(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Municipal register : containing rules and orders of the City Council, the city charter and recent ordinances, and a list of the officers of the City of Boston, for .."

M 



•oU^ M-v^ ^ 



^ 






^i^ 
.K/ 



V 



\^V^^ 



/ 



t 



!t^ 



Given By 
En n ton City liessenger 



3^ 



Boston 

MUNICIPAL EEGISTER 

Foe 1949. 




SEAL OF THE CITY 

OF 

BOSTON 




THE CITY SEAL 
As it appeared prior to 1827 



The City Seal was adopted by ''An Ordinance to 
Establish the City Seal," passed January 2, 1823, which 
provides ''That the design hereto annexed, as sketched 
by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the 
device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, 
to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the 
inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 
1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.'" The 
motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii, 57: "God be with 
us as He was with our fathers." 

The seal as it first appeared is shown above. 

The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever 
since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 
of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known 
as the "First Revision," published in 1827, and is 
estabhshed as the City Seal at the present time by 
Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, 
which provides that "The seal of the City shall be 
circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the 
motto 'Sicut Patribus Sit Deus Nobis,' and the 
inscription, 'Bostonia Condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis 
Regimine Donata A.D. 1822,' as herewith shown." 

The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite 
page. 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OEIGIN AND GEOWTH OF BOSTON. 



The Royal Patent incorporating the Governor and 
Company of Massachusetts Bay in New England passed 
the seals March * 4, 1628-29. At a General Court, or 
Meeting of the Company, on August * 29 of that year it 
was voted ''that the Government and patent should be 
settled in New England." To that end Governor Win- 
throp led the Puritan Exodus in 1630. Soon after his 
arrival at Salem on June * 12, 1630, he proceeded with a 
large following to Charlestown, where a plantation had 
been established the summer before. The Assistants 
held three Courts at Charlestown in the interval, August 
* 23 to September * 28, inclusive. At their meeting 
on September * 7, they ''ordered that Trimountaine 
shall be called Boston; Mattapan, Dorchester; and the 
towne upon Charles River, Waterton." Thus Shawmut 
of the Indians was named Boston, probably out of grati- 
tude to the Merchants of Boston in Lincolnshire, who 
had subscribed generously to the stock of the Company. 

In the latter part of August, Governor Winthrop 
with the patent chose Boston as his abiding place. 
The first "Court" held in Boston was a "General Court" 
on October * 19, "for establishing of the government." 
On October * 3, 1632, Boston was formally declared 
to be "the fittest place for publique meetings of any 
place in the Bay." 

Boston was the first town in Massachusetts to become 
a city. It was incorporated February 23, 1822, by 
St. 1821, c. 110, adopted by the voters March 4, 1822. 
This act was revised by St. 1854, c. 448; amended by 
St. 1885, c. 266 and again by St. 1909, c. 486. 

The neck of land called Boston, still called Boston 
Proper, contained perhaps 700 acres of land, judging 
from the 783 acres shown by the official survey of 1794. 
(In the interval 1630-37, Boston acquired jurisdiction 
over most of the territory now included in Chelsea, 
Winthrop, Revere, East Boston, Brookline, Quincy, 
Braintree, Randolph and Holbrook, besides certain 
islands in the harbor.) From 1637 till May 13, 1640, 

* Old Style. 



ORIGIN AND GROWTH OF BOSTON. 5 

when ''Mount Woollaston" was set off as Braintree, 
Boston exercised jurisdiction over a territory of at least 
40,000 acres. Within its present hmits there are 30,598 
acres, including flats and water. 

Since 1640, grants of land have been made to Boston 
by the General Court as follows: (1) October * 16, 1660, 
1,000 acres ''for the use of a free schoole, layd out in 
the wildernesse or North of the Merimake River" (in 
Haverhill), in 1664. (2) June * 27, 1735, in abatement 
of Province Tax, three townships, each six miles square, 
or 69,120 acres in all. These townships later became 
the Towns of Charlemont, Colrain, and Pittsfield. 
Boston sold its interest in them on June * 30, 1737, for 
£3,660. (3) June 26, 1794, a township of land in 
Maine (23,040 acres) "to build a pubhc hospital." This 
tract was sold by the City April 6, 1833, for $4,200. 

Muddy River was set off as the Town of Brookline 
on November * 13, 1705, and Rumney Marsh was set 
off as the Town of Chelsea January * 8, 1739. 

The principal annexations of territory included within 
the present limits of the City of Boston have been made 
as follows : 

(1) Noddle's Island, by order of Court of Assistants, March 
* 9, 1636-37. (2) South Boston set off from Dorchester March 
6, 1804, by St. 1803, c. 111. (3) Washington Village set off 
from Dorchester May 21, 1855, by St. 1855, c. 468. (4) Rox- 
bury January 6, 1868, by St. 1867, c. 359, accepted September 
9, 1867. Roxbury received its name by order of the Court of 
Assistants October * 8, 1630. It was incorporated as a city 
March 12, 1846, by St. 1846, c. 95, accepted March 25, 1846. 
(5) Dorchester January 3, 1870, by St. 1869, c. 349, accepted 
June 22, 1869. It received its name September * 7, 1630, by 
order of the Court of Assistants. (6) Brighton January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 303, accepted October 7, 1873. Set off from 
Cambridge as the Town of Brighton February 24, 1807, by St. 
1806, c. 65. (7) Charlestown January 5, 1874, by St. 1873, c. 
286, accepted October 7, 1873. Settled July * 4, 1629. It was 
incorporated a City February 22, 1847, by St. 1847, c. 29, 
accepted March 10, 1847. (8) West Roxbury January 5, 1874, 
by St. 1873, c. 314, accepted October 7, 1873. It was set off 
from Roxbury and incorporated a Town May 24, 1851, by St. 
1851, c. 250. (9) Hyde Park January 1, 1912, by St. 1911, c. 
469, and 583, accepted November 7, 1911. Incorporated a 
Town April 22, 1868. 

♦Old style. 



Digitized by tine Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Boston Public Library 



http://www.archive.org/details/municipalregiste1949bost 



[Document 54 — 1949.] 

CITY OF BOSTON 

MUNICIPAL EEGISTEE 
FOE 1949 

CONTAINING 

A REGISTER OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT, 
AMENDED CITY CHARTER OF 1909, 
INCLUDING SUBSEQUENT CHANGES, 

WITH 

LISTS OF EXECUTIVE AND OTHER PUBLIC OFFICERS, 

AND 

MEMBERSHIP OF FORMER CITY GOVERNMENTS. 



COMPILED AND EDITED BY THE STATISTICS 

DEPARTMENT, UNDER THE DIRECTION 

OF 

WILLIAM J. CAMPBELL, Chairman. 



CITY OF BOSTON 
PRINTING DEPARTMENT 

1949 





HdSl. I 'i 
8 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Contents. 



Page 

Introduction 9, 10 

The City Government, 1949 11, 12 

Officers of the City Council , . . 13 

Committees of the City Council 14 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with changes to 1949) . . 15-31 

Officials in charge of executive departments, term, etc. . . 32-34 

Notes on executive departments, lists of officials, term, etc. . 35-85 

Various City, County and State officials, term, etc. . . , 89-91 

Various departments, commissions, courts, etc., lists of officials, 

term, etc 92-118 

Miscellaneous Municipal Activities ... .... 121-123 

Members of City Government, 1909-1949 127-137 

Mayors of Boston, 1822-1949 138, 139 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen, 1855-1909 .... 139, 140 

Presidents of the Common Council, 1822-1909 .... 140, 141 

Presidents of the City Council, 1910-1949 142 

Orators of Boston, 1771-1949 143, 144 

Index 145-151 






INTRODUCTION. 



INTKODUCTION. 



As a public document The Municipal Register is 
as old as the City of Boston itself, the first volume 
having been pubUshed in 1821, a year before the govern- 
ment of Boston changed from Town to City. Up to 

1840 the title of the volume was: The Rules and Orders 
of the Common Council. From 1821 to 1829 the docu- 
ment contained merely a register of the City Council 
and a list of the officers. 

In 1829 the City Charter was published as a part of 
the volume, and in 1830 the Acts relating to Boston, 
also the ordinances, were added. In 1832 the size of 
the volume was increased by the addition of an index 
to the contents. The volume published in 1822 con- 
tained fifteen pages and for the year 1840 there were 
eighty-eight pages, including three pages of index. 

The title The Municipal Register was adopted in 

1841 when the pubUcation became more ambitious, 
incorporating in its pages the Rules and Orders of the 
Common Council, joint rules, ordinances of the City, 
statutes of the Commonwealth relating to the City, a 
list of the public schools, the City Government of 1841, 
the committees and departments (consisting at that 
time of the treasury, law, police, health, public land 
and buildings, lamps and bridges, fire, and public 
charitable institutions), and a list of the ward officers. 

From 1842 to 1864 it also contained a list of the 
members of preceding City Governments, a necrological 
record of those members, the latest ordinances and the 
special statutes relating to the City. In 1851 a Ust of 
the annual orators was added, and in 1853 a map of 



10 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

the City and the Rules of the Board of Aldermen. In 
1876, statistics of registration and voting were included, 
carried from 1879 to 1924 in tabulated form. 

From 1889 to 1896, inclusive. The Municipal 
Register also contained a compilation of the Charter 
with the revision of 1854 and the amendments of 1885 
and thereafter. The Amended Charter of 1909 (15 
pages) was added in 1910, and the various changes 
since that year have been indicated by footnotes. 

In 1924 the important amendments to the Charter 
enacted in that year (10 pages) were included. 

The 1925 volume contained, as the latest addition, 
descriptions of the ward boundaries as fixed for the 22 
new wards (formerly 26) in December, 1924. 

Since 1925, the Register has been gradually reduced 
to its present size; primarily, because of the issuance 
of the Boston Year Book, a more ambitious publication, 
in 1925 and 1926, and secondly for the purpose of 
economy. 






yf.^/L^ 



President boston City Cotjnoil 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



11 



GOVERNMENT 

OF THE 

CITY OF BOSTOIN, 

1949. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

Residence, 
350 Jamaicaway, Boston. 



BOSTON CITY COUNCIL, 1949. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 
630, 730; Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 269; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. 196; 
Stat. 1924, Chaps. 328, 479.] 



WILLIAM F. HURLEY, President. 

James S. Coffey, 451 Meridian street. 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 7 Belmont street. 
Geokge T. Lanigan, 20 North Anderson 

street. 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 136 Huntington 

avenue. 
John E. Yerxa, 300 Marlborough street. 
John B. Wenzler, 514 East Broadway. 
Thomas E. Linehan, 770 Columbia road. 
William F.|Hurley, 76 Mt. Pleasant avenue. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 9 Highland street. 
William A. Carey, 139 St. Alphonsus street. 
Philip A. Tracy, 9 Hampstead road. 



Ward 


1. 


Ward 


2. 


Ward 


3. 


Ward 


4. 


Ward 


5. 


Ward 


6. 


Ward 


7. 


Ward 


8. 


Ward 


9. 


Ward 10. 


Ward 


11. 



12 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Ward 12. Milton Cook, 168 Ruthven street. 

Ward 13. Thomas J. Hannon, 15 Hartford street. 

Ward 14. Julius Ansel, 22 Wales street. 

Ward 15. Robert J. Ramsey, 39 Cameron street. 

Ward 16. John J. Beades, 278 Minot street. 

Ward 17. William Joseph Keenan, 39 Jeremiah 

Clancy street. 

Ward 18. Michael H. Cantwell, 4 Violante street. 

Ward 19. Thomas L. McCormack, 30 Orchard street. 

Ward 20. Walter D. Bryan, 18 Alhambra road. 

Ward 21. Edmund V. Lane, 1666 Commonwealth 

avenue. 

Ward 22. Vincent J. Shanley, 73 Parsons street. 

[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, §30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, §2; Stat. 1901, 
Chap. 332; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 11; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; 
Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 11.] 

Regular meetings in Council Chamber, City Hall, 
fourth floor, Mondays, at 2 P. M. 





JAMES S. COFFEY 
Ward 1 



CITY COUNCIL 



^«ff, 




MICHAEL LEO KINSELLA 
Ward 2 





JOHN E. YERXA 
WARDS 





JOHN B. WENZLER 
WARD 6 



THOMAS E. LINEHAN 
WARD 7 





PHILIP A, TRACY 
Ward 11 




MILTON COOK 
Ward 12 




THOMAS J. HANNON 
Ward 13 




WILLIAM J. KEENAN 
Ward 17 




MICHAEL H. CANTWELL 
Ward 18 




THOMAS L. McCORMACK 
Ward 19 




GEORGE T. LANIGAN 
WARD 3 



CITY COUNCIL 






PERLIE DYAR CHASE 
WARD 4 






WILLIAM F. HURLEY 
Ward 8 



DANIEL F. SULLIVAN 
Ward 9 



WILLIAM A. CAREY 
Ward 10 





JULIUS ANSEL 
Ward 14 



ROBERT J. RAMSEY 
Ward 15 



JOHN J, BLADES 
Ward 16 




WALTER D. BRYAN 
Ward 20 




EDMUND V. LANE 
Ward 21 




VINCENT J. SHANLEY 
Ward 22 




JOHN B HVNES 
CiiyClefk 



OFFICERS 

OF THE 

CITY COUNCIL 




ROBERT E, GREEN 
Clerk of Commillee-; 





WILLIAM J, O'DONNELL 
Criv Messenger 



CITY COUNCIL. 13 



OFFICERS OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

CLERK. 

John B. Hynes. 

ASSISTANT CLERK. 

Walter J. Malloy, 

CLERK OF COMMITTEES. 

Office, City Hall, Room 56, fourth floor. 

Robert E. Green. 

The Clerk of Committees acts as the clerk of all committees of the City 
Council, keeps the records of their meetings, and has charge of the City 
Hall Reference Library. 

■SECRETARY OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

William J. J. O'Neil. 

The Secretary of the City Council is also Assistant Clerk of Committees 
and performs the duties of the Clerk in the latter's absence or in case of 
vacancy of his position. 

STENOGRAPHER-CLERKS TO THE CITY COUNCIL. 

Francis W. Leavey. Stanley Wollaston.* 

John L. Maloney. 

CITY MESSENGER. 

Office, City Hall, Room 55, fourth floor. 

William J. O'Donnell. 

The City Messenger attends all meetings of the City Council and 
committees thereof, keeps the accovmts of the expenditures from the city 
council appropriations, and has the care and distribution of all documents 
printed for the use of the City Council, also the regular department reports. 
He has charge of the City flagstaff's, the display of flags in the pubhc 
grounds, and the roping off of streets and squares on public occasions. 

ASSISTANT CITY MESSENGERS. 

William P. Greeley. 
Dennis H. Shillue. 

The Assistant City Messengers perform the duties of the City Messenger 
in the latter's absence or in case of vacancy of his position. 

DOCUMENT MAN. 

Thomas W. McMahon. 

ASSISTANT DOCUMENT CLERK. 

Joseph J. Brogna. 

OFFICIAL REPORTER OF PROCEEDINGS. 

Elvira Johnson. 

* On leave of absence. 



14 MUNICIPAL REGISTER 



STANDING COMMITTEES OF CITY 
COUNCIL. 

19 4 9. 



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. 

All the members, Councilor Lanigan, Chairman, Councilor Sullivan, 

Vice Chairman. 



On the following committees the first-named member is chairman. 

Appropriations: Councilors Shanley, Sullivan, Bryan, Yerxa, Coffey, 
Tracy, Lane. 

Claims: Councilors Tracy, Linehan, McCormack, Carey, Chase. 

County Accounts: Councilors Carey, Yerxa, Hannon, Cook, Cantwell. 

Finance: Councilors Keenan, Ramsey, Cantwell, Hannon, Coffey, 
Ansel, Shanley. 

Inspection of Prisons: Councilors Cantwell, Ramsey, Wenzler, Lane, 
Lanigan. 

Legislative Matters: Councilors Hannon, Kinsella, Lanigan, Wenzler, 
Cook. 

Licenses: Councilors Coffey, Kinsella, Tracy, Beades, Yerxa, Shanley, 
Keenan. 

Military Affairs : Councilors Cook, Tracy, Linehan, Beades, Shanley. 

Ordinances: Councilors Ramsey, Keenan, Hannon, Linehan, Cook, 
Shanley, Lanigan. 

Parkman Fund: Councilors Lane, Chase, Lanigan, Yerxa, Keenan. 

Printing: Councilors Chase, Ansel, Beades, Hannon, McCormack. 

Public Lands: Councilors Kinsella, Tracy, McCormack, Bryan, Beades. 

Rules: Councilors McCormack, Sullivan, Coffey, Chase, Ramsey. 



SPECIAL COMMITTEES. 

Confirmations: Councilors Ansel, Shanley, Wenzler. 

Parks and Playgrounds: Councilors Yerxa, Tracy, Lanigan, Carey, 
Bryan. 

Public Housing: Councilors Linehan, Kinsella, Carey, Lane, Wenzler. 

Public Safety: Councilors Beades, Coffey, Keenan, Cantwell, Care3^ 

Public Welfare: Councilors Wenzler, Bryan, Linehan, Lane, Cook. 

Public Works: Councilors Bryan, Ansel, Sullivan, Shanlej^ Ramsey. 

Hospitals: Councilors Sullivan, Keenan, Kinsella, Ansel, Ramsey, 
Beades, Cantwell. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 15 



CITY CHARTER OF 1909 (ACTS OF 1909, 

CHAPTER 486) WITH AMENDMENTS TO 

JULY 1, 1947, INCORPORATED. 



The Mayor and City Council, 

Section L* {The terms of office of the mayor and the members of both 
branches of the present city council of the city of Boston and of the street 
commissioner whose term would expire on the first Monday of January, 
nineteen hundred and ten, are hereby extended to ten o'clock a. m. on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, and at that time the said 
city council and both branches thereof and the positions of city messenger, 
clerk of the common council, clerk of committees, assistant clerk of committees, 
and their subordinates shall be abolished. The officials whose terms of office 
are hereby extended shall, for the extended term, receive a compensation equal 
to one-twelfth of the annual salaries now paid to them respectively.) The 
mayor and city council elected in accordance with the provisions of this 
act, and their successors, shall thereafter have all the powers and privileges 
conferred, and be subject to all the duties and obligations imposed by law 
upon the city council or the board of aldermen, acting as such or as county 
commissioners or in any capacity, except as herein otherwise provided. 
Wherever in this act the phrase "mayor and city council" appears, it 
shall be understood as meaning the mayor and city council acting on and 
after the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and ten, under the 
provisions of this and the three following sections. The city council may, 
subject to the approval of the mayor, from time to time establish such 
offices, other than that of city clerk, as it may deem necessary for the con- 
duct of its affairs and at such salaries as it may determine, and abolish 
such officers or alter such salaries; and without such approval may fill the 
offices thus established and remove the incumbents at pleasure. 

Section 1. {Chap. 479, Acts of 1924..) The terms of office of the 
mayor of the city of Boston, of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-six, and of members 
of the city council and school committee of said city which would expire 
under existing law on the first Monday of February, nineteen hundred and 
twenty-seven, shall terminate at ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first 
Monday of January, nineteen hundred and twenty-six. There shall be 
no municipal election in said city in the year nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, and the terms of office of members of the city council and school 
committee of said city which would expire under existing law on the first 
Monday of February, nineteen hundred and twenty-five, are hereby 

* The portion of this section in italics was superseded by Section 1 of 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1 924, which is printed as the next section. 



16 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

extended to ten o'clock in the forenoon on the first Monday of January^ 
nineteen hundred and twenty-six. The salary of any official whose term 
of office is terminated as aforesaid shall cease at the time of such termi- 
nation and the salary of any official whose term of office is extended as- 
aforesaid shall continue at the same rate as theretofore so long as he con- 
tinues to serve during the period of such extension. 

Sect. 2.* The mayor from time to time may make to the city council 
in the form of an ordinance or loan order filed with the city clerk such 
recommendations other than for school purposes as he may deem to be 
for the welfare of the city. The city council shall consider each ordinance 
or loan order presented by the mayor and shall either adopt or reject 
the same within sixty days after the date when it is filed as aforesaid.^ 
If the said ordinance or loan order is not rejected within said sixty day& 
it shall be in force as if adopted by the city council unless previously 
withdrawn by the mayor. Nothing herein shall prevent the mayor from 
again presenting an ordinance or loan order which has been rejected or 
withdrawn. The city council may originate an ordinance or loan order 
and may reduce or reject any item in any loan and, subject to the approval 
of the mayor, may amend an ordinance. All sales of land other than 
school lands, all appropriations for the purchase of land other than for 
school purposes, and ail loans voted by the city council shall require a 
vote of two thirds of all the members of the city council; and shall be passed 
only after two separate readings and by two separate votes, the second 
of said readings and votes to be had not less than fourteen days after the 
first, except that in the case of loan orders for temporary loans in antici- 
pation of taxes the second of said readings and votes may be had not less 
than twenty-four hours after the first. No amendment increasing the 
amount of land to be sold or the amount to be paid for the purchase of 
land, or the amount of loans, or altering the disposition of purchase money 
or of the proceeds of loans shall be made at the time of the second reading 
and vote. If a petition signed by six members of the council requesting 
that action be taken forthwith upon a loan order presented by the mayor 
is filed in the office of the city clerk not earlier than fourteen days after its 
presentation, action shall be taken by the yeas and nays on the question 
of the adoption of such loan order at the next meeting of the council, or^ 
if one vote has already been taken thereon, at the next meeting after 
the expiration of the required interval after such vote; provided, that such 
action thereon has not sooner been taken or such loan order has not been 
withdrawn by the mayor. 

Sect. 3.t All appropriations, other than for school purposes, to be 
met from taxes, revenue or any source other than loans, shall originate 
with the mayor, who, not later than the first Monday in February of each 
year, shall submit to the city council the annual budget of the current 
expenses of the city and county for the current fiscal year, and may 
submit thereafter such supplementary appropriation orders as he may 
deem necessary. The city council may reduce or reject any item, but, 
except upon the recommendation of the mayor, shall not increase any 
item in, nor the total of, a budget, nor add any item thereto, nor shall 
it originate a budget. Not later than the first Monday in April the city 

* Sect. 2 as amended by Chap. 113, Acts of 1933, and Chap. 220, Acts of 
1934. Also affected by Chap. 4, Spec. Session, 1942. 

t Sect. 3 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, and Chap. 604, Acts 
of 1941. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 17 

council shall take definite action on the annual budget by adopting, 
reducing or rejecting it, and in the event of their failure so to do the 
items and the appropriation orders in the budget as recommended by the 
mayor shall be in effect as if formally adopted by the city council and 
approved by the mayor. It shall be the duty of the city and county 
officials, when requested by the mayor, to submit forthwith in such 
detail as he may require estimates for the next fiscal year of the expendi- 
tures of the department or office under their charge, which estimates 
shall be transmitted to the city council. 

Sect. 3 A.* In the period after the expiration of any fiscal year, and 
before the regular appropriations have been made by the city council and 
the school committee, city and county officers who are authorized to 
make expenditures, and the school committee, may incur liabihties in 
carrying on the work of the several departments and offices entrusted to 
them, and payments therefor shall be made from the treasury from any 
available funds therein and charged against the next annual appropria- 
tion, or special appropriation, if any is made; provided, that the liabilities 
incurred during such interval for regular employees do not exceed in any 
one month the average monthly expenditure of the last three months of 
the preceding fiscal year, and that the total liabilities incurred during 
said interval do not exceed in any one month the sums spent for similar 
purposes during any one month of the preceding fiscal year; and provided, 
further, that said officers who are authorized to make expenditures may 
expend in any one month for any new officer or board lawfully created 
an amount not exceeding one twelfth of the estimated cost for the current 
fiscal year; and provided, further, that until a regular or special appropri- 
ation has been made for snow removal, expenditures may be made for that 
purpose to an amount not exceeding the average of the annual expendi- 
tures for snow removal in the five preceding fiscal years. Notwithstanding 
the foregoing Hmitations upon the authority of city officers to incur 
liabilities during said interval, such officers may incur liabilities to such 
extent as may be necessary for the purpose of compensating first assistant 
assessors for their regular duties. 

Sect. 3B.* After an appropriation of money has been duly made by 
the city of Boston for any specific purpose, or for the needs and expendi- 
tures of any city department or county office, no transfer of any part of 
the money thus appropriated shall be made except in accordance with 
and after the written recommendation of the mayor to the city council, 
approved by a yea and nay vote of two thirds of all the members of the 
city council; provided, that the city auditor, with the approval in each 
instance of the mayor, may make transfers, other than for personal service, 
from any item to any other item within the appropriations for a depart- 
ment, division of a department or county office. After December twentieth 
in each year the city auditor may, with the approval of the mayor, apply 
any income and taxes not disposed of and make transfers from any appro- 
priation to any other appropriation for the purpose only of closing the 
accounts of the fiscal year. 

Sect. 4. Every appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution and vote of 
the city council, except votes relating to its own internal affairs, shall be 
presented to the mayor, who shallfmake or cause to be made a written 

* Sect. 3A and 3B inserted by Chap. 604, Acts of 1941. Sect. 3B is 
affected by Chap. 4, Spec. Session, 1942. Sect. 3A as amended by Chap. 
120, Acts of 1947. 



18 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

record of the time and place of presentation, and it shall be in force if he 
approves the same within fifteen days after it shall have been presented to 
him, or if the same is not returned by him with his objections thereto in 
writing within said period of fifteen days. If within said period said 
appropriation, ordinance, order, resolution, or vote is returned by the 
mayor to the city council by filing the same with the city clerk with his 
objections thereto the same shall be void. If the same involves the expend- 
iture of money, the mayor may approve some of the items in whole or in 
part and disapprove other of the items in whole or in part; and such items 
or parts of items as he approves shall be in force, and such items or parts 
of items as he disapproves shall be void. 

Sect. 4A. * The mayor may designate one clerical assistant for whose 
acts he shall be responsible to sign his name in approval of all vouchers of 
less than five hundred dollars each. 

Sect. 5. t Except as otherwise provided in this act the organization, 
powers and duties of the executive departments of the city shall remain as 
constituted at the time when this section takes effect; but the mayor and 
city council at any time may by ordinance reorganize, consolidate or 
abolish, in whole or in part, departments whether created on or before or 
subsequent to the first Monday of February in the year nineteen hundred 
and ten, including the transit department; transfer the duties, powers and 
appropriations of one department to another in whole or in part; and 
estabhsh new departments; and may increase, reduce, estabfish or abolish 
salaries of heads of departments, or members of boards. Such an ordinance 
may provide that all of the employees of any department or division 
thereof thereby abolished who are subject to civil service shall be re- 
appointed to similar positions with similar status in any new department 
or division thereof thereby established or in any other department or 
division thereof, without civil service examination or registration and 
that such employees shall, upon reappointment as may be provided in 
such ordinance, retain all rights to retirement with pension that shall 
have accrued or would thereafter accrue to them, and that their services 
shall be deemed to have been continuous, to the same extent as if such 
abolition had not taken place. Nothing in this act shall authorize the 
abolition or the taking away of any of the powers or duties as established 
by law of the school committee, the board of commissioners of school 
buildings, the department of school buildings, the election department 
or any department in charge of an official or officials appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 6. No contract for fighting the public streets, parks, or alleys, or 
for the collection, removal, or disposal of refuse, extending over a period of 
more than one year from the date thereof, shall be valid without 
the approval of the mayor and the city council after a public hearing, 
held by the city council, of which at least seven days' notice shall have been 
given in the City Record. 

Sect. 7. The city council at any time may request from the mayor 
specific information on any municipal matter within its jurisdiction, and 
may request his presence to answer written questions relating thereto at a 
meeting to be held not earlier than one week from the date of the receipt of 

* Sect. 4A inserted by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

t Sect. 5 as amended by Chap. 222, Sp. Acts of 1919; Chap. 389. Acts of 
1928; Chap, 227, Acts of 1934; Chap. 152, Acts of 1936. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 19 

said questions, in which case the mayor shall personally, or through a head 
of a department or a member of a board, attend such meeting and publicly 
answer all such questions. The person so attending shall not be obliged 
to answer questions relating to any other matter. The mayor at any time 
may attend and address the city council in person or through the head of a 
department, or a member of a board, upon such subject as he may desire. 
Sect. 8. Neither the city council, nor any member or committee, officer, 
or employee thereof shall, except as otherwise provided in this act, directly 
or indirectly on behalf of the city or of the county of Suffolk take part in 
the employment of labor, the making of contracts, the purchase of materials, 
supplies or real estate; nor in the construction, alteration, or repair of any 
pubUc works, buildings, or other property; nor in the care, custody, and 
management of the same; nor in the conduct of the executive or administra- 
tive business of the city or county; nor in the appointment or removal of 
any municipal or county employee; nor in the expenditure of public 
money except such as may be necessary for the contingent and incidental 
expenses of the city council. The provisions of this section shall not affect 
the powers or duties of the city council as the successor of the present 
board of aldermen relative to state or military aid and soldiers' reUef . 

It shall be unlawful for the mayor or for a member of the city council 
or for any officer or employee of the city or of the county of Suffolk or for 
a member of the finance commission directly or indirectly to make a 
contract with the city or with the county of Suffolk, or to receive any 
commission, discount, bonus, gift, contribution or reward from or any 
share in the profits of any person or corporation making or performing 
such contract, unless such mayor, member of the city council, officer, or 
employee or member of the finance commission immediately upon learn- 
ing of the existence of such contract or that such contract is proposed, shall 
notify in writing the mayor, city council, and finance commission of such 
contract and of the nature of his interest in such contract and shall abstain 
from doing any official act on behalf of the city in reference thereto. In 
case of such interest on the part of an officer whose duty it is to make such 
contract on behalf of the city the contract may be made by any other 
officer of the city duly authorized thereto by the mayor, or if the mayor 
has such interest by the city clerk: provided, however, that when a con- 
tractor with the city or county is a corporation or voluntary association, 
the ownership of less than five per cent of the stock or shares actually 
issued shall not be considered as being an interest in the contract within 
the meaning of this act, and such ownership shall not affect the vaUdity 
of the contract, unless the owner of such stock or shares is also an officer 
or agent of the corporation or association, or solicits or takes part in the 
making of the contract. 

A violation of any provision of this section shall render the contract 
in respect to which such violation occurs voidable at the option of the 
city or county. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or by impris- 
onment for not more than one year, or both. Chapter five hundred and 
twenty-two of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight is hereby 
repealed. 

The Executive Department. 
Sect. 9. All heads of departments and members of municipal boards, 
including the board of street commissioners, as their present terms of 
office expire (but excluding the school committee and those officials by 



20 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

law appointed by the governor), shall be appointed by the mayor without 
confirmation by the city council. They shall be recognized experts in 
Buch work as may devolve upon the incumbents of said offices, or persons 
specially fitted by education, training or experience to perform the same, 
and (except the election commissioners, who shall remain subject to the 
provisions of existing laws) shall be appointed without regard to party 
affiliation or to residence at the time of appointment except as hereinafter 
provided. 

Sect. 10 and Sect. 11, concerning approval by the civil service commis- 
sion of appointments by the mayor, repealed by chapter 167, Acts of 1930. 

Sect. 12. A vacancy in any office to which the provisions of section 
nine of this act apply, shall be filled by the mayor under the provisions of 
said section and pending a permanent appointment he shall designate 
some other head of a department or member of a board to discharge the 
duties of the office temporarily. 

Sect. 13. Members of boards shall be appointed for the terms estab- 
lished by law or by ordinance. Heads of departments shall be appointed 
for terms of four years beginning with the first day of May of the year in 
which they are appointed and shall continue thereafter to hold office 
during the pleasure of the mayor. 

Sect. 14. The mayor may remove any head of a department or mem- 
ber of a board (other than the election commissioners, who shall remain 
subject to the provisions of existing laws) by filing a written statement 
with the city clerk setting forth in detail the specific reasons for such 
removal, a copy of which shall be dehvered or mailed to the person thus 
removed, who may make a reply in writing, which, if he desires, may be 
filed with the city clerk; but such reply shall not affect the action taken 
unless the mayor so determines. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to the school committee or to any official by law appointed by the 
governor. 

Sect. 15. The positions of assistants and secretary authorized by 
section twenty of chapter four hundred and forty-nine of the acts of the 
year eighteen hundred and ninety-five except those in the election depart- 
ment are hereby abolished, and except as aforesaid the said section is 
hereby repealed. 

The civil service laws shall not apply to the appointment of the mayor's 
secretaries, nor of the stenographers, clerks, telephone operators and 
messengers connected with his office, and the mayor may remove such ap- 
pointees without a hearing and without making a statement of the cause 
for their removal. 

Sect. 16. No official of said city, except in case of extreme emergency 
involving the health or safety of the people or their property, shall expend 
intentionally in any fiscal year any sum in excess of the appropriations 
duly made in accordance with law, nor involve the city in any contract 
for the future payment of money in excess of such appropriation, except as 
provided in section six of this act. Any official who shall violate the 
provisions of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars, or both. 

The Finance Commission. 

Sect. 17. Within sixty days after the passage of this act the governor 
with the advice and consent of the council shall appoint a finance com- 
mission to consist of five persons, inhabitants of and qualified voters in the 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 21 

city of Boston, who shall have been such for at least three years prior to 
the date of their appointment, one for the term of five years, one for 
four years, one for three years, one for two years, and one for one year, 
and thereafter as the terms of office expire in each year one member for 
a term of five years. Vacancies in the commission shall be filled for the 
unexpired term by the governor with the advice and consent of the council. 
The members of said commission may be removed by the governor with 
the advice and consent of the council for such cause as he shall deem suffi- 
cient. The chairman shall be designated by the governor. His annual 
salary shall be five thousand dollars, which shall be paid in monthly install- 
ments by the city of Boston. The other members shall serve without pay. 

Sect. 18. It shall be the duty of the finance commission from time to 
time to investigate any and all matters relating to appropriations, loans, 
expenditures, accounts, and methods of administration affecting the 
city of Boston or the county of Suffolk, or any department thereof, that 
may appear to the commission to require investigation, and to report 
thereon from time to time to the mayor, the city council, the governor, or 
the general court. The commission shall make an annual report in January 
of each year to the general court. 

Sect. 19. Whenever any pay roll, bill, or other claim against the city 
is presented to the mayor, city auditor, or the city treasurer, he shall, if 
the same seems to him to be of doubtful validity, excessive in amount, or 
otherwise contrary to the city's interest, refer it to the finance commission, 
which shall immediately investigate the facts and report thereon; and 
pending said report payment shall be withheld. 

Sect. 20.* The said commission is authorized to employ such experts, 
counsel, and other assistants, and to incur such other expenses as it may 
deem necessary, and the same shall be paid by said city upon requisition 
by the commission, not exceeding in the aggregate in any year the sum 
of forty-five thousand dollars, or such additional sums as may be appro- 
priated for the purpose by the city council and approved by the mayor. 
A sum sufficient to cover the salary of the chairman of the commission and 
the further sum of at least forty-five thousand dollars to meet the expenses 
as aforesaid each year shall be appropriated by said city. The commission 
shall have the same right to incur expenses in anticipation of its appro- 
priation as if it were a regular department of said city. 

Sect. 21. For the purpose of enabling the said commission to perform 
the duties and carry out the objects herein contemplated, and to enable the 
mayor, the city council, the governor or the general court to receive the 
reports and findings of said commission as a basis for such laws, ordinances, 
or administrative orders as may be deemed meet, the commission shall have 
all the powers and duties enumerated in chapter five hundred and sixty-two 
of the acts of the year nineteen hundred and eight and therein conferred 
upon the commission designated in said act; but counsel for any witness at 
any public hearing may ask him any pertinent question and may offer 
pertinent evidence through other witnesses subject to cross-examination 
by the commission and its counsel. 

The City Clerk. 
Sect. 22.t The present city clerk shall hold office for the term for 
which he has been elected, and thereafter until his successor is chosen 

* Sect. 20 as amended by Chap. 81, Acts of 1921, and Chap. 369, Acta 
of 1924. 

t Sect. 22 is affected by Chap. 580, Acts of 1947. 



22 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

and qualified. In the year nineteen hundred and eleven, and every third 
year thereafter, a city clerk shall be elected by a majority of the members 
of the city council, to hold office until the first Monday in February in the 
third year following his election, and thereafter until his successor has been 
duly chosen and qualified unless sooner removed by due process of law. 
The city clerk shall act as clerk of the city council established by this act. 

The City Auditor. 

Sect. 23. All accounts rendered to or kept in the departments of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall be subject to the inspection and 
revision of the city auditor, and shall be rendered and kept in such form 
as he shall prescribe. The auditor may require any person presenting 
for settlement an account or claim against the city or county to make oath 
before him in such form as he may prescribe as to the accuracy of such 
account or claim. The wilful making of a false oath shall be perjury 
and punishable as such. The auditor may disallow and refuse to pay, in 
whole or in part, any claim on the ground that it is fraudulent or unlawful 
and in that case he shall file a written statement of his reasons for the 
refusal. 

Sect. 24. Whenever, in response to an advertisement by any oflBcer 
or board of the city or county, a bid for a contract to do work or furnish 
materials is sent or delivered to said oflacer or board, a duplicate of the 
same shall be furnished by the bidder to the auditor, to be kept by him 
and not opened until after the original bids are opened. After the original 
bids are opened, the auditor shall open and examine the bids submitted to 
him, and shall compare the same with the original bids. In case any of 
the bids submitted to the auditor differ from the corresponding original 
bids, those submitted to the auditor shall be treated as the original bids. 
The contract shall not be awarded until after both sets of bids are opened. 

Sect. 25. The auditor shall furnish monthly to each head of depart- 
ment a statement of the unexpended balance of the appropriation for that 
department, and he shall furnish to the mayor and city council a state- 
ment of the unexpended balances of all the departments. He shall furnish 
quarterly to the city council an itemized statement showing the amount 
of money expended by the mayor and the city council for contingent 
expenses. 

Miscellaneous Provisions. 

Sect. 26.* All loans issued by the city after the passage of this act 
shall be made payable in annual installments in the manner authorized by 
section thirteen of chapter twenty-seven of the Revised Laws as amended 
by section one of chapter three hundred and forty-one of the acts of the 
year nineteen hundred and eight. No sinking fund shall be established 
for said loan. All bonds shaU be offered for sale in such a manner that the 
premiums, if any are received, shall be applied in accordance with the 
provisions of chapter three hundred and seventy-nine of the acts of the 

* Sect. 26 as amended by Chap. 437, Acts of 1910, and Chap. 165, Acts 
of 1911. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 23 

year nineteen hundred and ten. No city or county money shall be de- 
posited in any bank or trust company of which any member of the board 
of sinking fund commissioners of said city is an oflBcer, director, or agent. 
Nothing herein shall apply to transit bonds of the city of Boston issued 
under the provisions of the several acts authorizing the construction of 
timnels and subways in said city by the Boston Transit Commission, and 
said bonds may be issued as heretofore and secured by sinking fund. 

Sect. 27.* Every oflBcer and board in charge of a department of the 
city of Boston or county of Suffolk shall, on or before the sixth day of 
January, in the year nineteen hundred and thirty-nine and on or before 
the sixth day of January in each year thereafter, prepare and furnish to 
the city auditor a list of the oflficials and employees under said oflBcer or 
board and paid by the city or county on the first day of such January; 
and every such officer and board shall, on or before the sixth day of June, 
in each of the years nineteen hundred and thirty-eight to nineteen hun- 
dred and forty-three, inclusive, prepare and furnish to the city auditor a 
list of such officials and employees paid by the city or county on the first 
day of such June. Such lists shall give the names, residence by street 
and ward, designation, compensation, and date of election or appoint- 
ment of each of said officials and employees and the date when each first 
entered the employ of the city or county. It shall be the duty of the 
city auditor to verify said lists by the pay rolls and to keep a copy of said 
lists open for public inspection, and to prepare and publish in the City 
Record, in the year nineteen hundred and thirty-nine and annually there- 
after, a comparative table containing the number of such officials and 
employees holding office or employed in each such department or board 
and paid by the city or coimty on the first day of January in each of the 
ten years next preceding such publication; and, in addition, in each of 
the years nineteen hundred and thirty-eight to nineteen hundred and 
forty-three, inclusive, he shall prepare and publish in the City Record, a 
comparative table showing the number of such officials and employees 
holding office or employed in each such department or board and paid 
by the city or county on the first day of June in each of the ten years 
next preceding such publication. Each such comparative table of the 
number of such officials and employees paid by the city or county on the 
first day of January, in any year, shall be so published not later than 
diuing the first week in the month of March next following; and each 
such comparative table of the number of such officials and employees; 
paid by the city or coimty on the first day of Jime, in each of the years 
nineteen hundred and thirty-eight to nineteen hundred and forty-three, 
inclusive, shall be so published not later than during the first week in the 
month of August next following. 

Sect. 28. The jurisdiction now exercised by the board of aldermen 
concerning the naming of streets, the planting and removal of trees in the 

* Sect. 27 as amended by Chap. 168, Special Acts of 1919, Chap. 133, 
Acts of 1922, and Chap. 263, Acts of 1938. 



24 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

public ways, the issue of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage of 
gasoline, oil, and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds 
and the use of the public ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction 
or projection in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, 
poles, and posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway, or illuminating 
purposes, is hereby vested in the board of street commissioners, to be 
exercised by said board with the approval in writing of the mayor; and 
the mayor and city council shall have authority to fix by ordinance the 
terms by way of cash payment, rent, or otherwise, upon which permits or 
licenses for the storage of gasoUne or oil, or other inflammable substances 
or explosive compounds, and the construction or use of coal holes, vaults, 
bay windows, and marquises, in, under, or over the pubUc ways shall be 
issued. 

Sect. 29.* Within ninety days after the passage of this act and there- 
after there shall be published at least once a week and distributed and sold 
under the direction of the mayor and on terms to be fixed by the city 
council and approved by the mayor a paper to be known as the City 
Record. All advertising with reference to the sale of property for nonpay- 
ment of taxes shall appear exclusively in the City Record. All other adver- 
tising, whether required by law or not, with reference to the purchase of 
taking of land, contracts for work, materials or supplies, and the sale or 
bonds, shall appear in said paper, and in such newspaper or newspapers as 
the mayor, in his discretion, may order; a list of all contracts of one 
thousand dollars or more, as awarded, with the names of bidders, and the 
amount of the bids; appointments by the mayor; and changes in the 
number and compensation of employees in each department, shall be 
pubhshed in the City Record. Failure to publish in such newspaper or 
newspapers as the mayor may order shall not invalidate any purchase, 
contract or sale made or action taken by the city. The proceedings of the 
city council and school committee together with all communications from 
the mayor, shall be published in the City Record; provided, that the 
substance of debates by and among the members of the city council shall 
not be so published or published elsewhere at the expense of the city. 

Sect. 30. t Every officer or board in charge of a department in said 
city and every officer, board or official of the county of Suffolk having 
power to incur obligations on behalf of said county in cases where said- 
obUgations are to be paid for wholly from the treasury of said city, when 
authorized to erect a new building or to make structural changes in an 
existing building, shall make contracts therefor, not exceeding five, each 
contract to be subject to the approval of the mayor; and when about to do 
any work or to make any purchase, the estimated cost of which alone, or in 
conjunction with other similar work or purchase which might properly be 
included in the same contract, amounts to or exceeds one thousand dollars, 
shall, unless the mayor gives written authority to do otherwise, invite 
proposals therefor by advertisements in the City Record. Such advertise- 

* Sect. 29 as amended by Chap. 185, Acts of 1934, and Chap. 447, 
Acts of 1947. 

t Sect. 30 as amended by Chap. 156, Acts of 1939. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 25 

ments shall state the time and place for opening the proposals in answer to 
said advertisement, and shall reserve the right to the officer, board or 
official to reject any or all proposals. No authority to dispense with 
advertising shall be given by the mayor unless the said officer, board or 
official furnishes him with a signed statement which shall be published 
in the City Record giving in detail the reasons for not inviting bids by 
advertisement. 

Sect. 31. At the request of any department, and with the approval of 
the mayor, the board of street commissioners, in the name of the city, may 
take in fee for any municipal purpose, any land within the hmits of the city, 
not already appropriated to pubhc use. Whenever the price proposed to 
be paid for a lot of land for any municipal purpose is more than twenty-five 
per cent higher than its average assessed valuation during the previous 
three years, said land shall not be taken by purchase but shall be taken by 
right of eminent domain and paid for in the manner provided for the 
taking of and the payment of damages for land for highways in said city. 
No land shall be taken until an appropriation by loan or otherwise for the 
general purpose for which land is needed shall have been made by the mayor 
and city council by a two thirds vote of all its members; or in case of land 
for school purposes by the school committee and schoolhouse department 
in accordance with law; nor shall a price be paid in excess of the appropria- 
tion, unless a larger sum is awarded by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
All proceedings in the taking of land shall be under the advice of the law 
department, and a record thereof shall be kept by said department. 

Sect. 32.* Beginning in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, 
the municipal election in said city shall take place biennially in every odd 
numbered year on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

Sect. 33. t The fiscal year in said city shall begin on January first and 
shall end on December thirty-first next following; and the municipal year 
shall begin on the first Monday in January and shall continue until the 
first Monday of the January next following. At the biennial municipal 
election in the year nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the five members 
of the school committee shall be elected. The two candidates receiving 
the largest number of votes at said election shall hold office for four years, 
and the three receiving the next largest number of votes at said election, 
for two years. At every biennial municipal election thereafter, all mem- 
bers of the school committee to be elected shall be chosen for terms of four 
years each. The terms of all members of the school committee shall begin 
with the first Monday of January following their election and continue 
until their successors are chosen and qualified. The members of the school 
committee shall meet and organize on the first Monday of January follow- 
ing their election. 

Sect. 34, In Boston, beginning with the current year, political com- 
mittees shall be elected at the state primaries instead of at the municipal 
primaries. 

* Sect. 32 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 1, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, 
Acts of 1921, and Chap, 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 33 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



26 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Sect. 45.t Beginning with the biennial municipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five, the mayor of the city of Boston shall 
be elected at large to hold office for the term of four years from the first 
Monday in January following his election and until his successor is chosen 
and qualified. 

Sect. 46. Providing for recall of mayor repealed by Special Acts 1918, 
Chap. 94. 

Sect. 47.t If a vacancy occurs in the office of mayor within two 
months prior to a regular municipal election other than an election for 
mayor, or within sixteen months after any regular municipal election, 
the city council shall forthwith order a special election of mayor to serve 
for the unexpired term, and if such vacancy occurs at any other time 
there shall be an election for mayor at the next regular municipal election 
for the term of four years; provided, that the foregoing provisions shall 
not apply if such vacancy occurs between the date of an election at which 
a new mayor is elected and the date he takes office. In the case of the 
decease, inabiUty, absence, or resignation of the mayor, and whenever 
there is a vacancy in the office from any cause, the president of the city 
council, while said cause continues or untU a mayor is elected, shall per- 
form the duties of mayor. If he is also absent or unable from any cause 
to perform such duties they shall be performed, until the mayor or president 
of the city council returns or is able to attend to said duties by such mem- 
ber of the city council as that body may elect, and untU such election by 
the city clerk. The person upon whom such duties shall devolve shall be 
called "acting mayor" and he shall possess the powers of mayor only 
in matters not admitting of delay, but shall have no power to make per- 
manent appointments except on the decease of the mayor. 

Sections 8, 9, and IS of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

Sect. 8. At the biennial state election in nineteen hundred and twenty- 
four, the registered voters of the city of Boston shall be entitled to vote upon 
the following plans of city council, which shall be printed upon the official 
ballot in the following form. Each voter shall make a cross in the space 
at the right of the plan which he desires to have adopted. No ballot 
shall be counted upon which the voter has made a cross in each such space. 

Plan No. 1. A city council of fifteen members to consist of three 
members to be elected for two year terms by and from the voters o f each of 
five boroughs (each comprising certain specified wards) at 
a salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of five hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



* * * * Sections 35 to 44, inclusive, are omitted because now in- 
operative. 

t Sect. 45 as amended by Chap. 94, Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, 
Acts of 1924, and Chap. 300, Acts of 1938, which was accepted by the 
voters at the municipal election November 7, 1939. 

X Sect. 47 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914, Sects. 2 and 3, and 
Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. See Chaps. 4 and 8, Acts of 1945. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 27 

Plan No. 2. A city council to consist of one member to be elected for a 
two year term by and from the voters of each ward at a 
salary of fifteen hundred dollars each, nominated as hereto- 
fore, except that the names of one hundred voters only shall 
be required to nominate each member. 



Sect, 9. If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of the 
preceding section are in favor of the first plan, then sections ten to twelve, 
inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty-one, and sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect. 13. t If a majority of the votes cast under the provisions of 
section eight are in favor of the second or alternative plan, then sections 
fourteen to sixteen, inclusive, shall take effect subject to section twenty- 
one, and sections ten to twelve, inclusive, shall be inoperative. 

Sect, 48. t Beginning with the biennial mimicipal election in the year 
nineteen hundred and twenty-five there shall be elected at each regular 
municipal election by and from the registered voters of each ward one 
councillor to serve for two years from the first Monday in January follow- 
ing his election and until his successor is elected and qualified. 

Sect. 49. § Each member of the city council shall be paid an annual 
salary of twenty-five hundred dollars; and no other sum shall be paid from 
the city treasury for or on account of any personal expenses directly or in- 
directly incurred by or in behalf of any member of said council. 

Sect. 50. || The city council shall be the judge of the election and 
quaUfications of its members; shall elect from its members by vote of a 
majority of all the members a president who when present shall preside 
at the meetings thereof; shall from time to time establish rules for its 
proceedings, and shall, when a vacancy occurs in the office of any member 
during the first eighteen months of his term, order a special election 
in his ward to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term. The member 
eldest in years shall preside until the president is chosen, and in case of 
the absence of the president, until a presiding officer is chosen. 

Sect. 51. All elections by the city council under any provision of law 
shall be made by a viva voce vote, each member who is present answering 
to his name when it is called by the clerk or other proper officer, and 
stating the name of the person for whom he votes, or declining to vote 
as the case may be, and the clerk or other proper officer shall record every 
such vote. No such election shall be valid unless it is made as aforesaid. 

* * * * Sections 10 to 12, inclusive, are omitted because inoperative. 

t Plan No. 2 was accepted by the voters at the State Election, November 
4, 1924, 

t Sect. 48 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 

§ Sect. 49 as amended by Chap. 348, Acts of 1930, which was accepted 
by the voters at the State Election, November 4, 1930. Further amended 
by Chap. 555, Acts of 1948. 

I] Sect. 50 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, 



28 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Sect. 52. No primary election or caucus for municipal offices shall 
be held hereafter in the city of Boston, and all laws relating to primary 
•elections and caucuses for such offices in said city are hereby repealed. 

Sect. 53.* Any registered voter who is qualified to vote for a candidate 
for any municipal elective office in such city may be a candidate for nomi- 
nation thereto, and his name as such candidate shall be printed on the 
official ballot to be used at the municipal election; provided, that at or 
before five o'clock p. m. of the eighth Tuesday prior to such election nomi- 
nation papers, prepared and issued by the election commissioners, signed 
in person for the nomination for mayor by at least three thousand regis- 
tered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candidate at said election, 
signed in person for the nomination for school committee by at least 
two thousand registered voters in said city qualified to vote for such candi- 
date at said election, and signed in person for the nomination for city coun- 
cillor by at least three hundred registered voters in the ward, for which 
said nomination is sought, qualified to vote for such candidate at said 
election, shall be filed with said election commissioners and the signatures 
on the same to the number required to make the nomination subsequently 
•certified by the election commissioners as hereinafter provided. Said 
nomination papers shall be in substantially the following form: 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS. 

CITY OF BOSTON. 

NOMINATION PAPER. 

The undersigned, registered voters of the City of Boston, qualified to 
vote for a candidate for the office named below, in accordance with law, 
make the following nomination of a candidate to be voted for at the 
■election to be held in the City of Boston on November ,19 



Name op Candidate. 
(Give first or middle name in full.) 



Office for which 
nominated. 



Residence, 

Street and Number, 

if any. 



SIGNATURES AND RESIDENCES OF NOMINATORS. 

We certify that we have not subscribed to more nominations of candi- 
dates for this office than there are persons to be elected thereto. In case 
of the death, withdrawal or incapacity of the above nominee, after written 
acceptance filed with the board of election commissioners, we authorize 

* Sect. 53 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 4, Acts of 1914; Chap. 37, 
Special Acts of 1918; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 136, Acts of 1925; 
Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; and Chap. 472, Acts of 194L Chap. 139, Acts of 
1945, effective during the war and one year thereafter, changing the time 
specified in this section, was repealed by Chap. 227, Acts of 1947. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 



29 



(names of a committee of not less than five persons) or a majority thereof 
as our representatives to fill the vacancy in the manner prescribed by law. 



SlGNATUBBS OF NOM- 
INATORS. 

To be made in person. 



Residence 
January 1. 



Ward. 



Precinct. 



Present Residence.. 



ACCEPTANCE OF NOMINATION. 

I accept the above nomination. 



Signature of Nominee. 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

Boston, , 19 . 

suffolk, ss. 

The undersigned, being the circulator or circulators of this paper, severally 
certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the persons whose 
names are written upon the fines the numbers of which appear opposite 
our signatures below, signed the same in person. 



Names and Addresses of Persons 
Circulating this Paper. 


Numbers op Lines upon which Appear 
Signatures as to which Certification 


Name. 


Address. 


Is Made hereby. 









The signature of any nominator which is not so certified shall not be 
counted in determining the number of nominators. 

Sect. 54.* If a candidate nominated as aforesaid dies before the day 
of election, or withdraws his name from nomination, or is found to be 
inefigible, the vacancy may be filled by a committee of not less than five 
persons, or a majority thereof, if such committee be named, and so author- 
ized in the nomination papers. Nomination papers shall not include 
candidates for more than one office. Every voter may sign as many 
nomination papers for each office to be fiUed as there are persons to be 

* Sect. 54 as amended by Chap. 730, Sect. 5, Acts of 1914; Chap. 340, 
Acts of 1921; Chap. 479, Acts of 1924; Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; Chap. 
472, Acts of 1941; and Chap. 446, Acts of 1947. Chap. 139, Acts of 1945, 
efi'ective during the war and one year thereafter, changing the time specified 
in this section, was repealed by Chap. 227, Acts of 1947. 



30 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

elected thereto and no more. Nomination papers shall be issued by the 
board of election commissioners on and after but not before the eleventh 
Tuesday preceding the regvdar municipal election. Such papers shall 
be issued only to candidates who shall file with the election commissioners 
requests therefor in writing, containing their names with the first or 
middle name in full, the offices for which they are candidates, and their 
residences, with street and number, if any. Forthwith the election com- 
missioners shall print or insert on such nomination papers the names of 
the candidates, the offices for which they are nominated and their resi- 
dences, with street and number, if any. Not more than three hundred 
such nomination papers shall be issued to any candidate for mayor, and 
not more than two hundred such nomination papers shall be issued to 
any candidate for the school committee and to any candidate for the city 
council there shall be issued not more than ten such nomination papers 
for a ward. No nomination papers except those issued in accordance 
with the provisions of this section shall be received or be valid. 

Sect. 55.* Women who are qualified to vote may be nominated as 
and sign nomination papers for candidates for office in the manner and 
under the same provisions of law as men. 

Sect. 56. f The names of candidates appearing on nomination papers 
shall, when filed, be a matter of public record; but the nomination papers 
shall not be open to public inspection until after certification. After 
such nomination papers have been filed, the election commissioners shall 
certify thereon the number of signatures which are the names of registered 
voters in the city qualified to sign the same. They shall not certify a 
greater number of names than are required to make a nomination, with 
one-tenth of such number added thereto. All such papers found not to 
contain a number of names so certified equivalent to the number required 
to make a nomination shall be invalid. The election commissioners shall 
complete such certification on or before five o'clock p. M. on the thirty- 
fourth day preceding the city election. Such certification shall not pre- 
clude any voter from filing objections as to the validity of the nomination. 
All withdrawals and objections to such nominations shall be filed with the 
election commissioners on or before five o'clock p. m. on the twenty-eighth 
day preceding the city election. All substitutions to fill vacancies caused 
by withdrawal or ineligibility shall be filed with the election commissioners 
on or before five o'clock p.m. on the twenty-seventh day preceding the city 
election. 

Skct. 57. The name of each person who is nominated in compliance 
with law together with his residence and the title and term of the office for 
which he is a candidate shall be printed on the official ballots at the munici- 
pal election and the names of no other candidates shall be printed 
thereon. The names of candidates for the same office shall be printed 

* Sect. 55 as amended by Chap. 65, Acts of 1921. 

t Sect. 56 as amended by Chap. 730, Acts of 1914; Chap. 288, Acts of 
1921; Chap. 105, Acts of 1926; and Chap. 472, Acts of 1941. Chap. 139, 
Acts of 1945, effective during the war and one year thereafter, changing 
the time specified in this section, was repealed by Chap. 227, Acts of 1947. 



CITY CHARTER WITH AMENDMENTS. 31 

upon the official ballot in the order in which they may be drawn by the 
board of election commissioners, whose duty it shall be to make such 
drawing and to give each candidate an opportunity to be present thereat 
personally or by one representative. 

Sect. 58.* No ballots used at any biennial or special municipal election 
shall have printed thereon any party or political designation or mark, 
and there shall not be appended to the name of any candidate any such 
party or political designation or mark, or anything showing how he was 
nominated or indicating his views or opinions. 

Sect. 59.t On ballots to be used at biennial or special municipal elec- 
tions, blank spaces shall be left at the end of each list of candidates for the 
different offices, equal to the number to be elected thereto, in which the 
voter may insert the name of any person not printed on the ballot for 
whom he desires to vote for such office. 

Sect. 60. All laws not inconsistent with the provisions of this act, 
governing nomination papers and nominations for, and elections of munici- 
pal officers in the city of Boston, shall so far as they may be applicable, 
govern the nomination papers, nominations and elections provided for in 
this act. The board of election commissioners shall be subject to the 
same penalties and shall have the same powers and duties, where not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this act, in relation to nomination 
papers, preparing and printing ballots, preparing for and conducting elec- 
tions and counting, tabulating and determining the votes cast under the 
provisions of this act, as they have now in relation to municipal elections 
in said city. 

Sect. 61. The provisions of this act shall apply to any special municipal 
election held after the year nineteen hundred and nine in the city of Boston, 
except that nomination papers for offices to be filled at such elections shall 
be issued by the election commissioners on and after the day following the 
calling of said special election. Every special municipal election shall be 
held on a Tuesday not less than sixty days nor more than ninety days 
after the date of the order calling such special election. 

Sect. 62. All acts and parts of acts, so far as inconsistent with this act, 
are hereby repealed; and all ordinances and parts of ordinances, so far as 
inconsistent with this act, are hereby annulled. All acts and parts of acts 
affecting the city of Boston, not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
act, are hereby continued in force. 

The provisions of the amended charter went into full effect February 7, 
1910. Sections 45 to 61 inclusive were accepted by the voters at the state 
election November 2, 1909. 

Plan No. 2, set forth in section 8 of Chap. 479, Acts of 1924, for a city 
council of one member from each ward, was accepted by the voters at the 
state election November 4, 1924. 

The provisions of Chap. 479 of the Acts of 1924 went into full effect 
January 4, 1926. 

* Sect. 58 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 
t Sect. 59 as amended by Chap. 479, Acts of 1924. 



32 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



OFFICIALS 



IN CHARGE OF THE 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



The following table shows the manner in which the administrative heads 
of the Executive departments are appointed or elected, the time of appointment 
or election and the term of office as prescribed by statute or ordinance. (See 
Acts of 1930, Chap. 167.) 





How 

Created. 


Appointed 


DR Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Appeal, Board of (Five) 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Annually, 
one 


May 1. . . 


5yrs, 


Art Commission (Five) 


a 


ft 


Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 


5 « 


Assessors (Five) 


u 


ft 


Annually, 
one 


April 1 . . 


5 " 


Auditor 


Ord 

u 


ft 
ft 


* 

Quadren- 
nially .... 


* 
" 1.. 


* 


Budget Commissioner, 


4 « 


Building Commissioner, 
City Clerk 


Statute. . . 
Ord 


ft 

City 
Council. . 

Mayor . . . 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Triennially, 

Annually, 
two 


" 1.. 

1st Mon. 
in Feb. . 

May 1 . . 


4 « 


City Planning Board 
(Nine) 


3 « 




5 « 


Collector 


Statute. . . 


ft 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 






4 " 


Corporation Counsel . . . 

Election Commissioners 
(Four) 


Ord 

Statute. . . 

u 


ft 
ft 
« 


Quadren- 
nially .... 

Annually, 
one 

Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 
April 1 . . 
May 1 . . 


4 « 


Examiners, Board of 
(Three) 


4 « 




3 « 



* Position placed under Civil Service by vote of electorate, November 2, 1943. 



CHIEF OFFICIALS OF EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 33 





How 

Created. 


Appointed 


OK Elected. 


Tbrm. 


Officials. 


By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


Fire Commissioner 


Statute. . . 


Mayor. . . 


Quadren- 
nially 


May 1 . . 


4yrs. 


Health Commissioner. . . 


Ord 


(( 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


" 1.. 


4 « 


Hospital Trustee s 
(Five) 


Statute. . . 


u 


Annually, 
one 


" 1.. 






5 " 


Institutions Commis - 
sioner 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 






4 " 


Library Trustees (Five) 


a 


u 


Annually , 
one 


" 1.. 


5 " 


Park Commissioners 
(Three) 


Statute. . . 


a 


Annually, 
one 


« 1.. 






3 " 


Penal Institutions Com- 
missioner 


Ord 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 






4 « 


Printing, Superintend- 
ent of 


u 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 






4 " 


Superintendent of 


a 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


" 1.. 


4 " 


Public Welfare Trus- 
tees (Twelve) 


Statute. . . 


« 


Annually, 
four 


" 1.. 


3 '' 


Public Works, Com- 


Ord 


a 


Quadren- 
nially .... 


« 1.. 






4 « 


Real _ Estate Com- 
mission 


Statute. . 


u 


Trian- 
nually . . . 


" 1.. 






3 « 


Registrar, City 


« 


u 


Quadren- 
nially 


« 1.. 


4 « 


Retirement Board 
(Three) 


(I 


it 




Oct. 1.. 


4 « 











34 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Officials. 

Sinking Funds Com- 
missioners (Six) 

Statistics Trustees 
(Five) 

Street Commissioners 
(Three) 

Supplies, Superintend- 
ent of 

Trafl5c Commissioners 
(Five) 

Transit Commissioners 
(Three) 

Treasurer 

Veterans' Service and 
Soldiers' Relief Com- 
missioner 

Weights and Measures, 
Sealer of 

Zoning Adjustment, 
Board of (Twelve).... 



How 
Created. 



Statute. 



Ord. 



Statute. 



Ord. 



Statute. 
Ord.... 
Statute. 



Ord. 



Statute. 



Appointed or Elected. 



By Whom. When, 



Mayor . 
Mayor , 



Mayor . 



Term. 



Begins. Length. 



Annually, 
two 



Annually, 
one 



Annually, 
one 



Quadren- 
nially . . 



Annually, 



Quadren- 
nially . . 



Quadren- 
nially 



Annually, 
two .... 



May 1 . 



May 1, 



IstMon. 
in Jan. . 



May 1, 



3yrs. 



5 " 



3 " 



4 " 



May 1, 



« 1, 



3 « 

4 « 

4 " 



May 1, 



5 " 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 35 

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENTS. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE MAYOR. 

Office, 27 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; 
Stat. 1904, Chap. 450; Stat. 1905, Chap. 341; Stat. 1906, Chap. 259; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 274, 463; C. C, Title II., Chap. 3; Stat. 1908, 
Chaps. 292, 494; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 
1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1912, Chap. 550; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 280, 
367, 788; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 274, 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 184, 348: Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 94; 
Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 75; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 6, 312, 613; Stat. 1921, 
Chaps. 169, 407, 497; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 35, 399, 521; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 453, 479; Stat. 1930, Chap. 167; Stat. 1938, Chap. 300; 
Stat. 1945, Chaps. 4, 8.] 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
Martin J. Finn, Executive Secretary. 
John P. Brennan, Federal Relations Secretary. 
Lawrence P. Gilligan. Chief Clerk. 
Marion Newton, Assistant Secretary. 
Marie F. Dean, Assistant Secretary. 
John Kilduff, Assistant Secretary. 
Patrick J. King, Assistant Secretary. 
John J. Murphy, Assistant Secretary. 
Raymond G. Clark, Assistant Secretary. 
MiRiNDA Cappucci, Stenographer. 
Agnes J. Mooney, Clerk-Stenographer. 
Stella D. Rothwell, Clerk-Stenographer. 
Cecilia Corcoran, Clerk-Stenographer. 
Alice F. Leonard, Chief Telephone Operator. 
George Hurley, Chatiffeur. 

licensing division. 
Walter R. Milliken, Chief. 
Beatrice Whelton, Assistant Chief. 
Katherine M. Callahan, Stenographer. 
Ethel Landermann, Clerk. 
Betty Miller, Clerk-Typist. 

public celebrations, conventions and distinguished guests. 
Henry F. Brennan, Acting Director. 
John W. Noonan, Assistant Director. 
Helena Gilmore, Clerk-Typist. 
Marion Mulhall, Clerk-Stenographer. 
Samuel H. Sherman, Assistant Secretary. 
John E. Nagle, Clerk. 

the city record. 

Office, 40 City Hall. 

Joshua H. Jones, Editor. 

P. Nicholas Petrocelli, Associate Editor. 



36 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ART DEPARTMENT. 
Office, Faneuil Hall. 

[Stat. 1898, Chap. 410; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 4; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 11; 
Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 87.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Robert P. Bellows, Chairman. 
Daniel Sargent, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS.* 

George H. Edgell, named by the Boston Society of Architects. Term 
ends in 1950. 

Daniel Sargent, named by the Trustees of the Pubhc Library. Term 
ends in 1951. 

Mary Evangeline Walker, named by Boston Art Club. Term 
ends in 1952. 

William Emerson, named by Trustees of Museum of Fine Arts. Term 
ends in 1953. 

Robert P. Bellows, named by the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Term ends in 1954. 

The Art Department, established in 1898, is in charge of five commis- 
sioners, appointed by the Mayor. Each year one of the following-named 
bodies, namely, the Trustees of the Museum of Fine Arts, the Trustees 
of the Boston Public Library, the Trustees of the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, the Boston Art Club, and the Boston Society of Architects, 
submits a list of three persons to the Mayor; and the Mayor appoints 
one person as Art Commissioner from the list so submitted, to serve for 
five years. Whenever the term of a member of the Board expires, the 
Mayor appoints his successor from a list selected by the body which made 
the original selection, as aforesaid. 

No work of art can become the property of the City of Boston without 
the approval of the Art Department, which may also be requested by the 
Mayor or the City Council to pass upon the design of any municipal 
building, bridge, approach, lamp, ornamental gate or fence, or other 
structure to be erected upon land belonging to the City. No work of art, 
the property of the City of Boston, shall be removed except by order of the 
Art Commissioners and with the approval of the Mayor. Moreover, all 
contracts or orders for the execution of any painting, monument, statue, 
bust, bas-relief, or other sculpture for the City shall be made by said 
Board, acting by a majority of its members, subject to the approval of the 
Mayor. By Chap. 87, Special Acts of 1919, all works of art owned by the 
City were placed in the custody and care of the Art Commissioners. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 37 



ASSESSING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 301 City Hall Annex, third floor. 

(Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 37; Stat. 1884, Chap. 123; Stat. 1903, Chap. 
279; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5; Ord. 1900, Chap. 5; Ord. 1901, Chap. 
8; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 12; Ord. 1910, Chap. 1; Stat. 1911, Chap. 
89; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 155, 484; Stat. 1914, Chap. 198; Rev. Ord. 
1914, Chap. 5; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 87, 
173, 294; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 93, 96, 183, 
552; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 283, 399; Stat. 1922, Chap. 6; Stat. 1924, 
Chap. 410; Stat. 1938, Chap. 257; Stat. 1945, Chap. 263; Stat. 1949, 
Chap. 313.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Peter J. Allen, Chairman. 

ASSESSORS. 

Hugh T. Gartland. Term ends March 31, 1949. 
Frank B. Howland. Term ends March 31, 1950. 
James A. Miraglia. Term ends March 31, 1951. 
Peter J. Allen. Term ends March 31, 1952. 

Edward C. Carroll. Term ends March 31, 1953. 
John P. Doherty, Secretary. 

DEPUTY assessors. 

Henry T. Hartmere. Thomas J. Murphy. 

John J. O'Connor. Francis J. McFabland. 

Paul J. Oswald. 

Jeremiah A. Coakley, Chief Clerk. 

Arthur J. Leary, Assistant Chief Clerk. 

Thomas F. Gavin, Chief, Personal Property Division. 

John A. Sharkey, Appraisal Engineer. 

*John M. McDowell (part of year only) 

"The Mayor of the City shall assign five assessors to hold office for 
terms of one, two, three, four and five years, respectively, from the first 
day of April, 1938. As the term of each assessor expires, the Mayor, in 
like manner, shall appoint his successor for a term of five years from the 
1st day of April in the year of appointment." . . . 
"The Mayor shall designate the Chairman of the Board." 
The Assessors pubhshed annual tax lists from 1822 to 1866. Since 
1866 the records of the department are almost entirely in manuscript. 
Annual reports have been made since 1890. 



38 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

ASSISTANT ASSESSORS. 

(Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Stat. 1894, Chap. 276; Stat. 1901, Chap. 400; 
Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 5, § 1; Ord. 1901, Chap. 6; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 12, § 2; Stat. 1913, Chap. 484; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 93; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 96; Ord. 1920, Chap. 1; Ord. 1923, Chap. 7; Ord. 
1925, Chap. 3; Stat. 1925, Chap. 39; Ord. 1945, Chap. 5; Ord. 1948, 
Chap. 3; Ord. 1949, Chap. 6.] 

The Assistant Assessors are appointed from the Civil Service list by the 
Board of Assessors for an indeterminate period, subject to the approval 
of the Mayor, one for each assessment district or two when required. 



AUDITING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 20 City Hall, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 6; Ord. 1901, Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, 
§§ 3, 23, 24, 25; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 788; 
Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chap. Ill; Spec. Stat. 
1919, Chap. 168; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 133; Stat. 
1924, Chap. 479; Ord. 1925, Chap. 6; Ord. 1934, Chap. 6.] 
Charles J. Fox, City Auditor. 
Daniel J. Falvet, Deputy City Auditor. 
The office of Auditor was established by ordinance on August 2, 1824. 
Under provisions of Chapter 414 of the Acts of 1941, the office of City 
Auditor was placed under Civil Service on November 2, 1943, by a refer- 
endum vote of 60,139 to 12,409. 

The office of Deputy City Auditor was established by ordinance on July 
11,1934. 

Regular annual reports of receipts and expenditures have been pub- 
lished by the Auditor since 1825. Less complete reports were pub- 
lished by finance committees from 1811 to 1824, inclusive. Since June 1, 
1867, the Auditor has published monthly exhibits of all City, School, and 
County expenditures. 

The City Auditor is also Auditor of the County of Suffolk, Secretary of 
the Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds, a member of the Board of 
Trustees of the George Robert White Fund, and a member of the Boston 
Retirement Board. (Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 3, 6.) 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 
Office, 43 City Hall, third floor. 
[Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, Section 20; Stat. 1925, Chap. 219; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 350; Stat. 1927, Chap. 220; Stat. 1928, Chaps. 70, 137; Stat. 
1929, Chap. 88; Stat. 1930, Chap. 347; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 16, 180; 
Stat. 1932, Chap. 143; Stat. 1933, Chap. 204; Stat. 1934, Chap. 210; 
Stat. 1936, Chap. 240; Stat. 1941, Chap. 373; Stat. 1946, Chap.198; 
Stat. 1948, Chaps. 165, 203, 214; Chap. 537, 1949.] 



BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT. 



39 



OFFICIALS. 

Dana Somes, Chairman. 
John A. Breen, Vice-Chairman. 
Mary T. Downey, Secretary. 
Thomas E. McCormick, Engineer. 



Members. 



Nominated by 



Term ends in 



Dana Somes, Chairman.. 

Everett F. Gray 

Earl McMann 

C. Clark Macomber 

John F. Murphy 

John R. Nichols 

Thomas F. McDonough. 

John A. Breen 

Frank W, Baldwin 

John H. Gilbody 

Raymond P. Delano . . . . 
Harry Braude 



f Boston Society of Architects "1 

(Boston Society of Landscape Architects. .J 

Associated Industries of Massachusetts. . . . 

Boston Central Labor Union 

Boston Chamber of Commerce 

Boston Real Estate Board 

Boston Society of Civil Engineers 

City Planning Board 

Massachusetts Real Estate Association. . . 

Master Builders' Association 

Team Owners' Association 

United Improvement Association 

Mayor's Appointee 



1950 

1952 
1954 
1951 
1952 
1949 
Ex officio 
1950 
1951 
1948 
1953 
1951 



The Board consists of twelve members, the Chairman of the City Plan- 
ning Board, ex officio, and eleven members, appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner; one member from two candidates to be nominated by 
each of the following organizations: Associated Industries of Massa- 
chusetts, Boston Central Labor Union, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
Boston Real Estate Board, Massachusetts Real Estate Association 
Boston Society of Architects and the Boston Society of Landscape Archi- 
tects, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Master Builders' Association,^ 
Team Owners' Association, United Improvement Association, and one 
member to be selected by the Mayor. AU appointive members shall be 
residents of or engaged in business in Boston. The term of office is five 
years. 

The members of the Board serve without compensation. Any petition 
for changing the zoning map miist be accompanied by a fee of twenty- 
five dollars before being considered by the Board. 

Either upon petition or otherwise, the Board may, by a decision of not 
less than four-fifths of its members, rendered after a public hearing follow- 
ing advertisement and due notice to the owners of all property deemed by 
the Board to be affected, change the boundaries of districts by changing 
the zoning map on file at the state secretary's office, to meet altered needs 



40 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

of a locality, to avoid undue concentration of population, to provide ade- 
quate light and air, to lessen congestion in streets, to secure safety from fire, 
panic and other dangers, to facihtate the adequate provision of transporta- 
tion, water, sewerage, and other public requirements and to promote the 
health, safety, convenience and welfare of the inhabitants of the City of 
Boston. 

No decision of the Board of Appeal permitting the erection or altera- 
tion of a building to an extreme height greater than that otherwise author- 
ized under the provisions of the zoning law for the lot or building in ques- 
tion is effective until and unless confirmed by the decision of not less than 
two thirds of the members of the Board of Zoning Adjustment. 

If a change in the boundaries of districts is favorably decided upon or if 
a decision of the Board of Appeal is confirmed, any person aggrieved or 
any municipal officer or Board, may within fifteen days after the entry 
of such decision, appeal to the Superior Court sitting in equity, for the 
County of Suffolk. 



BOSTON RETIREMENT BOARD. 
Office, 65 City Hall. 

[Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 381, 426; Stat. 1924, 
Chaps. 89, 249, 250, 251; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 18, 90, 152; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 390; Stat. 1933, Chap. 243; Stat. 1937, Chap. 163; Stat. 1939, 
Chap. 131; Stat. 1943, Chap. 204; Stat. 1945, Chap. 658.] 



OFFICIALS. 

Wilfred J. Doyle, Chairman. 

Wm. D. Kenney, Secretary and Executive Officer. 

Oeorge E. Willard, Chief Clerk. 

the board. 

Charles J. Fox {ex officio). 

Margaret A. Learson. Term ends September 30, 1951. 
Wilfred J. Doyle. Term ends September 30, 1952. 

The Boston Retirement System was established on February 1, 1923, 
under the provisions of Chapter 521 of the Acts of 1922, which was 
accepted by the Mayor and City Council in August, 1922. 

An additional retirement system for city and coimty employees was 
provided by Chapter 658 of the Acts of 1945. This act was accepted by 
the City Council June 3, 1946, and approved by the Mayor June 5, 1946. 
The new system, designated as the State-Boston Retirement System, 
went into effect October 1, 1946. Every employee appointed after that 
date becomes a member of the new system. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 41 

Both systems are administered by a Retirement Board consisting of 
Wilfred J. Doyle, appointed by the Mayor for a term of three years; 
Charles J. Fox, City Auditor, ex officio; and Margaret A. Learson, elected 
by members of the system. The Board serves without compensation. 



BOSTON TRAFFIC COMMISSION. 
Office, 134 North Street. 
[Stat. 1929, Chap. 263.] 

Leo F. Curley, Commissioner. 



OFFICIALS. 

Leo F. CtJRLEY, Chairman. Term ends April 30, 1951. 

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONERS.* 

Thomas F. Sullivan, Police Commissioner. 
Robert P. Curley, Commissioner of Public Works. 
John J. Murphy, Chairman, Park Commissioners. 
Charles E. Manion, Chairman, Street Commissioners. 

William T. Doyle, Secretary. 

engineering division. 
Philip T. Desmond, Traffic Engineer. 
Timothy J. O'Connor, Assistant Traffic Engineer. 

The Act establishing the commission became effective April 30, 1929, 
after approval by the Governor and acceptance by the Mayor and City 
Council. The commissioner is appointed by the Mayor, to serve four 
years and until the qualification of his successor, receives compensation 
established by the Mayor and City Council, and may be removed by the 
Mayor. The associate commissioners receive no compensation. 

The commissioners may employ, subject to the approval of the Mayor 
and to chapter thirty-one of the General Laws, engineers, experts, assist- 
ants and other officers and employees. The commission has exclusive 
authority to adopt, amend, alter and repeal rules and regulations relative 
to vehicular street traffic, and to the movement, stopping or standing of 
vehicles on, and their exclusion from, all or any streets, ways, highways, 
roads and parkways, under the control of the city. The commission has 
the power to erect, make and maintain, or cause to be erected, made and 
maintained, traffic signs, signals, markings and other devices for the 
control of such traffic in the city and for informing and warning the public 
as to the rules and regulations adopted by the commission. 

* Ex officiis. 



42 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The latest revision of the Traffic Regulations contains 439 one-way- 
streets and 629 no-parking streets. The Commission maintains 214 
traffic signals, including two (2) interconnected systems in downtown 
Boston, 16,000 traffic signs, and 91 traffic officers' spotlights. One hundred 
and ninety-four (194) miles of white lines painted in the roadway, in- 
cluding crosswalks, center lines, lane, lines and stop lines, are maintained 
by the Commission. Nine hundred and twenty-one loading zones, re- 
quiring 24,156 feet of painted curb, are maintained. Fees amounting 
to $12,078.20 are collected for the establishment and maintenance of 
these loading zones. The Commission also maintains 5,000 parking 
meters which, during the first full year of operation, have collected 
$485,000. 



BUDGET DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 44 City Hall, third floor. 

[Ord. 1917, Chap. 3; Ord. 1921, Chap. 4; Ord. 1927, Chap. 3; Stat. 1930. 

Chap. 400; Stat. 1931, Chap. 301; Stat. 1941, Chaps. 447, 604.] 

John A. Sullivan, Budget Commissioner. Term ends April 30, 1950. 

The Budget Department was established by ordinance in 1917 as a 
result of the report and recommendations by the Budget Commission of 
1915, and was placed in charge of a Budget Commissioner. General 
supervision over all matters relating, or incidental, to the appropriations 
and budgets of all municipal departments, with the exception of depart- 
ments not directly under the control of the Mayor, was placed in the 
jurisdiction of the Budget Commissioner. 

Under direction of the Mayor, the Budget Commissioner prepares in 
segregated form the annual and all supplementary budgets to be sub- 
mitted by the Mayor to the City Council, and also prepares the forms of 
estimate sheets to be used by each officer, board, commission, and depart- 
ment, and each division of a department, for which the city appropriates 
money. He also reports to the Mayor on all subsequent revisions of the 
items in the budget. 

In compliance with the provisions of Chapter 400 of the Acts of 1930, 
Compensation and Classification Plans for the Officers and Employees of 
Suffolk County were adopted by the City Council on April 13, 1931, and 
approved by the Mayor on April 15, 1931. By virtue of that statute and 
those plans, the Budget Commissioner is empowered to pass upon all 
promotions, transfers, new appointments, and the compensation of the 
personnel of Suffolk County included in these plans, thus establishing the 
Budget Commissioner, in effect, as the personnel director of Suffolk 
County. The records required to comply with the provisions of these 
plans are compiled by, and maintained in, the Budget Department. 
These records include, among others, an official roster of each officer and 
employee in the service of Suffolk County, their classification title, rate 
of pay, a record of each change of their status, and such other relevant 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 43 

information as the Budget Commissioner deems advisable for the main- 
tenance of a proper record of the personnel of Suffolk County. 

In addition to the records of the County personnel, there is also com- 
piled and maintained in the Budget Department a similar record of the 
personnel of the City of Boston. 



BUILDING DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 901-910 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
John J. Mahoney, Building Commissioner. Term ends in 1950. 
Thomas L. Flynn, Deputy Building Commissioner. 
Frank J. Coughlin, Clerk of Department. 
Dennis J. Keohanb, Supervisor of Construction. 
Michael A. Spillane, Supervisor of Construction. 
John L. Riley, Supervisor of Construction. 
James P. Collins, Chief, Zoning Division. 
Daniel F. Lamphier, Chief, Egress Division. 
Edward Lamphier, Chief, Elevator Division. 
John F. Murphy, Supervisor of Plumbing. 
Frank J. Riley, Supervisor of Gas Fitting. 
Henry J. Clayton, Fire Protection Engineer. 

The duty of the Building Commissioner, under the provisions of 
Chapter 479 of the Acts of 1938, as amended (the Building Code), is to 
inspect all buildings and structures in the City of Boston except bridges, 
quays or wharves, buildings owned and occupied by the United States 
or the Commonwealth, railroad stations and structures used primarily for 
railway purposes, voting booths, tanks of certain specified capacities, 
tunnels constructed and maintained by the public authority, tents cover- 
ing an area of less than one hundred square feet, fences less than six feet 
in height, signs or billboards upon the ground and signs less than one 
square foot in area, and flagpoles less than twenty feet in length. 

The Code authorizes the Commissioner to issue permits to erect,, 
enlarge, alter, substantially repair, move, demoUsh or change the occu- 
pancy of any building or structure; or to install, alter, or substantially 
repair plumbing, gas fitting, fire extinguishing apparatus and elevators; 
or to install steam boilers, furnaces, heaters or other heat producing 
apparatus the installation of which is regulated by the Code; or to install 
engines or dynamos. 

The Zoning Act also is administered by the Building Commissioner. 
Under the provisions of this Act the city is divided into use districts,, 
defined as Residential, Business, Industrial and Unrestricted. With 
minor exceptions, no building shall be erected or altered, nor shall any 
building or premises be used, for any purpose other than the use per- 
mitted in the district in which such building or premises is located. 
(Chapter 488, Acts of 1924, as amended — the Zoning Act.) 



44 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Commissioner also licenses gas fitters, both master and journeyman; 
registers master and journeyman plumbers; establishes the qualifica- 
tions of welders and licenses operators of elevators. 

In addition, Chapter 143 of the General Laws, in so far as applicable 
to Boston, is administered by the Building Commissioner under delegated 
authority from the State Commissioner of Public Safety. 

The primary purpose of the public safety regulations promulgated 
under this chapter is to establish a minimum code of safety for the entire 
state. Cities and towns may make further exactions in accordance with 
local building ordinances and not inconsistent with law, but in no case may 
the provisions of state law be avoided or minimized. 

The law falls with particular force on all places of assembly — 
restaurants, taverns, dance halls, meeting halls and all places of similar 
occupancy in which fifty or more persons may be accommodated. Lodg- 
ing houses and apartment houses in which there are eight or more rooms 
above the second floor, or in which ten or more persons are accommodated 
above the second floor come also within the provisions of this Act. All 
such buildings must be certified by the Building Commissioner as to com- 
pUance with these particular regulations in addition to the Boston Code 
requirements. 

BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 
Office, 909 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
{Stat. 1912, Chap. 713; Ord. 1912, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 8; 
Ord. 1920, Chap. 10; Ord. 1925, Chap. 5; Stat. 1938, Chap. 479, 
as amended by Ord. 1943.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Benjamin Gargill, Chairman. 

Mary D. McMackin, Permanent Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Benjamin Gargill. Term ends in 1950. 
John Guarino. Term ends in 1951. 

George R. McNeil. Term ends in 1952, 

The Board of Examiners, as an adjunct of the Building Department, 
was estabhshed in 1912. It consists of three members appointed by the 
Mayor, the duty of said members being to act upon the quaUfications of 
persons desiring to be registered as construction superintendents in the 
City of Boston. Under the law the personnel of the Board includes an 
architect or engineer, a contractor, and a lawyer. Compensation for 
service by said members is established at ten dollars a day, the salary 
of the chairman not to exceed twelve hundred dollars, that of each of 
the other members, one thousand dollars. 

Applicants qualifying for registration pay an initial fee of five dollars, 
two dollars for annual renewal. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 45 

BOARD OF APPEAL. 
Office, 907 City Hall Annex, ninth floor. 
[Stat. 1938, Chap. 479, § 117, as amended by City Ordinance of 1943, 
§ 42 (Building Code); Stat. 1924, Chap. 488, § 19, as amended by 
Stat. 1941, Chap. 373, § 18 (Zoning Law).] 

OFFICIALS. 

William H. Ellis, Chairman. 
James A. McElaney, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

George W. Judkins. Term ends in 1950. 

Merton p. Ellis. Term ends in 1951. 

James A. McElaney. Term ends in 1952. 

William H. Ellis. Term ends in 1953. 

A. Francis O'Toole. Term ends in 1954. 
The Board consists of five members appointed by the Mayor in the 
following manner: One member from two candidates, one to be nominated 
by the Boston Real Estate Exchange and one by the Massachusetts Real 
Estate Exchange; one member from two candidates, one nominated by 
the Boston Society of Architects and one by the Boston Society of Civil 
Engineers; one member from three candidates, one to be nominated by 
the Master Builders' Association, one by the Building Trades Employers' 
Association and one by the Building Contractors' Association of Massa- 
chusetts, Inc. ; one member from two candidates nominated by the Build- 
ing Trades Council of Boston and vicinity; and one member selected 
by the Mayor. The term of office is five years. Each member is paid 
$20 per diem for actual service, but not more than $1,500 in any one year 
under the Act. 

Any applicant for a permit from the Building Commissioner whose 
application has been refused in re building law or in re zoning law may 
appeal therefrom within ninety days, and a person who has been ordered 
to incur expense may within thirty days after receiving such order (or 
in the case of its being a hazardous condition in the opinion of the Building 
Commissioner within ten days) appeal to the Board of Appeal by giving 
notice in writing to the Commissioner. All cases of appeal are settled 
by the Board after a hearing, and a decision rendered on same open for 
pubUc inspection. 



CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 31 City Hall, second floor. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 30; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, § 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 11; G. L., Chap. 41, §§ 12-19; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 8; Stat. 
1909, Chap. 486, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 11.] 
John B. Hynes, City Clerk. 
Walter J. Malloy, Assistant City Clerk. 



46 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The City Clerk is elected by the City Council for the term of three 
years. He has the care and custody of the records of the City Council 
and of all city records, documents, maps, plans and papers, except those 
otherwise provided for. He also records chattel mortgages, assignments of 
wages, and other instruments, issues licenses and badges to minors when so 
directed by the City Council, and performs other duties imposed by statute. 

The City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk are, respectively, Clerk and 
Assistant Clerk of the City Council. 

The present City Clerk was given tenure of office by Chap. 580 of the 
Acts of 1947. 

The Assistant City Clerk is appointed by the City Clerk, subject to the 
approval of the Mayor. By Gen. Laws, Chap. 41, § 18, the certificate or 
attestation of the Assistant City Clerk has equal effect with that of the 
City Clerk. 



CITY PLANNING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 43 City HaU, third floor. 
iStat. 1913, Chap. 494; Ord. 1913, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 12 
Ord. 1915, Chap. 2; Ord. 1923, Chap. 5; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 12; 
Ord. 1940, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Thomas F. McDonough, Chairman. 
Joseph A. Mitchell, Vice-Chairman. 
Thomas E. McCormick, Executive Director. 
Mary T. Downey, Secretary. 

THE board. 
Thomas J. Turley. Term ends in 1950. 
Daniel J. Donovan. Term ends in 1951. 
Mary M. Fitzgerald. Term ends in 1951. 
Joseph A. Mitchell. Term ends in 1952. 
Frances M. Fonseca, Term ends in 1952. 
Thomas F. McGovern. Term ends in 1953. 
Thomas F. McDonough. Term ends in 1953. 
Elisabeth M. Herlihy. Term ends in 1954. 
Francis X. Lane. Term ends in 1954. 

Chapter 41 of the General Laws, Sections 70, 71 and 72, provides tha 
«very city and every town in the state having a population of more than 
10,000 shall, and towns having a population of less than 10,000 may, 
<;reate a planning board which shall make careful studies of the resources, 
possibilities and needs of the town, particularly with respect to conditions 
injurious to the public health or otherwise in and about rented dwellings, 
and make plans for the development of the municipality, with special 
reference to proper housing of its inhabitants. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 47 

In January, 1914, an ordinance was passed by the Boston City Council 
establishing "The City Planning Board" consisting of five members, one 
of whom shall be a woman, for a term of five years, all to serve without 
compensation. 

In April, 1940, an amendment to the above ordinance was passed by 
the City Council enlarging "The City Planning Board" from five to nine 
members, to include at least one engineer, one architect and one land- 
scape architect or city planner and a woman. The members of the Board 
shall serve for terms of five years, without compensation. 



COLLECTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 201 City Hall Annex, second floor. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 176; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266; Stat. 1888. Chap. 390; 
Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 14; Ord. 1908, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 10; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 672; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 13; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 2; 
Spec. Stat. 1916, Chap. 291; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
390; Ord. 1925, Chap. 1.] 

Daniel F. Donovan, City Collector. Term ends in 1950. 

The Collector collects and receives all taxes and other assessments, 
betterments, rates, dues and moneys payable on any account to the 

City of Boston or the County of Suffolk. Annual reports have been 
published since 1876, also weekly and daily statements. The Collector 
is also County Collector. 



ELECTION DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 111 City Hall Annex, first floor. 
IStat. 1906, Chap. 311; Stat. 1907, Chap. 560, §78; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 15; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 16; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 53-61; 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 520; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 304, 469, 517, 550, 735; 
Stat. 1912, Chaps. 275, 471, 483, 641; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 286, 835; 
Stat. 1914, Chap. 730; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 15; Gen. Stat. 1915, 
Chaps. 48, 91; Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 16, 43, 81, 87, 179; Gen. 
Stat. 1917, Chap. 29; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 
129, 142; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 65, 93, 114, 209, 288, 340, 387; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 7; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 311, 410, 453, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps; 
39, 136; Stat. 1926, Chap. 105; Ord. 1938; Stat. 1938, Chap. 287; 
Stat. 1939, Chap. 450; Stat. 1941, Chap. 472; Stat. 1945, Chap. 139; 
Stat. 1947, Chaps. 227, 446.] 



48 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

OFFICIALS. 

J. Joseph Connors, Chairman. 
Everett R, Prout, Secretary. 

commissioners. 
Joseph A. Langone, Jr. Term ends in 1950. 

Gertrude A. Pfau. Term ends in 1951. 

J. Joseph Connors. Term ends in 1952. 

Everett R. Prout. Term ends in 1953. 

One Election Commissioner is appointed by the Mayor each year, term 
beginning April 1. The two leading political parties must be equally 
represented on the Board and the Chairman is designated annually by the 
Mayor. 

The Board of Registrars of Voters was appointed in May, 1874, and 
was succeeded July 1, 1895, by the Board of Election Commissioners. 

This department exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the Board of Registrars of Voters (including the preparation of the 
jury list), except the power and duty of giving notice of elections and 
fixing the days and hours for holding the same. 

The Board also exercises all the powers and duties formerly conferred 
upon the City Clerk and other officers by chapter 504 of the Acts of 1894. 
The voting precincts in the 22 wards number 362. 

POLICE listing board. 

Chapter 287 of the Acts of 1938 provides: "In Boston there shall be a 
listing board composed of the police commissioner of the city and the board 
of election commissioners. In case of disagreement between the members 
of the listing board, the chief justice of the municipal court of the city of 
Boston, or, in case of his disability, the senior justice of said court who is 
not disabled, shall, for the purpose of settling such disagreement, be a 
member of said listing board and shall preside and cast the deciding vote 
in case of a tie." 

The duties of said board are further provided for in Sections 8, 10, 11, 12, 
13, 14, 15, 16 of Chapter 29 of the Acts of 1917; and all other acts in 
amendment and addition thereto. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

Office, City Building, Bristol Street. 
[Stat. 1850, Chap. 262; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § § 9-11; Rev. Ord. 1898, 
Chap. 17; Stat. 1909, Chap. 308; Stat. 1912, Chap. 574; Ord. 1912, 
Chaps. 4, 6; Ord. 1913, Chap. 1; Stat. 1913, Chap. 800; Stat. 1914, 
Chaps. 519, 795; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 16; Ord. 1917, Chap. 4; 
Ord. 1919, Chap. 2; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 60, 68; Stat. 1921, Chap; 
196; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Stat. 1939, Chap. 237; Ord. 1944, Chap. 
10; Stat. 1945, Chap. 413.] 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 49 

Russell S. Codman, Jr., Fire Commissioner. Term ends in 1950. 

William D, Slattery, Executive Secretary of the Department. 

John F. McDonough, Chief of Department. 

Dennis J. Coughlin, Deputy Chief. 

James J. Kane, Deputy Chief. 

William F. Quiglet, Deputy Chief. 

Daniel Martell, Deputy Chief. 

Edward N. Montgomery, Deputy Chief. 

Patrick E. Collins, Deputy Chief. 

John J. Crehan, Deputy Chief. 

Walter E. Crouch, Deputy Chief. 

William A. Donovan, Deputy Chief. 

Henry S. Franz, Deputy Chief. 

Edward J. Gaughan, Deputy Chief. 

James J. Harrington, Deputy Chief. 

John F. Howard, Deputy Chief. 

John F. Pettit, Deputy Chief. 

John J. Ryan, Deputy Chief. 

Fr.\nklin B. Sanborn, Deputy Chief. 

John V. Stapleton, Deputy Chief. 

Albert L. O'Banion, Superintendent, Fire Alarm Branch. 

Bernard B. Whelan, Superintendent, Electrical Inspection Division. 

Walter C. Glynn, Superintendent, Maintenance Division. 

The Boston Fire Department was organized in 1837. It is in charge 
of 1 Commissioner, 1 Executive Secretary, 1 Chief of Department, 17 
Deputy Chiefs, 51 District Chiefs, 3 Chaplains, 1 Superintendent of Fire 
Alarm, 1 Superintendent of Maintenance, 1 Medical Examiner, 1 Engineer 
of Motor Vehicles, 96 Captains, 246 Lieutenants, 1,765 Engineers, Ap- 
paratus Operators, Masters, Aides, Hosemen, Laddermen, 39 Clerks, 
27 Fire Alarm Operators, and 119 Mechanics, Painters, Linemen, Re- 
pairers, Electricians, Workmen, and other employees. 

Total officers, engineers, privates and employees (including Electrical 
Inspection Division), 2,407, of whom 3 are serving in the armed forces of 
the United States. 

There are 54 fire stations, a fire alarm branch with 71 employees, oper- 
ating 1,828 signal boxes, and repair shops with 119 employees. Annual 
reports have been published since 1838. 

Yearly salaries of deputy chiefs, $5,690; district chiefs, $5,140; captains, 
$4,300; lieutenants, $3,800; apparatus operators, $3,400; first-year pri- 
vates, $2,800, with annual increase of $200 and $300, until the maximum of 
$3,300, is reached. 

In 1919 the Wire Department became the Wire Division of the Fire 
Department. On May 2, 1944, it became the Electrical Inspection 
Division. It was established in 1894 for the purpose of supervising and 
inspecting all electrical wires, cables and conductors, and substituting 



50 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

underground for overhead transmission. The Electrical Inspection 
Division is in charge of 1 Superintendent, 1 Chief Clerk, 8 Clerks, 1 Chief 
Inspector, 25 Inspectors, 1 Chauffeur. A total of 37 employees (included 
in above 2,407). 

Boston Firemen's Relief Fund. 

By Chapter 308, Acts of 1909, amended by Chapter 134, Acts of 1911, 
the Fire Commissioner and 12 members of the Fire Department, to be 
elected annually by all the members, are constituted a corporate body for 
the purpose of holding and administering the Firemen's Relief Fund. 



HEALTH DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, Public Health Building, Haymarket Square. 
[Stat. 1854, Chap. 448, § 40; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 19; Rev. Ord. 
1898, Chap. 18; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 19; Stat. 1902, Chaps. 206, 
213; Stat. 1906, Chap. 225; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 386, 445, 480; Stat. 
1908, Chaps. 329, 411; Stat. 1909, Chap. 380; Stat. 1910, Chapa. 
269, 640; Stat. 1911, Chap. 287; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 448, 486; Stat. 
1913, Chap. 586; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 627, 628; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chaps. 
17, 40; Ord. 1914, 2d Series, Chap. 1; Ord. 1915, Chap. 1; Spec. Stat. 
1915, Chap. 346; Ord. 1915, Chaps. 3, 4; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
163; Stat. 1920, Chap. 100; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 94, 111; Stat. 1922, 
Chap. 61; Ord. 1926, Chap. 3; Ord. 1931, Chap. 2.] 

OFFICIALS. 

John H. Cauley, M. D., M. P. H., Health Commissioner. 

Term ends in 1950. 
Frederick A. FitzGerald, Acting Secretary. 

DEPUTY COMMISSIONERS, 

Frederick J. Bailey, M. D., Communicable Diseases Division. 
Roy B. Lindgren, M. D., Acting Director, Tuberculosis Division. 
Charles F. Wilinsky, M. D., Child Hygiene Division and Director of 

Health Units. 
William J. Kane, Vital Statistics Division. 
Joseph A. Cahalan, Division of Housing and Sanitation. 

OTHER SUPERVISING OFFICERS. 

William H. Griffin, D. M. D., Dental Director. 
Frank E. Mott, Milk Inspector in Charge, Dairy Division. 
Hazel Wedgwood, R. N., Director, Nursing Service. 
John F. Linehan, Inspector in Charge, Food Division. 
Marie Fortunati, M. P. H., Director, Health Education. 
Catharine Atwood, Bacteriologist-in-Charge, Laboratory Division. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 51 

The first Board of Health in Boston was established in 1799, under the 
special statute of February 13, 1799. It was abolished by the first 
City Charter and from 1822 to 1873 its functions were exercised through 
the City Council. The last Board of Health was established by an ordi- 
nance of December 2, 1872. It published annual reports, beginning 
with 1873. By Chap. 1, Ord. 1914, 2d Series, the department was placed 
in charge of one executive, the Health Commissioner, who appoints the 
deputy commissioners. Chap. 1, Ord. 1915, provided that the quarantine 
service should pass from the control of the Health Department when the 
property was leased to the United States, in effect June 1, 1915. 

On March 31, 1927, an ordinance was enacted abolishing the Boston 
Sanatorium Department and placing the Tuberculosis Hospital at Matta- 
pan under the jurisdiction of the Trustees of the Boston City Hospital; 
all other powers and duties, as well as the Out-Patient Department, were 
transferred to the Health Commissioner by Chap. 1 of the Ordinances 
of 1927, as amended February 16, 1931. 



HOSPITAL DEPARTMENT. 

Office at the Boston City Hospital, 818 Harrison Avenue. 
[Stat. 1858, Chap. 113; Stat. 1880, Chap. 174; Stat. 1885, Chap. 266, 
§ 1; Stat. 1889, Chap. 366; Stat. 1890, Chap. 418; Stat. 1893, 
Chap. 91; Stat. 1901, Chap. 518; Stat. 1906, Chap. 189; Stat. 1907, 
Chap. 248; Stat. 1908, Chap. 225; Stat. 1908, Chap. 627; Stat. 1909, 
Chap. 486; Stat. 1911, Chap. 167; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 34; Spec. 
Stat. 1915, Chap. 190; Stat. 1921, Chap. 86; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521, 
§ 18; Stat. 1924, Chap. 70; Stat. 1924, Chap. 352; Ord. 1927, Chap. 
1; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 20; Stat. 1928, Chap. 237; Stat. 1930, 
. Chap. 167; Stat. 1931, Chap. 40; Stat. 1932, Chap. 215; Rev. Ord. 
1947, Chap. 18.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Maetin J. English, M. D., President. 
Thomas J. Giblin, D. M. D., Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Joseph F. Timilty. Term ends in 1950. 

Mary Moore Beatty, M. D. Term ends in 1951. 
Martin J. English, M. D. Term ends in 1952. 
Harry B. Braude. Term ends in 1953. 

Thomas J. Giblin, D. M. D. Term ends in 1954. 

The Boston City Hospital was opened on June 1, 1864. Besides the 
Main Hospital, the Trustees have charge of the South Department for 
contagious diseases, the Sanatorium Division at 249 River Street, Matta- 
pan (for tuberculosis patients), and East Boston Relief Station. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



52 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Relief Stations were closed to patients on March 15, 1938; East Boston 
Relief Station was reopened on a twenty-four hour basis on October 15, 
1945. 

The Convalescent Home in Dorchester was closed in March, 1932. 

The Trustees are incorporated and authorized to receive and hold 
real and personal estate bequeathed or devised to said hospital corporation 
to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. 

HOSPITAL OFFICEES. 

James W. Manaky, M. D. — Superintendent and Medical Director. Resi- 
dence and office at the Hospital. 
Charles H. Pelton, M. D. — Assistant Superintendent. 

SOUTH DEPARTMENT. 

Medical Director. — James W. Manary, M. D. 
Physician-in-Chief. — Edwin H. Place, M. D. 
Executives. — Morris Prizer, M. D. ; Robert Chang, M. D. 

SANATORIUM DIVISION. 

Assistant Superintendent. — Frederick L. Bogan, M. D. 

RESIDENT MEDICAL STAFF. 

Executive Assistant. — John B. Andosca, M. D. 

Resident Medical Officer, First Assistant. — David S. Sherman, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Second Assistant. — • Benson Charif, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Third Assistant. — Bernard Tolnick, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Fourth Assistant. — Lester Leonard, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Fifth Assistant. — Seymour Kaufman, M. D. 
Resident Medical Officer, Sixth Assistant.- — Shao Chow Pan, M. D. 
Resident Surgeon. — Frederick Aves, M. D. 
Assistant Resident Surgeon. — Irving Madoff, M. D. 
Assistant Resident Surgeon. — James M. McNulty, Jr., M. D. 



INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1109 City HalF Annex. 
[Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 222; Ord. 1920, Chap. 7; Stat. 1922, Chap. 231; 
Ord. 1924, Chaps. 9, 10.] 
G. Frank McDonald, Commissioner. Term ends in 1950. 
Anna M. Mackay, Deputy Commissioner. 
The department has charge of the Long Island Hospital, the Child 
Welfare and the Registration Divisions. 

The Long Island Hospital furnishes full support to poor persons having 
a legal settlement in Boston, also hospital care and treatment for those 
afflicted with chronic illness. January 1, 1949, there were 1,095 in the 
care of the institution, of whom 474 were in the hospital. The department 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 53 

controls about 215 acres and buildings on Long Island, valued at about 
$7,331,212. The M. V. "James Michael Curley" is maintained for 
transportation service. 

The Child Welfare Division, 1110 City Hall Annex, has charge of de- 
pendent children and those committed through the Court as neglected. 
They are placed under careful supervision in foster homes within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. January 1, 1949, the division had 
1,264 children in its care, was using 15 different institutions for medical 
care or special training, and 564 foster homes. 

The Registration Division, Room 5, City Hall, receives and investigates 
appUcations for care of dependents, determines legal settlements, and 
supervises the commitment of the insane. 

The department has under its control Rainsford Island, comprising 
about 11 acres. 



LAW DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 11 Beacon Street. 
[Ord. 1904, Chap. 23; Rev. Ord. 1947, Chap. 20.] 

Joseph A. Scolponeti, Corporation Counsel. 
James W. Kelleher, First Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
William A. McDermott, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Nathan Moger, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
James L. Vallely, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Dominic Agrippino, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Jeanne S. B. Brody, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Richard Bisignani, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Charles M. Rosenfelt, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Martin J. Hanley, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Daniel J. O'Connell, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Henry E. Quarles, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
James T. Doherty, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Logan L. McLean, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Edward F. Cooley, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Abraham C. Rome, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Edward Gerber, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Patrick J. O'Connell, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Charles Presser, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Israel Grossman, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
William F. Mahoney, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Francis J. Burns, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Henry Selvitella, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Irene GoLOBaRG, Assistant Corporation Counsel. 
Margaret G. O'Neill, Secretary. 



54 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The office of "Attorney and Solicitor" was established in 1827; the 
office of City Solicitor in 1846 and that of Corporation Counsel in 1881. 
The office of City Solicitor was abolished and the department placed under 
the sole charge of the Corporation Counsel in 1904. 

The Law Department consists of a Corporation Counsel, twenty-four 
assistants, a medical supervisor and forty-five other employees, com- 
prising the investigating, tax title, secretarial and clerical staff. 

The Law Department has general charge of the legal work of the city, 
represents the city in all litigation to which it is a party, prosecutes certain 
criminal proceedings, does the conveyancing work for the various munici- 
pal departments, performs the legal work incidental to tax title fore- 
closures, prepares and approves all municipal contracts and bonds, 
furnishes legal opinions to the Mayor, the City Council, and the various 
department heads and city officials, including the School Committee, on 
matters relating to the discharge of their official duties, prepares petitions 
for and drafts of legislation in which the city has an interest, and appears 
and represents the city before the various committees of the legislature 
and before other public boards, commissions and administrative agencies, 
including the Interstate Commerce Commission, Civil Aeronautics Board 
and other Federal agencies, the Appellate Tax Board and the Department 
of Public Utilities of Massachusetts. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, Central Library Building, Copley Square. 
[Stat. 1878, Chap. 114; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 24; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
23; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 21; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chap. 116; Spec. 
Stat. 1931, Chap. 50.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Frank W. Buxton, President. 
Frank J. Donahue, Vice President. 
Milton E. Lord, Director and Librarian. 
Elizabeth B. Brockunier, Clerk. 

TRUSTEES.* 

Frank W. Buxton. Term ends in 1950. 

Francis B. Masterson. Term ends in 1951. 

Robert H. Lord. Term ends in 1952. 

Frank J. Donahue. Term ends in 1953. 

Lee M. Friedman. Term ends in 1954. 

* The Trustees serve without compensation. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 55 

The Trustees of the Public Library of the City of Boston, five in number, 
are appointed by the Mayor, one each year, for a term of five years. 
They were incorporated in 1878, and authorized to receive and hold real 
and personal estate to an amount not exceeding $1,000,000. This amount 
was changed to $10,000,000 in 1919 and to $20,000,000 in 1931. The first 
Trustees were appointed under an ordinance of October 14, 1852. 

The old library building on Boylston street was opened to the public 
in September, 1858, and closed finally in January, 1895. The Central 
Library Building in Copley square, costing $2,756,384, was first opened 
on March 11, 1895. 

The Library is maintained by an annual appropriation made to the 
Trustees by the City Government. 

The annual reports, the first of which appeared in 1852, have been 
continued without interruption. 

THE LIBRARY SYSTEM. 

The library system consists of the Central Library in Copley square, 
the Kirstein Business Branch in the Edward Kirstein Memorial Library 
Building at 20 City Hall avenue, the School Issue Department at 400 
Shawmut avenue and twenty-nine Branch Libraries. In addition, through 
an agreement with Harvard University, the Baker Library of the Harvard 
Graduate School of Business Administration is a branch of the Boston 
Public Library. By similar arrangement, the Boston Medical Library at 
8 Fenway serves as a medical branch. 
The component parts of the library system are the following: 

General Administrative Offices. 

The Circulation Division. 

The Reference Division. 

The Division of Business Operations. 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES. 

The general administrative work of the Library is centered in the 
Director's Office. It is responsible for the general administration of the 
entire Hbrary system as a whole. It cares further for all activities that 
are not handled directly by the Circulation Division, the Reference 
Division, or the Division of Business Operations. 

There is also supervised from the Director's Office the work of such 
subsidiary offices as the Personnel Office, the Information Office, the 
Records, Files, and Statistics Office, and the general publishing activities 
of the Library. 

THE CIRCULATION DIVISION. 

The greater part of the circulation of books to borrowers is centered in 
the Branch Libraries. The purely library activities of the Branch 



56 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Libraries are therefore considered as a unit which is designated as the 
'Circulation Division. Within this division there are closed departments 
and pubHc departments. The main grouping of the pubUc departments 
is that of the Branch Libraries, and the Open Shelf Department in the 
Central Library. In direct relationship with the work of the Branch 
Libraries is the Work with Adults and the Work with Children and Young 
People. 

The closed departments are: 

1. Cataloging and Classification Department. 

2. Book Selection Department. 

3. Registration Department. 

4. Branch Issue Department. 

5. School Issue Department. 

These departments are concerned with the selection of library materials 
and with the preparation of these materials for use by the public. 

The public departments are the Open Shelf Department and the Young 
People's Room in the Central Library, and the 29 Branch Libraries 
distributed throughout the city as follows: 

City Proper: 
North End, 3A North Bennet street. 
South End, 65 West BrookUne street. 
West End, 131 Cambridge street. 

Brighton: 

Allston, 161 Harvard avenue. 
Brighton, 40 Academy Hill road. 
Faneuil, 419 Faneuil street. 

Charlestown: . 

Charlestown, 43 Monument square. 

Dorchester: 
Codman square, 6 Norfolk street. 
Dorchester, 1 Arcadia street. 
Lower Mills, 1110 Washington street. 
Mattapan, 10 Hazleton street. 
Mount Bowdoin, 275 Washington street. 
Neponset, 182 Neponset avenue. 
Uphams Corner, 500 Columbia road. 

East Boston: 

East Boston, 276 Meridian street. 
Jeffries Point, 222 Webster street. 
Orient Heights, 18 Barnes avenue. 

Hyde Park: 

Hyde Park, 35 Harvard avenue. 

PhilUps Brooks, 12 Hamilton street, Readville. 



LIBRARY DEPARTMENT. 57 

Jamaica Plain: 

Connolly, 433 Centre street. 

Jamaica Plain, 12 Sedgwick street. 
Roxbury: 

Memorial, 205 Townsend street. 

Mount Pleasant, 12 Vine street. 

Parker Hill, 1497 Tremont street. 
South Boston: 

City Point, 533 East Broadway. 

South Boston, 372 West Broadway. 

Washington Village, 290 Old Colony avenue. 
West Roxbury: 

Roslindale, 4220 Washington street. 

West Roxbury, 1961 Centre street. 

THE REFERENCE DIVISION. 

The more important part of the reference work of the library system 
as a whole is carried on in the Central Library. The purely library activi- 
ties of the Central Library are therefore considered as a unit which is 
designated as the Reference Division. Within this division there are 
closed departments and public departments. 

The closed departments are: 

1. Cataloging and Classification Department. 

2. Book Selection Department. 

These departments are concerned with the selection of library materials 
and with the preparation of those materials for use by the public. 
The public departments are: 

1. General Reference Department (the Main Reading Room). 

2. Periodical and Newspaper Department. 

3. Statistical Department (the Government Documents De- 

partment) . 

4. Kirstein Business Branch. 

5. Teachers' Department (the Education Department). 

6. Science and Technology Department. 

7. History Department. 

8. Fine Arts Department. 

9. Music Department. 

10. Social Sciences Department (proposed). 

11. Literature and Languages Department (proposed). 

12. Philosophy — Psychology — Religion Department (proposed). 

13. Maps Department (proposed). 

In addition to the above public departments there is also a Print 
Department and a Rare Book Department. The general nature of all of 
these public departments is indicated by the names which they bear. 

The general book stock is under the supervision of a department known 
as the Book Stack Service. 



58 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

THE DIVISION OF BUSINESS OPERATIONS, 

All of those aspects of the Library's activities that are not of a purely 
library nature, and are not provided for otherwise, are considered as a. 
unit constituting the Division of Business Operations. 

The departments constituting the division are: 

1. Accounting Department. 

2. Book Preparation Department. 

3. Book Purchasing Department. 

4. Printing Department. 

5. Binding Department. 

6. Shipping Department. 

7. Buildings Department. 

The general nature of the work of these departments is indicated by 
the names which they bear. 

SPECIAL ACTIVITIES. 

In addition to the regular activities of the various departments, the 
Library carries on programs of free lectures and concerts which are given 
in its lecture hall several times each week from October through April each 
year. Exhibits in the Treasure Room, and in the Chavannes, Sargent 
and Wiggin Galleries in the Central Library Building afford opportunities 
for emphasizing the Library's valuable resources. StorytelUng in the 
Young People's Room and in many branch hbraries by trained storytellers 
is a part of the Library's program of work with children. Two publi- 
cations are distributed free throughout the system: Books Current, issued 
four times a year, and B. P. L. News, issued ten times a year. For The 
Boston Public Library Quarterly, issued in January, April, July, and 
October, there is a subscription fee of $2.00 a year, 50 cents a single copy. 



STATISTICAL DATA. 

City Appropriation for support of the Library, 1949 
For the purchase of books .... 

Card holders, January 1, 1949 

Books lent to borrowers, 1948 .... 

Employees, January 1, 1949 — Full-time 
Part-time, in terms of full-time equivalent 

Number of volumes, January 1, 1949 

Trust Funds, approximate value, January 1, 1949 



$2,504,285.00 

125,000.00 

162,968 

2,838,521 

579 

92 

1,811,806 

$4,435,000.00 



HOURS OF SERVICE. 

Central Library: 9 A. m. to 10 p. m., Monday through Friday; 9 a, m. 
to 9 p. M., Saturday; 2 p. m. to 9 p. M., Sunday; closed at 9 p. m. from 
June 15 to September 15. 

Kirstein Business Branch: 9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., Monday through 
Friday; 9 a. m. to 1 p. m., Saturday; closed all day Saturday during 
June, July, and August. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 59 

Branch Libraries: 9 a. m. to 9 p. m., Monday through Thursday; 9 a. m. 
to 6 p. m., Friday; 9 a. m. to 1 p. m., Saturday; variation in hours in 
summer. 

Baker Library: 9 a. m. to 11 p. m., Monday through Friday; 9 a. m. to 
5 p. m., Saturday; 1 p. m. to 11 p. m., Sunday. 

Boston Medical Library: 9 a. m. to 5 p. m., Tuesday, Wednesday,, 
Friday; 9 a. m. to 9 p. m., Monday and Thursday; 9 a. m., to 1 p. m., 
Saturday. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 33 Beacon Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 185; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
24; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 435, 540; Ord. 1912, Chap. 10; Ord. 1913, 
Chap. 5; Ord. 1914, Chap. 3; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 24; Ord. 1920, 
Chap. 13; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 5, 7; Stat. 1923, Chap. 309; Ord. 1923, 
Chaps. 8, 12.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Joseph LEE.f Term ends in 1950. 

Theodore G. HAPFENREFFER.f Term ends in 1951. 
John J. Murphy. § Term ends in 1952. 

OFFICIALS. 

JoHH J. Murphy, Chairman. 

Arthur J. O'Keefe, Secretary and Chief Clerk. 

William M. Mullen, Director, Recreation Division. 

James A. Walsh, Chief Inspector, Cemetery Division. 

William J. O'Brien, Director of Aquarium. 

James E. Phelan, General Foreman of Small Parks and Squares. 

John E. White, Superintendent, Bath Division. 

The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875. 
The Board consisted of three members who served without compensation. 
As thus constituted, the department continued up to 1913, when, by the 
provisions of Chapter 10, Ordinances of 1912, it was merged with the 
Public Grounds, Bath and Music Departments, under the name of Park 
and Recreation Department. In 1920, the Cemetery Department was 
merged with the Park Department, the latter title being substituted for 
Park and Recreation Department. 

A list of the statues was published in the 1932 Municipal Register. 

t Two Commissioners serve without compensation. 

§ John J. Murphy was appointed September 2, 1947, in place of 
William P. Long, who retired August 31, 1947, after having served as 
chairman of the Park Commission for twenty-two years. 



60 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Parks and Parkways with Location, Area and Year Acquired. 
main park system. 

Acres 
Arborway Prince street to Franklin Park, 1892 . . . 36.00 
t Arnold Arboretum and Bussey Park, South, Centre and Walter 

streets, 1882, 1895 223.00 

A Avenue Louis Pasteur, Longwood avenue to the Fenway, 

1922 3.19 

Back Bay Fens, Beacon street to BrookHne avenue, 1877 . 116.99 
Boston Common, Tremont to Park street. Beacon, Charles 

and Boylston streets, 1634 $48.40 

Commonwealth avenue, Arlington street to Newton Une, 

1894-1905 112.70 

Frankhn Park (1833-84) and Zoological Garden, Blue Hill 
avenue, American Legion Highway, Forest Hills street, 
Walnut avenue, Columbus avenue and Seaver street . , 522 . 00 
Olmsted Park, Huntington avenue to Prince street, 1890 . 180.00 
Public Garden, Charles to Arhngton and Beacon to Boylston 

streets, 1823 24.25 

Riverway, Brookhne avenue to Huntington avenue, 1890 . 40 . 00 
West Roxbury Parkway, from Walter street, near Arboretum, 
to the Metropolitan District Commission Parkway, 1894, 
including Joyce Kilmer Park, Centre street . . . 75 . 47 

Total Acres, Main Park System 1,382.00 

MARINE PARK SYSTEM. 

Castle Island now joined to mainland of Marine Park (land and 

flats), 1890, "care and control" 104.00 

Columbia road (southerly side) from Franklin Park to Edward 
Everett square and thence to Columbia road bridge at 
Carson street, including Dorchester Way, 1892, 1899 . . 31.20 

Marine Park and Aquarium, Farragut road, City Point (land 

and flats), 1883, including beach 57.61 

Strandway at Carson street and Columbus Park, Columbia 
road railroad bridge to Marine Park (land and flats), 1890- 
1901, including portion of Columbia road at this section . 254.30 

Total Acres, Marine Park System 447.11 

MISCELLANEOUS PARKS. 

*Adams, Irving W. Park, Junction of Washington and South 

streets, Roslindale, 1919 0.78 

Berners square, Longwood avenue, Bellevue and Plymouth 
streets, Roxbury, 1901 1-31 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 
t Of this park, only the roads and walks are maintained by the City. 
X This area of the Common is exclusive of the old cemetery on Boylston 
street side, containing 1.40 acres. 

A Acquired by Ordinance, chap. 7 of 1922. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 61 

Acres. 
Charlesbank, Charles street, from Cambridge street to Lever- 

ett street, 1883 25.41 

Chestnut Hill Park, Beacon street and Commonwealth avenue, 

Brighton, 1898-1902 53.84 

JCopp's Hill terraces. Commercial and Charter streets. North 

End, 1893 0.60 

*Corbett, Wilham B. Park, between Washington and Clay- 
bourne streets, Dorchester, 1917 0.94 

Cummings Memorial Park, located partially in Woburn and 

BurHngton, Mass 234.00 

xDoherty, Ensign, John J., Jr., Bunker Hill and Medford 

streets (6.10), Dewey Beach (4.30), 1891 . . . . 10.40 

Dorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 1891, 31 . 47 
Frankhn Field, Blue Hill and Talbot avenues, Dorchester, 1892, 

(playground area 60 acres) 77 . 00 

Freeport Street (Malloch's) Wharf and grounds, Dorchester (land 

1.15; fiats 2.54), 1912 3.69 

JLomasney, Martin Park, Nashua street at Leverett street, 

West End, 1930 2.57 

North End Beach, Commercial and Charter streets (land and 

flats), 1893 6.70 

*Ringer, Stanley A. Park, Allston street and Griggs place, 

Allston, 1916 (playground area 2.32) 12.38 

Rogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899 (play- 
ground 6.00 acres) 8.20 

Savin Hill Park, Grampian way, Dorchester, 1909 . . . 8.26 

Statler Park, Columbus avenue, Stuart and Church streets, 1925, . 25 

Town Meeting Park, Pleasant and Pond streets, Dorchester, 

1921 0.22 

World War Memorial Park (formerly Wood Island) , East Boston, 
including beach, on eastern water front (land and flats), 1882, 
1891; opposite Neptune road and Prescott street (play- 
ground area 10 acres) . 86.00 

Total Area, Miscellaneous Parks 564 . 02 

Playgrounds, With Location, Area, and Year Acquired. 
Almont Street Playground, Mattapan, 1924 . . . . 17.81 

*Alsen, Carl Henry Playground, Victory road and Park street, 

Dorchester, 1916-1943 11-20 

*Amerena, Wilham Playground, Gove, Geneva, Porter and 

Welhngton streets. East Boston, 1926 4.06 

American Legion Playground, Condor and Glendon streets, 
East Boston, 1924 3.38 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Children's playground. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



62 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 
*Barry, William J. Playground, Chelsea street and Mystic 

river, Charlestown, 1897 . ' 5.72 

Beecher Street Play Area, Jamaica Plain, 1942 (undeveloped), 0.18 

Billings Field, La Grange and Bellevue streets. West Roxbury, 

1896 10.83 

tBoston Common, Charles street side 3 . 50 

Bruce Street, West Roxbury, 1945 0.80 

JBrookside Avenue Playground at Cornwall street, Jamaica 

Plain, 1925 1.32 

^Buckley, Rev. Fr. Playground, West Third and Bolton streets. 

South Boston, 1925 0.65 

Carleton and Canton streets, South End, 1945 . . . . 0.05 

Carroll Pond, Carroll street, West Roxbury (undeveloped), 1921, 0.47 

Carson street, Dorchester, 1945 0.92 

*Carter, WilUam E. Playground, Columbus avenue at Camden 

street, 1899 5.02 

Ceylon Street Playground, Ceylon and Intervale streets, Dor- 
chester, 1923 4.03 

tCharlesbank Playground, Charles street, West End, 1883 . 15.50 
^Charter Street Playground, Charter street and Greenough lane. 

North End, 1940 0.23 

Cherry Street Playground, South End, 1922 0.55 

tChestnut Hill Playground, Beacon street, Brighton, 1898 . 2.79 

tColumbus Park, Strandway, including beach. South Boston, 79.00 
*Connolly, John J. Playground, Marcella and Highland streets, 

Roxbury, 1903 5.10 

*Cronin, James L. Playground, Brent street, near Talbot 

avenue, Dorchester, 1899 2.24 

*tCutillo, Vincent Playground, Morton and Stillman streets. 

North End, 1917 0.48 

Dedham street. South End, southwesterly side (undeveloped), 

1941 0.41 

*Doherty, John A. Playground, Dorchester and Geneva avenues, 

1897 1.47 

xfDoherty, Ensign John J., Jr., Playground, Bunker Hill and 

Medford streets, Charlestown Heights, 1891 . . . . 6.10 

fDorchester Park, Dorchester avenue and Richmond street, 

1891 5.40 

Draper, Mary Playground, Washington and Stimson streets. 

West Roxbury, 1932 5.76 

*|Emmons, Frederick D. Playground, Rutherford avenue, 

Charlestown, 1912 1.07 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks, 

t Children's playground. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 63 

Acres. 
Eustis, William Playground, Norfolk avenue and Proctor 

street, Roxbury, 1909 7.60 

Everett and Elm Streets Playground, Dorchester, 1939 . . 1.16 

Factory Hill Playground, Town and Sunnyside streets, Hyde 

Park, 1912 5.20 

*Fallon Field, South and Robert streets, Roslindale, 1899 and 

1931 7.57 

^Foster Street Playground, Foster street, place and court, 

North End, 1930 0.10 

FrankUn Field, Blue Hill and Talbot avenues, Dorchester, 1892, 60 . 00 

^Franklin Park, 1883-1884 36.00 

Gallagher, AUce E. Memorial Park, Brighton, 1937-1943 . 13.59 
Gallivan Boulevard, corner Washington street, Dorchester, 

1946 7.03 

*Garvey, William H. Playground, Neponset avenue, opposite 

Chickatawbut street, Dorchester, 1896 16.68 

Gibson, Christopher Playground, Dorchester and Geneva 

avenues, 1897 4.34 

-Green and Lamartine streets, Jamaica Plain, 1945 . . . 1.32 

Hannon, Mary Playground, Howard avenue and Folsom street, 

Dorchester, 1940-1945 1.69 

Harvard, John Mall, Main street, near City Square, Charles- 
town, 1943 0.85 

*Healey, James F. Playground, Washington street and Firth 

road, Roslindale, 1902 9.63 

Hemenway, Mary Playground, Adams and Gustine streets, 

Dorchester, 1919 4.41 

Hill and Cook Streets Play Area, Charlestown, 1942 . , . 0.10 

*tHolland, John F. Playground, Mozart and Bolster streets, 

Roxbury, 1917 1.07 

Howes, Gertrude Playground, Winthrop, Fairland and More- 
land streets, Roxbury, 1930 1.88 

■Jefferson Playground, Heath, Cranford and Floyd streets, Rox- 
bury, 1924 7.51 

King Street Play Area, Roxbury, 1943 0.32 

Lee, Christopher J. Playground, First street at M street. South 

Boston, 1897 5.20 

tLee, Joseph Playground, The Fens, Back Bay, 1877 . . 5.00 

^Lomasney, Martin M. Park, Nashua street, corner Leverett 

street, West End, 1931-1933 2.57 

London and Decatur Streets Play Area, East Boston, 1941 . 0.13 

Maiden street, South End, northerly side (undeveloped), 1941, 0.21 

jj: McCarthy, Leo F. Playground, Mead and Ludlow streets, 

Charlestown, 1938 0.28 

McKay School Play Area, Frankfort, Gove and Cottage 

streets, East Boston, 1942 0.50 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

X Children's playground. 



64 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Acres. 
*McConnell Park (formerly Savin Hill Playground), Springdale 

and Denny streets (land and flats), 1899, 1914, including 

beach 60.33 

McKinney Playground, Faneuil street, Brighton, 1930 . . 5.94 
*JMcLean, Arthur F. Playground, Saratoga and Bennington 

streets, East Boston, 1917 0.43 

Mission Hill Playground, Tremont and Smith streets, Roxbury, 

1913-1915-1947 5.15 

*Murphy, John W. Playground, Carolina avenue, Jamaica 

Plain, 1912 4.17 

Myrtle Street Play Area, West End, 1949 . ' . . . . . 17 

fNorth End Beach and Playground, Commercial street, 1893 . 3.00 
Noyes, John H. L. Playground, Saratoga and Boardman streets. 

East Boston (land and flats), 1909 8.31 

Oak Square Playground, Brighton, 1947 1 . 48 

fOlmsted Park, Jamaicaway, 1890 3 . 00- 

JParis Street Playground, East Boston, 1912 . . . . 1.27 
Parker Hill Playground, Roxbury, Parker Hill and Fisher 

avenues, 1912 11.54 

IParkman, Francis Playground, Wachusett street. Forest Hills, 

1924 2.06. 

Paul Gore street, Jamaica Plain, 1913 (undeveloped) . . 0.74 

Penniman and Hano streets, Brighton, 1945 . . . . 0.94 

JPhillips Street Play Area, West End, 1942 0.13 

fPitts and Hale Streets Play Area, West End, 1942 . . . 0.11 

Portsmouth Street Playground, Brighton, 1912 . . . . 4.29' 
JPrince Street Playground, North Bennet and Prince streets, 

North End, 1897 0.4O 

Readville Playground, BuUard, Milton and Regent streets, 

Hyde Park, 1924 5.03 

Revere, Paul Mall, Hanover and Unity streets. North End, 1925, . 76 
fRinger, Stanley A. Playground, AUston street and Griggs 

place, Brighton, 1916 2.32 

fARipley Playground, Ripley road, near Harvard street, Dor- 
chester, 1913 0.86 

Roberts, Thomas J. Playground, Dunbar avenue, Dorchester, 

1930 10.40 

Rogers Park, Lake and Foster streets, Brighton, 1899-1931 . 6 . 00 
Ronan Park (formerly Mt. Ida), Adams street and Mt. Ida road, 

Dorchester, 1912 11.65 

Ross, Henry Estate, Forest Hills street. Forest Hills, 1943-1945, 7 . 69. 

xRoss, Wesley G. Playground, Westminster street, near Wood 

avenue 13.03 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

J Children's playground. 

A Acquired by gift. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. 65 

Acres. 
*Rotch, Lester J. Playground, Albany and Randolph streets, 

South End, 1903 2.80 

xRyan, John J. Jr. Playground, Main and Alford streets, 

Charlestown (land and flats), 1891 17.36 

Smith's Pond Playground, Brainard near Cleveland street, 

Hyde Park, 1914 12.91 

*Smith, William F. Playground, Western avenue and North 

Harvard street, Brighton, 1894 . . . . . . 14.00 

JSnow HiU Street Playground, North End, 1937 . . . . 1.13 

*tSulUvan, J. M. and J. J. Playground, Fellows and Hunneman 

streets, Roxbury, 1897 0.85 

*jSweeney, Matthew J. Playground, West Fifth street. South 

Boston, 1909 0.47 

Tenean Beach and Playground, Neponset, 1915 . . . 20.01 

Thornton Street, Roxbury — No. 134 (undeveloped), 1941 . 0.06 

Tobin, Margaret and James Play Area, Albion street. South 

End, 1941 0.57 

Troy and Rochester Streets Play Area, South End, 1941 . 0. 17 

JTyler Street Playground, South End, 1912 . . . . 0.26 

Union Street Playground, Brighton, 1949 1.54 

Vernon Street, Roxbury, between Cabot and Lamont streets 

(undeveloped), 1941 0.40 

*Walker, George H. Playground, Norfolk street, opposite Evelyn 

street, Mattapan, 1912 6.21 

Washington, East Dedham and Mystic Streets, South End, 

1945 0.32 

Washington and Stimpson streets, West Roxbury, 1938 . . 0.30 
JWest Third Street Playground at B street. South Boston, 1909, 0.28 
Winthrop, John Playground, Dacia and Danube streets, Dor- 
chester, 1911 1-57 

tWorld War Memorial Park, East Boston, 1891 . . . . 10.00 

Wright, George Golf Course, West street, Hyde Park . . 158.48 



Total area of the 106 Playgrounds and Play Areas (Acres) 
Area of 14 Playgrounds in Parks (Acres) ... 
Area of the 93 Separate Playgrounds (Acres) 



818.87 
175.22 
643.65 



The first separate playground acquired by the City was the Charlestown 
Playground, purchased in 1891 for $172,923. With that included, 107 
playgrounds (93 separate and 14 located in parks) have been established, 
most of them equipped with first-class shelter and sanitary buildings 
containing lockers, also drinking fountains, shower baths, etc. 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 

t Playgrounds located in parks, and included in areas of parks. 

t Children's playground. 

X Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 2. 



66 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Public Grounds, Squares, Etc., With Locations and Areas. 

city proper. 

Square Feet. 
Blackstone Square, Washington street, between West Brook- 
line and West Newton streets 105,100 

Braddock Park, between Columbus avenue and N. Y., N. H. 

&H. R. R 3,800 

City Hall Grounds, School street 7,700 

Columbus Square, Columbus and Warren avenues . . . 2,250 

Concord Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue . 5,000 
Copley Square, between Huntington avenue, Boylston and 

Dartmouth streets 28,399 

Fort Hill Square, Oliver and High streets 29,480 

Franklin Square, Washington street, between East Brookline 

and East Newton streets 105,205 

Abraham Lincoln Square (formerly Park Square), Columbus 

avenue, Eliot street and Broadway 2,867 

Massachusetts Avenue Malls, four sections, between Albany 

street and Columbus avenue 106,500 

Rachael Revere Square, North End, 1945 3,509 

Rutland Square, between Tremont street and Columbus avenue, 7,400 

St. Stephen Square, corner St. Stephen and Batavia streets . . 100 

Trinity Triangle, Huntington and St. James avenues, 1885. . 7,841 

Union Park, between Tremont street and Shawmut avenue . 16,000 

Waltham Square, Harrison avenue, opposite Union Park street . 3,000 

Washington, East Dedham, and Mystic streets, 1945 . . . 13,984 
Worcester Square, between Washington street and Harrison 

avenue 16,000 

Total 464,135 

ROXBURT. 

Bromley Park, Albert to Bickford streets 20,975 

Cedar Square, Cedarstreet, between Juniper and Thornton streets, 26,163 
Elm Hill Avenue Tree Reservation, between Seaver and Schuyler 

streets 2,650 

Elm HiU Park, off 550 Warren street 6,920 

*Hanlon, Francis G. Square, junction of Huntington avenue, 

Tremont and Francis streets 1,662 

Harris, Horatio Park, Walnut avenue, Munroe, Townsend and 

Harold streets 110,040 

Heath, General Square, Old Heath, New Heath and Parker 

streets 2,416 

Highland Park, Fort avenue and Beech Glen street . . . 158,421 

Kittredge, Alvah Park, Highland street and Highland avenue . 5,600 

Lin wood Park, Centre and Linwood streets 3,625 

Longwood Park, Park and Austin streets 21,000 

Madison Park, Sterling, Marble, Warwick and Westminster 

streets 122,191 

Orchard Park, Chadwick, Orchard Park and Yeoman streets . 104,492 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



PARK DEPARTMENT. ■ 67 

Square Feet. 

Public Ground, corner Blue Hill avenue and Seaver street . 2,500 

Walnut Park, between Washington street and Walnut avenue . 5,736 

Warren Square, Warren, St. James and Regent streets . . 1,380 

Washington Park, Dale and Bainbridge streets .... 396,125 
*Wolf, Herbert J. Square, Crawford, Abbotsford and Harold 

streets 966 

Total 992,862 

BRIGHTON. 

Brighton Square, Chestnut Hill avenue and Academy Hill road . 25,035 
*Cunningham, Edward M. Square, Cambridge, Murdock and 

Sparhawk streets 7,449 

Fern Square, between Franklin and Fern streets .... 1,90U 
Jackson Square, Chestnut Hill avenue. Union and Winship 

streets 4,300 

Oak Square, Washington and Faneuil streets .... 9,796 

Public Ground, Cambridge and Henshaw streets .... 1,434 

Total 49,914 

CHARLESTOWN. 

City Square, junction of Main and Park streets .... 8,739 

Essex Square, Essex and Lyndeboro' streets 930 

Hayes Square, Bunker Hill and Vine streets 4,484 

Sullivan Square, Main, Cambridge, Sever and Gardner streets . 56,428 

Winthrop Square, Winthrop, Common and Adams streets . . 38,450 

Total 109,031 

DORCHESTER. 

Algonquin Square, Algonquin and Bradlee streets . . . 1,728 

•Andrew, Henry Square, Adams and Granite streets . . . 2,068 

Centervale Park, Upland avenue and Bourneside street . . 9,740 

*Denton, Gordon E., Square, Magnolia street .... 3,605 

♦Donovan, John F., Park, Meeting House Hill .... 56,200 

Drohan Square, Edison green 10,241 

Eaton Square, Adams and Bowdoin streets 13,280 

Florida Street Reservation, King to Ashmont streets (7 sections), 24, 193 

*Kane, Francis G., Square, Bowdoin, Winter and Hancock streets, 1,600 

Mt. Bowdoin Green, summit of Mt. Bowdoin .... 25,170 
*01son, Fred C. W., Square, junction of Adams and Codman 

streets 700 

Peabody Square, Ashmont street and Dorchester avenue . . 1,963 

Richardson Square, between Pond and Cottage streets . . 46,035 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



68 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Square Feet. 

Spaulding Square, junction of Freeport street and Neponset 
avenue 6,263 

Tremlett Square, Tremlett street, between Hooper and Waldeck 

streets 7,107 

Wellesley Park, Wellesley park 28,971 

Total 238,864 

EAST BOSTON. 

Brophy, Michael J., Park, Webster, Sumner, Lamson and Seaver 

streets 30,000 

Central Square, Meridian and Border streets 40,310 

Maverick Square, Sumner and Maverick streets .... 4,396 

Prescott Square, Trenton, Eagle and Prescott streets . . 12,284 

Putnam Square, Putnam, White and Trenton streets . . . 11,628 

Total 98,618 

HTDE PARK. 

Camp Meigs, Hyde Park avenue, between Irving and Stanley 
streets, Readville 124,500 

Greenwood Square, junction of Greenwood street and Central 
avenue 220 

*Jones, Lieut. Parker B., Square, Milton avenue and Highland 

street 220 

Webster Square, junction of Webster street and Central avenue . 220 
Williams Square, Williams avenue and Prospect street . . . 700 
Wolcott Square, Hyde Park avenue, Milton and Prescott streets, 220 
*Woodworth, Horace Campbell, Square, Beacon street and Metro- 
politan avenue 220 

Total 126,300 

SOUTH BOSTON. 

Independence Square, Broadway, Second, M and N streets . . 279,218 
Lincoln Square, Emerson, Fourth and M streets .... 9,510 
Thomas Park, Telegraph Hill 190,000 

Total 478,728 

WEST ROXBtTRT. 

DuflBe, Arthur, Square, Clement avenue, West Roxbury . . 2,200 
*Gustav Emmet Square, S. Conway, S. Fairview and Robert 

streets 750 

*Mahoney, Cornehus J,, Square, Centre and Perkins streets . 3,200 

Oak view Terrace, off Centre street 5,287 

Soldiers' Monument Lot, South and Centre streets, Jamaica 

Plain 5,870 

Total : 17,307 

Total area of Pubhc Grounds, etc., 2,550,428 Square Feet, or 
59.07 Acres. 

* Named for U. S. serviceman killed in World War No. 1. 



PARK DEPARTMENT; 69 

RECAPITULATION. 

Parks and Parkways: Acres. 

Main Park System 1,382.00 

Marine Park System 447.11 

Miscellaneous Parks . . 564.02 

Playgrounds (separate) 817.19 

Public Grounds, Squares, etc 59.07 

Grand total (acres) ,3,269.39 

Since the City's park development began, in 1877, the total expenditure 
to the close of 1947, for parks, parkways and playgrounds (exclusive of 
the annual maintenance appropriation) has been $34,650,354.60 or 
$11,449,975.55 for the land and $23,200,379.05 for construction. 

CEMETERY DIVISION. 

The burying grpunds, cemeteries and tombs which are owned by and in 
charge of the City of Boston are as follows, with a total area of about 
7,040,708 square feet: 

Bennington Street, East Boston ..... 

Bunker Hill, Bunker Hill street, Charlestown 

Central, Boston Common, City 

Copp's Hill, Hull street, City 

Dorchester North, Uphams Corner, Dorchester . 
Dorchester South, Dorchester avenue, near Gallivan 
Boulevard, Dorchester 

Eliot, Eustis street, Roxbury ... 

Evergreen, Commonwealth avenue, near Wade street, 
Brighton 

Fairview, Fairview avenue, Hyde Park, about 50 acres 

Granary, Tremont street. City 

Hawes, Emerson street. South Boston .... 

King's Chapel, Tremont street. City .... 

Market Street, Brighton 

Mount Hope, Walk Hill, Paine and Canterbury streets, 
125 acres and 14,330 square feet 

Phipps Street, Charlestown 

Rainsford Island 

South End South, Washington street, near East New- 
ton street. City 

Union, East Fifth street. South Boston 

Walter Street, West Roxbury 

Westerly, Centre street, West Roxbury . . ♦ 



Square 


Estab- 


Feet. 


lished. 


157,500 


1838 


48,202 


1807 


60,693 


1756 


89,015 


1659 


142,587 


1633 


95,462 


1814 


34,830 


1630 


604,520 


1848 




1892 


82,063 


1660 


11,232 


1816 


19,344 


1630 


18,072 


1764 




1851 


76,740 


1630 


43,560 




64,670 


1810 


5,470 


1841 


35,100 


1711 


39,450 


1683 



70 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



CiTT Tombs. 
Twenty-five in the South Ground; six in Phipps Street Ground, Charles- 
town; one tomb for infants in South Ground; one tomb for infants and 
one for adults in Copp's Hill Ground; one for adults and one for infants 
in the Granary Ground; one for infants in King's Chapel Groimd; one for 
infants in the Central Ground; two receiving tombs in East Boston; 
one receiving tomb in Dorchester North; one receiving tomb in Dor- 
chester South; one receiving tomb in Evergreen Cemetery, Brighton; 
one receiving tomb in Mount Hope Cemetery, and one receiving tomb in 
Fairview Cemetery, Hyde Park. 



PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 803 City HaU Annex. 

[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 14; Stat. 1896, Chap. 536, § 9; Stat. 1897, Chap. 

595, § 5; Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.] 

Maxwell B. Grossman, Commissioner. Term ends April 30, 1950. 

The Penal Institutions Commissioner is the executive and administrative 
head of the Penal Institutions Department, and he is also charged with 
parohng power from Charles Street Jail and Suffolk County House of 
Correction. 

HOUSE OF CORRECTION. 
Robert F. Mackie, Master. 
This institution dates from 1895, and now includes land and buildings 
valued at $2,378,600; land appraised at $605,900, and buildings at 
$1,772,700. 

PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 

Office and Printing Plant, 174 North street. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 31; Ord. 1911, Chap. 2; Ord. 1914, Chap. 6; Rev. 

Ord. 1914, Chap. 26; Ord. 1920, Chap. 9; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 24.] 
John J. Twomey, Superintendent of Printing. Term ending 1952. 

The printing plant was established March, 1897, for the express purpose 
of executing the printing required by all city and county departments. 
It was originally operated partly from an appropriation and partly from 
revenue. Since 1910, it has been entirely self-supporting and no appro- 
priation of any kind has been made. The entire expense of maintenance 
including pay roll, has been met from revenue. 

The plant is located at the corner of North and Richmond streets in a 
city-owned building for the exclusive use of the department. It is organ- 
ized and equipped especially for the city's printing requirements and 
consists of modern type-setting machinery, presses and accessories. The 
building and plant is appraised at approximately $600,000. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 71 

Chapter 24, Section 1, of the Revised Ordinances provides that the 
Superintendent of Printing "shall have charge of the printing plant and of 
all the printing of the city, shall supply all printing, binding, stationery 
and other office supplies, except furniture, used by any board, commis- 
sion or department for which the City of Boston is required by law to 
furnish such supplies, and shall, wherever practicable, standardize all such 
printing, binding, stationery and other office supplies." 

In addition to the above, the Superintendent purchases all postage used 
by the City of Boston. 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1005 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 32; Stat. 1913, 
Chap. 263; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 27; Ord. 1921, Chap. 1; Ord. 
1935, Chap. 3; Stat. 1938, Chap. 358; Stat. 1943, Chap. 78.] 
James E. Sullivan, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Term ends 

April 30, 1950. 
Thomas F. Kennedy, Deputy Superintendent and Supervisor of Heating 

and Ventilating. 
Thomas A. Callahan, Chief Clerk. 

The Office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established by 
ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been pubhshed by the 
Superintendents since 1851. He has the supervision of the care, repair 
and furnishing of all buildings belonging to or hired by the City. 

A list of the city buildings in charge of this department was published 
in the Municipal Register for 1932. 

By Act of the Legislature of 1943, adopted by the City Council and 
approved by the Mayor, the Market Department, as such, was abolished 
and placed under the jurisdiction of the Public Buildings Department. 
The Superintendent of Markets was placed under provisions of Civil 
Service. 

FLAG DAYS. 

By order of the City Council the national colors are displayed upon the 
public buildings and grounds on the following days: 
January 17, Franklin's Birthday. 
February 12, Lincoln's Birthday. 
February 22. Washington's Birthday. 
March 17, Evacuation Day. 
April 19, Patriots' Day. 
April 27, Grant's Birthday. 
May 30, Memorial Day. 

Jvme 14, Anniversary of Adoption of National Colors. 
June 17, Bunker Hill Day. 
July 4, Independence Day. 
September, first Monday, Labor Day. 
September 17, Anniversary of Founding of Boston. 
October 12, Columbus Day. 
November 11, Armistice Day. 



72 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MARKET DIVISION. 

Office in Rotunda of Faneuil Hall Market. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898 (now Rev. Ord. 1914), Chap. 1, § 4, tenth to twelfth; Rev. 
Ord. 1914, Chap. 22; Chap. 40, §§ 29-34; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, 
§26; Ord. 1923, Chap. 6; Stat. 1943, Chap. 78.] 

William J. Galvin, Director oj Markets. 

Edward J. McCormack, Deputy Director of Markets. 

Faneuil Hall Market, proposed by Mayor Quincy and completed during 
his administration in 1826, was under the charge of a Clerk of the Market 
until an ordinance of September 9, 1852, established the office of Super- 
intendent. Faneuil Hall Market includes the lower floor, porches and 
cellar of the buildings called respectively Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets. 

Chapter 25 Revised Ordinances 1947, Section 9, as amended. 

The Superintendent of Public Buildings shall lease from time to time, 
by instruments approved as to form by the Corporation Counsel and 
approved in writing by the Mayor, the stalls, cellars and second floor 
in Faneuil Hall for terms of three years and at expiration for further 
terms of three years, at the rents established by the city council, and 
upon such other terms and conditions as may be approved by the 
Corporation Counsel and the Mayor. 

The Director of Markets may assign stands within their Umits. The 
market police are appointed by the Police Commissioner and are under his 
control. 

PUBLIC WELFARE DEPARTMENT. 

OVERSEERS OF THE PUBLIC WELFARE. 

Administration Building, 43 Hawkins street. 
[Stat. 1864, Chap. 128; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 27; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 
27; Stat. 1909, Chap. 538; Stat. 1913, Chap. 763; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 23; Stat. 1921, Chap. 146; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 26; Stat. 
1930, Chap. 402; Stat. 1936, Chaps. 413, 436.] 

OFFICIALS. 

To May 2, 1949. 
Louis P. Leonard, Chairman. 
Sophie M. Friedman, Vice-Chairman. 
William G. O'Hare, Secretary. 
Edward H. Willey, Treasurer. 

From May 2, 1949. 
Louis P. Leonard, Chairman. 
P. Edward Murray, Vice-Chairman. 
William G. O'Hare, Secretary. 
J. Joseph Callahan, Treasurer. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 73 

OVERSEERS.* 

Terms expire April 30, 1950. 

t Julia Lavrakas. Thomas M. Gemelli. 

Edward H. Willey. Isabel C. Connelly. 

Terms expire April 30, 1951. 

t Irving Green. John J. Kearney. 

Malcolm L. Weymouth. Mark F. Russo. 

Terms expire April 30, 1952. 
Louis P. Leonard. P. Edward Murray. 

J. Joseph Callahan. § Margaret J. Gookin. 

The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation estab- 
lished in 1772 by act of the Legislature, were succeeded in 1864 by the 
corporation called "Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston," con- 
sisting of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually 
to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The 
Board issues annual reports. In 1921 the name was changed to Over- 
seers of the Public Welfare 

The Overseers of the Public Welfare are also incorporated as a Board 
of Trustees of John Boylston's and other charitable funds. The total 
amount of the 18 permanent charity funds in the custody of the Over- 
seers on December 31, 1948, was $831,614.78, the annual income from 
which ($27,143.48 in 1948) is distributed in accordance with the terms of 
the donations. 

In charge of the Overseers are the Wayfarers' Lodge on Hawkins street, 
opened in 1878, which gives free lodging to homeless men who are out of 
employment, and the Temporary Home on Chardon street for temporarily 
destitute women and children, opened in 1870. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 

General Offices, entire fifth, sixth and seventh floors, City Hall Annex. 

Commissioner's Office, 509 City Hall Annex. 

[Ord. 1910, Chaps. 9, 11, 12; Ord. 1911, Chaps. 1, 8, 10; Rev. Ord. 1914, 
Chap. 28; Ord. 1916, Chaps. 3, 4; Ord. 1917, Chap. 2; Ord. 1921, 
Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chaps. 2, 10; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 27; Ord. 
1929, Chap. 16; Ord. 1930, Chaps. 3, 6; Ord. 1938, Chap. 1; Ord. 
1941, Chap. 6; Ord. 1945, Chaps. 2, 3; Ord. 1946, Chaps. 10, 12; 
Rev. Ord. 1947, Chap. 27.] 

Robert P. Curley, Commissioner. Term ends in 1950. 
John J. Connelly, Executive Secretary. 

* The Overseers serve without compensation. 

t Julia Lavrakas appointed May 2, 1949, in place of Simon E. Hecht 
who resigned April 30, 1949. 

X Irving Green appointed May 2, 1949, in place of Sophie M, Friedman 
who resigned April 30, 1949. 

§ Deceased November 27, 1949. 



74 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Public Works Department was established in 1911, consisting of 
the Street, Water and Engineering Departments combined under a single 
executive head, the Commissioner of Public Works, who was authorized 
to create such divisions of the department as he may find necessary. 
The department is composed of the Bridge and Ferry, Highway, Sewer,. 
Sanitary, and Water Divisions, each in charge of a Division Engineer. 

The Commissioner of Public Works must be a civil engineer of recog- 
nized standing in his profession. He is in charge of the following activ- 
ities: Construction and maintenance of all streets, sidewalks and sewers;, 
granting of permits to open, occupy, obstruct and use portions of the streets 
and sidewalks; street lighting, both gas and electric; installation, main- 
tenance and operation of aU fixtures and appUances held by the City for 
its water supply; cleaning, oihng, and flushing of streets, as well as snow 
removal from streets; collection and removal of ashes, garbage and refuse; 
installation and maintenance of street signs, and assignment of street 
numbers for houses, stores, etc. ; construction, maintenance and operation of 
City-owned bridges used as highways; and maintenance and operation of 
the Sumner Vehicular Tunnel and of the ferries connecting the City 
Proper and East Boston. 

By an executive order of his Honor the Mayor, dated July 6, 1948, 
the administration of the Workmen's Compensation Law (Chapter 
152 of the General Laws, as amended) in its application to all employees 
of the City of Boston and of the County of Suffolk — with the exception 
of members of the police and fire forces — was placed under the juris- 
diction of this department. 

BRIDGE AND FERRY DIVISION. 

Office, 602 City Hall Annex. 
John DeMeulenaer, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer has charge of the design, construction, operation, 
and maintenance of the greater number of the highway bridges within the 
limits of the City, the care and management of the municipal ferries, the 
abolishment of grade crossings, the maintenance and operation of the 
Sumner Tunnel, and also has charge of special engineering work for other 
City departments. 8,754,545 motor vehicles passed through the Sunmer 
Tunnel during the year 1948. 

HIGHWAY DIVISION. 

Office, 501 City HaU Annex. 
Richard C. Dwyer, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer has charge of the construction and maintenance 
of all pubhc streets, including snow removal, the issuing of permits to 
open, occupy and obstruct portions of streets, the care and upkeep of the 
electric and gas lamps in the public streets, alleys, parks and pubhc 
grounds, and the numbering of buildings and the placing of all street signs.. 



PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT. 



75 



On December 31, 1948, this department had under its jurisdiction 
716.59 miles of public streets throughout the City. 

STREET LAMPS IN USE DECEMBER 31, 1948, 





Electric. 


Gas. 


Total. 


Mazda 


15,788 




15,788 
7 746 


Double mantle 


7,746 
207 


Double mantle (fire alarm) 




207 








Totals 


15,788 


7,953 


23,741 



SANITARY DIVISION. 
Office, 507 City Hall Annex. 
Adolph J. Post, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer has charge of the collection and removal of ashes,. 
garbage and refuse, and the cleaning, oiling and flushing of streets. 

Total expenditure for the year 1948 was $4,652,926.43 for collection and 
disposal of the City's waste materials and the cleaning, oihng and flushing 
of streets. 

Removal of Store Refuse. 

While the department is not required to remove refuse from shops, 
stores, and other business establishments, it is permitted by City Ordinance 
to make such removals upon payment by the producers of the charge 
prescribed by the Commissioner of PubUc Works. A charge of 20 cents 
a barrel or bundle (not larger than a flour barrel) has been established 
and no removals are made by City forces except upon the presentation of 
tickets obtainable at 507 City Hall Annex, or from authorized agents. 

In districts where refuse collections are made under yearly contracts, 
the contractors are not permitted to charge for this service a higher rate 
than 20 cents a barrel, as prescribed by the Commissioner of PubHc Works. 
In these districts the producers pay the contractors direct for the service 
rendered. 

SEWER DIVISION. 
Office, 701 City Hall Annex. 
Robert P. Shea, Division Engineer. 
The Division Engineer has charge of the maintenance and construction^ 
of all sewerage works. 

The work of the Sewer Division is carried on by the following authority: 

[Stat. 1897, Chap. 426; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1903, Chaps. 268, 383; 

Stat. 1907, Chaps. 464, 550; Stat. 1908, Chap. 204; Spec. 

Stat. 1918, Chap. 74; Rev. Ord. 1925, Chaps. 27, 39; Stat. 1930, 

Chaps. 178, 304; Stat. 1932, Chap. 224; Stat. 1945, Chap. 511.] 



76 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Assessments upon estates benefited by new sewers are not levied by the 
Public Works Department, but by the Board of Street Commissioners 
who also award damages for land-takings made for sewer construction; 
The assessment upon the several estates for a new sewer is hmited to $4 per 
linear foot, and it is a hen upon the property. An Act of the Legislature 
prohibits the assessment in similar cases of the cost of surface drains. 

In the calendar year 1947, there were built by contractors and day 
labor 7.24 miles of sanitary sewers and surface drains, and 204 catch-basins, 
making on January 1, 1948, a total of 1,272.07 miles of common and inter- 
cepting sewers and 23,040 catch-basins in charge of the Sewer Division. 

The Boston Main Drainage System, comprising 24.12 mUes of inter- 
cepting sewers, with a pumping station at Old Harbor Point, and storage 
reservoirs and outlet into the harbor at Moon Island, in operation since 
1884, takes care of the sewage from City Proper, South Boston, and parts 
of Roxbury, West Roxbury and Dorchester. 

The common sewer system has two electrically-operated automatic 
pumping stations. The station at Union Park and Albany streets was 
buUt in 1915 to reUeve floodings in the South End district of Boston, by 
pumping and discharging the surplus storm water flow into the South Bay. 

The station at Summer street, opposite E street, was built in 1913, and 
takes care of the sewage from the Commonwealth Pier district, and the 
Army and Navy Bases. 

Charlestown and East Boston sewage discharges into the main North 
Metropolitan System of the State, which discharges into the harbor waters 
just south of Deer Island. 

Sewage from all of Brighton, a portion of the Back Bay and a small 
part of Roxbury, discharges into the South Metropolitan System, is lifted 
by pumping at the Ward Street Pumping Station, then flows through 
the main sewer, which also drains by gravity portions of West Roxbury 
and Dorchester and all of Hyde Park, finally outletting into Quincy Bay 
at Nut Island. 

WATER DIVISION. 

Office, 607 City Hall Annex. 

Daniel M. Sullivan, Division Engineer. 

Under the control of the Division Engineer are the care and maintenance 
of all pipes and other fixtures and appliances for the purpose of the City's 
water supply, and all water assessments and other charges necessary for the 
maintenance of the Division. 

The total length of supply and distributing water main on December 31, 
1948, was 1,006.091 miles; number of fire hydrants, 12,321, including 505 
high pressure, 387 private; number of meters now in service, 102,594, 

The first water document pubUshed by the City of Boston appeared 
in 1825. In addition to the annual reports of the Cochituate supply, 
from 1850, and of the Mystic supply, from 1866, there are numerous special 



REAL ESTATE COMMISSION. 77 

reports. By Chapter 449, Acts of 1895, the Boston Water Board, the 
Water Income I^epartment and the Water Registrar were abolished and 
the Water Department created, a single commissioner being entrusted 
with all the powers previously exercised by the Boston Water Board and 
the Boston Water Registrar. 

A State commission, the MetropoUtan Water Board, took possession, in 
1898, of all that part of the Boston water system Ijdng westward of Chestnut 
Hill Reservoir, also the pumping station there, with adjacent lands. The 
sum paid to the City was $12,531,000. Payments to the State by the 
City for its supply of water have been regularly made since 1898. Total 
available quantity of water in the six storage reservoirs of the Metro- 
politan system on January 1, 1949, 435,593,000,000 gallons, of which 
about 88.6 per cent was in the Quabbin Reservoir, about 65 miles west 
of Boston, an artificial lake, 25,216 acres in surface and area and added 
to the system in 1948. There are also thirteen distribution reservoirs 
with capacity of 2,718,036,000 gallons, six pumping stations being con- 
nected with these, in which stations 31,661,000,000 gallons of water were 
pumped during the year 1948. In the existing Metropolitan Water Dis- 
trict are nine cities besides Boston, and eleven towns, and west side of 
Winchester. Boston takes about 67.6 per cent of the entire water supply 
of the District. 

The daily average amount of water used in Boston in 1948 was 
117,480,000 gallons, or 153 gallons per capita. 

HIGH PRESSXJRE FIRE SERVICE. 

By the provisions of Chapter 312, Acts of 1911, the Commissioner of 
Public Works was authorized to install an efficient system of high pressure 
fire service for the business center of the City. The work completed, 
including the old salt-water fireboat line installed in 1898, comprises 
18.71 miles of pipe with 505 hydrants. Total expenditure for installation 
of system to December 31, 1948, was $2,599,379.45. Two pumping^ 
stations are now in use. 



REAL ESTATE COMMISSION. 
Office, City Hall Annex, Room 809. 

[Stat. 1938, Chap. 358; Stat. 1939, Chap. 123; Stat. 1941, Chap. 296j 
Stat. 1943, Chap. 434; Stat. 1946, Chap. 474; Stat. 1949, Chap. 317.] 

Appointed by the Mayor. 
Commissioners. 
Irving Lewis, Chairman. Term ends April 30, 1949. 
William F. Keesler. Term ends April 30, 1950. 

Philip E. Bennett. Term ends April 30, 1948. 

Henry F. Brennan (City Treasurer), ex officio. 
Thomas F. McDonough (Chairman, City Planning Board), ex officio. 



78 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Appointed by the Mayor. 
Committee on Foreclosed Real Estate. 
Irving Lewis, Chairman. 
William F. Keesler. 
Philip E. Bennett. 

The Board of Real Estate Commissioners was estabUshed in accordance 
with Chapter 434 of the Acts of 1943. It consists of five members, three 
of whom are appointed by the Mayor, and the fourth and fifth are the 
City Treasurer and the Chairman of the City Planning Board who serve 
ex officio. The Chairman is designated by the Mayor and is the only 
member who receives a salary. 

The Chairman, subject to the regulations of the board with respect to 
his procedure, shall have the care, custody, management, and control of 
all property acquired by the City by foreclosure of tax titles, or acquired 
under Section 80 of Chapter 60 of the General Laws, whether acquired 
before or after the effective date of Chapter 434 of the Acts of 1943. 

The Chairman, subject to the unanimous approval of the Committee on 
Foreclosed Real Estate, or by a vote, approved by the Mayor, of a majority 
of the board, may let, lease, or sell real estate under his control, or any 
portion thereof, subject to the regulations as set forth in Section 4 of 
■Chapter 434. 

Stat. 1946, Chap. 474; Stat. 1948, Chap. 612. 

Chapter 474 of the Acts of 1946 provides that the Board of Real Estate 
Commissioners subject to the approval of the City Planning Board, 
Traffic Commission and the Mayor shall have the power to acquire land 
for such off-street parking facilities in the City as the board may deem 
necessary. 

REGISTRY DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 1002 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 

i[Stat. 1892, Chap. 314; Stat. 1898, Chap. 389; General Laws, Chap. 46; 

Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 28; C. C, Title IV., Chap. 28.] 

Michael J. Manning, City Registrar. Term ends in 1950. 

Charles H. Mackie, Assistant City Registrar. 

Elizabeth F. Hurley, Assistant City Registrar. 
The City Registrar keeps the records of births, deaths and marriages, 
issues certificates of the same and marriage hcenses, receives and records 
affidavits of, additions to, and amendments and corrections of said records, 
and forwards copies of all records to the office of the Secretary of the 
Commonwealth and to outside cities and towns when nonresidents are 
involved. Annual reports have been published since 1849, except in 1860 
and 1861. 

By ordinance, approved July 12, 1892, the Department of Ancient 
Records and the office of Record Commissioners (established July 6, 1875) 
were abolished, and the duties of the Record Commissioners, including 
the publication of documents relating to the early history of Boston, were 
transferred to the City Registrar. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 79 

SINKING FUNDS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 20 City Hall. 
[R. L., Chap. 27, § 14; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 35; C. C, Title IV., 
Chap. 9, § 5; Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, § 26; Stat. 1910, Chap. 437; 
Stat. 1911, Chap. 165; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 31; Stat. 1914, Chap. 
324; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 184; Ord. 1916, Chap. 7; Ord. 1925, 
Chaps. 2, 30.] 

OFFICIALS. 

William B. Carolan, Chairman. 
John 0. Stubbs, Vice-Chairman. 
Charles J. Fox, Secretary. 
Henry F. Brennan, Treasurer. 

commissioners.* 

Benjamin Spinoza, Paul F. Clark. Terms end in 1950. 

Page Browne, George Hansen. Terms end in 1951. 

John O. Stubbs, William B. Carolan. Terms end in 1952. 

The Board of Commissioners of Sinking Funds for the payment or 
redemption of the City debt consists of six members, two of whom are 
appointed annually by the Mayor for a term of three years from May 1. 
The Board has published annual reports since 1871. The amended City 
Charter, Section 26, prohibits the further establishing of sinking funds, 
but an exception was afterwards made by the Legislature regarding loans 
for Rapid Transit purposes. It also prohibits the depositing of City or 
■County money in any bank of which any member of the Board of Sinking 
Funds Commissioners is an officer, director or agent. 



STATISTICS DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 62-63 City Hall, fifth floor. 
[Ord. 1897, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33; 
Ord. 1922, Chaps. 6, 9; Ord. 1923, Chap. 11; Rev. Ord. 1925, 
Chap. 32; Ord. 1929, Chap. 4; Ord. 1938, Chap. 1; Ord. 1947, Chap. 1.] 

officials. 
William J. Campbell, Chairman. 
Wendell D. Howie, Secretary. 

TRUSTEES.f 

Cornelius J. Murphy. Term ends April 30, 1950. 

William J. Campbell. Term ends April 30, 1951. 

Phillip E. Lieberman. Term ends April 30, 1952. 

Samuel A. Bithoney. Term ends April 30, 1953. 

John J. S. Fahey. Term ends April 30, 1954. 

* The Commissioners serve without compensation. 

t The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, the Chairman is designated 
toy him, and all, with the exception of the Chairman, serve without com- 
pensation. 



80 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

This department, established in 1897, is in charge of a board of five 
trustees, whose duty it is to collect, compile, and publish such statistics 
relating to the City of Boston, and such statistics of other cities for purposes 
of comparison, as they may deem of public importance; also to compile 
and furnish such other statistical information as may be required by the 
Mayor or City Coimcil. 

As defined by the board of trustees, the routine work includes informa- 
tion service on historical, geographical, political, and population facts 
about Boston and the personnel and accomplishments of present and past 
mimicipal administrations; modem foreign language translations; exchange 
of public documents with municipal, state, federal, and foreign govern- 
ments; and a newspaper clipping service of all the Boston papers. 

The Statistics Department has published annually since 1898 the 
Boston Municipal Register. Special publications have ranged from the 
handbook of Boston Statistics to the Boston Year Book of 511 pages. 

The City Record, "Official Chronicle of Boston Municipal Affairs,"' 
is published weekly by the board of trustees, under the direction of the 
Mayor, in accordance with legislative act and city ordinance. The Editor 
and Associate Editor are appointed by the Mayor, 

In his capacity as Business Agent of the City Record, the Secretary of 
the Board of Trustees of the Statistics Department has charge of all 
business details of the City Record. 

City Record. 
Editorial Office, 40 City Hall, third floor. 
Business Office, 62-63 City Hall, fifth floor. 
[Ord. 1898, Chap. 2; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 37, § 2; Stat. 1909, Chapi 
486, §§ 29, 30; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 33, § 2; Ord. 1922, Chap. 
9;- Rev. Ord. 1925, Chap. 32, § 2; Stat. 1909, Chap. 386, § 29, with 
amendments.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Joshua H. Jones, Editor. 

P. Nicholas Petrocelli, Associate Editor. 

Wendell D. Howie, Business Agent. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 

Main Office, 401 City Hall Annex, fourth floor. 
[Stat. 1870, Chap. 337; Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 23; Stat. 1897, Chap. 
426; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 39; Stat. 1899, Chap. 450; Stat. 1906, 
Chaps. 258, 393; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 403, 584; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 447, 
519; Cons. Stats. 1908, Chap. 51; Stat. 1909, Chaps. 209, 486, §§ 28, 
31; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 169, 415, 453, 591; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 38, 339, 
371, 558, 661; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 263, 432, 536, 554, 577, 680, 799; 
Stat. 1914, Chaps. 119, 128, 569, 641; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 34; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 176; Spec. Stat. 1915, Chap. 91; Spec. Stat. 



STREET LAYING-OUT DEPARTMENT. 81 

1917, Chaps. 318, 329; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 155; Spec. Stat. 1919^ 
Chap. 224; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 74, 312, 465; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 191, 
407; Gen. Laws, Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1922, Chap. 316; Stat. 
1923, Chap. 489; Ord. 1924, Chap. 7; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 323, 325, 333; 
Stat. 1929, Chap. 187; Stat. 1930, Chap. 399; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 173, 
297; Gen. Laws (Ter. Ed. 1932), Chaps. 79, 80, 82, 83; Stat. 1936, 
Chap. 394; Stat. 1880, Chap. 67; Stat. 1884, Chap. 278; Stat. 1893, 
Chap. 462; Stat. 1894, Chap. 324; Stat. 1896, Chap. 376; Stat. 1897, 
Chap. 394; Stat. 1898, Chap. 298; Stat. 1901, Chap. 294; Stat. 1906, 
Chap. 259; Stat. 1945, Chap. 511; Ord. 1947, Chap. 33; Ord. 1947, 
Sec. Series Chap. 3.] 

BOARD OF STREET COMMISSIONERS. 

Charles E. Manion, Chairman. Term ends in 1949. 

George James Curley. Term ends in 1950. 

John T. O'Dea, Jr. Term ends in 1951. 

Lawrence W. Costello, Secretary. 
James W. Haley, Chief Engineer. 

The Board of Street Commissioners consists of three members, one of 
whom is elected by them to be Chairman. One member is appointed by 
the Mayor each year to serve for three years from the first Monday in 
January. The Board has jurisdiction over the laying-out, widening, relo- 
cation and discontinuance of highways; the taking of real property for 
mimicipal purposes; the levying of assessments for betterments resulting 
from the construction of streets or sewers; the plotting of undeveloped 
areas for streets and the opening of private ways; the granting of licenses 
for the storage or sale of merchandise in public streets; the making of 
specific repairs in public streets; the naming of public streets; the issuance 
of licenses for the keeping, storage, manufacture and sale of gasoline, oil, 
and other inflammable substances or explosive compounds; and the use 
of pubUc ways for any permanent or temporary obstruction or projection 
in, under, or over the same, including the location of conduits, poles and 
posts for telephone, telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes; 
signs, marquees, bay windows, coal-holes and vaults. Incidental to its 
powers to take lands and construct streets, it has authority to award 
compensation to land owners for damages resulting from such taking and 
construction. In certain instances its awards and its grants of licenses 
or permits must bear the approval of the Mayor. 

In 1895 the duties of the Board of Survey were transferred to the Board 
of Street Commissioners. In 1907 the Board of Street Commissioners 
was charged with the licensing of street stands for the storage or sale of 
merchandise. In 1909, by Section 28 of the City Charter (Acts of 1909, 
Chapter 486 and amendments thereto) the jurisdiction previously exer- 
cised by the Board of Aldermen concerning the naming of streets, the issue 
of permits or licenses for coasting, the storage of gasoline, oil and other in- 
flammable substances or explosive compounds and the use of public ways 
for any permanent or temporary obstruction or projection in, under, or over 



82 MUNICIPAL REGISTEE. 

the same, including the location of conduits, poles and posts for telephone, 
telegraph, street railway or illuminating purposes, was vested in the 
Board of Street Commissioners, to be exercised with the approval in 
writing by the Mayor, and the Mayor and City Council were given 
authority to fix by ordinance the terms by way of cash payment, rent, 
or otherwise, upon which permits or licenses for the storage of gasoline or 
oil or inflammable substances or explosive compounds and the construction 
or use of coal-holes, vaults, bay windows, signs and marquees, in, under, 
or over the public ways shall be issued. The fees for licenses or permits 
to sell or store inflammables or explosives are collected by the Board of 
Street Commissioners upon their original issuance of such licenses. There- 
after, an annual renewal fee for such licenses, which is one half of the original 
fee, is collected by the Fire Department. The fees for licenses or permits 
to maintain obstructions or projections in, under, or over the streets are 
collected by the Board of Street Commissioners. 

In 1913 the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority to 
issue permits for the erection of garages. 

By virtue of Section 1 of Chapter 33 of the Revised Ordinances of 1925, 
the Board of Street Commissioners is charged with the care and main- 
tenance of all land and buildings belonging to the city and not used for 
specific purposes. 

In 1927, by authority of, and in conformity with, Section 8 of Chapter 85 
of the General Laws (1921), the Board of Street Commissioners adopted 
"Rules and Regulations Relating to Projections in, on or over Public 
Highways," amending and revising all its pre-existing rules and regula- 
tions concerning such projections. The penalty for violation of these 
Regulations is a fine not exceeding five dollars for each day that the viola- 
tion continues, after five days' notice given by the Board of Street Com- 
missioners to the violator. 

In 1930 (by Chapter 399 of the Acts of 1930) the jurisdiction of the 
Board of Street Commissioners as to the storage and sale of gasoline, oil 
and other inflammables or explosives was ampUfied and its jurisdiction 
extended to include the licensing and regulation of open-air parking spaces. 

In 1908 the Board of Street Commissioners was charged with the regu- 
lation of pedestrian and vehicular traffic. In 1929 (by Chapter 263 of the 
Acts of 1929) jurisdiction over the regulation of traffic was transferred 
from the Board of Street Commissioners to the Boston Traffic Commission. 

In 1929, also, the Board of Street Commissioners was granted authority 
(by Chapter 187 of the Acts of 1929) to license the holding of religious 
meetings, political meetings or rallies in public ways. That Act was, 
however, repealed by Chapter 173 of the Acts of 1931. 

Under Chapter 148, Section 56, of the General Laws (Tercentenary 
Edition), the Board of Street Commissioners grants licenses for open-air 
parking spaces. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 83 

SUPPLY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 1001 City Hall Annex, tenth floor. 
[Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.] 
William I. Rose, Superintendent. Term ends April 30, 1950. 
Eugene K. Welsh, Chief Clerk. 
The Supply Department purchases all materials, apparatus and supplies, 
except printing, stationery and furniture, for all departments of the City, 
with the exception of the School Department, Schoolhouse Department, 
Police Department and the Transit Department. 



TRANSIT DEPARTMENT. 

Office, 294 Washington Street, Rooms 335-354. 
[Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444; 
Stat. 1925, Chaps. 52, 193, 206, 321, 341; Stat. 1929, Chaps. 297, 
383; Ord. 1929, Chap. 9; Stat. 1930, Chap. 394; Ord. 1931, Chap. 1; 
Stat. 1931, Chaps. 30, 169, 333; Stat. 1932, Chaps. 23, 287; Stat. 
1933, Chap. 366; Stat. 1935, Chaps. 100, 455; Stat. 1937, Chaps. 
159, 173; Stat. 1938, Chaps. 340, 395, 398; Stat. 1939, Chap. 482; 
Stat. 1941, Chaps. 140, 148; Stat. 1945, Chap. 692; Stat. 1946, 
Chaps. 494, 567; Stat. 1947, Chaps. 303, 544; Stat. 1948, Chap. 520.] 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Malcolm E. Nichols, Chairman. Term ends April 30, 1949. 

John T. Murray. Term ends April 30, 1950. 

A. Joseph Freno. Term ends April 30, 1952. 

Daniel P. McGillicuddy, Secretary. 

This department was established to exercise the powers and perform 
the duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose 
official existence terminated July 1, 1918. 



TREASURY DEPARTMENT. 
Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. 
[Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4; 
C. C, Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; 
Ord. 1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1, 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 
521; Ord. 1925, Chap. 2; Ord. 1926, Chap. 1; Ord. 1930, Chap. 7; 
Ord. 1935, Chap. 3; Ord. 1945, Chap. 10.] 

Henry F. Brennan, City Treasurer. Term ending 1950. 
Walter W. Foley, First Deputy City Treasurer. 
Edmund W. Holmes, Second Deputy City Treasurer. 

The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of 
the City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge by 
any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, and 
pays all biUs and demands against the City. 



84 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer, Treasurer of the Sinking 
Funds Department, Treasurer of Boston Retirement Board, Member of 
Board of Real Estate Commissioners, Custodian of the Boston Public 
School Teachers' Retirement Fund and Treasurer of the George Robert 
White Fund. He publishes reports yearly, also monthly statements. 



VETERANS SERVICES DEPARTMENT. 
Office, 14-18 Oliver Street. 
[Stat. 1897, Chap. 441; Gen. Laws, Chap. 115 and amendments; Rev. 
Ord. 1925, Chaps. 2, 3, 31; Stat. 1942, Chap. 11; Stat. 1943, Chap. 211 ; 
Stat. 1945, Chap. 366; Stat. 1946, Chaps. 584, 599; Ord. 1946, Cliap. 
2; Rev. Ord. 1947, Chap. 37.] 

David J. Brickley, Director of Veterans Services, Soldiers' 

Relief Commissioner. Term ends in 1950. 
Fbank J. Flaherty, Deputy Commissioner. 
Albert L. Fish, Deputy Commissioner. 

The Department of Veterans Services was estabhshed as a department 
of the City of Boston by Ord. 1946, Chapter 9 (Revised Ordinance 1947, 
Chapter 37) and is under the charge of a director, who is also soldiers' 
reHef commissioner, and who is appointed by the Mayor and confirmed 
by the City Council. This department performs the functions formerly 
performed by the Soldiers' Refief Department which it replaces. The 
Director exercises all powers and duties for the distribution of State and 
City benefits to veterans and their eligible dependents in the City of 
Boston, such as were formerly vested in the Mayor and Board of Alder- 
men. Under his direction assistance is rendered to veterans and their 
dependents of the Civil War, Indian War, Spanish- American War, PhiUp- 
pine Insurrection, China Rehef Expedition, Mexican War, World War 
No. 1 and World War No. 2. 

An ofiice is maintained on Boston Common to provide information, 
advice and assistance to veterans of all wars to enable them to procure 
the benefits to which they are entitled relative to employment, vocational 
and educational opportunities, hospitahzation, medical care, pensions 
and other veterans' benefits. 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT, 

Office, 105 City Hall Annex, first floor. 

John F. McCarthy, Sealer. 
Walter L. Finigan, Chief Clerk. 

The department was organized by ordinance in 1890. 

The duties of the department are set forth in the General Laws, Chap- 
ters 94, 98 and 101, with amendments and additions thereto. 

The Sealer is required to give public notice annually by advertisement 
to all persons having places of business in the city and using weighing 



WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT. 85 

and measuring devices for the purpose of buying or selling of goods, wares 
or merchandise, to bring them into this office to be tested and sealed. 
After giving the said notice, he shall visit the places of business not com- 
plying and shall test, adjust, seal or condemn in accordance with the 
results of tests made, the weighing and measuring devices of said persons. 
In addition the department is charged with the enforcement of all laws 
relative to the licensing of hawkers, peddlers and transient vendors, the 
giving of false or insufficient weight or measure, the reweighing of coal, 
the examination of coal for quality and the inspection of certain con- 
tainers as to size, shape and dimensions. The department must in- 
vestigate all complaints registered with the department and, when the 
evidence warrants, shall prosecute violations of the law. 



Various City, County and 
State Departments 



(89) 



90 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



VARIOUS CITY, COUNTY AND STATE 
OFFICIALS. 



The following table shows the manner in which public officials, other than the 
regular City department heads, are appointed or elected, as prescribed by statute, 
ordinance, or regulation, the time of appointment or election, and the term of 
office. 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed ob 

Elected. 


Teem. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length. 


School Committee (five) 

Board of Commissioners of 
School Buildings (three). 

Police Commissioner 


Statute 
« 

a 
u 

u 

u 

Bequest 

Statute 
« 

« 


Elected . . . 
** 

Governor . 


City elec- 
tion 

Annually 
one. 


IstMon. 
in Jan'y 


4yrs. 
Syrs. 

7 vrs. 


Boston Finance Commission 
(five). 

Licensing Board (three) 

Franklin Foundation 


Governor A 

Governor A 

Supreme 
Court. 


Annually 
one. 

Biennially 
one. 

B 




Syrs. 
6yrs. 


(twelve Managers). 

George Robert White Fund 
(five Trustees). 

Boston Housing Authority 
(five). 

Suffolk County Courthouse 
Commission (three). 

Boston Metropolitan Dis- 
trict (five). 






*♦* 
**** 

Governor 

and 

Mayor. 






5 yrs. 



















A With the advice and consent of the Executive Coimcil. 

B As vacancies occur. 

** Appointing power shared by the Mayor, School Committee and Board 
Members. (See Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.) 

***Four members appointed by the Mayor and City Council and one 
appointed by the Massachusetts State Board of Housing. 

**** Appointing power shared by the Governor, Mayor, and Chief Justices of 
Supreme, Superior, and Boston Mimicipal Courts. (See Stat. 1935, Chap. 474.) 



VARIOUS OFFICIALS. 



91 



Officials. 


How 
Created. 


Appointed or 
Elected. 


Term. 




By Whom. 


When. 


Begins. 


Length: 


Old South Assoc'n (two 
Managers). 

Loan Comp'y, Collateral 
(one Director). 

Loan Assoc'n, Workingmen's 
(one Director). 

County of Suffolk 


Statute 

u 


City Coun- 
cil. 

Mayor . . . 

u 


Annually 

u 
u 


When 
elected. 

Jan 

Feb ... . 


lyr. 
lyr. 















92 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 
Administration Building, 15 Beacon Street. 
Annex, 45 Myrtle Street. 
[Stat. 1875, Chap. 241; Stat, 1898, Chap. 400; Stat. 1900, Chap. 235; 
Stat. 1901, Chap. 448; Stat. 1903, Chap. 170; Stat. 1905, Chap. 249; 
C. C, Chaps. 33 and 48; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 205, 231, 259, 318, 505; 
Stat. 1907, Chaps. 295, 357, 450; Stat. 1908, Chap. 589; Stat. 1909, 
Chaps. 120, 388, 446, 537, 540; Stat. 1910, Chap. 617; Stat. 1911, 
Chaps. 540, 708; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 195, 569, 711; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 
337, 363, 389, 615, 779; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 128, 331, 489, 730, 738; 
Gen. Stat. 1915, Chaps. 78, 81, 90 and Spec. Stat., Chaps. 189, 300, 
304, 372; Spec. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 86, 88, 213, 267, 289 and Gen. 
Stat., Chap. 102; Gen. Stat. 1917, Chaps. 84, 169 and Spec. Stat., 
Chap. 146; Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 132; Spec. Stat. 1919, Chaps. 132, 
199, 206, 249; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 140, 524, 641; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 
169, 351; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 273, 286; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 284, 308, 
381, 460, 488; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 380, 479; Stat. 1925, Chaps. 309, 
327; Stat. 1926, Chaps. 153, 314; Stat. 1928, Chap. 382; Stat. 1929, 
Chap. 256; Stat. 1930, Chaps. 283, 313; Stat. 1931, Chaps. 100, 155, 
229, 247, 250; Stat. 1933, Chap. 121; Stat. 1934, Chaps. 145, 228; 
Stat. 1935, Chaps. 19, 284; Stat. 1936, Chap. 224; Stat. 1937, Chap. 
366; Stat. 1939, Chap. 142; Stat. 1946, Chap. 388, 497; Stat. 1948, 
Chap. 452]. 

SCHOOL COMMITTEE, 

Dr. Patrick J. Foley, Term ends January, 1950, 
Michael J. Ward. Term ends January, 1950. 

Daniel J. McDevitt. Term ends January, 1952, 

IsADORE H, Y, MucHNiCK. Term ends January, 1952. 
Joseph C, White, Term ends January, 1952. 

OFFICIALS. 

Patrick J. Foley, Chairman. 

Joseph C. White, Treasurer. 

Dennis C. Haley, Superintendent. 

Louise Kane, Secretary. 

Henry J. Smith, Business Manager. 

James S. Reardon, Schoolhouse Custodian. 

BOARD OF superintendents. 

Dennis C. Haley, Superintendent. 

assistant superintendents. 
Michael J. Downey, Deputy Superintendent. 
Frederick J. Gillis. Gerald F. Coughlin. 

Katharine C. McDonnell, D, Leo Daley. 

Philip J. Bond. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 93 

THE TEACHERS COLLEGE OF THE CITY OP BOSTON, LATIN AND DAT HIGH 

SCHOOLS (23). 

Teachers College, Boston Latin, Girls' Latin, Boston Technical High 
(Boys), Brighton High, Charlestown High, Dorchester High (Girls), 
Dorchester High (Boys), East Boston High, Enghsh High (Boys), 
Girls' High, High School of Commerce (Boys), High School of 
Practical Arts (Girls), Hyde Park High, Jamaica Plain High, Jeremiah 
E. Burke High (Girls), Roshndale High, Roxbury Memorial High 
(Girls), Roxbury Memorial High (Boys), South Boston High, Brandeis 
Vocational High, Boston Trade High (Boys), Trade High for Girls. 

Clerical School. — Boston Clerical School (Girls). 

Continuation School. 

dat junior high school districts, school districts with junior 

high classes, and dat elementart school districts (80). 
East Boston. — t Blackinton-John Cheverus, Chapman, * Donald McKay 

Junior High, Emerson, * Joseph H. Barnes Junior High, Samuel Adams, 

Ulysses S. Grant. 
Charlestown.— * Clarence R. Edwards Junior High, Harvard, Warren. 
North and West Ends. — Eliot-Hancock, * Michelangelo Junior High, 

Wendell Phillips, * William Blackstone Junior High. 
CiTT Proper. — f Abraham Lincoln-Quincy, t Prince. 
South End. — Dwight, f Rice-Franklin. 
South Boston. — Bigelow, Hart-Gaston-Perry, John A. Andrew, Norcross, 

* Patrick F. Gavin Junior High. 
RoxBURT. — t Dearborn, Dillaway, Dudley, ElHs Mendell, Henry L. 

Higginson, t Horace Mann School for the Deaf.fHugh O'Brien, fHyde- 

Everett, * James P. Timilty Junior High, Julia Ward Howe, * Lewis 

Junior High, f Martin, f Sherwin, * Theodore Roosevelt Junior High, 

William Lloyd Garrison. 
Brighton. — Bennett, James A. Garfield, * Thomas A. Edison Junior 

High, Thomas Gardner, Washington AUston, * William Howard Taft 

Junior High. 
Jamaica Plain.— Agassiz, f Francis Parkman, Jefferson, Lowell, * Mary 

E. Curley Junior High. 
RosLiNDALE. — Charles Sumner, Longfellow, * Washington Irving Junior 

High. 
West Roxburt. — Beethoven, Patrick F. Lyndon, * Robert Gould Shaw 

Junior High. 
Dorchester. — Christopher Gibson, Edmund P. Tileston, Edward 

Everett, Emily A. Fifield, * Frank V. Thompson Junior High, Gilbert 

Stuart, * Grover Cleveland Junior High, John Marshall, John Winthrop, 

Mary Hemenway, f Mather, Minot, * OUver Wendell Holmes Junior 

High, * Patrick T. Campbell Junior High, PhiUips Brooks, Robert 

* Grades VII-IX only. J Grades I to IX. 

t Grades I-VIII. All others include Grades I-VI. 



94 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Treat Paine, Roger Wolcott, * Solomon Lewenberg Junior High, 
William E. Endicott, f William E. Russell, * Woodrow Wilson Junior 
High. 
Hyde Park. — Elihu Greenwood, Henry Grew, James J. Chittick, 
* William Barton Rogers Junior High. 

SPECIAL SCHOOLS. 

Clerical School. — For special training in Stenography, Bookkeeping, 

Typewriting, English, Office Practice and Penmanship. 
M. Gertrude Godvin School, — For truants and other school offenders. 
School for the Deaf. — Horace Mann School. 
Day School for Immigrants. — For instruction in Enghsh language. 

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES. 

Administration Building, 15 Beacon street. Headquarters of all officials. 
Annex, 45 Myrtle street. 

At Administration Building Annex, 45 Myrtle street, educational and 
employment certificates are issued daily (except Saturdays) from 8.30 
A. M. to 4.30 p. M. Physical examination of applicants for employment 
certificates daily from 8.30 to 10 a. m. 

At the Brandeis Vocational High School Building, 25 Warrenton street, 
minors' Ucenses (i. e., minors under 16 years of age) to act as newsboys, 
etc., are issued daily, except Saturdays, after school hours. During the 
school year, licenses are issued on Saturdays from 9 a. m, to 11 a. m. 
Licenses are not issued during school hours. 

BUREAU OF CHILD ACCOUNTING. 

Administration Building Annex, 45 Myrtle street. 

The Bureau of Child Accounting comprises the following-named depart- 
ments : Educational Investigation and Measurement, Vocational Guidance, 
and Attendance (including Certificating Office); and the following divisions: 
Division of Employment; Division of Juvenile Adjustment; Division of 
Statistics and Publicity. 

SUPERVISORS OF ATTENDANCE. 

[Stat. 1931, Chap. 394, Sect. 146.] 
These officers are appointed by the School Committee, and under their 
direction enforce the laws relating to absentees from school. There are 
33 supervisors of attendance besides the head supervisor and they may be 
seen at 9 a. m. and 3 p. m., on the days that the schools are in session at 
the school designated by the head supervisor. 

SCHOOL PHYSICIANS AND SCHOOL NURSES. 

Regular medical inspection of the schools was maintained from 1894 to 
1915, under the supervision of the Health Department; Beginning 
September 1, 1915, the School Committee took charge of this service. 

* Grades VII-IX only. f Grades I-VIII. 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 95 

For all schools and districts there is 1 Director of School Hygiene in charge 
of 4 supervising school physicians, 1 medical inspector, 1 school physician 
assigned to the certificating office, 1 ophthalmologist, 1 otologist, 50 school 
physicians, 1 supervisor of nutrition, 17 school medical aids, and 1 sanitary 
engineer. 

Chapter 357, Acts of 1907, provided for the appointment by the School 
Committee of 1 supervising female nurse and as many district female 
nurses as are deemed necessary. For the 80 junior high and elementary 
school districts there is 1 supervising nurse in charge of 4 assistant supervis- 
ing nurses, 1 nurse assigned to the certificating office, 1 nurse assigned to 
the ophthalmologist, and 58 school nurses (including high school), and 1 
nurse assigned to the otologist and audiometer tests. 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION. 

In 1907, the School Committee was authorized to provide for the 
extension of physical education and recreation of pupils, including proper 
apparatus and facilities in the buildings, yards and playgrounds under their 
control. 

The School Committee appropriates, out of the tax levy, for this branch 
of education such amount as it deems necessary. The Committee has 
also the right to appropriate the unexpended balance of the previous year, 
plus the estimated income for the current year. The appropriation for 
1948 is $442,112.60. The cost of Military Science is not charged against 
the appropriation for Physical Education. 

The Department of Physical Education comprises 1 director, 4 
assistant directors, 15 instructors of militarj^ science, 1 permanent sub- 
stitute, military science, 2 armorers, 39 women and 9 men instructors of 
physical education, 15 [teacher coaches of athletics, 62 assistant teacher 
coaches, 101 play teachers. 



INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS PARTLY MAINTAINED BY STATE. 

By Chapter 471, Acts of 1911, and Chapter 106, Acts of 1912, the State 
especially encourages the establishing of Independent Industrial Schools, 
allowing financial aid for their maintenance proportionate to the amount 
raised by local taxation and expended for all pubfic schools. Under this 
arrangement the School Committee is reimbursed by the State to the 
extent of one half the net maintenance cost of such industrial schools 
established in Boston thus far with the approval of the Massachusetts 
Department of Education. By Chapter 805, Acts of 1913, Continuation 
■Schools, for employed children between fourteen and sixteen years of age, 
were included under the same plan of State aid. The schools thus main- 
tained are the Boston Trade High School (for Boj^s), daj'' and evening 
classes. Trade High School for Girls, Compulsory Continuation School, 
Brandeis Vocational High School (day and evening classes), High School 
of Practical Arts, also co-operative courses in Brighton, Charlestown, 



96 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Dorchester High School for Boys, East Boston, Hyde Park, Roxbury 
Memorial High School for Boys and South Boston High, and practical arts 
courses in the evening elementary schools. 

For the agricultural course in the Jamaica Plain High School, the School 
Committee is reimbursed to the extent of two thirds of the cost of 
instruction. 

INDUSTRIAL ARTS. 

There are eight co-operative courses in high schools, as follows: Brighton 
(automobile mechanics), Charlestown (electricity), Dorchester (wood- 
work), East Boston (machine shop practice), Hyde Park (machine shop 
practice), Jamaica Plain (agriculture), Roxbury Memorial High School 
for Boys (printing), and South Boston (sheet metal). 

Mechanic arts courses in shopwork are given in the following high 
schools: Dorchester High School (Boys), East Boston High School, 
Hyde Park High School, Roslindale High School, Roxbury Memorial 
High School (Boys), and South Boston High School. 

There are 159 shops in elementary and junior high schools, in which 
the following-named subjects are taught: Automobile mechanics, drafting, 
electricity, interior decoration, machine shop practice, printing, sheet 
metal, woodwork, and diversified shop subjects. 

Modeling is taught by a special teacher whose time is divided among 
several elementary and junior high schools. Cardboard construction 
and bookbinding in the fourth [and fifth grades, although taught by 
classroom teachers, are supervised by the department. 

Gardening is conducted by the department as an after-school and summer 
activity; home gardening in 56, and school gardening in 16 elementary 
and junior high districts and on a five-acre plot of City of Boston property 
in Woburn. 

HOUSEHOLD SCIENCE AND ARTS. 

In the Household Science and Arts Department there are 184 teachers,* 
an assistant director, and a director. 

There are thirteen high schools offering courses in Household Science 
and Arts: Brandeis Vocational, Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, 
East Boston, Girls' High, High School of Practical Arts, Hyde Park, 
Jamaica Plain, f Jeremiah E. Burke, Roslindale High, Roxbury Memorial, 
and South Boston. 

In the high schools of Boston there are 22 appointed teachers of Dress- 
making; 2 appointed teachers of Millinery; 17 appointed teachers of 
Household Science (Foods and Household Management). Three of 
the appointed teachers of Household Science have part-time programs 
of Dressmaking. There are 30 standard sewing rooms, 15 cooking rooms, 
and 9 home practice suites. 

* Includes High School of Practical Arts, Brandeis Vocational High 
School, and M. Gertrude Godvin School. 

t Jamaica Plain — No Household Science. (Foods and Household 
Management). 



DEPARTMENT OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE. 97 

In the junior high and elementary schools there are 78 teachers of 
Sewing, 17 temporary teachers of Sewing, and 1 part-time temporary 
teacher of.Se wing; 46 teachers of Cookery, 1 temporary teacher of Cookery 
and 1 part-time teacher of Cookery. 

In addition to the above teachers there is 1 teacher assigned from the 
M. Gertrude Godvin School to an elementary sewing program, and i 
teacher from the Trade High School for Girls to a program of high school 
dressmaking. 

There are 56 rooms equipped for instruction in cooking, 18 of these 
cooking rooms have adjoining suites, and 99 classrooms are equipped 
for the teaching of sewing. 

EVENING HIGH, ELEMENTARY AND TRADE HIGH SCHOOLS. 

There are eight evening high schools : Brighton, Central (English High 
Schoolhouse), Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Roslindale, Rox- 
bury (Boston Clerical Schoolhouse), and South Boston. These schools, 
the sessions of which are held on Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from 
7 to 10 o'clock, are conducted in the several high schoolhouses of the 
districts named. All but the Central High are commercial schools. 

There are eleven evening elementary schools in session on Tuesday 
and Thursday evenings. 

There are two evening trade high schools: Boston Trade High School 
(Evening Classes); and the Brandeis Vocational High School (Evening 
Classes), located in the Brandeis Vocational High Schoolhouse, with 
three branches located in the Brighton High, Hyde Park High, and South 
Boston High Schoolhouses. These schools are conducted on Tuesday 
and Thursday evenings, from 7 to 10 o'clock. 

DAY SCHOOL FOR IMMIGRANTS. 

There are four schools for immigrants where instruction in the English 
language is provided, classes being conducted daily (except Saturday) 
for two hours in the forenoon and the same in the afternoon. 

CONTINUATION SCHOOL. 

Classes for boys are held in the Brandeis Vocational High School, 
25 Warrenton street; classes for girls, at 10 Common street. 

All children 14 to 16 years of age employed under an employment 
permit are required by law to attend the school four hours per week. 

USE OF SCHOOLHOUSES FOR EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL AND CIVIC PURPOSES. 

In 1912, the School Committee was authorized by statute to allow the 
use of buildings under their control by associations and individuals (other 
than school pupils) for educational, recreative, social, civic, philanthropic 
and similar purposes at times when the schools were not in session. Under 
this arrangement there are now fourteen School Centers, each having a 
manager and largely attended on two evenings and one afternoon a week. 
More than 125 school buildings are also used by Non-School Center groups. 



98 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The School Committee may annually appropriate for this purpose such 
amount as it deems necessary. The appropriation for 1949 is $163,334.18. 
Besides the renting of school halls for club meetings, entertainments, etc., 
basements and other accommodations in schoolhouses are used by the 
Election Department as polling places, lighting and custodian service 
being paid for by the Election Department. 

PENSION AND RETIREMENT FUND FOR TEACHERS. 

The School Committee, by a majority vote of aU its members, may 
retire with a pension any member of the teaching or supervising staff of 
the pubhc day schools who has reached the age of sixty years, also 
such other members as are incapacitated for further efficient service. If 
the teacher retired has been em loyed in the public day schools for a 
period of thirty years or more, ten years of which have been in the Boston 
public day schools, the pension paid amounts to $200 plus one-half of the 
annual salary received at time of retirement, but in no case is it less than 
$800, nor more than $1,100 annually. If the period of service is less than 
thirty years, the pension is proportionally less, but in no case is the pension 
less than $680. The School Committee is authorized to provide for these 
pensions by appropriating annually such amount as it deems necessary, 
which together with the unexpended balance of the previous year, the 
amount of reimbursement from the Commonwealth, and the appropria- 
tion of accrued interest in the Permanent School Pension Fund, will pay 
pensions for the year. These pensions are paid to teachers who were 
retired before the establishment of the Boston Retirement System or who 
have not become members of such system. The Permanent School 
Pension Fund amounted to $1,368,453.87 on January 1, 1949, and 348 
retired teachers were receiving pensions therefrom. 

The Boston Teachers' Retirement Fund Association, started in 1900, 
is paying $120 per year to 762 annuitants, the total amount of its fund 
on September 30, 1949, being $2,417,051.21 (Total Investment) or 
$2,444,693.00 (Market Value of Investments). At that date 2,657 
teachers were each contributing $18 per year to this fund. 



BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 
Department of School Buildings. 
Offices and Warehouse, 26 Norman Street. 
[Stat. 1929, Chap. 351.] 
Robert A. MacLellan, Chairman, appointed by the School Com- 
mittee. Term ends December 1, 1952. 

Thomas A. Cronin, selection of other two members. Term ends 
December 1, 1951. 

Frank Gainsboro, appointed by Mayor. Term ends December 1, 1950. 
James H. Mooney, Superintendent of Construction. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 99 

At the City Election held November 5, 1929, on the referendum — 
"Shall chapter 351, of the Acts of 1929, entitled 'An Act to establish a 
board of commissioners of school buildings and a department of school 
buildings in the city of Boston' be accepted?" there were 110,453 votes 
in favor, 57,276 against, and 50,632 blanks. 

By the provisions of the Act, the board "shall consist of three citizens 
■of Boston who otherwise are neither officials nor employees of said city, 
one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor . . . without approval 
by the civil service commissioners, one by the school committee, and one 
shall be chosen by the two so appointed, or shall be appointed by the 
governor if the appointees of the mayor and school committee fail to 
choose a commissioner as aforesaid within thirty days after a second 
of such appointees has been appointed." 

According to section 2 of the Act, the Department of School Buildings 
Is established, to be under the charge of a superintendent of construction 
who shall be elected by the board of commissioners, to serve at the pleasure 
of the board. 

Upon the election of a superintendent of construction, the board of 
schoolhouse commissioners of the schoolhouse department and said 
department shall be abolished. 



POLICE DEPARTMENT. 

Headquarters, 154 Berkeley Street. 

tStat. 1878, Chap. 244; Stat. 1885, Chap. 323; Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; 
Stat. 1938, Chap. 377.] 
Thomas F. Sullivan, Police Commissioner. 
Andrew J. Gorey, Secretary. 
Grace L. C. Russell, Assistant Secretary. 
Margaret E. O'Connor, Assistant Secretary. 
John J. Danehy, Chief Clerk. 
Edward W. Fallon, Superintendent of Police. 
James F. Daley, Deputy Superintendent. 
James J. Hinchey, Deputy Superintendent. 
James T. Sheehan, Deputy Superintendent. 

The City is divided into seventeen Police Divisions, in each of which is 
a station house, the quarters of a captain and a force of men. 

The Bureau of Criminal Investigation, a central detective agency of the 
Department, located in Headquarters building, and consisting of several 
subdivisions, is operated on a large scale and in an efficient manner. 
Members of this Bureau investigate felonies committed within the juris- 
diction of the City of Boston. In addition to its divisions for investiga- 
tion of reports of automobiles stolen, lost and stolen property, and homi- 
cides, squads are assigned to cover the following phases of police work 
and investigation: Banking, express thieves, general investigation, 



100 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

hotels, narcotics, pawnbrokers, including junk-shop keepers and dealers in 
second-hand articles, pickpockets, radical and shopping crimes. A night 
motor patrol squad performs duty throughout the city, to prevent, so far 
as possible, the commission of crime and, if acts of violence or other serious 
crimes have been committed, to arrest and prosecute the offenders. 
Criminal identification, fingerprints and photographs, missing persons, 
warrants and summonses are handled by this Bureau. The Bureau also 
handles cases of fugitives from justice and conducts hundreds of investi- 
gations during the course of a year for various police departments through- 
out the United States and foreign countries. Further, it cooperates 
in every way possible with outside police departments in the investigation 
of crime and prosecution of criminals. Supervision of the daily line-up 
of all prisoners arrested for serious offenses is conducted by this Bureau. 

The criminal identification division of this Department has continued 
to prove of great value and stands in favorable comparison with identi- 
fication units of the most advanced departments. 

Advancements and changes are constantly being made to maintain 
efficiency of various divisions of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation. 
To bring about this efficiency of service, equipment of the Bureau is con- 
tinually being augmented by addition of modern identification apparatus. 

Files of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation contain records of assign- 
ments made in the Bureau and all records of arrests made throughout the 
Department. 

On file, also, are reports of all felonies committed within the city and all 
reports of investigation of these felonies. 

The Bureau of Operations supervises the development and maintenance 
of the system of operations of the Department, including police broad- 
casting station "WQIP," located at Police Headquarters, and police 
broadcasting station "WRAS," located on the roof of the new Court- 
house Building, Pemberton square; the latter station being operated by 
remote control from the Bureau of Operations at Police Headquarters. 

These broadcasting stations insure speedy response to a call for police 
assistance and render possible speedy dissemination of information and 
quick concentration of necessary police power at a point where needed. 

The Boston Police Department is completely equipped with modern 
two-way radio. There are 111 police cars, 4 police boats, and 27 combina- 
tion patrol wagons and ambulances, fully equipped with two-way radio 
telephone. Police automobiles with two-way radio are moving through 
all parts of the city day and night. Any part of the city may be reached 
by a police radio car in a very few moments after receipt of a radio message 
from either of the broadcasting stations. 

The radio has been a very important factor in the prompt apprehension 
of law violators as well as increasing the number of arrests. In many 
instances, the offenders have been taken into custody while in the act of 
committing crime. 

The Traflfic Division is located in the Police Building, 229 Milk street. 
Its commanding officer is responsible for proper regulation of traffic condi- 



BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 101 

tions and for safety of the public using the highways from 8 A. M. to 
12 o'clock midnight, within the intown and Back Bay sections of the city . 

The Property Clerk's OfSce is charged with the care of all police buildings, 
lost, stolen and abandoned property, money or other property alleged to 
have been illegally obtained, and all articles and property taken from 
persons arrested for any cause. In its custody are also placed all seized 
liquor and gaming implements which come into possession of the Depart- 
ment. 

All orders for supplies, building maintenance, repair work, plumbing, 
steamfitting, etc., uniforms and equipment are issued by this office. 

The Commissioner appoints a Harbor Master and assistants from the 
police force. The following motor launches are used in this service: the 
"Michael H. Crowley," a 60-foot craft; the "WiUiam H. Pierce" and the 
"William H. McShane," both 38-foot crafts; the "Argus," a 28-foot craft; 
a 22-foot motor speed boat, named the "Dispatch;" and a Chris-Craft 
16-foot speed boat named the "Warren C. Perkins." 

The Police Department is responsible for the annual listing of all resi- 
dents within the city 20 years of age or over. 

On December 1, 1949, the police force numbered 2,502, consisting of 1 
superintendent, 3 deputy superintendents, 29 captains, 65 lieutenants, 
188 sergeants, 2,203 patrolmen, 13 policewomen. 

There are 20 men assigned to the signal service, whose director has 
charge of 566 signal boxes. 

BOSTON FINANCE COMMISSION. 

Office, 24 School Street. 

[Stat. 1909, Chap. 486, §§ 17-21; Stat. 1921, Chap. 81; Stat. 1923, Chap. 

489; Stat. 1924, Chap. 369.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Edward F. Mullen, Chairman. 
Robert E. Cunniff, Secretary. 

COMMISSIONERS. 

Alexander Wheeler. Term ends in 1949. 

Edward F. Mullen. Term ends in 1950. 

Frederick Deane. Term ends in 1951. 

Joseph K. Collins. Term ends in 1952. 

Leo J. Dunn. Term ends in 1953. 

The Finance Commission is constituted under the Amended Charter of • 
1909. It consists of five commissioners appointed by the Governor and 
confirmed by the Executive Council, the term of each being five years. 
.The Chairman of the Commission is named by the Governor. The members 
of the Commission, other than the chairman, serve without pay. 

It is the duty of the Commission to investigate, at its discretion, all 
matters relating to appropriations, loans, expenditures, accounts and 
methods of administration affecting the City of Boston or the County 



102 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

of Suffolk, or any of their departments, and to report upon its investi- 
gations from time to time to the Mayor, the City Council, the Governor 
or the General Court. 

The Commission is required to make an annual report, in January, to 
the General Court. It is also the duty of the Commission to report to 
the Mayor, the City Auditor or the City Treasurer as to the validity or 
proper amount of any doubtful pay roll, bill or claim referred to it by them. 



LICENSING BOARD. 
Office, 24 Province Street, eighth floor. 

[Stat. 1906, Chap. 291; Stat. 1909, Chap. 423; Stat. 1918, Chap. 259;, 
Stat. 1921, Chap. 59; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 392 and 485; Stat. 1926, 
Chap. 299; Stat. 1933, Chaps. 97, 284 and 376 (Chap. 376 is now 
the new Chap. 138 of the General Laws); General Laws, Chap. 140, 
§§ 2 and 202.] 

[Note: Roller skating rinks, merry-go-rounds, etc., were transferred, 
to the Mayor's Office by Chap. 169 of the Acts of 1936. The Hcensing 
of the sale of denatured alcohol for mechanical, manufacturing, and 
chemical purposes, under Section 76 of Chap. 138 of the General 
Laws, was eliminated by Section 43 of Chap. 440 of the Acts of 1935.] 

OFFICIALS. 

Mary E. Driscoll, Chairman. 
William T. Molloy, Secretary. 

THE BOARD. 

Frank L. Brier. Term ends in 1950. 

Walter R. Meins. Term ends in 1952. 

Mary E. Driscoll. Term ends in 1954. 
The Licensing Board for the City of Boston was established by Statutes 
of 1906, Chapter 291. It consists of three members appointed by the 
Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council. They must be 
citizens of Boston who have resided in Boston for at least two years pre- 
ceding the date of their appointment. The two principal political parties 
must be represented on the Board and the term of the members is fixed 
at six years after the first appointment, which was for six, four, and two 
years. The Board was created to exercise all the powers and perform all 
the duties conferred upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston rela- 
tive to intoxicating liquors (now called alcoholic beverages), innholders, 
common victuallers, billiard and pool tables, sippio tables, bowling alleys, 
intelligence offices, picnic groves, and skating rinks. By Chapter 169 
of the Acts of 1936 skating rinks are now licensed by the Licensing Division 
of the Mayor's office. 

The fee fixed by Section 202 of Chapter 140 of the General Laws is 
not less than $2 for each class of license, with the exception of licenses 
for common victuallers and innholders. The fees for common victualler 



LICENSING BOARD. 103 

and innholder licenses were fixed by Section 2, Chapter 140, of the General 
Laws, at not more than $5 for each license. By statutory authority the 
City Council has fixed the fee of $10 for common victuallers and $25 
for innholders without alcoholic beverages; with alcoholic beverages, 
innholder's fee is $5. 

By Statutes of 1909, Chap. 423, the Board was given the right to issue 
licenses to "Sunday dealers in ice cream, or confectionery, or soda water 
or fruit," the fee for such licenses not to exceed $6. 

The City Council has fixed the fee of $10 for common victuallers, 
$6 for Sunday dealers in ice cream, or confectionery, or soda water or 
fruit, and a fee of $3 for retail vendors of soft drinks. 

By Statutes of 1918, Chap. 259, the Board was granted the right to 
issue licenses to lodging houses. No fee was to be charged. By Statutes 
of 1921, Chap. 59, a fee of not more than $2 was allowed, if established 
by the City Council. The Council established the fee at $2 in 1922. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 392, the Board was given the right to license 
"retail vendors of soft drinks." The fee for such license was not to 
exceed $1. By statutory authority the City Council has fixed the fee of 
$3 for such license. 

By Statutes of 1922, Chap. 485, the "firearm" law was amended, giving 
the licensing of vendors of firearms to this Board. The law relates to 
the renting, selling or leasing of firearms, and the word firearms includes 
a pistol, revolver or other weapon from which a shot or buUet can be 
discharged, and of which the length of barrel not including any revolving, 
detachable or magazine breech does not exceed twelve inches, and a 
machine gun irrespective of the length of the barrel. It does not include 
antique firearms incapable of use, nor sales of firearms at wholesale. The 
fee for such license to be fixed by the Board not to exceed $5. 

By Statutes of 1926, Chap. 299, the Board was given the right to grant 
entertainment licenses in places where such entertainment was carried on 
in conjunction with sale for cash of food or drink six days of week but not 
on Sundays. No fee was to be charged to common victuallers and inn- 
holders carrying on such entertainment, but a fee of $5 could be charged to 
persons selling drinks who carried on an entertainment. Entertainments 
consist of dancing, music, cabaret, or amusements. 

By Chapter 284 of the Acts of 1933, the Board was given authority to 
grant victuallers' licenses to clubs, societies, associations or other organiza- 
tions which dispense food and beverages on their premises, to their stock- 
holders or members and their guests and to none others. 

By Chapter 376 of the Acts of 1933, now Chapter 138 of the General 
Laws, the Board was given the authority to issue alcoholic beverage 
licenses to common victuallers, innholders, taverns, clubs and retail 
package stores, and to suspend or revoke the same after a hearing. 

Note: Chapter 120 of the Acts of 1933, which gave the Board authority 
to issue non-alcoholic beverage licenses containing not more than 3.2 per 
cent of alcohol, was repealed when the new alcoholic law (Chap. 376) was 
enacted. Any 3.2 licensee could carry on his business until May 1, 1934; 



104 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

orcould surrender his license and get a refund, or a credit on the fee paid 
for an alcoholic beverage license. 

By Chapter 183 of the Acts of 1946, the Board was given the authority 
to charge a fee, not exceeding one dollar, for the issuance of a duplicate of 
any license granted and issued by said Board. 

By Statute of 1949, Chapter 361, the Board was given the right to 
license mechanical amusement devices and regulate the operation thereof. 



THE FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

[Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; Stat. 1927, Chap. 40; 
C. C, Chap. 48, § 5.] 

MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION OF THE FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 

Alexander Macomber, President. 
Robert A. Leeson, Vice-President. 
Rev. Charles E. Park, Secretary. 
Charles E. Cotting, Treasurer. 

James Michael Curley, Mayor of Boston {ex officio). 

Rev. Duncan Howlett, Congregational Minister {ex officio). 

Rev. William H. Denney, Presbyterian Minister {ex officio). 

Rev. Charles R. Peck, Episcopalian Minister {ex officio). 

Alexander Macomber, Charles E. Cotting, Carl Dreyfus, Robert 

A. Leeson, J. Arthur Moriarty, Noel Morss, Appointed by the 

Supreme Judicial Court. 

Franklin Technical Institute, Corner Appleton and Berkeley Streets. 
Brackett K. Thorogood, Director. 
The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the 
Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein who control 
the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with 
the object of maintaining the Franklin Technical Institute as an inde- 
pendent technical institute for adults. 

The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds 
to "the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by 
Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The 
codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the 
Town of Boston" be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, 
united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and 
Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain 
conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five 
years." 



FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. 105 

Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred 
years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, 
*'I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000 
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the 
Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let 
out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second 
term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum 
will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, 
and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not 
presuming to carry my views farther." The Town accepted the donation 
at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790. 

A futile suit brought by the Franklin heirs in 1891 prevented the division 
of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 
1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of 
the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the "Selectmen," 
$329,300.48 (iff of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the 
purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Technical In- 
stitute and for the equipment of the same." Owing to a series of com- 
plications the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor 
Collins, in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme 
Court, praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then 
acting as Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion Novem- 
ber 25, 1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers 
were Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen 
did not succeed the "Selectmen" as Managers and had no powers with 
reference to it. The Court, under its general power to care for public 
charitable funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to 
take the place of the "Selectmen," and provided in the decree of the 
Court, that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio. 

On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin 
Fund in August, 1904, which Mr. Carnegie agreed to duplicate. Only 
the annual income from this fund is used. 

On November 17, 1927, $100,000 was received by the Foundation from 
the estate of the late James J. Storrow, the income to be used for main- 
tenance of Franklin Technical Institute. 

On January 31, 1907, the amount of the "accumulated" fund available 
for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the 
Franklin Technical Institute Building was erected at the corner of Apple- 
ton and Berkeley Streets. In 1908 the Franklin Fund Managers became 
the Franklin Foundation by special act of the legislature. It was opened 
in September, 1908, as a Technical Institute to train young men and 
women for positions of supervision in industry. In 1941 the name was 
legally changed to Franklin Technical Institute. It is maintained partly 
by tuition fees ($810,823.44 for the school year 1948-1949), and income 
from the above mentioned Funds (i. e., the Andrew Carnegie Donation 
and the Storrow bequest). The building contains 11 classrooms, 5 



106 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

draughting rooms, and 16 shops and laboratories. 1,307 adult students 
received instruction at evening sessions and 543 in day courses during 
the school year 1948-1949. There is also an auditorium with a seating 
capacity of 927. The building, with equipment, cost $436,970.59. The 
site, containing about 16,000 square feet, was purchased in 1906 for 
$100,000, a 20-year loan being issued to cover same. 
The Franklin Fund (Second Part) will become available in 1991. 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 
Office, 45 City Hall. 
Trustees, 1948. 
James M. Curley, Mayor, Chairman. 
William F. Hurley, President, Boston City Council. 
Charles J. Fox, Auditor, Secretary. 

Edwin C. Johnson, President, Boston Chamber of Commerce. 
Walter Powers, President, Bar Association of the City of Boston. 



James J. McCarthy, Manager. 
George L. Driscoll, Assistant Manager. 

The late George Robert White, who died in Boston, January 27, 1922, 
left the residue of his estate to the City of Boston to be held as a per- 
manent charitable trust fund, "the net income only to be used for creating 
works of public utility and beauty, for the use and enjoyment of the 
inhabitants of the City of Boston." 

The control and management of the fund is in the hands of a board of 
five trustees, consisting of the Mayor as Chairman, the President of the 
City Council, the City Auditor, the President of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the President of the Bar Association of the City of Boston. 

At a meeting of the Trustees held on Tuesday, April 5, 1938, it was 
unanimously voted that the services of a paid Manager be engaged. In 
accordance with this vote the custody, care, control and management of 
aU real estate constituting a part of the George Robert White Fund is 
now in the hands of a Manager; aU legal matters are attended to by the 
Corporation Counsel; all financial disbursements and investments are 
in the hands of the City Treasurer; aU collections and receipts are handled 
by the City Collector; and the examination of aU bills and demands 
rendered against the Fund, together with the approval of all expenditures 
and the auditing of all accounts, rests with the City Auditor. 

Health Units have been provided at Baldwin Place and North Margin 
Street in the North End, at Paris and Emmons Streets, East Boston, at 
Dorchester and West Fourth Streets, South Boston, at Blue Hill Avenue 
and Savin Street, Roxbury, at High and Elm Streets, Charlestown, at 
Blossom and Parkman Streets, West End, and at Whittier and Hampshire 



GEORGE ROBERT WHITE FUND. 107 

Streets, Roxbury, in the hope of being able, by proper instruction, to 
better the living and health conditions of the communities in the congested 
districts. 

A Prado has been established at Hanover and Unity Streets in the 
North End, to provide an open air space for the residents of the North 
End. In 1935, the Trustees voted to change the name of the Prado to 
Paul Revere Mall. 

In the spring of 1936 the Trustees voted to establish a wading pool 
and locker building in the yard in the rear of the Whittier Street Health 
Unit, Roxbury. The wading pool and locker building have since been in 
full operation for the use and enjoyment of the inhabitants of the City. 

In the summer of 1936 the Trustees voted to have thirteen memorial 
bronze tablets fabricated and placed in the walls of the Paul Revere Mall 
in the North End. The inscriptions to be placed on these tablets in- 
volved considerable research work and as a consequence these tablets 
were not completed until the summer of 1940. This was done as an im- 
provement to the Mall. 

On January 27, 1940, the Trustees voted to purchase an equestrian 
statue of Paul Revere — made by Cjtus E. Dallin, sculptor — to be 
placed in the Paul Revere Mall in the North End, as an addition and 
further improvement in accordance with provision of the will. 

On September 22, 1940, the Trustees dedicated the thirteen bronze 
tablets and the statue of Paul Revere at the Paul Revere Mall in the 
North End. 

In the summer of 1941 the Trustees voted to establish a number of 
play spaces, fully equipped, in various sections of the City from the 
Income of the Fund, for the use and enjoyment of children under 12 years 
of age. It was voted to establish the first four play spaces at the following 
locations: 

Pitts and Hale Streets, in the West End. 
London and Decatur Streets, in East Boston. 
Troy and Rochester Streets, in the South End. 
King and Roxbury Streets, in Roxbury. 
This chain of play spaces consists of the most modern architecture : 
Wading pools, play-yard equipment, concrete seats, concrete sandboxes, 
etc., and is a great asset to the City. 

Starting in the spring of 1946 and ending in the fall of 1949 the Trustees 
of the Fund voted to establish the following projects from the Income of 
the Fund: 

Health Unit at Central avenue and Elm street, Hyde Park. 
Health Unit at Blue Hill avenue and Harvard street, Dorchester. 
Swimming Pool, Diving Pool and Locker Building, Doherty 

Heights, Charlestown. 
Playground, Bunker Hill street, Charlestown. 
Schoolboy Stadium in Franklin Park. 
War Memorial Center in the Fens. 

Swimming Pool, Diving Pool and Locker Building, Commercial 
street, North End Park. 



108 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



BOSTON HOUSING AUTHORITY. 

Office, 10 Post Office Square. 
[Stat. 1935, Chap. 449; Stat. 1938, Chap. 484; Stat. 1946, Chap. 574; 
Stat. 1948, Chap. 200.] 

Appointed by Mayor and City Council. 

John J. Coleman, Chairman. Term ends in 1951. 

Joseph J. Benkert, Vice Chainnan. Term ends in 1953. 

John Carroll, Treasurer. Term ends in 1952. 

Cornelius P. Cronin. Term ends in 1950. 

Appointed by the Massachusetts State Board op Housing. 
Cornelius T. Kiley. Term ends in 1954. 

Francis X. Lane, Administrator. 

The Boston Housing Authority, estabUshed in accordance with the 
Housing Authority Law of the Commonwealth, consists of five members, 
who may be compensated at the rate of $25 per day for the Chairman, 
and $20 per day for a member other than the Chairman. As the terms 
of the members expire, successors are appointed by the same appointive 
power for terms of five years. 

The Authority is charged with investigation to determine the un- 
sanitary and sub-standard housing conditions existing within its juris- 
diction which cannot readily be remedied by private enterprise, and the 
clearance, replanning and reconstruction of such areas in accordance 
with the terms of Chapter 574 of the Acts of 1946. With the approval 
of the State Housing Board and the Mayor, it is empowered to enter 
into agreement with any agency of Government for assistance, financial 
or otherwise, to remedy such sub-standard conditions. 

Eight Federally Aided Developments consisting of 5,975 units in the 
City are now operated by the Authority. All of them with the exception 
of the Development in the Baj^ View section of South Boston, are operated 
for the housing of low-income families, preference being given to veterans 
and servicemen. The Development in the Bay View section which was 
constructed by the Authority was subsequently sold to the Federal Gov- 
ernment to house war workers. It is operated by the Authority, under 
lease from the Federal Government, and tenancy is now restricted to 
veterans and servicemen with families. Old Harbor Village, South Boston, 
the only Development built by the Federal Government, is now leased to 
the Authority to house low-income tenants. A Development of 508 units 
in the East Brookline Street section of the South End is presently under 
construction. Approval has been given under the Housing Act of 1949 
to construct 4,000 dwellings in 1950 and 1951. 

Acting under the provisions of Chapters 372 and 568 of the Acts of 
1946 as amended, the City of Boston, acting by and through the Authority, 
provided distressed veterans and servicemen with 763 temporary dwelling 
units. 

The Federal Government made available to the Authority military 
structures which were converted to dwelUng accommodations. The 
transportation of these structures to the sites selected for them in the 



SUFFOLK COUNTY COURT HOUSE COMMISSION. 109 

City of Boston, as well as their actual reconversion, was done by the 
Federal Government. The City provided the sites and utiUties in the 
adjacent streets. These accommodations were distributed throughout 
the city, being located at Columbia Village, South Boston, Franklin 
Field, Dorchester, and Alsen Village, Dorchester, and are managed by 
the Authority in behalf of the City of Boston. 

Also acting under the provisions of Chapters 372 and 568 of the Acts of 
1946 as amended by Chapter 479 of the Acts of 1947, the Authority has 
provided 845 permanent one and two-family homes, as well as 109 multiple 
dwellings for veterans of World War II. Pursuant to this, the Authority 
has acquired either by eminent domain or purchase many attractive sites 
throughout the City, and is constructing 358 additional units, with 395 
planned. When completed, they may be rented to veterans at reasonable 
rents provided that no later than one year after the termination of the 
emergency period, unless a postponement to a later date has been approved 
by the State Housing Board, such dweUing units shall be offered for 
sale at their fair market value and disposed of as rapidly as is consistent 
with sound business judgment. 

The one and two family dwellings so constructed may b? sold to veterans 
of World War II prior to the termination of the present emergency with 
the approval of the State Housing Board. 

The City of Boston has appropriated $20,000,000 for the purpose of 
carrying out this program. 

The basic Massachusetts Housing Authority Law was amended in 
1948 by Chapter 200. This legislation provides for State aid to local 
authorities in building homes for famihes of low income by means of 
State guarantee of the principal and interest on local housing authority 
notes or bonds issued for this purpose and annual subsidy by the State 
not to exceed 2| per cent of total development costs, for 40 years. 
Forty-eight million dollars have been earmarked for the City of Boston 
under this program which it is estimated will provide some 3,800 apart- 
ments. Veterans of World War II, and other veterans with famihes of 
low income, receive preference in this program in that order. 

Under this legislation, 1,044 multiple dwelling units have been built 
and occupied. There are 258 units under construction and 2,505 in the 
planning stage. 

SUFFOLK COUNTY COURT HOUSE COMMISSION. 

Office, Room 318, New Court House. 

[Stat. 1939, Chap. 383.] 

Thomas P. McDavitt (Appointed by the Governor), Chairman. 

Arthur J. Santry (Appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial 

Court). 
Frederick R. Sullivan, Sheriff of Suffolk County. 

The Commission chooses its own Chairman and its own Secretary. 
Its members receive no compensation for their services. 



110 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

The Commission was established by Special Act of the Legislature^ 
for the care, custody and control of the Suffolk County Court House, 
and is required to appoint a Custodian and such other officers as it may 
deem necessary for the proper operation of the building, and to determine 
their term or terms of service. 

The Commission succeeded to the authority given to the Sheriff of 
Suffolk County over the Suffolk County Court House, in Chapter 525 
of the Acts of 1922, and took over the management and control of the 
Court House upon its completion during 1939, by the Special Commis- 
sion created under Chapter 474 of the Acts of 1935 for providing additional 
accommodations and facilities for the Suffolk County Court House. 

A thirty per cent contribution by the Commonwealth to the annual 
costs and charges of maintenance and operation of the Court House began 
in the calendar year 1939 when the additional Court House enlargements 
and improvements, made under authority of Chapter 474 of the Acts of 
1935, were "substantially completed" and in "actual use," and the re- 
maining seventy per cent is paid by the City of Boston. While the 
Commonwealth now pays thirty per cent of the operating costs of the 
Court House, it has taken no part in its operations, other than the exercise 
of its authority in the make-up of the Commission in charge. 



BOSTON METROPOLITAN DISTRICT. 
20 Somerset Street. 
[Stat. 1929, Chap. 383.J 
Trustees Appointed by the Governor. 
Henry G. Gomperts, Chairman, Boston, 1951. 
John R. Macomber, Treasurer, Framingham, 1949. 
Francis A. Crotty, Arlington, 1953. 
Harry P. Graces, Boston, 1955. 

Trustee Appointed by Mayor of Boston. 
Charles A. Birmingham, Clerk, Boston, 1951. 



OLD SOUTH ASSOCIATION IN BOSTON. 

[Stat. 1877, Chap. 222, §§ 1, 2.] 

The Mayor, ex officio, Councilors Walter D. Bryan and John E. 
Yerxa, Managers on the part of the City of Boston. 

The association is managed by a Board of Managers, consisting of 
seventeen of whom the Mayor of the City of Boston is one, ex officio, two 
are elected annually by the City Council for the municipal year, and the 
others are chosen as provided by statute. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. Ill 

COLLATERAL LOAN COMPANY. 

[Stat. 1859, Chap. 173, § 6; Stat. 1865, Chap. 14; Stat. 1876, Chap. 11.] 
The Collateral Loan Company is managed by seven directors selected 
annually, five chosen by the corporators at the annual meeting in January, 
one appointed by the Governor and one by the Mayor. 

Petek a. Donovan, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



WORKINGMEN'S LOAN ASSOCIATION. 
[Stat. 1888, Chap. 108, § 4.] 
The Workingmen's Loan Association is managed by six directors 
elected annually, four chosen by corporators at the annual meeting on 
the third Thursday in February, one appointed by the Governor and one 
appointed by the Mayor. 

Nathan S. Sodekson, Director. Appointed by the Mayor. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 
All debts and expenses of the County of Suffolk are borne by the City of 
Boston, unless otherwise specified. 

County Commissioners for the County of Suffolk. — The Mayor and City 
Council of Boston. 

County Auditor. — Charles J. Fox. 
County Treasurer. — Henry F. Brennan. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEY. 

Room 627, New Court House. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 12, Sec, 12, etc.; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 373, 439; Stat. 
1912, Chap. 576; Stat. 1913, Chap. 602; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1920, Chap. 451; Stat. 1922, Chap. 277; Stat. 1923, Chaps. 398, 
485.] 

District Attorney. — William J. Foley. Elected by the people in 1946 
for term of four years ending January, 1951. 

Assistant. — Frederick T. Doyle. 
Assistant. — Garrett H. Byrne. 
Assistant. — Joseph A. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — Edward M. Sullivan. 
Assistant. — Frank J. Hickey. 
Assistant. — Gerald Miraldi. 
Assistant. — John F. McAuliffe. 
Assistant. — William I. Hennessey. 
Assistant. — Hyman F. Goldman. 
Assistant. — Ralph S. Bernard. 
Assistant. — George E. McGunigle. 
Assistant. — John J. Sullivan. 



112 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

LAND COURT. 

Room 408, Old Court House. 
Judge. — John E. Fenton. Appointed by the Governor. 
Associate Judge. — Patrick J. Courtney. Appointed by the Governor. 
A ssociate Judge. — Joseph R. Cotton. Appointed by the Governor. 
Recorder. — Sybil H. Holmes. Appointed by the Governor for term 
of five years ending October 9, 1953. 



INDEX commissioners. 

Commissioners. — Edward W. Bancroft, Chairman, term ends in 1952. 

Albert L. Partridge, term ends in 1950. James J. Walsh, term ends 
in 1951. 

Superintendent. — Frederick W. Kurth. 

The Commissioners are appointed in March, one each year, by a majority 
of the Justices of the Superior Court, for a term of three years beginning 
April 1, and serve without pay. 

The Superintendent is appointed by the Commissioners. His address 
is 73 Tremont street. 

REGISTER OF DEEDS. 

5th Floor, Old Court House. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 36; Stat. 1895, Chap. 493; Stat. 1904, Chap. 452 r 
Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Stat. 1913, Chap. 737; Gen. Stat. 1919, 
Chap. 269; Stat. 1920, Chap. 495.] 

Register of Deeds. — Leo J. Sullivan. Elected by the people in 1946. 
Term ends in January, 1953. The Register is ex officio Assistant 
Recorder of the Land Court. 

First Assistant Register. — Joseph D. Coughlin. Appointed by the 
Register. 



Second Assistant Register. — John J. Mahoney. Appointed by the Register. 

Third Assistant Register. — Matthew F. Hanley. Acts of 1947. Chap. 
352. 

Fourth Assistant Register. — Daniel C. Danick. Acts of 1947. Chap, 352 . 



SHERIFF AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

Room 102, New Court House. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 37; Stat. 1910, Chap. 373; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 269; 
Stat. 1922, Chap. 525.] 

Sheriff. — Frederick R. SuUivan. Term ends first Wednesday in January, 
1951. 

Deputy Sheriff, Deputy Jailer and Special Sheriff. — William J. McMorrow. 

Deputy Sheriffs for Service of Writs. — John J. Horgan, Peter F. Tague, Jr., 
John J. Casey, Harry I. Timilty, Margaret C. Long, Peter J. Fitz- 
gerald, William J. McMorrow, John Aspell, James J. Mellen. Paid 
by fees. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 113 

COURTS AND COURT OFFICIALS. 

Offices in New Court House, Pemberton Square, except as otherwise 
specified. 

SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT. 

Chief Justice. — Stanley E. Qua. 

Associate Justices. — Henry T. Lummus, James J. Ronan, Raymond S. Wil- 
kins, John V. Spalding, Harold P. Williams, Edward A. Counihan, Jr. 

Clerk for the Commonwealth. — Walter F. Frederick. Appointed by the 
Court. 

Temporary Clerk for the County of Suffolk. — Frederick L, Quinlan. Ap- 
pointed by the Court. 

First Assistant Clerk. , 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Daniel D. Donnelly. 

Reporter of Decisions. — Ethelbert V. Grabill. Appointed by the Court. 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Justice. — John P. Higgins. 

Associate Justices. — William A. Burns, Edward T. Broadhurst, Walter L. 
Collins, Daniel T. O'Connell, Raoul H. Boudreau, Edward F. Hanify, 
Abraham E. Pinanski, James C. Donnelly, Frank J. Donahue, Lewis 
Goldberg, John E. Swift, Vincent Brogna, George F. Leary, Thomas 
H. Dowd, J. Arthur Baker, Joseph L. Hurley, Francis J. Good, Jesse 
W. Morton, William C. Giles, Paul G. Kirk, Allan G. Buttrick, Felix 
Forte, Joseph E. Warner, John V. Sullivan, Eugene A. Hudson, 
Edward J. Voke, Frank J. Murray, Daniel D. O'Brien, Horace T. 
Cahill, Frank E. Smith, Charles Fairhurst. 

For Civil Business. 
Clerk. — Thomas Dorgan. Elected by the people in 1946. Term ends 
first Wednesday in January, 1953. 

Assistant Clerks. — John L. Maccubbin, First Assistant, Frank H. Hallett, 
D. Pulsifer Colville, Francis P. Murphy, Clesson S. Curtice, Leo A, 
Reed, Joseph R. Cleary, Harry F. Kiley, John P. Manning, Richard 
A. McLaughhn, Edward U. Lee, Thomas F. Stanton, Joseph E. 
Sullivan, Edward J. Kelley. 

For Criminal Business. 
Clerk. — William M. Prendible. Elected by the people in 1946. Term 

ends first Wednesday in January, 1953. 
Assistant Clerks. — John H. Casey, Edward V. Keating, Albert H. Hines, 

John P. Swift, Thomas P. McDavitt, James B. Gibbons, Martin 

J. Lee, Edward P. Bacigalupo, Arthur TaceUi. 



114 MUNICIPAL REGISTER, 

COURT OF PROBATE AND INSOLVENCY. 

2nd Floor, Old Court House. 
1st Foor, Registry of Probate. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 217; Stat. 1904, Chap. 455; Stat. 1910, Chap. 374; 
Stat. 1912, Chap. 585; Stat. 1913, Chap. 791; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 
269; Stat. 1921, Chaps. 486, 487; Stat. 1922, Chap. 532.] 
Judges. — Frederick J. Dillon, John V. Mahoney, Robert Gardiner 
Wilson, Jr. 

Register. — Arthur W. Sullivan. 
Assistant Register. — John A. Griffin. 
Second Assistant Register. — Mary W. Daly. 
Third Assistant Register. — Henry J. Allen. 
Fourth Assistant Register. — Joseph J. Cummings. 
Fifth Assistant Register. — James E. Pumphret. 

The judges of Probate are appointed by the Governor. They and the 
six other officials of this Court are paid by the State. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

[Gen. Laws, Chap. 218; Stat. 1907, Chap. 179; Stat. 1908, Chap. 191; 
Stat. 1909, Chaps. 386, 434; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 231, 469, § 5; Stat. 
1912, Chaps. 648, 649, 660, 672; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 289, 430, 612, 
716, 748; Stat. 1914, Chaps. 35, 409; Gen. Stat. 1915, Chap. 166; 
Gen. Stat. 1916, Chaps. 69, 71, 109, 195, 261, 263; Gen. Stat. 1917, 
Chaps. 262, 330; Gen. Stat. 1918, Chap. 250; Stat. 1920, Chaps. 553, 
614; Stat. 1921, Chap. 284; Stat. 1922, Chaps. 309, 399, 532.] 

Chief Justice. — Davis B. Keniston. 

Associate Justices. — Joseph T. Zottoli, Elijah Adlow, Daniel J. Gillen, 
Joseph Riley, Frank W. Tomasello, Jennie Loitman Barron, Jacob 
Lewiton, George W. Roberts. 

Special Justices. — John G. Brackett, Leo P. Doherty, Jacob Spiegel, 
Abraham B. Casson, Elias F. Shamon, Raymond P. Delano. 
All judges are appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by 

the Executive Council. 

For Civil Business. 

Room 374, Old Court House. 

Clerk. — Edmond J. Hoy. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerks. — Volney D. Caldwell, William F. Blakeman, Joseph L. 
Pierce, George F. Devine, Charles F. Gardella, Edward H. Barry, 
Roger W. Brown, George A. Rochford, Joseph M. Lee, Simon Queen, 
John S. Feeney, Ralph Pullo, Jr. Appointed by the Clerk of the 
Court with the approval of the Justices. 

For Criminal Business. 
Room 411, New Court House. 
Clerk. — Daniel J. Lynch. Appointed by the Governor. 
First Assistant Clerk. — • George A. Savage. 

Assistant Clerks. — Paul W. Carey, George W. Herman, James F. Hardy, 
Edwin A. Chalmers, Theodore J. Stavredes, James F. Monahan, 
Robert J. McDonough. Appointed by the Clerk of the Court with 
the approval of the Justices. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 115 

MtTNICIPAL COURT, BRIGHTON DISTRICT. 

Chestnut Hill Avenue. 
Justice. — Thomas H. Connelly. 
Special Justice. — John J. Sullivan. 
Clerk. — Mary C. Daly. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk. — Margaret A. Daly. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — James L. Dunn. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, CHARLESTOWN DISTRICT. 

New Municipal Building, City Square. 
Justice. — John F. Gilmore. 

Special Justices. — Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, . 

Clerk. — James J. Mullen. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerk. — George E. Irving. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — James H. O'Donnell. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, DORCHESTER DISTRICT. 

Washington Street and Melville Avenue. 

Justice.— WiUiam G. Lynch. 

Special Justices. — Sadie L. Shulman, David A. Rose. 

Clerk. — Anthony A. McNulty. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerk. — Frederick E. Simmons. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Jenny S. Thurlow. 

Third Assistant Clerk. — Mary I. O'Brien. 

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT. 

Meridian and Paris Streets. 

Justice. — Charles J. Brown. 

Special Justices. — Anthony A. Centracchio, Augustus Loschi. 

Clerk. — Wilham H. Barker. Appointed by Governor. 

First Assistant Clerk. — John Ligotti. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Grace M. Dalton. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, ROXBURY DISTRICT. 

Roxbury Street. 

Justice. — Frankland W. L. Miles. 

Special Justice. — Samuel Eisenstadt. 

Clerk. — Theodore A. Glynn. Appointed by the Governor. 

First Assistant Clerk. — Henry F. Ryder. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — Thomas J. Spring. 

Third Assistant Clerk. — John I. Sullivan. 

Fourth Assistant Clerk. — Kenneth E. Light. 



116 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, SOUTH BOSTON DISTRICT. 

Municipal Building, East Broadway. 

Justice. — Leo H. Leary. 

Special Justices. — William J. Day, David G. Nagle. 

Clerk. — John E. Flaherty. Appointed by the Governor. 

Assistant Clerk. — Raymond J. Dodds. 

Second Assistant Clerk. — William C. McDonough. 

MUNICIPAL COURT, WEST ROXBURY DISTRICT, INCLUDING HTDE PARK. 

Morton Street, Forest Hills. 

Justice. — Daniel W. Casey. 

Special Justices. — Bert E. Holland, Frank S. Deland and Andrew J. 

Macdonnell. 
Clerk. — George B. Stebbins. Appointed by the Governor. 
Assistant Clerk.— William E. Corkum. 
Second Assistant Clerk. — Agnes M. Boyle. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Room 168, Old Court House. 

[Chap. 334, Acts of 1903; Chap. 489, Acts of 1906; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 

255; Stat. 1922, Chap. 399.] 

Justice. — John J. Connelly. 

Special Justices. — Philip Rubenstein, G. Bruce Robinson. 

Clerk. — John T. Lane. 

Chapter 489 of the Acts of 1906, establishing a court to be known as 
the Boston Juvenile Court for the "Care, Custody and Discipline of 
Juvenile Offenders," provides for the transfer to said court of the juris- 
dictions, authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of 
Boston, under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The Act took effect 
September 1, 1906. 

The jurisdiction of the Court has been increased from time to time so 
that, at the present time, the Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the 
Boston Municipal Court over adults who commit the offences of Con- 
tributing to the Delinquency of Children under the age of 17 and against 
parents for neglect of minor children, and against parents for failing to 
have children attend school. 

The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by 
the Governor. 

Probation Officers. 
[Stat. 1880, Chap. 129, § 1; P. S. 212, § 74; Stat. 1882, Chap. 125; Stat, 
1891, Chap. 356, §§ 1, 6; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276, §§ 1, 3; Stat. 
1897, Chap. 266, §§ 1, 3; Stat. 1898, Chap. 511, §§ 1, 2; R. L. Chap. 
217, §§ 81, 92; Stat. 1905, Chap. 295; Stat. 1906, Chaps. 329, 489, 
§ 6; Stat. 1907, Chaps. 223, 261; Stat. 1908, Chaps. 190, 637; Stat. 



COUNTY OF SUFFOLK. 117 

1909, Chap. 216; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 332, 479; Stat. 1911, Chaps. 116, 
470; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 648, § 2; 664; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612, § 1; 
Stat. 1915, Chaps. 89, § 1, 254, § 1; Stat. 1936, Chap. 360; Stat. 1937, 
Chap. 186; Stat. 1947, Chaps. 566, § 1, 639, 655; Stat. 1948, Chap. 
640.] Acts of 1949, Chapter 783 has amended the above. 
These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal 
courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the 
courts. As to the juvenile, district, and municipal courts in Suffolk 
County, other than the Boston Municipal Court, these judicial appoint- 
ments are subject to the written approval of the judges of the Boston 
Municipal Court after consultation with the Board of Probation. In the 
performance of their official duties they have all the powers of polic 
officers. 

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF BOSTON. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Joseph W. Crockwell. 

First Assistant Chief Probation Officer. — Thomas G. Davis. 

Second Assistant Chief Probation Officer. — Florence G. Rice. 

Medical Director. — Anna E. Parker, M. D. 

Assistant Medical Director. — -H. Bernard Fisher. 

Deputy Probation Officer. — John J. Collins. 

Deputy Probation Officer. — Marion L. Carlin. 

Probation Officers. 

John P. Bogan, A. Arthur Capone, Samuel J. Collis, Francis L. Col- 
poys, Edward F. Coughlin, James E. Flavin, Frederick W. Hall, Albert 
L. Hoskins, Robert T. Hughes, John B. Magaldi, Hyman Mann, Oswald J. 
McCourt, George J. McDonnell, Henry L. McNulty, Bruce A. Stevens, 
Maurice A. Sullivan, Catherine G. Carey, Margaret E. Conley, Mary E. 
Craven, Rosalind Joffe, Alice D. Keating, Veronica L. McCormack. 

BOSTON JUVENILE COURT. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Edward J. O'Mara. 

Joseph P. Shea, Joseph P. Connolly, Katherine M. O'Brien, C. Eliot 
Sands and Margaret V. Sullivan. Nurse, Elizabeth F. Powers . 

MUNICIPAL DISTRICT COURTS. 

Brighton. — William F. Maloney, Marian O'DonneU. Charlestown. — 
Chief Probation Officer, Joseph H. Burns, EUena M. Foley. Chelsea. — 
Chief Probation Officer, Fred W. Proctor, Lillian A. Evans, John J. 
Keough. Dorchester. — Chief Probation Officer, Matthew T. Connolly, 
Rosalind M. Fitzgerald (Juvenile), Bernard Harmon, Mary L. 
McLoughlin. East Boston. — Chief Probation Officer, Frederick L. 
O'Brien, James A. Sartori (Juvenile). Roxbury. — Chief Probation 
Officer, Thomas F. Teehan, Donald B. Akerstrom, John M. Teehan, 
Edward A. Fallon, Randolph Glover, Kathryn M. Quealey, William H, 
Murray, Thomas M. Gemelli, EUzabeth D. Kingston, Thomas J. Mona- 
han, Bristow A. Warley, Vivian J. Daniels. South Boston. — Chief 



118 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

Probation Officer, Patrick J. Hurley, Elsie H. Wall, Joseph J. GaUigan, 
Evelyn G. Byrne. West Roxbury. — Chief Probation Officer, Edward P, 
Hayes, Arthur E. Paul (Juvenile). 

SUPERIOR COURT. 

Chief Probation Officer. — Henry C. McKenna. 

Edward A. Griffin, Deputy Chief Probation Officer, William A. Maloney, 
James E. Donovan, Ralph L. Countie, John J. Moriarty, Charles H. 
Sullivan, John J. O'Connor, Samuel O. Smith, Alice B. Monks, Alice P. 
Aigen, Emma L. Crowley, Mary C. Smith. 



MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. 
[Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat. 
1911, Chaps. 252, 274; Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916. 
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.] 
The County is divided into two medical districts. Northern and Southern, 
by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Huntington 
avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence through 
middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence streets, Park 
square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and Summer street 
to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, Dover street, Dor- 
chester avenue, Dorchester street, East Fourth and G streets to the harbor. 
Medical Examiners. — Northern District, WUliam J. Brickley, M. D., 524 
Commonwealth avenue, Boston. Term ends in 1956. Southern 
District, Timothy Leary, M. D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. 
Term ends in 1951. 
Associate Medical Examiners. — Richard Ford, M, D., 21 Richwood 
street. West Roxbury. Terms ends in 1953. Michael A. Luongo, 
M. D., 69 Gladstone street. East Boston. Term ends in 1956. 
Each is appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years. 
Northern District Mortuary is located at 18 North Grove street. 
Southern District Mortuary is located on City Hospital grounds. 



Miscellaneous Municipal 
Activities 



(121) 



122 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

MUNICIPAL EMPLOYMENT BUREAU. 

25 Church Street. 
Francis William Nyhan, Director. 
A free municipal service for unemployed residents of Boston. Male 
and female employees supplied, without fees, to aU branches of business 
and industry. 
LI 2-8607. 



VETERANS' GRAVES REGISTRATION. 

Office, 37 City Hall. 

Frank T. Pedonti, Supervisor. 

The General Laws, Chapter 115, section 22, require all cities and towns 

in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to have a veterans' graves 

registration officer; among his duties is the supervision of the grave of 

every honorably discharged veteran, in order that it may be suitably 

maintained and cared for. 



CITY OF BOSTON BOARD OF RECREATION. 

Offices, Room 43, City Hall. 

[Stat. 1943, Chap. 451.] 

The Board. Term 

Expires 
Albert West 65 Saratoga St., East Boston 1950 

Henry L. Shattuck 84 Beacon St., Boston 1951 

John R. McVey, Jr. 6 New Park Ave., West Roxbury 1952 

Joseph V. Comerford 58 Greaton Rd., West Roxbury 1952 

Joseph Lee 43 South Russell St., Boston 1952 

1953 

John J. Murphy 67 Avalon Rd., West Roxbury {ex officio) 

Organization and Operation of the Boston Board of Recreation. 

The seven members of the Board serve without remuneration, but are 
empowered by the Act to employ such persons in such positions as may be 
necessary to carry out the duties of the Board. 
These duties and powers are as follows: 
To appoint a Superintendent. 
To hire necessary employees. 

To study recreation needs of the city and formulate plans for 
adequately distributed, coordinated and diversified recreational 
services. 



CITY OF BOSTON BOARD OF RECREATION. 123 

To encourage establishment of voluntary committees to advise and 
cooperate with the Board with respect to the operation and super- 
vision of neighborhood play areas. 

To submit recommendations to any Hcensing authority. 

To consult from time to time with any city department or agency 
empowered to provide recreational services or having jurisdiction 
over premises and facilities which may be used for recreation in 
relation to recreational services or premises and facilities provided 
by such departments and in relation to recreational services formu- 
lated by the Board. 

To receive from such city departments or agencies from time to 
time the management of such recreational services or the use of the 
premises and facilities under the control of said departments or 
agencies, together with such personnel as might be transferred. 

To provide and conduct recreational activities and supervise 
recreational premises and faciUties delegated or made available to it 
by other city departments. 

To cooperate with and promote by advice, suggestion and other- 
wise, such voluntary or amateur organizations for recreation, enter- 
tainment or mutual improvement as shall meet its approval. 

To acquire and utilize recreational suppUes and equipment and 
other supplies and equipment necessary for the conduct of its work. 

To report annually to the Mayor its activities during the preceding 
year, making such recommendations for the development of play- 
grounds and recreational facihties, including additions thereto, as it 
may deem advisable. 



members of 
City Government. 

I909-I949, 



IIAYOES AND CEETAIN OTHER OFFICIALS SINCE 1822. 



ORATOES APPOINTED BY THE CITY SINCE 1771. 



(127) 



128 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James M. Curley, 
Daniel A. Whelton, 
Daniel J. Donnelly,' 
George P. Anderson, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Frederick J. Brand, 
W. Dudley Cotton, jr.. 



Ward 1. 
Edward C. R. Bagley, 
Frank A. Goodwin, 
Joseph A. Hoey. 

Ward 2. 
Joseph H. Pendergast, 
Dennis A. O'Neil, 
Michael J. Brophy. 

Ward S. 
James J. Brennan, 
Joseph A. Dart, 
William J. Murray. 

Ward 4. 
Francis M. Ducey, 
Patrick B. Carr, 
James I. Green. 

Ward S. 
John J. Buckley, 
William E. Carney, 
Edward A. Troy. 

Ward 6. 
Stephen Gardella, 
Francis D. O'Donnell, 
Alfred Scigliano. 

Ward 7. 
John L. Donovan, 
John T. Kennedy, 
Dominick F. Spellman. 

Ward 8. 
James J. Ryan, 
James A. Bragan, 
Adolphus M. Burroughs. 

Ward 9. 
Isaac Gordon, 
Robert J. Howell, 
Thomas B. McKeagney. 



1 909. 

Mayor. 
GEORGE A. HIBBARD.i 

Aldermen. 
Frederick J. Brand, Chairman. 

James P. Timilty, 
J. Frank O'Hare, 
John J. Attridge, 
Charles L. Carr, 
Thomas J. Giblin, 
Matthew Hale. 

John T. Priest, City Clerk. 

COUNCILMEN. 

George C. McCabe, President. 
Ward 10. 
J. Henderson Allston, 
Channing H. Cox, 
William S. Kinney. 



Ward 11. 
Courtenay Crocker, 
Theodore Hoague, 
Charles H. Moore. 

Ward 12. 
Seth Fenelon Arnold, 
Alfred G. Davis, 
Francis J. H. Jones. 

Ward IS. 
Leo F. McCullough,3 
Stephen A. Welch, 
Coleman E. Kelly. 

Ward 14. 
Cornelius J. Fitzgerald, 
Thomas J. Casey, 
Joseph L. Collins. 

Ward IS. 
John O'Hara, 
WUliam T. Conway, 
Joseph A. O'Bryan. 

Ward 16. 
John D. McGivern, 
Hugh M. Garrity, 
WUliam D. McCarthy. 

Ward 17. 
Thomas M. Joyce, 
Francis J. Brennan, 
John D. Connors. 

Joseph O'Kane, Clerk. 



Ward 18. 
Daniel F. Cronin, 
Michael F. O'Brien, 
George Kenney. 

Ward 1.9. 
Peter A. Hoban, 
WiUiam J. Kohler, 
John J. Donovan. 

Ward 20. 
Charles T. Harding, 
Harry R. Gumming,. 
WUliam Smith, jr. 

Ward 21. 
WiUiam N. Hackett,. 
John BaUantyne, 
Walter R. Meins. 

Ward 22. 
William H. Morgan,. 
George Penshorn, 
Bernhard G. Krug. 

Ward 23. 
George W. Carruth, 
George W. Smith, 
Ward D. Prescott. 

Ward 24. 
Frank B. Crane, 
James A. Hart, 
Clifford C. Best. 

Ward 25. 

Edward C. Webster, 
George C. McCabe, 
Charles H. Warren. 



1 Elected for two years. 2 Died June 23, 1909. 

'Resigned June 3, 1909. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



129 



19 10 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Walter Ballantyne, President. 
Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



Term Ends in 1911. 
Frederick J. Brand, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley. 



19 11 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President 
Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



Term Ends in 1912. 
James M. Curley, 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



19 12. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 

City Council. 
John J. Attridge, President. 
Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



Term Ends in 1913. 
John J. Attridge, 
Matthew Hale, 
Walter L. Collins. 



19 13 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Mayor. 
JOHN F. FITZGERALD. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Kenny, President 
Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Term Ends in 1914. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
Timothy J. Buckley, 
Earnest E. Smith. 



19 14 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
William H. Woods. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Daniel J. McDonald, President. 
Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1915. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Thomas J. Kenny, 
John A. Coulthurst. 



Note. — The Board of Aldermen and Common Council were abolished by the amended 
City Charter of 1909 and the City Council was established, consisting of nine members. 



130 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst, 
Henry E. Hagan. 



19 15. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
George W. Coleman, President. 
Term Ends in 1917. 
George W. Coleman, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
William H. Woods.* 



Term Ends in 1916. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James A. Watson. 



* Councilor Woods died May 3, 1915, and the City Council elected James J. Storrow 
May 24, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 16. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Henry E. Hagan, President. 
Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
John A. Coulthurst,* 
Henry E. Hagan. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1917. 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
George W. Coleman, 
Thomas J. Kenny. 



* Councilor Coulthurst died June 30, 1916, and the City Council elected Geoffrey B. 
Lehy, October 17, to serve in his place for the remainder of the municipal year. 

19 17. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
James J. Storrow, President. 
Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



Term Ends in 1918. 
Walter Ballantyne, 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Alfred E. Wellington. 



19 18. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Walter L. Collins, President. 
Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1919. 
John J. Attridge, 
Walter L. Collins, 
James J. Storrow. 



19 19 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Francis J. W. Ford, President. 
Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1920. 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
Daniel J. McDonald, 
James A. Watson. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



131 



Term Ends in 1923, 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Term Ends in 1926. 
David J. Brickley, 
Wmiam C. S. Healey, 
James A. Watson. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



1920. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 

CiTT CoUNCIIi. 

Jambs T. Moriarty, President. 
Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1921. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



1921. 

ANDREW J. PETERS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
James A. Watson, President. 
Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 

1 922. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
David J. Brickley, President. 
Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 

1 923. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 

Daniel W. Lane, President. 

Term Ends in 1925. 
John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 

1 924. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
John A. Donoghue, President. 
I David J. Brickley, 

WUliam C. S. Healey, 
I James A. Watson, 

1925. 



Term Ends in 1922. 
Walter L. Collins, 
John A. Donoghue, 
Edward F. McLaughlin. 



Term Ends in 1923. 
David J. Brickley, 
Francis J. W. Ford, 
James A. Watson. 



Term Ends in 1924. 
Henry E. Hagan, 
Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty. 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J. Walsh. 



Daniel W. Lane, 
James T. Moriarty, 
James T. Purcell, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
James T. Moriarty, President. 
I David J. Brickley, I 

WiUiam C. S. Healey, | 

James A. Watson, 



John A. Donoghue, 
George F. Gilbody, 
William J, Walsh. 



132 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



1926. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mator. 
City Councii,. 
Charles G. Keene, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Frederic E. Dowling, 
John J. Heffernan. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
William G. Lynch, 



1927. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 



John J. Heffernan, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Walter J. Freeley, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Thomas W. McMahon, 
George F. Gilbody, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Walter E. Wragg, 
Horace Guild, 
Charles G. Keene, 
Frederic E. Dowling. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



1928. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Thomas H. Green, President. 
Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E. Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Henry Parkman, jr., 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 
John F. Dowd, 



1929. 

MALCOLM E. NICHOLS, Mayor. 

City Council. 

Timothy F. Donovan, President. 



Michael J. Ward, 
Roger E, Deveney, 
William A. Motley, jr., 
Herman L. Bush, 
Frank E. Sullivan, 
Israel Ruby, 
Thomas W. McMahon, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr., 

Peter J. Murphy, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Charles G. Keene, 

Frederic E. Dowling, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



133 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
John F, Dowd, 



1930. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mator. 
City Council. 
William G. Lynch, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P. Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



Timothy F. Donovan, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Seth F. Arnold, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
Michael J. Mahoney, 
William G. Lynch, 



1931. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Councii,. 
Joseph McGhath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Herman L. Bush, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish, 

Robert Gardiner Wilson , jr. , 

Clement A. Norton, 

Peter A. Murray, 

Joseph P, Cox, 

James Hein, 

Edward M. Gallagher. 



William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
•George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1 932. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Edward M. Gallagher, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Israel Ruby, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Francis E. Kelly, 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein. 



"William H. Barker, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Laurence Curtis, 2d, 
George P. Donovan, 
William G. Lynch, 



1933. 

JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 
City Council. 
Joseph McGrath, President. 
John F. Dowd, 
Richard D. Gleason, 
Leo F. Power, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Israel Ruby, 
Francis E. Kelly, 



Albert L. Fish. 
Thomas Burke, 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Joseph P. Cox, 
James Hein, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



134 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Henry Selvitella, 
Thomas H. Green, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 



1934. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Matok. 



City Council. 
John F. Down, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson , j r. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



1935. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Match. 



Henry Selvitella, 
Thomas H. Green, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George P. Donovan, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
John F. Dowd, 



City Coitncii,. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President. 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
Edward L. Englert, 
David M. Brackman, 
Joseph McGrath, 
Maurice M. Goldman, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



Albert L. Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson , jr., 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



Henry Selvitella, 
James J. MeUen, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George A. Murray, 
John E. Kerrigan, 
John F. Dowd, 



1936. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayob. 



City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President 
Richard D. Gleason, 
John J. Doherty, 
James J. Kilroy, 
David M. Brackman, 
Peter J. Fitzgerald, 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



John J. McGrath, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson ,jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



Henry Selvitella, 
James J. MeUen, 
George W. Roberts, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
George A. Murray, 
J ohn E. Kerrigan , 
John F. Dowd, 



1937. 

FREDERICK W. MANSFIELD, Mayor. 



City Council. 
John I. Fitzgerald, President 
Mildred M. Harris, 
John J. Doherty, 
James J. Kilroy, 
David M. Brackman, 
Peter J. Fitzgerald, 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
Martin H. Tobin, 



John J. McGrath, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
James F. Finley, 
James E. Agnew, 
Edward M. Gallagher. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



135 



Francis W. Irwin, 
"William J. Galvin, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
•George A. Murray, 
John F. Dowd, 



1938. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John E. Kerrigan, President. 
Mildred M. Harris, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr.: 
Clement A. Norton, 
Peter A. Murray, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
James E. Agnew, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



Trancis W. Irwin, 
"William J. Galvin, 
John I. Fitzgerald, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
-John E. Kerrigan, 
'George F. McMahon, 



1939. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 

City Council. 
George A. Murray, President. 
Mildred M. Harris, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr 
Sidney Rosenberg, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
Robert Gardiner Wilson, jr. 
Clement A. Norton, 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
James E. Agnew, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



-James S. Coffey, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
-Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 
William F. Hurley, 



1940. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
William J. Galvin, President. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr. 
Joseph J. Gottlieb, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
Henry L. Shattuck, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 
William F. Hurley, 



1941. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
William J. Galvin, President. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Edward L. Englert, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Edward A. Hutchinson, jr., 
Joseph J. Gottlieb, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
Michael J. Ward, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



136 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael L. Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
A. Frank Foster, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
William F. Hurley, 



I 942. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Thomas E. Linehan, President. 

Daniel F. Sullivan, 

William A. Carey, 

Matthew F. Hanley, 

Charles I. Taylor, 

Thomas J. Hannon, jr., 

Joseph J. Gottlieb, 

John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish,. 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael L. Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
A. Frank Foster, 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



1943. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayob. 
City Council. 
Thomas J. Hannon, President. 
William F. Hurley, 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Matthew F. Hanley, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
John C. Wickes, 
James J. Goode, jr., 
James M. Langan, 
Theodore F. Lyons, 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. Sullivani, 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
James C. Bayley, jr., 
Joseph M Scannell, 
William F. Hurley, 



1 944. 

MAURICE J. TOBIN, Mayor. 
City Council. 
John E. Kerrigan, President. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Matthew F. Hanley, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Thomas J. Hannon, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fishj 
William Joseph Keenanv. 
Michael Paul Feeney, 
Thomas L. McCormack,. 
Thomas G. J. Shannonj. 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice H. Sullivan. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
James C. Bayley, jr., 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
William F. Hurley, 



1945. 

JOHN E. KERRIGAN, Mayor. 

City Council. 
John E. Kerrigan, President. 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
WiUiam A. Carey, 
Matthew F. Hanley, 
Charles I. Taylor, 
Thomas J. Hannon, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 
John B. Kelly, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
William Joseph Keenan,. 
Michael Paul Feeney, 
Thomas L. McCormack,,, 
Thomas G. J. Shannon^ 
William F. Dwyer, 
Maurice^ H. Sullivan. 



CITY GOVERNMENT. 



137 



1946. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
James C. Bayley, jr., 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
John B. Kelly, President. 
William F. Hurley, 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
WilUam A. Carey, 
WiUiam A. Moriarty, 
Milton Cook, 
Thomas J. Hannon, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
William Joseph Keenan, 
Michael H. Cantwell, 
Thomas L. McCormack, 
Walter D. Bryan, 
Edmund V. Lane, 
Edward C. Madden. 



1947 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
Joseph Russo, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
James C. Bayley, jr., 
Joseph M. Scannell, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor 
City Council. 
John B. Kelly, President. 
WiUiam F. Hurley, 
Daniel F. SulHvan, 
William A. Carey, 
William A. Moriarty, 
Milton Cook, 
Thomas J. Hannon, 
Isadore H. Y. Muchnick, 



Philip Austin Fish, 
William Joseph Keenan, 
Michael H. Cantwell, 
Thomas L. McCormack, 
Walter D. Bryan, 
Edmund V. Lane, 
Edward C. Madden. 



1948 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
George T. Lanigan, 
Perhe Dyar Chase, 
John E. Yerxa, 
John B. Wenzler, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
Thomas J. Hannon, President. 
William F. Hurley, 
Daniel F. Sullivan, 
William A. Carey, 
Philip A. Tracy, 
Milton Cook, 
Julius Ansel, 
Robert J. Ramsey, 



John J. Beades, 
William Joseph Keenan, 
Michael H. Cantwell, 
Thomas L. McCormack, 
Walter D. Bryan, 
Edmund V. Lane, 
Vincent J. Shanley, 



1949. 



James S. Coffey, 
Michael Leo Kinsella, 
George T. Lanigan, 
Perlie Dyar Chase, 
John E. Yerxa, 
John B. Wenzler, 
Thomas E. Linehan, 



JAMES M. CURLEY, Mayor. 

City Council. 
William F. Hurley, President. 

Daniel F. Sullivan, 

William A. Carey, 

PhiUp A. Tracy, 

Milton Cook, 

Thomas J. Hannon, 

Julius Ansel, 

Robert J. Ramsey, 



John J. Beades, 
Wilham Joseph Keenan, 
Michael H. Cantwell, 
Thomas L. McCormack, 
Walter B. Bryan, 
Edmund V. Lane, 
Vincent J. Shanley, 



138 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Mayors of the City of Boston. 

From 1822 to the Present Time. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



* John Phillips 

* Josiah Quincy 

* Harrison Gray Otis 

* Charles Wells 

* Theodore Lyman, jr. , . . 

* Samuel T. Armstrong . . . 

* Samuel A. Eliot 

* Jonathan Chapman 

* Martin Brimmer 

* Thomas A. Davis 

* Josiah Quincy, jr 

* John P. Bigelow 

* Benjamin Seaver 

* Jerome V. C. Smith . . . . 

* Alexander H. Rice 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr.. 

* Joseph M. Wightman . . . 

* Frederic W. Lincoln, jr.. 

* Otis Noroross 

* Nathaniel B. Shurtleff . . 

* William Gaston 

* Henry L. Pierce 

Leonard R. Cutter 

* Samuel C. Cobb 

* Frederick O. Prince 

* Henry L. Pierce 

* Frederick O. Prince 

* Samuel A. Green 

* Albert Palmer 

* Augustus P. Martin .... 

* Hugh O'Brien 

* Thomas N. Hart 

* Nathan Matthews, jr. . . 

* Edwin U. Curtis 

* t Josiah Quincy 

*t Thomas N. Hart 

*t Patrick A Collins 

Daniel A. Whelton 

t John F. Fitzgerald 

* t George A. Hibbard . . . . 

H John F. Fitzgerald 

H James M. Curley 

*^ Andrew J. Peters 

II James M. Curley 

1 Malcolm E. Nichols 

1[ James M. Curley 

H Frederick W. Mansfield, 
t Maurice J. Tobin 

John E. Kerrigan 

^ James M. Curley 

John B. Hynes 



Boston Nov. 

Boston Feb. 

Boston Oct. 

Boston Dec. 

Boston Feb. 

Dorchester April 

Boston Mar. 

Boston Jan. 

Roxbury June 

Brookline Dec. 

Boston Jan. 

Groton Aug. 

Roxbury April 

Conway, N. H., July 

Newton Aug. 

Boston Feb. 

Boston Oct. 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 

Boston June 

Killingly, Conn., Oct. 

Stoughton Aug. 

(See under Chairmen 
men.) 

Taunton May 

Boston Jan. 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Groton Mar. 

Candia, N. H. . . Jan. 

Abbot, Me Nov. 

Ireland July 

North Reading, Jan. 

Boston Mar. 

Roxbury Mar. 

Quincy Oct. 

(See above) 

Fermoy, Ireland, Mar. 

Boston Jan. 

Boston Feb. 

Boston Oct. 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 

Jamaica Plain . . April 

(See above) 

Portland, Me.. .May 

(See above) 

Boston Mar. 

Boston May 

Boston Oct. 

(See above) 

Boston Sept. 



26, 1770 

4, 1772 
8, 1765 

30, 1786 

19, 1792 

29, 1784 

5, 1798 
23, 1807 

8, 1793 

11, 1798 
17, 1802 
25, 1797 

12, 1795 

20, 1800 

30, 1818 

27, 1817 
19, 1812 



2, 1811 
29, 1810 

3, 1820 
23, 1825 

of Alder- 

22, 1826 
18, 1818 



16, 1830 

17, 1831 
23, 1835 
13, 1827 
20, 1829 
28, 1854 
26, 1861 
15, 1859 



12, 1844 
21, 1872 
11, 1863 
27, 1864 



May 29, 1823 



July 
Oct. 
June 
July 
Mar. 
Jan. 



1, 1864 

28, 1848 

3, 1866 
17, 1849 
26, 1850 

29, 1862 
May 25, 1848 
April 25, 1847 
Nov. 22, 1845 
Nov. 2, 1882 

4, 1872 
14, 1856 
20, 1879 
22, 1895 
13, 1898 
25, 1885 

(See above) . . . 
Sept. 5, 1882 
Oct. 17, 1874 
Jan. 19, 1894 
Dec. 17, 1896 



July 
Feb. 
Aug. 
July 
Sept, 
Jan. 



Feb. 18, 1891 
June 6, 1899 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Dec. 5, 1918 
May 21, 1887 
Mar. 13, 1902 
1, 1895 
4, 1927 
11, 1927 
28, 1922 
8, 1919 
(See above) . . . 
Sept. 14, 1905 



Aug. 
Oct. 
Dec. 
Mar. 
Sept 



May 29, 1910 



20, 1874 
3, 1872 



June 26, 1938 



8, 1876 



26, 1877 

22, 1901 

1, 1907 



21, 1897 



1822 1 

1823-28.. 6 
1829-31.. 3 
1832-33.. 2 
1834-35.. 2 

1836 1 

1837-39.. 3 
1840-42.. 3 
1843-44.. 2 

1845 1 

1846-48.. 3 
1849-51.. 3 
1852-53.. 2 
1854-55.. 2 
1856-57.. 2 
1858-60.. 3 
1861-62.. 2 
1863-66.. 4 

1867 1 

1868-70.. 3 
1871-72.. 2 
1873, 10 mo. 
1873, 2 mo. 

1874-76.. 3 

1877 1 

1878 1 

1879-81.. 3 

1882 1 

1883 1 

1884 1 

1885-88. .4 
1889-90.. 2 
189 1-94.. 4 

1895 1 

1896-99.. 4 
1900-01.. 2 
1902-05, 3| 
1905-3Jmo, 
1906-07.. 2 
1908-09 . . 2 
1910-13.. 4 
1914- 17.. 4 
1918-21.. 4 
1922-25.. 4 
1926- 29.. 4 
1930-33.. 4 
1934-37.. 4 
1938-44.. 7 

1945 1 

1946-49. .4 
1947-5 mo. 



* Deceased. J Twice elected for two years. 

t Elected for two years. 1 Elected for four years. 

Note. — Andrew J. Peters was the first Mayor not eligible to succeed himself. 
Special Acts, 1918, Chapter 94. See also Acts, 1938, Chapter 300. 



See 



CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. 139 

Note. — From January 6, 1845, to February 27, 1845, or from the close of Mayor 
Brimmer's term of office till the election of his successor, Thomas A. Davis, the Chairman 
of the Board of Aldermen, William Parker, performed the duties of Mayor. 

In the interim between the death of Mayor Davis, on November 22, 1845, and the 
election on December 11, 1845, of his successor, Josiah Quincy, Jr., Benson Leavitt, Chair- 
man of the Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor. 

There were three ballotings for the election of Mayor for 1854, between December 12, 
1853, and January 9, 1854. In the meantime the duties of Mayor were performed by 
Benjamin L. Allen, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen. 

In 1873 Mayor Pierce resigned his office on November 29, on his election to the Congress 
of the United States. During the remainder of the municipal year Leonard R. Cutter, 
Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, served ex officio as Acting Mayor. 

Mayor Colhns died on September 14, 1905. Daniel A. Whelton, Chairman of the 
Board of Aldermen, acted as Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year, viz., 
September 15, 1905, to January 1, 1906. 

Mayor Tobin, having been elected Governor, resigned January 4, 1945. By Chapter 4 
of the Acts of 1945, the President of the City Council was given all the powers of the 
Mayor and served from January 25, 1945, for the remainder of the year. 

Under the provisions of Chapter 580 of the Acts of 1947, City Clerk John B. Hynes 
served, under the title of Temporary Mayor, with full powers as Mayor, for the period 
from June 26 to November 28, 1947, during the absence of Mayor Curley. 

Chairmen of the Board of Aldermen. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



William Washburn 

Pelham Bonney 

Joseph Milner Wightman, 

Silas Peirce 

Otis Clapp 

Silas Peirce 

Thomas Phillips Rich .... 
Thomas Coffin Amory, jr. 

Otis Norcross 

George W. Messinger .... 
Charles Wesley Slack .... 

George W. Messinger 

Benjamin James 

Newton Talbot 

Charles Edward Jenkins . . 

Samuel Little 

Leonard R. Cutter 

John Taylor Clark 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Solomon Bliss Stebbins . . . 

Hugh O'Brien 

Charles Varney Whitten . . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . . 
Patrick John Donovan . . . 
Charles Hastings Allen . . . 

Homer Rogers 

William Power Wilson .... 
Herbert Schaw Carruth. . . 

John Henry Lee 

Alpheus Sanf ord 

John Henry Lee 



Lyme, N. H Oct. 7,1808 

Pembroke Feb. 21. 1802 

Boston Oct. 19, 1812 

Scituate Feb. 15, 1793 

Westhampton...Mar. 3,1806 

(See above) 

Lynn Mar. 31,1803 

Boston Aug. 16, 1812 

Boston Nov. 2, 1811 

Boston Feb. 5, 1813 

Boston Feb. 21, 1825 

(See above) 

Scituate Aug. 22, 1814 

Stoughton Mar. 10, 1815 

Scituate July 29, 1817 

Hingham Aug. 15i 1827 

Jaffrey, N. H.. ..July li 1825 
Sanbornton, N.H., Sept .19, 1825 

Warren Jan. 18, 1830 

Ireland July 13, 1827 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Vassalboro, Me., May 10, 1829 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Charlestown April 9, 1848 

(See above) 

Sudbury Oct. 11,1840 

Baltimore, Md..Nov. 15, 1852 

Dorchester Feb. 15, 1855 

Boston April 26, 1846 

North Attleboro, July 5, 1856 
(See above) 



Oct. 30, 1890 
April 29, 1861 
Jan. 25, 1885 
Aug. 27, 1879 
Sept, 18, 1886 
(See above) . . 
Dec. 11, 1875 
Oct. 10, 1899 
Sept. 5, 1882 
April 27, 1870 
April 11, 1885 
(See above) . . . 
April 13, 1901 
Feb. 3, 1904 
1, 1882 
21, 1906 
13, 1894 
29, 1880 
8, 1910 
1, 1895 
(See above) . . . 
(See above) . . . 
Mar. 18, 1891 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Sept. 18, 1912 
(See above) . . . 
Nov. 10, 1907 
Date unknown 
Dec. 27, 1917 
Sept. 12, 1923 



Aug. 
Dec. 
July 
Oct. 
June 
Aug. 



(See above) . . . 



1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859 

1860 

1861 

1862 

1863 

1864 

1865-66 

1867 

1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

1872 

1873 

1874-77 

1878 

1879-81 

1882 

1883 

1884-85 

1886 

1887 

1888 

1889 

1890 

1891 

1892-93 

1894-95 

1896 



Note. — The Mayor was ex officio Chairman of the Board of Aldermen from the incor- 
poration of the City until 1855; the Board elected a permanent Chairman from 1855. 



140 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

CHAIRMEN OP THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN. Concluded. 



Name, 



Place and Date of Birth, 



Died, 



Years of 
Service, 



* Perlie Appleton Dyar. . . 

* Joseph Aloysius Conry. . 
David Franklin Barry. . . 
Michael Joseph O'Brien, 

James Henry Doyle 

Daniel A. Whelton 

t Charles Martin Draper. . 
f Edward L. Cauley 

William Berwin 

Louis M. Clark 

Frederick J. Brand. . . . . . 



Lynn Mar. 26, 1857 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Ireland Feb. 11, 1855 

Boston June 17, 1867 

Boston Jan. 21,1872 

Dedham Nov. 1,1869 

Charlestown Aug. 8, 1870 

New Orleans, La., Dec. 16, 1858 

Dorchester Dec. 14, 1858 

Plainville, Conn., Feb. 3, 1861 



May 15, 


1930 


June 22, 


1943 


July 23, 


1911 


April 5, 


1903 


:::::::::::: i 


Jan. 25, 


1943 


April 19 


1928 


July 9, 


1935 


Mar. 15, 


1914 


Mar. 16, 


1912 



1897-98 

1898 

1899 

1900 

1901-04 

1905 

1906 

1906 

1907 

1908 

1909 



Presidents of the Common Council. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



William Prescott 

John Welles 

Francis Johonnot Oliver. . . 
John Richardson Adan. . . . 

Eliphalet Williams 

Benj, Toppan Pickman. . . 
John Prescott Bigelow. . . . 

Josiah Quincy, jr 

Philip Marett 

Edward Blake 

Peleg Whitman Chandler, 
George Stillman Hillard. . . 

Benjamin Seaver . 

Francis Brinley 

Henry Joseph Gardner 

Alex. Hamilton Rice 

Joseph Storey 

Oliver Stevens 

Samuel W. Waldron, jr. . . 
Josiah Putnam Bradlee . . . 
Joseph Hildreth Bradley. . 

Joshua Dorsey Ball 

George Silsbee Hale 

Wm. Bentley Fowle, jr. . . 



Pepperell Aug. 19, 1762 

Boston Oct. 14, 1764 

Boston Oct. 10.1777 

Boston July 8, 1793 

Taunton Mar. 7, 1778 

Salem Sept. 17, 1790 

Groton Aug. 25, 1797 

Boston Jan. 17,1802 

Boston Sept. 25, 1792 

Boston Sept. 28, 1805 

N. Gloucester, Me., Apr. 12, '16 
Machias, Me.. . .Sept. 22, 1808 

Roxbury April 12, 1795 

Boston Nov. 10, 1800 

Dorchester June 14, 1818 

Newton Aug. 30, 1818 

Marblehead Nov. 11, 1822 

Andover June 22, 1825 

Portsmouth, N. H.. Oct. 24, '28 

Boston June 10, 1817 

Haverhill Mar. 5, 1822 

Baltimore, Md.. July 11,1828 
Keene, N. H. . . . Sept. 24, 1825 
Boston July 27, 1826 



Dec. 8, 
Sept. 26, 
Aug. 21, 
July 4, 
June 12, 
Mar. 22, 
July 4, 
Nov. 2, 
Mar. 22, 
Sept. 4, 
May 28, 
Jan. 21, 
Feb. 14, 
June 14, 
July 19, 
July 22, 
June 22, 
Aug. 23, 
Aug. 24, 
Feb. 2, 
Oct. 5, 
Dec. 18, 
July 27, 
Jan. 21, 



1844 
1855 
1858 
1849 
1855 
1835 
1872 
1882 
1869 
1873 
1889 
1879 
1856 
1889 
1892 
1895 
1905 
1905 
1882 
1887 
1882 
1892 
1897 
1902 



1822 

1823 

1824-25 

1826-28 

1829 

1830-31 

1832-33 

1834-36 

1837-40 

1841-43 

1844-45 

1846-47^ 

1847M9 

1850-51 

1852-53 

1854 

1855 

1856-57 

1858 

1859-60 

1861 

1862 

1863-64 

1865 



1 To July 1. 2 From July 1. 

* Perlie A. Dyar from January 25, 1898, to April 1, 1898, and October 1, 1898, to end 
of year. Joseph A. Conry from April 1, 1898, to October 1, 1898. 

t Charles M. Draper from February 28, 1906, to September 10, 1906. Edward L. 
Cauley from September 10, 1906, to end of year. 



PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. 141 

PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL. — Concluded. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Years of 
Service. 



Joseph Story 

Weston Lewis 

Charles Hastings Allen . , 
William Giles Harris ... 

Melville Ezra Ingalls 

Matthias Rich 



Marquis Fayette Dickin- 
son, jr 



Edward Olcott Shepard.. 
Halsey Joseph Boardman, 

John Q. A. Brackett 

Benjamin Pope 

William H. Whitmore. . . 
Harvey Newton Shepard. 
Andrew Jackson Bailey. . 
Charles Edward Pratt . . . , 

James Joseph Flynn 

Godfrey Morse 



John Henry Lee 

Edward John Jenkins . . . . 

David Franklin Barry. . . . 

Horace Gwynne Allen . . . . 

David Franklin Barry. . . . 

Christopher Francis 
O'Brien 



Joseph Aloysius Conry . . 

Timothy Lawrence Con- 
nolly 



Daniel Joseph Kiley .... 
Arthur Walter Dolan . . . . , 
William John Barrett . . . , 

Leo F. McCuUough , 

George Cheney McCabe . , 



(See above) 

Hingham April 14, 1834 

Boston June 14, 1828 

Revere May 15, 1828 

Harrison, Me... .Sept. 6, 1842 
Truro June 8, 1820 

Amherst Jan. 16, 1840 

Hampton, N.H.,Nov. 25, 1835 

Norwich, Vt May 19, 1834 

Bradford, N. H., June 8, 1842 

Waterford, Ire., Jan. 13, 1829 

Dorchester Sept. 6, 1836 

Boston July 8, 1850 

Charlestown July 18, 1840 

Vassalboro, Me.,Mar. 13, 1845 

St. John, N. B 1835 

Wachenheim, Germany, 

May 17, 1846 

Boston April 26, 1846 

London, Eng....Dec. 20, 1854 

Boston Feb. 29, 1852 

Jamaica Plain. .July 27, 1855 

(See above) 



Boston Feb. 17,1869 

Brookline Sept. 12, 1868 

Boston Oct. 5, 1871 

Boston July 27, 1874 

Boston Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1872 

Boston July 1,1882 

Carmel, N. Y.. .July 5, 1873 



(See above) . . 
April 6, 1893 
Mar. 31, 1907 
Oct. 29, 1897 
July 11, 1914 
Dec. 13, 1914 



Sept. 18, 
April 27, 
Jan. 15, 
April 6, 
Sept. 24, 
June 14, 
April 14, 
Mar. 21, 
Aug. 20, 
Mar. 26, 
June 20, 



1915 
1903 
1900 
1918 
1879 
1900 
1936 
1927 
1898 
1884 
1911 



Sept. 12, 1923 
Oct. 3, 1918 
July 23, 1911 
Feb. 12, 1919 
(See above) . . . 

April 25, 1899 
June 22, 1943 

Dec. 5, 1928 
Nov. 12, 1935 



May 29, 1933 



Dec. 27, 1917 



1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 

1872 

1873-74 

1875 

1876 

1877-78 

1879 

1880 

18811 

1881 s-82 

1883 3 

1883* 

1884 

1885-86 

1887-88 

1889-90 

1891-93 

1894-95 
1896-97 

1898 

1899-1901 

1902-05 

1906-07 

1908 

1909 



1 To October 27. 



2 From October 27. 



3 To June 11. 



« From June 14. 



142 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



Presidents of the City Council. 



Name. 



Place and Date of Birth. 



Died. 



Year of 
Service. 



Walter Ballantyne 

Walter Leo Collins . . : 

John Joseph Attridge 

Thomas Joseph Kenny . . . . 
Daniel Joseph McDonald. . 

George W. Coleman 

Henry E. Hagan. .:: 

James J. Storrow 

Walter Leo CoUins 

Francis J. W. Ford ....... 

James T. Moriarty ...:.... 

James A. Watson; 

David J. Brickley. . . ; 

Daniel W. Lane 

John A. Donoghue 

James T. Moriarty 

Charles G. Keene 

John J. Heffernan 

Thomas H. Green 

Timothy F. Donovan 

William G. Lynch 

Joseph McGrath 

Edward M. Gallagher 

Joseph McGrath . 

John F. Dowd 

John I. Fitzgerald 

John I. Fitzgerald 

John I. Fitzgerald 

John E. Kerrigan 

George A. Murray 

William J. Galvin 

William J. Galvin 

Thomas E. Linehan 

Thomas J. Hannon 

John E. Kerrigan 

John E. Kerrigan 

John B. Kelly 

JohnB. KeUy 

Thomas J. Hannon 

William F. Hurley 



Hawick, Scotland, Mar. 17, 1855 

Boston April 7, 1878 

Boston Feb. 8, 1878 

Boston Nov. 18, 1863 

Chelsea Aug. 14, 1873 

Boston June 16, 1867 

St. John, N. B Feb. 26, 1865 

Boston Jan. 21, 1864 

(See above) 

Boston Dec. 23, 1882 

Amesbury Sept. 22, 1876 

Boston June 24, 1870 

Boston Mar. 14, 1889 

Boston Dec. 11, 1872 

Boston Aug. 12, 1885 

(See above) 

Gardiner, Me Aug. 6, 1880 

Boston Jan. 27, 1893 

Boston May 11, 1883 

Boston Aug. 21, 1889 

Boston Oct. 20, 1892 

Boston Dec. 20, 1890 

Charlestown Jan. 25, 1877 

(See above) 

Boston Nov. 28, 1895 

Boston July 18, 1882 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Boston Oct. 1,1907 

Boston Sept. 1, 1905 

Boston Jan. 31,1904 

(See above) 

Boston June 28, 1904 

Boston Dec. 9, 1900 

(See above) 

(See above) 

Boston July 21, 1904 

(See above) . : 

(See above) 

Boston Aug. 3, 1895 



Sept. 30, 1932 



May 17, 1926 
June 28, 1937 



May 18, 1933 
Mar. 13, 1926 



Dec. 5, 1941 



Aug. 25, 1927 



April 21, 1933 
AprU 25, 1943 



1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 
1925 
1926 
1927 
1928 
1929 
1930 
1931 
1932 
1933 
1934 
1935 
1936 
1937 
1938 
1939 
1940 
1941 
1942 
1943 
1944 
1945 
1946 
1947 
1948 
1949 



* Single chamber estabUshed in 1910 (see Chap. 486, Acts of 1909, Sects. 48-51.) 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. 



143 



Orators of Boston. 

APPOINTED BY THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES. 

For the Anniversary of the Boston Massacre, March 5, 1770. 



1771 James Lovell. 

1772 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1773 Dr. Benjamin Church. 

1774 John Hancock. 

1775 Dr. Joseph Warren. 

1776 Rev. Peter Thacher. 

1777 Benjamin Hichborn. 



1778 Jonathan Williams Austin. 

1779 William Tudor. 

1780 Jonathan Mason, jr. 

1781 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1782 George Richards Minot. 

1783 Dr. Thomas Welsh. 



For the Anniversary of National Independence, July 4, 1776. 



1783 Dr. John Warren. 

1784 Benjamin Hichborn. 

1785 John Gardiner. 

1786 Jonathan L. Austin. 

1787 Thomas Dawes, jr. 

1788 Harrison Gray Otis. 

1789 Rev. Samuel Stillman. 

1790 Edward Gray. 

1791 Thomas Crafts, jr. 

1792 Joseph Blake, jr. 

1793 John Quincy Adams. 

1794 John Phillips. 

1795 George Blake. 

1796 John Lathrop, jr. 

1797 John Callender. 

1798 Josiah Quincy. 

1799 John Lowell, jr. 

1800 Joseph Hall. 

1801 Charles Paine. 

1802 Rev. William Emerson. 

1803 William Sullivan. 

1804 Dr. Thomas Danforth. 

1805 Warren Dutton. 

1806 Francis Dana Charming. 

1807 Peter O. Thacher, 

1808 Andrew Ritchie, jr. 

1809 William Tudor, jr. 

1810 Alexander Townsend. 

1811 James Savage. 

1812 Benjamin Pollard. 

1813 Edward St. Loe Livermore. 

1814 Benjamin Whitwell. 

1815 Lemuel Shaw. 

1816 George Sullivan. 

1817 Edward T. Channing. 

1818 Francis C. Gray. 

1819 Franklin Dexter. 

1820 Theodore Lyman, jr. 

1821 Charles G. Loring. 

1822 John C. Gray. 

1823 Charles Pelham Curtis. 

1824 Francis Bassett. 

1825 Charles Sprague. 

1826 Josiah Quincy, Mayor. 



1827 William Powell Mason. 

1828 Bradford Sumner. 

1829 James T. Austin. 

1830 Alexander H. Everett. 

1831 Rev. John G. Palfrey. 

1832 Josiah Quincy, jr. 

1833 Edward G. Prescott. 

1834 Richard S. Fay. 

1835 George S. HiUard. 

1836 Henry W. Kinsman. 

1837 Jonathan Chapman. 

1838 Rev. Hubbard Winslow. 

1839 Ivers James Austin. 

1840 Thomas Power. 

1841 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1842 Horace Mann. 

1843 Charles Francis Adams. 

1844 Peleg W. Chandler. 

1845 Charles Sumner. 

1846 Fletcher Webster. 

1847 Thomas G. Carey. 

1848 Joel Giles. 

1849 William W. Greenough. 

1850 Edwin P. Whipple. 

1851 Charles Theodore Russell. 

1852 Rev. Thomas Starr King. 

1853 Timothy Bigelow. 

1854 Rev. A. L. Stone. 

1855 Rev. A. A. Miner. 

1856 Edward Griffin Parker. 

1857 Rev. William R. Alger. 

1858 John S. Holmes. 

1859 George Sumner. 

1860 Edward Everett. 

1861 Theophilus Parsons. 

1862 George Ticknor Curtis. 

1863 Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

1864 Thomas Russell. 

1865 Rev. Jacob M. Manning. 

1866 Rev. S. K. Lothrop. 

1867 Rev. George H. Hepworth. 

1868 Samuel Eliot. 

1869 Ellis W. Morton. 

1870 WUliam Everett. 



144 



MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 



ORATORS OF BOSTON. — Concluded. 



1871 Horace Binney Sargent. 

1872 Charles Francis Adams, jr. 

1873 Rev. John F. W. Ware. 

1874 Richard Frothingham. 

1875 Rev. James Freeman Clarke. 

1876 Robert C. Winthrop. 

1877 William Wirt Warren. 

1878 Joseph Healey. 

1879 Henry Cabot Lodge. 

1880 Robert Dickson Smith. 

1881 George Washington Warren. 

1882 John Davis Long. 

1883 Rev. H. Bernard Carpenter. 

1884 Harvey N. Shepard. 

1885 Thomas J. Gargan. 

1886 George Fred Williams. 

1887 John E. Fitzgerald. 

1888 William E. L. Dillaway. 

1889 John L. Swift. 

1890 Albert E. Pillsbury. 

1891 Josiah Quincy. 

1892 John R. Murphy. 

1893 Henry W. Putnam. 

1894 Joseph H. O'Neil. 

1895 Rev. Adolph Augustus Berle. 

1896 John F. Fitzgerald. 

1897 Rev. Edward Everett Hale. 

1898 Rev. Denis O'Callaghan. 

1899 Nathan Matthews, jr. 

1900 Stephen O'Meara. 

1901 Curtis Guild, jr. 

1902 Joseph A. Conry. 

1903 Edwin D. Mead, 

1904 John A. Sullivan. 

1905 LeBaron B. Colt. 

1906 Timothy W. Coakley. 

1907 Rev. Edward A. Horton. 

1908 Arthur D. Hill. 

1909 Arthur L. Spring. 

1910 James H. Wolff. 

1911 Charles William Eliot. 

1912 Joseph C. Pelletier. 

1913 Grenville S. MacFarland. 



1914 Rev. James A. Supple. 

1915 Louis D. Brandeis. 

1916 Joe Mitchell Chappie. 

1917 Daniel J. Gallagher. 

1918 William H. P. Faunce. 

1919 Charles Ambrose DeCourcy. 

1920 Jacob L. Wiseman. 

1921 Lemuel H. Murlin. 

1922 Jeremiah E. Burke. 

1923 Rev, Charles W. Lyons. 

1924 Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell. 

1925 Thomas H. Dowd, 

1926 Andrew J. Peters, 

1927 William McGinnis. 

1928 Edith Nourse Rogers, 

1929 Robert Luce, 

1930 Herbert Parker. 

1931 David I. Walsh. 

1932 Robert E. Rogers, 

1933 Joseph A. Tomasello. 

1934 His Eminence William Car- 

dinal O'Connell, Arch- 
bishop of Boston, 

1935 Albert Bushnell Hart. 

1936 Paris S, Malouf. 

1937 Louis J. A. Mercier. 

1938 David I. Walsh, 

1939 Stephen F, Chadwick, 

1940 John P. Sullivan. 

1941 Daniel L. Marsh. 

1942 Gerald F. Coughlin. 

1943 John W. McCormack. 

1944 Francis Maloney. 

1945 His Excellency Richard J. 

Gushing, D. D,, Arch- 
bishop of Boston. 

1946 John F. Kennedy. 

1947 Judge Robert Gardiner Wil- 

son, jr. 

1948 Hon. James M. Curley. 

1949 Most Reverend John J. 

Wright, D. D., Auxiliary 
Bishop of Boston, 



Index. 

A. 

Page 

Aldermen, Chairmen of the Board of, 1855 to 1909 . . 139, 140 

Amended City Charter of 1909 (with amendments to 1947) . . 15-31 

Appeal, Board of 45 

Art Department 36 

Assessing Department 37, 38 

Attendance, Supervisors of (School Committee) .... 94 

Auditing Department 38 

B. 

Births, Registrar of 78 

Boards and Commissions serving without pay ; 

Art Commission 36 

Boston Housing Authority 108, 109 

City of Boston Board of Recreation 122, 123 

City Hospital Trustees 51 

City Planning Department 46, 47 

Finance Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 101 

Franklin Foundation Members 104 

Library Trustees 54 

Park Commissioners (the two members other than Chair- 
man) 59 

Public Welfare Overseers 72, 73 

Real Estate Commission (the four members other than Chair- 
man) 77, 78 

School Buildings 98, 99 

School Committee 92-98 

Sinking Funds Commission 79 

Statistics Trustees (the four members other than Chairman), 79 

White Fund Trustees 106, 107 

Zoning Adjustment 38-40 

Boston City Record (official weekly of City) . . 18, 23, 24, 25, 35, 80 

Boston Housing Authority 108, 109 

Boston Metropolitan District 110 

Boston, origin and growth of 4, 5 

Boston Retirement Board 40, 41 

Boston Traffic Commission 41 , 42 

Bridge and Ferry Division, Public Works Dept 74 

Brighton (Wards 21 and 22) : 

Municipal Court of 115 

Public Schools in 93 

Budget Department 42, 43 

Building Code 43, 44 

Building Department 43, 44 

Board of Examiners 44 

(145) 



146 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

C. 

Charlestown (Ward 2): Page 

Municipal Court of 115 

Public Schools in 93 

City Charter 15-31 

City Clerk Department 45, 46 

City Council of 1949 . . 11, 12, 137 

Committees of 14 

Officers of 13 

President of 11 

City Council, Presidents of, 1910-1949 142 

City Government, 1949 11, 12 

City Governments, 1909 to 1949 127-137 

City Hospital 51, 52 

City Messenger 13 

City officials in charge of executive departments .... 32-34 

City, origin and growth of 4, 5 

City Planning Department 46, 47 

City Proper (Wards 3 and 5): 

Public Schools in 93 

City Record (Boston City Record) 80 

City Seal, origin of and present form 2, 3 

City Solicitor, office of, abolished 54 

Clerk of Committees (City Council) 13 

Collateral Loan Company Ill 

Collecting Department 47 

Common Council : 

Presidents of, 1822-1909 140, 141 

Conveyancers, City (Law Dept.) 54 

Corporation Counsel (Law Dept.) 53, 54 

County of Suffolk: 

Auditor Ill 

Commissioners Ill 

Court House Commission 109, 110 

District Attorney Ill 

Index Commissioners 112 

Treasurer Ill 

Courts and Officers of: 

Land Court 112 

Register of Deeds 112 

Sheriff 112 

D. 

Deaths, Registrar of 78 

Deeds, Register of (Suffolk County) 112 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list) : 

Art 36 



INDEX — D. 147 

Page 

Departments and Commissions of the City (alphabetical list). — Concl. 

Assessing 37, 38 

Auditing 38 

Budget 42,43 

Building 43, 44 

City Clerk 45, 46 

City Planning 46, 47 

Collecting 47 

Election 47, 48 

Finance Commission 101, 102 

Fire 48-50 

Franklin Foundation ........ 104-106 

Health 50, 51 

Hospital 51, 52 

Institutions 52, 53 

Law 53, 54 

Library 54-59 

Licensing Board 102-104 

Mayor 35 

Park 59-70 

Penal Institutions 70 

Police 99-101 

Printing 70, 71 

Public Buildings 71, 72 

Public Welfare 72, 73 

Public Works 73-77 

Registry 78 

Retirement Board 40, 41 

School Buildings , . . 98, 99 

School Committee 92-98 

Sinking Funds 79 

Statistics 79, 80 

Street Laying-Out 80-82 

Supply 83 

Traffic 41, 42 

Transit 83 

Treasury 83,84 

Veterans Services (Soldiers' ReHef) 84 

Weights and Measures 84, 85 

District Attorney (Suffolk County) , . m 

Assistants Ill 

Dorchester (Wards 13-17) : 

Municipal Court of 115 

Public Schools in 93 94 



148 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

E. 

Paqb 
East Boston (Ward 1): 

District Court of 115 

Public Schools in 93 

Election Department 47, 48 

Employment Bureau 122 

Examiners, Board of (Building Dept.) 44 

Executive Departments of City 35-85 

Executive Officers, with term, etc 32-34 



F. 

Ferries owned by City 74 

Finance Commission 101, 102 

Fire Department, with officials, etc . 48-50 

Firemen's Relief Fund 50 

Flag Days 71 

Fourth of July Orators appointed by City Government . . 143, 144 

Franklin Foundation 104 

Franklin Technical Institute (Franklin Union) . . 104-106 



G. 

Government of Boston, 1949 11, 12 

Government of Boston, Members of, 1909-1949 . . . 128-137 



H. 

Health Department 50, 51 

Highway Division, Public Works Dept 74 

Hospital Department (City Hospital) 51, 52 

Sanatorium Division 52 

South Department 52 

House of Correction, Deer Island 70 

Housing Authority, Boston - 108, 109 

Hyde Park (Ward 18, part) : 

Municipal Court of (with W. Roxbury) ..... 116 

Public Schools in 94 

I. 

Index Commissioners (Suffolk County) . . . . . 112 

Insolvency and Probate, Court of 114 

Institutions Department: 

Commissioner of ... 52 

Long Island Hospital 52 



INDEX — J-L-M-0. 149 

J. 

Page 

Jailer and Sheriff (Suffolk County) 112 

Jamaica Plain (Ward 19) : 

Public Schools in . . 93 

July Fourth, Orators appointed by the City .... 143, 144 

Justices of Municipal Courts 114-116 

Juvenile Court 116 

L. 

Land Court (Suffolk County) . 112 

Law Department 53, 54 

Library Department 54-59 

Central and Branch libraries of 55-59 

Officials and Trustees of 54 

Trust fimds, appropriation, etc 58 

Volumes, number belonging and circulated .... 58 
License and Permit Fees: 

Board of Examiners (Building Dept.) 44 

Public Works Dept 73, 74 

Licensing Board 102-104 

Licensing Division, Mayor's Office (Amusement licenses) . . 35 

Loan Association, Workingmen's Ill 

Loan Company, Collateral Ill 

M. 

Market Division (Public Buildings Dept.) 72 

Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets 72 

Marriage Certificates, Licenses (Registry Dept.) . . . . 78 

Mayor: 

Department of . 35 

City Record (Editorial Office) 35, 80 

Office staff of . 35 

Public Celebrations, etc 35 

Mayors of Boston, 1822 to 1949 138, 139 

Medical Examiners (Suffolk Coimty) 118 

Mortuaries (Suffolk County) 118 

Municipal Court: 

Boston Proper 114 

Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, East Boston, Rox- 

bury 115 

South Boston, West Roxbury 116 

Justices of (regular and special) 114-116 

Probation officers of 116-118 

Municipal Employment Bureau 122 

O. 

Old South Association 110 

Orators of Boston since 1771 143, 144 

Overseers of Public Welfare 72, 73 

Temporary Home and Wayfarers' Lodge in charge of . . 73 



150 MUNICIPAL REGISTER. 

P. 

Page 

Park Department . . . . . 59-70 

Commissioners and chief officials of 59 

Penal Institutions Department 70 

Pensions for retired teachers ........ 98 

Planning Department, City 46, 47 

Police Department 99-101 

Commissioner and chief officials of 99 

Police Listing Board 48 

Printing Department 70, 71 

Probate and Insolvency, Court of 114 

Probation officers (Suffolk County) 117, 118 

Public Buildings Department 71, 72 

Superintendent and Chief Officials of 71 

Public Library (Library Dept.) 54-59 

Public Works Department . 73-77 

Bridge and Ferry Division of <= 74 

Highway Division of 74 

Lamps, street, number and varieties maintained by . . 75 

Sanitary Division of 75 

Sewer Division of 75, 76 

Water Division of 76, 77 

R. 

Real Estate Commission 77, 78 

Recreation Board 122, 123 

Refuse, removal of 75 

Register of Deeds (Suffolk County) 112 

Registry Department 78 

City Registrar of births, marriages and deaths ... 78 

Retirement Board . 40, 41 

Roslindale (Wards 20 and 21): 

Public Schools in 93 

Roxbury (Wards 8-12) : 

Municipal Court of 115 

Public Schools in 93 

S. 

Sanitary Division (Public Works Dept.) 75 

School Buildings, Dept. of 98, 99 

School Committee 92-98 

Department of, with officials 92 

Elementary and Intermediate School districts . . . . 93, 94 

High and Latin Schools 93 

Industrial and special schools • 94-97 

Pensions and retirement funds for teachers .... 98 



INDEX — T-V-W-Z. 151 

School Committee. — Condvded. Page 

School Physicians and School Nurses 94, 95 

Special departments 94-97 

The Teachers College of the City of Boston .... 93 

Seal of the City, origin of and present form 2, 3 

Sewer Division (Public Works Dept.) 75, 76 

Sheriff of Suffolk County 112 

Sinking Fimds Department 79 

South Boston (Wards 6 and 7) : 

Municipal Court of 116 

Public Schools in , . 93 

South End (Wards 3, 4, 9): 

Public Schools in 93 

Statistics Department 79, 80 

City Record 80 

Street Commissioners (Street Laying-Out Dept.) .... 80-82 

Suffolk County (County of Suffolk) 111-114 

Superior Court, justices and clerks of 113 

Supply Department 83 

Supreme Judicial Court, Justices and clerks of 113 

T. 

Traffic Commission 41, 42 

Transit Department . 83 

Treasury Department 83, 84 

V. 

Various City, County and State Officials 90, 91 

Veterans' Graves Registration 122 

Veterans Services Department 84 

W. 

Water Division (Public Works Dept.) 76, 77 

Water used in 1948, average gallons daily 77 

Weights and Measures Department 84, 85 

West Roxbury (Wards 19 and 20) : 

Municipal Court of 116 

Public Schools in 93 

White Fund, George Robert 106, 107 

Workingmen's Loan Association Ill 

Z. 

Zoning Adjustment, Board of 30-40 

Members of 39 

Zonmg Regulations 39, 40 

CITT OF BOSTON g^^^d PRINTING DEPARTMENT 



, Js>