(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

r€" 



cM-... 



*6357. I9E 



^ 



1944 




t 



3^ 



[Document 38 — 1944.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL REGISTER 
FOR 1944 

CONTAININQ 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 
AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 
INCLUDING SUBSEQUENT CHANGES, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 




CITY OF BOSTON 

4ENT 

5 



PRINTING DEPARTMENT ^ / 



1944 _ 

3 



Boston 

MUNICIPAL REGISTEE 

Foe 1944 






/jN ^\ 






^^>. 1(BS(D). ^^^-^ 



SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON 



j:>.^. 



4/iA^ ^S 



-,'i^i 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827 



The City Seal was adopted by ''An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.'" The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii, 57: "God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," published in 1827, and is 
established as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'Sicut Patribus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata A.D. 1822,' as herewith shown." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ORIGIN AND GEOWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted ''that the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they "ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first ''Court" held in Boston was a "General Court" 
on October * 19, "for establishing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for publique meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640, 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 5 

when "Mount Woollaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present limits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres ''for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) "to build a pubHc hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 

The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows : 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29, 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and 583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

* Old Style. 



CITY OF BOSTON. 

IN CITY COUNCIL. 

Ordered, — That the Statistics Department be author- 
ized, under the direction of the Committee on Rules, to 
prepare and have printed the Municipal Register for 
the current year; and that the Clerk of Committees be 
authorized to prepare and have printed a pocket edition 
of the organization of the city government; the expense 
of said register and organization to be charged to the 
appropriation for City Documents. 

In City Council February 14, 1944. Passed. 
Approved by the Mayor February 15, 1944. 

Attest : 

W. J. Doyle, 

City Clerk. 



^OUMx/:Ji^ 




m:ayor.ok' bostoint 



[DOCTTMENT 38 — 1944.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL REGISTEE 
FOE 1944 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 
AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 
INCLUDING SUBSEQUENT CHANGES, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 
DEPARTMENT. 



CITY OF BOSTON 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT 

1944 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Boston City Messencfer 
OCT 9 1944 

Contents. . 



Page 

Introduction 9, 10 

The City Government, 1944 11, 12 

Officers of the City Coiincil 13 

Committees of the City Council 14 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1944) . . 15-31 

Officials in charge of executive departments, term, etc. . . 32-34 

Notes on executive departments, lists of officials, term, etc. . 35-79 

Various City, County and State officials, term, etc. . . . 83-85 
Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., lists of officials, 

term, etc 86-112 

Miscellaneous Municipal Activities 115-119 

Members of City Government, 1909-1944 . . . . . 123-132 

Mayors of Boston, 1822-1944 133, 134 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855-1909 .... 134, 135 

Presidents of the Common Council, 1822-1909 .... 135, 136 

Presidents of the City Council, 1910-1944 137 

Orators of Boston, 1771-1944 138, 139 

Index 141-147 



INTRODUCTION. 



INTEODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having been published in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 

1840 the title of the volume was : The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the docu- 
ment contained merely a register of the City Council 
and a list of the officers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances, were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title The Municipal Register was adopted in 

1841 when the publication became more ambitious, 
incorporating in its pages the Rules and Orders of the 
Common Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, 
statutes of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a 
list of the public schools, the City Government of 1841, 
the committees and departments (consisting at that 
time of the treasury, law, police, health, public land 
and buildings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public 
charitable institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a list of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876, statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive, The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes 
since that year have been indicated by footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 

Since 1925, the Register has been gradually reduced 
to its present size; primarily, because of the issuance 
of the Boston Year Book, a more ambitious publication, 
in 1925 and 1926, and secondly for the purpose of 
economy. 



J shJnnon Entrance 




Boston City Cou n|.il Chamber, 1944 




PRESIDENX BOSTON CITY CC:)UNCIL 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 



OF THE 



CITY OF BOSTON, 
1944. 



MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 

Residence, 
30 Hopkins Road, Jamaica Plain. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1944. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 
630, 730; Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 328, 479.] 

JOHN E. KERRIGAN, President. 

Ward 1. James S. Coffey, 451 Meridian street. 
Ward 2. Michael Leo Kinsella, 7 Belmont street. 
Ward 3. Joseph Russo, 42A Green street. 
Ward 4. Perlie Dyar Chase, 136 Huntington 

avenue. 
Ward 5. James C. Bayley, Jr., 75 Marlborough 

street. 
Ward 6. Joseph M. Scannell, 546 East Fourth 

street. 
Ward 7. John E. Kerrigan, 213 West Eighth street. 
Ward 8. William F. Hurley, 74 Forest street. 
Ward 9. Daniel F. Sullivan, 9 Highland street. 
Ward 10. William A. Carey, 139 St. Alphonsus street. 
Ward 11. Matthew F. Hanley, 308 Amory street. 



12 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Ward 12. Charles I. Taylor, 186 Ruthven street. 

Ward 13. Thomas J. Hannon, 15 Hartford street. 

Ward 14. Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 9 Powellton road. 

Ward 15. John B. Kelly, 64 Homes avenue. 

Ward 16. Philip Austin Fish, 60 Beaumont street. 

Ward 17. William Joseph Keenan, 29 Pleasant Hill 

avenue. 

Ward 18. Michael Paul Feeney, 999 River street. 

Ward 19. Thomas L. McCormack, 30 Orchard street. 

Ward 20. Thomas G. J. Shannon, 231 Willow street. 

Ward 21, William F. Dwyer, 9 Braemore road. 

Ward 22. Maurice H. Sullivan, 74 Antwerp street. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. 332; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord, 1914, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 11.] 

Regular meetings in Council Chamber, City Hall, 
fourth floor, Mondays, at 2 P. M. 




CITY COUNCIL 





JAMES S COFFEY 






JAMES C. BAYLEY, Jf. 



JOHN E. KERCIGAN 






CHARLES I. TAYlOe 



THOMAS J. HANNON, JR. 






WILLIAM J I'EENAN 




CITY COUNCIL 



JOSEPH HJSSO 















WiaiAM A. CAREY 






ISADORE H. y. MUCHNICK 






THOMAS G. J. SHANNON 



MAURICE H SULLIVAN 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICERS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CLERK. 

Wilfred J. Doyle. 

ASSISTANT CLERK. 

John B. Hynes. 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City Hall, Room 56, fourth floor. 

Robert E. Green. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of all committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
Hall Reference Library. 

SECRETARY OF THE CITY COUNCIL, 

William J. J. O'Neil. 

The Secretary of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

STENOGRAPHER-CLERKS TO THE CITY COUNCIL. 

Francis W. Lea vet. Stanley Wollaston. 

John L. Maloney. Alfred C. Holland. 

CITY MESSENGER. 

Office, City HaU, Room 55, fourth floor. 

William J. O'Donnell 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Coimcil and 
committees thereof, keeps the accounts of the expenditures from the city 
coimcU appropriations, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the City Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstaffs, the display of flags in the pubhc 
grounds, and the roping off of streets and squares on pubhc occasions. 

ASSISTANT CITY MESSENGERS. 

Dennis H. Shillue. 
William P. Greeley.* 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

DOCUMENT MAN. 

Thomas W. McMahon. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OF PROCEEDINGS. 

Edward W. Harnden. 

* In Army Service. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

STANDING COMMITTEES OF CITY 
COUNCIL. 

19 4 4. 



EXECUTIVE. 

All the members, Councillor Hanley, Chairman. 



On the following committees, the first-named member is Chairman. 

Appropriations: Councillors Muchnick, Hurley, Keenan, Coffey, 
Carey, Russo, Bayley. 

Claims: Councillors D. Sullivan, M. Sullivan, Kelly, Hurley, Fish. 

County Accounts: Councillors Shannon, Russo, Scannell, Carey, 
Bayley. 

Finance: Councillors Chase, Scannell, Hannon, D. Sullivan, M. Sulli- 
van, Kinsella, Hurley. 

Inspection of Prisons: Councillors Taylor, Hurley, Coffey, Chase, M. 
Sullivan. 

Legislative Matters: Councillors Hannon, Feeney, Chase, Kinsella, 
Dwyer. 

Licenses: Councillors Coffey, Russo, D. Sullivan, Fish, Shannon, M. 
Sullivan, Hurley. 

Ordinances: Councillors Russo, Feeney, Taylor, Hanley, Chase, M. 
Sullivan, Shannon. 

Parkman Fund: Councillors Dwyer, Feeney, Carey, Bayley, McCor- 
mack. 

Printing: Councillors Fish, Dwyer, Scannell, McCormack, Kinsella. 

Public Lands: Councillors M. Sullivan, Taylor, Kelly, D. Sullivan, 
Hurley. 

Rules: Councillors Taylor, Chase, Hurley, Hanley, Shannon. 

Soldiers' Relief: Councillors Scannell, Keenan, Dwyer, Coffey, 
Carey. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEES. 

On the following committees, the first-named member is Chairman. 

Building Code: Councillors McCormack, Kelly, Kinsella, Feeney, 
Keenan. 

Constables: Councillors Kelly, Taylor, Muchnick. 

Hospitals: Councillors Hurley, Kelly, Coffey, Keenan, D. Sullivan, M. 
Sullivan. 

Parks and Playgrounds: Councillors Bayley, Russo, McCormack, 
Hannon, Feeney. 

Public Safety: Councillors Kinsella, Hannon, Taylor, Bayley, Hanley. 

Public Welfare: Councillors Keenan, Fish, Scannell, D. Sullivan, 
Coffey. 

Unclaimed Baggage: Councillors M. Sulhvan, Muchnick, Taylor. 

Voting Machines: Councillors Feeney, Hurley, Dwyer, Hannon, 
Taylor, M. Sullivan, Hanley. 

Post- War Planning: Councillors Carey, Shannon, D. Sulhvan, M. 
Sullivan, Chase. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 15 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (ACTS OF 1909, 

CHAPTER 486) WITH AMENDMENTS TO 

APRIL 18, 1944, INCORPORATED. 



The Mayor and City Council. 

Section 1.* {The terms of office of the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messenger, 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of committees, 
and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials whose terms of office 
are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensation equal 
to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) The 
mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of this 
act, and their successors, shall thereafter have all the powers and privileges 
conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obligations imposed by law 
upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as such or as county 
commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein otherwise provided. 
Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city council" appears, it 
shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city council acting on and 
after the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, under the 
provisions of this and the three following sections. The city council may, 
subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to time establish such 
offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem necessary for the con- 
duct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may determine, and abolish 
such officers or alter such salaries; and without such approval may fill the 
offices thus established and remove the incumbents at pleasure. 

Section 1. {Chap. 479, Acts of 1924.) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six, and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and 
twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first 
Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall be 
no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and school 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, which is printed as the next section. 



16 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are hereby 
extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official whose term 
of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of such termi- 
nation and the salary of any official whose term of office is extended as 
aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long as he con- 
tinues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2.* The mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the city. The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the mayor and shall either adopt or reject 
the same within sixty days after the date when it is filed as aforesaid. 
If the said ordinance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty days 
it shall be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously 
withdrawn by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from 
again presenting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or 
withdrawn. The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order 
and may reduce or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval 
of the mayor, may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than 
school lands, all appropriations for the purchase of land other than for 
school purposes, and aU loans voted by the city council shall require a 
vote of two thirds of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed 
only after two separate readings and by two separate votes, the second 
of said readings and votes to be had not less than fourteen days after the 
first, except that in the case of loan orders for temporary loans in antici- 
pation of taxes the second of said readings and votes may be had not less 
than twenty-four hours after the first. No amendment increasing the 
amount of land to be sold or the amount to be paid for the purchase of 
land, or the amount of loans, or altering the disposition of purchase money 
or of the proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of the second reading 
and vote. If a petition signed by six members of the council requesting 
that action be taken forthwith upon a loan order presented by the mayor 
is filed in the office of the city clerk not earfier than fourteen days after its 
presentation, action shall be taken by the yeas and nays on the question 
of the adoption of such loan order at the next meeting of the council, or, 
if one vote has already been taken thereon, at the next meeting after 
the expiration of the required interval after such vote; provided, that such 
action thereon has not sooner been taken or such loan order has not been 
withdrawn by the mayor. 

Sect. 3.t All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue or any source other than loans, shall originate 
with the mayor, who, not later than the first Monday in February of each 
year, shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county for the current fiscal year, and may 
submit thereafter such supplementary appropriation orders as he may 
deem necessary. The city council may reduce or reject any item, but, 

* Sect. 2 as amended by Chap. 113, Acts of 1933, and Chap. 220, Acts of 
1934. Also affected by Chap. 4, Spec. Session, 1942. 

t Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, and Chap. 604, Acts 
of 1941. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 17 

except upon the recommendation of the mayor, shall not increase any 
item in, nor the total of, a budget, nor add any item thereto, nor shall 
it originate a budget. Not later than the first Monday in April the city 
council shall take definite action on the annual budget by adopting, 
reducing or rejecting it, and in the event of their failure so to do the 
items and the appropriation orders in the budget as recommended by the 
mayor shall be in effect as if formally adopted by the city council and 
approved by the mayor. It shall be the duty of the city and county 
officials, when requested by the mayor, to submit forthwith in such 
detail as he may require estimates for the next fiscal year of the expendi- 
tures of the department or office under their charge, which estimates 
shall be transmitted to the city council. 

Sect. 3A.* In the period after the expiration of any fiscal year, and 
before the regular appropriations have been made by the city council and 
the school committee, city and county officers who are authorized to 
make expenditures, and the school committee, may incur liabilities in 
carrying on the work of the several departments and offices entrusted to 
them, and pa5nments therefor shall be made from the treasury from any 
available funds therein and charged against the next annual appropria- 
tion, or special appropriation, if any is made; provided, that the liabilities 
incurred during such interval for regular employees do not exceed in any 
one month the average monthly expenditure of the last three months of 
the preceding fiscal year, and that the total liabilities incurred during 
said interval do not exceed in any one month the sums spent for similar 
purposes during any one month of the preceding fiscal year; and provided, 
further, that said officers who are authorized to make expenditures may 
expend in any one month for any new officer or board lawfully created 
an amount not exceeding one twelfth of the estimated cost for the current 
fiscal year; and provided, further, that until a regular or special appropri- 
ation has been made for snow removal, expenditures may be made for that 
purpose to an amount not exceeding the average of the annual expendi- 
tures for snow removal in the five preceding fiscal years. 

Sect. 3B.* After an appropriation of money has been duly made by 
the city of Boston for any specific purpose, or for the needs and expendi- 
tures of any city department or county office, no transfer of any part of 
the money thus appropriated shall be made except in accordance with 
and after the written recommendation of the mayor to the city council, 
approved by a yea and nay vote of two thirds of all the members of the 
city council; provided, that the city auditor, with the approval in each 
instance of the mayor, may make transfers, other than for personal service, 
from any item to any other item within the appropriations for a depart- 
ment, division of a department or county office. After December twentieth 
in each year the city auditor may, with the approval of the mayor, apply 
any income and taxes not disposed of and make transfers from any appro-, 
priation to any other appropriation for the purpose only of closing the 
accounts of the fiscal year. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote of 
the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affairs, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shall make or cause to be made a written 

* Sect. 3A and SB inserted by Chap. 604, Acts of 1941. Sect. SB is 
affected by Chap. 4, Spec. Session, 1942. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said 
appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the 
mayor to the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his 
objections thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expen- 
diture of money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in 
part and disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items 
or parts of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts 
of items as he disapproves shaU be void. 

Sect. 4A. * The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shall be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
less than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. t Except as otherwise provided in this act the organization, 
powers and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate or 
abolish, in whole or in part, departments whether created on or before or 
subsequent to the first Monday of February in the year nineteen hundred 
and ten, including the transit department; transfer the duties, powers and 
appropriations of one department to another in whole or in part; and 
establish new departments; and may increase, reduce, establish or abolish 
salaries of heads of departments, or members of boards. Such an ordinance 
may provide that all of the employees of any department or division 
thereof thereby abolished who are subject to civil service shall be re- 
appointed to similar positions with similar status in any new department 
or division thereof thereby established or in any other department or 
division thereof, without civil service examination or registration and 
that such employees shall, upon reappointment as may be provided in 
such ordinance, retain all rights to retirement with pension that shall 
have accrued or would thereafter accrue to them, and that their services 
shall be deemed to have been continuous, to the same extent as if such 
abolition had not taken place. Nothing in this act shall authorize the 
abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or duties as estabhshed 
by law of the school committee, the board of commissioners of school 
buildings, the department of school buildings, the election department 
or any department in charge of an official or officials appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 6. No contract for fighting the pubUc streets, parks, or alleys, or 
for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a period of 
more than one year from the date thereof, shall be valid without 
the approval of the mayor and the city council after a public hearing, 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have been 
given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at a 
meeting to be held not earlier than one week from the date of the receipt of 

* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 5 as amended by Chap. 222, Sp. Acts of 1919; Chap. 389, Acts of 
1928; Chap. 227, Acts of 1934; Chap. 152, Acts of 1936. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 19 

said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through a head 
of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting and pubHcly 
answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not be obliged 
to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor at any time 
may attend and address the city council in person or through the head of a 
department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as he may desire. 

Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, officer, 
or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this act, directly 
or indirectly on behalf of the citj' or of the county of Suffolk take part in 
the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the purchase of materials, 
supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, alteration, or repair of any 
public works, buildings, or other property; nor in the care, custody, and 
management of the same; nor in the conduct of the executive or administra- 
tive business of the city or county; nor in the appointment or removal of 
any municipal or county employee; nor in the expenditure of public 
money except such as may be necessary for the contingent and incidental 
expenses of the city council. The provisions of this section shall not affect 
the powers or duties of the city council as the successor of the present 
board of aldermen relative to state or military aid and soldiers' relief. 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 
such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, or 
employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon learn- 
ing of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, shall 
notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission of such 
contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall abstain 
from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. In 
case of such interest on the part of an officer whose duty it is to make such 
contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by any other 
officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if the mayor 
has such interest by the city clerk: provided, however, that when a con- 
tractor with the city or county is a corporation or voluntary association, 
the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares actually 
issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the contract within 
the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect the vahdity 
of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is also an officer 
or agent of the corporation or association, or solicits or takes part in the 
making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by impris- 
onment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred and 
twenty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is hereby 
repealed. 

The Executive Department. 

Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
office expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

law appointed by the governor), shall be appointed by the mayor without 
confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts in 
such work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or persons 
specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform the same, 
and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain subject to the 
provisions of existing laws) shall be appointed without regard to party 
affihation or to residence at the time of appointment except as hereinafter 
provided. 

Sect. 10 and Sect. 11, concerning approval by the civil service commis- 
sion of appointments by the mayor, repealed by chapter 167, Acts of 1930. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions of 
said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 
for terms of four years beginning with the first day of May of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the mayor. 

Sect. 14. The mayor may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by filing a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copy of which shall be delivered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reply in writing, which, if he desires, may be 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not afTect the action taken 
unless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed bj' the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 
year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby abolished, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such ap- 
pointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the cause 
for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, nor involve the city in any contract 
for the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the 
provisions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 



The Finance Commission. 

Sect. 17. Within sixty days after the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance com- 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 

mission to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 
city of Boston, who shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for 
four years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, 
and thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for 
a term of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the 
unexpired term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. 
The members of said commission may be removed by the governor with 
the advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem suffi- 
cient. The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual 
salary shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly install- 
ments by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 

Sect. IS. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the 
city of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that 
may appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report 
thereon from time to time to the mayor, the city council, the governor, or 
the general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 
the same seems to him to be of doubtful validity, excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum 
of forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission and 
the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the expenses 
as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The commission 
shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its appro- 
priation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabling the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable the 
mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive the 
reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordinances, 
or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission shall have 
all the powers and duties enumerated in chapter five hundred and sixty-two 
of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and therein conferred 
upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel for any witness at 
any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question and may offer 
pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross-examination 
by the commission and its counsel. 

The City Clerk. 
Sect. 22. The present city clerk shall hold office for the term for 
which he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen 

* Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acts 
of 1924. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

and qualified. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third 
year thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members 
of the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 
duly chosen and qualified unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The City Auditor. 

Sect. 23. All accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection and 
revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such form 
as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person presenting 
for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to make oath 
before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy of such 
account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shaU be perjury 
and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse to pay, in 
whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent or unlawful 
and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons for the 
refusal. 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any officer 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or delivered to said officer or board, a duplicate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted to 
him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any of 
the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened. 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for that 
department, and he shall furnish to the mayor and city council a state- 
ment of the unexpended balances of all the departments. He shall furnish 
quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing the amount 
of money expended by the mayor and the city council for contingent 
expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* All loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual instalments in the manner authorized by 
section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as amended 
by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be established 
for said loan. All bonds shall be offered for sale in such a manner that the 
premiums, if any are received, shall be applied in accordance with the 
provisions of chapter three hundred and seventy-nine of the acts of the 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910, and Chap. 165, Acts 
of 1911. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

year nineteen hundred and ten. No city or county money shall be de- 
posited in any bank or trust company of which any member of the board 
of sinking fund commissioners of said city is an officer, director, or agent. 
Nothing herein shall apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston issued 
under the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construction of 
tunnels and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commission, and 
said bonds may be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking fund. 

Sect. 27.* Every officer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall, on or before the sixth day of 
January, in the year nineteen hundred and thirty-nine and on or before 
the sixth day of January in each year thereafter, prepare and furnish to 
the city auditor a list of the officials and employees under said officer or 
board and paid by the city or county on the first day of such January; 
and every such officer and board shall, on or before the sixth day of June, 
in each of the years nineteen himdred and thirty-eight to nineteen hun- 
dred and forty-three, inclusive, prepare and furnish to the city auditor a 
list of such officials and employees paid by the city or coimty on the first 
day of such June. Such lists shall give the names, residence by street 
and ward, designation, compensation, and date of election or appoint- 
ment of each of said officials and employees and the date when each first 
entered the employ of the city or county. It shall be the duty of the 
city auditor to verify said lists by the pay rolls and to keep a copy of said 
lists open for public inspection, and to prepare and publish in the City 
Record, in the year nineteen hundred and thirty-nine and annually there- 
after, a comparative table containing the number of such officials and 
employees holding office or employed in each such department or board 
and paid by the city or county on the first day of January in each of the 
ten years next preceding such publication; and, in addition, in each of 
the years nineteen himdred and thirty-eight to nineteen hundred and 
forty-three, inclusive, he shall prepare and publish in the City Record, a 
comparative table showing the number of such officials and employees 
holding office or employed in each such department or board and paid 
by the city or county on the first day of June in each of the ten years 
next preceding such publication. Each such comparative table of the 
number of such officials and employees paid by the city or county on the 
first day of January, in any year, shall be so published not later than 
during the first week in the month of March next following; and each 
such comparative table of the number of such officials and employees 
paid by the city or county on the first day of Jime, in each of the years 
nineteen hundred and thirty-eight to nineteen hundred and forty-three, 
inclusive, shall be so published not later than during the first week in the 
month of August next following. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in the 

* Sect. 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, Chap. 133, 
Acts of 1922, and Chap. 263, Acts of 1938. 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

public ways, the issue of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage of 
gasoline, oil, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction 
or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, 
poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or illuminating 
purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commissioners, to be 
exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the mayor; and 
the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by ordinance the 
terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon which permits or 
licenses for the storage of gasoline or oil, or other inflammable substances 
or explosive compounds, and the construction or use of coal holes, vaults, 
bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over the pubhc ways shall be 
issued. 

Sect. 29.* Within ninety days after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and sold 
under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved by the mayor a paper to be known as the City 
Record. All advertising with reference to the sale of property for nonpay- 
ment of taxes shall appear exclusively in the City Record. All other adver- 
tising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the purchase or 
taking of land, contracts for work, materials or supplies, and the sale of 
bonds, shall appear in said paper, and in such newspaper or newspapers as 
the mayor, in his discretion, may order; a list of all contracts of one 
thousand dollars or more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the 
amount of the bids; appointments by the mayor; and changes in the 
number and compensation of employees in each department, shall be 
published in the City Record. Failure to pubhsh in such newspaper or 
newspapers as the mayor may order shall not invalidate any purchase, 
contract or sale made or action taken by the city. The proceedings of the 
city council and school committee together with all communications from 
the mayor, shall be published in the City Record. 

Sect. 30. f Every officer or board in charge of a department in said 
city and every officer, board or official of the county of Suffolk having 
power to incur obligations on behalf of said county in cases where said 
obligations are to be paid for wholly from the treasury of said city, when 
authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes in an 
existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, each 
contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about to do 
any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which alone, or in 
conjunction with other simOar work or purchase which might properly be 
included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one thousand dollars, 
shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do otherwise, invite 
proposals therefor by advertisements in the City Record. Such advertise- 
ments shall state the time and place for opening the proposals in answer to 
said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the officer, board or 

* Sect. 29 as amended by Chap. 185, Acts of 1934. 
t Sect. 30 as amended by Chap. 156, Acts of 1939. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

official to reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense with 
advertising shaU be given by the mayor unless the said officer, board or 
official furnishes him with a signed statement which shall be published 
in the City Record giving in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by 
advertisement. 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval of 
the mayor, the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, may 
take in fee for any municipal purpose, any land within the limits of the city, 
not already appropriated to pubhc use. Whenever the price proposed to 
be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than twenty-five 
per cent higher than its average assessed valuation during the previous 
three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but shall be taken by 
right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner provided for the 
taking of and the payment of damages for land for highways in said city. 
No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan or otherwise for the 
general purpose for which land is needed shall have been made by the mayor 
and city council by a two thirds vote of all its members; or in case of land 
for school purposes by the school committee and schoolhouse department 
in accordance with law; nor shall a price be paid in excess of the appropria- 
tion, unless a larger sum is awarded by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
All proceedings in the taking of land shall be under the advice of the law 
department, and a record thereof shall be kept by said department. 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. f The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first and 
shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the municipal year 
shall begin on the first Monday in January and shall continue until the 
first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all mem- 
bers of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
years each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the school 
committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of January follow- 
ing their election. 

Sect. 34. In Boston, beginning with the current year, political com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the municipal 
primaries. 

* Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Sect. 45. f Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall 
be elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first 
Monday in January following his election and until his successor is chosen 
and quahfied. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap. 94. 

Sect. 47. t If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, 
the city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve 
for the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time 
there shaU be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election 
for the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall 
not apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which 
a new mayor is elected and the date he takes office. In the case of the 
decease, inabiUty, absence, or resignation of the mayor, and whenever 
there is a vacancy in the office from any cause, the president of the city 
council, while said cause continues or until a mayor is elected, shall per- 
form the duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause 
to perform such duties they shall be performed, until the mayor or president 
of the city council returns or is able to attend to said duties by such mem- 
ber of the city council as that body may elect, and until such election by 
the city clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be 
called "acting mayor" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only 
in matters not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make per- 
manent appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections 8, 9, and 13 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

Sect. 8. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote upon 
the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the official 
ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the space 
at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. No ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such space. 

Plan No. 1. A city council of fifteen members to consist of three 
members to be elected for two year terms by and from the voter s of each of 
five boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at 
a salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of five hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



* * * * Sections 35 to 44, inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 

t Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, 
Acts of 1924, and Chap. 300, Acts of 1938, which was accepted by the 
voters at the municipal election November 7, 1939. 

JSect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 27 

Plan No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Sect. 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 13. t If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty- 
one, and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 48.J Beginning with the biennial mimicipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shall be elected at each regular 
municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward one 
councillor to serve for two years from the first Monday in January follow- 
ing his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49. § Each member of the city council shall be paid an annual 
salary of two thousand dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from the 
city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly or in- 
directly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. || The city council shall be the judge of the election and 
quaHfications of its members; shaU elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election 
in his ward to fiU such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member 
eldest in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of 
the absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. All elections by the city council under any provision of law 
shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answering 
to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 
stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or declining to vote 
as the case may be, and the clerk or other proper officer shall record every 
such A'ote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as aforesaid. 

* * * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, are omitted because inoperative. 

t Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 
4, 1924. 

X Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

§ Sect. 49 as amended by Chap. 348, Acts of 1930, which was accepted 
by the voters at the State Election, November 4, 1930. 

II Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



28 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

Sect. 53.* Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the eighth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers, prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said election, 
signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at least 
two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candi- 
date at said election, and signed in person for the nomination for city coun- 
cillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, for which 
said nomination is sought, quahfied to vote for such candidate at said 
election, shall be filed with said election commissioners and the signatures 
on the same to the number required to make the nomination subsequently 
certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter provided. Said 
nomination papers shall be in substantially the following form: 



COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS. 
CITY OF BOSTON. 
NOMINATION PAPER. 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified to 
vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law, 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
election to be held in the City of Boston on November ,19 



Name of Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence, 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATURES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of candi- 
dates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In case 
of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after written 
acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we authorize 

* Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37, 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479. Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925; 
Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; and Chap. 472, Acts of 1941. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 



29 



(names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority thereof 
as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed by law. 



Signatures of Nom- 
inators. 
To be made in person. 



Residence 
January 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence, 



ACCEPTANCE OF NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

I (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political com- 
mittee or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may be) do 
hereby make oath that the persons whose names appear on this paper as 
nominators signed the same in person. 



(Voter's Residence.) 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
Suffolk, ss. Boston, 19 

Then personally appeared who, I am satisfied, 

is (the candidate named in this paper, an officer of his political committee, 
or the person who circulated this paper, as the case may .be) and made 
oath that the foregoing statement by him subscribed is true, and that 
his voting residence is 

Before me, 



Notary Public or Justice of the Peace. 

The affidavit above set forth shall be sworn to before any officer qualified 
to administer oaths. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day 
of election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be 
ineligible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five 
persons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so author- 
ized in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include 
candidates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many 
nomination papers for each office to be filled as there are persons to be 

* Sect. 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1921; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; and 
Chap. 472, Acts of 1941. 



30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

elected thereto and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the 
board of election commissioners on and after but not before the eleventh 
Tuesday preceding the regular municipal election. Such papers shall 
be issued only to candidates who shall file with the election commissioners 
requests therefor in writing, containing their names with the first or 
middle name in full, the offices for which they are candidates, and their 
residences, with street and number, if any. Forthwith the election com- 
missioners shall print or insert on such nomination papers the names of 
the candidates, the offices for which they are nominated and their resi- 
dences, with street and number, if any. Not more than three hundred 
such nomination papers shall be issued to any candidate for mayor, and 
not more than two hundred such nomination papers shall be issued to 
any candidate for the school committee and to any candidate for the city 
council there shall be issued not more than ten such nomination papers 
for a ward. No nomination papers except those issued in accordance 
with the provisions of this section shall be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55.* Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56.1 The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall, when filed, be a matter of public record; but the nomination papers 
shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been filed, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. m. on the thirty- 
fourth day preceding the city election. Such certification shall not pre- 
clude any voter from filing objections as to the validity of the nomination. 
All withdrawals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twenty-eighth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p.m. on the twenty-seventh day preceding the city 
election. 

Sect. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
with law together with his residence and the title and term of the office for 
which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the munici- 
pal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 
upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 

* Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921. 

t Sect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; and Chap. 472, Acts of 1941. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 31 

board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal election 
shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or mark, 
and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any such 
party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he was 
nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59. f On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions, blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of munici- 
pal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be applicable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting elec- 
tions and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under the 
provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said city. 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act shall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of Boston, 
except that nomination papers for offices to be fiUed at such elections shall 
be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day following the 
calling of said special election. Every special municipal election shall be 
held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more than ninety days 
after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts, so far as inconsistent with this act, 
are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so far as 
inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. All acts and parts of acts 
affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61 inclusive were accepted by the voters at the state 
election, November 2, 1909. 

Plan No. 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1924. 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
January 4, 1926. 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



32 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS 

IN CHARGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute or ordinance. (See 
Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 







Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 


Officials. 


How 
Created. 










By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length, 


Appeal, Board of (Five) 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Annually, 
one 


May 1... 


5 yrs. 


Art Commission (Five) 


u 


.( 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 " 


Assessors (Five) 


li 


It 


Annually, 
one 


April 1 . . 


5 " 


Auditor 


Ord 

a 


II 


* 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


* 
« 1.. 


* 


Budget Commissioner, 


4 " 


Building Commissioner, 
City Clerk 


Statute. . . 

u 

Ord 


City 
Council. . 

Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Triennially, 

Annually, 
two 


" 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Jan.. 

May 1 . . 


4 " 


City Planning Board 
(Nine) 


3 « 




5 " 


Collector 


Statute. . . 


11 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Corporation Counsel . . . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 


" ... 


Quadren- 
nially 

Annually, 
one 

Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 

April 1 . . 
May 1 . . 


4 " 


Examiners, Board of 
(Three) 


4 " 




3 " 



* Position placed under Civil Service by vote of electorate, November 2, 1943. 



CHIEF OFFICIALS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 33 





How 
Created. 


Appointed 


OR Elected. 


Term. 


Officials. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


May 1 . . 


4yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Hospital Trustees 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 






5 " 


Institutions Commis- 
sioner 


Ord 


it 


Quadren- 
nially ... 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Library Trustees (Five) 


u 


u 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 


5 « 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






3 " 


Penal Institutions Com- 
missioner 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Printing, SupA-intend- 
ent of 


» 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Public Buildings, 
Superintendent of 


u 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Welfare Trus- 
tees (Twelve) 


statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3 " 


Public Works, Com- 
missioner of 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 « 


Registrar, City 


Statute. . . 


u 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Retirement Board 
(Three) 


ii 


(1 




Sept. 1 . . 


4 « 


Sinking Funds Com- 
missioners (Six) 


u 


u 


Annually, 
two 


May 1 . . 


3 " 



34 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officials, 

Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missioner 

Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 

Street Commissioners 
(Three) 

Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 

Traffic Commissioners 
(Five) 

Transit Commissioners 
(Three) 

Treasurer 

Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 

Zoning Adjustment, 
Board of (Twelve), . , . 



How 

Created. 



Appointed or Elected. 



By Whom, When 



Term. 



Begins. Length 



Statute. 



Ord. 



Statute. 

Ord..... 

Statute. 

Ord.... 

Statute. 



Mayor . 



Mayor , 



Quadren- 
nially . . 



Annually, 
one 



Annually, 
one 



Quadren- 
nially . . 



May 1 



« 1. 



IstMon. 
in Jan. . 



May 1 



Annually, 
one 



Quadren- 
nially . , . 



May 1. 



" 1. 



Annually, 
two .... 



May 1 . . 



4 yrs. 



5 « 



3 " 



4 « 



3 « 

4 « 



5 " 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 35 



EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 

Office, 27 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C, Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 280, 
367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274, 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184, 348; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453, 479; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167; Stat. 1938, Chap. 300.] 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
Thomas P. McCtjsker, Chief Secretary. 
Thomas A. Flaherty, Federal Relations Officer. 
Angelo V. Berlandi, Assistant Secretary. 
Eileen M. Shea, Assistant Secretary. 
Joseph L. Breen, Assistant Secretary. 
Ellen Shine, Assistant Secretary. 
J. Murray Page, Assistant Secretary. 
Frank R. Whelton, Assistant Secretary. 
William A. Moriarty, Assistant Secretary. 
Arthur C. Carey, Chief Clerk, 
Vincent J. Shanley, Messenger. 
John J. Spencer, Chief, lAcensing Division. 
Edward J. Noonan, Clerh. 
Katherine L. Callahan, Clerk. 
John F. Tirrell, Constable. 
Veronica Nagle, Telephone Operator, 
*Thomas G. Freeley, Messenger, 

public celebrations, conventions, and distinguished visitors. - 
Bernard J. McCabe, Acting Director. 
Lawrence B. O'Connor, Clerk. 

the city record. 

Office, 40 City Hall. 

Joshua H. Jones, Editor. 

P. Nicholas Petkocelli, Associate Editor. 

* On military leave of absence. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Faneuil Hall. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 11 ; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 87.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Robert P. Bellows, Chairman. 
Daniel Sargent, Secretary. 

commissioners. * 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1945. 

Daniel Sargent, named by the Trustees of the Public Library. Term 
ends in 1946. 

Mary Evangeline Walker, named by Boston Art Club. Term 
ends in 1947. 

William Emerson, named by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1948. 

Robert P. Bellows, named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term ends in 1949. 

The Art Department, established in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each year one of the following- 
named bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the 
Trustees of the Boston Pubhc Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of 
Architects, submits a list of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor 
appoints one person as Art Commissioner from each of the hsts so submitted. 
Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the Mayor appoints 
his successor from a list selected by the body which made the original 
selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of the 
Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. Moreover, all 
contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, statue, 
bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be made by said 
Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval of the 
Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned by the 
City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 37 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 
8; G. C, Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
89; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87, 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410; Stat. 1938, Chap. 257.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edward T. Kelly, Chairman. 
John P. Doherty, Secretary. 

ASSESSORS. 

John P. O'Hearn. Term ends March 31, 1945. ^ 

Thomas A. Dowd. Term ends March 31, 1946. 

Edward T. Kelly. Term ends March 31, 1947. 

John M. Hayes. Term ends March 31, 1948. 

John J. Walsh. Term ends March 31, 1944. 

DEPUTY assessors. 

Henry T. Hartmere. Thomas J. Murphy. 

John J. O'Connor *Francis J. McFarland. 

Paul J. Oswald. 
John J. Chapman, Deputy Assessor (Military Substitute). 

Jeremiah A. Coakley, Chief Clerk. 

W. P. A. Maxwell, Acting Assistant Chief Clerk. 

"The Mayor of the City shall assign five assessors to hold office for 
terms of one, two, three, four and five years, respectively, from the first 
day of April, 1938. As the term of each assessor expires, the Mayor, in 
like manner, shall appoint his successor for a term of five years from the 
1st day of April in the year of appointment." . . . 
"The Mayor shall designate the Chairman of the Board." 
The Assessors pubHshed annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 

* On military leave of absence. 



38 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

ASSISTANT ASSESSORS. 

[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, § 2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord. 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1925, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 20 City Hall, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§ 3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6; Ord. 1934, Chap. 6.] 
Charles J. Fox, City Avdiior. 
Daniel J. Falvey, Deputy City Auditor. 

The office of Auditor was estabUshed by ordinance on August 2, 1824. 
Under provisions of Chapter 414 of the Acts of 1941, the office of City 
Auditor was placed under Civil Service on November 2, 1943, by a refer- 
endum vote of 60,139 to 12,409. 

The office of Deputy City Auditor was established by ordinance on July 
11, 1934. 

Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been pub- 
lished by the Auditor since 1825. Less complete reports were pub- 
lished by finance committees from 1811 to 1824, inclusive. Since June 1, 
1867, the Auditor has published monthly exhibits of aU City, School, and 
County expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk, Secretary of 
the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds, and a member of the Board 
of Trustees of the George Robert White Fund. (Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 
3, 6.) 

BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 
Office, 43 City Hall, third floor. 
[Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, Section 20; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 350; Stat. 1927, Chap. 220; Stat. 1928. Chaps. 70, 137; Stat. 
1929, Chap. 88; Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 16, 180; 
Stat. 1932, Chap. 143; Stat. 1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chap. 210; 
Stat. 1936, Chap. 240; Stat. 1941, Chap. 373.] 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 



39 



OFFICIALS. 

* Frederic H. Fat, Chairman. 
Eliot N. Jones, Vice-Chairman. 
Elisabeth M. Herlihy, Secretary. 



Members. 


Nominated by 


Term ends in 


Frederic H. Fay,* Chairman, 
Thomas F Kelly 


Appointed by Mayor 




Boston Central Labor Union 


1944 


Clifford N Cann 


United Improvement Association 

Team Owners' Association 


1943 


.Tnhn FT Gilbodv 


1943 


TTerhert G Perrv 


Boston Real Estate Exchange 


1947 


Elliot N Jones . . 


Boston Chamber of Commerce 


1946 




Master Builders' Association 


1946 


John A. Breen 


Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange .... 
/Boston Society of Architects \ 


1945 






Dana Somes 


\Boston Society of Landscape Architects.../ 

Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

Associated Industries of Massachusetts. . . 
City Planning Board 


1945 




1944 


Everett F. Gray 


1947 


WiUiam Stanley Parker 


Ex officio 







The Board consists of twelve members, the Chairman of the City Plan- 
ning Board, ex officio, and eleven members, appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated by 
each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Exchange, Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association, 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association, and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. AU appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of ofEce is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation. Any petition 
for changing the zoning map must be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five doUars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the Board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all property deemed by 
the Board to be affected, change the boundaries of districts by changing 
the zoning map on file at the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs 

* Died June 5, 1944. 
t Died May 13, 1944. 



40 MUNICIPAL REGISTER, 

of a locality, to avoid undue concentration of population, to provide ade- 
quate light and air, to lessen congestion in streets, to secure safety from fire, 
panic and other dangers, to facilitate the adequate provision of transporta- 
tion, water, sewerage, and other pubUc requirements and to promote the 
health, safety, convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the City of 
Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two-thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, bring a petition in the Supreme Judicial Court for the 
County of Suffolk for a writ of certiorari setting forth that such decision 
is in whole or part not in accordance with the duties and powers of the 
Board. 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 
Office, 65 City Hall. 

[Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390; Stat. 1933, Chap. 243; Stat. 1937, Chap. 163; Stat, 1939, 
Chap. 131; Stat. 1943, Chap. 204.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 
J. George Herlihy, Secretary. 
Wm. D. Kenney, Executive Officer. 
George E. Willard, Chief Clerk. 

THE BOARD. 

James J. McCarthy (ex officio). 

J. George Herlihy. Term ends Sept. 1, 1945. 

Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends Sept. 1, 1944. 

The Boston Retirement System was established on Feb. 1, 1923, as 
provided by Chap. 521, enacted in June, 1922, and accepted by Mayor and 
City Council in August, 1922. It is administered by a board of three mem- 
bers, the City Treasurer, ex officio, one person appointed by the Mayor, 
and the third member chosen by the other two. The compensation of the 
members is $10 each for every meeting attended, but not over $500 in any 
one year. After the original appointments, the term of each appointive 
member is four years. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 41 

BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 

Office, 134 North Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

William P. Hickey, Commissioner. 



OFFICIALS. 

William P. Hickey, Chairman. Term ends April 30, 1944. 

ASSOCIATE commissioners.* 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Police Commissioner. 
George G. HyiiANd, Commissioner of Public Woi-ks. 
William P. Long, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
John A. Donoghtje, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 

Marie A. Maher, Secretary. 

engineering division. 
Philip T. Desmond, Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The Act establishing the commission became effective April 30, 1929, 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City Council, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, experts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The conxmission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 
vehicles on, and their exclusion from, aU or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devices for the 
control of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public 
as to the rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

The latest revision of the Traffic Regulations contains 393 one-way 
streets and 512 no-parking streets. The commission maintains 163 
traffic signals, including two (2) interconnected systems in down-town 
Boston, 9,000 traffic signs and 93 traffic officers' spotUghts. One hundred 
and twenty (120) miles of white lines painted in the roadway, including 
crosswalks, center lines, lane lines and stop lines, are maintained by the 
commission. Eight hundred and fifty (850) loading zones, requiring 
18,000 feet of painted curb, are maintained. Fees amounting to $9,000 
are collected for the establishment and maintenance of these loading 
zones. 

* Ex officiis. 



42 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT, 

Offices, 70-72 City Hall, sixth floor. 
[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Old. 1927, Chap. 3; Stat. 1930, 
Chap. 400; Stat. 1931, Chap. 301; Stat. 1941, Chaps. 447, 604.] 
Herman L. Bush, Budget Commissioner. Term ends April 30, 1946. 
Francis X. Lang, Technical Assistant. 

John A. Sullivan, Executive Clerk. 

The Budget Department was established by ordinance in 1917. It was 
established as a result of the report and recommendations of a commission 
which had been appointed "to investigate and report upon ' the expediency 
of adopting a segregated form of budget for the departments for which 
the city makes appropriations from taxes or revenues' including the 
departments under the control of the mayor, the school committee and the 
schoolhouse department, the county departments, and the departments 
in charge of officials appointed by the governor." That commission was 
appointed pursuant to an order passed by the City Council on June 7, 
1915, and approved by the Mayor on June 8, 1915. Its report was made 
under date of October 1, 1915. 

When the Budget Department was established it was placed in charge 
of the Budget Commissioner. General supervision over all matters relating 
or incidental to the appropriations and budgets of all municipal depart- 
ments, with the exception of a very few departments not directly under the 
control of the Mayor, was placed in the jurisdiction of the Budget Com- 
missioner. 

The Budget Commissioner, under the direction of the Mayor, prepares 
in segregated form the annual and all supplementary budgets to be sub- 
mitted by the Mayor to the City Council. The Commissioner also pre- 
pares annually forms of estimate sheets to be used by each officer, board, 
commission and department, and each division of a department, for 
which the city appropriates money. He also prepares the form of monthly 
report of such officer, board, commission and department, and each 
division thereof, showing expenditures to date of all appropriations by 
item. The Budget Commissioner also reports to the Mayor on all sub- 
sequent revisions of the items in the budget. 

Each department head annually on or before November first submits to 
the Budget Commissioner departmental budget estimates on sheets fur- 
nished by the Budget Department. The Budget Commissioner investi- 
gates and considers all such estimates in detail and confers with the several 
department heads concerning their estimated requirements. The Budget 
Commissioner thereafter estabhshes tentative budget allowances to each 
department and submits such tentative budget allowances to the Mayor, 
with such recommendations as the Budget Commissioner deems advisable. 
The Mayor, after conference with the Budget Commissioner and the 
several department heads, concerning the department estimates, the 
tentative allowances, and the recommendations of the Budget Commis- 
sioner, makes final decisions on all budget allowances. The entire and 
formal budget is prepared by the Budget Commissioner in accordance with 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 43 

those decisions of the Mayor. The budget in its entirety is then sub- 
mitted by the Mayor to the City Council with an appropriate explanatory 
message, which recommends the adoption of the budget by that body. 

The City Council refers the budget to its committee on appropriations. 
The appropriations committee holds public hearings on the individual 
items of each department budget. It hears the several department heads 
on the details of their department budgets. The Budget Commissioner 
attends the hearings of the appropriations committee prepared to furnish 
such information and give such assistance as may be requested by the 
committee or the department heads. 

On the completion of the hearings of the appropriations committee, 
that committee reports to the entire Coimcil on the proposed budget. 
Thereupon the City Council acts on that report and the recommendations 
of its committee on appropriations. The City Coimcil may by law 
decrease any item in the budget submitted to it by the Mayor, but is 
without power to increase any item in it. Upon the adoption of the budget 
by the City Coimcil and its approval by the Mayor, the appropriations 
contained in the budget are established for the fiscal year ending on the 
December thirty-first next following its adoption and approval, which 
the statutes now require shall be not later than the first Monday in April . 

On occasions it becomes necessary during the fiscal year to transfer 
funds from one item to another in the budgets of the several departments. 
When such a transfer is deemed advisable or necessary by a department 
head, the department head makes a written request of the Budget Com- 
missioner for such transfer. After consideration of such requests, the 
Budget Commissioner refers them to the Mayor for submission to the 
Council for its action. The transfers become operative only when they 
are adopted by the Council and approved by the Mayor. 

In compliance with the provisions of Chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930, 
"Compensation and Classification Plans for the Officers and Employees 
of Suffolk County" were adopted by the City Council on April 13, 1931, 
and approved by the Mayor on April 15, 1931. By virtue of that statute 
and those "plans" and their respective amendments, the Budget Com- 
missioner is empowered to pass upon all promotions, transfers, new appoint- 
ments, and the compensation of the personnel of Suffolk County. These 
"plans" establish the Budget Commissioner as the Personnel Director of 
Suffolk County. The records required to comply with the provisions of 
these plans are compiled by and maintained in the Budget Department 
under the supervision of the Budget Commissioner. These records 
include, among others, an official roster of each officer and employee in 
the service of Suffolk County, their classification title, rate of pay, a record 
of each change of their status, and such other relevant information as the 
Budget Commissioner deems advisable for the maintenance of a proper 
record of the personnel of Suffolk County. 

In addition to the records of the county personnel, there is also kept 
in the Budget Department a complete alphabetical index of the permanent 
personnel of the City of Boston, likewise compiled and maintained under 
the supervision of the Budget Commissioner. 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

BUILDING DJ:PARTMENT. 
Offices 901-910 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 

James H. Mooney, Building Commissioner. 

John H. Glover, Clerk of Department. 

Dennis J. Keohane, Supervisor of Construction. 

Edward M. O'Flaherty, Supervisor of Construction. 

Thomas L. Flynn, Chief, Zoning Division. 

Charles B. McMackin, Chief, Egress Division. 

David Hastie, Chief, Plan Division. 

Edward Lamphier, Chief, Elevator Division. 

John F. Murphy, Supervisor of Plumbing. 

Frank J. Riley, Supervisor of Gasfitting. 

Henry J. Clayton, Fire Protection Engineer. 
The Board of Appeal {i. e., appeal from the decisions of the Building 
Commissioner), although appointed by the Mayor, is nominated by the 
leading real estate and builders' organizations. (See "Board of Appeal," 
pages 45, 46.) 

It is the duty of the Building Commissioner to issue permits for and 
inspect the erection and alteration of buildings (including schoolhouses) 
in the City, and the setting of boilers, engines and furnaces; to keep a 
register of all persons licensed to take charge of constructing, altering, 
removing or tearing down buildings; to keep a register of the names of 
all persons carrying on the business of plumbing and gasfitting, and of 
all persons working at the business of gasfitting, and to conduct examina- 
tions and issue licenses to master and journeymen gasfitters; to issue 
permits for and inspect the plumbing and gasfitting in buildings; to 
inspect elevators in buildings and report upon elevator accidents; to 
issue licenses for operators of elevators; to inspect at least monthly all 
theaters and moving-picture houses, and semi-annually all halls or places 
for public assembly; to inspect existing tenement houses; to report on all 
fires in, and accidents in or to, buildings, to approve plans of new buildings 
and alterations, and to pass upon all questions of zoning. 



BUILDING CODE FOR THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chapter 550, Acts of the year 1907, as amended, ceased to exist as such 
on May 15, 1943 (with the exception of Section 138, "Powers of the 
Boston Board of Health"). 

On the same date. May 15, 1943, Chapter 479 of the year 1938, as 
amended, became the Building Code for the City of Boston. This Code 
is now subject to amendment by the Boston City Council, who have 
exercised this new prerogative and have published many essential changes. 



ZONING REGULATIONS. 
Nineteen sections of the zoning regulations have been changed in whole 
or in part; many of the changes have increased the so-called "protection" 
to property owners in several of the residential districts. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 45 



THE NEW CODE. 

Six different types of construction are provided for in the new code, 
classified according to use or occupancy. 

Egress and fire protection are given special attention. 

Chapters 544 and 546 of the Statutes of 1943 amend Chapter 143 of 
the General Laws; this has caused a tremendous increase in the duties 
of the Egress Division. 

A study of the number of examinations and inspections made by the 
Egress Division indicates that there will probably be in excess of 7,500 
examinations for the year 1944. 



BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 
Office, 909 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1912, Chap. 713; Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; 
Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1925, Chap. 5; Stat. 1938, Chap. 479, 
as amended by Ord. 1943.] 

OFFICIALS. 

John Guarino, Chairman. 

Mary C. Dowd, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

John T. McMorrow. Term ends in 1944. 
John Guarino. Term ends in 1945. 

J. Frederick McNeil. Term ends in 1946. 

The Board of Examiners was established in 1912 as an adjunct of the 
Building Department, to consist of three members, appointed by the 
Mayor. The duties of these examiners are to determine the qualifications 
of persons taking charge or control of the construction, alteration, removal 
or tearing down of buildings; to register and classify those who are com- 
petent according to fitness, and certify such to the Building Commissioner. 
Each examiner is to receive ten dollars for every day or part thereof of 
actual service, but not more than $1,200 is to be paid the Chairman, or 
more than $1,000 each of the other members. 

The fees to be paid to the Board are: for new license, $5; for each 
annual renewal, $2; for special license, $1. 



BOARD OF APPEAL. 
Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Statute 1938, Chap. 479, § 117 as amended by City Ordinance of 1943, 
§ 42 (Building Code); Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, § 19 as amended by 
Stat. 1941, Chap. 373, § 18 (Zoning Law).] 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS. 

William H. Ellis, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

A. Francis O'Toole. Term ends in 1944. 

Daniel G. Slattery. Term ends in 1945. 

Merton p. Ellis. Term ends in 1946. 

James A. McElaney. Term ends in 1947. 

William H. Ellis. Term ends in 1948. 
The Board consists of five members appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner: One member from two candidates, one to be nominated 
by the Boston Real Estate Exchange and one by the Massachusetts Real 
Estate Exchange; one member from two candidates, one nominated by 
the* Boston Society of Architects and one by the Boston Society of Civil 
Engineers; one member from three candidates, one to be nominated by 
the Master Builders' Association, one by the Building Trades Employers' 
Association and one by the Building Contractors' Association of Massa- 
chusetts, Inc. ; one member from two candidates nominated by the Build- 
ing Trades Coimcil of Boston and vicinity; and one member selected 
by the Mayor. The term of office is five years. Each member is paid 
$10 per diem for actual service, but not more than S1,000 in any one year 
under the Act. 

Any applicant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
application has been refused in re building law or in re zoning law may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days, and a person who has been ordered 
to incur expense may within thirty days after receiving such order (or 
in the case of its being a hazardous condition in the opinion of the Building 
Commissioner within ten days) appeal to the Board of Appeal by giving 
notice in writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled 
by the Board after a hearing. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 31 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 

Wilfred J. Doyle, City Clerk. Term ends in 1947. 
John B. Hynes, Assistant City Clerk. 
The City Clerk is elected by the City Council for the term of three 
years. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of all city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments of 
wages, and other instruments, issues licenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 47 

The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, respectively, Clerk and 
Assistant Clerk of the City Council. 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41 , § 18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant City Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 43 City HaU, third floor. 
[Stat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12; 
Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 12; 
Ord. 1940, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

William Stanley Parker, Chairman. 
Ernest A. Johnson, Vice-Chairman. 
Frank H. Mallet, Executive Director. 
Mary T. Downey, Secretary. 

THE board. 

Thomas J. Turley. Term ends in 1945. 

Mary M. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1946. 

Ernest A, Johnson. Term ends in 1946. 

Joseph A. Mitceeell. Term ends in 1947. 

Alfred Beck, Jr. Term ends in 1947. 

Prof. Emil a. Gramstorff. Term ends in 1948, 

William Stanley Parker. Term ends in 1948. 

Elisabeth M. Herlihy. Term ends in 1949. 

Francis X. Lane. Term ends in 1949. 
Chapter 41 of the General Laws, Sections 70, 71 and 72, provides that 
every city and every town in the state having a population of more than 
10,000 shall, and towns having a population of less than 10,000 may, 
create a planning board which shall make careful studies of the resources, 
possibilities and needs of the town, particularly with respect to conditions 
injurious to the public health or otherwise in and about rented dwellings 
and make plans for the development of the municipality, with special 
reference to proper housing of its inhabitants. 

In January, 1914, an ordinance was passed by the Boston City Council 
establishing "The City Planning Board" consisting of five members, one 
of whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 

In April, 1940, an amendment to the above ordinance was passed by 
the City Council enlarging "The City Planning Board" from five to nine 
members, to include at least one engineer, one architect and one land- 
scape architect or city planner and a woman. The members of the Board 
shall serve for terms of five years, without compensation. 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888. Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 

Merritt Thompson, City Collector. 
The Collector collects and receives all taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any accoimt to the 
City of Boston or the County of Suffolk. He has the custody of all leases 
from the City. Annual reports have been pubUshed since 1876, also 
monthly statements. The Collector is also Coimty Collector. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
[Stat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, §78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65, 93, 114, 209, 288, 340, 387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105; Ord. 1938; Stat. 1938, Chap. 287; 
Stat. 1939, Chap. 450; Stat. 1941, Chap. 472.] 

OFFICIALS. 

William A. Motley, Jr., Chairman. 
Frederic E. Dowling, Secretary. 

commissioners. 

P'rancis B. McKinney. Term ends in 1944. 

Everett R. Prout. Term ends in 1945. 

William A. Motley, Jr. Term ends in 1946. 

Frederic E. Dowling. Term ends in 1947. 

One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 

beginning April 1. The two leading political parties must be equally 

represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually^by the 

Mayor. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 49 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other officers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 395. 

POLICE LISTING BOABD. 

Chapter 287 of the Acts of 1938 provides: "In Boston there shall be a 
listing board composed of the police commissioner of the city and the board 
of election commissioners. In case of disagreement between the members 
of the listing board, the chief justice of the municipal court of the city of 
Boston, or, in case of his disability, the senior justice of said court who is 
not disabled, shall, for the purpose of settling such disagreement, be a 
member of said listing board and shall preside and cast the deciding vote 
in case of a tie." 

The duties of said board are further provided for in Sections 8, 10, 11, 12, 
13, 14, 15, 16 of Chapter 29 of the Acts of 1917; and all other acts in 
amendment and addition thereto. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Building, Bristol Street. 
[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § § 9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap. 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1944, Chap. 10.] 

William Arthur Reilly, Fire Commissioner. Term ends in 1946. 

William D. Slattery, Executive Secretary of the Department. 

Samuel J. Pope, Chief of Department. 

Dennis J. Coughlin, Deputy Chief. 

John F. McDonough, Deputy Chief. 

William F. Quigley, Deputy Chief. 

Louis C. Stickel, Deputy Chief. 

Daniel Martell, Deputy Chief. 

Napeen Boutilier, Deputy Chief. 

Edward N. Montgomery, Deputy Chief. 

Albert L. O'Banion, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 

Bernard B. Whelan, Superintendent, Electrical Inspection Division. 

Walter C. Glynn, Superintendent, Maintenance Division. 



50 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge 
of 1 Conamissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 7 
Deputy Chiefs, 29 District Chiefs, 1 Chaplain, 1 Superintendent of Fire 
Alarm, 1 Superintendent of Maintenance, 1 Medical Examiner, 1 Engineer 
of Motor Vehicles, 82 Captains, 124 Lieutenants, 1,216 Engineers, Ap- 
paratus Operators, Masters, Aides, Hosemen, Laddermen, and Military 
Substitutes for Firemen, 32 Clerks, 24 Fire Alarm Operators, and 144 
Mechanics, Painters, Linemen, Repairers, Electricians, Workmen, and 
other employees. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Electrical 
Inspection Division), 1,703, of whom 245 are serving in the armed forces 
of the United States. 

There are 53 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 62 employees, oper- 
ating 1,801 signal |boxes, and a repair shop with 101 employees. Annual 
reports have been published since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of deputy chiefs, $4,500; district chiefs, $4,000; captains, 
$2,900; lieutenants, $2,700; apparatus operators, $2,400; first-year pri- 
vates, $1,800, with annual increase of $200 until the maximum of $2,300 
is reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. On May 2, 1944, it became the Electrical Inspection 
Division. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising and 
inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors, and substituting 
underground for overhead transmission. The Electrical Inspection 
Division is in charge of 1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Clerk, 6 Clerks, 1 Chief 
Inspector, 27 Inspectors, 1 Chauffeur. A total of 37 employees (included 
in above 1,703). 

Boston Firemen's Relief Fund. 
By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 
the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 
elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body for 
the purpose of holding and administering the Firemen's Relief Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 

Main office, 1108 City Hall Annex, eleventh floor. 
Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 448, 486; Stat. 
1913, Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3 and 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, phaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3; Ord. 1931. Chap. 2.] 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 51 



OFFICIALS. 

G, Lynde Gatelt, M. D., Health Commissioner. Term ends in 1944. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

DEPUTY COMMISSIONERS. 

* Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 

t Karl R. Bailey, M. D., Laboratory Division. 

George T. O'Donnell, M. D., Tuberculosis Division. 

Charles F. Wilinsky, M. D., Child Hygiene Division and Director of 

Health Units. 
Joseph W. Monahan, Vital Statistics Division. 
John F. Linehan, Inspector in Charge, Food Division. 

OTHER supervising OFFICERS. 

Leonard H. Higgins, Acting Inspector, In charge. Dairy Division. 

Frank E. Mott, Milk Inspector. 

Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under the 
special statute of February 13, 1799. It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 
service should pass from the control of the Health Department when the 
property was leased to the United States, in effect Jtme 1, 1915. 

On March 31, 1927, an Ordinance was enacted aboKshing the Boston 
Sanatorium Department and placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Matta- 
pan under the jurisdiction of the Trustees of the Boston City Hospital; 
all other powers and duties, as well as the Out-Patient Department, were 
transferred to the Health Commissioner by Chap. 1 of the Ordinances 
of 1927, as amended Feb. 16, 1931. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 

Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison Avenue. 

[Stat. 1858, Chap. 113; Stat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, 
§ 1; Stat. 1889, Chap. 366; Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Stat. 1893, 
Chap. 91; Stat. 1901, Chap. 518; Stat. 1906, Chap. 189; Stat. 1907, 
Chap. 248; Stat. 1908, Chap. 225; Stat. 1908, Chap. 627; Stat. 1909, 
Chap. 486; Stat. 1911, Chap. 167; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Spec. 
Stat. 1915, Chap. 190; Stat. 1921, Chap. 86; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, 
§ 18; Stat. 1924, Chap. 70; Stat. 1924, Chap. 352; Rev. Ord., 1925, 
Chap. 17; Ord. 1927, Chap. 1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Stat. 1928, 
Chap. 237; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167; Stat. 1931, Chap. 40; Stat. 1932, 
Chap. 215.] 

* On military leave of absence. John H. Cauley, M. D., Acting Deputy 
Commissioner. 

t On military leave of absence. Catherine Atwood, Bacteriologist, in 
charge. 



52 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

OFFICIALS. 

Carl Dreyfus, President. 

Martin J. English, M. D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

George A, Parker. Term ends in 1944. 

Carl Dreyfus. Term ends in 1945. 

Roger T. Doyle, M. D. Term ends in 1946. 

Martin J. English, M. D. Term ends in 1947. 

Stuart C. Rand. Term ends in 1948. 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on .Time 1, 1864, Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River Street, Mattapan 
(for tuberculous patients), and East Boston ReHef Station, 

Relief Stations were closed to patients on March 15, 1938; East Boston 
Relief Station was reopened as a Day Clinic on January 2, 1940. 

The Convalescent Home in Dorchester was closed in March, 1932. 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold real 
and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corporation to 
an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

hospital officers. 
James W. Manary, M. D. — Superintendent and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 
Charles H. Pelton, M. D, — Assistant Superintendent. 

SOUTH department. 

Medical Director. — James W. Manary, M. D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M, D. 
Executives. — Morris Prizer, M. D.; George I, Lythcott, II, M. D, 

SANATORIUM DIVISION. 

Assistant Superintendent. — -Frederick L. Bogan, M. D. 

RESIDENT medical STAFF. 

Executive Assistant. — John B. Andosca, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, First Assistant. — Charles A. Reese, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Second Assistant. — David S. Sherman, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Third Assistant. — Frederic Beale, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Fourth Assistant. — Elva R, Perez-Medina, M, D. 
Resident Surgeon. — 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 53 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 808-811 City Hall Annex. 

[Special Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; 

Ord. 1924, Chaps. 9, 10.] 

Hugh J. Campbell, Commissioner. Term ends in 1946. 

Helen A. Macdonald, Deputy Commissioner. 

The department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. January 1, 1944, there were 1,002 in the 
care of the institution, of whom 473 were in the hospital. The department 
controls about 167 acres and buildings on Long Island, valued at about 
$3,540,000. The steamer "Stephen J. O'Meara" is maintained for trans- 
portation service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 808 City Hall Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1944, the division had 
1,333 children in its care, was using 16 different institutions for medical 
care or special training, and 615 foster homes. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City HaU, receives and investigates 
appUcations for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres. 

LAW DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
[Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Ord. 1925, Chap. 19.] 
Frank J. Murray, Corporation Counsel. 
William J. Wallace, First Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Lewis H. Weinstein, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Samuel S. Dennis, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Charles S. Sullivan, Jr., Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
James A. Dorset, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

John J. Tobin, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Rudolph Robinson, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Kevin Hern, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* William T. Conlan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Robert D. Fielding, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Hirsh Freed, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
William S. Casey, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* David M. Owens, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* On military leave of absence. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

John J. Mahoney, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Herman Carp, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Joseph P. Graham, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
James W. Kelleher, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
George A. Verde, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

Harry Kalus, Assistant Corporation Counsel and Legislative Counsel. 
John J. Grigaltjs, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Edward S. Gerber, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Edmund J. Donlan, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Frederick W. Roche, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* James L. Vallely, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 

* Nathan Moger, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Richard Bisignani, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Jerome A. Polcari, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
John H. Louden, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
William A. McDermott, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Sidney Rosenberg, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Edmund E. Capodilupo, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Zangwill Sher, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Margaret G. O'Neill, Secretary. 

The office of "Attorney and Solicitor" was established in 1827; the 
office of City SoHcitor in 1846 and that of Corporation Counsel in 1881. 
The office of City SoHcitor was aboUshed and the department placed under 
the sole charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 

The Law Department consists of a Corporation Counsel, thirty-three 
assistants (eleven of whom are on leave of absence with the nation's armed 
forces), a medical supervisor and forty-two other employees (five of whom 
are on leave of absence with the nation's armed forces), comprising the 
investigating, tax title, secretarial and clerical staff. 

The Law Department has general charge of the legal work of the city, 
represents the city in all Utigation to which it is a party, prosecutes certain 
criminal proceedings, does the conveyancing work for the various munici- 
pal departments, performs the legal work incidental to tax title fore- 
closures, prepares and approves all municipal contracts and bonds, fur- 
nishes legal opinions to the Mayor, the City Council, and the various 
department heads and city officials, including the School Committee, on 
matters relating to the discharge of their official duties, prepares petitions 
for and drafts of legislation in which the city has an interest, and appears 
and represents the city before the various committees of the legislature 
and before other public boards, commissions and administrative agencies, 
including the Interstate Commerce Commission, and other Federal 
agencies, and the Appellate Tax Board and Department of Pubhc Utilities 
of Massachusetts. 

* On military leave of absence. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 55 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C. Title IV., Chap. 
23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116; Spec. 
Stat. 1931, Chap. 50.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Robert H. Lord, President. 
Frank W. Buxton, Vice-President. 
Elizabeth B. Brocktjnieb, Clerk. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1945. 

John L. Hall. Term ends in 1946. 

Robert H. Lord. Term ends in 1947. 

Ellert Sedgwick. Term ends in 1948. 

Abraham E. Pinanski. Term ends in 1949. 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in num- 
ber, are appointed by the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. 
They were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold real 
and personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This amount 
was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919 and to $20,000,000 in 1931. The first 
Trustees were appointed under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. The old 
Library Building on Boylston street was opened to the public in Septem- 
ber, 1858, and closed finally in January, 1895. The Central Library 
Building in Copley square, costing $2,756,384, was first opened on 
March 11, 1895. The Library is maintained by an annual appropriation 
included in the regular budget of the City Government. Of this appro- 
priation ($1,277,011 in 1943) $75,000 was used for the purchase of books 
and periodicals. The Library trust funds in the custody of the City 
Treasurer amounted to $4,118,776.77 on January 1, 1944. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been 
continued without interruption. 

LIBRARY SYSTEM. 

The Library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Business Branch at 20 City Hall avenue, the School Department at 
126 Tyler street, and thirty branch libraries with independent collections 
of books. There were on December 31, 1943, in the entire Library system, 
including mechanical departments, about 500 full-time employees. 

In addition to the service rendered through its Central Library and 
Branch Libraries, the Boston Public Library sent collections of books to 
601 school rooms in public and parochial schools and to 103 institutions, 
playgrounds, and engine houses in the City of Boston. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

For reading and reference the Library is open to all without formality. 
On December 31, 1943, there were 145,979 card holders having the right to 
draw books for home use. The total number of volumes was 1,732,395, 
including bound newspapers and periodicals. Books issued in 1943, 
for home use and for use through schools and institutions, numbered 
2,871,335. 

CENTRAL LIBRARY, COPLEY SQUARE. 

Lending and reference, 1,205,023 volumes. 

Bates Hall for reading and reference. About 10,000 volumes are on 
open shelves. 

Other Activities. The Fine Arts Department has a collection of 50,071 
illustrated books, portfolios, etc., a collection of photographs of archi- 
tecture, sculpture and painting, numbering 146,126, and 24,134 lantern 
slides. Free lectures, mostly on art and travel topics, and concerts 
are given during the winter season. The room for younger readers has 
over 11,000 volumes on open shelves for reading and circulation. A 
Teachers' Room is maintained, and reference books are reserved for use in 
connection with University Extension courses. Story telling for children 
is regularly conducted under expert direction at the Central Library and 
many branch libraries. On the ground floor of the Central Library near 
the main entrance are three rooms wherein is provided on open shelves, 
a classified collection of general literature for circulation, consisting of 
about 12,000 volumes. The Library is open from 9 a. m. to 10 p- m. 
daily; closed at 9 p. m. from June 1 to September 15; open Sundays from 
2 p. m. to 9 p. m. 

BUSINESS LIBRARIES. 

The Business Branch, in the Edward Kirstein Memorial Library build- 
ing at 20 City Hall avenue, contains a carefully selected collection of 
approximately 31,926 books on business and allied subjects, and is con- 
ducted with a view to serving the business interests of Boston. It is 
open on week days from 9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., and on Saturdays from 
9 a. m. to 1 p. m. It is closed all day Saturday during July and August. 

Through an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library 
of the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration has been 
made a branch of the Boston Public Library system. This library's 
collection of business material, including the collection of the Business 
Historical Association, is freely open to the public for reference. Hours^ 
9 a. m. to 10 p. m. on week days; 2 to 10 p. m. on Sundays. 

BRANCH LIBRARIES. 

The thirty branch libraries are open from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m. from Monday 
through Thursday. On Friday, the branches are open from 9 a. m. to 
6 p. m. On Saturday, the branches are open from 9 a. m. to 1 p. m. 
There is a variation of hours in summer. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 57 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 
Offices, 33 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Theodore G. Haffbnrbffer.* Term ends in 1945. 
William P. Long. Term ends in 1946. 
Frank R. Kellt.* Term ends in 1947. 

OFFICIALS. 

William P. Long, Chairman. 

Arthur J. O'Keefe, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

John J. Murphy, Deputy-Commissioner and Chief Engineer. 

William M. Mullen, Director of Recreation. 

Jambs A. Walsh, Chief Inspector, Cemetery Division. 

Daniel J. Harkins, Curator of Zoo. 

William J. O'Brien, Director of Aquarium. 

James E. Phelajst, General Foreman of Small Parks and Squares. 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875 . 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Grounds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 
and Recreation Department. In 1920, the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Department. 

A list of the statues was published in the 1932 Mimicipal Register. 

Parks, Etc., with Location, Area and Year Acquired, 
main park system. 

Acres. 
Arborway, Prince street to Frankhn Park, 1892 . . . . 36.00 
t Arnold Arboretum and Bussey Park, South, Centre and Walter 

streets, 1882, 1895 223.00 

Back Bay Fens, Beacon street to BrookUne avenue, 1877 . . 116.99 
Common, Tremont to Charles and Beacon to Boylston street, 

1634 t48.40 

Commonwealth avenue, Arlington street to Newton Une, 1894- 

1905 112.70 

Frankhn Park (1883-84) and Zoological Garden (1912), Seaver 

to Morton street and Blue Hill avenue to Forest Hills street, 527 . 00 

* Two commissioners serve without compensation. 
t Of this park, only the roads and walks are maintained by the City. 
t This area of the Common is exclusive of the old cemetery on Boylston 
street side, containing 1.40 acres. 



58 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 

Olmsted Park, Huntington avenue to Prince street, 1890 . . 180.00 

t Avenue Louis Pasteur, Longwood avenue to the Fenway, 1922, 3.19 
Public Garden, Charles to Arhngton and Beacon to Boylston 

street, 1823 24.25 

Riverway, Brookline avenue to Huntington avenue, 1890 . . 40.00 
West Roxbury Parkway, from Centre and Walter streets, near 
Arboretum, to Weld street, 1894, including Joyce KUmer 

Park, Centre street 75 . 47 

Total Acres, Main Park System 1,387.00 

MARINE PARK SYSTEM. 

Castle Island (formerly), now joined to mainland and a part of 

Marine Park Gand 25.70; flats 78.30), 1890 .... 104.00 
Columbia road TFranklin Park to Marine Park, City Point,! __ __ 

Dorchester way! 1892,1899 f 61.20 

Marine Park and Aquarium, Farragut road. City Point (land 

52.50; flats 4.90), 1883. (Aquarium, 1912.) .... 57.40 
Strandway and Columbus Park, Columbia road railroad bridge 
to City Point Gand 133.80; flats 131.50), 1890-1901 . . 265.30 

Total Acres, Marine Park System 457.90 



MISCELLANEOUS PARKS, 

* Irving W. Adams Park, Junction of Washington and South 

streets, Roslindale, 1919 0.78 

Berners square, Longwood avenue, Bellevue and Plymouth 

streets, Roxbury, 1901 1.31 

Charlesbank, Charles street, from Cambridge street to Leverett, 

1883 22.00 

xEnsign John J. Doherty, Jr., Bunker Hill and Medford streets 

(6.10), Dewey Beach (4.30), 1891 10.40 

Chestnut Hill Park, Beacon street and Commonwealth avenue, 

Brighton, 1898-1902 55.40 

JCopp's Hill terraces. Commercial and Charter streets, North 

End, 1893 0.60 

*WiUiam B. Corbett Park, between Washington and Claybourne 

streets, Dorchester, 1917 0.94 

Cummings Memorial Park, located partially in Woburn and 

Burlington, Mass 234.00 

Dorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 1891, 31 .47 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Acquired by Ordinance, Chap. 7 of 1922. 

t Children's playgroimd. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



. PARK DEPARTMENT. 59 

Acres. 

Franklin Field, Blue HUl and Talbot avenues, Dorchester (park 

area), 1892 77.00 

Freeport Street (Malloch's) Wharf and grounds, Dorchester (land 

1.15; flats 2.54), 1912 3.69 

JMartin Lomasney Park, Nashua Street extension, 1930 . . 2.57 
North End Beach, Commercial and Charter streets (land 3.70; 

flats 3), 1893 6.70 

*Stanley A. Ringer Park, Allston street and Griggs place, 1916 . 12.38 
Rogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899 . . 8.20 
Savin Hill Park, Grampian way, Dorchester, 1909 . . . 8.26 
Town Meeting Park, Pleasant and Pond streets, Dorchester, 

1921 0.22 

Statler Park, Columbus avenue, Stuart and Church streets, 

1925 0.25 

Trinity Triangle, Huntington and St. James avenues, 1885 . 0.12 
World War Memorial Park (formerly Wood Island), East Boston, 

on eastern waterfront fland 55.60; flats 155.40), 1882, 1891 . 211 .00 

Total Acres, Miscellaneous Parks 687.29 

Playgrounds, with Location, Aeea, and Year Acquired. 

Almont Street Playgroimd, Mattapan, 1924 17.81 

*William J. Barry, Chelsea street and Mystic river, Charles- 
town, 1897 5.27 

Billings Field, La Grange and Bellevue streets. West Roxbury, 

1896 10.83 

JRev. Fr. Buckley, Bolton and West Third streets, South Boston, 

1925 0.65 

IBrookside avenue and Cornwall street, Jamaica Plain, 1925 . . 1 .32 
Carroll Pond, Carroll street. West Roxbury, 1921 . . . . 0.47 
*WiUiam E. Carter, Columbus avenue at Camden street, 1899 . 5 .02 
Ceylon Street Playground, Ceylon and Intervale streets, Dor- 
chester, 1923 4.03 

xfEnsign John J. Doherty, Jr., Bunker Hill and Medford streets, 

Charlestown Heights, 1891 1.00 

tCharlesbank, Charles street. West End, 1883 . . . . 15.50 
xJohn J. Ryan, Jr., Main and Alford streets (land, 13.66, flats, 

3.7) Charlestown, 1891 17.36 

tChestnut Hill, Beacon street, Brighton, 1898 . . . . 4.00 

tColumbus Park, Strandway, South Boston 79.00 

fCommon, Charles street side 3.50 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

J Children's playground. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 

American Legion, Condor and Glendon streets, East Boston, 1924, 3 .38 

*John J. Connolly, Marcella and Highland streets, Roxbury, 1903, 5 . 10 
*James L. Cronin, Brent street, near Talbot avenue, Dorchester, 

1899 2.24 

*tVincent Cutillo, Morton and StiUman streets, North End, 1917 . . 48 

fDorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 1891, 5.40 

* John A. Doherty, Dorchester and Geneva avenues, 1897 . . 1.47 
*|Frederick D. Emmons, Rutherford avenue, Charlestown, 1912 . 1 .07 

William Eustis, Norfolk avenue and Proctor street, Roxbury, 

1909 7.60 

Factory HUl, Town and Sunnyside streets, Hyde Park, 1912 . . 5 . 20 

*Fallon Field, South and Roberts streets, Roslindale, 1899 . 7 . 57 

tFens, Back Bay, 1877 5.00 

FrankHn Field, Blue HOI and Talbot avenues, Dorchester, 1892, 60.00 

fFrankUn Park, 1883-84 . 36.00 

* William H. Garvey, Neponset avenue, opposite Chickatawbut 

street, Dorchester, 1896 16.68 

Christopher Gibson, Dorchester and Geneva avenues, 1897 . 4.34 

Paul Gore Street, Jamaica Plain, 1913 0.74 

*William Amerena, Gove, Geneva, Porter and Wellington streets, 

East Boston, 1926 4.06 

* James F. Healey, Washington street and Firth road, Roslindale, 

1902 9.63 

Jefferson, Heath, Cranford and Floyd streets, Roxbury, 1924 . 7.51 

Mary Hemenway, Adams and Gustine streets, Dorchester, 1919, 4.41 

*t John F. Holland, Mozart and Bolster streets, Roxbury, 1917 . 1 . 07 

Christopher J. Lee, First street at M street, South Boston, 1897, 5.20 

*McConnell Park (formerly Savin Hill Playground), Springdale 

and Denny streets Gand 9.78; flats 50.55), 1899-1914 . . 60.33 
*tArthur F. McLean, Saratoga and Bennington streets. East 

Boston, 1917 0.43 

Mission Hill, Tremont and Smith streets, Roxbury, 1913 and 

1915 4.24 

*John W. Murphy, Carolina avenue, Jamaica Plain, 1912 . , 4.17 

fNorthEndBeach, Commercial street, 1893 3.00 

fOlmsted Park, Jamaicaway, 1890 3.00 

John H. L. Noyes, Saratoga and Boardman streets. East Boston 

(land 5.24; flats 3.07), 1909 8.31 

JParis street. East Boston, 1912 1.27 

Parker HiU, Roxbury, 1912 11.54 

JFrancis Parkman, Wachusett street, Forest Hills, 1924 . . 2.06 

Portsmouth street, Brighton, 1912 4.29 

{Prince Street, North Bennet and Prince streets. North End, 1 897, . 40 

* Named for U S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 
t Playground located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 
t Children's playground. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 61 

Acres. 

Readville, Bullard, Milton and Regent streets, Hyde Park, 1924, 5.03 
tStanley A. Ringer, Allston street and Griggs place, Brighton, 1916, 2 . 32 
t A Ripley, Ripley road, near Harvard street, Dorchester, 1913 . . 86 
fRogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899-1931 . . 5 .00 
Ronan (formerly Mt. Ida), Bowdoin and Percival streets, Dor- 
chester, 1912 11.65 

*Lester J. Rotch, Albany and Randolph streets. South End, 1903 . 2 . 80 

JCherry street Playground, South End, 1922 0.55 

Smith'sPond,Brainard street, Hyde Park, 1914 . . . .12.91 
*William F. Smith, Western avenue and North Harvard street, 

Brighton, 1894 14.00 

C street and Broadway, South Boston, 1921 . . . . 0.36 
*tJ. M. and J. J. Sullivan, Fellows and Hunneman streets, Rox- 

bury, 1897 0.85 

J*Matthew J. Sweeney, West Fifth street, South Boston, 1909 . . 47 

TeneanBeachandPlayground, Neponset, 1915 . . . 20.01 

JTyler Street, South End, 1912 0.26 

*George H. Walker, Norfolk street, opposite Evelyn, Mattapan, 

1912 . 6.21 

JWest Third Street, corner of B street, South Boston, 1909 . . . 28 

John Winthrop, Dacia and Danube streets, Dorchester, 1911, 1.57 

Paul Revere Mall, 1925 0.76 

tWorld War Memorial Park, East Boston, 1891 . . . . 10.00 

Thomas J. Roberts, Dunbar avenue, Dorchester, 1930 . 10 . 40 

McKinney, Faneuil street, Brighton, 1930 5 . 94 

JFoster Street Playground, Foster street, place and court, North 

End, 1930 0.10 

Gertrude Howes, Winthrop, Fairland and Moreland streets, 

Roxbury, 1930 1.88 

Mary Draper, Washington and Stimson streets. West Rox- 
bury, 1932 5.76 

JMartin M. Lomasney, Nashua Street Extension, West End, 

1931-1933 2.57 

George Wright Golf Course 158.48 

*Carl Henry Alsen, Victory road and Park street, Dorchester, 

1916-1935 10.35 

X Wesley G. Ross Playground, Hyde Park, 1936 . . . 13.03 

tSnow Hill Street Playground, North End, 1937 . . . . 1 . 13 

Alice E. Gallagher Memorial Park, Brighton, 1937 . . . 13.40 

Everett and Elm streets, Dorchester, 1939 1.16 

JLeo F. McCarthy Playground, Mead and Ludlow streets, 

Charlestown, 1938 0.28 

Children's Playground, Charter street and Greenough lane, 

North End, 1940 0.23 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

X Children's playgroimd. 

A Acquired by gift. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



62 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Margaret and James Tobin Play Area, South End, 1941 
Pitts and Hale Streets Play Area, West End, 1942 
Troy and Rochester Streets Play Area, South End, 1942 
London and Decatur Streets Play Area, East Boston, 1942 
Howard Avenue Play Area, Dorchester, 1942 
HiU and Cook Streets Play Area, Charlestown, 1942 
PhiUips Street Play Area, West End, 1942 . 
Beecher Street Play Area, West Roxbury, 1942 

King Street, Roxbury, 1943 

John Harvard Mall, Charlestown, 1943 

Henry Ross Estate, Forest Hills, 1943 



Acres. 
0.41 
0.11 
0.17 
0.13 
1.55 
0.10 
0.13 
0.18 
0.32 
0..85 
3..97 



Total area of the 92 Playgrounds and Play Areas (Acres) . 791 . 47 

Area of 14 Playgrounds in Parks (Acres) 173 . 57 

Area of the 78 Separate Playgrounds (Acres) . . . .617.90 

The first separate playground acquired by the City was the Charlestown 
Playground, purchased in 1891 for $172,923. With that included, 92 
playgrounds (78 separate and 14 located in parks) have been established, 
most of them equipped with first-class shelter and sanitary buildings 
containing lockers, also drinking fountains, shower baths, etc. 

Public Grounds, Squares, Etc., With Locations and Areas. 
CITY proper. 

Square Feet. 

Braddock Park, between Columbus avenue and N. Y., N. H. 

&H. R. R 

Blackstone Square, Washington street, between West Brook- 
line and West Newton streets 

City HaU Grounds, School street 

Columbus Square, Columbus and Warren avenues 

Concord Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue . 

Copley Square, between Huntington avenue, Boylston and 

Dartmouth streets 28,399 

Fort Hill Square, Oliver and High streets 29,480 

Franklin Square, Washington street, between East Brookline 

and East Newton streets 

Abraham Lincoln Square (formerly Park Square), Columbus 

avenue, Eliot street and Broadway 

Massachusetts Avenue Malls, four sections, between Albany 

street and Columbus avenue 

Rutland Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue, 
St. Stephen Square, corner St. Stephen and Batavia streets . 
Union Park, between Tremont street and Shawmut avenue 
Waltham Square, Harrison avenue, opposite Union Park street 
Worcester Square, between Washington street and Harrison 

avenue 16,000 



3,800 

105,100 
7,700 
2,250 
5,000 



105,205 

2,867 

106,500 

7,400 

100 

16,000 

3,000 



Total 438,801 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 63 



ROXBURY. 

Square Feet. 

Bromley Park, Albert to Bickford streets 20,975 

Cedar Square, Cedarstreet, between JuniperandThorntonstreets, 26,163 
Elm HiU Avenue, between Seaver and Schuyler streets (Tree 

Area) 2,650 

Elm HiU Park, off 550 Warren street 6,920 

*Francis G. Hanlon Square, junction of Huntington avenue, 

Tremont and Francis streets 1,662 

General Heath Square, Old Heath, New Heath and Parker 

streets 2,419 

Highland Park, Fort avenue and Beech Glen street . . . 158,421 
Horatio Harris Park, Walnut avenue, from Munroe to Townsend 

street 110,040 

Alvah Kittredge Park, Highland street and Highland avenue , 5,600 

Linwood Park, Centre and Linwood streets 3,625 

Longwood Park, Park and Austin streets 21,000 

Madison Park, Sterling, Marble, Warwick and Westminster 

streets 122,191 

Orchard Park, Chadwick, Orchard Park and Yeoman streets . 104,492 

Public Ground, corner Blue HiU avenue and Seaver street . 2,500 

Warren Square, Warren, St. James and Regent streets . . 1,380 

Walnut Park, between Washington street and Walnut avenue . 5,736 

Washington Park, Dale and Bainbridge streets .... 396,125 
*Herbert J. Wolf Square, Crawford, Abbotsford and Harold 

streets 966 

Total 992,865 

BRIGHTON. 

Brighton Square, Chestnut HUl avenue and Academy Hill road . 25,035 
*Edward M. Cunningham Square, Cambridge, Murdock and 

Sparhawk streets 7,449 

Fern Square, between Franklin and Fern streets .... 1,900 
Jackson Square, Chestnut Hill avenue, Union and Winship 

streets 4,300 

Oak Square, Washington and Faneuil streets .... 9,796 

Public Ground, Cambridge and Henshaw streets . . ; . 1,434 

Total 49,914 

CHARLESTOWN. 

City Square, junction of Main and Park streets .... 8,739 

Essex Square, Essex and Lyndeboro' streets . . . . . 930 

Hayes Square, Bunker Hill and Vine streets 4,484 

Sullivan Square, Main, Cambridge, Sever and Gardner streets . 56,428 

Winthrop Square, Winthrop, Common and Adams streets . . 38,450 

Total 109,031 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



DOBCHESTER. 

Square Feet. 

*Andrew Henry Square, Adams and Granite streets . . . 2,068 

Algonquin Square, Algonquin and Bradlee streets . . . 1,728 

Centervale Park, Upland avenue, and Bourneside street . . 9,740 

*John F. Donovan Park, Meeting House Hill .... 56,200 

Drohan Square, Edison Green 10,241 

Eaton Square, Adams and Bowdoin streets 13,280 

*Francis G. Kane Square, Bowdoin, Winter and Hancock streets, 1,600 

Mt. Bowdoin Green, summit of Mt. Bowdoin .... 25,170 

Peabody Square, Ashmont street and Dorchester avenue . . 1,963 

*rred C. W. Olson Square, junction of Adams and Codman 

streets 700 

Public Ground, Florida street, King to Ashmont (7 sections) . 24,193 

*Gordon E. Denton Square, Magnolia street 3,605 

Richardson Square, between Pond and Cottage streets . . 46,035 
Spaulding Square, Junction of Freeport street and Neponset 

avenue 6,263 

Tremlett Square, Tremlett street, between Hooper and Waldeck 

streets 7,107 

Wellesley Park, Wellesley Park street 28,971 

Total 238,864 

EAST BOSTON. 

Michael J. Brophy Park, Webster, Sumner, Lamson and Seaver 

streets 30,000 

Central Square, Meridian and Border streets 40,310 

Maverick Square, Sumner and Maverick streets .... 4,396 

Prescott Square, Trenton, Eagle and Prescott streets . . 12,284 

Putnam Square, Putnam, White and Trenton streets . . . 11,628 

Total 98,618 

HYDE PARK. 

Camp Meigs, Readville 124,500 

*Horace Campbell Woodworth Square, Beacon street and Metro- 
politan avenue 220 

*Lieut. Parker B. Jones Square, Milton avenue and Highland 

street 220 

Williams Square, Williams avenue and Prospect street . . . 700 
Greenwood Square, junction of Greenwood street and Central 

avenue 220 

Webster Square, junction of Webster street and Central avenue . 220 

Wolcott Square, Hyde Park avenue, Milton and Prescott streets, 220 

Total 126,300 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 65 



SOUTH BOSTON. 

Square Feet. 

Independence Square, Broadway, Second, M and N streets . . 279,218 
Lincoln Square, Emerson, Fourth and M streets .... 9,510 
Thomas Park, Telegraph Hill 190,000 

Total 478,728 

WEST ROXBtTRT. 

*Gustav Emmet Square, S. Conway, S. Fairview and Robert 

streets 750 

*Cornelius J. Mahoney Square, Centre and Perkins streets . . 3,200 

Oakview Terrace, off Centre street 5,287 

Soldiers' Monument Lot, South and Centre streets, Jamaica 

Plain 5,870 

Arthur Duffie Square, Clement avenue, West Roxbury . . 2,200 

Total 17,307 

Total area of Public Grounds, etc., 2,550,428 Square Feet, or 
58.5 Acres. 

RECAPITULATION. 

Parks and Parkways: Acres. 

Main Park System 1,387.00 

Marine Park System 457.90 

Miscellaneous Parks 687.29 

Playgrounds (separate) 617.90 

Public Grounds, Squares, etc 58.55 

Grand total (acres) . . . . ' 3,208 . 64 

Since the City's park development began, in 1877, the total expenditure 
to the close of 1943, for parks, parkways and playgrounds (exclusive of 
the annual maintenance appropriation) has been $33,813,522.71 or 
$11,363,451.60 for the land and $22,450,071.21 for construction. 

CEMETERY DIVISION. 

The burying grounds, cemeteries and tombs which are owned by and in 

charge of the City of Boston are as follows, with a total area of about 

7,040,708 square feet: 

Square Estab - 
Feet. lished- 

Bennington Street, East Boston 157,500 1838 

Rainsford Island 43,560 

Bunker Hill, Charlestown 48,202 1807 

Phipps Street, Charlestown 76,740 1630 

Copp's Hill, Hull street. City . . . , . 89,015 1659 

King's Chapel, Tremont street, City .... 19,344 1630 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



66 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Granary, Tremont street, City 

Central, Common, City 

South End South, Washington street. City . 
Hawes, Emerson street. South Boston . 
Union, East Fifth street. South Boston 
North, Upham's Corner, Dorchester 
Eliot, Eustis street, Roxbury .... 
South, Dorchester avenue, Dorchester . 
Westerly, Centre street, West Roxbury 
Walter Street, West Roxbury .... 
Evergreen, Commonwealth avenue, Brighton 

Market Street, Brighton 

Mount Hope, Walk Hill street, 125 acres and 14,330 

square feet 

Fairview, Fairview avenue, Hyde Park, about 50 acres 



Square 
Feet. 

82,063 
60,693 
64,670 
11,232 
5,470 

142,587 
34,830 
95,462 
39,450 
35,100 

604,520 
18,072 



Estab- 
lished. 

1660 
1756 
1810 
1816 
1841 
1633 
1630 
1814 
1683 
1711 
1848 
1764 

1851 
1892 



City Tombs. 
Twenty-five in the South Ground; six in Phipps Street Ground, Charles- 
town; one tomb for infants in South Ground; one tomb for infants and 
one for adults in Copp's Hill Ground; one for adults and one for infants 
in the Granary Ground; one for infants in King's Chapel Ground; one for 
infants in the Central Groimd; two receiving tombs in East Boston; 
one receiving tomb in Dorchester North; one receiving tomb in Dor- 
chester South; one receiving tomb in Evergreen Cemetery, Brighton; 
one receiving tomb in Mount Hope Cemetery, and one receiving tomb in 
Fairview Cemetery, Hyde Park. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Oflace, 803 City Hall Annex. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, Chap. 

595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 

Joseph P. Donahoe, Commissioner. Term ends April 30, 1944. 

The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department, and he is also charged with 
paroling power from Charles Street Jail. 



HOUSE OF CORRECTION. 
John Paul Doyle, Master. 
This institution dates from 1895, and now includes land and buildings 
valued at $2,378,600, land appraised at S605,900, and buildings at 
SI, 772,700. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 67 



PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office and Printing Plant, 174 North street. 

[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 

John J. Twomet, Superintendent of Printing. 

The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910, it has been entirely self-supporting and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance, 
including pay roll, has been met from revenue. 

The plant is located at the corner of North and Richmond streets in a 
city-owned building for the exclusive use of the department. It is organ- 
ized and equipped especially for the city's printing requirements and 
consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and accessories. The 
building and plant is appraised at approximately $600,000. 

Chapter 24, Section 1, of the Revised Ordinances provides that the 
Superintendent of Printing "shall have charge of the printing plant and of 
all the printing of the city, shall supply all printing, binding, stationery 
and other office supplies, except furniture, used by any board, commis- 
sion or department for which the City of Boston is required by law to 
furnish such supplies, and shall, wherever practicable, standardize all such 
printing, binding, stationery and other office supplies." 

In addition to the above, the Superintendent purchases all postage used 
by the City of Boston. 

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1005 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Ord. 
1935, Chap. 3; Stat. 1938, Chap. 358; Stat. 1943, Chap. 78.] 
Leo F. Power, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends April 

30, 1946. 
Thomas F. Kennedy, Deputy Superintendent and Supervisor of Heating 

and Ventilating. 
Thomas A. Callahan, Chief Clerk. 

The Office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established by 
ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published by the 
Superintendents since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, repair 
and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 

A list of the city buildings in charge of this department was published 
in the Municipal Register for 1932. 

By Act of the Legislature of 1943, adopted by the City Council and 
approved by the Mayor, the Market Department, as such, was abolished 



68 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

and placed under the jurisdiction of the Public Buildings Department. 
The Superintendent of Markets was placed imder provisions of Civil 
Service. 

MARKET DIVISION. 

Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22; Chap. 40, §§ 29-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6; Stat. 1943, Chap. 78.] 
William J. Galvin, Director of Markets. 
Edward J. McCokmack, Assistant Director of Markets. 
Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed during 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, established the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets. 
The Director of Markets may assign stands within their hmits; and 
it is his duty, from time to time, to lease the stalls in the markets at 
rents not less than those established by the City Council. The market 
police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and are imder his control. 

flag days. 

By order of the City Council it is the duty of the City Messenger to have 
the national colors displayed upon the public flagstaffs on the following 
days: 

January 17, Franklin's Birthday. 

February 12, Lincoln's Birthday. 

February 22, Washington's Birthday. 

March 17, Evacuation Day. 

April 19, Patriots' Day. 

April 27, Grant's Birthday. 

May 30, Memorial Day. 

June 14, Anniversary of Adoption of National Colors. 

June 17, Bunker Hill Day. 

July 4, Independence Day. 

September, first Monday, Labor Day. 

September 17, Anniversary of Founding of Boston. 

October 12, Columbus Day. 

November 11, Armistice Day. 



PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 

OVERSEERS OF THE PUBLIC WELFARE. 

Office, Charity Btiilding, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C. C, Title IV., Chap; 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 26; Stat. 
1930, Chap. 402; Stat. 1936, Chaps. 413, 436.] 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 69 



OFFICIALS. 

Margaret J. Gookin, Chairman. 
Sophie M. Friedman, Vice-Chairman. 
William G. O'Hare, Secretary. 
Edward H. Willby, Treasurer. 

OVERSEERS.* 

Terms end April 30, 1945. 
Joseph H. Sasserno. John J. Kearney. 

Sophie M. Friedman. John J. Walsh. 

Terms end April 30, 1946. 
Margaret J. Gookin. Louis P. Leonard. 

Patrick E. Murray. Philip J. Feinberg. 

Terms end April 30, 1947. 
Edward H. Willey. Eva Whiting White. 

Frederick J. Celata. Isabel C. Connelly. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
ished in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," con- 
sisting of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The 
Board has issued annual reports. 

The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trustees 
of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. The total amount of the 
18 permanent charity funds in the custody of the Overseers on December 
31, 1942, was $805,598.90, the annual income from which ($28,125.72 in 
1942) is distributed in accordance with the terms of the donations. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, but exacts work in its woodyard for meals furnished, and 
the Temporary Home on Chardon street for temporarily destitute women 
and children, opened in 1870. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 

General Offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors, City Hall Annex. 

Commissioner's Office, 509 City Hall Annex. 

[Ord. 1910, Chaps. 9, 11, 12; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1, 8, 10; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 28; Ord. 1916, Chaps. 3, 4; Ord. 1917, Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 2, 10; Rev, Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 
1929, Chap. 16; Ord. 1930, Chaps. 3, 6; Ord. 1938, Chap. 1; Ord. 
1941, Chap. 6.] 

George G. Hyland, Commissioner. Term ends in 1946. 
John J. Connelly, Executive Secretary. 

* The Overseers serve without compensation. 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of Public Works, the latter authorized 
to create the necessary divisions of the department according to his judg- 
ment. The following divisions have been created, viz., Bridge and Ferry, 
Highway, Sewer, Sanitary, Water, each in charge of a Division Engineer. 

The department is under the control of the Commissioner of PubUc 
Works, who must be a civil engineer of recognized standing in his pro- 
fession. The Commissioner is in charge of the following activities: Con- 
struction and maintenance of all streets, sidewalks and sewers; granting 
of permits to open, occupy, obstruct and use portions of the streets and 
sidewalks; street lighting, both gas and electric; installation, maintenance 
and operation of aU fixtures and apphances held by the City for its water 
supply; cleaning, oiling, and watering of streets, as well as snow removal 
from streets; collection and removal of ashes, garbage and refuse; installa- 
tion and maintenance of street signs, and assignment of street numbers 
for houses, stores, etc.; construction, maintenance and operation of the 
greater number of the bridges used as highways; and maintenance and 
operation of the Sumner Vehicular Tunnel and of the ferries connecting 
the City Proper and East Boston. 



BRIDGE AND FERRY DIVISION. 

Office, 602 City Hall Annex. 
, Division Engineer. 



The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction, operation 
and maintenance of the greater number of the highway bridges within the 
limits of the City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the 
abolishment of grade crossings, the maintenance and operation of the 
Sumner Tunnel, also the special engineering work for other City depart- 
ments. 5,715,999 motor vehicles passed through the Sumner Tunnel 
during the year 1943. 



HIGHWAY DIVISION. 

Office, 501 City Hall Annex. 

William T. Morrissey, Division Engineer. 

The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all pubhc streets, the issuing of permits to open, occupy and obstruct 
portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the electric and gas lamps in the 
pubhc streets, alleys, parks and pubhc grounds, and the numbering of 
buildings and the placing of all street signs. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 
STREET LAMPS IN USE DECEMBER 31, 1943. 



71 





Electric. 


Gas. 


Total. 


Magnetite arc 








Mazda 


14,299 




14,299 


Double mantle 


8,943 
219 


8,943 


Double mantle (fire alarm) 




219 








Totals 


14,299 


9,162 


23,461 







SANITARY DIVISION. 
Office, 507 City Hall Annex. 
Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer lias charge of the collection and removal of ashes, 
garbage and refuse, and the cleaning, oiling and flushing of streets. 

Total expenditure for the year 1943 was $2,755,684.73 for collection and 
disposal of the City's waste materials and the cleaning, oUing and flushing 
of streets. 

REMOVAL OF STORE REFUSE. 

The removal of refuse from shops, stores and warehouses is attended to 
by the Sanitary Division and charged for at 11 cents a barrel or bundle 
(not larger than a flour barrel). No removals are made except on delivery 
of tickets obtainable at 507 City Hall Annex, or from authorized agents. 

SEWER DIVISION. 
Office, 701 City Hall Annex. 
Robert P. Shea, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer has charge of the maintenance and constructiorr 
of all sewerage works. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority : 
Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1903, Chaps. 268, 383;. 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 464, 550; Stat. 1908, Chap. 204; Special 
Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 27, 39; Stat. 1930. 
Chaps. 178, 304; Stat. 1932, Chap. 224. 
Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by the 
Public Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners 
who also award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction. 
The assessment upon the several estates for a new sewer is limited to $4 per 
linear foot, and it is a Hen upon the property. An Act of the Legislature 
prohibits the assessment in similar cases of the cost of surface drains. 
In the calendar year 1943, there were built by contractors and day 
labor 0.38 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and 17 catch-basins, 
making on January 1, 1944, a total of 1,252.98 miles of common and inter- 
cepting sewers and 22,539 catch-basins in charge of the Sewer Division. 



72 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Boston Main Drainage System, comprising 24.12 miles of inter- 
cepting sewers, with a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, and storage 
reservoirs and outlet into the harbor at Moon Island, in operation since 
1884, takes care of the sewage from City Proper, South Boston, and parts 
of Roxbury, West Roxbury and Dorchester. 

The common sewer system has two electrically-operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany streets was 
built in 1915 to relieve floodings in the South End district of Boston, by 
pumping and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. 

The station at Summer street, opposite E street, was built in 1913, and 
takes care of the sewage from the Commonwealth Pier district, and the 
Army and Navy Bases. 

Charlestown and East Boston sewage discharges into the main North 
Metropolitan System of the State, which discharges into the harbor waters 
just south of Deer Island. 

Sewage from all of Brighton, a portion of the Back Bay and a small 
part of Roxbury, discharges into the South Metropolitan System, is 
lifted by pumping at the Ward street pumping station, then flows through 
the main sewer, which also drains by gravity portions of West Roxbury 
and Dorchester and all of Hyde Park, finally outletting into Quincy Bay 
at Nut Island. 

WATER DIVISION. 

Office, 607 City Hall Annex. 

Daniel M. Sullivan, Division Engineer. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and maintenance 
of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purpose of the City's 
water supply, and all water assessments and other charges necessary for the 
maintenance of the Division. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1943, was 999.945 miles; number of fire hydrants, 12,241, including 505 
high pressure, 387 private; number of meters now in service, 101,638. 

The first water document pubHshed by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports of the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 
reports. By Chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 
Water Income Department and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single commissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the Metropohtan Water Board, took possession, in 
1898, of all that part of the Boston water system lying westward of Chestnut 
Hill Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent lands. The 
sum paid to the City was $12,531,000. Payments to the State by the 
City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 1898. Total 
available quantity of water in the nine storage reservoirs of the Metro- 
pohtan system on January 1, 1944, 36,918,300,000 gallons, of which 
about 71.66 per cent (26,455,700,000 gallons) was in the Wachusett 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 73 

Reservoir in Clinton, 32 miles west of Boston, an artificial lake, 4,135 
acres in surface and area and added to the system in 1905. There are 
also thirteen distribution reservoirs with capacity of 2,500,000,000 gallons, 
six pumping stations being connected with these, in which stations 
26,231,884,538 gallons of water were pumped during the year 1943. In 
the existing Metropolitan Water District are nine cities besides Boston^ 
and ten towns. Boston takes about 67 per cent of the entire water supply 
of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1943 was 106,046,300 
gallons, or 137 gallons per capita. 

HIGH PRESSUBE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of Chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
Public Works was authorized to install an efficient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work completed, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 
18.71 miles of pipe with 505 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation 
of system to December 31, 1942, was $2,599,379.45. Two pumping 
stations are now in use. 

REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
(Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Stat. 1898, Chap. 389; General Laws, Chap. 46; 
Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 28.] 
Francis J. Fay, City Registrar. Term ends in 1944. 
Charles H. Mackie, Assistant City Registrar. 
Elizabeth F. Hurley, Assistant City Registrar. 
The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
issues certificates of the same and marriage Ucenses, receives and records 
affidavits of, additions to, and amendments and corrections of said records, 
and forwards copies of all records to the office of the Secretary of the 
Commonwealth and to outside cities and towns when nonresidents are 
involved. Annual reports have been published since 1849, except in 1860 
and 1861. 

By ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (estabhshed July 6, 1875) 
were aboUshed, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, including 
the publication of documents relating to the early history of Boston, were 
transferred to the City Registrar. 



SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 20 City Hall. 
[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 
324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 2 and 30.] 



74 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

OFFICIALS. 

Guy W. Cox, Chairman. 
John E. Hannigan, Vice-Chairman. 
Charles J. Fox, Secretary. 
James J. McCarthy, Treasurer, 

commissioners. * 
Michael H. Corcoran, P. A. O'Connell. Terms end in 1945. 
William B. Carolan, Guy W. Cox. Terms end in 1946. 
John E. Hannigan, Arthur J. EIelly. Terms end in 1947. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 
Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further establishing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loans 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an officer, director or agent. 



SOLDIERS' RELIEF DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 7 Beacon street, fourth floor. 
[Stat. 1897, Chap. 441; Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. 
Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3, 31; Stat. 1942, Chap. 11; Stat. 1943, Chap. 
211.] 
Thomas A. Fitzgerald, Soldiers' Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1946. 
John D. Connors, Deputy Commissioner. 
Albert L. Fish, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Soldiers' Relief Department was created as a department of the 
City of Boston by Chapter 441 of the Acts of 1897, and is imder the charge 
of a commissioner appointed by the Mayor, He exercises all powers and 
duties for the distribution of State and City Relief to veterans and their 
eUgible dependents in the City of Boston, such as were formerly vested 
in the Mayor and Board of Aldermen. Under his direction assistance 
is rendered to worthy, honorably discharged veterans and their dependents 
of the CivU War, Indian War, Spanish American War, Philippine Insur- 
rection, China Relief Expedition, Mexican War and World War No. 1. 
Assistance is also furnished to dependents of men in the service in World 
War No. 2 and to honorably discharged veterans of this war and their 
dependents. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 75 

STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 73-76 City Hall, seventh floor. 

[Ord. 1897, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps. 6 and 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925. 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4; Ord. 1938, Chap. 1.] 

OFFICIALS. 

James E. King, Chairman. 
Edward F. O'Dowd, Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

** Cornelius J. Murpht. Term ends April 30, 1945. 

James E. King. Term ends April 30, 1946. 

Term ends April 30, 1947. 

Term ends April 30, 1948. 

Robert Dysart. Term ends April 30, 1949. 

This department, established in 1897, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to coUect, compile, and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston, and such statistics of other cities for purposes 
of comparison, as they may deem of public importance; also to compile 
and furnish such other statistical information as may be required by the 
Mayor or City Council. 

As defined by the board of trustees, the routine work includes informa- 
tion service on historical, geographical, political, and population facts 
about Boston and the personnel and accomplishments of present and past 
mimicipal administrations; modern foreign language translations; exchange 
of public documents with municipal, state, federal, and foreign govern- 
ments; and a newspaper clipping service of all the Boston papers. 

The Statistics Department has published annually since 1898 the 
Boston Municipal Register. Special publications have ranged from the 
hand-book of Boston Statistics to the Boston Year Book of 511 pages. 

The City Record, "Official Chronicle of Boston Municipal Affairs," 
is published weekly by the board of trustees, under the direction of the 
Mayor, in accordance with legislative act and city ordinance. The Editor 
and Associate Editor are appointed by the Mayor. 

In his capacity as Business Agent of the City Record, the Secretary of 
the Board of Trustees of the Statistics Department has charge of all 
business details of the City Record. 

* The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
by him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 

** In Naval Service. 



76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

City Record. 
Editorial Office, 40 City Hall, third floor. 
Business Office, 73 City HaU, seventh floor. 
[Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, Sect. 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 
486, Sects. 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, Sect. 2; Ord. 1922, Chap. 
9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, Sect. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joshua H. Jones, Editor. 

P. Nicholas Petrocelli, Associate Editor. 

Edward F. O'Dowd, Business Agent. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, 401 City Hall Annex, fourth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, Sect. 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, 
Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 
519; Cons. Stats. 1908, Chap. 51; Stat. 1909, Chaps. 209, 486, Sects. 
28, 31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 338, 
339, 371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; 
Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 
1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 155; Spec. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191, 
407; Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 
1923, Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1929, Chap. 187; Stat. 1930, Chap. 399; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 173, 
297; Gen. Laws (Ter. Ed. 1932), Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1936, 
Chap. 394.] 

BOARD OF STREET COMMISSIONERS. 

John A. Donoghue, Chairman. Term ends in 1945. 

William F. Higgins. Term ends in 1944. 

Edward F. McLaughlin. Term ends in 1943. 

Cornelius A. Reardon, Secretary. 

William J. Sullivan, Chief Engineer. 

Thomas F. McGovern, Assistant Chief Engineer. 

The Board of Street Commissioners consists of three members, one of 
whom is elected by them to be Chairman. One member is appointed by 
the Mayor each year to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has jurisdiction over the laying-out, widening, relo- 
cation and discontinuance of highways; the taking of real property for 
municipal purposes; the levying of assessments for betterments resulting 
from the construction of streets or sewers; the plotting of undeveloped 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 77 

areas for streets and the opening of private ways; the granting of licenses 
for the storage or sale of merchandise in public streets; the making of 
specific repairs in public streets; the naming of public streets; the issuance 
of licenses for the keeping storage, manufacture and sale of gasoline, oil, 
and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds; and the use 
of pubhc ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction or projection 
in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, poles and 
posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes; 
signs, marquees, bay windows, coal-holes and vaults. Incidental to its 
powers to take lands and construct streets, it has authority to award 
compensation to land owners for damages resulting from such taking and 
construction. In certain instances its awards and its grants of licenses 
or permits must bear the approval of the Mayor. 

In 1895 the duties of the Board of Survey were transferred to the Board 
of Street Commissioners. In 1907 the Board of Street Commissioners 
was charged with the licensing of street stands for the storage or sale of 
merchandise. In 1909, by Section 28 of the City Charter (Acts of 1909, 
Chapter 486 and amendments thereto) the jurisdiction previously exer- 
cised by the Board of Alderman concerning the naming of streets, the issue 
of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage of gasoline, oil and other in- 
flammable substances or explosive compounds and the use of public ways 
for any permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over 
the same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes, was vested in the 
Board of Street Commissioners, to be exercised with the approval in 
writing by the Mayor, and the Mayor and City Council were given 
authority to fix by ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, 
or otherwise, upon which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or 
oil or inflammable substances or explosive compounds and the construction 
or use of coal-holes, vaults, bay windows, signs and marquees, in, under, 
or over the public ways shall be issued. The fees for licenses or permits 
to sell or store inflammables or explosives are collected by the Board of 
Street Commissioners upon their original issuance of such licenses. There- 
after, an annual renewal fee for such licenses, which is one half of the original 
fee, is collected by the Fire Department. The fees for licenses or permits 
to maintain obstructions or projections in, under, or over the streets are 
collected by the Board of Street Commissioners. 

In 1913 the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority to 
issue permits for the erection of garages. 

By virtue of Section 1 of Chapter 33 of the Revised Ordinances of 1925, 
the Board of Street Commissioners is charged with the care and main- 
tenance of all land and buildings belonging to the city and not used for 
specific purposes. 

In 1927, by authority of, and in conformity with. Section 8 of Chapter 85 
of the General Laws (1921), the Board of Street Commissioners adopted 
"Rules and Regulations Relating to Projections in, on or over Public 
Highways," amending and revising all its pre-existing rules and regula- 



78 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

tions concerning such projections. The penalty for violation of these 
Regulations is a fine not exceeding five dollars for each day that the viola- 
tion continues, after five days' notice given by the Board of Street Com- 
missioners to the violator. 

In 1930 (by Chapter 399 of the Acts of 1930) the jurisdiction of the 
Board of Street Commissioners as to the storage and sale of gasoline, oil 
and other inflammables or explosives was amplified and its jurisdiction 
extended to include the licensing and regulation of open-air parking spaces. 

In 1908 the Board of Street Commissioners was charged with the regu- 
lation of pedestrian and vehicular traffic. In 1929 (by Chapter 263 of the 
Acts of 1929) jurisdiction over the regulation of traffic was transferred 
from the Board of Street Commissioners to the Boston Traffic Commission. 

In 1929, also, the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority 
(by Chapter 187 of the Acts of 1929) to license the holding of religious 
meetings, political meetings or rallies in public ways. That Act was, 
however, repealed by Chapter 173 of the Acts of 1931. 

Under Chapter 148, Section 56, of the General Laws (Tercentenary 
Edition), the Board of Street Commissioners grants licenses for open-air 
parking spaces. 

SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1001 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 

[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 

Francis X. Lang, Superintendent. Term ends April 30, 1946. 

Charles E. Thornton, Chief Clerk. 

The Supply Department purchases aU materials, apparatus and supplies, 
except printing, stationery and furniture, for all departments of the City, 
with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department, and the Transit Department. 



TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 55 Tremont street, Room 408. 

[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297, 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Stat. 1930, Chap. 394; Ord, 1931, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1931, Chaps. 30, 169, 333; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 23, 287; Stat. 
1933, Chap. 366; Stat. 1935, Chaps. 100, 455; Stat. 1937, Chaps. 
159, 173; Stat. 1938, Chaps. 340, 395, 398; Stat. 1939, Chap. 482; 
Stat. 1941, Chaps. 140, 148.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

William L. Baxter, Acting Chairman. Term ends April 30, 1944. 
Timothy F. Tobin. Term ends April 30, 1945. 

. Term ends April 30, 1946. 

* William T. Doyle, Secretary. 

* On military leave of absence. Daniel P. McGillicuddy Secretary for 
duration. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 79 

This department was established to exercise the powers and perform 
the duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose 
official existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 
(Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C, Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; 
Ord. 1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
521; Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7.] 

James J. McCaethy, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1945. 

Walter W. Foley, Cashier. 

Edmund W. Holmes, Assistant Cashier. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of 
the City, of aU moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge by 
any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, and 
pays all bills and demands against the City. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer, Treasurer of the Sinking 
Funds Department, Member and Treasurer of Boston Retirement Board, 
Custodian of the Boston Pubhc School Teachers' Retirement Fund and 
Treasurer of the George Robert White Fund. He publishes reports 
yearly, also monthly statements. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 105 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
John F. McCarthy, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 

The department was organized by ordinance in 1890. 

The duties of the department are set forth in the General Laws, Chap- 
ters 94, 98 and 101, with amendments and additions thereto. 

The Sealer is required to give public notice annually by advertisement 
to all persons having places of business in the city and using weighing 
and measuring devices for the purpose of buying or selling of goods, wares 
or merchandise, to bring them into this office to be tested and sealed. 
After giving the said notice, he shall visit the places of business not com- 
plying and shall test, adjust, seal or condemn in accordance with the 
resTilts of tests made, the weighing and measuring devices of said persons. 
In addition the department is charged with the enforcement of all laws 
relative to the licensing of hawkers, pedlers and transient vendors, the 
giving of false or insufficient weight or measure, the reweighing of coal, 
the examination of coal for quality and the inspection of certain con- 
tainers as to size, shape and dimensions. The department must in- 
vestigate all complaints registered with the department and, when the 
evidence warrants, shall prosecute violations of the law. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments 



(83) 



84 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officials, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected, as prescribed by statute, 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, and the term of 
office. 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


School Committee (five) 

Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three). 

Police Commissioner 


Statute 

u 
(1 

II 

II 

Bequest 

Statute 

II 

II 


Elected . . . 
**♦ 

Governor . 


City elec- 
tion 

Annually 
one. 


IstMon. 
in Jan'y 


4yrs. 
3yrs. 
7 yrs. 


Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 

Licensing Board (three) 


Governor A 

Governor A 

Supreme 
Court. 


Aimually 
one. 

Biennially 
one. 

B 




5 yrs. 

6 yrs. 


(twelve Managers). 

George Robert White Fund 
(five Trustees). 

Boston Port Authority 
(seven). 

Boston Housing Authority 
(five). 

Boston and Cambridge 
Bridges Commiss'n (two). 






Mayor 






7 yrs. 






5 yrs. 

















A With the advice and consent of the Executive Coimcil. 

B As vacancies occur. 

*** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Committee and Board 
Members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.) 

**** Four members appointed by the Mayor and three appointed by the 
Governor. 

*****Four members appointed by the Mayor and City Coimcil and one 
appointed by the Massachusetts State Board of Housing. 



VARIOUS OFFICIALS. 



85 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Suffolk County Courthouse 


Statute 

l( 
u 


*** 

Governor 

and 

Mayor. 

City Coun- 
cil. 

(1 








Comnaission (three). 

Boston Metropolitan Dis- 
trict (five). 

Old South Assoc'n (three 
Managers). 

Loan Comp'y, Collateral 
(one Director). 

Loan Assoc'n, Workingmen's 
(one Director). 

County of Suffolk 








Annually 

u 


When 
elected. 

Jan 

Feb ... . 


lyr. 
lyr. 
1 yr. 















*** Appointing power shared by the Governor, Mayor, and Chief Justices of 
Supreme, Superior, and Boston Municipal Courts. (See Stat. 1935, Chap. 474.) 



86 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS, DEPARTMENTS, COMMIS- 
SIONS, COURTS, ETC. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 
Administration Building, 15 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 241; Stat. 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235; 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 249; 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 1909, 
Chaps. 120, 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911, 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90, and Spec. Stat., Chaps. 189, 300, 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 86, 88, 213, 267, 289 and Gen. 
Stat., Chap. 102; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat., 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132, 
199, 206, 249; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524, 641; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 
169, 351; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 308, 
381, 460, 488; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 
327; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1928, Chap. 382; Stat. 1929, 
Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 283, 313; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 100, 155, 
229, 247, 250; Stat. 1933, Chap. 121; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 145, 228; 
Stat. 1935, Chaps. 19, 284; Stat. 1936, Chap. 224; Stat. 1937, Chap. 
366; Stat. 1939, Chap. 142.] 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 

Dr. Patrick J. Foley. Term ends January, 1946. 

Michael J. Ward. Term ends January, 1946. 

Daniel J. McDevitt. Term ends January, 1948. 

Clement A. Norton. Term ends January, 1948. 

' Joseph C. White. Term ends January, 1948. 

officials. 
Dr. Patrick J. Foley, Chairman. 
Michael J. Ward, Treasurer. 
Arthur L. Gould, Su-perintendent. 
Louise Kane, Secretary. 
Alexander M. Sullivan, Business Manager. 
James S. Reardon, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

board of superintendents. 
Superintendent Gould. Chairman, ex o.1ficio. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 87 

ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENTS, 

Michael J. Downey. Frederick J. Gillis. 

Edward J. Muldoon. Dennis C. Haley. 

Katherine C. McDonnell. William J. Barry. 

THE teachers COLLEGE OF THE CITY OP BOSTON, LATIN AND DAT HIGH 

SCHOOLS (20). 

Teachers College, Public Latin, Girls' Latin, Brighton High, Charlestown 
High, Dorchester High (Girls), Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston 
High, EngUsh High (Boys), Girls' High, High School of Commerce 
(Boys), High School of Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, 
Jamaica Plain High, Jeremiah E. Burke High (Girls), Mechanic Arts 
High (Boys), RosUndale High, Roxbury Memorial High (Girls), 
Roxbury Memorial High (Boys), South Boston High. 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School. 

Brandeis Vocational High School. 

Continuation School. 

Trade Schools. — Boston Trade High School, Trade School for Girls. 

DAY intermediate SCHOOL DISTRICTS, SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITH INTER- 
MEDIATE CLASSES, AND DAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS (83). 

East Boston. — f Blackinton-John Cheverus, Chapman, * Donald McKay 

Intermediate, Emerson, * Joseph H. Barnes Intermediate, Samuel 

Adams, Ulysses S. Grant. 
Charlestown. — * Clarence R. Edwards Intermediate, Harvard, Warren. 
North and West Ends. — Eliot-Hancock, * Michelangelo Intermediate , 

Wendell Phillips, * William Blackstone Intermediate. 
City Proper. — * Abraham Lincoln, f Prince, Quincy. 
South End. — f Dwight, t Everett, f Franklin, t Rice. 
South Boston. — * Bigelow, f Gaston-Oliver Hazard Perry, f Jo^m A. . 

Andrew, Norcross, * Patrick F. Gavin Intermediate, * Thomas N. Hart. 
Roxbury. — f Dearborn, Dillaway, Dudley, Henry L. Higginson, 

* Horace Mann School for the Deaf, fHugh O'Brien, t Hyde, 

* James P. Timilty Intermediate, Jefferson, Julia Ward Howe, * Lewis 
Intermediate, f Martin, t Sherwin, * Theodore Roosevelt Intermediate, 
WiUiam Lloyd Garrison. 

Brighton. — Bennett, James A. Garfield, * Thomas A. Edison Inter- 
mediate, Thomas Gardner, Washington Allston, * William Howard Taft 
Intermediate. 

Jamaica Plain. — Agassiz, f Francis Parkman, Lowell, * Mary E. Curley 
Intermediate. 

Roslindale. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, * Washington Irving Inter- 
mediate. 

West Roxbury. — Beethoven, Patrick F. Lyndon, * Robert Gould Shaw 
Intermediate. 

* Includes Grade IX. f Includes Grade VIII. 



88 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Dorchester. — Christopher Gibson, Edmund P. Tileston, f Edward 
Everett, * Frank V. Thompson Intermediate, GUbert Stuart, * Grover 
Cleveland Intermediate, Henry L. Pierce, John Marshall, John Win- 
throp, Mary Hemenway, f Mather, Minot, * Oliver Wendell Holmes 
Intermediate, * Patrick T. Campbell Intermediate, Phillips Brooks, 
Robert Treat Paine, Roger Wolcott, * Solomon Lewenberg Intermediate, 
William E. Endicott, f William E. Russell, * Woodrow Wilson Inter- 
mediate. 

Hyde Park. — EUhu Greenwood, Henry Grew, James J. Chittick, 
* WiUiam Barton Rogers Intermediate. 

INDUSTRIAL AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS. 

Industrial Schools. — Boston Trade High School (day), with evening 
classes also; Trade School for Girls (day); Continuation School (day) 
for employed boys and girls. 

Brandeis Vocational High School. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Bookkeeping, 
Typewriting, English, Office Practice and Penmanship. 

M. Gertrude Godvin School. — For truants and other school offenders. 

School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 

Day School for Immigrants. — For instruction in Enghsh language. 

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon street. Headquarters of all officials. 
Annex, 45 Myrtle street. 

At Administration Building Annex, 45 Myrtle street, educational and 
employment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays) from 8.30 
A. M. to 4.30 P. M. Physical examination of applicants for employment 
certificates daily from 8.30 to 10.00 A. M. 

At the Brandeis Vocational High School Building, 25 Warrenton street, 
minors' licenses {i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., are issued daily except Saturdays between the hours of 4 and 5 o'clock 
P. M. Licenses are not issued during school hours, 

BUREAU OF child ACCOUNTING. 

Administration Building, 45 Myrtle street. 

The Chief of the Bureau of Child Accounting supervises the foUowing- 
named departments: Educational Investigation and Measurement, 
Vocational Guidance, and Attendance (including Certificating Office); 
and the following divisions: Division of Employment; Division of Statis- 
tics and Publicity; Teachers of Juvenile Adjustment. 

SUPERVISORS OF ATTENDANCE. 

[Stat. 1931, Chap. 394, Sect. 146.] 

These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. There are 
34 officers besides the head supervisor and they may be seen at 9 A. M. 
and 3 P. M., on the days that the schools are in session at the school 
designated by the head supervisor. 

* Includes Grade IX. f Includes Grade VIII. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 89 

SCHOOL PHYSICIANS AND SCHOOL NURSES. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department. Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 
For aU schools and districts there is 1 Director of School Hygiene in 
charge of 4 supervising school physicians, 1 medical inspector, 1 school 
physician assigned to the certificating office, 1 ophthalmologist, 1 otologist , 
44 school physicians, 1 supervisor of nutrition classes, 1 nutrition class 
attendant, 1 assistant nutrition class attendant, 19 matrons, and 1 sanitary 
engineer. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of 1 supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. For the 86 elementary and inter- 
mediate school districts there is 1 supervising nurse in charge of 4 
assistant supervising nurses, 1 nurse assigned to the certificating office, 
and 61 school nurses. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907, the School Committee was authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and facilities in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
control. 

The School Committee appropriates, out of the tax levy, for this branch 
of education such amount as it deems necessary. The Committee has 
also the right to appropriate the unexpended balance of the previous year, 
plus the estimated income for the current year. The appropriation for 
1944 is $398,468.96. The cost of Military Drill is not charged against the 
appropriation for Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises 1 director, 1 
associate director, 1 supervisor-in-charge of playgrounds, 16 instructors 
of military drill, 2 armorers, 49 women and 2 men instructors of physical 
education, 15 teacher coaches of athletics, 15 assistant teacher coaches, and 
11 supervisors of playgrounds, assisting in the direction of approximately 
500 playground teachers assigned for different seasons. The latter have 
charge of games, plays, dances, etc., in the 110 schoolyard play- 
groimds, 29 park playgrounds in use, and 14 special play areas. 

INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 
raised by local taxation and expended for all public schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the State Board of 
Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation Schools, for 
employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, were included 
under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus maintained are the 
Boston Trade High School (for Boys), day and evening classes. Trade 
School for Girls, Compulsory Continuation School, Brandeis Vocational 
High School, High School of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in 
Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester High School for Boys, East Boston, 



90 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Hyde Park, Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys and South Boston 
High, day canning classes in the summer, and practical arts courses in 
the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain High School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two-thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 

MANUAL ARTS. 

The Training School for Teachers of Mechanic Arts, located in the 
Parkman Schoolhouse, Broadway, South Boston, is conducted under the 
direction of the Department of Manual Arts. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows: Brighton 
(auto mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (woodwork), 
East Boston (machine shop practice), Hyde Park (machine shop practice), 
Jamaica Plain (agriculture), Roxbury Memorial High School for Boys 
(printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). There is a mechanic arts 
course in shopwork in the Roslindale High School. 

There are 179 shops in elementary and intermediate schools, in which 
the following-named subjects are taught: Auto mechanics, agriculture, 
drafting, electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, printing, 
sheet metal, woodwork, and diversified shop subjects. 

Modeling is taught in fifth grades in all boys' schools, by a special 
teacher. Cardboard construction and bookbinding in the fourth and 
fifth grades are supervised by the department. 

Gardening is conducted by the department as an after-school and summer 
activity; home gardening in 51, and school gardening in 20 elementary 
and intermediate districts. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

The Household Science and Arts Department comprises a director, 
an assistant director, and 207 teachers. 

There are twelve high schools offering courses in Household Science 
and Arts: Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Girls' High, 
High School of Practical Arts, Hyde Park, * Jamaica Plain, Jeremiah E. 
Burke, Roslindale High, Roxbury Memorial, South Boston. 

In the high schools of Boston there are 30 regularly appointed teachers 
of Dressmaking, 2 regularly appointed teachers of Millinery, and 16 
regularly appointed teachers of Household Science (Foods and Household 
Management). In these schools there are 33 standard sewing rooms, 15 
cookery rooms, and 7 home practice suites. 

In the elementary and intermediate schools there are 100 teachers of 
Sewing, 1 teacher of Millinery, and 55 teachers of Cookery, 1 temporary 
teacher of Sewing, 1 temporary teacher of Cookery, and 1 temporary 
teacher of Bookbinding. In these schools there are 68 rooms equipped 
for instruction in cooking, 21 of these cooking rooms having adjoining 
suites, and 112 classrooms are equipped for teaching sewing. 

* Jamaica Plain. — No Household Science. (Foods and Household 
Management.) 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 91 



EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE SCHOOLS. 

There are six evening high schools: Central (English High Schoolhouse), 
Brighton, Dorchester, Roslindale (branch at Hyde Park), Roxbury (Boston 
Clerical Schoolhouse), and South Boston. These schools, the sessions of 
which are held on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 7.30 
to 9.30, are conducted in the several high schoolhouses of the districts 
named. All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are eleven evening elementary schools, and two branch schools 
of same, in session on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings. 

Evening trade classes for persons employed in the trade are conducted 
in the Boston Trade School and four branch schools held in the Brighton, 
East Boston, Hyde Park and South Boston High Schoolhouses. Evening 
classes for persons not employed in the trade are conducted at the Brandeis 
Vocational High School Building, 25 Warrenton street. 



DAT SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are 16 schools for immigrants where instruction in the Enghsh 
language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except Saturday) 
for two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL. 

Classes for boys are held in the Continuation School, 25 Warrenton 
street; classes for girls, at 10 Common street. 

All children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an employment 
permit are compelled by law to attend the school four hours per week. 

USE OP SCHOOLHOUSES FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES. 

In 1912, the School Committee was authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now fourteen School Centers, each having a 
manager and largely attended on two evenings and one afternoon a week. 
More than 75 school buildings are also used by Non-School Center groups. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose such 
amount as it deems necessary. The appropriation for 1944 is $91,321.83. 
Besides the renting of school halls for club meetings, entertainments, etc., 
basements and other accommodations in schoolhouses are used by the 
Election Department as polling places, lighting and janitor service being 
paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIREMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of all its members, may 
retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the public day schools who has reached the age of sixty-five years, also 



92 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been employed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
public day schools, the pension paid amounts to one-third of the annual 
salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than $312, 
nor more than $600 annually. If the period of service is less than thirty 
years, the pension is proportionally less. The School Committee is 
authorized to provide for these pensions by appropriating annually such 
amovmt as it deems necessary, which together with the unexpended balance 
of the previous year and the amoimt of reimbursement from the Common- 
wealth, will pay pensions for the year. These pensions are paid to teachers 
who were retired before the establishment of the Boston Retirement 
System or who have not become members of such system. The Permanent 
School Pension Fund amounted to $1,541,481.05 on January 1, 1944, and 
328 retired teachers were receiving pensions therefrom. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, 
is paying $120 per year to 494 annuitants, the total amount of its fund 
on September 30, 1943, being $2,240,720.54 (Total Investment) or 
$3,382,123.16 (Market Value of Investments). At that date 3,310 
teachers were each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 
Department op School Buildings. 
Offices and Warehouse, 26 Norman Street. 
[Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.] 

Andrew J. Dazzi, Chairman, appointed by Mayor. Term ends 
Dec. 1, 1944. 

Francis C. Gray, appointed by Governor. Term ends Dec. 1, 1945. 

Robert A. MacLellan, appointed by School Committee. Term ends 
Dec. 1, 1946. 

James J. Mahar, Superintendent of Construction. 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
"Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled 'An Act to establish a 
board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston' be accepted?" there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act, the board "shall consist of three citizens 
of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee, and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed, or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act, the Department of School Buildings 
is established, to be imder the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 93 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse commissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 

POLICE DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 154 Berkeley Street. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§26; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 387, 513, 560; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 480, 519; C. C, Stat. 1909, Chaps. 221, 538; Stat. 1911, 
Chap. 287; Stat. 1913, Chap. 236; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. 
Stat. 1916, Chap. 87; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Spec. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 145, 307; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 259; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 
23, 188; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 7, 8, 13, 211; Stat. 1921, Chap. 114; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, §31; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 30, 242; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 311, §2; Stat. 1925, Chap. 331; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 108, 247, 
379, § 1, 395; Stat. 1927, Chap. 30; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 3, 263; Stat. 
1930, Chaps. 387, 392; Stat. 1931, Chap. 399; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 
156, 289; Stat. 1933, Chaps. 284, § 21F, 324; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 86, 
254, 280; Stat. 1935, Chap. 378; Stat. 1936, Chaps. 209, 302, 326, 
340; Stat. 1937, Chap. 122; Stat. 1938, Chaps. 98, 122, 287, 377, 
508; Stat. 1939, Chap. 253; Stat. 1941, Chaps. 81, 710, 719; Stat. 
1943, Chap. 111.] 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Police Commissioner. 
Andrew J. Gorey, Secretary. 
Grace L. C. Russell, Assistant Secretary. 
Margaret E. O'Connor, Assistant Secretary. 
Thomas S. Gill, Chief Clerk. 
Edward W. Fallon, Superintendent of Police. 
James R. Claflin, Deputy Superintendent. 
James F. Daley, Deputy Superintendent. 
Thomas S. J. Kavanagh, Deputy Superintendent. 
James J. Hinchey, Deputy Superintendent. 
James T. Sheehan, Deputy Superintendent. 
The Board of Police for the City of Boston, established in 1885, was 
superseded in 1906 by a single executive, the Police Commissioner. 

The City is divided into seventeen Police Divisions, in each of which 
is a station house, the quarters of a captain and a force of men. 

The Bureau of Criminal Investigation, a central detective agency of 
the Department, located in Headquarters building, and consisting of 
several subdivisions, is operated on a large scale and in an efficient manner. 
Members of this Bureau investigate felonies committed within the juris- 
diction of the City of Boston. In addition to its divisions for investi- 
gation of reports of automobiles stolen, lost and stolen property, and 
homicides, squads are assigned to cover the following phases of police 
work and investigation: Arson, banking, express thieves, general investi- 
gation, hotels, narcotics, pawnbrokers, including junk-shop keepers and 
dealers in second-hand articles, pickpockets, radical, and shopping crimes. 
A night motor patrol squad performs duty throughout the city, to prevent, 



94 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

so far as possible, the commission of crime, and if acts of violence or other 
serious crimes have been committed, to arrest and prosecute the 
offenders. The Bureau also handles cases of fugitives from justice and 
conducts hundreds of investigations during the course of a year for various 
police departments throughout the United States and foreign countries. 
Further, it cooperates in every possible way with outside police depart- 
ments in the investigation of crime and prosecution of criminals. Super- 
vision of the daily line-up of all prisoners arrested for serious offenses is 
conducted by this Bureau. 

The Bureau of Records, established at Headquarters, includes within 
its activities a former part of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, known 
as the Criminal Identification Division. 

The unit is of great value and stands in favorable comparison with 
identification units of the most advanced departments. 

Advancements and changes are constantly being made to maintain 
the efficiency and to increase its worth. To bring about this efliciency 
of service, equipment of the Bureau is continually being augmented 
by addition of modern identification apparatus. 

The files of the Bureau of Records contain records of all assignments 
made in the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, and all records of arrests 
made throughout the Department. On file, also, are reports of aU felonies 
committed within the city and aU reports of the investigation of these 
felonies. 

The Bureau of Operations supervises the development and maintenance 
of the system of operations of the Department, including police broad- 
casting station "WQIP," located at Police Headquarters, and police 
broadcasting station "WRAS," located on the roof of the new Court- 
house Building, Pemberton square; the latter station being operated by 
remote control from the Bureau of Operations at Police Headquarters. 

These broadcasting stations insure speedy response to a call for police 
assistance and render possible speedy dissemination of information and 
quick concentration of necessary police power at a point where needed. 

The Boston Police Department is completely equipped with modern 
two-way radio. There are 79 police cars, 4 police boats, and 15 com- 
bination patrol wagons and ambulances, fully equipped with two-way 
radio telephone. Police automobiles with two-way radio are moving 
through all parts of the city day and night. Any part of the city may be 
reached by a police radio car in a very few moments after receipt of a radio 
message from either the broadcasting station at Headquarters, "WQIP," 
or from the station upon top of the new Courthouse Building, "WRAS." 

The radio has been a very important factor in the prompt apprehension 
of law violators as well as increasing the number of arrests. In many 
instances, the offenders have been taken into custody while in the act 
of committing crime. 

The Traffic Division is located in the Police Building, 229 Milk street. 
Its commanding officer is responsible for proper regulation of traffic con- 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 95 

ditions and for safety of the public using the highways from 8 A. M. to 
12 o'clock midnight, within the in-town and Back Bay sections of the city. 
On Saturdays such duty is extended to 1 o'clock Simday morning. 

The Property Clerk's Office is charged with the care of all lost, stolen 
and abandoned property, money or other property alleged to have been 
illegally obtained, and all articles and property taken from persons arrested 
for any cause. In its custody are also placed aU seized liquor and gaming 
implements which come into possession of the Department. 

All orders for supplies, building maintenance, repair work, plumbing, 
steamfitting, etc., uniforms and equipment are issued by this office. 

The Headquarters of the Department is located at 154 Berkeley street, 
corner of Stuart street. 

The Commissioner appoints a Harbor Master and assistants from the 
police force, and they receive pay in accordance with their rank in the 
force. The following motor launches are used in this service: the "Michael 
H. Crowley," a 60-foot craft; the "WiUiam H. Pierce" and the "WilUam 
H. McShane," both 38-foot crafts; the "Argus," a 28-foot craft; and 
a 22-foot motor speed boat, named the "Dispatch." 

By Chapter 114, Acts of 1921, as amended, the annual listing of resi- 
dents, includes all women 20 years of age and over, in addition to the men. 

On June 30, 1944, the police force numbered 2,316: Consisting of 1 
superintendent, 5 deputy superintendents, 27 captains, 70 lieutenants, 
1 lieutenant-inspector, 180 sergeants, 1,938 patrolmen, 81 provisional 
temporary patrolmen, 5 permanent policewomen and 8 provisional 
temporary policewomen. 

There are 19 men assigned to the signal service, whose director has 
charge of 565 signal boxes. 

Salaries: Superintendent, $7,000; deputy superintendents, $4,500; 
captains, $4,000; lieutenants and lieutenant-inspector, $2,900; sergeants, 
$2,700; patrolmen, $1,800 first year and $200 increase after each of the 
first and second years, and $100 after the third year, until $2,300 (maxi- 
mum) is reached. Two hundred dollars additional salary annually to 
officer who serves as aide to Police Commissioner. Uniforms and equip- 
ment are free. 

An annual emergency compensation allotment of $200, each, in addition 
to yearly salary, allowed to the Superintendent of Police, Deputy 
Superintendents and Captains. 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 

Office, 24 School Street. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap, 

489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Alexander Wheeler, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cunniff, Secretary. 



96 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Alexander Wheeler. Term ends in 1944. 
Edward F. Mullen. Term ends in 1945. 
Frederick Deane. Term ends in 1946. 
John F. Cusick. Term ends in 1947. 
Leo J. Dunn. Term ends in 1948. 

The Finance Commission is constituted imder the Amended Charter of 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
The chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accoimts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 
of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Coimcil, the Governor 
or the General Court. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the validity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by themj 



LICENSING BOARD. 

Office, 24 Province Street, Eighth Floor. 

[Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1909, Chap. 423; Stat. 1918, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 59; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 392 and 485; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 299; Stat. 1933, Chaps. 97, 284 and 376; (Chap. 376 is now 
the new Chap. 138 of the General Laws); General Laws, Chap. 140, 
Sections 2 and 202.] 

[Note: RoUer skating rinks, merry-go-rounds, etc., were transferred 
to the Mayor's Office by Chap. 169 of the Acts of 1936. The licensing 
of the sale of denatured alcohol for mechanical, manufacturing, and 
chemical purposes, under Section 76 of Chap. 138 of the General 
Laws, was eliminated by Section 43 of Chap. 440 of the Acts of 1935.] 

officials. 
Mary E. Driscoll, Chairman. 
William T. Molloy, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Walter R. Meins. Term ends in 1946. 
Mary E. Driscoll. Term ends in 1948. 
Frank L. Brier. Term ends in 1950. 
The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established by Statutes 
of 1906, Chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the 



LICENSING BOARD. 97 

Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council. They must be 
citizens of Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years pre- 
ceding the date of their appointment. The two principal parties must be 
represented and the term of the members is fixed at six years after the 
first appointment, which was for six, four, and two years. The Board 
was created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred 
upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating 
liquors (now called alcoholic beverages), innholders, common victuallers, 
billiard and pool tables, sippio tables, bowUng alleys, intelhgence offices, 
picnic groves, and skating rinks. By Chapter 169 of the Acts of 1936 
skating rinks are now licensed by the Licensing Division of the Mayor's 
office. 

The fee fixed by Section 202 of Chapter 140 of the General Laws is 
not less than $2 for each class of license, with the exception of licenses 
for common victuallers and innholders. The fees for common victualler 
and innholder licenses were fixed by Section 2, Chapter 140, of the General 
Laws, at not more than $5 for each license. By statutory authority the 
City Council has fixed the fee of $7.50 for common victuallers and $25 
for innholders without alcoholic beverages; with alcoholic beverages, 
innholder's fee is $5. 

By Statutes of 1909, Chap. 423, the Board was given the right to issue 
licenses to "Sunday dealers in ice cream, or confectionery, or soda water 
or fruit," the fee for such licenses not to exceed $5. 

By Statutes of 1918, Chap. 259, the Board was granted the right to 
issue licenses to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. By Statutes 
of 1921, Chap. 59, a fee of not more than $2 was allowed, if established 
by the City Council. The Council established the fee at $2 in 1922. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 392, the Board was given the right to license 
"retail vendors of soft drinks." The fee for such license was not to 
exceed $1. By statutory authority the City Council has fixed the fee of 
$2 for such license. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended, giving 
the licensing of vendors of firearms to this Board. The law relates to 
the renting, selling or leasing of firearms, and the word firearms includes 
a pistol, revolver or other weapon from which a shot or buUet can be 
discharged, and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, 
detachable or magazine breech does not exceed twelve inches, and a 
machine gun irrespective of the length of the barrel. It does not include 
antique firearms incapable of use, nor sales of firearms at wholesale. The 
fee for such license to be fixed by the Board not to exceed $5. 

By Statutes of 1926, Chap. 299, the Board was given the right to grant 
entertainment licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on 
in conjunction with sale for cash of food or drink six days of week but not 
on Sundays. No fee was to be charged to common victuallers and inn- 
holders carrying on such entertainment, but a fee of $5 could be charged to 
persons selling drinks who carried on an entertainment. Entertainments 
consist of dancing, music, cabaret, or amusements. 



98 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

By Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given authority to 
grant victuallers' licenses to clubs, societies, associations or other organiza- 
tions which dispense food and beverages on their premises, to their stock- 
holders or members and their guests and to none others. 

By Chapter 376 of the Acts of 1933, now Chapter 138 of the General 
Laws, the Board was given the authority to issue alcoholic beverage 
licenses to common victuallers, innholders, taverns, clubs and retail 
package stores, and to suspend or revoke the same after a hearing. 

Note: Chapter 120 of the Acts of 1933, which gave the Board authority 
to issue non-alcohoUc beverage licenses containing not more than 3.2 per 
cent of alcohol, was repealed when the new alcoholic law (Chap. 376) was 
enacted. Any 3.2 licensee could carry on his business until May 1, 1934; 
or could surrender his license and get a refund, or a credit on the fee paid 
for an alcohoUc beverage license. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

[Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1927, Chap. 40, 

C. C, Chap. 48, § 5.] 

MEMBERS OP THE CORPOKATION AND MANAGERS OP THE 
PRANKLESr FUND. 

George K. Manson, President. 
Robert A. Leeson, Vice-President. 
Rev. Charles E. Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

MANAGERS.* 

Maurice J. Tobin, Mayor of Boston, ex officio. 

Rev. Charles E. Park (Congregational minister), ex officio. 

Rev. William H. P. Hatch (Episcopalian minister), ex officio. 

Rev. George Murray (Presbyterian minister), ex officio. 

Charles E. Cotting, Carl Dreypus, Robert A. Leeson, Alexander 
Macomber, George K. Manson, J. Arthur Moriabty, Noel 
MoRSS, Henry B. Sawyer. Appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court. 

Franklin Technical Institute, Corner Appleton and Berkeley Streets. 
Brackett K. Thorogood, Director. 

The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers 
of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Technical Institute as an inde- 
pendent technical school for adults. 

The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand poimds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 
Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 

* The Managers serve without compensation. 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 99 

codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, 
united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five 
years." 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
"I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 
will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Franklin heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (Hf of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Technical In- 
stitute and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of com- 
plications the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor 
Collins, in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme 
Court, praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then 
acting as Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion Novem- 
ber 25, 1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers 
were Managers of the fund under Franldin's will, but that the Aldermen 
did not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with 
reference to it. The Court, under its general power to care for public 
charitable funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to 
take the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the 
Court, that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr, Andrew 
Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amovmt of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, which Mr, Carnegie agreed to dupUcate. Only 
the annual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be used for main- 
tenance of Franklin Technical Institute. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Technical Institute Building was erected at the corner of Apple- 
ton and Berkeley Streets. It was opened in September, 1908, as a Tech- 
nical Institute to train young men and women for positions of supervision 



100 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

in industry. In 1941 the name was legally changed to Franklin Technical 
Institute. It is maintained partly by tuition fees ($212,000 for the school 
year 1943-1944), and income from the above mentioned Funds (i. e., the 
Andrew Carnegie Donation and the Storrow bequest). The building 
contains 11 classrooms, 5 draughting rooms, and 16 shops and laboratories, 
where due to the War only about 560 adult students received instruction 
at evening sessions and 25 in day courses during the school year 1943-1944. 
Besides the civilian students, training is being given to large numbers of 
United States Army Engineer Enlisted Specialists, United States Coast 
Guardsmen, and men from the United States Navy, under government 
contract. There is alo an auditorium with a seating capacity of 927. 
The building, with equipment, cost $436,970.59. The site, containing 
about 16,000 square feet, was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year 
loan being issued to cover same. 

The Franklin Fund (Second Part) wiU become available in 1991. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 

Office, 45 City Hall. 
Trustees, 1944. 
Maurice J. Tobin, Mayor, Chairman. 
Henrt J. Nichols, President of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, 

Vice-Chairman. 
Charles J. Fox, City Auditor, Secretary. 
John E. Kerrigan, President of the City Council. 

WiLLARD B. Luther, President of the Bar Association of the City of 
Boston. 

James J. McCarthy, Acting Manager of the Real Estate. 
George L. Driscoll, Clerk and Assistant to Manager. 

The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 
manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City Council, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston. 

At a meeting of the Trustees held on Tuesday, April 5, 1938, it was 
unanimously voted that the services of a paid Manager be engaged. In 
accordance with this vote the custody, care, control and management of 
aU real estate constituting a part of the George Robert White Fund is 
now in the hands of a Manager ; all legal matters are attended to by the 
Corporation Counsel; all financial disbursements and investments are 
in the hands of the City Treasurer; all collections and receipts are handled 
by the City Collector; and the examination of aU bills and demands 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 101 

rendered against the Fund, together with the approval of all expenditures 
and the auditing of all accounts, rests with the City Auditor. 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, at 
Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, at Blue Hill Avenue 
and Savin Street, Roxbury, at High and Elm Streets, Charlestown, at 
Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, and at Whittier and Hampshire 
Streets, Roxbury, in the hope of being able, by proper instruction, to 
better the Uving and health conditions of the. communities in the congested 
districts. 

A Prado has been established at Hanover and Unity Streets in the 
North End, to provide an open air space for the residents of the North 
End. In 1935, the Trustees voted to change the name of the Prado to 
Paul Revere Mall. 

In the spring of 1936 the Trustees voted to establish a wading pool 
and locker building in the yard in the rear of the Whittier Street Health 
Unit, Roxbury. The wading pool and locker building have since been in 
full operation for the use and enjoyment of the inhabitants of the City. 

In the summer of 1936 the Trustees voted to have thirteen memorial 
bronze tablets fabricated and placed in the walls of the Paul Revere Mall 
in the North End. The inscriptions to be placed on these tablets in- 
volved considerable research work and as a consequence these tablets 
were not completed until the summer of 1940. This was done as an im- 
provement to the Mall. 

On January 27, 1940, the Trustees voted to purchase an equestrian 
statue of Paul Revere — made by Cjtus E. Dallin, sculptor — to be 
placed in the Paul Revere Mall in the North End, as an addition and 
further improvement in accordance with provision of the will. 

On September 22, 1940, the Trustees dedicated the thirteen bronze 
tablets and the statue of Paul Revere at the Paul Revere Mall in the 
North End. 

In the summer of 1941 the Trustees voted to establish a number of 
play spaces, fully equipped, in various sections of the City from the 
Income of the Fund, for the use and enjoyment of children under 12 years 
of age. It was voted to establish the first four play spaces at the following 
locations: 

Pitts and Hale Streets, in the West End. 
London and Decatur Streets, in East Boston. 
Troy and Rochester Streets, in the South End. 
King and Roxbury Streets, in Roxbury. 

This chain of play spaces consists of the most modern architecture: 
Wading pools, play-yard equipment, concrete seats, concrete sandboxes, 
etc., and is a great asset to the City. 

On December 6, 1941, the Trustees voted to estabUsh as a post-war 
project, a Bathhouse and Recreation Center on certain park land on the 
Charlesbank in the West End. 



102 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

In January, 1944, the Trustees voted to establish as a post-war project, 
a War Memorial to the Veterans of all wars, in the Fens. 



BOSTON PORT AUTHORITY. 

Office, Custom House, sixteenth floor. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 229; Stat. 1938, Chap. 453.] 

Appointed by the Governor. 

Richard Parkhurst, Chairman. Term ends in 1946. 

Thomas A. Pappas. Term ends in 1946. 

Francis J. O'Donnell. Term ends in 1947. 

Appointed by the Mayor. 

James L. Truden. Term ends in 1946. 

John F. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1946. 

David H. Howie. Term ends in 1947. 

John N. Levins. Term ends in 1947. 

The Boston Port Authority is an impaid board consisting of three per- 
sons appointed by the Governor and four persons appointed by the Mayor 
of the City of Boston. Upon expiration of the term of office of any mem- 
ber, his successor shaU be appointed for a term of seven years in the same 
manner as the member whose term expired. 

The board shall, from time to time, investigate any and all matters 
relating to the Port of Boston, particularly with reference to the unification 
of overseas terminals, belt line connections, rates, rules, grain elevator 
and warehouse facilities, and other conditions affecting the Port, and 
may initiate or participate in any rate proceedings or investigations 
concerning the Port of Boston. 



BOSTON HOUSING AUTHORITY. 

Office, 10 Post Office Square. 

[Stat. 1935, Chap. 449; Stat. 1938, Chap. 484.] 

Appointed by Mayor and City Council. 
John Carroll, Chairman. Term ends in 1947. 
Harold Field Kellogg, Treasurer. Term ends in 1945. 
Eva Whiting White, Assistant Treasurer. Term ends in 1948. 
, Term ends in 1946. 

Appointed by the Massachusetts State Board of Housing. 
Rev. Thomas R. Reynolds, Vice-Chairman. Term ends in 1949. 



John F. Millerick, Acting Executive Director and Secretary. 
The Boston Housing Authority, established in accordance with the 
Housing Authority Law of the Commonwealth, consists of five unpaid 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGES COMMISSION. 103 

members. As the terms of members expire, successors are appointed by 
the same appointive power for terms of five years. 

The Authority is charged with investigation to determine the unsanitary 
and sub-standard housing conditions existing within its jurisdiction 
which cannot readily be remedied by private enterprise, and the clearance, 
replanning and reconstruction of such areas in accordance with the terms 
of Chapter 449 of the Acts of 1935, as amended by Chapter 484 of the 
Acts of 1938. With the approval of the State Board of Housing and the 
Mayor, it is empowered to enter into agreement with any agency of the 
Federal Government for assistance, financial or otherwise, to remedy such 
sub-standard conditions. 

The Authority has constructed seven projects with the cooperation of 
the United States Housing Authority, now the Federal Public Housing 
Authority. One of these projects, in the Bay View section of South 
Boston, was subsequently sold to the Federal Government to house war 
workers under the management of the local Authority. The Old Harbor 
Village project in South Boston was constructed by the Federal Govern- 
ment and is now leased to the Boston Housing Authority. 

The eight projects in the City are now operated by the Authority. 
The projects in the Charlestown, Mission Hill and Lenox Street districts, 
together with Old Harbor Village, are primarily for the housing of low- 
income families. The projects in the Bay View section of South Boston, 
Orchard Park section of Roxbury, Heath Street, Roxbury, and East 
Boston are operated for the benefit of war production workers and famihes 
of enhsted persormel of the armed forces of the United States. 

Additional areas have been cleared in the East Brookline Street section 
of the South End and the D Street section of South Boston for further 
construction. 



BOSTON AND CAMBRIDGE BRIDGES COMMISSION. 
Office, 602 City Hall Annex, sixth floor. 

[Stat. 1870, Chaps. 300, 302; Stat. 1898, Chap. 467, § 14; Ord. 1906, 
Chap. 1; C. C, Chap. 35, §§ 2, 4 and 5; Stat. 1912, Chap. 92; 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 497.] 

George G. Htland, Commissioner for Boston. 
William R. McMenimen, Commissioner for Cambridge. 
John J. O'Neil, Secretary. 

This Commission was established in 1870, to have charge of the mainte- 
nance of the West Boston, Canal or Craigie's, and the Prison Point bridges. 
In 1892, the Harvard bridge was placed in their charge. The powers of 
the Commission were greatly enlarged in 1898, when all bridges and draws 



104 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

between the two cities were placed in their charge. The expense of 
maintenance is borne equally by the City of Boston and the City of Cam- 
bridge. The two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayors of Boston 
and Cambridge respectively. The Commissioner for Boston, who serves 
without pay, is the Commissioner of PubUc Works. 

BRIDGES NOW IN CHARGE OF THE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Longfellow, from Boston to Cambridge. 
Prison Point, from Charlestown to Cambridge. 
Cottage Farm Bridge, from Boston to Cambridge. 



SUFFOLK COUNTY COURT HOUSE COMMISSION. 

Office, Room 309, New Court House. 

[Stat. 1939, Chap. 383.] 

Arno I. Drew (Appointed by the Governor), Chairman. 

Arthur J. Santrt (Appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial 

Court), 
t Frederick R. Sullivan, Sheriff of Suffolk County. 

The Commission chooses its own Chairman and its own Secretary. 
Its members receive no compensation for their services. 

The Commission was established by Special Act of the Legislature, 
for the care, custody and control of the Suffolk County Court House, 
and is required to appoint a Custodian and such other officers as it may 
deem necessary for the proper operation of the building, and to determine 
their term or terms of service. 

The Commission succeeded to the authority given to the Sheriff of 
Suffolk County over the Suffolk County Court House, in Chapter 525 
of the Acts of 1922, and took over the management and control of the 
Court House upon its completion during 1939, by the Special Commis- 
sion created under Chapter 474 of the Acts of 1935 for providing additional 
accommodations and facilities for the Suffolk County Court House. 

A thirty per cent contribution by the Commonwealth to the annual 
costs and charges of maintenance and operation of the Court House began 
in the calendar year 1939 when the additional Court House enlargements 
and improvements, made under authority of Chapter 474 of the Acts of 
1935, were "substantially completed" and in "actual use," and the re- 
maining seventy per cent is paid by the City of Boston. While the 
Commonwealth now pays thirty per cent of the operating costs of the 
Court House, it has taken no part in its operations, other than the exercise 
of its authority in the make up of the Commission in charge. 

* Longfellow and Cottage Farm Bridges are over navigable waters for 
small craft. There are no draws in these bridges. 

t On military leave of absence. James J. Mellen, Special Sheriff, 
Acting Commissioner. 



WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 105 



BOSTON METROPOLITAN DISTRICT. 

20 Somerset Street. 

[Stat. 1929, Chap. 383.] 

Trustees Appointed by the Governor. 

RoscoE Walsworth, Chairman, Revere, 1951. 
Aethur J. Kelly, Boston, 1945. 
Harry P. Grages, Boston, 1947. 
Joseph Wiggin (Treasurer), Maiden, 1949. 
Trustee Appointed by Mayor of Boston. 
Robert J. Bottomly (Clerk), Boston. 

Metropolitan Transit Council. 

Mayors and Chairmen of Boards of Selectmen of Arhngton, Belmont, 
Boston, BrookUne, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Maiden, Medford, 
Milton, Newton, Revere, Somerville and Watertown. 

Chairman, Maurice J. Tobin, Mayor of Boston. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 
[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 
The Mayor, ex officio, Coimcillors Joseph M. Scannell and Perlie 
Dyar Chase, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of fifteen, 
of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two are elected 
annually by the City Council for the mimicipal year, and the others are 
chosen as provided by statute. 



COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 
[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in January, 
one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Peter A. Donovan, Director, Appointed by the Mayor. 



WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 
[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 
The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by sixteen directors 
selected annually, fourteen chosen by corporators at the annual meeting 
on the third Thursday in February, one appointed by the Governor and one 
appointed by the Mayor. 

Leo J. Dxnsnsr, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



106 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 

All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 
Boston, unless otherwise specified. 

County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
Council of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Chaeles J. Fox. 
County Treasurer. — James J. McCarthy. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEY. 

Room 627, New Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, Sec. 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 
District Attorney. — William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1942 
for term of four years ending January, 1947. 

Assistant. — Frederick T. Doyle. 

Assistant. — Garrett H. BjTne. 

Assistant. — Joseph A. SuUivan. 

Assistant. — Edward M. Sullivan. 

Assistant. — Frank J. Hickey. 

Assistant. — Antonino F. lovino. 

Assistant. — John F. McAuliffe. 

Assistant. — James T. Cassidy. 

Assistant. — William I. Hennessey. 

Assistant. — Hyman F. Goldman. 

Assistant. — Ralph S. Bernard. 

Assistant. — George E. McGunigle. 

Assistant. — John J. Sullivan. 

land court. 
Room 408, Old Court House. 
Judge. — John E. Fenton. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Joseph R. Cotton. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Patrick J. Courtney. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder. — Robert E. French. Appointed by the Governor for term 
of five years ending January 31, 1948. 

INDEX COMMISSIONERS. 

Commissioners. — Edward W. Bancroft, Chairman, term ends in 1946. 

Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 1947. Moses S. Lourie, term ends 

in 1945. 
Superintendent. — Frederick W. Kurth. 

The Commissioners are appointed in March, one each year, by a majority 
of the Justices of the Superior Court, for a term of three years beginning 
April 1, and serve without pay. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 107 

The Superintendent is appointed by the Commissioners. His address 
is 73 Tremont street. 

REGISTER OF DEEDS. 

5th Floor, Old Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452; Stat. 

1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 

Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 
Register of Deeds. — W." T. A. Fitzgerald. Elected by the people in 1940. 

Term ends in January, 1947. The Register is ex officio Assistant 

Recorder of the Land Court. 
First Assistant Register. — John J. Attridge. Appointed by the Register. 
Second Assistant Register. — Francis P. Butler. Appointed by the Register ; 

SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

Room 102, New Court House. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 

Sheriff. — * Frederick R. Sullivan. Term ends first Wednesday in January, 
1945. As jailer he receives additional compensation. 

Deputy Sheriff and Deputy Jailer. — Raymond G. Greene. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Service of Writs. — Daniel A. Whelton , John J. Horgan, 
John J. Casey, ** Harry I. Timilty, Thomas J. Hynes, Peter J. Fitz- 
gerald, William J. McMorrow. Paid by fees. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Court Duty. — Edward P. Ryan, Chief Deputy Sheriff, 
John J. McHugh, WiUiam A. McDevitt, Richard J. Murray (of the 
Supreme Judicial), Andrew J. Crotty, Eugene J. Lakemarsin, WilMam 
J. Grimes, Joseph P. Kilday, Michael W. Griffin, Redmond S. Fitz- 
gerald (of the Supreme Judicial), ** Richard G. Finnegan, James A. 
Brickley, John J. Dow, Patrick J. Hartigan, Hugh H. Garrity, 
Henry J. Murphy, Joseph T. McMann, ** Henry DeFrancesco, 
Matthew C. Sweeney, John J. Whalen, John J. Collins, John J. 
Gallagher, Martin J. Coughlin, Joseph Ciccolo, Robert E. Prendible, 
James A. McNulty, Edward W. Shay, Frank C. Pierce. 

COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

Ofiices in New Court House, Pemberton square, except as otherwise 
specified. 

SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT. 

Chief Justice.— Fred T. Field. 

Associate Justices. — Henry T. Lummus, Stanley E. Qua, Arthur W. Dolan, 

James J. Ronan, Raymond S. Wilkins, John V. Spalding. 
Clerk for the Commonwealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 

Court. 
Clerk for the County of Suffolk. — Charles S. O'Connor. Elected by the 

people in 1940. Term ends first Wednesday in January, 1947. 
First Assistant Clerk. — John H. Flynn. 

* On military leave of absence. Special Sheriff, James J. MeUen. 
** On military leave of absence. 



108 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Frederick L. Quinlan. 

Reporter of Decisions, — Ethelbert V. Grabill. Appointed by the Court. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. — John P. Higgins. 

Associate Justices. — Nelson P. Brown, William A. Burns, Joseph Walsh, 
Edward T. Broadhurst, Frederic B. Greenhalge, David F. Dillon, 
Harold P. WiUiams, Walter L. Collins, Daniel T. O'Connell, Thomas 
J. Hammond, Raoul H. Beaudreau, Edward F. Hanify, Abraham 
E. Pinanski, James C. Donnelly, Frank J. Donahue, Lewis Goldberg, 
John E. Swift, Vincent Brogna, George F. Leary, Thomas H. Dowd, 
J. Arthur Baker, Joseph L. Hurley, Francis J. Good, Jesse W. Morton, 
William C. Giles, Paul G. Kirk, AUan G. Buttrick, Felix Forte, 
Joseph E. Warner, Charles C. Cabot, John V. SuUivan. 

For Civil Biisiness. 

Clerk. — Thomas Dorgan. Elected by the people in 1940. Term ends 
first Wednesday in January, 1947. 

Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, Charles J. Hart, 
Frank H. Hallett, D. Pulsifer Colville, Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. 
Curtice, Leo A. Reed, Joseph R. Cleary, Harry F. Kiley, John P. 
Manning, Richard A. McLaughlin, Edward U. Lee, Thomas F. Stan- 
ton, Joseph E. Sullivan. 

For Criminal Business. 
Clerk. — William M. Prendible. Elected by the people in 1940. Term 
ends first Wednesday in January, 1947. 

Assistant Clerks. — John H. Casey, Edward V. Keating, Albert H. Hines, 
**John P. Swift, Thomas P. McDavitt, James B. Gibbons, Martin 
J. Lee, *John J. Barnwell, Edward P. Bacigalupo. 

COURT OF PROBATE AJSTO INSOLVENCY. 

2nd Floor, Old Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 

Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 
Judges. — Frederick J. DiUon, John V. Mahoney, Robert Gardiner 

Wilson, Jr. 

Register. — Arthur W. Sullivan. 

Assistant Register. — John R. Nichols. 

Second Assistant Register. — Frederick J. Finnegan. 

Third Assistant Register. — Gertrude M. Smith. 

Fourth Assistant Register. — John A. Griffin. 

The judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 
five other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 

*0n military leave of absence. Joseph E. Mellen, Acting Assistant 
Clerk. 

** On mihtary leave of absence. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 109 

MITNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 
Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 
716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 262, 330; Gen, Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553> 
614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 

Chief Justice. — Davis B. Keniston. 

Associate Justices. — Joseph T. Zottoli, Charles L. Carr, Elijah Adlow, 

Daniel J. Gillen, Joseph Riley, Frank W. Tomasello, Jennie Loit- 

man Barron, Joseph E. Donovan. 
Special Justices. — John G. Brackett, Leo P. Doherty, Jacob Spiegel, 

Abraham B. Casson, Elias F. Shamon. 
All judges are appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by 
the Executive Council. 

For Civil Business. 
Room 376, Old Court House. 
Clerh. — Edmond J. Hoy. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, Louis B. Torrey, William F. 

Blakeman, Joseph L. Pierce, George F. Devine, Charles F. Gardella, 

Edward H. Barry, Roger W. Brown, George A, Rochford, Joseph M. 

Lee, Simon Queen, John S. Feeney. Appointed by the Clerk of the 

Court with the approval of the Justices. 

For Criminal Business. 
Room 411, New Court House. 
Clerk. — Daniel J. Lynch. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerks. — Harvey B. Hudson, Charles T. Willock, James G. 
Milward, George A. Savage, Paul W. Carey, James F. Hardy, Edwin 
A. Chalmers, George W. Herman. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Chestnut Hill avenue. 
Justice. — Thomas H. Connelly. 
Special Justice. — Harry C. Fabyan. 

Clerk. — Daniel F. Cimningham. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Margaret A. Daly. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City square. 
Justice. — Charles S. Sullivan. 

Special Justices. — John F. Gilmore and . 

Clerk. — James J. Mullen. Appointed by the Governor. 



110 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Assistant Clerk. — George E, Irving. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Peter J. Flaherty. 

MUNICIPAL COUBT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington street and Melville avenue. 
Justice. — Richard M. Walsh. 

Special Justices. — Sadie L. Shulman and David A. Rose. 
Clerk. — Anthony A. McNulty. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Frederick E. Simmons. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Jenny S. Thurlow. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Meridian and Paris streets. 
Justice. — Charles J. Brown. 

Special Justices. — Anthony A. Centracchio and Augustus Loschi. 
Clerk. — William H. Barker. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Carl V. Boman. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, BOXBURT DISTRICT. 

Roxbury street. 
Justice. — Frankland W. L. Miles. 

Special Justices. — Samuel Eisenstadt and James A. Delay. 
Clerk. — Theodore A. Glynn. Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Charles A. Moore. 
Third Assistant Clerk. — Thomas J. Spring. 
Fourth Assistant Clerk. — John I. Sullivan. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, East Broadway. 
Justice. — Leo H. Leary. 

Special Justices. — WiUiam J. Day and David G. Nagle. 
Clerk. — WiUiam G. Lynch. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Harry W. Park. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, WEST ROXBURY DISTRICT, INCLUDING HYDE PARK. 

Morton street, Forest HiUs. 
Justice. — Daniel W. Casey. 
Special Justices. — Bert E. Holland, Frank S. Deland and Andrew J . 

Macdonnell. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerk. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Caroline M. Adams. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. HI 



BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Room 168, Old Court House. 

[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 

Justice. — John F. Perkins. 

Special Justices. — Frank Leveroni, Philip Rubenstein. 

Clerk. — John T. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the "Care, Custody and Discipline of 
Juvenile Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the juris- 
dictions, authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of 
Boston, under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The Act took effect 
September 1, 1906. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 
"the Governor. The Justice of the Court is empowered to appoint two 
probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem 
necessary. 

Probation Officers. 
[Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491; 
Gen. Stat. 1917, Chap. 135; Stat. 1936, Chap. 360.] 

These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 
courts to ascertain aU facts relating to the offenders brought before the 
courts. In the performance of their official duties they have aU the powers 
of police officers. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Joseph W. Crockwell. 

Medical Director. — C. Edouard Sandoz, M. D. 

Associate Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 

First Assistant Chief Probation Officer. — Thomas G. Davis. 

Second Assistant Chief Probation Officer. — Mary L. Brinn. 

Probation Officers. — Arthur A. Capone, Eugene J. CaUanan, Edward F. 
Coughhn, Frank L. Warren, John P. Bogan, George J. McDonnell, 
Oswald J. McCourt, Francis L. Colpoys, Albert L. Hoskins, Bruce 
A. Stevens, EUzabeth A. Lee, Alice D. Keating, Eleanor F. Holland, 
Mary A. Hall, Mary E. Craven, James E. Flavin, Samuel J. CoUis, 
John J. Collins, Hyman Manevitch, Frederick W. Hall, Florence G. 
Rice, Helen V. McTighe, Maurice A. Sullivan, Robert Hughes. 

Boston Juvenile Court. — Chief Probation Officer, Edward J. O'Mara; 
John J. Connolly, C. EUott Sands, Margaret V. SulHvan. 



112 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MUNICIPAL DISTRICT COURTS. 

Brighton. — WiUiam F. Maloney. Charlestown. — Joseph H. Burns, 
William E. Carney, Mrs. EUena M. Foley. Dorchester. — Reginald H. 
Mair, Rosalind M. Fitzgerald, Matthew T. ConnoUy. East Boston. — 
Dennis J. KeUeher, Frederick L. O'Brien. Roxbury. — Thomas F. Teehan,. 
Donald B. Ekerstrom, John M. Teehan, Edward A. Fallon, Randolph 
Glover, Kathryn M. Quealey, William H. Murray, Thomas M. Gemelli, 
Ehzabeth D. Kingston, Arthur Dauphin. South Boston. — Patrick J. 
Hurley, Elsie H. Wall, Joseph J. Galligan, Evelyn G. Byrne. West 
Roxbury. — Clifford E. Smith, Edward P, Hayes. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, William A. Maloney, Edward A. 
Griffin, James E. Donovan, Ralph L. Countie, John J. Moriarty, Charles 
H. Sullivan, John J. O'Connor, Alice B. Monks, Alice P. Aigen, Mary E. 
Power, Emma L. Crowley. 

MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916, 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.] 
The County is divided into two medical districts. Northern and Southern, 
by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Huntington 
avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence through 
middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence streets, Park 
square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and Summer street 
to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, Dover street, Dor- 
chester avenue, Dorchester street. East Fourth and G streets to the harbor. 
Medical Examiners. — Northern District, William J. Brickley, M. D., 274 
Boylston street, Boston. Term ends in 1949. Southern District, 
Timothy Leary, M. D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term 
ends in 1945. 
Associate Medical Examiners. — William H. Watters, M. D., 270 Com- 
monwealth avenue, Boston. Term ends in 1949. Alan Richard 
Moritz, M. D. Term' ends in 1949. 
Each is appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Northern District Mortuary is located at 18 North Grove street. 
Southern District Mortuary is located on City Hospital grounds. 



Miscellaneous Muisicipal 
Activities 



(115) 



116 MUNICIPAL REGISTER, 

AMERICANIZATION, BUREAU. 
Office, 1104 City Hall Annex. 

Frank Flanagan , Director. 

Leo D. Walsh, Assistant Director. 

Susan K. Donovan, Assistant Director. 

To foster a spirit of active and alert Americanism throughout the city 
has been the aim of this bureau. To place squarely before all men the 
doctrines of democracy, a determined effort has been launched to suppress 
anti-American activities, to expose un-American tenets and tendencies, 
to check unpatriotic impulses, and to construct a broad program of 
education, to the end that the people of Boston may see clearly the neces- 
sity of eternal vigilance, united endeavor, and good example, if American 
institutions are to endure and the blessings of Uberty enjoyed by ourselves 
and our posterity. 

MUNICIPAL EMPLOYMENT BUREAU. 
• 25 Church Street. 

Samuel W. Warren, Acting Director. 

FREE SERVICE TO ALL. SkUled and unskilled help, both male 
and female, provided at short notice, for office, factory, mechanical, 
domestic, hotel, restaurant, and hospital work. 

MUNICIPAL SURVEY COMMITTEE. 
Office, 44 City Hall. 

OFFICIALS. 

Francis X. Lang, Acting Director. 

The Municipal Survey Committee was formed by His Honor Maurice 
J. Tobin, February 14, 1938, and reports directly to his office. The Com- 
mittee is charged with the responsibihty of contacting every department 
of the city in a common effort to assist them in effecting soimd economies, 
increasing revenues, and coordinating their particular functions with 
those of other departments for the purpose of effecting maximum service 
to the public. Some of the activities of this Committee arise from studies 
and recommendations made in various departments, while others are the 
result of requests for assistance or advice from the department heads. 

It is also the function of this Committee to consoUdate the ground 
gained in administrative practices and the economies effected by con- 
ducting constant check-ups in the departnjents concerned so that the 
long-range program for improvements will be adhered to. 

Another function of the Committee is to carry forward certain studies 
of a special nature for his Honor the Mayor. 

VETERANS' GRAVES REGISTRATION. 

Office, 42 City Hall. 

Fay W. Foss, Supervisor. 

The General Laws, Chapter 115, section 22, require all cities and towns 
in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to have a veterans' graves 
registration officer; among his duties is the supervision of the grave of 
every honorably discharged veteran, in order that it may be suitably 
maintained and cared for. 



WAR EMERGENCY COMMITTEE. 117 



WAR EMERGENCY COMMITTEE. 



CITY OF BOSTON COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY. 

Offices, 55 Tremont Street. 
[Ord. 1941, Chap. 5.] 

Executive Depaetment. 
Maurice J. Tobin, Mayor, Chairman. 
John J. Walsh, Executive Director. 
Joseph L. Malone, Executive Secretary. 
Frank J. Murray, Counsel. 
James J. McCarthy, Finance Officer. 

THE committee. 

Mayor Maurice J. Tobin. George G. Hyland. 
Carl Dreyfus. . John C. Nicodemus. 

Ernest A. Johnson. Joseph L. Malone. 

John E. Kerrigan. William Stanley Parker. 

Joseph C. White. Andrew J. Dazzi. 

Daniel J. McDevitt. William Arthur Reilly. 

Philip Kramer. Joseph Salerno. 

Michael T. Kelleher. Mrs. Joseph E. Scanlon. 

John E. Lee. John J. Walsh. 

Thomas F. Sullivan. Dr. Charles F. Wilinsky. 
Thomas Black. 



Under Chapter 5 of the Ordinances of 1941 there was estabUshed the 
City of Boston Committee on Public Safety, which shall have charge of 
civilian defense of lives and property in Boston. The ordinance directs 
that the committee shall be composed of the mayor, as chairman, and of 
such department heads and other persons, not exceeding twenty in num- 
ber, as the mayor may appoint from time to time. From the members 
so appointed the mayor shall designate an executive director who shall 
receive such compensation as the mayor may determine. Each member 
of the committee shall serve at the pleasure of the mayor or until the 
repeal of this ordinance. The committee may appoint and compensate 
an executive secretary and other technical and staff personnel necessary 
to the performance of its functions. 

In the discharge of its functions, the committee shall cooperate with 
federal, state, and municipal authorities. To the extent permitted by 
law, the committee shall act for the City of Boston in carrying out the 
provisions of Chapter 719 of the Acts of 1941, including, without impUed 
limitation, the conduct of blackouts, air raid warnings, and other defense 
activities and the appointment, training and equipping of volunteer, 
unpaid protection units. 



118 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The committee may expend for the purposes herein stated such funds 
as may be appropriated or as may be otherwise made available. 

The poUce commissioner may furnish, on such occasions and to such 
an extent as he may deem advisable, the assistance of the poUce depart- 
ment to another city or town in the suppression of riots or other forms of 
violence therein, in accordance with the provisions of section 5 (b) of 
Chapter 719 of the Acts of 1941. 

This ordinance shaU remain in force during the effective period of 
Chapter 719 of the Acts of 1941, or any act in substitution therefor or 
continuation thereof. 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION. 
Office, 47 City Hall, third floor. 
[Stat. 1938, Chap. 358; Stat. 1939, Chap. 123; Stat. 1941, Chap. 296; 
Stat. 1943, Chap. 434.] 

Appointed by the Mayor. 
Commissioners. 
Daniel M. Dkiscoll, Chairmxin. Term ends April 30, 1946. 
Philip E. Bennett. Term ends April 30, 1945. 

William F. Keesler. Term ends April 30, 1947. 

James J. McCarthy (City Treasurer), ex officio. 
William Stanley Parker (Chairman, City Planning Board), ex officio. 

Appointed by the Mayor. 
Committee on Foreclosed Real Estate. 
Daniel M. Driscoll, Chairman. 
William F. Keesler. 
Philip E. Bennett. 

The Board of Real Estate Commissioners was established in accordance 
with Chapter 434 of the Acts of 1943. It consists of five members, three 
of whom are appointed by the Mayor, and the fourth and fifth are the 
City Treasurer and the Chairman of the City Planning Board who serve 
ex officio. The Chairman is designated by the Mayor and is the only 
member who receives a salary. 

The Chairman, subject to the regulations of the board vidth respect to 
his procedure, shall have the care, custody, management, and control of 
aU property acquired by the City by foreclosure of tax titles, or acquired 
under Section 80 of Chapter 60 of the General Laws, whether acquired 
before or after the effective date of Chapter 434 of the Acts of 1943. 

The Chairman, subject to the unanimous approval of the Committee on 
Foreclosed Real Estate, or by a vote, approved by the Mayor, of a majority 
of the board, may let, lease, or sell real estate under his control, or any 
portion thereof, subject to the regulations as set forth in Section 4 of 
Chapter 434. 



BOSTON VETERANS' INFORMATION. 119 

BOSTON VETERANS' INFORMATION AND RECEPTION 

CENTER. 

Office, 7 Beacon Street, fourth floor. 

John L. Delay, Director. 

This activity has been established by the City of Boston to give service 
to the veteran and his family with the least confusion and delay; to help 
him in the filing of his claims and the procurement of the benefits that he 
has well earned. 

For that purpose representatives of the veterans organizations; the 
United States Army; the veterans' representative of the United States 
Employment Service; The American Red Cross; the Vocational Guidance 
and Job Testing section of the Community Council; the legal and medical 
professions; the Soldiers' Relief Department; all are co-operating to 
extend the assistance necessary to return the veteran to civil life, proud 
of the service he has given his country and his community. 



members of 
City Government. 

1909-I944. 



MAYOES AND CERTAIN OTHER OFFICIALS SINCE 1822. 



ORATORS APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



(123) 



124 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly,* 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr. 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward S. 
Joseph H. Pendergast, 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward S. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4. 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr, 
James I. Green. 

Ward 5. 
John J. Buckley, 
WUliam E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 

Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 

Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



I 909. 

Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldeemen. 
Fbbderick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attridge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 

John T. Priest, City Clerk. 



COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President 
Ward 10. 
J. Henderson Allston, 
Channing H. Cox, 
William S. Kinney. 

Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward IS. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward IS. 
Leo F. McCullough,' 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward 14. 
CorneUus J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. CoUins. 

Ward IS. 
John O'Hara, 
William T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O'Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
William D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 

Joseph O'Kane, Clerk. 



Ward 18. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 19. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
William J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward SO. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Gumming, 
William Smith, jr. 

Ward SI. 
William N. Hackett, 
John Ballantyne, 
Walter R. Meins. 

Ward SS. 
William H. Morgan, 
George Penshorn, 
Bemhard G. Krug. 

Ward 23. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward S4. 
Frank B, Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward S5. 
Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



1 Elected for two years. « Died June 23, 1909; 

» Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



125 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



1910. 

Matoe. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

CiTT Council. 
Walteb Ballanttne , President 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Cnrley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 

19 11. 



Term Ends in 1911; 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Matob. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

CriT Council. 
Walteb L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



19 12. 

Matob. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
John J. Attbidgb, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 

19 13. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods. 



Matob. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Kennt, President. 
Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 

19 14. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Matob. 

CrrT Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note. — The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of nine members. 



126 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantjme, 
John A. CoulthuTBt, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



19 15. 

JAMES M, CURLEY, Matob. 

Cnrr Council. 
Gbobge W. Coleman, President. 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins. 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow, 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 16. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Matoh. 
CrrT Council. 
He NET E. Hagan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst,* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



♦Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoffrey B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



1917. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Matob. 
CriT Council. 
James J. Stoekow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington: 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



19 18. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mator. 
CiTT Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1919." 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



1919. 

ANDREW J. PETERS. Mator. 
CiTT Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



127 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford. 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. GQbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



1920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Matob. 
City CotrNCiL. 
James T. Moriabtt, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. CoUins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



192 1. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 

James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 

1 922. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. CoUins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



1923. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 

Daniel W. Lane^ President. 

Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 

1 924. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor, 

City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 

1 925. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
David J. Brickley, 
William C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson, 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



128 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lsmch, 



1 926. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mator. 

City Council. 



Charles G. Keene, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, j^i 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
John J. HeSernan. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Ljmch, 



1 927. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



John J. Hepfernan, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. Dowling. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



1 928. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



Thomas H. Green, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



1929. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor, 
City Council. 
Timothy F. Donovan, President. 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



129 



1930. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
John F. Dowd, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 

William G. Lynch, President. 



Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



1931. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney 
William G. Lynch, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor, 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1932. 

.TAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Edward M. Gallagher, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Francis E. Kelly, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein. 



WUHam H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1 933. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Thomas Biirke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein, a 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



130 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



1 934. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John F. Dowd, President. 
Henry Selvitella, Richard D. Gleason, 

Thomas H. Green, John J. Doherty, 

John I. Fitzgerald, Edward L. Englert, 

George W. Roberts, David M. Brackman, 

Henry L. Shattuck, Joseph McGrath, 

George P. Donovan, Maurice M. Goldman, 

John E. Kerrigan, Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



Henry SelviteUa, 
Thomas H. Green, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
John F. Dowd, 



1935. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



1936. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 
Henry Selvitella, Richard D. Gleason, 

James J. MeUen, John J. Doherty, 

George W. Roberts, James J. Kilroy, 

Henry L. Shattuck, David M. Brackman, 

George A. Murray, Peter J. Fitzgerald, 

John E. Kerrigan, Sidney Rosenberg, 

John F. Dowd, Martin H. Tobin, 



John J. McGrath, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



Henry SelviteUa, 
James J. MeUen, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George A. Murray, 
John E. Kei^igan, 
John F. Dowd, 



1937. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 



City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 
Mildred M. Harris, 
John J. Doherty, 
James J. Kilroy, 
David M. Brackman, 
Peter J. Fitzgerald, 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



John J. McGrath, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



131 



Francis W. Irwin, 
William J. Galvin, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George A. Murray, 
John F. Dowd, 



1938. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Match. 
City Council. 
John E. Keeeiqan, President. 
Mildred M. Harris, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
James E. Agnew, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



1939 



Francis W. Irwin, 
William J. Galvin, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
George F. McMahon, 



MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
George A. Murray, President 
Mildred M. Harris, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
James E. Agnew, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 
, William F. Hurley, 



I 940. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 



City Council. 
William J. Galvin, President. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 
Joseph J. Gottlieb, 
John B, Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Maurice H. SuUivan. 



194 1. 



James S. Coffey, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 
William F. Hurley, 



MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 

City Council. 
William J. Galvin, President. 

Daniel F. Sullivan, 

William A. Carey, 

Edward L. Englert, 

Charles I. Taylor, 

Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 

Joseph J. Gottlieb, 

John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



132 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael L. Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
A. Frank Foster, ' 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
William F. Hurley, 



1942. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Match. 

City Council. 
Thomas E. Linbhan, President. 

Daniel F. Sullivan, 

William A. Carey, 

Matthew F. Hanley, 

Charles I. Taylor, 

Thomas J. Hannon, jr., 

Joseph J. Gottlieb, 

John B. KeUy, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael L. Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
A. Frank Foster, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



1943. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Hannon, President. 
William F. Hurley, 
Daniel F. Siillivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Matthew F. Hanley, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 
John B. Kelly. 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
James C. Bayley, Jr., 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
William F. Hurley, 



1944. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John E. Kerrigan, President. 
Daniel F. SuUivan, 
WUliam A. Carey, 
Matthew F. Hanley, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Thomas J. Hannon, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
WiUiam Joseph Keenan, 
Michael Paul Feeney, 
Thomas L. McCormack, 
Thomas G. J. Shannon, 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. SuUivan. 



MAYORS OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 



133 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis. . . . 

* Charles WeUs 

* Theodore Lyman, jr . . . 

* Samuel T. Armstrong. . 
♦Samuel A. Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman. . . . 

* Martin Brimmer 

* Thomas A. Davis 

* Josiah Quincy, jr. .... . 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. Smith. . . . 

* Alexander H. Rice .... 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Joseph M. Wightman . . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr. 

* Otis Norcross 

* Nathaniel B. Shurtleff.. 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R, Cutter 

•Samuel C. Cobb 

* Frederick O. Prince. . . . 

* Henry L. Pierce 

* Frederick O. Prince. . . . 

* Samuel A. Green 

* Albert Palmer 

* Augustus P. Martin... . 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Thomas N. Hart 

* Nathan Matthews, jr . . 

* Edwin U. Curtis 

* t Josiah Quincy 

*t Thomas N. Hart 

♦t Patrick A. CoUins 

Daniel A. Whelton .... 
t John F. Fitzgerald 

* t George A. Hibbard. . . 
t John F. Fitzgerald .... 

1[ James M. Curley 

*1f Andrew J. Peters 

1[ James M. Curley 

1 Malcolm E. Nichols. . . 

1 James M. Curley 

H Frederick W. Mansfield 
1[ Maurice J. Tobin 



Boston Nov. 26, 1770 

Boston Feb. 4, 1772 

Boston Oct. 8, 1765 

Boston Dec. 30, 1786 

Boston Feb. 19,1792 

Dorchester April 29, 1784 

Boston Mar. 5,1798 

Boston Jan. 23,1807 

Roxbury June 8, 1793 

Brookline Dec. 11, 1798 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Conway, N. H..July 20, 1800 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Boston Feb. 27, 1817 

Boston Oct. 19,1812 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston June 29, 1810 

Killingly, Conn., Oct. 3, 1820 

Stoughton Aug. 23, 1825 

(See under Chairmen of Alder- 
men.) 

Taunton May 22, 1826 

Boston Jan. 18,1818 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 16, 1830 

Candia, N. H. . .Jan. 17, 1831 

Abbot, Me Nov. 23, 1835 

Ireland July 13,1827 

North Reading.. Jan. 20, 1829 

Boston Mar. 28, 1854 

Roxbury Mar. 26, 1861 

Quincy Oct. 15, 1859 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. 12, 1844 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Boston Feb. 11,1863 

Boston Oct. 27, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 20, 1874 

Jamaica Plain .. April 3,1872 

(See above) 

Portland, Me. . .May 8, 1876 

(See above) 

.Boston Mar. 26, 1877 

Boston May 22, 1901 



May 29,1823 
July 1, 1864 
Oct. 28, 1848 
June 3, 1866 
July 17, 1849 
Mar. 26, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1862 
May 25,1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 
July 4, 1872 
Feb. 14, 1856 
Aug. 20, 1879 
July 22, 1895 
Sept. 13, 1898 
Jan. 25, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
Sept! 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21,1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
Aug. 1,1895 
Oct. 4, 1927 
Dec. 11, 1927 
Mar. 28, 1922 
Sept. 8, 1919 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 14, 1905 



May 29,1910 



June 26, 1938 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31.. 3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35.. 2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42.. 3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846-48. .3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53.. 2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57.. 2 
1858-60.. 3 
1861-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873,10mo. 
1873, 2 mo. 

1874-76.. 3 

1877 1 

1878 1 

1879-81.. 3 

1882 1 

1883 1 

1884 1 

1885-88.. 4 
1889-90.. 2 
1891-94.. 4 

1895 1 

1896-99.. 4 
1900-01.. 2 
1902-05. 3 J 
1905~3imo. 
1906-07.. 2 
1908-09.. 2 
1910-13.. 4 
1914-17. .4 
1918-21.. 4 
1922-25.. 4 
1926-29.. 4 
1930-33.. 4 
1934-37.. 4 
1938 



* Deceased. J Twice elected for two years. 

t Elected for two years: if Elected for four years. 

Note. — Andrew J. Peters was the first Mayor not eligible to succeed himself. 
Special Acts, 1918, Chapter 94. See also Acts, 1938, Chapter 300. 



See 



134 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1845, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of oflBce till the election of his successor, Thomas A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, William Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December H, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12, 
1853, and January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. AUen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his oflBce on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Actmg Mayor. 

Mayor Collins died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 



Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



William Washburn 

Pelham Bonney 

Joseph Milner Wightman, 

Silas Peirce 

Otis Clapp 

Silas Peirce 

Thomas Phillips Rich . . . . 
Thomas Coffin Amory, jr. . 

Otis Norcross 

George W. Messinger 

Charles Wesley Slack 

George W. Messinger 

Benjamin James 

Newton Talbot 

Charles Edward Jenkins . . 

Samuel Little 

Leonard R. Cutter 

John Taylor Clark 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Charles Varney Whitten . . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . . 
Patrick John Donovan . . . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . . 

Homer Rogers 

WiUiam Power Wilson. . . , 
Herbert Schaw Carruth . . 

John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanf ord 

John Henry Lee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7, 1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21, 1802 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

Scituate Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton. . .Mar. 3, 1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31, 1803 

Boston Aug. 16, 1812 

Boston Nov. 2,1811 

Boston Feb. 5,1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15, 1827 

Jaffrey , N. H . . . . July 1 , 1 825 
Sanbornton,N.H.,Sept.l9, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18,1830 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown April 9, 1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11,1840 

Baltimore, Md. .Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15, 1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro, July 5, 1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept. 18, 1886 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 11, 1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5, 1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
Aug. 1, 1882 
Dec. 21, 1906 
July 13, 1894 
Oct. 29, 1880 
June 8, 1910 
Aug. 1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 
Date unknown 
Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



(See above) . 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1865-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

1883 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



Note. — The Mayor was ex officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCli. 135 



CHAIKMEN OP THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. Concluded. 



Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Years of 
Service. 


* Perlie Appleton Dyar . . . 

* Joseph Aloysius Conry. . 
David Franklin Barry. . . 
Michael Joseph O'Brien, 
James Henry Doyle 


Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Dedham Nov. 1, 1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La., Dec. 16, 1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3, 1861 


May 15, 1930 


1897-98 
1898 


July 23, 1911 
April 5, 1903 


1899 
1900 
1901-04 




1905 


t Charles Martin Draper. . 
t Edward L. Cauley 

William Berwin 

Louis M. Clark 

Frederick J. Brand 


Jan 25, 1943 
April 19, 1928 
July 9, 1935 
Mar. 15, 1914 
Mar. 16, 1912 


1906 
1906 
1907 
1908 
1909 



Presidents of the Common Council, 



Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Years of 
Service. 


William Presoott 


Pepperell 


.Aug. 19, 1762 


Dec. 8, 1844 


1822 


John Welles 


Boston 

Boston 


.Oct. 14, 1764 
.Oct. 10, 1777 


Sept. 26, 1855 
Aug. 21, 1858 


1823 


Francis Johormot Oliver . . 


1824-25 


John Richardson Adan . . . 


Boston 


.July 8, 1793 


July 4, 1849 


1826-28 


Eliphalet Williams 


Taunton 


.Mar. 7, 1778 


June 12, 1855 


1829 


Benj. Toppan Piokman. . . 


Salem 


.Sept. 17, 1790 


Mar. 22, 1835 


1830-31 


John Prescott Bigelow . . . 


Groton 


.Aug. 25, 1797 


July 4, 1872 


1832-33 


Josiah Quincy, jr 


Boston 


.Jan. 17, 1802 


Nov. 2, 1882 


1834-36 


Philip Marett 


Boston 


.Sept. 25, 1792 


Mar. 22, 1869 


1837-40 


Edward Blake 


Boston Sept. 28, 1805 

N. Gloucester, Me., Apr. 12, '16 


Sept. 4, 1873 
May 28, 1889 


1841-43 


Peleg Whitman Chandler, 


1844-45 


George Stillman Hillard . . 


Machias, Me. . 


.Sept. 22, 1808 


Jan. 21, 1879 


1846-471 


Benjamin Seaver 




.April 12, 1795 


Feb. 14, 1856 


18472-49 


Boston 

Dorchester 


.Nov. 10, 1800 
.June 14, 1818 


June 14, 1889 
July 19, 1892 


1850-51 


Henry Joseph Gardner . . . 


1852-53 


Alex. Hamilton Rice 


Newton 


.Aug. 30, 1818 


July 22, 1895 


1854 




Marblehead Nov. 11, 1822 

Andover June 22, 1825 

Portsmouth, N. H., Oct. 24, '28 


June 22, 1905 
Aug. 23, 1905 
Aug. 24, 1882 


1855 




1856-57 


Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . . 


1858 


Josiah Putnam Bradlee. . . 


Boston 


.June 10, 1817 


Feb. 2, 1887 


1859-60 


Joseph Hildreth Bradley. . 


Haverhill 


.Mar. 5, 1822 


Oct. 5, 1882 


1861 


Joshua Dorsey Ball 


Baltimore Md 


.July 11, 1828 


Dec. 18, 1892 


1862 


George Silsbee Hale 


Keene, N. H.. 


.Sept. 24, 1825 


July 27, 1897 


1863-64 


Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . . 


Boston 


.July 27, 1826 


Jan. 21, 1902 


1865 



1 To July 1. 2 From July 1. 

* Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898, to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1,1898. 

t Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L. 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



136 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



Joseph Story 

Weston Lewis 

Charles Hastings Allen. 
William Giles Harris. . , 
Melville Ezra Ingalls. . . 
Matthias Rich 



Marquis Fayette Dickin- 
son, jr 



Edward Olcott Shepard . . 
Halsey Joseph Boardman, 

John Q. A. Brackett 

Benjamin Pope 

William H. Whitmore . . . . 
Harvey Newton Shepard. . 
Andrew Jackson Bailey. . . 
Charles Edward Pratt. . . . 

James Joseph Flynn 

Godfrey Morse 



John Henry Lee 

Edward John Jenkins . . . . 

David Franklin Barry . . . . 

Horace Gwynne Allen 

David Franklin Barry 

Christopher Francis 
O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry . . . 

Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley 

Arthur Walter Dolan. . . . 
William John Barrett. . . . 

Leo F. McCullough 

George Cheney McCabe. 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 1834 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Revere May 15, 1828 

Harrison, Me. . .Sept. 6, 1842 
Truro June 8,1820 

Amherst Jan. 16, 1840 

Hampton, N. H., Nov. 25, 1835 

Norwich, Vt May 19, 1834 

Bradford, N. H., June 8, 1842 

Waterford, Ire...Jan. 13,1829 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 1836 

Boston July 8,1850 

Charlestown July 18, 1840 

Vassalboro, Me., Mar. 13, 1845 

St. John, N. B 1835 

Wachenheim, Germany, 

May 17, 1846 

Boston April 26, 1846 

London, Eng.. . .Dec. 20, 1854 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Jamaica Plain. . . JiJy 27,, 1855 

(See above) 



Boston Feb. 17,1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5,1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1,1882 

Carmel, N. Y...July 5,1873 



(See above) . . , 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Dec. 13, 1914 

Sept., 18, 1915 
April 27, 1903 
Jan. 15, 1900 
April 6,1918 
Sept. 24, 1879 
June 14,1900 
April 14, 1936 
Mar. 21, 1927 
Aug. 20,1898 
Mar. 26, 1884 
June 20, 1911 

Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 
(See above) . . . 

AprU 25, 1899 



Dec. 5, 1928 
Nov. 12, 1935 



May 29, 1933 
Dec. 27,1917 



1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

1881* 

18812-82 

1883 3 

1883 4 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-88 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



1 To October 27. 



» From October 27. 



3 To June 11. 



* From June 14. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 



137 



Presidents of the City Counci 


1.* 




Name. 


Place and Date of Birth. 


Died. 


Year of 
Service. 


Walter Ballantyne 


Hawick, Scotland, Mar. 17, 1855 

Boston April 7, 1878 

Boston Feb. 8,1878 

Boston Nov. 18, 1863 

Chelsea Aug. 14, 1873 

Boston June 16, 1867 

St. John, N. B..Feb. 26, 1865 
Boston Jan. 21,1864 


Sept. 30, 1932 


1910 
1911 


John Joseph Attridge 

Thomas Joseph Kenny .... 
Daniel Joseph McDonald . . 




1912 


May 17, 1926 
June 28, 1937 


1913 
1914 
1915 




May 18, 1933 
Mar. 13, 1926 


1916 




1917 




1918 


Francis J. W. Ford 


Boston 

Amesbury 

Boston 

Boston 

Boston 

Boston 


.Dec. 23, 1882 
.Sept. 22, 1876 
.June 24. 1870 
.Mar. 14, 1889 
.Dec. 11, 1872 
.Aug. 12, 1885 




1919 






1920 




Dec. 5, 1941 


1921 




1922 






1923 


John A. Donoghue 




1924 






1925 


Charles G. Keene 


Gardiner, Me. . . . 

Boston 

Boston 

Boston 

Boston 

Boston 

Charlestown. . . . 


.Aug. 6, 1880 
.Jan. 27, 1893 
.May 11, 1883 
.Aug. 21, 1889 
.Oct. 20, 1892 
.Dec. 20, 1890 
.Jan. 25, 1877 




1926 




Aug. 25, 1927 


1927 


Thomas H. Green 


1928 


Timothy F. Donovan 

William G. Lynch 


April 21, 1933 


1929 
1930 


Joseph McGrath 




1931 


Edward M. Gallagher 




1932 


Joseph McGrath 




1933 


John F. Dowd 


Boston 

Boston 


.Nov. 28, 1895 
.July 18, 1882 




1934 


John I. Fitzgerald 




1935 


John I. Fitzgerald 




1936 


John I. Fitzgerald 






1937 


John E. Kerrigan 


Boston 

Boston 

Boston 

(See above) 


.Oct. 1, 1907 
.Sept. 1, 1905 
.Jan. 31, 1904 




1938 


George A. Murray 




1939 


William J. Galvin 




1940 


Wilham J. Galvin 




1941 


Thomas E. Linehan 


Boston 

Boston 

Boston 


.June 28, 1904 
..Dec. 9, 1900 
..Oct. 1, 1907 




1942 


Thomas J. Hannnon 




1943 


John E. Kerrigan 




1944 









■ Single chamber, established in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-51). 



138 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES. 

For the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 

For the Anniversary of National 

1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin, 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Charming. 

1807 Peter O. Thacher. 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 William Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 

1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 

1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 

1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Bassett. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 William Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



Independence, July 4, 1776. 

1827 William Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. Hillard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 Ivers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. ' 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greenough. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward Griffin Parker. 

1857 Rev. William R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth, 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 William Everett. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



139 



ORATORS OP BOSTON. — Concluded. 



1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 

1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 

1877 William Wirt Warren. 

1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 WUIiam E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. Pillsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W, Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead. 

1904 John A. Sullivan. 

1905 LeBaron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 



1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 

1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev. Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell. 

1925 Thomas H. Dowd. 

1926 Andrew J. Peters. 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Edith Nourse Rogers. 

1929 Robert Luce. 

1930 Herbert Parker. 

1931 David I. Walsh. 

1932 Robert E. Rogers. 

1933 Joseph A. Tomasello. 

1934 His Eminence William Car- 

dinal O'Connell. 

1935 Albert Bushnell Hart. 

1936 Faris S. Malouf . 

1937 Louis J. A. Mercier. 

1938 David I. Walsh. 

1939 Stephen F. Chadwick.. 

1940 John P. Sum van. 

1941 Daniel L. Marsh. 

1942 Gerald F. Coughlin. 

1943 John W. McCormack. 

1944 Francis Maloney. 



INDEX. 

A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 . . 134, 135 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1944) . . 15-31 

Americanization Bxireau 116 

Appeal, Board of 45, 46 

Art Department 36 

Assessing Department 37, 38 

Attendance, Supervisors of (School Committee) . . . . 88 

Auditing Department 38 

B. 

Births, Registrar of 73 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay : 

Art Commission 36 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission .... 103, 104 
Boston Housing Authority . . . . . . . . 102, 103 

Boston Port Authority 102 

City of Boston Committee on Public Safety . . . .117,118 

City Hospital Trustees 52 

City Planning Department 47 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 96 

Franklin Foundation Managers 98 

Library Trustees 55 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 57 

Public Welfare Overseers 69 

Real Estate Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) i , . . . 118 

School Buildings 92 

School Committee 86 

Sinking Funds Commission 74 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 75 

White Fund Trustees 100 

Zoning Adjustment 39 

Boston City Record (official weekly of City) . . 18, 23, 24, 35, 75, 76 

Boston Housing Authority 102, 103 

Boston Metropolitan District 105 

Boston, origin and growth of 4, 5 

Boston Port Authority 102 

Boston Traffic Commission 41 

Boston Veterans' Information and Reception Center . . . 119 

Bridge and Ferry Division, PubUc Works Dept 70 

Brighton (Wards 21 and 22) : 

Municipal Court of 109 

Public Schools in 87 

Budget Department 42, 43 

Building Code . . . . .44,45 

Building Department 44, 45 

Board of Examiners 45 

(141) 



142 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



C. 

Page 
Charlestovm (Ward 2) : 

Municipal Court of ........ 109, 110 

Public Schools in 87 

City Charter 15-31 

City Clerk Department 46, 47 

City Council of 1944 11, 12, 132 

Committees of 14 

Officers of 13 

President of 11 

City Council, Presidents of, 1910-1944 137 

City Government, 1944 11,12 

City Governments, 1909 to 1944 124-132 

City Hospital 51, 52 

City Messenger 13 

City officials in charge of executive departments .... 32-34 

City, origin and growth of 4, 5 

City of Boston Committee on Public Safety .... 117, 118 

City Planning Department 47 

City Record (Boston City Record) . 76 

City Seal, origin of and present form 2, 3 

City Solicitor, office of, abolished 54 

Clerk of Committees (City Council) 13 

Collateral Loan Company 105 

Collecting Department 48 

Common Council : 

Presidents of, 1822-1909 ....... 135, 136 

Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) ....... 54 

Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 53 

County of Suffolk: 

Auditor 106 

Commissioners 106 

Court House Commission 104 

District Attorney 106 

Index Commissioners 106 

Treasurer 106 

Courts and Officers of: 

Land Court 106 

Register of Deeds 107 

Sheriff 107 

D. 

Deaths, Registrar of 73 

Deeds, Register of (Suffolk County) ' . . 107 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list): 

Art 36 

Assessing 37,38 



INDEX — D. 143 



Page 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list). — Concl. 

Auditing 38 

Boston and Cambridge Bridges Commission . . . 103, 104 

Budget 42,43 

Building 44, 45 

City Clerk 46,47 

City Planning 47 

Collecting . 48 

Election 48,49 

Finance Commission 95, 96 

Fire 49,50 

Franklin Foundation 98-100 

Health 50,51 

Hospital 51,52 

Institutions 53 

Law . . " 53,54 

Library 55, 56 

Licensing Board 96-98 

Mayor 35 

Park 57-66 

Penal Institutions 66 

PoUce 93-95 

Printing 67 

Public Buildings 67, 68 

Pubhc Welfare 68, 69 

Public Works 69-73 

Registry 73 

Retirement Board 40 

School Buildings 92, 93 

School Committee 86-92 

Sinking Funds 73, 74 

Soldiers' Relief 74 

Statistics 75, 76 

Street Laying-Out 76-78 

Supply 78 

Traffic 41 

Transit 78, 79 

Treasury 79 

Weights and Measures ...._...., 79 

District Attorney (Suffolk County) 106 

Assistants 106 

Dorchester (Wards 13-17) : 

Mxmicipal Court of 110 

School districts in 88 



144 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



E. 

Page 
East Boston (Ward 1): 

District Court of 110 

School districts in 87 

Election Department 48, 49 

Employment Bureau . . 116 

Examiners, Board of (Building Dept.) 45 

Executive Departments of City . . 32-34 

Executive OflBcers, with term, etc 32-34 



F. 

Ferries owned by City . 70 

Finance Commission 95, 96 

Fire Department, with officials, etc 49, 50 

Firemen's Relief Fund 50 

Flag Days 68 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government . . 1 38, 1 39 

Franklin Foundation 98-100 

Franklin Fund, Managers of 98 

Franklin Technical Institute (Franklin Union) . . 98-100 

Q. 

Government of Boston, 1944 11,12 

Government of Boston, Members of, 1909-1944 . . . 124-132 

H. 

Health Department 50, 51 

Highway Division, Public Works Dept 70, 71 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) 51,52 

Sanatorium Division . 52 

South Department 52 

House of Correction, Deer Island 66 

Housing Authority, Boston 102, 103 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part): 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) 110 

Public Schools in 88 

I. 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk County) 106, 107 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 108 

Institutions Department: 

Commissioner of 53 

Long Island Hospital 53 



INDEX — J-L-M-0 . 145 

J. 

Paqb 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) 107 

Jamaica Plain (Ward 19) : 

School Districts in 87 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City . . . 138, 139 

Justices of Municipal Courts 109, 110 

Juvenile Court . . . . Ill 

L. 

Land Court (Suffolk County) 106 

Law Department . , 53, 54 

Library Department 55, 56 

Central and Branch libraries of 55, 56 

Officials and Trustees of 55 

Trust funds, appropriation, etc 55 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated .... 56 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) ..... 45 

Public Works Dept 71 

Licensing Board 96-98 

Licensing Division, Mayor's Office (Amusement licenses) . . 35 

Loan Association, Workingmen's 105 

Loan Company, Collateral 105 

M. 

Market Division (Public Buildings Dept.) ..... 68 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets 68 

Marriage Certificates, Licenses (Registry Dept.) .... 73 

Mayor: 

Department of 35 

Americanization Bureau 116 

City Record (Editorial Office) 35, 75, 76 

Municipal Employment Bureau 116 

Municipal Survey Committee 116 

Office staff of 35 

Public Celebrations, etc . 35 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1944 . . . . . • . . 133, 134 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk County) . . . . . . 112 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 112 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper, Brighton, Charlestown .... 109, 110 
Dorchester, East Boston, Roxbury, South Boston, 

West Roxbury 110 

Justices of (regular and special) 109,110 

Probation officers of 111,112 

Municipal Survey Committee . . -. 116 

O. 

Old South Association 105 

Orators of Boston since 1771 138, 139 

Overseers of Public Welfare 69 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 69 



146 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

P. 

Paqh 

Park Department 57-66 

Commissioners and chief officials of 57 

Penal Institutions Department 66 

Pensions for retired teachers 91, 92 

Planning Department, City 47 

Police Department 93-95 

Commissioner and chief officials of 93 

Printing Department 67 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 108 

Probation officers (Suffolk County) HI, 112 

Public Buildings Department 67, 68 

Superintendent and Chief Officials of 67, 68 

PubUc Library. (Library Dept.) 55, 56 

Public Safety Committee 117, 118 

Public Works Department 69-73 

Bridge and Ferry Division of ...... . 70 

Highway Division of 70, 71 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . 71 

Sanitary Division of 71 

Sewer Division of . . . 71, 72 

Water Division of .72,73 

R. 

Real Estate Commission 118 

Refuse, removal of . 71 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) 107 

Registry Department 73 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 73 

Retirement Board 40 

Roslindale (Wards 20 and 21) : 

School Districts in 87 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Mimicipal Court of 110 

Public Schools in 87 

S. 

Safety Committee 117, 118 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 71 

School Committee 86-92 

Department of, with officials 86, 87 

Elementary and Intermediate School districts . . . . 87, 88 

High and Latin Schools 87 

Industrial and special schools 88 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers . . . . 91, 92 



INDEX — T-V-W-Z. 147 

Page 
School Committee. — Concluded. 

School Physicians and School Nurses 89 

Special departments 88-91 

The Teachers College of the City of Boston .... 87 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form 2, 3 

Sewer Division (Public Works Dept.) 71, 72 

Sheriff of Suffolk County . 107 

Sinking Funds Department . . . . . . . . . 73, 74 

Soldiers' Relief Department 74 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Mimicipal Court of . . . 110 

Public Schools in 87 

Statistics Department . 75, 76 

City Record 75, 76 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) .... 76 

Suffolk County (County of Suffolk) 104,106-112 

Superior Court, justices and clerks of 108 

Supply Department 78 

Supreme Judicial Court, justices and clerks of . . . . 107, 108 

Survey Committee 116 

T. 

Traffic Commission 41 

Transit Department 78, 79 

Treasury Department . . . . . . - . . . ... 79 

V. 

Veterans' Graves Registration 116 

Veterans' Information and Reception Center 119 

W. 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 72, 73 

Water used in 1943, average gallons daily 73 

Weights and Measures Department 79 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20): 

Municipal Court of 110 

Public Schools in ... 87 

White Fund, George Robert 100-102 

Workingmen's Loan Association . 105 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of 38-40 

Members of 39 

Zoning Regulations 40 



CITT OP BOSTON °i^^^ PRINTING DEPARTMENT