(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The parish of Taney: a history of Dundrum, near Dublin, and its neighbourhood"

, 




CU 



THE PARISH OF TANEY, 



THE PARISH OF TANEY 

A HISTORY OF DUNDBUM, 

NEAR DUBLIN, 
AND ITS NEIGHBOURHOOD. 



BY 

FEANCIS ELRINGTON BALL 

AND 

EVERARD HAMILTON, B.A., UNIV. OP DUB. 

Member Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland 



D UBLIN: 
HODGES, FIGGIS, & CO., LTD., GRAFTON ST., 

PUBLISHERS TO THE UNIVERSITY. 



REV. WILLIAM ALFRED HAMILTON, D.D., 

Sometime Canon of Christ Church Cathedral 
THIS HISTORY OF HIS PARISH 

IS INSCRIBED 



2060866 A2 



PREFACE. 



IN placing this little work before the public, the 
authors desire to acknowledge the valuable assist- 
ance they have received from the following amongst 
other friends. 

The Rev. Canon Stokes, D.D., the learned author 
of Ireland and tJie Celtic Church, and Ireland, and 
the Anglo-Norman Church, &c., &c., has very kindly 
revised the chapter upon the Antiquities of the 
Parish, and supplied the materials for interesting 
notes. 

The Rev. William Reynell, B.D., M.B.I.A., placed 
his ample knowledge of the clergy of the Diocese 
of Dublin at their disposal, besides furnishing many 
particulars for the biographical portions of the 
work. 

To John H. Samuels, Esq., the Diocesan Registrar, 
they desire to return thanks for his unvarying 



courtesy in affording access to such of the Diocesan 
Records as remain in his custody. 

They are also indebted to J. J. Digges La 
Touche, Esq., LL.D., Deputy Keeper of the Re- 
cords, and the other officials in the Record Office, 
as well as to the officials of the Library and 
Registrar's Office of Trinity College and of the 
National Library, Kildare Street. 

September, 1895. 



CONTENTS, 



CHAP. PAGE 

I. INTRODUCTION * . : . .1 

II. ANTIQUITIES .... 5 

HI. THE GRAVEYARD . . . .26 

IV. CHRIST CHURCH . . . . . 53 

V. CURATES UNDER THE ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN AS 

RECTOR ..... 66 

VI. RECTORS AND CURATES FROM 1851 . . 81 

VII. CHURCHWARDENS .... 93 

VIII. PARISHIONERS . . . . .154 

IX. SCHOOLS, PARISH OFFICERS, GLEBE HOUSE AND LAND 187 

X. THE CHAPEL OF EASE . . .196 

XI. MISCELLANEOUS NOTES . .199 

APPENDICES ... . 229 

SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES 237 

INDEX 245 



ABBREVIATIONS. 



T. C. = Taney Church. 

T. G. = Taney Graveyard. 

B. L. G. = Burke's Landed Gentry. 

B. P. Burke's Peerage. 

B. E. P. = Burke's Extinct Peerage. 

T. C. D. = Trinity College, Dublin. 

H. 0. = Holy Orders. 

a. = aged. 

b. = born. 

m. = married. 

unm. = unmarried. 

d. = died or dead. 

' *'* [ = died or dead without issue. 
o.s. p. ) 

bapt. = baptized, 

dau. = daughter. 

bur. = buried. 

c. = called. 

q. v. = whom see or which see. 



THE PARISH OF TANEY. 



CHAPTEK I. 

INTRODUCTION. 

THE Parish of Taney comprises a district extend- 
ing from the top of the Three Bock Mountain to 
near the sea-shore at Merrion ; it is 5^ miles long 
from N. to S., and 2 miles broad from E. to W. It 
contains seventeen townlands, covering 4,569A. 3n. 
14p. Statute measure, of which all but GA. OR. I?P. 
are in the Half Barony of Piathdown.* This small 
portion, which forms part of the townland of Eoe- 
buck, lies in the Barony of Dublin. 
The following are the townlandsj 





A. B. P. 


1. Balally 
2. Ballinteer 


... 834 2 5 
... 282 1 24 


3. Churchtown, Lower 


... 180 2 


4. Churchtown, Upper 


... 221 7 



*D'Alton (History of Co. Dublin, p. 807) states the entire 
Barony of Rathdown was originally in the County of Dublin ; 
but when Wieklow was made into a separate county, the 
Barony was divided into two parts : that part of it lying to 
the south of Bray River being comprised in the County of 
Wieklow, and the remainder in the County of Dublin. 



THE PARISH OF TANEY. 



5. Drummartin ... 

6. Dundrum 

7. Farranboley 

8. Friarland 

9. Kingstown 

10. Mount Anville... 

11. Mountmerrion or Callary 

12. Mountmerrion, South ... 

13. Rathmines, Great 

14. Eathmines, Little 

15. Eoebuck 

16. Tiknock 

17. Trimleston or Owenstown 



A. E. P. 

188 2 

317 2 38 

150 3 7 

39 2 9 

194 2 1 

, 89 26 

376 2 27 

4 2 25 

, 88 2 15 

, 68 3 25 

822 2 17 

, 634 1 29 

, 75 39 

4,509 3 14 



The parish is bounded on the east by the parishes 
of Booterstown, Stillorgan, Kilmacud, Tullow, and 
Kilgobbin ; on the west by Eathfarnham and White- 
church ; and on the north by St. Peter's and 
Donnybrook. A small portion of the parish touched 
the sea-shore at Merrion, but was transferred to the 
parish of Booterstown in May, 1877. 

The following is a statement of the population 
and number of houses, taken from the Census 
returns : 



YEARS. 


1841. 


1851. 


1861. 


1871. 


1881. 


1891. 


Population 


3,848 


3,929 


4,208 


4,310 


4,491 


4,669 


No.of Houses 


680 


722 


766 


790 


809 


856 



INTRODUCTION. 3 

The parish is a Rectory, which from the time 
of Archbishop Luke of Dublin (1228-1255) was 
attached to the Archdeaconry of Dublin, in support 
of that dignity, and the Archdeacon continued 
Rector down to the year 1851, when, on the death 
of Archdeacon Torrens, by an order of the Lord 
Lieutenant in Council,* the parish was separated 
from the Archdeaconry. 

It is not thought necessary in the following 
pages to give the succession of the Archdeacons of 
Dublin, which will be found, with full biographical 
notes, in Mason's History of St. Patrick's, and in 
Cotton's Fasti Ecclesice Hibernica. So far as is 
possible, the succession of their curates who have 
had charge of the parish is given ; but owing to the 
diocesan records not being at present accessible, it 
is very incomplete until the end of the eighteenth 
century, when the parish recordsf begin. Before 
that time the parish only enjoyed the ministrations 
of curates who had other churches to serve in the 
Archdeacon's corps. 

In the chapter upon the antiquities of the parish 
will be found an account of the ancient Deanery 
of Taney ; the modern rural deanery is of much 
smaller extent. In 1802 the latter comprised the 
parishes of Taney, Kilgobbin, Rathfarnham, Still- 
organ, Crumlin, and Tallaght ; and its contents are 
still the same, with the addition of the parishes of 
"Whitechurch, Kilternan, Zion Church Rathgar, 

* Appendix A. f Appendix B. 



4 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

and Milltown, and including the chapel of ease, 
Taney, and the chapels of St. Columba's College, 
of the Mageough Home, and of the Central Asylum, 
Dundrum. 

It will be noticed that the name of the parish is 
spelled in many different ways in the following 
pages ; the rule which has been observed is, when 
quoting from any document, to follow the peculiar 
spelling found in it. This observation also applies 
to the names of the other places mentioned. 




CHAPTEE II. 

ANTIQUITIES. 

'THE Parish of Taney, as an ecclesiastical estab- 
-'- lishment, has survived the vicissitudes of many 
centuries; and there seems little room for doubt, 
although we cannot point to a noble edifice erected 
by the master-builders of the middle ages, that 
the worship of God has been conducted in this 
place since before the English conquest of Ireland 
in 1172. 

But the parish seems not to have been the earliest 
ecclesiastical establishment to which the name of 
Taney was attached. 

When Cardinal Paparo visited Ireland in 1152, 
he found, it is said, that Taney was one of the 
rural sees, or chorepiscopates, which then existed, 
and which were taken as the extent of the jurisdic- 
tion of the Arehpresbyters-rural, who supplanted 
rural bishops, and who were the predecessors of our 
present Eural Deans.* 

There is no doubt that the Kural Deanery of 
Taney was of great extent in ancient times. 

About 1294, there was a new taxation of the 
Diocese of Dublin for the Pope, and the total sum 

* Dansey's Horae Decaniccs Eurales, vol. ii., pp. 516, 517. 



6 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

raised in the Diocese was 707 11s., a very large 
amount in those days. 

In this taxation we find the Deanery of "Tanhy" 
mentioned, and the following places, &c., included 
in it: Church of Coulok (Coolock) ; Chapel of 
Isolde's Town (Chapelizod), where "the Hospitallers 
are rectors;" the tithes of the monks of Clonschi- 
lagh (Clonsilla) ; Church of Leucane (Lucan) 
["Monastery of St. Thomas"]; Church of Bali- 
thermot (Ballyfarmot), where " the Hospitallers 
are rectors;" Church of Kylmahud (Kilmacud) ; 
Temporality of the Prior of St. Catherine (St. 
Catherine's, near Leixlip) ; Church of Kylmatalwey 
(Kilmactalway) ; Chapel of Kynturk, " Temporality 
of All Saints' there ; " Temporality of the Monks 
at Kylmatalwey ; the Prioress of Lesmolyn at 
Clonschilagh (Clonsilla) ; Dunsenk (Dunsink) and 
Belegrene (Belgree, Co. Meath ?) ; the Prior of St. 
John of Dublin at Palmerstown ; the Prior of All 
Saints' at Ballycollay ; the monks at Kylmacodrek 
(Kilmacudrick) ; Ballykegh, " nothing, on account 
of the war;" the monks at Coulmyne (Coolmine, 
in the Parish of Saggard) and Clonlyff ; Cloghran- 
hydryt (Cloghran, near Hiddart), and Aderk. The 
total sum for the Deanery of " Tanhy " came to 
60 13s. 4d. 

It is to be observed that neither the Church of 
Taney, nor its Chapelries of Donnybrook, Kathfarn- 
ham, and Kilgobbin, are mentioned ; this may be 
accounted for by the fact that these formed part of 
the corps of the Archdeacon of Dublin, and that he 



ANTIQUITIES. 7 

paid 10 as the tax upon his dignity as archdeacon. 
The Vicarage of Tauelaghte (Tallaght), which is 
still in the Rural Deanery of Taney, was included 
among " the dignities and prebends of the Church 
of St. Patrick, Dublin, with their vicarages;" but it 
paid nothing, " on account of war."* 

From the learned paper of Mr. James Mills upon 
The Norman Settlement in Leinster,} we find that 
"when King Henry granted Leinster to Strong- 
bow certainly when King John confirmed it to 
the Earl Marshal he excepted from the grant 
the two cantredsj nearest to Dublin," and that 
" further west (from Carrickbrenan) was Dundrum, 
held soon after the Conquest by Hugh de Clahull. 
Northwards lay Tacheny, now Churchtown. The 
name is preserved in the parish name Taney. 
This was held by John de Clahull, who was 
Marshal of the Lordship of Leinster, and had 
also extensive lands near Carlow, and subse- 
quently in Kerry, where his family seems to have 
settled. De Clahull gave all his land of Thacney 
to the Archbishop of Dublin. (Liber Niger Alani, 
fol. 108.) Eabo (now Eoebuck) is north-east of 
Tacheny. It was held at first by Thomas de St. 

* Vide Calendar to Christ Church Deeds, in the 20th 
Eeport of the Deputy Keeper of Eecords in Ireland, pp. 60, 
61. 

t Journal-of Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, 1894, 
pp. 161, 167. 

J A cantred was a division of a county corresponding 
to a " hundred " in England. 



8 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Michael, and given by John, the king's son, to 
Thomas's brother, Eobert de St. Michael. By the 
middle of the thirteenth century it had become the 
property of a branch of the great Norman family of 
Basset. A charter from David Basset to Fromund 
le Brun, of the whole manor of Kabo, for ever, is 
entered on the Pipe Boll of 46 Hen. III. It is 
printed in Irish Record Com. Reports, vol. i., p. 836." 

In the period immediately after the Norman 
Settlement was constructed the barrier, known 
as the " Pale," separating the lands occupied by 
the settlers from those remaining in the hands 
of the Irish. This barrier consisted of a ditch, 
raised some ten or twelve feet from the ground, 
with a hedge of thorn on the outer side. It was 
constructed, not so much to keep out the Irish, as 
to form an obstacle in their way in their raids on 
the cattle of the settlers, and thus give time for a 
rescue. 

The Pale began at Dalkey, and followed a south- 
westerly direction towards Kilternan ; then turning 
northwards passed Kilgobbin, where a castle still 
stands, and crossed the Parish of Taney to the 
south of that part of the lands of Balally now 
called Moreen, :;: and thence in a westerly direction 
to Tallaght, and on to Naas in the County of 
Kildare.f In the wall bounding Moreen is still to 

* Now the residence of Major Lenox Mac Farlane, and 
formerly of the M'Kay family. Vide M'Kay, chapter vii. 

f A portion of the Pale is still to be seen in Kildare between 
Clane and Clongowes Wood College at Sallins. 



ANTIQUITIES. 9 

be seen a small watch-tower and the remains of a 
guard-house adjoining it. From this point a 
beacon-fire would raise the alarm as far as Tallaght, 
where an important castle stood.* 

The earliest mention of the parish is to be found 
in 1179, when Pope Alexander III. confirmed to 
Archbishop Laurence O'Toole "the middle place 
of Tignai with its church." The Papal Bull which 
deals with Taney, among the other places in the 
diocese in that year, is preserved for us in the 
Liber Niger of Archbishop Alan; and a note by 
the Archbishop himself, in the margin of his Liber 
Niger, informs us that ' ' Tanney " is a church 
appertaining to the prebend of the Archdeacon of 
Dublin, the meaning of which will appear later. 

John Alan occupied the Archiepiscopal throne of 
Dublin from 1528 to 1534 ; he was an Englishman, 
like most of the prelates who preceded and suc- 
ceeded him in that office, educated at Cambridge, 
Treasurer of St. Paul's Cathedral, and succeeded to 
the See of Dublin through the influence of Cardinal 
Wolsey, to whom he was chaplain. Having in- 
curred the enmity of the Geraldine family, he was 
murdered by some of their party at Artane, near 
Dublin, on 28th July, 1534. f 

* This sketch of the Pale is based on a note supplied by 
the Rev. G. T. Stokes, D.D. 

t Cotton's Fasti Ecclesia Hibernicce, vol. ii., p. 18 ; and in 
the Dictionary of National Biography, vol. i., p. 305, will be 
found a fuller account of his life by that eminent historian 
of the reign of Henry VIII., James Gairdner, Esq., of the 
English Rolls Office. 



10 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

To his industry and love of antiquities we are 
indebted for the preservation of the contents of 
many ancient documents which existed in his day, 
but which have long since disappeared. He found 
already compiled a register of ancient documents 
called the Crede Mild, which was made about 
1275, and this he embellished with notes of his 
own. The original of this register is in the 
custody of the Archbishop of Dublin, and is the 
oldest existing record of the state of the parishes in 
the Diocese of Dublin. Archbishop Alan caused 
two other registers to be compiled ; one called his 
Repertorium Viride, and the other his Liber Niger,* 
The original of the Repertorium Viride is not now 
forthcoming, but several copies of it the latest 
being of the seventeenth century and the original 
of the Liber Niger are in the custody of the Arch- 
bishop.t In the latter are to be found many 
marginal notes in the handwriting of Alan, such 
as that quoted above about this parish. J 

In addition to being the name of a rural deanery 

* Sometimes called Alan's Register. 

| For a minute description of the present condition of the 
Crede Mihi and the Liber Niger, vide Preface (pp. xvi.-xx.) 
to Historic and Municipal Documents of Ireland, 1172-1320, 
edited by J. T. Gilbert. London, 1870. 

J The late Dr. Reeves, the Bishop of Down, Connor, and 
Dromore, caused a copy of the Liber Niger to be made in 
MS., and he then copied into it, in his own clear writing, all 
Alan's notes. This copy is in the Library of T.C.D. Vide 
Journal of Eoyal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, 1893, 
p. 303. 



ANTIQUITIES. 11 

and a parish, Taney is also the title of a prebendal 
stall in St. Patrick's Cathedral. In 1227 the value 
of this prebend was forty marks, or 26 13s. 4d., 
and the name is written " Tathtoin," by which we 
would not recognise our parish, were it not for 
Alan's note, "alias Tawney."* 

At this date it was, no doubt, a separate dignity, 
although the names of the prebendaries have not 
come down to us ; but Archbishop Luke (1228- 
1255) granted both the church and the prebend to 
the Archdeacon of Dublin, in support of his dignity, 
reserving thence to the Legate a latere, the 
hundredth part, which had been paid by way of 
proxy from very remote times. 

The Church of Luske had previously been held 
by the Archdeacon ; but it was then taken away, 
and Taney, which was described as a "mother 
church," having three chapels subservient to it 
Donabroke (Donnybrook), Kilgoban (Kilgobbin), 
and Bathfarnham was given in exchange.! 

Both the church and prebend remained in the 
possession of the Archdeacon from that time until 
1851 ; the prebend remained in abeyance for some 
years after 1851; but since St. Patrick's became 
the National Cathedral, the stall has been revived, 
and is now assigned to the Diocese of Limerick. 

Except the occasional mention of the parish 
among the possessions of the Archdeacon, and in 

* Mason's History of St. Patrick's, Appendix v. 
t Mason's History of St. Patrick's, pp. 44, 45 ; also Alan's 
Repertorium Viride 



12 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

ancient deeds of the period, we have very little 
information about it during the fourteenth or 
fifteenth century. 

A considerable portion of the Archbishop's tem- 
poralities consisted of the Manor of St. Sepulchre, 
which extended from near St. Patrick's Cathedral 
into the Parish of Taney beyond Milltown. In a 
lease from the Archbishop to Thomas Locum, made 
in 1414, which is preserved in the Liber Niger, a 
description is given of the style of residence suited 
to the larger tenants of the manor. By this lease, 
the tenant was to build within four years, at his 
own expense, a stone house, walled and battle- 
mented, 18 feet in breadth by 26 feet in length, 
and 40 feet in height a house of these dimensions 
would more resemble a tower than a mere dwelling- 
house the rent of the land in time of peace was 
to be 3d. per acre, and in time of war, nothing.* 

The only traces which we find in the records of 
the Church of the stirring events of Henry VIII. 's 
reign are those connected with the dissolution of 
St. Patrick's Cathedral. 

By an inquisition held on the 27th January, in 
the thirty-eighth year of Henry VIII. (1546), the 
extent and value of the archidiaconal possessions in 
Taney were reported to be as follows : 

"In the town-land of Tanee (alias Church- 
townt) there is of demesne, appertaining to said 

* Vide Mr. James Mills' paper on The Manor of St. Sepul- 
chre, in Journal of the Royal Historical and ArcJucological 
Association of Ireland, 1889, p. 31, et seq. 

f Vide post, Survey of Half-Barony of liathdown, 1654. 



ANTIQUITIES. 13 

rectory or prebend, one messuage and ix acres of 
arable land, one stang (i.e., a pole or perch) of 
meadow, value, per annum, ixs. The tithes issue 
from the town-lands of Tanee, Dondrommy (Don- 
dromarty, in inquisition of 1 Edw. VI., quoted by 
Mason [Drummartin or Dundrum ?]), Balawly, 
Balayn (Ballinteer), Eebowe (Rabo or Eoebuck), 
"the Chantrell ferme" and Challorighe (Mount - 
merrion or Callary) value xixl. per annum; the 
demesne lands, altarages, and oblations of Tanee 
are assigned to the curate for his stipend."'" 

The cathedral was dissolved in 1546, and the 
possessions of the Archdeacon were confiscated ; 
but in 1547 William Power, who had held the 
Archdeaconry at the suppression, received a pension 
from Edward VI. as " Prebendary of Tannee and 
Rathfernane."f During the time of the suppression 
the parishes of Taney and Bathf arnham were leased 
to Sir John Allen, Knight. J The Archdeaconry 
was restored in 1555 by Queen Mary, and, no doubt, 
the Parish of Taney amongst its possessions. 

The next notice which we find of the parish is in 
1615, when a " Regal Visitation " was carried out 
by Archbishop Thomas Jones, in obedience to the 
command of James I. This visitation found Robert 
Pont resident curate, and the church and chancel 
in good repair, and furnished with service books. 
It may be remarked, that the chancel was mentioned 

* Mason's History of St. Patrick's, p. 46. 

t Cotton's Fasti Ecclesice Hibernica, vol. ii., p. 129. 

{ Mason's History of St. Patrick's, p. 45. 

Latin MS. in the Public Eecord Office, Dublin. 



14 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

separately, because, under the old ecclesiastical law, 
the rector was bound to keep that part of the fabric 
in repair. 

In 1630 Dr. Lancelot Bulkeley, who was Arch- 
bishop from 1619 to 1650, prepared an account of 
the diocese, and presented it to the Privy Council 
on the 1st June in that year. The following is a 
translation of his report of Taney : " The tithes 
belong to the Archdeacon of Dublin. The church 
is ruinous : there are only two householders in 
that parish that come to church. There is one 
John Cawhell (Cahill), a priest, that commonly 
says Mass at Dundrurn and Ballawly. Mr. Eichard 
Prescott, Master of Arts and Preacher, serves the 
cure. The Archdeaconry of Dublin is worth per 
annum a hundred pounds sterling."* 

There are still the ruins of a small church to be 
seen in the townland, Balally (Ballawley f), and 

* The original Latin document is in the Library of T.C.D., 
and there is a translation in the Irish Ecclesiastical Record, 
1869, vol. v., p. 145, et seq. (Under the head of "Donna- 
brooke " it is stated that the tithes of that parish, and of 
Taney and Eathfarnham, belong to the Archdeacon of 
Dublin, being worth 100 per annum, and that Mr. Prescott 
discharges the cures, for which he receives 12.) 

t Derivation of Ballawley : Balamhlaibh or Bally Amh- 
laibh, or Olaf, or Olave = the town of Olave, the famous 
Danish saint, who had a church off Fishamble Street. This 
corroborates the tradition that there was a colony of Danes 
at the foot of the " Three Rock Mountain." It is also to be 
noted that there is a place called " Harold's Grange," near 
Ballawley, and that the Harold family have held land near 
Kilgobbin from the twelfth century. (Note supplied by Rev. 
G. T. Stokes, D.D.) 



ANTIQUITIES. 15 

this is the only mention which we can find of its 
being used for service. 

The plans of Cromwell for the settlement of Ire- 
land, after he had obtained the mastery of it, are 
well known to all readers of history. His method, 
in this instance, was conceived with the same 
thoroughness of design which always distinguished 
his courses of action. Before proceeding to hand 
over the lands upon which he intended to establish 
his followers and other English settlers, he caused 
a careful survey to be made of all the lands which 
had been forfeited. Of the Half-Barony of Rath- 
down, two of such surveys were made the first 
in 1654, by order of Charles Fleetwood, Lord 
Deputy,* and the second in 1657, by Sir William 
Petty the latter being the celebrated Doicn Sur- 
vey.]- 

Fleetwood's Survey describes the Parish of Taney 
as containing the townlands of " Bellawly," " Don- 
drom" and "Ballintry" (Ballinteer), "Rabuck" 
(Roebuck), Owenstown, Kilmacud ; a moiety of 
Churchtown, Churchtown alias " Tanee," and Tip- 
perstown.J The parish is stated to be bounded on 
the west by Rathfarnham, on the south by the 
Parish of Kilgobbin, on the east and north by the 
Parish of " Donnebrook." 

* Lodge's Desiderata Curiosa Hibernica, vol. ii., pp. 529- 
568. 

t Public Becord Office, Dublin. 

J Tipperstown is Tubberstown, the Town of the Well, and 
is the townland on which Stillorgan station now stands. 
(Note supplied by Kev. G. T. Stokes, D.D.) 



16 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

The townland of " Bella wly " is returned as the 
property of James Walsh* of Ballawley, " Irish 
Papist," containing 220 acres, having on the pre- 
mises one castle thatched, and the walls of a 
chapel ; the tithes had belonged to St. Patrick's, 
Dublin, but then to the College of Dublin. 

The townlands of " Dondrom " and " Ballintry " 
are stated to be the property of Colonel Oliver 
Fitzwilliam,t of Merrion, " Irish Papist," who 
acted in the Irish Army as Major-General ; the 
area was 500 acres ; there was on the premises one 
castle slated, and a barn ; one garden plot, and a 
small churchyard ; the premises had been a manor, 
and had kept court-leet and court-baron ; the tithes 
belonged to the College of Dublin. 

The townland of "Babuck" is stated to be the 
property of "Mathew," Lord Baron Trimblestown,J 

* Brewer, in his Beauties of Ireland, p. 216, says that the 
family of Walsh were of the line of Carrickmaine, and that 
Kilgobbin Castle was erected by them, but was forfeited in 
the reign of Charles I., when it passed to the Loftus family. 

f Afterwards second Viscount Fitzwilliam. He was a 
distinguished military officer, and was a Lieutenant-General 
under the Marquis of Ormonde. He was created Earl of 
Tyrconnel, circa 1661. He m., first, Dorothy Brereton, of 
Malpas, Cheshire, and secondly, Lady Eleanor Holies, eldest 
dau. of John, first Earl of Clare. ^Creation 1624, vide B. E. P., 
1866, p. 281.) He d. s. p. April 11, 1667, and was bur. at 
Donnybrook. (Slacker's Sketches of Booterstown, p. 112.) 

J Matthias, eighth Baron Trimleston, took his seat in 
Parliament, March 18, 1639. He m. Jane, dau. of Nicholas 
Viscount Netterville, and d. in 1667, leaving issue. Vide 
Trimleston, B. P., 1895. 



ANTIQUITIES. 17 

"Irish Papist," who acted in the Irish Army as 
Colonel of Horse. It contained 400 acres ; there 
were on the premises one castle, which had been 
destroyed by the rebels, one garden plot, and one 
mill ; the tithes belonged to the College of Dublin. 

The townland of Owenstown is returned as the 
property of Lord Fitzwilliam, of Merrion,* " Irish 
Papist;" it contained 68 acres, and the tithes be- 
longed to the College of Dublin. 

The townland of Kilmacud is stated to have been 
the property of Maurice Archbold, of Kilmacud, 
deceased, a " Papist," who left his interest to 
Eichard Archbold, t of Malpas, in England ; the 

* Thomas, first Baron and Viscount Fitzwilliam (Aug. 5, 
1629); knighted, Aug. 23, 1608; Sheriff of Co. Dublin, 1609. 
He served faithfully under Charles I. in England, with his 
two sons, Kichard, who d. during his father's lifetime, and 
Oliver, who succeeded to the title. He m. Margaret, eldest 
dau. of Oliver, fourth Baron Louth. (Blacker's Sketches of 
Booterstown, p. 111.) 

In the Records of the Corporation of Dublin, there is an 
account of the riding of the bounds of the city in 1603, which 
mentions that the procession " turned northward to the 
sowth-west corner of the orchard diche of Merryon, through 
which corner the elder (fathers) of the citty said that of ould 
tyme they did ryde. And now, that for the same was soe 
strongly fensed with trees and thornes, which, in favor of 
the gentleman of the House of Merryon (Sir Thomas Fitz- 
william) being the citty tennant they would loathly breake 
downe, they rode a lyttell besydes it." (Gilbert's Records of 
Dublin, vol.'i., p. 191.) 

t He d. June 6, 1678, and in his will, which was proved in 
1681, he directs that his body may have " decent and 

c 



18 THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

area was 95 acres, and the tithes belonged to 
Christ Church (Cathedral). 

The townland, described as " a moiety of Church- 
town," is stated to be the property of Sir William 
Ussher, Knt.,* " English Protestant ;" it contained 
60 acres, and the tithes belonged to the College of 
Dublin. 

The townland of Churchtown alias " Tanee," is 

Christian buryall in the Parrish Church of Churchtowne." 
He mentions his wife, mother, brothers, and sisters, and as 
he was expecting a child, makes provision for it. He ap- 
points as his executors " Gerrald Archbold, of Newtowne, in 
ye co. Kildare, gent., and Christopher Cauldwell, of the citty 
of Dublin, gent.," and leaves them " twenty shillings a peece 
to buy them rings in remembrance of me." Vide Tomb- 
stones I. & II., and notes, chapter iii. In 1741 the will of 
James Archbold, of Kilmacud, probably Eichard's son, who 
d. Feb. 17, 1738-39, was proved. (Consistorial Wills, Public 
Eecord Office, Dublin.) 

The Archbolds were people of importance. In the Funeral 
Entries, in Ulster's office, it is recorded that Edmond 
Archbold, of Kilmacud, who d. April 12, 1617, and who 
" had to wife Anne Warrin," was buried with all the pomp 
of that time. An inquisition of James I., in 1619, shows 
that Edmond's son, William, and Maurice, son of Patrick 
Archbold (d. Oct. 31, 1616), were in possession; and in 
Fleetwood's Survey it is mentioned that William, sometime 
of Cloghran, near Swords, and Maurice, held the premises 
in 1641. 

* Memoirs of Sir Wm. Ussher, sen. (1561-1659), who was 
Clerk of the Council and M.P. for Co. Wicklow, and of his 
grandson, Sir Wm. Ussher, jun. (1610-71), who was M.P. 
for Co. Dublin, will be found in Ball Wright's Ussher Fami- 
lies, pp. 118-145. 



ANTIQUITIES. 19 

returned as the property of John Kemp, of the city 
of Dublin, tailor, who held it under a lease from the 
" Bishop " of Dublin ; it contained 88 acres, and 
the tithes belonged to the College of Dublin. 

The townland of Tipperstown is returned as the 
property of Dean Margetson,* "a Protestant," who 
held it in right of his Deanery, i.e., of Christ 
Church Cathedral ; it contained 76 acres, and the 
tithes belonged to itself. 

It is to be remarked that Kilmacud and Tippers- 
town are not now in the Parish of Taney, but 
are in the Parish of Stillorgan ; as is also a town- 
land called Mulchanstown, which lies between 
them, and which is included in the Down Survey. 
The number of acres in the parish belonging to 
" Irish Papist" proprietors was 1,883 ; to "English 
Protestant " proprietors, 60 ; and to Church lands, 
164. 

The Doicn Survey, which comprises a map of the 
parish and of the Barony of Rathdown, gives the 
boundaries of the parish as follows : On the north, 
the parish of " Donabrooke ; " on the east, the 
parishes of Monkstown, Tully, and Kill ; on the 
south, the Parish of Whitechurch, and on the 
west, the Baronies of Newcastle and Uppercross. 
The quality of the soil is stated to be arable, 

* James Margetson \vas a native of Yorkshire, and was 
brought to Ireland by the Earl of Strafford. He was Dean 
of Christ Church from 1639 to 1660, and subsequently Arch- 
bishop of Dublin (1660-63), and Archbishop of Armagh from 
1663 until his death in 1678. Vide Cotton's Fasti, &c., vol. 
iii., p. 22, and Notes and Queries, 8th S., VII., p. 255. 



20 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

meadow, and pasture. The townlands comprised 
in the parish were as follows : " Dondrom," 
" Ballintiry," " Babuck," Owenstown, Kilmacud, 
Ballawley, " Tyberstown," Moltanstown (Mul- 
chanstown), and Milltown. 

It will be noticed that this survey omitted the 
moiety of Churchtown, and Churchtown alias 
" Tanee," which were included in Fleetwood's 
Survey, but included Mulchanstown and Milltown ; 
from the fact that Sir William Ussher is stated to 
be the owner of the moiety of Churchtown, in the 
one, and of Milltown, in the other, it would seem 
that they were the same townland. 

The following are the owners and area of the 
townlands as given in it; and, as will be seen, 
they are substantially the same as in Fleetwood's 
Survey : 

Names of Owners. Lnnds. Acres. 

Colonel Oliver Fitzwilliam {^flintery^ } ~ 5G2 

Lord of Trimlestowne, ... Eabuck, ... ... 500 

Lord of Meryyoung, ... Ownenstowne, ... 100 

Morris Archbold, ... Kilmacudd, ... ... 150 

James Walsh, ... ... Ballowley, ... ... 440 

Deane of Christ Church, ... Tyberstowne, ... 87 

The same, ... ... Moltanstowne, ... 294 



Total acres ... a, 133 

The Church land is returned at 881 acres, and 
all the owners as " Irish Papists," except Sir 
William Ussher. 



ANTIQUITIES. 21 

The only road marked on the map of the parish 
is one from Dundrum towards Milltown, which 
branches towards the east to a bridge at Clon- 
skeagh, and towards the west to a bridge at Mill- 
town. 

It is stated that there stands in " Dondrom " a 
castle in repair, in "Rabuck" another, and in 
Ballawley another, and that the river of " Donna- 
brooke " bounds part of the west of the parish. 

Mason* remarks that although in 1649 the 
Parliament Commissioners had forbidden the pub- 
lic use of the established ritual, it did not appear 
that they at once deprived the clergy of their 
temporal possessions. As soon, however, as the 
usurpers had established themselves, they assigned 
to certain trustees, to whom were confided all 
matters concerning the university, the posses- 
sions of the Archbishop and of the Dean and 
Chapter of St. Patrick's Cathedral. Hence it is 
that in the Down Survey we find the College of 
Dublin noted as proprietors of several tracts of 
land which belong properly to the Archbishop and 
others, and that in Fleetwood's Survey the College 
is reported to be proprietor of the tithes of Tanee 
and Eathmichael, parishes which previously be- 
longed to St. Patrick's. 

Masonf also mentions that in 1660 the glebe of 
nine acres one stang of arable land at Tawney, which 

* History of St. Patrick's, p. 188, et seq, 
t Ibid., p. 46. 



22 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

the Archdeacon possessed at the dissolution of the 
Cathedral, was reported to be concealed, and adds : 
" Some portion, however, has been since recovered, 
for in 1701 six acres of glebe land near the Church 
of Tannee (sic) were demised for twenty-one years 
to Eliphal Dobson* for 2 6s. per annum; this 
glebe was surveyed about 1750, and found to con- 
tain GA. 2B. 3p., besides the churchyard, which 
measured 1 rood 8 perches ; it is situated on the 
east and south-east sides of the Church of Tawney, 
and is divided into two portions by the road from 
Dundrum to Dublin." 

From the Hearth-money Eeturns and Subsidy 
Rolls of 1664, we can gain an estimate of the 
number of householders in the parish in that year. 

* Gilbert, in his History of Dublin, vol. i., p. 13, says: " At 
the ' Stationers' Arms, ' in Castle Street, in the reign of 
James II. was the shop of Eliphal Dobson, the most 
wealthy Dublin bookseller and publisher of his day. He 
was attainted in the Parliament of 1689, and returned to 
his former habitation after the evacuation of Dublin by the 
Jacobites. 'Eliphal Dobson's wooden leg,' says Dunton, 
' startled me with the creaking of it ; for I took it for the 
crepitus ossium which I have heard some of our physicians 
speak of. Mr. Dobson is a great Dissenter ; but his pretence 
to religion does not make him a jot precise. He values no 
man for his starched looks or supercilious gravity, or for 
being a Churchman, Presbyterian, Independent, &c., pro- 
vided he is sound in the main points wherein all good men 
are agreed.'" This Dunton was a travelling bookseller, and 
gives very interesting particulars about the Dublin citizens 
at the end of the seventeenth century, in a curious book 
called the Dublin Scuffle. Amongst the burial entries in 



ANTIQUITIES. 28 

In " Dondrom " Isaac Dobson* was the only 
inhabitant who paid the tax for three hearths ; 
there were twenty-two others who paid for one 
each. In "Tengknock" (Tiknock) there were 
four inhabitants paying for one hearth each. In 
Ballawley John Burr paid for three hearths, and 
seven others paid for one each. In " Rawbuck " 
(Roebuck) William Nallyt paid for two hearths, and 

Hughes's St. WerburgWs, p. 126, appears "Alderman Eliphal 
Dobson, publisher, in 7 Castle Street, March 17th, 1719-20." 
He lived at Dundrum, in the old house or castle which still 
stands in the grounds of the present Dundrum Castle (re- 
cently occupied by that distinguished prelate of the Irish 
Church, the Most Eev. Charles Parsons Beichel, Bishop of 
Meath) ; and in his will, which was proved in 1720, he leaves 
his interest in it and in the town and lands of Dundrum, 
which he inherited from his father, and which he held under 
Lord Fitzwilliam, to trustees, and directs that his wife 
Mary (alias Saunders) should have the use of the castle, 
of the "castle garden lately made by me," and of the 
pleasure-grounds. He mentions his sons Isaac (Six Clerk, 
d. 1754) ; Eliphal (Sheriff of Dublin, 1730, d. 1732) ; Joseph 
(of Dundrum, d. 1762), [Hughes's St. Werburgli's'] ; Samuel ; 
his only daughter Hannah, wife of John Davis. To the 
Library of T.C.D. he bequeathed 10 and " one of the best 
folio Bibles printed by me." (Prerogative Wills, Public 
Record Office, Dublin.) 

* He was the father of Eliphal Dobson. (Vide ante.) His 
will, which was proved on March 12, 1700-1, is dated 
October 24, 1700, and describes him as of Dundrum. He 
mentions hi it that he was then eighty years of age. (Pre- 
rogative -Wills, Public Kecord Office.) 

t Blacker, in his Sketches of Booterstown, p. 125, gives the 
following amongst the earliest tombstone inscriptions in 



24 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

five others paid for one each. In Churchtown two 
inhabitants paid for one hearth each. 

In the Subsidy Eolls we find Isaac Dobson paying 
for " Dondrom," William Nally for " Eobucke " 
and Owenstowne, Richard Archbold for Kiluaacud, 
John Borr for Ballawley, Owen Jones for Church- 
towne, and "ye tennant" for " part of Merrion." 

In the Act for the Attainder of Divers Rebels, 
passed in 1689, after the deposition of James II., 
the name of "Isaac Dobson, of Dundrum, gentle- 
man," is given as having " gone into England 
or some other place beyond the seas," and to forfeit 
all his lands in this kingdom (of Ireland). * 

The next fact in the history of the parish which 
has come to our hands, is recorded upon the older 
of the two chalices which are used in the celebration 
of the Holy Communion in the parish church. 
This chalice was presented by Archdeacon Isaac 
Mannf in 1760, and the inscription^ upon it tells 
us that the church had then been once more rebuilt. 

Donnybrook graveyard : " Hereunder lyeth the body of 

William Nally, of , in the County of Dublin, gent., 

who departed this life October ye 7th, 1669." He was an 
ancestor of Leonard M 'Nally, well known for his connection 
with the Eevolution of 1798. (Vide Blacker, pp. 90, 197, 434.) 

* Appendix to King's State of the Protestants in Ireland 
under James II., p. 241. 

t Isaac Mann, D.D., Archdeacon of Dublin, 1757 ; Bishop of 
Cork, 1772 ; d. 1789. Vide Cotton's Fasti, &c., vol. ii., p. 131. 

{ Appendix B. In Erck's Ecclesiastical Register (1834), 
amongst the grants of the Board of First Fruits, there is a 
gift of 200 to Tawney. The date is not given, but it was 
circa 1745. 



ANTIQUITIES. 25 

This record gives us the date of the old church as 
we now see it, and there cannot have been much 
change in its outward appearance since then. The 
east gable at one time contained two windows, 
similar in design to those in the side walls, but 
these have been for many years past built up. The 
arrangement, which still remains, of Communion 
table, with reading-desk and pulpit above it, stand- 
ing against the east wall, no doubt, dates from 
1760, when the public sense of correctness in things 
ecclesiastical had reached, perhaps, its lowest point. 
Except that the pews have been removed, the in- 
terior of the building remains unaltered since it 
was used as the parish church ; and its appearance 
can best be described by saying that it is barnlike 
and dismal in the extreme. 



CHAPTEE III. 
'THE GRAVEYAKD. 

THE original graveyard was contained in the plot 
of ground which adjoins the road leading from 
Dundrum to Churchtown, and was bounded on the 
north partly by the old church, and partly by a 
wall forming a continuation of the north wall of 
the church, and on the east by a wall running in a 
curve towards the cottages upon the road above 
mentioned. About the year 1872, an addition was 
made to the graveyard, by taking a piece of the field 
forming part of the glebe land at the north side of 
the church ; and again, in the year 1887, a further 
addition was made, by taking another piece of the 
same field, and extending the graveyard further to 
the east. On the occasion of the second extension, 
the old wall bounding the graveyard on the east 
was removed, and a new wall built enclosing the 
additional space. 

Some idea of the number of interments in this 
graveyard may be obtained from the fact that 
during the short period of twenty-one years, from 
1814 to 1835, there were 1,044 burials entered in 
the register. 

A table of the fees charged in the parish in 1814 
for funerals and other offices is to be found in the 



THE GRAVEYAKD. 27 

vestry book.* The fees for burials in the oldest 
part of the graveyard are still the same as in 1814 ; 
but in the new ground somewhat higher fees are 
charged. In both cases, however, the fees are very 
low a fact which probably accounts for the large 
number of burials of persons belonging to Dublin 
and elsewhere outside the parish which is recorded 
in the registers. 

A careful examination of the inscribed stones in 
the graveyard discloses only two of the seventeenth 
century ; these, with any others which appear to be 
of interest, are inserted in full, and a list is given of 
the rest, which may be useful for reference. 

A large enclosure, surrounded by an iron railing, 
near the east end of the church, is known to be 
the burial-place of the Lighten family.! 

I. 

Here under lyes the Body of James Nicholson, whose 
fidelity as clerk hath been sufficiently shown in His Majestie's 
Treasury Office, in the city of Dublin, for 36 yeares or there- 
abouts. Aged sixty foure, and was here interred 10 Septem- 
ber, Anno Domini 1676. 

Quaxtor honestus amans solvi tenui reparavi 
Credita parta meos sponte labore manu 
Funde preces llegi fueram per debita fidus 
Fidus pontifici ctetera funde preces. 
Memento mori.J 

* Appendix C. 

t See Lighten, Sir Thomas, chap. vii. 

j The will of James Nicholson, of the parish of " St. 
Michaell in the Citty of Dublin," which was proved in 1676, 
directs that his body should be " enterred in the Church of 
Churchtowne." He mentions in it Mary (als. Nicholson), 
wife of Edward Archbold, also his cousin Richard Arehbold 
of Kilmacud (p. 17), and " Gerrard Archbold of Newtowne, 
in the Co. Kildare." (Prerogative Wills, Public Record Office, 
Dublin.) 



28 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

II. 

This burial place belonged 
to Gerrard Archbold of Eadston . 

Here lyeth the body of 
. . . . Archbold, alias Ball his wife 

who departed this life January ye 

aged 67 years. 

Bequiescant in pace.* 

III. 

Here lies the body of Selina Elizabeth Atkinson, daughter 
of John Atkinson, Esq., Ely Place, Dublin, who, in the 
blossom of youth, was untimely cut off, one of Nature's fairest 
flowers, leaving her afflicted parents and friends unceasingly 
to deplore her loss, and to look forward with anxious hope 
to a reunion in that World of Peace, the reward of Innocence 
and Virtue. She died 17th September, 1813, aged 13 years 
and 4 months. Here also are buried John Atkinson, Esq., 
who died the 30th October, 1823, aged 63 years. Judith 
Atkinson, his wife, who died the 14th May, 1821, aged 57 
years. Also Anne Atkinson, wife of John Atkinson, junr., 
Esq., who died 7th April, 1824, aged 30 years. John 
Atkinson, Esq., died December 13th, 1859, aged 68 years, 
deeply regretted by his sorrowing wife and family. Also 
Mary Atkinson, widow of the said John Atkinson, and 
eldest daughter of the late John Hemphill, Esq., of Cashel, 
she died at Ely Place, the 18th July, 1888, beloved and 
mourned by her children and relations. Also Ellena Mary 
Atkinson, daughter of the said John and Mary Atkinson, who 
died 9th December, 1890, loved and regretted by all who 
knew her. " Of such is the kingdom of heaven." 

IV. 

Kichard Atkinson died at Gortmore, 18th July, 1871, aged 
53 years. " Mark the perfect man, and behold the upright : 
for the end of that man is peace." Ps. xxxvii. 37. 

* The will of Gerard Archbold of Eadstown, Co. Kildare, 
dated 25th March, 1694-5, says : " My body I pray my friends 
to see buried in Churchtowne, als. Tanij." He is evidently 
the person mentioned as "Gerrald" in Bichard Archbold's 
will (p. 17), and as "Gerrard" in James Nicholson's will 
Eadstown and Newtown being adjoining townlands in the 
North Barony of Naas. He mentions his dau. Joan Archbold 
and her son James ; and from this fact it would seem pro- 
bable that he was the father-in-law of Eichard Archbold. 
(Consistorial Wills, Public Record Office, Dublin.) 



THE GKAVEYARD. 29 

Mary Jane Atkinson died in Dublin, 17th June, 1889, 
aged 67 years. "If we believe that Jesus died and rose 
again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring 
with him." 1 Thess. iv. 14. 

V. 

In Loving Memory of Michael Charles Bernard, M.B., 
T.C.D., & L.K.C.S.I., who for forty years labored as a Physician 
in this parish. Died 24th April, 1881, in his 71st year. " I 
know that my Redeemer liveth." 

In Loving Memory of Henry Hilton Bernard, Medical 
Student, who died on the llth December, 1887, of scarlatina, 
caught in the path of duty, in his 20th year. "Blessed are 
the pure in heart : for they shall see God." 

In Memory of Joshua Bernard, died 9th February, 1843, 
aged 1 month. Sarah Maria Leigh, relict of John Leigh, 
Lymm Cheshire, died 14th October, 1856, aged 74. Adeliza 
Bernard, died 13th May, 1864, aged 1 year. Anna Mayne, 
died 7th April, 1870, aged 3 days. Godfrey Bernard, died 
16th April, 1870, in his 19th year. Annie Bernard, died 14th 
March, 1876, aged 10 years. Louisa Bernard, died 6th 
N ovember, 1887, after a lingering illness. 

VI. 

Sacred to the Memory of the Barrys of Lislee here 
interred, viz., James Redmond, late of Glandore, died June 
18th, 1879, aged 90 ; his wife Anne, died 1869, aged 80 ; his 
mother, died 1852 ; his Aunt Johanna, died 1851 ; his 
daughter Mary Theresa, died 1860, aged 32. R.I.P. 

VH. 

Sacred to the Memory of William Ball, Esq.,* who died 
July 18th, 1824, aged 73 years. 

*" Counsellor " Ball lived in Churchtown from circa 1812 
until his death, and his name will be found amongst the 
original purchasers of pews in the present church. (See 
Appendix D.) He was a Scholar of T.C.D., and graduated 
B.A. 1769. He was called to the Bar in 1775. In 1806 the 
degree of LL.D. honoris causa was conferred on him by his 
University. Ball Wright, in his Records of the Families of 
Ball (p. 38), mentions that he was commonly known as 
" Index "'Ball, because he edited a book of legal indexes. 
He was the third son of the Rev. Thomas Ball, a celebrated 
schoolmaster in Dublin hi the eighteenth century, who, Ball 
Wright says, was descended from a Co. Fermanagh family. 
He was married twice, and left two daughters. 



30 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 



VIII. 

Sacred to the Memory of Elizabeth Ball, who died March 
28th, 1838, aged 49 years; also of her husband Major 
Benjamin Ball, formerly of the 40th Regiment, who died 
April 10, 1841, aged 52 years; and of their daughter Jane, 
wife of John Dickinson, who died May 20, 1843, aged 25 
years ; and of her husband John Dickinson, who died May 26, 
1851, aged 38 years ; and of Charlotte Elizabeth, widow of 
Eobert Lloyd, M.D. , sister of the above Major Ball, who died 
August 5, 1853 ; and of the Eev. Euttledge Ball, son of the 
above Major Ball, who died March 16, 1858, aged 27 years. 



In Memoriam. Charlotte Beaufort, died November 15th, 
1868. She walked with God. Also of her sister Fanny 
Mary Anne, who died October 20, 1875. " He that believeth 
on me hath everlasting life." John vi. 47. " There the 
weary are at rest." Job iii. 17. 



The Burial Ground of Patrick Bride, Esq., and his pos- 
terity. 1798. T. Taylor, fecit. 

In the firm hope of a blessed immortality, here lies the 
body of Margaret Bride, wife of Patrick Bride, Esq., and 
the daughter of Arthur Lamprey, Esq., who departed this 
life on the 9th May, 1796, in the 69th year of her age, and 
the year of her marriage. Here also lieth the body of 
Eliza Bride, their daughter, who died on the 1st September, 
1797, in the 22nd year of her age. She inherited the 
suavity of manners, kindness of disposition, solid under- 
standing, and true piety, which her dear mother so eminently 
possessed. Heu! quanta minus est cum aliis versari quam 
vestri meminisxe. 

In the firm hope and confidence in the goodness and 
mercy of Almighty God, here lies the body of Patrick Bride, 
late of Stephen's Green, Esq., who died 29th day of Septem- 
ber, 1808, aged 82 years. He had been an eminent druggist, 
but retired from business in the year 1773. He served the 
office of High Sheriff of the Honorable City of Dublin in the 
year 1780 ; had been elected a Director of the Bank of Ire- 
land in the year 1784 ; and served the office of Governor 
of that Honorable Corporation in the years 1805 and 1806. 
In every station of public and private life his conduct was 
pure and correct. He has left one son and four grandsons. 



THE GRAVEYARD. 31 

XI. 

Sacred to the Memory of T. R. Burke, Esq., who departed 
this life the 25th day of June, 1841, aged 22 years. 

XII. 

In Loving Memory of James Carnegie, who died 18 
March, 1866, aged 75 years. " As in Adam all die, even so 
in Christ shall all be made alive." 1 Cor. xv. 22. Also of 
Beatrice Carnegie, his wife, who died the 24th May, 1883, 
aged 87 years. " I know whom I have believed, and am 
persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have com- 
mitted to him against that day." 2 Timothy i. 12. Also 
of their daughter Jane, who died 15 April, 1891, and their 
daughter Eliza von der Nahmer, who died 12 March, 1894, 
aged 57. 

XIII. 

Sacred to the Memory of Lieut.-Col. Wm. Cowell, C.B., late 
of the 42nd Royal Highlanders, whose premature death was 
occasioned by severe campaigns and wounds received in the 
Peninsula during the war ; died 24th September, 1827, aged 
45 years. 

XIV. 

Deposited here lie the mortal remains of what was 
Frances, the beloved wife of James Crofton, of Eoebuck 
Castle. He, in deep, in sincere affliction, has lived to record 
her the best of wives, of mothers, and of friends. She ceased 
her earthly existence on the 8th day of January, 1811, at the 
early age of thirty-four years, to appear before her God 
arrayed and conducted to His presence by every virtue. 
Here also is deposited the body of Eliza, the infant child of 
the above-named. 

XV. 

In Loving Memory of Michael Carr, died 21st June, 1876, 
aged 35 years. Also his daughter, Margaret A. Carr, aged 12 
years, and his son, William T. Carr, died 20th July, 1889, 
aged 19 years. " To be with Christ, which is far better." 

XVI. 

Erected by Thomas Clarke to the memory of Jane Clarke, 
his wife, whose many virtues endeared her to every person 
by whom she was known. She died the 1st of May, 1806, 
in the 23rd~year of her age, and is here interred with her 
father, Garrett English, Esq.,* who died on the 5th May, 

* " A steady friend, and an upright and active magistrate." 
Anthologia Hibernica, vol. i., p. 402. 



32 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

1793, aged 36 years. Here also lyeth the remains of Mary, 
second daughter of the above-named Garrett English, who 
departed this life on the 21st of November, 1807, aged 22 
years. Here also are deposited the remains of the above- 
mentioned Thomas Clarke, who departed this life on the 
21st of May, 1825, aged 52 years. Here also lieth the remains 
of the Eev. Geor. D. Crooke, son-in-law of the above- 
mentioned Thomas Clarke, who departed this life October 
the 5th, 1836, aged 38 years. There also is interred the 
remains of John Clarke, Esq., son of the above-named 
Thomas Clarke, who departed this life November 14th, 1836, 
aged 30 years. Here also are deposited the remains of Eliza 
Clarke, daughter of the above-named Thomas Clarke, who 
departed this life on the 12th day of January, 1844, in the 
24th year of her age ; and also the remains of Sarah Tilly, 
wife of Benjamin Tilly, Esq., another of the daughters of 
the above-named Thomas Clarke, who departed this life on 
the 25th July, 1852, in the 34th year of her age. 

XVH. 

Here lie the remains of Mrs. Jane S. Corry, nat. 1775, 
ob. Jan., 1820. 

XVIII. 

To record conjugal affection, parental tenderness, and 
every virtue that constitutes genuine worth, this stone has 
been placed over the remains of Nathaniel Creed, Esq., late 
of the City of Dublin, by his sorrowing widow, Mrs. Rebecca 
Creed, as a humble testimony of her gratitude to his memory. 
He departed this life the 17th day of April, 1805, aged 55 
years. Here also are interred the remains of their infant 
son, Nathaniel Creed, who died 17th January, 1805, aged 11 
months. Here also are interred the remains of William Nat. 
Creed, eldest son of the said Nathaniel Creed, who departed 
this life June 13th, 1815, in the 21st year of his age. He 
was a young man of unspotted purity, and possessed of every 
virtue which could endear him to society. Here also are 
interred the remains of James Joseph Creed, son of the 
above Nathaniel Creed, who departed this life the 18th of 
April, 1825, aged 24 years. A young man who lived beloved, 
and died deeply regretted by his family and friends. 

This tomb was erected by James Allen Heyland, Esq., of 
the City of Dublin, to the memory of Maria, his beloved 
wife, and eldest daughter of the late Nathaniel Creed, Esq., 
of Roebuck, County of Dublin. She departed this life in the 



THE GRAVEYARD. 33 

38th year of her age on the 8th of December, A.D. 1830. 
Here also are interred the remains of the above-named James 
Allen Heyland, Esq., who departed this life on the llth of 
December, A.D. 1837, aged 53 years. 

XIX. 

Sacred to the Memory of Elizabeth Cage, daughter of 
William Cage, Esq. Born June 19th, 1798, died at Syden- 
ham Eoad, Dundrum, December 24th, 1876. "Blessed are 
the dead which die in the Lord." Rev. xiv. 13. " For God so 
loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that 
whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have ever- 
lasting life." John iii. 16. 

XX. 

Sacred to the Memory of Louisa Coxe, daughter of Baron 
Schele. of Osnaburg, in Westphalia, and wife of Daniel Coxe, 
junr.. Esq. She died January 30th, 1819, aged 48 years. 
Her father-in-law, D. Coxe, hath placed this monument. 
Also Sacred to the Memory of Daniel Coxe, junr., Esq., who 
died oth June, 1819, aged 47 years. 

XXI. 

In Loving Memory of Elizabeth Frances Darlington, who 
fell asleep in Jesus 27th April, 1875, aged 18 years. Also 
her sister Margaret, died December 16th, 1850, aged 10 
months. 

Here lieth the body of Francis Darlington, who departed 
this life the 9th day of September, 1804, aged 47 years ; also 
his daughter Susanna, who departed this life the 14th day of 
November, 1802, aged 22 years. 

XXII. 

In Loving Memory of Arthur, only son of the late W. D. 
Dickie, Cedarmount, Dundrum, died 15th January, 1891, 
aged 21 years. " I will arise, and go to my Father." 

XXIII. 

This stone was erected by Thomas Dillon, Esq., of Mount 
Dillon, Roebuck, and Marcella, his wife, in memory of their 
sons Cornelius and Thomas, who died in their infancy. 



34 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

XXIV. 

Underneath are deposited the mortal remains of Mr. Peter 
Depoe,* of Leinster Street, in the City of Dublin, who 
departed this life the 16th of November, 1826, aged 68 years. 
A man very generally known, and as generally esteemed and 
respected for all the Qualities that constitute "a valuable 
Member of Society. Here also lie interred the Eemains of 
his Son James Mark Depoe, who died the 25th February, 
1826, in the 26th year of his age. This stone is dedicated to 
their memory by Mrs. Elizabeth Depoe, widow of the above- 
named Peter, tho' imperfectly can such a testimonial con- 
vey a sense of her grief or of her lasting affliction. Also 
the remains of Mrs. Depoe, who departed this life the 1st 
January, 1848, aged 81 years. 

XXV. 

Sacred to the Memory of Capt. James Espinasse. late 1st 
Eoyal Kegt., who died at Dundrum, Co. Dublin, 1st March, 
1874, aged 70 years. Erected by his sorrowing widow. 
" Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His 
saints." Ps. cxvi. 15. Also Julia, his wife, died 19th June, 
1877, and their daughter Mary, died 29th December, 1879. 

XXVI. 

Sir John Franks, died 10th January, 1852, aged 83 years. 
Also his attached wife Sarah Franks, who died 22nd 
February, 1874, aged 78 years. 

XXVII. 

Edward, infant son of Edward and Amy Fitzgerald, born 
August 21st, 1890, and died on the 23rd. 

XXVIII. 

Sacred to the Memory of William John Freke, who died 
17 November, 1879, aged 71 years; and of Frances May, 
his wife, who died 3 June, 1880, aged 64 years. 

XXIX. 

1868. To the Memory of three dear sisters, who are 
interred here, Eliza Findlay, died 16th December, 1847, aged 
83 years. Charlotte Findlay, died 17th May, 1849, in her 

* Manager of Daly's Club-house in College Green. 
Gilbert's History of Dublin, vol. iii., p. 40. 



THE GRAVEYARD. 85 

81st year. Annie Findlay, died the 3rd June, 1858, in her 
85th year. " They shall be mine, saith the Lord of hosts, in 
that day when I make up my jewels ; and I will spare them, 
as a man spareth his own son that serveth him." Mai. iii. 
17. Erected by their affectionate grandniece A. H. Church. 
Here also are interred the remains of their beloved grand- 
nephew, Mark Bloxham, Esq., County Inspector, E.I.C., who 
departed this life on the 13th May, 1876, aged 53 years. " I 
know that my Eedeemer liveth." 

XXX. 

The persons here interred are Mrs. George, the wife of Baron 
George, A.D. 1814.* Master Eichard George, their fifth son, 
1806. 

XXXI. 

Charles Samuel Grey, born January 22nd, 1811, died June 
12th, 1860. " Blessed are the poor in spirit : for theirs is the 
kingdom of heaven." Also Henry Charles Martin Grey, his 
son, born April loth, 1851, died May 3rd, 1851. " Of such is 
the kingdom of heaven." 

XXXII. 

In Memory of Frances Camac Hutehins, wife of Samuel 
Hutchins, of Ardnacashel, Co. Cork, who died 16th Sep- 
tember, 1839, aged 44, and lieth at Monkstown. Also of 
Ellen Elizabeth Hutchins, who lieth here, having died 18th 
June, 1888, aged 28. "So he giveth unto his beloved 
sleep." 

XXXIII. 

In loving memory of Emma Hudson, died 3rd July, 1894. 
" With Christ, which is far better." 

XXXIV. 

Sacred to the memory of Alexander Henry, M.D., born 
17th March, 1805, died 6th May, 1888 ; and of Caroline, his 
wife, born July, 1814, died January, 1873. Mary, daughter 
of Alexander Henry and Caroline, his wife, born May, 1 853, 
died June, 1878, aged 25 years. 

XXXV. 

Died on 24th May, 1853, aged 52, Mary, wife of W. E. 
Hopkins, Esq., h.p., 5th Fusiliers, and daughter of the late 
Henry Baldwin, Esq., of Mount Pleasant, Bandon, Co. Cork. 

* Dorothea George, bur. June 1, 1814. 



36 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

XXXVI. 

In Loving Memory of William Andrew Hayes, B.A., 
T.C.D., of Summerville, Dundrum, died 12th May, 1889, aged 
61 years. " I will arise." 

XXXVII. 

Beneath this stone are deposited the remains of William 
Haliday, Junior, cut off by a lingering disease in the early 
bloom of life. He anticipated the progress of years in the 
maturity of understanding, in the acquisition of knowledge, 
and the successful cultivation of a mind gifted by providence 
with endowments of the highest order. 

At a period of life when the severe studies have scarcely 
commenced, he had acquired an accurate knowledge of most 
of the European languages, of Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and 
Arabic. But of his own, the Hiberno-Celtic, so little, Oh ! 
shame to the youth of this once lettered Island, an object of 
attainment and study, he had fathomed all the depths, 
explored the beauties, and unravelled the intricacies. He 
possessed whatever was calculated to exalt, to ennoble, to 
endear: great talents, social virtues, sincere religion, a good 
son, and an affectionate husband, a steadfast friend. Carried 
off in the 24th year of his age, his worth will be long re- 
membered, and his death lamented. 

Obiit 26th October, A.D. 1812. Eequiescat in Pace. 

Danielis Haliday, Edinburgensis Parisiensisque, Medicina> 
Facultatum Socius ; Academiae Regite Hiberniffi Sodalis. 
Natus Dublinii, 19 October, 1798, Obiit Die nono Maii, 1836, 
.SJtatis 38. Requiescat in Pace.* 

XXXVIH. 

Beneath this stone are deposited the mortal remains of the 
late Lieut.-Colonel George Hart, formerly of His Majesty's 
26th Regiment ; he served for upwards of 28 years. He 
departed this life at his house on Rathmines Road on 
Thursday, the 7th day of April, 1811, in the 78th year of his 
age, and is buried here at his own desire. Here also lieth 
buried the remains of John Hart, Esq., Barrister, who died 
on the 5th February, 1833, aged 27 years. He was the eldest 
son of W. S. Hart, Esq., of Fitzwilliam Square. 

* See The Scandinavian Kingdom of Dublin, by Charles 
Haliday (Dublin, 1882), which contains a notice of the 
Author's life, by John P. Prendergast, who gives much in- 
teresting information about William and Daniel Haliday ; 
also see biographical notices in the Dictionary of National 
Biography and in Webb's Compendium of Irish Biography. 



THE GRAVEYAKD. 87 

XXXIX. 

In memory of William Eichard Hamilton, M.D., of Urlar, 
Co. Sligo, died January 1st, 1882, aged 80 years. " Until 
the day dawn." 2 Pet. i. 19. Also of Gertrude, who died 29 
March, 1890, aged 31 years, eldest daughter of the above 
William E. Hamilton. "Blessed are the pure in heart : for 
they shall see God." Matt. v. 8. Anita Hamilton, daughter 
of Alex. Hamilton, B.L., J.P., died 26th August, 1885, aged 7 
days. 

XL. 

Sacred to the memory of Catherine Mary James, the 
dearly 'beloved wife of Charles Henry James, of Eockmount 
House, in this parish, born November 25, 1835, died June 21, 
1875. " He giveth his beloved sleep." Also to the loving 
memory of Katherine Caroline, third daughter of the above, 
who died at Clifton, Bristol, on the 18th July, 1886, in her 
twentieth year. " Heaven is my home." 

XLI. 

Here are interred the bodies of Mrs. Susan Johnston, wife 
of Eichard Johnston, of the City of Dublin, Architect, who 
departed this life on the 8th September, 1799, aged 33 years. 
Also the remains of the above-named Eichard Johnston, who 
departed this life on the 20th of March, 1806, aged 47 years. 

XLII. 

In memory of Julia Leslie, wife of Eobert Grove Leslie, of 
the City of Dublin, Esq., Barrister-at-law, who died in the 
Parish of Taney, on the 28th day of June, 1806, in the 29th 
year of her age. Her afflicted husband has placed this 
stone, imposing that his mortal remains shall rest here with 
those of her whose loss he now deplores, and humbly hoping, 
through the Eedeemer of mankind, that the souls of both 
shall meet in heaven to be blessed for ever. 

XLIII. 

Sacred to the memory of Maria Mary Lloyd, who de- 
parted this life March 21, 1881, aged 63 years. 

XLIV. 

Sacred to the memory of Fanny, the beloved wife of the 
Eev. Dr. Chas. MacDonnell, who died in the Lord July 17th, 
1838. To record her devoted love and affection as a wife 
and mother this monument is erected by her affectionate and 
sorrowing husband. Also his son Eichard, died January 8th, 
1837, aged 19 years. 



W THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

XLV. 

This tomb and burial-place belongeth to the family of the 
Merritts of the City of Dublin. Here lieth the remains of 
Mr. Math. Merritt, who departed this life the 3rd December, 
1775, aged 63 years. Here also lieth the remains of his 
wife, Mrs. Eliza Merritt, who departed this life 21 June, 
1778, aged 60 years. Here also lieth the remains of Mr. 
Earth. Merritt, who departed this life 15th November, 1790, 
aged 30 years. Here also lieth the remains of his wife, Mrs. 
Mary Merritt, who departed this life 3rd June, 1801, aged 42 
years. Here also lieth the remains of Mr. John Merritt, who 
departed this life 29th April, 1804, aged 54 years. 

XL VI. 

Beneath lie the remains of Frances Maria M'Naghten, 
relict of the late Henry M'Naghten, of Coleraine, in the 
County of Londonderry, Esq., who departed this life at 
Dundrum, on the 16th of April, 1839, aged 65 years. 

XL VII. 

This monument, erected by Mark Monsarrat, of North 
Great George's Street, as a token of his devoted attachment 
to his beloved child, George Darley Cranfield Monsarrat, born 
19th December, 1830, died 23rd May, 1834. " The Lord 
gave, and the Lord hath taken away : blessed be the name 
of the Lord." 

XL VIII. 

Sacred to the memory of Adolphina, youngest daughter of 
the late Capt. Nicholas Malassey, Deputy Commissary 
General, died 24th February, 1875. 

XLIX. 

Here lie the remains, by her own desire, of Maria Eose 
White Mulville, otherwise Tuite, sister of the late Sir George 
Tuite, Bart. She departed this life on the 18th January, 1860, 
in the 79th year of her age, esteemed and beloved by all 
who had the happiness of her acquaintance. This monument 
is erected by her affectionate and only surviving child, W. 
O'Grady. They that have seen thy look in death, no more 
may fear to die. 

Happy soul, thy days are ended, 

All thy mourning days below, 
Go, by angel guards attended, 

To the sight of Jesus go. 



THE GRAVEYARD. 89 

L. 

This tomb was erected by William M'Caskey, of Eoebuck, 
Esq., in respect and memory of his much lamented and 
beloved wife, Frances Louisa M'Caskey, who departed this 
life the 3rd day of December, 1830, aged 55 years, sincerely 
and affectionately esteemed by all who knew her. 

Thou art gone to the grave, but we will not deplore thee, 
Whose God was thy Ransom, thy Guardian, and Guide. 

He gave thee, He took thee, and He will restore thee ; 
And death has no sting, for the Saviour has died. 

Here lieth the remains of the late William M'Caskey, of 
Roebuck, in the County of Dublin, who departed this life on 
the 9th day of June, 1834, aged 62. 

LI. 

Cyril Morphy died 6th March, 1879, aged 15 years. 
Alexander Morphy died 30th September, 1889, aged 63 years. 
Kate Morphy died 5th January, 1894, aged 65. R.I.P. 

LII. 

Frances M'Causland departed this life the 14th April, 1820, 
aged 30 years ; and to the memory of Elizabeth Gerrard, 
departed this life the 27th October, 1848, aged 70 years ; and 
to the memory of Mary Gerrard, departed this life on the 
18th day of May, 1862, aged 89 years ; also Hannah M'Caus- 
land, who died February 16th, 1865, aged 81 years. 

LHI. 

Here lieth the remains of Anne Minchin, daughter of 
William Augustus Minchin, late of Woodville, in the County 
of Wexford, who departed this life September the 5th, 1819, 
aged 16 years. She now inherits the fulfilment of that 
promise, Because I live, ye shall live also. Adjoining this 
tomb on the left lies the body of William Minchin, son of the 
above William Augt. Minchin, who departed this life 22nd 
April, 1825, aged 18 years. Also the remains of William 
Augt. Minchin, who departed this life the 3rd January, 
1841, aged 73 years. 

LIV. 

In memory of Catherine Lucinda, wife of John Maunsell, 
Esq., whcTdied 3rd February, 1862, aged 34 years. " I know 
that my Redeemer liveth." Job, 19 chap., 25 verse. Also in 
loving memory of Edmund Robert Lloyd Maunsell, eldest so 



40 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

of John and Catherine Lucinda Maunsell, born 18th October, 
1852, died 2nd November, 1886. " Blessed are the pure in 
heart : for they shall see God." Matt. v. 8. 

LV. 

Sacred to the memory of Daniel Neill, who died on the 23rd 
day of April, 1877, aged 57 years ; and of Harriet Haughton, 
his wife, who died on the 27th day of May, 1872, aged 50 
years ; also of their son, Daniel Arthur Neill, who died on 
12th July, 1885, aged 35 years. "I am the resurrection and 
the life ; he that believeth on me, though he were dead, yet 
shall he live." Johnxi., verse 25. 

LVI. 

The Family Vault of Michael O'Brien, Esq., of the City of 
Dublin, who died the 2nd February, 1783, aged 68 years, 
leaving issue one daughter and two sons, Eichard and 
Michael. Christiana, wife of Nicholas Mulligan, and only 
daughter of Michael O'Brien, died the 25th April, 1800, aged 
42 years. Her husband died the 28th December, 1808, aged 
62 years. Richard O'Brien, eldest son of Michael O'Brien, died 
the 4th of May, 1807, unmarried, aged 48 years. Here also lieth 
the remains of Catherine Lyons, daughter of James Lyons, 
Esq., formerly of Newcastle, in the County of Dublin, and 
maternal aunt of Mary O'Brien. She died on the 5th April, 
1852, aged 96 years. Mary, wife of Michael O'Brien, jun., died 
the 26th of January, 1819, aged 55 years. Her beloved hus- 
band died the 27th of February, 1829, aged 60 years. Kate 
Mary O'Brien, daughter of Michael and Mary O'Brien, died 
the 30th July, 1834, aged 24 years. Maria Anne O'Brien, a 
twin daughter of Michael and Mary O'Brien, died the 1 6th 
of April, 1847, aged 28 years. Brigid Mary O'Brien, died on 
the 15th November, 1876. E.I.P. 

LVII. 

Here lieth interred the mortal remains of Mrs. Mary O'Neill, 
daughter of the late James Kenney, Esq., of Milltown, and 
wife of Patrick O'Neill, of Harcourt Street, Dublin, by whom 
this monument has been erected as an affectionate tribute to 
her worth. She departed this life the 10th May, 1819, aged 43 
years. Here also are deposited the remains of the above 
Patrick O'Neill, Esq., for many years an eminent merchant 
in the City of Dublin. He departed this life July 16th, 1828, 
aged 58 years. Here lieth the remains of James Kenney, Esq., 
of Milltown, County Dublin, who died the 10th September, 



THE GKAVEYABD. 41 

1809, aged 73 years. " The noblest work of God an honest 
man." Here also is interred the remains of his wife, Mary 
Kenney, who died the 16th November, 1815.* 

LVIII. 

Sacred to the memory of Alphonsine Maria Pellegrini, 
eldest daughter of Doctor Pellegrini, of Trinity College, born 
in Berne, Switzerland, the 13th March, 1789, died July 6,1822. 

LIX. 

Henrietta Ponsonby, daughter of C. B. Ponsonby, Esq., ob. 
April 12th, 1815, aged 16 years. She pleased God, and was 
beloved of Him, so that living among sinners she was trans- 
lated. 

LX. 

Christina, wife of David Eichard Pigot, died 8th April, 
1887, aged 65 years. 

LXI. 

Frances Phillips, infant daughter of George and Mary 
Phillips, born 2nd May, died 17th May, 1858. Also Alix 
Maud Phillips, born January the 25th, died December 24th, 
1863. 

LXII. 

To the beloved memory of my husband George Laurence 
Gardiner Ross, who died November 3, 1891, aged 29 years. 
"At evening tune it shall be light." 

LXIII. 

In memory of Emily Eadcliffe, widow of J. Eadcliffe, 
loving, loved, and only sister of Davenport Crosthwaite, LL.D. 
She was called home 25 July, 1885, aged 57 years. At rest. 

LXIV. 

Annie Eossiter, died 18th January, 1886, aged 43 years. 
Grace, her daughter, died 8th October, 1885, aged 14 years. 

LXV. 

This Stone was erected by Bernard Eeilly, Esq., in Memory 
of his beloved wife, Hannah Eeilly, who departed this life 

* D'Alton (History of Co. Dublin, p. 813) describes this 
tomb as a "very handsome sarcophagus." One of the tablets 
has been injured, apparently by a bullet, reported to have 
been in an affray with " resurrectionists." 



42 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

3rd May, 1817, aged 45 years. Here also are deposited the 
remains of the above-named Bernard Reilly, Esq., late Pay- 
master of the 18th or Koyal Irish Regt. of Foot, who died on 
the 20th January, 1841, aged 63 years. Universally regretted 
by those who knew him. 

LXVL 

Job. xix. 23, 26. In loving memory of two dear children 
taken home, Devonsher Jackson Eowan, on March 17th, 1889, 
aged 7 years ; and Eliza Villiers Rowan, on April 10th, 1889, 
aged 21 years. " From the bondage cf corruption into the 
liberty of the glory of the children of God." Rom. viii. 21. 

LXVII. 

Here lieth the body of William Reynolds, of Ash Street, in 
the City of Dublin, who died the ... of February, 1736. 
Also the body of his wife Joanna Reynolds, alias Fagan, who 
died the ... of April, 1739, anno Mt&tis 68. Also the 
bodies of their daughters, Margaret and Catherine and 
Elioner ; and of their son Patrick, and of eight more of their 
children. Filius eorum Gulielmus . . . . et . ... Minimis 
Obiit in ... Nube (?) pacem meridionali . . . mo Novembris 
1771, Anno Vero Suo . . . et sepultus fuit ibidem in 
locatione cathedrali. 

Here lyeth the body of Alice Reynolds, who died 10th Oct., 
177 . . aged 31, to whose memory this Stone was placed by 
her husband, Edward Reynolds, of St. James St., Dublin. 
Here also are buried two of their children, Patrick and Ed- 
ward. 

LXVIII. 

Sacred to the memory of Catherine Rowley, widow of the 
Revd. John Rowley, LL.D., Rector of Lurgan, County Cavan, 
and of St. Michan's, Dublin, died 10th April, 1879, aged 
72 years. "Whether we live therefore or die, we are the 
Lord's." Romans, 14 Chapt., 8th verse. Also in loving 
memory of Josias, Commander, R.N., their eldest son, who 
died loth Feb., 1887, aged 57 years, late of Mt. Campbell, Co. 
Leitrim, J.P. and D.L. 

LXIX. 

This tomb was erected by John Roe, of North Frederick 
Street, in the City of Dublin, Esq., in respect and memory of 
his lamented and beloved wife, Eliza Roe (otherwise Camp- 
bell, only daughter of the Rev. Matthew Campbell, late of 



THE GRAVEYARD. 48 

Barn Elm, in this county) ; she departed this life on the 
15th day of October, A.D. 1826, in the 24th year of her age, 
sincerely esteemed and regretted by all who knew her. Here 
also lieth the remains of Eliza Campbell, relict of the late 
Eev. Matthew Campbell, of Barn Elm, County Dublin, who 
departed this life June the 1st, 1835, in the 74th year of her 
age. Here also are deposited the remains of Frederick 
Campbell, Esq., only son of the above-named Eev. Matthew 
Campbell, late of Barn Elm, Co. Dublin, who departed this 
life on the 15th day of February, 1861, in the 61st year of 
his age. Here also are interred the remains of Maria Camp- 
bell (otherwise Murray), relict of the above-named Frederick 
Campbell, who departed this life on the 22nd day of Novem- 
ber, 1885, aged 82 years. 

LXX. 

Here lieth the body of Philip Eoe, who departed this life 
December the llth, 1817, aged 53 years. May he rest in 
peace. Amen. 

LXXI. 

In Memory of Eobert Sherlock, fourth son of Major 
William Joshua Compton, and Isabella, his wife, who died at 
Belfield, December 26th, 1852, aged 5 months. 

LXXII. 

Sacred to the memory of Dr. Whitley Stokes, ex-F.T.c.D., of 
16 Harcourt Street, Dublin, who departed this life in the 
peace of Christ on the 13th April, 1845, aged 82 ; and of 
Mary Anne, his wife, only daughter of William Picknoll, 
Esq., of Seatown House, Swords, who departed this life on the 
13th July, 1844, aged 68. They were lovely in their lives. 
This stone is placed here by their youngest daughter, Ellen 
Honoria Stokes, May, 1863. Also of Ellen Honoria Stokes, 
died Augt. 6th, 1880. 

Beneath this stone are interred the Mortal Eemains of 
Harriet Stokes, who died on the 10th June, 1825, aged 27 
years. And of her sister Mary Anne, who died on the 14th 
October, 1838, aged 39 years. " I heard a voice from heaven 
saying unto me, Write, From henceforth blessed are the dead 
which die in the Lord : Even so, saith the Spirit, for they rest 
from their labours." "Gather my saints together unto me, 
those that have made a covenant with me with sacrifice." 

LXXIH. 

In fraternal remembrance of Edward Alma Stanley, died 
12th November, 1881, aged 36 years. This stone was erected 



44 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

as a tribute to his memory by his brethren and friends. He 
was a loving husband, fond father, faithful brother, and true 
friend. " And they laid him in his own grave, and mourned 
over him, saying, Alas ! our brother." Also his beloved wife 
Catherine, who died 26th November, 1890, aged 46 years ; and 
their eldest son Charles, died 6th December, 1890, aged 22 
years. 

LXXIV. 

Margaret Sophia, second daughter of Kobert Johnstone 
Stoney, Esq., of Parsonstown, and for nine years the wife of 
George Johnstone Stoney, M.D., F.K.S., died October 13th, 
1872, aged 29 years. 

" Some men a forward motion love, 

But I by backward steps would move." 
"For time, that gave, doth now his gift confound." 

In loving remembrance of Anne, third daughter of Bin- 
don Blood, D.L., of Granaher and Rockforest, County Clare, 
and widow of George Stoney, of Oakley Park, King's County, 
born June 4th, 1801, died October 29, 1883, aged 82 years. 
" Thy Word is very pure ; therefore thy servant loved it." 
Psalm cxix. v. 140. 

In loving remembrance of Katharine Harriet Stoney, 
second daughter of George and Anne Stoney, of Oakley Park, 
King's County, born February 5, 1824, died February 24, 
1887, aged 63 years. 

LXXV. 

TUKBETT. Sacred to the memory of Robert Turbett, Esq., 
of Greenmount, who departed this life the 21st January, 
1830, aged 70 years. A sincere and exalted Christian, he 
fulfilled the relative duties of husband, parent, and friend 
with unaffected piety and exemplary affection. His virtues 
could only be duly appreciated by those who knew him, 
whilst the sorrowing recollection of so much departed worth 
affords the most convincing assurance that he lived re- 
spected and esteemed, and died lamented by all who knew 
him. 

LXXVI. 

Emma Usher, daughter of Lieut. Usher, B.N., died Dec. 8, 
1889, aged 62 years. 

LXXVII. 

Family burial-place of J. L. Verschoyle, eldest son of the 
Eev. Joseph and Catherine Verschoyle, Captain, H.M. 60th 
Regiment, Douro, Talavera, Albuhera, Vittoria, Pyrenees, 



THE GRAVEYARD. 45 

Nivelle, Nive, Orthes, Peninsula. He departed this life the 
28th Sept., 1875. Erected by his wife and three sons. " The 
Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away : blessed be the 
name of the Lord." 

Lxxvni. 

The family vault of Patrick Waldron, Bathgar House. 
Mary, wife of Patrick Waldron, born 21st Augt., 1787, died 
19th Dec.. 1824. B.I.P. Laurence Waldron, elder brother of 
Patrick Waldron, born . . 1763, died 20th May, 1833. B.I.P. 
James S. Murphy, son of Jeremiah Murphy of Cork, born 
. . 1817, died . . 1825. B.I.P. Patrick Waldron, who 
caused this tomb to be erected, was born 5th September, 
1772, died 31st Dec., 1851. E.I.P. John Waldron, second 
son of Patrick and Mary Waldron, born 13th April, 1815, died 
8th December, 1847. B.I.P. Patrick Edward Waldron, 
fourth son of Patrick and Mary Waldron, born llth January, 
1824, died 22nd May, 1846. B.I.P. 

LXXIX. 

This Stone was erected by Maria to the memory of her 
husband William White, of the 61st Begiment, who departed 
this life the 30th April, 1828. 

LXXX. 

In memory of John L. White, Esq., Surgeon, who departed 
this life on the 25th day of June, 1870, aged 65 years. This 
monument was erected by a few personal friends and in- 
habitants of Dundrum, in remembrance of his many social 
qualities, his care and kindness as a physician, and especially 
his attention to the poor of the village and surrounding 
district. 

Lieutenant Henry White, died December, 1870. Mary 
Wright, died October, 1871. Frances Dorothea, wife of Dr. 
J. L. White, died July 8th, 1874. 

LIST OF BUEIALS 

From Inscriptions not printed in full. 
Bridget, wife of John Anderson, of Dundrum, d. June 10 

1881, a. 69. 

Mary Elizabeth Addy, d. Sept. 10, 1859, a. 4. 
William Ashton, of Clonskeagh, d. Oct. 28, 1879, a. 24. 
William Burke, Woollen Manufacturer, of Milltown Mills, 
d. Aug. 19, 1823, a. 43 ; also his son, Christopher, d. an 
infant. 



46 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Garret Byrne, of Milltown, d. Oct. 5, 1882, a. 72 ; also his 
wife Esther, d. Jan. 31, 1886, a. 66 ; their dau., Eliza- 
beth, d. June 12, 1863, a. 3i ; and their dau., Ellen, 
d. March 17, 1870, a. 14 ; also Michael Butler, brother 
of Esther Byrne, d. April 24, 1881, a. 42. 

Henry Byrne, d. Oct. 21, 1877, a. 12. 

John Byrne, d. Dec. 22, 1880, a. 18 ; also three children, at 

an early age. 
James Burke, d. March 16. 1889, a. 69; also his wife, 

Catherine, d. Nov. 4, 1870, a. 41. 
Anne, wife of Francis Burke, of Fleet St., d. Feb. 28, 1789, 

a. 34 ; also nine of her children. 
John Byrne, d. March 9, 1862 ; and his son, Edward, d. Jan. 

21, 1889, a. 18. 
James Barrett, of Churchtown, d. Oct. 18, 1818, a. 78 ; also 

his wife, Mary, d. March 18, 1820, a. 54 ; their dau., 

Margaret, d. July 10, 1829, a. 24 ; and their son, Luke, 

d. July 2, 1850, a. 48. 
Clare, wife of John Byrne, of Townsend Street, d. April 8, 

1821, a 38 ; also three children, Margaret, Teresa, and 

Eliza. 
Bobert Barnes, d. Aug. 8, 1820, a. 87 ; also his dau., 

Charlotte Dillon, d. March 4, 1800, a. 33 ; and her son, 

George Barnes Loughlin, d. July 2, 1830, a. 32. 

William Browne, d. April, 20, 1892, a. 50 ; also his dau., 

Kate, d. May 10, 1879, a. 1 ; his son, Thomas F., d. 

Aug. 26, 1893, a. 9 ; and his son, Ephraim J., d. Aug. 

28, 1893, a. 8J. 

Eichard Beasley, of Ballinteer, d. April 12, 1870, a. 45. 
Larence Byrne, d. May 15, 1773. 
Julia, wife of Patrick Cumiskey, d. Dec. 8, 1861, a. 28; and 

his father, Terence, d. May 10, 1863, a. 74. 
Arthur Carton, d. Feb. 20, 1871, a. 74; his wife, Catherine, 

d. May 7, 1857, a. 58 ; and their three grand-children, 

who d. young. 

Edward Connor, d 15, 1775, a. 57. 

Margaret, wife of JohnCanna, of Harold's Cross, d. May 28, 

1816, a. 60. 
Stephen Connor, of Dundrum, d. April 2, 1886, a. 30 ; and 

his wife, Esther (who m. 2ndly Albert Gate), d. Aug. 5, 

1890. 



THE GRAVEYARD. 47 

John Carroll, d. Nov. 19, 1887, a. 56; also his wife, 

Catherine, d. Oct. 26. 1867, a. 40 ; and their grandchild, 

Catherine, d. May 28, 1880, a. 1 j ; also Ellen Billings, 

mother of Catherine Byrne, d. Sept. 21, 1885, a. 87. 
Patrick Cantwell, of South King St., d. June 8, 1810, a. 60 ; 

also two of his children, who d. young. 
Thomas Coyle, of South Earl St., d. March 29, 1793, a. 41. 
Timothy Cahill, of Exchequer St., d. Jan. 11, 1825, a. 80. 
Richard Carr, of Park St., d. June 24, 1788, a. 49 ; and his 

wife, Mary, d. April 15, 1788, a. 46. 
Henry Curran, d. July 28, 1856, a. 57; also his wife, 

Elizabeth, d. Jan. 29, 1883, a. 76 ; their eldest son, 

Thomas, who d. in New Zealand, Jan. 26, 1868, a. 34 ; 

and four children, who d. young ; also dau., Caroline, 

d. Nov. 2, 1891, a. 50. 
John Cannon, d. April 21, 1888, a. 17. 
Margaret, wife of Thomas Clarke, d. July 10, 1892, a. 42. 
Anna Coombs, d. Dec. 9, 1890. 
Martha Costello, d. Dec. 23, 1891, a. 20. 
Bridget Craven, of Montague Lane, d. November 14, 1891, 

a. 48. 
Mary, wife of Edward Courtney, of Dundrum, d. August 11, 

1890, a. 50; and their son, Edward James, d. June 1, 

1884, a. 4i. 
Catherine, wife of John Donnellan, of Milltown, d. April 16, 

1792, a. 46 ; also three of their children, who d. young. 
Five children of Bryan Duffy, of Clarendon Market ; and his 

brother, Miles, d. January 29, 1739, a. 18. 
Ellen, wife of Timothy Duggan, d. February 1, 1887, a. 72. 
Sarah, wife of Charles Dickenson, d. March 22, 1883, a. 35. 
Bridget, wife of Christopher Dromgoole, of Weaver's Square, 

d. March 7, 1805, a. 32 ; also three of their children, 

who d. young. 
William Dromgoole, of Rathfarnham, d. February 3, 1809, 

a. 79 ; his wife, Catherine, and his son, Edward. 
John D'Arcy, d. March 4, 1842, a. 46 ; and his wife, Mary, 

d. March 18, 1858, a. 60. 
Mary Delaaey, d. Aug. 23, 1882, a. l. 
John and Catherine Doyle ; and their dau., Jane, d. July 15, 

1889, a. 35. 



48 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Patrick Duras, d. November 28, 1766, a. 44. 

William Duff, of Golding Lane, d. November 26, 1776, a. 76. 

Anne, wife of William Dunne, of Beaver Bow, d. October 7, 

1885, a. 58. 
Kate, sister of James Egan, of Newtown-le-Willows, d. 

March 6, 1877, a. 27. 
James Elverd, d. February 6, 1892, a. 70. 
William Ennis, of Kingston, d. December 11, 1826, a. 68 ; 

also his wife, Alicia, d. March 23, 1808, a. 49 ; and their 

son, Andrew, d. January 1, 1815, a. 21. 
William Flannagan, of Eathfarnham, d. November 15, 1759, 

a. 91 ; also seven of his children. 
Charles, father of Patrick Farrel, " chaneman." of New St., 

d. April 21, 1735, a. 55 ; also his dau., Catrein, Hugh 

Farrel, and his wife, Catrein. 

Eliza Avice, wife of Henry Edward Flynn, d. March 8, 1855. 
Anne M. Fox, of Milltown ; also her daus., Kate, Avice, 

Monica, Josephine, and her son, Thomas J. Fox, M.D., 

of Cottage Park, Kilgobbin, and his wife, Julia Maria, 

and their children. 
Patrick Fleming, Inspector, D.M.P., d. April 22, 1892, a. 46 ; 

also his wife, Elizabeth, d. January 17, 1890, a. 40 ; and 

their dau., Mary, d. May 1, 1880, a. 5. 
Bridget Anne, dau. of Patrick Field, of Ranelagh, d. Feb. 

20, 1888, a. 21 ; also Patrick, jun., d. November 12, 

1891, a. 24. 
Mrs. Maria Fox, a faithful servant of R. W. Hillas, Esq., of 

Farm Hill, d. February 11, 1889. 

Daniel Finn, of Patrick Street, d. October 6, 1808, a. 31. 
Henry Fullerton, d. Feb. 20, 1863, a. 52; and his son, 

Thomas, d. March 16, 1859, a. 7. 

Patrick and Hannah Farrell ; also their son, John, d. De- 
cember 16, 1879 ; and their dau.-in-law, Mary, wife of 

Patrick Farrell, d. May 6, 1884. 
William Finn, d. January 9, 1891, a. 74. 
David Goold, of Clare Street, d. Jan. 27, 1790, a. 74 ; and 

his brother, Patrick, d. Aug. 1, 1781, a. 57. 
Amos Godsell, d. April 22, 1883, a. 62 ; and his wife, Mary, 

d. December 5, 1886, a. 66. 
Michael Garvey, d. Dec. 8, 1890, a. 72, and his wife Catherine, 

d. May 8, 1894, a. 69. 



THE GRAVEYAED. 4tf 

Robert, youngest son of Wm. Hall, of Aberdeen, d. May 4, 

1883, a. 5. 
Paul Ham, d. November 15, 1816, a. 54 ; and his dau., d. 

July 26, 1815, a. 19. 
John, son of Daniel Hayes, of Portobello, d. March 24, 1817, 

a. 19. 
Mary, wife of Matthew Hart, of Churchtown, d. May 9, 1893, 

a. 45. 

Ann, wife of Thomas Hughes, d. Aug. 26, 1769, a. 34. 
Edmund Jones, d. October 20, 1766, a. 45. 
James Jackson, d. October 4, 1806, a. 67. 
James Kearney, of ... Hill, d. October 17, 1758, a. 46 ; also 

two of his children. 

Mrs. Mary Kearney, d. September 10, 1811. 
Elizabeth Mary Kinlen, d. March 26, 1880, a. 14. 
Daniel Kane, d. June 22, 1824, a. 60. 
Mrs. Elnoir Kelly, d. Feb. 9, 1773, a. 40; also five of her 

children, and Michael Kelly, sen., d. November 23, 1785. 
Simon, son of Terence Kane, of Cullenswood, d. Oct. 4, 1803. 
Mary Elizabeth, wife of John F. Knott, L.R.c.s.i.,d March 26. 

1879, a. 28. 
Mary, wife of James Kennedy, of Dublin, merchant, d. Jan. 

7, 1779, a. 60. 

John Kelly, d. May 20, 1884, a. 61. 
Thomas Kinsella, d. Dec. 25, 1804, a. 39. 
Ambrose Langan, of Windy Arbour, d. October 14, 1887, a. 55. 
Marian Letheby, d. March 1, 1891, a. 68. 
John Lee, of Wall's Lane, d. Jan. 20, 1822, a. 58. 
Jos. Lennon, d. Jan. 4, 1891, a. 85. 
Marcella Leonard, d. Oct. 21, 1882, a. 10. 
Mary Jane Meates, d. April 17, 1853; and her brother, 

Abraham, d. May 26, 1882. 
Catherine, wife of Wm. M'Kee, of Haddington Road, d. 

May 24, 1873, a. 61 ; and their daughter, Catherine, d. 

Sept. 19, 1872, a. 30. 
Thomas Messett, of Dundrum, a. 86 ; also his wife, Sarah, 

a. 102 ; their son, Solomon, d. May 22, 1808, a. 66 ; and 

several more of their family ; also their son, Thomas, 

d. March 5, 1827, a. 76, and his wife, Margaret, d. 
1826, a. 56; and their son, Solomon, d. Aug. 9, 
1859, a. 57. 

E 



50 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Anne, dau. of Bryan McGarry, of Pill Lane, d. May 1, 1772. 
Agnes, wife of Timothy Maguire, d. June 10, 1779, a. 33 ; 

also two of her children. 
James M'Kenna, d. March 2, 1883, a. 34; also his child, 

Catherine, d. young ; and parents, Christopher and Ellen, 

a. 74 and 68 ; and his sisters, Catherine, a. 16, and Anne, 

a. 12. 
John, son of John M'Loughlin, of Milltown, d. July 4, 1880, 

a. 9 months ; also his sons, Patrick and Thomas, a. 14 

and 13i, who were accidentally drowned on Dec. 19, 

1886. 

Annie, wife of Christopher Mulligan, d. March 17, 1756. 
Mrs. Frances Newton, d. June 30, 1814, a. 80. 
Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Moran, of Winetavern Street, d. 

Aug. 23, 1810, a. 75. 
Edward Mullins, d. Dec. 11, 1817, a. 37. 
Anne, youngest dau. of D'Arcy Mahon, d. March 2, 1824, a. 5. 
James Murphy, d. June 25, 1882, a. 76 ; also his wife, Mary, 

d. March 13, 1882, a. 75. 
William M'Arthur, d. July 28, 1880, a. 11. 
William, brother of John M'Cabe, d. Aug. 16, 1865, a. 20; 

also his infant sister, Kate ; his grandfather, Michael 

O'Neill, d. March 14, 1857, a. 71 ; and his grandmother, 

Jane O'Neill, d. Sept. 16, 1861, a. 60. 
Thomas Murphy, d. Jan. 31, 1867, a. 47 ; also Ellen Murphy, 

d. July 26, 1868, a. 44 ; and John M'Donnell, d. July 19, 

1884, a. 40. 
M. Jane, dau. of Patrick Murphy, MiHtown, d. Oct. 21, 1881, 

a. 5 ; also his wife, Ellen, d. Dec. 22, 1883, a. 43 ; his 

son, Joseph, d. June 4, 1889, a. 4 ; his dau., Esther, 

d. May 21, 1891, a. 14; seven other children, d. young; 

and his son, John, d. March 8, 1871, a. 4. 
Elizabeth English, dau. of John O'Neill, of Frederick Street, 

d. Dec. 3, 1780, a. 27. 
Mary Dora, dau. of Thomas and Sarah O'Neill, of Dunlavin, 

d. July 30, 1878, a. A ; also their dau., Bridget Mary, 

d. Jan. 13, 1888, a. lj. 
Laurence O'Borke, d. June 11, 1891, a. 64. 
Mary O'Connor, d. April 26, 1853, a. 63; also Patrick, d. 

Jan. 21, 1869, a. 88 ; and Christopher, d. June 30, 1890, 

a. 56. 
Anthony O'Brien, d. Jan. 19, 1795, a. 62 ; his wife, Julian, 

d. Nov. 17, .. . a. 42 ; and five of their children. 



THE GRAVE YAKD. 51 

Cecilia Russell Patterson, wife of William Mitchel of London- 
derry, d. April 9, 1881. 
Anne Panton, d. June, 1872, a. 4 ; and her brother, John, 

d. Jan., 1873, a. . 
Edward Purcell, of Windy Arbour, d. Feb. 1, 1868, a. 82 ; also 

nine of his children, who d. young. 
Thomas Godfrey Power, d. May 27, 1881, a. 52. 
Two children of John James Quinn, Oct. 6, 1759. 
George Quinn, Weaver, of Ash Street, d. Jan. 30, 1758, a. 45 ; 

also four of his children; and Jane, his wife, who d. 

Feb. 23, 1774, a. 63 ; with six of their grandchildren. 
The Mother and four Children of Patrick Reynolds, of 

Plunket Street. 
Edward Ryan, d. Feb. 17, 1771, a. 56 ; also his wife, Jane, 

d. Sept. 27, 1788, a. 49. 
Mary Redmond, of Ballypierce, Co. Carlow, d. Jan. 9, 1872, 

a. 72 ; and two grandchildren, Johanna, a. 7 ; and 

Bridget, a. 5. 
Sarah Jane, dau. of Wm. and Mary Richardson, d. Aug. 9, 

1882, a. 15 ; and Wm. Richardson, d. Sept. 9, 1894, a. 61. 
Samuel Ranson, d. Nov. 17, 1860, a. 32 : and his wife, Maria, 

d. May 28, 1888, a. 70 ; also their child, Maria Louisa, 

d. May 3, 1859, a. 2. 
William Button, d. June 4, 1893, a. 78 ; and his wife, Anne, 

d. Jan. 7, 1890, a. 60. 

Maria, wife of William Sproule, d. May 18, 1880, a. 50. 
Elizabeth, wife of John Sheridan, and dau. of Robert Taylor 

of Ballymascanlon, Co. Louth, d. May 15, 1881, a. 44. 
George Henry Searle, formerly of Louth, Lincolnshire,^ April 

12, 1890, a. 70. 
Rosie, dau. of Joseph and Georgina Smith, d. Jan. 31. 1891, 

a. 10J. 

Anne, wife of John Seth, d. Aug. 7, 1875, a. 31. 
Mrs. Anne Sharman, d. June 16, 1838, a. 72. 
Nine children of John Scott, 1774. 
William Sheedy, d. March 14, 1886, a. 55 ; and his dau., Ellie, 

d. Feb. 17, 1894. 

Mary J. Thompson, d. July 6, 1886, a. 46. 
Jane, wife of Peter Tobin (alias Johnston), d. Nov. 21, 1778, 

a. 27. 



52 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Richard Turner, d. March 31, 1841, a. 45 ; also his wife, 

Jane, d. May 5, 1833, a. 36 ; and the following children 

of their son, Joseph Turner of Newtown Park: Richard, 

d. Sept. 1, 1853, a. 3 ; Sarah, d. March 25, 1855, a. 3 ; 

Joseph, d. Dec. 27, 1858, a. 1 ; John, Feb. 8, 1861, a. 

1 day ; Esther, d. Nov. 23, 1867, a. li ; also Mrs. Sarah 

Turner, d. Sept. 15, 1864, a. 68. 
Walter Blake Kirwan Tyner, d. Oct. 26, 1891, a. 32. 
Carolina Elizabeth, dau. of Arthur W. Webb and Catherine 

Elinor Webb, d. May 1, 1851, a. 17. 
Catherine, wife of John Wright, of Ormond Street, d. Aug. 

23, 1770, a. 42. 
James Whittey, of Rathfarnham, d. Nov. 8, 1756, a. 36 ; and 

three of his children, who d. young. 

The Husband of Mrs. Bridget Walsh, d. June 17, 1793, a. 86. 
Emily Walsh, d. Oct. 9, 1891, a. 62. 
John Wade of Terenure, Farmer, d. April 12, 1761, a. 88. 
Lorance, son of Nicholas Whitty, of Dublin, Throster, d. 

April 17, 1755, a. 20; also his grandfather, Lorance 

Byrne, d. Oct. 12, 1748, a. 94. 




CHAPTER IV. 

CHRIST CHURCH. 

ABOUT the year 1809, it was found that the old 
parish church was no longer large enough for 
the congregation attending it, and at a Vestry held 
on June 13th in that year, it was resolved that a 
new church should be built, on a site then approved 
of, near the old church, that the expense should 
not exceed 2,000, and that the private property in 
the seats of the old church should be preserved. 

Nothing came of this resolution ; for in 1812, at a 
Vestry held on October 22nd, it was rescinded, and 
it was decided that the new church should be built 
upon ground at Drumartane, then thought to be- 
long to Mr. John Giffard,* but afterwards found to 
be owned partly by Alderman Hone.f and that an 
application should be made to Lord Fitzwilliam for 
a grant of the fee. 

A year afterwards, the consent of Lord Fitz- 
william to grant the fee having been obtained, 
a petition to the Lord Lieutenant and Privy 
Council for leave to change the site of the parish 
church was prepared, and an application made to 

* See Giffard, John, chapter vii. 
t See Hone, Nathaniel, chapter vii. 



54 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

the Board of First Fruits for a loan of funds to 
build the new church. 

Subsequently the plans of the new building, 
which had been prepared by Mr. William Farrell, 
Architect, of Kildare Street, Dublin, were approved 
of, and ordered to be forwarded to the Board of First 
Fruits, with a memorial for the loan. 

This memorial appears upon the minutes of 
the Board of First Fruits,* under date of 28th 
October, 1813, and states that the parish church 
was too small for the congregation attending it ; 
that it was intended to build a large and handsome 
church in a more convenient situation ; that several 
of the parishioners supported themselves and their 
families by farms upon the mountains, and that 
they were unable to pay any considerable cess. 
The memorial resulted in a grant of 4,300, as a 
loan in aid of the building of the church. 

In 1844 the Vestry was still in doubt as to what 
plans it would adopt. In that year a committee was 
appointed to view Monkstown Church, and it 
reported that the plan of that church was more 
eligible than . the one drawn by Mr. Farrell. 
Accordingly, in May 1814, the Vestry adopted the 
design of Monkstown Church, with what would 
now seem to have been considerable alterations, and 
directed the plans to be laid before the Archbishop 
and the Board of First Fruits. 

This Vestry also determined that the loan of 
4,300 should be assessed on the parish, to be re- 

* Public Eecord Office, Dublin. 



CHBIST CHURCH. 55 

paid by instalments in seventeen years, and should 
be applotted at the rate of 2s. 3d. per acre per 
annum, under 48 Geo. III., Chap. 65, and 49 Geo. 
III., Chap. 103. 

No reply appears to have been given by the Arch- 
bishop until April, 1815, when a communication 
was received from the Archbishop of Cashel (then 
acting as coadjutor for Dr. Euseby Cleaver, Arch- 
bishop of Dublin, whose mind had become impaired 
some years before his death in 1819), to the effect 
that the plans were approved of, subject to the 
church being duly placed having regard to the 
orientation of the chancel.* 

At length, without waiting for the order of the 
Privy Council allowing the site of the parish church 
to be changed which order was not made until the 
31st August, 1815 all other preliminaries having 
been arranged, the building of the church was 
commenced in June, 1815. 

The different classes of the work were contracted 
for separately ; and it appears from the Vestry book 
that the contractor for the masonry work was 
Mr. Williams ; for the stone-cutting, Alderman 
Darley ; for the plaistering, Mr. Luke Storey ; and 
for the painting and glazing, Mr. Veto. 

As the work proceeded, it was found that the 

* In rebuilding the Church of St. Michael the Archangel 
in Dublin in 1814, the Archbishop of Cashel (the Most Kev. 
and Hon. "Charles Brodrick) required similar alteration in 
the original plans, to secure proper orientation. Vide Irish 
Builder, vol. xxxiii., p. 164. 



56 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

cost of the church would considerably exceed the 
loan obtained from the Board of First Fruits ; and 
in September, 1816, it was decided to sell the sites 
of the pews by auction, the purchasers to pay for 
the carpenters' work of fitting the pews, as well as 
for the sites themselves, and to be allowed either 
to attach the pews to their houses in perpetuity, or 
to retain them in their own name, in which case 
they were given power to assign them to anyone 
resident in the parish. 

The Vestry presented the site of a pew to Lord 
Chief Justice Downes,* who was then resident in 
the parish, " as a small but grateful acknowledg- 
ment of his unremitting attention to the interests 
of the parish, and particularly of his having pro- 
cured the means of building the church at a com- 
paratively trifling expense."! A similar benefit 
was conferred upon Alderman Hone and upon Mr. 
Giffard, "as an act of proper respect" for having 
granted a moiety of the ground on which the church 
was built. 

The auction was held on Thursday, the 24th 
October, 1816, at the house of Mr. Curran, in Dun- 
drum, " commonly called the Olympus Boarding 
House," and the sites of twenty-six pews were sold, 
realizing 384 10s. } 

* See Eight Hon. William, Baron Downes, chapter viii. 

t Vestry book, from which all the quotations in this 
chapter are taken, except where another authority is men- 
tioned. 

J Appendix D. 



CHRIST CHURCH. 57 

The funds raised by the sale of the pew sites 
were not, however, sufficient to complete the build- 
ing, and in February, 1817, a petition to the Board 
of First Fruits for an additional loan was prepared. 
It is not clear whether the petition was actually 
presented to the Board or not ; at all events, it was 
not successful. We learn from this petition, which 
was accompanied by an estimate of the expense,* 
that the plans of the church included the erection 
of a spire, with a clock and two bells. 

At length, in June, 1818, the church was so far 
finished as to admit of its being used for Divine 
Service; and the Archbishop of Cashel having 
granted the necessary license for its use previous to 
consecration, the Vestry resolved that the church 
should be opened on Sunday, the 21st June. 

It is evident, however, from subsequent proceed- 
ings of the Vestry, that the church was then far 
from completed. In June, 1820, the church- 
wardens were directed to procure spouts to carry off 
the water from the roof, which caused " so much 
damp inside the church;" and in April, 1821, they 
were ordered to obtain estimates for roofing the 
tower. At the Easter Vestry in 1824, Mr. James 
Crofton,t the outgoing churchwarden, presented his 
account, amounting to 90, for building the sexton's 
lodge, and finishing the vestry-room. In the same 
year the churchwardens were directed to purchase 

* Appendix E. 

T See Crofton, James, chapter vii. 



58 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

a bell, which was to weigh about five cwt., and to 
cost 60. In April, 1825, the Vestry accepted an 
estimate, amounting to 167 17s. 3d., from Wm. 
Moyers, of Rathfarnham, for cementing the outside 
of the church, and putting up metal pipes, and in 
1832 it was found necessary to expend 95 on re- 
roofing the church which does not speak well for 
the manner in which the work was done in the first 
instance. 

The loan from the Board of First Fruits was 
never fully repaid. At a Vestry held in 1833 the 
tenth instalment was ordered to be applotted ; but it 
was not levied, in consequence of the passing of the 
Church Temporalities Act, which exonerated the 
parishioners from repayment of all sums of money 
due to the Board. 

About 1833 the south gallery was erected, partly 
by private subscriptions,* and partly by a grant 
from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. 

The building, which is now used as an infant 
school and teacher's residence, appears to have been 
built about 1836 for a Sunday school. 

In 1844 a small organ was purchased for the 
church at an expense of 47 19s. 6d., and was 
placed in the south gallery. 

In 1853 the church was broken into by robbers, 
who stole the brass branches from the pulpit and 
reading-desk, the sconces in the body of the church, 
and brass fittings from the organ loft. 

* See Appendix D. 



CHRIST CHURCH. 59 

There are persons still residing in the parish who 
remember the appearance of the church interior at 
this time ; and plans of the alterations subsequently 
made, which are in the possession of the Kepresent- 
ative Church Body, afford additional assistance in 
correctly describing it. It consisted of the rectan- 
gular space now forming the body of the church, 
with a shallow recess in the eastern wall, in which 
there was an east window, with a small side-light 
to the north. In this recess the communion table 
stood, having in front of the rails, and standing 
out into the church, the pulpit raised above two 
reading-desks, one of which stood on either side. 
The pews were the high square erections in which 
our ancestors concealed themselves from the gaze 
of their neighbours. A desk for the clerk stood 
under the south gallery near the large window ; 
the stairs to that gallery being near the clerk's 
desk. By the door which now leads into the south 
porch, the clergymen retired into the "robing- 
room," as the vestry-room is called in one of the 
old plans. The north and south galleries were 
different in design from the present galleries ; the 
front panelling, which was made of solid oak, was 
higher, and obstructed the view more, than the 
present panelling ; the front was curvilinear, instead 
of being straight ; and the pews were all on nearly 
the same level, so that persons sitting in the back 
seats could not see down into the body of the 
church. Part of the oak panelling was placed in 
the hall of the rectory, where it forms a dado. 



60 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

In the year 1858 the congregation had increased 
so much, that it was found necessary to afford more 
accommodation, as we find from a resolution passed 
by a meeting of the parishioners in that year ; hut 
it was not until 1861 or 1862 that anything was 
actually done. About that time, the nave was built, 
the west gallery erected, and the stairs removed 
from under the south gallery, and placed in the 
south porch, which was then built. The com- 
munion table rails were placed upon a platform, 
and the pulpit and reading-desk erected behind 
the communion table according to the arrange- 
ment not inappropriately called " three-decker." 

These improvements were carried out at a cost of 
1,200, which was raised partly by private sub- 
scriptions, and partly by a grant from the Eccle- 
siastical Commissioners. 

When the present Eector came into office, in 
1867, he found the church arranged as we have 
now described it ; and within two years of his 
institution, he had effected the first of the long 
series of improvements which have been carried 
out through his instrumentality. The old square 
pews were then remodelled, and the " three- 
decker " arrangement removed, the pulpit being 
placed at the north, and the reading-desk at the 
south, side of the communion table. 

In 1871 Mr. Henry Koe* presented to the 
church a very fine organ, made by Forster and 

* See Eoe, Henry, chapter vii. 



CHRIST CHURCH. 61 

Andrews, of Hull, which was placed in the west 
gallery.* 

The erection of the new chancel, with its painted 
windows, by Mr. Eoe, in 1872, completed the trans- 
formation of the church, as erected in 1818, into the 
vastly different building which we are accustomed 
to see now. 

This portion of the church is built in the deco- 
rated style, of limestone in broken ashlar masonry, 
with chiselled limestone dressings and mouldings 
to the windows, and with coigns of the same 
material. It contains a large east window, with a 
five-light decorated tracery. The subjects depicted 
on the window are seven. In the first section, com- 
mencing to the left, we have the Finding of Moses 
in the ark of bulrushes, and the Building of 
Solomon's Temple; in the second, the Brazen 
Serpent raised upon a well-defined Latin cross ; in 
the third, the Translation of Elijah ; in the fourth, 
Abraham's Sacrifice ; and in the fifth, Moses de- 
scending from Mount Sinai, with the Tables of the 
Law, and King Solomon worshipping in the 
Temple. The legend upon the glass is as follows : 

" The gift of Mr. and Mrs. Roe, of Mount Anville, 1872 ;" 

* It was built at a cost of 600, and was first used at Divine 
Service on Sunday, March 26, 1871. The Archbishop of 
Dublin (the Most Eev. Eichard Chenevix Trench, D.D.) 
preached a suitable sermon on the occasion, and Dr. Stewart, 
afterwards, so well known as Sir Robert Prescott Stewart, 
played the instrument "with his wonted skill and taste, 
displaying to perfection the various and charming combina- 
tions of which the organ is capable." Vide Daily Express, 
March 27, 1871. 



62 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

and below the window there is a brass plate in- 
scribed thus : 

" This chancel presented to Taney Parish by Henry Eoe, 
Esq., Mount Anville, Dundrum, 1872." 

The small single-light windows in the sanctuary, 
to the north and south of the east window, illustrate 
the texts "I was in prison, and ye came unto me," 
and " I was sick, and ye visited me ; " which are also 
inscribed upon the glass, one being " the gift of 
Florence Koe," and the other " the gift of George 
Eoe." There are also two windows in the north 
wall of the chancel, each with two-light tracery, one 
illustrating the texts : " I was an hungered, and ye 
gave me meat," and " I was thirsty, and ye gave 
me drink ; " and the other illustrating " I was a 
stranger, and ye took me in," and " naked, and ye 
clothed me ; " all of which are also inscribed upon 
the glass, being " the gift of Charlotte Eoe," " the 
gift of Elizabeth Eoe," " the gift of Eichard Boe, " 
and "the gift of Maude Eoe," respectively. Mr. 
Eoe furnished the chancel with two handsome brass 
candelabra, and gave elaborate wrought-iron com- 
munion rails, and a handsome tessellated pavement 
in the sanctuary and chancel aisle. 

Mr. Eoe also supplied funds to pay off the old 
debt remaining upon the church, thus enabling it 
to be fully consecrated. 

By the act of consecration, which took place on 
the 10th June, 1872, it was " ordained and consti- 
tuted the Parochial Church of the Parish of 



CHRIST CHURCH. 68 

Tawney," and consecrated "to the Honor of God 
and to Holy Uses," by the name of " Christ Church, 
Tawney."* 

Since then the church has been further adorned 
by many gifts, including a handsome carved stone 
pulpit, erected by Mr. George Kinahan,! of Eoebuck 
Park. Upon the six panels of the pulpit are 
inscribed the following : 

" In my Father's house are many mansions." " Feed my 
lambs." " The Spirit and the Bride say, Come. And let him 
that heareth say, Come." " Feed my sheep." " I am the 
Eesurrection and the Life." " In memory of a beloved child, 
George D. Kinahan, born Sept. 21, 1865, died March 13, 
1878 ; and of a dear brother, Charles H. Kinahan, born 
Sept. 29, 1836, died April 13, 1878. 1 Thes. iv. 14." 

Upon a fillet below the panels are the words : 
" Give unto the Lord the glory due unto His name." 

Mr. Charles H. James has given a handsome 
carved stone prayer-desk, inscribed as follows : 

" Thou that hearest prayer, unto Thee shall all flesh 
come." " In loving memory of Catherine Mary James ; " 

and a brass plate records that it was 

" Erected to the revered memory of a beloved wife, by her 
husband, Charles Henry James, of Eockmount House, in this 
Parish, April, 1879."J 

* The consecrating prelate, and also the preacher, was the 
Most Eev. Eichard Chenevix Trench, D.D., Archbishop of 
Dublin. See account of the ceremony in the Daily Express, 
Irish rwne.*,~and Saunders' Neivs Letter, June 11, 1872. 

t See Kinahan, George, chapter vii. 

See Tombstone No. XL., chapter iii. 



64 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Mr. E. Henry A. M'Comas,* of Homestead, pre- 
sented a reredos, upon which are inscribed the 
words : 

" Come unto me, all that travail and are heavy laden, and 
I will refresh you." " This do in remembrance of me." " So 
God loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son." 

Mr. J. F. Fuller, F.S.A., gave a carved wood 
lectern. 

Mr. W. J. Goulding, of Roebuck Hill, has erected 
a beautiful painted window in the north gallery, 
representing "the Good Shepherd," after the well- 
known picture by Plockhorst : 

" In loving memory of William Goulding, D.L., formerly 
M.P. for Cork, born 1817, died 1884." 

A mural tablet under the south gallery was 

" Erected by a few friends in memory of Michael Charles 
Bernard, M.B., T.C.D., L.R.C.S.I., who for forty years laboured 
as a physician in this parish ; died 24th April, 1881, aged 71 
years. ' I know that my Eedeemer liveth.' Job xix. 25. "f 

The church was also much improved by the re- 
modelling of the north and south galleries in 1885. 

In 1875 the extension of the church grounds to 
the east of the church was completed, and a lease 
of the additional ground was obtained from the 

* See M'Comas, Eichard Henry Archibald, chapter vii. 
f See Bernard, Michael Charles, chapter vii., and Tomb- 
stone No. V., chapter iii. 



CHRIST CHURCH. 65 

Earl of Pembroke for 150 years, at a rent of Is. per 
year. To the expense of the new entrance gates and 
walls of the extension, as well as to the cost of 
erecting the new front entrance gates in 1884, and 
to many other objects connected with the parish, 
Lord Pembroke* subscribed liberally. 

* George Eobert Charles Herbert, thirteenth Earl of 
Pembroke, and tenth Earl of Montgomery, whose premature 
death in his forty-fifth year took place on May 3, 1895, while 
this chapter was in the press. 




CHAPTER V. 

CURATES UNDER THE ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN AS 
RECTOR. * 

ROBERT PONT, circa 1615, 

is mentioned in the Regal Visitation of 1615 as 
serving the churches of Taney, Rathfarnhani, and 
Donnybrook. On Feb. 26, in the thirteenth year of 
the reign of James I. (i.e., 1617-18), he was presented 
to " Silva Salvatoris, otherwise Rath drum, Vicarage, 
Dublin Diocese, vacant by lapse or otherwise, and 
in the King's gift of full right." Probably he went 
afterwards to the Diocese of Raphoe, for it appears 
from a correspondence between Archbishop Laud 
and Lord Strafford that a clergyman of the same 
surname the Christian name is not given was 
beneficed there circa 1638. He "made a wild 
sermon " against the Bishop's jurisdiction, and had 
to leave the diocese. On May 22, 1640, as appears 
from the Dublin Titles Book, a licence was issued to 
Robert Pont, B.A., who possibly was a son of the 
Curate of Taney, to serve the cure of Kilpipe, 
Diocese of Ferns ; and on May 31 in the same year 
he was admitted a Deacon at " Tawlaght." (Eat I 
Stafford's Letters, Dublin, 1740, ed. by Dr. Wm. 
Knowles, vol. ii., pp. 245, 270, 337 ; Bishop Mant's 
History of the Church of Ireland, p. 544 ; Diocesan 
Register ; Patent Rolls, James I., p. 299.) 
* See chapter i., p. 3. 



CURATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 67 

RICHARD PRESCOTT, circa 1630, 
graduated in T.C.D., B.A., 1620, and M.A., 1628 ; his 
entrance is not recorded. He is mentioned in Arch- 
bishop Bulkeley's report (see p. 14) as serving the 
churches of Taney, Donnybrook, and Eathfarnham. 

JOHN SANKEY, 1679, 

was licensed on May 8, 1679, to serve the churches 
of " Rathfarnam, Donnabrook, Kilgobban, Tawney, 
Cruagh, andWhitechurch." (Dublin Titles Book.) 

MERVYN ARCHDALL, 1753, 

son of William Archdall, Goldsmith and Assay 
Master, of Skinner Row, Dublin (who was a member 
of the family of the Archdalls of Fermanagh), by 
his wife, Henrietta, dau. of Rev. Henry Gonne, was 
I. in Dublin, on April 22, 1723, and bavt. in St. 
Werburgh's, on May 9. He entered T.C.D. on Oct. 
10, 1739, and graduated B.A., 1744, and M.A., 1747. 
He was licensed on Jan. 24, 1750, as Curate Assist- 
ant of the Parishes of Howth and Kilbarrack, and 
on Oct. 2, 1753, on the nomination of Archdeacon 
Pococke, as Curate of " Kilgobban and Tawnee " at 
a stipend of 35 and " book money." He was also 
the non-resident Rector of Nathlash and Kildorrery, 
in the Diocese of Cloyne, from 1749 to 1758. In 
the year 1761 Dr. Pococke, who had become Bishop 
of Ossory, gave him the living of Agharney and 
Attannagh in that diocese, which he held until 
1786, with the Prebend of Cloneamery, and sub- 
sequently of Mayne. He resigned Agharney on 



68 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

being appointed Rector of Slane, Diocese of Meath, 
where he continued to reside until his death, on 
Aug. 6, 1791. He was bur. in Slane Churchyard, 
and a monument was erected to his memory there. 
He m., firstly, circa 1748, Miss Sarah Collis, of a 
Kilkenny family, who d. May 28, 1782, having 
had issue 1. Thomas Prior, bur. in St. Werburgh's, 
1750; 2. Mervyn, a lawyer, m., and d. 1809, 
leaving issue ; 8. Henrietta, m. Eev. John Dalton 
Harwood ; he n., secondly, in St. Mary's Church, 
Dublin, on Nov. 25, 1782, Miss Abigail Young. 
He was the well-known antiquary, author of the 
Monasticon Hibemicum, and of an enlarged edition 
of Lodge's Peerage. (Brady's Records of Cork, vol. ii., 
p. 368 ; vol. iii., p. 143 ; Dictionary of National 
Biography, vol. ii., p. 67; Webb's Compendium of 
Irish Biography, p. 5 ; Dublin Titles Book ; Hughes's 
St. Werburgh's, pp. 99, 181.)* 

JEREMY WALSH, 1758, 

son of Rev. Philip Walsh, was b. at Dublin in 1702, 
educated by his father in the Co. Wicklow, and 
entered T.C.D., May 11, 1719. He graduated B.A., 
1724, and M.A., 1727. He was instituted on Feb. 
23, 1729, to the Rectories of Kilweilagh and Kil- 
loah, in the Diocese of Meath, on the presentation 
of the Earl of Drogheda. On the nomination 

* The following authorities have been consulted, in addition 
to those mentioned under the several notices : Todd's List of 
Graduates of T.C.D., Matriculation Books ofT.C.D., Registers 
of Taney Parish, and Dublin Directories and Newspapers. 



CURATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 69 

of Archdeacon Mann, he was licensed on Sept. 1, 
1758, Curate of " Kilgobbin and Tawney," at a 
stipend of "35 and book-money." He m. at 
Whitehall, Sept., 1778, Mrs. Eyre, widow of the 
late Thomas Eyre, M.P. for the borough of Fore, Co. 
Westmeath. (Meath and Dublin Titles Books; 
Walker's Hibernian Magazine, Sept., 1778, p. 536.) 

WILLIAM DWYER, 1787, 

son of Mr. Darby Dwyer, of Tipperary, was b. 1753, 
and entered T.C.D. as a sizar on June 13, 1775. 
He took a Scholarship in 1777, and graduated B.A., 
1780. He was ordained on July 25, 1780, in 
St. Mark's Church, Dublin, by the Bishop of Dro- 
more. He was licensed Jan. 10, 1787, on the 
nomination of Archdeacon Hastings to the Curacy 
of Taney, but only held it until October in the same 
year, when he was appointed Curate of St. John's, 
Dublin. He was subsequently, from March to 
June, 1789, Rector of Clonmult, and from the 
latter date to 1813 Rector of Templeroan, both in 
the Diocese of Cloyne. He also held the Curacy 
of Nohoval, Diocese of Cork, to which he was 
licensed Sept. 18, 1802. (Brady's Records of Cork, 
vol. i., p. 225, vol. ii., pp. 153, 397 ; Dublin License 
for Ordination; Hughes's St. John's, p. 75.) 

MATTHEW CAMPBELL, 1787-1814, 
son of Mr. Robert Campbell, of Monaghan, was b. 
1758. He was educated at Mr. Allen's School, and 
entered T.C.D., Nov. 4, 1776. He graduated B.A., 



70 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

1781. On the nomination of Archdeacon Hastings, 
he was licensed to the Curacy of Taney on Nov. 9, 
1787, and was appointed subsequently Eural Dean 
of Taney on Aug. 17, 1802. On June 10, 1818, he 
was appointed Perpetual Curate of Kilgobbin, on 
the nomination of Archdeacon Fowler, but seems 
to have continued to discharge the duty of Taney 
until the following year, when his successor, Mr. 
Eyan, was appointed. At a Vestry held on April 
12, 1814, it was resolved to present him with an 
address " for his faithful conduct in the discharge of 
his duty during a period of twenty -five years." He 
retained the Curacy of Kilgobbin until his death, 
which occurred circa 1817. He m. June 17, 1795, 
Elizabeth (d. June 1, 1835), widow of Garret 
English, Esq. (whom she in. 1780, her maiden 
name being White), and had issue one son, 
Frederick, b. 1800, who m., 1826, Miss Maria 
Murray (d. Nov. 22, 1885), and d. Feb. 15, 1861, 
and one daughter, Eliza, b. 1802, who m. in T. C., 
Sept. 18, 1824, John Eoe, Esq., and d. Oct. 15, 
1826. (See Tombstones XVI. and LXIX., chapter 
iii.) (Dublin Titles Book.) 

EICHAKD EYAN, 1814-20, 

was a son of the Eev. William Eyan, of Tipperary, 
and was b. 1787. He was educated at Mr. White's 
school in Dublin, and entered T.C.D. May 5, 1806. 
He graduated B.A., 1811, and M.A., 1832. He was 
nominated on March 24, 1814, by Archdeacon 
Saurin to the Curacy of Taney, and was licensed on 



CURATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 71 

April 15 following. He held this cure until 1820, 
when he was appointed to the Vicarage of Rath- 
connell, Diocese of Meath. He resigned it in 1825 
on being nominated to the Vicarage of Rathcore, in 
the same diocese, to which he was admitted on Jan. 
19, 1826. He continued to reside there until his 
death on July 8, 1837, and was bur. in Rathcore 
churchyard. He /,, in T. C., Aug. 3, 1814, Mary 
Lees, second dau. of John Giffard, Esq.,* and had 
issue, bapt. in T. C. 1. William, called to the bar 
1839, Q.C., 1867, J.P. Wexf ord, Wicklow, and Dublin ; 
2. Sarah ; 3. EUen. (Dublin Titles Book ; Eccle- 
siastical Commissioners' Report, 1886, p. 224.) 

HENRY HUNT, 1820-21, 

son of Mr. James Hunt, State Apothecary, of Sack- 
ville Street, Dublin, was b. 1792, and having been 
educated at Dr. Dowdall's school, entered T.C.D. 
as a pensioner on Sept. 3, 1810, taking second place 
at entrance. He graduated B.A., 1815, and M.A., 
1818. He took Holy Orders in 1815, and on Dec. 
26 of that year was licensed to the Curacy of Ban- 
bridge (Seapatrick), in the Diocese of Dromore. 
In 1818 he became Vicar of Ballynafeagh, in the 
Diocese of Kildare; and in 1820, on the- nomination 
of the Marquis of Drogheda, Vicar of Rathconnell, 
in the Diocese of Meath. In March, 1820, when 
he assumed the duties, he was nominated Curate 
of Taney by Archdeacon Torrens, although not 
licensed until July 21. He held the Curacy until 
* See Giffard, John, chapter vii. 



72 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

June in the following year, when his successor, 
Mr. Vance, took charge of the parish. At a Vestry 
held on Sept. 18, 1821, a resolution was pro- 
posed by Mr. Wadden,* seconded by Chief Justice 
Downes,| and unanimously adopted, requesting the 
Archdeacon to convey to Mr. Hunt " the thanks of 
the congregation, and their sense of the pure zeal 
which influenced him in the discharge of his 
clerical duties." He was subsequently appointed 
in 1822 Vicar of Kiltoom and Gamma, in the 
Diocese of Elphin, on the nomination of Dr. John 
Leslie, then Bishop of that see ; on Aug. 23, 1827, 
a Minor Canon of St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin ; 
and on March 7, 1829, Eector of Ahascragh, also 
in Elphin, of which diocese he had been nominated 
Vicar-General. On March 8, 1845, Dr. Leslie, 
who had become Bishop of Kilmore and Ardagh, 
as well as of Elphin, collated him to the Eectory 
of Lurgan (Virginia), Diocese of Kilmore, which he 
held with his minor canonry and vicar-generaiship 
until his death, which occurred on May 22, 1861, 
at Donnybrook. His remains were interred at 
Shercock, Co. Cavan. He m., 1823, Miss Rose 
Anne Adair, and had issue. (Ecclesiastical Com- 
missioners' Report, 1836, p. 564 ; Kilmore Register ; 
Cotton's Fasti, &c., vol. ii., p. 200.) 

WILLIAM FORDE VANCE, 1821, 
son of the Rev. Patrick Vance, of Antrim, was b. 
1796, educated at Armagh School, under Dr. Miller, 

* See Wadden, Barret, chapter vii. 

t See Eight Hon. William, Baron Downes, chapter viii. 



CURATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 73 

and entered T.C.D. as a pensioner, Nov. 1, 1813. 
The date of his B.A. degree is not recorded. He 
took out his M.A. in 1822. He acted as Curate of 
Taney from June to December, 1821 ; but no 
license for him appears in the Titles Book. It 
was resolved, at a Vestry on Jan. 1, 1822, that an 
address expressing regret at his departure, and the 
parishioners' -wishes for his future welfare, should 
be drawn up and presented to him. He in. in 
Crumlin Church on March 1, 1823, Miss Anna- 
bella Oakley. 

JAMES BULWER, 1821-24, 

was the only son of James Bulwer, Esq., of Ayl- 
sham, Norfolk, by his wife Mary, dau. of John 
Seaman, Esq., of Felmingham Hall, Norfolk. He 
entered Jesus College, Cambridge, and graduated 
B.A., 1818, and M.A., 1823. He was ordained Deacon 
by the Bishop of Norwich, 1818, and Priest by the 
Bishop of Kilmore, June 23, 1822. He served as 
Curate of Taney from December, 1821, to 1824, but 
does not appear to have been licensed. A vote of 
thanks was accorded to him by the Vestry on April 
20, 1824, "for his indefatigable zeal." He re- 
signed, on being appointed (May 16, 1824) to the 
Perpetual Curacy of Booterstown, which he held 
only a short time, resigning it in the following year 
(1825). The years 1825 and 1826 he spent in 
Madeira and Portugal, and from 1827 to 1833 re- 
sided at Clifton, and served as Curate of St. Paul's, 
Bristol. He was present at the memorable Bristol 



74 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

riots in 1831, when he was assaulted by the mob ; 
and he afterwards gave evidence for the defence at 
the trial, in Oct., 1832, of Charles Pinney, Esq., 
the Mayor of Bristol, for having neglected his duty 
on that occasion. He was Minister of York Chapel, 
and Curate of St. James', Westminster, from 1833 
to 1840, and Curate of Blickling and South Er- 
pingham, in Norfolk, until 1848, when he was 
appointed by the Dowager Lady Sumeld, of Blick- 
ling, Kector of Stody with Hunworth, in the Diocese 
of Norwich. He held this cure until his death. He 
d. on June 11, 1879, aged 84, and was bur. at Hun- 
worth. He m. Eliza, only dau. of Archibald Bedford, 
Esq., of the Irish Bar, and had issue : 1. James 
Benjamin Eedford, of the English Bar, Q.C., formerly 
M.P. for Ipswich, from Feb., 1874, to March, 1880, 
and for Cambridgeshire, from Sept., 1881, to Nov., 
1885, and now Chairman of the Norfolk Quarter 
Sessions, Eecorder of Cambridge, and Master in 
Lunacy ; 2. Archibald Bedford, of Tomard, Co. 
Kildare, m., 1856, Jean Hamilton, sister of Sir 
Alexander Gibson Maitland, third Baronet, of Clif- 
ton Hall, Co. Midlothian, and has issue two daus., 
Agnes and Dora Eleanor ; 3. Walter John Bedford, 
of Barrowford, Co. Kildare, m., 1851, Helena Sarah, 
third dau. of Bev. Henry Moore, Bector of Ferns, 
Co. Wexford, and has issue one son, Henry Alan, 
b. 1854, m., 1886, Mary, third dau. of Bichard 
Bobert Wingfield, of Fairy Hall, Co. Wicklow, and 
has issue one dau., Dorothy ; 4. Dorothea Maria 
Bedford, m., 1840, Bev. Humphrey Lloyd, D.D., 
late Provost of Trinity College, Dublin. 



CUBATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 75 

Mr. Bulwer was author of Views of Madeira, 
1825-26 ; Views of Cintra in Portugal ; and Views 
in the West of England. For upwards of twenty 
years from 1840, he had charge of the Library of 
rare and valuable books at Blickling Hall, collected 
by Maittaire, early in the eighteenth century, and 
was a frequent contributor to the Norfolk Archao- 
logical Journal. He was learned in botany and 
mineralogy, and possessed a complete collection of 
British shells, most of which are now in the British 
Museum. He was an accomplished artist in water 
colours, and made two beautiful collections of draw- 
ings and engravings, one illustrating Blomefield's 
History of Norfolk, the other Collinson's History of 
Somersetshire, which together fill upwards of seventy 
large folios, and are now in the possession of his 
eldest son. (Blacker's Sketches of Booterstown, <c., 
p. 8 ; Trial of Charles Pinney, Esq. Blackwood, 1833.) 

HENRY HAMILTON, 1824-25, 

son of Henry Hamilton, Esq., of Dublin, b. 1796, 
was educated privately, and entered T.C.D., April 
6, 1812, as a Fellow-Commoner. He graduated B.A., 
1819, and M.A., 1832. He was ordained Deacon at 
Kilmore, July 5, 1822. He was instituted as Incum- 
bent of the Union of Thornastown, Pollardstown, 
and Dunmurry, in the Diocese of Kildare, on June 
8, 1822, on the presentation of the Duke of Leinster ; 
he was at first non-resident, and though not li- 
censed, acted as Curate of Taney from May, 1824, 
to May, 1825. In the latter year a Glebe House 



76 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

was built at Thomastown, and he went to reside 
there. He held the living until his death, which 
occurred circa 1854. (Ecclesiastical Commissioners' 
Report, 1837, p. 138.) 

ALEXANDER BUEBOWES CAMPBELL, 1825-28, 
son of Burrowes Campbell, Esq., Barrister-at-Law, 
was educated by Mr. White, and having entered 
T.C.D., won a Scholarship, 1819, and graduated B.A., 
1820, and M.A., 1828. He was ordained a Deacon, 
and subsequently admitted to Priest's Orders at 
Kilmore, on June 23, 1823. He acted as Curate of 
Taney from May, 1825, but was not licensed until 
Feb. 24 in the following year. His nomination by 
Archdeacon Torrens is dated Aug. 23, 1825. He 
held the curacy until 1828. He was Perpetual 
Curate of Great Keddisham, Suffolk, from 1849 to 
1858, and Chaplain to the Earl of Cowley from 
1858 to 1886. He had a son, John, by his wife, 
Caroline, bapt. in T. C. (Crockford's Clerical 
Directory, 1879-86.) 

JOHN PRIOR, 1828-1834, 

eldest son of Dr. Thomas Prior, Vice-Provost of 
T.C.D., was b. May 25, 1803 ; and having been edu- 
cated by Mr. Jones, entered T.C.D., and graduated 
B.A., 1826, and M.A., 1829. Having taken Holy 
Orders, he was licensed March 1, 1828, on the no- 
mination of Arcbdeacon Torrens, Curate Assistant 
of Donnybrook, and on March 8, 1830, Curate of 
Taney. The license mentions that he had for some 



CUKATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 77 

months previously discharged the duties. He held 
this cure until Aug., 1834, when he was obliged to 
resign on account of ill-health. At a meeting of the 
parishioners, held on Oct. 27, 1834, a resolution 
was adopted expressive of regret at the cause of his 
resignation, and "recording the sense entertained of 
his activity, benevolence, and Christian charity." It 
was also decided that a piece of plate should be 
subscribed for and presented to him. On July 13, 
1851, he was appointed Eector of Kathcormack, 
Diocese of Cloyne, and was subsequently Kector of 
Kirklington, Diocese of Eipon, and Eural Dean of 
East Catterick, Yorkshire. He d. Dec. 21, 1867. 
He m., firstly, 1833, Sophia, second dau. of John 
Odell, Esq., of Carriglea, Co. Waterford, by whom 
he had no issue surviving ; and secondly, Sept. 
13, 1836, Sarah, only surviving dau. of the Hon. 
Charles Butler, and had issue by her 1. Charles 
Butler, J.P., m. Dora, dau. of Kichard Phillips, 
Esq., D.L., d. Jan. 7, 1875, leaving a son Kichard 
Henry, and other issue ; 2. Henry Wallis, m. Mary 
Anne, dau. of Kichard Phillips, Esq., and has issue ; 
3. Alice Maria, d. unm. ; 4. Sophia Elizabeth, 7;?,. 
Major-Gen. Henry Frederick Winchilse Ely. On 
the death of her nephew, Mrs. Prior succeeded to 
her paternal estates of Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny, 
Kirklington, Hipswell, and Hudswell, Co. York ; 
and on Aug. 30, 1882, assumed, by royal license, 
the surname of Wandesforde. She d. Dec. 21, 
1892, and was succeeded by her grandson, Richard 
Henry Prior Wandesforde. (Brady's Records of 



78 THE PARISH OF TAN*EY. 

Cork, vol. ii., p. 373 ; Titles Book ; Wandesfordc of 
Castlecomer and. Kirklington, B.L.G., 1894.) 

SAMUEL HENRY MASON, 1834-36, 
son of William Mason, Esq., b. 1809, was educated 
at Mr. Minn's school, and entered T.C.D., Oct. 18, 
1824. He graduated B.A., 1831, and took out a 
LL.B. degree 1851, and a LL.D., 1852. He acted 
as Curate of Taney from August, 1834, to March, 
1836, but was not licensed. He was one of the 
officials in the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' office 
from 1849 to 1863. He d. April 15, 1865. 

CLEMENT ARCHER SCHOALES, 1836-37, 
son of John Schoales, Esq., Q.C., Assistant Bar- 
rister, Co. Kildare, by his wife Clementina, dan. of 
Clement Archer, Esq., M.D., was b. 1807. He was 
educated at Mr. White's school, in Dublin, and 
having entered T.C.D. on July 7, 1823, graduated 
B.A., 1829, and M.A., 1832. He was ordained Deacon 
in Ferns Cathedral, Oct. 18, 1832, and subse- 
quently Priest. He acted as Curate of Taney from 
March, 1836, to October, 1837. He was after- 
wards Curate of Ballyshannon, in the Diocese of 
Eaphoe, for some years. Owing to ill-health, he 
did not seek further preferment, and d. in Dublin 
in March, 1864. 

WILLIAM HENRY STANFORD, 1836-51, 
was a son of William Stanford, Esq., of Cavan, a 
descendant of Bishop Bedell, by his wife Sarah, dau. 



CUKATES UNDER ARCHDEACON OF DUBLIN. 79 

of John M'Mullen, Esq., K.C. He entered T.C.D., 
and graduated B.A., 1827, and M.A., 1839. He was 
ordained Deacon by the Bishop of Kildare, Feb. 25, 
1827, and Priest by the Bishop of Meath, June 10, 
1827. He was Curate of Slane until Nov., 1829, 
and Curate of Maynooth from that date until May, 
1832. He then went to England, and was Curate 
at Birmingham and of St. Mary's, Lancaster. He 
returned to Ireland, and was appointed Curate of 
Bray by the Hon. and Kev. William Plunket, then 
Rector of that parish. He again went to England, 
and was Curate of Stottesdon, in the Diocese of 
Hereford, for a short time. In 1836, on the nomi- 
nation of Archdeacon Torrens, he was appointed 
second Curate of Taney with Mr. Schoales, and 
after the resignation of the latter in the following 
year had sole charge of the parish. He was ap- 
pointed first chaplain to the Criminal Lunatic 
Asylum by the Lord Lieutenant on Nov. 26, 1850. 
He held Taney until it was disunited from the 
corps of the Archdeaconry in 1851, and on Mr. 
Bredin being nominated as the first Rector, it was 
arranged that he should succeed him as Rector of 
Rincurran, in the Diocese of Cork. An address 
and purse of sovereigns was presented to him on 
leaving the parish ; the address, which is entered 
in the vestry minute book, mentions that the 
feeling of regret at his departure was sincere and 
general, AS he had laboured amongst the par- 
ishioners for fifteen years with steady and inde- 
fatigable zeal, and speaks in high terms of his 



80 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

character as a Christian minister. He held Rin 
curran until his death on Feb. 22, 1856. He m. 
in St. Ann's Church, Dublin, on Oct. 31, 1833 
Esther Katharyne, dau. of David Peter, Esq., wh< 
d. in 1863, and had issue 1. William Henn 
Nassau (bapt. St. Ann's), M.B., T.C.D., m. Mis: 
Merelina F. Tindal,o..j>., Nov. 13, 1871 ; 2. Bedel 
(bapt. T. C.), B.A., T.C.D., in H. 0., m., Sept. 29, 1868 
Phoebe, dau. of Andrew Thompson, Esq., and has i 
son, Bedell ; 3. Charles Edward Stuart, m. Fannj 
(d. Nov. 4, 1883), dau. of William B. Box, Esq. 
o.s.p., Dec. 7, 1887 ; 4. Adelaide Esther Katharyne 
m. John H. Cooper, Esq., d. July 24, 1889, leaving 
a son, Henry Austin Samuel ; 5. Virginia Paulina 
(bapt. T. C.), m. Samuel Cooper, Esq., who d. Marci 
20, 1892. 



CHAPTER VI. 

HECTORS AND CURATES FROM 1851. 
RECTORS. 

ANDREW NOBLE BREDIN, 1851-57, 
eldest son of Major-General Andrew Bredin, R.A., 
was b. 1808. Having entered T.C.D., he graduated 
B.A., 1830, and M.A., 1832. He was Curate of St. 
Ann's, Dublin, and was one of the Stearne Cate- 
chists at St. Werburgh's. On Dec. 28, 1848, he was 
appointed to the Vicarage of Eincurran, Diocese of 
Cork, which he resigned Aug. 12, 1851, on being 
presented with the living of Taney, to which he had 
been collated on Aug. 1 in the same year. He held 
this parish until he was collated Prebendary of 
Dunlavin, on Dec. 23, 1857. He was installed on 
Jan. 9, and resigned in April following on being 
appointed Rector of Clonbullogue, Diocese of Kil- 
dare. He held this living until his death, which 
occurred a few months after, on July 18, 1858. He 
m., first, 1846, Miss Mary Wilhelmina Cooper, by 
whom he had issue 1. Arthur Francis Noble ; 
2. Margaret Florence Julia, m. t first, 1879, Rev. 
Josiah Crampton, Rector of Killesher, son of Sir 
Philip Crampton, Bart., and secondly, Rev. Lewis 
Williams, Vicar of Llanwnda, North Wales ; 8. 
Mary Henrietta, d. unm., 1861; and secondly, 
Harriett, dau. of Capt. Peter Pemell, of Canterbury, 



82 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Kent, by whom he had issue 1. Andrew Nobl 
WiUiam (bapt. T. C.), in H.O., B.A., Eector o 
Sutton, Essex, ra., 1881, Pamela Adelaide Alice 
dau. of Rev. Josiah Crampton (vide ante) ; 2. Har 
riett Adelaide Pemell (bapt. T. C.), d. unm., 1876 
8. Ann Jane Pemell, d. unm., 1873. (Hughes's 8t 
WerburgJis, p. 92 ; Brady's Records of Cork, vol. i. 
p. 239 ; vol. iii., p. 156 ; Titles Book ; Cotton's Fasti 
&c., vol. v., p. 125.) 

EDWABD BUSTEED MOERAN, 1857-67, 

son of Edward Moeran, Esq., was b. at Cork, 1810 
He was educated at Mr. Mulcahy's school, in Cork 
under Mr. Farrell, and having entered T.C.D., Jub 
3, 1826, graduated B.A., 1831. He won Bisho] 
Law's Mathematical Prize in 1832, and was j 
Prizeman in the Fellowship Examination in 1838 
He took out his M.A. degree in 1841, and his B.D 
and D.D. degrees in 1853. He was ordained Deacoi 
in St. Ann's Church, Dublin, on April 17, 1842 
by the Bishop of Meath, and Priest in 1843 by thi 
Archbishop of Dublin. He was for a short tim< 
Curate of Bray, and was appointed Incumbent o 
the Bethel (now Christ Church), Kingstown, ii 
Feb., 1843. In 1852 he was elected Professor o 
Moral Philosophy in T.C.D., and held the chair, a 
well as his Chaplaincy, until 1857, when he wa 
collated by the Archbishop of Dublin to the Rector 
of Taney. He resigned this parish in 1867, on beinj 
appointed Rector of Killyleagh, Diocese of Down 
to which he was presented by the Board of Trinity 



RECTORS AND CURATES FROM 1851. 83 

College. He was subsequently appointed Dean of 
Down in 1876, and was one of the Bishop's ex- 
amining chaplains. He d. on Oct. 13, 1887, and 
was bur. at Killyleagh on Oct. 17. He m., first, 
Miss Christiana Mills, and had issue 1. Henry 
Edward ; 2. Marion De La Fea ; and secondly, in 
T. C., Feb. 7, 1865, IsabeUa, fourth dau. of John 
Barton, Esq., of Stonehouse, Stillorgan Koad, and 
had issue 1. Francis Meredith (bapt. T. C.) ; 2. 
Cecil Barton (bapt. T. C.) ; 3. Eobert Warner ; 4. 
Archibald Edward; 5. Henry Hope; 6. Isabel Ethel 
Jane ; 7. Katherine Lillian. 

Dr. Moeran was author of Sermons on the Nature 
of Faith ; Examination of Colewo's Treatises on the 
Pentateuch ; and treatises on Mr. Baden Powell's 
Study of the Evidences of Christianity ; Mr. Jowett 
on the Interpretation of Scripture ; Romanism and 
Ritualism, &c., &c. He took a leading part in the 
periodical entitled The Catholic Layman, for which 
he wrote " The Dumb Village," and many other 
papers. 

WILLIAM ALFRED HAMILTON, 1867 

fourth son of Henry Hamilton, Esq., J.P., formerly 
of the 29th Regt. of Foot (who was third son of 
the Right Rev. Hugh Hamilton, D.D., Lord Bishop 
of Ossory, by his wife, Isabella, eldest dau. of Hans 
Widman Wood, Esq.), by his wife Sarah, third dau. 
of Rev. Michael Sandys, M.A. ; was b. at Tullylish, 
in the Co. Down. He was educated at Shrewsbury, 
and having entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1846, 



84 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

M.A., 1858, B.D. and D.D., 1877. He was ordained 
Deacon, 1847, in Chester Cathedral by the Bishop 
of Chester, and Priest on July 16, 1848, at Cam- 
bridge, by the Archbishop of Canterbury. He was 
appointed Curate of St. Barnabas', Liverpool, by 
the Eev. Thomas Nolan, and on Dec. 24, 1848, 
Curate of Silso, Bedfordshire. In February, 1853, 
he was presented by the Marquis of Drogheda to 
the perpetual cure of Tullyallen, in the Diocese of 
Armagh. In 1863 he was presented by the same 
patron to Duleek, in the Diocese of Meath, but 
never assumed the duties, as on Nov. 15 in that 
year the same patron presented him to Monaster- 
evan, in the Diocese of Kildare. He was Preben- 
dary of Harristown, and a Eural Dean of Kildare 
diocese. He was collated on Aug. 21, 1867, Eector 
of Taney, on the presentation of the Archbishop of 
Dublin. He was Canon of Christ Church Cathedral, 
and Prebendary of St. Michan's, 1878-92, Eural 
Dean of Taney, Chaplain to the Lord Lieutenant, 
1869-92, and Chaplain to the Earl of Ennis- 
killen. He m., Jan. 10, 1849, Henrietta Catherine, 
third dau. of Henry St. George Cole, Esq., and 
has issue 1. Henry Balfour, in H.O., M.A., T.C.D., 
Eector of West Leake, Nottingham, m., in T. C., 
Aug. 24, 1875, Hannah Sophia, dau. of John 
Hubart Moore, Esq., and has issue i. Alfred, ii. 
John, iii. Augusta Cecilia ; 2. Alfred St. George ; 
3. William Drummond, M.A., Oxon., m., in T. C., 
Aug. 5, 1891, Alice Josephine, third dau. of George 
Kinahan, Esq., D.L., and has issue i. George Alfred 



EECTOKS AND CUKATES FROM 1851. 85 

Drummond ; ii. Margaret Henrietta (bapt. T. C.) ; 
4. WiUoughby James, m., in T. C., May 31, 1894, 
Sophia Jane, third dau. of Charles Thompson, 
Esq., J.P. ; 5. Francis Cole Lowry (bapt. T. C.), 
in H.O., B.A., Durham ; 6. Blayney (bapt. T. C.) ; 7. 
Gertrude May, m., first, Sept. 1, 1875, Erskine 
Wilmot Chetwoode, Esq., and had issue i. Edward 
Erskine, ii. Gertrude Florence Evelyn, iii. Eita 
Kathleen, and secondly, in T. C., March 13, 1890, 
Eev. Edward Mewburn Walker, Fellow of Queen's 
College, Oxon., and has issue i. John Drummond, 
ii. Henrietta Frances ; 8. Florence Eglantine ; 9. 
Catherine Henrietta, m,, in T. C., Oct. 25, 1886, her 
cousin, Robert Pollock Hamilton, Esq., and has 
issue (bapt. T. C.) i. Charles Pollock, ii. Kathleen 
Emma May, iii. Eva Maud. 

At the close of 1885 a committee was formed for 
the purpose of promoting the presentation of an 
address and testimonial to the Eev. Canon Hamil- 
ton, in recognition of the high esteem in which he 
was held by his parishioners. The movement was 
most cordially received, and on March 31, 1886, 
the Eight Hon. John Thomas Ball,* on behalf of 
the subscribers, presented the address and testi- 
monial to Canon Hamilton. The address was 
signed by ninety-one parishioners, and acknow- 
ledged the earnestness and fidelity with which he 
had discharged the duties of his office, the benefits 
derived from his ministry and pastoral care, his 

* Of Taney House, 1882-95, and, while Lord Chancellor of 
Ireland, of Ardmore, Eoebuck, 1876-80. 



86 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

kindness and sympathy for those committed to his 
charge, and his exertions to promote the welfare of 
every class. 

CURATES. 

JOHN JOSEPH KNOX FLETCHER, 1852-55, 
son of the Eev. John Fletcher, D.D., b. 1828, was 
educated at Dr. Graham's school, and having 
entered T.C.D. on Nov. 6, 1845, he took a scholar- 
ship in 1849, and graduated B.A., 1851, and M.A., 
1864. He was ordained Deacon in 1852, and Priest 
at Cork, May 22, 1853. He was appointed Curate 
of Taney by Mr. Bredin in 1852, and discharged 
the duties from that time, although not licensed 
until Aug. 81, 1854. He resigned the Curacy of 
Taney in 1855 on being appointed Rector of Killis- 
key, Diocese of Kildare. He was subsequently 
Rector of Monasterevan, and Rural Dean, 1867- 
71, Prebendary of Harristown in the Cathedral of 
Kildare from 1867 until his death, Rector of Mala- 
hide, 1871-74, of Brockley, Somerset, 1874-86, 
Curate of Chelvey, Somerset, 1877-86, and Vicar of 
Whittlebury, with Silverstone, Diocese of Peter- 
borough, from 1886 until his death. He m., in 
T. C., June 14, 1855, Sidney, second dau. of Edward 
Colborn Mayne, Esq., formerly Capt. in the 95th 
Regt. of Foot, and had issue. (Crockford's Clerical 
Directory, 1891 ; Brady's Records of Cork, vol. iii., 
p. 185.) 

CHARLES SEYMOUR LANGLEY, 1855-56, 
son of Thomas E. Langley, Esq., by his wife 



RECTOBS AND CURATES FROM 1851. 87 

Fridzwide Seymour, was b. at Ballinasloe, April 8, 
1830. He was educated at the school of the Rev. 
D. Flynn in Dublin, and entered T.C.D., July 1, 
1848. He obtained a first honor in Classics, an 
honor in Ethics and Logics, a Divinity Premium, 
and a double Moderatorship in Classics and Logics. 
He graduated B.A., 1854, M.A., 1859, and took out 
his B.D. degree, 1864, and his D.D., 1868. He was 
ordained Deacon on July 16, 1854, at Gloucester, on 
letters dimissory from Limerick, and Priest on July 
15, 1855, at St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin. He 
was appointed Curate of St. Michael's, Limerick, in 
1854, and of Taney, by Mr. Bredin, in 1855. He 
resigned this curacy on being appointed in 1856 
Rector of St. Mary's, Clonmel, where he remained 
until collated, Feb. 2, 1861, to the Rectory of Kil- 
worth, Diocese of Cloyne. He was subsequently 
appointed a Canon of Cloyne Cathedral, and a Rural 
Dean. He d. April 9, 1885. He m. Maria, dau. of 
David Aston, Esq., M.D., of Dublin, and of his wife 
Maria Catharine, dau. of R. Watkins, Esq., of 
Prospect House, Roebuck, and had issue 1. 
Charles Seymour, L.C.S. Edin., m. Aug. 8, 1891, 
Katharine Phoebe, dau. of Capt. John Brasier 
Creagh, and has issue Dorothy Kathleen Emily ; 
2. Mary Katharine (bapt. T. C.), d. Jan. 1, 1892 ; 3. 
Fridzwide Henrietta. 

ROBERT WILLIAM WHELAN, 1857-58, 
who was the second son of John Whelan, Esq., 
by his wife Abigail, dau. of Abraham Brownrigg, 



88 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

Esq., was educated at Harcourt Street School 
under Mr. Lowton. He entered T.C.D., July 4, 
1836, and graduated B.A., 1841, and M.A., 1850. 
He was ordained Deacon, 1851, and Priest, 1852, by 
the Archbishop of Dublin. He was Curate of St. 
Paul's, Dublin, for some years, and of Taney from 
1857 to 1858. He was subsequently Curate of 
Derralossory and Laragh for one year, of Blessing- 
ton from 1861 to 1862, of Hollywood from 1862 to 
1863, and Incumbent of Malahide from 1863 to 
1871. He was then appointed Eector of Maynooth, 
and held that living until 1889. He was Prebendary 
of Maynooth in St. Patrick's Cathedral from 1869 
to 1889. He m. Eliza Frances, dau. of James Pratt, 
Esq., of Kinsale, Co. Cork, and had issue 1. 
Ernest Hamilton, in H.O., M.A., m. Miss Deborah 
Carnegie; 2. Kichard Pratt (bapt. T. C.), o.s.p.; 8. 
William Brownrigg, B.A. ; 4. James Pratt ; 5. Percy 
Scott, in H.O., M.A., Warden of St. Columba's 
College ; 6. Charles Pratt, m. Miss Annie Baldwin ; 
7. Fitzgerald; 8. Gertrude Sarah, m. Eev. E. S. 
Daunt ; 9. Constance Isabella ; 10. Kathleen Alice. 

JOHN FAWCETT, 1858-61, 

son of George Fawcett, Esq., was educated at Dr. 
Wall's school, and entered T.C.D., Jan. 11, 1858, as 
a Fellow Commoner. He graduated B.A., 1856, 
M.A., 1860. He was ordained Deacon by the Arch- 
bishop of Dublin, 1857, and Priest by the Bishop of 
Meath, 1858. He was appointed to the curacy of 
Monkstown in 1857* and of Taney, by Dr. Moeran, 



RECTORS AND CURATES FROM 1851. 89 

in 1858, which he resigned in 1861, on being ap- 
pointed Perpetual Curate of Tullow (Carrickmines). 
He was subsequently Curate of Ballymoney (Con- 
nor), 1868, Curate of Ballymena, 1869, and after- 
wards went to England, where he was Chaplain of 
the Poplar and Stepney Sick Asylum, from 1874 to 
1886, and Chaplain of the Stepney Union, from 
1877 to 1886. He m., 1851, Miss Dorothea Jane 
Maunsell Dunlevie, and had a dau., bapt. T. C., 
Isabella. (Crockford's Clerical Directory, 1886; 
Cox's Clergy List, 1867.) 

JOHN HOBART SEYMOUR, 1862-65, 
youngest son of Captain John Crossley Seymour, 
by his wife Frances Maria, dau. of Aaron Crossley 
Seymour, Esq., of Calcutta, was educated at Dr. 
Smith's school at Stillorgan, and having entered 
T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1853, and M.A., 1861. He 
was ordained Deacon, 1854, and Priest, 1855, by 
the Bishop of Down. He was Curate of Lisburn, 
1854-56, and of Aghaderg, 1857, Incumbent of 
Glencraig, 1858-59, and Curate of Christ Church, 
Belfast, 1859-61. On Jan. 21, 1862, he was nomi- 
nated Curate of Taney by Dr. Moeran, and licensed 
on the following day. He held the curacy until 
July, 1865, when he was nominated Curate of 
Trinity Church, Belfast. He was appointed Curate 
of Newcastle, Co. Down, in 1871, and was nomi- 
nated Incumbent of that parish on Jan. 1, 1873. 
He was appointed Precentor of Dromore in June, 
1894. He m. t first, May 16, 1856, Lily Anna Floyer, 



90 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

dau. of Alexander Jaffray Nicholson, Esq., M.D., 
of Dublin, who d. 1862, and has by her issue 1. 
John Nicholson, M.B. and B.CH., m., and has issue ; 
2. Clara; and secondly, June 4, 1867, Matilda, dau. 
of William Stevenson, Esq., of Belfast. 

EGBERT BAKER STONEY, 1866-68, 
son of Eobert J. Stoney, Esq., of Oakley Park, 
King's Co., by his wife Anne, dau. of J. Smith- 
wick, Esq., was educated at Parsonstown, Gal way, 
and Dublin. He entered T.C.D., July 1, 1858, and 
graduated B.A., 1862, M.A., 1870, B.D., 1874, and 
D.D., 1891. He was ordained Deacon, 1863, and 
Priest, 1864, by the Bishop of Cork. He was 
Curate of Bahan, 1868-64, of St. Mary's, Shan- 
don, 1864-65, and was nominated to the curacy of 
Taney by Dr. Moeran in 1866, and licensed on 
April 18 in the same year. He resigned the curacy 
in 1868, and became Curate of Donnybrook. In 
1872 he was appointed Incumbent of St. Matthew's, 
Irishtown. He was nominated Acting Chaplain to 
the Troops at the Pigeon House Fort in 1887, was 
appointed a Canon of Christ Church Cathedral in 
1893, and the same year a Chaplain to the Lord 
Lieutenant in Ireland. He m. Kate Mabel, dau. of 
Kichard Atkinson, Esq.,* of Gortmore, Dundrum, 
and has issue 1. Eichard Atkinson, 2. Alice Mary. 
Canon Stoney is the author of several papers and 
pamphlets, among others, of An Easy Catechism for 
Members of the Church of Ireland, which has been 
through numerous editions. 

* See Tombstone IV., chapter iii. 



RECTORS AND CURATES FROM 1851. 91 

EDWARD ARNOLD CARROLL, 1868 , 

son of William Carroll, Esq., of Eccles Street, 
Dublin, was educated at Mr. Sargent's school, and 
having entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1853, and 
M.A., 1884. He was ordained Deacon, 1855, and 
Priest, 1856, by the Archbishop of Dublin. He 
was Curate of Holy Trinity Church, Eathmines, 
from 1860 to July, 1864, and of Donadea, from 
1865 to 1868. He was nominated Curate of Taney 
by Dr. Hamilton in 1868, and licensed on April 1 
of that year. He m., April 27, 1859, Emily Eliza- 
beth, eldest dau. of James Carmichael, Esq., Clerk 
of the Crown for Tipperary, and has issue 1. 
Arnold Edward ; 2. Aylmer Singleton Arnold (bapt. 
T. C.) ; 3. Edith Frances ; 4. Elinor Emily Lindsay, 
m., in T.C., April 6, 1892, Thomas Frederick Nesbitt 
Irwin, Esq., and has issue (bapt. T. C.) i. Frederick 
Arnold, ii. Herbert Carmichael. 



SECOND CURATES. 

In addition to the curates already mentioned, a 
second curate has been occasionally attached to the 
parish. Amongst those who thus served under Dr. 
Moeran was the Eev. James Walsh, D.D., Eector of 
St. Stephen's, Dublin, and Canon of Christ Church 
Cathedral. In recent years the following have 
been appointed by Dr. Hamilton : 

-.JOHN EDWARD MURRAY, 1890-91, 
son of the Eev. John Edward Murray, sometime 
Eector of Edenderry, was b. in the King's Co., and 



92 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

having entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1887. He 
was ordained Deacon, 1888, and Priest, 1889, by 
the Bishop of Down. He was Curate of St. Luke's, 
Belfast, from 1888 to 1890, and was appointed 
Curate of Taney in June, 1890. He resigned the 
curacy in Dec., 1891, and has been since Curate of 
St. Paul's, Leicester. 

RALPH WALKER, 1892, 

son of George Walker, Esq., was b. in the Co. Eos- 
common, and was educated at Galway Grammar 
School. He entered T.C.D., and graduated B.A., 
1889. He was ordained Deacon, 1890, by the 
Bishop of Ossory, and Priest, 1894, by the Bishop 
of London. He was Curate of Rathvilly from 1890 
to 1891, and was appointed Curate of Taney, Jan., 
1892. He resigned in Nov., 1892, and was ap- 
pointed Curate of St. Peter's, Paddington. 

JAMES WILLIAM FFRANCK SHEPPAKD, 1893 

son of Frank Sheppard, Esq., of St; Cronan's, 
Boscrea, who was fifth son of Capt. James Shep- 
pard, of Clifton, Eoscrea, Co. Tipperary. He 
entered T.C.D. in 1884, and having obtained a 
Junior Moderatorship in Ethics and Logics, gradu- 
ated B.A., 1889, and M.A., 1898. He was ordained 
Deacon, 1891, and Priest, 1892, by the Bishop of 
Killaloe. He was Curate of Tulla and of Lickmo- 
lassy in 1891-92, and was appointed, Jan., 1893, 
Curate of Taney. 



CHAPTEK VII. 

CHUBCHWABDENS. 
CHRONOLOGICAL LIST FROM 1791. 

1791. Sir Thomas Lighten, Bart, and John 

Giffard. 

1792. Edward Mayne and Stephen Stock. 

1793. Hon. William Tankerville Chamberlaine and 

Alexander Jaffray. 

1794. James Potts and John La Touche Hume. 

1796 } Jobn Exshaw and Nathaniel Hone. 
1797. Valentine Dunn and Daniel Kinahan. 
-irjqq [ Richard Verschoyle and Henry Thompson. 

1800. Charles Haskins and Nathaniel Creed ; June 

3, William M'Kay, vice Nathaniel Creed, 
left the parish. 

1801. Charles Haskins and Robert Norman. 
1802.) Faithful William Fortescue and Robert 

1803. {" Norman. 

1804. George Thompson and Robert Turbett. 

1806 1 Daniel Beere and John Townsend Sinnett. 
1808 I ^ ames Crofton and Walter Bourne. 

1809. ) Peter Digges La Touche and William Ridge- 

1810. f way. 



94 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

1811.} 

1812. V William Ridgeway and Richard Versehoyle. 

1813. J 

1814. William Ridgeway and George Thompson. 

1815. William Ridgeway and Daniel Beere. 

) William Ridgeway and William Wood ; Sept. 
f *} I- 22, 1817, George Thompson, vice William 

J Ridgeway, deceased. 
1818. George Thompson and Walter Bourne. 

1820 I John White and Hum P hre y Minchin. 

1821. Barret Wadden and Robert Billing; Sept. 28, 

the resolution appointing Barret Wadden 
and Robert Billing rescinded, and John 
White and Humphrey Minchin reappointed. 

1822. Sir George Whiteford and James Crofton ; 

Aug. 21, James La Farrelle, vice James 
Crofton, resigned. 

1823. John Maconchy and Henry Dawson. 

1824. Morris Hime and Daniel Kinahan. 

1825. Daniel M'Kay and Joseph M'Dermott. 

1826. Daniel M'Kay and William Augustus 

Minchin. 

1827. William M'Caskey and William Scott. 

1828. William Jervis Whitthorne, and Samuel 

Warren. 

1829. Arthur Burgh Crofton and John Goddard 

Richards. 

1830. John Blake and George Kinahan. 

1831. William M'Caskey and John Theophilus 

Boileau. 

1832. John Curry and Hutchins Williams. 



CHURCHWAKDENS. 95 

1833. John Elliott Hyndman and James Turbett. 

1834. Daniel Kinahan and Samuel Box well. 

1835. Arthur Burgh Crofton and John West. 

1836. John Blake and Daniel Kinahan. 

1837. John West and William Walsh. 

1838. John Blake and John Elliott Hyndman. 

1839. William Walsh and Samuel Tipper. 

1840. Daniel Kinahan and John West. 

1841. Michael Charles Bernard and John Hill 

Linde". 

1842. William Lewis and John Blake. 

1843. Eobert Maunsell and John William Bead. 

1844. Henry Joseph Mason and John Lee Whar- 

ton. 

1845. Manners M'Kay and Michael Charles Ber- 

nard. 

1846. John La Touche White and Henry Lindsell 

Shade. 

1847. John Lee Wharton and John Blake. 

1848. Charles Pickering and Henry Thomas Price. 

1849. Henry Birch and John Lee Wharton. 

1850. William Stanley Purdon and Eichard 

Thomas Bourne. 

1851. James Lawrence Digges La Touche and 

Eobert Euskell. 

1852. Eobert Orme and George Daniell. 

1853. John Thomas Lloyd and William Lewis. 

1854. William Curtis and Henry Thompson. 

1855. James Lawrence Digges La Touche and 

James Turbett. 

1856. Edward Perceval Westby and Eichard 

Downer Webb Bond. 



96 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

1857. Alexander Dickson and John Porter. 

1858. Charles Pickering and Henry Thomas Price. 

1859. Edmund D'Olier and Edward Perceval 

Westby. 

1860. Richard Manders and Edward Armstrong 

Vicars. 

1861. Henry Birch and Edmund D'Olier. 

1862. John Vincent and James Espinasse. 

1863. John Maunsell and John Davis Garde. 

1864. Edward Perceval Westby and Henry Eoe. 

1865. George Kinahan and Eobert Turbett. 

1866. Henry Birch and James Espinasse. 

1867. Henry Eoe and Martin Kirwan. 

1868. Edward Perceval Westby and George Kina- 

han. 

1869. John Eeilly and Henry Birch. 

1870. Edward Perceval Westby and Eobert Ash- 

worth Studdert. 

1871. Eobert Ashworth Studdert and William 

Andrew Hayes. 

1872. William Andrew Hayes and John Eeilly. 

1873. John Eeilly and Henry Birch. 

1874. Edward Perceval Westby and Henry Birch. 

1875. Edward Perceval Westby and William John 

Freke. 

1876. William John Freke and John Walsh. 

1877. Francis Eawdon Moira Crozier and Eobert 

Henry Tilly. 

1878. Eobert Henry Tilly and Henry Darby 

Griffith. 

1879. Henry Darby Griffith and Eichard Henry 

Archibald M'Cornas. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 97 

1880. Richard Henry Archibald M'Conias and 
Isaac William Usher. 

! 00 ' > Isaac William Usher and Isaac Ashe. 

J.OO.4.) 

1883. Walter Reginald Crofton and Everard 

Hamilton. 
1884. ) 

1885. (Everard Hamilton and Thomas Manifold 

1886. f Craig. 
1887. ) 

1888. Thomas Manifold Craig and Joseph St. 

Clair Mayne. 

1889. Joseph St. Clair Mayne and Isaac Beckett. 

1890. Isaac Beckett and Isaac William Usher. 

1891. Isaac William Usher and Francis Elrington 

Ball. 

1892. Francis Elrington Ball and John Gardiner 

Nutting. 

1893. John Gardiner Nutting and Alexander 

Hamilton. 

1894.) Alexander Hamilton and William Henry 
1895. f Foster Verschoyle. 



ASHE, ISAAC, 1881-82, 

of the Central Asylum; M.D. & M.CHIR., T.C.D., 
F.K.Q.C.P.I. ; eldest son of the Rev. Isaac Ashe, by 
his wife Jane, dau. of Robert Ellis, Esq. ; m. Sarah, 
dau. of Henry Gore, Esq., and had issue 1. Isaac 
Leslie, Sch. & B.A., T.C.D. ; 2. Arthur, Sch., T.C.D., 
d. July 4, 1892 ; 3. Robert William D'Estcourt ; 



WO THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

4. Edward, d. Oct. 7, 1875; 5. Mary Kathleen 
Jane ; 6. Sarah Ethel Barbara ; 7. Lilian Evelyn. 
Dr. Ashe d. Nov. 19, 1891. 

BALL, FRANCIS ELRINGTON, 1891-92, 

of Taney House ; J.P. Co. Dublin ; second surviving 
son of the Eight Hon. John Thomas Ball, and of 
his wife Catherine, dau. of the Rev. Charles 
Eichard Elrington, D.D. 

BECKETT, ISAAC, 1889-90, 

of Altamont ; J.P. Dublin ; had issue, by his wife 
Georgina, 1. George Edmund, 2. Arthur, bapt. in 
T. C. 

BEERE, DANIEL, 1805-6-15, 

of Mount Anville ; Secondary in Lord Treasurer's 
Eemembrancer's Office, and Deputy Pursuivant of 
the Court of Exchequer; m., 1791, Miss Butler, 
only dau. of Gerald Butler, Esq., of Ballyadams, 
Queen's Co., and had issue 1. George, Captain 1st 
West India Regt., d. at sea, leaving one son, Col. 
D. Beere ; 2. Gerald, in H.O., m., 1827, Mary, eldest 
dau. of General Armstrong, R.A., and had issue ; 

3. Edward, went to Australia, m., and had issue ; 

4. Daniel, m., and had issue; 5. Susan; 6. Char- 
lotte, m., in T. C., Oct. 8, 1820, William Maxwell 
Eason, Esq., and had a son, Henry Daniel, bapt. 
T. C. ; 7. Anne; 8. Margaret; 9. Eosetta Adeline. 
Mr. Beere d. circa 1824. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 99 

BERNARD, MICHAEL CHARLES, 1841-45, 
of Elm Lawn, Dundrum; B.A., 1832, M.B., 1835, 
T.C.D., L.R. c.s.i. ; third son of William Bernard, 
Esq., of Clonmulah, Co. Carlow; b. May 20, 1810, 
m., Feb. 23, 1841, Jane, youngest dau. of John 
Leigh, Esq., of Broomhedge, Cheshire, and Bole 
Street, Liverpool, and had issue (bapt. T. C.) 1. 
Joshua Josiah, d. an infant, Feb. 9, 1843 (bur. 
T. G.) ; 2. William Leigh ; 3. Godfrey Mayne, o.s.p., 
April 16, 1870 (bur. T. G.); 4. Charles John; 
5. Joseph St. Clair Smith; 6. Henry Hilton, 
o.s.p., Dec. 11, 1887 (bur. T. G.) ; 7. Kachel 
Isabel* ; 8. Sarah Maria Elizabeth (now of Elm 
Lawn) ; 9. Louisa Jane Victoria, d. unm., Nov. 6, 
1887 (bur. T. G.); 10. Eleanor Frances Henrietta; 
11. Adeliza Susan Mary Wilhelmina, d. young, 
May 13, 1864 (bur. T. G.) ; 12. Anna Travers 
Crofton, d. young, March 14, 1876 (bur. T. G.). 
Dr. Bernard d. April 24, 1881, and was bur. T. G. 
(pp. 29, 64). 

BILLING, EGBERT, 1821, 

of Bird Avenue, Farranboley ; Solicitor ; son of 
Thomas Billing, Esq. ; m., first, 1794, Elinor, dau. 
of John Meyler, Esq., and had by her issue 1. 
Theobald, m. Miss Ball ; 2. William, d. young ; 3. 
Emily, d. young ; 4. Eleanor ; m., secondly, 1805, 
Martha, dau. of John Busby, Esq., and had by her 
issue l.-Eobert, o.s.p.; 2. Alfred (bapt. T.C.), m. 
Miss Harriet Lewis ; 3. Anna Lucinda, MI., in T. C., 
* See Mayne, Joseph St. Clair. 



100 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

May 26, 1853, Daniel Maunsell, Esq. (see Maunsell, 
Kobert) ; 4. Eliza, m., in T. C., Nov. 6, 1838, James 
Stirling, Esq., afterwards of Ballawley Park, and 
had issue i. James Wilfred, Major R. Art., m. 
Miss Hoste, dau. of Colonel Hoste ; ii. Eliza Isabel, 
m., in T. C., July 10, 1867, William Napier Magill, 
Esq. ; iii. Matilda Lucy, m., in T. C., Dec. 16, 1869, 
Duncan Christopher Oliver Spiller, Esq. ; iv. Agnes 
Jane, m., in T. C., Sept. 2, 1874, Theophilus 
Clements, Esq. ; v. Alice, m., in T. C., Oct. 28, 
1875, Henry Elsdale, Esq. ; 5. Harriet. Mr. Billing 
d. April 18, 1840. 

BIBCH, HENRY, 1849-61-66-69-73-74, 
of Drummartin Castle; Barrister-at-Law, c. 1830, 
J.P. Co. Dublin ; m. Miss Sayce. He d. s. p. at 
Monaincla, Eoscrea, July 4, 1882, aged 76 years. 

BLAKE, JOHN, 1830-36-88-42-47, 
of Weston, Churchtown ; was the third son of 
Isidore Blake, Esq., of Oldhead, Co. Mayo (see 
Blake, of Towerhill, B.L.G., 1894) ; he m. Miss 
Charlotte Blake, of Corbally, and had, amongst 
other issue, Isidore John, Barrister-at-Law, who 
bad by his wife, Henrietta, issue, bapt. T. C. i. 
John Edward, ii. Isidore Anthony, iii. Richard 
George, iv. Henry Eugene, v. Maria Wilhelmina, 
vi. Charlotte Henrietta. 

BOELEAU, JOHN THEOPHILUS, 1831, 
of Drummartin ; he had issue by his wife, Eliza- 
beth Dorothea, bapt. T. C. 1. Nassau Molesworth ; 
2. Jasper Disbrisay ; 8. Samuel Brandram. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 101 

BOND, EICHAKD DOWNER WEBB, 1856, 
of Janeville, Koebuck ; son of Andrew Bond, Esq. ; 
ra., T. C., Aug. 9, 1855, Louisa Harriett, dau. of 
James Pratt, Esq., of Farmhill, and had issue, 
bapt. T. C. 1. Kichard Pratt ; 2. Charles John ; 3. 
William Henry. He d. at Bath, Nov. 21, 1864. 

BOUKNE, KICHARD THOMAS, 1850, 
of Taney Hill ; M.A., T.C.D., Barrister- at-Law, c. 
1840; fifth son of Walter Bourne, Esq. ; m., in T. C., 
Feb. 24, 1846, Mary Sophia, dau. of John Hill 
Linde, Esq. (q. u.), and o. s. p., Dec. 27, 1890. 

BOURNE, WALTER, 1807-8-18, 
of Taney Hill, and previously of Owenstown ; Deputy 
Clerk of the Crown of the North-East Circuit, 
and Clerk of the Crown of the King's Bench ; 
b. 1766 ; m., first, 1788, Elizabeth, dau. of Walter 
Peter, Esq., by whom he had issue Peter, m. 
1820, Miss Ellen Gibbs (d. Sept. 18, 1882), and d. 
Oct. 10, 1844, leaving issue ; m. secondly, 1791, 
Elinor, second dau. of Andrew Carmichael, Esq., 
by whom he had issue 1. Walter, Clerk of the 
Crown for Co. Antrim, m., m T.C., Aug. 6, 1821, 
Louisa Arabella (d. Jan. 2, 1882), dau. of Humphrey 
Minchin, Esq. (q. v.}, and d. Nov. 19, 1881, having 
had issue i. Eichard Carmichael, Surgeon 3rd 
Dragoon Guards, d. April 15, 1871, ii. Humphrey 
Minchin,. Barrister-at-law (present owner of the 
Bourne property at Dundrum), iii. Walter, M.D., m. 
May 18, 1870, Geraldine Caroline, only dau. of Sir 



102 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

John Judkin Fitzgerald, Bart., and has issue, iv. 
Andrew (bapt. T. C.), Solicitor, m. Miss Clarke, 
o.s.p., Dec., 1893, v. William Henry, M.D., o. s. p., 
June 22, 1856, vi. John (bapt. T. C.), vii. Charles 
Henry, viii. Eleanor (bapt. T. C.),m., 1849, Anthony 
Beaufort Brabazon, Esq., M.D., and has issue, ix. 
Frances, x. Louisa, xi. Julia Adelaide (bapt. T. C.) ; 
2. Thomas Daniel, Clerk of the Crown for Co. 
Monaghan, o.s.p., Jan. 31, 1877 ; 3. William, in 
H.O., Eector of Eathcormack, m., 1833, Elizabeth, 
eldest dau. of Charles Frizell, Esq., M.D., of Castle 
Kevin, Co. W r icklow, and o. s.p., April 5, 1851 ; 4. 
Andrew, m. Miss Charlotte Bolton, o. s. p., March 6, 
1886 ; 5. Richard Thomas (q. v.) ; 6. Jane, m., 
1812, Richard Carmichael, Esq., M.D., and d. Nov. 
21, 1864 ; 7. Ellen, d. unm., July 16, 1876 ; 8. 
Marianne, d. unm., April 20, 1878 ; 9. Eliza, m. 1828, 
Thomas Belton, Esq., and d, Jan. 18, 1880 ; 10. 
Frances Margaret, m., in T.C., July 5, 1827, Bridges 
John Hooke, Esq., of the 34th Regt. of Infantry, 
and has issue, including Bridges Carmichael (bapt. 
T. C.) ; 11. Anna, m., 1826, Rev. Lyndon Henry 
Bolton, and d. May 14, 1886, leaving issue ; 12. 
Emily, m., in T. C., Aug. 23, 1831, Keith Claring- 
bould Hamilton Hallowes, Esq., and has issue. 
Mr. Bourne d. Nov. 18, 1848. 



BOXWELL, SAMUEL, 1884, 

of Campfield House ; m., 1802, Miss Jane Tinckler, 
and o. s.p., 1852. 



CHUECHWAKDENS. 103 

CHAMBERLAINE, HON. WM. TANKERVILLE, 1793, 
of Churchtown, and of Stephen's Green, Dublin, 
was the eldest son of Michael Tankerville Chamber- 
laine, Esq. He graduated B.A., T.C.D., 1774, and 
was called to the Irish Bar in 1779. He was re- 
turned in 1792 to the Irish Parliament as member 
for the Borough of Clonmines (Co. Wexford). He 
was appointed a Justice of the Common Pleas, 
Dec. 6, 1793, and a Justice of the King's Bench, 
June 20, 1794. He d. at his residence in Church- 
town on May 12, 1802, and was bur. in St. Ann's 
Church, Dublin. He m., 1780, Lucy, eldest dau. 
of Higatt Boyd, Esq., of Koslare, Co. Wexford, 
and had issue four sons and six daughters. (See 
pedigree of Chamberlaine family, Irish Builder, 
vol. xxix. (1887), p. 265.) 

The following obituary notice of him appears in 
the Gentleman's Magazine, vol. Ixxii., pt. i., p. 585 : 

"To the most profound legal knowledge he joined an 
inflexible integrity and firmness of mind, which were so 
eminently displayed in the late unfortunate rebellion, that 
he will live for ever in the hearts of a grateful nation. He 
possessed brilliant talents with an infinity of wit ; but such 
was the benevolence of his disposition, that in his most 
cheerful hours he was never heard to utter an expression 
that could cause a pang in the heart of anyone ; and though 
suffering excruciating pain from the gout, he always pre- 
served his usual equanimity of temper. His manners were 
gentle and conciliating. He discharged the duties of every 
station with exemplary fidelity ; and universally respected, 
he died universally regretted." 

The Dublin Evening Post, May 15, 1802, says he 
was " a good man, an able lawyer, and an honest 
judge." 



104 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

In an inscription on a monument erected in St. 
Ann's Church, Dublin, to him and to his friend 
Lord Downes (who desired that he should be 
buried with him), he is stated to have excelled in 
promptness and penetrating force of intellect. See 
Blacker 's Sketches of Booterstown, p. 822. 

CRAIG, THOMAS MANIFOLD, 1884 TO 1888, 
of Eockmount ; son of Eichard Craig, Esq., m. 
Annie, dau. of Thomas Gorton, Esq., of Burton- 
on-Trent, Staffordshire, and had issue 1. Arthur 
Eichard Thomas, d. Feb. 28, 1890 (bur. T. G.) ; 
2. Ernest Manifold; 3. Myra Eleanor; 4. Nora 
Mary, m., in T. C., June 3, 1891, Thomas Du Bedat 
Whaite, Esq., A.M.D. Mr. Craig d. Dec. 2, 1890, 
and was bur. in T. G. 

CREED, NATHANIEL, 1800, 

of Owenstown, and of Great Ship Street, Dublin ; 
Livery Lace Manufacturer ; was b. 1750, m., in 
St. Mary's Church, Dublin, Sept. 30, 1790, Miss 
Eebecca Donolan, and had issue 1. William 
Nathaniel, d. June 13, 1815 ; 2. James Joseph, d. 
April 18, 1825 ; 3. Nathaniel, d. Jan. 17, 1805 ; 4. 
Maria, m., T. C., Dec. 23, 1819, James Allen Hey- 
land, Esq. (d. Dec. 11, 1837), and d. Dec. 8, 1880. 
Mr. Creed d. April 17, 1805, and was bur. in T. G., 
with the above members of his family (p. 32). 

CEOFTON, ARTHUR BURGH, 1829-35, 

of Eoebuck Castle ;* J.P. and High Sheriff, 1842, of 

* See under John, Baron Trimleston, chapter viii. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 105 

Co. Dublin ; eldest son of James Crofton, Esq. 
(g.v.); m., in T. C., Oct. 7, 1828, Catherine (d. April 14, 
1882), dan. of Willcocks Hubaud, Esq., by his wife 
Frances, eldest daughter of Arthur Chichester 
Macartney, Esq., by his wife Anna, dau. of Samuel 
Lindesay, Esq., and had issue (lapt. T. C.) 1. 
George James, d. ; 2. Frances, d. ; 3. Louisa, d. ; 4. 
Matilda, d. ; 5. Letitia Augusta Laughton, m. David 
Boyle Hope, Esq., Sheriff of Koxburghshire, Ber- 
wickshire, and Selkirk, and has issue i. James, 
ii. Kathleen, iii. Hilda. Mr. Crofton d. Dec. 29, 
1850. 

CROFTON, JAMES, 1807-8-22, 

of Roebuck Castle,* and of the Irish Treasury ; 
m., 1797, Frances (d. Jan. 8, 1811, bur. T. G.), dau. 
of Arthur Stanley, Esq., and had issue 1. Arthur 
Burgh (q.v.) ; 2. George, Lieut., 17th Lancers, d. 
in India ; 8. Louisa, bur. T. G., June 25, 1822 ; 
4. Anne, bur. T. G., April 29, 1817 ; 5. Frances, 
d. ; 6. Eliza, d. an infant, bur. T. G. Mr. Crofton 
was bur. T. G., June 5, 1828 f (p. 81). 

CROFTON, WALTER REGINALD, 1883, 
of Roebuck Lodge ; c. to the English Bar, Inspector 

* See under John, Baron Trimleston, chapter viii. 

f Mr. Crofton and his son, Mr. Arthur Burgh Crofton, 
were Commissioners for the construction of the Eoyal Har- 
bour of George IV. at Kingstown, then called Dunleary, and 
their names appear on the monument erected in 1823 to 
commemorate the laying of the first stone by the Lord Lieu- 
tenant (Earl Whitworth), on May 31, 1817. 



108 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

of Irish Prisons, J.P. Co. Dublin; eldest son of the 
Eight Hon. Sir Frederic Crofton, C.B., by his wife 
Anna Maria, only dau. of the Eev. Charles Shipley ; 
/., 1880, Georgina Louisa, dau. of Rev. John 
Harrison, late Vicar of Bishopstone, Sussex. 

CEOZIEE, FEANCIS RAWDON MOIEA, 1877, 
of Roebuck Hall; M.A., T.C.D., Solicitor; son of 
Thomas Crozier, Esq., of Seafield, Stillorgan Road ; 
m. Catherine Sophia (d. Feb. 16, 1887), dau. of Rev. 
William Magee, Rector of Dunganstown, and has 
issue 1. Thomas Francis, 2. William Magee (bapt. 
T. C.), 8. George Francis, 4. Francis RawdonMoira 
(bapt. T. C.), 5. Louis Herbert (bapt. T. C.), 6. Kath- 
leen Amelia. 

CUEEY, JOHN, 1832, 

of Drummartin House and of Sir John Rogerson's 
Quay ; Timber Merchant ; m., Kilgobbin Church, 
Oct. 6, 1824, Eliza, fourth dau. of Alexander 
Brenan, Esq., Six Clerk in Chancery, of Kingston 
Lodge, and had a son, Benjamin Shafton, and a 
dau., Anne Elizabeth, bapt. in T. C. Mr. Curry d. 
circa 1887. 

CUETIS, WILLIAM, 1854, 
of Churchtown. 

DANIELL, GEOBOE, 1852, 

of Mount Dillon ; Captain, E.N. ; third son of Henry 
Daniell, Esq., and Isabella, dau. of Robert Tighe, 
Esq., of South Hill (see Daniell, of New Forest ; 



CHURCHWARDENS. 107 

B.L.G., 1894); b. Aug. 81, 1797, m., June 23, 
1842, Alicia Catherine (d. March 3, 1885), eldest 
surviving dau. of the Eight Hon. Francis Black- 
burne,* and had issue, a son, Francis Henry Black- 
burne (bapt. T. C.), Fellow of Trinity College, Cam- 
bridge, c. to the English Bar, who m., Aug. 16, 
1877, Caroline Sophia, eldest dau. of William Bence 
Jones, Esq., of Lisselan, Co. Cork, and has issue 
i. George Francis Blackburne, ii. William Arthur 
Blackburne, iii. Francis Eeginald Blackburne, iv. 
Henry Edmund Blackburne, v. Alice Caroline 
Blackburne. Captain Daniell d. Nov. 2, 1856. 

Captain Daniell had a distinguished naval career ; 
he joined as First-class Volunteer in the Africaine, 
June 24, 1810, and served in the action between 
her and the French frigates, Astree and Iphigenie, 
on Sept. 13, 1810, when she was captured. He 
was prisoner in the Mauritius until Dec. 6, 1810, 
when the island was taken by the British. He 
afterwards served in the Mediterranean, and in 
1813-14 took part in cutting out attacks at Lan- 
guillia and Alassio, on the coast of Genoa, in the 
capture of Leghorn, in the attacks on forts at 
Spezzia, and in other operations preceding the 
surrender of Genoa. He was at Plymouth in 
1815, when the Bellerophon was there with Napo- 
leon, and, in a letter in the possession of his son, 
mentions that Napoleon was very observant of 
everything on board the English ships, and par- 
ticularly of the exercises of the sailors. He took 
* See Eight Hon. Francis Blackburne, chapter viii. 



108 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

part in the expedition of the Leven and Earracouta, 
which were sent to explore the African coast, and 
which made the first survey of Delagoa Bay and of 
the coast up to Madagascar. At the Battle of Nava- 
rino he commanded the cutter of the Mosquito in an 
attack on fireships, when two of the boat's crew 
were killed and three wounded, and was promoted 
to the rank of Commander for his conduct on that 
occasion, besides receiving the Navarino medal. 
He commanded the Despatch in the West Indies 
from June 7, 1832, to Oct. 6, 1835, and received 
the thanks of the British Consul and merchants at 
Para, in Brazil, for the protection to life and pro- 
perty afforded during a revolution there. The 
Portuguese Government also conveyed their thanks 
through their Ambassador in London to Lord 
Palmer ston, and the Lords of the Admiralty ex- 
pressed approval of his conduct in a despatch to 
the Comiuander-in-Chief on the West Indian and 
North American station. He was promoted to the 
rank of captain on June 28, 1838, being amongst 
those who received commissions at the coronation 
of our present Sovereign. 

DAWSON, HENRY, 1823, 

of Drummartin Castle, and of Hume Street, Dub- 
lin ; b. 1782; Barrister-at-Law, c. 1806; m., first, 
1807, Miss Letitia Stapleton (d. Aug., 1808), and 
had issue, William, d. Jan., 1818 ; m., secondly, 
1811, Miss Emily Dunne, and had issue 1. 
Thomas ; 2. Henry, d. Oct., 1868 ; 3. Bichard ; 



CHURCHWARDENS. 109 

4. William Augustus (bapt. T. C.), in H.O., d. July, 
1857 ; 5. Elinor, m., T. C., Feb. 28, 1835, William 
Jacob, Esq. ; 6. Louisa (bajrt. T. C.) ; 7. Catherine 
(bapt. T. C.) ; 8. Emily Vesey (bapt. T. C.). Mr. 
Dawson d. Jan., 1833, and is bur. in Stillorgan 
Churchyard. 

DICKSON, ALEXANDER, 1857, 
of Moreen ; Barrister-at-Law, c. 1841 ; m., but 



D'OLIER, EDMUND, 1859-61, 

of Roebuck Cottage ; B.A., T.C.D. ; had issue by his 
wife, Maria Louisa, bapt. T. C. 1. Edmund; 2. 
Isaac Bertram ; 3. Cathcart Rutherford ; 4. Emily 
Elizabeth Violet ; 5. Margaret Ethel ; 6. Theodora 
Alice ; 7. Rosanna Beatrice. 

DUNN, VALENTINE, 1797, 

of Dundrum, and of Castle Street, Dublin ; Iron- 
monger ; TO., 1791, Miss Barbara Sinnett, and d. 
circa 1822. 

ESPINASSE, JAMES, 1862-66, 

of Rockmount Cottage ; Captain 1st Royal Regt., 
son of William Espinasse, Esq., by his wife Susan 
Mangin ; m. Julia (d. June 19, 1877, bur. T. G.), 
dau. of William Stephens, Esq., of St. Kitts, West 
Indies,_and had issue 1. William, m. Margaret, 
dau. of Robert Bailie, Esq., and has issue i. 
Robert, ii. James, iii. Mary, iv. Dora ; 2. Reuben, 



110 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

w. Miss Madeline Gilmor, and d. at Melbourne, 
June 27, 1893, leaving one son, Bernard ; 3 Mary, 
d., Dec. 29, 1879 (bur. T. G.). Capt. Espinasse d. 
March 1, 1874, and was bur. in T. G. (p. 34). 

EXSHAW, JOHN, 1795-96, 

of Koebuck and Grafton Street, Dublin ; book- 
seller and publisher. He was Sheriff of Dublin in 
1779-80, and Lord Mayor in 1780-90, and for part 
of 1799-1800. He d. Jan. 6, 1827. 

His death is thus recorded in the Gentleman's 
Magazine, vol. xcvii., pt. i., p. 94 : 

"At his seat at Eoebuck, John Exshaw, Esq., senior 
Alderman and the oldest magistrate in the County of Dublin. 
Alderman Exshaw was elected to the aldermanic gown in the 
year 1782. In 1790 he contested the election for the City of 
Dublin in the Irish Parliament, but did not succeed. During 
the disturbances in 1797-98, he commanded the Stephen's 
Green Yeomanry,* which formed a fine and well-disciplined 
battalion, upwards of 1,000 strong : he was likewise Adjutant- 
General to the entire yeomanry forces in the Dublin district, 
and was considered an excellent officer, reversing the adage, 
cedunt arma toga. On one occasion, during these distur- 
bances, the command of the Dublin Garrison devolved upon 



* On St. Patrick's Day, 1797, " the first regiment of 
Royal Dublin Volunteers, commanded by Captain Alderman 
Exshaw, received two very elegant stands of new colours 
from the hands of Miss Exshaw (daughter of the captain 
commandant) at her father's house in Grafton Street, very 
richly embroidered with great taste by this young lady, 
which she presented with a most becoming modesty, accom- 
panied with a short but handsome speech." Hibernian 
Magazine, 1797, pt. i., p. 217. 



CHUECHWAKDENS. Ill 

him for a short time in consequence of the absence of the 
troops of the line. Alderman Exshaw was one of the police 
magistrates of the 2nd Division ; this office, in consequence 
of the late - arrangements, dies with him. He was likewise 
the publisher of the Hue and Cry, the emoluments of which 
are stated to be about 1,000 a year." 

FOKTESCUE, FAITHFUL WILLIAM, 1802-3, 
of Ballaly, and Milltown Grange, Co. Louth ; Bar- 
rister-at-Law, c. 1796 ; Member for the Borough of 
Monaghan in the Irish Parliament, 1797-1800 ; 
only son of William Fortescue, Esq. (see History 
of the Family of Fortescue, by Lord Clermont, 1880, 
p. 212), m., Nov., 1796, Jane, second dau. of John 
Adair, Esq. (see Adair of Bellegrove, B. L. G., 
1846), and o. s. p., 1824. 

FREKE, WILLIAM JOHN, 1875-76, 
of Bellemont ; B.A., T.C.D. ; son of James Freke, 
Esq., by his wife Anne, dau. of the Eev. Michael 
Sandys ; m. t 1843, Frances Mary (d. June 3, 1880, 
bur. T. G.), dau. of Thomas Johnson, Esq., and had 
issue 1. Percy Evans, m., in T. C., July 15, 1885, 
Kathleen Maria, dau. of William Eichard Hamilton, 
Esq., M.D., and has issue (bapt. T. C.), Raymond 
Forbes ; 2. Katherine Mary. Mr. Freke d. Nov. 17, 
1879, and was bur. in T. G. (pp. 84, 37). 

GABDE, JOHN DAVIS, 1863, 

of Mount Dillon ; Crown Solicitor, Cos. Longford 
and Cavan ; in. Catherine McVeagh, dau of Henry 
Lumsden, Esq., D.L., of Auchindoir, Aberdeenshire, 



112 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

and had issue 1. Kichard Davis, m. Ida Mary, 
dau. of Colonel Paton, D.L., of Granholm, Aber- 
deenshire ; 2. Susan Elizabeth, m. Edward Perceval 
Westby, Esq., D.L. (q. v.) ; 3. Katherine Georgina, 
m. John Smyly, Esq., M.A. ; 4. Henrietta Lumsden ; 
5. Mary Olivia. Mr. Garde d. in 1889. 

GIFFARD, JOHN, 1791, 

of Woodbine Hill, Dundrum ;* Accountant-General 
of His Majesty's Customs in Dublin ; High Sheriff 
of Dublin,| 1793-94; a Captain in the Dublin 
Militia. He m., June, 1769, Sarah, dau. of William 
Morton, Esq., and had issue 1. Ambrose Har- 
dinge,} LL.D., T.C.D., Chief Justice of Ceylon, 
and a Knight; m., 1808, Harriet, dau. of Lovell 
Pennell, Esq., d. April, 1827, leaving issue ; 2. 
John, d. young ; 3. William, Lieut. 82nd Eegt., 
murdered by the rebels in May, 1798 ; 4. Stanley 
Lees, || M.A., LL.D., Barrister-at-Law of the Middle 
Temple, for twenty-five years editor of the Standard, 
d. Nov. 6, 1858, having m., first, 1814, Susannah 
Meares, dau. of Francis Moran, Esq., of Down- 
hill, Co. Mayo, by whom he had issue i. John 

* Woodbine Hill is mentioned in the Post-Chaise Com- 
panion, 1803, p. 3, as being on the main road opposite Dun- 
drum Castle. 

f " His chariot was pearl blue ; the carriage and wheels 
dark brown, picked in with orange, blue, and white." Antho- 
logia Hibernica, vol. ii., p. 315. 

J See Dictionary of National Biography, vol. xxi., p. 290. 

See Gentleman's Magazine, vol. Ixviii, pt. i., p. 535. 

|| See Dictionary of National Biography, vol. xxi., p. 296. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 118 

Walter de Longueville (bapt. T. 0.), M.A., Oxon., 
a Judge of the County Courts in England, m. 
Emilie, dau. of D. B. Scott, Esq., and d. Oct. 
28, 1888, leaving issue, ii. Francis Osborne (bapt. 
T. C.), B.A., Oxon., in H.O., m. Anna, dau. of Eev. 
Richard Ryan (vide post], and d. Dec., 1894, leaving 
issue, iii. Hardinge Stanley, Baron Halsbury, 
sometime Lord High Chancellor of England, m., 
first, Caroline, dau. of W. C. Humphreys, Esq., 
and, secondly, Wilhelmina, dau. of Henry Wood- 
fall, Esq., and has issue, iv. Sara Lees, m. J. 
Houston Browne, Esq., v. Susanna, m. T. Aldwell, 
Esq., and having m. secondly, 1830, Mary Anne, 
dau. of Henry Giffard, Esq., R.N., by whom he had 
two sons and two daus. ; 5. Harriet, m., first, Major 
George King, and secondly, Rev. James Phelan, d. 
Dec. 24, 1858 ; 6. Mary Lees, m. Rev. Richard Ryan 
(see p. 71), who had, in addition to the children 
there mentioned, Anna Maria (vide ante), bapt. in 
Rathconnell Church. Mr. Giffard d. May 5, 1819. 
John Gifl'ard, of Drummartin, or Woodbine Hill, 
was b. in 1745, and was the only son of John 
Giffard and Dorcas O'Morchoe (anglicised " Mur- 
phy"), of Oulartleigh, a family of great antiquity 
in the county of Wexford. Mr. Giffard's father, 
John Giffard, was the head and representative of 
the Giffards of Halsbury and Brightleigh, one of 
the oldest families in the West of England, full and 
detailed particulars of which are to be found in 
the County Histories of Devon, Heralds Visitations, 
and many other works, such as the Worthies of 

i 



114 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Devon, by the learned Dr. Prince. The last 
Giffard of Halsbury was Eoger Giffard, Esq., who 
sold that property, and died in 1763. This Roger 
Giffard was the uncle (his father's younger brother) 
of Mr. John Giffard, the subject of this sketch. 
The other great family property, Brightleigh, with 
its vast possessions, was diverted from the regular 
channel of succession by the act of John Giffard, 
Esq., of that place, who in 1712 illegally disin- 
herited his little grandson, John Giffard, the father 
of John Giffard, of Druinmartin. Retaining only 
a portion of his patrimonial estates, this Mr. John 
Giffard was bred to the law, and died at the com- 
paratively early age of 47, while engaged in attempt- 
ing the recovery of his family estates, leaving one 
son (as before mentioned), John Giffard, a baby in 
arms. 

This orphan child, deprived thus early of his 
father, and of his mother six years later, was 
adopted by Counsellor Ambrose Hardinge, a friend 
of his father, who brought him up as his adopted 
son, until he too could help him no longer, by reason 
of liabilities incurred through an act of charity to a 
near connection. Thus deprived of all help from 
his friends and relations, and ousted from his lawful 
possessions in England, Mr. John Giffard went 
forth to seek his own fortune, which, though at first 
hard and necessitous, he encountered with a forti- 
tude worthy of the race from which he sprung. 
Steadily he set himself to overcome the many diffi- 
culties which faced him, until at length he obtained 



CHURCHWARDENS. 115 

a lucrative appointment in the Customs, and was 
subsequently made Accountant-General of the 
Customs in Dublin. He became a leading member 
of the Dublin Corporation, and took an active and 
prominent part in all local affairs. When the 
Volunteer movement was started in 1778, he was 
one of the earliest to join, and the first company of 
Dublin Volunteers was formed at his house. In 
1793 he entered the City of Dublin Militia on its 
enrolment, and continued a Captain until 1802. 
On the occasion of Emmet's rebellion in 1803, he 
applied for permission to raise a corps of Yeomanry 
in the neighbourhood of Dundrum, and in ten days 
had enlisted 150 Volunteers, and was able to march 
them fully armed and respectably disciplined to a 
review in the Phoenix Park. While High Sheriff 
he detected the Back Lane Parliament, and, at risk 
of his life, entered and dispersed the meeting. A 
strong Protestant and supporter of the English 
Government, he had good reason for being decided 
in his views, as he had seen his son murdered by 
the rebels in Kildare, and also as his wife's nephew, 
Captain Eyan, had been killed in assisting to arrest 
Lord Edward Fitzgerald. As the owner of a paper 
called the Dublin Journal, he materially assisted the 
Government, and was one of the most resolute 
advocates for. the Union with England. 

With such opinions, it is needless to say, he has 
been the subject of much misrepresentation from 
political opponents, and Gilbert in his History of 
Dublin, vol. ii., p. 53, gives an account of his career, 



116 THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

extracted from Sir Jonah Barrington's Personal 
Sketches, which in many respects is ungenerous and 
unjust. He says, however, in the conclusion that, 
notwithstanding Giffard's strong political and re- 
ligious prejudices, he never allowed the acerbities 
of party feeling to impede the dictates of benevo- 
lence ; and in private life he was always found to 
be a steadfast and generous friend.* 

See obituary notice in Gentleman's Magazine, 
vol. Ixxxix., pt. i., p. 481, and under Halsbury in 
B. P., 1895. 

GRIFFITH, HENKY DARBY, 1878-79, 

of Margaretta, Koebuck; General, C.B., Colonel 
5th Lancers, Equerry to the Queen, commanded 
the Scots Greys all through the Crimea, and was 
wounded at Balaclava. He was son of General 
Matthew Chitty Darby Griffith (see Griffith of Pad- 
worth, B. L. G., 1894), and m. Miss Bainbridge 
(d. May, 1893). He d. s. p., Nov. 17, 1887. 

* His son, Dr. Stanley Lees Giffard, in a letter written in 
1837 (Dublin University Magazine, vol. x., p. 622) to vindi- 
cate his father's memory from an attack made on him in 
connection with his command of a detachment of the Dublin 
Militia at the " Battle of the Diamond," in the Co. Armagh, 
in Sept., 1795, says that, though the part which his father 
acted in Irish politics was not very obscure, he was never 
accused of a single act of persecution, and that he frequently 
expressed his thankfulness that he had passed through the 
whole of the civil war from 1795 to 1799, generally holding 
an independent military command, without being under the 
necessity of inflicting severity in a single instance. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 117 

HAMILTON, ALEXANDER, 1893-94-95, 

of Bellemont ; Barrister-at-Law, J.P. Co. Dublin ; 
son of Gustavus Hamilton, Esq., m., T. C., Aug. 14, 
1883, Anita Ellen Mary, dau. of William Eichard 
Hamilton, Esq., M.D. (p. 37), and has issue 1. 
Muriel Maud ; 2. Mildred Anita ; 3. Anita, d. an 
infant, bur. T. G. 

HAMILTON, EVERABD, 1883 TO 1887, 

of Sydenliam Terrace, now of Ballinteer Lodge; 
B.A., T.C.D., Solicitor ; son of John Hamilton, Esq. 
(who was son of Gustavus Hamilton, Esq., above 
mentioned), by his wife, Adelaide Margaret, dau. of 
William Maffett, Esq., m., T. C., April 21, 1881, 
Elinor Anna, dau. of Andrew Nolan, Esq., M.D., 
and has issue, bapt. T. C. 1. Gustavus Everard ; 

2. Helen Mary Adelaide ; 3. Sylvia Grace Victoria. 

HASKINS, CHARLES, 1800-3, 

of Eoebuck, and of Summer Street, Dublin ; a 
clothier ; m., 1788, Miss Mary Kelly. 

HAYES, WILLIAM ANDREW, 1871-72, 

of Summerville; B.A., T.C.D. ; m., first, 1851, Miss 
Elizabeth Carolin ; secondly, Miss Mary Eleanor 
Pratt, and had issue, baj>t. T. C. 1. Thomas 
William Patrick ; 2. Madaline Eleanor Eebecca ; 

3. Eva Sarah. His dau. Grace m., T. C., Sept. 7, 
1882, Brandram Henry Sydenham Boileau, Esq. 
Mr. Hayes </. May 12, 1889, and is bur. T. G. (p. 36). 



118 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

HlME, MOKBIS, 1824, 

of Koebuck ; had issue by his wife, Sophia (who d. 
Nov. 20, 1841)!. Maurice Caldwell, in H.O., m. 
Harriot, dau. of the Rev. Bartholomew Lloyd, D.D., 
Provost of T.C.D., and had issue i. Bartholomew 
Clifford, Sch., B.A. &Mod., T.C.D., d.; ii. John Ehames, 
B.A. & Mod., T.C.D., C.E., d. ; iii. Humphrey, Estate 
Agent in Toronto ; iv. Maurice William, B.A. and 
Vice-Chancellor's Prizeman, T.C.D., in H.O., Army 
Chaplain, d. in India ; v. Frederick, General, B.E. ; 
vi. Robert Douglas, B.A., T.C.D., Indian Civil Ser- 
vice, d. ; vii. Albert, Hon. Colonel, R.E. ; viii. 
Sophia, m. John H. Chapman, Esq., F.E.C.P.I. ; 
2. John Rhames, m. Miss Susan Black, and d. Oct. 
11, 1843, leaving issue i. Henry William Lovett, 
Col. R.A. ; ii. Maurice Charles, LL.D., Barrister-at-law, 
Head Master of Foyle College, m., first, Mary Stuart, 
dau. of the Rev. George Robinson, Rector of Tar- 
taraghan, Co. Armagh ; secondly, Rebecca, dau. of 
Professor James Apjohn, M.D., and has issue John 
Godfrey Whiteside, Charles Richardson, Mary 
Henrietta, Frances Charlotte ; iii. Thomas White- 
side, m. Miss Annie Tate ; iv. Frances Harriot, m. 
Rev. F. S. Aldhouse, M.A., Head Master of Drogheda 
Grammar School ; 8. Eliza, m. Edward Smith, Esq.; 
4. Clarissa, m., in T.C., May 81, 1817, George Gilling- 
ton, Esq. ; 5. Sophia, m. Surgeon Henry Haffield ; 
6. Sarah, m. Rev. Edward Hearn, Rector of Hurst 
Green, Lancashire ; 7. Harriot, m. Rev. John 
Whiteside, brother of Lord Chief Justice White- 
side. Mr. Hime d. circa Jan., 1828. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 119 

HONE, NATHANIEL, 1795-96, 

of Hannahville, Dundrum ; an Alderman of Dub- 
lin, High Sheriff, 1798-99, and Lord Mayor, 
1810-11 ; J.P. Co. of Dublin, and sometime 
Governor of the Bank of Ireland. He m., 1784, 
Miss Hannah Dickinson, and had issue 1. Henry ; 

2. Addison ; 3. Nathaniel ; 4. Hannah (bapt. T. C.), 
in. Frederick Moore, Esq. ; 5. Sarah (bapt. T. C.). 
He d. April 8, 1819. 

" A gentleman very much lamented, and who possessed 
many amiable qualities." Saunders' News-Letter, April 9, 
1819. 

HUME, JOHN LA TOUCHE, 1794, 
of Eoebuck; was third son of George Hume, Esq., of 
Humewood, by Anne, dau. of Thomas Butler, Esq. 
(See Hume, of Co. Wicklow, B.L.G., 1894.) He 
d. Jan., 1827. He was m., and left issue 1. John 
Samuel, d. Sept. 1, 1854 ; 2. Louisa ; 3. Elizabeth ; 
4. Anna Maria, m. Robert Mayston, Esq. 

HYNDMAN, JOHN ELLIOTT, 1833-38, 
of Roebuck Lodge,* and of Bachelor's Walk, Dub- 
lin ; Merchant ; Coroner of Dublin ; High Sheriff, 
1834-35 ; m., 1820, Miss Mary Hutchinson, and 
had issue 1. George Hutchinson (bapt. T. C.) ; 2. 
Elliott, m. Miss Elizabeth Curtis LaNauze, o. s. p. ; 

3. Thomas Warwick (bapt. T. C.), in Australia ; 

* Lewis, in his Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, vol. ii., 
p. 518, says that this was formerly the manor house, and 
about fifty years before that date (1837) the only house in the 
neighbourhood, with the exception of the Castle. 



120 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

4. John; 5. Mary (hapt. T. C.), d.unm.; 6. Everina; 

7. Elizabeth, m. Eev. Stephens; 8. Matilda. 

Mr. Hyndman d. April 21, 1859. 

JAFFRAY, ALEXANDER, 1798, 

of Koebuck; he d. at Cheltenham, on March 20, 
1818, in the 84th year of his age. 

"He was formerly an eminent merchant in the City of 
Dublin, and the first elected Governor of the Bank of Ire- 
land. He was descended from an ancient and respectable 
family in the Co. of Aberdeen, and was one of the surviving 
great-grandsons of Robert Barclay, of Urie, in Scotland, 
author of the learned Apology for the People called Quakers, 
in the principles of which sect he was educated. When he 
arrived at an age to form his own decisions, he became a 
member of the Established Church ; but through life he 
retained that simplicity and integrity of mind and conduct 
for which they have been justly celebrated. To these were 
added, a cultivated understanding, a generous and affectionate 
heart." Annual Register, vol. lx., p. 199; also see Gentle- 
man's Magazine, vol. Ixxxviii., pt. i., p. 473. 

KIRWAN, MARTIN, 1867, 
of Orchardton. 

KINAHAN, DANIEL, 1797-1824, 

of Boebuck Park, previously of Churchtowa, and of 
Merrion Square, Dublin ; b., 1756, ., first, 1791, 
Martha (d. 1800), dau. of George Paine, Esq., and 
had issue 1. George (q.v.)', 2. John, in H.O., M.A., 
T.C.D., Rector of Knockbreda, Co. Down, b. 1792, 
m., Stillorgan Church, Sept. 25, 1823, Emily, dau. 
of John George, Esq., and sister of the Eight Hon. 
Mr. Justice George, and d. Aug., 1866, leaving 



CHURCHWARDENS. 121 

issue; 3. Daniel (</. v.) ; 4. Eobert Henry, M.A., 
T.C.D., J.P., High Sheriff, 1851, and Lord Mayor 
of Dublin, 1853, b. 1799, TO., Dec. 22, 1822, 
Charlotte, dau. of Edward Hudson, Esq., M.D., of 
Fields of Odin, Eathfarnham, and d. April 29, 
1861, leaving issue;* 5. Prudentia, m., T. C., June 
10, 1814, Rev. Charles Henry Minchin (see Minchin, 
Humphrey), and d. 1868 ; 6. Martha, d. 1798. Mr. 
Kinahan m., secondly, 1805, Miss Julia Carr, and d. 
July, 1827. He was bur. in St. Mary's Churchyard, 
Dublin. 

KINAHAN, DANIEL, 1834-36-40, 

of Belfield, Roebuck; Classical Gold Medallist, 
T.C.D., M.A., Barrister-at-Law ; third son of Daniel 
Kinahan, Esq. (q. r.), b. 1797, m., 1825, Louisa 
Anne Stuart (d. Jan. 6, 1887), dau. of John Miller, 
Esq., by whom he had issue 1. Daniel Miller, d. 
1848; 2. John Robert, M.D., T.C.D., d. 1863; 3. 
George Henry, ., 1855, Henrietta Anne (d. 1889), 
dau. of Samuel Gerrard, Esq.; 4. James Bond, d. 
1857; 5. Charles Alfred (d. 1892), m., 1864, Louisa, 
dau. of Rev. Charles Minchin ; 6. Thomas William 
(bapt. T. C.), M.A., T.C.D., J.P., ?., 1864, Florence 
Sarah (d. July 11, 1881), dau. of Justin Macarthy, 
Esq. ; 7. Willoughby (bapt. T. C.), d. 1845 ; 8. 
Wensley (bapt. T. C.), d. 1845 ; 9. Louisa Stuart ; 
10. Julia Miller, d. 1886; 11. Henrietta Martha 
(bapt. T. C.), d. 1865 ; 12. Anna, m., 1865, John 
Kinahan, Esq., M.D. ; 13. Maria Charlotte, d. 1890 ; 

* See Sir Edward Hudson-Kinahan, Bart., chapter viii. 



122 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

14. Katherine Stuart (bapt. T. C.), m., 1876, H. 
Leonard, Esq. ; 15. Lucy Wensley. Mr. Kinahan 
d. June 9, 1859. 

KINAHAN, GEOBGE, 1830, 

of Roebuck Park; M.A., T.C.D., J.P. ; eldest son of 
Daniel Kinahan, Esq. (q. v.), b. 1791, m., 1815, 
Maria Jane (d. 1850), dau. of Alderman Cash, and 
had issue 1. Daniel, M.A., T.C.D., J.P., m., 1851, 
Harriett, dau. of J. Hone, Esq., and d. 1860, leaving 
issue (bapt. T. C.) i. George Percy Daniel, m. 
Amalinda Eosa, dau. of Major John Atkinson, 
89th Eegiment ; ii. Annie Julia, m., July 23, 1873, 
Charles Bent Ball, Esq., M.D. ; iii. Maria Jane ; iv. 
Harriett Lucy Nanette, m., May 17, 1894, James 
Caverhill, Esq.; 2. George (q.v.); 3. John Cash 
(bapt. T. C.) d.; 4. Robert William (bapt. T. C.), 
d. in Canada ; 5. Charles Henry, Major 63rd Regt., 
d. April 13, 1878 ; 6. Isabella; 7. Julia ; 8. Maria, 
m., T. C., Feb. 2, 1843, Joseph Hone, Esq., of 
Ashton Park, Monkstown; 9. Emily; 10. Henrietta 
Eleanor, m., T. C., May 14, 1845, Rev. George 
Bennett; 11. Matilda Louisa (bapt. T. C.) ; 12. Char- 
lotte Mary (bapt. T. C.) ; 13. Adelaide, ?., T. C., 
Oct. 9, 1860, Herbert William Clifford, Esq., M.D. 
Mr. Kinahan d. in 1853. 

KINAHAN, GEORGE, 1865-68, 

of Roebuck Park; J.P., D.L., and High Sheriff, 1873, 
of the City of Dublin, J.P., and High Sheriff, 1879- 
80, of the Co. of Dublin ; second son of George 
Kinahan, Esq. (q. v.). m., 1863, Margaret, dau. of 



CHUKCHWAKDENS. 123 

Eev. Daniel Dickinson, M.A., Rector of Seapatrick, 
Co. Down, and has had issue (bapt. T. C.) 1. 
George Daniel, d. an infant ; 2. George Dickinson, 
d. March 13, 1878; 3. Arthur Edward, B.A., Cantab.; 
4. Margaret Charlotte Emily, m., T. C., May 24, 
1892, Ivon Henry Price, Esq., LL.D., T.C.D., 
District Inspector, R.I.C. ; 5. Maria Georgina; 6. 
Alice Josephine, m., T. C., August 5, 1891, William 
Drummond Hamilton, Esq., M.A., Oxon. ; 7. Emily 
Elizabeth; 8. Isabella Frances; 9. Violet Georgina; 
10. Lilian Grace ; 11. Olive Rosa. 

LA FAREIXE, JAMES, 1822, 

of Friarsland and of the Stamp Office, Dublin ; in., 
Dec., 1817, Eliza, dau. of John Greene, Esq., of 
Leeson Street, and Greenfield, Co. Kildare, and had 
issue, bapt. T. C. 1. Thomas ; 2. Mary Anne. 

LA TOUCHE, JAMES LAWRENCE DIGGES, 1851-55, 
of Mountainview, Churchtown ; Barrister-at-Law, 
J.P. Co. Dublin ; son of James Digges La Touche, 
Esq. (eldest son of William La Touche, Esq., D.L., 
and Grace, dau. of John Puget, Esq.), and Isabella, 
dau. of Sir James Lawrence Cotter, Bart., m. Miss 
Elizabeth Pye, and o. s. p. 

LA TOUCHE, PETER DIGGES, 1809-10, 
of Belfield, Stillorgan Road, fifth son of James Digges 
La Touche, Esq., M.P., by his second wife, Martha, 
dau. of William Thwaites, Esq., m., 1789, Charlotte, 
dau. of George Thwaites, Esq., and had issue 1. 
Peter Digges, m. Mary Anne Moore, dau. of Dodwell 



124 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Browne, Esq., of Eahins, Co. Mayo, and had issue : 
i. Peter Dodwell Digges, in H.O., m. Miss Elizabeth 
Digges La Touche, ii. David Henry Digges, o. s. p., 
Hi. William Nassau Digges, iv. John James Digges, 
LL.D., Deputy Keeper of the Public Kecords of 
Ireland, m. Miss Anne Pringle, v. Everard Neal 
(Major), m. Miss Clementine Eagar, vi. Mary 
Elizabeth, d.itnm.,vu. Charlotte Sophia, viii. Louisa, 
(/. unni., ix. Janet, d. unm., x. Margaret Adelaide, 
d. unm., xi. Isabella Florence, m. Rev. Theodore 
James Cooper, xii. Marianne, d., m. Madison Wall 
Fisher, Esq., xiii. Octavia, d. unm.; 2. John James 
Digges, in H. 0., o. s. p., July 13, 1835; 3. George 
Digges, Barrister-at-Law, m., first, Miss Emily 
Grueber, and had issue two children ; secondly, 
Feb. 18, 1841, Frances, dau. of Kev. Caesar Otway, 
and had issue two children ; 4. Theophilus Digges, 
o.ft.p., June 24, 1858; 5. William Digges,M.D., o.s.p., 
Oct. 7, 1834 ; 6. Elizabeth, d.unm., Dec. 11, 1872; 
7. Emily, m. John Brenan, Esq. (d. Aug. 2, 1865), 
d. Dec. 3, 1841; 8. Frances, d. unm., Nov., 1826 ; 
9. Charlotte, d. young ; 10. Henrietta, <l. unm., 
Dec. 8, 1859 ; 11. Grace, d. unm., March 4, 1834 ; 
12. Gertrude, d. unm., March 21, 1880 ; 13. Martha, 
d. young ; 14. Sophia, d. unm., March 4, 1840. Mr. 
La Touche d. Feb. 2, 1820. 

LEWIS, WILLIAM, 1842, 
of Harlech, Roebuck ; Solicitor ; d. circa 1850. 

LEWIS, WILLIAM, 1853, 

of Harlech, Roebuck ; Solicitor ; had a son by his 
wife Jane, Harvey, bapt. in T. C. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 125 

LIGHTON, SIR THOMAS, BART., 1791, 
of Merville and of Stephen's Green, Dublin. A 
banker of the firm of Lighten, Needham, and Shaw, 
of Foster Place. He represented the Borough of 
Tuam in the Irish Parliament from 1790 to 1797, 
and the Borough of Carlingford from 1798 to 1800. 
He was created a Baronet on March 1, 1791, and 
took the title of Sir Thomas Lighten, of Merville, 
Dublin. He was High Sheriff of the Co. Dublin, 
1790. He was son of John Lighten, Esq., of 
Raspberry Hill, Co. Tyrone, by Elizabeth, his wife, 
dau. of John Walker, Esq., of Tisdern, Co. Tyrone. 
He m., Dec. 11, 1777, Anna (d. June, 1804), dau. of 
William Pollock, Esq., of Strabane, by whom he 
had issue 1. Thomas, who succeeded to the 
Baronetcy on the death of his father, and m., Dec. 
14, 1811, Miss Sylvia Brandon (d. May 24, 1817) ; 
he d. May 11, 1816 (bur. T. G.), and left an infant 
son, Thomas, b. Nov. 1813, who succeeded to the 
Baronetcy on the death of his father, and d. April 
20, 1817 ; 2. James, d. April, 1806 (bur. T. G.) ; 3. 
John, in H.O., Kector of Donaghmore, Co. Donegal, 
succeeded to the Baronetcy on the death of his 
infant nephew, m., Jan. 23, 1817, Mary Hamilton 
(d. June 28, 1826), second dau. of Christopher 
Pemberton, Esq., M.D., and d. April 5, 1828, leaving 
issue i. John Hamilton, b. May, 26, 1818, suc- 
ceeded to the Baronetcy on the death of his father, 
and o.s.p., April 29, 1844 : ii. Christopher Robert, 
M.A., in H.O., Vicar of Ellastone, succeeded to the 
Baronetcy on the death of his brother, b. May 28, 



126 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

1819, m., June 2, 1843, Mary Anne Elizabeth, only 
dau. of Eev. Digby Joseph Stopford Earn, and d. 
April 12, 1875, leaving Christopher, the present 
Baronet, and other issue ; iii. Thomas, b. Sept. 26, 

1820, o. s. p., May 3, 1852; iv. Andrew, M.A., b. 
Dec. 26, 1822, m., May 25, 1860, Eliza Amelia, 
youngest dau. of Henry Sumner Joyce, Esq. ; v. 
Mary, d. young ; 4. Henry Chester ; 5. Elizabeth 
(d. Jan. 18, 1848), m., Aug., 1803, Sir Samuel 
Hayes, Bart. ; 6. Anne, m. Charles Kea, Esq., of 
Fort Koyal, Co. Donegal ; 7. Charlotte, m. Eev. 
John Sweeny ; 8. Mary, d. Nov., 1794, bur. T. G. 
Sir Thomas d. April 27, 1805, and was bur. in 
T. G. on April 29. 

The following interesting account of his life 
appears in the obituary notices in the Annual 
Register, vol. xlviii., p. 496 : 

"At Dublin, Sir Thomas Lighten, Bart, and Banker, 
who was one of the many instances that ' honesty is the 
best policy.' He was very early in his life an humble 
trader, in the town of Strabane, in the North of Ireland, and 
proving unsuccessful, he went in search of better fortune to 
the East Indies, as a soldier in the company's service. He was 
a man of talent, and of a strong mind, and rendered himself 
extremely useful by having, in a very short time, acquired a 
knowledge of the Oriental languages. It was his good 
fortune to be confined in the same prison with the late 
General Matthews, who, previous to his unfortunate catas- 
trophe, entrusted to the care of Mr. Lighton jewels and 
property to an immense amount, to be delivered to his family 
if he should effect his escape ; and to ensure his zeal and 
punctuality, he presented him with a considerable sum. 
Being some time afterwards employed as an interpreter, he 



CHURCHWARDENS. 127 

took advantage of the first opportunity that offered to 
escape. After assuming various disguises, and encountering 
many perilous adventures, he arrived in London, and, waiting 
on Mrs. Matthews, delivered to her the last letter of her 
husband, together with the treasure. By her his fidelity is 
said to have been rewarded with 20,000. He immediately 
wrote to Ireland, to inquire for a beloved wife and child, 
whom he had left behind him, and sent a sum of money to 
discharge his debts. He found that his wife, whom he had 
left young, handsome, and unprotected, had, by honest in- 
dustry, supported herself and her daughter, then ten years 
of age, and given her an education superior to her humble 
means. He now took a handsome house in Stephen's Green, 
Dublin ; the seat belonging to the late Lord Chief Baron 
Foster, father of the Irish Chancellor of the Exchequer, 
near Dublin, was purchased, and new carriages were built 
for him. But an inactive life had no charms for him, and he 
embarked the greatest part of his fortune in a banking 
house, which has been very successful. Lady Lighten, 
whose amiable manners endeared her to all ranks, died some 
time since, and left a numerous family. " 

LINDE, JOHN HILL, 1841, 

of Drummartin House ; m., 1823, Charlotte Maria, 
dau. of Sir Henry Jebb, and had issue 1. William 
Edward (bapt. T. C.) ; 2. Mary Sophia, m., T. C., 
Feb. 26,1846, Eichard Thomas Bourne, Esq. (q. v.) ; 
8. Florence Beeves (bapt. T. C.) ; 4. Adelaide 
Louisa Jebb, ?., July 9, 1857, Herbert Panmure 
Bibton, Esq. (who was murdered at Alexandria, 
June 11, 1882), and had issue, Ada. 

LLOYD, JOHN THOMAS, 1853, 
of Farmley (now Lynwood) ; Barrister-at-Law ; 
eldest son of Bev. Edward Lloyd, of Castle Lloyd, 



128 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

by his wife, Dania Connor, m., Sept. 17, 1882, 
Elizabeth Grace (d. 1874), second dau. of Rev. E. 
Thomas, Rector of Ballinacourty, and had issue 

1. Edward, m. Miss Dora Harvey, and o. s. ;;., May, 
1850 ; 2. Richard, m. Miss Dorothea Harvey ; 8. 
William, d. 1876; 4. Francis; 5. Jane Georgina, m., 
1855, James Howlin, Esq., J.P., of Ballycronigan, 
Co. Wexford (Howlin, of Ballycronigan, B.L.G., 
1894), and has issue i. James, ii. Jane Georgina, 
iii. Nina ; 6. Dania ; 7. Edwina ; 8. Eliza Alice 
(bapt. T. C.). Mr. Lloyd d. 1853. 

MANDERS, RICHARD, 1860, 

of Rockrnount, and subsequently of Brackenstown, 
Swords ; m. Caroline, sister of Henry Roe, Esq., 
D.L. (q. v.), and had issue 1. Richard, m. Alice 
Dorothea, dau. of Henry Smith Wright, Esq.,M.p. ; 

2. Henry Robert (bapt. T. C.), in H.O., Vicar of 
Horbury Junction, Wakefield ; 8. George Edward 
Roe (bapt. T. C.) ; 4. John Frederick; 5. Caroline, 
m. C. P. Laudon, Esq., Indian Telegraphic Service; 
6. Kate Charlotte. Mr. Manders d. 1884. 

MASON, HENRY JOSEPH, 1844, 
of Summerville, Dundrum. 

MACONCHY, JOHN, 1828, 

of Roebuck ; eldest sou of John Maconchy, Esq., of 
Co. Derry (see Maconchy of Rathmore, B.L.G., 
1894), 6. May 30, 1793, m., March 4, 1816, Deborah, 
dau. of Stewart King, Esq., and had issue 1. 
George, afterwards of Rathmore, in. Louisa Eliza- 



CHURCHWAKDENS. 129 

beth, dau. of John Goddard Eichards, Esq. (q. v.) ; 
2. John Stewart, m. Henrietta Frances, dau. of Rev. 
Charles William Doyne ; 3. Elizabeth, m. Rev. 
Frederick FitzJohn Trench ; 4. Helen (bapt. T. C.), 
m. James Chaigneau Colvill, Esq. ; 5. Barbara, m. 
Lt.-Col. Thomas Harper Colvill. Mr. Maconchy 
d. Dec. 10, 1843. 

MAUNSELL, JOHN, 1863, 

of Rockmount, Dundrum, now of Edenmore, 
Raheny ; Solicitor, J.P. Co. Limerick ; son of Robert 
Maunsell, Esq. (q. v.), m., first, 1851, Catherine 
Lucinda (d. Feb. 3, 1862, bur. T. G.), dau. of Thomas 
Lloyd, Esq., D.L., and had issue 1. Edmund 
Robert Lloyd, M.A. and LL.B., T.C.D., Barrister-at- 
Law, b. Oct. 18, 1852, m., 1879, Annie Rachel, 
dau. of Joseph Emerson Dowson, Esq., and d. Nov. 
2, 1886 (bur.T. G.), leaving issue ; 2. John Drought, 
late Capt. Durham Light Infantry, now Army Pay 
Department, m. Miss Euphemia Bushe ; 3. Frederick 
William, m. Eleanor, dau. of P. O'Brien, Esq., C.E., 
and </. May 10, 1894 ; 4. Eyre Lloyd, d. Nov. 19, 
1894; 5. Annie Mary. Mr. Maunsell m., secondly, 
Emily Roche, only child of Archibald John 
Stephens, Esq., Q.C., LL.D., Recorder of Winchester, 
and by her had issue Archibald John Stephens 
(bapt. T. C.), Capt., Royal Warwickshire Regt. ; 
and thirdly, Annie, dau. of Rev. George Peacocke. 

MAUNSELL, ROBERT, 1843, 

of Ballawley Park, and of Merrion Square, Dublin ; 
Solicitor ; ninth son of Daniel Maunsell, Esq. (see 



180 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Maunsell of Bally william, B.L.G., 1894), b. Aug. 
9, 1795, m., first, Anne, eldest dau. of the Rev. 
John Lloyd, and by her had issue 1. Daniel, m., 
T. C., May 26, 1853, Anne Lucinda, dau. of Robert 
Billing, Esq. (q. v.) ; 2. John (q. v.) ; 3. Elizabeth, 
m., T. C., June 10, 1851, Robert Mayne, 37th Regt. 
M. N. I., son of John Mayne, Esq., and grandson 
of Judge Mayne (q. v.) ; 4. Isabella, m. William 
Boyne Butt, Esq., M.D. Mr. Maunsell m., secondly, 
Frances (d. July, 1844, bur. T. G.), eldest dau. of 
Francis Dwyer, Esq., and by her had issue (bapt. 
T. C.) 1. Francis Richard; 2. Albert Edward; 
3. Fanny Barbara Maria ; and thirdly, Louisa, dau. 
of James Douglas, Esq., and had issue George 
Meares, Captain. Mr. Maunsell d. 1876. 

MAYNE, EDWARD, 1792, 

of Churchtown and of Stephen's Green, North, 
Dublin, was the eldest son of Charles Mayne, Esq., 
of Freame Mount, Co. Monaghan, by his wife 
Dorothea, dau. of Edward Mayne, Esq., of Mount 
Ledboro, Co. Fermanagh (see B. L. G., 1868, p. 
998). He entered T.C.D., and having won a 
Scholarship in 1775, graduated B.A. in 1777. He 
was called to the Bar in 1781. He was appointed 
a Justice of the Common Pleas, Feb. 21, 1805, and 
was transferred to the King's Bench, Oct. 24, 1816. 
He resigned on Dec. 1, 1818, and d. in 1829. He 
w.,1780, Sarah (d. 1853), dau. of JohnFiddes, Esq., 
and had issue 1. Charles, in H. 0., M.A., T.C.D., 
Rector of Kilmastulla, m. Susan (d. 1865), dau. of 



CHUECHWAKDENS. 131 

William Henn, Esq., and d. 1873, having had 
issue i. William, m. Emily, dau. of Thomas 
Murray, Esq., d. 1876, ii. Charles, iii. Edward 
John, iv. Susan, d. unm., June 6, 1894, v. Eliza, 
m. John Going, Esq., of Cragg, Co. Tipperary ; 
2. Edward, m. Eliza, dau. of William Henn, Esq., 
and d. 1878, having had issue i. Edward, m. first, 
Miss Janette Woodall ; secondly, Miss Georgie Taylor 
(d. 1881), and d. 1888, ii. Susan, d. unm., 1864 ; 
8. John, m. Anna, dau. of the Very Kev. Dean 
Graves, and d. 1829, having had issue i. Edward 
Graves, o. s. p., ii. John Dawson, iii. Elizabeth, 
m. Henry Colles, Esq.,* iv. Sarah, m. her cousin 
Dawson Mayne, Esq. (p. 132) ; 4. Eichard (bapt. 
T. C.), K.C.B., Chief Commissioner London Metro- 
politan Police, 1829-68, m. at Danbury, Aug. 31, 
1831, Georgina (d. April 12, 1872), dau. of Thomas 
Carvick, Esq., of Biffham Lodge, Essex, andd. Dec. 
26, 1868, having had issue i. Carvick Cox, d, 
Sept., 1851, ii. Eichard Charles, Eear- Admiral, 
E.N., C.B., M.P. for Pembroke Boroughs 1886-92, 
m., 1870, Sabine, eldest dau. of Thomas Dent, 
Esq., and d. May 29, 1892, iii. Edward William, 
d. Aug., 1844, iv. Eobert Dawson, m. Emma 
Elizabeth, dau. of Professor Maiden, d. June, 1887, 
v. Charles Edward, d. Nov., 1873, vi. Georgina 
Marianne, m., 1870, Horace Brooke, Esq., vii. 
Sarah Fanny, m., 1877, Charles E. Maiden, Esq., 
viii. Katherine Emily, d. 1868 ; 5. William, o. s. p., 
1867 ; 6. Dawson, m. Miss Mary Hewitt, o. s. p., 

* See Abraham Colles, M.D., chapter viii. 



182 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

1872; 7. Kobert, o.s.p., 1843; 8. Dorothea, m. 
John Mayne, Capt. 9th Dragoons, and had issue 
i. Dawson, ra. his cousin Sarah, dau. of John 
Mayne, Esq. (p. 131), ii. Kobert, ?., T. C., June 10, 
1851, Elizabeth, dau. of Eobert Maunsell, Esq. 
(q. v.), iii. John Colburn, Madras Light Infantry, 
o. s. p., in India, iv. Helen, v. Dora, ?., 1862, 
Colonel Gustavus Charles Walsh, 14th Bengal 
Native Infantry, son of John Walsh, Esq., of Dun- 
drum Castle, and had issue, John Kussell, m. 
Miss Norcott, third dau. of Arthur Norcott, Esq., 
of Park, Doneraile, Co. Cork, and Dorothea Helen ; 
9. Sarah, m., 1830, Rev. E. French Lawrence, d. 
1832 ; 10. Kate, m. Major Basil Heron, R.A., d. 
1869 ; 11. Margaret, m. at Berne, Oct. 29, 1823, 
Thomas E. Beatty, Esq., M.D. ; 12. Fanny, d. unw., 
1872. 

MAYNE, JOSEPH ST. CLAIR, 1888-89, 
of Sunnybank ; Barrister-at-Law ; son of James 
Arthur Mayne, Esq., Solicitor, in., in T. C., Aug. 
4, 1869, Rachel Isabel, eldest dau. of Michael 
Charles Bernard, Esq., M.D. (q. v.). 

MCCASKEY, WILLIAM, 1827-31, 
of Hermitage, Roebuck, and of Church Street, 
Dublin ; Iron Manufacturer ; d. June 9, 1834 (p. 



M'CoMAs, RICHARD HENRY ARCHIBALD, 1879-80, 
of Homestead, Ballawley; Junior Moderator and 
M.A., T.C.D., Barrister-at-Law, c. 1875 ; third son of 



CHUBCHWAKDENS. 133 

Archibald M'Comas, Esq., M.A., of Cliff Castle, 
Dalkey, and Elgin Road, Dublin, by his wife Jane, 
dau. of W. Jones, Esq. ; m., Jan. 28, 1875, at St. 
Mary's, Donnybrook, Susannah Alice, dau. of C. 
Goodman, Esq., of Lapsdowne Eoad, and had issue 
(bapt. T. C., excepting Mabel) 1. Edwin Archibald; 
2. Harold; 3. Cyril Henry; 4. Gerald; 5. Regi- 
nald; 6. Rupert; 7. Mabel Christine Jane; 8. 
Sybil Frances ; 9. Olive. 

M'DERMOTT, JOSEPH, 1825, 

of Castleview, Roebuck ; Solicitor ; m., 1811, Miss 
Mary Stone, and d. 1837, leaving issue 1. John 
(bapt. T. C.) ; 2. Joseph (bapt. T. C.) ; 3. Fanny ; 
4. Anne Joanna (bapt. T. C.). 

M'KAY, DANIEL, 1825-26, 

of Moreen and Stephen's Green ; Solicitor ; eldest 
son of William M'Kay, Esq. (q. .), m., April 16, 
1811, at Rhuabon Church, North Wales, Eliza, 
dau. of Edward Rowland, Esq., of Gurthen, in the 
Co. of Denbigh, and had issue 1. William; 2. 
Manners (q. v.) ; 3. Rowland ; 4. Louisa Jane ; 5. 
Eliza Maria. He d. Dec. 5, 1840, and was bur. in 
St. Ann's Church, Dublin. 

M'KAY, MANNERS, 1845, 

of Moreen ; Capt. Dublin Militia, formerly of 3rd 
Dragoon Guards, J.P. Co. Dublin ; second son of 
Daniel M'Kay, Esq. (q. v.), m. Alice Georgina (d. 
Nov. 22, 1853), dau. of Thomas Bunbury, Esq., of 



134 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

Lisbryon, Co. Tipperary, and d. June 12, 1854, 
leaving issue (bapt. T. C.) 1. Mary Eliza, m. Major 
James Lenox MacFarlane, J.P. ; 2. Alice Georgina ; 
3. Sarah Jane, m. George Selby, Esq. 

M'KAY, WILLIAM, 1800, 

of Moreen,* and of Merrion Square ; Solicitor, Pur- 
suivant to the Court of Chancery, Deputy Clerk of 
the Faculties, and Clerk of the Recognizances in 
Chancery ; m., 1794, Miss Mary Bartley, and had 
issue 1. Daniel (q. v.) ; 2. John; 3. Anne. Hed. 
Oct., 1812. He held the position of Assistant Clerk 
of the Council, and was amongst the officers of the 
Irish Houses of Parliament to whom annuities were 
granted at the Union. Gilbert's History of Dublin, 
vol. iii., p. 371. 

MINCHIN, HUMPHREY, 1819-20-21, 
of Roebuck Lodge; | J.P. Co. Dublin, High Sheriff 

* " Near the four-mile-stone is Moreen, a most pleasing 
situation. It is within three miles of the sea, of which it 
has a grand view, also of the city and adjoining county for 
many miles. This place is remarkable for having a desperate 
battle fought in it some centuries ago by two of the neigh- 
bouring families, who, on their revenge being satiated, 
mutually agreed to erect a church in the valley where the 
engagement was had, and from thence called the Cross Church 
of Moreen; on the rocky ground adjoining, with great in- 
dustry and expense, is erected a neat, compact house, with 
gardens, lawns, plantations, and suitable offices, belonging to 
William M'Kay, Esq." Post-Chaise Companion, 1803, p. 391. 

t In 1798, at the time of the rebellion, Mr. Humphrey 
Minchin was residing at the Grange, Eathfarnham. A party 
of the rebels entered his house, headed by his gardener and 



CHURCHWARDENS. 135 

of Dublin, 1795-96; b. Nov., 1750, ra., first, Frances 
Catherine, dau. of Major Sirr, and had issue 1. 
Charles Henry, in H. 0., m., T. C., June 18, 1814, 
Prudentia, dau. of Daniel Kinahan, Esq. (q. v.), 
and had issue; 2. Joseph, m. May 22, 1804, Miss 
Louisa Hall, and had issue ; 3. Frances, ra. Major 
Kingsmill Pennefather; 4. Elizabeth, m., 1797, 
Captain Townsend Monckton Hall, of the 28th 
Eegt. of Foot; 5. Emma, m. James Walcot Fitz- 
gerald, Esq. ; 6. Louisa Arabella, m., T. C., Aug. 6, 
1821, Walter Bourne, Esq., jun. (q. v.). Mr. Minchin 
m., secondly, 1812, Miss Arabella Ashworth. He 
d. in 1830, and was bur. in St. Werburgh's. (See 
Hughes's St. Werburgh's, pp. 42, 140.) 

MINCHIN, WILLIAM AUGUSTUS, 1826, 

of Ballinteer; b. 1768, m., first, 1796, Mary, dau. of 
John Ferrar, Esq., of Limerick, and had issue 1. 
Augustus, in H. 0., Rector of Buncrana, Co. Done- 
gal, m. Miss Anne Tittle (whom., secondly, in T.C., 
Feb. 6, 1879, James Arthur Mayne, Esq.), and d. 

gate-keeper, about seven o'clock in the evening, when he 
and his family were in Dublin. They carried off various 
articles of furniture in two of his carts, and his gardener 
declared that all Ireland had risen that night, and that he 
would return in a day or two, and take possession of the 
house and demesne for his own. Mrs. Minchin's aged 
father and a female servant were the only Protestants in the 
house, and the gate-keeper's wife threatened to cut their 
throats ; but some other women who assisted her in plunder- 
ing the house, dissuaded her from it. Assassins were posted 
on the avenue to shoot Mr. Minchin ; but fortunately he did 
not return from Dublin that evening. Musgrave's Memoirs of 
the Rebellion (Dub., 1801), p. 224. 



136 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

1873; 2. John, o. s. p., Oct. 14, 1850; 3. William, 

0. s. p., April, 1825, bur. T. G. ; 4. Anne, d. Sept., 
1819, bur. T.G. ; 5. Kosetta, d. 1849, bur. Newtown- 
breda; 6. Mary, m., T. C., Sept. 19, 1834, her cousin, 
Michael Ferrar, Esq. (d. Feb., 1884), and d. Dec. 
3, 1858, leaving issue i. William Hugh, F.T.C.D., 
m. Miss Banks, and d. May, 1871, leaving issue 

Benjamin, M.D., Mary Howard, m. Binns, 

Esq., Annie, m. Eev. J. Paterson Smyth, and Elsie, 
ii. Augustus Minchin, m. Miss Hughes, and has 
issue, iii. Michael Lloyd, m. Miss O'Donnell, and 
has issue Michael Lloyd, Beatrice Minchin, m. 
Wolseley Haig, Esq., B.C.S., Gwendolyn Howard 
Minchin, m. J. M. Holms, Esq., B.C.S., iv. Howard 
Minchin, o. s. p., 1872, v. Henry Stafford, in 
America, m., and has issue, vi. John in Natal, m., 
and has issue, vii. Mary Minchin, m. Dr. Hardy, 
and has issue, viii. Eosetta Minchin. Mr. Minchin 
m., secondly, 1810, Miss Charlotte Burrowes, who 
d. March, 1853 (bur. T. G.), and had by her issue 

1. Kobert, o. s. p., Jan. 2, 1878 (bur. T. G.) ; 

2. George Howard, m. Miss Matilda Beck (d. Aug., 
1859, bur. T. G.), and d. Dec. 30, 1877, bur. T. G., 
leaving issue i. William Augustus, ii. Charlotte 

Matilda, m. Hunter, Esq., and has issue. Mr. 

Minchin d. Jan. 3, 1841, and was bur. T. G. 

NOKMAN, KOBEKT, 1801-2-3, 

of Dundrum ; in., 1782, Miss Anne Jennings, and 
had issue 1. Anne, m., T. C., April 3, 1802, George 
Hughes, Esq. ; 2. Charlotte, m., T. C., March 12, 
1810, George Corbett, Esq. 



CHUECHWAEDENS. 137 

NUTTING, JOHN GARDINER, 1892-93, 
of Gortmore; D.L. Dublin, J.P., and High Sheriff, 
1895, Co. Dublin; son of John Nutting, Esq., ra. 
Mary Stansmore, dau. of Eestel E. Bevis, Esq., of 
Manor Hill, Birkenhead, and has issue 1. Harold 
Stansmore ; 2. John Godfrey Stansmore ; 3. Arthur 
Eonald Stansmore ; 4. Dorothy Stansmore ; 5. 
Mary Stansmore (bapt. T. C.). 

ORME, EGBERT, 1852, 

of Mount Anville, and of Owenmore, Co. Mayo, 
and Enniscrone, Co. Sligo ; J.P. and D.L. Co. Sligo ; 
second son of William Orme, Esq., Belleville, Co. 
Mayo, ., Feb. 16, 1843, Sydney Frances, dau. 
of Major Christopher Carleton L'Estrange, of 
Market Hill, and had issue 1. Eobert William 
(bapt. T. C.), now of Owenmore ; 2. Christopher 
Guy ; 3. Albert ; 4. Janet Georgina (bapt. T. C.), 
m. Claude Brownlow, Esq. Mr. Orme d. 1877. (See 
Orme of Owenmore, B.L.G., 1894.) 

PICKERING, CHARLES, 1848-58, 

of Eoebuck Grove ; Solicitor ; his dau. Sarah m., 
T. C., Sept. 13, 1853, John M'Donald Eoyse, Esq., 
and his dau. Jane Adelaide m., T. C., Feb. 19, 1856, 
Charles Furlong Harding, Esq. 

PORTER, JOHN, 1857, 

of Weston House, Churchtown ; m., 1850, Miss 
Lydia Georgina Duff. 



138 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

POTTS, JAMES, 1794, 

of Kichview, Roebuck, was the proprietor of Saunders 1 
News-Letter. He m., 1761, Miss Elizabeth Irwin, 
and d. May, 1796. His death is thus recorded in 
Walker's Hibernian Magazine for that year (p. 
884) : 

" Most sincerely and justly lamented, James Potts, Esq., 
an eminent printer and bookseller ; his conduct and char- 
acter as a man of business have been for many years under 
the observation of his fellow-citizens, who have long known 
him an upright, inoffensive, unassuming, and courteous 
trader." 

In Gilbert's History of Dublin (vol. i., p. 276), 
some information will be found about Potts' s con- 
nection with Saunders' News- Letter. He carried on 
a violent newspaper warfare with Mr. John Giffard 
(q. v.), and a paragraph reflecting on " the dog in 
office" as Giffard was called having appeared 
in Saunders', Giffard and his son Hardinge horse- 
whipped Potts outside Taney Church, on Sunday, 
October 19, 1794. Criminal proceedings were taken 
by Potts, and the case was tried in the following 
July. A full report appears in the Hibernian 
Magazine for that year (p. 144). Mrs. Campbell, 
wife of the Eev. Matthew Campbell, was one of 
the principal witnesses. Hardinge Giffard was ac- 
quitted, but Mr. John Gifiard had to pay 20 to the 
poor of Taney, 20 to the poor of Stillorgan, and 
10 to the Dublin Marshalsea. 

PRICE, HENRY THOMAS, 1848-58, 
of Drummartin Lodge; m., 1838, Miss Emma Hall, 



CHURCHWAKDENS. 139 

PUBDON, WILLIAM STANLEY, 1850, 
of Arbour House, Windy Arbour ; m., 1838, Miss 
Sarah Porter, o. s. p. 

BEAD, JOHN WILLIAM, 1843, 
of Lyndhurst, Churchtown. 

EEILLY, JOHN, 1869-72-73, 

of St. Bridgid's, Roebuck; Barrister-at-Law, c.1842, 
Clerk of Records and Writs in Chancery ; eldest 
son of James Miles Reilly, Esq. (see Reilly of 
Scarvagh, B.L.G., 1894), b. 16 Nov., 1817, m., 14 
Aug., 1845, the Hon. Augusta Sugden, youngest 
dau. of Edward, first Lord St. Leonard's, and had 
issue i. Emily ; 2. Kathleen Matilda, m., T. C., 
July 7, 1870, Capt. Matthew John Bell ; 3. Wini- 
fred, i., first, Hon. John Montague Stopford ; 
secondly, Arthur, fifth Earl of Arran. Mr. Reilly 
d. July 1, 1875. 

RICHARDS, JOHN GODDARD, 1829, 
of Roebuck, and of Ardamine, Co. Wexford ; Bar- 
rister-at-Law, J.P., D.L., Co. Wexford, High Sheriff, 
1824 ; eldest son of Solomon Richards, Esq., the 
celebrated Dublin surgeon (who purchased the Roe- 
buck estate, still held by the Richards family, from 
Lord Trimleston), by his wife, Elizabeth, dau. of 
Rev. Edward Groome. He m., first, July 16, 1821, 
Anne Catherine (d. May 10, 1835), dau. of Hon. 
Robert Ward, by whom he had issue 1. Solomon 
Augustus (bapt. T. C.), m., June 10, 1856, Sophia 



140 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Mordaunt, dau. of Eev. Bernard John Ward, and d. 
Jan. 13, 1874, leaving issue ; 2. Eobert Edward (bapt. 
T. C.), in H.O., M.A., Principal of the Gloucester, 
Bristol, and Oxford Training College ; 3. William 
Hamilton (bapt. T. C.), Col., late 55th Regt. of 
Foot, m., Aug., 1858, Margaret Isabella, dau. of 
Major Samuel Hill Lawrence, and has issue ; 4. 
Louisa Elizabeth, m., 1843, Geo. Maconchy, Esq., 
of Rathmore, and d. 1864, leaving issue (p. 128) ; 
5. Mary Anne (bapt. T. C.), m., Nov. 5, 1850, Samuel 
Johnson, Esq., J.P., of Janeville, Co. Wexford, and 
had issue ; 6. Emily Sophia (bapt. T. C.), m., April, 
1849, Rev. Philip Walter Doyne, and had issue. 
Mr. Richards m., secondly, May 5, 1840, Mary, 
dau. of Sir William Rawson, by whom he had no 
issue, and d. April 13, 1846. 

RIDGEWAY, WILLIAM, 1809 TO 1817, 
of Runnymede, Balally. He graduated T.C.D., B.A. 
in 1787, LL.B., 1790, and LL.D. in 1795. He was c. 
to the Bar in 1790, and was some time Seneschal of 
the Liberties of St. Patrick's. He m., 1797, Miss 
Catherine Ledwich. In Walker's Hibernian Maga- 
zine for 1807, p. 445, it is mentioned that 

" He was complimented with his freedom of the Corpora- 
tion at large, partly by claim as being son-in-law to the 
celebrated Irish historian, the Eev. Dr. Ledwich, and that it 
was unanimously carried with some compliments on Mr. 
Eidgeway's professional and private worth and abilities." 

He d. Aug. 27, 1817. His death is thus announced 



CHURCHWARDENS. 141 

in the Gentleman 1 s Magazine, vol. Ixxxvii., pt. ii., 
p. 572: 

"Of a fever, while attending his professional duty on 
circuit at Trim, Mr. William Bidgeway, an eminent Irish 
lawyer, and a most worthy man." 

ROE, HENRY, 1864-67, 

of Mount Anville ; D.L. Dublin ; son of Henry Eoe, 
Esq., m., 1857, Miss Charlotte Theodosia Jane 
D'Olier, and had issue 1. Richard, o.s.^.; 2. George 
Henry; 3. Charlotte D'Olier, m., Sept. 4, 1878, 
Lord Granville Armyn Gordon ; 4. Elizabeth, m., 
T. C., Feb. 20, 1882, George Augustus Hotham 
Howard, Esq. ; 5. Maude Mary ; 6. Florence Made- 
line. He d. Nov. 21, 1894. 

" Many of the citizens of Dublin will learn with feelings 
of deep regret of the death of Mr. Henry Eoe, which oc- 
curred recently in London. He was the representative of 
a family whose name was long identified with the business 
life of Dublin, and whose numerous gifts to charitable ob- 
jects were always cheerfully given, and given, too, with no 
niggard hand. He spent himself nearly 200,000 in re- 
storing the fabric of Christ Church Cathedral, which is an 
enduring testimony of his public spirit and his attachment 
to the Church." Daily Express, Nov. 26, 1894. 

In the Daily Express of Nov. 28th, a letter 
appeared from Dr. Hamilton, which told of Mr. 
Roe's gifts to Taney Church : 

" The restoration of Christ Church Cathedral, magnificent 
in its design, and perfect in its completion, was not the only 
work of the kind which Mr. Koe carried out. His gifts to 
Christ Church, Taney, his parish church, were no less 



142 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

generous in their character, and I and my congregation 
must ever retain his name in grateful recollection. Soon 
after I became Rector of the parish, I brought under his 
notice the desirability of improving the musical portion of 
the service, and he, in reply, offered to present the church 
with an organ, which he did at considerable cost. There, 
however, his gifts did not end. Entirely without solicitation, 
he undertook to build a chancel, which was much required. 
It is needless to mention that he had the work done in the 
best manner, regardless of expense, not alone building the 
chancel, but furnishing it with five stained-glass windows of 
beautiful design ; and by this addition he converted our 
church into the handsome edifice it now is." 

EUSKELL, EGBERT, 1851, 

of Ballinteer House; his dau. Jemima m., T. C., 
Nov. 23, 1856, Godfrey Parr, Esq.; he d. circa 
1855. 

SCOTT, WILLIAM, 1827, 

of Drummartin and of Stafford Street, Dublin ; 
High Sheriff of Dublin, 1829-30. He had a son by 
his wife Sarah Jane, bapt., T. C., William Frederick 
Augustus. Mr. Scott d. circa 1853. 

SHADE, HENRY LINDSELL, 1846, 
of Larchfield, Churchtown, and Parliament Street, 
Dublin; m., 1828, Miss Eachel Jane Powell, and 
had a son, bapt. T. C., Charles Francis. 

SINNETT, JOHN TOWNSEND, 1805-6, 
of Churchtown and of Merchant's Quay, Dublin; 
Wholesale Silk Merchant, m., 1791, Miss Emelia 
Dunn, and d. circa 1836. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 148 

STOCK, STEPHEN, 1792, 

of Churchtown. He d. Dec., 1800, but was not 
then residing in the parish. His death is thus 
recorded in Walker's Hibernian Magazine : 

" Most sincerely and deservedly lamented, at his house 
near Dublin, Stephen Stock, Esq., late of Dame Street, an 
eminent woollen draper, and only brother to the Lord Bishop 
of Killala ; his study was ever to ameliorate the condition of 
the poor by a distribution of the essential comforts of life, 
which renders his death a public loss, while they afford a 
bright example to the affluent." 

STUDDERT, EGBERT ASHWORTH, 1870-71, 

of Clonlea, Ballinteer, now of Kilkishen House, 
Co. Clare; J.P., D.L., and High Sheriff in 1848 of 
that county, Barrister-at-law, c. 1841, late Major, 
Clare Militia; son of Thomas Studdert, of Kilkishen 
House (see Studdert of Bunratty, B.L.G., 1894), 
b. Dec. 31, 1817, m., Jan. 18, 1849, Maria, eldest 
dau. of Eev. William Waller, and had a son 
Thomas, b. 1850, d. 1869. 

TILLY, EGBERT HENRY, 1877-78, 

of Clonlea, Ballinteer, and of Shanahoe, Mount- 
rath; son of Eobert Tilly, Esq., of Chantilly, 
Loughlinstown, m., May 7, 1844, Mary Anne, 
eldest dau. of James William Cusack, M.D. (see 
Cusack of Gerardstown, B.L.G., 1894), and had 
issue 1. Hubert ; 2. Florence ; 3. Beatrice. He 
d. Dec. 13, 1890, at Shanahoe. 



144 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

TIPPER, SAMUEL, 1839, 

of Eoebuck and of Ormond Quay, Dublin ; Paper 
Manufacturer ; had issue by his wife, Elizabeth, 
bapt. T.C. 1. William Gore; 2. Samuel; 3. Lucy 
Ellen. 

THOMPSON, GEORGE, 1804-14-17-18, 
of Clonskeagh Castle,* and of the Treasury, Dublin 
Castle, was the second son of David Thompson, 
Esq., of Oatlands, Co. Meath, by his wife, Anne, 
fourth dau. of George Higginbotham, Esq., of 
Largby, Co. Derry, by his wife Anne, dau of Eobert 
Acheson, Esq. He was b. Aug. 16, 1769, and m., first, 
Eleanor, dau. of John Wade, Esq., of The Lodge, 
Co. Meath, and had issue 1. David, J.P., Co. Dublin, 
o. s. p., 1875 ; 2. Thomas Higginbotham, J.P. Cos. 
Galway and Dublin, m., in T. C., Feb. 6, 1836, 
Martha, only dau. of Thomas Wallace, Esq., K.C., 
M.p.,t and d., May 27, 1886, having had issue i. 

* Clonskeagh Castle was built by Mr. Henry Jackson, 
who also erected the adjoining iron works at an expense, 
D' Alton, in his History of the County Dublin (p. 808), says, of 
20,000. Jackson took a prominent part in the rebellion, 
and was an active member of the Executive Committee of 
the United Irishmen. He was never brought to trial, but 
underwent a prolonged term of imprisonment. His daughter 
married Oliver Bond, who was convicted of high treason, 
July, 1798. (Fitzpatrick's Secret Service under Pitt, pp. 7, 
127, 187.) In Whittock's Guide to Dublin, Lon., 1846, p. 139, 
it is stated that Jackson was obliged to emigrate to America, 
and that from him General Jackson, President of the United 
States, was descended. 

f See Thomas Wallace, K.C., chapter viii. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 145 

George, bapt. T. C., d. 1865 ; ii. Thomas Wallace, 
d. 1864 ; iii. Eobert Wade Thompson, B.A., T.C.D., 
Barrister-at-Law, called 1873, J.P. Co. Dublin, late 
Capt. Dublin Artillery Militia, m., T. C., March 10, 
1876, Edith Isabella, dau. of Eev. William Jameson, 
by his wife Eliza, dau. of Arthur Guinness, Esq., 
of Beaumont, Co. Dublin, and has issue Thomas 
William, Hamlet George, William Jameson, Edith, 
Freida Catherine, Madeline Geraldine, Alice Isabella ; 
iv. Hamlet Wade, 25th K.O.B. Eegt., d. 1866; v. 
Arthur William, Major Dublin Artillery Militia ; 
vi. Katherine, m. Colonel Eowan, J.P., of Belmont, 
Tralee, and d. 1876; vii. Ellen, m. Eev. W. T. 
Turpin, M.A. ; viii. Anne, m. Major de Wet ; ix. 
Louisa, m. Capt. 0' Sullivan de Tedeck, of the 
Chateau de Tedeck, Belgium ; 3. George William ; 
4. Margaret Hannah (bapt. T.C.), d. unm.; 5. Anne 
Mary, m., T. C., Dec. 2, 1828, David Peter Thomp- 
son, Esq., of the King's Co., J.P., who had, among 
other issue, EUen, ?., T. C., Jan. 17, 1866, Major- 
General Henry Alexander Little, C.B. ; 6. Louisa 
Elizabeth (d. 1841), m., T.C., May 25, 1832, Edmund 
ffloyd Cuppage, Esq., of Claregrove, Co. Dublin, and 
had issue i. Alexander (bapt. T. C.) ; ii. George 
William (bapt. T. C.), of Eiverston, Co. Meath, m. 
Louisa, dau. of Edward Vernon, Esq., D.L., of Clon- 
tarf Castle ; iii. Hamlet Wade, Capt. 43rd Light 
Infantry, m. Hannah Gerrard, dau. of David Peter 
Thompson, Esq. ; iv. Ellen, d. unm. Mr. Thompson 
m., secondly, Catherine, dau. of General Eobert Alex- 
ander, of Derry, and, thirdly, Jeanett, fourth dau. 



146 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

of William Butler, Esq., of Drame, Co. Kilkenny, 
by Hon. Caroline Massy, sixth dau. of Hugh, 1st 
Lord Massy, and by her had a son, Massy Wade 
(bapt. T. C.), o. s. p. Mr. Thompson d. May, 1860. 
Mr. George Thompson's father was the fifth son 
of William Thompson, Esq., of Clonfin, Co. Long- 
ford, who m. Miss Metge, of Athlumney Castle, Co. 
Meath, and was grandson of Capt. William Thomp- 
son, of Yorkshire, one of three brothers who accom- 
panied King William III. to this country in 1688. 
The King gave Capt. Thompson certain confiscated 
lands, and he settled and married in Co. Longford. 
(See Thompson of Clonfin, B. L. G., 1894.) 

THOMPSON, HENRY, 1798-99, 

of Eoebuck, and of Ormond Quay, Dublin. He (/. 
Nov., 1800. The following obituary notice appears 
in Walker's Hibernian Magazine of that date : 

" Suddenly in his carriage, on the road to Bath, Henry 
Thompson, Esq., of the city of Dublin, an eminent mer- 
chant ; he was strict in the discharge of every duty as a 
husband, parent, friend, and Christian, and his death, like 
his life, was serene and calm; his temper was mild and 
gentle, and his disposition uncommonly affectionate and un- 
commonly generous ; to his friends he is an irreparable loss, 
and to the poor he never can be replaced. He lived beloved 
and died lamented by all who had the pleasure of his ac- 
quaintance." 

THOMPSON, HENRY, 1854, 
of Greenmount, Ballaly. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 147 

TURBETT, JAMES EXHAM PUREFOY, 1833. 
of Owenstown ; only son of Kobert Turbett, Esq. 
(q. v.), b. 1790, m., Dec. 12, 1823, Sophia (d. Dec. 
13, 1882, bur. T. G.), dau. of the Hon. and Very 
Eev. George Gore, Dean of Killala, third son of 
the second Earl of Arran, and of his wife, Anne, 
dau. of Robert Burrowes, Esq., of Stradone, and 
had issue (bapt. T. C., excepting Mary) 1. Robert 
Exham (q. v.} ; 2. James (q. v.) ; 3. George William, 
of Roebuck Hill, and subsequently of Owenstown, 
m. Ellen, dau. of the Rev. John Morton, and 
d. Feb., 1894, bur. T. G., having had issue (bapt. 
T. C.) i. James Gore, ii. Richard George, iii. 
Charles Morton, iv. John Routledge, v. Eyre 
Anthony Weldon, vi. Royston Cecil Gladwyn, 
vii. Ethel Clementina Burrowes, d. April, 1889, 
bur. T. G., viii. Eleanor Sophia Georgett ; 4. 
Thomas, of Scribblestown House, m. Florence, 
dau. of Jolliffe Tufnell, Esq., F.R.C.S.I. ; 5. John 
Gore, o. s. p., April, 1850, bur. T. G. ; 6. Mary 
Anne, w., T.C., Nov. 6, 1844, John Pollock Ferrier, 
Esq. ; 7. Sophia Frances, m., T. C., June 6, 1849, 
Robert Manders, Esq., of Landscape, and had 
i ssue _i. Frances Sophia, m., T. C., Oct. 13, 1887, 
George Medlicott Vereker,Esq.,ii. Gertrude Caroline 
(bapt. T. C.), m. General J. Davis, C.B., iii. Cecilia 
Maude (bapt. T. C.), m., T. C., Jan. 4, 1888, Capt. 
Edward Hamilton Gordon, of the 2nd Gordon 
Highlanders; 8. Jane, m., T. C., July 19, 1853, 
Richard Manders, Esq., and had issue i. Arthur, 
ii. Reginald, iii. Helena Frances, m., T. C., Nov. 23, 



148 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

1876, Henry Lumsden Forbes, Esq., of Invery, Guild- 
ford, iv. Augusta Margaret Elizabeth, m. F. Coryton, 
Esq., of Liss House, Hants, v. Harriett Jane, m., 
T. C., July 25, 1882, Spencer C. Blackett, Esq., late 
21st Hussars ; 9. Louisa, m., T. C., Aug. 12, 1858, 
Gordon James Douglas, Esq. ; 10. Emily, m., T. C., 
Aug. 25, 1859, John Graburn, Esq. ; 11. Cecilia ; 
12. Eleanor, m.,T. C., July 30, 1872, Major Warren 
Richard Colvin Wynne, R.E., and d. Dec. 14, 1873, 
bur. T. G. ; 13. Ada, m., T. C., April 19, 1872, 
Henry Hazell Unett, Esq., of Huntingdon Hall, 
Yorks. He d. Oct. 27, 1868, and was bur. in T. G. 

TUEBETT, JAMES, 1855, 

of Oaklawn, Roebuck ; son of James Exham Tur- 
bett, Esq. (q. v.) ; m. Harriet, dau. of John Powys, 
Esq., of West Wood Manor, Staffordshire. 

TUKBETT, ROBEBT, 1804, 

of Greenmount ; b. 1760, m. Miss Marianne Purefoy, 
(who m., secondly, T. C., Aug. 31, 1831, William 
Noble, Esq., of Arnageel, Co. Louth, and d. July, 
1834, bur. T. G.), and d. Jan. 21, 1831, bur. T. G. 
(p. 44), leaving issue one son, James Exham Pure- 
foy (q. v.). 

TURBETT, ROBERT EXHAM, 1865, 
of Belfield, Roebuck; M.A. ; son of James Exham 
Turbett, Esq. (q. v.) ; m. Lucy, dau. of Benjamin 
Lefroy, Esq., of Cardenton House, Athy, and d. 
March, 1889, bur. T. G., having had issue (bapt. T. C., 
excepting Kathleen) i. Robert James, ii. Langlois 
Benjamin, iii. George Frederic Gore, iv. Kathleen. 



CHURCHWABDENS. 149 

USHEE, ISAAC WILLIAM, 1880-81-82-90-91, 

of Tudor House; L.B.C.P., Edin., 1863; L.R.C.S.I., 
1862 ; eldest son of Isaac Usher, Esq., by his wife, 
Frances, dau. of John Parker, Esq. (See Ball 
Wright's Memoirs of the Ussher Families, Dub., 
1889, p. 19.) 

VEBSOHOYLE, RICHABD, 1798-99, 1811-12-18, 

of Mount Merrion ; J.P. and High Sheriff in 1819 
of the Co. Dublin. He was a Commissioner for the 
construction of Kingstown Harbour, and his name 
appears on the monument near the pier (see p. 105). 
He was the second son of Joseph Verschoyle of 
Donare (see Verschoyle of Kilberry, B.L.G., 1894), 
and m. Miss Barbara Fagan. He d. s. p. at Brighton 
on Aug. 27, 1827, and was bur. there. In an in- 
scription on a tablet erected to his memory in 
Booterstown Church, he is described as a man of 
strong religious character, with a mind richly 
stored with intellectual knowledge. (See Blacker's 
Sketches of Booterstoivn, p. 80.) 

VERSCHOYLE, WILLIAM HENEY FOSTER, 1894-95, 

of Woodley ; J.P. Co. Dublin ; second son of John 
James Verschoyle, Esq., of Tassaggart, Co. Dublin, 
by his wife, Catherine Helen, dau. of the Kev. 
William Foster (see Verschoyle of Castleshanaghan, 
B.L.G., 1894); m., June 16, 1888, Frances Har- 
riett Hamilton, youngest dau. of Edward James 
Jackson, Esq., of Upwell, Co. Norfolk, and of the 



150 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Priory, St. Andrew's, N.B., and -widow of Captain 
W. Unett, 21st Hussars, and has issue 1. George 
John Foster (bapt. Stillorgan Church) ; 2. William 
Arthur ; 3. Kathleen Laura (bapt. T. C.). 

VICAKS, EDWARD ARMSTRONG, 1860, 
of Trimleston Lodge; Government Inspector of 
Military Schools in Ireland ; eldest son of Kichard 
Vicars, Esq., and brother of Captain Hedley Vicars 
(97th Eegt.), and Clara, Lady Eayleigh ; m. Julia 
Frances, dau. of George Eckersall, Esq., of St. 
Catherine's, near Bath, and had issue 1. Hedley 
(bapt. T. C.), in H. 0., Bector of Huntingdon ; 2. 
George Bayleigh (bapt. T. C.), in H. 0., Curate of 
Whitley Bridge, Yorkshire ; 3. Edward, in Foreign 
Office ; 4. May Catherine (bapt. T. C.), d. 1892 ; 5. 
Isabel Mary (bapt. T. C.) ; 6. Evelyn Clara (bapt. 
T. C.) ; 7. Lilian Frances; 8. Margaret Annie; 9. 
Marion Julia. Mr. Vicars d. June 9, 1870. 

VINCENT, JOHN, 1862, 
of Charlton, Boebuck. 

WADDEN, BARRET, 1821, 

of Boebuck, and of Palace Street, Dublin; Silk 
Manufacturer; m., 1809, Miss Elizabeth M'Connell, 
and d. circa 1823. 

WALSH, JOHN, 1876, 

of Dundrum Castle ; son of John Walsh, Esq., and 
brother of the Hon. Frederick William Walsh, who 
was called to the Bar 1836, made a Q.C. 1855, 



CHURCHWARDENS. 151 

and Bencher of the King's Inns 1871, appointed 
Judge of the Court of Bankruptcy, 1875, and d. 
1886, and of Colonel Gustavus Charles "Walsh 
(see under Mayne, Edward, p. 132). 

WALSH, WILLIAM, 1837-39, 
of Drummartin ; m., 1809, Miss Anne Shannon. 

WARREN, SAMUEL, 1828, 

of Churchtown ; m., 1825, Miss Catherine Watson, 
and d. circa 1850. 

WEST, JOHN, 1835-37-40, 

of Cedar Mount, Mount Anville; m., 1803, Caroline, 
dau. of John Busby, Esq., and had issue 1. John, 
in H. 0., M.A., D.D., T.C.D., ordained Deacon at 
Glasnevin, Aug. 24, 1829, by the Bishop of Kildare, 
Priest at Ferns, March 7, 1830, Curate of Monks- 
town, and of St. Ann's, Dublin, Vicar of St. Ann's, 
Domestic Chaplain to Archbishop Whately, Arch- 
deacon of Dublin, Dean of St. Patrick's, m. Eliza- 
beth Margaret, eldest dau. of the Most Rev. Charles 
Dickinson, D.D., Bishop of Meath, and d. July 5, 
1890, leaving issue; 2. Samuel, d. young; S.Eliza, 
m. Rev. Elias Thackeray Stevenson, d. ; 4. Lucy, d. 
unm. 1892. Mr. West d. circa 1850. 

WESTBY, EDWARD PERCEVAL, 1856-59-64-68- 
70-74-75, 

of Roebuck Castle,* and of Kilballyowen and 
Roscoe, Co. Clare; D.L., and J.P., Co. Clare; J.P. 

* See under John, Baron Trimleston, chapter viii. 



152 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Co. Dublin ; High Sheriff, Co. Clare, 1854 ; eldest 
son of Nicholas Westby, Esq., and of his wife, the 
Hon. Emily Susan, eldest dau. of William, Lord 
Eadstock, m., first, Elizabeth Mary, dau. of the 
Eight Hon. Francis Blackburne,* who d. 1863, 
and had issue 1. William Francis Perceval, o. s. p., 
1870 ; 2. Francis Vandeleur (bapt. T. C.), High 
Sheriff of Co. Clare, 1895, m., 1888, 'Janet Louisa, 
second dau. of George Orme, Esq., of Castle 
Lacken, and has issue ; 3. Emily Jane Laura 
(bapt. T. C.). Mr. Westby m., secondly, T. C., 
June 16, 1864, Susan Elizabeth, dau of John 
Davis Garde, Esq. (q.v.), and d. April 23, 1893. 

WHARTON, JOHN LEE, 1844-47-49, 

of Sweetmount; Solicitor; m., 1843, Miss Eliza 
Wilme, and had issue, bapt. T. C. 1. George 
Henry; 2. Esther Jane; S.Elizabeth Georgiana ; 
4. Jane Julia Anna Wilme. He d. June 17, 1866. 

WHITE, JOHN, 1819-20-21, 
of Ballaly. 

WHITE, JOHN LA TOUCHE, 1846, 

of Eeadsvale, Dundrum; L.K.O.S., Edin., L.A., Dub. ; 
m., T. C., Nov. 2, 1844, Frances Dorothea (d. July 
8, 1874), youngest dau. of Sir Henry Jebb, and had 
issue, bapt. T. C. 1. Henry Francis La Touche ; 
2. Mary Jane Eibton Jebb. He d. June 25, 1870, 
and was bur. T. G. (p. 45). 

* See Eight Hon. Francis Blackburne, chapter viii. 



CHURCHWARDENS. 153 

WHITEFORD, SIR GEORGE, 1822, 

of Annaville, Churchtown, and Mount Salem, 
Mountrath; Silk and Poplin Manufacturer. He 
was an Alderman of Dublin, and was High Sheriff 
in 1821, when George IV. visited Ireland. He then 
received the honour of Knighthood. He was Lord 
Mayor in 1833-34. He m. 1811, Miss Anne Bergin, 
who d. Dec., 16, 1847. He went subsequently to 
reside in the Queen's Co., and d. Jan. 14, 1865. 

WHITTHORNE, WILLIAM JERVIS, 1828, 
of Churchtown ; Solicitor. 

WILLIAMS, HUTCHINS. 1832, 

of Bloom Villa, Farranboley, and of Merrion 
Square, Dublin. 

WOOD, WILLIAM, 1816-17, 

of Churchtown and of Bishop Street, Dublin ; a 
Merchant. High Sheriff of Dublin, 1818-19. He 
m., 1803, Miss Mary Williams, and d. circa 1836. 



NOTE. The information in these notes has been obtained 
mainly from private sources and from the Parochial 
Eegisters, but in some cases from wills and grants in the 
Public Eecord Office, from B. P. and B. L. G., and from 
Dublin Directories and Newspapers. 



CHAPTEK VIII. 

PAEISHIONERS. 

T^HE following biographical and genealogical notes 
J- on some of the more remarkable persons who 
have resided in the parish, and who are not in- 
cluded amongst the Churchwardens, are necessarily 
brief, in order to come within the limits of this 
History ; and it is therefore possible only to give a 
mere outline of the lives of the distinguished men 
who are mentioned. It is hoped, however, that these 
notes may serve to prevent their connection with 
the parish being forgotten. The dates after the 
names give with such accuracy as is possible the 
period of residence. 

THE FAMILIES OF FITZWILLIAM AND HERBERT, 
circa 1442-1895. 

The members of these noble families, who have 
resided in Mount Merrion,* deserve prior and prin- 

* Amongst the temporary residents at Mount Merrion 
have been Archbishop King and the Bight Hon. John Fitz- 
Gibbon, afterwards and better known as Lord Clare. In 
Mant's History of the Church of Ireland, vol. ii., p. 272, 
et seq., there are letters from Archbishop King written in 
August and September, 1714, which are dated from Mount 
Merrion. "His temporary country residence, near Dublin," 
says Bishop Mant, " by the kindness of Lord Fitzwilliam." 
He mentions in one of them that he went to see his 
neighbour, Lord Kildare, at Stillorgan. Lord Clare occupied 
Mount Merrion circa 1787-9. (See Slacker's Sketches of 
Booterstown, pp. 182, 426.) 



PARISHIONERS. 155 

cipal mention as the chief parishioners of Taney, 
and as lords of the soil of a great portion of the 
parish. It is, however, thought unnecessary to 
insert their pedigrees, which will be found, of the 
Fitzwilliam family in B. E. P., 1866, p. 214, and 
of the Herbert" family under Pembroke in B. P., 
1895, p. 1119. Blacker's Sketches of Booterstown is 
also replete with information on the subject, and at 
p. 108 he gives a pedigree of the Fitzwilliam 
family. 

EIGHT HON. FRANCIS BLACKBURNE, 1827-51. 

This great lawyer resided for many years at Eoe- 
buck Hall.f He was the only surviving son of 
Eichard Blackburne, Esq., of Footstown, in the 
Co. Meath, by his wife Elizabeth, dau. of Francis 
Hopkins, Esq., of Darvistown, in the same county. 
He was b. Nov. 11, 1782, and having entered 
T.C.D., took a Scholarship in 1801 ; he won the 
gold medal for the most distinguished collegiate 
career, and graduated B.A. in 1803. He subse- 
quently in 1852 took out his LL.D. degree. He 

* On the death of Eichard, seventh Viscount Fitzwilliam, 
without issue in 1816, the principal part of the Fitzwilliam 
estates passed to George Augustus, eleventh Earl of Pembroke, 
whose grandfather Henry, ninth Earl of Pembroke, m. Mary, 
eldest dau. of Eichard, fifth Viscount Fitzwilliam. The 
Fitzwilliam title devolved upon John, eighth Viscount, who 
o. s. p., 1833, when the title became extinct. 

t Mentioned by D'Alton as the only place in the neigh- 
bourhood which did not present a " sombre, unsocial ap- 
pearance." (History of the Co. Dublin, p. 809.) 



156 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

was c. to the Bar in 1805, and was made a King's 
Counsel in 1822. He was appointed a Sergeant in 
1826, and was Attorney-General from 1830 to 1835, 
and from 1841 to 1842, when he was raised to the 
Bench. He was Master of the Rolls from 1842 to 
1846, Lord Chief Justice from 1846 to 1852, and 
Lord Chancellor in 1852. He was appointed the 
first Lord Justice of Appeal in 1856, and held that 
office until again appointed Lord Chancellor in 
1866. He resigned the Chancellorship in 1867. 
He was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Dub- 
lin from 1852. He m., 1809, Jane (d. 1872), 
dau. of William Martley, Esq., M.D., and had issue 
1. William Hartley, m. Mary, dau. of the Rev. 
William Thorpe, D.D., d. May 8, 1868, leaving 
issue; 2. Francis, o. s. p., 1863; 3. Edward, of Rath- 
farnham Castle, Q.C., J.P. Co. Dublin, m., 1857, 
Georgiana, dau. of Robert Graves, Esq., of Merrion 
Square, and has issue ; 4. Frederick John, of Renny 
House, Co. Cork, m., 1856, Annette, dau. of Eardley 
Hall, Esq., of Wilmington, Essex, d. Oct., 1863, 
and had issue ; 5. John Henry, m., 1857, Elizabeth, 
dau. of Anthony Crofton, Esq. ; 6. Arthur, o.s.p. ; 
7. Alicia Catherine, m. Captain George Daniell, R.N. 
(p. 106); 8. Jane Isabella, m., T. C., Oct. 25, 1845, 
Thomas Rice Henn, Esq., Q.C., Recorder of Galway, 
of Paradise Hill, Co. Clare; 9. Elizabeth Mary 
(bapt. T. C.), m. Edward Perceval Westby, Esq., D.L. 
(p. 151) ; 10. Adelaide Frances (bapt. T. C.), d.unm. 
Mr. Blackburne d. Sept. 17, 1867, and was bur. at 
Mount Jerome. 



PAEISHIONEES. 157 

In the Imperial Dictionary of Universal Biography 
(vol. i., p. 600) Dr. John Francis Waller thus wrote 
of Mr. Blackburne : 

" His statements were masterpieces of forensic eloquence, 
singularly lucid, simple, and brief ; he placed every fact 
before the Court in the clearest light, and drew his con- 
clusions with a force that was irresistible ; while the power 
of his calm, self-possessed, and solemn eloquence was deeply 
impressive. But in his judicial position all these faculties 
attained their perfection. His calmness rose to imperturbable 
deliberation, his self-possession to dignity, and the quiet, 
melodious tones of his voice gave force to the dispassionate 
and impartial judgments which he delivered." 

It is impossible, however, within the scope of 
this History to give any extract which would do 
justice to Mr. Blackburne's attainments, and to the 
consummate ability and dignity with which he 
filled all the highest judicial offices. To form a 
true estimate of his character and of his services 
to his country, the reader must consult larger works, 
and is referred to the Life of Francis Blackburne, 
by his son (Lon., 1874), and to biographical notes 
in the Dictionary of National Biography (vol. v., 
p. 122), and in Burke's Lord Chancellors of Ireland. 

EIGHT HON. ABRAHAM BREWSTEE, 1855-74. 
This distinguished leader of the Irish Bar, who 
became Lord Chancellor of Ireland, resided at 
Eoebuck Grove,* from the year 1855 until his 

* Previously called Koebuck House. Mr. Brewster pur- 
chased the place from the representatives of Sir John 
Power (q. v.). 



158 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

death. He was son of William Bagenal Brewster, 
Esq., by his wife Mary, dau. of Thomas Bates, 
Esq., and was b. in April, 1796. He entered 
T.C.D., and graduated B.A., 1817, and M.A., 1847. 
He was c. to the Bar in 1819, and was made a 
K.C. in 1835. He was appointed Law Adviser in 
1841, Solicitor-General in 1846, and was Attorney- 
General from Jan., 1853 to 1855. In July, 1866, 
he was appointed Lord Justice of Appeal, and in 
March in the following year Lord Chancellor, which 
office he continued to hold until the resignation of 
the Government in Dec., 1868. He d. July 26, 
1874, and was bur. at Tullow, Co. Carlow. He 
m. Mary Anne (d. Nov. 24, 1862), dau. of Kobert 
Gray, Esq., by whom he had issue 1. William 
Bagenal, Colonel ; 2. Elizabeth Mary, in. Henry 
French, Esq., and had issue one son, Eobert 
Abraham, who has assumed the name of Brewster. 
See Dictionary of National Biography t vol. vi., 
p. 299, and Burke's Lord Chancellors of Ireland. 

" One of the ablest advocates which the Irish Bar has 
produced during the present century. . . . His manage- 
ment of the public business was always honest, firm, and 
unswerving, and no imputation of favouritism was ever 
made against him." The Times, July 28, 1874. 

"It is of course impossible to learn from a report the 
effect or force of a legal argument ; but those who have been 
the contemporaries of Mr. Brewster can speak of the strength 
and power of his handling of cases on either side of the 
Hall of the Four Courts, the incisive force of his points, the 
weight of his argumentation, and his readiness for every 
emergency. Whether it was a new trial motion, a bill of 
exception, or a dry legal argument, he was ever ready, ever 



PARISHIONERS. 159 

fortified ; and when he gave up Common Law business, and 
confined himself to Chancery instead, he assumed and took 
the lead of that Court, which he maintained until the repose 
of the Bench gratefully rewarded him." Dublin University 
Magazine, 1874 (p. 652). 

RIGHT HON. WILLIAM BROOKE, 1852-81. 
This eminent lawyer, churchman, and philan- 
thropist resided at Taney Hill House for nearly 
thirty years. He was the eldest son of William 
Brooke, Esq., M.D., by his wife Angel, dau. of 
Captain Edward Perry, and was b. in 1796. He 
was educated at the Eev. John Fea's School, and 
having entered T.C.D., he won a Scholarship in 
1812, and graduated B.A. in 1814, taking the Gold 
Medal awarded for a distinguished collegiate career. 
In 1871 the degree of LL.D. honoris causa was 
conferred on him by the University. He was c. to 
the Bar in 1817, made a King's Counsel in 1835, 
and a Bencher of the King's Inns in 1846. In the 
same year he was appointed a Master of Chancery. 
In 1874, when the Great Seal of Ireland was in 
Commission, he acted as one of the Commissioners, 
and was then created a Privy Councillor. After 
the passing of the Irish Church Act he took a pro- 
minent and active part in the formation of a Con- 
stitution for the Irish Church, and in the debates 
of the Synod on the Revision of the Prayer Book. 
He was elected one of the Diocesan Nominators of 
the Diocese of Dublin. He m., first, 1819, Emily 
Margaret, only dau. of Robert Rogers Wilmot, 
Esq., by his wife Eliza (who d. 1850), dau. of 



160 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

the Rev. John Chetwode, of Glanmire, Co. Cork, 
and had issue 1. Robert Wilmot, Lt.-Colonel, 
60th Rifles, m., first, Elizabeth, only daughter of 
Sir Duncan Macgregor, K.C.B., and had issue 
Graham Wilmot, Eardley Wilmot, Lieut. 60th 
Rifles ; and secondly, Bertha, dau. of Sir Crawford 
Caffin, K.C.B., and has issue Robert Wilmot, Craw- 
ford Wilmot ; 2. Henry Edward, in H.O., m. Maria, 
dau. of Rev. John A. Jetter, Vicar of Trowbridge, 
Salop, and has issue William Montagu, Henry 
Sinclair, in H.O., Margaret Graham; 3. Charles 
Francis, Lieut. 40th Regt., fell in the New Zealand 
War, 1860 ; 4. Caroline Hamilton, m. Bartholomew 
Clifford Lloyd, Esq., Q.C., and has issue Clifford, 
William Chetwode, Lt.-Col., Humphrey Wilmot, 
Alfred Robert, Major, Arthur Brooke, Frederick 
Charles, Captain, Emily, m. Major Wynne, Con- 
stance, Florence, Caroline, m. Captain Anson 
Schomberg, R.N. He m., secondly, in 1853, Cathe- 
rine Anne Daschkaw (d. Oct. 25, 1882), dau. of 
Rev. William Bradford, by his wife Matilda, dau. 
of Edward Wilmot, Esq. He rf. Aug. 19, 1881, 
and was bur. at Mount Jerome. 

" One of the best friends of the Church of Ireland, a dis- 
tinguished member of the Bar, and a kindly, upright Irish 
gentleman. . . . His death will be received with a 
general feeling of regret by all who knew his sterling worth, 
kindly qualities, and charitable disposition." Dublin Even- 
ing Mail, Aug. 22, 1881. 

A very handsome monument to Master Brooke's 
memory was erected in 1882 in St. Patrick's 



PARISHIONERS. 161 

Cathedral by a number of his friends. The idea of 
the design is borrowed from a Venetian window. 
In the centre on a white marble tablet is the 
following inscription : 

" In loving memory of the Eight Honble. William Brooke, 
LL.D., for many years a Master of the High Court of Chancery, 
and subsequently a Commissioner of the Great Seal of Ire- 
land. Born July 22, 1796, died Aug. 19, 1881. 

" Throughout a long and useful life he ' adorned the 
doctrine of God our Saviour in all things,' and having to 
its close rejoiced in the faithfulness of Him whose word was 
his constant support, he died in perfect peace. ' Casting 
all your care upon Him ; for He careth for you.' 1 Peter 
v. 7." 

MR. JUSTICE BURTON, 1825-47. 

The Hon. Charles Burton was for many years a 
parishioner, and lived at Mount Anville.* This 
distinguished judge was an Englishman by birth, 
descended from the ancient family of Burton of 
Leicestershire (see B.L.G., 1846), and was b. Oct. 
16, 1760. He was c. to the Irish Bar in 1792, and 
was made a King's Counsel in 1806. He was 
appointed successively 3rd Sergeant on Oct. 30, 
1817, 1st Sergeant on Dec. 1, 1818, and a Justice 
of the King's Bench on Dec. 2, 1820. He m., 
1787, Miss Anna Andrews, who d. March 10, 1822, 
and had an only daughter, Eliza Felicia, who m. at 

* It is now the Sacred Heart Convent. Judge Burton 
purchased the place from the representatives of Mr. Daniel 
Beere (p. 98), and after the Judge's death his representa- 
tives sold it to Mr. Dargan (q. v.), who sold it to the trustees 
of the convent. 

M 



162 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

St. Peter's Church, Dublin, Nov. 8, 1819, John 
Beatty West, Esq., Q.C., M.P. for the City of Dublin 
(d. 1842), and who had a son, Charles Burton, and 
several daughters. Judge Burton d. on Dec. 10, 
1847, and was bur. in St. Peter's. 

" He filled the very highest place as a lawyer. ... As 
a judge he fully sustained the high character he acquired at 
the bar. Calm, dignified, and impartial, he turned neither 
to the right nor left in dealing out rigid justice." Annual 
Register, Ixxxix., p. 272; also see Gentleman's Magazine, 
vol. xxix. (N. S.), p. 198. 

ABRAHAM COLLES, M.D., 1816-42. 

Mr. Colles, one of the most eminent of the great 
surgeons of Dublin, resided at Donnybrook Cottage, * 
which is in the townland of Roebuck, for many 
years. He was the second son of William Colles, 
Esq., was b. in Kilkenny on July 23, 1773, and 
was educated at the Endowed School in that town. 
He came to Dublin, and took out the Diploma of 
the College of Surgeons in 1795; he then proceeded 
to Scotland, and took out the degree of M.D. in the 
University of Edinburgh, and subsequently studied 
in London. On his return to Dublin, he was ap- 
pointed Kesident Surgeon to Steevens' Hospital, of 
which institution he was afterwards the Visiting 
Surgeon. In 1804 he was appointed Lecturer on 
Anatomy and Surgery in the Royal College of Sur- 
geons, and in 1826 became Professor of Surgery. 

* Now called St. Margaret's. Mr. Colles sold the house to 
Judge Plunket (q. r.). 



PABISHIONEBS. 163 

He was twice President of the College. In 1835 he 
resigned his professorship on account of ill-health, 
and the College presented him with a superb piece 
of plate, and placed his portrait in their board- 
room, and his bust in their museum. He was 
offered a baronetcy in 1839, but declined the 
honour. He d. on Dec. 1, 1843, and was bur. at 
Mount Jerome. He m., 1807, Sophia, dau. of the 
Kev. Jonathan Cope, Rector of Aghascragh, Co. 
Galway, and had issue 1. William, M.D., M.CH., 
honoris causa, Eegius Professor of Surgery, T.C.D., 
m., 1859, Penelope, dau. of Cadwallader Waddy, 
Esq., M.P., and d. 1892, leaving issue i. Abraham 
Eichard ; ii. Margaret, m., 1891, Eev. William 
Beaufoy Stillman; iii. Sophia Cope, ?., 1890, Eev. 
Herbert Kennedy ; 2. Henry Jonathan Cope, Bar- 
rister-at-Law, m., 1845, Elizabeth, dau. of John 
Mayne, Esq. (p. 131), and d. Dec. 25, 1877, leaving 
issue i. Abraham, M.D., m., 1875, Emily, dau. of 
Major Alexander Dallas, and granddau. of Eev. 
Alexander E. C. Dallas, M.D., F.R.C.S.I. ; ii. John 
Mayne, LL.D., m., 1885, Bessie, dau. of Eev. Charles 
Dickinson, and granddau. of the Most Eev. Charles 
Dickinson, D.D., Bishop of Meath ; iii. Henry J. 
Cope ; iv. Anne Sophia, ???., 1866, Hon. Mr. Justice 
Bewley; v. Frances, m., 1868, the Eight Hon. 
Edward Gibson, Baron Ashbourne; vi. Minnie, m., 
1888, W. S. Burnside, Esq., F.T.C.D., and d. 1890 ; 
vii. Henrietta Elizabeth, m., 1874, Henry Falconer 
Grant, Esq. ; viii. Ethel, m., 1888, Joseph H. Moore, 
Esq. ; 8. Abraham, B.A., m. Anna, dau. of Francis 



164 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Hopkins, Esq., of Mitchelstown, J.P., d. 1879 ; 4. 
Thomas, d. March 30, 1829 ; 5. Eichard, B.A., Bar- 
rister-at-Law, of Melbourne, m., 1841, Frances, dau. 
of John Wilmett, Esq., of Bordeaux, Advocate, d. 
1883; 6. Graves Chamney, M.A., Solicitor, m., first, 
Mary Anne, dau. of Robert Harrison, Esq., M.D. ; 
secondly, Saremna, dau. of Rev. John Blower, d. 
1893 ; 7. Mary Anne, m., in T. C., Aug. 21, 1832, 
Lt.-Col. James Harrison, Madras Artillery, d. 1850 ; 
8. Sophia ; 9. Frances Jane, m. James Wall, Esq., 
of Knockrigg, County Court Judge, Co. Tipperary, 
d. 1888 ; 10. Maria Jane Cope, d. 1887. 

" The leading features of Mr. Colles's character were solid 
judgment, manly directness, perfect probity, the soundest of 
understandings, and the kindest of hearts. In every relation 
of life he was amiable and upright, nor were his talents more 
remarkable than his gentleness and modesty." Dublin 
University Magazine, vol. xxiii., p. 688. 

Also see biographical notices in Webb's Compendium ol 
Irish Biography, p. 86 ; Dictionary of National Biography, 
vol. xi., p. 333 ; and Imperial Dictionary of Universal Bio- 
graphy, vol. i., p. 1090. 

WILLIAM DARGAN, 1851-65. 

A History of the parish would be incomplete 
without some mention of this well-known and re- 
markable man, who resided at Mount Anville for 
a considerable time. He was a native of the Co. 
Carlow, and was b. in 1799. He was placed in a 
surveyor's office, and soon acquired a knowledge oi 
his profession. Having been employed under Tel- 
ford in the construction of the Holyhead Road, he 



PAKISHIONEKS. 165 

returned to Ireland, and commenced business on 
his own account. He was the original promoter of 
the Dublin and Kingstown Railway the first line 
made in Ireland and became the contractor for its 
construction. He was subsequently the contractor 
for the Ulster Canal, the Dublin and Drogheda, 
Great Southern and Western, and Midland Great 
Western Eailways. The Dublin Exhibition of 
1853 owed its existence to his generosity ; he ad- 
vanced enormous sums for its promotion, and lost 
by it 20,000. At the opening of the Exhibition he 
was publicly complimented by the Queen,* and was 
afterwards offered a baronetcy, which he declined. 
He was a J.P. and D.L. of Dublin. He d. Feb. 7, 
1867, and was bur. at Glasnevin. He left a widow, 
who d. June, 1894, but had no children. 

" To follow the career of Mr. Dargan would be to comment 
on almost every great undertaking in the land. We believe 
the estimate is not overstated which attributes to him the 

* The Dublin Evening Mail, Aug. 31, 1853, thus describes 
the Queen's reception of Mr. Dargan: "Her Majesty re- 
ceived Mr. Dargan with manifest delight. She advanced 
rapidly to the edge of the platform, warmly congratulated 
him on the success of his splendid undertaking, and ex- 
pressed her great pleasure on seeing him on that occasion. 
The Queen stretched forth her hand as if for the purpose of 
shaking hands with Mr. Dargan ; but that gentleman's 
modesty not permitting him to respond to a distinction as 
great as it was unexpected, he hesitated for an instant, when 
Her Majesty kindly laid her hand upon his arm, and shook 
it warmly. The immense assemblage burst out into a 
unanimous and enthusiastic cheer, which was repeated again 
and again." 



166 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

construction of over one thousand miles of railway, and one 
hundred miles of canals, embankments, and tunnels. He 
is one of the most remarkable instances on record not in- 
frequent as such instances are in modern times of men who 
are the architects of their own fortunes, and the promoters, 
at the same time, of the progress and prosperity of the 
country to which they belong. He possesses, in truth, in a 
singular degree, the qualities which can alone place a man 
in the van of civilization and industrial progress. Prompt, 
sagacious, clear-sighted, and far-seeing, he estimates char- 
acter by instinct, and is thus seldom mistaken in those whom 
he selects to carry out his object." Imperial Dictionary of 
Universal Biography, vol. ii., p. 26. 

Le Farm, in his Seventy Years of Irish Life, in 
speaking of Mr. Dargan (p. 208), says : 

" I have never met a man more quick in intelligence, more 
clear-sighted, and more thoroughly honourable." 

Also see Dictionary of National Biography, vol. 
xiv., p. 54 ; Gentleman's Magazine, vol. ccxxii., 
p. 888. 

The Queen, when in Ireland for the opening of 
the Great Exhibition, visited Mr. Dargan at Mount 
Anville. This event, memorable as the only occa- 
sion on which the parish has been honoured by a 
visit from Her Majesty, is thought worthy of record, 
and an account, somewhat abridged, taken from the 
Dublin Evening Mail of Aug. 81, 1853, is here 
inserted : 

" Her Majesty proceeded at a quarter to five o'clock to 
visit Wm. Dargan, Esq., at his residence Mount Anville. At 
half-past four o'clock, the two chariots, each drawn by four 
splendid bays, driven by postilions wearing the Eoyal livery 
and attended by five outriders, drove round to the principal 



PARISHIONERS. 167 

entrance of the Viceregal Lodge. Her Majesty, Prince 
Albert, the Prince of Wales, Prince Alfred, and the Countess 
of St. German's entered the first carriage. His Excellency 
the Lord Lieutenant, the Hon. Miss Bulteel, and the Earl of 
Granville occupied the second carriage. In a barouche were 
the officers of the staff in attendance on Her Majesty. The 
route taken was along the quays, Dame Street, Grafton 
Street, Nassau Street, Stephen's Green, North and East, 
Leeson Street, Donnybrook Road by Clonskeagh, and on by 
Roebuck to Mount Anville, the residence of Mr. Dargan, 
where Her Majesty and party arrived at half-past five. The 
cortege proceeded up the splendid avenue of the princely 
residence at a slow pace. The carriages having been drawn 
up in front of the principal entrance, the Royal party 
alighted, and Her Majesty, Prince Albert, the Prince of 
Wales, and Prince Alfred were received by Mr. and Mrs. 
Dargan. The manner of Her Majesty was exceedingly 
gracious and courteous, and that of Prince Albert most 
polite and cordial. Mrs. Dargan having been presented to 
Her Majesty and Prince Albert, by whom she was most 
warmly and graciously received, the Royal party were after 
a time conducted through the splendid mansion to the lofty 
tower adjoining, from which they obtained a view, not to be 
surpassed for grandeur, beauty, and variety in the United 
Kingdom. Her Majesty and His Royal Highness expressed 
their warmest admiration of the scenery. After paying a 
visit of more than half-an-hour's duration, the Royal party 
prepared to return, and the Queen and Prince Albert took 
leave most graciously of Mr. and Mrs. Dargan. In return- 
ing the party proceeded at a rapid pace by the route leading 
through Kilmainham to the Park, and arrived at the Lodge 
shortly after seven o'clock. " 

EIGHT HON. WILLIAM, BARON DOWNES, 1811-26. 

The parish has never had a more distinguished 
resident than Lord Downes, who lived at Merville 



168 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

for some years ; and, as has been mentioned in an 
earlier part of this History, he took an active interest 
in its affairs, and was instrumental in procuring 
the means of building the present church. His 
life has been fully recorded in other works, and 
it is only necessary to state here that he was called 
to the Bar in 1776, was M.P. for the Borough of 
Donegal, was appointed a Justice of the King's 
Bench, 1792, Lord Chief Justice, 1803, and Vice- 
Chancellor of the University of Dublin, 1806. He 
resigned the office of Chief Justice in 1822, and 
was created an Irish Peer in the same year. He d. 
March 3, 1826, and was bur. in St. Ann's Church, 
Dublin, in the same tomb with his friend Judge 
Chamberlaine (p. 103). (See Slacker's Sketches of 
Booterstown, pp. 122-4, 319-23 ; also biographical 
notice by Blacker in the Dictionary of National 
Biography, vol. xv., p. 395.) 

EIGHT HON. ANTHONY FOSTER, circa 1770. 
Chief Baron Foster resided at, and there is reason 
to believe was the builder of, Merville,* and from 
him the adjoining road is called Foster Avenue. 
He was the son of John Foster, Esq., of Dunleer, 
Co. Louth, by his wife Elizabeth, youngest dau. of 
William Fortescue, Esq., of Newrath, Co. Louth, 
and was b. in 1705. He entered T.C.D., and 

* His town residence was "Kerry House," Molesworth 
Street, in which he was succeeded by his distinguished son, 
the last Speaker of the Irish House of Commons. Gilbert's 
History of Dublin, vol. iii., p. 260. 



PARISHIONERS. 169 

graduated B.A. in 1726. He was called to the Bar 
in 1732, and made a King's Counsel in 1760. He 
represented the Borough of Dunleer in Parliament 
for over twenty years, until returned for the Co. 
Louth in 1762. He continued to sit for that county 
until 1765, when he was appointed Chief Baron of 
the Exchequer. He was created a Privy Councillor. 
In 1776 he resigned the office of Chief Baron, and 
d. on April 3, 1778. He m., first, Feb. 25, 1736, 
Elizabeth (d. July 30, 1744), younger dau. of 
William Burgh, Esq., of Dublin, and had issue 1. 
John,* last Speaker of the Irish House of Commons, 
created Baron Oriel in 1821, m., 1764, Margaret 
Amelia, dau. of Thomas Burgh, Esq., M.P., of Bert, 
Co. Kildare, and d. Aug. 23, 1828 ; 2. William,! 
D.D., Bishop of Cork, and subsequently of Kilmore 
and of Clogher, Chaplain to the Irish House of 
Commons, m. Catherine Letitia (d. 1814), dau. of 
Eev. Henry Leslie, and d. 1797 ; 3. Margaret, m. 
Eight I Rev. and Hon. Henry Maxwell, Bishop of 
Meath, and d. 1792. He ?., secondly, July 29, 
1749, Dorothea, dau. of Thomas Burgh, Esq., of 
Oldtown, M.P., Naas, and by her had no issue. (See 
Foster's Peerage, 1881, under Massereene ; and 
Foster, Eev. Sir Cavendish, Bart. ; and in B. P., 
1830, under Ferrard, Viscount.) 

* See Dictionary of National Biography, vol. xx., p. 56. 
t See Cotton's Fasti, &c., vol. i., p. 234 ; vol. iii., pp. 83, 
170, and "Brady's Records of Cork, vol. iii., p. 81. 
j Thus styled in the Meath Register. 
See Cotton's Fasti, &c., vol. iii., pp. 123, 174, 284. 



170 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

Chief Baron Foster did not confine his attention 
to his profession ; he took a practical interest in 
agriculture, and was remarkable in the age in 
which he lived for advanced views on the manage- 
ment of property. Arthur Young calls him a 
" prince of improvers," and gives a long account 
of a visit which he paid in July, 1776, to the Chief 
Baron on his estate at Collon in the Co. Louth. 
He says that twenty years previously it was a waste 
sheep-walk, covered with heath, and inhabited by 
people as miserable as can be conceived, and 
describes this barren wilderness, at the time of his 
visit, as a sheet of corn, a country smiling with 
cultivation, and planted with a happy and indus- 
trious tenantry. The operations in reclaiming the 
estate were of a magnitude such as Young had 
never heard of before ; enormous quantities of 
lime had been laid on the land, miles of fences and 
roads had been constructed, many acres of planta- 
tions had been made under the direction of the 
Chief Baron's son, and " a new race of tenantry had 
been nursed up." The Chief Baron gave Young " a 
variety of information uncommonly valuable ;" he 
told him that he had found raising rents quickened 
the industry of the tenantry, set them searching 
for manures, and made them better farmers, and 
was of opinion an opinion which would not find 
much acceptance in the present day that it was 
one of the greatest causes of the improvement of 
Ireland. Arthur Young's Tour in Ireland, ed. by 
A. W. Button, Lon., 1892, vol. i., pp. 110 et seq. 



PARISHIONERS. 171 

MR. JUSTICE Fox, 1812-19. 
The Hon. Luke Fox, one of the Justices of the 
Common Pleas, resided at Trimleston for several 
years. He was the son of Michael Fox, Esq., and 
was b. in Leitrim in 1757. He entered T.C.D. on 
July 8, 1773, and having won a Scholarship in 
1777, graduated B.A. in 1779. He was c. to the 
Bar in 1784, and appointed a King's Counsel in 
1795. He sat in the Irish Parliament as member 
for the Borough of Fethard, in the Co. Wexford, 
from 1795 to 1797, for the Borough of Clonmines, 
in the same county, from 1797 to 1799, and for the 
Manor of Mullingar from 1799 to 1800. He was 
appointed a Justice of the Common Pleas, March, 
1801, and continued to occupy that position until 
he resigned in 1816. He d. suddenly at Har- 
rogate, where he had gone for the benefit of his 
health, on Aug. 26, 1819. He m. in 1791, at Eath- 
farnham Castle, Miss Annesley, niece to the Eight 
Hon. Lord Viscount Loftus. 

SIR JOHN FRANKS, 1836-51. 
Sir John Franks, of St. Brigid's,* was the second 
son of Thomas Franks, Esq., of Ballymagooly, by 

* St. Brigid's was occupied by Sir John's elder brother, 
Matthew Franks, Esq., who purchased it in 1806, before it 
became 'his residence. It has since remained in the pos- 
session of the Franks family, and is now the residence of his 
grand-nephew, Thomas Cuthbert Franks, Esq., Solicitor, 
ex-President of the Incorporated Law Society, and J.P. Co. 
Dublin. (See Franks of Carrig, B.L.G., 1894.) 



172 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Catherine, dau. of Kev. John Day, and sister of the 
Hon. Mr. Justice Day. He was l>. in 1770, and 
having entered T.C.D., he graduated B.A., 1788, and 
LL.B., 1791. He was c. to the Bar in 1792, and 
went the Minister Circuit. In 1822 he was made 
a King's Counsel, and in 1825 he was appointed 
Judge of the Supreme Court of Calcutta. He was 
presented to the King on his appointment, and 
received the honour of Knighthood. He returned 
from India in 1835. He m., first, Catherine, dau. 
of Thomas Franks, Esq., of Carrig, Co. Cork, and 
had issue 1. John, D.L., m. Eleanora, dau. of 
William Whitmore, Esq., and d. 1881, leaving 
issue ; 2. Matthew, llth Dragoons, m. Louisa, dau. 
of Captain Koche, and d. t leaving issue; 3. Margaret, 
m. Ven. John Hawtayne, Archdeacon of Bombay ; 
4. Catherine, m. Thomas Montgomery, Esq. ; 5. 
Lucy, m. Henry Holroyd, Esq. He m., secondly, 
Jane, dau. of John Marshall, Esq. ; and thirdly, 
Sarah Wollaston (d. Feb. 22, 1874, bur. T. G.), 
dau. and co-heir of William O'Began, Esq. Sir 
John d. Jan. 10, 1852, and is bur. in T. G. (p. 34). 

" Upon his appointment to the Indian Bench in 1825, he 
was presented with an address from all his brethren of the 
Munster Bar, breathing the most cordial sentiments of affec- 
tion and respect ; and before his final departure from the 
East, he was presented with similar testimonies to his 
ability and worth. ... As a companion his conversa- 
tion was always attractive. In addition to his stores of 
general knowledge, derived from books and from the expe- 
rience of a long life, he brought a quality of his own which 
individualized his thoughts and diction a peculiar aboriginal 



PARISHIONERS. 173 

wit, quiet, keen, and natural to the occasion, and, best of 
all, never malignant." Gentleman's Magazine, vol. xxxvii. 
(N. S.), p. 408 ; also see Dictionary of National Biography, 
vol. xx., p. 198. 

Sm EDWARD GROGAN, BART., 1875-91. 

Sir Edward Grogan resided at Ballintyre for 
nearly twenty years. He was the eldest son of 
John Grogan, Esq., by his wife Sarah, dau. of 
Charles Dowling Medlicott, Esq. (B.P., 1895, p. 641.) 
Having entered T.C.D., he graduated B.A., 1823, 
M.A., 1833. He was c. to the Bar in 1840. In 
1841 he was elected M.P. for Dublin, and represented 
the City for nearly a quarter of a century until 1865. 
He was created a Baronet, April 23, 1859, and was 
a D.L. of Dublin. He d. Jan. 26, 1891, and was 
bur. at Mount Jerome. He ?., July 27, 1867, 
Catherine Charlotte, eldest dau. of Sir Beresford 
Burston MacMahon, Bart., and had issue 1. 
Edward Ion Charles, the present Baronet ; 2. 
Maria Katharine Nina ; 3. Sarah Madeleine ; 4. 
Aileen Edward Sybil Teresa. 

" His keen and close attention to business, and his uncom- 
promising adherence to the party to which he had attached 
himself by conviction, commanded the respect of friends 
and opponents alike." Daily Express, Jan. 27, 1891. 

LIEUT.-GENERAL HENRY HALL, C.B., 1839-75. 

General Hall, who resided at Merville from 1839 
until his death, was the fourth son of the Vene- 
rable Francis Hall, Archdeacon of Kilmacduagh, by 



174 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Christiana Traill, niece of the Eight Eev. Dr. 
Traill, Bishop of Down. (See Hall of Mairwara, 
B.L.G., 1863.) He was b. Sept. 11, 1789, entered 
the Army in 1804, and went to India in the follow- 
ing year. He was successively lieutenant, captain, 
major, and colonel in the Bengal Army. He saw 
much active service, and displayed great bravery in 
several expeditions against the native chiefs. In 
1822 he was appointed Governor of Mairwara, and 
in the subjugation and civilization of that province 
exhibited remarkable administrative ability. He 
continued to hold that position until 1835, when he 
returned from India. He was made a C.B. in 1838, 
and became a Major-General, and subsequently, in 
1858, a Lieutenant-General. He was J.P. for the 
Cos. of Dublin and Galway. He d. Aug., 1875. 
He m., 1827, Sarah (d. 1847), eldest dau. of 
General Fagan, Adjutant-General of the Bengal 
Army, and had issue 1. Henry Edward, Captain 
13th Light Infantry, served in the Crimean War 
and Indian Mutiny, m., Nov. 23, 1858, Annie, only 
child of Col. T. Moore, Bengal Army, and <l. Feb., 
1869, having had issue i. Henry Thomas, Captain 
18th Hussars, m. Lizzie Annie, eldest dau. of Major 
John Joseph Lopdell, of Eaheen Park, Galway ; ii. 
Charles Henry Edward ; iii. Arthur Francis ; iv. 
Clara Annie Isabella ; 2. Christopher James Traill, 
o. s.p., 1854 ; 3. Eliza Margaret (d. July 14, 1885), 
m., T. C., Jan. 30, 1855, the Eev. Macnevin Brad- 
shaw, M.A., sometime Eector of Clontarf ; 4. Annie, 
d. unm. 



PARISHIONERS. 175 

A full account of General Hall's career as a 
soldier and as an administrator will be found in the 
Story of Mairwara (Lon., 1868). The author, in 
speaking of his character, says (p. 127) : 

" In advanced years he retains and exhibits the energy, 
the assiduity, the benevolence, the active beneficence, and 
the unfailing judgment, which in other days achieved for 
him such great results in India." 

SIR EGBERT HARTY, BART., 1826-32. 
Sir Eobert Harty was only for a short time a 
parishioner, owing to his premature death ; but the 
residence of his family, since his decease, at Pros- 
pect Hall has identified the name of Harty with 
Dundrum. Sir Eobert was a well-known citizen 
of Dublin. He was an Alderman ; High Sheriff 
in 1811, and Lord Mayor in 1830. He was 
elected M.P. for the City in 1831, and on Sept. 30 
of that year was created a baronet. He m., March 
21, 1807, Elizabeth (<l June 9, 1875), eldest dau. 
of John Davis, Esq., of Eden Park, and had issue 
1. Eobert, the present baronet, m., Jan. 6, 1857, 
Sophy, dau. of Eev. Samuel G. Fairtlough, Ecctor 
of Ahinagh, Co. Cork, and had issue i. Eobert 
Way, o. s.p., July 22, 1879; ii. Caroline Elizabeth 
Josephine; iii. Isabella Henrietta; 2. Marcus, C.E., 
o.s.p., Dec., 1879 ; 3. Charles Allsop, o.s.p., July 
20, 1840 ; 4. Henry Lockington, J.P. Co. Dublin, of 
Casino,* m., 1854, Anna (d. March 11, 1880), dau. 

* Casino was the country residence of Dr. Robert Emmet, 
the father of Thomas Addis and Robert Emmet, and his 
name appears in the applotments for the Church cess, under 



176 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

of Henry Davis, Esq., and has issue i. Allsop 
Frederick ; ii. Lionel Lockington ; iii. Paulina 
Ehoda ; iv. Elizabeth Kathleen ; 5. Louisa Matilda, 
m., Aug. 11, 1846, George Haigh, Esq. (d. 1883), 
of Bemerside, Yorkshire ; 6. Elizabeth Henrietta ; 
7. Adelaide Emma Jane, m., T. C., Dec. 13, 1859, 
George Henry Haigh, Esq. (d. 1887), Grainsby 
Hall, Lincoln. Sir Eobert d. Oct. 10, 1832. 

SIR EGBERT KANE, 1856-73. 
Sir Eobert Kane resided at Wyckham for a num- 
ber of years. He was b. in 1810, and having 
entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1835, and LL.D., 
1868. He was a Fellow of the King and Queen's 
College of Physicians, a Fellow of the Eoyal 
Society, and a Member of the Eoyal Irish Academy. 
He was appointed President of the Queen's College, 
Cork, in 1845, and Director of the Museum of Irish 
Industry in the same year. In 1846 he received 
the honour of Knighthood. He d. in Dublin on 
Feb. 16, 1890. He m., 1838, Katharine (d. 1886), 
dau. of Henry Baily, Esq. 

SIR EDWARD HUDSON HUDSON-KINAHAN, BART., 

1873-92. 

This well-known citizen of Dublin, who was for 
many years one of her most prominent public men, 

the townland of " Farmbolie," from 1794 until his death, 
which occurred in Oct., 1802. His son Eobert returned to 
Ireland about that time from the Continent, where he had 
gone after the rising of 1798, and remained at Casino in 
seclusion for some months. It is said he formed hiding- 
places between the floors of the rooms. Webb's Compen- 
dium of Irish Biography, p. 169. 



PARISHIONEBS. 177 

purchased Wyckham in 1873, and resided there 
until his death. He took an active part in every 
movement for the advancement of the material 
pi'osperity of his city and country, and was a muni- 
ficent supporter of all charitable institutions. In 
his political opinions he was a Conservative, and, as 
a much esteemed member of his party, his counsel 
and assistance were sought and greatly valued in all 
times of emergency. He was the second son of 
Robert Henry Kinahan, Esq., Lord Mayor of Dub- 
lin, 1853, by his wife, Charlotte, dau. of Edward 
Hudson. Esq., M.D. (p. 121), and was b. Nov. 27, 
1828. He was a J.P. for the City and Co. of Dublin, 
and for the Co. of Cork. He was High Sheriff 
of Dublin, 1868, of the Co". Dublin, 1875, and of 
the Queen's Co., 1892. He was created a baronet, 
Sept. 26, 1887, and assumed, by royal license, Oct., 
1887, the prefix of Hudson. He d. at Maryborough, 
where he was attending the Assizes as High Sheriff 
of the Queen's Co., on March 8, 1892, and was bur. 
at Mount Jerome. He m., May 12, 1863, Emily 
Isabella, dau. of the Eev. Daniel Dickinson, M.A., 
Rector of Seapatrick, Co. Down, and had issue 
1. Edward Hudson, the present baronet; 2. Robert 
Henry ; 3. Daniel Dickinson ; 4. George Frederick 
(bapt. T. C.) ; 5. Cecil Barton (bapt. T. C.) ; 6. 
Margaretta Emily, d. June 12, 1873 ; 7. Charlotte 
Hudson, m., T. C., Jan. 22, 1895, Cornelius 
Richard O'Callaghan, Esq. ; 8. Grace Elizabeth ; 
9. Emily Margaretta ; 10. Gertrude Isabella Mar- 
garet; 11. Ellen Louisa Maria ; 12. Eileen Julia. 



178 THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

In speaking of Sir Edward, the Daily 
March 9, 1892, said : 

" Few men who have taken so prominent a part in public 
life during times of great political excitement have won and 
retained to so large an extent the respect and honour of their 
fellow-citizens of all creeds and classes. Although a very 
firm, courageous, and consistent upholder of Conservative 
principles, he was never obtrusive in his political attitude, 
and the bitterest and most sensitive opponent could not find 
the slightest occasion for offence in his expression of his 
opinions." 

HON. PATRICK PLUNKET, 1842-59. 
The Hon. Patrick Plunket, Judge of the Court 
of Bankruptcy, resided at Donnybrook Cottage,* 
from 1842 until his death. He was the fifth son 
of William Conyngham, first Baron Plunket, some- 
time Lord Chancellor of Ireland, by his wife, 
Catherine, only dau. of John M'Causland, Esq., 
M.P. (B. P., 1895). He was b. in 1799, and having 
entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1821, and M.A., 
1832. He was called to the bar in 1824. He was 
appointed a Commissioner of Bankrupts in 1837, 
and, under legislation in 1858, became a Judge of 
the Court of Bankruptcy. He d. July 31, 1859. 
He t., May 24, 1838, Maria, dau. of John Atkin- 
son, Esq. (p. 28), and had issue 1. William 
Conyngham, Lieut. 22nd Regt. ; 2. Charles John 
Cedric, m., Aug. 4, 1881, Alice, third dau. of 
Francis P. Cupiss, Esq., F.R.C.S. ; 8. Constance 
Gertrude Maria, m. t Feb. 9, 1866, Richard Mayne 
Tabuteau, Esq. 

* Now called St. Margaret's (see p. 162). 



PARISHIONERS. 179 

SIR JOHN POWER, 1814-55. 

Sir John Power, who was one of O'Connell's most 
influential supporters, resided at Roebuck House" 
for over forty years. He was a D.L. and J.P. of 
Dublin, and was created a Baronet, Oct. 18, 1841. 
He d. June 26, 1855. He m., Sept. 26, 1799, Mary 
(d. 1834), eldest dau. of Thomas Brenan, Esq., 
and had issue 1. James, the second Baronet, D.L. 
and J.P., M.P. for Co. Wexford, m. Jane Anna Eliza, 
dau. of John Hyacinth Talbot, Esq., D.L. and M.P., 
and d. Sept. 30, 1877, leaving issue (see B.P., 
1895); 2. Mary, d. unm. ; 3. Catherine, m. Sir 
Nicholas FitzSimon, M.P. ; 4. Margaret, m. Francis 
Augustus Codd, Esq. ; 5. Annetta, m. Thomas S. 
Coppinger, Esq. ; 6. Eliza, in. John Hyacinth Tal- 
bot, Esq. ; 7. Emily ; 8. Ellen, m. Joseph Barry, 
Esq. 

" Simple-hearted and sincere in his manner, upright and 
liberal in every transaction of life, unbounded and discrimi- 
nating in his charities, his memory will be long cherished by 
his family and friends." Dublin Evening Post, June 28, 
1855. 

" Sagacious, active, and energetic, he dispensed with wise 

munificence an ample fortune He respected 

conscientious difference of sentiment, and lived on terms 
the most friendly with those of opposite views." Freeman's 
Journal, June 27, 1855. 

WHITLEY STOKES, M.D., 1806-31. 
Dr. Whitley Stokes resided in Dundrum for 
many years, and is buried in Taney Graveyard, 

* Now called Roebuck Grove (see p. 157). 



180 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

with several members of bis family. His distinc- 
tion as a collegian was not less than the eminence 
he enjoyed as a physician; and he is one of the few 
instances in which a Fellow of T.C.D. filled the 
chair of Regius Professor of Physic. He was b. in 
1763, and was educated at the Endowed School, 
Waterford. He entered T.C.D. , and having won a 
Scholarship, graduated B.A., 1783, M.A., 1789, and 
M.D., 1793. He became a Fellow in 1788, and 
was appointed King's Professor of Practice of 
Medicine in 1793. In 1816, on becoming a Non- 
conformist, he resigned his Fellowship, and was 
appointed Lecturer in Natural History. In 1830 
he was appointed Regius Professor of Physic. He 
was instrumental in founding the College Botanical 
Gardens, and also took a leading part in establish- 
ing the Zoological Gardens. As a physician he 
had a large practice, and much distinguished him- 
self by his treatment of fever during severe 
epidemics in 1817 and 1827. He d. at his house 
in Harcourt Street on April 13, 1845. He m. Mary 
Anne (d. July 13, 1844, bur. T. G.), only dau. of 
William Picknoll, Esq., and had issue 1. Whitley; 
2. William, Honorary M.D., Dub.; D.C.L., Oxon.; 
LL.D., Cantab.; LL.D., Edin. ; three times President 
of the College of Physicians of Ireland, Regius 
Professor of Physic, T.C.D., </. Jan. 7, 1878 ; 3. 
Gabriel ; 4. Henry ; 5. John ; 6. Harriet, <L June 
10, 1825, bur. T. G. ; 7. Mary Anne, d. Oct. 14, 
1838, bur. T. G. ; 8. Eliza ; 9. Sarah ; 10. Ellen 
Honoria, d. Aug. 6, 1880, bur. T. G. (see p. 43). 



PARISHIONERS. 181 

Dr. Stokes was a son of the Kev. Gabriel Stokes, 
D.D., Chancellor of Waterford Cathedral, and Eector 
of Ardtrea, in the Diocese of Armagh (Cotton's 
Fasti, vol. i., pp. 148, 191, vol. iv., p. 146), who m. 
Miss Sarah Boxwell, and had issue 1. Whitley ; 
2. William, M.D., formerly of Killeshandra, who 
was bur. T. G., Oct. 20, 1806 ; 8. Gabriel, m. Miss 
Merrit, and was bur. T. G., April 18, 1848, leaving 
issue Gabriel, bur. T. G., June 13, 1853 ; 4. Harriet ; 
5. Eliza, lur. T. G., March 25, 1846. 

" A man who conferred many and great benefits on society 
in Ireland, and whose body, soul, and spirit were for years 
devoted to the pursuit of means to promote the moral 
interests and develop the physical resources of his country, 
and who was so far in advance of the times in which he 
lived, that it is now only we can appreciate what he strove 
for during a long life ; and we are now reaping the benefits 
of that for which he endured years of toil, obloquy, and 
even persecution to accomplish. . . . Doctor Stokes was 
through a long life a strenuous advocate of the liberties, not 
only of his country, but of mankind. He was the uncom- 
promising enemy of tyranny, whether despotic or democratic. 
He was the first successful teacher of medicine in Ireland, as 
well as the founder of clinical medical instruction." Dublin 
University Magazine, vol. xxvi., p. 202. 

The above extract is taken from a most interest- 
ing memoir in the University Magazine; also see 
a biographical notice in Webb's Compendium of Irish 
Biography, p. 502, and Stubbs's History of the 
University of Dublin, pp. 294, et seq. 

..JOHN EDWARD VERNON, 1854-87. 
Mr. Vernon, as agent to the Pembroke Estates, 
resided for many years at Mount Merrion. He was 



182 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

the eldest son of the Eev. John Fane Vernon, by 
his wife Frances, dau. of the Bight "Rev. John 
Kearney, D.D., Bishop of Ossory. (See Vernon of 
Clontarf, B.L.G., 1895.) He was ft. in 1816, and 
having entered T.C.D., graduated B.A., 1838, and 
M.A., 1865. He was J.P., D.L., and High Sheriff, 
1864, of Cavan, and J.P. for the Cos. Dublin, 
Wicklow, and Monaghan. He was some time a 
Director and Governor of the Bank of Ireland. In 
1881 he was appointed one of the Land Commis- 
sioners. He d. March 7, 1887. He m., first, July 
2, 1846, Harriet, youngest dau. of the Eight Rev. 
John Leslie, D.D., Bishop of Kilmore, by his wife 
Isabella, dau. of the Hon. and Eight Eev. Thomas 
St. Lawrence, Bishop of Cork, and had issue 1. 
John Fane, M.A., Barrister-at-Law, J.P., and High 
Sheriff, 1890, Co. Cavan, and J.P., Co. Dublin, m., 
May 11, 1882, Thomasina Georgina, dau. of Eev. 
Canon Henry Joy Tombe, D.D. ; 2. Edward Saunder- 
son, m., 1882, Miss Georgina Eich ; 3. Isabella 
Frances, m., T. C., June 24, 1875, Henry Chichester 
Tisdall, Esq. ; 4. Charlotte Diana, </. Dec. 19, 1867. 
He m. secondly, T. C., Nov. 17, 1857, Maria Esther, 
eldest dau. of the Hon. George F. Pomeroy-Colley, 
and had issue (bapt. T. C.) 1. George Arthur 
Pomeroy, LL.D. ; 2. Walter Pomeroy, d. Oct. 10, 
1890; 3. Anna Lilian ; 4. Helen Eose ; 5. Blanche. 
" A public man of high talents and character. . . His 
appointment as a Land Commissioner was one for which his 
natural talents, experience, independence, and strict probity 
fitted him. As agent of the Pembroke Estates, he had long 
been noted for his practical recognition of the duties as well 



PAEISHIONEES. 183 

as the rights of property, and no Irish estate was better 
administered. . . . His death brings to a close a most 
useful life, and cannot but be regarded as a distinct loss to 
his country." Dublin Evening Mail, March 8, 1887. 

JOHN, BAKON TRIMLESTON, circa 1534. 

D'Alton states that John, the 3rd Baron of Trim- 
leston, resided in the Castle of Roebuck.* He was 
the grandson of Eobert, 1st Baron of Trimleston, 
who m. Elizabeth, dau. and heiress of Christopher 
le Brune, of " Rabo " or Roebuck, and, there is no 
doubt, was the owner of the estate which remained 
in the possession of the Trimleston family until the 
beginning of the present century. In 1509 he was 
appointed second Justice of the King's Bench in 
Ireland, in 1522 Vice- Treasurer of Ireland, in 1524 
High Treasurer of Ireland, and in 1534 Lord 
Chancellor of Ireland. He m. four times, his first 
wife being Jane, dau. of John Bellew, Esq., of 

* Brewer, in his Beauties of Ireland, p. 213, says the 
building was nearly destroyed in the wars of 1641, whilst the 
property of Matthew Barnewall, Lord Trimleston, but has 
been since restored. Lewis, in his Topographical Dictionary 
of Ireland, ed. 1837, vol. L, p. 518, says it was occupied by 
James II. and the Duke of Berwick when they encamped in 
the neighbourhood. He mentions that it was repaired about 
1790 by the then Lord Trimleston, who fitted up one of the 
apartments, a noble room, 50 feet in length, as a theatre, 
and that it was purchased about ten years afterwards by 
Mr. James Crofton (p. 105), who pulled down a portion of the 
buildings; and modernised the remainder, of which the room 
mentioned, then used as a drawing-room, was the only 
remaining part of the old castle. 



184 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Bellewstown, and d. in 1538. (D'Alton's History 
of the County Dublin, p. 809 ; B.P., 1895 ; Burke's 
Lord Chancellors of Ireland, p. 38.) 

THOMAS WALLACE, K.C., 1820-47. 

Mr. Wallace, who purchased Belfield, Stillorgan 
Eoad, which is still in the possession of his son, 
from the executors of Mr. Peter Digges La Touche 
(p. 123), was one of the distinguished Nisi Prius 
lawyers of his time. He was the son of James 
Wallace, Esq., of Bristol, and was b. 1766. He 
entered T.C.D. on July 7, 1789, taking first place 
at entrance. He won a Scholarship in 1791, and 
graduated B.A. in 1793, and LL.B. and LL.D. in 1815. 
He was c. to the Bar in 1798, and was made a 
King's Counsel in 1816. In 1827 he was returned 
to Parliament as member for Yarmouth, and con- 
tinued to represent that borough until 1830. He 
sat for Drogheda from 1831 to 1832, and was one 
of the members for the Co. Carlow from 1832 to 
1835. He d. at Belfield, Jan. 9, 1847. He m. 
Katharine (d. May 20, 1857), dau. of John Chap- 
man, Esq., of Castle Mifcchel, Co. Kildare, and 
granddaughter of Sir Eobert Waller, Bart., of New- 
port, and had issue 1. Thomas, B.A., T.C.D. , c. to 
the Bar, subsequently took Holy Orders, and was 
sometime Curate of St. Michan'sand St. Thomas', 
and Incumbent of Kill, Diocese of Dublin, from 
1865 to 1890, m. at Beaumaris, April 6, 1847, 
Sophia Mary (d. July 23, 1894), third dau. of the 
Eev. William Eoberts, Eector of Llanfaelog, in 



PARISHIONERS. 185 

Anglesey, and granddaughter of the Ven. Thomas 
Koberts, Archdeacon of Merioneth, and had issue 
(bapt. T. C.) i. Thomas William, d. Aug. 13, 1862 ; 
ii. Eobert Waller, in H. 0., M.A. ; iii. Norris 
Edmund, B.A., Barrister-at-Law, d. at Capetown, 
South Africa, May 19, 1883; iv. Charles John, 
M.A. ;* v. Sophia Elizabeth : vi. Edith Katharine 
Maria, d. Jan. 7, 1859 ; 2. Martha, m., T. C., Feb. 
6, 1836, Thomas Higginbotham Thompson, Esq., 
of Clonskeagh Castle (p. 144). 

Mr. Wallace was author of the following works : 
Essay on the ^Manufactures of Ireland, Dub., 1798; 
Variations of English Prose from the Revolution, 
Trans., Irish Acad., 1796 ; View of the Present State 
of the Manufactures of Ireland, Dub., 1800 ; Observa- 
tion on the Discourse of Natural Theology by Lord 
Brougham, Lon., 1834; I Additional Observations, 
Dub., 1835 ; Thoughts on the Elements of Civil 
Government, Lon., 1836. 

Curran, in his Sketches of tJie Irish Bar, gives a 
most interesting account, written by him in 1826, of 
Mr. Wallace, then at the head of his profession. 
He says (p. 334) that 

" He is distinguished for a solid and comprehensive judg- 
mentfor manly sagacity rather than captious subtilty in 

* Author of The Analogy of Existences and Christianity, 
Lon., 1892. 

t Archbishop Whately, in one of his letters, says, refer- 
ring to this book, that Mr. Wallace appears to be a much 
sounder philosopher than Lord Brougham. (Life of Richard 
Whately, by his daughter, Lon., 1868, p. 113.) 



186 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

argument for the talent (and here he peculiarly excels) of 
educing an orderly, lucid, and consistent statement out of a 
chaotic assemblage of intricate and conflicting facts for his 
knowledge of human nature, both practical and metaphy- 
sical and along with these for the sustained and authorita- 
tive force of his language and delivery, which operate as a 
kind of personal warranty for the soundness of every topic 
he advances." 

Curran mentions (p. 329) that in the intercourse 
of private life Mr. Wallace was 

" Of the most frank and familiar manners, an extremely 
attractive companion, and a warm and constant friend." 



CHAPTEE IX. 

SCHOOLS, PARISH OFFICERS, GLEBE HOUSE AND LAND. 



THE earliest record of the existence of a school in 
the parish is a license issued by Archbishop 
Fowler on May 7, 1790, appointing, on the nomi- 
nation of Archdeacon Hastings, Henry Curran as 
Parish Clerk and " English Schoolmaster " of 
Taney ; and it is probable that a parochial school 
was first established in that year. 

The next mention is to be found in the Vestry 
Book. At a Vestry held on Sept. 25, 1792, a vote 
of thanks was passed to the Rev. George Horan, 
A.M., "for his excellent sermon preached here last 
Sunday for the charity of the school of this parish," 
and immediately following the minutes of this 
Vestry are the proceedings at a meeting "of the 
Treasurer, Governors, and Subscribers to the 
Charity School of Taney," held on Oct. 7, 1792. 
The accounts from August, 1790, to September, 
1792, were presented by the Treasurer, Sir Thomas 
Lighton, and showed receipts amounting to 145 
16s. 9d., including a collection of 62 16s. after 
Mr. Koran's sermon, and an expenditure of only 



188 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

<i5 3s. 9d. Mr. Sweetman and Mr. Potts* were 
then appointed Governors, and the following ex- 
penditure approved of for the ensuing year : 

Master ... ... 15 

Mistress ... ... 600 

Coals, &c. ... ... 500 

Books, &c 2 10 

For Clothes for any number 

under 80 Boys, sum not 

exceeding ... ... 22 15 

For Food ... ... 15 

Materials for Work ... 10 

Sundries 300 



79 

The history of the schools from 1805 can be 
easily traced, as the book containing the accounts 

* Mr. James Potts, of Eoebuck (p. 138), and Mr. John 
Sweetman, of Churchtown. The appointment of the latter 
a Eoman Catholic shows the liberal principles on which the 
schools were managed. He was afterwards concerned in the 
Eebellion of 1798, and the informer, John Hughes, of Bel- 
fast, in his evidence given before the Secret Committee of 
the Irish House of Commons, mentions that in April, 1798, 
Neilson, one of the leaders of the United Irishmen, called 
on him when in Dublin, and that they went to Sweetman's, 
near Judge Chamberlaine's, to breakfast. Sweetman was 
then in prison, but Neilson lived in the house. They drove 
subsequently in Sweetman's carriage to Mr. Grattan's, at 
Tinnehinch. A copy of the Report of the Committee is in 
Marsh's Library, and was presented to it in 1798 by Mr. 
James Crofton, of the Treasury (p. 105). 



SCHOOLS. 189 

from that year until 1858 has been preserved. It 
was carefully kept, and shows that the necessary 
funds to support the schools were in the early years 
provided by an annual sermon, supplemented by 
some subscriptions. The offertories were large, as 
the following instances will show : 

1805 90 16 10 

1810 84 7 11 

1815 ... ... ... 112 19 5 

1820 ... 91 19 5 

1825 81 4 8 

1830 ... .. ... 76 12 2 

1835 ... ... ... 63 3 10 

From 1836 to 1858 two sermons were annually 
preached in aid of the charity ; but the revenue 
from that source declined, while the receipts from 
subscriptions increased. 

The sermons were at first advertised in the Dub- 
lin Newspapers, and particulars about the schools 
are given in the advertisements. In 1808 42 boys 
and 42 girls were educated, 75 children were 
clothed, and 1,606 breakfasts were provided. In 
1813 63 boys and 80 girls were educated, 75 re- 
ceived clothing, and 2,795 breakfasts were pro- 
vided. In 1819 200 children were educated, and 
80 were clothed. 

It appears from the advertisements that the 
children were of all persuasions, and that they were 
instructed in the first principles of Christianity, in 
reading, writing, and arithmetic, and that the girls 



190 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

were taught to sew and knit. In 1817 it was 
mentioned that the male school would have to be 
enlarged to accommodate the increasing number 
under the new master, who was educated in the 
school of Kildermo. 

In the advertisement in 1814, in addition to the 
school-work, it is stated that 

" The poor of the parish are constantly supplied with 
money, and with clothes, blankets, fuels, and provisions at 
a cheap rate, and a sum of money is lent on securities re- 
paid by weekly instalments." 

The schools were under the control of the clergy 
and a treasurer, who sometimes were assisted by a 
committee. As the Treasurer seems to have taken 
a very leading part in the management, a list of 
the parishioners who filled the office may not be 
without interest : 

1790-1805 Sir Thomas Lighton. 
1805-1819 Alderman Nathaniel Hone. 
1819-1825 Joseph M'Dermott. 
1825-1827 Henry Dawson. 
1827-1880 Brindley Hone. 
1830-1834 William M'Caskey. 
1834-1850 Arthur Burgh Crofton. 
1850-1853 John Lee Wharton. 
1858-1858 Robert Orme.* 

The schools were originally held in one of the 

* With the exception of Mr. Brindley Hone, all the 
Treasurers filled the office of Churchwarden, and are 
mentioned in chapter vii. 



SCHOOLS. 191 

houses under the graveyard ; but D 1 Alton," writing 
in 1838, says that the old church was then con- 
verted into a school attended by about thirty boys, 
and that at the foot of the burial ground was a 
female charity school attended by about thirty 
girls, and near it a repository for selling goods to 
the poor at moderate prices ; so evidently the in- 
creased accommodation which was mentioned in 
the advertisement of 1817 as required, was obtained 
by annexing a portion of the old church for the 
use of the boys' school. 

This arrangement continued until the present 
school-house, with the teacher's residence at Eglin- 
ton Terrace, was built by Lord Pembroke about the 
year 1859, of which he granted a lease in 1878 
to the Kepresentative Church Body for 150 years 
at Is. per year. This lease contains a covenant 
that the school-house is to be used only as a 
parochial school under the Church of Ireland, and 
for no other purpose without the permission of 
the lessor. 

The infant school was a separate institution, and 
it appears from a report for the year 1857 that it 
was established in 1829. It was under the 
management of a committee of ladies and the 
parochial clergy, and was supported by an annual 
collection in the church and subscriptions. 

* History of the County Dublin, pp. 813-14. 



192 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

PARISH OFFICERS. 
APPLOTTEBS AND APPRAISERS. 

In addition to the Churchwardens, there were 
appointed each year, until the Church Bate ceased 
to be levied in 1862, two Applotters, whose duty it 
was to applot the assessments on the parishioners ; 
and, until 1821, there were also appointed two 
Appraisers, who made any valuations which were 
required for the purpose of assessment. :;: 

VESTRY CLERK AND PARISH CLERK. 

These offices were held by the same person. In 
1792 Henry Curran received a salary of 10 as 
Vestry Clerk, and of 2 5s. 6d. as Parish Clerk. 
In 1813 his salary as Vestry Clerk was 9 2s., and 
as Parish Clerk, 10. In 1823 John Sherlock had 
a salary of 6 16s. 6d. as Vestry Clerk, and of 10 
as Parish Clerk, and in 1832 he had 12 as Vestry 
Clerk, and 10 as Parish Clerk. No assessment 
was made for the salary of the latter office after 
1882, as it was paid by the Ecclesiastical Commis- 
sioners from that time. The duties of the Vestry 
Clerk were denned by Mr. Daniel Kinahan in 1836, 
and were "to receive instruction from the Clergymen 
and Churchwardens for serving notices of Vestries, 
to prepare same, and have them served by Beadle of 
the parish, to keep up the minutes of the Vestry, 
and to write out copies of the Parish and Grand 
Jury Cess." In 1843 James C. Kelly had a salary 
of 17 as Vestry Clerk, which in 1853 had risen to 

* See Assessments, chapter xi. 



PARISH OFFICERS. 193 

19 10s. In 1862 the office was held by John 
Kingston, at a salary of 21 ; but at the Easter 
Vestry, on April 22, the assessment for the amount 
was rejected, and the office ceased to exist. 

PARISH CONSTABLE. 

A Parish or Petty Constable was appointed each 
year until 1829, when the office became amalga- 
mated with that of Beadle. Until 1806 the posi- 
tion was an honorary one, but in that year a sum 
of 2 5s. 6d. was assessed for his salary ; this was 
afterwards increased, and in 1829 it was 6. 

BEADLE. 

In 1802 a Beadle was appointed at a salary of 
2 5s. 6d., which rose to 4 in 1833, to 10 in 
1843, and to 18 in 1853. In 1862 the assessment 
for his salary was rejected, and the office, like that 
of Vestry Clerk, ceased to exist. 

SEXTON. 

The Sexton's salary in 1792 was 4 ; in 1813, 
6 16s. 6d. ; and in 1832, 15 ; after which year 
it was paid, like the salary of the Parish Clerk, by 
the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. 

COLLECTOR OF CESS. 

There was also a Collector of the Church Kate, 
who was -paid a salary which varied from time to 
time. 

o 



194 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 



GLEBE HOUSE AND LAND. 



The Glebe Land originally extended from the 
Graveyard to where the Glebe House now stands. 
Before the railway was made, it was intersected 
only by the road leading to Windy Arbour; 
but the Eailway Company, under its compulsory 
powers of purchase, took the portion lying between 
that road and the road wall bounding the lawn of 
the Glebe House. Some further portions of the 
Glebe were alienated from the Church after the 
passing of the Irish Church Act, under which the 
tenants in occupation of Glebe Lands obtained a 
right of pre-emption of their holdings. By this 
means the field lying between the river and the 
road to Windy Arbour, together with the buildings 
standing upon it, passed to the occupiers. 

The Glebe Land now consists of the field lying 
round two sides of the graveyard, and the plot of 
ground upon which the Glebe House stands, together 
with its lawn and garden. This land was purchased 
in 1873 from the Church Temporalities Commis- 
sioners, for the sum of 541 19s Id., which was 
made up partly by 150 subscribed for the purpose 
by Mr. George Kinahan and Mr. Edward Hudson 
Kinahan ; partly by the composition value of the 
Sexton's salary, and some rent of the Glebe placed 
to the credit of the parish by the Eepresentative 
Body, and partly by money paid out of the Parochial 
funds in 1875. 

The purchase-money paid by the Kailway Com- 



GLEBE HOUSE AND LAND. . 195 

pany was about 800 ; it had been lodged in the 
Court of Chancery by the Company, and the in- 
come paid to the Rector for the time being. 

In 1868 the Eector (the Rev. Alfred Hamilton) 
gave up his interest in the fund in Court, and con- 
sented to the capital being devoted to the building 
of the Glebe House; and a further sum of about 
700 was subscribed by the parishioners, which 
enabled the house to be built. 

In 1874 a loan of 200 was obtained from the 
Board of Works to build a stable ; this loan is re- 
payable by thirty-five annual instalments of 10 
3s. each. The present Rector pays a rent for the 
Glebe House, which is placed to the credit of the 
parish, in part payment of the annual sum required 
to provide for the stipends of the future clergy. 
The next Rector will have the Glebe House free of 
rent. 



CHAPTER X. 

THE CHAPEL OF EASE. 
ST. THOMAS'S. 

TN 1859 a cottage in the grounds of Seafield, 
-*- Stillorgan Eoad, then the property of Mr. 
Thomas Crozier,* was opened for Sunday Evening 
Service, and continued to be used until 1873, when 
it was decided to build a church, the cottage having 
become too small for the congregation attending it. 

The Earl of Pembroke granted a site at the 
corner of Mount Merrion Demesne, where Foster 
Avenue joins Stillorgan Road. 

A committee was formed, consisting of Lord 
Viscount Gough.t the Archbishop of Dublin (Dr. 

* Until his death Mr. Crozier took a deep interest in the 
services, and was a much valued supporter of this auxiliary 
place of worship. His good work has been carried on with 
respect to St. Thomas's by his daughter and her husband, 
Henry Malkin Barton, Esq., of Stonehouse, the adjoining 
place to Seafield, where the Barton family have resided for 
over sixty years. 

t George Stephens, second Viscount Gough, who d. at his 
residence, St. Helen's, on May 31, 1895. Up to the close of 
his life he was a constant attendant at the services in the 
Chapel of Ease. St. Helen's is in the parish of Booterstown, 
but a small portion of the land, adjacent to Foster Avenue, 
is in the townland of Owenstown, and consequently in this 



THE CHAPEL OF EASE. 197 

Trench), Thomas Crozier, Esq., John E. Vernon, 
Esq. (p. 181), and Henry Koe, Esq., junior (p. 141), 
and by the exertions of the Rector, the Eev. Alfred 
Hamilton, subscriptions, including 100 from Lord 
Pembroke, were raised, and in 1874 the church, 
which was built at an expense of 850, was opened 
free of debt." 

It was licensed by the Archbishop for the per- 
formance of, " according to the use of the Church 
of Ireland, Evening Prayer, and all rites and cere- 
monies of the said Church, which legally might or 
ought to be performed in a Chapel of Ease." 

The building is in the form of a single aisle, with 
a suitable chancel at the east end ; it is in the 
pointed style, in granite, with cut stone dressings 
to the door, windows, and coigns. The interior is 
fitted with pitch-pine pulpit, reading-desk, com- 
munion rails, and pews, and is supplied with a 
harmonium. 

The chancel contains a painted window, repre- 
senting Christ blessing little children, and two side- 
lights. A brass tablet upon the north wall bears 
the following inscription : 

" To the glory of God, and in loving memory of Thomas 
Crozier and Mary, his wife, of Seafield, County Dublin, these 
windows have been placed by their children, June, 1875." 

parish. Blacker, in his Sketches of Booterstmcn, gives much 
information about the Gough family, and particularly about 
that distinguished officer, Field-Marshal Lord Gough, father 
of the second Viscount. 

* The Opening Service was on Thursday, December 3rd, 
1874 ; vide Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette, Dec. 23, 1874. 



198 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

A marble tablet on the south wall was erected 

" In memory of Edward Perceval Westby, D.L., of Eoebuck 
Castle, Co. Dublin, and Co. Clare, who entered into rest, 
April 23rd, 1893, aged 64. The Lord always did lead him. 
Deut. xxxii. 12. The beloved of the Lord shall dwell in 
safety. Deut. xxxiii. 12." 

And a similar tablet on the west wall was placed 

" To the praise of God and the hallowed memory of Eleanor, 
dearly loved wife of Warren Wynne, Lieutenant, Royal 
Engineers, and seventh daughter of James Turbett, Esq., and 
Sophie, his wife, of Owenstown, Co. Dublin, who, at the age 
of 24 years, was, by God's will, removed from the home she 
so sweetened and adorned to one far sweeter and brighter, 
she fell asleep on the Lord's Day, 14th December, 1873. As 
Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in 
Jesus will God bring with him. So shall we ever be with 
the Lord." 




CHAPTEK XI. 

MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 

Assessments. 

T1HE Church Kate seems to have been levied in a 
very rough and ready manner until 1794, 
when, at a Vestry held on April 22, the Church- 
wardens were ordered "in future, to the best of 
their power, to procure an estimate of the number 
of acres respectively in the parish, and enter the 
same in the parish Applotment Book, for the pur- 
pose of making out an applotment." 

The Vestry were called upon occasionally to 
applot rates other than those for the church, and 
on June 21, 1796, the sum of 438 16s. lid. was 
applotted at the rate of l^d. half-farthing per acre 
as barony cess, under warrant of the Treasurer of 
the Grand Jury. 

Again, on June 12, 1804, the sum of 151 2s. 
lOd. was applotted as barony cess, and from time 
to time Vestries were held to applot assessments 
under warrants from the Treasurer of the Grand 
Jury. 

The following minute appears in the proceed- 
ings at a Vestry held on April 16, 1805 : 

" Whereas it appears Mr. Mark Moran has been charged 
parish cess for forty-four acres, and it appearing that a 



200 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

great part of the ground is rock and mountain, therefore 
it was agreed in Vestry to reduce the acreable tax one- 
fourth, leaving him liable to pay cesses for thirty-three 



At the Vestry held on May 28, 1810, Messrs. 
Verschoyle and Bourne, residing within the parish, 
and occupying " respectively a house value for at 
least 30 Irish currency," were appointed as valua- 
tors of houses under an Act of that session relating 
to the making of Public Eoads in the County of 
Dublin, and on June 18, 1813, Alderman Hone and 
Mr. Morris Hime were appointed in a similar 
capacity. 

Special Vestries were held on the 18th October 
and 13th November, 1824, under the provisions of 
an Act made in the fourth year of the reign of His 
Majesty King George IV., entitled " An Act to 
provide for the Establishing of Composition for 
Tithes in Ireland for a limited time," when the 
Archdeacon (Torrens) agreed to accept 450 per 
annum as a composition for all tithes from Novem- 
ber 1st, 1824, for a period of twenty-one years. 

An autograph consent to this arrangement from 
the Archbishop, as Bishop of the Diocese and 
Patron of the Parish, is inserted in the Vestry 
Book. 

Mr. Richard Verschoyle, on the part of the 
parish, and Mr. Daniel M'Kay, on the part of the 
Archdeacon, were appointed Commissioners under 
the Act, and were thanked for acting without 
remuneration. They state in their certificate that 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 201 

the average price of oats being the corn prin- 
cipally grown in the county for the period of 
seven years ending November 1st, 1821, was 15s. 
2d. per barrel. 

At a Vestry held on May 9, 1826, it was re- 
solved that, in consequence of the great inequality 
in the value of land in the parish, a suitable 
gradation should be made in the applotment for 
parish cess, and that the model and basis be the 
applotment for carrying out the tithe composition. 
Twenty-eight acres were to be taken off Ticknock, 
being " the number assessable, equal with the num- 
ber already paying tithe." 

And at a Vestry held on April 24, 1848, it was 
resolved that Ticknock was not to be included for 
the future in applotments for parish cess, on 
account of the poverty of the occupiers, which was 
shown by the many years arrears they owed. 

The Church cess ceased to be levied in the year 
1862. (See p. 208.) 

Coaches. 

It was not until 1816 that regular communi- 
cation with Dublin by a public conveyance was 
established. In the commencement of that year 
Mr. Kobert Turbett (p. 148)* devised a scheme for 

* It is an interesting coincidence that Mr. Kobert Turbett's 
grandson, James Turbett, Esq., formerly of Oaklawn (p. 148), 
now of Field House, Chester, is a well-known "whip." He 
takes a great interest in the coaching world of the present 
day, and ran a coach between Dublin and Bray within recent 
years. 



202 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

providing a service of coaches. He was supported 
by a Committee consisting of all the leading in- 
habitants at the time, and the following plan was 
printed : 

"PEOSPECTUS of A Plan for running Coaches between 
Dublin, Dundrum, and Enniskerry, With a Calculation 
of Expences and Income, &c. 

" One Coach to leave Dublin every Morning for Enniskerry 
and return to Dublin from Enniskerry every Evening. An- 
other Coach to leave Dundrum every Morning for Dublin, 
and to leave Dublin for Dundrum at five o'Clock. 

" It is supposed that the Coach to Enniskerry would be filled 
by Persons going to see the County of Wicklow, the Dargle, 
Waterfall, &c., and returning from them, and by Persons 
going in the Morning to Dundrum to drink Goats' Whey. 
The Dundrum Coach to Dublin in the Morning would be 
filled by Persons living in Dundrum going to Dublin on 
business, and by those who came out in the Enniskerry 
Coach to drink Goats' Whey. The Dublin Coach to Dun- 
drum would be filled at five o'Clock by Persons living at 
Dundrum returning to Dinner, and Persons not living there, 
but going to dine, who could return in the Evening by the 
Enniskerry Coach returning to Dublin. 

" The Enniskerry Coach to be drawn by four Horses with 
two spare Horses. The Dundrum Coach to be drawn by 
three Horses without a spare Horse. The Coaches to carry 
six inside and ten outside Passengers, with Luggage and 
Parcels. 



Outfit ... 


... 700 


IncomeJ... 
Yearly Expenditure 

Profit , 


... 1,017 5 
617 17 6 


399 7 6 



Should the Profit be only 300 per annum, it would leave 
42 per cent." 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 203 

The result of Mr. Turbett's scheme was the es- 
tablishment of two coaches, each carrying six in- 
side and twelve outside passengers, to run between 
Enniskerry and Dublin. One coach left the Earn. 
Hotel, Aungier Street (the starting-place was after- 
wards changed to Molesworth Street) at 7 a.m., 
arriving in Enniskerry at 9 a.m., and returning 
from Enniskerry at 8 p.m.; the other left Ennis- 
kerry at 8 a.m., arriving in Dublin at 9.55 a.m., 
and returning from Dublin at 4.80 p.m. The fare 
from Dundrum was Is. 3d. inside and lOd. outside. 

Derivation of Place Names. 

Dr. Joyce says that Dundrum means a citadel 
on a low hill or ridge, and thinks the fort was 
situated where the present church stands. Ballinteer 
is the town of the builder or carpenter. Farran- 
boley is land where cattle are fed or milked. Tik- 
nock, or Tiknick, is the house of the hill ; and 
Callary was the name of an Irish tribe. The deriv- 
ation of Ballawley has been already given in a foot- 
note (p. 14). Clonskeagh means the meadow of the 
white-thorn bushes. (See Joyce's Irish Names of 
Places, vol. i., pp. 277, 280, 524, 224, 347, 240, 
382, 125, 519.) 

Dispensary and Officers of Health. 

In the year 1812, as appears from the Vestry 

Book, & meeting of the parishioners of Taney was 

held in the Parish Church on Sunday, Oct. 25, 

" for the purpose of taking into consideration the 



204 THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

expediency and best mode of establishing a Dispen- 
sary in Dundrum to promote the comfort of the 
poor in that village and its vicinity." The follow- 
ing Committee was appointed, with directions to 
make their report on the next Sunday : Eight 
Hon. Lord Chief Justice Downes, Hon. Mr. Justice 
Mayne, Kev. Matthew Campbell, William Bidge- 
way and Eichard Verschoyle, Churchwardens; 
Alderman N. Hone, Peter D. LaTouche, John 
Duffy, Thomas Sherlock, James Crofton, Daniel 
Beere, Solomon Eichards, John Walsh, Edward 
Butler, Eichard Corballis,* and Walter Bourne. 

There is no record with regard to any further 
proceedings ; but D'Altonf says that a dispensary 
was established in 1816. 

In the Freeman's Journal of Oct. 24, 1818, there 
appears an advertisement of a charity sermon in 
aid of the " Taney Charitable Fund and Dundrum 
Dispensary," which states that " contributions will 
be received by the treasurer, Mr. Eobert Turbett, 
or by the physician, Dr. Burke." 

Before the Poor Law system was introduced, 
grants were made by the Grand Jury towards the 
expenses of the dispensaries which were organized 



* Of Kosemount, Eoebuck, where the Corballis family 
have resided for over ninety years. Mr. Eichard Corballis, 
who d. 1847, was succeeded by his son, John Richard 
Corballis, Esq., LL.D., Q.C., who d. 1879, and he was suc- 
ceeded by his son the present owner Eichard John 
Corballis, Esq., M.A., J.P. 

t History of the County Dublin, p. 812. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 205 

by voluntary effort ; the first presentment for Dun- 
drum was passed at Michaelmas Term, 1817, the 
amount being 60, "to be applied, with 60 re- 
ceived by private subscriptions, in providing 
medicines and medical or surgical aid for the poor 
of Dundrum and its neighbourhood." 

It appears from a map in the possession of the 
Grand Jury that the dispensary was first estab- 
lished in a house at the corner of the road now 
leading to the back of the railway station. 

In 1831 cholera had appeared in England, and a 
meeting of householders was held for the purpose 
of appointing officers of health (under 59 Geo. III., 
chap. 41). The following were nominated : A. B. 
Crofton, R. Charles, T. M. Scully, W. M'Caskey, 
and Capt. Whyte, R.N., and it was resolved that 
"the assistance and advice of the medical gentle- 
men of the parish will be highly desirable and much 
valued." Mr. M'Caskey was appointed treasurer, 
with power to solicit and receive subscriptions. 

At a Vestry held on Dec. 26, 1831, a parochial 
rate equivalent to one half of the parish cess was 
ordered to be levied on the parish under the same 
Act, and a voluntary contribution of Is. to 5s. each 
was approved from the householders to provide 
flannel and other necessary things to preserve the 
health of the poor. 

On April 19, 1832, the following were appointed 
officers of health : J. Duncan, J. A. Curran, P. 
Magan, Daniel Kinahan, and Thomas Wright. 

It appears from the proceedings at a Vestry held 



206 THE PARISH OF TAXEY. 

on May 20, 1833, that an advance of 150 had 
been made from the Consolidated Fund (under 2 
Will. IV., chap. 9), and it was ordered to be 
assessed on the parish. The accounts of the 
officers of health were presented by the Treasurer, 
Mr. Daniel Kinahan, which showed an expenditure 
of 178 15s. 8d., and receipts amounting to 185 
14s. 8d. ; and it is evident from them that there 
was a number of cases of cholera in the parish. 

Officers of health were annually appointed from 
this time until 1862, and minutes of their meetings 
appear in the Vestry Book. 

Distress. 

In the minutes of the Vestry there are resolutions 
showing that exceptional want existed in the parish 
on more than one occasion. 

At a meeting on April 15th, 1800, it was resolved 
that 

" On account of Henry Curran's extraordinary trouble in 
conducting the poor accompt, from the dearness of provisions, 
and distributing meal to the poor of this parish, that we pay 
said Curran for the last year the sum of 2 5s. 6d." 

On Sunday, April 12, 1801, a Vestry was held 

" To consider who are the most proper poor persons to 
receive three tons of potatoes ordered by the Lord Lieu- 
tenant for the express purpose of planting them." 

In 1812 provisions were at a very high price, and 
this gave rise to riots in various parts of the king- 
dom (Annual Register, 1812, p. 132) ; but our parish 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 207 

retained its quiet character, and on March 31 it was 
resolved 

" That the loyal and peaceable conduct of our poor neigh- 
bours and fellow-parishioners in the Parish of Taney, entitles 
them to our affection and utmost assistance in this time of 
apprehended scarcity, and that the affluent parishioners be 
and are hereby called upon to subscribe to form a fund to 
furnish provisions at a moderate price to such persons 
inhabiting this parish as shall stand in need thereof.' 

A committee was appointed consisting of Arch- 
deacon Fowler, President ; Eev. Matthew Camp- 
bell, Vice-President and Treasurer ; the Church- 
wardens, and every gentleman who subscribed three 
guineas ; and a list of subscriptions, amounting to 
184 11s. 6d., is given. 

A circular was also prepared, stating that it was 
the duty of the more opulent classes effectually to 
cherish, relieve, and support the poor inhabitants 
under every distress, and that it was " true mercy 
that blesseth him who gives, and him who takes," 
which Faulkner's Dublin Journal (April 16, 1812) 
said manifested the true benevolence which should 
subsist between Irishmen. 

On June 12, 1814, a meeting was held for the 
purpose of taking into consideration the state of the 
poor, and adopting such measures as might be best 
calculated to afford them permanent relief. 

We also insert here a resolution passed on January 
1, 1822, which records the good work of some kind 
ladies ia the parish at that time 

" That the best thanks of this parish be presented to the 
Misses Drury for the unremitting attention which they have 
bestowed on every occasion to the Poor and Charitable Insti- 
tutions of this parish." 



208 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Effects of Disestablishment upon the Parochial 
Finances. 

In the early part of the nineteenth century from 
whence the parochial records afford us continuous 
information we find that the sources of income 
for the requirements of the parish were as follows : 
(1.) The Tithes, which were paid to the Arch- 
deacon of Dublin as Eector, and out of which he 
paid the curate's stipend in 1837 the Tithe com- 
position was 415 7s. 8|d., and the curate's 
stipend 75.* (2.) The Marriage and Burial Fees, 
which went to the curate. (3.) The offertories and 
other collections in church, for the poor. (4.) The 
special collections made for the schools. (5.) The 
cess levied upon the parish for the expenses of 
Divine Service, and of repairing the church fabric, 
and for the payment of the parish officers, &c. 

In 1851 the Archdeacon ceased to be Eector, 
after which the tithe rent charges and the marriage 
and burial fees were paid to the Hector (in 1868 
the tithe rent charges amounted to 311), and the 
collections for the poor and schools were raised and 
applied as before. 

In 1833 the Ecclesiastical Commissioners under- 
took the payment of the expenses of Divine Service, 
and of repairing the church fabric, and in^the year 
1862 the cess for the payment of parish officers, &c., 

* For some years the parishioners contributed to supple- 
ment Mr. Stanford's income the last curate under the Arch- 
deacon. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 209 

ceased to be levied, by reason of the opposition of 
some of the Eoman Catholic parishioners. From 
the latter date, all expenses, except those provided 
by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners and the Poor 
Law Union, were raised by voluntary subscriptions. 

For some years after the appointment of the 
rector in 1851, he continued to pay the curate out 
of his tithe rent charges, as the Archdeacon had 
done ; but at length the parishioners relieved him of 
this burden, and thenceforward raised the curate's 
salary by voluntary subscriptions. 

It will appear from this that the expenses con- 
nected with the church had gradually come to be 
more of a voluntary burden, so that when dis- 
establishment and disendowment came in 1869, the 
parishioners were not wholly unaccustomed to sup- 
port the parochial institutions themselves. 

Were it not for the fact that it behoved the 
parish to make provision for the clergy who should 
succeed those in office in 1869, there would have 
been no additional expense thrown upon it during 
the tenure of the then clergy, because the rector 
retained his stipend for his life ; and the curate, 
although he had received no stipend from the 
Establishment prior to 1869, was then able (with 
others in the like position) to make good a claim to 
receive a stipend of 120 a year out of the Church 
funds for his life, so that in his case there was a 
gain instead of a loss to the parish. Thus it will 
be seen that the provision for the future clergy 
was the only immediate burden thrown upon the 
parish by Disestablishment. 

p 



210 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

It is not necessary to explain here the principles 
of the financial plan of the diocese, whereby pro- 
vision has been made for the future clergy ; it is 
enough to say that by an annual payment of 192, 
commencing in 1871, the parish has secured stipends 
of 220 for the rector, and 110 for the curate of 
the future. 

Goats' Milk. 

Dundrum was at the beginning of the present 
century celebrated for its goats' milk, which was 
much ordered at that time by physicians for their 
patients ; and no doubt the village of Goatstown 
derives its name from goats having been kept there. 

Eutty, in his Natural History of the County Dub- 
lin, published in 1772, says (p. 272 et seq.} 

" Goats' milk has been observed to have affected some 
remarkable cures of consumption where the cows' and asses' 
milk had failed, and for this purpose it is sometimes sent from 
the neighbouring mountains to Dublin, and sold at 3d. per 
quart. Goats' whey deserves to be considered as a medicine, 
which, as goats abound on the mountainous parts of the 
country, our physicians have of late learned to order their 
chronical patients in the neighbourhood of Dublin, instead 
of dismissing them to the mountains of Mourne, and for 
this purpose good lodgings have been lately provided at 
Carrickmayne, and also the whey has been drank at Dun- 
drum, a distance of only three miles from the city." 

He then goes on to say that 

" The goat kids in March, and consequently that month, 
or rather April and May, when the season is further ad- 
vanced for supplying them with vegetables, is the proper 
season for drinking the whey. The use of it, indeed, is con- 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 211 

tinued by many in June and July ; but even in June the milk 
thickens, for which reason they then mix four ounces of 
water with a quart of the milk before they turn it, and more 
water in July, the milk growing thick as the season advances, 
so that in August it is not to be drank ; but in September is 
a second Spring, and the milk becomes thinner again, and 
may be used medicinally, though not with equal advantage as 
in the former season." 

This explains an advertisement which appears in 
the Freeman's Journal of Sept. 27, 1813 

" MEADOW BROOK BOARDING HOUSE, DUNDKUM. The Second 
Whey Season having commenced, Ladies and Gentlemen 
are respectfully informed there are a few Vacancies in the 
House ; the Accommodation will be found agreeable, and 
terms very much reduced respectable Society in the House." 

Brewer, in his Beauties of Ireland, published in 
1825, says (p. 215) 

" Dundrum is the fashionable resort of invalids for the 
purpose of drinking goats' whey. At early hours of the 
morning numerous jaunting-cars convey from the city large 
parties of visitors to partake of that sanative beverage, 
amidst the reviving scenery over which the animals have 
browsed." 

Lay Patron and Nominators. 
There is ancient precedent in the case of our 
parish for the office of nominator under the present 
constitution of the Church of Ireland ; and it is a 
fact worthy of note that the lay patron more than 
300 years ago was a Lord Chancellor of Ireland, 
and that now in our own day one of the existing 
nominators should also have filled that high legal 
office. 



212 THE PAEISH OF TANEY. 

We find that in the first year of the reign of 
Edward VI. (1547) a lease, dated June 22, was 
granted to Eichard Eede, Knight, Lord Chancellor 
of Ireland,* of the precinct of the house of the late 
Chancellor of the Cathedral of St. Patrick, Dublin ; 
the rectory or prebend of Tawney, lands in Tawney, 
with tithes, &c ; the rectory or prebend of Raffer- 
nan, the house and lands belonging thereto, with 
the tithes, &c., to hold for twenty-one years, at a 
rent of 69 6s. 8d., finding fit chaplains for the 
churches of Tawney and Raffernan. (See the 8th 
Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records 
in Ireland, p. 29.) 

The nominators since disestablishment have 
been 

1876 . George Kinahan.f 

1876-82. James Stirling. 

1876-81. John Walsh. 

1881-88. Robert Tilly. 

1882-93. Edward Perceval Westby. 

1888 . Right Hon. John Thomas Ball.f 

1893-94. Everard Hamilton. 

1894 . John C. Parkes.f 

Militia and Yeomanry. 

Amongst the numerous volunteer forces raised in 
Ireland at the close of the last century, was a troop 
of Yeomanry called the Rathdown Horse, to which 
Dundrum seems to have contributed both officers 

* See Burke's Lord Chancellors of Ireland, p. 43. 
f Still in office. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 213 

and men. In Walker's Hibernian Magazine for 
January, 1797 (p. 92), the Kathdown Horse, com- 
manded by Sir Thomas Lighton, is mentioned 
amongst the regiments tendering their service on 
the occasion of the apprehended invasion by the 
French, and in the same number of this periodical 
(p. 95) it is stated that the remains of Lord 
Trimleston were moved from Kildare Street to the 
County Meath, attended by a detachment of the 
Eoebuck Cavalry. 

There was also a corps of infantry raised in 
Dundrum at the beginning of the present century ; 
for in the same magazine for May, 1808 (p. 315), 
it is mentioned that on the previous Sunday the 
Dundrum Infantry and Harold's Cross Corps ex- 
ercised together, and practised firing at a target 
for some hours on the strand of Eathfarnham, near 
Lord Ely's gate.* 

In consequence of war being declared with 
France in 1803, several Acts of Parliament were 
passed with regard to the Militia, and under the 
provisions of this legislation, a Vestry was held on 
Aug. 15, 1803, to raise the quota of four men for 
the army of reserve. An assessment for this pur- 
pose, amounting to 35 17s. 6d., was ordered to be 
levied at 3d. per acre. 

On Nov. 18, 1807, a similar assessment of 60 
was ordered to be levied at 7d. per acre, for a quota 

* The gate of Eathfarnham Castle, now the residence of 
Edward Blackburne, Esq., Q.C. His father, the Eight Hon. 
Francis Blackburne (see p. 155), left Eoebuck Hall on pur- 
chasing the Castle from the Lof tus family. 



214 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

of four men, and on March 6, 1810, a sum of 
27 6s., at 3^d. per acre, for three men. On April 
20, 1813, an assessment of 47 7s. lid. was 
ordered to be applotted at 5d. per acre, for a quota 
of four men ; but at a meeting on June 8 the con- 
firmation of the applotment was suspended, and it 
never seems to have been levied. 

In the accounts there is an allowance to the 
collector of the Militia Cess, of 5d. each upon 72 
dollars ; these coins were Spanish dollars, which 
were re-stamped, with an inscription purporting 
that they would circulate for 6s. each, and were 
issued by the Bank of England at the beginning of 
the present century, owing to a scarcity of silver 
coinage. (Walker's Hibernian Magazine, 1804, p. 
446.) No doubt, the allowance was to cover a 
depreciation in their value. 

The fact that Kilmacud, which is a townland in 
the parish of Stillorgan, was included in Taney for 
the Militia assessment, is not so easily explained, 
and no reason for it has been ascertained.* 

Ordination. 

Taney was on one occasion selected as the church 
in which an ordination should be held. In Pue's 
Occurrences it is related that on Sunday, July 5, 
1761, the Bishop of Limerick (Dr. James Leslie)! 

* Also see under Giffard, John, p. 112. 

f Dr. Leslie commenced his clerical life in the Dublin 
Diocese. He was Curate of Swords, Vicar of Donabate, and 
Perpetual Curate of St. Nicholas' Within. (See Cotton's Fasti, 
&c., vol. i., p. 389 ; vol. v., p. 60 ; also the Irish Builder for 
January 15, 1890, p. 24.) 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 215 

held an ordination in Tawney, by licence from the 
Archbishop of Dublin, and that Edward Ledwich, 
John Bowden, A.M. ; Beather King, George Hickes, 
and Matthew Browne, were ordained Priests ; and 
Josias Fleming, B.A. ; Stephen Baldwin, B.A. ; and 
James Ford, B.A., were admitted Deacons.* 

Outrages. 

In Walker's Hibernian Magazine for Feb., 1791 
(p. 191), there appears the account of an occurrence 
which probably greatly excited the residents of 
Dundrum at the time 

" A night or two ago, at a very late hour, two persons, 
seemingly gentlemen, drove themselves out in a post-chaise 
to Churchtown, where there is a burial-place, with a dead 
body coffined up in the carriage. They rapped up the grave- 
digger, and told him that they had, under the disguise of 

* Ledwich was a B.A. and LL.B. of T.C.D., and became Vicar 
of Aghaboe, Diocese of Ossory. He was a distinguished 
antiquary and Irish historian. His name has been already 
mentioned in the note on Mr. William Eidgeway (p. 140). 
(See Webb's Compendium of Irish Biography, p. 287, and 
Dictionary of National Biography, vol. xxxii., p. 340.) Bowden 
became a D.D. of T.C.D., and was Vicar of Santry and Chan- 
cellor of Lismore Cathedral. (See Adams's History of Santry 
and Cloghran, pp. 5, 15, 71.) King was a Sch. and LL.D. of 
T.C.D. He became Curate of Stillorgan, of St. Bride's, and 
of St. John's, Dublin, and was Vicar of Straffan, and Pre- 
bendary of Kilmacdonagh, Diocese of Cloyne. (See Hughes's 
St. John's, p. 74, and Brady's Records of Cork, vol. ii., pp. 
271, 351.) Hickes, Browne, and Fleming were all Scholars 
and Graftuates of T.C.D. Baldwin was a Scholar and B.A. of 
T.C.D., and became Curate of Murragh and of Holy Trinity, 
Cork. (See Brady's Records of Cork, vol. in., p. 146.) Ford 
was also a Graduate of T.C.D. 



216 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

night, brought out a corpse to be interred, which in the day 
time they were apprehensive might be arrested for debt, and 
for the burial of which he should have a guinea. The grave- 
digger alleged he was unequal to the business himself ; upon 
which these persons said they would give him half a guinea 
for an assistant ; which was agreed to, and the corpse was 
accordingly left with the grave-digger. The latter imme- 
diately called up an assistant ; but upon an agreement they 
determined postponing the business until daylight. When 
they arose in the morning, curiosity urged them to open the 
coffin, which on so doing ! shocking to mention they 
found the body of a man in his clothes, with boots on, and 
his throat cut in a most frightful manner. In his pockets 
were found six guineas and a watch; for the property of 
which these two persons differed, or else the transaction 
would probably never have come to light. The body remains 
at the place to be owned, which as yet has not taken place, 
nor has anything occurred which can lead to a discovery." 

In the same periodical for Dec., 1798 (p. 898), it 
is mentioned that 

"The house of oneEnnis, a poor farmer at the foot of the 
Three Kock Mountain, was lately robbed for the fourth time 
since the rebellion broke out. The unfortunate farmer has 
been completely dispossessed of his habitation by the last 
attack, and forced to take refuge in the house of his land 
lord at Dundrum." 

At a Vestry held on April 16, 1816, Major 
Broome produced a requisition from John Pasley, 
Esq. (Coroner of the County of Dublin), that five 
guineas should be paid to Doctor Thomas Hewson 
for his attendance on an inquest, and opening the 
body of Mrs. Browne, who had been murdered by 
robbers in the house of Major Broome. The requi- 
sition was received, and inquiry was to be made 
whether the parish was liable to the charge. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 217 

In the Freeman's Journal of Feb. 22, 1815, there 
is an account of the trial of four men Thomas 
Markey, Thomas Giffin, Thomas Byrne, and Michael 
Collins for the murder of Hannah Browne in the 
house of her master, William Broome, Esq., at 
Kilmacud, on the 12th December, 1814. The first 
three were convicted, and sentenced to be hung. 
Collins was acquitted. 

At a Vestry held on May 27, 1817, Major 
Broome's claim was again adjourned, and there is 
no further record respecting it. 

Parochial Accounts. 

Some curious items appear in the accounts from 
time to time ; and as they are interesting in showing 
the manners of our ancestors, they are given here. 
1793-4 Holly and ivy ... ... ... 2 8 

(This item appears for many years.) 
Washing surplices 4 times ... ... 044 

Whitening the Church ... ... 1 

1797-8 Framing and glazing 2 panes in Church 

window for letting in air ... ... 5 5 

1800-1 Church hangings and pulpit cushion ... 6 16 6 
Eliza Kennedy for 20 weeks assisting the 
parish clerk ... ... ... 2 14 8 

1802-3 Eliza Kennedy for 20 Sundays singing 

at 2s. 8|d. per ... ... ... 2 14 2 

1805-6 Velvet pulpit cushion and hangings, 

covering reading and clerk's desk ... 6 12 
1806-7 Anne Mann for her attention to the stove 

and cleaning the church ... ... 2 5 6 

8 washings of surplices ... ... 8 8 

By making an additional surplice ... 6 6 
1816-17 By 4 Ib. candles to wake Murphy and 

Wynn ... ... ... ... 4 

Washing surplices 14 times at Is. Id. ... 15 2 



218 THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

Pound. 

In the accounts for 1792 the following item 
appears : 

Cash paid Mr. Ely in full for a pound ... 1212 9 

At the Easter Vestry, April 2, 1793, a pound- 
keeper was appointed. 

In the year 1804 this extraordinary minute 
appears in the Vestry Book : 

" At a Vestry held on April 29, for the purpose of taking 
into consideration the enormity of cutting the pound gate 
on the night of the 24th April, and feloniously taking the 

cattle of Atkins, Donnybrook, that were impounded for 

trespass on the lands of Mt. Pleasant by some evil-minded 
person or persons, Now, in order to bring to condign punish- 
ment the perpetrator or perpetrators of the above outrage, 
We, the undersigned, do offer as a Eeward the sums annexed 
to our respective names to any person or persons that will 
give information and prosecute to conviction the person or 
persons concerned in committing said outrage." 

There are no sums or names annexed. 

A pound-keeper was appointed annually at the 
Easter Vestry, from 1812 to 1822, and at a Vestry 
held on March 23, 1818, it was resolved that 

"Mr. Walsh be allowed to change the 'scite' for the 
parish pound, he undertaking to build a new one in all 
respects equal to the present pound." 

At a Vestry held on Nov. 16, 1829, there was a 
contested election for the office of pound-keeper, 
and a ballot was taken. There were two candidates ; 
one received 12 votes, and the other 8 votes. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 219 

Profanation of the Sabbath. 

At a Vestry held on March 9, 1829, to appoint 
overseers to assist the churchwardens and civil 
officers in preventing the profanation of the 
Sabbath, fourteen leading parishioners were nomi- 
nated under 55 Geo. III., chap. 19, and 100 
copies of their nomination were ordered to be 
printed and served in all the public-houses, and 
also posted in the most conspicuous places, in the 
parish. A report of the houses where spirits were 
retailed was also ordered to be made to the Church- 
wardens every month, in order that they might see 
how they were conducted. 

At a Vestry held on April 13, 1830, the Church- 
wardens were requested to put their powers in force 
in restraining the profanation of the Sabbath. 

Railway. 

The most important event which perhaps ever 
occurred in the history of the Parish, though pro- 
bably its full significance was not realized at the 
time, was the establishment of railway communica- 
tion with Dublin. The construction of a line which 
would touch Dundrum had been long in contempla- 
tion originally by a company formed to promote a 
line called the Dundrum and Eathfarnham Rail- 
way, which was afterwards merged in the Dublin 
and Wicklow scheme but had been delayed from 
various causes. Finally, however, the railway from 
Harcourt Street to Bray was opened on Monday, 
July 10, 1854. The Dublin Evening Post of July 11, 



220 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

in giving an account of a private inspection of the 
line, says 

"A rich treat was on Saturday afforded to the share- 
holders of the Dublin and Wicklow Eailway and their 
friends, who through the medium of special trains were con- 
veyed along the line to Bray, and thus enabled to witness 
the complete manner in which the works have been exe- 
cuted. . . . The trains started from the new terminus, 
Harcourt Koad, at 12, 2, and 4 p.m., occupying about half- 
an-hour in running down to the other end of the line, and 
returned to town at 6 and 8 p.m. Each train conveyed 
upwards of 200 persons. ... At the Dundrum station, 
although not yet entirely completed, the evidences of atten- 
tion to the comfort of the public, as well as to the details of 
the building, are observable." 

An advertisement in Saunders' News-Letter of 
July 15 gives information as to the train accom- 
modation which was then provided 

" Dublin and Wicklow Eailway. 

" The above line is now open for Passenger Traffic between 
Dublin (Harcourt Boad) and Bray. Trains calling at Dun- 
drum, Stillorgan, Carrickmines, and Shankill will run as 
f ollows : 

From Bray at 7, 9, 11, 2, 4, and 7 o'clock. 
From Dublin at 8, 10, 1, 3, 5, and 8 o'clock." 

Roads. 

At the end of the last century the approaches to 
Dundrum from Dublin were the same as those at 
the time of the Down Survey (p. 21), hy a bridge at 
Clonskeagh, and by the bridge now known as 
Classon's* Bridge. The latter was probably the 

* Mr. Classon is mentioned in the applotments from 1794 
to 1796 as residing hi the townland of Ilathmines. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 221 

one principally used ; the route to Powerscourt 
given in the Post-Chaise Companion of 1788 is by it 
and on through Churchtown. There was also a 
ford at Milltown, which appears, from the following 
paragraph taken from the Hibernian Magazine for 
1782, p. 551, to have been a source of danger to 
incautious travellers : 

"In the heavy rain last night [Oct. 10], as Mr. Clarke, 
Steward to the House of Industry, was returning home on 
horseback, about 9 o'clock, from Dundrum, in crossing the 
river at Milltown, the flood was so violent that it threw him 
off his horse, and he was unfortunately drowned. It is 
somewhat remarkable that his daughter and only child was 
drowned in the same river about twelve months ago." 

The records of the proceedings of the Grand Jury 
are extant from 1807, and there is also in their 
possession a fine map made on a very large scale 
circa 1820 ; from these it appears that the roads 
kept in order by the County in Taney Parish at the 
commencement of this century were nearly the 
same as at present the Koebuck Eoad, with its 
two branches, Foster's Avenue, Mount Anville Hill 
Road, Drummartin Eoad, Taney Hill Road (then 
called Hag Lane, and ending at a point opposite 
the Churchtown Road, from whence it was diverted 
at the time of the construction of the railway), 
Kilmacud Road, the Main Road,* Birds' Avenue, 
Ballinteer Road (the bridges on which were called 
the Rock Tavern Bridge and Towers' t Bridge), and 

* This road then branched off at a point below Windy 
Arbour to Classen's Bridge. 

f Mr. James Towers is mentioned in the applotments from 
1794 to 1801 as residing in Dundrum. 



WZ THE PAKISH OF TANEY. 

the Churchtown Road. They were then, however, 
in a very unsafe condition, and there are frequent 
presentments to take down hills " to make it easy 
and safe for passengers to pass over same," and to 
build walls " to prevent carriages and passengers 
falling into dangerous precipices." 

At Easter Term, 1807, a presentment was made 
to build a new bridge at Clonskeagh at a cost of 
535 19s. 6d. ; and at Michaelmas Term, 1816, a 
presentment was passed to build the present bridge 
at Milltown at a cost of 1,662 6s. 



Seats in the Parish at the beginning of the century. 

The parish has undergone great alterations during 
the last hundred years. At the end of the eighteenth 
century it was only emerging from what may be 
called its prairie condition, and farms were gra- 
dually being changed into the well-kept places sur- 
rounded by high walls and trees which are now so 
remarkable a characteristic of the neighbourhood.* 

It appears from the Kegistry of Trees, kept by 
the Clerk of the Peace, under the provision of an 

* Archbishop Whately's friend, Mr. Senior, writing in 
1852 of the drive from Dublin to Bedesdale, in the parish 
of Stillorgan, said : " Nature meant the road to be an open 
terrace between the sea and the mountain. Man has made 
it a dirty lane, twisting between high walls. Almost all the 
country near Dublin is cut into squares, each with its wall 
without and its fringe of trees within ; merely ugly in sum- 
mer, but damp and unwholesome in winter." Life of Richard 
Whately, p. 267. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 223 

Act passed in 1765,* that vast plantations of beech, 
ash, elm, sycamore, oak, and other trees were made 
by the residents about the beginning of this century. 
Amongst those who registered trees we find in 
Dundrum, Alderman Hutton (4,132), Mr. Handle 
MacDonnell (24,707), and Mr. John Walsh (3,400) ; 
in Ballinteer, Mr. Eichard Johnston (10,596), and 
Mr. Valentine Dunn ; in Ballaly, Mr. James Towers 
(909) and Mr. Eobert Turbett; in Eoebuck, Mr. 
Thomas Leland; in Friarsland, Mr. Thomas Wil- 
son; in Churchtown, Mr. Townsend Sinnett, and 
Mr. William Corbett ; and in Drummartin, Mr. 
WiUiam Scott. t 

There were then very few places which presented 
any feature worthy of notice ; much information 
about the seats in the County Dublin at that time 
is to be found in Archer's Survey of the County 
Dublin (Dub., 1801), and in Dutton's Observations 
on Mr. Archer's Survey (Dub., 1802), but only five 
places in our parish are mentioned. 

Merville is described by Archer as a well laid out 
demesne, with some timber trees, in good order, and 
highly cultivated. The gardens were then remark- 
able for their extensive glass. Dutton, who was 
a landscape gardener, carried out various improve- 

* This Act (5 Geo. III., c. 17) enables tenants to claim, at 
the expiration of the term of their lease, compensation for 
trees planted and duly registered by them. 

t The only entry in our own day is the registration by the 
Bight Hon. Christopher Palles, Lord Chief Baron of the Ex- 
chequer, of a plantation in the grounds of Mount Anville 
Park. 



224 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

ments for Sir Thomas Lighten, " who was ever 
ready to try experiments with great public spirit," 
and gives a curious account of breaking up an 
avenue by means of a plough drawn by four mules. 
He mentions that Sir Thomas had erected a com- 
fortable and highly ornamental range of cottages 
for his workmen, but observes that they were usually 
kept in a very filthy state. 

Mount Merrion is described as an excellent house, 
with a well-wooded demesne and handsome gardens. 

Koebuck Castle, then recently purchased by Mr. 
James Crofton (see p. 183), is mentioned as a fine 
old castle, with a small demesne and good gardens. 

Belfield, Stillorgan Eoad, had just been built by 
a Mr. Ambrose Moore. Archer says that it promises 
to be a handsome seat ; but Dutton does not join in 
this commendation, and says that there is no space 
left for planting out the garden wall in which time 
has shown he was mistaken and complains of the 
" steep zigzag turn" on the avenue. Probably 
these remarks would not have been necessary if 
Button's services had been retained by Mr. Moore. 

Milltown, the seat of Judge Chamberlain, is de- 
scribed as a capital house, pleasantly situated, with 
a beautiful small demesne and good gardens. 

Services. 

Some seventy years ago service seems to have 
depended on fine weather, for it is noted in the 
Vestry Book, in connection with giving notices of 
Vestries, that on Jan. 10, 1819, there was " no 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 225 

service ; wet day," and also on Feb. 21 in the same 
year a similar entry was made. 

Stocks. 

At a Vestry held on May 17, 1796, the Church- 
wardens were empowered and authorized to provide 
and erect a pair of stocks for punishment of 
offenders, to be charged to the " parish accompts," 
and to be erected in the most suitable position. 

In the accounts for 1796-7 the following items 
appear : 

Paid sundries for Stocks 
B. M'Clune for Timber ... 1 17 3 

L. Kearney for Smith's Work ... 4 4 
Carriage of Timber ... ... 2 2 

Padlock and 3 Keys ... ... 7 

Carpenter's Work and Painting 1 14 H 

4 4 11 
John Wright for Masonry ... 100 



5 4 11 
Vestry Books. 

The custody of these books seems to have been 
a disputed point in 1818, in consequence of the pro- 
ceedings at the meeting about the Window Tax 
(q. v.), and Dr. Badcliff, the Vicar- General, was 
consulted as to who had a right to keep them. 
His opinion, which cost the parish 1 19s. 3d., 
was to the following effect : 

" If there be a Vestry Clerk, he has a right to the custody 
of the Vestry Books ; if there be not, the Churchwardens, 
in whom ail the personal goods of the Parish are vested, 
have a right to the custody until the Vestry Clerk shall be 
appointed. 

" J. BADCLIFF. 

"March 28, 1818." 



226 THE PARISH OF TANEY. 

Window Tax. 

Meetings for the purpose of securing a repeal of 
this tax, which was assessed according to the num- 
ber and size of the windows in the house, and 
which had been imposed by an Act of the Irish 
Parliament in 1799 (which was not finally re- 
pealed until 1879), were held in the various Dublin 
parishes during the years 1817-18. In moving a 
motion on the subject, which was defeated, in the 
House of Commons on April 21, 1818, Mr. Kobert 
Shaw, Member for Dublin, said that the tax was 
obnoxious to the citizens of Dublin for its unequal 
pressure, the inquisitorial nature of its levy, and the 
ruinous consequences resulting to the health of the 
City. Annual Register, vol. lx., p. 119. In Taney 
the question arose in connection with the appoint- 
ment of valuators, and seems to have given rise to 
some difference of opinion at the Vestry. The pro- 
ceedings are thus recorded in the minutes : 

" At a meeting held on Monday, October 6, 1817, for the 
purpose of appointing valuators according to the request of 
the Chief Commissioner of Excise, it was resolved : 

" That the Window Tax having been originally proposed 
to Parliament by the Minister of the Crown as a war tax, to 
subsist during the war and no longer, we claim it as a right 
from the Crown, now that the war is happily and honorably 
terminated, to redeem its pledge so solemnly given to the 
Irish Parliament, under the faith of which we have hitherto 
patiently borne a heavy and oppressive tax. 

"That relying on the justice of the Crown, and the 
wisdom of Parliament to keep faith with the people, we do 
reject the proposed commutation, preferring even to bear 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTES. 227 

those ills we have than to fly to others that we know not of. 
" That these resolutions be respectfully communicated to 
Mr. Hawthorne as our opinion upon his letter, and that they 
be also published in the Freeman's Journal and the Corre- 
spondent papers. 

" (Signed) RICHARD RYAN, L. Curate." 

The following proceedings are recorded on a 
sheet of paper fastened into the minute book : 

"The Rev. Mr. Ryan having left the chair, and the 
Churchwarden being called thereto 

" Resolved That the thanks of this meeting be given to 
the Rev. Mr. Ryan for his upright and independent conduct 
in the chair. 

" Resolved That the following gentlemen be appointed a 
committee for this parish to communicate and co-operate 
with our fellow-citizens of the metropolis in petitioning 
Parliament for a Repeal of the Window Tax viz., Mr. 
Hime, Mr. Dillon, Mr. Turbett, Mr. Minchin, Mr. John 
Power, and Mr. M'Dermott, and that these resolutions be 
published along with the other resolutions of this parish. 
" (Signed) GEO. THOMPSON. 

"Resolved That the thanks of this meeting be given to 
Mr. Thompson, our Churchwarden, for his spirited and 
proper conduct in the chair. 

H. MINCHIN. 

"Note. The proceedings mentioned above were not 
passed at a Vestry, and were inserted thus in this book with- 
out my knowledge several days after. 

" (Signed) RICHARD RYAN, L. Curate." 

At a meeting on October 13, 1817, it was resolved 
unanimously 

" That the thanks of this parish are justly due and are 
hereby given to Charles Stewart Hawthorne, Esq., first Com- 
missioner of Ireland's Excise and Taxes, for the manly, 



228 THE PABISH OF TANEY. 

candid, and constitutional manner in which he sought th 
free and unbias'd opinion of the People of Ireland on th 
proposition for commuting a proportion of the Window Ta 
for a Rent or House tax, and also for his polite and gentle 
manlike attention to our application to him for explanatioi 
on the subject, and that this resolution be communicated t 
Mr. Hawthorne by our Churchwardens in the most respect 
ful manner. 

" That the anonymous publication in the Hibernian 
Journal of the 10th instant (and since republished in othe 
newspapers), purporting to be a statement of the proceeding 
of our Vestry on Monday last on the subject of the sai< 
commutation, is an insidious and malignant misrepresenta 
tion of the proceedings of this parish on that occasion 
calculated to deceive His Majesty's Minister in his endeavou: 
to collect the unbiased sense of the people. 

" That the ancient mode of summoning Vestries in thii 
parish has been by written notice delivered at the houses o 
the resident landholders, in addition to the usual notice ir 
church, and that the same be from henceforth continued. 

(Note. This not to be published in the newspapers.) 

" That the foregoing resolution, together with the resolu 
tion of Monday last, be published in the Correspondent and 
Freeman's Journal. 

" (Signed) RICHAKD RYAN, L. Curate." 

The volume of the Hibernian Journal for 1817 is 
in the National Library. The report of the meeting 
on Oct. 6 is very full, and extends to several 
columns. 



APPENDIX A. 



ORDEK OF THE PRIVY COUNCIL SEVERING TANEY AND 
RATHFARNHAM FROM THE CORPS OF THE ARCHDEACON 
OF DUBLIN. 



BY THE LORD LIEUTENANT AND COUNCIL OF IRELAND. 
CLARENDON, 

WHEREAS the Archdeaconry of Dublin being now vacant, 
" it is expedient that the Parishes of Taney and Rath- 
farnham, part of the corps of the Archdeaconry, should be 
disappropriated and disunited therefrom : 

Now we, the Lord Lieutenant and Council, by virtue of the 
powers vested in us by the statutes in that case made and 
provided, do order and direct that the said Parishes or 
Vicarages of Taney and Rathfarnham be, and the same are, 
hereby severally disappropriated, disunited, and divested 
from and out of the said Archdeaconry, and that the said 
Parishes or Vicarages respectively shall be and become 
separate and distinct Parishes for ever, with all Parochial 
rights, and that the residue of the corps of the said Arch- 
deaconry as heretofore constituted shall henceforward form 
and constitute the new corps of the said Archdeaconry for 
ever. 

IMAZIERE BRADY, C. 
THOS. MEATH. 
CLONCURRY. 
F. BLACKBURNE. 
E. BLAKENEY. 
K. EEATINOE. 
RICHD. W. GREENE. 



280 APPENDICES. 

APPENDIX B. 



CHURCH PLATE, REGISTERS, &C. 



Church Plate. 

The Plate consists of two Chalices, two Patens, and 
a Flagon. The following are the inscriptions : 

Chalice (1.) 

DEO OPT. MAX. 

TEI-UNI 

in usum S. C(EN^ DOM. Sacramenti 

in Ecclesia Parochiali TACHNENSI 

nunc denuo sumptibus pub. extructa 

participum 

D.D.D. 

ISAACUS MANN 
Archidiac. Dubl. 

MDCCLX. 
Chalice (2.)* 
The gift of Henry Dawson, Esq. Taney Parish, 1825. 

Paten (I.) 

DEO OPT. MAX. 
TBI-UNI 

D.D.D. 

ISAACUS MANN 
Archidiac. Dubl. 

MDCCLX. 
Paten (2.) 

Tawney Church, 1835. 
Flagon Modern, and bears no inscription. 

* At a Vestry on May 10, 1826, a vote of thanks was passed 
to H. Dawson, Esq., for his very liberal donation of a silver 
cup for the use of the Parish. 



APPENDICES. 



231 



Registers. 




Book 1* Baptisms 


... 1791 to 1835. 


Marriages 


... 1795 to 1835. 


Burials 


... 1814 to 1835. 


2 Baptisms 


... 1835 to 1867. 


Marriages 


... 1835 to 1845. 


Burials 


... 1835 to 1857. 


,,3 Baptisms 


... 1867 to 1895. 


4 Marriages 


... 1845 to 1875. 


,,5 


... 1875 to 1890. 


6 


... 1890 to 1895. 


,,7 Burials 


... 1857 to 1866. 


,, 8 


... 1866 to 1883. 


,,9 


... 1883 to 1895. 



Vestry Books. 
Bookl 



., 5 



... 1792 to 1813. 

... 1813 to 1830. 

... 1830 to 1847. 

... 1847 to 1861. 

. 1861 to 1895. 



* The Parochial Eeturns for Taney, which were furnished 
to the Archbishop at the annual Visitation, are in the Public 
Record Office, and contain a complete list of the Births, 
Marriages, and Burials from the year 1788. 



232 



APPENDICES. 



APPENDIX C. 



TABLE OF FEES 
TANEY PARISH. 

(In the Archdeaconry of Dublin.) 
A TABLE OF FEES FOR 1814, &c., &c., &c. 








s. 


d. 





s. d. 


Marriages by License 
To the Minister... 


10 





Burials in the Church- 
To the Church- 


To the Clerk ... 





5 





wardens for the 






To the Sexton ... 





1 





use of the parish 10 













To the Minister... 





6 


Marriages by Publication 
To the Minister... 5 





To the Clerk 
To the Sexton ... 






5 
6 


To the Clerk ... 





2 


6 








To ditto for public- 
ation 


o 


1 


o 


Burials of Parish- 






To the Sexton ... 





1 





ioners in the 
Churchyard 














To the Minister... 





2 6 


Churching of Women 


To the Clerk 





1 3 


To the Minister... 





2 


8 


To the Sexton ... 





1 


To the Clerk ... 





1 


8 








To the Sexton ... 








6 
















Burials of those who 






Burials in the Chancel 
To the Church- 
wardens for the 
use of the parish 10 
To the Minister for 
vault ... 5 
To ditto for inter- 
ring ... ... 6 








live out of the 
parish 
To the Minister ... 
To the Church- 
wardens for the 
use of the parish 
To the Clerk ... 
To the Sexton ... 









6 

3 4 
2 6 
1 6 


To the Clerk 





5 











To the Sexton ... 





5 





Funerals going out 














of the parish 






Burials in Tombs or 








To the Minister... 





2 6 


Vaults 








To the Clerk ... 





1 3 


To the Minister... 


5 








To the Sexton ... 





1 


To the Clerk ... 





2 


6 


To ditto for pass- 






To the Sexton ... 





3 


4 


ing bell 





1 



APPENDICES. 



233 



Palls 


Funeral Desk Prayers in 


To the Minister 








the Church- 






for a velvet pall 





13 


4 


To the Minister 






To ditto for a 








for a velvet pall 






child's do. 





6 


8 


on the desk or 






Cloth or Plush 








pulpit, in addi- 






Pall 





6 


8 


tion to the fee 














for a pall in 






Monuments in the 








parish 





10 


Church- 








To the Minister 






To the Minister 
for erecting a 








for desk prayers 
in addition to 






Monument in 
the Church ...10 








the Burial Fees 
To the Parish 





6 6 


To the Parish 








Clerk 





5 5 


Clerk 
To the ditto Sex- 


3 








To the Organist... 
To the Sexton ... 







5 5 
2 6 


ton 


1 


14 


H 








Tombs, Vaults, or 








"Pomcf vv 






Monuments in 
the Churchyard 
To the Minister 
for erecting a 
Tomb ; Vault, or 
Monument of 
the ordinary 
dimensions ... 5 
To the Parish 
Clerk ... 2 
To the ditto Sex- 



10 






xiegisiiry 
To the Vestry Clerk 
for searching the 
Registry Book 
To ditto for a Cer- 
tificate ... 
To ditto for Re- 
gistering Seats 
or Pews in the 
Church Books 
To the Parish 
Clerk for Easter 


2 8 
5 5 

10 10 


ton ... 


I 


2 


9 


Dues, ninepence 






Flat Stone 








per house 





9 


To the Minister... 


5 








To the Beadle for 






To the Clerk ... 





10 


10 


attending Fune- 






To the Sexton ... 





4 


4 


rals out of the 














parish 





2 2 


Head Stone- 








To ditto in the 






To the Minister... 


1 


3 





parish 





1 1 


To the Clerk ... 





5 


5 


To the Sexton for 






To the Sexton ... 





4 


4 


a passing bell... 





1 



(Signed) 



WM. EIDGEWAY. 
GEO. THOMPSON. 



Church- 
wardens. 



234 



APPENDICES. 



APPENDIX D. 



PURCHASERS OF PEW SITES, &C. 



N o?" 
Pew. 


Purchasers at the Auction held on 
October 24th, 1816. 


Price 
of 
Site. 


Expense of 
Carpenter* 






s. d. 


s. d. 


1 


Reserved for Chief Justice 








Dowries 




41 8 6 


2 


Reserved for Alderman Hone 




19 9 2 


3 


John Busby 


14 "6 


19 9 2 


4 


Daniel Kinahan 


20 5 


19 9 2 


5 


Robert Turbett 


18 5 


19 1 10 


6 


James Lyne 


13 15 


19 3 7 


7 


Reserved for Parish 








8 











9 


, , for Rector and Church- 








wardens ... 








10 


George Thompson ... 


17 5 


19 9 2 


11 


Solomon Richards ... 


17 5 


19 9 2 


12 


John White 


17 5 


19 9 2 


13 


Samuel Scott 


15 


19 3 7 


14 


Joseph M'Dermott ... 


10 


19 3 7 


15 


Reserved for Parish 








16 


,, 








17 







19 14 7 


18 
19 


William Scott 
Daniel Beere 


500 
10 5 


18 4 10J 
18 4 10i 


20 


James Crofton 


17 5 


23 8 6 


21 


Richard Verschoyle 


11 15 


23 5 4 


22 


Reserved for Parish 








23 


,. 








24 










25 








26 


Humphrey Minchin 


6 10 


19 8 6 


27 


William Ridgeway ... 


900 


19 5 


28 


Robert Blake 


11 15 


24 14 6 


29 


William Wood 


10 10 


25 8 6 


30 


Reserved for John Giffard ... 




19 12 5 


31 


Richard Ryan, passed to Ald- 








erman Exshaw ... 


8 10 


19 17 6 


32 






18 12 1 



APPENDICES. 



235 



2 


Purchasers at the Auction held on 
October 24th, 1816. 




Expense of 
Carpenters' 






s. d. 


s. d. 




GALLEBY (North). 






i 


James Lafarelle 


24 10 


34 15 T, 


2 
3 


Humphrey Minchin 
John M'Kay 


10 
20 


23 2 3 
32 16 7i 


4 


Walter Bourne 


20 5 


32 18 OA 


5 


William Ball 


20 15 


32 18 Oi 


6 


Thomas Cusack 


23 5 


32 16 ll 


7 
8 


Charles Philip Moore 
George Thompson ... 


900 

23 5 


23 2 3 

34 15 1 






384 10 


731 16 11 




SOUTH GALLERY. 








Erected in 1833. 


Subscription. 




1 


Judge Burton 


40 





2 


Mr. Deane 


20 





3 


Free Sittings 








4 










5 


... 








S 


Lady Harty 


40 





8 


Free "sittings 








9) 


H. Williams 


40 





10; 










11 


Thomas Leland 


40 





12 


Mr. M'Caskey 


15 





13 


Free Sittings 








14 












Additional subscriptions and 








interest ... 


10 9 3 









205 9 3 





APPENDICES. 



APPENDIX E. 



ESTIMATE FOR BUILDING 


TANEY CHURCH. 


CHURCH. 










S. d. 





s. d. 


Mason Work 


2,350 15 1 






Carpenters' Work 


2,138 14 5 






Plaisterers' Work 


298 4 






Stone-Cutters' Work ... 


238 14 






Glaziers' and Painters' Work ... 


80 






Carvers' Work 


28 10 11 






Slaters' Work 


136 6 10 






Plumbers' Work 


23 11 3 






Ironmongers' Work 


31 19 10 






Erecting Stoves 


60 






Incidentals ... 


100 






Architect's charge 


274 16 










5 761 


12 4 


SPIRE. 








A Bath Stone Spire, 64 feet high, 








6 inches thick 


320 






Ornament at top 


25 






Architect's charge 


17 5 










362 


5 


One large and one small Bell, including wheels, 






mounting, &o. 




136 





A large Clock, Dials, &c. 


... 


110 





Surrounding Walls 




190 





Gate Entrance and Iron Railing 




300 





Forming and Gravelling Ground 




100 





Cash paid by Architect for Advertising ... 


10 


12 5 


6,970 


9 9 



SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 



THE PALE (p. 8). 

DR. STOKES has kindly supplemented the description of 
the Pale by the following additional particulars and 
graphic sketch of an invasion by the Irish : 

"The Pale was a fence or bank, such as is commonly called 
a double ditch, ten or twelve feet high, made of earth and 
stone faced externally with a thick fence of bushes, and broad 
enough on the top for two persons to walk thereon. From 
Clongowes Wood College to the village of Clane a pathway is 
still carried along a portion of the original Pale there remain- 
ing. This double ditch did not entirely surround the four 
Pale counties Dublin, Kildare, Meath, and Louth as the 
makers of it availed themselves of every natural object a 
river, lake, or wood which served the same purpose ; for we 
must ever remember that the Pale was not to keep the wild 
Irish out a fence ten feet high could scarcely avail much 
in that way with bare-footed and bare-legged Celtic outlaws 
accustomed to climb like monkeys but rather to keep the 
cattle of the Pale inside that boundary, and stop them for a 
little, so as to give the attacked and alarmed inhabitants time 
to collect their retainers and pursue the invaders. Let us 
throw ourselves back mentally to the year 1500, and imagine 
an invasion of the O'Byrnes or O'Tooles in a dark Novem- 
ber night. They have swept down from the neighbourhood 
of Lough Bray, and have spread far and wide over the fields 
from Dolphin's Barn to Clondalkin, gathering as quietly and 
quickly as they can all the cattle there feeding. Suddenly 
a warder on Tallaght Castle gives the signal announcing that 
the Irish enemy are inside the Pale, and lights his beacon, 



238 SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 

which is repeated from Tymon, Drimnagh, Baggotrath, 
Rathmines, and dozens of other castles. All the English 
assemble with their retainers at the indicated points of 
attack, and follow the flying foe, who drive their prey before 
them as quickly as they can. But then, flying to their native 
haunts, they come straight up against this double ditch, 
which the cattle refuse to mount. Meanwhile the pitiless 
foe are behind, growing in numbers as they advance ; and 
knowing well the long rope and short shrift which await 
him, the Irishman makes his escape across the ditch, leaving 
the cattle behind. And thus the Pale served its purpose." 



ANCIENT DEEDS (p. 12). 

Among the deeds in the Liber Niger is one from Walter 
the Miller confirming to William of Winchester the lands of 
Tirknoc (Tiknock) near the Dodder (fol. 26), the rent to be 
a pair of white gloves ; and there is also a memorandum of 
eighty-five acres of land at Taney, granted by Archbishop 
Alexander de Bicknor (1317-49) to Edmund Racket (fol. 27). 
This land was in the manor of St. Sepulchre ; sixty acres lay 
between Roebuck and the king's highway, and extended from 
Dundrum to Bolie (Farranboley) ; and twenty-five acres ex- 
tended into the lands of Galfridi de Bret of Bathfarnham. 
In 1325, at an inquiry held on the request of John Racket, 
it was proved that three acres of land near " Renville Parkes " 
did not belong to the Archbishop of Dublin, but were part 
of the holding given by Edmund Racket to the said John 
Racket. In a subsequent note it appears that in 1317 this 
land was in the occupation of Thomas Fitzwilliam, who had 
succeeded William Runncoile (fol. 571). 



WILLIAM POWER (p. 13). 

His pension, in lieu of all his endowments, was 40 per 
annum (8th Report of Deputy Keeper of Records in Ireland, 



SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 289 

Fiant No. 94), which would be equal to about 400 a year of 
our money. 

ARCHBOLDS (pp. 17, 18, 27, 28). 

Amongst the Plants of Elizabeth is a pardon granted in 
1584 to " Piers, son of Rich. Archbold of Kilmacod, gent." 
(Fiant 4,405). The family was one of the oldest in the Co. 
Dublin, and the name appears frequently in the Fiants and 
Close Bolls. The earliest mention of the name which we 
have found is in Gilbert's Chartularies of St. Mary's Abbey 
(vol. i., preface xxviii., and pp. 279, 333), which shows that 
the Archbolds were living at Bochestown about the year 
1300. In 1408 John Archbold was examined as to the 
boundaries of the holding of the Abbey at Kilternan, and 
stated that he was born at Rochestown, and was then eighty 
years of age. In the reign of Henry VIII. we find Archbolds 
of Moche Bree and Lytle Bree ; in the reign of Edward VI. , 
Archbolds of Glasmokrey, Kylbarroke, and Loughanston ; in 
the reign of Philip and Mary, Archbolds of Ballynloghan and 
Carrickmayne ; and in the reign of Elizabeth, Archbolds of 
Tymolenbeg, Kynleston, Ballerahin, and many other places. 
(See Beports of Deputy Keeper of Records in Ireland and 
Calendar of Patent and Close Rolls of Chancery in Ireland.) 

In B. L. G., 1846, under Archbold of Davidstown, it is 
mentioned that Richard Archbold of Eadestown m. Mary, 
dau. of Matthew Ball, grandson of Nicholas Ball, Mayor of 
Dublin in 1582. Burke says he had a son "Garret;" so 
probably in Tomb II. we should have supplied "mother" 
instead of "wife." 



HOUSEHOLDERS IN 1664 (p. 22). 

The Hearth Money Returns are in the Public Record 
Office. The number of inhabitants in the parish about that 
time can, however, be obtained with more accuracy hi a census 



240 SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 

of 1659 a copy of which is preserved in the Boyal Irish 
Academy. It gives the numbers as follows : 

No. of People. English. Irish. 

Dondrom ... ... 47 14 33 

Titnocke 15 15 

Churchtowne ... ... 7 2 5 

Moltyanstowne 18 7 11 

Rabuckeand Owenstowne ... 30 5 25 

Eabucke 19 2 17 

Kilmacudd ... ... 13 11 2 

Balacoly ... ... 18 7 11 

167 48 119 

JOHN DUNTON (p. 22). 

In that most comprehensive of modern works, the Dic- 
tionary of National Biography (vol. xvi., p. 236), there is a 
biography of Dunton by the editor, Leslie Stephen, Esq. 

DUNDBUM CASTLE (p. 23). 

Through the kindness of Austin Darner Cooper, Esq., 
J.P., of Drumnigh, Co. Dublin, we have had an opportunity 
of examining the MS. notes made by his grandfather, Austin 
Cooper, Esq., who was an antiquary and patron of art in the 
last century, of various places of interest in the Co. Dublin. 
He thus describes Dundrum Castle, the date of his visit 
being April 16, 1780: "The Castle of Dundrum, three miles 
S. of Dublin, is inhabited, and in excellent repair ; at the 
N.E. end of it are the remains of a much older building than 
the present castle, which is visibly a modern addition in 
comparison to the old mansion. There is but very little of 
this ancient part remaining ; some of the walls are six feet 
thick ; about the castle are several traces of old walls, 
avenues, &c., proving it to have been once a very complete 
habitation. The whole is on the summit of a small hill, 



SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 241 

surrounded with ash trees, with a handsome rivulet running 
at its foot, but this shelter will soon be removed, as they are 
cutting away the trees." 

Gabriel Beranger, a well-known artist in Dublin at the 
close of the last century, made three sketches of the castle, 
and describes it as very picturesque. He says the principal 
entrance was from the courtyard by a stone stairs. (See Ap- 
pendix to Sir William Wilde's Memoirs of Gabriel Beranger.) 

JAMES II. (p. 24). 

In September, 1892, there was a very large find of brass 
money of this monarch's reign on the land of James Sheill, 
Esq.. in the townland of Kingstown. (See Journal of the 
Eoijal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, 1893, p. 164.) 

WILLIAM BALL (p. 29). 

Mr. Ball was one of the sub-commissioners employed in 
collating the records of Ireland, and prepared an authentic 
edition of the Irish Statutes. (See 2nd Eeport of the Com- 
missioners of Records of Ireland, 1810-15.) Amongst his 
father's pupils were Henry Grattan and John FitzGibbon, 
afterwards Earl of Clare. (See Irish Builder, August 15, 
1895, p. 194.) 

MONKSTOWN CHUECH (p. 54). 

In the paragraph in which this church is mentioned " 1844 >; 
should read " 1814." The present church was not built until 
1 832, and from a view of Old Monkstown Church in the Journal 
of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland for March, 
1895, it will be seen that its design was similar to that of 
Taney Church as originally erected. 

SIR THOMAS LIGHTON (p. 125). 

In a series of articles on the Old Dublin Bankers, by C. M. 

Tenison, Esq., M.K.I.A., which has recently appeared in the 



242 SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 

Journal of the Cork Historical and Archaeological Society, 
there is a short account of Lighten and Shaw's Bank (Feb., 
1895, p. 72). In its earliest years it had the largest circula- 
tion of any of the Dublin banks; and in 1836 it was merged, 
into the Royal Bank of Ireland, which now occupies its offices. 
Sir Thomas Lighten was amongst those who voted against 
the Union. His daus. Anne and Charlotte were bapt. in T.C. 

ISAAC WILLIAM USHER (p. 149). 
The following announcement appeared in the Dublin papers 
in July, 1895: "On the 6th July, by special licence, at 
Laurel Lodge, Dundrum, by the Rev. Edward Carroll, Isaac 
William Usher, Surgeon, Tudor House, Dundrum, to Rosie, 
youngest daughter of the late Captain Meyler, Dundrum 
House." 

RIGHT HON. WILLIAM BROOKE (pp. 159, 160). 

Owing to an accidental transposition of the type the date 
of the death of Master Brooke's first wife has been placed 
after her mother's name. 

Mrs. Bradford, mother of Master Brooke's second wife, 
edited the Memoirs of the Princess Daschkaw (published by 
Colburn in 1840), from whom Mrs. Brooke got the name. 
The Princess Daschkaw was lady-in-waiting to Catherine II. 
of Russia; she travelled with her son throughout Europe, 
and came to Dublin. She was the lion of Dublin society in 
1779, when she composed the music for a hymn sung at the 
Magdalen Chapel in aid of a collection for that charity. She 
was a great friend of Lady Arabella Denny, who then resided 
at Lisaniskea, Blackrock, where the Princess planted two 
ilex trees, which still flourish there. On this visit she be 
came acquainted with Mr. Wilmot, and subsequently invited 
his daughter to pay her a visit on her Russian estate ; there 
Miss Wilmot remained several years. On her return she 
married the Rev. Mr. Bradford, the father-in-law of Mastei 
Brooke. 



SUPPLEMENTAL NOTES. 243 

RIGHT HON. ANTHONY FOSTER (pp. 168, 169, 170). 
His great-great-grandson, James Foster Vesey Fitzgerald, 
Esq., supplies the following additional information : "There 
can be no doubt that Merville was built by Chief Baron 
Foster. It was built to gratify his second wife, a very witty 
and capricious lady, which were family characteristics of the 
Burgh ladies. The country round Merville was quite wild 
and open at that time ; and one day, while she was out 
driving, she stopped where Merville now stands, and declared 
she would have her house built there. The Chief Baron 
intended building a house at Collon ; but in obedience to his 
wife, he built Merville instead. He was one of the founders 
of the Royal Dublin Society. He was distinguished for his 
impartial administration of the law, and steadily refused to 
admit Francis Higgins, the Sham Squire, to practise as an 
attorney in his court, characterizing his repeated attempts 
as 'impudence,' and threatening a committal to Newgate if 
repeated." (Fitzpatrick's Sham Squire, p. 21.) 

ROEBUCK CASTLE (p. 183). 

Mr. Austin Cooper (see p. 240) thus describes the castle on 
March 25, 1781 : "At Rawbuck near Merrion stands a large 
castle in the shape of an L. Part of it has a slated roof, and 
is used for sundry purposes by a farmer who has a snug house 
there. I could not see the inside. In the window over the 
gate, N.W. angle, is a stone whereon are the arms of the 
Trimblestown family, who are owners hereof and a large 
estate thereabouts. I suppose it was built by some of their 
ancestors. On it are the letters R. B. A. F., and on one side 
Robart." 

ROADS (p. 220). 

In the Royal Irish Academy there is a most interesting 
map, on a large scale, of the County Dublin, dated 1799. 

TIPPERSTOWN AND MULCHANSTOWN (p. 19). 
These townlands are now in the Parish of Kill, and not in 
the Parish of Stillorgan. 



DEX. 



Accounts, Parochial, 217. 

Aderk, 6. 

Alan, John, Archbishop, 9, 10, 11. 

Alexander III., Pope, 9. 

All Saints' (at Kynturk), 6. 

Prior of (at Bally collay), 6. 
Allen, Sir John, 13. 
Ancient Deeds, 238. 
Antiquaries, Journal of Eoyal Society of (Ireland), 1 (note), 

10 (note), 12 (note), 241. 
Antiquities, chap, ii., 5. 
Appendix A, 229. 

B, 230. 

C, 232. 

D, 234. 

E, 236. 
Applotters and Appraisers, 192. 

Archbold family, 239 ; Maurice or Morris, 17, 20 ; Eichard, 

17, 24, 239. 
Archdall, Mervyn, 67. 
Archer's Survey of the County Dublin, 223. 
Artane, 9. 
Assessments, 199. 

Balally, 1, 8, 12, 223; Balawley, 13, 14, 20, 21, 23, 24; 

Balla^vley, derivation of, 14 (note) ; Balowley, 20 ; Bel- 

lawley, 15, 16. 
Ball, Eight Hon. J. T., 85, 212. 



246 INDEX. 

Ball, Counsellor William, 29, 241. 

Ball Wright's Ussher Families, 18 (note), 149 ; Ball Families, 

29 (note). 
Balithermot, 6. 
Ballinteer, 1, 13, 15, 16, 20, 203, 223 ; Balayn, 13 ; Ballintery, 

20 ; Ballintiry, 20 ; Ballintry, 15, 16. 
Ballycollay, 6. 
Ballykegh, 6. 

Basset, family of, 8 ; David, 8. 
Beadle, 193. 
Beere, Daniel, 98, 204. 
Belegrene, 6. 
Belfield, 123, 185, 224. 
Bernard, M. C., 64, 99. 

Blackburne, Eight Hon. Francis, 155, 213 (note). 
Blacker's Sketches of Booterstown, 16 (note), 17 (note), 23 

(note), 75, 104, 154 (note), 155, 168. 
Booterstown, 2. 
Borr, John, 24. 

Bourne, Walter, 101, 200, 204 ; E. T., 101. 
Bredin, Andrew Noble, 81. 

Brewer's Beauties of Ireland, 16 (note), 183 (note), 211. 
Brewster, Eight Hon. Abraham, 157. 
Broderick, Hon. Charles, Archbishop of Cashel, 55, 57. 
Brooke, Eight Hon. William, 159, 242. 
Broome, William, 216. 
Brun, Fromund le, 8. 
Building of church, estimate for, 236. 
Bulkeley, Archbishop Lancelot, 14. 
Bulwer, James, 73. 
Burial Fees, &c., Table of, 232. 
Burke, Dr., 204. 
Burr, John, 23. 
Burton, Mr. Justice, 161. 
Butler, Edward, 204. 

Callary, 2, 203 ; Challorighe, 13. 



IXDEX. 247 

Campbell, Alexander Burrowes, 76 ; Matthew, 69, 204, 207. 

Carroll, Edward Arnold, 91. 

Cashel, Most Rev. and Hon. Charles Broderick, Archbishop 

of, 55, 57. 

Cawhell (Cahill), John, 14. 
Central Asylum, Dundrum, 4, 79. 
Cess, Collector of, 193. 
Chamberlaine, Judge, 103, 224. 
Chantrell Ferine, 13. 
Chapel of Ease, chapter x., 196. 
Charles, R., 205. 

Christ Church (Taney), chapter iv., 53. 
Cathedral 18, 19. 
Dean of, 20. 
Deeds, 7 (note). 

Church Plate, 230. 

Churchtown, 1, 7, 12, 15, 18, 20, 24, 26, 215, 223. 
Churchwardens, Chronological List of, chapter viii., 93. 

Alphabetical List of, 97. 
Clahull, Hugh de, 7 ; John de, 7. 
Cleaver, Dr. Euseby, Archbishop, 55. 
Clerk, Parish, 192. 
,, Vestry, 192. 
Cloghranhydryt, 6. 
Clonliff, 6. 
Clonschilagh, C. 

Clonskeagh, 21, 203, 222 ; Clonskeagh Castle, 144. 
Coaches, 201. 

College of Dublin, 16, 17, 18, 19. 
Colles, Abraham, 162. 
Constable, Parish, 193. 
Corballis, Richard, 204. 
Cotton's Fasti Ecclesice Hibernicce, 3, 9 (note), 13 (note), 24 

(note), 72, 82, 144 (note). 
Coulmyne, 6. 
Coulok, 6. 
Crede Mihi, 10. 



248 INDEX. 

Crofton, A. B., 104, 190, 205 ; James, 57, 105, 204, 224 ; W. R., 

105. 

Cromwell (Oliver), 15. 
Crozier, Thomas, 197 ; F. B. M., 106. 
Crumlin, 3. 
Curates under the Archdeacon as Rector, chapter v., 66 

from 1851, chapter vi., 86. 

second, 91. 
Curran, M., 56; J. A., 205; Henry, 187, 192. 

Dalkey, 8. 

Dansey's Hora Decaniac Euralts, 5 (note). 

Dargan, William, 164. 

Darley, Alderman, 55. 

Deanery, ancient Rural, 5 ; modern Rural, 3. 

Deeds, ancient, 238. 

Disestablishment, effects of, 208. 

Dispensary, 203. 

Distress, 206. 

Dobson, Eliphal, 22 ; Isaac, 23, 24. 

Dollars, Spanish, 214. 

Dondromarty, 13. 

Donnybrook, 2, 6, 11, 15, 19, 21 ; Donnybroke, 11 ; Donne- 
brook, 15 ; Donabrooke, 19, 21. 

Down Survey, 15, 19, 21. 

Downes, Right Hon. William, Baron, 56, 166. 

Drummartin, 2, 13, 223 ; Drumartane, 53. 

Dublin, Archbishops of John Alan, 9, 10, 11 ; Lancelot 
Bulkeley, 14 ; Euseby Cleaver, 55 ; Thomas Jones, 13 ; 
Luke, 3, 11 ; Laurence O'Toole, 9 ; R. C. Trench, 61 (note), 
63 (note) ; R. Whately, 185 (note), 222 (note). 

Dublin and Wicklow Railway, 219. 

Duffy, John, 204. 

Duncan, J., 205. 

Dundrum, 2, 13, 15, 16, 203, 223 ; Dondrom, 15, 16, 20, 21, 23 ; 
Dondrommy, 13 ; Dundrum Castle, 23 (note), 240. 

Dunsenk, 6. 



INDEX. 249 

Dunton (John), author of The Dublin Scuffle, 22 (note), 240. 
Dwyer, William, 69. 

Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 58, 60. 
Erck's Ecclesiastical Register, 24 (note). 
Estimate for building Taney Church, 236. 

Farranboley, 203. 

Farrell, William, Architect, 54. 

Fawcett, John, 88. 

Fees, Table of Marriage, Burial, &c., 232. 

First Fruits, Board of, 54, 56, 57, 58. 

Fitzwilliam, Oliver, 16, 20 ; and Herbert Families, 154 ; 

Lord of Merrion, 17, 53. 

Fleetwood, Charles, 15 ; Fleetwood's Survey, 15, 20, 21. 
Fletcher, John Joseph Knox, 86. 
Forster & Andrews, of Hull, 60. 
Foster, Right Hon. Anthony, 168, 169, 170, 243. 
Fox, Mr. Justice, 171. 
Fowler, Archdeacon, 207. 
Franks, Sir John, 171. 
Friarland, 2, 223. 
Fuller, J. F., 64. 

Giffard, John, 53, 56, 112. 

Gilbert's Records of Dublin, 17 (note), History of Dublin, 22 

(note), 115. 

Glebe House and Land, 194. 
Goats' Milk, 210. 
Goatstown, 210. 
Goulding, W. J., 64. 
Gough, Viscount, 196. 
Graveyard, chapter iii., 26. 

,, inscriptions on tombstones arranged alphabeti- 

cally, chap, iii., 28. . 
Grogan, Sir Edward, 173. 



250 INDEX. 

Hall, Lieut.-General Henry, 173. 

Hamilton, Alexander, 117 ; Everard, 117, 212 ; Henry, 75 ; 

William Alfred, 83, 195. 
Harty, Sir Bobert, 175. 
Health, Officers of, 203. 
Hearth-money Eeturns, 22, 239. 
Henry II., King, 7. 
Hiine, Morris, 118, 200, 227. 

Historic and Municipal Documents of Ireland, 10 (note). 
Hone, Alderman Nathaniel, 53, 56, 119, 190, 200, 204. 
Householders in Parish, 239. 
Hudson-Kinahan, Sir E. H., 176, 194. 
Hughes's St. Werburgh's Parish, 23 (note), 68, 82. 
Hunt, Henry, 71. 

Inscriptions on tombstones arranged alphabetically, chapter 

iii., 28. 
Isolde's Town, 6. 

James I., 13. 

II., 24, 241. 
James, Charles Henry, 63. 
John, King, 7. 

Jones, Archbishop Thomas, 13 ; Owen, 24. 
Joyce's Irish Names of Places, 203. 

Kane, Sir Eobert, 176. 

Kemp, John, 19. 

Kilgobbin, 2, 3, 6, 8, 11, 15 ; Kilgoban, 11. 

Kill, 19. 

Kilmacud, 2, 6, 15, 17, 19, 20, 24, 214 ; Kylmahud, 6. 

Kilternan, 4, 8. 

Kinahan, Daniel, 121, 192, 205, 206 ; Sir E. H. Hudson, 176, 

194 ; George, 63, 122, 194, 212. 
King's State of the Protestants in Ireland under James II., 24 

(note). 
Kingstown (Townland of), 2, 241. 



INDEX. 251 

Kylmacodrek, 6. 
Kylmatalway, 6. 
Kynturk, 6. 

Langley, Charles Seymour, 86. 

La Touche, Peter, 123, 204. 

Lay Patron, 211. 

Ledwich, Edward, 140, 215. 

Leinster, 7. 

Lesmolyn, Prioress of, 6. 

Leucane, 6. 

Liber Niger Alani, 1, 9, 10, 12, 238. 

Lighten family, 27 ; Sir Thomas Lighten, 125, 190, 213, 224, 

241. 

Limerick, Diocese of, 11 ; Dr. Leslie, Bishop of, 214. 
Locum, Thomas, 12. 

Lodge's Desiderata Curiosa Hibernica, 15 (note). 
Luke, Archbishop, 3, 11. 
Luske, 11. 

McCaskey, W., 132, 205. 

M-Comas, E. Henry A., 64, 132. 

M'Kay family, 8 (note) ; Daniel, 133, 200 ; Manners, 133 ; 

William, 134. 
Magan, P., 205. 
Mageough Home, 4. 
Mann, Archdeacon Isaac, 24. 
Margetson, Dean, 19. 
Marriage Fees, Table of, 232. 
Mary, Queen, 13. 

Mason's History of St. Patrick's, 3, 11 (note), 13 (note), 21. 
Mason, Samuel Henry, 78. 

Mayne, Mr. Justice, 130, 204 ; Joseph St. Clair, 132. 
Merrion, 1, 2, 24. 
Meryyoung, Lord of, 20. 
Merville, 125, 167, 173, 223, 243. 
Militia and Yeomanry, 212. 



252 INDEX. 

Mills's, Mr. James, The Norman Settlement in Leinster, 1 

The Manor of /St. Sepulchre, 12 (note). 
Milltown, 4, 12, 20, 21, 222, 224. 
Moeran, Edward Busteed, 82. 
Monkstown, 19 ; Church, 54, 241. 
Moreen, 8, 134. 
Mount Anville, 2, 166. 
Mountmerrion (or Calary), 2, 154, 224. 
Mountmerrion, South, 2. 
Moyers, William, 58. 

Mulchanstown, 19, 20, 243 ; Moltanstown, 20. 
Murray, John Edward, 91. 
Musgrave's Memoirs of the Rebellion, 135 (note). 

Naas, 8. 

Nally, William, 23, 24. 

Names, Derivation of Place, 203. 

Newcastle, Barony of, 19. 

Nicholson, James, 27. 

Nominators, Parochial, 211. 

Olympus Boarding House, 56. 

Ordination held in parish, 214. 

O'Toole, Archbishop Laurence, 9. 

Outrages in Parish, 215. 

Owenstown (or Trimleston), 2, 15, 17, 20, 24. 

Pale, the, 8, 237. 
Palmerston, 6. 
Papal Taxation of Dublin, 5. 
Paparo, Cardinal, 5. 
Parish Clerk, 192. 

Constable, 193. 

officers, 192. 

pound, 218. 

Registers, 230. 
stocks, 225. 



INDEX. 253 

Parishioners, chapter viii. , 154. 

Parkes, John C., 212. 

Pembroke, Earl of, 65, 196. 

Petty, Sir William, 15. 

Pew sites, purchase of, 234. 

Plate, Church, 230. 

Plunket, Hon. Patrick, 178. 

Pont, Eobert, 13, 66. 

Population of parish, 2, 240. 

Post Chaise Companion, 112 (note), 134 (note), 221. 

Power, Sir John, 179, 227 ; William, 13, 238. 

Prebend of Taney, 11. 

Prescott, Kichard, 14, 67. 

Prior, John, 76. 

Privy Council, order of severing parish from Archdeaconry, 



Queen, The, 166. 

Railway (Dublin and Wicklow), 219. 

Eathdown, Half Barony of, 1, 15, 19 ; Horse, 212. 

Rathfarnham, 2, 3, 6, 11, 13, 15, 213, 229 ; Rathfernane, 13. 

Rathmichael, 21. 

Rathmines, Great, 2 ; Little, 2. 

Rectors and Curates from 1851, chapter vi., 81. 

Rede, Richard, Lord Chancellor, 212. 

Regal Visitation (1615), 13. 

Registers, Parochial, 230. 

Reichel, Most Rev. C. P., 23 (note). 

Repertorium Viride, 10, 11 (note). 

Richards, Solomon, 139, 204 ; John Goddard, 139. 

Ridgeway, William, 140, 204. 

Roads and Bridges, 220, 243. 

Roebuck, 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 15, 16, 20, 23, 223 ; Rabo, 7, 8, 13 ; 

Rabuck, 15, 16, 20, 21 ; Rawbuck, 23 ; Rebowe, 13 ; 

Robucke, 24 ; Roebuck Castle, 183, 224, 243 ; Roebuck 

Cavalry, 213. 



254 INDEX. 

Roe, Henry, GO, 61, 62, 141, 197. 

Rural Deanery, ancient, 5 ; modern, 3. 

Ruttey's Natural History of the County Dublin, 210. 

Ryan, Richard, 70, 113, 227, 228. 

Sabbath, Profanation of, 219. 

St. Catherine, Prior of, G. 

St. Columba, College of, 4 ; Warden of, 88. 

St. John of Dublin, Prior of, 6. 

St. Michael, Robert de, 8 ; Thomas de, 7. 

St. Patrick's Cathedral, 7, 11, 12, 16, 21. 

St. Peter's Parish, 2. 

St. Sepulchre's, Manor of, 12. 

St. Thomas, Monastery of, 6. 

Sankey, John, 67. 

Schoales, Clement Archer, 78. 

Schools, chapter ix., 187. 

Scully, T. M., 205. 

Seats in the Parish, 222. 

Second Curates, 91. 

Services in Church, 224. 

Sexton, 193. 

Seymour, John Hobart, 89. 

Sheppard, James William tfranck, 92. 

Sherlock, Thomas, 204. 

Stanford, William Henry, 78. 

Stillorgan, 2, 3, 19, 214. 

Stirling, James, 100, 212. 

Stocks, Parish, 225. 

Stokes, Whitley, 179. 

Stoney, Robert Baker, 90. 

Story, Luke, 55. 

Strongbow, 7. 

Subsidy Rolls, 1664, 22, 24. 

Tallaght, 3, 8, 9 ; Tauelaghte, 7. 



INDEX. 255 

Taney, Tacheny, 7 ; Tachnensis, 230 ; Tachney, 7; Tanee, 
12, 13, 15, 18, 20 ; Tanhy, 6 ; Tannee, 13, 22 ; Tanney, 
9 ; Tathtoin, 11 ; Tawnee, 67 ; Tawney, 11, 21, 22 ; 
Tignai, 9. 

Thompson, George, 144, 227 ; Henry, 146. 

Tiknock, 2, 203 ; Tengknock, 23. 

Tilly, Robert Henry, 143, 212. 

Tipperstown, 15, 19, 243 : Tyberstown, 20. 

Tombstones, Inscriptions on, arranged alphabetically, chap, 
iii. 28. 

Terrens, Archdeacon, 3. 

Townlands forming Parish, 1. 

Trench, Dr., Archbishop of Dublin, 61 (note), 63 (note), 196. 

Trees, Plantation of, 222. 

Trimblestown, Mathew, Lord, 16, 20. 

Trimleston, John, Baron, 183. 

Trimleston or Owenstown, 2. 

Tullow, Parish of, 2. 

Tully, 19. 

Turbett, J. E. P., 147; James, 148; Robert, 148, 201, 204, 
227 ; Robert E., 148. 

Uppercross, Barony of, 19. 
Usher, Isaac William, 149, 242. 
Ussher, Sir William, 18, 20. 

Vance, William Forde, 72. 

Vernon, John Edward, 181, 197. 

Verschoyle, Richard, 149, 200, 204 ; W. H. F., 149. 

Vestry Books, 225, 231 ; Clerk, 192, 225. 

Veto, Mr., 55. 

Walker, Ralph, 92. 

Wallace, Thomas, 184. 

Walsh, James, 16, 20 ; Dr. James, 91 ; Jeremy, 68 ; John, 

150, 212 ; William, 151. 
Webb's Compendium of Irish Biography, 68, 164, 176 (note), 

181, 215 (note). 



256 INDEX. 

Westby, Edward P., 151, 198, 212. 
Whately, Archbishop, 185 (note), 222 (note). 
Whelan, Eobert William, 87. 
Whitechurch, 2, 4, 19. 
Whyte, Captain, 205. 
Williams, Mr., 55. 
Window Tax, 226. 
Wright, Thomas, 205. 

Zion Church, Rathgar, 4. 



C. W.GlBiis, Printer, Dublin. 



iMMMMMMI