(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Old houses in Princess Anne, Virginia"

MUNICIPAL REFERENCE 

For Reference 

Not to be taken from this room 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2011 with funding from 

LYRASIS members and Sloan Foundation 



http://www.archive.org/details/oldhousesinprincOOkell 




Old Light House — Cape Henry, 1791 



Courtesy Chamber of 
Commeree, Norfolk, la. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 
Virginia 



SADIE SCOTT KELLAM 

AND 

V. HOPE KELLAM 



FULLY ILLUSTRATED 



PRINTCRAFT PRESS, Inc., 

PORTSMOUTH, VA. 

1958 



r^' v< 



Copyright 1931 

Sadie Scott Kellam 

First Printing, June 1931 

Second Printing, July 1958 



Slfl'll!',;:i^^:P.:i^^SL,C LIBRARY 



SYSTEM 




Aiflaas 3Lflifl7 



Grateful acknowledgment is made to Mrs. Floyd G. Price 
whose efforts encouraged the authors in re-printing this 
edition of "Old Houses in Princess Anne, Virginia." 



PREFACE 

This little volume is the outgrowth of a series 
of journeys up and down the roads of old Princess 
Anne. At hrst there was no thought of a book, only 
an album collection of kodak pictures with maybe 
a jotting here and there where emphasis would be 
laid on account of an unusual feature. Interest 
among our friends rather spurred us on toward a 
more pretentious undertaking. 

Should these notes come into the hands of one 
who knows architecture as an art or science, bear 
in mind that the authors are laymen, whose only 
excuse for committing their findings to print, is 
the sincere desire to preserve for coming generations 
a record of what is left today of the homes builded 
in Princess Anne prior to 1800. Pray, therefore, be 
"To our virtues very kind, To our faults, a little 
blind." 



INTRODUCTION 

Much has been written of Virginia and prac- 
tically all phases of its history have been touched 
upon ; however, little has been told of its separate 
units. Few places in the State are richer in his- 
torical material than Lynnhaven Parish — coter- 
minous with Princess Anne County. It is the 
purpose of this book to tell the story, as shown by 
the records, of extant colonial houses in this county, 
which, with the brief sketches of some of the original 
owners, will be no small contribution to the history 
of this section. 

We, of this part of Virginia, go far in the State 
to view and study the habitations of those whose 
names are written high, little realizing that there 
is as much of equal interest close at hand in the 
remaining homes of the very earliest settlers in 
Lynnhaven Parish. The st)'le of architecture may 
not be as elaborate as Brandon, Shirley, Westover 
and many others, yet these Princess Anne houses 
are sturdy, honest buildings, so substantially con- 
structed that at least forty or lift}' erected prior to 
1800 have withstood the gnawing tooth of time as 
is herein demonstrated by the illustrations of their 
exteriors. It has remained for the authors of this 
book to bring before the public these very early 
homes and some of the story of those prominent 
at that time in this immediate section of Virginia. 
The compilation required patience, industry and 
detailed examination of the style of bricks, methods 



VIII Introduction 



of bonding and details of construction of each 
house; the examination of the records and other 
sources of information demanded much time. Some 
facts herein stated from the records may be disap- 
pointing to a few, in that certain traditions may 
be shattered, yet when statements are from the 
record they are a verity. 

Here in Princess Anne is so much of interest 
it is difficult to know where to begin or where to 
end. There is the story of Parson Dickson, the 
thrifty Scotchman, for many years rector of Lynn- 
haven Parish, whose educational donation in 1774 
gave to Donation Church its name; or that of 
Lawyers Boush (who in 1706 prosecuted Grace 
Sherwood for witchcraft), and Robinson (he of the 
peculiar will) ; then there are the doctors with their 
queer prescriptions, and the many other inter- 
esting subjects, but such is not the purpose of this 
book. Let us hope that at an early day the authors 
will tell more of the story of this old and honorable 
county. 



Benjamin Dey White. 



old Houses in Princess Anne 
Virginia 



Chapter I 




lY FAR the most thrilling phase of this 
adventure into the building projects of 
bygone days is the great care given by 
the Builder, be he rich or poor, be the 
building "Great House," Manor, or humble two- 
room cottage, to the selection of the site of the 
house. Invariably the house is located on the 
highest ground, the yard sloping in all directions. 
Almost without exception, there was bay, river, 
creek, or branch close to what was the front of 
the house. We say "what was" advisedly, because 
with the building of roads, water as the means of 
transportation has ceased to be, and many times 
now we find the back door of other days bravely 
facing the county road in true style of Virginia 
hospitality. Last, but by no means least, we find 
that our Builder seemed carefully to select the 
trees for the yard. And magnificent specimens 
they were! Tulip, poplar, cedar, water oak, elm, 
"paper" mulberry, sycamore — even in these days 
still standing guard after the storms of two cen- 
turies. These facts are evidences, we take it, that 
more than a house was being built. A home was 



10 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




it J? 

Li\e Oak at Woodlawn 



being made, a place of peace and safety, rest and 
quiet, after the cares of the day. A place to which 
one invited his friends and neighbors (there were 
such things then), where the stranger always found 
someone at home with a welcome for the wayfarer. 
Now, after all these years, they stand as testimony 
of work well done. 

When we take note of the consideration given 
to the choice of a home-site, and also take note of 
how substantially our forefathers built their homes 
as we see them today, it is hard to believe that in 
the beginning at Jamestown, cottages and log cabins 
were so inadequately constructed, and so long time 
continued to serve as dwellings in spite of complete 
dilapidation, that Governor Wyatt, in 1637, thir- 
teen years after the dissolution of the old Virginia 
Company, was instructed to require every owner 
of one hundred acres of land to build a brick 
dwelling 24x16 feet with a cellar. Owners of five 
hundred acres, or more, must build proportionately. 
Maybe at that time each man expected to find a 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



11 



'^^'- 




Part of a boxwood avenue and well sweep at home of James White 
near Sandbridge 

fortune at once and return to Old England for 
the enjoyment thereof. Governor Wyatt, however, 
seems never to have put this order into effect. 

The early colonists were familiar with stone, 
brick and wood as material for housebuilding. 
There being no stones available in Tidewater, the 
earliest dwellings were of wood ; the log cabin 
first, followed shortly by frame, when a method 
of wood-sawing, easier than the "John Smith 
Method", had been devised. Splendid forests of 
pine, oak, gum, cypress and cedar were theirs for 
the taking. Also one found then, as now, much 
fine clay for brick making. The oyster shells, so 
easily available, furnished lime for the mortar in 
brick construction. 

These earliest Virginia houses were undoubtedly 
one story, sharp roof, with chimney at each end. 
The first chimneys were probably daubed of stick 
and clay. Soon these Englishmen, who were fast 
becoming Virginians, began the making of bricks, 



12 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

and from this point of time one finds the con- 
struction of the brick chimney an outstanding 
and fascinating feature of \irginia architecture. 

Soon after Dale came in 1611, announcing that 
brickmaking was to be an important item in 
Virginia's economic scheme, brick kilns were 
developed at Henricus. Bricks were successfully 
made there, and elsewhere, in quantities far beyond 
the immediate needs of the colonists. Not that 
more houses could not well be made of brick, but 
transportation beyond the waterfront property was 
prohibited by lack of roads. 

Ralph Hamor, early secretary to the colony, in 
his history of Virginia written in 1614, tells of the 
laying of the brick foundation of a church at 
Henricus, the foundation to be 100x50 feet. That 
there were large quantities of brick made is evi- 
denced by the fact that in one report of the Indian 
massacre of 1622, we note that the Indians were 
repulsed by the throwing of brickbats. Also we 
know that bricks were an article of export to 
Bermuda at a very early date. 

There has long been a tradition, and invariably 
you hear it at each old house, "Yes, this is an old 
house; just look at the bricks, they were brought 
here from England." It does not seem kind ruth- 
lessly to disallusion a man who has always held 
this legend as law and gospel, a choice bit with 
which to take away the breath of an outsider. 
If one would be diplomatic the situation may be 
handled without doing hurt to any feelings. Agree 
that the bricks are old, and that they are "English." 
Follow this with the information that Englishmen 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 13 

came here to this country for the express purpose 
of making bricks and building houses, for we know 
that in 1609 there were four brickmakers in Vir- 
ginia. None are Hsted with the second and third 
supply, so Mr. Phillip Alexander Bruce says in 
his Economic History of f^irginia. From this same 
source comes the information that brickmakers 
were advertised for in 1610. We actually know 
the name of one who lived in Lower Norfolk 
County : it was John Robert. We had plenty of good 
clay, the brickmakers used the same measurements 
and method of brickmaking as they did at home 
in England, so of course the bricks are "English." 
This explanation has always proved an acceptable 
substitute. Most likely then your host will tell 
you of plowing up in a field an old pile of bricks. 

As a matter of fact, the theory that these 
bricks came here as ballast seems most unlikely. 
In the first place the holds of the small sailing 
vessels were needed far more for the accommodation 
of articles of actual necessity than for bricks, which 
could be, and were being, made here. In the second 
place, the price of bricks quoted in England be- 
tween 1650 and 1700 was 18s. 8^d. per thousand 
while in Virginia the price at that time was from 
8 to 15 shillings per thousand. In the third place, 
undoubtedly, when we consider the careful stowing 
the little holds would have required in order to 
bring over any considerable quantity of brick 
(our type of construction was so lavish in the use 
of brick), and the length of time the crossing of 
the Atlantic took, one is forced to the conclusion 
that the term "English" had reference to the type 



14 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

of brick, measurement, baking, etc., in contra- 
distinction to the "Dutch" brick used in New 
York State and thereabouts. 

Nails, blacksmith made, did come from Eng- 
land, were scarce and expensive. One actually 
linds them listed in old inventories of estates ; 
that they came from F,ngland is based on the 
finding of nails — so many pounds — in old bills of 
merchandise. So valuable were nails in comparison 
with the timber in a house, we find a man burning 
the house he is abandoning, in order to salvage 
the nails for his new home. This was so prevalent 
that in 1644-45 it became necessary for the gov- 
ernment to make an allowance to a man who was 
moving, for the nails left in his old house. This 
allowance was based on an estimate made by two 
of his neighbors. 

Such, briefl}', were the building conditions in 
Virginia in the early days. 

Probably the first brick house built in Virginia 
was that of Secretary Kemp, built at Jamestown in 
1638, to be followed in about two years by the house 
at Green Spring, two miles away. This was the 
Governor Berkley Mansion. Mrs. Mary Newton 
Strndard, in her book, Colonial Virginia, Its People 
and Customs, published in 1917, says that the 
Warren house in Surry County, Virginia, built in 
1654, on the farm given by the Indian king to 
Thomas Rolfe, son of John Rolfe and our Indian 
Princess, Pocahontas, is the oldest house now 
standing in \'irginia whose date can be positively 
identified. This date is fixed, we have found, by 
court record at Surry, of a lawsuit, defended by 



Old Houses in Princess Anne IS 

the man employed to build the house. Air. \\ arren 
complained of the poor workmanship, and the 
rejoinder was to the effect that a brick house of 
that size could not be so well built when the short 
time of five years was allowed for the building. 

It may be interesting to note the following men 
(among others) had houses according to records 
before 1686 in Lower Norfolk County: 

Record Book (1651-56), page 5-4 — John Sibsey. 

Record Book (1651-56), page 168— Cornelius Lloyd. 

Record- Book (1656-66), page 346 — Francis Emperor. 

Record Book (1666-75), page 125— Thomas Willoughby. 

Record Book (1675-86), page 223 — Adam Thorowgood. 

Record Book (1676-86), page 163 — Adam Keeling. 

Of the above list, Emporer, Thorowgood and 
Keeling were in the part of the county lying now 
within the boundary of Princess Anne. 

Since Mr. Willoughby also owned land in 
Princess Anne, and since his Manor Plantation 
was located on "Willoughby Spit," or "Point," 
the acres stretching along the bay toward Little 
Creek, the boundary line of Princess Anne and 
Norfolk Counties, then the boundary of Lynn- 
haven Parish, we pause to say a word of him. 
Thomas Willoughby w^as born in 1601, and early 
came to Virginia. It is not known whom he mar- 
ried. His son, Colonel Thomas, married Sarah 
Thompson, and their children were Thomas (3), 
who married Mary Herbert (daughter of the first 
John Herbert), and a daughter, Elizabeth. One 
record says Major Thomas, son of Thomas (3) 
and Mary Herbert died in 1753, leaving a son. 
Colonel John, who was a Tory. Another record 
says Major Thomas (4) was the Tory. It is agreed 



16 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

that the estate suffered greatly for this reason 
during the Revolution. For a time James Wil- 
loughby lived on the northeast corner of Freemason 
Street, Norfolk, but returned to England, and 
recovered his peerage. He is one of two men in 
the Virginia colony who did this, we are told. 
The other person was Lord Fairfax. 

We have just referred to the boundary of 
Lynnhaven Parish, and to the boundary between 
Norfolk and Princess Anne Counties. Let us see 
how the lines were determined. 




Chapter II 

RIOR to the formation of the eight shires 
in Virginia in 1634, the colonists were 
grouped and record made according to 
plantations, hundred, congregation, par- 
ish. The ruling body of the parish was the vestry. 
Just what extensive power these vestrymen had 
may be judged from a reference to Henry Cabot 
Lodge's, "A Short History of the English Colonists 
in America," p. 58-9. In brief he says of the parishes 
of the Established Church ". . . these were gov- 
erned by the vestries, which were very important 
and active bodies. They represented all the local 
and municipal government there was in Virginia, 
and had attained, moreover, a commanding position 
in church affairs. At an early date secular functions 
were assigned to them by the Burgesses. They were 
to make returns of births, marriages and deaths, 
present for crimes under the statutes against vice, 
command the sheriff to hold the election for Bur- 
gesses, and assist the county courts in building the 
work houses. To the vestr>' belonged the duty of 
'processioning the land' once in four years, and upon 
them devolved the care of the roads and ferries." 
From Hening's Statutes at Large, volume I, page 
224, we learn the names of the eight original shires. 
From other sources we are able to supplement this 
information with further items telling who were 
honored in the selection of names, &c. Our com- 
pilation is : 



18 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Accawmake, comprising the eastern shore of 
Virginia, the Indian name Accawmake continuing 
until 1642 when it was changed to Northampton; 
Warrasquake, the Indian name giving way to Isle 
of Wight in 1637; Charles City, named in honor of 
King Charles the First of England ; Henrico, in 
honor of Prince Henry ; Elizabeth City, for Queen 
Elizabeth ; Warwick River, later the "River" was 
dropped; York, honoring the Duke of York; James 
City, again a king is honored, James the First of 
England 

About 1636 the county of New Norfolk (a good 
old English name, by the way, if you properly swal- 
low the last syllable in the pronunciation thereof) 
was created from the shire of Elizabeth City. This 
New Norfolk was to comprise the territory across 
the now Hampton Roads, south of the James River. 
The next year, 1637, New Norfolk was divided into 
Upper and Lower Norfolk Counties, Upper Nor- 
folk soon becoming Nansimun, later spelled Nan- 
semond. The designation Lower Norfolk County 
remained until 1691, when Princess Anne was 
carved out of lower Norfolk, conforming gener- 
ally to the boundaries of Lynnhaven and Southern 
Shores Parishes. 

That the citizenry of Princess Anne was pleased 
when the person for whom the county was named 
became the ruling head of old England is seen by 
reference to an article appearing in The Richmond 
Standard for Saturday, December 10, 1881, by T. 
H. Ellis, from which the following is taken: 

"The humble Address of the House of Bur- 
gesses in Virginia, to Her Most Excellent Majesty 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 19 

Queen Anne, congratulating her on her happy 
accession to the throne of her ancestors, by un- 
doubted right . . ." is signed by Adam Thorowgood 
as justice of the peace, along with other signatures. 
Now this Adam wa§ the grandson of Adam Thorow- 
good, one of Princess Anne County's first citizens. 

The Princess Anne of the House of Stuart in 
England was one of two sisters, each in turn ascend- 
ing the throne of England. These sisters were daugh- 
ters of the king's brother, James, Duke of York, 
and Anne Hyde. Anne Hyde was the youngest 
daughter of the Edward Hyde, Earl of Clarendon, 
one time Prime Minister of England, who in 1667 
was impeached by the Commons, afterward living 
in exile in France, where he wrote his famous 
"History of the Rebellion." 

On record at Princess Anne Court House is a 

copy of the proclamation of the accession of the 

Queen: 

Queen Anne Proclamed 

Whereas It hath pleased Almighty God to Call to his 
mercy our Late Sovereigne Lord King William Ye Third of 
Blessed Mercy by whose decease ye Imperiall Crowne of 
England, Scotland, France and Ireland, as also ye Supreme 
Dominion & Sovereigne right of this CoUony & Dominion 
of Virga. & all other his late Maj. territories & dominions 
in America are solely & rightfully come to ye high mighty 
Princess Ann of Denmark we therefore ye officers military 
& civil & inhabitants of Princess Ann County in ye Collony 
and Dominion of Virga. do now hereby with one full voice & 
consent of tongue and heart publish and proclaime that the 
high and mighty Princess Anne is now by ye death of our 
late Sovereigne of happy mercy become our only lawfull 
and rightfull Leidge Lady Anne by the Grace of God Queen 
of England, Scotland France & Ireland Defender of the 



20 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Faith Supreme Lady of the Collony Dominion and planta- 
tion of Virginia and all other his late Majesties Territories 
and Dominions in America &c ; To whome ye doe acknowl- 
edg:e all faith and constant obedience with all hearty and 
Humble affection beseeching God by whom King and 
Queen Do reigne to bless the royall Queen Anne with long 
and happy years to reigne over : 
God Save Queen Anne. 

Since we are to tell of houses in Princess Anne, 
it may be wise to refresh one's memory as to the 
boundaries of the county. This may best be done 
by reference to Hening's Statutes at Large, volume 
3, page 95 — Act XX, "Lower Norfolk County 
Divided:" 

That the said county of Lower Norfolk shall be divided 
and made two counties in the following manner, that is to 
say, beginning at the new inlet of Little Creek, and so up 
the said Creek to the dams between Jacob Johnson and 
Richard Drout, and so out of the said dams up a branch 
the head of which branch lyeth between the dwelling house 
of William Moscley Sr., and the new dwelling house of 
Edward Webb, and so to run from the head of the said branch 
on a direct line to the dams at the head of the Eastern 
Branch of the Elizabeth River, the which dams lie between 
James Kemp and Thomas Ivy and so down the said branch 
to the mouth of a small branch or gutt that divides the land 
which jVIr. John Porter now lives on, from the land he for- 
merly lived on and so up the said second branch according 
to the bounds of the said plantation, where the said Porter 
now liveth, and from thence to the great swamp that lyeth 
on the East side of John Showlands, and so along the said 
great swamp to the North River of Corotucke, and down the 
said North River to the mouth of Simpson's Creek, and so 
up the said creek to the head thereof, and thence by a south 
line to the bounds of Carolina, and that this division shall 
be, and remaine, &c. That a court for the said Princess Anne 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 21 

County be constantly held by the justices thereof upon the 
second Wednesday of the moneth in such manner as by the 
law of this country is provided, and shall be by their com- 
missioners directed. 



The William Byrd Commission of 1728 ad- 
justed the line between Virginia and North Caro- 
lina, This, of course, is the southern boundary of 
the county. This same line is still recognized be- 
tween these states. 

The first justices of Princess Anne commis- 
sioned in 1691, and sitting in that year as the 
constituted court of the new county were: Mr. 
Malachy Thurston, Mr. Wm. Cornick, Mr. Benony 
Burroughs, Mr. John Sandford, Mr. Argall Thorow- 
good, Mr. John Thorowgood, Mr. Francis Morse, 
Mr. Evan Jones and Mr. Henry W oodhouse. 

The first clerk of the court for the new county 
was Patrick Angus. He served for nine years, 1691- 
1700, being succeeded by Christopher Cocke. Mr. 
Cocke was clerk from 1700 to 1716. 

In the following pages we shall tell briefly of the 
present condition, ownership, and where possible 
the approximate date of construction, and probable 
builder. So much of tradition has come down to us 
about the age and ownership of many of the houses 
it is a difficult problem to separate fact from fic- 
tion. However we shall in ever>^ instance make an 
honest efi"ort to give as facts only such dates as we 
may substantiate from original source. On the 
other hand, there is no desire to upset any priorities 
already claimed by historians and writers of "\ ir- 
giniana." 



22 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

The tracing of ownership of the plantation from 
the time of the builder of the house to the present 
time has led to the finding of many interesting 
family connections that, for a while, have not been 
thought of as Princess Anne history. But after all, 
what is history other than a recital of the acts, the 
achievements and failures of man, attempting to 
trace a relationship of cause and effect along the 
way ? 

As we turn to our first group of buildings, we 
hope that those of this generation who are follow- 
ing us will have as keen a satisfaction in this study 
as has been ours in the assembling of data. 




Chapter III 

O ENUMERATION of historic buildings 
in Princess Anne is complete without 
telling of the old light house at Cape 
Henry. There can be no question that 
more people, of more nationalities, of more classes 
and conditions, have looked for and upon Cape 
Henry light than any other landmark in Tidewater 
Virginia. The old light house was the first project 
of the new Republic on the Atlantic coast. 

In 1791 brown sandstone was made into a tower 
on a sand hill not far removed from the shore. There 
for ninety years it did valiant service for the men 
who "went down to the sea in ships." John Mc- 
Comb, Jr., was the architect. He will be remembered 
as the designer of the old New York City Hall. 

On the old light house is a bronze tablet, sur- 
mounted by a cross. The inscription thereon tells 
us : 

NEAR THIS SPOT 

LANDED APRIL 26, 1607 

Capt. Gabriel Archer Christopher Newport 

Hon. George Percy Bartholomew Gosnold 

Edward Maria Wingfield 

with twenty-five others 

who 

CALLED THE PLACE 

CAPE HENRY 

PLANTED CROSS 

APRIL 29, 1607 

"Dei Gratia Virginia Condita" 

This Tablet 

is erected by the 

Association 

for 

Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 

April 29, 1899 



24 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Much of the early history of Virginia is woven 
in and around the church and her vestrymen, there- 
fore, we feel impelled to say a word about the old 
church buildings in the county. 

When Lower Norfolk became a county in 1637, 
Elizabeth River was the parish name; the rector, 
John Wilson. There is a record as early as 1639, 
October 18, wherein a wrongdoer was directed by 
the court on Sunday "come sennight at the pish 
church at Linhaven" to acknowledge publicly his 
misdeed before the congregation. 

In 1640 at a court sitting at Mr. William Shipp's, 
the first vestry of "Linhaven pish" was elected. 
Mr. Thomas Todd and John Stratton became war- 
dens. The vestrymen were: Mr. Edward Windham, 
Mr. Henry Woodhowse, Mr. Bartholomew Hoss- 
kine, Mr. Thomas Todd, Mr. Christofer Burrowes, 
Mr. Tho. Bullock, Mr. Tho. Caussonne, Mr. Tho. 
Keelinge, Mr. Robt. Hayes, Mr. John Lanckfield. 

From the following quotation the recognition of 
Lynnhaven Parish as such, with the designation of 
bounds and authority is authenticated. 
(Hening's Statutes at Large, volume 1, page 250, March 
1642/3, 18 Charles I). 

Act XVI. Be it further acted and confirmed upon the 
petition of the inhabitants of Linhaven parish, by the Gov- 
ernor, Council and Burgesses of the Grand Assembly that 
the parish of Linhaven be bounded as followeth (vizt) To 
beginn at the first creek shooting out of Chesopiack bay 
called the Little Creek including all the branches of the said 
creek and thence extending to the head of Linhaven river, 
and thence down to the head of the eastern branch of the 
Elizabeth River to a creek on the northward side of the said 
branch called Broad Creek provided it be not prejudicial to 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 25 

the parishes of Eliz. River and Southern shoare by taking 
away any parte of the said parishes. And it is further enacted 
and confirmed by the authority aforesaid that the inhabitants 
of Lynhaven parish shall not be compelled by any officer to 
be exercised in martiall discipline beyond the lymitts of the 
said parish. And that the said parishioners shall have the 
free liberty and privilege of electing and choosing Burgesses 
for the said parish. 

The bounds of Southern Shores we have been 
unable to hnd recorded. However, in a map of 
Princess Anne, lately made by Mr. C. Whittle 
Sams, he draws a line east and west about midway 
the county; from this line south to the North 
Carolina line he designates Southern Shores Parish. 
In that territory were located two reading places, 
one at Blackwater, the other at Knott's Island. 
This last bit of history may be found in the record 
of the church as published in the Southern Church- 
man during 1907. 

Bishop Meade says the first church in Lynn- 
haven Parish was "about half a mile from Little 
Creek, which ran east and west in a narrow channel 
separated from Chesapeake or Lynnhaven Bay by 
a sand beach a quarter mile wide." Then the good 
Bishop goes on to tell the story of the digging of the 
ditch across the narrow strip of sand at the point 
of the present entrance to the Lynnhaven River; 
of how the tide rushed in, changing the river and 
overflowing the banks. This is a tradition that the 
whole of the countyfolk agree is true. Certain it 
is that there was a brick church on the western 
shore of the western branch of the Lynnhaven, that 
across the river was the Glebe Land, and that there 



26 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



were tombstones years ago in the bottom of the 
river at a point called "Church Point." The Bishop 
says that in 1819 Commodore Decatur, with a 
friend, deciphered some of the inscriptions on the 
tombs, the water being not very deep. Be it re- 
membered, however, that this was Lynnhaven 
Church, or Old Brick Church, not Donation as is 
recited in a review of "Old Virginia Parish Churches, 
Built Before the Revolution and Still Remaining" 
(Francis Marion Wigmore, Gunston, Virginia, 
author) by Bess Furman (Associated Press staff). 
In the Sunday edition of Virginia-Pilot and the 
Norfolk Landmark of May 26, 1929, page 8, part 5, 
in the fourth paragraph is told the incident of the 
submerged churchyard, the concluding sentence of 
which is, "This happened to the churchyard of 
Old Donation Church, Princess Anne County." 

The site of the Old Brick Church is on a farm 
years known as Church Point Farm. It belonged to 
the John Thorowgood branch of the Thorowgood 




old Dunatiuii Church 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 27 

family and was a part of Adam Thorowgood's 
"Grand Patent." 

In Deed Book I, page 68, at Princess Anne is 
recorded a deed for two acres of land on which the 
new brick church stands. This was 1694. The deed 
is made by Eban Ezar Taylor to the Parish Vestry. 
The next year Mr. Taylor makes a deed to Richard 
Corbette for the remaining acres of the tract, ex- 
cluding carefully the two acres he previously sold 
to the vestry "whereon the new brick church now 
standeth." In each deed Mr. Taylor recites the 
history of the ownership of the whole tract. Be- 
ginning with John Lanklield, the land escheated, 
was regranted, and so on he details the title. Many 
people have felt that this gives the date of the first 
Donation Church. No description of the property 
was given in the Taylor deed, so it was hard to 
prove that Donation was the church to which ref- 
erence w^as made. It seemed such a valuable clue 
that it was worth digging in the oldest record for 
any verification of Mr. Taylor's statements, and 
w4th the hope always that some description might 
be found. We were rewarded, for not onl}' did we 
find that the tract was near Mrs. Mary Moseley, 
but it was by Robert Hodge, "at Samuel Bennett's 
Creek, in Linhaven at ye head of ye Cattayle 
Branch." This description locates the whole hun- 
dred-acre tract, on two acres of which we know the 
church w'as built. We also found a plat, signed by 
Jno. Wallop, the surveyor. The date of the plat was 
1672. To us these records fixed beyond a doubt 
that by 1694 there was a brick church at Ferry, 
Donation it was later called. 



28 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

The parish record of November 20, 1723, notes 
the Brick Church, the upper and lower chapel. In 
1724 there was a new wooden chapel on Eastern 
Shore. July 7, 1725, Capt. Robert Vaughan was 
authorized to have repairs made to the chapel at 
Machipungo (Pungo, as it is now better known). 
In 1736 the vestry agreed that since the Old Brick 
Church was very dilapidated and not lit for services 
it could be used for a school. 

In 1733 Peter Malbone was authorized to 
build and furnish the "new church" near "Ferry." 
In 1736 the "new church" (Donation) was received 
from the builders. This was at least the second 
building at this place. The Donation Church has 
been beautifully restored during the last few years, 
and now serves, as of old, in that community. 

There is nothing left of the chapel at Pungo 
except a memory in the mind of some old-timer as 
to where the ruins were, and maybe a few bricks 
in a field. In 1779 Anthony Fentress was paid 20^ 
for the care of the chapel. 



l-.nstern Shore Chapel — Built 1754 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 29 

According to a brick over the front entrance to 
Eastern Shore Chapel, the present brick building 
was erected in 1754. The following is a copy from 
the parish register of that time, telling of the 
building: 

Lynhaven 
Parish 

At a Vestry held on the 1st of October 1753 
Revd. Mr. Robert Dickson Minister 

Capt. James Kempe, Capt. William Keeling, Ch. War- 
dens 

Present Col. Antho Walke, Capt. Antho. Moseley, Maj. 
Thos. Walke, Capt. Jno. Whitehurst, Mr. Francis Land, 
Mr. William Woodhouse 

Resolved by the majority of three voices of this Vestry 
that at or near adjoining the place where the prpsent Eastern 
Shore Chappie now^ stands is a fit and convenient place to 
erect a new chappie & that the same be erected 

Resolved tl^at the new Chappie at the Eas|tern Shore be 
built Fifty five feet long. Twenty five feet wide in the clear, 
with a convenient large gallery not to be less than eighteen 
feet in width, at the West end, the Walls of the said Chappie 
to be eighteen feet in height, with three windows on each 
side, two at the East end and one in the gallery; the win- 
dows to be of the same dimensions with the church Win- 
dows. The Communion to be raild and ballasted neatly, 
the Walls of the said Church to be two brick and a half 
thick from the foundation to the Water Table and two 
brick thick upward ; the windows to be of good crown glass 
8x10 In. 6 lights by three beside the Arch; the middle isle 
to be five feet wide with a decent desk and pulpit ; the whole 
Church to be compleatly painted where tis requisite of a sky 
colour ; the covering of the said Chappel to be of good heart 
Cypress Shingles and all the rest of the work to be finished 
in a work man like manner after the model of the Church. 
At this Vestry the aforesaid Chappel being put up to the 



30 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

lowest bidder Mr. Joseph Mitchel of Norfolk having the 
last vote voted to undertake and compleat the aforesd. Chap- 
pel in a workmanlike manner by Xstmas, next come twelve 
months for Three hundred and twenty four pounds Ten 
Shillings and he is according to enter into bond for the good 
performance of the same 

At a Vestry held this Twelfth day of March 1754 
Prestt. Revd. Robt. Dickson Minister 

Capt. James Kempe Capt William Keeling Ch Wardens 
Col. Anthony Walke Col. Nath Newton Majr. Thos. Walke 
Capt. George Wishart Mr. Jno Bonney Mr. William Wood- 
house Senr. & Mr. Francis Thorowgood Land Vestrymen 

This day received from Mr. Joseph Mitchel the New 
Eastern Shore Chapel and do discharge him from his obliga- 
tion of building and finishing the same, the above Vestry 
being satisfied with his performance thereof 

Antho Walke 

During the passing years when repairs were 
made to this Eastern Shore Chapel, its architec- 
tural design was not always considered. We under- 
stand that just now there is a movement on foot 
toward a restoration. 

Much of the record of the court and of the vestry, 
from their inception in the county, deals with the 
effort to force the colonists to conform, certainly 
so far as outward observance, to the practices of 
the established Church of England, which was the 
Episcopal form of worship and church government. 
The Quakers seemed to be the sect most persistent 
in its determination to follow its own bent, meet- 
ing when and where it chose, flouting the consti- 
tuted authority in Lower Norfolk County by meet- 
ing at the home of Richard Russell. Governor 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 31 

Berkeley spurred the authorities on in their efforts 
to suppress the Quakers. 

The Govern'", his Lve to y^ gent of ye County of Lower 
Norffe 

Gentlemen 1 thanlce you for yo"" care of y*^ County & desire 
you to continue it, & Especially to pvide y* y^ abominated 
seede of y^ Quakers spread not in yo*" County which to 
p''vent I think fitt to add these fower to the Commission 
viz* M'" Addam Thurrowgood M'' W"^ Carver, M^" W"» 
Daynes & M'' Thomas ffulsher M"" Hall I heare is anncient. 
Once more I beseech you gent : to have an Exact care of this 
Pestilent sect of y*^ Quakers. 

Yo'" most affectionate frend 

William Berkley 
Dated 27th of June 
1663. 

The following is a list of persons whose names 
were presented to the court in session in November, 
1663. The "undershrieve," Thomas Lovell, pre- 
sented the names with the statement that they, as 
Quakers, were in meeting, contrary to Act at the 
home of Richard Russell on the "twelfth day of 
November." 

Viz* John Porter Jun'' who was speakinge 

Richard Russell John Porter Sen"" 

Michaell Mason Eliz ye wife of Ben: fforby 

Tho : hollaway & his Avife the wife of James Johnston 

Richard Yates Mrs. Porter 

Mrs. Mary Emperor With divrse. others to ye 

Anne Godby number of 22 psons or more 

Robte Springe ye rest of whose names he 

did not Knowe 



32 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

However, the Quakers were not alone in the 
violation of the Acts having to do with religious 
observance. In February, 1662, the jury presented 
the whole county in general for breach of the Sab- 
bath, and Linhaven Parish in particular for not 
providing a reader as recommended by Act of the 
Assembly. The jury rather excuses the lack of 
service on the ground that there was a want of able 
and sufficient ministers to teach and instruct. They 
further offer financial assistance to "the uttermost 
of o'' abilities And doe hope y* y"" rest of the In- 
habitants of the sd County Wilbe willinge to doe 
the Like." 

The proclamation of Queen Anne in 1703 would 
seem to allow the colonists much liberty in the 
manner and matter of their religion. We quote the 
proclamation of religious liberty to protestants. 

LIB. COUSIENIE TO ALL PROTEST & ESSENT 

WHEREAS by one of her Majt. Royall Instructions to 
his excellency this day communicated to ye councell, his 
excelly. is directed to permitt a liberty of Cousience to all 
persons (except papest) so they may be contented with a 
quiet peaceable enjoymt. of ye same not giving offence of 
scaundall to ye Governmt. it is therefore Ordr. yt ye Court 
of each respective County within this Collony Tfansmitt to 
his excellency an Acct. of all separate congregations of re- 
ligious meetings of any person descenting from ye Church 
of England & of what number of psons yt ye sd meeting & 
every of them consist & yt they also certify to his excellency 
whether ye sd congregation or meeting be conformable to 
ye act of parlimt. made in ye first yeare of their lat Majt. 
King Wm. & Queen Mary entitled an act for excepting their 
Majt. protestant subjects descenting from ye church of 
england from ye penalty of several laws; whereas it is very 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 33 

necessary yt all county courts within this her Majt. Colony 
& dominion be provided with ye act of parlimt. & statutes 
of England for ye survice of ye sd Courts it is ordered that 
the Justices of peace of ye sd Serv. County take care to 
send for such a collection of ye sd acts as are now wanting 
in their Courts as yt they continue ye like care for ye futor 
yt ye Courts be duely provided with ye laws & Statutes of 
England as from time to time they come out — Read in open 
Court the 6th 8ber 1703 & Odr. to be recorded. 

Will Roberson, CI. Curr. 

In 1703 there is also recorded in Princess Anne 
a deed by James Kempe for land on which a meet- 
ing house may be erected. Mr. Kempe, or the person 
who wrote his deed, was reticent as to the name of 
the congregation or persons who were to benefit by 
his generosity. 

Since none of the meeting houses, as they were 
called, of the sects, or societies, who made such a 
determined struggle for recognition in those early 
days are now standing, we shall pass to the year 
1764. On July 16 of that year John Whitehead, Jr., 
and Mary, his wife, for the sum of one pound, five 
shillings, current money of Virginia, granted to the 
elders and rulers of the Baptist Church, called regu- 
lars, at Pungo, "one half acre where the meeting 
house now stands." The present Oak Grove Bap- 
tist Church stands on this spot. The old church 
building was long ago replaced. 

The present site of Nimmo Methodist Church 
was deeded to the society of Methodists of Princess 
Anne County in 1791 by Anne Nimmo, wife of 
William Nimmo. The Nimmos lived close by the 
church. The same year a house of worship was here 



34 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

erected. The present building is the result of a 
remodeling process of forty, or more, years ago, 
conforming for the most part to the original 
foundations, we are told. 

Other public buildings of the early days were 
stores, warehouses, markets ; and courthouses, 
clerk's office and jails. Of the first group nothing 
remains, of the second we shall tell in our chapter 
on the town of Kempsville, for there it is that one 
courthouse and jail, of the several built in the 
county prior to 1880, still stand. 




Chapter IV 

ITHIN the shadows of an old house fancy 
and liction play havoc with facts and fig- 
ures. So vividly is one reminded of the 
romance and adventure of the day-by- 
day lives of these first builders of homes in Virginia, 
all sense of proportion and balance is lost! Far 
easier would it be to let one's feelings and imagi- 
nation run riot, picturing charming fireside episodes, 
or ma}'be conjuring scenes of thrilling Indian 
encounters, than to hold firmly to realities and 
recount only what is written record as we find it 
today of the times, the places, the people of nearly 
three centuries ago. 

There are now standing in Princess Anne 
County seven houses which conform in most 
respects to every rule laid down for the judging 
of "oldest houses." These houses are of the story- 
and-half brick, sharp roof type. By reason of the 
bricks and method of bricklaying, three of the seven 
standout as probably antedating the other four. 

In the three houses above designated as prob- 
ably the oldest, we find: first, the bricks are 
roughly and irregularly molded, showing less skill 
in workmanship ; second, the English bonding is 
the method used in tying the bricks, for the most 
part. This method was used in England before the 
introduction there, after the London fire, of Flem- 
ish brickmakers and bricklayers, who, of course, 
pursued the Flemish method of bonding. 



36 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



The distinction between the two is : in English 
bond, bricks are laid in alternate courses of stretch- 
ers and headers, the pattern being preserved by the 
use of queen closers (half header) in making the 
o.uoin ; in Flemish bond, bricks are laid in the same 
course as alternate stretcher and header, the pat- 
tern being preserved by the use of king closers at 
the rebated openings. 

The Wishart house is English bond throughout; 
the Thorowgood house has both gable ends and 
rear of English bond, wdth front of Flemish bond ; 
the W'eblin house has one gable end and rear of 
English bond, with front of Flemish bond. The 
other end of this house is evidently of a later 

period ; bricks, 
bonding, chimney, 
all indicate a later 
date. In the attic 
we found the gum 
rafters were charr- 
ed by fire. The 
north gable has 
been built up from 
a sharp roof, the 
angle of which is 
easily traced by 
blue headers, to its 
present form of 
gambrel roof. 
These facts lead 
one to the con- 
clusion that at 

Original brick end of Webiin House. SOme time the 




Old Houses in Princess Anne 37 

house was partiall}' burned, one gable end being 
rebuilt in the fashion of the later day, the other 
gable run up to conform thereto. Each of these 
houses is worthy of detailed stud}'. 

Known throughout this section by all people 
and elsewhere by all connoisseurs of colonial 
architecture as "The Adam Thorowgood" house, 
stands this quaint Virginia home, beautifully re- 
stored, entirely and completely groomed in every 
detail. Scarcely does one ever fail to find reference 
to, and description of, this place where colonial 
architecture is the subject. Miss Grace Keeler is 
the present owner, and it is due to her that we have 
so splendidly preserved what must be one of the 
oldest brick houses in English-speaking America. 
Miss Keeler has not spared money, time, or per- 
sonal care in her work of restoration. Also the 
present owner has been most generous in sharing 
her treasure with those pilgrims who come to see, 
and stop to marvel at so perfect a shrine. 

Adam Thorowgood (we use the spelling we 
find in all the oldest records, and also it is the 
spelling in a will which we have recently seen, made 
in the handwriting of John Thorowgood, his lineal 
descendant in 1800) came to Virginia about 1621 
as an adventurer, and as such, and for inducing 
one hundred and five others to come at one time or 
another, in 1635, June 24th, by Governor West to 
Capt. Adam Thorowgood, 5350 acres, bounded on 
the north by Chesapeake Bay, ". . . granted unto 
him at the espetiall recommendation of him from 
their Lordshipps and others, his M'ties most hon- 
orable privie Councell the Governor and Councell 
of State for Virginia." 



38 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Among the persons listed as making the hun- 
dred and live are, Adam Thorowgood, Sarah 
Thorowgood (his wife), Thomas KeeUng, Henry 
Hill, William Kempe (whose wife was Mary, son 
Anthony, William was a Burgess for Upper Eliza- 
beth City 1629/30), George Whitehead, John Hill, 
Mary Hill, Mary Hill, Jr., Augustine Warner, 
William Burroughs and Anne Burroughs. 

The Augustine Warner above noted is the an- 
cestor of the mother of George Washington and 
presumably the founder of Warner Hall in Glou- 
cester County, Virginia. 

There is an interesting item about John Hill 
which we are giving; the Hill family, for so long 
a time, having been residents of Princess Anne. 
"Court held January 20th, 1647, Theise are to 
Certilie that Mr. John Hill appeared this day in 
Court, and declared himselfe to bee the age be- 
tweene fhfty and Sixty yeares, and hath Continued 
in this Collony of Virginia twenty-six yeares and 
I upwards : Alsoe the said John Hill doth afhrme 

himselfe formerly to have lived in the university 
of Oxford of the trade of Booke binder, and that he 
is the Sonne of Stephen Hill of Oxford aforesaid 
ffletcher; And the said John Hill is well at present, 
and in good health as appears to the court, and in 
likelyhood of life." 

Just here it may be pertinent to say something 
concerning the granting of land in the early days. 
From a report on Virginia recorded in the Virginia 
Magazine of History and Biography, volume I, 
page 155, we find reference to a Discourse of the 
old Virginia Company, drawn up and presented by 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 39 

the members of the former London Company in 
1625, to The Board of Trade and Plantations. The 
original of this paper is filed in the British State 
Papers Office, Colonial Department, volume 3, 
No. 40. From this Discourse we see given as one of 
the reasons the colony had not so much prospered 
up to this time (1625) was attributed, among other 
reasons, to "There being no Dividents of Land laid 
out." This, of course, has no reference to the gifts 
by the wholesale made by the crown to certain 
favorites of the king, but rather has reference to 
individual ownership among the adventurers. 

Again quoting from the same volume of the 
Virginia Magazine, Mr. W. G. Stanard, formerly 
Registrar of the State Land Office in Richmond, 
Virginia, says in substance : The records of the 
patents recorded for Virginia begin in 1623, only a 
few years after right of holding property was con- 
ferred upon societies and individuals. With the 
exception of a brief interval before 1623 the con- 
tinuity is substantially unbroken. The granting of 
lands in Virginia was in the hands of the company 
from 1606 to 1625. The condition for making grant 
was meritorious service of some kind ; emigration 
of patentee to Virginia in person, or transportation 
to colony of some one at own expense, or purchase 
of a share of the Company. Valuable service was 
estimated by the colonial authorities. Purchase of a 
share in the company carried a grant of 100 acres, 
to be increased to 200 acres when the first 100 acres 
had been seated. Pay for self, one's own servant, 
member of the family, or any one else, entitled one 
to 50 acres per person so paid for. After the dis- 



40 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

solution of the old \'irginia Company, service played 
small part in obtaining land. Head rights became 
the chief factor and so continued until the right to 
purchase public land with money was established 
in the eighteenth century. Throughout the colonial 
period head right was in force. 

The first grant we find recorded in the Land 
Patent Books at Richmond is to Richard Stephens 
for 60 roods in James City at his dwelling house 
"that others may be encouraged by his example to 
enclose some ground for garden." This was 1623. 
In passing it is interesting to note that this same 
Richards Stephens fought the first duel of which we 
have record. His antagonist was George Harrison. 
Richard Stephens married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Abraham Persey, before 1644/5. She, as the 
widow Stephens, married Sir John Harvey, some- 
time Governor of Virginia. 

The first we know of our Mr. Thorowgood as a 
landowner is recorded in Elizabeth City Land 
Patent Book. There is a bill of sale made to Capt. 
Adam Thorowgood by John Grundy in 1626 — one 
hundred and fifty acres on Southampton River. 
The next record is to Mr. Adam Thorowgood, 
gentleman, 200 acres (purchased from Capt. 
Stephens) on Back River, adjacent to John Rob- 
inson and William Capps. Granted by Governor 
Harvey in March 1634. Immediately following this 
grant is the record to Mr. Adam Thorowgood, 200 
acres on Back River, due him as adventurer. 

And this brings us back to the point of digres- 
sion, Adam Thorowgood, the patentee of 5,350 
acres of land, situated on Chesapeake Bay, readily 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 41 

recognized as within the conhnes of the present 
Princess Anne County, though at the time of iirst 
issuance, 1635, this part of Virginia was designated 
Lowxr EHzabeth City Shire. 

Subsequently Mr. Thorowgood patented smaller 
acreages along the Lynnhaven River and Bennetts 
Creek, bringing his total land in this vicinity to 
nearly 7,000 acres. For some good reason, no doubt, 
this 5,350-acre patent was renewed, as were several 
others in this territory, in 1637. As this is the year 
Norfolk came into being as a county (Mrs. Philip 
Alexander Bruce claims it is the first division called 
county in Virginia) it may account for the step. 
However, in 1643, three years after the death of 
Adam (1) Thorowgood, we find again recorded in 
almost identical words this same 5,350 acres to 
Adam Thorowgood. In court records the Thorow- 
good family in the following years always referred 
to this as "The Grand Patent." 

Mr. Thorowgood was a man of consequence in 
the colony. In the first volume of Hening's Statutes 
we find the Assembly at "James Citty" on the 20th 
day of March, 1628/9, giving permission to com- 
missioners to hold court monthly within the cor- 
poration of Elizabeth City and "partes near ad- 
joyning." For this court there were named eight 
commissioners, viz: Capt. Thomas Purfury, Capt. 
Edward Waters, Lieut. Thomas Willoughby, Lieut. 
George Thomson, Mr. Adam Thorowgood, Mr. 
Lunell Coulston, Mr. William Kempe, Mr. John 
Downman. A like permission was given and com- 
missioners appointed on the same day for holding 
monthly courts in the "upper partes." 



42 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

In the same volume we find among the Bur- 
gesses present from the various plantations, hun- 
dreds &c., Mr. Adam Thorowgood as one of the six 
Burgesses for "Elizabeth Citty." At the session of 
the Assembly convening at "James Citty" on March 
24th, 1629/30, present for Lower Elizabeth City 
as Burgesses are, Capt. Thomas Purfury, Adam 
Thorowgood, Launcelot Barnes. Likewise in the 
session of September 4th, 1632, Mr. Thorowgood 
is one of the three Burgesses for Lower Elizabeth 
City. In 1636 Mr. Thorowgood was a member of 
the Governor's Council. This probably accounts for 
the fact that his name does not appear as a Bur- 
gess for the new county of Norfolk in 1637. 

Capt. Adam Thorowgood, for so he is styled in 
the first record book of Norfolk County, married 
Sarah Offiey, we are told, and left at his death in 
February 1639/40, surviving him beside the widow, 
a son Adam (2) and three daughters, Ann, Sarah 
and Elizabeth. The widow was not long inconsol- 
able, if ever. Soon she became the wife of John 
Gookin, shortly to be again bereaved, and in just 
as short order marrying Col. Francis Yardley. It 
was as the widow Gookin that Sarah kept the 
tavern at Lynnhaven. 

In the next generation and so on, we find the 
Thorowgoods marrying into the most prominent 
families in the county, Lawson, Moseley, Keeling, 
Nimmo. So from their plantations along the Bay- 
side and Lynnhaven River have issued men and 
women who had no small share in the making of 
the history of Princess Anne County. 

It is difficult to say which Thorowgood built 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 43 

the house now standing on Lynnhaven, and it 
is just as difficult to say when the building took 
place. Adam Thorowgood (1) made a will dated 
February 17th, 1639. It was admitted to probate 
at a quarter court held at James City the 27th of 
April, 1640. He bequeathes to the Parish Church 
at Lynnhaven one thousand pounds of tobacco in 
leaf to be disbursed for some necessary and decent 
ornament. He devised to his wife, beside certain 
domestic animals, all the houses and the orchard 
with the plantation at Lynnhaven so far as it ex- 
tended : to-wit : from the pond to the further stile 
that parts it, and the grounds called by the name 
of the quarter, during her life time ; all of which he 
gave her as a memorial of his love. To his son Adam 
he devised all the rest of the estate in Virginia 
or elsewhere, at the age of twenty-one. After the 
decease of the widow, son Adam is to enjoy and 
possess land, house, and orchard which had been 
given to wife Sarah during her life time. 

In 1679 we find Adam (2) Thorowgood married 
to Frances Yardley, daughter of Argoll Yardley, 
and the father of the following sons and daughter, 
Argoll, John, Adam (3), Francis, Robert, Rose. 
At this time he is making his will, which was pro- 
bated in Lower Norfolk County, 1685/6. These 
are his bequests : To his wife Frances, for life, the 
plantation whereon he was living with six hundred 
acres most convenient to the house. This tract was 
laid out in 1686 by Anthony Lawson and Malachy 
Thurston in accordance with the will and in the 
record the pond in the yard is mentioned. The rest 
of the estate is to be divided by these gentlemen 



44 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Into live equal parts, one part for each son to have 
choice as he reaches twenty-one years. This Adam 
(2) expressly stipulates that his wife Frances have 
the house wherein he was then living (in the di- 
vision called the Grand Manor House), plantation, 
&c., during her life, and after her decease "to goe 
unto my son Argoll Thorowgood and his heires 
forever." And so by will this plantation is devised 
from father to eldest son until 1780 when William 
Thorowgood, son of Argoll Thorowgood and Eliza- 
beth Keeling, makes his will, leaving the plantation 
to his wife Elizabeth Nimmo Thorowgood (she was 
the daughter of James Nimmo of Shenstone Green) 
for life, and at her death to his nephew William 
Thorowgood Nimmo, son of his (W^illiam's) sister 
Elizabeth and James Nimmo (2) of Shenstone 
Green. You see brother and sister Thorowgood 
married sister and brother Nimmo. 

In Norfolk County is to be found an inventory 
of the personal estate of Frances Thorowgood, 
widow of Adam (2) . This inventory is made by her 
eldest son Argoll. The rooms listed in her home 
are: kitchen chamber, hall chamber, parlor cham- 
ber, passage, parlor, hall, cellar, kitchen. Mr. 
Philip Alexander Bruce in his Ecoyiornic History 
of Virginia refers to the house of Adam Thorow- 
good who died in 1686. He says that there were in 
this house three chambers, one hall and parlor, a 
kitchen and cellar. In the inventory of the Argoll 
Thorowgood, who was the son of Adam (2) and 
made the inventor}' of Frances above referred to, 
who likewise was the third in line, Adam (1), 
Adam (2), Argoll, each in turn to possess a certain 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 45 

Manor Plantation, the last two by will, after his 
death in 1699 when his inventory was made and 
recorded, the rooms in his home were: hall, parlor, 
parlor chamber, kitchen, porch chamber, passage 
room, kitchen chamber, hall chamber, milk house, 
"In ye sellar." 

Beginning with John Thorowgood, brother of 
Argoll, both sons of Adam (2), the son of Adam 
(1), this John being the second son in the third 
generation (the eldest, Argoll, having inherited the 
home plantation) we are able by wills, chancery 
suits, and deeds of record in Princess Anne and 
Norfolk counties, to trace John's (3) property to 
John D., Grace M., and Rufus P. Keeler, who in 
1906 purchased the part of the Church Point farm 
on which the old mansion house of the John 
Thorowgood family stood. 

In the inventory of the first John Thorowgood, 
w^ho married Margaret Lawson, daughter of Col. 
Anthony Law^son (first of the Anthony Lawsons in 
Princess Anne County), we find in 1701 the 
following rooms : parlor, parlor chamber, porch 
chamber, hall, milk house, kitchen, buttery. This 
John, who in his will styles himself the son of Col. 
Adam, deceased, was himself a colonel and a man 
of much importance in the county. He was one of 
the first justices of the new county of Princess 
Anne. With these facts as they relate to the earliest 
members of a family and the homes in which they 
lived, we pass to a more intimate view^ of the quaint 
home of the Thorowgoods now standing on a branch 
of Lynnhaven River in the county of Princess Anne. 

As we see the Thorow^good home today it is 



46 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



oblong, 46' X 20' 7" above the water table. Entering 
by the front door, a hall runs through with a door 
at the back opposite the front door. The stairway 
of heart pine goes up on the right to a height of 
about seven feet, then turning at right angles to 
the left on a platform 10 feet wide, which is the 
width of the downstairs hall. After a series of sev- 




Thorowgood House 



Courtesy Miss Kccler 




North Room of Thorowgood House 



Courtesy Miss Keeler 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 47 

eral steps again up at right angles and to the left 
we are in the upper hallway. Here there are two 
rooms, one on each side of the hall. The same 
arrangement is true downstairs, on the right the 
kitchen or dining room, on the left the parlor. 
There is no cellar, nor is there any evidence of there 
ever having been one. The water table presents an 
unbroken surface of perfect brickwork all the way 
round the four walls. This point must be explained 
away if this house be accepted as the original home 
of Adam Thorowgood the hrst or second, or Argoll 

(1). 

By reference to the picture a very clear idea is 
gotten of the house proportions. The outside chim- 
ney will be discussed more at length later because 
it is a striking example of the type used at a very 
early period of building in Virginia. 

The brick walls of the house, front and back, 
are 8'2" from the water table to eaves. The tw^o 
gable ends are brick all the way up to a sharp point, 
making what the colored people term an "A" roof. 
In the end to the left of entrance, in the parlor, 
the chimney is built within the room. It is around 
this that is found the magnificent pine panelling 
seen in the interior view on page 46. This fireplace 
is 62" wide, 49" high, with two flues. However, the 
outside chimney, which, by the way, is on the 
south end of the building, is far more interesting. 
It is said that very early the thrifty New Eng- 
landers abandoned the method of building the 
chimney outside, building around the chimney 
instead, in order to conserve heat. We wonder if 
that is the reason that when we find one chimney 



48 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



in and one outside the building here in Tidewater, 
the inside chimney is nearly always on the northern 



exposure 



The measurements of this southern chimney 
taken just above the 24" water table are lO'S" 
across the breast, rising for 6'9" to the lirst weath- 
ered setoff, up again for 4'7" to the second weath- 
ered setoif, on up from the second setoff with a 
tall stack far above the roof ridge. The depth of 
the chimney breast is 48". In the dining room or 
kitchen, the fireplace measures 8'6" in width, 58" 
in height, 53" in depth. As has been said the brick- 
work is English bond on three sides, with the front 
wall of Flemish bond, the headers in these courses 
are often times very fine "blue headers," causing 

the pattern to 
stand out in an 
effective way. 

We fear that 
too much time has 
been given to a 
description of this 
house, but its 
beauty justifies 
every minute given 
to the study. 

In conclusion 
may we recom- 
mend to you a visit 
to this spot, if you 
ha\'e not already 
had the pleasure. 

South end of Courtesy Miss Kcclcr C X U 

Thorowgood House ^<^ ^^^ ^^'^ naVC UOt 




Old Houses in Princess Anne 49 

seen an accurate architectural description of the 
Thorowgood house, Eberlein in his Architecture of 
Colonial America, published by Little, Brown & 
Co., in 1915, chapter 5 on Colonial Architecture in 
the South, says, that in the South the chimneys 
were built outside the house wall. Then he cites the 
Thorowgood house. Likewise an article by Delos H. 
Smith in the magazine House Beautiful, October 
issue, 1928, on page 456, in describing the house on 
Lynnhaven Farm, says, "The chimneys are built 
outside the gables." The same error has crept into 
each publication, for in reality, one chimney is 
within the wall, the other without. 

But there is a house in Princess Anne oblong 
in ground plan, with a huge outside chimney in each 
of its two gable ends, with two weathered setoffs 
in each of these chimneys, with brickwork show- 
ing the English bonding throughout. This house is 
very generally known as the "Boush House." It is 
now the property of Mr. William W. Oliver of the 
county. As a matter of fact, the house did not come 
into the Boush family until 1795 when William, 
son of Frederick Boush, purchased the property for 
1,000^ specie from Thomas Wishart and Porcia, 
his wife. It is described as lying in Little Creek, 
about 300 acres with house, "the same w^hich 
Thomas Wishart the elder, late of Princess Anne 
County willed to his son William, who in his will 
devised to Thomas." The whole story is this. 

In 1653 Adam (2) Thorowgood, son of Adam 
(1), sold to William Richerson, shipwright of 
"London Citty," a parcel of land shooting off a 
mile into the woods. In 1673 Richerson causes to 



so Old Houses in Princess Anne 

be recorded this bill of sale, as it is called, because 
he is selling the same "parcel of land" to James 
Wishart. James Wishart dies in 1679/80 and leaves 
his plantation in Little Creek, which he bought of 
William Richerson, to his son William Wishart; to 
his son James "the plantation whereon I now live ;" 
he mentions a son Thomas, a son John, and two 
daughters, Joyce and Frances. By a deed of gift 
recorded in 1700 in Princess Anne William Wishart 
gives half of his plantation to his brother Thomas. 
He says ". . . left me by my father James Wishart, 
lying in Little Creek, the same Thomas to have the 
southeast part divided by a line running . . . from 
a pine at the head of a cove neare the old house." 
In 1736 William devises the plantation he now 
lives on to cousin Thomas, and certain slaves to 
cousin Francis. Now it would seem that William 
is a little mixed here on his relationships. His 
brother James had a son Francis, his brother 
Thomas, to whom he had already given half of his 
property, had a son Thomas. These therefore were 
his nephews, and not cousins. This Thomas in 
1772 wills to son William, who in turn devises to 
brother Thomas in 1783, after the death of his wife 
Mary, the plantation in Little Creek. And Thomas, 
brother of William, both sons of Thomas the elder, 
makes the deed to Boush. It is interesting to note 
that William in 1700 speaks of "the old house" on 
this tract. Very evidently it was a landmark at this 
time as he uses it as a designation in reciting the 
bounds of the property he is giving to his brother. 
Just who built this house we can not say, but 
William Richerson was a London shipwright, own- 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



51 



ing this property prior to the London iire. It seems 
the accepted theory that the Flemish method of 
bonding did not generally come into use among 
the English until the influx of Flemish brick- 
masons after the London fire, in 1666. This house 
is English bond throughout in its bricklaying, the 
roof until ver}' recently was sharp, there are gable 
ends with outside chimneys in each gable, the in- 
terior very modest and unpretentious. 




\^'ishart House before roof was changed 




^^&^' 



■^F^mmM^ 



5 




i ^^ 





Wishart House, opposite end 



52 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

One enters the main room on opening the front 
door. From this room a blind stairway goes to the 
two rooms above under the roof. There is one other 
room and that is to the left downstairs. The house 
on the outside measures 32'6" by 2r2", the height 
to the eaves is 10'5". 

At the back there is a door reached by several 
steps opening into the other downstairs room. Near 
this door is an opening and by stooping slightly 
entrance is made to the cellar. This cellar is about 
the height of a tall man. It is interesting to specu- 
late on the use to which the cellar was put. From 
this point of vantage the foundation brickwork is 
easily studied, also the sills, most of the original 
one still doing service after these many years, are 
in clear sight. The sills are hewn from oak and are 
8"x6". The joists supporting the roof and upper 
floor project beyond the outside walls, secured by 
wooden pegs. These joists measure 24" from center 
to center and are 18" apart. The interior measure- 
ments of the downstairs rooms are very nearly 
coincident with the same measurements in the 
Thorowgood house. Viewing the house from the 
outside there is one other feature that is different. 
At the eaves on each end of the front wall there is 
a graded projection of bricks, probably put there 
to support a porch across the front. Also on the 
back near the cellar entrance and by the back door 
is a projection of single bricks at intervals in a 
vertical line. What for, to support or tie a shed to? 

On the right of the house nearby under cedar 
trees lie buried several of the Boushes whose home 
this had been. The tombs are going rapidly to 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 53 

decay. Here is the tomb of William Boush, 
1759/1854, and by his side Mary, his wife, 1764- 
1822. Here also is the gravestone of Wm. F. M. 
Boush who died in 1816 at the age of twenty-live 
years. There is an elaborate inscription on this 
marble, all of which, for the most part is illegible. 
From a word decipherable here and there the 
impression is gotten that he was a most dis- 
tinguished person. Here also lies buried Eliza J. S. 
Walke, widow of David Walke, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary Boush. She died in 1884 at the age 
of eighty-two years. There is one other brick vault. 
The slab is gone, a large tree is growing out. 

The third house in this group is called the 
Beachy or Babcock place. It is now owned by Mr. 
H. C. Moore. Mrs. Moore appreciates this old 
home, located as it is far back from the Bayside 
Road. She has visions of a day in the near future 
when the house and garden will be restored as she 
believes it was in the days when it was the home 
of Robert Moseley, and immediately following, as 
the plantation Jacob Hunter purchased and devised 
in 1780 to his son Josiah Hunter. This Jacob 
Hunter was the third generation of the Hunter 
family in Princess Anne. Dr. William was practic- 
ing medicine in Lower Norfolk County in 1678. 
His three sons were Thomas, James and John. 
Jacob is the eldest son of John. Jacob married 
twice, iirst Susannah Moore, second Elizabeth 
Wilson Boush. Josiah Wilson Hunter was one of 
four sons by the second marriage. Jacob Hunter 
had six sons and in his will left a plantation to 
each. But this house seems to date back much 



54 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

farther than 1751 when Robert Moseley bought it 
from Daniel Hutchings, the house with 102 acres. 

Between the meanders of Little Creek is a tract 
of land called Paggett's or Puggett's Neck, con- 
taining 750 acres, named for the man to whom it 
was first granted in 1643, when the adventurers 
lirst began taking up land hereabouts "south of the 
James River in Elizabeth City." The grantee was 
Cesar Puggett. As sometimes happened, this tract 
was later granted to Capt. Thomas Lambert in 
1648. It is described in the grant as being 750 acres 
in Paggett's Neck in Linhaven Parish. The grantee 
is the same Thomas Lambert who in 1635 obtained 
a grant for the land the description thereof strongly 
indicating a subdivision of the present city of 
Norfolk generally known as "Lambert's Point." 
Norfolk County records disclose that in the year 
1671 Lieut. -Col. Thomas Lambert is dead. Four 
daughters survive him, married to the following 
men : George Fowler, Henry Snaile, John Weblin, 
Richard Drout. A partition deed is spread upon 
Book "E" on page 14 wherein these sons-in-law, 
styling themselves as co-heirs of Mr. Lambert, 
divide the 750 acres in Puggett's Neck. John Weblin 
and Richard Drout got 350 acres between them, 
this being the northwest part of the tract. Of the 
350 acres John Weblin's portion is "that part 
wherein he now lives, with one half of woodland 
, . ." to him and his heirs fore\'er. John Weblin 
died in 1686/7 leaving his property to his tw^o sons 
John and George. 

In 1716 John sells his 75 acres to John Hutch- 
ings, who three years later sells to Nathaniel 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 55 

Hutchings 75 acres he describes as being the land 
which came to him (John Hutchings) from John 
WebHn, John \\ ebhn having come by the same by 
his (John Weblin) father's last will. In 1728 Na- 
thaniel Hutchings buys of Thomas Lawson 27 
acres. The deed says that Hutchings already has 
this enclosed in his pasture. And so we have 
accounted for the 102 acres that in 1751 we find 
Daniel Hutchings selling to Robert Moseley. In 
this deed Daniel describes the tract as the same 
land that Nathaniel Hutchings purchased of John 
Hutchings, mariner, and Thomas Lawson. Robert 
Moseley in his will in 1771 directs his executors, 
Capt. Daniel Hutchings of the Borough of Norfolk 
and Mr. William Woodhouse, to sell his plantation 
in Little Creek whereon he lived, there being 102 
acres with house. The title continues with equal 
clarity through the next century down to the 
present owner. 

In the first part of this chapter a sketch was 
given of the "Weblin" House. There is not much 
else to be added. A diagram of the interior is 
similar to the plans of the Wishart house. The 
houses measures 37'4" across the front. This front 
wall is Flemish bond of the blue header type very 
much like the front wall of the Thorowgood house. 
The chimney is built almost exactly as are the 
chimneys previously discussed, the breast measure- 
ing 10 feet across, with weathered setoffs appear- 
ing twice between the breast and stack. There may 
have been a cellar at one time. 

In summarizing the three houses have we 
proved: In 1653 when William Richerson of 



56 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

"London Citty" bought 200 acres from Adam (2) 
Thorowgood there was no house on the tract, it is 
described as shooting off into the woods a mile; 
however, in 1700 the house is referred to as "the old 
house." The earliest date of this house could be late 
1653. The plantation not far away in Puggett's Neck 
had a house on it in 1671 when the four sons-in-law 
of Col. Thomas Lambert made a partition deed, set- 
ting aside to each a part of a 750-acre tract. John 
Weblin, on whose acres the house stood, was dead 
in 1686, his sons not quite of age. This house was 
surely built prior to 1671. Just down the road on 
Lynnhaven River is the Thorowgood house. After 
the death of his father Adam (2) in 1686, when 
John Thorowgood came into the 600 acres com- 
prising the lot of his choice (he on account of his 
age, being second to choose) did he build this 
"Mansion House" for his bride, Margaret Lawson.^" 




Chapter V 

EAVING Little Creek Precinct of L>nn- 
haven Parish where Adam Thorovvgood 
was the largest landowner, as one drives 
dow^n the Great Neck road from London 
Bridge toward Long Creek one is in the L^pper 
Eastern Shore Precinct of Lynnhaven Parish, where 
the Cornicks, Reelings and Woodhouses were large 
landowners. Henry Woodhouse and Thomas Keel- 
ing patented land in Lower Norfolk County very 
shortly after Adam Thorowgood did. \Vm. Cor- 
nick's hrst grant was in the year 1657. 

One of the hundred and live persons with whom 
Adam Thorowgood is credited as having brought 
into the colony is Thomas Keeling. By the side of 
this record in the Virginia Magazine of History and 
Biography is the bracket "(Brother of Adam Keel- 
ing) ." It would seem that this is a mistake and that 
Adam is the son of Thomas Keeling, We know that 
Adam Keeling was the godson of Adam Thorow- 
good, for Mr. Thorowgood remembers him in his 
will . . . "to godson Adam Keeling, one breeding 
goat." This was 1640. 

In 1635 Thomas Keeling obtained a grant for 
one hundred acres on Back River. Ensign Thomas 
Keeling was a vestryman of the Lower Norfolk 
County Church in 1640. Adam Keeling makes a 
will in 1683. In this will he mentions a brother 
Alexander. Elizabeth Reeling making a will in 
1670 names as her brothers Alexander and Thorow- 



58 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

good and her father-in-law Bray. However, she 
means father-^y-law or step-father, for Thorow- 
good Keeling in his will (1679) speaks of his "father 
Bray." In 1682 Anne Bray makes a deed to her son 
Alexander Keeling and Anne Keeling, daughter of 
Adam Keeling. Anne Bray makes another deed in 
which she says her sons Edward and Thomas are 
deceased, leaving Alexander as surviving son of her 
husband Thomas Keeling. 

Therefore we are sure that the Adam Keeling 
who made his will in 1683 was the son of Anne 
and Thomas Keeling. He had a sister Elizabeth, 
brothers Edward, Thomas, Alexander and Thorow- 
good. At the time of the making of his will Capt. 
Adam's mother lived on his property at London 
Bridge. His bequests are : to daughter Anne twelve 
hundred acres lately bought of Anthony Lawson, 
called Black Walnutt Ridge, and joining Rudee; 
to daughter Elizabeth, three or four hundred acres 
near Machipungo; to son John, fourteen hundred 
acres that formerly belonged to "my father-in-law, 
John Martin," provided John makes a deed to son 
Adam for two thousand acres lately patented in the 
name of John Keeling. This is the London Bridge 
tract. To son Thomas he devised the home planta- 
tion after the death of wife Ann. Son Thomas also 
received a parcel of land "commonly known by ye 
name of Dudlies . . . beinge neare four hundred 
acres." In the inventory of this Adam Keeling we 
iind he had the following rooms in his house: hall, 
hall shed, parlor shed, parlor, hall chamber, porch 
chamber, kitchen, and little buttery. 

There are many interesting relationships here 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 59 

that may be worked out, but the subject matter of 
this book is houses, not genealogy, so let us take up 
our thread at "Dudlies" which Adam Keeling left 
to his son Thomas. This is the only plantation of 
the Reelings on which today we find standing an 
original home. 

It has been our general observation while read- 
ing old records that where there is a house on the 
property the donor, devisor, or grantor, as the case 
may be,, usually describes the land as a plantation, 
or as "seated," or as the tract whereon "So-and-So" 
now lives. If there is no building the term used in 
the description is most frequently "parcel of land," 
sometimes divident or patent. If this conclusion be 
true, then in 1683, Dudlies had no house on it. 
However, in 1714 this son Thomas Keeling in mak- 
ing his will devises "all the land I now live on, which 
my father Adam left me," to his son Adam. 

In the meantime Thomas Keeling had married 
Mary Lovett, daughter of Lancaster and Mary 
Lovett. The sons of Thomas and Mary Lovett 
Keeling were Adam, John and William. The 
Lovett and Keeling wills of this time are quite 
interesting and dovetail entirely. 

In 1771 Adam Keeling makes a will leaving to 
his grandson Adam "the plantation whereon I 
now live, together with the land whereon my son 
Thomas' widow lives, the marsh adjoining the 
plantation" and . . . "Hog Pen Neck." There may 
seem a long time unaccounted for between the will 
of Thomas in 1714 and his son Adam in 1771, 
especially when one counts thirty years to a gen- 
eration, but in this last Adam's will he makes be- 



60 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

quests to his great-grandchildren, thus showing he 
Hved to be very old. 

Adam Keeling makes a will in 1805, naming 
Dudlies as the Manor Plantation. He owns Hog 
Pen Neck, swamp land, &c. A chancery suit is 
brought in 1823 for a division of the land under this 
will. The devisor stipulated that the land was to be 
divided, but he did not say how the division was to 
be made, except that Adam was to have the tract 
with the house on it. Recorded in Chancery Report 
Book I at Princess Anne is a plat of Dudlies, locat- 
ing the Manor House on the 261^ acres set aside 
to Adam Keeling, the remaining 108 acres was set 
aside for Solomon Keeling. 

The house as it stands today is an exquisite 
example of the Flemish method of bonding brick. 
Notice particularly the design worked out in the 
gables by the use of the "blue headers." It is the 
only house in which we have seen this pattern. 
You will also notice the pitch of the roof, the height 
to which the chimneys rise above it. There is one 
chimney in each end, and both chimneys are within 
the walls. The black line which veers off near the 
top of the roof toward a tree is not a crack in the 
wall. It is an old blacksmith-made wrought iron 
lightning rod. 

The house is oblong 48'6"x20'4", height from 
the ground to the eaves is 12'6". The four little 
windows in the north gable end are 16"x21" out- 
side measure, but the pegged wooden inside frames 
are 15" square. On entering at the front door there 
is an 8' hall with stairway on the left turning at 
right angles across and above the back door, caus- 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



61 



ing this door which faces west and the water, to 
be slightly lower than the front door. At right 
angles again the stairs proceed up to the hall and 
two rooms under the roof. Just as there are two 
rooms upstairs, one on each side of the hall, so 
are there two rooms down stairs similarly situated. 
The most interesting room is downstairs on the 
north, or to the right of the front entrance. The 




Keelinu; Home on "Ye Dudlies' 




Keeling Honu- icai 



62 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

chimney end of room is panelled, the lireplace 
measures 5'7" in height, in a 7' chimney. The lintel 
of the fireplace is ir'xll^" heart pine. This tim- 
ber seems to be almost untouched by time. On each 
side of the fireplace is a closet within which is one 
of the little windows. This construction gives a fine 
chance for study of the workmanship of those days. 
Many old hinges and doors are still in use in the 
building. The indications are that there never was 
a cellar. Through air vents around the foundation 
a glimpse may be caught of the sills. These timbers 
are 6"xl0". 

The lane leading up from the main Great Neck 
road is little traveled, giving one the feeling of re- 
moteness from the busy life of today, a satisfying 
approach indeed to a house from out the long ago. 
The setting is well nigh perfect on an afternoon 
when the sun has turned a portion of the Lynn- 
haven into liquid gold. For one is driving toward 
this radiance, while on the left is a magnificent 
skirt of pines, whose reflection in the cove making 
far up on that side of the yard, affords a marvelous 
study in contrasts. Truly one feels that here has 
been left a little bit of very old Virginia. On closer 
inspection one finds that there is much to be 
desired by way of restoration. The old garden is 
almost completely gone, a crepe myrtle or so being 
all that is left. There are several old cedars out 
on the far point. The house is in an unusually 
sound condition. Maybe some time soon, before it 
is too late, Col. Charles Consolvo, the present 
owner, may restore to all its former beauty the 
home of the Reelings on "ye Dudlies," down on 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 63 

Lynnhaven. Surely after weathering so many storms 
it is entitled to a process of rejuvenation, provided 
the rejuvenation be in keeping with its own style, 
the style of the late 1600. 

On the same side of the Great Neck road as the 
Keeling house, near the part of the village of Lon- 
don Bridge touched by the \ irginia Beach Boule- 
vard, is another gem. To reach this, one again drives 
up a long lane having turned in from the main 
road at an old wild cherry tree. This old tree has 
long been a landmark in the neighborhood. At the 
end of the lane is a fine grove of beech trees, hiding 
almost completely the home of Mr. Jim Smith. 

Mr. Smith reminds one of the words Riley puts 
in the mouth of his grandfather Squeers : 

"He said when he'd rounded his three score and ten, 
I've the hang of it now, and can do it again." 

With pardonable pride Mrs. Smith will tell you 
about her trees. Forty-odd years ago when she 
moved to this home the yard trees were all cedars. 
It was an unusually hard winter, with heavy snows. 
The weight of sleet and snow, together with the 
freezing, caused limb after limb to split from the 
trees. In the spring not much loveliness was left. 
Mrs. Smith had the scarred old trunks dug up and 
set about growing new shade for her yard. Today 
she revels in all this beauty she has helped create. 

But one begins to speculate about the location 
of the old house for that is what one set out to see. 
Immediately behind the house Mr. Smith built 
about twenty-five years ago, is the old one. It shows 
a house very similar to the Keeling. However, this 



64 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



is smaller; there is no hall downstairs. One enters 
the larger of the two rooms, this room is in the 
south end. There is an inside chimney in each 
gable. The chimney stack does not show the height 
one would expect for the reason that several courses 
of brick have fallen off. 

The fireplace is 7' wide and 5' high. The room 
arrangement upstairs is just a little different, but 




Eastwood on Great Neck Road 




Interior at Eastwood 



A ^ 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 65 

then in all probability when the house was built 
the space under the roof was not partitioned off 
into rooms. One room runs across the north end, 
then from the head of the steps on the front runs 
a narrow passage, a door at the end leads into the 
north room, a second door to the west enters the 
other room. This room occupies the remaining 
area. Upstairs there is a space all way around the 
house between the side wall and the eaves. This 
construction is also found in the Thorowgood 
house. 

With a picture of this quaint home in mind, the 
question comes, who was the builder .f' As with 
many of the other old houses in these parts it is 
largely a matter of conjecture as to who the builder 
was and when he did the building. Find the answer 
to one and the other answer will not be so difficult 
to determine. The records are very interesting. 

Just how long before 1777 this home was called 
"Eastwood" we can not say, but in the will of 
William Aitchison made in that year he devised to 
his son Walter, and in the event of son Walter's 
death without issue, to son William, the "planta- 
tion in Princess Anne called 'Eastwood' purchased 
from Capt. John Willoughby." 

William Aitchison was a merchant of the 
Borough of Norfolk. So was Capt. Willoughby. Mr. 
Aitchison was also the son-in-law of Jacob Elle- 
good, Sr. Now Jacob Ellegood, Sr., in making his 
will leaves the home plantation (Rose Hall, of 
which we shall say more later) to his son Jacob, 
and the three plantations he bought of the heirs of 
Capt. James Condon he directs to be sold. He 



66 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

names his son-in-law William Aitchison executor. 
In 1754 the executor sells to Capt. Willoughby the 
land directed to be sold, and in the course of a few 
months we find Capt. Willoughby selling to Aitchi- 
son 316 acres, the same that were "given to be sold 
by the will of Jacob Ellegood, being the same 
plantation bought of James Condon's heirs." 

Now Ellegood had bought this Condon land in 
two parts, or to be more exact, by two deeds. One 
deed was made by Dr. Robert Paterson for 126 
acres which the widow Sarah Condon had for the 
love she bore her "dear son-in-law" given to him ; 
from John Mercer, et als., heirs of James Condon, 
a deed for 180 acres of high land and some swamp 
was made to Jacob Ellegood. You will see this 
aggregates the 316 acres sold under the will. It 
was not entirely a satisfactory answer as Mr. Elle- 
good said there were three plantations, so we de- 
cided to look further for the answer. 

We found that Capt. James Condon (for so his 
appraisers, Jacob Ellegood, Lemuel Cornick and 
William Keeling, Sr., call him) bought three par- 
cels of land. One of the tracts had a house on it. 
This tract contained 100 acres and was bought from 
William Cox and Ann, his wife. The second tract 
was bought from Maximillian Boush and others 
and is the parcel containing some marsh land. The 
third tract Condon bought from Ellegood. This 
would seem to explain the use of the term "three 
plantations." 

Of course the land on which there is mention 
of a house is the piece that is of most interest to 
us. In the deed bv which William Cox and his wife 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 67 

convey to James Condon 100 acres with house 
appears this interesting connection. The deed re- 
cites that it is a part of the 500 acres which Cason 
Moore, the elder, devised by will to his son Cason 
Moore. The will of the elder Moore was made in 
1720. In 1726 the son, Cason Moore, made a will 
leaving certain lands to his son John. He stipulates 
that son John shall not molest his mother Anne in 
her occupancy of the home, but that he (John) 
may "build where he will." Then to wife Anne, 
Cason, Jr., devises the rest of the plantation not 
before mentioned. He names wife Ann and Brother 
Henry Woodhouse as executors. 

By putting two and two together We conclude 
that the widow Anne Moore married William Cox, 
bringing with her this house in which she was not 
to be molested. She joins him in making the deed 
to Condon. This would indicate that the wife owned 
the property. Cason Moore, the elder, bought 100 
of his 500-acre tract from Henry Woodhouse. 

Between the two families of Moore and Wood- 
house there was undoubtedly a close relationship. 
The Henry Woodhouse who made his will in 1686/7 
mentions his daughter Sarah, wife of Cason Moore, 
and daughter Mary, wife of William Moore. The 
Cason Moore who made his will in 1686/7 names 
three children, Cason (evidently the one making a 
will in 1720 to which reference has been made), 
Henry and Sarah ; a brother William, and brother- 
in-law Henry Woodhouse. So when Anne Wood- 
house married Cason Moore the third ; her brother 
Henry Woodhouse is evidently Henry Woodhouse, 
son of the Henrv Woodhouse whose will we have 



68 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

just cited. This is a complicated relationship. But 
it is always an interesting problem to speculate on 
to what degree propinquity enters into who we are. 

As a conclusion we feel justified in saying that 
we believe that Ann Woodhouse Moore-Cox lived 
in the house now standing on Mr. Jim Smith's 
"Eastwood" plantation at a date prior to 1726 and 
that the house was built about the close of the 17th 
century. Inasmuch as her first husband, Cason 
Moore (the second of that name in Princess Anne) 
gave her the property outright, rather than for life, 
we believe we are safe in saying this was probably 
a Woodhouse home. This we can not prove further 
than by inference from the above facts. 

Returning, we add a few items of interest that 
we have gleaned relative to "Rose Hall," the home 
plantation of Jacob Ellegood when he made his 
will in 1753. In 1714 we find William Ellegood 
patenting 214 acres on Lynnhaven, known as 
"Thomas Cannon's Old Landing Cove." This tract 
was repatented by Jacob Ellegood in 1730. Before 
making his will as above mentioned, more land had 
been bought and added to the original patent. 

The son Jacob Ellegood left the Colony of 
Virginia and moved to the Parish of Prince Wil- 
liam in the County of York, Province of New 
Brunswick. From the Calendar of State Papers, 
volume VIII, Mr. Edward James in his Antiquary 
quotes the verbal proposition of Lord Dunmore on 
the exchange of certain prisoners. The exchange 
offered was Col. Alexander Gordon and Col. Jacob 
Ellegood for Col. Anthony Lawson and Col. Joseph 
Hutchings. Since we know Col. Lawson was an 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 69 

ardent patriot and member of the Princess Anne 
Committee of Safety, we reach the conclusion that 
Col. Jacob Ellegood was a Tory, thereby account- 
ing for his removing from Virginia and taking up 
a residence in what is now the Dominion of Canada. 

From his home in New Brunswick in 1801, 
Col. Ellegood made his will in duplicate. Col. Jacob 
Ellegood left "Rose Hall" plantation in Virginia, 
consisting of 6\S]/2 acres, to his friend Col. Anthony 
Walke, his brother-in-law John Saunders, and to 
two of his sons Jacob (3) and John Saunders Elle- 
good. Col. Walke refused to act as an executor 
since he was also beneliciary under the will. So 
Jacob Ellegood (3) in 1803, as acting executor of 
Col. Jacob, sold the property to William Ellegood, 
a younger son. By a deed from William and his wife 
Sarah Ellegood to William Plume, Thos. Moran 
and Walter Herron, merchants and partners, trad- 
ing as William Plume & Co., of the Borough of 
Norfolk, the estate passed in 1804 from the Elle- 
good family. 

The chain of title from this time briefly to the 
present day is : from Plume by will to other mem- 
bers of his firm; from John Moran to Jas. Stone; 
from Jas. Stone by will to son John W. Stone; 
John W. Stone and wife Frances to Eliza Wood- 
land and Elizabeth Stone; Virginia Duncan, ex- 
ecutrix of Woodland and Stone, to Baker; from 
Barnabas Baker and Louisa, his wife, Joseph Baker 
and Rachel, his wife. Moss W. Armistead and 
Rebecca, his wife, and Robert A. Graves and 
Emily, his wife, to Blow; from Blow to Jas. S, 
Gaskins ; from Gaskins to Alice Anne Mallory; 



70 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

by Jas. A. Saunders, trustee for Alice Anne Southall 
in her marriage contract with William S. Mallory 
in 1854, to Tazewell Taylor and Jas. R. Hubard. 

About this time it seemed quite the mode for 
wealthy young maids and widows to make mar- 
riage contracts. And so in 1858 we find the young 
widow Mary H. Brooks, mother of Swepson Brooks, 
conveying to W. W. Sharp, as trustee, in a mar- 
riage contract she was making with James Cor- 
nick, all her property in trust for her solely. Mrs. 
Mar>' H. Brooks Cornick lived in Norfolk. She 
died in 1879. Her son Swepson was her heir. In 
the meantime she had bought the "Rose Hall" farm 
of 615 acres on which her son Swepson was living. 
This was 1858. We also find the interesting item 
that she owned pew No. 17 in Christ's Church. 

On "Rose Hall" one may still see several old 
tombs. The most interesting is that of William 
Aitchison, bearing his coat of arms. You will recall 
that William Aitcheson was son-in-law to Jacob 
Ellegood of 1753. During a recent visit to Mrs. 
Brooks, widow of Mr. Swepson Brooks, she told us 
of a piece of silver, now in the possession of Dr. 
Swepson Brooks, on which is embossed the same 
coat of arms as it appears on the Aitchison tomb. 
The silver came to them with the house. 

It is too bad that only a memory of where the 
old house stood is all that remains to us. However, 
the new house, surrounded by fine trees, is fully a 
century old. 



Chapter VI 




T THE time when one usually says, 
"We'll do this, or that, on the Fourth," 
we decided this year to devote the whole 
day to a jaunt in Princess Anne in quest 
of further information and pictures. Friends were 
quite disgusted when fishing trip or swimming 
party failed to lure us from our plan. 

It was July 4, 1930. The sun was valiantly 
doing his mightiest to make it a "Glorious Fourth," 
as our faithful old Buick carried us down a narrow 
lane. This narrow lane is bordered at irregular 
intervals by cedar trees as it leads to a tiny little 
old house set with a background of green. The next 
time you drive from Norfolk to Virgina Beach, 
after you pass the road on the right of the boule- 
vard leading to the present village of Lynnhaven, 
just on the curve, before reaching the Eureka Brick 
Plant, look back over your right shoulder and you, 
too, will see this tiny little old house. Surely it 
must have been watching the sunshine on fourth 
of July nearly a hundred years before July fourth 
became "the Glorious Fourth" to us peoples of the 
Republic of the United States of America. 

On this particular day as we drove into the 
yard of the tiny little old house we were surprised 
in having an old colored man greet us. He apolo- 
gized profusely for not seeing us in time to open 
the gate. When we went inside the house we found 
what had been so engrossing the old man that 



12 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

he had failed (so he declared) in showing proper 
respect toward "white folks" coming to his house. 
On the table were a big bowl of coffee, a dish of 
gravy in which cornpone had been sopped and 
another dish on which were several beautifully 
fried "spots." On still another plate a pile of tish 
bone (no, not fish heads; you know to our colored 
friends the lish head is a "piece de resistance") told 
the story. 

Uncle Gus Cornick, for this he told us was his 
name, is a darkie of 'fore the war. He was proud of 
his name. With a great flourish of his gnarled old 
hand he summed the matter up thusly to his own 
entire satisfaction : "Y'all knows who de Cornicks 
is !" Strange, isn't it, why the colored people in- 
variably chose distinguished names for their own 
when freedom came, but rarely ever took the name 
of his former master? Well, Uncle Gus was quite 
talkative, and laid himself out to entertain. He 
complimented the male member of us on his beauty 
and family "favor." Then he launched out further 
into his own history. Which is something like this : 

Seventy-nine winters have whitened his hair, 
his eyes are not so clear, his mouth is as guiltless 
as a new-born babe's of teeth, but I tell you his 
back is erect and his shoulders square. His present 
wife is not his first wife. The "ole 'oman" died 
forty-two years ago. Uncle Gus claims that he was 
so crushed that for six months he didn't even "look 
at no wimmen folks." He need not have told us 
the present wife was of a newer generation, for all 
the while we had been chatting she had remained 
seated peeling green apples. Trying to establish 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 73 

more cordial relations with her b}' means of dis- 
playing a knowledge of housekeeping, the female 
member of us asked if she were not preparing to 
make apple pie. The old man piped up, "N'm, it's 
gwine be bile dumplins'. I alius has 'em, and fried 
chicken, too, on Fou'th o' July !" This food for the 
gods he hospitably offered us, if we could dash 
around that way about twelve o'clock. 

Uncle Gus electrified us by saying he w^as the 
father of fifty-seven children. You may imagine 
our exclamations ! He insisted he was right, if we 
counted "the three sets." In trying to unravel the 
snarl of the fifty-seven varieties in three sets, this 
was the answer. He had seven children of his own, 
these with their children and the childrens' chil- 
dren, three generations, gave the total. But he in- 
sisted that surely he was the father of them all, if 
you counted the three sets. Would this be a prob- 
lem in genealogy, arithmetic or biology.^ 

Another item in his conversation was of much 
real interest. The old man said he had sent "all 
his seven head, 'scusin' one, to free school with slate 
and book." He had always been a farm "hand," 
and had never earned on an average over sixty 
dollars per month. Is Uncle Gus a model in thrift 
or ingenuity, I ask you.? 

This house is one of the tw^o left in the county 
of the type story-and-half, brick ends, sharp roof. 
The bonding of the brick is Flemish, one chimney 
is inside, one outside. A part of the weathering on 
the first setoff in the south end (the outside 
chimney would be on the south!) has fallen away, 
thereby giving a chance for seeing how^ the mortar 




Huggins Hi)iivt' at present \ill:im' dt I.ynnhaven 




North end nt Hul;!j;iis House 




Stairway in Huggins House 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 75 

was put into the crevasses before the bricks were 
laid flat as weathering. Uncle Gus was very eager 
to have his picture taken. In preparation he took 
down his clothes line, threw aside the garments 
which were sunning on the line, then posed him- 
self. Of the result you may be the judge. 

The measurements of chimney, fireplace, &c., 
are in accord with the measures of the similar parts 
of houses already discussed. The outside chimney 
is 48" deep, 9'3" broad at the base; height of house 
to eaves 9'. The flreplace in the south end is 7' 
wide, 55" high in a room with an 8' ceiling; the 
fireplace in the north end is 6' wide and about the 
same height as the southern. There are two rooms 
downstairs. At the front door one enters the larger 
room. Opposite is the back door, by which is a 
stair to the space under the roof. The stairs go up 
on the left with one turn, and are exposed. The 
old doors, hinges, banister rail, in fact all the original 
woodwork is there. In the north end at each side 
of the chimney are closets whose doors form a part 
of the interior panelling in that end. In each closet 
is one of the small nearly square windows observ- 
able in the picture of the north end of the house. 

Now just a word about the history of the place. 
It is the property of young Melvin Gimbert, son of 
Mr. Harvey Gimbert of Lynnhaven. It was devised 
to Melvin by his maternal grandfather, E. E. 
Brooker, who came to the county from New York 
state about 1890. 

In this house Mr. Jim Smith of London Bridge 
set up housekeeping before the new Cape Henry 
Lighthouse was built. His father, Bartholomew 



76 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Smith, whose wife was Mary Frances, owned the 
place for some years. And from a search of the 
records as they relate to this title we find that Bar- 
tholomew Smith's father was Ezekiel Smith ; his 
mother's name was Keziah. Ezekiel was the son 
of a John Smith. Mary Frances Smith had a sister, 
Margaret Wilkins, wife of Peter Wilkins. Mary 
Frances and Margaret were daughters of Sarah 
Burgess. In the deed which these sisters make Sarah 
is called the widow of Charles Burgess, she was 
formerly a Carraway. When Mary Frances and 
Margaret owmed the property in 1835 Peter Land, 
John N. Walke and Henry Keeling were their near 
neighbors. 

The land on which Peter Land lived he heired 
from his father Hillary Land. Hillary Land mar- 
ried the widow Gardner. She had been Elizabeth 
Huggins, widow of William Huggins, and as such 
was administering on the Huggins estate when she 
married Gardner. Mr. Gardner did not live long. 
Then she married Hillary Land. Evidently the ex- 
widow Huggins liked the Huggins property, because 
Hillary Land bought three portions of it from 
Elizabeth Archer Shepherd (wife of John Shep- 
hard), Mary Archer and Margaret Archer Fer- 
guson. The three Archer sisters lived in Norfolk. 
They were nieces of a William Huggins, from whom 
they heired the farm. 

The tract of Huggins land in which our chief 
interest lies adjoined the tract that Hillary Land 
bought. On it was the very old house that we be- 
lieve was the property and home of Philip Huggins. 
When Robert Huggins made his will in 1753, he 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 77 

devised to his son Nathaniel his father PhiHp's 
plantation of 150 acres. Twenty years later Na- 
thaniel made a will, leaving to his wife Sarah for 
life his plantation. In 1808 Sarah died. Some of 
her furniture she bequeathed to her granddaughter 
Sarah Huggins Carraway. 

When Charles Burgess married it was Sarah 
Carraway who became his wife. On the land books, 
when the 150 acres of the widow Sarah Huggins 
go off the book, the land is charged to Charles 
Burgess. We feel these records prove that the land 
which had been the Philip Huggins plantation thus 
came to Mary Frances Smith and Margaret Wil- 
kins, daughters of Sarah Burgess, widow of Charles 
Burgess, and by them was sold to Bartholomew 
Smith, whose wife was one of the sisters. 

Old Philip Huggins did not make a will, but 
his inventory and appraisal are recorded as of 1727 
with his wife Margaret administering thereon. We 
could not find any record of Philip Huggins as a 
purchaser of land. But when Nicolas Huggins died 
in 1691/2, after devising certain land to grand- 
children by the names of Jameson and Colings, he 
left the rest of his land to his cousin Philip Hug- 
gins. Thus we know that Philip Huggins was in 
the county of Princess Anne and owning property 
before 1692. And so, you see, we were justified in 
the start when we told you that a certain little 
old house near the Virginia Beach Boulevard was 
an old, old house, when we were a very new Re- 
public. 

As the crow flies it is not far across the fields 
in a southeasterly direction from the Huggins home 



78 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



to a small wooden bridge over a little stream some- 
times called London Bridge Creek. This location, 
since the earliest days, has been named London 
Bridge. Crossing the bridge and turning sharply 
to the right over a second bridge, this time within 
a fenced held, on a hill to the left is the home of 
Mrs. Perkins, widow of Dr. R. C. Perkins. This 
house, like the one we have just left, has two brick 
ends, with frame front and rear. Here the simi- 




London Bridge Creek, head of Eastern Branch Lynnhaven River 




■ k-t- 







"^I9^f 



Home of Mrs. R. C. Perkins, London Bridge 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 79 

larity ceases, for, unlike the Huggins house, this 
home has been revamped and enlarged, not once, 
but several times. In this evolution a sharp roof 
story-and-half house has become full two story in 
front with an elongated roof in the rear covering 
an addition whose first floor area is quite as great 
as the ground area of the original building. 

Mrs. Perkins is one of four sisters (Mrs. Per- 
kins, Mrs. James, Mrs. Spence, Mrs. White) all 
daughters of James Edward Land. Their father 
planted four cedar trees in front of the house, 
naming one tree for each daughter. There are three 
trees living, and the names are the names of the 
three living sisters. 

James Edward Land bought this plantation of 
300 acres from Bennett Land in 1840. Bennett 
Land's wife was Sarah Gaskins, sister of James 
Gaskins, from whom Bennett Land and his wife 
purchased the tract. In 1802 James Gaskins had 
married Nancy Shephard. There is a tradition that 
this couple built the house when they married. 
This we do not believe because the original end 
of the house shows a type of brickwork of a much 
earlier time. 

The Gaskins were living in the London Bridge 
neighborhood as early as the middle of the eigh- 
teenth century, having purchased land from the 
Reelings prior to 1750. It has been difl"icult to 
trace this particular acreage because it was devised 
in several generations of the Gaskins, not by acre- 
age, but by chopped lines of trees, a portion north 
or south, as the case might be, of London Bridge 
Creek, where it flows under the bridge. 



80 Old Houses in Princess Anne 



Of the following items we are sure: London 
Bridge Creek is the head water of the Eastern 
Branch of the Lynnhaven ; this territory was in- 
cluded in one of the grants to Capt. Adam Keel- 
ing; in 1756 Job Gaskins gave to his son Lemuel 
the tract on the north side of the road that leads 
to London Bridge, beginning at the foot of the 
bridge and along the meanders of the creek that 
part it from the land of Mr. Robinson &c., back 
to London Bridge; at the same time son Charles 
is given the lands to the south; Charles Gaskins 
wills to his son George his plantation; in 1837 
James Gaskins sells to Bennett Land 300 acres 
running under London Bridge inherited from his 
(Gaskins) father, George Gaskins. 

The two gable ends of the front portion of the 
house, as it stands today, show conclusively by 
the bonding of the brick and the mortar used, that 
the construction took place years apart. It may be 
that one end became unsound, was torn down and 
rebuilt along a newer pattern. Perhaps this may 
account for the tradition that the James Gaskins, 
whose wife was Nancy Shepherd, did the build- 
ing. The newer end is of a period not antedating 
1800. It is most probable that at this time the house 
became a full two stories, the additions on the rear 
coming from time to time as the family grew, or 
some other exigency, made the enlargement of the 
roof tree appear an economic family need. 

About forty years ago the ship "Dictator" went 
ashore near Virginia Beach. It was during a fear- 
ful storm. There are two relics preserved in the 
county from the wreck, one is the ship's bell. It is 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 81 

hanging close under the eaves about midway in 
front of the old house in which Mrs. Perkins lives, 
the oldest part of which house was built by a Gas- 
kins, we believe Job Gaskins, prior to his death in 
1756. The other relic of the "Dictator" is the old 
figurehead, so long time familiar sight near the 
ocean at Seventeenth Street, Virginia Beach. In 
days gone by sailors set much store by the symbol 
carried just under the bowsprit. The custom seem- 
ingly has become entirely obsolete. The figurehead 
was abolished in the British navy in 1796; how- 
ever, in the U. S. navy the custom continued many, 
many years longer. Indeed the Cincinnati and Iris 
kept theirs until a few years ago when they them- 
selves were forced to give way to modern construc- 
tion necessary to meet modern needs. 

Of the nine sharp roof houses of the oldest 
style of architecture now extant in Princess Anne 
we have given, to the best of our belief, the true 
history^ of seven. The two remaining will be dis- 
cussed in later chapters, one for the reason that 
it is part of a composite of homes on the Broad 
Bay farm, and we believe it will be more interest- 
ing to talk about this composite as a sequence of 
buildings, rather than as disjointed units. The other 
house is at Kempsville, the only old town left in 
the county. It seems but fair to group in one chapter 
all the places of interest in and about the village. 




Chapter VII 

UCCEEDING the sharp roof, story-and- 
half phase of building in Princess Anne 
there is an interlude around 1725-35, in 

' which span two homes, each of an un- 



usual type, were built. Next to these we find the 
homes built of the gambrel roof and of the Georgian 
type, according, we take it, to the taste and pocket- 
book of the builder. For the time we shall pass 
the "strange interlude" in building, and present 
some of the older of the gambrel roof type. 

It is said that one paid tax in colonial times 
on a dwelling in ratio to the number of stories 
under the roof. This is often given as an explana- 
tion of the extreme popularity of the gambrel roof 
as a successor to the sharp roof, when our colonial 
gentlemen and their good wives felt the need of 
more space in the sleeping quarters of the family. 
For legally and technically the gambrel is a story- 
and-half, with the advantage of greater clearance 
in the overhead. 

The English form of gambrel has the pitch from 
the eaves much steeper and shorter than does the 
Dutch form. Both are adaptations of the roof 
originally designed by Francois Mansard, the dis- 
tinguished French architect of the seventeenth 
century. We are told that the gambrel was used 
in New England as early as 1680. From observa- 
tion and comparison of coincident phases of build- 
ing in Princess Anne with the dates assigned, by 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 83 

those who know, to similar buildings among our 
sister states to the north, we believe that Princess 
Anne was ever slow to adopt new modes. 

The gambrel mode was developed in Princess 
Anne with four brick walls ; with both gable ends 
of brick, front and rear of board; one gable end of 
brick, with other gable, front and rear of board ; 
all four walls of board, with massive outside chim- 
neys of brick, just as seemed most expedient, no 
doubt. Under these four variants we shall proceed 
to place the twenty-odd gambrel roof houses now 
standing in the county, every house of which was 
used as a home before 1800. 

South of the Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth 
River, on and near a creek called King's Creek, 
nowadays known as Murray's Creek, David Mur- 
ray, Michael Macoy, and William Whitehurst, each 
in his own right and name, obtained grants for land 
after 1650. David Murray and Michael Macoy were 
kin, for in his will made in 1680 Michael leaves 
his son James, one of many, by the way, in the care 
of "my father David Murrah." A patent of some 
767 acres was taken out by David Murray in 1683. 
A part of this patent became a part of the farm on 
the Indian River turnpike called "Level Green." 
This plantation was the home or manor plantation 
of the E. H. Herbert, who died in 1862. 

In 1833 E. H. Herbert began buying land in 
this neighborhood, piece after piece, until his acres 
stretched away on all sides around a quaint little 
brick house. Soon Mr. Herbert built immediately 
in front of this old house a very handsome home, 
typical of the "ante-bellum" days in Virginia. Since 



84 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

then the new house on "Level Green" has com- 
pletely overshadowed the one in which lawyer 
Handcock lived and raised a family in the years 
preceding and during the American Revolution. 
But we believe the brick house is even older than 
that. 

In 1736 Richard Standley and his wife Mary, 
who was a sister of John Murray, and with him 
coparcenor, sold 180 acres of land south of the 
Eastern Branch to William Handcock. By follow- 
ing this title we found it to be a part of the David 
Murray tract as above related. In this record we 
found no mention of a house. But Mr. Handcock 
in 1752 bought from Benj. Dingley Grey 102 Vl 
acres on which there was a house. This tract Mr, 
Grey had bought from Thomas Bolitho, to whom 
it came from his father John Bolitho, who bought 
a part of the Michael Macoy patent. On this tract 
there was a house, probably the Bolitho home. 

The William Handcock who made the above 
purchases made a will in 1759, leaving all his land 
south of the Elizabeth River in Princess Anne to his 
son William. Out of this devise emerged a 200- 
acre tract with house, which by various changes in 
ownership, in the course of the next fifty years after 
the decease of son William, became the property of 
E. H. Herbert. 

\\ illiam Handcock, son of William, made a will 
in 1782. From this we learn that his wife was Anne, 
his children were John, to whom he left the home 
plantation ; William, to whom he left a tract called 
the "Denn;" Simon, Tully, to whom he bequeathed 
his law books, and a daughter Anne Robinson 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 85 

Handcock. In ten years John Handcock sold to 
"Pade" Parker 200 acres whereon his father Wil- 
Ham Handcock had resided. Passing quickly through 
several ownerships, one of which was a David 
Murray, the circuit, or rather chain, links with the 
point at which we started, E. H. Herbert. 

Mr. Herbert died in 1862, leaving a wife Mar- 
garet; a daughter, Mrs. Laura McAlpine; Abner 
T., whose wife was Charlotte; an infant daughter, 
Ellen C. ; daughters Alice and Mary N. ; a son, 
Arthur E. ; a sister, Ellen Tatem. Mrs. McAlpine 
is still well remembered in Norfolk, singing, even 
at the age of more than ninety, delightful little 
songs in her own charming way, on occasions when 
friends of her younger days met together in cele- 
brations. Abner T. Herbert was the gallant Con- 
federate soldier, better known as "Buck" Herbert, 
who died in 1929 at the ripe old age of eighty-live. 

The old house on "Level Green," which was 
probably used as the home of the Handcocks for a 
longer period than by any of the other owners, had 
originally two rooms downstairs, from one of which 
the steps lead to the rooms above. A room was 
added, most probably for the kitchen or dining 
room. This we say on account of the large fire- 
place. 

All the walls are brick, 9" thick, Flemish bond- 
ing, with gambrel roof. The sills are hewn and 
pegged. The fireplace is 5'3" wide, the ceilings in 
the two-room part downstairs are 6' 4", in the ad- 
dition the ceiling is 6'. Probably Mr. Handcock 
made the addition. Having five children it would 
seem that the new room was a necessity. 



86 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




The old brick house on Level Ciieen 



As we said, Mr. Herbert built the later house, 
whose date we hx at 1833, for the reason that Mrs. 
Wilson tells us that her father ("Buck" Herbert) 
told her he was born in the new house in 1844, 
some nine years after it was built by his father. 
It is entirely probable that John Bolitho built this 
for his home, his son Thomas selling it to Benj. 
Dingley Grey. 

There is such a feeling of satisfaction in finding 
that from the coming to Virginia of Henry Wood- 
house in 1637 even to the present day the Wood- 
house family of Virginia in a large measure has 
stayed by its ancestral hearthstones. The five hun- 
dred acres granted to Henry Woodhouse in 1637 is 
described as being within the mouth of the second 
bay proceeding from the Long Creek on the east- 
ward side of Chesapeake. We take this as locating 
his land below Broad Bay and on Linkhorn Bay. 
The acres stretched away to the westward and north 
of Wolf's Snare. We understand from Wx. Shep- 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 87 

herd Woodhouse of Princess Anne that a portion 
of this tract remained in the family until a very 
few years ago. However, there are many members 
of the family living on beautiful farms in and near 
this location. A family, which, through some nine 
or ten generations, stays home, remaining during 
the passing centuries among the first families, is 
of more than passing interest. 

Capt. Henry Woodhouse, son of Sir Henry of 
Waxham and Anne, his wife, daughter of Sir 
Nicholas Bacon, the Lord Keeper, was at one time 
governor of Bermuda. Capt. Henry claimed that 
Charles the First promised him the governorship 
of Virginia, and accordingly made petition to the 
king in 1634/5 for a fulfillment of the promise. 
Doomed to disappointment he purchased land in 
Bermuda and was governor of that island. This 
land he had purchased he left by will to his son 
Henry. This son Henry was born about 1607, and 
he or his father (the record is not clear) settled in 
Virginia in 1637. There is a will probated in 1655 
distributing to the sons and daughters of Henr}' 
Woodhouse Virginia and Bermuda possessions. 
This Henry's wife was named Maria; the sons 
were Henry, Horatio, John, William ; daughters 
were Elizabeth, Mary who married Edward Att- 
wood, Rachel and probably Judith. 

In 1640 we find Henry W^oodhouse a vestry- 
man of Linhaven Parish. From volume 1, page 140, 
foot note 2, of Mr. Edward James' Lower Norfolk 
Coufity Antiquary we take the following interest- 
ing item. "At the present time, May the first, 1896, 
after a lapse of 256 years, three of the descendants 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



of Henry Woodhouse bearing his name are ves- 
trymen of the Eastern Shore Chapel, Princess Anne 
County (buih 1754), Judge John J. Woodhouse, 
Jonathan Woodhouse and Maj. John T. Wood- 
house." Of the three gentlemen just named, Mr. 
Jonathan Woodhouse is still living, making his 
home in Norfolk with his daughter, Mrs. J. W\ C. 
West (Adelaide Woodhouse). 

At least three generations of Jonathan Wood- 
houses made their home in the house now owned 
by Mr. Willie Butt. We know that a Captain 
Jonathan was the son of Major Jonathan, son of 
Captain William, Sr, On each side of the front of 
this home are the letters, W.W.P. 1760. 

From the description in deeds of an adjoining 
property we know that in 1756 Horatio Woodhouse 
(one of the many) bounded a certain fifty-acre 
tract on the east. When this same acreage changed 
owners in 1788 Captain Jonathan is recorded as 
on the eastern boundar>\ It has been disappoint- 
ing to us not to be able to prove conclusively that 




Jonathan Woodhouse Plantation Home, 1760 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 89 

Capt. William Woodhouse, whose wife was Pem- 
brook, built the home. In this we have not been 
successful. 

This building is of the decidedly Dutch gam- 
brel. The angle at the eaves is more acute than the 
corresponding angle in any of the other gambrel 
houses now standing in Princess Anne. All four 
walls are of brick, Flemish bond, and 14''' thick. 
The height of the walls on the outside from the 
ground to the eaves is 12'. The two rooms (there 
is no hall) on the first floor measure 10' to the 
ceiling. The front and rear windows are deeply 
recessed. Each measures 38" in width, 6'8" in height. 
The mantles are very high with narrow shelf. A 
pretty chairboard, wide floor planks, old doors with 
H & L wrought iron hinges, lead one to believe 
that the original woodwork has been preserved 
through the years. The wood is all heart pine. 

The house faces east, the south end to the lane 
leading to the main road. The larger room is on 
the south and it is into this that the front door 
gives entrance. By means of a blind stairway in 
the smaller room on the north one goes above to 
the rooms directly under the gambrel. In the room 
immediately reached there is a brick well by the 
chimney, beneath the floor. This well is several feet 
deep. Very probably it was made for the safe keep- 
ing of valuables. 

The strange hiding place and the Dutch gambrel 
make this house just a little different, stimulating 
one's imagination to find the answer to the whim 
that caused the Woodhouse (Mr., Capt., or Maj..'') 
to build differently. 



90 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Maybe \\'olf' s Snare was lirst called Oliver Van 
Hick's Creek — sometimes spelled Yan Hick's. In 
1651 Ensign Thomas Keeling patented 700 acres 
on Oliver V an Hick's Creek. Where this creek was, 
seemed for a long time to defy solution. No map 
would divulge the secret, no amount of searching 
lessened the mystery. Crossword puzzles are as 
child's play in comparison with seeking the answer 
to some of the land problems which arise in trac- 
ing ow^nership in these early days. Many times the 
name given to a location remained unchanged dur- 
ing the years. Sometimes the name changed with 
each new owner's whim. Then it is only by accident 
one stumbles on the key. 

Just such a piece of luck did we have in tracing 
the title of a very pretty old house known as the 
Jacob Hunter home. In the chain we found two 
loose ends which linked perfectly. 

In 1843 Jacob Hunter bought from John James 
and his wife Mary a 300-acre tract known as 
"Pallets." For this Mr. Hunter traded a house in 
town valued at $2,000, a negro girl valued at $250, 
and $250 in cash. This two thousand dollar house 
was in the city of Norfolk and was the property of 
his wife and his wife's mother. As its name indicates 
the tract he brought was part of the Pallet planta- 
tion of 600 acres, which was devised by John Pallet 
in 1719 to his son John. He calls it the Wolf's Snare 
Plantation. 

The second John, in 1777, divides the 600 acres 
between two sons, Matthew and John. John gets 
the western side. W^e believe that A-latthew's part 
had the house on it, because the will set forth that 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 91 

the mother was to have the use, during her widow- 
hood, of the place, the furniture, utensils, &c. 

There were three other sons beside Matthew 
and John. They were to be cared for during child- 
hood. These infant children were William, "Henery" 
and Gisborn. There was also an unborn child. The 
onl\' daughter was Elizabeth Cannon. Father John 
in his will desires that his wife "bring up and 
Scout ni}' )'oungest children." Just what the term 
"Scout" implied we are at a loss to know. 

The Matthew Pallet known as senior in the 
first quarter of the nineteenth century, sold the 
plantation to his son Matthew, Jr. for $1,000. It 
was from the heirs of this Matthew Pallet that Mr. 
James bought the estate bounded by Wolf's Snare 
for $1,395. At that time, 1836, George M. Lovett 
was living here. This, of course, was prior to the 
time at which George M. came into his part of his 
grandfather Lovett's plantation and Stratton Island. 
Of this we will tell you more in a later chapter. 

No doubt }'ou are wondering what this has to 
do with Oliver \'an Hick's Creek. In 1714 Adam 
Keeling sold to John Pallet the Wolf's Snare 
Plantation of 600 acres, all that was left of a patent 
of 700 acres formerly granted to the said Adam's 
grandfather, whereon his (Adam's) deceased father 
lived, being bounded by Wolf's Snare Creek and 
marshes. 

In 1651 Ensign Thomas Keeling patented 700 
acres on Oliver Van Hick's Creek. John Keeling, 
son of Capt. Adam, son of Ensign Thomas, in 1682 
patented 2,137 acres in the Parish of Lynnhaven, 
700 acres of which being on Oliver Van Hick's 



92 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



Creek. In his will Capt. Adam leaves a certain 
1,400-acre tract to his son John, provided John 
make out unto his brother Adam Keeling a "di- 
vident or tract of Land about 2000 acres Lately 
pattented in the name & to the use of my said Sone 
Jno. Keeling, being that land that now my mother 
lives on and called London Bridge." And so it 
comes about that if the patent for 700 acres each 
time named the creek as Oliver Van Hick, then, 
when two generations later an Adam Keeling sells 
the remaining 600 acres of the patent, he calls the 
creek "Wolf's Snare," we feel justified in the con- 
clusion that the name had changed during the lifty 
years the Keelings had been living in the county. 
Even today Wolf's Snare and London Bridge are 
so called. Let us hope that they may so continue 
to be named. 

The house on Pallets, or Wolf's Snare Planta- 
tion, or the Jacob Hunter farm, was surely built 
by the Pallets, probably by the John who died in 
1777. Today there is an unmistakable air of for- 




I'allci^, or Wolf's Snare Plantation 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 93 

lornness about the house as the colored tenant shows 
you around. He seems to recognize the fact that 
the home has seen better days. 

There are four brick walls of Flemish bonding, 
which, sad to relate, at some time were white- 
washed. This coating now has a pinkish tinge, not 
becoming, we assure you, to the complexion of the 
handsome old bricks. Above the four walls is a 
gambrel roof, the pitch of which is very, very steep 
— almost perpendicular. Beneath is a cellar, half 
above ground, with a sleek clay floor. 

Notice to what height the chimney stacks rise 
above the roof. There is a large hall with well 
proportioned stairway; one room downstairs on 
each side of the hall ; the same plan obtains on the 
second floor. All the old mantelpieces have been 
taken out, and that, of course, detracts from the 
beauty one has a right to expect. From the picture 
it is ver>' obvious that a doorway by the south 
chimney has been bricked-in in recent years, thus 
made into a window. It is more than probable that 
this was the way to the outside kitchen. The line 
old trees in the yard go a long way toward helping 
one conjure up a picture of what the place was in 
its hey-day. 

Jacob Hunter's widow became Sarah A. Cor- 
nick. When she sold the plantation she reserved a 
burying ground for her and her family in the "rear 
of the Manor House." 

There is another house of whose date of build- 
ing we are sure. It is the home of Francis Ackiss, 
on the Pungo Ridge road. This locality is now 
called "Blossom Hill." 



94 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



A very pretty conceit accounts for the name. In 
the spring of the year there is a veritable riot of 
color, exquisitely beautiful, when the tender foliage 
is just putting out, and the buds and the blossoms 
of the many wild flowers hereabouts flaunt them- 
selves in gay array beside the road. People familiar 
with the section make the trip annually and are 
always repaid by the lavish display nature has 
provided in this festival of blossoms. 

The Ackiss home, not so large as some, meas- 
uring 19'2"x32'3", is set well back from the road, 
and faces the west. The walls are all brick, Flemish 
bond, of 19" thickness, with gambrel roof. On the 
southern gable are the letters F. A. 1782. In this 
year Francis Ackiss bought an acreage on Pungo 
Ridge, and from the legend on the house, we believe 
he immediately set about his building. 

In the southern room downstairs (there are 
two rooms down — two upstairs) is a pine corner 
closet. We were told it was made for the first mis- 
tress of the home. It is considered a part of the 




/ ■ ■■■■I ' 3 kkx '^i . -. 

Francis Ackiss Home, Blossom Hill, 17S2 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 95 

premises and ma>' not be removed. This house, in 
its dilapidation, has not even the softening influ- 
ence of trees in the }'ard. 

The property has for many, many years be- 
longed to a Fentress estate. It has been rented from 
year to year, changing tenants frequently. There 
is such a difi^erence in the aspect of a building when 
it is a veritable home and when it is only a house 
in which someone sojourns for a term of years as 
one of a succession of tenants. 

The Ackiss family is also one of the oldest 
families in the county, and one that has always 
been prominent in church and civil affairs. Col. 
John Ackiss was a vestryman of Lynnhaven Parish 
in 1772. John Ackiss was a member of the Princess 
Anne Committee of Safety in 1775. 

Passing to the other extreme, we shall next tell 
)'ou of a house which is probably the largest and 
also the best known of all the gambrel type homes. 
Before examining this title we were prepared to 
be led by our research into the history of almost 
any of the old families of the county. We had heard 
this plantation referred to as the ancestral home 
of so many different families. 

When this was the home of the Francis Lands 
the village nearest was London Bridge, the Virginia 
Beach Boulevard, at this point, was the "Kemps- 
ville road to London Bridge." Across the road was 
the William Hunter Plantation (Mr. W. G. Win- 
ter's home is on a part of the Hunter plantation, 
we think), and here began the road leading down 
Little Neck to the Glebe. In Order Book No. 7, 
under the date of 1757, Francis Thorowgood Land 



96 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

petitioned the court to close the road that led from 
Robert Huggin's plantation on the south side of 
the said Land's plantation to the main road. 

Before Renatres, or Renatus, Land made a will 
in 1680, while living "in Linhaven Pish, Lower 
Norfolk County, in Virg".," there was a Francis 
Land in the parish. At a court sitting in 1647, 
Francis Land was made a warden of Lynnhaven 
Parish. In 1654 he patented 1,020 acres of land. 
Renatus Land had a brother Francis, so he says 
in his will. 

In 1736 a Francis Land had a son, Francis 
Thorowgood Land. This son lived on the place we 
are discussing, and we believe he built the house. 
Francis M. Land (son of Francis Thorowgood 
Land) was the next owner of this plantation of 
689 acres. On the death of Francis M., in a chancery 
suit, the plantation was divided between his two 
daughters. To Anne Land was set aside 389 acres 
to the westward along the road ; to John N. Walke, 
whose wife was Mary E. Land, was set aside 300 
acres with the house, known as the "home tract." 
This home tract passed from the Walke family 
when the late Dr. Frank Anthony Walke, of Nor- 
folk, sold to John Petty. 

As we have said, this is probably the largest of 
all the gambrels. There are four rooms, two on 
each side of a wide hall, on the first floor. In the 
cellar, or to be more exact basement, which extends 
under the whole house, there are two fireplaces. A 
brick wall runs from the front to the back, dividing 
the basement into two parts, a doorway in this wall 
connecting them. This partition is continuous as a 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



97 



wall on up between the hall and rooms on the 
main floor. Mrs. R. G. DeFrees, the present 
owner, discovered this while doing some wiring 
when modernizing the house. It w^as she who 
pointed out this feature to us. 

All four brick walls are done in Flemish bond, 
they are 18" thick, and from the ground to eaves 
measure 14'7" in height. The timbers are hewn 
10x10 inches, cut nails, blacksmith made, where 
nails were used at all, appear in the wood. The roof 
has been raised, windows and doors changed and 
enlarged, a new uncovered porch added in front, 
all these tend to lessen the appearance of age in 
the building. Also much of the interior has been 
renewed. 

Besides being an old family, the Lands were 
important persons as well. A Francis Land was a 
Justice of the Court as early as 1728. Capt. Francis 
Land was a vestryman of Lynnhaven Parish in 
1723 — warden in 1728; Capt. Francis Thorowgood 
Land was vestryman in 175^1 — w^arden in 1758. 




Francis Land Home 



98 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Francis Thorowgood Land was dead by 1760, 
leaving a son Francis M. Mr. Perin Moseley 
administered on the estate. Since in 1753 we find 
the father, Francis Thorowgood Land, adding 
substantially to his acres by buying one-half of a 
670-acre tract, formerly the property of Edward 
Land, we believe that shortly thereafter he built 
the big house. 

In such spacious surroundings, maybe under 
the old elm in the yard, one can easily picture this 
home as the scene of lavish hospitality, taking the 
form of fox hunt, perhaps, followed at night by a 
ball. Remember that at this ball the music will be 
furnished by one or two "fiddlers." Perhaps the 
"fiddlers" will be "darkies" from the "quarters." 
Can you see the young folks as they dance the 
Virginia reel? Of course near midnight supper will 
be served. Tables groaning under the weight of the 
meat supper will be cleared away, and then the 
sweets appear. Life in Virginia then was beautiful! 
And in some parts it still is. 

In the remaining pages of this chapter we shall 
tell you of the homes of the Murrays, all within a 
stone's throw of each other, all of the gambrel type, 
with Flemish bonding of brick in all four walls. 
These houses are in the neighborhood where David 
Murray the first came about 1650; that is to say, 
on the western side of the county, close to the 
Norfolk County line, and south of the Elizabeth 
River. 

This David had several sons, among them was 
John. It is this John Murray, we believe, who 
made a will in 1731, making devises and bequests 




Richard Murra\' Hdine (in Kiiisi's ( rttk 




':^^"- ^^j. -^m^i. 



1780 The two houses Isaac Murray built for his son- 



1791 




Thomas Murray Home, 1791 



100 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

to certain grandsons, one of whom was a Richard. 
By 1777 this Richard Murray, having acquired by 
purchase certain acres, and evidently having built 
himself a home thereon, devised to his only son, 
Isaac, his plantation. 

Although the acres are not so extensive, the 
location on King's, or Murray's, Creek is very, very 
pretty. Here is the most complete colonial estab- 
lishment anywhere existing today in this county ; 
the "Manor House," root and smoke house, quarter 
kitchen and warehouse. Just across the creek, on 
just as pretty a cove, is the home of Isaac's son, 
Thomas. Nearer the main road and south of the 
Manor House are two more houses, most probably 
built by Isaac. One house is generally called the 
home of Isaac's son, the other the quarter kitchen. 
Frankly we think they were both homes that Isaac 
the elder built for his sons, one in 1780, the other 
in 1791. We name these dates for the reason that 
they are the years etched, each on the side of a 
house. Accompanying the 1780 date are the letters 
F. D. Isaac had a son David, maybe David's wife's 
name began with an F. 

The home tract of 276 acres, although there 
were three houses on it, w^as not divided until 1846 
when Isaac the younger, who had heired the whole 
plantation from his father Isaac in 1814, had died. 
One house with 115 acres was set aside to one son, 
the other house with 161 acres was set aside to the 
other son. The sons were Elijah and Elisha. This 
division is made on the land books. Therefore we 
can only tell you that judging from the tax the 
division w^as supposedly an equality. One son 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 101 

received the Manor House with all the buildings 
attached thereto, the other received the tract on 
which were the two houses. 

The interior of the Richard Murray house, in 
which Mr. J. A. Shumadine lives, has been much 
changed in plan during the passing years, although 
in the west end the panelling remains. The ceilings 
downstairs measure 9'5", upstairs they are only 6^ 
The old floor boards are eight and nine inches in 
width. There are several old doors still to be seen 
with the old hinges. 

The combination roothouse and smokehouse is 
just behind the Manor House. Some one hundred 
feet away is the quarter kitchen with its huge 
chimneys and lireplaces, the stacks of the chim- 
neys, however, are not tall. Behind the quarter 
kitchen at a little distance is a slight indentation 
from the cove of the creek. Near this is the ware- 
house 45x9. At first we thought it was a tobacco 
warehouse. And yet, why should there be so large 
a one on private property? Princess Anne was 
never very successful in growing tobacco. While 
reading old records of the Murrays we accidentally 
stumbled on the fact that the Murrays set much 
store by their flax pond. From this fact, and the 
fact of the warehouse we evolved this theory — take 
it or leave it. 

It would appear that the cove at this point was 
called the pond and it was used for retting the flax 
grown on the family acres. In order to separate the 
fibre from flax it was necessary to soak the flax 
thoroughly, causing maceration to the point at 
which a hackle could be used to remove the fibre 




Ouarter kitchen and end of Manor House of Richard Murray 




j^'^"* 



Smokehouse and roothouse on Murray plantation 




Flax drying house on Murray Plantation 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 103 

from the tow. The fibre, when so removed, was 
then stored in the warehouse of many vents to dry. 
Since Norfolk has ever been the safest of harbors, 
and since much of shipbuilding and ship repairs 
have ever been a leading industry, it seems reas- 
onable to believe that the Murrays found a ready 
sale for rope, the product of the family's industry, 
among the shipmasters in port. 

Anyhow, they had money and believed in hav- 
ing good homes. There are substantial witnesses 
to this fact in the houses as they are today. 

As early as 1792 Isaac Murray bought from 
Dingley Grey, son of Benj. Dingley Grey, certain 
acres that the father Grey had devised to son 
Dingley in 1784. Benjamin Dingley Grey had 
come to Princess Anne from Northampton County 
about the middle of the eighteenth century. Mr. 
Grey was a Tor>' and during the Revolution was 
tried for treason. 

The construction of the house on this tract 
which father Isaac left to son Thomas, is much the 
same as the Manor House across the creek. The 
interior is different in that there is a hall with a 
very pretty stairway. Each house is built well up 
from the ground before the first floor is laid; pro- 
viding space for cellar. Each house is in clear view 
of the other across the water, although the road 
around is long and rough. Here were deep water 
and sand beach used for bathing up to twenty 
years ago. 

Coming back across the creek to the western 
side and the Manor House, just south are the other 
two houses, built by the father for his sons. We 



104 Old Houses in Princess Anne 



feel sure they were separate establishments, cer- 
tainly for a time, because in the smaller, the one 
built in 1791, there is a hand carved mantel. This 
by no means was intended to be a kitchen. These 
two houses are now owned by Mr. J. N. Phillips. 
Here he makes his home. This place is splendidly 
preserved as is Mr. Shumadine's. All of which goes 
to prove what attractive homes these old places 
make, if one appreciates and really cares for them. 
Mr. Phillips' houses are smaller than the Manor 
House, or the house of son Thomas across the creek. 
It is 38' across the front, which, by the way, we 
think was originally the back, and 19'5" in depth. 
Unlike the other houses this one is built close to 
the ground, rising to a height of 10'8" at the eaves. 
These walls are 16" thick. 

And so from the Murrays and their homes on 
the Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth River, on the 
south side thereof, at a creek called Kings, we turn 
again to the Eastern Shore of Lynnhaven Parish 
to hear of the Cornicks and a house they built long, 
long ago. 




Chapter VIII 

I HE third famil}' of a triumvirate of early 
colonists whose descendants are still liv- 
ing in Princess Anne, is the Cornick 
family. Simond Cornick, or Cornix, as 
we find the spelling in the oldest records, did not 
arrive at quite as early a date as the Woodhouses 
and Reelings, but his generations have impressed 
themselves in no less prominent and vital a way 
on the community. 

On May 16, 1653, Mr. Simond Cornix was in 
attendance on the Lower Norfolk County Court, 
so says the record in Book C of Norfolk County 
Clerk's Office at Portsmuth, V^irginia. There are 
two entries made on that day which show his 
presence. The one on page 46 is of most interest 
to us, for it records the granting of a certificate for 
650 acres due Simond Cornix for bringing into the 
Colony thirteen persons. 

Quoting from this entry we find the following 
names of persons whose passage was paid by Mr, 
Cornick: Jane, Martha, William and Thomas 
Cornix, Jane Simons, William Patreme, George 
Lawson, Plummer Bray, John Jennings, John 
Sealy, Thomas Gregory, John Turner and John 
Brock. 

A most diligent search has failed to reveal a 
patent for these acres in the name of Simon, nor 
have we been able to find any conveyance to or 
from him, to or from any person. However, we 
did find that son William and his wife Elizabeth 



106 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

made a deed in 1671 to Robert Bray for 500 acres 
which had belonged to his (WilUam's) father 
Simon, so the deed says. This tract was in Little 
Creek, bounded by Maj. Adam Thorowgood, Capt. 
William Moseley and the "dammes" of the said 
creek. The land had originally been granted to 
Robert Hayes and Rowland Morgan and by them 
sold to Simon Cornick. 

We do not know whom Simon married ; Wil- 
liam, Martha and Thomas were his children. 
(Jane may have been his wife). William is the 
only child whose record we have. So it is really 
from this William, we suppose, that the future 
generations came. 

In 1657 William Cornix patented 500 acres 
called "Salisbury Plains." And thank heaven it is 
still so called even today! It does seem too bad 
that we have lost, and continue to lose, so many 
of the old names — names which really had a sig- 
nificance. In this instance we are assured that the 
Cornick family came from Salisbury in England. 

The patent does not record on what ground 
William's grant was made. There is a difference of 
150 acres in the certificate of Simond and the 
grant of William. It may be that three persons died, 
did not remain in the colony, or some other 
eventuality cut the count from thirteen to ten, and 
William actually received 500 acres on his father's 
account. This is merely a suggestion as a solution 
of what happened to Simond's certificate and on 
what ground William received his grant. 

William married Elizabeth Martin, probably a 
daughter of John Martin, who was a brother of 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 107 

Joel. Notice the names of William's and Elizabeth's 
children : Martin, John, Joel, Elizabeth, Barbara, 
W illiam and Simon. With the exception of the 
name Barbara, the others are easily placed in the 
immediate family group. 

We believe we are warranted in telling you that 
William Cornick was a loving father in spite of 
making no gift to his daughter Elizabeth Cannon 
or her children. This is the basis for the statement. 
In 1683 we find him making a deed to his son 
William and to his son Simond, each for a tract 
of land, William was seated on his at the time. A 
few years later in 1692 he makes a deed of gift to 
son Joel for a part of the "Salisbury Plains" patent 
of 1657, and again he makes a similar deed, this 
time to his daughter Barbara, wife of Capt. Francis 
Morse, for about 300 acres of his 1692 patent. This 
deed was made in 1692/3. The deed says the Morses 
are then seated on this tract. 

Before the father William died in 1700 dispos- 
ing of the remainder of his property by will, his 
wife Elizabeth Martin was dead, and he had mar- 
ried Alice Ivey, widow of Thomas Vicisimas Ivey. 
Of this union there was one child, a daughter Alof. 
Of Alof we find no mention in the will. Also sons 
William and Simond w'ere dead and son Martin 
was dead in 1701. Daughter Elizabeth, wife of 
Thomas Cannon, was dead in 1684. This left Joel 
and John, surviving sons, and Barbara Morse, 
surviving daughter, as heirs. 

By the will, the home tract of 530 acres was 
divided by an east and west line, the northern 
portion being devised to son Martin, and in event 



108 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

of his death, to son John. John was the youngest 
son. To John was devised the other half of the home 
tract, the town lot at Lynnhaven and the Poplar 
Ridge tract of 230 acres. In the will Chincopin 
Ridge was divided between Joel and Barbara, Joel's 
part lying toward the south. Joel was also to have 
the young orchard and the land adjoining. 

Joel married Elizabeth Woodhouse. Their chil- 
dren were Endomion, Nimrod, William, Joel, Henry 
and Prudence. Now in 1701 Joel sold his half of 
Chincopin Ridge to Barbara and Capt. Morse. We 
do not find that he made any purchases of land. 
Therefore when he makes a will in 1727, devising 
to his son Joel his plantation, the plantation must 
have been the "Salisbury Plains" given him by his 
father in 1692. With this devise the father Joel 
imposed on the son Joel the responsibility of ". . , 
finishing the house I am now building." We believe 
this very definitely places the builder and the time 
of the building of the house now standing on 
Salisbur>' Plains, near Eastern Shore Chapel. This 
property remained in the Cornick family until 
after the death of Capt. John Cornick (son of John 
Cornick and Amey Keeling Cornick) in 1859, when 
under his will, the place was sold. And so after two 
centuries only the burying ground remained in the 
possession of the Cornicks. 

Just here, while relating the disposition the 
first Cornicks made of their lands, it may be 
pertinent to add that we have not been able to find 
record of any deed by which a part of Salisbury 
Plains was conveyed to the parish. Undoubtedly 
the Eastern Shore Chapel is built on a part of this 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 109 

tract, but vv^e hesitate to believe that William was 
the donor of the land to the parish for the reason 
that in making land gifts to his own sons and 
daughters he so meticulously makes record of the 
transaction. It would seem that he would carry out 
the same policy in his gift to the church. Also we 
doubt whether the chapel was built prior to 1700, 
which year William died. Previously we have told 
you that in 1724 the parish register notes the new 
wooden chapel at Eastern Shore. From this we 
believe that either John or Joel, or both, sons of 
William, gave the land. However, we have not been 
able to find any court record of the gift. 

To return to the house on Salisbury Plains that 
we believe Joel Cornick was building in 1727, the 
time of his death. About this time most writers on 
colonial architecture date the beginning of the 
first period of Georgian architecture. Our observa- 
tion has been that Princess Anne builders generally 
were just a few years behind the rest of the colonists 
in adopting a change in building design. May this 
be accounted for by the fact the people for the most 
part were not extremely wealthy, they had built in 
the beginning very substantial homes, many of 
them of brick. Therefore they were content with 
the home as it was, and were not eager to outdo 
each other in the elaboration of the dwellings. For 
this reason the new fashions in buildings were slow 
to reach the county. 

"Salisbury Plains" house is an unique style of 
architecture. Today there is one brick end of Flem- 
ish bonding. It is a moot question what the other 
end was at the time of building. There is strong 




Salisbury Plains, 1727 




Hall and front door, Sali>lnirv Plains, built 1727 




Parlor at Salisbury Plains 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 111 

evidence in the foundation in the cellar that the 
two ends were originally identical. On the front the 
house presents an English type of gambrel roof. 
The interesting and unusual feature is the rear of 
the roof. It starts out on a gambrel line, but is 
extended to cover a shed. The picture will give you 
a good idea of this feature, should our description 
fail. 

The stairway is a Queen Anne ; the front room 
downstairs on the north, or left of entrance, has 
very handsome panels and cornice, as has also the 
hall and room to the rear of the parlor. There still 
remain several old doors and hinges. But on going 
into the cellar comes a great thrill! For here is a 
sill, hewn of course, 12x12, or thereabouts, measur- 
ing forty feet in length. Picture to yourself that 
pine, for so it is, as it towered in the nearby woods 
at the turn of the century in 1700! Truly it must 
have been a giant to have yielded a timber of that 
size. But in those days the pine woods of old Princess 
Anne did much in the way of producing a revenue 
for the people. 

In the new series, number two, of the William 
and Mary Quarterly, volume 3, page 209, we ran 
across an article which seemed of interest. Among 
the British transcripts in the Library of Congress 
is a report by E. Jennings to the "Right Honorable 
Her Ma'tyes Lords Commissioners for Trade and 
Plantations" in the colony. The report is an answer 
to a question of the Lords Commissioners relative 
to production of pitch and tar in Virginia. The 
report in substance is : Annually in Virginia was 
produced near 3,000 barrels of pitch and tar, com- 



112 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

ing from Princess Anne and Norfolk Counties. This 
was 1704. There were 97,891 acres of patented land 
in Princess Anne and a part of Norfolk County. 
There were about 50,000 acres of low pine land, 
not "agreeable" for tobacco. This low land was of 
the "worst esteem and so little value" the people 
were forced to clothe and maintain themselves by 
the manufacture of woolens and leather, by rais- 
ing stocks, cattle and hogs. 

The report goes on to tell that the tar was made 
of knots and pieces of fallen trees, the selling price 
was ten to twelve shillings. Pitch was stored in 
"double barrels" containing thirty gallons. The 
Swedish barrel at that time contained from thirty 
to thirty-six gallons. Some of the tar and pitch were 
used for the houses and boats, some was sold to 
ship masters, some was transported to Barbadoes, 
Jamaica, and Seward Islands. Mr. Jennings rec- 
ommends as a means of encouraging the produc- 
tion of these commodities, that no custom be 
charged, that an allowance for each last that came 
from the plantation be made, there be no restraint 
or contract on account of the uncertainty of the 
voyage, that England use Virginia tar and pitch 
in her own navy in preference to the Swedish 
product. From this we get a pretty clear vision of 
how a living was being made in the county in the 
early days. Today we find conditions much changed 
as to the source of revenue. 

The Mary Washington House in Fredericks- 
burg, Virginia, has a roof ver>^ similar to the roof 
of the house we are about to discuss. In Princess 
Anne there are two houses now standing which do 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



113 



not conform to any other style of building left in 
the county — Salisbury Plains is one, the Henley 
House is the other. 

We wish actual architectural surgery were with- 
in our power, for then by removing the little frame 
kitchen on the Henle\' House the whole length of 
the slope of the rear roof would be entirely visible. 
Howe\er, b}' an imaginary cutting aw^ay try to vis- 




Henlev House 




X.^.... i^ 



Interior of Henley House 



114 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

ualize the roof as extending at the same angle for 
about the same length as appears between the two 
chimneys ; or until it bisects a perpendicular at the 
height of 8 feet from the ground at the eaves. 

This house, we judge, was built soon after 1720; 
Salisbury Plains, the other house in this group was 
being built in 1727. The Henley house is neither so 
large nor so pretentious as Salisbury Plains. 

The interior view shows the high mantel with 
very narrow shelf; the little door goes into a 
cubbyhole by the chimney side. It is evident that 
originally the stairway was in this front room, the 
partition then, probably, was behind the stairs, 
cutting off the back room under the shed. 

At the present time Mr. Fitzhugh Brown, a 
grandson of the late Carey Brown, lives here and 
manages the farm for his mother. To most of the 
older persons in this section the place is still called 
the "Henley Place," Mr. T. C. Henley having 
bought the property about 1859 and made it his 
home for a number of years. Here, from 1795 to 1815 
lived William James, father of an Emperor James 
to whom, by will, he devised the plantation. In his 
will father William says he purchased this home 
from Tully Moseley. In Moseley's deed he sells 198 
acres with house. Thomas Reynolds Walker sold 
approximately the same acreage, with the same 
description, as near Pungo Chapel with the house 
in 1777 to Moseley. Thomas Reynolds Walker was 
county surveyor, member of the vestry, and 
escheator of the county. Col. Thomas Reynolds 
Walker bought this tract with the house from James 
Mason and wife in 1767. Fourteen years prior 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 115 

Robert Mason willed to his son James his (Rob- 
ert's) home. About 1720 Robert Mason bought the 
land. From these facts we know the house was not 
here in 1720, but, that when Robert Mason died in 
1753 he had raised to legal age a son, James, to 
whom he devised the home. In every deed mention 
is made of the house on the property. 

As a matter of fact the farm is several miles 
from the old chapel site. We can think of no land- 
mark oth^r than the chapel by which, at that time, 
relative location might be fixed in this area. Pungo 
seemed to cover a vague stretch of territory be- 
tween North Bay on the Seaside, and North River 
on the west. Remember that the present Princess 
Anne Court House did not come into being until 
1824, when the geographic center of the county 
was sought for the county seat. This locality was not 
developed at so early a date as the sections on 
Lynnhaven and Little Creek. 

From the "Henley House" to a house on the 
West Neck road near Princess Anne Court House, 
is not far in a straight line to the westward. This 
house on the West Neck road is known as the 
"Zachariah Sykes" home. It was built in 1777, so 
a brick on the chimney indicates. 

More than seventy-five years elapsed between 
the building of the home and the time that Mr. 
Sykes bought it from Noah Simmons and his wife 
Franky. Mr. Simmons bought this as the estate 
of J. C. Butts, deceased, three hundred acres, with 
house. Mr. Butts had purchased two 150-acre 
tracts, each a home plantation, each adjoined the 
other, each being described as being on the West 



116 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Neck road. The first one purchased was the place 
whereon Batson Murden died, it being then in the 
possession of a son Zachariah Murden. This was 
1835. Two years later Mr. Butts bought the John 
Woodhouse estate of the same number of acres. 

Batson Murden had bought land from Joel 
Simmons, which Simmons had purchased from 
Joshua Whitehurst. Mr. Whitehurst had purchased 
the land from John and Richard Land and Edward 
Frizzel. The Woodhouse tract came to A/Ir. Butts 
by purchase from Philip and John Woodhouse, sons 
of John Woodhouse. In the first land book in 
Princess Anne (1800-1811) this place is charged to 
John Woodhouse from the estate of his father 
Wm. or W\ N. (writing is rather difficult on book) 
\A'oodhouse. 

There are several lines of reasoning that come 
to the mind as to why, and why not, the house was 
built b}' each of the gentlemen more remotely (in 
point of time) connected with the plantation. We 
have no prejudice in the matter. It may be that 
Mr. Woodhouse built this home ; it may be that 
Joshua Whitehurst built it. We do know that the 
building was done in 1777. 

Originally this gambrel roof house had two 
brick gables of Flemish bond with front and rear 
of weatherboard. Years ago one end fell out, how- 
ever, the panelling did not. The panels in both 
rooms were of the narrow boards, running all the 
way in two sections to the ceiling, forming an arch 
for the fireplace, instead of the usual straight line 
across the chimney breast. 

There are two rooms downstairs, one on each 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



117 



side of a small hall. The hall ran all way through 
to the back door. 

The unusual feature in this building is the 
chimney. It is built without the wall. The breast 
barely exceeds the height of the fireplace on the 
first floor. The setoff is very severe, causing a 
slender stack to rise from this point to the usual 
number of feet above the roof. 




Zachariah Sykes, 1777 





Original mantel and paneling in brick end of Sykes Hous^, 1777 



118 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Two handsome water oaks, the old well and 
well gum are still in the yard. However, the 
well has long since been discarded as a source of 
supply for drinking water. F. E. Kellam of Princess 
Anne is the present owner. 

Only one house is left standing in Blackwater 
of what were the homes of the Olds, Corprews, 
Greshams, Tooleys and Wickings. Mr. Amos Ives, 
son of the late Jesse Ives, makes his home in the 
house that was James Wickings'. At that it has 
been the home of the Ives for nearly a century. In 
all the title from 1772 to the present, there is only 
one deed. 

In a will made by Jesse Ives in 1887 he devised 
in the eighth paragraph his home place to his son 
Amos. Since 1834, when he purchased the John 
Wickings property, Mr. Jesse Ives had made his 
home here, in the meantime rearing beside his son 
Amos, the following sons : Jesse, Ed Bright, M. T., 
W. L., Preston W., together with three daughters, 
Martha (Mrs. Oscar Smith), Eleanor (Mrs. Y. B. 
Miller), Mary (Mrs. J. N. Woods). 

The generations of the Wickings were John, 
who, making a will in 1772 devised to his son John 
the plantation whereon he (the father) was then 
living, the run between the two houses (one house 
father John lived in, the other house son John 
occupied) to be the dividing line. Son William was 
to have the house and land whereon son John now 
lived, son John was to take up his abode in the 
house wherein father John had been living. 

There is a date, 1772, or 1792, and the initials 
J. W. on the gable. In 1783 this son John devised 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



119 




W'ickings House in Blackwater 



to his son James his plantation; in 1821 James 
devised to his son John the plantation. Beyond a 
doubt John or James Wickings built the house in 
1772, or 1792. The third figure is not clear on the 
brick. We rather feel that 1772 is the correct figure. 
In order to reach this home of the Ives in Black- 
water one drives over a very rough road through 
the Pocaty Swamp. The discomfort of the drive is 
swallowed up in enthusiasm over the beauty of 
the swamp, if it be late spring or early summer. 
Thick w^th trees and smaller growth, standing in 
dark pools of water, pierced here by a gold bar of 
sunlight, splashed there by lilies and lilies varying 
from palest shades of lavender and lilac, to mauve, 
and even royal purple, stems and foliage of tender 
green — truly it is marv^lously beautiful. Some- 
times, wt think, we travel far to see gardens, fault- 
lessly, perhaps, designed as to form and color by 
man, when near at hand may be some rare spot of 
nature, equally as ravishing. 



120 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

In Mr. Ives' yard are several unusually large 
and symmetrical trees. The house is set with the 
dark background of the swamp, a very, very lovely 
location. The two brick gables of the house are of 
Flemish bond. The house is without hall ; the mantel 
shelf is very high. Little has been done to change 
the original style of either interior or exterior. 

The Wickings were in Blackwater and around 
Pocaty by 1746, for in that year John Wickings 
patented 61 acres in Blackwater in his own line. 
The Ives wxre in Lower Norfolk County by 1675, 
for then Timothy Ives, Jr., patented 270 acres on 
the Southern Branch of the Elizabeth River. 

Leaving Blackwater and Pocaty, let us return 
to one of the very old roads in the county. Almost 
at the intersection of this road, leading from 
Kempsville to Great Bridge, with a continuation of 
the Indian River road from Norfolk County, at a 
corner now known as Mear's Store, there is tumb- 
ling down what was once quite a pretentious home. 
Before the War Between the States this plantation 
was called "Ashland." It was then the home of 
Edmond F. Dozier and so remained for twenty- 
live years. For nearly ten years more his son, James 
W. Dozier, lived here. 

Besides this father and son, no other owners have 
seemed to make it a home for any length of time 
after John Parsons devised it to his son Samuel in 
1795. The father John had purchased the land, so 
far as we can find, about ten years prior to his death. 
When he built the house there were evidently two 
gables of Flemish bond brick. The southwestern 
end has long ago fallen away; the space is covered 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



121 







now with tin. Here 
again we lind the 
familiar two rooms 
on the first floor, 
this time sepa- 
rated by a hall in 
which is a par- 
ticularly pleasing 
stairway. The 
quaint little front 
porch is onh' a 
pile of old lumber 
today, but it was 
interesting to no- 
tice the painstak- 
ing workmanship 
exhibited in the 
mortises and ten- 
ons, whereby the 
timbers had been 
held together. 



Ashland 





The dining room of Ashland 



122 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

In the remaining gable, on one side of the 
fireplace is a deeply recessed window, on the other 
side is a huge door, leading, no doubt, to an out- 
side kitchen. The panels in this end are much 
wider than in any of the houses about which we 
have yet told. The chair board, old doors, stairway, 
floorboards, panels, are all of pine. 

Mr. Claude Carver now owns the house. It 
would take much money and careful workmanship 
to restore the whole. And yet, it does seem too bad 
to see it pass. 

Farther on down this old Kempsville to Great 
Bridge road is the home of the Nathaniel Nicholas 
family, better known now as "Pritchards." Here 
Lemuel J. Pritchard made his home from 1869 
until his death in 1893. This plantation is now the 
property of the Etheridge heirs. 

Here is a house that is splendidly preserved. 
As to construction it is similar to the brick gable 
gambrels of which we have been relating, with the 
difference that the room on the right of the hall as 




Nathaniel Nicholas Home Courtesy Mrs. Berry 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 123 

one enters, is much larger than the room across the 
hall on the left. 

Nathaniel Nicholas purchased land in this 
neighborhood from the Fentresses as early as 1752. 
In 1792 this Nathaniel Nicholas was dead and a 
Nathaniel Nicholas (we presume a son) was pur- 
chasing from certain heirs their title in the home 
plantation. This latter Nathaniel was dead in 1824, 
devising to his son, Joshua H. M. Nicholas, the 
home place. There was another son, James W. L. 
Nicholas. As early as 1655 there was an Andrew 
Nicholas in Lower Norfolk County. This family 
and the Hunter family intermarried on at least two 
occasions. It was from Joshua H. M. that the home 
passed by purchase to Mr. Pritchard. 

There is another family in Princess Anne that 
counts its generations here since the ver>^ early days. 
It is the Gornto family. We first find them recorded 
in 1684 when William Grinto (later Gornto) pat- 
ented 550 acres in Bear Quarter, Lynnhaven Parish. 

There are two houses near Nimmo Church, on 
roads more or less forgotten since they were not 
included in a roadbuilding program, homes of the 
Gorntos, Reuben and his son, Reuben Gornto. In 
the home that we believe most probably was the 
home of the father, and by him was devised in 1809 
to his son Thomas, today lives Mr. Ernest Shipp, 
a son of the late Andrew W. Shipp. 

The exterior of this house does not show the 
lines of an old house. On closer inspection of the 
brick gables it is easy to trace the new bricks used 
in converting this from a gambrel roof to a full two 
story house. Here the interior house plan shows 



124 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




At present home of Ernest Shipp 




Interior of south room in Shipp Home 



no variation from what must have been a standard 
for such houses. The panelHng in the room to the 
left, it must have been the parlor, is extremely wide, 
and in a tine state of preservation. By this we mean 
that the panels have not warped, shrunk or cracked. 
The pictures of this work tell the stor}- much better 
than we can. 

The second of these houses that were the homes 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



125 



of the Gorntos was bought by Reuben, son of 
Reuben, in 1788 from Jesse Hill. In this deed Jesse 
Hill sa>'s that it was his father Thomas's. When the 
father Reuben died he devised this property to his 
son Reuben, in spite of the fact that the place was 
bought by the son. For this reason we believe the 
father must have furnished the money for it, else 
why should he devise it.^ 




At present home of Luke Ballance 

1 




Interior of parlor in Luke Ballance Home 



126 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

This house is ahnost a repHca of the "Sykes" 
home buih in 1777. The queer chimney, we told 
you of, is the type here found in each gable. The 
narrow panelling is found here also, with the dif- 
ference that the line across the mantel is straight 
instead of the curve, as in the "Sykes" house. 

Son Reuben devised this plantation to his son 
James in 1819; James gave it to his son George R., 
who likewise for the better advancement in this 
world of his son James, gave him his plantation 
of 263 acres. Mr. Luke Ballance now makes his 
home here. Unlike the place on which Mr. Shipp 
lives, Mr. Ballance has some fine trees in the yard. 

And so we have two homes of the Gorntos, each 
built, we believe, prior to 1788. The father's home 
he, or his father John, probably built; the son's 
home was certainly owned by the Hills before 1788. 
How it came to the Hills, unless by marriage, we 
can not say, there being no record in Princess Anne 
that would give us an answer. 

But Princess Anne had towns also, one of which 
was New Town. We'll tell you about what is left. 




Chapter IX 

O great haste was made in sending to 
Princess Anne to fetch Mr. Moseley to 
lead the dance with the Lady Dunmore." 
This brings to mind the oft told story 
of the anxiety of the people of Norfolk Borough to 
find a partner whose elegance and grace were a 
match for those of the Royal Governor's wife. The 
result was that old Princess Anne came to the 
rescue of Norfolk, saving the day by producing a 
beau par excellence. This beau was Edward Hack 
Moseley. 

On a hot dusty afternoon this summer we were 
driving over this same road, certainly we had the 
same destination in view. And as vehicles cover 
distance in this day and time, our progress was slow. 
The road was very rough, deep holes cut during the 
spring thaw still gaped treacherously at one's tires. 
We were on a hunt for New Town, once the civic 
and social center of the county. And what did we 
find.^ Here and there the twisted trunk and fallen 
limb of an old cedar, which probably in bygone 
days had touched with its pungent branches the 
family carriage as it rolled on its way to or from 
some function. Here and there seedlings were 
spreading new and vigorous growth over the re- 
mains of what had once been stately trees. Here 
and there a rut was filled with bricks, crumbling 



128 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



to dust. This dust perhaps had once been a foun- 
dation in the manor house of a Moseley. And so, 
on we rode. 

Several miles after leaving the boulevard and 
pursuing this almost forgotten way, to the left, in 
the midst of a plowed held, we spied an overgrown, 
disintegrating wall of brick. With the help of a 
good stout blade the vines and brush were cut 
away, disclosing a graveyard. All that could be 
deciphered on the marble was the inscription on 
one stone, seemingly put there in more recent years. 
It bore this legend: Martha Bloggett, Edward 
Hack, Edwin Daingerlield, Ann Taliaferro, Henry 
Power, Burwell Bassett and Alexander, children of 
Samuel and Hannah D. Moseley. 

Pursuing the road to its end, we came to a yard, 
sloping gently down to a branch of Broad Creek. 
In this yard is a quarter kitchen, built ma}'be just 
prior to the War Between the States. The bricks in 
the two ends seem to be old. There is a large fire- 
place, outside chimne}', in each end. The interior 




(iiiaitt'i kitcluii at New Tow: 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



129 



is divided into two rooms, now used for storage, a 
blind stairway leads to the space under the roof. 

Turning to the right at the yard gate, and driv- 
ing down a farm road, we came to the edge of Mill 
Creek. As it winds its way on, the old Greenwich 
plantation is divided from Rolleston, the first home 
of the Moseleys in Virginia, more recently owned 
and recalled as the residence of Henry A. Wise, 
Governor of Virginia during the "late unpleasant- 
ness," as some of our old-time friends refer to the 
struggle of the eighteen-sixties. Here, as you see for 
yourself, on that very hot afternoon, still remained 
the stones of the old mill race. The tide was com- 
ing in rather swiftly, so the picture does not show 
as great a depth of the stones as one would like. 

Crossing on a most insecure and clumsy foot 
bridge we followed a path, overgrown with vines, 
honeysuckle, V irginia creeper, until in order to go 
further, a huge branch of mock orange had to be 
pushed aside. Mock orange! Who knows but what 
at one time this was the garden of the mistress of 




Mill race between Rolleston and Greenwich 



130 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Rolleston? At any rate mock orange brought to 
one's mind the hackneyed, but ever expressive, "Sic 
transit gloria mundi." 

Wilham Moseley the emigrant came, with 
Susannah his wife, to this country certainly by 
1649, for on the thirtieth day of November of that 
year we find him attending the Lower Norfolk 
County Court. And there were two sons in this 
family. William and Arthur were the names. At 
a court held March 26, 1650, a certificate was 
granted to William Moseley showing that 550 acres 
of land were due him, the pay at 50 acres per person 
on eleven head rights as follows : himself, wife 
Susannah, two sons Arthur and William, Susan 
Robinson, alias Corker, Eliz. West, Ann Lambert, 
Edw. Foreman, Hen. Lambert, Jost Williams, and 
Tho. Warrington, transported into the colony of 
Virginia by William Moseley. However, the first 
grant we find in the name of William Moseley is 
recorded as patented on February 17, 1652, for 540 
acres, in Lynnhaven Parish, beginning at a point 
by the river side. This was probably Rolleston. In 
a court record of 1652 Mr. Moseley styles himself 
as William Moseley, late of Rotterdam in Holland 
... a merchant and now resident in the Eastern 
Branch of Elizabeth River, in the county of Lower 
Norfolk in Virginia. 

Mr. Lancaster in his rirginia Homes says that 
W^illiam built Rolleston about 1650 — the land 
escheated during the Commonwealth, but was 
restored to his grandson. Col. Edward Moseley, in 
the time of Charles II, and was continuously oc- 
cupied by a lineal descendant until 1865. There are 



Old Houses in Prncess Anne 131 

two grants to Edward Moseley that we found, one 
for 1,130 acres in 1682, and one for 490 acres in 
1688. There are also grants in the names of other 
members of the family. Today no trace of the 
Manor House on Rolleston remains. 

William Moseley (2) married Mary, daughter 
of John Gookin and Sarah Offley. Sarah was the 
widow of Adam (1) Thorowgood. As the widow 
of W illiam Moseley, Mary Gookin Moseley married 
Anthony Lawson. Edward, son of Mary Gookin 
and William (2) Moseley, was a member of the 
court which tried Grace Sherwood, the witch of 
Princess Anne. He was also a Knight of the Golden 
Horseshoe. Hillary Moseley, son of Edward, mar- 
ried Hannah Hack, and one of their children was 
Col. Edward Hack Moseley, Sr., who, by the way, 
was a friend of Benedict Arnold. To Mr. James' 
Antiquary we are indebted for the following note. 
He gives credit to the courtesy of Edward Higgins, 
Esq. 

"Brigadier General Arnold presents his Compliments to 
Colonel Edward Moseley Senior requests the favor of his 
and Mrs. Moseleys Company to dinner and pass the Evening 
on Wednesday next. 

"Portsmouth 22 Feby. 1781." 

E. H. Moseley, Sr., was a magistrate of the 
county, a vestr)'man and church warden, and an 
officer of the customs in the Lower District of 
James River. Beside all this he was the father of 
our "Beau Brummel." But in spite of being known 
as a dandy, E. H. Moseley, Jr., is better known to 
Princess Anne people as the clerk of the court for 
forty-three years, 1771-1814. 



132 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Today, except for the written record, no one 
would suspect that once a prosperous town 
flourished on the Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth 
River. No trace is left of home, store, court house, 
jail, warehouse. Judge White tells us that some 
years ago when he was living nearby, there were 
foundations to be seen in the fields. Now only an 
occasional red stain in the fields marks the passing 
of New Town. 

At New Town also lived the Hancocks. In the 
earliest records this name is spelled "Handcocke," 
Simond Handcock was in Lower Norfolk County 
by 1650. As early as 1654 we find Sarah (probably 
his widow) receiving 300 acres, situated at the head 
of Mr. Moseley's land, on Faran Creek. Finally in 
March, 1662, William Hancock (her son, we think) 
patents the same land (200 acres near Mr. Moseley, 
100 acres bought of Thomas Holt) all formerly 
patented by Sarah Hancock, so says the record. 

In 1687 this William made his will. He devised 
to his eldest son Simon the plantation whereon he 
(William) was living, "being Bounded with a small 
C" ye mouth of w*"^ runs in a little below the Chap- 
pell and runneth up nigh my dwelling house & 
bounded E'^ with an old trench on ye N"^ on a C" 
form^'ly Cald. hoskins Cr. and n'^ on a branch cald. 
deepe branch." To son William he devised all 
the land on the "S'" Side of the above sd small Cr. 
being where ye chapel now stands." Son Samuel's 
land was bounded by William Cockruft, Edward 
Moseley and Lt. Col. Anthony Lawson . . . "over 
ye Swamp along to white pine Swamp & ye path 
that leads from my house to Linhaven Church." 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 133 

There were other sons, John, Edward and George. 
The daughters were Mary and Frances ; his mother 
was Sarah Piggott. William Moseley was a kins- 
man. 

We quote this w^ill so much in detail on account 
of the reference to chapel and church, as well as for 
the family relationships. 

Nearly a hundred years later, in 1782, another 
W^illiam Hancock is making a will. The exact 
devise each of his sons shall receive is contingent 
upon what William's brother John (both sons of 
William — ^1759) does with his property. 

For ten years Uncle John, or John Sr., after the 
death of his brother, seemingly gives no intimation 
what disposition he intends to make of his lots at 
New Town. In the meantime John Jr., eldest son 
of William (1782) sold the home place (Level 
Green, of which we have told you) of his father. 
Now John was not to have this plantation, should 
he fall heir, or should his uncle devise to him, his 
(the uncle's) land, so father William says in his 
will. 

In 1792 Uncle John made a deed to John, Jr., 
for the New Town lots. What adjustments were 
made in order to fulfill the devises of William's 
will we do not pretend to say. The father William 
had a tract he called "Denn," this he devised to his 
son William. The father says should he (the son) 
"for any causes set forth fall heir to my Manor, 
then" he devises the "Denn" to his son Simon. 

There is a farm at New Town Cross Roads 
called "Lion's Den." In 1824 Simon Hancock made 
a will of which his son Peter Singleton Hancock 



134 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



was sole executor. By this will twelve years must 
elapse after Simon's death before the plantation on 
which he was living could be sold. Then the sale 
became compulsory. In 1836 the terms of the will 
were fulfilled. 

Simon Hancock had married first Susannah 
Singleton. After her death about 1816, and by 

1822 he married Jacomine t This wife survived 

him and became Jacomine Joyce, who owned the 
Thorowgood land around Lake Joyce. Remains of 
her home and garden, together with the family 
burying ground are interesting. The location is 
beautiful. 

The house that we believe Simon, or maybe his 
brother William, Hancock built on ''Denn" or 
"Lion's Den" at New Town Cross Roads just 
before 1800, is full two stories with small attic and 
cellar. The two gables are brick of Flemish bond, 
one outside chimney in each gable. There is no 
setoff" in the chimney until after the second story 
fireplace is passed. This makes a short stack. 




'The Derin" at New Town Cio>^ Road> 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 135 

B. A. Troyer, one of the large colony of thrifty 
Mennonite farmers in this section of the county, 
lives here. 

About the same time that Mr. Hancock made 
his will, an Edward James, living near the present 
Nimmo Church, made his will. By this will he 
devised to his son Joshua the house and certain 
acres of his manor plantation, the remaining acres 
he devised to his son John. During the course of 
the next fifteen years, or in 1798, John built his 
home. This home he sold to Smallwood Thomson 
in 1834. 

Ten years later Smallwood Thomson exchanged 
plantations with Elizabeth Anne Woodhouse and 
her husband John. The name of the Woodhouse 
plantation on Lynnhaven was "The Hermitage." 
It was one of the Thorowgood tracts, and adjoins 
the acres on which the Thorowgood House now 
stands. At present it is the home of Mr. Wiley 
Halstead, a descendant of Richard Holstead, son of 
Jacomine N. C. and Richard Flolstead. 



l2ift|i» 


























^ 








. '*^, 




i Wj*" 


Sf fj 




Sl 


1 




f. 


3 


■ 




PjTT^ 


^m 




M 


IBii 


1 



The James House, 1798 



136 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

John Woodhouse and Elizabeth Anne were the 
parents of Maj. John T, Woodhouse, whose son 
Paul today makes his home in the house John 
James built in 1798. During the eighty-odd years 
this has been the home of the Woodhouses there 
have been additions by way of wings on each side 
of the original brick end house, Also a room has 
been added in the rear. On account of so many 
old time shrubs, plants, and trees, it was quite 
impossible to get an unobstructed view of the house. 

Like the "Lion's Den" this house is full two 
stories and a half. The outstanding feature is the 
exquisitely proportioned stairway. The hall is quite 
wide, therefore the gallery on which the stair turns 
is long. The designer made the gallery wide in pro- 
portion, with the several steps easy and gentle in 
their upward flight. 

Maj. Woodhouse was a familiar figure on the 
court house hill for many years. He w^as a Con- 
federate officer in Mahone's brigade. He was com- 
mander of the Veterans and a leading member of 
the Masonic Lodge at the Court House when the 
Confederate monument was erected in the early 
years of the present century. Maj. Woodhouse 
married a Miss Whitehurst, daughter of James 
Murden W'hitehurst. Of the Whitehurst home we 
shall tell you in another chapter. 

By grants, by purchase, by marriage, the Cor- 
nicks continued to add to their lands in Princess 
Anne. One of their homes, built, we believe, before 
1800, is in the rear of the home of Mrs. Fannie 
Colonna. Mrs. Colonna's mother, Mrs. Fentress, 
is a daughter of the late Henry T. Cornick (1814- 
1892). 




Home of late Henry T. Cornicle 




Mantel in Henrv T. Cornick Home 




George Fentress Home 



138 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Not so far away is the Fentress home. Here 
lived George Fentress, son of Lancaster, son of 
John, son of Moses. From the record in the land 
books at Princess Anne it would appear that this 
home was built before 1800 by William Henley, 
father of Charles Henley and Francis, who married 
Lemuel Simmons. The house is odd in that the roof 
has the long slope on the rear, like the Henley house 
near Pungo. The brick end is built partially within 
the weather boards. 

Across the road from Mrs. Colonna and a little 
nearer Eastern Shore Chapel and Salisbury Plains 
lives Mr. Julius Cornick, a son of Henry T. Cor- 
nick. From Mr. Cornick we have gotten much of 
the family history. He says that even in his day 
there stood in the yard, a little removed from either 
of the present dwellings, the oldest house. This was 
the home of Endymion before he built the new 
house. This Endymion Cornick is probably the 
grandson of the "Endomion" mentioned in the will 
of Joel Cornick of Salisbury Plains in 1727. The 
father of Endymion (1765-1812) was Henry, and 
to his son he devised his plantation in 1772. Sad to 
relate the oldest house was torn down. 

Endymion married Frances Henley. Their son 
was Henry. This Henry Cornick married twice; 
first, Mary Old. There were two sons, Endymion 
D. and Henry T. The wife of Henry T. Cornick 
was named Mary. These generations rest in the 
family burying ground close by. 

Maybe when the Henry, whose wife was Mary 
Old, was holding some festivity with blithe com- 
panions, the following was cut on a window pane 
in the parlor: 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 139 

John Fortescue 

Evelyn Byrd Chamberlyne, 

February 1807. 

In this parlor is a very handsome mantel, with 
accompanying woodwork in perfect taste. All the 
house is finished in the same style. It appears that 
every part of the building has been left without 
jarring attempt to modernize. On the rear was 
added, in the early nineteenth century, an ell. This 
was the- kitchen and above was a bedroom, both 
reached only from the outside. In this bedroom the 
carving is lovelier than in any of the other mantels 
in the house. We believe that Endymion D. was a 
bachelor. Maybe this was his particular domain. 
We know that his father gave him the manor 
plantation, which in a few years he gave to his 
brother Henry T. Cornick. 

From near the front door the steps go up, flight 
after flight, to the two little rooms under the roof, 
passing on the way two bedrooms and hall on the 
second floor. The porch is still preserved, the picket 
fence around the small yard, the dairy just back 
of the dwelling, seemingly no changes, other than 
the addition of the ell, have been made since 
Endymion Cornick built his home some one hun- 
dred and thirty-five or forty years ago. 

So many people have asked if we found much 
of the original furniture in these old homes. Here 
we did, for the home has never gone out of the 
family. Mr. Julius Cornick has much of the original 
mahogany furniture in his little home down the 
road. There one finds the dining table with its two 
oval ends, six beautifully carved chairs, the side- 



140 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



board ; the tester bed and wardrobe are in the old 
house; in the Httle house is the bureau (the oldest 
style), the sewing table, brass candle stick (even 
the candle is in the holder as his mother arranged 
it), the family Bible (1838). And he loves them all. 
The pictures tell you the rest of the archi- 
tectural story of the home of this branch of the 
Cornick family. 




Home of C'apt. John Shepht-id 




Smokehouse at Shepherd Hoii^c 



Old Houses hi Princess Anne 141 

Just a word about one other house in which a 
Cornick Hved. She was Elizabeth Cornick, daugh- 
ter of Horatio Cornick, and the wife of Capt. John 
Shepherd. She was dead by 1815 at the age of 
thirty-live, 

Capt. John died in 1822. He was then iifty. 
He had married a second time. This wife's name 
was Jennet. His children were John C, to whom 
he devised his plantation ; Lemuel Cornick Shep- 
herd, to whom he devised a house and lot on 
Marriner Street in Norfolk; a daughter Elizabeth 
Frances ; his son-in-law was a John James. 

There is not much to tell you of this modest, 
but substantial home, other than what the pictures 
tell. The smoke house, w^ith its whipsaw^d boards, 
is interesting. There is a line spring about mid- 
way between the house and the road. The water 
is crystal clear and delightfully cool. This supplies 
the drinking water for the Whitehurst family now 
making their home where Capt. John and Eliza- 
beth Cornick Shepherd lived. 




Chapter X 

CEAN storms with consequent tidal dis- 
turbances causing the shifting of sands 
have played queer tricks with the shore 
line of Princess Anne. Many, many years 
ago there used to be a Brinson's Inlet. This inlet 
was near Dam Neck. Today, to all intents and 
purposes as a water route, it is no more than a 
myth or legend. Mr. A. F. M. Burroughs, whose 
father, E. E. Burroughs, was so long a time county 
surveyor, tells us that he feels sure he could trace 
from the Fresh Ponds the course of what was 
Brinson's Inlet as it wound its way to the sea. 
Mr. Burroughs says so often as a boy he would 
paddle all around these waters in a boat, accom- 
panying his father on a surveying expedition which 
covered the high land and marshes adjacent to the 
ponds. He has very definite recollections at even 
so recent a time, of certain depressions, indicative 
of an inlet hereabouts. 

This inlet was evidently named for Thomas 
Brinson, the first of the name in these parts, who, 
making a will in 1675, names two sons, Matthew 
and John. In 1689 Matthew Brinson patented 388 
acres in John James' line and near the land of Ed. 
Moore. Now we know that Ed. Moore was bounded 
on the east by Basnett's land. Basnett's patent was 
for a large tract described as being "on the Sea- 
board Side, at the head of the Great Ponds." 

Matthew Brinson must have been delayed in 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 143 

having his certificate for land acted upon, for his 
deed of gift to his brother John Brinson for 100 
acres with a house in Dam Neck on the Fresh Pond 
is dated 1688. A gift of land is again recorded in 
the first deed book in Princess Anne in 1691. For 
this duplication there may be assigned two reasons : 
first, when the original deed was admitted to record 
in Lower Norfolk County, Matthew's grant was 
not then consummated; second, when Princess 
Anne was cut off from Lower Norfolk County it 
was a wise precaution (shall we say it was thrifty?) 
to have the deed a matter of record in the new 
county. From John, who made his will in 1737/8 
to 1766 we do not find a conveyance of this tract. 
Therefore, when Hillary Brinson in that year makes 
a deed to John Morrisette for a tract of land with 
house on the Ponds in Dam Neck, we are sure it is 
the same place. 

Under this John Morrisette's will (1793) the 
place was sold, but in a few years (1827) a John 
Morrisette again comes into possession by pur- 
chase. This John Morrisette was the grandfather of 
Mr, Kader Morrisette, who now makes his home 
on the adjoining farm with Mr. Peter Dyer. Mr. 
Morrisette says his father was born on the place 
in 1830. This is borne out by the inscription on the 
tomb. Mr. Morrisette further told us that it was 
a very, very old house when his grandfather bought 
it prior to the birth of his (Kader's) father. All of 
this the deed books show. 

The house on the interior is in a style all its 
own, so far as architecture in Princess Anne goes. 
Before reading further look at the picture. In the 



144 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



brick end the Flemish bond stands out sharply. It 
is easily seen that originally the pitch of the gambrel 
was more acute. There was once a small porch on 
the front. The house faces what used to be called 
Fresh Pond (or Salt Pond), now Lake Tecumseh. 
Since from the date of the earliest grants in this 
neighborhood down to the latest deed, the one by 
which A. H. Grimstead became the owner in 1920, 
the Fresh Pond is a distinguishing landmark, it 
seems too bad to change it to Tecumseh. This name 
is too modern, nor does it belong to this locality, 
but rather to Ohio, where the Shawnee Indians 
lived. You recall that old Chief Tecumseh was 
born, we are told, in 1768, dying during the War 
of 1812. After Harrison suppressed the Indian up- 
rising in Ohio, Tecumseh was put in command by 
the English of their Indian allies and given the 
title of brigadier-general. He was killed while 
lighting in Canada in 1813. Because with a new 
title the old chief of the Shawnees was lighting 
against the new Republic of the United States of 




Brinson Home on I m -li (Salt) Pond 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 145 

America is no reason why our Fresh Pond should 
change its name to do him honor. 

There must have been at one time some garden, 
for you will see that live old box bushes are left 
standing in a row, running toward the pond. Four 
are evenly spaced, then there is a gap large enough 
to accommodate two other bushes equally distant 
each from the other, then there is the fifth bush. 

As we said, there is no other similar interior in 
the county with which we may make comparison. 
The front door stands in the center with a window 
on each side. Entering here, there is one room 
nearly square. On the right of entrance a short, 
narrow, flight of steps goes up to a door, which 
gives entrance to a narrow platform on which the 
steps turn and continue to the room above. The 
platform is on a level with the window sill. 

In the right end is the unusually broad chim- 
ney; that end is panelled. There are cunning little 
doors, one on each side, giving entrance to closets 
by the chimney. In each closet is a little window 
15"xl5". 

The lintel in the chimney is a roughly hewn 
timber 18"xl8" and 15' long. The ceiling of the 
room is guiltless of lath or plaster. The hewn 
beams have seen many, many coats of whitewash, 
as spring after spring brought the necessity for 
freshening up a bit after the use during the winter 
months of the old fireplace. Across these beams is 
laid the floor of the room above. Very wide floor 
boards, they are. 

The exposed beams and the one room are the 
unique features. 



146 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




Henry Brock Home 

We are told by Mr. W. C. Brinson of Norfolk 
that the family came from Scotland. Surely there 
is no waste in material or in space in this Scotch- 
man's house, built, we believe, in 1688 by Matthew 
Brinson and made a gift by him and his wife 
Margaret to his brother John "for the love and 
affection he bore him." For thus the first deed 
reads, but by looking a little farther we found John 
gave Matthew some acres also. After all then, this 
is really a true Scotch love stor}'. 

At not a great distance to the westward of the 
Ponds is the home known to this generation as 
Mr. Sandy Brock's. Two hundred years ago there 
was an Elizabeth Brock, who gave to her brother 
Henr>^ Brinson 100 acres in Dam Neck — for the 
love and affection she bore him. 

The story wt shall tell you of this home of the 
Brocks came to us largely from Mrs. Claude 
Nimmo of Oceana. Mrs. Nimmo was Ella White- 
hurst, her mother was Elizabeth Brock, one of two 
sisters whom her father in turn married. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



U7 



The plantation came to the Brock family 
through marriage with the Shepherds. In 1720 
Samuel Boush was escheator for Princess Anne, 
One hundred acres, formerly granted to Joseph 
Deserne, had escheated, and was now to be granted 
to Smith Shepherd. This, we believe, is the Smith 
Shepherd who married Frances, daughter of Lemuel 
Cornick and his wife who was Frances Attwood. 
Be this as it may, Mrs. Nimmo has the old grant, 
all yellow with age. It is dated at Williamsburg on 
March 12, 1739. William Gooch, Lieutenant Gov- 
ernor of Virginia, signed as witness. 

Elizabeth Shepherd, granddaughter, we take it, 
of this Smith Shepherd, married Henry Brock in 
1793, bringing with her these acres. The ceremony 
was performed by Rev. Anthony Walke. It is most 
probable that this year marks the date of the build- 
ing of the oldest part of the house and the slave 
quarters. Mrs. Nimmo says she has always been 
told that the quarters belonged to the original 
house. The w^orn place under the closed door in- 




Slave Quarters on Henry Brock Plantation 



148 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



dicates the passing of many footsteps during the 
years. 

Henry Brock and his wife EHzabeth had a son 
Henry who married Ehza Spratley in 1837. For 
this bride the house was remodeled, the new part 
(the front) being added. The children of the union 
were Lysander (Mr. Sandy), Thos. H., Charles S. 
(married Ella, daughter of William Nimmo), 
Elizabeth F., Eleanor F., Henrietta A. Elizabeth 
and Eleanor wxre the wives of Mr. Whitehurst. 

Here we find another home which remained the 
family plantation for generations. 

Turning from this home of the Brock's into the 
main road from Oceana to Nimmo Church, thence 
into the road to the present Court House, one passes 
the home of William Nimmo, whose wife Anne 
gave the land on which the church stands. This 
church acre is part of a larger tract which was 
devised to Anne by the will of Sarah James. 

The Nimmo house was built about 1790. There 
was a William, son of William and Anne Nimmo, 




William Nimmo Home 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



149 




"Peter's House" near Princess Anne Court House 



who was the father of Claude Nimmo and Ella 
Nimmo Brock. In this house, originally a gambrel, 
remodeled some fifty years ago to its present style, 
lived this branch of the Nimmo family of Princess 
Anne, until most recently. The yard trees are very 
lovely and make a satisfying setting for the house, 
which, though remodeled, has not lost in the process 
its comfortable and hospitable air. These were un- 
doubtedly characteristics of our old Virginia homes. 
Traveling on toward Princess Anne Court 
House one finds an old house built on land that 
once was a part of the Thomas Lovett estate, we 
believe. The house was probably built by a Lan- 
caster Lovett a year or two before 1800. In 1803 
it was his home. In 1840 it became the home of 
John Peters, whose son is the Rev. J. Sidney Peters 
of the Virginia Methodist Conference. This house 
was once the parsonage of Nimmo Church. For 
many years it was the home of Judge John J. 
Woodhouse. Now it is the property of George W, 
Bratten of Princess Anne. 



150 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



The house has been added to at least twice. The 
oldest part is the corner nearest in the picture. 
Each addition has been done in a thoughtful way, 
in simplicity and good taste, making the composite 
seemingly a whole. Those of us who knew this as 
the Woodhouse home miss the rose garden of Mrs. 
Woodhouse. From no other garden have we ever 
seen a greater variety or more perfect specimens 
of each variety than she grew here. 

There are two other homes at Princess Anne 
that must be told of together. One is now the home 
of Frank Kellam. It is the oldest of all the buildings 
hereabouts. 

In 1790 Thomas Lovett had made a will. The 
plantation and manor house were devised to his 
son Thomas, the remaining acres to be divided 
between sons Randolph and Reuben. Reuben's are 
described as being near the swamp. This will was 
proved by Joshua and Daniel Whitehurst and John 
Lovett. 




Reuben Lovett Home at Princess Anne Court House 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 151 

This Reuben (1765-1819), added to his acres 
and built a house. He had a son Reuben (1801- 
1818), and a son Wilson H. C, whose wife was 
Jane. There was a daughter Amy who married 
Capt. William Whitehurst. 

Now Captain William had a brother, James 
Murden Whitehurst, both were sons of Daniel. 
Here near the Court House is the home of Daniel 
Whitehurst, his acres joining Reuben Lovett's. 
From the Captain William Whitehurst line comes 
the late Judge Frank Whitehurst; from the James 
Murden line comes the late Mrs. John T. Wood- 
house, whose daughter, Mrs. William Loftin Prince 
(Grace Woodhouse) now owns the homestead of 
the Whitehursts. 

Francis Whitehurst was the father of Daniel. 
To him he devised the plantation and 150 acres in 
March, 1793. This year is coincident with the date 
etched on the chimney. However, this will was not 
proved until January 1, 1794. It may well be that 
Francis did the building. The other children of 




James Murden Whitehurst Home, 1793 



152 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Francis were Batson, Tulley, and daughters Anne 
Land, Peggy, Betsy and Keziah Whitehurst. 

The two houses are very similar in construction. 
Each has been added to, not once, but several times, 
during the passing years. In neither interior has 
there been much change. 

The inclination here is to tarry and tell you 
more of these families. We must continually remind 
ourselves that this history is of houses. In a later 
chapter, where it is pertinent, we shall tell you 
more of the earlier members of the Lovett family 
and their family connections. 




Chapter XI 

OU will recall that in a previous chapter 
we told you how an Anthony Fentress 
was paid by the vestry of Lynnhaven 
Parish in 1779, 20^ for the care of the 
chapel at Pungo. Rev. Robt. Dickson was the rector, 
the vestrymen were Capt. James Kempe, Col. 
Edward Hack Moseley, Sr., John Whitehurst, Capt. 
William Woodhouse, Sr., Thomas Old, Gent., Capt. 
Dennis Daw^ley, Thomas Reynolds Walker, Gent., 
Major Anthony Walke, Anthony Walke, Gent., 
John Ackiss, Gent., Col. Edward Hack Moseley, 
Jr., in 1772, who declared the parochial chapel 
called Pungo Chapel, was in a ruinous state, the 
foundations being dangerous, thus making it im- 
possible that the building be used for the assemb- 
ling of a congregation for worship. Accordingly this 
august assemblage of titled members, constituting 
a vestry of the said parish of Lynnhaven, purchased 
from Anthony Fentress and his wife Anne one acre 
of ground, the price being 5^. The acre was a part 
of a tract Mr. Fentress had purchased in 1758 from 
Charles Cason. 

We suppose Anthony Fentress built his house, 
there being no evidence to the contrary. Surely he 
was living on the place and in this house in 
1772. It is now the property and home of Mr. W. 
G. Eaton. At one time a member of the Capps 
family made his home here. 

The first mention we have found of Pungo is in a 



154 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

grant to George Fowler in 1675 for 670 acres called 
"Meechepongo," lying easterly from the North 
River. In the will of Capt. Adam Keeling, 1683, he 
devises "unto my daughter Elizabeth Keeling a 
prcell. of land about three or foure hundred acres by 
mee entered wth. Rights toward ye Southward neere 
Matchepongo, and doe desire ye Same bee surveyed 
and pattented in my said daughter Elizabeths 
name." We find this patent was granted, as Capt. 
Adam desired, in the name of Elizabeth Keeling 
in 1685, containing 350 acres "in the woods towards 
the North Branch of Currituck at the land of Henry 
Woodhouse." In 1688 John Richardson patented 
819 acres, "lying in the woods toward matchepongo, 
Beginning by the Eastern Pocoson, thence near to 
the land of Col. Mason, thence to his land . . . &c." 
So you see somebody did live in and near Pungo 
at a very early time. 

In a deed made in 1871 the sixty acres with the 
house built we believe by Anthony Fentress prior 
to 1772, now the home of Mr. Eaton, is described 
as lying adjacent to Capp's Shop and Pungo Chapel, 
bounded by the main road and the lands of J. W. 
Lane. Out in a field near Mr. Eaton's, not many 
years ago, the foundation of the old chapel could 
still be seen. It seems that the spot should certainly 
be marked before it is too late. The chapel acre was 
taken into a tract of land very many years ago, and 
record made. 

This old house has one brick end of Flemish 
bond. By the front door one enters a hall, there 
are two rooms on the left. The house has been 
added to, the interior greatly changed. From the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



155 




Anthony Fentress Home, across the road from site of Pungo Chapel 



road one would suppose it were a very modern 
home. There is a windowless cellar under one end. 
The \'ard is large. Its firmness shows it has long 
been used onh- as a }'ard. The picture gives a view 
from the side looking toward the Pungo Ridge 
Road. 

The land in Princess Anne runs in ridges, with 
oftentimes swamps between. These ridges were 
named Poplar, Black Walnut, Chincapin, Long 
Ridge, Templemans, Possum, Beech, Brushby, 
Bullock's, Eastern Ridges, Cow Quarter, Porters, 
Rattlesnake and Pungo. These are names we find 
in the earliest records. For the most part these 
ridges are exceedingly fertile. Particularly is this 
true of Pungo Ridge. 

Today Mr. John Anthony Fentress, one of the 
county's oldest citizens, lives on a farm that many 
people say is the creme de la creme as goes farms. 
For many years it was known as the Land Farm. 
This is the reason. 



156 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

In 1789 Hillary Land married Amey Henley, 
In 1793 Ree Land and Mary Anne, his wife, gave 
to their son Hillary, for the love and affection they 
bore him, 149 acres, described as being the re- 
mainder of a tract Ree Land Sr., purchased of his 
brother Jeremiah. We judge that Hillary built his 
house soon after the gift was made. 

Amey was dead before 1808 and in this year 
Hillary married Elizabeth Gardner ; she who had 
been the widow Huggins. This story we have told 
you. In 1822 Hillary Land made his will. To his 
son Andrew he devised the plantation in Pungo, 
given Hillary by his father, except that portion on 
the west of the road. Also he devised to Andrew a 
30-acre tract Hillary had purchased called "Grif- 
lin's Pasture" adjoining. He bequeathes to Andrew 
all the furnishings in the Pungo plantation that 
he had left there. Evidently Amey was Andrew's 
mother. The plantation he bought at London 
Bridge, after marrying the widow, he devised to 




J. A. Fentress Home on Pungo Ridge 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 157 

his son Peter Land, You see now why Mr. Fentress' 
farm was called the Land farm. 

This house was once the home of Dennis Capps, 
father of \'ann and Enoch Capps. It was the home 
of Capt. Solomon Caffee during the War of Seces- 
sion. Beside Captain Caffee (1814-1867) is buried 
in the famih- burying ground in the yard, John W. 
Caffee (1837-1861). Here also lived and are here 
buried Caleb C. Chaplin (1801-1859) and his wife 
Sarah A. (1806-1857), mother and father of Wilson 
and Caleb Chaplin. 

There are nearly as many "Necks" in Princess 
Anne as there are "Ridges." From Pungo Ridge let 
us return to the Little Neck road that led down 
to the Glebe. After turning from the \ irginia Beach 
Boulevard into the Little Neck road, if one be 
observant, may be seen on the right, well back from 
the road, a house most probably built prior to 1773. 
In that year Robert Williamson sold to James 
Moore his plantation of 276 acres. 

In 1799 James Moore devises to his son Kader 
a half of the acres, the residue to his son Joshua. 
In 1830 Kader Moore, whose wife was Frances 
Fentress, daughter of John Fentress, devises to his 
daughter Fanny, wife of James F. Henderson, his 
home place. In live years the Hendersons sell to 
Mr. Norris. 

George Norris was the son of Thomas Norris. 
The other sons and daughters were William, Molly 
Buskey, Sowell and Peggy Burgess. 

During his lifetime George Norris acquired 
quite an estate as well as quite a family. At the 
time of the death of George Norris, Sr., his wife was 



158 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



Elizabeth, the children were Margaret, whose 
husband was William Braithwaite (there were 
three Braithwaite grandchildren), George, Joseph, 
and Martha Ann, wife of Amos Ives. Bartholomew 
Smith, a near neighbor, is the witness to the will. 
Here it would seem that the widow Elizabeth 
Norris lived with the Ives, or vice versa, for in 
1848 Mrs. Norris made a \vi\\, probated in 1861, 
in which she devised all her estate to her daughter 
Martha Ann Ives. For eight years more the Ives 
family continued to live here, finally in 1869 selling 
to James H. Burgess. Because Mr. Burgess con- 
tinued to remain on the farm during forty years 
at a time when property w^as changing hands so 
rapidly (the 
changes due no 
doubt to the Re- 
construction Days 
and all the havoc 
they wrought ) 
accounts for the 
calling of this 
home by the name 
of the Burgesses. 
However today 
there are several 
prominent mem- 
bers of the Ives 
family who look 
back to this place 
as the home of 
their grand- and 
great - grandfath- ^^^^^ ^^^ ^^ ^^^y^^^ Poweii Home 




Old Houses in Princess Anne 



159 



ers. Mr, Julien Powell now owns the farm, making 
his home on it. 

So much for the history of the ownership ! Let 
us now say something of the house and its manner 
of building. 

There is one brick end of Flemish bond, with 
one chimney. This is in the north end of the house. 
The old bricks are almost entirely covered with a 
mass of ivy. The front door gives entrance to a 
hall, running back along the south side to a back 
door opposite the front. On the southside also is 
the stairway which turns on a platform over the 
back door, a few more steps and the second floor 
is reached. On the left of the front entrance 

are two rooms. 
The chimney is of 
triangular form, 
thus furnishing 
sufficient space in 
each room for a 
fireplace. The pic- 
ture will help vis- 
ualize this form of 
construction. The 
mantelpiece is in 
the front room. 
The rooms are not 
large, nor are the 
fireplaces large. 
There is a very 
nice chairboard 
around the rooms 
and in the hall. 




W^-' 



Mantelpiece in Julia Powell's Home 
in Little Neck 



160 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



There are many interesting stories of war days 
recounted by this generation of the Ives. It has 
not been our good fortune to hear them from a 
member of the family. Mrs. Powell keeps the yard 
a mass of bloom. It must be a gratification to those 
who feel so near the place, on account of associa- 
tions of other days, to have the home loved and 
continually beautified. 

In the genealogical notes just given you we 
mentioned William Braithwaite, who married 
Margaret Norris. Near Eastern Shore Chapel is 
the home of a branch of the Braithwaite family, 
which home has been in this family a long time. 

In 1795 James Braithwaite bought from Wil- 
liam Brock, Sr., and his wife Frances, administra- 
tors on the estate of William Brock, Jr., 73 acres, 
it being the land young William Brock had bought 
from George Reynolds Walker, part of a larger 
tract George Walker got from his father, Thomas 
Reynolds Walker. Before 1826 Mr. Braithwaite 
had bought the remainder of the Walker land. 




Braithwaite Home 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 161 

bringing his total to 257j/^ acres. In this last named 
year the plantation with 12^ acres of Lamont's 
pasture were transferred on the land books from 
James to his son William Braithwaite. The house 
has been added to and thereby almost doubled. 
The end on the right of the front door is the new 
part. 

Nearly a hundred years after James Braith- 
waite built his house his son William devised the 
same plantation to his son James Braithwaite and 
his daughter, Mrs. M, T. Ives, In the mean- 
time Mr. William Braithwaite had bought and 
made his home farther dow^n on the Great Neck 
road and on the Eastern Branch of Lynnhaven 
River. 

Of all the homes that must have been built on 
Little Creek, only one is left. That has been added 
to on the front during the years since it was the 
home of Joseph Powers before 1800. Mr. Powers 
had a daughter Priscilla who in selling her girlhood 
home to Abel Kellam in 1815, reserved the family 
burying place. In this graveyard today there are 
only two stones, each one marks the grave of a wife 
of this Abel Kellam. The first wife was Frances, 
daughter of James Jones ; the second was Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Erasmus Hayes. 

Mr. Kellam devised the acres south of the road 
with the buildings thereon to his nephew, James 
Drayton ; the acres north of the road he devised to 
his granddaughter, Sarah Frances Taylor, daugh- 
ter of Burton Taylor and Nancy Kellam. 

In 1865 the part of the plantation on which 
the house stands was bought by Reuben Gornto. 



162 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



S ^w^-^ 






w 




House on Gornto Farm, Little Creek 



More recently it has been the home of the Harry 
Gornto branch of the family. 

There are many home sites in and around Little 
Creek, but with this exception, the houses have all 
disappeared. To the west of this plantation were the 
Talbot lands; also in the neighborhood and nearer 
the creek was the William Holmes estate. The 
graveyard of this family still has many interesting 
tombs. A pine thicket has grown up all around this 
spot. Elizabeth Holmes married Joshua Fentress. 
There was a James Warren who lived at Little 
Creek when these other families did in the first 
quarter of the nineteenth century. Mr. Warren's 
wife was Mary Boush. 

And so one could continue, both forward and 
backward as to date, telling of people who had 
made their home on Little Creek and along the 
main road which led from Little Creek Bridges to 
Tanners Creek Cross Roads, 




Chapter XII 

N THE map division of the Library of 
Congress at Washington there are sev- 
eral very old and very interesting maps 
of Virginia. On these maps may be traced 
the progress made in discovery and development 
of this territory beginning with 1580 when Florida 
is designated with a vast unnamed area to the 
north. The next map is dated as of 1585. On this 
sheet record is made of Virginia as it was believed 
to be at the time Sir Walter Raleigh undertook 
colonization in the New World at Roanoke Island, 
Next we see the John Smith map of 1612, showing 
that very little was known of this section of Vir- 
ginia. The only names mentioned in these parts 
are Morton's Bay and Chesapioc Bay. The word 
Morton is written about where one would look for 
Lynnhaven River, Chesapioc at about the place 
one would expect to see Little Creek. In 1630 a 
map designates two Kings houses, Apasus, near 
the mouth of Lynnhaven, as we know it, and 
farther up on a deep bend in the river is Chesapioc. 
These then are the two Indian villages of which 
we may be certain as existing within the boundaries 
of Princess Anne County. 

At the clerk's office in Princess Anne is found 
the authority for the following facts concerning the 
laying out of a town by Argall Thorowgood in the 
year 1695. The town was located on the south side 
of the mouth of Lynnhaven River. (This would 



164 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

probably be in the neighborhood of what is now 
Lake Joyce.) The town site covered sixty acres, 
these acres being a part of the patent of 5,350 acres 
granted to Argall's grandfather, Adam (1) Thorow- 
good, on September 19, 1637, and by the last will 
and testament of his (Argall's) father. Col. Adam 
(2) Thorowgood, devised to the said Argall Thor- 
owgood. 

The sixty acres was laid out in lots a little over 
two acres each. The deed reserves streets, market 
place, and other conveniences. The names of the 
streets were King, Queen, and Princess. The fol- 
lowing is a list of the names of the purchasers of 
the lots : Robert Thorowgood, John Moncrief , 
Adam Thorowgood, Eben Ezer Taylor, Jno. 
Richerson, William Moseley, George Poole, Peter 
Malbone, Adam Hayes, Adam Keeling, William 
Capps, Jacob Johnson, Francis Bond, William 
Cornick, James Lamont, Thomas Benson, John 
Mackie, Jno. Moseley, Francis Morse, William 
Haslett, Robert Adams, Edward Attwood. 

While scanning the further title of the lots as 
they passed to new owners, we never came across 
any reference to buildings having been erected 
thereon. In a few years the lots were owned by 
some one, or two, persons. Before 1771 James 
Tenant owned a number of them, for in his will 
made in that year, he says, "All my land at the 
Bayside called Lynnhaven Town" shall be rented 
until William Thorowgood, orphan of Argall, 
comes of age. 

It may well be that in the earliest days the 
colonists were more or less centered near Lynn- 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 165 

haven, making somewhat of a village. Certainly 
here in 1655, "upon the land or plantation of 
William Johnson, being M'"'"'' Yardleys land scituate 
on Linhaven River to be the place both for Church 
& Markett for Linhaven parish two myles in length 
Northward & Southward and noe further," the 
commissioners appointed by the court made this 
designation. 

During the years wherein much development 
was taking place on the Eastern Branch, when 
Norfolk Town had been laid out with Maj. Anthony 
Lawson and Capt. William Robinson as feoffees 
for the sale of lots, when the court house for the 
new made county of Princess Anne was ordered 
to be built at John Reeling's plantation at London 
Bridge (this was rescinded), we say, it may be that 
Argall laid out his town hoping to stem the tide 
which seemed to be sweeping inland away from the 
more exposed waters towards a more protected 
roadstead. 

Of this town today there is no ruin by which 
the spot may be more definitely located. 

In a previous chapter we have told of New 
Town, the next town in chronological order to rise, 
flourish for a time, then cease to be. And so we 
come to Kempsville, which followed New Town as 
the urban center of the county. 

Before the incorporation of Kempsville the 
place was known as Kemp's Landing. There was a 
deep water landing here with a drawbridge ; tobacco 
warehouses flourished on the banks of the canal. 
The drawbridge and warehouses were in use within 
the memory of persons now living. Beside the 



166 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

family of George Kempe, we find Anthony Walke 
on his splendid plantation "Fairfield," George 
Logan, the Tory, keeping a drygoods and wet goods 
store, William White, Jacob and Edward Valentine, 
James Kempe, Dr. Thomas Kempe, Peter Single- 
ton, William Carraway, Frederick Boush, Mitchel 
Thorowgood, Capt. Samuel Tenant, John Michael 
Kenline, and others. Of the families just named, 
there is only one that would appear today on the 
roster of the citizens of the village. That name is 
Carraway. However, there are several extremely 
interesting buildings remaining through all these 
years. 

We know that Kempsville was the scene of a 
skirmish during the Revolution. Recently the Old 
Donation Chapter D. A. R. has erected a granite 
marker, recording the date, etc. During that time 
the citizenry was divided in its allegiance. Several 
prominent men were called up and closely ques- 
tioned by the Committee of Safety concerning 
their activities, and more especially concerning a 
visit to Benedict Arnold when Arnold was in the 
city of Portsmouth. 

George Logan, a Scotchman, left the country 
for all time. There is a record at the court house 
of his inquisition. His wife, Isabell Campbell, 
remained in the community and made an effort to 
regain some of his forfeited estate. 

It was not at Kempsville, however, that the first 
blood was shed in Princess Anne in the attempt of 
Englishmen to establish for themselves in the New 
World a country whose principle of government 
was to become a government of the people, by 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 167 

the people, for the people. When, from the Sarah 
Constant, the Goodspeed and the Discovery, that 
band of adventurers came ashore to reconnoitre 
near Cape Henry, when strawberries were ripe in 
April, when also they learned from the feasting 
Indians of that succulent bivalve, now the far- 
famed Lynnhaven oyster, a skirmish took place 
between this band and the native redskins. Blood 
was shed, but loss of life is not recorded. 

Recently there has passed away in Kempsville 
one of its oldest citizens, Mr. John I. Herrick. 
Fortunately for this record just shortly before his 
passing, it was our delight to sit with him by the 
side of the stove in his country store at Kempsville 
and hear him tell of his recollections of notable 
personages who had called the village home. He 
told us of young Peter Singleton, of his wealth, his 
extravagance in dressing, his recklessness at cards. 
Of course young Mr. Singleton was not living during 
Mr. Herrick's lifetime, but he knew people who had 
seen Peter Singleton decked out in velvet suit with 
lace at the sleeve and buttons of solid gold. 

Mr. Herrick also told us of "Fairfield," the 
almost baronial establishment of the Anthony 
Walkes, of the hugeness of the parlor, of the coat- 
of-arms over the handcarved mantelpiece in the 
dining room, and then of that day — that windy day 
in March, maybe in 1865, certainly years ago — 
when a spark from out the chimney snuggled down 
in the shingles of the roof, seeking surcease from 
that buffeting, billowing March wind, became the 
spark that caused the manor house of the Anthony 
Walkes of Virginia, in the ancient country of Prin- 



168 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

cess Anne, to become a mass of crumbling bricks, 
dusted over with ashes from the very mantelpiece 
and its companions, so recently the decorations of 
the spacious rooms of Fairfield. 

Mr. Herrick faltered; said he, "I've been in all 
the rooms. I was at the funeral of David Walke. 
You should have seen the crowds that came from 
all the county, from Norfolk! — But I don't like to 
talk about it — The wind's not blowing today, is it? 
— That's David Walke's tombstone you see stand- 
ing so tall up there in the graveyard." . . . And so 
we went out into the glorious sunshine of a well 
nigh perfect day, just such a day as we like to 
picture in thinking of the first landing at Cape 
Henry. 

Tradition has it that the "Victory Ball" was 
danced at the house on the corner, lately occupied 
by Mr. Herrick. Tradition also says that the very 
imposing brick house, set back in a grove of trees 
on the left of the present boulevard, was the home 
of George Logan. It is said that here Logan 
entertained Lord Dunmore after the firing of 
Norfolk. This entertainment would be the last time 
a royal governor of Virginia, as such, was enter- 
tained here or elsewhere. The county records of 
land transfers do not bear out the fact that this 
house was Logan's home. On the contrary the chain 
of title proves other ownerships. True it is that 
Logan lived in the village, that he kept a wet and 
dry goods store, that he owned a tenement and lots, 
but these were to the northwest of this location, 
his house being probably nearer the water. And true 
it may be that in Kempsville final hospitality was 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 169 

extended to Virginia's last royal governor, but the 
scene was not laid in the particular house errone- 
ously called Logan's home. 

In 1750 Anthony Walke sold a certain lot to 
one Samuel Tenant, a mariner. Later Capt. 
Tenant purchased other lots from Mr. Walke. They 
were a part of Fairfield. The lots were subject to 
the making of two streets in the proposed town of 
Kempsville. Before the actual incorporation, 
whereby in 1783 Kempe's Landing acquired the 
more dignified title of Kempsville, these lots again 
changed hands, Probably the disturbing and dis- 
tressing years of Revolution delayed the incorporat- 
ing. Be this as it may, Capt. Tenant's heirs sold the 
lots to Peter Singleton for 67 pounds and a few 
shillings in March, 1777. 

Now above the basement window on the right, 
near the front door, in a brick, is "April 19, 1779." 
Maybe that window marked the progress Mr. 
Singleton had made in his building. By will in 1790 
Mr. Singleton left the mansion, for such it was and 
is, to his son Isaac. Isaac married Stikey Thorow- 
good. Their son, Peter Singleton, inherited quite 
a nice estate from his Thorowgood kin as well as 
from his father, but lost it nearly all about the time 
of building the large house on the Bayville farm, 
now owned by Mr. Burruss. This was in 1828. 

From the time Isaac Singleton sold the house 
at Kempsville it changed hands often. In the early 
part of the nineteenth century it was the home of 
Mrs. Anne Walke, wife of Anthony (3) Walke, the 
Episcopal clergyman. At one time it was the home of 
Dr. Oscar Baxter; later a member of the wealthy 



170 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



Garrison family owned the place ; for a number of 
years it was the home of the Miles Selden family; 
for the past quarter of a century Dr. R. E. White- 
head, member of one of Princess Anne's oldest 
families, has made it his home. 

In the title chain we can not hnd that Logan 
ever held title. It is true that in a description of the 
property in one of the deeds we find the Logan lot, 
or lots, as a boundary. From the price Mr. Peter 
Singleton paid therefor in comparison with the 
later selling price, we feel justified in believing that 
Mr. Singleton was the builder of "Pleasant Hall" 
— such is the name according to the deeds. 

"Pleasant Hall" is Georgian architecture of 
the second period. The bonding is Flemish. The 
interior is one of the handsomest, if not the hand- 
somest, left in the county. At one time we are told 
there were wings on each side. There is substantiat- 
ing evidence to this on the right outside wall. In 
fact an old resident remembers the wings. It is 




Peter Singleton Home at Kempsv'ille, "Pleasant Hall' 



172 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

said that as a former owner (whose name has not 
appeared in this text) had need for ready cash, 
bricks from the wings or from the fence, would be 
torn out and sold. 

On entering the front door, there are two rooms 
on the right, the front one presenting handsome 
wainscoting. On the left is an exhibition of even 
more elaborate woodwork by way of cupboard, 
panels, and pilasters topped with Corinthian capi- 
tals. Midway the hall, which runs all way through 
from front to back door, is a very graceful arch, 
hiding from view the stairway on the left. The stair 
is easy of ascent and comports entirely with the 
stateliness of the whole. Just in the rear of the stair 
is a doorway, leading into a tiny bedchamber, 
known as the governess room. Dr. Whitehead says 
he has been told that it was through this room 
entrance was had to one wing. That wing housed 
the school rooms. Opposite the stairway is a door 
entering the rear room previously referred to as 
being one of two rooms on the right. In the fire- 
place in this room is a very old pair of fire dogs. 
Dr. Whitehead says they came from Rolleston, the 
home of the Moseleys. Practically all of the interior 
has remained unchanged and has been well cared 
for. Of course there is a new roof. That is to be 
expected, but in the attic one has a rare treat in 
viewing the supporting timbers. The pictures we 
offer are recent and give an accurate idea of the 
whole place. 

While "Pleasant Hall" was and is a show place, 
just up the country road a short distance to the 
right and beyond the Kempsville High School is a 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 173 

little gem of a house. It is of that early story-and- 
a-half, sharp roof type. The old hand molded bricks 
are laid by the Flemish method, now, however, not 
noticeable because the bricks have been white- 
washed. This little house stands in the shade of 
an old elm tree that is sixteen feet in circumference. 
The sturdy old elm and the sturdy little house are 
all that is left to us of the home of Anthony Walke's 
plantation "Fairfield." Just across the ravine out- 
side the fence on a high spot are the rapidly dis- 
integrating tombstones of several generations of the 
\\ alke family. It would not take a very vivid imagi- 
nation to see, as in days gone by, a stream of water 
running through this ravine converting it into a 
tributary of the Eastern Branch. 

When we first visited the little whitewashed 
house we were told that it was the quarter kitchen 
of "Fairfield" — all that was left of the buildings 
as they were in the days when that plantation vied 
with Lawson Hall, Greenwich and Rolleston as 
dispenser of hospitality in that part of the county. 
After looking at the picture carefully, and after 
hearing about the interior of the house, see if you 
believe it was built for a quarter kitchen. 

In the first place the roof is very steep. Notice 
that windows have been let into the roof on one 
side. The other side, we take it, is as it was orig- 
inally. On the interior there is the usual 8' hall 
with one room on each side. The stairway goes up 
from the hall. There are two rooms upstairs under 
the roof. The two chimneys are in the east and 
WTSt ends of the house. The fireplace in the east 
room downstairs measures 34" in width and 32 1^'' 



174 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




Little House and Elm tree on Fairfield 




Front View of Little House on Fairfield 



in height. This is the larger one. Now just a word 
about the history of the place. 

Thomas Walke, the emigrant, came to the 
Virginia Colony from the Barbadoes in 1662. In 
1689 he married Mary Lawson, the daughter of 
Lt. Col. Anthony Lawson. The children of this 
union were Anthony, Thomas and Mary. It would 
seem that the early colonists were not long lived, 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 175 

therefore both men and women often married 
more than once. With the procUvity there was 
toward the wedded state, it is surprising that Mr. 
Walke remained so long a time in the colony before 
becoming a benedict. 

After about four years of wedded bliss we find 
in 1693/4 his will probated. The home plantation 
was devised to his son Thomas, to son Anthony 
was devised "Possum Neck" adjoining Thomas 
Dixon's with the proviso, however, that this planta- 
tion should be sold and with the proceeds some 
suitable plantation be bought for son Anthony. 
Accordingly in 1697 Lt. Col Anthony Lawson and 
Mr. Edward Moseley, Sr., executors of Thomas 
Walke's will, purchased from "Francis Tully Em- 
peror, formerly known as Francis, the land bought 
of John Porter, Sr., August 2, 1691, together with 
houses, orchards, gardens, fences, pasture, cleare 
ground and woodland." The purchase price was 150 
pounds sterling. 

The deed by which Francis Tully Emperor 
acquired this land is in itself of interest for two 
reasons. In the first place the deed recites that 
Emperor was late of the Barbadoes, but was now 
residing on the "Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth 
River, Linhaven Pish." Fairfield was made up from 
a part of two patents, one patent taken up by Col. 
John Sidney in 1647 and subsequently sold by 
him to John Porter, Sr., and Jr. The second patent 
was taken up by the Brother John Porter, Sr., in 
1663. The second interesting fact, then, is that we 
run across two brothers by the same name, John 
Porter. They are differentiated by the use of senior 



176 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

and junior. There are other instances recorded 
wherein a similar thing occurred in other famihes. 

John Porter, Sr., in 1691, made a deed to Em- 
peror for the major part of the 300-acre patent and 
for a part of the 350-acre patent, with "wood land, 
clear ground, timber, houses, orchards, gardens, 
fences, waters," &c. It is our belief that this little 
house was on the property when John Porter sold 
to Emperor, or that Francis Tully built the house 
when he bought the place in 1691. And further we 
believe that most probably this little house was 
used as an office, lodge, or coachman's house after 
the building of the manor house on Fairfield. It 
does not seem reasonable to think that an estate 
of the elegance, wealth and importance of Fairfield 
could, or would, content itself with a fireplace 
34"x32;!>^'' for cooking purposes. And now what do 
you think, after hearing all the facts that we have 
been able to assemble? 

So much has been written of the Walke family 
it is a twice-told tale to recount more of its history 
in this volume. With your indulgence, however, 
we will briefly rehearse a few facts that serve to 
connect Fairfield and Pleasant Hall. Anthony 
Walke, the first, was dead in 1768, at the age of 
seventy-six. These facts we found from the in- 
scription on his tomb, although the greater part of 
the inscription could not be read. The stone slab 
is broken in three pieces and the supporting columns 
have fallen apart. This Anthony married Anna Lee 
Armistead, daughter of William Armistead. Their 
son was Anthony (2) who was twice married, first 
to Jane Randolph, whose mother was a Boiling. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne \77 

Their son Anthony (3) was the Episcopal clergy- 
man. And his wife Anne owned and lived at 
"Pleasant Hall." In 1757 Anthony (2) married 
Mary Moseley, daughter of Ed. Hack and Mary 
Bassett Moseley, Their children were William, 
Edward Hack, John Bassett, Mary, Francis, and 
Anna. For some reason Col. Anthony (2) was 
buried at "Greenwich," a family home of the 
Moseleys. 

From the Antiquary, volume 2, page 17, we 
quote the Lynnhaven Parish Register for the record 
of the recommendation, induction, and resignation 
of Anthony (3) as minister of the parish. 

PRINCESS ANNE COUNTY 
LYN HAVEN PARISH 

At a Vestry held the 29th of March 1788 
Present 

John Hancock ) ^, , ,^^ , 
„ o- 1 yChurch Wardens 

reter Singleton | 

Joel Cornick Thomas Walke ) 

John Cornick Edw. H. Moseley r Vestrymen 

and Dennis Dawley ' 

Ordered that Anthony Walke, Gentleman, who wishes 
to obtain letters of Ordination, be recommended to the 
Right Revd. Bishop White, in the following words 

Commonwealth of Virginia 

At a Vestry held for the Parish of Lynhaven in the 
County of Princess Anne the 29th day of March 1788 

We the subscribers Vestrymen of the said Parish beg 
leave to recommend to the Right Revd. Bishop White, 
Anthony Walke, Gent, as a person of probity and good 
demeanor, who wishes to obtain Letters of Ordination and 
hereby Certify that on the sixth day of May next there will 



178 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

be a vacancy in the said Parish for a minister of the Episcopal 
Church and we are willing to induct the said Anthony Walke 
into the same when ordained. ( Here follow the names of 
the vestrymen.) 

PRINCESS ANNE COUNTY 
LYNHAVEN PARISH 

At a Vestry held the 3d. of July 1788 
Present 

John Hancock \ ^ x\j ^ 

_, ,-,. , yCliurch Wardens 

reter bmgletonj 

Joel Cornick 

John Cornick j 

Cason Moore ^ Vestrymen 

Edwd. Hack Moseley i 

Dennis Dawley ' 

The Revd. Mr. Anthony Walke being present, and desir- 
ing to be inducted into the Parish, aforesaid did subscribe 
the following writing 

I do hereby agree to be conformable to the Doctrine, 
Discipline, and Worship of the Protestant Episcopal Church, 
and do stipulate that I hold the appointment of Incumbent 
in the said Parish, subject to removal, upon the determina- 
tion of the Convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church 
in this State 

Anthony Walke 

The Revd. Mr. Anthony Walke having produced his 
Episcopal Letters of Ordination from the Right Revd. 
Bishop White of the State of Pennsylvania, is accordingly 
inducted Minister of the Episcopal Church in this Parish. 

In Vestry Octr. 10th 1800 
Present John Hancock, Edward H. Moseley, Lemuel Cor- 
nick, Dennis Dawley, Thomas Lawson, James Robinson, & 
Erasmus Haynes Esqs. 

Anthony Walke, Incumbent of the Parish of Lynhaven 
came into the Vestry Room & resigned his office as minister 
of the same. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



179 



It is interesting to know that these Letters of 
Ordination came from the Right Revd. Bishop 
White of the State of Pennsylvania, because at the 
time of Mr. Walke's ordination, Bishop White was 
the only bishop of the Church of England residing 
in the new Republic. 

Returning to the house of the "Victory Ball" 
— this is the site of Frederick Boush's lot in 
Kempsville. In his will he devised this lot he bought 
of Keys to his granddaughter, Elizabeth Walke 
Boush. Frederick Boush and Peter Singleton were 
next door neighbors, their gardens joining. 

Before 1699 Maximillian Boush (the first of 
the family in this section) the elder, was in the 
county. His plantation was on Bennetts Creek. 
This, in 1728, he devised to his son Samuel Boush. 
To his son Maximillian, he devised his plantation 
called "Harnets." 

There was a Sarah Boush who made a will 
in 1733 devising thereby her manor plantation 




"Victory Ball" House on Frederick Boush lot 



180 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

whereon she lived, with swamp land adjoining the 
land of her deceased brother Horatio Woodhouse, 
to her son Samuel; to her son Maximillian, her 
plantations called Creedles and Courtneys. In each 
devise she reserved to her husband his life estate. 

Maximillian Boush II married Elizabeth Wil- 
son, as his widow she married Thomas Thelaball. 
Maximillian II was the father of Frederick Boush; 
he was also the father of Elizabeth who married 
Gershom Nimmo. As the widow of Nimmo in 1766 
she married Jacob Hunter. 

Maximillian Boush (1) was Queen's Attorney 
of the county courts of Norfolk, Princess Anne and 
Nansemond. There is a record of the gentlemen 
justices of Princess Anne sitting "y*^ 17''' 9^'" 1708" 
for laying of the county levy. One item reads : 

Princess Anne County is Debtor 

To M*" Maxm'' Boush for being Queens 

Atty*"y agt Sherrwood 

(Tobacco) 500 

This was, of course, when Grace was tried as a 
witch. 

From the appearance of the house (Fred. Boush) 
today, we feel sure that so much has been rebuilt 
that the picture gives no conception of how it 
appeared when the famous ball was danced. Even 
the chimneys are covered with stucco, so one may 
not say authoritatively of the brick work. 

Just back of the Singleton's and Boush's was a 
street, running from the road (Bayside Road, 
passing Donation) in a westerly direction to a 
second street, running north and south from the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 181 




Baptist Parsonage at Kempsville 

Main Street, or road to Norfolk, on the southern 
end, the Spring Branch at the northern end. Across 
the north and south street to the west were the lots 
with tenements, wet and dry goods store of George 
Logan. Facing Logan's lots is the part of Mr. 
Singleton's lots, in the rear of his house, which 
later he sold for the "Public Lott." Adjoining this, 
still farther to the east, touching the road to 
Donation and in the rear of Boush, is located the 
lot, or lots, whereon "Billy White" kept tavern. 
It is said that a brick walk ran the length of this 
street from the court house to the tavern. Your 
imagination will not lead you astray in your sur- 
mises. On this lot, or a part of it, today is the 
Baptist parsonage. How times do change ! Again 
we do not believe that the present building has 
more than a small part of the original incorporated 
in it. The two chimneys, one on each end, are of 
Flemish bond only to the point above the breast 
where the weathering of the first setoff occurs. 
On the lot that Peter Singleton sold to the county 



l82 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

still stand the court house and jail that were built 
at that time. We have a theory of the progression 
of the succession of court houses that perhaps is 
not orthodox. We shall tell you what we found in 
the records. 

In the beginning let us tell you that we did 
not examine each separate-court entry during 
every year. We picked entries at random, here and 
there. 

In 1640 a court was sitting for Lower Norfolk 
County at the home of William Shipp. This place 
is noted similarly on more than one occasion during 
that year. 

In 1642 at William Shipp's 

1643 at Linhaven 

1644 at Ensign Thomas Lambert's 

1645 at Thomas Mear's 
1655 at Edward Hall's 
1657 at Mr. Edward's 

1659 at Savill Gaskin's 

1660 at Moses Lynton's 

1661 at Thomas Harding's 
1661 at John Godfrey's 

In 1666 vestries of both parishes, Elizabeth 
River and Lynnhaven, are ordered to meet at the 
court house. Where this was, we do not know. 
When Princess Anne became a county in 1691 the 
court house was ordered to be built at John 
Reeling's plantation at London Bridge. The next 
year this order was rescinded and the building 
was ordered to be erected at the Brick Church. 
The New Brick Church (Donation) was near 
Cattayle Creek, a branch of Bennetts Creek, near 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



183 



the ferry. By 1753 the Court was moved to New 
Town. 

When the Court first came to sit at Kempsville 
the house of George Logan was used. A levy was 
laid at the December, 1778, session of the Court 
for fixing up and making convenient Logan's dry 
goods store for use as a court house and a part of 
the wet goods store for the jail, to be used until 
such places could be built. We could find no Court 
Order for the building of the old court house one 
finds today in Kempsville. It is of Flemish bond, 
built to the full height of two stories, but with a 
gallery. This may have been changed on the interior 
when it became the Baptist Church some years 
after the buildings were erected at the present 
Princess Anne, That the old court house was com- 
pleted before July, 1789, we know, for that is the 
date on which Mr. Singleton made his deed to the 
gentlemen justices for a certain lot opposite Jacob 
Valentine (this had been Logan's we believe) "on 
a part of which stands said court house." The 







Court House at Kempsville, built prior to 1787 



184 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

price was 20^. However, as early as 1784 the lot 
was referred to as the "Public Lott." 

The first jail at Kempsville was built of wood, 
according to an order of February 15, 1782. This 
order was changed a month later. Instead of two 
rooms above and two below, the whole 30'x20', 
with brick chimney in the center, the new Order 
called for a 16' square room above and below, with 
brick chimney in one end, fireplace in each room. 
At this time the court house had not been built, 
for there was a levy of 3,000 pounds of tobacco for 
rent, and an additional levy for repairs to the 
court house. 

It would not appear that this wooden jail was 
elective as such. There are repeated Court Orders 
for repairs, for reinforcing the windows, &c. ; also 
day and night a guard was employed at nine pounds 
of tobacco for each detail, whether day or night. 
This jail burned, for there is an Order for salvaging 
the nails, &c. therefrom. The following record tells 
the rest of the story: 

At a court of quarterly session continued and held at 
the Courthouse for the County of Princess Anne the 16th 
day of May, 1787. 

Ordered that a jail be built at Kempsville of Brick 24 
feet long and 32 feet wide, the walls of which to be two 
feet thick till carried up four to the top of the first floor 
and 10 inches afterwards; and 20 feet high from the founda- 
tion, which shall be one foot under ground ; That the jail 
shall be divided into four apartments: viz. 2 rooms below 
and two above : That a wall like that above mentioned shall 
be run up between the front and back rooms quite throughout 
the house and another between the back rooms and a passage 
which is to be left six feet wide, That a narrow Partition 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



185 




uilding at Kempsville, 1787 



shall be raised between the front Rooms and the said 
passage : That a chimney be built in the end of the House 
with four fire places properly secured with Iron grates or 
Ba! s, That 2 Windows 2 feet square be made in the back 
lower Room and very well secured with Iron bars: and 
two in the back upper Room secured in like manner : That 
two Windows shall be in each Front Room containing twelve 
panes of glass each eight by ten : That the back room below 
shall be lined doubly with oak Plank 2 inches thick and 
ceiled overhead with the same kind and nailed to the satis- 
faction of the Trustees appointed to conduct the Business: 
That the Three Floors of the two back Rooms shall be of 
two Inch oak Plank, the Sleepers 12 inches deep, the joist 
9 inches deep, all placed very near together and nailed to 
the satisfaction of the said Trustees. That the Building shall 
have two outside doors and five inside Doors according to 
the Plan annexed, and shall be covered with a Square Roof 
ranging with that of the Court House, consisting of large 
Scantling Inch Plank and Heart Shingles, That the front 
Rooms shall be finished in a plain manner with Laths, Plaister 
and agreeable to the Directions of the Trustees: and that the 
House shall be furnished with locks and hinges Paint and 
every thing necessary according to the Directions of the 
Trustee: That if any part of the Building shall be extended 



186 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

to where there is a Pond in the Public ground, the Wall 
shall be founded in the bottom of the said Pond, That the 
said Pond shall be filled up; That a pair of stairs shall run 
up from the lower Floor to the upper Rooms, That the 
Front Windows shall be secured by Iron Grates. 

That a Brick Wall of 50 feet Square reckoning the Front 
and East end of the jail as part of the said Square be Built, 
That it be twelve feet from the surface of the ground and 
one foot under neath and of the same thickness as the jail 
wall and that the Top be secured by Iron Spikes in the best 
manner that can be secured by the Trustees. 

That wherever the said wall shall strike or run through 
the Pond or Clay Hole, The foundation thereof shall begin 
at the bottom of the Pond. 

Thos. Walke, Jno. Cornick, Thos. Kempe and Henry 
Kellam Gent., are appointed Trustees to carry the utoresaid 
Building into Execution, and that they set it up in a Public 
manner to the lowest bidder, after advertising it thiee weeks 
in the Norfolk and Portsmouth Journal. 

The jail became a school (public and private) 
house. More recently it has been converted into a 
most comfortable and attractive dwelling, the 
property of Mrs. Alfriend (Miriam Whitehead). 

There was a puzzling situation that confronted 
us in placing the date of the building of the jail, 
that is before we searched the records. For this 
reason we have given you the detailed story. The 
bricks are bonded by the English method, which, 
we are told, went out of vogue by 1700. Indeed 
during the past summer (1930) a connoisseur of 
early American architecture, while driving through 
the village was caught by this one house. As an 
authority he placed the building prior to 1700. 
See how easy it is to be mistaken ! 

Now the way we account for the use of the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



187 




Lynnhaven Parish Rectory at Kempsville 

English bond is just this. From the order books it 
is most apparent that difficulty was experienced 
in preventing prisoners from escaping. So, our 
farsighted trustees of the building had this method 
of bonding employed because it is the strongest. 

There is one other old house in Kempsville, 
perhaps the oldest of all now standing. It is the 
rectory of Lynnhaven Parish. The lot joins Em- 
manuel Episcopal Church, which church Bishop 
Meade dedicated and consecrated in 1843. 

This title led us into a most unexpected own- 
ership. This home is reputed to be the Boush 
house, built by Maximillian the eldest in 1680, 
becoming the home of his son Samuel who was 
Norfolk's first mayor. Here is the title as we found 
it at Princess Anne. 

In 1765 Anthony Walke sold to John Michael 
Kenline for 26^ a half-acre lot, 95^ feet on the 
road; John Michael Kenline making a will in 1782 
devised to Ann Campbell, widow of Duncan Camp- 
bell "my house and lot I live on at Kemp's Land- 



188 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

ing." From this the chain is perfectly clear, when 
in 1818 this same property is the house with lot on 
which James J. Johnson is keeping a tavern. In 
that same year Mr. Johnson adds an additional 
50' front to the east on the main road adjoining, 
and again a small piece next thereto in the same 
line and direction in 1826. By deeds we trace this 
same property, house and lot, to 1860, in which 
year we find \\ illoughby Dozier buying from J. E. 
Bell three quarters acre with house, known as 
Johnson's lot, bounded on the north by the road, 
south by Thomson, east by church lot, west by 
Willoughby Dozier, (this was Dr. Wright's, by 
Dozier it was sold to Dr. Hunter). 

And so first and last, we found nowhere that 
any Boush owned this house and lot. There is 
every evidence of the age of the house when one 
considers the chimneys, the w'ide floor boards, the 
very high mantels with narrow shelf, the whole 
style bespeaks its age. 

Of all these old places in Kempsville, only one 
is unoccupied, it is the old court house. Quite 
recently Judge B. D. White purchased the property 
from the Baptist Church trustees. Just now a new 
roof is being put on. We prophesy that shortly this 
fine old building, which has witnessed the minis- 
trations of church and state to the people of Princess 
Anne will ser\e the coming generations in a useful 
capacity. 




Chapter XIII 



NE of the earliest duties of the Parish 
vestries was the maintenance of ferries. 
At a court held at William Shipp's on 
September 15, 1642, it was ordered that 
there be two ferries for the County of Lower 
Norfolk, one on Daniel Tanners Creek, the other 
at Lynnhaven upon the land of Capt. Thorow- 
good's heirs, the place known as the "Quarter." 
This ferry from the "Quarter" was to be run to 
the eastern and to western shore of Lynnhaven. A 
levy of sixteen hundredweight of tobacco was made 
on the whole county for payment of the ferrymen. 
Capt. John Gookin was designated as the person 
to employ a ferryman for the Lynnhaven ferries 
for the next year. 

Earlier in the same year a ferry had been 
established. To be exact, on February 16, 1642, is 
recorded that Savill Gaskins had engaged himself 
before to Capt. John Gookin, Esq., Commander 
Edward Windham, Esq., and Henry Woodhouse, 
Esq., to keep the ferry, beginning January 26th 
and running for a year, the ferry to be in Lynn- 
haven River, and to run from the "Quarter" to the 
Eastern Shore at Robert Cam's Point, upon notice 
of a "Hollow or a ffeir" (flare?), also to run from 
the "Quarter" to Trading Point upon the same 
notice. The pay was eight hundred pounds of 
tobacco. All of this arrangement was being on that 



190 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

day carried out in accordance with a Court Order 
of November 15 of the previous year. 

One familiar with the topography of Princess 
Anne knows the necessity there must have been 
for ferries. 

Farther up on the Western Branch of Lynn- 
haven, formerly Bennetts Creek, was a 50-acre 
tract called "Ferry." In early 1700 there was much 
buying and selling of this particular tract. In 1730 
it was the property of Charles Smythe, son of John 
Smythe. Charles gave to the county two acres by 
the spring for the new court house. Smythe sold to 
Moore, and in 1735 Moore sold to Thomas A/Iartin 
the Ferry, "50 acres less the two acres whereon the 
court house now stands," and one acre reserved 
to Charles Smythe as a burying ground, and reserv- 
ing to Moore the bridge "now building over ferry." 
Thomas Martin sold the plantation to Mr. Walke. 
The acreage had been increased, but of the original 
fifty acres, even in this deed, the two acres on 
which the court house was standing was excepted. 

Anthony Walke the second, maker of the famous 
twenty-page will with two codicils, devised to his 
son William "the 'Ferry' plantation, or Church 
Quarter, with the use of adjacent lands when he 
reaches the age of twenty-one, or marries . . . 
Item : If I should depart this life before I can 
build a decent Dwelling House, with a Kitchen, 
laundry, Smoke-house, Dairy, and other out 
Houses, my w'ill and desire is that the sum of 
1000^ current money may be laid out ... by my 
executors ... in building ... on the Land . . called 
'Ferry' Plantation at the old Court House." The 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 191 




Ferry Farm, Virginia home of C. M. Barnett 

use of all this with one-third of the plantation, Mr. 
Walke devised to his wife for life, she to keep the 
houses in repair at her own expense 

This son William (1762-1795) married Mary 
Calvert. He lies buried in the field to the left of 
the house. 

From the will of Anthony Walke it would seem 
that the dwelling on "Ferry" was built during the 
lifetime of William Walke. And yet the bonding of 
the brick is of the style known in this section as 
"Early Virginia," supposedly dating about 1820. 
In this method of tying bricks they are laid in three 
or live courses of stretchers, and then a course of 
headers. We are at a loss for an answer in explana- 
tion of this bonding. 

The plantation of "Ferry" is now the property 
of Mr. C. M. Barnett of New York City. It is his 
country estate in Virginia. Out in the water may 
be seen today the piling from a more recent bridge 
which crossed to the other shore. The plantation on 



192 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



the far shore of Lynnhaven at this point was the 
Mcintosh estate. 

There are fascinating stories that this is the 
old court house, the wing on the right, the jail; 
that in this jail was imprisoned Grace Sherwood. 
Even the iron bars in the window will be pointed 
out to you. Well this is all charming and thrilling 
as a good yarn. But facts are facts. The witch trial 
took place 1705-1708, the court house was built 
near "Ferry" between 1730-1735 

Near by the "Ferry" of William Walke was an 
extensive plantation called Pembrook. A part of 
this tract "Billy" White, acting executor of Capt. 
Henry Kellam, sold to Miss Fannie Walke. Six 
hundred acres with the brick dwelling, the orchards, 
dove houses, "guardians," &c., he sold to Dennis 
Dawley in 1796. David Milhado and his mother 
Mary owned the plantation from 1803 to 1814. 
From 1822 for some years it was the home of Dr. 
James McAlpine. 













Pembrook, John Saunders Home 



Old House in Princess Anne 193 

During July, 1779, when the Princess Anne 
Committee of Safety was holding inquisitions of 
persons held to be secretly, or aggressively, friendly 
to the British, John Saunders was called before the 
jury. He was declared a "British subject" and his 
lands declared escheat. 

March 1, 1781, is recorded the following grant: 

"Thomas Jefferson, Governor, to Henry Kellam, 800 
acres, more or less, lyin^ & bein^ in the County of Princess 
Anne, and the Parish of Lynnhaven, lately the property of 
John Saunders, a British Subject. Consideration: 32400 Lbs. 
current money paid to Thomas Reynolds Walker, Gent., 
Escheator for the County of Princess Anne. Agreeable to 
two Acts of Assembly passed in 1779 entitled 'An Act Con- 
cerning escheats & forfeitures from British Subjects' and the 
other entitled 'An Act Concerning Escheators'." 

The Saunders family was old, well connected, 
and notable in the county. Jonathan Saunders was 
minister of Lynnhaven Parish in 1695. His widow, 
Mary, married Maximillian Boush. Mary Saunders, 
the daughter of Jonathan, married Cornelius Cal- 
vert in 1719. Capt Jonathan Saunders was vestry- 
man in the parish in 1761. It is said that John 
Saunders after leaving Virginia, joined the British 
army and became an officer. 

The house called Pembrook that was the home 
of John Saunders in Princess Anne, is Georgian 
architecture, though the porches which have been 
built all way around in these recent years, so 
successfully camouflage the handsome old place, 
one would never suspect but what it were a modern 
bungalow of the best California type. 

There is one other home of the Walkes in 



194 Old Houses in Princess A 



nne 







Home of Col. Thomas Walke 








i 



Dining room in Col. Thomas VValke 
House 



Cornice and wainscote panels in hall at 
Col. Thomas Walke Home 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 195 

Princess Anne that is still standing. Of it we shall 
tell you next. 

On the Norfolk and Southern electric line to 
Virginia Beach, between London Bridge and 
Oceana, there is a stop called Maple Run. On the 
north, nestling back in a grove of line trees, is 
another of Princess Anne's old homes. One called 
the Brick House farm, it is the property of Mr. 
W. H. H. Batten. Except for Peter Singleton's 
home at Kempsville (Dr. R. E. Whitehead's) and 
Poplar Hall, the Hoggard home, this house has, in 
our judgment, the next handsomest amount of 
hand carved wood panelling. 

There are two large rooms on the front, one on 
each side of a broad hall. The hall runs through to 
the back door. In the rear of each large room is 
a smaller one. There are four rooms on the second 
floor, an attic above. In the attic there is a hole 
near the chimney. Tradition, as usual, says it is a 
passage to the outside through the walls. However, 
one is not able in these days and times to find the 
way out. More probable it is that the hole was 
put there for a hiding place for jewels or other 
valuables, should an emergency for secreting such 
occur. 

The stairway goes up, starting immediately at 
the back door on the side not shown in the picture. 
The interior room plan is much like the interior of 
Pleasant Hall, both in turn, except for the location 
of the stairway, are like the George Wythe House 
in Williamsburg. The cellar is entered from outside. 

The chimney on the east, or right of entrance, 
is built in triangular form. Consider the outside 



196 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

wall as the base of the triangle, the other two sides 
serve, one in each room, as a fireplace. 

This estate was once the home of the Ferebees, 
Enoch D, Ferebee devised it to his son George E., 
who, at the time, was then making it his home. It 
was also the home of Thomas Cornick, son of 
Lemuel III. He (Thomas) married Miss Frances 
Walke. In 1829 Thomas Cornick devised the estate 
to his son Thomas James Cornick. From him it 
passed by purchase to W. A. Dozier in 1847. By 
Dozier it was sold ten years later to Enoch D. 
Ferebee. 

These facts briefly constitute the late history of 
a house which was built and was the home of the 
Walkes prior to 1825. Some time in 1759 Maj. 
Thomas Walke made a will disposing of his vast 
estate. The item that is of particular interest to us 
is that he devises the plantation and the houses he 
is building thereon to his son Thomas Walke, later, 
after the Revolution, known as Col. Thomas Walke. 
Here Col. Thomas made his home during the rest 
of his life. 

Col. Thomas Walke acquired many more acres 
in the immediate vicinity. He bought from Philip 
Woodhouse a small tract of land down near Wolf's 
Snare for the purpose of erecting a mill. The mill 
was not completed before 1796 when Col. Thomas 
made his will, for he requests his executors to 
complete the mill. He says he has obtained a Court 
Order for the erection and operation thereof. 

Evidently Col. Walke and his wife Elizabeth 
had no children. He devised to his wife for life the 
half of the plantation on which he lived together 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 197 

with certain income; for life he made a bequest to 
his sisters, Margaret Hamilton and Anne Ramsey. 
There must be a family connection here with the 
John Thorowgood who made a will in 1786 naming 
Margaret Hamilton as his sister, Thomas Walke, 
John Phripp, half-brothers, Anne Phripp, half- 
sister. After the decease of wife Elizabeth and the 
two sisters, Col. Walke's whole estate is to be equally 
divided between three nephews, John Murdaugh, 
Wright Westcot (Waistcoat), and Thomas Wil- 
loughby. These nephews made a conveyance to 
Caleb Boush. 

1825 sees William Walke selling the home of 
the late Col. Thomas W^alke to John Cornick for 
$4,750.00. Later in the same year William Wood- 
house sold to Thomas Cornick the plantation con- 
taining over 300 acres, purchased by John Cornick 
from William Walke. The description locates the 
plantation as situated on the north side of the 
main road from Kempsville to the Eastern Shore 
Chapel. 

And so, after a journey of a century and almost 
three-quarters with the masters of this gracious 
homestead we are back again among the trees, on 
one of which, lovers, in days gone by, carved certain 
initials. Some day go and see for yourself the 
home, the tree, the remains of a sentimental 
expression of other days. 

It is with great hesitancy that we try to tell 
you of Poplar Hall, the home of the Hoggards in 
Princess Anne. The beauty of the location, the 
handsome Georgian house, the distinction of the 
owners, all have been recounted by pens more facile 



198 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

than ours. Hence we hesitate, fearful of not doing 
justice to a place for so long a time a synonym of 
colonial elegance. 

About this home are woven many fascinating 
stories of war times, from the days of our Revolu- 
tion on down. When one visits the spot immediately 
the imagination is so captivated that one is ready 
to believe that it were possible for all romance to 
have emanated herefrom. Time has dealt gently 
with the scene. The house has mellowed with the 
years and has grown old ever so gracefully, caressed 
by the summer breezes from Broad Creek, protected 
from the winter winds by a grove of matchless 
trees. 

The first record we found of the Hoggards in 
Princess Anne (we found no record prior to 1691 
in Lower Norfolk County, nor did we find record in 
the old land grants in Richmond) is in Deed Book 
8. Here we find a Thurmer Hoggard purchasing 
land from Mr. Langley, 100 acres. This was 1760. 
The next year Mr. Hoggard bought two more tracts, 
62 acres from Alexander Poole and 200 acres from 
Lewis Thelabelle. These two tracts, we believe, are 
the acres on which was built Poplar Hall. 

In 1768 Mr. Hoggard bought 300 acres from 
Col. Edward Hack Moseley, Sr., the following 
year 98 acres from Edward Parke ; three years later 
323 acres from Robert Clarke Jacob of Northamp- 
ton County. With these 1,083 acres Mr. Hoggard 
seemed to be content, for we find no further con- 
veyance to him. 

Thurmer Hoggard made his will in 1773, which 
will was admitted to probate in 1779. This is the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 199 

first Hoggard will we can find either in Princess 
Anne or Lower Norfolk County records. In this 
will, to son Nathaniel, is devised all the landed 
estate. In the event son Nathaniel should not 
survive, then disposition is made to meet whatever 
contingency of survival of an heir, or heirs, arose. 
The daughter Susannah was either the eldest 
daughter or the best beloved, for it is to her that 
the father devises "the plantation whereon I do 
now live, together with 60 acres purchased of 
Alex. Poole." Mr. Hoggard designates from whom 
he purchased each tract as he devises it, wdth the 
exception of the acres bought of Lewis Thelabelle. 
Therefore, by a process of elimination we arrive 
at the conclusion that the Thelabelle tract was the 
tract on which Mr. Hoggard lived. Mr. Thelabelle 
purchased this land from Tully Robinson Smythe 
and Bray in 1748. 

Beside his children Mary, wife of Charles Sayer, 
Elizabeth, wife of James Whitehurst, Diana, 
Susannah, and Nathaniel Hoggard, the testator 
names two grandchildren, Susannah and Arthur 
Sayer. He directs that a certain number of pounds 
sterling be set aside as pay to the person under- 
taking the education of a nephew, Peter Hoggard. 
This Arthur Sayer succeeded his father Charles 
as clerk of Princess Anne, serving twenty-one 
years— 1740-1761. 

Mr. Hoggard was a ship's carpenter. He left his 
instruments to his son Nathaniel, and a small sum 
of money to a Francis Thorowgood, his apprentice. 

However, Nathaniel became the next master 
of Poplar Hall. He was elected to the vestry of 



200 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Lynnhaven Parish, but was never present at any 
recorded meeting of the vestry. This we state on 
the authority of the Antiquary of Mr. James who 
says his record is based on a parish entry of 1800, 
wherein "Mr. Anthony \\ alke, Sr., is elected in 
the room of Mr. Nathaniel Hoggard, deceased." 
By reference to the parish register we find an entry 
of the vestry election of 1823 recording the election 
of Mr. Hoggard as a member. 

So far as we have been able to find there is no 
record beyond the above facts by which we may 
say when and by w^hom Popular Hall was built. It 
has continued the family home, certainly from 
1761 or 1762, never being sold, but passing by 
devise or descent from one generation to the next, 
even to this day. 

As we said, the building is of a Georgian period, 
the bonding of the brick is Flemish. From the 
picture you may judge the beauty of the yard, 
the trees, the house and Broad Creek, the water to 
which the yard so gently slopes, whose little ripples 
sparkling in the sunshine dictate more or less, the 
contour of the yard on its western bounds. There 
is no formal garden left, if even there was one. 
From the picture of the interior you catch a glimpse 
of the parlor. A picture of any other room would 
prove equally as charming, furnished as they are 
with original pieces of family mahogany. 

Out in Broad Bay there is an island, once 
called Stratton's Island — now known by the name 
of Lovett's Island. No doubt John Stratton is the 
person for whom it was first called. This John 
Stratton obtained a grant in 1638 for 200 acres 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



201 




Rear of Poplar Hall, Broad Creek in the backgroun 







1 


'A 






ff'": ' 


^Qt3 

> 



Parlor at Poplar Hall 

upon a creek called West's Creek, running east out 
of Lynnhaven River. A few years later he was 
granted an additional 150 acres "between the East 
and South Bay which belong to Stratton's Creek." 
The description goes on to relate that the tract 
begins nigh the head at the farthest side at a pine 
standing on the south side and running north, 
down the creek and easterly into the woods toward 
the sea. 



202 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

It took quite a hunt to find Stratton's Creek 
authentically located. On an old map in the Library 
of Congress we came upon the information. On the 
ocean side, midway between Cape Henry and 
Rudee, was Stratton's Creek. The map shows a 
continuous water route from Chesapeake Bay into 
Lynnhaven River, out Long Creek (one old deed 
records "sometimes called Stratton's") into Broad 
Bay (Battses Bay), into Linkhorn (Lincolne) Bay 
to Little Neck Creek, or perhaps Chrystal Lake, to 
the ocean. That whole northeast corner of Cape 
Henry, the Desert, on down to near where today 
the Virginia Beach Coast Guard Station is located, 
was completely cut off from the rest of the county. 
The water course is marked Stratton's Creek. This 
map is dated 1695. 

Of John Stratton we know little, except that 
Cobb Howell in making his will in 1656 refers to 
"my father Jno. Stratton and my mother, his wife." 
Henry Stratton, probably the son of John, in his 
will twenty-three years later, leaves all his land to 
Ruth and Elizabeth Woodhouse, daughters of John 
Woodhouse He also made provision for "Henry 
Latny towards putting him to schoole." 

In discussing the location of Stratton's Creek 
as an inlet from the ocean, residents of Princess 
Anne tell us that there are several characteristics 
of the sand at this point which differentiate it from 
the rest of the coast in the immediate vicinity. 
Hereabouts on the seaside after digging to a certain 
depth, a stratum of clay is reached. This is not true 
at the point where we believe this creek found an 
outlet into the ocean. Here one mav continue to 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 203 

dig, but only sand is turned up. Older heads and 
wiser heads than ours tell us that this is indicative 
of an opening, which long ago was lilled by shifting 
sands. Also we are told that during an unusually 
severe storm some years ago, the ocean came near 
breaking through at this point. 

In 1711 Edward Attwood obtained a grant for 
238 acres of sand banks and marsh between Long 
Creek and "Batfses" Bay called Stratton's Island. 
Mr. Sams has recorded the fact that Broad Bay 
was first called Batts after a mariner b}' this name. 
How the island came to be a part of the Lovett 
estate we have not been able to find. The inference 
would be, therefore, that there w^as a marriage 
between the families. 

Many moons have waxed and waned, more 
tides of Broad Bay have ebbed and flowed, since 
was built the stately home on Green Hill farm. 
Whether you approach the house from Broad Bay 
across what w'e are told was the bowling green, or 
whether you come by way of the long lane which 
leads from the Great Neck road, in either instance 
the picture is replete with rural beauty. As far back 
as 1738 Stratton Island belonged with the Lovett 
plantation, for so it was willed for several genera- 
tions, ". . . to my son . . . the plantation and Stratton 
Island." 

Almost anyone in the Lynnhaven district could 
direct you to the plantation Noah Shull bought in 
1870. An older generation would know where the 
Cornick, or Keeling, place was. A few from each 
group would know "Green Hill" farm. Just who 
gave the name we can not say, as it it not called 



204 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

by name in any record we found prior to 1837. 
However this does not mean that the name is new. 
It was not the general custom in Princess Anne 
for the name of the plantation to be given in the 
very early deeds and wills. 

At Princess Anne old Deed Book No. 5 was 
badly deteriorated before a copy was made. The 
original is now in the Archives Department of the 
State Library at Richmond. In copying every effort 
was made to preserve all that was possible. On a 
page numbered 280 (so numbered because the 
index listed John Lovett's will on that page) is a 
partial record of a John Lovett's will. This John 
devised to his son John his "plantation and Stratton 
Island." There is no date. But from the adjoining 
record we judge the time to be about 1738. The 
island is the link with which we start. 

In 1752 the record becomes very clear. Here 
Lancaster Lovett (probably the fifth generation, 
certainly the fourth of the name whose will we 
have) devises to his son John "all my plantation 
and Stratton Island." This Lancaster had a brother 
William; his wife's name was Alice; William Keel- 
ing, son of William Keeling, is named as executor. 
We would be inclined to think this Lancaster built 
the house except for the fact that his inventory 
showed he had only one bed and suit of furniture, 
the value of which was negligible, and except for 
the date in the house. 

With safety we feel we may say that John 
Lovett, evidently the only son of the Lancaster 
Lovett, whose wife was Alice, built the house. This 
John lived to a good old age, devising in 1810 the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 205 

plantation and Stratton Island to his son John 
Stewart Lovett for life ; then to his grandson John 
H, Lovett, "him and his heirs forever, the planta- 
tion and island." There is a date on the north end 
of the house, "1791." 

The grandson, John H., is dead in 1816, under 
age, leaving everything to his mother Amy for life, 
then to be divided between brothers Charles U., 
George McI., and sister Susan S. Sister Susan 
married William E. Keeling. In a partition deed 
between George M. Lovett and Susan Keeling, 
brother and sister, grandchildren of John Lovett, 
to Susan Keeling is set aside 139 acres "beginning 
on the bay side nearly in the rear of the dwelling 
house, at a corner of the lot set off herein to George 
M. Lovett . . . &c." In George's acres was included 
the island "of sand banks and piney hummocks." 

In a few years, as the widow Keeling, Susan, 
about to marry Capt. Thomas K. Cornick, records 
a marriage contract. These widows with landed 
estates surely took precaution to keep their property 
free from entanglement when contracting a second 
marriage. 

The Lovetts must have been acceptable socially. 
They married with the best. The first Lancaster 
Lovett's widow, Ann, married James Kemp, son 
of George and Ann Kemp. These Kemps, we are 
told, were cousins to the Richard Kempe who was 
secretary to the Commonwealth. The name is 
spelled indiscriminately with and without the "e." 
Also George Kempe is the man who settled at 
Kempe's Landing, later to be Kempsville. The 
second Lancaster Lovett's wife was Mary. Their 



206 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

daughter Elizabeth married Thomas Keeling, son 
of Capt. Adam. It was to their son Adam that 
Thomas Keeling devised "Dudlies," the plantation 
that came to Thomas by the will of his father, 
Capt. Adam. 

Mary Lovett, sister to Elizabeth who married 
Thomas Keeling, married George Kemp, son of 
James Kemp, son of George. It would seem that 
little Ann Kemp, to whom grandfather James Kemp 
made a gift before 1706, saying she is the daughter 
of his son George and wife Mary, and to whom 
grandmother Mary Lovett, widow of Lancaster 
Lovett (2) and mother of Mary Lovett wife of 
George Kemp, made a gift in her will in 1714, had 
a complicated and close kinship to herself. 

However it is not so close as it would seem. 
The widow Ann Lovett, who married James Kemp, 
is probably not the mother of James' son George. 
The Ann Kemp, who was widow of George (1) 
Kemp, made her will in 1677. In this will she 
names the same sons as does George (1) except 
she says they are her "sonnes in law." One item is 
addressed "unto my sonne Jameses Sonne Geo. 
Kempe," showing that James' son was born prior 
to 1677. We do not know just when he (James) 
married the widow Lovett, but presumably in 1679. 
In that year she makes a deed, setting forth her 
new marriage state, wherein she conveys to son 
Lancaster (he was of age in 1672) the plantation in 
which she had a courtesy as the widow of old 
Lancaster. 

Anne Keeling, daughter of Capt. Adam, to 
whom he left "Chester Forest," also married a 
Lovett. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 207 

Her son was William Lovett, the younger. 
Later she married a Pallet and also had a son 
named Matthew Pallet. 

In passing it may be of interest to note that 
this "Chester Forest" tract was on the seaside. It 
was granted as a parcel of land containing 1,250 
acres to Anthony Lawson and Robert Hodge about 
1680. In his will in 1681 Mr. Hodge devised his 
half of this grant to his friend Benoni Burroughs. 
Also by this will Mr. Burroughs became the pos- 
sessor of Mr. Hodge's "great Kearsey Coat lined 
with red serge & ten yards of Docoles Linnen out 
of my great chest in y*" Store." In 1693 Anthony 
Lawson made a deed for the 1,250 acres to Ann 
Keeling, daughter of Capt. Adam. It seems that 
Capt. Adam Keeling had bought the land before 
his death, but failed to get a deed. In this deed 
Benoni Burroughs joins. 

Benoni Burroughs was the son of Christopher, 
the first by the name of Burroughs in the county. 
Christopher's first grant is dated in 1638 and is for 
200 acres joining Capt. Adam Thorowgood, on the 
east by the Chesapeake, or Lynnhaven. He brought 
four persons into the colony, they were, beside 
himself, his brother William, his sister Anne, and 
a servant. This Christopher had at least, so the 
Virginia Magazine says, two sons, Benoni and 
William. This book further suggests that there was 
a kinship here to the early minister Buck. Rev. 
Buck had a son Benoni. 

But to come back to Green Hill, now the 
property of Mrs. W. T. Old of Norfolk! Slowly 
and surely is she going about the restoration of the 



208 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



estate. Already much effective landscaping is add- 
ing to the natural beauty of the surrounding 
acres. 

Originally there were only four rooms in the 
house, together with a large cellar. One nearly 
square room with fairly high ceiling, decorated 
with a cornice and deeply recessed windows is on 
each side of the hall. These divisions are repeated 
above stairs. The mantelpieces downstairs are ver\' 








Green Hill on Broad Bay, 1791 



1 




Parlor Mantel and wainscoting at Green Hill 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 209 

pretty, as you will see from the picture of the one 
in the parlor. The hall downstairs, the upper part 
of the stairway and the upstairs hall have been 
changed, probably making the house more nearly 
meet the needs of the family at the time then 
making it their home. But the changes marred the 
style of architecture. 

For a long time we were doubtful of the date 
of this house, as we had not discovered 1791 on 
the brick. The pitch of the roof as viewed from the 
gables was the upsetting thing. Close up under the 
roof on each side of the chimney in both gables are 
little round windows. These we had not found in 
Georgian houses. A visit to the attic showed the 
square wooden frame back of the window. That 
helped. But yet with due allowance therefor we 
were not satisfied. We made a third trip to the attic. 
This time we lifted the floor boards. Immediately 
it was evident that not only had the brickwork 
around the chimney been done over, but also a 
whole new structure of rafters had been set up to 
support a new roof. On each old beam, set well in, 
were the perfectly alined twin rows of mortises, 
indicating the use of queenposts in the original 
roof construction. The corresponding mortises do 
not appear in the rafters. From this we conclude 
that in setting in the new rafters consciously, or 
unconsciously, the pitch of the roof was disturbed. 

One of the original outbuildings is standing in 
the yard. It is a nice little house with an "A" roof. 
The outside of this kitchen, for such it most 
probably was, has been plastered over. The brick- 
work on the inside of the chimneys has been done 



210 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

over. There are two rooms downstairs, a loft above. 
Each room is entered from the outside by its own 
door; these doors are side by side in the west front. 

From its name you guess the house is set on a 
hill; Princess Anne knows little of hills, A ravine 
recently converted into a lake, fed by a spring in 
the front field, accentuates the slope of the yard on 
the southwest side. Many handsome old trees are 
standing near the house, making a dense shade in 
summer. The afternoon sunlight, filtering through 
the leaves, dapples the grass in many intriguing 
futuristic designs. 

Adjoining Green Hill on the south is Broad 
Bay Farm, the home of Mr. John B. Dey, once the 
home of three generations of Lemuel Cornicks and 
their next generation, also for more than fifty 
years the home of Enoch D. Ferebee, his son and 
grandsons. 

In 1636, while this section was yet a part of 
Elizabeth City Shire, to Thomas Allen was granted 
by Governor West, 550 acres, beginning on the east 
at the first branch out of Long Creek and bounded 
on the west by the Great Indian Fields. There are 
recorded various items concerning Thomas Allen 
up to and including 1655. We find him witnessing 
wills, making a gift to Thomas Cannon (son of 
Edward Cannon), again patenting land, this time 
with Edward Canon on the Woodhouse Dams, 
carrying tobacco to England, executor of the will 
of the first Henry Woodhouse, legatee under the 
will of Thomas Nedham, discharging certain Bills 
of Sale with Capt. Yardley, &c. But not one hint 
can we find of the disposition he made of his land. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 211 

In accounting for the title of this plantation 
prior to 1770 there are several solutions we could 
offer. No special purpose would be served in sug- 
gesting any one; to give all would be burdensome 
to the reader; therefore, we take up our story at 
the point in December, 1770, in the early days of 
which month James Kempe made the deed by 
which this plantation became the home of Lemuel 
Cornick the first and his wife Frances, the daugh- 
ter of Ed Attwood. This deed is for 300 acres 
boundedon the north by John Lovett, on the south 
by the land Lemuel Cornick had purchased from 
William Keeling, son of John, on the west by John 
Keeling, on the east by Broad Bay. It is highly 
probable that Capt. Kempe owned this land by 
virtue of a partition deed between George Wishart 
and Capt. Kempe, sons-in-law of George Hand- 
cock, in settlement of the Handcock estate. 

There were houses on the acres in 1770. In our 
opinion there were two houses, each in turn, hav- 
ing served as dwelling. Beyond question the nearly 
souare (24'6") sharo roof story-and-half house, of 
Flemish bonded brick, is the oldest building. There 
is only one room enclosed in these walls of 18" 
thickness, with a space above, under the roof. In 
this one room is one of the largest of fireplaces, 
with crane and pothook. At the head of a short 
flight of steps on the left of the chimney, one en- 
counters a door, which of course may not have 
been there originally; beyond this door the stairs 
turn just back of the wall and above the chimney 
breast into the space under the roof. 

This may have been built by Thomas Allen. 



212 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




John B. Dey Home on Broad Bay Farm 




niSi^#<!s»=^ 



Cjamhrel Ho 



in l>i(jad Bav Farm 



Who knows? The probabilities are he was a 
bachelor; he was certainly out of the colony much 
of the time on trips to England in pursuit of what 
appears to have been his occupation of trading. 
What need had he of more room when coming to 
his Virginia acres, perchance awaiting his next 
commission ere sallying forth from Lynnhaven 
River on business bent! 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 213 



Nearer the shore of Broad Bay, facing the south, 
stands the second house in this sequence of build- 
ings by which the masters of the plantation ad- 
vanced from the quaintest and plainest of homes 
to the ornate late Georgian. The second house is 
the true gambrel roof, with all four walls of brick, 
14^" thick, in the Flemish method of bond. 

Just as the lirst house was nearly square, so 
this proportion would run here were there a par- 
tition downstairs now as there probably was when 
the house was first built. We believe the partition 
was here because there are two doors, side by side, 
of equal importance, in this south side, or front. 
There are no other doors. These walls measure 
32'3"xl6', with a 10' ceiling. There are two chim- 
neys, one in the east end and one in the west end 
of the house. In each chimney is a very large fire- 
place, all fitted out with a crane. The back of each 
fireplace measures 6'2^", while the front in the 
east chimney is 9'4", the west chimney 8'4". Out- 
side the west end of the house is a stairway going 
up to the rooms under the roof. Here again we 
venture the surmise that a change from the original 
has occurred. 

Lemuel Cornick was dead in 1773. It may well 
be said that he built the Georgian structure which 
adjoins the first little house. This Georgian part 
of the home is Flemish bonded brick, with two 
inside chimneys in the north end. In none of the 
houses do the bricks run with the same measure, 
color, or texture. The newest building has extremely 
high ceilings, recessed windows, fine stairway. 
Unlike either of the smaller houses it faces west 



214 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




Home of Horatio Cornick 



Courtesy Mrs. Foy Casper 



toward the countty road, adjoining, however, the 
first httle house which serves as the dining room of 
the latest house. It is reasonable to believe that 
when a Lemuel Cornick built the "Great House," 
the gambrel, out on a lawn which boasts many 
handsome boxwood, some of which are very old, 
the gambrel, we repeat, was converted into a quarter 
kitchen. 

Lemuel Cornick devised this plantation, to the 
north of certain lines, to his son, Lemuel the second. 
The southern acres, together with the land he had 
bought of William Keeling (these acres had for- 
merly been a part of George Handcock's planta- 
tion), plus a few acres in Middle Neck, he devised 
to his son Horatio. 

Today the land devised to this Horatio Cornick 
is the farm of Mr. N. B. Godfrey, on the south of 
Broad Bay Farm. Horatio had three daughters, 
Elizabeth, wife of Capt. John Shepherd, Mary 
Moore and Peggy Ferguson. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



215 



The other children of Lemuel Cornick the first 
and his wife Frances were daughters, Frances, wife 
of Smith Shepherd, and Aliph. There was also an- 
other son, John, evidently the eldest, to whom 
Lemuel before 1773, had given certain lands, a 
confirmation of which is recorded in the will. 

The family of the wife, Frances Attwood Cor- 
nick, had been in the county since late 1600. Mary 
Woodhouse, daughter of Henry (1), married E.d 
Attwood. This branch of the family owned lands 
nearby. William Attwood, son of the first Ed, 
patented land near The Ponds (Fresh and Salt), 
further south. During the years quite a settlement 
grew around the acres, some times called "Attwood 
Town." Here today one very old house is left, whose 
date we are not able to approximate. The bricks in 
the chimney, the Flemish bond, the queer little 
windows let in the roof, are indicative of sufficient 
age to entitle us to give you a picture. 

Down the main road in the day of Lemuel 
Cornick the third the Fall Races took place. 




Home of an Attwood in Attwoodtown 



216 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



Quoting from a newspaper account of the day the 
announcement is : "On Saturday the 7th of Octo- 
ber, 1815, will be run A Sweepstake Race, for $75, 
between the Horses of Capt. Lemuel Cornick, Mr. 
Henry Keeling, and Mr, Josiah Hunter, on the 
road fronting Capt, Lemuel Cornick's," Three years 
later, September, 1818, appeared this notice: "On 
Saturday, 19th Inst, Between 11 A, M, & 3 P. M. 
Will Be Run, on the road near Captain Lemuel 
Cornick's in Princess Anne County, a Match race 
between Mr, Jacob Valentine's chestnut sorrel 
mare Silver Heels, and Mr, Lovett's Grey horse 
Liberty." 

Many old wills record the gift of certain horses 
to certain legatees. One will in particular comes to 
our mind. It was made by a John Thorowgood in 
1786, He names Thomas Walke and James Nimmo 
as executors. To them he bequeathes a "Quarter 
Cash" of best Madeira wine to "regale themselves 
while Poor Old Jack is lying in the dust," To Betsy 
Newton he bequeathed his riding horse. 




William Dale Woodhouse Home 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 217 

Just across the road to the west is the home 
of William Dale Woodhouse, son of William and 
his wife, Betty. This house is a border line in date, 
maybe it was built during the vtry last years of the 
eighteenth century, but certainly not later than 
1802. It has been a very handsome home, especially 
on the interior. For some years no one has made 
a home within its walls and so the usual dilapida- 
tion has come about. It is now owned by Mr. Arthur 
Brock and Mr. Eggleston of Norfolk. 

Since in recent years there has been such a 
revival of interest in gardens and gardening as an 
art, and since particularly has this interest centered 
in and around our old V^irginia gardens, we want 
to tell you of the only one of colonial date left in 
Princess Anne. 



218 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 



ORCHAgp 




Garden Plan of Lawson Hall 



Draiving by G. R. Scott 




Chapter XIV 

00 bad that in the early years of the 
present century the house at Lawson 
Hall should have been burned beyond 
repair. And that just at a time when, by 
purchase, it had come into the friendly hands of 
Mr. C. F. Hodgeman. He loved the place, its 
traditions, its garden, with all they held of the 
long ago. As has been the fate of so many of our 
old Virginia homes, the picturesque moss covered 
shingles proved its undoing. There was a spark, a 
puff of wind, and when discovered it was too late ! 
All that was left of the home of the Lawsons in 
Princess Anne was the marble of steps and flags, 
a heap of bricks, most of the boxwood, the beech 
trees, and the cedars which formed the outside 
garden wall. 

Fortunately the garden with its trees, its ter- 
races, its stream of water ambling down between 
two lines of box to a branch of the creek in the rear, 
each line of box flanked by a green, or promenade, 
with a second row of box, has come down so well 
preserved that Mrs. Fernstrom (Cornelia Hodge- 
man) has been able to bring back much of its 
former loveliness. Even the brick cantilevers of the 
little bridge which spanned the stream, are em- 
bedded firmly in the banks. Carefully, step by step, 
Mrs. Fernstrom explores and then lends to nature 
an intelligent help in order that the planting of a 



220 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 




I'aitial \ lew uf titts and boxwood at Lawson Hall 



formal garden, done nearly two centuries ago, may 
flourish as was intended. 

In rebuilding, Mr. Hodgeman did not attempt 
to reproduce, although the new house, on its 
northern foundation, conforms to the old north 
wall. The old cellar is the cellar in the present 
building. The heavy marble step at the front door 
bore the same place of importance in the old house. 
The front w^alk today in its flagging has some ten 
or twelve of the marble flags from the side door of 
the old mansion, as it looked out toward the garden. 
From Mrs. Fernstrom we give you her account of 
the house plan as she knew it. 

The steps gave entrance to a large reception 
hall on the right, through which one passed to 
the dining room. This is the side from which 
the terrace led to the garden, the south side. 
To the left, or north, entered from the reception 
hall, was the drawing room, a room of extremely 
large dimensions, almost square, with fireplace. 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 221 

Here on the east side of the room was a door leading 
into the hall. From the hall, located between the 
dining room on the south and an undesignated 
room on the north, ascended the stairway. As was 
usual, the back door was under the stair landing. 
There were two chimneys in the north end, and one 
in the south wall, this latter accommodated the 
fireplace for the dining room. On the second fioor 
there were four large bedrooms and a smaller one. 

Several families now living in Norfolk and 
Portsmouth trace their lineage through Mary 
Calvert Lawson, the famous beauty, born in 1768. 
She was the daughter of Anthony Lawson, of Law- 
son Hall. This Anthony Lawson was called colonel, 
was a member of the Princess Anne Committee of 
Safety, was at one time a justice, a sheriff, twice 
vestryman of Lynnhaven Parish, and a church 
warden. He was captured during the Revolution 
and sent to Florida on "Otter, Man-of-War, Capt. 
Squires." He was one of two patriots exchanged 
for two Tories of which note has previously been 
made in these pages when recording the history of 
"Rose Hall." 

Adhering to our rule of keeping our record only 
as it relates to Princess Anne and its old homes, 
we must refrain from telling the thrilling story of 
the adventure of the Lawsons on coming into the 
colony in its earliest days as it is told in the 
Neimeyer family record. The following facts we 
have assembled from original sources. 

From the Antiquary we find that in December, 
1668, Thomas Moncrief and others of Londonderr>' 
issued a powier of attorney to Anthony Lawson of 



222 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

the same city. This power of attorney extended to 
"Virginia, or any other part of the West Indies." 
The paper was proved in June, 1669. We would 
conclude from this that Mr. Lawson was coming 
to Virginia at the time. 

The hrst patent of land to any Lawson within 
the territory named Princess Anne, once a part of 
Lower Norfolk, is dated 1673, to Anthony Lawson 
490 acres on the Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth 
River in the woods near Broad Creek, adjoining 
the lands of William Moseley and William Hand- 
cock. This grant was based on his importation of 
himself twice, John Canter, William Church, 
Garrett Really, Elizabeth May, Zambo and Maria, 
two negroes. 

Further land grants are as follows : 

To Anthony Lawson and Robt. Hodge, 1,250 
acres near the seacoast, going by the name of 
Chester Forest, adjoining the lands of William 
Basnett, Edward Ould, &c. This was about 1680. 

To Anthony Lawson, 762 acres at a big hickory, 
George Fowler's corner tree, also adjoining the 
land of William Handcock and Chapman. This is 
1681. 

To Anthony Lawson, 300 acres, formerly 
granted Col. Thomas Lambert, and by him sold 
&c. This is 1682. 

To Lt.-Col. Anthony Lawson, 1,206 acres in 
Lynnhaven Parish on both sides of the head of 
Lynnhaven River. This is 1684. 

Other records show that Anthony Lawson had 
a brother George whose wife was Mary. (It may 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 111 

be recalled that a George Lawson is listed by Simon 
Cornick in his certificate for land, granted by the 
Court in 1653.) George Lawson, Jr., made a will 
in 1678, proved by Richard Hays. He lived on the 
Eastern Branch of the Elizabeth River, He devised 
one-half of his estate to Thomas, Mary and 
Margaret, children of Anthony Lawson, these 
children to receive the one-half after the death of 
his wife. Later on we find a record showing that 
Thomas Lawson administered on the estate of his 
father, Lt.-Col. Anthony Lawson, dead in 1701 ; 
that Mrs. Margaret Thorowgood, widow of John 
Thorowgood, releases Thomas Lawson, co-admin- 
istrator of her father, Lt.-Col. Anthony Lawson, of 
all "legasyes," and in particular of one received 
from her uncle, George Lawson. 

In an earlier chapter on the Thorowgood house 
we told you that John Thorowgood, the third 
generation of the family in Virginia, married 
Margaret Lawson. This is she. Her son John mar- 
ried Pembroke Sayer, daughter of Charles Sayer. 
Charles Sayer was clerk of Princess Anne from 
1716 to 1740. 

Thomas Lawson, only son of Anthony (1) 
Lawson, in his will made in 1703 made bequests 
to the following children, sons Anthony, George, 
daughters Frances and Anne. Provision is made 
for an unborn child. To Anthony was devised the 
home plantation, to the unborn child is devised a 
plantation called "Elders" in Norfolk County. In 
1704 the inventory was made of Thomas' personal 
property, from which we find the following places 
as having articles in them : hall, parlor, "sellar, 



224 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

sellar chamber," parlor chamber, garret, hall cham- 
ber, beside a few things that are listed as being at 
"Elders." Then there was the store, new milk house, 
old milk house, kitchen loft, and other out houses. 

Rose Lawson, the widow of Thomas, in making 
a gift to her children adds to the above names, that 
of a son Thomas. Thus is rounded out the third 
generation of the Lawsons in Lower Norfolk County 
and Princess Anne. 

At this time the Lawsons do not seem to be 
very hardy. In thirty-live years three generations 
pass off the stage, leaving this last named son 
Thomas as the male survivor. He married Frances 
Sayer, daughter of Charles. Of this union there 
were two sons, Anthony and Thomas. 

Anthony Lawson (fourth generation) was born 
in 1729. He married Mary Calvert, and this brings 
us up to the point in the story of Lawson Hall at 
which we digressed. 

It undoubtedly took many years to plan, to 
assemble the material and to build a mansion such 
as Lawson Hall was. We doubt, therefore, that the 
first Anthony built the particular house to which 
we have reference. The type of architecture would 
surely indicate a later period, if not entirely pre- 
clude its having been built in 1668, the date at 
which we understand it is placed. We must remem- 
ber that the land on which this house was erected 
was not granted to Mr. Lawson until 1681/2. 
When Princess Anne became a county in 1691, we 
find that Mr. Lawson in that year was a member 
of the Court of Norfolk County, not of the new 
county. From the fact that in March, 1694/5, 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 225 

Malachy Thurston was appointed "Chiefe & head 
Surveyo'" of the . . . Roads in Tanners Creek 
p'cincts . . ." in place of Lt.-Col. Anthony Lawson, 
removed to Little Creek, we take it that this date 
very nearly marks the time that Mr. Lawson be- 
came a resident of the Little Creek Precinct, always 
a part of Lynnhaven Parish. You will recall that 
the legal separation of Princess Anne from Norfolk 
County took place almost entirely on the geographic 
lines of the two parish boundaries, Elizabeth River 
and Lynnhaven, 

Col. Anthony (fourth generation) Lawson died 
in 1785. In the inventory of his estate we make 
note of the following items from which we draw a 
conclusion. There were three bedsteads and furni- 
ture, two valued at 8^ each, one at 14^ ; one bed, 
bedstead and furniture valued at 36^ ; one small 
bed and furniture valued at 6^. This seems to 
corroborate Mrs. Fernstrom's recollection of four 
large bedrooms and one small one. In the eighty- 
odd years between the taking of the inventory 
of Thomas in 1704 and this inventor}^ there is a 
marked increase in the amount of the personal 
property and its value. This Anthony is the grand- 
son of that Thomas. 

We can not refrain from giving a few items of 
the record in the settlement of the estate of Thomas 
Lawson, the brother of this Anthony, both the 
fourth generation. The year was 1758. Mr. Robert 
Dickson was paid 40 shillings for the funeral ser- 
mon; Mr. Thomas Walke received 44 shillings for 
the funeral liquors; 65s 3d was spent to provide 
punch for the appraisers of the estate since they 
received no other pay. 



226 Old Houses in Princess Anne 

Probably the most noted of all the distinguished 
family is the Thomas Lavvson whose record, as it 
appears in the War Department at Washington, is : 
"Thomas Lawson was born in Virginia, was ap- 
pointed Garrison Surgeon Mate, February 8, 1811, 
from the State of Virginia ; was appointed Surgeon, 
6th U. S. Infantry, May 21, 1813 ; was transferred 
to 7th United States Infantry, June 17, 1815; 
was transferred to 4th United States Infantry, 
. . . 1825 ; was appointed Surgeon General, U. S. 
Army, November 30, 1836, with the rank of Colonel, 
U. S. Army; was appointed Brigadier General by 
Brevet, May 30, 1848, for meritorious conduct in 
the War with Mexico, and died May 15, 1861, at 
Norfolk, Virginia, as Surgeon General, U. S. Army, 
with the rank of Colonel." 

And now we shall say in closing this little 
journey to the old homes of Princess Anne, Virginia, 
our thanks, first to the present owners of these 
homes for their unbounding generosity and courtesy 
in having us investigate from cellar to garret, under, 
over, above and around, at our sweet will and 
pleasure, every nook and corner of the premise that 
seemed to hold any secret that would help in 
making an accurate report of the past or present 
history thereof; next, we say our sincere thanks to 
those in charge of records and their staffs at Princess 
Anne clerk's office, and in Norfolk County, for 
their entire co-operation, never forgetful of the 
basework of all, expedited by Mrs. Nell M. Nugent, 
the presiding genius in the Land Registry Office 
at Richmond ; to the librarian and her staff, of the 



Old Houses in Princess Anne 227 

Norfolk Public Library for great patience and for- 
bearance in having a novice seeking what might 
be found in the splendid collection of Virginiana 
in the "Sargent Memorial Room ;" to certain 
members of these old families in this generation 
who have given so many valuable clues in the un- 
ravelling of the maze of family relationships ; to 
those friends who have, on faith, subscribed to this 
publication; to the old Buick which took us there 
and brought us back, wherever the road might 
lead; to Judge White and Mrs. White, for their 
enthusiasm in the undertaking, even to the point 
of permitting the Antiquary of Mr. James, in all 
five volumes, to remain under our roof for months ; 
and somehow we do wish that in some way we 
could show appreciation for this tremendous con- 
tribution of Mr. Edward James, as well as for the 
publication of Mr. Charles Mcintosh of the old 
wills ; and so we think of many others who, in one 
way or another, have heartened us along this trail 
of old homes in Princess Anne, extending as it does 
through all the years since Cape Henry, in April, 
1607. 

"Mid pleasures and palaces, though we may roam, 
Be it ever so humble, there's no place like home! 
A charm from the skies seems to hallow us there, 
Which, seek thro' the world, is ne'er met with elsewhere." 

The Ekd 



INDEX 



ACKiss, Francis, 93, 94 
Ackiss, John, 95, 153 
Adams, Robt., 164 
Aitchison, Walter, 65 
Aitchison, William, 65, 66 
Alfriend, Mrs., 186 
Allen, Thomas, 210, 211 
Angus, Patrick, 21 
Archer, Gabriel, 23 
Archer, Mary, 76 
Armistead, Anna Lee, 176 
Armistead, William, 176 
Arnold, Benedict, 131, 166 
Attwood, Edward, 87, 164, 203, 

211, 215 
Attwood, Francis, 147, 211 
Attwood, William, 215 

Bacon, Nicholas, 87 
Ballance, Luke, 126 
Barnes, Launcelot, 42 
Barnett, C. M., 191 
Basnett, William, 222 
Batten, W. H. H., 195 
Baxter, Dr. Oscar, 169 
Bell, J. E., 188 
Benson, Thomas, 164 
Berkeley, Gov. William, 14, 31 
Bolitho, John, 84, 86 
Bolitho, Thomas, 84, 86 
Bond, Francis, 164 
Bonney, John, 30 
Boush^ Caleb, 197 
Boush, Elizabeth, 180 
Boush, Elizabeth Walke, 179 
Boush, Elizabeth Wilson, 53, 180 
Boush, Frederick, 49, 166, 179, 

180 
Boush, Mary, 53, 162 
Boush, Maximillian, 179, 180, 

193 
Boush, Samuel, 147, 179, 180 
Boush, Sarah, 179 
Boush, William, 49, 53 
Boush, Wm. F. M., 53 
Braithwaite, George, 158 
Braithwaite, James, 160, 161 
Braithwaite, Joseph, 158 
Braithwaite, Martha Ann, 158 



Braithwaite, William, 158, 160, 

161 
Bratten, G. W., 149 
Bray, Anne, 58 
Bray, Plummer, 105 
Bray, Robert, 106 
Brock, Arthur, 217 
Brock, Charles S., 148 
Brock, Eleanor F., 148 
Brock, Elizabeth, 146, 148 
Brock, Elizabeth F., 148 
Brock, Frances, 160 
Brock, Henrietta A., 148 
Brock, Henry, 147, 148 
Brock, John, 105 
Brock, Lysander, 146, 148 
Brock, Thomas H., 148 
Brock, William, 148, 160 
Brooker, E. E., 75 
Brooks, Mary H., 70 
Brooks, Swepson, 70 
Brown, Carey. 114 
Brown, Fitzhugh, 114 
Brinson, Henry, 146 
Brinson, Hillary, 143 
Brinson, John, l"42, 143, 146 
Brinson, Margaret, 146 
Brinson, Matthew, 142, 146 
Brinson, Thomas, 142 
Brinson, W. C, 146 
Bruce, Philip Alexander, 13, 44 
Bruce, Mrs. Philip Alexander, 

41 
Buck, Rev., 207 
Bullock, Thomas, 24 
Burgess, Charles, 76, 77 
Burgess, James H., 158 
Burgess, Peggy, 157 
Burgess, Sarah, 76 
Burroughs, A. F. M., 142 
Burroughs, Anne, 38, 207 
Burroughs, Benony, 21, 207 
Burroughs, Christopher, 207 
Burroughs, E. E., 142 
Burroughs, William, 38, 207 
Burrowes, Christofer, 24 
Buskey, Mollie, 157 
Butt, Willie, 88 
Butts, J. C, 115 



Index 



229 



Caffee, John W., 157 
Caffee, Capt. Solomon, 157 
Calvert, Cornelius, 193 
Calvert, Mary, 191 
Campbell, Ann, 187 
Campbell, Duncan, 187 
Campbell, Isabella, 166 
Cannon, Edward, 210 
Cannon, Elizabeth, 91, 107 
Cannon, Thomas, 210 
Canter, John, 222 
Capps, Dennis, 157 
Capps, Enoch, 157 
Capps, William, 40, 164 
Capps, Vann, 157 
Carraway, Sarah Huggins, 77 
Carraway, William, 166 
Carver, Claude, 122 
Carver, William, 31 
Cason, Charles, 153 
Caussonne, Thomas, 24 
Chamberlayne, Evelyn Byrd, 139 
Chaplin, Caleb, 157 
Chaplin, Caleb C, 157 
Chaplin, Sarah A., 157 
Chaplin, Wilson, 157 
Church, William, 222 
Cocke, Christopher, 21 
Cockruft, William, 132 
Colonna, Mrs. Fannie, 136 
Condon, James, 65, 66, 67 
Condon, Sarah, 66 
Consolvo, Charles, 62 
Corbette, Richard, 27 
Corker, Susan, 130 
Cornick, Aliph, 215 
Cornick, Alof, 107 
Cornick, Barbara, 107, 108 
Cornick, Elizabeth, 105, 107, 141, 

214 
Cornick, Endomion, 108 
Cornick, Endymion, 138, 139 
Cornick, Endymion D., 138, 139 
Cornick, Frances, 215 
Cornick, Francis, 147 
Cornick, Henry, 108, 138 
Cornick, Henry T., 136, 138, 139 
Cornick, Horatio, 141, 214 
Cornick, James, 70 
Cornick, Jane, 105 
Cornick, Joel, 107, 108, 109, 138, 

177, 178 
Cornick, John, 107, 108, 177, 178, 

186, 197, 215 
Cornick, Julius, 138, 139 
Cornick, Lemuel, 147, 178, 196, 

211, 213, 214, 215, 216 



Cornick, Martha, 105, 106 
Cornick, Martin, 107 
Cornick, Nimrod, 108 
Cornick, Prudence, 108 
Cornick, Sarah A., 93 
Cornick, Simond, 105, 106, 107, 

223 
Cornick, Thomas, 105, 106, 196, 

197 
Cornick, Thomas James, 196 
Cornick, Thomas K., 205 
Cornick, William, 21, 57, 105, 

106, 107, 108, 164 
Cornick, "Uncle" Gus, 72 
Coulston, Lunell, 41 
Cox, Anne, 66 
Cox, William, 66, 67 

Dale, Governor, 12 

Dawley, Dennis, 153, 177, 178, 

192 
Daynes, William, 31 
De Frees, Mrs. R. G., 97 
Deserne, Joseph, 147 
Dey, John B., 210 
Dickson, Parson VHI 
Dickson, Robert, 29, 30, 153, 225 
Downman, John, 41 
Dozier, Edmond F., 120 
Dozier, James W., 120 
Dozier, W. A., 196 
Dozier, Willoughby, 188 
Drayton, James, 161 
Drout, Richard, 20, 54 
Dunmore, Lord, 168 
Dyer, Peter, 143 

Eaton, W. G., 153 
Edwards, Mr., 182 
Eggleston, Aubrey, 217 
Ellegood, Jacob, 65, 66, 68, 69 
Ellegood, John Saunders, 69 
Ellegoou, Sarah, 69 
Ellegood, William 68, 69 
Ellis, T. H., 18 
Emperor, Francis, 15 
Emperor, Francis Tully, 175, 176 
Emperor, Mary, 31 

Fairfax, Lord, 16 

Fentress, Anne, 153 

Fentress, Anthony, 28, 153, 154 

Fentress, Fanny, 157 

Fentress, Frances, 157 

Fentress, George, 138 

Fentress, J. A., 155 

Fentress, John, 13S, 157 



230 



Index 



Fentress, Joshua, 162 
Fentress, Lancaster, 138 
Fentress, Moses, 138 
Ferebee, Enoch D., 196, 210 
Ferebee, George E., 196 
Ferguson, Margaret Archer, 76 
Ferguson, Peggy, 214 
Fernstrom, Mrs., 219 
Fforby, Ben, 31 
Fforby, Elizabeth, 31 
Ffulsher, Thomas, 31 
Foreman, Edward, 130 
Fortescue, John, 139 
Fowler, George, 54, 154, 222 
Frizzell, Edward, 116 

Gardner, Eizabeth, 76, 156 

Gaskins, Charles, 80 

Gaskins, George, 80 

Gaskins, James, 79, 80 

Gaskins, Job, 80, 81 

Gaskins, Lemuel, 80 

Gaskins, Sarah, 79 

Gaskins, Savili, 182, 189 

Gimbert, Harvey C, 75 

Gimbert, Melvine, 75 

Godby, Anne, 31 

Godfrey, John, 182 

Godfrey, N. B., 214 

Gooch, William, 147 

Gookin, Capt. John, 42, 131, 189 

Gookin, Mary, 131 

Gookin, Sarah, 42 

Gordon, Alexander, 68 

Gornto, George R., 126 

Gornto, Harry, 162 

Gornto, James, 126 

Gornto, Reuben, 123, 125, 126, 

161 
Gornto, Thomas, 123 
Gosnold, Bartholomew, 23 
Gray, Benjamin Dingley, 84, 86, 

103 
Gray, Dingley, 103 
Gregory, Thomas, 105 
Grinto, William, 123 
Grimstead, A. H., 144 
Grundy, John, 40 

Hack, Hannah, 131 
Hall, Edward, 182 
Halstead, Wiley, 135 
Hamilton, Margaret, 197 
Hamor, Ralph, 12 
Hancock, Anne, 84 
Hancock, Anne Robinson, 84 
Hancock, George, 211, 214 



Hancock, John, 84, 85, 133, 177, 

178 
Hancock, Peter Singleton, 133 
Hancock, Sarah, 132 
Hancock, Simon, 84, 132, 133, 

134 
Hancock, Tully, 84 
Hancock, William, 84, 85, 132, 

133, 134, 222 
Harding, Thomas, 182 
Harrison, George 40 
Harvey, Sir John, 40 
Haslett, William, 164 
Hayes, Adam, 164 
Hayes, Elizabeth, 161 
Hayes, Erasmus, 161 
Hayes, Richard, 223 
Hayes, Robert, 24, 106 
Haynes, Erasmus, 178 
Henderson, James F., 157 
Henley, Amey, 156 
Henley, Charles, 138 
Henley, Frances, 138 
Henley, T. C, 114 
Henley, William, 138 
Herbert, Abner T., 85 
Herbert, Alice, 85 
Herbert, Arthur E., 85 
Herbert, Charlotte, 85 
Herbert, E. H., 83, 85 
Herbert, Ellen C, 85 
Herbert, John, 15 
Herbert, Margaret, 85 
Herbert, Mary, 15 
Herbert, Mary N., 85 
Herrick, J. L, 167 
Herron, Walter, 69 
Hill, Henry, 38 
Hill, Jesse, 125 
Hill, John, 38 
Hill, Marv, 38 
Hill, Stephen, 38 
Hill, Thomas, 125 
Hodge, Robert, 207, 222 
Hodgeman, C. F., 219 
Hodgeman, Cornelia, 219 
Hoggard, Diana, 199 
Hoggard, Elizabeth, 199 
Hoggard, Mary, 199 
Hoggard, Nathaniel, 199, 200 
Hoggard, Peter, 199 
Hoggard, Susannah, 199 
Hoggard, Thurmer, 198 
Holloway, Thomas, 31 
Holmes, Elizabeth, 162 
Holmes, William, 162 
Holstead, Jacomine N. C, 135 



Index 



231 



Holstead, Richard, 135 
Holt, Thomas, 132 
Hosskine, Bartholomew, 24 
Howell, Cobb, 202 
Huggins, Elizabeth, 76 
Huggins, Nathaniel, 77 
Huggins, Nicholas, 77 
Huggins, Philip, 76, 77 
Huggins, Robert, 76 
Huggins, Sarah, 77 
Huggins, William, 7G 
Hunter, Dr., 188 
Hunter, Jacob, 53, 90, 180 
Hunter, James, 53 
Hunter, John, 53 
Hunter, Josiah, 53, 216 
Hunter, Josiah Wilson, 53 
Hunter, Thomas, 53 
Hunter, William, 53, 95 
Hutchings, Daniel, 54, 55 
Hutchings, John, 54 
Hutchings, Joseph, 68 
Hutchings, Nathaniel, 54, 55 
Hvde, Anne, 19 
Hyde, Edward, 19 

Ives, Amos, 118, 158 

Ives, Ed Bright, 118 

Ives, Eleanor, 118 

Ives, Jesse, 118 

Ives, Martha, 118 

Ives, Martha Ann, 158 

Ives, Mary, 118 

Ives, M. T., 118 

Ives, Preston W., 118 

Ives, Timothy, Jr., 120 

Ives, W. L., 118 

Ivey, Alice, 107 

Ivey, Thomas Vicisimas, 107 

Ivy, Thomas, 20 

Jacob, Robert Clark, 198 
James, Edward, 135 
James, Emperor, 114 
James, John, 90, 135, 136, 141 
James, Joshua, 135 
James, Mary, 90 
James, Sarah, 148 
James, William, 114 
Jefferson, Gov. Thomas, 193 
Tennings, E., Ill, 112 
Jennings, John, 105 
Johnson, Jacob, 20, 164 
Johnson, James, 31 
Johnson, James J., 188 
Johnson, William, 165 
Tones, Evans 21 



Jones, Frances, 161 
Jones, James, 161 
Joyce, Jacomine, 134 

Keeler, Grace M., 37, 45 
Keeler, John D., 45, 
Keeler, Rufus P., 45 
Keeling, Adam, 15, 57, 58, 59, 

60, 80,91,92, 154, 164, 206, 207 
Keeling, Alexander, 57, 58 
Keeling, Amey, 108 
Keeling, Anne, 58, 206, 207 
Keeling, Edward, 58 
Keeling, Elizabeth, 44, 57, 58, 

154 
Keeling, Henry, 76, 216 
Keeling, John, 58, 59, 91, 92, 211 
Keeling, Solomon, 60 
Keeling, Thomas, 24, 38, 57, 58, 

59, 90, 91, 206 
Keeling, Thorowgood, 57, 58 
Keeling, William, 29, 30, 59, 211 

214 
Keeling, William E., 205 
Kellam, Abel, 161 
Kellam, F. E., 118 
Kellam, Frank, 150 
Kellam, Henry, 186, 193 
Kellam, Nan;y, 161 
Kempe, Anne, 205, 206 
Kempe, Anthony, 38 
Kempe, George, 166, 205, 206 
Kempe, James, 20, 29, 30, 33, 

153, 166, 205, 206, 211 
Kempe, Mary, 38 
Kemp, Richard, 14, 205 
Kempe, Thomas, 166, 186 
Kempe, William, 38, 41 
Kenline, John Michael, 166, 187 

Lambert, Anne, 130 

Lambert, Henry, 130 

Lambert, Thomas, 54, 182, 222 

Lamont, James, 164 

Lanckfield, John, 24, 27 

Land, Andrew, 156 

Land, Anne, 96, 152 

Land, Bennett, 79, 80 

Land, Edward, 98 

Land, Francis, 29, 96, 97 

Land, Francis M., 96, 98 

Land, Francis Thorowgood, 30, 

95, 96, 97, 98 
Land, Hillary, 76, 156 
Land, James Edward, 79 
Land, Jeremiah, 156 
Land, John, 116 



232 



Index 



Land, Mary Anne, 156 

Land, Mary E., 96 

Land, Peter^ 76, 157 

Land, Ree, 156 

Land, Renatus, 96 

Land, Richard, 116 

Lane, J. W., 154 

Langley, Mr., 198 

Latny, Henry, 202 

Lawson, Anne, 223 

Lawson, Anthony, 43, 45, 68, 

131, 132, 165, 174, 207, 221, 

222, 223, 224, 225 
Lawson, Frances, 223 
Lawson, George, 105, 222, 223 
Lawson, Mary, 174, 222, 223 
Lawson, Mary Calvert, 221, 224 
Lawson, Margaret, 45, 223 
Lawson, Rose, 224 
Lawson, Thomas, 55, 178, 223, 

224, 225, 226 
Lloyd, Cornelius, 15 
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 17 
Logan, George, 166 
Lovell, Thomas, 31 
Lovett, Alice, 204 
Lovett, Amey, 151, 205 
Lovett, Anne, 205, 206 
Lovett, Charles U., 205 
Lovett, Elizabeth, 206 
Lovett, George M., 91, 205 
Lovett, Jane, 151 
Lovett, John, 150, 204, 205, 211 
Lovett, John H., 205 
Lovett, John Stewart, 205 
Lovett, Mary, 59. 205, 206 
Lovett, Lancaster, 59, 149, 204, 

205, 206 
Lovett, Randolph, 150 
Lovett, Reuben, 150, 151 
Lovett, Susan S., 205 
Lovett, Thomas, 149, 150 
Lovett, William, 204, 207 
Lovett, Wilson H. C, 151 
Lynton, Moses, 182 

Mackie, John, 164 
Macoy, James, 83 
Macov, Michael, 83 
Malbone, Peter, 28, 164 
Mansard, Francois, 82 
Martin, Elizabeth, 106 
Martin, Joel, 107 
Martin, John, 58, 106 
Martin, Thomas, 190 
Mason, James, 115 
Mason, Michael, 31 



Mason, Robert, 115 
May, Elizabeth, 222 
McAlpine, Dr. James, 192 
McAipine, Laura, 85 
McComb, John, Jr., 23 
Meade, Bishop, 25, 187 
Mears, Thomas, 182 
Mercer, John, 66 
Milhado, David, 192 
Milhado, Mary, 192 
Mitchel, Joseph, 30 
Moncrief, John, 164 
Moncrief, Thomas, 221 
Moore, Anne, 67 
Moore, Cason, 67, 68, 178 
Moore, Edward, 142 
Moore, H. C, 53 
Moore, Henry, 67 
Moore, James, 157 
Moore, John, 67 
Moore, Joshua, 157 
Moore, Kader, 157 
Moore, Mary, 214 
Moore, Sarah, 67 
Moore, Susannah, 53 
Moore, William, 67 
Moran, Thom^as, 69 
Morgan, Rowland, 106 
Morrisette, John, 143 
Morrisette, Kader, 143 
Morse, Barbara, 107 
Morse, Capt. Francis, 21, 107, 

164 
Moseley, Alexander, 128 
Moseley, Anna, 177 
Moseley, Anne Taliaferro, 128 
Moseley, Anthony, 29 
Moseley, Arthur, 130 
Moseley, Burwell Bassett, 128 
Moselev, Edward, 130, 131, 132, 

133, 'l75 
Moseley, Edward Hack, 127, 

128, 131, 153, 177, 178, 198 
Moseley, Edwin Daingerfield, 

128 
Moseley, Frances, 133 
Moseley, Francis, 177 
Moseley, George, 133 
Moseley, Hannah D., 128 
Moseley, Henry Power, 128 
Moseley, Hillary, 131 
Moseley, John, 133, 164 
Moseley, John Bassett, 177 
Moseley, Martha Blaggett, 128 
Moseley, Mary, 133, 177 
Moseley, Mary Bassett, 177 
Moseley, Perin, 98 



Index 



233 



Moseley, Robert, 53, 55 
Moseley, Samuel, 128 
Moseley, Susannah, 130 
Moseley, Tulley, 114 
Moseley, William, 20, 130, 131, 

133, 164, 177, 222 
Murdaugh, John, 197 
Murden, Batson, 116 
Murden, Zachariah, 116 
Murray, David, 83, 98, 100 
Murray, Elisha, 100 
Murray, Elijah, 100 
Murray, Isaac, 100, 103 
Murray, John, 84, 98 
Murray, Richard, 100 
Murray, Thomas, 100 

Nedham, Thomas, 210 
Newport, Christopher, 23 
Newton, Betsy, 216 
Newton, Nathaniel, 30 
Nichololas, Andrew, 123 
Nichololas, James W. L., 123 
Nichololas, Joshua H. M., 123 
Nichololas, Nathaniel, 122, 123 
Nimmo, Anne, 33, 148 
Nimmo, Claude, 149 
Nimmo, Mrs. Claude, 146 
Nimmo, Elizabeth, 180 
Nimmo, Ella, 148, 149 
Nimmo, Gershom, 180 
Nimmo, James, 44, 216 
Nimmo, William, 33, 148 
Nimmo, William Thorowgood, 

4+ 
Noris, Elizabeth, 158 
Norris, George, 157, 158 
Norris, Joseph, 158 
Norris, Margaret, 158, 160 
Norris, Sowell, 157 
Norris, Thomas, 157 
Norris, William, 157 

Offley, Sarah, 42, 131 
Old, Edward, 222 
Old, Mary, 138 
Old, Thomas, 153 
Old, Mrs. W. T., 207 
Oliver, William W., 49 

Pallet, Gisborn, 91 
Pallet, "Henerv," 91 
Pallett, John, 90, 91, 92 
Pallet, Matthew, 90, 91, 207 
Pallet, William, 91 
Parke, Edward, 198 
Parker, "Pade," 85 



Parsons, John, 120 
Paterson, Dr. Robert, 66 
Patreme, William, 105 
Percy, George, 23 
Persey, Abraham, 40 
Persey, Elizabeth, 40 
Perkins, Dr. R. C, 78 
Perkins, Mrs. R. C, 78, 79 
Peters, John, 149 
Peters, J. Sidney, 149 
Petty, John, 96 
Phillips, J. N., 104 
Phripp, Anne, 197 
Phripp, John, 197 
Piggott, Sarah, 133 
Plume, William, 69 
Pocahontas, 14 
Poole, Alexander, 198 
Poole, George, 164 
Porter, John, 20, 31, 175, 176 
Powell, Julian, 159 
Powers, Joseph, 161 
Powers, Priscilla, 161 
Prince, Mrs. Wm. Loftin, 151 
Pritchard, Lemuel J., 122 
Puggett, Cesar, 54 
Purfury, Thomas, 41, 42 

Queen Anne, Proclaimed, 19 
Queen Anne, Religious Liberty, 

32 

Ramsey, Anne, 197 
Randolph, Jane, 176 
Really, Garrett, 222 
Richardson, John, 154 
Richerson, John, 164 
Richerson, William, 49, 50 
Roberson, Will, 33 
Robert, John, 13 
Robinson, James, 178 
Robinson, John, 40 
Robinson, Susan, 130 
Robinson, William, 33, 165 
Rolfe, John, 14 
Rolfe, Thomas, 14 
Russell, Richard, 30, 31 

Sams, C. Whittle, 25 
Sandford, John, 21 
Saunders, John, 69, 193 
Saunders, Jonathan, 193 
Saunders, Mary, 193 
Sayer, Arthur, 199 
Sayer, Charles, 199, 223, 224 
Sayer, Frances, 224 
Sayer, Pembroke, 223 



234 



Index 



Sayer, Susannah, 199 

Sealy, John, 105 

Selden, Miles, 170 

Sharp, W. W., 70 

Shepherd, Elizabeth, 147 

Shepherd, Elizabeth Archer, 76 

Shepherd, Elizabeth Frances, 

141 
Shepherd, Jennet, 141 
Shepherd, Capt. John, 141 
Shepherd, John, 76, 214 
Shepherd, John C, 141 
Shepherd, Lemuel Cornick, 141 
Shepherd, Nancy, 79, 80 
Shepherd, Smith, 147, 215 
Sherwood, Grace, 131, 192 
Shipp, Andrew W., 123 
Shipp, Ernest, 123 
Shipp, William, 24, 182, 189 
Showlands, John, 20 
Shull, Noah, 203 
Shumadine, J. A., 101 
Sibsey, John, 15 
Sidney, Col. John, 175 
Simons, Jane, 105 
Simmons, Joel, 116 
Simmons, Lemuel, 138 
Simmons, Noah, 115 
Singleton, Isaac, 169 
Singleton, Peter, 166, 167, 169, 

170, 177, 178 
Singleton, Susannah, 134 
Smith, Bartholomew, 75, 77, 158 
Smith, Ezekiel, 76 
Smith, Jim, 63, 75 
Smith, John, 76 
Smith, Keziah, 76 
Smith, Mary Frances, 76, 77 
Smythe, Charles, 190 
Smythe, John, 190 
Smythe, Tully Robinson, 199 
Snaile, Henry, 54 
Spratley, Eliza, 148 
Springe, Robert, 31 
Stanard, Mrs. Mary Newton, 14 
Stanard, W. G., 39 
Standley, Mary, 84 
Standley, Richard, 84 
Stephens, Richard, 40 
Stratton, Henry, 202 
Stratton, John, 24, 200, 202 
Sykes, Zachariah, 115 

Tatem, Ellen, 85 
Taylor, Burton, 161 
Taylor, Eben Ezar, 27, 164 
Taylor, Sarah Frances, 161 



Tenant. Samuel, 166, 169 
Tenant, James, 164 
Thelabelle, Lewis, 198 
Thelabelle, Thomas, 180 
Thomson, George, 41 
Thomson, Smallwood, 135 
Thompson, Sarah, 15 
Thorowgood, Adam, 15, 19, 31, 

37, 38, -iO, 41, 42, 43, 44, 57, 

164 
Thorowgood, Anne, 42 
Thorowgood, Argoll, 21, 43, 44, 

163, 164 
Thorowgood, Elizabeth, 42 
Thorowgood, Elizabeth Nimmo, 

44 
Thorowgood, Frances, 44 
Thorowgood, Francis, 43, 199 
Thorowgood, John, 21, 37, 43, 

45, 197, 216, 223 
Thorowgood, Margaret, 223 
Thorowgood, Mitchel, 166 
Thorowgood, Robert, 43, 164 
Thorowgood, Rose, 43 
Thorowgood, Sarah, 38, 42 
Thorowgood, Sukey, 169 
Thorowgood, William, 44, 164 
Thurston, Malachy, 21, 43, 225 
Todd, Thomas, 24 
Troyer, B. A., 135 
Turner, John, 105 

Valentine, Edward, 166 
Valentine, Jacob, 166, 216 
Vaughan, Robert, 28 

Walke, Anne, 169, 177 
Walke, Anthony, 29, 30, 69, 147, 

153, 166, 169, 174, 175, 176, 

177 178, 187, 190, 191, 200, 

207, 222, 223 
Walke, David, 53, 168 
Walke, Elizabeth, 196 
Walke, Eliza J. S., 53 
Walke, Fannie, 192 
Walke, Frances, 196 
Walke, Frank Anthony, 96 
Walke, John N., 76, 96 
Walke, Mary, 174 
Walke, Thomas, 29, 30, 174, 175, 

177, 186, 196, 197, 216, 225 
Walke, William, 190, 191, 197 
Walker, George Reynolds, 160 
Walker, Thomas Reynolds, 114, 

153, 160, 193 
Wallop, John, 27 
Warner, Augustine, 38 



Index 



235 



Warren, James, 162 

Warren, Mr., 14, 15 

Warrington, Thomas, 130 

VV^ashington, George, 38 

Waters, Edward, 41 

Webb, Edward, 20 

Weblin, Geo., 54 

Weblin, John, 54, 55 

West, Elizabeth, 130 

West, Governor, 37, 210 

West, Mrs. J. W. C, 88 

Westcot, Wright, 197 

White, Judge B. D., 188 

White, James, 11 

White, Rev. Bishop, 177, 178, 

179 
White, William (Billy), 166, 181 
Whitehead, George, 38 
Whitehead, John, Jr., 33 
Whitehead, Mary, 33 
Whitehead, Miriam, 186 
Whitehead, Dr. R. E., 170 
Whitehurst, Batson, 152 
Whitehurst, Betsy, 152 
Whitehurst, Daniel, 150, 151 
Whitehurst, Ella, 146 
Whitehurst, Francis, 151 
Whitehurst, Frank, 151 
Whitehurst, James, 199 
Whitehurst, James Murden, 136, 

151 
Whitehurst, John, 29, 153 
Whitehurst, Joshua, 116, 150 
Whitehurst, Keziah, 152 
Whitehurst, Peggv, 152 
Whitehurst, Tully, 152 
Whitehurst, William, 83, 151 
Wickings, James, 118, 119 
Wickings, John, 118, 119, 120 
Wickings, William, 118 
Wilkins, Margaret, 76, 77 
Wilkins, Peter, 76 
Williams, Jost, 130 
Williamson, Robert, 157 
Willoughby, Elizabeth, 15 
Willoughbv, fames, 16 
Willoughby, John, 15, 65 
Willoughbv, Thomas, 15, 41, 

197 
Wilson, John, 24 



Windham, Edward, 24, 189 
Wingfield, Edward Maria, 23 
Winter, W. G., 95 
Wise, Henry A., 129 
Wishart, Francis, 50 
Wishart, George, 30, 211 
Wishart, James, 50 
Wishart, John, 50 
Wishart, Joyce, 50 
Wishart, Mary, 50 
Wishart, Porcia, 49 
Wishart, Thomas, 49, 50 
Wishart, William, 49, 50 
Woodhouse, Adelaide, 88 

Anne, 67, 87 

Betty, 217 

Elizabeth, 87, 108, 



Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 

202 
Woodhouse 

135, 136 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 

86, 87, 88 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 

136, 202 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 
Woodhouse 



Woodhouse 
Wright, D 
Wyatt, Gov 



Elizabeth Anne, 

Grace, 151 
Henry, 21, 24, 67, 
, 154, 189, 210, 215 
Horatio, 87, 88, 180 
John, 87, 116, 135, 

John J., 88, 149 
John T., 88, 136 
Jonathan, 88 
Judith, 87 
Maria, 87 
Marv, 67, 87, 215 
Paul, 136 
Pembroke, 89 
Philip, 116, 196 
Rachael, 87 
Ruth, 202 
Sarah, 67 
Shepherd, 87 
William, 29, 30, 55, 



87, 88, 89, 116, 153, 197, 217 



William Dale, 217 
., 188 
ernor, 10 



Yardley, Argoll, 43 
Yardley, Capt., 210 
Yardley, Frances, 43 
Yardley, Francis, 42 
Yates, Richard, 31 



^i^MM.^.n^^'^.''^^'-"^ '•'B.'JASY SYSTEM 

MUN C PAL C^NT^f? 
VIRGINIA BEACH, VfSGI^^i:^ 23454 



For Reference 

Not to be taken from this room