(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Occupants and structures of Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, North Carolina at 5-year intervals, 1793-1998"

THE LIBRARY OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF 

NORTH CAROLINA 

AT CHAPEL HILL 




THE COLLECTION OF 
NORTH CAROLINIANA 

PRESENTED BY 

Chapel Hill Historical Society 



C971.68 
C46b 



FOR USE ONLY IN 
THE NORTH CAROLINA COLLECTION 



Form No. A-368, Rev. 8/95 



OCCUPANTS AND STRUCTURES OF 

FRANKLIN STREET, CHAPEL HILL, 

NORTH CAROLINA AT 5-YEAR 

INTERVALS, 1793-1998 



by 

Bernard Lee Bryant, Jr. 

1998 



Xerox copy on 100% cotton paper of 

Mr. Bryant's original computer printout 

by J. D. Eyre, Chapel Hill Historical 

Society, 1999. 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 



http://archive.org/details/occupantsstructuOObrya 



CMb 



A 

Gift 

From 




The 

Chapel Hill 
Historical 
Society 



Boundary St. entrance of Chapel Hill Museum 

Post Office Box 9032 

Chapel Hill. North Carolina 27515-9032 

(919) 929-1793 






FRANKLIN STREET 

CHAPEL HILL, NORTH CAROLINA 

1793-1998 



Dear Reader, 

My wife, Janet Meeks Bryant, better known as "Jigger", lived in Chapel Hill m the early 
1940's. She and her family moved to Norfolk, Virginia in 1945. We met there in 1950. 
married m 1953, and lived on Long Island in New York for the next 39 years. In the 
interim her family returned to Chapel HilL When we retired in 1992, we also chose to \s\a 
in the "southern part of heaven", among family and many of my wife's childhood friends. 

Conversation between old friends often turns to shared memories of early days and 
pleasant times. My wife and her friends are no exception, and the memories of their 
youth, more often than not, center on Franklin Street Sadly, the Franklin Street in their 
mind's eye, is not one I am able to visit Their street is a gender place, a place for families. 
The street I see, while similar, has a slightly harder edge. 

They "hung out" in the Varsity - a soda shop, not a theatre: played ping pong at the 
Recreation Center; bowled at "Bowling Carolina" just west of University Florist; saw 
movies at the Village and Pick theatres; and attended high school in the "Cone" house. 
Their street had drugstores, grocery stores, department stores, hardware stores, bakeries, 
and 5 & 10c stores. The merchants had faces and names; Eubank*; Foister; Sloan. 
Pritchard; Wooten & Moulton; Fowler; Berman; Andrews-Hsnniager: Lacock; Danziger; 
just to name a few. 

Unfortunately, these "institutions" are gone. Memories remain, but otsiy in the rnmds of 
an ever dirriinishing number of people - and memory is suspect And what of -earlier 
"institutions", and earlier names; McCauley; Kluttz; IviacRae; Patterson; Phillips; Shields '? 
They're hardly remembered at all. I smiled when I read a sentence in "When Chapel Hill 
Was A Village", by Cornelia Spencer Love. Referring to the shops on Franklin Street, she 
said. " I may not be naming the stores in exact order or even in chrcnolgicai co-existence, 
but this is not important" She meant, of course, that the people were trnportefii - not their 
precise location in time and space To me. an engineer, their precise location in time and 
space is very important. 

One pleasant aspect of retirement is that you have time tor the things yoa enjoy. Sines i 
enjoy research and the genealogy of people, I decided to attempt a genealogy' of Franklin 
Street. I chose what I felt would be the most interesting section; Ivfcrritt Mill Road at the 
west end to Boundary Street at the east end, and the period of* time: 1793 - 1998. 
Frequency of presentation was a more difficult decision but. after gathering data and 
getting a feel for the rate of change,, five year segments seemed a good choice. 

I've read everything I could find. A list of references is included. There are mistakes 
and omissions, but net as many as I would have thought when I tirst started. I have had to 
accept some limitation,? in the use of the computer spreadsheet - ail stores are no* the same 
voidth. One other license I took was to reduce the proportionate distance between 
Henderson Street and Boundary Street by about 13%. This is the least populated area and 
the compression permitted a reduction in the number of pages, while hopefully not 
compromising the data. 



Bernard Lee Bryant Jr. 
Octobsr27, iv9? 



FRANKLIN STREET 

CHAPEL HILL, NORTH CAROLINA 



This is not the story of a city, or a town, or a village, or even of the inhabitants. It is 
just the story of one particular street, slightly over a mile in length, that has watched as 
hundreds of thousands of people have come and gone and has changed its character to 
satisfy their needs. Little will be mentioned of adjoining streets and little will be told of the 
people that populate the street, prior to their arrival or after their departure. 

The mapping, which is presented in five-year segments, is incrementally expanded to 
Merritt Mill Road as the development of West Franklin proceeds. Starting with 1798, 
changes from one five-year period to the next are typed in bold print. Structures are 
indicated by the (#) mark until 1928, when street numbers were first assigned. 



1793 



In the beginning there was a narrow rutted dirt road. Virgin forest covered the land as 
far as one could see and, in summer, leafy branches arching over the road offered cooling 
shade for the few travellers that passed that way. A small crude log cabin set back in a 
partial clearing on the south side of the road is the only visible sign of habitation as one 
approaches from the east. About seven-hundred yards farther, the road turns sharply to 
the south and there, to the west sits an inn, owned by James Patterson, and built about the 
rime of the Revolution. Patrons of the inn were, for the most oart travellers on the two 
mam roads which converged at the Chapel of Ease several hundred yards to the south. 

Today. October 12. 1793. there is much excitement. A large crowd, perhaps the largest 
ever assembled in the area, has gathered at the inn. At noon, after a call to order, a 
procession forms and the group heads east along the dusty road. About halfway to the log 
cabin the column turns south and meanders through the forest for about two-hundred 
yards. A short distance past a large poplar tree the group forms into an irregular circle and 
watches as William Richardson Davie, assisted by other Masonic officials, lays a 
cornerstone. After a simple ceremony and a concluding prayer, John Grant Rencher steps 
forward and the auction commences. 

Christopher Barbee, the largest landholder in the area, and known as ''Old Kit" in his 
later years, donated the largest tract of land, 221 acres, for the new University of North 
Carolina. Laying of the cornerstone for present-day Old East preceeded the auctioning of 
the Lots that would constitute the Village of Chapel Hill. Lots thai fronted the planned 
main street were approximately 280 feet square and contained 2 acres. Winning bids for 
the Lots were typically SI 10 to S280. The initial purchasers are indicated on the 
corresponding street map. 

James Patterson, the inn owner and planter, had signed a contract on July 17. 1793 to 
construct the building now known as Old East. For the duration of the construction 
period he resided in his inn. "Grand Avenue"', a planned park-like extension 290 feet 'Aide 
leading out from the campus and through the village, never materialized. The free space 
provided for it, between Lots #12 and -=14. was retained by the University, but was built 
upon by owners of Lot #14 as well as by the University itself, until only a narrow street 
was e\enrualh' realized. 



1793 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existant) 



Lot #5 - purchased by James Patterson 
James Patterson's Inn 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #6 - purchased by Archibald Campbell 



Lot #7 - not purchased at auction, 
(property retained by UNC trustees) 



Lot #8 - purchased by John Carnngton 
(farmer) 



(James Carnngton obtained the property 

at a sheriffs sale when his brother, John. 

could not meet his debts) 



Lot #9 - purchased by John Carrington 
(farmer) 



(James Carrington obtained the property 

at a sheriffs sale when his brother, John, 

could not meet his debts) 



Lot #1 1 - purchased by George Johnson 
(farmer) 



« To Old East 



lUYiKiica uV .V^So NvoJe 



F 
R 

O 

N 
T 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

sx 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX A, 



Lot #10 - purchased by Daniel Booth 
(merchant and planter) 



Lot 



1 purchased by Hardy Morgan 
(planter and mill owner) 



planned "Grand Avenue" 



asea Dy iainue! rl^pkn"; 



Lot # 1 5 - purchased by Nathaniel Christmas 



Lot #16 - purchased by John Daniel 
(planter and civil engineer) 



Lot #18 - purchased by William Henry Hill 



XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
OCCCCXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

1XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #17 - not purchased at auction, 
(property retained by UNC trustees) 



Log Cabin 



Lot #19 - purchased by John Grant Rene her 
(auctioneer) 



Lot #20 - purchased by John Grant Rencher 
(auctioneer) 



Lot ^21 - purchased by Chesley Page Patterson 
(planter) 



Lot #23 - not purchased at aucuon. 
(property retained by UNC trustees) 



F 
R 

O 

N 

r 
s 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #22 - purchased by Chesley Page Pattersor 
(planter) 



Lot #24 - purchased by John Caldwell 
(planter) 



ICXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXX\[XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned KXKXKXSXK 17<>3 



1794-1798 



William Nimn, a captain in the Revototionaiy War and a former sheriff of Orange 
County, purchased Patterson's inn in 1795. He, and his wife "Betsy", enlarged the lodging 
area and added a tavern. In 1797, Nuim purchased Lot #6 from Archibald Campbell. 

John Taylor Sr., Revolutionary War veteran, local farmer, and father of John Taylor, 
one of the first students to enter the University, accepted the position of UNC steward in 
1795, contracting to serve three meals per day for $30 per student per year. Taylor, 
known as "Buck", purchased Lot #13 from Jesse Neville in 1796. In 1798. due to 
continuing complaints by the students about the poor quality of food, his position as 
steward was terminated and he was replaced by Major Pleasant Henderson. 

Major Pleasant Henderson, himself a Revolutionery War veteran, companion of Daniel 
Boone, and former private secretary to the governor of North Carolina, Alexander Martin, 
had moved to Chapel Hill in 1797. He purchased Lot #12 from Samuel Hopkins, who had 
previously purchased it from Hardy Morgan in 1794. Henderson built a seven-room house 
and a general store on, what would become much later, the northwest corner of Henderson 
Street 

John Caldwell constructed a small house on the eastern half of Lot #24 and sold the 
western half of the property to Dennis Smelt. In 1796, Samuel Hopkins sold the western 
half of Lot #14 to William Henry Haywood. The eastern half of the property was 
occupied, but not necessarily owned, by Bennett Watson. 

The University officially opened on January 15. 1795. The first student Hinton James, 
arrived February 12, 1795. David Ker, the first "Presiding Professor", was determined to 
be unsuitable and was replaced in early 1796 by Charles Harris. Harris lasted less than six 
months and was followed by Joseph Caldwell. Caldwell, dissatisfied with many members 
of the faculty, resigned his leadership role in 1797, but continued on as Professor of 
Mathematics. In 1798, Caldwell purchased Lot #19 from John Grant Rencher, possibly as 
a site for his future residence. His replacement James Smiley Gillaspie, was given the title, 
"Principal of the University". 

No other major construction took place along the street during this five-year period. 
The Lots were either retained by the University, retained by the original purchasers, or sold 
as indicated. 



<r 



Lot #6 - owned by William Nunn 
(purchased from Archibald Campbell) 



Lot #9 - owned by John McCauley 
(purchased from James Carrington) 



Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 
(purchased from George Johnson) 



« To Old East 



Lot #13 - owned by John Taylor Sr 
(purchased from Jesse Neville) 



Lot #8 - owned by Matthew McCauley 
(purchased from James Carrington) 



Lor #10 - owned bv Daniel Booth 



T7V8 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existant) 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by LJNC trustees 

(owners William and Betsy Nunn) 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

F 
R 

o 

N 
T 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #12 - owned by Major Pleasant Henderson 
(purchased from Samuel Hopkins) 



Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 
Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 



planned "Grand Avenue'' 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by William Henry Haywood 
(purchased from Samuel Hopkins) 



Lot #15 - owned by Augustus Benton 
(purchased from Nathaniel Christmas) 



Lot #16 - owned by Robert Campbell 
(purchased from John Daniel 



XX 1/2 Lot #14 occupied by Bennett Watson 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

v XXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #17 - retained by UNC trustees 
Log Cabin 



Lot #18 - owned by William Henry Hill 



Lot #19 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 
(purchased from John Grant Rencher) 



Lot #20 - owned by John Grant Rencher 



Lot #21 - owned by Chesley Page Patterson 



Lot #23 - retained by UNC trustees 



F 
R 
O 

N 
T 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #22 - owned by Chesley Page Patterson 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Dennis Smelt 
(purchased from John Caldwell) 



Residence - John Caldwell 



XXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX\^\^\X:C^XX\'XXXXX PS.u^tM XXXXXXXXXX 1798 



1799-1803 



It had become evident, even as early as 1795, that many students entering the 
University were not prepared for the demanding curriculum. Accordingly, it was decided 
to add a Preparatory Department or "Grammar" School. Initially, this facility was housed 
on campus but, in 1802, it was moved off campus and into a new two-story 30 foot square 
frame building which the University had constructed in the woods on the "Grand Avenue" 
property. 

A student uprising in 1799 resulted in the removal of James Smiley Gillaspie as the, 
"Principal of the University", and the re-appointment of Joseph Caldwell as, "Presiding 
Professor". 

By 1799, John Taylor Sr. had built a tavern on Lot #13 and, by 1803, John McCauley 
had built a store on the northeastern comer of Lot #11. 

In 1799, Augustus Benton purchased Lot # 20 from John Grant Rencher. In 1801, 
.Archibald Reeves purchased the eastern half of Lot #14 from James Mitchell who had 
obtained it at a sheriffs sale while Bennett Watson was occupying it. In 1803, Thomas 
Edwards purchased Lot #9 from John CaldwelL who had earlier purchased it from John 
McCauley. Charles Collier purchased Lot #17 from the University in 1803 and, that same 
year, assigned the property to Augustus Benton, who immediately passed the property to 
his mother, Frances Benton. 



1803 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existant) 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 

(owners William and Betsy Nunn) 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #6 - owned by William Nunn 



Lot #8 - owned by Matthew McCauley 



Lot #9 - owned by Thomas Edwards 

(purchased from John Caldwell who had 

purchased it from John McCauley) 



Lot #10 - owned by Daniel Booth 



Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 



John McCauley - Store 



« To Old East 
John Taylor Sr. - Tavern 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

x\ 

XX 
XX 



Lot #12 - owned by Major Pleasant Henderson 



4 Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 

# Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 



UNC Preparatory "Grammar" School 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by William Henry Haywood 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Archibald Reeves 



Lot #15 - owned by Augustus Benton 



Lot #16 - owned by Robert Campbell 



Lot #18 - owned by William Henry Hill 



ipurcbased Iroai James Mitchell) 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX» TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
Lot # 1 9 - owned by Joseph Caldwell XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XX 



Lot #17 - owned by Frances Benton 

Log Cabin 



Lot #20 - owned by Augustus Benton 
(purchased from John Grant Rencher) 



Lot #21 - owned by Chesley Page Patterson 



Lot #23 - retained bv UNC trustees 



F 
R 
O 

N 
T 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx a 

XX ' 



Lot #22 - owned by Chesley Page Patterson 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned bv Dennis Smelt 



Residence - John Caldwell 



XXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXX 1803 



1804-1808 



William Nunn died about 1805. His wife, "Betsy", retained ownership of Lot #5 and 
continued to operate the tavern and inn. Lot #6 passed to William's son, David, who also 
acquired the adjacent Lot #9 at a sheriffs sale in 1807. 

John McCauley sold the eastern half of Lot #11, in 1804, to William Richardson Davie. 
James Hogg, of Wilmington, N.C., obtained the property from Davie, that same year, 
when Hojgj's son, Gavin, entered the University. Hogg built a large ten-room house which 
might have been an extension of John McCauley's store that had been built, earlier, in the 
same general location. In 1806, Hogg, in financial difficulty, sold his property to William 
Norwood, but continued to live in the house. 

John Taylor Sr. purchased Lot #18, in 1804, from William Henry Hill, and Lot #15, in 
1806, from his son-in-law, Augustus Benton. Frederick ColHer, in 1806, obtained Lot #20 
from Augustus Benton. That same year, John Dixon and John Adams, who had 
previously acquired Lot #10, sold the western half of the property to William Whitted and 
John Craig. John Adams retained the eastern half. 

By 1808, Helen Hogg Hooper, widow of William Hooper U, had moved to Chapel Hill 
from Hillsborough. Her son, William Hooper m, was attending the University, and they 
were living in a house on Lot #19. It is not known whether she or Joseph Caldwell owned 
the property at that time. William Hooper I, Helen Hogg's father-in-law, had moved to 
Hillsborough from Wilmington N. C, and was a signer of The Declaration of 
Independence. 

The name "Franklin Street" appeared in documents as early as 1 806. 



10 



1 




1808 








Franklin Street Frontage 




Columbia Street ( 


unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existant) 


Nunn's Tavern & Inn 








Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 


(owner Betsy Nunn) 

# 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 










<XX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Lot #6 - owned by David Nunn 




XX 




Lot #8 - owned by Matthew McCauiey 


(inherited from William Nunn) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 










XX 




1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Wm. Whitted & John Craig 






XX 




(purchased from John DLxon) 






XX 






Lot #9 - owned by David Nunn 




XX 






(purchased at a sheriffs sale) 




XX 










F 
R 
A 

N 




1/2 Lot #10 - owned by John Adams 














K 
L 

I 














N 






1/2 Lot #11 - owned by John McCauiey 




S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 






Residence - James Hogg 


a 






(property owned by William Norwood) 




XX 
XX 


# 


Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 






XX 
XX 


# 


Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


n 


UNC Preparatory "Grammar" School 






XX 










XX 

XX 










« To Old East 




XX 
XX 




1/2 Lot #14 - owned by William Henry Haywood 


John Taylor Sr. - Tavern 


■4 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 

II 




1/2 Lot "14 - owned by Archibald Reeves 



Lot #15 - owned by John Taylor Sr. 
(purchased from Augustus Benton) 



Lot #16 - owned by Robert Campbell 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

COO<XXXXXXXXXPlcmnedXXXXXXXXXXXl<XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX Lot #20 - owned by Frederick Collier 

XX (purchased from Augustus Benton) 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #17 - owned by Frances Benton 
Log Cabin 



Lot #18 - owned by JohnTaylor Sr. 
(purchased from William Henry Hill) 



Residence - Helen Hogg Hooper 



Lot #21 - owned by Chesley Page Patterson 



Lot #23 - retained by UNC trustees 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot «22 - owned bv Chesley Paae Patterson 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Dennis Smelt 



Residence - John Caldwell 



XXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXX?C^XXX^C>^C^XXX\?C^XXXXXXXXXXXX7C^XX Panned XXXXXXXXX 18«S 



1809-1813 



Joseph Caldwell, in 1804, had become the first to hold the title, President of the 
University of North Carolina. He married Helen Hogg Hooper in 1809, and moved from 
the President's House, on campus, to Helen's residence on Franklin Street. The house and 
property were apparently already owned by Caldwell. In 1812, weary of administrative 
duties, Caldwell once again resigned the presidency and, this time, was replaced by his 
friend, Robert Hett Chapman, who moved into the original President's House. 

There were numerous property transactions during this five-year period. Elias Haws, in 

1809, purchased Lot #6 from David Nunn, and Lot #20 from Frederick Collier. In 1810, 
William Whitted and John Craig sold the western half of Lot #10 to James Putney. That 
same year, the property was acquired by Edward Robson who then sold it to Major 
Pleasant Henderson and Joseph Caldwell. Robson also purchased, in 1810, the western 
half of Lot #22 from Chesley Page Patterson. Joseph Caldwell added to his property 
holdings by purchasing Lot #21 from Chesley Page Patterson, and obtaining Lot #23 from 
the University either by purchase or through service. It is likely, although not proven, that 
Caldwell also purchased the eastern half of Lot #22 from Chesley Page Patterson since, at 
Caldwell's death, this property along with his others passed to his heir, William Hooper fll, 

James Hogg, who was apparently not related to Helen Hogg Hooper, was bankrupt in 

1810. The purchase of the house and property by Hogg's son, Gavin, permitted the 
parents to remain in their home. 

Thomas (Tom) H. Taylor built and ran a shoe store on the western half of Lot #14. 
His father, John Taylor Sr., had purchased the property from William Henry Haywood in 

1812. In 1813, .Archibald Reeves sold the eastern half of Lot #14 to Edmund R. Pitt. 

During construction of the building that now houses the Carolina Coffee Shop, a large 
amount of sawdust was uncovered, indicating the earlier existence of a sizeable sawmill. In 

1813, William Watson came to Chapel Hill to work on the construction of the South 
Building. He opened a lumber yard in partnership with William Barbee, the son of 
Christopher "Old Kit" Barbee. Their lumber yard provided a large quanity of the lumber 
used in local construction. It's location is not known but could possibly have been adjacent 
to the sawmill. It is so indicated, but with an (*). 



n 



1813 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existant) 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 

(owner Betsy Nunn) 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #6 - owned by Ellas Haws 
(purchased from David Nunn) 



Lot #8 - owned by Matthew McCauley 



William Watson & William Barbee - Sawmill 



Lot #9 - owned by David Nunn 



1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Joseph Caldwell & Pleasant 
Henderson (purchased from Edward Rob son) 



1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 



Residence - James Hogg 
(owned by Gavin Hogg) 



« To Old East 
John Taylor Sr. - Tavern 



S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX fj 



1/2 Lot #10 - owned by John Adams 



Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 
Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 



UNC Preparatory "Grammar" School 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by JohnTaylor Sr. 
(purchased from Wiliiam Henry Haywood) 

Thomas H. X jj!or - Shoe Store 

1/2 Lot if 14 - owned by Edmund R. Pin 







XX 


(purchased from Archibald Reeves) 






XX 








XX 
XX 












XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 




Lot #15 - owned by John Taylor Sr. 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


Lot #16 - owned by Robert Campbell 










XX 








XX 








XX 




Lot #1 7 - owned by Frances Benton 




XX 








XX 


Lot #18 - owned by JohnTaylor Sr. 


" Log Cabin 


4 


XX 




3 




XX 








XX 




I 




XX 




'' XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 




XX 




xxxxx 


KXXXXXXXX 


XKXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 






XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 








xx- 








xx 




Residence - Joseph Caldwell 


# 


XX 




(former President of TJNC) 




XX 


Lot #20 - owned by Elias Haws 






XX 


(purchased from Frederick (oilier) 






XX 








xx- 








xx 








XX 

F 












R 








A 








N 


1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Edward Robson 






K 
L 

I 


(purchased from Chesley Page Patterson) 


Lot #21 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 






(purchased from Chesley Page Patterson) 




N 








s 


1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 






r 

R 
E 
£ 


purchased from Chesley Page Patterson 






T 
XX 








XX 


1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Dennis Smelt 






XX 








XX 




Lot #2 J - owned by Joseph Caldwell 




XX 




(obtained from the University) 




XX 
XX 

XX 








XX 


# Residence - John Caldwell 






XX 








XX 








XX 




xxxx. xxxxxxx Planned x-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx*: 


iXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXX 1813 



(5 



1814-1818 



William Hooper HI married Frances Pollack Jones in 1814. That same year, he built 
his house on the western half of Lot #21, which was property owned by his step-father, 
Joseph Caldwell. Caldwell was reinstated as UNC President in 1816. 

In 1814, William Barbee purchased Lot #6 from Elias Haws. That same year, David 
Nunn, the owner of Lot #9, died. By 1818, Sarah Mitchell, a widow, had her residence on 
Lot #9 and was taking in boarders. 

Thomas H. Taylor, in 1814, purchased the western half of Lot #14 from his father, 
John Taylor Sr., and Lot #17 from Frances Benton. Thomas was the brother-in-law of 
Frances' son, Augustus. Initially, Thomas enlarged the log cabin on Lot #17. and later built 
a much larger house using the smaller structure as a core. 

Matthew McCauley rented the southwestern corner of Lot #8 to Christopher "Old Kit" 
Barbee for his blacksmith shop. The frontage of the blacksmith shop on Franklin Street 
was 33 feet. McCauley sold a 20 foot by 30 foot section in the southeastern corner of the 
property to James Thompson and George Trice who built and operated a store on the 20 
foot Franklin Street frontage.. 

In 1815. the eastern half of Lot #24 was sold at a sheriffs sale to James Child who then 
assigned the property to Thomas Hatch. The dwelling that had been built some years 
earlier on this property by John Caldwell had either been moved or razed. About this same 
time, the University gained possession of the western half of Lot #24. 

Jane Puckett, a widow, built her home on the western half of Lot #22, after purchasing 
the property from John Craig in 1817. Craig had previously purchased the property from 
Edward Robson in 1815. 

Edmund R. Pitt built his home on Lot #18, which he had purchased from John Tavlor 
Sr. 

By 1818, Major Pleasant Henderson was the sole owner of the western half of Lot #10. 
The eastern half of Lot #10 was the subject of several transactions during this period. By 
1816, John Adams had conveyed the property to Edward Robson. Robson had operated a 
store on the property and had kept the post office there. In 1816, Robson sold the 
property to Thomas H. Taylor, except for a small section in the southeastern corner which 
he had previously sold to Edmund R. Pitt. In early 1817. Thomas H. Taylor was living on 
this property. In late 1817, Thomas H. Taylor sold the property to Abraham Craig. It was 
probably at this time that Taylor moved to his new residence on Lot #17. 



((, 



1818 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-existanf) 



Nunn's Tavern & Inn 








Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 


(owner Betsy Nunn) 

# 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 










XXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


# 


Christopher Barbee - Blacksmith Shop 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Lot #6 - owned by William Bar bee 




XX 




Lot #8 - owned by Matthew McCauley 


(purchased from Ellas Haws) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




(except for 20* by 30' section sold to 
JamesThompson and George Trice) 






XX 
XX 


# 


Thompson & Trice - Store 






Residence - Sarah Mitchell 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 


# 


1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Major Pleasant Henderson 

Residence - Abraham Craig 
(purchased from Thomas H. Taylor) 

property owned by Edmund R. Pitt 










N 






1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 




S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 






Residence - James Hogg 


H 






(owned by Gavui Hogg) 




XX 

XX 


H 


Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 






XX 
XX 


n 


Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 










xx- 










xx 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


4 


UNC Preparatory "Grammar" School 






XX 










XX 
XX 










« To Old East 




XX 

xx- 




1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 


John Taylor Sr. - Tavern 


•rl 


xx 

XX 




(purchased from John Taylor Sr.) 






XX 


# 


Thomas H. Taylor - Shoe Store 






XX 










xx |7 




1/2 Lot #14- owned by Edmund R. Pitt 



Lot # 1 5 - owned by John Taylor Sr. 



Lot #17 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 

Residence - Thomas EL Taylor 

(purchased from Frances Benton) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #16 - owned by Robert Campbell 



Residence - Edmund R. Pitt 
(property purchased from John Taylor Sr.) 



XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX Lot #20 - owned by Elias Haws 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - UNC President Joseph Caldwell 



Residence - William Hooper III 



Lot #21 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



Lot #23 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Mrs. Jane Puckett 
(purchased from John Craig) 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Thomas Hatch 



CXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXX 1818 

IB 



1819-1823 



The University closed the "Grammar" school in 1819 and, in 1821, rented the building 
to Peyton Clements, a professional hunter who provided game to the University and to the 
local boarding houses. 

In 1819, Thomas Hatch sold the eastern half of Lot #24 to William Mason; Robert 
Campbell sold Lot #16 to George W. Trice who in turn sold it to Harrison Trice; and 
Joseph Caldwell gave William Hooper m, his step-son, all of Lot #23, and the western half 
of Lot #21, on which Hooper had built his house. 

Professor Dennison Olmstead had been living in the original President's House on 
campus since joining the University in 1817. It was available since Joseph Caldwell, the 
president, chose to live on Franklin Street. When Professor Elisha Mitchell joined the 
University in 1820 he, and his bride, moved in with Olmstead. That same year, Olmstead, 
purchased the widow Puckett's house and, after making modifications, moved in leaving 
the original President's House as the long term residence for the Mitchell's. In 1822, 
Olmstead convinced the University trustees to purchase his property on Franklin Street and 
to make it available for the use of faculty. 

In 1821. John A. Ramsey purchased the southeastern comer of Lot #10 from Edmund 
R. Pitt. In 1822, Major Pleasant Henderson's debts forced him to sell the western half of 
Lot #10, and the house that was on the lot, to Benjamin Rhodes. 

In 1822, David B. Alsobrook, an attorney, purchased John Taylor Sr.'s tavern and, 
after improvements, transformed it into a popular hotel and ballroom. 

In 1822, Dr. Charles R. Yancey purchased Lot #8, less what was then known as Trice's 
store, from William McCauley, the son and heir of Matthew McCauley who had died in 
1821. Dr. Yancey then constructed a large house, barn, carriage house, smokehouse, slave 
quarters, and a separate kitchen. 

In 1 822, a third story was added to Old East and a companion structure, Old West, was 
completed. 



if 



1823 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street ( non-existant) 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 

(owner Betsy Nunn) 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

n xx 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 
(purchased from Elias Haws) 



Residence - Sarah Mitchell 



Christopher Barbee - Blacksmith Shop 



Residence - Dr. Charles Yancy 
(purchased from William M cCauley) 



Trice's Store 

1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Benjamin Rhodes 
(purchased from Major Pleasant Henderson) 

Residence - Benjamin Rhodes 



1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 



Residence - Abraham Craig 



property owned by John A. Ramsey) 
(purchased from Edmund R. Pitt) 



Residence - James Hogg 

(owned by Gavin Hogg) 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 
David B. Alsobrook - Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



# Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 

# Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 



Residence - Peyton Clements 
(property retained by UNC trustees) 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 

Thomas H. Taylor - Shoe Store 
1 '2 Lot #14 - owned bv Edmund R. Pitt 



10 



Lot #1 5 - owned by John Taylor Sr. 



Lot #16 - owned by Harrison Trice 

(purchased from George W. Trice who 

purchased it from Robert Campbell) 



Residence - Edmund R Pitt 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX # 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX» TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX Lot #20 - owned by Elias Haws 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Lot #17 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 
Residence - Thomas H. Taylor 



Residence - UNC President Joseph Caldwell 



Residence - William Hooper III 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 
(gift of Joseph Caldwell) 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Dennison Olmstead 

(purchased from Jane Puckett) 

(owned by UNC trustees) 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by William Mason 
(purchased from Thomas Hatch) 



XXXXX CXXXXXX Planned X^CCCXXXXXX^XXXXXXXXTCvX^^CC^OCXXXX^ Planned XXXXXXXXX 1823 

U 



1824-1828 



Dr. Hudson Cave, in 1823, married Adelia Barbee, the daughter of William Barbee. In 
1827, Dr. Cave purchased the eastern half of Lot #6 from his father-in-law, and built his 
house deep in the lot facing Franklin Street. 

In 1824, Dr. Charles R. Yancy sold Christopher Barbee the corner property where 
Barbee had his blacksmith shop; Harrison Trice subdivided his property into three sections; 
Thomas H. Taylor purchased at a sheriffs sale Lot #15 which had been owned by his 
father, and Lot #18 which had been owned by, the financially troubled, Edmund R. Pitt. 
Taylor subsequently sold Lot #18. in 1825, to William White. 

Professor Dennison Olmstead left the University in 1825 for a position at Yale. The 
first new occupant of the vacated UNC property was Professor James Phillips who moved 
into the house in 1826, with his wife Judith, and their three children Charles, Samuel, and 
Cornelia. 

In 1828, Major Pleasant Henderson, unable to meet payment on his considerable debt, 
turned over all of his property to William Barbee. That same year, Benjamin Rhodes 
chose a different approach to escape his unpayable debt. Rhodes, who already owned the 
western half of Lot #10, had purchased the eastern half as well, in 1824, from the heirs of 
John A. Ramsey. In 1828, as his debts increased, he was forced to sell the eastern half to 
Daniel Booth. Still in serious financial difficulty, he ran off with another man's wife. At 
the sheriffs sale of Rhodes' property, the western half of Lot #10 was purchased by Dr. 
James Webb. The occupant of the house on the lot at that time was John R. Hutchins. 

Dr. Walter A. Norwood opened a "medicine shop" about 1828, across from David B. 
Alsobrook's hotel. His shop was located on the Lot #14 property owned by Thomas H. 
Taylor, and in the approximate location of Taylor's store. Since Norwood later purchased 
the property and the store from Taylor, it is likely the structures were one and the same. 



11 



1/2 Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 



18Z8 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street (non-exlstant) 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 

(owner Betsy Nunn) 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Christopher Barbee - Blacksmith Shop 



Residence - Dr. Charles Yancy 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 
(property purchased from William Barbee) 



Residence - Sarah Mitchell 



Trice's Store 

1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Dr. James Webb 
(purchased at a sheriffs sale) 

Residence - John R. Hutchins 



Residence - Daniel Booth 

1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Daniel Booth 
(purchased from Daniel Rhodes) 



1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 



Residence - James Hogg 

(owned by Gavin Hogg) 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 
David B. Alsobrook - Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



# Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 

# Henderson's Store - General Merchandise 



£3 



Residence - Peyton Clements 
(property retained by UNC trustees) 



1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 

Dr. Walter A. Norwood - "medicine shop" 

1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Edmund R. Pitt 







XX 
XX 














XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




1/4 Lot #16 - owned by Harrison Trice 


Lot #15 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 




XX 




1/2 Lot #16 - owned by William Trice 


(purchased at a sheriff's sale) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




1/4 Lot #16 - owned by Harrison Trice 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Lot #17 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 




XX 


# 


Residence - William White 


Residence - Tom Taylor 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




(purchased from Thomas H. Taylor 
who obtained it at a sheriffs sale) 


XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXX 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President James Caldwell 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

F 




Lot #20 - owned by Elias Haws 










R 










A 


# 


Residence - Professor James Phillips 






N 
K 
L 




(property owned by UNC trustees) 


Residence - William Hooper III 


# 










N 










s 






1/2 Lot #21 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 




T 
R 
E 
E 




1/2 Lot nil - owned by Joseph Caldwell 






T 
XX 










XX 




1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 






XX 










XX 






Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 




XX 
XX 
XX 






• 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 




1/2 Lot #24 - owned by William Mason 


XXXXXXXXTXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX^^ Planned XXXXXXXXX IS 






w 







1829-1833 



By 1828, Harrison and William Trice had sold their Lot #16 property. The land 
remained undeveloped until about 1870. For interim ownership the reader is referred to 
DB: 23/182; 23/478; 24/225; and 26/49. 

In 1831, Thomas H. Taylor had sold the western half of Lot #10 and his store, which 
was on the property, to Walter A. Norwood. That same year, James Phillips purchased 
Lot #20 from Elias Haws. In 1832, John R. Hutchins purchased the western half of Lot 
#10, which included his residence, from Dr. James Webb. 

The University, in need of money, sold the "Grammar School" property in 1832. A 
small non-sectarian church, referred to as the Union Church and sometimes the Village 
Chapel, was then built on the "Grand Avenue" plot. There are no further references to the 
disposition of the "Grammar School" building but at about the same time, a two-storied 
structure of about the same size is found to exist approximately 150 feet east and in close 
proximity to Walter A. Norwood's "medicine shop". Perhaps, the school building, when 
sold, was moved just off the "Grand Avenue" plot. 

Christopher Barbee died in 1832. William Barbee had acquired his father's blacksmith 
property in 1831. Local advertising in 1833 identified William D. Kirksey as the new 
village blacksmith. 

Gavin Hogg, sold his house and property to Benton LTtley in 1832. Utley shared the 
residence with James Hogg, Gavin's father, and subsequently constructed and operated a 
dry goods store adjacent to the house. 

In 1833, Dr. Charles R. Yancy moved his household to a farm just outside of town. 
Yancy was unable to find a buyer for his Franklin Street property, and the house remained 
vacant for some time. 

Major Pleasant Henderson, still deeply in debt, moved to Tennessee in late 1833. His 
son. Dr. Alexander Martin Henderson, managed to obtain the family home from William 
McCauley. Local advertising in 1833 referred to the general store on the property as 
"Norlleet and Henderson's". 

In 1833, Isaac J. Collier and Jones Watson opened a cabinet making business on 
Franklin Street. The location of their shop is not known. Jones Watson, however, is the 
son of William Watson, whose lumber store was previously assumed to be adjacent to an 
earlier sawmill. With no other basis than that, it will be assumed that the cabinet shop 
occupied the same location. It is so indicated, but with an (*). 



15 





Franklin Street Frontage 




Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street 


Nunn's Tavern & Inn 








Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 


(owner Betsy Nunn) 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx: 










XX UN-NAMED STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


n 


William D. Klrksey - Blacksmith Shop 






XX 






1/2 Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - vacant 






XX 




(property owned by Dr. Charles R. Yancy) 






XX 










XX 






Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Trice's Store 






XX 






Residence - Sarah Mitchell 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 




1/2 Lot #10 - owned by John R. Hutchins 
(purchased from Dr. James Webb) 


Isaac Collier & Jones Watson - Cabinet Makers * 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


n 


Residence - John R. Hutchins 






F 
R 
A 

N 


4 


Residence - Daniel Booth 








1/2 Lot #10 - owned by Daniel Booth 














K 










L 

I 










N 






1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 




S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 






Benton Utley - Dry Goods Store 


n 






Residence - James Hogg & Benton Utley 


4 


XX 










XX 


H 


Residence - Major Pleasant Henderson 


« To Old West 




XX 










XX 
XX 


4 


Norfleet & Henderson - General Merchandise 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


4 


Union Church - (non- sectarian) 






XX 










XX 
XX 










« To Old East 




XX 
XX 






David B. Alsobrook - Hotel 


H 


XX 
XX 


4 


Building (function unknown) 






XX 


* 


Dr. Walter A. Norwood - "medicine shop" 






XX . 










XX lb 




1/2 Lor r? i ! - o'vn^c 5 bv Edmund R Pitt 



Lot #15 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 



Lot #16 - owner unknown 



Lot #17 - owned by Thomas H. Taylor 
Residence - Thomas H. Taylor 



Residence - William White 



XX 

xx — — 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX # 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX » TO HILLSBOROUGH » XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX Lot #20 - owned by James Phillips 
XX (purchased from Elias Haws) 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - UNC President James Caldwell 



Residence - William Hooper 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



Property owned by Willian Hooper 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor James Pliillips 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Joseph Caldwell 



1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by William Mason 



VOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDA R Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1833 



1834-1838 



In 1834, former Orange County Sheriff, Thomas D. Watts, took over operation of the 
Alsobrook Hotel; Dr. James Webb obtained ownership of Lot #13; W. H. Grimes 
purchased the former Henderson store; and Dr. Walter A. Norwood closed his "medicine 
shop" and moved to Hillsborough. It is likely Norwood sold his property to Elisha Mitchell 
since, later that year, Mitchell owned both land and a building situated in the western half 
of Lot #14. 

Isaac C. Partridge failed as publisher of Chapel Hill's first newspaper, "The Harbinger". 
He then purchased from Elisha Mitchell, on credit, the building and lot across from the 
Watt's Hotel. In early 1835, he advertised the opening of the University Hotel which, it 
was claimed, could accommodate 40 persons and 20 horses. In 1837, Partridge ran off to 
New York leaving the floundering hotel in the possession of Elisha Mitchell, 

Thomas H. Taylor sold Lot #15 to Dr. James Webb and, in 1835, traded his Lot #17 
property to the University for property in Tennessee. Taylor subsequently left Chapel Hill. 

In 1835, William Mason sold the eastern half of Lot #24 to Abijah Hatch. That same 
year, Joseph Caldwell died and willed to his step-son, William Hooper m, Lot #19 and the 
eastern half of Lot #21. Caldwell was succeeded as President of UNC by David Lowry 
Swain, the former governor of North Carolina. Swain's wife did not care for the Caldwell 
house on Franklin Street, and did not wish to oust Elisha Mitchell from the original 
President's House on campus. The problem was solved when the Swains moved into the, 
University owned, Tom Taylor house. The Reverened William Mercer Green moved into 
the former Caldwell house in 1838, after accepting a position to teach rhetoric at the 
University. Green, an honor graduate at UNC in 1818, stood second in his class. The first 
position was held by the future President of the United States. James K. Polk. 

William Hooper HI left Chapel Hill in 1837. Professor Manuel Fetter, and liis bride, 
arrived in 1838 and took up residence in the Hooper-owned house. Hooper, who had 
earlier obtained the eastern half" of Lot #22, sold the property to James Phillips in 1838. 

Benton Utley failed as a storekeeper and, in 1837, sold his property and stock to 
Zacariah Trice. That same year. Martha Bullock purchased the Sarah Mitchell property 
from the Mitchell estate. 

Dr. George Moore moved to Chapel Hill in 1838 when his son entered the L T niversity. 
Moore, and his family, moved into Pleasant Henderson's former house, which was owned 
by Dr. Alexander Martin Henderson, Pleasant's son. 

Isaac J. Collier and Jones Watson dissolved their partnership. Collier continued the 
cabinet-making business, which may or may not have been located where indicated. 

Benjamin McCauley and George M. Long ran a general store at an unknown location 
on Franklin Street in 1838. 



IB 



1838 

Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (unnamed) to Boundary Street 

Nunn's Tavern & Inn Lot #7 - retained by UNC trustees 

(owner Betsy Nunn) 
# 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

xx n 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX # 

XX 

XX 

XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 

XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 



1/2 Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 



Residence - Martha Bullock 
(purchased from Sarah Mitchell estate) 

Isaac J. Collier - Cabinet maker * 



William D. Kirksey - Blacksmith Shop 



Residence - vacant 
(property owned by Dr. Charles R. Yancyj 



Store - (function unknown) 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



Residence - Daniel Booth 



1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 



Zachariah Trice- Dry Goods Store 
Residence - Zachariah Trice 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 
Thomas D. Watts - Hotel 

John H. Rhodes - Barber 



S 
T 
R 

E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Dr. Alexander Martin Henderson) 

W. H. Grimes - General Merchandise 



Union Church - (non-sectanan) 



University Hotel 
Store (function unknown) 



A 







XX 




Lot #13 - owned by Dr. James Webb 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


1/2 Lot #14 - owned by Edmund R. Pitt 






XX 


■ 






XX 








XX 




Lot #15 - owned by Dr. James Webb 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




Lot #17 - retained by University trustees 




XX 








XX # 


Residence - William White 


Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain 


ft 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.X XXXXXXXX XXXX ; » T HILLSBORC 






XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 




Residence - William Mercer Green 


8 


XX 




(owned by William Hooper HI) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

F 
R 


Lot #20 - owned by James Phillips 






a n 

N 
K 


Residence - Professor James Phillips 








Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 


ft 


L 




(owned by William Hooper III) 




I 

N 








s 

T 


1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 






R 
E 
E 


(purchased from William Hooper III) 












T 




Property on south side of Franklin from 




XX 




Raleigh (planned) to Boundary is 




XX 




owned by William Hooper III 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 






xx- 


1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Ab^ah Hatch 






xx 


(purchased from William Mason) 






XX 3o 




^OaXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXy^CKXXXXXXBOl 


'XDARY STR.EK ) 


AAV- XYAXYA AA'AAA' YYYA YY 1838 



1839-1843 



Jesse Hargrave first arrived in Chapel Hill in 1835 and, by 1840, owned a general store 
on Franklin Street. The Methodists, lacking a church, conducted services in a room on the 
second floor of his store. In 1840, Hargrave purchased Dr. Charles R. Yancy's house and 
property and, in 1843, married Margaret Barbee, the daughter of William Barbee. 

Zachariah Trice, like Benton Utley, failed as a storekeeper and, in 1839, sold his store 
and residence to Sidney Mulholland Barbee and L. S. Tower. Barbee moved into the 
house and the new partners ran the business at a profit. 

In 1839, John Wesley Carr married Martha Bullock's daughter, Elizabeth. In 1841, 
John and Elizabeth moved in with Martha and, in 1843, John purchased Martha's house. 

In 1839, Lucy Watts, widow of Thomas D. Watts, bought the Watts Hotel property, 
which was Lot #13, and the western half of Lot #15 from Dr. James Webb.. 

Dr. George Moore was the brother of Mrs. Anna Ashe. When Mrs. Ashe's son, 
Richard, entered the University in 1839, she moved to Chapel Hill from Hillsborough, 
purchased the Henderson house from Dr. Alexander Martin Henderson, and moved in 
with her brother. When Richard graduated in 1843, Mrs Ashe returned to Hillsborough 
permitting her brother and his family to continue living in the house. 

Samuel Field Phillips and Charles Phillips, sons of James Phillips, both graduated from 
UNC in 1841. Charles Phillips continued his education at Princeton. Sam Phillips studied 
for his Master's Degree at UNC, and built his law office on his father's property in 1843. 

In 1841, Dr. Johnston Blakery Jones moved to Chapel Hill, took over the old "medicine 
shop" and, in partnership with Dr. George Moore, conducted a medical practice and 
provided medical training. 

Under the leadership of the Reverened William Mercer Green the eastern half of Lot 
#15 was obtained from Dr. James Webb and, in 1843, construction began on the Episcopal 
Chapel of the Cross. 

For property transfers pertaining to Lot #9, during the period 1841 - 1843, see DB 
29/468, 30/372, and 31/10. 



31 



T 




1843 










Franklin Street 


Frontage 


Columbia Street (unnamed) 


to Boundary Street 


Nunn's Tavern & Inn 








Lot 47 - retained by UNC trustees 


(owner Betsy Nunn) 










XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UN-NAMED STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


# 


William D. Kirksey - Blacksmith Shop 






XX 






1/2 Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


n 


Residence - Jesse Hargrave 






XX 




(property purchased from Dr. Charles R. Yancy) 






XX 










XX 






Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Store - (function unknown) 






XX 






Residence - John Wesley Carr 


4 


XX 






(purchased from Martha Bullock) 




XX 
XX 






Isaac J. Collier - Cabinet maker * 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


# 


Residence - John R. Hutchins 






F 
R 


8 


Residence - Daniel Booth 






A 

N 
K 
L 


4 


Jesse Hargrave - General Merchandise 


1/2 Lot #1 1 - owned by John McCauley 




N 

S 

T 






Barbee and Tower - Dry Goods Store 


U 


R 
E 
E 
T 






Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 


# 


XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Mrs. Anna Ashe & Dr. George Moore 


« To Old West 




XX 




(purchased from Dr. Alexander Martin Henderson) 






XX 
XX 


# 


W. H. Grimes' Store - General Merchandise 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


n 


Union Church - (non-sectarian) 






XX 










XX 
XX 










« To Old East 




XX 
XX 






Lucy Watts -Hotel 


n 


XX 
XX 


4 


Building (function unknown) 






XX 


s 


Drs. Johnston Blakely Jones & George Moore 


John H. Rhodes - Barber 




XX 
XX 

31 




(medical practice and teaching) 







AA 




hi Lot *i4 - owned oy tomund K. Pitt 






XX 






Lot #13 & 111 Lot #15- owned by Lucy Watts 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 




XX 






(construction in progress) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






Lot #17 - retained by University trustees 




XX 










XX 


ft 


Residence - William White 


Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain 


ft 


XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXX Planned XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX \ i X ,. \X\ . , uiLLSE 






XX 










XX 


ft 


Sam Phillips - Law Office 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 




J 


Residence - Rev. William Mercer Green 


ft 


XX 






(owned by William Hooper III) 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




Lot #20 - owned by James Phillips 






XX 
XX 

F 

R 










A 

N 
K 


# 


Residence - Professor James Phillips 










Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 


ft 


L 






(owned by William Hooper III) 




N 

s 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 




1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 


Property on south side of Franklin from 








Raleigh (planned) to Boundary is 




XX 






owned by Willian Hooper III 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




1/2 Lot #24 - retained by UNC trustees 
1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Abijah Hatch 


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX i 






33 







1844-1848 



By the mid 1840s the active development of Franklin Street, west of Columbia Street, 
had commenced The street map has been expanded to track this development 

West Franklin: The University, needing money for development in the 1840s, sold off 
several West Franklin Street properties that had been acquired over the years. In 1845, Dr. 
Johnston Blakely Jones purchased four acres on West Franklin. In 1847, John Wesley 
Carr purchased Lot #7, built his home west of center of the lot, and a store in the SE 
comer. The Reverened William Henry Merritt, a Baptist minister who married Christopher 
Barbee's daughter, Susannah, and who built and operated a mill outside of town, owned 
considerable property in the area, including the lot shown on West Franklin. P. H. 
McDade purchased his West Franklin lot from Elisha Mitchell in 1847. Mitchell had 
previously purchased the lot from Matthew McCauley in 1838. 

East Franklin: During this period UNC also sold off several East Franklin Street 
properties. Andrew Mickle, in partnership with Richard James Ashe, the son of Anna 
Ashe, purchased a portion of the "Grand Avenue" property and, the Prebyterians, under 
the leadership of James Phillips, purchased the lot just east of the Mickle- Ashe lot with the 
intention of building their church. The small Union Church was moved off of Franklin 
Street and later served as a village school The Reverened William Mercer Green 
purchased the western half of Lot #24, and had a house constructed on the property. 

In 1844, Sidney Mulholland Barbee bought out his partner and, using profits from his 
store, purchased considerable property on the north side of Franklin Street where he built a 
large residence, two stores just west of his new home, and a third store near the northeast 
corner of Franklin and Columbia. Barbee sold his property on the south side of Franklin 
Street in 1845. The eastern half was purchased by M. F. Deems, and the western half by 
Francis Devereux. In 1847, Jones Watson, the son of William Watson, acquired Barbee's 
former residence and his store (the old "James Hogg" property) on the south side of 
Franklin Street. It is known that Jones Watson operated a drugstore on Franklin Street 
during this period and, it is likely, he used Barbee's former store as his drugstore before 
making major modifications to both the store and to the residence. 

Lucy Watts, in 1846, sold her hotel and adjoining property to Nancy Hilliard who 
reportedly renamed it the Eagle Hotel* Hilliard added a major extension to the hotel to 
accommodate President James K. Polk, an alumnus, who attended the 1847 University 
commencement. 

In 1847, Robert Loder and his father-in-law, William Watson, ran a dry goods store 
near the corner of Franklin and Columbia. It is probable that the building was owned by 
Sidney Mulholland Barbee who constructed a building in the same general location at 
about the same time. The Episcopal Chapel of the Cross was dedicated in 1848, with the 
Reverened William Mercer Green serving as the first rector. That same year, Abijah Hatch 
sold the eastern half of Lot #24 to Charles Phillips. 



n 



The several dirt roads that eventually became the cross streets; Columbia; Henderson; 
Raleigh-Hillsborough; and Boundary were well defined by 1848. Their naming, in all 
instances, had not firmed but, for convenience, the current names will be used. 

* In 1836, John H. Rhodes advertised that his barber shop was next to the Eagle Hotel. 



35" 



1848 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
from Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Property owned by Johnston Blakely Jones 



Nunn's Tavern & Inn 
(owner Betsy Nunn) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 
N 
K 
L 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



yxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxyyyyyy mi m mr. 



Property owned by P. H. McDade 



Property owned by 
Reverened William Henry Merritt 



Residence - John Weslev Carr 



# John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 

STRFFT >'VY r YYVVVY'VVVVVV'VVVY'\-T.'V\'VY-VVVVVVY- 

34 



1848 

East - FrankUn Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



1/2 Lot #6 - owned by Wiffiam Barbee 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 



Residence - (unknown) 



# Robert Loder & William Watson -Dry Goods Store 



Residence - Jesse Hargrave 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



Residence - unknown 



Jesse Hargrave - General Merchandise 

Store - owned by Sidney Mulboiland Barbee 

Sidney M ulholland Barbee - General Merchandise 



Jones Watson - Drugstore # 

Residence - (owned by Jones Watson) # 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 
Nancy Milliard - Eagle Hotel 

John Rhodes - Barber 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Sidney MulhoUand Barbee 



# Residence - Dr. George Moore 
(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 

# W. H. Grimes' Store - General Merchandise 
XXXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXX 



Property owned by 
Andrew Mickle and Richard James Ashe 



Property owned by Presbyterians 



Building (function unknown) 

Drs. Johnston Blakely Jones & George Moore 
(medical practice and teaching) 



37 



Lot #13 & 1/2 Lot #15 - owned by Nancy Hilllard 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



Residence - William White 



Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain 



XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXX 

XX 

XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T # 



Residence - Rev. William Mercer Green 
(owned by William Hooper III) 



Sam Phillips - Law Office 



Lot #20 - owned by James Phillips 



Residence - Professor James Phillips 



Residence - Professor Manuel FetteT 
(owned by William Hooper III) 



Property on south side of Franklin from Raleigh 
to Boundary is owned by William Hooper III 



F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 



Residence - recent construction 
(owned by Rev. William Mercer Green) 



1/2 Lot #24 - owned by Charles Phillips 
(purchased from Ab(jah Hatch) 



VOOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1848 

1% 



1849-1853 



West Franklin: The Rev. William Henry Menitt died in 1850 but, prior to his death, 
he made a gift of his property on West Franklin Street to the Baptists to be used as the site 
of their future church. In 1851, Mary Southerland purchased the western half of Dr. 
Johnston Blakely Jones' West Franklin Street property and built a two-story house. Soon 
after, Dr. Jones built his own home on the eastern portion of the property. Betsy Nunn 
died in 1852, at the age of 91. Her property, sorely in need of repair, was inherited by her 
grandson, Walter A. Thompson, a butcher. 

East Franklin: In 1849, Charles Phillips bought the house just east of his father's 
house, which had been built by Rev. William Mercer Green. Rev. Green, that same year, 
moved to Mississippi after being appointed the Episcopalian Bishop for that state. The 
house he had occupied, the former Joseph Caldwell house, was sold to the University by 
William Hooper IH and, after major renovation, was occupied by UNC President, David 
Lowry Swain. Swain's former residence, the old Tom Taylor house, was then occupied by 
Professor John Thomas Wheat 

As a result of the efforts and financial assistance of James and Charles Phillips, Elisha 
Mitchell, and UNC President Swain the construction of a small Presbyterian Church was 
completed and formally dedicated in 1849. 

In 1850, William Hooper HI sold to Professor Manuel Fetter his house and the half of 
Lot #21 on which it was built. That same year William Thompson purchased the residence 
of Thomas White but, by 1853, the occupant was Henry Thompson. 

Dr. J. S. Lucas opened a drugstore, in 1851, on the northeast corner of Henderson and 
Franklin. 

In 1853, Nancy Hilliard sold the Eagle hotel to Mayor Hugh B. Guthrie, who renamed 
it the Union Hotel. Hilliard then built a large two-story house east of the Union Hotel on 
property she had previously purchased from Lucy Watts. Her house was referred to, by 
the students, as the "Crystal Palace" because of the number and size of the windows. 



31 



1853 

West- Franklin Street Frontage 
from Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XX 
XX 
XX 



Property owned by P. H. McDade 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 



Property owned by the Baptist Church 



Residence - Mary Southerland 



Residence - Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones 



Tavern & Inn 
(owner Waiter A. Thompson) 

n 



xx 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - John Weslev Can 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



IDCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLZJMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



1853 

East - Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



KXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 


XXX COL 


JJMB1A STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


n 


Robert Loder & William Watson - Dry Goods Store 






XX 






Ml Lot #6 - owned by William Barbee 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Jesse Hargrave 






XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






Residence - (unknown) 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 










E 
A 

s 

T 
F 


a 


Residence - John R Hutchins 






n 


Residence - unknown 






R 
A 

N 
K 

L 

I 
N 


# 


Jesse Hargrave - General Merchandise 






# 


Store - owned by Sidney Mulholland Barbee 






# 


Sidney Mulholland Barbee - General Merchandise 






S 
T 
R 


# 


Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 


Jones Watson - Drugstore 


# 


E 
E 
T 






Residence - (owned by Jones Watson) 


# 










XX 


a 


Residence - Dr. George Moore 


« To Old West 




XX 




(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 






XX 
XX 


# 

XXX 


Store - General Merchandise 




XXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXX 






XX 


# 


J. S. Lucas Drugstore 






XX 










XX 




Property owned by 






XX 




Andrew Mickle and Richard James Ashe 






XX 










XX 


n 


Presbyterian Church 






XX 










XX 
XX 










« To Old East 




XX 
XX 






Mayor Hugh B. Guthrie - Union Hotel 


H 


XX 
XX 


H 


Building - (function unknown) 






XX 


u 


Drs. Johnston Blakeley Jones & George Moore 






XX 




(medical practice and teaching) 






XX, 







HI 



Residence - Nancy Hilliard 
("The Crystal Palace") 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



Residence - Henry Thompson 



Residence - Professor John Thomas Wheat 



XX 

* XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 

* XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 

i XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXX 

XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain # XX 

XX # 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

E 
A 
S 

T # 



Sam Phillips - Law Office 



Lot #20 - owned by James Phillips 



Residence - Professor James Phillips 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by Professor Manuel Fetter 

Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by William Hooper III 



Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 



Residence - Charles Phillips 
(purchased from Rev. William Mercer Green) 



property owned by Charles Phillips 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1853 



1854-1858 



West Franklin: In 1854, Walter A. Thompson sold to Isaac Hudson, the property that 
he had inherited from Betsy Nunn. The Baptist Church was built as planned on West 
Franklin Street and was dedicated in 1855. In 1857, a school house was built next to the 
church, and the dirt readjust east of the two structures was aptly named Church Street. 
During this period one of the Mallett brothers built his home on West Franklin Street. In 
1858, it was the residence of his widow, Miss Elizabeth Mallett. 

East Franklin: Jesse Hargrave died in 1854. His widow, Margaret, and his children, 
Mary and Fred, continued living in the family home. Hargrave's business was sold to 
David McCauley and Thomas A. Long, two young men hired as clerks by Hargrave in 
1850. 

In 1854, Sam Field Phillips began using his law office as a law school. Inl856, Sam 
and his family, who had been living with his brother, Charles, moved into a new house 
that Sam had built adjacent to his law school and just west of his father's house. 

In 1855, Richard Benbury Saunders, an 1854 graduate of UNC, purchased J. S. Lucas' 
drugstore. E. Hunt in 1856, opened a photographic studio and a boarding house for 
students in the building that had served earlier as Isaac Patridge's University Hotel. 

Haywood Stone, in 1856, purchased the William Barbee property on the SE corner of 
Franklin and Columbia. Dr. George Moore died in 1857. His children continued living in 
the family home. 

The University opened it's first infirmary, referred to as the "Retreat", in 1858. The 
small two-story building was located in the southwest corner of the University owned 
"Tom Taylor" property. Dr. William P. Mallet, a town doctor and the son of Charles P. 
Mallett. was in charge of the facility. 

By 1858, Jones Watson had remodeled and enlarged the old James Hogg property, and 
had named it the Central Hotel. The hotel had several shops and most likely included all or 
part of the former Sidney Mulholland Barbee store. In 1858. Robert Loder, with no 
reference to William W T atson. was advertising his business as a men's clothing store. 

The starting dates for four businesses indicated on the street map; C. Gottenburg - 
mattresses, bolsters & bedsteads; John R. Hutchins - clothing; Charles P. Mallett - 
University Bookstore; and Andrew Mickle - dry goods, all possibly predated 1853. 

Several other businesses known to exist, but whose locations have not been determined, 
include; Rufftn Cheek - University Confectionery; J. T. Hogan & Co. - groceries and dry 
goods; Stone & Stroud - clothes: Simeon Yates - Chapel Hill Confectionery; and Walter A. 
Thompson - groceries and dry goods. Thompson might have conducted his business in the 
building he inherited from Betsy Nunn, prior to its sale to Isaac Hudson. 



H-i 



1858 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Church Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - Mary Southerland 



Residence - Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones 



Building - (function unknown) 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 

L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Property owned by P. H. McDade 



Baptist School House 
Baptist Church 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Wesley Can 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



WOOOOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX?OOOOCXX 



1858 

Cast- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



Property owned by Haywood Stone 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 



Residence - (unknown) 



Jones Watson - Central Hotel 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 
Mayor Hugh B. Guthrie - Union Hotel 



Robert Loder - Men's Clothing Store 



Residence - Margaret Hargrave 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 



s 

T 
R 

E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



John R. Hutchins & Co. - Clothes 

Residence - unknown 



# McCauley & Long - General Merchandise 

# C. Gottenburg - Mattresses, Bolsters & Bedsteads 

# Sidney Mulholland Barbee - General Merchandise 

# Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 



Residence - Children of Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 
Store - General Merchandise 



XX 


XXXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXX 


XX 


n 


Richard Benbury Saunders - Drugstore 


XX 


# 




XX 


Andrew Mickle - Dry Goods Store 


XX 


n 


Charles P. Mallett - University Bookstore 


XX 






XX 


H 


Presbytenan Church 


XX 






XX 







# E. Hunt Photography A Boarding House 

U Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones 

(medical practice and teaching) 



HS 







XX 












XX 








Residence - Nancy Hilliard 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








# UNC Infirmary - "The Retreat" 




XX 








Dr. William P. MaUett 




XX 
XX 
XX 












XX 




# 


Residence - Henry Thompson 


Residence - Professor John Thomas Wheat 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








KXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXX 






XX 












XX 




# 


Sam Phillips - Law School 






XX 












XX 












XX 












XX 








Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain 


# 


XX 












XX 




# 


Residence - Sam Phillips 






XX 












XX 












XX 












XX 












E 












A 












s 












T 




# 


Residence - Professor James Phillips 


Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 


# 


F 
R 
A 

N 






















K 












L 








1/2 Lot #21 - owned by William Hooper III 




I 
N 






1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 






S 
T 
R 




# 


Residence - Charles Phillips 
















E 












E 












T 








Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


4> 




property owned by Charles Phillips 


mCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1858 



1859-1863 



West Franklin: There is a difference of opinion as to when the "McDade" house, near 
the SW comer of Franklin and Columbia, was constructed. The McDades, themselves, 
never lived in the house and did not come into possession of the property until 1894. One 
opinion is that the McDades built the residence when they acquired the property. On the 
other hand, an architectural expert is of the opinion the brick building was constructed 
during the 3rd quarter of the 19th century (1850 -1875). An eyewittness claims to have 
watched from a window in the house as Union troops passed down Franklin Street. The 
stronger opinion is that Isaac Hudson had the house built a few years after he purchased 
the property in 1854. Since very little construction took place just before and during the 
Civil War the house is assumed to have been built between 1858 -1860. 

In 1862, Dr. Armand J. DeRosset, of Wilmington, purchased Mary Southerland's 
house and used it as his "refugee" home for the duration of the war. 

East Franklin: In 1859. Sam Phillips closed his law school, reopened his law office. 
and shared the building with Judge William Horn Battle. 

John Thomas Wheat, and his family, moved to Little Rock, Arkansas in 1859. There 
had been rumors of a love affair between John Thomas Wheat and Mrs. Cornelia 
Thompson, who lived directly across Franklin Street with her older second husband, Henry 
Thompson. Cornelia's daughter by her first marriage, Salina Morrow, had married the 
younger Henry Thompson, her step-brother, in 1857. Professor John Kimberly moved 
into the house vacated by the Wheats. 

Professor William J. Martin, who would serve as a Colonel in the Confederate Army, 
joined the University as a replacement for Elisha Mitchell, who died in 1857. In 1859, 
Martin purchased, from Charles Phillips, the property on the northeast comer of Franklin 
and Boundary and built his home there soon after. 

Richard Benbury Saunders joined the Confederate Army in 1861 but by 1862, he was 
back in his drugstore on Franklin Street producing "Blue Mass", a purgative made from 
rose petals and mercury which the Confederacy felt was essential to the war effort 

Robert Loder's clothing store was destroyed by fire in January of 1862. The fire spread 
to John Wesley Carr's store across Columbia Street before being extinquished. 

Norvell W. Wilson, of Virginia, was hired as the pastor for the Baptist Church in 1862 
He and his wife moved into a room in the Hargrave home. Margaret Hargrave, Jesse's 
widow, died in 1863. but her children. Molly and Fred, continued to live in the house. 

Prior to 1863. E. Hunt closed his photographic studio and boarding house and left 
Chapel Hill. 



4-7 



1863 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Church Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - Armand J. DeRosset 



Residence - Dr. Johnston Blakelev Jones 



Residence - (owned by Isaac Hudson) 



Building - (function unknown) 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 

n 



xx 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

X 

s 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Property owned by P. H. McDade 



Baptist School House 
Baptist Church 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Weslev Can- 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx XXXXXXXXXXX COL I imbia street xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 



1863 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



Property owned by Haywood Stone 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 



Residence - (unknown) 



STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

# Robert Loder* s Store - (destroyed by Are) 

# Residence - Molly and Fred Hargrave 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



John R. Hutchins & Co. - Clothes 
Residence - unknown 



# McCauley & Long - General Merchandise 

# C. Gottenburg - Mattresses, Bolsters & Bedsteads 

# Sidney Mulholland Barbee - General Merchandise 

# Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 



Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
Hugh B. Guthrie - Union Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
YX 



¥[ 



4 Residence - Children of Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 
4 Store - General Merchandise 

XXXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXX 

4 Richard Benbury Saunders - Drugstore 

4 Andrew Mickle - Dry Goods Store 

4 Charles P. Mallett - University Bookstore 

# Presbyterian Church 



Building- (function unknown) 

Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones 
(medical practice and teaching) 



m 







M 






Residence - Nancy Hilliard 


# 


XX 










XX 










XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




- 


Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






# UNC Infirmary - "The Retreat" 




XX 






Dr. William P. Mallett 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Henry Thompson 


Residence - Professor John Kimberry 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXX • . > \ \ \ i X \ > XX> C L - R G -' 7 < E 1 






XX 










XX 


# 


Sam Phillips - Law Office 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President David Lowry Swain 


# 


XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Sam Phillips 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










E 










A 

s 










T 


# 


Residence - Professor James Phillips 


Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 


n 


F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 






1/2 Lot #21 - owned by William Hooper III 




I 
N 




1/2 Lot #22 - owned by James Phillips 






S 
T 
R 


# 


Residence - Charles Phillips 














E 










E 










T 




property owned by Charles Phillips 


- 

Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 





Residence - Colonel W. J. Martin 






XX 










XX 










XX 






POCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUND A R Y STREET XXX "XXXXXW TVYVVVVVY vv\ yvyw i *a ? 






so 







1864-1868 



During the Civil War and the Reconstruction period that followed there were very few 
students at the University. The local one-industry economy collapsed and the resultant 
depression forced most merchants to leave the area or to take up farming in order to 
survive. On November 26, 1868, Cornelia Phillips Spencer wrote, "Chapel Hill is the 
deserted village of the South." 

West Franklin: By 1865, Dr. Johnston Blakely Jones was bankrupt and, in 1868, 
moved to Charlotte to start a new medical practice. He sold his Chapel Hill home to 
William A. Wright, the president of the Bank of Cape Fear for his use as a "refugee" 
home. Dr. Armand J. DeRosset had sold his "refugee" home to Caroline Frederica Baudry 
in 1867. 

Norvell W. Wilson, the pastor of the Baptist Church who had been boarding in the 
Hargrave home, moved to New Orleans in 1866. His brother, Eugene H. Wilson, moved 
to Chapel Hill after the Civil War, built his home on West Franklin Street, taught music, 
and served for many years as the musical director at the Baptist Church. A residence was 
added to the Baptist schoolhouse when the teacher, Miss Jennie Fuller, married John 
Blackwood. 

East Franklin: The Hargrave home was destroyed by fire in 1866. Molly Hargrave 
and her brother, Fred, continued living on the property but in a much smaller building that 
fronted on Franklin Street. 

James Phillips collapsed and died in his classroom in 1867. His son, Sam Phillips, left 
for Raleigh that same year to become the State Supreme Court recorder. Soon after, he 
served as Solicitor General under President U. S. Grant. In late 1867. Cornelia Phillips 
Spencer, her widowed mother, and her daughter moved into the vacant Sam Phillips house 
and, to earn money, took in boarders. They were no longer permitted to reside in their 
former home since it was University property and was required for the faculty. 

By 1867. the University was deeply in debt and, to offer economic relief. President 
Swain and the entire faculty tendered their resignations, which the new trustees accepted 
effective after the 1868 commencement. Solomon PooL who was appointed President of 
the University, brought in new faculty. Professor Fisk P. Brewer took up residence in the 
old "Tom Taylor " house. Professor David Settle Patrick was housed in Swain's former 
home, and Professor James A. Martling moved into the former home of James Phillips. 

In late 1868. Professor Manuel Fetter left Chapel Hill for a new teaching position in 
North Carolina, Professor William J. Martin left for Tennessee, and druggist, Richard 
Benbury Saunders, moved to Raleigh. 



si 

■Mk 



im 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Property owned by P. H. McDade 



# Baptist School / Residence-John Blackwood 

ft Baptist Church 



Residence - Caroline Frederica Baudry 
(purchased from Armand J. DeRosset) 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - William A. Wright 
(purchased from Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones) 



Residence - (owned by Isaac Hudson) 



Building - (function unknown) 

(owner - Isaac Hudson) 

ft 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Weslev Can- 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



XXXXXXXXX.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



SI 



Property owned by Haywood Stone 



1868 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX u 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Dr. Hudson Cave 



Residence - (unknown) 



Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
Hugh B. Guthrie - Union Hotel 



Residence - Molly and Fred Hargrave 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



# John R. Hutchins & Co. - Clothes 

4 Residence - unknown 



# McCauley & Long - General Merchandise 

# C. Gottenburg - Mattresses. Bolsters & Bedsteads 
4 Sidney Mulholland Barbee - General Merchandise 

4 Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 



Residence - Children of Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Mrs. .Anna Ashe) 

Store - General Merchandise 



XX 


XXXXXXXXX HENDERSON S TREE T XXXXXXXX 


XX 


4 


Richard Benbury Saunders - Drugstore 


XX 


u 




XX 


Andrew Mickle - Dry Goods Store 


XX 


4 


Charles P. Mallett - University Bookstore 


XX 






XX 


4 


Presbytenan Church 


XX 






XX 







Building - (function unknown) 

Dr. Johnston Blakeley Jones 
(medical practice and teaching) 



53 



Residence - Nancy Hilliard 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



# "The Retreat" - UNC Infirmary 
Dr. William P. Mallett 



Residence - Professor Fisk P. Brewer 



Residence - Henry Thompson 



AA 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T # Residence - Professor James A. Martling 



Residence - Professor David Settle Patrick 



old Sam Phillip's Law Office 



Residence - Cornelia Phillips Spencer 
(owned by Sam Phillips) 



Residence - Professor Manuel Fetter 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by William Hooper 



F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y S TREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 868 

5* 

■1 



Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Mrs. James Phillips 

Residence - Charles Phillips 

property owned by Charles Phillips 
Residence - Professor W. J. Martin 



1869-1873 



By 1871, the economic depression had become so severe, the University was forced to 
close. Many residences were deserted and left to decay. Several businesses were 
shuttered, and basic goods were in short supply. 

West Franklin: Seaton Barbee, a son of Sidney Mulholland Barbee, married Susan 
Davis in 1872 and, in 1873, purchased the home and property of Caroline Frederica 
Baudry. Harriet Cole, herself a refugee from Wilmington, purchased the "refugee" home 
of William A. Wright. New residences along West Franklin included those of David 
McCauley, Mrs. Minerva Tilly, and Mrs. Kirkland. 

East Franklin: In 1869, Charles Phillips, and his family, moved into the vacant house 
of Judge William H. Battle. Battle, who was Phillips' father-in-law, had moved his law 
practice to Raleigh. The move by Phillips was onfy temporary since he soon obtained a 
teaching position at Davidson College. One of his students at Davidson was Woodrow 
Wilson. Charles' move permitted his mother, his sister Cornelia, and Cornelia's daughter to 
move from Sam Phillips' house to his house. Their move was necessary since, in 1869, 
Sam Phillips sold his house and property to Henry J. Hogan. Hogan immediately moved 
to Tennessee, leaving the house to his father, William J. Hogan, who moved into the 
house with his second wife. Miss Lizzie Miller, and her sister Margaret Miller. 

Molly Hargrave married William Rand Keenan Sr. and moved to \Vilmington. By 
1873, Merritt Cheek had moved into the small house on the Hargrave property that Molly 
had lived in; Henry D. Thompson and his wife, Salina, were living in his father's former 
home; and William Guthrie and his wife were living in the house just east of the old Dr. 
Hudson Cave home. It is not known who, or if anyone, was living in the former Cave 
home. Dr. Cave's former office at the front of the property was vacant. 

David McCauley bought out his partner. Thomas A. Long, in 1872 and, in 1873, took 
as his second wife, Mar\' Wheaton Barbee. a daughter of Sidney Mulholland Barbee. 
Ha\ing been successful in business and now married to the daughter of a wealthy 
merchant. McCauley was able to acquire considerable property. One purchase was the 
Union Hotel which he renamed the Chapel Hill Hotel. .Another property was the building 
on the northeast comer of Franklin and Henderson where Richard Benbury Saunders 
previously had his drugstore. The new druggist in the village was Dr. A. B. Robeson, who 
opened a general store, on the south side of Franklin Street, which specialized in drugs and 
medical supplies. Dr. Robeson's wife was Cornelia A. Stone, the daughter of Haywood 
Stone, on whose property the building was constructed. 



w 



Nancy Hilliard was bankrupt in 1869, and her home, the "Crystal Palace", was 
purchased at a sherhTs sale for the ridiculous sum of $150 by the generally disliked UNC 
President, Solomon PooL Pool allowed Col. Hugh B. Guthrie and his second wife, Jane 
Cave, the daughter of Hudson Cave, to occupy the house, supposedly to force Hilliard to 
vacate. After failing at a hotel position in Raleigh, Nancy Hilliard, destitute, returned to 
Chapel Hill, and was allowed, by David McCauley, to live rent free in a room of what had 
once been her "Eagle Hotel". She died in 1873. 

With E. Hunt having closed his boarding house, and Dr. Johnston Blakery Jones having 
left town, their former properties were occupied by black families. Tom Moore lived in the 
larger two-story building, and the Burnett family in the smaller "medicine shop". Several 
other black families established residences on East Franklin on what had been Lot #16. 
Mrs. Margaret Hendon moved into the former residence of Professor W. J. Martin, and 
the King family occupied the former Fetter residence. 



ft> 



1873 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - David M cCauley 

(Property owned by P. H. McDade) 



Baptist School / Residence-John Blackwood 
Baptist Church 



Residence - Seaton Barbee # 

(purchased from Caroline Frederica Baudry) 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
# Residence - Mrs. Kirkland 



Residence - Miss Harriet Cole 
(purchased from William A. Wright) 



Residence - (owned by Isaac Hudson) 



Residence - Alphonso J. McDade 

(owner - Isaac Hudson) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx 57 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Weslev Carr 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



XXXXXXliXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX: 



1873 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



Dr. Abner Benton Roberson - General Store 



Residence - (unknown) 



office 



Residence - William Guthrie 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

t XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

f XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

* XX 
XX 
XX 



E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
David McCauley - Chapel Hill Hotel 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



(This area between Franklin Street and 

Rosemary Street is generally known as the 

Hargrave Place. Black families live in the 

old buildings scattered on the property.) 



Residence - Merrit Cheek 



Residence - John R. Hutchins 



John R. Hutchins & Co. - Clothes 
Residence - unknown 



# David McCauley - General Merchandise 

# Matthew Lindsay - Furniture Store 

4 Sidney Mulhoiland Barbee - General Merchandise 

¥ Residence - Sidney Mulhoiland Barbee 



# Residence -Children of Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 

# Store - General Merchandise 
XXXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXX 

# Store - (function unknown) 



Andrew Mickle - Dry Goods Store 
Charles P. Mallett - University Bookstore 



Presbyterian Church 



Residence - Tom Moore 
Residence - Burnett famih 



58 



Residence - (unknown) 
Residence - (unknown) 



XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX # 

# XX 
XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX # 

# XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXX 

XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

# XX 
XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Hugh B. Guthrie 
(owner - Solomon Pool) 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



# The Retreat" - UNC Infirmary 
(closed) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Henry D. Thompson 



Residence - (unknown) 



old Sam Phillip's Law Office 



Residence - William J. Hogan 
(purchased from Sam Phillips) 



Residence - King Family 



1/2 Lot #21 - owned by William Hooper III 



Lot #23 - owned by William Hooper III 



E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor James A. Martling 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Mrs. James Phillip? 



Residence - Cornelia Phillips Spencer 
(owned by Charles Phillips) 



property owned by Charles Phillips 



Residence - Mrs. Margaret Hendon 



vwwwTvww'vvTwvvvn'vv'YvvyvTv'v BOUND ART STREET vtvvvtvv>'vtvvvvvvtvtv\'vvwt fftrs 

5<? 



1874-1878 



In 1874, a committee was convened to inspect the campus before re-opening the 
University. Committee member W. L. Steele described his feelings during that inspection. 

"Never shall I forget the sadness that overpowered me when my eyes fell for the first 
time upon the ruined spot. It was akin to that which swells within my bosom when I stand 
before the grave of my mother." * 

"Old East was essentially in ruins except for its outer walls; New East was crumbling 
because of poor workmanship, neglect, and abuse; Old West was 'defiled by the ordure of 
cattle and horses.' On the grounds, gates had fallen, walls were broken, plants trampled 
and eaten by wandering cattle, wells spoiled, trees either cut down or damaged, and the 
embankments around Old East and Old West eroded by weather, men , and animals. Only 
Gerrard Hall, which had remained in use as a public hall, was in generally good repair." * 

* Excerps from "Chapel Hill an Illustrated History" by James Vickers 

On June 16, 1875 the University trustees named a new faculty which included, 
Professors Ralph Henry Graves II, John DeBerniere Hooper, George Tayloe Winston, and 
Charles PhilHps, who was elected "Chairman of the Faculty". At 11 a.m. on September 
15, 1875, Marshall John R. Hutchins led Governor Curtis PL Brogden, Judge William 
Horn Battle, William Hooper m, and other digmteries to Gerrard Hall for the formal re- 
opening ceremony. 

Dr. Charles Phillips, as "Chairman of the Faculty", moved into Swain's old house, 
permitting his sister, Cornelia, and his mother to continue Irving in his house. Kemp 
Plummer Battle, the son of William Horn Battle, when appointed President of the 
University in 1876, purchased his father's house on, what would become, Battle Lane and 
lived there during his administration Professor John DeBemierc Hooper, whose wife, 
Mary, was the daughter of William Hooper m, initially moved into the "Fetter" house but, 
by 1876, its new occupant was Dr. William P. Mallett. Professor Hooper, who had 
inherited William Hooper IITs Franklin Street property, moved into the old "Tom Taylor" 
house. Professor George Tayloe Winston, and his bride, moved into the former home of 
James Phillips, and Professor Ralph H. Graves II moved into a new house on West 
Franklin Street. The residence of Luther Weaver, a rambling house on East Franklin Street 
was known as the "Bat" house because of the bats that flew down the chimney. Tom 
Moore's former residence was transformed, by George Trice, into a restaurant, ice cream 
parlor, and shoe shop, and Jordan Weaver, a black preacher, moved into the Burnett's 
former home. 



to 



Charles P. Mallett died in 1874, but his bookstore remained open until, at least, 1878. 
In the mid 1870s, Seaton Barbee opened a drugstore on the south side of Franklin Street, 
directly opposite his father's home. Tom Dunstan had his barbershop on the second floor. 
Algernon S. Barbee, another son of Sidney Mulholland Barbee and a Civil War veteran, 
worked as a clerk for his brother-in-law, David McCauley, until 1876 when he opened his 
own general store. Based on its location, Barbee most likely took over operation of his 
father's store who, at that time, was 70 years old. In 1877, Dr. Thomas W. Harris, the first 
Dean of the UNC Medical School, opened a drugstore on the NE corner of Franklin and 
Henderson. In 1878, John R. Hutchins, at the age of 86, was living with his daughter, 
Arabelle, who was referred to as Miss Belle Hutchins. John H. Watson, the brother of 
Jones Watson, purchased the Chapel Hill Hotel from David McCauley in 1878 and, that 
same year, Joseph A. Harris began publising the "Chapel Hill Ledger" in a small wooden 
shop on the south side of East Franklin Street. Ruffin Cheek opened a butcher shop on the 
NE corner of Franklin and Columbia, and Pine Street was cut through Lot #16 from 
Franklin to Rosemary. 



4/ 



1878 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at tfae west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - David McCauley 
(Property owned by P. H. McDade) 



Residence- Thomas Klrkland 



Residence - Professor Ralph H. Graves II 



Residence - (unknown) 



Baptist School / Residence-John Blackwood 
Baptist Church 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - Mrs. Kirkland 



Residence - Miss Harnett Cole 



Residence - (owned by Isaac Hudson) 



Residence - Alphonso J. McDade 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Wesley Carr 



a 



John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



1878 

East - Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



Dr. Abner Benton Roberson - General Store # 



Residence - (unknown) 



office 



Residence - William Guthrie 
Joseph A. Harris - "Chapel Hill Ledger" 



Seaton Barbee - Drugstore 
(Tom Dunstan's Barbershop - upstairs) 



Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
John H. Watson - Chapel Hill Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Ruffln Cheek - Butcher Shop 



(This area between Franklin Street and 

Rosemary Street is generally known as the 

Hargrave Place. Black families live in the 

old buildings scattered on the property.) 



Residence - Mernt Cheek 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchins 



Store - function unknown 

Residence - unknown 



David McCauley - General Merchandise 

Matthew Lindsay - Furniture Store 

Algernon S. Barbee - General Merchandise 

Residence - Sidney Mulholland Barbee 



# Residence - Children of Dr. George Moore 

(owned by Mrs. Anna Ashe) 

# Store - General Merchandise 
XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

# Dr. Thomas W. Harris - Drugstore 



Andrew Mickle - Dry Goods Store 
Charles P. Mallett - University Bookstore 



Presbyterian Church 



George Trice - Shoe Shop 

Restaurant & Ice Cream Parlor 

Residence - Jordan Weaver 



<ob 







aT" 










XX 






Residence - unknown 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


ft 


Residence - Luther Weaver 






XX 


XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 


Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


n 


XX 










XX 


n 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






# The Retreat" - UNC Infirmary 




XX 






Dr. William P. Mallett 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Henry D. Thompson 


Residence - Professor John DeBerniere Hooper 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


4 


old Sam Phillip's Law Office 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - Professor Charles Phillips 


n 


XX 










XX 


it 


Residence - W. J. Hogan 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










E 










A 










s 










T 


# 


Residence - Professor George Tayloe Winston 


Residence - Dr. William P. Mallett 


# 


F 
R 
A 

N 


















K 










L 






1/2 Lot #21 - owned by John DeBerniere Hooper 




N 




1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Mrs. James Phillips 






S 


# 


Residence - Cornelia Phillips Spencer 






T 




(owned by Charles Phillips) 






R 










E 










E 










T 




property owned by Charles Phillips 


Lot #23 - owned by John DeBerniere Hooper 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


n 


Residence - Mrs. Margaret Hendon 






XX 










XX 










VA 






xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxy 


XBOUNL i,v ■ r 








bH- 





_ 



1879-1883 



West Franklin: In 1879, John Wesley Carr built a second store on his comer property 
at Columbia Street That same year, Seaton Barbee moved into a new two-story residence 
on East Franklin next to his drugstore. His former residence on West Franklin was then 
occupied by Needham Byron Cobb, the Baptist minister for Chapel MIL Needham Cobb, 
the father of Collier Cobb, boarded in the home of Dr. Hudson Cave while a student at 
UNC from 1851 to 1854. In 1880 Alphonso J. McDade built the first brick building in the 
business district on the SW corner of Franklin and Columbia. His tenant in 1883 was F. P. 
Booth, who operated a dry goods store. Eugene H. Wilson, the Baptist Church music 
director, perhaps to increase his income, was operating a tannery on his property. 

East Franklin: The old Pleasant Henderson house, then occupied by the children of 
Dr. George Moore, was destroyed by fire in 1880. In 1881, Dr. William P. Mallett 
purchased the property from the heirs of Anna Ashe, and built a large two-story house. 
Dr. Mallett, in addition to his duties at "The Retreat" and his private practice, ran a chemist 
shop on the SE corner of his property. Professor W. E. Phillips moved into the Tetter" 
house when Dr. Mallett moved out 

In 1880, Joseph A. Harris ceased publication of the "Chapel Hill Ledger". Sidney 
Mulholland Barbee died in 1881 at me age of seventy-five. His daughter Frances Adele 
Tankersley remained in the house and inherited considerable business property on Franklin 
Street Frances had married Felix A. Tankersley in 1862 and, when FeHx died in the Civil 
War in 1865, she was twenty-three and pregnant with her son, William. 

Charles Phillips moved out of the President's House and back into his own home in late 
1878. After his mother died in 1881, his sister, Cornelia Phillips Spencer, moved to 
Washington D.C., but returned in 1882 and rented rooms in the home of her friend, Sahna 
Thompson, the wife of Henry D. Thompson. John DeBermere Hooper moved into 
Swain's old home when Charles Phillips moved out. The "Tom Taylor" house was then 
occupied by James Wills. 

In 1882, William N. "Captain Billy" Pritchard and T. F. Lloyd opened a general store 
on East Franklin Street. Its location makes it likely that their store was in the same building 
that earlier housed John R. Hutchins' doming store. That same year, Henry Houston 
"Hoot" Patterson, a Civil War veteran who had married Mary Hogan the daughter of Dr. 
Thomas Hogan, started a very successful general merchandise business in the building 
previously occupied by Andrew Mickle. 

By 1883, the former James Phillips' residence was occupied by two bachelor 
professors, Joseph A. Holmes and Francis Preston Venable; Tom Dunstan had moved his 
barber shop out of Seaton Barbee's drugstore and into the building that previously housed 
Charles P. Mallett's bookstore; Algernon S. Barbee had purchased and moved into the 
"Crystal Palace"; and William J. Hogan had died and left his property to "... Lizzie H. 
Hogan and Margaret Miller (to the survivor and her heirs)". 



(,S 



1883 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence / Tannery - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - David McCauley 
(property owned by P. H. McDade) 



Residence - Thomas Kirkland 



Residence - (unknown) 



# Residence - Professor Ralph H. Graves II 



# Baptist School / Residence-John Blackwood 

n Baptist Church 



Residence - Needham Byron Cobb 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - Mrs. Kirkland 



Residence - Miss Harnett Cole 



Residence - (owned by Isaac Hudson) 



Residence - Alphonso J. McDade 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 

# F. P. Booth - Dry Goods 4 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Weslev Carr 



# John Wesley Carr - (store's function unknown) 

# John Wesley Carr - General Merchandise 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL IMBIA S TREE T XXXXXXXXXXXXXX7xXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



u 



1883 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXKXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

# Ruffin Cheek - ButcheT Shop 



Dr. Abner Benton Roberson - General Store # 



Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - William Guthrie 
Store - (function unknown) 



office 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Seaton Barbee - Drugstore 

Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
John H. Watson - Chapel Hill Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



(This area between Franklin Street and 

Rosemary Street is generally known as the 

Hargrave Place. Black families live in the 

old buildings scattered on the property. ) 



Residence - Menit Cheek 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchins 



Pritchard & Lloyd - General Store 

Residence - (unknown) 



David McCauley - General Merchandise 

Matthew Lindsay - Furniture Store 

Algernon S. Barbee - General Merchandise 

Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



n Residence - Dr. William P. Mallett 

# Dr. Mailett's Chemist Shop 
XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

ft- Dr. Thomas W. Harris - Drugstore 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 

# Tom Dunstan - Barbershop 

# Presbvtenan Church 



George Tnce - Shoe Shop 

Restaurant & Ice Cream Parlor 

Residence - Jordan Weaver 



k,1 







]U 






Residence - Algernon S. Barbee 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


# 


Residence - Luther Weaver 






XX 


XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 


Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


# 


XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






# "The Retreat" - UNC Infirmary 




XX 






Dr. William P. Mallett 




XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Henry D. Thompson 


Residence - James Wills 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




(lodger - Cornelia Phillips Spencer) 


XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


# 


old Sam Phillip's Law Office 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - Professor John DeBerniere Hooper 


# 


XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Lizzie Hogan and Margaret Miller 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










E 










A 

s 










T 


# 


Residence - Professors Joseph A Holmes 






F 
R 




and Francis P. Venable 


Residence - Professor W. E. Phillips 


# 










A 










N 










K 










L 






1/2 Lot #21 - owned by John DeBerniere Hooper 




I 

N 




1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Charles Phillips 






S 
T 
R 
E 


# 


Residence - Charles Phillips 


Lot #23 - owned by John DeBerniere Hooper 




E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Mrs. Margaret Hendon 






XX 










XX 










XX 






xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx: 


<X BOUND AR Y STREET XXXXXXX'XXXXXXXXX\XX\ XXXXXXX t*fi ? 






loB 







1884-1888 



West Franklin: In 1885, P. H. McDade sold his West Franklin Street property to W. 
W. Davis, and the fann land east of the Baptist Church was acquired by William N. 
"Captain Billy" Pritchard. Professor Thomas Hume, forced out of the President's House 
by fire, purchased, in 1887, the house opposite the Baptist Church which had been the 
residence of the Baptist minister, Needham Byron Cobb, until the Baptists converted their 
school-residence into a parsonage. 

East Franklin: In 1884, Robert Strange MacRae purchased the drug business from 
Dr. Thomas W. Harris, and the building that housed it from David McCauley. That same 
year, Adam Alexander Kluttz took over the active management of Dr. Abner Benton 
Roberson's general store. 

In 1884, when Professor Francis Preston Venable married Sally Charlton Manning, 
Professor Joseph A. Holmes moved out of the bachelor quarters he had shared with 
Venable. Venable was later criticized for adding a two-bedroom wing to the "Puckett" 
house, m 1885, Lizzie Hogan died, and her home on East Franklin Street became the sole 
property of Margaret Miller. Professor Eban Alexander joined the University in 1886 and 
moved into the old Tom Taylor" house. By 1888, Joseph A. Holmes had become the 
first to build on the property east of the old "Fetter" house, and Charles Snipes occupied 
the "Bat" house. 

Several changes took place in the vicinity of the President's House during this period 
Kemp Plummer Battle continued to live in his father's former home during his presidency, 
and the President's House on Franklin Street remained the residence of John DeBerniere 
Hooper until he died in January 1886. After Hooper's death, Professor Thomas Hume 
occupied the house until it was destroyed by fire in December 1886. hi April 1887, Battle 
Lane was carved out of the eastern edge of the property, and the reniaining eastern portion 
of the lot was leased to Professor James Love for fifty years at a cost of SI 5 per year. In 
June 1887, Professor Love, who had married June Spencer the daughter of Cornelia 
Phillips Spencer, built his home on the property. Soon after, ComeHa moved in with her 
daughter and son-in-law. 

By 1888, Charles L. Lindsay, who married David McCauley's daughter, Mary Irene, 
had taken over the operation of his father's furniture store and was advertising furniture, 
dry goods, and groceries. William Tankersley had opened a "notions" store on the SE 
comer of his mother's property, adjacent to the Post Office building that had been 
constructed by Dr. William P. Mallett on the SW corner of his property. Dr. Mallett and 
his daughter had begun distributing the mail in 1885. His physician's office was in the rear 
of the building. 



m 



1888 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence / Tannery - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - David McCauley 
(Property owned by W. W. Davis) 



Residence - Thomas Kirkland 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Professor Ralph H. Graves II 



Parsonage 

Baptist Church 



Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - Mrs. Kirkland 



Residence - Miss Harriett Cole 



Residence - (owned bv Isacc Hudson) 



Residence - Alphonso J. McDade 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 

# F. P. Booth - Dry Goods 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Farm land owned by 
William N. "Captain BlUy" Prttchard 



Residence - Miss Elizabeth Mallett 



Residence - John Weslev Can 



John Wesley Carr - (store's funcUon unknown) 
John Weslev Carr - General Merchandise 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

lo 



East - Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



Dr. A. B. Roberson - General Store 
(Manager - Adam Alexander Kluttz) 



Residence - (unknown) - office 

Residence - William Guthrie 
Store - (Function unknown) 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Seaton Barbee - Drugstore 

Jones Watson - Central Hotel 
« To Old West 



« To Old East 
John H. Watson - Chapel Hill Hotel 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XT 



Ruffin Cheek - Butcher Shop 



Residence - Merrit Cheek 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchrns 



Pntchard & Lloyd - General Store 
Residence - unknown 



David McCauley - General Merchandise 
Charles L. Lindsay - Furniture Store 

Algernon S. Barbee - General Merchandise 

Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



# Tankersley's Store - General Merchandise 

# U. S. Post Office - Dr. Mailett's Medical Office 

# Residence - Dr. William P. Mallett 

# Dr. Malletfs Chemist Shop 
XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

# Robert Strange MacRae - Drugstore 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 
i Tom Dunstan - Barbershop 

# Presbytenan Church 



George Tnce - Shoe Shop 

Restaurant & Ice Cream Parlor 

Residence - Jordan Weaver 



7/ 



Residence - Algernon S. Barbee 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



# "The Retreat" - UNC Infirmary 
Dr. William P. Mallett 



Residence - Professor Eban Alexander 



Residence - Charles Snipes 



XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Henry D. Thompson 



UNC President's House - destroyed by fire in 1886 



U 



>ld Sam Phillip's Law Office 



Residence - Margaret Miller 



Residence - James Lee Love 
and Cornelia Phillips Spencer 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Professor W. E. Phillips 



Residence - Professor Joseph A. Holmes 



E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor Francis Preston Venable 



1/2 Lot #22 - owned by Charles Phillips 
Residence - Charles Phillips 



Residence - Mrs. Margaret Hendon 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXBOUWAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1888 

1%y 



1889-1893 



West Franklin: Professor Ralph Graves died in 1889 and, in 1892, his widow sold 
their house to Professor Walter Dallam Toy, who used it as a "Bachelor's Hall" for himself 
and several other professors. John Wesley Carr also died in 1889, and while his house 
remained a residence, it is not known by whom. About the same time, David McCauley 
moved to Cameron Avenue, Miss Elizabeth Malletf s house was occupied by Mrs. Harris 
King, the daughter of John Wesley Carr, and Junius B. Webb opened a grocery store in 
the McDade brick building, 

East Franklin: Professor James Lee Love, upset at being passed over for promotion, 
left Chapel Hill with his family in 1 889 for a teaching position at Harvard. His mother-in- 
law, Cornelia Phillips Spencer, remained behind and continued living in his house. 

There were several deaths of prominent citizens in 1889. Charles Phillips died, and his 
widow, Laura, sold off many of their properties. She sold their house in 1891 to the 
Presbyterians who used it for their manse. Prior to the sale, Robert Strange MacRae and 
his family occupied the house for about two years. Having come into possession of the old 
'Tetter" house*, Laura sold it in 1891 to Mrs. Sarah Wellington. Either just before or just 
after the sale, the house was occupied by Professor John Manning. Prior to 1892, Laura 
sold the property west of the Presbyterian Manse to Professor John Manning who built his 
home on the property. Professor Manning had earlier established the UNC Law School. 
In 1892, Laura sold the property just east of the Presbyterian Manse to Professor Collier 
Cobb, who built his home on the property in 1893. Collier Cobb was the son of Needham 
Byron Cobb, the Baptist preacher. 

* The occupant of the old Tetter" house in 1888 is indicated on the printout of that 
year as Professor W. E. Phillips. The source may have been in error, and the occupant 
might actually have been Professor William B. Phillips, who was the oldest son of Charles 
and Laura Phillips. 

Dr. William P. Mallett died in 1889. His wife remained in their home and ran a very 
successful boarding house. In 1891, several incoming professors including Walter Dallam 
Toy, Karl Harrington, and R. H. Whitehead roomed there before establishing permanent 
residences. Mallett's "chemist shop" was no longer used and was moved to the back of the 
property. The Post Office remained and was operated by the new postmaster, Thomas 
Kirkland. The rear of the Post Office that had been Dr. Mallett's medical office was used 
by John W. Canada, a recent graduate of UNC, as a private school for village children. 

The Methodists outgrew their small church on Rosemary Street and, in 1889, built a 
larger one on East Franklin Street just east of Seaton Barbee's residence. Algernon S. 
Barbee was appointed Notary Public and opened an office on the south side of Franklin 
Street Based on it's location, it's size, and it's two stories, it appears to be the same 
building that previously housed his brother Seaton's drugstore. A road, cut on the eastern 
edge of Algenon Barbee's residential lot, was named Barbee Drive. 



73 



Professor Horace Williams arrived at the University in 1 890, and for several years 
occupied the old Sam Phillips house. Margaret Miller died before 1894 and, either she or 
her heir, retained ownership of the property during William's stay. 

By 1891, John H. Watson, owner of the Chapel Hill Hotel, had entered into a 
partnership with W. W. Pickard. In 1892, Watson and Pickard using money provided by 
W. G. Peckham, a New York lawyer, razed the hotel except for the Polk apaprtment, 
rebuilt it, and included a large new section called the University Inn Annex. Peckham 
invested in other properties as well. He purchased the old Hudson Cave home, removed 
the unsightly office from the front of the property, and remodeled the house. In 1893, it 
was occupied by Professor Karl Harrington. 

After Jones Watson, owner of the Central Hotel, died in 1891, Dr Abner Benton 
Roberson purchased the hotel and moved his drugstore into it with Clyde Eubanks as the 
druggist Adam Alexander Khittz, who had lived in the hotel since his marriage in 1890 to 
Orah Crawford, opened a general store, advertised as "The Glass Front", in the 
westernmost section of the hotel building. That section of the building had a large number 
of windows, and each window a large number of panes. Dr. Roberson leased the running 
of the hotel to "Bunn" Patterson, who had his own drugstore on East Franklin. 

Prior to 1893, the home of Jordan Weaver as well as the homes of the two black 
families that had built on the original Lot #16, were razed, and a cottage for the Alpha Tau 
Omega fraternity was built on the lot opposite the Episcopal Church. In 1893, Professor 
Edwin Anderson Alderman moved into the old 'Tetter" house and, at about the same time, 
Mrs. Palmer Cobb purchased Mrs. Margaret Hendon's house. 

Robert Allen Eubanks opened a general store in the building vacated by Dr. Roberson. 
S. W. Andrews opened a "Farmer's Alliance" meat market in a two-story building on the 
SE corner of Franklin and Columbia. The second floor was occupied by Mrs. Cora 
Williamson who ran a millinery shop. Mr. Shelburn opened an art and photographic 
gallery just east of the Chapel Hill Hotel. William Henry Thompson began publishing the 
"Chapel Hill News" in what was possibly the same shop that had been used earlier by 
Joseph A. Harris, who published the "Chapel Hill Ledger". Like "The Chapel Hill 
Ledger", it was unsuccessful, and Thompson soon moved the paper to Carboro and 
renamed it "The News of Orange County". In 1893, Robert L. Strowd was operating a 
general store in the building previously occupied by Charles L. Lindsay and, that same 
year, Adam A. Kluttz purchased a half acre from the heirs of John Wesley Carr and began 
the construction of a brick building just west of David McCauley's store. 

Several other businesses known to exist have not been localized: R. R. Best - groceries; 
W. A. Temple - groceries; and the Durham Racket Store - general merchandise. It is likely 
several of the businesses were operated out of the wooden stores that existed on the south 
side of East Franklin Street indicated on the 1893 printout. 



W 



1893 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence / Tannery - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - W. W. Davis 



Residence - Thomas M. Kirkland 
(postmaster) 



Residence - (unknown) 



# Residence - Professor Walter Dallum Toy 

"Bachelor's Hall" 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - Mrs. Kirkland 



Residence - Mrs. Hamet Cole 



Residence - (owned by Isacc Hudson) 



Residence - Alphonso J. McDade 
(owner - Isaac Hudson) 

# J.D.Webb Groceries 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Farm land owned by 
William N. "Captain Billy" Pntchard 



Residence - Mrs. Harris King 



Residence - (unknown) 



Store 
Store 



(function unknown) 
(function unknown) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBL 1 STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

is 



1893 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 
S.W.Andrews -Fanner's Alliance Meat Market # XX 

Mrs. Cora Williamson - Millinery Shop A XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

n Ruffin Cheek - Butcher Shop 



Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise 

Residence - Professor Karl Harrington 

Residence - William Guthrie 

William Henry Thompson - "Chapel Hill News" 

Wooden Shop - (function unknown) 

Wooden Shop - (function unknown) 

Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 
Pastor - N. M. Watson 

Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Dr. A. B. Roberson - Central Hotel 
(Manager- "Bunn Patterson") 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - Chapel Hill Hotel 
(owners - John H Watson and W. W. Pickard) 

J. H. Shelburn - Artist & Photographer 



S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
K5C 



Residence - Merrit Cheek 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchins 

"Bunn" Patterson- Drugstore 

Pritchard & Lloyd - General Store 
Residence - unknown 

Adam A. Kluttz - (building under construction) 



# David McCauley - General Merchandise 

# Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 

# Store - (function unknown) 

# Residence - Frances Adele Tankerslev 



# Tankersley's Store - General Merchandise 

# United States Post Office / John Canada - School 

# Residence - Mrs. Dr. William P. Mallett 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

# Robert Strange MacRae - Drugstore 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 

# Tom Dunstan - Barbershop 



Presbvtenan Church 



George Trice - Shoe Shop 
Restaurant & Ice Cream Parlor 



% 



Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 

XXXXXXXXXXBARBEE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXX 

Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

# "The Retreat" - UNC Infiimary 
Residence - Professor Eban Alexander 



Residence - Charles Snipes 



XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 



Site of old UNC President's Residence 



old Sam Phillips Law Office 



Residence - Professor Horace Williams 



Residence - Cornelia Phillips Spencer # 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - Professor Edwin Anderson Alderman ft 



Residence - Professor Francis Preston Venable 



Residence - Professor John Manning 



Presbyterian Manse 



Residence - Joseph A. Holmes 
(state geologist - former UNC Professor) 



S # 

T 

R 

E 
E 

# T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx n 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XXX:OOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUND AR Y STRE ET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1893 

77 



Residence - Mrs. Palmer Cobb 



1894-1898 



West Franklin: The heirs of Isaac Hudson, in 1894, sold the western half of the 
original Lot #5 to Alphonso J. McDade and his wife, Anne. McDade, who built the brick 
building on the S W comer of Columbia and Franklin in 1 880, had also served as Mayor of 
Chapel Hill in 1884. The McDades never actually lived in the house on the western half of 
the property, later known as the McDade House. They rented the house to J. E. Merritt, 
whose wife was Minnie McDade the daughter of the McDades. 

In 1894, Abner Benton Roberson purchased the old structure on the eastern half of the 
original Lot #5 from Alphonso McDade. This building, which much earlier had been the 
Nunn Tavern and Inn had, for some time, been the residence of the McDades. "BumT 
Patterson was given the responsibility for its renovation and the addition of four or five 
rooms. In late 1894, the building was reopened as the Patterson HoteL Its life, however, 
as a hotel was short lived The Canada School had been quite successful and, as the 
number of students increased, it soon outgrew its quarters in the rear of the Post Office. In 

1896, John W. Canada hired additional teachers and took over the Roberson owned, 
Patterson Hotel building. 

East Franklin: George Tayloe Winston, appointed President of UNC in 1891, had 
used as his residence a house just east of Boundary Street that would later be known as the 
Horace Williams House. Winston left the University in 1896, to become President of the 
University of Texas. His replacement as president was Professor Edwin Anderson 
Alderman, who continued living in the old "Fetter" house. 

Cornelia Phillips Spencer, still extremely upset at the slight to her son-in-law, moved to 
Massachusetts in 1894 to live with her daughter. She never returned. The "James Love" 
house, that had been her home, was then occupied by Dr. R. H. Whitehead who, in 1893, 
had purchased Robert Strange MacRae's drugstore. 

From 1893 to 1897, while Professor Eban Alexander served as Minister to Greece, 
Romania, and Serbia, his residence was occupied by Professor Wilson. By 1894, Margaret 
Miller, the owner of the old "Sam Phillips" house had died and her only heir, Mary Jane 
Cooper, sold the property, including the old law office, to Adam Alexander Kluttz. In 

1897, Dr. Charles Baskervifle, famous chemist, captain of the UNC football team, and 
founding editor-in-chief of the Tar Heel, built a house on the SW corner of Boundary and 
Franklin. He sold the house in 1898 to Dr. Charles H. Herty, who achieved considerable 
fame by developing a process for producing newsprint from the Southern Pine tree. 

In 1894, after thirty-six years, "The Retreat" was shut down, and the infirmary was 
located elsewhere on the campus. Professor Eban Alexander, after his return in 1897, used 
a portion of the building as an office. 



70 



When Haywood Stone died in 1894, ownership of Lot #6 passed to his daughter 
Cornelia, and her sister. Dr. Roberson, the husband of Cornelia, purchased her sister's 
half-interest in 1896. 

In 1894, Adam A. Kluttz moved his general merchandise business across East Franklin 
Street and into his new brick building. That same year, Dr. Roberson enlarged the Central 
Hotel by adding a ten-room annex that faced onto the campus. In 1897, Dr. Roberson 
died. His drugstore was purchased by Clyde Eubanks, who continued its operation within 
the hotel. Immediately after Dr. Roberson's death, Adam A. Kluttz ran the hotel but, soon 
after, "Bunn" Patterson resumed it's management. 

Robert Strange MacRae, after selling his drugstore in 1893, opened a bookstore in the 
same building where Charles P. Mallett, earlier, had his bookstore.* In 1897, W. W. 
Pickard opened a livery stable on the NW corner of Franklin and Pine. In 1898, the Bank 
of Chapel Hill opened in a small brick building adjacent and to the east of Kluttz's store; J. 
T. "Bull" Durham opened a general store in the building on the SE corner of Franklin and 
Columbia where S. W. Andrews previously had his meat market, and Seaton and Algernon 
Barbee and their sister Mary McCauley, deeded to their sister, Adele Tankersley, the 
former home of their father, Sidney Mulholland Barbee. 

* There is some confusion here. This building, supposedly, was occupied by the 
barber, Tom Dunstan, for several more years. Either they shared the building, which is 
unlikely, or MacRae moved into the building a bit later than indicated. 






1898 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. Minerva Tilly # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence / Tannery - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - W. W. Davis 



Residence - Thomas M. Kirkland 
(postmaster") 



Residence - (unknown) 



W 
E 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



Residence - Professor Walter Dallum Toy 
"Bachelor's Hall" 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - Kirkland Family 



Residence - Mrs. Harnet Cole 



Residence - J. E. Merritt 
(owned by Alphonso J. McDade) 



Canada School - John W. Canada / Principal 



tf J. D. Webb - Groceries # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx 80 



Farm land owned by 
William N. "Captain Billy" Pntchard 



Residence - Mrs. Harris King 



Residence - (unknown) 



Store 
Store 



(function unknown') 
(function unknown) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



1898 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA 



J. T. "Bull" Durham - General Merchandise # 

Mrs. Cora Williamson - Millinery Shop A 



Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise # 

Residence - Professor Karl Harrington # 

Residence - William Guthrie # 

Wooden Shop - (function unknown) # 

Wooden Shop - (function unknown) # 

Wooden Shop - (function unknown) # 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

S 

T 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXKXXXXX 

# Ruffin Cheek - Beef Market 



Residence - Merrit Cheek 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchms 

"Bunn" Patterson - Drugstore 

Pritchard & Lloyd - General Store 

Residence - unknown 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 



Adam A- Kluttz - General Merchandise 
Bank of Chapel Hill 

David McCauley - General Merchandise 

Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 

Store - ( function unknown,/ 



Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Central Hotel - Mgr. "Bunn" Patterson 
(owned by Roberson heirs) 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - Chapel Hill Hotel 
(owners - John H. Watson and W. W. Pickard) 

J. H. Shelbum - Artist & Photographer 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



Tankersle/s Store - General Merchandise 
United States Post Office 

Residence - Mrs. Dr. William P. Mallert 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

# Dr. R. H. Whitehead - Drugstore 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 

# Robert Strange MacRae - Bookstore 

# Presbyterian Church 



George Trice - Shoe Shop 
Restaurant & Ice Cream Parlor 



81 



Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 



XXXXXXXXXX BARBEE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXX 

Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



Residence - Charles Snipes 



Residence - Professor Eban Alexander 



XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX # W. W. Pickard - Livery Service 

XX XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX # Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 



Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXHILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Site of old UNC Presidents Residence 



old Sam Phillips Law Office 



Residence - Adam Alexander Kluttz 



Residence- Dr. R.H. Whitehead # 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - UNC President Edwin A. Alderman # 



Residence - Professor Francis Preston Venable 



Residence - Professor John Manning 
Presbyterian Manse 



Residence - Joseph A. Holmes 



Residence - Dr. Charles H. Herty 



E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 



Residence - Mrs. Palmer Cobb 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1898 



1899-1903 



West Franklin: The John W. Canada School closed in 1901, and the old building on 
the SW comer of Franklin and Columbia that had housed the school became a rooming 
house. The brick building adjacent to it, that fronted on Franklin Street, served as a 
Masonic Hal In 1902, Professor Walter Dallam Toy, recently married, built a new house 
on the property he had purchased from Julia Graves, the widow of Ralph Graves HI. 

East Franklin: Professor John Manning died in 1899. His daughter, Miss Mary 
Manning, continued to reside in the family home. Professor Karl Harrington left the 
University in 1899 and moved out of the old "Hudson Cave" house. Francis Preston 
Venable, appointed President of the University in 1900, continued to reside in the old 
"James PhflKps" house. Miss Sophie Maflett MacNider, daughter of William P. Mallett 
and the head-of-household in 1903, continued the operation of her popular boarding 
house. Her son, Dr. William MacNider, who taught at the University, used the former 
Post Office building on the front of the property as his medical office. Professor Edward 
Vernon Howell, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, moved into the old "Fetter" house 
which was still owned by Mrs. Sarah Welling. Several firsts were achieved in Chapel Hill 
during mis five year period. "Hoot" Patterson's home was the first to have indoor 
plumbing installed. Professor Eben Alexander was the first to have a telephone. His 
phone number in 1901 was #1. Professor Edward Vernon Howell, in 1903, was the first 
to own an automobile, a one-cylinder Oldsmobile. 

George Trice's decision to go out of the restaurant business was probably influenced by 
the death of his wife in 1899. In 1903, a tailor shop and a shoe shop occupied his former 
location. In 1900, Junius D. Webb and Herbert Lloyd built a three-store complex just west 
of the residence of Seaton Barbee. The easternmost shop became the new home of the 
Post Office. In the middle shop, Junius D. Webb sold general merchandise and later men's 
furnishings, and in the westernmost shop was James Neville's "University Athletic Shop" 
which also featured a soda fountain. 

In 1901, Clyde Eubanks, cousin of Robert A. Eubanks, moved his drugstore out of the 
Central Hotel and set up shop in a new building he had constructed on the western comer 
of the Tankersley property. That same year, Robert L. Strowd purchased from Adele 
Tankersley the property and building that housed his general store. An Express Office was 
opened in a small building between the stores of Robert A. Eubanks and J. T. "Bull" 
Durham and, in 1902, S. J. Brockwell built a three-story brick building on the NE corner 
of Franklin and Columbia. Its first occupant was Samuel Weldon Andrews who chose to 
occupy both store fronts on the first floor. On the Columbia Street side he sold groceries 
and on the other side, dry goods. A vacant lot separated the Brockwell building from 
another building that housed Sid L, Hemdons's hardware store, and by 1903 the Chapel 
Hill Hotel was referred to as the Pickard Hotel. 



S3 



(Additional research is required to resolve information found concerning Adam 
Alexander Kluttz's store(s) and the property just west of his first store. It is certain that by 
1894 Kluttz had built a brick building on the north side of East Franklin Street, and in it he 
sold general merchandise including school books and school supplies. The address of the 
building at a later time would be #149 (street addresses were not designated until 1923). 
About 1900, Kluttz purchased additional property just west of his store. The property 
contained two old, but sturdy, houses which he had moved to the rear of the property and 
turned to face Rosemary Street These houses apparently remained in this new location 
until they were demolished in 1963 to make room for a municipal parking lot Kluttz then 
supposedly built a second store adjacent to the first which he operated as a haberdashery 
store. The overall frontage which he owned encompassed what would later be designated 
as #141 - #149. Current and future businesses that were operated on those sites rented 
from Adam Alexander Kluttz and later from his widow, Ora Crawford Kluttz.) 



if 



1903 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 



Residence / Tannery - Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 






Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 



Residence - W. W. Davis 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
# Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Mrs. Harriet Cole 



Residence - J. E. Merritt 
(owned by Alphonso J. McDade) 



Rooming House 



n 



Masonic Hali » 



XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx 85 



Farm land owned by 
William N. "Captain Billy" Pritchard 



Residence - Mrs. Hams King 



Residence - (unknown) 



Store - (function unknown I 
Store - (function unknown) 



XX\X\X\XX\XXXXXXXX\XXXX\XXXX:<XXXX COL umbia street xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 



1903 

East- Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

# Samuel Weldon Andrews - Groceries 
Samuel Weldon Andrews - Dry Goods 



J. T. "Bull" Durham - General Merchandise 
Mrs. Cora Williamson - Millinery Shop A 



Express Office 

Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXXXXXX PA THWA Y XXXXXXXXXXXX 
James Neville - University Athletic Shop # 

Junius D. Webb - General Merchandise # 

United States Post Office # 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 



Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Central Hotel - Mgr. "Burin" Patterson 

(owned by Roberson heirs) 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - Pickard Hotel 

(owner - W. W. Pickard") 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Sid L. Herndon - Hardware 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Miss Belle Hutchins 

"Bunn" Patterson - Drugstore 
Pritchard & Lloyd - General Store 

Adam A. Kluttz - Haberdashery 

Adam A. Kluttz - General Merchandise 
Bank of Chapel Hill 

David McCauley - General Merchandise 

Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 

Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



Tankersley's Store - General Merchandise 
Dr. William MacNider - Physician's Office 

Residence - Miss Sophie Mallett MacNider 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON S TREE T XXXXXXXXX 

# Dr. R. H. Whitehead - Drugstore 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 

# Robert Strange MacRae - Bookstore 



Presbyterian Church 



Tailor & Shoe Shop 



86 



Lu^uf^uavma^maam 







XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


n 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 


# 


W. W. Pickard - Livery Service 


XXXXXXXXXX BARBEE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


n 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 






XX 


4 


Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 


Residence - Professor Eben Alexander 


u 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XX. 






XX 










XX 


4 


old Sam Phillips Law Office 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Site of old UNC President's Residence 




XX 










XX 


ft 


Residence - Adam Alexander Kluttz 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Residence - Dr. R. H. Whitehead 


4 


E 
A 


















s 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




T 


4 


Residence - UNC President Francis P. Venable 


Residence - Edward Vernon Howell 


n 


F 
R 






(owned by Mrs. Sarah Welling) 




A 
N 
K 
L 










I 

N 


4 


Residence - Miss Mary Manning 






s 

T 
R 
E 
E 


# 


Presbyterian Manse 






4 


Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 


Residence - (unknown) 


H 


T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Mrs. Palmer Cobb 






XX 






Residence - Dr. Charles H. Herty 


# 


XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXB^ 






i1 







1904 - 1908 



West Franklin: About 1904, the McDade building was partitioned with groceries 
being sold in one section and furniture in the other. One of the old "John Wesley Carr" 
stores had become a meat market, and the other, a grocery store. In 1905, Eugene H. 
Wilson died His widow, Emily, remained in the house for the next several years. In 1908, 
Miss Alice Jones purchased the property and residence of W. W. Davis. 

East Franklin: In 1904, Samuel Weldon Andrews was elected sheriff and closed 
down his dry goods and grocery business. The owner of the building, Samuel Jackson 
Brockwefl, made alterations and transformed the first floor of his building into a skating 
rink; Mr Leigh opened a meat market, with an ice plant in the rear, in a new building 
located between Brockwefl's skating rink and Herndon's hardware store; and John Franklin 
Pickard and Frank Strowd opened a confection and grocery store in the building that 
formerly housed Dr. R. H. Whitehead's drugstore. In 1905, Colonel Swain "Kern'' 
Pendergraft opened a fruit store & newsstand on the site of what had been the residence of 
Merritt Cheek; and the former residence of Miss Belle Hutchins was converted into a 
residence-restaurant In 1905, and probably a few years earlier, W. B. Sorrell operated a 
jewelry store and optometrist shop out of a building just west of Adam A. Kluftz's stores. 
It's location was likely the site of the earlier Pritchard & Lloyd general store. 

In 1906, Mrs. Sarah Welling sold the old "Fetter" house to H. H. "Hoof Patterson, 
who in turn, in 1907, sold it to the current occupant, Professor Edward Vernon HoweH In 
1907, Algernon Sydney Barbee was re-elected mayor, having served earlier from 1895 to 
1901. Professor Horace Williams and George Stephens, in 1907, purchased the Pickard 
Hotel from W. G. Peckham. Peckham, a New York lawyer, owned the facility and had 
leased it to Walter W. Pickard. That same year Williams and Stephens sold the hotel to the 
University, who continued its operation as the University Inn and University Inn Annex. 
Walter W. Pickard and his wife then built a new seventy-five room Pickard Hotel on the 
NW corner of Franklin and Pine. 

The University constructed a new President's House on the same lot that had held the 
earlier one that was destroyed by fire in 1886. Ifs location was slightly west of the former 
structure. This repositioning was necessary in order to center the residence on the lot that 
remained after the opening of Battle Lane and the construction of the residence on the 
adjacent property. When completed, the first occupant was UNC President Francis 
Preston Venable who had been living in the old "James Phillips" house. 



68 






1908 

West - Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Residence - (unknown; # 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 

Residence - (unknown) # 



Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 



Residence - Mrs. Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - Miss Alice Jones 
Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - (unknown) 



Farm land owned by 
William N. "Captain Billy" Pritchard 



Residence - Mrs. Harriet Cole 



Residence - J. E. Merritt 
(owned by Alphonso J. McDade) 



Rooming House 



Furniture 
Groceries 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Meat Market 
Groceries 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

81 



1908 

East - Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

J. T. "Bull" Durham - General Merchandise # 
Mrs. Cora Williamson - Millinery Shop A 

Express Office # 

Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise # 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXXXXXX PA THWA Y XXXXXXXXXXXX 

James Neville - University Athletic Shop ft 

Junius D. Webb - General Merchandise # 

United States Post Office # 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 



Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Central Hotel - Mgr. "Bunn" Patterson 

(owned by Roberson heirs) 

« To Old West 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - University Inn 
(owner - UNC) 



XX 


tt 


S. J. Brockwell - Skating Rink 


XX 


tt 




XX 


Leigh - Meat market & Ice Plant 


XX 


§ 


Sid L. Herndon - Hardware 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


n 


C. S. "Kern" Pendergraft- Fruit & News Stand 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






E 
A 


n 


Residence - Restaurant 


# 


"Bunn" Patterson - Drugstore 


s 

T 


n 


W. B. Sorrell - Jewelry & Optometry 


n 


Adam A. Kluttz - Haberdashery 


F 


# 


Adam A. Kluttz - General Merchandise 


R 


tt 


Bank of Chapel Hul 


A 






N 


a 


David McCauley - General Merchandise 


K 






L 

I 
N 


tt 


Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 


4 


Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 


S 
T 


a 


Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 


R 






E 






E 


4 


Tankersley's Store - General Merchandise 


T 


4 


Dr. William MacNider - Physician's Office 


XX 


n 


Residence - Miss Sophie Mallett MacNider 


XX 






XX 






XX 


XXX?C<XXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 


XX 


tt 


Plckard & Strowd - Confection & Grocery Store 


XX 


4 




XX 


H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 


XX 


4 


Robert Strange MacRae - Bookstore 


XX 






XX 


4 


Presbytenan Church 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


n 


Tailor & Shoe Shop 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX c 


7/-» 





SBffi&SKH 



Residence - (unknown) 

Pickard's Hotel 

(owner Walter W. Pickard) 



XXXXXXXXXX BARBEE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXX 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 



# Walter W. Pickard - Liverv Service 

XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 



R.es*<ie/we - Algernon Sydney Saifree n XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor Eben Alexander 



Residence- UNC President Francis P. Venable 



old Sam Phillips Law Office 



Residence - Adam Alexander Klutrz 



Residence - Dr. R. H. Whitehead 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Edward Vernon Howell 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Dr. Charles H. Herty 



E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Miss Mary Manning 
Presbytenan Manse 

Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 



Residence - Mrs. Palmer Cobb 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUND AR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 908 



1909 - 1913 



West Franklin: Robert B. House, as a new UNC student, first arrived at the train 
station in Carrboro in 1912. He hired a carriage to transport him and his luggage to the 
Battie-Vance-Pettigrew dormitories. After serving as Chancellor of the University from 
1934 to 1957, House described his first view of Chapel Hill in "The Tight That Shines: 
Chapel Hill 1912-1916". 

"As I saw Franklin Street in 1912 it was a dusty red avenue cut through a forest of 
magnificent trees. The road dipped through a valley and men rose, but the trees dominated 
the scene and obscured any buildings that then existed on mat section of Franklin Street 
As the carriage proceeded I could see a few buildings, as in a grove cleared here and there 
with informal cart paths running off more or less at right angles to Franklin Street. Farther 
up toward the corner of Franklin Street and Church Street was first the home of Professor 
Walter Dallam Toy and at the corner itself the red brick Baptist Church of Chapel Hill. 
Farther up was the home of Dr. Hume. On the comer of Franklin and Columbia streets 
was a large frame building. It had been recently a hotel, but in 1912 it was a rooming 
house only " 

In 1912, Otway Brown, the son of Edward Arthur Brown, was bom in what was then 
called the Bill Lloyd house on the north side of West Franklin Street That same year, the 
residence of Mrs. Harriet Cole was physically moved several hundred feet east on West 
Franklin Street to make way for a planned public school, and Alphonso J. McDade sold to 
J. E. Merritt and his wife Minnie, who was Mc Dade's daughter, the house that the Merritt's 
had been occupying for a number of years. 

East Franklin: In 1909, Samuel Jackson Brockwell opened the first movie theatre in 
Chapel HilL Named the Pickwick, it was housed in BrockwelTs building on the NE comer 
of Franklin and Columbia, most likely in the eastern section. (There is confusion - at least 
to me - as to the theatre's precise location since, in 191 1, when his term as sheriff was 
completed, Samuel Weldon .Andrews supposedly reopened his dry goods and grocery 
businesses, and Brockwell did not move the Pickwick Theatre to the south side of Franklin 
Street until 1916. For the purpose of this study it will be assumed that Andrews operated 
his businesses out of the western section only until 1916.) 

In 1910, Edward Arthur Brown opened a large store just east of Herndon's hardware 
store. Brown first sold hardware but soon offered furniture for sale. The following year 
Robert W. Foister opened his first camera shop in a section of Brown's store. The location 
of Foister's camera shop would change several times in later years. William J. "Tank" 
Hunter purchased Walter W. Pickard's livery stable in 1910 and, in 1911, ran a jitney 
service between the Royal Cafe, a new store built adjacent to the Post Office, and the city 
of Durham. The Peoples Bank was organized in 1905. By 191 1, it was housed in a 
building just east of W. B. Sorrell's optometry shop. This might or might not have been its 
initial location. 



42. 

BBBssamss 



After David McCauky died in 191 1, Emmett Gooch opened a fruit and snack stand in 
McCauley's former store. In 1912, Sam Pickard and John Fowler opened a grocery store 
in the front section of Leigh's meat market By 1912, J. T. "Bull" Durham and Colonel 
Swain "Kern" Pendergraft were operating competing jitney services; a plumbing shop had 
opened directly opposite Pendergraft' s fruit and news stand; and after "Bunn" Patterson 
died, his son, Glen Patterson, inherited "Buim's" drugstore. 

The University purchased the old Central Hotel from the Roberson estate and, after 
razing it in 1912, constructed the Vance-Batde-Pettigrew dormitories. The following year, 
the Civil War monument, "Silent Sam", was sculpted and placed in McCorkle Place facing 
Franklin Street 

After Eben Alexander died in 1910, his former residence, the old "Tom Taylor" house, 
was occupied by Professor C. W. Bain. In 1913, Alexander's widow was living in the 
house on the NW comer of Franklin and Boundary. 



42 



West Franklin Street Frontage 
Mallette Street (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 









XX 


# 




— 




XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 




Residence - (unknown) 




# 


XX 




XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXX 




XX 




Residence - (unknown) 




# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


# 
ft 


Residence - (unknown) 




# 


XX 

w 

E 
S 

T 

F 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 




# 


R 
A 

N 
K 


n 
# 


Residence - Dr. Thomas Hume 




# 


L 

I 

N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


XX 

# 

4 


Residence - Mrs. Harriet Cole 




ft 


XX 
XX 


n 


Residence - J. E. Merritt 




# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 




Rooming House 






XX 






Furniture 


# 


xx „ 


* 


u 


Groceries 


# 


XX W 


4 


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA STR 


EE1 



Residence - Mrs. Eugene H. Wilson 



(this space represents 8 lots) 



Residence - Miss Alice Jones 
Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Edward Arthur Brown 

Residence - (unknown) 



Meat Market 
Grocenes 



1913 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

# Samuel Weldon Andrews - Dry Goods & Groceries 

# Pickwick Theatre 

# Pickard & Fowler - Groceries / Leigh - Meat Markel 

# Sid L. Hemdon - Hardware 
ft Edward Arthur Brown - Furniture 



J. T. Durham - General Merchandise & Jitney Service # 
Mrs. Cora Williamson - Millinery Shop A 

Express Office # 



Robert Men Eubanks - General Merchandise 



Plumber / Office 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXOLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

James Neville - University Athletic Shop # 

Junius D. Webb - General Merchandise # 

United States Post Office # 

Royal Cafe # 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

S 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



Robert W. Foister - Camera Store 



C. S. "Kern" Pendergraft - Fruit & News Stand 
& Jitney Service 



Residence - Restaurant 

Glen Patterson - Drugstore 

W. B. Sorrell - Jewelry & Optometry 

People's Bank 

Adam A. Kluttz - Haberdashery 

Adam A. Kluttz - General Merchandise 

Bank of Chapel Hill 

Em inert Gooch Fruit & Snack Stand 

Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 
Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 



Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 

« To Old West 



Silent Sara 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - University Inn 
(owner - UNO 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



# Tankersleys Store - General Merchandise 

U Dr. William MacNider - Physician's Office 

§ Residence - Miss Sophie Mallert MacNider 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON S TREE T XXXXXXXXX 

# Pickard & Strowd - Confection & Grocery Store 

# H. H. "Hoot" Patterson - General Merchandise 

# Robert Strange MacRae - Bookstore 



Presbyterian Church 



Tailor & Shoe Shop 



HS 



Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 



XXXXXXXXXX BARBEE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXX 



Episcopal Chapel of die Cross 



Residence - (unknown) 

Pickard's Hotel 

(owner Walter. W. Pickard) 



# William J. "Tank" Hunter - Livery Service 

XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 



XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
Residence - UNC President Francis Preston Venable # XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 



Residence - Professor C. W. Bain 



old Sam Phillips Law Office 



Residence - Adam Alexander Kluttz 



Residence - (unknown) 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - Edward Vernon Howell 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Dr. Charles H. Herty 



# 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Miss Mary Manning 
Presbytenan Manse 

Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 



Residence - Mrs. Eben Alexander 



fXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET \XXyYXYYYYYyYYXyyyYyYyyyyyy 1V3 

% 



1914-1918 



West Franklin: As a result of the increase in residential properties on West Franklin 
Street the printout has now been fully extended to Merritt Mill Road. 

In 1914, the H31 Bakery, the first bakery in Chapel H31, opened on the NW comer of 
Franklin and Columbia in a store built much earlier by John Wesley Carr. In 1918, the 
owner-baker was James H. Varner. 

The brick building erected on the SW comer of Franklin and Columbia in 1880 was 
deemed unsafe in 1915 and was razed. A new small residence referred to as the "Farney 
McDade" house was then built just east of the Merritt residence. In 1918, J. E. Merritt 
and his wife, Minnie, converted their residence into a boarding house. 

The town of Chapel Hill, in 1916, purchased the house and property of Harriet Cole, 
sold the house to Mrs. Green Bryan, and erected the Chapel Mil High School on property 
just west of the house. That same year, Milton E. Hogan, the cashier of the Bank of 
Chapel IfiD, purchased the residence of Dr. Thomas Hume. 

East Franklin Business District In 1914, S. Berman arrived in Chapel Hill and 
opened a department store on the SE comer of Franklin and Columbia where J. T. 
Durham previously sold general merchandise. H. H. "Hoot" Patterson had groomed his 
son, Fred, to take over his business. When Fred died in 1914, "Hoot" lost interest and, in 
1915, rented his store to Frank Pickard and his son, Clarence. "Hoot" died in 1917 at the 
age of 73. In 1914, Clyde Eubanks, wanting his own store on his own property, moved his 
drugstore from the Tankersley-owned building to a new building he had constructed about 
one hundred yards west Robert W. Foister then moved his camera shop out of E. A. 
Brown's store and into the space vacated by Eubanks. The Bank of Chapel HiD, requiring 
more space, moved into a new building just west of Eubank's new drugstore, and a 
barbershop moved into the space vacated by the bank. Glen Patterson's drugstore, referred 
to as the Patterson Brother's Drugstore, was managed by part-owner, Wallace Durham 
Patterson. In 1915, the U. S. Government purchased the MacNider property and erected a 
small Post Office. 

In 1916, Adam Alexander Kluttz suffered a heart attack and sold his original store to 
the Solomon Brothers of New York, on condition that the store retain his name. The new 
manager was B. Y. C. Buice. Wilson Odell Lacock initially clerked in Herndon's hardware 
store. In 1916, he opened his own shoe store and shoe repair shop in a small wooden 
building just west of R. A. Eubanks' general store that had previously been used by the 
express office. By 1916, the Southeastern Express Co. had moved to larger quarters on 
the eastern side of Eubanks' store in what had earlier been a plumbing shop. SHghtty 
farther east, Samuel Jackson Brockwell and T. E. Best operated the B&B Auto Station, a 
Chapel ffill to Durham bus service. A major construction took place on the south side of 
the business district in 1916. A large brick building, erected just west of Old Fraternity 
Row, initially housed four businesses; Bruce Strowd's Ford Dealership; the Tar Heel 
Theatre; Emmett Gooch's Cafe; and Samuel Jackson Brockwefl's second Pickwick Theatre. 



m 



In 1917, "Bud" Perry and Moody Lloyd opened the Carolina Barbershop in a small 
wooden building next to the new Post Office. By 191 8, two buildings just west of the 
Bank of Chapel Kill were nearing completion. The eastern one, built by W. S. Roberson, 
provided space for two stores. A small third building, slightly farther west, housed a 
cobbler shop. 

East Franklin Residential District- After Professor C. W. Bain died in 191 5, his 
former residence, the old "Tom Taylor" house, was occupied by Dr James Bullitt. That 
same year Edward Kidder Graham became President of the University and moved into the 
President's House. In 1916, Walter W. Pickard sold the Pickard Hotel to Major William 
Uzzel and his wife, Louisa. That same year, Professor W. S. "Bully" Bernard rented the 
old "Sam Phillips law office" from the Kluttz's, remodeled the interior and made it his 
residence. New homes were built by Andrew H. Patterson, later Dean of Applied Science; 
Dr. Charles S. Mangum, Dean of the Medical School; Mrs. C. B. Ledbctter, Charles 
Thomas Woolen; and Blanche Patterson, the widow of Fred Patterson. Fred, who died in 
1914, was the son of H. H. "Hoot" Patterson, and Blanche was the daughter of Walter W. 
Pickard. Dr. Mangum, who had purchased his property from Professor Edward Vernon 
Howell, had as a neighbor on his eastern side a Mrs. Thomas. 






XXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - (unknown) # 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



1918 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX » 

XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

XX # 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 

# 



Residence - (unknown) 
Residence - (unknown) 

Odd Fellows Hall - (black) 
Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 



W 

E 
S 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - Mrs. Eugene H. Wilson 



<?<? 



Mtsa^naMttH 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - (unknown) # 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Milton E. Hogan 



Residence - (unknown) 



Chapel Hill High School 



Residence - Mrs. Green Bryan - boarding # 

Residence - J. E. Merritt - boarding # 

Residence - (unknown) # 

Rooming House 
# 

txxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx COL I 



AX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

s 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
MRTA 



Residence - (unknown) 

Restaurant 

Store - (function unknown) 



Residence - Miss Alice Jones 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Parsonage 
Baptist Church 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Mrs. Lizzie Carr Harris 



Residence - Edward Arthur Brown 

Residence - (unknown) 



# James H. Varner - Hill Bakery 

STREET YYX'VYYYWVY* YYVWYVVVV vtvvy ro t$ 

100 



1918 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

S. Berman - Department Store 



W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise 
Southeastern Express Co. 

S. J. Brockwell & T. E. Best- B&B Auto Station 

S. J. Brockwell - Pickwick Theatre 

Eramett Gooch - Cafe 

Tar Heel Theatre 

Bruce Strowd - Ford Dealership 

XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

James Neville - University Athletic Shop 

Junius D. Webb - General Merchandise 

Store - (function unknown) 

Royal Cafe 



Residence - Seaton Barbee 



Methodist Church 



Algernon Sydney Barbee - Office 



Vance/ Battle/Petugrew - Dormitones 
« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 

University Inn Annex - University Inn 
(owner - UNO 



E 
A 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
ft XX ft Samuel Weldon Andrews - Groceries 

XX Samuel Weldon Andrews - Dry Goods 

XX ft Pickard & Fowler -Groceries /Leigh- Meat Markei 

ft XX # Sid L. Hemdon - Hardware 

XX ft Edward Arthur Brown - Furniture 

ft XX 

XX 

# XX 
XX 
XX 

ft XX 

XX 

* XX 
i XX 
4 XX 
¥ XX 

XX 
XX 



c. s. 



'Kern" Pendergraft - Fruit & News Stand 
& Jitney Service 
Cobbler Shop 



building - (recently constructed) 

building - (recently constructed) 

building - (recently constructed) 

The Bank of Chapel Hill 

Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

Patterson Brothers - Rexall Drug Store 

W. B. Sorrell - Jewelry & Optometry 

People's Bank 

Haberdashery 

Adam A. Kluttz - General Merchandise 

Barber Shop 

Store - (function unknown) 

Robert L. Strowd - General Merchandise 
Robert W. Foister - Photo Shop 

Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 



Tankersley's Store - General Merchandise 
Perry & Lloyd - Carolina Barbershop 

United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

ft Pickard & Strowd - Confection & Grocery Store 

ft Frank Pickard & Son - General Merchandise 

H Robert Strange MacRae - Bookstore 

# Presbyterian Church 



Cleaners & Shoe Shop 



101 







AA 


? 


Kesiaence - ivirs. k.. b. Leaoeuer 


Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 


H 


XX 










XX 


n 


Pickard's Hotel 






XX 




(owner Major William Uzzel) 






XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Mrs. Blanche Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXXX PINE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


XXXXX.. V IE STREET 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


n 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


4 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 






XX 


4 


Residence - Charles Thomas Woolen 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Robert Strange MacRae 


Residence - Dr. James Bullitt 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Andrew H. Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


4 


Residence- Professor W. S. "Bully" Bernard 






XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President Edward Kidder Grahan 


4 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Adam A. Kluttz 






xx- 
xx 














XX 










XX 






Residence - (unknown ) 


4 


E 
A 

s 

T 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




x 


Residence - (unknown; 


Residence - Professor Edward Vernon Howell 


4 


F 
R 
A 

N 


















K 










L 










I 


n 


Residence - Miss Mary Manning 


Residence - Professor Charles S. Mangum 


tt 


N 










S 
T 

R 
E 
E 


# 


Presbyterian Manse 






it 


Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 


Residence - Mrs. Thomas 


4 


T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


4 


Residence - Mrs. Eben Alexander 






XX 






Residence - Dr. Charles H. Herty 


# 


XX 
XX 






xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:o:xx\ \ xxxx sou: 


IDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1913 








tot 





BHBBB 



1919-1923 



West Franklin: Residential properties continued to increase west of Mallette Street 
and were occupied primarily by black families. Henry "Buddy" Guthrie opened a movie 
theatre just west of Graham Street about 1918. By 1923, it was owned by Davie OKelly 
and was called the Standard Theatre. 

In 1920, the Delta Tau Delta Fraternity purchased the property of Miss Alice Jones. 
Eugene Andrews moved into a house just west of Mallette Street, and Edward Arthur 
Brown moved to a house slightly west of his former residence. In 1923, the new 
University Baptist Church was constructed on the SW corner of Franklin and Columbia. 

East Franklin Business District: People's Bank moved into the western section of the 
building that had been constructed by W. S. Roberson in 1918, and the Lowe brothers 
opened Chapel Hill Hardware in the eastern section. Three stores just west of the Peoples 
Bank were occupied by; the Carolina Barbershop, that had moved in 1920 from its original 
site next to the Post Office; Sol Lipman's Custom Tailoring (Sol was the brother of Jack 
Lipman); and Cate's Jewelry. Seaton Barbee died in 1920 and, in 1921, his widow, Susan 
Davis Barbee, sold her property to the University who. in turn, rented the house to Robert 
Fetzer. As an acknowledgement of the growth of the village and the increase in the 
number of automobiles (95 in 192 IX the center 18 feet of East Franklin Street was paved 
leaving about 10 feet of hard-packed dirt on either side. 

In 1923, Robert L. Strowd constructed a two-story brick building on his property. The 
first occupants were Jack Sparrow's Smokeshop in the western section, a cafeteria in the 
eastern section, and the Orange Printshop in the basement. By the end of 1923, Jack 
Sparrow had moved his smokeshop to the building just east of the A. A. Kluttz store, and 
in the space vacated by Sparrow, James Linwood Sutton and his brother-in-law, J. L. 
Alderman, opened a drugstore. That same year the Tankersleys built a two-story brick 
building on their property. The first occupants were their own dry goods store in the 
western section, and the Carolina Cafeteria in the eastern section. In late 1923, the Pope 
Mattress Co., which was rjrirnarily a furniture store, moved their business from Columbia 
Street to a large two-story brick building they had just constructed on the north side of East 
Franklin Street. 

During this period the A&P opened a grocery store in the eastern section of Edward 
Arthur Brown's building, and Herndon's Hardware was replaced by the Sanitary Market. 
Sam Pickard died in 1923, and John T. Fowler purchased the Model Market at auction. 
Samuel Weldon Andrews gave up one-half of his corner location at Franklin and Columbia 
to Charles W. Shields who, in partnership with John McCauley, opened a grocery store. 
Cameron F. MacRae, the son of Robert Strange MacRae, opened a tea room in what had 
been Seaton Barbee's old drugstore and, in 1923, Louis Graves began publishing the 
Chapel Hill Weekly upstairs over the tea room where, much earlier, Tom Dunstan had his 
barbershop. Louis Graves was the son of Ralph Henry Graves II and Julia Hooper, the 
daughter of John de Berniere Hooper. 



/03 

l l l l Illl I l l l l l III ll ll llllll ni l 



Gus Paviakis opened the Carolina Confectionery in the space formerly occupied by the 
University Athletic Shop. Emmett Gooch moved his cafe several doors east into the store 
previously occupied by Junius D. Webb, and Wootten and Moulton opened a photographic 
studio above Gooch's cafe. Owelty Tailoring took over the space vacated by Gooch. Jack 
Lipman opened a clothing store just east of Gooch's cafe in the space earlier occupied by 
the Post Office. Clark Marsh opened a cleaning and pressing shop in what had been 
Robert Strange MacRae's bookstore, and Jacob Thomas ran a general store on the NE 
corner of Henderson and Franklin. 

Fire took it's toll during the five year period. The University Inn was destroyed in 1921, 
and the Pickwick Theatre in 1923. The Riddle Shoe Shop which had opened just west of 
the Pickwick lobby was not damaged. Construction in progress in 1923 included a brick 
building on the old William Guthrie homesite, which was intended as the new home for the 
Hill Bakery. The bakery, since 1920, had been owned and operated by William Brumfield 
NeaL 

East Franklin Residential District: Harry Woodbum Chase, who became President 
of the University in 1919, moved into the President's House. Mrs. Frances Adele 
Tankersley, bothered by the increasing noise of the business district, began construction of 
a new house further east along Franklin Street Wallace E. Caldwell moved into the old 
"Tom Taylor" house. In 1920, Joseph E. Kennette purchased the Charles Herty property. 
After Robert Strange MacRae died in 1921, his widow retained the property and ran a very 
successful boarding house. The University Presbyterian Church was built in 1920 on the 
same site as the earlier one. Construction in progress included a large Episcopal Church as 
an adjunct to the smaller Chapel of the Cross, which the congregation had outgrown. 



lot 



1923 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merrttt MID Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITTM1LL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence -(unknown) # XX 

XX # 

XX 

XX # 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX # 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 



Store - (function unknown) # 

Davie O'Kefly- -Standard Theatre - (black) # 

XXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Garage - Auto Repair 
Residence - (unknown) 



XXXXXXXXROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - (unknown) # 



Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 

# 

Store - (function unknown) # 

Store - (function unknown) # 

XXXXXXXXXX LANE - NOT PA VED XXXXXXXXX 



Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 



Odd Fellows Hall - (black) 
Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 

E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Store - (function unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Store - (function unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 

HaH -(black) 
Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - Mrs. Eugene H. Wilson 



105 



XXXXXXXXXX LAURA 'S PLACE XXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - (unknown) # 

Residence - (unknown) # 

Residence - (unknown) # 

Residence - (unknown) # 



Residence - Eugene Andrews # 

jmXXXXXY MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



Residence - (unknown) 

Restaurant 

Store - (function unknown) 



Delta Tau Delta - Fraternity 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Parsonage 
Old Baptist Church - (unused) 



Residence - Milton E. Hogan 



Residence - (unknown) 



Chapel Hill High School 



Residence - Mrs. Green Bryan - boarding # 

Residence - J. Edgar Merritt - boarding # 

Residence - (unknown) # 
University Baptist Church (side) 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx IOt> 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

# Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Edward Arthur Brown 



Residence - Mrs. Lizzie Carr Harris 



Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 



William Brumfieid Neal - Hill Bakery 



*<XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 923 

■■■■■■—■ "■"■"» """* 



1923 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



S. Berman - Department Store 



W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise 
Southeastern Express Co. 



Building - under construction 

Riddle Shoe Shop 

Pickwick Theatre - destroyed by Are 

O'Kelly Tailoring 

Store - (function unknown) 

Bruce Strowd's Ford Agency 



XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Gus Paviakis - Carolina Confectionery # 

Cmmett Gooch - Cafe / Wootten & Mouiton - (photo) # 

Jack Lipman - University Shop - (clothes) # 

Store - (function unknown) # 



Residence - Robert A. Fetzer 



Methodist Church 



Cameron MacRae - Tea Room / Chapel Hill Weekly" 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 



# Charles W. Shields & John McCauley- Groceries 

# Samuel Weldon Andrews - Dry Goods 

# John T. Fowler - Model Market / Leigh's Meat Mkt 

# Sanitary Market 

# Edward Arthur Brown - Furniture 

A&P - Groceries 



Pope Mattress Co. - Furniture 



# Cate's Jewelry 

# Sol Lipman - (custom tailor) 

# Carolina Barber Shop 

# People's Bank 

# Lowe Brothers - Chapel Hill Hardware 

# The Bank of Chapel Hill 

# Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

# Patterson Brothers - Rexall Drug Store 

# W. B. Sorrell - Jewelry & Optometry 

# Store - Clothing 

# Store - Cleaners 

# Adam A. Kluttz - General Merchandise 

# Jack Sparrow - Carolina Smoke Shop 



# >utton & Alderman - Drugstore / Orange Printshop 

# Cafeteria 

# Robert W. Foister - Photo Shop 



# Residence - Frances Adele Tankersley 

# Tankersley - Dry Goods 

# Carolina Cafeteria 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 
« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
University Inn - destroyed by Are 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

# Jacob Thomas - General Store 

# Store - (function unknown) 

# Clark Marsh - Cleaning & Pressing 



University Presbyterian Church 



Residence - Mrs. Frances Adele Tankersley 



loi 







XX 




(under construction) 






XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Mrs. C. B. Ledbetter 


Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 


# 


XX 










XX 


# 


Pickard's Hotel 






XX 




(owner Major William Uzzel) 






XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Mrs. Blanche Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXPINE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


XXXXXXXXXXXPINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


# 


XX 


# 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church - under construction 




XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Charles Thomas Woolen 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Mrs. Robert Strange MacRae - boarding 


Residence - Wallace E, Caldwell 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Andrew H. Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Professor W. S. "Bully" Bernard 






XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President Harry Woodburn Chase 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - Adam A„ Kluttz 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - Professor James E. Latta 


n 


E 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




A 

s 

T 


n 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Professor Edward Vernon Howell 


# 


F 
R 
A 

N 










K 
L 

I 


n 


Residence - Miss Mary Manning 


Residence - Professor Charles S. Mangum 


n 


N 










S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


n 


Presbyterian Manse 






n 


Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 


Residence - Mrs. Thomas 


n 


T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 






Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 


n 


xx 108 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXBOUNDAR Y STREET 


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1923 



1924-1928 



In 1928, numbers were assigned to residences and places of business, to aid in postal 
delivery. 

West Franklin: Berman Court, a small grouping of houses, appeared on West 
Franklin during this period. The Methodists built a parsonage on the she of the old "John 
Wesley Carr" residence, and Eugene Andrews converted his residence into a funeral home. 
Captain Fred C. Smith, who served as the conductor of the Carboro train known as "The 
Whopper" for 48 years, purchased the residence of Edward Arthur Brown, and Ralph J. 
Weaver moved into the former Kirkland residence just east of Church Street. A Chevrolet 
Agency that had opened on the SW corner of Franklin and Roberson by Ralph Pendergraft 
was destroyed by fire in late 1928. The Hill Bakery moved into its new building on East 
Franklin, and Bruce Strowd moved his Ford dealership into a large new brick building on 
the NW corner of Franklin and Columbia, which had been built on the former site of the 
HSU Bakery. A Western Union office and a plumbing shop opened just west of Bruce 
Strowd's Motor Co. 

East Franklin Business District: This five-year period saw many changes in the 
business district. The building that housed Foister's Camera Shop burned in 1925, forcing 
Foister to move across the street into a vacant store just east of Jack Lipman's doming 
store. Foister had his photo finishing laboratory upstairs and ran a student supply and soda 
shop on the first floor. Cameron MacRae, the son of Robert Strange MacRae, built the 
MacRae building on the NE corner of Franklin and Henderson in 1925. By 1928, the 
occupants were Clarence Pickard's Cash & Carry Grocery Store, the Jefferson-Standard 
Insurance Co. and, in the basement, the Sanitary Barber Shop. 

The University traded the old Seaton Barbee property to the Methodists for the 
adjacent property that earlier held the Algernon Sydney Barbee office. The Methodists 
men, in 1926, built their new church on the old Seaton Barbee homesite. Bill Prouty had 
been living in the old house as recently as 1925. The former Methodist Church was left in 
place and served as an annex. 

Wilson Odell Lacock, after 12 years in business, moved his shoe store and shoe repair 
shop to the north side of the street. The Pickwick Theatre reopened to great fanfare after 
undergoing a major restoration. Samuel Weldon Andrews formed a partnership" with J. S. 
Herminger, who purchased a quarter share of the business. They then relocated their 
newly named Andrews-Henninger department store out of ifs small comer location and 
into the space formerly occupied by the People's Bank. After John Fowler died in 1925, 
his sons enlarged the Model Market by taking over the adjacent space that housed the 
Sanitary Market By 1928, Robert L. Fowler was managing the business. Leigh's Meat 
Market, which was housed in the rear of Fowler's store, was first sold in 1924 to Lemuel 
Carson, but by 1928 was owned by Gurney H. Ray. 



lo<J 



Johnson-Moore Hardware replaced Chapel Hill Hardware. People's Bank was forced 
into a merger with the Bank of Chapel Hill. Mr. Pope sold his interest in the Pope 
Mattress Company, in 1926, to his partner of two years, John P. Crowder. Crowder, after 
holding a liquidation sale, sold the building to Sam Berman, and then opened a general 
store in the space formerly occupied by Edward Arthur Brown. Joseph W. Pendergraft 
and Thomas H McCauley had purchased Brown's business in early 1926 but went 
bankrupt later in the year. Sam Berman moved his department store across Franklin Street 
into the much larger Pope Mattress Co. building. 

The business that bore the name of A. A. Kluttz closed in 1926, and its space was taken 
over by Stetson T>', a men's clothier. Comments made by Mr. Buice, manager of the 
Kluttz store, at the time of the closing seem prophetic. He stated that, in his opinion, all 
independent businesses along Franklin Street would have difficulty surviving in the future. 
He felt there were too many similar stores chasing too few customers, and with the advent 
of the automobile and the ever increasing expansion of good roads, the few customers he 
had were finding it easier to choose from a greater variety of goods at greater distances. 
He also made mention of the fact mat his business was not cash-and-carry, and that too 
many of his customers failed to pay their bills in a timely fashion. 

In 1927, Wooten-Mouhon moved their photographic studio upstairs over Fowler's 
market and, in 1928, George Livas and James Gust purchased the Carolina Confectionery 
and renamed it the Carolina Coffee Shop. The UNC Service Plants and the Bus Station 
took over the building vacated by Strowd. After the Sorrell building was completed in 
1927, its first occupants were William B. Sorrell's optometry shop in the western section, 
the Carolina Theatre in the center, and Jeffs Campus Confectionery in the eastern section. 
G. H. Paulsen replaced Jack Sparrow as the owner of the Carolina Smoke Shop, and 
Johnson-Prevost Dry Cleaners replaced Clark Marsh's Cleaners. New tenants in the 
Tankersley Building were Crabtree's Soda Fountain and the Welcome Irai Cafeteria. Other 
new businesses included Thompson's printing shop east of the A&P, the Carolina Grill, the 
Durham Gas Co., Pritchard- Patterson Clothiers, Randolph-MacDonald Inc., Carolina Dry 
Geaners, and University Cafeteria. 

East Franklin Residential District: Spencer Hall, a University dormitory for women, 
was completed in 1924 on the site of the old "Tom Taylor" house. After the Tankersley 
residence was razed in 1924, Frances Tankersley, and her son William, moved into their 
new home just east of the Presbyterian Church. In 1927, Frances moved to Greensboro. 
Construction of the Graham Memorial, on the site of the former University Inn, was 
started in 1924 but, by 1928, only the social room was open. The new Episcopal Church 
was completed in 1925. Fraternities and sororities took over several residences, and a new 
residence was constructed and occupied by A. K. King. I. W. Rose moved into the former 
James E. Latta residence, and W. S. Roberson purchased the house formerly occupied by 
Mrs. Thomas. 

As Adam Alexander Kluttz lay dying in 1926, he asked a friend, who was sitting by his 
bedside, what he thought heaven would be like. His friend, a parson, replied that he 
thought it might be like Chapel Hill in the spring. Adam smiled, said, "that's good", then 
died. This, perhaps, was the origin of the expression, "the southern part of heaven". 
Kluttz's wife, Ora, continued living in the family home. 



I/O 



1928 

Wett Franklin Street Frontage 
Merrttt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 


Residence - (unknown) 


607 


XX 










XX 


610 


Service Station 






XX 










XX 










XX 


606 


Auto Repair 






XX 










XX 










XX 


602 


Residence - (unknown) 


Store - (function unknown) 


603 


XX 






Davie O'Kelly - Standard Theatre - (black) 


601 


XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 






Garage - Auto Repair 


509 


XX 
XX 






Residence - (unknown) 


503 


XX 










XX 


500 


Residence - Henry S. Lloyd 






XX 






Ralph Pendergraft - Chevrolet Agency 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX \uBERSON STRE7.T W 


Residence - (unknown) 


# 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 






T 


# 


Store - (function unknown) 


Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 




F 






Store - (function unknown) 


423 


R 
A 


418 


Residence - (unknown) 


Store - (function unknown) 


421 


N 






XXXXXXXXXX LANE - NOT PA VED XXXXXXXXX 


K 
L 

N 

S 
T 






Residence - (unknown) 


419 






Residence - Mary Johnson 


417 










414 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 


415 


R 

E 
E 

T 










412 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Odd Fellows Hall - (black) 


411 


XX 
XX 


# 


Hall - (black) 






XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 


407 


XX 










XX 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Residence - Sam Herman 


401 


XX 
XX /// 


# 


Residence - (unknown) 



I Saa W&zaumsplace xxxxxxxxxxx 

Residence - (unknown) 31 1 



Residence - (unknown; 
Residence - (unknown) 
Residence - (unknown) 



309 
307 
303 



Eugene Andrews - Funeral Home 30 1 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - W. B. Thompson 2 1 3 



Residence - J. P. Nesbitt 



209 



XXXXXXXXXXX BERMAN COURT XXXXXXXXXX 
# # # # 

Residence- Residence- Residence-Residence 



Residence - Milton E. Hogan 



149 



Chapel Hill Graded School 



131 



Residence - Mrs. Green Bryan - boarding 

Residence - J. Edgar Merritt - boarding 

Residence - (unknown) 

University Baptist Church (side) 



119 
113 
107 
105 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



S 
T 
R 
E 

E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



312 



308 



Residence - Samuel Weldon Andrews 



West Franklin Street Service Station 



216 



Delta Tau Delta - Fraternity 



200 



Residence - Walter Dallam Toy 



Parsonage 
Old Baptist Church - (unused) 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
1 52 Residence - Ralph J. Weaver 



146 



Residence - Captain Fred C. Smith 



132 



Residence - Mrs. Lizzie Carr Harris 



120 Residence - (unknown) 

1 1 2 Methodist Parsonage - Reverend C. E. Rozzelle 



106 
104 

100 



Western Union 
R. R. Benson - (plumber) 
Bruce Strowd Motor Co 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA STREET XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 928 

lit 



1928 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCOLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

1 1 Charles W. Shields & John McCauley - (M Store) 
1 03 Store - (function unknown) 

105 John T. Fowler - Model Market 

Gurney H. Ray - Meat Market - (in rear) 

109 John P. Crowder - General Merchandise 



Store - (function unknown) 



Store - (function unknown) 



Robert Allen Eubanks - General Merchandise 



Southeastern Express Co. 



Hill Bakery 

Carolina Grill 

Pickwick Theatre 



108 



124 
126 
128 



The Durham Gas Co. 132 

UNC Service Plants - (electricity- water-laundry) 1 34 

Bus Station 136 

XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

George Livas & James Gust- Carolina Coffee Shop 138 

Emmett Gooch - Cafe 1 40 

Jack Lipman - University Shop - (clothes) 142 

Student's Supply Store / Foister's Photo A 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church - Annex 



150 



162 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

E 
A 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



A&P - Groceries 

vacant lot 

vacant lot 

1 1 9 Sam Berman - Department Store 

121 W. B. Sorrell Optometrist 

123 Carolina Theatre 

125 JefTs Campus Confectionery 

127 Cate's Jewelry 

129 Sol Lipman - (custom tailor) 

1 3 1 Carolina Barber Shop 

1 33 Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 

135 Johnson-Moore - Hardware 

137 The Bank of Chapel Hill 

139 Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

141 Patterson Brothers - Rexall Drug Store 

1 43 Store - (function unknown) 

1 45 W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

147 RandoIpb-MacDonald Inc. 

149 Stetson "D" Co. - Men's Clothes 

151 G. H. Paulsen - Carolina Smoke Shop 

1 53 Store - (function unknown) 

1 55 Pritchard-Patterson - Clothier 

157 Store - (function unknown) 
1 59 Sutton - Drug Store / Carolina Dry Cleaners 

1 6 1 University Cafeteria 

# (building destroyed by fire) 



Oriental Tea Shop 164 

Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 178 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 

Graham Memorial - (under construction) 2 1 2 

(social room is open) 



S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



173 
175 



179 



Residence razed 

Crabtree's Soda Fountain 
Welcome Inn Cafeteria 



United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 
20 1 Clarence Pickard - Cash & Carry Grocery Store 
Jefferson Standard Ins. / Sanitary Barber Shop 

205 Store - (function unknown) 

207 Johnson-Prevost Dry Cleaners 



211 



University Presbytenan Church 



US 



21° 



Residence - William Tankersley 







XX 










XX 










XX 


223 


Residence - Mrs. C. B. Ledbetter 


Residence - Algernon Sydney Barbee 


226 


XX 










XX 


225 


Pickard's Hotel 






XX 




(owner Major William Uzzel) 






XX 










XX 


229 


Residence - Mrs. Blanche Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXXX PINE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church 




XX 










XX 


307 


Sigma Zeta - Fraternity 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


311 


Residence - Charles Thomas Woolen 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


313 


Residence - Andrew H. Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXX . XXXX HILLS, 






XX 










XX 


401 


Residence - Professor W. S. "Bully" Bernard 






XX 










XX 






Residence-UNC President Harry Woodbum Chase 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


40^ 


Residence - Mrs. A. A. Kluttz 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - I. W. Rose 


410 


E 
A 

s 

T 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




501 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Professor Edward Vernon Howell 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 










K 
L 

I 


507 


Residence - Miss Mary Manning 


Residence - Professor Charles S. Mangum 


510 


N 










S 
T 
R 

E 
E 


513 


Presbyterian Manse 






517 


Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 


Residence - W. S. Roberson 


516 


T 

XX 
XX 










XX 


521 


Residence - A. K. King 






XX 










XX 


523 


Chi Omega - Sorority 






XX 






Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 


524 


XX 
XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 92S 

MY" 



1929-1933 



West Franklin: After the wooden structure that housed the Pendergraft Chevrolet 
Agency burned in 1928, a small brick building was constructed on the site and, inl933, it 
housed Squires Grocery Store and Burroughs Auto Service. One block east, Mrs. Betty 
Williams opened a grocery store. Laura's Place was renamed Kenan Street Milton Hogan 
sold his house to Caesar Cone, who in turn rented it to the Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity. The 
Baptists sold their old church to the Masons for use as their Masonic Hall. The Baptist 
parsonage continued to serve as the residence for the widow of Eugene Wilson, and Rick 
Taylor occupied Mrs. Wilson's former home. After the death of Professor Walter Dallam 
Toy, his widow remained in the family home, as did Mrs. W. B. Thompson. Diab's Dress 
Shop opened next to Bruce Strowd's Ford Agency, and the ESSO Station, built across 
from the high school in 1930, was managed by Clyde Lloyd. 

East Franklin Business District (South Side): Texaco, in 1930, wanted to build a 
service station on the SE corner of Franklin and Columbia but, to do so, would have 
required the cutting down of nine mature and graceful elm trees that lined the corner 
property. The town reluctantly agreed to remove the trees when Texaco promised to 
construct a tasteful and attractive yellow building and to include roses in their plantings. 

Robert Lee Fowler, in 1932, moved the Model Market to the south side of Franklin 
Street into a new building. He moved his stock across the street during one weekend and 
was open for business on Monday morning. Robert A. Eubanks closed his store in 1933, 
when he became postmaster. That same year, the Pickwick Theatre was forced to close 
because of the depression. Western Union vacated 106 West Franklin and moved into the 
building with the UNC Service Plants. Gurney ¥L Ray initially moved his meat market into 
the store vacated by Western Union but by 1933, he had moved again and was operating 
The Friendly Market next to the Texaco Station. Over the years the UNC facility that 
provided water, electricity, and laundry, and known as the Service Plants, had begun selling 
related electrical products. In 1930, the state government decided it was inappropriate for 
the University to compete with commercial enterprises and passed legislation that prevented 
it. The business remained in the same location but the University severed its relations, and 
handed the operation over to two long-term employees, Harvey D. Bennett and Frank C. 
Blocksidge. 

Just west of Old Fraternity Row, Emmett Gooch's cafe, Jack Lipman's Clothing Store, 
and Robert Foister's Photo Shop all relocated to the north side of Franklin, making room 
for Durham Dairy Products, Alfred E. Williams Stationery, the return of Wootten & 
Moulton, and The Little Shop which sold women's clothing. The specialty shop that 
became The Little Shop was started by Elizabeth Lanier "Beppie" Branson and Miss Mary 
Henderson in the early 1930s, in the eastern section of "Hoot" Patterson's former store 
near the NE corner of Henderson and Franklin. By late 1933, Miss Branson had moved 
across the street to 142 East Franklin as the sole proprietress of, The Little Shop. The 
former business apparently continued as Mary Henderson's Millinery Shop, but soon 
became the Betsy Ann Shop. The Saltz Brothers opened the Carolina Shop, a clothing 
store, in what had been the old .Algernon Barbee office, and later a tea room. 



115 



East Franklin Business District (North Side): Business startups, bankruptcies, and 
changes in ownership continued unabated University Cleaners replaced Clarence Pickard's 
Grocery Store, which had been unsuccessful. Milton A. Abernethy, who had initially 
started a bookstore in his University dormitory, moved into more formal quarters over the 
Carolina Cafeteria in the Tankersley Building in 1931. It was in 1933, however, that he 
moved his Intimate Bookshop across Henderson into the western section of what had been 
"Hoot" Patterson's former store. Johnson-Moore Hardware, bankrupt in 1930, was taken 
over by Orange Hardware. Patterson Brother's Drugstore, also bankrupt in 1930, was 
purchased by James Manning Pritchard and Thomas Phillip Lloyd from the owner, 
Wallace Durham Patterson. University Cafeteria moved out of the Strowd Building and 
into an adjacent new building which had been built on the site of the earlier Foister Photo 
Shop that had burned. In 1930, University Cafeteria was purchased and renamed the 
Friendly Cafeteria but, by 1933, the property was operated as the Crescent Cafeteria. 
Robert Foister moved his Photo Shop into the available space in the Strowd Building, next 
to Sutton's Drug Store. Bonardi's Fruit Market moved into the store formerly occupied by 
the Carolina Smoke Shop. 

Herbert Ledbetter, who had earlier worked in Alfred William's Stationery, and 
Clarence "Doc" Pickard, whose grocery store had failed, formed a partnership and initially 
opened Ledbetter-Pickard Stationery in the western section of Foister's Photo Shop. In 

1932, having been successful, Ledbetter-Pickard Stationery moved three doors west into 
the space formerly occupied by Pritchard-Patterson Clothier. The Carolina Ice Cream 
Store opened just west of Sutton's Drug Store. The University Shoe Shop replaced 
Crabtree's Soda Fountain; Carolina Cafeteria replaced Welcome Inn Cafeteria; and The 
Carolina Barbershop provided showers for their patrons in the rear of their store. After the 
razing of the old Tankersley residence, three stores were built in the available space and, in 

1933, two tenants were Carolina Dry Cleaners and the Farmer's Cooperative Store. At the 
NE corner of Franklin and Columbia, Charles Shields sold his interest in the "M" Store to 
Jack Andrews and, in 1933. opened his Home Owned Market next door to the "M" Store. 
In 1932, D. Pender's Grocery moved into the eastern half of the space vacated by the 
Model Market. The western half was taken over by the Durham Public Service Co., who 
continued the operation of the ice plant in the rear. 

East Franklin Residential District: The UNC President's House was extensively 
refurbished in 1929 for the new president, Frank Porter Graham. Algernon Barbee 
vacated the old "Crystal Palace" after his wife died in 1930. The Graham Memorial 
Student Union was completed in 1931. Professor Edward Vernon Howell died in 1931 
and willed his home to his sister, Emily R. Kyser. The tenant in the home, in 1933, was R. 
J. Mebane. R. J. M. Hobbs replaced I. W. Rose in the old "Love" house, and after W. R. 
Roberson died, his widow, Cornelia, remained in the family home. The Pickard Hotel was 
destroyed by fire in 1929. Walter W. Pickard then built his home on the same site, which 
was next door to his daughter, Mrs. Blanche Patterson. William Tankersley died in 1931. 
His residence was then occupied by Mrs. C. R. Weaver. Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity 
razed their cottage and constructed a much larger and more formidable gothic structure. 
Mrs. Manning A. Simons moved into the former residence of .Andrew H. Patterson. E. 
W. McChesney moved into the former residence of A. K. King, and Professor George 
Bason and his wife, Mabel, who arrived in Chapel Mil in 1929, moved into the vacant, 
University owned, "Widow Puckett" house. 



1933 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERMTTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - (unknown) 607 XX 

XX 610 Service Station 

XX 

XX 

XX 606 Auto Repair 

XX 

XX 

XX 602 Residence - (unknown) 

603 XX 

601 XX 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 508 

XX 
Garage - Auto Repair 509 XX 506 

XX 
Residence - (unknown) 503 XX 

XX 500 

XX 
501 XX 

XX 

XX 



Store - (function unknown) 
Davie O'Kelly - Standard Theatre - (black) 



Store - (function unknown) 
Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - Henry S. Lloyd 



Burroughs Auto Service 

XX 
Squires Grocery Store 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - (unknown) 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 



Mrs. Betty Williams - Grocery Store 423 

Store - (function unknown) 42 1 

XXXXXXXXXX LANE - NOT PA VED XXXXXXXXX 



Residence - (unknown) 
Residence - Mary Johnson 

Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 



Odd Fellows Hall - (black) 
Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 

Residence - Sam Berman 



419 
417 

415 



411 



407 



40! 



W 
E 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX if J 



418 



Residence - (unknown) 



414 



412 



40o 



404 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - (unknown) 



Auto Repair 
Residence- Dudley Taylor 



XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - (unknown) 3 1 1 

Residence - (unknown) 309 

Residence - (unknown) 307 

Residence - (unknown) 303 

Eugene Andrews - Funeral Home 301 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - Mrs. W. B. Thompson 2 1 3 



Residence - J. P Nesbitt 



209 



XXXXXXXXXXX BERMAN COURT XXXXXXXXXX 

# # # # 

Residence-Residence-Residence-Residence 



Zeta Beta Tau - Fraternity 



149 



Chapel Hill High School 



131 



Residence - Mrs. Green Bryan - boarding 

Residence - J. Edgar Merntt - boarding 

Residence - (unknown) 

University Baptist Church (side) 



lio 
113 
107 
105 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



312 



308 



Residence - Rick Taylor 

West Franklin St. Service Station 



216 



Delta Tau Delta - Fraternity 



208 



n 

200 



Residence - Mrs. Walter Dallam Toy 



Residence - Mrs. Eugene Wilson 
Masonic Hall 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



152 



14d 



Residence - Ralph J. Weaver 



Residence - Captain Fred C. Smith 



132 
126 



106 

104 

100 



Residence - J. P. Harris 
Clyde Lloyd - Standard Oil Service Station 

Residence - C. L. McBrair 

Methodist Parsonage - Rev. Albea Godbold 



Store - (function unknown) 
Diab's Dress Shop 

Bruce Strowd Motor Co. 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA S TREE T XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 933 

lift 



1933 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 
University Texaco Service Station 100 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Gurney H. Ray - Friendly Market 
R. A. Eubank's former store - (vacant) 

Southeastern Express Co. 

Robert L. Fowler - Model Market 

W. C. Lyon Hardware 

Hill Bakery 

Carolina Grill 

Pickwick Theatre - (dosed) 



106 
108 

118 
120 
122 
124 
126 
128 



130 
134 
136 



The Durham Gas Co. 
Western Union / UNC Service Plants 
Bus Station / University Printery 
XXXXXXXXOLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 138 

Durham Dairy Prod / Wootten&MouIton - (photo) A 140 

The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 1 42 

Alfred E. Williams Co. - Stationery-Cards-Gifts 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church - Annex 



150 



162 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

1 1 Jack Andrews & John McCauley - (M Store) 

1 03 C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 

105 Durham Public Service Co. - Ice Plant 

107 D. Penders - Grocery 

1 09 John P. Crowder - General Merchandise 

A&P - Groceries 

vacant lot 

vacant lot 

1 19 Sam Berman - Department Store 

121 W. B. Sorrell Optometrist 

1 23 Carolina Theatre 

125 Jeffs Campus Confectionery 

127 Cate's Jewelry 

129 Sol Lipman - ( custom tailor) 

131 Carolina Barber Shop & Showers 

133 Andrews- Henninger - Department Store 

1 35 Orange Hardware Co. 

137 The Bank of Chapel Hill 

139 Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

1 4 1 Pritchard & Lloyd - Rexall Drug Store 

143 Store - (function unknown) 

145 W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

1 47 Jack Lipman - (clothes) / Village Beauty Shop 

149 Stetson "D" Co. - Men's Clothes 

1 5 1 Bonardi - Fruit Market 

1 53 Emmett Gooch - Restaurant 

1 55 Ledbetter-Pickard - Stationery 

1 57 Carolina Ice Cream Store 

159 Sutton - Drug Store 

161 Foister's Photo Co. 

1 63 Crescent Cafeteria 



Saltz Brothers - Carolina Shop - (clothes) 166 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitones 178 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Student Union 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



167 Carolina Dry Cleaners 

169 Store -(function unknown) 

171 Farmer's Cooperative Store 

1 73 University Shoe Shop 

1 75 Cummings & Hunter - Carolina Cafeteria 



1 79 United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 
201 University Cleaners 

Jefferson Standard Ins. ' Sanitary Barber Shop 
205 Milton A. Abernethy - Intimate Bookshop 

20" Betsy Ann Shop 



211 



University Presbytenan Church 



m 



219 



Residence - Mrs. C. R. Weaver 



Residence - (unknown) 



226 



XXXXXXXXXXX PINE DRIVE XXXXXXXXXXXXX 

Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 304 

XX 
XX 
Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



Residence - Mrs. C. B. Ledbetter 



227 Residence - W. W. Pkkard 

229 Residence - Mrs. Blanche Patterson 
XXXXXXXXXXX PINE STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

307 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 

3 1 1 Residence - Charles Thomas Woolen 

313 Residence - Mrs. Manning A. Simons 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
Residence-UNC President Frank Porter Graham 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Professor W. S. "Bully" Bernard 



Residence - Mrs. A. A. Kluttz 



Residence - R. J. M. Hobbs 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - R J. Mebane 

Residence - Professor Charles S. Mangum 



410 



504 



M0 



Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 



516 



Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 



524 



E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - George F. and Mabel Bason 



507 



513 



517 



521 
523 



Residence - Miss Mary Manning 
Presbyterian Manse - Dr. Richmond P. Bond 

Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 



Residence - E. W. McChesney 

Chi Omega - Sorority 



XXXXXXXX:<XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 933 

IZO 



1934-1938 



Routine changes in occupancy have become too numerous to mention in the text but, 
those that are known, are still indicated in bold print on the corresponding yearly printouts. 

West Franklin: By 1934, Burrough's Auto Service had become the MacMillan 
Chevrolet Agency, and the adjoining Squires Grocery was known as the Myrick Cash 
Store. By 1938, Louis MacMillan had sold the agency to Nolan Tufts. Caesar Cone sold 
the Zeta Beta Tau fraternity property to die University in 1935. After extensive 
remodeling, Dr. W. Reese Berryhill, in 1936, moved into the former Delta Tau Delta 
fraternity house. The Methodist Parsonage, in 1935, was moved and turned to face 
Rosemary Street making room for Ben Strowd's Pure Oil Service Station. That same year 
Brack Creel opened a Shell Oil Service Station . A residence behind Creel's station was 
occupied by "Keck" Boone, Chapel HflTs Fire Chief for about 20 years. In 1937, the old 
"Bill Lloyd" house was enlarged and transformed into, Walker's Funeral Home. The 
adjacent Standard Oil Service Station, purchased by Gene Strowd in 1934, was sold to 
Obie Davis in 1936. In 1936, with the completion of the new high school on South 
Columbia Street, the former high school became the elementary school. In 1937, the 
Standard Theatre became a funeral home and a grocery store. Mrs. E. M Broadhurst 
taught piano at 107 West Franklin but, by 1938, Cora WilHamson, the rnuliner, was 
occupying the small house next to the Baptist Church. The un-named lane on the south 
side of West Franklin became Basnight Lane. Seller's Barbershop was in operation, and 
possibly had been for some time. S. H. Basnight's hardware and builder's supply business 
replaced Diab's Dress Shop, and the Southeastern Express Co. occupied the adjacent store. 

East Franldin Business District (South Side): In 1934, the old Robert Allen 
Eubank's store was razed and, in 1936, to relieve the traffic congestion on East Franklin the 
bus station, then run by Carolina Coach Co., was moved to the SW comer of Columbia 
and Rosemary . The vacated space was taken over by the Chapel Hill City Manager and 
Building Inspection. William Brumfield Neal, owner of the Hill Bakery, died in 1935, but 
his widow continued the business. In 1938, J. B. Johns opened a four-lane bowling alley, 
called Bowling Carolina, in the building formerly occupied by Lyon's Hardware. That 
same year, Robert Varley's Men's Clothing Store replaced Alfred William's Stationery, and 
the Pickwick Theatre, which had closed during the depression, re-opened as the Pick 
Theatre with a new marquee and lobby. The theatre building had served for some years as 
a town courtroom. Harry's Carolina Grill opened in the space vacated by the Southeastern 
Express Co. Jack Sparrow opened the College Sandwich Shop next to the Pick Theatre, 
and the Carolina Co-operative Dry Cleaners took over the space formerly occupied by the 
Saltz Brother's Carolina Shop. 



lit 



East Franklin Business District (North Side): James Manning Pritchard bought out 
Thomas Lloyd in 1936 and became sole owner of Pritchard's Drugstore. That same year, 
John P. Crowder closed his variety store and left town. Rose's 5-10-25c Store took over 
the Crowder space and continued to share the building with the A&P. Stetson "D" Men's 
Clothing had been purchased by the Vogue Clothing Co. in 1934 but, by 1936, the store 
was occupied by the Doyle Florist Shop. The Student Cooperative Dry Cleaners, managed 
in 1936 by Otway Brown, son of E. A. Brown, replaced the Durham Public Service Co. 
Joe Page, a former clerk in Ledbetter-Pickard Stationery, in 1936, opened Community 
Cleaners which replaced the Farmer's Cooperative Store. After major remodeling the Post 
Office re-opened for business inl938. L. E. Jones opened University Hardware in 1938 in 
the space formerly occupied by D. Pender's Grocery. Penders moved into the corner 
building recently vacated by the "M" Store. The Carolina Barbershop closed down their 
shower facility and converted the space in the rear of the shop into a beauty parlor. The 
L&L Beauty Shop moved into the basement under Sutton's Drugstore. The Chapel Hill 
Flower Shop opened in the same building with University Cleaners, and the Marathon 
Sandwich Shop was opened by Tommy Mariakakis. Other changes included; Hospital 
Savings Association replacing Crescent Cafeteria; Durham Road Dairy Store replacing 
Cate's Jewelry; Bruce Whitmire's 10c Store replacing Orange Hardware; Johnson-Crew 
Dry Cleaners replacing Bonardi's Fruit Market; Gibson Ice Cream Store with the Tar Heel 
Barbershop in the basement replacing the Carolina Ice Cream Store; James R. Ellis' Dress 
Shop replacing the Carolina Dry Cleaners; University Restaurant with the Tavern upstairs 
replacing Carolina Cafeteria; and the opening of the Electric Construction Co. 

East Franklin Residential District: In 1934, Robert B. House, Chancellor of the 
University, began a long-term occupancy of the "Widow Puckett" house. The previous 
occupants, George and Mabel Bason, were forced to vacate after George resigned from the 
University due to ill health. The Bason's men purchased the old MacRae house, across 
from the Episcopal Church, which for some years had been a fraternity house. They 
named it "Whitehall", took in boarders, and initially sold crafts. Later, after remodeling, 
they sold antiques. In 1936, the Village Apartments were constructed just east of the 
University Presbyterian Church. A new residence, constructed at 520 East Franklin, was 
occupied by Mrs. Nellie S. Durham. Professor William Stanley "Bully" Bernard died, and 
the residence that he had fashioned out of the old "Sam Phillips" law office was either sold 
or given to Walter Devereaux Creech Jr. by his aunt, Ora Kluttz who owned the property. 
The old "Crystal Palace" was occupied by Mrs. A. S. Mowry, and Pine Drive, formerly 
Barbee Drive no longer appeared on local maps. Pine Street was renamed Pickard Lane, 
probably as a result of lobbying by Mrs. Walter W. Pickard. Grady Pritchard displaced 
the Chi Omega Sorority and the young ladies moved in with Ora Kluttz. 



i%% 



me 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merrttt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITT MILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Mary Atwater 


607 


XX 




v 






XX 


610 


old service station - vacant 






XX 










XX 










XX 


606 


Auto Repair 






XX 










XX 










XX 


602 


Residence - Kate Tenny 


Funeral Home 


603 


XX 






Grocery Store 

DCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. 


601 
XXXXGRA 


XX 

HAMSTRE 
XX 
XX 
XX 


etxxxxx: 


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 






XX 


508 


Store - (function unknown) 






XX 










XX 


506 


Residence - (unknown) 


West Franklin Wood Yard 


505 


XX 

XX 










XX 


500 


Residence - Louis Booth 






XX 






Nolan Tuft- Chevrolet Agency 


501 


XX 






XX 




XX 






Mvrick Cash Store 




XX 






KXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXX 


-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 


Residence - Alex Cordle 


431 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 






Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 


425 


F 






Mrs. Betty Williams - Grocery Store 


423 


R 
A 


418 


Residence - (unknown) 


Store - (function unknown) 


421 


N 






"XXXXXXXX BASMGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 


K 
L 
I 






Residence - Liz Edwards 


419 










N 


# 


Seller's Barbershop 


Residence - Mary Johnson 


417 


S 
T 










414 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 


415 


R 

E 

E 


















T 


412 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Odd Fellows Hall - (black) 


411 


XX 
XX 
XX 






Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 


4(T 


XX 










XX 


406 


Auto Repair 






XX 










XX 






Residence - (unknown) 


401 


XX 


404 


Residence - Dudley Taylor 



XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - J. W. A. Cheek 31 1 



Residence - A. Carawan 

Residence -E. V.Lee 

Residence - J. P. Jenkins 



309 
307 
303 



Eugene Andrews - Funeral Home 30 1 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - Mrs. W. B. Thompson 2 1 3 



Residence - J. P. Nesbitt 



209 



XXXXXXXXXXX BERMAN COURT XXXXXXXXXX 

# # # # 

Residence-Residence-Residence-Residence 



Zeta Beta Tau - Fraternity 



149 



Chapel Hill Elementary School 



131 



Residence - Mrs. Green Bryan - boarding 119 

Residence - J. Edgar Merritt 1 1 3 

Residence - Mrs. Cora Williamson 107 

University Baptist Church (side) 1 05 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx M 



312 



308 



306 



Residence - Rick Taylor 

Brack Creel - Shell Oil Service Station 

Residence - Mrs. J. S. Boone 



216 



Residence - Dr. W. Reese Berryhill 



208 



Residence - Mrs. Walter Dallam Toy 



200 



Masonic Hall 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



152 



146 



Residence - Ralph J. Weaver 



Residence - Captain Fred C. Smith 



132 
126 



120 



112 



106 
104 
100 



Residence - J. P. Harris 
Obie Davis - Standard Oil Service Station 



Walker Funeral Home 



Ben Strowd - Pure Oil Service Station 



South Eastern Express Co. 
S. H. Basnlght - Hardware & Builder's Supply 

Bruce Strowd Motor Co. 



KXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBLA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 938 



1938 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 
University Texaco Service Station 100 XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Gumey H. Ray - Friendly Market 

(vacant lot) 

(vacant lot) 

Harry's Carolina Grill 

Robert L. Fowler - Model Market 

J. B. Johns - Bowling Carolina 

Hill Bakery 

Jack Sparrow - College Sandwich Shop 

Pick Theatre 



106 



118 
120 

122 
124 
126 
128 



132 
134 
136 



The Durham Gas Co. 
Western Union / UNC Service Plants 
Chapel Hill City Manager / Building Inspector 
XXXXXXXXOLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 138 

Durham Dairy Prod. / Wootten & Moulton - (photo/ N 1 40 

The Little Shop - ( women's clothes ) 142 

Robert Varley - Men's Shop 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 1 50 



Methodist Church - Annex 1 62 



Carolina Co-Operatrve Dry Cleaners 1 66 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 1 78 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Student Union 2 1 2 



E 
A 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

101 D. Pender s - Grocery 

1 03 C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 

1 05 Student Cooperative Dry Cleaning - Ice Plant 

1 07 L. E. Jones - University Hardware 

109 Rose's -5-10-25c Store 

A&P Grocery 

1 1 5 Tommy Mariakakls - Marathon Sandwich Shop 

1 1 9 Sam Berman - Department Store 

121 W. B. Sorrell Optometrist 

123 Carolina Theatre 

125 Jeffs Campus Confectionery 

1 27 Durham Road Dairy Store 

1 29 Sol Lipman - (custom tailor) 

1 3 1 Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 

133 Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 

135 Bruce Whitmire - 10c Store 

137 The Bank of Chapel HOI 

139 Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

141 Pritchard - Rexall Drug Store 

143 Store - (function unknown) 

1 45 W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

1 47 Jack Lipman - (clothes) / Village Beauty Shop 

149 Doyle -Florist Shop 

1 5 1 Johnson-Crew - Dry Cleaners 

1 53 Emmett Gooch - Restaurant 

155 Ledbetter-Pickard - Stationery 

1 57 Gibson Ice Cream Store / Tar Heel Barber Shop 

1 59 Sutton - Drug Store / L. & L. Beauty Shop 

161 Foister's Photo Co. 

1 63 Hospital Saving's Association 

167 7 James R. Ellis - Dress Shop 

1 69 Electric Construction Co, 

1 7 1 Joe Page - Community Cleaners 

1 73 University Shoe Shop 

1 75 University Restaurant / The Tavern A 



1 79 United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON S TREE T XXXXXXXXX 

201 University Cleaners 

Chapel Hill Flower Shop 

205 Milton A. Abernethy - Intimate Bookshop 

207 Betsy Ann Shop 



211 



213 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



m 



2 1 9 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 



Residence - Mrs. A. S. Mowry 



Residence - Mrs. C. R. Ledbetter 



Residence - Dr. John S. Hooker 

Residence - Mrs. Fred Patterson 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



AA 

XX 223 
226 XX 

XX 

XX 227 

XX 

XX 229 

XX 

XX XXXXXXXXXXPICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
304 XX 303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 311 

312 XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 313 

XX 



307 Residence - George F. Bason / Whitehall Antiques 



Residence - Charles Thomas Woolen 



Residence - Mrs. James Atkins 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 40 1 Residence - Walter Devereaux Creech Jr. 

XX 
XX 
Residence-UNC President Frank Porter Graham 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 Residence -Mrs. A. A. Kluttz/ Chi Omega House 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Mrs Charles Snow 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - R J. Mebane 



Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 



410 



504 



510 



Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 



516 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



507 



513 



517 



Residence - Miss Marv Manning 



Presbyterian Manse - Dr. Richmond P. Bond 



Residence - Professor Collier Cobb 



XX 
XX 

520 XX 521 
XX 

XX 523 
XX 

524 XX 

xx (U> 

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:<XXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 938 



Residence - Mrs. Nellie S. Durham 



Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 



Residence - E. W. McChesney 
Residence - Grady Prttchard 



1939-1943 



West Franklin: As in the past, new residences appeared and in several instances the 
occupants changed Mrs, Green Bryan died in the late 1930s and, by 1940, her heirs had 
sold the former boarding house to John Scott Trotter. Trotter renovated the aging 
structure, named it The Hill House, and offered hotel accomodations and rental 
apartments. Eugene Andrews died, and his wife continued operation of the funeral home. 
In 1942, the new high school on South Columbia Street was destroyed by fire. Students 
were initially housed in the basement of the Baptist Church, but soon were moved to the 
elementary school, and to the former Zeta Beta Tau fraternity house, which had been 
owned by Caesar Cone. In 1943, Rachel Crook transformed an old service station, that 
had served as a chicken house, into a fish and produce market Jack Hazzard purchased 
the Chevrolet Agency. New businesses included, Yates Brothers Plumbing and Heating, 
and Patterson's Auto Supply. 

East Franklin Business District (South Side): In 1939, James R. Ellis closed his 
dress shop at 167 East Franklin and, for a while, was employed at Bruce Wmtnrire's 10c 
store. Soon after, he purchased the bowling alley at 122 East Franklin from J. B. Johns 
and added a very popular 8' by 10' hamburger counter. Maurice Julian, in 1939, opened a 
shoe store in the space vacated by James Ellis. In 1942, Julian moved into the space 
vacated by Durham Dairy Products at 140 East Franklin and opened The College Shop, a 
men's clothing store. The new Carolina Theatre opened for business in 1942, on the site of 
the old "Robert Allen Eubanks" general store. The rear of this property had recently been 
used by Bruce Strowd as a used car lot The former Carolina Theatre, on the north side of 
Franklin Street, was renamed The Village. That same year, the Methodist Church Annex 
was converted into a Recreation Center. In 1943, Robert Rhinehart purchased the Hill 
Bakery from Mrs. William Neal; University Florist opened in the Pick Theatre building; the 
College Cafe replaced the College Sandwich Shop; and Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 
took over the office of the Chapel Hill City Manager. 

East Franklin Business District (North Side): In 1939, Edward Gustav Danziger 
opened his Viennese Candy Kitchen in the space formerly occupied by Emmett Gooch's 
restaurant That same year, John Kenfield, the UNC tennis coach, opened the Carolina 
Sports Shop. In 1942, Kenfield was bought out and the new owners installed Henry 
Sawtelle McGinty as the manager. In 1940, Ledbetter-Pickard Stationery moved one door 
east to larger quarters and, in the vacated space, Thomas Phillip Lloyd, the former partner 
of James Manning Pritchard, opened the Carolina Pharmacy. In 1942, Harvey Bennett 
and Frank Blocksidge, formerly affiliated with the UNC ServicePlants, moved their fuel 
and electrical appliance business into the space vacated by the Durham Road Dairy Store. 
That same year , Wilbur Kutz opened The Varsity, which was a clothing store, with a very 
popular soda fountain in the basement The space vacated by Maurice Julian in 1942, 167 
East Franklin, was soon occupied by Dell's Jewelry Box. W. O. Lacock moved his shoe 
repair business one door west. The space vacated by Lacock was then occupied by the 
University Barbershop. Lacock's son, Vemon, took over the University Shoe Shop and 
renamed it the Shoe Fixery. The Electric Construction Co. was replaced by Bell Dry 
Cleaners, and the Community Cleaners was replaced by Lambros Andrews' Campus Cafe. 



\%n 



East Franklin Residential District: Occupants of more than half of the twenty-four 
residences changed during this five year period. The Alpha Gamma Delta sorority moved 
into the old "Crystal Palace", and the Alpha Delta Pi sorority moved into Mrs. Fred 
Patterson's former home. The University purchased the house and property of Mrs. C. R. 
Ledbetter and, after razing the house, built a brick buflding which then served as the UNC 
Institute of Government Mrs. Collier Cobb, and Mrs. Charles Woolen were widowed 
during the period, but remained in their homes. 



/Z8 



Wfi 



West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 


Residence - Mary Atwater 


607 


XX 








XX 


6 1 Rachel Crook's Fish & Produce Market 






XX 
XX 








XX 


606 Auto Repair 






XX 








XX 








XX 


602 Residence - (unknown) 


Funeral Home 


603 


XX 




Grocery Store 


601 


XX 




XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 


508 Store - (function unknown) 






XX 








XX 


506 Residence - (unknown) 


West Franklin Wood Yard 


505 


XX 
XX 








XX 


500 Residence - (unknown) 






XX 




Jack Hazzard - Chevrolet Agency 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 




XXXXXXXXKXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.K BERSON STREET 


Residence - Alex Cordle 


431 


XX 
XX 








XX 
XX 
XX 

W 
E 

s 

T 




Rock Baptist Church - (black) - side 


425 


F 




Mrs. Betty Williams - Grocery Store 


423 


R 
A 


4 1 8 Residence - (unknown) 


Patterson's Auto Supply 


421 


N 




XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 


K 




Residence - Liz Edwards 


419 


L 

I 








N 


# Seller's Barbershop 


Residence - Mary Johnson 


417 


S 

T 








414 Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 


415 


R 
E 
E 
T 








412 Residence - (unknown) 






XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 




Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 


407 


XX 








XX 


406 Auto Repair 






XX 








MX 




Residence - Bill Blake 


401 


XX 


404 Residence - Dudley Taylor 



m 



XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - J. W. A. Cheek 



Residence - H. V. VIckers 

Residence - Tom Sparrow 

Residence - Frank P. Meadows 

Mrs. Nellie Andrews - Funeral Home 



311 
309 

307 
303 



301 



XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Mrs. J. P. Nesbitt 



213 



209 



XXXXXXXXXXX BERMAN CO UR T XXXXXXXXXX 

# # # # 

Residence-Residence-Residence-Residence 



High School Annex 



149 



Chapel Hill Elementary School 
High School Annex 



John Scott Trotter - Hill House 

Residence - J. Edgar Merritt 
Residence - George Poe 

University Baptist Church (side) 



119 
113 
107 
105 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



312 



308 



306 



Residence - Rick Taylor 

Brack Creel - Shell Oil Service Station 

Residence - Irvin J. Watts 



216 



Residence - Dr. W. Reese Benyhul 



208 



Residence - Mrs. Walter Dallam Toy 



200 



Masonic Hall 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

xx /30 



152 



146 



Residence - Ralph J. Weaver 



Residence- Dr. E. G. Goodman 



132 
126 



120 



108 
106 
104 
100 



Residence - J. P Harris 
Obie Davis - Standard Oil Service Station 

Walker's Funerai Home 

Ben Strowd - Pure Oil Service Station 

Yate's Bros. Plumbing & Heating 

Railway Express Agency 

S H. Basnight - Hardware & Builders Supply 

Bruce Stiowd Motor Co. 



XXXXXXXXXX>LXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBLA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX YYA XX~X\\y~<X 19JT 



1943 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 

University Texaco Service Station 100 XX 

XX 
XX 

. _ 108 ^ 

XX 
XX 

118 XX 

120 XX 



Carolina Theatre 



Harry's Carolina Grill 

Robert L. Fowler - Model Market 

James Ellis - Bowling Alley &. Grill 

Robert Rhinehart - Hill Bakery 

College Cafe 

Pick Theatre 

University Florist 

Durham Gas Co. 

Western Union / UNC Service Plants 

Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 

XXXXXXXX OLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 

Maurice Julian's College Shop / W&M - (photo)' 

The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 

Robert Varley - Men's Shop 



University United Methodist Church 



Recreation Center 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 
« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Student Union 



^8 



212 



STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

101 D. Penders - Grocery 

103 C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 

105 Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances & Fuel 

107 L. E. Jones - University Hardware 

1 09 Rose's 5- 1 & 25c Store 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



115 



A & P Grocery 
Tommy Mariakakis - Marathon Sandwich Shop 



122 


XX 


119 


Sam Berman - Department Store 


124 


XX 


121 


W. B. Sorrell Optometrist 


126 


XX 


123 


Village Theatre 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 




XX 


127 


Carolina Cleaners 


132 


XX 


129 


Sol Lipman - (custom tailor) 


134 


XX 


131 


Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 


136 


XX 


133 


Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 


V 


XX 


135 


Bruce Wtotmire - 5c to $1.00 


138 




137 


The Bank of Chapel Hill 


140 


E 


139 


Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 


142 


A 


141 


Pritchard - Drug Store 


144 


S 


143 


W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 




T 


145 


University Barber Shop 






147 


Jack Lipman - (clothes) / Village Beauty Shop 




F 


149 


Wilbur Kutz - Varsity Shop 


150 


R 


151 


Carolina Sports Shop - Henry McGinty Mgr. 




A 


153 


Edward Gustav Danziger - Candy Kitchen 




N 


155 


Carolina Pharmacy - (Rexall Store) 




K 


157 


Ledbetter-Pickard - Stationery 




L 


159 


Sutton - Drug Store / L. & L. Beauty Shop 




I 


161 


Foister's Photo Co. 


162 


N 


163 


Hospital Saving's Association 



167 

169 
171 

173 
175 



179 



Dell's Jewelry Box 

Bell Dry Cleaners 

Campus Cafe 

Vernon Lacock - College Shu-Fixery 

University Restaurant 



Umted States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 



201 



205 
20^ 



211 



213 



219 



University Cleaners 

Chapel Hill Flower Shop 

Milton A. Abemethy - Intimate Bookshop 

Store - (function unknown) 

University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Residence - Mrs. F. M. Jenkins 



.'3 



Alpha Gamma Delta - Sorority 



226 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



UNC - Institute of Government 



227 Residence - Dr. Fred G. Patterson 

229 Alpha Delta Pi - Sorority 

XXXXXXXXXXPICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

307 Residence - George F. Bason / Whitehall Antiques 



311 



313 



Residence - Mrs. Charles T. Woollen 



Residence - Reverened W. M. Curtis 



Residence - D. L. Herring 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 

XX 

Residence-UNC President Frank Porter Graham 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 Residence -Mrs. A. A. Kluttz/ Chi Omega House 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Mrs C A. Mebane 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Mrs. Isabelle K. Carter 



Residence - Mrs. Charles S. Mangum 



410 



504 



510 



Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 



Residence - Mrs. H. D. McClelland 



Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 



516 



520 



524 



E 
A 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



507 Residence - Miss Mary Manning 

5 1 3 Presbyterian Manse - Rev. Charles M. Jones 



517 



521 
523 



Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 



Residence- Paul M. Thompson 
Residence - Mrs. Frank Strowd 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUND AR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXJCX 1 943 

MX 



MWWJWWrBgg 



1944-1948 



West Franklin: Growth in the village, during this period, centered on West Franklin 
and, in many instances, residences were razed to accommodate this growth. The Carolina 
Produce Co was in operation as early as 1944 on the site of the former Standard Theatre. 
In 1945, new buildings were constructed for Durham Dairy Products; Julian Castoris 
Motor Co.; Ogburn Furniture; Carolina Super Market; A. S. Blackwood Plumbing & 
Heating; and the Hollywood Restaurant That same year, A. H. Poe purchased the Pure 
Oil Service Station from Ben Strowd and moved in his Desoto dealership, and S. H 
Basnight moved his building supply business to Rosemary Street In 1946, Johnson- 
Strowd- Ward opened a furniture store in one of A. Pi Poe's automobile showrooms but, in 
1947, the business moved into a newly constructed building further west on West Franklin. 
Business startups during the period 1947-48 included; Village Pharmacy; Creighton Earl 
Humphrey's Chapel Hill Cleaners; Milton Julian's Clothing Cupboard; Knight-Campbell 
Hardware; the Beauty Box; Franklin Street Inn; and the West Franklin Street Grocery. 

* (Street numbers assigned to the buildings over the years have sometimes changed. 
There are a variety of reasons; intervening construction; pardoning of stores; re-sequencing 
due to the effect of side streets; and postal convenience. In those instances where change 
has occured, the later numbering has generally been used. Example: Village Pharmacy was 
306 prior to being 318, and Ogden Furniture was 312-314 prior to being 408-10. When 
Ogden Furniture was 312-314, Carolina Supermarket was 316.) 

In 1945, John Scott Trotter sold the Hill House to the Baptist Church who continued to 
rent out the apartments. In 1947, Mrs. Walter Dallum Toy sold her house to Mrs. 
Margaret Davis who, in turn, sold it to the A&P who planned future construction on the 
site. In the interim the house was occupied by the Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity. Several 
residences were converted to rental property. The Bus Station building was completed in 
1946. To clear this site, a large two-story house was relocated across Kenan Street to 405 
West Franklin, and subsequently occupied by W. W. McCauley. This structure was a 
portion of the old Nunn Tavern* (cl776) that had been relocated to the Bus Station site 
when the Baptist Church was constructed on the SW corner of Franklin and Columbia in 
1923. 

* (When the house was moved to make room for the Bus Station, the structure was 
referred to as a portion of the old "Thompson Hotel" that had earlier been the John Canada 
School. We have earlier traced the lineage from Nunn Tavern to the John Canada School. 
Thompson, however, has not previously been identified.) 



/35 



East Franklin Business District: James Ellis closed down his bowling operation but 
considerably increased his food sales by converting the freed space to a sandwich shop. In 
1944, Vic Huggins purchased University Hardware from L. E. Jones. Insufficient space 
for the presentation and sale of large items caused Huggins, in 1947, to open an annex on 
West Franklin. James Manning Pritchard died in 1944, and his drugstore closed. For a 
short while Rachel Crook sold pecans in the vacant store but, soon after, the North 
Carolina Cafeteria, previously located on Fraternity Row, purchased Pritchard's store and 
moved into the vacated space. In 1945, the Carolina Cycle Co. moved into the vacant 
store at 207 East Franklin. In 1946, James Horton Davis bought University Florist; White's 
Jewelers replaced Dell's Jewelry Box; William T. Kohn, an optometrist, replaced Sol 
Lipman's custom tailoring; Veteran's Exterminating Co. shared space with the Electrical 
Construction Co.; the Pick Theatre closed; University Printery moved beneath Sutton's 
Drugstore; and the Village Beauty Shop moved above Sutton's Drugstore. During 1947 
and 1948, Ted Danziger, the son of Edward Gustav Danziger, dug out the space beneath 
his father's Candy Kitchen, and subsequently opened, in this space, the Rathskeller 
Restaurant. Joe Page, a former clerk in Ledbetter-Pickard Stationery, returned from the 
war and, in 1947, bought out Herbert Ledbetter's share of the business. In 1948, William 
Sloan opened Sloans's Drugstore in the space formerly occupied by the D. Pender grocery. 

East Franklin Residential District: Activity was minimal. Mrs. Adam A. Kluttz died 
in 1947, and her residence was purchased by Frederick and Susan C. Coenen. 



m 



me 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



Rachel Crook's Fish & Produce Market 



Residence - (unknown) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITT MILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence -(unknown) 607 XX 

XX 610 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 602 

XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 506 

505 XX 

XX 

XX 500 

XX 
501 XX 

XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 
431 XX 

XX 

XX 



West Franklin Wood Yard 



Jack Hazard - Chevrolet Agency 



Durham Dairy Products 
(distribution and processing plant) 



Residence - Dr. Charles W. Thompson 
Franklin Street Inn 



462 



Rock Baptist Church (black) - side 



Mrs. Betty Williams - Grocery Store 
Patterson's Auto Supply 



425 



423 
421 



XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 



Julian Caston Motor Co. 



Residence - Mary Johnson 

Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 

Hollywood Restaurant 



Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 

Residence - Residence W. W. McCauley 

Residence - (unknown) 



419 
417 

415 

411 



407 
405 
401 



W 
E 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Johnson-Strowd-Ward 



(furniture showroom) 



456 



422 
420 



410 

40o 



Residence - (unknown) 
West Franklin Street Grocery 

Residence - (unknown) 

Residence - (unknown) 

Chapel Hill Cleaners 
Knight & Campbell - Hardware 



A. S. Blackwood Plumbing & Hearing 

Carolina Supermarket 

Ogburn - Furniture Market 



The Beauty Box 



135 



XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Bus Station 



Residence - Obie Davis 

Residence - Frank P. Meadows 



Mrs. Nellie Andrews - Funeral Home 



311 

307 
303 

301 



XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence &Apartments 



Residence & Apartments 



213 



209 



XXXXXXXXXXX BERMAN COURT XXXXXXXXXX 

# # # # 

Residence-Residence-Residence-Residence 



High School Annex 



20" 



Chapel Hill Elementary School 
High School Annex 



The Hill House Apartments 

Residence - J. Edgar Merritt 
Residence - (unknown) 

University Baptist Church (side) 



131 



119 
113 
107 
105 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



318 
310 

308 

306 



216 



Village Pharmacy 
Vic Huggins - Hardware - (annex) 

Brack Creel - Shell Oil Service Station 

Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Dr. W. Reese Berryhill 



208 



200 



Sigma Phi Epsilon - Fraternity 



Masonic Hall 



XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



152 



146 



Residence - Ralph J. Weaver 



Residence - Dr. M. D. Matrison 



132 
126 



120 



112 

108 
106 
104 
100 



Residence - (unknown) 

Obie Davis - Standard Oil Service Station 



Walker's Funeral Home 



A. H. Poe - Desoto Dealership 

Yate's Bros. Plumbing & Healing 

UNC Service Plants - (light-water-laundry) 

Store - (function unknown) 

Bruce Strowd Motor Co. 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:<XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBLA S TREE T XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 94 8 



1948 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

William Sloan Drugstore 

C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 

Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances & Fuel 

Vic Hugglns' - Hardware 

Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 

A & P Grocery 
Tommy Mariakakis - Marathon Sandwich Shop 

Sam Berman - Department Store 

W. B. Sorrell Optometrist 

Village Theatre 

Jeffs Campus Confectionery 

Carolina Cleaners 

William T. Kohn Optometrist 

Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 

Andrews-Henniriger - Department Store 

Bruce Whitmire - 5c to $1.00 

The Bank of Chapel Hill 

Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

North Carolina Cafeteria 

W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

University Barber Shop 

Jack Lipman - (clothes) / Village Beauty Shop 

Wilbur Kutz - Varsity Shop 

Carolina Sports Shop - Henry McGinty Mgr. 

Edward Gustav Danziger - Candy Kitchen 

Carolina Pharmacy - (Rexall Store) 

Ledbetter-Pickard - Stationery / Rathskeller 

Sutton's Drug Store / University Printery 

Foistef s Photo Co. 

Hospital Saving's Association 







XX 


101 


University Texaco Service Station 


100 


XX 


103 






XX 


105 




108 


XX 
XX 


107 


Carolina Theatre 


109 






XX 






118 


XX 
XX 




Harry's Carolina Grill 


~U5 


Robert L. Fowler - Model Market 


120 


XX 




James Ellis - Village Grill & Sandwich Shop 


122 


XX 


119 


Robert Rhinehart - Hill Bakery 


124 


XX 


121 


College Cafe 


126 


XX 


123 


Pick Theatre - (closed) 


128 


XX 


125 


James Horton Davis - University Florist 


130 


XX 


127 


Durham Gas Co. 


132 


XX 


129 


Westen Union 


134 


XX 


131 


Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 


136 


XX 


133 


XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 


XX 


135 


Carolina Coffee Shop 


138 




137 


Maurice Julian's College Shop / W&M - (photo Y s 


140 


E 


139 


The Little Shop - ( women's clothes) 


142 


A 


141 


Robert Varlev - Men's Shop 


144 


s 


143 






T 


145 








147 






F 


149 


University Umted Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 






A 


153 






N 


155 






K 


157 






L 


159 






I 


161 


Recreation Center 


162 


N 


163 






S 


167 






T 


169 






R 


171 






E 


173 






E 


175 






T 




Vance/Battie/Pettigrew - Dormitories 


178 










XX 


179 


« To Old West 




XX 
XX 

XX 






,\ra 






XX 


201 






XX 








XX 


205 


Silent Sam 




XX 
XX 


20" 






XX 


211 






XX 








XX 
XX 








« To Old East 




XX 








XX 


213 


Graham Memorial - Student Union 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 


219 

37 



White's Jewelers 
Electrical Const Co. / Veteran's - (exterminators) 

Campus Cafe 

Vernon Lacock - College Shu-Fixery 

University Restaurant 



United States Post Office 



KXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

University Cleaners 

Chapel Hill Flower Shop 

Milton A. Abernethy - Intimate Bookshop 

Carolina Cycle Co. 

University Presbytenan Church 



Village Apartments 



Residence- Robert J. Perrv 



Alpha Gamma Delta - Sorority 



226 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 
Episcopal Church 

Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



UNC - Institute of Government 



227 Residence - Dr. Fred G. Patterson 

229 Residence - Mrs. Jennie Thurston 

XXXXXXXXXX PICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

307 Residence - George F. Bason / Whitehall Antiques 



311 



313 



Residence - Mrs. Charles T. Woollen 



Residence - Mrs. Eleanor A, Patterson 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
Residence-UNC President Frank Porter Graham 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 



Residence - Mrs C. A. Mebane 410 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Mrs. Isabelle K. Carter 504 



Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 510 



Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 516 



Residence - James H. McDuffle 520 



Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 



E 
A 
S 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



507 



513 



517 



521 
523 



Residence - Miss Mary Manning 
Presbyterian Manse - Rev. Charles M. Jones 

Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 



Residence - Paul M. Thompson 
Residence - Mrs. Frank Strowd 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 948 



118 



1949-1953 



West Franklin: In 1948, there were 10 residences and 19 commercial properties on 
the north side of West Franklin. By 1953 there were 3 residences and 35 commercial 
enterprises. Several residences were razed to make way for four new automobile service 
stations; Tyler's ESSO Station; Walker's Gulf Station; Floyd Williams' Pure Oil Station; 
and Herbert Pendergraffs Village Service Station. In 1948, the A & P left East Franklin 
and moved into a new building which they constructed on the former Walter Dalhim Toy 
property. That same year Yates' Brothers Plumbing & Heating also relocated into a new 
building. Soon after 1948, William B. Poe, a chiropractor, replaced Patterson's Auto 
Supply, and John Rusiniak opened his grocery store in a building built by Fred Edwards. 
In 1949, Robert Fowler left East Franklin and moved his Model Market into a new 
building which was constructed on the former Dr. W. Reese Beeryhifl property. That 
same year, J. Edgar Merritt sold his property to Miltos Tassos who, after renovation, 
opened The Cafe Mouza. The adjacent small residence at 107 West Franklin was razed in 
1950. That same year, E. A. Brown opened a branch furniture store; the Colonial 
Drugstore moved into the building vacated by Milton's Clothing Cupboard; and Watts Dry 
Cleaners moved into a building built by J. M Dawson. 

In 1951, Colonial Stores opened in a building built by Jack Hazzard; Berman Court was 
razed; Chapel Hill High School opened in a large new structure; Pritchard-Little Motor Co. 
replaced Bruce Strowd's Ford Agency; and Rachel Crook was abducted and murdered. 
The murderer was never identified. In 1953, the Hospital Savings Association left East 
Franklin and moved into large new quarters; and Durham Dairy Products was renamed 
Long Meadows Farm. In late 1953, the Rock Baptist Church, that had opened in 1908, 
was torn down when their new church was completed on North Roberson Street. Other 
new businesses, some in new buildings, included; three radio and television repair services; 
two cab companies; William's Upholstering; Brown's Auto Supply; Western Auto; 
Murdock's Jewelry; Weaver's Shoe Repair Shop; Cole-Dawson Real Estate; and Carolina 
Cleaners which had relocated from East Franklin. Andrew's Restaurant, replaced Brighfs 
Cash Store, which had previously replaced Mrs. Betty Williams Grocery Store. University 
National Bank replaced Vic Huggins' Hardware Annex; Village Laundry replaced Carolina 
Super Market; and West Franklin Street Luncheonette replaced Bob's Sandwich Shop. 



/3? 



East Franklin Business District: After the Hospital Savings Association moved to 
new quarters on West Franklin, the two-bay store they vacated was soon occupied. The 
western section was taken by Milton's Clothing Cupboard, and the eastern section by the 
Electrical Construction Co. Space made available by the latter move prompted Chapel Hill 
Cleaners to expand onto East Franklin. Rose's enlarged their operation into the space 
vacated by the A & P, and Spero Dorton's, The Goody Shop, took over the space vacated 
by Robert Fowler's Model Market After extensive remodeling of the Pick Theatre 
building, J. B. Robbins opened The House of Fashion, an upscale clothing store. Earlier, 
Robert Rhinehart who had purchased the Hill Bakery in 1943 from Mrs. William 
Brumfield Neal, had chosen to sub-divide his establishment The western half had been 
transformed into a dairy bar. As a consequence of the remodeling of the Pick Theatre 
building, James Horton Davis, the owner of University Florist, took the opportunity to 
relocate his florist shop a few doors west into the space previously occupied by the dairy 
bar. In 1948, Wentworth & Sloan replaced White's Jewelers. In 1950, Milton Abernemy 
sold his Intimate Bookshop to Paul and Isabel Smith. Abernethy then operated a music 
store in the adjacent building. In 1952, Wilbur Kutzfs Varsity Shop was replaced by the 
Town & Campus, a clothing store owned by Bob Cox and Monk Jennings. The Village 
Theatre was renamed The Varsity. The Chapel Hill Telephone Co. replaced Western 
Union. The College Cafe replaced the Marathon Sandwich Shop. City Optical Co. 
replaced W. B. Sorrell Optometrist Village Laundry & Cleaners replaced Carolina 
Cleaners which had moved to West Franklin. Durham Dairy Products & Dairy Bar moved 
next to University Cleaners, and The Youth Center replaced Harry's Carolina Grill. 
Actually, Benjamin Schreiber, who owned Harry's Carolina Grill, sold the name and then, 
he and his wife, opened The Youth Center, a child's clothing store, in the same location. 

East Franklin Residential District: The Morehead Planetarium was completed 
during this period. In 1951, James K. Kyser retired from show business and he, and his 
wife Georgia, purchased and took up residence in the house previously occupied by his 
aunt Mrs. Isabelle K. Carter. The occupants of several other residences changed, and four 
sororities moved into the area. 



I#0 



1953 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITT MILL ROAD > 


(XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 


Residence - (unknown) 607 


XX 








XX 


610 


Produce Stand 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 605 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 


602 


Residence - (unknown) 


Williams Upholstering 601 


XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 




XX 








XX 








XX 






Colonial Stores 505 


XX 
XX 








XX 


506 


Residence - (unknown) 




XX 








XX 








XX 


502 


Yates Bros. Plumbing & Heating Co. 




XX 






Jack Hazzard - Chevrolet Agency 50 1 


XX 

XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXROBER, 




XX 








XX 






Long Meadows Farm 431 


XX 


464 


Floyd Williams - Pure Oil Service & Repair 


& Dairy Bar 


XX 








XX 

w 


462 




Johnson-Strowd-Ward 




E 

s 

T 
F 




(furniture showroom) 


Rock Baptist Church (black) - side 425 


454 




Colonial Drug Co. 




R 


454 


Watts Dry Cleaners 


Andrew's Restaurant 423 


A 


452 


John Rusiniak - Grocery Store 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) / Village TV Service 42 1 


N 


450 


E. A. Brown - Furniture Store - (branch) 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

Julian Caston Motor Co. 419 


K 
L 










N 

S 
T 
R 
E 

E 


440 
436 


Hospital Savings Association 


Residence - Mrs. Mary J. Johnson 417 
Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 415 




J&J Cab Co. 




432 


Weaver's Shoe Repair Shop 


Hollywood Restaurant 41 1 


T 






Hollywood Cab Co. 


XX 








XX 


422 


Chapel Hill Cleaners 


Residence - Effle Taylor 409 


XX 
XX 
XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell - Hardware 


Residence - Henry and Alice Neal 407 


XX 








XX 


412 


Village Laundry / Best's Radio & TV Service 


Residence - Residence W. W. McCauley 405 


XX 
XX 


410 


Ogbum - Furniture Market 




XX 


40o 


The Beauty Box / Carolina Cleaners 




XX 


400 


Murdock's Jewelers 




m 







Cole-Dawson Real Estate 403 


XX 


320 


Western Auto 


West Franklin Street Luncheonette 40 1 


XX 


318 


Village Pharmacy 


XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


312 


Brown's Auto Supply 




XX 


310 


University National Bank 


Union Bus Station 31 1 


XX 








XX 
XX 


308 




Herbert Pendergraft's Village Service Station 




XX 








XX 






Residence - F. P. Meadows 303 


XX 
XX 










XX 


306 


Fowler's Food Store 




XX 








XX 






Residence - Mrs. Edith P. Glover 301 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


XX 




(parking) 


XX 






Residence & Apartments 2 1 3 


XX 






XX 








XX 










214 


Walker's Gulf Service Station 




w 








E 






Residence & Apartments 209 


S 

T 

F 


210 




A&P 




R 








A 

N 










K 








L 
I 

N 


200 


Masonic Hall 


Town Superintendent of Schools 207 


S 

T 
R 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 




E 
E 
T 


136 


Tyler's Esso Service Station 


Chapel Hill High School 1 35 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 






Chapel Hill Elementary School 1 3 1 


XX 








XX 


132 


Residence - (unknown) 




XX 








XX 


126 


Obie Davis - Standard Oil Service Station 




XX 








XX 








XX 








XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


The Hill House Apartments 1 1 9 


XX 
XX 






CafeMouza 113 


XX 








XX 


112 


A. H. Poe - Desoto Dealership 




XX 








XX 






University Baptist Church (side) 1 05 


XX 


106 


Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 




XX 


104 


Tilghman Radio & TV Service 




XX 


100 


Pritchard-Little Motor Co. 


# 


xx Ml 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX>CXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET ' XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1953 



1953 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

University Texaco Service Station 



Carolina Theatre 



The Youth Center - (clothes) 

Spero Dorton's - The Goody Shop - (restaurant) 

James Ellis - Village Gnl & Sandwich Shop 

University Florist & Gift Shop / Hill Bakery 

Store - (function unknown) 

J. B. Robbins - House of Fashion 



Chapel Hill Telephone Co. 

Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 
XXXXXXXX OLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXK 

Carolina Coffee Shop / Beauty Salon A 

Maurice Julian's College Shop / W&M - (photo^ 

The Litde Shop - (women's clothes) 

Robert Varley - Men's Shop 



University United Methodist Church 



Recreation Center 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 
« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Student Union 





XX 


101 


100 


XX 


103 




XX 


105 




XX 


107 


108 


XX 
XX 
XX 


109 


118 


XX 


115 


120 


XX 




122 


XX 


119 


124 


XX 


121 


126 


XX 


123 


128 


XX 


125 




XX 


127 




XX 


129 


134 


XX 


131 


136 
X 


XX 


133 
135 


138 


E 


137 


140 


A 


139 


142 


s 


141 


144 


T 


143 
145 




F 


147 




R 


149 


150 


A 


151 




N 


153 




K 


155 




L 


157 
159 


162 


N 


161 
163 




S 


165 




T 


167 




R 


169 




E 


171 




E 


173 




T 


175 


178 


XX 






XX 


179 




XX 






XX 






XX 


XXX 




XX 


201 




XX 


203 




XX 


205 




XX 


207 




XX 






XX 


211 




XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


213 


212 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


219 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

Wflham Sloan - Drugstore 

C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 

Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances & Fuel 

Vic Hugglns - Hardware 

Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 



College Cafe 

Sam Berman - Department Store 
City Optical Co. 
Varsity Theatre 

Jeffs Campus Confectionery 
Village Laundry & Cleaners 

William T. Kohn Optometrist 

Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 

Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 

Store - (function unknown) 

The Bank of Chapel Hill 

Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

North Carolina Cafeteria 

W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

University Barber Shop 

Jack Lipman - (clothes) 

Town & Campus - (clothes) 

Carolina Sports Shop - Henry McGinty Mgr. 

Edward Gustav Danziger - Candy & Coffee Shop 

Carolina Pharmacy - (Rexall Store) 

Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Tar Heel Barber 

Sutton's Drug Store / University Printery 

Foister's Photo Co. 

Milton's Clothing Cupboard 

Electrical Construction Co. 

Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

Chapel Hill Cleaners / Allied - (exterminators) 

Campus Cafe 

Vernon Lacock - College Shu-Fixery 

University Restaurant 



United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

University Cleaners 

Durham Dairy Products / Dairy Bar 

Paul & Isabel Smith - Intimate Bookshop 

Abernethy's Music & Furniture 

University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Sorortty 



m 



■BH^HBI 



Morehead Planetarium - Theta Chi - Sorority 226 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



227 
229 



UNC - Institute of Government 

Residence - Dr. Fred G. Patterson 
Residence - Mrs. Jennie Thurston 



XXXXXXXXXX PICKAKD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



307 Chi Omega -Sorority /Whitehall Antiques 



3 1 1 Alpha Gamma Delta 



313 Residence - Mrs. Eleanor A. Patterson 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
Residence - UNC President Frank Porter Graham 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 
410 E 

A 
S 
T 



Residence - ("unknown) 



Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 



Residence - Capt John S. Keating 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 

Residence - James K. Kyser 504 

Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 510 

Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 516 

Residence - James H. McDuffie 520 

Residence - Joseph E. Kennette 524 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



507 



513 



517 



523 



Residence - (unknown) 
Presbyterian Manse - George C. Worth 

Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 
Residence - Mrs. Irene F. Lee 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUND AR Y S TREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 953 



1954-1958 



West Franklin: Changes, other than residential, included die purchase of the Caston 
Motor Co., in 1955, by the Yates Motor Co. That same year, A- H. Poe closed his Desoto 
Dealership and sold the Pure Oil Service Station to Charlie StancelL It appears that, at 
least temporarily, Poe occupied the corner space previously occupied by Pritchard-Little 
Motor Co. The Belk-Leggett-Horton Department Store opened next to the Masonic Hall, 
and Chapel Mil Tire Co., owned by Skm D. Jennings, replaced Yates Brothers Plumbing 
and Heating. In 1957, the Baptists purchased the old building, commonly referred to as 
the "McDade" house, and continued the practice of leasing the property to a variety of 
small businesses. The first town library opened in 1958, in one room on the first floor of 
the adjacent Hill House. Harris-Connors purchased Jack Hazzard's Chevrolet Agency. 
Andrews Restaurant became Anderson Restaurant Whid C. Powell opened an insurance 
and realty agency. The Norwood brothers purchased Tyler's ESSO Station. Murdock's 
Jewelers was replaced by Sherwin-Williams Co. Colonial Drugs moved a few doors east, 
and occupied the store vacated by E. A. Brown. Another Service Station, Sun Oil Co., 
opened. Barber shops, beauty shops, and laundries proliferated, and a variety of other 
small businesses either replaced businesses or, in several instances, built new buildings on 
the ever-shrinking open space. 

East Franklin Business District: In 1954, Robert Rhinehart sold the Hill Bakery to 
Thell Jemigan who promptly renamed it, Thell's Bakery. The College Cafe, in 1955, 
leased the eastern half of their building to Jimmy Wallace, who opened the Continental 
Travel Agency. In 1957, Thomas Philip Lloyd sold the Carolina Pharmacy to Miss Helen 
Duguid. She continued the business for a short while, but it was soon replaced by Campus 
Laundry & Cleaners. In 1958, after the death of Sam Berman, Paul and Isabel Smith 
moved their Intimate Bookshop into the space vacated by the Berman Department Store. 
Kemp Nye, who had worked for Milton Abernethy, took over the former Smith space and 
opened Kemp's Phonograph Records. Joe Page, a former clerk at Ledbetter-Pickard 
Stationery, had purchased Ledbetter's share in 1947 after returning from military service. 
In 1958, when Pickard died, Page purchased the rest of the business. The Recreation 
Center closed, and the Methodist's reclaimed their church annex. Two shoe stores, 
Brittain's and Alexander's opened in the last two vacant stores on East Franklin. Stevens 
Shepherd, a clothing store, replaced Jack Upman's clothing store. Harry's Grill replaced 
the Campus Cafe, and a variety of other shops opened above and below the existing stores. 

East Franklin Residential District: The University, having purchased the "Crystal 
Palace" property in 1945 chose, in 1954, to raze the old structure and to use the available 
space as a parking lot for the Planetarium. At the center of the site they erected a large sun 
dial surrounded by a rose garden. After William Clyde Friday moved into the UNC 
President's House in 1956, the University relocated their Instituteof Government and used 
the space as the UNC Consolidated Offices. The Presbyterian Church was destroyed by 
fire in 1958. 



m 



1958 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITT MILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 


Residence - Sam Perry 


607 


XX 










XX 


610 


Blackburn's Produce 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 


605 


XX 
XX 






Residence - Mrs. Ann G. Bradshaw 


603 


XX 
XX 










XX 


600 


Sun Oil Co. Service Station 






XX 










XX 










XX 






xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx: 


<XGRA 


HAMSTR 


eetxxx* -oca xxxxxxxxy X) 






XX 










XX 










XX 






Colonial Stores 


505 


XX 
XX 










XX 


506 


Residence - Mrs. Connie C. Nunn 






XX 










XX 


504 


Colonial Press 






XX 


502 


Sion D. Jennings - Chapel HID Tire Co. 






XX 






Harris-Connors - Chevrolet Agency 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1ERS STREET XXX: V.\? \ 






XX 










XX 






Long Meadows Farm 


431 


XX 


464 


Floyd Williams - Pure Oil Service & Repair 


& Dairy Bar 




XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 
F 


462 






Johnson-Strowd-Ward 




(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. - (car lot) 


427 


456 






West Franklin Street Grocery 




423 


R 
A 


454 

452 


Tar Heel Cleaners / H. J. Edwards - (photographer) 


Anderson Restaurant 


Radio Service Shack 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) / Village TV Service 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 


K 

L 






Yates Motor Co. 


410 








417 

415 


N 

S 
T 
R 


440 
436 


Hospital Saving Association 


Residence - Mrs. Mary J. Johnson 




Residence - Ennis T. Sellers 


J&J Cab Co. 






E 


434 


Chapel Hill Seafood Market 






E 


432 


Weaver's Shoe Repair Shop 


Hollywood Restaurant 


411 


T 


430 


Edward's Friendly Laundry 


Hollywood Cab Co. 




XX 


428 


S & W Tailors 






XX 


422 


Chapel Hill Cleaners 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 






XX 










XX 






Residence - Henry Neal 


409 


XX 










XX 


412 


Village Self-Service Laundry 


Residence - William W. McCauley 


407 


XX 


410 


Ogburn - Furniture Market 






XX 


408 


PTA Thrift Shop 


Whid C. Powell - (insurance & realtor) 


405 


XX 


406 


The Beauty Box / Carolina Cleaners 


Best's Radio & TV Service / Vogue Beauty Shop 





XX 


400 


Sherwin-Williams Co. - (paint) 



M 



Cole-Dawson Real Estate 403 

West Franklin Street Luncheonette 40 1 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Union Bus Station 
Bus Terminal Lunch 



Residence - Walter T. Harville 



311 



303 



Residence & Apartments 30 1 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

Residence & Apartments 21 3 



Residence & Apartments 



209 



Town Superintendent of Schools 



Chapel Hill High School 



207 



135 



Chapel Hill Elementary School 



131 



The Hill House Apartments / Public Library 1 1 9 
Chapei Hill Barber Shop / Security Ins. & Realty 1 1 3 



University Baptist Church (side) 



105 



XX 


320 


Western Auto 


XX 


318 


Village Pharmacy 


XX 


312 


Brown's Auto Supply 


XX 


310 


Orange County Building & Loan 


XX 






XX 


308 




XX 


Herbert Pendergraffs Village Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


306 


Fowler's Food Store 


XX 






XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


Walker's Gulf Service Station 


w 






E 






s 






T 


210 




F 


A&P 


R 






A 






N 




K 


206 


Belk-Leggett-Horton - Department Store 


L 






I 


200 


Masonic Hall 


N 






S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 


136 


Norwood Bros. - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


132 


Apartments 


XX 






XX 


126 


Obie Davis - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


112 


Charlie Stanceil - Pure Oil Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 


106 


Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 


XX 


104 


Speedy Laundry / Allied - (exterminator) 


XX 


102 


Poe Motor Co. 


XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL UMBIA STREET XXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 958 



rm 



East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

101 WiUiarri Sloan - Drugstore 



University Service Station 


100 


XX 


103 


C. W. Shield's - Home Owned Grocery 


Tar Heel Cab Stand 


106 


XX 


105 


Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances & Fuel 




108 
118 


XX 
XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 


107 
109 

115 


Vic Huggins - Hardware 
Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 


Carolina Theatre 


The Youth Center - (clothes) 


College Cafe 


The Goody Shop - (restaurant) 


120 


XX 


117 


Continental Travel Agency 


James Ellis - Village Grill & Sandwich Shop 


122 


XX 


119 


Paul and Isabel Smith - Intimate Bookshop 


University Florist & Gift Shop / TheU's Bakery 


124 


XX 


121 


City Optical Co. 


Brittain's Shoes 


126 


XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


J. B. Robbins - House of Fashion 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 






XX 


127 


Village Laundry & Cleaners 




134 


XX 
XX 


129 
131 


William T. Kohn Optometnst 


University Service Plants - (offices) 


Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 


Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 


136 


XX 


133 


Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 


XXXXXXXX OLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 


XX 


135 


Alexander's Shoe Store 


Carolina Coffee Shop / Beauty Salon* 


138 




137 


The Bank of Chapel Hill 


Maurice Julian's College Shop / W&M (photo)* 


140 


E 


139 


Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 


The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 


142 


A 


141 


North Carolina Cafeteria 


Robert Variey - Men's Shop 


144 


S 


143 


W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 






T 


145 

147 


University Barber Shop 
Stevens-Shepherd - (clothes) 






F 


149 


Town & Campus - (clothes) / Tempo (res) A 


University United Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 


Carolina Sports Shop - Henry McGinty Mgr. 






A 


153 


Danziger's Old World Gift Shop 






N 


155 


Campus Laundry & Cleaners 






K 


157 


Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Tar Heel Barber 






L 


159 
161 


Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry / Printery 

Foistefs Photo Co. 


Methodist Church - (annex) 


162 


N 


163 
165 


Milton's Clothing Cupboard 
Electric Construction Co. 






S 


167 


Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 






T 


169 


Chapel Hill Cleaners / Orkin - (exterminators) 






R 


171 


Harry's Grill 






E 


173 


College Shn-Fixery / The Yarn Shop A 






E 

T 


175 


University Restaurant 


Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - Dormitories 


178 










XX 


179 


United States Post Office 


« To Old West 




XX 
XX 

XX 


XXX 






<XXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 






XX 


201 


University Cleaners / Village Barber Shop 






XX 


203 


Durham Dairy Products / Dairy Bar 






XX 


205 


Kemps Phonograph Records 


Silent Sam 




XX 
XX 










XX 


211 


University Presbyrerian Church 






XX 




(destroyed by fire) 






XX 
XX 
XX 






« To Old East 








XX 


213 


Village Apartments 


Graham Memorial - Student Union 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










219 


Kappa Delta - Sorority 






1*6 







Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



123 



UiNC - Consolidated unices 



227 Residence - Dr. Fred G. Patterson 

229 Residence - Mrs. Jennie Thurston 

XXXXXXXXXXPICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



307 



311 



313 



Chi Omega - Sorority 



Alpha Gamma Delta 



Residence - Mrs. Eleanor A. Patterson 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 

XX 
Residence - UNC President William Clyde Friday 400 XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 407 
XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 



Residence - Daniel Fowler 



Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 



Residence - Alex M. Patterson 



XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - James K_ Kyser 



Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 



410 



504 



M0 



Residence - Mrs. Cornelia A. Roberson 



Residence - Mrs. Nellie S. Durham 



Residence - Madge Kennette 



516 



520 



524 



E 
A 
S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



507 



513 



517 



Residence - Mervin Heifers 



Presbyterian Manse - Rev. Vance Barron 



Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 



523 



Residence - Mrs. Irene F. Lee 



pOOOOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXYYYYYYY BOUNDARY STREET JrXVyYXyYVXYYVyVYV)fyyxyvww f958 



1959-1963 



West Franklin: The Masonic Hall was razed, providing space for a parking lot for the 
Beflc-Leggett Department Store. Alton B. Pons purchased the Chapel IM Tire Co. 
Anderson's Restaurant became Leo's Restaurant, and the West Franklin Street 
Luncheonette became Clarence's Bar & Grill. The Public Library expanded to three rooms 
in the old "Mil House". Ralph Sutue purchased Herbert PendergrafFs Village Service 
Station. The Zoom Zoom Restaurant replaced Speedy Laundry, and Gordon's 5c to $1.00 
Store moved into the corner space vacated by the Poe Motor Co. Several other small 
businesses closed and were soon replaced New buildings, such as those erected between 
412 and 420, were immediately ocupied. In 1963, Charlie Stancell sold his Pure Oil 
Service Station to the Uzzle Motor Co., and the Chapel Hill Weekly moved into the space 
vacated by the Harris-Connors Chevrolet Agency. 

East Franklin Business District: James Ellis, in 1959, purchased additional kitchen 
and serving equipment and renamed his business the Village Cafeteria. That same year, 
Charles Shields, after 36 years in business, closed his Home Owned Grocery Store. 
Robert Rosenbacher opened the Hub, a men's clothing store, in the space vacated by 
Shields. In 1960, Henry McGinty, after serving as manager of Carolina Sports Shop for 
many years, bought the business. In 1962, the North Carolina National Bank bought the 
Bank of Chapel Hill.. Alexander's Shoe Store gave way to T. L. Kemp Jewelry and 
Sharyn-Lynn , a women's clothing store. Harry's Grill moved two doors east, making 
room for William Maclhvinen's, The Fireside, another women's clothing store. 

East Franklin Residential District: Several residences changed hands and, in two 
instances, served different functions such as the Olin T. Binkly Baptist Church and the 
American Baptist Home Mission. In 1961, a new and larger Presbyterian Church was built 
on the site of the previous one that had burned in 1958. 



ISO 



1963 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merrttt Mill Road (at the weft end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



Residence - Mrs. Lola Bynum 


607 


XX 










XX 


610 


Blackburn's Produce 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 


605 


XX 
XX 






Residence - Sam Perry 


603 


XX 
XX 










XX 


600 


Jim Durham's Sunoco Service Station 






XX 










XX 










XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


516 


Scott's Produce Stand 






XX 






Colonial Stores 


505 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


504 


Colonial Press 






XX 


502 


Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






Chapel Hffl Weekly 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 






Long Meadows Farm 


431 


XX 


464 


Floyd Williams - Pure Oil Service & Repair 


& Dairy Bar 




XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 
F 


462 






Johnson- Strowd- Ward - (furniture) 




(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. - Tear lot) 


427 


456 






Sports Center - (billiards) 




423 


R 
A 


454 

452 


Tar Heel Cleaners / H. J. Edwards - (photographer) 


Leo's Restaurant 


Chapel Hill Florist / Radio Service Shack 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) / Village TV Service 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 


K 
L 

I 






Yates Motor Co. 


419 








417 

415 


N 

S 
T 
R 


440 
43o 


Hospital Saving Association 


Residence - Mrs. Mary J. Johnson 




Residence - Golden A. Sellars 


J&J Cab Co. 






E 


434 


Chapel Hill Seafood Market 






E 


432 


Weaver's Shoe Repair Shop 


Hollywood Restaurant 


411 


T 


430 


Edward's Friendly Laundry 


Hollywood Cab Co. / Carolina Cab Co. 




XX 


428 


S & W Tailors 






XX 


422 


Chapel Hill Cleaners 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 






XX 


418 


Manning A. Simons - (tax consultant) 






XX 


416 


Botsfords Radio & TV Service 


Residence - Henry Neal 


409 


XX 


414 


Chapel Hill Chamber of Commerce 






XX 


412 


Half-Hour Laundry 


Residence - William W. McCauley 


407 


XX 


410 


Ogburn - Furniture Market 






XX 


408 


PTA Thrift Shop 


Whid C. Powell - (insurance & realtor) 


405 


XX 


406 


The Beauty Box / Henderson's Jewelry 


Besfs Radio & TV Service / Vogue Beauty Shop 




XX 

ISl 


400 


Sherwin-Williams Co. - (paint) 



Triangle Finance / Carolina Fabric 403 

Clarence's Bar & Grill 401 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Union Bus Station 



Residence - Walter T. Harville 



Residence & Apartments 



311 



303 



301 



XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Residence & Apartments 



Residence & Apartments 



213 



209 



Town Superintendent of Schools 



Chapel Hill High School 



20? 



135 



Chapel Hill Junior High School 



131 



The Hill House Apartments / Public Library' 
Chapel Hill Barber Shop / Security Ins. & Realty 

University Baptist Church (side) 



lio 
113 



105 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



320 
318 
312 
310 



308 



306 



Western Auto 

Village Pharmacy 

Carolina Grill 

Central Carolina Bank & Trust 



Ralph Sutties Village Texaco Station 



Fowler's Food Store 



(parking) 



214 



210 



106 



Walker's Gulf Service Station 



A&P 



Belk-Leggett-Horton - Department Store 
(Parking Lot) 

XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



136 



Norwood Bros. - Exxon Service Station 



132 
126 



120 



112 



106 
104 
102 



Apartments 
Obie Davis - Exxon Service Station 

Walker's Funeral Home 

Uule Motor Co. 



Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 

Zoom Zoom - (restaurant) 

Gordon's 5c to S1.00 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1963 



1963 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

William Sloan - Drugstore 
Robert Rosenbacher - The Hub - (clothes) 

Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances 
Vic Huggins - Hardware 
Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 







XX 


101 


University Service Station 


100 


XX 


103 


Tar Heel Cab Stand 


106 


XX 


105 




108 


XX 
XX 


107 


Carolina Theatre 


109 






XX 






118 


XX 
XX 




The Youth Center - (clothes) 


115 


The Goody Shop - (restaurant) 


120 


XX 


117 


James Ellis - Village Cafeteria 


!22 


XX 


119 


University Florist & Gift Shop Thell's Bakery 


124 


XX 


121 


Bnttain's Shoes 


126 


XX 


123 


J. B. Robbins - House of Fashion 


128 


XX 


125 






XX 


127 




134 


XX 
XX 


129 


University Service Plants - (offices) 


131 


JeffeTson Standard Life Insurance 


13d 


XX 


133 


XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 


XX 


135 


Carolina Coffee Shop / Beauty Salon 


138 




L37 


Maunce Julian's College Shop / W&M ( photo r 


140 


E 


139 


The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 


142 


A 


141 


Robert Varley - Men's Shop 


144 


s 


143 






T 


145 
147 






F 


149 


University United Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 






A 


153 






N 


155 






K 


15" 






L 


159 
lol 


Methodist Church - (annex) 


162 


N 


163 

165 






S 


167 






T 


169 






R 


171 






E 


173 






E 


175 






T 




• Vance/Battle/Petugrew - Dormitones 


178 










XX 


179 


« To Old West 




XX 

XX 
XX 






XX? 






XX 


201 






XX 


203 






XX 


205 


Silent Sam 




XX 
XX 








XX 


211 






XX 








XX 
XX 








« To Old East 




XX 








XX 


213 


Graham Memorial - Student Union 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 


219 






155 





College Cafe 

Continental Travel Agency 

Paul and Isabel Smith - Intimate Bookshop 

City Optical Co. 

Varsity Theatre 

Jeffs Campus Confectionery 

Village Laundry & Cleaners 

William T. Kohn Optometrist 

Carolina Barber & Beauty Shop 

Andrews-Hennrnger - Department Store 

T. L. Kemp Jewelry / Sharyn-Lynn - (clothes) 

North Carolina National Nank 

Clyde Eubanks - Drugstore 

North Carolina Cafeteria 

W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 

University Barber Shop 

Stevens- Shepherd - (clothes) 

Town & Campus - (clothes) / Tempo - (restaurant f" 

McGinty's Sports Shop 

Danziger's Old World Gift Shop 

Campus Laundry & Cleaners 

Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Tar Heel Barber 

Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry / Pnntery 

Foister's Photo Co. 

Milton's Clothing Cupboard 

Electric Construction Co. 

Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

Chapel Hill Cleaners ' Orkrn - (exterminators) 

The Fireside - (women's clothes) 

College Shu-Fixery / The Yam Shop A 

Harry's Grill 



United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

University Cleaners / Village Barber Shop 

Durham Dairy Products / Dairy Bar 

Kemps Phonograph Records 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Sorority 







XX 










XX 


223 


UNC Consolidated Offices 


Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 




XX 
XX 










XX 


227 


American Baptist Home Mission / I vey Realty 






XX 










XX 


229 


Residence - Mrs. Nell Justice - (furnished rooms) 






XX 










XX 


XXXXX \ \ ' \ <1 CKA RD ANEXXa 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church 




XX 










XX 


307 


Chi Omega - Sorority 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 


311 


Alpha Gamma Delta 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


313 


Residence - Mrs. Eleanor A. Patterson 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


401 


Residence - Robert R. Schoch 






XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President William Clyde Friday 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


407 


Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - John C. Spencer 


410 


E 
A 

s 














XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




T 


501 


Residence - Robert B. House 


Residence - James K. Kyser 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 










I 


50^ 


Olln T. Binkley Baptist Church 


Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 


510 


N 










S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


513 


Presbyterian Manse - Rev. Vance Barron 






517 


Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 


Residence - James W. Prothro 


516 


T 

XX 
XX 






Residence - Mrs. Nellie S. Durham 


520 


XX 
XX 










XX 


523 


Residence - Charles R. White 






XX 






Residence - Madge Kennette 


524 


XX 
XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1963 

Ts*t- 



1964-1968 



West Franklin: This was a period of rapid and large-scale change. The Elementary 
School, High School, and the old "Caesar Cone" house were razed. They were replaced 
by Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co., and University Square East, a large shopping 
center. Additional stores and offices were planned for the remaining land which was under 
development Space vacated by Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co., on the north side of 
the street, was filled by several service organizations. The Hospital Savings Association 
transformed itself into Blue Cross & Blue Shield. The building that had housed Uzzle 
Motors was recast as a group of small shops, and even the old "McDade" house extended 
its life by providing space for multiple tenants. New businesses included Merritt Motors, a 
used car lot, and Bentwood Delicatessen. 

The need for increased parking was addressed by razing several small businesses and 
paving over the area. Parking lots dedicated for specific shopping centers were patrolled to 
keep out non-customers. The newer, and more modem, facilities that provided adequate 
parking for their customers not only attracted new businesses, but also enticed established 
firms to relocate from East Franklin. 

The dilapidated Hill House had outlived its usefulness and, in 1968, when the library 
moved to new quarters, the old structure was condemned and boarded up. Colonial Press 
moved to larger quarters, and residence-apartments on either side of Mallette Street were 
replaced by Hardee's and One Hour Koretizing, a cleaning business. West of the Chapel 
HSU Tire Co., several additional stores were constructed, and every other existing business 
changed hands. 

East Franklin Business District: In 1965, Clyde Eubanks sold his drugstore to 
Benjamin and EHyn Courts. They renamed the business, Courts' Drugs, and remained in 
the same location for about two years. In 1967, when North Carolina National Bank 
began their building expansion, the Courts moved their business to University Square East. 
Paul and Isabel Smith sold the Intimate Bookshop to Wallace Kuralt in 1965, but 
continued operation of the rare book section, within the building, until the end of 1968. In 
1966, after James Ellis retired and closed the Village Cafeteria, the Sharyn-Lyrm Shoppe 
moved from 135 East Franklin and took over the space vacated by EHis. After T. L. Kemp 
Jewelers, who had been a co-tenant with Sharyn-Lynn, relocated to University Square 
East, Troy's Stereo moved into 135 East Franklin. Kemp Nye's record store was 
destroyed by fire in 1966. First Union National Bank replaced Stevens-Shepherd clothiers, 
and the Chapel Hill Dairy Bar replaced Durham Dairy Products. 

East Franklin University Property: The Vance / Battle / Pettigrew dormitories were 
made over into University offices. Graham Memorial - Student Union, after 27 years, was 
transformed into Graham Memorial - Department of Dramatic Arts. This latter change 
was brought about by the creation, at another location on campus, of the more modern 
Frank Porter Graham - Student Union. 



155 



East Franklin Residential District: In 1966, after 77 years of ownership, the 
Presbyterians sold their manse. It was purchased by Gordon L. McAndrews. The house 
just west of the manse, that had been the home of Miss Mary Manning for many years, 
was razed. In 1968, the new Public library was opened on the NW comer of East 
Franklin and Boundary. Fraternities and sororities completed their takeover of the older 
residences on East Franklin, west of Hillsborough Street 



fS6 



1968 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


610 


Melton's Produce 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 


605 


XX 
XX 






Residence - Sam Peiry 


603 


XX 
XX 










XX 


600 


Gallagher's Sunoco Service Station 


Merritt Motors (used cars) 


601 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX: R.AHAMSTREE7 < XXXXXX> 






XX 










XX 


516 


The Beauty Rama 






XX 






Colonial Stores 


505 


XX 
XX 










XX 


508 


PTA Thrift Shop 






XX 


506 


Diab's Dress Shop 


The Colonial Press 


503 


XX 


504 


F&F Automotive / Travel On - (motorcycle) 






XX 


502 


Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






The Chapel Hill Weekly 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 






Long Meadows Farm 


431 


XX 


464 


Floyd Williams - Pure Oil Service & Repair 


& Dairy Bar 




XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 
F 


462 






Johnson-Strowd-Ward 






(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. (car lot) 


427 


456 






Sports Center - (billiards) 






R 
A 


454 
452 


Tar Heel Cleaners 


Leo's Restaurant 


423 


Chapel Hill Florist / The Cavern - (beer) 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXXBASNIGHTLANE XXXXXXX 


xxxx 

419 


K 
L 

I 






Yates Motor Co. 








N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


440 


North Carolina Blue Cross & Blue Shield 


Residence - Mrs. Mary J. Johnson 


417 
415 




Residence - Oscar L. Porter 










(Parking Lot) 


Hollywood Restaurant 


411 


T 






Hollywood Cab Co. / Carolina Cab Co. 




XX 
XX 


422 






Chapel Hill Cleaners 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 






XX 


418 


Manning A. Simons - (tax consultant) 






XX 


416 


Botsfords Radio & TV Service 


Residence - Isaac A. Battle 


409 


XX 


414 


Bentwood Delicatessen 






XX 


412 


Half-Hour Laundry 


Residence - William W. McCauley 


407 
405 


XX 
XX 
XX 


410 
406 


Ogburn Furniture Market 


Bests Radio & TV Service 


The Beauty Box / Henderson's Jewelry 


Vogue Beauty Shop 




XX 


400 


Sherwin-Williams Co. - (paint) 



iSf 



Investor's Loan / Weaver - (clothing repair) 403 

Clarence's Bar & Grill 401 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Union Bus Station 
S&WTailors 



Residence - Walter T. Harville 



311 



303 



One Hour Koretizing - (cleaners) 30 1 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



Gray Apartments 



213 



209 



(land under development) 



(land under development) 



(land under development) 



University Square East 

Circle Tours / Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop / T. L. Kemp Jewelers 

University Opticians / Court's Drugs 

Merle Norman Studio - (photographer) 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Hill House - (vacant - to be razed) 



123 



121 



119 



Poe Realty / The Country Store 1 1 3 

Art Gallery / Security - (insurance «& realty) 



University Baptist Church (side) 



105 



XX 


320 


Western Auto 


XX 


318 


Village Pharmacy 


XX 


312 


Carolina Grill 


XX 


310 


NC Dept of Motor Vehicles 


XX 




Chapel Hill-Carboro Chamber of Commerce 


XX 




Nationwide Mutual Insurance 


XX 


308~ 


Ralph Suttles Village Texaco Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


306 


Fowlef s Food Store 


XX 






XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


Walker's Gulf Service Station 


w 






E 






s 






T 


210 




F 


A&P 


R 






A 






N 




K 


206 


Bdk-Leggett - Department Store 


L 






I 




(Parking Lot) 


N 






S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 

XX 
vv 


136 


Norwood Bros. - Exxon Service Station 


XA 
XX 
XX 
XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 

vv 






AA 

XX 






XX 

VY 


132 


(vacant building) 


XX 


126 


Obie Davis - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 
XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 
XX 
XX 


112 


Gardner Motor Co. / Western Union 


XX 
w 


110 


Quick Food Mart/ Tar Heel Club 


AA 

XX 


106 


Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 


XX 


104 


Zoom Zoom - (restaurant) 


XX 


102 


(vacant) 


XX 


100 





XXXXXXXXXXXXTOOOCXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXrnr ITWRTA cruPTT \r\-\-\- 



IWVVVVWV, '>W 



l& 



1968 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 





100 


XX 


101 


William Sloan - Drugstore 


University Service Station 




XX 


103 


Robert Rosenbacher - The Hub - (clothes) 






XX 


105 


Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances 




108 
118 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


107 
109 

115 


Vic Huggins - Hardware 
Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 


Carolina Theatre 


The Youth Center - (clothes) 


College Cafe 


The Goody Shop - (restaurant) 


120 


XX 


117 


Continental Travel Agency 


Sharyn-Lynn Shoppe - (women's clothes) 


122 


XX 


119 


Wallace Kuralt- Intimate Bookshop 


University Florist & Gift Shop / Thell's Bakery 


124 


XX 


121 


City Optical Co. 


Brittain's Shoes 


126 


XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


J. B. Robbins - House of Fashion 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 






XX 


127 


Village Laundry & Cleaners 






XX 


129 


William T. Kohn Optometrist 


University Service Plants - (offices) 


134 


XX 


131 


Carolina Barber Shop 


Jefferson Standard Life Insurance 


136 


XX 


133 


Andrews-Henninger - Department Store 


OCXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 


XX 


135 


Troy's Stereo 


Carolina Coffee Shop / Beauty Salon" 


138 




137 


North Carolina National Bank 


Maurice Julian's College Shop / W&M (photo V s 


140 
142 


E 
A 


141 




The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 


North Carolina Cafeteria 


Robert Varley - Men's Shop 


144 


S 


143 


W. O. Lacock - Shoes & Repair Shop 






T 


145 
147 


University Barber Shop 
First Union National Bank 






F 


149 


Town & Campus - (clothes) / Tempo - (restaurant)" 


University United Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 


McGinty's Sport Shop 






A 


153 


Danziger's Old World Gift Shop 






N 


155 


Campus Laundry & Cleaners 






K 


157 


Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Tar Heel Barber 






L 


159 


Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry 






I 


161 


Foister's Photo Co. 


Methodist Church - (annex) 


162 


N 


163 
165 


Milton's Clothing Cupboard 
Electric Construction Co. 






S 


167 


Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 






T 


169 


Chapel Hill Cleaners 






R 


171 


The Fireside - (women's clothes) 






E 


173 


College Shu-Fixery / The Yarn Shop A 






E 
T 


175 


Harry's Grill 


Vance/Battle/Pettigrew- UNC offices 


178 










XX 


179 


United States Post Office 


« To Old West 




XX 
XX 
XX 


xxx: 






XXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 






XX 


201 


University Cleaners / Village Barber Shop 






XX 
XX 
XX 


203 


Chapel Hill Dairy Bar / NY Life Insurance 


Silent Sam 












XX 










XX 
XX 
XX 


211 


University Presbyterian Church 


« To Old East 




XX 
XX 










XX 


213 


Village Apartments 


Graham Memorial - Dept of Dramatic Arts 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










219 


Kappa Delta - Sorority 



/5<? 



Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



UNC Consolidated Offices 



227 Lambda Chi AJpha - (annex) 

229 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 

XXXXXXXXXX PICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 



307 



311 



313 



Chi Omega - Soronty 



Phi Mu - Sorority 



Kappa Alpha Theta - Sorority 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
Residence - UNC President William Clyde Fnday 400 XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 407 

XX 

XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - William C. Klutz Jr. 



Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 



Residence - Glendon A. Schubert 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - James K. Kyser 

Residence - Charles S. Mangum Jr. 



410 



504 



510 



Residence - Archer Roberts 



Residence - Mrs. Henrietta Snow 



Residence - Madge Kennette 



516 



520 



524 



E 
A 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



513 



517 



Residence - Gordon L. McAndrews 



Residence - Mrs. Marv G. Cobb 



523 



Chapel Hill - Public Library 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXNXXXXXXXXXXXXNXXXXX L968 

Ibo 



1969-1973 



West Franklin: A new shopping center, University Square, joined University Square 
East on the former high school property. It was soon filled with new businesses and a few 
older ones, such as Andrews-Henninger, that relocated from East Franklin. The Chapel 
IM Weekly changed its name to the Chapel Hill Newspaper and, in late 1973, moved a 
few doors west into the building vacated by Colonial Stores. When clearing the site for the 
construction of Dunkin Donuts, a two-story house was razed. This house, the former 
residence of William W. McCauley, was an original section of the old James Patterson Inn 
- Nunn Tavern & Inn - John Canady School It had been moved from the SW corner of 
Franklin and Columbia in 1923 to make way for the Baptist Church. In aD, about 50 new 
businesses or changes of ownership occurred during this 5 year period. A trend, that 
would increase in future years, was the appearance of taverns such as He's Not Here, Fat 
City Saloon, Pegasus, and The Hideaway. 

East Franklin Business District: Notable changes in 1969 included the closing of J. 
B. Robbins House of Fashion and the opening of Hector's Restaurant. The owner of 
Hector's, Pete GaHfianakis, used as his slogan at the opening; "Famous Since 1969". The 
North Carolina National Bank completed its planned growth by the construction of a single 
building having three stories on Franklin Street and six on Rosemary Street. Frontage on 
Franklin Street spanned the space earlier occupied by Court's Drugstore, which moved to 
University Square East, North Carolina Cafeteria, which relocated into the space vacated 
by Andrews-Henninger, and the old Bank of Chapel HiH, which was absorbed. Several 
other banks opened during this period. First Citizen's Bank & Trust replaced The Youth 
Center, and Wachovia Bank & Trust replaced The Electric Construction Co., which earlier 
had taken over the space vacated by the Carolina Barber Shop. In 1968, Vic Huggins sold 
his hardware store, but allowed the continued use of his name. Vernon and Carl Lacock 
merged their businesses after their father became seriously ill. The father, W. O. Lacock, 
died in 1974. Vernon's Shu-Fixery gave way to Ye Olde Waffle Shop; Town Hall Ice 
Cream replaced Brittain's Shoes; Revco Discount Drugs replaced The Goody Shop; and 
The Shrunken Head replaced the Campus Laundry and Cleaners. 

East Franklin Residential District: Changes during this period were minimal The 
University moved their Consolidated Offices onto the campus and dedicated their Franklin 
Street property to a Fertility Research Program. The Chi Omega sorority increased their 
usable space by constructing a center section that, in effect, joined #311 and #313. 



m 



1973 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX MERRITT MILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


610 


Melton's Produce 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 


605 


XX 
XX 






Residence - James Parker 


603 


XX 
XX 










XX 


600 


West Franklin Sunoco Service Station 


Village Auto - (used cars) 


601 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 


516 


The Beauty Rama 






XX 






The Chapel Hill News 


505 


XX 
XX 










XX 


508 


PTA Thrift Shop 






XX 


506 


Diab's Dress Shop 


Creative Printers 


503 


XX 


504 


Sloan Auto Parts / Yates - (plumbing & heating) 






XX 


502 


Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






Store - (function unknown) 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. 






XX 










XX 






Long Meadows Farm 


431 


XX 


4o4 


Chapel Hill Union 76 Service Station 


& Dairy Bar 




XX 
XX 


462 






Johnson- Strowd- Ward - (furniture) 


North Carolina Blue Cross - (annex) 


429 


w 

E 

s 

T 
F 








(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. (car lot) 


42" 


456 






Record & Tape Center 




423 


R 
A 


454 
452 


Pegasus - (tavern) 
Chapel Hill Florist/ Wildflower Kitchen - (res) 


Leo's Restaurant 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXX: 


KXXX 

419 


K 
L 

I 






Yates Motor Co. 






417 

415 


N 

S 
T 
R 


440 


North Carolina Blue Cross & Blue Shield 


Residence - (unknown) 




Residence - Lonnie Brown 


. 






E 
E 




(Parking Lot) 


Hollywood Restaurant 


411 


T 






Hollywood Cab Co. / Carolina Cab Co. 




XX 
XX 


422 






Chapel Hill Cleaners / Henderson's Jewelry 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 






XX 


418 


The Lampe Shop 






XX 


416 


Botsfords Radio & TV Service 


Residence - (unknown) 


409 


XX 


414 


Flowers By Hackney 






XX 


412 


Adam & Eve Shop / Wootten-Mouiton (photo) 


Dunkin Donuts 


40" 


XX 


410 


Investor's Loan Corp. 


Copeland Radio & TV Service 


405~ 


XX 
XX 


406 




Womancraft / E. L. Gray - (insurance) 


The Beauty Box 


Hair Unlimited 




XX 


402 


Sherwin-Williams Co - (paint) 



IW 



Union Bus Station 
S&WTailois 



The Hideaway - (tavern) 



311 



303 



One Hour Koretizing - (cleaners) 301 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



213 



Big Wally's - (radio & service) 



University Square 

New Dimensions - (maternity) 

NeaTs Shoes / Pizzaville / Potpourri - (clothes) 

Knit- A-Btt / Ice Cream Creations 

Little Professor Book Center / Photo Center 

Presents Of Mind / Paw Paw Patch - (gifts) 

Andrews-Henninger - (clothes) 

Ken's Quickie Mart 



University Square East 

Circle Tours / Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop / T. L. Kemp Jewelers 

University Opticians / Court's Drugs 

Merle Norman Studio - (photographer) 



137 



133 



123 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Dandelion - (gifts) / Shoe Loft 



University Baptist Church (side) 



121 



113 



105 



"ococxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxyxxxxxxxxxxxxx COL 



XX 


400 


Burgner Music 


XX 


318 


Village Pharmacy 


XX 


312 


Carolina Grill 


XX 


310 


Harmony Natural Food Store 


XX 




Chapel Hfll-CarboTO Chamber of Commerce 


XX 




Nationwide Mutual Insurance 


XX 


~w 


Ralph Sutdes Village Texaco Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


306 


Fowler's Food Store 


XX 






XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


Summey's Gulf Service Station 


w 






E 






S 






T 


210 




F 


A&P 


R 






A 


208 


Pizza Inn 


N 






K 


206 


Belk-Leggett - Department Store 


L 






I 




(Parking Lot) 


N 






S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 


136 


Norwood Bros. - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


132 


Eat At Joe's - (restaurant) 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


126 


Obie Davis - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


112 


Baker's "66" Service / He's Not Here 


XX 


110 


Fat City Saloon 


XX 


108 


P. H. Craig - (real estate) 


XX 


106 


Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 


XX 


104 


Zoom Zoom - (restaurant) 


XX 


102 


Reflections - (gifts) 


XX Itt 


100 




UMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1973 



1973 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 

XX 
Barclay's Texaco Service Station 100 XX 

XX 

XX 

108 XX 

XX 

XX 



Carolina Theatre 



First Citizen's Bank & Trust 
Revco Discount Drugs 

Sharyn-Lynn Shoppe - (women's clothes) 

University Florist & Gift Shop / Thell's Bakery 

Town Hall Ice Cream 

Store - (vacant) 

R. B. Vance - (lamp store) 

University Service Plants - (offices) 



XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 

Maurice Julian's College Shop 

The Little Shop - Cwomen's clothes) 

Robert Varley - Men's Shop 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church - (annex) 



150 



162 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - UNC offices 1 78 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Dept of Dramatic Arts 2 1 2 



STREETXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

101 William Sloan - Drugstore 

1 03 Robert Rosenbacher - The Hub - (clothes) 

105 Bennett & Blocksidge - Electrical Appliances 

107 Vic Huggins - Hardware 

109 Rose's 5-10 & 25c Store 



118 


XX 


115 


College Cafe 


120 


XX 


117 


Continental Travel Agency 


122 


XX 


119 


Wallace Kuralt - Intimate Bookshop 


124 


XX 


121 


Village Opticians 


126 


XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 




XX 


127 


Treasure Chest- (childrens clothes) 


132 


XX 


129 


William T. Kohn Optometrist 


134 


XX 


131 


Electric Construction Co. 




XX 


133 


North Carolina Cafeteria 


Y 




135 


Alexander's Ambition - (clothes) 


138 


E 


137 


North Carolina National Bank Plaza 


140 


A 






142 


S 







F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 

N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



143 Lacocks Shoes & Shoe Repair Shop 

1 45 Paper Castle Co. - (gifts) 

1 47 First Union National Bank 

149 Town & Campus - (clothes) 

1 5 1 McGinty's Sport Shop 

1 53 Danziger's Old World Gift Shop 

1 55 Shrunken Head - (clothes) 

1 57 Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Tar Heel Barber 

159 Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry 

161 Foister's Photo Co. 

163 Milton's Clothing Cupboard 

1 65 Wachovia Bank & Trust 

1 67 Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

1 69 Chapel Hill Cleaners 

171 The Fireside - (women's clothes) 

173 Ye Olde Waffle Shop/ P. J.'s- (restaurant) 

175 Pro Shop 



179 United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 



201 
203 



211 



213 



219 



Hector's - (restaurant) / Village Barber Shop 

Chapel Hill Dairy Bar / NY Life Insurance 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Soronty 



m 







XX 










XX 










XX 


223 


UNC Fertility Research Program 


Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 




XX 
XX 










XX 


227 


Lambda Chi Alpha (annex) 






XX 










XX 


229 


Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 






XX 










XX 


xxxxxxx i . 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church 




XX 










XX 


307 


Sigma Sigma Sigma - Sorority 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 




Chi Omega - Sorority 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 
XX 
XX 




(two houses bridged into one) 






XX 


313 


Chi Omega - Sorority 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXX. , ; 






XX 










XX 


401 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President William Clyde Fnday 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


40^ 


Residence - Frederic E. Coenen 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - (unknown) 


410 


E 
A 

s 

T 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




501 


Residence - Robert B. House 


Residence - James K. Kyser 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 


















K 










L 

I 






Residence - (unknown) 


510 


N 










S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


513 


Residence - Walter & Anne Dellinger 






517 


Residence - Mrs. Mary G. Cobb 


Residence - Archer Roberts 


516 


T 

XX 
XX 






Residence - Mark Griffin 


520 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


523 


Chapel Hill - Public Library 


Residence - Madge Kennette 


524 


XX 
XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1973 

116 



1974-1978 



West Franklin: The rapid rate of change continued unabated. Blue Cross moved out, 
and the vacated building was soon filled with UNC offices. Southern Bell Telephone Co., 
Shoney's and McDonald's all moved in, and the A & P moved out The University Square 
complex was completed with the addition of University Square West This large facility 
resulted in another burst of new business activity and a relocation of older ones. Two large 
Municipal Parking Lots were created which required the razing of two residences and a 
service station. Changes of ownership and function of many shops occurred with such 
rapidity as to insure that in many instances sequential changes passed unrecorded during 
the five-year period. As an example, the Chapel Hill Newspaper moved out of #501 prior 
to 1973 and, in 1973, the building was vacant The occupant of #501 in 1978 was 
Southern Bell, and was so recorded on the corresponding street map. The occupant in 
1975, however, was University Service Plants and the Chapel IM Telephone Co. Two 
well known restaurants, Pyewacket and Aurura, made their debut during this period in 
adjacent shops. Chapel Hill now has a massage parlor and, after 35 years, a produce 
stand, first operated by Rachel Crook, no longer graces the NW comer of Merritt Mill 
Road. It was displaced by the Brooks & Tobin used car lot. 

East Franklin Business District: George Barclay's Texaco Service Station was razed, 
and replaced with an unsightly vacant lot One reason given for if s demise was the traffic 
problems which resulted when entering and leaving the station. Other notable changes 
included the replacement of Sloan's Drugstore by Spanky's Restaurant; Sharyn-Lynn 
Shoppe by the Card and Gift Shop; and Bennett & Blocksidge by Northwestern Bank. In 
all, eight new restaurants opened during the period; Arthur Treacher's; Golden Dragon; 
Mad Hatter, Subway; Spanky's; Harrison's; Rendezvous; and Sadlack's. The Carolina 
Theatre partitioned it's viewing area and added a second screen. 

East Franklin Residential District: The University relocated their Fertility Research 
Program and replaced it with the UNC School of Social Work. Several residences 
changed hands; there were a few deaths of long time residents; and #516 was converted to 
a duplex. 



Ite 



1978 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


610 


Brooks & Tobin - (car lot) 


Residence - Mrs. Louise Headon 


605 


XX 
XX 








Residence - James Parker 


603 


XX 
XX 










XX 


600 


Rlgsbee Tire Sales 


Brooks & Tobin Motors (used cars) 


601 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 
XX 


516 


The Beauty Rama 


The Chapel Hill News 


505 


XX 
XX 


510 




Women's Craft Cooperative 






XX 


508 


PTA Thrift Shop 


. 




XX 


510 


Black Mountain Silver (Jewelry) 


Creative Printers 


503 


XX 


504 


Beadworks / University Auto Supply 






XX 


502 


Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






Southern Bell Telephone Co. 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxy . U WON - - . ;\ 






XX 










XX 






Dairy Bar - (restaurant) 


431 


XX 


464 


Chapel Hill Service Center - (auto repair) 


Oxbow Music 




XX 
XX 


462 




Johnson-Strowd-Ward 


Sign Products Co. 


429 


w 

E 
S 
T 

F 








(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. fear lot) 


427 


456 




Harmony Natural Food Store 




423 


R 
A 


454 

452 


Aurura Restaurant 


Leo's Restaurant 


Pyewacket Cafe / The Cavern - (tavern) 


William B. Poe - (chiropractor) 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 

Yates Motor Co. 419 


K 
L 












N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 


440 


UNC Offices 


Municipal Parking Lot 








(Parking Lot) 


The Bread Shop 


411 


T 






Hollywood Cab Co. / Carolina Cab Co. 




XX 
XX 


422 




Chapel Hill Cleaners / Henderson's Jewelry 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 


McDonald's Restaurant 


409 


XX 


418 


The Lampe Shop 






XX 


416 


Bob's Ice Cream 






XX 


414 


Flowers By Hackney 






XX 


412 < 


Driental Shop / Wootten-Moulton - (photographers) 


Dunkin Donuts 


407 


XX 


410 


Investor's Loan Corp. 


Copeland Radio & TV Service 
The Trail Shop / Hair Unlimited 


16!" 


XX 
XX 


406 




The Beauty Box 


Ridiculous Rufus - (electronics) 





XX 


402 


Country Sunshine Antiques 



in 



University Massage 


403 


XX 


400 


Clarence's Bar & Grill 


401 


XX 


318 


XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 


XX 


312 






XX 


310 


Union Bus Station 


311 


XX 




S&WTailors 




XX 








XX 


308" 






XX 








XX 




The Hideaway - (tavern) 


303 


XX 
XX 








XX 


306 






XX 








XX 




Store - (vacant) 


301 


XX 




XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


XX 








XX 








XX 




Hardee's of Chapel Hill 


213 


XX 

w 

E 

s 


214 










T 




University Square West 


143 


F 
R 
A 


210 






208 


Little Professor Book Center 




N 




Sharpe's Formal Wear / Photo Center 




K 


206 


Shoe Doctor / University Opticians 




L 




Fine Feathers - (women's clothes) 




I 




Poet's Corner - (restaurant) / Hallmark - (cards) 




N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


VY) 


University Square 


133 


.(YyVrl 


Morton's Fine Art & Antiques 






Looking Class Cafe 




T 




Ken's Quickie Mart 








Biscuitville Inc. 




XX 
XX 
XX 

XX 




University Square East 


123 


XX 








XX 


132 


T. L. Kemp Jewelers 




XX 




Chapel Hill Barber Shop 




XX 




Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 




XX 




Circle Tours 




XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 
XX 


126 






Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 


121 


XX 
XX 








XX 
XX 


120 










XX 




Dandelion - (gifts) 


113 


XX 




Lance Richardson - (photographer) 




XX 


112 






XX 


110 






XX 


108 


University Baptist Church (side) 


105 


XX 


106 






XX 


104 






XX 


102 


# 




XX 


100 


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET 



Burgner Music 

Village Pharmacy 

Carolina Grill 

Flynfs Florist 

Chapel Hill-Carboro Chamber of Commerce 

Nationwide Mutual Insurance 

Ralph Suttles Village Texaco Station 



Fowler's Food Store 
(parking) 

Summey's Gulf Service Station 



Vicker's Audio 
Peppi's Pizza Den 

Belk-Leggett Department Store 
(Parking Lot) 

XXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Municipal Parking Lot 



Shoney's Restaurant 



W. W. McFarling's - Exxon Service Station 



Walker's Funeral Home 



Three Wishes / He's Not Here 

Pizza Hut 

Becker's Electronix 

Public Service Co. of NC - (natural gas) 

Zoom Zoom - (restaurant & antiques ) 

Reflections - (gifts ) 

Anderson Imports 

STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 9 ~8 



n>% 



1978 

Cast Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



(vacant lot) 



Carolina Theatre 



100 



108 



Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips 

Revco Discount Drugs 

Card & Gift Shop 

University Florist & Gift Shop / Thell's Bakery 

Golden Dragon Restaurant 

Mad Hatter Restaurant 

Subway Restaurant 
First Citizens Bank & Trust 



XXXXXXXX OLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 

Maurice Julian's College Shop 

The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 

Robert Varley - Men's Shop 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church - (annex) 



150 



162 



' Vance/Bartle/Pettigrew - UNC offices 1 78 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Dept. of Dramatic Arts 2 1 2 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



101 Spanky's Restaurant 

1 03 The Hub - (clothes) / Chinaberry - (crafts) 

105 Northwestern Bank 

107 Huggin's Hardware 

109 Rose's Stores Inc. 



118 


XX 


115 


College Cafe 


120 


XX 


117 


Continental Travel Agency / Tobacco Barn 


122 


XX 


119 


Intimate Bookshop / George's Cheap Joint 


124 


XX 


121 


Village Opticians 


126 


XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 




XX 


127 


School Kids Records 


132 


XX 


129 


Andromeda - (clothes) 


134 


XX 


131 


Record Bar 




XX 


133 


North Carolina Cafeteria 


Y 




135 


Small World Travel Agency) 


138 


E 


137 


North Carolina National Bank Plaza 


140 


A 






142 


S 







143 Lacocks Shoes & Shoe Repair Shop 

1 45 Baskin-Robbins - (ice cream) / A & G Outlet - (clo) 

1 47 First Union National Bank 

1 49 Town & Campus - (clothes) / Harrison's - (res) 

151 McGintys Sport Shop 

1 53 Danziger's Old World Gift Shop 

1 55 Shrunken Head - (clothes) 

15 7 Ledbetter-Pickard / Rathskeller / Painted Bird- gifts 



159 
161 
163 

165 
167 
169 
171 

173 
175 



179 



Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry 

Foister's Photo Co. 

Milton's Clothing Cupboard 

Wachovia Bank & Trust Co. 

Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

Chapel Hill Cleaners 

The Fireside - (women's clothes) 

Ye Olde Waffle Shop / Athletic Attic 

Rendezvous - (restaurant) / Stereo Sound 



United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 
201 Hector's - (restaurant) / Village Barber Shop 

203 Sadlack's - (restaurant) / Chapel Hill Cycle Shop 

New York Life Insurance 



itl 



211 



213 



210 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Soronty 







XX 


223 


UNC School Of Social Work 


Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 




XX 
XX 










XX 


227 


Lambda Chi Alpha - (annex) 






XX 










XX 


229 


Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 






XX 




— 






XX 


XXXXXXX \ PR K UU \>.^ • 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church 


304 


XX 










XX 


307 


Sigma Sigma Sigma - Sorority 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 




Chi Omega - Sorority 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 
XX 
XX 




(two houses bridged into one) 






XX 


313 


Chi Omega - Sorority 


fWYWYWY HA T WTtZW VTPFP'T YYYYYYYY 


vyyyy 


XX 

VWWY1 


r'YWWY'J 


-"WW TJJT T VR/W/~irTS7TT VTPWJi'T YYYYV 


\j\AuS-t\u\u\u\j\A tW\ '■"■» rf » O I IX-EJl, I s\jVA*Au\u\j\j\. 


Ay\y\yV/v, 


XX 


LAJLAAJi-AJ 


lAAAa tilLiL,oDKJl\.\JlJ\jti o lIKlLiL I iWAAA/ 






XX 


401 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Residence - UNC President William Clyde Friday 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


407 


Residence - Mrs. Susan C. Coenen 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - Loren I. Moore 


410 


E 
A 


















s 






-XXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




T 


501 


Residence - Robert B. House 


Residence - James K. Kyser 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 






Residence - Rick I. Suberman 


510 


N 










S 

T 
R 


513 


Residence - Walter 8c Anne Dellinger 














E 










E 


517 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Paul Vetch 


516 


T 






Residence - (unknown) 


518 


XX 
XX 






Residence - T. C. Hunt 


520 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


523 


Chapel Hill - Public Library 


Residence - Madge Kennette 


524 


XX 
XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:<X BOUND AR Y S TREET XXXXX1<XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1978 

170 



1979 - 1983 



West Franklin: Brooks & Tobin moved their used car lot from the NE corner of 
Franklin and Merritt Mill Road to the SE corner. This move was made possible by the 
razing of the last two residences on West Franklin. Crook's Corner Cafe then opened on 
the NE comer, further extending the memory of Rachel Crook. The Southern Bell 
Telephone Co. moved across Franklin into the space made available by the closing of Belk- 
Leggett Wooten-Moulton Photography also closed after many years of operation at 
various locations on East and West Franklin. Considerable change took place in the make- 
up of businesses along the street In all, about sixty enterprises either started or changed 
hands which, on average, is one per month for the five year period The major physical 
change was the transformation of the Long Meadows Dairy property into the Courtyard 
Shopping Center-Pyewacket Restaurant complex. This change was unique in mat limited 
Franklin Street frontage was seemingly expanded by the creation of an attractive walkway 
that led off the street to a cluster of shops. 

East Franklin Business District: In 1979, after many years at the same location, 
Rose's complained they were forced to move due to inflated rent Rite Aid Pharmacy took 
over the vacated space. That same year, Foister's Photo Co. moved fourteen doors west 
into the space formerly occupied by the North Carolina Cafeteria. Foister's former store 
was initially occupied by Audio Works but, inl983, the occupant was Barrel Of Fun, a 
gameroom. Arthur Treacher's was initially replaced by Werner King, but soon after 
became the Four-Five-Six Restaurant The Continental Travel Agency, which had rented 
part of their shop to the Tobacco Barn, expanded into the space vacated by the College 
Cafe. Four Corners Restaurant, named in honor of Dean Smith's innovative but boring 
game of keep-away, replaced the Rendezvous Restaurant. Burger King opened in a small 
store on the site of the bumed-out Kemp's Records. Danziger's Old World Gift Shop was 
replaced by the 153 Gift Shop and the Cookie Factory. The Mad Hatter Restaurant was 
replaced by Star Trax Video Games, and First Union National Bank by Avie's Hallmark 
Shop. 

East Franklin Residential Area: Of the thirteen residences east of Raleigh- 
Hillsborough Street, nine changed hands. The Coenen property was purchased by the Tri 
Delta sorority. Philip Bens purchased the old "Sam Philips'' law office, doubled the floor 
space by means of a rear extension, and created a more comfortable residence. 



17/ 



Brooks & Tobin- (car lot) 



Brooks & Tobin Motors - (used cars) 



The Chapel Hffl News 



Creative Printers 



Bear Maghew Realty 
Swozy's Computer Services 



Pyewacket Restaurant 



Crook's Corner - (cafe & bar) 



Pizza Hut 



1983 
West Franklin Street Frontage 

Merrttt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 610 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 600 

601 XX 

XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 516 

XX 
505 XX 

XX 510 

XX 508 

XX 
503 XX ~5bT 

XX 502 

XX 
501 XX 
XX 

XX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 
431 XX 

XX 464 

XX 

XX 



(vacant store) 



Navato Trading Post/ Rams Bar & Game Room 
Magdalena's Mexican Restaurant 

Bedding Show Case / University Auto Supply 

Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 



Chapel Hill Service Center - (auto repair) 



The Courtyard Shopping Center 

Woodworks - (furniture) / Triangle Travel 

Claudia's Shop - (gifts) / Kuts For Kids / Bookends 

La Patisserie - (restaurant) / Foxglove - (clothes) 



Yates Motor Co. (car lot) 



427 



Leo's Restaurant 423 

Silver Odyssey 421 

XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 



Yates Motor Co. 



419 



462 



456 
454 

452 
450 



440 



Johnson-Strowd-Ward 



(furniture showroom) 



Harmony Natural Food Store 
Sunshine Cafe 

The Cavern - (tavern) 
Colonial Drugs 



UNC offices 



Municipal Parking Lot 



The Bread Shop 
Yellow Cab Co. / Carolina Cab Co. 



McDonald's Restaurant 



The Dragon Garden - (restaurant) 

Copeland Radio & TV Service 

The Trail Shop / Hair Unlimited 

Back Then - (clothes) 



411 



409 



407 
405" 



S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



(Parking Lot) 



422 Chapel Hill Cleaners / Henderson's Jewelry 

420 Knight & Campbell Hardware 

418 The Lampe Shop 

4 1 6 Marathon Restaurant 

4 1 4 Flowers By Hackney 

412 Womancraft- (gifts) 

410 Off Broadway 

406 The Beauty Box 

402 James Kennedy Antiques 



Ml 



University Massage 403 

Cockney Pride Tavern / Clarence's Pub 40 1 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Union Bus Station 
S&WTailors 



Oxbow Music / Hiibnark Violins 



311 



303 



Soaps - Gameroom Laundry 301 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



University Square West 



Little Professor Book Center 
TyndalTs Formal Wear 

Shoe Doctor / University Opticians 

Fine Feathers - (women's clothes) 

T'Boli Imports 



University Square 

Swensen's Ice Cream / Painted Bird - (gifts) 
Time-Out Restaurant 

Ken's Quickie Mart / Looking Glass Cafe 
Knit A- Bit / Second Sole / Cameron Craft 



University Square East 

T. L. Kemp Jewelers / Circle Travel 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop 

Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Carolina Cabana Tanning Center 

Monkey Business Ltd. 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Scis sorium - (beauty salon) 



University Baptist Church (side) 



213 



143 



133 



123 



121 



113 



105 



XX 


400 


Noel's Sub Machine - (restaurant) 


XX 


318 


Village Pharmacy 


XX 


312 


Phoenicia Restaurant 


XX 


310 


Flynfs Florist 


XX 




Martin Keith Book Shop 


XX 




Chapel Hill Rare Books 


XX 


308" 


McFarllng's Auto Service - (garage) 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


306 


Fowler's Food Store 


XX 






XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


West Franklin Gulf Service Station 


w 






E 






s 






T 


210 




F 


Woofer & Tweeter Hi-Fi 


R 






A 


208 


Peppi's Pizza Den 


N 






K 


206 


Southern Bell Telephone Co. 


L 






I 




(Parking Lot) 


N 






S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 




Municipal Parking Lot 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


132 


Hunam Chinese Restaurant 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


126 


W. W. McFarling's - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


112 


Pump House / He's Not Here 


XX 


110 


Pizza Hut / Wedge & Racket - (sports equipment) 


XX 


108 


Becker's Electronix 


XX 


106 


The Yogurt Pump / Baum's Jewelry 


XX 


104 


Mr. Gattis Pizza 


XX 


100 


Logo's Book Store 


XX 







XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1983 

11b 



1983 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 





100 


XX 


101 


Spanky's Restaurant 


(vacant lot) 




XX 


103 


The Hub - (clothes) / Chinaberry - (crafts) A 






XX 


105 


Northwestern Bank 




108 
118 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


107 
109 

115 


Huggin's Hardware 


Carolina Theatre 


Rite Aid Pharmacy 


Four-Five-Six Restaurant 


Continental Travel Agency 


Revco Discount Drugs 


120 


XX 


117 


Tobacco Bam 


Card & Gift Shop 


122 


XX 


119 


Wallace Kuralt - Intimate Book Shop 


University Florist & Gift Shop / Thell's Bakery 


124 


XX 


121 


Village Opticians 


Golden Dragon Restaurant 


126 


XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


Star Trax Video Games 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 






XX 


127 


School Kids Records 


Subway Restaurant 


T32~ 


XX 


129 


Andromeda - (clothes) 


First Citizens Bank & Trust 


134 


XX 


131 


Record Bar 






XX 


133 


Foister's Photo Co. 


<XXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROWXXXXXXXX 


XX 


135 


Salon 135 - (beauty salon) / Small World - (travel) 


Carolina Coffee Shop 


138 




137 


North Carolina National Bank Plaza 


Maurice Julian's College Shop 


140 


E 






The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 


142 
144 


A 

s 


143 




Robert Varley - Men's Shop 


Lacocks Shoes & Shoe Repair Shop 






T 


145 
147 


Baskin-Robbins - (ice cream) / A & G Outlet - (clo) 
Avie's Hallmark Shop 






F 


149 


Town & Campus - (clothes) / Harrison's - (res) 


University United Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 


McGinty's Sport Shop 






A 


153 


Cookie Factory / 153 East Gift Shop 






N 


155 


Shrunken Head -(clothes) 






K 


157 


Chapel Hill Stationers / Rathskeller 






L 


159 


Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry 






I 


161 


Barrel Of Fun - (gameroom) 


Methodist Church - (annex) 


162 


N 


163 
165 


Milton's Clothing Cupboard 
Wachovia Bank & Trust Co. 






S 


167 


Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 






T 


169 


Chapel Hill Cleaners 






R 


171 


The Fireside - (women's clothes) 






E 


173 


Ye Olde Waffle Shop 






E 
T 


175 


Four Corners Restaurant / Stereo Sound 


Vance/ Battle/Pettigrew - UNC offices 


178 










XX 


179 


United States Post Office 


« To Old West 




XX 

XX 
XX 


XXX 






<XXXX HENDERSON STREET XXCXXXXXX 






XX 


201 


Hector's - (restaurant) / Village Barber Shop 






XX 


203 


Sadlacks - (restaurant) / Chapel Hill Cycle Shop 






XX 


205 


Burger King 


Silent Sam 




XX 
XX 










XX 
XX 
XX 


211 


University Presbyterian Church 


« To Old East 




XX 
XX 










XX 


213 


Village Apartments 


Graham Memorial - Dept. of Dramatic Arts 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










219 


Kappa Delta - Soronty 



m 



wmmvasm smmm 







XX 








XX 


223 UNC School Of Social Work 


Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 




XX 








XX 








XX 


227 Lambda Chi Alpha (annex) 






XX 








XX 


229 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 






XX 








XX 


XXXXXXXXXX PICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 




Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 




XX 




XX 




Episcopal Church 




XX 








XX 


307 Sigma Sigma Sigma - Sorority 






XX 








XX 
XX 








XX 


Chi Omega - Sorority 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 








XX 


(two houses bridged into one) 






XX 








XX 


313 Chi Omega - Sorority 






XX 




XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXX: . \ X \ \\ > > x X X X • \ X IlLLSBOt GH STR 7 






XX 








XX 


40 1 Residence - Philip Bens 






XX 








XX 




Residence - UNC President William Clyde Friday 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 


407 Tri Delta - Sorority 






XX 
XX 












XX 








XX 




Residence - Ferris W. Womack 


410 


E 
A 

s 

T 




XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




501 Residence - Robert B. House 


Residence - James K. Kyser 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 














K 








L 

I 




Residence - James K. Heekin 


510 


N 








S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


5 1 3 Residence - Walter & Anne Dellinger 






5 1 7 Residence - Dan K. Hamilton 


Residence - Jane VV. Meads 


516 


T 




Residence - Mrs Kath High 


518 


XX 
XX 




Residence - Clare P. Smith 


520 


XX 
XX 
XX 








XX 


523 Chapel Hill - Public Library 


Residence - Reverened Peter J. Lee 


524 


XX 








XX 





XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1983 



1984-1988 



West Franklin: Fifty percent of the one hundred businesses changed hands during the 
five-year period While a ten percent turnover per year might not be unreasonable, when 
viewed over five years it seems quite astonishing. A former resident returning after a 
twenty year absence would recognize only 8 of the 48 businesses on the north side of the 
street There is a slight trend in the business selection toward taverns, fast-food outlets, 
and ethnic restaurants. To accommodate the increased traffic, the central municipal parking 
lot was enlarged. 

East Franklin Business District: About thirty percent of the businesses changed 
hands during the five-year period. In several instances, shops were replaced with similar 
shops such mat the character of the street remained essentially the same. Thell's Bakery 
closed after many years, as did McGinty's Sport Shop, and Robert Varley's Men's Store. 
School Kids Records moved across Franklin and took over Varley's space, and Carolina 
Pride, a clothing store, replaced McGinty's. One notable change was the creation of the 
Franklin Centre at #128. Although smaller in scope, the change is similar in concept to the 
Courtyard on West Franklin, in that an entranceway leads off the street to a cluster of 
shops. 

East Franklin Residential Area: James K. "Kay" Kyser, died in 1985 at the age of 
79. His wife, Georgia Carroll Kyser, remained in the family home. In 1986, C. D. 
Spangler Jr. replaced William Clyde Friday as President of UNC. Friday had held the 
position for thirty years. Other activity was minimal, in that only four residences changed 
hands. 



i% 



1988 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merritt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


610 


Crook's Comer - (cafe & bar) 


BUI Barker (car lots) 




XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 
XX 


600 






Passport Motors - (imported car service) 


Bill Barker Auto Sales (used cars) 


601 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX GRAHAM STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


516 


Pizza Hut Delivery 






XX 






The Chapel Hill News 


505 


XX 
XX 


510 






Italian Pizzeria Three 






XX 


508 


Magdalena's Mexican Restaurant 






XX 


506 


Franklin Street Pub 


The Colonial Press 


503 


XX 


504 


Mugs Away / University Auto Supply 






XX 


502 


Alton B. Pons - Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






House Hunter's Inc. 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 






Pyewacket Restaurant 


431 


XX 










XX 


464 


Chapel Hill Service Center - (auto repair) 


The Courtvard Shopping Center 




XX 






Le Pont - (clothes) / Foxglove - (clothes) 


ss) 


XX 


462 




Capelli - (hair) / The Stock Exchange - (used cloth* 


Johnson-Strowd-Ward 


Chinaberry - (crafts) / White Cotton Jewelry 




w 

E 

s 

T 

F 








(furniture showroom) 


Yates Motor Co. (car lot) 


427 


456 






Tumbleweed Cyclery 




423 


R 
A 


454 
452 


Sunshine Cafe 


Leo's Restaurant 


Yoga Place / The Cavern - (tavern) 


The Studio Supply - (art supplies) 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXXX 


KXX 

419 


K 
L 

I 






Yates Motor Co. 








N 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 


440 


UNC offices 


Municipal Parking Lot 










(Parking Lot) 


The Bread Shop 


411 


T 






Airport & Intown Taxi 




XX 
XX 


422 






Chapel Hill Cleaners / Carolina Opticians 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 


McDonald's Restaurant 


409 


XX 


418 


Lampe Shop 






XX 


416 


Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs 






XX 


414 


Time After Time - (vintage clothing) 






XX 


412 


Womancraft - (gifts) 


The Dragon Garden - (restaurant) 


407 


XX 


410 


Lavinder's Antiques & Interiors 


Copeland Radio & TV Service 


loT 


XX 
XX 


406 




The Trail Shop 


Grimball & Stokes Jewelers 


Back Then - (clothes) 




XX 

177 


402 


Modern Times - (clothing) 



university massage 4UJ 

Roman Wings Tavern 40 1 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Chapel Hill Bus Station 



Checker's Pizza 



311 



303 



Pops Tarheels Textbooks 30 1 

XXXXXXXXXMALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



University Square West 

Peacock Alley (gifts) 
The Floral Showcase - (florist) 

Tyndall's Formal Wear / TBoli Imports 

Shoe Doctor / University Opticians 

Fine Feathers - (women's clothes; 

The Bistro - (restaurant) / Page One - (books) 



University Square 

Swensen's Ice Cream 

Time-Out Restaurant / Looking Glass Cafe 

Painted Bird - (gifts) / Ken's Quickie Mart 

Flash Photo / Athletic World 



University Square East 

Whistlestop - (gifts) 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop 

Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Carolina Cabana Tanning Center 

T. L. Kemp Jewelers / Circle Travel 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Last Tango - (beauty salon) 



University Baptist Church (side) 



213 



143 



133 



123 



121 



113 



105 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COL V 



XX 


4UU 


The Bookshop 


XX 


318 


Hill Country Woodworks - (furniture) 


XX 


316 


Natural Home Furnishings 


XX 


310 


Hams of Chapel Hill - (restaurant) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


308 


(vacant store) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


306 


Fowler's Food Store 


XX 






XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


West Franklin Gulf Service Station 


w 






E 






s 






T 


210 




F 


Stereo Sound Recording Equipment 


R 






A 


208 


Tweed & Tartan - (clothes) / ITG Travel Center 


N 






K 
L 


206 


Cat's Cradle - (disco) 




(Parking Lot) 


N 






S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 






XX 






XX 




Municipal Parking Lot 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 






XX 






XX 


126 


W. W. McFarling's - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


112 


Kinko's Copies / He's Not Here 


XX 


110 


Pizza Hut / Haagen Dazs Ice Cream 


XX 


108 


Show & Tell Video / The Cookie Jar 


XX 


106 


The Yogurt Pump / Baum's Jewelry 


XX 


104 


Bruegger's Bagel Bakery 


XX 


100 


Logo's Book Store 


XX 






MBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1988 



78 



East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA 



(vacant lot) 



Carolina Theatre 



100 



108 



Four-Five-Six Restaurant 

TacoBell 

Whim's Cards 

University Florist & Gift Shop 

Franklin Centre: Scruples - (beauty salon) 

Gold Conn. / Take One Barber / Anjanas - (do) 

Johnny T-Shirt / Golden Dragon Restaurant 

Subway Restaurant 

First Citizens Bank & Trust 



XXXXXXXX OLD FRA TERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 

Maurice Julian's College Shop 

The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 

School Kid's Records 



University United Methodist Church 1 50 



Methodist Church - (annex) 



162 



Vance/Battle; Pettigrew - UNC offices 1 78 

« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Dept. of Dramatic Arts 2 1 2 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

101 Spanky's Restaurant 

103 The Hub - (clothes) 

1 05 First Union National Bank 

107 Huggin's Hardware 

109 Rite Aid Pharmacy 



118 


XX 


115 


Continental Travel Agency 


120 


XX 


117 


Creative M etalsmiths 


122 


XX 


119 


Intimate Book Shop / Light Years Jewelry 


121 


XX 


121 


Geiato D'Oro Ice Cream Shop 




XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 




XX 


127 


Pepper's Pizza 


132 


XX 
XX 


131 




134 


Record Bar 




XX 


133 


Foister's Photo Co. 


Y 


XX 


135 


Salon 135 - (beauty salon) / Small World - (travel) 


138 




137 


Nations Bank Plaza 


140 


E 






142 


A 







s 

T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



143 Lacock's Shoes & Repair / Beach Connection - (cio) 



145 
147 
149 
151 
153 
155 
157 
159 
161 
163 
165 
167 
169 
171 
173 
175 



179 



Baskin-Robbins - (ice cream) 

Avie's Hallmark Shop 

Town & Campus - (clothes; 

Carolina Pride - (clothes) 

Benetton Clothing Store 

Shrunken Head - (clothes) 

The Lodge Shop - (clothes) / Rathskeller 

Sutton's Drug Store / Hopkins Jewelry 

Barrel Of Fun - (gameroom) 

Milton's Clothing Cupboard 

Wachovia Bank & Trust Co. 

Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

Chapel Hill Cleaners 

Blue Heaven - (women's clothes) 

Ye Olde Waffle Shop 

Four Comers Restaurant 



United States Post Office 



A1YXYYYYJY HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 

201 Hector's - (restaurant) / Village Barber Shop 

203 Sadlacks - (restaurant) / Chapel Hill Cycle Shop 
205 Burger King 



211 



213 



/7f 



219 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Sorontv 



Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



UNC School Of Social Work 



227 Lambda Chi Alpha - (annex) 

229 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 

XXXXXXXXXX PICKAKD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 



303 



307 



313 



Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

Sigma Sigma Sigma - Soronty 

Chi Omega - Sorority 

(two houses bridged into one) 

Chi Omega - Sorority 



Residence-UNC President C. D. Spangler Jr. 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
400 XX 

XX 
XX 

XX 407 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Philip L. Bens 



Tri Delta - Sorority 



Residence - Ferris W. Womack 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - James K. Kyser 

Residence - (unknown) 



Residence - Jane W. Meads 
Residence - Arthur R. Sham 



Residence - Walter G. Baum 



Residence - Reverened Peter J. Lee 



410 



504 



510 



516 
518 



520 



524 



E 
A 

S 
T 

F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Robert B. House 



513 



517 



Residence - Walter & Anne Dellinger 



Residence - Eric C. & Patricia Wenger 



523 



Chapel Hill - Public Library 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXNXXXXNXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1988 

180 



1989-1993 



West Franklin: A measure of stability was experienced during this period Taverns 
and restaurants increased in number but, compared to previous five-year periods, the 
activity was subdued. The major change was the closing of Fowler's Food Store and its 
replacement by the 306 Shopping Center. This shopping center is similar to the Courtyard, 
in that it increases the available space for businesses but, in this instance, the method of 
implementation is essentially a sideways strip mall. Seven new shops were inititialry 
accommodated. 

East Franklin Business District: Sad goodbyes were bid to several long-term and 
respected businesses. Town & Campus was replaced by Bar-ee Station, a clothier, 
Lacocks Shoe & Shoe Repair by Rock Art, a clothier, Huggin's Hardware by Miami Subs; 
Foister's Photo Co. by Chapel H21 Sportswear, Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream by The Original 
Ornament, and the Carolina Theatre by The Gap, a large doming store. Three major 
building activities were underway in 1993. The Intimate Bookshop and Hector's 
Restaurant had both been severely damaged by fire and, with only their outer walls 
remaining, restoration had commenced. The third major construction effort was at the SE 
corner of Franklin and Columbia, and was long overdue. The corner had remained an 
unsightly vacant lot for over fifteen years, since the razing of Barclay's Texaco Service 
Station prior to 1978. Apparently, mere had been soil contamination 

East Franklin Residential Area: Robert B. House, a former chancellor of UNC, who 
had moved into the "Widow Puckett" house in 1934, moved out soon after 1988. 



ISI 

mmm 



1993 

West Franklin Street Frontage 
Merrttt Mill Road (at the west end) to Columbia Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 










XX 


610 


Crook's Comer - (cafe & bar) 


Franklin Auto (car lots) 




XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 
XX 


600 






Passport Motors - (imported car service) 


Franklin Auto (used cars) 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) 


601 
(XXX GRA 


XX 
XX 
XX 

HAMSTR 
XX 


EETX> 


(XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 


516 


Pizza Hut Delivery 






XX 






The Chapel Hill Newspaper 


505 


XX 
XX 


510 






Italian Pizzeria Three 






XX 


508 


India Palace Restaurant 






XX 


506 


Margaret's Rock & Roll Cafe 


The Colonial Press 


503 


XX 


504 


North Carolina Sports Bar / Anthony's Grill 






XX 


502 


Chapel Hill Tire Co. 






XX 






CoidweU Banker Realty 


501 


XX 
XX 
XX 






XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXROBERSON STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 






XX 






Pyewacket Restaurant 


431 


XX 










XX 


464 


Chapel Hill Service Center - (auto repair) 


The Courtyard ShoDDine Center 




XX 






e Pont - (clothes) / The Stock Exchange - fused clc 


thes) 


XX 


462 




Periwinkles - (nails) 


Avid Reader - (used bookshop) 


Great Cuts / Aunt Louise Book Shop 




w 

E 

s 

T 
F 












Store - (vacant) 


Yates Motor Co. - (car lot) 


427 


456 






Tumbleweed Cyclery 




423 


R 
A 


454 
452 


Mark's Cafe 


Leo's Restaurant 


Iniquities - (women's clothes) / The Cave - (tavern) 


The Studio Supply - (art supplies) 


421 


N 


450 


Colonial Drugs 


XXXXXXXXXX BASNIGHT LANE XXXXXXX 


xxxx 

419 


K 
L 

I 






Yates Motor Co. 








N 

S 
T 
R 
E 
E 


440 


UNC offices 


Municipal Parking Lot 










(Parking Lot) 


Four Eleven West Italian Cafe 


411 


T 

XX 
XX 


422 






Chapel Hill Cleaners / Carolina Opticians 






XX 


420 


Knight & Campbell Hardware 


McDonald's Restaurant 


409 


XX 


418 


Medttteranian Deli 






XX 


416 


ChaneUo's Pizza 






XX 


414 


Time After Time - (thrift shop) 






XX 


412 


Lampe Shop / Womancraft- (gifts) 


The Dragon Garden - (restaurant) 


407 


XX 


410 


Taxco Silver 


Copeland Radio & TV Service 




XX 


408 


Splash Creations - (clothes) 


Flights Of Fancy 


l05~ 


XX 


406 


Gnmball & Stokes Jewelers 







XX 


402 


Modem Times - (clothing) 



I8h 



University Massage 403 

New Orleans Cookery 40 1 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Traitways Bus Station 



(vacant store) 



311 



303 



Tarheels Textbooks 301 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



213 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

w 

E 

s 

T 



400 
318 
316 
310 



308 
306 



The Bookshop 

Hill Country Woodworks - (furniture) 

Silk Road Imports / Paint It - (ceramics) 

Hams of Chapel Hill - (restaurant) 



The Trail Shop 

306 Shopping Center 

Lll Dino Subs / TGIF Outlet/ Back Streets Cafe 

We Care Hair / Halina Restaurant / Casual Wear 

Nothing Could Be Finer - (bakery) 



(parking) 



214 



Four Seasons Cycles & Fitness 



University Square West 

Peacock Alley - (gifts) 

The Floral Showcase - (florist) 

TyndalTs Formal Wear / TBoli Imports 

Shoe Doctor / University Opticians 

Fine Feathers - (women's clothes) 



143 



210 



208 



206 



Franklin Street Cycles 
Gumby's Pizza 

Cat's Cradle - (disco) 
(Parking Lot) 



University Square 

Swensen's Ice Cream 

Time-Out Restaurant / Looking Glass Cafe 

Painted Bird - (gifts) / Ken's Quickie Mart 

Rash Photo / Athletic World 



University Square East 

Whistlestop - (gifts) 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop 

Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Shoes At The Square 

T. L. Kemp Jewelers / Circle Travel 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Last Tango - (beauty salon) 
Chapel Hill Welcome Center 



University Baptist Church (side) 



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 



Municipal Parking Lot 



S XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 

T 

133 R 

E 
E 

T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 

123 XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 

XX 126 

XX 
121 XX 

XX 

XX 120 

XX 

XX 
113 XX 

XX 112 

XX 110 

XX 108 

105 XX 106 

XX 104 

XX 102 

XX 100 

XX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1993 



W. W. McFarling's - Exxon Service Station 



Walker's Funeral Home 



Kinko's Copies / He's Not Here 

Pizza Hut 

T. J.'s Campus Beverage 

The Yogurt Pump / Baum's Jewelry 

Bruegger's Bagel Bakery 

Ben & Jerry's 

Copytron 



m 



1993 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 





100 


XX 


101 


Spanky's Restaurant 


building under construction 




XX 


103 


The Hub - (clothes) 






XX 


105 


First Union National Bank 




108 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 


107 
109 


Miami Sub 


The Gap 


Rite Aid Pharmacy 




118 


115 




Asia Cafe 


Huddleston Travel Agency 


Taco Bell 


120 


XX 


117 


Creative Metalsmiths 


Whim's Cards 


122 


XX 


119 


building reconstruction 


University Florist & Gift Shop 


124 


XX 


121 


Light Years Jewelry 


Franklin Centre: 




XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


Scruples - (beauty salon) / Gold Connection 


128 


XX 


125 


Jeffs Campus Confectionery 


Johnny T-Shirt / Golden Dragon Restaurant 




XX 


127 


Pepper's Pizza 


Subway Restaurant 


T32~ 
134 


XX 
XX 


131 




First Citizens Bank & Trust 


Moist Records 






XX 


133 


Chapel Hill Sportswear 


XXXXXXX OLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXX:: 


XX 


135 


Salon 1 35 - (beauty salon) / Anjanas - (clothes) 


Carolina Coffee Shop 


138 




137 


Nations Bank Plaza 


Maurice Julian's College Shop 


140 


E 






The Little Shop - (women's clothes) 


142 
144 


A 

s 


143 




School Kid's Records 


Rock Art (clothing) 






T 


145 
147 


The Original Ornament 

Avie's Hallmark Shop 






F 


149 


Barr-ee Station - (do) / Franklin St Bar & Grill 


University Umted Methodist Church 


150 


R 


151 


Carolina Pride - (clothes) 






A 


153 


Yogurt Oasis Cafe / Dunkin Donuts 






N 


155 


Shrunken Head - (clothes) 






K 


157 


The Lodge Shop - (clothes) / RathskelleT 


. 




L 


159 


Sutton's Drug Store 






I 


161 


Barrel Of Fun - (gameroom) 


Methodist Church - (annex) 


162 


N 


163 

165 


Milton's Clothing Cupboard 
Wachovia Bank & Trust Co. 






S 


16^ 


Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 






T 


169 


C. O. Copies 






R 


171 


Small World Travel Agency 






E 


173 


Ye Olde Waffle Shop / Last Call Tavern 






E 
T 


175 


Four Corners Restaurant 


Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - UNC offices 


178 










XX 


179 


United States Post Office 


« To Old West 




XX 
XX 
XX 


XXX> 






(XXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 






XX 


201 


building reconstruction 






XX 


203 


Linda's Bar & Grill 






XX 


205 


Store - (vacant) 


Silent Sam 




XX 
XX 










XX 
XX 
XX 


211 


University Presbytenan Church 


« To Old East 




XX 
XX 










XX 


213 


Village Apartments 


Graham Memorial - Dept. of Dramatic Arts 


212 


XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 










219 


Kappa Delta - Sorority 



m 







AA 










XX 


223 


UNC School Of Social Work 


Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 




XX 
XX 










XX 


227 


Residence (vacant) 






XX 










XX 


229 


Lambda Cm' Alpha - Fraternity 






XX 










XX 


XXXXXXXXXX PICKARD LANE XX 






XX 






Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 


304 


XX 


303 


Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 


XX 




XX 






XX 




XX 






Episcopal Church 




XX 










XX 


307 


Beta Theta Pi - Fraternity 






XX 










XX 










XX 










XX 




Chi Omega - Sorority 


Spencer Dormitory 


312 


XX 
XX 
XX 




(two houses bridged into one) 






XX 


313 


Chi Omega - Sorority 






XX 






XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXX V tt <X " 3 <X O > O TO i V : * "REET < 






XX 










XX 


401 


Residence - (unknown) 






XX 










XX 






Residence-UNC President C. D. Spangler Jr. 


400 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


407 


Tri Delta - Sorority 






XX 
XX 














XX 










XX 






Residence - James N. Hirshfield 


410 


E 
A 

s 

T 






XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 




501 


Residence - (unknown) 


Residence - Mrs. Georgia Carroll Kyser 


504 


F 
R 
A 

N 
K 
L 






Residence - Russ Hollers 


510 


N 










S 

T 
R 
E 
E 


513 


Residence - WalteT & Anne Dellinger 






517 


Residence - Eric C. & Patricia Wenger 


Residence - Jane W. Meads 


516 


T 






Residence - Tanya M. Suarez 


518 


XX 
XX 






Residence - Walter G. Baum 


520 


XX 
XX 
XX 










XX 


523 


Chapel Hill - Public Library 


Residence - Michael & Ilene Price 


524 


XX 










xx IBS' 




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx? 


CCBOUi 


VDAR Y STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 993 



1994-1998 



West Franklin: Jifly Lube and Papa John's Pizza now occupy what had been one of 
the last sizeable semi-vacant areas. The Orange County SkiH Development Center replaced 
Colonial Press, and Yates Motors sold out to University Motors. All seven of the original 
shops that formed the 306 Shopping Center were replaced. Bars, restaurants, pizza 
parlors, fast food outlets, and cofifee/tea/wine shops doubled in number during the period. 
The "McDade" house was dismantled and stored, with the intention of reconstructing it in 
some other location at some vague future time. Its removal, which was controversial, 
permitted the construction of a large addition to the University Baptist Church. The land 
on the NW corner of Franklin Street and Church Street is currently under development 
This property, most recently a parking lot and the original site of the Baptist Church, will 
be home to a three-story structure designated the "Pavilion". The building is scheduled for 
completion in 1999 and in addition to stores and offices will, supposedly, house a 
restaurant owned by Michael Jordan. 

East Franklin Business District: As of 1994, the SE corner of Franklin and 
Columbia boasts a large handsome structure that houses the Top of the Mil Restaurant, a 
new Carolina Theatre, First Union Bank, and Sunglass Hut After First Union Bank 
moved to the new location, its former location at 105 East Franklin was taken over by Bath 
& Body Works. In 1998, Bath & Body Works vacated the building stating that then- 
business was more appropriate for a mall environment. Currently empty, the building will 
be partioned and, after remodeling, will house Smoothie King in the western hal£ and P. 
J.'s Coffee & Tea Company in the eastern half. Several long-term enterprises were lost to 
the street Jeffs Campus Confectionery was replaced by Smoothieville. The store that 
housed The Little Shop, after being vacant for a number of years, is now Julian's Home, a 
home furnishing business owned by Alexander Julian. The Hub, after 37 years, closed in 
1996 and was replaced by Starbuck Coffee Shop. Milton's Clothing Cupboard was 
replaced by Franklin Street Pizza & Pasta. The rebuilding of Hector's Restaurant and the 
Intimate Bookshop was completed and both resumed operation. During 1998, however, 
Wallace Kuralt, for business reasons, was forced to retrench and to divest himself of all of 
his Intimate Bookshops except for one. The one he chose to retain, unfortunately, was not 
the tradition-steeped fixture at 119 East Franklin Street The store, currently vacant, will 
be remodeled and then occupied by Sephora, a French cosmetics and fragrance retailer. 

East Franklin Residential Area: The University replaced the School of Social Work 
with the Center for International Studies. The Chapel Hill Library moved to much larger 
quarters off of Franklin Street making way for The Chapel Hill Town Museum and 
Historical Society. Molly Broad replaced C. D. Spangler Jr. as President of the University. 
Spangler subsequently purchased #513, the former residence of Walter & Araie Dellinger, 
and is currently refurbishing the old structure. The house was built in 1848 by the 
Reverened William Mercer Green who sold it , in 1849, to Charles Phillips. Charles 
Phillips died in 1889 and. in 1891, his widow sold the house to the Presbyterians who used 
it as their manse until 1966. Walter & Anne Dellinger purchased the property prior to 
1973. 



tec> 



1998 

West Franklin Street Frontage 



Merrttt Mill Road (at the west end) to 



Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXMERRITTMILL ROAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

XX 

Jiffy Lube 609 XX 610 Crook's Comer - (cafe & bar) 

XX 

XX 
Pappa Johns Plna 607 XX - — - 

XX 

XX 600 Passport Motors - (imported car service) 

Franklin Auto -(used cars) 601 XX 

XX 
XX 



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

The Chapel Hill News 


XX GRAHAM STREET X> 
XX 

XX 516 
XX 
505 XX 

XX 510 
XX 508 
XX 506 
503 XX 504 
XX 502 
XX 
501 XX 
XX 
XX 
XX ROBERSON STREET. 
XX 
431 XX 

XX 464 

XX 

XX 

462 
W 
E 

S 460 
T 
427 

F 456 
R 454 
423 A 452 
421 N 450 
0(X K 
L 
419 I 

N 440 

S 

T 
R 
E 
E 

411 T 

XX 

XX 422 
XX 420 

409 XX 418 
XX 416 
XX 414 
XX 412 

407 XX 410 
XX 

405 XX 406 


ocxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

Lee's Chinese Take-Out 


Orange County - SUB Development Center 
Realty Center 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

Pyewacket Restaurant 
The Courtyard Shopping Center 


Italian Pizzeria Three 

India Palace Restaurant 

Local 506 Music Bar 

North Carolina Sports Bar / Carolina Grill 

Chapel Hfll Tire Co. 

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

Chapel Hill Service Center - (auto repair) 


Arbor Realty/ Perfect Nail*/ Pipe* by George 

The Stock Exchange - (used clothes) / Great Cuts 


Avid Reader - (used bookshop) 






University Motors - (car lot) 


Carolina Brewery 




Silk Road Tea House 
Fusions - New World Cuisine 


Darbar Indian Restaurant 

The Studio Supply - (art supplies) 
XXXXXXXXXXBASNIGHTLANE XXXXXXXX* 


Uniquities - (women's clothes) / The Cavern - (tavern) 
West End Wine Bar 


University Motors 


UNC offices 


Municipal Parking Lot 








Four Eleven West Italian Cafe 


(Parking Lot) 


McDonald's Restaurant 
Besa Ml Burro - (mezlcan restaurant) 


Chapel Hill Cleaners / Carolina Opticians 

Knight & Campbell Hardware 

Tony Jr's Hot Dogs 

(vacant store) 

Tune After Time - (thrift shop) 

Casual Woman 

Mediterranean Dell 


Building <& Design / Internationalist Books 
Two Way Pull - CD's & Records 


Grimball & Stokes Jewelers 
Modem Times - (clothing) 



Truussa la Trattoria - (Italian restaurant) 401 

XXXXXXXXXX KENAN STREET XXXXXXXXXXX 



Trailways Bus Station 



The Dead Mule Club 



311 



303 



Carolina University Bookstore 30 1 

XXXXXXXXX MALLETTE STREET XXXXXXXXXX 



Hardee's of Chapel Hill 



213 



University Square West 

Fine Feathers - (women's clothes) 
Chapel Hill Florist / 35 Chinese Restaurant 

Tyndall's Formal Wear / TBoli Imports 
Shoe Doctor / University Opticians 



University Square 

Swensen's Ice Cream / Shoes At The Square 
Time-Out Restaurant / Humming Bird Cafe 

Painted Bird - (gifts) / Ken's Quickie Mart 
Flash Photo / Athletic World 



University Square East 

Whistlestop - (gifts) 

Chapel Hill Barber Shop 

Aesthetic Hair Styling Salon 

Peacock Alley - (gifts) 

Circle Travel 



Central Carolina Bank & Trust Co. 



Baptist Church extension 
under construction 

University Baptist Church (side) 



143 



133 



123 



121 



105 





4UU 


lne Bookshop 


XX 


318 


Hill Country Woodworks - (furniture) 


XX 


316 


Paint It Yourself- (ceramics) 


XX 


310 


Hams of Chapel Hill - (restaurant) 


XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 


308 


The Trail Shop 


XX 


306 




XX 


306 ShotJDins Center 


XX 






XX 




Gumby's Pizza /Nail Trix / Hah- Cutters 


XX 




Vespa Restaurant / Ram Book & Supply 


XX 




The Irish Pub / Jimmy John's 


XX 






XX 




(parking) 


XX 






XX 




XX 








214 


Wicked Burrito Restaurant 


w 






E 






s 






T 


210 




F 


Franklin Street Cycles 


R 






A 


208 


Customer Management Services 


N 






K 


206 


Buffalo Wings Restaurant 


L 






I 




(Land under development- planned three 


N 




story building designated the "Pavilion") 


S 


XXXXXXXXXX CHURCH STREET XXXXXXXXXX 


T 






R 






E 






E 






T 






XX 






XX 




Municipal Parking Lot 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 




XX 






XX 






XX 


126 


W. W. McFarling's - Exxon Service Station 


XX 






XX 






XX 






XX 


120 


Walker's Funeral Home 


XX 

vv 






AA 

XX 






XX 


112 


Kinko's Copies / He's Not Here 


XX 


110 


Caribou Coffee 


XX 


108 


T. J's Campus Beverage 


XX 


106 


I Love NY Pizza / The Yogurt Pump 


XX 


104 


Bruegger's Bagel Bakery 


XX 


102 


Ben & Jerry's 


XX I8B 


100 


Copytron 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1993 



1998 

East Franklin Street Frontage 
Columbia Street (at the west end) to Boundary Street (at the east end) 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX COLUMBIA STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 



100 



106 
108 



Top of the Hill - (restaurant) 
Carolina Theatre - First Union Bank 

Sunglass Hut 

The Gap 



Asia Cafe 

TacoBell 

Whim's Cards 

University Florist & Gift Shop 

Franklin Centre: Cerebral Hobbies 

Blue Marble / Euro Day Spa / Comedy Sportz 

Johnny T-Shirt / Golden Dragon Restaurant 

Subway Restaurant 

Art & Science Foundation 



XXXXXXXXOLD FRATERNITY ROW XXXXXXXX 

Carolina Coffee Shop 

Julian's College Shop 

Julian's Home 

School Kid's Records 1 44 



University United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church - (annex) 



150 



162 



178 



Vance/Battle/Pettigrew - UNC offices 
« To Old West 



Silent Sam 



« To Old East 
Graham Memorial - Dept. of Dramatic Arts 2 1 2 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



R 
A 

N 
K 
L 

I 
N 

S 
T 
R 

E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



101 Spanky's Restaurant 

1 03 Star buck Coffee Shop 

1 05 (undergoing remodeling for two new tenants) 

107 Miami Sub 

109 Kerr Drugs 



118 


XX 


115 


Travel Associates 


120 


XX 


117 


Creative Metalsmiths 


122 


XX 


119 


(undergoing remodeling for new tenant) 


124. 


XX 


121 


Light Years Jewelry 




XX 


123 


Varsity Theatre 


128 


XX 


125 


Smoothieville 




XX 


127 


Pepper's Pizza 


132 


XX 
XX 


131 




134 


Blockbuster Music 




XX 


133 


Chapel Hill Sportswear 


X 


XX 


135 


Salon 135 - (beauty salon) / Anjanas - (clothes) 


138 




137 


Nations Bank Plaza 


140 


E 






142 


A 







1 43 Office Supplies & More 

145 Lucky Stars -(gifts) 

147 Avie's Hallmark Shop 

1 49 Barr-ee Station - (domes) / Groundhog Tavern 

1 5 1 Carolina Pride - (clothes) 

153 Oasis Cafe & Deli 

1 55 Shrunken Head - (clothes') 

1 57 First Citizens Bank / Rathskeller 

1 59 Sutton's Drug Store / Bandido's - (restaurant) 

161 Coffee Mill Roastery 

1 63 Franklin Street Pizza & Pasta 

1 65 Wachovia Bank & Trust Co. 

1 67 Wentworth & Sloan Jewelers 

169 C. O. Copies 

1 7 1 Emma - (women's clothes) 

1 73 Ye Olde Waffle Shop / 23 Steps - (tavern) 

175 (vacant store) 



1 79 United States Post Office 



XXXXXXXX HENDERSON STREET XXXXXXXXX 
20 1 Caffe Trio / Hector's Restaurant 

203 Linda's Bar & Grill 

205 Silent Sam's Pizza & Bar & Grill 



m 



211 



213 



219 



University Presbyterian Church 



Village Apartments 



Kappa Delta - Sorority 



Morehead Planetarium - Sun Dial 



Episcopal Chapel of the Cross 

XX 

XX 

Episcopal Church 



Spencer Dormitory 



304 



312 



XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



223 



UNC Center for International Studies 



229 Lambda Chi Alpha - Fraternity 

XXXXXXXXXX PICKARD LANE XXXXXXXXXXX 



303 



307 



313 



Alpha Tau Omega - Fraternity 

Sigma Sigma Sigma - Sorority 

Chi Omega - Sorority 

(two houses bridged into one) 

Chi Omega - Sorority 



Residence - UNC President Molly Broad 



XXXXXXXXXX RALEIGH STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HILLSBOROUGH STREET XXXXXXX 

XX 

XX 401 

XX 
XX 
400 XX 

XX 
XX 

XX 407 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



Residence - Margerie Schwab 



Tri Delta - Sorority 



Residence - UNC facility 

XXXXXXXXXXX (BATTLE LANE) XXXXXXXXXXXX 
Residence - Mrs. Georgia Carroll Kyser 

Residence - Steven & Patricia Sylvester 



Residence - Jane W. Meads 
Residence - Dr. Tanya M. Suarez 



Residence - Walter G. Baum 



Residence - Clay Hamner 



410 



504 



510 



516 
518 



520 



524 



S 
T 
R 
E 
E 
T 

XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 
XX 



501 



Residence - Randall M. Roden 



513 



517 



Residence - (renovation in progress) 
Owner - C. D. Spangler Jr. 



Residence - William H Hitt 



523 



Chapel Hill Town Museum 
& Historical Society 



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX BOUNDARY STREET XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1998 



References 

Battle, Kemp Plummer. History of the University of North Carolina. 2 vols. Raleigh: 
Edwards and Broughton, 1907 and 1912. 

Chamberlain, Hope SummerelL Old Days in Chapel Hill: Being the Life and Letters of 
Cornelia Phillips Spencer. Chapel Wk UNC Press, 1926. 

Chapel PEQ Bicentennial Commission. Chapel Hill: 200 Years "Close to Magic". Sheer 
Associates, Inc.,Chapel HID, 1994. 

Chapel Mil Bicentennial Committee, 1793 - 1993. A Backward Glance - Facts of Life in 
Chapel Hill. Sheer Associates, Inc.,Chapel Hill, 1994. 

CooHdge, Jane Toy. Growing Up with Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Historical Society, 1977. 

Giduz, Roland Downtown, Alumni Review, March 1979. 

House, Robert B. The Light That Shines: Chapel Hill 1912-1916. UNC Press, 1964. 

Love, Cornelia Spencer. When Chapel Hill Was a Village. Chapel Hill Historical Society, 
1976. 

McVaugh, Rogers, Michael R. McVaugh, and Mary Ayers. Chapel Hill andElisha 
Mitchell the Botanist. Botanical Garden Foundation, 1996. (Identified as No. 1 of the 
Occasional Publications of the Chapel Hill Historical Society.) 

Prince, William Meade. The Southern Part of Heaven. New York: Rinehart and Company, 
Inc., 1950. 

Prouty, William B. BillProuty's Chapel Hill. Chapel Hill: Chapel Hill Historical Society, 
1979. 

Vickers, James, Thomas Seism, and Dixon Quails. Chapel Hill: An Illustrated History. 
Chapel mi: Barclay Publishers, 1985. 

Misc. sources: Loose papers concerning businesses and inhabitants of Chapel Hill filed at 
the Chapel Hill Historical Society. Sanborn Company fire insurance maps of Chapel Hill 
for the years, 1911, 1915, 1925, and 1932. Microfilm copies of all early Chapel Hill 
newspapers including the Chapel Hill Weekly, 1923-1948. Chapel Hill City Directories, 
1957 - 1993. Chapel Hill Phone Books, 1936 - 1945. Federal censuses - various. 
Various issues of Town and Gown, a supplement to the Chapel Hill Newspaper. Map of 
Chapel HiD, circa 1875-1885 - made in 1934 from information given by old residents to 
Miss Mary L. Thornton. Map of Chapel Hill business district in 1892 - drawn by Ralph 
Trimble based on sketch made by Phillips Russell as directed by Mrs. Julia Graves. 



!<?/ 



Bridgeport National 
Bindery, Inc. 

JULY 1999