council is in session, and no one will be admitted to said gallery 
after the seats are occupied. The city messenger shall enforce this rule. 

Burial Grounds. 
Rule 28. No permission for the use of land for the purpose of burial 
shall be granted until a public hearing shall have been given by the execu- 
tive committee of the city council on the application for such permission, 
after due notice has been served upon abuttors. 

Smoking in the Council Chamber. 
Rule 29. No smoking shall be allowed in the council chamber when 
the council is in session. 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Committee Meetings. 
Rule 30. No meeting of any committee shall, without the consent of 
all the members thereof, be called upon less notice than twenty-four hours 
from the time the clerk shall have mailed the notices or dispatched them 
by special messenger, provided, however, that meetings of the executive 
committee may be held in the recess period of any meeting of the council 
without such consent or notice. No committee, unless authoriz.ed by an 
order of the city council, shall incur any expense. No committee meetings 
shall be called later than one hour immediately preceding the time set for 
any regular meeting of the city council, nor shall any committee remain in 
session later than the hour named for any such regular meeting. 

Form of Votes. 
Rule 31. In all votes the form of expression shall be "Ordered" for 
everything by way of command, and the form shall be "Resolved" for 
everything expressing opinions, principles, facts or purposes. 

Transfees. 
Rule 32. Every application for an appropriation to be provided for by 
transfer shall be referred to the executive committee unless otherwise 
ordered, and no such appropriation shall be made until the said committee 
has reported thereon. 

Amendment and Suspension. 
Rule 33. The foregoing rules shall not be altered, amended, suspended 
or repealed at any time, except by the votes of two-thirds of the members 
of the city council present and voting thereon. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (CHAPTER 486) WITH 
AMENDMENTS TO JANUARY 1, 1929, 
INCORPORATED. 



The Mayor and City Council. 

Section 1.* {The terms of office oj the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messeiiger 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of com- 
mittees, and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials whose terms 
of office are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensa- 
tion equal to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) 
The mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of 
this act, and their successors, shall thereafter have all the powers and 
privileges conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obligations im- 
posed by law upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as 
such or as county commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein 
otherwise provided. Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city 
council" appears, it shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city 
council acting on and after the first Monday of February, nineteen hun- 
dred and ten, under the provisions of this and the three following sections. 
The city council may, subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to 
time establish such offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem 
necessary for the conduct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may deter- 
mine, and abolish such offices or alter such salaries; and without such 
approval may fill the offices thus established and remove the incumbents 
at pleasure. 

Section 1. (Chap. 479, Acts of 1934.) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six, and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred 
and twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the 
first Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, which is printed as the next section. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

be no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and 
twentj^-four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and 
school committee of said city which would expire under existing law on 
the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are 
hereby extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of 
January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official 
whose term of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of 
such termination and the salarj^ of any official whose term of office is 
extended as aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long 
as he continues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2. The mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the citJ^ The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the mayor and shall either adopt or reject the 
same within sixty daj^s after the date when it is filed as aforesaid. If the 
said orchnance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty days it shall 
be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously withdrawn 
by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from again pre- 
senting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or withdrawn. 
The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order and may reduce 
or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval of the mayor, 
may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than school lands, all 
appropriations for the purchase of land other than for school purposes, 
and all loans voted by the city council shall require a vote of two thirds 
of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed only after two 
separate readings and by two separate votes, the second of said readings 
and votes to be had not less than fourteen daj^s after the first. No amend- 
ment increasing the amount of land to be sold or the amount to be paid 
for the purchase of land, or the amount of loans, or altering the disposition 
of purchase money or of the proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of 
the second reading and vote. 

Sect. 3.* All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue, or any som'ce other than loans shall originate 
with the mayor, who within thirty daj^s after the beginning of the fiscal 
year shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county, and may submit thereafter supplementary 
budgets until such time as the tax rate for the year shall have been fixed. 
The city council maj^ reduce or reject any item, but without the approval 
of the mayor shall not increase any item in, nor the total of a budget, nor 
add any item thereto, nor shall it originate a budget. It shall be the 
duty of the city and county officials, when requested by the mayor, to sub- 
mit forthwith in such detail as he may require estimates for the next fiscal 
year of the expenditures of the department or office under their charge, 
which estimates shall be transmitted to the city council. 

* Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

The city auditor may, with the approval in each instance of the mayor, 
at any time make transfers from the appropriation for current expenses of 
one division of a department to the appropriation for current expenses of 
any other division of the same department, and from the reserve fund to 
any appropriation for the current expenses of a department; and may also, 
with the approval of the mayor, at any time between November fifteenth 
and January first, make transfers from any appropriation to any other 
appropriation: provided, however, that no money raised by loan shall be 
transferred to any appropriation from income or taxes. He may also with 
such approval apply any of the income and taxes not disposed of in closing 
the accounts for the financial year in such manner as he may determine. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote 
of the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affaii-s, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shall make or cause to be made a written 
record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said appro- 
priation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the mayor to 
the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his objections 
thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expenditure of 
money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in part and 
disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items or parts 
of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts of items as 
he disapproves shall be void. 

Sect. AA* The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shall be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
'ess than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. Except as otherwise provided in this act, the organization, 
powers, and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate, or abolish 
departments in whole or in part; transfer the duties, powers, and appro- 
priations of one department to another in whole or in part; and establish 
new departments; and may increase, reduce, establish or abolish salaries 
of heads of departments, or members of boards. Nothing in this act shall 
authorize the abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or duties 
as established by law of the assessing department, building department, 
board of appeal, children's institutions department, election department, 
fire department, Franklin Foundation, hospital department, library depart- 
ment, overseers of the poor, schoolhouse department, school committee, 
or any department in chai-ge of an official or officials appointed by the 
governor, nor the abolition of the health department. 

Sect. 6. No contract for lighting the public streets, parks, or alleys 
or for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a 

* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

period of more than one j^ear from the date thereof, shall be valid with- 
out the approval of the mayor and the city council after a public hearing 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have 
been given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at 
a meeting to be held not earlier than one week from the date of the receipt 
of said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through 
a head of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting 
and publicly answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not 
be obliged to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor 
at any time may attend and address the city council in person or through 
the head of a department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as 
he may desire. 

Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, 
officer, or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this 
act, directly or indirectly on behalf of the citj^ or of the county of Suffolk 
take part in the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the pur- 
chase of materials, supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, altera- 
tion, or repair of any public works, buildings, or other property; nor in 
the care, custody, and management of the same; nor in the conduct of 
the executive or administrative business of the city or county; nor in 
the appointment or removal of any municipal or county employee; nor 
in the expenditure of public money except such as may be necessary for 
the contingent and incidental expenses of the city council. The pro- 
visions of this section shall not affect the powers or duties of the city 
council as the successor of the present board of aldermen relative to 
state or military aid and soldiers' relief. 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 
such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, 
or employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon 
learning of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, 
shall notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission 
of such contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall 
abstain from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. 
In case of such interest on the par; of an officer whose duty it is to 
make such contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by 
any other officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if 
the mayor has such interest by the city clerk: provided, however y that 
when a contractor with the citj' or county is a corporation or voluntary 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

association, the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares 
actually issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the con- 
tract within the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect 
the validity of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is 
also an officer or agent of the corporation or association, or solicits or 
takes part in the making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by im- 
prisonment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred 
and twenty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is 
hereby repealed. 

The Executive Committee. 

Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
office expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 
law appointed by the governor), shall be appointed by the mayor with- 
out confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts 
in such work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or 
persons specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform 
the same, and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) shall be appointed without 
regard to party affiliation or to residence at the time of appointment 
except as hereinafter provided. 

Sect. 10.* In making such appointments the mayor shall sign a 
certificate in the following form: 

CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT. 
I appoint (Name of Appointee) to the position of (Name of OiBce) and I certify that 
in my opinion he is a recognized expert in the work which will devolve upon him, and that 
I make the appointment solely in the interest of the city. Mayor. 

Or in the following form, as the case may be: 

CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT. 
I appoint (Name of Appointee) to the position of (Name of Office) and I certify that 
in my opinion he is a person specially fitted by education, training, or experience to per- 
form the duties of said office, and that I make the appointment solely in the interest of 
the city. Mayor. 

The certificate shall be filed with the city clerk, who shall thereupon 
forward a certified copy to the civil service commission. The commission 
shall immediately make a careful inquiry into the qualifications of the 
nominee under such rules as they may, with the consent of the governor 
and council, establish, and, if they conclude that he is a competent person 
with the requisite qualifications, they shall file with the city clerk a cer- 

* Sect. 10 as amended by Chap. 550, Acts of 1912. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

tificate signed bj^ at least a majority of the commission that they have 
made a careful inquiry into the qualifications of the appointee, and that 
in their opinion he is a recognized expert, or that he is qualified by educa- 
tion, training or experience for said office, as the case may be, and that 
they approve the appointment. Upon the filing of this certificate the 
appointment shall become operative, subject however to all provisions of 
law or ordinance in regard to acceptance of office, oath of office, and the 
filing of bonds. If the commission does not within thirty daj^s after the 
receipt of such notice file said certificate with the city clerk the appointment 
shall be void. 

If any charge imputing a crime or misdemeanor or act of dishonesty 
to a nominee has been filed with the civil service commission, which 
charge if proved would, in the opinion of the commission, affect the fitness 
of the nominee for the office in question, the commission shall imme- 
diately notifj' the nominee in writing, stating that such charge has been 
made and that the nominee has a right to a hearing. At the hearing 
the charge shall be stated to the nominee, but the source thereof shall 
not be revealed unless the commission votes so to do. The nominee shall 
have the privilege of being represented by counsel at the hearing, and 
shall be given full opportunity to introduce evidence to explain or refute 
the charge. 

Sect. 11. The civil service commission is authorized to incur in carry- 
ing out the foregoing provisions such reasonable expense as may be 
approved by the governor and council; the same to be paid by the com- 
monwealth, which upon demand shall be reimbursed by the city of Boston. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions 
of said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 
for terms of four years beginning with the first day of Maj^ of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the maj^or. 

Sect. 14. The maj'or may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by filing a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copy of which shall be delivered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reply in writing, which, if he desires, maybe 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not aff'ect the action taken 
unless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 27 

year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby aboHshed, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such 
appointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the 
cause for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, nor involve the city in any contract for 
the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the pro- 
visions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 

The Finance Commission. 

Sect. 17. Within sixty days after the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance commis- 
sion to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 
city of Boston, who shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for four 
years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, and 
thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for a term 
of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the unexpired 
term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. The 
members of said commission may be removed by the governor with the 
advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem sufficient. 
The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual salary 
shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly instalments 
by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 

Sect. 18. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the city 
of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that may 
appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report thereon 
from time to time to the maj'or, the city council, the governor, or the 
general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 
the same seems to him to be of doubtful validitj', excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 



28 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum of 
forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission 
and the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the 
expenses as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The 
commission shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its 
appropriation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabling the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable 
the mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive 
the reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordi- 
nances, or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission 
shall have all the powers and duties enumerated in chapter five hundred 
and sixty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and 
therein conferred upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel 
for any witness at any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question 
and may offer pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross 
examination by the commission and its counsel. 

The City Clerk. 
Sect. 22. The present city clerk shall hold office for the term for which 
he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen and quali- 
fied. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third yeai* 
thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members of 
the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 
duly chosen and qualified, unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The City Auditor. 
Sect. 23. Ail accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection 
and revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such 
form as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person pre- 
senting for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to 
make oath before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy 
of such account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shall be 
perjury and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse 
to pay, in whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent 
or unlawful and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons 
for the refusal. 

*Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acts 
of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 29 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any officer 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or dehvered to said officer or board, a duplicate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted 
to him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any 
of the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened. 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for 
that department, and he shall furnish to the maj^or and city council a 
statement of the unexpended balances of all the departments. He shall 
furnish quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing 
the amount of money expended by the mayor and the city council for 
contingent expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* All loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual instalments in the manner authorized 
by section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as 
amended by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the 
acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be 
established for said loan. All bonds shall be offered for sale in such a 
manner that the effect of the premiums, if any, shall be to reduce the 
total amount of bonds issued. No city or county money shall be deposited 
in any bank or trust company of which any member of the board of sink- 
ing fund commissioners of said city is an officer, director, or agent. Noth- 
ing herein shall apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston issued under 
the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construction of tunnels 
and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commission, and said 
bonds ma}^ be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking fund. 

Sect. 27. f Every officer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall on or before the sixth day of 
June in each year prepare and furnish to the city auditor a list of the 
officials and employees under said officer or board and paid by the city 
or county on the first day of June preceding. Such lists shall give the 
names, residence by street and ward, designation, compensation, and 
date of election or appointment of each of said officials and employees 
and the date when each first entered the employ of the city or county. 
It shall be the duty of the city auditor to verify said lists by the pay rolls 
and to keep a copy of said lists open for public inspection; and when 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910. 
t Sect. 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, and Chap. 
133, Acts of 1922. 



30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

verified the said lists shall be printed by the superintendent of printing 
as a city document in the year 1923 and every two years thereafter. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in 
the public ways, the issue of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage 
of gasoline, oil, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruc- 
tion or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of 
conduits, poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or 
illuminating purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commis- 
sioners, to be exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the 
mayor; and the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by 
ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon 
which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or oil, or other in- 
flammable substances or explosive compounds, and the construction or 
use of coal holes, vaults, bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over 
the public ways shall be issued. 

Sect. 29. Within ninety daj's after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and 
sold under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved bj^ the mayor a paper to be known as the City Record. 
All advertising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the 
purchase or taking of land, contracts for work, materials, or supplies, the 
sale of bonds, or the sale of property for non-payment of taxes shall appear 
exclusively in said paper; a list of all contracts of one thousand dollars or 
more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the amount of the bids; 
appointments by the mayor; and changes in the number and compen- 
sation of employees in each department, shall be published in the City 
Record. The proceedings of the city council and school committee together 
with all communications from the mayor, shall be published in the City 
Record. 

Sect. 30. Every officer or board in charge of a department in said 
city, when authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes 
in an existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, 
each contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about 
to do any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which 
alone, or in conjunction with other similar work or purchase which might 
properly be included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one 
thousand dollars, shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do 
otherwise, invite proposals therefor by advertisement in the City Record. 
Such advertisement shall state the time and place for opening the pro- 
posals in answer to said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the 
officer or board to reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense 
with advertising shall be given by the mayor unless the said officer or 
board furnishes him with a signed statement which shall be published in the 
City Record giving in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by 
advertisement . 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 31 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval 
of the mayor the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, 
may take in fee for any municipal purpose any land within the limits 
of the city, not already appropriated to public use. Whenever the price 
proposed to be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than 
twenty-five per cent higher than its average assessed valuation during 
the previous three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but 
shall be taken by right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner 
provided for the taking of and the payment of damages for land for high- 
ways in said city. No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan 
or otherwise for the general purpose for which land is needed shall have 
been made by the mayor and city council by a two thirds vote of all 
its members; or in case of land for school purposes by the school com- 
mittee and schoolhouse department in accordance with law; nor shall a 
price be paid in excess of the appropriation, unless a larger sum is awarded 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. All proceedings in the taking of 
land shall be under the advice of the law department, and a record thereof 
shall be kept by said department. 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. f The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first 
and shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the municipal 
year shall begin on the first Mondaj^ in January and shall continue until 
the first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all members 
of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
j^ears each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the 
school committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of Januarj' 
following their election. 

Sect. 34. In Boston beginning with the current year political com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the municipal 
primaries. 



*Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 733, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 28S, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

* * * Sections 35 to 44. inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 



32 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sect. 45.* Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall be 
elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first Mon- 
day in January following his election and until his successor is chosen and 
qualified and shall not be eligible for election for the succeeding term. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap 94. 

Sect. 47. f If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, the 
city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve for 
the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time there 
shall be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election for 
the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall not 
apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which a 
new maj^or is elected and the date he takes office. In the case of the de- 
cease, inability, absence or resignation of the mayor, and whenever there 
is a vacancy in the office from any cause, the president of the city council 
while said cause continues or until a mayor is elected shall perform the 
duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause to perform 
such duties they shall be performed until the mayor or president of the 
city council returns or is able to attend to said duties by such member of 
the city council as that body may elect, and until such election by the city 
clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be called 
"acting maj^or" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only in matters 
not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make permanent 
appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections S, 9, and 13 of Chap. 4'^'9, Acts of 1924. 

Sect. S. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote 
upon the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the 
official ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the 
space at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. No ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such 
space. 

Plan No. 1. A city council of fifteen members to consist of three mem- 
bers to be elected for two year terms by and from the A^oters of each of five 
boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at a salary 
of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as heretofore, 
except that the names of five hundred voters only shall be 
required to nominate each member. 



*Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918, and Chap. 
479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 33 

Plaii No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Sect. 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 

fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

*************** 

Sect. 13.* If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one 
and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 48. f Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the 
year nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shall be elected at each 
regular municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward 
one councillor to serve for two j^ears from the first Monday in January 
following his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49. Each member of the city council shall be paid an annual 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from 
the city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly 
or indirectly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. t The city council shall be the judge of the election and 
qualifications of its members; shall elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election in 
his ward to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member eldest 
in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of the 
absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. All elections by the city council under any provision of 
law shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answer- 
ing to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 
stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or declining to vote 
as the case may be; and the clerk or other proper officer shall record 
every such vote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as 
aforesaid. 

Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

* * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, omitted because inoperative. 

* Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 
4, 1924. 

t Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
i Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



34 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Sect. 53.* Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the sixth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said elec- 
tion, signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at 
least two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such 
candidate at said election and signed in person for the nomination for 
city councillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, 
for which said nomination is sought, qualified to vote for such candidate 
at said election shall be filed with said election commissioners and the 
signatures on the same to the number required to make the nomination 
subsequently certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter pro- 
vided. Said nomination papers shall be in substantially the following 
form: 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 

CITY OF BOSTON 

NOMINATION PAPEK. 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified 
to vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law, 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
election to be held in the City of Boston on November ,19 



Name of Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATURES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of can- 
didates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In 
case of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after 
written acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we 
authorize (names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority 
thereof as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed 
by law. 

* Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37, 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925; 
and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 



35 



Signatures of Nom- 
inators. 
To be made in person. 



Residence 
April 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence. 



ACCEPTANCE OF NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

I (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his poHtical committee 
or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) do hereby 
make oath that the persons whose names appear on this paper as nomina- 
tors signed the same in person. 



(Voter's Residence.) 

commonwealth of massachusetts. 
Suffolk, ss. Boston, 19 . 

Then personally appeared who, I am satisfied, is (the 

candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee, or the 
person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) and made oath that 
the foregoing statement by him subscribed is true, and that his voting 
residence is 

Before me. 



Notary Public or Justice of the Peace. 



The affidavit above set forth shall be sworn to before any officer qualified 
to administer oaths. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day of 
election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be ineli- 
gible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five per- 
sons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so authorized 
in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include candi- 
dates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many nomination 
papers for each office to be filled as there are persons to be elected thereto 
and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the board of election 

* Sect. 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1921; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

commissioners on and after but not before the ninth Tuesday preceding 
the regular municipal election. Such papers shall be issued only to 
candidates who shall file with the election commissioners requests therefor 
in writing, containing their names with the first or middle name in full, 
the offices for which they are candidates, and their residences, with street 
and number, if any. Forthwith the election commissioners shall print or 
insert on such nomination papers the names of the candidates, the offices 
for which they are nominated and their residences, with street and number, 
if any. Not more than three hundi-ed such nomination papers shall be 
issued to any candidate for maj^or, and not more than two hundred such 
nomination papers shall be issued to anj' candidate for the school com- 
mittee and to any candidate for the city council there shall be issued not 
more than ten such nomination papers for a ward. No nomination papers 
except those issued in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55.* Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56. f The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall when filed be a matter of public record; but the nomination papers 
shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been filed, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twentieth 
day preceding the citj^ election. Such certification shall not preclude any 
voter from filing objections as to the validity of the nomination. All 
withdi-awals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p.m. on the fourteenth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p.m. on the thirteenth day preceding the city 
election. 

Sect. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
with law, together with his residence and the title and term of the office 
for which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the 
municipal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 
upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 

* Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921. 
t Sect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 37 

board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal elec- 
tion shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or 
mark, and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any 
such party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he 
was nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59. t On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of munici- 
pal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be applicable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting 
elections and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under 
the provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said cit}^ 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act hall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of 
Boston, except that nomination papers for offices to be filled at such elec- 
tions shall be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day 
following the calling of said special election. Every special municipal 
election shall be held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more 
than ninety days after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts, so far as inconsistent with this 
act, are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so 
far as inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. All acts and parts 
of acts affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of 
this act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61, inclusive, were accepted by the voters at the 
state election, November 2, 1909. 

Plan No. 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1925. 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
January 4, 1926. 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chao. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



38 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officers 

IN CHAEGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute, ordinance, or both 
by each. (See Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 





How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 




By VSTiom. 


When. 


Begins. Length. 


Art Commission (Five), 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Annually, 
one 


May 1 . . 


5yrs. 


Assessors (Three) 


(I 


ii 


Annually, 
one 


April 1 . . 


3 « 


Auditor 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 " 


Budget Commissioner, 


a 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 


4 " 


Building Commissioner, 
City Clerk 


Statute. . . 

u 

Ord 


u 

City 
Council. 

Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 

Triennially, 

Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan . . 

May 1 . . 


4 " 


City Planning Board 
(Five) 


3 « 




5 " 


Collector 


Statute. . . 


ii 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Corporation Counsel.. . . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 


u 
11 


Quadren- 
nially 

Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 

April 1 . . 


4 " 




4 « 



CHIEF OFFICERS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 39 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 


4yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


It 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Hospital Trustees 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


a 


Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 






5 « 


Institutions Commis- 
sioner 


Ord 


a 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Library Trustees (Five) 


« 


« 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 « 


Markets, Superintend- 
ent of 


n 


<i 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Overseers of the Pub- 
lic Welfare (Twelve), 


Statute. . . 


li 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3 « 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


a 


(I 


Annually, 
one? 


" 1.. 






3 " 


Penal Commissioner. . . . 


Ord...... 


li 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 


4 « 


Printing, Superintend- 
ent of 


li 


11 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Public Buildings, Su- 
perintendent of 


u 


It 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Works, Com- 
missioner of 


tl 


11 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Registrar, City 


Statute. . . 


11 


Quadien- 
niall}' 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Sinking Funds Com- 
missioners (Six) 


(( 


11 


Annually, 
two 


" 1.. 


3 " 



40 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 yrs. 


Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 


Ord 


« 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






5 " 


Street Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
one 


1st Mon. 
in Jan... 






3 " 


Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 " 


Traffic Commissioners . . 


Statute. . . 


a 


Quadren- 
nially. . . 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Transit Commissioners 
(Three) 


Ord 


« 


Triennially 

Quadren- 
niallj' 


" 1.. 


3 " 


Treasurer 


Statute. . . 


(( 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Vessels, Weighers of . . . . 




« 


Annually, 
two 


« 1.. 


(( 


Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 


u 


<( 



















DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 41 



EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 

Office, 27 City Hall, second floor. 

[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C. Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
280, 367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274 and 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 2; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184,348; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453 and 479; Stat. [1930, Chap. 167.] 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
Cornelius A. Reardon, Secretary. 
Joseph P. Hanlon, Assistant Secretary. 
John J. Shaughnessy, Assistant Secretary. 
William L. Anderson, Assistant Secretary. 
Louis Barrasso, Assistant Secretary. 
John P. Mahoney, Chief Clerk. 
Frank A. Benson, Assistant Chief Clerk. 
John M. Casey, Chief Licensing Division. 
Joseph Mikolajewski, Assistant. 
John A. Sullivan, Chief Stenographer. 

THE CITY RECORD. 
Office, 73 City Hall. 

Frank H. Cushman, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Jr., Associate Editor. 

MUNICIPAL EMPLOYMENT BUREAU. 

25 Church Street. 

John J. Shields, Director. 



42 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1001 City Hall Annex. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 11; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 87.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Chahles D. Maginnis, Acting Chairman. 
Arthur A. Shurtleff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS . * 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1935. 

Charles D. Maginnis, named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term ends in 1934. 

Philip S. Sears, named by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1933. 

Arthur A. Shurtleff. Namedby Boston Art Club. Term ends in 1932. 

WiLLiAai T. Aldrich, named by the Trustees of the Public Library. 
Term ends in 1931. 

The Art Department, established in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each of the following-named 
bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the Trustees of 
the Boston PubUc Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of Architects, 
submits a hst of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor appoints 
one person as Art Commissioner from each of the lists so submitted. 
Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the Mayor appoints 
his successor from a list selected by the body which made the original 
selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of 
the Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. More- 
over, all contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, 
statue, bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be n^de by 
said Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned 
by the City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 43 

ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 8; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 89; 
Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87, 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edward T. Kellt, Chairman. 
Fred E. Bolton, Secretary. 

ASSESSORS. 

Neal J. Holland. Term ends March 31, 1934. 
Edward T. Kelly. Term ends March 31, 1933. 
Henry L. Daily. Term ends March 31, 1932. 

deputy assessors. 
Fred E. Bolton. William H. Cuddy. 

James H. Phelan. John M. Hayes. 

Daniel F. Ryan, Chief Clerk. 



One Assessor is appointed each year by the Mayor for a term of three 
years, from April 1, the Chairman of the Board of three members being 
designated by the Mayor. 

The Assessors published annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 

assistant assessors. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, §2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord. 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1925, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 
The redivision of the City into 22 wards (see Chap. 410, Acts of 1924) by 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

a special legislative commission in December, 1924, made new assessment 
districts necessary. By the original Act the change was not ordered to 
go into effect in 1925, but an amendment was made later whereby the new 
districts first applied to the 1925 assessments. 

Assistant Assessors for 1931. 

Ward 1. — First Part. — Maurice J. Power, 10 Tremont street. 

Ward 1. — Second Part. — Lucian J. Priest, 59 High street, Charlestown. 

Ward 2. — First Part.^ Frederick A. Robinson, 641 South street, Roslin- 
dale. 

Ward 2. — Second Part. — Francis T. Keefe, 10 State street. 

Ward 3. — First Part. — Henry J. Ireland, 20 Folsom street, Dorchester. 

Ward 3. — Second Part. — Edward L. Hopldns, 87 Farragut road. South 
Boston. 

Ward 3. — Third Part. — Arthur C. Quincy, 73 Tremont street. 

Ward S. — Fourth Pari.— Thomas H. Dacey, 159 Devonshire street. 

Ward 3. — Fifth Part. — Charles A. Murphy, 1604 Dorchester avenue. 

Ward 3. — Sixth Part. — Jacob Rosenberg, 37 Allen street. 

Ward 3. — - Seventh Part.— Arthur W. Smith, 105 Warren street, Roxbury. 

Ward 3. — Eighth Part.— Michael J. Brophy, 18 Tremont street. 

Ward 3. — Ninth Part. — Adolph H. Brauneis, 11 Zamora court, Jamaica 
Plain. 

Ward 3. — Tenth Part.^ John J. Chapman, 837 East Third street, South 
Boston. 

Ward 3. — ■Eleventh Part. — -Warren F. Freeman, Jr., 15 State street. 

Ward If.. — First Part. — Augustus D. McLennan, 86 Ruthven street, 
Roxbury. 

Ward 4- — ■ Second Part. — ■ William F. Morrissey, 1636 Columbia road, 
South Boston. 

Ward 5. — First Part. — Fred W. Burleigh, Peabody square, Dorchester. 

Ward 5. — Second Part. — Arthur L. Curry, 266 Arborway, Jamaica Plain. 

Ward 5. — Third Part. — John H. Hout, 21 Saxton street, Dorchester. 

Ward 6. — First Part. — Joseph P. Dempsey, 97 Pierce avenue, Dor- 
chester. 

Ward 6. — Second Part. — John J. O'Connor, 708 Broadway, South Boston. 

Ward 7. — Francis J. Turcotte, 169 Bennington street. East Boston. 

Ward 8. — John F. Fitzpatrick, 345 Neponset avenue, Dorchester. 

Ward 9. — -Frederick F. Smith, 176 Walnut avenue, Roxbury. 

Ward iO.^ John M. Machugh, 2 Sutherland road, Brighton. 

Ward 11. — George A. Maloney, 23 Walk Hill street, Jamaica Plain. 

Ward 12.— First Part. — John J. Butler, 69 Penfield street, Roslindale 

Ward 12. — Second Part. — Albert F. Hennessey, 34 Pond street, Dor- 
chester. 

Ward 13. — Philip E, Conroy, 29 Sargent street, Dorchester. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 45 

Ward 14. — First Part. — John J. Dailey, 1441 Dorchester avenue, Dor- 
chester. 

Ward 14. — Second Part. — Charles H. Warren, 623 A Washington street, 
Dorchester. 

Ward 16. — Matthew H. Doyle, 73 Tremont street. Room 723. 

Ward 16.— First Pari.— Edward E. McGrath, 559 Ashmont street, 
Dorchester. 

Ward 16. — Second Part. — Thomas J. Murphy. 

Ward 17. — Matthew J. Peters, 746 East Fourth street, South Boston. 

Ward 18.— First Part.— Thomas P. O'Connor, 708 East Broadway, South 
Boston. 

Ward 18. — Second Part. — Richard F. Pierce, 58 Hunnewell avenue, 
Brighton. 

Ward 18.— Third Part.— Paul J. Oswald, 100 Tyndale street, RosUndale. 

Ward 19.— First Part.— Edmund G. White, 192 Faneuil street, Brighton. 

Ward 19. — Second Part. — Francis X. Hurley, 19 Park street, Dorchester. 

Ward 20.— First Part.— Henry T. Hartmere, 99 Amherst street, Roslin- 
dale. 

Ward 20. — Second Part. — Leopold F. Quinn, 6 Graham terrace, West 
Roxbury. 

Ward 20. — Third Part. — Timothy W. Murphy, 1 1 Zamora court, Jamaica 

Plain. 
Ward 21. — First Part. — Joseph A. McMorrow, 45 Englewood avenue, 

Brighton. 
Ward 21. — Second Part. — Francis J. Ryan, 10 Gloria road, West Roxbury. 
Ward 22.— Albert J. A. Gleason, 4 Athol street, Allston. 

Second Assistant Assessors. 
Timothy J. Callahan, 726 Parker street, Roxbury. 
Philip J. Camerlengo. 113 Eutaw street, East Boston. 
Mae F. Canty, 12 Central street, West Roxbury. 
Charlotte F. Cashman, 156 Webster street. East Boston. 
Charles J. Corkery, 47 St. Botolph street, Boston. 
Oliver J. Davenport, 106 Greenbrier street, Dorchester. 
Charles Duckering, 465 Washington street, Dorchester. 
Edward J. Farrell, 6 Victor street, Dorchester. 
Joseph F. Flynn, 63 Ottawa street, Roxbury. 
James J. Gallagher, 147 Warren avenue, Boston. 
Alice E. Lyons, 15 Centre avenue, Dorchester. 
Delia M. Cauley, 47 Winship street, Brighton. 
Charles A. Horrigan, 34 A Bunker Hill street, Charlestown. 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Charlotte A. Mahoney, 1 Arcadia street, Dorchester. 

Stephen R. Mealey, 944 Parker street, Roxbury. 

Cesare L. Paraboschi, 3825 Washington street, RosUndale. 

Edward F. Sawyer, 51 Moreland street, Roxbury. 

Hilda G. Smith, 61 Clearway street, Boston, 

Albert Soosman, 54 Allen street, Boston. 

John W. Toomey, 510 East Broadway, South Boston. 

Maurice J. Walsh, 88 Esmond street, Dorchester. 

EHzabeth R. "W-liite, 53 Clearway street, Boston. 

James F. Burke, 461 Massachusetts avenue, Boston. 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 20 City HaU, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 192], Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6.] 

Rupert S. Carven, City Auditor. Term ends in 1934. 
Richard D. Cleart, Assistant City Auditor. 

The office of Auditor was established by ordinance on August 2, 1824, 
Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been published 
by the Auditor since 1825. These reports now contain in addition various 
financial tables relating to appropriations, debt, etc., and a full account of 
the trust funds, also lists of City property, by departments. Less com- 
plete reports were published by finance committees from 1811 to 1824, 
inclusive. Since June 1, 1867, the Auditor has pubUshed monthly exhibits 
of all City and County expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk and Secretary 
of the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds. (Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 
3 and Chap. 6.) 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 
Office, 65 City Hall. 
[Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 
J. George Herliht, Secretary. 
Wm. D. Kenney, Executive Officer. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 47 

THE BOARD. 

Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends Sept. 1, 1932. 

Edmund L. Dolan {ex officio). 

J. George Herlihy. Term ends Sept. 1, 1933. 

The Boston Retirement System was established on Feb. 1, 1923, as 
provided by Chap. 521 enacted in Jime, 1922, and accepted by Mayor and 
City Council in August, 1922. It is administered by a board of three mem- 
bers, the City Treasurer, ex officio, one person appointed by the Mayor, 
and the third member chosen by the other two. The compensation of the 
members is $10 each for every meeting attended, but not over $500 in anj' 
one year. After the original appointments, the term of each appointive 
member is four years. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 

Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

Joseph A. Conry, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 



OFFICIALS. 

Joseph A. Conry, Chairman. 

ASSOCIATE commissioners . * 

Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner. 
Joseph A. Rourke, Commissioner of Public Works. 
William P. Long, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
Thomas J. Hurley, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 

engineering division. 
John F. Hurley, Traffic Engineer. 
Philip T. Desmond, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The act establishing the commission became effective April 30, 1929, 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City Council, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, e.xperts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The commission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 

* Ex officiis. 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

vehicles on, and their exclusion from, all or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devises for the control 
of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public as to the 
rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

The latest revision of the traffic regulations, effective December 15, 
1930, contains 177 one-way streets and 176 no parking streets. The com- 
mission maintains 56 traffic signals, including an interconnected system 
in downtown Boston, 3,850 traffic signs, 120 flashing beacons and 154 
traffic officer's spotlights. Thirty-four miles of white lines painted in 
the roadway, including crosswalks, centre lines and stop lines, are main- 
tained by the commission. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 47 City Hall, third floor. 
[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Ord. 1927, Chap. 3.] 

Chakles J. Fox, Budget Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Edwaed C. Wade, Secretary. 

The adoption in 1916 of a segregated budget recommended by the 
Budget Commission of 1915 was followed by the estabhshing of an inde- 
pendent department in 1917, to have the supervision of all details of 
method pertaining to the preparation of the annual appropriation schedules 
of city and county departments. These are submitted at the beginning of 
the financial year to the Mayor, who, after 30 days' consideration, submits 
them to the City Council with his recommendations. The Co mmi ssioner 
of the Budget Department also prepares the form of departmental monthly 
reports of expenditures of all appropriations by items. 

Under the provisions of chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930 the Budget 
Commissioner is directed to prepare "classification and compensation 
plans" embracing every office and position in Suffolk County, the salary 
of which "is wholly payable" from the County Treasury. In effect, this 
Act establishes the Budget Commissioner as Personal Officer of Suffolk 
County. 

BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 
[Chap. 488, Acts 1924, Section 20, amended by Chap. 219, Acts of 1925, 
Chap. 350, Acts of 1926, Chap. 220, Acts of 1927, Chap. 70 and 137, 
Acts of 1928, Chap. 88, Acts of 1929, Chap. 347, Acts of 1930, and 
Chap. 16, Acts of 1931.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Fkederic H. Fay, Chairman. 
Leo Schwartz, Secretary. 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 



49 





Members. 
Nominated by 


Term ends in 




City Planning Board 


Ex officio 


Patrick H. Jennine's 


Boston Central Labor Union 


1934 


Frank 0. Whitnev 


Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange .... 

/Boston Society of Architects. 

\Boston Society of Landscape Architects. 

Boston Chamber of Commerce 


1934 


W. Franklin Burnham 

Dana Somes 


1930 
1930 


Eliot N. Jones 


1931 


James R. Gibson. 


Master Builders' Association 


1931 


Frank Brewster 


Boston Real Estate Exchange 


1932 


B. Preston Clark 


Associated Industries of jMass 

United Improvement Association 

Team Owners' Association 

Appointed by the Mayor 


1932 


Clifford N. Cann 

JohnH. Gilbodv 


1933 
1933 


Leo Schwartz 









The board consists of twelve members appointed by the Mayor in 
the following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated 
by each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Exchange, Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association, 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. All appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of office is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation, but any peti- 
tion for changing the zoning map must be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five dollars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all propertj' affected, 
change the boundaries of districts by changing the zoning map on file at 
the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs of a locality, to avoid 
undue concentration of population, to provide adequate light and air, to 



50 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

lessen congestion in streets, to secure safetj* from fire, panic and other 
dangers, to facilitate the adequate provision of transportation, water, 
sewerage and other pubhc requirements and to promote the health, safety, 
convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the city of Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two-thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, bring a petition in the Supreme Judicial Court for the 
County of Suffolk for a writ of certiorari setting forth that such decision 
is in whole or part not in accordance with the duties and powers of the 
board. 

BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 

Offices 901-906 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550 (i. e., Boston Building Law) as amended; Stat. 
1910, Chaps. 284, 571, 631; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 76, 129, 342; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 259, 713; Ord. 1912, Chaps. 3, 9; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 50, 
280, 577, 680, 704, 714, 729; Ord. 1913, Chap. 4; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 8 and Chap. 41, §31; Ord. 1914, Chap. 4; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 
205, 248, 595, 782, 786; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 254, 306, 333, 352; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 118 and Spec. Stat. Chaps. 248, 277; Spec. 
Stat. Chap. 86; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 221; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chaps. 
104, 115, 179 (i. e., Building Law amended and codified); Spec. 
Stat. 1919, Chaps. 32, 155, 156, 163; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 91, 266, 440, 
455; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1, 5; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 
60, 109, 137, 280, 298, 476; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 61, 126, 174, 316; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 108, 278, 462; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 332, 335, 412 and 
488; R. O. 1925, 68, 415; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 219 and 335; Stat. 1926, 
Chaps. 182 and 350; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 42, 45, 82, 220, 246 and 342; 
Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 76, 137, 260, 320 and 325; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 
88 and 338; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 62, 146, 347 and 399.] 

Edward W. Roeaier, Building Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 

Max H. Levy, Clerk of Department. 

Joseph E. Cahill, Supervisor of Construction. 

Frank Conroy, Chief of Zoning Division. 

Edwin H. Oliver, Chief of Egress Division. 

Wilfred H. Smith, Chief, Plan Division A. 

David Hastie, Chief, Plan Division B. 

Timothy J. Farrell, Supervisor of Elevators. 

William A. Wheater, Supervisor of Plumbing. 

James W. Flynn , Supervisor of Gasfitting. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 51 

It is the duty of the Building Commissioner to issue permits for and 
inspect the erection and alteration of buildings in the City, and the set- 
ting of boilers, engines and furnaces; to keep a register of all persons licensed 
to take charge of constructing, altering, removing or tearing down build- 
ings; to keep a register of the names of all persons carrying on the busi- 
ness of plumbing and gasfitting, and of all persons working at the business 
of gasfitting, and to issue licenses to master and journeymen gasfitters; 
to issue permits for and inspect the plumbing and gasfitting in buildings; 
to inspect elevators in buildings and report upon elevator accidents; to 
inspect at least monthly all theaters and moving-picture houses, and 
semi-annually all halls or places for public assembly; to inspect existing 
tenement houses; to report on all fires in, and accidents in or to, build- 
ings, and to approve plans of new buildings and alterations. 

The Board of Appeal (i. e., appeal from the decisions of the Building 
Commissioner) although appointed by the Mayor, is nominated by the 
leading real estate and builders' organizations. 

Board of Examiners. 

[Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 5.] 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 

OFFICIALS. 

John F. Hicket, Chairman. 

Mary C. Down, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

John F. Hickey. Term ends in 1931. 
Thomas K. Reynolds. Term ends in 1932. 
Harry J. Greenblatt. Term ends in 1933. 

The Board of FiXaminers was established in 1912 as an adjunct of the 
Building Department, to consist of three members, appointed by the 
Mayor. The duties of these examiners are to determine the qualifica- 
tions of persons taking charge or control of the construction, alteration, 
removal or tearing down of buildings; to register and classify those who 
are competent according to fitness and certify such to the Building Com- 
missioner. Each examiner is to receive ten dollars for every day or part 
thereof of actual service, but not more than $1,000 in any one year. 
(Chairman $1,200.) 

The fees to be paid to the Board are: for new license, $5.00, and each 
annual renewal, $2.00; special license, $1.00. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 
Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
(Stat. 1907, Chap. 550, §§ 6, 7; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 13, § 6; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 631; Stat. 1920, Chap. 440; Stat. 1923, Chap. 108; 
Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219.] 



52 MUNICIPAL KEGISTER. 

OFFICIALS. 

James H. Fitzpatrick, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Jr., Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

D.iaSiiEL G. Slattery. Term ends in 1935. 

James H. Fitzpatrick. Term ends in 1934. 

Joseph A. Tomasello. Term ends in 1933. 

James A. McElaney, Jr. Term ends in 1932. 

Walter S. Gerry. Term ends in 1931. 
The Board consists of five members, one appointed each year by the 
Mayor one member from two candidates nominated in successive years, 
by the following organizations respectively: Real Estate Exchange and 
Auction Board and Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange; Boston Society 
of Architects and Boston Society of Civil Engineers; jNIaster Builders' 
Association and Contractors' and Builders' Association; and Building 
Trades Council of the Boston Central Labor Union; also one member of 
the Mayor's own selection. The term of ofiice is five years. Each mem- 
ber is paid $10 per day for actual service, but not more than $1,000 in 
any one year. 

Any appUcant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
apphcation has been refused in re building law or in re zoning law, may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days, and a person who has been ordered 
by the Commissioner to incur any expense may, within thirty days after 
receiving such order, appeal to the Board of Appeal b}- giving notice in 
writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled by this 
Board, after a hearing. 

Appeal may also be made to this Board from certain requirements of 
the Commissioner of Wires. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 
Ofiice, 31 City HaU, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV,, Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Ciijj Clerk. Term ends in 1932. 
John B. Hynes, Assistayit City Clerk. 
The City Clerk is elected by the City Council for the term of three 
yeajs. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of all city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments 
of wages, hens upon vessels, issues licenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 
The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, ex officio, Clerk and Assistant 
Clerk, respectively, of the City Council. 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 53 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41, §18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant City Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 

CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 30 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12: 
Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 
1925, Chap. 333.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fat, Chairman. 

Miss Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Frederic H. Fay. Term ends in 1934. 
Edward H. Hoyt. Term ends in 1933. 
Sidney S. Conrad. Term ends in 1932. 
Miss Mary A. Barr. Term ends in 1931. 
Nathan Sidd. Term ends in 1935. 

Every city and town in the State having a population of more than 
10,000 is authorized and directed to create a board to be known as the 
Planning Board, whose duty it shall be to make careful studies of the re- 
sources, possibilities and needs of the city or town, and to make plans for 
the development of the municipality with special reference to the proper 
housing of the people. In January, 1914, an ordinance was passed estab- 
lishing "The City Planning Board," consisting of five members, one of 
whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 

COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888, Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 
William M. McMorrow, City Collector. Term ends in 1934. 

The Collector collects and receives aU taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any account to the 
City of Boston or the County of Suffolk. He has the custody of all leases 
from, and of all tax deeds of land held by, the City. Annual reports 
have been published since 1876, also monthly statements. The Collector 
is also County Collector. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, §78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps." 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65, 93, 114, 209, 288, 340,387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Peter F. Tague, Chairman. 
Charles T. Harding, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Charles T. Harding. Term ends in 1935. 
Helen A. Macdonald. Term ends in 1934. 
Daniel H. Rose. Term ends in 1933. 
Peter F. Tague. Term ends in 1932. 

One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 
beginning April 1. The two leading poHtical parties must be equally 
represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually by the 
Mayor. 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. Chapter 311, 1924, now 
requires the personal appearance of aU applicants for jury duty before the 
board for examination. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other ofiicers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 339. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, City Building, Bristol street. 
[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, §§9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap, 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap. 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309.] 



FIRE DEPARTIMENT. 55 

Edward F. McLaughlin, Fire Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Herbert J. Hickey, Executive Secretary of the Department. 
■ Henry A. Fox, Chief of Department, 
Henry J. Power, Assistant Chief. 
Walter M. McLean, Deputy Chief. 
John J. Kelley, Deputy Chief. 
Albert J. Caulfield, Deputy Chief. 
Thomas H. Downey, Deputy Chief. 
Frank A. Sweeney, Deputy Chief. 
William F. Quigley, Deputy Chief. 
George L. Fickett, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 
Walter J. Btjrke, Superintendent, Wire Division. 
Edward E. Williamson, Superintendent of Maintenance Division. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge 
of 1 Commissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 1 
Assistant Chief of Department, 7 Deputy Chiefs, 30 District Chiefs, 1 
Superintendent of Fire Alarm, 1 Superintendent of Maintenance, 1 Medical 
Examiner, 1 Supervisor of High Pressure, Steam and Marine Service, 1 
Engineer of Motor Apparatus, 88 Captains, 132 Lieutenants, 1,279 
Engineers, Assistant Engineers, Apparatus Operators, Masters, Aides, 
Hosemen and Laddermen, 22 Clerks, 17 Fire Alarm Operators, 116 
mechanics, painters, carpenters, linemen, repairers, electricians and 
workmen. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Wire 
Division), 1,746. 

There are 65 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 56 employees, operat- 
ing 1,576 signal boxes, and a repair shop with 116 employees. Annual 
reports have been pubUshed since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of district chiefs, $4,000; captains, $2,700; Heutenants, 
$2,500; apparatus operators, $2,200; first year privates, $1,600, with 
annual increase of $100 until the maximum of $2,100 is reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising 
and inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors and substituting 
underground for overhead transmission. The Wire Division is in charge 
of 1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Inspector, 1 Chief Clerk, 7 Clerks, 1 Engineer, 
32 Inspectors, 1 Telephone Operator, 1 Stenciller, 1 Chauffeur. 

A total of 46 men (included in above 1,746). 

chief, assistant chief and deputy chiefs. 

Chief, Henry A. Fox. Headquarters, Bristol street. 

Assistant Chief, Henry J. Power. Headquarters, Engine 26, Broadway. 

First Division. In charge of Deputy Chief John J. Kelley. Head- 
quarters, Ladder House 8, Fort Hill square. Districts 1 to 5, inclusive. 

Second Division. In charge of Deputy Chiefs William F. Quigley and 
Thomas H. Downey. Headquarters, Engine 22, Warren avenue. 
Districts 6, 7, 8, 11. 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Third Division. In charge of Deputy Chiefs Walter M. INIcLean and 
Frank A. Sweeney. Headquarters, Ladder House 23, Grove Hall. 
Districts 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15. 

Maintenance Division. Edward E. Williamson, Superintendent. 
Fire Prevention Division, Albert J. Caulfield, Deputy Chief in 
Charge. 

FIRST division. — ■ DISTRICTS, DISTRICT CHIEFS AND APPARATUS. 

District 1 (East Boston). Thomas E. Conroy and Napeen Boutilier, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 5, Marion st. Apparatus — 
Engines, Nos. 5, 9, 11, 40, 47 (fireboat); 2, 41; Ladders, 2, 21, 31. 

Dist. 2 (Charlestown). Philip A. Tague and Thomas F. Ward, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 50, Winthrop street. Ap- 
paratus — Engines, Nos. 27, 32, 36, 50; Ladders, 9, 22. 

Dist. 3 (Boston Proper and South Boston). John J. Kenney and John 
F. Good, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Ladder House 18, Pittsbui'gh 
street. Apparatus — Engines, Nos. 25, 38, 39 44 (fireboat); Ladders, 
8, 18; Water Tower 3. 

Dist. 4 (North End). Avery B. Howard and John F. McDonough, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Bowdoin Square Fire Station. Appa- 
ratus ^ Engines, Nos. 4, 6, 8; fireboat, 31; Ladders, 1, 24, Rescue 3, 
Water Tower 1. 

Dist. 5 (Boston Proper). John F. Watson and Dennis J. Coughlin, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 26, Broadway. Apparatus 

— Engines, Nos. 7, 10, 26, 35; Ladder, 17, Rescue 1, Water Tower 2. 

second division — • districts, district chiefs and apparatus, 
Dist. 6 (South Boston). Michael J. Teehan and Edward G. Chamber- 
lain, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 1, Dorchester st. 

Apparatus — Engines, Nos. 1, 2, 15, 43; Ladders, 5, 19, 20. 
Dist. 7 (Back Bay and South End). Michael F. Minehan and Samuel 

J. Pope, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 22, Warren ave. 

Apparatus — Engines, Nos. 3, 22, 33; Ladders, 3, 13, 15. 
Dist. 8 (Roxbury). Louis C. I. Stickel and Daniel Martell, Dist. 

Chiefs. Headquarters, Ladder House 12, Tremont st. Apparatus — 

Engines, Nos. 13, 14, 37; Ladders, 12, 26. 
Dist. 11 (Brighton). Cornelius J. O'Brien and Thomas H. Andreoli, 

Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 41, Harvard ave. Apparatus 

— Engines, Nos. 29, 34, 41, 51; Ladders, 11, 14. 

third division — districts, district chiefs and apparatus. 
Dist. 9 (Dorchester North and Roxbury East). William H. McCorkle 
and Edward J. Locke, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 
12, Dudley st. Apparaii/s — Engines, Nos. 12, 23, 24; Ladders 4 and 
23; Rescue, 2. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 



57 



DiST. 10 (Dorchester Centre). Francis J. Jordan and Charles H. Long, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 17, Meeting House Hill. 
Apparatus. — Engines, Nos. 17, 18, 21; Ladder, 7. 

Dist. 12 (Jamaica Plain). Joseph W. Shea and Timothy F. Donovan, 
Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 28, Centre st. Apparatus — 
Engines, Nos. 28, 42, 53; Ladders, 10, 30. 

Dist. 13 (Roslindale and West Roxbury-). Patrick J. V. Kelley and 
Charles A. Donahoe, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 45, 
corner Washington and Poplar sts., Roslindale. Apparatus — Engines, 
Nos. 30, 45; Ladders, 16, 25. 

Dist. 14 (Ashmont, Neponset and Lower Mills). James Mahoney and 
James F. Ryan, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 46, Peabody 
sq. Apparatus — Engines, Nos. 16, 20, 46, 52; Ladders, 6, 27, 29. 

Dist. 15 (Hyde Park and Mattapan). John P. Murray and Michael D. 
Sullivan, Dist. Chiefs. Headquarters, Engine House 48, corner 
Harvard ave. and Winthrop st., Hyde Park. Apparatus — Engines, 
Nos. 19, 48, 49; Ladder, 28. 



fire-engines. 



Number, Etc. 


Location. 


1 


(Auto combination) 

(Auto combination) 


Dorchester st., cor. Fourth, S. Boston. 
Fourth street, cor. 0, S. Boston 


3 


(Auto combination) 


Harrison avenue, cor. Bristol street 


4 


(Auto combination) 


Bowdoin Square. 

Marion street. East Boston 


5 


(Auto combination) 


6 


(Auto combination) 


Powdoin Square. 

East street. 


7 


(Auto combination) 


8 


(Auto combination) 


Salem street. 


9 


(Auto combination) 


Paris street. East Boston. 


10 


(Auto combination) 


Mt. Vernon street, cor. River street. 


11 


(Auto combination) 


Cor. Saratoga and Byron streets, E. B. 

Dudley street, Roxbury. 

Cabot street, Roxbury. 

Centre street, Roxbury. 

Cor. Broadway and Dorchester ave. 

River street, Dorchester. 


}?, 


(Auto combination) 


13 


(Auto combination) 


14 


(Auto combination) 


15 


(Auto combination) 


16 


(Auto combination) 


17 


(Auto combination) 


Meeting House Hill, Dorchester. 
Harvard street, Dorchester. 


18 


(Auto combination) 


19 


[Auto combination) 


Babson street, Dorchester. 


20 


(Auto combination) 


Walnut street, Dorchester. 


21 


(Auto combination) 


Columbia road, Dorchester. 


22 


(Auto combination) 


Warren avenue. 


23 


(^Auto combination) 


Northampton street. 

Cor. Warren and Quincy streets. 

Fort Hill square. 

Broadway. 

Elm street, Charlestown. 


24 


(Auto combination) . . .... 


25 


fAuto combination) 


26 


(Auto combination) 


27 


[Auto combination) 


28 


[Auto combination) 


Centre street, Jamaica Plain. 


29 


'Auto combination) 


Chestnut Hill avenue, Brighton. 
Centre street, West Roxbury. 


30 


'Auto combination) 







58 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

FiBE-EXGiNES. — Concluded. 



Number, Etc. 


Location. 


31 (Fireboat) 


521 Commercial street. 


32 (Auto combination) 


Bunker Hill street, Charlestown 


33 (Auto combination) 


Bovlston and Hereford streets. 


34 (Auto combination) 


Western avenue, Brighton. 


35 (Auto combination) .... 


Broadway. 

Monument street, Charlestown. 


36 (Auto combination) 


37 (Auto combination) 


Longwood and Brookline avenues. 


38 and 39 (Avito combination) 

40 (Auto combination) 


Congress street, South Boston. 
Svunner street, East Boston. 


41 (Auto combination) 


Harvard avenue, Brighton. 
Egleston square. 


42 (Auto combination) 


43 (Auto combination) 


Andrew square. South Boston. 


44 (Fireboat) 

45 (Auto combination) 


Northern avenue. 
Poplar street, Roslindale. 
Dorchester avenue, Ashmont. 


46 (Auto combination) 


47 (Fireboat) 


East Boston. 


48 (Auto combination) 


Harvard ave. and Winthrop st., H. P. 
Milton and Hamilton sts., Readville. 


49 (Auto combination) 


50 (Auto combination) 


Winthrop street, Charlestown. 

Oak square, Brighton. 

Callender and Lj^ons sts., Dorchester. 


51 (Auto combination) 

52 (Auto combination) 


53 (Auto combination) 


Walk Hill and Wenham streets, Forest 
Hills. 



Note. — The "Auto combination" is a gasolene pumping engine, and 
hose; reel combined in one automobile. Three engines include a chemical 
tank, making a triple combination. 

LADDER TRUCKS. 



XuMBER, Etc. 


Location. 


1 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Friend street, W^arren square. 
Paris street, East Boston. 


2 (Aerial, with tractor) 


3 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Harrison avenue, cor. Bristol street. 


4 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Dudley street, cor. Winslow, Roxbury. 
Fourth street, near Dorchester street. 


5 (Aerial, with tractor) 


6 (Motor truck) 


River street, cor. Temple, Dorchester. 
Meeting House Hill, Dorchester. 


7 (Aerial, with tractor) 


8 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Fort Hill square. 

331 Main street, Charlestown. 


9 (Aerial, with tractor) 


10 (Aerial, with tractor) 


659 Centre street, Jamaica Plain. 


1 1 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Chestnut Hill avenue, Brighton. 


12 (Aerial, with tractor) 


1046 Tremont street, Roxbury. 
Warren avenue. 
Harvard avenue, AUston. 
Boylston street, cor. Hereford. 
Poplar street, Roslindale. 
157 Harrison avenue. 


13 (Aerial, with tractor) 

14 (Aerial, with tractor) 

15 (Aerial, with tractor) 

16 (Motor truck) 


1 7 (Aerial, with tractor) . . . 







FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
LADDER TRUCKS. — Concluded. 



59 



Number, Etc. 


Location. 


18 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Pittsburgh street. 

E. Fourth street, near K, S. Boston. 
Andrew square, South Boston. 
Saratoga and Byron streets, E. B. 
44 Monument street, Charlestown 


19 (Motortruck) 

20 (Aerial, with tractor) 

21 (Motor truck) 


22 (Aerial, with tractor) 


23 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Grove Hall, Dorchester. 


24" (Aerial, with tractor) 


Bowdoin Square. 

Centre street, near Belle vue. West 


25 (Motor truck) 


26 (Aerial, with tractor) 


Roxbury. 
Longwood and Brookline avenues. 
Walnut street, Dorchester. 


27 (Motor truck) 


28 (Motor truck) 

29 (Motor truck with chenaical), 

30 (Motor aerial truck with chem- 

ical) 


Harvard ave. and Winthrop St., H. P. 
Callender and Lyons streets, Dor. 

Egleston square, Roxbury. 
Saratoga street, cor. Prescott, East 
Boston. 


31 (Motor truck) 


WATEI 


I TOWERS. 


Number, Etc. 


Location. 


WATER TOWERS, ETC. 

1 (With tractor) 

2 (With tractor) 


Bowdoin Square. 
Broadway . 


3 (With tractor) 


Pittsburgh street. 
Broadway. 
Dudley street. 
Bowdoin Square. 


1 Motor Rescue car. 


2 Motor Rescue car 

3 Motor Rescue car.. . 





TOTAL EQUIPMENT IN USE AND IN RESERVE. 

In Use: Auto combination gasolene engines, 47; triple combination 
gasolene engines, 3; marine pumpers or fireboats, 3; total engines, 53; 
combination chemical and hose cars, 48; auto ladder trucks, 31 (22); auto 
water towers, 3; officers' cars, 33; auto delivery trucks, 17; three rescue 
companies with pulmotors, etc., one auto wrecker, 2 lighting plant trucks, 
total automobiles, 188, of which 141 are apparatus; salt wagons, 15, hose 
and other pungs, 65. Leading hose and suction hose, about 187,771 feet. 

In Reserve: Auto gasolene engines, 8; auto chemical and hose cars, 8; 
auto ladder trucks, 10; one auto water tower, 8 officers' cars, 1 delivery 
truck. 

BOSTON firemen's RELIEF FUND. 

By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 
the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body for 
the purpose of holding and adminstering the Firemen's Relief Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 

Main office, 1 108, City Hall Annex, eleventh floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C C. Title IV., Chap., 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps, 448, 486; Stat. 
1913; Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3 and 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3. Ord. 1931, Chap. 2. 

OFFICIALS. 

Francis X. Mahoney, Health Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

DEPUTY COMMISSIONERS. 

M. Victor Safford, M. D., Medical Division. 

Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 

Karl R. Bailey, M. D., Laboratory Division. 

George T. O'Donnell, M. D., Tuberculosis Division. 

Charles F. Wilinsky, Child Hygiene Division and Director of Health Units 

Thomas J. Donnellon, Sanitary Division. 

Patrick H. Mullomtstey, M. D. V., Food Division. 

Joseph W. Monahan, Vital Statistics Division. 

other supervising officers. 
Robert E. Dyer, D. V. S., Veterinarian in charge of Dairy Division. 
Frank E. Mott, Milk hispector. 

Alexander R. Burr, M. D. V., Veterinarian in charge of Abattoir Divi- 
sion. 
Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under 
the special statute of February 13, 1799, It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 61 

service should pass from the control of the Health Dept. when the property 
was leased to the United States, in effect June 1, 1915. 

On Oct. 26, 1926, the Conservation Bureau of the City of Boston (Sec. 
5, Chap, 18, 1926) was abolished, and instead there was created a Con- 
servation Division within the Health Department. March 31, 1927, 
Ordinance enacted abolishing the Boston Sanatorium Department and 
placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Mattapan under the jurisdiction of 
the Trustees of the Boston City Hospital; all other powers and duties and 
the Out-patient Department were transferred to the Health Commissioner. 
Chap. 1 of Ordinance of 1927 amended Feb. 16, 1931. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 

Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison avenue. 
IStat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1893, Chap. 91; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 18, 
C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 521, § § 18, 19; Stat. 1924, Chap. 70.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph P. Manning, President. 
Henry S. Rowen, M.D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Joseph P. Manning. Term ends in 1931. 
Henry S. Rowen, M.D. Term ends in 1932. 
George G. Sears, M.D. Term ends in 1933. 
Karl Adams. Term ends in 1934. 
Carl Dreyfus. Term ends in 1935. 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on June 1, 1864. Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River street, Matta- 
pan, for tuberculous patients, the Convalescent Home at 2150 Dor- 
chester avenue, Dorchester, the Haymarket Square Relief Station, the 
East Boston Relief Station, and the West Department, West Roxbury 
(recently returned by United States Government and not yet in running 
condition). 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold 
real and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corpora- 
tion to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

HOSPITAL officers. 

John J. Dowling, M. D. — Superintendent and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



62 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Charles H. Pelton. M. D. — Assistant Swperintenderd. 

James W. Manary, M. D. — Executive Director of Out-Patient Department. 

Francis S. Broderick, M. D. — Executive Assistant. 

M. WiNTHROP O'CoNNELL, M. D. — Executive Assistant. 

Charles A. Galligan, M. D. — Executive Assistant. 

Samuel Sidell, M. D.— Executive Assistant. 

Daniel J. McSweeney, M. D. — Night Executive Assistant. 

Charles A. Knowles, M. D. — Resident Surgeon — House. 

Lewis R. Dretler, M. D. — Assistant Resident Surgeon — House. 

J. William Burke, M. D. — Resident Surgeon Out-Patient Department. 

F. B. Mallory, M. D. — Pathologist. 

George R. Minot, M. D. — Director of Thorndike Memorial Laboratortj, 
Director of Second arid Fourth Medical Services. 

Soma Weiss, M. D. — Associate Physician and Assistomt Director of Thorn- 
dike Memorial Laboratory. 

P. F. Butler, M. D. — Roentgenologist-in-Chief . 

Donald C. Hoffman, M. D. — Director of Clinical Laboratories. 

Stephen J. Maddock, M. D. — Director of Surgical Research. 

MEDICAL and SURGICAL STAFF. 

Consulting Physicians and Surgeons. — Abner Post, M. D., Hayward W. 
Gushing, M. D., Francis S. Watson, M. D., George H. Monks, M. D., 
Elliott P. Joslin, M. D., Henry Jackson, M. D., George G. Sears, M. D., 
John Bapst Blake, M. D., Paul Thorndike, M. D., John L. Ames, M. D., 
Fred B. Lund, M. D., Joshua C. Hubbard, M. D., Nathaniel R. Mason, 
M. D. 

Consulting Pathologists. — William T. Councilman, M. D., Frank B. 
Mallory, M. D. 

Consultant in Tropical Diseases. — Richard P. Strong, M. D. 

Consultant in Ophthalmology. — Allen Greenwood, M. D. 

Consulting Aural Surgeon. — Rockwell A. Coffin, M. D. 

Considting Physician in Neurology. — Arthur W. Fairbanks, M. D., 
John J. Thomas, M. D. 

Curator of the Hospital Museum. — Dwight O Hara, M. D. 

Senior Physician. — Francis H. Williams, M. D. 

Visiting Physicians. — William H. Robey, M. D., Ralph C. Larrabee, 
M. D., Franklin W. White, M. D., Edwin A. Locke, M. D., George R. 
Minot, M. D., Francis W. Palfrey, M. D., Cadis Phipps, M. D., Harold W. 
Dana, M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Physicians. — Thomas J. O Brien, M. D., William R. 
Ohler, M. D., Edmund F. Walsh, M. D. 

Junior Visiting Physicians. — Joseph M. Lynch, M. D., Joseph E. 
Hallisey, M. D., John A. Foley, M. D., George C. Shattuck. M. D., Louis J. 
UUian, M. D., Dwight O Hara, M. D., Henry Jackson, Jr., M. D., Frank S. 
Cruickshank, M. D., Daniel J. Hogan, M. D., Louis F. Curran, M. D., 
Percy B. Davidson, M. D., Henry Baker, M. D., George P. Reynolds, M. D., 
James M. Faulkner, M. D., WiUiam B. Stevens, M. D., Nathan Sidel, 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 63 

M. D., William T. O Halloran, M. D., Soma Weiss, M. D., James C. Healy, 
M. D., Greene Fitzhugh, M. D., Norman A. Welch, M. D., Richard P. 
Stetson, M. D., Bernard I. Goldberg, M. D., Laurence B. Ellis, M. D., 
Theodore L. Badger, M. D. 

Senior Surgeon. — George W. Gay, M. D. 

Surgeon-in-Chief. — Frederic J. Cotton, M. D., David D. Scannell, M. D., 
Horace Binney, M. D., Halsey B. Loder, M. D., Irving J. Walker, M. D.. 
Arthur R. Kimpton, M. D. 

Visiting Surgeons. — Robert C. Cochrane, M. D., Otto J. Hermann, 
M. D., Somers Fraser, M. D., Francis F. Henderson, M. D., James J. Hep- 
burn, M. D., Joseph H. Shortell, M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Surgeons. — William R. Morrison, M. D., Edward 
Harding, M. D., Thomas K. Richards, M. D., Thomas W. Wickham, M. D., 
George W. Papen, M. D., Charles C. Lund, M. D. 

Junior Visiting Surgeons. — Joseph H. Burnett, M. D., E. Everett O'Neil, 
M. D., William D. Cotting, M. D., John J. Lucy, M. D., Howard A. Bouve, 
M. D. 

Assistants to Visiting Surgeons. — John A. Seth, M. D., Richard I. Smith, 
M. D., Newton C. Browder, M. D., William A. White, Jr., M. D., Allan L. 
Davis, M. D., Daniel J. Duggan, M. D., Winchester W. Everett, M. D., 
Russell Sullivan, M. D. 

Associate Surgeons.— Mark H. Rogers, M. D., James W. Sever, M. D. 

Surgeons-in-Chief for Gynecology and Obstetrics. — Robert M. Green, 
M. D., John T. Williams, M. D. 

Visiti?ig Surgeons for Gynecology and Obstetrics. — Frederick L. Good, 
M. D., Joseph P. Cohen, M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Surgeons for Gynecology and Obstetrics.— Harold \'. 
Hyde, M. D., Frederick J. Lynch, M. D., Reginald D. Margeson, M. D., 
Abraham S. Troupin, M. D. 

Junior Visiting Surgeons for Gynecology and Obstetrics. — Carmi R. Alden, 
M. D., G. Elliott May, M. D., WiUiam J. McDonald M. D.. Benedict F. 
Boland, M. D. 

Assistants to Visiting Surgeons for Gyneocology and Obstetrics. — Emilio 
D'Errico, M. D., Kenneth G. Farnsworth, M. D., Daniel J. McSweeney, 
M. D., Benjamin Tenney, Jr., M. D. 

Visiting Surgeon for Urology. — Herbert H. Howard, M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Surgeon for Urology. — Augustus Riley, M. D. 
Visiting Surgeon for N euro-Surgery. — Donald Munro, M. D. 

Associate in N euro-Surgery. — Tracy J. Putnam, M. D. 

Ophthalmic Snrgeon-in-Chief . — Jeremiah J. Corbett, M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Ophthalmic Surgeons. — Harry Schwartzman, M. D., 
Thomas J. Hagan, M. D., Robert W. French, M. D., Joseph H. McLaughlin, 
James M. Ward, M. D. 

Surgeon-in-Chief for Diseases of Ear and Throat. — Harry P. Cahill, M. D. 
Visiting Surgeon for Diseases for Ear and Throat. — Louis M. Freedman, 
M. D. 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Visiting Surgeon for Oral and Plastic Surgery. — Varaztad H. Kazanjian, 
M. D. 

Assistant Visiting Surgeons Jor Diseases oj Ear and Throat. — Edward J. 
Monahan, M. D., Philip E. A. Sheridan, M.D. 

Junior Visiting Surgeons for Diseases of Ear and Throat. — WilUam F. 
Regan, M.D., PhiUp R. Dwyer, M.D., Chester R. MiUs, M.D., Francis 
G. Miniter, M.D., Fred Heimhch, M.D., Charles W. DeWolf, M.D., 
Philip G. Berman, M.D., Vincent J. Kelley, M.D., James P. Tierney, M.D. 

OralSurgeon-in-Chief. — Stephen P. Mallett, D.M.D. 

Visiting Oral Surgeons. — William H. Canavan, D.M.D., Thomas 
Hennessey, D.M.D. 

Assistant Visiting Oral Surgeons. — Douglass M. Baker, D.M.D., George 

F. Winchester, D.M.D., Austin T. Wilhams, D.M.D., W. Harry 
Gullifer, M.D. 

Visiting Anesthetists. — Frank L. Richardson, M.D., Nathaniel N: 
Morse, M.D. 

Assisting Visiting Anesthetists. — William A. Noonan, M.D., Sidney C. 
Wiggin, M.D. 

Visiting Neurologists. — Stanley Cobb, M.D., Abraham Myerson, M.D. 

Assistant Visiting Neurologists. — Miner H. A. Evans, M.D., Frank 
Fremont-Smith, M.D. 

Junior Visiting Neurologists. — Maxwell E. MacDonald, M.D., William 

G. Lennox, M.D., Tracy J. Putnam, M.D., William Herman, M.D., 
W. Ham-ton Merritt, M.D. 

Neuropathologist. — L. Raymond, Morrison. 
■ Research Associates in Neurology. — Henry S. Forbes, M.D., Mary E, 
Dailey, M.D. 

Physician-in-Chief for Physical Therapeutics. — Joseph Resnik, M.D. 

Visiting Physicians for Physical Therapeutics. — William D. McFee, 
M.D., Girdie W. Dickinson, M.D., Arthur J. Cole, M.D. 

Physician-in-Chief for Diseases of the Skin. — William S. Boardman, M.D. 

Visiting Physician for Diseases of the Skin. — Walter P. Garfield, M.D. 

Assistant Visiting Physicians for Diseases of the Skin. — John G. Downing, 
M.D., Bernard Appel, M.D., Francis C. McCarthy, M.D. 

Physician-in-Chief for Contagious Diseases. — Edwin H. Place, M.D. 

Rcentgenologist-in-Chief. — P. F. Butler, M.D. 

Visiting Roentgenologists. — Max Ritvo, M.D., Frederick W. O Brien, 
M.D., Albert M. Moloney, M.D. 

Physician-in-Chief for Immunology. — George P. Sanborn, M.D. 

Assistant Visiting Physicians for Immunology. — Edmund F. Walsh, 

M. D., Samuel M. Pearl, M.D. 

Pediatrician-in-Chief. — Martin J. English, M.D. 

Visiting Pediatricians. — Augustine W. McGarry, M.D., Eli Friedman, 
M.D. 

Assistant Visiting Pediatrician. — John J. Dunphy, M.D. 

Junior Visiting Pediatricians. — George Kahn, M.D., John P. Treanor, 
Jr., M.D., James W. Redmond, M.D., Abraham N. Caplan, M.D. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 65 

SOUTH DEPARTMENT. 

Medical Director. — John J. Dowling, M.D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M.D. 

Assistant Phijsicians. — Morris Prizer, M.D., Samuel H. Segool, M.D., 
Pembroke N. MacDermott, M.D. 

SANATORIUM DIVISION. 

Assistant Super intendent. — John F. O'Brien, M.D. 

VISITING MEDICAL STAFF. 

Chiej of Staff.— Edwin A. Locke, M.D. 

First Assistant Physician. — Timothy J. Murphy, M.D. 

Surgical Assistant. — Albert Ehrenfried, M.D. 

Visiting Laryngologist. — Samuel Cline, M.D. 

Visiting Ophthalmologist. — Joseph H. McLaughlin, M.D. 

Roentgenologist. — Frederick W. O'Brien, M.D. 

Visithig Dental Surgeon. — Frederick A. Keyes, D.M.D. 

Pathologist.— Thomas T. Walker, M.D. 

RESIDENT MEDICAL STAFF. 

Resident Medical Oificer. — Franlv H. Hunt, M.D. 
First Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Benedict Ramin, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Leo B. Burgin, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Francis J. Moran, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Irving W. Schiller, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Arthur Geiger, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — E. S. Miller, M.D. 
Assistant Resident Medical Officer. — Samuel Sniderman, M.D. 

HAYMARKET SQUARE RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Bernard F. Devine, M.D., George Robbins, M.D. 

EAST BOSTON RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Arthur G. Holland, M.D., James V. Sacchetti, M.D. 

PHYSICIAJ^S TO THE CONVALESCENT HOME. 

John P. Treanor, M.D. Joseph J. O'Brien, M.D. 

The Boston City Hospital. 
During the past ten years, the following new buildings have been added 
to those of The Boston City Hospital : 

1923. Thomdike Memorial Laboratory and Ward. 

1924. New Out-Patient Building. 
1924. Alterations to Wards F, G and H. 

1926. Special Laboratory and Animal House. 

1926 to present. Additions and Alterations to Power Plant. 

1927. Gynecological and Obstetrical Building. 
1927. New Wing to Nurses' Homes. 



66 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

1928. New Surgical Building. 

1929. New House Officers' Residence. 

1930. New Medical Pavilion. 

1930. Film Storage Building. 

1930-1931. Remodeling Buildings at South Department. 

1931. Administration Building. 

Since the Sanatorium Division became a department of The Boston 
City Hospital, the following buildings have been erected: 

1929. Open-Air Ward Building for Men and one for Women. 

1930. Nurses' Home. 

1930. Admission Building. 

1931. Kitchen and Dining Room Building. 
1931. Power Plant. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 808-811 City Hall Annex. 
[Special Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1921, Chap. 173; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; Ord. 1924, Chaps. 9, 10.' 
Jaiies E. Maguire, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Mary Alma Cotter, Deputy Commissioner. 
Henry A. Higgins, Superintendent of Long Island Hospital. 
Charles F. Gaynor, Registrar. 
The Department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. In 1930 a total of 2,424 persons received 
aid. The department controls about 167 acres and buildings on Long 
Island valued at upwards of $2,000,000. The steamer "George A- 
Hibbard" and launch "James J. Minot" are maintained for transportation 
service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 808 City Hall Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1931, the division had 
1,211 children in its care, was using 15 different institutions for medical 
care or special training and 591 foster homes. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City Hall, receives and investigates 
applications for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres with buildings thereon formerly occupied by Suffolk School 
for Boys, and approximately 502,939 square feet of land and buildings on 
Parker Hill, part of property purchased in 1923-1926 as a site for a chronic 
hospital. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 67 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
[Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Rev. Orel. 1925, Chap. 19.] 
Samuel Silverman, Corporation Counsel. Term ends January, 1934. 
Joseph P. Lyons, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Joseph A. Campbell, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Andrew J. Casey, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
H. Murray Pakulski, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Henry E. Lawler, Assista7it Corporation Counsel. 
Julian D. Rainey, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Charles E. Leonardi, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Mary A. Costello, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Hale Power, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
J. Burke Sullivan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Walter J. O'Maxley, City Conveyancer. 
James G. Wolff, City Conveyancer. 
George R. Jones, City Conveyancer. 
John A. Brennan, City Conveyancer. 
Thomas H. Bilodeau, Legislative Counsel. 
Edward D. Collins, Legislative Counsel. 
Daniel B. Carmody, Clerk of Department. 
Margaret G. O'Neill, Secretary. 

The office of "Attorney and Sohcitor" was estabhshed in 1827; the 
office of Corporation Counsel and that of City Solicitor in 1881. The office 
of City Solicitor was abolished and the department placed under the sole 
charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 

As now organized the Law Department consists of a Corporation Counsel 
and fourteen assistants, four of whom are detailed to do the conveyancing 
work of the department. One member of the department acts as advisor 
to the Transit Department and one member as advisor to the Building 
Department. In addition the department has two legislative counsel. 
The department, in addition to prosecuting and defending all law suits 
and causes for and against the City and County, also does the conveyanc- 
ing work for the various municipal departments. 

Legal opinions are furnished to the various department heads and city 
officials, including the School Committee, on matters relating to the dis- 
charge of their official duties. This department appears and represents 
the City and County before the various committees of the Legislature and 
other public boards and commissions. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 

[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 

23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116.] 



68 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS. 

Frank W. Buxton, President. 
Arthur T. Connolly, Vice-President. 
Charles F. D. Belden, Director. 
Theodore D. Money, Assistant Librarian. 

trustees.* 
Gordon Abbott. Term ends in 1931. 
Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1935. 
Arthur T. Connolly. Term ends in 1932. 
Louis E. Kirstein. Term ends in 1934. 
Ellery Sedgwick. Term ends in 1933. 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in number, 
are appointed bj^ the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. They 
were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold real and 
personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This amount 
was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919. The first Trustees were appointed 
under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. The old Library Building on 
Boylston street was opened to the public in September, 1858, and closed, 
finally in January, 1895. The Central Library Building on Copley square 
costing $2,756,384, was first opened on March 11, 1895. The Library 
is maintained by an annual appropriation included in the regular budget 
of the City Government. Of this appropriation ($1,171,544 in 1930) 
$163,719 was used for the purchase of books and periodicals. The Library 
trust funds in the custody of the City Treasurer amounted to $771,048.94 
on January 1, 1931. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been 
continued without interruption. 

library system. 

The Library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Kirstein Memorial Library at 20 City Hall avenue, and thirty-two 
branch libraries with independent collections of books. There were, on 
January 1, 1931, in the entire Library system, including mechanical 
departments, about 600 employees. 

Besides the daily delivery of books called for at the various branches, 
175 public and parochial schools and institutions and 45 fire-company 
houses are regularly supplied. 

For reading and reference the Library is open to all without formality. 
On January 1, 1931, there were 160,201 cardholders having the right to 
draw books for home use. The total number of volumes was 1,526,951 
including newspapers and periodicals. Books issued in 1930, for home 
use and for use through schools and institutions, numbered 4,133,459. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 69 



CENTRAL LIBRARY, COPLEY SQUARE. 

Lending and reference, 1,079,170 volumes. 

Periodical reading-rooms, 1,614 periodicals. 

Newspaper reading-room, 250 current newspapers. 

Patent Library, 12,154 volumes. 

Bates Hall for reading and reference. About 10,000 volumes are on 
open shelves. 

Other Activities. The Fine Arts Department has facilities for copying 
and photographing, a collection of photographs of architecture, sculpture 
and painting, numbering 111,005 (including process pictures), besides 
illustrated books, portfolios, etc., and 16,045 lantern slides. Special assist- 
ance is offered to classes, travel clubs, etc. Free lectures mostly on art and 
travel topics, and concerts, are given during the winter season. The room 
for younger readers has about 10,000 volumes on open shelves for reading 
and circulation. A Teachers' Reference Room is maintained, and reference 
books are reserved for use in connection with University Extension courses. 
Story telling for children is regularly conducted under expert direction at 
the Central Library and principal branches. On the ground floor of the 
Central Library near the main entrance are three rooms, wherein is pro- 
vided a community and general information service, and on open shelves, 
a classified collection of general literature for circulation, consisting of 
about 2,500 volumes. The Library is open from 9 a. m. to 10 p, m.; 
Sundays from 12 m. to 10 p. m.; closed at 9 p. m. from June 15 to Septem- 
ber 15. 

BUSINESS LIBRARIES. 

The Kirstein Memorial Library at 20 City Hall Avenue, was opened in 
1930. It contains a carefully selected collection of books on business and 
allied subjects, and is conducted with a view to serving the business 
interests of Boston. 

Through an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library of 
the Harvard Graduate School of Business ^Administration has been made a 
Branch of the Boston Public Library system. This Library's collection 
of business material, including the collection of the Business Historical 
Association, is freely open to the public for reference. Hours: 8.30 a. m. 
to 10 p. m. on week days; 1 to 10 p. m. on Sundays. 

BRANCH LIBRARIES . 

The 32 branch libraries are open on week days from 9a.m. to9p.m., 
with some variation of hours in summer. Most of them are open on 
Sundays, from 2 to 9 p. m., November through April. 

Allston Branch, 9,298 volumes, 49 periodicals. 161 Harvard avenue. 

Andrew Square Branch, 8,809 volumes, 38 periodicals. 394 Dor- 
chester street. 

Boylston Branch, 8,558 volumes, 43 periodicals. 160 Lamartine 
street. 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Brighton Braj^ch, 20,757 volumes, 73 periodicals. Helton Library 
Building, Academy Hill road. 

Charlestowtst Branch, 16,337 volumes, 58 periodicals. 43 Monument 
square, corner Monument avenue. 

City Point Branch, 9,360 volumes, 40 periodicals. 533 Broadway. 

CoDMAN Square Branch, 15,119 volumes, 65 periodicals. Washington, 
corner Norfolk street. 

Dorchester Branch, 14,456 volumes, 51 periodicals. Arcadia, corner 
Adams street. 

East Boston Branch, 22,749 volumes, 66 periodicals. 276 Meridian 
street. 

Faneuil Branch, 9,143 volumes, 41 periodicals. 100 Brooks street. 

Fellowes Athen^um Branch, 39,288 volumes, 59 periodicals. 46 
Millmont street. 

Hyde Park Branch, 31,259 volumes, 56 periodicals. Harvard avenue, 
corner Winthrop street. 

Jamaica Plain Branch, 18,476 volumes, 58 periodicals. Sedgwick, 
corner South street. 

Jeffries Point Branch, 6,135 volumes, 24 periodicals. 195 Webster 
street. 

Kirstein Memorial Library (General Branch): 3,849 volumes, 43 
periodicals. 20 City Hall avenue (third floor). 

Lower Mills Branch, 5,865 volumes, 39 periodicals. Washington, 
corner Richmond street. 

Mattapajs" Br.inch, 12,051 volumes, 45 periodicals. 7 Babson street. 

Memorial Branch, 17,722 volumes, 63 periodicals. Townsend, corner 
Warren street. 

Mt. Botm)oin Branch, 11,692 volumes, 49 periodicals. 275 Washington 
street. 

Mt. Pleasant Branch, 6,876 volumes, 32 periodicals. 335 Dudley 
street. 

Neponset Branch, 6,151 volumes, 34 periodicals. 362 Neponset 
avenue. 

North End Branch, 13,229 volumes, 48 periodicals. 3A North Bennet 
street. 

Orient Heights Branch, 6,830 volumes, 29 periodicals. 5 Butler 
street. 

Parker Hill Branch, 7,019 volumes, 34 periodicals. 1518 Tremont 
street. 

RosLiNDALE Branch, 12,880 volumes, 57 periodicals. Washington 
street, corner Cummins Highway. 

RoxBURY Crossing Branch, 5,806 volumes, 46 periodicals. 208 
Ruggles street. 

South Boston Branch, 22,434 volumes, 67 periodicals. 372 West 
Broadway. 

South End Branch, 13,273 volumes, 56 periodicals. 65 West Brookhne 
street, corner Shawmut avenue. 



OVERSEERS OF THE PUBLIC WELFARE. 71 

Tyler Street Branch, 7,047 volumes, 41 periodicals. Tyler, corner 
Oak street. 

Uphams Corner Branch, 15,100 volumes, 60 periodicals. 500 Col- 
umbia road, corner Bird street. 

West End Branch, 22,242 volumes, 72 periodicals. 131 Cambridge 
street, corner Lynde street. 

West Roxbury Branch, 19,963 volumes, 66 periodicals. 1961 Centre 
street. 



MARKET DEPARTMENT. 
Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22 and Chap. 40, §§ 29-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6.] 

Ambrose E. Woods, Superintendent of Markets. Term ends in 1934. 
Peter J. Connolly, Clerk and Deputy Superintendent. 

Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed diu-ing 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market, 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, estabUshed the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. 

The Superintendent of Markets may assign stands within their limits; 
and it is his duty, from time to time, to lease the stalls in the markets at 
rents not less than those estabUshed by the City Council. The market 
police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and under his control. 



OVERSEERS OF THE PUBLIC WELFARE. 

[Formerly Overseers of the Poor.] 
Office, Charity Building, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C.C, Title IV., Chap. 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146.] 

officials. 
Simon E. Hecht, Chairman. 
Walter V. McCarthy, Secretary. 
James P. Maloney, Treasurer. 

overseers.* 
Terms expire May 1, 1931. 
William H. Taylor. Margaret L. Gookin. 

Simon E. Hecht. Vincent Brogna. 

* The Overseers serve without compensation. 



72 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Terms expire May 1, 1932. 

ASAD MUDARRI. EdWARD H. WiLLET. 

Mrs. Eva W. White. Cornelia G. McMahon. 

Terms expire May 1, 1933. 
Morris Bronstein. Sophia M. Friedman. 

Anders T. Tellstrom. James P. Maloney. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
lished in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," consist- 
ing of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The Board 
has issued annual reports since 1865. 

The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trus- 
tees of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street, 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, but exacts work in its woodyard for meals furnished; and 
the Temporary Home on Chardon street for destitute women and children, 
opened in 1870. The total amount of the 18 permanent charitj^ funds in 
the custody of the Overseers on January 1, 1930, was approximately 
$1,035,984.07, the annual income from which (about $37,000) is distri- 
buted to pensioners according to the intentions of the donors of the funds. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 
Offices, 33 Beacon Street. 
(Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C.C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chap. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

commissioners. 
William P. Long. Term ends in 1931. 
John J. Martin.* Term ends in 1932. 
Theodore G. Haffenreffer.* Term ends in 1933. 

officials. 
William P. Long, Chairman. 
Daniel J. Byrne, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 
Charles A. Hogan, Deputy Commissioner. 
Richard J. Hayden, Superintendent of Parks. 
Patrick J. Donoghtje, Superintendent of Cemeteries. 
James E. O'Reilly, Superintendent of Baths. 
John J. Murphy, Chief Engineer. 
Albert L. Edson, Airport Superintendent. 

* Two commissioners serve without compensation. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 73 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875. 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Grounds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 
and Recreation Department. In 1920 the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Dept. 

Parks, Etc., with Location, Area and Year Acquired. 

MAIN PARK SYSTEM. Acres. 

Arborway, Prince St. to Franklin Park, 1892 36.00 

* Arnold Arboretum and Bussey Park, South, Centre and Walter 

sts., 1882, 1895 223.00 

Back Bay Fens, Beacon St. to Brookline ave., 1877 . . . 116.99 

Common, Tremont to Charles and Beacon to Boylston st., 1634. t48.40 

Commonwealth ave., ArUngton st. to Newton hne, 1894-1905 . 112 .70 
Franklin Park (1883-84) and Zoological Garden (1912), Seaver to 

Morton St. and Blue Hill ave. to Forest Hills St. . . , 527.00 

Olmsted Park, Huntington ave. to Prince St., 1890 . . . 180.00 

I Avenue Louis Pasteur, Longwood ave. to the Fenway, 1922, 3 . 19 
Public Garden, Charles to ArUngton and Beacon to Boylston 

St., 1823 24.25 

Riverway, Brookline ave. to Huntington ave., 1890 . . . 40.00 
§ West Roxbury Parkway, from Centre and Walter sts., near 

Arboretum, to Weld St., 1894 75.47 

Total Acres, Main Park System 1,387.00 

MARINE PARK SYSTEM. 

Castle Island (formerly), now joined to mainland and a part of 

Marine Park (land 25.70; flats 78.30), 1890 .... 104.00 

Columbia road ) Franklin Park to Marine Park, City Point, 

Dorchester way ) 1892, 1899 

Marine Park and Aquarium, Farragut road. City Point (land 

52.50; flats 4.90), 1883. (Aquarium, 1912.) . . . 57.40 

Strandway and Columbus Park, Columbia road railroad bridge 

to City Point (land 133.80; flats 131.50), 1890-1901 . . 265.30 



31.20 



Total Acres, Marine Park System 457.90 

* Of this park, only the roads and walks are maintained by the City. 

t This area of the Common is exclusive of the old cemetery on Boylston 
St. side, containing 1.40 acres. 

t Acquired by Ordinance, Chap. 7 of 1922. 

§ The construction and care of that part of the parkway extending from 
Weld st. to Washington st. was transferred to the Metropolitan Park 
Commission by Chap. 270, Acts of 1915. 



74 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MISCELLANEOUS PARKS. Acre&. 

* Irving W. Adams Park, Junction of Washington and South sts., 

RosUndale, 1919 0.78 

Berners Sq., Longwood ave., Bellevue and Plymouth sts., Rox- 

bury, 1901 1.31 

Charlesbank, Charles st., from Cambridge st. to Leverett, 1883 . 10.00 
Charlestown Heights, Bunker Hill and Medford sts. (6.10), Dewey 

Beach (4.30), 1891 10.40 

Chestnut Hill Park, Beacon st, and Commonwealth ave., Brighton, 

1898-1902 55.40 

Copp's Hill terraces, Commercial and Charter sts.. North 

End, 1893 0.60 

*Wilham B. Corbett Park, between Washington and Claybourne 

sts., Dorchester, 1917 0.94 

Dorchester Park, Dorchester ave. and Richmond St., 1891 . . 30.40 
FrankUn Field, Blue Hill and Talbot aves., Dorchester (park 

area), 1892. (See under Playgrounds for larger area) . . 17.00 
Freeport St. (Malloch's) Wharf and grounds, Dorchester (land 

1.15; flats, 2.54), 1912 3.69 

North End Beach, Commercial and Charter sts. (land 3.70; 

flats 3), 1893 6.70 

* Stanley A. Ringer Park, Allston st. and Griggs place, 1916 . 12. 12 
Rogers Park, Lake and Foster sts., Brighton, 1899 . . . 6.90 
Savin Hill Park, Grampian way, Dorchester, 1909 . . . 8.26 
Park, East Cottage, Pleasant and Pond sts., Dorchester, 1921 . 0.22 
Statler Park, Columbus ave., Stuart and Church sts., 1925 . 0.25 
Trinity Triangle, Huntington and St. James aves., 1885 . . 0.12 
World War Memorial Park, (formerly Wood Island), East Boston, 

on eastern waterfront (land 55.60; flats 155.40), 1882, 1891 . 211 . 00 



Total Acres, Miscellaneous Parks 376 . 09 

Playgrounds, with Location, Area and Year Acquired. 

Almont St., Mattapan, 1924 17.81 

WiUiam J. Barry, Chelsea st. and Mystic River, Cha'st'^vn, 1897, 5.27 

Billings Field, La Grange and Bellevue sts., W. Roxbury, 1896 . 10 . 83 
Rev. Fr. Buckley, Bolton and West Third sts.. South Boston, 

1925 0.65 

Brookside ave. and Cornwall St., Jamaica Plain, 1925 . . . 1.32 

Carroll Pond, Carroll St., W. Roxbury, 1921 0.47 

* WiUiam E. Carter, Columbus ave. at Camden St., 1899 . . 5 . 02 

Ceylon and Intervale sts., Dorchester, 1923 4.03 

t Charlesbank, Charles St., 1883 3.50 

Charlestown, Main and Alford sts. (land 14; flats 3.7), 1891 . . 16.84 

* Named for soldier killed in World War. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 75 

Acres. 

t Charlestown Heights, Bunker Hill and Medford sts., 1891 . . 1 . 00 

t Chestnut Hill, Brighton, 1898 4.00 

t Columbus Park, Strandway (15 acres improved) . . . . 79.00 

t Common, Charles st. side 3 . 50 

American Legion, Condor and Glendon sts., East Boston, 1924, 3.38 

* John J. Connolly, Marcella and Highland sts., Roxbury, 1903 . 5 . 10 

* James L. Cronin, Brent st., near Talbot ave., Dorchester, 1899, 2.24 

* Vincent Cutillo, Morton and Stillman sts., North End, 1917 . 0.48 
t Dorchester Park, Dorchester ave. and Richmond St., 1891 . . 5.40 

* John A. Doherty, Dorchester and Geneva aves., 1897 . . 1.47 

* Frederick D. Emmons, Rutherford ave., Charlestown, 1912 . 1 . 07 
William Eustis, Norfolk ave. and Proctor st., Roxbury, 1909 . . 7 . 60 
FactoryHill, Town St., Hyde Park, 1912 5.20 

* Fallon Field, South and Robert sts., Roslindale, 1899 . . . 3 . 87 

t Fens, Back Bay, 1877 5.00 

Franklin Field, Blue Hill and Talbot aves., Dorchester, 1892 . 60.00 

t Franklin Park, 1883-84 . . . . . . . . . 36.00 

* William H. Garvey, Neponset ave., opposite Chickatawbut st,, 

Dorchester, 1896 16.68 

Christopher Gibson, Dorchester and Geneva aves., 1897. . . 4.34 

Paul Gore St., Jamaica Plain, 1913 0.74 

* Wilham Amerena Plaj^ground, Gove, Geneva, Porter and 

Wellington sts., E. B., 1925 4.06 

* James F. Healy, Washington st. and Firth road, Ros., 1902, 9.63 
Jefferson, Heath, Cranford and Floyd sts., Roxbury, 1924 . 7. 51 
Mary Hemenway, Adams and Gustine sts., Dorchester, 1919 . 4.41 

* John F. Holland, Mozart and Bolster sts., Roxbury, 1917 . 1 .07 
Christopher J. Lee, First st. at M st.. South Boston, 1897 . . 5 . 20 

* McConnell Park (formerly Savin Hill), Springdale and Denny 

sts. (land, 9.78; flats, 50.55) 60.33 

* Arthur F. McLean, Saratoga and Bennington sts., E. B., 1917, 0.43 
Mission Hill, Tremont and Smith sts., Roxbury, 1913 and 1915 . 4 . 24 

* John W. Murphy, Carolina ave., Jamaica Plain, 1912 . . . 4.17 

t North End Beach, Commercial St., 1893 3.00 

t Olmsted Park, Jamaicaway, 1890 3 . 00 

John H. L. Noyes, Saratoga and Boardman sts., East Boston 

(land 5.24; flats 3.07), 1909 8.31 

JParis St., East Boston, 1912 1.27 

Francis Parkman, Wachusett St., Forest Hills, 1924 ... 2.06 

Portsmouth St., Brighton, 1912 4.29 

t Prince st.. North Bennet and Prince sts., North End, 1897 . . 0. 40 

Read ville, Bullard, Milton and Regent sts., Hyde Park, 1924 . 5.01 

* Named for soldier killed in World War. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

t Children's playground. 



76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 

* t Stanley A. Ringer, AUston st. and Griggs place, Brighton, 1916, 2 . 00 
A Ripley, Ripley road, near Harvard st., Dorchester, 1913 . . 0.86 
t Rogers Park, Lake and Foster sts., Brighton, 1899 . . . 4.00 
Ronan (formerly Mt. Ida), Bowdoin and Percival sts.. Dor., 1912, 11.65 

* Lester J. Rotch, Albany and Randolph sts.. South End, 1903 . 2 . 80 
Shawmut ave. and Cherry St., South End, 1922 . . . . 0.55 
Smith'sPondjBrainard St., Hyde Park, 1914 14.51 

* William F. Smith, Western ave. and N. Harvard st., Bri., 1894, 14.00 

* t J. M. and J. J. Sullivan, Fellows and Hunneman sts., Rox., 1897, . 85 

* t Matthew J. Sweeney, West Fifth st.. South Boston, 1909 . . 0.41 

Tenean Beach, Neponset, 1915 8.70 

t Tyler St., South End, 1912 0.26 

* George H. Walker, Norfolk st., opp. Evelyn, Mattapan, 1912, 6.21 
t West Third St., corner B St., South Boston, 1909 . . . . 0.28 
t John WinthropjDacia and Danube sts., Dorchester, 1911 . . 1.57 

Webster ave., North End 1925 0.30 

t World War Memorial Park, East Boston, 1891 . . . . 10.00 

Playgroimd, Dunbar ave., Dorchester, 1930 2.46 

Playground, Faneuil St., Brighton, 1930 6.43 

Playgroimd, Foster street, place and court, North End, 1930 . . . 10 

Playground, Byron and Pope sts., East Boston, 1930 ... 1 14 

Playground, Winthrop, Fairland and Moreland sts., Rox., 1930 . 1 .88 

Total area of the 70 Playgroimds (Acres) . . . 1,531 .16 
Area of 13 Playgrounds in Parks (Acres) . . . 159.40 

Area of the 57 Separate Playgrounds (Acres) . . .1,371.76 

The first separate playground acquired by the City was the Charlestown 
Playground, purchased in 1891 for $172,923. With that included, 70 play- 
grounds (57 separate and 13 located in parks) have been established, most 
of them equipped with first-class shelter and sanitary buildings containing 
lockers, also drinking fountains, shower baths, etc. 

Public Grotjnds, Squares, Etc., with Locations and Areas, 
city proper. 

Square Feet. 

Berwick Park, between Columbus ave. and N. Y., N. H. & H. R.R. 3,800 
Blackstone Square, Washington st., between West Brookline and 

West Newton sts 105,100 

City Hall Grounds, School st 7,700 

Columbus Square, Columbus and Warren aves 2,250 

Concord Square, between Tremont st. and Columbus ave. . . 5,000 
Copley Square, between Huntington ave., Boylston and Dart- 
mouth sts 28,399 

* Named for soldier killed in World War. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

t Children's playground. a Acquired by gift. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 



77 



Square Feet 

Fort Hill Square, Oliver and High sts 29,480 

Franklin Square, Washington st., between East Brookline and 

East Newton sts 105,205 

Abraham Lincoln Square (formerly Park Square), Columbus 

ave., Ehot st. and Broadway 2,867 

Massachusetts Ave. Malls, four sections, between Albany st. and 

Columbus ave 106,500 

Rutland Square, between Tremont st. and Columbus ave. . . 7,400 

St. Stephen Square, corner St. Stephen and Batavia sts. . . 100 

Union Park, between Tremont st. and Shawmut ave. . . . 16,000 

Waltham Square, Harrison ave., opposite Union Park st. . . 3,000 

Worcester Square, between Washington st. and Harrison ave. . 16,000 

ROXBURT. 

Bromley Park, Albert to Bickford sts 20,975 

Cedar Square, Cedar st., between Juniper and Thornton sts. . 26,163 

Elm Hill Ave., between Seaver and Schuyler sts. (Tree Area) . 2,650 

Elm Hill Park, off 550 Warren st 6,920 

* Francis G. Hanlon Square, junction of Huntington ave., Tre- 

mont and Francis sts 1,662 

General Heath Square, Old Heath, New Heath and Parker sts. 2,419 

Highland Park, Fort ave. and Beech Glen st 158,421 

Horatio Harris Park, Walnut ave., from Munroe to Townsend st. 110,040 

Alvah Kittredge Park, Highland st. and Highland ave. . . 5,600 

Linwood Park, Centre and Linwood sts 3,625 

Longwood Park, Park and Austin sts 21,000 

Madison Park, Sterling, Marble, Warwick and Westminster sts., 122,191 

Orchard Park, Chadwick, Orchard Park and Yeoman st. . . 104,492 

Public Ground, corner Blue Hill ave. and Seaver st. . . . 2,500 

Warren Square, Warren, St. James and Regent sts. . . . 1,380 

Walnut Park, between Washington st. and Walnut ave. . 5,736 

Washington Park, Dale and Bainbridge sts 396,125 

* Herbert J. Wolf Square, Crawford, Abbotsford and Harold sts. 966 

BRIGHTON. 

Brighton Square, Chestnut Hill ave. and Academy Hill rd. . 25,035 

* Edward M. Cunningham Square, Cambridge, Murdock and 

Sparhawk sts 7,449 

Fern Square, between Franklin and Fern sts 1,900 

Jackson Square, Chestnut Hill ave.. Union and Winship sts. 4,300 

Oak Square, Washington and Faneuil sts 9,796 

Public Ground, Cambridge and Henshaw sts. .... 1,434 



CHARLESTOWN. 

City Square, junction of Main and Park sts. 
Essex Square, Essex and Lyndeboro' sts. . 



8,739 
930 



* Named for soldier killed in World War. 



78 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Hayes Square, Bunker Hill and Vine sts. 

Sullivan Square, Main, Cambridge, Sever and Gardner sts. 

Winthrop Square, Winthrop, Common and Adams sts. 



Square Feet. 

4,484 

. 56,428 

. 38,450 



DORCHESTER. 




* Andrew Henry Square, Adams and Granite sts 
Algonquin Square, Algonquin and Bradlee sts 
Centervale Park, Upland ave. and Bourneside st 

* John F, Donovan Park, Meeting House Hill 
Drohan Square, Edison Green .... 
Eaton Square, Adams and Bowdoin sts. . 

* Francis G. Kane Square, Bowdoin, Winter and Hancock sts. 
Mt. Bowdoin Green, summit of Mt. Bowdoin 
Peabody Square, Ashmont st. and Dorchester ave. 

* Fred C. W. Olson Square, junction of Adams and Codman sts 
Public Ground, Florida st., King to Ashmont (7 sections) 

* Gordon E. Denton Square, Magnolia st 

Public Ground, between Victory Road and Park st. 
Richardson Square, between Pond and Cottage sts. 
Spaulding Square, junction of Freeport st. and Neponset ave 
Tremlett Square, Tremlett st., between Hooper and Waldeck sts 
Wellesley Park, Wellesley Park st 



2,068 
1,728 
9,740 

56,200 

10,241 

13,280 
1,600 

25,170 

1,963 

700 

24,193 

3,605 

450,846 

46,035 
6,263 
7,107 

28,971 



EAST BOSTON. 

Belmont Square, Webster, Sumner, Lamson and Seaver sts. 

Central Square, Meridian and Border sts. 

Maverick Square, Sumner and Maverick sts. . 

Prescott Square, Trenton, Eagle and Prescott sts. 

Putnam Square, Putnam, White and Trenton sts. 

t Boston Airport (256 acres) 



30,000 
40,310 
4,396 
12,284 
11,628 
11,151,360 



HTDE PARK. 

Camp Meigs, Readville 

* Horace Campbell Woodworth Square, Beacon st. and Metro- 

poHtan ave 

* Lieut. Parker B. Jones Square, Milton ave. and Highland st. . 

WilUams Square, Williams ave. and Prospect st 

Greenwood Square, junction of Greenwood st. and Central ave. 
Webster Square, junction of Webster st. and Central ave. 
Wolcott Square, Hyde Park ave., Milton and Prescott sts. . 



Golf Links, West st. 



SOUTH BOSTON. 

Independence Square, Broadway, Second, M and N sts. 
Lincoln Square, Emerson, Fourth and M sts. . 
Thomas Park, Telegraph Hill 



124,500 

220 
220 
700 
220 
220 
220 
6,795,360 



279,218 

9,510 

190,000 



* Named for soldier killed in World War. 
t Leased from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 79 

WEST ROXBURY. Square Feet. 

* Gustav Emmet Square, S. Conway, S. Fairview and Robert sts. 750 

* Cornelius J. Mahoney Square, Centre and Perkins sts. . . 3,200 

Oakview Terrace, off Centre st. 5,287 

Soldiers' Monument Lot, South and Centre sts., Jamaica Plain . 5,870 

Total area of Public Grounds, etc., 3,005,745 square feet, or 69 acres. 

RECAPITULATION. 

Parks and Parkways: Acres. 

Main Park System 1,387.00 

Marine Park System . . .457.90 

Miscellaneous Parks 376 . 09 

Playgrounds (separate) 371.76 

Public Grounds, Squares, etc 224.99 

Airport, East Boston 256.00 

Grand total (acres) 3,073 . 74 

Bridges Located in Parks and Parkways. 

PUBLIC garden. 
Foot-bridge, over pond. 

the fens. 
Agassiz, carrying Agassiz road over the Fens water. 
Boylston, over outlet of the Fens. 

Charlesgate, over Boston & Albany Railroad and Ipswich street 
Commonwealth avenue, over outlet of the Fens. 
Fens, over outlet of Muddy river. 

commonwealth avenue. 
Cottage Farm, over Boston & Albany Railroad. 

riverwat. 
Audubon, over Newton circuit of Boston & Albany Railroad. 
t Bellevue, over Muddy river from Bellevue street. 
Bridle Path, carrying the ride over Muddy river, near Audubon road. 
t Brookline avenue, over Muddy river, 
t Berners street foot-bridge, over Muddy river, 
t Huntington avenue, over outlet of Leverett pond, 
t LoNGWOOD, carrying Longwood avenue over Muddy river. 

OLMSTED PARK. 

Foot-bridges at Leverett pond and over outlets of Willow pond and 
Ward's pond. 

FRANKLIN PARK. 

Ellicott ARCH, Carrying Circuit drive over walk at Ellicottdale. 
Forest Hills, carrying entrance to Franklin Park over traffic road. 
Overlook arch, over entrance to Overlook Shelter. 

* Named for soldier killed in World War. 
t The Park Dept. maintains such parts of these bridges as are within City 
limits. 



80 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ScARBORo', carrying Circuit drive over Scarboro' pond. 

ScABBORo' POND FOOT-BRIDGE, Carrying the walk over Scarboro' pond. 

COLUMBIA ROAD. 

Columbia road, over Old Colony avenue and Plymouth division of New 

York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad. 
Columbia road, over Shoreham street. 

WORLD WAR MEMORIAL PARK. 

Neptune, carrying Neptune rd. over Boston, Revere B. & Lynn R.R. 
Foot-bridge, from Prescott st. over Boston, Revere B. & Lynn R.R. 

Statues Belonging to City, Located in Parks and Public Grounds. 



Name. 


Location. 


Year 
Erected. 


Artist. 


Samuel Adams 


Adams Square 

Back Bay Fens 

Public Garden 


1880 


Anne Whitney. 
Henry H. Kitson. 
Richard E. Brooks. 


Robert Burns 


1919 


Colonel Thomas Cass .... 


1899 


Leif Ericsson 


Commonwealth Ave . . 


1886 


Anne Whitney. 


Edward Everett 


Edward Everett Sq., 
Dorchester 


1867 




William W. Story. 


Admiral David G. Farra- 
gut. 


Marine Park, S. Bos- 
ton. 


1893 


Henry H. Kitson. 


Benjamin Franklin 


City Hall Grounds. . . . 


1856 


Richard S. Greenough. 


William Lloyd Garrison . . 


Commonwealth Ave . . 


1886 


Olin L. Warner. 


General John Glover 


Commonwealth Ave . . 


1875 


Martin Milmore. 


Edward Everett Hale 


Public Garden 


1913 


Bela L. Pratt. 


Alexander Hamilton 


Commonwealth Ave . . 


1865 


William Rimmer. 


Wendell Phillips 


Public Garden 


1915 


Daniel C. French. 


Josiah Quincy 


City Hall Grounds. . . . 


1879 


Thomas Ball. 


Charles Sumner 


Public Garden 

Warren Sq., Roxbury, 


1878 
1904 


Thomas Ball. 


General Joseph Warren. . 


Paul W. Bartlett. 


George Washington * . . . . 


Public Garden 


1869 


Thomas BaU. 


John Winthrop 


First Church Grounds, 


1880 


Richard S. Greenough. 
Daniel G. French. 


Labor Group f 


Frankhn Park 


1930 


Science Group f 


Franklin Park 


1930 


Daniel G. French. 



* Equestrian statue. 
Removed from old Post Office building in Boston to Zoological Garden. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 81 

Monuments and Memorials Belonging to City, Located on Public Grounds 



Name or Designation. 


Location. 


Year 
Erected. 


Artist or Architect. 


Blackstone Memorial 
Tablet 


Boston Common 

Boston Common 

Public Garden 

Commonwealth Ave. . . 

Boston Common 

Telegraph Hill, 

South Boston. . . 

Public Garden 

Boston Common 

Public Garden 

Boston Common 

Abraham Lincoln Sq. . 
Back Bay Park 

Olmsted Park, J. P. . . 

Boston Common 

Boston Common 

[ Boston Common. . . . 

Boston Common 

Winthrop Square 

Meeting House Hill . . . 
Centre and South sts.. . 

Public Garden 

Boston Common 


1914 

1888 
1903 

1908 { 

1925 

1902 
1867 

1917 
1927 
1924 

1879 
1896 

1906 

1912 
1925 

1897 j 

1877 
1872 
1867 
1871 
1924 
1930 


R. Clipston Sturgis. 


Crispus Attucks and Other 
Patriots of 1770 

William EUery Channing, 

Patrick A. Collins Me- 
morial 


Robert Kraus. 
Herbert Adams. 

Henry H. Kitson. 
T. Alice Kitson. 

John F. Paramino. 


Declaration of Independ- 
ence Tablet 


Dorchester Heights (Rev- 
olutionary) 


Peabody & Stearns. 


Ether Memorial 


John Q. A. Ward. 


Curtis GuUd Memorial 


Cram & Ferguson. 


Kosciuszko Tablet 

Lafayette Tablet 

Abraham Lincoln and 
Emancipation 


Mrs. T. A. R. Kitson. 
John F. Paramino. 

Thomas Ball. 


John Boyle O'Reilly 

Francis Parkman Me- 
morial 


Daniel C. French. 
Daniel C. French. 


George F. Parkman Me- 
morial Bandstand 

Football Tablet 


Robinson & Shepard. 


Colonel Robert Gould 
Shaw and 54th Mass. 
Reg. 

Soldiers' and Sailors' 
Monument 


Augustus Saint Gaudens. 
McKim, Mead & White. 

Martin Milmore. 


Soldiers' Monument, 
Charlestown 


Martin Milmore. 


Soldiers' Monument, 
Dorchester 


B. F. Dwight. 


Soldiers' Monument, 
Jamaica Plain 


W. W. Lummis. 


George Robert White Me- 
morial 


Daniel C. French. 


Founding of Boston 
Memorial Tablet 


John F. Paramino. 



82 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Fountains Belonging to Citt, Located on Public Grounds. 
Brewer Fountain, Boston Common; Coppenhagen Memorial Fountain, 
Edward Everett Square; Johnson Memorial Fountain and Gateway, 
entrance to Back Bay Park, Westland Avenue; "Maid of the Mist" 
and three other fountains. Public Garden; one fountain each on 
Blackstone, Franklin, Central, Independence and SuUivan Squares, 
Meeting House Hill, Thomas Park, Madison Park, Union Park and 
Massachusetts Avenue; Lyman Fountain, Eaton Square; Taft 
Memorial Fountain, Chestnut HiU Park. 

Since the City's park development began, in 1877, the total expenditure, 
to the close of 1929, for parks, parkways and playgrounds (exclusive of 
the annual maintenance appropriation) is $29,807,275.32 or $10,878,- 
224.39 for the land and $18,929,050.93 for construction. 

The Arnold Arboretum (the "tree museum" of Harvard University), 
containing originally 122.6 acres, was added with other lands, in 1882, 
to the City's park system, under a special contract with Harvard Uni- 
versity, and in 1895 another tract of 75 acres (Peter's Hill), also belonging 
to the University', was included, the name Bussey Park being added to the 
title. All the land in these tracts (not required for driveways and walks, 
a quarry reservation and traffic road) is used, under the trusts created by 
the wills of Benjamin Bussey and James Arnold, for Harvard's extensive 
collection of specimens of such trees and shrubs as will live in this climate. 
The City maintains the roads and walks, also attends to policing the 
grounds. The Arboretum is open to visitors daily from 7 A. M. until 
sunset. 

The Franklin Park Zoological Garden on the northern side of the park, 
begun in 1911, now occupies about eighty acres. Up to December 31, 1927, 
the amount expended for construction, etc., was $577,078 63. In the sum- 
mer of 1912, the group of bear dens, the aquatic flying cage, etc., were 
finished and put on exhibition, in 1913 the bird house with other attrac- 
tions, in 1914 the elephant house and in 1920 the lion house, were added. 
One of the latest improvements is the "Greeting" or main entrance and 
concourse leading from Blue Hill avenue, with massive stone gateway, 
ornamental fence, etc., completing the original artistic design. 

The Marine Park Aquarium, costing $144,530, was opened to the public 
on November 28, 1912. The entire outlay for both was appropriated 
from the George F. Parkman Fund income. 

GEORGE F. PARKMAN FUND. 

By the will of the late George F. Parkman, various real estate properties 
worth between $5,000,000 and $6,000,000 were left to the City, the income 
therefrom to be expended for the maintenance and improvement of the 
Common and such parks as were in existence January 12, 1887, and no 
part of it to be used for the purchase of additional land for park purposes- 
The bequest was accepted by the City Council, March 9, 1909, since which 
date most of the realty has been sold and the proceeds invested in bonds 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 83 

On December 31, 1928, the principal of the fund in the custody of the City 
Treasurer, amounted to $5,421,074.80. In the fiscal year 1928 the income 
from the fund was $221,031.25. 

Public Baths and Gymnasia, 
main bath houses, open all the year. 

Cabot Street. — 203 Cabot street, Roxbury. Brick building, con- 
taining 35 shower baths, a swimming pool, 75 by 25 feet, and a gymnasium. 
Opened to the public in September, 1905. Total cost of building, $108,690. 

Charlestown. — Corner Bunker Hill and Lexington streets. Brick 
building (old City building remodeled), containing 28 shower baths and 
a gymnasium. Opened to the public in March, 1913. Total cost, $49,000, 
approximately. 

Dover Street. — 249 Dover street. Brick building, containing 30 
shower baths for men and 11 for women, also tub baths. No gymnasium. 
It includes a laundry where all the towels and part of the bathing suits 
used in the department are laundered. Opened to the pubUc in October, 
1898. Total cost (including $14,154 for land), $88,267. 

North Bennet Street. — North End. Brick building, containing 
65 shower baths, 400 lockers and a gymnasium. Opened to the public 
in April, 1909. Total cost (including $36,800 for land), $136,186. 

baths and gymnasia in other city BUILDINGS, OPEN ALL THE YEAR. 

Charlesbank. — Charles street. West End, two houses (i. e., for men 
and women), 12 shower baths in each; outdoor gymnasium. 

Copley School. — Bartlett street, Charlestown, 12 showers for men, 10 
showers for women. 

East Boston Gymnasium.* — 116 Paris street, 74 shower baths. 

Municipal Building. — ■ Corner Columbia road and Bird street, 
Dorchester, 30 shower baths and a swimming pool. 

Municipal Building. — • South street, near Sedgwick street, Jamaica 
Plain, 53 shower baths and a swimming pool, 75 by 24 feet. 

Municipal Building. — Broadway, South Boston, 65 shower baths, 
i. e., 40 for men's section, 23 for women's, and two extension showers for 
boys. 

Municipal Building. — Tyler street, South End, 40 shower baths. 

Municipal Building. — Vine and Dudley streets, Roxbury, 28 shower 
baths for men's section, 28 for women's and 6 in gymnasium. 

Municipal Building. — Shawmut avenue and W. BrookHne street, 
South End, 115 shower baths. 

Municipal Building. — ■ Washington street, near Ashland, Roslindale. 
18 shower baths. 

Municipal Building. — River street, Hyde Park, 40 shower bath;. 

* On the site of the new East Boston Gymnasium was located the nrst 
indoor municipal gymnasium in the United States, so far as known, [t 
was ODened to the nublic in 1897. 



84 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BEACH BATHS. 

Columbus Paek. — South Boston, single house, for men, women and 
children. 

Dewet. — Medford street, Charlestown, single house, for men, women 
and children. 

Freeport Street. — • Dorchester, one house, for men and women. 

K Street. — South Boston, for women. 

L Street.* — South Boston, for men and boys. 

Marine Park. — Dressing closets, lockers and showers, for men and 
women. 

North End Park. — Commercial street, two houses, for men and 
women. A laundry connected with these bath houses launders part of 
the bathing suits used in the department during the summer bathing 
season. 

Savin Hill. — Dorchester, single house, for men, women and children. 

Tenean. — Neponset, single house, for men, women and children. 

World War Memorial Park. — East Boston, two houses, for men and 
women, and one house for boys. 

Cemetery Division. 
When in November, 1920, the Cemetery Department was consolidated 
with the Park Department, the five trustees of the former were superseded 
by the Park Commissioners, who reorganized it as the Cemetery Division 
of the Park Department, thereupon taking charge of Mount Hope 
Cemetery and all the burying grounds owned by the City. Mount Hope 
Cemetery (the largest of all) was bought by the City in 1857 for $35,000 
and additional land has been purchased since. It is bounded by Walk Hill, 
Harvard, Canterbury and Paine streets, Ward 18. The Board of Cemetery 
Trustees was first appointed under the ordinances of December 21, 1857, 
and annual reports have been published since 1859. 

All the cemeteries formerly under control of the said Board but now in 
charge of the Park Department, are as follows, with area: 

Bennington street. East Boston, 157,500 square feet. 

Bunker Hill, Charlestown, 48,202 square feet. 

Central, Boston Common, 60,693 square feet. 

Copp's Hill, Charter and Hull streets, 89,015 square feet. 

Dorchester North, Upham's Corner, 142,587 square feet. 

Dorchester South, Dorchester avenue, 95,462 square feet. 

Eliot, Washington and Eustis streets, 34,830 square feet. 

Evergreen, Commonwealth avenue, Brighton, 604,520 square feet. 

Fairview, Hyde Park, 50 acres. 

Granary, Tremont street, opposite Bromfield street, 82,063 square feet. 

* The L street seaside bath, opened in 1866, was the first municipal bath 
estabhshed in the United States, so far as known. 



PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 85 

Hawes, Emerson street, near L street, 11,232 square feet. 
King's Chapel, Tremont street, near School street, 19,344 square feet. 
Market Street, Market street, Brighton, 18,072 square feet. 
Mount Hope, Walk Hill street, 117 acres and 36,536 square feet. 
Phipps Street, Charlestown, 76,740 square feet. 
Rainsford Island, 43,560 square feet. 

South End, Washington and East Concord streets, 64,570 square feet. 
Walter Street, Walter street, Roshndale, 35,100 square feet. 
Warren, Kearsarge avenue, Roxbury, 54,500 square feet. 
Westerly, Centre street. West Roxbury, 39,450 square feet. 
Total area of the 20 cemeteries, 206 acres. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 
Office 804, 805, 806, 807, City Hall Annex. 
[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 

William G. O'Hare, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
George T. Reid, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department and is also charged with paroUng 
power from Charles Street Jail, according as deemed necessary for its 
proper conduct. 

House of Correction. 
George F. A. Mulcahy, Master. 

This institution dates from 1895, and now includes a group of buildings 
valued at .$1,531,000, the value of the land has been appraised at $605,900, 
a total of $2,136,900. The persons committed there in 1928 numbered 
4,715, all men, who were kept busy at farming or in making shoes, clothes 
and granite edgestones. Number discharged in year, 3,982, average daily 
population, 726. 

The Department Steamboat "Michael J. Perkins" is maintained for 
Deer Island and Long Island transportation service. 



PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office and Printing Plant, 286 Congress street. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 

Willi.-vm J. Casey, Superintendent of Printing. Term ends in 1934; 

The Superintendent of Printing has charge of all the printing, binding 
and stationery for the city departments. He also purchases the postage 
used by the city. 



86 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910 it has been entirely self-supporting, and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance, 
including pay roll, has been met from the revenue. 

The plant is organized and equipped especially for the city's printing 
requirements and consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and 
material. Its value is appraised at approximately $200,000. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 802 City Hall Annex, eighth floor, 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 

Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1] 

John P. Englert, Swperintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends in 

1933. 
Frederick C. Ward, Chief Clerk. 

The office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established 
by ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published 
by the Superintendent since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, 
repair and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 

CITY BUILDINGS IN CHARGE OF THIS DEPARTMENT. 



Building and Location. 



Occupied by, etc. 



Ambulance Station, National st.. So. 
Boston. 

Municipal Building, City sq., Charles- 
town. 

City Building, Norfolk and Washing- 
ton sts.. Dor. 

City Building, Richmond and Washing- 
ton sts., Dor. 

City Hall, School st 



City Hall Annex, Court st. 



East Boston Court House and Police 
Station, Meridian and Paris sts. 



On leased land. 



Charlestown Municipal Court 
and Police Sta., 15th Div. 



Public Library Br. 



Public Library Br., veterans' 
headquarters. 

Mayor's office, City Council 
chamber and City depart- 
ments or divisions of same. 

City Departments. 

Dist. Court and Pohce Sta., 7th 
Div. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 87 

City Buildings in Charge op this Department. — Continued. 



Building and Location. 



Occupied bt, etc. 



Faneuil Hall, Faneuil Hall square . 



Faneuil Hall Market House, N. and S. 
Market sts. 

Jamaica Plain Library, South and Sedg- 
wick sts. 

Municipal Building, Jamaica Plain, 
South St. 

Municipal Building, Dorchester, Colum- 
bia rd. 



Municipal Building, River st., Hyde 
Park. 

Municipal Building, Roslindale, Wash- 
ington St., opposite South. 



Municipal Building, So. Boston, E. 
Broadway. 

Municipal Building, Wd. 3, Oak and 
Tyler sts. 



Municipal Building, Wd. 9, Shawmut 
ave. and W. Brookline st. 



Municipal Building, Wd. 8, Vine and 
Dudley sts. 



Old Chemical Engine House, Eustis st., 
Roxbury. 

Old Ladder House No. 5, Fourth st.. 
So. Boston. 

Old Armory Building, Maverick and 
Bremen streets. 



Old Town Hall, Brighton 

Old Pohce Sta. 7, Meridian street, E. 
Boston. 

Old Health Unit, Blossom street 



Faneuil Hall, Armory of Ancient 
and Honorable Artillery Com- 
pany, market stalls under hall. 

Quincy Hall and Produce Exch. 



Public Library Br. 



Curtis Hall, baby chnic, baths 
and gymnasium. 

Pub. Library Br., wardroom, 
baths and gymnasium, veteran 
organization headquarters. 

Auditorium, wardroom, gym- 
nasium, baby clinic and baths. 

Auditorium, Pub. Library Br., 
wardroom, baby clinic, gym- 
nasium and baths. 

Municipal Court, Pub. Library 
Br., auditorium and baths. 

Pub. Library Br., baths, baby 
clinic, gymnasium and 
wardroom. 

Auditorium, Pub. Library Br., 
gymnasium, baby clinic and 
baths. 

Pub. Library Br., baths, gym- 
nasium, baby clinic and ward- 
room. 

Leased. 



Upper part, Post 32, G. A. R. 

Building condemned. To be 
demolished. 

Baby clinic and G. A.;_R. Post. 

Leased to L. S. W. V. 

Auditorium. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

City Buildings in Charge op this Department. — Concluded. 



Building and Location. 



Occupied by, etc. 



Old Provincial State House, Washington 
and State sts. 

Old Franklin Schoolhouse, 1151 Wash- 
ington St. 

Old Cross St. Schoolhouse, Cross st.. 
Charlestown. 

Old Winthrop Schoolhouse, Bunker Hill 
St., CharlestoviTi. 



Smith Schoolhouse, Joy st 

Elmwood Street Gymnasium 

Old Ward Room on Mather School lot, 

Thomas St. Schoolhouse 



Old Police Sta. 8, Commercial street 

Old Dorchester Court House, Adams 
and Arcadia sts. 



Old Fire House, Church street 

Old Fire House, Chestnut Hill avenue . 



Leased to Bostonian Soc. 



Leased as veteran headquarters. 



Leased to Col. F. B. Bogan 
Camp, No. 14, L. S. W. V. 

Reconstructed, with gymna- 
sium, baths, baby clinic and 
wardroom. 

Leased to Post 134, G. A. R. 

Leased to Roxbury Post,V. F. W. 

Leased to Francis Kane Post, 
A. L. 

Leased to Boston Post 200, 
G. A. R. 

Not in use. 

Part occupied by Police Sta., 
11th Div., Public Library Br. 

Employment bureau; upper part 
leased to Sinclair Post A. L. 

Not in use. 



County Buildings. 



Building and Location. 



Occupied by, etc. 



Court House, Pemberton sq 

Mortuary, Northern Dist.,18 N. Grovest. 

Municipal Court House, Brighton, 
Chestnut Hill ave. and Academy Hill 
Road. 

Roxbury Court House, Roxbury st 

New Courthouse, Dor., Melville ave. 
and Washington st. 

Municipal Court, W. Rox., Morton st., 
Forest Hills. 



County offices and court rooms. 



Municipal Court. 



Municipal Court, South'n Dist., 
veteran organizations. 



Municipal Court, W. Rox. and 
Hyde Park. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 



89 



WARDROOMS IN CITY BUILDINGS, ETC. 



District. 


New 
Wds. 


Buildings. 


Location. 


East Boston 


1 


Old Armory Building 


Maverick St. Build- 
ing condemned. 


Charlestown 


2 


Charlestown Gymnasium 
Building. 


Bunker Hill and Lex- 
ington sts. 


Boston Proper . . . 


3 


Municipal Building 


Oak and Tyler sts. 


South Boston .... 


6 


Municipal Building 


Broadway. 


Roxbury 


8 


Municipal Building 

Municipal Building 


Vine and Dudley sts. 

Shawmut ave., West 
Brookline st. 


Boston Proper. . . 


9 


Dorchester 


13 


Municipal Building 


Columbia road and 
Bird St. 


Jamaica Plain . . . 


11 
19 


Minton Hall* 


Forest Hills sq. 

Washington st. oppo- 
site South. 


RosHndale 


Municipal Building 


Hyde Park 


18 


Municipal Building 


River st. and Cen- 
tral ave. 


Brighton 


22 


Old Town Hall 


Washington st. 







* Hired for 



per year. 



The one building used as an armory is No. 130 Columbus ave., occupied 
by four companies of Cadets, annual rent paid, $4,800. At 11 Beacon 
St., 10th floor, hired for Law Department at annual rent of $14,040, and 
at 274 Boylston st., three rooms for Medical Examiner of Northern Dis- 
trict at $1,800 per year. 

In charge of this department also are the following City scales: North 
scales, Haymarket square. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 
General offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors, City Hall Annex. 
[Ord. 1910, Chap. 9; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 553 and 571; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
312; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1 and 10; Stat. 1912, Chap. 348; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 28; Stat. 1914, Chap. 324; Ord. 1916, Chap. 3; Ord. 1917, 
Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, Chap. 3; Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 1929, Chap. 
16.] 

Joseph A. Rourke, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Bernard C. Kelley, Chief Clerk. 



90 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of PubUc Works, the latter authorized 
to create the necessary divisions of the department according to his judg- 
ment. The following five divisions have been created, viz.. Bridge and 
Ferry, Highway, Sewer, Sanitary and Water, each in charge of a Division 
Engineer. 

The Commissioner of Public Works, who must be a civil engineer of 
recognized standing in his profession, has control over the construction 
of all streets and sewers; the care and management of all bridges used as 
highways; of the ferries owned and operated by the City, and of the street 
lamps maintained by the City; the cleaning, repairing and sprinkling of 
streets and the removal of house offal and refuse; the maintenance and 
operation of all fixtures and appliances held by the City for purposes of 
water supply; and over the granting of permits to open, occupy, obstruct 
and use portions of streets. 

By authority of Chapter 571, Acts of 1910, the Commissioner of Public 
Works charges for permits issued, as per the following revised schedule in 
effect from April 1, 1920: 

1. Openings in streets or sidewalks, 50 cents each. Limited to 100 linear feet on one 
permit. 

2. Emergency permits, Class A (for the above purpose), 50 cents each. 

3. Advertising by man wearing hat and coat lettered (annual permit), So (or $1 per 
month). 

4. Cleaning snow from roofs (occupation of sidewalk and street while so doing), annua) 
permit, $1 each. 

5. Driving cattle through the streets (annual permit to driver), S5. 

6. Erecting and repairing awnings (annual permit), $1 each. 

7. Moving buildings in streets, $5 per day; minimum charge, $10. 

8. Erecting, altering or repairing buildings (occupation of street or sidewalk), 5 cente 
per squarefootpermonthinthe City Proper, bounded onthesouth by and including Berke- 
ley and Dover streets; 3 cents per square foot per month in that part of the City south 
of limits above stated to and including Massachusetts ave.; and 2 cents per square foot 
per month in all other localities. 

9. Painting or minor repairs, SI each. 

10. Feeding horses on streets (annual permit), $1 each. 

11. Placing and removing signs flat on buildings, $1 each, 

12. Projecting signs or lamps from buildings, $1 each. 

13. Raising or lowering safes, machinery, etc., SI each. 

14. Emergency permits. Class B, SI each. 

15. Special permits for periods and rates other than those in the preceding classes 
according to the discretion of the Commissioner. 

Bridge and Ferry Division. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 
John E. Carty, Division Engineer. 
L. B. Reilly, Engineer of Construction. 
J. DE Meulenaer, Designing Engineer. 
Thomas H. Sexton, Supervisor of Bridges. 
John F. Sullivan, Supervisor of Ferries, 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 91 

The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction and main- 
tenance of the greater part of the highway bridges within the Hmits of the 
City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the aboUshment 
of grade crossings, also the special engineering work for other City depart- 
ments. All drawtenders are appointed by and subject to the control of 
the Commissioner of Public Works, 

SUMMARY OF HIGHWAY BRIDGES, ETC. 

I. Number maintained wholly by Boston 65 

II. Number of which Boston maintains the part within its hmits . 6 

III. Number of those whose cost of maintenance is partly paid 

by Boston 46 



IV. Number maintained by railroad corporations : 

1. Boston & Albany .... 

2. Boston & Maine and Boston & Albany 

3. Boston & Maine, Eastern Division . 

4. Boston, Revere Beach & Lynn 

5. • New York, N. H. & H., Midland Div. 

6. New York, N. H. & H., Old Colony Div 

7. New York, N, H. & H., Providence Div. 



4 
1 
1 
1 

12 
1 

16 



V. Number maintained by Metropohtan District Commission, 7 

VI. Number maintained by Transit Department .... 12 

Total number 172 

Municipal Ferries. 

South •[ ^^^^^" Proper. — Head-house, end of Eastern ave. 
( East Boston. — Head-house, end of Lewis st. 

( Boston Proper. — Head-house, end of Battery st. 
I East Boston. — Head-house, end of Border st. 

The following steam ferryboats are in commission: 

Name. When Built. Ttpe. Length. Gross 

Tonnage. 

John H. Sullivan 1912 Propeller. 172 ft. 3 in. 527 

Lieut. Flaherty 1921 « 174" 727 

Ralph J. Palumbo 1921 " 174" 755 

Charles C. Donoghue 1926 " 174" 4" 757 

Daniel A. MacCormack 1926 " 174" 4 " 757 

Note. — For bridges in parks see Park Department. 



92 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



HIGHWAY DIVISION. 

Main Office,. 501 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 
Joshua Atwood, Division Engineer. 
Benjamin F. Bates, Engineer in Charge, Paving Service. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all public streets, the issuing of permits to open, occupy and obstruct 
portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the electric and gas lamps in the 
public streets, alleys, parks and public grounds, and the placing of glass 
street signs and numbers therein, the numbering of buildings and the 
placing of all street signs. 

STREET LAMPS IN USE JANUARY 1, 1931. 



Electric. 



Gab. 



Total. 



Magnetite arc 

Tungsten incandescent . . . 

Single mantle 

Single mantle (fire alarm). 

Totals 



4,199 

8,387 



12,-586 



9,739 
214 

9,953 



4,199 

8,387 

9,739 

214 

22,539 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 



93 





w 




o 




n 


■o 


_l 




o 


o 


lO 




lO 


lO 


LO 




= I 




"3 


CO 




<* 


-D lO 


> 


N 1-1 




M 


X lO 


o 




-1-3 

o 


CO 




■o 


■O CD 




^^ 


'^ 00 




d 


LO t> 


d 




o 




N 


-0 ^ 




53 


-1 TfH 




iCi 


■O tH 


o 
















^ 1—1 






CO 






T3 


^ 






■* t^ 




(N (M 




s 


>* o 


t^ 




^ QJ 


o 




• 


Z> '^ 




• rtH rH 




-1 (M 1 tH 


CO 




cts 




















• 






z g 


o 




: ° ^ 




; o o 


O O 1 (M 


d 




o 




















1 






_: 


J>. 


to CD lO 


OO 00 ^ 


1> CO rJH 


o 




> 


o 


O IM lO 


CO CO CO 


CO lo oi 


P- 




=^ 


o 


o o o 


T-! CO CO 


ci (M CO 


fO 




O 


















1-1 (M 






s 


t^ 


00 r-< CO 


C^ O IM 


O t^ 03 


»o 




c3 


o 


O O C5i 


Tfl CI' TjH 


1> Ci O 


CO 




,_J 


d -^ 00 


't' 00 d 


CD C5 CO 


00 




O 


r— 1 


rH (M rt 


tH CD S 


C^ 1-1 1-1 


'=*< 


XD 


ce 




















CO 




Eh 
O 


S 


















































s 


























&! 


oi 


CO 


00 


• (M 


(N CO Ir^ 


c^ 


• t- 


»o 


tc 




1> 


t^ 


T—H 


l> CO GO 


ra 


!>. 


CO 


5 




o 


o 


: '^ 


O IM ^ 


(N 


• CO 




>H 


G 
























n 


O 
























^ 


o 
























'— 1 


























£2 


























03 
1—1 




iD 


TfH T 


tl c^ 


00 


• t^ 






'. ,_, 


1—1 




'^ 


o c 


12 ^ 


C<l 


o 






o 


CO 


1— 1 


'C 


o 


o c 


D o 


o 


; ^ 






<M 


o 


>< 


m 
























« 


























< 


























1= 




o 


t^ c 


:> CO 


rtn ^ 


^ ^H 


; 


D Ci 


D 1> 


CO 


iz; 


1— I 


o 


-1 c^ 


o c 


5 ^ 


1- 




H O 


T— 1 


'-J 


o 


o c 


D O 


o c 


:J d 


- 


6 C 


D 1-1 


d 


aT 


^ pS 
























H 


























13 




Ci 


o ^ 


H O 


CD C 


^ 00 


~ 


H CY 


3 Ci 


00 


ID 

o 


1^ 


(M 
fO 


d c 




CO c 

d c 


:> CO 


c 


H r- 

:3 c: 


3 d 


o 


H 


























H 


























04 


OJ . 


o 


00 b 


CO 


o ^ 


H CO 


r- 


H y 


D C5 


(M 


(4 




"O- 


Tt< ^ 


^ CO 


t^ C£ 


? !-< 


a 


^ c 


5 lO 


03"" 


u 


CO 


d « 


i d 


-* c 


5 d 


c 


3 C 


5 d 


rl< 


■< 
o 


o« 


CO 


1— i 


I— i 


1—1 


1—1 






Oi 




























OS 


-^ o 


IC 


o c^ 


1 o 


IM C^ 


1 lO 


n 


H C£ 


5 IQ 


CO 


13 


-3 ■*^ 


00 


CO c 


5 CO 


00 ir 


5 i-f 




H If 


? oy 




-^i ?1 


00 


1-H ^ 


^ C^ 


r-i C 


5 CO 


ir 


: c^ 


1 t^ 


lO 


^ 












1—1 C^ 


) c^ 






a> 






CO ^ 


t^ 


CD ac 


) t^ 


OS c«- 


o 


C 


> ir- 


> ■<* 


CO 




c^ 


^ 


cr 


CO 


CO a 


) (M 


C£ 


) 1- 


j> 


CO 




S-Q 


























^ c 


l^ 


c 


c: 


lO 


oc 


Tt 


d 


s<: 


c 


Tli 


■* 




Oi^ 


(M 












" 






03 
















c 






> 




















« 


•J, 


r- 


c 


o 
























H 
33 

Q 


0. 

c 
> 

5 




c 

03 


c 

C 

W 

od 


c 
o 




> 


^ o 


;- 

CL 

Q, 

c 
c 
Q 




c 


-is 

T3 
> 


e1 









94 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

SANITARY DIVISION. 

Main Office, 510 City Hall Annex. 

Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
Peter F, Gerrity, Supervisor. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the cleaning and oiling of streets, 
also the removal of house offal and refuse in the various districts of the 
City. 

Total expenditure for year 1930, $3,213,084.28 for collection and dis- 
posal of the City's waste materials and the cleaning, oiling and flushing 
of streets. 

REMOVAL OF STORE REFUSE. 

The removal of refuse from shops, stores and warehouses, involving 
much extra labor, is attended to by the Sanitary Division and charged for 
at 15 cents a barrel or bundle (not larger than a flour barrel). No re- 
movals are made except on dehvery of tickets obtainable at 504 City Hall 
Annex. 

SEWER DIVISION. 

Main Office, 701 City HaU Annex. 
Thomas F. Bowes, Division Engineer. 
George W. Dakin, Carl S. Drake, William A. Johnson, District 

Engineers. 
William V. P. Hoar, Offi,ce Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all sewerage works, pumping stations, investigation of complaints, the 
granting of permits for sewer construction, and rebuilding or repairing of 
old house drains, the preparation of plans for the assessment of the cost 
of sewer construction, and the examination of plans and approval of 
underground locations for public ser"v ice and other corporations. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority : 

Revised Ordinances of 1925, chapters 27 and 39. 

Acts of 1897, chapter 426, as amended by Acts of 1899, chap. 450, 
and Acts of 1903, chap. 268. 

Acts of 1903, chap. 383, as amended by Acts of 1907, chap. 464. 

Acts of 1907, chap. 550. 

Acts of 1908, chaps. 204 and 514. 

Special Acts of 1918, chap. 74. 

Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by 
the PubHc Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners, 
who aLso award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction. 
Plans from which areas to be assessed are determined are furnished by 
the Sewer Division. The assessment upon an estate for a new sewer is 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 95 

limited to $4.00 per linear foot, and it is a lien upon the property. An 
Act of the Legislature prohibits the assessment in similar cases of the 
cost of surface drains. 

In the calendar year 1930, there were built by contractors, day labor and 
private parties, 28.774 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and 
591 catch-basins, making on Jan. 1, 1931, a total of 1,127.91 miles of 
common and intercepting sewers and 19,519 catch-basins in charge of the 
Sewer Division. 

The Boston Main Drainage Works, a comprehensive system of sewage 
disposal works, were authorized under chapter 136 of the Acts of 1876. 
The works comprise 24.12 miles of main and intercepting sewers, located 
generally along tidal margins of the City and lying mainly below the 
level of low tide, a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, where sewage 
is hfted about 35 feet through force mains into twin deposit sewers, in 
which heavy matter settles before the sewage reaches a tunnel crossing 
under Dorchester Bay, and an outfall sewer and storage reservoirs at 
Moon Island, where the sewage is stored until its discharge into the harbor 
on the outgoing tide. These works have been in operation since 1884. 

The common sewer system has three electrically operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany sts. was built 
in 1915 to reheve floodings in the South End District of Boston by pumping 
and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. The 
station at Summer st., opposite E st., was built in 1913, to take care of 
the sewage temporarily from the Commonwealth Pier district. The 
ejector station at Milton st. was built in 1914 to serve temporarily a small 
district, too low to flow by gravity into the present system. 

In 1889, as provided by chapter 439 of the Acts, the Metropohtan 
Sewerage Commission of three members undertook the construction of 
the North Metropohtan and Charles River Systems of trunk and inter- 
cepting sewers, the former system to discharge into the sea at Deer Island, 
and the latter temporarily through the Main Drainage System of the City 
of Boston, oiitletting at Moon Island. The City of Boston had already 
constructed pumping works and a trunk sewer from Huntington ave. and 
Gainsborough st. to Moon Island. The Charles River System with its 8.10 
miles of sewers was completed and put into operation in 1892, the 
State paying the City for pumping and discharging the sewage received 
from the territory west of Huntington ave. The North Metropohtan 
System, with four pumping plants and 41 miles of sewers, went in 
operation in 1896. A third system, the Neponset Vallej^ with a total 
length of 11.3 miles, also draining temporarily into the Boston Main 
Drainage System, was completed in 1898. In 1900 the high level sewer 
was completed and into its 17 miles of tunnel, extencUng from Roxbiu-y 
to Quincy, thence to outlets off Nut Island, nearly all the sewage of the 
Charles and Neponset River Systems and the City of Quincy was diverted. 
Certain high areas in Dorchester, Roxbury and West Roxbury are also 
tributary to this system, which is now called the South Metropohtan 
Sewerage System. 



96 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The North Metropohtan Sewerage System has a contributary area of 
100.32 square miles from 18 cities and towns and a total of 73.064 miles 
of sewer. The portions in Boston, namely, Deer Island, East Boston and 
Charlestown, contain 3.45 square miles of drainage area and 10.41 miles 
of Metropolitan sewer. 

The South Metropolitan Sewerage System has a contributary area of 
201.47 square miles from 14 cities and towns and a total of 55.552 miles 
of sewer. The portions in Boston, namely. Back Bay, Brighton, Dor- 
chester, Hyde Park, Roxbury and West Roxbury, contain 24.96 square 
miles of drainage area and 24. miles of Metropolitan sewer . 

Tributary to the two Metropohtan Systems there are 1,876 miles of 
local sewers contributing sewage from 32 cities and towns. 



WATER DIVISION. 
Main Office, 607 City Hall Annex. 
Christopher J. Carven, Division Engineer. 

Jajies A. McMxjRRY, Engineer in Charge, Income and Meter Branch. 
George H. Finneran, Superintendent, Distribution Branch. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and mainte- 
nance of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purposes of the 
City's water supply, also the assessing of water rates and issuing of the 
bills therefor. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1930, was 951.34 miles; number of services actually in use, 99,891, all 
metered; number of public fire hydrants, 11,361, December 31, 1930. 

The first water document pubHshed by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports on the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 
reports. By chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 
Water Income Department and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single commissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the Metropohtan Water Board, took possession, 
in 1898, of all of that part of the Boston water system lying westward of 
Chestnut Hill Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent 
lands. The sum paid to the City was $12,531,000. Pajmaents to the 
State by the City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 
1898. Total quantity of water in the ten storage reservoirs of the Metro- 
pohtan system on January 1, 1931, 18,994,800,000 gallons, of which 70 
per cent (13,260,000,000 gallons), was in the Wachusett Reservoir in Chn- 
ton, 32 miles west of Boston, an artificial lake 4,135 acres in surface area 
and added to the system in 1905. There are also twelve distribution 
reservoirs with capacity of 2,400,680,000 gallons, five pumping stations 
being connected with these, in which stations 29,514,000,000 gallons of 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 97 

water were pumped during the year 1929. In the existing Metropohtan 
Water District are ten cities, besides Boston, and ten towns. Boston 
takes about 70 per cent of the entire water supply of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1930 was 92,286,000 
gallons, or 118 gallons per capita. 

HIGH PRESSURE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
PubMc Works was authorized to install an eflScient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work completed, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 
17.8 miles of pipe with 451 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation 
of system to Dec. 31, 1930, was $2,166,212.23. Two pumping stations 
are now in use. 



REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 34; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 28; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 29; Ord. 1924, Chap. 1; Ord. 1924, 
Chap. 1.] 

James J. Mulvey, City Registrar. Term ends in 1934. 
Charles H. Mackie, Assistant Registrar. 
Margaret M. Foley, Assistant Registrar. 
The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
and issues certificates of all intentions of marriage. Annual reports have 
been pubUshed since 1849, except in 1860 and 1861. 

By Ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (established July 6, 
1875) were abolished, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, includ- 
ing the pubhcation of documents relating to the early history of Boston, 
were transferred to the City Registrar. 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall. 

[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 

Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 

Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 

324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 

Chaps. 2 and 30.] 

Officials. 

Frederic J. Crosby, Chairman. 
Rupert S. Carven, Secretary. 
Edmund L. Dolan, Treasurer. 



98 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



COMMISSIONERS. 

Guy W. Cox, Frederic J. Crosby. Terms end in 1931. 
Eugene M. McSweeney, Samuel Kalesky. Terms end in 1932. 
Michael H. Corcoran, William Spottiswoode. Terms end in 
1933. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 
Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further establishing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loana 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an officer, director or agent. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 60 City HaU, fifth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3 
and 31.] 

John J. Lydon, Soldiers' Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Frederick W. Watkeys, M. D., Deputy Commissioner. 

The Soldiers' ReHef Department was created as a department of the 
City of Boston by Chapter 441 of the Acts of 1897, and is under the charge 
of a commissioner appointed by the Mayor. He exercises all powers and 
duties for the distribution of State and City aid to soldiers in the City 
of Boston, such as were formerly vested in the Mayor and Board of 
Aldermen. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT, 

Office, 76 City Hall, seventh floor. 
[Ord. 1897, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps, 6 and 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4.] 

officials. 
James P. Balfe, Chairman. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Secretary. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 99 



TRUSTEES. 

Frederic W. Rugg, Term ends in 1930. 
James P. Balfe. Term ends in 1931. 
Edward G. Graves. Term ends in 1932. 
Daniel T. O'Connell. Term ends in 1933. 
Robert Dysart. Term ends in 1934. 

This department, established in 1837, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to collect, compile, and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston and such other statistics, for purposes of 
comparison, as they may deem of public importance, as well as to provide 
information to the Mayor, City Council, municipal departments, and the 
public on request. 

The Municipal Register has been compiled and edited annually by the 
department since 1898. Boston Statistics, including memorable sites and 
buildings in Boston, a pocket size compendium of detailed information 
and statistics, has been issued annually with a wide distribution since 1915. 
Much of this material is incorporated in " Organization of the City Govern- 
ment," an annual City Council Manual. The Boston Year Book, a 
much more ambitious and comprehensive work of approximately 500 
pages, which elicited national approval as the first of its kind in the United 
States, was issued in 1924 and 1925. 

City Record. 
Office, 73 City Hall, seventh floor. " 
[Ord. 1898. Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, Sect. 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 
486, Sect. 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, Sect. 2^ Ord. 1922, 
Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, Sect. 2.] 

officials. 
Frank H. Ctjshman, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Jr., Associate Editor. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Business Agent. 

In accordance with the amended City Charter of 1909, the official 
weekly chronicle of Boston municipal affairs, with the title. City Record, 
was re-established in that year, after a lapse of nine years. It was issued 
originally in 1898 under the management of the Statistics Department. 

The publication is now issued under the direction of the Mayor, who 
appoints the Editor and Associate Editor, while the business management 
is in charge of the Secretary of the Statistics Department. 

* The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
by him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 



100 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, 401 City HaU Annex, fourth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 
449, § 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 
1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 
403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 519; C. C. Chap. 51; Stat. 1909; 
Chaps. 209, 486, §§ 28, 31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 338, 339, 371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 
432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176 and Spec. 
Stat., Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, 
Chap. 155; Spec. Stat, 1919, Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 
465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191, 407; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 1923, 
Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 399.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Thomas J. Hurley, Chairman. 
Joseph F. Sullivan, Secretary. 

BOARD OP STREET COMMISSIONERS. 

Charles F. Bogan. Term ends in 1932. 
Thomas J. Hurley. Term ends in 1933. 
John J. O'Callaghan. Term ends in 1934. 

engineering division. 
William J. Sullivan, Chief Engineer. 
Arthur N. Colman, Assistant Chief Engineer. 

A member of the Board of Street Commissioners is appointed each 
year by the Mayor to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has power to lay out, relocate, alter or discontinue 
highways in the City, to order specific repairs, also, with the approval of 
the Mayor, the construction of sewers and to take for the City lands for 
all municipal purposes. It levies the betterment assessments on estates 
benefited by the construction of new sewers and new or improved high- 
ways, also awards damages for takings of land, and grants to landowners 
permission to open private streets. In 1895 the duties of the Board of 
Survey were transferred to the Street Commissioners; in 1907 they were 
charged with the licensing of street stands for the sale of merchandise, 
in 1908 with the regulation of street traffic, in 1913 -mih. the authority to 
grant or withhold permits for the erection of automobile garages, and 
in 1930 with the issuance of licenses for conducting or maintaining open-air 
parking spaces. The fees for these permits are: For erecting a public 
garage, $100; for a business garage for trucks, $100; repair shop, isolated, 
$5.00; unit group, $1.00 each unit; private garage for one or two cars, 
$1.00, and if in excess of two cars, $1.00 more for each such excess. There 
is no annual garage fee. 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 101 

By the Amended City Charter of 1909 the jurisdiction previously 
exercised by the Board of Aldermen is vested in the Street Commissioners, 
with the written approval of the Mayor, as to the naming of streets, as 
to trees in the streets, as to permits or Hcenses for special use of same, 
including the construction of coal holes, vaults, bay windows and mar- 
quees, in, under, or over the streets, also for the location of conduits, poles 
and posts, and the storage of inflammables and'explosives. They collect 
the original license of $1.00 for selling and keeping gasoline. Renewals of 
fees collected by Fire Department. 

As authorized by Chapter 680, Acts of 1913, the Street Commissioners 
issued on April 9, 1914, their "Rules and Regulations Relating to Projec- 
tions on or over Public Highways." These rules were amended in 1915, 
as authorized by Chapter 176, General Acts of that year, the changes 
taking effect July 20. The penalty for disregard of said rules is a fine not 
exceeding five dollars for each day of negligence after five days' notice. 

Fees for permits and each annual renewal thereof are fixed as follows : 

Illuminated signs $1 00 

Two-foot projecting signs (not illuminated) 50 

Lettering on awnings, each 25 

Lamps, unlettered 25 

Marquees or awnings 1 00 

Lettering or signs on marquees, each 1 00 

Hoisting devices 1 00 

Clocks 1 00 

Lettering in sidewalks 1 00 

Other structures 1 00 

Signs projecting 6 inches or less No fee 

Awnings above the first story, not used for advertising purposes .... No fee 

Fees for open-air parking spaces: 

Classification on Capacity. Fee Per Year. 

Class A (from 1 to 5 cars) . . SIO 00 

Class B (from 5 to 10 cars) 20 00 

Class C (from 10 to 25 cars) 30 00 

Class D (from 25 to 50 cars) 40 00 

Class E (from 50 to 75 cars) 50 00 

Class F (from 75 to 100 cars) 75 00 

Class G (from 100 to 200 cars) 100 00 

Class H (from 200 to 500 cars) 250 00 

Above fees are for stations running all the year. 

Class X $100 00 

Above fee for stations operating not more than six months in any year. 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 801 City Hall Annex, eighth floor. 

[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 

Philip A. Chapman, Superintendent. Term ends in 1934. 

Charles E. Thornton, Chief Clerk. 

The Supply Department purchases all materials, apparatus and other 
supplies except printing and stationery for all departments of the City 



102 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department, Library Department and the Transit Department. 



TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1 Beacon Street, seventh floor. 

[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297, 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Ord. 1931, Chap. 1.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Chairman. Term ends in 1934. 
Nathan A. Heller. Term ends in 1932. 
Arthur B. Corbett. Term ends in 1933. 

This department was established to exercise the powers and perform the 
duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose official 
existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; Ord. 
1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7.] 

Edmund L. Dolan, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1934. 

Horton G. Ide, Cashier and Acting Treasurer in the absence of the 
Treasurer. 

Walter W. Foley, Assistant Cashier. 
Arthur F. Swan, Assistant Cashier. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of 
the City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge 
by any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, 
and pays all bills and demands against the City. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer and Treasurer of the 
Sinking Funds Dept. He publishes reports yearly, also monthly statements. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 103 

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 
OflBce, 106 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 98, §§ 34-55; Stat. 1882, Chap. 42; Rev. Ord. 1898 
Chap. 43; Stat. 1909, Chap. 382; Stat. 1910, Chap. 209; Stat. 1913 
Chap. 503; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 346, 379, 452; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 37 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 253; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 120; Gen. Stat 
1919, Chaps. 91, 128; Ord. 1919, Chap. 1; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 259, 369 
Ord. 1923, Chap. 4.] 

James A. Sweeney, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 
John J. Martin, Chief Deputy. 

Deputy Sealers. — Charles E. Walsh, Louis Hertgen, Benjamin 
Lebowitz, Thomas A. Kelley, John A. Gargan, William 
D. Fay, Martin J. Tr avers, Edward J. McManus, Francis A. 
Trayers, Lawrence J. Lewis, Thomas J. Duffley, Edward J. 
Keeler, Joseph F. Coughlin, William P. J. Delaney. Philip 
F. Leonard, Mechanician. Robert E. Sexton, Coal Inspector. 

This department is in charge of the Sealer. 

The standards in use are supphed by the Commonwealth and a stand- 
ardization is made every five years by the Division of Standards, Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts. The office was authorized by ordinance 
in 1890. Annual reports have been published beginning in 1864. By 
Chapter 382, Acts of 1909, all principal and assistant sealers are included 
within the classified civil service. 

In 1631, through an order of Court of Assistants, held at Boston, every 
plantation within the limits of the Patent was required to have weights 
and measures compared and sealed with those in possession of the governor. 

In 1635 James Pen, Sheriff, was appointed to test and seal weights and 
measures in general use. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments. 



(105) 



106 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICERS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officers, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected as prescribed by statute, 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, the term of office, 
of each officer. 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 














By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. Length. 


Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three) . . 


Statute 


*** 


Annually 
one. 




3yrs. 


Boston and Cambridge 
Bridges Commiss'n (two). 


(( 


Mayor. . . 
















Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 


(( 


Governor a 


Annually 
one. 




5 yrs. 


Boston Port Authority (five), 
Franklin Foundation 


li 


**** 






5 " 


ti 


Supreme 
Court. 


B 






(twelve Managers). 






Licensing Board (three) .... 


ti 


Governor a 


Biennally 
one. 




6 yrs. 


Loan Assoc'n, Working- 
men's, one Director. 


u 


Mayor. . . 


Annually. . 


3d Thu. 
in Apr. 


1 yr. 


Loan Comp'y, Chattel, 
one Director. 


« 


« 


a 




1 « 








Loan Comp'y, Collateral, 
one Director. 


<( 


u 


a 


3d Wed. 
in Dec. 


1 " 



A With the advice and consent of the Executive Council. 

B As vacancies occur. 

*** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Committee and board 
members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 35L) 

**** Three members appointed by the Mayor and two appointed by the 
Governor. 



VARIOUS OFFICERS. 



107 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Teem. 
















By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Old South Assoc'n (three 
Managers). 


Statute. 


City Coun- 
cil. 


Annually. 


When 
elected. 


lyr. 


Medical Examiners (two) . . . 
Police Commissioner 


« 


Governor 






7 yrs. 
5 " 


ii 


ii 




1st Mon. 
in June 










School Committee (five) . . . 


u 


Elected. . . 


City elec- 
tion .... 


IstMon. 
in Jan'y 


4 " 


Undertakers 




Health 
Dept. 

Mayor. . . . 


Annually. 


May 1.. 

" 1 


1 vr. 


Officers Paid by Fees:* 
Constables 


1 " 


Fence-viewersf 


a 


(f 


a 


" 1 


1 K 


Inspectors of hay and straw, 
lime, petroleum, etc. 


a 


11 


u 


" 1 


1 " 


Gaugers of hquid measures, 


a 


li 


a 


" 1 


1 " 


Measurers of grain, upper 
leather, wool and bark. 


(I 


" .... 


ii 


" 1 


1 " 


Superintendents of hay 
scales. 


a 


u 


a 


" 1 


1 « 


Weighers of boilers and 
heavy machinery, coal. 


u 


u 


a 


u 1 


1 U 



* Confirmed by City Council. 

t Two inspectors in the Building Dept. act as Fence- viewers. 



108 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICERS, DEPARTMENTS, COMMIS- 
SIONS, COURTS, ETC. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGE COMMISSION, 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chaps. 300, 302; Stat. 1898, Chap. 467, § 14; Ord. 1906, 
Chap. 1; C. C, Chap. 35, §§ 2, 4 and 5; Stat. 1912, Chap. 92; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 497.] 

Joseph A. Rotjrke, Commissioner for Boston. 
William R. McMenimen, Commissioner for Cambridge^ 
John J. O'Neil, Secretary. 
This Commission was established in 1870, to have charge of the mainte- 
nance of the West Boston, Canal or Craigie's, and the Prison Point bridges. 
In 1892 the Harvard bridge was placed in their charge. The powers of 
the Commission were greatly enlarged in 1898 when all bridges and draws 
between the two cities were placed in their charge. The expense of 
maintenance is borne equally by the City of Boston and the City of Cam- 
bridge. The two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayors of Boston 
and Cambridge respectively. The Commissioner for Boston, who serves 
without pay, is the Commissioner of Public Works. 

BRIDGES IN charge OF THE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Anderson Bridge, from Brighton to Cambridge. 

Longfellow, from Boston to Cambridge. 

Cambridge street-River street, from Brighton to Cambridge. 

Prison Pcrijit, from Charlestown to Cambridge. 

Western avenue, from Brighton to Cambridge. 

Cottage Farm Bridge, from Boston to Cambridge. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 

Board of Commissioners of School Buildings. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 

[Acts of 1929, Chap. 351.] 

Richard J. L.^^e, Chairman, appointed by School Committee. Term 

ends Dec. 1, 1931. 

James T. Mortarty, appointed by Mayor. Term ends Dec. 1, 1932. 

Stephen W. Sleeper, choice of other two. Term ends Dec. 1, 1933. 

Louis K. 'Rottrk'e, Superintendent of Construction. 

* All the bridges in this list are over navigable waters. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 109 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled "An Act to establish a 
board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston" be accepted? there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act the board "shall consist of three citizens 
of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act the Department of School Buildings 
is established, to be under the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse commissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 

Office, 24 School Street. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap. 

489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369; Stat. 1925.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frank A. Goodwin, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cijnniff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Frank A. Goodwin. Term ends in 1934. 
William T. Keough. Term ends in 1930. 
CouRTENAY GuiLD. Term ends in 1932. 
Joseph A. Sheehan. Term ends in 1933. 

The Finance Commission is constituted under the Amended Charter of 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
The chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accounts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 



110 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Council, the Governor 
or the General Court. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the vaUdity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by them. 



BOSTON PORT AUTHORITY. 

Office, Custom House, 16th floor. 

[Chap. 229, Acts 1929.] 

The Boston Port Authority is an unpaid board consisting of two persons 

appointed by the Governor and three persons appointed by the Mayor 

of the City of Boston for a term of five years each. 

The board shall, from time to time, investigate any and all matters 
relating to the Port of Boston, particularly with reference to the unifica- 
tion of overseas terminals, belt line connections, rates, rules, grain ele- 
vator and warehouse facilities, and other conditions affecting the Port, 
and may initiate or participate in any rate proceedings or investigations 
concerning the Port of Boston, 

APPOINTED BY THE MAYOR. 

Loxjis E. KiRSTEiN, Chairman. Term ends in 1935. 
Thomas J. A. Johnson. Term ends in 1935. 
Frank S. Davis. Term ends in 1935. 

appointed by the governor. 
Richard Parkhurst, Vice Chairman and Secretary. Term ends in 1935. 
Charles E. Ware, Jr. Term ends in 1935. 

executive secretary. 
George P. Tilton. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 
County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
Council of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Rupert S. Car\'en. 
County Treasurer. — Edmund L. Dolan. 

district attorney. 
Room 218, Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, sec. 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. Ill 

District Attorney.— William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1926 

for term of four years ending January, 1931. 
Assistant. — Frederick M.J. Sheenan. 
Assistant. — Frank J. Hickey. 
Assistant. — Daniel J. Gillen. 
Assistant. — Frederick T. Doyle. 
Assistant. — William M. Gaddis. 
Assistant. — Joseph Sullivan. 
Assistant. — David Lasker. 
Assistant. — William J. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — William J. McDonough. 
Assistant. — Joseph A. Scolponeti. 
Assistant. — • John J. Murphy. 

LAND COtTRT. 

Room 408, Court House. 
Judge. — ■ Charles Thornton Davis. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Joseph J. Corbett. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Clarence C. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder.— Charles A. Southworth. Appointed by the Governor for 
term of five years ending in 1928. 

INDEX COMMISSIONERS. 

Commissioners. — Ralph W. E. Hopper, term ends in 1933. Edward W. 
Bancroft, term ends in 1931. Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 1932. 
Clerk.— William J. Kurth. 

Appointed in March, one each year, by a majority of the Justices of 
the Superior Court for a term of three years beginning April 1, and serve 
without pay. 

REGISTER OF DEEDS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452; Stat. 

1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 
Register of Deeds.— W. T. A. Fitzgerald. Elected by the people in 1928. 

Term ends in January, 1935. The Register is ex officio Assistant 

Recorder of the Land Court. 
First Assistant Register. — John J. Attridge. Appointed by the Register. 
Second Assistant Register. — John W. Johnson. Appointed by the Register. 

SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 
Sheriff.— John A. Keliher. Elected by the people, November 9, 1926. 
Term ends in January, 1933. As Jailer he receives additional 
compensation. 



112 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Deputy Sherifs for Service of Writs. — Daniel A. Whelton (Special Sheriff), 
Henry G. Gallagher, Richard F. Sweeney, John J. Horgan, John J. 
Casey, James P. Keliher, Thomas J. Wilson, Thomas F. Donovan. 
Paid by fees. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Court Duty. — WilHam J. Leonard, Chief Deputy Sheriff, 
WiUiam T. McDermott, WilUam A. McDevitt, Richard J. Murray, 
Oscar L. Strout, Andrew J. Crotty, Frank C. Pierce, Eugene Lake- 
marsin, John A. Finley, John F. Glynn, Thomas F. Lally, James 
Hahburton, Patrick Daley, WilUam J. Grimes, John Murray. 
All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 

Boston, unless otherwise specified. 



COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

OflSces in Court House, Pemberton square, except as otherwise specified. 
SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Arthur P. Rugg. 

Associate Justices. — Fred T. Field, John C. Crosby, Edward P. Pierce, 

James B. CarroU, WilUam C. Wait, George A. Sanderson. 
Clerk for the Commonwealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 

Court. 
Clerh for the County of Suffolk. — John F. Cronin. Elected by the people 

in 1928. Term ends in January, 1935. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Flynn, Joseph Riley. 
Reporter of Decisions.— Ethelbert V. GrabiU. Appointed by Governor. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Walter Perley Hall. 

Associate Justices. — Marcus Morton, John D. McLaughlin, Patrick 
M. Keating, James H. Sisk, Webster Thayer, Franklin T. Hammond, 
Nelson P. Brown, Louis S. Cox, Frederick W. Fosdick, Elias B. Bishop, 
Henry T. Lummus, William A. Burns, Stanley E. Qua, Alonzo R. Weed, 
Frederick J. McLeod, Joseph Walsh, Winfred H. Whiting, Edward T. 
Broadhurst, Frederic B. Greenhalge, Charles H. Donahue, Wilford D. 
Gray, David F. Dillon, Harold P. Williams, Walter L. Collins, Daniel 
T. O'Connell, Thomas J. Hammond, John M. Gibbs, Raoul H. Beaudreau, 
Edward F. Hanify, Abraham E. Pinanski, James 0. DonneUy. 

FOR CIVIL BUSINESS. 

CZer A;.— Francis A. Campbell. Elected by the people in 1928. Term 
ends in January, 1935. 

Assista7it Clerk in Equity. — James F. McDermott. 

Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, George E. Kimball, 
Flourence J. Mahoney, Charles J. Hart, Francis P. Ewing, Frank 
H. HaUett, Michael E. Leen, Albert E. Macdonald, D. Pulsifer 
ColviUe, George A. Scheele, Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. Curtice, 
Michael F. Hart. 



COURT OFFICERS, ETC. 113 

FOR CRIMINAL BUSINESS. 

Clerk. — John R. Campbell. Elected by the people in 1928. Term ends 

in January, 1935. 
First Assistant Clerk. — JuHan Seriack. 
Assistant Clerks. — William M. Prendible, John H. Casey, Edward V. 

Keating, Leonard W. McClay. 

COURT OF PROBATE AND INSOLVENCY. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 
Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 

Judge. — WilUam M. Prest. 

Judge. — Arthur W. Dolan. 

Register. — Arthur W. SulMvan. 

First Assistant Register. — John R. Nichols. 

Second Assistant Register.— Clara L. Power. 

Third Assistant Register. — Frederick J. Finnegan. 

The Judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 
three other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 
Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 
716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 262, 330; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553, 
614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 

Chief Justice. — Wilfred Bolster. 

Associate Justices. — Michael J. Murray, John Duff, Thomas H. Dowd, 
Joseph T. Zottoli, James H. Devlin, Charles L. Carr, Elijah Adlow, 
Francis J. Good. 

Special Justices. — John A. Bennett, Abraham K. Cohen, John G. Brackett, 
Joseph A. Sheehan, Joseph E. Donovan, S. Delano Putnam. 
All judges appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the 

Executive Council. 

Terms of the Court. 
For Civil Business. — Every Saturday at 9 A. M., for trial of civil 

causes not exceeding $5,000. 

Clerk. — WilUam F. Donovan. Appointed by the Governor. 

AssistaM Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, James F. Tobin, Louis B. Torrey, 
Arthur W. Ashenden, Joseph L. Pierce, George F. Devine, William 
F. Blakeman, Charles F. Gardella, Edward H. Barry, Roger W. 
Brown. 

For Criminal Business. — Every day in the week (Sundays and legal 
holidays excepted) at 9 A. M., for the trial of criminal causes. 
Clerk. — Edward J. Lord. Appointed by the Governor. 



114 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Assistant Clerks. — Harvey B. Hudson, Charles T. Willock, James G. 
Milward, George A. Savage, Paul W. Carey, James F. Hardy, Edwin 
A. Chalmers, George W. Herman. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 

MUNICIPAL COUKT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Cambridge street, corner of Henshaw street. 
Justice. — Thomas H. ConneUy. 

Special Justices. — Robert W. Frost and Harry C. Fabyan. 
Clerk. — Daniel F. Cunningham. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. 

MUNICIPAIi COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City square. 
Justice. — Charles S. Sullivan. 

Special Justices. — WilHs W. Stover and WiUiam H. McDonnell. 
Clerk. — Mark E. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — James J. Mullen, Jr. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — George E. Irving. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington street and Melville avenue. 
Justice. — Richard M. Walsh. 
Special Justices. — Michael H. Sullivan, Jacob J. Kaplan and Sadie L. 

Shulman. 
Clerk. — ■ Alpheus Sanford. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Frederick E. Simmons and Jenny S. Thurlow. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Court House, corner of Meridian and Paris streets, East Boston. 
Justice. — Joseph H. Barnes. 

Special Justices. — Charles J. Brown and Patrick J. Lane. 
Clerk. — John S. C. NichoUs. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Augustus Loschi. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, ROXBURY DISTRICT. 

Court House, Roxbury street. 
Justice. — Albert F. Hayden. 
Special Justices. — Joseph N. Palmer, Timothy J. Ahern and Franklin 

W. L. Miles. 
Clerk. — Fred E. Cruff. Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Charles A. Moore. 
Third Assistant Clerk. — Edward J. Enos. 



COURT OFFICERS, ETC. 115 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, East Broadway. 
Justice. — Edward L. Logan. 

Special Justices. — Josiah S. Dean, William J. Day. 
Clerk. — Adrian B. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Harry W. Park. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, WEST ROXBURY DISTRICT, INCL. HYDE PARK. 

Court House, Morton street. Forest Hills. 
Justice. — John Perrins. 
Special Justices. — Frank S. Deland, Bert E. Holland and Thomas H. 

Bilodeau. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Sidney T. Knott. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Caroline M. Adams. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Room 127, Court House. 
[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 
Justice. — Frederick P. Cabot. 

Special Justices. — Frank Leveroni, Philip Rubenstein. 
Clerk. — John F. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the " Care, Custody and Discipline of Juvenile 
Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the jurisdictions, 
authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of Boston, 
under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The act took effect September 1, 
1906. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 
the Governor. The Justice of the Court is empowered to appoint two 
probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem 
necessary. 

Probation Officers. 

[Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266; 

Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491; 

Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 135.] 
These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 
courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the 
courts. In the performance of their official duties they have all the powers 
of police officers. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Albert J. Sargent. 
Medical Director. — C. Edouard Sandoz, M. D. 
Assistant Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 



116 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Prohation Officers. — Francis A. Dudley, Albert H. Davis, Francis A. 
McCarthj', Frank E. Hawkes, James H. Knight, Eugene J. Callanan, 
Edward F. Coughlin, Frank L. Warren, William J. Joyce, John P. 
Bogan, George J. McDonnell, Thomas G. Davis, Oswald J. McCourt, 
Joseph W. Crockwell, Addison T. Ridlon, Francis L. Colpoys, Albert 
L. Hoskins, Bruce A. Stevens, Mary L. Brinn, Ehzabeth A. Lee, 
Margaret H. Markham, Alfretta P. McClure, Theresa C. Dowling, 
Annie M. Kennedy, Alice D. Keating, Eleanor F. Holland, Bessie G. 
Kaufman, Betsey P. Jaques, Mary A. Hall. 

Boston Juvenile Court. — Walter C. Bell, Edward J. O'Mara, Galena 
Philadelpheus, C. Eliott Sands. 

MUNICIPAL DISTRICT COURTS. 

Brighton. — Edward J. Drummond. Charlestown. — James D. Coady, 
Mrs. Ellena M. Foley, William E. Carney. Dorchester. — Reginald H. 
Mair, Scott H. Rose. East Boston. — Dennis J. Kelleher, Frederick L. 
O'Brien. Roxbury. — Thomas F. Teehan, Ulysses G. Varney, Edward A. 
Fallon, Matthew M. Leary, John L. Letzing, Thomas Grieve, Kathryn M. 
Ouealey, William H. Murray, Thomas M. Gimenilli, Elizabeth D. Kingston. 
South Boston. — Clayton H. Parmelee, Ellen McGurty, James F. Gleason. 
West Roxbury.^ Clifford E. Smith, Thomas H. Staples. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chiej Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, Arthur R. Towle, William A. 
Maloney, Edward A. Griffin, James E. Donovan, Harry Keenan, Ralph L. 
Countie, John J. Moriarty, EUen L. Cunniff, Mary A. Robinson, Alice B. 
Monks, AHce P. Mayers, Mary E. Power. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916, 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.] 

The County is divided into two medical districts, Northern and South- 
ern, by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Hunt- 
ington avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence 
through middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence 
streets, Park square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and 
Summer street to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, 
Dover street, Dorchester avenue, Dorchester street, East Fourth and G 
streets to the harbor. 

Medical Examiners. — Northern Division, George B. Magrath, M. D., 274 
Boylston street. Term ends in 1936. Southern Division, Timothy 
Leary, M. D., 44 Bm-roughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term ends in 
1931. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 117 

Associate Medical Examiners. — William H. Waiters, M. D., 109 Mt. 
Vernon street, for Southern Division. Term ends in 1931. William 
J. Brickley, M. D., 496 Commonwealth avenue, for Northern Division. 
Term ends in 1934. 
All are appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Location of Northern District Mortuary, 18 North Grove street; 
Southern District Mortuary, on City Hospital grounds. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

[Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1926, Chap. 40; 
C. C, Chap. 48, § 5.] 

MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION AND MANAGERS OF THE 
FRANKLIN FUND. 

Everett Morss, President. 
James J. Phelan, Vice President. 
Rev. Charles E. Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

MA^NAGERS.* 

James M. Curley, Mayor of Boston, ex officio. 

Rev. Charles E. Park (Congregational minister), ex officio. 

Rev. Francis E. Webster (Episcopalian minister), ex officio. 

Rev. Donald W. MacLeod (Presbyterian minister), ex officio. 

Charles E. Cotting, Henry B. Sawyer, Louis K. Rourke, Charles 

R. Gow, Everett Morss, J. Frank O'Hare, James J. Phelan. 

Appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court. 

Franklin Union, corner Appleton and Berkeley streets. 
Walter B. Russell, Director. 

The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers 
of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Union as an independent industrial 
school and technical institute for adults. 

The Frankhn Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 
Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 
codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, 
united with the Minister of the oldest EpiscopaUan, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five 
years." 

* The Managers serve without compensation. 



118 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
"I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utiHty to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 
will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Frankhn heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (iff of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Trades School 
and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of compUcations 
the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor ColHns, 
in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme Court, 
praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then acting as 
Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion November 25, 
1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers were 
Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen did 
not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with refer- 
ence to it. The Court, under its general power to care for pubhc chari- 
table funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to take 
the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the Court, 
that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie S408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, which Mr. Carnegie agreed to duplicate. Only the 
aimual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be vised for 
maintenance of Franklin Union. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Union Building was erected at the corner of Appleton and Berke- 
ley streets. It was opened for the use of FrankJin Union in September, 
1908. This is maintained partly by tuition fees, rents, etc., $108,980.50 
total in year 1927, including the income from the above mentioned Frank- 
lin Fund (^. e., the Andrew Carnegie Donation), which fund amounted to 
$434,478 on January 31, 1928. The building contains 24 classrooms, 
6 draughting rooms, and 9 shops and laboratories, where 1,987 adult 
students received instruction at evening sessions and 49 in day courses 
during the year 1927. There is also a technical and scientific library. 



LICENSING BOARD. 119 

and a large hall with a seating capacity of 1,000. The building with 
equipment cost $430,045.69. The site, containing about 16,000 square feet, 
was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year loan being issued to cover 
same. 

The FrankUn Fund will become available in 1991. 



LICENSING BOARD. 

Office, 1 Beacon Street, Eighth Floor. 

Acts 1906, Chap. 291; 1907, Chap. 214; 1909, Chaps. 221, 387, 423; 
Special Acts 1915, Chap. 313; 1917, Chap. 145; 1918, Chap. 259; 
General Laws, Chap. 136, 138 & 140; Acts 1920, Chap. 47; Acts 
1921, Chap. 59; 1922, Chaps. 392 & 485; 1925, Chap. 284; 1926, 
Chaps. 299 & 395; 1927, Chap. 326. 

OFFICIALS. 

David T. Montague, Chairman. 
Louis Epple, Secretary. 

THE board. 
David T. Montague. Term ends in 1932. 
Arthur J. Selfridge. Term ends in 1934. 
Mary E. Driscoll. Term ends in 1936. 

The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established in 1906, 
chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the governor, 
with the advice and consent of the council. They must be citizens of 
Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years preceding the 
date of their appointment. The two principal parties must be repre- 
sented and the term of the members is fixed at six years after the first 
appointment which was for six, four and two years. The board was 
created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred 
upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating 
liquors, innholders, common victuallers, biUiard and pool tables, sippio 
tables, bowling alleys, intelligence offices, picnic groves and skating rinks. 

The fee fixed by the statute on all but liquor licenses, common victuallers 
and innholders is not less than $2 for each hcense. Sec. 202, Chap. 140, 
General Laws. Liquor license fees are fixed by Sec. 19, Chap. 138, Gen- 
eral Laws. Innholders and common victuallers fees are fixed at not 
more than $5 for each license. Sec. 2, Chap. 140, General Laws. 

In 1909, Chap. 423, the board was given the right to issue licenses to 
"Sunday dealers in ice cream, confectionery, soda water and fruit," the 
fee for such licenses not to exceed $5. 

In 1918, Chap. 259, the board was granted the right to issue Ucenses 
to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. In 1921, Chap. 59, a fee 
of not more than $2 was allowed if established by the city council. The 
council established the fee at $2 in 1922. 



120 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

In 1920, Chap. 47, the legislature transferred the issuing of licenses for 
roUer skating, carrousels, inclined railways, ferris wheels and outdoor 
exhibitions of fire fighting to this board. Now Chap. 140, General Laws, 
Sec. 186. The fee not to be less than $2 for each license, Sec. 202, 

In 1922, Chap. 392, the board was given the right to license "retail 
vendors of Soft Drinks." The fee for such license was not to exceed $1. 

In 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended giving the licen- 
sing of vendors of firearms to this board. The law relates to the renting, 
selling or leasing of firearms and the word firearms includes a pistol, 
revolver, or other weapon from which a shot or bullet can be discharged 
and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, detachable 
or magazine breach does not exceed twelve inches. It does not include 
antique firearms incapable of use, nor to sales of firearms at wholesale. 
The fee for such license to be fixed by the board. 

In 1926, Chap. 299, the board was given the right to grant entertainment 
licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on in conjunction 
with sale for cash of food or drink. No fee was to be charged to common 
victuallers and innholders carrying on such entertainment, but a fee of $5 
could be charged to persons selling drinks who carried on an entertainment. 
Entertainments consist of dancing, music, cabaret, or amusements. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 
[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 
The Mayor, ex officio, Councilors Latirence Curtis, 2d, and Michael 
*J. Mahoney, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of fifteen, 
of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two are elected 
annually by the City Council for the municipal }ear, and the others are 
chosen as provided by statute. 



CHATTEL LOAN COMPANY. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 415; Stat. 1908, Chap. 236.1 
The board of directors of the Chattel Loan Company must include one 
member who is appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 
Samuel Bloom, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 
[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in Decem- 
ber, one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Peter A. Donovan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 121 

WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 

[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 

The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by sixteen directors 

selected annually, fourteen chosen by corporators at the annual meeting 

on the third Thursday in April, one appointed by the Governor and one 

appointed by the Mayor. 

Frederick M. J. Sheenan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 387, 513, 560; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 480, 519; C. C, Stat. 1909, Chaps. 221, 311, 638; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 236, 263, 592; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 87; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 29, 
and Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 145, 307; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 259; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 23, 93, 188; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 7, 8, 13, 
68, 211; Stat. 1921, Chap. 114; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, § 31; Stat. 
1923, Chaps. 30, 242, 289; Stat. 1924, Chap. 311, sect. 2, Chaps; 
371, 410; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 284, 331; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 108, 
247, 379, sect. 1, Chap. 395; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 30, 163, 157, 326; 
Stat. 1929, Chaps. 3, 263; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 241, 387, 392.] 

Eugene C. Httltman, Police Commissioner. 

Bernard P. Scanlan, Secretary. 

Leo Shwartz, Legal Adviser. 

^— , Chief Clerk. 

executive staff. 
Michael H. Crowley, Superintendent of Police. 
Thomas F. Goode, Deputy Superintendent. 
Captain John S. Ridlon, Special Service. 
Captain Mathew Killen, Special Service. 
Captain James J. Walkins, Special Service. 
Captain Harry T. Grace, Special Service. 
William H. Gowell, Property Clerk. 
Lieutenant Robert Caverly, Narcotic Squad. 
Captain John W. Pyne, Superintendent's Clerk. 
Captain Louis E. Lutz, Drill Master. 

Lieutenant Thomas S. J. Kavanagh, Assistant Drill Master. 
, Director of Signal Service. 

BUREAU OF criminal INVESTIGATION. 

James McDevitt, Deputy Superintendent and Inspector of Divisions. 
AiNSLEY C. Armstrong, Chief Inspector. 



122 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

GusTAF GusTAFSON, Harry N. Dickinson, Captains. 

Stephen J. Gillis, Lieutenant. 

James F. Concannon, Edward T. Conway, James A. Dennessy, Timothy 
F. Donovan, John A. Dorsey, George J. Fa^rell, Stephen J. 
Flaherty, Thomas F. Gleavy, Francis P. Haggerty, Joseph F. 
LouGHLiN, John F. McCarthy, Thomas F. Mulrey, Henry M. 
Pierce, John F. Mitchell, James R. Claflin, James H. Egan, 
Thomas M. Towle, Joseph L. A. Cavagnaro, Owen Farley, 
Timothy, J. Sheehan, Elkanaji W. D. Le Blanc, William R. 
Connolly, Michael A. Kell;ey, lAeutenant Inspectors. George V. 
Augusta, Alfred Boucher, William J. Harrow, John D. Holmes, 
Warren H. Liese, Thomas F. Lyons, Joseph J. Maguire, Francis 
I. Mullen, Maurice F. Murphy, Justin McCarthy, Cornelius 
J. Ring, Joseph E. Rollins, William N. Taylor, Detective Sergeants. 

police department. 

The Board of Police for the City of Boston, established in 1885, was 
superseded in 1906 by a single executive, the Police Commissioner. 

The City is divided into nineteen Police Divisions, in each of which is 
a station house, the headquarters of a captain and force of men. For 
traffic purposes, the City is also divided into two traffic divisions, a north- 
ern and a southern, in each of which is a station house, the headquarters 
of a captain and force of men. The Commissioner appoints a Harbor 
Master and assistants from the police force, and they receive pay in accord- 
ance with their rank in the force. The steamer "Stephen O'Meara," the 
steam launch "Watchman" and the gasolene boats "E. U. Curtis'" and 
"Argus," are employed in this service. 

By Chapter 1 14, Acts of 1921, the annual listing of residents, now includes 
all women 20 years of age and over, in addition to the men. 

On March 25, 1931, the police force numbered 2,425 members, including 
29 captains, 23 lieutenant-inspectors, 45 lieutenants, 13 detective-sergeants, 
173 sergeants, 2,133 patrolmen, of which 309 were detailed for traffic 
control, and 5 patrolwomen. 

There were 17 men in the signal service, whose director has charge of 
545 signal boxes. 

Salaries: Superintendent, $7,000; deputy superintendents, $4,500; 
chief inspector, $4,300; captains, $4,000 per annum; Ueut-inspectors and 
lieutenants, $2,700; detective sergeants and sergeants, $2,500; patrolmen, 
$1,600 1st year and $100 increase each year until $2,100 (maximum) is 
reached. Two hundred dollars additional salary annually to officers who 
serve as "aide to Police Commissioner." Uniform and equipment are free. 

police stations. 
First Division, 209 Hanover street. John J. Rooney, Captain. 
Second Division, 229 Milk street. Martin H. King, Captain. 
Third Division, Joy street. John McGrath, Captain. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 123 

FoTTRTH Division, 56 La Grange street. Jeremiah F. Gallivan, Ca-ptain. 
Fifth Division, 21 East Dedham street. John M. Anderson, Captain. 
Sixth Division, corner D and Athens streets, South Boston. Michael 

Healy, Captain. 
Seventh Division, corner Emmons and Paris streets, East Boston. Archi- 
bald F. Campbell, Captain. 
Eighth Division (including the islands in the harbor and the harbor 

service), 521 Commercial stfeet. Ross A. Perry, Captain and Harbor 

Master, Lieutenants William H. Rymes, Lawrence H. Dunn, Sergeants 

Ibri W. H. Curtis, Hugh F. Marston, Timothy F. Kellard, and Carleton 

B. Perry, Assistant Harbor Masters. 
Ninth Division, Mt. Pleasant avenue and Dudley street. Joseph 

McKinnon, Captain. 
Tenth Division, Tremont and Roxbury streets. John J. Mullen, Captain. 
Ele\'enth Division, corner Adams and Arcadia streets. Michael J. Goff, 

Captain. 
Twelfth Division, East Fourth street, near K street. South Boston. Joseph 

J. Hoy, Captain. 
Thirteenth Division, Seaverns avenue, Jamaica Plain. Herbert W. 

Goodwin, Captain. Sub-station, Franklin Park, Pierpont road. 
Fourteenth Division, Washington street, junction Cambridge street, 

Brighton. Perley S. Skillings, Captain. 
Fifteenth Division, Neio Municipal Building, City Square, Charlestoivn. 

William W. Livingston, Captain. 
Sixteenth Division, Boylston street, near Hereford street. Jeremiah N. 

Mosher, Captain. 
Seventeenth Division, Centre street, corner Hastings street, West Roxbury. 

James P. Smith, Captain. 
Eighteenth Division, 12Ji9 Hyde Park avenue, Hyde Park. John J. 

Hanrahan, Captain. 
Nineteenth Division, 872 Morton street, Dorchester. John E. Driscoll, 

Captain. 
Twentieth Division (Traffic), 229 Milk street. Bernard J. Hoppe, 

Captain. 
Twenty-first Division (Traffic), Boston Arena Building, 262 St. 

Botolph street. James Laffey, Captain. 
House of Detention. [Stat. 1887, Chap. 234.] First floor of Court 

House, Somerset street. Mary Kenney, Chief Matron. Genevieve 

Barretta, Assistant Chief Matron. 
City Prison, First floor of Court House, Somerset street. Lieutenant 

William H. AUen, Keeper of the Lock-up. Sergeants John C. E. Clark, 

Dennis F. Desmond, Edmund R. Inglis, John J. Manning, Assistant 

Keepers. 



124 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 
Administration Building, 15 Beacon street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap, 241; Stat. 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 349 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48, Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 1909 
Chaps. 120, 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779, Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90, and Spec. Stat. Chaps. 189, 300 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 86, 88, 213, 267, 289 and Gen 
Stat. Chap. 102, Gen. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132 
199, 206; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 169, 351 
Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 460, 488 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 327; Stat. 1926, 
Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1929, Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chap. 283.] 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

Francis C. Gray. Term ends Januar}', 1932. 
Joseph J. Hurley. Term ends January, 1932. 
Joseph V. Lyons, D. M. D. Term ends January, 1932. 
Elizabeth W. Pigeon. Term ends January, 1934. 
William Arthur Reilly. Term ends January, 1934. 

officials. 
Joseph J. Hurley, Chairman. 
Joseph V. Lyons, D. M. D., Treasurer. 
Jeremiah E. Burke, Superintendent. 
Ellen M. Cronin, Secretary. 
Alexander M. Sullivan, Business Manager. 
Mark B. Mulvey, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

BOARD OF superintendents. 

Superintendent Burke, Chairman ex officio. 

ASSISTANT superintendents. 

Mary C. Mellyn. John C. Brodhead. 

Arthur L. Gould. William B. Snow. 

Michael J. Downey. Patrick T. Campbell. 

the teachers college of the city of boston, latin and day high 

SCHOOLS (18). 

Teachers College, Public Latin, Girls' Latin, Brighton High, Charlestown 
High, Dorchester High (Girls), Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston 
High, EngUsh High (Boys), Girls' High, High School of Commerce 
(Boys), High School of Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, Jamaica 
Plain High, Mechanic Arts High (Boys), Roxbury Memorial High 
(Girls), Roxbury Memorial High (Boys), South Boston High. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 125 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School. 

Continuation School. 

Thade Schools. — Boston Trade School, Trade School for Girls. 

DAY INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICTS, SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITH INTER- 
MEDIA,TE CLASSES, AND DAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS (82). 

East Boston. — ^Blackinton,f Chapman, Donald McKay Intermediate,* 
Emerson, John Cheverus,t Joseph H. Barnes Intermediate,* Samuel 
Adams, Theodore Lyman, Ulysses S. Grant. 

CHARLESTO'RTsr. — Harvard-Frothingham,t Prescottjf Warren-Bunker Hill.f 

North and West Ends. — Bowdoin-Wendell Philhps, Eliot, Hancock, 
Michelangelo Intermediate,* Washington Intermediate,* Wells. 

City Proper. — Abraham Lincoln,* Horace Mann, Prince,t Ouincy. 

South End. — Dwight,t Everett,t Franklin,! Rice.f 

South Boston. — Bigelow,* Gaston,* John A. Andrew,t Lawrence,! Nor- 
cross,* Ohver Hazard Perry,t Shurtleff,* Thomas N. Hart,t Frederic W. 
Lincoln. 

RoxBURY. — -Dearborn,! Dillaway,t Dudley,! Henry L. Higginson, Hugh 
O'Brien,! Hyde,! Jefferson-Comins,! Julia Ward Howe, Lewis Inter- 
mediate,* Martin,! Sherwin,! Theodore Roosevelt Intermediate,* 
William Lloyd Garrison. 

Brighton. — Bennett,* Thomas Gardner, Washington Allston, William 
Howard Taft Intermediate.* 

Jamaica Plain. — Agassiz,! Bowditch,! Francis Parkman,! Lowell.! 

Roslindale. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, Washington Irving Inter- 
mediate.* 

West Roxbury. — Robert Gould Shaw. 

Dorchester. — Christopher Gibson,! Edmund P. Tileston, Edward 
Everett,! Emily A. Fifield, Frank V. Thompson Intermediate,* Gilbert 
Stuart,! Grover Cleveland Intermediate,* Henry L. Pierce,* John 
Marshall, John Winthrop,* Mary Hemenway,* Mather,! Minot,! 
Oliver Wendell Holmes Intermediate,* Phillips Brooks,! Robert Treat 
Paine, Roger Wolcott, Solomon Lewenberg Intermediate,* William E. 
Endicott, William E. Russell.! 

Hyde Park. — ■ Elihu Greenwood, Henry Grew, William Barton Rogers 
Intermediate.* 

industrial and special schools. 

Industrial Schools. — Boston Trade School (day) with evening classes 
also; Trade School for Girls (day), with extension classes also; Con- 
tinuation Schools (day) for employed boys and girls. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Boolckeeping, 
Typewriting, English, oflfice practice and penmanship. 

Disciplinary Day School. — For truants and other school offenders. 

School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 

Day Schools for Immigrants. — For instruction in English language. 

* Intermediate Schools. ! Intermediate Classes. 



126 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

SPECIAL DEPARTMENTS. 

Educational Investigation and Measurement. Arthur W. Kallom, 

First Assistant Director. 
Evening and Summer Schools. Joseph F. Gould, Director. 
Examinations. Joel Hathaway, Chief Examiner. 
Extended Use op Public Schools {i. e., School Centers). James T. 

Mulroy, Director. 
Household Science and Arts. Josephine Morris, Director. 
Kindergartens. Caroline D. Aborn, Director. 
Manual Arts. Helen E. Cleaves, Director. Edward C. Emerson, 

Associate Director. 
Modern Foreign Languages. Marie A. Solano, Director. 
Music. John A. O'Shea, Director. 
Penmanship. Bertha A. Connor, Director. 
Physical Education. Nathaniel J. Young, Director. Frederick J. 

O'Brien, Associate Director. 
Practice and Training of Teachers. Katherine L. King, Director. 
Salesmanship. Edward J. Rowse, Commercial Co-ordinator. 

School Hygiene. , Director. 

Special Classes. Ada M. Fitts, Director. 

Speech Improvement Classes. Theresa A. Dacey, Director. 

Vocational Guidance. Susan J. Ginn, Director. 

Head Supervisor of Attendance. Joseph W. Hobbs. 

Licensed Minors. Timothy F. Regan, Supervisor. 

Administrative Offices. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon St. Headquarters of all officials. 

At Continuation School, 25 Warrenton St., educational and employ- 
ment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays), from 8.30 A. M. to 
3.30 P. M., and on Saturdays from 9 A. M. to 1 P. M., but during July, 
August and September to 12 noon. Physical examination of applicants 
for employment certificates daily from 9 to 3.30 P. M. 

Minors' licenses {i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., issued daUy, except Saturdays, from 4 to 5 P. M., and on Saturdays 
from 9 A. M. to 1 P. M., but during July, August and September to 12 
noon. Licenses are not issued during school hours. 

supervisors of attendance. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 779, §§ 12, 13.] 
These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. They are 
also constables, serving without bonds. There are 31 officers besides the 
head supervisor and they may be seen from 9 to 9.30 A. M., on the days 
that the schools are in session at the principal schoolhouse in the district 
served. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 127 



SCHOOL PHYSICIANS AND SCHOOL NURSES. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department. Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 
For all schools and districts there is one Director of School Hygiene in 
charge of seven supervising school physicians, one school physician assigned 
to the certificating office, one otologist, one ophthalmologist, 59 school 
physicians, one medical supervisor of nutrition classes, 22 nutrition class 
attendants, 22 assistant nutrition class attendants, 21 matrons, one 
sanitary inspector, and one supervisor of health education. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of one supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. The sum available for the employment 
of school physicians and school nurses is 12 cents on each one thousand of 
the City's assessed valuation, which in 1930 will amount to $233,845.57. 
In addition any balance unexpended the previous year is available. For 
the eighty-two elementary and intermediate school districts there is one 
supervising nurse in charge of four assistant supervising nurses, 1 nurse 
assigned to the certificating office, and 59 school nurses. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907 the School Committee were authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and f aciUties in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
control. 

The sum available for this branch of education is 15 cents on each 
$1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, which in 1931 will amount to 
8295,963.67. In addition, the income from games and contests and any 
balance unexpended the preceding year are available. The cost of mihtary 
drill is not charged against the appropriation for Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises one director, one 
associate director, one assistant director, one super-\dsor-in-charge of 
playgrounds, 12 instructors of military drill, two armorers, 34 women 
instructors of physical education, 13 teacher coaches of athletics and 
16 play teachers for boys of high schools, 32 women play teachers for 
girls of high schools, 22 women play teachers for girls of intermediate 
schools, ninety-five men play teachers for boys of intermediate and ele- 
mentary schools, six supervisors of playgrounds assisting in the direction 
of approximately seven hundred playground teachers assigned for different 
seasons. The latter have charge of games, plays, dances, etc. in the 
fifty-six schoolyard playgrounds and seventy-five park playgrounds in 
use. 

INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 



128 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

raised by local taxation and expended for all public schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the State Board of 
Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation Schools, for 
employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, were included 
under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus maintained are the 
Boston Trade School (for Boys), day and evening classes, Trade School 
for Girls, day and extension classes. Compulsory Continuation School, 
High School of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in Brighton, 
Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Hyde Park, Roxbury Memorial 
High School for Boys and South Boston High, and practical arts courses 
in the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain High School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two-thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 

MANUAL ARTS. 

The Training School for Teachers of Mechanic Arts, located in the 
Parkman Schoolhouse, Broadway, South Boston, is conducted under the 
direction of the Department of Manual Arts. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows: Brighton 
(auto mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (woodwork), 
East Boston (machine shop practice), Hyde Park (machine shop practice), 
Jamaica Plain (agricultm-e), Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys 
(Printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). 

There are 157 shops in elementary and intermediate schools, in which 
the following-named subjects are taught: Auto mechanics, bookbinding, 
electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, mechanical drawing 
(temporary), printing, sheet metal, woodwork, and diversified subjects. 

Modeling is taught in fifth grades in all boys' schools, by a special 
teacher. Cardboard construction and bookbinding in the fourth and 
fifth grades are supervised by the department. 

Home and school gardening is conducted by the department as an 
after-school and summer activity in fifty-one elementary and intermediate 
districts. 

Summer recreational handicraft classes are conducted in seven centers. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

There are ten high schools offering courses in household science and 
arts, Brighton, Charlestown,* Dorchester, East Boston, Girls', High 
School of Practical Arts, Hyde Park, Jamaica Plain, t Roxbmy Memorial, 
South Boston, with 13 cookery rooms, 22 sewing rooms, 5 millinery rooms 
and 4 home practice suites; 72 rooms in elementary and intermediate 
schools equipped for instruction in cookery, 67 sewing rooms, 3 milUnery 
rooms and 12 home suites. 

* No sewing. t No cookery. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 129 

A director, two assistant directors, 72 teachers of cookery, 130 teachers 
of sewing, and 8 teachers of millinery are assigned to the Department of 
Household Science and Arts. 

EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE SCHOOLS. 

There are ten evening high schools, Central (English High School- 
house), Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Girls', Hyde 
Park, Roxbury (Boston Clerical Schoolhouse), South Boston, and West 
Roxbury (Washington Irving Schoolhouse). These schools, the sessions 
of which are held on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 7.30 
to 9.30, are held in the several high schoolhouses of the districts named. 
All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are nineteen evening elementary schools, including four branch 
schools of same in session on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings. 

Evening trade classes are conducted in the Boston Trade School and 
three branch schools held in the Brighton, East Boston and Hyde Park 
High Schoolhouses. 

EVENING OPPORTUNITY SCHOOL. 

Continuation School Building, 25 Warrenton Street. 
This school offers instruction in vocational and industrial subjects for 
persons who cannot qualify for admission to the Evening Classes of the 
Boston Trade School. 

DAY SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are seventeen schools for immigrants where instruction in the 
English language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except 
Saturday) for two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

DAY PRACTICAL ARTS CLASSES. 

There are ten schools where instruction in practical arts (dressmaking, 
home decoration and milHnery) is provided to persons over sixteen years 
of age, classes being conducted for two hours on either two mornings or 
afternoons each week. 

SUMMER REVIEW AND VACATION SCHOOLS. 

These supplementary summer review schools, one high, two inter- 
mediate, and eleven elementary, for pupils who have been retarded in 
their studies, were started in 1914. The term is forty days, and the 
number of pupils in 1930 was 7,971. There are also seven vacation 
schools. The term is thirty-four days, and the number of pupils in 1930 
was 9,610. 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL (day). 

Classes for boys, with 27 instructors, are held in the Continuation 
School, 25 Warrenton street; classes for girls with 19 instructors, at 10 
Common street. 

All children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an emplojonent 
certificate are compelled by law to attend the school four hours per week. 



130 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

USE OF SCHOOLHOUSKS FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES. 

In 1912 the School Committee were authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now thirteen School Centres, each having a 
manager and largely attended on three evenings and one or two after- 
noons a week. More than 80 school buildings are also used by Non-School 
Center groups. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose a 
sum equal to four cents on each $1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, 
which in 1930 will amount to $77,948.82. In addition, the income from 
rents of school buildings and any balance unexpended the preceding year 
are available. Besides the renting of school halls for club meetings, 
entertainments, etc., basements and other accommodations in school- 
houses are used by the Election Department as polling places, Ughting 
and janitor service being paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIREMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of all its members, may 
retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the public day schools who has reached the age of sixty-five years, also 
such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been employed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
pubhc day schools, the pension paid amounts to one-third of the annual 
salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than $312 
nor more than $600 annually. If the period of service is less than thirty 
years, the pension is proportionally less. The School Committee is 
authorized to provide for these pensions by appropriating annually, if 
necessary, an amount equal to five cents on each $1,000 of the City's 
assessed valuation. The Permanent School Pension Fund amounted to 
$968,241.99 on January 1, 1931, and 272 retired teachers were receiving 
pensions therefrom. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, 
is paying $120 per year to 345 annuitants, the total amount of its fund 
on October 1, 1929, being $1,262,001.20. At that date 4,184 teachers 
were each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



PUBLIC CELEBRATIONS BUREAU. 

Edmund L. Dolan, Director of Public Celebrations. 
Office, 49 City HaU. 
The Bureau of Public Celebrations was organized in 1922, for the pur- 
pose of observing, under the direction of his Honor the Mayor, the cele- 
bration of historical events, the observance of patriotic holidays and other 
public occasions, in a manner calculated to produce constructive results. 



COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL PUBLICITY BUREAU. 131 



COMMITTEE FOR AMERICANIZATION. 

Frank Howland, Director. 
Office, 305 City Hall Annex. 

The Bureau of the Committee for Americanization was created to incul- 
cate the spirit of active and alert Americanism throughout the City of 
Boston and combat the circulation of malicious propaganda. 

The service of the Bureau has aided in the construction of a well at- 
tended policy of American ideals and for fostering better community 
conditions. 

Since the formation of the Bureau for Americanization a vast number of 
ahens have received instruction in matters of naturalization and future 
citizenship and literature of an informative nature has been wndely 
distributed. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 

Edward L. Logan, Manager. 
Office, 45 City Hall. 

The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 
manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City Council, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston . 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, and at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, 
and at Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, Roxbury, corner 
of Blue Hill Avenue and Savin Street, Charlestown, corner of High and 
Elm Streets, and at Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, in the 
hope of being able, by proper instruction, to better the living and health 
conditions of the communities in the congested districts. 



COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL AND PUBLICITY BUREAU. 

John T. Scully, Director. 
Thomas A. Mullen, Director. 
Frederic E. Dowling, Secretary. 

Office, 537 Chamber of Commerce Bld'g. 
The Commercial, Industrial and Publicity Bureau was organized by the 
Mayor early in 1921. The purpose of the Bureau is to foster and stimu- 
late the creation of new industries in Boston, under the direction of 



132 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the Mayor, to co-operate with commercial and trade organizations for 
this purpose, and to provide for suitable pubhc statements relative to 
successful business accomplishments in Boston from time to time. 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 

[Stat. 1872, Chap. 371; Stat. 1892, Chap. 419; Stat. 1896, Chap. 313 

Stat. 1898, Chap. 452; Stat. 1904, Chap. 333; Stat. 1905, Chap. 383 

Stat. 1907, Chap. 416; Stat. 1914, Chap. 786; Stat. 1915, Chap. 333 

Stat. 1923, Chap. 462; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1928, Chap. 137.J 

Following the Great Fire in Boston which occurred on November 
9 and 10, 1872, a special session of the Legislature was called to consider 
questions growing out of the calamity and to enact such measures as were 
appropriate for the protection and rebuilding of the city. This resulted 
in an amendment to the Building Law of 1871 establishing a maximum 
height limit of 75 feet, which was amended the following year to 80 feet, 
providing further that additional height might be added if the same were 
constructed in a fireproof manner. 

In 1892, Chapter 419 provided for a maximum height limit of 125 feet 
in height, with a further restriction to 2§ times the width of the widest 
street or square on which such building stood. 

Authority to limit building heights to 70 feet within 25 feet of a park- 
way, boulevard or public way bordering on a park was granted under the 
pro"\asions of a General Law, Chapter 313 of the Acts of 1896, and accepted 
by the city of Boston in May of the same year. This Law carried with 
it provision for damages and is one of the few instances in the city of 
Boston of the limitation of building heights through the exercise of eminent 
domain. For the most part restrictions are adopted under the police 
power. 

Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1904 provided for the appointment of a 
Commission authorized to di^^de the city of Boston into two districts; 
A, in which the greater part of the buildings situated therein were used 
for business or commercial purposes, restricted to a height of not more 
than 125 feet, and B, in which the greater part of the buildings situated 
therein were used for residential purposes, restricted in height to 80 feet. 

The boundaries of the A and B Districts as thus established continued 
in effect until the appointment of a similar Commission under the pro- 
visions of Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1915, this second Commission being 
authorized to revise the boundaries but not to increase the maximum 
height limits. The result was that the boundaries of District A were 
considerably enlarged. 

In the meantime Chapter 383 of the Acts of 1905 pro\-ided that buildings 
may be erected in the 80-foot district on streets exceeding 64 feet in width 
to a height equal to one and one-half times the width of the street upon 
which the building stands, but not exceeding 100 feet in any event, a 
modification which remains in effect at the present time. 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 133 

Chapter 462 of the Acts of the year 1923 amended previous legislation 
and established a maximum height limit of 155 feet further making pro- 
vision for the erection of buildings to a height greater than two and one- 
half times the width of the street, but not exceeding 155 feet if the external 
wall of a height greater than two and one-half times the width of the street 
shall be set back from the vertical face of the building in the ratio of one 
foot horizontally for each two and one-half feet vertically. Further 
regulations were also established for buildings on a narrower street near its 
intersection with a wider street. 

Chapter 488 of the Acts of the year 1924 the Boston Zoning Law, 
divides the city into 35, 40, 65, 80, and 155 foot districts, as shown on a 
map prepared by the Boston City Planning Board, and filed in the office 
of the State Secretary, each of the aforesaid districts carrying with them 
in addition to height limitations certain restrictions with regard to the 
bulk of buildings, the area of yards and other open spaces and the per- 
centage of lot occupancy. Flexibility in the administration of the Zoning 
Plan is assured through the Board of Appeals, which is authorized to 
vary the provisions of the Law, and through the Board of Zoning Adjust- 
ment which is authorized to change the boundary lines of the zoning 
districts, under certain given conditions. 

According to an opinion handed down by the Supreme Judicial Court 
on March 2, 1926, (Grenville H. Norcross and another. Trustee and others, 
versus the Board of Appeal of the city of Boston) Districts A and B as 
territorial divisions regulating height of buildings, estabUshed in accordance 
with earlier statutes, no longer exist in view of the general scope and 
detailed provisions of the aforesaid Zoning law. 

Chapter 137 of the Acts of 1928 provides that on a lot on which a build- 
ing 155 feet in height is permitted, part of a building or structm-e may 
exceed such height provided the volume of the same does not exceed the 
bviildable area of the lot multiplied by 155 feet, and provided further 
that every part of such building or structure above a height equal to two 
and one-half times the effective vndth. of the street, but not exceeding 
125 feet, shall set back from every street and lot line one foot for each 
two and one-half feet of additional height. 

There have been, in addition, a number of laws enacted which operated 
indirectly as to height limits in the city of Boston, including special re- 
strictions in the vicinity of Copley Square and the Pubhc Library; the 
State House; Rutherford Ave. between Chapman Street and the Mystic 
River tracks of the Boston and Maine Railroad; Washington Street, 
Lovering Place, Harrison Ave. and Asylum Street; and the property 
occupied by the Mechanic Arts High School on Dalton, Belvidere and 
Scotia Streets. So far as these special restrictions are concerned, the 
Zoning Law particularly specifies that it shall not interfere with, abrogate, 
annul, or repeal any statute previously enacted relating to the use of 
buildings or premises, provided, however, that where the zoning act 
imposes a greater restriction upon the use of buildings or premises or upon 
the height of buildings, the provisions of such act shall control. 



134 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



DEPARTMENT AMOUNTS ALLOWED 

AND 193L 



Art Department . 
Assessing Department . 
Auditing Department . 
Boston Port Authority 
Boston Retirement Board 
Boston Traffic Commission 
Budget Department 
Building Department . 

Board of Appeal 

Board of Examiners . 
City Clerk Department 
City Council . 
City Council Proceedings 
City Documents . 
City Planning Board . 
Collecting Department 
Election Department . 
Finance Commission 
Fire Department . 

Wire Division . 
Health Department 
Hospital Department . 

Sanatorium Division . 
Institutions Department : 

Central Office . 

Child Welfare Division 

Long Island Hospital 

Steamer "George A. Hibbard 
Launch "James J. Minot" . 

Rainsford Island, Care of 
Law Department .... 
Library Department 
Licensing Board .... 
Market Department 
Mayor, Office Expenses 

Public Celebrations . 

Conventions and Entertainment 
tinguished Guests . 
Park Department .... 

Reconstructing and Repairing Par 
by Contract .... 

Cemetery Division . 
Police Department 
Public Buildings Department 



BY MAYOR FOR 1930 



of 



and 



Dis 



ways 



1930 


1931 


$1,215 00 


$2,515 00 


353,132 58 


367,475 00 


81,101 45 


81,583 71 


— 


37,156 67 


30,374 94 


31,636 21 


217,971 63 


206,288 91 


12,364 00 


11,745 00 


271,838 70 


265,495 40 


12,046 00 


13,280 00 


5,355 00 


5,355 00 


52,075 89 


53,205 44 


76,061 19 


85,100 00 


12,750 00 


12,750 00 


50,000 00 


50,000 00 


34,275 64 


31,325 00 


195,205 29 


202,723 20 


251,193 31 


217,705 00 


60,000 00 


50,000 00 


4,678,783 45 


4,710,750 05 


104,641 87 


103,495 00 


1,077,767 50 


1,111,039 34 


2,904,382 58 


3,090,597 14 


561,884 97 


612,014 25 


55,008 80 


55,310 00 


251,219 53 


264,055 00 


720,589 84 


736,057 67 


41,975 00 


46,285 00 


1,800 00 


1,500 00 


116,167 42 


139,304 37 


1,173,144 00 


1,262,504 00 


33,190 15 


32,840 00 


17,557 67 


17,374 67 


103,439 74 


96,959 59 


100,000 00 


75,000 00 


75,000 00 


50,000 00 


1,817,754 75 


1,845,441 10 


40,000 00 


75,000 00 


182,873 22 


175,022 01 


6,141,792113 


6,331,918 92 


644,868 42 


597,720 17 



DEPARTMENT APPROPRIATIONS. 135 

Department Amounts Allowed by Mayor for 1930 and 1931. — 

Continued. 

1930 1931 
Public Welfare Department: 

Central Office t$130,457 33 *$4,182,708 90 

Temporary Home 13,715 00 14,100 00 

Wayfarers' Lodge 20,840 00 23,278 00 

Public W^orks Department: 

Central Office 92,658 81 90,811 64 

Bridge Service ...... 480,890 49 483,398 43 

Bridges, Repairs, etc 100,000 00 85,000 00 

Ferry Service 561,553 00 567,946 00 

Ferry Improvements, etc — $20,000-00 

Lighting Service 1,019,206 43 1,040,478 00 

Paving Service ....... 1,819,11340 1,649,78245 

Granolithic Sidewalks .... 25,000 00 75,000 00 

Reconstructing and Repairing Streets by 

Contract 250,000 00 — 

Street Signs 15,000 00 15,000 00 

Snow Removal — 150,000 00 

Sanitary Service 3,382,854 25 3,120,613 16 

Sewer Service 751,678 70 730,428 97 

Registry Department . . . . . 65,332 82 74,976 00 

Reserve Fund 500,000 00 350,000 00 

Sinking Funds Department . . . 3,300 00 3,300 00 

Soldiers' Relief Department . . 177,685 43 480,562 11 

Statistics Department 16,205 32 16,390 00 

Street Laying-Out Department . . . 200,602 49 200,938 08 

Supply Department 52,077 34 52,804 50 

Treasury Department 76,034 73 77,356 93 

Weights and Measures Department . . 49,241 92 47,437 00 

$32,264,249 12 $36,707,837 99 
Amount previously appropriated for Pub- 
lic Welfare Department .... § 2,925,000 00 2,250,000 00 

$35,189,249 12 $38,957,837 99 

City Debt Requirements .... $7,979,746 39 $8,575,498 68 

Suffolk County Courthouse (Custodian) . $185,033 62 $276,895 81 
Suffolk County Courthouse (County Build- 
ings 97,260 00 — 

County Buildings 115,850 32 117,694 00 

* Exclusive of $2,250,000 voted by City Council, March 9, 1931. 
t Order for $2,625,000 voted by City Council, March 31, 1930. 
J Order for $300,000 voted by City Council, March 31, 1930. 
§ Includes $300,000 for Soldiers' Relief Department. 



136 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1930 
,374 71 
61,463 75 



1931 
$256,388 59 
61,073 75 



572,717 00 582,802 00 



Depaetment Amounts Allowed by Mayor for 1930 and 1931 

Continued. 

Jail 

Supreme Judicial Court .... 
Superior Court, Civil Session (General 

Expenses) 

Superior Court, Civil Session (Clerk's 

Office) . 

Superior Court, Criminal Session 

Probate Court 

Municipal Court, City of Boston 

Municipal Court, Charlestown District . 

East Boston District Court 

Municipal Court, South Boston District . 

Municipal Court, Dorchester District 

Municipal Court, Roxbury District . 

Municipal Coui't, West Roxbmy District, 

Municipal Court, Brighton District . 

Boston Juvenile Court 

District Court of Chelsea .... 

Registry of Deeds 

Index Commissioners 

Insanity Cases 

Land Court 

Medical Examiner Service, Northern 

Division 

Medical Examiner Service, Southern 

Division 

Associate Medical Examiner, Northern 

Division 

Associate Medical Examiner, Southern 

Division 

Miscellaneous Expenses: 

Auditing Department . 

Budget Department 

Collecting Department 

Sheriff .... 

Treasury Department . 
Granite Avenue Bridge . 
Social Law Library . 
Penal Institutions Department: 

Office Expenses 

House of Correction 

Steamer "Michael J. Perkins" 



171,684 75 

469,470 19 
23,599 00 

427,091 00 
33,760 60 
31,471 75 
26,759 95 
31,507 92 
80,336 60 
32,813 25 
19,912 38 
28,734 60 
37,471 09 

195,803 86 

27,023 00 

30,115 00 

7,175 00 

26,985 00 

16,763 33 

2,010 00 

$1,875 00 

955 00 



1,400 00 
3,200 00 
5,740 00 
5,936 70 
1,000 00 

38,762 50 

458,724 68 

68,055 67 



175,157 60 

470,987 83 
25,049 00 

438,306 00 
34,326 85 
31,709 75 
26,859 95 
38,142 63 
95,271 17 
35,696 80 
19,613 00 
29,589 01 
41,811 40 

192,274 92 

26,036 85 

33,120 00 

7,010 00 

26,420 00 

16,980 00 

2,335 00 

$1,855 00 

955 00 
1,163 31 
1,400 00 
3,200 00 
5,740 00 
7,881 70 
1,000 00 

40,559 50 

497,277 30 

73,742 67 



},596,837 22 $3,696,326 39 



DEPARTMENT APPROPRIATIONS. 137 

Department Amounts Allowed by Mayor for 1930 and 1931. — 

Concluded. 

1930 1931 

County Debt Requirements . . . $154.936 29 $164,843 75 

Printing Department .... $479,146 37 $528,090 54 

City Record, Publication of . . . $35,942 03 $37,085 00 

Public Works Department : 

Water Service $1,736,482 79 $1,737,189 18 

High Pressure Fire Service, Extension of ... 250,000 00 

Collecting Department : 

Water Service 70,164 32 81,739 48 

Water Service, Debt Requirements . 259,295 00 70,165 00 



$2,065,942 11 $2,139,093 66 



RECAPITULATION OF AMOUNTS ALLOWED BY MAYOR FOR 

1931. 
From Taxes: 

For City Purposes within the Tax 

Limit 138,957,837 99 

City Debt Requirements . . 8,575,498 68 



City Total $47,533,336 67 

For County of Suffolk Purposes . . $3,696,326 39 
County Debt Requirements . . 164,843 75 

3,861,170 14 



City and County Total . $51,394,506 81 

From Revenue: 

Printing Department .... $528,09*0 54 

City Record, Publication of . . . 37,085 00 

Public Works Department, Water 

Service 1,737,189 18 

High Pressure Fire Service, Exten- 
sion of 250,000 00 

Collecting Department, Water Divi- 
sion 81,739 48 

Water Service, Debt Requirements . 70,165 00 

$2,704,269 20 



Grand Total $54,098,776 01 



138 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BASIS OF ESTIMATES, 1930. 

Average valuation, $1,948,713,046.00. 

$16 on the thousand brings . $31,179,408 74 

Estimated income and cash in treasury .... 7,430,635 88 



Amount available for appropriation inside tax limit . . $38,610,044 62 



BASIS OF ESTIMATES, 1931. 
Average valuation, $1,973,091,133.33. 

$16 on the thousand brings $31,569,458 13 

Estimated income and cash in treasury .... 7,891,379 86 



Amount available for appropriation inside tax limit . . $39,460,837 99 



WAYS AND MEANS OTHER THAN TAXES FOR 1931. 
An estimate of the ways and means, other than taxes, of meeting the 
expencUtures of the City of Boston and County of Suffolk for the year 
ending December 31, 1931: 

Building Department $55,000 00 

City Clerk Department 21,000 00 

Collecting Department 45,000 00 

Fire Department 92,000 00 

Health Department 25,000 00 

Hospital Department 280,000 00 

Institutions Department 12,000 00 

Interest 575,000 00 

Library Department 23,000 00 

Licensing Department 52,000 00 

Market Department ........ 96,000 00 

Mayor 52,000 00 

Park Department 120,000 00 

Pedlers' Licenses 8,000 00 

Pohce Department • 55,000 00 

Public Buildings Department 20,000 Oo 

Public Welfare Department 500,000 00 

Public Works Department 250,000 00 

Registry Department 13,000 00 

Soldiers' Rehef Department 43,000 00 

Street Laying-Out Department 60,000 00 

Weights and Measures Department 15,000 00 

County of Suffolk 550,000 00 



WAYS AND MEANS OTHER THAN TAXES. 139 

Corporation Tax - $3,200,000 00 

Street Railway Tax 100,000 00 

$6,262,000 00 
Available cash in treasury, December 31, 1930 . . . 1,629,379 86 



$7,891,379 86 



RECAPITULATION OF AMOUNTS ALLOWED FOR 1930. 

From Taxes: 

For City Purposes within the Tax Limit $35,189,249 12 

City Debt Requirements . . . 7,979,746 39 

$43,168,995 51 

For County of Suffolk Purposes . $3,596,837 22 

County Debt Requirements . . 154,936 29 

3,751,773 51 

City and County Total $46,920,769 02 

From Revenue: 

Printing Department .... $479,146 37 

City Record, Tuhlication oi . . 35,942 03 

Public Works Department, Water 

Service 1,736,482 79 

Collecting Department, Water Divi- 
sion 70,164 32 

Water Service, Debt Requirements . 259,295 00 

2,581,030 51 

Grand Total $49,501,799 53 



WAYS AND MEANS OTHER THAN TAXES FOR 1930. 
An estimate of the ways and means, other than taxes, of meeting expendi- 
tures of the City of Boston and County of Suffolk for the year ending 
December 31, 1930: 

Building Department $60,000 00 

City Clerk Department 20,000 00 

Collecting Department 40,000 00 

Fire Department 110,000 00 

Health Department 20,000 00 

Hospital Department 275,000 00 

Institutions Department 13,000 00 

Interest • • 575,000 00 

Library Department 23,000 00 

Licensing Board 52,000 00 



140 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Market Department . . $120,000 00 

Mayor 49,000 00 

Park Department 115,000 00 

Pedlers' Licenses 6,000 00 

Police Department 52,000 00 

Public Buildings Department 21,000 00 

PubUc Welfare Department 450,000 00 

Public Works Department 300,000 00 

Registry Department 12,000 00 

Soldiers' Relief Department 34,000 00 

Street Laying-Out Department 60,000 00 

Weights and Measures Department 14,000 00 

County of Suffolk 600,000 00 

Corporation Tax 3,400,000 00 

Street Railway Tax 125,000 00 



$6,546,000 00 
Available cash in treasury, December 31, 1929 . . . 884,635 88 

$7,430,635 88 



VALUATION OF BOSTON. 



141 



Ot^t~CCi»(NU5ro-0l(N0000C0i-li-l'<5O>OC0e<5OO 



oooooooooooooooooooooo 
oooooooooooooooooooooo 



iCOCOt^OTfllOCOINC^IC 
00 U5 iO_rt O 00 05_05 O i-H > 



> t-H 115 .-H CD -rJH .-H 

5 T-H CO >o in t^ to 



_ 13 "O TO t^ 00 lO O (N CO to CO Tj< CO ■>*< 05 
<t~O:(NCOCOC<l(NCO<N»'5(NCOCO-#CO-*00CO 



05_t^tO_T)H_cO-*(N>0"5 ■-Hr-<C0_l>C0_OC<l^O«DrocO_ 

coo 00>OiCiO>-HO00 02C0tJ<im CO oocot^coco toes'* 
__ ___._ -5^0I>»0 i-JO 



oooooooooooooooooooooo 
oooooooooooooooooooooo 
iO_ic oo_ oo_ co_ in 00 o co_ r-<^ c-1^ -H >o ^ CO -^ ^_ 00 co_ t~^ t-^ 00 
co"co''inoo"-*'coco"ooo''cD'"c^i'io"r>ri>co(Noo''t-roo"cJt>cf 

00t~CO^>O00Tt<t>Tjl coco coco COi-ICOCOOOI>OtJ< CO 



S_CD CO_N 03 r-<^0 lO C-) t^ in CD CO c 

: in co" c-i" in cf Tf c 



•<J<-*00.-HCO»IMCOCOC 



r~>Hco(Ni3>03coi-iiHC<ioi-iOTti,-ico.-i05.-icD-*in 
co^oot^T-i03(NcO'-i03coinoooooo-*cocDO^i-HTtH 
>-< •* ■* iM CD i-H in (N (N c<i_o CO t>-_co (N en CO i-H in 00 1- in 

t-^ o" "-h" C^"05"0 oTo" "-H Oo'ci'tHOO" in 00" o" or cf 00 05 05 



ooooooooooooooc 
ooooooooooooooc 



OTji.-Hcoinoococ 



oq-*oo_c 
iNinoTi: 



500000 
500000 



t^TPOOr^COC5b-Tt<OCOt>-OiCOCOCDOcDt^rH«'^OCD 



^OCO_i-<^ 
<t^05(MCOCO(M(NCO(Min< 



^T^^co■*oo■* 



OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 

(^•^■^^i^t-^os^in 00 in <N 00 CO 00 i>i-i05c<io>.-Ht>ooin 

CO t^ in -*" CD in CO in 00" co" o" 01 00" .-< TjT o" co" "-T co" o 00 CO 
(Noc^oi-ii-icjoooiot^TjicDcot-inioinocooo 
CO c-^^ in CO 00 ocDOco'Mco*»*Tt<'*in'*c^c>.cooo5 
.-Tc-) 00 i-Tc; in iHi-TiH i-J ihn ■-? 



iOOOOOOOOOOOO 

3000000000 

3 TdH^t^^ lO^CD ■*[-. CD in 00 

3" o 00 ■•jT co" 00" t~^ co" in Tft" 

3t^(NCOr-lrHinTtlCO00 

•_^o in ro M i-H CO •* CD CD 
- - - - So im'co in co'in in ccJo 

T}i-*C5i-HCOO5(MCOCOlMC-lcOiMin(MCOCO'*CO-*00TH 



co_t^oqcDinrHt-cqoo_^OT 
to" CD in 00" 00 (N i>f co" t^ CO c 
Ttiincot-rHooinTjiascoc 
CO ■* •* cD_co in 1-1 in r- o c 

3" co" co" CD <m" CO co" c 



«© CD r-l CI 



O -Ph 



OJ- 



<u 



in 



C .-o 



^ ,y rr t~ s 



•-'^ , 



3f^^00_ 
^ ..CDO" 

^ -oot-ri 
00 „-o C0_9% 
o >i<o co" - 
c^ 03 in^ M 
°t ^ '^- rH--S 

^C Co — 

£^'5 3 

5 03 • > 05 

CO £co^2(S ot^ 
00 -£3 ■* Ni-i ._g t-. 

5 W» m Min 

^ o"S"i^a3o 

w e^^^M-c^ 

go<N gco'- 

£ot^ — '^. . 

COOInPhOS CO 
J 2 C J . § 

° -i? S =s 4> 
CcPQ ft-3> 

S.2 "s 2 ° I- 
is '^ g -w a c3 

03 c3 > ®CCt> 
10 <D .. L?'C 

og^ife-^ 

- '^ „-I3 « 
CD 03 ..COitj >-, 

00 |m«»2o 
r2 SjD CD^ .- 

^-_OiT) too 

;ScO S.>mS5 
03 • -J3_^ O „• 



■CDi-H g<M . 
- T}<l-H Oin tn 

"3.73 P-o'-^ 

COC^2.c« 



-SJ-S5K 



"S g gO:^- 



M 



^ o3o _ 

aft, ' 
03 «; 



00 a ft_; e 
>^ 03 030 g 

lO g 



(N^ S2>^ 
in ^ .0 in 15- 

— 03 12^ 03 
Tj<l-H.-t;-« o3 

03 CO ..-t. 
Q00OJ2-W 
" 03_0 03 3 

03^.^1-0 ° 

«3coco-s<! 

■' -::-§^- 



CO 



J^ 



to in. 



*^ 2 -"^ 
SS !»Co 

'" - t, o3cO 
^iJ ■■ 

;::; cd ^ J^ 

O „^ o a< o 

fL, *f o> 

Dj -"^ "kJ 

r; 03iMr-o-* 

<; .-."^^in '-I 
Ph Oco-.-cd'o" 

<H T}^ 4^1— ICO 

fin « S-E « S 

ti o> _ a 

J .-c4Q S K 
<; O 03^,3" 

M t^ rr • - 3 o 

03"m<>^.<l •- 



« ^a 



Q O 



O 00t»(N 00 



Soo-^-fe'il 
.S co",^-c^-"- 

PL, cEg . 

.-3 c3 CO ^ 

'S'S fto-g 

CO i- 03inr~ 

g&03^- 

00'-' *sS^ 
o S^yp^co • 

■-T— 5 "5 CO 
'^^° o S -^ 

--0-32SI?? 

05 0W ._- 



CO CO 



CO 



Ot^co m-g 
IM CO 03 O O 

eot^in ftH 



142 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 






.2 

p 
>> 

Id 
1 

1 


Ward 1. East Boston. 

Ward 2. Charlestown. 

Ward 3. Boston Proper. 

Ward 4. Back Bay, South. 

Ward 5. Back Bay. 

Ward 6. South Boston, North. 

Ward 7. South Boston, South. 

Ward 8. Roxbury, East; and South End. 

Ward 9. Roxbury, Central. 

Ward 10. Roxbury, West. 

Ward 11. Roxbury, South; Egleston Square 

and Korest Hills. 
Ward 12. Roxbury, East. 
Ward 13. Dorchester and Savin Hill. 
Ward 14. Dorchester, West. 
Ward 15. Dorchester, North Central. 
Ward 16. Dorchester, South. 
Ward 17. Dorchester Centre. 
Ward 18. Hyde Park and Mattapan. 
Ward 19. Jamaica Plain. 
Ward 20. West Roxbury. 
Ward 21. Brighton, South. 
Ward 22. Brighton, North. 






'3 
O 


O: O N (N ■* ,-l(M t^ (N U5 to 00 rt lO ■* 00 OS 00 •* C<1 ■* "O 

t^co^-tftoioNOmt^in iM t-< CO o to t^ ^ 00 o •* rj( 

COCO"-! t-l(M i-l lO 1-H ifl ri CO C^ to tH lO to IC 
gs: = = s g^ 

11 h^ 


to 

00 

■*. 
co" 

a 
■3 



a; 




-a 
a 
»3— • 

IB o 

. a) 

"o 
Eh 


ooooooooooo ooooooooooo 
ooooooooooo ooooooooooo 
(Nco_^t~.asin!M_^o_c^_>n tD>-H '*<^'>:*'>'* M.M.ot-;Oi 
(Nooto'c^'oTiCiN-rt'iCtCco'' r-To'toto'odt-Too'to'aJ'i-Hto 

00 CO !N O to lO (N r-l ,H O "-l 00 1^ "5 tO CO iC .-1 Ol l^ tO >0 
<N(Ni-H,-l iO(M(N(NiOC0 NC<IC0(M00iCO>r5Tl(0:_O 

^ co" rt (Nr-TcicqiN 
«_ .S. Sg.S, _ g.S 





OS 

00" 

a 
'3 



V 

z 




"3 
o 

1 

o 

1^ 


OOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOO 
OOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOO 

co_^io_co_rt t-.^'* r- -.f o_i> oc oc t- to_Ti<_-* 00 t^'i'-'.'-t'-l 
io'oo''co''co*co''"-<'ro''Vic'o"ci' C3'-*'tD''^''co"b-"i^i>oo"to'io' 

■5t<r-(Tl(T)<CO-*i-HOC^i-H00 tOC^Jt^lOtOr-lOOT-ICONtO 

S ^ "^ ^ ^ ^ 

■3 "3 "S== '3 '3 '3= - 

000 o a 





as 




"3 

Pi 

a 
"3 
O 


ooooooooooo ooooooooooo 
ooooooooooo ooooooooooo 
ooooaOM_to_o »ic Cftci_ ^i'-l.'^.'it'-l<^i.tO'-lCioo_o 
to"orooi"T)H'oo"oo"io'!M'"to">n •^•onnio^iaoa>ot>ci 
CO i-H i> m to OS to •* o> o> 10 ■* CO --1 1~ CO i^ Tt< 00 c<i 

^ N 00 <N C>l_Cq CO N ■<# CO CO_(N tH (N OS 10 00 in ■* O t-h 

0" 


§ 

(M 

s* 
c 
■3 



US 

Is 




< 


^riCOTjiiCtOt-OOCSO-H (NCO-^iOtOl^OOOsOi-KM 

rt,-l r-lrHT-lr-lT-lr-l.-l,-l(MCq(M 


"3 




















<N CO 


<N 


<N 


•«1< OS 








00 ^ 


1^ 


i-H t^ 


■* CO 




■<* CO 


rH <N 


OS 


IN IM 








IM CO 


00 




t» U3 






OS 05 


^ 








9* 







a s s o 



S8 
























to IM 


rfl 


to 00 


IM 














to 


■* 


t^ ■* 


t^ 






Ttl 


00 T-( 


(N 




Til CO 


I-l 


to OS 


IM 














t» to 




•^ to 


IN 




IM 


IN 




f0 




00 00 


tA 












99 







BOUNDARIES 

OF THE 

Twenty-Two Wards 

AS FIXED IN 1924. 



(143) 



144 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Ward Boundaries. 

[According to the Redivision of 1924.] 



Acting under the authority of Chapter 410, Acts of 1924, a special 
commission of eleven members of the State Legislature, all citizens of 
Boston, redivided the territory of the City, establishing on Dec. 30, 1924, 
the boundaries of 22 wards as below. 

Throughout the following descriptions the term "intersection" of 
streets, railroad locations, bridges, or the like, shall mean the intersection 
of middle lines unless otherwise clearly appearing; the phrase "through" 
or "to" a street, bridge, railroad location, or the like, shall mean through 
or to middle lines unless otherwise clearly appearing; and where (if at all) 
lines are mentioned as meeting or intersecting which do not technically 
meet or intersect, it shall be intended that such lines shall be extended for 
the purposes of these descriptions until they do so meet or intersect. 

T\Tiere the phrase "side" or "side-line" is used with reference to a 
bridge, street, railroad location or the like, it shall be intended to include 
any adjacent piers, stages or other auxihary structures, yards, or the like, 
causing jogs or irregularities in such lines. 

The words "shore line" or "shore line of Boston," or the like, shall, 
unless otherwise clearly appearing, mean the line beyond which building 
or wharfing-out may for the time being be legally forbidden when such 
line has been or shall hereafter be established, and otherwise extreme low 
water mark; or if on a stream from which the sea does not ebb then the 
thread of the stream or any boundary line in such stream between Boston 
and other municipaUty. 

All portions of the City of Boston lying outside the shore hne as herein- 
above defined, and including all the islands in Boston Harbor within the 
limits of the City of Boston, are included in Ward One unless expressly 
included in the description of some other ward. 

When streets or ways adopted as boundaries are private ways the loca- 
tion intended shall be taken to be the actual location on the last day of 
the year 1924. 

WARD ONE. 

(east boston.) 
Beginning at the intersection of the shore line of Boston in Chelsea 
creek with the westerly side of Meridian Street Bridge; thence by said 
westerly side of Meridian Street Bridge to its intersection with the bound- 
ary line in Chelsea creek, between Boston and Chelsea; thence by said 
boundary hne between Boston and Chelsea, and by the boundary line 
between Boston and Revere in said Chelsea creek and in Belle Isle inlet 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 145 

and by the boundary line in Belle Isle inlet between Boston and Winthrop 
to its intersection with the southerly side of Saratoga Street Bridge; 
thence by the southerly side of Saratoga Street Bridge to its intersection 
with the shore line on the easterly and southerly sides of that part of East 
Boston called Breed's Island and thence continuing by said shore line on 
Boston Harbor, Charles river and Mystic river to the point of beginning. 

WARD TWO. 

(CHARLESTOWN.) 

Beginning at the intersection of the shore line on the northwesterly side 
of Charles river with the northeasterly side of Washington street North; 
thence by said side of Washington street North to its intersection with 
the middle line of Charles river; thence by said middle line to its inter- 
section with the middle line of Miller's river; thence by said middle line 
of Miller's river to its intersection with the boundary line between Boston 
and Cambridge at the point where said boundary line turns an acute 
angle; thence by said boundary line and by the boundary line between 
Boston and Somerville to its intersection with the boundary line in Mystic 
river between Boston and Everett; thence by the last mentioned boundary 
line (making an irregular jog which includes the site of the old Charlestown 
Almshouse and so returning to the middle line of Mystic river), and by the 
boundary line between Boston and Chelsea to its intersection with the 
southeasterly side of Chelsea Bridge; thence by the southeasterly side of 
Chelsea Bridge to its intersection with the shore line; thence by said shore 
line to the point of beginning. 

WARD THREE. 

(boston proper.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Irving street and Cambridge street; 
thence through Cambridge street and Cambridge Bridge to its intersection 
with the boundary hne in Charles river between Boston and Cambridge; 
thence by said boundary line to the point where it turns an acute angle at 
the middle of Miller's river; thence by the middle line of Miller's river to 
the middle line of Charles river; thence by the middle line of Charles river 
to its intersection with the northeasterly side of Washington street North; 
thence by said northeasterly side of Washington street North to its inter- 
section with the shore line of Boston on the southeasterly side of Charles 
river; thence by said shore line to its intersection with the northeasterly 
side of Northern Avenue Bridge; thence by said side of said bridge to its 
intersection with the shore line on the southeasterly side of Fort Point 
channel; thence by said shore line to its intersection with Broadway 
Bridge; thence through said bridge and through Broadway to Lehigh 
street; thence through Lehigh street to Albany street; thence through 
Albany street to I^nion Park street; thence through L^nion Park street to 
Washington street; thence through Washington street to Pelhara street; 
thence through Pelham street to Shawmut avenue; thence through Shaw- 



146 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

mut avenue to Upton street; thence through Upton street to Tremont 
street: thence through Tremont street to Dover street; thence through 
Dover street to Shawmut avenue; thence through Shawmut avenue to 
Tremont street; thence through Tremont street to Park street; thence 
through Park street to Beacon street; thence through Beacon street to 
Bowdoin street; thence through Bowdoin street to Derne street; thence 
through Derne street and through Myrtle street to Irving street; thence 
through Irving street to the point of beginning. 

WARD FOUR. 

(back bay south, and FENWAY.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Boylston street and Berkeley street; 
thence through Berkeley street to Columbus avenue; thence through 
Columbus avenue to Clarendon street; thence through Clarendon street 
to Tremont street; thence through Tremont street to West Springfield 
street; thence through West Springfield street and through Wellington 
street to the location of the Providence Division of the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to Ward street; 
thence through Ward street to Huntington avenue; thence through Hunt- 
ington avenue to Francis street ; thence through Francis street to Brooldine 
avenue; thence through Brookline avenue southerly to the middle line of 
Muddy river in the Riverway, said middle line being the boundary line 
between Boston and Brookline; thence by said boundary line to its inter- 
section with the northeasterly side line of St. Mary's street extended; 
thence by the middle line of Muddy river across Brooldine avenue near 
the end of Boylston street, through the Back Bay Fens, to its intersec- 
tion with Boylston street near Charlesgate East and Charlesgate West; 
thence through Boylston street to the point of beginning. 

WARD FIVE. 

(back bay.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Cambridge street and Irving street; 
thence through Irving street to Myrtle street; thence through Myrtle 
street and through Derne street to Bowdoin street; thence through Bow- 
doin street to Beacon street; thence through Beacon street to Park street; 
thence through Park street to Tremont street; thence through Tremont 
street to Shawmut avenue; thence through Shawmut avenue to Dover 
street; thence through Dover street to Tremont street; thence through 
Tremont street to Clarendon street; thence through Clarendon street to 
Columbus avenue; thence through Columbus avenue to Berkeley street; 
thence through Berkeley street to Boylston street; thence through Boylston 
street to the middle line of Muddy river in the Back Bay Fens near Charles- 
gate East and Charlesgate West; thence by said line, through the Back 
Bay Fens, to its intersection with the middle line of Kilmarnock street 
extended; thence by said middle line extended and through Kilmarnock 
street to Brookhne avenue; thence through BrookUne avenue to the 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 147 

location of the Boston & Albany Railroad; thence through said location, 
following its northerly branch, to its intersection with the middle line of 
Blandford street extended; thence by said extended middle line and through 
Blandford street to Commonwealth avenue; thence through Common- 
wealth avenue to Granby street; thence through Granby street and the 
middle line thereof extended to its intersection with the boundary line in 
Charles river between Boston and Cambridge; thence by said boundary 
line to its intersection with Cambridge Bridge; thence through said bridge 
and through Cambridge street to the point of beginning. 

WARD SIX. 
(south boston north.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Broadway Bridge and the shore hne 
on the southeasterly side of Fort Point channel; thence by said shore line 
on said channel and on Boston Harbor, and including Castle Island, to 
its intersection with the middle line of Farragut road extended; thence by 
said extended line to its intersection with the middle line of East Seventh 
street extended; thence by said extended line (crossing the Strand way 
diagonally) and through East Seventh street to L street; thence through 
L street to East Sixth street; thence through East Sixth street to H street; 
thence through H street to East Fourth street ; thence through East Fourth 
street and through West Fourth street to F street; thence through F street 
to West Eighth street; thence through West Eighth street to D street; 
thence through D street to Old Colony avenue; thence through Old Colony 
avenue to Dorchester avenue; thence through Dorchester avenue to the 
location of the Midland Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
Railroad; thence through said location to the shore line on the easterly 
side of South Bay; thence by said shore line on South Bay and on Fort 
Point channel to the point of beginning. 

WARD SEVEN. 

(south boston south.) 
Beginning at the intersection of F street and West Fourth street; thence 
through West Fourth street and through East Fourth street to H street; 
thence through H street to East Sixth street; thence through East Sixth 
street to L street; thence through L street to East Seventh street; thence 
through East Seventh street and the middle line thereof extended (cross- 
ing the Strandway diagonally) to the middle line of Farragut road ex- 
tended; thence by said extended line of Farragut road to the shore line 
on Boston Harbor; thence by said shore line on Boston Harbor, and on 
"Old Harbor" so called, to a point near the southeasterly limits of Col- 
umbus Park where said shore line, running nearly north and south, turns a 
slightly obtuse angle and runs nearly easterly; thence by a straight line 
in a nearly southwesterly direction to the intersection of Columbia road 
with the location of the Plymouth Division of the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford Railroad; thence through Columbia road to Dorchester avenue: 



148 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

thence through Dorchester avenue to Edison Green (northerly fork); 
thence through said northerly fork of Edison Green to Pond street; thence 
through Pond street to the middle line of Pleasant street extended into 
Town Meeting square; thence through said square in said extended line 
to the middle line of East Cottage street extended into said square; thence 
by said extended middle line and through East Cottage street to Chase 
street; thence through Chase street to Willis street; thence through Willis 
street to Sumner street; thence through Sumner street to Stoughton street; 
thence through Stoughton street, through Columbia square and through 
Dudley street, to the location of the Midland Division of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to Dor- 
chester avenue; thence through Dorchester avenue to Old Colony avenue; 
thence through Old Colony avenue to D street; thence through D street 
to West Eighth street; thence through West Eighth street to F street; 
thence through F street to the point of beginning. 

WARD EIGHT. 

(south end and roxbtjrt north.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Washington street and Union Park 
street; thence through Union Park street to Albany street; thence through 
Albany street to Lehigh street; thence through Lehigh street to Broad- 
way; thence through Broadway and Broadway Bridge to its intersection 
with the shore line on the southeasterly side of Fort Point channel; thence 
by said shore line on the southeasterly side of Fort Point channel and on 
the easterly side of South Bay to the point where said line makes an 
obtuse angle nearly opposite Randolph street; thence by an extension of 
said line continuing its course previous to maldng said angle across the 
easterly side of South Bay, in a direct Hne till it intersects the location of 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said 
location, following the Midland Division thereof, to its intersection with 
Dudley street; thence through Dudley street to West Cottage street; 
thence through West Cottage street to Blue Hill avenue; thence through 
Blue Hill avenue to Moreland street; thence through Moreland street to 
Fairland street; thence through Fairland street to Winthrop street; thence 
through Winthrop street to Greenville street; thence through Greenville 
street to Dudley street; thence through Dudley street to Warren street; 
thence through Warren street to Washington street; thence through 
Washington street to the point of beginning. 

WARD NINE. 
(roxbury center.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Pelham street and Washington street; 
thence through Washington street to Warren street; thence through Warren 
street to Dudley street; thence through Dudley street to Washington 
street; thence through Washington street to Circuit street; thence through 
Circuit street to Regent street; thence through Regent street to Dale 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 149 

street; thence through Dale street to Washington street; thence through 
Washington street to Oakland street; thence through Oakland street to 
Thornton street; thence through Thornton street to Cedar street; thence 
through Cedar street to Lambert avenue; thence through Lambert avenue 
to Dorr street; thence through Dorr street to Highland street; thence 
through Highland street to Linwood street; thence through Lin wood 
street to Centre street; thence through Centre street to Gardner street; 
thence through Gardner street to Roxbury street; thence through Rox- 
bury street to Columbus avenue; thence through Columbus avenue to 
Tremont street; thence through Tremont street to Parker street; thence 
through Parker street to Ward street; thence through Ward street to its 
intersection with the location of the Providence Division of the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to 
its intersection with the middle line of Wellington street extended; thence 
by said extended line and through Wellington street, across Columbus 
avenue and through West Springfield street to Tremont street; thence 
through Tremont street to Upton street; thence through Upton street to 
Shawmut avenue; thence through Shawmut avenue to Pelham street; 
thence through Pelham street to the point of beginning. 

WARD TEN. 
(roxbury west.) 

Beginning at the intersection of the boundary line between Boston and 
Brookline, and Brookline avenue; thence through Brookline avenue to 
Francis street; thence through Francis street to Huntington avenue; 
thence through Huntington avenue to Ward street; thence through Ward 
street to Parker street; thence through Parker street to Tremont street; 
thence through Tremont street to the location of the Providence Division 
of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said 
location to Atherton street; thence through Atherton street and through 
Mozart street to Chestnut avenue; thence through Chestnut avenue to 
Forbes street; thence through Forbes street to Centre street; thence through 
Centre street to Perkins street ; thence through Perkins street to Chestnut 
street; thence through Chestnut street to the boundary line between 
Boston and Brookline; thence by said boundary line to the point of 
beginning. 

WARD ELEVEN. 
(roxbury south, also forest hills.) 

Beginning at the intersection of the location of the Providence Division 
of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad and Tremont street; 
thence through Tremont street to Columbus avenue; thence through 
Columbus avenue to Roxbury street; thence through Roxbury street to 
Gardner street; thence through Gardner street to Centre street; thence 
through Centre street to Linwood street; thence through Linwood street 
to Highland street; thence through Highland street to Dorr street; thence 
through Dorr street to Lambert avenue; thence through Lambert avenue 



150 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

to Cedar street; thence through Cedar street to Thornton street; thence 
through Thornton street to Oakland street; thence through Oakland 
street to Washington street; thence through Washington street to Dale 
street; thence through Dale street to Bainbridge street; thence through 
Bainbridge street to Ivingsbury street; thence through Kingsbury street 
to Kensington street; thence through Kensington street to Elmore street; 
thence through Elmore street to Walnut avenue; thence through Walnut 
avenue to Sigourney street; thence through Sigourney street to its inter- 
section with a northwesterly running boundary line of Franklin Park, a 
little southwest of Robeson street; thence by said boundary line of Frank- 
lin Park, on several courses as the same is legally estabhshed and crossing 
Glen road, to the intersection of said line with Forest Hills street; thence 
through Forest HiUs street to Morton road; thence through Morton road 
to Morton street; thence through Morton street to Forest Hills avenue in 
Forest Hills Cemetery; thence through Forest Hills avenue to Union ter- 
race in said cemetery; thence through Union terrace to its intersection 
with the northwesterly boundary line of Forest HiUs Cemetery; thence by 
said line on several courses as the same is legally established to Weld Hill 
street; thence through Weld Hill street to Hyde Park avenue; thence 
through Hyde Park avenue to Washington street; thence through Wash- 
ington street to Asticou road; thence through Asticou road to St. Ann 
street; thence through St. Ann street across South street to the Arborway; 
thence through the Arborway to Custer street; thence through Custer 
street to South street; thence through South street to Carolina avenue; 
thence through Carolina avenue, and through Williams street to its inter- 
section with the location of the Providence Division of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to the point 
of beginning. 

WARD TWELVE. 
(roxbury east.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Washington street and Dudlej^ street; 
thence through Dudley street to Greenville street; thence through Green- 
ville street to Winthrop street; thence through Winthrop street to Fair- 
land street; thence through Fairland street to Moreland street; thence 
through Moreland street to Blue Hill avenue; thence through Blue Hill 
avenue to Canterbury street; thence through Canterbury street to Morton 
street; thence through Morton street to Morton road; thence through 
Morton road to Forest Hills street; thence through Forest HiUs street to 
its first intersection with a boundary line of Franklin Park extended which 
runs about east and west about midway between Williams street and 
Glen road; thence by said boundary line of Franklin Park by several 
courses as the same is legally established, in a general northeasterly direc- 
tion, and crossing Glen road, to its intersection with Sigourney street; 
thence through Sigourney street to Walnut avenue; thence through Walnut 
avenue to Elmore street; thence through Elmore street to Kensington 
street; thence through Kensington street to Kingsbury street; thence 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 151 

through Kingsbury street to Bainbridge street; thence through Bainbridge 
street to Dale street; thence through Dale street to Regent street; thence 
through Regent street to Circuit street; thence through Circuit street to 
Washington street; thence through Washington street to the point of 
beginning. 

WARD THIRTEEN. 

(dorchestek north.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Fayston street and Blue Hill avenue; 
through Blue Hill avenue to West Cottage street; thence through West 
Cottage street to Dudley street; thence through Dudley street, across 
Columbia road and through Stoughton street to Sumner stieet; thence 
through Sumner street to Willis street; thence through Willis street to 
Chase street; thence through Chase street to East Cottage street; thence 
through East Cottage street to Pleasant street; thence through Pleasant 
street and its middle line extended into Town Meeting square to Pond 
street; thence through Pond street to Edison Green (northerly fork); 
thence through said northerly fork of Edison Green to Dorchester avenue ; 
thence through Dorchester avenue to Columbia road; thence through 
Columbia road to its intersection with the location of the Plymouth Divi- 
sion of th^ New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence by a 
direct line about northeasterly to the shore Une of Boston, on "Old Har- 
bor" so called, at a point where said line, running nearly east and west, 
turns a sHghtly obtuse angle near the southeasterly limits of Columbus 
Park and runs nearly north and south; thence by said shore hne on said 
"Old Harbor," on Boston Harbor and on Dorchester Bay, to a point 
where said Une, running nearly north and south, makes a sHghtly obtuse 
angle and runs nearly east, said angle being that nearest to the intersec- 
tion of Freeport street with the location of the Plymouth Division of the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence from said angle by a 
direct line nearly southwesterly to the intersection of the location of said 
Plymouth Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad 
and Freeport street; thence through said location to Bay street; thence 
through Bay street to Maryland street; thence through Maryland street 
to Savin Hill avenue; thence through Savin Hill avenue to Pleasant 
street; thence through Pleasant street to Hancock street; thence through 
Hancock street to Bird street; thence through Bird street to Cedar place; 
thence through Cedar place to the location of the Midland Division of the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said loca- 
tion to Quincy street; thence through Quincy street to Mascoma street; 
thence through Mascoma street to Fayston street; thence through Fayston 
street to the point of beginning. 

WARD FOURTEEN. 
(dorchestek west.) 
Beginning at the intersection of Blue Hill avenue and Fayston street; 
thence through Fayston street to Mascoma street; thence through Mascoma 



152 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

street to Quincy street; thence through Quincy street to its intersection 
with the location of the Midland Division of the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford Raih-oad; thence through said location to its intersection with 
Wales place; thence through Wales place to Rock terrace; thence through 
Rock terrace to OIney street; thence through Olney street to Geneva 
avenue; thence through Geneva avenue to Bowdoin street; thence through 
Bowdoin street, across Washington street and through Harvard street to 
its intersection with the location of the Midland Division of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to its 
intersection with the middle line of Elizabeth street extended; thence by 
said extended line and through Elizabeth street to Norfolk street; thence 
through Norfolk street to Evelyn street; thence through Evelyn street to 
Blue Hill avenue; thence through Blue Hill avenue to Walk Hill street; 
thence through Walk Hill street to Canterbury street; thence through 
Canterbury street to Blue Hill avenue; thence through Blue Hill avenue 
to the point of beginning. 

WARD FIFTEEN. 

(DORCHESTER NORTH CENTRAL.) 

Beginning at the intersection of the location of the Midland Division of 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad and Cedar pfkce; thence 
through Cedar place to Bird street; thence through Bird street to Hancock 
street; thence through Hancock street to Pleasant street; thence through 
Pleasant street to Savin Hill avenue; thence through Savin Hill avenue 
to Maryland street; thence through Maryland street to Bay street; thence 
through Bay street to its intersection with the location of the Plymouth 
Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence 
through said location (following the Shawmut Branch where said location 
forks near Harrison square) to Geneva avenue; thence through Geneva 
avenue to Dakota street; thence through Dakota street to Clay bourne 
street; thence through Clayboume street to Bowdoin street; thence 
through Bowdoin street to Geneva avenue; thence through Geneva avenue 
to Olney street; thence through Olney street to Rock terrace; thence 
through Rock terrace to Wales place; thence through Wales place to its 
intersection with the location of the Midland Division of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to the 
point of beginning. 

WARD SIXTEEN. 

(DORCHESTER SOUTH.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Talbot avenue and Lithgow street; 
thence through Lithgow street to Wainwright street; thence through 
Wainwright street to Centre street; thence through Centre street to Nixon 
street; thence through Nixon street to Mather street; thence through 
Mather street to Penhallow street; thence through Penhallow street to 
Melville avenue; thence through Melville avenue to Bourneside street; 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 153 

thence through Bourneside street to Centervale park; thence through 
Centervale park to Upland avenue; thence through Upland avenue to 
Park street; thence through Park street to its intersection with the loca- 
tion of the Shawmut Branch of the Plymouth Division of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location and through 
the location of the main line of said division where said branch joins it 
near Harrison square, to its intersection with the middle line of Freeport 
street; thence in a direct line nearly northeasterly to a slightly obtuse 
angle in the shore hne of Boston on Dorchester Bay, being the nearest 
angle in said line; thence by said shore line on Dorchester Bay and in the 
Neponset river to its intersection with the northeasterly side of the loca- 
tion of the Plymouth Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
Railroad; thence by said northeasterly side of said location to its inter- 
section with the boundary line in the Neponset river between Boston and 
Quincy; thence by said boundary hne in the Neponset river to its inter- 
section with Granite Bridge; thence through said bridge to its intersection 
with the location of the Milton Branch of the Plymouth Division of the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said loca- 
tion to its intersection with the middle line of Mellish road extended; 
thence by said extended line and through Mellish road to Adams street; 
thence through Adams street to its intersection with the southerly bound- 
ary line of Dorchester park extended, said line running nearly northwest 
and southeast; thence by said boundary line of Dorchester park in several 
courses as the same is legally established, running in a general westerly 
direction to its intersection with Dorchester avenue; thence through Dor- 
chester avenue to Talbot avenue; thence through Talbot avenue to the 
point of beginning. 

WARD SEVENTEEN. 

(DORCHESTER CENTER.) 

Beginning at the intersection of the location of the Midland Division of 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad and Harvard street; 
thence through Harvard street across Washington street and through 
Bowdoin street to Claybourne street; thence through Claybourne street 
to Dakota street; thence through Dakota street to Geneva avenue; thence 
through Geneva avenue to the location of the Shawmut Branch of the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said loca- 
tion to Park street; thence through Park street to Upland avenue; thence 
through Upland avenue to Centervale park; thence through Centervale 
park to Bourneside street; thence through Bourneside street to Melville 
avenue; thence through Melville avenue to Penhallow street; thence 
through Penhallow street to Mather street; thence through Mather street 
to Nixon street; thence through Nixon street to Centre street; thence 
through Centre street to Wainwright street; thence through Wainwright 
street to Lithgow street; thence through Lithgow street to Talbot avenue; 
thence through Talbot avenue to Dorchester avenue; thence through Dor- 



154 MUNICIPAL "REGISTER. 

Chester avenue to its intersection with the southerly boundary Hne of 
Dorchester park near Bellows place and St. Gregory's court; thence by 
said line on several courses as the same is legally estabUshed, in a general 
easterly direction to Adams street; thence through Adams street to MeUish 
road; thence through Mellish road and by the middle Hne of MeUish road 
extended to its intersection with the location of the Milton Branch of the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said loca- 
tion to its intersection with Granite Bridge; thence through said Granite 
Bridge to the boundary line in the Neponset river between Boston and 
Quincy; thence by said boundary hne and by the boundary line in Neponset 
river between Boston and Milton to its intersection with the middle line of 
Eagle Mill place extended; thence by said extended line and through 
Eagle Mill place to River street; thence through River street to Groveland 
street; thence through Groveland street and by its middle line extended 
through Board of Survey street No. 511 to Morton street; thence through 
Morton street to its intersection with the location of the Midland Divi- 
sion of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through 
said location to the point of beginning. 

WARD EIGHTEEN. 

(HYDE PAEK AND MATTAPAN.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Washington street and Poplar street, 
thence through Poplar street to Canterbury street; thence through Can- 
terbury street to its intersection with the location of the Providence Divi- 
sion of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through 
said location to Blakemore street; thence through Blakemore street to 
Hyde Park avenue; thence through Hyde Park avenue to Neponset 
avenue; thence through Neponset avenue to Canterbury street; thence 
through Canterbury street to Walk HiU street; thence through Walk Hill 
street to Blue Hill avenue; thence through Blue Hill avenue to Eveh'n 
street; thence through Eveljm street to Norfolk street; thence through 
Norfolk street to Elizabeth street; thence through Ehzabeth street and 
the middle line thereof extended to the location of the Midland Division 
of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said 
location to Morton street; thence through Morton street to the middle 
line of Groveland street extended through Board of Survey street No. 511; 
thence by said extended line and through Groveland street to River street; 
thence through River street to Eagle Mill place; thence through Eagle 
Mill place, and its middle line extended to the boundary line in the Nepon- 
set river between Boston and Milton; thence by said line in Neponset 
river to its- intersection with the boundary line between Boston and Ded- 
ham; thence by said boundary hne between Boston and Dedham to its 
intersection with the boundary line formerly existing between Boston and 
Hyde Park; thence by said former boundary line to its intersection with 
the middle hne of Turtle Pond road in the Stony Brook Reservation; 
thence through Turtle Pond road to Washington street; thence through 
Washington street to the point of beginning. 



-.-i3ifi^ 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 155 



WARD NINETEEN. 

(JAMAICA PLAIN AND ROSLINDALE EAST.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Centre street and Perkins street ; thence 
through Perkins street to Chestnut street; thence through Chestnut street 
to the boundary Hne between Boston and Brookline; thence by said 
boundary hne to AUandale street; thence through Allandale street to 
Centre street; thence through Centre street to Walter street; thence 
through Walter street to the southwesterly boundary line of the Arnold 
Arboretum; thence by said boundary line on several courses as the same 
is legally estabhshed, and by said line extended, to its intersection with the 
location of the West Roxbury Branch of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to its intersection with 
the middle line of Lee Hill road extended; thence by said extended line 
and through Lee Hill road to Washington street; thence through Washing- 
ton street to Poplar street; thence through Poplar street to Canterbury 
street; thence through Canterbury street to the location of the Providence 
Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence 
through said location to Blakemore street; thence through Blakemore 
street to Hyde Park avenue; thence through Hyde Park avenue to Nepon- 
set avenue; thence through Neponset avenue to Canterbury street; thence 
through Canterbury street to Morton street; thence through Morton street 
to Forest Hills avenue in Forest Hills Cemetery; thence through Forest 
Hills avenue to Union terrace; thence through Union terrace to its inter- 
section with the northwesterly boundary line of Forest Hills Cemetery; 
thence by said line on several courses as the same is legally established to 
Weld Hill street; thence through Weld Hill street to Hyde Park avenue; 
thence through Hyde Park avenue to Washington street; thence through 
Washington street to Asticou road; thence through Asticou road to St. 
Ann street; thence through St. Ann street across South street to the 
Arborway; thence through the Arborway to Custer street; thence through 
Custer street to South street; thence through South street to Carolina 
avenue; thence through Carolina avenue and through Williams street to 
its intersection with the location of the Providence Division of the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad; thence through said location to 
Atherton street; thence through Atherton street, across Lamartine street 
and through Mozart street to Chestnut avenue; thence through Chestnut 
avenue to Forbes street; thence through Forbes street to Centre street; 
thence through Centre street to the point of beginning. 

WARD TWENTY. 

(west roxbury and ROSLINDALE WEST.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Allandale street and the boundary line 
between Boston and Brookline; thence through Allandale street to Centre 
street; thence through Centre street to Walter street; thence through 
Walter street to the southwesterly boundary line of the Arnold Arboretum; 



■■^^•il'fi'iiil.gi. 



156 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

thence by said boundary line on several courses as the same is legally 
estabhshed, and by said line extended, to its intersection with the location 
of the West Roxbury Branch of the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
Railroad; thence through said location to its intersection with the middle 
line of Lee Hill road extended; thence by said extended line and through 
Lee HiU road to Washington street; thence through Washington street to 
Turtle Pond road in the Stony Brook Reservation; thence through said 
Turtle Pond road to the boundary hne formerly existing between Boston 
and Hyde Park; thence by said former boundary line and its extension as 
the boundary line between Boston and Dedham, and so following said last 
named boundary line, and the boundary line between Boston and Needham 
and the boundary line between Boston and Newton and the boundary line 
between Boston and Brookline, to the point of beginning. 

WARD TWENTY-ONE. 

(BRIGHTON SOUTH.) 

Beginning at the intersection of North Beacon street and Cambridge 
street at LTnion square; thence through Cambridge street to its inter- 
section with the location of the Boston & Albany Railroad; thence through 
said location to its intersection with the middle line of an old creek called 
Smelt brook, which formerly formed a part of the boundary line between 
Brighton and Brookline; thence by said middle line of Smelt brook, and 
the same extended, to its intersection with the boundary line in Charles 
river between Boston and Cambridge; thence by said boundary line in 
Charles river to its intersection with the middle line of Granby street 
extended; thence by said extended middle line, and through Granby street 
to Commonwealth avenue; thence through Commonwealth avenue to 
Blandford street; thence through Blandford street, and its middle line 
extended, to its intersection with the location of the Boston & Albany 
Railroad; thence through said location to Brookline avenue; thence through 
Brookline avenue to Kilmarnock street; thence through Kilmarnock street, 
and by its middle line extended, to its intersection with the middle line of 
Muddy river in the Back Bay Fens; thence by the middle line of said 
Muddy river in the Back Bay Fens and in the Riverway to its intersec- 
tion with the boundary line between Boston and Brookline in the north- 
easterly line of St. Mary's street extended; thence by said boundary line 
along the northeasterly side of St. Mary's street, along the southerly side 
of Commonwealth avenue, and so continuing on various courses as said 
boundary line is legally established to a point south of Chestnut Hill 
Reservoir where it meets the boundary line between Boston and Newton ; 
thence by said boundary line between Boston and Newton, around the 
southwesterly end of Chestnut Hill Reservoir, to the intersection of said 
line with Commonwealth avenue; thence through Commonwealth avenue 
to South street; thence through South street to Chestnut Hill avenue; 
thence through Chestnut Hill avenue to WiUiam Jackson avenue; thence 
through William Jackson avenue to Academy Hill road; thence through 



WARD BOUNDARIES. 157 

Academy Hill road to Chestnut Hill avenue; thence through Chestnut 
Hill avenue to Union street; thence through Union street to Nantasket 
avenue; thence through Nantasket avenue to Washington street; thence 
through Washington street to Cambridge street; thence through Cam- 
bridge street to Dustin street; thence through Dustin street to North 
Beacon street; thence through North Beacon street to the point of 
beginning. 

WARD TWENTY-TWO. 

(BRIGHTON NORTH.) 

Beginning at the intersection of Cambridge street and North Beacon 
street at Union square; thence through North Beacon street to Dustin 
street; thence through Dustin street to Cambridge street; thence through 
Cambridge street to Washington street; thence through Washington 
street to Nantasket avenue; thence through Nantasket avenue to Union 
street; thence through Union street to Chestnut Hill avenue; thence through 
Chestnut Hill avenue to Academy Hill road; thence through Academy 
Hill road to William Jackson avenue; thence through William Jackson 
avenue to Chestnut Hill avenue; thence through Chestnut Hill avenue to 
South street; thence through South street to Commonwealth avenue; 
thence through Commonwealth avenue to its intersection with the bound- 
ary line between Boston and Newton; thence by said boundary line to its 
intersection with the boundary line in Charles river between Boston and 
Watertown; thence by said boundary line in Charles river and by the 
boundary line in said river between Boston and Cambridge to its inter- 
section with the middle line extended of an old creek called Smelt brook, 
which formerly formed a part of the boundary line between Brighton and 
Brookline; thence by said extended middle line and the middle line of 
Smelt brook to its intersection with the location of the Boston & Albany 
Railroad; thence through said location to Cambridge street; thence through 
Cambridge street to the point of beginning. 

[For present boundaries of precincts see Document 77 — 1925.] 



members of 
City Government. 

I909-I925. 



MAYOES AND CERTAIN OTHER OFFICIALS SINCE 1822. 



ORATORS APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



MASSACHUSETTS MEMBERS OF 72° CONGRESS 

AND 
SUFFOLK COUNTY MEMBERS OF LEGISLATURE, 1931-1932, 



(159) 



160 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



I909> 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. "Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly, - 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr., 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward 2. 
Joseph H. Pendergast, 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward S. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4- 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr, 
James I. Green. 

Ward 6. 
John J. Buckley, 
William E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 
Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 
Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldbrmen. 
Feedehick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attridge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 

John T. Priest, City Clerk. 



COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President 
Ward 10. 
J. Henderson Allston, 
Channing H. Cox, 

William S. Kinney. 

Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward IS. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward IS. 
Leo F. McCullough,3 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward 14. 
Cornelius J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. Collins. 

Ward 15. 
John O'Hara, 
William T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O'Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
William D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 
Joseph O'Kane, Clerk, 



Ward 18. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 19. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
William J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward SO. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Gumming, 
William Smith, jr. 

Ward SI. 
William N. Hackett, 
John Ballantyne, 
Walter B. Meins. 

Ward 22. 
William H. Morgan, 
George Penshorn, 
Bernhard G. Krug. 

Ward 23. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward 24. 
Frank B. Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward 25. 
Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



^Elected for two years. ' Died June 23, 1909. 

» Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



161 



Term Ende in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



1910. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
CiTT Council. 
Walter Ballanttne, President. 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1911. 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods, 



1911. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City CoaNciL. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 

1912. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
John J. Attridge, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 

1913. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Kenny, President. 
Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 

1914. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note. — The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of nine members. 



162 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



1915. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Georqe W. Coleman, President. 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow, 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

1916. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Henry E. Hagan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst,* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J Kenny. 



* Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoffrey B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 



Term Ends in 1920, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



19IT. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
CiTT Council. 
James J. Storrow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 

191S. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 

1919. 

ANDREW J. PETERS Mayor. 
City Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E, Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington. 



Term Ends in 1919 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



163 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbodj', 
William J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



I920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James T. Mokiaety, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 

1921. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. | 

David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 

1922. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 

1923. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Daniel W. Lane, President. 
Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 

1924.* 

JAMES I\L CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 

1925. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 

James T. Moriarty, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriariy. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



I'ermEndsin 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



* By Chapter 479, Acts of 1924, the terms"'of all members of the City Council expire 
upon the first Monday in January, 1926. Upon the same'date a new City Council of 22 
rrjenibers, one from each ward, assume office. 



164 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis . . 

* Charles Wells 

♦Theodore Lyman, jr. 

* Samuel T. Armstrong 
♦Samuel A. Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman . . 

* Martin Brimmer 



Boston Nov. 26, 1770 

Boston Feb. 4,1772 

Boston Oct. 8,1765 

Boston Dec. 30, 1786 

Boston Feb. 19, 1792 

Dorchester April 29, 1784 

Boston Mar. 5,1798 

Boston Jan. 23, 1807 

Roxbury June 8,1793 

♦Thomas A. Davis | Brookline Dec. 11,1798 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Conway, N. H. .July 20, 1800 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Boston Feb. 27,1817 

Boston Oct. 19,1812 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston June 29, 1810 

Killingly, Conn.... Oct. 3, 1820 
Stoughton Aug. 23, 1825 



* Josiah Quincy, jr 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. Smith 

* Alexander H. Rice 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Joseph M. Wightman. . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Otis NorcroBS 

* Nathaniel B. Shurtleff.. 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R. Cutter 



♦Samuel C.Cobb 

♦ Frederick O. Prince 

♦ Henry L. Pierce 

♦ Frederick O. Prince 

♦ Samuel A. Green 

♦ Albert Pabner 

♦ Augustus P. Martin . . . , 

♦ Hugh O'Brien 

♦ Thomas N. Hart 

♦ Nathan Matthews, jr. . 
♦Edwin U. Curtis 

♦ t Josiah Quincy 

♦ t Thomas N. Hart 

♦t Patrick A. Collins 

§ Daniel A. Whelton 

t John F. Fitzgerald 

♦ t George A. Hibbard. . . 

If John F. Fitzgerald 

H James M. Curley 

IT Andrew J. Peters 

^ James M. Curley 

1[ Malcolm E. Nichols. . . 

James M. Curley 



(See under Chairmen of Alder- 
men) 
Taunton May 22, 1826 

Boston Jan. 18,1818 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 16, 1830 

Candia, N. H...Jan. 17,1831 

Abbot, Me Nov. 23, 1835 

Ireland July 13,1827 

North Reading.. Jan. 20,1829 

Boston Mar. 28, 1854 

Roxbury Mar. 26, 1861 

Quincy Oct. 15, 1859 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. 12, 1844 

Boston Jan. 21, 1872 

Boston Feb. 11, 1863 

Boston Oct. 27, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 20, 1874 

Jamaica Plain. . .April 3, 1872 

(See above) 

Portland, Me . . . May 8, 1876 
(See above) 



May 29, 1823 
July 1, 1864 
Oct. 28, 1848 
June 3, 1866 
July 17, 1849 
Mar. 26, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1862 
May 25, 1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 
July 4, 1872 
Feb. 14, 1856 
Aug. 20. 1879 
July 22, 1895 
Sept. 13. 1898 
Jan. 25, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21,1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
Aug. 1, 1895 
Oct. 4, 1924 
Dec. 11, 1927 
Mar. 28, 1922 
Sept. 8, 1919 



Years of 
Service. 



Sept. 14, 1905 



May 29, 1910 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31.. 3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35.. 2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42.. 3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846-48.. 3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53.. 2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57.. 2 
1858-60.. 3 
186 1-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873,10 mo. 
1873, 2 mo. 
1874-76.. 3 



1877.... 




1878 




1879-81 . 




1882 




1883.... 




1884 




1885-88. 




1889-90. 




1891-94. 




1895 




1896-99. 




1900-01 . 


.2 


1902-05, 


3i 


1905, 3i mo. 
19C6-07..2 


1908-09. 

1910-13. 

1914-17. 

1918-21 . 

1922-25. 

1926-29 

1930-34. 


.2 
.4 
.4 
.4 

.4 



* Deceased. 
§ Acting Mayor. 



t Elected for two years. 



t Twice elected for two years, 
if Elected for four years. 



CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. 



165 



Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1845, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of oflBce till the election of his successor, Thomas A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, WilUam Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December 11, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12, 
1853, and January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. Allen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his office on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Acting Mayor. 

Mayor Collins died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen, was Acting Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* William Washburn . . . 

* Pelham Bonney 

* Joseph Milner Wightman 

* Silas Peirce 

♦Otis Clapp 

* Silas Peirce 

* Thomas Phillips Rich . 

* Thomas Coffin Amory, jr. 

* Otis Norcrosa 

* George W. Messinger . . . 

* Charles Wesley Slack. . . 

* George W. Messinger. . . 

* Benjamin James 

♦Newton Talbot 

* Charles Edward Jenkins, 

* Samuel Little 

* Leonard R. Cutter 

* John Taylor Clark 

* Solomon Bliss Stebbins. . 
♦Hugh O'Brien 

* Solomon BUss Stebbins. . 
♦Hugh O'Brien 

* Charles Varney Whitten 

* Charles Hastings Allen . . 

* Patrick John Donovan . . 

* Charles Hastings Allen . . 

* Homer Rogers 

William Power Wilson. . . 

* Herbert Schaw Carruth. . 

* John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanford 

* John Henry Lee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7, 1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21, 1802 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

Scituate Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton. . . Mar. 3, 1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31, 1803 

Boston Aug. 16, 1812 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston Feb. 5,1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15, 1827 

JaSrey, N. H July 1, 1825 

Sanbornton,N.H.,Sep. 19, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18, 1830 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown .... April 9,1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11, 1840 

Baltimore, Md. .Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15, 1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro'. .July 5, 1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept. 18, 1886 
(See above) . . , 
Dec. 11, 1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5,1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
Aug. 1, 1882 
Dec. 21, 1906 
July 13, 1894 
Oct. 29, 1880 
June 8, 1910 
Aug. 1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 



Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1865-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

1883 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



* Deceased. 
Note. — The Mayor was tx officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



166 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



t Perlie Appleton Dyar . . . 
t Joseph Aloysius Conry . . 

* David Franklin Barry. . . 

* Michael Joseph O'Brien. 

James Henry Doyle 

Daniel A. Whelton 

I Charles Martin Draper. . 

* t Edward L. Cauley 

William Berwin 

* Louis M. Clark 

* Frederick J. Brand 



Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21. 1872 

Dedham Nov. 1,1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La.,Dec. 16,1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3, 1861 



July 23, 1911 
April 5, 1903 



April 19, 1928 



Mar. 15, 1914 
Mar. 16, 1912 



1897-98 

1898 

1899 

1900 

1901-04 

1905 

1906 

1906 

1907 

1908 

1909 



Presidents of the Common Council. 



Namb. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* William Prescott 

* John Welles 

* Francis Johonnot Oliver, 

* John Richardson Adan . . 
» Eliphalet Williams 

* Benj. Toppan Pickman. . 

* John Prescott Bigelow... 

* Josiah Quincy, jr 

•Philip Marett 

* Edward Blake 

* Peleg Whitman Chandler 

* George Stiliman Hillard, 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Francis Brinley 

* Henry Joseph Gardner. . 

* Alex. Hamilton Rice. . . . 

* Joseph Story 

* Oliver Stevens 

* Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . 

* Josiah Putnam Bradlee. . 

* Joseph Hildreth Bradley, 

* Joshua Dorsey Ball 

* George Silsbee Hale 

* Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . 



Pepperell Aug. 19, 1762 

Boston Oct. 14,1764 

Boston Oct. 10,1777 

Boston July 8,1793 

Taunton Mar. 7,1778 

Salem Sept. 17, 1790 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Boston Sept. 25, 1792 

Boston Sept. 28, 1805 

N. Gloucester, Me., Apr.l2, '16 
Machias, Me. . . .Sept. 22, 1808 

Roxbiuy April 12, 1795 

Boston Nov. 10, 1800 

Dorchester June 14, 1818 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Marblehead Nov. 11, 1822 

Andover June 22, 1825 

Portsmouth, N. H., Oct. 24, '28 

Boston June 10, 1817 

Haverhill Mar. 5, 1822 

Baltimore, Md. .July 11, 1828 
Keene, N. H. . . .Sept. 24, 1825 
Boston July 27, 1826 



Dec. 8, 1844 
Sept. 26, 1855 
Aug. 21, 1858 
July 4. 1849 
June 12, 1855 
Mar. 22, 1835 
July 4, 1872 
Nov. 2, 1882 
Mar. 22, 1869 
Sept. 4, 1873 
May 28, 1889 
Jan. 21, 1879 
Feb. 14, 1856 
June 14, 1889 
July 19, 1892 
July 22, 1895 
June 22, 1905 
Aug. 23, 1905 
Aug. 24, 1882 
Feb. 2, 1887 
Oct. 5, 1882 
Dec. 18, 1892 
July 27, 1897 
Jan. 21, 1902 



1822 

1823 

1824-25 

1826-28 

1829 

1830-31 

1832-33 

1834-36 

1837-40 

1841-43 

1844-45 

1846-47 > 

18472-49 

1850-51 

1852-53 

1854 

1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859-60 

1861 

1862 

1863-64 

1865 



♦Deceased. ' To July 1. 'From July 1. 

t Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898, to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1, 1898. 

+ Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L. 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. 167 

PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL, — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year.s of 
Service. 



* Joseph Story 

* Weston Lewis 

♦Charles Hastings Allen. . 
♦William Giles Harris. . . . 

* Melville Ezra Ingalls.. . . 

* Matthias Kich 



* Marquis Fayette Dickin- 
son, jr 



* Edward Olcott Shepard 

* Halsey Joseph Boardman 

* John Q. A. Brackett . . . 

* Benjamin Pope 

* William H. Whitmore. . 
Harvey Newton Shepard 

* Andrew Jackson Bailey. 

* Charles Edward Pratt.. 

* James Joseph Flynn . . . 

* Godfrey Morse 



* John Henry Lee 

* Edward John Jenkins. . . 

* David Franklin Barry. 

* Horace Gwynne Allen. . . 

* David Franklin Barry.. . 

* Christopher Francis 

O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry. . . . 

* Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley 

Arthur Walter Dolan 

William John Barrett 

Leo F. McCuUough 

* George Cheney McCabe, 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 1834 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Revere May 15, 1828 

Harrison, Me. . .Sept. 6, 1842 
Truro June 8,1820 

Amherst -Jan. 16,1840 

Hampton, N.H., Nov. 25, 1835 

Norwich, Vt . . ..May 19, 1834 

Bradford, N. H., June 8, 1842 

Waterford, Ire. .Jan. 13, 1829 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 1836 

Boston July 8,1850 

Charlestown July 18, 1840 

Vassalboro, Me., Mar. 13, 1845 

St. John, N. B 1835 

Wachenheim, Germany, 

May 17, 1846 

Boston April 26, 1846 

London, Eng. . .Dec. 20, 1854 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Jamaica Plain.. .July 27,1855 

(See above) 

Boston Feb. 17, 1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5,1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1, 1882 

Carmel, N. Y...Ju!y 5, 1873 



(See above) 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Deo. 13, 1914 

Sept. 18, 1915 
April 27, 1903 
Jan. 15, 1900 
April 6, 1918 
Sept. 24, 1879 
June 14, 1900 



Mar. 21, 1927 
Aug. 20, 1898 
Mar. 26, 1884 
June 20, 1911 

Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 
(See above).. 

April 25, 1899 



Dec. 5, 1928 



Dec. 27, 1917 



1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

1881' 

1881 2-82 

1883 3 

1883 » 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-83 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



* Deceased, i To October 27. » From October 27. ^ Xo June 11. * From June 14. 



168 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Presidents of the City Council. =* 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year of 
Service. 



Walter Ballantyne 

Walter Leo Collins 

John Joseph Attridge 

Thomas Joseph Kenny . . . 
Daniel Joseph McDonald. 

George W. Coleman 

Henry E. Hagan 

James J. Storrow 

Walter Leo Collins 



Francis J. W. Ford 

James T. Moriarty 

James A. Watson 

David J. Brickley 

Daniel W. Lane 

John A. Donoghue 

James T. Moriarty , 

Charles G. Keene 

John J. Heffernan 

Thomas H. Green 

Timothy F. Donovan . . . 

William G. Lynch 

Joseph McGrath 



Hawick, Scotland, Mar. 

Boston April 

Boston Feb. 

Boston Nov. 

Chelsea Aug. 

Boston June 

St. John, N. B..Feb. 

Boston Jan. 

(See above) 

Boston Dec. 

Amesbury Sept. 

Boston June 

Boston Mar. 

Boston Dec. 

Boston Aug. 

(See above) 

Gardiner, Me. . .Aug. 

Boston Jan. 

Boston May 

Boston Aug. 

Boston Oct. 

Boston Dec. 



17,1855 

7, 1878 

8, 1878 
18, 1863 
14, 1873 
16, 1867 
26, 1865 
21, 1864 



23, 1882 
22, 1876 

24, 1870 
14, 1889 

11, 1872 

12, 1885 



6, 1880 
27, 1893 
11, 1883 
21, 1889 
20, 1892 
20, 1890 



May 17, 1926 



Mar. 13, 1926 



Aug. 25, 1927 



1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 
1925 
1926 
1927 
1928 
1929 
1930 
1931 



* Single chamber, established in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-61). 

Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AtJTHGRITIES. 

For the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 

For the Anniversary of 

1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin. 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 WiUiam Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



National Independence, July 4, 1776. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Channing. 

1807 Peter O. Thacher. 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 Wilham Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



169 



1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 

1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 

1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Bassett. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 

1827 William Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. Hillard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 I vers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greene ugh. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward Griffin Parker. 

1857 Rev. Wilham R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth. 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 William Everett. 



1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 

1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 

1877 William Wirt Warren. 

1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 William E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. Pillsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W. Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead. 

1904 John A. Sullivan. 

1905 Le Baron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 

1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 

1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev. Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudlev H Ferrell. 

1925 Thomas H. Do wd. 

1926 Andrew J. Peters. 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Hon. Edith Nourse Rogers. 

1929 Hon. Robert Luce. 

1930 Hon. Herbert Parker. 



170 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



MEMBERS OF THE STATE LEGISLATURE 
FROM SUFFOLK COUNTY FOR 1931-1932. 



SENATORS. (8.) 



IsT Suffolk District 
2d Suffolk District 
3d Suffolk District 
4th Suffolk District 
5th Suffolk District 
6th Suffolk District 
7th Suffolk District 
8th Suffolk District 



CONDE BrODBINB, R. 

J. P. Buckley, D. 
Henry Parkman, Jr., R. 
James J. Twohig, D. 
Michael J. Ward, D. 
Gaspar G. Bacon, R. 
Joseph Finnegan, D. 
Max Ulin, R. 



REPRESENTATIVES. (48. 



W.4BD [William H. Barker, D. 

1. -^Alexander Sullivan.* 

[William H. Hearn, D. 



Ward fRoBERT Lee, D. 

2. \William p. Peendergast, D. 



W.4RD /J. p. HiGGINS, D. 

3. \F. A. M.\rcella, D. 



Ward jGeorge P. Anderson, R. 

4. \RicHARD E. Johnston, R. 



Ward /Christian A. Herter, R. 

5. \Eliot Wadsworth, R. 



Ward /William P. Hickey, D. 

6. IROBERT V. Lee, D. 



Ward /E. P. Durgin, D. 

7. \J. J. Reardon, D. 



WjiRD fF. D. Dailey, D. 

8. lA^^THONY A. McNulty, D. 



Ward /Timothy J. Costello, D. 

9. \J. P. Connolly, D. 



Ward /Thomas S. Kennedy, D. 

10. \James W. Hennigan, D. 



Ward /William F. Madden, D. 

11. \Timothy J. McDonough, D. 



Ward 
12. 



Ward 
13. 

Ward 
14. 

Ward 
15. 

Ward 
16. 

Ward 
17. 

Ward 
18. 

Ward 
19. 

Ward 
20. 

Ward 
21. 

Ward 
22. 

Chelsea 
Wards 
1, 2, 3. 

Chelsea 
Wards 
4, 5. 

Reverb 



(Abraham B. Casson, R. 
[Herbert P. F. Shaughnessy, 
D. 

/J. V. Mahoney, D. 
\Peter J. Fitzgerald, D. 

/Bernard Finkelstein, D. 
1 Julius H. Soble, D. 

(Marcus J. Levins, D. 
\Lewis R. Sullivan, D. 

fJOHN J. CONCANNON, D. 

IJoHN Edward Hurley, iD. 

fF. J. McFarland, D. 
\OwEN A. Gallagher, D. 

fJosEPH A. Logan, D. 
\Patrick J. Welsh, D. 

fj. C. White, D. 
\William C. Dolan, D. 

[Harold R. Duffie, R. 
\George a. Gilman, R. 

{John F. Murphy, D. 



<Leo M. Birmingham, D. 



{William H. Melley, R. D. 



{John W. McLeod, R. 



[Augustine Airola, R. 
\Thomas F. Carroll, R. 



Winthrop. John P. Clancy, D. 



No designation. 



MEMBERS OF CONGRESS AND DISTRICTS. 



171 



MEMBERS OF THE SEVENTY-SECOND CON- 
GRESS FROM MASSACHUSETTS. 



SENATORS. 



Marcus A. Coolidge, D. 
David I. Walsh, D. . 



REPRESENTATIVES . 
District 1 — Allen T. Treadway, R. 

2 — William J. Granfield, D. 

3 — Frank H. Foss, R. . 

4 — Pehr G. Holmes, R. 

5 — Edith Nourse Rogers, R. 

6 — A. Piatt Andrew, R. 

7 — William P. Connery, Jr., D. 

8 — Frederick W. Dallinger, R. 

9 — Charles L. Underhill, R. 
10 — John J. Douglass, D. 
11 — George Holden Tinkham, R. 

12 — John W. McCormack, D. 

13 — Robert Luce, R. 

14 — Richard B. Wigglesworth, R. 

15 — Joseph W. Martin, Jr., R. 

16 — Charles L. Gifford, R. . 

Terms end March 4, 1929. 



of Fitchburg. 
of Fitchburg. 



of Stockbridge. 

of Springfield. 

of Fitchburg. 

of Worcester. 

of Lowell. 

of Gloucester. 

of Lynn. 

of Cambridge. 

of Somerville. 

of Boston. 

of Boston. 

of Boston. 

of Waltham. 

of Milton. 

of North Attleboro. 

of Barnstable. 



CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS. 

General Laws, Chapter 57, Section 1. 

(As amended by Acts of 1926, Chapter 372, Section 1.) 

District 9. — Suffolk County: Chelsea, Wards 3, 4 and 5. Revere; 
Winthrop. Middlesex County: Everett, Maiden and Somerville. 

District 10. — Suffolk County: Chelsea, Wards 1 and 2. Boston, 
Wards 1, 2 and 3; Ward 8, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 14; Ward 9, 
Precincts 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15. Middlesex County: Cambridge, 
Ward 1. 



172 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

District 11.— Suffolk County: Boston, Wards 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 19 
and 20; Ward 9, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9. 

District 12.— Suffolk County: Boston, Wards 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 
17; Ward 8, Precincts 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13. 

District 13.— Suffolk County: Boston, Wards 21 and 22. Norfolk 
County: Bellingham, Brookline, Dover, Franklin, Medfield, Medway, 
Millis, Needham, Norfolk, Plainville, Walpole, Wellesley and Wrentham. 
Middlesex County: Ashland, Framingham, Holliston, Natick, Newton, 
Sherborn, Waltham and Weston. Worcester County: Hopedale, Milford 
and Southborough. 

District 14. — Suffolk County: Boston, Ward 18. Bristol County: 
Easton. Norfolk County: Avon, Brain tree. Canton, Dedham, Foxbor- 
ough, Holbrook, Milton, Norwood, Quincy, Randolph, Sharon, Stoughton, 
Westwood and Weymouth. Plymouth County: Abington, Brockton, East 
Bridgewater, West Bridgewater and Whitman. 



FOREIGN CONSULS IN BOSTON. 173 



FOREIGN CONSULS IN BOSTON. 



Albania — George N. Prifti, 6 Beacon street, room 202. 

Argentina — Joseph J. McLean, 33 Broad street. 

Belgium — Livingston Davis, 73 Tremont street. 

Bolivia — Jaime Mackay D'Almeida, 244 Washington street. 

Brazil — Jaime Mackay D'Almeida, 244 Washington street; Pedro 

Mackay D'Almeida, 244 Washington street, room 407, Commercial 

Agent. 
Colombia — Enrique Naranjo, 92 University road, Brookline; Arthur 

P. Gushing, 101 Tremont street, Vice-Consul, room 805, 10 High 

street, room 533. 
Costa Rica — Mario Sancho, 10 High street, room 333. 
Cuba — Jose M. Gonzales, 114 State street, room 60. 
Denmark — Niels H. Larsen, 812 Statler Building. 
Dominican Republic — Max L. Glazer, 262 Washington street. 
Ecuador — Max Otto von Klock, 143 Federal street, room 38, Acting 

Consul. 
Finland — John Alfred Anderson, 7 Temple street, Ouincy, Mass. 
France — J. C. Joseph Flamand, 161 Devonshire street, room 706. 
Germany — K. von Tippelskirch, 131 State street, room 322. 
Great Britain — Edward F. Gray, 150 State street, Consul-General; 

James A. Brannen, Vice-Consul. 
Greece — Dr. J. Pericles Polyvios, 25 Huntington avenue, Consul. 
Guatemala — William A. Mosman, 92 Water street, room 62. 
Hayti — B. Preston Clark, 55 Kilby street, room 33. 
Honduras — Mario Sancho, 10 High street. 
Iceland — Nils H. Larsen, 812 Statler Building. 
Irish Free State — P. G. Foley, Passport Control Officer, 84 State street, 

room 911. 
Italy — Pio Margotti, 142 Berkeley street, room 307; Silvio Vitale, 

142 Berkeley street, Vice-Consul. 
Japan — Courtenay Crocker, 44 School street. 
Mexico — Filomino Mata, 89 State street. 

Monaco — Charles E. Flamand, 161 Devonshire street, room 504. 
Netherlands — J. H. Reurs, 89 State street, room 2. 
Nicaragua — Jaime M. de Almeida, 244 Washington street, room 407. 
Norway — George T. Vedeler, 40 Broad street, room 803, Vice-Consul. 
Panama — Alfred Shrigley, 1 1 Pemberton square. 
Paraguay — Jerome A. Petitti, 18 Tremont street, room 822. 
Peru — Max Otto von Klock, 143 Federal street, room 38, Acting Consul. 
Portugal — J. M. Bettencourt Ferrerira, 161 Devonshire street, room 21A. 



174 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Russia — Joseph A. Corny, 1 Beacon street, room 905. 

Salvador — Ralph Tirrell, 112 Beach street. 

Spain — Pelayo Garcia-Olay, 234 Boylston street, Consul. 

Sweden — Carl W. Johansson, 19 Milk street, Vice-Consul. 

Switzerland — George H. Barrell, 88 Broad street, room 712, Consular 

Agent. 
Turkey — George R. Farnum, 6 Beacon street. 
Uruguay — William A. Mosman, 92 Water street, room 62. 
For countries not listed above, address the respective Consulates Gen- 
eral in New York City. 



INDEX — A-B 175 



INDEX. 



A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 . . . 165 

Americanization, Committee for 131 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1929) . 21-37 

Appeal, Board of 51 

Aquarium, Marine Park 82 

Arnold Arboretum (Park Dept.) 82 

Art Department 42 

Assessing Department 43 

Attendance officers (School Committee) 126 

Auditing Department 46 

Automobile fire apparatus (Fire Dept.) 57 

B. 

Bath-houses, list of ......... . 83 

Beach baths (Park Dept.) 84 

Births, Registrar of 97 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay : 

Art Commission 42 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission .... 108 

City Hospital Trustees 61 

City Planning Board 53 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 109 

Franklin Foundation Managers 117 

Library Trustees 68 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 72 

Public Welfare Overseers 71 

School Buildings 108 

School Committee 124 

Sinking Funds Commission 97 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 98 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission 108 

Boston Almhouse and Hospital 66 

Boston C% iZecord (official weekly of City) . . 24,29,30,41,99 

Origin and growth of 4, 5 

Boston Port Authoritv 110 



176 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Page 

Boston Proper: 

Assessment districts of 44 

Municipal Court of . . . 114 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 74 

Public Library and branches in 68 

Public Schools in 124 

Representatives of, in Legislature, 1931 170 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Boston Traffic Commission . 47 

Boston Year Book 10-99 

Bridge and Ferry Division, Public Works Dept 90 

Bridges (highway) in Boston . . . . . . . .91, 108 

In parks and parkways 79 

Brighton (Wards 21 and 22): 

Assessment districts of 45 

Municipal Court of 114 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in . 78 

Public Library Branch in 70 

Public Schools in 128 

Representatives of, in Legislature, for 1931 . . . . 170 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Budget Department 48 

Building Department 50 

Board of Examiners 51 

Building Heights, regulation of 132 

Buildings in charge of Public Buildings Dept 86 

C. 

Cemetery Division, Park Department ...... 84 

Cemeteries owned by City, with location and area .... 84 

Charlesto-mi (Ward 2) : 

Assessment districts of 44 

City buildings in , 86 

Municipal Court of 114 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 75, 77 

PubUc Library Branch in 70 

Public Schools in 125 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Chattel Loan Company . . . 120 

City and County Buildings 88 

City Charter, Amended (1909), with amendments to 1929, inch 21-37 

City Clerk Department 52 

City Council of 1931 11,12 

President of 11 

Committees of 14 

Officials of 13 



INDEX — C. 



177 



City Council of 1931. — Concluded. 

Order of, for Municipal Register of 1931 . 

Rules of 

City Council, members of, in years 1910-1925 

Presidents of, 1910-1931 .... 

City Government, 1931 

City Governments, 1909 to 1925 

City Hospital 

City Messenger 

City officials in charge of executive departments 

City Planning Department 

City, Origin and growth of . . . . 

City Prison (Police Dept.) 

City Record^ See Boston City Record. 
City Seal, origin of and present form 
City SoUcitor, office of, abolished 
Clerk of Committees (City Council) . 

Collateral Loan Company 

Collecting Department 

Commercial, Industrial and Publicity Bureau 

Commissioner : 
Budget 
Building 
Fire . 
Health 
Institutions 



Commissioners : 

Art 

Boston and Cambridge 
Bridges .... 
Boston Finance . 



48 
50 
54 
60 
66 

42 



Penal Institutions 
Police . 
Public Works 
School Buildings 
Soldiers' Relief . 



Election 
Park . 

108 Sinking Funds . 

109 Street . 

Commissions. See Boards and Commissions. 

Common Council: 

Presidents of, since 1822 

Congress (72d) Massachusetts members of . . . 

Congressional Districts in Boston 

Consuls of foreign countries in Boston .... 

Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) 

Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 

County of Suffolk : 

Auditor . . . . 110 Land Court . 

Commissioners . . . 110 Register of Deeds 

District Attorney . . 110 Sheriff. 

Index Commissioners . Ill Treasurer 



Paqb 

6 

15-20 

160 

166 

11-12 

160 

61 

13 

38-40 

53 

4-5 

123 

2,3 
67 
14 

120 
53 

131 

85 
121 

89 
108 

98 

54 

72 

97 

100 



166 
171 
171 
173 
67 
67 

111 
111 
111 
110 



178 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 









Page 


Courts and Officers of: 








Juvenile Court . 


115 


South Boston District 


115 


Municipal Court, Boston 


West Roxbury District 


Proper 


. 113 


(incl. Hyde Park) 


115 


Brighton District . 


114 


Probate and Insolvency, 


Charlestown District 


114 


Judges and Register 


113 


Dorchester District 


114 


Probation officers 


115 


East Boston District 


114 


Superior Court . 


112 


Roxbury District . 


114 


Supreme Court . 


112 


Criminal Investigation, Bureau of (Police Dept.) . 


121 


Deaths, registrar of 


D 


. 


97 


Deeds, Register of (Suffolk 


bounty) . 




111 


Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list) : 




Art ... . 


42 


Mayor 


41 


Assessing . 


43 


Park 


72 


Auditing 


46 


Penal Institutions 


85 


Boston and Cambridg< 




Police 


121 


Bridges Commission 


108 


Printing . 


85 


Boston Sanatorium . 


65 


Public Buildings . 


86 


Budget 


48 


Pubhc Welfare, Over 




Building 


50 


seers of 


71 


City Clerk . 


52 


Public Works 


89 


City Planning . 


53 


Registry . 


97 


Collecting . 


53 


Retirement Board 


46 


Election 


54 


School Buildings . 


108 


Finance Commission 


109 


School Committee . 


124 


Fire .... 


54 


Sinking Funds . 


97 


Franklin Foundation 


117 


Soldiers' ReHef . 


98 


Health 


60 


Statistics . 


98 


Hospital 


61 


Street Laying-Out . 


101 


Institutions 


66 


Supply 


101 


Law .... 


67 


Traffic . . . . 


47 


Library 


67 


Transit 


102 


Licensing Board 


119 


Treasury 


102 


Market 


71 


Weights and Measures 


103 


Department amounts allow( 


3d by Ma 


yor for 1930 and 1931 . 


134 


Detention, House of (Police 


Dept.) 




123 


District Attorney (Suffolk C 


'ounty) . 




111 


Assistants .... 






111 


Districts : 








Assessment . 


43 


Medical (County) 


116 


Fire .... 


56 


Municipal Court 


116 


Geographical, with wards 


, 143 


School 


125 


Legislative . 


170 







INDEX — D-F. 



179 



Page 
Dorchester (Wards 13-18) : 

Assessment districts of 44-45 

City Buildings in 87 

Municipal Court of 114 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 74 

School districts in 125 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Wards in, boundaries of 143 



E. 

East Boston (Ward 1): 

Assessment districts of 44 

City Buildings in 87 

District Court of 114 

Parks, playgrounds, squares, etc., in 74 

Pubhc Librarj' Branch in 70 

Relief station (hospital) in 65 

School districts in 125 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Ward 1, boundaries of 144 

Election Department 54 

Examiners, Board of (Building Dept.) 51 

Executive Departments of City 41-106 

Executive Officers, with term, etc . 41 

Fees for permits. Public Works Dept 90 

F. 

Fees for permits. Street Commissioners 101 

Ferries (North and South) owned by City 91 

Ferry. See Bridge and Ferry Division. 

Finance Commission 109 

Fire Department, with officials, fire-districts, etc 54 

Fire apparatus, companies and their officers .... 57 

Assignments by districts 55 

Total equipment in use and in reserve 59 

Firemen's Relief Fund 59 

Foreign Consuls in Boston 173 

Fountains, monuments, statues, etc. 82 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government . . 168 

Franklin Foundation 117 

Franklin Fund, Managers of 117 

Franklin Union (Trade School) 117 

Franklin Park 73-75-80 



180 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Q. 

Page 

Gain and loss, real, personal and polls, by wards . . . .141, 142 

Garage permits, fees (Street Commissioners) .... 101 

Government of Boston, 1931 11-12 

Members of, 1909-1925 160 

Gymnasia, public (Park Dept.) 83 

H. 

Harvard University, "tree museum" of 82 

Haymarket Square Relief Station (Hospital Dept.) ... 65 

Health Department 60 

Chief officials of 60 

Heights, Building, regulation of 132 

High Pressure Fire Service 97 

Highway Division, Public Works Dept 92 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) 61 

Medical and Surgical Staff 62 

ReUef Stations 61-65 

South Department 65 

House of Correction, Deer Island 85 

House of Detention (Police Dept.) 123 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part) : 

Assessment districts of 45 

Municipal BuUding in 89 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) . . . , . 115 

Playgrounds, parks, etc., in 78 

Public Library Branch in 70 

PubUc Schools in 128 

Streets paved, miles in 93 

Ward 18, boundaries of . 154 

L 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk County) Ill 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 113 

Inspectors : 

Health Dept 60 

Police Dept 122 

School Dept. (medical) 127 

Institutions Department: 

Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of ... . 66 

Superintendent of Long Island Almshouse and Hospital . 66 

J. 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) Ill 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City 163 

Justices of Municipal Courts . 113 

Juvenile Court . 115 



INDEX — L-0. 181 

L. 

Page 

Lamps, street, number and varieties of 92 

Land Court (Suffolk County) Ill 

Law Department 67 

Legislature of 1931, Suffolk County members of ... . 170 

Library Department 67 

Central and Branch libraries of 68-69 

Officials and Trustees of 68 

Reading-rooms of 69 

Trust funds, appropriation, etc. 68 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated .... 68 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) 51 

Public Works Dept 90 

Street Commissioners 101 

Licensing Board 119 

Licensing Division, Mayor's OflBce (Amusement licenses) . , 41 

Loan Association, Workingmen's 121 

Loan Company, Chattel 120 

Loan Company, Collateral 120 

M. 

Market Department 71 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets ...... 71 

Marriage Certificates (Registry Dept.) 97 

Massachusetts, Members of 69th Congress from .... 171 
Mayor: 

Department of 41 

Municipal Employment Bureau 41 

Office staff of 41 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1930 164 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk County) 116 

Monuments, statues, etc., belonging to City 80 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 117 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper, Brighton, Chariest own, Dorchester . . 113 

East Boston, Roxbury, South Boston, W. Roxbury . . 114 

Justices of (regular and special) 113 

Probation oflScers of 115 

Municipal Employment Bureau 41 

O. 

Old South Association 120 

Orators of Boston since 1771 168 

Overseers of Public Welfare 71 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 72 



182 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

P. 

Paqii 

Park Department 72 

Bridges located in parks and parkways 79 

Cemetery Division 84 

Commissioners and chief officials of 72 

Parks, Playgrounds, Squares, etc 73 

Statues, monuments, etc 80 

Parkman Fund, bequest of George F. Parkman .... 82 

Penal Institutions Department 85 

Pensions for retired teachers . 130 

Permits, fees for: 

Public Works Dept 90 

Street Commissioners 101 

Physicians and surgeons, consulting (City Hospital) ... 62 

Planning Department, City 53 

Playgrounds (Park Dept.) 74 

Police Department 121 

Commissioner and chief officials of 121 

Criminal Investigation, Bureau of 122 

Police Commissioner appointed by Governor, term . . . 107 

Police force, officers and patrolmen 122 

Stations and divisions of 122-123 

Printing Department 85 

Prison, City (Police Dept.) . 123 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 113 

Probation officers (Suffolk County) 115 

Public Baths and Gymnasia 83 

Public Buildings Department 86 

City and County buildings in charge of 86-89 

Superintendent and Chief Clerk of 86 

Ward-rooms, hired buildings, etc 89 

Public Celebrations, Bureau of 130 

Public Library. See Library Dept. 

Public streets, miles of paved, by districts 93 

Public Welfare, Overseers of 71 

Public Works Department 89 

Bridge and Ferry Division of 90 

Bridges, number of, maintained by City, etc 91 

Ferries, municipal, operated by 91 

Ferrj'boats 91 

Highway Division of . 92 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . . 92 

Public streets in charge of, by districts and miles ... 93 

Sanitary Division of 94 

Sanitary, Street Cleaning and Oihng Service ... 94 

Sewer Division of 94 

Water Division of 9i6 



INDEX— E-S. 183 
R. 

Page 

Refuse, removal of 94 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) Ill 

Registry Department 97 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 97 

ReHef stations (City Hospital) 65 

Representatives of Suffolk County in Legislature, 1928 . . 170 

Retirement Board 46 

Retirement System in effect Feb. 1, 1923 47 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Assessment districts of 44 

Municipal Court of 114 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 77 

Public Library Branch in 70 

PubHc Schools in 125 

Representatives of, in Legislature, 1931 . , . ., . 170 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Wards in, boundaries of ....... • 43 

Rules of the City CouncH 15-20 

S. 

Sanitary Service (Public Works Dept.), supervisor of . . . 94 

School Committee 124 

Department of, with officials . 124 

Elementary School districts 125 

High, Latin and Normal Schools 124 

Industrial and special schools 125 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers .... 130 

School Centers 130 

Special departments, with directors 126 

School Phjrgicians and School Nurses 127 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form 2, 3 

Senatorial districts in Boston, with Senators serving . . . 171 

Senators (U. S.) from Mass 171 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 94 

Sheriff of Suffolk County Ill 

Sinking Funds Department 97 

Soldiers' Relief Department 98 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Assessment districts of 52 

Municipal Buildings in 87, 88 

Municipal Court of 115 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 73, 74 

Public Library Branch in 70 

Public Schools in 125 

Representatives of, in Legislature, 1931 170 



184 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Paob 



South Boston (Wards 6 and 7). — Concluded. 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Wards in, boundaries of 43 

Statistics Department 99 

Boston Statistics 99 

Boston Year Book 99 

City Record 99 

Statues, monuments, etc., belonging to City 80 

Store refuse, removal of 94 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) .... 100 

Street lamps, number and varieties of 92 

Streets, public, miles of paved, by districts, 1930 .... 93 
Suffolk County, See County of Suffolk. 
Superintendent of: 

City Hospital ... 61 Printing .... 85 

Fire Alarm Branch . . 55 Public Buildings . , 86 

Maintenance (Fire Dept.) 55 Schools . . . . 124 

Markets .... 71 Supplies .... 101 

Parks 72 Wire Div., Fire Dept. . 55 

Police 122 

Supervisor of: 

Bridges, Public Works Dept 90 

Construction, Building Dept 50 

Elevators, Building Dept 50 

Gasfitting, Building Dept 50 

Plumbing, Building Dept 50 

Sanitary and Street Cleaning and Oiling Service ... 94 

Licensed Minors (School Dept.) 126 

Supply Department 101 

Supreme Judicial Court, clerks of 112 

Superior Court, clerks of . , 112 



Traffic Department 47 

Transit Department 102 

Treasury Department 102 

Trustees of: 

Hospital Dept 61 

Library Dept 68 

Statistics Dept 99 

V. 

Valuation of Boston 141 

Various City, County and State Officers 108 



INDEX — W-Z. 185 

w. 

Page 

Wachusett Reservoir 96 

Ward boundaries as fixed in 1924 143 

Ward-rooms, list of (Public Buildings Dept.) 89 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 96 

Water used in 1930, average gallons daily .96 

Water mains, miles of, 1930 , 96 

Weights and Measures Department 103 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20): 

Assessment districts in 45 

Municipal Buildings (Jamaica Plain and Roslindale) . . 87 

Parks, playgrounds, etc., in 74-75-77 

Public Library Branches in Jamaica Plain, Roslindale, and 

West Roxbury Center 70-71 

PubUc Schools in 125 

Representatives of, in Legislature, 1931 170 

Streets paved in, miles of 93 

Wards in, boundaries of 155 

White Fund, George Robert * . 131 

Workingmen's Loan Association 121 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of 48 

Members of 48, 49 

Zoological Garden, Franklin Park 82