(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

rt: 



^ 



<^^ 3^ 7n 



"^ 



{'f^'f 




Given By 
Boston City Messenger 



^ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Boston Public Library 



http://www.archive.org/details/municipalregiste1934bost 



BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL EEGISTER 

For 1934 




SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON. 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827 



The City Seal was adopted by ''An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.' " The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii., 57: "God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," published in 1827, and is 
established as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 4, 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'Sicut Patribus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata A.D. 1822,' as herewith set forth." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

ORIGIN AND GEOWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted 'Hhat the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they '' ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first " Court " held in Boston was a "General Court " 
on October * 19, "for establishing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for pubhque meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640, 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH 01' BOSTON. 5 

when ''Mount WooUaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present limits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres "for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) "to build a public hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 
• The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows: 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29. 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and 583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

* Old Style. 



CITY OF BOSTON 

IN CITY COUNCIL. 

Ordered, — That the Statistics Department be 
authorized under the direction of the Committee on 
Rules to prepare and have printed the Municipal 
Register for the current year; and that the Clerk 
of Committees be authorized to prepare and have 
printed a pocket edition of the organization of the citjr 
government; the expense of said register and organiza- 
tion to be charged to the appropriation for City Docu- 
ments. 

In City Council January 22, 1934. Passed. 
Approved by the Mayor January 27, 1934. 
Attest : 

W. J. Doyle, 

City Clerk. 




MlJ^YOR OTT BOSTOlSr 



[Document 38 — 1934.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL REGISTER 
FOR 1984 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 
AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 
INCLUDING SUBSEQUENT CHANGES, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 



CITY OF BOSTON 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT 

1934 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Contents. 



Introduction . . . . . . . 

The City Government, 1934 

Officials of the City Council 

Committees of the City Council 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1934) . 

Officials in charge of executive departments, term, etc. 

Notes on executive departments, lists of officials, term, etc 

Various City, County and State officials, term, etc. 

Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., lists of officials, 

term, etc 

Members of City Government, 1909-1934 
Mayors of Boston, 1822-1934 .... 
Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855-1909 
Presidents of the Common Council, 1822-1909 
Presidents of the City Council, 1910-1934 
Orators of Boston, 1771-1934 .... 



Page 

9, 10 

11 

13 

14 

15,31 

32,34 

35,71 

73,75 

76,97 

100, 106 

107 

108, 109 

109, 110 
111 

111, 112 



7 Ou 



/ '/ 5 iT 



INTRODUCTION. 



INTKODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having been published in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 

1840 the title of the volume was: The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the docu- 
ment contained merely a register of the City Council 
and a list of the officers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances, were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title The Municipal Register was adopted in 

1841 when the publication became more ambitious, 
incorporating in its pages the Rules and Orders of the 
Common Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, 
statutes of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a 
list of the public schools, the City Government of 1841, 
the committees and departments (consisting at that 
time of the treasury, law, police, health, public land 
and buildings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public 
charitable institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a list of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876, statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive, The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes in 
same since that year have been stated in footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 




^ 


a 


3 


m 


— !? — 


c 
o 

7. 


H 

m 


> 


z 






o 










ni 








g 


3 


"0 






> 
o 












H 






-1 


' ft—' 


3 


3 


3 





s^^ PRESIDENT BOSTON CITY COUNCIL 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 



OF THE 



CITY OF BOSTON, 
1934. 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 

Residence, 
15 Elm Hill Avenue, Roxbury. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1934. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps 
630, 730; Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap, 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 328 and 479.] 



Ward 
Ward 
Ward 
Ward 
Ward 
Ward 6. 
Ward 7. 
Ward 8. 
Ward 9. 
Ward 10. 
Ward 11. 
Ward 12. 
Ward 13. 



JOHN F. DOWD, President. 
Henry Selvitella, 80 Orient avenue. 
Thomas H. Green, 117 Baldwin street. 
John I. Fitzgerald, 7 Allen street. 
George W. Roberts, 20 Hemenway street. 
Henry L. Shattuck, 15 River street. 
George P. Donovan, 508 East Broadway. 
John E. Kerrigan, 213 West Eighth street. 
John F. Dowd, 22 Greenville street. 
Richard D. Gleason, 66 Highland street. 
John J. Doherty, 67^ Wyman street. 

EdwArd L. Englert, 18 Iffley road. 
DaviD M. Brackman, 89 Waumbeck street. 
Joseph McGrath, 9 Castle Rock street. 



12 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Ward 14. Maurice M. Goldman, 116 Hazleton street. 

Ward 15. Martin H. Tobin, 70 Westville street. 

Ward 16. Albert L. Fish, 12 Rowena street. 

Ward 17. Robert Gardiner Wilson, Jr., 57 Codman 

Hill avenue. 

Ward 18. Clement A. Norton, 8 Austin street. 

Ward 19. Peter A. Murray, 7 St. John street. 

Ward 20. James F. Finley, 231 Cornell street. 

Ward 21. James E. Agnew, 22 Wallingford road. 

Ward 22. Edward M. Gallagher, 21 Oak Square 

avenue. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. 332; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 11.] 

Clerk. 
Wilfred J. Doyle, 81 Wellington Hill street. 

Assistant Clerk. 
John B. Hynes, 16 Allendale avenue. 

Regular meetings in Council Chamber, City Hall, 
fourth floor, Mondays, at 2 P. M. 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICIALS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CITY MESSENGER. 

Office, City Hall, Room 55, fourth floor. 

Edward J. Leary. 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Council and 
committees thereof, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the City Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstalTs, the display of flags in the public 
grounds, and the roping off of streets and squares on public occasions. 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City Hall, Room 56, fourth floor. 

John E. Baldwin. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of all committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
Hall Reference Library. 

SECRETARY OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

William J. J. O'Neil. 

The Secretary of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

ASSISTANT CITY MESSENGERS. 

William J. Walsh. 
Robert E. Green. 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OP PROCEEDINGS. 

Edward W. Harnden. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE CITY 
COUNCIL 

1934. 



EXECUTIVE. 
All the members, Councilor Wilson, Chairman. 



On the following committees the first-named member is Chairman. 
Apphopkiations. — Coun. Norton, Shattuck, Agnew, Roberts, Gallagher, 

Tobin, Selvitella. 
Claims. — Coun. Brackman, Selvitella, Agnew, Roberts, Goldman. 
County Accounts. — ^ Coun. Fitzgerald, Green, Fish, Norton, Tobin. 
Finance. — ■ Coun. Green, Shattuck, Fitzgerald, Wilson, Brackman, 

McGrath, Kerrigan. 
Inspection of Prisons. — Coun. Gleason, Donovan, Doherty, Murray, 

Finley. 
Jitneys. — Coun. Roberts, Selvitella, Murray, Fish, Kerrigan. 
Legislative Matters. — Coun. Shattuck, Fitzgerald, Green, Gleason, 

Tobin. 
Ordinances. — Coun. Fish, Gleason, Donovan, Englert, Finley, Tobin, 

Selvitella. 
Parkman Fund. — ■ Coun. Gallagher, Murray, Doherty, Goldman, 

Shattuck. 
Printing. — Coun. Englert, Finley, Murray, Kerrigan, Selvitella. 
Public Lands. — Coun. Donovan, Englert, Agnew, Brackman, McGrath. 
Rules. — Coun. Wilson, Gallagher, Roberts, Green, McGrath. 
Soldiers' Relief. — Coun. Kerrigan, Norton, Donovan, Gleason, 

Doherty. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEES. 

Constables. — Coun. Goldman, Agnew, Roberts. 

Hospitals. — Coun. Doherty, Murray, Fish, Kerrigan, Finley. 

Municipal Lighting. — Coun. McGrath, Norton, Brackman, Gallagher, 

Wilson. 
Parks and Playgrounds.— Coim. Finley, Tobin, Goldman, Kerrigan, 

Englert. 
Public Safety. — Coun. Agnew, Selvitella, Green, Fitzgerald, Donovan, 

Englert, Brackman. 
Unclaimed Baggage. — Coun. Fitzgerald, Wilson, McGrath. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 15 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (CHAPTER 486) WITH 
AMENDMENTS TO JULY 1, 1934, INCOR- 
PORATED. 

The Mayoe and City Council. 

Section 1.* {The terms of office of the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messenger, 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of committees, 
and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials lohose terms of office 
are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensation equal 
to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) The 
mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of this 
act, and their successors, shall thereafter have all the powers and privileges 
conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obUgations imposed by law 
upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as such or as county 
commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein otherwise provided. 
Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city council" appears, it 
shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city council acting on and 
after the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, under the 
provisions of this and the three following sections. The city council may, 
subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to time establish such 
offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem necessary for the con- 
duct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may determine, and abolish 
such officers or alter such salaries; and without such approval may fill the 
offices thus established and remove the incumbents at pleasure. 

Section 1. (Chap. 479, Acts of 1924.—) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and 
twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first 
Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall be 
no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and school 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, which is printed as the next section. 



16 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are hereby 
extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official whose term 
of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of such termi- 
nation and the salary of any official whose term of office is extended as 
aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long as he con- 
tinues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2.* The Mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the city. The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the Mayor and shall either adopt or reject 
the same within sixty days after the date when it is filed as aforesaid. 
If the said ordinance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty days 
it shall be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously 
withdrawn by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from 
again presenting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or 
withdrawn. The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order 
and may reduce or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval 
of the mayor, may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than 
school lands, all appropriations for the purchase of land other than for 
school purposes, and all loans voted by the city council shall require a 
vote of two thirds of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed 
only after two separate readings and by two separate votes, the second 
of said readings and votes to be had not less than fourteen days after the 
first, except that in the case of loan orders for temporary loans in antici- 
pation of taxes the second of said readings and votes may be had not less 
than twenty-four hours after the first. No amendment increasing the 
amount of land to be sold or the amount to be paid for the purchase of 
land, or the amount of loans, or altering the disposition of purchase money 
or of the proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of the second reading 
and vote. If a petition signed by six members of the council requesting 
that action be taken forthwith upon a loan order presented by the mayor 
is filed in the office of the city clerk not earlier than fourteen days after its 
presentation, action shall be taken by the yeas and nays on the question 
of the adoption of such loan order at the next meeting of the council, or, 
if one vote has already been taken thereon, at the next meeting after 
the expiration of the required interval after such vote; provided, that such 
action thereon has not sooner been taken or such loan order has not been 
withdrawn by the mayor. 

Sect. S.f All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue, or any source other than loans shall originate 

* Sect 2 as amended by Chap. 113, Acts of 1933, and Chap. 220, Acts of 
1934. 
t Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 17 

with the mayor, who within thirty days after the beginning of the fiscal 
year shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county, and may submit thereafter supplementary 
budgets until such time as the tax rate for the year shall have been fixed. 
The city council may reduce or reject any item, but without the approval 
of the mayor shall not increase any item in, nor the total of a budget, nor 
add any item thereto, nor shall it originate a budget. It shall be the 
duty of the city and county officials, when requested by the mayor, to 
submit forthwith in such detail as he may require estimates for the next 
fiscal year of the expenditures of the department or office under their 
charge, which estimates shall be transmitted to the city council. 

The city auditor may, with the approval in each instance of the mayor, 
at any time make transfers from the appropriation for current expenses of 
one division of a department to the appropriation for current expenses of 
any other division of the same department, and from the reserve fund to 
any appropriation for the current expenses of a department; and may also, 
with the approval of the mayor, at any time between November fifteenth 
and January first, make transfers from any appropriation to any other 
appropriation; provided, however, that no money raised by loan shall be 
transferred to any appropriation from income or taxes. He may also with 
such approval apply any of the income and taxes not disposed of in closing 
the accounts for the financial year in such manner as he may determine. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote of 
the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affairs, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shall make or cause to be made a written 
record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said 
appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the 
mayor to the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his 
objections thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expen- 
diture of money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in 
part and disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items 
or parts of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts 
of items as he disapproves shall be void. 

Sect. 4A. * The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shall be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
less than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. t Except as otherwise provided in this act the organization, 
powers and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate or 

* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 5 amended by Chap. 222, Sp. Acts of 1918; Chap. 389, Acts of 
1928; Chap. 227, Acts of 1934. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

abolish, in whole or in part, departments whether created on or before or 
subsequent to the first Monday of February in the year nineteen hundred 
and ten, including the transit department; transfer the duties, powers and 
appropriations of one department to another in whole or in part; and 
establish new departments; and may increase, reduce, establish or abolish 
salaries of heads of departments, or members of boards. Nothing in this 
act shall authorize the abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or 
duties as established by law of the school committee, the board of com- 
missioners of school buildings, the department of school buildings, the 
election department or any department in charge of an official or officials 
appointed by the governor. 

Sect. 6. No contract for lighting the public streets, parks, or alleys, or 
for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a period of 
more than one year from the date thereof, shall be valid without 
the approval of the mayor and the city council after a public hearing, 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have been 
given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at a 
meeting to be held not earlier than one week from the date of the receipt of 
said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through a head 
of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting and publicly 
answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not be obliged 
to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor at any time 
may attend and address the city council in person or through the head of a 
department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as he may desire. 

Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, officer, 
or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this act, directly 
or indirectly on behalf of the city or of the county of Suffolk take part in 
the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the purchase of materials, 
supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, alteration, or repair of any 
public works, buildings, or other property; nor in the care, custody, and 
management of the same; nor in the conduct of the executive or administra- 
tive business of the city or county; nor in the appointment or removal of 
any municipal or county employee; nor in the expenditure of public 
money except such as may be necessary for the contingent and incidental 
expenses of the city council. The provisions of this section shall not affect 
the powers or duties of the city council as the successor of the present 
board of aldermen relative to state or military aid and soldiers' relief. 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 19 

such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, or 
employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon learn- 
ing of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, shall 
notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission of such 
contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall abstain 
from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. In 
case of such interest on the part of an officer whose duty it is to make such 
contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by any other 
officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if the mayor 
has such interest by the city clerk: provided, however, that when a con- 
tractor with the city or county is a corporation or voluntary association, 
the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares actually 
issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the contract within 
the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect the validity 
of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is also an officer 
or agent of the corporation or association, or solicits or takes part in the 
making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by impris- 
onment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred and 
twenty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is hereby 
repealed. 

The Executive Department. 

Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
office expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 
law appointed by the governor), shall be appointed by the mayor without 
confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts in 
such work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or persons 
specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform the same, 
and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain subject to the 
provisions of existing laws) shall be appointed without regard to party 
affiliation or to residence at the time of appointment except as hereinafter 
provided. 

Sect. 10 and Sect. 11, concerning approval by the civil service com- 
mission of appointments by the mayor, repealed by chapter 167, Acts of 
1930. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions of 
said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

for terms of four years beginning with the first day of May of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the Mayor. 

Sect. 14. The mayor may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by fiUng a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copy of which shall be delivered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reply in writing, which, if he desires, may be 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not affect the action taken 
vmless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 
year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby abolished, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such ap- 
pointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the cause 
for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, nor involve the city in any contract 
for the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the 
provisions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 

The FiNAJsrcE Commission. 
Sect. 17. Within sixty days after the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance com- 
mission to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 
city of Boston, who shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for 
four years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, 
and thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for 
a term of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the 
unexpired term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. 
The members of said commission may be removed by the governor with 
the advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem suffi- 
cient. The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual 
salary shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly install- 
ments by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 

Sect. 18. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the 
city of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that 
may appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report 
thereon from time to time to the mayor, the city council, the governor, or 
the general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 
the same seems to him to be of doubtful validity, excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum 
of forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission and 
the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the expenses 
as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The commission 
shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its appro- 
priation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabling the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable the 
mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive the 
reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordinances, 
or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission shall have 
all the powers and duties enmnerated in chapter five hundred and sixty-two 
of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and therein conferred 
upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel for any witness at 
any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question and may offer 
pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross-examination 
by the commission and its counsel. 

The City Clerk. 
Sect. 22. The present city clerk shall hold office for the term for 
which he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen 
and qualified. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third 
year thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members 
of the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 

* Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acts 
of 1924. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

duly chosen and qualified unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The City Auditor. 

Sect. 23. All accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection and 
revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such form 
as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person presenting 
for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to make oath 
before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy of such 
account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shall be perjury 
and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse to pay, in 
whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent or unlawful 
and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons for the 
refusal. 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any ofl&cer. 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or delivered to said officer or board, a duplicate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted to 
him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any of 
the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for that 
department, and he shall furnish to the mayor and city council a state- 
ment of the unexpended balances of all the departments. He shall furnish 
quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing the amount 
of money expended by the mayor and the city council for contingent 
expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* All loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual instalments in the manner authorized by 
section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as amended 
by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be estabhshed 
for said loan. All bonds shall be offered for sale in such a manner that the 
premiums, if any are received, shall be applied in accordance with the 
provisions of chapter three hundred and seventy-nine of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and ten. No city or county money shall be de- 
posited in any bank or trust company of which any member of the board 
of sinking fund commissioners of said city is an officer, director, or agent. 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910, and Chap. 165, Acts 
of 1911. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

Nothing herein shall apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston issued 
under the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construction of 
tunnels and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commisssion, and 
said bonds may be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking fund. 

Sect. 27.* Every officer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall on or before the sixth day of 
June in each year prepare and furnish to the city auditor a list of the 
officials and employees under said officer or board and paid by the city 
or county on the first day of June preceding. Such lists shall give the 
names, residence by street and ward, designation, compensation, and date 
of election or appointment of each of said officials and employees and the 
date when each first entered the employ of the city or county. It shall 
be the duty of the city auditor to verify said lists by the pay rolls and 
to keep a copy of said lists open for public inspection; and when verified 
the said lists shall be printed by the superintendent of printing as a city 
document in the year 1923 and every two years thereafter. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in the 
public ways, the issue of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage of 
gasoline, oil, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction 
or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, 
poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or illuminating; 
purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commissioners, to be 
exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the mayor; and 
the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by ordinance the 
terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon which permits or 
licenses for the storage of gasoline or oil, or other inflammable substances 
or explosive compounds, and the construction or use of coal holes, vaults, 
bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over the public ways shall be 
issued. 

Sect. 29. f Within ninety days after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and sold 
under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved by the mayor a paper to be known as the City 
Record. All advertising with reference to the sale of property for nonpay- 
ment of taxes shall appear exclusively in the City Record. All other adver- 
tising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the purchase or 
taking of land, contract? for work, materials or supplies, and the sale of 
bonds, shall appear in said paper, and in such newspaper or newspapers as 
the mayor, in his discretion, may order; a list of all contracts of one 
thousand dollars or more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the 
amount of the bids; appointments by the mayor; and changes in the 
number and compensation of employees in each department, shall be 

* Sect 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, and Chap. 133, 
Acts of 1922. 

t Sect. 29 as amended by Chap. 185, Acts of 1934. 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

published in the City Record. Failure to publish in such newspaper or 
newspapers as the mayor may order shall not invalidate any purchase, 
contract or sale made or action taken by the city. The proceedings of the 
city council and school committee together with all communications from 
the mayor, shall be published in the City Record. 

Sect. 30. Every officer or board in charge of a department in said city, 
when authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes in 
an existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, each 
contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about to do 
any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which alone, or in 
conjvmction with other similar work or purchase which might properly be 
included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one thousand dollars, 
shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do otherwise, invite 
proposals therefor by advertisement in the City Record. Such advertise- 
ment shall state the time and place for opening the proposals in answer to 
said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the officer or board to 
reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense with advertising 
shall be given by the mayor unless the said officer or board furnishes him 
with a signed statement which shall be published in the City Record giving 
in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by advertisement. 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval of 
the mayor the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, may 
take in fee for any municipal purpose any land within the limits of the city, 
not already appropriated to public use. Whenever the price proposed to 
be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than twenty-five 
per cent higher than its average assessed valuation diuing the previous 
three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but shall be taken by 
right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner provided for the 
taking of and the payment of damages for land for highways in said city. 
No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan or otherwise for the 
general purpose for which land is needed shall have been made by the mayor 
and city council by a two thirds vote of all its members; or in case of land 
for school purposes by the school committee and schoolhouse department 
in accordance with law; nor shall a price be paid in excess of the appropria- 
tion, unless a larger sum is awarded by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
All proceedings in the taking of land shall be under the advice of the law 
department, and a record thereof shall be kept by said department. 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the fiirst Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. f The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first and 
shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the mimicipal year 
shall begin on the first Monday in January and shall continue until the 

* Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all mem- 
bers of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
years each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the school 
committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of January follow- 
ing their election. 

Sect. 34. In Boston beginning with the current year political com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the municipal 

primaries. 

************* 

Sect. 45. f Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall 
be elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first 
Monday in January following his election and until his successor is chosen 
and qualified and shall not be eligible for election for the succeeding term. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap. 94. 

Sect. 47. t If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, 
the city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve 
for the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time 
there shall be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election 
for the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall 
not apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which 
a new mayor is elected and the date he takes office. In the case of the 
decease, inability, absence or resignation of the mayor, and whenever 
there is a vacancy in the office from any cause, the president of the city 
council while said cause continues or until a mayor is elected shall per- 
form the duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause 
to perform such duties they shall be performed until the mayor or president 
of the city council returns or is able to attend to said duties by such mem- 
ber of the city council as that body may elect, and until such election by 
the city clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be 

* * * * Sections 35 to 44, inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 

t Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918, and Chap. 
479, Acts of 1924. 

J Sect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

called "acting mayor" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only 
in matters not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make per- 
manent appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections 8, 9, and 13 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

Sect. 8. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote upon 
the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the official 
ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the space 
at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. Mo ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such space. 

Plan No. 1. A city council of fifteen members to consist of three 
members to be elected for two year terms by and from the voters of each of 
five boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at 
a salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the name of five hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Plan No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Sect. 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 13. t If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty- 
one, and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 48. J Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shall be elected at each regular 
municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward one 
councillor to serve for two years from the first Monday in January follow- 
ing his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49. § Each member of the city coimcil shall be paid an annual 
salary of two thousand dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from the 
city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly or in- 
directly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. || The city council shall be the judge of the election and 

* * * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, omitted because inoperative. 

t Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 
4, 1924. 

X Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

§ Sect. 49 as amended by Chap. 348, Acts of 1930, which was accepted 
by the voters at the State Election, November 4, 1930. 

II Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 27 

qualifications of its members; shall elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election 
in his ward to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member 
eldest in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of 
the absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. AU elections by the city council under any provision of law 
shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answering 
to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 
stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or declining to vote 
as the case may be, and the clerk or other proper officer shall record every 
such vote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as aforesaid. 

Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

Sect. 53.* Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the sixth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said election, 
signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at least 
two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candi- 
date at said election, and signed in person for the nomination for city coun- 
cillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, for which 
said nomination is sought, qualified to vote for such candidate at said 
election shall be filed with said election commissioners and the signatures 
on the same to the number required to make the nomination subsequently 
certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter provided. Said 
nomination papers shall be in substantially the following form: 

commonwealth of MASSACHUSETTS. 

CITY OF BOSTON 

NOMINATION PAPER 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified to 
vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
election to be held in the City of Boston on November ,19 

* Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37, 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925; 
and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



28 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Name of Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence, 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATURES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of candi- 
dates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In case 
of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after written 
acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we authorize 
(names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority thereof 
as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed by law. 



Signatures op Nom- 
inators. 
To be made in person. 



Residence 
April 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence. 



ACCEPTANCE OF NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

I (the candidate named in this paper, and officer of his political com- 
mittee or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) do 
hereby make oath that the persons whose names appear on this paper as 
nominators signed the same in person. 



(Voter's Residence.) 
Commonwealth op Massachusetts. 
Suffolk, ss. Boston, 19 

Then personally appeared who, I am satisfied, 

is (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee, 
or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) and made 
oath that the foregoing statement by him subscribed is true, and that 
his voting residence is 

Before me, 



Notary Public or Justice of the Peace. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 29 

The affidavit above set forth shall be sworn to before any officer qualified 
to administer oaths. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day 
of election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be 
ineligible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five 
persons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so author- 
ized in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include 
candidates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many 
nomination papers for each office to be filled as there are persons to be 
elected thereto and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the 
board of election commissioners on and after but not before the ninth 
Tuesday preceding the regular municipal election. Such papers shall 
be issued only to candidates who shall file with the election commissioners 
requests therefor in writing, containing their names with the first or 
middle name in full, the offices for which they are candidates, and their 
residences, with street and munber, if any. Forthwith the election com- 
missioners shall print or insert on such nomination papers the names of 
the candidates, the offices for which they are nominated and their resi- 
dences, with street and number, if any. Not more than three hundred 
such nomination papers shall be issued to any candidate for mayor, and 
not more than two hundred such nomination papers shall be issued to 
any candidate for the school committee and to any candidate for the city 
council there shall be issued not more than ten such nomination papers 
for a ward. No nomination papers except those issued in accordance 
with the provisions of this section shall be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55. f Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56. J The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall when filed be a matter of public record; but the nomination papers 
shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been ffied, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twentieth 
day preceding the city election. Such certification shall not preclude 
any voter from filing objections as to the validity of the nominations. All 

* Sect 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1926; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 

t Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921. 

J Sect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

withdrawals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p. m. on the fourteenth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p. m. on the thirteenth day preceding the city 
election. 

Sect. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
with law together with his residence and the title and term of the office for 
which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the munic- 
ipal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 
upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 
board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal election 
shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or mark, 
and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any such 
party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he was 
nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59. t On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of munic- 
ipal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be applicable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting elec- 
tions and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under the 
provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said city. 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act shall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of Boston, 
except that nomination papers for offices to be filled at such elections shall 
be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day following the 
calling of said special election. Every special municipal election shall be 
held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more than ninety days 
after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts so far as inconsistent with this act, 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 31 

are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so far as 
inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. All acts and parts of acts 
affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61 inclusive were accepted by the voters at the state 
election, November 2, 1909. 

Plan No 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1925. 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
-January 4, 1926. 



32 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officials 

IN CHARGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute, ordinance, or both. 
(See Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 





How 

Created. 


Appointed or Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Art Commission (Five), 


Statute . . . 


Mayor . . . 


Annually, 
one 


May 1 . . 


5yrs. 


Assessors (Three) 


u 


ti 


Annually, 
one 


April 1 . . 


3 " 


Auditor 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 






4 " 


Budget Commissioner, 


a 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


« 1.. 


4 " 


Building Commissioner, 
City Clerk 


Statute. . . 

a 

Ord 


a 

City 
Council. . 

Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Triennially, 

Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan . . 

May 1 . . 


4 " 


City Planning Board 
(Five) 


3 " 




5 « 


Collector 


Statute. . . 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Corporation Counsel . . . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 


It 
u 


Quadren- 
nially. . . . 

Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 

April 1 . . 


4 « 




4 " 



CHIEF OFFICIALS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 33 





How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 


4 yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


» 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Hospital Trustees 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


" 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






5 " 


Institutions Commis- 
sioner 


Ord 


11 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Library Trustees (Five) 


u 


ii 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 " 


Markets, Superintend- 
ent of. 


u 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






3 " 


Penal Institutions Com- 
missioner 


Ord 


tl 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1. . 


4 " 


Printing, Superintend- 
ent of 


u 


u 


" 1 • • 






4 " 


Public Buildings, Su- 
perintendent of 


u 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Welfare Depart- 
ment (Twelve) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3^" 


Public Works, Com- 
missioner of 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Registrar, City 


Statute. . . 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Sinking Funds Com- 
missioners (Six) 


u 


(I 


Annually, 
two 


" 1.. 


3 " 



34 



MrXICIPAL REGISTER. 





How 


Appointed os Elected. 


Term. 


Officl^l*. I Created. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missinnpr 


Statute.. \ r.q vnr 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Annually, 
one 

Annualh-, 
one 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 

" 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan. . 

May 1 . . 




Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 

Ord 

Statute. . . 


tt 
a 


4:JVS. 


Street Commissioners 
(Three) 


5 " 


Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 

Traffic Commissioners . . 


3 " 

4 " 


(Five) 

Transit Commissioners 
(Three : 

Treasurer 


Ord 

Statute.. . 


Maj-or . . . 

a 

a 


Triermially 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 
" 1.. 


3 " 


Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 


4 " 













DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 35 



EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 
Office, 27 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2 . 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259' 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C, Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 280, 
367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274, 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184, 348; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453, 479; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167.] 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
Joseph F. Mellyn, Secretary. 
William C. S. Healet, Assistant Secretary. 
Cyril G. Ctjmmings, Assistant Secretary. 
John F. Gilmore, Jr., Assistant Secretary and Chief Clerk. 
Edward U. Lee, Assistant Secretary. 
Bernard J. Dunn, Assistant Secretary. 
Thomas E. Cimeno, Assistant Secretary. 
Mary L. Thompson, Assistarit Secretary. 
Herbert L. McNary, Chief, Licensing Division. 
Joseph Mikolajewski, Assistant, Licensing Division. 
Martin J. Coneoy, Messenger. 

PUBLIC celebrations, CONVENTIONS, AND DISTINGUISHED VISITORS. 

Arthur J. O'Keefe, Assistant Secretary, Director. 

THE CITY RECORD. 

Office, 73 City HaU. 

Frank H. Cushman, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Associate Editor. 

MUNICIPAL employment BUREAU. 

25 Chvirch Street. 
Samuel W. Warren, Director. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Faneuil Hall. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 11; 

Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 87.] 

Officials. 
Robert P. Bellows, Chairman. 
Abthur a. Shurcliff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS.* 

Robert P. Bellows, named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term ends in 1939. 

William Emerson, named by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1938. 

Arthur A. Shurcliff, named by Boston Art Club. Terms ends in 1937. 

William T. Aldrich, named by the Trustees of the Public Library. 
Term ends in 1936. 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1935. 

The Art Department, established in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each year one of the following- 
named bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the 
Trustees of the Boston Public Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of 
Architects, submits a list of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor 
appoints one person as Art Commissioner from each of the lists so submitted. 
Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the Mayor appoints 
his successor from a list selected by the body which made the original 
selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of the 
Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. Moreover, all 
contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, statue, 
bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be made by said 
Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval of the 
Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned by the 
City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 37 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 
8; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
89; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87,* 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edward T. Kelly, Chairman. 
Timothy W. Murphy, Secretary. 

ASSESSORS. 

Timothy W. Murphy. Term ends March 31, 1937. 
Edward T. Kelly. Term ends March 31, 1936. 

Michael J. Brophy. Term ends March 31, 1935. 

deputy assessors. 
Fred E. Bolton. John M. Hayes. 

William H. Cuddy. Francis J. McFarland. 

William F. Morrissey. 
Daniel F. Ryan, Chief Clerk. 



One Assessor is appointed each year by the Mayor for a term of three 
years, from April 1, the Chairman of the Board of three members being 
designated by the Mayor. 

The Assessors pubhshed annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 

assistant assessors. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, § 2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord. 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1925, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 



38 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§ 3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6; Ord. 1934, Chap. 6.] 

Charles J. Fox, City Auditor. Term ends in 1938. 
Daniel J. Falvey, Deputy City Auditor. 

The office of Auditor was established by ordinance on August 2, 1824. 
The office of Deputy City Auditor was established by ordinance on July 11, 
1934. Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been 
published by the Auditor since 1825. These reports now contain in addi- 
tion various financial tables relating to appropriations, debt, etc., and a 
full account of the trust funds, also lists of City property, by departments. 
Less complete reports were published by finance committees from 1811 to 
1824, inclusive. Since June 1, 1867, the Auditor has published monthly 
exhibits of all City and County expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk and Secre- 
tary of the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds. (Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 3, 6.) 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 

[Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, Section 20; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1926, 

Chap. 350; Stat. 1927, Chap. 220; Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 137; Stat. 

1929, Chap. 88; Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 16, 180; 

Stat. 1932, Chap, 143; Stat. 1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chap. 210.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 
Frank Brewster, Vice-Chairman. 
H. Murray Pakulski, Secretary. 
Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Clerk. 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 



39 





Members. 
Nominated by 


Term ends in 


Frederic H. Fay, Chairman, 


City Planning Board 


Ex officio 


Alfred Ellis, Jr 


Boston Central Labor Union 


1939 


Clifford N. Cann 


United Improvement Association 

Team Owners' Association 


1938 


JohnH. Gilbody 


1938 


Frank Brewster 


Boston Real Estate Exchange 


1937 


Eliot N. Jones 


Boston Chamber of Commerce 


1936 


James R. Gibson 


Master Builders' Association 


1936 


George W. Judkins 

Dana Somes 


Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange 

f Boston Society of Architects. 

\ Boston Society of Landscape Architects . . 

Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

Associated Industries of Massachusetts . . . 

Appointed by the Mayor 


1935 
1935 


Frank 0. Whitney 


1934 


Everett F. Gray 


1932 


H, Murray Pakulski 











The Board consists of twelve members, the Chairman of the City Plan- 
ning Board, ex oflcio, and eleven members, appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated by 
each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Exchange, Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association, 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association, and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. All appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of office is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation. Any petition 
for changing the zoning map must be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five doUars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the Board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all property deemed by 
the Board to be effected, change the boundaries of districts by changing 



40 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the zoning map on file at the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs 
of a locality, to avoid undue concentration of population, to provide ade- 
quate light and air, to lessen congestion in streets, to secure safety from fire, 
panic and other dangers, to facilitate the adequate provision of transporta- 
tion, water, sewerage, and other public requirements and to promote the 
health, safety, convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the City of 
Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two-thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, bring a petition in the Supreme Judicial Court for the 
County of Suffolk for a writ of certiorari setting forth that such decision 
is in whole or part not in accordance with the duties and powers of the 
board. 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 

Office, 65 City HaU. 
[Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps, 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 
J. George Herlihy, Secretary. 
Wm. D. Kenney, Executive Officer. 
George E. Willard, Chief Clerk. 

THE board. 
John H. Dorsey (ex officio). 
J. George Herlihy, Term ends Sept. 1, 1937. 
Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends Sept. 1, 1936. 

The Boston Retirement System was estabUshed on Feb. 1, 1923, as 
provided by Chap. 521, enacted in June, 1922, and accepted by Mayor and 
City Council in August, 1922. It is administered by a board of three mem- 
bers, the City Treasurer, ex officio, one person appointed by the Mayor, 
and the third member chosen by the other two. The compensation of the 
members is $10 each for every meeting attended, but not over $500 in any 
one year. After the original appointments, the term of each appointive 
member is four years. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 41 

BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 

Office, 134 North Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

William P. Hickey, Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 



OFFICIALS. 

William P. Hickey, Chairman. 

associate commissionees.* 
Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner. 
Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner of Public Works. 
William P. Long, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
Owen A. Gallagher, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 

Marie A. Maker, Secretary. 

engineering division. 
John F. Hurley, Traffic Engineer. 
Philip T. Desmond, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The act estabUshing the commission became effective April 30, 1929 , 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City Council, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, experts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The commission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 
vehicles on, and their exclusion from, all or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devices for the control 
of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public as to the 
rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

The latest revision of the Traffic Regulations, effective April 10, 1933, 
contains 220 one-way streets and 229 no-parking streets. The Commission 
maintains 129 traffic signals, including two (2) interconnected systems in 
down-town Boston, 4,500 traffic signs, 98 flashing beacons and 143 traffic 
officer's spotlights. Thirty-five miles of white lines painted in the road- 
way, including crosswalks, center lines, lane lines and stop lines, are main- 
tained by the Commission. 

* Ex officiis. 



42 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 47 City HaU, third floor. 

[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Ord. 1927, Chap. 3.] 

Charles J. Fox, Acting Budget Commissioner. 

John A. Sullivan, Executive Clerk. 

The adoption in 1916 of a segregated budget recommended by the 
Budget Commission of 1915 was followed by the establishing of an inde- 
pendent department in 1917, to have the supervision of all details of 
method pertaining to the preparation of the annual appropriation schedules 
of city and county departments. These are submitted at the beginning of 
the financial year to the Mayor, who, after 30 days' consideration, sub- 
mits them to the City Council with his recommendations. The Com- 
missioner of the Budget Department also prepares the form of depart- 
mental monthly reports of expenditures of all appropriations by items. 

Under the provisions of chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930, the Budget 
Commissioner is directed to prepare "classification and compensation 
plans" embracing every office and position in Suffolk County, the salary 
of which "is wholly payable" from the County Treasury. In effect, this 
Act establishes the Budget Commissioner as Personnel Officer of Suffolk 
County. 

BUILDING D;EPARTMENT. 

Offices 901-906 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550 (i. e., Boston Building Law) as amended; Stat. 
1910, Chaps. 284, 571, 631; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 76, 129, 342; Stat. 

1912, Chaps. 259, 364, 369, 370, 713; Ord. 1912, Chaps. 3, 9; Stat. 

1913, Chaps. 50, 280, 577, 586, 680, 704, 714, 729; Ord. 1913, Chap. 
4; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 8, 41, § 31; Ord. 1914, Chap. 4; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 205, 248, 287, 595, 628, 782, 786; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 254, 
306, 333, 346, 352; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 118; Spec. Stat. 1916, 
Chaps. 86, 248, 277; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 221; Spec. Stat. 1918, 
Chaps. 104, 115, 179 {i. e., Building Law amended and codified); 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 32, 155, 156, 163; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 91, 
266, 440, 455, 645; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1, 5; 
Stat. 1921, Chaps. 60, 109, 137, 280, 289, 476; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 
61, 126, 174, 316; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 27, 108, 278, 462; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 136, 332, 335, 412, 414, 488; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 10, 
40; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 130, 219, 335; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 182, 350; 
Ord. 1927, Chap. 2; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 42, 45, 82, 220, 246, 342; 
Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 76, 137, 260, 320, 325; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 
88, 338; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 62, 146, 347, 399; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 
16, 171, 180, 200, 213, 250; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 22, 143, 283; Stat. 
1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 210, 271.] 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 43 

Edward W. Roemer, Building Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
John H. Glover, Acting Clerk of Department. 
Wilfred H. Smith, Chief of Office Division. (Plans.) 
Frank M. Curley, Supervisor of Field Division. (Construction.) 
William A. Wheater, Supervisor of Mechanical Equipment. 

The Board of Appeal (i. e., appeal from the decisions of the Building 
Commissioner), although appointed by the Mayor, is nominated by the 
leading real estate and builders' organizations. 

It is the duty of the Building Commissioner to issue permits for and 
inspect the erection and alteration of buildings (including schoolhouses) 
in the City, and the setting of boilers, engines and furnaces; to keep a 
register of all persons licensed to take charge of constructing, altering, 
removing or tearing down buildings; to keep a register of the names of 
all persons carrying on the business of plumbing and gasfitting, and of 
all persons working at the business of gasfitting, and to issue licenses to 
master and journeymen gasfitters; to issue permits for and inspect the 
plumbing and gasfitting in buildings; to inspect elevators in buildings 
and report upon elevator accidents; to issue licenses for operators of 
elevators; to inspect at least monthly all theaters and moving-picture 
houses, and semi-annually aU halls or places for public assembly; to 
inspect existing tenement houses; to report on all fires in, and accidents 
in or to, buildings, to approve plans of new buildings and alterations, 
and to pass upon all questions of zoning. 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 

[Stat. 1872, Chap. 371; Stat. 1892, Chap. 419; Stat. 1896, Chap. 313 

Stat. 1898, Chap. 452; Stat. 1904, Chap. 333; Stat. 1905, Chap. 383 

Stat. 1907, Chap. 416; Stat. 1914, Chap. 786; Stat. 1915, Chap. 333 

Stat. 1923, Chap. 462; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1928, Chap. 137.] 

Following the Great Fire in Boston which occurred on November 
9 and 10, 1872, a special session of the Legislature was called to consider 
questions growing out of the calamity and to enact such measures as were 
appropriate for the protection and rebuilding of the city. This resulted 
in an amendment to the Building Law of 1871 establishing a maximum 
height limit of 75 feet, which was amended the following year to 80 feet, 
providing further that additional height might be added if the same were 
constructed in a fireproof manner. 

In 1892, Chapter 419 provided for a maximum height limit of 125 feet, 
with a further restriction to 2| times the width of the widest street or 
square on which such building stood. 

Authority to limit building heights to 70 feet within 25 feet of a park- 
way, boulevard or public way bordering on a park was granted under the 
provisions of a General Law, Chapter 313 of the Acts of 1896, and accepted 
by the city of Boston in May of the same year. This Law carried with 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

it provision for damages and is one of the few instances in the city of 
Boston of the Umitation of building heights through the exercise of eminent 
domain. For the most part restrictions are adopted under the pohce 
power. 

Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1904 provided for the appointment of a 
Commission authorized to divide the city of Boston into two districts; 
A, in which the greater part of the buildings situated therein was used 
for business or commercial purposes, restricted to a height of not more 
than 125 feet, and B, in which the greater part of the buildings situated 
therein was used for residential purposes, restricted in height to 80 feet. 

The boundaries of the A and B Districts as thus estabhshed continued 
in effect until the appointment of a similar Commission under the pro- 
visions of Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1915, this second Commission being 
authorized to revise the boundaries but not to increase the maximum 
height limits. The result was that the boundaries of District A were 
considerably enlarged. 

In the meantime, Chapter 383 of the Acts of 1905 provided that buildings 
may be erected in the 80-foot district on streets exceeding 64 feet in width 
to a height equal to one and one-half times the width of the street upon 
which the building stands, but not exceeding 100 feet in any event, a 
modification which remains in effect at the present time. 

Chapter 462 of the Acts of the year 1923 amended previous legislation 
and established a maximum height limit of 155 feet, further making pro- 
vision for the erection of buildings to a height greater than two and one- 
half times the width of the street, but not exceeding 155 feet if the external 
wall of a height greater than two and one-half times the width of the street 
shall be set back from the vertical face of the building in the ratio of one 
foot horizontally for each two and one-half feet vertically. Further 
regulations were also established for buildings on a narrower street near its 
intersection with a wider street. 

Chapter 488 of the Acts of the year 1924, the Boston Zoning Law, divides 
the city into 35, 40, 65, 80 and 155 foot districts, as shown on a map pre- 
pared by the Boston City Planning Board, and filed in the office of the 
State Secretary, each of the aforesaid districts carrying with them in 
addition to height limitations certain restrictions with regard to the bulk 
of buildings, the area of yards and other open spaces and the percentage of 
lot occupancy. Flexibility in the administration of the Zoning Plan is 
assured through the Board of Appeal, which is authorized to vary the 
provisions of the Law, and through the Board of Zoning Adjustment which 
is authorized to change the boundary lines of the zoning districts, under 
certain given conditions. 

According to an opinion handed down by the Supreme Judicial Court 
on March 2, 1926 (Grenville H. Norcross and another, Trustee and others, 
versus the Board of Appeal of the City of Boston), Districts A and B as 
territorial divisions regulating height of buildings, established in accordance 
with earlier statutes, no longer exist in view of the general scope and 
detailed provisions of the aforesaid Zoning Law. 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 45 

Chapter 137, Acts of 1928, permits the erection of " pyramidical" build- 
ings, so called. A good example is the United Shoe Machinery building 
located at the corner of Federal and High Streets. 

CHAPTER 137, ACTS OF 1928. 
An Act Relative to the Height of Buildings in the City of Boston. 
Be it enacted, etc., as follows: 

Section 1. Section eighteen of chapter five hundred and fifty of the 
acts of nineteen hundred and seven, as amended by section eleven of 
chapter four hundred and sixty-two of the acts of nineteen hundred and 
twenty-three, is hereby further amended by adding at the end thereof the 
following new paragraph: 

Notwithstanding those provisions of this section which relate to a 
maximum height limit of one hundred and fifty-five feet, on a lot on which 
a building one hundred and fifty-five feet in height is permitted, part of a 
building or structure may exceed such height provided the volume of such 
building or structure does not exceed the number of square feet of buildable 
area of the lot multiplied by one hundred and fifty-five feet, and provided 
further that every part of such building or structure above a height equal 
to two and one half times the effective width of the street but not exceed- 
ing one hundred and twenty-five feet shall set back from every street 
and lot line one foot for each two and a half feet of additional height. 

Section 2. Section fifteen of chapter four hundred and eighty-eight 
of the acts of nineteen hundred and twenty-four is hereby amended by 
striking out the second paragraph of said section, entitled "Height," and 
inserting in place thereof the following new paragraph: 

Height: No building shall exceed the height limit established by sec- 
tion eighteen of chapter five hundred and fifty of the acts of nineteen 
hundred and seven, as amended. Approved March 19, 1928. 

There have been, in addition, a number of laws enacted which operated 
indirectly as to height limits in the City of Boston, including special re- 
strictions in the vicinity of Copley Square and the Public Library; the 
State House; Rutherford Avenue, between Chapman Street and the 
Mystic River tracks of the Boston and Maine Railroad; Washington 
Street, Lovering Place, Harrison Avenue and Asylum Street; and the 
property occupied by the Mechanic Arts High School on Dalton, Belvi- 
dere and Scotia Streets. So far as these special restrictions are concerned, 
the Zoning Law particularly specifies that it shall not interfere with, 
abrogate, annul, or repeal any statute previously enacted relating to the 
use of buildings or premises, provided, however, that where the zoning 
act imposes a greater restriction upon the use of buildings or premises or 
upon the height of buildings, the provisions of such act shall control. 



BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 

[Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; 

Ord. 1925, Chap. 5.] 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS. 

John F. Hickey, Chairman. 

Mart C. Dowd, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD, 

Harry J. Greenblatt. Term ends in 1936. 
Thomas K. Reynolds. Term ends in 1935. 
John F. Hickey. Term ends in 1934. 

The Board of Examiners was established in 1912 as an adjunct of the 
Building Department, to consist of three members, appointed by the 
Mayor. The duties of these examiners are to determine the qualifications 
of persons taking charge or control of the construction, alteration, removal 
or tearing down of buildings; to register and classify those who are com- 
petent according to fitness, and certify such to the Building Commissioner. 
Each examiner is to receive ten dollars for every day or part thereof of 
actual service, but not more than $900 for the Chairman, or more than 
$800 for the other members, in the year 1934. 

The fees to be paid to the Board are: for new license, $5; for each 
annual renewal, $2; for special license, $1. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550, §§6, 7; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 13, § 6; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 631; Stat. 1920, Chap. 440; Stat. 1923, Chap. 108; 
Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1929, Chap. 88; 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 116, 180.] 

officials. 
Joseph A. Tomasello, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Secretary. 

THE board. 

John C. MacDonald. Term ends in 1939. 
Joseph A. Tomasello. Term ends in 1938. 
James A. McElaney. Term ends in 1937. 
F. Warren Clark. Term ends in 1936. 
Daniel G. Slattery. Term ends in 1935. 

The Board consists of five members, one appointed each year by the 
Mayor, one member from two candidates nominated in successive years, 
by the following organizations respectively: Real Estate Exchange and 
Auction Board and Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange; Boston Society 
of Architects and Boston Society of Civil Engineers; Master Builders' 
Association and Contractors' and Builders' Association; and Building 
Trades Council of the Boston Central Labor Union; also one member of 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 47 

the Mayor's own selection. The term of ofBce is five years. Each mem- 
ber is paid $10 per day for actual service, but not more than $1,000 in 
any one year. 

Any applicant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
application has been refused in re building law or m re zoning law, may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days, and a person who has been ordered 
by the Commissioner to incur any expense may, within thirty days after 
receiving such order, appeal to the Board of Appeal by giving notice in 
writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled by this 
Board, after a hearing. 

Appeal may also be made to this Board from certain requirements of 
the Commissioner of Wires. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 31 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 

Wilfred J. Doyle, City Clerk. Term ends in 1935. 
John B. Hynes, Assistant City Clerk. 

The City Clerk is elected by the City Council for the term of three 
years. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of all city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments of 
wages, and other instruments, issues licenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 

The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, respectively. Clerk and 
Assistant Clerk of the City Council. 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41, §18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant City Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 

CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 30 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12; 
Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 
1925, Chap. 333.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 

William Stanley Parker, Vice-Chairman. 

Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 

the board. 
Frederic H. Fay. Term ends in 1939. 
William Stanley Parker. Term ends in 1938. 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sidney S. Conrad. Term ends in 1937. 
Mary A. Barr. Term ends in 1936. 
Nathan Sidd. Term ends in 1935. 

Chapter 41 of the General Laws, Sections 70, 71 and 72, provides that 
every city and every town in the state having a population of more than 
10,000 shall, and towns having a population of less than 10,000 may, 
create a planning board which shall make careful studies of the resources, 
possibilities and needs of the town, particularly with respect to conditions 
injurious to the public health or otherwise in and about rented dwellings? 
and make plans for the development of the municipality, with special 
reference to proper housing of its inhabitants. 

In January, 1914, an ordinance was passed by the Boston City Council 
establishing "The City Planning Board" consisting of five members, one 
of whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888, Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 

John F. Doherty, City Collector. Term ends in 1938. 

The Collector collects and receives all taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any account to the 
City of Boston or the County of Suifolk. He has the custody of all leases 
from, and of all tax deeds of land held by, the City. Annual reports 
have been published since 1876, also monthly statements. The Collector 
is also Coxmty Collector. 

ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, § 78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65. 93, 114, 209, 288, 340, 387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105.] 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 49 

OFFICIALS. 

David B. Shaw, Chairman. 
Charles T. Harding, Secretary. 

commissioners. 
David B. Shaw. Term ends in 1938. 
Daniel H. Rose. Term ends in 1937. 
Peter F. Tague. Term ends in 1936. 
Charles T. Harding. Term ends in 1935. 

One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 
beginning April 1. The two leading political parties must be equally 
represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually by the 
Mayor. 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other officers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 367. 

POLICE listing board. 

Chapter 835, Section 69, of the Acts of 1913, provides that: "In Boston 
there shall be a listing board composed of the Police Commissioner of 
said city and one member of the board of election commissioners, who 
shall annually be appointed by the mayor, for the term of one year, and 
who shall belong to that one of the two leading political parties of which 
said police commissioner is not a member." 

The duties of said board are provided for in Sections 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 
74 and 75 of Chapter 835 of the Acts of 1913; and all other acts in amend- 
ment and addition thereto. 

The Board consists of Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner, and 
Peter F. Tague, Election Commissioner. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
Ofiice, City Building, Bristol street. 
[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, §§9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap. 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309.] 



50 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Edwaed F. McLaughlin, Fire Commissioner . Term ends in 1938. 

Hekbert J. HicKEY, Executive Secretary of the Department. 

Henry A. Fox, Chiej of Department. 

Thomas H. Downey, Deputy Chief. 

John J. Kenney, Deputy Chief. 

Walter M. McLean, Deputy Chief. 

Samuel J. Pope, Deputy Chief. 

William F. Quigley, Deputy Chief. 

Louis C. Stickel, Deputy Chief. 

Frank A. Sweeney, Deputy Chief. 

George L. Fickett, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 

Peter F. Dolan, Superintendent, Wire Division. 

Edward E. Williamson, Superintendent of Maintenance Division. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge of 
1 Commissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 7 Deputy 
Chiefs, 30 District Chiefs, 1 Superintendent of Fire Alarm, 1 Superin- 
tendent of Maintenance, 1 Medical Examiner, 1 Supervisor of High 
Pressure and Marine Service, 1 Engineer of Motor Vehicles, 89 Captains* 
130 Lieutenants, 1,280 Engineers, Assistant Engineers, Apparatus Opera- 
tors, Masters, Aides, Hosemen and Laddermen, 19 Clerks, 18 Fire Alarm 
Operators, and 115 Mechanics, Painters, Linemen, Repairers, Electricians? 
Workmen and other employees. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Wire Divis- 
ion), 1,738. 

There are 65 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 55 employees, operat- 
ing 1,652 signal boxes, and a repair shop with 115 employees. Annual 
reports have been published since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of deputy chiefs, $4,500; districts chiefs, $4,000; captains, 
$2,700; lieutenants, $2,500; apparatus operators, $2,200; first-year privates, 
$1,600, with annual increase of $100 until the maximum of $2,100 is 
reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising and 
inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors, and substituting 
underground for overhead transmission. The Wire Division is in charge of 
1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Clerk, 6 Clerks, 1 Chief Inspector, 31 Inspectors, 
1 Telephone Operator, 1 Chauffeur. A total of 42 employees (included in 
above 1,738). 

boston firemen's relief fund. 
By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 
the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 
elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body for 
the purpose of holding and administering the Firemen's Relief Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 51 

HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 

Main office, 1108 City Hall Annex, eleventh floor. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 448, 486; Stat. 
1913, Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3 and 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3. Ord. 1931, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Francis X. Mahoney, M. D., Health Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

DEPUTY commissioners. 

M. Victor Safford, M. D., Medical Division. 

Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 

Karl R. Bailey, M. D., Laboratory Division. 

George T. O'Donnell, M. D., Tuberculosis Division. 

Charles F. Wilinsky, M. D., Child Hygiene Division and Director of 

Health Units. 
M. Victor Safford, M. D., Acting Deputy Commissioner, Sanitary Divi- 
sion. 
Patrick H. Mullowney, M. D. V., Food Division. 
Joseph W. Monahan, Vital Statistics Division. 

other supervising officers. 
Robert E. Dyer, D. V. S., Veterinarian in charge of Dairy Division, 
Frank E. Mott, Milk Inspector. 

Alexander R. Burr, M. D. V., Veterinarian in charge of Abattoir Division. 
Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under the 
special statute of February 13, 1799. It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 
service should pass from the control of the Health Department when the 
property was leased to the United States, in effect June 1, 1915. 



52 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

On Oct. 26, 1926, the Conservation Bureau of the City of Boston (Rev. 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 18, Sect. 5) was abolished, and instead there was created 
a Conservation Division within the Health Department. March 31, 1927, 
Ordinance enacted abolishing the Boston Sanatorium Department and 
placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Mattapan under the jurisdiction of 
the Trustees of the Boston City Hospital; all other powers and duties and 
the Out-patient Department were transferred to the Health Commissioner. 
Chap. 1 of Ordinance of 1927 amended Feb. 16, 1931. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 
Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison avenue. 
[Stat. 1858, Chap. 113; Stat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; 
Stat. 1893, Chap. 91; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 18; 
C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 521, §§18, 19; Stat. 1924, Chap. 70; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph P. Manning, President. 
George G. Sears, M. D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES. * 

George G. Sears, M. D. Term ends in 1938. 
Martin J. English, M. D. Term ends in 1937. 
Joseph P. Manning. Term ends in 1936. 
Carl Dreyfus. Term ends in 1935. 
Karl Adams. Term ends in 1934. 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on June 1, 1864. Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River Street, Mattapan 
(for tuberculous patients), the Haymarket Square Relief Station, the East 
Boston Relief Station, and the West Department, West Roxbury (this 
latter department not being in operation). 

The Convalescent Home in Dorchester was closed in March, 1932. 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold real 
and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corporation to 
an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

hospital officers. 

John J. Dowling, M. D. — Superintenderd and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 

Charles H. Pelton, M. D. — Assistant Superintendent. 

James W. Manart, M. D. — Executive Director of Out-Patient Depart- 
ment. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 53 

SOUTH DEPARTMENT. 

Medical Director. — John J. Dowling, M. D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M. D. 

Assistant Physicians. — Morris Prizer, M. D., Joseph H. Doll, M. D., 
Joseph Lipshutz, M. D. 

SANATORIUM DIVISION. 

Assistant Superintendent. — Frederick L. Bogan, M. D. 

RESIDENT MEDICAL STAFF. 

Resident Medical Officer. — Frank H. Hunt, M. D. 

Resident Medical Officer, First Assistant. — Ralph Volk, M. D. 

Resident Medical Officer, Second Assistant. — John J. Ahern, M. D. 

Resident Medical Officer, Third Assistant. — Lee Koehler, M. D. 

Resident Medical Officer, Fourth Assistant. — Edward C. Classey, M. D. 

(Substitute). 
Resident Surgeon. — Olin C. Hendrix, M. D. 

HAYMARKET SQUARE RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Bernard F. Devine, M. D., Samuel Sidell, M. D. 

EAST BOSTON RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — Arthur G. Holland, M. D., James V. Sacchetti, M. D. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 808-811 City HaU Annex. 
[Special Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1921, Chap. 173; 

Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; Ord. 1924, Chaps. 9, 10.] 
Frederic A. Washburn, M. D., Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 

Walter V. McCarthy, Deputy Commissioner. 

The department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. January 1, 1934, there were 1,345 in the 
care of the institution, of whom 431 were in the hospital. The department 
controls about 167 acres and buildings on Long Island, valued at nearly 
$4,000,000. The steamers "Stephen J. O'Meara" and "George A. 
Hibbard" are maintained for transportation service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 808 City Hall Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1934, the division had 
1,362 children in its care, was using 11 different institutions for medical 
care or special training, and 652 foster homes. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City Hall, receives and investigates 
applications for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres. 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 19. 
Henry E. Foley, Corporation Counsel. 
Joseph T. Brennan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Gerald J. Culhane, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Samuel S. Dennis, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
James A. Dorsey, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Daniel W. Flynn, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Walter F. Henneberry, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Charles E. Leonardi, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Frederick W. Miller, Jr., Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
H. Murray Pakulski, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Joseph A. Scolponeti, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Charles S. Sullivan, Jr., Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
J. Burke Sullivan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Lewis H. Weinstein, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Walter J. O'Malley, City Conveyancer. 
John A. Brennan, City Conveyancer. 
Isidore H. Fox, Special Legislative Counsel. 
John J. Concannon, Special Legislative Counsel. 
Daniel B. Carmody, Clerk. 
Margaret G. O'Neil, Secretary. 

The office of "Attorney and Solicitor" was established in 1827; the 
office of Solicitor in 1879 and that of Corporation Counsel in 1881. The 
office of City Solicitor was abolished and the department placed under 
the sole charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 

As now organized the Law Department consists of a Corporation 
Coimsel and fifteen assistants, two of whom are detailed to do the con- 
veyancing work of the department. There are also two legislative coimsel. 
The department, in addition to representing the City in all litigation to 
which it is a party, prosecutes in the Municipal and District Courts, at 
the request of department heads, certain criminal proceedings, and also 
does the conveyancing work for the various municipal departments. All 
city contracts are approved by this department. 

Legal opinions are furnished to the various department heads and city 
officials, including the School Committee, on matters relating to the 
discharge of their official duties. This department also appears and 
represents the city before the various committees of the Legislature and 
before other pubhc boards and commissions. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 55 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 

[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C. Title IV., Chap, 
23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116; Spec. 
Stat. 1931, Chap. 50.] 

OFFICIALS. 

William Cardinal O'Connell, President. 
Frank W. Buxton, Vice-President. 
Milton E. Lord, Director. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Louis E. Kirstein. Term ends in 1939. 

Ellery Sedgwick. Term ends in 1938. 

William Cardinal O'Connell. Term ends in 1937. 

John L. Hall. Term ends in 1936. 

Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1935. 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in num- 
ber, are appointed by the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. 
They were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold 
real and personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This 
amount was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919 and to $20,000,000 in 1931. 
The first Trustees were appointed under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. 
The old Library Building on Boylston street was opened to the public in 
September, 1858, and closed finally in January, 1895. The Central 
Library Building on Copley square, costing $2,756,384, was first opened on 
March 11, 1895. The Library is maintained by an annual appropriation 
included in the regular budget of the City Government. Of this appro- 
priation ($1,004,750 in 1933) $84,904.92 was used for the purchase of books 
and periodicals. The Library trust funds in the custody of the City 
Treasurer amounted to $787,122.28 on January 1, 1934. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been con- 
tinued without interruption. 

LIBRARY system. 

The Library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Business Branch at 20 City Hall avenue, and thirty-three branch 
libraries with independent collections of books. There were, on January 1, 
1934, in the entire Library system, including mechanical departments, 
about 600 employees. 

Besides the daily delivery of books called for at the various branches, 
200 public and parochial schools and institutions and 40 fire-company 
houses are regularly supplied. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

For reading and reference the Library is open to all without formality. 
On December 31, 1933, there were 197,458 cardholders having the right to 
draw books for home use. The total number of volumes was 1,654,017, 
including newspapers and periodicals. Books issued in 1933, for home 
use and for use through schools and institutions, numbered 5,548,283. 

CENTR.\L LIBRARY, COPLEY SQUARE. 

Lending and reference, 1,139,967 volumes. 

Periodical reading-rooms, 1,544 periodicals. 

Newspaper reading-room, 188 current newspapers. 

Patent Department, 2,584 volumes. 

Bates Hall for reading and reference. About 10,000 volumes are on 
open shelves. 

Other Activities. The Fine Arts Department has facilities for copying 
and photographing, a collection of photographs of architecture, sculpture 
and painting, numbering 127,154 (including process pictures), besides 
illustrated books, portfolios, etc., and 17,274 lantern slides. Special 
assistance is offered to classes, travel clubs, etc. Free lectures mostly 
on art and travel topics, and concerts, are given during the winter season. 
The room for yoimger readers has about 10,000 volmnes on open shelves for 
reading and circulation. A Teachers' Reference Room is maintained, and 
reference books are reserved for use in connection with University Exten- 
sion courses. Story telling for children is regularly conducted under 
expert direction at the Central Library and principal branches. On 
the ground floor of the Central Library near the main entrance are three 
rooms, wherein is provided a commimity and general information service, 
and on open shelves, a classified collection of general literature for cir- 
culation, consisting of about 2,500 volimies. The Library is open from 
9 a. m. to 10 p. m.; Sundays, from 2 to 9 p. m.; closed at 9 p. m. from 
June 15 to September 15. 

BUSINESS LIBRARIES. 

The Business Branch in the Kirstein Memorial Library at 20 City Hall 
avenue contains a carefully selected collection of 13,631 books on business 
and allied subjects, and is conducted with a view to serving the business 
interests of Boston. The Business Branch is open on week days from 
9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., and on Saturdays from 9 a. m. to 1 p. m. 

Through an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library 
of the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration has been 
made a Branch of the Boston Public Library system. This Library's 
collection of business material, including the collection of the Business 
Historical Association, is freely open to the public for reference. Hours, 
8.30 a. m. to 10 p. m. on week days; 1 to 10 p. m. on Sundays. 

BRANCH LIBRARIES. 

The 33 branch libraries are open on week days from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m 
with some variation of hours in summer. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 57 

MARKET DEPARTMENT. 

Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22 and Chap. 40, §§ 9-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6.] 

Frank J. Kiernan, Superintendent oj Markets. Term ends in 1938. 

Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed during 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market, 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, established the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively I'aneuil Hall and Quincy Market. 

The Superintendent of Markets may assign stands within their limits; 
and it is his duty, from time to time, to lease the stalls in the markets at 
rents not less than those established by the City Council. The market 
police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and under his control. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 

Offices, 33 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

William P. Long. Term ends in 1937. 

Theodore G. Haffenreffer.* Term ends in 1936. 

John J. Martin.* Term ends in 1935. 

OFFICIALS. 

William P. Long, Chairman. 

Daniel J. Byrne, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

Charles A. Hogan, Deputy Commissioner. 

Richard J. Hayden, Superintendent oj Parks and Cemeteries. 

James E. O'Reilly, Superintendent of Baths. 

John J. Murphy, Chief Engineer. 

Albert L. Edson, Airport Superintendent. 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875. 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Groimds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 

* Two commissioners serve without compensation. 



58 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

and Recreation Department. In 1920 the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Department. 

A list of the parks, public grounds, and statues was published in the 
1932 Municipal Register. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 805 City Hall Annex. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, 
Chap. 595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 
William G. O'Hare, Commissioner. Term ends in 1934. 
Peter L. Lambert, Deputy Commissioner. 
The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department, and he is also charged with 
paroling power from Charles Street Jail, according as deemed necesary 
for its proper conduct. 

HOUSE OF CORRECTION. 
George F. A. Mulcahy, Master. 
This institution dates from 1895, and now includes land and buildings 
valued at $2,146,900, land appraised at $605,900, and buildings at 
$1,541,000. 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office and Printing Plant. 174 North street. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 
William J. Casey, Superintendent of Printing. Term ends April 30, 1938. 

The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910 it has been entirely self-supporting and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance, 
including pay roll, has been met from revenue. 

The plant is located at the corner of North and Richmond streets in a 
city-owned building for the exclusive use of the department. It is organ- 
ized and equipped especially for the city's printing requirements and 
consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and accessories. The 
building and plant is appraised at approximately $600,000. 

Chapter 24, Section 1, of the Revised Ordinances provides that the 
Superintendent of Printing "shall have charge of the printing plant and of 
all the printing of the city, shall supply all printing, binding, stationery 
and other office supplies, except furniture, used by any board, commis- 
sion or department for which the City of Boston is required by law to 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 59 

furnish such supplies, and shall, wherever practicable, standardize all such 
printing, binding, stationery and other office supplies." 

In addition to the above, the Superintendent purchases all postage used 
by the City of Boston. 

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1005 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 

Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1.] 

RoswELL G. Hall, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends 

April 30, 1938. 
Thomas A. Callahan, Chief Clerk. 

The Office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established by 
ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published by the 
Superintendents since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, repair 
and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 

A list of the city buildings in charge of this department was published 
in the Municipal Register for 1932. 

FLAG days. 

By order of the City Council it is the duty of the City Messenger to have 
the national colors displayed upon the public fiagstaffs on the following 
days: 

January 17, Franklin's Birthday. 

February 12, Lincoln's Birthday. 

February 22, Washington's Birthday. 

March 17, Evacuation Day. 

April 19, Patriots' Day. 

April 27, Grant's Birthday. 

May 30, Memorial Day. 

Jime 14, Anniversary of Adoption of National Colors. 

June 17, Bunker Hill Day. 

July 4, Independence Day. 

September, first Monday, Labor Day. 

September 17, Anniversary of Founding of Boston. 

October 12, Columbus Day. 

November 11, Armistice Day. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 

(Formerly Overseers of the Poor.) 
Office, Charity Building, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 26; Stat. 
1930, Chap. 402.] 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

OFFICIALS. 

James A. McMurry, Chairman. 

John C. L. Dowling, Secretary and Executive Director. 

Edward H. Willey, Treasurer. 

overseers.* 
Terms expire April 30, 1937. 
Margaret J. Gookin. Frances G. Curtis. 

William J. Finn. Felix Vorenberg. 

Terms expire April 30, 1936. 
James A, McMurry. Laurence M. Lombard. 

Sophie M. Friedman. Clifford P. Warren. 

Terms expire April 30, 1935. 
Edward H. Willey. Cornelia G. McMahon. 

Frank M. Leonardi. Mrs. Eva W. White. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
lished in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," con- 
sisting of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The 
Board has issued annual reports. 

The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trustees 
of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. The total amount of the 
19 permanent charity funds in the custody of the Overseers on January 1, 
1934, was $776,113.85, the annual income from which (about $28,807.06) 
is distributed in accordance with the terms of the donations. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street, 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, but exacts work in its woodyard for meals furnished, and 
the Temporary Home on Chardon street for temporarily destitute women 
and children, opened in 1870. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 

General Offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors. City Hall Annex. 
[Ord. 1910, Chap. 9; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 553 and 571; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
312; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1 and 10; Stat. 1912, Chap. 348; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 28; Stat. 1914, Chap. 324; Ord. 1916, Chap. 3; Ord. 1917, 
Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, Chap. 3; Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 1929, Chap. 
16.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner. Term ends in 1937. 
John J. Connelly, Executive Secretary. 

* The Overseers serve without compensation. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 61 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of Public Works, the latter authorized 
to create the necessary divisions of the department according to his judg- 
ment. The following divisions have been created, viz.. Bridge and Ferry, 
Highway, Sewer, Sanitary, Water, and Water Income each in charge of a 
Division Engineer. 

The Commissioner of Public Works, who must be a civil engineer of 
recognized standing in his profession, has control over the construction 
of all streets and sewers; the care and management of all bridges used as 
highways; of the ferries owned and operated by the City; of the Sumner 
Vehicular Tunnel connecting Boston Proper and East Boston; and of the 
street lamps maintained by the City ; the cleaning, repairing and sprinkling 
of streets and the removal of house offal and refuse; the maintenance and 
operation of all fixtures and appliances held by the City for purposes of 
water supply; and over the granting of permits to open, occupy, obstruct 
and use portions of streets. 

BRIDGE, FERRY AND TUNNEL DIVISION. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 

Leo B. Reillt, Division Engineer. 
Rudolph J. Thanisch, Engineer of Construction. 
John de Meulenaer, Designing Engineer. 
Thomas H. Sexton, Supervisor. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction and 
maintenance of the greater part of the highway bridges within the limits 
of the City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the abolish- 
ment of grade crossings, the maintenance and operation of the Sumner 
Tunnel, also the special engineering work for other City departments. 
All drawtenders are appointed by and subject to the control of the Com- 
missioner of Public Works. 

HIGHWAY DIVISION. 
Main Office, 501 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 

Joshua Atwood, Division Engineer. 
William T. Morrissey, Chief Engineer. 
Richard N. Power, Lighting Service. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all public streets, the issuing of permits to open, occupy and obstruct 
portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the electric and gas lamps in the 
public streets, alleys, parks and public grounds, and the placing of glass 
street signs and numbers therein, the nimibering of buildings and the 
placing of all street signs. 



62 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



STREET LAMPS IN USE JANUARY 1, 1934. 



Electric. 



Gas. 



Total. 



Magnetite arc 

Tungsten incandescent . . . 

Single mantle 

Single mantle (fire alarm) 



3,664 
9,790 



9,392 
218 



3,664 

9,790 

9,392 

218 



Totals. 



13,454 



9,610 



23,064 



SANITARY DIVISION. 
Main Office, 507 City Hall Annex. 
Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
Peter F. Gerrity, Supervisor. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the collection and removal of ashes, 
garbage and refuse, and the cleaning, oiling and flushing of streets. 

Total expenditure for year 1933, $2,503,351.91 for collection and disposal 
of the City 's waste materials and the cleaning, oiling and flushing of streets. 

REMOVAL OF STORE REFUSE. 

The removal of refuse from shops, stores and warehouses, involving 
much extra labor, is attended to by the Sanitary Division and charged for 
at 11 cents a barrel or bundle (not larger than a flour barrel). No removals 
are made except on delivery of tickets obtainable at 507 City Hall Annex, 
or from authorized agents. 

SEWER DIVISION. 
Main Office, 701 City Hall Annex. 
George W. Dakin, Division Engineer. 
George S. Coleman, Carl S. Drake, Francis J. Gately, District 

Engineers. 
William V. P. Hoar, Maintenance and Records Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has supervision of all property and personnel of 
the Sewer Division, and the maintenance and construction of all sewerage 
works. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority : 

Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1903, Chaps. 268, 383; 

Stat. 1907, Chaps. 464, 550; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 204, 514; Special 

Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 27, 39; Stat. 1930, 

Chaps. 178, 304; Stat. 1932. Chap. 224. 

Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by the 
Public Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners, 
who also award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 63 

The assessment upon an estate for a new sewer is limited to $4 per linear 
foot, and it is a lien upon the property. An Act of the Legislature pro- 
hibits the assessment in similar cases of the cost of surface drains. 

In the calendar year 1933, there were built by contractors, day labor and 
private parties, 17.88 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and 527 
catch-basins, making on January 1, 1934, a total of 1,189.29 miles of com- 
mon and intercepting sewers and 20,831 catch-basins in charge of the sewer 
Division. 

The Boston Main Drainage System, comprising 24.12 miles of inter- 
cepting sewers, with a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, and storage 
reservoirs and outlet into the harbor at Moon Island, takes care of the 
sewage from City Proper, South Boston, and parts of Roxbury, West 
Roxbury and Dorchester. 

The common sewer system has three electrically operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany streets was 
built in 1915 to relieve floodings in the South End district of Boston, by 
pumping and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. 

The station at Summer street, opposite E street, was built in 1913, and 
takes care of the sewage from the Commonwealth Pier district, and the 
Army and Navy Bases. 

The ejector station at Milton street was built in 1914 to serve temporarily 
a small district, too low to flow by gravity into the present system. 

Charlestown and East Boston sewage discharges into the main North 
Metropolitan System of the State, which discharges into the harbor waters 
just south of Deer Island. 

Sewage from all of Brighton, a portion of the Back Bay and a small 
part of Roxbury, discharges into the South Metropolitan System, is 
lifted by pumping at the Ward street pumping station, then flows through 
the main sewer, which also drains by gravity, portions of West Roxbury 
and Dorchester and all of Hyde Park, finally outletting into Quincy Bay 
at Nut Island. 

WATER DIVISION. 

Main Office, 607 City Hall Annex. 

Daniel M. Sullivan, Division Engineer. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and maintenance 
of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purposes of the City's 
water supply. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1933, was 963.69 miles; number of fire hydrants, 11,150 public, 381 private, 
December 31, 1933. 

The first water document published by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports on the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 
reports. By chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Water Income Department and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single commissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the Metropolitan Water Board, took possession, 
in 1898, of all that part of the Boston water system lying westward of 
Chestnut Hill Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent 
lands. The sum paid to the City was $12,531,000. Payments to the 
State by the City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 
1898. Total available quantity of water in the nine storage reservoirs 
of the Metropolitan system on January 1, 1933, 62,585,300,000 gallons, 
of which about 83 per cent (51,812,600 gallons) was in the Wachusett Reser- 
voir in Clinton, 32 miles west of Boston, an artificial lake 4,135 acres in 
surface area and added to the system in 1905. There are also twelve 
distribution reservoirs with capacity of 2,400,680,000 gallons, five pump- 
ing stations being connected with these, in which stations 26,244,000,000 
gallons of water were pumped during the year 1932. In the existing 
Metropolitan Water District are nine cities, besides Boston, and ten towns. 
Boston takes about 65 per cent of the entire water supply of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1933 was 82,999,100 
gallons, or 106 gallons per capita. 

HIGH PRESSURE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of Chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
Public Works was authorized to install an efficient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work completed, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 18.45 
miles of pipe with 503 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation of 
system to December 31, 1933, was $2,587,455.65. Two pumping stations 
are now in use. 

WATER INCOME DIVISION. 

Main Office, 604 City Hall Annex. 
Meter Shops, 710 Albany Atreet. 
James A. McMurry, Division Engineer. 

The Division Engineer makes all water assessments and other charges 
necessary for the maintenance of the Water Divisions. 

All applications for service pipes and main pipe extensions are received 
and the cost of same determined by the Water Income Division. The 
installation of meters and the maintenance of the 101,338 meters now in 
service come under this Division. 

The filing of liens for unpaid water bills is an important function of the 
Water Income Division. 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 65 



REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 34; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
28; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 29; Ord. 1924, Chap. 1; Ord. 1924, Chap. 1.] 
Hilda Hedstrom Quirk, City Registrar. Term ends in 1938. 
Margaret M. Foley, Assistant Registrar. 
Charles H. Mackie, Assistant Registrar. 

The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
issues certificates of the same and marriage licenses, receives and records 
affidavits of additions to and amendments and corrections of said records, 
and forwards copies of all records to the office of the Secretary of the 
Commonwealth and to outside cities and towns when nonresidents are in- 
volved. Annual reports have been published since 1849, except in 1860 
and 1861. 

By Ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (established July 6, 1875) 
were abolished, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, including the 
publication of documents relating to the early history of Boston were 
transferred to the City Registrar. 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall. 
[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 
324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 2 and 30.] 

officials. 
Eliot Wadsworth, Chairman. 
Charles J. Fox, Secretary. 
John H. Dorset, Treasurer. 

Commissioners.* 
Eliot Wadsworth. Term ends in 1937. 

Michael H. Corcoran, William Spottiswoode. Terms end in 1936. 
George Y. Berry, Samuel Kalesky. Terms end in 1935. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



66 MUISICIPAL REGISTER. 

Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further estabUshing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loans 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an oflficer, director or agent. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 60 City Hall, fifth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3 

and 31.] 
Charles H. Carey, Soldiers' Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 
John D. Connors, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Soldiers' Relief Department was created as a department of the 
City of Boston by Chapter 441 of the Acts of 1897, and is under the charge 
of a commissioner appointed by the Mayor. He exercises all powers and 
duties for the distribution of State and City aid to soldiers in the City 
of Boston, such as were formerly vested in the Mayor and Board of Alder- 
men. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 76 City Hall, seventh floor. 
[Ord. 1897, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps. 6 and 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Charles J. Fox, Acting Chairman. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Daniel T. O'Connell. Term ends in 1938. 
Charles J. Fox. Term ends in 1936. 
Robert Dysart. Term ends in 1934. 

This department, established in 1897, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to collect, compile and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston and such other statistics, for purposes of 
comparison, as they may deem of public importance, as well as to provide 
information to the Mayor, City Council, municipal departments, and 
the public on request. 

* The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
by him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 67 

The Municipal Register has been compiled and edited annually by the 
department since 1898. Boston Statistics, including memorable sites and 
buildings in Boston, a pocket size compendium of detailed information 
and statistics, has been compiled annually since 1915, -and issued widely 
to 1930, when its printing was discontinued. Much of this material has 
been incorporated in "Organization of the City Government," an annual 
City Council Manual. The Boston Year Book, a much more ambitious 
and comprehensive work of approximately 500 pages, which elicited 
national approval as the first of its kind in the United States, was issued 
in 1924 and 1925. 

City Record. 

Office, 73 City Hall, seventh floor. 
[Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, Sect. 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 
486, Sect. 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, Sect. 2; Ord. 1922, 
Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, Sect. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frank H. Cushman, Editor. 

Joshua H. Jones, Jr., Associate Editor. 

Edward F. O'Dowd, Business Agent. 

In accordance with the amended City Charter of 1909, the official 
weekly chronicle of Boston municipal affairs, with the title. City Record, 
was re-established in that year, after a lapse of nine years. It was issued 
originally in 1898 under the management of the Statistics Department. 

The publication is now issued under the direction of the Mayor, who 
appoints the Editor and Associate Editor, while the business management 
s in charge of the Secretary of the Statistics Department. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, 401 City Hall Annex, fourth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, Sect. 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, 
Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 
519; Cons. Stats. 1908, Chap. 51; Stat. 1909, Chaps. 209, 486, Sects. 
28, 31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; Stat 1912, Chaps. 338, 
339, 371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; 
Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 
1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 155; Spec. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191, 
407; Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 
1923, Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1929, Chap. 187; Stat. 1930, Chap. 399; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 173, 
297; Gen. Laws (Ter. Ed. 1932), Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83.] 



68 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Board op Street Commissioners. 
Owen A. Gallagher, Chairman. Term ends in 1936. 
Walter A. Murray. Term ends in 1935. 
Thomas A. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1937. 

Cornelius A. Reardon, Secretary. 
William J. Sullivan, Chief Engineer . 
Arthur N. Colman, Assistant Chief Engineer. 

The Board of Street Commissioners consists of three members, one of 
whom is elected by them to be Chairman. One member is appointed by 
the Mayor each year to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has jurisdiction over the laying-out, widening, relo- 
cation and discontinuance of highways; the taking of real property for 
mimicipal purposes; the levying of assessments for betterments resulting 
from the construction of streets or sewers; the plotting of undeveloped 
areas for streets and the opening of private ways; the granting of licenses 
for the storage or sale of merchandise in public streets; the making of 
specific repairs in public streets; the naming of public streets; the planting 
and removal of trees in public ways; the issuance of licenses for the keeping, 
storage, manufacture and sale of gasoline, oil, and other inflammable 
substances or explosive compounds; and the use of public ways for any 
permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over 
the same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone, 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes; signs, marquees, bay 
windows, coal-holes and vaults. Incidental to its powers to take lands 
and construct streets, it has authority to award compensation to land 
owners for damages resulting from such taking and construction. In 
certain instances its awards and its grants of licenses or permits must 
bear the approval of the Mayor. 

In 1895 the duties of the Board of Survey were transferred to the Board 
of Street Commissioners. In 1907 the Board of Street Commissioners 
was charged with the licensing of street stands for the storage or sale of 
merchandise. In 1909, by Section 28 of the City Charter (Acts of 1909, 
Chapter 486 and amendments thereto) the jurisdiction previously exer- 
cised by the Board of Aldermen concerning the naming of streets, the 
planting and removal of trees in public ways, the issue of permits or 
licenses for coasting, the storage of gasoline, oil and other inflammable 
substances or explosive compounds and the use of public ways for any 
permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over the 
same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone, 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes, was vested in the 
Board of Street Commissioners, to be exercised with the approval in 
writing by the Mayor, and the Mayor and City Council were given 
authority to fix by ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, 
or otherwise, upon which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or 
oil or inflammable substances or explosive compounds and the construction 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 69 

or use of coal-holes, vaults, bay windows, signs and marquees, in, under, 
or over the public ways shall be issued. The fees for licenses or permits 
to sell or store inflammables or explosives are collected by the Board of 
Street Commissioners upon their original issuance of such licenses. There- 
after, an annual renewal fee for such licenses, which is one half of the original 
fee, is collected by the Fire Department. The fees for licenses or permits 
to maintain obstructions or projections in, under or over the streets are 
collected by the Board of Street Commissioners. 

In 1913 the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority to 
issue permits for the erection of garages. 

By virtue of Section 1 of Chapter 33 of the Revised Ordinances of 1925, 
the Board of Street Commissioners is charged with the care and main- 
tenance of all land and buildings belonging to the city and not used for 
specific purposes. 

In 1927, by authority of, and in conformity with. Section 8 of Chapter 85 
of the General Laws (1921), the Board of Street Commissioners adopted 
"Rules and Regulations Relating to Projections in, on or over Public 
Highways," amending and revising all its pre-existing rules and regula- 
tions concerning such projections. The penalty for violation of these 
Regulations is a fine not exceeding five dollars for each day that the viola- 
tion continues, after five days' notice given by the Board of Street Com- 
missioners to the violator. 

In 1930 (by Chapter 399 of the Acts of 1930) the jurisdiction of the 
Board of Street Commissioners as to the storage and sale of gasoline, oil, 
and other inflammables or explosives was amplified and its jurisdiction 
extended to include the licensing and regulation of open-air parking spaces. 
In 1908 the Board of Street Commissioners was charged with the regu- 
lation of pedestrian and vehicular traffic. In 1929 (by Chapter 263 of the 
Acts of 1929) jurisdiction over the regulation of traffic was transferred 
from the Board of Street Commissioners to the Boston Traffic Commission. 
In 1929, also, the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority 
(by Chapter 187 of the Acts of 1929) to license the holding of rehgious 
meetings, political meetings or rallies in public ways. That Act was, 
however, repealed by Chapter 173 of the Acts of 1931. 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 801 City Hall Annex, eighth floor. 
[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 
Warken W. Loomis, Superintendent. Term ends in 1938. 
Charles E. Thornton, Chief Clerk. 

The Supply Department purchases all materials, apparatus and supplies, 
except printing, stationery and furniture for all departments of the City, 
with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department, Library Department, and the Transit Department. 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1 Beacon Street, seventh floor. 
[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297, 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Ord. 1931, Chap. 1.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Chairman. Term ends in 1934. 
John F. McDonald. Term ends in 1935. 
Arthur V. Sullivan. Term ends in 1936. 

This department was estabHshed to exercise the powers and perform the 
duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose official 
existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; Ord. 
1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; 
Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7.] 
John H. Dorset, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1938. 
Arthur F. Swan, Assistant Treasurer. 
Walter W. Foley, Assistant Cashier. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of the 
City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge by any 
statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, and pays 
all bills and demands against the City. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer, Treasurer of the Sinking 
Funds Department, Member and Treasurer of Boston Retirement Board, 
and Custodian of the Boston Public School Teachers' Retirement Fund. 
He pubhshes reports yearly, also monthly statements. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 106 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 98, §§ 34-56; Stat. 1882, Chap. 42; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 43; Stat. 1909, Chap. 382; Stat. 1910, Chap. 209; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 503; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 346, 379, 452; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 37; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 253; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 120; Gen. Stat. 
1919, Chaps. 91, 128; Ord. 1919, Chap. 1; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 259, 369; 
Ord. 1923, Chap. 4.] 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 71 

James A. Sweeney, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 

The standards in use are supplied by the Commonwealth and a stand- 
ardization is made every five years by the Division of Standards, Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts. The office was authorized by ordinance 
in 1890. Annual reports have been published beginning in 1864. By 
Chapter 382, Acts of 1909, all principal and assistant sealers are included 
within the classified civil service. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments. 



(73) 



74 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officials, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected, as prescribed by statute 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, and the term of 
office. 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


School Committee (five) 

Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three). 

Police Commissioner 


Statute 

(1 
(( 
u 
u 
u 

Bequest 
Statute 

u 
u 


Elected . . . 

*** 

Governor . 

GovernorA 

GovernorA 

Supreme 
Court. 


City elec- 
tion 

Annually 
one. 


IstMon. 
in Jan'y 

1st Mon. 
in June 


4yrs.. 
3yrs. . 

5 yrs. 

5 yrs.. 

6 yrs. 


Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 

Licensing Board (three) 

Franklin Foundation 


Annually 
one. 

Biennially 
one. 

B 


(twelve Managers). 

George Robert White Fund 
(five Trustees). 

Boston Port Authority (five), 

Boston and Cambridge 
Bridges Commiss'n (two). 

Boston Metropolitan Dis- 
trict (five). 






**** 
Mayor. . . . 






5 yrs. 






Governor 

and 

Mayor. 















A With the advice and consent of the Executive Council. 

B As vacancies occur. 

*** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Commitee and 
Board Members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.) 

**** Three members appointed by the Mayor and two appointed 
by the Governor. 



VARIOUS OFFICIALS. 



75 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Old South Assoc'n (three 
Managers). 

Loan Comp'y, Chattel 
(one Director) . 

Loan Comp'y, Collateral 
(one Director). 

Loan Assoc'n, Workingmen's 
(one Director). 

County of Suffolk 


Statute 

u 

(C 

u 


City Coun- 
cil. 

Mayor . . . 

a 
u 


Annually . 
Annually . 


When 
elected. 


lyr. 
1 yr. 

lyr. 
lyr. 


u 


Jan 

Feb ... . 















76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS, DEPARTMENTS, COMMIS- 
SIONS, COURTS, ETC. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 241; Stat. 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 249 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 19fl9 
Chaps. 120; 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90, and Spec. Stat. Chaps. 189, 300 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 86, 88, 213, 267, 289 and Gen 
Stat. Chap. 102; Gen Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132 
199, 206; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 169, 351 
Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 460, 488 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 327; Stat. 1926 
Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1929, Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chap. 283, 313 
Stat. 1931, Chaps. 100, 111, 155, 229, 247, 250.] 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

Maurice J. Tobin. Term ends January, 1936. 
Joseph J. Hukley. Term ends January, 1936. 
Charles E. Mackey, M. D. Term ends January, 1936. 
Joseph V. Lyons, D. M. D. Term ends January, 1938. 
Frederick R. Sullivan. Term ends January, 1938. 

officials. 
Maurice J. Tobin, Chairman. 
Frederick R. Sullivan, Treasurer. 
Patrick T. Campbell, Superintendent. 
Ellen M. Cronin, Secretary. 
Alexander M. Sullivan, Business Manager. 
Mark B. Mulvey, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

BOARD OF superintendents. 

Superintendent Campbell, Chairman, ex officio. 

assistant superintendents. 
Mary C. Mellyn, John C. Brodhead. 

Arthur L. Gould. William B. Snow. 

Michael J. Downey. Edward J. Muldoon. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 77 



THE TEACHERS COLLEGE OP THE CITY OF BOSTON, LATIN AND DAT HIGH 

SCHOOLS (18). 

Teachers College, Public Latin, Girls' Latin, Brighton High, Charlestown 
High, Dorchester High (Girls), Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston 
High, English High (Boys), Girls' High, High School of Commerce 
(Boys), High School of Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, 
Jamaica Plain High, Mechanic Arts High (Boys), Roxbury Memorial 
High (Girls), Roxbury Memorial High (Boys), South Boston High. 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School. 

Continuation School. 

Trade Schools. — Boston Trade School, Trade School for Girls. 

day intermediate school districts, school districts with INTER- 
MEDIATE classes, and day ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS (84). 

East boston. — f Blackinton, Chapman, * Donald McKay Intermediate, 
Emerson, f John Cheverus, * Joseph H. Barnes Intermediate, Samuel 
Adams, Theodore Lyman, Ulysses S. Grant. 

Charlestown. — * Clarence R. Edwards Intermediate, Harvard, Warren. 

North and West Ends. — Eliot, Hancock, * Michelangelo Intermediate, 
* Washington Intermediate, Wells, Wendell Phillips. 

City Proper. — * Abraham Lincoln, t Prince, Quincy. 

South End. — f Dwight, t Everett, t Franklin, f Rice, * South End Inter- 
mediate. 

South Boston. — * Bigelow, * Gaston, f John A. Andrew, * Norcross, 
t Ohver Hazard Perry, * Shurtleff, * Thomas N. Hart, 

Roxbury. — f Dearborn, f Dillaway, t Dudley, Henry L. Higginson, 
t Horace Mann School for the Deaf, f Hugh O'Brien, t Hyde, t Jefferson, 
Julia Ward Howe, * Lewis Intermediate, t Martin, t Sherwin, * Theodore 
Roosevelt Intermediate, William Lloyd Garrison. 

Brighton. — Bennett, * Thomas A. Edison Intermediate, Thomas Gard- 
ner, Washington AUston, * WiUiam Howard Taft Intermediate. 

Jamaica Plain. — Agassiz, f Francis Parkman, Lowell, * Mary E. Curley 
Intermediate. 

Roslindale. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, * Washington Irving Inter- 
mediate. 

West Roxbury. — Beethoven, * Robert Gould Shaw. 

Dorchester. — f Christopher Gibson, Edmund P. Tileston, f Edward 
Everett, * Frank V. Thompson Intermediate, Gilbert Stuart, * Grover 
Cleveland Intermediate, Henry L. Pierce, John Marshall, * John 
Winthrop, Mary Hemenway, t Mather, Minot, * Oliver Wendell 
Holmes Intermediate, f Phillips Brooks, Robert Treat Paine, Roger 
Wolcott, * Solomon Lewenberg Intermediate, WiUiam E. Endicott, 
t William E. Russell, * Woodrow Wilson Intermediate. 

Hyde Park. — Elihu Greenwood, Henry Grew, * William Barton Rogers 
Intermediate, 

* Includes Grade IX. f Includes Grade VIII. 



78 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



INDUSTRIAL AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS. 

Industrial Schools.— Boston Trade School (day) with evening classes 
also; Trade School for Girls (day), with extension classes also; Con- 
tinuation School (day) for employed boys and girls. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Bookkeeping, 
Typewriting, English, office practice and penmanship. 

Disciplinary Day School. — For truants and other school offenders. 

School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 

Day School for Immigrants. — • For instruction in English language. 

administrative offices. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon St. Headquarters of all officials. 

At Continuation School, 25 Warrenton St., educational and employ- 
ment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays), from 8.30 A. M. to 
3.30 P. M., and on Saturdays from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Physical examina- 
tion of applicants for employment certificates daily from 8.30 to 3.30 P. M. 

Minors' licenses (i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., issued daily, except Saturdays, from 4 to 5 P. M., and on Saturdays 
from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Licenses are not issued during school hours. 

supervisors of attendance. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 779, §§ 12, 13.] 

These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. They are 
also constables, serving without bonds. There are 31 officers besides the 
head supervisor and they may be seen from 9 to 9.30 A. M., on the days 
that the schools are in session at the principal schoolhouse in the district 
served. 

school physicians and school nurses. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department. Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 
For all schools and districts there is one Director of School Hygiene in 
charge of seven supervising school physicians, one school physician assigned 
to the certificating office, one otologist, one ophthalmologist, 58 school 
physicians, one supervisor of nutrition classes, 22 nutrition class attend- 
ants, 19 assistant nutrition class attendants, 22 matrons, one sanitary 
inspector, and one supervisor of health education. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of one supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. The sum available for the employment 
of school physicians and school nurses is 12 cents on each one thousand 
of the City's assessed valuation, which in 1934, amounted to $221,249.39. 
In addition any balance unexpended the previous year is available. In 
accordance with the policy of the Committee this year to restrict appro- 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE, 79 

priations, the sum of $198,469.66 was appropriated. For the eighty-four 
elementary and intermediate school districts there is one supervising 
nurse in charge of four assistant supervising nurses, one nurse assigned to 
the certificating office, and 60 school nurses. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907 the School Committee were authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and facilities in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
■control. 

The sum available for this branch of education is 15 cents on each 
$1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, which in 1934 will amount to 
$276,561 .73. In addition, the income from games and contests is available. 
The cost of military drill is not charged against the appropriation for 
Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises one director, one 
associate director, one supervisor-in-charge of playgrounds, 13 instructors 
of military drUl, two armorers, 39 women instructors of physical educa- 
tion, 13 teacher coaches of athletics and six supervisors of playgrounds 
assisting in the direction of approximately seven hundred playground 
teachers assigned for different seasons. The latter have charge of games, 
plays, dances, etc., in the one hundred schoolyard playgrounds and seventy- 
five park playgrounds in use. 

INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 
xaised by local taxation and expended for all public schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the State Board of 
Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation Schools, for 
employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, were included 
under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus maintained are the 
Boston Trade School (for Boys), day and evening classes. Trade School 
for Girls, day and extension classes. Compulsory Continuation School, 
High School of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in Brighton, 
Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Hyde Park, Roxbury Memorial 
High School for Boys and South Boston High, and practical arts courses 
in the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two-thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 



80 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MANUAL ARTS. 

The Training School for Teachers of Mechanic Arts, located in the 
Parkman Schoolhouse, Broadway, South Boston, is conducted under the 
direction of the Department of Manual Arts. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows : Brighton 
(auto mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (woodwork), 
East Boston (machine shop pratice), Hyde Park (machine shop practice) 
Jamaica Plain (agriculture), Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys 
(Printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). 

There are 161 shops in elementary and intermediate schools, in which 
the following-named subjects are taught: Auto mechanics, bookbinding, 
drafting, electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, printing, 
sheet metal, woodwork, and diversified shop subjects. 

Modeling is taught in fifth grades in all boys' schools, by a special 
teacher. Cardboard construction and bookbinding in the fourth and. 
fifth grades are supervised by the department. 

Gardening is conducted by the department as an after-school and 
summer activity; home gardening in fifty-seven and school gardening; 
in thirty-one elementary and intermediate districts. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

There are ten high schools offering courses in household science and arts, 
Brighton, Charlestown,* Dorchester, East Boston, Girls' High School of 
Practical Arts, Hyde Park, Jamaica Plain, f Roxbury Memorial, South 
Boston, with 14 cookery rooms, 25 sewing rooms, 5 millinery rooms and 
7 home practice suites; 71 rooms in elementary and intermediate schools 
equipped for instruction in cookery, 90 sewing rooms, 5 millinery rooms and 
17 home suites. 

A director, two assistant directors, 76 teachers of cookery, 144 teachers^ 
of sewing, and 5 teachers of milUnery are assigned to the Department of 
Household Science and Arts. 

EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE SCHOOLS. 

There are ten evening high schools. Central (English High School- 
house), Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Girls', Hyde 
Park, Roxbury (Boston Clerical Schoolhouse), South Boston and West 
Roxbury (Washington Irving Schoolhouse). These schools, the sessions- 
of which are held on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 7.30 
to 9.30, are conducted in the several high schoolhouses of the districts 
named. All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are sixteen evening elementary schools, including five branch 
schools of same in session on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings. 

Evening trade classes are conducted in the Boston Trade School and 
three branch schools held in the Brighton, East Boston and Hyde Park 
High Schoolhouses. 

* No sewing. f No cookery. 



DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 81 

DAY SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are seventeen schools for immigrants where instruction in the 
EngUsh language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except 
Saturday) for two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

SUMMER REVIEW AND VACATION SCHOOLS. 

These supplementary summer review schools, two high, two inter- 
mediate, and eleven elementary, for pupils who have been retarded in 
their studies, were started in 1914. The term is thirty-four days, and the 
number of pupils in 1933 was 10,561. 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL (dAY). 

Classes for boys are held in the Continuation School, 25 Warrenton 
street; classes for girls, at 10 Common street. 

All children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an employment 
certificate are compelled by law to attend the school four hours per week. 

USE OF SCHOOLHOUSES FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES- 

In 1912 the School Committee were authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now fourteen School Centers, each having a 
manager and largely attended on two evenings and one afternoon a week. 
More than 78 school buildings are also used by Non-School Center groups. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose a 
sum equal to four cents on each $1,000 of the City's assessed valuation, 
which in 1934 will amount to $73,749.80. In addition, the income from 
rents of school buildings and any balance unexpended the preceding year 
are available. Besides the renting of school halls for club meetings, 
entertainments, etc., basements and other accommodations in schoolhouses 
are used by the Election Department as polling places, lighting and janitor 
service being paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIREMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of all its members, may 
retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the public day schools who has reached the age of sixty-five years, also 
such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been employed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
public day schools, the pension paid amounts to one-third of the annual 
salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than $312, 
nor more than $600 annually. If the period of service is less than thirty 



82 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

years, the pension is proportionally less. The School Committee is 
authorized to provide for these pensions by appropriating annually, if 
necessary, an amount equal to five cents on each $1,000 of the City's 
assessed valuation. The Permanent School Pension Fund amounted to 
$1,109,386.51 on January 1, 1934, and 263 retired teachers were receiving 
pensions therefrom. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, is 
paying $120 per year to 366 annuitants, the total amount of its fund on 
October 1, 1933, being $1,504,999.09. At that date 3,848 teachers were 
each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 

Department op School Buildings. 
Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.] 

Richard J. Lane, Chairman, appointed by School Committee. Term 
ends Dec. 1, 1934. 
James T. Moriarty, appointed by Mayor. Term ends Dec. 1, 1935. 
Francis R. Bangs, choice of other two. Term ends Dec. 1, 1936. 
Wm. W. Drummey, Superintendent of Construction. 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled "An Act to establish a 
board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston" be accepted? there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act, the board "shall consist of three citizens 
of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee, and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed, or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act, the Department of School Buildings 
is established, to be under the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse conmmissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 83 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 387, 513, 560; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 480, 519; C. C, Stat. 1909. Chaps. 221, 311. 538; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 236, 263, 592; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 87; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; 
and Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 145, 307; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 259; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 23, 93, 188; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 7, 8, 13, 
68, 211; Stat. 1921, Chap. 114; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, § 31; Stat. 
1923, Chaps. 30, 242, 289; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, § 2, 371, 410; Stat. 
1925, Chaps. 284, 331; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 108, 247, 379, §1,395; 
Stat. 1927, Chaps. 30, 157, 163, 326; Stat.1929, Chaps. 3, 263; Stat. 
1930, Chaps. 241, 387, 392; Stat. 1931, Chap. 399; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 
156, 289; Stat. 1933, Chap. 284, § 21F; Stat. 1934, Chaps, 86, 254.] 

Eugene C. Hultman, Police Commissioner. 
Augustine J. Gill, Secretary. 
Leo Schwartz, Legal Adviser. 
Thomas S. Gill, Chief Clerk. 
Martin H. King, Superintendent of Police. 
James McDevitt, Deputy Superintendent. 
John M. Anderson, Deputy Superintendent. 
William W. Livingston, Deputy Superintendent. 

The Board of Police for the City of Boston, established in 1885, was 
superseded in 1906 by a single executive, the Police Commissioner. 

The City is divided into fifteen Police Divisions, in each of which is a 
station house, the quarters of a captain and force of men. 

The city, for police purposes, is divided into three major inspectional 
districts, namely, Districts A, B and C, and each district placed under 
the inspectional supervision of a Deputy Superintendent of Police. 

The Headquarters of the Department is located at 154 Berkeley street, 
corner of Stuart street. 

The Commissioner appoints a Harbor Master and assistants from the 
police force, and they receive pay in accordance with their rank in the 
force. The steam launch "Watchman," the gasolene boats "E. U. Curtis" 
and "Argus," and two speed boats are employed in this service. 

By Chapter 114, Acts of 1921, the annual listing of residents now in- 
cludes all women 20 years of age and over, in addition to the men. 

On August 2, 1934, the police force numbered 2,193, including 1 super- 
intendent, 3 deputy superintendents, 17 captains, 11 lieutenant-inspectors, 
58 lieutenants, 174 sergeants, 1924 patrolmen, and 5 policewomen. 

There were 17 men and one male and two female telephone operators 
assigned to the signal service, whose director has charge of 544 signal 
boxes. 



84 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Salaries (basic): Superintendent, $7,000; deputy superintendents, 
S4,500; captains, $4,000; lieutenant-inspectors and lieutenants, $2,700; ser- 
geants, $2,500; patrolmen, $1,600 1st year and $100 increase each year 
until $2,100 (maximum) is reached. Two himdred dollars additional 
salary annually to officer who serves as "aide to Police Commissioner." 
Uniforms and equipment are free. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 

Office, 24 School Street. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap. 

489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369; Stat. 1925.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph J. Leonard, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cunnifp, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Joseph A. Sheehan. Term ends in 1938. 

Charles M. Storey. Term ends in 1937. 

Joseph J. Donahue. Term ends in 1936. 

Joseph J. Leonard. Term ends in 1935. 

Frank A. Goodwin. Term ends in 1934. 

The Finance Commission is constituted under the Amended Charter of 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
The chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accounts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 
of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Covmcil, the Governor 
or the General Court. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the validity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by them. 



LICENSING BOARD. 
Office, 1 Beacon Street, Eighth Floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chap. 214; Stat. 1909, Chaps. 221, 
387, 423; Special Stat. 1915, Chap. 313; Stat. 1917, Chap. 145; Stat. 
1918, Chap. 259; General Laws, Chaps. 136, 138, 140; Stat. 1920, 
Chap. 47; Stat. 1921, Chap. 59; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 392, 485; Stat. 
1925, Chap. 284; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 299, 395; Stat. 1927, Chap. 326; 
Stat. 1933, Chaps. 284, 376.] 



LICENSING BOARD. 85 

OFFICIALS. 

David T. Montague, Chairman. 
Louis Epple, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

David T. Montague. Term ends in 1938. 
Mary E. Driscoll. Term ends in 1936. 
The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established by Statutes 
of 1906, Chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the 
Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council. They must be 
citizens of Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years pre- 
ceding the date of their appointment. The two principal parties must be 
represented and the term of the members is fixed at six years after the 
first appointment which was for six, four and two years. The Board was 
created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred 
upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating 
liquors, innholders, common victuallers, billiard and pool tables, sippio 
tables, bowling alleys, intelligence offices, picnic groves and skating rinks. 
The fee fixed by the Statute on all but liquor licenses, common victuallers 
and innholders is not less than $2 for each license. (Sect. 202, Chap. 140 
General Laws.) Liquor license fees are fixed by Sect. 19, Chap, 138, 
General Laws. Innholders' and common victuallers' fees are fixed at not 
more than $5 for each license. (Sect. 2, Chap. 140, General Laws.) 

By Statutes of 1909, Chap. 423, the Board was given the right to issue 
licenses to "Sunday dealers in ice cream, confectionery, soda water and 
fruit," the fee for such licenses not to exceed $5. 

By Statutes of 1918, Chap. 259, the Board was granted the right to issue 
licenses to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. By Statutes of 
1921, Chap. 59, a fee of not more than $2 was allowed if established by 
the City Council. The Coimcil established the fee at $2 in 1922. 

By Statutes of 1920, Chap. 47, the Legislature transferred the issuing 
of licenses for roller skating, carousels, inclined railways, ferris wheels 
and outdoor exhibitions of fire fighting to this Board. (Chap. 140, General 
Laws, Sect. 186.) The fee not to be less than $2 for each license. (Sect. 
202.) 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 392, the Board was given the right to license 
"retail vendors of Soft Drinks." The fee for such license was not to 
exceed $1. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended giving 
the licensing of vendors of firearms to this Board. The law relates to the 
renting, selling or leasing of firearms, and the word firearms includes a 
pistol, revolver or other weapon from which a shot or bullet can be dis- 
charged, and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, 
detachable or magazine breach does not exceed twelve inches, and a machine 
gun irrespective of the length of the barrel. It does not include antique 
firearms incapable of use, nor sales of firearms at wholesale. The fee 
for such license to be fixed by the Board. 



86 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

By Statutes of 1926, Chap. 299, the Board was given the right to grant 
entertainment licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on 
in conjunction with sale for cash of food or drink. No fee was to be 
charged to common victuallers and innholders carrying on such enter- 
tainment, but a fee of $5 could be charged to persons selling drinks who 
carried on an entertainment. Entertainments consist of dancing, music, 
cabaret, or amusements. 

By Chapter 376 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given the authority 
to issue alcoholic beverage licenses to common victuallers, innholders, 
taverns, clubs and retail bottle stores, and to suspend or revoke the same 
after a hearing. 

By Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given authority to 
grant victuallers' licenses to clubs who dispense food and beverages on 
their premises, to their stockholders or members and their guests and to 
none others. 

Note: Chapter 120 of the Acts of 1933, which gave the Board authority 
to issue non-alcoholic beverage licenses containing not more than 3.2 per 
cent of alcohol, was repealed when the new alcoholic law (Chap. 376) was 
enacted. Any 3.2 licensee could carry on his business until May 1, 1934, 
or could surrender his license and get a refund, or a credit on the fee paid 
for on alcoholic beverage license. 

This new Chapter 376, Acts 1933, becomes part of the new Chapter 138 
of the General Laws. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

[Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1927, Chap. 40; 

C. C, Chap. 48, §5.] 

MEMBERS OP THE CORPORATION AND MANAGERS OP THE 
FRANKLIN FUND. 

James J. Phelan, President. 
Henry B. Sawyer, Vice-President, 
Rev. Charles E. Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

managers.* 
Frederick W. Mansfield, Mayor of Boston, ex-officio. 
Rev. Charles E. Park (Congregational minister), ex-officio. 
Rev. Francis E. Webster (Episcopalian minister), ex-officio. 
Rev. Donald W. MacLeod (Presbyterian minister), ex-officio. 
Charles E. Cotting, Louis Curtis, Charles R. Gow, Francis C. 

Gray, J. Arthur Moriarty, Noel Morss. James J. Phelan, 

Henry B. Sawyer. 

Appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court. 

* The Managers serve without compensation. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 87 



Franklin Union, corner Appleton and Berkeley streets. 
Walter B. Russell, Director. 
The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers 
of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Union as an independent industrial 
school and technical institute for adults. 

The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 
Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 
codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, 
united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers imder the age of twenty-five 
years." 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
"I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 
will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Franklin heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (H?^ of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Trades School 
and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of complications 
the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor Collins, 
in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme Court, 
praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then acting as 
Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion November 25, 
1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers were 
Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen did 
not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with refer- 
ence to it. The Court, under its general power to care for public chari- 
table funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to take 
the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the Court, 
that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 



88 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, which Mr. Carnegie agreed to duplicate. Only the 
annual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be used for 
maintenance oi Franklin Union. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Union Building was erected at the corner of Appleton and Berkeley 
streets. It was opened for the use of Franklin Union in September, 1908. 
This is maintained partly by tuition fees, rents, etc., $56,146.21 total in 
year 1934, including the income from the above mentioned Franklin 
Fund {i. e., the Andrew Carnegie Donation). The building contains 
24 classrooms, 6 draughting rooms, and 9 shops and laboratories, where 
777 adult students received instruction at evening sessions and 67 in day 
courses during the year 1934. There is also a technical and scientific 
library, and a large hall with a seating capacity of 1,000. The building, 
with equipment, cost $430,045.69. The site, containing about 16,000 
square feet, was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year loan being issued 
to cover same. 

The Franklin Fund (Second Part) will become available in 1991. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 

Edward L. Logan", Manager. 

Office, 45 City HaU. 

The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 
manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City founcil, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston. 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, 
at Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, at Blue Hill Avenue 
and Savin Street, Roxbury, at High and Elm Streets, Charlestown, at 
Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, and at Whittier and Hampshire 
Streets, Roxbury, in the hope of being able, by proper instruction, to 
better the living and health conditions of the communities in the congested 
districts. 

A Prado has been established at Hanover and Unity Streets in the 
North End, to provide an open air space for the residents of the North 
End. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGES COMMISSION. 89 



BOSTON PORT AUTHORITY. 

Office, Custom House, 16th floor. 
[Chap. 229, Acts 1929.] 

The Boston Port Authority is an unpaid board consisting of two persons 
appointed by the Governor and three persons appointed by the Mayor 
of the City of Boston for a term of five years each. 

The board shall, from time to time, investigate any and all matters 
relating to the Port of Boston, particularly with reference to the unifica- 
tion of overseas terminals, belt line connections, rates, rules, grain ele- 
vator and warehouse facilities, and other conditions affecting the Port, 
and may initiate or participate in any rate proceedings or investigations 
concerning the Port of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE MAYOR. 

Louis E. Kirstein, Chairman. Term ends in 1939. 
John F. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1939. 
Frank S. Davis. Term ends in 1935. 

appointed by the governor. 
Richard Park hurst, Vice Chairman and Secretary. Term ends in 1939. 
Charles E. Ware, Jr. Term ends in 1939. 

executive secretary. 
George P. Tilton. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGES COMMISSION. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 

[Stat. 1870, Chaps. 300, 302; Stat. 1898, Chap. 467, § 14; Ord. 1906, 
Chap. 1; C. C, Chap. 35, §§ 2, 4 and 5; Stat. 1912, Chap. 92; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 497.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner for Boston. 
William R. McMenimen, Commissioner for Cambridge. 
John J. O'Neil, Secretary. 

This Commission was established in 1870, to have charge of the mainte- 
nance of the West Boston, Canal or Craigie's, and the Prison Point bridges. 
In 1892 the Harvard bridge was placed in their charge. The powers of 
the Commission were greatly enlarged in 1898 when all bridges and draws 
between the two cities were placed in their charge. The expense of 
maintenance is borne equally by the City of Boston and the City of Cam- 
bridge. The two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayors of Boston 
and Cambridge respectively. The Commissioner for Boston, who serves 
without pay, is the Commissioner of Public Works. 



90 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BKIDGES IN CHARGE OF THE COMMISSIONERS. 

Longfellow, from Boston to Cambridge. 
Prison Point, from Charlestown to Cambridge. 
Cottage Farm Bridge, from Boston to Cambridge. 



BOSTON METROPOLITAN DISTRICT. 
[Acts of 1929, Chap. 383.] 
Trustees Appointed by the Governor. 
Edward L. Logan, Chairman, Boston, 1937. 
Henry T. Harriman, Newton, 1939. 
RoscoE Walsworth, Revere, 1935. 
Joseph Wiggin, Maiden, 1933. 

Trustee Appointed by Mayor of Boston. 
Robert J. Bottomly (clerk), Boston, 1933. 

Metropolitan Transit Council. 
Mayors and Chairmen of Boards of Selectmen of Arlington, Belmont, 

Boston, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Maiden, Milton, 

Newton, Revere, Somerville and Watertown. 
Chairman, Frederick W. Mansfield, Mayor of Boston. 
Secretary, Andrew A. Casassa, Mayor of Revere. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 

[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 

The Mayor, ex officio, Councilors Henry L. Shattuck and George P. 
Donovan, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of fifteen, 
of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two are elected 
annually by the City Council for the municipal year, and the others are 
chosen as provided by statute. 



CHATTEL LOAN COMPANY. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 415; Stat. 1908, Chap. 236.] 

The board of directors of the Chattel Loan Company must include one 
member who is appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 
Samuel Bloom, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 

* Longfellow and Cottage Farm Bridges are over navigable waters. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 91 

COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 

[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in January, 
one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Peter A. Donovan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 

[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 
The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by sixteen directors 
selected annually, fourteen chosen by corporators at the annual meeting 
on the third Thursday in February, one appointed by the Governor and one 
appointed by the Mayor. 

Leo J. Dunn, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 

All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 
Boston, unless otherwise specified. 

County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
Council of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Charles J. Fox. 
County Treasurer. — John H. Dorsey. 

DISTRICT attorney. 

Room 218, Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, Sec. 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 

District Attorney. — William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1930 

for term of four years ending January, 1935. 
Assistant. — Frank J. Hickey. 
Assistant. — Daniel J. Gillen. 
Assistant. — Frederick T. Doyle. 
Assistant. — William M. Gaddis. 
Assistant. — Joseph A. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — David Lasker. 
Assistant. — William J. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — Paul Rowen. 
Assistant. — Antonio lovino. 
Assistant. — Hugh J. Campbell. 
Assistant. — Garrett A. Byrne. 



92 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



LAND COURT. 

Room 408, Court House. 
Judge. — Charles Thornton Davis. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Joseph J. Corbett. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Clarence C. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder. — Charles A. Southworth. Appointed by the Governor for 
term of five years ending January 1, 1935. 

INDEX COMMISSIONERS. 

Commissioners. — Ralph W. E. Hopper, term ends in 1936. Edward W. 
Bancroft, term ends in 1937. Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 
1935. 
Superintendent. — William J. Kurth. 

The Commissioners are appointed in March, one each year, by a majority 
of the Justices of the Superior Court, for a term of three years beginning 
April 1, and serve without pay. 

The Superintendent is appointed by the Commissioners. 

REGISTER OF DEEDS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452; Stat. 

1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 
Register of Deeds. — W. T. A. Fitzgerald. Elected by the people in 1928. 

Term ends in January, 1935. The Register is ex officio Assistant 

Recorder of the Land Court. 
First Assistant Register. — John J. Attridge. Appointed by the Register. 
Second Assistant Register. — John W. Johnson. Appointed by the Register. 

SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 

Sheriff. — John A. Keliher. Elected by the people, November, 1932. 
Term ends in January, 1939. As jailer he receives additional 
compensation. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Service of Writs. — Daniel A. Whelton (Special Sheriff), 
Henry G. Gallagher, Richard F. Sweeney, John J. Horgan, John J. 
Casey, James P. Keliher, Thomas F. Donovan. Paid by fees. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Court Duty. — William J. Leonard, Chief Deputy Sheriff, 
John J. McHugh, William A. McDevitt, Richard J. Murray (of the 
Superior Judicial), Oscar L. Strout, Andrew J. Crotty, Frank C. 
Pierce, Eugene J. Lakemarsin, John A. Finley, Thomas F. Lally, 
James Haliburton, Patrick Daley, William J. Grimes, John Murray, 
Joseph P. Kilday, Edward T. Curley, Harry S. Fairfield (of the 
Supreme Judicial), Edward P. Ryan. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 93 

COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

Offices in Court House, Pemberton square, except as otherwise specified. 
SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT, 

Chief Justice. — Arthur P. Rugg. 

Associate Justices. — Fred T. Field, John C. Crosby, Edward P. Pierce, 

Charles H. Donahue, William C. Wait, Henry T. Lummus. 
Clerk for the Commonwealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 

Court. 
Clerk for the County of Suffolk. — Joseph Riley. Appointed for unexpired 

term. Term ends in January, 1935. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Flynn, Frederick L. Quinlan. 
Reporter of Decisions. — ■ Ethelbert V. Grabill. Appointed by the Governor. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. Walter Perley Hall. 

Associate Justices. — Marcus Morton, Patrick M. Keating, James H, 
Sisk, Franklin T. Hammond, Nelson P. Brown, Louis S. Cox, Fred- 
erick W. Fosdick, Elias B. Bishop, William A. Burns, Stanley E. Qua, 
Alonzo R. Weed, Frederick J. MacLeod, Joseph Walsh, Winfred H. 
Whiting, Edward T. Broadhurst, Frederic B. Greenhalge, Wilford D. 
Gray, David F. Dillon, Harold P. Williams, Walter L. Collins, Daniel 
T. O'Connell, Thomas J. Hammond, John M. Gibbs, Raoul H. 
Beaudreau, Edward F. Hanify, Abraham E. Pinanski, James C. 
Donnelly, John J. Burns, Frank J. Donahue, Lewis Goldberg, John 
E. Swift. 

FOR CIVIL. BUSINESS. 

Clerk. — Francis A. Campbell. Elected by the people in 1928. Term 
ends in January, 1935. 

Assistant Clerk in Equity. — James F. McDermott. 

Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, George E. Kimball, 
Flourence J. Mahoney, Charles J. Hart, Frank H. Hallett, Michael E, 
Leen, Albert E. Macdonald, D. Pulsifer Colville, George A. Scheele, 
Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. Curtice, Michael F. Hart, Leo A. Reed. 

FOR CRIMINAL BUSINESS. 

Clerk. — William M. Prendible. Elected by the people in 1932. Term 

ends in January, 1935. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Julian Seriack. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Casey, Edward V. Keating, John P. Connolly, 

Albert H. Hines, John P. Swift. 

COURT OF PROBATE AND INSOLVENCY. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 

Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919. 

Chap. 269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 
Judge. — William M. Prest. 
Judge. — Arthur W. Dolan. 



94 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Register. — Arthur W. Sullivan. 
First Assistant Register. — John R. Nichols. 
Second Assistant Register. — Frederick J. Finnegan. 
Third Assistant Register. — • Gertrude M. Smith. 

The Judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 
three other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OP BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 

Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 

1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 

716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 

Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 

Chaps. 262, 330; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553, 

614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 
Chief Justice. — ■ Wilfred Bolster. 
Associate Justices. — Michael J. Murray, John Duff, Thomas H. Dowd, 

Joseph T. Zottoli, James H. Devlin, Charles L. Carr, Elijah Adlow, 

Francis J. Good. 
Special Justices. — John A. Bennett, Abraham K. Cohen, Joseph A. 

Sheehan, John G. Brackett, Joseph E. Donovan, S. Delano Putnam. 
All judges appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the 
Executive Council. 

Terms of the Court. 
For Civil Business. — Every Saturday at 9 A. M., for trial of civil 
causes not exceeding $5,000. 

Clerk. — William F. Donovan. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, James F. Tobin, Louis B. Torrey> 

Arthur W. Ashenden, Joseph L. Pierce, George F. Devine, William 

F. Blakeman, Charles F. Gardella, Edward H. Barry, Roger W. 

Brown, Joseph M. Levy, Jr. Appointed by the Clerk of the Court 

with the approval of the Justices. 
For Criminal Business. — Every day in the week (Sundays and legal 
holidays excepted) at 9 A. M., for the trial of criminal causes. 
Clerk. — William D. Collins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerks. — Harvey B. Hudson, Charles T. Willock, James G. 

Milward, George A. Savage, Paul W. Carey, James F. Hardy, Edwin 

A. Chalmers, George W. Herman. Appointed by the Clerk of the 

Court with the approval of the Justices. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Chestnut Hill avenue. 
Justice. — Thomas H. Connelly. 

Special Justices. — Robert W. Frost and Harry C. Fabyan. 
Clerk. — ■ Daniel F. Cunningham. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 95 

MUNICIPAL COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City square. 
Justice. — Charles S. Sullivan. 

Special Justices. — Willis W. Stover and William H. McDonnell. 
Clerk. — James J. Mullen. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk.— George E. Irving. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Maurice M. Hurley. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington street and Melville avenue. 
Justice. — Richard M. Walsh. 
Special Justices. — Michael H. Sullivan, Jacob J. Kaplan and Sadie L. 

Shulman. 
Clerk. — Alpheus Sanford. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk.- — Frederick E. Simmons. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Jenny S. Thurlow. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Meridian and Paris streets. 
Justice. — Joseph H. Barnes. 

Special Justices. — Charles J. Brown and Patrick J. Lane. 
Clerk. — John S. C. Nicholls. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Augustus C. Loschi. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, ROXBURY DISTRICT. 

Roxbury street. 
Justice. — Albert F. Hayden. 
Special Justices. — Joseph 'N. Palmer, Timothy J. Ahern and Frankland 

W. L. Miles. 
Clerk. — Fred E. Cruff. Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Charles A. Moore. 
Third Assistant Clerk. — • Thomas J. Spring. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, East Broadway. 
Justice. — Edward L. Logan. 

Special Justices. — Josiah S. Dean, William J. Day. 
Clerk. — Adrian B. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Harry W. Park. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, WEST ROXBURY DISTRICT, INCLUDING HYDE PARK. 

Morton street. Forest Hills. 
Justice. — John Perrins. 

Special Justices. — ■ Frank S. Deland, Bert E. Holland and Daniel W. Casey. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 



96 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Assistant Clerk. — Sidney T. Knott. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Caroline M. Adams. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COTIKT. 

Room 127, Court House. 
[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 
Justice. — John F. Perkins. 

Special Justices. — Frank Leveroni, Philip Rubenstein. 
Clerk. — John T. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the "Care, Custody and Discipline of 
Juvenile Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the juris- 
dictions, authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of 
Boston, under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The Act took effect 
September 1, 1906. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 

the Governor. The Justice of the Court is empowered to appoint two 

probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem 

necessary. 

Probation Officers. 

[Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps, 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266; 

Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491; 

Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 135.] 
These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 
courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the 
courts. In the performance of their official duties they have all the powers 
of police officers. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Albert J. Sargent. 

Medical Director. — C. Edouard Sandoz, M. D. 

Assistant Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 

Probation Officers. — Francis A. Dudley, Albert H. Davis, Arthur A. 
Capone, Frank E. Hawkes, James H. Knight, Eugene J. Callanan, 
Edward F. Coughlin, Frank L. Warren, William J. Joyce, John P. 
Bogan, George J. McDonnell, Thomas G. Davis, Oswald J. McCourt, 
Joseph W. Crockwell, Addison T. Ridlon, Francis L. Colpoys, Albert 
L. Hoskins, Bruce A. Stevens, Mary L. Brinn, Elizabeth A. Lee, 
Margaret H. Markham, Alfretta P. McClure, Theresa C. Dowling, 
Annie M. Kennedy, Alice D. Keating, Eleanor F. Holland, Bessie G. 
Kaufman, Betsey P. Jaques, Mary A. Hall. 

Boston Juvenile Court. — John Connolly, Edward J. O'Mara, Galena 
Philadelpheus, C. Eliott Sands. 

municipal DISTRICT COURTS. 

Brighton. — Edward J. Drummond. Charlestown. — James D. Coady, 
Mrs. Ellena M. Foley, William E. Carney. Dorchester. — Reginald H. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 97 

Mair, Scott H. Rose. East Boston. — Dennis J. Kelleher, Frederick L. 
O'Brien. Roxbury. — Thomas F. Teehan, Ulysses G. Varney, Edward A. 
Fallon, Matthew M. Leary, Randolph Glover, Thomas Grieve, Kathryn M. 
Quealey, William H. Murray, Thomas M.Gimenilli, Elizabeth D.Kingston. 
South Boston. — Lillian A. Heyer, Patrick J. Hurley, Edward L. Byrne. 
West Roxbury. — Clifford E. Smith, Thomas H. Staples. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, Arthur R. Towle, William A. 
Maloney, Edward A. Griffin, James E. Donovan, Ralph L. Countie, John 
J. Moriarty, Ellen L. Cvmniff, Mary A. Robinson, Alice B. Monks, Alice P. 
Mayers, Mary E. Power. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916, 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.] 
The County is divided into two medical districts. Northern and Southern, 
by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookiine line with Huntington 
avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence through 
middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence streets. Park 
square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and Summer street 
to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, Dover street, Dor- 
chester avenue, Dorchester street. East Fourth and G streets to the harbor. 
Medical Examiners. — Northern Division, George B. Magrath, M. D., 274 
Boylston street. Term ends in 1936. Southern Division, Timothy 
Leary, M . D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term ends in 1938. 
Associate Medical Examiners. — William J. Brickley, M. D., 524 Common- 
wealth avenue, for Northern Division. Term ends in 1934. William 
H. Waters, M. D., 109 Mt. Vernon street, for Southern Division. 
Term ends in 1938. 
All are appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Location of Northern District Mortuary, 18 North Grove street; South- 
ern District Mortuary, on City Hospital grounds. 



members of 
City Government. 

1909-I934, 



MAYOES AND CEETAIN OTHER OFFICIALS SINCE 1822. 



OEATORS APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



(99) 



100 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly, ^ 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr. 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward 2. 
Joseph H. Pendergast. 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward 3. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4. 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr, 
James I. Green. 

Ward 5. 
John J. Buckley, 
William E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 

Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 

Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



I909. 

Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldermen. 
Frederick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attridge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 

John T. Priest, City Clerk. 

COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President. 
Ward 10. 
J. Henderson AUston, 
Channing H. Cox, 
William S. Kinney. 



Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward 12. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward IS. 
Leo F. McCullough,3 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward H. 
Cornelius J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. CoUins. 

Ward 15. 
John O'Hara, 
William T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O' Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
William D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 

Joseph O'Kane, Clerk. 



Ward IS. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 19. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
William J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward 20. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Cumming, 
William Smith, jr. 

Ward 21. 
William N. Hackett, 
John Ballantyne, 
Walter R. Meins. 

Ward 22. 
WilUam H. Morgan, 
George Penshorn, 
Bernhard G. Krug. 

Ward 23. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward 24. 
Frank B. Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward 25. 
Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



I Elected for two years 2 Died June 23,xl909. 

3 Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



101 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



19 10. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Walter Ballantyne , President. 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
1 Thomas J. Kenny. 

19 11. 



Term Ends in 1911. 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
1 Walter L. Collins. 

19 12. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
John J. Attridge, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 

19 13. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
Thomas J. Kenny, President. 
Term Ends m 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E- Smith. 



19 14. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916. I 

John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. ColUns, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note — The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of mne members. 



102 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



19 15. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayob. 

City Council. 
George W. Coleman, President. 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow, 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 16. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Henky E. Hagan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst.* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



* Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoflfrey^B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



19 17. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James J. Storrow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter BaUantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



19 18. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor, 
City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. CoUins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



19 19. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor, 
City Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



103 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Bricldey, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



1 920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 

1921. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 

1922. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
WiUiam J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
WiUiam C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



JAMES M. CURLEY. Mayor 
City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 

1 923 . 

JAMES M. CtFRLEY, Mayor, 

City Council. 

Daniel W. Lane, President. 

Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 

1 924. 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A, Watson, 

1925. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



104 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



1926, 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Charles G. Keenb, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
John J. Heffernan. 



1927 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John J. Heffernan, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. Dowling. 



1928 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



Thomas H. Green, President. 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert I. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



1 929. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Timothy F. Donovan, President. 



Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



105 



1 930 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d. 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
John F. Dowd. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
WiiiLiAM G. Lynch, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1 93 1 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Powers, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1932. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Edward M. Gallagher, President 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



.Albert L. Fish, 
Francis E. Kelly, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein. 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1 933 . 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein, 
Edward M. GaUagherJ 



106 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1 934 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 



Henry Selvitella, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 



CiTT Council. 
John F. Dowd, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

James F. Finley, 

James E. Agnew, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



MAYORS OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 



107 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis. . . . 

* Charles Wells 

* Theodore Lyman, jr . . . 

* Samuel T. Armstrong . . 

* Samuel A. Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman .... 

* Martin Brimmer 

* Thomas A. Davis 

* Josiah Quincy, jr 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. Smith. . . . 

* Alexander H. Rice .... 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Joseph M. Wightman. . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Otis Norcross 

* Nathaniel B. ShurtlefT. . 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R. Cutter 

* Samuel C. Cobb 

* Frederick O. Prince .... 

* Henry L. Pierce 

* Frederick O. Prince .... 

* Samuel A. Green 

* Albert Palmer 

* Augustus P. Martin .... 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Thomas N. Hart 

* Nathan Matthews, jr . . 

* Edwin U. Curtis 

* t Josiah Quincy 

*t Thomas N. Hart 

*t Patrick A. Collins... . 

Daniel A. Whelton .... 
t John F. Fitzgerald 

* t George A. Hibbard. . . 
If John F. Fitzgerald .... 

If James M. Curley 

If Andrew J. Peters 

f James M. Curley 

If Malcolm E. Nichols. . . 

If James M. Curley 

Tf Frederick W. Mansfield 



Boston Nov. 26, 1770 

Boston Feb. 4,1772 

Boston Oct. 8, 1765 

Boston Dec. 30, 1786 

Boston Feb. 19, 1792 

Dorchester April 29, 1784 

Boston Mar. 5,1798 

Boston Jan. 23,1807 

Roxbury June 8,1793 

Brookline Dec. 11, 1798 

Boston Jan. 17, 1802 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Conway, N. H..July 20, 1800 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Boston Feb. 27, 1817 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 2, 1811 

Boston June 29, 1810 

Killingly, Conn., Oct. 3, 1820 

Stoughton Aug. 23,U825 

(See under Chairmen of Alder- 
men.) 

Taunton May 22, 1826 

Boston Jan. 18,1818 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 16, 1830 

Candia, N. H. . .Jan. 17, 1831 

Abbot, Me Nov. 23, 1835 

Ireland July 13,1827 

North Reading.. Jan. 20, 1829 

Boston Mar. 28, 1854 

Roxbury Mar. 26, 1861 

Quincy Oct. 15, 1859 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. 12, 1844 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Boston Feb. 11,1863 

Boston Oct. 27, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 20, 1874 

Jamaica Plain . .April 3, 1872 

(See above) 

Portland, Me. . .May 8, 1876 

(See above) 

Boston Mar. 26, 1877 



May 29, 1823 
July 1, 1864 
Oct. 28, 1848 
June 3, 1866 
July 17, 1849 
Mar. 26, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1862 
May 25, 1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 
July 4, 1872 
Feb. 14, 18.56 
Aug. 20, 1879 
July 22, 1895 
Sept. 13, 1898 
Jan. 25, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21,1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
Aug. 1,1895 
Oct. 4, 1927 
Dec. 11, 1927 
Mar. 28, 1922 
Sept. 8, 1919 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 14, 1905 



May 29, 1910 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31. .3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35. .2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42.. 3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846-48. .3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53. .2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57. .2 
1858-60. .3 
1861-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873, lOmo. 
1873, 2 mo. 

1874-76.. 3 

1877 1 

1878.... 1 
1879-81.. 3 

1882 1 

1883 1 

1884 1 

1885-88.. 4 
1889-90.. 2 
1891-94.. 4 

1895 1 

1896-99. .4 
1900-01.. 2 
1902-05.31 
1905-3|mo. 
1906-07.. 2 
1908-09.. 2 
1910-13.. 4 
1914-17.. 4 
1918-21.. 4 
1922-25.. 4 
1926-29.. 4 
1930-33.. 4 
1934 



* Deceased. 

t Elected for two years. 



X Twice elected for two years. 
II Elected for four years. 



108 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1845, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of office till the election of his successor, Thomas A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, William Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December 11, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12, 
1853, and January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. Allen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his office on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Acting Mayor. 

Mayor Collins died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen acted as Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 



Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* William Washburn 

* Pelham Bonney 

* Joseph MilnerWightman 

* Silas Peirce 

*Oti8 Clapp 

* Silas Peirce 

* Thomas Phillips Rich . . . 

* Thomas Coffin Amory, jr 

* Otis Norcross 

* George W. Messinger . . . . 

* Charles Wesley Slack . . . . 

* George W. Messinger. . . . 

* Benjamin James 

* Newton Talbot 

* Charles Edward Jenkins, 

* Samuel Little 

* Leonard R. Cutter 

* John Taylor Clark 

* Solomon Bliss Stebbins. . 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Solomon Bliss Stebbins. . 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Charles Varney Whitten, 

* Charles Hastings Allen. . 

* Patrick John Donovan . . 

* Charles Hastings Allen . . 

* Homer Rogers 

William Power Wilson. . . 

* Herbert Schaw Carruth . . 

* John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanf ord 

* John Henry jLee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7,1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21, 1802 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

Scituate Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton. . .Mar. 3, 1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31, 1803 

Boston Aug. 16, 1812 

Boston Nov. 2, 1811 

Boston Feb. 5, 1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15, 1827 

Jaffrey, N. H. . . .July 1, 1825 
Sanbornton.N.H., Sep. 19, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18,1830 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown April 9, 1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11, 1840 

Baltimore, Md. .Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15, 1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro, July 5,1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept. 18, 1886 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 11, 1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5, 1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
Aug. 1, 1882 
Dec. 21, 1906 
July 13, 1894 
Oct. 29, 1880 
June 8, 1910 
Aug. 1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 



Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



(See above) . . . 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1865-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

1883 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



* Deceased. 
Note. — The Mayor was ex officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. 109 

CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



t Perlie Appleton Dyar . . 
t Joseph Aloysius Conry. 

* David Franklin Barry. . 

* Michael Joseph O'Brien 
James Henry Doyle. . . . 
Daniel A. Whelton .... 

X Charles Martin Draper . 

* X Edward L. Cauley . . . 
William Berwin 

* Louis M. Clark 

* Frederick J. Brand .... 



Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21, 1872 

Dedham Nov. 1, 1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La., Dec. 16, 1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3, 1861 



July 23, 1911 
April 5, 1903 



April 19, 1928 



Mar. 15, 1914 
Mar. 16, 1912 



1897-98 

1898 

1899 

1900 

1901-04 

1905 

1906 

1906 

1907 

1908 

1909 



Presidents of the Common Council. 



Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Years of 
Service. 


* William Prescott 


Pepperell 


.Aug. 19, 1762 


Dec. 8, 1844 


1822 


* John Welles 


Boston 

Boston 


.Oct. 14, 1764 
.Oct. 10, 1777 


Sept. 26, 1855 
Aug. 21, 1858 


1823 


* Francis Johonnot Oliver, 


1824-25 


* John Richardson Adan. . 


Boston 


.July 8, 1793 


July 4, 1849 


1826-28 


* Eliphalet WiUiams 


Taunton 


.Mar. 7, 1778 


June 12, 1855 


1829 


* Benj. Toppan Pickman.. 


Salem 


.Sept. 17, 1790 


Mar. 22, 1835 


1830-31 


* John Prescott Bigelow . . 


Groton 


.Aug. 25, 1797 


July 4, 1872 


1832-33 


* Josiah Quincy, jr 


Boston 


.Jan. 17, 1802 


Nov. 2, 1882 


1834-36 


* Philip Marett ... . 


Boston Sept. 25, 1792 

Boston Sept. 28, 1805 

N. Gloucester, Me., Apr. 12, '16 


Mar. 22, 1869 
Sept. 4, 1873 
May 28, 1889 


1837-40 


* Edward Blake 


1841-43 


* Peleg Whitman Chandler, 


1844-45 


* George Stillman Hillard, 


Machias, Me. . 


.Sept. 22, 1808 


Jan. 21, 1879 


1846-471 


* Benjamin Seaver 


Roxbury 


.April 12, 1795 


Feb. 14, 1856 


18472^9 


* Francis Brinley 


Boston 


.Nov. 10, 1800 


June 14, 1889 


1850-51 


* Henry Joseph Gardner. . 


Dorchester .... 


.June 14, 1818 


July 19, 1892 


1852-53 


* Alex. Hamilton Rice .... 


Newton 


.Aug. 30, 1818 


July 22, 1895 


1854 


* Joseph Story 


Marblehead . . . 

Andover 

Portsmouth, N. 


.Nov. 11, 1822 
.June 22, 1825 
H., Oct. 24, '28 


June 22, 1905 
Aug. 23, 1905 
Aug. 24, 1882 


1855 


* Oliver Stevens 


1856-57 


* Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . 


1858 


* Josiah Putnam Bradlee . . 


Boston 


.June 10, 1817 


Feb. 2, 1887 


1859-60 


* Joseph Hildreth Bradley, 


Haverhill 


.Mar. 5, 1822 


Oct. 5, 1882 


1861 


* Joshua Dorsey Ball 


Baltimore Md 


.July 11, 1828 


Dec. 18, 1892 


1862 


* George Silsbee Hale 


Keene, N. H. . . 


.Sept. 24, 1825 


July 27, 1897 


1863-64 


* Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . 


Boston 


.July 27, 1826 


Jan. 21, 1902 


1865 



* Deceased. i To July 1. - From July 1. 

+ Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898, to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1, 1898. 

X Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L. 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



110 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* Joseph Story 

* Weston Lewis 

* Charles Hastings Allen. . 

* William Giles Harris . . . 

* Melville Ezra Ingalls . . . 

* Matthias Rich 



* Marquis Fayette Dickin- 

son, jr 

* Edward Olcott Shepard. 

* Halsey Joseph Boa^dman 

* John Q. A. Brackett .... 

* Benjamin Pope 

* William H. Whitmore. . . 
Harvey Newton Shepard, 

* Andrew Jackson Bailey. . 

* Charles Edward Pratt . . 

* James Joseph Flynn .... 

* Godfrey Morse 



* John Henry Lee 

* Edward John Jenkins 

* David Franklin Barry. . . 

* Horace Gwynne Allen. . . 

* David Franklin Barry. . . 

* Christopher Francis 

O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry 

* Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley 

Arthur Walter Dolan. . . . 
William John Barrett. . . . 

Leo F. McCullough 

* George Cheney McCabe 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 

Boston June 14, 

Revere May 15, 

Harrison, Me. . .Sept. 6, 
Truro June 8, 

Amherst Jan. 16, 

Hampton, N. H., Nov. 25, 
Norwich, Vt. . . .May 19, 
Bradford, N. H., June 8, 
Waterford, Ire. . .Jan 13, 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 

Boston July 8, 

Charlestown. . . . July 18, 
Vassalboro, Me., Mar. 13, 
St. John, N. B 



Wachenheim, Germany, 
May 17, 

Boston April 26, 

London, Eng.. . .Dec. 20, 

Boston Feb. 29, 

Jamaica Plain. . .July 27,, 

(See above) 



1834 
1828 
1828 
1842 
1820 

1840 
1835 
1834 
1842 
1829 
1836 
1850 
1840 
1845 
1835 

1846 
1846 
1854 
1852 
1855 



Boston Feb. 17,1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5, 1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1, 1882 

Carmel, N. Y.. .July 5,1873 



(See above) . . . 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Dec. 13, 1914 

Sept. 18, 1915 
April 27, 1903 
Jan. 15, 1900 
April 6,1918 
Sept. 24, 1879 
June 14,1900 



Mar. 21,1927 
Aug. 20,1898 
Mar. 26, 1884 
June 20, 1911 

Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 
(See above) . . . 

April 25, 1899 



Dec. 5, 1928 



Dec. 27,1917 



1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 • 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

1881 1 

18812-82 

1883' 

1883* 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-88 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



* Deceased. ' To October 27. 2 From October 27. 'To June 11. < From June 14. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



Ill 



Presidents of the City Council.'* 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year of 
Service. 



Walter Ballantvne 

Walter Leo Collins 

John Joseph Attridge. . . . 
Thomas Joseph Kenny . . 
Daniel Joseph McDonald 

George W. Coleman 

Henry E. Hagan 

James J. Storrow 

Walter Leo Collins 

Francis J. W. Ford 

James T. Moriarty 

James A. Watson 

David J. Brickley 

Daniel W. Lane 

John A. Donoghue 

James T. Moriarty 

Charles G. Keene 

John J. Heffernan 

Thomas H. Green 

Timothy F. Donovan. . . . 

William G. Lynch 

Joseph McGrath 

Edward M. Gallagher. . . 

Joseph McGrath 

John F. Dowd 



Hawick,Scotland,Mar. 17, 1855 

Boston April 7,1878 

Boston Feb. 8, 1878 

Boston Nov. 18, 1863 

Chelsea Aug. 14, 1873 

Boston June 16, 1867 

St. John, N. B..Feb. 26, 1865 

Boston Jan. 21,1864 

(See above) 

Boston Dec. 23, 1882 

Amesbury Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1870 

Boston Mar. 14, 1889 

Boston Dec. 11, 1872 

Boston Aug. 12, 1885 

(See above) 

Gardiner, Me . . .Aug. 6, 1880 

Boston Jan. 27, 1893 

Boston May 11, 1883 

Boston Aug. 21, 1889 

Boston Oct. 20, 1892 

Boston Dec. 20, 1890 

Charlestown. . . .Jan. 25, 1877 

(See above) 

Boston No v. 28, 1895 



May 17, 1926 
Mar.'i3,'i926 



Aug. 25,1927 



1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 
1925 
1926 
1927 
1928 
1929 
1930 
1931 
1932 
1933 
1934 



* Single chamber, established in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-51). 



Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES. 

For the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 

For the Anniversary of 

1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin. 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 William Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



National Independence, July 4, 1776. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Channing. 

1807 Peter 0. Thacher. 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 William Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 

1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 

1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 



112 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Basse tt. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 

1827 William Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. Hillard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 I vers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greenough. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward Griffin Parker. 

1857 Rev. William R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth. 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 William Everett. 

1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 

1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 



1877 William Wirt Warren. 

1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 William E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. Pillsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W. Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead. 

1904 John A. Sullivan. 

1905 LeBaron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 

1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 

1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev. Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell. 

1925 Thomas H. Dowd. 

1926 Andrew J. Peters. 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Hon. Edith Nourse Rogers. 

1929 Hon. Robert Luce. 

1930 Hon. Herbert Parker. 

1931 Hon. David I. Walsh. 

1932 Prof. Robert E. Rogers. 

1933 Joseph A. Tomasello. 

1934 His Eminence William Cardi- 

nal O'Connell. 



Index. 



A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 . . 108, 109 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1934) . . 15-31 

Appeal, Board of 46, 47 

Art Department 36 

Assessing Department . . 37 

Attendance officers (School Committee) 78 

Auditing Department 38 

B. 

Births, Registrar of 65 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay: 

Art Commission 36 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission .... 89 

Boston Sanatorium (Hospital Dept.) 53 

City Hospital Trustees 52 

City Planning Department 47, 48 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 84 

Franklin Foundation Managers 86 

Library Trustees 55 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 57 

Public Welfare Overseers 60 

School Buildings 82 

School Committee 76 

Sinking Funds Commission 65 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 66 

Boston City Record (official weekly of City) . . 18, 23, 24, 35, 67 

Boston, Origin and growth of 4, 5 

Boston Metropolitan District ........ 90 

Boston Port Authority 89 

Boston Traffic Commission 41 

Bridge, Ferry and Tunnel Division, Public Works Dept. . . 61 
Brighton (Wards 21 and 22) : 

Municipal Court of 94 

Public Schools in 77 

Budget Department 42 

Building Department • . . . 42, 43 

Board of Examiners 46 

Building Heights, regulation* of 43-45 

(113) 



114 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



C. 

Page 
Charlestown (Ward 2) : 

Municipal Court of 94 

Public Schools in 77 

Chattel Loan Company 90 

City Clerk Department 47 

City Council of 1934 11, 12 

President of 11 

Committees of 14 

Officials of 13 

Presidents of, 1910-1934 '. . . . Ill 

City Government, 1934 11, 12 

City Governments, 1909 to 1934 99 

City Hospital 52 

City Messenger 13 

City officials in charge of executive departments '. . . . 32-34 

City, Origin and growth of . 4, 5 

City Planning Department 47, 48 

City Record (Boston City Record.) 

City Seal, origin of and present form . 2, 3 

City Solicitor, office of, abolished 54 

Clerk of Committees (City Coimcil) 13 

Collateral Loan Company 91 

Collecting Department 48 

Common Council: 

Presidents of, since 1822 109,110 

Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) 54 

Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 54 

County of Suffolk: 

Auditor . . . . 91 Land Court ... 92 

Commissioners . . . 91 Register of Deeds . 92 

District Attorney . . 91 Sheriff .... 92 

Index Commissioners . . 92 Treasurer .... 91 

Courts and Officers of 93-97 

D. 

Deaths, Registrar of 65 

Deeds, Register of (Suffolk County) 92 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list) : 

Art 36 City Clerk ... 47 

Assessing .... 37 City Planning ... 47 

Auditing .... 38 Collecting ... 48 

Boston and Cambridge Election .... 48 

Bridges Commission . 89 Finance Commission 84 

Budget 42 Fire 49 

Building .... 42 Franklin Foundation . 86 



INDEX — E-F-G. 



115 



Departments and Commissions of the 

Health 51 

Hospital .... 52 

Institutions .... 53 

Law 54 

Library .... 55 

Licensing Board ... 84 

Market 57 

Mayor 35 

Park 57 

Penal Institutions . . 58 

Police 83 

Printing .... 58 

Public Buildings ... 59 

Public Welfare ... 59 

District Attorney (Suffolk County) 
Assistants 

Dorchester (Wards 13-17) : 

Municipal Court of . . , 
School districts in . 



City (alphabetical lists) 

Public Works 

Registry 

Retirement Board 

School Buildings 

School Committee 

Sinking Funds 

Soldiers' Relief . 

Statistics 

Street Laying-Out 

Supply 

Traffic . 

Transit . 

Treasury 

Weights and Measures 



Page 

Concl. 
60 
65 
40 
82 
76 
65 
66 
66 
67 
69 
41 
70 
70 
70 
91 
91 

95 

77 



East Boston (Ward 1): 

District Court of . . . 

Relief station (hospital) in . 

School districts in . 
Election Department . . . 
Examiners, Board of (Building Dept. 
Executive Departments of City . 
Executive Officers, with term, etc. 



95 
52 
77 
48 
46 
35 
32 



F. 

Ferries (North and South) owned by City 

Finance Commission 

Fire Department, with officials, fire-districts, etc. 

Firemen's Relief Fund 

Flag Days 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government 
Franklin Foundation 

Franklin Fund, Managers of .... 

Franklin Union (Trade School) .... 



Q. 



Government of Boston, 1934 
Members of, 1909-1934 



61 
84 
49 
50 
59 
111 
86 
86 
87 



11-12 
99 



116 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

H. 

Page 

Haymarket Square Relief Station (Hospital Dept.) ... S3 

Health Department 51 

Heights, Building, regulation of 45 

Highway Division, Public Works Dept 61 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) 52 

Medical and Surgical Staff 52 

Relief Stations 53 

South Department 53 

House of Correction, Deer Island 58 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part) : 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) ..... 95 

Public Schools in . 77 

I. 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk County) 92 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 93 

Institutions Department : 

Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of ... . 53 

Superintendent of Long Island Almshouse and Hospital . . 53 

J. 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) 92 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City Ill 

Justices of Municipal Courts 94 

Juvenile Court 96 

L. 

Land Court (Suffolk County) 92 

Law Department 54 

Library Department 55 

Central and Branch libraries of 55 

Officials and Trustees of 55 

Trust fvmds, appropriation, etc 55 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated .... 56 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) 46 

Public Works Dept 62 

Licensing Board . 84 

Licensing Division, Mayor's Office (Amusement licenses) . . 35 

Loan Association, Workingmen's 91 

Loan Company, Chattel 90 

Loan Company, Collateral 91 

M. 

Market Department 57 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets 57 

Marriage Certificates (Registry Dept.) 65 



INDEX — 0-P-R. 117 

Page 
Mayor: 

Department of 35 

Municipal Employment Bureau 35 

Office staff of 35 

Public Celebrations, etc 35 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1934 107 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk County) ...... 97 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 97 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper, Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester . . .94, 95 

East Boston, Roxbury, South Boston, W. Roxbury . . 95 

Justices of (regular and special) 94 

Probation officers of ... * 96 

O. 

Old South Association 90 

Orators of Boston since 1771 Ill 

Overseers of Public Welfare 59 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 60 

P. 

Park Department 57 

Commissioners and chief officials of 57 

Penal Institutions Department 58 

Pensions for retired teachers . . 81 

Planning Department, City 47 

Police Department 83 

Commissioner and chief officials of 83 

Printing Department 58 

Prison, City (Police Dept.) 83 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 93 

Probation officers (Suffolk County) 96 

Public Buildings Department 59 

Superintendent and Chief Clerk of 59 

Public Library. (Library Dept.) 

Public Works Department 60 

Bridge, Ferry and Tunnel Division of 61 

Highway Division of 61 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . 62 

Sanitary Division of 62 

Sewer Division of 62 

Water Division of 63 

Water Income Division of . 64 

R. 

Refuse, removal of . 62 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) 92 



118 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Page 

Registry Department 65 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 65 

Retirement Board 40 

Retirement System in effect Feb. 1, 1923 ....... 40 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Municipal Court of 95 

Public Schools in 77 

S. 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 62 

Sanitary Service (Public Works Dept.), supervisor of . . . 62 

School Committee 76 

Department of, with officials 76 

Elementary and Intermediate School districts .... 77 

High, Latin and Normal Schools 77 

Industrial and special schools 78 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers .... 81 

Special departments, with directors 79 

School Physicians and School Nurses 78 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form 2, 3 

Sewer Division (Public Works Dept.) 62 

Sheriff of Suffolk County 92 

Sinking Funds Department , . . . 65 

Soldiers' Relief Department 66 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Municipal Court of 95 

Public Schools in 77 

Statistics Department 66 

Boston Statistics 67 

Boston Year Book 67 

City Record 67 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) . . . . 67 
Suffolk County. (County of Suffolk.) 

Supply Department 69 

Supreme Judicial Court, clerks of 93 

Superior Court, clerks of , 93 

T. 

Traffic Department 41 

Transit Department 70 

Treasury Department 70 

W. 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 63 

Water Income Division (Public Works Dept.) 64 



INDEX — Z. 119 

Page 

Water used in 1933, average gallons daily 64 

Weights and Measures Department 70 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20) : 

Public Schools in 77 

White Fund, George Robert 88 

Workingmen's Loan Association 91 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of . 38 

Members of 38