(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

''t¥,:^^fm^ 









c: .;. 



r^ 



— ^T^^ 






^ 



\^'^\o 



; 





ii 



Given By 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Boston Public Library 



http://www.archive.org/details/municipalregiste1936bost 



Boston 

MUNICIPAL EEGISTER 

Foe 1936. 




SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON. 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827. 



The City Seal was adopted by "An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D, 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.'" The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii, 57: ''God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," published in 1827, and is 
established as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'SicuT Patribus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata A.D. 1822,' as herewith shown." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted ''that the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they "ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first ''Court" held in Boston was a "General Court" 
-on October * 19, "for estabUshing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for pubhque meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640, 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 5 

when ''Mount Woollaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present hmits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres ''for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) "to build a public hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 

The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows: 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29, 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and 583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

* Old Style. 



CITY OF BOSTON. 

IN CITY COUNCIL. 

Ordered, — That the Statistics Department be author- 
ized, under the direction of the Committee on Rules, to 
prepare and have printed the Municipal Register for 
the current year; and that the Clerk of Committees be 
authorized to prepare and have printed a pocket edition 
of the organization of the city government; the expense 
of said register and organization to be charged to the 
appropriation for City Documents. 

In City Council January 13, 1936. Passed. 
Approved by the Mayor January 15, 1936. 
Attest: 

W. J. Doyle, 

City Clerk. 



[DOCTTMENT 38 — 1936.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL REGISTEE 
FOE 1936 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 
AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 
INCLUDING SUBSEQUENT CHANGES, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 



CITY OF BOSTON 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT 

1936 






MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Contents. 



Page 

Introduction 9, 10 

The City Government, 1936 11, 12 

Officers of the City Council 13 

Committees of the City Council 14 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1936) . . . 15-31 

Officials in charge of executive departments, term, etc. . . 32-34 

Notes on executive departments, lists of officials, term, etc. . . 35-80 

Various City, County and State officials, term, etc. . . . 82-83 
Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., lists of officials, 

term, etc 84-106 

Members of City Government, 1909-1936 108-114 

Mayors of Boston, 1822-1936 115-116 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855-1909 . . . . 116-117 

Presidents of the Common Council, 1822-1909 .... 117-118 

Presidents of the City Council, 1910-1936 119 

Orators of Boston, 1771-1936 ........ 119-120 

Index 121-127 



WQSton City IWesseager 



INTRODUCTION. 



INTEODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having heen pubHshed in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 

1840 the title of the volume was : The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the docu- 
ment contained merely a register of the City Council 
and a list of the officers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances, were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title The Municipal Register was adopted in 

1841 when the publication became more ambitious, 
incorporating in its pages the Rules and Orders of the 
Common Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, 
statutes of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a 
list of the public schools, the City Government of 1841, 
the committees and departments (consisting at that 
time of the treasury, law, police, health, public land 
and buildings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public 
charitable institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a list of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876, statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive, The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes in 
same since that year have been stated in footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 

Since 1925, the Register has been gradually reduced 
to its present size; primarily, because of the issuance 
of the Boston Year Book, a more ambitious publication, 
in 1925 and 1926, and secondly for the purpose of 
economy. 

















Z 


[I 


















7- 


III 









o 








o 


^ 








S 


S 


T) 






> 




^ 


> 


> 


o 


"* 


[!} 




f" 


s 





PRESIDENT BOSTON CITY COUNCIL 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 



OF THE 



CITY OF BOSTON, 
1936. 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 

Residence, 
15 Elm Hill Avenue, Roxbury. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1936. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 
630, 730; Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 328, 479.] 

JOHN I. FITZGERALD, President. 
Henry Selvitella, 80 Orient avenue. 
James J. Mellen, 18 Tremont street. 
John I. Fitzgerald, 7 Allen street. 
George W. Roberts, 20 Hemenway street. 
Henry L. Shattuck, 15 River street. 
George A. Murray, 223 West Second street. 
John E. Kerrigan, 213 West Eighth street. 
John F. Dowd, 22 Greenville street. 
Richard D. Gleason, 15 Ruggles street. 
John J. Doherty, 67| Wyman street. 
James J. Kilroy, 1301 Columbus avenue. 
David M. Brackman, 89 Waumbeck street. 
Peter J. Fitzgerald, 39 Belfort street. 



Ward 


1. 


Ward 


2. 


Ward 


3. 


Ward 


4. 


Ward 


5. 


Ward 


6. 


Ward 


7. 


Ward 


8. 


Ward 


9. 


Ward 10. 


Ward 11. 


Ward 12. 


Ward 13. 



12 MUXICIPAL REGISTER. 

Ward 14. SiDXEY Rosenberg. 576 Blue Hill avenue. 
Ward 15. ]\Iaetix H. Tobix. 70 Westville street. 
Ward 16. John J. IMcGrath. 2 Gleiii'ose street. 
Ward 17. Robert Gardiner Wilson. Jr.. 57 Codman 

Hill avenue. 
Ward IS. Clement A. Xoeton. 34 ]\Iyopia road. 
Ward 19. Peter A. ^Murray. 7 vSt. John street. 
Ward 20. J-imes F. Finlet. 231 Cornell street. 
Wai'd 21. James E. Agnew. 92 Wallingford road. 
Ward 22. Edward ]\I. Gall.igher, 21 Oak Square 

avenue. 

[Stat. 1854. Chap. 44S. §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. a32; Rev. Ord. 1S9S, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV.. Chap. 8; 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 11.] 

Regulai' meetings in Council Chamber. City Hall, 
fourth floor. ]\Iondavs. at 2 P. ]M. 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICERS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CLERK. 

Wilfred J. Doyle. 

ASSISTANT CLERK. 

John B^ Hyxes. 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City HaU, Room 56, fourth floor. 

John E. Baldt\t:x. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of aU committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
HaU Reference Library'. 

SECRET.AJIT OF THE CITY COrXCIL. 

WlLLLlM J. J. O'XeIL. 

The Secretary- of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

STEXOGR-^PHER-CLERKS TO THE CITY COrXXIL. 

Francis W. Leayey. 
John L, AIaloney. 

CITY MESSEXGER. 

Office, Citj- Hall, Room 55, fourth floor. 

Edward J. Leary. 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Council and 
committees thereof, keeps the accounts of the expenditures from the city 
councU appropriations, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the Citj- Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstaffs, the displaj' of flags in the pubhc 
groimds, and the roping off of streets and squares on pubhc occasions. 

ASSIST.^XT CITY MESSEXGERS. 

William J. Walsh. 
Robert E. Green. 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

DOCUMEXT M.\X. 

Thoivl^s W^ ]Mc]Mahon. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OF PROCEEDIXGS. 

Edward W. Harxden. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE CITY 
COUNCIL. 

1936. 



EXECUTIVE. 
All the members, Councilor Gallagher, Chairman. 



On the following committees, the first-named member is Chairman. 
Appeopriations. — Coun. Agnew, Roberts, Selvitella, Peter J. Fitzgerald, 

Gallagher, Tobin, Rosenberg. 
Claims. — Coun. Selvitella, Agnew, Mellen, Roberts, Brackman. 
County Accounts. — Coun. Roberts, Tobin, Rosenberg, Wilson, Peter J. 

Fitzgerald. 
Finance. — Coun. Dowd, Peter J. Fitzgerald, Shattuck, Kilroy, Kerrigan, 

Rosenberg, Agnew. 

Inspection of Prisons. — Coun. Gleason, Doherty, Finley, McGrath, 

Peter A. Murray. 
Jitney Licenses. — Coun. Peter A. Murray, Selvitella, Wilson, Dow^d, 

Kerrigan. 
Legislative Matters. — Coun. Shattuck, Peter J. Fitzgerald, Kilroy, 

John I. Fitzgerald, Gleason. 
Ordinances. — Coun. Gallagher, Rosenberg, Finley, Selvitella, Peter J. 

Fitzgerald, Wilson, Shattuck. 
Parkman Fund. — Coun. Gallagher, Doherty, George A. Murray, Peter A. 

Murray, Shattuck. 
Printing. — Coun. Selvitella, Peter A. Murray, Finley, Rosenberg, 

Norton. 
Public Lands. — Coun. Kerrigan, Kilroy, Agnew, Peter J. Fitzgerald, 

Wilson. 
Rules.— Coun. Wilson, Kerrigan, Agnew, Gallagher, Peter J. Fitzgerald. 
Soldiers' Relief. — Coun. Kerrigan, Doherty, Mellen, Norton, Gleason. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEES. 
Constables. — Coun. Agnew, Kerrigan, Roberts. 

Hospitals. — Coun. Doherty, Finley, Agnew, Peter A. Murray, Kerrigan. 
Municipal Lighting. — Coun. Dowd, Wilson, Gallagher, Rosenberg, 

George A. Murray. 
Parks and Playgrounds. — Coun. Finley, Kerrigan, Tobin, Rosenberg, 

Brackman. 
Public Safety. — Coun. Agnew, Selvitella, George A. Murray, McGrath, 

Brackman, Mellen, Tobin. 
Unclaimed Baggage. — Coun. Agnew, Roberts, Kerrigan. 
License Fees. — Coun. Wilson, Roberts, McGrath, Selvitella, Brackman. 
Public Welfare. — Coun. Agnew, Roberts, Wilson, Finley, Peter A. 

Murray. 
Tax Title Property. — Coun. Finley, Gallagher, Wilson, Kerrigan, 
Shattuck. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 15 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (CHAPTER 486) WITH 
AMENDMENTS TO SEPTEMBER 1, 1936, 
INCORPORATED. 



The Mayor and City Council. 

Section 1.* {The terms of office of the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messenger, 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of committees, 
and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials whose terms of office 
are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensation equal 
to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) The 
mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of this 
act, and their successors, shall thereafter have aU the powers and privileges 
conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obligations imposed by law 
upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as such or as county 
commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein otherwise provided. 
Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city council" appears, it 
shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city council acting on and 
after the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, under the 
provisions of this and the three following sections. The city council may, 
subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to time establish such 
offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem necessary for the con- 
duct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may determine, and abolish 
such officers or alter such salaries; and without such approval may fill the 
offices thus established and remove the incumbents at pleasure. 

Section 1. (Chap. 479, Acts of 1924.—) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and 
twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first 
Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall be 
no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and school 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, which is printed as the next section. 



16 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are hereby 
extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official whose term 
of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of such termi- 
nation and the salary of any official whose term of office is extended as 
aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long as he con- 
tinues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2.* The Mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the city. The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the Mayor and shall either adopt or reject 
the same within sixty daj'^s after the date when it is filed as aforesaid. 
If the said ordinance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty days 
it shall be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously 
withdrawn by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from 
again presenting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or 
withdrawn. The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order 
and may reduce or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval 
of the mayor, may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than 
school lands, all appropriations for the purchase of land other than for 
school purposes, and aU loans voted by the city council shall require a 
vote of two thirds of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed 
only after two separate readings and by two separate votes, the second 
of said readings and votes to be had not less than fourteen days after the 
first, except that in the case of loan orders for temporary loans in antici- 
pation of taxes the second of said readings and votes may be had not less 
than twenty-four hours after the first. No amendment increasing the 
amount of land to be sold or the amount to be paid for the purchase of 
land, or the amount of loans, or altering the disposition of purchase money 
or of the proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of the second reading 
and vote. If a petition signed by six members of the council requesting 
that action be taken forthwith upon a loan order presented by the mayor 
is filed in the office of the city clerk not earlier than fourteen days after its 
presentation, action shall be taken by the yeas and nays on the question 
of the adoption of such loan order at the next meeting of the council, or, 
if one vote has already been taken thereon, at the next meeting after 
the expiration of the required interval after such vote; provided, that such 
action thereon has not sooner been taken or such loan order has not been 
withdrawn by the mayor. 

Sect. 3.t All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue, or any source other than loans shall originate 

* Sect. 2 as amended by Chap. 113, Acts of 1933, and Chap. 220, Acts of 
1934. 

t Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 17 

with the mayor, who within thirty days after the beginning of the fiscal 
year shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county, and may submit thereafter supplementary 
budgets until such time as the tax rate for the year shall have been fixed. 
The city council may reduce or reject any item, but without the approval 
of the mayor shall not increase any item in, nor the total of a budget, nor 
add any item thereto, nor shall it originate a budget. It shall be the 
duty of the city and county officials, when requested by the mayor, to 
submit forthwith in such detail as he may require estimates for the next 
fiscal year of the expenditures of the department or office under their 
charge, which estimates shall be transmitted to the city council. 

The city auditor may, with the approval in each instance of the mayor, 
at any time make transfers from the appropriation for current expenses of 
one division of a department to the appropriation for current expenses of 
any other division of the same department, and from the reserve fund to 
any appropriation for the current expenses of a department; and may also, 
with the approval of the mayor, at any time between November fifteenth 
and January first, make transfers from any appropriation to any other 
appropriation; provided, however, that no money raised by loan shall be 
transferred to any appropriation from income or taxes. He may also with 
such approval apply any of the income and taxes not disposed of in closing 
the accounts for the financial year in such manner as he may determine. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote of 
the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affairs, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shall make or cause to be made a written 
record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said 
appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the 
mayor to the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his 
objections thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expen- 
diture of money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in 
part and disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items 
or parts of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts 
of items as he disapproves shall be void. 

Sect. 4A. * The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shaU be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
less than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. t Except as otherwise provided in this act the organization, 
powers and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate or 



* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 5 amended by Chap. 222, Sp. Acts of 1918; Chap. 389, Act.s of 
1928; Chap. 227, Acts of 1934; Chap. 152, Acts of 1936. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

abolish, in whole or in part, departments whether created on or before or 
subsequent to the first Monday of February in the year nineteen hundred 
and ten, including the transit department; transfer the duties, powers and 
appropriations of one department to another in whole or in part; and 
estabUsh new departments; and may increase, reduce, establish or abolish 
salaries of heads of departments, or members of boards. Such an ordinance 
may provide that all of the employees of any department or division 
thereof thereby abolished who are subject to civil service shall be re- 
appointed to similar positions with similar status in any new department 
or division thereof thereby established or in any other department or 
division thereof, without civil service examination or registration and 
that such employees shall, upon reappointment as may be provided in 
such ordinance, retain all rights to retirement with pension that shall 
have accrued or would thereafter accrue to them, and that their services 
shall be deemed to have been continuous, to the same extent as if such 
abolition had not taken place. Nothing in this act shall authorize the 
abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or duties as established 
by law of the school committee, the board of commissioners of school 
buildings, the department of school buildings, the election department 
or any department in charge of an official or officials appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 6. No contract for lighting the public streets, parks, or alleys, or 
for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a period of 
more than one year from the date thereof, shall be valid without 
the approval of the mayor and the city council after a public hearing, 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have been 
given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at a 
meeting to be held not earlier than one week from the date of the receipt of 
said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through a head 
of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting and publicly 
answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not be obliged 
to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor at any time 
may attend and address the city council in person or through the head of a 
department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as he may desire. 

Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, officer, 
or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this act, directly 
or indirectly on behalf of the city or of the county of Suffolk take part in 
the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the purchase of materials, 
supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, alteration, or repair of any 
public works, buildings, or other property; nor in the care, custody, and 
management of the same; nor in the conduct of the executive or administra- 
tive business of the city or county; nor in the appointment or removal of 
any municipal or county employee; nor in the expenditure of public 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 19 

money except such as may be necessary for the contingent and incidental 
expenses of the city council. The provisions of this section shall not affect 
the powers or duties of the city council as the successor of the present 
board of aldermen relative to state or military aid and soldiers' relief. 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 
such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, or 
employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon learn- 
ing of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, shall 
notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission of such 
contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall abstain 
from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. In 
case of such interest on the part of an officer whose duty it is to make such 
contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by any other 
officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if the mayor 
has such interest by the city clerk: -provided, however, that when a con- 
tractor with the city or county is a corporation or voluntary association, 
the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares actually 
issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the contract within 
the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect the vahdity 
of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is also an officer 
or agent of the corporation or association, or solicits or takes part in the 
making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by impris- 
onment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred and 
twenty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is hereby 
repealed. 

The Executive Department. 
Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
oflBce expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 
law appointed by the governor), shall be appointed by the mayor without 
confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts in 
such work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or persons 
specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform the same, 
and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain subject to the 
provisions of existing laws) shall be- appointed without regard to party 
affiliation or to residence at the time of appointment except as hereinafter 
provided. 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sect. 10 and Sect. 11, concerning approval by the civil service commis- 
sion of appointments by the mayor, repealed by chapter 167, Acts of 1930. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions of 
said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 
for terms of four years beginning with the first day of May of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the Mayor. 

Sect. 14. The mayor may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by fiUng a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copy of which shall be delivered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reply in writing, which, if he desires, may be 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not affect the action taken 
unless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 
year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby abolished, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such ap- 
pointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the cause 
for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, norjinvolve the city in any contract 
for the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the 
provisions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 

The Finance Commission. 
Sect. 17. Within sixty days after'the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance com- 
mission to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 
city of Boston, who'shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 

four years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, 
and thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for 
a term of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the 
unexpired term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. 
The members of said commission may be removed by the governor with 
the advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem suffi- 
cient. The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual 
salary shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly install- 
ments by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 

Sect. 18. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the 
city of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that 
may appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report 
thereon from time to time to the mayor, the city council, the governor, or 
the general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 
the same seems to him to be of doubtful validity, excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum 
of forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission and 
the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the expenses 
as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The commission 
shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its appro- 
priation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabHng the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable the 
mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive the 
reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordinances, 
or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission shall have 
all the powers and duties enumerated in chapter five hundred and sixty-two 
of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and therein conferred 
upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel for any witness at 
any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question and may offer 
pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross-examination 

by the commission and its counsel. 

* Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acts 
of 1924. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



The City Clerk. 
Sect. 22. The present city clerk shall hold office for the term for 
which he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen 
and qualified. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third 
year thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members 
of the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 
duly chosen and qualified unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The Citt Auditor. 

Sect. 23. All accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection and 
revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such form 
as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person presenting 
for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to make oath 
before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy of such 
account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shall be perjury 
and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse to pay, in 
whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent or unlawful 
and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons for the 
refusal. 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any officer, 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or delivered to said officer or board, a duplicate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted to 
him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any of 
the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened. 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for that 
department, and he shaU furnish to the mayor and city council a state- 
ment of the unexpended balances of aU the departments. He shall furnish 
quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing the amount 
of money expended by the mayor and the city council for contingent 
expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* AU loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual instalments in the manner authorized by 
section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as amended 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910, and Chap. 165, Acts- 
of 1911. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be established 
for said loan. All bonds shall be offered for sale in such a manner that the 
premiums, if any are received, shall be apphed in accordance with the 
provisions of chapter three hundred and seventy-nine of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and ten. No city or county money shall be de- 
posited in any bank or trust company of which any member of the board 
of sinking fund commissioners of said city is an officer, director, or agent. 
Nothing herein shaU apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston issued 
under the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construction of 
tunnels and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commission, and 
said bonds may be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking fund. 

Sect. 27.* Every officer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall on or before the sixth day of 
June in each year prepare and furnish to the city auditor a hst of the 
officials and employees under said officer or board and paid by the city 
or county on the first day of June preceding. Such Usts shall give the 
names, residence by street and ward, designation, compensation, and date 
of election or appointment of each of said officials and employees and the 
date when each first entered the employ of the city or county. It shall 
be the duty of the city auditor to verify said lists by the pay roUs and 
to keep a copy of said lists open for pubhc inspection; and when verified 
the said lists shall be printed by the superintendent of printing as a city 
document in the year 1923 and every two years thereafter. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in the 
public ways, the issue of permits or Ucenses for coasting, the storage of 
gasoline, oU, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction 
or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, 
poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or illuminating 
purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commissioners, to be 
exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the mayor; and 
the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by ordinance the 
terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon which permits or 
licenses for the storage of gasoline or oU, or other inflammable substances 
or explosive compounds, and the construction or use of coal holes, vaults, 
bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over the public ways shall be 
issued. 

Sect. 29. f Within ninety days after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and sold 
under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved by the mayor a paper to be known as the City 

* Sect. 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, and Chap. 133, 
Acts of 1922. 

t Sect. 29 as amended by Chap. 185, Acts of 1934. 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Record. All advertising with reference to the sale of property for nonpay- 
ment of taxes shall appear exclusively in the City Record. AU other adver- 
tising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the purchase or 
taking of land, contracts for work, materials or supplies, and the sale of 
bonds, shall appear in said paper, and in such newspaper or newspapers as 
the mayor, in his discretion, may order; a list of all contracts of one 
thousand dollars or more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the 
amount of the bids; appointments by the mayor; and changes in the 
number and compensation of employees in each department, shall be 
pubHshed in the City Record. Failure to publish in such newspaper or 
newspapers as the mayor may order shall not invalidate any purchase, 
contract or sale made or action taken by the city. The proceedings of the 
city council and school committee together with all communications from 
the mayor, shall be published in the City Record. 

Sect. 30. Every officer or board in charge of a department in said city, 
when authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes in 
an existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, each 
contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about to do 
any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which alone, or in 
conjunction with other similar work or purchase which might properly be 
included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one thousand dollars, 
shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do otherwise, invite 
proposals therefor by advertisement in the City Record. Such advertise- 
ment shall state the time and place for opening the proposals in answer to 
said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the ofl&cer or board to 
reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense with advertising 
shall be given by the mayor unless the said officer or board furnishes him 
with a signed statement which shall be published in the City Record giving 
in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by advertisement. 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval of 
the mayor the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, may 
take in fee for any municipal purpose any land within the hmits of the city, 
not already appropriated to pubHc use. Whenever the price proposed to 
be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than twenty-five 
per cent higher than its average assessed valuation during the previous 
three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but shall be taken by 
right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner provided for the 
taking of and the payment of damages for land for highways in said city. 
No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan or otherwise for the 
general purpose for which land is needed shall have been made by the mayor 
and city council by a two thirds vote of all its members; or in case of land 
for school purposes by the school committee and schoolhouse department 
in accordance with law; nor shall a price be paid in excess of the appropria- 
tion, unless a larger sum is awarded by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
All proceedings in the taking of land shall be under the advice of the law 
department, and a record thereof shall be kept by said department. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. t The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first and 
shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the municipal year 
shall begin on the first Monday in January and shall continue until the 
first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all mem- 
bers of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
years each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the school 
committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of January follow- 
ing their election. 

Sect. 34. In Boston beginning with the current year political com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the municipal 
primaries. 

Sect. 45. t Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall 
be elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first 
Monday in January following his election and until his successor is chosen 
and qualified and shall not be eligible for election for the succeeding term. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap. 94. 

Sect. 47. § If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, 
the city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve 
for the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time 
there shall be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election 
for the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall 

* Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

* * * * Sections 35 to 44, inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 

t Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918, and Chap. 
479, Acts of 1924. 

§ Sect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

not apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which 
a new mayor is elected and the date he takes office. In the case of the 
decease, inability, absence or resignation of the mayor, and whenever 
there is a vacancy in the office from any cause, the president of the city 
council while said cause continues or until a mayor is elected shall per- 
form the duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause 
to perform such duties they shall be performed until the mayor or president 
of the city council returns or is able to attend to said duties by such mem- 
ber of the city council as that body may elect, and until such election by 
the city clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be 
called "acting mayor" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only 
in matters not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make per- 
manent appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections 8, 9, and 13 of Chap. ^79, Acts of 1924.. 
Sect. 8. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote upon 
the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the official 
ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the space 
at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. No ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such space. 

Plan No. 1. A city coimcil of fifteen members to consist of three 
members to be elected for two year terms by and from the vote rs of each of 
five boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at 
a salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the name of five hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 

Plan No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 




Sect. 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

*********** 

Sect. 13. t If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty- 
one, and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 48.t Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shaU be elected at each regular 

* * * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, omitted because inoperative. 
t Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 
4, 1924. 

% Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 27 

municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward one 
councillor to serve for two years from the first Monday in January follow- 
ing his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49.* Each member of the city council shall be paid an annual 
salary of two thousand dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from the 
city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly or in- 
directly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. f The city council shall be the judge of the election and 
qualifications of its members; shall elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election 
in his ward to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member 
eldest in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of 
the absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. All elections by the city council under any provision of law 
shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answering 
to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 
stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or declining to vote 
as the case may be, and the clerk or other proper officer shall record every 
such vote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as aforesaid. 

Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

Sect. 53.$ Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the sixth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said election, 
signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at least 
two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candi- 
date at said election, and signed in person for the nomination for city coun- 
cillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, for which 
said nomination is sought, qualified to vote for such candidate at said 
election shall be filed with said election commissioners and the signatures 
on the same to the number required to make the nomination subsequently 

* Sect. 49 as amended by Chap. 348, Acts of 1930, which was accepted, 
by the voters at the State Election, November 4, 1930. 

t Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37,. 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925;. 
and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



28 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter provided, 
nomination papers shall be in substantially the following form: 



Said 



COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS. 

CITY OF BOSTON. 

NOMINATION PAPER. 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified to 
vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law, 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
•election to be held in the City of Boston on November , 19 



Name of Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence, 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATUKES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of candi- 
dates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In case 
of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after written 
acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we authorize 
{names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority thereof 
:as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed by law. 



Signatures of Nom- 
inators. 
To be made in person. 



Residence 
April 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence, 



ACCEPTANCE OP NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

I (the candidate named in this paper, and officer of his political com- 
mittee or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) do 
Lereby make oath that the persons whose names appear on this paper as 
nominators signed the same in person. 



(Voter's Residence.) 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 29" 

commomvealth of massachusetts. 
Suffolk, ss. Boston, 19 

Then personally appeared who, I am satisfied,, 

is (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee, 
or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) and made 
oath that the foregoing statement by him subscribed is true, and that. 
his voting residence is 

Before me, 



Notary Public or Justice of the Peace. 

The affidavit above set forth shall be sworn to before any officer qualified! 
to administer oaths. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day 
of election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be- 
ineligible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five 
persons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so author- 
ized in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include 
candidates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many 
nomination papers for each office to be filled as there are persons to be 
elected thereto and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the 
board of election commissioners on and after but not before the ninth 
Tuesday preceding the regular municipal election. Such papers shall 
be issued only to candidates who shall file with the election commissioners- 
requests therefor in writing, containing their names with the first or- 
middle name in full, the offices for which they are candidates, and their 
residences, with street and number, if any. Forthwith the election com- 
missioners shall print or insert on such nomination papers the names of 
the candidates, the offices for which they are nominated and their resi- 
dences, with street and number, if any. Not more than three hundred 
such nomination papers shall be issued to any candidate for mayor, and 
not more than two hundred such nomination papers shall be issued to 
any candidate for the school committee and to any candidate for the city 
council there shall be issued not more than ten such nomination papers 
for a ward. No nomination papers except those issued in accordance 
with the provisions of this section shall be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55.t Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56.$ The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall when filed be a matter of pubUc record; but the nomination papers 

* Sect. 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1921 ; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 

t Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921, 

tSect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; and Chap. 105, Acts of 1926. 



'30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been filed, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twentieth 
day preceding the city election. Such certification shall not preclude 
any voter from filing objections as to the validity of the nominations. All 
withdrawals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p. m. on the fourteenth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p. m. on the thirteenth day preceding the city 
election. 

Sect. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
TS^ith law together with his residence and the title and term of the office for 
which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the munic- 
ipal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 
upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 
board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal election 
shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or mark, 
and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any such 
party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he was 
nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59. t On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of munic- 
ipal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be appUcable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting elec- 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 31 

tions and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under the 
provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said city. 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act shall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of Boston, 
except that nomination papers for offices to be filled at such elections shall 
be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day following the 
calling of said special election. Every special municipal election shall be 
held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more than ninety days 
after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts so far as inconsistent with this act, 
are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so far as 
inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. AU acts and parts of acts 
affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61 inclusive were accepted by the voters at the state 
election, November 2, 1909. 

Plan No 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1925, 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
January 4, 1926. 



32 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS 

IN CHARGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute or ordinance. (See 
Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 



Officials. 



How 

Created. 



Appointed or Elected. 



By Whom. 



When. 



Term. 



Begins. 



Length. 



Art Commission (Five) 

Assessors (Three) 

Auditor 

Budget Commissioner 

Building Commissioner 
City Clerk 

City Planning Board 
(Five) 

Collector 

Corporation Counsel . . . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 



Statute . 
Ord.... 

u 

Statute. 

« 

Ord.... 
Statute. 
Ord.... 
Statute. 



Mayor . 



Annually, 
one 



Annually, 
one 



City 
Council . 



Mayor . 



Quadren- 
nially . . . . 

Quadren- 
nially . . . . 

Quadren- 
nially . . . . 

Triennially 



Annually, 
one 



Quadren- 
nially. . . 

Quadren- 
nially. . . 

Annually, 
one 



May 1 . . 


April 1 . . 


May 1 . . 


" 1.. 


" 1.. 


1st Mon. 
in Jan. . 


May 1 . . 


" 1.. 


« 1.. 


April 1 . . 



5 yrs. 

3 " 

4 " 
4 " 

4 " 

3 " 

5 " 

4 " 
4 " 
4 " 



CHIEF OFFICIALS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 33 





How 

Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 


4yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


11 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Hospital Trustees 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


" 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






5 " 


Institutions Commis- 
sioner 


Ord 


" 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Library Trustees (Five) 


" 


(( 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 " 


Markets, Superintend- 
ent of 


u 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


" 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






3 " 


Penal Institutions Com- 
missioner 


Ord 


" 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Printing, Superintend- 
ent of 


u 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Public Buildings, Su- 
perintendent of 


a 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Welfare Trus- 
tees (Twelve) 


Statute. . . 


a 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3 " 


Public Works, Com- 
missioner of 


Ord 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Registrar, City 


Statute. . . 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Sinking Fvmds Com- 
missioners (Six) 


« 


u 


Annually, 
two 


" 1.. 


3 " 



34 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or Elected. 


Term. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missioner 


Statute. . . 
Ord 

Statute. . . 

Ord 

Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 

u 
11 


Quadren- 
nially 

Annually, 
one 

Annually, 
one 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 

" 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan . . 

May 1 . . 




Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 


4 yrs. 


Street Commissioners 
(Three) 


5 " 


Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 


3 " 


Traffic Commissioners . . 


4 " 


(Five) 

Transit Commissioners 
(Three) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 

a 


Annually, 
one 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 
" 1.. 




Treasurer 


3 « 


Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 


4 « 













DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 35 



EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 

Office, 27 City Hall, second floor. 
|Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C, Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 280, 
367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274, 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184, 348; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453, 479; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167.] 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
Joseph F. Melltn, Secretary. 
William C. S. Healey, Assistant Secretary. 
Cyril G. Cummings, Assistant Secretary. 
John F. Gilmore, Jr., Assistant Secretary and Chief Clerk. 
Bernard J. Dunn, Assistant Secretary . 
Thomas E. Cimeno, Assistant Secretary. 
Mary L. Thompson, Assistant Secretary. 
Herbert L. McNary, Chief, Licensing Division. 
Joseph Mikolajewski, Assistant, Licensing Division. 
Martin J. Conroy, Messenger. 

public celebrations, conventions, and distinguished visitors. 
Arthur J. O'Keefe, Assistant Secretary, Director. 

the city record. 
Office, 73 City HaU. 

Forrest P. Hull, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Associate Editor. 

MUNICIPAL employment BUREAU. 

25 Church Street. 
Samuel W. Warren, Director. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 

Ofl&ce, Faneuil Hall. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 11; 

Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 87.] 

Officials. 
Robert P. Bellows, Chairman. 
Arthur A. Shurcliff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS . * 

Robert P. Bellows named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term e is in 1939. 

William Emerson, r med by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1938. 

Arthur A. Shurclifi named by Boston Art Club. Term ends in 1937. 

Daniel Sargent, nai ed by the Trustees of the Public Library. Term 
ends in 1941. 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1940. 

The Art Department, estabhshed in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each year one of the following- 
named bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the 
Trustees of the Boston Public Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of 
Architects, submits a list of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor 
appoints one person as Art Commissioner from each of the lists so submitted. 
Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the Mayor appoints 
his successor from a list selected by the^body which made the original 
selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of the 
Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. Moreover, all 
contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, statue, 
bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be made by said 
Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval of the 
Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned by the 
City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 37 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. • 
IStat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 
8; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
89; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87, 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edward T. Kelly, Chairman. 
Timothy W. Murphy, Secretary. 

ASSESSORS. 

Timothy W. Murphy. Term ends March 31, 1937. 
Edward T. Kelly. Term ends March 31, 1939. 

John P. O'Hearn. Term ends March 31, 1938. 

deputy assessors. 
Fred E. Bolton. John M. Hayes. 

Henry T. Hartmere. Francis J. McFarland. 

William F. Morrissey. 
Daniel F. Ryan, Chief Clerk. 



One Assessor is appointed each year by the Mayor for a term of three 
years, from April 1, the Chairman of the Board of three members being 
designated by the Mayor. 

The Assessors published annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 

assistant assessors. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, § 2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord. 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1925, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 



38 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6; Ord. 1934, Chap. 6.] 

Charles J. Fox, City Auditor. Term ends in 1938. 
Daniel J. Falvey, Deputy City Auditor. 

The office of Auditor was estabhshed by ordinance on August 2, 1824. 
The office of Deputy City Auditor was established by ordinance on July 11,. 
1934. Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been 
pubhshed by the Auditor since 1825. These reports now contain in addi- 
tion various financial tables relating to appropriations, debt, etc., and a 
summary of the city trust funds. Less complete reports were pubUshed 
by finance committees from 1811 to 1824, inclusive. Since June 1, 1867, 
the Auditor has published monthly exhibits of all City, School, and Coimty 
expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk, Secretary of 
the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds, and a member of the Board 
of Trustees of the George Robert White Fund. (Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 
3,6.) 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 
[Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, Section 20; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1926,. 
Chap. 350; Stat. 1927, Chap. 220; Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 137; Stat. 
1929, Chap. 88; Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 16, 180; 
Stat. 1932, Chap. 143; Stat. 1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chap. 210; 
Stat. 1936, Chap. 240.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 
Eliot N. Jones, Vice-Chairman. 
Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 



39 



Members. 



Nominated by 



Term ends in 



Frederic H. Fay, Chairman, 

Alfred Ellis, Jr 

CHffordN. Cann 

John H. Gilbody 

George L. DeBlois 

Eliot N. Jones 

James R. Gibson 

John A. Breen 

Dana Somes 

Everett F. Gray 



City Planning Board 

Boston Central Labor Union 

United Improvement Association 

Team Owners' Association 

Boston Real Estate Exchange 

Boston Chamber of Commerce 

Master Builders' Association 

Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange .... 

Boston Society of Architects "I 

Boston Society of Landscape Architects...] 

Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

Associated Industries of Massachusetts. . . 

Appointed by the Mayor 



Ex officio 
1939 
1938 
1938 
1937 
1941 
1941 
1940 

1940 

1939 
1937 



The Board consists of twelve members, the Chairman of the City Plan- 
ning Board, ex oficio, and eleven members, appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated by 
each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Exchange, Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association, 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association, and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. All appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of office is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation. Any petition 
for changing the zoning map must be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five dollars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the Board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all property deemed by 
the Board to be effected, change the boundaries of districts by changing 



40- MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the zoning map on file at the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs 
of a locality, to avoid undue concentration of population, to provide ade- 
quate light and air, to lessen congestion in streets, to secure safety from fire, 
panic and other dangers, to facilitate the adequate provision of transporta- 
tion, water, sewerage, and other public requirements and to promote the 
health, safety, convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the City of 
Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two-thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, bring a petition in the Supreme Judicial Court for the 
County of Suffolk for a writ of certiorari setting forth that such decision 
is in whole or part not in accordance with the duties and powers of the 
board. 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 
Office, 65 City HaU. 
IStat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390; Stat. 1933, Chap. 243.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 
J. George Herlihy, Secretary. 
Wm. D. ICenney, Executive Officer. 
George E. Willard, Chief Clerk. 

THE BOARD. 

John H. Dorsey {ex officio). 

J. George Herlihy. Term ends Sept. 1, 1937. 

Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends Sept. 1, 1936. 

The Boston Retirement System was estabhshed on Feb. 1, 1923, as 
provided by Chap. 521, enacted in June, 1922, and accepted by Mayor and 
City CouncU in August, 1922. It is administered by a board of three mem- 
bers, the City Treasurer, ex officio, one person appointed by the Mayor, 
and the third member chosen by the other two. The compensation of the 
members is $10 each for every meeting attended, but not over $500 in any 
one year. After the original appointments, the term of each appointive 
member is four years. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 41 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 

Office, 134 North Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

William P. Hickey, Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 



OFFICIALS. 

William P. Hickey, Chairman. 

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Eugene M. McSweeney, Police Commissioner. 
Christopher J. Carven, Coynmissioner of Public Works. 
William P. Long, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
Owen A. Gallagher, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 

Marie A. Maher, Secretary. 

engineering division. 
Philip T. Desmond, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The act estabUshing the commission became effective April 30, 1929, 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City CouncU, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, experts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The commission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 
vehicles on, and their exclusion from, aU or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devices for the control 
of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public as to the 
rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

The latest revision of the Traffic Regulations, effective December 16, 
1935, contains 255 one-way streets and 355 no-parking streets. The 
Commission maintains 157 traffic signals, including two (2) interconnected 
systems in down-town Boston, 6,000 traffic signs, 100 flashing beacons and 
143 traffic officers' spothghts. Thirty-five miles of white lines painted in 
the roadway, including crosswalks, center lines, lane lines and stop lines, 
are maintained by the Commission. 

* Ex officiis. 



42 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 47 City HaU, Third Floor. 
[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Ord. 1927, Chap. 3; Stat. 1930, 

Chap. 400; Stat. 1931, Chap. 301.] 
Fbancis J. MuERAY, Budget Commissioner. Term expires April 30, 1939. 
John A. Sullivan, Executive Clerk. 

The Budget Department was established by ordinance in 1917. It was 
established as a result of the report and recommendations of a commission 
which had been appointed "to investigate and report upon 'the expediency 
of adopting a segregated form of budget for the departments for which 
the city makes appropriations from taxes or revenues ' including the 
departments under the control of the mayor, the school committee and the 
schoolhouse department, the county departments, and the departments 
in charge of officials appointed by the governor." That commission was 
appointed pursuant to an order passed by the City Council on June 7, 
1915, and approved by the Mayor on June 8, 1915. Its report was made 
under date of October 1, 1915. 

When the Budget Department was established it was placed in charge 
of the Budget Commissioner. General supervision over all matters relating 
or incidental to the appropriations and budgets of aU municipal depart- 
ments, with the exception of a very few departments not directly under the 
control of the Mayor, was placed in the jurisdiction of the Budget Com- 
missioner. 

The Budget Commissioner, under the direction of the Mayor, prepares 
in segregated form the annual and all supplementary budgets to be sub- 
mitted by the Mayor to the City Council. The Commissioner also pre- 
pares annually forms of estimate sheets to be used by each officer, board, 
commission and department, and each division of a department, for 
which the city appropriates money. He also prepares the form of monthly 
report of such officer, board, commission and department, and each 
division thereof, showing expenditures to date of all appropriations by 
item. The Budget Commissioner also reports to the Mayor on all sub- 
sequent revisions of the items in the budget. 

Each department head annually on or before November first submits to 
the Budget Commissioner departmental budget estimates on sheets fur- 
nished by the Budget Department. The Budget Commissioner investi- 
gates and considers all such estimates in detail and confers with the several 
department heads concerning their estimated requirements. The Budget 
Commissioner thereafter establishes tentative budget allowances to each 
department and submits such tentative budget allowances to the Mayor, 
with such recommendations as the Budget Commissioner deems advisable. 
The Mayor, after conference with the Budget Commissioner and the 
several department heads, concerning the department estimates, the 
tentative allowances, and the recommendations of the Budget Commis- 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 43" 

sioner, makes final decisions on all budget allowances. The entire and 
formal budget is prepared by the Budget Commissioner in accordance with 
those decisions of the Mayor. The budget in its entirety is then sub- 
mitted by the Mayor to the City Council with an appropriate explanatory 
message, which recommends the adoption of the budget by that body. 

The City Council refers the budget to its committee on appropriations. 
The appropriations committee holds public hearings on the individual 
items of each department budget. It hears the several department heads 
on the details of their department budgets. The Budget Commissioner 
attends the hearings of the appropriations committee prepared to furnish 
such information and give such assistance as may be requested by the 
committee or the department heads. 

On the completion of the hearings of the appropriations committee, 
that committee reports to the entire Council on the proposed budget. 
Thereupon the City Council acts on that report and the recommendations 
of its committee on appropriations. The City Council may by law 
decrease any item in the budget submitted to it by the Mayor, but is 
without power to increase any item in it. Upon the adoption of the budget 
by the City Council and its approval by the Mayor, the appropriations 
contained in the budget are established for the fiscal year ending on the 
December thirty-first next following its adoption and approval, which 
usually occur some time after the first of January in each year. 

On occasions it becomes necessary during the fiscal year to transfer 
funds from one item to another in the budgets of the several departments. 
When such a transfer is deemed advisable or necessary by a department 
head, the department head makes a written request of the Budget Com- 
missioner for such transfer. After consideration of such requests, the 
Budget Commissioner refers them to the Mayor for submission to the 
Council for its action. The transfers become operative only when they 
are adopted by the Council and approved by the Mayor. 

In compliance with the provisions of Chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930, 
"Compensation and Classification Plans for the Officers and Employees 
of Suffolk County" were adopted by the City Council on April 13, 1931, 
and approved by the Mayor on April 15, 1931. By virtue of that statute 
and those "plans" and their respective amendments, the Budget Com- 
missioner is empowered to pass upon all promotions, transfers, new appoint- 
ments, and the compensation of the personnel of Suffolk County. These 
"plans" establish the Budget Commissioner as the Personnel Director of 
Suffolk County. The records required to comply with the provisions of 
these plans are compiled by and maintained in the Budget Department 
imder the supervision of the Budget Commissioner. These records 
include, among others, an official roster of each officer and employee in 
the service of Suffolk County, their classification title, rate of pay, a record 
of each change of their status, and such other relevant information as the 
Budget Commissioner deems advisable for the maintenance of a proper 
record of the personnel of Suffolk County. 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

In addition to the records of the county personnel, there is also kept 
in the Budget Department a complete alphabetical index of the permanent 
personnel of the City of Boston, likewise compiled and maintained under 
the supervision of the Budget Commissioner. 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 
Offices 901-906 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
i[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550 {i. e., Boston Building Law) as amended; Stat. 
1910, Chaps. 284, 571, 631; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 76, 129, 342; Stat. 

1912, Chaps. 259, 364, 369, 370, 713; Ord. 1912, Chaps. 3, 9; Stat. 

1913, Chaps. 50, 280, 577, 586, 680, 704, 714, 729; Ord. 1913, Chap. 
4; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 8, 41, § 31; Ord. 1914, Chap. 4; Stat. 1914 , 
Chaps. 205, 248, 287, 595, 628, 782, 786; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 254, 
306, 333, 346, 352; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 118; Spec. Stat. 1916, 
Chaps. 86, 248, 277; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 221; Spec. Stat. 1918, 
Chaps. 104, 115, 179 (i. e., Building Law amended and codified); 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 32, 155, 156, 163; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 91, 
266, 440, 455, 645; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1, 5; 
Stat. 1921, Chaps. 60, 109, 137, 280, 289, 476; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 
61, 126, 174, 316; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 27, 108, 278, 462; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 136, 332, 335, 412, 414, 488; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 10, 
40; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 130, 219, 335; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 182, 350; 
■Ord. 1927, Chap. 2; Stat. 1927, Chaps. 42, 45, 82, 220, 246, 342; 
Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 76, 137, 260, 320, 325; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 
88, 338; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 62, 146, 347, 399; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 
16, 171, 180, 200, 213, 250; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 22, 143, 283; Stat. 
1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 210, 271.] 

Edward W. Roemer, Building Commissioner. 
John H. Glover, Acting Clerk of Department. 
Joseph E. Cahill, Supervisor of Construction. 
Frank M. Curley, Supervisor of Construction. 
Frank Conroy, Chief of Zoning Division. 
Edwin H. Oliver, Chief of Egress Division. 
Wilfred H. Smith, Chief, Plan Division A. 
David Hastie, Chief, Plan Division B. 
Timothy J. Farrell, Supervisor of Elevators. 
William A. Wheater, Supervisor of Plumbing. 
Frank J. Riley, Supervisor of Gasfitting. 
Henry J. Clayton, Fire Protection Engineer. 

The Board of Appeal {i. e., appeal from the decisions of the Building 
Commissioner), although appointed by the Mayor, is nominated by the 
leading real estate and builders' organizations. 

It is the duty of the Building Commissioner to issue permits for and 
inspect the erection and alteration of buildings (including schoolhouses) 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 45' 

in the City, and the setting of boilers, engines and furnaces; to keep a 
register of all persons licensed to take charge of constructing, altering, 
removing or tearing down buildings; to keep a register of the names of 
all persons carrying on the business of plumbing and gasfitting, and of 
all persons working at the business of gasfitting, and to issue licenses to 
master and journeymen gasfitters; to issue permits for and inspect the 
plumbing and gasfitting in buildings; to inspect elevators in buildings 
and report upon elevator accidents; to issue licenses for operators of 
elevators; to inspect at least monthly all theaters and moving-picture 
houses, and semi-annually all halls or places for public assembly; to 
inspect existing tenement houses; to report on all fires in, and accidents 
in or to, buildings, to approve plans of new buildings and alterations, 
and to pass upon all questions of zoning. 



REGULATION OF BUILDING HEIGHTS. 

[Stat. 1872, Chap. 371; Stat. 1892, Chap. 419; Stat. 1896, Chap. 313; 

Stat. 1898, Chap. 452; Stat. 1904, Chap. 333; Stat. 1905, Chap. 383; 

Stat. 1907, Chap. 416; Stat. 1914, Chap. 786; Stat. 1915, Chap. 333; 

Stat. 1923, Chap. 462; Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1928, Chap. 137.] 

Following the Great Fire in Boston which occurred on November 
9 and 10, 1872, a special session of the Legislature was called to consider 
questions growing out of the calamity and to enact such measures as were 
appropriate for the protection and rebuilding of the city. This resulted 
in an amendment to the Building Law of 1871 establishing a maximum 
height limit of 75 feet, which was amended the following year to 80 feet, 
providing further that additional height might be added if the same were 
constructed in a fireproof manner. 

In 1892, Chapter 419 provided for a maximum height limit of 125 feet, 
with a further restriction to 2§ times the width of the widest street or 
square on which such building stood. 

Authority to limit building heights to 70 feet within 25 feet of a park- 
way, boulevard or public way bordering on a park was granted under the 
provisions of a General Law, Chapter 313 of the Acts of 1896, and accepted 
by the city of Boston in May of the same year. This Law carried with 
it provision for damages and is one of the few instances in the city of 
Boston of the limitation of building heights through the exercise of eminent 
domain. For the most part restrictions are adopted under the police 
power. 

Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1904 provided for the appointment of a 
Commission authorized to divide the city of Boston into two districts; 
A, in which the greater part of the buildings situated therein was used 
for business or commercial purposes, restricted to a height of not more 
than 125 feet, and B, in which the greater part of the buildings situated 
therein was used for residential purposes, restricted in height to 80 feet. 

The boundaries of the A and B Districts as thus estabhshed continued 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

in effect until the appointment of a similar Commission under the pro- 
visions of Chapter 333 of the Acts of 1915, this second Commission being 
authorized to revise the boundaries but not to increase the maximum 
height limits. The result was that the boundaries of District A were 
•considerably enlarged. 

In the meantinie, Chapter 383 of the Acts of 1905 provided that buildings 
may be erected in the 80-foot district on streets exceeding 64 feet in width 
to a height equal to one and one-half times the width of the street upon 
which the building stands, but not exceeding 100 feet in any event, a 
modification which remains in effect at the present time. 

Chapter 462 of the Acts df the year 1923 amended previous legislation 
and established a maximum height limit of 155 feet, further making pro- 
vision for the erection of buildings to a height greater than two and one- 
half times the width of the street, but not exceeding 155 feet if the external 
wall of a height greater than two and one-half times the width of the street 
:shall be set back from the vertical face of the building in the ratio of one 
foot horizontally for each two and one-half feet vertically. Further 
regulations were also established for buildings on a narrower street near its 
intersection with a wider street. 

Chapter 488 of the Acts of the year 1924, the Boston Zoning Law, divides 
the city into 35, 40, 65, 80 and 155 foot districts, as shown on a map pre- 
pared by the Boston City Planning Board, and filed in the office of the 
State Secretary, each of the aforesaid districts carrying with them in 
addition to height limitations certain restrictions with regard to the bulk 
of buildings, the area of yards and other open spaces and the percentage of 
lot occupancy. Flexibility in the administration of the Zoning Plan is 
assured through the Board of Appeal, which is authorized to vary the 
provisions of the Law, and through the Board of Zoning Adjustment which 
is authorized to change the boundary lines of the zoning districts, under 
certain given conditions. 

According to an opinion handed down by the Supreme Judicial Court 
on March 2, 1926 (Grenville H. Norcross and another. Trustee and others, 
versus the Board of Appeal of the City of Boston), Districts A and B as 
territorial divisions regulating height of buildings, established in accordance 
with earher statutes, no longer exist in view of the general scope and 
detailed provisions of the aforesaid Zoning Law. 

Chapter 137, Acts of 1928, permits the erection of " pyramidical" build- 
ings, so called. A good example is the United Shoe Machinery building 
located at the corner of Federal and High Streets. 

CHAPTER 137, ACTS OF 1928. 
An Act Relative to the Height of Buildings in the City of Boston. 
Be it enacted, etc., as follows: 

Section 1. Section eighteen of chapter five hundred and fifty of the 
acts of nineteen hundred and seven, as amended by section eleven of 
chapter four hundred and sixty-two of the acts of nineteen hundred and 
twenty-three, is hereby further amended by adding at the end thereof the 
following new paragraph: 



BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 47 

Notwithstanding those provisions of this section which relate to a 
maximum height hmit of one hundred and fifty-five feet, on a lot on which 
a building one hundred and fifty-five feet in height is permitted, part of a 
building or structure may exceed such height provided the volume of such 
building or structure does not exceed the number of square feet of buildable 
area of the lot multiplied by one hundred and fifty-five feet, and provided 
further that every part of such building or structure above a height equal 
to two and one half times the effective width of the street but not exceed- 
ing one hundred and twenty-five feet shall set back from every street 
and lot line one foot for each two and a half feet of additional height. 

Section 2. Section fifteen of chapter four hundred and eighty-eight 
of the acts of nineteen hundred and twenty-four is hereby amended by 
striking out the second paragraph of said section, entitled "Height," and 
inserting in place thereof the following new paragraph: 

Height: No building shall exceed the height limit established by sec- 
tion eighteen of chapter five hundred and fifty of the acts of nineteen 
hundred and seven, as amended. Approved March 19, 1928. 

There have been, in addition, a number of laws enacted which operated 
indirectly as to height limits in the City of Boston, including special re- 
strictions in the vicinity of Copley Square and the Public Library; the 
State House; Rutherford Avenue, between Chapman Street and the 
Mystic River tracks of the Boston and Maine Railroad; Washington 
Street, Lovering Place, Harrison Avenue and Asylum Street; and the 
property occupied by the Mechanic Arts High School on Dalton, Belvi- 
dere and Scotia Streets. So far as these special restrictions are concerned, 
the Zoning Law particularly specifies that it shall not interfere with, 
abrogate, annul, or repeal any statute previously enacted relating to the 
use of buildings or premises, provided, however, that where the zoning 
act imposes a greater restriction upon the use of buildings or premises or 
upon the height of buildings, the provisions of such act shall control. 



BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 

[Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; 

Ord. 1925, Chap. 5.] 

Office, 909 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 

OFFICIALS. 

J. Fred McNeil, Chairman. 

Mary C. Dowd, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Thomas K. Reynolds. Term ends in 1935. 
Irving Lewis. Term ends in 1939. 
J. Fred McNeil. Term ends in 1937. 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER, 

The Board of Examiners was established in 1912 as an adjunct of the 
Building Department, to consist of three members, appointed by the 
Mayor. The duties of these examiners are to determine the qualifications 
of persons taking charge or control of the construction, alteration, removal 
or tearing down of buildings; to register and classify those who are com- 
petent according to fitness, and certify such to the Building Commissioner. 
Each examiner is to receive ten doUars for every day or part thereof of 
actual service, but not more than $1,200 for the Chairman, or more than 
$1,000 for the other members. 

The fees to be paid to the Board are: for new license, $5; for each 
annual renewal, $2; for special license, $1. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 

Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1907, Chap. 550, §§6, 7; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 13, §6 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 631; Stat. 1920, Chap. 440; Stat. 1923, Chap. 108 
Stat. 1924, Chap. 488; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1929, Chap. 88 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 16, 180.] 

OFFICIALS. 

F. Warren Clark, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

John C. MacDonald. Term ends in 1939. 

. Term ends in 1938. 

James A. McElaney. Term ends in 1937. 
F. Warren Clark. Term ends in 1941. 
Daniel G. Slattery. Term ends in 1940. 

The Board consists of five members, one appointed each year by the 
Mayor, one member from two candidates nominated in successive years, 
by the following organizations respectively: Real Estate Exchange and 
Auction Board and Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange; Boston Society 
of Architects and Boston Society of Civil Engineers; Master Builders' 
Association and Contractors' and Builders' Association; and Building 
Trades Council of the Boston Central Labor Union; also one member of 
the Mayor's own selection. The term of office is five years. Each mem- 
ber is paid $10 per day for actual service, but not more than $1,000 in 
any one year. 

Any applicant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
application has been refused in re building law or in re zoning law, may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days,. and a person who has been ordered 
by the Commissioner to incur any expense may, within thirty days after 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 49 

receiving such order, appeal to the Board of Appeal by giving notice in 
writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled by this 
Board, after a hearing. 

Appeal may also be made to this Board from certain requirements of 
the Commissioner of Wires. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 31 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 

Wilfred J. Doyle, City Clerk. Term ends in 1938. 
John B. Hynes, Assistant City Clerk. 

The City Clerk is elected by the City Council for the term of three 
years. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of all city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments of 
wages, and other instruments, issues licenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 

The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, respectively, Clerk and 
Assistant Clerk of the City Council. 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41 , §18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant Citj' Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 

CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 30 City Hall, second floor. 

[Stat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12; 

Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frederic H. Fay, Chairman. 

William Stanley Parker, V ice-Chairman. 

Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 

the board. 
Frederic H. Fay. Term ends in 1939. 
William Stanley Parker. Term ends in 1938. 
Sidney S. Conrad. Term ends in 1937. 
Mary A. Barr. Term ends in 1941. 
William Francis. Term ends in 1940. 

Chapter 41 of the General Laws, Sections 70, 71 and 72, provides that 
every city and every town in the state having a population of more than 



50 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

10,000 shall, and towns having a population of less than 10,000 may, 
create a planning board which shall make careful studies of the resources, 
possibilities and needs of the town, particularly with respect to conditions 
injurious to the public health or otherwise in and about rented dwellings, 
and make plans for the development of the mvmicipality, with special 
reference to proper housing of its inhabitants. 

In January, 1914, an ordinance was passed by the Boston City Coimcil 
establishing "The City Planning Board" consisting of five members, one 
of whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888. Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 

John F. Doherty, City Collector. Term ends in 1938. 
The Collector collects and receives aU taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any account to the 
City of Boston or the Coimty of Suffolk. He has the custody of all leases 
from the City. Annual reports have been pubUshed since 1876, also 
monthly statements. The Collector is also County Collector. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, § 78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65. 93, 114, 209, 288, 340, 387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924. Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105.] 

OFFICIALS. 

David B. Shaw, Chairman. 
Frederic E. Dowling, Secretary. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 51 

COMMISSIONERS. 

David B. Shaw. Term ends in 1938. 
Francis B. McKinney. Term ends in 1940. 
Daniel H. Rose. Term ends in 1937. 
Frederic E. Dowling. Term ends in 1939. 
One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 
beginning April 1. The two leading political parties must be equally 
represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually by the 
Mayor. 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other officers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 388. 

police listing board. 

Chapter 835, Section 69, of the Acts of 1913, provides that: "In Boston 
there shall be a listing board composed of the Police Commissioner of 
said city and one member of the board of election commissioners, who 
shall annually be appointed by the mayor, for the term of one year, and 
who shall belong to that one of the two leading political parties of which 
said police commissioner is not a member." 

The duties of said board are provided for in Sections 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 
74 and 75 of Chapter 835 of the Acts of 1913; and all other acts in amend- 
ment and addition thereto. 

The Board consists of Eugene M. McSweeney, Pofiee Commissioner, and 
Daniel H. Rose, Election Commissioner. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, City Building, Bristol street. 

[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, §§ 9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap. 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309.] 

Edward F, McLaughlin, Fire Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 

William D. Slattery, Acting Executive Secretary of the Department. 

Henry A. Fox, Chief of Department. 

Dennis J. Coughlin, Deputy Chief. 

Thomas H. Downey, Deputy Chief. 



52 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

John J. Kenney, Deputy Chief. 

Samuel J. Pope, Deputy Chief. 

William F. Quigley, Deputy Chief. 

Louis C. Stickel, Deputy Chief. 

Frank A. Sweeney, Deputy Chief. 

George L. Fickett, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 

Peter F. Dolan, Superintendent, Wire Division. 

Edward E. Williamson, Superintendent of Maintenance Division. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge of 
1 Commissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 7 Deputy 
Chiefs, 30 District Chiefs, 1 Superintendent of Fire Alarm, 1 Superin- 
tendent of Maintenance, 1 Medical Examiner, 1 Supervisor of High Press- 
ure and Marine Service, 1 Engineer of Motor Vehicles, 82 Captains, 116 
Lieutenants, 1,174 Engineers, Assistant Engineers, Apparatus Operators, 
Masters, Aides, Hosemen and Laddermen, 19 Clerks, 18 Fire Alarm 
Operators, and 114 Mechanics, Painters, Linemen, Repairers, Electricians, 
Workmen and other employees. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Wire Divi- 
sion), 1,611. 

There are 65 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 55 employees, oper- 
ating 1,687 signal boxes, and a repair shop with 115 employees. Annual 
reports have been published since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of deputy chiefs, $4,500; district chiefs, $4,000; captains, 
$2,700; heutenants, $2,500; apparatus operators, $2,200; first-year 
privates, $1,600, with annual increase of $100 until the maximum of 
$2,100 is reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising 
and inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors, and substi- 
tuting underground for overhead transmission. The Wire Division is in 
charge of 1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Clerk, 6 Clerks, 1 Chief Inspector 
32 Inspectors, 1 Telephone Operator, 1 Chauffeur. A total of 43 employees 
(included in above 1,611). 

boston firemen's relief fund. 

By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 

the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 

elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body 

for the purpose of holding and administering the Firemen's Rehef Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 
Main ofiice, 1108 City Hall Annex, eleventh floor. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 53 

1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 448, 486; Stat. 
1913, Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3 and 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3. Ord. 1931, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

William B. Keeler, M. D., Health Commissioner. Term ends in 1940. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

DEPUTY COMMISSIONERS. 

M. Victor Safford, M. D., Medical Division. 

Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 

Karl R. Bailey, M. D., Laboratory Division. , 

George T. O'Donnell, M. D., Tuberculosis Division. 

Charles F. Wilinsky, M. D., Child Hygiene Division and Director of 
Health Units. 

M. Victor Safford, M. D., Acting Deputy Commissioner, Sanitary Divi- 
sion. 

Patrick H, Mullowney, M. D. V., Food Division. 

Joseph W. Monahan, Vital Statistics Division. 

other sttpervising officers. 
Robert E. Dyer, D. V. S., Veterinarian in charge of Dairy Division. 
Frank E. Mott, Milk Inspector. 

Alexander R. Burr, M. D. V., Veterinarian in charge of Abattoir Division. 
Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under the 
special statute of February 13, 1799. It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 
service should pass from the control of the Health Department when the 
property was leased to the United States, in effect Jxme 1, 1915. 

On March 31, 1927, an Ordinance was enacted abolishing the Boston 
Sanatorium Department and placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Matta- 
pan under the jurisdiction of the Trustees of the Boston City Hospital 
all other powers and duties, as well as the Out-Patient Department, were 
transferred to the Health Commissioner by Chap. 1 of the Ordinances 
of 1927, as amended Feb. 16, 1931. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 

Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison Avenue. 
[Stat. 1858, Chap. 113; Stat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266 
Stat. 1889, Chap. 336; Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Stat. 1893, Chap. 91 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 518; Stat. 1905, Chap. 212; Stat. 1906, Chap. 189 
Stat. 1907, Chap. 248; Stat. 1908, Chap. 225; Stat. 1908, Chap. 627 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1911, Chap. 167; Rev. Ord. 1914 
Chap. 18; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 190 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 86; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, §§ 18, 19; Stat. 1924 
Chap. 70; Stat. 1924, Chap. 352; Rev. Ord., 1925, Chap. 17; Ord 
1927, Chap. 1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Stat. 1928, Chap. 237 
Stat. 1930, Chap. 167; Stat. 1932, Chap. 215.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joseph P. Manning, President. 
George G. Seaks, M, D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

George G. Sears, M. D. Term ends in 1938. 
Martin J. English, M. D. Term ends in 1937. 
Joseph P. Manning. Term ends in 1941. 
Carl Dreyfus. Term ends in 1940. 
George A. Parker. Term ends in 1939. 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on Jime 1, 1864. Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River Street, Mattapan 
(for tuberculous patients), the Haymarket Square ReUef Station, the East 
Boston Rehef Station, and the West Department, West Roxbury (the 
West Department is loaned to the Department of Public Welfare). 

The Convalescent Home in Dorchester was closed in March, 1932. 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold real 
and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corporation to 
an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

hospital officers. 
James W. Manary, M. D. — Superintendent and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 
Charles H. Pelton, M. D. — Assistant Superintendent. 

south department. 
Medical Director. — James W. Manary, M. D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M. D, 

Assistant Physicians. — Morris Prizer, M. D., Ralph F. Dolan, M. D., 
Albert W. Peacock, M. D. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 55 

SANATORIUM DIVISION, 

Assistant Superintendent. — Frederick L. Bogan, M. D. 

RESIDENT MEDICAL STAFF. 

Resident Medical Officer. — Frank H. Hunt, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, First Assistant. — Ralph Volk, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Second Assistant. — John J. Ahern, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Third Assistant. — Charles A. Reese, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Fourth Assistant. — Arthur L. Springer, M. D. 
Resident Surgeon. — Olin C. Hendrix, M. D. 

HAYMARKET SQUARE RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons. — George T. Mullen, M. D., James V. Sachetti, M. D. 

EAST BOSTON RELIEF STATION. 

Resident Surgeons.— Samuel Sidell, M. D., Salvatore Scelso, Jr., M, D. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 808-811 City HaU Annex. 

[Special Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; 

Ord. 1924, Chaps. 9, 10.] 

Frederic A. Washburn, M. D., Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 

The department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. January 1, 1936, there were 1,524 in the 
care of the institution, of whom 535 were in the hospital. The department 
controls about 167 acres and buildings on Long Island, valued at about 
$3,150,000. The steamers "Stephen J. O'Meara" and "George A. 
Hibbard" are maintained for transportation service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 808 City HaU Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1936, the division had 
1,519 children in its care, was using 15 different institutions for medical 
care or special training, and 695 foster homes. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City HaU, receives and investigates 
apphcations for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres. 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

LAW DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
[Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Ord. 1925, Chap. 19.] 

Henry E. Foley, Corporation Counsel. 

Walter J. O'Malley, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Joseph T. Brennan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Isidore H. Fox, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Charles E. Leonard:, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

J. Burke Sullivan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Lewis H. Weinstein, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Charles S. Sullivan, Jr., Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Samuel S. Dennis, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Walter F. Henneberry, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Daniel W. Flynn, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Gerald J. Culhane, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

James A. Dorsey, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Rudolph Robinson, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

William E. Burke, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Edward U. Lee, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Daniel B. Carmody, Clerk. 

Margaret G. O'Neill, Secretary. 
The office of "Attorney and Solicitor" was established in 1827; the 
office of City Solicitor in 1846 and that of Corporation Council in 1881. 
The office of City Solicitor was abolished and the department placed under 
the sole charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 

The Law Department consists of a Corporation Counsel, fifteen assis- 
tants, and twenty-four other employees comprising the investigating, 
secretarial and clerical staff. 

The department has general charge of the legal work of the city, rep- 
resents the city in all litigation to which it is a party, prosecutes certain 
criminal proceedings, does the conveyancing work for the various municipal 
departments, prepares and approves all mimicipal contracts and bonds, 
furnishes legal opinions to the Mayor, the City Coimcil and various 
department heads and city officials, including the School Committee, on 
matters relating to the discharge of their official duties, and appears and 
represents the city before the varfous committees of the legislature and 
before other public boards and commissions, including the Interstate 
Commerce Commission and the United States Shipping Board in relation 
to port matters, and the Department of Public Utihties in relation to 
rates and other matters. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 
23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116; Spec. 
Stat. 1931, Chap. 50.] 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 57 

OFFICIALS. 

Louis E. Kirstein, President. 
Ellery Sedgwick, Vice-President. 
Milton E. Lord, Director and Librarian. 

trustees.* 
Robert H. Lord. Term ends in 1937. 
Ellery Sedgwick. Term ends in 1938. 
Louis E. Kirstein. Term ends in 1939 
Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1940. 
John L. Hall. Term ends in 1941. 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in num- 
ber, are appointed by the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. 
They were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold 
real and personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This 
amount was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919 and to $20,000,000 in 1931. 
The first Trustees were appointed under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. 
The old Library Building on Boylston street was opened to the public in 
September, 1858, and closed finally in January, 1895. The Central 
Library Building on Copley square, costing $2,756,384, was first opened on 
March 11, 1895. The Library is maintained by an annual appropriation 
included in the regular budget of the City Government. Of this appro- 
priation ($1,171,715 in 1935) $99,453.12 was used for the purchase of books 
and periodicals. The Library trust funds in the custody of the City 
Treasurer amounted to $793,350.33 on January 1, 1936. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been con- 
tinued without interruption. 

library system. 

The Library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Business Branch at 20 City Hall avenue, and thirty-three branch 
libraries with independent collections of books. There were, on January 1, 
1936, in the entire Library system, including mechanical departments, 
about 600 employees. 

Besides the daily delivery of books called for at the various branches, 
200 public and parochial schools and institutions and 40 fire-company 
houses are regularly supplied. 

For reading and reference the Library is open to all without formality. 
On December 31, 1935, there were 179,064 cardholders having the right to 
draw books for home use. The total number of volumes was 1,682,848, 
including newspapers and periodicals. Books issued in 1935, for home 
use and for use through schools and institutions, numbered 4,949,701. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



58 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



CENTRAL LIBRARY, COPLEY SQUARE. 

Lending and reference, 1,185,545 volumes. 

Bates Hall for reading and reference. About 10,000 volumes are on 
open shelves. 

Other Activities. The Fine Arts Department has facilities for copying 
and photographing, a collection of photographs of architecture, sculpture 
and painting, numbering 132,000 (including process pictures), besides 
illustrated books, portfolios, etc., and 18,196 lantern slides. Special 
assistance is offered to classes, travel clubs, etc. Free lectures mostly 
on art and travel topics, and concerts, are given during the winter season. 
The room for younger readers has about 10,000 volumes on open shelves for 
reading and circulation. A Teachers' Reference Room is maintained, and 
reference books are reserved for use in connection with University Exten- 
sion courses. Story telling for children is regularly conducted vinder 
expert direction at the central library and principal branches. On 
the ground floor of the central library near the main entrance are three 
rooms, wherein is provided a community and general information service, 
and on open shelves, a classified collection of general literature for cir- 
culation, consisting of about 2,500 volumes. The Library is open from 
9 a. m. to 10 p. m.; Sundays, from 2 to 9 p. m.; closed at 9 p. m. from 
June 12 to September 15. 

BUSINESS LIBRARIES. 

The Business Branch in the Kirstein Memorial Library, at 20 City Hall 
avenue, contains a carefuUy selected collection of approximately 15,000 
books on business and aUied subjects, and is conducted with a view to 
serving the business interests of Boston. The Business Branch is open on 
weeK: days from 9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., and on Saturdays from 9 a. m. to 1 p. m. 

Through an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library 
of the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration has been 
made a branch of the Boston Public Library system. This library's 
collection of business material, including the collection of the Business 
Historical Association, is freely open to the public for reference. Hours, 
8.30 a. m. to 10 p. m. on week days; 1 to 10 p. m. on Sundays. 

BRANCH LIBRARIES. 

The 33 branch libraries are open on week days from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m. 
with some variation of hours in summer. 



MARKET DEPARTMENT. 

Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22 and Chap. 40, §§ 29-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6.] 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 59 

Fkank J. KiERNAN, Superintendent of Markets. Term ends in 1938. 
Edward J. McCormack, Deputy Superintende^it. 

Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed during 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market^ 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, established the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively I'aneuil Hall and Quincy Market. 

The Superintendent of Markets may assign stands within their limits; 
and it is his duty, from time to time, to lease the stalls in the markets at. 
rents not less than those established by the City Council. The market 
police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and are under his control _ 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 

Offices, 33 Beacon Street. 

[Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923,, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

William P. Long. Term ends in 1937. 
John J. Martin.* Term ends in 1938. 
Theodore G. Haffenreffer.* Term ends in 1939. 

officials. 

William P. Long, Chairman. 

Daniel J. Byrne, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

Charles A. Hogan, Deputy Commissioner. 

Richard J. Hatden, Superintendent of Parks and Cemeteries. 

James E. O'Reilly, Superintendent of Baths. 

John J. Murphy, Chief Engineer. 

Albert L. Ed son. Airport Superintendent. 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875. 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Grounds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 
and Recreation Department. In 1920, the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Department. 

A list of the statues was published in the 1932 Municipal Register. 

* Two commissioners serve without compensation. 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Parks, Etc., with Location, Area and Year Acquired, 
main park system. 

Acres. 

Arborway, Prince street to Franklin Park, 1892 . . . . 36.00 
*Arnold Arboretum and Bussey Park, South, Centre and Walter 

streets, 1882, 1895 223.00 

Back Bay Fens, Beacon street to Brookline avenue, 1877 . . 116.99 
Common, Tremont to Charles and Beacon to Boylston street, 

1634 t48.40 

Commonwealth avenue, Arlington street to Newton line, 1894- 

1905 112.70 

Franklin Park (1883-84) and Zoological Garden (1912), Seaver 

to Morton street and Blue HUl avenue to Forest HiUs street, 527.00 

Olmsted Park, Huntington avenue to Prince street, 1890 . . 180.00 

J Avenue Louis Pasteur, Longwood avenue to the Fenway, 1922, 3.19 
Public Garden, Charles to Arlington and Beacon to Boylston 

street, 1823 24.25 

Riverway, Brookline avenue to Huntington avenue, 1890 . 40.00 
§West Roxbury Parkway, from Centre and Walter streets, near 

Arboretum, to Weld street, 1894 75.47 

Total Acres, Main Park System 1,387.00 

MARINE PARK SYSTEM. 

Castle Island (formerly), now joined to mainland and a part of 

Marine Park (land 25.70; fiats 78.30), 1890 . . . .104.00 
Columbia road [Frankhn Park to Marine Park, City Point,) 

Dorchester way! 1892, 1899 / 

Marine Park and Aquarium, Farragut road. City Point (land 

52.50; fiats 4.90), 1883. (Aquarium, 1912.) .... 57.40 
Strandway and Columbus Park, Columbia road railroad bridge 

to City Point (land 133.80; fiats 131.50), 1890-1901 . . 265.30 

Total Acres, Marine Park System 457.90 

miscellaneous parks. 
Boston Airport, Maverick and Porter streets. East Boston, 1928, 270 . 00 
II Irving W. Adams Park, Junction of Washington and South 

streets, Roshndale, 1919 0.78 

* Of this park, only the roads and walks are maintained by the City. 

t This area of the Common is exclusive of the old cemetery on Boylston 
street side, containing 1.40 acres. 

t Acquired by Ordinance, Chap. 7 of 1922. 

§ The construction and care of that part of the parkway extending from 
Weld street to Washington street was transferred to the Metropolitan Park 
Conamission by Chap. 270, Acts of 1915. 

II Named for soldier kUled in World War. 



31.20 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 



61 

Acres. 

1.31 

17.40 

10.40 

55.40 

0.60 

0.94 



Berners square, Longwood avenue, Bellevue and Plymouth 

streets, Roxbury, 1901 

Charlesbank, Charles street, from Cambridge street to Leverett 

1883 

Charlestown Heights, Bunker Hill and Medford streets (6.10) 

Dewey Beach (4.30), 1891 

Chestnut Hil' Park, Beacon street and Commonwealth avenue 

Brighton, 1898-1902 

Copp's Hill terraces. Commercial and Charter streets, North 

End, 1893 

*WiUiam B. Corbett Park, between Washington and Claybourne 

streets, Dorchester, 1917 

Cummings Memorial Park, located partially in Woburn and 

Burlington, Mass 234.00 

Dorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 1891, 30.40 
Franklin Field, Blue Hill and Talbot avenues, Dorchester (park 

area), 1892 77.00 

Freeport Street (Malloch's) Wharf and grounds, Dorchester (land 

1.15; flats, 2.54), 1912 3.69 

Martin Lomasney Park, Nashua Street extension, 1930 . . 2.57 
North End Beach, Commercial and Charter streets (land 3.70; 

fiats 3), 1893 6.70 

*Stanley A. Ringer Park, Allston street and Griggs place, 1916 . 12.38 
Rogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899 . . 8.20 

Savin Hill Park, Grampian way, Dorchester, 1909 . . . 8.26 
Town Meeting Park, Pleasant and Pond streets, Dorchester, 

1921 0.22 

Statler Park, Columbus avenue, Stuart and Church streets, 

1925 0.25 

Trinity Triangle, Huntington and St. James avenues, 1885 . 0.12 
World War Memorial Park (formerly Wood Island), East Boston, 

on eastern waterfront Qand 55.60; flats 155.40), 1882, 1891 . 211 .00 



Total Acres, Miscellaneous Parks 



951.62 



Platgeounds, with Location, Area and Year Acquired. 

Almont Street, Mattapan, 1924 17.81 

*William J. Barry, Chelsea street and Mystic river, Charles- 
town, 1897 5.27 

Billings Field, La Grange and BeUevue streets, West Roxbury, 

1896 10.83 

Rev. Fr. Buckley, Bolton and West Third streets, South Boston, 

1925 0.65 

Brookside avenue and Cornwall street, Jamaica Plain, 1925 . . 1.32 

Carroll Pond, Carroll street. West Roxbury, 1921 . 0.47 



*Named for soldier killed in World War. 



62 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 
*William E. Carter, Columbus avenue at Camden street, 1899 . 5 . 02 
Ceylon Street Playground, Ceylon and Intervale streets, Dor- 
chester, 1923 4.03 

tCharlesbank, Charles street, West End, 1883 . . . . 10.90 

Charlestown, Main and Alford streets (land, 14; flats, 3.7), 1891 16.84 

tCharlestown Heights, Buitker Hill and Medford streets, 1891 . 1.00 

t Chestnut Hill, Beacon street, Brighton, 1898 . . . . 4.00 

tColumbus Park, Strandway, South Boston . . . . . 79.00 

tCommon, C harles street side 3.50 

American Legion, Condor and Glendon streets. East Boston, 

1924 3.38 

*John J. ConnoUy, Marcella and Highland streets, Roxbury, 1903 5.10 
*James L. Cronin, Brent street, near Talbot avenue, Dorchester, 

1899 2.24 

*Vincent Cutillo, Morton and Stillman streets, North End, 1917 . . 48 

fDorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 1891 5.40 

*John A. Do herty, Dorchester and Geneva avenues, 1897 . . 1.47 

*Frederick D. Emmons, Rutherford avejiue, Charlestown, 1912 . 1.07 
William Eustis, Norfolk avenue and Proctor street, Roxbury, 

1909 7.60 

Factory Hill, Town and Svmnyside streets, Hyde Park, 1912 . . 5 .20 

*Fallon Field, South and Roberts streets. Roslindale, 1899 . . 7 .57 

fFens, Back Bay, 1877 5.00 

Franklin Field, Blue Hill and Talbot avenues, Dorchester, 1892 . 60 . 00 

fFranklin Park, 1883-84 36.00 

*William H. Garvey, Neponset avenue, opposite Chickatawbut 

street, Dorchester, 1896 16.68 

Christopher Gibson, Dorchester and Geneva avenues, 1897 . . 4.34 

Paul Gore Street, Jamaica Plain, 1913 0.74 

*WiIIiam Amerena, Gove, Geneva, Porter and Wellington streets. 

East Boston, 1926 4.06 

*James F. Healey, Washington street and Firth road, Roslindale, 

1902 9.63 

Jefferson, Heath, Cranford and Floyd streets, Roxbury, 1924 . 7.51 

Mary Hemenway, Adams^ and Gustine streets, Dorchester, 1919 4.41 

*John F. Holland, Mozart and Bolster streets, Roxbury, 1917 . 1 .07 

Christopher F. Lee, First street at M street. South Boston, 1897 5.20 

*McCorinell Park (formerly Savin Hill), Springdale and Denny 

streets (land, 9.78; flats, 50.55), 1899-1914 . . . . 60.33 

*Arthur F. McLean, Saratoga and Bennington streets, East 

Boston, 1917 0.43 

Mission Hill, Tremont and Smith streets, Roxbury, 1913 and 

1915 4.24 

*Named for soldier killed in World War. 

fPlaygrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 



63 



Acres. 

*John W. Murphy, Carolina avenue, Jamaica Plain, 1912 . . 4.17 

fNorthEndBeach, Commercial street, 1893 3.00 

jOlmsted Park, Jamaicaway, 1890 3.00 

John H. L. Noyes, Saratoga and Boardman streets, East Boston 

(land, 5.24; flats, 3.07), 1909 8.31 

JParis street. East Boston, 1912 1.27 

Francis Parkman, Wachusett street. Forest Hills, 1924 . . 2.06 

Portsmouth street, Brighton, 1912 4.29 

JPrince Street, North Bennet and Prince streets, North End, 

1897 0.40 

Readville, Bullard, Milton and Regent streets, Hyde Park, 1924 5.03 
fStanley A. Ringer, Allston street and Griggs place, Brighton, 

1916 2.32 

A Ripley, Ripley road, near Harvard street, Dorchester, 1913 . .86 
fRogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899-1931 . . 5 .00 
Ronan (formerly Mt. Ida), Bowdoin and Percival streets, Dor- 
chester, 1912 11.65 

*Lester J. Rotch, Albany and Randolph streets. South End, 1903 . 2 .80 

Shawmut avenue and Cherry street. South End, 1922 . . . 0.55 

Smith'sPond,Brainerd street, Hyde Park, 1914 . . . . 12.91 
*William F. Smith, Western avenue and North Harvard street, 

Brighton, 1894 14.00 

*tJ. M. and J. J. Sullivan, Fellows and Hunneman streets, Rox- 

bury, 1897 0.85 

♦Matthew J. Sweeney, West Fifth street. South Boston, 1909 . 47 

Tenean Beach, Neponset, 1915 20.01 

Tyler Street, South End, 1912 0.26 

*George H. Walker, Norfolk street, opposite Evelyn, Mattapan 

1912 6.21 

West Third Street, corner of B street. South Boston, 1909 . . . 28 

John Winthrop, Dacia and Danube streets, Dorchester, 1911 . 1 . 57 

Webster Avenue, North End, 1925 0.30 

t World War Memorial Park, East Boston, 1891 . . . . 10.00 

Thomas J. Roberts, Dunbar avenue, Dorchester, 1930 . . 10.40 

McKinney, Faneuil street, Brighton, 1930 5 . 94 

Foster Street Playground, Foster street, place and court North 

End, 1930 0.10 

Gertrude Howes, Winthrop, Fairland and Moreland streets, 

Roxbury, 1930 1.88 

Mary Draper, Washington and Stimson streets. West Rox- 
bury, 1932 5.76 

*Named for soldier killed in World War. 

fPlaygrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

JChildren's playground. 

A Acquired by gift. 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Martin M. Lomasney, Nashua street Extension, West End, 
1931-1933 

George Wright Golf Course 

*CarI Henry Alsen, Victory road and Park street, Dorchester, 
1916-35 

Westminster street and Ayles road, Hyde Park, 1936 . 



Total area of the 74 Playgrounds (Acres) 
Area of 14 playgrounds in Parks (Acres) 



Acres.- 

1.11 
158.48 

10.35 
13.03 

748.41 
168.97 

579.44 



Area of the 60 Separate Playgrounds (Acres) . 
The first separate playground acquired by the City was the Charlestown 
Playground, purchased in 1891 for $172,923. With that included, 74 
playgrounds (60 separate and 14 located in parks) have been established, 
most of them equipped with first-class shelter and sanitary buildings 
containing lockers, also drinking fountains, shower baths, etc. 

Public Geounds, Squares, Etc., With Locations and Areas. 
city proper. 

Square Feet., 
Braddock Park, between Columbus avenue and N. Y., N. H. 

&H. R. R 3,800 

Blackstone Square, Washington street, between West Brook- 
line and West Newton streets 105,100 

City Hall Grounds, School street 7,700 

Columbus Square, Columbus and Warren avenue . . . 2,250 

Concord Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue . 5,000 
Copley Square, between Huntington avenue, Boylston and 

Dartmouth streets 28,399 

Fort Hill Square, Oliver and High streets 29,480 

Franklin Square, Washington street, between East Brookline 

and East Newton streets 105,205 

Abraham Lincoln Square (formerly Park Square), Columbus 

avenue, Eliot street, and Broadway 2,867 

Massachusetts Avenue Malls, four sections, between Albany 

street and Columbus avenue 106,500 

Rutland Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue, 7,400 

St. Stephen Square, corner St. Stephen and Batavia streets . . 100 

Union Park, between Tremont street and Shawmut avenue . 16,000 

Waltham Square, Harrison avenue, opposite Union Park street . 3,000 
Worcester Square, between Washington street and Harrison 

avenue 16,000 



Total 438,801 

ROXBURY. 

Bromley Park, Albert to Bickford streets . . . . . 20,975 

Cedar Square, Cedar street between Juniper and Thornton streets 26, 163 

* Named for soldier killed in World War. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 



65 



Square Feet 
Elm Hill Avenue, between Seaver and Schuyler streets (Tree 

Area) 

Elm Hill Park, off 550 Warren street 

*Francis G. Hanlon Square, junction of Huntington avenue 

Tremont and Francis streets 

General Heath Square, Old Heath, New Heath and Parker 

streets 

Highland Park, Fort avenue and Beech Glen street 

Horatio Harris Park, Walnut avenue, from Munroe to Townsend 

street 

Alvah Kittredge Park, Highland street and Highland avenue 
Linwood Park, Centre and Linwood streets .... 
Longwood Park, Park and Austin streets .... 
Madison Park, Sterling, Marble, Warwick and Westminster 

streets 

Orchard Park, Chadwick, Orchard Park and Yeoman streets 
Public Ground, corner Blue HiU avenue, and Seaver street 
Warren Square, Warren, St. James and Regent streets 
Walnut Park, be:, ween Washington street and Walnut avenue 
Washington Park, Dale and Bainbridge streets .... 
*Herbert J. Wolf Square, Crawford, Abbotsford and Harold 

streets 



2,650 
6,920 

1,662 

2,419 
158,421 

110,040 

5,600 

3,625 

21,000 

122,191 

104,492 

2,500 

1,380 

5,736 

396,125 



966 



Total 



992,865 



BRIGHTON. 

Brighton Square, Chestnut Hill avenue and Academy Hill road . 25,035 
*Edward M. Cunningham Square, Cambridge, Murdock and 

Sparhawk streets 7,449 

Fern Square, between Franklin and Fern streets .... 1,900 
Jackson Square, Chestnut Hill avenue, Union and Winship 

streets 4,300 

Oak Square, Washington and Faneuil streets .... 9,796 

Public Ground, Cambridge and Henshaw streets .... 1,434 

Total 49,914 



CHARLESTOWN. 

City Square, junction of Main and Park streets . 
Essex Square, Essex and Lyndeboro' streets .... 
Hayes Square, Bunker Hill and Vine streets .... 
SulUvan Square, Main, Cambridge, Sever and Gardner streets 
Winthrop Square, Winthrop, Common and Adams streets . 



8,739 
930 

4,484 
56,428 
38,450 



Total 109,031 



*Named for soldier killed in World War. 



66 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



DORCHESTER. 

Square Feet. 

*Andrew Henry Square, Adams and Granite streets . . . 2,068 

Algonquin Square, Algonquin and Bradlee streets . . . 1,728 

Centervale Park, Upland avenue, and Bourneside street . . 9,740 

*John F. Donovan Park, Meeting House Hill .... 56,200 

Drohan Square, Edison Green 10,241 

Eaton Square, Adams and Bowdoin streets 13,280 

*Francis G. Kane Square, Bowdoin, Winter and Hancock streets, 1,600 

Mt. Bowdoin Green, summit of Mt. Bowdoin .... 25,170 

Peabody Square, Ashmont street and Dorchester avenue . . 1,963 

*Fred C. W. Olson Square, junction of Adams and Codman 

streets 700 

Public Ground, Florida street. King to Ashmont (7 sections) . 24,193 

*Gordon E. Denton Square, Magnolia street 3,605 

Richardson Square, between Pond and Cottage streets . . 46,035 
Spaulding Square, Junction of Freeport street and Neponset 

avenue 6 263 

Tremlett Square, Tremlett street, between Hooper and Waldeck 

streets 7,107 

Wellesley Park, Wellesley Park street 28,971 

238,864 



Total 



EAST BOSTON. 

Michael J. Brophy Park, Webster, Sumner, Lamson and Seaver 

streets 

Central Square, Meridian and Border streets . 
Maverick Square, Sumner and Maverick streets . 
Prescott Square, Trenton, Eagle and Prescott streets 
Putnam Square, Putnam, White and Trenton streets . 

Total 



30,000 
40,310 
4,396 
12,284 
11,628 

98,618 



HYDE PARK. 

Camp Meigs, Readville 124,500 

*Horace Campbell Woodworth Square, Beacon street and Metro- 
politan avenue 220 

*Lieut. Parker B. Jones Square, Milton avenue and Highland 

street 220 

Williams Square, Williams avenue and Prospect street . . . 700 
Greenwood Square, Junction of Greenwood street and Central 

avenue 220 

Webster Square, junction of Webster street and Central avenue . 220 

Wolcott Square, Hyde Park avenue, Milton and Prescott streets, 220 



Total 



126,300 



* Named for soldier killed in World War. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 



67 



SOUTH BOSTON. 



Independence Square, Broadway, Second, M and N streets 
Lincoln Square, Emerson, Fourth and M streets . 
Thomas Park, Telegraph Hill 



Square Feet. 

. 279,218 

9,510 

. 190,000 



Total . 478,728 

WEST ROXBURY. 

*Gustav Emmet Square, S. Conway, S. Fairview and Robert 

streets 750 

*Cornelius J. Mahoney Square, Centre and Perkins streets . . 3,200 

Oakview Terrace, off Centre street 5,287 

Soldiers' Monument Lot, South and Centre streets, Jamaica 

Plain 5,870 



Total 15,107 

Total area of Public Grounds, etc., 2,548,228 Square Feet, or 
58.5 Acres. 



RECAPITULATION. 



Parks and Parkways: 
Main Park System . 
Marine Park System 
Miscellaneous Parks 
Playgrounds (separate) 
Public Grounds, Squares 



etc 



Acres. 

1,387.00 

457.90 

951.62 

579.44 

58.50 



3,434.46 



Grand total (acres) 

Since the City's park development began, in 1877, the total expenditure 
to the close of 1935, for parks, parkways and playgrounds (exclusive of 
the annual maintenance appropriation) is $33,537,671.48 or $11,353,451.50 
for the land and $22,184,219.98 for construction. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 805 City Hall Annex. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, Chap. 

595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 

John J. Douglass, Commissioner. Term ends in 1939. 
Peter L. Lambert, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department, and he is also charged with 
paroUng power from Charles Street Jail. 



* Named for soldier killed in World War. 



68 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

HOUSE OF CORRECTION. 
George F. A. Mulcahy, Master. 
This institution dates from 1895, and now includes land and buildings 
valued at $2,146,900, land appraised at $605,900, and buildings at 
$1,541,000. 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office and Printing Plant. 174 North street. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 
William J. Casey, Superintendent of Printing. Term ends April 30, 1938. 

The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910, it has been entirely self-supporting and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance, 
including pay roll, has been met from revenue. 

The plant is located at the corner of North and Richmond streets in a 
city-owned building for the exclusive use of the department. It is organ- 
ized and equipped especially for the city's printing requirements and 
consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and accessories. The 
building and plant is appraised at approximately $600,000. 

Chapter 24, Section 1, of the Revised Ordinances provides that the 
Superintendent of Printing "shall have charge of the printing plant and of 
all the printing of the city, shall supply all printing, binding, stationery 
and other office supplies, except furniture, used by any board, commis- 
sion or department for which the City of Boston is required by law to 
furnish such supplies, and shall, wherever practicable, standardize all such 
printing, binding, stationery and other office supplies." 

In addition to the above, the Superintendent purchases all postage used 
by the City of Boston. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1005 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, §22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1.] 
RoswELL G. Hall, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends 

April 30, 1938. 
Thomas A. Callahan, Chief Clerk. 

The Office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established by 
ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published by the 
Superintendents since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, repair 
and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 69 

A list of the city buildings in charge of this department was published 
in the Municipal Register for 1932. 

FLAG DAYS. 

By order of the City Council it is the duty of the City Messenger to have 
the national colors displayed upon the public flagstaffs on the following 
days: 

January 17, Franklin's Birthday. 

February 12, Lincoln's Birthday. 

February 22, Washington's Birthday. 

March 17, Evacuation Day. 

April 19, Patriots' Day. 

April 27, Grant's Birthday. 

May 30, Memorial Day. 

June 14, Anniversary of Adoption of National Colors. 

June 17, Bunker Hill Day. 

July 4, Independence Day. 

September, first Monday, Labor Day. 

September 17, Anniversary of Foimding of Boston. 

October 12, Columbus Day. 

November 11, Armistice Day. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 

OVERSEERS OF THE PUBLIC WELFARE. 

Office, Charity Building, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 26; Stat. 
1930, Chap. 402.] 

OFFICIALS. 

James A. McMurry, Chairman. 

Clifford P. Warren, Vice Chairman. 

John C. L. Dowling, Secretary and Executive Director. 

Edward H. Willey, Treasurer. 

OVERSEERS.* 

Terms expire April 30, 1937. 
Margaret J. Gookin. Frances G. Curtis. 

William J. Finn. Philip J. Feinberg. 

Terms expire AprU 30, 1938. 
Edward H. Willey. Eva Whiting White, 

Frank M. Leonardi. Isabel C. Connelly. 

* The Overseers serve without compensation. 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Terms expire April 30, 1939. 
James A. McMurry. Clifford P. Warren. 

Sophie M. Friedivl^n. John J. Walsh. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
lished in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," con- 
sisting of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The 
Board has issued annual reports. 

The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trustees 
of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. The total amount of the 
19 permanent charity funds in the custody of the Overseers on January 1, 
1936, was $778,215.10, the annual income from which ($28,472.08) is 
distributed in accordance with the terms of the donations. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street, 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, but exacts work in its woodyard for meals fm'nished, and 
the Temporary Home on Chardon street for temporarily destitute women 
and children, opened in 1870. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 

General Offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors, City Hall Annex. 
[Ord. 1910, Chap. 9; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 553 and 571; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
312; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1 and 10; Stat. 1912, Chap. 348; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 28; Stat. 1914, Chap. 324; Ord. 1916, Chap. 3; Ord. 1917, 
Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, Chap. 3; Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 1929, Chap. 
16; Ord. 1930, Chaps. 3 and 6.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner. Term ends in 1937. 
John J. Connelly, Executive Secretary. 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of Public Works, the latter authorized 
to create the necessary divisions of the department according to his judg- 
ment. The following divisions have been created, viz.. Bridge and Ferry, 
Highway, Sewer, Sanitary, Water, and Water Income each in charge of a 
Division Engineer. 

The department is under the control of the Commissioner of Public 
Works, who must be a civil engineer of recognized standing in his pro- 
fession. The Commissioner is in charge of the following activities: Con- 
struction and maintenance of all streets, sidewalks and sewers; granting 
of permits to open, occupy, obstruct and use portions of the streets and 
sidewalks; street lighting, both gas and electric; installation, maintenance 
and operation of all fixtures and appliances held by the City for its water 
supply; cleaning, oiling, and watering of streets, as well as snow removal 
from streets; collection and removal of ashes, garbage and refuse; installa- 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 



71 



tion and maintenance of street signs, and assignment of street numbers for 
houses, stores, etc.; construction, maintenance and operation of all bridges 
used as highways; and maintenance and operation of the Sumner Vehicular 
Tunnel and of the ferries connecting the City Proper and East Boston. 

BRIDGE, FERRY AND TUNNEL DIVISION. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 
Thomas H. Sexton, Division Engineer. 
Rudolph J. Thanisch, Engineer of Construction. 
John de Meulenaer, Designing Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction and 
maintenance of the greater part of the highway bridges within the limits 
of the City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the abolish- 
ment of grade crossings, the maintenance and operation of the Simaner 
Tunnel, also the special engineering work for other City departments. 
All drawtenders are appointed by and subject to the control of the Com- 
missioner of Public Works. 

HIGHWAY DIVISION. 
Main Office, 501 City Hall Annex, fifth floor. 
Joshua Atwood, Division Engineer. 
William T. Morrissey, Chief Engineer. 
Richard N. Power, Lighting Service. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all public streets, the issuing of permits to open, occupy and obstruct 
portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the electric and gas lamps in the 
public streets, alleys, parks and public grounds, and the numbering of 
buildings and the placing of all street signs. 

STREET LAMPS IN USE JANUARY 1, 1936. 



Electric. 



Gas. 



Total. 



Magnetite arc 

Mazda 

Single mantle 

Single mantle (fire alarm) . 



3,156 
10,504 



9,299 
216 



3,156 

10,504 

9,299 

216 



Totals. 



13,660 



9,515 



23,175 



SANITARY DIVISION. 

Main Office, 507 City Hall Annex. 
Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
Peter F. Gerrity, Supervisor. 



72 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the collection and removal of ashes, 
garbage and refuse, and the cleaning, oiling and flushing of streets. 

Total expenditure for year 1935 was $2,335,549.62 for collection and 
disposal of the City 's waste materials and the cleaning, oiling and flushing 
of streets. 

REMOVAL OF STORE REFUSE. 

The removal of refuse from shops, stores and warehouses is attended to 
by the Sanitary Division and charged for at 11 cents a barrel or bundle 
(not larger than a flour barrel). No removals are made except on deHvery 
of tickets obtainable at 507 City HaU Annex, or from authorized agents. 

SEWER DIVISION. 

Main Office, 701 City Hall Annex. 
George W. Dakin, Division Engineer. 
George S. Coleman, Carl S. Drake, Francis J. Gately, District 

Engineers. 
William V. P. Hoar, Maintenance and Records Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has supervision of aU property and personnel of 
the Sewer Division, and the maintenance and construction of all sewerage 
works. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority : 

Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1903, Chaps. 268, 383; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 464, 550; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 204, 514; Special 
Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 27, 39; Stat. 1930, 
Chaps. 178, 304; Stat. 1932, Chap. 224. 

Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by the 
Public Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners, 
who also award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction. 
The assessment upon the several estates for a new sewer is limited to $4 per 
linear foot, and it is a lien upon the property. An Act of the Legislature 
prohibits the assessment in similar cases of the cost of surface drains. 

In the calendar year 1935, there were built by contractors, day labor and 
private parties, 6.38 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and 280 
catch-basins, making on January 1, 1936, a total of 1,203.1 miles of com- 
mon and intercepting sewers and 21,258 catch-basins in charge of the Sewer 
Division. 

The Boston Main Drainage System, comprising 24.12 miles of inter- 
cepting sewers, with a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, and storage 
reservoirs and outlet into the harbor at Moon Island, in operation since 
1884, takes care of the sewage from City Proper, South Boston, and parts 
of Roxbury, West Roxbury and Dorchester. 

The common sewer system has two electrically operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany streets was 
built in 1915 to relieve floodings in the South End district of Boston, by 
pumping and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 73 

The station at Summer street, opposite E street, was built in 1913, and 
takes care of the sewage from the Commonwealth Pier district, and the 
Army and Navy Bases. 

Charlestown and East Boston sewage discharges into the main North 
Metropolitan System of the State, which discharges into the harbor waters 
just south of Deer Island. 

Sewage from all of Brighton, a portion of the Back Bay and a small 
part of Roxbury, discharges into the South Metropolitan System, is 
lifted by pumping at the Ward street pumping station, then flows through 
the main sewer, which also drains by gravity portions of West Roxbury 
and Dorchester and all of Hyde Park, finally outletting into Quincy Bay 
at Nut Island. 

WATER DIVISION. 

Main Office, 607 City HaU Annex. 
Daniel M. Sullivan, Division Engineer. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and maintenance 
of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purpose of the City's 
water supply. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1935, was 968.48 miles; number of fire hydrants, 11,205 public, 384 private. 

The first water document published by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports on the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 
reports. By chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 
Water Income Department and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single conmiissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the Metropolitan Water Board, took possession, in 
1898, of all that part of the Boston water system lying westward of Chestnut 
HiU Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent lands. The 
sum paid to the City was $12,531,000. Payments to the State by the 
City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 1898. Total 
available quantity of water in the nine storage reservoirs of the Metropoli- 
tan system on January 1, 1936, 49,540,100,000 gallons, of which about 78 
per cent (38,560,460,000 gallons) was in the Wachusett Reservoir in 
Clinton, 32 miles west of Boston, an artificial lake 4,135 acres in surface 
area and added to the system in 1905. There are also twelve distribution 
reservoirs with capacity of 2,400,680,000 gallons, five pumping stations 
being connected with these, in which stations 23,142,579,414 gallons of 
water were pumped during the year 1935. In the existing Metropolitan 
Water District are nine cities, besides Boston, and ten towns. Boston 
takes about 65 per cent of the entire water supply of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1935 was 87,868,000 
gallons, or 107 gallons per capita. 



74 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



HIGH PRESSURE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of Chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
Public Works was authorized to install an efficient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work completed, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 
18.45 miles of pipe with 503 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation 
of system to December 31, 1935, was $2,599,379.45. Two pumping 
stations are now in use. 

WATER INCOME DIVISION. 
Main Office, 604 City HaU Annex. 
Meter Shops, 710 Albany Street. 
James A. McMurry, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer makes all water assessments and other charges 
necessary for the maintenance of the Water Divisions. 

AU applications for service pipes and main pipe extensions are received 
and the cost of same determined by the Water Income Division. The 
installation of meters and the maintenance of the 101,566 meters now in 
service come under this Division. 

The filing of liens for unpaid water bills is an important function of the 
Water Income Division. 



REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Stat. 1898, Chap. 389; General Laws, Chapter 46; 
Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 28.] 

Hilda Hedstrom Quirk, City Registrar. Term ends in 1938. 
Margaret M. Foley, Assistant Registrar. 
Charles H. Mackie, Assistant Registrar. 

The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
issues certificates of the same and marriage licenses, receives and records 
affidavits of, additions to, and amendments and corrections of said records, 
and forwards copies of all records to the office of the Secretary of the 
Commonwealth and to outside cities and towns when nonresidents are 
involved. Annual reports have been published since 1849, except in 1860 
and 1861. 

By ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (established July 6, 1875) 
were aboUshed, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, including 
the pubHcation of documents relating to the early history of Boston, were 
transferred to the City Registrar. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 75 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City HaU. 
[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 
324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 2 and 30.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Eliot Wadsworth, Chairman. 
Charles J. Fox, Secretary. 
John H. Dorset, Treasurer. 

Commissioners. * 
Eliot Wadsworth, Guy W. Cox. Terms end in 1937. 
John E. Hannigan, William A. Dtipee. Terms end in 1938. 
Michael H. Corcoran, Wilijam Spottiswoode. Terms end in 1939. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 
Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further establishing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loans 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an officer, director or agent. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 60 City Hall, fifth floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3 

and 31.] 
Charles H. Carey, Soldiers' Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1938. 
John D. Connors, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Soldiers' Relief Department was created as a department of the 
City of Boston by Chapter 441 of the Acts of 1897, and is under the charge 
of a commissioner appointed by the Mayor. He exercises all powers and 
duties for the distribution of State and City aid to veterans and their 
eligible dependents in the City of Boston, such as were formerly vested in 
the Mayor and Board of Aldermen. 

* The Commissioners serve without com,pensation. 



76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 76 City Hall, seventh floor. 
Ord. 1897, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps. 6 and 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Walter A. Murray, Acting Chairman. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Daniel T. O'Connell. Term ends in 1938. 
Walter A. Murray. Term ends in 1936. 
Robert Dysart. Term ends in 1934. 

This department, established in 1897, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to coUect, compile, and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston, and such statistics of other cities for purposes 
of comparison, as they may deem of public importance; also to compile 
and furnish such other statistical information as may be required by the 
Mayor or City Council. 

As defined by the board of trustees, the routine work includes informa- 
tion service on historical, geographical, political, and population facts 
about Boston and the personnel and accomplishments of present and past 
municipal administrations; modern foreign language translations; exchange 
of public documents with municipal, state, federal, and foreign govern- 
ments; and a newspaper clipping service of all the Boston papers and one 
New York paper. 

The Statistics Department has published annually since 1898 the 
Boston Municipal Register. Special publications have ranged from the 
hand-book of Boston Statistics to the Boston Year Book of 511 pages. 

The City Record, "Official Chronicle of Boston Mimicipal Affairs," 
is published weekly by the board of trustees, under the direction of the 
Mayor, in accordance with legislative act and city ordinance. The Editor 
and Associate Editor are appointed by the Mayor. 

In his capacity of Business Agent of the City Record, the Secretary of 
the Board of Trustees of the Statistics Department has had charge of aU 
business details of the City Record. 

City Record. 
Office, 73 City Hall, seventh floor. 
;[Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, Sect. 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 
486, Sects. 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, Sect. 2; Ord. 1922, Chap. 
9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, Sect. 2.] 

* The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
by him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 77 

OFFICIALS. 

Forrest P. Hull, Editor. 
Joshua H. Jones, Associate Editor. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Business Agent. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 
Main Office, 401 City Hall Annex, fourth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, Sect. 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, 
Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 
519; Cons. Stats. 1908, Chap. 51; Stat. 1909, Chaps. 209, 486, Sects. 
28, 31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 338, 
339, 371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; 
Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 
1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 155; Spec. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191 
407; Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 
1923, Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1929, Chap. 187; Stat. 1930, Chap. 399; Stat. 1931. Chaps. 173, 
297; Gen. Laws (Ter. Ed. 1932), Chap . 79, 80 82, 83; Stat. 1936, 
Chap. 394.] 

Board of Street Commissioners. 
Owen A. Gallagher, Chairman. Term ends in 1939. 
Walter A. Murray. Term ends in 1938. 
Thomas A. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1937. 

Cornelius A. Reardon, Secretary. 
William J. Sullivan, Chief Engineer. 
Arthur N. CoJjMATS!, Assistant Chief Engineer. 

9 

The Board of Street Commissioners consists of three members, one of 
whom is elected by them to be Chairman. One member is appointed by 
the Mayor each year to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has jurisdiction over the laying-out, widening, relo- 
cation and discontinuance of highways; the taking of real property for 
municipal purposes; the levying of assessments for betterments resulting 
from the construction of streets or sewers; the plotting of undeveloped 
areas for streets and the opening of private ways; the granting of licenses 
for the storage or sale of merchandise in public streets; the making of 
specific repairs in public streets; the naming of public'streets; the planting 
and removal of trees in public ways; the issuance of licenses for the keeping, 
storage, manufacture and sale of gasoline, oil, and other inflammable 
substances or explosive compounds; and the use of public ways for any 
permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over 



78 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone, 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes; signs, marquees, bay 
windows, coal-holes and vaults. Incidental to its powers to take lands 
and construct streets, it has authority to award compensation to land 
owners for damages resulting from such taking and construction. In 
certain instances its awards and its grants of licenses or permits must 
bear the approval of the Mayor. 

In 1895 the duties of the Board of Survey were transferred to the Board 
of Street Commissioners. In 1907 the Board of Street Commissioners 
was charged with the licensing of street stands for the storage or sale of 
merchandise. In 1909, by Section 28 of the City Charter (Acts of 1909. 
Chapter 486 and amendments thereto) the jurisdiction previously exer- 
cised by the Board of Aldermen concerning the naming of streets, the 
planting and removal of trees in public ways, the issue of permits or 
licenses for coasting,, the storage of gasoline, oil and other inflammable 
substances or explosive compounds and the use of public ways for any 
permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over the 
same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone, 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes, was vested in the 
Board of Street Commissioners, to be exercised with the approval in 
writing by the Mayor, and the Mayor and City Council were given 
authority to fix by ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, 
or otherwise, upon which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or 
oil or inflammable substances or explosive compounds and the construction 
or use of coal-holes, vaults, bay windows, signs and marquees, in, under, 
or over the public ways shall be issued. The fees for licenses or permits 
to sell or store inflammables or explosives are collected by the Board of 
Street Commissioners upon their original issuance of such licenses. There- 
after, an annual renewal fee for such licenses, which is one half of the original 
fee, is collected by the Fire Department. The fees for licenses or permits 
to maintain obstructions or projections in, under or over the streets are 
collected by the Board of Street Commissioners. 

In 1913 the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority to 
issue permits for the erection of garages. 

By virtue of Section 1 of Chapter 33 of the Revised Ordinances of 1925, 
the Board of Street Commissioners is charged with the care and main- 
tenance of all land and buildings belonging to the city and not used for 
specific purposes. 

In 1927, by authority of, and in conformity with. Section 8 of Chapter 85 
of the General Laws (1921), the Board of Street Commissioners adopted 
"Rules and Regulations Relating to Projections in, on or over Public 
Highways," amending and revising all its pre-existing rules and regula- 
tions concerning such projections. The penalty for violation of these 
Regulations is a fine not exceeding five dollars for each day that the viola- 
tion continues, after five days' notice given by the Board of Street Com- 
missioners to the violator. 

In 1930 (by Chapter 399 of the Acts of 1930) the jurisdiction of the 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 79 

Board of Street Commissioners as to the storage and sale of gasoline, oil, 
and other inflammables or explosives was amplified and its jurisdiction 
extended to include the licensing and regulation of open-air parking spaces. 

In 1908 the Board of Street Commissioners was charged with the regu- 
lation of pedestrian and vehicular traffic. In 1929 (by Chapter 263 of the 
Acts of 1929) jurisdiction over the regulation of traffic was transferred 
from the Board of Street Commissioners to the Boston Traffic Commission. 

In 1929, also, the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority 
(by Chapter 187 of the Acts of 1929) to license the holding of religious 
meetings, political meetings or rallies in public ways. That Act was, 
however, repealed by Chapter 173 of the Acts of 1931. 



SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 801 City Hall Annex, eighth floor. 
[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 
D. Frank Doherty, Superintendent. Term ends April 30, 1938. 
Charles E. Thornton, Chief Clerk. 
The Supply Department purchases all materials, apparatus and supplies, 
except printing, stationery and furniture, for all departments of the City, 
with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department, Library Department, and the Transit Department. 



TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1 Beacon Street, seventh floor. 
[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297, 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Ord. 1931, Chap. 1.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Chairman. 
John F. McDonald. 

This department was established to exercise the powers and perform the 
duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose official 
existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C. Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat, 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; 
Ord. 1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
521; Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7.] 



80 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

John H. Dorset, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1938. 
Arthur F. Swan, Assistant Treasurer. 
Walter W. Foley, Assistant Cashier. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of 
the City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge by 
any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, and 
pays aU biUs and demands against the City. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer, Treasurer of the Sinking 
Funds Department, Member and Treasurer of Boston Retirement Board, 
Custodian of the Boston Pubhc School Teachers' Retirement Fund and 
Treasurer of the George Robert White Fund. He publishes reports 
yearly, also monthly statements. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 106 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 98, §§ 34-56; Stat. 1882, Chap. 42; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 43; Stat. 1909, Chap. 382; Stat. 1910, Chap. 209; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 503; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 346, 379, 452; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 37; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 253; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 120; Gen. Stat. 
1919, Chaps. 91, 128; Ord. 1919, Chap. 1; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 259, 369; 
Ord. 1923, Chap. 4.] 

James A. Sweeney, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 

The standards in use are supplied by the Commonwealth and a stand- 
ardization is made every five years by the Division of Standards, Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts. The office was authorized by ordinance 
in 1890. Annual reports have been pubhshed beginning in 1864. By 
Chapter 382, Acts of 1909, all principal and assistant sealers are included 
within the classified civil service. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments. 



(81) 



82 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officials, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected, as prescribed by statute, 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, and the term of 
office. 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed ok 
Elected. 


Term. 
















By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


School Committee (five) 


Statute 


Elected . . . 


City elec- 
tion 


IstMon. 
in Jan'y 


4yrs. 


Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three). 


« 


*** 


Annually 
one. 




3yrs. 


Police Commissioner 


(( 


Governor . 




1st Mon. 
in June 


5 yrs. 








Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 


u 


GovernorA 


Annually 
one. 





5yrs. 


Licensing Board (three) 


u 


GovernorA 


Biennially 
one. 




6 yrs. 


Franklin Foundation 


a 


Supreme 
Court. 


B 






(twelve Managers). 






George Robert White Fund 
(five Trustees). 


Bequest 


















Boston PortAuthority (five) . 

Boston and Cambridge 
Bridges Commiss'n (two). 


Statute 


**** 






5 yrs. 


a 


Mayor 
















Boston Metropolitan Dis- 
trict (five). 


u 


Governor 

and 

Mayor. 















A With the advice and consent of the Executive Council. 

B As vacancies occur. 

*** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Committee and 
Board Members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.) 

**** Three members appointed by the Mayor and two appointed 
by the Governor. 



VARIOUS OFFICIALS. 



83 




84 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS, DEPARTMENTS, COMMIS- 
SIONS, COURTS, ETC. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 
Administration Building, 15 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 241; Stat. 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235; 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 249; 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 1909, 
Chaps. 120, 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911, 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90, and Spec. Stat., Chaps. 189, 300, 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 86, 88, 213. 267, 289 and Gen. 
Stat., Chap. 102; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat., 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132, 
199, 206, 249; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524, 641; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 
169, 351; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 308, 
381, 460, 488; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 
327; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1928, Chap. 382; Stat. 1929, 
Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 283, 313; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 100, 155, 
229, 247, 250; Stat. 1933, Chap. 121; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 145, 228; 
Stat. 1935, Chaps. 19, 284; Stat. 1936, Chap. 224.] 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

Joseph V. Lyons, D. M. D. Term ends January, 1938. 
Fkederick R. Sullivan. Term ends January, 1938. 
Charles E. Mackey, M. D. Term ends January, 1940. 
Henry J. Smith. Term ends January, 1940. 
Maurice J. Tobin. Term ends January, 1940. 

officials. 
Frederick R. Sullivan, Chairman. 
Henry J. Smith, Treasurer. 
Patrick T. Campbell, Superintendent. 
Ellen M. Cronin, Secretary. 
Alexander M. Sullivan, Business Manager. 
Mark B. Mulvey, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

BOARD OF SUPERINTENDENTS. 

Superintendent Campbell, Chairman, ex officio. 

ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENTS. 

Mary C. Mellyn. Michael J. Downey. 

John C. Brodhead. Edward J. Muldoon. 

Arthur L. Gould. Frederick J. Gillis. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 85 

THE TEACHERS COLLEGE OF THE CITY OP BOSTON, LATIN AND DAY HIGH 

SCHOOLS (19). 

Teachers College, Public Latin, Girls' Latin, Brighton High, Charlestown 
High, Dorchester High (Girls), Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston 
High, English High (Boys), Girls' High, High School of Commerce 
(Boys), High School of Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, 
Jamaica Plain High, Jeremiah E. Burke High (Girls), Mechanic Arts 
High (Boys), Roxbury Memorial High (Girls), Roxbury Memorial 
High (Boys), South Boston High, Roslindale High. 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School. 

Continuation School. 

Trade Schools. — Boston Trade School, Trade School for Girls. . 

DAY intermediate SCHOOL DISTRICTS, SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITH INTER- 
MEDIATE CLASSES, AND DAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS (85). 

East Boston. — f Blackinton, Chapman, * Donald McKay Intermediate, 
Emerson, t John Cheverus, * Joseph H. Barnes Intermediate, Samuel 
Adams, Theodore Lyman, Ulysses S. Grant. 

Charlestown. — * Clarence R. Edwards Intermediate, Harvard, Warren. 

North and West Ends. — Eliot, Hancock, * Michelangelo Intermediate, 
WeUs, Wendell Phillips, * WUham Blackstone. 

City Proper. — * Abraham Lincoln, f Prince, Quincy. 

South End. — f Dwight, f Everett, t Frankhn, t Rice, * South End Inter- 
mediate. 

South Boston. — * Bigelow, Gaston, f John A. Andrew, Norcross, 
t Oliver Hazard Perry, * Patrick F. Gavin, * Thomas N. Hart. 

Roxbury. — ■ f Dearborn, f Dillaway, t Dudley, Henry L. Higginson, 
t Horace Mann School for the Deaf, t Hugh O'Brien, f Hyde, t Jefferson, 
Julia Ward Howe, * Lewis Intermediate, f Martin, f Sherwin, * Theodore 
Roosevelt Intermediate, William Lloyd Garrison. 

Brighton. — Bennett, * Thomas A. Edison Intermediate, Thomas Gard- 
ner, Washington Allston, * William Howard Taft Intermediate. 

Jamaica Plain. — Agassiz, t Francis Parkman, Lowell, * Mary E. Curley 
Intermediate. 

Roslindale. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, * Washington Irving Inter- 
mediate. 

West Roxbury. — Beethoven, * Robert Gould Shaw. 

Dorchester. — f Christopher Gibson, Edmund P. Tileston, f Edward 
Everett, * Frank V. Thompson Intermediate, Gilbert Stuart, * Grover 
Cleveland Intermediate, Henry L. Pierce, John Marshall, * John Win- 
throp, Mary Hemenway, f Mather, Minot, * Oliver Wendell Holmes 
Intermediate, t Phillips Brooks, Robert Treat Paine, Roger Wolcott, 

* Solomon Lewenberg Intermediate, William E. Endicott, t William 
E. Russell, * Woodrow Wilson Intermediate. 

Hyde Park. — Elihu Greenwood, Henry Grew, James J. Chittick, 

* William Barton Rogers Intermediate. 

* Includes Grade IX. t Includes Grade VIII. 



86 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

INDUSTRIAL AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS. 

Industrial Schools. — Boston Trade School (day), with evening classes 
also; Trade School for Girls (day), with extension classes also; Con- 
tinuation School (day) for employed boys and girls. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Bookkeeping, 
Typewriting, English, office practice and penmanship. 

Disciplinary Day School. — For truants and other school offenders. 

School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 

Day School for Immigrants. — For instruction in EngHsh language. 

administrative offices. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon St. Headquarters of all officials. 

At Continuation School, 25 Warrenton St., educational and employ- 
ment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays), from 8.30 A. M. to 
3.30 P. M., and on Saturdays from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Physical examina- 
tion of applicants for employment certificates daily from 8.30 to 3.30 P. M, 

Minors' licenses (i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., issued daily, except Saturdays, from 4 to 5 P. M., and on Saturdays 
from 9 A. M. to 12 noon. Licenses are not issued during school hours. 

supervisors of attendance. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 779, §§ 12, 13.] 

These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. They are 
also constables, serving without bonds. There are 32 officers besides the 
head supervisor and they may be seen from 9 to 9.30 A. M., on the days 
that the schools are in session at the principal schoolhouse in the district 
served. 

school physicians and school nurses. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department. Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 
For all schools and districts there is one Director of School Hygiene in 
charge of six supervising school physicians, one school physician assigned 
to the certificating office, one otologist, one ophthalmologist, 57 school 
physicians, one supervisor of nutrition classes, 20 nutrition class attend- 
ants, 19 assistant nutrition class attendants, 23 matrons, one sanitary 
inspector, engineer, and one supervisor of health education. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of one supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. The sum available for the employment 
of school physicians and school nurses and care of teeth is 12 cents upon 
each $1,000 of the average valuation of the city for three years, plus the 
unexpended balance of the previous year. (See qualifications in Chapter 
284 of the Acts of 1935.) The appropriation for 1935 is $235,829. For 
the eighty-five elementary and intermediate school districts there is one 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 87 

supervising nurse in charge of four assistant supervising nurses, one nurse 
assigned to the certificating office, and 60 school nurses. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907, the School Committee were authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and facilities in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
control. 

The sum available for this branch of education is 15 cents on each 
$1,000 of the average valuation of the city for three years, plus unex- 
pended balance of the previous year, plus estimated income for the current 
year. (See quahfications in Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1935.) The appro- 
priation for 1935 is $231,989.32. The cost of Military Drill is not charged 
against the appropriation for Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises one director, one 
associate director, one supervisor-in-charge of playgrounds, 14 instructors 
of military drill, two armorers, 41 women instructors of physical educa- 
tion, 14 teacher coaches of athletics, and five supervisors of playgrounds, 
assisting in the direction of approximately seven hundred playgroimd 
teachers assigned for different seasons. The latter have charge of games, 
plays, dances, etc., in the one hundred six schoolyard playgrounds and 
twenty-nine park playgrounds in use. 

INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 
raised by local taxation and expended for all public schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the State Board of 
Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation Schools, for 
employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, were included 
under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus maintained are the 
Boston Trade School (for Boys), day and evening classes. Trade School 
for Girls, day and extension classes, Compulsory Continuation School, 
High School of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in Brighton, 
Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Hyde Park, Roxbury Memorial 
High School for Boys and South Boston High, and practical arts courses 
in the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two-thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 

MANUAL ARTS. 

The Training School for Teachers of Mechanic Arts, located in the 
Parkman Schoolhouse, Broadway, South Boston, is conducted under the 
direction of the Department of Manual Arts. 



88 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows : Brighton 
(auto mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (woodwork), 
East Boston (machine shop practice), Hyde Park (machine shop practice), 
Jamaica Plain (agriculture), Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys 
(printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). 

There are 170 shops in elementary and intermediate schools, in which 
the foUo wing-named subjects are taught: Auto mechanics, bookbinding, 
drafting, electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, printing, 
sheet metal, woodwork, and diversified shop subjects. 

Modehng is taught in fifth grades in all boys' schools, by a special 
teacher. Cardboard construction and bookbinding in the fourth and 
fifth grades are supervised by the department. 

Gardening is conducted by the department as an after-school and summer 
activity; home gardening in fifty-nine, and school gardening in thirty 
elementary and intermediate districts. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

There are eleven high schools offering courses in household science and 
arts: Brighton, Charlestown, * Dorchester, East Boston, Girls' High, High 
School of Practical Arts, Hyde Park, Jamaica Plain, f Jeremiah E. Burke, 
Roxbury Memorial, South Boston, with 15 cookery rooms, 30 sewing rooms, 
and 6 home practice suites; 76 rooms in elementary and intermediate 
schools equipped for instruction in cookery, 94 sewing rooms, and 18 home 
suites. 

A director, one assistant director, 77 teachers of cookery, 150 teachers 
.of sewing, and 5 teachers of miUinery are assigned to the Department of 
Household Science and Arts. 

EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE SCHOOLS. 

There are ten evening high schools. Central (Enghsh High School- 
house), Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Girls', Hyde 
Park, Roxbury (Boston Clerical Schoolhouse), South Boston and West 
Roxbury (Washington Irving Schoolhouse). These schools, the sessions 
of which are held on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 7.30 
to 9.30, are conducted in the several high schoolhouses of the districts 
named. All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are thirteen evening elementary schools, including two branch 
schools of same, in session on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings. 

Evening trade classes are conducted in the Boston Trade School and 
three branch schools held in the Brighton, East Boston and Hyde Park 
High Schoolhouses. 

DAY SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are thirteen schools for immigrants where instruction in the English 
language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except Saturday) for 
two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

* No sewing. t No cookery. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 89 

SUMMER REVIEW AND VACATION SCHOOLS. 

These supplementary summer review schools, two high, two inter- 
mediate, and eleven elementary, for pupils who have been retarded in 
their studies, were started in 1914. The term is thirty-four days, and the 
number of pupils in 1934 was 10,468, 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL (dAY). 

Classes for boys are held in the Continuation School, 25 Warrenton 
street; classes for girls, at 10 Common street. 

AU children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an employment 
certificate are compelled by law to attend the school four hours per week. 

TJSE OP SCHOOLHOUSES FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES. 

In 1912, the School Committee were authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now fourteen School Centers, each having a 
manager and largely attended on two evenings and one afternoon a week. 
More than 78 school buildings are also used by Non-School Center groups. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose a 
sum equal to four cents upon each $1,000 of the average valuation of the 
■city for three years. In addition, the income from rents of school buUd- 
ings and any balance unexpended the preceding year are available. (See 
quaUfications in Chapter 224 of the Acts of 1936.) The appropriation for 
1936 is $72,047.58. Besides the renting of school haUs for club meetings, 
•entertainments, etc., basements and other accommodations in school- 
houses are used by the Election Department as polling places, lighting 
and janitor service being paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIREMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of all its members, may 
.retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the public day schools who has reached the age of sixty-five years, also 
such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been employed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
public day schools, the pension paid amounts to one-third of the annual 
salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than $312, 
nor more than $600 annually. If the period of service is less than thirty 
years, the pension is proportionally less. The School Committee is 
authorized to provide for these pensions by appropriating annually, if 
necessary, an amount equal to five cents upon each $1,000 of the average 
valuation of the city for three years. In addition any balance unex- 
pended the previous year is available. The Permanent School Pension 
Fund amounted to $1,211,963.02 on January 1, 1936, and 253 retired 
^teachers were receiving pensions therefrom. 



90 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, is 
paying $120 per year to 385 annuitants, the total amount of its fund on 
October 1, 1935, being $1,660,893.75. At that date 3,946 teachers were 
each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 

Department of School Buildings. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.] 

Richard J. Lane, Chamnan, appointed by School Committee. Term 
ends Dec. 1, 1937. 

James J. Egan, appointed by Mayor. Term ends Dec. 1, 1938. 

Francis R. Bangs, choice of other two. Term ends Dec. 1, 1936. 
Wm. W. Drummey, Superintendent of Construction. 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
"Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled 'An Act to establish a 
board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston' be accepted?" there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act, the board "shall consist of three citizens 
of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee, and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed, or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act, the Department of School Buildings 
is established, to be under the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse conmmissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§ 26; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 387, 513, 560; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 480, 519; C. C, Stat. 1909, Chaps. 221, 311, 538; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 236, 263, 592; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chap. 87; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; and 
Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 145, 307; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 259; Spec. 
Stat. 1919, Chaps. 23, 93, 188; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 7, 8, 13, 68, 211; 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 91 

Stat. 1921, Chap. 114; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, § 31; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 
30, 242, 289; Stat. 1924 Chap. 311, § 2, and Chaps. 371 and 410; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 284, 331; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 108, 247, 379, § 1 and 
Chap. 395; Stat. 1927,»Chaps. 30, 157, 163, 326; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 3, 
263; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 241, 387, 392; Stat. 1931, Chap. 399; Stat. 
1932, Chaps. 156, 289; Stat. 1933, Chap. 284, § 21F; Stat. 1934, 
Chaps. 86, 254, 280; Stat. 1935, Chap. 378; Stat. 1936, Chap. 302.] 

Eugene M. McSweeney, Police Commissioner. 

Andrew J. Gorey, Secretary. 

Howard P. Woodlock, Assistant Secretary. 

Thomas S. Gill, Chief Clerk. 

Capt. Edward W. Fallon, Acting Superintendent of Police. 

John M. Anderson, Deputy Superintendent. 

William W. Livingston, Deputy Superintendent. 

James R. Claflin, Deputy Superintendent. 

The Board of Police for the City of Boston, estabUshed in 1885, was 
superseded in 1906 by a single executive, the Police Commissioner. 

The City is divided into fifteen Police Divisions, in each of which is a 
station house, the quarters of a captain and a force of men. 

The Bureau of Criminal Investigation, a central detective agency of 
the Department, located in Headquarters building, and consisting of 
several subdivisions, is operated on a large scale. Members of this Bureau 
investigate every felony committed within the jurisdiction of the City of 
Boston. They also handle all cases of fugitives from justice and conduct 
hundreds of investigations during the course of a year for various police 
departments throughout the United States and foreign countries. Fur- 
ther, they cooperate in every possible way with outside police departments 
in the investigation of crime and prosecution of criminals. 

The Bureau of Records, established at Headquarters, includes within 
its activities a former part of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, known 
as the Criminal Identification Division. 

The efficiency of this Bureau has been greatly increased by the installa- 
tion of complete and thoroughly modern identification and photographic 
equipment. 

The files of the Bureau of Records contain records of all assignments 
made in the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, and all records of arrests 
made throughout the Department. On file, also, are reports of all felonies 
committed within the city and all reports of the investigation of these 
felonies. 

The Bureau of Operations supei"vises the development and maintenance 
of the system of operations of the department, including police broad- 
casting station "WlXAO," located at Police Headquarters, insuring 
speedy response to a call for police assistance and rendering possible 
speedy dissemination of information and quick concentration of necessary 
police power at a point where it is needed. 



92 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Supervisor of Cases Unit, located in Police Headquarters building, 
is the central agency of the Department for the supervision, preparation 
and presentation of all criminal cases brought by members of the force in 
the criminal courts within the jurisdiction of the Police Department; 
the interrogation of all prisoners and witnesses in cases of serious felonies, 
and the supervision of the daily lineup of all prisoners arrested for serious 
offenses. 

Officers attached to this Unit work under the direction of the Supervisor 
of Cases and are detailed to duty in the several courts and at the office of 
the District Attorney of Suffolk County. 

A Special Service Squad, established at Headquarters, perforins night- 
patrol duty in motor vehicles throughout the city, to prevent the commis- 
sion of crime, and if acts of violence or other serious crimes have been 
committed, to arrest and prosecute the offenders. 

A Traffic Division has been established, with quarters at the Police 
Building, 229 Milk Street; its commanding officer to be responsible for 
proper regulation of traffic conditions and for safety of the public using 
the highways, from 8.00 A. M. to 12 o'clock, midnight, within the in-town 
and Back Bay sections of the city. 

The Headquarters of the Department is located at 154 Berkeley street, 
corner of Stuart street. 

The Commissioner appoints a Harbor Master and assistants from the 
police force, and they receive pay in accordance with their rank in the 
force. The steam launch "Watchman" is employed in this service. 

By Chapter 114, Acts of 1921, the annual listing of residents now in- 
cludes all women 20 years of age and over, in addition to the men. 

On July 1, 1936, the police force niunbered 2,125, including 3 deputy 
superintendents; 26 captains (1 of whom is acting-superintendent); 
7 lieutenant-inspectors; 51 lieutenants; 179 sergeants; 1,854 patrolmen; 
and 5 policewomen. 

There were 16 men and one male and two female telephone operators 
assigned to the signal service, whose director has charge of 575 signal 
boxes. 

Salaries: Superintendent, $7,000; deputy superintendents, $4,500; cap- 
tains, $4,000; lieutenant-inspectors and lieutenants $2,700; sergeants, 
$2,500; patrolman, $1,600 first year and $100 increase each year until 
$2,100 (maximum) is reached. Two hundred dollars additional salary 
annually to officer who serves as "aide to Police Commissioner." Uni- 
forms and equipment are free. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 
Office, 24 School Street. 
[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap. 
489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369.] 



LICENSING BOARD. 93 



OFFICIALS. 

E. Mark Sullivan, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cunniff, Secretary, 

commissioners. 
E. Mark Sullivan. Term ends in 1938. 
James E. Maguire. Term ends in 1941. 
Philip A. Chapman. Term ends in 1937. 
Robert Robinson. Term ends in 1940. 
Joseph A. Scolponeti. Term ends in 1939. 

The Finance Commission is constituted under the Amended Charter of 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
The chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accounts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 
of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Council, the Governor 
or the General Court. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the validity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by them. 



LICENSING BOARD. 

Office, 1 Beacon Street, Eighth Floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1909, Chap. 423; Stat. 1918, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 59; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 392 and 485; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 299; Stat. 1933, Chaps. 97, 284 and 376; (Chap. 376 is now 
the new Chap. 138 of the General Laws); General Laws, Chap. 140, 
Sections 2 and 202.] 

[Note: Roller skating rinks, merry go rounds, etc., were transferred 
to the Mayor's Office by Chap. 169 of the Acts of 1936. The licensing 
of the sale of denatured alcohol for mechanical, manufacturing, and 
chemical purposes, under Section 76 of Chap. 138 of the General 
Laws, was eliminated by Section 43 of Chap. 440 of the Acts of 1935.] 

officials. 
David T. Montague, Chairman. 
Louis Epple, Secretary. 



94 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

THE BOARD. 

David T. Montague. Term ends in 1938. 
Mary E. Drsicoll. Term ends in 1942. 
Edwin D. Gallagher. Term ends in 1940. 

The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established by Statutes 
of 1906, Chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the 
Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council. They must be 
citizens of Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years pre- 
ceding the date of their appointment. The two principal parties must be 
represented and the term of the members is fixed at six years after the 
first appointment, which was for six, four, and two years. The Board 
was created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred 
upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating 
liquors, innholders, common victuallers, billiard and pool tables, sippio 
tables, bowling alleys, intelligence offices, picnic groves, and skating 
rinks. 

The fee fixed by Section 202 of Chapter 140 of the General Laws is 
not less than $2 for each class of license, with the exception of licenses 
for common victuallers and innholders. The fees for common victualler 
and innholder licenses are fixed by Section 2, Chapter 140, of the General 
Laws, at not more than $5 for each license. 

By Statutes of 1909, Chap. 423, the Board was given the right to issue 
licenses to "Sunday dealers in ice cream, or confectionery, or soda water 
or fruit," the fee for such licenses not to exceed $5. 

By Statutes of 1918, Chap. 259, the Board was granted the right to 
issue licenses to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. By Statutes 
of 1921, Chap. 59, a fee of not more than $2 was allowed, if established 
by the City Council. The Council established the fee at $2 in 1922. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 392, the Board was given the right to license 
"retail vendors of soft drinks." The fee for such license was not to 
exceed $1. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended, giving 
the licensing of vendors of firearms to this Board. The law relates to 
the renting, selling or leasing of firearms, and the word firearms includes 
a pistol, revolver or other weapon from which a shot or bullet can be 
discharged, and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, 
detachable or magazine breach does not exceed twelve inches, and a 
machine gun irrespective of the length of the barrel. It does not include 
antique firearms incapable of use, nor sales of firearms at wholesale. The 
fee for such license to be fixed by the Board. 

By Statutes of 1926, Chap. 299, the Board was given the right to grant 
entertainment licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on 
in conjimction with sale for cash of food or drink. No fee was to be 
charged to common victuallers and innholders carrying on such enter- 
tainment, but a fee of $5 could be charged to persons selling drinks who 
carried on an entertainment. Entertainments consist of dancing, music, 
cabaret, or amusements. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 95 

By Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given authority to 
grant victuallers' licenses to clubs, societies, associations or other organiza- 
tions which dispense food and beverages on their premises, to their stock- 
holders or members and their guests and to none others. 

By Chapter 376 of the Acts of 1933, now Chapter 138 of the General 
Laws, the Board was given the authority to issue alcoholic beverage 
licenses to common victuallers, innholders, taverns, clubs and retail bottle 
stores, and to suspend or revoke the same after a hearing. 

Note: Chapter 120 of the Acts of 1933, which gave the Board authority 
to issue non-alcoholic beverage licenses containing not more than 3.2 per 
cent of alcohol, was repealed when the new alcoholic law (Chap. 376) was 
enacted. Any 3.2 licensee could carry on his business until May 1, 1934, 
or could surrender his license and get a refund, or a credit on the fee paid 
for an alcoholic beverage license. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

[Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1927, Chap. 40; 

C. C, Chap. 48, §5.] 

MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION AND MANAGERS OF THE 
FRANKLIN FUND. 

Henry B. Sawyer, President. 
George Mixter, Vice-President. 
Rev. Charles E. Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

managers.* 
Frederick W. Mansfield, Mayor of Boston, ex-officio. 
Rev. Charles E. Park (Congregational minister), ex-officio. 
Rev. Francis E. Webster (Episcopalian minister), ex-officio. 
Rev. George Murray (Presbyterian minister), ex-officio. 
Charles E. Cotting, Louis Curtis, Carl Dreyfus, George Mixter, 

J. Arthur Moriarty, Noel Morss, Henry B. Sawyer. 

Appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court. 

Franklin Union, Corner Appleton and Berkeley Streets. 
Walter B. Russell, Director. 
The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers 
of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Union as an independent industrial 
school and technical institute for adults. 

The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 

* The Managers serve without compensation. 



96 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 
codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen^ 
united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five 
years." 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
"I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 
will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Franklin heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (if? of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Trades School 
and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of complications 
the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor Collins, 
in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme Court, 
praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then acting as 
Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion November 25, 
1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers were 
Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen did 
not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with refer- 
ence to it. The Court, under its general power to care for public chari- 
table funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to take 
the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the Court, 
that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, whichfMr. Carnegie agreed to duplicate. Only 
the annual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be used for main- 
tenance of Franklin Union. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Union Building was erected at the corner of Appleton and 
Berkeley Streets. It was opened for the use of Franklin Union in Sep- 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 97 

tember, 1908. This is maintained partly by tuition fees and rents, 
($60,167.48 total for the school year 1935-1936), including the income 
from the above mentioned Frankhn Fund (i. e., the Andrew Carnegie 
Donation) and the Storrow bequest. The building contains 24 class- 
rooms, 6 draughting rooms, and 9 shops and laboratories, where 1,088 
adult students received instruction at evening sessions and 68 in day 
courses during the school year 1935-1936. There is also a technical and 
scientific library, and a large hall with a seating capacity of 1,000. The 
building, with equipment, cost $434,092.43. The site, containing about 
16,000 square feet, was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year loan 
being issued to cover same. 

The Frankhn Fund (Second Part) will become available in 1991. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 
Office, 45 City Hall. 

The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 
manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City Council, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston. 

At a meeting of the Trustees held on Thursday, May 23, 1935, it was 
unanimously voted that the services of a paid manager of the Fund be 
dispensed with and "that on and after the 27th day of May, 1935, the 
administration of the real estate and property constituting the George R. 
White Fund would be conducted by the heads of regular city departments 
acting under the direction and supervision of the Trustees of the George R. 
White Fund." In accordance with this vote the custody, care, control 
and management of all real estate constituting a part of the George Robert 
White Fund is now in the hands of the Superintendent of Public Build- 
ings; all legal matters are attended to by the Corporation Counsel; all 
financial disbursements and investments are in the hands of the City 
Treasurer; all collections and receipts are handled by the City Collector; 
and the examination of all bills and demands rendered against the Fund, 
together with the approval of all expenditures and the auditing of all 
accounts, rests with the City Auditor. 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, at 
Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, at Blue Hill Avenue 
and Savin Street, Roxbury, at High and Elm Streets, Charlestown, at 
Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, and at Whittier and Hampshire 



98 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Streets, Roxbury, in the hope of being able, by proper instruction, to 
better the Uving and health conditions of the communities in the congested 
districts. 

A Prado has been established at Hanover and Unity Streets in the 
North End, to provide an open air space for the residents of the North 
End. In 1935, the Trustees voted to change the name of the Prado to 
Paul Revere Mall. 



BOSTON PORT AUTHORITY. 

Office, Custom House, 16th floor. 
[Chap. 229, Acts 1929.] 

The Boston Port Authority is an unpaid board consisting of two persons 
appointed by the Governor and three persons appointed by the Mayor 
of the City of Boston for a term of five years each. 

The board shall, from time to time, investigate any and all matters 
relating to the Port of Boston, particularly with reference to the unifica- 
tion of overseas terminals, belt line connections, rates, rules, grain ele- 
vator and warehouse facilities, and other conditions affecting the Port, 
and may initiate or participate in any rate proceedings or investigations 
concerning the Port of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE MAYOR. 

Louis E. Kirsteiv, Chairman. Term ends in 1939. 
John F. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1939. 
David H. Howie. Term ends in 1940. 

appointed by the governor. 
Richard Parkhurst, Vice-Chairman and Secretary. Term ends in 1939. 
Charles E. Ware, Jr. Term ends in 1939. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGES COMMISSION. 

Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 

[Stat. 1870, Chaps. 300, 302; Stat. 1898, Chap. 467, § 14; Ord. 1906, 
Chap. 1; C. C, Chap. 35, §§ 2, 4 and 5; Stat. 1912, Chap. 92; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 497.] 

Christopher J. Carven, Commissioner for Boston. 
William R. McMenimen, Commissioner for Cambridge. 
John J. O'Neil, Secretary. 
This Commission was established in 1870, to have charge of the mainte- 
nance of the West Boston, Canal or Craigie's, and the Prison Point bridges. 
In 1892, the Harvard bridge was placed in their charge. The powers of 
the Commission were greatly enlarged in 1898, when all bridges and draws 
between the two cities were placed in their charge. The expense of 
maintenance is borne equally by the City of Boston and the City of Cam- 



COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 99 

bridge. The two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayors of Boston 
and Cambridge respectively. The Commissioner for Boston, who serves 
without pay, is the Commissioner of PubHc Works. 

BRIDGES IN CHARGE OF THE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Longfellow, from Boston to Cambridge. 
Prison Point, from Charlestown to Cambridge. 
Cottage Farm Bridge, from Boston to Cambridge. 



BOSTON METROPOLITAN DISTRICT. 
[Acts of 1929, Chap. 383.] 
Trustees Appointed by the Governor. 
Edward L. Logan, Chairman, Boston, 1937. 
James T. Moriarty, Boston, 1939. 
RoscoE Walsworth, Revere, 1935. 
Joseph Wiggin (Treasurer), Maiden, 1941. 

Trustee Appointed by Mayor of Boston. 

Robert J. Bottomly {Clerk), Boston, 1935. 

Metropolitan Transit Council. 

Mayors and Chairmen of Boards of Selectmen of Arlington, Belmont, 
Boston, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Maiden, Milton, 
Newton, Revere, Somerville and Watertown. 

Chairman, Frederick W. Mansfield, Mayor of Boston. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 

[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 

The Mayor, ex officio, Councilors Henry L. Shattuck and George A. 
Murray, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of fifteen, 
of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two are elected 
annually by the City Council for the municipal year, and the others are 
chosen as provided by statute. 



COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 

[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in January, 
one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Peter A. Donovan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 

* Longfellow and Cottage Farm Bridges are over navigable waters for 
small craft. There are no draws in these bridges. 



100 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 

[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 
The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by sixteen directors 
selected annually, fourteen chosen by corporators at the annual meeting 
on the third Thursday in February, one appointed by the Governor and one 
appointed by the Mayor. 

Leo J. Dunn, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 

All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 
Boston, unless otherwise specified. 

County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
CoxjNciL of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Charles J. Fox. 
County Treasurer. — John H. Dorsey. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEY. 

Room 218, Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, Sec. 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 
District Attorney. — William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1934 
for term of four years ending January, 1939. 

Assista7it. — Frederick T. Doyle. 

I Assistant. — Garrett H. Byrne. 

Assistant. — William J. Sullivan. 

Assistant. — Joseph A. Sullivan. 

Assistant. — Edward M. Sullivan. 

Assistant. — Frank J. Hickey. 

Assistant. — William M. Gaddis. 

Assistant. — Antonio lovino. 

Assistant. — John McAuliffe. 

Assistant. — Samuel Thorner. 

Assistant. — James T. Cassidy. 

Assistant. — William I. Hennessey. 

Assistant. — Michael Hourihan. 

LAND COURT. 

Room 408, Court House. 
Judge. — Charles Thornton Davis. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Joseph J. Corbett. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Clarence C. Smith. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder. — Charles A. Southworth. Appointed by the Governor for term 
of five years ending January 1, 1940. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 101 

INDEX COMMISSIONERS. 

Commissioners. — Ralph W. E. Hopper, term ends in 1939. Edward W. 
Bancroft, term ends in 1937. Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 
1938. 
Superintendent. — WUliam J. Kurth. 

The Commissioners are appointed in March, one each year, by a majority 
of the Justices of the Superior Court, for a term of three years beginning 
AprU 1, and serve without pay. 
The Superintendent is appointed by the Commissioners. 

REGISTER OP DEEDS. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452; Stat. 

1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 
Register of Deeds. — W. T. A. Fitzgerald. Elected by the people in 1934. 

Term ends in January, 1941. The Register is ex officio Assistant 

Recorder of the Land Court. 
First Assistant Register. — John J. Attridge. Appointed by the Register. 
Second Assistant Register. — Francis P. Butler. Appointed by the Register. 

SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

[Gen. Laws,Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 
Sheriff. — John A. Keliher. Elected by the people, November, 1932. 

Term ends in January, 1939. As jailer he receives additional 

compensation. 
Deputy Sheriffs for Service of Writs. — Daniel A. Whelton (Special Sheriff), 

Henry G. Gallagher, Richard F. Sweeney, John J. Horgan, John J. 

Casey, James P. Keliher, Thomas F. Donovan. Paid by fees. 
Deputy Sheriffs for Court Duty. — Edward P. Ryan, Chief Deputy Sheriff, 

John J. McHugh, William A. McDevitt, Richard J. Murray (of the 

Supreme Judicial), Andrew J. Crotty, Frank C. Pierce, Eugene J. 

Lakemarsin, John A. Finley, Thomas F. Lally, James HaUburton, 

Patrick Daley, William J. Grimes, Joseph P. Kilday, Edward T. 

Curley, Harry S. Fairfield (of the Supreme Judicial). 



COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

Offices in Court House, Pemberton square, except as otherwise specified. 

SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Arthur P. Rugg. 

Associate Justices. — John C. Crosby, Edward P. Pierce, Fred T. Field, 

Charles H. Donohue, Henry T. Lummus, Stanley E. Qua. 
Clerk for the Commonwealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 

Court. 



102 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Clerk for the County of Suffolk.— Charles S. O'Connor. Elected by the 

people in 1934. Term ends first Wednesday in January, 1941. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Flynn, Frederick L. Quinlan. 
Reporter of Decisions. — Edward D. Collins. Appointed by the Governor. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Walter Perley Hall. 

Associate Justices. — Marcus Morton, James H. Sisk, Franklin T. Ham- 
mond, Nelson P. Brown, Louis S. Cox, Frederick W. Fosdick, William 
A. Burns, Alonzo R. Weed, Joseph Walsh, Winfred H. Whiting, 
Edward T. Broadhurst, Frederic B. Greenhalge, WUford D. Gray. 
David F. DiUon, Harold P. Williams, Walter L. Collins, Daniel T. 
O'Connell, Thomas J. Hammond, John M. Gibbs, Raoul H. Beaudreau, 
Edward F. Hanify, Abraham E. Pinanski, James C. Donnelly, Frank 
J. Donohue, Lewis Goldberg, John E. Swift, Vincent Brogna, George 
F. Leary, Joseph A. Sheehan, Thomas H. Dowd, J. Arthur Baker. 

For Civil Business. 

Clerk. — James F. McDermott. Term ends on election of successor to 
Francis A. Campbell, deceased. 

Clerk in Equity. — 

Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, George E. Kim- 
ball, Flourence J. Mahoney, Charles J. Hart, Frank H. Hallett, 
Michael E. Leen, Albert E. Macdonald, D. Pulsifer Colville, George 
A. Scheele, Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. Curtice, Michael F. Hart, 
Leo A. Reed. 

For Criminal Business. 

Clerk. — Wilham M. Prendible. Elected by the people in 1934. Term 
ends first Wednesday in January, 1941. 

First Assistant Clerk. . 

Assistant Clerks. — John H. Casey, Edward V. Keating, Albert H. Hines, 
John P. Swift, Thomas P. McDavitt, James B. Gibbons, Martin J. 
Lee. 

COURT OF PROBATE AND INSOLVENCY. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 

Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 
Judge. — William M. Brest. 
Judge. — Arthur W. Dolan. 
Judge. — Frederick J. Dillon. 
Register. — Arthur W. Sullivan. 
First Assistant Register. — John R. Nichols. 
Second Assistant Register. — Frederick J. Finnegan. 
Third Assistant Register. — Gertrude M. Smith. 

The Judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 
three other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 103 



MUNICIPAL COTIRT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 
Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 
716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 262, 330; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553, 
614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 

Chief Justice. — Wilfred Bolster. 

Associate Justices. — Michael J. Murray, John Duff, Joseph T. Zottoli, 
James H. Devhn, Charles L. Carr, Elijah Adlow, Francis J. Good, 
Daniel J. GUlen. 

Special Justices. — Abraham K. Cohen, John G. Brackett, Joseph E. 
Donovan, S. Delano Putnam, Francis J. Burke, Leo P. Doherty. 
All judges are appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by 

the Executive Council. 

For Civil Business. 

Clerk. — William F. Donovan. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, James F. Tobin, Louis B. Torrey, 
WiUiam F. Blakeman, Arthur W. Ashenden, Joseph L. Pierce, George 
F. Devine, Charles F. Gardella, Edward H. Barry, Roger W. Brown, 
George A. Rochford, Joseph M. Lee. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 

For Criminal Business. 

Clerk. — William D. Collins. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerks. — Harvey B. Hudson, Charles T. Willock, James G. 
Milward, George A. Savage, Paul W. Carey, James F. Hardy, Edwin 
A. Chalmers, George W. Herman. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Chestnut Hill avenue. 
Justice. — Thomas H. Connelly. 

Special Justices. — Robert W. Frost and Harry C. Fabyan. 
Clerk. — Daniel F. Cunningham. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Margaret A. Daly< 

MUNICIPAL COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City square. 
Justice. — Charles S. Sullivan. 

Special Justices. — Willis W. Stover and William H. McDonnell. 
Clerk. — James J. Mullen. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — George E. Irving. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Peter J. Flaherty. 



104 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



MUNICIPAL COURT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington street and Melville avenue. 

Justice. — Richard M. Walsh. 

Special Justices. — Michael H. Sullivan, Sadie L. Shulman and David A. 

Rose. 
Clerk. — Anthony A. McNulty. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Frederick E. Simmons. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Jenny S. Thurlow. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Meridian and Paris streets. 

Justice. — Charles J. Brown. 

Special Justices. — Patrick J. Lane and Tony A. Centracchio. 

Clerk. — William H. Barker. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerk. — Augustus C. Loschi. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, ROXBURY DISTRICT. 

Roxbury street. 
Justice. — Albert F. Hayden. 
Special Justices. — Joseph N. Palmer, Timothy J. Ahern and Frankland 

W. L. Miles. 
Clerk. — Theodore A. Glynn. Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Charles A. Moore. 
Third Assistant Clerk. — Thomas J. Spring. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, East Broadway. 
Justice. — Edward L. Logan. 

Special Justices. — William J. Day and . 

Clerk. — Wilham G. Lynch. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Harry W. Park. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, WEST ROXBURY DISTRICT, INCLUDING HYDE PARK. 

Morton street. Forest Hills. 
Justice. — John Perrins. 

Special Justices. — Bert E. Holland, Frank S. Deland and Daniel W. Casey. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Sidney T. Knott. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Caroline M. Adams. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Room 127, Court House. 
[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
' 255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 105 

Justice. — John F. Perkins. 

Special Justices. — Frank Leveroni, Philip Rubenstein. 

Clerk. — John T. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the "Care, Custody and Discipline of 
Juvenile Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the juris- 
dictions, authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of 
Boston, under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The Act took effect 
September 1, 1906. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 
the Governor. The Justice of the Court is empowered to appoint two 
probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem 
necessary. 

Probation Officers. 
[Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491; 
Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 135; Stat. 1936, Chap. 360.] 

These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 
courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the 
•courts. In the performance of their official duties they have all the powers 
of police officers. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Albert J. Sargent. 

Medical Director. — C. Edouard Sandoz, M. D. 

Assistant Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 

Probation Officers. — Francis A. Dudley, Arthur A. Capone, Frank E. 
Hawkes, James H. Knight, Eugene J. Callanan, Edward F. Coughlin, 
Frank L. Warren, William J. Joyce, John P. Bogan, George J. McDon- 
nell, Thomas G. Davis, Oswald J. McCourt, Joseph W. Crockwell, 
Addison T. Ridlon, Francis L. Colpoys, Albert L. Hoskins, Bruce A. 
Stevens, Mary L. Brinn, Elizabeth A. Lee, Margaret H. Markham, 
Alfretta P. McClure, Theresa C. Dowling, Annie M. Kennedy, Alice 
D. Keating, Eleanor F. Holland, Betsey P. Jaques, Mary A. Hall. 

Boston Juvenile Court. — John Connolly, Edward J. O'Mara, C. Eliott 
Sands, Margaret V. Sullivan. 

municipal district courts. 

Brighton. — William F. Maloney. Charlestoion. — Joseph H. Burns, 
Mrs. EUena M. Foley, William E. Carney. Dorchester. — Reginald H. 
Mair, Scott H. Rose, Rosalind M. Fitzgerald. East Boston. — -Dennis J. 
Kelleher, Frederick L. O'Brien. Roxbury. — Thomas F. Teehan, Ulysses 
G. Varney, Edward A. Fallon, Matthew M. Leary, Randolph Glover, 
Thomas Grieve, Kathryn M. Quealey, William H. Murray, Thomas M. 
Gimenilli, Elizabeth D. Kingston. South Boston. — Lillian A. Heyer, 
Patrick J. Hurley, Edward L. Byrne, Elsie M. Wall. West Roxbury. — 
Clifford E. Smith, Thomas H. Staples. 



106 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

StTPERIOR COURT. ' 

Chief Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, Charles H. Sullivan, William A_ 
Maloney, Edward A. Griffin, James E. Donovan, Ralph L. Countie, John 
J. Moriarty, John J. O'Connor, Ellen L. Cunniff, Mary A. Robinson, Alice 
B. Monks, AHce P. Mayers, Mary E. Power. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916, 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.1 
The County is divided into two medical districts. Northern and Southern, 
by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Huntington 
avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence through 
middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence streets, Park 
square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and Summer street 
to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, Dover street, Dor- 
chester avenue, Dorchester street. East Fourth and G streets to the harbor. 
Medical Examiners. — Northern District, William J. Brickley, M. D., 274 
Boylston street, Boston. Term ends in 1942. Southern District, 
Timothy Leary, M. D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term 
ends in 1938. 
Associate Medical Examiners. — William H. Watters, M. D., 270 Com- 
monwealth avenue, Boston. Term ends in 1938. Cornelius J. 
O'Leary, M. D., 438 Washington street, Brighton. Term ends in 
1942. 
Each is appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Northern District Mortuary is located at 18 North Grove street. 
Southern District Mortuary is located on City Hospital grounds. 



members of 
City Government. 

I909-I936. 



MAYOES AND CERTAIN OTHER OFEICIALS SINCE 1822. 



ORATORS APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



(107) 



108 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly ,- 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr. 



I909. 

Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldermen. 
Frederick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attndge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 
i 
John T. Priest, City Clerk. 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward 2. 
Joseph H. Pendergast, 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward 3. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4. 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr. 
James I. Green. 

Ward 5. 
John J. Buckley, 
William E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 

Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 

Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President. 
Ward 10. 
J. Henderson Allston, 
Channing H. Cox, 
William S. Kinney. 

Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward 12. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward 13. 
Leo F. McCullough.s 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward H. 
Cornelius J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. ColUns. 

Ward 15. 
John O'Hara, 
William T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O' Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
William D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 

Joseph O'Kane, Clerk. 



Ward IS. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 19. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
William J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward 20. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Gumming, 
WiUiam Smith, jr. 

Ward 21. 
William N. Hackett, 
John Ballantyne, 
Walter R. Meins. 

Ward 22. 
WiUiam H. Morgan, 
George Penshorn, 
Bernhard G. Krug. 

Ward 23. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward 2 4. 
Frank B. Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward 2.0. 
Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



1 Elected for two years. 



2 Died June 23, 1909. 



3 Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



109 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



19 10. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
W.\LTER Ballantyne , President 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 

19 11. 



Term Ends in 1911. 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods. 



19 12. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
John J. Attridge, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 

19 13. 

Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
Thomas J. Kenny, President. 
Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 

19 14. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 

Earnest E. Smith. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note.— The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of nine members. 



no 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



19 15. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayo?.. 

City Council. 
George W. Coleman, President 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow, 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 16. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, M.yyor. 
City Council. 
Henry E. H.agan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst,* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



* Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoffrey B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 17. * 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor, 
City Council. 
James J. Storrow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington. 



19 18 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



ANDREW J. PETERS. Mayor. 

City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



19 19. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



ANDREW J. PETERS, M.\yor. 
City Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane. 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald. 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



Ill 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



1 920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, M.vtor. 
City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



1921. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



1 922. 

JAMES M. CURLEY. Mayor. 
City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



I 923. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 

Daniel W. Lane, President. 

Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



1 924. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, Preside?it. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 

1925. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, M.vyor 

City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



112 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1 926 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor 
CiTT Council. 
Charles G. Keene, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner WUson, jr. 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
John J. Heffernan. 



1 927. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, M.^tor. 
City Council. 



John J. Heffernan, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. DowUng. 



1 928 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



City Council. 
Thomas H. Green, President. 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
WiUiam A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. SiiUivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Peter J. Murphy, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



1929 



MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 



Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



City Council. 
Timothy F. Donovan, President 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Peter J. Murphy, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. DowUng, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



113 



1930. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
John F. Dowd. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
William G. Lynch, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr.. 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1931. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayok. 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1 932 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
Wilham G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 

Edward M. Gallagher, President. 



John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Francis E. Kelly, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein. 



1 933 . 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
WLUiam G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



114 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1934. 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 



Henry Selvitella, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 



CiTT Council. 
John F. Dowd, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



1 935 



Henry Selvitella, 
Thomas H. Green, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
John F. Dowd, 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor 
City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

James F. Finley, 

James E. Agnew, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1936 



Henry Selvitella, 
James J. Mellen, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George A. Murray, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
John F. Dowd, 



FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 



Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
James J. Kilroy, 
David M. Brackman, 
Peter J. Fitzgerald, 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



John J. McGrath, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



MAYORS OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 



115 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis .... 

* Charles Wells 

* Theodore Lyman, jr . . . 

* Samuel T. Armstrong . . 
♦Samuel A. Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman .... 

* Martin Brimmer 

* Thomas A. Davis 

* Josiah Quincy, jr 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. 'Smith. . . . 

* Alexander H. Rice .... 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Joseph M. Wightman. . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Otis Norcross 

* Nathaniel B. ShurtlefT.. 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R. Cutter 

* Samuel C. Cobb 

* Frederick O. Prince. . . . 

* Henry L. Pierce 

* Frederick O. Prince. . . . 

* Samuel A. Green 

* Albert Palmer 

* Augustus P. Martin .... 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Thomas N. Hart 

* Nathan Matthews, jr . . 

* Edwin U. Curtis 

* t Josiah Quincy 

*t Thomas N. Hart 

*t Patrick A. Collins 

Daniel A. Whelton .... 
t John F. Fitzgerald 

* t George A. Hibbard. . . 
t John F. Fitzgerald .... 

TI James M. Curley 

K Andrew J. Peters 

1 James M. Curley 

1 Malcolm E. Nichols. . . 

f James M. Curley 

% Frederick W. Mansfield 



Boston Nov. 26, 1770 

Boston Feb. 4, 1772 

Boston Oct. 8, 1765 

Boston Dec. 30, 1786 

Boston Feb. 19,1792 

Dorchester April 29, 1784 

Boston Mar. 5,1798 

Boston Jan. 23,1807 

Roxbury June 8,1793 

Brookline Dec. 11, 1798 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Conway, N. H..July 20, 1800 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Boston Feb. 27. 1817 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 2, 1811 

Boston June 29, 1810 

Killingly, Conn., Oct. 3, 1820 

Stoughton Aug. 23, 1825 

(See under Chairmen of Alder- 
men.) 

Taunton May 22, 1826 

Boston Jan. 18,1818 

(See above) , 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 16, 1830 

Candia, N. H. . .Jan. 17, 1831 

Abbot, Me Nov. 23, 1835 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

North Reading.. Jan. 20, 1829 

Boston Mar. 28, 1854 

Roxbury Mar. 26, 1861 

Quincy Oct. 15, 1859 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. 12, 1844 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Boston Feb. 11,1863 

Boston Oct. 27, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 20, 1874 

Jamaica Plain . .April 3, 1872 

(See above) 

Portland, Me. . .May 8, 1876 

(See above) 

, Boston Mar. 26, 1877 



May 29, 1823 
July 1, 1864 
Oct. 28, 1848 
June 3, 1866 
July 17, 1849 
Mar. 26, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1862 
May 25,1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 
July 4, 1872 
Feb. 14, 1856 
Aug. 20,1879 
July 22, 1895 
Sept. 13, 1898 
Jan. 25, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21, 1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
Aug. 1,1895 
Oct. 4, 1927 
Dec. 11, 1927 
Mar. 28, 1922 
Sept. 8,1919 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 14, 1905 



May 29, 1910 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31.. 3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35.. 2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42.. 3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846^8.. 3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53. .2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57.. 2 
1858-60.. 3 
1861-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873, lOmo. 
1873, 2 mo. 

1874-76.. 3 

1877 1 

1878 1 

1879-81.. 3 

1882 1 

1883 1 

1884 1 

1885-88.. 4 
1889-90.. 2 
1891-94.. 4 

1895 1 

1896-99.. 4 
1900-01.. 2 
1902-05. 3 J 
1905-3Jmo. 
1906-07 . . 2 
1908-09.. 2 
1910-13.. 4 
1914-17.. 4, 
1918-21.. 4 
1922-25.. 4. 
1926-29.. 4 
1930-33. .4 
1934 



* Deceased. 

t Elected for two years. 



t Twice elected for two years. 
1[ Elected for four years. 



116 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1845, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of office till the election of his successor, Thomas A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, WiUiam Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December 11, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12 , 
1853, and .January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. Allen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his office on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Acting Mayor. 

Mayor Collins died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 



Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



William Washburn 

Pelham Bonney 

Joseph Milner Wightman 

Silas Peirce 

Otis Clapp 

Silas Peirce 

Thomas Phillips Rich . . . 
Thomas Coffin Amory, jr. 

Otis Norcross 

George W. Messinger . . . . 
Charles Wesley Slack .... 
George W. Messinger .... 

Benjamin James 

Newton Talbot 

Charles Edward Jenkins . 

Samuel Little 

Leonard R. Cutter 

John Taylor Clark 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Charles Varney Whitten . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . 
Patrick John Donovan . . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . 

Homer Rogers 

William Power Wilson . . . 
Herbert Schaw Carruth . . 

John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanf ord 

John Henry Lee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7,1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21, 1802 

Boston Oct, 19, 1812 

Scituate. .. . .Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton. . .Mar. 3, 1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31, 1803 

Boston Aug. 16, 1812 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston Feb. 5, 1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15, 1827 

Jaffrey, N. H....July 1,1825 
Sanbornton,N.H.,Sept.l9, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18, 1830 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown April 9, 1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11,1840 

Baltimore, Md. .Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15, 1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro, July 5, 1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept. 18, 1886 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 11, 1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5, 1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
Aug. 1, 1882 
Dec. 21, 1906 
July 13, 1894 
Oct. 29, 1880 
June 8, 1910 
Aug. 1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 



Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



(See above) . 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1865-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

1883 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



Note. — The Mayor was ex officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. 



117 



CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. — Concluded. 



Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Years of 
Service. 


* Perlie Appleton Dyar . . . 


Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Dedham Nov. 1 , 1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La., Dec. 16, 1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3, 1861 


May 15, 1930 


1897-98 
1898 


David Franklin Barry. . . 
Michael Joseph O'Brien, 


July 23, 1911 
April 5, 1903 


1899 
1900 
1901-04 






1905 


t Charles Martin Draper. . 
t Edward L. Caiiley 

William Berwin 

Louis M. Clark 

Frederick J. Brand 




1906 


April 19, 1928 
July 9, 1935 
Mar. 15, 1914 
Mar. 16, 1912 


1906 
1907 
1908 
1909 



Presidents of the Common Council. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 

Service. 



WilliamlPrescott 

John Welles 

Francis Johonnot Oliver . , 
John Richardson Adan . . . 

Eliphalet Williams 

Benj. Toppan Pickman. . . 
John Prescott Bigelow . . . 

Josiah Quincy, jr 

Philip Marett 

Edward Blake 

Peleg Whitman Chandler, 
George Stillman Hillard . . 

Benjamin Seaver 

Francis Brinley 

Henry Joseph Gardner . . . 

Alex. Hamilton Rice 

Joseph Story 

Oliver Stevens 

Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . . 
Josiah Putnam Bradlee. . . 
Joseph Hildreth Bradley . . 

Joshua Dorsey Ball 

George Silsbee Hale 

Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . . 



Pepperell. ....'. .Aug. 19, 1762 

Boston Oct. 14, 1764 

Boston Oct. 10, 1777 

Boston July 8, 1793 

Taunton Mar. 7, 177S 

Salem Sept. 17, 1790 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Boston Sept. 25, 1792 

Boston Sept. 28, 1805 

N. Gloucester, Me., Apr. 12, '16 
Machias, Me. . .Sept. 22, 1808 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Boston Nov. 10, 1800 

Dorchester June 14, 1818 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Marblehead Nov. 11, 1822 

Andover June 22, 1825 

Portsmouth, N. H., Oct. 24, '28 

Boston June 10, 1817 

Haverhill Mar. 5, 1822 

Baltimore Md.. July 11,1828 
Keene, N. H. . . .Sept. 24, 1825 
Boston July 27, 1826 



Dec. 8, 
Sept. 26, 
Aug. 21, 
July 4, 
June 12, 
Mar. 22, 
July 4, 
Nov. 2, 
Mar. 22, 
Sept. 4, 
May 28, 
Jan. 21, 
Feb. 14, 
June 14, 
July 19, 
July 22, 
June 22, 
Aug. 23, 
Aug. 24, 
Feb. 2, 
Oct. 5, 
Dec. 18, 
July 27, 
Jan. 21, 



1844 
1855 
1858 
1849 
1855 
1835 
1872 
1882 
1869 
1873 
1889 
1879 
1856 
1889 
1892 
1895 
1905 
1905 
1882 
1887 
1882 
1892 
1897 
1902 



1822 

1823 

1824-25 

1826-28 

1829 

1830-31 

1832-33 

1834-36 

1837-40 

1841-43 

1844-45 

1846-47 I 

1847M19 

1850-51 

1852-53 

1854 

1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859-60 

1861 

1862 

1863-64 

1865 



' To July 1. - From July 1. 

* Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898. to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1, 1898. 

t Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L. 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



PRESIDENTS OP THE COMMON COUNCIL. — Conclvdcd. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



Joseph Story 

Weston Lewis 

Charles Hastings Allen. 
William Giles Harris ... 
Melville Ezra Ingalls. . . 
Matthias Rich 



Marquis Fayette Dickin- 
son, jr 



Edward Olcott Shepard . . 
Halsey Joseph Boardman, 

John Q. A. Brackett 

Benjamin Pope 

William H. Whitmore . . . , 
Harvey Newton Shepard . , 
Andrew Jackson Bailey. . 
Charles Edward Pratt ... 
James Joseph Flynn .... 
Godfrey Morse 



John Henry Lee , 

Edward John Jenkins . . . 

David Franklin Barry . . . 

Horace Gwynne Allen . . . 

David Franklin Barry . . . 

Christopher Francis 
O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry . 

Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley 

Arthur Walter Dolan. . . . 
WiUiam John Barrett. . . . 

Leo F. McCulIough 

George Cheney McCabe. 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 1834 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Revere May 15, 1828 

Harrison, Me. . .Sept. 6, 1842 
Truro June 8, 1820 

Amherst Jan. 16,1840 

Hampton, N. H., Nov. 25, 1835 

Norwich, Vt May 19, 1834 

Bradford, N. H., June 8, 1842 

Waterford, Ire. . .Jan 13, 1829 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 1836 

Boston July 8, 1850 

Charlestown July 18, 1840 

Vassalboro, Me., Mar. 13, 1845 

St. John, N. B 1835 

Wachenheim, Germany, 

May 17, 1846 

Boston April 26, 1846 

London, Eng.. . .Dec. 20, 1854 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Jamaica Plain ... July 27., 1855 

(See above) 



Boston Feb. 17,1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5,1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1,1882 

Carmel, N. Y.. .July 5, 1873 



(See above) . . . 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Dec. 13, 1914 

Sept. 18, 1915 
April 27, 1903 
Jan. 15, 1900 
April 6,1918 
Sept. 24, 1879 
June 14,1900 



Mar. 21, 1927 
Aug. 20,1898 
Mar. 26, 1884 
June 20,1911 

Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 
(See above) . . , 

April 25, 1899 



Dec. 5, 1928 



May 29, 1933 
Dec. 27,1917 



1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

18811 

18812-82 

1883 3 

1883 < 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-88 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



1 To October 27. 



2 From October 27. 



3 To June 11. 



< From June 14. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



119 



Presidents of the City Council.^ 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year of 
Service. 



Walter Ballantyne 

Walter Leo Collins 

John Joseph Attridge. . . . 
Thomas Joseph Kenny . . 
Daniel Joseph McDonald 

George W. Coleman 

Henry E. Hagan 

James J. Storrow 

Walter Leo Collins 

Francis J. W. Ford 

James T. Moriarty 

James A. Watson 

David J. Brickley 

Daniel W. Lane 

John A. Donoghue 

James T. Moriarty 

Charles G. Keene 

John J. Heffernan 

Thomas H. Green 

Timothy F. Donovan 

WiUiam G. Lynch 

Joseph McGrath 

Edward M. Gallagher. . . 

Joseph McGrath 

John F. Dowd 

John I. Fitzgerald 

John I. Fitzgerald 



Hawick, Scotland, Mar. 

Boston April 

Boston Feb. 

Boston Nov. 

Chelsea Aug. 

Boston June 

St. John, N. B..Feb. 

Boston Jan. 

(See above) 

Boston Dec. 

Amesbury Sept. 

Boston June 

Boston Mar. 

Boston Dec. 

Boston Aug. 

(See above) 

Gardiner, Me .. .Aug. 

Boston Jan. 

Boston May 

Boston Aug. 

Boston Oct. 

Boston Dec. 

Charlestown. . . .Jan. 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 

Boston July 

(See above) 



1855 
1878 
1878 
1863 
1873 
1867 
1865 
1864 



1882 
1876 
1870 
1889 
1872 
1885 



1880 
1893 
1883 
1889 
1892 
1890 
1877 



1895 

1882 



Sept. 30, 1932 



May 17, 1926 



May 18, 1933 
Mar. 13, 1926 



Aug. 25,1927 
April 2i,'i933' 



1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 
1925 
1926 
1927 
1928 
1929 
1930 
1931 
1932 
1933 
1934 
1935 
1936 



* Single chamber, established in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-51). 

Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES. 

Far the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 

For the Anniversary of 

1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin. 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 William Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



National Independence, July 4, 1776. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Channing. 

1807 Peter O. Thacher. 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 William Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 

1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 

1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 



120 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Bassett. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 

1827 William Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. Hillard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 I vers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greenough. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward Griffin Parker. 

1857 Rev. William R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth. 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 William Everett. 

1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 

1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 

1877 William Wirt Warren. 



1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 William E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. PUlsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W. Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead. 

1904 John A. Sullivan. 

1905 LeBaron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 

1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 

1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev. Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudley H. FerrelL 

1925 Thomas H. Dowd. 

1926 Andrew J. Peters. 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Edith Nourse Rogers. 

1929 Robert Luce. 

1930 Herbert Parker. 

1931 David I. Walsh. 

1932 Robert E. Rogers. 

1933 Joseph A. Tomasello. 

1934 His Eminence William Cardi- 

nal O'Connell. 

1935 Albert Bushnell Hart. 

1936 Paris S. Malouf. 



Index. 



A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 . . . 116, 117 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1936) . . 15-31 

Appeal, Board of 48, 49 

Art Department 36 

Assessing Department . 37 

Attendance, Supervisors of (School Committee) .... 86 

Auditing Department 38 

B. 

Births, Registrar of 74 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay : 

Art Commission 36 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission .... 98 

Boston Sanatorium (Hospital Dept.) 54 

City Hospital Trustees 54 

City Planning Department 49 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 93 

Franklin Foundation Managers 95 

Library Trustees 57 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 59 

Public Welfare Overseers 69, 70 

School Buildings 90 

School Committee 84 

Sinking Funds Commission 75 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 76 
Boston City Record (official weekly of City) . . 18, 23, 24, 35, 76, 77 

Boston, Origin and growth of 4, 5 

Boston Metropolitan District 99 

Boston Port Authority 98 

Boston Traffic Commission 41 

Bridge, Ferry and Tunnel Division, PubUc Works Dept. . . 71 
Brighton (Wards 21 and 22) : 

Municipal Court of 103 

Public Schools in 85 

Budget Department 42-44 

Building Department 44, 45 

Board of Examiners 47, 48 

Building Heights, regulation of 45-47 

(121) 



122 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



C. 

Page 

Charlestown (Ward 2) : 

Municipal Court of ., 103 

Public Schools in 85 

City Clerk Department 49 

City Council of 1936 114 

President of 11 

Committees of -. . . 14 

Officers of 13 

Presidents of, 1910-1936 ........ 119 

City Government, 1936 . . 11, 12 

City Governments, 1909 to 1936 108-114 

City Hospital 54, 55 

City Messenger 13 

City officials in charge of executive departments .... 32-34 

City, Origin and growth of 4, 5 

City Planning Department 49, 50 

City Record (Boston City Record.) 76, 77 

City Seal, origin of and present form 2, 3 

City Solicitor, office of, abolished 56 

Clerk of Committees (City Council) 13 

Collateral Loan Company 99 

Collecting Department 50 

Common Council: 

Presidents of, 1822-1909 . 117,118 

Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) 56 

Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 56 

Coimty of Suffolk: 

Auditor 100 

Commissioners 100 

District Attorney 100 

Index Commissioners . 101 

Courts and Officers of: 

Land Court 100 

Register of Deeds 101 

Sheriff 101 

Treasurer 100 



D. 

Deaths, Registrar of 74 

Deeds, Register of (Suffolk County) 101 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical Ust): 

Art 36 

Assessiug 37 



INDEX— D. 123 

Page 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical lists). — Concl. 

Auditing 38 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission . . . . 98, 99 

Budget 42-44 

Building 44,45 

City Clerk 49 

City Planning . . . 49, 50 

Collecting 50 

Election 50,51 

Finance Commission 92, 93 

Fire 51, 52 

FrankUn Foimdation 95-97 

Health 52,53 

Hospital 54, 55 

Institutions 55 

Law 56 

Library 56-58 

Licensing Board 93-95 

Market 58,59 

Mayor 35 

Park 59-67 

Penal Institutions . . . . . . . • • . 67, 68 

Police 90-92 

Printing 68 

PubUc Buildings 68,69 

PubUc Welfare 69,70 

Public Works 70-74 

Registry 74 

Retirement Board 40 

School Buildings 90 

School Committee 84-90 

Sinking Funds 75 

Soldiers' Relief 75 

Statistics 76,77 

Street Laying-Out • . 77-79 

Supply 79 

Traffic 41 

Transit 79 

Treasury 79,80 

Weights and Measures 80 

District Attorney (Suffolk County) 100 

Assistants 100 

Dorchester (Wards 13-17) : 

Municipal Court of 104 

School districts in • 85 



124 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

E. 

Page 

East Boston (Ward 1): 

District Court of . . . .104 

Relief station (hospital) in 55 

School districts in 85 

Election Department 50, 51 

Examiners, Board of (Building Dept.) 47, 48 

Executive Departments of City . . . . . . . . 32-34 

Executive Officers, with term, etc. . . . . . . . 32-34 

F. 

Ferries owned by City . . . . 71 

Finance Commission . 92, 93 

Fire Department, with officials, etc 51, 52 

Firemen's Relief Fund 52 

Flag Days 69 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government . . 1 19, 120 

Franklin Foimdation 95-97 

Franklin Fund, Managers of 95 

Franklin Union (Trade School) 96, 97 

Q. 

Government of Boston, 1936 11, 12 

Members of, 1909-1936 . . . . . . . 108-114 

H. 

Haymarket Square Relief Station (Hospital Dept.) ... 55 

Health Department 52, 53 

Heights, Building, regulation of 45-47 

Highway Division, Public Works Dept 71 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) 54, 55 

Relief Stations 55 

South Department 54 

House of Correction, Deer Island 68 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part) : 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) 104 

Public Schools in 85 

I. 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk Coimty) , . . . . . 101 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 102 

Institutions Department: 

Commissioner of 55 

Long Island Hospital 55 



INDEX — J-L-M-0 . 125 



J. 

Page 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) 101 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City . . . . 119,120 

Justices of Municipal Courts . . . . . . . 103, 104 

Juvenile Court 104,105 

L. 

Land Court (Suffolk County) 100 

Law Department 56 

Library Department 56-58 

Central and Branch libraries of . . . . . . . 57, 58 

Officials and Trustees of 57 

Trust funds, appropriation, etc 57 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated . . . . 57, 58 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) 47, 48 

Public Works Dept 72 

Licensing Board 93-95 

Licensing Division, Mayor's Office (Amusement licenses) . . 35 

Loan Association, Workingmen's 100 

Loan Company, Collateral . • • 99 

M. 

Market Department 58, 59 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets 59 

Marriage Certificates (Registry Dept.) 74 

Mayor: 

Department of 35 

Municipal Employment Bureau 35 

Office staff of 35 

Public Celebrations, etc 35 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1936 115 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk County) 106 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 106 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper, Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester . . 103, 104 

East Boston, Roxbury, South Boston, W. Roxbury . . 104 

Justices of (regular and special) 103, 104 

Probation officers of . . . 105 

O. 

Old South Association 99 

Orators of Boston since 1771 119,120 

Overseers of Public Welfare • . 69, 70 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 70 



126 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



P. 

Page 

Park Department 59-67 

Commissioners and chief officials of 59 

Penal Institutions Department . 67, 68 

Pensions for retired teachers 89, 90 

Planning Department, City 49, 50 

Police Department 90-92 

Commissioner and chief officials of ..... . 91 

Printing Department 68 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 102 

Probation officers (Suflf oik County) 105,106 

Public Buildings Department . . 68, 69 

Superintendent and Chief Clerk of 68 

Public Library. (Library Dept.) 56-58 

Public Works Department 70-74 

Bridge, Ferry and Tunnel Division of 71 

Highway Division of 71 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . 71 

Sanitary Division of . . . 71, 72 

Sewer Division of 72, 73 

Water Division of 73, 74 

Water Income Division of 74 

R. 

Refuse, removal of 72 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) 101 

Registry Department 74 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 74 

Retirement Board 40 

Retirement System in effect Feb. 1, 1923 40 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Municipal Court of . . 104 

Public Schools in ... 85 

S. 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 71, 72 

Sanitary Service (Public Works Dept.), supervisor of . . . 72 

School Committee 84-90 

Department of, with officials 84 

Elementary and Intermediate School districts . . . . 85 

High and Latin Schools 85 

Industrial and special schools 86 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers . . . . 89, 90 

Special departments 86^89 

School Physicians and School Nurses 86, 87 

The Teachers College of the City of Boston . . . . 85 



INDEX — T-W-Z. 127 

Page 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form . . , . . 2, 3 

Sewer Division (Public Works Dept.) . . . . . . 72, 73 

Sheriff of Suffolk County 101 

Sinking Funds Department 75 

Soldiers' Relief Department . . . . . . * . . . 75 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Municipal Court of 104 

Public Schools in 85 

Statistics Department 76, 77 

Boston Statistics 76 

Boston Year Book 76 

City Record 76, 77 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) .... 77-79 
Suffolk County. (County of Suffolk.) 

Supply Department 79 

Supreme Judicial Court, clerks of 101, 102 

Superior Court, clerks of 102 

T. 

Traffic Department 41 

Transit Department 79 

Treasury Department 79, 80 

W. 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 73, 74 

Water Income Division (Public Works Dept.) 74 

Water used in 1935, average gallons daily 73 

Weights and Measures Department 80 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20) : 

Public Schools in 85 

White Fund, George Robert 97, 98 

Workingmen's Loan Association 100 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of 38-40 

Members of 39