(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

T^TTrrrmroKf— 



^ 



/f33 




Given By 



^ 



^ 



\ ^ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Boston Public Library 



http://www.archive.org/details/municipalregiste1933bost 



Boston 

MUNICIPAL REGISTER 

FOE 1933. 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827. 



The City Seal was adopted by ''An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.'" The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii., 57: "God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," pubHshed in 1827, and is 
established as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'Sicut Patrtbus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata, A.D. 1822,' as herewith set forth." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 




SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OEIGIN AND GEOWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted ''that the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they ''ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first "Court" held in Boston was a "General Court" 
on October * 19, "for establishing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for publique meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640. 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 5 

when ''Mount WooUaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present limits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres "for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) ''to build a public hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 

The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows: 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29, 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and 583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

* Old Style. 




( ^y^ M:AY0R of BOSTON yV 



[Document 38 — 1933.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL EEGISTER 
FOE 1933 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 

AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 

WITH CHANGES SINCE, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 



CITY OF BOSTON 
PRINTING DEPARTMENT 



\^'B'^ MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Contents. 



Paqb 

Introduction 9, 10 

The City Government, 1931 11 

Officials of the City Council 13 

Committees of the City Council 14 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1933) . . . 15-30 

Officers in charge of executive departments, with term, etc. . . 31-33 

Notes on the executive departments, lists of their officials, with 

term of each 34 

Various City, County and State officers, with term, etc. . . 67 
Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., with officials and 

assistants 70 

Regulation of Building Heights 91 

Members of City Government by years, 1909-1933 ... 96 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1933 102 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855 to 1909 .... 103 

Presidents of the Common Council, 1822 to 1909 . . . . 104 

Presidents of the City Council, 1909 to 1933 106 

Orators of Boston, annually appointed, 1771 to 1933 ... 106 



host:::, : 



7»^ 7, ) ^ 3/, 



1 



INTRODUCTION. 



INTRODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having been published in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 
1840 the title of the volume was: The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the 
document contained merely a register of the City 
Council and a list of the officers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title Municipal Register was adopted in 1841 
when the publication became more ambitious, incor- 
porating in its pages, the Rules and Orders of the Com- 
mon Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, statutes 
of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a list of the 
public schools, the City Government of 1841, the com- 
mittees and departments (consisting at that time of 
the treasury, law, police, health, public land and build- 
ings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public charitable 
institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a list of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876 statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive, The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes in 
same since that year have been stated in footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 





WfLLiAM J. Walsh 



Edward J. Lcarv 









Em"RANCE: 



Entrance 



Boston City Council Chamber 1933 





PRESIDENT BOSTON CITY COUNCIL 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 



OF THE 



CITY OF BOSTON, 
1933. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

Residence, 
350 Jamaicaway, Jamaica Plain. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1933. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 630, 730; 

Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; Stat. 1924, 

Chaps. 328 and 479.] 



JOSEPH McGRATH, President. 
William H. Barker, 66 Bayswater street. 
Thomas H. Green, 117 Baldwin street. 
John I. Fitzgerald, 7 Allen street. 
George W. Roberts, 20 Hemenway street. 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 464 Beacon street. 
George P. Donovan, 508 East Broadway. 
William G. Lynch, 670 Columbia road. 
John F. Dowd, 22 Greenville street. 
Richard D. Gleason, 66 Highland street. 
Leo F. Power, 12 Eldora street. 



Ward 


1. 


Ward 


2. 


Ward 


3. 


Ward 


4. 


Ward 


5. 


Ward 


6. 


Ward 


7. 


Ward 


8. 


Ward 


9. 


Ward 10. 



12 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Ward 11. Edward L. Englert, 18 Iffley road. 

Ward 12, David M. Brackman, 89 Waumbeck street. 

Ward 13. Joseph McGrath, 9 Castle Rock street. 

Ward 14. Israel Ruby, 102 Talbot avenue. 

Ward 15. Francis E. Kelly, 24 Topliff street. 

Ward 16. Albert L. Fish, 12 Rowena street. 

Ward 17. Thomas Burke, 23 Idaho street 

Ward 18. Clement A. Norton, 8 Austin street. 

Ward 19. Peter A. Murray, 7 St. John street. 

Ward 20. Joseph P. Cox, 176 Temple street. 

Ward 21. James Hein, 1132 Commonwealth avenue. 

Ward 22. Edward M. Gallagher, 21 Oak Square 
avenue. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. 332; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 11.] 

Clerk. 
Wilfred J. Doyle, 81 Wellington Hill Street, 
Dorchester. 

Assistant Clerk. 
John B. Hynes, 36 Laban Pratt Road. 

Regular meetings in Council Chamber, City Hall, fourth 
floor, Mondays at 2 P. M. 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICIALS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CITY MESSENGER. 

Office, City Hall, Room 55, fourth floor. 

Edward J. Leary. 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Council and 
committees thereof, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the City Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstaffs, the display of flags in the public 
grounds, and the roping off of streets and squares on public occasions. 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City Hall, Room 56, fourth floor. 

John E. Baldwin. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of all committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
Hall Reference Library. 

SECRETARY OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

William J. J. O'Neil. 

The Secretary of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

ASSISTANT CLERK OP COMMITTEES. 

Chester M. Macomber. 

ASSISTANT CITY MESSENGERS. 

City Hall, Room 55. 

William J. Walsh. 
Robert E. Green. 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OF PROCEEDINGS. 

Edward W. Harnden. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER, 



STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE CITY 
COUNCIL. 

1933. 



STANDING COMMITTEE. 

Executive. — All the members, Councilor Gallagher, Chairman. 



On the following committees the first-named member is Chairman. 
Appropriations. — Coun. Roberts, Kelly, Curtis, Norton, Barker, 

Gleason, Hein. 
Claims. — Coun. Ruby, Kelly, Fish, Green, Donovan. 
County Accounts. — Coun. Hein, Cox, Kelly, Roberts, Donovan. 
Finance. — • Coun. Dowd, Murray, Ruby, Roberts, Kelly, Norton, Gleason. 
Inspection of Prisons. — Coun. Barker, Lynch, Gleason, Donovan, 

Power. 
Jitneys. — Coun. Murray, Hein, Power, Gleason, Lynch. 
Legislative Matters. — ■ Coun. Gleason, Fitzgerald, Green, Barker, 

Curtis. 
Ordinances. — Coun. Englert, Brackman, Murray, Norton, Gallagher, 

Dowd, Fish. 
Parkman Fund. — Coun. Curtis, Roberts, Fitzgerald, Brackman, Ruby. 
Printing. — Coun. Cox, Burke, Brackman, Englert, Green. 
Public Lands. — Coun. Kelly, Englert, Hein, Lynch, Dowd. 
Rules. — • Coun. Lynch, Gallagher, Murray, Barker, Roberts. 
Soldiers' Relief. — Coun. Norton, Burke, Fish, Murray, Cox. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEE. 
Parks and Playgrounds. — • Coun. Fish, Fitzgerald, Donovan, Power, 

Curtis. 
Public Safety. — Coun. Power, Dowd, Roberts, Cox, Ruby, Englert, 

Barker. 
Unclaimed Baggage. — Coun. Murray, Burke, Brackman. 
Hospitals. — Coun. Kelly, Gleason, Burke, Green, Fitzgerald. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 15 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (CHAPTER 486) WITH 
AMENDMENTS TO SEPTEMBER 1, 1933, 
INCORPORATED. 



The Mayor and City Council. 

Section 1.* (The terms of office of the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messenger, 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of com- 
mittees, and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials whose terms 
of office are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensa- 
tion equal to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) 
The mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of 
this act, and their successors, shall thereafter have all the powers and 
privileges conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obligations im- 
posed by law upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as 
such or as county commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein 
otherwise provided. Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city 
council" appears, it shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city 
council acting on and after the first Monday of February, nineteen hun- 
dred and ten, under the provisions of this and the three following sections. 
The city council may, subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to 
time establish such offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem 
necessary for the conduct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may deter- 
mine, and abolish such offices or alter such salaries; and without such 
approval may fill the offices thus established and remove the incumbents 
at pleasure. 

Section 1. (Chap. 479, Acts of 1924.) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six, and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred 
and twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the 
first Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall 
be no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, which is printed as the next section. 



16 MUNICIPAL UEGISTER. 

twenty-four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and 
school committee of said city which would expire under existing law on 
the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are 
hereby extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of 
January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official 
whose term of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of 
such termination and the salary of any official whose term of office is 
extended as aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long 
as he continues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2.* The mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the city. The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the mayor and shall either adopt or reject the 
same within sixty days after the date when it is filed as aforesaid. If the 
said ordinance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty days it shall 
be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously withdrawn 
by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from again pre- 
senting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or withdrawn. 
The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order and may reduce 
or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval of the mayor, 
may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than school lands, all 
appropriations for the purchase of land other than for school purposes, 
and all loans voted by the city council shall require a vote of two thirds 
of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed only after two 
separate readings and by two separate votes, the second of said readings 
and votes to be had not less than fourteen days after the first, except 
that in the case of loan orders for temporary loans in anticipation of taxes 
the second of said readings and votes may be had not less than twenty- 
four hours after the first. No amendment increasing the amount of 
land to be sold or the amount to be paid for the purchase of land, or the 
amount of loans, or altering the disposition of purchase money or of the 
proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of the second reading and vote. 

Sect. S.f All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue, or any source other than loans shall originate 
with the mayor, who within thirty days after the beginning of the fiscal 
year shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county, and may submit thereafter supplementary 
budgets until such time as the tax rate for the year shall have been fixed. 
The city council may reduce or reject any item, but without the approval 
of the mayor shall not increase any item in, nor the total of a budget, nor 
add any item thereto, nor shall it originate a budget. It shall be the 
duty of the city and county officials, when requested by the mayor, to sub- 
mit forthwith in such detail as he may require estimates for the next fiscal 

* Sect. 2 as amended by Chap. 113, Acts of 1933. 
t Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 17 

year of the expenditures of the department or office under their charge, 
which estimates shall be transmitted to the city council. 

The city auditor may, with the approval in each instance of the mayor, 
at any time make transfers from the appropriation for current expenses of 
one division of a department to the appropriation for current expenses of 
any other division of the same department, and from the reserve fund to 
any appropriation for the current expenses of a department; and may also, 
with the approval of the mayor, at any time between November fifteenth 
and January first, make transfers from any appropriation to any other 
appropriation: provided, however, that no money raised by loan shall be 
transferred to any appropriation from income or taxes. He may also with 
such approval apply any of the income and taxes not disposed of in closing 
the accounts for the financial year in such manner as he may determine. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote 
of the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affairs, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shall make or cause to be made a written 
record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said appro- 
priation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the mayor to 
the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his objections 
thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expenditure of 
money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in part and 
disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items or parts 
of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts of items as 
he disapproves shall be void. 

Sect. 4A.* The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shall be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
less than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. Except as otherwise provided in this act, the organization, 
powers, and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate, or abolish 
departments in whole or in part; transfer the duties, powers, and appro- 
priations of one department to another in whole or in part; and establish 
new departments; and may increase, reduce, establish or abolish salaries 
of heads of departments, or members of boards. Nothing in this act shall 
authorize the abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or duties 
as established by law of the assessing department, building department, 
board of appeal, children's institutions department, election department, 
fire department, Franklin Foundation, hospital department, library depart- 
ment, overseers of the poor, schooUiouse department, school committee, 
or any department in charge of an official or officials appointed by the 
governor, nor the abolition of the health department. 

* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sect. 6. No contract for lighting the pubhc streets, parks, or alleys 
or for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a 
period of more than one year from the date thereof, shall be valid with- 
out the approval of the mayor and the city council aftejr a public hearing 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have 
been given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at 
a meeting to be held not earUer than one week from the date of the receipt 
of said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through 
a head of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting 
and publicly answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not 
be obliged to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor 
at any time may attend and address the city council in person or through 
the head of a department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as 
he may desire. 

Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, 
officer, or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this 
act, directly or indirectly on behalf of the city or of the county of Suffolk 
take part in the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the pur- 
chase of materials, supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, altera- 
tion, or repair of any public works, buildings, or other property; nor in 
the care, custody, and management of the same; nor in the conduct of 
the executive or administrative business of the city or county; nor in 
the appointment or removal of any municipal or county employee; nor 
in the expenditure of public money except such as may be necessary for 
the contingent and incidental expenses of the city council. The pro- 
visions of this section shall not affect the powers or duties of the city 
council as the successor of the present board of aldermen relative to 
state or military aid and soldiers' relief. 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 
such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, 
or employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon 
learning of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, 
shall notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission 
of such contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall 
abstain from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. 
In case of such interest on the part of an officer whose duty it is to 
make such contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by 
any other officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 19 

the mayor has such interest by the city clerk: 'provided, however, that 
when a contractor with the city or county is a corporation or voluntary 
association, the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares 
actually issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the con- 
tract within the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect 
the validity of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is 
also an officer or agent of the corporation or association, or soUcits or 
takes part in the making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by im- 
prisonment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred 
and twentj'-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is 
hereby repealed. 

The Executi^t: Committee. 

Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
office expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 
law appointed by the governor), shaU be appointed by the mayor with- 
out confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts 
in such work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or 
persons specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform 
the same, and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) shall be appointed -n-ithout 
regard to part}' affihation or to residence at the time of appointment 
•except as hereinafter provided. 

Sects. 10 and 11. Relating to civil service confirmation of appoint- 
ments by the Mayor were repealed by Chapter 167 of the Acts of 1930. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions 
of said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 
for terms of four years beginning with the first day of Maj' of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the mayor. 

Sect. 14. The maj'or may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by filing a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copj' of which shall be delivered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reph' in writing, which, if he desires, maybe 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not affect the action taken 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

unless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 
year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby abolished, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such 
appointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the 
cause for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, nor involve the city in any contract for 
the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the pro- 
visions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 

The Finance Commission. 

Sect. 17. Within sixty days after the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance commis- 
sion to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 
city of Boston, who shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for four 
years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, and 
thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for a term 
of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the unexpired 
term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. The 
members of said commission may be removed by the governor with the 
advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem sufficient. 
The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual salary 
shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly instalments 
by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 

Sect. 18. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the city 
of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that may 
appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report thereon 
from time to time to the mayor, the city council, the governor, or the 
general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 

the same seems to him to be of doubtful validity, excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum of 
forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission 
and the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the 
expenses as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The 
commission shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its 
appropriation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabling the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable 
the mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive 
the reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordi- 
nances, or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission 
shall have all the powers and duties enumerated in chapter five hundred 
and sixty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and 
therein conferred upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel 
for any witness at any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question 
and may offer pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross 
examination by the commission and its counsel. 

The City Cleek. 
Sect. 22. The present city clerk shall hold ofiice for the term for which 
he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen and quali- 
fied. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third year 
thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members of 
the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 
duly chosen and qualified, unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The City Auditor. 
Sect. 23. All accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection 
and revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such 
form as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person pre- 
senting for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to 
make oath before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy 
of such account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shall be 

*Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acts 
of 1924. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

perjury and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse 
to pay, in whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent 
or unlawful and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons 
for the refusal. 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any officer 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or delivered to said officer or board, a duphcate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted 
to him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any 
of the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened. 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for 
that department, and he shall furnish to the mayor and city council a 
statement of the unexpended balances of all the departments. He shall 
furnish quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing 
the amount of money expended by the mayor and the city council for 
contingent expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* All loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual instalments in the manner authorized 
by section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as 
amended by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the 
acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be 
established for said loan. All bonds shall be offered for sale in such a 
manner that the premiums, if any are received, shall be applied in accord- 
ance with the provisions of chapter three hundred and seventy-nine of the 
acts of the year nineteen hundred and ten. No city or county money 
shall be deposited in any bank or trust company of which any member 
of the board of sinking fund commissioners of said city is an officer, director, 
or agent. Nothing herein shall apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston 
issued under the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construc- 
tion of tunnels and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commis- 
sion, and said bonds may be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking, 
fund. 

Sect. 27. f Every officer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall on or before the sixth day of 
June in each year prepare and furnish to the city auditor a list of the 
officials and employees under said officer or board and paid by the city 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910, and Chap. 165, Acts 
of 1911. 

t Sect. 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, and Chap. 
133, Acts of 1922. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

or county on the first day of June preceding. Such lists shall give the 
names, residence by street and ward, designation, compensation, and 
date of election or appointment of each of said officials and employees 
and the date when each first entered the employ of the city or county. 
It shall be the duty of the city auditor to verify said lists by the pay rolls 
and to keep a copy of said lists open for public inspection; and when 
verified the said lists shall be printed by the superintendent of printing 
as a city document in the year 1923 and every two years thereafter. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in 
the public ways, the issue of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage 
of gasoline, oil, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruc- 
tion or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of 
conduits, poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or 
illuminating purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commis- 
sioners, to be exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the 
mayor; and the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by 
ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon 
which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or oil, or other in- 
flammable substances or explosive compounds, and the construction or 
use of coal holes, vaults, bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over 
the public ways shall be issued. 

Sect. 29. Within ninety days after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and 
sold under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved by the mayor a paper to be known as the City Record. 
All advertising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the 
purchase or taking of land, contracts for work, materials, or supplies, the 
sale of bonds, or the sale of property for non-payment of taxes shall appear 
exclusively in said paper; a list of all contracts of one thousand dollars or 
more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the amount of the bids; 
appointments by the mayor; and changes in the number and compen- 
sation of employees in each department, shall be published in the City 
Record. The proceedings of the city council and school committee together 
with all communications from the mayor, shall be published in the City 
Record. 

Sect. 30. Every officer or board in charge of a department in said 
city, when authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes 
in an existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, 
each contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about 
to do any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which 
alone, or in conjunction with other similar work or purchase which might 
properly be included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one 
thousand dollars, shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do 
otherwise, invite proposals therefor by advertisement in the City Record. 
Such advertisement shall state the time and place for opening the pro- 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

posals in answer to said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the 
officer or board to reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense 
with advertising shall be given by the mayor unless the said officer or 
board furnishes him with a signed statement which shall be published in the 
City Record giving in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by 
advertisement. 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval 
of the mayor the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, 
may take in fee for any municipal purpose any land within the limits 
of the city, not already appropriated to public use. Whenever the price 
proposed to be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than 
twenty-five per cent higher than its average assessed valuation during 
the previous three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but 
shall be taken by right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner 
provided for the taking of and the payment of damages for land for high- 
ways in said city. No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan 
or otherwise for the general purpose for which land is needed shall have 
been made by the mayor and city council by a two thirds vote of all 
its members; or in case of land for school purposes by the school com- 
mittee and schoolhouse department in accordance with law; nor shall a 
price be paid in excess of the appropriation, unless a larger sum is awarded 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. All proceedings in the taking of 
land shall be under the advice of the law department, and a record thereof 
shall be kept by said department. 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. f The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first 
and shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the municipal 
year shall begin on the first Monday in January and shall continue until 
the first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all members 
of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
years each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the 
school committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of January 
following their election. 

* Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

Sect. 34. In Boston beginning with the current year poUtical com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the rpunicipal 
primaries. 

Sect. 45.* Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall be 
elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first Mon- 
day in January following his election and until his successor is chosen and 
qualified and shall not be eligible for election for the succeeding term. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap. 94. 

Sect. 47. f If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, the 
city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve for 
the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time there 
shall be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election for 
the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall not 
apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which a 
new mayor is elected and the date he takes oflSce. In the case of the de- 
cease, inability, absence or resignation of the mayor, and whenever there 
is a vacancy in the ofiice from any cause, the president of the city coimcil 
while said cause continues or until a mayor is elected shall perform the 
duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause to perform 
such duties they shall be performed until the mayor or president of the 
city coimcil returns or is able to attend to said duties by such member of 
the city council as that body may elect, and until such election by the city 
clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be called 
"acting mayor" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only in matters 
not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make permanent 
appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections 8, 9, and 13 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
Sect. 8. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote 
upon the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the 
official ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the 
space at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. No ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such 
space. 

* * * Sections 35 to 44, inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 

* Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918, and Chap. 
479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Plan No. 1. A city council of fifteen members to consist of three mem- 
bers to be elected for two year terms by and from the voters of each of five 
boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at a salary 
of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as heretofore, 
except that the names of five hundred voters only shall be 
required to nominate each member. 



Plan No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Sect. 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

************** * 

Sect. 13.* If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one 
and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 48.* Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the 
year nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shall be elected at each 
regular municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward 
one councillor to serve for two years from the first Monday in January 
following his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49. t Each member of the city council shall be paid an annual 
salary of two thousand dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from 
the city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly 
or indirectly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. J The city council shall be the judge of the election and 
qualifications of its members; shall elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election in 
his ward to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member eldest 
in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of the 
absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. All elections by the city council under any provision of 
law shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answer- 
ing to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 

* * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, omitted because inoperative. 

* Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 

4, 1924. 

* Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 49 as amended by Chap. 348, Acts of 1930. 
t Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 



27 



stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or decUning to vote 
as the case may be; and the clerk or other proper officer shall record 
every such vote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as 
aforesaid. 

Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

Sect. 53.* Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the sixth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said elec- 
tion, signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at 
least two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such 
candidate at said election and signed in person for the nomination for 
city councillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, 
for which said nomination is sought, qualified to vote for such candidate 
at said election shall be filed with said election commissioners and the 
signatures on the same to the number required to make the nomination 
subsequently certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter pro- 
vided. Said nomination papers shall be in substantially the following 
form: 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 

CITY OF BOSTON 

NOMINATION PAPER. 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified 
to vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law, 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
election to be held in the City of Boston on November ,19 



Name of Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence. 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATURES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of can- 
didates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In 



* Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37, 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925; 
and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



28 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



case of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after 
written acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we 
authorize (names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority 
thereof as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed 
by law. 



Signatures of Nom- 
inators. 
To be made in person. 



Residence 
April 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence. 



ACCEPTANCE OF NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

I (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee 
or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) do hereby 
make oath that the persons whose names appear on this paper as nomina- 
tors signed the same in person. 



(Voter's Residence.) 

commonwealth op massachusetts. 
Suffolk, ss. Boston, 19 . 

Then personally appeared who, I am satisfied, is (the 

candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee, or the 
person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) and made oath that 
the foregoing statement by him subscribed is true, and that his voting 
residence is 

Before me. 



Notary Public or Justice of the Peace. 



The affidavit above set forth shall be sworn to before any officer qualified 
to administer oaths. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day of 
election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be ineli- 
gible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five per- 
sons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so authorized 
in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include candi- 
dates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many nomination 
papers for each office to be filled as there are persons to be elected thereto 

* Sect. 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1921; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 29 

and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the board of election 
commissioners on and after but not before the ninth Tuesday preceding 
the regular municipal election. Such papers shall be issued only to 
candidates who shall file with the election commissioners requests therefor 
in writing, containing their names with the first or middle name in full, 
the offices for which they are candidates, and their residences, with street 
and number, if any. Forthwith the election commissioners shall print or 
insert on such nomination papers the names of the candidates, the offices 
for which they are nominated and their residences, with street and number, 
if any. Not more than three hundred such nomination papers shall be 
issued to any candidate for mayor, and not more than two hundred such 
nomination papers shall be issued to any candidate for the school com- 
mittee and to any candidate for the city council there shall be issued not 
more than ten such nomination papers for a ward. No nomination papers 
except those issued in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55.* Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56.1 The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall when filed be a matter of public record; but the nomination papers 
shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been filed, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twentieth 
day preceding the city election. Such certification shall not preclude any 
voter from filing objections as to the vaHdity of the nomination. All 
withdrawals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p. m. on the fourteenth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p. m. on the thirteenth day preceding the city 
election. 

Sect. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
with law, together with his residence and the title and term of the office 
for which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the 
municipal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 
upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 

* Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921. 

t Sect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal elec- 
tion shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or 
mark, and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any 
such party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he 
was nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59. f On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of mimici- 
pal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be applicable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting 
elections and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under 
the provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said city. 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act shall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of 
Boston, except that nomination papers for offices to be filled at such elec- 
tions shall be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day 
following the calling of said special election. Every special municipal 
election shall be held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more 
than ninety days after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts, so far as inconsistent with this 
act, are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so 
far as inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. All acts and parts 
of acts affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of 
this act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61, inclusive, were accepted by the voters at the 
state election, November 2, 1909. 

Plan No. 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1925. 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
January 4, 1926. 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chao. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CHIEF OFFICERS OF EXECUTIVE DEPAUTMENTS. 31 



OFFICERS 

IN CHARGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute, ordinance, or both 
by each. (See Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 





How 

Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Art Commission (Five), 


Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 


Annually, 
one 


May 1 . . 


5 yrs. 


Assessors (Three) 


u 


u 


Annually, 
one 


April 1 . . 


3 « 


Auditor 


Ord 


tl 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 « 


Budget Commissioner, 


11 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Building Commissioner, 
City Clerk 


Statute. . . 

a 

Ord 


u 

City 
Council. 

Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 

Triennially, 

Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan . . 

May 1 . . 


4 « 


City Planning Board 
(Five) 


3 " 




5 " 


Collector 


Statute. . . 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Corporation Counsel... . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 


11 


Quadren- 
nially 

Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 
April 1 . . 


4 « 




4 « 



32 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OB Elected. 


Term. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 


4yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 


4 « 


Hospital Trustees 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


a 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






5 « 


Institutions Commis- 
sioner 


Ord 


tl 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Library Trustees (Five) 


u 


(I 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 « 


Markets, Superintend- 
ent of 


u 


a 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 




Annuallj', 
one 


" 1.. 






3 « 


Penal Commissioner 


Ord 


" ... 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Printing, Superintend- 
ent of 


(( 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Pubhc Buildings, Su- 
perintendent of 


« 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Welfare Depart- 
ment (Twelve) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3 « 


Public Works, Com- 
missioner of 


Ord 


« 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Registrar, City 


Statute. . . 


(( 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Sinking Funds Com- 
missioners (Six) 


ti 


a 


Annually, 
two ...... 


" 1.. 


3 « 



CHIEF OFFICERS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 33 





How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 


Officers. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 yrs. 


Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 


Ord 


tl 


Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 






5 " 


Street Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


K 


Annually, 
one 


1st Mon. 
in Jan... 






3 " 


Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 


Ord 


it 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 






4 « 


Traffic Commissioners . . 


Statute. . . 


It 


Quadren- 
nially . . . 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Transit Commissioners 
(Three) 


Ord ... 


it 


Triennially 

Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


3 " 


Treasurer 


Statute. . . 


it 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 


a 


tl 



















34 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 

Oflace, 27 City Hall, second floor. 

[Stat. 1885, Chap, 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C. Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
280, 367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274 and 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 2; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184, 348; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453 and 479; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167.] 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

John P. Mahoney, Secretary. 
James G. Tobin, Assistant Secretary. 
John J. Brennan, Assistant Secretary. 
Frank A. Benson, Chief Clerk. 
John J. Shaughnessy, Assistant Secretary. 
William L. Anderson, Assistant Secretary. 
Louis Barrasso, Assistant Secretary. 
Stanton R. White, Chief Licensing Division. 
Joseph Mikolajewski, Assistant. 

THE CITY RECORD. 
Office, 73 City Hall. 

Frank H. Cushman, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Jr., Associate Editor. 

MUNICIPAL EMPLOYMENT BUREAU. 

25 Church Street. 

John J. Shields, Director. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 35 



ART DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Faneuil Hall. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 11; 
Spec. Stat, 1919, Chap. 87.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Charles D. Maginnis, Acting Chairman. 
Arthur A. Shurcliff, Secretary. 

commissioners. * 

William Emerson, named by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1938. 

Arthur A. Shurcliff. Named by Boston Art Club. Term ends in 1937. 

William T. Aldrich, named by the Ti'ustees of the Public Library. 
Term ends in 1936. 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1935. 

Charles D. Maginnis, named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term ends in 1934. 

The Art Department, established in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each of the following-named 
bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the Trustees of 
the Boston Public Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of Architects, 
submits a list of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor appoints 
one person as Art Commissioner from each of the lists so submitted. 
Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the Mayor appoints 
his successor from a list selected by the body which made the original 
selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of 
the Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. More- 
over, all contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, 
statue, bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be made by 
said Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned 
by the City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 8; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 89; 
Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87, 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edwaed T. Kelly, Chairman. 
Fred E. Bolton, Secretary. 

• 

ASSESSORS. 

Henry L. Daily. Term ends March 31, 1935, 
Neal J. Holland. Term ends March 31, 1934. 
Edward T. Kelly. Term ends March 31, 1936. 

deputy assessors. 
Fred E. Bolton. John M. Hayes. 

James H. Phelan. . 

Daniel F. Ryan, Chief Clerk. 



One Assessor is appointed each year by the Mayor for a term of three 
years, from April 1, the Chairman of the Board of three members being 
designated by the Mayor. 

The Assessors published annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 

assistant assessors. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, §2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1926, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 37 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 192], Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6.] 

Rupert S. Carven, City Auditor. Term ends in 1934. 
Daniel J. Falvey, Assistant City Auditor. 

The office of Auditor was established by ordinance on August 2, 1824. 
Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been published 
by the Auditor since 1825. These reports now contain in addition various 
financial tables relating to appropriations, debt, etc., and a full account of 
the trust funds, also lists of City property, by departments. Less com- 
plete reports were published by finance committees from 1811 to 1824, 
inclusive. Since June 1, 1867, the Auditor has published monthly exhibits 
of all City and County expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk and Secretary 
of the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds. (Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 
3 and Chap. 6.) 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 
Office, 65 City Hall. 
[Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 
J. George Herlihy, Secretary. 
Wm. D. Kenney, Executive Officer. 
George E. Willard, ChieJ Clerk. 

the board. 
Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends Sept. 1, 1936. 
Edmund L. Dolan {ex officio). 
J. George Herlihy. Term ends Sept. 1, 1937. 

The Boston Retirement System was established on Feb. 1, 1923, as 
provided by Chap. 521 enacted in June, 1922, and accepted by Mayor and 
City Council in August, 1922. It is administered by a board of three mem- 
bers, the City Treasurer, ex officio, one person appointed by the Mayor, 
and the third member chosen by the other two. The compensation of the 



38 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

members is $10 each for every meeting attended, but not over $500 in anj' 
one 3'ear. After the original appointments, the term of each appointive 
member is four years. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 

Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

Joseph A. Conry, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 



OFFICIALS. 

Joseph A. Conry, Chairman. 

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner. 
Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner of Public Works. 
William P. Long, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
Theodore A. Glynn, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 
Marie A. Maher, Secretary. 

engineering division. 
John F. Hurley, Traffic Engineer. 
Philip T. Desmond, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The act establishing the commission became effective April 30, 1929, 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City Council, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, experts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The commission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 
vehicles on, and their exclusion from, all or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devises for the control 
of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public as to the 
rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

* Ex officiis. 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 39 

The latest revision of the Traffic Regulations, effective April 10, 1933, 
contains 220 one-way streets and 229 no parking streets. The Commission 
maintains 129 traffic signals, including two (2) interconnected systems in 
down-town Boston, 4,500 traffic signs, 98 flashing beacons and 143 traffic 
officer's spotlights. Thirty-five miles of white lines painted in the road- 
way, including crosswalks, center lines, lane lines and stop lines, are main- 
tained by the Commission. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 47 City Hall, third floor. 
[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Ord. 1927, Chap. 3.] 
Charles J. Fox, Budget Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Edward C. Wade, Secretary, 

The adoption in 1916 of a segregated budget recommended by the 
Budget Commission of 1915 was followed by the establishing of an inde- 
pendent department in 1917, to have the supervision of all details of 
method pertaining to the preparation of the annual appropriation schedules 
of city and county departments. These are submitted at the beginning of 
the financial year to the Maj^or, who, after 30 days' consideration, submits 
them to the City Council with his recommendations. The Commissioner 
of the Budget Department also prepares the form of departmental monthly 
reports of expenditures of all appropriations by items. 

Under the provisions of chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930 the Budget 
Commissioner is directed to prepare "classification and compensation 
plans" embracing every office and position in Suffolk County, the salary 
of which "is wholly payable" from the County Treasury. In effect, this 
Act establishes the Budget Commissioner as Personel Officer of Suffolk 
County. 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 
[Chap. 488, Acts 1924, Section 20, amended by Chap. 219, Acts of 1925, 
Chap. 350, Acts of 1926, Chap. 220, Acts of 1927, Chaps. 70 and 137, 
Acts of 1928, Chap. 88, Acts of 1929, Chap. 347, Acts of 1930, Chaps. 
16 and 180, Acts of 1931; and Chap. 143, Acts of 1932.] 

officials. 
Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 
H. Murray Pakulski, Secretary. 



40 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 





Members. 
Nominated by 


Term ends in 


Frederic H. Fav, Chairman . . . 


City Planning Board 


Ex officio 
1934 


Patrick H. Jennins's . . . '. 


Boston Central Labor Union 


Frank 0. Whitnev 


Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange .... 

/Boston Society of Architects. 

\Boston Society of Landscape Architects. 

Boston Chamber of Commerce 


1934 


George W. Judkins 


1935 


Dana Somes 


1935 


Eliot N. Jones 


1936 


James R. Gibson 


Master Builders' Association 


1936 


Frank Brewster 


Boston Real Estate Exchange 


1937 


Everett F. Gray 


Associated Industries of Mass 


1937 


CKfford N. Cann 

John H. Gilbody . 


United Improvement Association 

Team Owners' Association 


1938 
1938 


H. Murray Pakulski 


Appointed by the Mayor 









The Board consists of twelve members appointed by the Mayor in 
the following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated 
by each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Exchange, Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association, 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. All appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of office is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation, but any peti- 
tion for changing the zoning map must be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five dollars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the Board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all property deemed by 
the Board to be effected, change the boundaries of districts by changing 
the zoning map on file at the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs 
of a locality, to avoid undue concentration of population, to provide ade- 
quate fight and air, to lessen congestion in streets, to secure safety from fire, 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 41 

panic and other dangers, to facilitate the adequate provision of transporta- 
tion, water, sewerage and other pubHc requirements and to promote the 
the health, safety, convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the City 
of Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two-thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, bring a petition in the Supreme Judicial Court for the 
County of Suffolk for a writ of certiorari setting forth that such decision 
is in whole or part not in accordance with the duties and powers of the 
board. 

BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 

Offices 901-906 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550 {i. e., Boston Building Law) as amended; Stat. 
1910, Chaps. 284, 571, 631; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 76, 129, 342; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 259, 713; Ord. 1912, Chaps. 3, 9; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 50 
280, 577, 680, 704, 714, 729; Ord. 1913, Chap. 4; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 8 and Chap. 41, §31; Ord. 1914, Chap. 4; Stat. 1914, Chaps 
205, 248, 595, 782, 786; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 254, 306, 333, 352 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 118 and Spec. Stat. Chaps. 248, 277; Spec. 
Stat. Chap. 86; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 221; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chaps. 
104, 115, 179 (i. e., Building Law amended and codified); Spec. 
Stat. 1919, Chaps. 32, 155, 156, 163; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 91, 266, 440, 
455; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1, 5; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 
60, 109, 137, 280, 298, 476; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 61, 126, 174, 316; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 108, 278, 462; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 332, 335, 412 and 
488; R. O. 1925, 68, 415; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 219 and 335; Stat. 1926, 
Chaps. 182 and 350; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 42, 45, 82, 220, 246 and 342; 
Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 76, 137, 260, 320 and 325; Stat. 1929, Chaps, 
88 and 338; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 62, 146, 347 and 399; Stat. 1931, 
Chaps. 16, 171, 180, 200, 213 and 250, Stat. 1932, Chap. 143.] 
Edwakd W. Roemer, Building Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 

John H. Glover, Acting Clerk of Department. 

Joseph E. Cahill, Supervisor of Construction. 

Frank M. Curley, Supervisor of Construction. 

Frank Conroy, Chief of Zoning Division. 

Edwin H. Oliver, Chief of Egress Division. 

Wilfred H. Smith, Chief, Plan Division A. 

David Hastie, Chief, Plan Division B. 

Timothy J. Farrell, Supervisor of Elevators. 

William A. Wheater, Supervisor of Plumbing. 

James W. Flynn Supervisor of Gasfitting. 

Henry J. Clayton, Fire Protection Engineer. 



42 MUNICIPAL HEGISTER. 

The Board of Appeal (^. e., appeal from the decisions of the Building 
Commissioner) although appointed by the Mayor, is nominated by the 
leading real estate and builders' organizations. 

It is the duty of the Building Commissioner to issue permits for and 
inspect the erection and alteration of buildings (including schoolhouses) 
in the City, and the setting of boilers, engines and furnaces; to keep a 
register of all persons licensed to take charge of constructing, altering, 
removing or tearing down buildings; to keep a register of the names of 
all persons carrying on the business of plumbing and gasfitting, and of 
all persons working at the business of gasfitting, and to issue licenses to 
master and journeymen gasfiitters; to issue permits for and inspect the 
plumbing and gasfitting in buildings; to inspect elevators in buildings 
and report upon elevator accidents; to issue licenses for operators of 
elevators; to inspect at least monthly all theaters and moving-picture 
houses, and semi-annually all halls or places for public assembly; to 
inspect existing tenement houses; to report on all fires in, and accidents 
in or to, buildings, to approve plans of new buildings and alterations, 
and to pass upon all questions of zoning. 

Board of Examiners. 

[Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 5.] 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 

OFFICIALS. 

John F. Hicket, Chairman. 

Mary C. Dowd, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

John F. Hickey. Term ends in 1934. 
Harry J. Greenblatt. Term ends in 1936. 
Thomas K. Reynolds. Term ends in 1935. 

The Board of Examiners was established in 1912 as an adjunct of the 
Building Department, to consist of three members, appointed by the 
Mayor. The duties of these examiners are to determine the qualifica- 
tions of persons taking charge or control of the construction, alteration, 
removal or tearing down of buildings; to register and classify those who 
are competent according to fitness and certify such to the Building Com- 
missioner. Each examiner is to receive ten dollars for every day or part 
thereof of actual service, but not more than $1,000 in any one year. 
(Chairman $1,200.) 

The fees to be paid to the Board are: for new license, $5.00, and each 
annual renewal, $2.00; special license, $1.00. 



CITY CLEEK DEPARTMENT. 43 

BOARD OF APPEAL. 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550, §§ 6, 7; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 13, § 6 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 631; Stat. 1920, Chap. 440; Stat. 1923, Chap. 108 
Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1929, Chap. 88 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 116, 180.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph A. Tomasello, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Jr., Secretary. 

THE board. 
Daniel G. Slattery. Term ends in 1935. 
James H. Fitzpatrick. Term ends in 1934. 
Joseph A. Tomasello. Term ends in 1938. 
James A. McElaney, Jr. Term ends in 1937. 
F. Warren Clark. Term ends in 1936. 

The Board consists of five members, one appointed each year by the 
Mayor, one member from two candidates nominated in successive years, 
by the following organizations respectively: Real Estate Exchange and 
Auction Board and Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange; Boston Society 
of Architects and Boston Society of Civil Engineers; Master Builders' 
Association and Contractors' and Builders' Association; and Building 
Trades Council of the Boston Central Labor Union; also one member of 
the Mayor's own selection. The term of office is five j^ears. Each mem- 
ber is paid $10 per day for actual service, but not more than $1,000 in 
any one year. 

Any appHcant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
application has been refused in re building law or in re zoning law, may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days, and a person who has been ordered 
by the Commissioner to incur any expense may, within thirty days after 
receiving such order, appeal to the Board of Appeal by giving notice in 
writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled by this 
Board, after a hearing. 

Appeal may also be made to this Board from certain requirements of 
the Commissioner of Wires. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 31 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 

Wilfred J. Doyle, City Clerk. Term ends in 1935. 
John B. Hynes, Assistant City Clerk. 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The City Clerk is elected by the City Coimcil for the term of three 
years. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of aU city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments 
of wages, liens upon vessels, issues hcenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 

The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, respectively, Clerk, and 
Assistant Clerk of the City Council. 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41, §18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant City Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 
OflSce, 30 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12: 
Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5: Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 
1925, Chap. 333.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 
Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Frederic H. Fay. Term ends in 1934. 
William Stanley Parker. Term ends in 1938. 
Sidney S. Conrad. Term ends in 1937. 
Mary A. Barr. Term ends in 1936. 
Nathan Sidd. Term ends in 1935. 

Chapter 41 of the General Laws, Sections 70, 71 and 72, provides that 
every city and every town in the state having a population of more than 
10,000 shall, and towns having a population of less than 10,000 may, 
create a planning board which shall make careful studies of the resources, 
possibilities and needs of the town, particularly with respect to conditions 
injurious to the public health or otherwise in and about rented dwellings, 
and make plans for the development of the municipality, with special 
reference to proper housing of its inhabitants. 

In January 1914, an ordinance was passed by the Boston City Council 
establishing "The City Planning Board" consisting of five members, one 
of whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 45 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888, Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 
William M. McMorrow, City Collector. Term ends in 1934. 

The Collector collects and receives all taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any account to the 
City of Boston or the County of Suffolk. He has the custody of all leases 
from, and of all tax deeds of land held by, the City. Annual reports 
have been pubHshed since 1876, also monthly statements. The Collector 
is also County Collector. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 

[Stat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, §78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65, 93, 114, 209, 288, 340, 387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479: Stat. 1925, Chaps. 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Peter F. Tague, Chairman. 
Charles T. Harding, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Peter F. Tagtje. Term ends in 1936. 
Helen A. Macdonald. Term ends in 1934. 
Charles T. Harding. Term ends in 1935. 
Daniel H. Rose. Term ends in 1937. 

One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 
beginning April 1. The two leading political parties must be equally 
represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually by the 
Mayor. 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other officers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 362. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, City Building, Bristol street. 

[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, §§9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap= 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap. 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309.1 

Edward F. McLaughlin, Fire Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 

Herbert J. Hickey, Executive Secretary of the Department. 

Henry A. Fox, Chief of Department. 

Walter M. McLean, Deputy Chief. 

John J. Kelley, Deputy Chief. 

Albert J. Caulpield, Deputy Chief. 

Thomas H. Downey, Deputy Chief. 

Frank A. Sweeney, Deputy Chief. 

William F. Quigley, Deputy Chief. 

Louis C. Stickel, Deputy Chief. 

George L. Fickett, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 

Peter F. Dolan, Superintendent, Wire Division. 

Edward E. Williamson, Superintendent of Maintenance Division. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge 
of 1 Commissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 1 
Assistant Chief of Department, 7 Deputy Chiefs, 30 District Chiefs, 
1 Superintendent of Fire Alarm, 1 Superintendent of Maintenance, 1 
Medical Examiner, 1 Supervisor of High Pressure and Marine Service, 
1 Engineer of Motor Vehicles, 88 Captains, 132 Lieutenants, 1,278 Engi- 
neers, Assistant Engineers, Apparatus Operators, Masters, Aides, Hose- 
men and Laddermen, 19 Clerks, 18 Fire Alarm Operators, and 119 
Mechanics, Painters, Linemen, Repairers, Electricians, Workmen and 
other employees. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Wire 
Division), 1,744. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 47 

There are 65 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 55 employees, operat- 
ing 1,609 signal boxes, and a repair shop with 117 employees. Annual 
reports have been published since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of deputy chiefs, $4,500; district chiefs, $4,000; cap- 
tains, $2,700; lieutenants, $2,500; apparatus operators, $2,200; first 
year privates, $1,600 with annual increase of $100 until the maximum of 
$2,100 is reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising 
and inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors and substituting 
underground for overhead transmission. The Wire Division is in charge 
of 1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Clerk, 7 Clerks, 1 Engineer, 1 Chief Inspector, 
31 Inspectors, 1 Telephone Operator, 1 Chauffeur. A total of 44 men 
(included in above 1,744). 

BOSTON firemen's RELIEF FUND. 

By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 
the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 
elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body for 
he purpose of holding and administering the Firemen's Relief Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 

Main office, 1108, City Hall Annex, eleventh floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 448, 486; Stat. 
1913; Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3 and 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3. Ord. 1931, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Francis X. Mahoney, Health Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

DEPUTY commissioners. 

M. Victor Safford, M. D., Medical Division. 

Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 

Karl R. Bailey, M. D., Laboratory Division. 

George T. O'Donnell, M. D., Tuberculosis Division. 

Charles F. Wilinsky, M. D., Child Hygieiie Division and Director of 

Health Units. 
M. Victor Safford, M. D., Acting Deputy Commissioner, Sanitary 

Division. 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Patrick H. Mullowney, M. D. V., Food Division. 
Joseph W. Monahan, Vital Statistics Division. 

OTHER SUPERVISING OFFICERS. 

Robert E. Dyer, D. V. S., Veterinarian in charge of Dairy Division. 
Frank E. Mott, Milk Inspector. 

Alexander R. Burr, M. D. V., Veterinarian in charge of Abattoir Divi- 
sion. 
Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under 
the special statute of February 13, 1799. It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 
service should pass from the control of the Health Dept. when the property 
was leased to the United States, in effect June 1, 1915. 

On Oct. 26, 1926, the Conservation Bureau of the City of Boston (Sec. 
5, Chap, 18, 1926) was abolished, and instead there was created a Con- 
servation Division within the Health Department. March 31, 1927, 
Ordinance enacted abolishing the Boston Sanatorium Department and 
placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Mattapan under the jurisdiction of 
the Trustees of the Boston (pity Hospital; all other powers and duties and 
the Out-patient Department were transferred to the Health Commissioner. 
Chap. 1 of Ordinance of 1927 amended Feb. 16, 1931. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 

Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison avenue. 
[Stat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1893, Chap. 91; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 18, 
C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 521, § § 18, 19; Stat. 1924, Chap. 70.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph P. Manning, President. 
George G. Sears, M. D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Joseph P. Manning. Term ends in 1936. 

George G. Sears, M. D. Term ends in 1938. 

Carl Dreyfus. Term ends in 1935. 

Karl Adams. Term ends in 1934. 

Martin J. English, M. D. Term ends in 1937. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 49 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on June 1, 1864. Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River street, Matta- 
pan (for tuberculous patients) , the Haymarket Square Relief Station, the 
East Boston Relief Station, and the West Department, West Roxbury 
(this latter department not being in operation) . 

The Convalescent Home in Dorchester was closed in March, 1932. 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold 
real and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corpora- 
tion to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

HOSPITAL OFFICERS. 

John J. Dowling, M. D. — Superintendent and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 
Charles H. Pelton, M. D. — Assistant Superintendent. 
James W. Manary, M. D. — Executive Director of Out-Patient Department. 

SOUTH DEPARTMENT. 

Medical Director. — John J. Dowling, M.D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M.D. 

Assistant Physicians. — Morris Prizer, M.D., John C. Corrigan, M.D., 
Harold Lieberman, M.D. 

SANATORIUM DIVISION. 

Assistant Superintendent. — John F. O Brien, M.D. 

RESIDENT MEDICAL STAFF. 

Resident Medical Oificer, First Assistant. — Ralph Volk, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Second Assistant. — George L. Logan, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Third Assistant. — John J. Ahern, M. D. 
Resident Medical Oificer, Fourth Assistant. — Howard E. Smith. 

HAYMARKET SQUARE RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Bernard F. Devine, M.D., Samuel Sidell, M.D. 

EAST BOSTON RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Arthur G. Holland, M. D., James V. Sacchetti, 
M.D. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 808-811 City Hall Annex. 

[Special Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1921, Chap. 173; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; Ord.1924, Chaps. 9, 10.] 

James E. Maguire, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Mary Alma Cotter, Deputy Commissioner. 



50 MUNICIPAL KEGISTER. 

The Department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. In 1932 a total of 2,454 persons received 
aid. The department controls about 167 acres and buildings on Long 
Island valued at nearly $4,000,000. The steamer "George A. Hibbard'' 
is maintained for transportation service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 808 City Hall Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1933, the division had 
1,352 children in its care, was using 10 different institutions for medical 
care or special training and 687 foster homes. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City Hall, receives and investigates 
applications for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres. 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 19. 
Samuel Silverman, Corporation Counsel. Term ends April, 1934. 
Joseph A. Campbell, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
H. Mtxrray Pakulski, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Henry E. Lawler, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Julian D. Rainey, Assistajit Corporation Counsel. 
Charles E. Leonardi, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Mary A. Costello, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Hale Power, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
J. Burke Sullivan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Joseph A. Scolponeti, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Daniel J. Hanlon, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Walter J. O'Malley, City Conveyancer. 
James G. Wolff, City Conveyancer. 
John A. Brennan, City Conveyancer. 
Abraham B. Casson, Legislative Counsel. 
Edward D. Collins, Legislative Counsel. 
Daniel B. Carmody, Clerk of Department. 
Margaret G. O'Neill, Secretary. 

The office of "Attorney and Solicitor" was established in 1827; the 
office of Corporation Counsel and that of City Solicitor in 1881. The office 
of City Solicitor was abolished and the department placed under the sole 
charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 51 

As now organized the Law Department consists of a Corporation Counsel 
and thirteen assistants, three of whom are detailed to do the conveyancing 
work of the department. One member of the department acts as advisor 
to the Transit Department and one member as advisor to the Building 
Department. The department, in addition to prosecuting and defending 
all law suits and causes for and against the City and County, also does 
the conveyancing work for the various municipal departments. 

Legal opinions are furnished to the various department heads and city 
officials, including the School Committee, on matters relating to the dis- 
charge of their official duties. This department appears and represents 
the City and County before the various committees of the Legislature and 
before other public boards and commissions. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 

[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 

23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Ellery Sedgwick, President. 

William Cardinal O'Connell, Vice-President. 

Milton E. Lord, Director. 

Theodore D. Money, Assistant Librarian. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1935. 

John L. Hall. Term expires in 1936. 

Louis E. Kirstein. Term ends in 1934. 

William Cardinal O'Connell. Term ends in 1937. 

Ellery Sedgwick. Term ends in 1938. 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in number, 
are appointed by the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. They 
were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold real and 
personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This amount 
was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919, and to $20,000,000 in 1931. The 
first Trustees were appointed under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. 
The old Library Building on Boylston street was opened to the public 
in September, 1858, and closed, finally in January, 1895. The Central 
Library Building on Copley square costing $2,756,384, was first opened on 
March 11, 1895. The Library is maintained by an annual appropriation 
included in the regular budget of the City Government. Of this appro- 
priation ($1,195,144 in 1932) $180,035 was used for the purchase of books 
and periodicals. The Library trust funds in the custody of the City 
Treasurer amounted to $777,329.51 on January 1, 1933. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



52 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been 
continued without interruption. 

LIBRARY SYSTEM. 

The Library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Business Branch at 20 City Hall avenue, and thirty-three branch 
libraries with independent collections of books. There were, on January 1, 
1933, in the entire Library system, including mechanical departments, 
about 600 employees. 

Besides the daily delivery of books called for at the various branches, 
200 public and parochial schools and institutions and 40 fire-company 
houses are regularly supplied. 

For reading and reference the Library is open to all without formality. 
On January 1, 1932, there were 194,517 cardholders having the right to 
draw books for home use. The total number of volumes was 1,631,422 
including newspapers and periodicals. Books issued in 1932, for home 
use and for use through schools and institutions, numbered 5,567,681. 

CENTRAL LIBRARY, COPLEY SQUARE. 

Lending and reference, 1,121,891 volumes. 

Periodical reading-rooms, 1,599 periodicals. 

Newspaper reading-room, 243 current newspapers. 

Patent Library, 13,770 volumes. 

Bates Hall for reading and reference. About 10,000 volumes are on 
open shelves. 

Other Activities. The Fine Arts Department has facilities for copying 
and photographing, a collection of photographs of architecture, sculpture 
and painting, numbering 126,053 (including process pictures), besides 
illustrated books, portfolios, etc., and 16,725 lantern slides. Special assist- 
ance is offered to classes, travel clubs, etc. Free lectures mostly on art and 
travel topics, and concerts, are given during the winter season. The room 
for younger readers has about 10,000 volumes on open shelves for reading 
and circulation. A Teachers' Reference Room is maintained, and reference 
books are reserved for use in connection with University Extension courses. 
Story telling for children is regularly conducted under expert direction at 
the Central Library and principal branches. On the ground floor of the 
Central Library near the main entrance are three rooms, wherein is pro- 
vided a community and general information service, and on open shelves, 
a classified collection of general literature for circulation, consisting of 
about 2,500 volumes. The Library is open from 9 a. m. to 10 p. m.; 
Sundays from 2 to 9 p. m.; closed at 9 p. m. from June 15 to September 15, 

BUSINESS LIBRARIES. 

The Business Branch in the Kirstein Memorial Library at 20 City Hall 
Avenue contains a carefully selected collection of 11,903 books on business 
and allied subjects, and is conducted with a view to serving the business 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 53 

interests of Boston. The Business Branch is open on week days from 
9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., and on Saturdays from 9 a. m. to 1 p. m. 

Through an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library of 
the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration has been made 
a Branch of the Boston Public Library system. This Library's collection 
of business material, including the collection of the Business Historical 
Association, is freely open to the public for reference. Hours: 8.30 a. m. 
to 10 p. m. on week days; 1 to 10 p. m. on Sundays. 

BRANCH LIBRARIES. 

The 33 branch libraries are open on week days from 9a.m. to9p.m., 
with some variation of hours in summer. 



MARKET DEPARTMENT. 
Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22 and Chap. 40, §§ 29-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6.] 

Ambrose E. Woods, Superintendent of Markets. Term ends in 1934. 
Peter J. Connolly, Clerk and Deputy Superintendent. 

Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed during 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market, 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, established the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. 

The Superintendent of Markets may assign stands within their limits; 
and it is his duty, from time to time, to lease the stalls in the markets at 
rents not less than those established by the City Council. The market 
police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and under his control. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 
Offices, 33 Beacon Street. 
Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C.C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chap. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

William P. Long. Term ends in 1934. 
John J. Martin.* Term ends in 1935. 
Theodore G. Hafpenreffer.* Term ends in 1936. 

* Two commissioners serve without compensation. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS. 

William P. Long, Chairman. 
Daniel J. Byrne, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 
Charles A. Hogan, Deputy Commissioner. 
Richard J. Hayden, Superintendent of Parks. 

, Superintendent of Cemeteries. 

James E. O'^fai^hy, Superintendent of Baths. 
John J. Murphy, Chief Engineer. 
Albert L. Edson, Airport Superintendent. 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875. 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Grounds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 
and Recreation Department. In 1920 the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Dept. 

A list of the parks, public grounds and statues was published in the 
1932 Municipal Register. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 
Office 804, 805, 806, 807, City Hall Annex. 
[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 

William G. O'Hare, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
GECttiGE T. Reid, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department and is also charged with paroling 
power from Charles Street Jail, according as deemed necessary for its 
proper conduct. 

House of Correction. 

George F. A. Mulcahy, Master. 
This institution dates from 1895, and now includes a group of buildings 
valued at $1,531,000, the value of the land has been appraised at $605,900, 
a total of $2,136,900. 



PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 
Office and Printing Plant, 174 North street. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 

William J. Casey, Superintendent of Printing. Term ends in 1934. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 55 

The Superintendent of Printing has charge of all the printing, binding 
and stationery for the city departments. He also purchases the postage 
used by the city. 

The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910 it has been entirely self-supporting, and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance, 
including pay roll, has been met from the revenue. 

The plant is located at the corner of North and Richmond streets 
in a city owned building constructed for the exclusive use of the depart- 
ment. It is organized and equipped especially for the city's printing 
requirements and consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and 
material. The building and plant is appraised at approximately 
$470,000. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1005 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1.] 

John P. Englert, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends in 

1937. 
Thomas A. Callahan, Chief Clerk. 

The office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established 
by ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published 
by the Superintendent since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, 
repair and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 

A list of the city buildings in charge of this department was published 
in the Municipal Register for 1932. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 

[Formerly Overseers of the Poor.] 
Office, Charity Building, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Simon E. Hecht, Chairman. 
Walter V. McCarthy, Secretary. 
Edward H. Willey, Treasurer. 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

OVERSEEES.* 

Terms expire May 1, 1934. 
Simon E. Hecht. William H. Taylor. 

Margaret J. Gookin. Charles J. Fox. 

Terms expire May 1, 1935. 
Cornelia G. McMahon. Edward H. Willey. 

Mrs. Eva W. White. Nathan A. Heller. 

Terms expire May 1, 1936. 
Sophia M. Friedman. Agnes H. Parker. 

Morris Bronstein. Charles J. Mahoney. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
Hshed in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," consist- 
ing of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The Board 
has issued annual reports since 1865. 

The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trus- 
tees of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street, 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, but exacts work in its woodyard for meals furnished; and 
the Temporary Home on Chardon street for destitute women and children, 
opened in 1870. The total amount of the 18 permanent charity funds in 
the custody of the Overseers on January 1, 1933, was $764,240.73, the 
annual income from which (about $31,617) is distributed to pensioners 
according to the intentions of the donors of the funds. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 
General offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors. City Hall Annex. 
fOrd. 1910, Chap. 9; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 553 and 571; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
312; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1 and 10; Stat. 1912, Chap. 348; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 28; Stat. 1914, Chap. 324; Ord. 1916, Chap. 3; Ord. 1917^ 
Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, Chap. 3; Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 1929, Chap! 
16.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Bernard C. Kelley, Chief Clerk. 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of Public Works, the latter authorized 
to create the necessary divisions of the department according to his judg- 
ment. The following divisions have been created, viz., Bridge and Ferry, 
Highway, Sewer, Sanitary, Water, and Water Income each in charge of a 
Division Engineer. 

*The Overseers serve without compensation. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 



57 



The Commissioner of Public Works, who must be a civil engineer of 
recognized standing in his profession, has control over the construction 
of all streets and sewers; the care and management of all bridges used as 
highways; of the ferries owned and operated by the City, and of the street 
lamps maintained by the City; the cleaning, repairing and sprinkling of 
streets and the removal of house offal and refuse; the maintenance and 
operation of all fixtures and appliances held by the City for purposes of 
water supply; and over the granting of permits to open, occupy, obstruct 
and use portions of streets. 

Bridge and Ferry Division. 
Office, 602 City HaU Annex, sixth floor. 
Rudolph J. Thanisch, Acting Division Engineer. 
L. B. Reilly, Engineer of Construction. 
John de Meulenaer, Designing Engineer. 
Thomas H. Sexton, Supervisor of Bridges. 
John F. Sullivan, Supervisor of Ferries and Tunnel. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction and main- 
tenance of the greater part of the highway bridges within the limits of the 
City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the abohshment 
of grade crossings, also the special engineering work for other City depart- 
ments. All drawtenders are appointed by and subject to the control of 
the Commissioner of Public Works. 

HIGHWAY DIVISION. 
Main Office, 501 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 
Joshua Atwood, Division Engineer. 
William T. Morrissey, Chief Engineer. 
Richard N. Power, Lighting Service. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all public streets, the issuing of permits to open, occupy and obstruct 
portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the electric and gas lamps in the 
public streets, alleys, parks and public grounds, and the placing of glass 
street signs and numbers therein, the numbering of buildings and the 
placing of all street signs. 

STREET LAMPS IN USE JANUARY 1, 1933. 



Electric. 



Gas. 



Total. 



Magnetite arc 

Tungsten incandescent. . . 

Single mantle 

Single mantle (fire alarm). 

Totals 



3,712 
9,602 



13,314 



9,438 
217 



9,655 



3,712 

9,602 

9,438 

217 



22,969 



58 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

SANITARY DIVISION. 

Main Office, 510 City Hall Annex. 
Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
Petek F. Gerrity, Supervisor. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the collection and removal of ashes, 
garbage and refuse, and the cleaning, oiling and watering of streets. 

Total expenditure for year 1932, $3,095,424.80 for collection and dis- 
posal of the City's waste materials and the cleaning, oUing and flushing 
of streets. 

REMOVAL OF STORE REFUSE. 

The removal of refuse from shops, stores and warehouses, involving 
much extra labor, is attended to by the Sanitary Division and charged for 
at 11 cents a barrel or bundle (not larger than a flour barrel). No re- 
movals are made except on delivery of tickets obtainable at 504 City Hall 
Annex, or from authorized agents. 

SEWER DIVISION. 
Main Office, 701 City Hall Annex. 
George W. Dakin, Division Engineer. 
George S. Coleman, Carl S. Drake, Francis J. Gately, District 

Engineers. 
William V. P. Hoar, Maintenance and Records Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has supervision of all property and personnel 
of the Sewer Division, and the maintenance and construction of all sewer- 
age works. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority : 

Revised Ordinances of 1925, chapters 27 and 39. 

Acts of 1897, chapter 426, as amended by Acts of 1899, chap. 450, and 
Acts of 1903, chap. 268, and Acts of 1930, chap. 178. 

Acts of 1903, chap. 383, as amended by Acts of 1907, chap. 464. 

Acts of 1907, chap. 550. 

Acts of 1908, chaps. 204 and 514. 

Special Acts of 1918, chap. 74. 

Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by 
the Public Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners, 
who also award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction. 
The assessment upon an estate for a new sewer is limited to $4.00 per 
linear foot, and it is a lien upon the property. An Act of the Legislature 
prohibits the assessment in similar cases of the cost of surface drains. 

In the calendar year 1932, there were built by contractors, day labor and 
private parties, 19.43 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and. 
404 catch-basins, making on Jan. 1, 1933, a total of 1,172.09 miles of 
common and intercepting sewers and 20,428 catch-basins in charge of the 
Sewer Division. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 59 

The Boston Main Drainage System, comprising 24.12 miles of inter- 
cepting sewers, with a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, and storage 
reservoirs and outlet into the harbor at Moon Island, takes care of the 
sewage from City Proper, South Boston, and parts of Roxbury, West 
Roxbury and Dorchester. 

The common sewer system has three electrically operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany streets was 
built in 1915 to relieve floodings in the South End district of Boston, by 
pumping and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. 

The station at Summer street, opposite E street, was built in 1913, and 
takes care of the sewerage from the Commonwealth Pier district, and the 
Army and Navy Bases. 

The ejector station at Milton street was built in 1914 to serve temporarily 
a small district, too low to flow by gravity into the present system. 

Charlestown and East Boston sewage discharges into the main North 
Metropolitan System of the State, which discharges into the harbor waters 
just south of Deer Island. 

Sewage from all of Brighton, a portion of the Back Bay and a small 
part of Roxbury, discharges into the South Metropolitan System, is 
lifted by pumping at the Ward street pumping station, then flows through 
the main sewer, which also drains by gravity, portions of West Roxbury 
and Dorchester and all of Hyde Park, finally outletting into Quincy Bay 
at Nut Island. 

WATER DIVISION. 
Main Office, 607 City Hall Annex. 
James A. McMurry, Engineer in Charge, Income and Meier Branch. 
George H. Finneran, Superintendent. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and mainte- 
nance of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purposes of the 
City's water supply, also the assessing of water rates and issuing of the 
bills therefor. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1932, was 960.15 miles; number of services actually in use, 100,951, all 
metered; number of public fire hydrants, 11,072 public, 381 private, 
December 31, 1932. 

The first water document published by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports on the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 
reports. By chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 
Water Income Department and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single commissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the Metropolitan Water Board, took possession, 
in 1898, of all of that part of the Boston water system lying westward of 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Chestnut Hill Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent 
lands. The sum paid to the City was 112,531,000. Payments to the 
State by the City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 
1898. Total available quantity of water in the nine storage reservoirs 
of the Metropolitan system on January 1, 1933, 62,585,300,000 gallons,- 
of which about 83 percent (51,812,600 gallons), was in the Wachusett Reser- 
voir in Clinton, 32 miles west of Boston, an artificial lake 4,135 acres in 
surface area and added to the system in 1905. There are also twelve 
distribution reservoirs with capacity of 2,400,680,000 gallons, five pump- 
ing stations being connected with these, in which stations 26,244,000,000 
gallons of water were pumped during the year 1932. In the existing 
Metropolitan Water District are nine cities, besides Boston, and ten towns. 
Boston takes about 65 per cent of the entire water supply of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1932 was 85,176,300 
gallons, or 109 gallons per capita. 

HIGH PRESSUEE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
Public Works was authorized to install an efficient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work copipleted, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 
18.45 miles of pipe with 502 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation 
of system to Dec. 31, 1932, was 12,569,085.42. Two pumping stations 
are now in use. 



REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 34; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 28; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 29; Ord. 1924, Chap. 1; Ord. 1924, 
Chap. 1.] 

James J. Mulvey, City Registrar. Term ends in 1934. 
Charles H. Mackie, Assistant Registrar. 
Margaret M. Foley, Assistant Registrar. 

The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
and issues certificates of all intentions of marriage. Annual reports have 
been published since 1849, except in 1860 and 1861. 

By Ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (established July 6, 
1875) were abolished, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, includ- 
ing the publication of documents relating to the early history of Boston, 
were transferred to the City Registrar. 



SOLDIERS'i^ RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 61 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 20 City HaU, 
[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 
324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 2 and 30.] 

Officials. 

Frederic J. Crosby, Chairman. 
Rupert S. Carven, Secretary. 
Edmund L. Dolan, Treasurer. 

COMMISSIONERS.* 

Guy W. Cox, Frederic J. Crosby. Terms end in 1934. 
Eugene M. McSweeney, Samuel Kalesky, Terms end in 1935. 
Michael H. Corcoran, William Spottiswoode. Terms end in 
1936. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 
Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further establishing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loans 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an officer, director or agent. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 60 City HaU, fifth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3 
and 31.] 

John J. Lydon, Soldiers' Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
John D. Connors, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Soldiers' Relief Department was created as a department of the 
City of Boston by Chapter 441 of the Acts of 1897, and is under the charge 
of a commissioner appointed by the Mayor. He exercises all powers and 
duties for the distribution of State and City aid to soldiers in the City 
of Boston, such as were formerly vested in the Mayor and Board of 
Aldermen. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



62 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 76 City Hall, seventh floor. 
{Ord. 1S97, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps, 6 and 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4.] 

OFFICIALS. 

James P. Balfe, Chairman. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Patrick F. O Keefe. Term ends in 1935. 
James P. Balfe. Term ends in 1936. 
Daniel T. O'Connell. Term ends in 1938. 
Robert Dysart. Term ends in 1934. 

This department, established in 1897, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to collect, compile, and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston and such other statistics, for purposes of 
comparison, as they may deem of public importance, as well as to provide 
information to the Mayor, City Council, municipal departments, and the 
public on request. 

The Municipal Register has been compiled and edited annually by the 
department since 1898. Boston Statistics, including memorable sites and 
buildings in Boston, a pocket size compendium of detailed information 
and statistics, has been issued annually with a wide distribution since 1915. 
Much of this material is incorporated in "Organization of the City Govern- 
ment," an annual City Council Manual. The Boston Year Book, a 
much more ambitious and comprehensive work of approximately 500 
pages, which elicited national approval as the first of its kind in the United 
States, was issued in 1924 and 1925. 

City Record. 
Office, 73 City Hall, seventh floor. 
[Ord. 1898. Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, Sect. 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 
486, Sect. 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, Sect. 2; Ord. 1922, 
Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, Sect. 2.] 

officials. 
Frank H. Cushman, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Jr., Associate Editor. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Business Agent. 

* The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
by him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 63 

In accordance with the amended City Charter of 1909, the official 
weekly chronicle of Boston municipal affairs, with the title, City Record, 
was re-established in that year, after a lapse of nine years. It was issued 
originally in 1898 under the management of the Statistics Department. 

The publication is now issued under the direction of the Mayor, who 
appoints the Editor and Associate Editor, while the business management 
is in charge of the Secretary of the Statistics Department. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, 401 City Hall Annex, fourth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 
449, § 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 
1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 
403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 519; C. C. Chap. 51; Stat. 1909; 
Chaps. 209, 486, §§ 28, 31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 338, 339, 371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 
432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176 and Spec. 
Stat., Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, 
Chap. 155; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 
465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191, 407; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 1923, 
Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 399.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Theodore A. Glynn. Chairman. 
Cornelius A. Reardon, Secretary. 

BOARD OF STREET COMMISSIONERS. 

John J. O'Callaghan. Term ends in 1934. 
Charles F. Bogan. Term ends in 1935. 
Theodore A. Glynn. Term ends in 1936. 

engineering DIVISION. 

William J. Sullivan, Chief Engineer. 
Arthur N. Colman, Assistant Chief Engineer. 

A member of the Board of Street Commissioners is appointed each 
year by the Mayor to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has power to lay out, relocate, alter or discontinue 
highways in the City, to order specific repairs, also, with the approval of 
the Mayor, the construction of sewers and to take for the City lands for 
all municipal purposes. It levies the betterment assessments on estates 
benefited by the construction of new sewers and new or improved high- 
ways, also awards damages for takings of land, and grants to landowners 
permission to open private streets. In 1895 the duties of the Board of 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Survey were transferred to the Street Commissioners; in 1907 they were 
charged with the hcensing of street stands for the sale of merchandise, 
in 1908 with the regulation of street traffic, which was transferred to the 
Boston Traffic Commission by Chapter 263, Acts of 1929; in 1913 with 
the authority to grant or withhold permits for the erection of automobile 
garages, and in 1930 with the issuance of licenses for conducting or main- 
taining open-air parking spaces. 

By the Amended City Charter of 1909 the jurisdiction previously 
exercised by the Board of Aldermen is vested in the Street Commissioners, 
with the written approval of the Mayor, as to the naming of streets, as 
to trees in the streets, as to permits or licenses for special use of same, 
including the construction of coal holes, vaults, bay windows and mar- 
quees, in, under, or over the streets, also for the location of conduits, poles 
and posts, and the storage of inflammables andexplosives. They collect 
the original license of $1.00 for selling and keeping gasoline. Renewals of 
fees collected by Fire Department. 

As authorized by Chapter 680, Acts of 1913, the Street Commissioners 
issued on April 9, 1914, their "Rules and Regulations Relating to Projec- 
tions on or over Public Highways." These rules were amended in 1915, 
as authorized by Chapter 176, General Acts of that year, the changes 
taking effect July 20. The penalty for disregard of said rules is a fine not 
exceeding five dollars for each day of negligence after five days' notice. 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 801 City Hall Annex, eighth floor. 

[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 

Philip A. Chapman, Superintendent. Term ends in 1934. 

Charles E. Thornton, Chief Clerk. 

The Supply Department purchases all materials, apparatus and other 
supplies except printing and stationery for all departments of the City 
with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department, Library Department and the Transit Department. 



TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1 Beacon Street, seventh floor. 
[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Ord. 1931, Chap. 1.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Chairman. Term ends in 1934. 
Nathan A. Heller. Term ends in 1935. 
Arthur B. Corbett. Term ends in 1933. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 65 

This department was established to exercise the powers and perform the 
duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose official 
existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; Ord. 
1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7.] 

Edmund L. Dolan, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1934. 

Arthur F. Swan, Assistant Treasurer. 

HoRTON G. Ide, Cashier. 

Walter W. Foley, Assistant Cashier. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of 
the City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge 
by any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, 
and pays all bills and demands against the City. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer and Treasurer of the 
Sinking Funds Dept. He publishes reports yearly, also monthly statements. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 106 City Hall Annex, first floor, 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 98, §§ 34-55; Stat. 1882, Chap. 42; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 43; Stat. 1909, Chap. 382; Stat. 1910, Chap. 209; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 503; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 346, 379, 452; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 37; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 253; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 120; Gen. Stat. 
1919, Chaps. 91, 128; Ord. 1919, Chap. 1; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 259, 369; 
Ord. 1923, Chap. 4.] 

James A. Sweeney, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 

The standards in use are supplied by the Commonwealth and a stand- 
ardization is made every five years by the Division of Standards, Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts. The office was authorized by ordinance 
in 1890. Annual reports have been pubhshed beginning in 1864. By 
Chapter 382, Acts of 1909, all principal and assistant sealers are included 
within the classified civil service. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments. 



(67) 



68 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICERS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officers, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected as prescribed by statute, 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, the term of office, 
of each officer. 



Officers. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 
















By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three) . . 


Statute 


*** 


Annually 
one. 




3 yrs. 


Boston and Cambridge 


<( 


Mayor. . . 








Bridges Commiss'n (two). 










Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 


u 


Governor a 


Annually 
one. 




5 yrs. 


Boston Metropolitan Dis- 


u 


Governor 
and 
Mayor 








trict (five) 












Boston Port Authority (five), 
Franklin Foundation 


u 


**** 






5 yrs. 


u 


Supreme 
Court. 


B 




(twelve Managers). 






Licensing Board (three) .... 


u 


Governor a 


Biennally 
one. 




6 yrs. 


Loan Assoc'n, Working- 
men's, one Director. 


u 


Mayor. . . 


Annually, . 


3d Thu. 
in Apr. 


1 yr. 


Loan Comp'y, Chattel, 
one Director. 


u 


(( 


u 




1 " 








Loan Comp'y, Collateral, 
one Director. 


u 


« 


11 


3d Wed. 
in Dec. 


1 " 



A With the advice and consent of the Executive Council. 

B As vacancies occur. 

*** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Committee and board 
members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 35L) 

**** Three members appointed by the Mayor and two appointed by the 
Governor. 



VARIOUS OFFICERS. 



69 



I 



Officeks. 



How 
Created. 



Appointed or 
Elected. 



By Whom. 



When. 



Term. 



Begins. Length 



Old South Assoc'n (three 
Managers). 

Medical Examiners (two) . . . 

Police Commissioner 



Statute. 



School Committee (five) , 



Undertakers. 



Officers Paid by Fees:" 
Constables 



Fence- viewerst 



Inspectors of hay and straw, 
lime, petroleum, etc. 

Gaugers of liquid measures, 

Measurers of grain, upper 
leather, wool and bark. 



Superintendents 
scales. 



of hay 



Weighers of boilers and 
heavy machinery, coal. 



City Coun- 
cil. 

Governor 



Annually. 



When 
elected. 



Elected. 



Health 
Dept. 

Mayor. . 



City elec- 
tion . . . . 

Annually. 



1st Mon. 
in June 

1st Mon. 
in Jan'y 



May 



1 yr. 

7 yrs. 
5 « 

4 « 

yr. 



* Confirmed by City Council. 

t Two inspectors in the Building Dept. act as Fence- 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICERS, DEPARTMENTS, COMMIS- 
SIONS, COURTS, ETC. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGE COMMISSION. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chaps. 300, 302; Stat. 1898, Chap. 467, § 14; Ord. 1906, 
Chap. 1; C. C, Chap. 35, §§ 2, 4 and 5; Stat. 1912, Chap. 92; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 497.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner for Boston. 
William R. McMenimen, Commissioner for Cambridge. 
John J. O'Neil, Secretary. 
This Commission was established in 1870, to have charge of the mainte- 
nance of the West Boston, Canal or Craigie's, and the Prison Point bridges. 
In 1892 the Harvard bridge was placed in their charge. The powers of 
the Commission were greatly enlarged in 1898 when all bridges and draws 
between the two cities were placed in their charge. The expense of 
maintenance is borne equally by the City of Boston and the City of Cam- 
bridge. The two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayors of Boston 
and Cambridge respectively. The Commissioner for Boston, who serves 
without pay, is the Commissioner of Public Works. 

BRIDGES IN CHARGE OF THE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Longfellow, from Boston to Cambridge. 
Prison Point, from Charlestown to Cambridge. 
Cottage Farm Bridge, from Boston to Cambridge. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 

Board of Commissioners of School Buildings. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 

[Acts of 1929, Chap. 351.] 

Richard J. Lane, Chairman, appointed by School Committee. Term 

ends Dec. 1, 1934. 

James T. Moriarty, appointed by Mayor. Term ends Dec. 1, 1935. 

Stephen W. Sleeper, choice of other two. Term ends Dec. 1, 1933. 

Wm. W. Drummey, Superintendent of Construction. 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled "An Act to establish a 

* Longfellow and Cottage Farm Bridges are over navigable waters. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 71 

board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston" be accepted? there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act the board "shall consist of three citizens 
of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act the Department of School Buildings 
is estabhshed, to be under the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse commissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 

Office, 24 School Street. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap. 

489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369; Stat. 1925.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frank A. Goodwin, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cunniff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Frank A. Goodwin. Term ends in 1934. 

Charles M. Storey. Term ends in 1937. 

Joseph A. Sheehan. Term ends in 1938. 

Joseph J. Donahue. Term ends in 1936. 

The Finance Commission is constituted under the Amended Charter of 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
The chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accounts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 
of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Council, the Governor 
or the General Court. 



72 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the vaUdity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by them. 



BOSTON PORT AUTHORITY. 

OfRce, Custom House, 16th floor. 
[Chap. 229, Acts 1929.] 

The Boston Port Authority is an unpaid board consisting of two persons 
appointed by the Governor and three persons appointed by the Mayor 
of the City of Boston for a term of five years each. 

The board shall, from time to time, investigate any and all matters 
relating to the Port of Boston, particularly with reference to the unifica- 
tion of overseas terminals, belt line connections, rates, rules, grain ele- 
vator and warehouse facilities, and other conditions affecting the Port, 
and may initiate or participate in any rate proceedings or investigations 
concerning the Port of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE MAYOR. 

Louis E. Kirstein, Chairman. Term ends in 1935. 
Thomas J. A. Johnson. Term ends in 1935. 
Frank S. Davis. Term ends in 1935. 

APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR. 

Richard Parkhxjrst, Vice Chairman and Secretary. Term ends in 1935. 
Charles E. Ware, Jr. Term ends in 1935. 

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY. 

George P. Tilton. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 
County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
Council of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Rupert S. Carven. 
County Treasurer. — Edmund L. Dolan. 

district attorney. 
Room 218, Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, sec. 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 

District Attorney. — William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1930 

for term of four years ending January, 1934. 
Assistant. — • Frank J. Hickey. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 73 

Assistant. — Daniel J. Gillen. 
Assistant. — Frederick T. Doyle. 
Assistant. — William M. Gaddis. 
Assistant.— Joseph A. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — - David Lasker. 
Assistant. — WiUiam J. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — Paul Rowen. 
Assistant.— Antonio lovino. 
Assistant. — Hugh J. Campbell. 
Assistant. — John J. Murphy. 

LAND COURT. 

Room, 408, Court House. 
Judge. — Charles Thornton Davis. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Joseph J. Corbett. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Clarence C. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder. — Charles A. Southworth. Appointed by the Governor for 
term of five years ending January 1, 1935. 

INDEX COMMISSIONERS. 

Commissioners. — Ralph W. E. Hopper, term ends in 1936. Edward W. 
Bancroft, term ends in 1934. Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 1935. 
Supt. — William J. Kurth. 

Appointed in March, one each year, by a majority of the Justices of 
the Superior Court for a term of three years beginning April 1, and serve 
without pay. 

REGISTER OP DEEDS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452; Stat. 

1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 
Register of Deeds. — W. T. A. Fitzgerald. Elected by the people in 1928. 

Term ends in January, 1935. The Register is ex officio Assistant 

Recorder of the Land Court. 
First Assistant Register. — John J. Attridge. Appointed by the Register. 
Second Assistant Register. — John W. Johnson. Appointed by the Register. 

SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 
Sheriff. — John A. Keliher. Elected by the people, November 1932. 
Term ends in January, 1939. As Jailer he receives additional 

compensation. 
Deputy Sheriffs for Service of Writs. — Daniel A. Whelton (Special Sheriff), 

Henry G. Gallagher, Richard F. Sweeney, John J. Horgan, John J. 

Casey, James P. Keliher, Thomas J. Wilson, Thomas F. Donovan. 

Paid by fees. 



74 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Court Duty. — William J. Leonard, Chief Deputy Sheriff, 
John J. McHugh, William A. McDevitt, Richard J. Murray (of the 
Superior Judicial), Oscar L. Strout, Andrew J. Crotty, Frank C. 
Pierce, Eugene J. Lakemarsin, John A. Finley, Thomas F. Lally, 
James Haliburton, Patrick Daley, WiUiam J. Grimes, John Murray, 
Joseph P. Kilday, Edward T. Curley, Harry S. Fairfield (of the 
Supreme Judicial) Edward P. Ryan. 
All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 

Boston, unless otherwise specified. 



COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

Offices in Court House, Pemberton square, except as otherwise specified. 
SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Arthur P. Rugg. 

Associate Justice. — Fred T. Field, John C. Crosby, Edward P. Pierce, 

Charles H. Donahue, William C. Wait, Henry T. Lummus. 
Clerk for the Commonivealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 

Court. 
Clerk for the County of Suffolk. — John F. Cronin. Elected by the people 

in 1928. Term ends in January, 1935. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Flynn, Joseph Riley. 
Reporter of Decisions. — Ethelbert V. Grabill. Appointed by Governor. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. Walter Perley Hall. 

Associate Justices. — Marcus Morton, Patrick M. Keating, James H. 
Sisk, Franklin T. Hammond, Nelson P. Brown, Louis S. Cox, Fred- 
erick W. Fosdick, Elias B. Bishop, William A. Burns, Stanley E. Qua, 
Alonzo R. Weed, Frederick J. MacLeod, Joseph Walsh, Winfred H. 
Whiting, Edward T. Broadhurst, Frederic B. Greenhalge, Wilford D. 
Gray, David F. Dillon, Harold P. Williams, Walter L. Collins, Daniel 
T. O'Connell, Thomas J. Hammond, John M. Gibbs, Raoul H. 
Beaudreau, Edward F. Hanify, Abraham E. Pinanski, James C. 
Donnelly, John J. Burns, Frank J. Donahue, Lewis Goldberg, John 
E. Swift. 

FOR CIVIL BUSINESS. 

Clerk. — Francis A. Campbell. Elected by the people in 1928. Term 

ends in January, 1935. 
Assistant Clerk in Equity. — ■ James F. McDermott. 
Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, George E. Kimball, 

Flourence J. Mahoney, Charles J. Hart, Frank H. Hallett, Michael E. 

Leen, Albert E. Macdonald. D. Pulsifer Colville, George A. Scheele, 

Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. Curtice, Michael F. Hart, Leo A. Reed. 

FOR CRIMINAL BUSINESS. 

Clerk. — William M. Prendible. Elected by the people in 1932. Term ends 
in January, 1935. 



COURT OFFICERS, ETC. 75 

First Assistant Clerk. — Julian Seriack. 

Assistant Clerks. — John H. Casey, Edward V. Keating, John P. Connolly, 
Albert H. Hines, John P. Swift. 

COTJKT OP PROBATE AND INSOLVENCY. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 
Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 

Judge. — William M. Prest. 

Judge. — Arthur W. Dolan. 

Register. — Arthur W. Sullivan. 

First Assistant Register. — John R. Nichols. 

Second Assistant Register. — ■ Frederick J. Finnegan. 

Third Assistant Register. — Gertrude M. Smith. 
The Judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 

three other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 
Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 
716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 262, 330; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553, 
614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 

Chief Justice. — Wilfred Bolster. 

Associate Justices. — Michael J. Murray, John Duff, Thomas H. Dowd, 
Joseph T. ZottoH, James H. Devlin, Charles L. Carr, Elijah Adlow, 
Francis J. Good. 

Special Justices. — John A. Bennett, Abraham K. Cohen, Joseph A. 
Sheehan, John G. Brackett, Joseph E. Donovan, S. Delano Putnam. 
All judges appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the 

Executive Council. 

Terms of the Court. 

For Civil Business. — Every Saturday at 9 A. M., for trial of civil 

causes not exceeding $5,000. 

Clerk. — William F. Donovan. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, James F. Tobin, Louis B. Torrey, 
Arthur W. Ashenden, Joseph L. Pierce, George F. Devine, William 
F. Blakeman, Charles F. Gardella, Edward H. Barry, Roger W. 
Brown, Joseph M. Levy, Jr. 

For Criminal Business. — Every day in the week (Sundays and legal 
holidays excepted) at 9 A. M., for the trial of criminal causes. 
Clerk. — William D. Collins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerks. — Harvey B. Hudson, Charles T. Willock, James G. 
Milward, George A. Savage, Paul W. Carey, James F. Hardy, Edwin 
A. Chalmers, George W. Herman. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 



76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Chestnut Hill avenue. 

Justice. — Thomas H. Connelly. 

Special Justices. — Robert W. Frost and Harry C. Fabyan. 
Clerk. — Daniel F. Cunningham. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City square. 
Justice. — Charles S. Sullivan. 

Special Justices. — Willis W. Stover and William H. McDonnell. 
Clerk. — James J. Mullen. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — George E. Irving. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Maurice M. Hurley. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington street and Melville avenue. 
Justice. — Richard M. Walsh, 
Special Justices. — Michael H. Sullivan, Jacob J. Kaplan and Sadie L. 

Shulman. 
Clerk. — Alpheus Sanford. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Frederick E. Simmons. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Jenny S. Thurlow. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Court House, corner of Meridian and Paris streets, East Boston. 
Justice. — Joseph H. Barnes. 

Special Justices. — Charles J. Brown and Patrick J. Lane. 
Clerk. — John S, C. NichoUs. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Augustus C. Loschi. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, ROXBURY DISTRICT. 

Court House, Roxbury street. 
Justice. — Albert F. Hayden. 
Special Justices. — Joseph N. Palmer, Timothy J. Ahern and Franklin 

W. L. Miles. 
Clerk. — Fred E. Cruff . Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Charles A. Moore. 
Third Assistant Clerk. — Thomas J. Spring. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, East Broadway. 
Justice. — Edward L. Logan. 

Special Justices. — Josiah S. Dean, William J. Day. 
Clerk. — Adrian B. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Harry W. Park. 



COURT OFFICERS, ETC. 77 

MUNICIPAL COURT, "WEST ROXBUKY DISTRICT, INCL. HYDE PARK. 

Court House, Morton street. Forest Hills. 
Justice. — John Perrins. 

Special Justices. — Frank S. Deland, Bert E. Holland and Daniel W. Casey. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Sidney T. Knott. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Caroline M. Adams. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Room 127, Court House. 
[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 
Justice. — John F. Perkins. 

Special Justices. — Frank Leveroni, Philip Rubenstein. 
Clerk. — ■ John F. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the " Care, Custody and Discipline of Juvenile 
Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the jurisdictions, 
authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of Boston, 
under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The act took effect September 1, 
1906. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 
the Governor. The Justice of the Court is empowered to appoint two 
probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem 
necessary. 

Probation Officers. 

[Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266; 

Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491; 

Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 135.] 

These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 

courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the 

courts. In the performance of their official duties they have all the powers 

of police officers. 

municipal court of the city of boston. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Albert J. Sargent. 

Medical Director. — C. Edouard Sandoz, M. D. 

Assistant Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 

Probation Officers. — Francis A. Dudley, Albert H. Davis, Arthur A. 
Capone, Frank E. Hawkes, James H. Knight, Eugene J. Callanan, 
Edward F. Coughlin, Frank L. Warren, William J. Joyce, John P. 
Bogan, George J. McDonnell, Thomas G. Davis, Oswald J. McCourt, 
Joseph W. Crockwell, Addison T. Ridlon, Francis L. Colpoys, Albert 
L. Hoskins, Bruce A. Stevens, Mary L. Brinn, Elizabeth A. Lee, 
Margaret H. Markham, AJfretta P. McClure, Theresa C. Dowling, 
Annie M. Kennedy, Alice D. Keating, Eleanor F. Holland, Bessie G. 
Kaufman, Betsey P. Jaques, Mary A. HaU. 



78 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Boston Juvenile Court. — Walter C. Bell, Edward J. O'Mara, Galene 
Philadelpheus, C. Eliott Sands. 

MUNICIPAL DISTRICT COURTS. 

Brighton. — Edward J. Drummond. Charlestown. — James D. Coady, 
Mrs. Ellena M. Foley, William E. Carney. Dorchester. — Reginald H. 
Mair, Scott H. Rose. East Boston. — Dennis J. Kelleher, Frederick L. 
O'Brien. Roxbury. — Thomas F. Teehan, Ulysses G. Varney, Edward A. 
Fallon, Matthew M. Leary, John L. Letzing, Thomas Grieve, Kathryn M. 
Quealey, William H. Murray, Thomas M. Gimenilli, Elizabeth D. Kingston. 
South Boston.- — Clayton H. Parmelee, Lillian A. Heyer, James F. Gleason. 
West Roxbury. — Clifford E. Smith, Thomas H. Staples. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, Arthur R. Towle, WUliam A. 
Maloney, Edward A. Griffin, James E. Donovan, Harry Keenan, Ralph L. 
Countie, John J. Moriarty, Ellen L. Cunniff, Mary A. Robinson, Alice B. 
Monks, Alice P. Mayers, Mary E. Power. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 
(Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916, 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.] 

The County is divided into two medical districts, Northern and South- 
ern, by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Hunt- 
ington avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence 
through middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence 
streets. Park square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and 
Summer street to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, 
Dover street, Dorchester avenue, Dorchester street, East Fourth and G 
streets to the harbor. 

Medical Examiners. — Northern Division, George B. Magrath, M. D., 274 
Boylston street. Term ends in 1936. Southern Division, Timothy 
Leary, M. D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term ends in 
1938. 

Associate Medical Examiners. — William H. Watters, M. D., 109 Mt, 
Vernon street, for Southern Division. Term ends in 1938. William 
J. Brickley, M. D., 496 Commonwealth avenue, for Northern Division. 
Term ends in 1934. 

All are appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Location of Northern District Mortuary, 18 North Grove street; 
Southern District Mortuary, on City Hospital grounds. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 79 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

IStat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1926, Chap. 40; 
C. C, Chap. 48, § 5.] 

MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION AND MANAGERS OF THE 
FRANKLIN FUND. 

Everett Morss, President. 
James J. Phelan, Vice President. 
Rev. Charles E, Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

managers.* 
James M. Ctjrley, Mayor of Boston, ex officio. 
Rev. Charles E. Park (Congregational minister), ex officio. 
Rev. Francis E. Webster (Episcopalian minister), ex officio. 
Rev. Donald W. MacLeod (Presbyterian minister), ex officio. 
Charles E. Cotting, Henry B. Sawyer, Louis K. Rourke, Charles 

R. Gow, Everett Morss, J. Frank O'Hare, James J. Phelan. 

Appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court. 

Franklin Union, corner Appleton and Berkeley streets. 
Walter B. Russell, Director. 

The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers 
of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Union as an independent industrial 
school and technical institute for adults. 

The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 
Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 
■codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, 
united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five 
years." 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
"I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 

*The Managers serve without compensation. 



80 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Frankhn heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (Ht of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Trades School 
and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of compUcations 
the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor Collins, 
in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme Court, 
praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then acting as 
Managers of the fund. The Com-t rendered an opinion November 25, 
1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers were 
Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen did 
not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with refer- 
ence to it. The Court, under its general power to care for pubUc chari- 
table funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to take 
the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the Court, 
that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, which Mr. Carnegie agreed to duphcate. Only the 
annual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be used for 
maintenance of Franklin Union. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Union Building was erected at the corner of Appleton and Berke- 
ley streets. It was opened for the use of Franklin Union in September, 
1908. This is maintained partly by tuition fees, rents, etc., $108,980.50 
total in year 1927, including the income from the above mentioned Frank- 
lin Fund {i. e., the Andrew Carnegie Donation), which fund amounted to 
$434,478 on January 31, 1928. The building contains 24 classrooms, 
6 draughting rooms, and 9 shops and laboratories, where 1,987 adult 
students received instruction at evening sessions and 49 in day courses 
during the year 1927. There is also a technical and scientific library, 
and a large hall with a seating capacity of 1,000. The building with 
equipment cost $430,045.69. The site, containing about 16,000 square feet, 
was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year loan being issued to cover 
same. 

The Frankhn Fund will become available in 1991. 



LICENSING BOARD. 81 

LICENSING BOARD. 

Office, 1 Beacon Street, Eighth Floor. 

[Acts 1906, Chap. 291; 1907, Chap. 214; 1909, Chaps. 221, 387, 423; 
Special Acts 1915, Chap. 313; 1917, Chap. 145; 1918, Chap. 259; 
General Laws, Chaps. 136, 138 & 140; Acts 1920, Chap. 47; Acts 
1921, Chap. 59; 1922, Chaps. 392 & 485; 1925, Chap. 284; 1926, 
Chaps. 299 & 395; 1927, Chap. 326; 1933, Chaps. 120, 284.] 

OFFICIALS. 

David T. Montague, Chairman. 
Louis Epple, Secretary. 

THE board. 

David T. Montague. Term ends in 1938. 
Arthur J. Selfridge. Term ends in 1934. 
Mary E. Driscoll. Term ends in 1936. 

The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established in 1906, 
chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the governor, 
with the advice and consent of the council. They must be citizens of 
Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years preceding the 
date of their appointment. The two principal parties must be repre- 
sented and the term of the members is fixed at six years after the first 
appointment which was for six, four and two years. The board was 
created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred 
upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating 
liquors, innholders, common victuallers, billiard and pool tables, sippio 
tables, bowling alleys, intelligence offices, picnic groves and skating rinks. 

The fee fixed by the statute on all but liquor licenses, common victuallers 
and innholders is not less than $2 for each license. Sec. 202, Chap. 140, 
General Laws. Liquor license fees are fixed by Sec. 19, Chap. 138, Gen- 
eral Laws. Innholders and common victuallers fees are fixed at not 
more than $5 for each license. Sec. 2, Chap. 140, General Laws. 

In 1909, Chap. 423, the board was given the right to issue licenses to 
"Sunday dealers in ice cream, confectionery, soda water and fruit," the 
fee for such licenses not to exceed 15. 

In 1918, Chap. 259, the board was granted the right to issue licenses 
to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. In 1921, Chap. 59, a fee 
of not more than $2 was allowed if established by the city council. The 
council established the fee at $2 in 1922. 

In 1920, Chap. 47, the legislature transferred the issuing of licenses for 
roller skating, carrousels, inclined railways, ferris wheels and outdoor 
exhibitions of fire fighting to this board. Now Chap. 140, General Laws, 
Sec. 186. The fee not to be less than $2 for each license. Sec. 202. 

In 1922, Chap. 392, the board was given the right to license "retail 
vendors of Soft Drinks." The fee for such license was not to exceed $1. 



82 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

In 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended giving the licen- 
sing of vendors of firearms to this board. The law relates to the renting, 
selling or leasing of firearms and the word firearms includes a pistol, 
revolver, or other weapon from which a shot or bullet can be discharged 
and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, detachable 
or magazine breach does not exceed twelve inches and a machine gun 
irrespective of the length of the barrel. It does not include antique fire- 
arms incapable of use, nor to sales of firearms at wholesale. The fee for 
such license to be fixed by the board. 

In 1926, Chap. 299, the board was given the right to grant entertainment 
licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on in conjunction 
with sale for cash of food or drink. No fee was to be charged to common 
victuallers and innholders carrying on such entertainment, but a fee of $5 
could be charged to persons selling drinks who carried on an entertainment. 
Entertainments consist of dancing, music, cabaret, or amusements. 

By Chapter 120 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given the authority 
to issue non alcoholic beverage beer licenses containing not more than 
3.2 percent of alcohol by weight, to common victuallers, innholders, clubs 
and retail bottle stores, and to suspend or revoke the same after a hearing. 

By Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given authority to 
grant victualler's licenses to clubs who dispense food and beverages on 
their premises to their stockholders or members and their guests and to 
none others. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 

[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 

The Mayor, sec officio, Councilors Laurence Curtis, 2d, and George 
P. Donovan, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of fifteen, 
of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two are elected 
annually by the City Council for the municipal year, and the others are 
chosen as provided by statute. 



COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 
[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in Decem- 
ber, one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Peter A. Donovan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 

[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 
The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by sixteen directors 
selected annually, fourteen chosen by corporators at the annual meeting 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 83 

on the third Thursday in April, one appointed by the Governor and one 
appointed by the Mayor. 

Henry B. Cabot, Jr., President. 



BOSTON METROPOLITAN DISTRICT. 

[Acts of 1929, Chap. 383.] 
Trustees Appointed by the Governor. 
Henry I. Harriman, Newton, 1939. 
Joseph Wiggin, Maiden, 1933. 
RoscoE Walsworth, Revere, 1935. 
Edward L. Logan, Chairman, Boston, 1937. 

Trustee Appointed by Mayor of Boston. 
Robert J. Bottomly (clerk), Boston, 1933. 

Metropolitan Transit Council. 
Mayors and Chairmen of Boards of Selectmen of Arlington, Belmont, 

Boston, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Maiden, Milton, 

Newton, Revere, Somerville and Watertown. 
Chairman, James M. Curley, Mayor of Boston. 
Secretary, Edward H. Larkin, Ex-Mayor of Medford. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§26; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 387, 513, 560; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 480, 519; C. C, Stat. 1909, Chaps. 221, 311, 538; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 236, 263, 592; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 87; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 29, 
and Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 145, 307; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 259; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 23, 93, 188; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 7, 8, 13, 
68, 211; Stat. 1921, Chap. 114; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, § 31; Stat. 
1923, Chaps. 30, 242, 289; Stat. 1924, Chap. 311, sect. 2, Chaps. 
371, 410; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 284, 331; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 108, 247, 
379, sect. 1, Chap. 395; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 30, 163, 157, 326; Stat. 
1929, Chaps. 3, 263; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 241, 387, 392; Stat. 1931, 
Chap. 399; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 156. 289.] 

Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner. 
Augustine J. Gill, Secretary. 
Leo Schwartz, Legal Advisor. 
Thomas S. Gill, Chief Clerk. 
Martin H. King, Superintendent of Police. 
John M. Anderson, Deputy Superintendent. 
William W. Livingston, Deputy Superintendent. 
James McDevitt, Deputy Superintendent. 



84 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 

The Board of Police for the City of Boston, estabhshed in 1885, was 
superseded in 1906 by a single executive, the Police Commissioner. 

The City is divided into seventeen Police Divisions, in each of which is 
a station house, the headquarters of a captain and force of men. The 
Commissioner appoints a Harbor Master and assistants from the police 
force, and they receive pay in accordance with their rank in the force. 
The steam launch "Watchman," the gasolene boats "E. U. Curtis" and 
"Argus," and two speed boats are employed in this service. 

By Chapter 114, Acts of 1921, the annual listing of residents, now in- 
cludes all women 20 years of age and over, in addition to the men. 

On June 7, 1933, the police force numbered 2,254 members, including 
17 captains, 12 lieutenant-inspectors, 61 lieutenants, 184 sergeants, 
1,971 patrolmen and 5 patrolwomen. 

There were 17 men and one male and two female telephone operators 
in the signal service, whose director has charge of 560 signal boxes. 

Salaries: Superintendent, $7,000; deputy superintendents, $4,500; 
captains, $4,000 per annum; lieut-inspectors and lieutenants, $2,700; 
sergeants, $2,500; patrolmen, $1,600 1st year and $100 increase each 
year until $2,100 (maximum) is reached. Two hundred dollars additional 
salary annually to officer who serves as "aide to Police Commissioner." 
Uniform and equipment are free. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 
Administration Building, 15 Beacon street. 
Stat. 1875, Chap. 241; Stat. 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 349 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48, Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 1909 
Chaps. 120, 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90, and Spec. Stat. Chaps. 189, 300 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 86, 88, 213, 267, 289 and Gen 
Stat. Chap. 102, Gen. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132 
199, 206; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 169, 351 
Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 460, 488 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 327; Stat. 1926 
Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1929, Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chap. 283, 313 
Stat. 1931, Chaps. 100, 111, 155, 229, 247, 250.] 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

William Arthur Reilly. Term ends January, 1934. 
Elizabeth W. Pigeon. Term ends January, 1934. 



/ 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 85 

Joseph J, Hukley. Term ends January, 1936. 
Charles E. Mackey, M. D. Term ends January, 1936. 
Maurice J. Tosiisr. Term ends January, 1936. 

OFFICIALS. 

William Arthur Reilly, Chairman. 
Elizabeth W. Pigeon, Treasurer. 
Patrick T. Campbell, Superintendent. 
Ellen M. Cronin, Secretary. 
Alexander M. Sullivan, Business Manager. 
Mark B. Mulvey, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

BOARD OF superintendents. 

Superintendent Campbell, Chairman, ex officio. 

assistant superintendents. 
Mary C. Mellyn. John C. Brodhead. 

Arthur L. Gould. William B. Snow. 

Michael J. Downey. Edward J. Muldoon. 

the teachers college of the city of boston, latin and day high 

SCHOOLS (18). 

Teachers College, Public Latin, Girls' Latin, Brighton High, Charlestown 
High, Dorchester High (Girls), Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston 
High, English High (Boys), Girls' High, High School of Commerce 
(Boys), High School of Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, Jamaica 
Plain High, Mechanic Arts High (Boys), Roxbury Memorial High 
(Girls), Roxbury Memorial High (Boys), South Boston High. 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School. 

Continuation School. 

Trade Schools. — Boston Trade School, Trade School for Girls. 

DAY intermediate SCHOOL DISTRICTS, SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITH INTER- 
MEDIATE CLASSES, AND DAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS (82). 

East Boston. — f Blackinton, Chapman, * Donald McKay Intermediate, 
Emerson, f John Cheverus, * Joseph H. Barnes Intermediate, Samuel 
Adams, Theodore Lyman, Ulysses S. Grant. 

Charlestown.- — ■ * Clarence R. Edwards Intermediate, Harvard, Warren. 

North and West Ends. — Eliot, Hancock, * Michelangelo Intermediate, 
* Washington Intermediate, Wells, Wendell Phillips. 

City Proper. — * Abraham Lincoln, f Prince, Quincy. 

South End. — f Dwight, f Everett, f Franklin, f Rice, * South End Inter- 
mediate. 

South Boston. — * Bigelow, * Gaston, f John A. Andrew, * Norcross, 
t Oliver Hazard Perry, * Shurtleff, * Thomas N. Hart. 

* Intermediate Schools. f Intermediate Classes. 



86 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

RoxBUEY. — t Dearborn, f Dillaway, t Dudley, Henry L. Higginson, 
Horace Mann School for the Deaf, f Hugh O'Brien, f Hyde, f Jefferson, 
Julia Ward Howe, * Lewis Intermediate, f Martin, jSherwin, * Theodore 
Roosevelt Intermediate, William Lloyd Garrison. 

Brighton. — Bennett, * Thomas A. Edison Intermediate, Thomas Gardner, 
Washington Allston, * William Howard Taft Intermediate. 

Jamaica Plain. — Agassiz, f Francis Parkman, Lowell. * Mary E. Curley 
Intermediate . 

RosLiNDALE. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, * Washington Irving Inter- 
mediate . 

West Roxbtjry. — * Robert Gould Shaw. 

Dorchester. — f Christopher Gibson, Edmund P. Tileston, f Edward 
Everett, * Frank V. Thompson Intermediate, Gilbert Stuart, * Grover 
Cleveland Intermediate, Henry L. Pierce, John Marshall, * John 
Winthrop, Mary Hemenway, f Mather, Minot, * Oliver Wendell 
Holmes Intermediate, f Phillips Brooks, Robert Treat Paine, Roger 
Wolcott, * Solomon Lewenberg Intermediate, William E. Endicott, 
t William E. Russell, * Woodrow Wilson Intermediate. 

Hyde Park. — Elihu Greenwood, Henry Grew, * William Barton Rogers 
Intermediate. 

industrial and special schools. 

Industrial Schools. — Boston Trade School (day) with evening classes 
also; Trade School for Girls (day), with extension classes also; Con- 
tinuation School (day) for employed boys and girls. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Bookkeeping, 
Typewriting, English, ofRce practice and penmanship. 

Disciplinary Day School. — For truants and other school offenders. 

School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 

Day Schools for Immigrants. — For instruction in English language, 

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon St. Headquarters of all officials. 

At Continuation School, 25 Warrenton St., educational and employ- 
ment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays), from 8.30 A. M. to 
3.30 P. M., and on Saturdays from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Physical examina- 
tion of applicants for employment certificates daily from 8.30 to 3.30 P. M. 

Minors' licenses {i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., issued daily, except Saturdays, from 4 to 5 P. M., and on Saturdays 
from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Licenses are not issued during school hours. 

SUPERVISORS OF ATTENDANCE. 

[Stat. 1913, Chap. 779, §§ 12, 13.] 
These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. They are 
also constables, serving without bonds. There are 31 officers besides the 

* Intermediate Schools. f Intermediate Classes. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 87 

head supervisor and they may be seen from 9 to 9.30 A. M., on the days 
that the schools are in session at the principal schoolhouse in the district 
served. 

SCHOOL PHYSICIANS AND SCHOOL NURSES. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department. Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 
For all schools and districts there is one Director of School Hygiene in 
charge of seven supervising school physicians, one school physician assigned 
to the certificating office, one otologist, one ophthalmologist, 59 school 
attendants, 19 assistant nutrition class attendants, 22 matrons, one 
sanitary inspector, and one supervisor of health education. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of one supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. The sum available for the employment 
of school physicians and school nurses is 12 cents on each one thousand of 
the City's assessed valuation, which in 1933 amounted to $233,470.17. 
In addition any balance unexpended the previous year is available. In 
accordance with the policy of the Committee this year to restrict appro- 
priations, the sum of $209,775.00 was appropriated. For the eighty- 
three elementary and intermediate school districts there is one supervising 
nurse in charge of four assistant supervising nurses, 1 nurse assigned to 
the certificating office, and 60 school nurses. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907 the School Committee were authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and facilities in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
control. 

The sum available for this branch of education is 15 cents on each 
$1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, which in 1933 will amount to 
$291,837.71 . In addition, the income from games and contests is available. 
The cost of military drill is not charged against the appropriation for 
Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises one director, one 
associate director, one assistant director, one supervisor-in-charge of 
playgrounds, 12 instructors of military drill, two armorers, 38 women 
instructors of physical education, 13 teacher coachee of athletics and 
six supervisors of playgrounds assisting in the direction of approximately 
seven hundred playground teachers assigned for different seasons. The 
latter have charge of games, plays, dances, etc., in the one hundred school- 
yard playgrounds and seventy-five park playgrounds in use. 

INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 



88 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

raised by local taxation and expended for all public schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the State Board of 
Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation Schools, for 
employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, were included 
under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus maintained are the 
Boston Trade School (for Boys), day and evening classes. Trade School 
for Girls, day and extension classes. Compulsory Continuation School, 
High School of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in Brighton, 
Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Hyde Park, Roxbury Memorial 
High School for Boys and South Boston High, and practical arts courses 
in the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two -thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 

MANUAL ARTS. 

The Training School for Teachers of Mechanic Arts, located in the 
Parkman Schoolhouse, Broadway, South Boston, is conducted under the 
direction of the Department of Manual Arts. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows: Brighton 
(auto mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (woodwork), 
East Boston (machine shop practice), Hyde Park (machine shop practice), 
Jamaica Plain (agriculture), Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys 
(Printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). 

There are 161 shops in elementary and intermediate schools, in which 
the foUowing-named subjects are taught: Auto mechanics, bookbinding, 
electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, mechanical drawing 
(temporary), printing, sheet metal, woodwork, and diversified shop 
subjects. 

Modeling is taught in fifth grades in all boys' schools, by a special 
teacher. Cardboard construction and bookbinding in the fourth and 
fifth grades are supervised by the department. 

Home and school gardening is conducted by the department as an 
after-school and summer activity in fifty-seven elementary and intermediate 
districts. 

Summer recreational handicraft classes, previously conducted in seven 
centers, have been discontinued for the season of 1933. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

There are ten high schools offering courses in household science and 
arts, Brighton, Charlestown,* Dorchester, East Boston, Girls' High 
School of Practical Arts, Hyde Park, Jamaica Plain, f Roxbury Memorial, 
South Boston, with 13 cookery rooms, 24 sewing rooms, 5 miUinery rooms 

* No sewing. t No cookery. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 89 

and 7 home practice suites; 70 rooms in elementary and intermediate 
schools equipped for instruction in cookery, 90 sewing rooms, 5 millinery 
rooms and 16 home suites, 

A director, two assistant directors, 77 teachers of cookery, 141 teachers 
of sewing, and 6 teachers of millinery are assigned to the Department of 
Household Science and Arts. 

EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE SCHOOLS. 

There are ten evening high schools. Central (English High School- 
house), Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Girls', Hyde 
Park, Roxbury (Boston Clerical Schoolhouse), South Boston, and West 
Roxbury (Washington Irving Schoolhouse). These schools, the sessions 
of which are held on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 7.30 
to 9.30, are conducted in the several high schoolhouses of the districts 
named. All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are nineteen evening elementary schools, including five branch 
schools of same in session on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings. 

Evening trade classes are conducted in the Boston Trade School and 
three branch schools held in the Brighton, East Boston and Hyde Park 
High Schoolhouses. 

DAY SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are seventeen schools for immigrants where instruction in the 
English language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except 
Saturday) for two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

SUMMER REVIEW AND VACATION SCHOOLS. 

These supplementary summer review schools, two high, two inter- 
mediate, and eleven elementary, for pupils who have been retarded in 
their studies, were started in 1914. The term is thirty-four days, and the 
number of pupils in 1932 was 9,574. 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL (dAY). 

Classes for boys are held in the Continuation School, 25 Warrenton 
street; classes for girls, at 10 Common street. 

All children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an employment 
certificate are compelled by law to attend the school four hours per week. 

USE OF SCHOOLHOUSES FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES. 

In 1912 the School Committee were authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now fourteen School Centers, each having a 
manager and largely attended on three evenings and one afternoon a 
week. More than 86 school buildings are also used by Non-School Center 
groups. 



90 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose a 
sum equal to four cents on each $1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, 
which in 1933 will amount to $77,823.39. In addition, the income from 
rents of school buildings and any balance unexpended the preceding year 
are available. Besides the renting of school halls for club meetings, 
entertainments, etc., basements and other accommodations in school- 
houses are used by the Election Department as polling places, Lighting 
and janitor service being paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIBEMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of all its members, may 
retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the public day schools who has reached the age of sixty-five years, also 
such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been employed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
public day schools, the pension paid amounts to one-third of the annual 
salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than $312 
nor more than $600 annually. If the period of service is less than thirty 
years, the pension is proportionally less. The School Committee is 
authorized to provide for these pensions by appropriating annually, if 
necessary, an amount equal to five cents on each $1,000 of the City's 
assessed valuation. The Permanent School Pension Fund amounted to 
$1,070,636.20 on January 1, 1933, and 272 retired teachers were receiving 
pensions therefrom. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, 
is paying $120 per year to 366 annuitants, the total amount of its fund 
on October 1, 1932, being $1,425,430.41. At that date 3,887 teachers 
were each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



PUBLIC CELEBRATIONS BUREAU. 
Edmund L. Dolan, Director of Public Celebrations. 
Michael Curley, Assistant Director. 
Office, 49 City Hall. 
The Bureau of Public Celebrations was organized in 1922, for the pur- 
pose of observing, under the direction of his Honor the Mayor, the cele- 
bration of historical events, the observance of patriotic holidays and other 
public occasions, in a manner calculated to produce constructive results. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 

Edward L. Logan, Manager. 
Office, 45 City Hall. 
The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 91 

manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City Council, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston. 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, and at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, 
and at Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, Roxbury, corner 
of Blue Hill Avenue and Savin Street, Charlestown, corner of High and 
Elm Streets, and at Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, and at 
Whittier and Hampshire Streets, Roxbury, in the hope of being able, by 
proper instruction, to better the living and health conditions of the com- 
munities in the congested districts. 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 

[Stat. 1872, Chap. 371; Stat, 1892, Chap. 419; Stat. 1896, Chap. 313; 

Stat. 1898, Chap. 452; Stat. 1904, Chap. 333; Stat. 1905, Chap. 383; 

Stat. 1907, Chap. 416; Stat. 1914, Chap. 786; Stat. 1915, Chap. 333; 

Stat. 1923, Chap. 462; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1928, Chap. 137.] 

Following the Great Fire in Boston which occurred on November 
9 and 10, 1872, a special session of the Legislature was called to consider 
questions growing out of the calamity and to enact such measures as were 
appropriate for the protection and rebuilding of the city. This resulted 
in an amendment to the Building Law of 1871 establishing a maximum 
height limit of 75 feet, which was amended the following year to 80 feet, 
providing further that additional height might be added if the same were 
constructed in a fireproof manner. 

In 1892, Chapter 419 provided for a maximum height limit of 125 feet 
in height, with a further restriction to 2J times the width of the widest 
street or square on which such building stood. 

Authority to limit building heights to 70 feet within 25 feet of a park- 
way, boulevard or public way bordering on a park was granted under the 
provisions of a General Law, Chapter 313 of the Acts of 1896, and accepted 
by the city of Boston in May of the same year. This Law carried with 
it provision for damages and is one of the few instances in the city of 
Boston of the limitation of building heights through the exercise of eminent 
domain. For the most part restrictions are adopted under the police 
power. 

Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1904 provided for the appointment of a 
Commission authorized to divide the city of Boston into two districts; 
A, in which the greater part of the buildings situated therein were used 
for business or commercial purposes, restricted to a height of not more 
than 125 feet, and B, in which the greater part of the buildings situated 
therein were used for residential purposes, restricted in height to 80 feet. 



92 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The boundaries of the A and B Districts as thus established continued 
in effect until the appointment of a similar Commission under the pro- 
visions of Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1915, this second Commission being 
authorized to revise the boundaries but not to increase the maximum 
height limits. The result was that the boundaries of District A were 
considerably enlarged. 

In the meantime Chapter 383 of the Acts of 1905 provided that buildings 
may be erected in the 80-foot district on streets exceeding 64 feet in width 
to a height equal to one and one-half times the width of the street upon 
which the building stands, but not exceeding 100 feet in any event, a 
modification which remains in effect at the present time. 

Chapter 462 of the Acts of the year 1923 amended previous legislation 
and established a maximum height limit of 155 feet further making pro- 
vision for the erection of buildings to a height greater than two and one- 
half times the width of the street, but not exceeding 155 feet if the external 
wall of a height greater than two and one-half times the width of the street 
shall be set back from the vertical face of the building in the ratio of one 
foot horizontally for each two and one-half feet vertically. Further 
regulations were also established for buildings on a narrower street near its 
intersection with a wider street. 

Chapter 488 of the Acts of the year 1924 the Boston Zoning Law, 
divides the city into 35, 40, 65, 80, and 155 foot districts, as shown on a 
map prepared by the Boston City Planning Board, and filed in the office 
of the State Secretary, each of the aforesaid districts carrying with them 
in addition to height limitations certain restrictions with regard to the 
bulk of buildings, the area of yards and other open spaces and the per- 
centage of lot occupancy. Flexibility in the administration of the Zoning 
Plan is assui'ed through the Board of Appeals, which is authorized to 
vary the provisions of the Law, and through the Board of Zoning Adjust- 
ment which is authorized to change the boundary lines of the zoning 
districts, under certain given conditions. 

According to an opinion handed down by the Supreme Judicial Court 
on March 2, 1926, (Grenville H. Norcross and another. Trustee and others, 
versus the Board of Appeal of the city of Boston) Districts A and B as 
territorial divisions regulating height of buildings, estabHshed in accordance 
with earlier statutes, no longer exist in view of the general scope and 
detailed provisions of the aforesaid Zoning law. 

Chapter 137 of the Acts of 1928 provides that on a lot on which a build- 
ing 155 feet in height is permitted, part of a building or structure may 
exceed such height provided the volume of the same does not exceed the 
buildable area of the lot multiplied by 155 feet, and provided further 
that every part of such building or structm-e above a height equal to two 
and one-half times the effective width of the street, but not exceeding 
125 feet, shall set back from every street and lot hne one foot for each 
two and one-half feet of additional height. 

There have been, in addition, a number of laws enacted which operated 
indirectly as to height limits in the city of Boston, including special re- 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 93 

strictions in the vicinity of Copley Square and the Public Library; the 
State House; Rutherford Ave. between Chapman Street and the Mystic 
River tracks of the Boston and Maine Railroad; Washington Street,. 
Lovering Place, Harrison Ave. and Asylum Street; and the property 
occupied by the Mechanic Arts High School on Dalton, Belvidere and 
Scotia Streets. So far as these special restrictions are concerned, the 
Zoning Law particularly specifies that it shall not interfere with, abrogate,, 
annul, or repeal any statute previously enacted relating to the use of 
buildings or premises, provided, however, that where the zoning act 
imposes a greater restriction upon the use of buildings or premises or upon 
the height of buildings, the provisions of such act shall control. 



MEMBERS OF 
OITY GOVERNMENT. 

I909-1932. 



MAYOES AND CERTAIN OTHER OFFICIALS SINCE 1822. 



ORATORS APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



(95) 



96 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



I909. 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly,^ 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr.. 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward Z. 
Joseph H. Pendergast, 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward 3. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4- 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr, 
James I. Green. 

Ward 5. 
John J. Buckley, 
William E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 

Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 

Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldbbmen. 
Frederick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attridge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 

John T. Priest, City Clerk. 



COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President. 
Ward 10. 
3. Henderson AUston, 
Channing H. Cox, 
William S. Kinney. 



Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward 12. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward 13. 
Leo F. McCullough,' 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward 14. 
Cornelius J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. Collins. 

Ward 16. 
John O'Hara, 
William T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O'Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
William D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 
Joseph O'Kane, Clerk. 



Ward 18. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 19. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
William J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward SO. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Cumming, 
William Smith, jr. 

Ward SI. 
William N. Hackett, 
John Ballantyne, 
Walter R. Meins. 

Ward SS. 
William H. Morgan, 
George Penshorn, 
Bernhard G. Krug. 

Ward S3. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward S4. 
Frank B. Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward S5. 
Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



' Elected for two years. ' Died June 23, 1909. 

' Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



97 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



1910. 

Matob. 

JOHN r. FITZGERALD. 

CiTT Council. 

Walter Ballanttne, President. 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1911. 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



1911. 

Mayoh. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

CiTT CoaNCIL. 

Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



1912. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
John J. Attridge, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1916 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods. 



1913. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Kenny, President. 
Term Ends in 1915. I 

Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. I 

1914. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note. — The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of nine members. 



98 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



1915. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
George W. Coleman, President. 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collina, 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

1916. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Henry E. Hagan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst,* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J Kenny. 



* Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoffrey B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



1917. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James J. Storrow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



1918. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



1919. 

ANDREW J. PETERS Mayor. 

City Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



99 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



1920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James T. Moriabty, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1921, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



1921 . 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



1922. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



1923. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor, 
City Council. 
Daniel W. Lane, President. 
Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



1924. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



1925. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 

James T. Moriarty, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



100 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1926. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



Charles G. Keene, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. GUbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, j r., 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
John J. Heffernan. 



1927. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



John J. Heffernan, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. Dowling. 



1928 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



City Council. 
Thomas H. Green, President. 

Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert I. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. ', 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1929 



Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



Timothy F. Donovan, President. 

Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



101 



1930 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
John F. Dowd, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
WiLiiiAM G. Lynch, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



193 1 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Powers, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1932 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitagerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Edward M. Gallagher, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Francis E. Kelly, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein. 



102 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis 

* Charles Wells 

* Theodore Lyman, jr. . . . 

* Samuel T. Armstrong . . . 
♦Samuel A.Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman 

* Martin Brimmer 

* Thomas A. Davis 

* Josiah Quincy, jr 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. Smith 

* Alexander H. Rice 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. . 

* Joseph M. Wightman. . . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. . 

* Otis Norcross 

* Nathaniel B. Shurtleff.. . 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R. Cutter 



* Samuel C. Cobb 

* Frederick O. Prince 

* Henry L. Pierce 

* Frederick O. Prince 

* Samuel A. Green 

* Albert Palmer 

* Augustus P. Martin . . . . 
♦Hugh O'Brien 

* Thomas N. Hart 

* Nathan Matthews, jr. . . 

* Edwin U. Curtis 

* t Josiah Quincy 

* t Thomas N. Hart 

* J Patrick A. Collins 

Daniel A. W helton 

t John F. Fitzgerald 

* t George A. Hibbard 

If John F. Fitzgerald 

H James M. Curley 

1[ Andrew J. Peters 

1[ James M. Curley 

1 Malcolm E. Nichols. . . . 
Tf James M. Curley 



Boston Nov. 26, 1770 

Boston Feb. 4,1772 

Boston Oct. 8,1765 

Boston Dec. 30, 1786 

Boston Feb. 19, 1792 

Dorchester April 29, 1784 

Boston Mar. 5,1798 

Boston Jan. 23, 1807 

Roxbury June 8,1793 

Brookline Dec. 11,1798 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Conway, N. H. .July 20, 1800 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Boston Feb. 27, 1817 

Boston Oct. 19,1812 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston June 29, 1810 

Killingly, Conn.. Oct. 3, 1820 

Stoughton Aug. 23, 1825 

(See under Chairmen of Alder- 
men.) 
Taunton May 22, 1826 

Boston Jan. 18, 1818 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 16, 1830 

Candia, N. H. . .Jan. 17, 1831 

Abbot, Me Nov. 23, 1835 

Ireland July 13,1827 

North Reading.. Jan. 20,1829 

Boston Mar. 28, 1854 

Roxbury Mar. 26, 1861 

Quincy Oct. 15, 1859 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. ,12, 1844 

Boston Jan. 21, 1872 

Boston Feb. 11, 1863 

Boston Oct. 27, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 20, 1874 

Jamaica Plain. . .April 3,1872 

(See above) 

Portland, Me. . .May 8, 1876 
(See above) 



May 29, 1823 
July 1, 1864 
Oct. 28, 1848 
June 3, 1866 
July 17, 1849 
Mar. 26, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1862 
May 25, 1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 
July 4, 1872 
Feb. 14, 1856 
Aug. 20, 1879 
July 22,1895 
Sept. 13, 1898 
Jan. 25, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21,1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
Aug. 1, 1895 
Oct. 4, 1927 
Deo. 11, 1927 
Mar. 28, 1922 
Sept. 8, 1919 
(See above) . . , 
Sept. 14, 1905 



May 29, 1910 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31.. 3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35.. 2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42. .3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846-48.. 3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53.. 2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57.. 2 
1858-60.. 3 
186 1-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873,10 mo. 
1873, 2 mo. 
1874-76.. 3 

1877 1 

1878 1 

1879-81.. 3 

1882 1 

1883 1 

1884 1 

1885-88.. 4 
1889-90.. 2 
1891-94.. 4 

1895 1 

1896-99.. 4 
1900-01.. 2 
1902-05, 31 
1905,3imo. 
1906-07.. 2 
1908-09.. 2 
1910-13.. 4 
1914-17.. 4 
1918-21.. 4 
1922-25.. 4 
1926-29.. 4 
1930-34. 



* Deceased. 

tElected for two years. 



t Twice elected for two years. 
IT Elected for four years. 



CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. 



103 



Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1S45, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of office till the election of his successor, Thomias A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, William Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December 11, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12, 
1853, and January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. Allen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his office on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Acting Mayor. 

Mayor Collins died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen acted as Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 



Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* William Washburn 

* Pelham Bonney 

* Joseph Milner Wightman 

* Silas Peirce 

♦Otis Clapp 

* Silas Peirce 

* Thomas Phillips Rich . . . 

* Thomas Coffin Amory, jr. 

* Otis Norcross 

* George W. Messinger . . . 

* Charles Wesley Slack . . . 

* George W. Messinger. . . 

* Benjamin James 

* Newton Talbot 

* Charles Edward Jenkins 

* Samuel Little 

* Leonard R. Cutter 

* John Taylor Clark 

* Solomon Bliss Stebbins. . 
*Hugh O'Brien 

* Solomon Bliss Stebbins. . 

■" Hugh O'Brien 

■•= Charles Varney Whitten, 

* Charles Hastings Allen . . 

* Patrick John Donovan . . 

* Charles Hastings Allen. . 

* Homer Rogers 

William Power Wilson. . . 

* Herbert Schaw Carruth. . 

* John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanford 

* John Henry Lee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7,1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21, 1802 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

Scituate Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton. . .Mar. 3, 1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31, 1803 

Boston Aug. 16,1812 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston Feb. 5,1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15, 1827 

Jaffrey, N.H July 1,1825 

Sanbornton,N.H.,Sep. 19, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18, 1830 

Ireland July 13,1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown April 9, 1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11, 1840 

Baltimore, Md. .Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15,1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro'. .July 5, 1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept. 18, 1886 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 11,1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5,1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 

(See above) 

April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
Aug. 1, 1882 
Dee. 21,1906 
July 13, 1894 
Oct. 29,1880 
June 8, 1910 
Aug. 1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 



Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



(See above) . . 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1866-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

188^^ 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



♦Deceased. 
Note. — The Mayor was ex officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



104 



MUNICIPAL HEGISTER. 



CHAIRMEN OP THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



t Perlie Appleton Dyar . . . 
t Joseph Aloysius Conry . . 

* David Franklin Barry. . . 

* Michael Joseph O'Brien. 

James Henry Doyle 

Daniel A. Whelton 

J Charles Martin Draper. . 

* t Edward L. Cauley 

William Berwin 

* Louis M. Clark 

* Frederick J. Brand 



Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21, 1872 

Dedham Nov. 1,1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La., Dec. 16, 1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3. 1861 



July 23, 1911 
April 5, 1903 



April 19, 1928 



Mar. 15, 1914 
Mar. 16, 1912 



1897-98 

1898 

1899 

1900 

1901-04 

1905 

1906 

1906 

1907 

1908 

1909 



Presidents of the Common Council. 



Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Years of 
Service. 


• William Prescott 


Pepperell 


..Aug. 19, 1762 


Dec. 8, 1844 


1822 


• John Welles 


Boston 

Boston 


..Oct. 14, 1764 
..Oct. 10.1777 


Sept. 26, 1855 
Aug. 21, 1858 


1823 


• Francis Johonnot Oliver, 


1824-25 


• John Richardson Adan . . 


Boston 


..July 8,1793 


July 4, 1849 


1826-28 


• Eliphalet Williams 


Taunton 


..Mar. 7,1778 


June 12, 1855 


1829 


* Benj. Toppan Pickman. . 


Salem 


..Sept. 17, 1790 


Mar. 22, 1835 


1830-31 


♦ John Prescott Bigelow... 


Groton 


..Aug. 25, 1797 


July 4, 1872 


1832-33 


* Josiah Quincy, jr 


Boston 


..Jan. 17, 1802 


Nov. 2, 1882 


1834-36 


• Philip Marett 


Boston 

Boston 

N.Gloucester, 


..Sept. 25, 1792 
..Sept. 28, 1805 
Me., Apr.l2,'16 


Mar. 22, 1869 
Sept. 4, 1873 
May 28, 1889 


1837-40 


* Edward Blake 


1841-43 


* Peleg Whitman Chandler, 


1844-45 


• George Stillman Hillard, 


Machias, Me.. 


. .Sept. 22, 1808 


Jan. 21, 1879 


1846-47 « 


♦ Benjamin Seaver 


Roxbury 


..April 12, 1795 


Feb. 14, 1856 


1847^-49 


♦ Francis Brinley 


Boston 

Dorchester 


..Nov. 10, 1800 
..June 14, 1818 


June 14.1889 
July 19, 1892 


1850-51 


* Henry Joseph Gardner. . 


1852-53 


* Alex. Hamilton Rice 


Newton 


..Aug. 30, 1818 


July 22, 1895 


1854 


* Joseph Story 


Marblehead . . . 
Andover 

Portsmouth, N 


..Nov. 11, 1822 
. .June 22, 1825 
H., Oct. 24, '28 


June 22, 1905 
Aug. 23, 1905 
Aug. 24, 1882 


1855 


* Oliver Stevens 


1856-57 


• Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . 


1858 


• Josiah Putnam Bradlee. . 


Boston 


..June 10, 1817 


Feb. 2, 1887 


1859-60 


* Joseph Hildreth Bradley, 


Haverhill 


.Mar. 5, 1822 


Oct. 5, 1882 


1861 


* Joshua Dorsey Ball 


Baltimore, Md 


.July 11, 1828 


Dec. 18, 1892 


1862 


* George Silsbee Hale 


Keene, N. H.. 


.Sept. 24, 1825 


July 27. 1897 


1863-64 


* Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . 


Boston 


.July 27,1826 


Jan. 21, 1902 


1865 



* Deceased. ' To July 1. ' From July 1. 

t Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898, to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1, 1898. 

t Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L- 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. 105 

PRESIDENTS OP THE COMMON COUNCIL. — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* Joseph Story 

* Weston Lewis 

* Charles Hastings Allen. , 

* William Giles Harris. . . , 

* Melville Ezra Ingalls. . . 

* Matthias l?ich 



* Marquis Fayette Dickin- 
son, jr 



* Edward Olcott Shepard.. 

* Halsey Joseph Boardman 

* John Q. A. Brackett 

* Benjamin Pope 

* William H. Whitmore. . . 
Harvey Newton Shepard, 

* Andrew Jackson Bailey. . 

* Charles Edward Pratt. . . 

* James Joseph Flynn .... 

* Godfrey Morse 



* John Henry Lee 

* Edward John Jenkins . . . 

* David Franklin Barry.. . 

* Horace Gwynne Allen. . . 

* David Franklin Barry.. . 

* Christopher Francis 

O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry.. . . 

* Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley 

Arthur Walter Dolan 

William John Barrett 

Leo F. McCullough 

* George Cheney McCabe, 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 1834 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Revere May 15, 1828 

Harrison, Me. . .Sept. 6, 1842 
Truro June 8,1820 



Amherst Jan. 16, 

Hampton, N.H., Nov. 25, 

Norwich, Vt May 19, 

Bradford, N. H., June 8, 
Waterford, Ire. .Jan. 13, 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 

Boston July 8, 

Charlestown. . . .July 18, 
Vassalboro, Me., Mar. 13, 
St. John, N. B 



Wachenheim, Germany, 
May 17, 

Boston April 26, 

London, Eng. . .Dec. 20, 

Boston Feb. 29, 

Jamaica Plain.. .July 27, 

(See above) 



1840 
1835 
1834 
1842 
1829 
1836 
1850 
1840 
1845 
1835 

1846 
1846 
1854 
1852 
1855 



Boston Feb. 17,1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5,1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1,1882 

Carmel, N. Y. . . July 5, 1873 



(See above) 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Dec. 13, 1914 

Sept. 18, 1915 
April 27, 1903 
Jan. 15, 1900 
April 6, 1918 
Sept. 24, 1879 
June 14, 1900 



Mar. 21, 1927 
Aug. 20, 1898 
Mar. 26, 1884 
June 20, 1911 

Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 

(See above) . . . 

April 25, 1899 



Dec. 5, 1928 



Dec. 27, 1917 



1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

18811 

1881 2-82 

1883 3 

1883 4 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-88 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



* Deceased. » To October 27. ' From October 27. ^ Xo June 11. < From June 14. 



106 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Presidents of the City Council.* 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year of 
Service. 



Walter Ballantyne 

Walter Leo Collins 

John Joseph Attridge 

Thomas Joseph Kenny . . . 
Daniel Joseph McDonald. 

George W. Coleman 

Henry E. Hagan 

James J. Storrow 

Walter Leo Collins 

Francis J. W. Ford 

James T. Moriarty 

James A. Watson 

David J. Brickley 

Daniel W. Lane 

John A. Donoghue 

James T. Moriarty 

Charles G. Keene 

John J. HefTernan 

Thomas H. Green 

Timothy F. Donovan . . . . 

William G. Lynch 

Joseph McGrath 

Edward M. Gallagher. . . . 
Joseph McGrath 



Hawick, Scotland, Mar. 17, 1855 

Boston April 7,1878 

Boston Feb. 8,1878 

Boston Nov. 18, 1863 

Chelsea Aug. 14, 1873 

Boston June 16, 1867 

St. John, N. B..Feb. 26, 1865 

Boston Jan. 21,1864 

(See above) 

Boston Dec. 23, 1882 

Amesbury Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1870 

Boston Mar. 14, 1889 

Boston Dec. 11,1872 

Boston Aug. 12, 1885 

(See above) 

Gardiner, Me . . . Aug. 6, 1 880 

Boston Jan. 27,1893 

Boston May 11, 1883 

Boston Aug. 21, 1889 

Boston Oct. 20, 1892 

Boston Dec. 20, 1890 

Charlestown Jan. 25, 1877 

(See above) 



May 17, 1926 



Mar. 13, 1926 



Aug. 25, 1927 



1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 
1925 
1926 
1927 
1928 
1929 
1930 
1931 
1932 
1933 



* Single chamber, established in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-51). 

Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES. 

For the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 

For the Anniversary of 

1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin. 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 William Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



National Independence, July 4t 1776. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Channing. 

1807 Peter O. Thacher. 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 WiUiam Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 

1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



107 



1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 

1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Bassett. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 

1827 WiUiam Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. Hillard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 I vers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greenough. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward GrifRn Parker. 

1857 Rev. William R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth. 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 William Everett. 

1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 



1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 

1877 William Wirt Warren. 

1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 William E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. Pillsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W. Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead. 

1904 John A. Sulhvan. 

1905 Le Baron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 

1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 

1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev. Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell. 

1925 Thomas H. Dowd. 

1926 Andrew J. Peters. 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Hon. Edith Nourse Rogers. 

1929 Hon. Robert Luce. 

1930 Hon. Herbert Parker. 

1931 Hon. David I. Walsh. 

1932 Prof. Robert E. Rogers. 

1933 Joseph A. Tomasello. 



Index. 



A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 , . , 103 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1929) . 15 

Appeal, Board of 43 

Art Department 35 

Assessing Department 36 

Attendance officers (School Committee) 86 

Auditing Department 37 

B. 

Births, Registrar of 60 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay: 

Art Commission 35 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission .... 70 

City Hospital Trustees 48 

City Planning Department 44 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 71 

Franklin Foundation Managers 79 

Library Trustees 61 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 53 

Public Welfare Overseers 55 

School Buildings 70 

School Committee 84 

Sinking Funds Commission 61 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 62 

Boston City Record (official weekly of City) 62 

Origin and growth of ... 4, 5 

Boston Metropolitan District 83 

Boston Port Authority 72 

Boston Traffic Commission 38 

Bridge and Ferry Division, Public Works Dept 57 

Brighton (Wards 21 and 22): ' 

Municipal Court of 76 

Public Schools in 86 

Budget Department 39 

Building Department 41 

Board of Examiners 42 

Building Heights, regulation of 91 

(109) 



110 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



C. 

Charlestown (Ward 2) : 

Municipal Court of 

Public Schools in 

City Clerk Department 

City Council of 1933 

President of 

Committees of 

Officials of 

Presidents of, 1910-1933 .... 

City Government, 1933 

City Governments, 1909 to 1931 

City Hospital 

City Messenger 

City officials in charge of executive departments 

City Planning Department 

City, Origin and growth of 

City Record^ See Boston City Record. 
City Seal, origin of and present form 
City Solicitor, office of, abolished 
Clerk of Committees (City Council) . 

Collateral Loan Company 

Collecting Department 

Common Council: 

Presidents of, since 1822 .... 
Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) 
Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 
County of Suffolk: 

Auditor .... 72 
Commissioners ... 72 
District Attorney . . 72 
Index Commissioners . 73 
Courts and Officers of . 



Land Court . 
Register of Deeds . 
Sheriff . 
Treasurer 



Page 

76 
85 
43 

11, 12 

11 

14 

13 

104 

11-12 
96 
49 
13 
31 
44 
4-5 

2,3 
50 
13 
88 
46 

104 
50 
50 

73 
73 

73 

72 
74-78 



D. 



Deaths, registrar of 

Deeds, Register of (Suffolk County) 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list) : 



Art 35 

Assessing .... 36 

Auditing .... 37 
Boston and Cambridge 

Bridges Commission . 70 

Boston Sanatorium , . 49 

Budget .... 39 

Building .... 41 



City Clerk . 

City Planning . 

Collecting . 

Election 

Finance Commission 

Fire . . . . 

Franklin Foundation 

Health 



63 
73 

43 
44 
45 
45 
71 
46 
79 
47 



INDEX — E-F-G. 



Ill 



Page 



Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical lists, 


.— Concl 


Hospital 


48 


Registry . 


60 


Institutions 


49 


Retirement Board 


37 


Law 


56 


School Buildings 


70 


Library 


51 


School Committee 


84 


Licensing Board 


81 


Sinking Funds . 


61 


Market 


53 


Soldiers' Relief . 


61 


Mayor 


34 


Statistics . 


62 


Park . 


53 


Street Laying-Out 


63 


Penal Institutions 


54 


Supply 


64 


Police 


83 


Traffic 


38 


Printing . 


54 


Transit 


64 


Public Buildings 


55 


Treasury 


65 


Public Welfare . 


55 


Weights and Measure 


s . 65 


Public Works 


56 






District Attorney (Suff 


alk County) 




72 


Assistants . 






72 


Dorchester (Wards 13- 


18): 






Municipal Court o 


f . . 




76 


School districts in 






76 



East Boston (Ward 1): 

District Court of . 

Relief station (hospital) in . 

School districts in . 
Election Department .... 
Examiners, Board of (Building Dept.) 
Executive Departments of City 
Executive Officers, with term, etc. . 



76 
49 
85 
45 
41 
34 
31 



F. 

Ferries (North and South) owned by City 

Finance Commission 

Fire Department, with officials, fire-districts, etc. . 

Firemen's Relief Fund 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government 
Franklin Foundation 

Franklin Fund, Managers of 

Franklin Union (Trade School) 



57 
71 
40 
47 
106 
79 
79 
79 



G. 



Government of Boston, 1933 
Members of, 1909-1932 



11-12 
96 



112 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

H. 

Page 

Haymarket Square Relief Station (Hospital Dept.) ... 49 

Health Department 47 

Heights, Building, regulation of 97 

Highway Divis'ion, Public Works Dept . 57 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) ...... 48 

Medical and Surgical Staff 49 

Relief Stations 49 

South Department 49 

House of Correction, Deer Island 54 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part) : 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) 77 

Public Schools in 86 

I. 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk County) 73 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 75 

Institutions Department: 

Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of ... . 49 

Superintendent of Long Island Almshouse and Hospital . 50 

J. 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) 73 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City 105 

Justices of Municipal Courts 75 

Juvenile Court 77 

L. 

Land Court (Suffolk County) 73 

Law Department 50 

Library Department 51 

Central and Branch libraries of 52 

Officials and Trustees of 51 

Trust funds, appropriation, etc. 51 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated .... 52 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) 42 

Public Works Dept 68 

Licensing Board 81 

Licensing Division, Mayor's Office (Amusement licenses) . . 34 

Loan Association, Workingmen's . 82 

Loan Company, Collateral 82 

M. 

Market Department 63 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets 53 

Marriage Certificates (Registry Dept.) ...... 60 



INDEX — 0-P-R. 113 

Mayor: Page 

Department of 34 

Municipal Employment Bureau 34 

Office staff of 34 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1933 102 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk County) 78 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 78 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper, Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester . . 75 

East Boston, Roxbury, South Boston, W. Roxbury . . 76 

Justices of (regular and special) 75 

Probation officers of 77 

O. 

Old South Association 82 

Orators of Boston since 1771 106 

Overseers of Public Welfare 55 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 56 

P. 

Park Department , 53 

Commissioners and chief officials of 54 

Penal Institutions Department 54 

Pensions for retired teachers 90 

Planning Department, City 44 

Police Department 83 

Commissioner and chief officials of 83 

Printing Department 54 

Prison, City (Police Dept.) 83 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 75 

Probation officers (Suffolk County) 77 

Public Buildings Department 55 

Superintendent and Chief Clerk of 55 

Public Celebrations, Bureau of 90 

Public Library. See Library Dept. 

Public Works Department 56 

Bridge and Ferry Division of 57 

Highway Division of 57 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . . 57 

Sanitary Division of 58 

Sewer Division of 58 

Water Division of 59 

R. 

Refuse, removal of 58 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) ....... 73 

Registry Department 60 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 60 



114 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Paqb 

Retirement Board . . 37 

Retirement System in effect Feb. 1, 1923 37 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Municipal Court of 76 

Public Schools in 86 

S. 

Sanitary Service (Public Works Dept.), supervisor of . . . 58 

School Committee 84 

Department of, with officials 84 

Elementary School districts 84 

High, Latin and Normal Schools 84 

Industrial and special schools 86 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers .... 90 

Special departments, with directors 87 

School Physicians and School Nurses 87 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form 2, 3 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 58 

Sheriff of Suffolk County 73 

Sinking Funds Department 61 

Soldiers' Relief Department 61 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Municipal Court of ...,,... . 76 

Public Schools in 85 

Statistics Department 62 

Boston Statistics 62 

Boston Year Book 62 

City Record 62 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) .... 63 

Suffolk County, See County of Suffolk. 

Supply Department 64 

Supreme Judicial Court, clerks of 74 

Superior Court, clerks of 74 

T. 

Traffic Department 38 

Transit Department 64 

Treasury Department 65 

W. 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 59 

Water used in 1932, average gallons daily 60 

Weights and Measures Department 65 



INDEX— Z. 115 

Page 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20) : 

Public Schools in 86 

White Fund, George Robert 90 

Workingmen's Loan Association 82 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of 39 

Members of 39