(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Parochial history of Waterford and Lismore during the 18th and 19th centuries"

941.91015 M.Li 

W325p 
1368349 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



3 1833 00725 2650 



Parochial History 

OF 

Waterford and Lismore 



During the 18th and 19th centuries. 



" Tpositis meliova caducie. 






Waterford : 

N. HARVEY &■ CO. 

1912. 



If&uatton. 



TO THEIR MEMORY— 
THOSE MEN AND WOMEN OF THE PENAL DAYS 

Who, 

Plundered, Belied and Hated — Crushed by Cruel Laws 

and Deprived of Civil Rights — Without Education or 

Position or Power, 

Kept Alive, 

to hand it down to us, that sacred flame which patrick 

had lighted upon the hlll of slane. 



1368349 



PREFACE. 



fHE compiler disclaims any intuition to offer the present work as 
an adequate history of the Diocese during the period covered. He 
would present it rather as an ordered collection of material which will facilitate 
the work of the future historian and save him an immensity of time and 
labour. For the present it will also to some extent satisfy the general desire 
for knowledge of our ecclesiastical past. Publication of the material here 
presented may too, by the way, stimulate the advent of the future historian 
in question. The compiler begs to plead, moreover, that the idea of the work 
is not his. He has very reluctantly undertaken the task and if left free fie 
would not, under present circumstances, have attempted it at all ; he has 
not had, he felt, for one thing, the necessary leisure to treat the subject 
as he should -wish and as, he thought, its importance deserved. What he 
has done he has done in obedience — a fact which perhaps 'will plead in 
extenuation of the many defects of which he is conscious and the many 
additional which the careful reader will discover. 

December, 1912 



INTRODUCTION. 

— *- - 



Reference to the map prefixed will show that the present Diocese of 
Waterford and Lismore is exactly, or almost exactly, coterminous 
with the ancient principality of Decies. It comprises, as the territory 
of Decies comprised, almost the entire County Waterford with a con- 
siderable portion of County Tipperary, and five small townlands of the 
Barony of Condons and Clangibbon, County Cork. As if to counter- 
balance the five townlands of Cork County which belong to Waterford 
and Lismore, five small townlands of County Waterford form portion 
of the parish of Leitrim in the diocese of Cloyne. For information as 
to the number of parishes, churches, schools, clergy and religious, see 
the Catholic Directories, also the Catholic Encyclopedia. 

Controversy rages round the first preaching of Christianity in the 
Decies. It must be conceded as extremely probable that at least 
the southern seaboard of Waterford had received its first Christian 
message before the coming of the National Apostle. The Life of St. 
Declan, which however it would be folly to claim as independently 
reliable, places the apostolate of Declan in the early fifth century, while 
Patrick is still a novice at Lerins. We are on firmer ground when we 
come to St. Carthage, who in 630 established himself at Lismore, founding 
there a famous abbey and monastic school. Lismore became the 
ecclesiastical capital of the region, within which there were many other 
monastic establishments and a number of monastic bishops. Among 
the more important monasteries may be mentioned Mothel, Clashmore 
and Molana, and among the notable episcopal or quasi-episcopal cities 
may be named Kilbarrymeadan, Ardmore, Ardrinnan, Donoughmorc, 
Kilshcelan, and Kilcash. 

It is not within the province of the present work to detail at length 
the early history of the diocese. Let it suffice to say that there are 
commonly reckoned twelve successors of St. Carthage previous to the 
Synod of Rathbreasal in 1112. From Rathbreasal onward, however it 
may have been before, it is universally conceded we have a regular and 
formal succession of bishops. At the Synod in question the Irish epis- 
copacy was regularly organised in conformity with the discipline of the 
universal church. The enactments of Rathbreasal were confirmed at 
Kells forty years later. Misunderstandings and disputes leading to 
scandal and to violence were the result of the anomalous position of the 
Diocese of Waterford and these led to the union of the two sees on the 
death, in 1362, of the last Bishop of Waterford only, Roger Craddock. 



vi. INTRODUCTION. 

The ancient diocese of Waterford is of very small extent ; it was 
the smallest of the dioceses recognised at Rathbreasal — so small that 
there would be room in Ireland for two hundred and fifty dioceses of 
its size. It comprised in fact little more than the city itself and the 
adjacent cantred of the Danes, and owed its origin to the general con- 
version of the Danes of Waterford. Between these descendants of the 
Vikings and their Celtic neighbours of the Decies and Ossory little love 
was lost and the racial antagonism is reflected in the Waterfordmen's 
method of procedure, when towards close of the eleventh century they 
determined to set up a cathedral and a bishop of their own. They 
chose for bishop one Malchus, a Monk of Winchester, but an Irishman. 
The ordinary course would have been to have the new bishop consecrated 
by his Celtic neighbour bishops or by the Metropolitan of Cashel. The 
Ostmcn citizens however sent their bishop-elect to be consecrated by 
the Archbishop of Canterbury. It is possible, nay probable, that in 
this course they had the sanction of Rome ; at any rate their policy was 
acquiesced in, if not approved of or dictated by, the Irish King, Murtough 
O'Brien. Murtough was a man very zealous in the cause of religion 
and he had struggled hard to bring Irish church discipline into more 
perfect agreement with the Roman. It was during the episcopacy of 
Malchus (1096-1 1 10) that the cathedral of Waterford was erected. This 
cathedral was rc-endowed by King John in the beginning of the thirteenth 
century. At the latter period too it received confirmation of its statutes 
and possessions from Pope Innocent III. This also is the period to which 
a generally received but now utterly exploded opinion attributed the 
gift to the cathedral of the antique vestments still preserved in Water- 
ford. Among the more noted successors of Malchus up to the union 
of the see with Lismore may be mentioned — Robert (1210-1222), who 
commenced a century long dispute with Lismore, Stephen of Fulburn 
(1273-1286), who became Lord Justice of Ireland and set up a mint 
and coined money in Reginald's Tower, and Roger Craddock (1350-1362), 
between whom and his Metropolitan there arose considerable litigation. 
Though the sees of Waterford and Lismore were formally united in 
1362 they continued to have separate cathedrals and chapters down to the 
sixteenth century. We have very little information regarding the 
pre-Reformation bishops of the united diocese. We catch only occas- 
ional and passing glimpses of them in the State Papers. The vast majority 
of them bear English names ; in fact there is only one who bears a dis- 
tinctly Irish cognomen — Nicholas O'Hennessy. Comyn, the Bishop of 
the Reformation epoch, had an unusually long reign if as Ware states he 
was translated from Ferns in 1619 and resigned only in 1651. Apparently 
Comyn took the oath of supremacy, for John Machray, a Franciscan, 
was appointed to the see by the Pope in 1550, and in the bull of his 
nomination he is declared to succeed Thomas Purtial of venerated memory. 
The next Bishop, Patrick Walsh, has been the subject of much contro- 
versy : he was beyond a doubt consecrated by royal mandate, but yet he 
was not deposed in Mary's time and his name appears in the "Provision" 
of his successor. We may take it he returned to canonical obedience 
and that he was absolved by Cardinal Pole. He lived till 1578, having 
been over sixty years a bishop. Presumption in favour of his orthodoxy 



INTRODUCTION. vn. 

is strengthened by his consistent patronage of Father Peter White, 
the noted Dean of Waterford, who was the greatest pedagogue of his 
day and a most strenuous opponent of the new religion. John White 
was appointed Vicar-Apostolic on the death of Walsh, and henceforth 
for fifty years the diocese was administered by vicars only. Archbishop 
Thomas Walsh, of Cashel, a Waterford man by the way, had, some years 
previously, advised the Holy See that, owing to the difficulties of the times 
and the poverty of the Church, two bishops would suffice for all Munster. 
In 1600 James White was named Vicar-Apostolic and in 1629 the 
episcopate was restored in the appointment of Patrick Comerford 
(Dc Angelis), an Augustinian. On the death of Comerford (1652) the 
Holy See reverted to government by vicars, for twenty years. Again, on 
the death of John Brenan, 1693, a Vicar-Capitular governed the diocese 
till 1696. 

Nothing in the history of Waterford is perhaps so remarkable as 
the number of great ecclesiastics which the diocese, and especially the 
city of Waterford, produced during the dark and evil days of the Penal 
Laws — Peter Lombard, Luke Wadding, his brother Ambrose, and his 
cousins Luke and Michael, Stephen White, surnamed polyhistor, " one 
of the four or five most learned men that Ireland ever produced," and his 
brother Thomas White, founder of the Irish College of Salamanca, 
Thomas Walsh, Archbishop of Cashel and first cousin to the Waddings, 
Bonaventure Barron, Paul Sherlock, &c, &c. 

John Brenan was in many respects the most notable prelate that 
ever ruled the ancient see. He was a native of Kilkenny in which city 
he first saw the light about the year 1625. With Oliver Plunkett he 
accompanied Father Scarampo to Rome in 1645, on the latter's return 
from his mission to the Confederate Catholics of Ireland. He next 
appears as a brilliant student and afterwards as a Lector of the Propa- 
ganda, and as agent in Rome of the Irish clergy. The secretary of the 
latter congregation was able to testify of him when his name was proposed 
for the vacant see of Waterford that he had met few men in his time so 
learned and so pious, and the same time so prudent. One who knew 
him well describes him as unassuming and very amiable, of ardent zeal 
and boundless energy. He was nominated for the see of Waterford on 
May 12th, 1671. As the youthful bishop set out for his distant diocese 
there were high hopes for the future of religion. Charles II, a Catholic 
at heart, was well disposed towards professors of the ancient faith. 
Priests and bishops were tolerated and allowed to exercise their functions 
without interference, and the Penal Laws, though not abrogated, were 
suspended in execution. It was soon evident to friends and foes that 
Dr. Brenan was a great force in his new sphere. He held visitations 
and ordinations, provided pastors for long orphaned parishes, and held 
Diocesan Synods. The diocese had thirty priests labouring on the 
mission and Robert Power, kinsman to the Earl of Tyrone, was Dean. 
In 1677 Brenan was elevated to the Archepiscopal See of Cashel, but, 
owing to poverty of the latter, he was allowed to hold Waterford and 
Lismore in administration. The next year saw the culmination of the 
Titus Oates plot. Amongst the accused in Ireland were the Archbishop 
and his friend Lord Power, of Curraghmore, against whom informations 



via. INTRODUCTION. 

were sworn by three wretches, of the character familiar on such occasions 
— McNamara, Fitzgerald, and Nash. Dr. Brenan however was extremely 
difficult to track. Extraordinarily active, he was felt everywhere through- 
out his diocese and beyond, but his retreat or place of abode could not be 
found. It was, as a matter of fact, never discovered, nor do we to this 
day know for certain where it was. It is probable that he found tempor- 
ary asylum at Curraghmore and Kilcash, and in the wood of Rehill. 
McNamara swears to having seen him at the first named place ; an in- 
former's word is of proverbially doubtful value, but this wily wretch would 
be careful to make his evidence circumstantial. The advent of James to 
the throne in 1685 gladdened the hearts of the Catholics and set their 
adversaries ascheming. In October of that year Brenan came still 
further into the open ; he convened a provincial Synod in Thurles at 
which, amongst other things, it was enacted, that priests should no 
longer celebrate Mass in the open air, that the faithful were to be in- 
structed how to make good confessions and in the knowledge necessary 
thereto, that Parish Priests are to keep exact registers of baptisms, 
marriages, and deaths, &c, &c. Harris makes complaint that James 
distributed the revenues of Cashel amongst the Catholic Bishops on the 
death of the Protestant Archbishop Price of that see. Had James 
done so he would have done a thing imprudent and unconstitutional, 
but he would scarcely have done anything unjust. What the King 
really did was to pay pensions or annuities to certain Catholic 
prelates, &c, out of the Irish treasury and out of church property 
unjustly seized on by Archbishop Price's predecessors. Dr. Brenan was 
allotted £200 per annum, and this we may presume continued to be 
paid from 1686 to 1690. In 1686 the Archbishop paid his respects to 
Clarendon, the Viceroy, in Dublin, and, four months later, when Clarendon 
visited Limerick, he made a second call upon him. We next hear of our 
bishop in connexion with the negotiations preceding the Treaty of 
Limerick. He was one of the Commissioners appointed to fix the terms 
to be demanded. Alas, it proved a fruitless task ! After Limerick 
as before Brenan continued to reside in his dioceses and to make careful 
reports thereon to the holy see. He was one of the very few bishops 
who remained in the country ; he seems, in fact, never to have left his 
charge except for a short period in 1673 when there was a particularly 
violent outburst of persecution in the south. Then, Dr. Brenan fled for a 
while to his friend and brother confessor, Oliver Plunkett, at Armagh. 
They had both to seek refuge in the mountains of the north, where 
during a severe winter they lived in a semi-thatched shieling and fre- 
quently found it hard to procure enough oaten bread to sustain life. Such 
were the times, the difficulties surrounding a bishop's work and the 
secrecy in which he lived and with which he moved about, that his brother 
bishops in exile after the Revolution could hear no account of the Bishop 
of Cashel ; he was supposed to be alive or to be in Ireland, but none 
knew for certain. He died in 1693 and was buried in the tomb of 
Dr. Geoffrey Keating at Tubrid. It was no doubt at his own request 
that he was interred with Keating ; veneration or affection for the 
historian whom he can hardly have personally known, maj' have suggested 
his choice of a burial place — or it may be the latter was suggested by 
their common retreat at Rehill. 



INTRODUCTION. ix. 

On the death of Archbishop Brenan, Rev. Paul Bellew, Parish 
Priest of Waterford, was elected Vicar-Capitular, and as such continued 
to govern the diocese till the appointment of Bishop Pierse in 1696. 

Richard Pierse was a native of Ardfert and had been nominated 
by King James for Waterford as early as 1694. Macauley states that 
a priest had been bribed by promise of the mitre of Waterford to preach 
at St. James', London, against the Act of Settlement in 1686. Pierse 
had been an army chaplain in the service of King James and had followed 
his royal master beyond the seas. He was a graduate of the Sorbonnc, 
from which he had received a mastership in theology, and was only 
thirty-five years of age on his appointment to Waterford. This latter fact 
suggested one of the grounds of an objection to his promotion made by the 
Bishop of Limerick. Dr. O'Moloney, the Bishop aforesaid, objected to 
Dr. Pierse on the ground of his youth and inexperience, and alleged that 
political considerations rather than regard for the interests of religion had 
influenced the King in this nomination, &c. In Dr. Piersc's brief of appoint- 
ment to the see of Waterford were faculties or dispensation for consecra- 
tion by a single bishop. A few months after his consecration the bishop 
had to fly to France, and there we find him at various periods up to 
1715. The statute of 1697 had ordered all bishops and regulars t<> quit 
the kingdom. Dr. Pierse must have been in Ireland in 1697 and in 1700 
for in those years he held ordinations in Waterford and Thurles re- 
spectively. In 1699 a plot of ground near Bailey's Lane was assigned 
by the Corporation as a site whereon the Catholics might build a church 
and, we are naively told, that as the place was not on any thoroughfare 
and the Papists' chapel did not offend the eyes of the Protestant populace, 
the Protestant Bishop Foy made no objection. In 1702 Pierse was 
certainly not in Ireland for the Propaganda that year communicated to 
the French Nuncio its desire that the bishop should return to his diocese. 
To this communication and to others such the bishop returned the reply 
that though resident abroad, owing to the dangers of the times, he had 
made adequate provision for government of his diocese by the appoint- 
ment of competent vicars. The vicar at that period, by the way, was 
Bellew. In 1712 we find Pierse acting as suffragan or assistant bishop 
to the Archbishop of Sens, and it is probable that he remained in Sens 
till his death in 1736. In 1713, according to the sworn testimony of 
Tyrrell, the most active priest hunter of his period, Pierse was in Ireland 
and resident at Kilcash. Tyrrell's evidence notwithstanding, it is not by 
any means clear that the bishop ever returned. He was appointed Vicar- 
General of Sens, and Honorary Canon and Treasurer of the Cathedral. 
By his will his body was interred in the chapel of St. Columba, within the 
cathedral ; it is explained that he had a particular affection for that 
chapel and celebrated Mass there regularly in his last years. 

From the death of Bishop Pierse the diocese seems to have been 
ruled for three years by Rev. William O'Meara (afterwards Bishop of 
Kerry and subsequently of Killaloe) as Vicar. 

In 1739 Sylvester Lloyd, of the Order of St. Francis, was trans- 
lated from the see of Killaloe to Waterford. Bishop Lloyd was author 
of a large catechetical work in English — -really a free translation of the 
great Catechism of Montpellier — printed at London in 1712. He was 



x. INTRODUCTION. 

also author of a smaller work of the same general character, in English 
and Irish. In 1744 Lloyd too had to leave the country, but, though 
in poor health, he soon returned. He died at Waterford in 1747 or 
the year following. 

Thomas Stritch, a native of Clonmel, was recommended by King 
James, and actually named by the Holy See, as Coadjutor to Dr. Lloyd 
and Bishop of Teia in parlibus, 1745. Stritch does not, however, appear 
to have been consecrated. Symptoms of insanity, it is said, manifested 
themselves and prevented consecration. 

Peter Creagh, Dean of Limerick, was next proposed for the Coad- 
jutorship. In 1736, when there was a vacancy in the see of Limerick, 
Dr. Creagh's was one of the three names forwarded to Rome, but he 
was then considered too young for episcopal responsibilities. He was 
nominated Bishop of Avaro in partibus and Coadjutor to Dr. Lloyd 
in 1745. On Dr. Lloyd's death the Coadjutor of course succeeded 
and during the whole term of his episcopate he continued to reside in 
Carrick-on-Suir. Probably he chose the latter place because of its central 
position and because it was a safer place for a bishop in those days 
than Waterford. Dr. Creagh took no part in public affairs but devoted 
himself zealously to the work of his office. Some years previous to his 
death he seems to have been in feeble health, for in 1770 he made appli- 
cation for a Coadjutor. He died in 1774 in the twenty-fourth year of 
his episcopacy, and was interred in old Carrickbeg parochial cemetery 
where his resting place is marked by a large table tomb bearing the 
following inscription: — "I.N.R.I. Hie jacet quod mortale erat 111" 1 ' 
et Rcv mi D.D. Petri Creagh Episcopi Waterfordiensis et Lismorensis. 
Oualis ille fuerit Triste sui desiderium Quod apud succcssorcm Clerum 
Populum Exteros, Domesticos fidci moriens reliquit mitissimus praesul 
vivis demonstrat, posteris testabit. Natus anno 1707 obiit pridie 
Idibus Februarii anni 1775 Episcopatus anno 30. Requiescat in Pace." 
It was Dr. Creagh, by the way, who established the Annual High 
Mass for the deceased Bishops and Priests of the diocese. His residence 
in Carrick still stands and every intelligent Carrick man can point it 
out as the quaint two-storey house adjoining Mrs. Dowley's grocery 
establishment in Main Street. Here that venerable prelate, who had 
guided his clergy in trying times and amid difficulties that few to-day 
can realise, met the angel of death and passed to his reward. 

Dr. William Egan, who had been Coadjutor Bishop since 1771, 
succeeded on the death of Bishop Creagh. He was a native of Waterford 
city where he first saw the light in 1726. His father was Luke Egan 
and his mother's maiden name was Fitzpatrick. At an early age he 
entered the Irish College of Seville where he finished his ecclesiastical studies 
and was ordained about 1750. He had but a few months returned to his 
native diocese when, in April, 1751, on the death of Father Hennessy, S.J., 
pastor of Clonmel, he was appointed to the vacant parish by the Society of 
St. Mary of Clonmel according to immemorial privilege. A Rev. William 
O'Donnell had, meantime, obtained a papal brief appointing himself. 
Both appealed to Rome, which replied in 1754 in favour of Father 
O'Donnell, on the ground that collation to a benefice falling vacant 
in April belonged to the Holy See. Father Egan however appealed again, 



INTRODUCTION. xi. 

and in view of the additional evidence which he adduced the decision 
of the preceding year was reversed and the right of St. Mary's Society 
recognised. At Father Egan's collation in Clonmel Rev. Darby Ryan, 
Parish Priest of Kilcash, and Rev. Francis Lane, of Carrick, were 
present. Probably it was memory of the hardship it had inflicted 
on himself that prompted the pastor of St. Mary's to pen a pamphlet 
in 1754 on the practice of papal appointments to Irish parishes. The 
pamphlet appeared anonymously and was entitled — "The case of Papal 
Months and Reservations particularly with regard to Ireland, fairly 
stated. By Romano-Hibernus. Printed in the year 1754." During 
his pastorate of Clonmel Dr. Egan built the present parochial house 
of St. Mary's. In 1771 he was named Coadjutor to the venerable Dr. 
Creagh and Bishop of Sura in partibus, and was consecrated privately 
at Taghmon, Co. Wexford, in the house of his brother-in-law. As Coad- 
jutor and Bishop of the diocese Dr. Egan continued to live in Clonmel. 
His lot was cast in troublous times. A spirit of lawlessness bordering 
on anarchy prevailed amongst the peasantry of the diocese. White- 
boys, levellers, and members of other secret societies undertook to redress 
wrongs and in redressing them they were the cause of greater evils than 
those they set out to remedy. Arson, bloodshed, murder, abduction, 
highway robbery and other outrages were events of every day 
occurrence, as anyone may see who reads through a file of newspapers 
of the period. The clergy, barely tolerated, or less, by the law, strove 
what they could to prevent outrages and preached respect for Law, 
but the ignorant and exasperated peasantry saw in the Law only an 
oppressor. The well meant efforts of the poor priest too often resulted 
in exposing their author to suspicion or perhaps to violence at the hands 
of desperadoes and nocturnal gangs. Rev. Nicholas Phelan's is a case 
in point. This priest was pastor of Kilcash, but he was forced by 
Whiteboys, whose deeds he had denounced, to fly for his life and to 
abandon his parish. During his career as Parish Priest and Bishop 
Dr. Egan, by his urbanity, gained the goodwill of the local gentry and of 
the Irish government. Perhaps his gentleness and amiability trenched on 
timidity. When one of his brother priests, the pastor of Clogheen, was 
taken on a capital charge the popular voice reproached the Parish Priest 
of Clonmel that he made no effort to save the priest. In the absence 
of documents and at this distance of time it is difficult for us to judge 
with accuracy that which puzzled contemporaries. Dr. Egan lived to 
see the erection of the present cathedra] which was built simply as a 
parisli church, and by the sole exertions of the Parish Priest, Rev. Thomas 
Hearn. On the death of Archbishop Butler in 1791 an effort was made 
to have Dr. Egan promoted to Cashel, but the Bishop himself vigorously 
resisted the attempt, with the result that Dr. Bray — resisting too to 
the very end — was appointed to the vacant see. Archbishop Bray 
was, by the way, closely connected with Waterford, his mother being 
a Power of Bawnfown, a near relative of Rev. Nicholas Sheehy and of the 
Countess of Blessington. Rev. Francis Power of Maynooth College was, 
it is of interest to note, of the same family and a first cousin to Dr. Bray. 
Bishop Egan died in July, 1796, and was buried in St. Mary's Church 
where his tomb bore the following inscription: "Hie sepultae sunt 



xii. INTRODUCTION. 

exuviae mortales Gulielmi Egan Waterlord. et Lismoren. episcop, Docti 
et illustris. Has unitas ecclesias Temporib, Tempest, solcrter prudenter 
firmitcrquc per annos 25 rexit, Obiit die 22 Julii A. D. 1796, aetatis 75." 
Dean Thomas Hearn, of Holy Trinity, presided over the diocese 
as Vicar-Capitular from July, 1796, to January of the following year, 
when Rev. Dr. Thomas Hussey, president of Maynooth College was 
appointed Bishop. In August, 1796, the clergy of Waterford and 
Lismore had sent a deputation of their number to the Archbishop and 
Bishops of the province, praying that a priest of the diocese might be 
appointed. Dr. Bra}' however postulated in favour of Dr. Hussey, 
alleging that the latter was much esteemed by the late Dr. Egan who 
had frequently spoken of Hussey as the priest best qualified to succeed 
him. Dr. Hussey had been chaplain to the Spanish embassy in London 
before his appointment to Maynooth, and was well known and highly 
esteemed by many British statesmen of the clay. In 1794 he had refused 
a Government gratuity of £1,000 for his services in negotiations with 
Spain. His letters to and from Edmund Burke will be found in the 
great statesman's correspondence as arranged and published in 1844 by 
Earl Fitzwilliam and Lieut. -General Sir Richard Bourke (London, 
Francis and John Rivington, 4 vols., 4to.) Dr. Hussey 's fearless pastorals 
and sermons thoroughly alarmed the Minister Bishops who feared that 
their confrere of Waterford would provoke the Government to harsh 
measures. The times they thought were inopportune for such daring 
avowals. As a matter of fact, as we know from Burke's corres- 
pondence, the Irish Government did take great offence at the 
Bishop's action. Dr. Hussey apparently did more than merely 
speak or write ; he assumed the outward marks of dignity becom- 
ing a bishop ; he lived too in a house and in a style superior to 
his predecessors. His residence on the Gracedicu Road, above the present 
Morley Terrace, still stands. Here however he lived only a few months ; 
he was obliged, owing to various circumstances, to live much abroad, 
the diocese in his absence being superintended by Dean Hearn. During 
the Bishop's absence his house was occupied by military from 1798 to 
1801, and for damage done he claimed compensation, but, it is probable, 
claimed in vain. Although Dr. Hussey's income was small — only £300 
a year, of which £50 came out of the parish of Clonmel — he managed 
to build and endow convents, almshouses, and schools. He encouraged 
Brother Edmond Ignatius Rice in his noble work, and introduced the first 
teaching orders of nuns into Waterford, and made Dungarvan a vicariate. 
An instance of the Bishop's fearlessness will bear recital here. A Catholic 
soldier in Clonmel was court-martialed for refusing to attend Protestant 
service. At that time to express sympathy with an unfortunate victim 
of military despotism was to risk one's liberty or life. Dr. Hussey 
proceeded straight to Clonmel, presented himself at the barracks there 
and demanded the soldier's release. The officer in charge insultingly 
refused the Bishop's demand and added he would horsewhip him through 
Clonmel were it not for his clerical coat. You, replied the Bishop, 
wear the coat of a brave man but it covers the heart of a coward ; only 
a coward could utter such a threat. "You shall not remain here, sir," 
furiously retorted the officer. "Nor the soldier, either," quietly added the 



INTRODUCTION. xiii. 

Bishop "for I shall report your conduct this day and obtain his release." 

He did report the whole case to the Duke of Portland and the soldier 

was liberated. Dr. Hussey had applied for a Coadjutor but before 

appointment of the latter the great Bishop died at Dunmore East, 

July 1 1th, 1803. He had bathed that morning as was his custom between 

five and six o'clock and while putting on the last of his clothes he was 

seized with a fit (probably, apoplectic) in which he died, without having 

recovered consciousness, at 9 o'clock. A tablet to his memory, within 

the Cathedral precincts, is inscribed : — 

D. O. M. 

Hie Jacent Sepultae Exuviae Mortales 

Revdendis. and Illustris. Dom. 

Thomae Hussey S.T.D. 

Qui per septem annos, 

Ecclesiam Waterfordiens. et Lismorens. 

&c, tS:c. 

On Dr. Hussey 's death Archbishop Bray strongly recommended 
Dr. Thomas Keating, of Dungarvan, to fill the vacant see. Rev. John 
Power, Parish Priest of St. John's, was however chosen and was con- 
secrated by Dr. Bray in 1804. By the way, both Bishops Bray and 
Power incurred censure by reason of omission of the professio fidei at 
the consecration ceremony and Father Connolly, O.P., agent to the Irish 
Bishops, under date March 30th, 1805, writes notifying their absolution 
therefrom. Dr. Power was a native of YVaterford and a distinguished 
student of Louvain. To him is due the formal foundation of St. John's 
College. He lived as Parish Priest and as Bishop in the old house in the 
Manor now occupied as the police station, and made both Holy Trinity 
and St. John's mensal parishes. He died January 17th, 1816, and is 
buried near the sacristy entrance to the cathedral, where the following 
inscription appears on his tombstone : — 

"Beneath this Slab are deposited the mortal Remains of the Right 
Rev d John Power, D.D. He was consecrated R.C. Bishop of the 
United Diocesses of YVaterford and Lismore on the 25th of April, 1804, 
and died on the 27th of January, 1816, being 51 Years of Age. 

He was a man of varied and profound literary acquirements. His 
piety was sincere and unaffected, and the numerous Institutions 
established by him to effect the moral improvement of his People, afford 
undoubted evidence of the Zeal and fidelity with which he discharged 
the duties of his High Office. 

During his Life he possessed the respect of All, and for his death 
there was an universal manifestation of regret by his fellow Citizens of 
every class and denomination. 

May He Rest in Peace. Amen." 

Dr. Robert Walsh, P.P., Dungarvan, succeeded, by brief dated 
July 4th, 1817. Before Dr. Hussey's death there had been question 
of appointing a Rev. Dr. Walsh as his Coadjutor, but whether that 
ecclesiastic be identical with the successor of Bishop Power there is 
nothing to show ; it is, on the whole, improbable that they are identical. 
The new Bishop though a man of absolute integrity and personal ex- 
cellence seems, unfortunately for himself and the diocese, to have rather 



xiv. INTRODUCTION. 

lacked clearness of view, judgment of character, and that firmness of 
purpose which in a crisis is so necessary for a Bishop. Accusations 
of inefficient administration were made and the Bishop found it necessary 
to defend himself before Propaganda. Certain it is, that, especially 
during the closing years of his episcopacy, there was much unrest in 
the diocese — innumerable complaints and many accusations, some of 
them manifestly extravagant. The source and fountain head of the 
trouble was the poor Bishop's patronage of a certain Parish Priest who 
had gained his confidence and basely abused it to Dr. Walsh's detriment 
and the peace of the diocese. Bishop Walsh died at Rome, October 1st, 
1821. 

Bishop Patrick Kelly, of Richmond, Virginia, United States of 
America, was translated to Waterford by brief dated February, 1822. 
When a Bishop dies in Rome appointment of his successor rests absolutely 
with the Holy See. As the late Bishop had died "in curia Romance" 
and as Propaganda had already, for good reasons, determined on the 
translation of Dr. Kelly from Richmond, the congregation intimated to 
the diocese through Rev. Garrett Connolly, V.G., that, if the clergy 
postulated for Dr. Kelly, the latter would be appointed. Dr. Kelly 
was a native of Kilkenny city ; he had studied in Lisbon and taught 
theology in Birchfield College. He governed the diocese of Waterford 
with much energy but, unfortunately, he was spared only seven years. 
During his episcopate took place in 1826 that memorable politico-religious 
struggle in Co. Waterford, known as "Stuart's Election," which had so 
palpable and immediate effect on Catholic Emancipation. Having 
lived to see Catholic Emancipation achieved the good Bishop died 
October 8th, 1829, and was buried in Holy Trinity Cathedral where his 
monument is inscribed :— "H.S.E., Revmus. Patritius Kelly Ecclesiae 
Waterford. et Li c morensis Episcopus quam cum per 8 circiter annos 
intcgerrime rexisset, obiit annum agens 52, VIII Id. Octobris MDCCC 
XXIX. Praesul antiquae prorsus fidei amore erga patriam, et singulari 
admodum religionis studio insignis Illustrissimo Patri ac desideratissimo 
moerens posuit Clerus populusque Waterfordiensis. R.I. P." 

Rev. William Abraham, president of St. John's College, Waterford, 
was, by brief dated January 23rd, 1830, appointed successor to Dr. Kelly. 
Dr. Abraham is claimed to have been a native of Glendine (Temple- 
michael) parish. He had studied in Maynooth. It is remarkable that 
Bishops Walsh, Kelly, and Abraham, who succeeded in the order named, 
should have held office for seven years each. Dr. Abraham died 
January 23rd, 1837, and was interred in the Cathedral, Waterford. 

Rev. Nicholas Foran, P.P., Dungarvan, was consecrated Bishop, 
August 24th, 1837. Dr. Foran, who was a native of Butlerstown parish, 
was ordained in 1808, after an exceptionally brilliant course at May- 
nooth. Six years later he was appointed president of the newly 
established college in Waterford. Later still he was offered and declined 
the presidency of Maynooth College, and the newly created Bishopric 
of Galway. He was appointed Parish Priest of Lismore in 1824 and 
translated to Dungarvan in 1828. During his pastorate of Dungarvan 
he erected, entirely out of his own resources, the fine schools of the 
Christian Brothers, which, on their completion, he presented to Brother 



INTRODUCTION. xv. 

Edmund Ignatius Rice. After a long episcopate he died rather suddenly 
in Dungarvan, May, 1855, and was buried in Waterford. 

Rev. Dominick O'Brien, P.P., St. Patrick's, Waterford, succeeded. 
Born in Waterford city, of which he, his father, and grandfather were 
freemen, he was educated in the Diocesan Seminary and, afterwards, 
at the Propaganda, Rome, where he took his degree of Doctor of Divinity. 
On his return to his native city Dr. O'Brien was first appointed chaplain 
to the Ursuline Convent and in 1826 he became professor in St. John's 
College, and in 1834 president of that establishment. Nineteen years 
later he was promoted to the pastorship of St. Patrick's which he held 
for less than two years, for he was appointed Bishop in 1855. During 
his episcopate Dr. O'Brien built the present St. John's College on John's 
Hill, and devoted to it all his private resources. In days long before 
the Gaelic Revival Dr. O'Brien was an enthusiastic patron of Irish 
scribes and a collector of Irish MSS. He died in 1873 and was buried 
in the Cathedral, 

Rev. John Power, P.P., SS. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel, was 
nominated Coadjutor to Dr. O'Brien, May 6th, 1873, but the Bishop 
died before Dr. Power's consecration, which took place, July 20th, 1873, 
at the hands of the Archbishop, Dr. Leahy, assisted by the Bishops of 
Cork and Cloyne. There were also present on the occasion the Bishops 
of Ross, Galway, Ossory, Killaloe, and Providence, U.S.A. Dr. Power 
was a native of Affane parish, Co. Waterford, and studied in St. John's 
College. In 1852 he became Parish Priest of Powerstown and was 
translated to SS. Peter and Paul's in 1866. He died in December, 1887, 
aged seventy-eight years, and was buried in the Cathedral at Waterford . 

Dr. Pierse Power, Coadjutor Bishop, succeeded. He was a native 
of Powerstown parish, Co. Tipperary, and studied at St. John's College 
and Maynooth. His course at Maynooth was so distinguished that on 
its completion, or, at least, while a member of the Dunboyne establish- 
ment, he was chosen to teach for a time the class of third vear's theology. 
On leaving Maynooth he was for some time attached as curate to St. 
Mary's parish. Clonmel. He became successively professor and president 
of St. John's College, Waterford, and, in 1881, Parish Priest of Dungarvan. 
Five years later he was nominated Coadjutor Bishop. He became 
Bishop of the diocese in 1887 and died in May, 1889, He was buried 
in the Cathedral. 

Rev. John Egan, a native of Killaloe, succeeded. His reign was 
also very brief. He died in 1891, deeply regretted by clergy and people, 
and was succeeded, in January, 1892, by Most Rev. Richard Alphonsus 
Sheehan. 

Reference will be found in the following pages and under the various 
parishes, to a certain early church sites or cills. These represent early 
Celtic cells or churches of the oratory type, and oratories are so called 
because it was at one time concluded from their diminutive size that 
these buddings were used by the primitive founder merely for his own 
private devotions. As a matter of fact they were the churches of the 
period — the sixth, seventh, and two succeeding centuries. The Irish 
oratory was generally of wood — a fact which accounts for the com- 
parative absence of survivals. Of the oratory proper there is only a 



xvi. INTRODUCTION. 

single example in the diocese ; this, St. Declan's at Ardmore, is of course 
of stone and it is not of the earliest, but rather of second early, type. 
Oratory, or early Celtic church, sites are generally found surrounded by 
a circular fence of earth. Where the fence has been demolished its 
outline can easily be traced by the practised eye. Probably nine out of 
every ten early church sites in the diocese are indicated by the circular 
fence or some trace of it. The subject of these early churches, 
which has hitherto received little or no attention, is one investigation 
of which is bound to throw much light on the discipline and 
practices of the early Church of Ireland. Exclusive of sites, like 
Clashmore, Ardmore, Killrossanty, Kilcash, &c, &c, which have 
been occupied by church buildings down to at least the sixteenth 
century, there are hundreds of church sites altogether unmarked by a 
church building or cemetery. In many cases nothing survives save 
tradition and an Irish name indicative of the place's sacred character. 
The sites are variously known as Kyles, Killeens, Killeenachs — names 
all derived from the Latin loan word, ciLL, a church. Occasionally they 
are known by names or paraphrases like t3e<\pn«.\ m\ ^P^c, significa- 
tive of burial. Even tradition of the sacred character of the place is 
sometimes lost. There is, however, a vague dread of meddling with 
the spot, which remains unfilled and untouched, perhaps in the middle 
of a tillage field ; still-born infants are interred there, and occasionally 
ogham inscribed stones, "stone chalices," Celtic inscriptions or other 
ecclesiastical objects have been found connected with it. 

All the churches of the diocese, with perhaps only two exceptions, 
scil., Waterford Cathedral and St. Patrick's, date, as regards their material 
structure, from the nineteenth century. The country churches from 
the preceding century which survived into the nineteenth, were of very 
inferior masonry and roofed with thatch ; they were consequently short 
lived. A wave of church building passed over the diocese during the 
first twelve years of the century and succeeding waves about the 
Emancipation period and in the early forties respectively. All the 
churches erected during the first half of the century were plain unam- 
bitious structures, cheap but solid, suited to the climate and to the 
circumstances of the congregations, and roomy enough to accommodate 
the then dense rural population. About the early sixties a revival of 
building set in, under the influence of which churches of greater arch- 
itectural pretensions arose. Gothic — generally the early variety — was 
then the prevailing fashion, and Tramore, Portlaw, Clogheen, the Nire, 
etc., are good examples of its application and result. The churches of 
the second half of the nineteenth century if artistically more beautiful 
than their predecessors of the first half and otherwise more ambitious 
are perhaps, on the whole, no better suited to the practical needs of a 
country congregation. 

During the earlier portion of the period reviewed in the following 
pages the clergy were continental trained. Owing to operation of the 
Penal Laws a seminary education at home was almost an impossibility. 
On the other hand the difficulty and expense of education beyond the 
seas was practically prohibitive except in the case of sons of the country 
gentry who had saved a little from the wreck, or of the wealthy merchant 



INTRODUCTION. xvii. 

class. Hence the majority of the missionary clergy were by birth 
men of good social position, whose foreign training in famous universities 
gave them a polish and a culture which seem almost misplaced in the 
circumstances of their after lives. In touch with foreign ideas and 
literature their eyes were turned to France and Spain and Italy : — ■ 
" The priests are on the ocean green, they inarch along the deep, 
There's wine from the Royal Pope upon the ocean green, 
And Spanish ale shall glad your heart, my Dark Kosaleen." 

This social status was often of service to the banned or hunted 
ecclesiastic, ensuring him perhaps a certain freedom from interference or 
betimes a refuge in a kinsman's mansion. Side by side with the con- 
tinental educated clergy there laboured priests who had never been 
inside the walls of a seminary, who had got their knowledge of classics in a 
hedge school and their theological training, such as it was, from some 
competent Parish Priest of the diocese, to whose tuition they had been 
committed by the Bishop or the Vicar-Apostolic. The training given 
was a poor substitute for the University Course at Louvain or Salamanca, 
but it was the best that could be done, and when the day of trial came the 
poor hedge taught ecclesiastic was not found wanting. Very frequently 
ordination in Ireland preceded the college course on the continent. The 
clergy were too few for the work ; few parishes had a second priest. 
When the Parish Priest became infirm he perhaps procured the services 
of a nephew or kinsman in the ministry who lived with him and helped, 
and with whom he shared his scanty income. When the pastor went to 
his reward the helper naturally became his successor. The fewness of 
the clergy and the want of schools made adequate Religious In- 
struction of the people an impossibility. Take as a typical example, 
the parish of Passage in the eighteenth century. The Catholic 
population was six thousand, spread over an area of about thirty 
square miles, and ministered to in the beginning of the century 
by a single priest and, later, by a Parish Priest and one curate. 
There were no regular schools, though there were a couple of un- 
trained and incompetent peripatetic teachers who, now in one locality, 
again in another, taught the rudiments to a few children of the more 
prosperous farmers. The poor pedagogue of the day was a teacher only 
betimes ; he kept school in the winter and, if not incapacitated by 
bodily infirmity, he turned farm labourer in summer. There were 
over one thousand Catholic families in the parish of whom considerably 
more than half were in such poverty that they were unable to make 
even the smallest offering towards support of the clergy or upkeep of 
the poor chapel. Parochial organisation there was none nor possibility 
of any. Sacraments were received but rarely, and then, with but the 
bare minimum of preparation. Only persons of the so called better classes 
were able to confess without aid. In such circumstances it is no wonder 
the ignorance of the people was appalling, no wonder there were out- 
bursts of savagery and brutal retaliation, no wonder disorder and riot 
were chronic. The clergy alone possessed any influence over the masses 
of the population ; they appreciated what the consequences of rebellion 
were for their poor people, but the latter maddened by oppression and 
wrong often broke from the control of the priest and occasionally for the 



xviii. INTRODUCTION. 

moment turned on him as the emeny, because he preached obedience and 
restraint. 

The present parishes of Waterford and Lismore are, as a rule, made 
up of a number of small ancient parishes and the present parish 
boundaries follow the lines of the ancient non-conterminous boundary 
of the group of ancient parishes forming the union. The modern parish 
of Ballylooby, for instance, is formed by the union of the old parishes of 
Whitechurch, Tubrid, and Tulloghortan ; its boundary is the outward 
i.e., non-conterminous boundary of the three. The present unions 
appear to have been mostly effected during the seventeenth century. 
Pluralising of benefices became a necessity owing to scarcity of priests, 
poverty of the people, and sequestration of church property. What 
was done through necessity in days of persecution has been since con- 
tinued. The ancient parishes, except those representing ancient bishop- 
rics and monastic parishes, were generally of small extent. Diminutive 
size is specially characteristic of the parishes of Waterford diocese ; 
the population was evidently more dense in that region, or perhaps the 
material resources were greater. The identity of modern with old 
parish boundaries is only a general rule ; there are many exceptions. 
In a few cases we have evidence when the change was effected ; to the 
period or occasion of the change in the majority of cases we have no 
clue. Parts of Ardmore, for instance, are now incorporated in Old Parish, 
Aglish, and Dungarvan. The object of this re-arrangement is obvious — 
convenience. Parts of the ancient parish stood isolated like islands 
in the sea of another parish. In the case of one particular isolated 
fragment of a parish re-arrangement was impossible, for the reason that 
the fragment in question is isolated not merely within another parish 
but within another diocese. This is the small part of Lismore diocese 
entirely isolated by the parishes of Ballyclerihan and Knockgraffon 
within the diocese of Cashel. This isolated area possessed for a while, 
in recent times, a church of its own — at Castleblake ; the most curious 
feature of this cut-off fragment of the diocese is that it was divided, 
and is still divided, between two parishes of Lismore — Mora and Inis- 
lounagh, now Powerstown and St. Mary's. The explanation of these 
isolated parish fragments is to be sought mainly in ancient civil topo- 
graphy and tribal history. 

Unfortunately the patrons or titulars of the diocesan churches 
have been largely forgotten. The popular "pattern" often helped to 
perpetuate the memory of the patronage. Transplantation, on the other 
hand, especially in Co. Tipperary, helped to obliterate ancient customs 
and memories ; in other cases the patterns, as being the occasion of glaring 
abuses, were suppressed generations ago, and so effectually that no memory 
of their date survives which would enable us to determine the ancient 
patronage. In recent times there has been an effort to amend rather 
than to abolish the"pattern." In Ireland the custom of allotting patrons 
to churches seems to have been introduced by the Normans. The Irish 
in Celtic times called their churches after their founders (e.g., Kilgob- 
inet, Kilbride), but evidence seems lacking that they had the idea of 
a formal titular or patron. In old Irish church names, therefore, we 
find simply the name of the founder incorporated with an Irish word 



INTRODUCTION. xix. 

for church or with some qualifying term as — "great," "small," "white," 
"of the yewtree," "of the hillock," &c, &c. The Normans appear to 
have rededicated (if the Irish naming can be regarded as a dedication) 
the churches in the majority of cases ; for instance, St Mochorog's at 
Ballygunner became St. Mary's, St. Otteran's at Killotteran became 
St. Peter's, and so on. In the confusion and uncertainty of the Penal 
times when hunted pastor and harassed people built a thatched and 
mud-walled chapel in some sequestered place they never dreamed of 
transferring the patronage from the parish church ; they expected, 
and the expectation did not die for a century, to see restoration some day 
of the old church and its endowments. When at last the successors of 
the thatched and mud-walled chapels came to be regarded as the parish 
churches with the parish burial grounds attached, the ancient patrons had 
been, in very many cases, forgotten. Occasionally too, while still remem- 
bered, the old were passed over in favour of new patrons. Apropos of 
titulars, it is curious to note how frequently in the Diocese the name 
of the Baptist occurs, also the Holy Cross, and Our Lady's Nativity ; 
there are fashions sometimes in devotions as in other things. 

Usage of centuries has made us all but forget that Waterford and 
Lismore were for hundreds of years, in reality as in name, independent 
dioceses with separate Bishops, chapters, and cathedrals. Indeed, 
although united since the fourteenth century, the two dioceses are still 
occasionally in the Catholic practice, and more frequently in Protestant 
usage, regarded as distinct. So perfect, however, has the amalgamation, 
five hundred years old, become that to-day it has obliterated all popular 
memory of the ancient co-teiminous boundary. 

At its northern end the boundary line in question commences at 
the mouth of the Clodiagh River, one mile or thereabout to the north- 
east of Portlaw ; thence the line follows up the Clodiagh stream to the 
meeting-place (just to rear of Portlaw Presbyterian Church), on its left 
bank, of the townlands of Coolfin and Ballvcahane. Coolfin lies on 
the east of the dividing line — therefore in Waterford diocese ; Bally- 
cahane, to west of the line, lies within Lismore. From the point just 
alluded to the line of division runs south — along the watercourse which 
passes a few yards to west of the Catholic church and cemetery, Portlaw, 
— and follows the co-terminous boundary of the two townlands mentioned 
till Glenhouse townland is struck. Our line next continues south, 
keeping Glenhouse, Lahardan, and Kilmogemogue on the east, and 
Ballycahane and Hackettstown on the west, till the south-west point 
of Kilmogemogue is reached, when it takes a sharp turn to the east 
along the south boundary of Kilmogemogue (with Ross and Kildermody 
on the south), crosses the railway line eight and a half miles from 
Waterford, and desists from its easterly trend only when the north-east 
point of Ballyduff West is reached. Hence, it runs in a direction generally 
south, with Carrickanure on west and West-Ballyduff and Coolagadden 
on east, till the Old Cork road is struck. Here the line turns again, 
keeps Amberhill on the north and Lower Knockaderry and Johns- 
town on the south till the north-east point of Johnstown is reached, 
Then there is another turn to the south ; the line continues along 
the east mearing of Johnstown, with the latter townland and 



xx. INTRODUCTION. 

Smoormore on west, and Amberhill and Raheens on the east, till the 
north-western angle of Ballycraddock townland is reached. From the 
north-western angle in question there is, next, another easterly sweep ; 
the line follows the northern boundary of Ballycraddock, with Raheens 
on the north, as far as the north-east point of the former townland. 
Henceforward the line is very regular and natural. From the point 
last mentioned it runs south, with Ballycraddock and Killone on one 
side and Loughdaheen on the other, to the southmost point of Lough- 
daheen townland and Lisnakill parish. Thence the boundary line hugs 
the Dunhill stream to the sea. 

Parishes touching the boundary line on west : Clonegam, Guil- 
cagh, Newcastle, and Dunhill. 

Parishes touching the boundary line on east : Kilmeadan, Lisnakill, 
Reiske, and Islandkeane. 

Modern frontier parishes, Waterford diocese : Portlaw, Ballyduff, 
Butlerstown, Fenor. 

Modern frontier parishes, Lismore diocese : Portlaw, Ballyduff, 
Dunhill. 



Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad, and 
Garranbane. 



THE ecclesiastical division so named is really composed of three 
ancient parishes, or rather, of one ancient parish and portions 
of two others. The whole parish included is Clonea (in two 
parts) and the two part parishes are Dungarvan and Kilgobinet. 
Clonea is not named at all in the list of parishes having pastors in 
1704, and it is I believe the only parish of the Diocese so omitted. 
From the omission we are, presumably, to conclude that it was attended 
from Dungarvan. At what period the portion of Dungarvan (the 
Abbey or east side of the Colligan) was united to Clonea there is no 
evidence to show, but the Garranbane portion of Kilgobinet was added 
in 1862. 

Garranbane Church was built in 1807 ; it is cruciform in plan. 
Ballinroad Church, also cruciform, was erected in 1804. Abbeyside 
Church, a plain rectangle in plan, was built in 1832-4. Improvements 
were carried out in 1892 by Mr. Denis Creedon, Fermoy, after designs 
by Mr. Ashlin, architect. These consisted in Gothic ceiling of church 
and vestry, &c, &c. 

The population of the parish in 1894 was 2,007, of whom 1,963 were 
Catholics. Baptisms number about thirty-seven annually. There was 
a mission in 1891 given by the Redemptorist Fathers, and a retreat 
in 1892 by the same Order. A retreat also was given in Ballinroad in 
1893 by the Rev. John Maclaughlin. 

The Patron of Abbeyside is St. Augustine, whose feast is celebrated 
here with solemnity on 28th August. The Patron of Garranbane is 
St. Vincent de Paul, in whose honour there are special devotions on his 
festival day, 19th July. 

There are six National Schools, all under clerical management, viz. : 
male and female schools at Abbeyside and Garranbane, and mixed 
schools at Garrynageeragh and Ballynacourty. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Rev. J. Roche was Parish Priest in 1801. He appears to have been 
translated to Aglish about 1808. 

Rev. Michael Keating ; he died in 1820. 



Rev. Michael O'Brien ; translated to Knockanore in 1828. 

Rev Patrick O'Donnell ; translated to Ballylooby in 1830 or 
following year. 

Rev John Shanahan, after a pastorate of twenty-two years died 
in January, 1853, aged 71. 

Rev. Thomas O'Meara ; appointed in February, 1853 ; translated 
to Newcastle in 1860. 

Rev. Maurice O'Gorman ; died in 1861. 

Rev. Michael O'Donnell ; died February, 1868. A brother of his 
died Parish Priest of St. Lawrence O'Toole's, Dublin, and another 
brother was Parish Priest of Dalkey. 

Rev. Michael Maxey succeeded Father O'Donnell in 1868 ; he died 
May, 1878. 

Rev. Thomas Hannigan, appointed May, 1878 ; translated to 
Powerstown, Dec, 1881. 

Rev. Richard Dunphy, appointed Dec, 1881 ; translated to Tour- 
aneena in 1892. 

Rev. Pierce Coffey, appointed March, 1892 ; transferred to Tramore 
in 1895. 

Rev. John Power, appointed 1895 ; transferred to Carrick-on- 
Suir, 1898. 

Rev. William Oueally, appointed in 1898 ; resigned after a pastorate 
of six months. 

Rev. Patrick Walsh, appointed 1898 ; translated to Ardmore, 1900. 

Rev. Patrick Byrne, appointed in succession to Father Walsh. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

In Abbeyside are the ruins of an Augustinian Priory whence the 
place derives its name. Adjacent to the monastic ruin is a large ruined 
castle which belonged to the Magraths, and, along with some adjacent 
lands, was given by them to the friars. This Priory was founded 
in the 13th century by Donald Magrath ; it was patronised by the 
Earls of Desmond, and endowed partly by the Magraths and partly 
by the O'Briens of Commeragh. Of the Abbey buildings proper only 
portion of the Monastic Church survives. 

Within the present parish are three more than ordinarily interesting 
old cemeteries — Abbeyside (attached to the parish church), Clonea and 
Kilminnin ("My Finnian's Church") ; there are also interesting church 
remains at Abbeyside and Clonea, besides sites of early (Celtic) churches 
at Kilgrovan (with ogham inscriptions), Kilineen ("Loinin's Church") 
and Knockyoolahan. On the townland of Gurteen is a remarkable Holy 



Well, marked "St. Gehan's Well" on the Ordnance Map. This ordnance 
name is very misleading ; the real name is Cob^p "6u\-hAoine i.e. 
Friday Well. This is situated at the bottom of a lawn adjoining Glendine 
House. The well was formerly in high repute and even still "rounds" 
are sometimes made — especially on Fridays and Sundays ; it is com- 
posed of two circular basins, ten feet apart, and each about five feet 
in diameter. The more easterly basin is accounted the "real" well 



Parish of Aglish and Ballinameela. 



The parish popularly named as above is more properly — Aglish, 
Whitechurch, and Kilmolash. As at present constituted it includes 
likewise a small portion of Affane and Ardmore. We find Aglish and 
Whitechurch united — probably, with the additions of Kilmolash and 
part of Ardmore as above — as early as the beginning of the 18th century 
(1704) when Terence Sheehy, residing at Ballingown and aged 54 years, 
was Parish Priest. The parish of Clashmore was, at the same period, 
under Father Sheehy's pastoral charge. The present division is one 
of the three or four most extensive parishes of the Diocese ; it has three 
churches — Aglish, Ballinameela, and Mount Stuart. Mount Stuart, or 
Toor, the last mentioned, is however only a Chapel-of-Ease and was 
erected shortly after 1826 by Lord Stuart of Decies for the accommodation 
of his mountain tenantry. 

In 1826 took place the famous Stuart's Election which resulted 
in the return to Parliament of an advocate of Catholic Emancipation 
in the person of Henry Villiers Stuart of Dromana. The election was 
fought with heroic determination by bishop and priests, and (especially) 
by the poor Catholic people against all the despotic power and influence 
and all the wealth and resources of the house of Beresford. The priests 
and people won and Catholic Emancipation followed but the cost to the 
County Waterford was terrible. Hundreds were evicted and saw their 
cabins levelled in the name of Law for exercising tha right which that 
law gave them — to vote according to their consciences. Mr. Stuart, 
subsequent to his victory, married a Catholic lady and, upon succession 
to his father's title as Lord Stuart of Decies, had Mass celebrated every 
Sunday and holyday in his mansion at Dromana, paying a stipend of 
£50 per annum to the clergy of Aglish for their services. This arrange- 
ment continued long after the deaths of Lord and Lady Stuart — in fact 
till 1892, when the Parish Priest with approbation of the Bishop, with- 
drew from it in order that a second Mass might be said on alternate 
Sundays in Aglish and Ballinameela. 

The present Church of Aglish was built by Rev. John O'Meara in 
1856 ; it took the place of a much smaller church on the same site. 
The present church is a large commodious structure, without any pre- 
tensions to architectural beauty. The builder and contractor was a 
Mr. Sheehan, of the parish of Modeligo ; presumably there was no 



architect. It should afford accommodation for about 800 people. It is 
most probable that its graveyard has been used for interments ever since 
the erection of the old chapel. There are not, however, any old inscrip- 
tions ; there are no inscriptions even to commemorate the memory of 
the good priests who laboured in this portion of the Lord's vineyard 
before the beginning of the present century. It is to be feared that at 
the erection of the present church, any tombstones, which came in the 
way of the builder, received rough treatment. Even the flag which 
points out the spot where the ashes of Father Roche lie, is half covered 
by the sanctuary railing. Flags bearing inscriptions, which are now 
illegible, have been put down at the entrance, to serve as threshold 
stones. 

The present Church of Ballinameela, commenced but left un- 
finished by Father Moran towards the close of the 18th century, 
stands where before it stood a small thatched chapel. It is a serviceable 
cruciform structure capable of seating about eight hundred people, and, 
although one hundred years old, it shows no sign of decay. One of the 
chalices bears the following inscription: — "Donum Edmi C ashman paroc. 
albi templi. Orate pro io (sic) 1749." In the attached graveyard is a 
tombstone : — "Sacred to the memory of the Revd. Martin Phelan, R.C.C. 
Unaffected piety and unwearied zeal in promoting the glory of God and 
the salvation of the souls committed to his care, distinguished the short 
period of his labors in the vineyard of his Lord. After a tedious illness, 
which he bore with exemplary resignation, he resigned his soul into the 
hands of his Maker on the 4th of July, A.D., 1829. in the 34th year of 
his age, amidst the regret of all who knew his worth. Requiescat in 
pace. Amen." From reference to the Baptismal Register, it appears, 
Father Phelan was curate of the parish, of which also he was a native. 

About half a mile from the village of Aglish is, or rather was till 
recently, a Franciscan Convent. At what period the Franciscans arrived 
here it is impossible to say. It is, however, probable that they came 
immediately upon their expulsion from Youghal, or at least when they 
could stay no longer in the latter place. Most probably the migration 
took place in the time of Father Archdekin mentioned below. There is 
preserved in the Franciscan Friary of Cork a small silver chalice bearing 
Father Archdekin 's name and an inscription to the effect that it was made 
by him for the Convent of Friars Minors of Youghal. This chalice was 
taken possession of by Rev. Dr. Hally, V.G., on the death of Father 
Lonergan in 1862 and presented by him to the Presentation Convent 
of Youghal which stands on site of the ancient Franciscan House. There 
was usually only one friar in residence but occasionally there were two. 
In a return made in 1801 by Bishop Hussey to Lord Castlereagh it is 



stated there was a house of Franciscans with two subjects at Curraheen. 

The little oratory was open to the public on Sunday for Mass. The 

last Friar was the Rev. P. D. Lonergan, who died in 1862, and was buried 

in the old graveyard of Aglish. The people still remember him ; many 

of them attended his funeral, and some of the men often served Mass 

for him. It was he who built the present "Friary," surrendered by the 

Superiors of the Order after his death. The conferences of the Dun- 

garvan Deanery were held here for a long period. A recumbent and 

inscribed flagstone in Aglish graveyard marks the last resting place of 

the fraternity and commemorates some of the members : — 

"Anno Domini 1766 

me fieri fecit f. Bath. Archdekin. 

Jesus, Maria S. Francis 

Here lieth ye body of ye Rev. Father 

McCarthy a Franciscan who died ye 22 

September .... 

Requiescat in pace. Amen. 

Also the Body of the Rev. Bnt. Cody 

who died May 10 1739 Aged 84 years." 

Since 1841 the Catholic population of the parish has decreased by 
more than fifty per cent. In 1834 there were 7,001 souls and in 1890 
but 3,012; no doubt there has been some further reduction during 
the last twenty-two years. There are, altogether, eight schools — three 
male, three female, and two mixed, and all under the National Board 
and clerical management. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Rev. Terence Sheehy, as we have seen, was Parish Priest in 1704. 
The next pastor of whom we have any account is a Father Fraher who is 
said to have been Parish Priest of Dungarvan before his translation to 
Aglish ; then come in succession Rev. Dr. White, Father Fitzgerald, and 
Rev. William Moran. The last named was alive in 1801, when he had 
Rev. Robert Prcndcrgast as curate. Rev. J. Roche, who resided at 
Coolahest, was Parish Priest in 1808 and died in 1840. A monumental 
slab marks his last resting place within the present church of Aglish. 
During the term of his pastorate he had in succession the following 
curates or quasi-curates : Revs. Michael O'Brien, D. Morrissey, J. Hickey, 
J. Brown, P. Ronayne, J. Walsh, James O'Brien, P. O'Kearney, Michael 
O'Keefe, Patrick De Courcey, John Walsh, Thomas Boyle, O.S.F., 



M. Phelan, D. Quinlan, Michael Larkin, W. Wall, J. Curran, Thomas 
Burke, R. Murphy, Michael Clancy, and Michael O'Connor. Father 
Lonergan, O.S.F., also occasionally performed parochial duties. 

Rev. John O'Meara became Parish Priest in 1840. He had 
been curate in Tallow and St. John's, Waterford. During his curacy 
of St. John's he had taken an active part in " Stuart's Election." 
He built the present church of Aglish in 1856 and died September 7th, 
1870. Father O'Meara was a man of considerable intellectual attain- 
ments and a zealous and devoted pastor. During the thirty years of his 
pastorate he had as assistants for periods varying from one year to ten: — 
Revs. D. Quinlan, Michael Power (he was half brother to Bishop Pierse 
Power), John Lenihan, Patrick Walsh (he died curate in Ardmore), 
Thomas Walsh (brother to the last) David Morrissey, J. Hickey (who 
retired and was placed on the Sick Fund), P. Wallace, G. Power, John 
Shanahan (he died Parish Priest of Ardmore), and P. Trcacy. Upon 
Rev. J. O'Meara's death in 1870, Rev. Garrett Long was translated from 
the pastorate of Clashmore to Aglish. Father Long, a very excellent 
priest and a man of much force of character, survived till 1890 when he 
was succeeded by Rev. Wm. Sheehy who, four years later, was trans- 
ferred to Dungarvan. From 1870 to 1894 the following curates were 
for varying periods attached to the parish : Rev. Thomas Walsh, above- 
mentioned (who became later Parish Priest of Knockanore), Matthew- 
Walsh (died, Parish Priest of Aglish), Pierce Coffey (later, Parish Priest 
of Abbeyside and, later still, of Tramore), Pierce Walsh (died Parish 
Priest of Kilgobinet), Michael Casey (died Parish Priest of Killrossenty), 
P. Lonergan (later, Parish Priest of Knockanore), J. Cremens, &c. 

On Rev. Wm. Sheehy's translation to Dungarvan in 1894, Rev. 
Matthew Walsh succeeded. Unfortunately (for he was a very earnest 
missionary, a good catechist, and an excellent Irish preacher) his reign 
was very short ; he died in 1899 and was succeeded by Rev. Tobias 
Burke, translated from the pastorate of Kilgobinet. During Father 
Burke's incumbency new clergy houses for the two curates have been 
erected at Aglish and Ballinamcela respectively. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

Aglish (e..v5U\ir-), from the Latin ecclesia, signifies "church." 
The present Aglish was called (e.g. in the Taxations) "1L\ ngjXl (of 
the foreigners)," to distinguish it from other places of similar name ; it 
is also popularly known as e^st-Aip iu\ n'Oeir'e.vc ("Aglish of the Dccies") 
to distinguish it from a second Aglish in an adjoining barony and parish. 
The ancient ruined church, close to the village of Aglish, is extremely 



interesting ; interest mainly centres around the early east window 
which is practically uninjured and Celtic, or rather — Hiberno- 
Romanesque, in character. The window is broken up by a beautiful 
and regular gritstone mullion into two round-headed opes. A large 
graveyard still extensively used surrounds the ruined church. Within 
the latter, and scattered through the cemetery, are a few monuments 
and inscriptions worth examination. Foremost amongst the former is the 
upper portion — that is, the arms, head, and part of the shaft — of a small 
ancient stone cross ; this will be found within the ruin, while close 
to it is an octagonal holy water stoup of sandstone. In the graveyard 
stand three diminutive headstones curiously inscribed with a scries of 
peculiar geometrical figures. There are two similarly inscribed stones 
in the old cemetery of Grange, near Ardmore. The writer has seen these 
inscriptions claimed as ogham and he has heard a noted Irish philologist 
suggest that they are in some form of oriental characters. He himself 
however is presumptuous enough to maintain that they arc nothing 
more than the results of rude attempts at ornamentation — the handiwork 
of some local stonecutter or stonemason of probably the late 18th century. 

Among the ecclesiastical antiquities must be included three or more 
Holy Wells, viz. : — at Ballykenncdy (Dromore), Curraghroche, and Wood- 
house. Of these the Curraghroche well, known as St. Columbcille's, is still 
occasionally resorted to. Fifty years ago its fame attracted multitudes. 

Another ruined church within the parish is Kilmolash, on the bank of 
the Finisk river. The patron here is not Molaise of Devenish but a less 
known individual of like name (Molaise "of Cill Molaise in Deisi — 
Mumban") whom the Martyrology of Donegal commemorates under 
January 17th. This ruin is of much more than ordinary interest as it 
illustrates several architectural styles and periods. 

In addition to the church ruins enumerated there are early church 
sites and traces (rather than remains) at Ballingowan, Canty, Keereen, 
Kilcloher, Kilmogibog, Kiltire, Moneyvroe, and Shanakill. Kilcloher 
was the site of a religious establishment or cell alluded to in the Life of 
St. Carthage. Here the Saint tarried some time on his way to Lismore. 
At Kiltire ("Tire's Church"), within the circular church enclosure, stand 
three ogham inscribed pillar stones. 

At Bewley, within the present parish bounds but quite close to them, 
are the very scant remains of a supposed house of the Knights Templars. 
Neither Ware nor Archdall, Allemand nor De Burgo makes any mention 
of Bewley. Its name is generally regarded at Norman French — Beau Lieu 
or "fair place," but it is certainly Irish — from X)esl (a "mouth" or 
"opening"), as local pronunciation of Irish speakers will prove. There 
are practically no materials for the history of this house and the 



architectural remains arc almost as unsatisfactory or non-existent as 
the materials aforesaid. A single gable, probably the east end of the 
church, is practically all that survives ; this is pierced by an ivy 
covered ope. Half buried in a mound formed of debris from the fallen 
building is a holy water stoup. 

At Knockmoan, near the castle of that name, but at the opposite 
side of the road, are the remains of a comparatively late church which 
appears to have been domestic and would, most probably, have been 
connected with the castle. 



Parish of 
Ardfinnan, Grange, and Ballybacon. 



This modern ecclesiastical division really embraces six ancient parishes 
scil : — Ardfinnan, Ballybacon, Derrygrath, Neddins, Rochestown, and 
Tullaghmelan. Of these six. two — Neddins and Rochestown — are 
each in two parts, separated by the River Suir. With the exception of 
Ardfinnan the names of all appear to be non-ecclesiastical. Ardfinnan 
derives its name from St. Finian, the Leper, who, it is claimed, founded 
a church here in the 7th century. No traces of this early church survive 
but a series of grass grown mounds on the hill top mark the site of a 
once considerable ecclesiastical establishment. 

The present church of Ardfinnan was erected in 1838 on a part of 
the Commonage appropriated for the purpose ; the first Mass in the new 
church was said on January 6th, 1839. It was intended as a chapel- 
of-ease for residents of Ardfinnan village and neighbourhood who 
otherwise should walk on Sundays to Ballybacon or to Grange. The 
church itself, of quadrangular plan, is a rather poor building and suggests 
makeshift and hasty erection. 

Ballybacon Church is only a few years older than Ardfinnan. It 
replaced a thatched chapel of the 18th century which occupied the same 
site, and was allowed to stand till the shell of the present fabric was 
completed around and over it. The present is a very serviceable building 
— of a type characteristic of the Emancipation period — plain, substantial, 
commodious, and easily cleaned. Forty perches or so from the modern 
church, and at the opposite side of the road, are the remains of the pre- 
Rcformation parish church, early English in character. The name 
Ballybacon is of purely secular origin, scil. : — tKMte Ui jDe.AC.4in 
("O'Peakin's or O'Beakin's, Homestead") and is not shared by the 
parish with any townland. It should be added that the actual date of 
erection of Ballybacon is 1830, and the builder, Rev. Pierce Walsh, P.P. 

Emancipation and the hope of it gave an immense impetus to 
church building in the first half of the 19th century. Rev. Pierse Walsh 
had only just completed the fine church of Grange in 1829 when he 
set about building at Ballybacon. Grange Church like Ballybacon 
was erected on site of and over and outside its thatched predecessor 
which was minus a sacristy. The church of Grange serves the two 
ancient parishes of Tullaghmelan and Derrygrath, in each of which is 
an interesting pre-reformation church ruin and an ancient cemetery. 



Derrygrath ruin has a beautiful transitional chancel arch. Unfortunately 
only the nave of the once sacred edifice survives. Within the demolished 
chancel is the burial place of the Kcatings of the historian's line. 
Although it is the local belief that Maolan was the founder of Tullagh- 
melan ("Maolan's Height") the latter name does not appear to be 
ecclesiastical. An effigy in stone preserved in the ruined wall is 
supposed to be Maolan's. It is possibly, a carved corbel or piece of 
chancel arch ornament from a pre-existing Hiberno-Romanesquc 
Church. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

In the beginning of the 18th century the present Ardfinnan, Bally- 
bacon, and Grange was divided into three distinct parishes. William 
Hurru (? Hearn) residing at Ardfinnan was registered in 1704 as Parish 
Priest of "Ardfinanc, Ballypekane, and Neddane," while Denis Fogarty 
was Parish Priest of Cahir, Deregrath, Rochestown, and Mortlestown, 
and resided at Knockagh. Again, Gerard Prendergast residing at 
Garranavilla, was Parish Priest of Tullaghmelan. Rev. Nicholas Mulcahy 
was Parish Priest of Ardfinnan half a century earlier and was hanged by 
Cromwell from a tree before his own door. Rev. John Doyle, D.D., was 
Parish Priest of Ardfinnan in 1762, for in that year, on June 16th, he, 
together with Rev. Nicholas Sheeny of Shanrahan and Father Daniel 
of Cahir, was presented by the Grand Jury at the Clonmel Assizes as 
an unregistered popish priest. He died May 27th, 1773, and lies buried 
in Ardfinnan (old churchyard) where an inscribed tombstone marks his 
resting place. 

Rev. Thomas Burke succeeded and died November 8th. 1794, 
aged 57 years. His grave stone is to be seen in Ballybacon old cemetery. 

Rev. David Farrell presumably came next in succession ; at any 
rate, he died Parish Priest of Ardfinnan in February, 1816, and was 
buried in Tubrid. Tubrid was at a slightly earlier period, and possibly 
continued till this time, a favourite burial place of the clergy. Even 
the Archbishop of Cashel desired that he should be interred there. 
Rev. David Farrell was probably a brother to Rev. Edmund Farrell 
who died in 1787 and to whose memory there is an inscribed headstone 
in Tubrid, and possibly both were brothers or relatives of the James 
Farrell who was hanged in Clogheen in 1766 — paying with his life for his 
temerity in giving evidence in behalf of Rev. Nicholas Sheehy. 

Rev. Piersc Walsh, a native of the parish, succeeded. He was 
translated thither from Ardmore, and during his incumbency, as we 
have seen, built the present churches of Ballybacon and Grange. In 
his time also was erected the present church of Ardfinnan. I say in 



12 

his time rather than by him, for the church of Ardfinnan was erected by 
the parishioners on their own initiative and, I believe, with only the 
reluctant assent of the Parish Priest. Rev. Pierse Walsh died December 
21st, 1844, aged 74 years, and was buried in Ballybacon Church where 
a mural tablet marks his grave. 

Rev. James O'Connor came next in succession. His pastorate 
was of nine years' duration ; he died in Carrick-on-Suir towards the 
close of 1851 and lies buried in Grange without a monument or other 
memorial to mark his resting place. 

Rev. Michael Burke was the next pastor. He died while com- 
paratively young (at the age of 52 years) on February 25th, 1857, and 
was laid to rest within Ballybacon Church where may be seen a tablet 
to his memory. 

Rev. Walter Cantwell whose name and memory are still treasured 
throughout the length and breadth of this extensive parish, succeeded 
Father Burke. He came to Ardfinnan from Tramore where, for many 
years, he had been curate to his uncle. His long pastorate of twenty-six 
years was signalised by uncommon zeal. His solid preaching and 
edifying life are still producing fruit in the vineyard that once he tilled. 
He died March 19th, 1883, and was laid to rest in Grange in the place 
indicated by a mural tablet to his memory. 

Rev. Cornelius J. Flavin became Parish Priest in 1883, the year 
of his predecessor's death, and, after eight years' vigorous work, was 
transferred (in 1891) to St. Mary's, Clonmel. 

To Father Flavin immediately succeeded Rev. William J. Phelan 
who had been a chaplain in Waterford from his ordination to 1891. He 
died suddenly at a conference in Clonmel, October 22nd, 1902. During 
Father Phelan 's pastorate were built two semi-detached residences for 
the curates, in Ardfinnan village. 

Father Phelan's place was filled, by the appointment thereto in 
November, 1902, of Rev. William Sheehy, D.D., President of St. John's 
College, Waterford. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
Foremost amongst the ancient church remains of the parish is 
Lady Abbey, within a mile of Ardfinnan village. This was apparently 
a Carmelite house although there is no reference to it in the ordinary 
authorities. The existing remains are practically confined to portion 
of the monastic church. This latter was of small size and is divided 
into nave and choir with a square tower over the chancel arch. The 
early decorated east window seems to postulate for this foundation, 
at any rate for erection of the church, a fourteenth century date. 



13 

There are pre-Reformation parish church ruins — at Ballybacon, Derry- 
grath, and Tullaghmelan as already stated. In addition there are 
insignificant remains of the ancient parish churches of Rochestown 
and Neddins. The Rochestown ruin is still surrounded by its 
cemetery — very ill kept and bramble overgrown. In connexion with 
Rochestown and Neddins it is to be noted that both parishes were 
bisected by the Suir ; the two parts of Neddins maintained however 
a quasi-connexion by a river ford, while Rochestown was furnished 
with a second church — in the transfluminal portion of the parish. The 
western portion aforesaid was at some subsequent period cut off and 
added to Tubrid, for we find it under the latter head in the Down Survey, 
or, at any rate, in the Ordnance Survey. Besides the ruined churches 
enumerated there are many early church sites throughout the parish, scil.: 
at Ardnnnan, Ballindoney, Kilmalogue (C. trio Liu\j), Killaidamec 
(C. Aitvoe Tnrr3e), Kilballygorman, Kildanoge (C. "Ootrmois), Kilmaneen 
(C. mo fingin), Lodge (C. tn\ bftWiO&An), and Kilmurray (C. liluipe) 
and the list does not profess to be complete. 

Among the noted places in the parish is Lodge, where lived, in 
the house still standing, Edmund Sheehy known locally as Buck Sheehy, 
who was legally murdered in 1766 for his temerity in appearing as a 
witness on behalf of his cousin, Rev. Nicholas Sheehy. Edmund Sheehy 
was grandfather on his mother's side to the gorgeous Countess of 
Blessington. At Clocully was possibly held in 1677, under Archbishop 
Brenan, the famous Synod commonly credited to Curraghkiely, Co. 
Waterford. Cardinal Moran prints the name of the place Clockeily, a 
form more likely to equate with Clocully than with Curraghkiely. 
The question could probably be settled by a reference to the original 
document. Clocully, at any rate, where there is the site of a small 
castle, was a general meeting place of the clergy at this very period 
as may be proved by a number of sworn depositions in connexion with 
the Titus Oates plot. On the other hand there is nothing to show or 
even render probable that Curraghkiely was a likely place for an assem- 
blage of ecclesiastics. Through the whole length of this parish for some 
twelve miles runs the legendary Rian Bo Phadraig or Track of St. 
Patrick's Cow, an ancient roadway connecting Cashel with Lismore 
and the latter with Ardmore. (See Journal oj the Royal Society of 
Antiquaries, vol. xv, fifth series, p. 110). Amongst the altar plate of 
the parish is a small hexagonal-based chalice inscribed : — "Gulielmus 
McCarty de Clocully Medicus et uxor Anastasia me fieri fecerunt. 
Anno Domini, 1717." In possession of Mr. John S. Mulcahy, Neddins, 
is a second ancient chalice inscribed: — "Pray for the soul of Nicholas 
Blakefite Peters, who died 19th of June. 1686." 



Parish of Ardmore and Grange. 



Ecclesiastically the district embraced within this parish is one of 
the most historic localities in Ireland. Here, according to many 
authorities, St. Declan established himself as bishop some years previous 
to the advent of St. Patrick. The question of St. Declan's exact period 
is one of the great unsettled problems of early Irish church history, into 
which it is not our business now to enter. Most probably it will be found, 
when the materials have been more critically examined and their evidence 
sifted, that Declan's mission was more or less independent of Patrick's 
and of Welsh origin or inspiration. Whether Declan was really pre- 
decessor, cotemporary, or successor of the National Apostle his period was 
undoubtedly very early. His Irish "Life" preserved in a MS. of Michael 
O'Clery's in the Royal Library, Brussels, attributes to Declan the con- 
version of South Decies. On the other hand there is no evidence that 
St. Patrick ever entered the latter territory. The annals throw but 
little light on the succession of Bishops at Ardmore. Ultan is commonly 
stated to have succeeded Declan. One Eugene was Bishop of Ardmore 
in 1174, under which date his name is found as subscribing witness to 
a charter granted to the Abbey of Cork. Finally Moelettrim O Duibhe- 
Rathra, Bishop of Ardmore, is recorded in the Annals of Inisfallen to 
have died in 1203. It is to this Bishop Moelettrim that we owe the 
erection or restoration of the cathedral now in ruins and most probably 
the ruined church known as Disert-Declain. St. Declan's Oratory in 
the graveyard certainly antedates by centuries the two buildings referred 
to, and even the Round Tower, though one of the very latest specimens 
of its class, is probably a century or two older than the cathedral. The 
Feast of St. Declan is still celebrated with much solemnity at Ardmore 
on July 14th. At the request of Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan and at the 
instigation of a late Parish Priest, Rev. John Walsh, the Holy See has 
attached a Plenary Indulgence on the usual conditions to church and 
feast. There is an immense influx of pilgrims on the Feast Day and on 
the Sunday nearest to the 14th. In 1847 it is estimated the number 
present was fourteen thousand, and in 1894 it had fallen to five thousand. 
The present churches of the parish were erected by Rev. Patrick 
McGrath during his pastorate, scil. : Ardmore in 1837 and Grange 
in 1837. Both buildings are of the plain, spacious, and substantial 
type, characteristic of country churches of the second quarter of last 
century. The builder of both churches was Mr. Mullany of Cahir. 



15 

The dimensions of the Ardmore Church are — length 88 ft., width 3U ft., 
and the corresponding dimensions of the church of Grange are 97 by 
32J ft. In the latter church is a marble altar consecrated on Septem- 
ber 7th, 1890, by Most Rev. Dr. Egan. 

Up to the year 1847 Ballymacart or Old Parish was united with 
Ardmore and Grange, but in the year named a re-arrangement was 
effected, Old Parish being cut off and attached to Ring. Before the 
division the population of the parish was eight thousand. At present 
it is about two thousand ; in 1892 it stood at two thousand two hundred 
and twenty. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. Richard Power, residing at Russinns (Rusheens), was registered 
Parish Priest of "Ardmore, Lisguenane, and Kinsalebegg" in 1704. 
He was then aged 56 years and had been ordained in Spain. Rev. 
Philip O'Hahassey was (on authority of an Irish MS.) Parish Priest 
in 1765. 

The next pastor of whom we have account is Rev. Walter Moloney, 
who was Parish Priest of Ardmore and Grange towards the close of 
the 18th century. He resided at a farmhouse in Ballyeelinan. 

In succession to Father Moloney came Rev. Pierce Walsh who was 
translated in 1816 to Ardfmnan and Grange (see under Ardfinnan Parish). 
His immediate successor was Rev. Michael Tobin ; he too was trans- 
lated (in 1836) to Cahir, where he built the spacious church which is 
still in use. 

Rev. Patrick McGrath succeeded in 1836. During his pastorate 
were erected the churches of Ardmore, Grange, and Old Parish as we 
have already seen. He was a man of unassuming piety and wonderful 
energy and was esteemed and loved by his people. Like his two 
immediate predecessors he was translated to another pastorate — Bally- 
looby. This transfer took place at the close of 1846 and during the 
vacancy Old Parish was cut off as above described. 

Rev. Garrett Prendergast, whose practical sympathy with the 
poor famine stricken people is still a living memory, was appointed 
Parish Priest in the miserable year 1847. During the "bad times" he 
distributed food on Sundays to two hundred persons. He was spared 
only ten years — dying in 1857, and lies buried in Ardmore Church 
where his tombstone bears the following inscription: — "Rev. Garret 
Prendergast, P.P., Ardmore and Grange ; died January 2nd, 1857." 

The Rev. Patrick Wall was appointed Parish Priest of Ardmore 
and Grange in the year 1857. He governed the parish with great prudence 



16 

and energy for eighteen years, and built a National School, which was 
afterwards swept away by the encroaching sea. He also furnished 
the churches of Ardmore and Grange, which were mere shells at his 
appointment ; on account of the great poverty of the people nothing 
could be done to furnish them by his predecessor, Father Prendergast. 
Father Wall died in 1875 and was buried in the church of Ardmore, 
and to his memory the people erected by subscription a side altar of 
marble dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. A slab inserted beside 
the memorial altar is inscribed: "Pray for the soul of Rev. Patrick 
Wall, P.P., to whose memory this altar was erected by the parishioners 
of Ardmore and Grange." 

The Rev. John Shanahan succeeded to the pastorship in 1875 and. 
during his time, he built the present National Schools of Ardmore. After 
successful administration of the parish for nine years he died, possessed 
of only two or three shillings, on the 11th March, 1884, and was buried 
in Ardmore Church. His monument, within the church at Ardmore, 
is inscribed : — "Pray for the soul of the Rev. John Shanahan, P.P. of 
Ardmore and Grange ; died 11th March, 1884, aged 68 years." 

Rev. John Walsh was appointed Parish Priest in March, 1884, 
and took up his residence at Ballyquin House. He was an effective 
Irish preacher and his homely but withal forceful exhortations will be 
long remembered in Ardmore and Grange. Father Walsh was killed 
by a fall from his horse while returning from attendance at a sick call, 
in 1901. 

Rev. Patrick Walsh, a native of the parish, next succeeded, being 
translated from Abbeyside. He administered the affairs of the parish 
with prudence and zeal for five years and died in 1906. His end came 
unexpectedly like his predecessor's ; he was found dead on the floor 
of his sitting room and had been seen in perfect health an hour or two 
previously. 

Rev. John Casey was appointed to the pastorate on the death of 
Father Walsh and resigned four years later to accept the pastoral 
charge of Passage and Killea. During Father Casey's brief term he 
erected a fine parochial residence. He had as curate Rev. John O'Shea 
who, on a winter's day in 1911, performed an act of heroism which 
attracted widespread notice and was specially honoured by the King. 
A ship was driven into Ardmore Bay by the gale and when it had struck, 
while the waves were breaking over it, Father O'Shea got together a 
crew, launched a boat and at imminent peril boarded the ship only to 
find that all aboard had perished save a single seaman who too succumbed 
before the gallant rescuers were able to get him ashore. 

Father Casey was succeeded in 1911, by Rev. John O'Donnell. 



17 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

The antiquities of the parish are of surpassing interest ; some of 
them have been already alluded to. At Ardmore itself are the ruins 
of three churches, a perfect round tower, a famous holy well, some ogham 
inscriptions, a boulder popularly called St. Dcclan's Stone and another 
stone that seems to have been the pedestal of a Celtic cross. Of the 
three churches the most important is the Cathedral, consisting of a 
Romanesque nave and a Celtic cyclopean choir joined by a transitional 
chancel arch. The external face of the west gable is broken up into 
a series of arcades and panels, filled with sculptured figures of the style 
familiar to students of the Celtic crosses. The second church, sometimes 
called St. Declan's grave, to east of the cathedral is really a primitive 
oratory, the only example of that class of building surviving in the 
Diocese. On the edge of the cliff, half a mile from the cathedral and 
tower, is the third church. This was erected, probably by Bishop 
Moelettrim already alluded to, on the site of a little cell built here 
for himself by the great founder of Ardmore in his last years. In 
this cell which, says the Saint's "Life," he loved very much St. Declan 
breathed his last, consoled by the ministrations of his disciple Moliach 
or Liach. "St. Declan's Stone," lying on the beach a few perches 
to east of the village, is a rough boulder of conglomerate resting on two 
slight projections of rock. Wonderful virtues are attributed thereto, 
and on the Saint's feast day hosts of pilgrims from far and near 
resort to it. The 12th century, "Life" thus chronicles Declan's connex- 
ion with the stone : as the Saint was on his way homewards from Rome he 
paid a somewhat lengthened visit to his friend, St. David, in the latter's 
city of Menevia. When the visitor was about to embark for Erin one 
of his miuntir, Luan, by name, handed the Saint's bell to a brother monk 
with the intention that the latter should see it safely on board the ship. 
In the hurry of embarkation however the monk forgot the bell which 
he had temporarily placed on a rock by the shore. It was not till half 
the voyage across the Irish Sea had been completed that the bell was 
remembered. Declan was exceedingly grieved and troubled at the 
loss. He had recourse to prayer and soon the stone supporting the 
precious bell was seen floating towards them on the waves. Thereupon 
the Saint directed his companions to steer in the wake of the floating 
rock, for wherever, he declared, the boulder should come to land there 
he should build his city and there should be the place of his resurrection. 
The boulder, which is the subject of the foregoing legend, is to be dis- 
tinguished from another stone of St. Declan— the ""Duo DeAjUin," for 
which curative powers were also claimed and a heavenly origin. The 
latter object was of small size — only a few inches square — and was 

c 



18 

last heard of, some fifty years ago, in Dungarvan. Its subsequent fate 
I have been unable to trace. In the grounds of Monea House, Ardmore, 
is a dressed block of limestone, known as Ctoc a "OatA, in which 
Marcus Kcane and other fanciful people see an object once connected 
with Phallic or other pagan worship. This is apparently the plinth of 
an ancient cross and the mortise for reception of the shaft came, in a 
later and less reverent age, to be used as a dye bath — hence the modern 
name. Allusion to the cross suggests the observation that in the parish 
are places called, respectively, Crossford (in Irish, At tu Cpoife) and 
Cpoip Aotja (Aodh's Cross) — so named, presumably, from Termon crosses 
marking the limits of St. Declan's sanctuary lands. On the townland 
of the same name stand the rather insignificant remains of the ancient 
church of Grange, called also Lisginan. The remains in question consist 
of portion of the north and south side walls and a moiety of gable of 
a plain early English church. In the graveyard attached are a stunted 
ogham-inscribed pillar stone and two diminutive headstones curiously 
inscribed with a series of peculiar geometric figures of similar character 
to those alluded to under Aglish. Other ecclesiastical antiquities of 
the parish are a holy well (CobAp iia mtKvn RiagAtca) on the townland 
of Ballylane, and primitive church sites at Grallagh and Kilnockan 
respectively. 



Parish of Ballyduff. 



This parish is of quite recent formation as a independent pastorate. 
Up to the year 1866 it was portion of Lismore. On the death of 
Rev. Dr. Fogarty in the year named, Ballyduff became a separate parish 
with the Rev. David Power as its first pastor. The latter had been 
successively curate in Carrick-on-Suir, Touraneena, and Trinity Without 
and was a man of extraordinary energy and rare ability. During his 
time as curate in Touraneena he built the pretty church of the Holy 
Cross at Nire, and the present schools and teacher's residence at 
Touraneena. During the four years of his pastoral charge of Ballyduff 
he built a very handsome schoolhouse in a remote corner of the parish 
adjoining Ballyporeen. His death took place in the month of June, 
1870. 

Ballyduff is approximately the ancient parish of Mocollop, which 
latter seems to have been absorbed into, or united with, Lismore at a 
very early period. At the end of the 16th century, temp. Bishop Miler 
Magrath, for instance, the boundary line between Lismore and 
Mocollop had been forgotten. The patronage of the parish is uncertain; 
there was, twenty years ago, a faint recollection that, about seventy 
years previously, the feast of St. Michael the Archangel was observed 
by the celebration of Holy Mass in the church. In a remote corner 
of the parish there is a holy well called St. Michael's to which 
multitudes from the counties of Limerick, Cork, and Tipperary resorted 
on pilgrimage. The "pattern" took place on September 29th. In 
course of time crying abuses crept in, so as to make it necessary for 
the Very Rev. Dr. Fogarty, the Parish Priest, to interfere and interdict 
the carnival. The well is called Tubbemahiilla or the "Well of the 
Penitential Station," and the townland bears the same name. Ol.\ 
is literally "oil" but in a secondary sense if signifies a place or 
station for penance. 

Within the parish there are four schools, scil. : — male and female 
National Schools at Ballyduff, and male and female National Schools 
at Ballyheafy. There is but one church in the parish — affording 
accommodation also to some parishioners of the neighbouring parishes 
of Kilworth, Castlelyons, and Conna in the Diocese of Cloyne ; and 
of Tallow and Lismore in Waterford. The church was built about one 



20 

hundred years ago, during the pastorate of the Rev. Edmond Wall, 
Parish Priest, Lismore and Ballyduff. It is cruciform in plan, and since 
its renovation presents exteriorly a very good appearance — the facade 
being much admired. The plans for the renovation were given by 
Walter Doolin, Esq., Architect-.- — Mr.-- Newstead was the contractor. 
In 1894 a very successful effort was made to beautify the church 
interiorly. The Parochial Committee entered into a contract with 
Messrs. Murray & Sons, Youghal, for the following, viz. : — A porch 
and organ gallery, forty benches to seat church, communion rail, also 
barriers between nave and transepts, vvainscotting of nave and erection 
of two confessionals. A sanctuary lamp was presented at the same 
time by the Parish Priest. 

The only graveyard in use is the old cemetery attached to the 
Protestant Church at Mocollop, about which there is hardly anything 
of interest. A schoolhouse endowed by Colonel Hillier of Mocollop 
Castle stood till recently at the entrance to the graveyard. Here 
practically all the pupils were Catholics and the priests had free access 
at all times to the school. It was the last survival in the Diocese of 
the old half-subsidised, half-pension schools which preceded National 
Education. 

The population of the parish is between eighteen and nineteen 
hundred. The baptisms are only about thirty-four annually. A 
mission was given in the parish by the Franciscans, Killarney, in 1886, 
and another by the Passionists in 1892. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The first Parish Priest of the newly constituted parish was, as 
we have seen, Rev. David Power, appointed in October, 1866. Father 
Power was succeeded, in 1870, by the Rev. Patrick Slattery, who had 
been many years connected with the parish as curate of Lismore, and 
had a thorough knowledge of the people and their customs, &c. About 
four years before his death, scil.. in November, 1890, he resigned the 
parish, when the Rev. John Casey was appointed Adm., and so 
continued till death of the pastor on the 21st February, 1894. Rev. 
P. Slattery bequeathed a sum of nearly £116 to the church to be 
expended on improvements. 

Rev. Michael Power succeeded Father Slattery and was transferred 
in 1896 to Ballyneale. 

Rev. David O'Connor became Parish Priest, April, 1896. In April, 
1901, Father O'Connor was transferred to Ballylooby after he had 
completed negotiations for erection of new schools at Ballyduff. 



21 

Rev. Edmund Meagher was inducted Parish Priest in April, 1901. 
His short and uneventful pastorate terminated in February of the 
following year by his translation to Kilsheelan. 

Rev. David O'Connor, now in failing health, was re-transferred to 
Ballydurf in February, 1902. By the close of 1902, Father O'Connor's 
malady had increased so that it was necessary to appoint an Adminis- 
trator. Rev. James B. Coghlan was appointed and continued in office 
from November, 1902, to October, 1903, when Father O'Connor died. 

Rev. John Moran was appointed to the vacant pastorate in Novem- 
ber, 1903, and continued Parish Priest till his death, July, 1912. During 
Father Moran's administration there was erected an excellent curate's 
residence at a cost of £800. 

Rev. Thomas Condon succeeded, Jul}*, 1912. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
As greater porion of the parish is mountain, till recently unoccupied, 
there are few traces or remains of early ecclesiastical settlement. There 
are Holy Wells at Tubbernahulla above-mentioned, at Ballyheafy 
(€otK\n 1K\oriit.i), and at Tobber. The latter, called "lobar Mochuda," 
is of considerable depth and is situated on a hill top. In addition 
there are two early church sites on the townlands of Garrison and 
Tobber respectively ; the former/known as " Cill Breac," has a circular 
enclosing fence and within the latter, beside St. Carthage's Holy Well 
just alluded to, stood till sixty years ago a rude and ancient stone 
altar. Hardly any remains of the ancient church of Mocollop, in the 
cemetery of the same name, survive. 



Parish of Ballylooby and Tubrid. 



This modern ecclesiastical division includes the ancient parishes 
of Whitechurch, Tubrid, and Tullaghorton and extends from summit of 
the Galtees on the north to summit of uie Knockmaeldown range on 
the south. Tubrid, one of the parishes comprised in the union, is 
remarkable as the place of Dr. Geoffrey Keating's pastoral labours and 
trials. Here the historian ministered as vicar or curate to the Franciscan 
Father Eugene O 'Duffy. O 'Duffy and Keating sleep together in the 
little mortuary chapel which, notwithstanding the troubles of the times, 
they built at Tubrid. The parish has at present two churches — at 
Ballylooby and Dunhill respectively, and three schools, viz. : a mixed 
National School at Duhill, otherwise Castlegrace, and male and female 
National Schools at Ballylooby. 

The present church of Ballylooby was built in 1813 by 
Father Burke, and is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin and St. 
Kieran. The old church ran east and west, that is, nearly 
at right angles to direction of the present church. Ground being 
limited for erection of the new church it became necessary to pur- 
chase an extra twenty-six perches of land from one Patrick Burke, 
at a compensation of £60 per acre. When the church was built Burke 
would not give up possession of the land ; he actually erected a wall 
within the church so as to cut away the portion of the building standing 
on the land purchased from him, alleging that he had not been fully 
paid for the ground. As a matter of fact the amount specified had been 
given him. Writs were served on the members of committee for trespass 
beyond the boundary wall. This state of things continued for three 
or four years, when the matter was finally settled by arbitration. The 
Burkes carried this animosity so far as to throw stones at the people 
going to Mass. A short time afterwards there did not remain a single 
member of the Burke family in the parish. The last (surnamed the 
Barrister) was found dead in a quarry. Duhill Church, which is situated 
about two miles from Clogheen, is stated to have been built by Rev. 
Patrick O'Donnell about the year 1828. Father O'Donnell however 
does not seem to have become Parish Priest before 1830. 

At a Mission given by the Redemptorists in August, 1900, Father 
O'Gorman established in the parish the Association of the Sacred Heart. 
Father Foran had, before that, established the League of the Cross, and 
the Society of the Living Rosary. 



23 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Father Eugene O'Duffy, a Franciscan, was vicar of Tubrid in 1644. 
He was author of a biting satire in Irish on the Apostate Miler Magrath. 
A literal translation of this production was published in 1864 by the 
late John Davis White of Cashel. 

Rev. William English died Parish Priest of Tubrid in 1669. From 
his will, in the Record Office, Dublin, it appears that in latter half of 
the 17th century Tubrid was a favourite burial place of the clergy. 
Archbishop Brenan, of Cashel, a most distinguished prelate and a Con- 
fessor of the Faith, desired also to be interred beside Dr. Keating in 
the Tubrid Cemetery. 

Rev. William English, II. was registered as Parish Priest of 
"Tubrid, Tullahortan, and Whitcchurch" in 1704. He was then sixty 
years of age, and resided at "Knockcananby" (Knockan-buidhe, one 
of the sub-divisions of Knockan townland). 

Rev. M. Condon, of whom we know nothing further, died Parish 
Priest in 1779. Rev. John Hearn was Pastor in 1802. 

The Father Burke, already alluded to as builder of Ballylooby 
Church, was probably the immediate successor of Father Hearn ; he 
died in 1822. Rev. Timothy Flannery seems to have succeeded. He was 
foster brothei to Rev. Dr. Flannery, V.G., and died probably in 1830. 

Rev. Patrick O'Donnell succeeded. He is said to have erected 
the church of Duhill ; lie died 1846. In a list before the writer the 
names of Fathers Fitzgerald and Condon, who are stated to have been 
Parish Priests, appear between 1822 and 1846. 

Rev. P. McGrath, translated from Ardmore, succeeded Father 
O'Donnell. He was again translated in 1846 from Ballylooby to Cahir 

Rev. Stephen Lonergan received induction in 1846 and lived till 
1873. when he was succeeded by Rev. John O'Donnell who himself 
died in 1874. 

Rev. Robert Foran promoted from the Administratorship of St. 
John's was appointed Parish Priest in 1874. He was a nephew of Most 
Rev. Dr. Foran and a priest of great piety and profound humility. He 
died in 1893. Rev. Richard O'Gorman succeeded, and lived till 1901. 
During his incumbency a new curate's residence on an admirable site 
was erected at a cost of about £800. Father O'Gorman was succeeded 
by his former curate, Rev. David O'Connor, translated from Ballyduff. 
Father O'Connor induced the parishioners to purchase the present 
parochial house from the representatives of Father O'Gorman. Thus 
he made it altogether parochial property, whereas, up to that time, 
each incoming Parish Priest had to buy the house from the representa- 
tives of his predecessor. For the purchase of the house Father O 'Connor 



24 

raised £500 in the bank, and this added to the debt due for the curate's 
house, made altogether a charge on the parish of £674 10s. The last 
instalment of this debt was paid off in November, 1906. About £90 
was also paid for furniture of curate's house. Father O'Connor was 
re-transferred at his own wish to Ballyduff in the next year and Rev. 
Richard Mocklcr was appointed his successor. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The Mortuary Chapel erected by Rev. Dr. Keating and Father 

Duffy has already been alluded to; only the roofless walls survive. 
The site of the ancient parish church is occupied by a modern Protestant 
Church now disused or used but seldom. Over the door of the Mortuary 
Chapel is a slab bearing the following inscription : — 

Maria. 

1 I— I S %4 I— R 
orate, pro Aiab9 p. Eugenij : miliy vie. de Tybrud : et d. Doct. GalF. 
hearing hui9 sacelli FundaToru : necno ex pro oib9 alijs Ta sacerd. ouam 
Laicis quoru corpa. in eod. jaceT sa A° Doni 1644. 

Relieved of contractions the foregoing inscription is expressed : — 

"Orate pro Animabus Patris Eugenii Duhy, Vicarii de Tybrud, et 
Domini Doctoris Galfridii Keating, hujus sacelli Fundatorum ; nee non 
et pro omnibus aliis, Tarn saccrdotibus quam Laicis, quorum corpora in 
eodem jacent saccllo. Anno Domini 1644." 

[Pray for the souls of Father Eugenius Duhy, Vicar of Tybrud, 
and of Geoffrey Keating, D.D., Founders of this Chapel ; and also for all 
others, both Priests and Laics whose Bodies lie in the same Chapel. 
In the year of our Lord 1644.] 

On Keating the following epitaph also has been written : 
In one urn in Tybrud, hid from mortal eye, 
A poet, prophet, and a priest doth lie ; 
All these, and more than in one man could be, 
Cocentered were in famous Jeoffry. 

Although the name and fame of Dr. Geoffry Keating are well and 
widely known in connection with his history of Ireland, and the romantic 
and almost insuperable difficulties under which it was written, whilst 
the author was an outlaw in the woods of "dark Aherlow," strange to 
say scarcely anything is known traditionally of him in the parish of 
his birth and of his missionary labours. The house in which he resided 
with his mother still stands in a good state of preservation and is a 
comfortable farmstead in possession of a family named Cahill. It is 



25 

situated in the townland of Burgess, about a mile from the old church 
at Tubrid. Young Keating evincing a disposition for the priesthood 
at an early age found his way, like many others of his young 
fellow-countrymen of similar predilection, to the famous College of 
Bordeaux. Here he pursued his studies with zeal and assiduity for 
a period of twenty-three years when he received his ordination to the 
Sacred Ministry, and had conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity. On his return home, after an absence of twenty-four years, he 
was received with great respect and cead mile juilte by all classes. Fame 
of his eloquence and learning spread far and wide and crowds flocked 
to hear him from all parts of the surrounding country and the neighbour- 
ing towns of Clonmel, Cashel, &c. Among others, says the Editor of 
" Clanricardc's Memoirs," came a gentleman's wife, whom common fame 
reported to be too familiar with the Lord President of Minister. ' ' The 
preacher's discourse was on the sin of adultery, and the eyes of the whole 
congregation being on the lady she was in great confusion, and imagining 
that the doctor had preached that sermon on purpose to insult her she 
made loud complaint to the president, who was so enraged that he gave 
orders for Keating's apprehension, intending to punish him with all 
the vigour of the law." Before the soldiers reached his house the good 
priest, however, warned by his friends, had fled for safety over the' 
Galtee Mountains, which lie on the northern side of Tubrid, into the 
Glen of Aherlow, that before and since was the refuge of the rebel and 
the outlaw. In these days of religious freedom, that a priest should 
be compelled to fly for his life at the behest of an immoral brute for 
simply discharging a solemn duty of his sacred office, impressing upon 
his flock the enormity of a most loathsome and grievous sin and its 
certain evil consequences, is not without interest as affording a glimpse 
of the fierce persecution to which a zealous pastor was liable to be sub- 
jected, even in what was regarded as a time of modified penal laws. 
That Dr. Keating had contemplated writing his history of Ireland for 
some time previously may be inferred from the fact that his labours 
were indefatigable in collecting from all sides the necessary materials 
for his work. The manuscripts which would throw light on his subject 
were the property of individuals, and it often required much address 
and persuasion to induce them to part with such treasures even for a 
brief period ; added to this was the difficulty of finding out in the first 
instance where such MSS. were to be found, but his great enthusiasm 
enabled him to overcome all these difficulties. To his hiding place in 
the woods of Aherlow, Dr. Keating had the materials conveyed to him 
that he had been collecting for years, and surrounded and aided only 
by those time-stained parchments, he completed his great work and 



26 

gave to his countrymen, his well-known and important History of Ireland, 
written in his native language and completed about 1625. The work 
begins at the earliest period and extends to the Anglo-Norman invasion. 
Dr. Keating 's writings prove him to have been a ripe scholar, a graceful 
poet, a skilled writer in Latin and Irish, and a patient enthusiast in 
the collection and study of the annals and bardic works of his country. 

Adjacent to the Tubrid Cemetery is a noted holy well, sacred to 
St. Kieran, whose name we find, along with reference to this well, in both 
the Irish and Latin Lives of St. Dcclan. According to the lives in question 
it was with the waters of this well that the future Saint of Tubrid was 
regenerated through ministry of the Apostle of Decies. There is also 
a holy well, now dried up, at Kilcoran, and another (St. John's) on the 
south boundary of Magherareagh. Exclusive of the remains at Tubrid 
there are four mined churches in the parish, scil. : — Tullahortan, other- 
wise Castlegrace (considerable remains), Whitechurch (considerable 
remains), Ballydrenan (in fair preservation), Burgess (insignificant 
remains). With regard to Ballydrenan it is to be observed that this 
church formerly belonged to Rochestown, that ancient parish being 
cut in two parts by the Suir. In course of time two churches — one on 
either side of the river — were built and, later on, the western portion 
(beyond the river) was merged in the present Tubrid parish. The 
church ruin of Burgess is, or was, known to the Shcanachies of the locality 
as CeAtnpuL bum "Oe^g^m. The Irish martyrologies give two 
saints named Dagan, but there is nothing to indicate which of them, 
if either, is here commemorated. 

There are also early (Celtic) church sites at Kilcoran (St. Cuaran 
the Wise), Killinure (Cat An 1ub«Mf), Kilgainey (Cat j^inntie) on 
the townland of Kilroe, Killballyboy (C. X)Mle Ui t)uit>e), and Bally- 
laffan (tUile &t\ LocAin). 



Parish of Ballyneal and Grangemockler. 



The modern parish comprises the medieval parishes of Kilmurray. 
Ardcollum, Moclaire or Grangemoclaire, Templcmichael, and Garron- 
gibbon. There are two churches — one at Ballyneal and the other 
at Grangemockler, otherwise Muillionagloch. The present church of 
Ballyneal was erected in 1840 by Rev. P. Morrissey on the site of an 
older church built half a century before. There is no evidence before 
the writer to show when the church of Grangemockler was built ; it 
was however re-roofed and practically re-edified by Rev. Michael Power, 
Parish Priest, in 1897, at a cost of over £2,000. Rev. C. Flavin while 
curate in the parish procured the erection of a parochial hall, attached 
to the church, at Grangemockler. 

There arc four National Schools — two (male and female) at Bally- 
neal and two (male and female, also), at Grangemockler. 

Amongst distinguished ecclesiastics born in the parish or connected 
therewith may be named Most Rev. Dr. McCabc, formerly Bishop of 
Ardagh, who was educated at a classical school in Grangemockler, and 
Right Rev. Dr. Maher, first Bishop of Port Augusta, South Australia. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The registered Parish Priest in 17(14 was Rev. William Boulger, 
who was then aged 57 years, and resided at Bleanaleen in the parish of 
Garrangibbon. 

The next in succession, of whom we have record, is a Father 
Brunnock, who resided at Ballinacluna and was a native of the parish. 
Father Brunnock 's mother was a Cleary, and both the Brunnock and 
Cleary families are still represented in the parish. The latter family, 
by the way, has given a succession of priests to the church for quite two 
hundred years. Father Brunnock 's term of office was very brief ; he 
was appointed in 1780 and died the following year. 

A Rev. Nicholas Whelan stated to have been formerly Parish 
Priest of Ballyneal died at Carrick, June 19th, 1797. He may have 
been Father Brunnock 's immediate successor. Apparently he had 
ceased active missionary work some time previous to his death ; he was 
buried by charitable subscription. 



28 

Father Darcy is given as the next Parish Priest, and is stated to 
have been appointed in 1781, a statement which the present writer 
confesses himself unable to reconcile with the alleged pastorate of Rev. 
N. Whelan, as above. Father Darcy built a new church at Ballyneal ; 
the church had hitherto been at Curraghadobbin. The account given 
of Father Darcy is unsatisfactory and puzzling. One is driven to suspect 
there is some confusion of him with a Rev. Mr. Darcy at that same 
time Parish Priest of Carrick-on-Suir. The alleged Father Darcy of 
Ballyneal is stated to have died in 1790, and the Rev. Mr. Darcy of 
Carrick certainly died that year. 

Rev. Thomas O'Connor succeeded. He lived at Templemichael 
where he built a residence still standing and now occupied by Mr. Jas. 
Cahill. Rev. Mr. Ryan was appointed coadjutor to Father O'Connor 
in 1809 and afterwards succeeded him as Parish Priest, dying himself 
in 1824. 

Rev. P. Morrissey comes next in succession. His long pastorate 
concluded with his death in 1864. He it was who erected the present 
church of Ballyneal in 1840. 

Rev. John Dee succeeded in January, 1865. He died in 1886 
and was succeeded by Rev. Robert Power, Adm., Waterford. 

Father Power died in 1895 and had for successor Rev. Edmond Foran, 
transferred to Ballyneal from the pastorate of Ring. Father Foran 
lived only eleven months from his induction, and was succeeded by 
Rev. Michael Power, translated thither from Ballyduff. Since Rev. 
M. Power's appointment he has, as we have already seen, renovated 
the church of Grangemockler, besides decorating and improving Bally- 
neal Church at a cost of £800. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
Under this head come no fewer than seven ruined churches, scil. : — 
Grangemockler (east gable and portions of side walls), Templemichael 
(scarcely any remains), Garrangibbon (insignificant ruins), Kilmurray 
(considerable remains of comparatively large church), Curraghdobbin 
(scant remains), Macrcary (scant and unprotected remains of what — 
judging from its fine ashlar masonry — looks like a late Celtic Church), 
and Dovehill (very ruinous and neglected). In Kilmurray graveyard 
a 17th century grave slab bears the following legend, decipherable now 
only with difficulty :— " Hie Jacet gencrosi Conju[ges Conjstantinus 
Neale et Honora Purcel de Ballyneale. Ille obyt 12 Mart, 1629 : ilia 
4 Mart . . . quoru filius et haeres D. Joannes Neale ejusque uxor 
Honora Walsh pro sc suisque hereditari jure pro posteris hoc monumen- 



29 

turn extruxcrunt Apr. 9, 16 . . . Orato pro aetr. victorious ejus." 
There are also, in the parish, a couple of semi-sacred wells, viz. : — CofoAp 
iia CAitife (Chalice Well) on Curraghdobbin, and Cotn\p p.vojuMg ("St. 
Patrick's Well") on Garrangibbon, as well as early church sites (inde- 
pendent of the later churches) on the townlands of Curraghdobbin and 
Grangemockler. Templemichael Church by side of the Lingaun Stream 
probably marks the site of the " Ford of the Chariots" of Celtic hagiology 
and early civil history. Local seanachies aver that the road leading 
north from the ancient cemetery is the way by which St. Patrick travelled, 
and this tradition is almost certainly a faint echo of the former import- 
ance of the place. 



30 



Parish of Ballyporeen. 



Like Ballydnff, antea, this is a parish of comparatively late formation. 
There was indeed a corresponding pre-reformation parish of Temple- 
tenny but this had for years been merged in or united with 
Shanrahan. The early 18th century church of the parish was at Carrig- 
vistcale where its foundations are still traceable. On completion of the 
church of Burncourt, or shortly afterwards — in 1810 according to one 
account and 1816 according to another — Ballyporeen, alias Temple- 
tenny, alias Carrigvistealc, was created a separate pastorate with Rev. 
Peter Sexton as first Parish Priest. The thatched chapel of Carrig- 
visteale continued in use as the only church of the parish down to 1828, 
when the present commodious church of Ballyporeen was erected. 
The parish, notwithstanding its largely mountain character, has suffered 
less proportionately by emigration, &c, than many of its neighbour 
parishes more generously dowered by nature. The population in 1841 
was 4,877, in 1894 it was 3,157. A branch Convent of Sisters of Mercy 
to take charge of the female National School, was established in 
Ballyporeen in 1887, towards foundation of which, Mr. Thomas Fogarty 
donated a sum of £500. There are four National Schools in the parish, 
two (male and female) at Ballyporeen, and two (male and female) at 
Skeheenarinky. The two latter are under lay management. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. James Holane residing at Carrigvisteale and aged seventy-two 
was Parish Priest of Templetenny in 1704. 

Rev. Peter Sexton appointed Parish Priest in 1810 or 1816, resigned 
in 1828 and died in retirement at Tallow some years later. Rev. Patrick 
Burke succeeded and administered the affairs of the parish till his death 
in 1847. Under him the present church was erected in 1828 as already 
stated. Rev. Patrick De Burke, who had conducted a private school 
in Clonmel, became Parish Priest in 1847 and held office till his death 
twenty years later; he proclaimed himself an enemy to the Irish 
Language, the use of which he vigorously combatted. He was 
immediately succeeded by yet another of the De Burgo stock, Rev. 
Michael Burke, who survived only eight years from appointment. Then 



31 

came Rev. Patrick Delaney, D.D., formerly president of St. John's 
College, Waterford, who, after a nineteen years reign, was in 1894 
translated to Kilsheelan and succeeded by Rev. Thomas Walsh. Father 
Walsh died in 1903 and had as successor Rev. John Everard, transferred 
a few years later to Clogheen. Rev. Patrick Keating succeeded in 1910. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The only items to be catalogued under this head are the rather 
featureless and uninteresting church ruin of Templetenny (Ce^mpuLt 
Ctunne, i.e. "Church of the Swamp," in evident allusion to its position 
on an island of dry land in what must have been anciently a marsh), 
a holy well (CotiAipin "OorhtiAis) at Curraleigh and early church sites at 
Kiltankin ("Taincin's Church"), and Sheheenarinky (CiU-rfuc-C>\ir-in). 
To the foregoing must of course be added the remains of the later Penal 
Days' Chapel of Carrigvisteale already alluded to. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
The Convent of Mercy, Ballyporeen, is a branch of the Cahir house 
of that institute. Its erection was commenced in 1887, during the 
pastorate of Rev. Dr. Delaney and under the supervision and direction 
of Mr. Thomas Buckley 



Parish of Cahir. 



The parish, which is popularly supposed to be under the patronage 
of the Mother of God, is the equivalent of the ancient parishes of Cahir, 
Mortlestown, and Outeragh. There is only a single church : this was 
erected in 1833 during the pastorate of Rev. Michael Tobin as an in- 
scribed slab inserted in the church wall (exterior) testifies— "Hujus 
ecclesiae primum lapidem Jecit Reverendus Michael Tobin, 7 Maii 1833, 
Reverendis Stephano Lonergan et Geraldo F. Long cum multis aliis 
adjuvantibus." The church was rapidly approaching a state of ruin 
when half a century later compelled thereto by stern necessity the Parish 
Priest, Rev. Maurice Mooney, took the work of repair in hand and erected 
the present chancel. An older church, the immediate predecessor of 
the present spacious and substantial edifice, was founded on the same 
site by the Rev. Geoffrey Keating in 1791. Previous to 1791 the par- 
ishioners worshipped in a thatched chapel situated close to the modern 
gate entrance to Cahir Park. The Catholic schools of the parish number 
five, all under the National Board, viz. : — Cahir Convent, Cahir (male and 
female), Ballingeary (mixed), and Garrycloher (mixed). The Convent 
School and the Ballingeary mixed school are under clerical and the others 
under non-clerical management. There is also a military school attended 
occasionally by a few Catholic children. The total Catholic population is 
about 3,500. Confraternities established in the parish are the League of 
the Cross, Holy Family, and Society of the Sacred Heart. In 1895 a 
plot of ground, three quarters of an acre in extent, was obtained under 
lease from Lady Margaret Charteris, for use as an addition to the burial 
ground. A curate's residence, one of the finest of its kind in the Diocese, 
was erected in 1904 mainly through the efforts of Rev. W. P. Burke, C.C. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Rev. Denis Fogarty, residing at Knockagh, was registered Parish 
Priest of "Caghir, Deregrath, Rochestown, and Mortlestown" in 1704. 
He was then only 38 years of age and had been ordained at Carricktohally 
by Dr. Slyne, Bishop of Cork. During part of the penal period the 
parish of Cahir enjoyed the protection and patronage of the Catholic 
Lords of Cahir. 



33 

Rev. Geoffrey Keating, D.D., was Parish Priest in 1777. The 
baptismal register commenced by him is still preserved at Cahir. In 
this register he invariably and suggestively names illegitimate male 
children presented for baptism — Oliver. He died in 1791 and was 
succeeded by his brother, Rev. Michael Keating, who held office till 
his death, April, 1809. A third brother, Rev. Thomas Keating, D.D., 
next succeeded to the pastorate. He had been Parish Priest successively 
of St. John's (Waterford), and Dungarvan, before his promotion to Cahir. 
He died in 1814. A Rev. James Keating was pastor of Templetenny 
(Ballyporeen) in 1779. These Keating brothers were of the same family 
as the historian and were buried, the writer has reason to think, in the 
Keating tomb at Derrygrath. 

Rev. John Power succeeded. He died in September, 1830, and was 
succeeded in turn by Rev. Michael Tobin, translated from Ardmore. 
Father Tobin died March, 1852, having built the present church of Cahir. 

His successor was Rev. Patrick McGrath translated, like his pre- 
decessor, from Ardmore but — unlike the latter — indirectly, via Ballylooby. 

Rev. Maurice Mooney was appointed Parish Priest on the death 
of Father McGrath in 1865 and survived till 1891. His successor was 
Rev. Patrick Sheehan who had been Administrator of the Cathedral. 
He survived but a very short time and was succeeded by Rev. Robert 
Power in 1892. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

Under this heading are, to be enumerated a ruined Augustinian 
Abbey at Cahir, ruined churches at Cahir, Mortlestown, Outrath, Lough- 
loher, Ballylegan, and Ballymacadam (a dependency of the abbey of 
Cahir), two holy wells— "Our Lady's Well" and " CotMp 1of^" (Jesus' 
Well) on Cahir Abbey townland, and five early church sites, scil. : — 
Clonmore (Cat jouruMc), Kilcommon (C. Cormvin), Killeenbutler, 
Killeigh (C. h&t), and Killemly (C. eimLig). 

"St. Patrick's Stone" on the townland of Grangemore is a roadside 
boulder of limestone regarded with much veneration and believed to 
have been used by the National Apostle, the impression of whose knees 
local credulity sees in a couple of circular indentations on its surface. 
Through the eastern section of the parish passes the Rian Bo Phadraig 
or Track of St. Patrick's cow, presumably the ancient ecclesiastical 
roadway from Cashel south to Lismore, &c. Knockagh, another town- 
land of the parish has been identified by O 'Donovan as the Ard-Feirchis 
of the Leabhar-Gabhala and therefore the residence of Feirchis the poet. 
The last named it was who killed Lughaidh MacConn, Monarch of Ireland, 
as the latter stood by a pillar stone distributing gifts to the poets of 
Ireland near Derrygrath in this neighbourhood. 



34 

RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
The Sisters of Mercy founded their Convent at Cahir on Whit-Monday, 
1863. They came from Cappoquin under Mother M. Teresa Phelan as 
first Superior, and took up their temporary residence at Cahir in a 
partially furnished house on the Mall. Their slender means at the time 
were augmented by a bequest of £50 in cash with some house property, 
bringing in about £40 per annum. Immediately on their arrival in Cahir 
the Sisters opened private schools and commenced the other pious works 
of the institute — visitation of the sick, &c. The present large schools 
were built by the parish in 1864, and five years later they were placed 
under the National Board of Education. Through mediation of the 
tenants (especially of Samuel Burke, Esq.), the site of the present Convent 
was in 1876 obtained from Lady Margaret Charteris, and after manifold 
difficulties the community in 1877 commenced the work of building. 
The contract price of half the present magnificent Convent was £6,000 
but this included fees of architect and clerk of works. The building, 
minus the present wing, was completed in 1878 and dedicated to the 
Holy Trinity. In 1881 building recommenced and the present com- 
pleted structure was the result. 

The list of Superiors is as follows : — 

Mother M. Teresa Phelan, 1853—1876. 

Bernard Vaughan, 1876—1887. 

Louis Halpin, 1887—1890. 

Gertrude Foran, 1890—1894. 

Josephine Brown, 1894. 
In 1883 a foundation was sent to Portlaw where a branch house 
was opened on June 29th. This foundation was largely due to a large 
bequest for the purpose of the late Parish Priest of the latter place, 
Rev. John McGrath. The same year a second colony went out to take 
charge of the Workhouse Hospital, Clogheen, and yet a third to under- 
take a similar work of mercy in Clonmel. In 1886 was opened the 
branch Convent of Clogheen and the following year another branch 
Convent in Ballyporeen, for a fuller account of which, see under their 
respective parishes. 



1368349 

Parish of Cappoquin. 



This, like Ballyduff, is a parish of comparatively late origin cut 
off from Lismore. It is however more ancient than Ballyduff but unlike 
the latter it represents no ecclesiastical division of pre-reformation date. 
Geographically it is of great length extending from the summit of the 
Knockmaeldown range to the River Bride, or about sixteen miles. It lias 
but one public church situated about midway in the parish longitudinally. 
The present church dates from the first quarter of the last century ; 
its lease or rather the lease of its site is dated June 13th, 1819, and is 
made out to John Hely, Esq., and Michael Kerrissy from Sir John Keane 
for use of the parishioners, for ever, at one shilling rent per year, if ever 
demanded. The building was completed in 1822 and opened under the 
patronage of Our Lady's Nativity. At what date Cappoquin came to 
be erected into an independent parish we do not know. It was certainly 
some considerable time previous to the erection of the church of 1822 
for Rev. Thomas Flannery died Parish Priest of Cappoquin in 1810. 
In Father Flannery's time the church, an humble thatched structure 
with three galleries and a sacristy, stood at a place called Glenwheelan 
about a mile to west of the town, on the Lismore road. The present 
church has been repaired and renovated several times — by Rev. M. 
Spratt in 1856, for instance, when the surrounding wall topped by iron 
railings was erected, and in 1872 when the church floor was tiled and 
benches introduced. 

The schools of the parish are eight in number, scil. : — A Boarding 
School or Seminary conducted by the Cistercian Fathers at Mount 
Melleray, an Infant Industrial School conducted by Sisters of Mercy 
at Cappoquin, a Private Male Primary School conducted by the Cister- 
cians at Mount Melleray, a Female National School at the same place, 
Male and Female National Schools at Cappoquin, and Mixed National 
Schools at Toorin and Camphire. Of the foregoing all except the school 
at Toorin are under clerical management. The estimated present 
population of the parish is 3,500. There is a semi-public church 
at Mount Melleray Abbey wherein a considerable portion of the 
congregation fulfils the obligation of hearing Mass. As portion of the 



36 

parish is quite adjacent to Lismore and correspondingly distant from 
Cappoquin, another considerable part of the flock attends Sunday Mass 
in Lismore. 

The Confraternities in the parish are the League of the Cross and 
the Sacred Heart Association. 

The new cemetery of Cappoquin was solemnly blessed on October 
6th, 1910, by Ven. Archdeacon McGrath as the delegate of His Lordship 
the Bishop. Previous to acquisition of this cemetery there was not a 
place for Catholic burial within the parish if the few square perches of 
ground attached to the parish church be excepted. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. Thomas Flannery, P.P., Cappoquin, died in Clonmel April, 
1810, and is buried in St. Mary's Church, of which his distinguished 
foster-brother, Rev. Dr. Flannery, V.G., was Parish Priest. The Flannerys 
were natives of Stradbally and in connexion with the christening of 
one of them a somewhat ludicrous incident is related in the Life of 
Donnchadh Ruadh, the poet. 

Rev. Patrick Whelan, appointed in 1810, was translated to Modeligo 
in 1819. He is buried in Modeligo. 

Rev. John Walsh, next in succession, held the pastorate for thirty 
years, resigning in 1849 ; he is buried in the church at Cappoquin. 

Rev. Michael 'Spratt, translated from Rnockanore, succeeded. He 
died in June, 1870, and is buried in the church. 

Rev. Patrick Power, became Parish Priest in June, 1870, and was 
translated to Dungarvan, in 1881. He died however before taking 
possession of the latter parish and was buried within the church at 
Cappoquin. Father Power was the author of the well known work 
"Catechism :• Doctrinal, Moral, Historical, and Lithurgical," in three 
volumes, which has gone through many editions. He was a native of 
the environs of Cappoquin and was brother to the venerable Bishop of 
the Diocese, Most Rev. Dr. John Power. 

Father Power was succeeded, as Parish Priest of Cappoquin, by 
Rev. Patrick Delaney, D.D., transferred thither from Dungarvan whither 
he had been translated from Ballyporeen. His pastorate of Cappoquin 
endured only a month or two; he came in June, 1881, and left (re- 
translation) in August for Ballyporeen. 

Next in succession came : — (a) Rev. Francis O'Brien, translated 
from Kill in 1881 and transferred, eleven years later, to SS. Peter and 
Paul's, Clonmel, (b) Rev. Thomas McDonnell, translated from Tooraneena 
and transferred in 1894 to SS. Peter and Paul's, (c) Rev. Patrick Spratt, 



37 

translated from Kilsheelan, built the present parochial house, raised to 
a canonry on formation of the Diocesan Chapter in 1906, and transferred 
to St. Mary's, Clonmel, and (rf) Rev. Philip Dunphy, Bishop's Secretary 
for many years, appointed in July, 1906. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &C. 

There arc within the parish the remains of two ancient churches, at 
Okyle and Relig Deglain respectively. The former is a very interesting 
ruin, furnished with a decorated Gothic (14th century) east window and 
an external angle cell of unique character. At Relig Deglain only the 
foundations of the church are traceable ; the early church here is pre- 
sumed, on the evidence of the Saint's life, to mark the place of Declan's 
birth. Teste the Justiciary Roll, 35, Ed. I., M. 52, the Templars held 
one messuage with buildings, lands, and tenements at new Affanc within 
this parish. There are two holy wells — Our Lady's, above the town 
on the hill slope, and Cob^p a Curuup, still occasionally visited, near 
Camphire. In addition there are early church sites at Okyle (distinct 
from the ruin just referred to), Kilbree (C. Druge) and Cappoquin 
(within the demesne and close to the holy well above mentioned). 

In the church of Cappoquin is preserved a small silver chalice once 
owned by Dr. Geoffrey Keating; it is now transformed into a ciborium 
and is in constant use. It bears round its base the following inscrip- 
tion : — " Dominus Galfridus Kcathnige, sacerd. Sacrae Theologiae Doctor, 
me fieri fecit 23 February, 1634.'' The Rev. Dr. Keating of the 
inscription is assumed to have been the historian, who, moreover, on the 
evidence of this chalice, has been erroneously claimed as parochus of 
Cappoquin. Three small antique silver chalices, two of them of the 
17th century, likewise belong to this church. They are inscribed res- 
pectively : — 

"Pray for the soul of Hugh Flyn and Margaret His Wife. Amen. 
Anno Dom eni 1684." 

"Orate pro aia D a . e Catherinac Shee tjuae hunc caliccm fieri fecit, 
A° 1629." 

"Jacobus Launders me fieri fecit in usum parochiae de Cappoquin, 
1803." 

Sometime in the first decade of the last century a school was opened 
in Cappoquin by Patrick Denn, well known in his day and remembered 
ever since as a writer of religious verse. A distinguished Bishop of 
Waterford, Dr. John Power, was a pupil of Demi's, at Cappoquin. Demi's 
school was situated in the Main Street, near the present Protestant 
Church, and it was attended by a large number of grown boys. Amongst 



38 

the pupils were also a few girls. Our poor schoolmaster, poet also, 
acted as parish clerk, and taught Christian Doctrine in the church on 
Sundays. To aid him in the latter work he published a number of small 
instruction books in Irish. His best known productions are "Aighncas 
an Pheacuig Leis an mBas" and an Irish translation of Bishop Challoner's 
"Think Well on It." The former work has been several times published. 
Denn ended a good and useful life by a holy death at the age of seventy- 
two, and was interred in the churchyard at Cappoquin close to the north 
boundary wall, wherein an inset tablet marks the grave. The tablet 
bears the following eulogistic inscription : — 

"Of your Charity pray for the soul of 

Patrick Denn, whose remains repose 

beneath this slab. The religious works 

written by him in the Irish language 

met with general approval and are 

proofs of his learning as a Irish 

Scholar and his zeal and piety as 

a sincere Christian. His holy life was closed 

by a happy death on the 5th July, 1828. Aged 72. 

Erected by Rev. P. Power." 

The pious guardian of the poet's memory was the Rev. P. Power, P.P. , 

above alluded to. 

Among the ecclesiastical antiquities of Cappoquin ought perhaps 
be included the legendary Rian Bo Phadraig or Track of St. Patrick's 
Cow, which runs north and south through the parish for a total 
distance of perhaps ten miles, and for an account and description 
of which sec Journal, Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, 
vol. xxxv., pp. 110 — 129. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Mount Melleray Abbey. 
Mount Melleray Abbey is situated on the southern slope of the 
Knockmealdown Mountains, at a distance of about three miles from 
Cappoquin. It is a Monastery of Cistercians of the strict observance, 
and the first house of the Cistercian Order erected in Ireland since the 
suppression and confiscation of religious establishments during the 
reformation and subsequent times. It was founded in the year 1832 
as a filiation of Melleray Abbey in Brittany, France, but the founders 
were all Irish Monks, though professed members of a French Community. 
The parent house, one of the most ancient of all the Cistercian monasteries, 



had been itself suppressed and confiscated to the State during the Reign 
of Terror in France, and its community had to fly to avoid imprison- 
ment and death. In the year 1817 it passed once more, by purchase, 
into the hands of the community of which the Irish Monks were members. 
This community was not the original body that held it before the Revolu- 
tion, but the survivors of another house of the Order that had also 
been suppressed by the Revolutionary Convention. They had been 
wanderers in several countries of Europe after their dispossession, but 
they could find no suitable place in any of those States to permanently 
establish themselves. Having come to England to embark for Canada, 
where they hoped to be more successful, they were detained by an un- 
looked for accident, and fortunately met nearer home with the object 
of their search. The ship in which they had intended to embark had 
already set sail when they landed on British soil, and they were, in 
consequence, obliged to seek a temporary resting place till the sailing 
of the next vessel. During the delay Providence sent in their way a 
noble-hearted, Christian gentleman, who was both willing and able to 
assist them in obtaining the object of their desires. This pious and 
truly charitable gentleman was Thomas Weld, Esq., of Lulworth Castle, 
Dorsetshire, father of Cardinal Weld. Moved by compassion at the 
recital of their sufferings, he. at once, with princely generosity, placed 
at their disposal Lulworth Castle and estate for the establishment of 
a Monastery of their Order. The generous offer was gladly accepted, 
and a Monastery was founded which was subsequently raised to the 
dignity of an abbey. At first and for a considerable time after the 
foundation, although the period was long before Catholic Emancipation, 
no hostility towards the Monks or their establishment was manifested 
by the Government or the people of England. Towards the end of the 
twentieth year of its existence, however, prejudices were revived by 
various incidents and the Prime Minister, Lord Sidmouth, found it good 
policy to issue an injunction to the superior forbidding him to receive 
in future any new subjects. In consequence of this harsh measure, 
which must needs in the course of time lead to the extinction of the 
community, they were obliged to seek some other place, outside the 
United Kingdom, where they might enjoy perfect freedom of action. 
For two years no suitable site offered, and they had to endure for the 
time being their invidious position, now aggravated by hostile mani- 
festations on the part of the populace and bitter attacks made by persons 
who wished to pander to the popular passions. Providentially at the 
end of that period the ancient Abbey of Melleray was put up for sale 
by the person who had purchased it from the revolutionists. The 
Abbot of Lulworth having heard of the matter entered into negociations 



40 

with the owner for the purchase and had the good fortune to find his 
offers accepted. Lulworth, where a beautiful monastery had been 
built by Mr. Weld, was accordingly abandoned and the community 
transferred to Melleray. At the time of the transfer, which took place 
in the year 1817, the majority of the community were Irish, a large 
number of Irish youths having joined its ranks in Lulworth during the 
twenty years preceding the prohibitory injunction of the Prime Minister. 
The number of Irish was still further increased as soon as it became 
known that the Monks of Lulworth had settled in France and that there 
was no longer any restriction against fresh receptions. In fourteen 
years during which the restored abbey of Melleray continued to flourish 
so many found their way from Ireland and made profession there that 
the Irish element still outnumbered all the other various nationalities 
represented in the community. This period of prosperity was followed by 
a time of fresh trials and sufferings. In the year 1830 a new revolution 
took place in France, and the Revolutionary Government, like its pre- 
decessors, little favourable to religion, determined to dissolve the 
community. This design, though directed against the whole body, was 
intended rather as a punishment on the Abbot. It signally failed in 
its main purpose and only produced results which its promoters would 
have been very loth to bring about had they foreseen them. This was 
largely due to the prudent and courageous action of the Abbot, but 
in a still greater measure to the foresight, energy, and indomitable 
perseverance of the Prior of the monastery. Their combined action 
on this occasion forms the history of the foundation of Mount Melleray 
Abbey, for if that auspicious event was a consequence of the crisis, it 
was also, and not the less, the result of their united counsels and labours. 
Some account of these two great and holy men who were so providentially 
united for the accomplishment of a great design, will not be out of place 
here ; but will, on the contrary, help to make the facts to be subsequently 
narrated more clearly understood, inasmuch as it will enable one to 
comprehend the motives which inspired them. Dom Anthony, the 
first Abbot of Lulworth, in Fngland, and afterwards Abbot of Melleray, 
in France, was a man truly great in every sense of the word. Illustrious 
by the nobility and prestige of his family, which was allied by blood 
with the Royal Family of France, he was as distinguished for his great 
mental endowments and his high attainments in every branch of 
ecclesiastical learning as for the extraordinary powers of oratory 
with which he was gifted. His family name was Saulnier de Beauregard, 
and he was called in baptism, Anne Nicholas Charles. Born at Ioigny, 
the family seat, situated in the Diocese of Sens, on the 20th August, 
1764, he embraced the ecclesiastical state at an early age, and entered 



on his studies at Paris. The most brilliant success attended his every 
course, and he successively attained the degree of Bachelor, of Licentiate, 
and Doctor in Sacred Theology at the Sorbonnc, the most famous seat 
of learning at the time in France. Ordained at the time prescribed 
by the Sacred Canons, he was immediately appointed to a Canonry 
in the Cathedral of his native diocese, which dignity he held till the 
outbreak in 1793. Unwilling to take the oath and be enrolled amongst 
the constitutional clergy, he went into exile, and was a refugee for two 
years in several European capitals, till he finally came to England. 
It was while an exile in London that he heard for the first time of the 
Monastery of Lulworth, then recently founded. Proceeding thither 
without delay he entered the Community, and proved, by the fervour 
and exactitude of his life, that his vocation was a true one, inspired 
of heaven. 'When the Monastery of Lulworth was raised to the rank 
of an Abbey the choice of the monks fell on him, and he became the 
first Abbot, receiving the abbatial benediction at the hands of Dr. Painter, 
the Vicar Apostolic, in London in the year 1813. During the remainder 
of the time the English house continued to exist he governed it with 
rare prudence and with the greatest advantage, both spiritual and 
temporal, to the community. To his unceasing and untiring efforts 
were due the acquisition and restoration of the ancient Abbey of Mclleray 
in France, and its flourishing condition at the time the French Govern- 
ment designed and sought its destruction. An example of every virtue 
to his spiritual children, he was the soul, the inspiring spirit of the great 
fervour and devotion which marked their lives and made them worthy 
of the golden age of monasticism. The Abbot was assailed simply 
because he was connected with the dethroned Royal Family, and because 
he was known to be both loyal and devoted to them. One fact went 
a long way for proof against him. He had discharged a duty of piety 
towards them which in his eyes was doubly sacred and even for many 
reasons obligatory. The Duke de Berri, son of Charles X, was assas- 
sinated in Paris in the beginning of the year 1820. Dom Anthony was 
present at the solemn obsequeies of the murdered prince, and, at the 
request of the Duchess dc Berri, who was his cousin, he preached the 
funeral oration. The Revolutionists had, no doubt, reason to remember 
the burning eloquence with which he denounced the crime and they 
did remember it, but only to seek revenge when the opportunity came. 
Dom Vincent Ryan, the Prior of Melleray in France, and subsequently 
the founder and first Abbot of Mount Mellaray Abbey in Ireland was, 
as his name indicates, an Irishman. Like Blessed Christian, the first 
founder of the Cistercian Order in Ireland, and subsequently Bishop 
of Lismore, he was a native of Waterford, having been born in that city 



42 

of respectable and virtuous parents, in the year 1788. He received the 
best education the means at the disposal of his parents and the circum- 
stances of the times afforded. In his twenty-second year, he entered 
the Monastery of Lulworth, and in due time was professed and ordained 
priest. A model of every Christian and religious virtue, he was beloved 
by all the brethren without distinction, French and English as well as 
Irish. At the same time he was esteemed and trusted by his Abbot, 
who consulted him in every matter of importance, and confided to 
him every charge with the greatest reliance on his prudence and dis- 
cretion. It is a striking testimony to both his capacity and merit that 
when comparatively young, he was chosen out of all the priests of the 
Monaster}', twenty-six in number, for the responsible office of Prior at 
the time the ancient Abbey of Melleray was restored. The Abbot and 
Prior were singularly alike in many respects though there was that 
difference of character which difference of Nationality and education 
could not fail to create. Both combined the apparently opposite, but 
by no means contradictory characters of the recluse and the man of 
action, but each had his own peculiar mission and seemed specially 
fitted for that rather than for another. Dom Anthony was the Bernard 
of the second advent of the Cistercians to Ireland, training up her sons 
to the discipline and life of the cloister, while Dom Vincent was the 
new Abbot Christian, who was to lead them to the new Millifont where 
they were to revive the glorious tradition of the old one St. Malcahy 
raised for their predecessors by the banks of the Boyne. It had been 
unfortunate for the Abbey of Melleray if Dom Vincent had been its 
Abbot when the second crisis in its history occurred ; and it would 
have been equally unfortunate for Ireland had he not been at hand 
on that occasion. In the one case, the French house would have ceased 
to exist, and in the other the large Irish community would have been 
dispersed, and no foundation would have been made in Ireland. Yet 
the re-establishment of the Cistercian Order was, through the guidance 
of Providence, to result from the unjust aggression and evil designs of 
the enemies of religion in France. It is a very remarkable fact in the 
history of the persecution of the Monks of Melleray, that the final 
measures adopted against them by the infidel rulers of France were an 
afterthought. They were never so much as once thought of or suspected 
even by the religious themselves. The design at first was to suppress 
the house altogether, and to disperse the whole community, as is evident 
from the entire course of the proceedings. Divine Providence, however, 
which was directing all the events turned them to the accomplishment 
of its own purposes without permitting them to attain the evil con- 
sequences intended and so much desired. The blind hatred of the enemies 



43 

of God led them to overdo their work and so to assist in the frustration 
of their own plans. Dom Anthony stood on the rights guaranteed to 
him in common with every Frenchman, and he won his cause by the 
very force of its justice. On his appealing to the law the higher courts 
decided that the charges brought against him and his subjects, con- 
tained nothing contrary to any provision of the code or any article of 
the Constitution then in force. It was a great triumph for the Abbot ; 
and he was naturally led by it to believe himself secure. His enemies, 
however baffled in their first attempt, now resolved on another course. 
The expulsion of all the Monks of foreign nationality was decreed, but 
the execution of the design was deferred and the design itself kept 
secret that it might be carried out more effectively and surely at another 
time. Dom Anthony had frustrated the first attempt of the French 
Government ; it was reserved for Dom Vincent to foil them in their 
second and last effort for the ruin of Melleray. To him belongs the 
honour and praise of having been the first and only one to conceive 
and propose the design of founding a Cistercian Monastery in Ireland. 
That was his plan to meet the crisis caused by the Government, and 
that it was the right one, meeting all the exigencies of the case at the 
time, the course of events have every day since only more firmly 
established. The project was not a new idea of his, though it presented 
itself to him this time in a somewhat different aspect. For many years 
the most earnest desire, the most charitable hope of his heart had been 
to see his Order back once more in some of the many spots in Ireland 
which it had hallowed and made famous by its presence before the 
spoiler put forth his desecrating, destructive hand, to plunder and 
raze to the ground its hallowed sanctuaries. Again and again he had 
proposed such a foundation to Dom Anthony, now earnestly urging 
him to undertake it for the sake of restoring the fallen fortunes of the 
Order in one of its former most flourishing seats, and again pleading 
on behalf of his fellow-countrymen, the persecuted children of faithful 
Ireland. He became all the more pressing when he saw that in the 
near future all resource must fail him, and admission be denied 
them at Melleray, already taxed to the utmost limit of its accom- 
modation. Dom Anthony was not to be moved. In the proposal and 
the arguments brought forward in its support he saw nothing but 
the fond dreams of an enthusiast and the fervid aspirations of a 
mind weary of exile. The expense, labour and trouble involved in 
so great an undertaking were sufficient to deter him, not only from 
entering upon it, but even from considering it seriously. Such was 
invariably his answer, but it told only half of his reasons for refusing. 
The fact was he would have been unwilling to part with Dom Vincent 



and his other Irish children, even if the establishment of a monaster}' 
in Ireland were to involve neither expense nor trouble. He had 
designed that Dom Vincent should succeed him in the government 
of Mellcray, and nothing but an unavoidable necessity could ever induce 
him to consent to a proposal which would interfere with the fulfilment 
of that intention. Notwithstanding that he was aware of the dignity 
and honour awaiting him in France, Dom Vincent's heart was in Ireland. 
His love for his native land kept him alive to her interests and 
made him quick to discern her opportunities and advantage. Watch- 
ing and waiting in patient expectation for the fulfilment of his hopes, 
he was the first to see that the unavoidable necessity for the much desired 
foundation had come at last. There was, without doubt, no other 
resource, no other way to meet the existing difficulties than by creating 
a monastic establishment to serve as a retreat in case of danger. Dom 
Anthony, however unwilling he was to see that, was yet forced in the 
end to make the admission. Still he would not consent without con- 
sulting God by prayer, so little did he see the issue to which Providence 
was leading things, and so slow was he to depart from the ordinary course 
he had been so long pursuing. He, accordingly, took some days for 
prayer before giving a decisive answer, and recommended all the brethren 
to join with him in imploring the light of heaven. The result answered 
all the expectations of Dom Vincent, and corresponded perfectly to 
his unhesitating faith and confidence in Divine Providence. Dom 
Anthony became convinced that it was God's will the foundation should 
take place. Without further delay, he gave his sanction and blessing 
to the project, and sending for the future founder, told him to prepare 
without loss of time to proceed to Ireland to enter upon his arduous 
undertaking, as he had chosen him for its execution. A singular 
incident at this time served to strengthen the Abbot's conviction 
and to confirm the views and hopes of the future founder. Two 
letters arrived from Ireland relating to the very subject then under 
consideration. One was from an ex-novice, who, in consequence of the 
troubles in France, had lately returned to Dublin, his native city. The 
second was from a gentleman whom the novice had met and interested 
in the events transpiring at Melleray. Both letters held out the brightest 
prospects of success for a foundation in Ireland ; gave assurances of 
help from certain quarters which they named, and recommended that 
immediate steps should be taken to avail of the favourable circum- 
stances. Each corroborated the other, and yet the writers seem to 
have acted independently and without collusion ; for one made men- 
tion of a most desirable site that was actually on sale in the County 
Dublin, and could easily be secured through the co-operation of a certain 



45 

wealthy Catholic family, a circumstance which was not referred to in 
the second letter. Not all the expectations held out were to be realised. 
The foundation was assured by Him whose works cannot fail, but 
Dublin was not to prove this time the destined home of the exiled 
Monks. Dom Vincent on arriving there found, somewhat to his 
disappointment, that the great promises contained in the letters just 
mentioned, were not likely to be realised. The mansion and estate 
mentioned as a suitable site, were a reality ; but the aid so 
strongly assured, was pure speculation. On his arrival in England 
a few days before, Dom Vincent found himself master of one 
shilling and sixpence, and now he was expected to pay down 
£6,000 for the property in question, if he wished to secure it for 
a monastic establishment. As Dom Anthony was unable to give 
any pecuniary aid, his own monastery being still heavily burdened 
with debt, the purchase could not be thought of any longer. In this 
dilemma Dom Vincent had recourse to the Most Rev. Dr. Murray, 
Archbishop of Dublin, hoping to obtain some assistance as well as advice ; 
His Grace, who received him with the greatest charity and sympathy, 
gave his warmest approbation to the undertaking, and encouraged him 
to proceed with it, though, as he frankly declared, he was assured it 
would be attended with the greatest difficulties and embarrassments — 
a prophecy that was fulfilled to the letter. It was an unfavourable 
time for an undertaking of such magnitude. The Irish Church had 
just emerged from the long dark era of her cruel sufferings, and was 
now only beginning to build up again her ruined temples and to create 
new seats for sacred learning instead of those of which she had been 
so ruthlessly destroyed. Stripped of all the possessions which were theirs 
by right, the Bishops were everywhere embarrassed by the demands 
made on their slender means for the work of reparation. Everything 
had to be provided anew as if the Church had been only recently estab- 
lished. Under these circumstances, it is not to be wondered at that 
the good Archbishop could give no pecuniary assistance, much less 
devote adequate means to the purposes of the projected monastic 
establishment. 

At length, when nearly worn out with anxiety and fatigue Dom 
Vincent received an offer of a small property, which he was obliged to 
accept as a temporary expedient, since time was pressing, and nothing 
better then promised. This property, situated at a place called 
Rathmore, about twelve miles from Killarney, consisted of a farm of 
twenty-five acres, a moderately-sized dwellinghouse, and some out-offices. 

In November, 1831, the new foundation at Rathmore commenced. 
No work of the kind was ever entered on with greater zeal, and few such 



ever began in greater poverty. Cistercian observance was resumed in 
Ireland, just two hundred years after it had ceased at Holy Cross, the last 
of the old Monasteries. Alas, it soon became evident that the place would 
not be suitable, and could be availed of only till Providence provided 
a permanent abode. Dom Vincent, who was now the regular Superior, 
made every effort to obtain additional land and a tenure that would 
warrant a permanent establishment, but he could see no hope of either, 
and so he was obliged to resume his anxious quest for the desired site. 
It cost him six months of almost incessant travelling before his efforts 
were rewarded with success ; it came then in a way which made it 
appear doubly valuable in his eyes. In May, 1832, he obtained 
possession of Mount Melleray from Sir Richard Keane, a landlord who 
resided near Cappoquin, County Waterford, and held extensive property 
in the immediate vicinity. For this timely acquisition Dom Vincent 
was - indebted to the Rev. P. Fogarty, Catholic Curate of Dungarvan, 
who, having much influence with Sir Richard, had used it successfully 
in favour of his friend, the Prior. The property formed part of an 
extensive wild waste plateau of unreclaimed mountain land, known 
by the expressive name of "Scrahan," or rough, barren place, — a title 
which it fully deserved. Not a tree or shrub of any kind was to be seen 
— nothing but stretches of bog, or scraggy patches covered with furze 
and heath, save where huge boulders bursting through the stony surface 
formed bits of desert, that seemed beyond the power of reclamation. 
Humble, simple, and obscure were the first beginnings of Mount 
Melleray. On the 30th May, 1832, the eve of our Lord's Ascension, 
Dom Vincent, accompanied by a secular friend, quietly entered into 
possession of his newly acquired property, by taking up his abode in 
the only house in the place — a little cottage, containing two small rooms 
and a kitchen, capable of affording accommodation to, at most, but six 
persons. For furniture the cottage contained a bed, a table and a couple 
of chairs — all provided by the charity of the good people of Dungarvan. 
Yet it was with joy and satisfaction Dom Vincent saw himself in 
possession of this humble establishment. On the following day, the 
Feast of the Ascension, he dedicated it to the Religious purposes 
for which it was in future to serve — celebrating Holy Mass for 
the first time within its walls, and naming it Bethlehem, because 
it was the birthplace of the Religious life of Mount Melleray. The 
little cottage which was the scene of that solemn act has long since 
crumbled into ruins, despite every effort to preserve it as a memorial 
of him who first consecrated it to Religion. If its stones could live 
and speak, what a history they could tell of the heroic deeds of faith, 
and of the extraordinary life of patient endurance they witnessed from 



47 

that hour on the part of the founder, and subsequently on the part 
of the valiant band of monks who came to share his arduous labours ! 
With the place but half prepared, the Superior was obliged to summon 
some twenty of the brethren from Rathmore. When they arrived they 
found, besides the little cottage before mentioned, a rudely built 
stable, with a loft above, and a small wooden chapel, both new and 
hastily constructed. 

The cottage, which had to serve almost every purpose by day, 
at night afforded shelter to the Superior and five of the brethren. The 
rest had to make their couches on the loft in the stable as best they 
could. They had no other accommodation till the beginning of winter, 
and great were the inconveniences and hardships they had to endure 
till then. Often in the night the occupants of the loft had to rise and 
change their wretched pallets from place to place to save themselves 
from the rain, which poured in through the gaping roof and through 
the chinks in the wall of loose stones. In winter, they more than once 
on awaking in the morning found themselves covered with snow, which 
the wind had carried in and spread over them while they lay sleeping. 

Yet despite the unfavourable surroundings, not the smallest of the 
long monastic services was ever, day or night, omitted by these fervent 
servants of God. In their wretched circumstances, they observed as 
regular a life as if they were within the most stately and best appointed 
Monastery. They rose at two each morning, and, after reciting the 
Office of Our Lady and meditating for half an hour, sang a portion 
of the Divine Office. At the Community Mass, celebrated in the early 
morning, all assisted ; and then the little chapel was turned into a chapter 
room, where voluntary penances were sought and performed, as if their 
life of appalling severity was not enough to satisfy their thirst for suffer- 
ings. All day long, prayer and work alternated ; the various "Hours" 
of the Office being said at appointed times, no matter what employment 
was interrupted or task left undone. 

During those first days the monks' food consisted ordinarily of 
potatoes and sour milk. Gradually news of their being in a straitened, 
famishing condition spread far and wide among the people, evoking 
amongst them the deepest sympathy with the distressed Religious. 
Similar feelings had been created amongst the secular clergy of the 
diocese by the Bishop, who, at a public conference of the Clerical 
body, had earnestly recommended the new foundation to their support 
and patronage, as a work of great promise for religion in the diocese 
and of deepest interest to himself. It only remained for some- 
one to set these good dispositions in movement to free the monks 
from their distressed and embarrassed state. This praiseworthy office 



48 

was discharged by the curate of the neighbouring Parish of Modeligo, 
Rev. Father Oueally, who entertained a great reverence and affection 
for Dom Vincent. He raised his voice among his parishioners on behalf 
of the monks with such effect that the whole parish became inflamed 
with a desire to help in every way possible. These good people, though 
struggling themselves with poverty, gave quickly and liberally of their 
little all ; and then, dissatisfied because their means had not permitted 
them to do all they wished, they conceived the generous design of assist- 
ing with the labour of their hands and the sweat of their brows. On 
the 17th July, 1832, four hundred men, each of whom carried either 
a spade or a shovel, assembled at the Parish Church of Modeligo, and 
having fallen into rank, marched thence in a regular body for Mount 
Melleray, under the leadership of their good curate, and with a band of 
musicians at their head. Up to the hour of their arrival the monastic 
land had remained in its primitive state of wildness, untouched by any 
instrument of labour, save the turf -cutter's "slane," and without 
boundary or division of any kind, even the rudest. The practised eye 
of these peasants saw the defect, and at once their quick intelligence 
told them its removal was a business of the first importance. Accord- 
ingly, they set to work to erect the boundary or enclosure, toiling with 
an enthusiasm which shewed that their voluntary task was to them 
truly a labour of love. 

In all the neighbouring parishes, and even in the more remote 
districts, working parties were organised to assist in the completion 
of the work which had been so well begun. Parish vied with parish 
to send the largest number of workers, and thus to give the greatest 
aid to the monks. Nor did a single day suffice for their zeal : some 
of these bodies came on two or three occasions, and each time with 
increased numbers. Generally they arrived in the early morning, and 
continued working till late in the evening. To do so they had to suffer 
much inconvenience ; but it seemed only a pleasure to them. In one 
instance when the Parish — the Parish of Ballynoe, County Cork — 
was remote from the Monastery, the men had to leave their houses at 
midnight in order to march the distance in time to give a full day's 
work. Yet they cheerfully made the sacrifice. On reaching their homes 
the following midnight they met another party that was setting out to 
replace them. The contingents varied in number, according to the 
population of the Parish. In general, they counted from two hundred 
to eight hundred, but on one occasion the figure reached two thousand. 
It is calculated that fully ten thousand persons took part in raising the 
monastic boundaries alone. These numbers were not made up of men 
only, nor exclusively of the strong and healthy. Weak and suffering 



men, young persons of both sexes, married women and mothers of 
families, were amongst the most zealous workers. A poor blind man 
was one of the most diligent of the assistants in carrying stones 
for the men who were putting them into position. He had himself 
led about by a little child from place to place wherever a stone was 
to be had, and then having taken it up he staggered along with his 
burden, under the same guidance, to the place where the material 
was needed. A poor labourer who happened to be sick, and so could 
not come with his Parish, sent the price of a day's work, though he had 
been unable to earn anything that day himself. If he could not take 
part personally, he wished to have the merit of doing it by a substitute. 
The completion of the boundaries alone saw the end of these admirable 
deeds of Faith and Charity on the part of the poor peasantry ; the 
spirit that prompted to these generous exertions did not cease then, 
for often since that time till the present it has shown itself in acts of 
devotion and good will towards the Monastery that were in a way not 
less admirable. In September, 1832, the whole vast work of enclosure, 
which should have taken the monks years to accomplish by their own 
unaided efforts, was finished. 

A new period may be said to have opened for the community. 
They were still however located in their first miserable hovels, and 
their sufferings on that account were still very keen. To pass the whole 
winter in such circumstances must have proved fatal to many of them. 
It was, therefore, necessary, in order to avoid such consequences, to 
attempt erecting something of a larger and a better house. Relying on 
Providence and the charity of their kind friends, they accordingly began, 
and though they did so with empty hands, they were enabled to com- 
plete the house before mid-winter. The structure was a plain building, 
120 feet long, 17 feet high, 16 feet wide, and of two storeys. It 
contained a chapel, dormitory, refectory and other departments — all on 
a smaller scale than was desirable, could it be helped. On the 
19th November, 1832, Mass was celebrated in the new chapel for the 
first time, and on the same day all but Dom Vincent removed into the 
new quarters. 

They were months of much progress ; within a year, the 
place could scarcely be recognised, so great was the improvement. 
The new house was gradually furnished, and additional buildings 
erected in connection with it ; some twenty-five acres of the land were 
broken for tillage; extensive tracts were fenced in, and seventeen 
thousand trees planted in them ; gardens were laid out around the 
buildings, and the cultivation of vegetables was commenced, with some 
success. Hardships and privations still however, continued the daily 



50 

lot of the community. During the winter of 1832-33 and the following 
spring they suffered from the cold and dampness of their new house, 
which they had been obliged to occupy before it was in a fit state for 
habitation. At the same time their food was of the poorest kind — 
barely sufficient to preserve life, while their clothing was scant and 
threadbare. 

It seems incredible that men in their wretched condition could enter- 
tain the design of erecting a great Monastery, and have the courage to 
enter at once on its execution. But such design they did entertain. 
No sooner was the spring work in the fields completed than they began 
their preparations for building. A suitable site was selected, cleared, 
and made ready ; the materials for building, such as stones, lime and 
sand, were collected, and the plan prepared. The extensive scale on 
which they projected their new Abbey speaks volumes for their reliance 
on Providence, their confidence in the generosity of their countrymen, 
and for their own courage and enterprise. To-day, as one views 
the fine buildings then projected, he can hardly conceive that he is 
looking upon the completed design of a poverty-stricken community. 
The Monastery, like all the ancient houses of the Order, forms a quad- 
rangle, enclosing an open space — the cloister garth or garden. It is 
not a perfect square, as two of the sides extend further than the others 
— the one to complete the transept and the other the head of the Cross, 
which the church forms. The entire building is of equal height — 32 feet; 
a difference in the number of storeys and a rise in the ground give 
an appearance of irregularity in the elevation. The North wing, con- 
taining the common refectory, kitchen, etc., below, and the common 
dormitory above, has only two storeys. The South wing, forming the 
church, is of course only a single storey ; the East wing, with Chapter 
Room beneath and Library overhead, forms two storeys, while the 
West wing, which forms the Guest House, is three-storied. 

On the 20th August, 1833, the first stone, which had been blessed 
by the Most Rev. Dr. Abraham, the Bishop of the diocese, was laid 
by Sir Richard Keane, Bart., the landlord of the estate, in the presence 
of His Lordship, the community, a large number of secular clergy, and 
an immense concourse of people. A powerful appeal in the Irish lang- 
uage was addressed to the vast assemblage by the Rev. Roger 
Murphy, curate of the Parish of Aglish, and promised to have the great 
results anticipated. But an unforeseen event — a sudden storm, which, 
scattering lime and sand in all directions, compelled the people to disperse 
— marred the collection, and so deprived the monks of the resources 
they had relied on. A similar sad experience fell to their lot nearly 
two years later, when the Monastery, which was then, after herculean 



51 

labours, about half completed, was raised to the rank of an Abbey, 
and its Superior to the dignity of an Abbot. It was arranged that the 
Superior should receive the Abbatial Benediction in public, and that 
a public collection should be made on the occasion ; but almost at the 
last moment the Bishop, fearing to give offence to the Government, at 
that period very hostile to Religious, decided that the function should take 
place in private. After the ceremony, which took place on tin- 17th May, 
1835, in the private chapel of the Bishop, in Waterford, Dom Vincent, now 
regular Abbot, returned empty-handed to the mountain, to make known 
the miscarriage of all their arrangements to the community, and to 
continue his arduous task under all the disadvantages that had pre- 
viously attended its prosecution. The end of trials was not yet reached. 
The greatest of all was still to come. He had hoped to have the Monastery 
completed before the establishment at Rathmore was abandoned ; but 
in May, 1837, he was obliged to arrange for the immediate transfer of 
the community to Melleray, and to deliver up the Kerry house and 
farm to the former occupant. It was not till the 21st October, 1838, 
that the new Monastery was occupied, so that its erection entailed a 
period of trials extending over six years. The principal trials have 
been mentioned ; but how tell the full story of the sufferings endured 
by the brethren, and falling with double force on Dom Vincent ! It 
was a terrible struggle against poverty and helplessness. Often the 
devoted Superior found himself on Thursday night without a shilling 
in hand of the money required on the following Saturday to pay the 
twenty tradesmen — masons and carpenters, etc. — whom he had employed. 
In these extremities, his only resource was patience and a more un- 
reserved trust in Divine Providence, which never failed to come to 
his assistance in the hour of need. By the time he required the money 
it had come into his hands, and not seldom in ways that seemed 
extraordinary. Thus on one occasion, when in great need, he received 
twenty pounds from an humble working man, the Bishop's servant, 
who felt so urged to make the donation that he arose from his sick bed, 
and travelled in his weak state from Waterford to Melleray, a distance 
of some forty-two miles, to place the money himself in the Abbot's 
hands. Sometimes, when the struggle with poverty was extreme, 
Dom Vincent did not hesitate to go out himself to seek for assistance, 
for this purpose proceeding from house to house, and appearing in the 
pulpit wherever the opportunity was afforded him. It was in this 
way most of the money to build the Monastery was obtained, either 
by the Abbot himself or by others of the community, whom he sent 
questing ; but there were some few instances of large-hearted generosity, 
which were due to the spontaneous liberality of the donors or to an 



52 

impulse of goodness prompted by some friends of the monks. Two 
such instances deserve special mention. The Duke of Devonshire, at 
the very beginning of the foundation, sent a donation of one hundred 
pounds, in answer to an appeal made to him by the Rev. P. Fogarty, 
Dom Vincent's great friend. The second instance was the noble act 
of Mr. Keating, a Catholic merchant of Dungarvan. The monks from 
the first were invariably largely in his debt for building materials; on 
one occasion the bill seemed in their eyes to pass all bounds, and they 
felt ashamed to add to it by further demands, but were at last compelled 
to do so. To their great surprise and delight, the brother who had 
been sent for the new material returned with his two drays loaded, and 
with a clear receipt in his hands for the old bill. The debt thus given up 
amounted to £900. Mr. Keating, on hearing of the monks' embarrassed 
state, simply told the brother to select what materials he wanted, then, 
going quietly into his office, he wrote the receipt and handed it to the 
brother, as unostentatiously as if there had been question of only a few 
shillings. 

To Dom Bruno Fitzpatrick, who was elected Abbot in Septem- 
ber, 1848, and who presided over the destinies of Mount Melleray 
for forty-five years, it remained to consolidate and perfect the work 
of which Abbot Vincent had laid the foundation. He spared no effort 
and under his rule the stability and permanence of the institute became 
assured. By steady toil the barren mountain was reclaimed and gave 
place to green meadows, and tracts of carefully cultivated land, while 
groves and dense plantations sprang up, forming a barrier against the 
biting blasts which sweep down the bleak mountain side. Two other 
great works are to be ascribed to the- energy of Abbot Bruno. The 
first of these was the foundation of the two Abbeys of New Melleray, 
Dubuque, Iowa, U.S.A., and Mount St. Joseph's, Roscrea, Co. Tipperary. 
The former of these met with great difficulties at its beginning. Its 
community was very fervent and its two first Superiors had the honour 
of being raised to the episcopal dignity, occupying respectively the sees 
of Dubuque and Omaha. The latter of the two foundations, Mount 
St. Joseph's, Roscrea, was a great success from the outset. It now 
possesses a fine college and a flourishing and fervent community. But 
the outstanding and conspicuous feature of Abbot Bruno's works was 
the foundation of the Seminary at Mount Melleray. Originating in a 
small school formed by Abbot Vincent in June, 1843, and placed under 
the direction of Dom Clement Smyth, the College attained under Abbot 
Bruno and his successors high rank and importance. From this Seminary 
have gone forth not only holy and zealous priests who may be found 
in every English speaking country, but also distinguished members 



53 

of the Episcopacy. Abbot Bruno finished his long career by a peaceful 
and holy death on December 4th, 1893. His successor, Dom Carthage 
Delaney, was blessed in January, 1894, and for fifteen years he presided 
over Mount Melleray. While he was Superior the new Physics Hall 
and Laboratory were completed and the Seminary greatly improved. 
Improvements are still being effected and every endeavour is being made 
to raise the standard of the college to the highest pitch of excellence. 
Dom Maurus O'Phelan was elected Abbot on May 9th, 1908, and 
received the Abbatial Benediction from the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan, 
Bishop of Waterford. on August 15th, 1908, in presence of a large and 
distinguished assembly of the clergy and laity. He still continues to 
guide the destinies of Mount Melleray and has several important under- 
takings in hand. Domestic buildings of the latest type and fitted with 
all modern appliances and conveniences are now in course of construction 
and add considerably to the utility and beauty of the Abbey. Through- 
out the Abbey little attempt was made at style or architecture, still the 
graceful Gothic spire pointing heaven-wards, crowns a noble and im- 
posing pile of buildings. The present community of Mount Melleray 
under Dom Maurus O'Phelan numbers fifty-eight Choir Religious 
(twenty-nine of whom are Priests) and twenty-nine Lay Brethren. 



II. — Convent of Mercy. Cappoquin. 
St. Teresa's Convent of Our Lady of Mercy, Cappoquin, was founded 
on the 26th November, 1850, from the Convent of Mercy, Wexford, 
and it was the first Convent of the Institute established in the Diocese 
of Waterford. The year 1849 witnessed at Cappoquin an outbreak 
of a political nature. On Sunday night, September 16th, the police 
barrack was attacked by an armed party. "A few shots, a short 
struggle, and it was all over. When the smoke cleared off and lights 
were brought the stiff, cold limbs of one poor fellow gave proof that 
the conflict, abrupt and rapid as it was, had been fatal. The whole 
affair was a mystery. Without the least notice, without a word of 
warning, it had burst upon that quietest, sweetest village of the Black- 
water, leaving hardly the faintest trace behind.'' The priests, the police, 
and the magistrates were all bewildered. A company of soldiers was 
established in the town, and, strange as it may seem, this was one 
of the means God made use of to introduce the Sisters of Mercy. In 
October the Parish Priest. Rev. J. Walsh, resigned and was succeeded 
in the same month by the Rev. Michael Spratt, Parish Priest of Knock- 
anore. He found that owing to the presence of the military the morals 
of the youthful females of the town were endangered, moreover that 



54 

a good deal of proselytism amongst the famine-stricken poor was going 
on. In the face of these difficulties it occurred to him to procure a few- 
members of an active, religious order who would go about amongst the 
people and help to turn their feet from the snares which beset them. 
At first he went to Dublin and made his request to the Superioress 
of the Irish Sisters of Charity. Failing here he tried the Sisters of Mercy, 
Baggot Street, and was referred by them to the Convent of the Order 
in Wexford, then governed by the devoted Mother Teresa Kelly, a sketch 
of whose life entitled, "One of God's Heroines," from the gifted pen of 
"Grace Ramsey" (Kathleen O'Meara) is well worth perusal. This saintly 
religious having been informed beforehand of the purport of Father 
Spratt's visit descended to the parlour with a sorrowful heart, feeling 
obliged owing to the fewness of the members of her community to refuse 
his request ; when, however, on entering, she found the venerable priest 
kneeling in supplication before a small statue of the Blessed Virgin which 
stood on the table, with arms outstretched in the form of a cross as was 
his wont to pray, her heart, as the saying is, went out to him, and she 
resolved, cost what it might, that a branch from the community should 
go to Cappoquin. All preliminaries having been arranged the three 
Sisters chosen for the foundation left Wexford on November 25th, 
1850. These were — Sister M. Vincent Fanning, Sister M. de Sales 
Doyle, and Sister M. Catherine Devereux. They were accompanied by 
Rev. Mother Teresa and a novice. They arrived in Waterford after 
a tedious journey by car, and remained for the night at the Ursuline 
Convent, where they were very hospitably entertained. On the follow- 
ing day, the Feast of St. John of the Cross, they presented themselves 
before the Bishop, the Most Rev. Dr. Foran, who appointed Sister 
M. Vincent Superioress of the new foundation, and Sister M. de Sales 
Mother-Assistant. He sent his carriage with them as far as Dun- 
garvan, and ever afterwards proved himself a kind father and generous 
benefactor to the struggling community. In the evening of that day 
between six and seven o'clock the nuns reached Cappoquin. They 
were received by the curate, Rev. Richard Walsh, and conducted to 
their temporary home. This was a small house in the Main Street 
with a disused shop in front. The house was very scantily furnished 
but the Sisters tried to make the best of it, but what was their surprise 
when after a few days one "neighbour" dropped in for the chair she 
had lent, another for the table, until scarcely a single article was left. 
The establishment consisted of five rickety chairs which were carried 
upstairs or downstairs as. needed. When the signal was given for Office 
each Sister was seen going to the room intended for a chapel laden with 
her chair ; other articles were just as scarce ; one spoon did duty for 



55 

half a dozen, and the refectory was so small that few as were the Sisters 
the}' had to divide — one half remaining outside till the others had dined. 
Yet, long after, the Sisters used to declare that they never spent such 
merry, happy days as in those early times. The duties of the Institute 
were undertaken at once — charge of the poor, visitation of the sick, 
and the instruction of adults. 

In January, 1851, the Sisters took possession of their permanent 
abode, a house opposite the Parish Church and schools, and, as they 
had no chaplain, they were obliged to go out each morning to Mass, 
which from the Nuns' arrival was said daily in the Parish Church. They 
called the new Convent St. Teresa's, more in memory of their beloved 
Superioress than of her seraphic patroness. The Convent was enlarged 
from time to time by taking in adjoining houses— nine in number alto- 
gether. The front faced the street and looked gloomy and uninviting 
enough, but from the garden at the back the view though confined was 
very lovely. 

In 1851 a pension school for children of the middle classes was 
undertaken. It was closed in 1854, re-opened in 1856, and finally 
closed in 1863, the parents consenting to send their children to the 
common school. The Parish Priest built an addition to the existing 
schools as a school of industry for the young girls of the town. Muslin 
embroidery and point lace-making were taught and found to be fairly 
remunerative, aiding man}- starving families. Famine was stalking 
through the land, and many in Cappoquin were suffering from its effects. 
Children were often carried into the school and laid on the floor, unable 
to stand from hunger and weakness, that they might get their share of 
the scant}' portion of food the Sisters were able to divide amongst them. 

New members entered the Convent, and in 1854, on the Feast of 
the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin, four members of the Sisterhood 
went to found a Convent in Dungarvan. Both houses remained united 
under the same Super'or until 1869, when the two communities be- 
came independent, Mother Vincent Fanning remaining as Superior in 
Dungarvan, and Mother Joseph Mahony being appointed Superior m 
Cappoquin. 

In 1863 a foundation, consisting of three Sisters, was sent to Cahir 
with Mother Teresa Phelan as Superior of the new Convent, In this 
year also a Sunday school was established for the benefit of young girls 
who could not attend day school, or who, having finished their education, 
wished to continue to improve themselves under the guidance of the 
Sisters. Reading and writing were taught and religious instruction 
given. Numbers attended, particularly farm servants, and it effected 
much good. A lending library was also established. 



56 

Six years later the community experienced an irreparable loss, 
the effects of which overshadowed them for many years, in the death 
of their revered pastor and founder, the Rev. Michael Spratt, at the 
age of seventy years. Possessed of every priestly virtue, he was father, 
friend, guide and counsellor to the community for twenty years. On 
the 20th of May, 1870, he had a fall from his horse, and on the 4th of 
June following, which was, that year, the vigil of Pentecost, he died 
quite suddenly, there being barely time to administer the last Sacraments. 
To the nuns he bequeathed by will his whole property. A relative of 
the deceased Parish Priest entered a caveat against the probate of the 
will, but the latter was obtained at considerable loss. 

In 1873 a certificate was obtained from Government, through the 
exertions of Charles Kennedy, Esq., Dublin, for the establishment of 
an Industrial School for boys. It had been earnestly desired by the 
community that the school should be for the training of girls for domestic 
service, but too many schools of the kind being already in existence 
no certificate for such would be granted. The house occupied by the 
late Rev. M. Spratt, with the adjoining grounds, bequeathed by him 
to the community, was devoted to the purpose. But almost immediately 
a large portion had to be ceded to the W. D. & T. Railway Co. at a great 
loss. In 1875, at the request of the Rev. T. Casey, P.P., a Convent 
was founded in Stradbally from this house. The foundation stone of 
the new Industrial School was laid on the 19th June, 1876, by the Rev. 
P. Power, P.P. The new building was erected on the ground adjoining 
the former school, and the latter was converted into a residence for 
the Sisters in charge. The architect was Mathew O'Keeffe, C.E., and 
the builder, Mr. Sheehan, Modeligo. It is a plain brick building 
cemented on the outside, two storeys high, airy and commodious, and 
well adapted to the purpose to which it is devoted. In 1885 a new 
wing was added, consisting of infirmary and workroom, and still later 
a play hall was built. The people of the town contributed very 
generously according to their means. The school is for the training of 
boys between the ages of six and nine. Over three hundred children 
have already passed through it, and been transferred to senior schools 
or otherwise provided for. 

By the desire of the Most Rev. Dr. Power, a branch house was 
established at Kilmacthomas in 1878 to take charge of the Poor House 
Infirmary and Fever Hospital, and also to undertake the matronship. 
Four Sisters were required for the village schools as well, making 
in all eight members for the Kilmacthomas filiation. This community 
continued united to Cappoquin until 1882, when it became an inde- 
pendent establishment. 

Constant efforts were made by the community to obtain permanent 



57 

lucrative employment for the girls of Cappoquin. Many industries were 
taught, and in 1882 the manufacture of straw envelopes for bottles was 
set on foot. Mrs. Carroll, an inhabitant of the town and very great 
benefactress of the county, gave £150 to purchase requisites and help 
on the work. It proved very successful, but in 1886 the failure of the 
barley crop raised the price of straw, and the work had to be abandoned 
as no profit would accrue. 

In May, 1892, Dr. Cani, Bishop of Kockhampton, Queensland, 
visited the Convent and asked for some Sisters to help those who were 
already working in that distant portion of the Lord's Vineyard. Of 
those who generously offered to go, three were chosen. They sailed 
in October of that year and send cheering accounts of their new home. 
A branch house was founded at Ardmorc in 1900 by Mrs. Geo. 
Barry of Cork, in memory of her sister, Mother M. Teresa Dwyer, who 
died a most saintly death the previous year. 

A new Convent, on a site half a mile distant from Cappoquin, was 
erected in 1903 and the community removed thither on November 21st 
of that year. At the same time a new Cemetery was provided in the 
Convent grounds, and the remains of ten sisters who had died in the 
old Convent were removed thereto. 

The latest charitable work undertaken by the communtiy is a public 
laundry to give employment to the young girls of the town. The sick 
visited in their own homes are about six hundred annually. Besides 
this a dispensary for the poor is open in the Convent daily ; sores 
are dressed, simple ailments prescribed for, and remedies applied; about 
two thousand six hundred cases are attended to during the year. 

One of the greatest privileges the community enjoys is an Associa- 
tion of Prayer and good Works with the Monks of Mount Melleray. 
From the Cistercian community the Sisters have received many kind- 
and to its prayers they owe innumerable blessings. 
Superiors who have governed the community : — 

Mother Vincent Fanning from 1850 to 1859. 

Mother Joseph Mahoney from 1859 to 1871. 

Mother Catherine Devereux from 1871 to 1877. 

Mother Teresa Dwyer from 1877 to 1883. 

Mother Catherine Devereux from 1883 to 1886. 

Mother M. Augustine O'Shea from 1886 to 1889. 

Mother M. Catherine Devereux from 1889 to 1890. 

Mother Evangelist Crosbie from 1890 to 1893. 

Mother M. Joseph Cullen, 1893 to 1899. 

Mother M. Evangelist Crosbie, 1899 to 1902. 

Mother M. Joseph Cullen, 1902 to 1908. 

Mother M. Berchmans Kirwan, 1908 to 1911. 



Parish of Carrickbeg and Windgap. 



The present parish embraces the ancient parishes of Kilmoleran, Disert, 
and Fenoagh. The Patron Saint of Carrickbeg is Saint Molleran, 
who may possibly be identical with St. Aileran, the Wise, of the Irish 
martyrologies. No special devotion is practised in his honour, nor as 
far as the writer is aware has there ever been any. The Patron Saint 
of the church of Windgap is Saint Bartholomew, in whose honour there 
is no special devotion either. It is very curious, by the way, how 
many old churches in Ireland are dedicated to St. Bartholomew under 
his Irish name, Parthanan. 

The belfry and tower and almost all the northern side of the 
Parochial Church of Carrickbeg are remains of the old Franciscan Friary 
which was erected in 1336 by public charity upon a site given bj' James, 
first Earl of Ormonde. This friary was surrendered in 1540. The present 
church is much wider but shorter than the Franciscan Church which 
it has replaced. The old church came out as far as the road — that is, 
it projected about seven yards beyond the vestibule of the present church. 
At the western end, facing the road, was a very large arched doorway and 
the walls, it is said, was built on arches. Rev. Michael Power it was who 
restored the old Franciscan Church to Catholic usage, in 1827. The ruin 
of the Monastery was at the time in possession of Richard Sausse, Esq., 
who, with characteristic generosity and piety, made it over in trust to 
five laymen for the use of the parish. His name is commemorated on a 
mural tablet within the church : — "Sacred to the memory of Sir Mathew 
Sausse, fourth son of Richard Sausse, Esqr., of Carrick-on-Suir and Anns- 
boro, Co. Kilkenny, late Chief Justice of The High Court of Bombay ; the 
first Roman Catholic who ever sat on the Indian Bench, of Ancient 
Lineage, the model of a highminded gentleman, he married on 27th 
November, 1866, Charlotte, youngest daughter of Lord Lovat, and died 
without issue on the 5th November, 1867, aged 58 years, a righteous 
death at Killarncy House, scat of Viscount Castlcrosse. This slender 
tribute to his beloved memory and worth was offered by his only sur- 
viving brother, Sir Richard Dc La Saussaye, Major-Gcneral of the Armies 
of Spain." In the year 1827 a case relative to the Convent of Carrickbeg 
was stated for Counsel, in the person of O'Connell. The Querists proved 
that by purchase arrangements this Monastery with the monastic lands 
became vested in Henry Straflan, Esq., and were purchased from his sue- 



59 

cessor by Richard Sausse, Esq., of Carrick, in whose possession they now 
wire. The Monastery aforesaid, was in the parish of Kilmolleran in the 
L'c Hint y Waterford, and since its surrender by the late Guardian was suffered 
to fall into decay. The Roman Catholic clergyman and his parishioners 
were then rebuilding it for the purpose of divine worship, but the Pro- 
testant rector, who had no church, threatened to possess himself of it 
when repaired. The parish was vicarial and rectorial, and the vicar 
was in possession of the parish church (Protestant), where he and his 
curate regularly officiated. The rector had a sinecure, as there was 
never more than one church in the parish. Under these circumstances 
O'Connell was asked to say if the Roman Catholic clergyman and his 
flock could be prevented from using the Abbey, which was private 
property, when rebuilt as a place of worship, or could the Protestant 
rector, then or at any future time, take possession of it. O'Connell 
advised the Querists to be under no apprehension from the threats of 
the Protestant rector, who had clearly no right to obstruct them in the 
repairing of the Monastery or to take possession of it when these repairs 
were completed. On this assurance the church was rebuilt, and it has 
ever since been used as the Catholic Parish Church, the rector not deem- 
ing it wise to interfere. Adjoining the church is a graveyard nicely 
enclosed by wall and railings. Before the present church had been secured 
for Catholic worship the people used an older Parochial Church which 
stood to the rear of the modern Courthouse. This was cruciform in 
shape, with galleries in the transepts, and a gallery also opposite the high 
altar. There still can be seen a portion of the wall which stood at the 
back of the high altar, and it bears traces of windows and even of the 
altar piece, which consisted of a painted picture of the crucifixion. 
There was also a little chapel or a house used as a chapel opposite the 
old lime kiln, about one hundred and fifty yards from the new bridge. 
Whether this was a predecessor or coteraporary of the old chapel just 
described there is nothing to indicate. 

The present church of Windgap was built in the year 1870 by Rev. 
Nicholas Phelan on the site of an older church, regarding the age of 
which there is no information. The architect was J. J. McCarthy. 

There are three National Schools in the parish — one, a mixed school, 
at 'Windgap, and two (male and female), erected by Rev. John McGrath, 
at Crchana. 

The Catholic population of the parish is estimated at nineteen 
hundred, and baptisms number about twenty-two in the year. There 
was a mission given here in the year 1871 by the Jesuit Fathers, and 
another in 1894 by the Vincentients. The religious sodalities are the 
Living Rosary, Sacred Heart Society, and the League of the Cross. 



60 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. William Kennedy, residing at Carrickbeg, and ordained in 
1675 by the Archbishop of Paris, was Parish Priest in 1704. His im- 
mediate successor was most probably Rev. John Duggan, who died in 
1762, having been forty-two years Parish Priest of Carrickbeg. 

Rev. William Lonergan succeeded Father Duggan in 1762 and sur- 
vived till 1804. Under date October 14th, 1797, "Finn's Leinster 
Journal" records that Rev. Mr. Lonergan had publicly denounced one 
Stephen Devany, a notorious perjurer and approver, for "informing" 
against certain parishioners of Carrickbeg. He was succeeded by Rev. 
Mr. O'Meara, translated two years later to Clonea. Rev. Michael Rourke 
comes next ; he was translated to Portlaw in 1813. 

Rev. Patrick Wall, who was the patron for many years of the Irish 
scribe, Thomas O'Hickey, succeeded to the pastorate but was transferred 
to Clonea in 1825. 

Rev. Michael Power, popularly known as "the Master," was ap- 
pointed in 1825 and was, in turn, translated to Stradbally in 1834. It 
was he who built the present serviceable parish church, literally on the 
ruins of the old Franciscan edifice. A tablet inserted in the front wall 
commemorates the erection of the church by the "parishoners," which 
gave occasion to the witty Parish Priest of Carrick to observe that his 
confrere of Carrickbeg had knocked an eye out of his parishioners. 

Father Power's immediate successor was Rev. Patrick Gaffney 
who died in 1849 and was succeeded, in turn, by {a) Rev. Timothy 
Dowley, translated in 1852 to Clonea, and {b) Rev. John McGrath, 
transferred in 1857 to Portlaw. 

Rev. Richard Henebry succeeded Father McGrath in 1857, and 
dying in 1862 was succeeded by his brother, Rev. Robert Henebry ; 
the latter died in 1866. Rev. Nicholas Phelan succeeded in 1866, and 
was translated to Gammonsfield in 1874, in which year Rev. Edmund 
Mooncy began his pastorate, which continued till his death, at the 
age of 82 years, in 1902. Father Mooncy erected the present Parish 
Priest's residence. 

Rev. Martin Power succeeded, and was transferred to Dunhill 
in 1907, to be succeeded in Carrickbeg by Rev. Philip Power. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
There are four ancient cemeteries (scil., Churchtown, Fenoagh, 
Carrickbeg, and Kilmolcran) still in use, but in none of these are there 
any remains of the pre-suppression church, if we except Churchtown 
(Disert) where there are some inconsiderable relics of the older sacred 
edifice. These latter consist of a two or three yards of featureless side 



61 

wall in ashlar masonry. In this cemetery are two or three interesting 
inscriptions on recumbent gravestones. One, bearing date 1587, com- 
memorates John Butler Fitzgerald, of Bolendisert, and his wife ; another, 
less ancient by some sixty years, marks the last resting place of Charles 
Everard, grandson of Sir John Everard of Fethard. Churchtown is also 
variously known as Ballintemple and Disert, Dysart, or Desart. It is 
called in the annals — Disert Nairbre. A religious establishment was 
founded here, as early as the 6th century, by St. Aidan or Mogue, 
probably the patron of Ferns. There appear to have been two saints 
(if the name, both Ulster men, both nearly if not exactly cotem- 
poraries, and both connected with Wexford — one as Bishop of Ferns 
the other as Abbot of Clonmore. When Mogue (according to the 
account in Colgan), with his companions reached the eastern shore of 
Waterford harbour on their journey to the Deeies they sought in vain 
for boats to transport them across. On the saint's suggestion however 
the horses were urged forward to the water, on which they walked across 
dry shod. The old cemetery known as Relig-na-muc, at Carrickbeg, con- 
tains the site of the ancient parish church of Kilmoleran. There are 
no remains, though probably some of the materials of the old church were 
used in the building of an absurd mausoleum erected to one Morgan 
Hayes, somewhat noted in his days as a duellist, &c. The cemetery is 
remarkable for the number of inscribed monuments to old-time priests of 
Carrick and Carrickbeg. A recumbent grave slab with a long Latin 
inscription covers the ashes of Dr. Creagh, Bishop of Waterford and 
Lismore, who died 1775. Attached to the parish church of Carrickbeg 
is another ancient cemetery already alluded to ; this is, of course, the 
old Friary burial ground, and it is very probably the site of the ancient 
cloisters. From the nature of the place the cloisters can hardly have 
been placed in Carrickbeg at the north side of the church as they 
usually are in Franciscan houses. The old cemetery — at Fenoagh — 
marks, as is evident from its circular outline, the site of an early Celtic 
church. Within the cemetery or at its entrance there stood, forty years 
ago, an ogham inscribed pillar which has since disappeared and been 
destroyed. 

A quarter of a mile or thereabout from Carrickbeg, on the old Mothel 
road is a reputed holy well — St. Molleran's — to which devotees, it is said, 
at one time, resorted. There are also at Coolnamuck two wells bearing 
some reputation for sanctity or supernatural virtue. One is St. 
Anthony's, which formerly had a "pattern" but has now lost not only 
its reputation for sanctity but practically its very name. The other, 
"St. Vallery's," is better remembered. The real name of this latter is 
Toberavalley (CobAp a De^UMg, i.e. "Well by the Roadway") which 
ignorant place name rendering has made "St. Vallery's" ! 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
Franciscan Convent. 

The Franciscan Convent of Carrick-on-Suir, in the Barony of Upper- 
third, Co. Waterford, was founded in 1336, by James, Earl of Ormond. 
John Clynn was the first Guardian, but, soon after his appointment, he 
retired to the Convent of his Order at Kilkenny, where he is said to 
have written the greater part of his "Annals of Ireland," a Latin work 
of considerable historical importance. 

On the 21st February, 1347, a license was granted to Earl James, 
the founder, permitting him to alienate a messuage and ten acres of 
land with their appurtenances to the Friars for the purpose of erecting 
a house for themselves thereon, and by the assistance of various charities 
they built a small church, dormitory and cloister, but they left the 
other offices unfinished. The Carrick Convent fell into ruin, and was 
refounded in 1447 by Edward McRichard, grandson of James, third 
Earl of Ormond, and grandfather of Pierce, eighth Earl. 

The last Superior was William Cormoke. Carrickbcg Convent was 
suppressed in 1540, when the Friary with its appurtenances, twelve 
messuages, ten gardens, and one hundred and fifty acres in the vicinity 
of Carrick, was granted to Thomas, Earl of Ormond. The steeple of 
this Monastery, dedicated to St. Michael, still remains, and is a very 
curious building about sixty feet in height, rising from a single stone 
like an inverted pyramid, of which the point begins several feet from 
the ground in the side wall of the church. 

According to the "Relatio Status Dioecesis" for 1687 there was a 
residence of Franciscans in the town of Carrick in which there were 
only two religious. 

The present Friary Chapel was erected near the site of an humble 
predecessor in the year 1822 by the Rev. Michael Fleming, afterwards 
Bishop of Newfoundland. In 1894 a new Convent was erected. 

Dr. M. A. Fleming, O.S.F., fourth Bishop of Newfoundland, was 
born near Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary, in the year 1792. His 
uncle, Father Martin Fleming, was Guardian of the Franciscan Convent, 
Carrick, and the nephew desired after his example to join the Order of 
St. Francis. On the 15th of October, 1815, the young Franciscan was 
ordained priest by the Bishop of Ferns. Soon after he was appointed 
to Carrick under his uncle and commenced the usual missionary duties 
of an Irish friar. The old conventual chapel had been built just at 
the cessation of the persecutions, and was, as might be expected, a 
poor and unpretentious edifice. With the permission of his uncle, Father 
Fleming pulled it down and commenced the building of the present 



63 



church. Before he had time to complete the work lie left Ireland in 
1823, at the pressing invitation of Right Rev. Dr. Scallan, for Newfound- 
land. A year or two later he was recalled by his Provincial, but Dr. 
Scallan represented to the Propaganda the great dearth of missionaries 
in Newfoundland. Accordingly, by a rescript Father Fleming's obedience 
was transferred from the Irish Province to the Vicar Apostolic of New- 
foundland. Father Fleming, on his arrival in St. John's, took the matter 
of Catholic education in hands, and succeeded in spite of grave 
difficulties in placing it on a fairly satisfactory basis. At the request of 
Dr. Scallan, the young and successful missioner was nominated Coad- 
jutor Bishop, with the right of succession. Soon after his consecration 
Dr. Fleming commenced his episcopal duties by visiting Conception 
Bay, and while there he was summoned in May, 1830, to attend the 
death bed of Bishop Scallan, and to assume the complete government 
of the vicariate. For thirty years he laboured with a zeal and with a 
success that has rarely been equalled in the records of missionary work. 
He died on the 28th of May, 1850, and was interred in the new 
cathedral. 

List of Guardians of Franciscan Convent, Carrick-on-Suir : — 



Year. Guardian. 

1629 Vacat. 

1645 Father Ant. Sweetman. 

1647 Jos. Saul. 

1648 

1650 Jas. Kearney. 

1658 Vacat. 

1659 

1661 

1669 Fras. Fleming. 

1670 Jas. Vitus. 
1672 Jas. White. 
1675 Bon. Butler 
1676 

1678 
1680 
1681 Fras. Tobin. 

1683 Bon. Butler, junr. 

1684 Jas. Everard. 

1685 Fr. Norish. 
1687 

1689 Maur. Dwyll. 

1690 Fr. Doile. 



Year. Guardian. 

1693 Fr. Doile. 

1697 Paul Ryan. 

1699 

1700 Ant. Mandeville. 

1702 

1703 

1705 Fr. Doyle. 

1706 Bon. Mandeville. 

1708 Fr. Doyle. 

1709 Ant. Mandeville. 
1711 Fr Doyle. 

1714 Ant. Mandeville. 

1716 J. Woodlock. 

1717 Laur. Ryan. 

1719 Florent Browden. 

1720 Martin Connell. 
1724 Flor. Browden. 
1727 Patritius Connell. 
1733 Florent Browden. 
1742 Thos. Bacon. 
1744 Jno. Bacon. 
1745 



Year. Guardian. 


Year. Guardian. 


1747 Thos. Bacon. 


1828 Ant. Fleming, Ex-C 


1748 Patk. Walsh. 


1830 


1751 Peter McNamara. 


1831 Ludoc Hourigan. 


1753 Petrus Ouann. 


1832 Didecus Ahern. 


1754 


1834 Pet. Lonergan. 


1755 Jas. Davis. 


1836 Jos. Killian. 


1757 Richd. Kenellv. 


1837 


1759 


1840 


1760 P. Quann. 


1843 Austin Conwey. 


1761 R. Kenelly. 


1845 Laur. Shiel. 


1763 Petrus Ouann. 


1847 


1765 Jnn. Davis. 


1848 


1767 Ml. O'Brien. 


1849 Peter Gibbons. 


1770 J. Davis. 


1851 


1772 Ml. Dowley. 


1855 


1773 


1860 Thos. Prendergast. 


1776 F. Power. 


1861 


1778 Fr. Power. 


1864 Ambrose Murphy. 


1779 Ant. FitzGibbon. 


1866 


1781 Fr. Power. 


1867 Jas. O'Keeffe. 


1784 


1869 Ambr. Murphy. 


1785 Ant. Fleming. 


1870 Alp. Donnellan. 


1787 Franciscus Power. 


1872 Amb. Keating. 


1790 Thos. O'Donnell. 


1875 Bon. Prendergast. 


1793 Ant. Fleming. 


1876 Laur. Browne. 


According to a .MS. Diary in the writer's 
possession. Father Francis Power was 
appointed this year to the Guardianship. 

1794 Ant. Fleming. 


1878 

1879 Leonard Brady. 

1881 


1796 


1882 


1800 


1884 Fr. McDermott. 


1801 
1803 
1804 
1806 Ant. Fleming, Def. 


1885 Leonard Baldwin. 

1886 

1887 

1888 


1809 

1815 Ant. Fleming, Ex-C. 


1889 

1890 


1819 


1891 


1819 
1822 
1824 
1825 
1827 


1892 Clement O'Neill. 

1893 

1894 

1895 



Parish of Carrick-orvSuir & Newtown- 
Lennon (otherwise, Faheen). 



The patrons are St. Nicholas of Myra (Carrick-on-Suir) and All 
Saints (Newtown). The Baptismal Registers, which are somewhat 
mutilated, go back to 1784. The feast of St. Nicholas of Myra, 6th 
December, has from time immemorial been kept with solemnity, and 
of later years it has been preceded by a retreat. For some years past 
the feast has been celebrated with the ceremonies of Ouarant Ore 
which stimulate great devotion. 

The present beautiful churches of Carrick and Newtown were erected, 
in 188(1 and 1885 respectively, by Very Rev. R. Fitzgerald, P.P., from 
designs by Ashlin. They are both Romanesque in character. A com- 
mittee of priests and people of which the inspiring spirit was Rev. Paul 
Power, C.C., collected funds and supervised the work which cost £20,000. 
The Newtown church was erected for about £2,000. Father Fitzgerald 
contributed munificently towards the cost of both churches and at death 
left the residue of his property to clear the church debt and benefit local 
charities. Curiously enough the churches replaced at Newtown and 
Carrick by the present buildings had also been erected at the same 
time, scil. :— in 1804, by Rev. John McKenna, P.P. The older church of 
Carrick was eighty-two feet long by sixty-two feet, and was furnished with 
large galleries, seventeen feet in width, running right round three sides of 
the interior ; it was capable of accommodating fifteen hundred persons. 
The structure of 1804 was erected on the site of yet another (older) church, 
a chapel of the Penal days, which had to be pulled down as at the time 
of demolition it was in a tottering condition ; we are not told when 
this last mentioned church was erected. The original (pre-Reformation) 
church stood on site of the present Protestant church of Carrick. 

There are seven schools in the parish exclusive of the Poor Law 
Union Schools, viz. : — two Convent and two secular National Schools, 
two Brothers' Schools, and one Secondary or Pension School. There 
is also a Domestic Economy School presided over by the Sisters of Mercy, 
and a Lace and Needlework School directed by the Presentation Nuns. 

The total number of Catholics is about five thousand, according to 
latest census ; non-Catholics number about fifty or sixty. Baptisms 
average about one hundred and forty annually. 

In the town of Carrick are two ancient charities endowed by 
Catholics — (a) The Wadding Charity, established by Thomas Wadding in 



1756, and managed by Trustees under Commissioners of Charitable 
Bequests, and {b) The Burke Asylum, for respectable natives of Carrick, 
founded by Edmond Burke, a wealthy merchant of Waterford and native 
of Carrick. Mr. Burke bequeathed to the Asylum which bears his name 
a sum of £25,000. 

Pious Sodalities established in the parish are — the Living Rosary 
Society, the Society of the Blessed Virgin, the Society for the Propagation 
of the Faith, Sacred Heart Association, the League of the Cross, and 
the Society of St. Vincent de Paul. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Carrick is one of the few parishes in the diocese that can trace 
their succession of pastors for over two centuries. 

Rev. Daniel Duggan, ordained in Paris, 1666, was registered at 
Nenagh as Parish Priest of Carrick-on-Suir in 1704. "Popish Parish 
Priests, ' is the term under which the registered clergy are referred to 
in the Registration returns, and the Act of Parliament under which the 
latter were made. An aggravation of the insult is more than insinuated 
in the official designation of their pastoral chirge, scil. : — "parishes of 
which they pretend to be Popish priests." 

Rev. P. McCarthy died 11th of August, 1746 ; he is buried in the 
old cemetery of Carrickbeg. A standing tombstone which marks his 
burial place is inscribed : — "Pray for the Soul of Father Patrick McCarthy, 
Parish Priest of Carrick-ne-Shure, who departed this life the 14th of 
August, 1746, in the 60th year of his age." From use of the title" Father," 
not at this date popularly applied to the secular clergy, it is fair to assume 
that Father McCarthy was a Regular. 

Rev. Francis Lane ; died January 25th, 1788, aged seventy-three 
years ; he was forty-two years Parish Priest of Carrick. Father Lane 
was probably the best Irish preacher of his day in Munster — when 
practically all preaching was in Irish. He was in every way an excel- 
lent pastor, but when he grew old and feeble he became very peevish 
and closefisted, insomuch that in his last years he largely forfeited the 
great esteem in which he was once held. In Father Lane's time the 
Bishop, Right Rev. Dr. Peter Creagh, resided in Carrick. A house in 
a lane off Main Street is pointed out as the quandam episcopal residence. 
Dr. Creagh died in 1777 after an episcopate of thirty years, and is buried 
in the old cemetery of Carrickbeg. Carrick was apparently a safe 
retreat for a hunted Bishop during the century following the Restor- 
ation. Two years from the Boyne, Dr. James Phelan, Bishop of Ossory, 
held an ordination there in which he promoted to priesthood at least 



67 

three candidates — one for Down and Connor, and one each for Meath 
and Killaloe. 

Rev. Mr. D'Arcy, appointed January 25th, 1788 ; died July 17th, 
1790. 

Rev. John McKenna appointed Parish Priest, July 19th, 1790; died 
1807, aged seventy years. Rev. John McKenna built the old parish 
churches of Carrick and Newtown in 1804 and following years. In his 
time also the Christian Brothers were introduced. He blessed the 
foundation stone of their monastery 14th of April, 1805, and there were 
present on the occasion Terence Doyle, the donor of the ground ; Rev. 
John O'Neill, Rev. Patrick Wall, Rev. W. Lonergan, P.P., Carrickbeg ; 
Rev. Matthew Power, P.P., Portlaw ; Rev. Thomas O'Connor, P.P., 
Ballyneale, &c. The schools were opened 6th of January, 1806. Father 
McKenna met his death while celebrating Mass in the Brothers' Chapel 
for the community. In August, 1791, Confirmation — for the first time 
in nineteen years — was administered in Carrick by Bishop William Egan. 

Rev. Win. Power appointed in 1807 ; he died in 1815, aged seventy- 
eight years. The Presentation Nuns were introduced by him in April, 
1813. " 

Rev. John O'Neill, appointed in 1815 ; he died in 1828, aged fifty- 
three years. 

Rev. Garrett Connolly, transferred from Dungarvan in 1828 ; he 
died 1862, aged seventy-eight years. 

Rev. Richard Fitzgerald, 1st of July, 1862; he died 1889, aged 
seventy-eight years. He built the present beautiful churches of Carrick 
and Newtown. He was nominated dignissimits for the mitre of Waterford 
and Lismore in 1873. 

Rev. Maurice Sheehan, was appointed Parish Priest February, 
1890 ; he died in 1896. 

Rev. Thomas McGrath, translated from Clogheen, became Parish 
Priest on the death of Father Sheehan and was translated to Lismore 
in 1898. 

Rev. John Power, translated from Abbeyside succeeded ; he was 
transferred to Dungarvan in 1902, and was replaced by Rev. Patrick 
Delanev, D.D., translated from Kilsheelan. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
At Ahena, otherwise Kilklispeen, are some scant remains of a 
Mediaeval church, erected no doubt on site of an earlier (Celtic) founda- 
tion. The cemetery attached contains remarkable monuments of the 
old Irish church in the shape of two beautiful Celtic crosses richly carved 



in ornamental rope work, &c. Newtown-Lennon Church ruin is of 
more than ordinary interest ; it is, in fact, so interesting that the Board 
of Works saw fit a few years since to expend some money on its 
preservation. 

On the townland of Mainstown is a rather noted Holy Well called 
Tobberessay (Colwn 1or\\) at which "rounds" and votive offerings 
were formerly made ; the well is of great size and volume. In the same 
neighbourhood, on the townland of Poulmaleen, is a quarry-like de- 
pression— ClAifin An Aippmn (Little Trench of the Mass), within which 
the Holy Sacrifice was offered in the Penal Days. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Presentation Convent. 

The Convent of the Presentation Order at Carrick-on-Suir was 
founded in 1813 from the Waterford house by Mother Jane De Chantal 
Power, accompanied by Sister Mary Paul Dwyer, Sister Mary De Sales 
Burke (the two latter were natives of Carrick), and Sister Mary Peter 
Smyth, a native of Kilkenny City. All these ladies possessed consider- 
able property which was devoted to the foundation, and all had entered 
the Waterford Presentation Convent for the purpose of serving their 
noviceship there, to establish a Convent of the Order in Carrick. The 
site for a convent and school and the rent of a house — both previously 
bequeathed by Mr. William Wadding for the support of a poor school — 
were the only bequests towards the foundation ; the project however 
received the cordial support of the Rev. William Power, then Parish 
Priest of Carrick-on-Suir, and of his zealous curate, Rev. J. O'Neill, 
who succeeded him as Parish Priest in 1814. The latter worthy and 
respected priest may be considered a very principal benefactor of the 
Convent, for he bequeathed to it the sum of £1,000. 

The Sisters opened school on the 3rd of May, 1813, in a small house 
within the present enclosure, and immediately commenced the erection of 
the present convent, a portion of which was set apart for school purposes. 
In the course of time various additions were made until, in the year 1880, 
the present commodious schools were erected at a cost of over £2,000, from 
designs by G. C. Ashlin, Esq., architect, Dublin, the old schools being con- 
verted into apartments for the use of the community. Since the opening 
of the new schools the attendance has increased considerably, and there 
are on the rolls at present the names of more than six hundred children ; 
of these a number are clothed and get breakfast during the winter months. 
After erection of the new schools the house bequeathed by Mr. Wadding 



69 

was converted into an Industrial Department, in which a number of 
poor girls from the town get employment at shirtmaking, hosiery, &c. 

In 1890 the community expended over £3,000 in the erection of 
the present Convent Chapel, which was built by Mr. J. Hearne, Waterford, 
and designed by Mr. Ashlin. On Christmas morning, 1891, the first 
Mass therein was said by the Very Rev. M. Sheehan, P.P., V.G., and on 
the 6th September the following year it was solemnly blessed and dedi- 
cated to the Sacred Heart of Our Lord by the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan, 
Bishop of Waterford. In 1894 it was decorated by Mr. J. Earley, 
Dublin, from Mr. Ashlin 's designs. 

The school play ground is a portion of the fair green given to the 
community by the Urban Council in 1895 ; it proves of inestimable 
benefit to the health of the children attending the Convent schools, 
giving them the advantage of out-door teaching during the summer 
months. 

II.— Christian Brothers' Monastery. 
Carrick was the second House of the Institute founded by Brother 
Edmond Ignatius Rice. In the year 1805 Brother Ignatius Mulcahy 
was sent from Mount Sion, Waterford, to initiate the work. A Mr. 
O'Brien, wine merchant, Waterford, desirous of devoting not only his 
means, but himself also, to the Christian education of youth, accompanied 
Brother Mulcahy to Carrick, bringing with him whatever he possessed. 
A site was secured on which a residence and schools were erected. The 
foundation stone was blessed by the Rev. John McKenna, P.P., and 
laid by Mr. Terence Doyle, the donor of the ground, in presence of the 
assembled clergy and people of the town and suburbs, 14th April, 1805. 
The schools were opened for the reception of children 6th January, 1806. 
The following year Brother Mulcahy was ordered to Dungarvan to open a 
house and schools there, and was succeeded in Carrick by Brother Joseph 
Hogan, who governed the community until 1817, when he died of typhus 
fever, to the great regret of the people of the town. As Mr. O'Brien's 
health was not equal to the arduous work of teaching he returned to 
his former business, which he carried on in Waterford to his death in 
1832. His remains, at his earnest request, were brought to Carrick 
and laid beside his early companion, Brother Joseph Hogan. Brother 
Patrick Corbett was the third Superior and governed the house from 
1817 to 1835, and from 1841 to 1860. He died in 1867 at an advanced 
age, and his memory has been held in great veneration by the people, 
amongst whom he laboured for so many years. In 1829 a remarkable 
testimony was borne to the Brothers and their work by the Protestant 
clergy and gentry of the town and district. They presented a petition 



70 

to Parliament praying that the Brothers might not be included in the 
clauses of the Catholic Relief Bill or Emancipation Act, which had 
regard to the Suppression of Monastic Orders. 

In 1840 the present beautiful schools were built by the then director, 
Brother Joseph Hcarne. An addition was made to the Brothers' 
residence in 1859, by the erection of an oratory ; an ordinary room of 
the house had served as a chapel for over half a century. The 
Very Rev. Dr. Connolly, Parish Priest, laid the foundation stone, 
and the oratory when finished was blessed by the Bishop, Most Rev. 
Dr. O'Brien. As the population of the town increased owing to the intro- 
duction of a linen factory two additional schools were built in the green, 
on the outskirts of the town. The Town Commissioners gave the site, 
and the Parish Priest, Very Rev. R. Fitzgerald, gave a donation of £50 
towards the work, and moreover organised a weekly collection to defray 
the cost of the building, which was opened for the reception of children 
in the year 1869. The year 1891 witnessed a further extension of the 
usefulness of the establishment by the opening of a Collegiate School 
at the Brothers' residence, under the patronage of the Very Rev. M. 
Sheehan, V.G. This school affords a commercial and classical education 
to boys of the town and district. 

Amongst the benefactors of the establishment may be mentioned 
the Rev. John O'Neill, P.P., Carrick, who died 24th November, 1828, 
and Mr. Michael McGrath, a native of Carrick, who died in America, 
12th December, 1853. 



III. — Convent ok Sisters of Mercy. 

On the invitation of the Very Rev. Dr. Fitzgerald, P.P., V.G., of 
Carrick-on-Suir, four Sisters came from Wexford to open a Convent 
in that town and took up their abode in a small house in New Street, 
March 9th, 1874. They removed in September of same year to their 
present residence, which had been a private dwelling known as the Red 
House. The community now numbers thirty-four members. 

A new wing was added to the original building in 1881 under the 
superintendence of Mr. Ashlin, architect, Dublin, and Mr. Hunt, builder. 
In 1893 a church, refectory, kitchen, community room, novitiate with 
cloisters, all of which are heated with hot water pipes, were erected on 
the site of the former kitchen and outhouses. The High School was 
opened in 1874 ; there are now about fifty children in attendance. The 
National School was opened in 1877 ; there arc over two hundred on 
rolls and a daily breakfast is given to the poorer children in attendance. 
Attached to the National School is an industrial room ; here constant 



71 

employment is given to about ten girls. Shit tmaking, plain dressmaking, 
lace making, embroidery, and all kinds of plain and fancy work are 
taught in this department. 

A House of Mercy was opened in June, 1890, at Deerpark, a short 
distance from the town. This place was found after a short time to 
be too small for the number of girls and the large amount of work to 
be done. The school was removed to the present spacious building 
at Springpark, March, 1894. About sixteen girls are taught laundry 
work, sewing and cooking, and when sufficiently trained to these and 
other useful domestic duties situations are obtained for them ; the pupils 
sent out up to the present time have given general satisfaction. About 
eight orphans are inmates of the House of Mercy, pending the erection of 
an orphanage ; these attend the National School. 

In 1882 three Sisters undertook the charge of the Workhouse Hospital. 
A residence attached to the latter building was erected for them in 1884, 
and in 1887 the female school was placed under the care of one of the 
Sisters. There is also in connection with the Convent a weaving industry, 
opened, 1893. Eight hand looms, a warping mill and spinning wheels, 
give constant employment to about ten girls. Towelling, sheeting, 
coarse and fine linen, dress lawns, handkerchiefs and serges are the 
chief fabrics woven. A hosiery factory was opened in 1894. Twenty 
knitting machines and a steam power winder give employment to between 
twenty and thirty girls. Machinery for washing, brushing, and pressing 
the hose is worked by a steam engine. 

Rev. Mothei M. Borgia was the first Superior of the Convent. 
She was first appointed Rev. Mother l"i six years, then elected again, 
1880, and re-elected, 1884. She died Pentecost Sunday same year. 

Rev. Mother M. Patrick Maguire, of Wexford, was elected in 1884, 
and re-elected 1887. In 1891 she went to New Zealand, to devote 
herself to foreign missionary work. 

Rev. Mother Mary of the Sacred Heart Maddock, of Wexford, was 
elected Superior 1890 and re-elected in 1893. 

Mother M. Teresa Nolan was the next Superior, elected in 1896, 
and succeeded in 1902. by Mother M. Frances Hurley, and in 1908 by 
Mother M. Agnes Walsh. 

Amongst the benefactors of the Convent the Very Rev. Dr. 
Fitzgerald, P.P., V.G., deserves special mention. His exceeding kind- 
ness to the Sisters on their arrival and during his life the community 
can never forget. Two others take a prominent place among the numbci 
of kind friends who have ever shown themselves warm supporters ol 
the Convent and its works, — Miss H. O'Donnell and Mr. Maurice Power, 
both of Carrick-on-Suir. 



72 



Parish of 
Clashmore and Piltown (Kinsalebeg). 



Saint Mochua, otherwise Cronin, is the patron of the parish of 
Clashmore. His feast is kept, locally, on the 10th of February, by visits 
to and prayers at a Holy Well, situate near Clashmore, and dedicated to 
him. St. Mochua, who was a disciple of St. Carthage of Lismore, founded 
here in the 7th century, a religious settlement where the saint and his 
household were murdered by pirates about 631. The Apostle, St. 
Bartholomew, is traditionally reputed to be the patron of the parish 
of Kinsalebeg, and his feast is kept on the 24th of August, by visits to 
the "Blessed Well" dedicated to him. On the Sunday nearest to the 
feast, a public "pattern" is held at the well and at the adjoining village 
of Piltown. The written parochial records go no farther back than the 
year 1810. 

Up to the year 1825, or thereabout, there appears to have been 
only a single church for the whole parish. This stood at a place still 
named "Old Chapel Cross Roads," where a small piece of wall said to 
be the remains of it is still pointed out. In the year named Rev. Michael 
O'Donnell, P.P., erected the present church of Piltown or Kinsalebeg 
and in the following year, the present church of Clashmore. The former 
church was renovated in 1861 by Rev. Gerald Long and the latter was 
similarly treated in 1891 by Rev. Jeremiah Long. 

The parish has six National Schools, viz. : — Piltown (two), Clash- 
more (two), Ballycurrane (a mixed school), and D'Loughtane (a mixed 
school). The present population of the parish is slightly above two 
thousand ; that this is only a fraction of the population seventy or 
eighty years ago is clear from the Baptismal Registers. In 1830, for 
instance, baptisms in the parish numbered two hundred and five per 
annum, five years later they had risen to two hundred and seventeen ; 
at present they are about forty-five ! 

Besides the Sacred Heart Society and the League of the Cross, 
existence of which is required by Diocesan Statute, the parish has a 
Living Rosary Confraternity. 



73 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

At date of the Registration of Parish Priests, in the beginning of 
the 18th century, Clashmorc parish was united to Aglish and White- 
church with Rev. Terence Sheehy as Parish Priest, and Kinsalebeg was 
joined to Ardmore and Grange with Rev. Richard Power as Parish 
Priest. The arrangement was doubtless provisional and short lived — 
to tide over the difficulties of the times. 

Later on, about the middle of the 18th century, Rev. William 
Brown was Parish Priest. He was uncle to the future Dean Hearn of 
Waterford, and gave to the latter and his distinguished brother Francis 
their first lessons in Latin. Father Brown was succeeded in the pastorate 
by his nephew, Rev. William Flynn, brother of Rev. Thomas 
Flynn, U.D., P.P., of St. Michael's, Waterford. An old silver chalice 
still in use in the parish was provided by Father Brown, with whose 
name it is inscribed. 

Rev. Fdmond Prcndergast was Parish Priest in 1810 and was most 
probably appointed only that year. He was succeeded five years later 
by Rev. Michael O'Donnell who built the present churches and died 
in 1832. 

Rev. Patrick Quirk, translated from Tooranecna, succeeded and 
held office twelve years, to be succeeded in turn by Rev. Michael Purccll, 
transferred from Ring. Rev. Gerald J. Long became Parish Priest on 
death of Father Purcell and was translated to Aglish in 1852, his brother, 
Rev. Jeremiah Long, being promoted in his stead to the pastorship of 
Clashmore. 

Rev. Jeremiah Long, was created Archdeacon of the Diocese in 1902, 
and died at a great age in 1903. His successor is Rev. Thomas Power. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
Scarcely any remains of the pre-Reformation churches of Kinsalebeg 
and Clashmore survive and the sites of both are occupied by ugly modern 
Protestant conventicles. There are in the parish many early Celtic church 
sites and the region abounds in "Hoi}' Wells." Of the church sites 
alluded to in the last sentence the following have been identified : — 
Kilmore, Kilgabriel, Kilmaloo (St. Moluadh's Church), Kilmeedy (St. 
Ita's), and Knockanaris (Citt Cotuim "Oeipg)- The Holy Wells are 
five in number — St. Mochua's and St. Bartholomew's already alluded 
to, St. Brigid's at Ardsallagh, St. Columdearg's at Knockaneris, and a 
well called CotK\p Utwcc^ ("Well of Penance") on the townland of 
Monatray. 



Parish of Clogheen and Burncourt. 



The modern ecclesiastical division named as above is in reality the 
old parish of Shanrahan, of very great extent, like Lismore, Ardmore, 
Templetenny, occ. 

The parish of Clogheen is dedicated to the Immaculate Conception, 
but the now recognised patron is Our Lady of the Assumption. Since the 
completion of the present new church in 1865, the 15th of August (Feast 
of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary) has been kept as the 
patronal feast and a very special day of devotion. A procession is 
generally held on that day in which the children of the National 
Schools, the members of the Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament, 
and recently the members of the Association of the Sacred Heart take 
part with banners, lighted candles, and flowers. On several of those 
Patron Days distinguished preachers such as the late lamented Very 
Rev. Joseph Phelan, V.G., Very Rev. Roger O'Riordan, Sec, edified 
and instructed the people. In 1893 the solemn devotion of the Forty 
Hours' Adoration was for the first time celebrated here with much 
fervour. Devotion to Our Lad}' of the Assumption has been traditional 
from a remote period in the parish of Burncourt. 

The present beautiful Gothic church of Clogheen was commenced 
during the pastorship of the Rcvd. John O'Gorman in 1862. The founda- 
tion stone was laid by the Most Revd. Dominic O'Brien, in the August 
of that year. It is considered to be one of the cheapest Gothic churches 
in Ireland, the original contract being £2,662. Mr. J.J. McCarthy was the 
architect, and the builder was Mr. J. Ryan, of Waterford. It is a very 
commodious edifice, solidly built of dressed limestone from one of the 
neighbouring quarries, and consists of nave and aisles, with a spacious 
sanctuary. The dimensions arc, total length — one hundred feet, by sixty 
feet wide. There are three fine altars, the principal of which cost £'600 ; 
the two side altars, one in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mar} - , the other 
in honour of St. Joseph, were erected by Mr. James Collins in memory 
of two of his children who died young. They were put up by Messrs. 
Early and Powell, of Dublin, and are of mixed material, i.e., white 
Galway and Kilkenny marbles. The church has six stained glass 
windows and a good organ by Telford and Telford, of Dublin. A most 
artistically wrought pulpit is erected at a cost of £150 to the memory 



75 

of the Revd. Wm. Shanahan, who collected in Australia £1,700 for the 
building of the church. The debt that remained after the completion 
of the building was soon paid off, and, in 1877, only £200 remained ; 
this amount was paid off by Revd. T. McGrath, Administrator, in 1879. 

The old cruciform chapel, which stood on the site of the present 
church, was built by Rev. M. Casey in 1830, and taken down by Father 
O 'Gorman in 1860-1. Previous to erection of the cruciform church of 
1830 a poor thatched chapel, situated in Chapel Lane, did duty as the 
parish church. This was demolished by Father Casey on completion of 
its successor. In the Baptismal Register appears the following note : — 
"Our new church, dedicated to the Immaculate Conception, was blessed 
and opened by the Right Rev. Dominick O'Brien, Bishop of Watcrford 
and Lismore, on Sunday, 11th of September, 1864." 

The parish of Burncourt has a low cruciform church of old type. 
This was erected in 1810 and underwent repairs in 1874, whilst Rev. 
T. Finn was Administrator. In 1885 Mrs. Galvin, of Burncourt, pre- 
sented a very line marble altar, as a memorial of her son, the Rev. 
James Galvin, who is interred in the chapel beside his half brother, the 
lamented Very Rev. Roger O'Riordan, President of St. John's College. 
This Burncourt Church is under the tutelage of Our Lady <»f the 
Assumption. 

The educational establishments of the parishes consist of three 
National Schools, scil. : — a male and a female school in Clogheen and 
a mixed school in Burncourt. The Sisters of Mercy have been in charge 
of the girls' school in Clogheen since 1886, and have been very successful 
in bringing their pupils up to more than the average standard of pro- 
ficiency. 

The parishes of Clogheen, Burncourt, and Ballyporeen were united 
probably about 1704, during the pastorate of Father Hyland, and so 
continued amalgamated down to the building of the chapel of Burncourt 
in 1810. The present division dates from completion of the chapel of 
Burncourt, in the pastorate of Father Anglin. 

The population of this parish has greatly diminished of recent 
years in consequence of emigration. The population of the little town 
of Clogheen in 1850 was one thousand five hundred and sixty-two ; in 
1890 the number had fallen to nine hundred and fifteen. The popula- 
tion of the parishes of Clogheen and Burncourt is at present about two 
thousand five hundred and twenty. The baptisms in 1874 were ninety- 
six ; in 1884 they had diminished to seventy-one, and at present they 
arc considerably less. 

In connexion with the religious status of the parish allusion may 
be made to the "pattern" that was annually held at Ballyshcehan. 



76 

Most revolting scenes of drunkenness and disorder occurred at these 
gatherings. There were frequent fights and very bloody ones, in which 
some unfortunate men were killed, and this scandal continued down to 
1865, when it was strenuously combatted and completely eradicated by 
the energy and zeal of Father Wm. Shanahan. 

The following Sodalities flourish in the parish : — Confraternity of 
the Blessed Sacrament, Association of the Sacred Heart, Confraternity 
of the Holy Family, and Confraternity of the Living Rosary. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. James Hyland, junior, residing at Rehill, and at the time 
aged thirty-six, was registered Parish Priest of Ballysheehan and Shanrg- 
heene in 1704. He had been ordained at Rehill, one of the retreats of 
hunted priests and bishops of the time, in September, 1692, by the famous 
Archbishop John Brenan. The designation junior suggests another 
Rev. James Hyland, most probably uncle to the registered pastor of 
1704. The elder Father Hyland, was Parish Priest during the Con- 
federation, Cromwellian and Williamite, wars and regimes. What worth 
his memoirs, or a diary of his, would have ! He lies buried in Bally- 
sheehan graveyard where a recumbent slab outside the south doorway 
records his name and age, &c. 

The next Parish Priest to whom we find reference is a Father White 
who resided in the townland of Kilcarron and appears to have been a 
religious — probably a Jesuit. 

In immediate succession, we find Rev. James Gleeson, D.D., who 
is buried in Shanrahan and whose death, the inscription on his 
tombstone tells us, took place in August, 1756, when he was in his 
seventy-second year. He built a chape] at Inch, within the parish, and 
this continued in use for about half a century till replaced by the 
chapel of Carrigvistcale. 

Rev. Laurence Hickey succeeded and lived but a short time. He 
is buried at Shanrahan where his tombstone tells us he died in 1756, 
aged only thirty-five years. 

Father Hickey's successor was Rev. Nicholas Shechy, who died on 
the scaffold in Clogheen, a victim of Protestant ascendancy and of the 
unchristian hate and bigotry of the South Tipperary gentry. His tomb- 
stone at Shanrahan records that: — "Here lyeth the remains of the 
Rev. Nicholas Sheehy, Parish Priest of Shanrahan, Ballysheehan, and 
Templetenny. He died March the 15th, 1766, aged thirty-eight years. 
Erected by his sister, Catherine Burke, alias Sheehy." In 1867 the 



Rev. Wm. Shanahan, Adm., had a rather elaborate monument executed 
for the purpose of placing it in position over the remains of Father 
Sheehy, but Lord Lismore prevented its erection, and had a number 
of military brought into the parish for the purpose of resisting 
in case an attempt should be made to set it up. This monument 
may now be seen in the grounds of the new church at Clogheen. 
The Revd. Michael Buckley, of Cork, preached on the occasion of its 
dedication. 

Rev. James Keating, who resided at Shanbally, was Parish Priest 
from the death of Father Sheehy till 1812. His name and the dates 
1779 and 1806 appear on two chalices still in use at Ballyporeen. At 
this period the church of the parish seems to have been in Shanbally, 
at a place, within the present demesne, marked by a Holy Well. 

Father Anglim (or Anglin) succeeded and held office only three 
years. Next came Rev. Mathias Casey who built the old church of 
Clogheen and administered the affairs of the parish for twenty-five years 
— to 1840. Father Casey was so proud of his new church that he was 
often heard to declare it was unsurpassed by any thing in Rome. 

Rev. James Kelly succeeded to the parish in 1840 and held it for 
twelve years. At his death in 1852 the Annual Retreat was being 
held in Waterford and, on its conclusion Dr. Foran, the Bishop, ap- 
pointed Rev. John O'Gorman, a native of the parish, to fill the vacancy. 
Father O'Gorman erected the present church, the foundation of which 
was laid by Right Rev. Dr. O'Brien. 

On death of Father O'Gorman in 1868, Rev. P. Meany, translated 
from Modeligo, succeeded. He had been the victim of what he and 
others considered unjust treatment ; this seemed to prey upon his mind 
and the result was mental derangement which ended only with his 
death in 1889. Father Meany was a man of exceptional gifts ; among 
other things he possessed a fine knowledge of Irish, and was one of the 
founders and pillars of the Keating and Ossianic Societies. During 
Father Meany's illness four administrators in succession acted vice 
parochi, viz. : — Revs. William Shanahan (accidently killed by a falling 
tree, 12th October, 1870), Thomas Finn (died Parish Priest of New- 
castle), John Ryan (died a beneficiary of the Diocesan Sick Fund), 
and Thomas McGrath who succeeded to the pastorship on Father 
Meany's death, in 1889. 

Rev. Thomas McGrath was promoted to Carrick-on-Suir in 1896, 
and thence to Lismore two years later. During his incumbency he 
erected the present fine parochial residence. He was succeeded in 
Clogheen by (a) Rev. Richard Phelan, translated from Rathgormack 
in 1896, and (b) Rev. J. Everard, translated from Ballyporeen in 1910. 



78 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

Shanrahan has been claimed as the Irish church of St. Cataldus, 
afterwards Bishop of Tarentum in Italy. Zealous advocates of the 
theory, mistaking assertion for proof, have neglected the research which 
would probably decide the matter. Lanigan's authority is generally 
appealed to as the ultimate tribunal ; what the historian does say is 
simply that the opinion equating Shanrahan with the Irish church or 
see of Cataldus "is really probable." There are but scant and, on the 
whole, rather uninteresting remains of the ancient church ; amongst 
these however is a pointed chancel arch well worth notice. The square 
ivy clad tower belonged to a later Protestant Church, erected on or 
beside the ancient site. 

At Ballysheehan is another ruined church, of plain, solid, and (appar- 
ently) comparatively modern character. Unfortunately there is nothing 
to throw light on the history of this church, which was in all probability 
a chapel of ease to Shanrahan. The church is said to have been reduced 
to its present state of ruin by Cromwell and to have been replaced by the 
Penal Days' Chapel of Inch above alluded to. 

There are early church sites at Burncourt (tt1ulL\c tu\ Cille), 
Kilavenoge (St. Winoc's Church), Killeaton (St. Eitin's Church), and 
Rehil ; besides, there is a Holy Well at Kilcarron and another at Scart 
near site of Father Sheehy's chapel already alluded to. The Holy Well 
at Scart, dedicated to the Resurrection and known as CobAfi iia C^cv, 
was in high repute and is still sometimes visited. The writer remembers 
an old lady from Waterford undertaking a pilgrimage thereto many years 
since, accompanied by her son, a professional man. 

Among the objects of antiquarian interest in the parish ought be 
mentioned a small silver chalice, still in use, and bearing around its 
base the following inscription: — "Lucas Everard et Eliza Daniel uxor 
ejus me fieri fecerunt, Anno D. 1638." 

RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
Adjacent to the Workhouse and the National Schools is a Convent 
of the Sisters of Mercy founded in 1886, as a branch from the Cahir 
house. It was built whilst Mother Bernard Vaughan was Superioress. 
Twelve Sisters reside here ; they have charge of the Girls' National 
School and also of the Infant School. Three of the Sisters are in 
attendance on the sick poor in the Workhouse Hospital. The founda- 
tion stone of this Convent was laid by the Rev. T. McGrath on the 
20th August, 1886, and the sermon on the occasion was preached by the 
Rev. J. Doheny, of Sligo. 



Parish of St. Mary's, Clonmel. 



St. Mary's, the parent parish of Clonmel, embraces about one half 
the ancient St. Mary's together with the pre-Reformation parish of 
Inislounaght. Portion of the ancient parish church remains incor- 
porated in the present Protestant church of Clonmel. To this pre- 
Reformation church belong the beautiful east and west windows of 
the modern structure. The persecuted Catholics of Clonmel, deprived 
of their church by law, provided for divine worship by erection of an 
unpretentious but commodious building in Irishtown, as soon as a lull 
in the penal storm permitted such action. The present noble church 
dates from middle of the last century and owes its erection to the zeal 
of Rev. John Baldwin, the Parish Priest, and the self-sacrificing exertions 
of Rev. Patrick Meany, the Curate. The money expended on the build- 
ing was raised mainly in the parish by the efforts of Father Meany. The 
magnificent ceiling alone cost £2,000, the gift of Mr. Nicholas Cott, and, 
at a like cost, Mr. and Mrs. Hudson erected the elaborate High Altar. 
The church was opened in 1850 and solemnly blessed some five years 
later. The dedication is to Our Tady under the title of the Assumption, 
and the 15th of August is kept with special solemnity in the parish. 
In 1836, on the death of Rev. Dr. Flannery, the parish was divided 
by Right Rev. Dr. Abraham into two, the new parish taking the title 
of SS. Peter and Paul's and getting possession, at the same time, of 
an auxiliary church erected in 1810. 

There are in the parish seven Catholic schools, all, except the Christian 
Brothers', under the jurisdiction of the National Board : they are — the 
Presentation Convent Schools, the schools at Marlfield and the Work- 
house (two), and the Christian Brothers' Schools in Irishtown. 

Besides the two sodalities required by Diocesan Law there are also 
attached to the church the following : — Sodality of Mount Carmel, 
Sodality of the Living Rosary, Holy Family Association, the Angelic 
Warfare, the Society of St. Vincent de Paul, and an Altar Society. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
The Parish Priest of Clonmel (St. Mary's) was, in ancient times, 
appointed by the Corporation. In post-Reformation times, when the Cor- 
poration was non-Catholic, the nomination passed to a body called "the 
Confraternity of the Blessed Virgin of Clonmel," which continued to 



80 

exercise this power up to the second half of the eighteenth century — till 
the year 1755, to be exact. The parish of St. Mary's is unique in this that 
we can trace the line of its pastors for over four centuries (vide Burke, 
"History of Clonmel"). The Registered Parish Priest in 1704 was Edward 
Tonnery, D.D., residing at Clonmel and then aged about fifty years. 
His immediate predecessor was Luke White who had been educated 
and had received Orders at Nantes. White, who resigned in 1700, was 
immediately preceded by another White — Thomas, a Confessor of the 
Faith. He had possession of old St. Mary's during the Confederation 
period but with the surrender of Clonmel to Cromwell, he had to fly or 
hide. In 1661, disguised as a servant and resident in Irishtown outside 
the walls White was ministering as opportunity offered to the suffering 
Catholics of Clonmel. A chalice still preserved in St. Mary's bears 
Father White's name and the date 1638. White's predecessors were 
in order, backwards — William O'Casey ("a learned man"), Richard 
Morris, and William Prendergast. The last named conformed for a 
time, but did condign and public penance in atonement before death. 

Coming back to Rev. Dr. Tonnery, we find him appointed to the 
vicarage of Clonmel in 1700. It appears that almost all the vicars 
appointed by the Corporation or the post-Reformation Confraternity 
were natives of the town or district. Dr. Tonnery, at any rate, was a 
Clonmel native. While on the Continent he had been to some extent 
instrumental in establishing an Irish College at Nantes. He died in 1711. 

Dr. Tonnery's immediate successor was Father Thomas Hen- 
nessy, S.J., a native of Clonmel. Being a Regular, Father Hennessy 
was peculiarly exposed to danger. During the long period of his pastor- 
ate in Clonmel he might at any time have been taken and put on trial 
for his life. For full forty years and more he bore the burden of the 
Lord and died in 1752 full of years and merit. 

Rev. William O'Donnell succeeded — by virtue of a papal brief 
appointing him to the vacant parish. This collation was however 
contested by a young priest of the Diocese and a native of Waterford, 
Rev. William Egan by name, who had been nominated, according to 
ancient precedent by the Society of St. Mary's, Clonmel. After two 
years' canonical litigation the Roman Courts decided in favour of William 
Egan. During his term of office he built the present parochial house 
of St. Mary's which is therefore the oldest presbytery in the Diocese. 
Our pastor was elevated to the episcopate as co-adjutor to the venerable 
Bishop Creagh of Waterford. Bishop Egan continued to live in Clonmel 
and to act as Parish Priest till his death in 1796. 

He was succeeded by Rev. Thomas Flannery translated from Ard- 
finnan. Dr. Flannery, who was a native of Stradbally, had been educated 



ai 

at Louvain in the Irish Pastoral College. Left an orphan when an infant 
Thomas Flannery owed his education to an uncle, Matthew Flannery, 
who adopted him as his own child. Matthew Flannery and his wife, 
Mrs. Flannery (Miss Ellen Power, Ballytaylor), looked carefully after 
his interests and education. He and his cousins, Tom and Tim, were 
fast friends, being about the same age. Mr. Flannery, seeing that his 
two boys and his nephew were called to the church, afforded them such 
facilities to acquire knowledge as the middle of the eighteenth century 
allowed. The nephew studied in Louvain and became Parish Priest of 
Clonmel, Father Tom was appointed Parish Priest of Cappoquin and 
died 23rd June, 1810, aged fifty-eight years. Father Tim became 
Parish Priest of Ballylooby. He died some years before Dr. Flannery. 
Placed in the situation in which Dr. Flannery was, it required in the 
troubled times in which he lived much judgment and discretion to 
guide him on his way. Yet in him was so fully evinced the character 
of Christian Minister that not only his own congregation but persons 
of all religious persuasions joined in their admiration of the piety, worth 
and integrity of this estimable man. During his administration of 
St. Mary's he built the church of SS. Peter and Paul as a chapel auxiliary 
to the parish church. He became Vicar-General in 1817 and died in 
1836 in the very room of the present parochial house of St. Mary's wherein 
he had received priest's orders more than half a century before. A 
white marble monument to his memory in St. Mary's has a medallion 
likeness from a cast taken after death. 

On Dr. Flannery's death the parish was divided as above explained, 
Rev. John Baldwin, a native of Carrickbeg, being appointed Parish 
Priest of St. Mary's, and Rev. Dr. Burke pastor of SS. Peter and Paul's. 
Father Baldwin, during his pastorate, built the present magnificent 
church. He died June 27th, 1867. 

Rev. Thomas English, Administrator of the Cathedral, YVaterford, 
but a native of Cahir, succeeded. He was a priest of highest character, 
zealous, humble, devoted, an excellent administrator, and a highly 
successful missionary. He resigned the parish in June, 1874, and volun- 
teered for foreign missionary service in the distant diocese of Maitland, 
Australia. Here he acted as Vicar-General till his death, at the age 
of eighty years, in 1894. 

The next Parish Priest was Rev. Edmond Walsh, a native of Patrick 
Street, YVaterford. He was appointed Parish Priest in 1874 and during 
his term of office he erected the stately tower at a cost of £2,800. He 
died in Tramore, July 22nd, 1885, and was buried at Clonmel in the 
church he loved so well and had done so much to beautify. At his death 
he bequeathed a large sum of money for completion of the church by 



82 

addition of a portico ; he also made a considerable bequest to St. John's 
College. 

Rev. Timothy O'Connell, translated from Rathgormack, succeeded 
in 1886 and held office till his death in 1891. 

Rev. Cornelius Flavin, translated from Ardhnnan, took Father 
O'Connell's place, and was promoted to SS. Peter and Paul's and the 
Archdeaconry in 1906, his successor being Very Rev. Canon Patrick 
Spratt, translated from Cappoquin. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The ecclesiastical ruins within the parish are chiefly : — (a) The 
Cistercian Abbey of Inislounaght (hardly any remains), (b) the church 
at St. Patrick's Well (remains in a good state of preservation ; a post- 
Reformation building intended by the Catholics as a parish church), 
(c) Garrantemple Church (considerable remains), (d) St. Stephen's 
Church — a Lazar or Leper House (considerable remains), and (e) Kyle 
(Citl), a small church of little architectural but much historic interest as 
the place is referred to in the "Life" of St. Declan. At Patrick's Well, 
besides the ruined church referred to, there is also a remarkable Holy 
Well and a small and rather rude Celtic cross. At Toberaheena 
(Cotwp T)i^ tiAome, "Friday Well") there is a second Holy Well and 
early church sites have been verified at Decoy (Ue^tnpull TllocuAn^), 
Kilmolash (St. Molaise's), Kilmacomma (St. Mocomma's), and Kilnamac 
("Church of the Sons.") 

RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Presentation Convent. 
In the year 1809 Very Rev. Thomas Flannery, P.P., Clonmel, 
invited the Presentation Xuns, Waterford, to found a house of their 
Order in his parish, to which request they willingly responded. While 
suitable arrangements were being made for them in Clonmel the Most 
Rev. John Power, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore, wished Mother 
Mary Joseph Sullivan and Mother Mary Peter Ronan to open a House 
of the Order in Dungarvan, and to initiate some pious ladies there in the 
rules and duties of the religious state. Having accomplished the work 
assigned them, the foundresses, Mother Mary Joseph Sullivan, Mother 
Mary Peter Ronan, and Sister Mary Magdalen Power, arrived in Clonmel 
on the Feast of the Holy Angels Guardians, 2nd October, 1813. The 
Parish Priest gave a temporary residence free of rent until a suitable 
monastery could be provided for the religious. Sister Mary Thomas of 



Aquin Byrne and Sister Mary Magdalen Sargent, joined the foundation 
with the religious aforesaid. 

The first Mass was said in the convent by Rev. M. Fitzgerald, 
deputed by the Bishop, and enclosure was made in the Monastery. 
Mother Mary Joseph Sullivan was appointed Superioress by the Right 
Rev. Dr. John Power. A gallery was screened off in the church for the 
use of the nuns, and a covered passage from the convent led to it. There 
the sisters made their visits to the Blessed Sacrament, assisted at Mass, 
ceremonies of Holy Week, &c. The schools opened on the Monday 
immediately after the Feast of the Epiphany in the year 1814 ; five 
hundred children were received into the schools in that year, and four 
hundred adults presented themselves for religious instruction, among 
whom there were some converts to the True Faith. 

The sisters endured many hardships during the early period of the 
establishment, but they were joyous and happy. The one room served 
the double purpose of refectory and community room. The cells were 
close, incommodious, and insufficient. The schools were so small that 
the children were actually huddled together and many were obliged to 
stand outside the door ; most of the little ones were forced to find seats 
on the floor. In consequence of this scant accommodation the sisters 
formed Catechism classes in the church and taught needlework in the 
sacristy. 

In 1814 the first Reception to the Holy Habit was held in the parish 
church. It was the first ceremony of the kind ever witnessed in Clonmel, 
and the whole population seemed eager to be present. To prevent 
overcrowding, tickets were issued to the invited, and the latter were 
admitted to the church through Dr. Flannery's house. The church was 
thronged, even the chapelyard could scarcely contain the vast numbers 
that surged into it. 

The next who joined the community was Miss Mary Murphy, 
daughter of Thomas Murphy, Esq., Clonmel. She entered the convent 
on the 4th November, 1814, and received the Holy Habit and in religion 
the name of Sister Mary Baptist, on the 2nd day of June, 1815, when 
she was twenty-six years of age. She made her profession on the 8th of 
May, 1817, in the presence of Very Rev. Dr. Flannery, then Vicar 
Capitular. At Sister M. Baptist's profession it was prophesied she 
would not live long. Nevertheless, notwithstanding her delicate 
physique, she outlived all her compeers. She filled the office of Mis- 
tress of Novices in 1830 and subsequent two years, and died in 
the Presentation Convent, Manchester, in 1856, being sixty-eight 
years of age, and having spent forty-two years in religion. 
On the 2nd of August, 1816, a very valuable subject presented 



84 

herself in the person of Miss Brigid Butler, daughter of Michael 
Butler, Esq., Ballydonohue, parish of Four-Mile-Water. Miss Butler 
assumed the Holy Habit on the 6th March, 1817, and the name of Sister 
M. Joseph. She made her profession on the 2nd of June, in the year 
1819, in presence of the Bishop, Right Rev. Robert Walsh. Miss Butler 
was then in her fortieth year. She had led a life of great piety and 
edification in the world, and had great tact in imparting religious 
instruction. She effected much good in her native parish among the poor 
and ignorant, as well as among the educated ; all sought her advice. 
As a religious her excellent Irish instructions attracted hundreds, who 
always went away deeply impressed and eager to return. When she was 
old and suffered from physical debility her advice was still sought. She 
died on the Feast of St. Joseph, 19th March, 1856. Sister Mary Joseph 
Butler was elected to the office of Superioress at the death of the 
Foundress in 1834, but the humble religious felt so afflicted at the 
honour paid her that the Bishop, Right Rev. William Abraham, 
relieved her of the responsible charge, to her great joy and to the 
inexpressable sorrow of her community. 

In 1817 His Grace Dr. Everard, Archbishop of Cashel, invited the 
Presentation Nuns, Clonmel, to found a House of the Order in Thurles. 
Mother M. Peter Ronan was named for the good work, but the Foundress 
considered the community could not afford to give up the annual pension 
of £40 which Mother Peter was entitled to from the Waterford House. 
It was stipulated that Mesdames Sullivan and Ronan should each receive 
£40 yearly from the House in Waterford in lieu of their doweries, which 
were to be left there. To do away with the difficulty Mother Augustine 
Power volunteered to go on the Thurles foundation. Accordingly she left 
Clonmel on the 22nd day of July, 1817, and was appointed Superior 
and joined by two religious from the Kilkenny House. A fund of £2,000 
had been left by Dr. Butler for the foundation. 

It was through Mother Augustine Power that the Clonmel nuns 
made the acquaintance of Rev. Dr. Blake. He had frequently met Miss 
Power at the residence of her sister, Mrs. Codd, of Dublin. In after 
years, when opportunities presented themselves, he visited her in Clonmel 
and in Thurles. He held her in the highest possible esteem, styling 
her "The Hidden Gem." He sent her several excellent postulants 
from Dublin. Very Rev. Dr. Blake, in 1824 before going to Rome 
(whither he was called to restore the Irish College) promised Mother 
M. Joseph Sullivan to bring her an oil-painting for an altar piece. She 
expressed a wish that it should be the Holy Family. A few years later 
Dr. Blake was appointed Bishop of Dromore, and returned to Ireland, 
bringing with him the much desired oil-painting, according to the wish 



85 

expressed by the foundress. There were many postulants presenting 
themselves for admission, and the nuns found their house incon- 
veniently small for the growing community. They would gladly build 
if they could procure a site. They appealed to a Protestant landlord, 
Mr. Bagwell, for some premises opposite, but his strong prejudices would 
not permit him to rent any of his property to nuns. 

On the 5th of April, 1818, it pleased Almighty God to call to Himself 
Sister M. Aquin Byrne after only ten years of religious life — a saintly 
soul, whose bright example of every virtue shed lustre all round. She 
was a native of the town of Dungarvan, entered the Waterford Convent 
on the 13th July, 1809, for the purpose of assisting in the establishment 
of the Presentation Convent, Clorrmel. In the September of 1818, 
Miss Ellen Mulcahy, daughter of Bartholomew Mulcahy, Esq., Glen- 
connor, Clonmel, entered the community. She had been educated at 
the Ursuline Convent, Thurles. Miss Mulcahy received the Holy Habit 
and the name Sister M. Francis of Assisium, June 19th, 1829, and 
made her profession in presence of Very Rev. Ur. Flannery, V.G. of 
the diocese, on the 27th February, 1821. 

The next accession was Miss Catherine Rivers, daughter of Michael 
Rivers, Esq., Tybroghney Castle, Co. Kilkenny. At the age of twenty- 
three she received the Holy Habit on the 16th November, 1821, and 
took for her patron St. John the Evangelist. Miss Rivers was a lady 
of rare talent. She excelled in painting and music, and possessed a 
thorough knowledge of the French language. She translated several 
valuable ascetical works, and while doing so she never took one moment 
from her conventual or school duties. Sister M. John obtained per- 
mission to rise at four o'clock a.m. to accomplish this labour of love. 
She was gifted with a sweet voice, which was of great assistance in the 
convent choir even when age had incapacitated her for the more laborious 
duties of the institute. She was endowed with poetic taste and gifts. 
She was a most saintly soul, a model of every religious virtue. Sister 
M. John died in 1884, having attained her eighty-sixth year. 

The community, in 1823, numbered ten, three postulants and seven 
professed sisters, and there was a likelihood of others entering. The 
first floor of the little convent was the schoolroom and the second 
storey had to serve all conventual purposes. The kitchen was a small 
house detached from the dwelling-house. The hardships endured for 
want of accommodation called for redress. So it was deemed advisable, 
since there was no prospect of procuring a building site, to add a storey 
to the existing house. This was done at an expenditure of £800. Still 
as other subjects entered the nuns were subjected to many incon- 
veniences. Mother M. Peter Ronan's brother, Rev. Francis Ronan. 



Parish Priest of St. Michael's, Waterford, died suddenly and intestate 
about this time. Mother M. Peter's portion of his property was £1,400 
— which she received. The House of her Profession gave up all claim 
to this, but withheld the annual pension from her and Mother Joseph. 
In 1828, Mr. Grubb the tenant of ten acres at Grenane in the western 
suburbs wished to sell his interest in the holding, and the community 
commissioned Mr. Davis, father of one of the sisters, to take the place 
for them. Mr. Davies explained to the landlord that he required the 
place for his daughter, but he did not mention the fact that she was a 
religious. Thus the Presentation Nuns came into possession of the 
charming site on which their convent stands. The assistant, Mother 
Magdalen Sargent, got permission to visit Grenane to select the most 
suitable position for the erection of the convent. It was M. Magdalen 
who drew the plans. The first stone of the building was laid by Most 
Rev. Patrick Kelly, Bishop of the diocese, on the 17th July, 1828, 
attended by the clergy and a procession of the people. With the 
Bishop's permission the nuns invited Brother Reardan, Superior of the 
Presentation Monks in Cork, to oversee the work. He, however, received 
instructions in everything relating to the erection of the building from 
Mother Magdalen Sargent. It was she who kept all the accounts, &c. 
Brother Reardan returned to his monastery in Cork every Saturday 
but was punctually back to Grenane on the following Monday. The 
structure, when completed, was 140ft. x 51ft., and three storeys high, 
with wings at the north and south. The outlay on the whole amounted 
to £4,000, not one penny of which was contributed by the public. The 
very beautiful stucco work on the ceiling of the chapel, oak leaf and 
acorn was done by Mr. Maurice Daniel, an old inhabitant of the town. 
On the eve of Trinity Sunday, June 12th, 1829, the nuns took possession 
of the new convent. Mr. Charles Bianconi kindly lent his carriage, and 
he himself drove the eighteen nuns to their future home, four at a time. 
Mr. Bianconi wished to give Mother Magdalen a view of the building 
from the County Waterford road — so he drove by the gate and round 
to the south. The sight fully repaid this good religious for the constant 
anxiety she endured while the building was in progress. Dr. Flannery 
would have preferred the nuns staying at St. Mary's, if they could be 
accommodated there, being of opinion they could there effect more good 
than in a place so remote from the church. But he saw how uncertain 
was the chance of securing a building plot close to St. Mary's. On 
October 3rd, 1829, Most Rev. Dr. Kelly solemnly blessed the chapel 
and convent, and dedicated them to St. Joseph. 

An almshouse for aged females was situated between the Parochial 
House and the Church. The nuns frequently visited, instructed and 



87 

consoled the poor inmates, especially in time of sickness. On each 
recurring New Year's Day they were entertained in the convent kitchen 
at an excellent breakfast— they also spent the day and dined there. 
The nuns considered it a privilege to wait on them. Mother Nagle's 
custom was to give a dinner to a number of poor women on Christmas 
Day, but Dr. Planner}' would not cede to the nuns the pleasure of 
extending hospitality to t lie inmates of his almshouse on that great 
Festival. He reserved it to himself. The usual number of inmates 
was twelve, and the funds for their support were contributed by the 
parish. They were all very saintly poor women, and they were in great 
desolation at the nuns' departure. 

In April, 1841, the schools at St. Joseph's were, with the approval 
of the Bishop, Right Rev. Dr. Foran, plan d under the direction of the 
National Board. Twenty-one years later however, they were, by Most 
Rev. Dr. O'Brien's direction, withdrawn. 

In 1834 the foundress was requested to send a filiation to Manchester. 
The following has been copied from the annals of (hat house : — " By 
order of the Right Rev. Dr. Penswick, Father Hearne set ont for Clonmel 
to accompany the foundresses, Sister Mary Magdalen John Sargent, 
Sister Mary Baptist Murphy and Sister Mary Frances Mulcahy, to Man- 
chester. The three sisters made their retreat, renewed their vows, 
and then, leaving all that was dear to them on earth, set out for England. 
They travelled by post chaise the greater part of the journey to Dublin. 
They called at several Convents of the Order on their way, and were 
received with very great affection and kindness. The nuns were very 
much edified by the pious conversation of Brother Ignatius Rice, a very 
principal member of the Christian Brothers. To him Mother Magdalen 
Sargent was indebted for the support and consolation he gave her, during 
the long term of nine years she spent in the novitiates of several 
houses ; namely, Waterford, Cork, and Clonmel — on account of the 
delay her father had made in granting her dowry. She bore towards 
Mr. Rice a most loving respect. He gave her a small, plain, silver 
watch, which she wore when she came to Manchester and which after 
the death of Mr. Rice was given to the Christian Brothers, who treasure 
it as a relic of that holy man. When the nuns arrived in Dublin they 
went to see the principal buildings, &c. They set sail on January 15th 
and landed in England on the 16th, which was Sunday. They heard 
Mass at St. Nicholas', Copperas Hill (Liverpool), after which they re- 
sumed their journey and arrived in the evening at Newton-le-Willows, 
where Sister Francis, unfortunately, slept in a damp bed with sub- 
sequent serious injury to her constitution. On Monday they went t«i 
the Bishop's residence where the}' saw his Lordship in a chamber of 



sickness. He gave them every token of regard, and earnestly wished 
them success and happiness. He appointed Sister Mary Magdalen John 
Sargent, Superior. After receiving his Lordship's solemn blessing 
they proceeded to the Rev. Thomas Lupton's house, where they were 
most hospitably entertained. After breakfast next morning they started 
for Manchester. On Wednesday, the 19th, they took possession of 
their new convent. Kind friends had tried to make it look as com- 
fortable as possible. The cold and dampness were very great on account 
of the new brickwork and the winter season." 

Mother Magdalen died on the 25th November, 1847, after a fervent 
preparation and in full possession of her faculties, humbly confident 
in the mercy of God, in the fifty-ninth year of her age and the thirty- 
first of her religious profession. Miss Anne Sargent belonged to a family 
of wealth and position in Waterford. Her mother died before the little 
girl had attained her sixteenth year. After a time Mr. Sargent contracted 
a second marriage. The lady of his choice was Mary Anne, widow of 
Captain James Dillon, and sister of Most Rev. George Brown, Bishop 
of Elphin. Tlie little Anne and her new mother became fast friends. 
Mrs. Sargent saw from the commencement that her little charge was no 
ordinal}- child. The latter was a staunch Protestant and fully determined 
to continue so. The subject of religion was never broached by either. 
The amiable and wise stepmother studiously avoided everything tending 
to lead Anne to imagine her conversion was a subject of deepest 
solicitude to her. Mrs. Sargent had in her possession a selection of 
English and French works, ascetic and controversial. These came 
in Anne's way. At first the young lady read them through curiosity, 
and furtively — soon with avidity and openly — till her good heart was 
softened and prejudices dissipated. Then, being only sixteen years old, 
with all the ardour of her noble soul she begged to be received into the 
one True Church. Only a few months elapsed before she declared her 
intention of becoming a Presentation Nun, and accordingly she entered 
the House of the Order in Waterford in 1807, where she received the 
Holy Habit, September 1st of that year. She left, however, in 
consequence of temporalities unarranged. Miss Sargent would not 
take profession until she could secure to the Order the dowry she was 
entitled to. She wished to give all she had a right to possess as well 
as herself to the service of God. She joined the Novitiate, South Present- 
ation Convent, Cork, on the 14th September, 1810, for the Clonmel 
House then in contemplation, and received the Holy Habit and the 
name Sister Mary Magdalen John in March, 1811. In July, 1813, she 
left Cork with the full consent and approval of the community and the 
superiors to accompany the nuns who were preparing for the establish- 



ment of the Order in Clonmel. The many virtues of this good religious 
were subjects of edification botli to her community and to all who had 
the happiness of her acquaintance. Her spirit of mortification and of 
prayer was frequently mentioned by the senior members of the sister- 
hood as worthy of imitation to the younger nuns who had not the 
privilege of knowing her. 

In 1852 the Vicar-Apostolic of the Lancashire District wished the 
Manchester nuns to found a House of their Order in Salford. After 
sending three sisters there the Manchester nuns found their number 
was too small for the heavy work of their own house, so they looked to 
Clonmel for assistance, and Sister Aquin responded, offering herself 
for the work with the consent of the community and Most Rev. Dr. 
Foran. The funds at the disposal of the new Salford foundation were 
inadequate for the support of the nuns and the house was unsuited for 
conventual purposes, so the foundress returned to Manchester, and 
Sister Aquin to Clonmel within the year. During the famine of 1847 
and subsequent years this good religious had taught large classes of pom- 
girls a beautiful description of Irish lace, which was disposed of to French 
merchants and saved entire families from extreme poverty. She was 
a talented musician and was highly gifted in every feminine accom- 
plishment. She died on the 3rd January, 1893, in the sixty-first year 
of her religious profession and the eighty-sixth year of her age. Hers 
was the first profession made in presence of Most Rev. William Abraham 
at St. Joseph's. She pronounced her vows on the 10th of September, 
1832. 

Mother Joseph Sullivan was Superior in Clonmel as often as the 
constitutions permitted. She ruled with great zeal, prudence and lenity. 
Her community bore for her a filial tender love, mingled with a pro- 
found respect. She was remarkable for her wonderful spirit of prayer — 
spending every free moment in adoration before the Blessed Sacrament. 
She was never known to indulge in unnecessary conversation ; she was 
in constant union with God. Mother Joseph's charity and generosity 
were proverbial. For nearly half a century after her lamented death 
the sisters who survived, in observing the slightest deviation of rule, 
would quote some saying of Mother Joseph, and remind the younger 
members, who happened to commit the slight fault, that Mother Sullivan 
would not tolerate that. Mother Joseph belonged to one of the most 
respectable families in the Co. Waterford. 

Mother Mary Peter, was daughter of Stephen Ronan and Teresa 
O 'Flaherty, of Ardogina, in the parish of Ardmore, Co. Waterford. She 
entered the Presentation Convent, Waterford, on the 8th of April, 1806, 
in the forty-third year of her age, received the Holy Habit on the 



90 

25th of November, same year, and made tier profession on the 26th of 
January, 1809. She accompanied Mother Joseph Sullivan to Dungarvan 
and was appointed mistress of novices. Mother M. Peter tried to impress 
her young charges, omitting no opportunity of initiating them with the 
spirit of the holy state they wished to embrace and requiring from them 
great exactitude to rules and constitutions. 

In 1835 the community consisted of twenty-one religious. The 
funds were extremely low, so the sistrrs had to endure many and 
continual privations— all of which were borne with joy. Butter at 
breakfast was a luxury unknown in those days. The first meal con- 
sisted of only bread and cocoa and the collation at night was similarly 
meagre. Self-crucifixion was the maxim of the day ; want of fires and 
scant clothing had no terrors for those fervent souls of the first half 
century of the Clonmel foundation. The spirit of the world was not 
suffered to enter the house. The spirit of God alone found entrance 
there. 

In 1834, Sister Mary Gertrude Power, a native of the parish of 
Carrick-on-Suir, was elected Rev. Mother. Mary Power was born in 
1798, entered on the 23rd August, 1826, took the habit on the 24th 
September same year, and made her profession on the 31st of July, 
1827. the usual time being shortened in her regard, as she had already 
spent nearly two years in the Carrick-on-Suir House. Her father, 
David Power, Esq., Carrick-on-Suir, gave his children a first-class 
education and Mary made excellent use of the advantages afforded. 

In 1866 the new schools were completed at an outlay of £1,800; 
to this purpose £1,000, received at the death of Miss Catherine 
Burke, was applied, also £100, kindly donated by Very Rev. Dr. Burke. 
The Superior. Mother Alphonsus Hcnebery, a native of Portlaw, was 
most anxious to improve the convent and the grounds. The Rev. 
David Crotty, C.C., St. Mary's, assisted her with his wise counsel, and 
during the erection of the schools he was indefatigable — early and late 
encouraging the artizans and urging on the work. In order not to 
build in front of the house, Mother Teresa applied to Mr. Moore, of 
Barne, for a few perches of the land adjoining the convent to the south, 
but was met with an emphatic refusal. Nuns were still betes noirs to 
the Moore family. The foundations had perforce therefore to be laid 
opposite the south wing of the convent. The completed school buildings 
are 70 ft. x 30 ft. and proportionately high — with cloisters, playground, 
&c, &c. Mother Teresa had not the pleasure of seeing the work, so 
happily begun, completed ; she rose to ring the 5 a.m. bell on Monday, 
5th of February, 1866, but was obliged from sudden indisposition to 
return to her bed, and died in a few days. 



91 

Among the chaplains to the convent may he mentioned Rev. 
Patrick De Burke ; Rev. Peter O'Connor, who retired from the mission 
in 1853 and died with his friend, Rev. M. Casey, at Kilrossanty ; 
Rev. Patrick O'Neill, who resigned and left for the Dublin diocese, 
where he died within the past year; Rev. Michael Burke appointed 
in 1854; and Rev. Patrick Wallace (1855-1858), born at Heathview, 
parish of Grangemockler. His health failing, Father Wallace retired to 
end his life at the Redemptorist Monastery, Limerick. In the summer 
of 1858, (he Rev. Daniel Casey was appointed to the chaplaincy, and 
continued in it till 1861, when lie left to join the Vincentians, at Castle- 
knock ; he was however obliged to leave the Order through illhealth 
and died soon after in Dungarvan. At Easter, 1862, Rev. John Crotty 
was appointed chaplain and continued in office till his appointment as 
Parish Priest of Powerstown. The parochial clergy have acted as 
chaplains since Father Crotty's time. 

From the foundation of the convent in 1813, many of its pupils 
have entered religion and they are to be found in every part of the 
civilized world. In China a dear old pupil, Alice .Sullivan, a Sister 
of Charity, was martyred for the Faith in 1870. A shrine to St. Joseph 
on a star-shaped pedestal has been erected in the Clonmel Convent to 
commemorate her death and a slab bears the following inscription : — 
"A votive offering to commemorate the glorious martyrdom of Sister 
Alice O'Sullivan, born in Clonmel, 1836, died for the Faith in China, 
21st June, 1870." 
Superiors : — 

Mother M. Joseph Sullivan . 1813-1829 

Mother M. Peter Ronan 1829-1832 

Mother M. Joseph Sullivan .... 1832-1835 

Mother M. Gertrude Power .... 1835-1843 

Mother M. Angela Dillon .... 1843-1849 

Mother M. de Sales Mulcahy .... 1849-1855 

Mother M. Alphonsus Hennebry ... 1855-1861 

Mother Mary Teresa Davis ... 1861-1866 

Mother M. Alphonsus Hennebry .... 1866-1871 

Mother M. Charles Keeffe .... 1871-1877 

Mother Mary Magdalen Mulcahy .... 1877-1880 

Mother M. Peter Hayes ... 1880-1886 

Mother M. Benedict Keating ... 1886-1892 

Mother M. Peter Hayes .... 1892-1898 

Mother M. Benedict Keating .... 1898-1904 

Mother M. Peter Hayes ... 1904-1910 

Mother M. Benedict Keating .... 1910- 



II. — Christian Brothers. 

The school building of the Brothers, in which are three large class 
rooms accommodating two hundred and thirty boys, is situated close 
to St. Mary's Catholic Church. It is perhaps the oldest educational 
establishment in the town, as it was originally the first convent and 
schools of the Presentation Nuns in Clonmel. There the good sisters 
lived and taught from October, 1813, to June, 1829. To render the 
old building suitable in 'any way for the double purpose of convent and 
school, the nuns added a third storey and effected other improvements 
at an outlay of over £700. 

The old convent, on being abandoned by the nuns, was immediately 
taken up by a few educated, pious men, who, though not members of 
any religious teaching order, devoted their lives to imparting religious 
and secular knowledge to the boys of the locality. After many years 
of great devotion to their meritorious work those good men passed to 
their reward, leaving no disciples to fill their place as teachers in the 
schools. For a short period, prior to their being handed over to the 
Christian Brothers, the schools were worked in connection with the 
Board of National Education. 

In the year 1860, at the earnest request of the Rev. John Baldwin, 
then Parish Priest, the brothers took charge of the schools, and on the 
13th August of that year the three rooms were opened for the reception 
of children, and were soon filled with boys from the town and rural 
districts. The present attendance averages about two hundred and 
twenty. The maintenance of the community is derived mainly from 
the proceeds of an annual collection. Like the schools the dwelling of 
the brothers has its history. For many years prior to 1834 it was the 
home of the Franciscan Fathers. The brothers' study room of to-day 
was the domestic chapel of the Fathers for many years before the grant- 
ing of Catholic Emancipation. During the interval of twenty-six years, 
from the departure of the Friars to a house in Abbey Street in 1834, 
to the arrival of the Lrothers in 1860, the dwelling had been devoted 
to various purposes. It is situated in the same street as the schools 
and parish church, and the little garden at the rear extends down to the 
river Suir. 



Parish of SS. Peter and Paul Clonmel. 



The history of the church of SS. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel, extends 
over a century. The parish however dates only from 1836, and the 
events which constitute its history are within the knowledge of living 
witnesses, and so are free from the obscurities which are so often found 
in more ancient histories. As a further consequence of the parish's com- 
paratively modern origin the things to be recorded are so few and so 
much after the manner of the ordinary developments of Irish parishes 
during the last half century or so, that its story, if it is to occupy any 
considerable space, can only be made to do so by a perhaps undue elabor- 
ation of details. 

Prior to 1836 the present SS. Peter and Paul's formed part of the old 
parish of St. Mary's, which included within its area the town of Clonmel 
and a not inconsiderable country district in the counties of Tipperary and 
Waterford. When that extensive parish was divided into two, one of these 
retained the mother-church and the ancient name, whilst the other re- 
ceived the name SS. Peter and Paul's and obtained possession of a church 
which had been built in 1810 as an auxiliary, to meet the growing wants 
and aspirations of the parishioners. Old St. Mary's enjoyed the status 
of a vicariate parish, but under the new arrangement the dignity was 
transferred to SS. Peter and Paul's, probably because it comprised the 
larger and more important portion of the town and had a newer and 
better church than St. Mary's. SS. Peter and Paul's Church was for 
a long time universally known as "the new chapel" to distinguish 
it from the two other churches in town — "St. Mary's" and "the Friary 
Chapel" — which were both old. Even now it is frequently called "the 
new chapel," a curiosity of nomenclature, seeing that it is now the most 
ancient church in Clonmel, old St. Mary's having been long since replaced 
by a splendid new edifice, and the former " Friary Chapel" having given 
way of late years to a new church which stands on the historic spot in 
Abbey Street, beside the antique tower that still remains a relic of the 
olden time. 

The educational establishments in the parish include the Sisters 
of Charity's National Schools and Orphanage, the Christian Brothers' 
Primary and High School, and the Loretto Convent High School. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The first Parish Priest of SS. Peter and Paul's was the Very Rev. 
Michael Burke. He commenced his career as professor in the Ecclesias- 
tical College of the diocese, old St. John's. He was an eloquent preacher, 
a zealous pastor, and generous in his benefactions in the interests of 
the sick and poor and of Christian education. Through his pastoral 
energy was erected the present steeple beside the parochial church, 
which at the time of its erection was regarded by pastor and people 
as a work to be proud of, and from which the fine bell, purchased and 
set up by Dr. Burke too, peals forth its mellow music (heard many miles 
away) summoning the faithful to the services of religion. By Dr. Burke 
were established in the parish two beneficent institutions — the Sisters 
of Charity in October, 1845, and the Christian Brothers in January, 
1847. The good work done by these admirable communities must ever 
be regarded as a blessed result of his zeal and generosity and should 
keep his memory ever fresh in the minds of the parishioners as of a bene- 
factor who has a claim on their undying gratitude and their fervent 
prayers. Esteemed and loved by his flock he ruled the parish for thirty 
years, until his death in 1866. 

Rev. M. Burke was succeeded in SS. Peter and Paul's by Very Rev. 
John Power, who governed the parish wisely and well until his elevation 
to the Episcopacy of the diocese in 1873, a period of seven years. His 
place as pastor of SS. Peter and Paul's was taken in 1873 by his brother, 
Very Rev. Roger Power, who, however, after a brief sojourn of about 
two years, elected to leave Clonmel for the pastorate of the sea side 
parish of Tramore. Short as was his tenure of office in Clonmel, Father 
Roger Power planned a comprehensive scheme of church building. He 
obtained a design from an eminent Dublin architect, Mr. O'Callaghan, 
for the contemplated work, but the shortness of his stay prevented 
him from giving practical effect to his pious project. The plan, however, 
remained, and it is satisfactory to reflect that it has since been entirely 
carried out. The plan contemplated the substitution of a practically 
new church for that which " Father Roger" found before him in SS. Peter 
and Paul's. It proposed that this substitution should be carried out 
at different times and by successive steps, the work being so arranged 
that each step should leave the church with a tolerably finished appear- 
ance and in fair working condition, and that after each step a pause could 
be made to take breath as it were before a fresh start. When finished 
therefore the church was to be entirely new, was to have new aisles, new 
transepts, a new apse, a new and more elevated roof, a clerestory, and 
finally a grand facade consisting of an ornamental front porch flanked 
by a baptistery on one side and a lofty campanile on the other. Some 



95 

months after the translation of Father Roger Power to Tramore, the 
Bishop, Dr. John Power, obtained from Rome authority to hold SS. Peter 
and Paul's as one of his mensal parishes. Thenceforth, during Dr. Power's 
life, the active duties of pastor were fulfilled in SS. Peter and Paul's by 
a series of three Administrators. The first of these was Father C. J. 
Flavin, who was appointed in 1876, and administered zealously and 
efficiently for seven years until his appointment to the parish of Ard- 
finnan as pastor in the year 1883. During his term of Administrator- 
ship, and chiefly through his energy, a community of Loretto Nuns was 
introduced in August, 1881, for the purpose of opening a select day 
school. These pious and highly cultured ladies have exercised and 
are exercising a very beneficial influence on the town and neigh- 
bourhood by imparting to a select section of the youth an excellent 
high-class education, and by imbuing them with a spirit of faith 
and piety with a love of God and country. Father Flavin was 
succeeded in 1883 by Rev. Thomas McDonnell, during whose tenure 
of office the actual work of church building began and made 
some progress. By direction of the Bishop a meeting of the parish- 
ioners was invited. It was largely and influentially attended. The 
"plan'' was discussed, and, after a discussion, sanctioned. A respon- 
sible Church Improvement Committee was formed. A weekly collection 
to defray building expenses was inaugurated. The collection was 
taken up generously in the spirit of the meeting. In less than two 
years, from the establishment of the weekly collection, an actual be- 
ginning was made. An agreement was entered into with Mr. Hunt, 
a large contractor, for the complete removal of the walls of the nav<- 
and the erection of large and commodious aisles connected with the 
nave on each side by a grand arcade of four lofty and spacious arches 
supported by polished granite pillars. It was calculated that when 
this contract should be completed there would be accumulated a fund of 
£'2.000, and a written guarantee for £2,000 more to meet the estimated 
debt, expected to remain on completion of the contract, was signed 
by the members of the Building Committee. Rev. Thomas McDonnell 
was succeeded as Administrator in SS. Peter and Paul's by Rev. John 
Everard, whose term of office lasted only two years, during which 
time a new organ gallery was erected at an additional expense of £500, 
and finally the entire church -nave and aisles -was furnished with 
new benches. 

When the foregoing works were completed there had been ex- 
pended on all the improvements effected up to that time the sum of 
about £7,000, of which about £4,000 remained as a debt. The church 
then presented a tolerably finished appearance and afforded an oppor- 



96 

tunity of pausing for some time. This was the position at the death 
of Dr. John Power in December, 1887. Some months after his demise 
his successor in the episcopacy, Dr. Pierce Power, appointed the Very 
Rev. Joseph A. Phelan, Parish Priest of SS. Peter and Paul's. The 
description of his distinguished and honourable career belongs more 
properly to the history of St. John's College, in which he spent years as 
theological professor and president. Suffice it to say here that his time 
as Parish Priest was all too short. When he came to SS. Peter and 
Paul's he had made liis mark in the diocese as a pious and learned priest, 
as a well read and honourable man, who had endeared himself to all with 
whom he had come in contact. In SS. Peter and Paul's he found the 
church building advanced to a point which rendered further progress, for 
a time at least, impracticable. The work already done had left a heavy 
debt which should be materially reduced before another forward step 
could be taken. He directed his energies in that department of his 
pastoral labour to lessening the debt. He worked up energetically the 
weekly collection, which he found in a declining state as such things 
when long continued usually are. He was generous to the building fund 
from his own purse and from moneys under his control for pious purposes. 
He was a zealous pastor in this and every other way. He was gaining 
every day more and more the esteem and affection of his flock, when 
after a pastorate of less than four years an extremely acute attack of 
bronchitis brought his pastoral career to a premature end. The sad event 
so unlooked for a few days before aroused throughout the parish and the 
entire neighbourhood a feeling of keen regret far exceeding the sorrow 
experienced ordinarily on such occasions. 

In March, 1892, the Very Rev. Francis O'Brien came as successor 
to Father Phelan. He ruled the parish for more than two years, per- 
forming the duties of pastor with characteristic exactness, regularity, 
and earnestness. During his brief term of office the entire of the 
church floor was boarded at a cost of £240. The change thus made was 
highly valued by the people who spoke of it as greatly contributing 
to comfort. Father O'Brien elected to pass from Clonmel to the 
pastorate of Dungarvan, where he had spent many years of his former 
missionary life. 

Father O'Brien was succeeded in SS. Peter and Paul's in September, 
1894, by the Very Rev. Thos. McDonnell, former Administrator, trans- 
ferred from Cappoquin. During his pastorate he was raised to the 
dignity of Dean on revival of the Diocesan Chapter. He died in July, 
1906, and was succeeded by the Very Rev. Canon Flavin, translated 
from St. Mary's. During the Archdeacon's term of office the splendid 
church has been completed and furnished, and a beautiful altar and 
pulpit erected, &c, &c. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

The parish contains the ruins of two small churches — St. Nicholas, 
in the County Waterford suburbs of Clonmel, and St. Stephen's in the 
corresponding Tipperary suburbs. St. Nicholas' is popularly known 
as CeampuU iu\ JDUMje (Church of the Plague), in allusion to the use 
of its cemetery for burial therein of the large numbers who died of the 
plague in the 17th and previous centuries. St. Stephen's was the church 
appropriate to the Leper Hospital or Lazar House of Clonmel. which 
institution it adjoined. 

There is an early church site on the townland of Kilgainy close 
to the castle ruins, and a reputed Holy Well (Cob.\j\ t\A 5f>eine) on the 
townland of Knocklucas. 

RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Franciscan Convent. 

The most reliable authorities place the foundation of this historic 
Church and Convent in 1269 (Wadding, "Annates Minorum," Tom, vL, 
p. 301 ; Clynn, "Annates" sub anno 1269). Father Hugh Ward who, in 
1630, wrote a short history of the convents, gives 1269 as the year in 
which the Friars were put in possession, but says that the convent was 
founded previous to 1260. There is some difference of opinion as to 
who were the founders ; Archdall names Sir Otho de Grandison, Ward 
attributes the honour to the Earls of Desmond, and Wadding says 
the convent was built by the citizens themselves. 

The church in the olden time was lofty and spacious, encrusted 
with rich marbles and beautiful with skilful carving. The windows 
were large and filled with stained glass. It was said to be at one time 
the finest church of the Order in Ireland. It possessed monuments in 
marble which the heads of the families of Prendergast, Mandeville, Wall. 
White, Bray, and Moroney, and others had erected for themselves and 
their posterity. In the centre of the choir was a magnificent monument 
to the Butlers of Cahir, which was considered to be a great work of art. 
The convent and grounds occupied the space from Kilsheelan Street 
to the Watergate. The Friars owned some houses by the river, a mill 
and a salmon weir and also some land in Newtown Anner. Within 
the convent precincts stood a building called the "Aula Comitis" or 
Earl's Palace. This was one of those buildings which some of the Irish 
nobility built in the vicinity of religious houses to serve them for a 
temporary residence while going through a course of penitential exercises. 
In 1536 the reform of the strict observance was received into this 
convent and in 1540 Father Robert Travers was Guardian, 



At the dissolution of the religious houses, the Clonmel convent 
shared the fate of all similar establishments in the kingdom, for on the 
9th May, 34th Henry VIII, a grant was made of a moiety of the Abbey 
and its possessions to the Sovereign and commonality of Clonmel, 
their heirs assigns and successors, to hold for ever, the service being 
one-third part of a knight's fee, the rent twelve pence, and the con- 
sideration £24. On the 15th May the other moiety was granted 
to the Earl of Ormond, his heirs, &c, for a like service, rent, and 
consideration. Ormond's moiety, as appears from a family settlement 
made 15th June, 1608, consisted of a house (probably the "Aula 
Comitis"), orchard and garden. By an Inquisition taken 8th March, 
31st of Henry VIII, it appears the Guardian was seized of a church 
and steeple, dormitory, hall, three chambers, a store, kitchen, stable, 
two gardens of one acre, together with four messuages, six acres of 
arable land, four gardens, a fishing pool and weir in Clonmel. 

After the expulsion of the Friars the conventual buildings fell into 
ruin, but the church was preserved by the citizens and was used as 
a burial place for the Catholics. When Father Donal Mooney, Pro- 
vincial of the Franciscans, visited Clonmel in 1615 he found the church 
in good repair and the altars standing, and also the Butler monument 
in the centre of the choir as of old. There were no Franciscans residing 
in the town at the time, but some members of the Society of Jesus and 
some secular priests had charge of the church, and owing to their influence 
the citizens on two occasions refused to admit the Franciscans who had 
been sent there. The Jesuits alleged that they had obtained a grant 
of the church from the Pope. The Provincial, however, took active 
measures to re-establish the claims of the Seraphic Order, and it was 
finally decided by a Papal rescript that the Franciscans should be given 
up possession of their ancient church. Father Mooney then tried to get 
back from the representatives of the Earl of Ormond some portions of 
ancient endowment of the convent, but in this he was not successful. 

There formerly belonged to this church a far-famed statue of St. 
Francis, in the presence of which no one could commit perjury without 
having the truth manifested in some miraculous way. Father Mooney 
does not say that the statue was there at the time of his visit, but he 
states that a certain lady of Clonmel affirmed on oath before him that 
a woman who was suspected of having stolen a garment was brought 
before the statue, and having sworn that she had not taken it the garment 
fell at her feet in the presence of all the spectators. Repenting then 
of the theft and perjury she confessed her guilt, and declared that she 
had hidden the garment in a place very far distant. 

In 1616, according to Father Ward, a residence was erected in the 



town for the Friars, and Father Thomas Bray, a theologian and eloquent 
preacher, was appointed Guardian. Father Bray was most remarkable 
for reconciling conflicting parties, and by his preaching and that of the 
community under his direction he did incalculable service to religion. 
The Friars probably retained possession of the church until 165(1, 
when the town, after a most heroic defence, capitulated to Cromwell. 
It is believed that the church during the occupation by Cromwell's 
army was plundered of everything valuable that it contained. If, as 
the author of the "Aphormisal Discovery" states, "the inhabitants of 
Clonmel were rifled, pillaged and plundered without respect of persons 
or mercy or degree," it is not at all likely that the church of the proscribed 
Friars escaped. As all exercise of the Catholic religion in public or in 
private was declared in 1652 to be a capital crime, the church could not 
be used for Catholic worship. The Friars, however, remained in the 
town helping and consoling the poor Catholics as well as they could. 

In 1654, the Committee of Transplantation issued an order to the 
Governor of Clonmel that no Irish or Papists were to be allowed in 
the town, with the exception of forty-three, duly named, who, being- 
artificers and workmen, were permitted to remain till 25th March, 
1655. As this order was carried out with great rigour, the few 
Friars that remained took up their abode in the Irishtown. Upon the 
expulsion of the Irish in 1654-5 the Protestant dissenters possessed 
themselves of the Friars' Church, and continued to use it as their place 
of worship until the year 1790. Probably they had to give it up to the 
rightful owners during the brief reign of James II. The chalices at 
present in possession of the convent prove that the Franciscans wen- 
living in Clonmel in 1664, 1667, and 1720. In the" Relatio Status Diocesis 
Waterfordiae" for 1687, it is stated that there were six Franciscans in 
the town of Clonmel, of whom four were preachers. 

On the accession of William III the Friars settled down again in 
the Irishtown, and were of much assistance to the secular clergy. 
When the persecution had subsided the Friars supported themselves by 
an annual collection in the town and by a quest in the surrounding 
parishes. They also officiated in their turn in the old Church of St. 
Mary's. Their help must have been very welcome to the people owing 
to the great scarcity of priests. So late as 1801, we find from the return 
made to Lord Castlereagh, that in Clonmel there were only a Parish 
Priest, one Curate, and two Franciscans. In 1790 the Friars obtained 
possession of what was called the "Stone House" in the Irishtown 
(the present residence of the Christian Brothers) of which a Catholic 
gentleman — Mr. Richard Reeves — had taken a lease of forty-one years 
from Mr. John Bagwell. Here they continued to reside until 1834 



100 

when they rented a house in Abbey Street, opposite the old church. 
In 1876 the house adjoining the Abbey on the south side becoming 
vacant they removed to it. This house was purchased for ever in 1886 
from the landlord, Mr. Richard Bagwell, for three hundred pounds. It 
was demolished in March, 1891, preparatory to the building of the 
present convent, which was commenced in May of the same year and 
completed in June, 1892. The new convent was designed by Mr. Doolin, 
and built by Mr. George Nolan, Waterford. 

After the Protestant dissenters had given up the old Abbey it was 
converted into a store. In 1795 we find a lease of it for three lives 
granted by Mr. Samuel Perry, of Woodroofe, to John Coman, apothecary. 
This John Coman in 1799 gave a sub-lease for thirty-one years to Richard 
Fitzpatrick, brewer. From a clause in this lease it would appear that 
Coman had taken the premises (termed in the lease the "old meeting 
house") with a view to its future restoration as a Catholic Church. 
By his will his intentions are so declared, and it is moreover, therein 
expressed that the lease is held in trust for the Franciscan Friars. 
In 1826 Father Charles Dalton, Guardian of the Friary, Irishtown, 
got a new lease of the Abbey from Mr. Perry, and on the Feast of St. 
Francis, 1828, it was re-opened as a place of Catholic worship. At that 
time all that remained of the once magnificent and spacious church 
were the choir and tower : the choir measured seventy feet nine inches in 
length and twenty-seven feet six inches in width. The people's portion of 
the nave had been demolished to make room for the present street. We 
cannot find any record as to when this took place. On either side of 
the choir there was a row of seven very beautiful, deeply recessed lancet 
windows of the early English Gothic style, and in the eastern gable a 
large triplet lancet window, the side lights of which had been built up. 
All the monuments had disappeared except that of the Butler family, of 
which the top slab bearing the recumbent effigies of Lord and Lady Butler 
remained. In order to provide accommodation for the people a portion of 
the south wall of the choir had to be taken down, necessitating the destruc- 
tion of three of the windows, and a transept of about thirty feet square 
with a gallery was erected. This addition was built on a piece of ground 
of which Mr. John Bagwell was landlord, and of which, in 1857, he granted 
a lease for ever to the Very Rev. Edmond Hogan, Provincial, and his 
successors, in trust for and on behalf of the Roman Catholic inhabitants 
of the town at a yearly rent of ten shillings. The greater portion of the 
nave and the south aisles of the new church are built on this ground. 
From the time of its re-opening in 1821 the Friary became a favourite 
place of worship for the Catholics of Clonmel. In spite of low walls, 
damp floors, over-crowded benches, and wretched approaches, Sunday 



101 

after Sunday it was full to overflowing, and in the churchyard in all 
weathers were to be seen a crowd of worshippers who could not gain 
access to the interior. In 1884 the Guardian, Father Cooney, resolved 
to rebuild the church and restore it to something of its former beauty 
and magnificence. He appealed to the faithful Catholics of the town, 
and the generous help promised encouraged him to undertake the work. 
His Holiness Pope Leo XIII gave his blessing to all the benefactors 
of the proposed new church and Most Rev. John Power. Bishop of 
the diocese, wished success to the undertaking. A small piece of ground 
at the east end of the church was given gratuitously by Mr. John Murphy, 
and a new lease for nine hundred and ninety-nine years of tower and choir 
was obtained from Mr. Perry. The eminent architect, Mr. W. G. Doolin, 
Dublin, was commissioned to prepare the designs. In August, 1884, a 
contract was entered into with Mr. John Delany, Cork, for the building of 
the new church, and the work was commenced towards the end of the same 
month. The new church was opened on August 1st, 1886, when Father 
Cooney had the happiness of celebrating the first Mass therein. It was 
solemnly dedicated to God in honour of St. Francis on October 19th, same 
year, by the Most Rev. Pierce Power, Coadjutor Bishop of the diocese, the 
Mayor, Alderman Wright, and the members of the Corporation, wearing 
their robes of office, occuping seats in the sanctuary. The Provincial 
of the Order, Very Rev. John A. Jackman, was the celebrant of the 
High Mass ; Father Hyland, Guardian, of Waterford, deacon ; Father 
Lynch, O.S.F., Clonmel, sub-deacon, and Father Mahcr. O.S.F., Clonmel, 
master of ceremonies. The dedication sermon was preached by the 
Very Rev. Father Nicholl, O.M.I. , and the evening sermon by the Rev. 
Edward B. Fitzmaurice, O.S.F. The High Altar was consecrated on 
the 7th July, 1889, by the Most Rev. Dr. Reville, O.S.A., Coadjutor 
Bishop of Sandhurst. 

The total length of the new church is eighty-seven feet and it is sixty- 
eight feet in width ; in plan it consists of a nave and two aisles, terminated 
by chapels and a short chancel. From the first it was intended to restore 
the old tower as far as possible to its original outline, and to retain it 
as a principal feature of the front of the church. In common with most 
early structures of the kind, the tower was too low to admit of the usual 
treatment of a nave lighted by a clerestory, which would have com- 
pletely dwarfed its modest proportions. The nave and aisles are. 
therefore, as it were, three separate buildings. This treatment, though 
not usual, has a very picturesque effect, and allows of a fine elevation 
to the aisles. The architecture is early English of the lancet period, 
in strict accordance with the part of the old choir retained. The wall 
of the north aisle is formed by extending the wall of the ancient choir 



102 

in which the mullions and heads of the old lancet windows are preserved. 
The entrance doors of the principal front are richly moulded and deeply 
recessed. The facing and the main substance of the walls are of the 
sandstone of the locality, of a nice warm tint, affording a most pleasing 
contrast to the limestone dressings of the doors and windows. The 
walls are of uncommon thickness, some being more than four feet. The 
deep recesses of the windows, and the massive appearance of the nave 
arcade, rather than any attempt at ornate embellishment, are the most 
distinctive features of the church. In 1878, through the exertions of 
Father F. A. Walshe, Guardian, a very fine bell weighing twenty-seven 
hundredweight, from the foundry of Mr. J. Murphy, Thomas Street, 
Dublin, was placed in the tower and consecrated by the Most Rev. Dr. 
John Power. There is only one of the ancient monuments — that of the 
Butler family — in the new church ; no trace of the others can be found. 
Father Denis Murphy, S.J., in an article in the Irish Ecclesiastical 
Record, 1886, gives the following full and interesting details of this sur- 
viving monument : — "There are two raised figures on it, one a knight in 
chain mail and skull armour the other a lady in the dress of the early part 
of the 15th century. On it is also a shield bearing the arms of the Cahir 
branch of the Butlers — viz., in dexter chief, three covered cups, in 
base a fesse indented, on the latter a cross, in memory of one of the 
family that fought against the Turks. The inscription is in black letter, 
and for the most part in perfect preservation. It begins on the left 
hand side at the top and continues along the foot up the right hand side, 
and across the top from right to left, then along the inner line on the 
left. It faces outwards and runs : — 

hie jacet jacobus aaldy rums comiiis ormoniac Hnnc 
Domini 1431. Obiit petrus outiller .... CEXIIII . . 
. . tbomas pctri buttpller anno Domini mccCC£XVIII Obiit 
edmundus tpoma filii Petri Bull viler anno Domini 1533 
.... Pocr uxor edmundi buttyller anno Domini 1512. 
Orate pro animabus tnomae buttpller et €lenae Buftpllcr 
uxoris ejus, qui hoc opus fieri fecerunt anno Domini 153- 

" James Galdy was the third son of James, third Earl of Ormond, 
and Catherine, daughter of the Earl of Desmond. He lived in Cahir 
Castle. Gall is a name given to any foreigner by the Irish. In the 
'Annals of the Four Masters' it is constantly applied to the English 
settlers in Ireland, and in the war of 1641 it was the name by which 
the Parliamentarians went amongst the people. Galda was an epithet 
used of anyone who adopted the English dress or manners. Peter or 



103 

Pierce was James's grandson ; he died in 1416. Peter's eldest son was 
Thomas ; he married Ellice, daughter of the Earl of Desmond, and was 
father of Edmund. Edmund took to wife Catherine, daughter of Sir 
Pierce Poer. Their eldest son was Thomas, who by patent of November 
10th, 1543, was created Baron of Cahir. He married Eleanor, fifth 
daughter of Pierce, eighth Earl of Ormond. Their son was Edmund, 
second Baron, of whom it is told 'that being at Mass in that Monastery, 
as was his custom, news was brought him that the Earl of Ormond 
and the Baron of Dunboyne, his relative, were then ravaging his lands. 
He was no way decomposed, but staid till the Mass was ended. God 
rewards his piety, for immediately after he marched against his enemies 
and entirely routed them.' " 

The Butler monument is now placed in the arched recess under the 
tower at the left hand side of the entrance. Some fragments of it, 
bearing the images of the apostles in bas-relief, which were discovered 
four or five feet under the ground during the rebuilding, arc fixed in 
the wall of the recess over the monument. 

Besides the Butlers, many of the gentry of Clonmel and its neigh- 
bourhood had sumptuous tombs in the Franciscan Church. The 
Prendergasts of Newcastle, one of whom about 1555 married Joan, 
daughter of the first Baron of Cahir, were accustomed to bury within 
the same precints. Rev. C. P. Median in his appendix to the History 
of the Irish Franciscans states that the late J. P. Prendergast, the dis- 
tinguished historian, held the original of the subjoined will executed by 
one of his ancestors in 1626 : — 

"In nomine Domini Amen, I, Thomas Prendergast fitz Geffery of 
New Castle in the County of Tipperary, though sick of bodie, yet praysed 
bee God, of perfect wit and memoryc Doe consentiente ordaine and 
appointe this as my last Will and Testament in the following manner : — 
First I commit my soule to the Holye Trinitye, to the Blessed Virgin 
Marye, and to all the Saints in Heaven, and doe appoint my bodie to 
be buryed in Saint Francis' Clonmelle with my ancestors." 

A Franciscan priest named Dermott Mulroney belonging to Clonmel 
had the glory of giving up his life in testimony of the Faith. Wadding 
states that he was a native of Clonmel but at the time of his martyrdom 
was attached to the convent of Galbally, County Tipperary, and it was 
to prevent the church there from being burned by the soldiers that 
he gave himself up to their fury. He was beheaded, but strange to 
say, no blood flowed from his body, and when the body had been cut 
to pieces by the soldiers no blood flowed from any part, His martyrdom 
took place in 1570. 

The Clonmel church had the honour of being for seventy vears 



104 

the resting place nf two illustrious martyrs of the Franciscan Order — 
Dr. Patrick O'Hely, Bishop of Ross, and Father Cornelius O'Rourkc, 
eldest son of the Prince of Brcffney. They were put to the torture by 
Drury the Lord Deputy at Kilmallock, and were afterwards hanged in 
presence of the garrison, on the 22nd August, 1578. By the care of the 
Earl of Desmond their bodies were reverently laid in the Franciscan 
Church, Clonmel, whence, seventy years after, in 1647, they were trans- 
lated with great solemnity, and deposited with the instruments of their 
torture in the Franciscan Church, Askheaton. 

Both Wadding and Mooney state that the body of a certain priest 
named "Maurice" who had been put to death by the heretics about 
the year 1589, was interred in the Clonmel Church, at the back of the 
High Altar. It does not appear that this Father Maurice was a Francis- 
can. Mooney calls him : — Dominus Mauritius Sacerdos. It is very 
probable he was the Father " Maurice" whose Martyrdom is related by 
Dr. Rothe, and who figured in a very stirring scene in Clonmel during 
the time of persecution. This Father Maurice (whose surname was 
Kenrichton) was a native of Kilmallock, and was Chaplain and Confessor 
to Gerald, Earl of Desmond. He had the misfortune to fall into the 
hands of one Maurice Sweeney, who had deserted from and betrayed 
his master, the Earl of Desmond. Father Maurice was by this wretch 
given up as a prisoner to the English soldiers, and was thus placed in 
the power of Sir John Norris, President of Munster. Being thrown 
into the prison of Clonmel he remained for more than a year in chains. 
About the feast of Easter in 1585 an eminent citizen of Clonmel, named 
Victor Whyte, sought to afford a Paschal pleasure to the captive priest, 
and at the same time to satisfy the piety of his neighbours who desired 
above all things to make their Easter Confession to the holy prisoner and 
to receive from him Holy Communion. Victor, therefore, went to the 
head gaoler and for a considerable sum of money obtained of him that 
the prisoner should be allowed to spend that one night in his house. 
The gaoler took the bribe, and temporarily released his prisoner for whom 
the other became security. But the wretched traitor was not satisfied 
with selling this moment of liberty to the captive, but sought also to 
sell the pious host, the whole neighbourhood, and the life of the poor 
priest, to the President, who had arrived in Clonmel at that time. The 
same evening he went to the President, told him what he had done, 
and said that if he wished he might easily seize all the principal citizens 
while hearing Mass in the house of Mr. Whyte at daybreak. The Presi- 
dent received the information with pleasure and prepared the soldiers 
for the work. When the hour for Mass approached and the altar was 
prepared in a quiet part of the house, the dwelling was surrounded, 



105 

the soldiers rushed into the house and seized on Whyte; all the others, 
hearing the noise, tried to escape by the back doors and windows and 
a certain matron, in the rush, fell and broke her arm. The soldiers 
found the chalice and other things for Mass ; they sought everywhere 
for the priest (who had not yet begun Mass) and came at length to a 
heap of straw under which he lay hid ; thrusting their swords through 
it, they wounded him in the thigli but lie preserved silence, and, 
through fear of worse, concealed his suffering, and soon after he escaped 
from tin- town into the country. The intrepid Victor was however 
thrown into prison because he would not give up the priest, and would 
no doubt have been put to death had not Father Maurice, hearing of 
the danger of his friend, voluntarily surrendered himself to the President. 
The President upbraided him much, and, having sentenced him to death, 
offered him his life if he would abjure the Catholic Faith and profess 
the Oueen to be head of the Church. There came to him also a preacher 
and strove long in vain to reduce the martyr ; neither would he on any 
account betray any of those to whom lie had at any time administered 
the Sacraments. At length he was dragged at the tail of a horse to 
the place of execution as a traitor. Being come there, he devoutly 
exhorted the people to constancy in the Faith. The executioners cut 
him down from the gallows when yet half alive, and cut off his head, and 
the minister struck it in the face. Then the Catholics, by prayers and 
bribes, obtained of the executioners that they should not lacerate his 
bod}' any further, and they buried it as honourably as they could (Rothe 
—"De Processu Marlyriali.") 

With Clonmel we must naturally associate the memory of a highly 
distinguished Franciscan of whom his native land, and Clonmel in 
particular, may justly be proud — Father Bonaventure Barron. This 
learned priest, whose true name was Fitzgerald, was descended from a 
branch of that family settled in Burnchurch, Co. Kilkenny, and was 
born in Clonmel in 1610. He received the first rudiments from a certain 
Saul, who taught in his native town, and was afterwards sent to Water- 
ford where he made great progress in the seminary of one Flaccus or 
Flahy. In 1629, Lord Falkland, then Viceroy, accompanied by Boyle, 
first Earl of Cork, visited Clonmel, and young Barron was elected by the 
citizens to compose an address in honour of the occasion, which he himself 
read in presence of Falkland and his retinue. Impressed by the youth's 
admirable manner and graceful enunciation, Boyle proposed to take 
him into his household, but hearing that he was a Catholic he would 
have nothing to do with him. Young Barron proceeded to Rome about 
1636, just eleven years after his uncle, the celebrated Father Luke 
Wadding, had founded the Convent of St. Isidore's for Irish Franciscans. 



106 

There he received the habit of St. Francis. Soon after his ordination 
he was appointed to teach theology and in the course of a few years 
his name became famous as a writer. A full list of his works is 
given in Wadding's " Scnptores Ordinis Minorttm" and in Ware's "Irish 
Writers.' ■ He was held in such esteem for his learning that the Grand 
Duke of Tuscany, Cosimo III, elected him to fill the envied position of 
Historiographer and Theologian to his court in 1676. His autobiography 
(in MS.) is in the library, Merchant's Quay, Dublin, and in it he says — 
"That when far advanced in life, the clergy of Cashel elected him for 
the Bishopric of that See, but he did not want the honour." His own 
words are — "A Civibus postulatus et Antistibus ; sed non respondi, et 
cessi similiter oneri et honori ; illi impar, hoc indignus." One of his 
minor works, of local interest, is his account of the Siege of Duncannon, 
which may be found in the appendix to the History of the Irish Francis- 
cans by Rev. C. P. Meehan, 5th edition. Father Barron was sent by 
his uncle, Father Wadding, to aid the embarkation of the Irish soldiers 
who in 1642, sailed with General Thomas Preston from Rochelle to 
Ireland. 

Dr. James Louis O'Donnell, first Bishop of Newfoundland was 
another eminent Clonmel Franciscan. He was born in 1737 at Knock- 
lofty, on the banks of the Suir, four miles west from Clonmel. Having 
shown a vocation for the priesthood and also for the Order of St. Francis, 
he was sent to the Irish Franciscan Convent at Prague, in Bohemia, 
and there he received the habit of St. Francis, went through his studies 
with honour and was ordained priest. He lived as chaplain for the next 
few years with several distinguished families on the Continent, and did 
not return to Ireland till 1775. For the succeeding eight years he applied 
himself with zeal to the discharge of the missionary duties of an Irish 
Friar, and was appointed Guardian of the convent in Waterford. At 
a Provincial Chapter held on the 19th July, 1779, he was elected Pro- 
vincial, which office he held till July. 1781. Three years afterwards 
he was chosen by the Holy See to organise the Church in Newfoundland, 
and was appointed Prefect Apostolic with power to administer the 
Sacrament of Confirmation. In 1784 he landed in St. John's and im- 
mediately commenced his labours in the districts of St. John's, Ferryland, 
and Placentia. After ten years of most laborious missionary life Dr. 
O'Donnell's fellow-labourers petitioned Pope Pius VI to promote their 
noble and saintly Prefect to the Episcopal dignity. This was in 1794. 
The appeal was responded to, and the Bulls for his Consecration as 
Bishop of Thyatira in partibus infidelium and Vicar-Apostolic of New- 
foundland were expedited on the 5th January, 1796. He was consecrated 
in the Cathedral of Quebec by the Right Rev. Francis Hubert, two 



107 

priests assisting by dispensation in place of two Bishops as prescribed. 
He continued to labour in Newfoundland until 1807, when, finding 
his health failing, he offered his resignation to the Holy See, which was 
accepted, and, at his request, Rev. Dr. Lambert, O.S.F., was appointed 
his successor. Dr. O'Donnell spent the remainder of his days in Water- 
ford where he died, in 1811, in the seventy-fourth year of his age. His 
remains were interred in the old chapel of St. Marv's, Clonmcl, and his 
tomb is to be seen in the new church of St. Mary's ; it is in the floor 
at the right hand side of the nave close to the wall and bears the following 
inscription : "Here lie the remains of the Right Rev. James O'Donnell, 
Bishop of Thyatira, the first qualified missionary who ever went 
to Newfoundland, where he spent twenty-three years as Prefect 
Apostolic of the said mission. He departed this life on the 15th 
April, 1811, in the seventy-fourth year of his age. May he rest in 
peace. Amen.'' 

Father John Anthony Prendergast, a very pious, learned, and 
esteemed member of the Order was Guardian of the Clonmel convent 
from 1800 to 1803, and from 1815 to 1824. In the year 1817, the College 
of Protonotaries Apostolic in the Roman Curia instituted Father 
Prendergast, Notary, ordinary judge, &c. (document), and having taken 
the necessary oath and complied with the other formalities he was 
invested with all the authority of the office by Dr. Flannery, P.P., of 
St. Mary's and Vicar-Capitular of the diocese. 

Father Charles Dalton was Guardian from 1824 to 1830. He 
seized the very first opportunity that offered for regaining possession of 
"the Abbey," which he restored and re-opened for Catholic worship on 
the Feast of St. Francis, 1828 — the year before Catholic Emancipation. 
In 1831, at the invitation of Dr. Fleming, Bishop of Newfoundland, 
he went there as a missionary and was put in charge of Harbor Grace 
where he laboured for thirty years till his death. He built a Presbytery 
there and a fine church which, with some additions made by his nephew, 
Right Rev. Dr. Dalton, first Bishop of Harbor Grace, forms the present 
Cathedral. 

Another Clonmel Franciscan, Father James Prendergast, was very 
much revered and esteemed by the people. He belonged to an old 
and respectable family in the parish of Newcastle that has given a suc- 
cession of priests of the Order. He died February 13th, 1854. 

Father Joseph Power, who was Guardian in 1876 when he died, 
is also remembered with affection and respect by both priests and people 
in Clonmel. He was a native of Waterford, and was uncle to the late 
Very Rev. Joseph A. Phelan, P.P., V.G., SS. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel. 

The name of the Rev. Patrick Cuddihy, who died pastor of Milford, 



108 

in the diocese of Springfield, Mass., is closely connected with both the 
old Abbey and the new one. Father Cuddihy was born in Clonmel 
on March 17th, 1809. He joined the Order of St. Francis when very 
young, and read philosophy and theology in St. Isidore's, Rome, and 
after his course there attended lectures in the University of the Sapienza. 
He was ordained priest in 1832 by Cardinal Zula, vicar of Gregory XVI. 
He became a member of the Clonmel community in 1832, and filled the 
office of Guardian from 1837 to 1839. He worked with great energy 
to make the old Abbey more suitable for its sacred purpose. In 1839 
he purchased the organ which is in use at present. He fought hard 
and successfully to have the name of the street changed from Warren 
Street to Abbey Street. He was afterwards Guardian of the Waterford 
convent and built the present church there. In 1852, with the per- 
mission of the General of the Order, he was transferred to the secular 
mission and went to the diocese of Boston, U.S. The project of restoring 
and enlarging the Abbey in Clonmel was ever present to his mind, and 
when it had been decided to proceed with the work he gave the munificent 
subscription of one thousand pounds and contributed the same sum 
towards the building of the new convent. Like most priests of fifty 
years ago Father Cuddihy took an active part in all the movements 
inaugurated by Daniel O'Connell for the amelioration of the country. 
He was a personal friend of the "Liberator," and came over from America 
in 1875 to take part in the celebration of his centenary. 

In 1874 a classical academy, under the patronage of the Most Rev. Dr. 
John Power, and conducted by the Franciscan Fathers, was established 
in Mary Street. Father Hill, ex-Provincial, who died 28th August, 1894, 
was for five years Principal of the institution. He was a native of 
the diocese, being born in Tallow, Co. Waterford, in 1829. While 
still young he became a convert, owing in a great measure to the zeal of 
Rev. Dr. McLoughlin, O.S.F., who was Guardian of Waterford convent 
at the time. His student course was a very brilliant one, but, indeed, 
his whole life was a life of study. His knowledge of classical literature 
was both extensive and accurate, and he was well acquainted with many 
of the modern languages. He laboured with great earnestness and with 
remarkable success in the work of education, and many of his pupils 
obtained high places in the Intermediate examinations. The Academy 
was affiliated to the Catholic University on 15th August, 1875. The 
other priests who were connected with the Academy were Fathers John 
Pi O'Hanlon, James A. White, Edward B. Fitzmaurice, S.T.L., Richard 
L. Browne, John O'Neill, and John J. Kelly. Owing to a want of 
sufficient support the Provincial, in 1881, thought it advisable to close 
the college. 



Inscriptions on Ancient Chalices belonging to the Convent : — 
Date. 

1599 — "Tomas Goffrie Presbiter me fieri fecit, 1599.'' 
1614— "Jacobus Daniel, Clonmellen, me fieri fecit, Anno 1614. Orate 

pro ejus anima." 
1645—" Orate pro animabus Edmundi Everard et Joannae Naish uxoris 

ejus, 1645." (Doubtful whether 1645 or 1648). 
1664 — "Hunc calicem procuravit Fr. Edmundus de Burgo Conventui 

Frat. Minorum de Clonmel, 1664." (This Chalice bears a 

second and a much earlier inscription which cannot be deciphered. 

The date seems to be 1570). 
1667 — "Jacobus Everard et Anastasia Donowhoe me fieri fecerunt ad 

usum Fratrum Minorum Clonmeliensium Anno 1667." (This 

inscription is on the base of an old remonstrance which is more 

likely to have been originally base of a Chalice). 
1720 — "Orent Pres. pro aa. Fran, and Cath. Moroney ac eorum Familia 

q me donaverunt Conv. de Clonmel Sub guardian. P. Joais. 

Bap. Sivyny, 1720." 



Guardians of Clonmel Convent 



1540 Robert Travers. 


1685 Bonaventure Geraldinc. 


1616 Thomas Brav. 


1687 do. 


do. 


1689 Marcus MaCraith. 


1641 


1690 Francis Fleming. 


1645 Thomas De Vin 


1693 Eugene Cullinan, Prow Pater 


1647 Edmond Bray, junr. 


1697 Benedict Sail, junr. 


1648 Edmond Bray, S.T L. 


1699 do. 


1650 do 


1700 Francis Doyle. 


1658 


1702 do. 


1659 Thomas De Vin. 


1703 do. 


1661 Jacobus De Vin. 


1705 Benedict Sail. 


1670 Francis Fleming. 


1706 Michael O'Dwyer. 


1672 do. 


1708 Michael O'Dwyer. 


1675 James Whyte 


1709 Benedict Sail. 


1676 do. . 


1711 Anthony Manderville. 


1678 Francis Fleming 


1714 Patrick Flood. 


1679 Benedict Sail. 


1716 Bonaventure Manderville. 


1680 do. 


1717 do. 


1681 Bonaventure Magrath. 


1719 John Sweeney. [Pater. 


1683 Francis Fleming. 


1720 Bonaventure Geraldine, Prov. 


1684 do. 


1724 Laurence Ryane, Ex-Def. 



1727 


John Sweeney, Ex-Def. 


1729 


do. 


1733 Michael Dwyer. 


1735 Bonaventure Power. 


1736 


Francis O'Brien, Ex-Def. 


1738 Thomas Bacon. 


1739 


do. 


1741 


do. 


1742 


Francis O'Brien, Ex-Def. 


1744 


do. 


1745 Bonaventure Power, S.T.I .., 


1746 


do. [Ex-Def. 


1747 


do. 


1748 


Joseph Ormond, S.T.I. . 


1751 


Patrick Purcell, S.T.L. 


1753 


do. 


1754 


Stephen Russell. 


1755 


Patrick Purcell, S.T.L. 


1757 


John Davis. 


1759 Patrick Purcell. 


1760 Francis Lynch. 


1761 


John Davis. 


1763 Thomas Lynch. 


1765 


do. 


1766 


do. 


1777 


James Kearney. 


1769 


do. 


1770 Laurence O'Donnell. 


1772 


P. MacNamara. 


1773 


Laurence O'Donnell 


1776 Francis Lynch. 


1778 


do. 


1779 Bonaventure O'Connor. 


1781 


do. 


1782 Anthony Fitzgibbon. 


1784 


do. 


1785 Bonaventure O'Connor. 


1786 


do. 


1787 


John Power. 


1788 


do. 


1790 


do. 


1791 


do. 



1793 John Power 

1794 John Shea. 
1796 John Power. 

1800 Anthony Prendergast 

1801 do. 

1803 do. 

1804 James Quin 
1806 : do" 
1809 do. 

1815 Anthony Prendergast. 
1819 do. 

1822 do. 

1824 Charles Dalton. 

1825 do. 

1827 do. 

1828 do. 

1830 do. 

1831 Michael Lonergan. 

1832 do. 

1834 James Prendergast. 

1836 ' do. 

1837 Patrick Cuddihy. 
1840 James Prendergast. 
1843 ' do. 

1845 do. 

1846 do. 

1848 John Magner. 

1849 do. 

1851 do. 

1852 do. 
1855 Michael Burke. 

1857 Bonaventure Prendergast. 

1858 John A. Bergin. 

1860 Augustine Power. 

1861 Bonaventure Prendergast. 
1864 Aloysius O'Regan. 

1866 Anthony Slattery 

1869 Bonaventure Prendergast 

1870 do. 
1872 do. 

1875 Augustine Power. 

1876 Anthony Walshe. 



1878 Anthony Walshe. 1885 Bernard Cooney, Ex.-Def. 

1879 do. 1890 do. 

1881 do. 1892 do. 

1882 Bernard Cooney, Ex.-Def. 1893 do. 

1883 do. 



II. — Sisters of Charity. 
This Convent, the tenth foundation of Mother Mary Augustin 
Aikenhcad, foundress of the Irish Sisters of Charity, was opened on the 
Feast of the Angel Guardians, 2nd October, 1845. The Very Rev. 
Dr. Burke, P.P., SS. Peter and Paul's, and Y.G., who had with the warm 
approval of Dr. Foran, Bishop of the diocese, solicited the foundress to 
send a community of Sisters of Charity to Clonmel, and rented a large 
house for them (the present convent) next to his own and close to the 
church, which some alterations made fit for conventual life. The convent 
was furnished through the kind exertions of Mrs. J. Hackett and Mrs. 
Lacy, two Clonmel ladies, who went from house to house through the 
town collecting for the purpose, and whose appeal was most charitably 
responded to by the good people. Mother M. A. Aikenhead sent four 
sisters from Dublin to form the new community, who ere long were in 
full work, visiting the sick, attending the workhouse, and instructing 
children and adults. In 1848 the sisters took charge of the fine new 
schools erected by Dr. Burke at his own expense for the education of 
the poor. These schools were put into connexion with the Board of 
National Education in 1882. The average attendance in winter is three 
hundred and thirty ; in summer four hundred and thirty. As the duties 
multiplied Mother M. A. Aikenhead and her successors sent additional 
sisters from Dublin to increase the community. In 1862 a branch of 
the Sodality of Children of Mary was established in the convent, a 
diploma of affiliation to the "Primary Congregation" at Rome having 
been previously obtained. The members meet every Sunday in the 
oratory, and every year since the establishment of this branch they 
make a three days' Retreat, the spiritual exercises being given in the 
oratory by a priest. The number in attendance varies from one hundred 
and thirty to one hundred and fifty. In 1866 a night school chiefly for 
the benefit of the girls employed during the day in Malcomson's factory 
was opened in one of the day schoolrooms. The attendance varied from 
eighty to one hundred until the closing of the factory many years later. 
At present the attendance is small. Every evening any children whose 
circumstances do not admit of their attending day school and who are 



112 

desirous of preparing for the sacraments, receive special instruction in 
another room. Mr. William Hudson, Clonmel, previous to his death 
in 1870, expressed a wish to Mrs. Hudson, his wife, that she would give 
a large donation — £750, to help towards the foundation of a Female 
Orphanage in Clonmel under the care of the Sisters of Charity. She 
generously complied with his desire, when a site had been procured in 
Morton Street, next to the schools, in 1874. Mr. Thomas Looby, a native 
of Clonmel, who died in America in 1873, also left a bequest of £"700 
for the same purpose, and another kind friend, Mr. Thomas Cantwell, 
of Clonmel, who died in 1875, left £500 to the sisters for the erection 
of the orphanage. Count Moore also gave £100. On the 23rd August, 
1874, the foundation stone of this institution was blessed and laid by 
Most Rev. Dr. Power, Bishop of the diocese, and on 9th May, 1876, 
it was solemnly blessed and opened by him. It was intended that the 
orphanage should be built to give adequate accommodation to fifty 
inmates, but for want of sufficient means the original plan has not been 
carried out and the building is very incomplete. This institution is 
maintained under very struggling circumstances, having no Government 
grant ; it is supported solely by the proceeds of the industries carried 
on by the inmates and the charity of a few kind friends. In it from 
forty to fifty young girls, the children of respectable parents, are trained 
to industrious pursuits and fitted to earn their livelihood creditably in 
after life. There is a public laundry attached to the orphanage, and 
also a public workroom in which the finest needlework (hand and 
machine) and very superior knitting is done. Since the foundation of 
the orphanage many children have been saved from imminent danger 
to their faith or morals due to the perilous circumstances in which 
the death of one or of both parents placed them. Many of these are 
now supporting themselves respectably in their own country, some in 
England, some in America, and some have passed happily away to 
eternal life. 

In 1892 a chapel was erected adjoining the convent and next the 
schools, large enough to accommodate the community and the inmates 
of the orphanage. It was blessed and opened by Most Rev. Dr. Shcehan, 
under the invocation of Our Lady of Angels, on 29th September, 1892. 
The community were enabled to raise this beautiful little edifice by the 
generous piety of the late Mrs. Hudson, whose life long wish to build 
'another home for Our Lord,' was only accomplished after her death, 
in consequence of the difficulty regarding a site. 

The Very Rev. Dr. Burke, the founder of this convent, was the 
generous benefactor of the community and its constant friend, from the 
day he first welcomed the Sisters of Charity to Clonmel till his death, 



113 

at which two of them were present. He was the devoted father of his 
entire flock, and all regarded him as such, but his predilection was for 
the poor, and his special attention was ever directed to the promotion 
of their interests, and the alleviation of their hard lot. He had the 
tenderest compassion for the sick poor : his chief reason for bringing 
Sisters of Charity to the town was that the poor might have the comfort 
of their visits in sickness and sorrow, and the benefit of instruction 
when needed. Every year on the occasion of the annual First Commun- 
ion he entertained at his own expense to breakfast and dinner, in one 
of the school rooms, not only the First Communicants but all the com- 
municants attending the school. To do them honour on the occasion 
he breakfasted in the same room with them. At his death he left a 
bequest, the interest of which he desired to be devoted by the Sisters 
of Charity to providing clothing and breakfasts for the most destitute 
children attending their schools. He approved of and encouraged every 
work the Sisters undertook for the benefit of the poor. He also be- 
queathed for the benefit of the community a house and premises next 
the church. In the foundation of this convent Dr. Burke was 
warmly seconded by his senior curate, Rev. John Power, subse- 
quently Parish Priest of SS. Peter and Paul's and, later still, Bishop 
of the diocese. When Providence had raised Father Power to 
the Episcopacy his interest in the sisters remained unchanged. They 
continued to find in him to his last hour, a father, a protector, and a 
friend. Though ever kind and paternal it was only in the time of sickness, 
sorrow or death that the warm charity and tender sympathy of Dr. 
Power's great heart fully revealed itself, and many are the instances 
gratefully recorded of his devoted kindness to the sisters on such occasions. 
Like Dr. Burke, his tenderest sympathies were with the poor; he seemed 
to know the necessities and trials of all and helped them by every means 
in his power ; everyone in sorrow or difficulty had confident recourse 
to the good pastor. Even when he had left Clonmel, on his visits to 
the convent, the sisters were often surprised at his remembrance not 
only of the families but of each member of the poor families of the 
parish, after whom he constantly inquired. Whenever it became known 
to him that any of these were in special need of help he generously 
assisted them. Many were the applications made to their former Parish 
Priest, by the afflicted and distressed, and never was a request denied 
that could be granted. Dr. Power always evinced a special affection 
for young children, and they in return showed unusual confidence in him. 
At his visits to the convent he generally passed through the infants' 
playground, coming and going ; the instant he appeared all play was 
suspended and the little ones all crowded around smiling and looking 



114 

up into his face — no one of them showing the least timidity, but many 
making known to him by their childish prattle the troubles, pleasures 
or interests of the moment. 

Amongst the many lay friends and benefactors of the poor and the 
Sisters of Charity in Clonmel Mrs. Hudson holds the first place. En- 
dowed by Providence with large means she seemed never satisfied except 
when engaged in bestowing on God and His poor what she called "His 
own.*' Her one great desire, the mainspring of her life, was to give 
glory to God ; to this end her every thought and word and action appeared 
to refer ; this she sought to accomplish chiefly by devotion to the Blessed 
Sacrament and charity to the poor. She generously helped the sisters 
in every work they undertook on behalf on the poor, and shared 
in the joys and sorrows of the community as if they were her own. 
Her saintly death was a fit ending to Her holy life ; when the Blessed 
Sacrament was brought into her room for the last time, she raised herself 
in the bed and the ardent words of enthusiastic welcome that burst 
forth to our Lord from her loving heart moved those present to tears. 
The generous intentions regarding the chapel and the orphanage were 
faithfully carried out by Mrs. Hudson"s daughter after her mother's 
death. 

Mr. James Myers, Clonmel, was an ever kind friend and generous 
benefactor to the poor and the Sisters of Charity. He helped the com- 
munity in every way by advice, encouragement, and liberal donations. 
At the foundation of St. Michael's Orphanage in 1874 he gave £50 towards 
the funds for its erection. From that till his death in 1891 he paid £10 
each, yearly, for the maintenance of several orphans in the institution 
and £300 for its benefit. 

Names of Superioresses : — 

Mother Mary Agnes O'Meara, 1845. 

Mother Mary Justinian Jones, 1853. 

Mother Mary John Fitzpatrick, 1855. 

Mother Mary Attracta Jones, 1870. 

Mother Mary Carthage Morrissey, 1876. 

Mother Mary Syra Butler, 1893. 



III.— Christian Brothers' Monastery. 
The Very Rev. Michael Burke, P.P., V.G., SS. Peter and Paul's, 
Clonmel, seeing the great necessity of religious education for the children 
of the town, and aware of the success of the Christian Brothers in Water- 
ford, Carrick, and Dungarvan, resolved on securing their services for 
his parish ; although the famine still prevailed, making its daily ravages 



115 

among the people and paralysing trade and business, he set to 
work with a determined will, to give effect to his resolution. Early 
in 1846 he applied to the Superior-General, Brother Michael Paul 
O'Riordan, for brothers, and received a promise that as soon as schools 
were ready the brothers would be sent. Dr. Burke secured a good 
site for the building from the landlord, Mr. John Bagwell, M.P. Meetings 
of the principal inhabitants were then held, at which Dr. Burke presided, 
and means were devised for procuring money to begin the work. 
Doctor Burke laid down £500, and his people, being most willing to 
co-operate, followed the example of their pastor with generous contri- 
butions. Before the end of the year the schools were ready, and in 
March, 1847, four brothers arrived to conduct them. Brother Francis 
Thornton, a native of Clonmel, was the first Director. The brothers 
found no residence prepared for them, and at their request one of the 
upper rooms of the school building was fitted up as a temporary dwelling. 
At first it was thought that one of the large rooms would be sufficient 
for the number of boys applying for admission, as, owing to the famine 
great numbers of the children were in the workhouse, and many were 
also employed at the public works set on foot by the Government. But 
on the 13th March, the day of opening, there were boys enough to fill two 
rooms, and, in the course of a short time, an additional room had to be 
opened to accommodate the number seeking admission. On the 28th of 
March, 1848, Doctor Burke laid the foundation stone of the brothers' 
residence, in the presence of the Mayor, John Luther, Esq., the members 
of the Corporation, and many of the principal inhabitants of the town, 
and on the June of the following year, 1849, the brothers removed to 
it from their temporary abode in the school house. Two large class rooms 
were subsequently added to the school building. A pretty Gothic chapel 
was built in connection with the residence and completed in the July 
of 1851, when the first Mass was celebrated in it by Rev. Dr. Russell, O.P. 

By the death of the Very Rev. Doctor Burke in 1866 the schools 
and community lost their greatest friend and benefactor. In his lifetime 
he was more than generous, and at his death he bequeathed a handsome 
sum to be funded for the community and for supplying food and clothing 
for the poorer children attending the schools. Among the other bene- 
factors may be mentioned the late Mr. James Barron and his wife, and 
Mr. Charles Bianconi. 

The opening of St. Mary's in 1860, a second house and schools of 
the brothers in the town, lessened considerably the strain for accom- 
modation on the older establishment. During the year 1894, owing 
to an increase in the community, it was found necessary to enlarge 
the brothers' dwelling considerably. The schools and monastery 



116 

— both built on the same plot — form a complete educational establish- 
ment, situated close to the railway station, on the borders of the town. 
The average attendance is over four hundred. 



IV. — Loretto Convent. 
The Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary was founded at Munich 
about the year 1631. Several noble English ladies, flying from the 
storm of persecution that swept over their own land, found a refuge 
in Munich, and formed themselves into a community. In the words 
of the late Cardinal Cullen, "The Institution is at once interesting and 
venerable. It is the offspring of persecution, for exile because of Faith 
was the very occasion of its institution. It is one of the first, if not 
the very first, religious congregation founded expressly and exclusively 
for the great work of education, and in pursuing this high vocation it 
has been blessed so as to increase and spread unto the ends of 
the earth" At the petition of the Bishops and Duke of Bavaria 
the constitutions of the new institute were solemnly approved and 
confirmed by their Holinesses Popes Clement XI, Benedict XVI, and 
Pius IX. In 1669 a little colony of nuns came from Munich to 
England. Some years afterwards, favoured by Mary of Modina, they 
purchased the site of the present Convent of Saint Mary's, Mickle-Bar, 
York. In 1814 the Most Rev. Dr. Murray, Archbishop of Dublin, 
sent Miss Frances Ball, a Dublin young lady, to the York Convent to 
make her novitiate, with a view to founding a house of the institute in 
Ireland. She made her solemn profession in 1816, and took the name 
of Sister Mary Teresa. She returned to Ireland in 1821, and founded 
Rathfarnham Abbey. Wishing that the lives of her spiritual children 
should be modelled on that of the Holy Family at Nazareth, she called 
the first house of the institute in Ireland " Loretto Abbey," from Loretto, 
a small Italian town in the Marches of Ancona, whither the Holy House 
of Nazareth was miraculously transported in 1294. The other houses 
of the institute are called Loretto Convents, from the parent house, 
Rathfarnham Abbey. The Loretto Convent, Fermoy, was founded 
by Rev. Mother Teresa Ball, 18th October, 1853. First Superior, Rev. 
Mother Eucharia Dease. In 1881 Rev. C. J. Flavin, Adm , SS. Peter 
and Paul's, invited the Loretto Nuns of Fermoy to establish a 
branch of their community in Clonmel — a day school of second- 
ary class being much needed there. Rev. Mother de Sales Gaynor 
acceded to his request, and sent six nuns to Clonmel, 24th August, 
1881, Mother Agnes O'Sullivan being appointed local Superior. Mother 
M. Agnes was one of the first boarders of Loretto, Fermoy, and was 



in every way eminently fitted for her office. She died 4th November, 
1885, deeply regretted by all classes of the community. The nuns 
occupied the house adjoining the Suir Island Mills, which had a pretty 
and spacious garden. The generous people of Clonmel contributed 
£100, through the Very Rev. C. J. Flavin, to pay the first year's rent. 
The nuns remained at Suir Island about seven years. On the night of 
the 12th March, 1889, they were awakened. by a loud, crackling noise, and 
on looking out they saw the whole heavens illuminated — the mills adjoin- 
ing the convent were on fire ; from the ground floor to the roof, five 
storeys high, seemed one sheet of flame, the light being reflected on the 
hills of Waterford. The townspeople, gentle and simple, were soon 
round the convent with two fire brigades. There was no hope of saving 
the mills, and so little seemed there of saving the convent that every 
thing in it was removed to a place of safety. The long tongues of fire 
were already licking the walls, when one of the nuns sent her scapulars 
to be thrown into the burning building. At once the wind changed 
and blew in the opposite direction ; to this circumstance the nuns 
attribute the preservation of the convent. Those who visited the ruins 
expressed great surprise at the miraculous escape of the house. After 
this event the nuns agreed to recite daily the Fifteen Mysteries of the 
Rosary in order to obtain a more suitable dwelling. Their prayer was 
soon granted. Quite unexpectedly Roseville, the highly desirable 
residence of Richard Burke, Esq., was declared to be for sale. It 
was just what was wanted, and in August, 1889, the Loretto Community, 
Fermoy, bought Mr. Burke's interest in it for £700, with a yearly rent 
of £77 12s. to Mr. Faylc, Merlin. Mr. Burke presented the nuns with 
a handsome oil painting, and many useful articles of furniture. Their 
former landlord, T. Cambridge Grubbe, Esq., very kindly made them 
a present of £20 on their leaving Suir Island. 

The present convent, Roseville, is situated on the 'Waterford side 
of the Suir, at a very convenient distance for the pupils. It is surrounded 
by gardens, and the pupils enjoy pure country air during school hours. 
The average number of pupils attending the school is seventy. 

In June, 1895, the Superior of this convent, Mother Magdalen 
McLean, was, on the death of Rev. Mother dc Sales Gaynor, recalled 
to Fermoy, and elected Chief Superior. She was succeeded in office 
as Superior of Loretto, Clonmel, by Mother Eucharia Lucas. In Septem- 
ber, 1898, Sister M. Austin Burke was appointed Superior. 



Parish of Dungarvan. 



The present parish of Dungarvan is not, by any means, co-extensive 
with the ancient and historic pre-Reformation parish. Though less 
extensive than the latter it yet includes four tovvnlands, besides a whole 
small parish (Kilrush), not included in the older parish. 

The patroness of the parish is the Blessed Virgin and the titular 
feast, the Assumption. The feast has not been kept with any special 
devotion locally. The devotions of the month of May have, however, 
been observed in the church since their first establishment in the 
cathedral in Waterford by Dr. Cooke, over sixty years ago. 

The Protestant church of Dungarvan stands upon the site of the 
pre-Reformation Catholic church. The present Catholic church built 
on land given by the Duke of Devonshire, replaced the old Penal Days' 
chapel built by Rev. Garret Christopher on the site now occupied by 
the schools of the Christian Brothers. The new church was opened for 
divine service on Sunday, the 27th March, 1828. Its general style is 
Gothic, after plans given by Mr. Payne, architect, Cork. It was 
commenced whilst Rev. G. Connolly was Parish Priest, and completed 
under the Rev. Dr. Foran. During the pastorate of the Very Rev. 
P. Casey, it was renovated according to its original style of architecture 
by Mr. Creedon, of Fermoy, after plans, by Mr. Ashlin. 

On the death of Rev. Wm. Roche, Parish Priest of Aglish in 1870, 
an addition consisting of the townlands of Mount Odell, Carriglea and 
Garrynagree, was made to the parish of Dungarvan and, on the appoint- 
ment of Father Clancy as Parish Priest of Ring and Old Parish in 1847, 
the townland of Ballyharrahan was withdrawn from Ring and attached 
to Dungarvan. 

The population of Dungarvan in 1891 consisted of five thousand 
one hundred and forty-two Catholics, and one hundred and seventeen 
Protestants, a decrease of about one thousand since 1881. Religion is 
steadily progressing. The average annual number of baptisms for the 
past three vears was one hundred and twenty-seven. There arc Con- 
fraternities of the Sacred Heart for men and women, Temperance 
Sodalities for men and women, a Juvenile League of the Cross for boys 
and girls, Sodalities of the Children of Mary at both convents and 
a Sodality of the Living Rosary. 

The parish is well provided with schools ; there are eight in all, 
viz. : two Convent and two Workhouse National Schools in Dungarvan, 



119 

two mixed National Schools at Glenbeg and Carriglca respectively, 
besides the Christian Brothers' Schools and the Seminary conducted by 
the Augustinian Fathers. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. Thomas Brown, aged 55 years, was, in 1704, registered as 
Parish Priest of Dungarvan ; he was then twenty years a priest having 
been ordained at Salmonia by Francis Julius Dilosada, Bishop of that 
See. The Edmund Hore and John Clancy who, some short period pre- 
vious to Thomas Brown's day, were put to death for the faith in the 
market place of Dungarvan seem to have been Parish Priest and Curate 
respectively of that town. 

Garret Christopher, who built the first Catholic church in Dungarvan 
since the Reformation was buried in the old parish graveyard in 1767, 
as appears from the inscription on the slab over his grave. He was 
succeeded by Rev. Dr. White, who was succeeded by Father Fraher. 
This Rev. Dr. White seems to have been pastor originally of Aglish, 
while Father Fraher appears to have been translated from Dungarvan 
to Aglish ; next came in succession Father Ryan and Rev. Dr. Keating. 
Rev. Thomas Keating, D.D., was translated to Dungarvan from St. 
John's, Waterford, about 1795. He was again translated— from Dun- 
garvan to Cahir — fourteen years later. He died, 1814. Father Ryan 
was Parish Priest in 1779 when Dungarvan was constituted a vicariate. 
Dr. Keating was succeeded by Father Buckley, whose remains have 
been removed from the old Catholic church and are now interred 
opposite the entrance to the sacristy of the present church. He was 
succeeded in the year 1800 by Rev. Robert Walsh, who was translated 
from the parish of Tallow to Dungarvan. He died about the year 
1815 and was succeeded by his nephew and curate, scil., Rev. Robert 
Walsh, who became Bishop of the diocese in succession to Bishop John 
Power in 1816. Bishop Walsh appointed as his successor Rev. Patrick 
Meagher, P.P., Newcastle. Father Meagher was compelled to resign 
the parish by order of the Propaganda, but was allowed a pension from 
it during his lifetime. He is buried in the old cemetery beside Father 
Christopher. Rev. Garret Connolly was appointed Parish Priest of 
Dungarvan on Father Meagher's resignation in 1823, and was transferred, 
secondly, to Carrick-on-Suir in 1828. He was succeeded in Dungarvan 
by Rev. Nicholas Foran, translated from Lismore on December 1st, 
1828. Dr. Foran was consecrated Bishop of Waterford and Lismore 
on the 24th of August, 1837, and appointed as his successor Rev. Jeremiah 
Halley on the 19th of February, 1838. Dr. Halley died on Christmas 



120 

Eve, 1875, and on the 13th of February, 1876, the Most Rev. Dr. John 
Power appointed as his successor Rev. James Cleary, D.D., President of 
St. John's College, Waterford. Dr. Cleary was appointed Bishop of 
Kingston, Canada, on the 26th of September, 1880, and was succeeded 
by Rev. Dr. Delaney, translated from Ballyporcen in January, 1881. 
Dr. Delaney resigned the parish of Dungarvan in May, 1881, and 
was succeeded by the Rev. Patrick Power, P.P., Cappoquin, who 
died in Tramore without taking possession of Dungarvan in July, 
1881. He was succeeded in August, 1881, by the Rev. Pierse 
Power, President of St. John's College, Waterford. Dr. Power was 
appointed Coadjutor Bishop, and was consecrated at Dungarvan on the 
7th of March, 1886. At the death of Dr. John Power, which occurred 
in November, 1887, Dr. Pierse Power became Bishop of the diocese, 
and on the 1st of September, 1888, he appointed as his successor the 
Rev. Peter Casey, P.P., Ring and Old Parish. Father Casey died on the 
18th of August, 1894, when the Most Rev. Dr. Shechan translated 
Very Rev. Francis O'Brien, P.P., Y.G., from SS. Peter and Paul's, 
Clonmel, to Dungarvan. To Rev. Francis O'Brien succeeded Veh. 
Archdeacon Sheehy, translated from Aglish, and to Archdeacon Sheehy 
the present pastor, Right Rev. Monsignor Power, translated from 
Carrick-on-Suir in 1902. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
In the old churchyard of Dungarvan stands a singular and ancient 
gable-like piece of detached masonry, measuring some twenty-nine 
feet long by thirty feet high. A striking feature of this ruin is the series 
of circular opes by which it is perforated : these latter are each ten 
inches in diameter externally and are plainly moulded in a white sand 
stone. Dr. O 'Donovan started the theory that this remarkable piece 
of masonry was portion of the Leper House of Dungarvan alluded to 
by Archdall. A second theoriser saw in it the relic of a lighthouse — 
but unfortunately for his theory the "lights" here all point inland. 
Almost certainly the structure is the west gable of the ancient church ; 
that the lights are of unusual or even unique type proves nothing 
to the contrary. We arc continually meeting in these old churches 
with unique features. The mediaeval builder seems to have had an 
originality and a daring to which his modern successor is a stranger. 
An extremely curious thing about the old church of Dungarvan is its 
position — without the circuit of the town wall. At Kilrush within a mile 
of the town is a second ruined church — of rather featureless character, 
but in a fair state of preservation — beside which in its ancient cemetery 



121 

stands a stone coffin tilted up on end and made to do duty as a 
tombstone. 

Early Celtic church sites have been identified at Shanakill or Kil- 
longford (here a 7th or 8th century Christian inscription in Irish has 
recently been found), Kilmurry, Ballyharrahan and Killosseragh. On 
the townland of Ballyharrahan is a well (it does not appear to have 
any special reputation) known as "The Friars' Well (Cocmh iu\ 
mt)\iStA\C) ." 

Among the church plate of Dungarvan are two items of some 
historic interest : one is a silver chalice bearing in an unusual position 
— a platform running round the stem some distance up the latter — 
the following inscription : — "Donum Joannis et Mariac Heffernan et 
Margarit(e) Morisson Par Elcsia De Dungarvan." The under surface 
of the base carries a second inscription : — "Donum J. et M. H. et M. M. 
Par Ecclesia Dc Dungarvan Anno Dom. MDCCLXXXVIII." The 
second item referred to is another silver chalice (it belongs to the 
Presentation Convent) inscribed on the under surface of base in Roman 
capitals : — "D* Pat? Fitzgerald, pastor SS ae Triadis me fieri fecit anno 
D' 1754. Orate pro eo." On the upper surface of base appears in 
italics: — "Presentation Convent, Dungarvan, 1809." 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Christian Brothers' Monastery. 
Dungarvan was the third house of the Christian Brothers founded 
by Brother Edmund Ignatius Rice. In the year 1807 he sent Brother 
Ignatius Mulcahy and one companion to inaugurate the work of free 
Christian education in the town. There was at that time no school 
of any kind for Catholic boys in Dungarvan. The two brothers set 
to work with a good will, and rented an old store in the Main Street; 
this they transformed into schools as best they could, and there they 
received over two hundred boys eager for instruction. Meanwhile the 
brothers lived in lodgings and derived their support chiefly from their 
own private means. In 1811, they leased a small farm, known as 
Shandon, close to the town, and built there a monastery and school- 
house — the cost being defrayed in great part from their own resources. 
Here the brothers resided for over forty years, imparting the blessings 
of free secular and religious education to the children, whilst the}' 
themselves underwent many privations arising from inadequate means 
of support. They had moreover to pay an exorbitant rent for very 
inferior land at Shandon — land, let, for many times its real value. 



122 

Mr: Barron, of Faha, in the Co. Waterford, bequeathed to the brothers 
the sum of one thousand pounds. This sum, the trustees under the 
will lent to Mr. Barron, the testator's son, on a mortgage on a farm of 
land, at six per cent, per annum. Mr. Barron did not succeed in working 
the farm ; he eventually became a bankrupt and the estate was sold 
by the creditors. The brothers recovered seven hundred pounds of the 
principal and interest, which was invested for the community in 1821. 

In the year 1836 Very Rev. Nicholas Foran, Parish Priest of 
Dungarvan, built the present schoolhouse consisting of four large rooms 
and conveyed it over by deed to the brothers. They took possession 
of the premises accordingly, and at the opening four hundred boys 
presented themselves for admission. The schools in Shandon were then 
closed, but the community continued to reside there. Rev. Dr. Foran 
was consecrated Bishop of Waterford the same year, and ever manifested 
the liveliest interest in the progress of the institute. 

The Shandon residence was at a considerable distance from the 
new schools ; it never was a healthy place, owing to its dampness, — 
accordingly the brothers found it necessary to erect a suitable 
dwelling close to the schools. They were fortunate in securing some 
adjoining land, which they leased and paid for with part of the Barron 
Bequest, and at once made preparations for building. They were 
generously assisted by several kind friends, especially by the Misses 
Carbery, benevolent ladies resident in the town. They were also 
much encouraged by Rev. Dr. Halley, the immediate successor of Dr. 
Foran. The foundation stone was laid by the Bishop, attended by the 
clergy, and in the presence of a large assemblage of the townspeople, 
April, 1850. The work proceeded rapidly, and the monastery was 
ready for the community in August of the following year. Brother 
Francis Broderick was the Director of the House at that time and for 
many years subsequently. He was a near relative of the Right Rev. 
Dr. Abraham, a former Bishop of Waterford, and was a man highly 
esteemed by the people for his many virtues and for his zeal in the work 
of the schools. Having been released from office owing to his advanced 
age and declining health, he was succeeded by Brother Joseph Sullivan, 
a member of the Dungarvan community, who presided over the establish- 
ment for several years, passing to his reward in the April of 1883. Brother 
Bowe was the next Superior ; he continued in office till February, 1911, 
when he was succeeded by Brother J. H. Moanc. The memories of 
these venerable brothers are still revered by the good people of the 
town. The schools have ever maintained a high reputation, and are 
now in a flourishing condition, having a steady attendance of three 
hundred and twenty boys. 



II. — Presentation Convent. 

In 1809 Misses Mary M'Grath, Margaret M'Grath, Mary Collins. 
and Sarah Hearn, with a view to the promotion of the greater glory of 
God, conceived the design of devoting their lives to the instruction of 
poor cliildren. To this end they agreed to engage a house in Jail Lane, 
Dungarvan, where they opened a school and admitted gratis such 
poor children as presented themselves. Mr. Pierce Barron of Saraville, a 
wealthy and highly respectable gentleman, being apprised by the Messrs. 
Mulcahy. of the ladies' noble and pious project, granted the sum of {1,000 
towards the erection of a convent and schools. This grant being realised 
and placed at interest for the said purpose the Very Rev. Dr. Walsh, 
P.P. and Y.G., applied to the Right Rev. Dr. Power, Bishop of the 
diocese, for two members of the Waterford Presentation Convent to 
establish a branch of their Order in Dungarvan. His Lordship willingly 
accepted the proposal and selected for the filiation two of the most 
valuable and worthy members of the above mentioned community — 
Mrs. Mary Joseph Sullivan and Mrs. Mary Peter Ronan, of whom the 
former was appointed Superioress, On their reaching Dungarvan, 
September, 1809, the sisters joined the four postulants who awaited their 
coming in Jail Lane, and with them proceeded to a private house in 
Church Street for their future residence. Two of the postulants, Mary 
McGrath and Mary Collins, left immediately to serve their Novitiate 
in the Waterford convent ; the other two remained under the direction 
of Mother Mary Joseph. On October 2nd, 1810, Anne Draper. <>n 
November 26th, same year, Mary Fennell, and on February 14th, 1812, 
Bridget Fennell, increased the number of the young community. 

In 1814, nine months after their profession, Mary McGrath, called 
in Religion, Mary Teresa, and Mary Collins, called in Religion, Mary 
John Evangelist, returned to Dungarvan, and the foundresses, Mother 
Mary Joseph and Mother Mary Peter, left to establish another branch 
of the Order in Clonmcl. The two departing religious were accompanied 
by a young postulant, Mary Power, called in Religion, Mary Augustine, 
who had entered some time previously, with the design of becoming a 
member of the new filiation then in contemplation, viz., Clonmcl 
convent. The sisters continued to occupy the residence already alluded 
to until the year 1822, when they removed to a convent in the same 
street which, with adjoining schools, had been erected for them the 
preceding year. In process of time the accommodation afforded by 
the schools to the number of children in daily attendance was found 
quite inadequate. This led the Very Rev. Dr. Hallcy, to whose watchful 
and provident care the community had been entrusted, to consider the 
necessity for a larger convent and more spacious schools on a better 



124 

site. At length, with the sanction of the discreets and under the 
inspection of the Very Rev. Dr. Hallcy, the foundation of the present 
convent and schools was laid March 27th, 1852, but it was not until 
the eve of Our Lady's Assumption, August 14th, 1858, that the sisters 
took up their abode in their new home. On their removal, the Sisters 
of Mercy who had then been for some few years established in Dun- 
garvan, moved into the venerable building within whose hallowed walls 
the cloistered daughters of the Presentation Order had found shelter for 
thirty-six long years. 

There arc well authenticated traditions of the Dungarvan convent 
which go far to prove that the daughters of Nano Nagle there emulated 
in their lives and virtues the servants of God of the early ages. 
Some of them were remarkable for possessing in an eminent degree 
the spirit of prayer, in which holy exercise they would spend whole 
hours together whenever their doing so did not interfere with the dis- 
charge of any other duty. One of them, now deceased, on days of 
vacation from the schools was frequently known to thank God at mid- 
day that previous to that hour she had spoken to Him alone. Many 
of the deceased sisters were remarkable also for their spirit of mortifi- 
cation ; in some instances it was discovered after their death that they 
had been in the habit of using instruments of penance. Others again 
would use no protection against intense cold in winter. A novice who did 
not live to make her profession, had attained such a degree of perfection 
that she was regarded as a saint. This young fervent soul would often in 
confidence give expression before her seniors to her determined resolution 
never to cease her efforts until she had brought herself to such a state 
of indifference as to be insensible to all that was not God. So much 
did she dread the loss of time that in her walks with her companions 
her first care after purifying her intention was to remind them gently 
to turn every moment to account, and should she chance to hear a use- 
less observation she would sweetly rejoin — "Sister, this remark will not 
surely rank among your most perfect actions on the day of judgment." 
People may smile and say this is old-fashioned sanctity, but it is sanctity 
nevertheless approved of and practised by the greatest saints, and not 
to be lightly condemned until the philosophers of the twentieth century 
shall have discovered a surer path to heaven. 

The Presentation community at Dungarvan numbers at present 
twenty-one members. The average daily attendance at the school for 
the year 1894 was two hundred and eleven. The nuns have, in connec- 
tion with the schools, a circulating library, from which not only the 
pupils but such of the townspeople as wish it may procure useful, enter- 
taining and edifying books wherewith to occupy their leisure hours. 



125 

In possession of the community is a silver chalice which bears 
the following inscription — "Ds. Pats. Fitz Gerald, Pastor Me Fieri 
Fecit, Anno d 1754, Orate pro eo." It was presented to the community 
in 1809 by the Very Rev. Dr. Walsh, Parish Priest of this town, to whom 
it had been bequeathed by the proprietor as a mortuary gift. 

In the year 1866 the Sodality of the Immaculate Conception of 
our Blessed Lady was established in this community, by permission 
of the Apostolic See procured by a brief of the same year. 

The cemetery was consecrated on the 15th of November, 1869, by the 
Very Rev. Dr. Halley, specially deputed by the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, 
and attended by Rev. Francis O'Brien, C.C., Rev. Edmond Foran, C.C., 
and Rev. Maurice Sheehan. On the 18th of the same month the 
graves of twenty-one religious who had been interred in the parish 
burial ground were opened and the remains conveyed to .the convent 
cemetery under the directions of the Rev. Fathers O'Brien and Foran. 
The remains of three members who had been interred in a plot of ground 
attached to the convent garden, temporarily designed for a burial place, 
were also at the same period exhumed and re-interred with the others 
in the present cemetery. 

The following are the names and dates of appointment or election 
of the Rev. Mothers of the community since its foundation. The first 
canonical election for Mother Superior took place on the 15th of May, 
1823. there being then seven members in the community. Dr. Kelly, 
Lord Bishop of Waterford and Lismore, presided on the occasion, 
assisted by the Rev. Jeremiah Halley, C.C. Sister M. Teresa McGrath, 
who since 1814 had been Mother Superior of the community by appoint- 
ment of the Ordinary, having received the canonical number of votes, 
was re-elected Superioress. 

The next election, at which Rt. Rev. Dr. Kelly, Bishop, presided, 
assisted by Rev. J. Halley, took place on the 7th May, 1826. Sister 
M. Teresa McGrath, having the canonical number of votes, was re-elected 
Mother Superior. 
Superiors : — 

Mother M. Austin McGrath .... 1829-1835 

Mother M. Teresa ... 1835-1841 

Mother M. Austin McGrath .... 1841-1847 

Mother M. John Evangelist McGrath .... 1847-1853 
Mother M. Austin McGrath .... 1853-1856 

Mother M. Philomea Moloney .... 1856-1859 

Mother M. Brigid Hearn .... 1859-1862 

Mother M. Catherine Quinn .... 1862-1868 

Mother M. Brigid Hearn .... 1868 1871 



Mother M. Stanislaus Casey, 1871-1876 (Died 1876) 

Mother M. Berchmans Cahill .... 1876-1882 

Mother M. Joseph Hearn .... 1882-1888 

Mother M. Berchmans Cahill, 1888-1892 (Died 1892). 

Mother M. Joseph Hearn .... 1894-1898 

Mother M. Gertrude Curran .... 1898-1904 

Mother M. Alphonsus Hally .... 1904-1910 

Mother M. Gertrude Curran .... 1910- 

The work of erection of the new Presentation Convent according 

to plans given by Mr. Leonard, Christian Brother, Cork, under the 

supervision of the Very Rev. Dr. Halley, P.P., commenced in 1852, 

and was partially finished in 1858 when the nuns came to live in it. 

L'p to that time a sum of £2,952 8s. 3d. had been expended upon it ; 

of that sum the nuns contributed £1,293 8s. Id., the remainder was 

made up of the following donations and smaller sums : — 

Andrew Carbery 

Parochial Collection 

Sermon and Lecture by Dr. Cahill 

Raffle of a Watch by Rev. M. Mooney 

Sermon by Dr. O'Brien, of Limerick 

Subscription from Dr. Foran 

Mr. Paterson, Clonmel 

Mr. N. M. Power, M.P., Faithlegg 

Patrick Morrissey, Ballymacmague 

Charles Kennedy, Esq., 

In 1861 the chapel was ceiled, wainscotted, and painted, and in 
1884, Mr. Doolin, architect, and Mr. Creedon, builder, commenced the 
work of altering and improving it at a cost of £3,306 9s. 6d. Towards 
this, Most Rev. John Power contributed a sum of £60 and the Very 
Rev. Pierse Power, P.P., £10, and a sum of £626 0s. 0£<f. was realised 
by a bazaar and smaller donations. The chapel, finished as at present, 
was blessed by the Most Rev. Dr. Power, and dedicated to the Sacred 
Heart on the 17th of June, 1887. 

The foundation stone of the schools was laid by the Most Rev. 
John Power on the 27th of July, 1879. The plans were given by Mr. 
Ashlin, architect, and the work done by Mr. Curran, contractor. A 
sum of £1,970 12s. 3d. was expended upon the building. Contributions 
to the amount of £517 10s. 0d., which included the following, were 
received : — £ s. d. 

Bequest of Rev. James Murphy 215 

Bequest of Mr. Edward Dwyer 20 



£ 


s. 


d. 


200 








192 


18 


6 


160 


18 


4 


91 


7 


9 


52 


7 


2 


35 








25 








10 








10 








5 











10 


d. 





10 







10 







10 







10 







10 





he Rev. 








9 







12 







10 







10 





convent 


was that of a 



127 

Most Rev. Dr. Power 

Very Rev. Dr. Cleary, P.P., Y.G. 

Rev. J. M. Kiely, Brooklyn 

Lord Viscount Lismore 

Mr. Edmond Kennedy 

Mr. Wm. Cahill 

Lecture in parish church by 
John M. Kiely 

Part of Dr. Coman's Legacy 

Flannery Charity 

Rev. P. Corcoran, Australia 
Among the many gifts made to the convent was that of a gold 
chalice set with precious stones, presented by the Most Rev. Dr. Cleary, 
Archbishop of Kingstown, Canada, a token of his high esteem and regard 
for the Presentation community. It has the following inscription — 
Right Rev. James Vincent Cleary, Bishop of Kingstown, Canada, to 
St. Joseph's Presentation Convent, Dungarvan, in the hope of a pious 
remembrance at their altar, 1884. 

In the famine years of 1847 and 1848 the sisters introduced industries 
including lace work and embroidery, and succeeded in making sale of the 
work in London and other English cities ; from the proceeds thereof they 
were enabled to support a large number of children and others during 
those years of pestilence and want. 

With the sanction of the Bishops for the time being the community 
invested a considerable sum of money in the purchase of lands at Bally- 
curren in 1844, and Kilmurry in 1856. Later, in consequence of the 
depression in the value of land and the difficulty of recovering their 
rents, the. community with the approbation and sanction of the Bishops 
sold the lands to the tenants. On September 13th, 1909, was celebrated 
with much solemnity the centenary of the foundation of the Order in 
Dungarvan. 



III. — Augustinian Convent. 
A convent of the hermits of St. Augustine was established in Dun- 
garvan (Abbeyside) as early as the close of the 13th century— in the 
year 1295 to be quite exact. The Earls of Desmond, the McGraths of 
Sleady, and the O'Briens were the patrons of the house till its suppression 
in the nineteenth year of Elizabeth's reign. The tower of the monastic 
church still survives together with the side walls and east gable of the 
choir. There is nothing to show that the Augustinians have ever had 
possession of the place since the suppression ; that however the Fathers 



128 

held some sort of watching brief is fairly inferable from their presence 
in the neighbourhood, where they took up the role of missionary priests 
during the times of persecution. When there came a lull in the Penal 
storm a small community was formed and a residence acquired. Previous 
to 1818 the residence was about a mile outside the town. In the year 
named the Fathers moved into town and erected a small and temporary, 
thatched, chapel. At the same time they had in view the building of 
a larger and better church for which thev had secured the Bishop's 
approbation. The actual building operations commenced in 1823 and 
the church was completed and ready for use in two years. A difficulty 
now arose. Bishop Robert Walsh who had given approbation of the 
building had died in the meantime and his place had been taken by a 
churchman of strong views and character, Right Rev. Dr. Kelly. Dr. 
Kelly refused permission to open the church for public worship. The 
pros and cons of the case were calmly and dispassionately considered 
by the ecclesiastical tribunals and the outcome of the discussion was 
the solemn opening of the church on the Sunday within the octave of 
St. Augustine's feast, 1829. 

The following is the list of Priors : — 
1760 to 1778 Father John Dolan 1839 Father Patrick Morrissey. 
1782 Father Patrick Donegan. 1843 Father Matthew Downing. 

1791 Father Patrick Anglin. 1847 Father John Leane. 

1803 Father James Wall. 1851 Father John Ennis. 

1815 Father James Tierney. 1855 Father P. Toomy. 

1819 Father Patrick Green. '1859 Father P. Toomy. 

1823 Father John Wall. 1862 Father Matthew Hendrick. 

He. it was, who was chieH> instrumental in 1 Qfl7 "Rn+hpr lampt A AllHprenn 
raising funds for the erection of the church. 18t,/ T atlier J aiUCS A. AliaerSOn. 

1835 Father Patrick Toomv. 



IV. — Convent of Mercy. 
St. Gabriel's Convent of our Lady of Mercy, Dungarvan, owes 
its existence to the charity and zeal of two benevolent and wealthy 
Catholics, the late Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Carbery. The need of an 
institution similar to the recently founded Mercy Convent, Cappoquin, 
had long been felt in the larger and more important town of Dungarvan, 
but the desire of Mr. and Mrs. Carbery to co-operate in its establishment 
arose primarily from the fact that their only child had entreated them 
on her death-bed to bring the Sisters of Mercy to Dungarvan, because 
she had, she said, seen them in a dream taking care of the poor, sick 
people, and she hoped, if God gave her back her health, to join them 
herself when old enough to be a nun. 



129 

The Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, having laid the matter before 
Rev. Mother M. Teresa of Wexford, and the Superioress of the Cappoquin 
convent, it was decided that a few sisters should be sent from the latter 
house to this new and more extensive field of labor. Accordingly, on 
the Feast of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin, 1854, four members 
of the Mercy Sisterhood bade farewell to their home by the Blackwater, 
and arrived on the same day in Dungarvan. They were cordially wel- 
comed by the Parish Priest, Very Rev. Dr. Hally, Mr. and Mrs. Carbery, 
and many of the inhabitants of the town, and conducted to a house 
on the South Terrace, belonging to Mr. Carbery, which he had furnished 
and prepared for their occupation. They lived in this house rent free 
for five years, receiving during that time much help from Mr. and Mrs. 
Carbery. An annual collection was also set on foot for them, to which 
the Carbery family, with their relatives and friends, contributed liberally. 
In 1866, a bazaar took the place of the collection and was held annually 
for several years from that date. 

The visitation of the sick, one of the characteristic duties of the 
institute, commenced the day after the sisters' arrival in Dungarvan. 
The instruction of adults was also undertaken without delay. Later 
on, the sisters opened a poor school, and devoted themselves to the 
fulfilments of another of the charitable works imposed on them by the 
rule — the instruction of children. The South Terrace house had been 
intended merely as a temporary home until the Presentation Convent 
building in Church Street should be available ; a large convent was in 
course of erection in another quarter of the town for the Presentation 
Nuns. In 1859, the Church Street convent was purchased by Mr. 
Carbery, and made over to the Sisters of Mercy. This generous act of 
their founder gave the community more than sufficient accommodation 
for their increasing numbers, and enlarged the sphere of their usefulness. 

Never did the Sisters of Mercy attempt to gleam in a more thorny 
field than Dungarvan proved to be. Crosses upon crosses rained on 
them incessantly, and many times they were on the point of returning 
to the convent in which they had spent the sweet and holy days of their 
spiritual infancy, but, having put their hands to the work, they feared to 
look back, lest they be judged " unfit for the kingdom." During this long 
and trying period of hardship and anxiety, the Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. 
O'Brien, always expressed himself highly pleased with their zealous 
labours in the duties of the institute. He was always until his death 
in 1873 a most sincere friend to the community, and left nothing undone 
in public or private to testify his esteem for them. In a letter, dated 
27th March, 1860, his Lordship wrote thus to the Mother Superior : 
"I am convinced that your establishment is the work of God, and that 



130 

those who co-operate in its success are doing what is very meritorious 
in the sight of God. I think it is impious to oppose it, and I believe 
likewise it will be in vain. Things much more feeble in their commence- 
ment have triumphed over all obstacles by the aid of God ; and, as I 
believe God is well served in your community, so I believe that He will 
continue to assist you." Another kind friend of the infant institute was 
the Rev. Maurice O'Gorman, Parish Priest of Abbeyside. He fostered 
with zealous care the growth of the little community, and watched over 
all its interests. He died in 1861, leaving his library and a legacy of £40 
to the sisters. The convent oratory of Our Lady of Good Counsel is 
the community's tribute to his memory. God sent His servants another 
friend equally kind and generous in Father O'Gorman's successor, Rev. 
Michael O'Donnell, P.P., but as was said of him at the time, "too 
good for earth, and ripe for Heaven," he died, while still in the prime 
of life, on the 11th February, 1868. The sisters have erected a stained 
glass window in the convent chapel to his memory. 

The convents of Cappoquin and Dungarvan were governed by Rev. 
Mother Vincent Fanning from 1854 to 1860, during which time she 
remained in Dungarvan, except for brief periods of necessary presence in 
Cappoquin. In 1860, however, the two houses were separated, Mother 
M. Vincent, being appointed Superior in Dungarvan, with M. M. Aloysius 
O'Connor, Assistant, and M. Josephine Purcell, Mistress of Novices. 
Mother M. Vincent Fanning, the foundress of the Sisters of Mercy 
in the diocese of Waterford and Lismore, was a woman of much force 
of character. Her mental endowments were above the average, her 
piety deep and solid ; her robust common sense, spirit of industry, 
and courage in facing difficulties were very noteworthy. After a holy 
and fruitful life of seventy-four years, twenty-five of which had been 
passed in the Office of Superior, Mother M. Vincent went happily to 
God on the 13th November, 1886. A stained glass window was placed 
in the convent chapel by the community in memory of their revered 
and beloved Mother. 

A select school was opened by the sisters in 1863 to meet a recog- 
nised want, and it was so numerously attended that it soon became 
necessary to build in order to accommodate the pupils. A plot of ground, 
situated at the rear of the convent garden, and extending itself at the 
side with a frontage to Church Street, formed a most suitable site for the 
projected new schools. The Vicar, the Rev. H. Cavendish Browne, 
was approached on the subject, and, though unable to sell, he very kindly 
consented to give the sisters a long lease of the land in question. There- 
upon in 1866 the work was commenced. The School of Our Lady of 
Good Counsel, as it is called, is a commodious and well-ventilated 



131 

building, two storeys high. By the provisions of the Irish Church Act 
of 1868, glebe lands passed into the hands of the Church Temporalities' 
Commission, and as that body had power of sale, the sisters purchased 
the freehold from them in 1874. This school was carried on with much 
success for twenty-seven years, imparting a sound religious and secular 
education to the daughters of most of the principal inhabitants of the 
town and adjacent district. The girls of this school were remarkable 
for their earnest piety, solid religious spirit, and love of industry, and 
many of them consecrated themselves to God and labored in His 
vineyard at home or abroad. 

The convent was enlarged in 1868 by a wing, running at right angles 
to the main building, and containing refectory, kitchen, community 
room and novitiate, with several cells, and in 1871, a dwelling house, 
purchased by the community some years previously, and abutting on the 
sanctuary end of the chapel, was thrown down, and the chapel enlarged. 
This arrangement left an additional room underneath for the poor school. 
These additions had been rendered necessary by the increased numbers 
of the community and pupils. Mr. Broderick, of Portlaw, was architect 
and builder. The old house, removed to make room for the chapel 
enlargement, had been used as a classical school since the early part 
of the century by the late Mr. Dwyer, a ripe scholar, and one of the 
most highly esteemed teachers of that date, and in it at least two gener- 
ations of boys had been educated, many of whom afterwards became 
priests. This house still stands in a corner of the garden, where it has 
been rebuilt to serve as a store-house. Some priests from the United 
States and Canada, former pupils of Mr. Dwyer, who visited the 
convent in the eighties, were greatly interested in looking over the old 
place, so familiar once, and easily recognisable still, spite of minor 
differences and the changed site. 

In 1873, the community, at the request of the Guardians of the 
Dungarvan Union, took charge of the Workhouse Hospital. In 1887, 
an additional sister was appointed Fever Hospital Nurse, and. in 1889, 
the Matronship was taken up by another sister, at the direct request 
also of the Guardians. In all these departments, the introduction of 
the sisters has led to many improvements, and much has been done 
since then for the spiritual as well as the bodily well-being of the sick 
and poor. The hospital in particular has been brought quite up to date 
in recent years and has become noted for the success of the difficult 
operations performed there. 

The number of pupils' in the schools increasing still further, a large 
and bright infant school room was erected in 1879 (Mr. Broderick again 
architect and builder) on an adjacent piece of ground bought by the 



132 

sisters from the representatives of the late Mr. Byrne — the dwelling 
house situated thereon at top of Church Street with out-buildings at 
the rear, having been first cleared away. This infant school, together 
with the girls' school, was put into connection with the National Board 
in 1881, and has been carried on with efficiency and success. In pro- 
portion as the programme for the National school grew more compre- 
hensive and advanced, the need for a higher school became less and 
less marked ; accordingly, after mature consideration, the select school 
was amalgamated with the National school in 1890. The work of educa- 
tion has made further progress since then, as the reports of the inspectors 
prove. It may, perhaps, not be inappropriate to add that the sums 
expended from time to time by the community on the building and im- 
provement of the schools amount to a total of more than £4,000. 

Sodalities, suited to the varying ages of the children, are established 
in the schools, and help much to foster devotion and solid piety among 
the pupils. The Sodality of the Children of Mary has been remarkable 
from its inception in 1861 for the earnest piety of its members, and the 
large number of excellent Catholic women composing it, of various ages 
and various positions in life. The meetings are well attended and a 
Retreat is given to the Sodalists at stated times. The lending library, 
first started about the year 1862, is kept well stocked with new 
publications, and is largely made use of by the school children, the 
former pupils, and the townspeople generally. 

In 1886, a work room was opened, under the auspices of the Dun- 
garvan Industrial Development Association, in order to afford remuner- 
ative employment to the young women of the town. A few years later, 
it was put into connection with the National Board as an Industrial 
Department. Several branches of work are carried on in it, as plain 
dressmaking, embroidery, shirt-making, hand and machine knitting, &c, 
also the making of vestments and other church requisites. 

In 1887, the Very Rev. James Williams, O.S.A., an old friend of 
the community, visited the convent on behalf of the Most Rev. Dr. 
Hutchinson, Vicar-Apostolic of Northern Queensland, and entreated 
the Mother Superior to give a little colony of zealous sisters, by whose 
labors the Faith might be kept alive amongst the Catholic children of 
that distant diocese. Dr. Hutchinson himself pleaded his cause later, 
and the Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. Power, having given his consent, five 
members of the community were selected for the foundation amongst 
those who had volunteered. They were Rev. Mother M de Sales Meagher 
(who resigned her office of Superior of the Dungarvan convent, and was 
appointed to that of Cooktown, North Queensland), Mother M. Josephine 
Jones, Sister M. Joseph McGrath, Sister M. Evangelist Morrissey, and 



133 

Sister Rodriguez Sheehy. All arrangements having been made, they 
set sail for Australia, accompanied by Dr. Hutchinson, on the 21st April, 
1888, ami on their arrival at Cooktown found a spacious and 
substantially-built new convent, furnished and quite ready lor their 
reception. The seed thus sown has taken firm root, God's blessing 
resting on it ; helped by the parent house in many ways, notably by 
the training of the novices for several years, it has not only furnished 
itself, but has been enabled to send forth vigorous off-shoots. 

In the year 1900, a kind benefactress, Mrs. Whelan, of Whitehaven, 
England, mother to two members of the community, having built for 
the convent what is styled in the rule, a House of Mercy — in present 
day language, a Residential School of Domestic Economy, it became at 
length possible for the sisters to give their attention to the training of 
young women to domestic duties, the third characteristic function of 
the congregation. The House of Merc}', blessed and opened by the 
Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan. on the Feast of our Lady of Mercy, 1900, 
accommodates about twenty-five girls, and is fully equipped for the 
teaching of cookery, housework, plain dressmaking, and laundry work. 
A small public laundry attached affords the opportunity necessary for 
practising the finer kinds of work, and gives a little help to the support 
of the girls. The building contract was £2,200 ; other expenses brought 
up the total cost to over £3,000. The House of Mercy has been 
instrumental in stopping to some slight extent the tide of emigration 
by obtaining for the girls trained therein situations in Ireland at an 
initial salary of from £12 to £20 per annum, according to capabilities, 
increased after a few years to £30 in several cases. From September 
1900, to September 1910. one hundred and seventy-two girls had 
entered the institution for the two years' course of training ; some 
merely to prepare for a useful home life, others to fit themselves for 
domestic service. As happens not seldom to philanthropic works under- 
taken tor God, the House of Mercy has its difficulties, financial and other, 
but his Lordship, Dr. Sheehan, has aided and watched over it with con- 
stant solicitude, many kind friends have helped in different ways, and Mrs. 
Whelan's generous benefactions have been continued by her daughter. 

From the year 1854 to 1868, the sisters had no regular chaplain ; 
they went out to Mass either to the Friary or Parish Church whenever 
they could not have the Holy Sacrifice offered in the convent. The 
Rev. Maurice Sheehan (later. Parish Priest, Carrick-on-Suir) was appointed 
chaplain in 1868; the Augustinian Fathers succeeded him in 1871; 
the chaplaincy was transferred to the parochial clergy in 1874 and has 
been held by them since that time. 

The convent, like all others of the congregation, is under the 



134 

immediate jurisdiction of the Bishop of the diocese, and is governed 
by a Superioress, elected tricnnally. 
List of Superiors : — 

1854-1872 Sister M. Vincent Fanning. 

1872-1878 Sister M. Aloysius O'Connor. 

1878-1881 Sister M. Vincent Fanning. 

1881-1884 Sister M. Augusta Whelan. 

1884-1888 Sister M. de Sales Meagher. 

1888-1894 Sister M. Gonzaga Flanagan. 

1894-1900 Sister M. Augusta Whelan. 

1900-1906 Sister M. Peter Foley. 

1906-1911 Sister M. Bega Crotty. 

1911 Sister M. Peter Foley. 



V. — Bon Sauveur Convent, Carriglea. 
This house was founded on June 25th, 1904, as a home for mentally 
afflicted ladies. At the date of opening the home had accommodation 
for only ten patients ; at present there is accommodation for fifty. The 
order of Bon Sauveur was originally founded by l'Abbe Janet, Rector 
of the Academy of Caen, and is governed by a local Superior under the 
jurisdiction of a Superior-General. Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan encouraged 
and helped the Superiors to found this branch house in the diocese of 
Waterford. Carriglea House, secured by the community and modified 
by them through Mr. Geo. Nolan, builder, in accordance with their needs, 
was formerly the Odell family mansion. The first Superioress of the 
young foundation was Mother Obrist (1904) ; she was succeeded in 1907 
by Mother Cros, at present in office. St. Francis of Sales is patron of 
the convent. 



Parish of Dunhill and Fenor. 



The ecclesiastical division so named corresponds to and comprises 
the three ancient parishes of Dunhill, Reiske, and Islandkane. The 
last named was a dependency of the commandery of Killure. The 
parishes have been united as at present for, at least, well over two cen- 
turies. The present church of Dunhill was erected in 1884 by Rev. 
John Dowley, P.P.. with Mr. Doolin as architect and Mr. Geo. Nolan 
as builder. Dunhill church continued to be popularly known as Cappagh 
till quite recently. An earlier thatched church stood on the townland 
of Cappagh less than half a mile from the present church. This Penal 
times chapel of Cappagh was demolished in 1798 by Rev. John 
Meany, P.P., and replaced by another thatched chapel on the site of 
the present fine church. Father Meany's immediate successor erected, 
some time in the first quarter of last century, the second church of Dunhill, 
which was taken down in 1884 to make way for the present structure 
dedicated to the Sacred Heart. Properly speaking, and suggestively 
enough, the patron of Dunhill is St. David. 

Fenor church, sacred to the Immaculate Conception, is still more 
modern than Dunhill ; it was erected in 1894 by the same parish priest, 
builder, and architect as was Dunhill. The older church of Fenor had 
a different patronage, scil. : — Our Lady's Nativity. The schools of 
the parish are four in number, scil. :— two male and two female, all 
under the direction of the National Board. Attached to the churches 
are the two obligatory Sodalities together with the Confraternity of the 
Living Rosary. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. John Fennell, residing at Carrickavrantry, was Parish Priest 
in 1704. He died in 1747 at the age of eighty-four years. Possibly 
he was already a priest ministering in the diocese when James fled from 
the Boyne. He awaits the resurrection in the old graveyard of Reiske. 

Rev. Maurice O'Hearne succeeded and lived till 1763 when he was 
succeeded by Rev. Maurice Walsh of whom we know nothing except 
the time of his death— 1778. 

Next, in order, came — Rev. John Meany, who built the thatched 
chapel of Dunhill and died in January, 1800, Rev. William Keating, 
who built the second chapel of Dunhill and died in 1832, Rev. Fdward 



136 

Flynn, reputed to have been an excellent Irish preacher, who died in 
1840, and the Rev. Michael Walsh who died in 1861. 

Rev. John Joy, whose rigidist views and uncompromising hostility 
to all novelties are even still remembered, was translated from Kilgobinet 
to replace Father Walsh. He died in 1875 and was succeeded by Rev. 
John Dowley who, having furnished the parish with two substantial, 
commodious and even handsome churches and a good parochial residence, 
died in 1894. The two immediate successors of Father Dowley were 
comparatively short-lived. Rev. Maurice Keating was Parish Priest 
only four years — from 1894 to 1898, and Rev. William Browne only 
eight years — to January, 1907. Father Keating erected the present 
curate's residence. The present pastor is Rev. Martin Power, trans- 
lated from Carrickbeg on the death of Rev. Wm. Browne. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

There are three ruined pre-Reformation churches, scil. : Islandkane 
(fairly preserved) within a small graveyard, Rciske (an early English 
chancel arch and little besides), and Dunhill. close to the well known 
castle. The Dunhill ruin shows signs of violence. Apparently it was 
blown up by gunpowder. There are, in addition, some slight remains 
at Cappagh of the thatched chapel pulled down in 1798. No fewer 
than nine early Celtic church sites have been found and identified, viz. : 
Kilfarrassy ("Fergus' Church"), Ballylenane, Killone ("Eoghan's 
Church"), Killstiage (probably " Staig's Church"), Kilcannon ("Conan's 
Church " ; three churches of this name have been identified in Co. Water- 
ford), Smoor, Ballydermody, Ballyphilip, and Kilcarton ("Cartan's 
Church"). 

There appears to be only a single Holy Well ; this is called "St. 
Martin's" and is situate on the townland of Castlecraddock. Nothing, 
or but little, appears to be known locally of this. well although O'Donovan 
states on the authority of tradition that a "pattern" was formerly held 
here. 

In the parish are two small silver chalices inscribed respectively : — 
"Presented to the parish of Island Kane by Robert Power, 1742," and 
"The Gift of Mr. Geoffrey Hearn and Mrs. Margaret Hearn to the parish 
of Reisk, 1757." 



Parish of 
Kilgobinet, Colligan, and Kilbrien. 



Kilgobinet and Colligan are ancient parishes, hut Kilbrien is of modern 
formation. We have already seen (under Abheyside) that portion 
(Clonea) of Kilgobinet parish was cut off with its church of Garranbane 
in 1862 and attached to Ballinroad. In 1850 a new church at Kilbrien 
was erected and portion of Kilgobinet and Colligan were cut off to form 
a third parish of the same union, that is, under the same parish priest. 
Kilgobinet is a parish of great extent geographically, mountainous in 
physical character, secluded, and largely Irish speaking. 

St. Gobinct of Ballyvourney is the patroness of Kilgobinet and her 
" pattern" was formerly celebrated on February 1 1th by a public gathering 
of the usual character in the neighbourhood of the saint's Holy Well. 
Unfortunately, however, the celebration degenerated into a scene of 
drunkenness and faction fighting with the result that war was declared 
upon it by the clergy and the assembly was eventually discontinued. 
The name Gobinet by the way takes the form of Abina, Abby. or Abigal. 

The patron saint of the parish of Colligan is Saint Anne, mother 
of the Blessed Virgin, whose feast is celebrated on that day by Mass, 
Confessions, Holy Communion, and Sermon in Colligan Church. 

The present church of Kilgobinet owes its erection to Father Met aim 
in 1826 ; it was reconstructed and much improved in 1883 by Rev. R. 
O'Gorman from designs by Mr. Doolin. Colligan church was built 
in 1832 by Father Ouinn, then Parish Priest. Both Kilgobinet and 
Colligan churches replace older chapels on the same sites. 

The parish has four schools — one each, male and female, at Cool- 
nasmcar and Kilbrien, it has also the Statutory Sodalities and, in 
addition, a branch of the Living Rosary Confraternity. The total 
Catholic population is about nineteen hundred and baptisms are returned 
as numbering only about fifteen annually. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Patrick Ronane, residing at Kilgobinet and then fifty-three years 
old was Parish Priest in hapless 1704. He was then twenty-four years 
in Holy Orders which he had received abroad. Of the Watcrford clergy 



138 

of the time, by the way, a greater proportion than in other Irish 
dioceses, seem to have studied and been ordained beyond the seas. 

Rev. Patrick Walsh, as his tombstone in Kilgobinet testifies, died 
Parish Priest of this united parish in 1806 when he was in his seventieth 
year. The laudatory Latin inscription speaks of him as learned and 
scholarly — doctus eruditusque. He is styled — pastor of Kilgobinet, 
Clonea, and Colligan. 

Rev. James McCann succeeded : he died in 1830, having built the 
present church of Kilgobinet and is buried close to the west door of 
the latter. 

Rev. J. Quinn was the next Parish Priest ; of him we know 
practically nothing beyond the facts that he succeeded Father McCann 
in 1830 and died in 1842. 

Rev. Michael O'Connor appears to have built the present parochial 
residence at Coolnasmear. He had some little reputation as a poet — 
his efforts generally taking the form of impromptu rhymes in English 
or Irish. He was succeeded by («) Rev. James Power, (b) Rev. James 
Kirby, and (c) Rev. Richard O 'Gorman. The last named was trans- 
lated to Ballylooby in 1893 when his place was taken by Rev. Tobias 
Burke. Father Burke was transferred to Aglish in 1899 and Rev. 
Pierse Walsh appointed in his stead. Father Walsh's pastorate was — 
like his two immediate predecessors' — a comparatively short one. He 
died in 1809 and was succeeded by Rev. Andrew Condon. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
At Kilgobinet are the much mutilated remains of a small Irish 
Romanesque church of eleventh century type. Its defacement and 
mutilation are the work of modern barbarians and, alas, that it must 
be said, the worst offender was the then Parish Priest. The suitability 
of its materials for use in another ecclesiastical building is no excuse 
for demolition of a church which deserved preservation as a national 
monument. It is devoutly to be hoped that the County Council in 
virtue of the powers conferred on them as guardians of historic monu- 
ments, will interfere to prevent glaring vandalism of this kind in the 
future. Close to the plain modern church of Colligan stand the remains 
of a thirteenth century predecessor. The remains in question are, 
however, scanty, being practically confined to the early-English chancel 
arch and the foundations only of side walls of nave and chancel. A 
soffit, springing from inverted-cone corbels, relieves the plainness of the 
arch. The corbels, by the way, are not insertions in the pier but rather 
projections on its face. Adjacent to the ruin is a large and curious 



139 

holy water stoup of sandstone. On the townland of Colligan are two 
fields called respectively Faheen and Paircatemple. In a corner of 
the former still-born children are still buried — a fact which seems to 
indicate it as an early church site ; the latter is so called from a chapel 
of the Penal Days which stood therein. 

There are at least two Holy Wells, scil. : — St. Gobinet's. called also 
Toberaphoona. on Kilgobinet townland, and St. Gonlon's on Inchan- 
drisla. Seven early church sites are also to be enumerated : — Bally- 
neety (this though popularly called Ringaphuca is not on the latter 
townland but just outside its boundary), Colligan (see Faheen above), 
Coolnasmear, Inchandrisla (St. Conlon's, see St. Conlon's Well, supra), 
Kiladangan ("Church of the Strong Place"), Kilbryan (Brian's Church), 
and Kilnafrehan (Church of the Wortleberries). 

Within Kilgobinet parish, in the townland of Ballyconnery, was 
born the great Legate Apostolic and Bishop of Lismore, St. Christian 
O'Conarchy, who died at Abbeydornev (Kyrie Fleison) in Kerry a.d. 
1186. Sec"De Cisterciensium Yiris Illustris," Murphy, p. 234. 



Parish of Kill and Newtown. 



This parish is made up of the three ancient parishes of Kilbarry- 
maiden, Rossmire, and Monksland. The amalgamation rendered 
necessary by the circumstances of the Pena! times was already effected 
at the beginning of the eighteenth century and has been since continued, 
except for a period of fifteen years from 1871 to 1886. In 1885 some 
rearrangement of the parish boundary was effected by Most Rev. Dr. 
Power, by which one townland (Graigshooreen) of Stradbally (or 
Ballylaneen) parish was transferred to Newtown in lieu of a portion 
of Bonmahon village given to Ballylaneen. 

The church of Newtown, which is cruciform in plan, was built in 
the year 1836 by Mr. Nugent, Newtown, under the superintendence of 
the Rev. James Power, who took the plan from the church of Ardmorc, 
but improved much upon it. 

The beautiful church of Kill, in the Gothic style, was completed 
in the year 1874 at a cost of £6,000— £1,500 of which was collected by 
the Rev. John Sheehy, who became Parish Priest of Kill when Newtown 
and the latter were divided into two separate parishes. The site was 
given gratis by N. Power O'Shee, Esq., Gardenmorris, and the foundation 
stone was laid in 1870 by the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, Bishop of the 
diocese. Mr. Power O'Shee bequeathed £1,000 to this parish in the 
year 1862, £800 of which was to form the nucleus of a fund for the 
erection of the present church, the remaining £200 being for the poor of 
the parish. The architect of the church was Mr. J. J. O'Callaghan and 
it was built by Mr. Mat Donoghue, of Stradbally. The patron is Our 
Blessed Lady of Mount Carmel, and the Patron Day, 16th July. The 
Patron Day is kept most religiously, a very large number receiving Holy 
Communion on the occasion. 

The older church, the sacristy portion of which still stands, was 
situated about the centre of the present graveyard and was cruciform 
in plan. It was built in the year 1800 by Mr. Wm. Daly, of Kill. Father 
Mat Morrissey was Parish Priest when lease of site for the old church 
and graveyard was got from John O'Shee, Esq., Gardenmorris. at rent 
of Is. per year. 

The present chapel-of-ease at Knockmahon was first erected as a 
Temperance Hall in 1842, and continued in use as such for twelve years. 
During the famine years it was the depot from which the destitute 
poor received supplies of provisions and other necessaries. The builder 



141 

was Mr. Wm. Cleary, and the total cost of erection about £1,000, of 
which £400 was subscribed by the miners of Bonmahon ; the remainder 
was collected in England and the United States by the Rev. James 
Power, C.C., who got killed in a railway accident in America on his way 
home. It was converted into a chapel-of-ease in the year 1854 by the 
Rev. Roger Power, Parish Priest of Kill and Newtown. It was in that 
year that the present sacristy and another addition at the east side 
were built. Father Roger Power established a "pattern" here — Patron 
Day, 8th December ; this continued to be observed with religious solem- 
nity till 1871, the date of Father Power's removal from the parish. 
A big mission of six weeks' duration was held in this chapel of Knock- 
mahon in August, 1861, by Father Dickson, assisted by five other 
missioners. The mines were in full working at the time and the popula- 
tion large. 

In addition to the three churches named there is a fourth church 
in Kilmacthomas attached to the convent but used by the general public. 
This church was erected as a chapel-of-ease to Newtown by Rev. David 
Hearne during his curacy of Newtown. There is yet another church, 
really a mortuary chapel of considerable age. at Monksland. Here an 
annual High Mass, on the Friday following August 15th, is celebrated 
and an Office recited for the souls of those interred in the adjoining 
cemetery. 

Within recent years the number of schools in the parish has been 
reduced by three : this is the result mainly of emigration consequent 
on failure of the mines. The schools at present in operation are Kil- 
macthomas (Convent), Newtown (mixed), Kill (mixed), Knockmahon 
(mixed), and the Workhouse, Kilmacthomas (mixed) all under the 
National Board. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. John Carroll, residing at Killbeg and aged sixty years, was 
Parish Priest in 1704. From Father Carroll to close of the 18th century 
is a blank as far as the succession of Parish Priests is concerned. Rev. 
Mathias Morrissey, the patron of Tadhg Gaodhalach, was Parish Priest 
in the last decade of the century, but the dates of his accession and death 
are unknown to the writer. His successor was his nephew, Rev. Roger 
Power, who died in 1833 and was succeeded by his nephew Rev. James 
Veale. Curiously enough Rev. James Veale was succeeded in turn by 
a nephew, Rev. Roger Power, the second. 

Rev. Roger Power built the present parochial house, attached to 
the church at Newtown. Father Veale lived in Georgestown in the 



142 

house now used as the curate's residence. Presumably, Father Morrissey 
lived also at Georgestown. Rev. Roger Power planned and commenced 
the present church of Kill. It was he too who converted the Temperance 
Hall at Saleen or Bonmahon into an auxiliary church. He was trans- 
lated to SS. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel, in 1873, whereupon Kill and 
Newtown was divided into two — Rev. John Sheehy, being appointed 
Parish Priest of Kill, and Rev. Richard Comerford, Parish Priest of 
Newtown. Father Sheehy by indefatigable labour completed the new 
church of Kill and paid off the debt. His successor was Rev. Francis 
O'Brien, who later was translated to Cappoquin (1881) and succeeded 
by Rev. David Hearne. Father Hearne was translated to Newcastle 
in 1884, and was succeeded, as Administrator only, by Rev. Robert 
Power. Rev. Richard Comerford, P.P., Newtown, died in 1890, where- 
upon the Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. Egan, reunited the parish — with Rev. 
William Burke, transferred from Stradbally, as pastor. During this 
pastorate a curate's house was acquired at Kill entirely through the 
exertions of Rev. M. P. O'Hickey, then curate there, and, later on, the 
Parish Priest secured a costly and indifferent house as residence for the 
curate at Kilmacthomas. Father Burke died in August, 1910, and was 
succeeded by Rev. John McCann, translated from Ring. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c 
The original parish church of Rossmire stood on site of the 
modern Protestant church and some fragments of the ancient building 
may be seen incorporated in the church aforesaid. Locally, by the 
way, this church is called Killcool, suggesting connexion with an early 
Celtic church builder, missionary, or recluse named Cumhal or Cool. 
There are some interesting though by no means extensive remains 
also of the ancient parish churches of Kilbarrymaiden (Ctlt t)4fi{id 
therein — "My Little Ita's Hill"), and Monksland. Monksland was 
portion of the endowment of the Cistercian Abbey of Inislounaght 
(De Surio), near Clonmel ; a peculiar thing about the church ruin here 
is its separation by a stream from its cemetery. Kilbarrymaiden, though 
in the diocese of Lismore, was see land of Waterford. This fact suggests 
that the place was originally the seat of a bishop. 

Near the church ruin of Kilbarrymaiden is a rather remarkable 
Holy Well. It is named on the Ordnance Map — St. Bernard's, but 
this title is unknown locally; the people call it St. Ita's Well and Cotwji 
tX\j\fv«\ tilenMn. There are also Holy Wells at Kilmacthomas (St John's) 
and Parkeenaglogh (All Saints') at which rounds were made and patterns 
held up to fifty or sixty years since. The early church sites discovered 



143 

and identified are Kilmoylan (St. Maolan's), Kilmurrin (St. Muirne's), 
and Killdwan (St. Dubhan's). Amongst the altar plate is a very ancient 
silver chalice of small size, inscribed : — "Pray for the Rt. Hon ble ' Lord 
and Lady Lnmbleston who ordered this to be done Ano Dni. 1717." 
There are also some portions of an earlier inscription. A second silver 
chalice in use in Kill has the following :— " Sumptibus Par. d Kill me 
fieri fecit Da. Maria Power 1752 in usum ejnsdem Par. orate pro ea." 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
Convent of Mercy, Kilmacthomas. 
The Convent of Mercy of the Holy Cross, Kilmacthomas, was erected 
in 1881 for the education of the middle and poorer classes and the care 
of the general and fever hospitals at the adjoining workhouse. Its 
founder was Rev. David Hearne, born at Ballylaneen, County Waterford, 
in 1834, and ordained priest in Waterford College in 1860. Father 
Hearne was curate in the parish of Newtown when, with the approbation 
of the Most Rev. John Power, he got from the Convent of Mercy, Cappo- 
quin, six sisters to found a branch of the Order here. He died Parish 
Priest of Newcastle on the 13th November, 1889. The architect of the 
convent was Mr. Matthias O'Keeffe, Cork, and the builder, Mr. J. Flynn, 
of Waterford. 

Rev. D. Hearne also erected the wooden church of Kilmacthomas 
which serves the double purpose of convent chapel and public chapel- 
of-ease for the Kilmacthomas portion of the parish. 

The Kilmacthomas house continued from its first establishment 
till the year 1882 a branch of the Cappoquin community. In the year 
named it became an independent convent, Mother M. Gertrude Whelan 
as first Superioress. 

The list of Superiors is as follows : — 

1882 Mother M. Gertrude Whelan. 
1895 Mother M. Joseph Hartnett. 
1901 Mother M. Aloysius Flinter. 
1907 Mother M. Joseph Hartnett. 
Since 1896 one of the sisters has been in charge of the workhouse 
school. 



Parish of Kilrossenty and Fews. 



The patron of Kilrossenty is St. Brigid, and of Fews, St. Anne. Patronal 
devotions were High Mass, Sermon, Benediction, and a large gathering 
of priests, with hundreds receiving Sacraments. Only private Masses, 
however, have been said in celebration of the day during the last 
thirty-five years. 

The present church of Kilrossenty was built by Rev. Richard Power, 
Paiish Priest, in 1840, and the Fews church was, at the same time, 
renovated. Both churches are cruciform in plan and Gothic in style, 
that is as far as they can be said to have any distinctive style. The two 
old churches, their predecessors, were erected by Father Edmund 
Power, P.P. Father Richard Power, P.P., was his own architect. 
Kilrossenty graveyard consists of about an Irish acre, enclosed for 
burial in the year 1828. 

There are three National schools — two in Kilrossenty and one in 
Fews. Kilrossenty schools were placed under the National Board in 
1837. Fews schools were built forty-six years ago. There is also in 
parish of Fews a private Protestant school. The population of the united 
parishes is about seventeen hundred, Protestants numbering about 
fifty-six. There is no record in existence to tell when the parishes were 
united, but there is evidence to show that the union formerly included 
Stradbally. Three baptismal registers kept in good order, survive ; the 
oldest goes back to 1811. The register covering the period from 1814 to 
1822 is lost. The second begins with 1822. There are two marriage 
registers. One dates back to 1806, and ends at 1814. The register 
covering period from 1814 to 1859 got lost about thirty-five years ago. 
The first mission held in the parishes was in 1861 and was conducted by 
the Oblate Fathers; a second mission was held in June, 1893. conducted 
by the Passionists. The religious societies of the parish are the Living 
Rosary, League of the Cross, and Holy Family. 

The parish of Kilrossenty and Fews has been remarkable for the 
great number of vocations to the priesthood. Within living memory 
no fewer than thirty priests, many of whom are still living, were ordained 
from the parish. Amongst the most remarkable were the Rev. Richard 
Power, P.P., already mentioned ; the Very Rev. Maurice Walsh, late 
V.G., Philadelphia ; the Very Rev. Edmond Power, late V.G , diocese 
of Kilienora ; Rev. M. A. Power, cousin to the last, who was the first 



145 

Rector since the Reformation in the diocese of Birmingham, and the 
Right Rev. Maurus O'Phelan, the present Lord Abbot of Mount Melleray. 
The Most Rev. Dr. John Power I., Bishop of the diocese, was first cousin 
of the three Fathers Meany, mentioned below. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Richard Costelloe, aged fifty years, ordained at the age of twenty- 
three and residing at Carrickbarrahan, was Parish Priest of "Stradbally 
and Kilrossenty" in 1704. His successor was probably a Father Lonergan 
who died about 1756. Rev. James Shea, commemorated in a Latin 
inscription in old Kilrossenty cemetery, died Parish Priest of" Killrossenty 
and Fews" in 1794 at the age of eighty-four. The name of Father O'Shea 
is still held in popular benediction and many tales as still told illustrative 
of his sanctity and goodness. A reflected halo surrounds even the 
memory of ttloinin, the good pastor's horse. 

Rev. Edmond Power, the next pastor, died in 1808, having erected 
two churches — at Kilrossenty and Fews respectively, in 1802. 

Next came in succession three brothers — Revs. John Meany (1808- 
1819). Denis Meany (1819-1831), and Patrick Meany (1831-1836). The 
first, Rev. John Meany, was a noted Irish scholar; his fine Irish sermons 
are preserved in manuscript, and a lamentation which was composed 
for him by a simple country girl, aged nineteen, a parishioner of his 
own, is still popularly recited. 

The Fathers Meany were succeeded by yet another native of the 
parish, Rev. Richard Power, of Fews. He resigned in 1844 and died 
in Rome in 1847. He it was who erected the present church of Kil- 
rossenty and restored the church of Fews. He was his own architect. 
Father Power is remembered as a mechanical genius in a measure ; he 
is said to have invented an improved plough, also an ingenious method 
of propelling a boat by paddles which a single man could drive, &c, &c. 

After Father Power came, in succession, two pastors of the same 
name but hardly, if at all, related, and of widely different character. 
Rev. John Casey, a man of considerable taste, culture, and reading, died 
Parish Priest in 1878. Rev. Michael Casey, P.P., held office fourteen 
years and died in 1892. 

Rev. John O'Connor, who had spent the greater and best portion 
of his life as a missioner in Newfoundland, succeeded. He was translated 
from Stradbally on the death of Father Casey in 1892, and survived, 
though in poor health, till September, 1898. Father O'Connor was 
succeeded by yet another Casey — the genial Father Michael known to 
his intimates as "the Doctor." Rev. Michael Casey was brother to 
Very Rev. Peter Casey, Parish Priest and Vicar-General, Dungarvan. 



146 

Alas, poor Father Michael was spared only four years ; he died in 
August 1st, 1902, and has for successor Rev. Thomas Moran. During 
Father Moran's term of office he has erected at Mahon Bridge a beauti- 
ful curate's residence on a plot of land generously given by Miss Fairholme, 
of Comeragh, at a rent of one shilling per annum. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

The ruins of the old church of Kilrossenty standing in the ancient 
cemetery are of considerable interest. They comprise remains of the 
nave and chancel with a fine chancel arch of pointed character. The 
choir and choir arch are clearly later additions to the church. A very 
curious feature of the ruin is a diagonal ope, intended evidently as a spy- 
hole, in the middle gable. Within the chancel is an artificial cave, used 
as a retreat by various hunted men and also by a typus-stricken family 
in black '47. Rev. Thomas Finn administered the last rites to the 
members of this affected family, and, so noisome was the awful abode 
that, before he could discharge his last sad office, he was obliged to 
carry the dying creatures one by one up to the surface of the earth. 
This cave is regarded by the people with horror as the tomb of an apostate 
friar whom they call Valentine but of whom they know little definitely. 
He was really an Augustinian, member of a good county family of the 
landholder class. His name was Wallis, which is the Waterford equiva- 
lent of the Kilkenny Walsh — Valois or De Vallis. In the townland 
of Ballynevoga is a field known as ]3a^c a cSeipeit, (Chapel Field), 
indicating presumably the site of a Penal Days church. There is a 
similarly named field on Englishtown. 

In the graveyard attached to the present church of Kilrossenty 
are some insignificant remains of the earlier church of 1802. At Fews 
no remains of its ancient church survive. At Kilrossenty, near the ruined 
church and close together, is a trio of Holy Wells, sacred respectively 
to our Lord, His Holy Mother, and St. Brigid. On Ballykeroge is another 
reputed Holy Well minus a name. 

There are ancient church sites — of the usual early Celtic character — 
at Killnagrange, Ballingowan, Ballykeroge, Curraheen (CiU Loinnin), 
Garranmillon (close by a pair of ogham inscribed pillar stones), Kil- 
comeragh, Knockyelan, and Shanbally. In the case of some of the 
foregoing, e.g., Ballingowan, Garranmillon, Curreheen, and Shanbally, 
the ancient circular enclosing wall of earth remains intact. 

Kilrossenty church possesses one ancient chalice of silver. It is of 
medium size and bears the following inscription in current hand on the 
under surface of its base : "This Chalice to the Chapel of Kilrossenty 
in the Dioc. of Lismore part of the legacy of Thorn 3, Valois Esq. late 
of Cadiz— Rev d - E. Power fieri fecit anno 1789." 



Parish of Kilsheelan and Kilcash. 



The present parish includes no fewer than four ancient parishes — 
Kilsheelan (Siolan's church), Kilcash (Caise's church), Killaloan 
(O 'Loan's church), and Tenepletney (Eithne's church). Both Kil- 
sheelan and Killaloan parishes extend into the County of Waterford. 

The founder of Kilsheelan. from whom the parish derives its name, 
may have been Sillan, Abbot of Bangor (February 28th), but more 
probably he is another Sillan, v.g., Sillan of September 1 1th. The present 
patron is the Blessed Virgin. Kilcash owes its foundation and name 
to St. Caise, who is listed in the martyrology of Donegal, under April 26th. 
The latter day patron of the parish is, however, St. John the Baptist. 
The present church of Kilsheelan replaces a church which stood on the 
opposite side of the road, on the small townland of Gambonsfield. From 
this latter townland the parish was, till recently, and is sometimes still, 
called Gambonfield, although the present church stands on another sub- 
denomination, The older church, of which some traces still exist, was 
furnished with three galleries occupied by people of what they them- 
selves were pleased to regard as different and well defined social classes. 
Although they assembled all together every Sunday to worship a God 
born in a manger, the occupants of the aristocratic gallery would not 
tolerate violation of its sanctuary by an habitue of the burgeois gallery, 
nor would a tenant of the latter view with indifference the intrusion 
within his domain of a seat holder of democratic enclosure. During the 
pastorship of Father Hally a half ludicrous and wholly scandalous 
incident occurred which led to interdict of the church and rendered 
reblessing necessary. A man named Walsh from another parish moved 
into Kilsheelan and attempted to take his seat on the gallery sacred 
to the elite. His presumption was too much for the tolerance of rustic 
snobbery. A clan fight and bloodshed in the church was the result. 
The present churches were both renovated, partly rebuilt, and the 
Kilsheelan church considerably enlarged, by Rev. Nicholas Phelan in 
1871 and 1885. Kilcash church replaces an older church erected on 
the same site in 1810, as this latter in its turn replaced a thatched 
chapel of still earlier date. 

The present parochial residence was built in 1870 during the pastorate 
of Rev. E. Walsh, by Mr. Delaney, a local builder ; the curate's residence 
was erected twenty-three years later, in Father Spratt's time. 

The parochial schools number six, viz. : male and female schools 
at Kilsheelan and Kilcash, and mixed schools at Killurney and Newtown 
Anner. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The earliest post-Reformation parochus of whom we have account 
is James Butler. He was registered at Nenagh in 1704 as "Popish 
Parish Priest of Killcash, Killsheelane, and Templetney," and as resident 
at Shanbally in the parish of Templetney. Father Butler was in all 
probability a scion of the Kilcash or Ormond family. 

Next we meet the name of Father Richard Hogan, a Franciscan. 
He was Parish Priest of Kilcash and later of Drumcannon. Father 
Hogan preached the funeral oration on the occasion of the burial in 
Jul)', 1744, of the Right Honourable Lady Margaret Burke of Clanrickard, 
Viscountess Iveagh, late relict of the Honourable Colonel Thos. Butler 
of Kilcash. He was also the preacher on the occasion of Archbishop 
Christopher Butler's obsequies in 1757. Father Hogan is interred with 
his brother Thomas, also a Franciscan, in Drumcannon graveyard, 
Tramore. He died July, 1764. 

Father Hogan 's immediate successor was perhaps the Rev. Nicholas 
Phelan who, for his vigorous denunciation of Whiteboyism and other 
disturbances, became so unpopular that he abandoned the pastorate of 
Kilcash in 1785, and was like his predecessor translated to Tramore. 

Rev. Thomas Anglim was pastor from 1785 to 1811. Rev. James 
Hally succeeded ; he lived at Ballypatrick in a house still standing 
and held the pastorate for thirty-nine years, living to witness Catholic 
Emancipation and the famine and to hear O'Connell. 

Rev. Edmond Walsh was appointed Parish Priest in 1849, but was 
translated to St. Mary's in 1875, to be succeeded in Kilsheelan by Rev. 
Nicholas Phelan, transferred from Carrickbeg and translated in 1886, 
one month before his death, to Passage. Father Phelan bequeathed his 
library, containing a fine collection in general literature, to St. John's 
College, Waterford. Father Phelan's successor in Kilsheelan was Rev. 
Patrick Spratt, who was transferred in 1894 to Cappoquin and succeeded 
in Kilsheelan by Rev. Patrick Delaney, D.D., translated from Bally- 
poreen and re-translated to Carrick-on-Suir in 1902. 

Rev. Edmond Meagher, translated in 1902 from Ballyduff, is the 
present pastor. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The antiquities of the parish are of somewhat more than ordinary 
interest. There are remains of six ruined churches, viz. : Kilsheelan, 
Kilcash, Killurney, Killaloan, Burntchurch, and Templetney. The 
ruins at Kilsheelan and Kilcash are specially important because of the 
presence of Celtic-Romanesque doorways and other early architectural 



149 

features in both churches. Close to the Kilcash ruin is the roofless 
castle of the same name, a mansion which harboured many a hunted 
bishop and priest of the Penal Days. Here Castlehaven. in the 17th 
century, wrote his memoirs and here hospitality was dispensed fey the 
charitable and pious Margaret Butler, Viscountess Iveagh, whose 
memory still lives in popular song and -story. Lady Yeagh, as she is 
familiarly known to all Decies and half of Ossory, reposes in the little 
graveyard hard by, and in the same tomb rest the mortal remains 
of her illustrious kinsman by marriage, Archbishop Christopher Butler 
of Cashel, 

" 'S Af leAti/kfi iu\ mAf\t> -co le^gc^rv 
Aft n&Aftoos 'r Lady 'Yeagh." 
The leaden mitre which decorated the tomb of the Archbishop 
was removed to be converted into bullets during the '48 movement. 

There are early church sites at Kilheffernan and Ballypatrick, 
besides a Holy Well, Cotx\f\ tUvonii tt1.\|u\ru\in (ttlo fopAnnAin) or 
"St. Forannan's (of Donoghmore) Well." 

Still used in the parish are two silver chalices of the 17th century. 
One, of medium size, bears the following inscription in current script : — 
"Orate pro aia d Pa Purcell sacer qui me fieri fecit. 1631.'' This 
chalice and its inscription suggest that Patrick Purcell may have been 
the predecessor of James Butler in the pastorship of Kilcash. The 
second chalice is hexagonal-based and bears in Roman capitals the fol- 
lowing legend: — ''Anno Dom 1717 Margarita Burke vicecomitissa De 
Iueagh me Dono Dedit Parochiae De Killcash — ." The parish has also 
a third inscribed chalice bearing date 1794, with the names of Thomas 
and Catherine Burke of Tallahea. 



150 



Parish of Knockanore, Kilwatermoy, and 
Templemichael. 



The parish of Knockanore, anciently Kilcockan, is under the patronage 
of the Sacred Heart. It was consecrated to the Sacred Heart by the 
Most Rev. Dr. Foran on the 3rd of June, 1853. Pope Pius VII, by 
rescript dated July 7th, 1815, gave permission to transfer the feast of 
the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus from the first Friday after the Octave 
of Corpus Christi to any other day of the year, with leave of the ordinary, 
and to celebrate the proper Mass on the transferred feast. On the 
anniversary of the consecration every year since then there are devotions 
in the church, which consist of Mass, sermon on the Sacred Heart, pro- 
cession and Benediction of the Most Holy Sacrament. The great majority 
of the people of the parish are members of the Sacred Heart Society. 
The present parish church of Knockanore was built in 1826, when Rev. 
Michael O'Brien was pastor. It is cruciform, with three main entrances, 
one in the middle of the west end and one in each of the transepts. The 
spire was cemented and otherwise repaired and the floor boarded in 
1878, when the Rev. Thomas O'Brien was pastor. Three sides of the 
chapel yard were until 1892 surrounded by an earthen mound, when 
the then pastor, Rev. T. Walsh, got a substantial stone wall built in its 
stead. 

The present church replaced an old thatched chapel which stood 
about a quarter of a mile to the south-east. There is at present no trace 
of the older building, but its site is well known. The church of Kil- 
cockan as well as Kilwatermoy belonged to the abbey of Molana. 
Knockanore churchyard was first used as a burial place for the general 
public about sixty-five years ago, but priests were interred within the 
church long before that time. 

The patron day of the parish of Kilwatermoy is the 14th of Septem- 
ber. On this day every year Holy Mass is celebrated in the parish chapel, 
Benediction of the Most Holy Sacrament is given, and the devotion 
of Stations of the Cross practised. It is the custom of the people of 
the parish to go on this day to a Holy Well, called the Well of the Holy 
Cross, adjoining the chapel, and to perform traditional devotions thereat. 
Formerly this custom was more extensively practised. The parish church 
which in plan is cruciform was built, partly on the site of a thatched 
chapel, in 1829. Rev. James O'Brien was pastor at the time. The church 
was originally roofed with local slate. In 1842 Rev. Michael Spratt, P.P., 



got this heavy roof removed and new slates put on. In 1847 the chapel 
yard was enclosed with a high wall. Tradition points out the site of 
another chapel about a quarter of a mile to the north of the present 
church. A few years ago some workmen dug up part of the foundation. 
In the parish at present there are five schools, all connected with 
the National Board, viz. : male and female schools at Knockanore and 
Kilwatermoy and a mixed school at Glendine. The total Catholic 
population, which has declined rapidly since the famine but appears 
stationary at present, is about one thousand seven hundred, distributed 
as follows : — Knockanore, five hundred and ninety-seven ; Kilwatermoy, 
five hundred and eighty-four ; Glendine, five hundred and twenty- four. 
Baptisms were one hundred and sixty in 1807, one hundred and ninety- 
three in 1836, two hundred and twenty-two in 1844, and forty-four 
(less than one-fifth the number of 1844) in 1893. The oldest Baptismal 
Register in the parish is dated 1803. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Garret Fitzgerald, no doubt, a member of one of the offshoots of 
the Desmonds, was registered Parish Priest in 1704. He resided at 
Ballinatray, was then aged eighty years and had been ordained on the 
continent by the exiled Bishop of Kilfenora, Fitzgerald styles himself 
as Parish Priest of Templemichael only. On the same day however 
there was registered one William Tobin, residing at Kilwatermoy, as 
Parish Priest of Tallow, Kilwatermoy, Kilcockan, and Templemichael. 
Like Fitzgerald, Tobin had received Holy Orders at Rouen from the 
hands of Andrew Clancy, Bishop of Kilfenora. Possibly Tobin was a 
regular (Augustinian) and as such claimed the vicarage belonging to the 
Augustinian House of Molana. 

1803— Rev. P. Phelan. 

1810— Rev. Michael O'Brien ; died July 3rd, 1828. 

1828— Rev. James O'Brien ; died 6th May, 1836. 

1836— Rev. Roger Murphy; died 1st January, 1841. 

1841 — Rev. Michael Spratt ; was translated to Cappoquin m 1850. 

1850— Rev. Thomas Qualy ; died 1st March, 1877. 

1877— Rev. Thomas O'Brien ; died 23rd January, 1883. 

1883— Rev. Thomas Walsh ; died Dec, 1908. 

1909— Rev. Richard Casey ; translated to Powerstown 1912. 

1812 — Rev. Patrick Lonergan. 

Revs. Michael O'Brien, James O'Brien, Roger Murphy, Thomas 
Qualy, and Thomas Walsh are buried in the church of Knockanore, 
and Rev. Thomas O'Brien in Kilwatermoy. 



152 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

The most remarkable antiquities of the parish are the remains at 
Rincrew and Molana. Rincrew was a preceptory of the Templars. 
The site is truly magnificent, affording glorious views of river, sea, and 
mountains. Doubtless the founders of Rincrew found the scene more 
charming still when many a now bare slope and many a rugged angle 
were smoothed into rounded outline by a mantle of primeval forest. 
The remains of the preceptory are rapidly v anishing ; the place is un - 
enclosed and cattle have free access even to the ruined church. The 
most important portion of the ruin, the church, is in an advanced state 
of decay ; this is some sixty-six feet long by twenty-seven feet 
wide and its walls are nearly live feet thick. Unfortunately not a door, 
window, or other definite architectural feature survives intact. Molana, 
on an island in the Blackwater, was originally an Irish Celtic founda- 
tion the origin of which is attributed to St. Malanfidhe (6th century) 
whose history and identity are both somewhat obscure. St. Fachnan of 
Ross was also, at one period of his life, connected with this house as 
Abbot. At the suppression Molana passed into the hands of one John 
Thickpenny, from which it found its way to Sir Walter Raleigh. From 
Raleigh it was transferred, by means which perhaps will not bear too 
strict scrutiny, to that individual of masterful personality and pro- 
digious appropriating capacity — the Earl of Cork. At the date of its 
suppression the vicarages of Tallow, Kilwatermoy, Kilcockan, and 
Templemichael were dependent on Molana. 

The remains at Molana are interesting, extensive and, as far as the 
church is concerned, in a good state of preservation. The monastic 
church consists of nave and choir separated by a choir arch of which 
only the jutting basements of the piers remain. Longer by some four 
feet than the nave the choir is lighted by no fewer than twelve windows, 
viz., six on the south, four on the north, and two (which perhaps ought 
be reckoned rather as one window with two lights) in the east gable. 

There are considerable remains of the ruined churches of Kilcockan 
(choirless) and Kilwatermoy (also choirless). No remains survive at 
Templemichael. It is evident that the older building here was removed 
to make room for the present Protestant church. The parish, like all 
the Blackwater riparian parishes, abounds in Holy Wells ; the names 
of six occur to the writer's memory : — Kilwatermoy (Holy Cross), Bally - 
philip (St. Geibin's), Newport (St. Berechart's), Fountain, Castlemiles 
(Sunday Well), and Templemichael (St. Michael's). Early church sites, 
besides those marked by the church ruins already enumerated, have 
been identified at Fountain (CilL ponncMii), Killenagh, Killea (Oil 
Ao-oa), and Killmanicholas (Oil 'ic tliocUir-). Among the altar 



153 

plate are two chalices deserving of notice, the first is a small silver 
vessel with a rudely incised inscription in Roman capitals on a platform 
above the lower rim: "Orate pro Tho. Welsh, Waterfodiense." The 
second chalice is larger and much later ; the legend is in current hand : 
"Donum Confraternitatis de Kilcockan Paroeciae dc Kilcocken, Rev. 
Michacle O'Brien, Pastore an. 1815." 



Parish of Lismore. 



The parish of Lismore is one of the largest in the diocese — extending 
from the Araglin river in the north to the Bride, a distance of perhaps 
sixteen miles. Originally — in fact, up to fifty years ago — it was much 
larger, embracing also the whole of the present Ballyduff. In this 
connexion it is however to be remembered that it is only in compara- 
tively recent times that the mountain district of Lismore has become 
inhabited. As late as the time of the Earl of Cork the red deer and wolf 
were hunted on the uplands where now are potato fields and meadows. 
It is a fact generally unknown that Lismore embraced not only all 
Ballyduff parish as stated but portion of the modern Ballyporeen as 
well. Presumably the portion of Tipperary belonging to Lismore were 
the two or three townlands on the southern slope of the Knockmcal- 
down Range overlooking the Araglen valley. Probably the region in 
question was regarded as more accessible from the Waterford side ; it 
was severed from Lismore about 1828, during the pastorate of Rev. 
Nicholas Foran, and the curacy therein of Revs. J. Mullins and Michael 
Purcell. Three priests then did all the parochial work of that mighty 
parish, a sick call to parts of which might entail a thirty miles ride over 
unspeakable roads. While the "stations" were being held the two 
priests engaged remained camping as best they could in the mountain 
cabins from Monday morning to Friday evening. St. Carthage is the 
patron of this parish. On his festival day two Masses are celebrated 
— one at 8.30 and the other at 10.30. Confessions are heard before 
the first Mass and up to and during the second. There is at present 
only a single church, St. Carthage's, but a chapel-of-ease at Ballysaggart 
is in course of erection. 

The parish is one of the most historic in Ireland ; its story indeed 
would require a volume to itself. St. Carthage's foundation of the 
7th century quickly grew into a great community conducting world- 
famed schools and giving bishops and priests to churches innumerable. 
Among the great ecclesiastics and others connected with the school of 
Lismore may be named St. Malachy, the friend of St. Bernard and 
Bishop of Armagh ; St. Celdus, also Bishop of Armagh, who is buried 
in Lismore ; Cormac Mac Carthy, the builder of the famous chapel 
which bears his name at Cashel ; St. Christian Apostolic legate, &c, &c. 

St. Carthage's is most probably, surroundings &c, being considered, 



155 

the most beautiful and perfect church in the diocese. The foundation 
stone of the new church was laid Sunday, October 9th, 1881, by 
Most Rev. Dr. Power, Bishop of the diocese, on which occasion the 
sermon was preached by Most Rev. Dr. Fitzgerald, Bishop of Ross. 
On the 1st Sunday of June, 1884, the new church of Lismore was 
opened. The celebrant of High Mass was the Rev. Michael C. O'Farrell, 
Rector of St. Teresa's, New York (a native of the parish) ; deacon, 
Rev. P. J. Prendergast, D.D., of Epiphany Church. New York 
(native of the diocese, and now Archbishop of Philadelphia) ; sub- 
deacon, Rev. Wm. Sheehy, St. John's College ; master of ceremonies, 
Rev. F. O'Brien, P.P., Cappoquin. The dedication sermon was preached 
on the occasion by Rev. Dr. Hutch, President, St. Colman's College, 
Fermoy. The new church was erected on the site of its humbler pre- 
decessor. 

The schools of the parish are the Christian Brothers'— in two 
divisions, primary and secondary, Convent National Schools at Lismore, 
Ballinvella (mixed). Ballysaggart (mixed), and Glengarra (male and 
female). The population of the parish was three thousand three 
hundred and forty-four in 1894. In 1874 there were one hundred 
and twenty-eight baptisms, in 1884 one hundred and three, in 1894 
fifty-two. Decrease in population is the result of emigration. In 
addition to the obligatory associations there is a Confraternity of the 
Immaculate Conception and a Confraternity of the Children of Mary in 
the parish. The baptismal registers go back to 1822. Beyond this 
there are no parochial records. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The registered Parish Priest of Lismore in 1704 was David Lehane, 
who is stated to be then fifty-one years of age. Next, there is mention 
of a Dean of Lismore named Hennessy, but whether he be the Jesuit, 
Father Thomas Hennessy, Parish Priest of St. Mary's, Clonmel, or a 
Parish Priest of Lismore there is nothing before the writer to show. 

Rev. Daniel Lawlor seems to have been pastor of Lismore before 
close of the 18th century ; his grave and elaborate tombstone are in 
the ancient graveyard of Modcligo but unfortunately the dates in the 
inscription are (as often happens) illegible. Father Lane, who died in 
1802, seems to have come next in succession and, after him, Rev. Maurice 
Coleman, who died in 1821 at the age of sixty-three years. Rev. Garrett 
Connolly was nominated to the vacant parish in July, 1822, by Right 
Rev. Dr. Kelly. He was translated to Dungarvan in 1823 and succeeded 
in Lismore by Rev. Nicholas Foran (afterwards bishop) in 1824. From 



156 

the translation of Rev. Garret Connolly to Dungarvan in 1823 to the 
nomination of Rev. N. Foran in June, 1824, the parish seems to have 
been without a pastor, possibly owing to the confusion consequent on 
the canonical litigation in the Dungarvan parish case. In July, 1829, 
Father Foran was transferred to Dungarvan and was succeeded in Lismorc 
by Rev. Edmond Wall who survived his appointment by nine years, 
dying in January, 1838, at the age of fifty-eight years. 

On the 18th March, 1838, the Rev. P. Fogarty was appointed. He 
ruled the parish till the 29th of July, 1866, when he died at the age of 
seventy-five. The inscription on his monument says that it was mainly 
through his exertions the monastery of Mount Melleray was established 
after the expulsion of the Monks from France. To him also the 
Christian Brothers' Schools owe their origin. During his pastorate a 
site was procured and a school built at Ballysaggart, distant about 
five miles from Lismore. Great difficulty was experienced in procuring 
the site owing to the bigotry of Kiely Usher, who then held sway in 
Ballysaggartmore. Father Fogarty often declared from the altar that 
"a school and education would flourish in Ballysaggart when no Kiely 
Usher would remain." Facts have verified the prediction. 

In September, 1866, the parishes of Lismore and Ballyduff were 
divided. Rev. Patrick Byrne was appointed Parish Priest of Lismore 
and Rev. David Power Parish Priest of Ballyduff. 

Rev. Patrick Byrne (elevated before his death to the dignity of 
Monsignor) survived till April 10th, 1898, but for many years previous 
to his death he took no part in parish affairs or work. His successor 
was Rev. Thomas McGrath, translated from Carrick. On the re-establish- 
ment of the Diocesan Chapter Father McGrath was raised to a canonry 
and later to the archdeaconry. He died January 8th, 1911, and has 
been succeeded by Very Rev. Canon Walsh, D.D. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The pre-Reformation Cathedral of Lismore seems to have been 
almost entirely destroyed by the White Knight in the reign of Elizabeth. 
In the early seventeenth century however the church was practically 
rebuilt and converted to Protestant worship by the great Earl of Cork. 
Some portions of the older structure survive, incorporated in the present 
Protestant cathedral — the chancel arch, for instance, and some windows 
of the south transept. Within the church, at west end of the nave, 
is a remarkable tomb of the Magraths, dated 1557, and elaborately carved 
— top, front, back, and sides. Inserted in the west wall of the nave 
are five inscribed grave slabs of early Celtic type asking prayers for 



Colgcn, an eminent ecclesiastic of Lismore who flourished A.n. 850, for 
Suibhne MacConnor. 854. for Marfan, 878, &c, &c. 

In a wood two miles to south of Lismore are the foundations of a 
small oblong building styled the "Loistin" ; it probably represents the 
site of an hospice, hostel, or almshouse depending on the church of 
Lismore. The other ecclesiastical antiquities of the parish consist of 
Holy Wells and early church sites and cemeteries. Close to the 
castle entrance is site of an ancient cemetery still styled Reilig Mhuire. 
Herein many sainted bishops, anchorites and others await the Resur- 
rection with Celsus of Armagh and Carthage of Lismore. There are 
early church sites — but no remains beyond traces of the circular wall 
of earth — at Ballyinn, Cool (Cat CoUimcitte), and Seemochuda, and 
Holy Wells at Ballinaspick (CotK\r< ha 5loi|\e), Carrignagower (Cob.\n 
mocolmoig) and Lismore (CotK\r> C^rwig). Close to the town of 
Lismore, but actually within the parish of Cappoquin, is an additional 
and interesting cilleen or early church site, on the townland of Ralph. 
To prevent perpetuation of an error of recent origin it may be well to 
state that the last named well, St. Carthage's, is now closed up and 
the site occupied by the present gate lodge at the castle entrance. 
The well sometimes mistaken for St. Carthage's is really Uob,\r> n.\ 
Ce\\|voc-An, i.e., Forge Well. On the townland of Castlelands in a 
limestone cliff is a small cave called the " teampuilin," i.e., the Little 
Church. Possibly the cave is ecclesiastical in origin or history. Finally 
the general place names of Lismore parish testify to the former 
ecclesiastical importance and character of the region : — Ballyanchor (an 
anch<»\ or perpetually enclosed religious, was attached to the church of 
Lismore). two Ballysaggarts, besides Glenasaggart, Skeaghataggart. and 
Monataggart, Seemochuda (St. Mochuda's or Carthage's Sitting Place), 
Munalour ("The Lazar House Shrubbery,") &c. Among the ecclesiastical 
antiquities must certainly be mentioned the Crosier of Lismore and the 
manuscript volume known as the Book of Lismore. The "Book" is a 
compilation or transcript of the 15th century and the "Crosier" appears 
to be some centuries older, and to have been made for Mac Aedhogain, 
Bishop of Lismore. It is highly probable that the present ornamental 
staff enshrines what remains of the original hazel or oaken staff of 
St. Carthage. 

RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Presentation Convent. 
The pioneer mothers started from their convent in Waterford on 
21st June, 1836. At Dungarvan they halted, and with Most Rev. 



158 

Dr. Abraham, the Bishop, who had accompanied them, they visited 
Very Rev. N. Foran, P.P. It was on the latter's solicitation that the 
affiliation at Lismore was projected. In the interval between the 
necessary negotiations and the establishment of foundation Dr. Foran 
had been transferred from Lismore to the pastorate of Dungarvan. We 
can imagine then the warm welcome accorded our travellers, and the 
renewed energy and jubilant hearts with which they set out on the 
second half of their route. Dungarvan was scarcely out of sight 
when the wayfarers perceived in the distance a troop of horsemen. 
The bishop announced the approaching cavalry to be a body of 
Hessians. The very name was a cry of alarm — in those days it had 
bitter associations for the Irish Catholics. 

Towards evening hundreds of people expecting the advent of the 
sisters, congregated outside the town to await their arrival. At the 
first glimpse of the vehicle a shout of welcome burst forth ; the local 
band struck up National airs, the carriage was unhorsed, and the humble 
daughters of Nano Nagle were borne triumphantly to their temporary 
residence on the Mall ; serenading continued till a late hour and the town 
was illuminated. The dwelling occupied by the nuns was formerly the 
house of Colonel Cameron, a Protestant, whose kinswoman is the Mrs. 
Cameron of fiction-fame." This gentleman possessed also two acres of 
land, the site of the present convent, about a few minutes' walk from 
the town. This ground the sisters were enabled to purchase owing to 
the dower given them the day of their arrival by Sister Michael Wall, 
who joined in capacity of lay sister. This good sister had previously 
prepared the house and succeeded, with the assistance of some prominent 
lay Catholics, in transforming the place into a miniature convent. The 
parlour did duty as chapel, and the ball-room served as school room. 
On the 22nd June, the day following their arrival, the school work was 
commenced. Before leaving the mother house, Waterford, Mother 
Paul Kenny was appointed Superioress of the little colony, which con- 
sisted of her sister, Sister M. Aquin Kenny, Sister M. Frances Keating, 
and the postulant of the preceding evening, Sister Michael Wall. 

The children, attracted no doubt as much by curiosity as by a 
thirst for learning, flocked in such numbers to the convent school that 
the overflow from the quasi-ball-room had to be accommodated in the 
back yard. On wet days the stables served as class rooms, for the 
hygienic conditions of which no evidence is to hand. 

The first mothers had many privations to endure owing to the want 
of foresight of some who had the arrangements of the temporalities of 
the foundation and to the unexpected deaths of others who would have 
been bound to make provision for them. At times the necessaries of 



159 

life were wanting, but like trustful children the community left them- 
selves in the hands of Providence, which never failed to raise up now 
one and again another kind friend. 

In 1837 two postulants, Sisters M. Joseph Casey and M. de Sales 
Power, came to lighten the work and joyously share in the difficulties 
of the little band ; 1S39 brought two others, Sisters M. Magdaline Power 
and M. Austin Walsh. Each of these members possessed the means 
usually required on admission. The sum thus received constituted the 
nucleus of a little capital whose interest rendered the future less 
precarious in prospect. But the building of a convent ? About the 
year 1840-41 two young, energetic clergymen, with no fund but their 
own extraordinary zeal and abilities, undertook the work (a site had 
already been acquired ; the little plot purchased formerly for a garden 
served admirably) — Rev. P. Meany and Rev. M. O'Donnell. Rev. P. 
Meany had tact, executive skill, special aptitude for supervision, and 
indomitable perseverance. This poor priest obtained from the Duke of 
Devonshire the use of slate and limestone quarries, horses and carts 
from the farmers round, and many local contributions ; whilst Rev. M. 
O'Donnell was lavish of his time and efforts, sparing himself no fatigue 
in a begging expedition through the diocese for the benefit of the new 
convent. In 1842 the foundation stone was laid by the Most Rev. Dr. 
Foran. The building occupied about five years, during which period 
the nuns continued their uphill work. In 1846 the new convent, 
though not adequately completed, was taken possession of. 

Mothers M. Paul and Aquin Kenny were sisters, ever cherishing 
the home-love of their younger days. We find them united in the 
chief events of their lives — fond ties are not blunted by religion, she 
but quickens and spiritualises them. Mother Paul was the eldest 
daughter of James Kenny, Esq., Carrickbeg. Co. YVaterford, and Margaret 
Riordan. The late Mother Bernard of YVaterford was a niece of the 
Mothers Kenny. The sisters entered together on the 9th October, 
1826, received the habit on the 9th of April, 1827, and made solemn 
vows on the same date and month — 1829. Mother Paul had been 
appointed Superioress before leaving YVaterford ; she was re-elected in 
1848 under the presidency of Most Rev. Dr. Foran, and continued to 
hold office till 1851, when she was succeeded by Mother Joseph Casey. 
Rev. Mother Paul reigned over the foundation during its infancy. 
Adolescence is a trying time in every state. She loved her institute, 
her school and above all her choir duties ; hypercritical as to the 
ceremonies prescribed in the recitation and the correct pronunciation 
of the office, she was in this respect a "light to go by." Order, 
punctuality and cleanliness were characteristics of her nature. 



160 

A staunch upholder and observer of holy rules, it was through 
the help of prayer that she acquired that tolerance of spirit which could 
forbear without a hasty rebuke a breach of discipline in others. When 
at the expiration of her superiorship she transferred the rudder to another 
hand she resigned her barque well-manned, with propitious wind, but, 
alas, on a changeful sea. Mother Paul died February 3rd, 1859. 

Mother M. Frances Keating entered the Waterford convent, Decem- 
ber, 1806. This much esteemed and beloved religious, belonging to a 
family of good social position in her native city of Waterford, possessing 
many natural qualifications and accomplishments and of a beautifully 
buoyant and naive temperament, was before all a truly humble soul. 
Ever ready to assist in the most fatiguing and lowly occupations, she 
found her joy in being the servant of all. During nine years she held 
the responsible and perplexing office of Mistress of Novice, the arduous 
and delicate duties of which she admirably fulfilled. "Nothing bright 
shall last," and Mother Frances, the ideal of all that goes to form a 
good nun, was taken away to fairer regions on the 11th July, 1847, 
having been the first to lie and rest in the little cemetery. 

Mother Joseph Casey, who succeeded M. Paul as Superioress, joined 
the community whilst they resided in the old house, and was professed 
September, 1839. She occupied the post of Superioress during three 
terms, and died while in tenure of office. This holy and prudent religious 
was frequently termed by externs "the real nun." Her meekness 
was such that one old religious, when some unusual disagreeableness 
arose, once remarked : "Rev. Mother, you vex me because you won't be 
vexed"; her tone of voice, deportment and every gesture bespoke 
that calmness of spirit which nothing external can disturb. Her rebukes 
were more insinuated than administered. Her charity to the indigent 
prompted an injunction to the portress that she was never to allow a 
poor person to go unrelieved. When dealing with the schools we shall 
see her active zeal, industry and self-renunciation. In 1862 she was 
attacked with a malignant internal disease to which she succumbed after 
a brief illness. 

Mother Aquin Kenny, to whom we alluded in connection with 
M. Paul, was elected Superior in 1865, and re-appointed to 
office in 1868. This dear old nun was not only a reverend, but in 
every sense a true mother. Humility permeated her whole existence. 
M. Aquin, though by her office not obliged to attend school, always 
insisted on having a few of the poorest and dullest pupils as her protegees ; 
these alone she instructed. Her love for the Blessed Sacrament was 
the prevailing devotion of her life. She often lingered behind at the 
termination of the choir exercises and at evening, when the worries 



161 

of the day were over she would seat herself on a low stool and there 
heart to heart with her Lord in the Tabernacle she drank of the delights 
He came to bring to the children of men. God took her to Himself 
17th April, 1875. 

Mother Austin Walsh was Superioress for three years, and presided 
over the destinies of the novitiate for twice that period. She was a 
most amiable, kind and self-sacrificing religious ; her spirit of prayer 
and charity was admirable. To this day the old pupils whom business 
or fancy brings to the convent recall her impressive and practical 
instructions. She was stricken with a most painful internal malady 
under which she manifested not only heroic patience but radiant joy 
and fell a victim to its ravages on the 11th November, 1860. 

The schools attached to the convent, as we have said, were in motion 
the day following the nuns' advent. The principles of religion and all that 
goes to make the young girl a worthy member of the Church, the State and 
the Family were efficiently inculcated. For ten years the sisters kept on 
the even tenor of their way, imparting religious and secular instruction. 
In 1847 the famine raged and the children of the poor felt many a hunger 
pang ; in their new convent and with a large deficit hanging over them, 
the nuns deemed it their duty to succour their destitute pupils ; they 
practised the most rigid frugality and appealed far and near for assistance. 
Thus they were able, while the bad times lasted, to supply fifty poor 
twice or thrice weekly with bread and soup. So continuously was the 
potpourri on the fire that the person in charge of the culinary depart- 
ment complained she had no opportunity to cook the sisters' meals. 
Rev. Mother Joseph Casey at this stage initiated an industrial depart- 
ment where many articles in muslin embroidery and lace were neatly 
and creditably executed. A central market was had in London through 
the influence of friends, and from sixty to seventy hands were engaged 
daily for over thirty years earning on an average five to six shillings 
a week. Eventually the demand failed, and thus this important work 
collapsed— not irrevocably we trust. In 1833 the Board of National 
Education was constituted and the convent schools, as soon as circum- 
stances permitted, became connected therewith. Later, when the 
"Emblem rule" was insisted on, the Commissioners were notified that 
the schools would cease connection with the Board. In 1876, the 
Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. John Power, intimated to the community his 
wish that their connection with the Board should be renewed. The 
sisters made no objection and the work was resumed under supervision 
of the Board's Inspectors. 

In 1885, the school accommodation being inadequate to the average 
attendance of pupils, erection of an addition, consisting of two fine 



162 

class-rooms, was begun. A Government grant of two-thirds the estimated 
cost was received and the balance was contributed by His Grace the 
Duke of Devonshire and local benefactors. 

Most Rev. Dr. Foran was a constant and most generous benefactor 
of the convent. So also was Rev. P. Fogarty, P.P., Lismore. At the 
foundation of the institute the latter gave many earnests of benevolence 
towards it, which were continued till old age and infirmity withdrew 
his interests from earthly affairs. 

The princely donations of the House of Devonshire were munificently 
begun by William, sixth Duke, and have been liberally and nobly con- 
tinued to the present day. William, 6th Duke, granted the ground rent 
free for ever. This large-hearted nobleman was willing to do anything 
in his power for the community. On his first visit to the convent he 
asked to be shown through the house to judge for himself the accom- 
modation. Passing through the kitchen he saw the washing carried on 
there. Next day the architect of the Crystal Palace was on the 
premises designing a laundry. Sir Joseph Paxton was the most un- 
assuming of men ; he familiarly related his history to the sisters, telling 
how he was but a lowly gardener, till brought into high relief by his patron. 

Most Rev. Dr. John Power, was another generous benefactor. For 
the few months preceding his death he sent large cheques to clear off 
the debts. The lay brother artizan came from Mount Melleray and 
constructed a balustrade for the convent staircase which for years had 
been railless. In every emergency the good monks have lent their aid — 
spiritual counsel and pecuniary assistance ; the Lord Abbot made many 
and generous donations, and when the convent was in straits he ever, 
like a true friend, helped to steer it through. 

Mr. Walsh, a native of Lismore, a benefactor to the youth of his 
birthplace, always anxious for the training of the young hands in manual 
work has often urged the necessity of preparing young girls for the 
domestic life ; he would have them capable of little feats in handicraft 
such as the replacing a broken pane of glass, mending shoes, and execut- 
ing light work — this would prove economic and fill in those leisure 
moments which most women so misapply ; he would teach them that 
healthful work is happiness. The important knowledge of cooking and 
washing he deemed attainable at home. Though a resident abroad 
Mr. Walsh's interests and thoughts are his country's ; he pines to 
ameliorate her miseries and uproot her national defects. He has always 
responded most generously to appeals when the schools have been in 
question and has been outdone in liberality only by the Dukes of 
Devonshire ; the graceful notes that accompanied his donations enhanced 
the value of the enclosure twofold. 



163 

The following is copied from the "Freeman" 11th March, 1886: — 
"A large and influential meeting of the principal traders and others was 
held in Lismore on Sunday for the purpose of the inauguration of a 
movement to raise funds towards building new schools at the Presenta- 
tion Convent, Lismore. Dr. Dennehy was moved to the chair and said 
it was the first time after a lapse of fifty years that the nuns ever 
appealed to the public. Resolutions were passed in support of the 
movement to raise £200 in the National Bank on a bill to be met by a 
collection later on in the year. Mr. M. Healy with his characteristic 
kindness, was mainly instrumental in bringing the above matter under 
the notice of his townsmen." 

List of the Superiors of the Convent from its foundation : — 

Sister M. Paul Kenny 1836-1839 

"Sister M. Joseph Casey (senior) 1839-1845 

Sister M. Paul Kenny 1845-1848 

Sister M. Joseph Casey 1848-1854 

Sister M. Austin Walsh 1854-1857 

Sister M. Joseph Casey 1857-1862 

Sister M. Carthage Finn 1862-1865 

Sister M. Aquin Kenny 1865-1871 

Sister M. Patrick Hanky 1871-1874 

Sister M. Aloysius Shanahan 1S74-1877 

Sister M. Patrick Hanley 1877-1883 

Sister M. Joseph Casey (jun.) 1883-1889 

Sister M. Augustine Cooke 1889-1895 

Sister M. Joseph Casey 1895-1899 

Sister M.Peter Prendergast 1899-1902 

Sister M. Augustine Cooke 1902-19(18 

Sister M. Xavier Manning 1908-1911 

Sister M. Augustine Cooke 1911- 



II. — Christian Brothers' Monastery. 
In the November of 1865, the Rev. Patrick Fogarty, Parish 
Priest of Lismore, desirous of having a house of the Christian Brothers 
established in that town, bequeathed the residue of his property for 
that object. He did not, however, live to see his intentions realised, 
and some years elapsed before his wishes were accomplished. At 
length, the townspeople being deeply interested in the matter, formed 
themselves into a committee, and resolved to expedite in every way 
they could the introduction of the brothers ; encouraged by the clergy 
they immediately took active steps by communicating with the Bishop, 



164 

the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, and the landlord, the Duke of Devonshire. 
From both they received cordial encouragement. His lordship, the 
Bishop, corresponded with the Superior-General on the subject, and 
arrangements were promptly made for the sending of a community. 
The school building, which had been in connection with the National 
Board, the Duke fitted up at his own expense to meet the requirements 
of the brothers, and then handed it over to them. 

Things being so far ready, the brothers arrived in Lismore on 
February 1st, 1871, and opened the schools for the reception of pupils on 
the 6th, when over two hundred boys presented themselves for admission. 
Although the Duke had generously given a site for the monastery, on 
a lease of nine hundred and ninety-nine years and at a nominal rent, 
the building had not yet been commenced. The brothers meanwhile 
lived in a rented dwelling, and an annual collection was established to 
supplement the interest arising from the funded property, inadequate of 
itself for maintenance of the community. Through the untiring exertions 
of the late Brother Alphonsus O'Donnell, the first Director of the house, 
assisted generously by the priests and people, a bazaar and collection 
were organised to raise funds for the erection of the monastery. The 
results were most satisfactory, and the foundation stone was laid by the 
venerated pastor, Right Rev. Monsignor Byrne, on Easter Monday, 
11th April, 1871. The late Mr. J. J. McCarthy, M.R.I.A.I., Dublin was 
the architect, and Mr. R. W. Baldwin, formerly of Lismore, the builder. 
The work was carried on vigorously, and in twelve months the house 
was ready for occupation. The brothers took possession, May, 1872. The 
building is a handsome one, and beautifully situated on a rising 
ground close to the town and to the Devonshire demesne. It cost 
about £1,200, and is well suited for its purpose. 

In the August of 1892 a Collegiate and Intermediate school was 
opened under the patronage of the Right Rev. Monsignor Byrne. 
In the year 1893, solely through the enlightened patriotism and practi- 
cal benevolence of Mr. Edward Walsh, a native of Lismore and at 
present residing in Germany, a building for manual training was erected 
on the grounds. Here the advanced pupils are practically trained in 
the use of carpenters' tools and other appliances. They are put through 
a graduated course of wood-work, executed from plans which the pupils 
themselves have previously drawn to scale. This handicraft school is 
taught by a skilled mechanic under the direction of the brothers, and 
has been from its inception placed in connection with the Science and 
Art Department, South Kensington, London. The pupils have already 
passed most successful technical examinations, conducted by an officer 
of that Department specially deputed for the purpose. 



165 

The Lismore establishment is much indebted to his Grace the Duke 
of Devonshire for many acts of kindness and generosity, and for the 
interest he has ever evinced in its welfare since its inception. It is 
also under many obligations to the late Mr. Power, the popular and 
amiable agent of his Grace. From its foundation to 1896, Brother P. A. 
Gogarty was Superior. He was succeeded in September of year 
mentioned by Brother M. A. Aungier, whose term of office was one year. 
Then in succession came Brother Gogarty (two years), Brother T. A. 
Walsh (three years), Brother T. B. Fitzpatrick (two years), and Brother 
J. A. Crowley, the present Superior. 



-Community of Sisters of Mercy, Lismore Workhouse. 
(See under StradbaUy below). 



Parish of Modeligo and Affane. 



The patron of Modeligo is the Blessed Virgin under the title of her 
Assumption ; St. John the Baptist (Decollation) is titular of Affane. 
Regarding Affane parish, as distinct from Modeligo, it is to be observed 
that its southern boundary at present is not coterminous with the 
ancient boundary. Some townlands of Affane now belong to Aglish, 
but there is no record to show when or by whom the change or 
transference was made. There are two churches of which the principal, 
Modeligo, was erected in 1816 by Rev. John Phelan, P.P. The second 
church, Affane, was also erected by Father Phelan at a date not ascer- 
tained, and was considerably improved at later dates, first by Rev. P. 
Meany, P.P., and again by Rev. Richard Sladen, P.P. The Affane 
church is a plain rectangular building of comparatively small size — the 
main entrance surmounted by a small belfry. Modeligo church — cruci- 
form in plan — is larger and better. Before 1816 there appears to have 
been only a single church in the parish : this was a thatched structure 
situated at a place still called Chapel Road, a mile or so south of Modeligo 
village, in the direction of Affane. 

The parish contains three schools, all connected with the National 
Board, scil. : — Modeligo (male and female) and Affane (mixed). The 
schools at Modeligo were erected by Rev. Michael McGrath during his 
pastorate ; for one reason or another they were not opened for many 
years — until Rev. P. Meany, during his brief stay in the parish, set them 
in working order. The school at Affane is of much earlier date ; it is 
supposed to have been founded by Rev. Patrick Phelan, P.P. Long 
previous to either of these schools, however, Patrick Denn and his father, 
Laurence Denn, before him, taught a school in the parish. The Denns 
were not confined to any one locality in the parish but moved from one 
part of it to another as circumstances warranted. We know that Patrick 
had a school at Poulbaidthe in 1800 and that shortly after that date 
he removed to Cappoquin to return to Modeligo no more. The parish 
schoolmaster of the 18th and early 19th century was generally parish 
clerk and the Parish Priest's factotum as well. Often too he was, in 
addition, an Irish scribe and poet or rhymster. 

The present population of the parish is about eighteen hundred, 



167 

and the people are good, honest, and moral. In addition to the statutory 
sodalities the Holy Rosary Confraternity is established in the parish. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Owing to the circumstances of the times Seskenane (Tooraneena) 
was united to Modeligo in the early 18th century. We find Nicholas 
McCanny, Parish Priest of Affane, Modeligo, and Seskenane in 1704. 
His residence was at old Affane, an extremely awkward situation — at 
the southern boundary of a parish which then extended, without roads, 
some twenty miles in length and embraced some of the roughest country 
in Co. Waterford. Father McCanny was then aged fifty-eight years 
and had been ordained on the Continent. We do not know what Parish 
Priests, if any, intervened between Nicholas McCanny in the beginning 
of the 18th century and John Phelan at its end, but we have record of 
the appointment of the latter on March 12th, 1798, and his death on 
June 29th, 1819. He built the present church of Modeligo and is buried 
beside it. It seems not unlikely that, about the middle of the 18th century, 
regulars, perhaps Augustinians, had established themselves in the parish 
for a time. At any rate in the old cemetery of Modeligo there are three 
tombstones marking the burial place of regulars — Fathers Philip Meagher 
(1777), Philip Hassett (1779), and John Power (1786). The last named 
was an Augustinian and. for portion of his life, an apostate. Father 
Hassett is possibly identical with the "Rev. Philip O'Hahassey" 
who was Parish Priest of Ardmore in 1765. Rev. John Phelan 
was succeeded by his brother, Rev. Patrick Phelan, who survived 
till 1833, when he was, in turn, succeeded by Rev. Michael McGrath. 
The last named held office for thirty-three years and was succeeded in 
1866 by Rev. Patrick Meany, whose pastorate of Modeligo was but brief ; 
he showed symptoms of the malady which was soon to end his career 
of great promise, and was transferred to Clogheen in 1868. The next 
pastor was Rev. Thomas Burke who lived only two years and was suc- 
ceeded in 1878 by Rev. James Hannigan. Father Hannigan died within 
the year having held the pastorate only eight months. There were thus 
five Parish Priests in succession within as many years. Rev. Richard 
Sladen succeeded Father Hannigan in 1878. During Father Sladen's 
pastorate a curate's residence was provided and erected, through the 
efforts of Rev. Thos. Condon, C.C. Three years before his death 
Father Sladen resigned the parish and was succeeded, in November, 
1897, by Rev. James Henebry. Father Hcncbrv during his term of office 
has secured to the parish a centrally situated parochial residence, and 
provided the people with the first mission (by the Dominicans) ever 
given in the parish. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

At Modeligo is the ancient ruined church of the parish ; the remains 
consist of both gables and the south side wall of a plain choirless structure, 
forty-eight feet in internal length by twenty-one feet wide. At Affane, 
on the other hand, there is a large cemetery but no remains of the ancient 
church. The site of the latter can, however, be traced to the south 
of, and parallel with, the modern Protestant church. 

On the townland of Knockgarraun is a noted Holy Well (Our Lady's) 
which is still the scene of a "pattern" on August 15th. There are early 
Celtic church sites at Derry (CiU. mo Ltuvo), Killea (Cill Liac), and 
Kilderriheen (CiLl T)oipitin). 

Though the southern part of the parish passes in an east and west 
direction a continuation of the ancient Boher na Naomh or Road of the 
Saints, so named, it is claimed, from being the route by which Carthage 
and his household approached Lismore on their way from Rahan. Boher 
na Naomh was really the ancient highway, Lismorewards, through the 
Decies. 

Among the altar plate of the parish is a small silver chalice with 
the undated inscription in Roman capitals: — "The Gift of Thomas 
Dee to the Chapel of Modeligo." 



Parish of Newcastle &■ Four-Mile- Water 



The patron of Newcastle is Our Blessed Lady of the Assumption (15th 
August). Patrons of Four-Mile-Water are Our Blessed Lady and St. 
Laurence, Martyr (10th August). The people are exhorted to approach 
the Sacraments of Penance and the Blessed Eucharist on the patronal 
feasts. 

The present parish embraces the greater portion of the very extensive 
ancient parish of Kilronan (Co. Waterford) together with the ancient 
parishes of Newcastle and Molough (Co. Tipperary). On the death of 
Rev. Thomas O'Meara, P.P., in 1874 four townlands of Kilronan (Four- 
Mile-Water) were taken from this parish and united to Tooraneena. 

The present church of Our Lady, Newcastle, was remodelled and 
practically rebuilt in 1879 by Rev. Thomas Finn, P.P., at a cost of 
£1,500. It is now a handsome Romanesque church, having a beautiful 
high altar and a stained glass window, subject — the Immaculate 
Conception — in the apse. The architect was Mr. Doolin of Dublin, 
and the contractor Mr. Boles. Cahir, who, however, failed to carry out 
his contract, leaving completion of the work to Father Finn. 

Four-Mile-Water church is of the plain cruciform plan ; it was 
built in 1826 and has a marble altar (the gift of the late Mrs. Hudson, 
Clonmel). This church has three galleries and is boarded and seated 
throughout. 

There are six schools all under the National Board, viz. : — two 
each (male and female) at Newcastle and Ballymacarbery (Newtown), 
and two (mixed) at Russellstown and Benncttschurch respectively. 
The parish population is about two thousand eight hundred ; baptisms 
in the year 1893 numbered forty-eight. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

The present union of parishes is apparently of earlier origin than 
beginning of the 18th century, for in 1704 we find the same James Daniel 
pastor of both parishes together with Inislounagh. He registers himself 
at Tallow on July 4th as resident at Glasha, and on 11th of the same 
month he registers himself at Nenagh as resident in "Abbeynes 
Conaghty" (Inislounaght). 

Rev. James Prendergast, a native of the parish and member of a 
family connected therewith for centuries, was Parish Priest in the latter 



170 

half of the 18th century. In 1793 he built a chapel at the place now 
called Pastorville and died October 28th, 1798. He was succeeded by 
Rev. Patrick O 'Meagher, who was translated in 1820 to Dungarvan. 
Rev. James Larkin succeeded and lived for twenty years, to be succeeded, 
in July, 1860, by a kinsman, Rev. Edmond Larkin. Both Fathers 
Larkin are buried in Newcastle church. Rev. Thomas O'Meara was 
translated from Abbeyside to the pastorate of Newcastle in 1860, and 
survived till November 1st, 1874, when he had as successor Rev. Thomas 
Finn. Of a somewhat militant temperament Father Finn had no 
toleration for abuses. His denunciation of evil doers and their works 
was vigorous and telling and the people who loved the alliteration called 
him "Fiery Finn." Father Finn's successor, Rev. David Ahearne, who 
was translated from Kill in 1884, was a second edition of Father Finn, 
a very hard working, zealous and single-minded, pastor. He lacked 
worldly prudence, however, was an indifferent accountant and a bad 
financier — with results unsatisfactory to parochial and private credit. 
Poor Father Ahearne 's career in Newcastle was brief ; he died November, 
1889, and was succeeded by Rev. John Walsh. In January, 1910, 
Father Walsh after twenty years' work as pastor retired from active 
service and an Administrator, Rev. James Maher, was appointed. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
There are remains of ancient churches at Kilronan, Newcastle, 
Molough, and Bennets church. Kilronan (Ronan's church) ruin is 
specially interesting and in an excellent state of preservation. Indeed 
the church would appear to have been in use in comparatively recent 
times. Within its roofless walls is the tomb of Buck Sheehy, who was 
executed at Clogheen for having given evidence in favour of his cousin — 
Rev. Nicholas Sheehy. The remains of the old church at Newcastle, 
beside a castle of the Prendergasts, show that the former was unusually 
commodious. Popular tradition persists in ascribing final destruction 
of this church to a Prendergast who set it on fire. Molough was a church 
impropriate in the nunnery of the same name. Remains of both nunnery 
and church survive but they are neither impressive nor very interesting. 
The religious foundation here dates from Celtic times ; it is alluded to in 
the Irish Life of St. Declan. Hardly anything of the structure called 
Bennets' Church, on the townland of Graignagower, is visible. The 
foundations of the building can however be distinctly traced and beside 
them, deeply embedded in the soil, is a monument of the bullan type. 
Bennetschurch (Ce.ampul ru\ mt)eine\<vo) would appear to have been 
intended as a chapel-at-easc to a parish of immense extent. There is still 



171 

in use in the parish yet another old graveyard, Killcreggane (CilL 
Cpos-Mii), but it has no traces of a church. It is no doubt an early 
Celtic ecclesiastical site, and as most of these little Celtic churches 
were of wattle we need not be surprised that no traces of the buildings 
have come down to us. Other early church sites have been identified 
at Ballydonagh, Bawnfune, Clashganny, Crohan (two churches — Cilt 
ti«it and Citt ru\ sCtoigeAtin), and Kilmanahan (St. Munchin's). There 
are also a couple of Holy Wells, scil. : at Glebe (Kilronan) and Ballina- 
mona (St. Brigid's). On the townland of Boolahallagh is a field known 
as "Ban a Maineastreac" (The Monastery Field) and containing slight 
remains of an old building. Enquiry locally could however elicit no 
information as to reason of the name or character of the ruin. 

The list of altar plate embraces two interesting items. One is a 
chalice of medium size preserved at Newcastle which bears on its under 
surface the legend in current hand: — "Joannes Geraldi and Helena 
Mauritii me fecerunt 1621 et incolae de Kilronayne me reficerunt 1759." 
In connection with this inscription it is of interest to add that the Barony 
of Glenahiery was Desmond territory. The second is a smaller chalice 
with the following, also in current and on under surface. "Rev Dr. 
Patricius O'Meagher, Pastor de Kilronan and Newcastle me fieri fecit 
a.d. 1809." 



172 



Parish of 
Passage (Crooke, Killea, and Faithlegg). 



This is a district of large extent lying along the left bank of the Suir 
from Faithlegg to Dunmore East. It comprises no fewer than six 
ancient parishes of the diocese of Waterford, scil. : — Faithlegg, Kill 
Saint Nicholas, Crooke, Kilcop, Kilmacombe, and Killea. The present 
union is at least two centuries old ; at one period of the Penal times 
it was more extensive still for it embraced Ballygunner also. There 
arc in the parish three churches, Killea, Crooke, and Faithlegg ; 
of these the first and last were built in the early years of last century, 
during the pastorate of Rev. Thos. Hearn, but Crooke was built by 
Rev. Martin Flynn near the middle of the century. A rather striking 
object in the landscape is the great spire of Faithlegg church, erected 
about thirty-five years since by the late Nicholas Mahon Power, D.L., of 
Faithlegg. The spire however rather dwarfs the church — of no great 
size at the best. The parish has seven schools — two each (male and 
female) at Dunmore, Passage, and Faithlegg, and one mixed school 
at Bellake — all in connexion with the National Board. Two of the 
schools (Faithlegg — male and female) arc under lay but Catholic manage- 
ment. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Thomas Clancy, residing at Passage and then aged fifty-nine, was 
registered Parish Priest of Crooke, Kill St. Nicholas, Killea, Kilma- 
comb, Ballygunner, and Faithlegg in 1704. Thomas Clancy died in 
1717 as appears by his will in the Record Office. Six years elapsed 
between the death of Father Clancy and the appointment, in 1723, of 
the Rev. Thomas Hogan, who lies buried in Crooke and of whom the 
inscription on his tombstone tells us he "departed this life February 
4th, 1781, aged eighty-six," having been Parish Priest of Passage for 
fifty-cight years ! Rev. Thomas Hearn appears as next Parish Priest, 
appointed 1781 ; the duration of a priest's office as parochus in those days 
was very often the whole period of his priestly life. Father Hearn 's 
pastorate was fifty -six years — almost as long as his predecessor's. Rev. 
Martin Flynn succeeded ; he was transferred to Trinity Without in 
1844 and replaced in Passage by Rev. Thomas Dixon. Father Dixon 



173 

held office only six years, and most of them sad years, soil., the year 
of the famine and its immediate successors. He is buried in Killea. 
Rev. Thomas Flynn was the next Parish Priest. He was member of 
a family that gave to the diocese an extraordinary number of priests, 
many of them very distinguished. Father Flynn was nephew of the 
Rev. Thomas Flynn, D.D.. who was Parish Priest of St. Michael's, and 
grandnephew of the illustrious Rev. Dr. Francis O'Hearn, and of his 
brother, Vicar Hearn, Parish Priest of Trinity Within. He survived 
his appointment only eight years and was succeeded by Rev. Edmond 
O'Donnell in 1858. Father O'Donnell's successor was Rev. John Crotty, 
translated from Powerstown. Father Crotty's term of office coincided 
with the height of the land agitation. Being somewhat out of sympathy 
with the popular movement poor Father Crotty was not well under- 
stood by his new flock. Had he been spared his worth would have 
made itself felt. He died in live years from succession to the parish. 
Meantime he had introduced a community of Sisters of Mercy to Dunmore. 
He closed a saintly career by a holy death in 1881 and was succeeded by 
Rev. Nicholas Phelan, translated from Kilsheelan. Father Phelan 
lived little more than long enough to take possession.- He died at Blarney, 
one month after his appointment, and had as successor Rev. Maurice 
Flynn, translated from Rathgormac (1887). Father Flynn became a 
Canon on formation of the Diocesan Chapter in 1902, and died July, 
1911. During Canon Flynn's pastorate a substantial curate's residence 
was erected at Passage. His successor, Rev. John Casey, was translated 
from Ardmore. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
There are remains of the old parish churches at Crooke (badly 
preserved), Faithlegg (well preserved), Kill St. Nicholas (insignificant), 
Killea (with a graceful tower), and Kilmacomb (badly preserved). At 
Crooke and Faithlegg are Holy Wells, almost forgotten, and early church 
sites at Kilcullen, Kilcop, and Licaun. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 

Convent of Mercy, Dunmore East. 

This is a filiation from the Convent of Mercy, Clonakilty, Co. Cork. 

The community came to take charge of the Waterford Union Hospital 

on the 25th September, 1876, at the invitation of the Guardians, and 

made a foundation in Dunmore at the request of the Bishop and Parish 



174 

Priest on the 24th May, 1883. The sisters teach a National school 
(about one hundred in attendance), and visit the sick in Dunmore, 
while in Waterford they have charge of the Union hospital. 

The founder was Rev. John Crotty, P.P. The first Superior was 
Mother M. Columba Marmion, who was succeeded by Mother M. De 
Sales Lowry. like all new foundations this had to contend with many 
difficulties. In its infancy it lost, by the death of the founder, a devoted 
father and friend. The Rev. J. Crotty died on the 25th September, 
1886. A sum of £800 was raised to purchase the goodwill of a house, 
over £300 had been paid in 1894 ; the remainder is now a parish debt. 
No improvements were made for years, as, after the death of Rev. J. 
Crotty, it was thought a more suitable house and site for a convent 
could be procured nearer to the parish church. It was finally decided 
by the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan that the house originally purchased 
for the convent and school should remain as such. The convent was 
originally built by the late Marquis of Waterford as a summer residence, 
and had been known as the "Bay Hotel" for some years previous to its 
purchase by Father Crotty. 

Superiors : — 

1894 Sister M. Columba Marmion. 

1895 Sister M. de Sales Lowry. 
1901 Sister M. Columba Marmion. 
1904 Sister M. de Sales Lowry. 
1906 Sister M. Columba Marmion. 

In 1906 a new convent was erected in Waterford, which on its 
opening became the mother house of the community, with Dunmore 
as a branch. Six years previously the community had taken charge 
of a new National school (St. Otteran's) in the city. 

In 1907 a central novitiate was established for the Mercy Convents 
of the diocese and it was arranged that after 1908 the novices from the 
other houses of the Congregation, should make their novitiate in the 
Waterford house, and there go through a course of studies to fit them 
for their future duties. 



Parish of Portlaw and Ballyduff 



The modern ecclesiastical division so named represents the four ancient 
parishes of Kilmeaden, Newcastle, Guilcagh, and Clonegam. Guilcagh 
does not appear to have had a church ; at least no trace or tradition 
of such exists, but there is, at Kilmovee, within that parish, the 
well defined site of a Celtic church. 

There are two churches — Portlaw (St. Patrick's) and Ballyduff 
(titular unknown). No special devotion in connection with the patronal 
feast is practised in either church. Twice yearly general stations are 
held in the churches ; the neighbouring clergy are invited to assist in 
hearing confessions on these occasions and about seven hundred adults 
receive the Sacraments. 

The handsome and substantial early English church of Portlaw 
was erected in 1859 by Rev. John McGrath from designs by McCarthy ; 
Pierce, of Wexford, was builder. It consists of nave, chancel, aisles, and 
tower, and measures one hundred and twenty feet long by sixty feet 
wide and seventy feet high. Father Hearn completed the tower in 
1910. This church replaces an old cruciform structure which occupied 
the same site. From the inscription on base of a small silver chalice 
preserved in Ballyduff it is evident there was some sort of chapel 
at Portlaw in 1754. The legend in question runs: — "Ad usum 
Sacelli Parochialis loci de Portia factus anno 1754." Ballyduff 
church replaces a thatched chapel which stood on the opposite side 
of the road a couple of perches to the north-east. This chapel seems 
itself to have been the successor of a temporary Penal Days' Mass- 
house at Carriganure. Rev. Thos. Hearn, Parish Priest, in 1910, re- 
roofed, and re-modelled the present church, inserting new windows, and 
doors, and adding a tower. 

Previous to the older building referred it is highly probable there 
was no church at Portlaw ; Clonegam under the Catholic Lords Tyrone 
was available, intermittently at any rate for Catholic worship, and there 
appears to have been a private chapel at Curraghmore. In the parish 
there is at present a small bronze bell bearing date 1549, which is 
supposed to have come from Clonegam or Curraghmore. When the old 



176 

church of Portlaw was in course of erection a quantity of church 
furniture and fittings (including this bell) from the private chapel or 
from Clonegam was given to it. 

The parish has four schools, two each (male and female) at Portlaw 
and Ballyduff. By his will Rev. John McGrath, endowed the Ballyduff 
schools, bequeathing a large sum of money to pay a bonus of about 
£12 a year to the teachers and to provide clothes for the pupils as an 
encouragement to regular attendance. The present population of the 
parish is estimated at over three thousand. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Rev. John Power, ordained in 1677 by Bishop Brenan, of Water- 
ford, was registered Parish Priest of " Kilmedane, Clonegam, and New- 
castle" in 1704, his place of abode being Rossruddery (the present Ross). 
He was then aged fifty years, so he probably survived into the twenties. 
Next we hear of a Father O'Callaghan as Parish Priest ; his exact year 
is uncertain ; it is unlikely however he can have filled in the whole period 
from the death of John Power to the appointment, in 1784, of Rev. 
Matthias Power. Father Power died in 1813 and is buried in Newcastle 
graveyard. Rev. Michael Rourke. translated from Carrickbeg, succeeded; 
he survived till February, 1857. He was a man of superior talent of 
a peculiarly practical kind. During his pastorate he built Ballyduff 
church in 1822. In Father Rourke's time the parochial residence was 
within a few minutes' walk of Portlaw church, on the townland of Bally- 
cahane. In connexion with Father Rourke, his nephew, Rev. Patrick 
Costin, who dwelt with him as curate deserves notice. Father Costin spent 
practically his whole clerical life as curate of Portlaw. He was so long 
associated with the place that he came to be regarded as part and parcel 
of it. The writer saw within the past year a letter addressed by someone 
in Waterford to Rev. P. Costin, Portlaw. Father Costin had been nearly 
forty years in heaven when the letter reached Portlaw. Though Father 
Costin had been sixty years in the ministry he was never promoted to 
a parish. Old and middle-aged people still living recall his sermons. 
They were of such extraordinary length that some of the unappreciative 
young people were accustomed to leave the church at the commence- 
ment of the sermon, go home and have dinner and return to the church for 
the close of the sermon and the rest of the Mass ! Rev. John McGrath 
became Parish Priest of Portlaw in 1854 and died in 1882, having 
administered the parish wisely and well for twenty-eight years. He 
was a splendid, effective and practical preacher and a superior Irish 



177 

speaker. Many old people could quote much of his sermons for several 
years ; he would have his congregation laughing and sobbing in turn. 
Wit, eloquence, and elocution, were all skilfully blended in conveying 
eternal truths and his hearers were visibly impressed. He died in 
1882 and was buried in Ballyduff church. Two years after his accession 
to the parish he built the present fine church of Portlaw — and later, 
the curate's residence at Portlaw. His nephew, Rev. Thomas Hearn, 
succeeded ; Father Hearn had been curate in the parish since his ordina- 
tion twenty-one years previously, and survived as Parish Priest for thirty 
years. Few priests of our day have ministered in the same parish for 
fifty-one years. Portlaw 's record in the matter of longevity of its 
pastors is an extraordinary one. Since 1784, the year of Rev. Matthias 
Power's appointment — that is for close on one hundred and thirty 
years — there have been only four Parish Priests. Rev. Thomas Hearn 
died July 1 1th, 1912, and was buried, like his two immediate predecessors, 
at Ballyduff. He was succeeded in August, 1912, by the Rev. Francis 
Prendergast. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

No remains of the ancient churches of Kilmeaden or Clonegam 
survive. Protestant churches have been erected on both sites and all 
traces of their Catholic predecessors have been swept away. In New- 
castle cemetery, surrounded by rocky hills which lend it a picturesque 
appearance, stand the east and west gables of the ancient church. 

There are only two Holy Wells, scil. : — "The Angels' Well" on the 
townland of Kilmogemogue and St. Martin's on Adamstown, but there 
are early church sites at Killowen, Kilmovee, Kilmogemogue, Kildermody, 
Darrigle, Adamstown, Gortaclade, and Carrigphilip. 

A small bronze Mass bell already alluded to, and said to have 
belonged to Clonegam, is still preserved in the parish. A reliable 
tradition records that it was given, through a visitor, to the chapel of 
Portlaw ; it bears the following inscription in Roman capitals : "Me 
fecit Johannies Affine A° 1549." 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Convent of .Mercy, Portlaw. 
The present convent was originally built about 1840 as a residence 
for one of the Malcomson brothers, and remained in the possession of 



178 

the family down to 1883. The late Rev. John McGrath, P.P., died in 
1882, and bequeathed his entire property to local charity, particularly 
towards the foundation of a convent for the instruction of the poor. 
Negotiations for purchase of house to serve as a convent were success- 
fully earned on by a local friend, who bought the present convent 
building in his own name and then transferred to the trustees. Before 
this purchase was completed an effort was made by the Parish Priest to 
purchase an imposing mansion. However, entail blocked the way, and 
the nuns were obliged to be content with a less spacious house. The 
house is sufficiently large for present purposes and the site is all but 
perfect — commanding a lovely view of the Suir and the woods of 
Curraghmore. 

On 29th June, 1883, five sisters came to Portlaw. from the Convent 
of Mercy, Cahir, Co. Tipperary, accompanied by M. M. Bernard Vaughan, 
then Mother Superior. They were very cordially received by the Rev. 
Thomas Hearn, P.P., Rev. John McCann, and Rev. P. Keating, and 
commenced at once their work of teaching in the schools and visiting 
the sick poor of the district. An interesting feature in the work of 
the sisters in those days was an evening school to which the poor 
girls who worked all day in the cotton mills of "The Mayfield Spinning 
Company" crowded at night to learn to read and write. This was 
heavy work for the sisters after teaching their younger pupils all day, 
but the good results were encouraging, and the sisters kept up the work 
of the evening school for five years, at the end of which time the necessity 
for the night school no longer existed. The attendance in the day 
school increased to three hundred and fort}' pupils, while that of the 
night school dwindled to one dozen. This house was formally constituted 
a foundation by the Most Rev. Dr. John Power, on 18th March. 1885, 
with Sister M. Peter Clare McCarthy as Superior, and Sister M. 
Berchmans Sheehy as Mother Assistant. In 1910 new schools upon a 
new site were built, equipped and opened. 
Superiors : — 

1885 Sister M. Peter Clare McCarthy. 

1891 Sister M. Alphonsus McCormack. 

1894 Sister M. Peter Clare McCarthy. 

1900 Sister M. De Sales Kennedy. 

1903 Sister M. Peter Clare McCarthy. 

1909 Sister M. Alocoque O'Donnell (she died during her first 

year of office). 

1910 Sister M. Peter Clare McCarthy. 



179 

II.— Woodlock Convent. 
This convent, wherein the community conduct a ladies' boarding 
house, was opened by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Cluny, the 8th April, 
1909, under the patronage of the Sacred Heart. The house was founded 
by the Superioress of Mount Sackville Convent, Dublin, in a former 
mansion of the Malcomson family. Mrs. Malcomson intended giving 
the property to the sisters, but died before the deed was signed. Her 
son, Mr. Keith Malcomson, carried out his mother's wishes and handed 
over the house to the present community. The spiritual wants of the 
community were in the beginning attended to by the parochial clergy ; 
at present the convent has a chaplain. 



Parish of Powerstown and Lisronagh. 



The modern parish so named is made up of no fewer than seven ancient 
parishes, scil. : Kilgrant, Kiltegan, Rathronan (in two parts), Lisronagh, 
Donoughmore, Baptistgrange (in two parts), Mora, and a small particle 
of Clonmel. The parish of Mora is otherwise called Moore to wnkirk, 
otherwise Castle Blake, otherwise "the foreign mission." The parishes, 
with exception of Kilgrant which was a separate division, seem to have 
stood united as at present over two hundred years ago. In 1704 the 
union included Newchapel and Ballyclerahane (diocese of Cashel) also. 
A curious thing appears to have happened as regards the townland of 
Drumdeel, otherwise Market Hill in the parish of Baptist Grange, scil. : 
transference of portion of the townland to another parish and diocese. 
How and by what authority this schism was effected it is now difficult 
to determine, though there is the explanation usual in such cases — of 
a sick call not attended, &c, &c. The parish registers begin with the 
year 1808, from which date they are fairly complete to the present time. 

Geography of the parish is peculiar and complex. A constituent por- 
tion of the parish, scil. : — the ancient division of Mora, constitutes, with 
four townlands of Inislounaght (St. Mary's, Clonmel), a sort of island 
of over four thousand acres within the diocese of Cashel. This district 
had up to less than a century since, a church of its own situated at 
a place called Castle Blake, but at present its people attend chiefly 
the churches of Rose Green, Clerihan, and Fethard, in the diocese of 
Cashel. Many in fact, owing to more or less prohibitive distance, seldom 
visit their parish church except for baptism or marriage. 

The present church of Powerstown was erected in 1810 with dedica- 
tion to St. John the Baptist (Decollation). There is no record before 
the writer of the erection of lisronagh church which, like Powerstown, 
is dedicated to the Baptist (Nativity). Its predecessor stood some 
distance to north of present site at a place called Ouarryhole. Lisronagh 
church was however enlarged, re-roofed, and otherwise improved by 
Rev. John Power during his pastorate (1852-66). Father Power also 
built the girls' school at Lisronagh. 

The total Catholic population of this very scattered parish is about 
sixteen hundred. Baptisms average about thirty-one annually. In 
addition to the Statutory Sodalities there are in the parish Societies of 
the Living Rosary and Holy Family. 



181 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

In 1704 the pastor of Kilgrant was Edward Butler, then aged forty- 
six, who had received orders from Thady, Bishop of Clonfert, and resided 
at Redmondstown, while William Burke, residing at Kilmore and then 
aged fifty-seven, was registered as Parish Priest of "Lisronagh, Donagh- 
more, Xewchappel, Ballyclerihane, Mooretownkirk, Rathronane, Kil- 
tegane. and Bally-Baptistgrange." As Newchappel and Baltycleraghane 
are in the diocese of Cashel and as Jeffery Saul, residing as Killusty was, 
on the same day, registered as Parish Priest of Newchapel and Bally- 
clerihan we may take it that Rev. William Burke exercised only a vicarious 
sort of jurisdiction over the latter parishes. 

The next Parish Priest of whom the writer can find mention or 
tradition is a Father McGrath whose name survives traditionally in 
connexion with a testimonial in Irish metre which he gave to a local 
thatcher who had expeditiously and satisfactorily completed a piece 
of professional work for him. Rev. Patrick Tobin apparently suc- 
ceeded ; at any rate he was Parish Priest of Powerstown for many years 
previous to 1808, when he died. Father Tobin was a man of fine physique, 
wore top boots (as country priests who had to ride much in those days 
generally did), and usually carried a riding whip. His use of the 
latter — on the back and sides of an officer of the Clonmel Garrison — 
went near leading on one occasion to exceedingly serious consequences 
for himself. It must, I fear, be confessed that the priest was very 
much to blame for his conduct on the occasion. The incident led to a 
threat of reprisals by the military authorities and it was only by the 
most ample apology on the priest's part, together with the intervention 
of Rev. Dr. Flannery of Clonmel, Bishop Hussey, and the injured officer, 
that poor Father Tobin, and perhaps his parishioners, did not have 
to pay dearly for the outrage — for these were the days of ascendancy 
with a vengeance. From the inscription (vide infra) on a chalice at 
Lisronagh it is evident that a Rev. J. Walsh was parochus, but there 
are no data before the writer to fix his period. Rev. Felix Geary, 
nephew of a better known namesake who, though a Franciscan, had 
been Parish Priest of St. John's, succeeded in 1808. He erected the 
present church of Powerstown, and, dying in 1815, had as successor 
Rev. Maurice Wall, who survived for nearly forty years — till 1852. 
Father Wall was succeeded by Rev. John Power, afterwards Bishop. 
Father Power was translated to SS. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel, in 1866 
and was succeeded by Rev. John Crotty, well known and still remem- 
bered as a pulpit orator. During his pastorate, Father Crotty estab- 
lished a National school at Rathkeevan. In 1881 he was translated 
to Passage and was succeeded in Powerstown bv Rev. Thomas 



182 

Hannigan, translated from Abbe\'side. Father Hannigan died in 1912, 
having been a Parish Priest for thirty-four years and has been succeeded 
by Rev. Richard Casey, transferred from Knockanore. 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

These comprise church ruins at Kilgrant (insignificant), Kiltegan 
(insignificant), Donoghmore (exceedingly interesting), Moorestown 
(interesting and considerable), Baptist Grange (of great interest), 
Maginstown (poorly preserved), and Lisronagh (considerable remains). 
Donoghmore church ruin is an eleventh or twelfth century building 
consisting of nave and chancel with overcroft, and an exceedingly 
beautiful doorway and chancel arch. The ruin is now preserved as 
a National Monument under care of the Board of Works. Baptist 
Grange church is distinguished by possession of a triple chancel 
arch — an exceedingly rare feature, of which the ruined cathedral of 
Clonmacnoise furnishes the only other Irish example known to the 
writer. At Rathronan, where a modern Protestant church stands in 
the large cemetery, are no recognisable remains of the ancient building. 
Kiltegan (Tagan's church) is popularly and locally known as Shanavinc 
(SeAtiA t)einn — "Old Steeple"). Shearman endeavours to identify the 
founder with Tagan or Tecce, one of the seven companions of St. Fiace 
of Sletty. 

There are early church sites without remains, except in the case 
of the first, at Miltown Britton ("Ce«.\input AotW), Carrigeensharragh, 
Ballygambon ("Killcdmond"), Killerk (Erc's church), Ballynattin (Kil- 
fern), and Kilmorc, and Holy Wells at Moorestown ("St. Nicholas' ") 
and Caherclogh ("Halfpenny Well"). 

The altar plate furnishes a couple of inscriptions of somewhat 
minor interest. A medium sized chalice in Lisronagh church yields 
the following : -"Parochia de quarryhole me emit R. J. Welsh, Pastore." 
A similar chalice in Powerstown was, itself tells us, : — "The Gift of 
Edmund Theobald Mandeville Butler to the Parish of Kigrant, 
a.d. 1807." 

RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 

St. Joseph's Industrial School, Ferryhouse, Clonmel. 

This school, which is certified for one hundred and fifty boys, is 
under the care of the Fathers and Brothers of the Institute of Charity, 
and is picturesquely situated on the banks of the Suir, about two miles 
from Clonmel. It owes its existence in the first place to the munificence 
of the late Count Arthur Moore, D.L., of Moorsfort, Tipperary. The 
main block was built in 1884, but for a year or two the Count had con- 



183 

siderable difficulty in finding a Religious Order ready to take charge of 
it. Speaking of this matter in after years he was wont to say that 
the climax of his humiliation was reached when one morning he opened 
a letter from a young lady asking his permission to play lawn tennis 
in the empty dormitory. However, towards the end of 1885, he came 
to terms with the Superiors of the Institute of Charity and the school 
was opened (as a Government Institution) on January 27th, 1886. 

At this time the accommodation for boys and masters was very 
limited, while the grounds round the house, now so beautifully sheltered 
and laid out, were a treeless waste. Count Moore however contributed 
a substantial sum towards the completion of the building, and within 
a couple of years from the date of opening, the remaining three sides of 
the quadrangle, containing the workshops, schoolrooms, play-hall, &c, 
were completed. 

These improvements were carried out under the direction of Rev. 
Timothy Buckley, who was appointed rector at the opening of the 
school, and remained in office until 1893, when he was succeeded by 
Rev. John Harrington. Father Harrington was still under thirty years 
of age when he was appointed rector and manager of the school, and 
during the next thirteen years his untiring zeal and energy showed 
itself in the splendid work which he did towards improving the 
institution generally and bringing it up to a very high standard of 
efficiency. He introduced electric light and a water system, planted 
the greater number of the trees which now stand in the school 
grounds, erected new workshops, improved the farm and grounds, 
and erected convenient houses for the workmen connected with the 
institution. He was succeeded by Rev. Michael Fennell, who had been 
chaplain to the institution some twenty years previously. Father 
Fennell remained three years in office, when he was transferred to St. 
Peter's, Cardiff, of which important mission he is now rector. Rev. 
George Cormack was rector and manager from September 1909 to Christ- 
mas 1910, and Rev. John Lyons succeeded him in 1910. When the 
school was first opened only one hundred boys were provided for by 
the Government, but the grant was afterwards (under Father Buckley's 
rectorship) extended to an extra fifty. The boys arc received at 
different ages, varying from nine to twelve years. In addition to 
getting a spiritual and secular education they are taught a trade — 
carpentry, tailoring, shoemaking, or baking —or else are trained in 
gardening or agriculture. About seventy acres of land arc attached to 
the institution : forty on the Tipperary side of the Suir in the im- 
mediate vicinity of the house, and about thirty on the Waterford side. 
The boys leave school at the age of sixteen, when some go direct to 
situations while others go back to their homes. 



Parish of Rathgormack and Clonea. 



Both Rathgormack and Mothel (Clonea) were ancient parishes im- 
propriate in the Abbey of Mothel ; this means that the Abbot of Mothel 
had appointment of the Parish Priest in both cases. The present Clonea 
is equivalent to the ancient Mothel. At Mothel, or rather at Ballynevin 
in its vicinity, St. Brogan, whose identity and history are disputed ques- 
tions, founded in the golden sixth century a religious house, in the 
government of which he was succeeded by St. Coan. The site of this early 
establishment was close by the present Holy Well of Mothel. Out of this 
primitive foundation grew in the course of centuries the Augustinian 
Priory of Mothel on the site marked by the present graveyard. Here 
one of the ancient termon or boundary stones survives to show the 
former importance of the place. The surviving termon stone is still, by 
the way, called Ctoc tu\ Corruu^ge, i.e., "Stone of Sanctuary." Clonea 
church, a beautiful and spacious structure in Gothic style, is one of 
the finest country churches in the diocese. This was erected in 1860 
by Rev. Timothy Dowley, P.P., from plans by McCarthy, and at a 
cost of £6,000. As the original contractor failed to carry the work 
through the building was completed under Father Dowley's own super- 
vision. The date of erection of Rathgormack church is unknown. From 
its general character it seems to date from early in the 18th century. 

In the parish are five National schools, scil. : — two each (male and 
female) at Clonea and Rathgormack and a mixed school at Coolnahorna. 
The Coolnahorna school was erected in 1844, the Clonea schools in 
1870, and the Rathgormack schools in 1910. The total population of 
the parish is about two thousand four hundred, exclusively Catholic. 

The patrons of Clonea are SS. Brogan and Coan, whose feast on 
the 6th July is celebrated by Stations at the Holy Well and by indul- 
genced religious ceremonies and exercises in the church. Some 
years ago the "pattern" at Mothel had degenerated into a scene 
of drunkenness, faction fighting and general lawlessness, but the 
vigorous denunciation of these abuses by the Parish Priests have led 
to their abatement. Rathgormack parish is under the patronage of 
the Holy Cross (Exaltation). There is no " pattern " but the feast is 
celebrated in the church by Confessions, Mass, and Holy Communion. 
Both Mothel and Rathgormack were parishes of great extent, and the 
present parish, formed of them, is perhaps the largest in the diocese. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Morris English, residing at Monerlargey, was registered Parish Priest 
of "Mothel] and Kilbarry" in 17U4. On the same day Thomas English, 
probably a brother of Morris, was registered as Pastor of "Rath- 
gormuck and Lisnekill" and as residing at Glenstown which is not within 
his alleged parish. It is not by any means clear why Kilbarry should 
be, as it is here, united with Mothel which it does not adjoin, or why 
Lisnakill should be in union with Rathgormack from which it lies separ- 
ated by the width of two parishes. 

Rev. Edward Morris was parochns in 1724, as appears from testi- 
mony of a chalice with an inscription, preserved in the parish. 

Father John Murray, probably an Augustinian — almost certainly 
a regular of some order — died Parish Priest of Mothel, April 18th, 1768, 
aged eighty-three years, and is buried at Mothel. 

Rev. Thomas Hearn, a brilliant ecclesiastic, just returned from 
Louvain, succeeded, but four years later he was translated to Holy 
Trinity Parish, Waterford. 

Rev. Edward Prendergast (with Rev. John Bourke as curate) was 
Parish Priest in 1801. Rev. William O'Mcara was Parish Priest in 1818 
and was most probably the successor of Father Prendergast. 

Rev. Patrick Wall was translated from Carrickbeg to Clonea in 
1825 and again from Clonea to Stradbally in 1829. From Father Wall's 
time the succession is clearer. 

1830— Rev. John Condon. He resigned in 1849. 

1849 — Rev. Edward Meagher. He was killed near Rathgormack 
in 1852 by a miscreant whose evil doing he had publicly denounced. 
The wretch did not probably intend murder, but flung a stone which 
struck the priest on the head, fracturing his skull. Rathgormack was 
noted at the time for its faction fights, general lawlessness and 
savagery. 

1852 — Rev. Timothy Dowley, transferred from Carrickbeg. He 
is interred within the church which he had built at Clonea. To him 
is also due erection of the present schools at Clonea. Between Father 
Dowley's pastorate and the accession of Father O'Connell, Rev. John 
Power was Administrator for a period of about twelve months. 

1886 — Rev. Timothy O'Connell, whose term of office was only a 
month or two. He was translated to St. Mary's, Clonmel. 

1886 — Rev. Maurice Flynn, translated in the following year to 



1887 — Rev. Richard Phclan. He erected the present curates' 
residence at Feddins and secured for parochial use the present Parish 
Priest's house at Mothel ; he was transferred to Clogheen in 1897. 



186 

1897 — Rev. Paul Power. He was created a Canon in 1904. During 
his term of office he erected new schools at Rathgormack and teachers' 
residences at both Rathgormack and Clonea. In his death his people 
lost a singularly energetic, zealous and earnest pastor. 

1912— Rev. James Wall. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

The most important item under this heading is the- ruin of 
Mothel priory. This was an Augustinian foundation, to which were 
subject the churches of Mothel, Rathgormack, and Ballylaneen. Some 
time subsequent to the suppression, scil.: — during the early 17th century, 
the Cistercians succeeded somehow in getting possession and Brother 
Thomas (otherwise, John) Madan of Waterford, a member of the Order, 
was consecrated Abbot in St. John's Church, Waterford, on Trinity 
Sunday, 1625. In 1629 however, Patrick (De Angelis) Comerford, 
an Augustinian, became Bishop of Waterford, and the following year 
he contested the claim of the Cistercians to Mothel, into which, he con- 
tended, they had intruded themselves. In a letter to Propaganda 
(printed by Moran, " Spicillegium Ossoriense," vol. i, p. 167) the Bishop 
urges that the Cistercians have usurped possession of three Augustinian 
monasteries (including Mothel) and that they illegally claim jurisdiction 
over the parishes attached to the abbey. In support of his contention 
that Mothel was an Augustinian house, he appeals to the apostolic 
taxation books, to the ancient records of the abbey and to venerable 
and authentic documents in the diocesan archives. The remains at 
Mothel are practically confined to a piece of the south side wall of the 
monastic church together with portion of the west gable and fragment 
of what appears to have been a south transept. 

At Rathgormack the ecclesiastical remains consist of the west 
gable and portion of the north side wall of what must have been a 
large and strongly built church, to which a small central tower, narrow 
window openings and stout thick walls lend a fortress-like aspect. A 
stairway from the nave seems to have given access to the tower over 
the chancel arch. 

There are no other church remains within the parish, but the number 
of early church sites is unusually large ; they total fifteen at least 
and the list is probably not exhaustive, scil. : — Ballynafinia (on Walsh's 
farm), Ballynevin, Bishopstown (CiU Ati earpoig), Coolnahorna 
(Mahony's), Glenaphuca, Glenpatrick, Kilballyquilty, Kilbrack, Kil- 
clooney, Joanstown (now in Carrickbeg Par.) Kincanavee, Knockaturney 
(tX\ptu\ rtUTOin), Park, Rathgormack (on Terry's), and Ross (on 



187 

Whelan's.) The listed Rathgormack early church is to be distinguished 
from the ruined church of the same name already described. 

There are two Holy Wells — of which far the more celebrated is 
Tober Chuain on Ballynevin, the scene of the "pattern of Mothel." 
The other is on the townland of Park beside the cittin or early church 
site and is known as St. John the Baptist's. 

Amongst the altar plate of the parish may be specially mentioned 
two silver chalices of moderate size — one, inscribed: "Edwardi Morris 
Parochiae Mothiliensis Donum p° die Jan. 1724," and the other, 
bearing round its base the following legend : — " Rev. Gnl s O'Meara me 
fieri fecit pro parochia Rathcormick anno, 1818." To the foregoing 
may be added, as also of antiquarian interest, a bronze crucifix (in 
use over the high altar at Clonea), which is stated to have been dug 
up in the neighbourhood of Rathgormack church ruin. 



Parish of Ring and Old Parish. 



The present union of Old Parish and Ring is of quite recent origin, dating 
only from 1846 (see under Ardmore supra). Ring or Ringagoona is under 
the patronage of St. Nicholas of Myra, while Old Parish (Ballymacart) 
is dedicated to the Mother of God (Nativity). It is surprising, by the 
way, how many parish churches in the diocese are under the patronage 
of the Nativity. In both Ring and Old Parish the respective patronal 
feasts are celebrated with special solemnity — reception of Sacraments, &c. 
There are two churches — both plain, substantial, and spacious. The 
time of erection of the Ring church is not on record, but the edifice 
seems to date from the Emancipation period. It replaced an older 
church which was situated lower down the hillside not far from the 
old churchyard of Shanakill. Old Parish church dates from 1839 and 
the pastorate of Rev. P. McGrath. It replaced a small church, some 
of the walls of which are to be seen at Ballykilmurry. Throughout 
the parish Irish prevails as the ordinary speech of the people : it is in 
fact the only language used in Ring, and is perhaps more generally 
used in Old Parish than English. There are four Nationals schools — 
two each (male and female) at Old Parish and Ring. The population 
has decreased enormously as in Ardmore. At present baptisms number 
about thirty-eight annually. The present parish, it ought be added, is 
made up of the ancient parishes of Ringagoona, Ballymacart, and part 
of Ardmore. One townland of Ring was cut off and added to Dun- 
garvan in 1847, as we have already seen. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Tn the year of Registration of the Irish Clergy (1704) Thomas Cooney, 
residing at Mweelahorna and then aged forty years, was Parish Priest 
of Ringagoona. 

The next pastor of whom we have documentary evidence is Father 
Richard Hallinan, who was probably the successor of Father Cooney. 
Father Hallinan seems to have been a friar ; he lived to a great age, 
dying in 1770, aged ninety years. 

Rev. David Morrissey was Parish Priest of Ring in 1803, and Rev. J. 
Ouinn from 1813 to 1831. Rev. Michael Purcell succeeded and admin- 
istered the affairs of the parish to 1847, when Rev. M. Clancy became 



189 

pastor. In Father Clancy's time the district, or modern parish, of Old 
Parish was taken from Ardmore and united with Ring. Father Clancy, 
subsequent to the union, lived at Losceran near the present parochial 
house and died in 1850. His successor was Rev. J. Mullins, who died in 
1882 and was succeeded in turn by Rev. Peter Casey. Father Casey 
was transferred to Dungarvan in 1888, and was succeeded by Rev. 
Edmond Foran, on whose translation to Ballyneal in 1895 Rev. John 
McCann was appointed Parish Priest. Father McCann was transferred 
to Newtown in 1910 and Rev. Michael McGrath installed in his stead 
at Ring. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
There are two ruined churches — at Ring and Ballykilmurray re- 
spectively. Of these the ruin at Ring is unusually interesting. It 
has an early English chancel arch furnished with a chiselled mortise 
or rest for the rood beam. This feature is very rare ; the rood beam, 
though general in English cathedrals and larger churches, was extremely 
uncommon in a small Irish parochial church. The Norman origin of 
this church is suggested by its dedication — to St. Nicholas. St. Nicholas 
was to Normans what St. Michael was to the Danes. St. Nicholas' 
Holy Well on the brink of a rivulet a hundred yards or so to north of 
the ruin is still regarded with veneration by the peasantry and fisher 
folk. A" pattern" was formerly held here — on December6th — but abuses 
led to his abolition during the pastorate of Rev. Michael Purcell. The 
ruin at Ballymacart is singularly uninteresting, the remains being con- 
fined to the crumbling side walls of a poor, plain, choirless church. In 
addition to the foregoing there are early church sites at Gortadiha, 
Ballytrisnane (near a well to which some minor degree of sacredness 
is attached), Loskeran (Cat 'Oontic.vuA), and (robally. At Old Parish 
is an old much worn chalice of silver which unscrews into two parts 
and is inscribed: — " D" s Pat Fitzgeraled me fieri fecit ad usum Par 
Ardmor. Orin. 1747." Ring has another old chalice ; this is of 
silver also and quite a large vessel ; is bears the inscription : — "The 
Gift of the parishioners to the Chapel of Ring. a.d. 1809." 



Parish of Stradbally &- Ballylaneen. 



During the Penal period Stradbally appears to have been united with 
Kilrossenty as we have already seen (Kilrossenty Par., supra) There 
are at present three churches — one of them (Faha), a chapel-of-ease — ■ 
in the parish. Of these the most important is Stradbally, erected in 
1834 and dedicated to the Holy Cross (Exaltation). Local devotion on 
the occasion of the feast takes the form of a general reception of the Sacra- 
ments. The church is a plain oblong structure, some hundred feet by 
forty, and furnished with a truncated tower. The church was much im- 
proved in 1894 at a cost of £414 odd. Ballylaneen church dedicated 
to St. Anne, was built about 1824. ft is cruciform in plan and replaces 
a thatched rectangular structure on the same or practically the same 
site. The present church was re-roofed, ceiled, floored, &c, by Rev. E. 
Dunphy in 1894 at a cost of £415. The patron day is observed locally 
as a holy day and the people attend Mass in the church and receive the 
Sacraments. The chapel-of-ease at Faha was built in 1804 by James 
Barron, Esq., chiefly for the use of himself, his family, and domestics. 
He endowed the chapel with an annual stipend of £13 to the pastor. 
In 1868 the walls of the chapel were raised and the structure re-roofed 
at a cost of £400, of which £100 was subscribed by the public and £300 
by Mr. Edward Barron. There are four schools — all in connexion 
with the National Board and under clerical management, scil : — male 
and female schools at Stradbally and Ballylaneen and a mixed school 
at Ballynarrid. The population of the parish is about one thousand 
seven hundred and fifty. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
The "White Vicar," pastor of Stradbally, was shot by Mac Thomas 
of Woodhouse about 1700. Probably there was no parochus for some 
years afterwards. In 1704, however, we find Richard Costelloe registered 
as Parish Priest of Stradbally and Kilrossenty. His place of abode is 
given as Carrigbarrahane and his age as fifty years. Next we hear of 
Rev. Thomas Power, who is stated to have been appointed Parish Priest 
in 1736 to have died in 1745 and to have been succeeded by Rev. John 
Casey, who held office for seventeen years. Rev. Luke O'Donnell 
succeeded and survived only four years, dying in 1766. Rev. Picrse 



191 

Walsh became pastor in 1766 and died 1781. Rev. John Hickey comes 
next, surviving till 1800. He was succeeded, the same year, by Rev. 
James Power, who survived till 1805 and was succeeded, in his turn, 
by Rev. Alexander Burke. Of these eighteenth and early nineteenth 
century pastors we know nothing beyond their names and dates of 
succession. Father Burke, according to the testimony of his monu- 
ment in Stradbally new graveyard, died in 1829. 

Rev. Patrick Wall comes next in succession. He was translated from 
Clonea, whither he had been already translated from Carrickbeg. He 
erected a residence on a commanding eminence at Brenor. Here, 
breathing the pure air of the sea and the hill top, he expected, it is 
said, to live to a great age, but, the story goes, he died within a year 
or two of the house's completion. Father Wall was a patron of Irish 
scribes and a co-operator with Philip Barron in the establishment of 
the latter's Irish College of Seafield. In the library of St. John's College, 
Waterford, and here and there in other collections, are MSS. written 
by Thomas O'Hickey for Father Wall. 

Rev. Michael Power, who had built the church of Carrickbeg, was 
translated hither in 1834. In Stradbally, Father Power signalised his 
pastorate by erection of the present church of that place. He was 
popularly known as "The Master," and lived at Ballyvooney. 

Rev. Thomas Casey succeeded, on the death of Father Power in 
1860. He survived for twenty-five years and was succeeded by Rev. 
William Burke in 1886. Father Burke was transferred to Newtown in 
1890 and Rev. John O'Connor appointed in his stead. Father O'Connor, 
who had spent many years on the Newfoundland mission and had re- 
turned to his native diocese very late in life, was in but indifferent health 
at time of his appointment. In two years he was translated to Kil- 
rossanty, and Rev. Edmond Dunphy was appointed his successor in 
Stradbally, August, 1892. Father Dunphy, in 1901, erected the present 
fine parochial house; in 1911 he was elevated to a canonry in the 
Diocesan Chapter. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
The ruins of the old church of Stradbally comprise nave, chancel 
arch, and chancel, and prove the edifice to have been unusually large. A 
peculiarity of the church is that the axis of the choir and nave do not 
coincide, in other words, the chancel is like the corresponding part of 
Cormac's chapel — on one side, rather than springing from centre of the 
nave. A small grass covered headstone in the surrounding cemetery 
bears the legend : "Here lies the Body of the Revd. Father Pierce Byrn 



192 

who Died, July the 2nd, 1777, aged 34 y r - s " The Father Byrn in question 
was doubtless a Regular and probably an Augustinian. The writer of 
the present pages inclines to the belief that the Augustinian hermits 
had some connexion with Stradbally during the Penal times and that the 
connexion in question took the form of a place of retreat at Ballyvooney 
or thereabout. Nothing, save the foundations, of Ballylaneen old church 
survive. In the ancient cemetery attached is the grave, with inscribed 
monument, of Tadhg Gaodhalach, the Irish poet and hymn writer. 
In the parish are two or three reputed Holy Wells : — St. Anne's and St. 
Brigid's at Carrigcastle, still resorted to, a bullan water — filled at Drum- 
lohan Cilleen, and Tobar Cill Aodha (near Stradbalhy) , beside which 
are a couple of ogham inscribed monuments. The early church sites 
identified are seven in number, scil. : — Ballyvoyle, Drumlohan, Fox's 
Castle, Kilminnin (CiU mo fmgin), Killelton (Cat eilcin), Garran- 
turton and Templeivrick (Ce*.\mpull Ui t)|\ic). 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
Convent of Mercy, Stradbally. 
The Stradbally convent is an offshoot of the Cappoquin house. 
It was founded in 1775 at the request of Rev. Thomas Casey, P.P. The 
community was first housed in the village but, on the death of Father 
Casey in 1885, the sisters removed to their present residence, which was 
till then the parochial house. On the new site the sisters have erected 
fine schools and workrooms and established a number of small industries 
for girls. Shirt and vestment making are carried on, and weaving of 
linen, cambric, and woollens was introduced and flourished for a time. 
The principal sphere of the commumt3 r 's activity is of course in the local 
female National schools of which the sisters have charge. They have, 
also the matronship and charge of the hospital in Lismore workhouse, 
where they have sent a small sub-community. Mother M. Patrick 
Keane was Superior till 1899, when she was succeeded by Mother M. 
Gertrude Fitzgerald who, in 1903, gave place to Mother Mary Immaculate 
Delaney, and the latter in 1911 was, in her turn, succeeded by Mother M. 
Immaculate Fitzgerald. 



Parish of Tallow. 



Tallow in the early 17th century was the centre of a great Protestant 
plantation of the Earl of Cork. Consequently there was, even in the 
beginning of the 18th century, but a comparatively small Catholic 
population. This will explain the union of this parish with Knockanore 
under one pastor (vide under Knockanore anted). 

The present patronage of the parish is the Immaculate Conception. 
There is only a single church and this was erected, on the site of its pre- 
decessor, in 1826. Like the general run of churches erected at that 
period, it is large, solid, and plain. As far as it can be said to have any 
particular architectural style it is Gothic. The spire was erected in 
1868. In addition to the Statutory Confraternities there are attached 
to the church Sodalities of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour and Mount 
Carmel. The Catholic population of the parish is estimated at about 
two thousand one hundred ; in 1836 it was about nine thousand. Bap- 
tisms in the year last mentioned, numbered two hundred and nineteen ; 
in 1894 the number had fallen to sixty-four. There are four schools — 
all connected with the National Board and all under clerical manage- 
ment, scil. : — male and female schools at Tallow and mixed schools at 
Shean and Kilcalf. For some reason or other — conceivably because 
it was the most difficult place to reach and the most inconvenient in the 
county — Tallow was designated as the centre where the unfortunate 
Catholic clergy of the county were bound to register themselves on 
July 11th, 1704. A mission, by the Redemptorists, was given in Tallow 
as early as 1858. 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
As already stated under Knockanore, William Tobin, possibly or 
probably an Augustinian, was registered in 1704 as "Popish Parish Priest 
of Tallow, Kilwatermoy, Kilcockan, and Templemichael." Rev. William 
Tobin was succeeded — whether immediately or not there is no evidence 
to show — by Rev. John Power, an Augustinian. Power's mother was 
a Protestant of militant type — Caith Osborne, of local notoriety — and 
through her machinations her son John was induced to temporise, if 
not to apostatise. He died penitent in April, 1786, in the eightieth 



194 

year of his age and is buried in Modeligo. There is nothing to show who, 
if any, were the successors of Power to end of the century. We find 
Rev. John Walsh, Parish Priest (there was no curate) in 1801 and up to 
1809. In the year last named he appears to have been transferred to 
Dungarvan. Rev. John Burke (he had been curate in Rathgormack) 
succeeded but held office for two years only — to September, 1811. 

Rev. Denis O'Donnell was next Parish Priest ; he erected the present 
church and survived till 1830, when he was succeeded by Rev. Eugene 
Condon. Father Condon introduced the Carmelite Nuns into Tallow 
and built a convent for them on two acres of land which he had secured 
from the Duke of Devonshire. This he was enabled to do through a 
substantial bequest left for that purpose by the late Parish Priest, Rev. 
Denis O'Donnell. Father Condon held office to 1855 or the following 
year and was succeeded by Rev. Edward O'Donnell, who remained only 
three years and was translated to Passage. Rev. Patrick Byrne suc- 
ceeded, but was translated to Lismore in 1866. Rev. James Prendergast 
was inducted in August, 1866, and lived till 1902, when he was succeeded 
by Rev. William Meagher. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
In the parish are two ancient cemeteries — at Aglish and Tallow 
respectively. The latter is attached to the modern Protestant church 
but is of course the old pre-Reformation cemetery of the parish. No 
remains of the ancient church survive, though the foundations, about 
forty feet in length by twenty-two feet wide, are traceable. At Aglish 
there are no traces of a church. There are however a few inscriptions 
of interest. A recumbent slab about the centre of the graveyard records 
in large Roman capitals that. 

" Here 
Lyeth the Body of 
The Reverend Father 
James Keane Died 

March 10 
1750 aged 80 years." 
Beside the last is a second tombstone with the following : "Here 
Lies the Body of the Reverend Father Michael Tobin who DeParted 
this Life The 29th Day of June, 1774. Aged 34 yearV There is nothing 
to indicate who Fathers Keane and Tobin were and what connexion 
they had with the parish, but it is fairly clear they were regulars and 
one is justified in assuming they were Augustinians. The latter Order 
seem to have had connexion with Tallow during the 18th century. 



195 

Probably they had a retreat there or in its neighbourhood and ministered 
as parochial clergy. 

There are early church sites at Kilcalf (" St. Catha's Church "), 
Kilmore ("Great Church "), and Kilwinny ("My Finghin's Church"). 

The late Archbishop of Ephesus, Dr. Kirby, was a native of this 
parish wherein he was baptised on January 6th, 1804. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 
Carmelite Convent. 

The Convent of St. Joseph's, Tallow, was founded the 29th July, 
1836, and is indebted for its establishment to the pious bequest of 
Rev. Denis O'Donnell, Parish Priest of Tallow, who, at his death, left 
a considerable sum of money for the erection of a convent. His benevo- 
lent design was promptly carried into execution by his successor, the 
Rev. Eugene Condon. Some ineffectual efforts were made to procure 
Nuns of the Presentation Order, but Almighty God seems to have willed 
that the Carmelites should be established here, to bring the scapular 
of the Mother of God to the south. Accordingly Father Condon made 
application to the Convent of St. Teresa, Warrenmount, Dublin, in 
hopes of being able to obtain a filiation of nuns for his new convent. 
The approbation of the Bishop of the diocese, the Right Rev. Dr. 
Abraham, was, of course, first procured. After negociations about the 
preliminaries of the foundation, support of the religious, etc., it was 
agreed that five nuns should be sent. The Prioress of St. Teresa's, 
Mother Jane Frances of St. Albert, a religious of eminent sanctity, of 
unalterable meekness and charity, applied herself to the preparations 
requisite for the new foundation. Rev. Father Colgan, who afterwards 
became Provincial of the Carmelite Fathers, was at that time extra- 
ordinary confessor at St. Teresa's, Warrenpoint. He was sent down 
to the County Waterford to inspect the premises, &c, and the account 
he gave at his return was most favourable. He spoke much of the 
anxiety evinced by the people of the neighbourhood for the arrival 
of the nuns. 

The appointment of the religious designed for the south was next 
to be considered. This was made in due form in the Chapter Room at 
Warrenmount, but as in this land of exile there is always to be some 
cross or contradiction, the religious who was appointed prioress, deterred 
perhaps by the responsibility of her charge, or not wishing to leave 
the retirement of her own monastery, requested she might be dispensed 
from the obligation. Mother M. Joseph of Jesus, who had been assigned 



196 

to the office of First Discreet on the new foundation was now appointed 
Prioress. The new nomination was made with the sanction and 
approbation of the Rev. Dr. Meyler, Vicar-General. As the Archbishop, 
Dr. Murray, was at this time in Rome it was from the Vicar-General 
all the necessary permissions had to be obtained. The religious who 
came to St. Joseph's were : — Prioress — Mother M. Joseph of Jesus ; 
Sub-Prioress — Mother M. Baptist of the Blessed Sacrament ; First 
Discreet — Sister Mary of the Holy Ghost ; Second Discreet — Sister 
Mary Agnes of St. Joseph ; Third Discreet — Sister Mary Xavier of the 
Heart of Jesus. 

The day of their departure was happily fixed for the Feast of 
St. Anne, the 26th July, and with hearts ready for any sacrifice they were 
resigned to separation for ever in this life from their hallowed convent 
home in which we had received so many fond pledges of the love of their 
heavenly spouse. With mutual tears and prayers for their future 
prosperity and perseverance, they parted from the beloved mothers 
and sisters of St. Teresa's, and cheerfully took their places in the 
vehicle prepared for them by their kind and amiable friend and protector, 
Rev. E. Condon. Having said the prayers in the Breviary for Travellers, 
they were able to recite the Divine Office as they went along, and the 
next day but one brought them to the Ursuline Convent, St. Mary's, 
Waterford, where they were kindly and charitably received. Here the 
travellers were visited by the Vicar of the diocese, Rev. Dr. O'Brien. 
As the Bishop, Right Rev. Dr. Abraham, was not at home, the Vicar 
granted the Mother Prioress all the permissions she requested for her 
office and the establishment of her monastery. "We cannot omit men- 
tioning,," says the chronicle of St. Joseph's, "to the praise of this 
estimable clergyman, that notwithstanding the objections made on every 
side about our being able to persevere in the Fasts and Abstinences of 
our Rule, he most warmly animated the Prioress to the strict observ- 
ance and seemed in all things most favourable to the Carmelites." After 
remaining two days at St. Mary's they proceeded on their journey to 
Tallow, earnestly sighing to find themselves sheltered in the solitude 
of their cells. Nothing could surpass the joy they felt when they en- 
tered their new home, which shut them out for evermore from the noise 
and tumult of the world, and left them the Lord alone for patron. The 
divine office being complied with, their straw beds stuffed and other 
preparations made, they retired to rest full of love and gratitude to 
Almighty God, who had done so much for them. The next morning Mass 
was celebrated, the house blessed and the Most Holy Sacrament placed 
in a small tabernacle in a remote apartment, the oratory not being yet 
in order. 



197 

Soon the little community increased ; fervent souls presented 
themselves to take upon them "the sweet yoke of the Lord" under the 
auspices of the Mother of God and her spouse St. Joseph. The first 
who was clothed with the Holy Habit of Our Lady of Mount Carmel 
was Father Condon's niece, Sister Joseph, who was quickly succeeded 
by others, amongst whom were her two sisters, one of whom afterwards 
became Prioress. 

Shortly after the arrival of the nuns they were visited by the Right 
Rev. Dr. Abraham, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore. He renewed 
the permissions granted by his Vicar, carefully perused the rule and 
constitutions, gave the nuns a liberal alms, and promised to befriend 
them in every way. Death however soon deprived the diocese of this 
holy prelate. His successor, the Right Rev. Dr. Foran, immediately 
after his consecration, came to St. Joseph's, gave the habit to one of the 
novices, and seemed much pleased with the community and their 
humble way of living, and ever after proved himself on every occasion 
a true friend and father. On the feast of St. Joseph, 1818, we find a 
record of the first profession, the novice making her solemn vows in the 
hands of the Mother Prioress, as directed by the holy rule, without 
the presence of any prelate. 

The oratory being too small, it was a long time in contemplation 
to build a convent church. Want of funds unfortunately caused a long 
delay. A bazaar organised by Rev. Dr. Cleary and donations from kind 
friends, furnished the necessary means and enabled the community to 
commence the building at once. Accordingly permission was obtained 
from the Bishop, and the plan being procured, the first stone was laid 
on the 1st May, 1854, to the joy and satisfaction of all. The com- 
munity had to entrust the work entirely into the hands of masons, 
not having the means to employ an architect ; Rev. Dr. Cleary, their kind 
and benevolent friend, acted as overseer. On the 1st August the new 
building was so far completed as to enable the community to occupy a 
part of it. With the permission of the Vicar-General (Dr. O'Brien not 
being at this time consecrated) the new church was blessed and a 
Solemn High Mass sung by the Rev. Father O'Donnell, P.P. — Rev. 
Father Wallace, and Rev. Dr. Cleary being Deacon and Sub-Deacon 
respectively. A very beautiful and touching sermon was preached by 
the Rev. Father Meany, C.C., Clonmel, in which he alluded to the 
happiness of being called to Carmel, that Order so illustrious and so 
ancient and so fertile in saints. 

The church at length, according to the finances of the community, 
being brought to a more finished state, its solemn dedication took place, 
May 8th, 1856. The Right Rev. Dr. O'Brien performed the ceremony, 



which was most imposing. There was a great attendance of priests 
both from this diocese and from Cloyne. An excellent and eloquent 
sermon appropriate to the occasion was preached by the Rev. Father 
Harbisson of the Order of our Most Holy Redeemer, Limerick. High 
Mass was sung by Rev. Father Mooney, C.C., Dungarvan. The little 
church that day was thronged with devout and faithful worshippers 
from all parts. 

Besides having charge of the National school, the nuns formerly 
kept an industrial school in which the grown girls were constantly em- 
ployed. They were taught there all kinds of needlework by the sisters, 
also crotchet and knitting. They likewise were engaged in the making 
of the well-known "Tallow lace" ; even the very young children were 
taught this. The community had to provide a secular teacher to instruct 
the children in this branch ; the more grown girls who had left the 
National school attended the lace school. In a short time the "Tallow 
lace" became well known nearly all over Ireland. Among the pupils of 
the lace class were some very pious young women for whose spiritual 
benefit the "Third Order of the Carmelites" was established in Tallow. 
The Mother Prioress wrote to the Rev. Father Provincial of the Car- 
melites, Whitefriar Street, Dublin, to obtain his consent and approba- 
tion and likewise to get the faculties for Rev. Father Byrne (Parish 
Priest of Tallow at this time) to perform the ceremony of clothing, &c. 
The Rev. Father Provincial readily granted the required permissions. 
Shortly after Father Byrne received five of these young persons and 
gave them the habit in the Carmelite church here, going through all the 
ceremonies according to the rule of the Third Order. Not long after 
others were very desirous of joining the Order and, by their good con- 
duct which was well known to the sisters in charge, merited to be like- 
wise received. The example of these good souls contributed much to 
the general good of the school as well as to the edification of those 
with whom they had to associate in the world outside. Some of these 
are now professed Carmelite Nuns. Our Divine Lord opened the doors 
of religion for them in His own good time. Now retired from the world, 
within their peaceful cells they are by their punctual observance of 
their holy rule and by their fervent and edifying lives silently proving 
their gratitude to God for His tender and watchful care of them. 

But to return to our lace and industrial school ; in the course of 
time the agents failed to get sale for the work ; this resulted as a con- 
sequence of the introduction of imitation lace, which pleased the public 
as well as the Tallow lace and was less expensive. The work of the school 
was no longer remunerative and had to be abandoned. The National 
school of which the nuns took charge from the very foundation of the 



199 

convent was kept up as a means of support for the community ; this 
however was not strictly according to the spirit of the holy rule which 
says— "the religious are not to engage in works which would occupy 
the mind and distract it from the recollection of the presence of God, 
but in sewing and such like things." 

About the year 1877, and for some years before this period, there 
were but few of the religious able to attend school. Death deprived 
the community of three or four members in little more than the space of 
a year. As might be expected, with such little help in school, the 
children were not up to the standard required by the results' pro- 
gramme, which came into operation in or about this time. The Mother 
Prioress who had charge of the community at this period was M. Clare 
Treacy (sister to the three Fathers Treacy, late of this diocese), a 
person of great prudence and foresight ; she wisely determined on 
seeking subjects more capable of school work. After fervent prayer she 
succeeded in a short time in getting postulants who were both classified 
teachers and most desirous of entering the Carmelite Order. These 
good sisters in a short time by their zeal and diligence worked up 
the school and raised the classes to the requirements of the programme. 

In the year of famine, 1847, our late Holy Father, Pope Pius IX., 
was a true benefactor to this community. All the funds of the convent 
were lost through mismanagement. For some years there had been a 
considerable depression in the Government Stock, so that the interest 
amounted to little more than two per cent. This made a great difference 
in the limited finances of the community. It was judged advisable 
by all who were consulted upon the matter to have the money lodged 
in the hands of some landed proprietor in order to procure a higher interest, 
Accordingly it was agreed that the whole amount, which was £1,320, 
should be transferred on loan, at five per cent., to a gentleman residing 
near Dungarvan. All were pleased with this arrangement, as it was 
supposed that the security was good. A very short time after this 
transaction had been concluded it was discovered that the estate of 
the gentleman to whom the money had been consigned was so encum- 
bered that it was supposed not sufficient to discharge the mortgages 
already upon it. This intelligence was made known to the community 
by the Bishop, Right Rev. Dr. Foran, which sad news was received 
by the Mother Prioress, M. Joseph of Jesus, with all the fortitude and 
resignation which could be expected. It being the year of famine, too, 
the case was more deplorable. When the Prioress informed the 
community of their ruin with regard to their temporals they meekly 
submitted to the holy Will of God. But Our Lord, "Who strikes only 
to heal," soon raised up benefactors for them. The relatives of 



200 

some of the members of the community kindly contributed some 
pecuniary assistance. The nuns were assisted also by the public contri- 
butions raised at that time for the relief of the distressed. The little 
temporary privations which they suffered at this period were thought 
light and trifling compared with the awful distress and calamity which 
reigned in general throughout the country. Loud was the cry of wretched- 
ness, privation and starvation which arose on all sides. The sisters, 
who were in dire need themselves, endeavoured each day to provide 
bread for the poor children attending school. The Mother Prioress 
often remained up at night to provide with her own hands what was 
necessary for these suffering members of Jesus Christ. The account 
of the distress the community were in, and the losses they had sustained, 
reached the Eternal City. Our Holy Father, Pope Pius IX, on being 
made aware of it, sent a draft for the sum of £50. 

Not long after, the Bishop, Dr. Foran, visited the convent and 
expressed the most unfeigned concern at the pecuniary reverses the 
community had sustained, regretting that it had not been in his power 
before to contribute to their assistance. He then with all the charity 
and benevolence of a true father gave them £250 with every encourage- 
ment as to their future prospects. His lordship also expressed a wish 
that when means could be provided for it the enclosure wall should be 
raised higher and the garden enlarged, for the nuns had just got seven 
additional acres of land from the Duke of Devonshire, as well as a 
grant for the schools. 

The Most Rev. Dr. Kirby, Archbishop of Ephesus, was often a 
kind benefactor. During the jubilee of Pius IX he did not forget 
the Carmelites of Tallow. Very kindly he sent them two sets of vest- 
ments, with a handsome veil, part of the presents received by the Holy 
Father that year. Amongst the very many presents he sent at different 
times from the Eternal City is a beautiful Italian oil painting of the 
Sacred Heart. 

Amongst the Carmelites in Ireland it had been an established 
practise to have the offices of the Irish supplement and other offices 
granted to the clergy, recited in addition to the particular offices 
prescribed for the Order. This was attended by many difficulties, in 
consequence of the increase of the offices, and the nuns were quite 
perplexed. The Mother Prioress wrote to the Bishop requesting that 
he would decide for them. In answer his lordship granted to the 
community the permission to recite the offices as had been directed by 
the General of the Order of Mount Carmel and by the Sacred Congrega- 
tion of Rites. So this privilege has been ever since availed of by the 
community. 



2(>1 

On March 31st, 1910, the community, with permission of the Bishop, 
resigned the school which the sisters had taught since their arrival in 
Tallow. As the Carmelite is a strictly contemplative Order, school work 
is more or less incompatible with the strict observance of the primitive 
rule. All the houses of the Order in Ireland have, save one, now renounced 
school work, which they took up in the beginning only from necessity. 



Parish of Tooraneena. 



This ecclesiastical division is generally called "Tooraneena and the 
Nire," but the Nire can hardly be regarded as a parish ; it represents 
no ancient parish and its church is of comparatively recent origin. The 
modern parish is practically the ancient Seskinane and Lickoran, 
with some later additions, viz. : Knocknaree (taken from Kilsheelan in 
1874), Carrigeen, Knockanaffrin and Glenanore (taken from Rathgor- 
mack), and Ballinmult, Knockmeal, and Carrigroe (taken in 1874 from 
Kilronan or Four-Mile-Water) . The region comprised may be described 
as a rugged plateau of great extent, cut into by projecting mountain 
spurs. There are two churches in the parish at a great distance apart ; one 
of them, "The Nire Church," is rather a chapel-of-ease than a parish 
church. This latter was erected in 1856 mainly through the exertions of 
Rev. David Power, then curate in these parts. Father Power acted in the 
two-fold capacity of architect and clerk of works. The building, in early 
English style with a particularly high pitched roof, is a very convenient 
and pretty country church. It replaces an old thatched chapel first erected 
in 1818 and twice subsequently destroyed by fire. This unpretentious 
edifice which stood on the townland of Tourin was popularly known 
all over County Waterford as "Seipe«.\L n& liA-on-M^ce " or chapel of the 
horn, from the fact that, as the church had no bell, the faithful were 
summoned to Mass by the blowing of a horn. The building was finally 
destroyed in 1849, and in the interval, till erection of the church, Sunday 
Mass was celebrated in turn at the farm houses in the vicinity. The 
church of Tooraneena, cruciform in plan, was erected in 1826, during 
the pastorate of Rev. P. Quirke. On the same site, or rather beside 
it, stood an earlier church which was turned into a schoolhouse on com- 
pletion of the present building. 

The parish is provided with four particularly efficient schools, viz. : 
two each at Tooraneena and the Nire, while, attached to the churches, are 
the usual Sodalities and, in addition, the Sodality of the Living Rosary. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Nicholas McCanny, residing at old Affane, was in 1704 registered 
Parish Priest of "Affane, Modeligo, and Seskinane." He had been 
thirty-four years in the sacred ministry at date of registration and had 



203 

received Holy Orders in France. Rev. C. Anglin was successor of Father 
McCanny but whether the succession was immediate there is no evidence 
to decide. He is stated to have been a native of Connaght, but this 
is hardly probable unless indeed he were the descendent of some "trans- 
planted" Waterford family. 

Rev. Pierse Healy, residing at Ballinamult, is the next pastor of 
whom we hear anything. We hear however only his name, unfortu- 
nately. All dates, &c, in connexion are lost. 

Rev. William Power, residing at Knockboy, was Parish Priest in 
1803 and for twenty-one years subsequently. He was succeeded in 
1824 by Rev. Patrick Quirke, who took up his abode at Doon and lived 
till 1832. During his term of office he erected the present church of 
Tooraneena. From Father Ouirke's time onward the Parish Priests 
have uniformly lived at Tooraneena. 

Rev. Thomas Kearney succeeded in April, 1832. He died in 1853 
and was succeeded by Rev. William Power, who survived till 1886. 
Rev. Thomas McDonnell was next appointed but was transferred to 
Cappoquin in 1891, when Rev. Richard Dunphy, translated from Abbey- 
side, succeeded. Father Dunphy was created a Canon on re-establish- 
ment of the Chapter. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
There is only a single ruined church, scil., Knockboy, otherwise 
Seskinane, in the parish. This is a plain rectangle in plan with a double 
bell-cote springing from the summit of the west gable. An extraordinary 
feature of this church are the ogham inscribed lintels of its windows 
and doors. The blocks in question had served their purpose as head- 
stones in the early Christian cemetery before their transference to their 
present position and purpose. Considering the great extent of the parish 
the number of early church sites is not large — only six in all, scil. : 
Ballinaguilkee (where also was till recently the shaft of a stone cross), 
Bleantasour (faitl n& ngAptAc), Cloonacogaile (t)e«*pn«* r\A n5«.\r.U\c), 
Kilcooney (St. Cuana's), Kilkeany (St. Clan's), and Lyre. No Holy 
Wells are known but there is a field (independent of the cillins) in Blean- 
tasour, and another in Kilkeany, called Mass Field, suggestive of assem- 
blies for Catholic worship in the Penal times. 



204 



Parish of Tramore and Carbally. 



This modern union is made up of no fewer than five ancient parishes, 
scil. : Drumcannon, Kilbride, Kilmacleage, Carbally, and Rathmoylan. 
It has two churches, at Tramore and Carbally respectively, and the ruins 
of four others. Tramore church, one of the finest if not the very finest 
structure of its kind in Ireland, is an enduring monument to the archi- 
tectural genius of McCarthy and to the magnificent courage and resource 
of Rev. Nicholas Cantwell. It was commenced in 1856 and completed 
in 1871 at a cost of £18,000. During his pastorate Father Cantwell 
likewise erected the church of Carbally, a plain but substantial rec- 
tangular building curiously situated in a glen. Carbally church is dedi- 
cated to the Mother of God, but the patronal feast is not celebrated locally. 
In Tramore the titular is the Exaltation of the Holy Cross (September 
14th). The feast ceased to be specially celebrated in the parish some fifty 
years, or so, since. The Catholic population is about two thousand four 
hundred, and baptisms number about fifty-five annually. There are 
schools at Tramore (Christian Brothers', a Convent National and a 
private school), Castletown (mixed and National), and Carbally (male 
and female National). Of these one only, the mixed National school at 
Castletown, is under clerical management. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Theobald Burke, residing at Drumcannon, and then aged fifty-five 
years, was registered Parish Priest in 1704. At that date the parish 
was made up as at present. Rev. Andrew Fitzgerald appears to have 
been next pastor. He died in 1750, aged sixty years. A chalice bearing 
his name is still preserved in Tramore. 

Father Richard Hogan, D.D., a Franciscan, died Parish Priest of 
Drumcannon in July, 1764, and was then aged sixty-six years. He 
had been translated from Kilcash on the death of Rev. Andrew 
Fitzgerald. Father Hogan is buried in Drumcannon graveyard together 
with his brother, Rev. William Hogan. 

Rev. Patrick Leahy succeeded and held the parish for twenty-one 
years, dying in 1785 ; he is also interred at Drumcannon. 



2()5 

Rev. Nicholas Phelan died Pastor of Tramore in 1830. He had been 
driven by the Whiteboys from Kilsheelan, of which place he was then 
Parish Priest, in 1785. 

Rev. Nicholas Cantwell, nephew to his predecessor, succeeded, and 
survived till 1875. His pastorate was signalised by the erection of 
the churches of Tramore and Carbally, the introduction of the Christian 
Brothers and erection of their schools, and the introduction of the 
Sisters of Charity. 

Rev. Roger Power, transferred from Clonmel, succeeded, and died 
in 1884. 

Rev. Patrick McCarthy was appointed Parish Priest in 1884 and 
was succeeded on his death in 1898 by Rev. Pierse Coffey, translated 
from Abbeyside. Father Cofiey became a Canon on re-erection of the 
Diocesan Chapter. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 
Besides the ruined churches of Drumcannon, Kilbride, Kilmacleage, 
and Rathwhelan, there are early church sites at Killune, Ballygarron, 
Coolum, and Kilmaquage. At Kilbride is a Holy Well (St. Brigid's), 
not, however, now in much veneration. The parish has two 18th century 
chalices — one at Carbally, inscribed: — " Hunc fieri fecit Pat. Leahy 
Pas r pro parochia de Kilmaclogue 1769," and the other, in the Christian 
Brothers' Oratory, Tramore, with the legend: — " D s Andrew 5 Fitz 
Gerald me fieri fecit, 1750." 



206 



Parish of Holy Trinity (Within), 
Waterford. 



The present division embraces the whole of ancient Trinity Parish 
Within the walls together with a considerable portion of Trinity Without, 
and the whole of St. Olave's, St. Peter's, and St. Michael's. The boundary 
with St. Patrick's parish was modified and aligned as at present by Bishop 
John Power, in 1815. The present parish church, which, for a century, 
has served the purpose of a Cathedral, is in some respects the most 
remarkable ecclesiastical structure in Ireland. It was erected while yet 
the Penal Laws hung as lead around the neck of suffering Ireland. Con- 
sidering the times its erection was an extraordinary undertaking : it 
would be a colossal undertaking to-day. What must we not think of the 
mind that conceived and the hands that erected it in those dark and evil 
days. The builder was a priest of striking personality and remarkable 
powers — Rev. Dean Hearn, D.D. — and the tremendous work was com- 
pleted in 1796. For nearly a century and a quarter the church has been 
known to generations of Waterford men as the "Great Chapel" and the 
"Big Chapel." Four generations have worshipped within its walls; it 
may live to witness the devotion of four generations to come. The archi- 
tect of the church was Mr. Roberts, grandfather of Lord Roberts of our 
day. It is said that Mr. Roberts died from the effects of a cold caught 
with the newly erected building. Dr. Hearn purchased portion of the site 
from the Sherlocks ; the moiety already belonged to the church, and 
upon it stood the poor chapel in which the downtrodden Catholics of 
Waterford had worshipped in fear and trembling for many years. Herein 
Dr. Hearn had during or about 1773 erected an organ — the first heard in a 
Waterford church for generations. The solemn ceremonial of Holy Week 
was now also introduced and an annual High Mass for the deceased 
priests and bishops of the diocese instituted. The older church appears 
to have stood in a direction at right angle to that of the present building. 
Two piers still standing and embedded in the south boundary wall of the 
Cathedral precincts are said to mark the site of the former high altar. 
This older church was concealed by a row of houses fronting Barron- 
strand Street — for in those days no Catholic church building dared offend 
Protestant eyes — and was entered from Conduit Lane by a narrow door 
which opened sufficiently to permit the entrance of only one person at 
a time. How the description brings home to us and helps us to realise 



207 

the terrible condition of the Catholic population — without education, 
without means, without influence — spurned, hated, dreaded. In this 
poor chapel the Decree of the Council of Trent annulling clandestine 
marriages was solemnly published in 1773. It was published on every 
Sunday and holy day for the first month, and thenceforth, for the year, 
once a month. The old church on site of the present Cathedral seems 
to have had an earlier Penal Days' predecessor, situated at rere of the 
houses which form the west side of Barronstrand Street. 

Dean's Hearn's great church did not include the present sanctuary. 
The latter was added in Bishop Abraham's time. Previous to acquisition 
of ground for erection of the sanctuary and extension in that direction, 
the high altar was placed against the east-end wall of the church, about 
the position of the present sanctuary gate. The Bishop's throne, it is 
said, was then on the gallery at the Gospel side, on which were also 
the stalls for the clergy. The present safe, within the sacristy, marks 
the site of the former sacristy door. Bishop Foran (1854) erected the 
apse and also a main altar of which the marble front is incorporated 
in the present high altar. In Bishop O'Brien's episcopacy St. Joseph's 
and Our Lady's altars were added, also the gates and railings on the 
street frontage. It was originally intended that the church should 
terminate in a classic portico at the west-end and the bases and portion 
of the shafts and pillars were actually in position when it was discovered 
that the foundations, in or on the bed of a reclaimed creek or pill, could 
not be depended on to carry the superstructure. The present writer 
remembers as a child to have seen the stunted pillars, which stood some 
three or four feet in height. Decoration of the ceiling, erection of the 
present altar, and curtailment of the galleries were effected in 1881, 
during the episcopacy of Bishop John Power. Finally, in 1893, Most 
Rev. Dr. Sheehan had a new cut stone front inserted, and extensive 
repairs, &c, effected, and on Tuesday morning, September 24th, of the 
same year, the three altars of the church were solemnly consecrated by 
the Bishop. 

The approximate population of the parish is three thousand five 
hundred, and baptisms number about one hundred and fifty annually. 
There are two schools, of which one is a small private educational establish- 
ment for girls and the other a very large female National school under 
the management and practical direction of the Sisters of Charity. The 
Sodality of the Sacred Heart, attached to the church, numbers one 
thousand two hundred members, scil. : seven hundred women and five 
hundred men, for whose spiritual benefit a Retreat of two weeks' 
duration is conducted annually. There is also an annual Retreat for 
the League of the Cross. 



208 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Paul Bellew, V.G. to Bishop Pierse then in exile, was Parish Priest 
of Holy Trinity in 1704. He was then forty-seven years of age and 
had received Holy Orders at the hands of the Bishop of Salamanca, 
in Spain. Father Bellew died October 18th, 1732, and is buried in St. 
Patrick's graveyard, Waterford, where a recumbent slab marks his 
resting place. The inscription records that : " Here lyeth the Body of 
the Rev. Mr. Paul Bellew, P.P. and V.G. in the City and Diocese of 
Waterford he died the 18th day of Octob r 1732 aged 76 years. 
Requiescat in Pace." 

Rev. William O'Meara succeeded in 1728 and held office till 1743, 
when he was promoted to the Bishopric of Ardfert and Aghadoe. Some 
years later he was transferred to Killaloe. While Bishop of Kerry 
Dr. O'Meara had, in 1747, a small volume of Diocesan Statutes (really 
a manual of pastoral theology for the clergy of the Penal Days) printed 
by Caldwell, of Broad Street, Waterford. He died in 1752. 

Rev. William Browne appears to have administered parochial 
affairs (whether as Parish Priest or otherwise is not certain) from 1743 
to 1747. He is almost certainly identical with the William Browne, 
who died Parish Priest of St. John's and Ballygunner in 1788, aged 
eighty-one years. He must therefore have been only twenty-six years 
old on his appointment to Holy Trinity. A namesake of his was, about 
the same time, pastor of Clashmore. 

In 1747 Rev. Patrick Fitzgerald was translated from Ardmore to 
Holy Trinity. Having held the latter parish for twenty years he died 
in 1767. 

Rev. William Francis Galwey succeeded. He died in 1772 according 
to the inscription of his tombstone in St. Patrick's graveyard. 

Rev. Thomas Hearn, D.D., was translated from Mothel in 1772 
and survived till 1810. Dr. Hearn is stated in his memoir by his grand- 
nephew to have been a native of Derry in the parish of Whitechurch, 
where he was born in 1734. Derry however is in the parish of Modeligo. 
Possibly he was born in Derry and moved later, with his parents, to 
the adjoining parish of Whitechurch. Dr. Hearn 's family gave a large 
number of distinguished ecclesiastics to the diocese. A brother, Timothy, 
became Parish Priest of Passage, and another, Francis, was a professor in 
world-famed Louvain, and died Parish Priest of St. Patrick's in Water- 
ford. An uncle of Dr. Hearn's, Rev. William Browne, was Parish Priest 
of Clashmore, in which office he was succeeded by Dr. Hearn's nephew, 
Rev. William Flynn. Father Flynn's brother, Rev. Thomas Flynn, D.D., 
was Pastor of St. Michael's, Waterford, and a nephew, Rev. Thomas 



209 

Flynn, became Parish Priest of Passage. This does not, by any means, 
exhaust the list of ecclesiastics of the family who gave their labours 
to Waterford and Lismore. Dr. Hearn entered the Irish Pastoral College 
of Louvain, then under the distinguished presidency of Rev. John 
Kent, D.D., of Waterford, in 1759. In due course he took his degrees 
— of Master and Doctor of Arts and Doctor of Divinity. Having received 
Holy Orders he returned to Ireland where he was received with welcome 
by the venerable Bishop Creagh, then resident at Carrick, and promoted 
immediately to the pastorate of Mothel. In 1772 as we have seen he was 
translated to Holy Trinity parish, Waterford. At the same time he was 
appointed Dean and, two years later, Vicar-General. In or about 
1796, Dean Hearn commenced his great work — erection of the present 
Cathedral. Upon its completion he set about providing educational 
facilities for the young of both sexes. Later still he was instrumental 
in establishing an academy or secondary school, over which his nephew, 
Rev. Dr. Flynn, was appointed first president. This was mainly a 
diocesan seminary and the clergy contributed to its maintenance. On 
the death of Archbishop Butler in 1791, Dr. Hearn was repeatedly 
requested to allow himself to be nominated for the mitre of Cashel 
but he consistently refused. He died, March 13th, 1810, the last 
Parish Priest of Trinity Within. 

On Dr. Hearn 's death Holy Trinity Within became a mensal parish 
under Administrators, scil. : — 

1810-1817, Rev. Gerald Connolly : became Parish Priest successively 
of Lismore, Dungarvan, and Carrick-on-Suir, and also Y.G. 

1817-1818, Rev. Thomas Murphy. 

1818-1828, Rev. Eugene Condon : became Parish Priest of Tallow. 

1828-1843, Rev. Thomas Dixon : became Parish Priest, Passage. 

1843-1862, Rev. Richard Fitzgerald : became Parish Priest, Carrick- 
on-Suir, and V.G. 

1862-1867, Rev. Thomas English : became Parish Priest, St. Mary's, 
Clonmel, and, later, V.G. of Maitland, New South Wales. 

1867-1869, Rev. Edward P. Walsh : became Parish Priest of Kil- 
sheelan and afterwards of St. Mary's, Clonmel. 

1869-1883, Rev. Patrick Ryan, D.D. : died in office. 

1883-1886, Rev. Robert Power : became Parish Priest, Ballyncil. 

1886-1891, Rev. Patrick J. Sheehan : became Parish Priest, Cahir. 

1891-1902, Rev. William O'Donnell : became Parish Priest, St. 
Patrick's. 

1912, Rev. Thomas F. Furlong. 



210 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

Within the parish are the following church ruins : — («) The pre- 

Reformation Franciscan Convent known as the French Church, (b) the 

Dominican Priory known as Black Friars, (c) Trinity Church intra muros 

(d) St. Michael's Church, (e) St. Peter's Church, (/) St. Thomas' Chapel. 

(a) The remains of the ancient Franciscan house is now a National 
Monument in care of the Board of Works ; they comprise the nave, 
choir, and tower of the conventual church and portion of the transept or 
Lady Chapel. The convent was originally founded by Sir Hugh Purcell 
in 1240. The reader is referred for a detailed history of this ruin, to 
Journal of the Waterford Archceological Society, vol. i, pp. 202, &c. The 
nave and choir have been turned into a kind of mausoleum for the chief 
of the old city families — Waddings, Lombards, Dobbyns, Maddans, 
Lincolns, &c. Over the nave was erected, in 1545, by Henry Walsh, 
an hospital for aged men and women. This was under the invocation 
of the Holy Ghost, and hence the ruin is sometimes called the Holy 
Ghost Friary. Its other name, "the French Church," is derived from 
a later dedication of its choir by the Corporation of Waterford to the 
use of French Huguenot refugees in 1695. 

(b) Of the " Black Friary " only the tower and portion of the 
Monastic Church, still roofed but ruinous, survives. As the church is 
divided up between different tenants who have sub-divided, built upon, 
and transformed to suit their individual convenience, a study of the 
remains is not easy. Blackfriars Priory has, since the suppression, been 
variously used as a town hall, a sessions court, a prison, and a 
barracks. 

(c) The remains of an old predecessor of the present Holy Trinity 
Church in Barronstrand Street have been already alluded to as still 
to be seen at the rere of the houses which form the west side of the street. 

(d) and (e) The ruins of St. Michael's church and the scant remains 
of St. Peter's show nothing of interest. The former will be found sur- 
rounded by its cemetery at rere of the houses forming east side of Michael 
Street, and the latter within the precincts of the Peter Street Police 
Station. A large doorway on east side of Michael Street indicates 
the former entrance to St. Michael's cemetery. 

(/) It is difficult to estimate the particular character of St. Thomas' 
church, the ruin of which stands within an ancient, badly kept graveyard 
on Thomas' Hill. It is evidently far the most ancient ecclesiastical 
structure in Waterford and appears to date from the later Danish period. 
Originally it may have been an Hiberno-Danish church, converted 
later by the Normans into a votive chapel and dedicated to St. Thomas, 
and finally made a chapel-of-ease to Trinity Within. The ruin itself 



211 

which consists of little more than a Romanesque chancel arch, is situated 
in that portion of the parish which lay beyond or outside the city walls. 

The site of yet another church — St. Mary's, from which Lady Lane 
derives its name — is occupied by the present Franciscan church. The 
present friary garden occupies the site of St. Mary's cemetery, and the 
visitor may still see therein a couple of tombstones with black letter 
inscriptions. Finally, to complete our survev, mention must be made of 
St. Catherine's abbey, the former position of which is occupied by the 
present courthouse and grounds. This abbey, which had extensive 
possessions in various parts of Munster, &c, was originally a founda- 
tion of Regular Canons of St. Victor. For a short period subsequent to 
the suppression — about 1735 — it appears to have become a convent of 
Dominican Nuns. 

In 1704, we find St. Olave's parish united with St. Patrick's, and 
St. Michael's with St. Stephen's, while St. Peter's is quoted as still an 
independent division. A little later, however, we find St. Peter's united 
with SS. Michael's and Stephen's. Probably none of the parishes in 
question had more than the semblance of a parish church — Mass being 
celebrated and Sacraments administered in private houses as opportunity 
offered or necessity required. Later, probably in the year 1815, as 
above, St. Michael's was separated from St. Stephen's and St. Olave's 
from St. Patrick's. St. Patrick's and St. Stephen's were then united 
as at present, while St. Michael's, St. Olave's, and St. Peter's became 
merged in Holy Trinity. 

St. Olave's :— Rev. John Higgins, a Jesuit, was registered as Parish 
Priest in 1704. He was then aged forty-eight and had received Holy 
Orders in Portugal from the Bishop of Coimbra. Shortly afterwards, 
St. Olave's was united to St. Patrick's, and Father Higgins became 
parochus of the united parishes. Henceforth to the suppression of the 
Order, in 1773, the Jesuits continued in possession of the parish. 
(For succession see under St. Patrick's parish below). 

St. Peter's : — Rev. John Tobin was registered pastor in 1704. He 
was then sixty-two years of age and had received Holy Orders thirty- 
seven years previously in Lisbon at the hands of Bishop Francis de 
Targo. 

SS. Michael's, Stephen's, and Peter's : — 

Rev. John Prendergast died parochus in 1741. He had come to 
Waterford from Fethard and had been curate in Holy Trinity under 
Rev. Wm. OMeara, and afterwards curate of St. Patrick's. 

Rev. Francis Ignatius Phelan. He was put in possession, May 24th, 
1741, and was collated on the same day a member of the Cathedral 
Chapter. Before his appointment he had been curate in Holy Trinity. 



212 

He died February 28th, 1791, aged eighty-three, and is buried in St. 
Patrick's graveyard where a tombstone bearing the following inscription 
marks his resting place : ' ' Here lieth the Body of the Rev. Fran s 
Phelan 32 yrs. P.P. of the United Parishes of St. Michael's St. Stephen's 
and St. Peter's who departed this life the 28th Feby. 1791 full of years 
and good works, aged 83." 

Rev. James Power succeeded in 1791. He appears to have admin- 
istered the parish probably during his predecessor's illness, from 1787 
to February, 1791. From April, 1795, Father O'Ryan, a Dominican, 
acted as locum tenens till June, 1796. 

Rev. Francis Ronan, S.T.L., was appointed Parish Priest in 1796 
by Dr. Hearn, the Vicar-Capitular, but was translated in 1802 to St. 
Patrick's. He died in 1812 and is buried in Drumcannon. During 
Father Ronan 's pastorate the annual income of the parish, as we learn 
from Castlereagh's Memoirs, was £60. 

Rev. Thomas Flynn, D.D., succeeded in 1802 and was the last 
pastor of St. Michael's. He died June 5th, 1815, and is interred near 
the sacristy entrance to the Cathedral beside his uncles, Dean 
Hearn, D.D., and Rev. Francis Hearn, D.D. During his occupancy 
of the pastorate Dr. Flynn secured, by purchase, for £350, a fifty-nine 
years' lease of the large building known later as the Trinitarian Orphan 
House, and now as Walsh's auction mart. This had been the city 
residence of the Congreves, of Mount Congreve, and was transformed 
by Dr. Flynn into a high or secondary school, partly supported by annual 
contributions from the clergy. Rev. Dr. Flynn had, like his distinguished 
uncles, studied and graduated at Louvain. Subsequent to his ordination 
he taught rhetoric for some time in one of the University Colleges, where 
he had for one of his pupils no less distinguished an individual than 
the future Liberator. Upon his return to Ireland, Dr. Flynn taught 
theology for some time in the new seminary which Bishop Moylan of 
Cork had recently opened in that city- 

The church plate, vestments, &c, of the cathedral are of unusual 
historic interest. The antique vestments popularly but erroneously 
believed to have been presented to the Cathedral of Waterford by Pope 
Innocent III (1198-1216), come first in importance. These consist of 
four copes, a pair of dalmatics or a dalmatic and tunic, and one chasuble 
with the requisite maniple and stoles. Many theories of their origin 
has been propounded ; the most convincing of these is that which 
assumes they are of Flanders workmanship and that they were given to 
the cathedral by King Henry VIII, at the same time that he presented the 
sword and cap of maintenance. At any rate, they are gifts worthy of a 
king ; the value of each of the copes could not have been — teste experto— 



213 

less than £350. The embroidery is of the kind known technically as 
opus plumorum, or feather work, on which the stitches are laid down 
lengthwise ; the work is of the greatest beauty and the vestments 
amongst the most valuable known. These priceless articles have a 
curious later history ; they were found in a crypt beneath the old Prot- 
estant cathedral when the latter was demolished over a century since, 
and were presented by the then Protestant Bishop Chenevix to the 
Catholic Bishop Hussey. By their later custodians the vestments have 
not been treated as their worth demands ; it is however satisfactory 
to know that better provision — including fireproof safes — has been 
made for their custody of late years. 

On St. Joseph's altar are six massive fluted candlesticks of brass, 
inscribed : "Michael's Parish, 1769" ; they weigh altogether one and 
a half hundred. 

Amongst the altar plate are no fewer than seven antique chalices. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I. — Franciscan Convent. 

For detailed history of the foundation and description of the ancient 
church, &c, see Power, "Holy Ghost Friary," in Waterford and South 
East Ireland Archaeological Journal, vol. i, pp. 202, &c. 

The site of the present Franciscan Church was formerly occupied 
by a Dissenting Church, and afterwards by a theatre. The present 
convent and garden include site of the old St. Mary's church and 
graveyard. The present Church, situated at the corner of Lady 
Lane, is much frequented by the citizens of Waterford, and presents 
a pleasing though not imposing or attractive frontage. Three statues 
in front represent St. Francis of Assisi and the Immaculate Conception, 
Patrons of the Order, and St. Bonaventure, Bishop and Cardinal of the 
Church. The Franciscans were driven from the old monastery at the 
suppression period, and, till the middle of the eighteenth century, little 
can be gleaned of their history in Waterford. Not by any means is it to 
be supposed that they altogether quitted the scenes of their early labours. 
As a rule, during the Penal times, one or two members of an Order settled 
down within view of the convent from which they had been driven, 
and said Mass or ministered the consolations of religion whenever it 
was possible to do so without incurring the penalties to which they 
were liable. 

During the wars for religious toleration, 1642-1649. the Franciscans 
of Waterford were doubtless restored, if not to their possessions, at least 



214 

to the exercise of religion. Where the clergy lived during the Penal 
times it is impossible to say, but from the period when some relaxation 
in the Penal Laws became evident, the Franciscans lived at Johnstown 
Convent, South Parade, and continued there till 1833, when the present 
convent was erected. Father Bonaventure McLoughlin, S.T.L., was 
then the Guardian. The present church was opened in 1834, Father 
Henry O'Shea being Guardian. 

A relic of the old convent may be seen inside the door of the present 
church in the holy water stoup which was transferred hither from the 
ruins of the ancient church. On the front of it may be observed, sculp- 
tured, the arms of White impaling Walsh. To the left of the arms appear 
the names "Jacobus White" and "Helena Walsh." with the date 1626 
below. This was probably the same Walsh who was Mayor in 1631. 
This holy water stoup was used in the chapel of the Holy Ghost Hospital 
and James Walsh commemorated was a descendant of the founder of 
the hospital. 

The following interesting inscriptions appear on the chalices, &c, 
belonging to the convent : — 

(1) "Hujus possessor Dermi tins Hanin, sacerdos, 1628, Timoleague." 

(2) "Pro Conventu F. Minor, de Youghal me denuo fieri fecit, .... 
1751." 

(3) "Paupertas me fecit ad usum Prs. Frs. Andrae. Russell Ordis. 
minor. 1684." 

(4) Dom s . Sinnot et E. Lincoln hunc calicem dono dedert, ff. 
min. Civits. Waterfs. denuo me fieri fecit, Frs. Phelan, 1774." 

(5) "Revds D. Rich Cannon Syndicus ff. mm. Con. dc Rosriel me 
fieri fecit illisque donavit an. 1686." 

(6) "Joannes English Burgensis de Clonmcll et Margarita Power 
uxor ejus me sibi posterisque fieri fecerunt quibusque ut propitius sit 
Deus orationi, Ano Dni., 1645." 

(7) "Pie sacerdos in sacrificiis tuis memento orare pro animabus 
infra-scriptorum quorum oblationibus hie calix factus fuit in usum 
ff. mm. Waterfordiae, A.D., 1873." 

The Ciboriums are inscribed : — 

(1) "Fr. Joan, m' Ionackc de Burgo me procuravit pro Conventu 
Frat. Minorum de Kinalfehin anno Domini, 1711." 

(2) "Pertinet ad Ecclesiam Sancti Francisci civitatis, Waterford- 
iensis, Jan. 15, 1864." 

The Monstrances (new) are inscribed : — 

(1) "Reverendi PP. FF. Magner, Prendergast, et O'Regan, ordinis 
Sancti Patris Nostri Francisei pro eorum Conventu de Waterfordia me 
fieri fecerunt, anno Domini 1855." 



215 



(2) "Catherina Hickey vidua, dono dedit Conventui FF. MM. 
Waterford, anno salutis 1875." 

Among the distinguished priests of the Order who lived in Waterford 
during the 18th century were Father Patrick Browne, who at one time 
was Professor of Theology at Louvain, and was afterwards Provincial 
of the Order in Ireland. Among the old documents preserved in the 
convent is an obedience given by Father Browne in the year 1737, dated 
"ex loco refugii Waterfordiensis 5° Julii, 1737." Contemporary with 
Father Browne were the two Fathers Hogan, who were Parish Priests 
of Tramore ; the younger died in 1760. For some further of these priests 
sec early numbers of Waterford and South East Ireland Archceological 
Journal. The younger was pastor of Kilcash in the time of the famous 
Lady Veagh, whose panegyric he preached in Kilkenny. 

List of Guardians : — 



Year. 


Guardian. 


Year. 


Guardian. 


1629 


Father Thomas Strange 


1700 Father Bened. Saul, senr. 


of 


For many references to him see Report 

Historical MSS.. Commission on \1, r 
ants' Quay Convent MSS.) 


1702 
1703 


,, (MS. illegible here) 


1645 Father Mathew Sharpe 


1705 


Bernardin. O'Donell 


1647 


Joseph Everard 


1706 


Bonav. Geraldinus 


1648 


Ant. Purcell 


1708 




1650 




1709 


Jo. Conningham 


1658 


Vacat. 


1711 


Ant. McNamara 


1659 


,, Walt. Gall 


1714 




1661 


,, Patk. Conell 


1716 


Mich. Geraldinus 


1670 


,, Conell 


1717 


Antonius Mandeville 


1672 


Ed. Dullany 


1719 


Thos. Bacon 


1675 


Fras. Fleming 


1720 


Thos. Hennessy (Pub. 


1676 






Record Office, Ireland) 


1678 


,, Jas. White 


1724 


Pet. McNamara (Pub. 


1680 


,, Pet. Canall 




Record Office, Ireland) 


1681 


,, Jos. Sail. 


1727 


Benignus (or Bene- 


1683 


B. Ma Graith 




dictus) Saul (Pub 


1684 


Fr. Norish 




Record Office, Ireland) 


1685 


Fr. Fleming 


1729 


Andrew McNamara 


1687 


,, Bern. O'Donell 




(mentioned in 


1689 


Bonav. Mandeville 




O'LavertyVDown & 


1690 


Bonav. McGraigh 




Connor.") 


1693 


Bonav. Mandevile 


1733 


Jo. Hogan 




Ex. D ef. 


1735 


,, Ant. Hickey, S.T.L. 


1697 




1736 


Ant. MacNamara 


1699 


„ Ant. Harold 


1738 


Thos. Hennessy 



216 



Year. Guardian. 

1742 Father Pat. McNamara 


1744 


Pet. 


1745 


Ant. McNamara 


1746 


Petr. MacXamara 


1747 




1748 
1751 


Ant. 

Petr. MacNamara, jr. 


1751 


Thos. Bacon 


1753 


Petr. McNamara, jr. 


1754 


,i 1. 


1755 

1757 


Felix Cleary (d) 

as Parish Priest of St. John's, and 
in the family vault at Kilnuirray, 

P. McNamara 


1759 


Bonav. Fe.rraU 


1760 




1761 
1763 


Jo. Hogan, Ex. D. 
Bon. O'Ferrall 


1765 
1766 
1767 


Pet. McNamara 


Fr. Whelan 


1769 




1770 

(See 

1772 


Fr. Archdeacon 

uihIlt A^lish, p. 6. ijiiteii.) 

Pat. F. Gibbon 


1773 


Fr. Phelan 


1776 
1778 


Jas. Nonan 
Fr. Phelan 


1779 


Fr. Phelan 


1781 
1782 
1784 
1785 


Pat. Clancy 

Lud. O'Donel, Ex-D. 

Fras. Phelan 


1786 
1787 

1788 


(No appointment made) 
Fras. Phelan, Ex-D. 


1790 
1791 
1793 


„ 


1794 


Jo. Phelan, S.T.E, 


1796 


Ex-D. 



Year. 
1800 
1801 
1803 
1804 
1806 
1815 
1819 
1822 
1824 
1825 
1827 
1828 
1830 
1831 
1832 
1834 
1836 
1837 
1840 
1843 
1845 
1846 
1848 
1849 
1851 

1855 
1860 
1861 
1S64 
1866 
1867 
1869 
1870 
1872 
1875 
1786 
1878 
1879 
1881 



Guardian. 
Father Jo. Shea 



Mich 



Fras Phelan 

., Whelan 

Mich. Barry 

Thos. Ahearn 
Henry O'Shea, Def. 
Thomas F. Boyle 

Henry O'Shea, Ex-Def. 

Henry O'Shea, Ex-D. 
Del. 



John Beaty 
Pat. Cuddihy 



Laur. Hogan 
Bonav. McLaughlin, 

S.T.L., Def. 
Jo. Magner, Ex-D. 
Jas. Fitzgerald 

J.J Farrelly, Ex-Def . 

J.J. Farrelly, Ex-Def. 
J. Cleary, Def. 
Aug. Holohan 

Alphs. Jackman 
Leon Brady 
Ant. Slattcry, Ex-D. 
Jas. Cleary, Ex-D. 
Ant. Slattery, ,, 
Jos. Wogan 



Year. Guardian. i Year. Guardian. 

1884 Father Jos, Wogan [ 1895 Father Joseph Wogan 

1885 ,, Anth. Hyland 1899 ,, Conor O'Begley 
1890 ,, Fras. Maher 1910 „ R. O'Connor 
1892 ,, Leon Baldwin 1912 ,. E. Fitzmaurice 
1893 

N.B.— P.P.=PaterProvinciae; Ex-C=Ex.Custos ; Ex-D=Definitor. 

For many years the Fathers had been anxious to increase their 
church accomodation. In May, 1905, they were fortunate in securing 
the Protestant National school premises adjoining the church on 
the west and occuping the site of the ancient Church of Our Lady. 
Extension was immediately proceeded with, according to plans by 
Thomas Scully, B.A., B.E. Messrs. John Hearne & Son secured the 
contract at £4,824 10s. 6d. 

On Sunday, February 3rd, 1907, a public meeting of the citizens 
of Waterford was held in the Franciscan Church. The Most Rev. Dr. 
Sheehan, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore, presided. Resolutions 
were submitted congratulating the Franciscans on the acquisition of 
the site of Our Lady's ancient shrine, tendering the gratitude of the 
people to the Franciscan Order for its labours, sufferings, and achieve- 
ments in the cause of Faith and country, and pledging the citizens' 
assistance to carry out the long-desired extension of the church to a 
happy and successful issue. The meeting was most enthusiastic and 
the response was liberal. 

The work of construction proceeded with great rapidity, and the 
church was ready for dedication on 13th December, 1908. The Mayor 
of Waterford and the Catholic members of the Corporation attended 
the ceremony in state. The ceremony was performed by the Most Rev. 
Dr. Sheehan, who preached on the occasion. 

II. — Dominican Convent. 
The Waterford Priory, established in 1226 under the invocation 
of Our Blessed Saviour, was the fourth house of the Dominicans founded 
in Ireland. Its endowments were but. small but this fact did not save 
it from the rapacity of the sixteenth century church robbers. It fell 
beneath the cloven hoof in April, 1541, when William Martin the Prior, 
surrendered the house and property. For the next two centuries and 
a half, though they possessed no house they could call their own, hunted 
Dominicans clung to the ancient foundation, or rather to hope of its 
revival. During the 18th century Fathers S. Sail, Jas. Farrell, William 
Cheasty, John Costclloe, James Sexton, Terence O'Connor, and James 



218 

Duan, all Dominicans, died in Waterford. They are all buried together 
in St. Patrick's cemetery ; the headstone is imperfect and portion of 
the inscription is illegible : " . . .the remains of the Rev d Father 
S. Sail, Jas. Farrell, Will™ Sheasty, Ja . . . Costelloe, J as Sexton' Ter" 

O'Connor of the s d H. Order . . . Rev. James Daun dep d June the 

lived in Waterford." Father Sexton was Prior of the Waterford house 
in 1756. 

In 1784 Rev. Anthony Duan obtained a lease of house and premises 
in Thomas Street, now the property of Downes & Co., from Isaac Wood 
for eighty-eight years for the annual rent of £10, and in 1805 Father 
Duan gave lease of this place to David Hughes until within six months 
of the expiration of his own lease, at £28 a year ; thus, it will be seen, he 
made a profit of £18 a year. Father Duan on 17th of June, 1808, assigned 
interest in the premises, for a consideration of 10s., to the Right Rev. Dr. 
John Power, the then Bishop. The signature of Father Duan is evidently 
that of a dying man. There is a declaration of trust of same date executed 
by Dr. Power acknowledging holding of premises for use of the Dominican 
Friars with obligation of forty-five Masses yearly and Office of Dead 
once a month for the benefactors who enabled Father Duan to obtain 
possession of the property. In case there were no friars the property 
was to pass to the "Big Chapel" with the same obligations. 

Very Rev. Dr. Foran, then Parish Priest of Dungarvan, and Mr. Rice, 
founder of the Christian Brothers, executors of the Right Rev. Dr. Power, 
made, in 1830, an absolute unconditional assignment of the above property 
to Father Mullowney. A short time before his death Father Mullowney 
by deed of attorney handed this property to the Provincial, Rev. B. T. 
Russel, O.P., D.D. Father Mullowney lived in the Manor (in the house 
now used as a Police Barrack), and officiated in the cathedral. He was 
considered an excellent preacher. He died 7th October, 1865, and is 
buried in Ballybricken churchyard. Almost immediately after the death 
of Father Mullowney, the Provincial, Dr. B. T. Russel, at the urgent 
request of the bishop, Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, began to make preparations 
for re-establishing the Order in Waterford, and for this purpose he 
bought, 17th November, 1866, the lease of a store in Bridge Street, on 
the site of the present church ; this store he had converted into a tempor- 
ary chapel. 

The opening and formal re-establishment of the Order took place 
31st March, 1867. The community consisted of : — Rev. Thomas J. 
Deely, Vicar, Father Thomas Pius Boylan and Brother Dominick 
Gogarty, Lay Brother. Father Deely was formally appointed Prior of 
St. Saviour's, Waterford, December, 1867. There was thus an inter- 
regnum of one hundred and eleven years between him and his immediate 



219 

predecessor. Father Sexton. During those years a member of the Order 
constantly resided in Waterford. 

Father P. T. Mullins was appointed Prior in 1872 and undertook 
the project of building a church. In June of this year the Fathers, 
through Mr. John Slattery, got possession of a store from Mr. Prossor 
for £100, aud bought up some other adjoining premises ; the whole 
cost was £485. In all there were eight premises — five, along Queen Street 
(now O'Connell Street), and three, along Bridge Street. Having pur- 
chased the goodwill of the several occupiers the Fathers offered £50 
a year rent to the Corporation for the whole lot. The Finance Com- 
mittee deferred reply until they got a new valuation of the property 
made ; their answer was then that they required £224 a year for the 
ground. The Fathers waited on the Corporation and renewed their 
offer of £50 a year. It was moved by Alderman Redmond, and seconded 
by Councillor Keily, that the tender be accepted subject to the approval 
of the Lords of the Treasury, without whose consent the Town Clerk 
said that it could not be done. Alderman Jacob, a Quaker, spoke in 
favour of the resolution. Mr. Usher, T.C., moved an amendment that 
it be leased at £10 a year, but this was not seconded. The original 
resolution was passed nan. con. Finally, September 8th, 1873, the 
Lords of the Treasury consented to the letting of the premises with a 
clause against sub-letting, at the rent of £65 a year. Having got 
possession on the first Tuesday of October the Fathers gave instructions 
to Messrs. Goldie, Child, and Goldie, to prepare designs, etc., for a 
Romanesque church. 

A public meeting of the citizens of Waterford was held in the 
temporary chapel for the purpose of raising funds for the new church. 
Mr. Delahunty, M.P., occupied the chair, and Rev. J. A. Wheeler, O.P., 
acted as Hon. Secretary. Rev. Dr. Cleary, President, St. John's College ; 
Mr. John Slattery ; P. M. Barron, B.L. ; T. F. Strange, Solicitor ; Alder- 
man \Y. Commins, Mayor-Elect ; D. Keogh, T.C. ; R. Mahony, T.C. ; 
and T. Purcell, T.C, spoke to the various resolutions. The proceeds 
of the collection on the occasion amounted to £1,200. 

The tender of James Ryan, for building, was accepted, April 9th, 
1874, Mr. Ryan contracted for nave and aisles at £6,436 ; for pillars 
and pilasters at £1,073 10s. ; for three statues (outside) at £70 ; for 
carving at £345, and for a temporary wall at end of nave and aisles 
at £174. Total, £8.098 10s. M. 

The foundation stone of the new church was laid May 3rd, 1874, 
by the Most Rev. John Power, Bishop of the diocese. The day was 
exceedingly fine, and in every way suited for an open air meeting. Excur- 
sion trains ran from Clonmel and Kilkenny, and a steamer from New 



220 

Ross. There was Solemn High Mass Coram Pontifice, Rev. Father 
Mullins, Prior, being celebrant, with Very Rev. T. A. O'Callaghan (now 
Bishop of Cork), Prior of Galway, deacon and Father Deely, ex-Prior, 
sub-deacon ; Dr. Cleary, President of St. John's College, and Rev. T. 
Dowley, P.P., Clonea, were deacons at the Throne, and Rev. Robert 
Power, C.C., Cathedral, was master of ceremonies. 

The inscription scroll contained in the phial beneath the foundation 
stone reads as follows : — "Hie lapis Angularis Ecclesiae SSmi Salvatoris 
Ord. Praed. ab Illmo et Revo Dno Joanne Power, D.D., Episcopo, 
Waterford, et I.ismor. V Nonis Maii, in festo Inventionis Sanctae 
Crucis, an. Rep. Sal. MDCCCLXXIV Anno Vigesino octavo Pontificatus 
SSmi Dni. Nostri Pii Papae IX, Victoria, Regina Mag. Brit et Hiberniae, 
feliriter Regnanta, Revmo Patre Josepho Sanvito, Mag. Theol. totius 
Ordinis supremo moderatore, Rev. Patre Patritio Thoma Conway, 
Provinciale hujus Provinciae, Adm., Rev. Patre Patritio, Thoma Mullins 
Mag. Theol. Priore hujus Conventus, Domino Gulielmo K. Commins 
Urbis Intactae Prefecto, Clero et populo plaudente, benedictus et im- 
positus est." 

Father Mullins was re-appointed Prior in October, 1874, when the 
Fathers, dissatisfied with the small weekly collection (£6 a week minus 
£1 to the collector), adopted a new system ; they went out themselves as 
collectors, divided the whole city into districts and appointed several 
voluntary collectors. The result was that the penny collection brought 
in £12 a week. A bazaar in 1875 was very successful, realising £1,200 
net. On January 26th and 28th Father T. N. Burke, O.P., lectured in 
the Cathedral, on behalf of the new church, the Bishop presiding. The 
subjects were — " The Catholic Church and Civil Government," and 
" The Pontificate of Pius IX." and the proceeds came to £200. An 
offer of £200 was made by Mr. Pierce T. Barron, on condition that the 
community would allow a monument to be erected in the church to 
the memory of his father. The Fathers declined the donation under 
the condition and the monument is now to be seen in St. John's Church. 

The nave and aisles of the new church were opened December 1st, 
1876, when the dedication was performed by the Most Rev. Dr. Power, 
Bishop, assisted by the Most Rev. Dr. Croke, Archbishop of Cashel, and 
Most Rev. Dr. Fitzgerald, Bishop of Ross. The sermon was preached 
by Father Burke, O.P.; and the evening sermon by Dr. Russel, O.P. 
Father Carbery, Provincial, sang the High Mass. In the October 
of this year Father Fitzgibbon was appointed Prior. The apse and 
tower were completed February, 1878, when there was a second opening 
ceremony. Dr. Fitzgerald, Bishop of Ross, preached on the occasion. 

The High Altar is the gift of the late John McEnery ; its total cost 
including erection, carriage, &c, was £1,320. The altar of St. Joseph 



221 

was erected by Mr. O'Neill Power, of Snowhill, and cost £276. It is 
erected to the memory of his first wife, who is buried beneath. 

The convent was completed April, 24th, 1880, at a cost of about 
£1,000. Father Wheeler succeeded Father Fitzgibbon as Prior, and 
Father Ryan was appointed Prior 27th October, 1883. The debt on the 
church about this time was about £5,000. A second bazaar was held 
in the Town Hall, April, 1885, to reduce the heavy liability : the 
net receipts were about £1,400. Father Slattery was appointed Prior 
February 8th, 1890. The pulpit, which cost £600, is the gift of the late 
Mrs. Catherine Murphy. 

There is in the church a curious small statue of Our Lady and the 
Divine Child; it is about a foot high, in oak, highly ornamented, and 
is said to have belonged to the old Dominicans of Waterford, upon 
whose dispersal it was brought to Limerick. At the restoration of the 
Order here the statue was sent back to Waterford. There is also an old 
Register of the Confraternity of the Holy Name of Jesus. The earliest 
name is that of Catherine Devereux, 1786. There are also entries of 
the names of Father James Sexton and Father Patt Bray. The latter 
was a companion of Father Sexton in the old community, 1756. Father 
Duan was very probably the successor of these Fathers. The community 
possesses a silver chalice inscribed — "Ex dono Anasta. Maddan pro 
Fratribus. Predic. Residentibus Waterf. anno Domini 1631." A second 
silver chalice has the legend — " Conv. Waterford, O.P., Fr. Patrick 
Marshale, D.D., 1721." Another chalice of silver bears the following 
"Conventus Waterford, Ord Praed, orate pro Thoma et Maria Mulcherin 
AlsNagle, 1729." 

There is attached to the church a Confraternity of the Holy Rosary, 
the meetings of which are held weekly, on Wednesday evenings, and 
are presided over bv the Very Rev. Prior. It numbers about a thousand 
persons of both sexes, but women are largely in the majority. Of late 
years the membership has greatly increased, a result due to the punctu- 
ality and attractiveness of the services. Besides the Rosary Confra- 
ternity, there is also the Sociality of the Blessed Sacrament, which was 
established in 1906, by Father Kiely. The meetings are held monthly, 
and are accompanied by a procession of the Blessed Sacrament. 
Since 1893 the succession of Priors has been as follows :— 

1893 Father Dominic Barry. 

1896 

1899 ,, Alphonsus Tighc. 

1902 „ Andrew Skelly 

1905 ,, J. Kiely. 

1908 

1911 ,, J. Flood. 



222 

During Father Skelly's term of office the Fathers acquired possession 
of some adjoining premises which had hitherto been used as a barm 
factory. During the same term the roof of the church was overhauled, 
re-slated, and the sacristy re-floored at a cost of £340. 



III. — Convent of Sisters of Charity. 

For a detailed account of the Foundation of the Sisters of Charity 
in Waterford— see "Life of Mary Aikenhead," pp. 282-292. 

During portion of the year 1842, and the entire of 1843, the Sisters 
of Charity continued to labour in their holy vocation among the poor 
of Waterford, instructing the ignorant, and bringing comfort and con- 
solation to the inmates of the charitable institutions of the city. But 
their sphere of usefulness was much extended, when, by the proceeds 
of a bazaar, held in the Town Hall, May 1st, 1844, and by the generous 
contributions of the bishop, clergy, and citizens, they were enabled 
to build schools, one of which, the infant school, was opened on the 
feast of St. Joseph Calasanctius, 1845, and the second on the feast of 
the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 1846. A Sunday school 
was also established at this time for working girls, and religious as 
well as secular instruction was imparted to a well filled schoolroom, 
every Sunday from 11 o'clock till 2. The attendance at the day schools 
so much increased that, after a few years, more extended accommoda- 
tion became a necessity, and Providence soon supplied means of erecting 
two additional schoolrooms. 

On the death of the Rev. Dr. Cooke the citizens of Waterford, highly 
appreciating the merits and virtues of this saintly ecclesiastic, determined 
on giving practical proof of their esteem by raising a monument to his 
memory, and they could have devised none more according to his heart, 
than that elected, namely, a school for the free education of the. children 
of the city. Its erection having been unanimously agreed upon by the 
committee formed for the occasion, it was resolved that the proposed 
school should be placed under the care of the Sisters of Charity. The 
foundation stone was laid, May 1st, 1855, by Most Rev. Dr. Foran, 
assisted by many clergymen of the city, and a number of lay friends 
of the deceased. The schools were placed under the protection of Mary 
Immaculate, and a slab, purporting the same with other particulars, 
was set up over the entrance. These schools, generally known as "The 
Cooke Schools," were opened 16th September, 1856. 

In the beginning of the year 1870 it was found necessary to increase 
still more the school accommodation, and as there was no possibility 
of extension in Lady Lane, it was decided to seek elsewhere for a new 



223 

site. The building now situated in Bcresford Street was erected in 
1872, mainly through the munificence of the late Mr. Xicholae Mahon 
Power, D.L., of Faithlegg, to whom the Superioress, Mother Magdalen 
Regis Gallwey, applied for assistance. This generous benefactor most 
graciously responded to her appeal and contributed the sum of £2,000' 
A piece of ground known a^ " Sparrow's Yard" was immediately pur- 
chased, and the building commenced without delay. The structure forms 
a two-storied edifice, measuring one hundred and thirty feet by thirty, 
and contains four thoroughly ventilated and well appointed schoolrooms 
each fifty feet by twenty-five feet, separated by class rooms and staircases, 
which occupy the centre of the building. The schools were worked, 
for some years without assistance from the Commissioners of National 
Education, but owing to very limited resources, it was deemed advisable 
to place them under the National Board. Application having been 
made to the Commissioners, the school was recognised in February, 1883, 
and has since that period been carried on under the title of St. Joseph's 
Convent National School, with a yearly average attendance of rive 
hundred and thirty children. 

For the history of St. Martin's Orphanage, sec "Life of Mary Aiken- 
head," Supplement, p. 449. 

So far back as the very first years of the foundation of the convent, 
evening classes had been organised for the purpose of teaching Catechism 
and giving Religious Instruction to girls who could not attend day school. 
Numbers flocked to these evening meetings and gratefully listened to 
the instructions imparted, and a long list of names has been preserved 
of those who had been there prepared for the Sacraments. But it was 
always a subject of regret that where Confirmation and First Com- 
munion had been received, many girls ceased attending and were lost 
light of. During the course of the year 1886, classes for secular 
instruction were introduced and proved a great attraction ; these 
were conducted by a qualified paid teacher, under the superintendence 
of members of the community. In the year 1892, this school was 
placed under the National Board of Education, and was removed from 
Lady Lane to St. Joseph's, Beresford Street. It is now managed by 
teachers appointed by the Commissioners, under the supervision of the 
sisters, and on many evenings between ninety and one hundred young 
girls, and even some married women, may be seen laboring with great 
earnestness at, sometimes, the very rudiments of learning. 

Whilst recording the changes and improvements in the various 
educational departments an event was passed over which took place in 
1880 and was of no small consequence in the annals of the convent, 
namely, the transformation of a Wesleyan Methodist Conventicle into 



224 

a pretty devotional chapel for the community- The purchase money 
was given by Miss Cooke, of Manor Street, who wished that the pro- 
posed new chapel should be a monument to the memory of her parents, 
Robert and Alicia Cooke, and a brass tablet stating this desire of the 
benefactor has since been affixed to the wall of the chapel. The builder, 
Mr. James Ryan, Waterford, displayed much taste and artistic skill in 
the transformation of the cold, bleak-looking Methodist church into a 
well proportioned, elegantly designed chapel. 

During all this time, whilst the schools and the orphanage, the 
visitation of. the poor and sick, and the planning of a suitable chapel, 
occupied the mind and thoughts of the active Superior, great was her 
anxiety and that of the community, concerning the very insecure state 
of the convent, in which they were living. Its walls had been, for some 
years, in a very bad condition, the wood work was worm-eaten and 
decayed, and part of the roof had fallen in. Great expense was incurred 
from time to time in trying to keep it in repair. It was decided at length 
to obtain the opinion of an architect, and Mr. Byrne, Dublin, was re- 
quested to inspect and pronounce on the condition of the building. 
He examined it carefully, and condemned it, declaring that for the safety 
of the sisters living in it, the only remedy was to raze it to the ground. 
This was done without delay, and Mr. Byrne was charged to give designs 
for a new convent, the foundation stone of which was laid 4th August, 
1885. The contract was given to Mr. John Hearne, builder, who carried 
out with much intelligence and ability the admirable plans of the archi- 
tect, and the present solid structure was completed and fit for habitation 
in May, 1887. 



Parish of 
Trinity Without and Butlerstown. 



This modern ecclesiastical division is composed of quite a number of 
ancient parishes — all in the Diocese of Waterford, scil. : — portion of 
Holy Trinity outside the walls, a fragment of Kilmeadan and part of 
Kilbarry, with the whole of Kilburne, Killotteran, Kilronan, and Lisnakill. 
It is of comparatively recent origin, probably dating from the pastorate 
of Rev. Dr. Connery in 1729. It is not mentioned at all nor any of its 
constituent ancient parishes (save Kilbarry) in the clergy list of 1704. 
The small fragment of Kilmeadan was incorporated during the Land 
League Agitation in the episcopate of Bishop John Power. The 
area then temporarily transferred was confined to the mansion and 
demesne of Whitfield, occupied at the time by the Catholic owner who 
differed so widely in politics from his Parish Priest that their mutual 
relations became strained and the parishioner requested transference 
to another jurisdiction. The eighteenth century church of Trinity With- 
out known as Faha Chapel was a thatched structure which stood in 
the present Mount Sion grounds, between the street door and the door 
of the brothers' residence. The place, it may be of interest to note, 
derived its name of Faha from a long narrow"green" or commonage which 
included the approximate area of the present Barrack Street. Trinity 
Without is of course under the patronage of the Holy Trinity, and the 
patron of Butlerstown is the Blessed Virgin (Nativity). Holy Trinity 
Church Without, popularly known as Ballybricken, which is a plain 
but commodious cruciform building with a square tower, was commenced 
in the first quarter of the nineteenth century by Rev. Pierse Power and 
completed by his successor Rev. Michael Fitzgerald. Rev. Martin Flynn 
added side galleries and Rev. P. Nolan extended the graveyard. Finally 
Very Rev. Monsignor Flynn purchased, for £1,336 odd, some house 
property abutting on Ballybricken and Chapel Lane with a view to further 
extension and erected the imposing Presbytery on Convent Hill at a 
cost of over £4,000. The church at Butlerstown, an unpretentious 
structure of plain style, probably dates from about the Emancipation 
period. Adjoining it are new schools, and a teacher's residence, also 



226 

newly erected. In 1911 Mr. Francis J. Bigger, M.R.I. A., very 
generously gave two acres of land, free of rent and for ever, to permit 
extension of the graveyard. Owing to growth of the city towards the 
west the population of this parish has increased very considerably during 
the last half century, and is at present about ten thousand. Baptisms 
number about two hundred and eighty-eight annually. The schools 
number five, scil. : — The Christian Brothers' at Mount Sion, attended 
by over one thousand boys, the schools of the Sisters of Mercy, Philip 
Street, with three hundred girls on rolls, the Presentation Convent 
schools, Sleakeale, with three hundred pupils, and the male and female 
National schools at Butlerstown. 

Within the Parish are several charitable institutions founded by 
private individuals. The first is the Wyse Charity, founded by Francis 
Wyse, a member of the ancient Catholic family of that name which for 
generations has held a high social position in Waterford city and county ; 
the charity was founded about the year 1779. Its revenue is derived 
from house property in the city. The charity yields one year with 
another about £140, and the average yearly expenses are about £130 ; 
small sums to credit of charity have accumulated every year, and (on 
December 31st, 1894) there was a balance on the Parish Priest's hands 
(he is manager of the charity) of £375 13s. \\d. The charity consists of 
three houses — two in Barrack Street and one in Newgate Street. Two 
of the houses are occupied by women and one by men, and there is 
accommodation for six inmates in each house. The inmates get £4 a 
year each, and half a ton of coals each at Christmas. An annual High 
Mass and Office is sung, attended by ten priests, in Ballybricken church, 
for the good estate of the founder, and thirty Low Masses are said 
each year for the same intention. There is a head rent paid to the 
Wyse family of £14 15s. Ad. annually. The second of the charitable 
institutions is known as the Butler Charity. This is at present sup- 
ported by an investment of £2,600 in the Dublin Corporation Stock, 
yielding £84 10s. annually ; the charity has two houses, one in Newgate 
Street, the other in Well Lane. On a slab over the door of the house in 
Newgate Street is this inscription which describes the object of the 
charity : "Founded for twelve distressed widows by Mrs. Anne Butler, 
otherwise Walsh, 1771 ." The house in Well Lane has eight poor women. 
The third is the Fitzgerald Charity, consisting of one house in Butcher's 
Lane, which was founded by Mary Fitzgerald, otherwise Morris, for eight 
poor women, in 1779. This charity is unfortunately very poor ; its revenue 
at present is only £5 a year. The number of inmates is now reduced 
to three, and the house is in a very bad state of repair, as there are 
no funds available for upkeep. The fourth charity is the Ladies' 



227 

Asylum on Convent Hill, founded by Mrs. Mary Power, by her will dated 
1804. She was wife of a corn merchant of the city, who predeceased 
her, leaving her all his property. Having no family she left all in charity ; 
the amount was about £8,700 and the trustees were the Bishop, Most 
Rev. Dr. John Power and Mr. Edmond Ignatius Rice, the founder of the 
Irish Christian Brothers. The object of the charity is the relief of twelve 
reduced gentlewomen of this city, and the support and education of poor 
boys and girls ; £1,000 was willed for the building of a house for the 
reduced ladies. The charity is under the control of the Commissioners 
of Charitable Bequests, and is managed by the local Superior of the 
Christian Brothers. The ladies for admission are elected by ballot, and 
the following have the right to vote — 1, the Parish Priest of Trinity With- 
out ; 2, the Administrator, Cathedral ; 3, the Administrator, St. John's ; 
the local Superior of Christian Brothers. The Bishop has a right to vote, 
but he does not exercise it ; he confirms the election, however. The invest- 
ments are in the consols and are as follows — £3,662 19s. 5d. for the support 
of the ladies in the institution, yielding annually £100 14s. Id. or over 
£8 per annum to each inmate ; £2,677 8s. Id. for poor girls attending 
the Presentation Convent Schools, yielding annually £73 12s. 8d., and 
£1,336 17s. 6d. for poor boys attending the Christian Brothers' Schools, 
yielding annually £36 15s. Ad. The investments amount to £1 fill 5s. 6^., 
leaving a balance of £1,022 14s. Qd. for upkeep. Mrs. Power's will was 
disputed by relatives named Merry, whose descendants reside at present 
in Spain. There was a lawsuit, but the will was sustained. Mr. Rice 
gave great help in opposing the objectors to the will, and was in con- 
sequence appointed co-trustee of the charity with Dr. John Power. 

Among the distinguished ecclesiastics born in the parish may be 
mentioned Most Rev. Dr. Walsh, first Archbishop of Halifax, U.S.A., 
who presented valuable plate and vestments to Ballybricken church, 
Most Rev. Dr. Foran, Bishop of Watcrford, and Very Rev. Dr. Fitzgerald, 
Parish Priest of Carrick-on-Suir, and V.G. Archbishop Walsh was born 
in 1884, studied in St. John's College and in Maynooth, and was ordained 
in 1828. After a short stay in his native city he was appointed to the 
curacy of Clontarf and afterwards to a similar charge in Kingstown. 
He was in 1841 nominated Coadjutor to Bishop Fraser of Halifax, Nova 
Scotia. On the death of Dr. Fraser he became Bishop and afterwards 
first Archbishop of Halifax. Archbishop Walsh, who died in August, 
1858, is the author, amongst other devotional works, of a prayer book, 
and of a continuation of Rev. Alban Butler's "Feasts and Fasts." In 
Ballybricken church was baptised in 1903 that extraordinary child, so 
strangely marked by grace, Little Nellie of Holy God. 

The parochial register extends back to 1797. 



228 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 
Rev. David Connory, D.D., Parish Priest from 1729 to 1766. His 
monument in Ballybricken graveyard records that : — 
"D.O.M. 
In the hopes of a glorious resurrection, here lyeth the body of the 
Rev. Dr. David Connory, late Vicar-General of Waterford and Lismore, 
who for the space of thirty-seven years, with zeal, charity, and prudence, 
governed this district, commonly called Trinity outside. He departed 
this life on the 20th day of May, anno 1766, in the sixty-seventh year 
of his age. To whose memory this tomb has been erected by his sorrow- 
ful and grateful nephew, the Rev. Thomas Connory. — Requiescat in 
pace. Amen." 

This slab originally formed part of Dr. Connory's tomb in Kilbarry 
churchyard, and was removed to its present position in the year 1858. 
Dr. Connory's remains were removed at the same time, after resting 
for nearly one hundred years in Kilbarry, and lie now at the foot of this 
slab in the burial ground at Ballybricken. At the same time a slab 
covering the remains of a Father Tobin was removed to the same 
churchyard, but no remains were found in the latter case Rev. John 
Tobin, it will be remembered, was registered "Popish Parish Priest" 
of St. Peter's, Waterford, in 1704. 

Probably Rev. William Power succeeded Doctor Connory immediately. 
At any rate he was Parish Priest in 1797 and was transferred to Carrick 
in 1807. Rev. Pierse Power assumed the pastorate in 1807, and died in 
1828, having commenced erection of the present church of Ballybricken. 
It is practically certain that it is to Father Power we owe the first 
publication of "The Pious Miscellany" of Ciiis 5ao*aU\C. 

Rev. Michael Fitzgerald succeeded Father Power and completed 
erection of Ballybricken church. He survived till 1842. 

Rev. Martin Flynn, translated from Passage, succeeded. Father 
Flynn commenced his priestly career as professor of theology and 
philosophy for four years (1812-1814) in St. John's College. Subsequent 
to his translation to Ballybricken he was nominated Vicar-General of 
the diocese, and continued to act in that capacity till he died in 1873. 

Rev. Patrick Nolan, Administrator of St. John's, was appointed 
Parish Priest, August, 1873. Father Nolan who had laboured as curate 
and administrator in St. John's for twenty-eight years was a man of 
great energy, and a highly successful missioner. Unfortunately, shortly 
after his appointment to Trinity Without, symptoms of mental disease 
commenced to manifest themselves and an administrator of the parish, 
in the person of Rev. P. F. Flynn, had to be appointed. Poor Father 
Nolan lived on to 1890 and was succeeded by Rev. P. F. Flynn, who 



229 

had acted as Administrator for many years. Father Flynn was raised 
to a canonry on re-establishment of the Diocesan Chapter ; he was 
created Dean of the Chapter in 1906, and finally a Domestic Prelate in 
1909. 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

There are church ruins, but all of them featureless and uninteresting, 
at Kilburne, Kilronan, Kilbarry, and Lisnakill. Of Killoteran church, 
which is called St. Peter's in the Down Survey, nothing remains. Only 
one early church site additional has been identified within the wide 
area comprised in this parish, scil. : — Loughdaheen, and beside 
this is a Holy Well. Knockhouse, in the ancient parish of Killotteran, 
seems to have been the site of a Mass-house or rendezvous of the clergy 
of Waterford during the late seventeenth century. Several informations 
sworn in connexion with the Titus Oates Plot allege meetings of clergy 
and people for religious purposes at this place : for instance, under date 
January, 1680, John MacNamara, an informer, testifies, that four years 
before he had been present with Dean Power, the Earl of Tyrone's 
kinsman, at a "tumultuous congregation of Priests and Fryers" at 
Knockhouse, a house of entertainment three miles west of Waterford, 
&c, &c. 

St. Otteran's cemetery, known from the townland on which it is, 
as Ballynaneesagh, is a large graveyard enclosed in 1848 for burial of 
the deceased poor of the city and surrounding district. It is about six 
acres in extent and contains a sexton's residence and mortuary chapel. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES. 
I.— Christian Brothers, Mount Sion, Waterford. 
The religious congregation, known as the "Irish Christian Brothers," 
was founded in 1802 by Edmond Ignatius Rice, a wealthy merchant 
of Waterford. Having come to the determination of devoting 
his wealth and his life to the Christian education of youth, he wound 
up his mercantile affairs, and at once set about giving practical effect 
to his noble project. For this purpose he rented a house in New Street, 
which served as a temporary school from 1802 to 1804. The accommoda- 
tion thus provided proved inadequate, for the school soon became filled 
to overflowing. To meet the increased demand he purchased, in the 
meantime, a plot of land, off Barrack Street, to serve as a site for a 
monastic residence and for schools. This was in 1803 ; and the plot 
of land was that known as the present "Mount Sion." 



230 

The foundation stone of the Mount Sion house and schools was 
laid by the Bishop, Most Rev. Dr. Hussey, on the 1st June, 1802. In 
June, 1803, the residence was completed, and on the 7th of the month 
the bishop solemnly blessed the building. He then inquired of Mr. Rice 
by what name it was to be known, and the latter stated that it remained 
for his lordship to christen it. The bishop looking round and observing 
the elevated position of the site, and its close proximity to the city 
the analogy between itself and Mount Sion in Jerusalem struck him so 
forcibly that he said aloud — "Well, all things considered, I think a very 
appropriate name would be 'Mount Sion," and so I name it." The 
schools were not finished till the following year. 

Dr. Hussey died on the 11th July, 1803. Mr. Rice and his work 
had a large share in the affection and solicitude of this good and great 
Prelate. Nor, did he, when dying, forget the new foundation. He 
bequeathed to the founder the sum of £2,000 to be funded for the support 
of the ever-growing community. Mount Sion and the whole institute 
of Christian Brothers must ever hold in grateful remembrance this best 
of friends and first of benefactors. 

Dr. Hussey was succeeded by the Most Rev. Dr. John Power, who, 
on the 1st May, 1704, blessed and declared open the two new schools 
which formed a part of the original building. The number of pupils 
seeking admission became so great that in 1805 additional school rooms 
had to be immediately provided by the erection of wooden sheds in the 
playground. These being substantially constructed lasted for several 
years. They were no sooner completed than filled. The expenses thus 
incurred, amounting to several thousand pounds, were defrayed by 
the founder, Brother Edmond Ignatius Rice, out of his own property. 
In 1814 the foundation of two additional school rooms was laid at the 
west end of Mount Sion house. These were ready for the reception of 
children in September, 1816. The brothers were assisted in the building 
of these new schools by a donation of £600 received through the Bishop, 
Most Rev. Dr. John Power. They also received from Mr. Robert Curtis 
£100 for the same purpose, and from time to time £200 from Mr. Joseph 
Power, of Newtown. Dr. John Power died on the 26th January, 1816. 
In his will he left his interest in the Bowling Green premises (now St. 
John's schools and their surroundings) to St. John's College, the Presenta- 
tion Convent, and Mount Sion, share and share alike, being one-third 
to each. In 1818 the founder undertook to send two members of his 
community to conduct the schools in St. Patrick's parish. These schools 
were established some years previous to this date, but were far from 
being in a flourishing condition The average attendance therein is at 
present about two hundred. 



231 

On the 29th of August, 1844, Brother Edmond Ignatius Rice, at 
the venerable age of eighty-two years, breathed his last at Mount Sion, 
and on the 31st August the Right Rev. Nicholas Foran, Bishop of the 
diocese, together with over thirty priests, attended his obsequies at 
Mount Sion. His remains were interred in the little cemetery adjoining, 
which, on this occasion, was consecrated by the Bishop; up to this it 
had been only blessed. The Most Rev. Dr. Foran, who had the highest 
esteem for Mr. Rice, and was personally attached to him, arranged to 
have his month's memory celebrated in the Cathedral on October 1st, 
1844. His lordship presided and over forty priests assisted. The 
Rev. Richard Fitzgerald, afterwards Parish Priest of Carrick-on-Suir 
and Vicar-General of the diocese, preached the panegyric on the occasion. 
On the following day, the Bishop, in conjunction with the mayor, Thomas 
Meagher, Esq., convened a meeting in the sacristy of the Cathedral lor the 
purpose of perpetuating b}' some suitable memorial the memory of Mr. 
Rice and of his services in the cause of Catholic education. A resolu- 
tion was adopted of building an additional schoolroom at Mount Sion 
as well as a domestic chapel for the community, which design was 
carried out at an expense of about £1,000. 

In March, 1851, the new church of St. John's being fit for the 
due celebration of Divine Services the old chapel in Bowling Green 
was converted into two school rooms, fitted up with desks, &c. Dr. 
Foran then handed over the premises, accommodating two hundred 
children, to the Brothers of Mount Sion. In 1889 the building was 
again re-arranged and a second floor introduced, thus making two 
storeys and affording four rooms instead of two. The present attendance 
is about four hundred. 

The Executive of the Christian Brothers' Institute, consisting of 
the Superior-General and his assistants, as constituted by the brief of 
His Holiness Pope Pius VII, 1820, was located at Mount Sion for a 
few years, then it was transferred for a short time to Dublin, and 
afterwards to Cork. The Government and Novitate were again located 
in Mount Sion from 1841 to 1853, but in 185:5 they were transferred to 
Dublin. 

On the 11th May, 1855, the Right Rev. Dr. Nicholas Foran died 
rather suddenly at Dungarvan. A more sincere friend the society had 
not. He was succeeded by the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, who was equally 
attached to the brothers. 

Seeing that the portion of Mount Sion house, occupied by the 
brothers, afforded accommodation altogether too limited, owing to the 
increased number of the community, the then Director, Brother Jerome 
Coylc, having consulted the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, andliaving obtained 



232 

his warmest approval and hearty encouragement, determined on appeal 
to a generous public for aid to build a commodious dwelling house, 
and to convert as much as possible of the original residence to school 
accommodation. A meeting of the citizens called by the mayor, Right 
Worshipful John Lawlor, was held in the City Hall on Tuesday, 16th 
February, 1864, and presided over by his Lordship, Most Rev. Dr. 
O'Brien. A subscription list was opened and £1,100 subscribed as a 
first instalment. On Sunday, 17th April, 1864 (Patronage of St. Joseph), 
the foundation stone of the present residence was solemnly blessed 
and laid by the Bishop, Dr. O'Brien. Brother Jerome Coyle, the 
Director, laboured so energetically and so assiduously in its erection 
that he contracted a sickness which proved fatal. He was called to 
receive the reward of his labours a few months before the completion 
of the building. He died in Dublin 6th October, 1866. On the 8th 
December, 1866, the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, the new 
residence was fit for occupation, and accordingly the community entered 
it on that day. The total cost amounted to about £4,000. There 
remained due a debt of close on £1,500, which was subsequently cleared 
off by means of a bazaar. 

On the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, 8th December, 1869, 
the Sodality of Immaculate Mary was erected at Mount Sion ; the rules 
were drawn up by Brother J. S. O 'Flanagan, the Director, and approved 
of by the Bishop, Dr. O'Brien. 

Owing to the munificence of Mr. Nicholas Mahon Power of Faithlegg, 
who gave a donation of £500 to the community, certain extensions and 
alterations were effected at an outlay of about £ 1 ,000. By these changes 
and erections three additional school rooms were provided. At present 
there are at Mount Sion ten separate school rooms, with two lecture 
rooms ; the average attendance of pupils is about one thousand. 
Including the four hundred at St. John's and the two hundred at St. 
Patrick's, there are in all one thousand six hundred boys under the 
charge of the Mount Sion community. 



II. — Presentation Convent. 
This convent was founded in the memorable year, 1798, from the 
South Presentation Convent, Cork, by the two sisters, M. de Sales Power 
and M. de Chantal Power, who devoted their entire property — about 
£108 per annum— to the promotion of the good work. The foundation 
was brought about in a curious way. A poor girl trained in the Cork 
convent school came to Waterford to take a lowly situation there. Her 



confessor, Rev. John Power, afterwards Bishop, surprised at her know- 
ledge of Christian Doctrine, a knowledge at that time confined to the 
socially superior classes, enquired of her where she had been taught. 
This zealous and worthy Parish Priest heard in this accidental manner 
and for the first time that there existed in Ireland an institute designed 
to impart instruction and to infuse virtue and sanctity into the minds 
and hearts of the young. Having obtained information regarding the 
rules and practices of the Order and its obligation of instructing the 
ignorant poor, he expressed to his Bishop, Right Rev. Dr. Hussey, his 
great desire to establish in his parish, a convent of this "Charitable 
Congregation." His lordship approved of the design, and not only 
permitted him to make all the necessary exertions for the accomplish- 
ment of his pious desire, but promised also that he would on his part 
lend every possible aid, and use his influence with others to help on 
the good work. It was at this crisis, that Miss Ellen Power and her 
sister-in-law, Mrs. Margaret Power (a young widow of great virtue 
and piety) offered to his lordship themselves and their property, as a 
commencement to the establishment of a mission which they looked upon 
as essential to the present and future happiness of their uninstructed 
fellow-creatures in and about Waterford. 

Towards the close of the eighteenth century , Waterford, like many 
cities and towns in Ireland, had no Catholic school, and no one felt the loss 
more keenly than the Bishop of the diocese (Right Rev. Dr. Hussey). 
Miss Nagle's institute had succeeded admirably in the city by the Lee. 
Why not a like success await it on the banks of the noble Suir ? So the 
good Bishop decided on ncgociating with the ladies of that institute in 
Cork, with a view to founding a similar house in Waterford. When 
the intentions of the Prelate became, known candidates were not 
wanting to carry them into execution. Three young ladies offered 
themselves as aspirants to the habit, for the new foundation. These were 
Miss Power, Ballybrack (Mother M. de Sales), Mrs. Margaret Power 
(Mother M. Jane de Chantal), and Miss Mullowney (Mother M. Teresa). 
The two first -mentioned entered on their noviciate in the South Con- 
vent, Cork, in April, 1795, and made their simple vows in January, 
1798. Mother M. Teresa Mullowney did not enter the noviciate until 
April 7th 1797 ; she made her simple vows on July 3rd 1798. Mother 
M. de Sales being appointed Superioress of the new colony, the three 
left Cork on September 3rd, 1798, and, travelling by easy stages, arrived 
in Waterford on the 6th. Arrived in the Urbs Intacta they resided at the 
"Seminary" in Bowling Green Lane until the 29th of September, when they 
removed to the house lately occupied by Rev. John Barron, S.J., and 
opened their first school on the 6th of November. 1798, in a temporary 



234 

building attached to the old house of the Jesuit Fathers in St. Patrick's 
Parish. The house had been bequeathed to them by Rev. John 
Barron, S.J., the last of the Waterford Jesuits. 

The foundation stone of the new convent at Hennessy's Road was 
laid on the 19th of March, 1799, and the three religious mentioned entered 
it on the 18th of March following. Things went on quietly for one year ; 
then reports were circulated that legal action was contemplated, under the 
clauses of the Penal Code against religious orders, whereupon Miss Power 
very prudently applied for and was granted a license to open school. 

The Most Rev. Dr. Moylan, Bishop of Cork, applied to Rome for 
a Brief elevating the institute to the dignity of a religious Order under 
the title and invocation of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin ; this 
request was granted by His Holiness Pope Pius VII on the 9th of April, 
1805, so that all the members of the different communities then existing 
pronounced their solemn vows on August 15th, 1806. Between the years 
1809 and 1836 the following convents were founded from Waterford — 
branches of the parent trunk in the order named — Dungarvan, Carrick- 
on-Suir, Clonmel, and Lismore. 

In the year 1842 the Presentation Nuns decided on building a new 
convent at Lisduggan ; the foundation stone was laid by the Most Rev. 
Dr. Foran. It is a magnificent Gothic building (standing on six acres 
of land), designed and erected under the superintendence of the restorer 
of Gothic architecture in these countries, A. Welby Pugin. On the 3rd 
May, 1848, the community, then numbering eleven, left the scene of 
their labours at Hennessy's Road for their new home, though the latter 
was not then quite complete. Just at this period, T. Wyse, Esq., M.P., 
applied to the Presentation Community for a loan of £1,200, with the 
tempting offer of interest at the rate of 6 per cent, per annum. After 
mature deliberation, they acceded to his request, thinking that the money 
would be quite safe in his hands, but, ere two years had elapsed, 
several mortgages, all prior claims to that of the nuns, were foreclosed, so 
principal and interest went for ever. The property then passed into 
the hands of Captain Wm. Wyse, and to compensate the community 
for the heavy loss sustained, that gentleman raised the rent from £6 to 
£8 per acre. In the year 1891 the landlord offered to sell, so the com- 
munity purchased their holding. As many are already aware, T. Wyse, 
Esq., M.P., resided for years at Athens, holding there the post of 
Minister Plenipotentiary. Under sunny southern skies however he did 
not forget his friends, and in making his will he specially devised that 
his remains should be laid in the little cemetery at "Holy Cross," and 
that a Mausoleum should be erected there to his memory ; this bequest, 
the Presentation Nuns refused. 



235 

The community at present numbers about twenty-seven members, 
and is governed by a Superioress and an assistant. The elections are 
triennial. The average attendance in the schools is about three hundred. 
Attached to the schools is a very flourishing congregation of the Children 
of Mary, and there is a well-selected lending library in connection with 
the Sodality. 

List of Superioresses since the foundation, 1798 to 1895 : — 

1798-1801— Mother M. de Sales Power. 

1801-1807— Mother M. de Chantal Power. 

1807-1813— Mother M. Teresa Mullowney. 

1813-1819— Mother M. John Baptist Hearn. 

1819-1820— Mother M. Francis Keating. 

1820-1826— Mother M. Teresa Mullowney 

1826-1829— Mother M. Bernard Walsh. 

1829-1832— Mother M. Teresa Mullowney 

1832-1838— Mother M. Patrick Keshan. 

1838-1841— Mother M. Joseph Wall. 

1841-1847— Mother M. de Sales Knox. 

1847-1850— Mother M. Aloysius Tobin. 

1850-1856— Mother M. Patrick Keshan. 

1856-1859— Mother M. de Sales Knox. 

1859-1865— Mother M. Patrick Keshan. 

1865-1874— Mother M. Bernard Purcell. 

1874-1880— Mother M. Vincent Cleary. 

1880-1883— Mother M. Joseph Meagher. 

1883-1889— Mother M. Stanislaus Power. 

1889-1892— Mother M. Ignatius Hughes. 

1892-1895— Mother M. Stanislaus Power. 



III. — Convent of Little Sisters of the Poor, Waterford. 

For a brief historical sketch of the Institute, see "Terra Incognita, 
or the Convents of the United Kingdom," by John N. Murphy (London, 
Longmans, Green & Co.) 

At the request of the Bishop, six or seven sisters of the congregation 
came to Waterford in 1863, from their mother house, La Tour St. Joseph, 
in Brittany. Mother St. Joseph came over in charge of the little com- 
munity, but, as soon as she saw it safely settled down (i.e., after a few 
months), she returned again home, leaving Mother St. Honorie in charge 
at Waterford. The community first established itself in a large house 
rented for that purpose on Adelphi Quay. The inmates numbered only 



236 

about twenty in the beginning. In 1872 the sisters acquired for about 
£1,000, a fine piece of building ground on the south-west of the city, 
and there in the same year they commenced the erection of the present 
convent which was completed in 1874. As time went by the sisters found 
it necessary to add again and again to the convent accommodation. The 
buildings, with the land on which they stand, cost in all £7,765 or 
thereabout, up to 1895. There are in the institution at the present 
time one hundred and eighty inmates — ninety old men and the same 
number of aged females. Various small legacies have from time to 
time been left to the convent which is, by the way, a very popular 
charity. A legacy of £1,000 from Miss Barron, and another legacy of 
a similar sum from Rev. N. Phelan, P.P., Gammonsfield, deserve to be 
specifically mentioned. Mother Blache of St. Mary succeeded Mother St. 
Honorie as Superioress, and the former was succeeded by Mother St. 
Cecilia de S. Esprit, who was succeeded in turn by Mother Marie 
de Bon Pasteur, and the last named again by Mother Cecilia de S. 
Esprit, for her second term. For the past fifteen years the following 
has been the succession of Superiors : — 

1895— Mother Marie de St. Emilien. 

1899— Mother Ange de St. Joseph. 

1902— Mother St. Anselm. 

1908— Mother St. Colette de La Providence. 
The Waterford house was the first Convent of the Order established 
in Ireland, and Mother Blanche of St. Mary was first Superioress of 
the new convent opened in 1894. 



IV.— Convent of Mercy, Lower Yellow Road. 
(See tinder Convent of Mercy, Ditnmore East, antea.) 



Parish of St. John's and Ballygunner. 



Like the other modern parishes of the diocese of Waterford (as distinct 
from Lismore) St. John's and Ballygunner, covering a comparatively 
small area, is made up of quite a number of diminutive ancient parishes, 
soil. : — St. John's, Ballynakill, Ballygunner, Kilcaragh, Killure, Kill 
St. Lawrence, St. Stephen's Without, and portion of Kilbarry. It has 
two churches, one under the patronage of the Evangelist after win mi 
it is named, and the other dedicated to the Mother of God (Nativity). 
The present parochial union does not appear to be very ancient ; in 1704 
Ballygunner went with Crooke and Faithlegg, and at what precise date 
it was joined to St. John's there is nothing to indicate ; probably the 
union was effected on the death of Rev. Thomas Hogan, Parish Priest of 
Passage, in 1781. Rev. William Browne, who died in 1788, is styled on 
his monument in old Ballygunner graveyard "Parish Priest of St. John's 
and the united parishes" — a title which suggests that the amalgamation 
was recent. The parish became mensal on the elevation of its Parish 
Priest, Rev. Dr. John Power, to the mitre in 1804, and has continued 
under administrators ever since. From 1804 to 1827 it is by no means 
easy to trace succession of administrators ; indeed it looks as if there 
were no formal administrator — the bishop himself actively directing 
parochial work. The ancient parish of St. John the Evangelist was 
monastic — impropriate in the Benedictine Priory of the same name. 
On the suppression the monastery church and church property passed 
to the Wyses. During the confederate regime the Cistercians on some 
pretext intruded themselves into the church and priory, but their action 
was resisted by the bishop and some confusion resulted. At a later 
date we find the Catholics of the parish using a thatched chapel situated 
in the present South Parade, till, in 1800, they secured the old Quaker 
Meeting House in Bowling Green (the present Manor Street schools of 
the Christian Brothers). The latter served as the parochial church for 
half a century — till opening of the present St. John's in 1850. The 
present church was commenced in 1837 during the administratorship of 
Rev. Patrick Morrissey, and was blessed ami opened on February 17th, 
1850, by Right Rev. Bishop Foran. The sermon on the occasion was 



238 

preached by the celebrated Dr. Cahill, O.S.A. Built entirely by day 
labour, the cost of the church was comparatively small — up to completion 
of the shell and exclusive of the tower it amounted to only £8,000. The 
style is that particular variety of later Gothic known as the perpendicular. 
John George McCarthy, of Cork, designed the tower which was added 
later. Unfortunately, owing to defects of foundation, the spire and 
upper portion of the tower has had to be taken down in recent years. 
In 1897 the church grounds were added to by purchase of a piece of 
ground on the west side where stood some dilapidated houses. Eight 
years later the original small sacristy was replaced by the present com- 
modious apartment. The church of Ballygunner was erected during 
the second decade of the last century on the site of an older (thatched) 
chapel. It is cruciform in plan, small in size, and plain in style, but 
being well kept, it has always been regarded as a model country church. 
The original graveyard was in the ornamental space which now 
immediately surrounds the church. Later on, about the Emancipation 
period, more land was secured and the bodies which had been interred 
immediately around the church were exhumed and re-interred in the 
newly acquired area. Later still, about 1870, still more land was secured 
— a free grant from Mr. Purcell Fitzgerald of the Little Island — and the 
graveyard was again enlarged. Finally in 1904 the cemetery was further 
enlarged by addition of five roods, and at present it is the largest, best 
kept, and most important Catholic cemetery in the diocese. 

The number of schools within the parish is extraordinarily large— 
thirteen in all, viz. :— three colleges (St. John's, the De La Salle Training 
College, and the Christian Brothers' College, Waterpark), one convent 
boarding school and one convent day school, two convent National 
schools, one Christian Brothers' primary school, two National schools 
at Ballygunner, an industrial school under direction of the Good Shep- 
herd community, and two workhouse schools. 

The Arch-Confraternity of the Immaculate Heart of Mary for the 
conversion of sinners was canonically established in this parish in the 
thirties of the last century by the Rev. Edmond Kier. It was affiliated 
to the same confraternity attached to the church of our "Lady of 
Victories" in Paris, and flourished for many years both in the old chapel 
of Bowling Green and in the present church. The devotion of the 
Perpetual Adoration was inaugurated by the Rev. P. Nolan in June, 
1866, revived by Father Browne, and is at present entrusted to and faith- 
fully carried on by the female branch of the Sacred Heart Association. 
Father Nolan also initiated the Catholic Temperance Society, which in 
1887 became the League of the Cross for the suppression of intemperance. 
This sodality was put on a sounder basis by the present Bishop of 



239 

the diocese, and is now doing much good in the parish. In October, 1890, 
under the auspices of the Most Rev. Dr. Egan, the Rev. William Browne 
founded a branch or centre of "the Holy League of the Sacred Heart 
of Jesus and Apostleship of Prayer," which has grown apace and has 
been a fruitful source of piety in the parish. From it has sprung "the 
Pious Union of Prayer" for the recital of the Office of the Dead, its 
members assembling the first Wednesday evening in each month for 
the latter purpose. Monthly meetings of the Confraternity are held for 
the female branch of the Sacred Heart Association on the first Friday, 
and for the male branch on the third Friday. Congregational singing 
adds not a little to the Devotions of the Sodality. At the monthly 
Communions of Reparation the whole congregation at Mass receive 
Holy Communion — it is fairly estimated that on these occasions one 
thousand persons approach the altar rails. Large numbers of the mem- 
bers are moreover weekly communicants. The Devotion of the Three 
Hours' Agony of Our Divine Lord has been faithfully persevered in since 
its first introduction by the Rev. J. Crotty. The exercises, which for many 
successive years were carried out by this zealous priest, have been year 
after year, since, conducted by Jesuits, Redemptorists, Vincentians, 
Passionists, Dominicans, or Oblates of Mary, whose fervent discourses 
have helped to keep alive this devotion in the parish. The Six Sundays' 
Devotion previous to the 21st June in each year in honour of the 
glorious St. Aloysius Gonzaga, was established by the Rev. Michael 
Wall, president of the Old College of St. John's. It has been revived 
in recent years, and the exercises are well attended by the children of 
the parish for whose special benefit they are intended. 

Novenas, &c, preparatory to the Principal Feasts, the Advent and 
Lent Devotions, &c, are held during the year for the Confraternities, 
and their success is proved by the numbers that approach the Sacraments 
during the exercises. 

Among the charitable institutions in the parish may, in this place, 
be named the Matthew Shee Charity and the Walsh Asylum. These 
were founded by Messrs. Matthew Shee and Michael Walsh for respectable 
citizens of Waterford of reduced circumstances, and the funds make 
provision for lodging and maintenance of the inmates and also for the 
services of a chaplain. The Walsh Asylum is situated at the corner 
of the Manor and Bunker's Hill : nearly opposite, at junction of Bath 
Street and Cork Road is the Matthew Shee Institution. For many 
years the Matthew Shee Trust had lain in abeyance ; the funds were 
held by one John Archbold, but through the exertions of John A. Blake, 
Esq., M.P., and John O'Brien, Town Clerk, the property was recovered 
and the funds devoted in accordance with the testator's will. 



240 

SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

Rev. Phillip Hackett, residing at Johnstown and then aged seventy- 
two years, was in 1704 registered as Parish Priest of St. John's. He 
had received Holy Orders in 1666 at St. Malo in France from the Bishop 
of that See. Father Felix Geary succeeded. He was a Franciscan, and 
on a question of canonical jurisdiction lodged an appeal, or was the 
defendant in an appeal, to the Internuncio at Brussels against the action 
of the Bishop of Waterford. He died 1759 and is buried in Kilmurray 
graveyard, near Carrick-on-Suir. 

Rev. Peter Purcell was inducted under episcopal authority, and in 
presence of lay witnesses, by Father Thomas Bacon, Franciscan, in 1759. 

Rev. William Brown was appointed Parish Priest apparently in 
1767. He died in 1788, aged seventy-one years, and is buried in Bally- 
gunnertemple. 

The next pastor was Rev. Thomas Keating, D.D. His name occurs 
on a chalice still in use in Ballygunner. He lived in the house now 
used as a police station in the Manor, and was translated in 1795 to 
Dungarvan and thence, later, to Cahir, where he ended his days. 

Rev. John Power succeeded. He was the last Parish Priest of 
St. John's. On his elevation to the episcopacy in 1804 he continued to 
reside in the parochial house in the Manor and to hold St. John's, which 
he constituted a mensal parish. Bishop John Power died January 27th, 
1817, and thence to the time of Bishop Patrick Kelly (1822-1829) the 
succession of administrators is not quite clear. We know the names 
of the clergy serving the church but it is not always easy to divine which 
was senior or locum tenens for the pastor. It is probable that the bishop 
himself personally administered parochial affairs. The priests minister- 
ing during the interval named were : — Revs. E. Brennan, Cornelius 
McGrath, P. Morrissey (he became Parish Priest of Ballyneal), 
G. Connolly (afterwards Parish Priest of Carrick and Vicar-General), 
T. Walsh, John O'Meara (afterwards Parish Priest of Aglish), and 
Thomas Dixon (afterwards Parish Priest of Passage). 

In 1827 Most Rev. Dr. Kelly formally appointed Rev. Martin 
Flynn Administrator of the parish. Father Flynn became Parish Priest 
of Passage in 1837, and was succeeded in St. John's by Rev. Patrick 
Morrissey, who held office till 1842, when Rev. Roger Power succeeded. 
"Father Roger," as he was familiarly known for fifty years, was trans- 
ferred as pastor to Kill in 1853. He completed the church of St. John's, 
commenced by his predecessor, and was replaced in Waterford by Rev. 
Patrick Nolan. Father Nolan remained twenty years in office and 
entirely paid off the heavy debt with which the parish was encumbered. 
He also erected the tower, as well as the present gates and railings. 



241 

His successor was Rev. Robert Foran who, in 1876, was transferred 
as Parish Priest to Ballylooby. Next followed, in order — Rev. Maurice 
Keating (1876-1885), Rev. Richard Modeler (1885-1891), Rev. William 
Browne (1891-1900), Rev. Michael Barron (1900), and Rev. Patrick 
Fitzgerald (1900). 



ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

There are five ruined churches, scil. : — St. John's (Benedictine), 
Ballynakill, Ballygunner, Killure (Knights Templars'), and Kill St. 
Lawrence, but the remains are insignificant, save in the case of St. John's. 
This latter stands in a large cemetery and consists of the crumbling 
walls of a fairly large structure with pointed windows (early English). 
The Benedictine Priory of St. John's was subject to the abbey of Bath 
in England, and its suppression pre-dates by a few years the general 
suppression of Religious Houses. The intrusion therein of the Cistercians 
in the seventeenth century has been already alluded to. The Supreme 
Council of the Confederate Catholics is alleged to have handed it over to 
the Cistercians some time between the years 1641 and 1653, but the 
truth seems to be the lay impropriator had forcibly taken the keys 
from the vicar of the ordinary on the ground that the latter had not 
been duly presented to him. Hereupon followed appeals to the canons 
and to ecclesiastical censurs. The Bishop (Patrick Comerford) inhibited 
the monks from holding the church till such time as the whole case had 
been laid before the Supreme Council, but the Cistercians, strong in 
the support of the lay impropriator, paid no attention to the mandate. 
Thereupon the prelate interdicted the church but the Cistercians still 
refused to obey. A second interdict, local and personal, was laid on 
the monastery and inmates. Finally the case came before the Supreme 
Council or the nuncio and there it was decided in the Bishop's favour. 

Within this church was buried the Rev. Father Thomas Lombard, 
from whose family in Waterford Lombard Street in that city derives 
its name. He was nephew to the Most Illustrious Lord Peter Lombard, 
Primate of Ireland. He was educated at Salamanca and professed as 
a religious at Solbravo, diocese of Compostella. For account of an 
incident in which Father Lombard participated, see O'Kelly Cambrensis 
Eversus, vol. iii., pt. ii., appendix. He returned from the Continent 
in 1601, and, after a few years good service in the ministry, died amid 
the tears of many, His remains were laid to rest at the epistle side 
of the High Altar, where was also buried the Rev. Nicholas Fagan, some 



242 

time Bishop designate of Waterford and Abbot of Inislounaght, who 
died in 1617, and also John (Thomas) Madan, titular Abbot of Mothel, 
who died in 1645. 

This old church was the scene of an unusual ceremony on Trinity 
Sunday, 1625, when, the See of Waterford being without a Bishop, Arch- 
bishop Fleming of Dublin blessed herein three Cistercian Abbots the 
same day, viz. : John Thomas Madan for Mothel, Lawrence Fitzharris 
for Inislounaght, and Patrick Christian Barnwell for St. Mary's, Dublin. 
Father Madan aforesaid was a native of Waterford. While resident in 
Waterford Father Madan hired an underground cellar to serve as a chapel. 
Here he celebrated Mass, preached and administered sacraments. The 
Retreat was however discovered and confiscated, and Father Madan was 
heavily fined. 

Somewhere outside St. John's gate — very probably in the space 
fronting the present County and City Infirmary — was a small church 
dedicated to St. Mary Magdalen and dependent on the Lazar House 
Church of St. Stephen. St. Laurence's Church (Kill St. Laurence) 
had a comparatively large graveyard attached which was much used 
during cholera epidemics, &c. Shortly after the opening of the present 
new church of St. John's the old church and parish of St. Laurence were 
commemorated by erection of an altar in the gospel aisle to the Martyr 
Saint. On petition of the Bishop, Dr. O'Brien, this was, during the 
administratorship of Father Nolan, made a privileged altar. Although 
the altar has disappeared the feast of St. Laurence is still specially cele- 
brated in the church. 

In Northcote's "Shrines of Our Lady" there is reference to an 
ancient shrine in this parish. 

Among the church plate is a silver chalice inscribed with the name 
of Matthew Quilty, of Malaga, at whose expense it was made for St. 
John's in 1726. A silver plate and cruet and a plated candlestick bear 
the legend : "John Fitzgerald, Esq." 

A very curious, if not unique, object — long preserved in St. John's 
church — is a chalice-like vessel of ivory fitted with a cover and silver- 
lined which is traditionally believed to have been a chalice, but is much 
more likely to have been a ciborium. It disappeared from the church 
some thirty years since ; it was in fact given away by the priest in charge 
who little appreciated its historic or archaeological value and was rescued 
years afterwards by Rev. P. Power, M.R.I. A., in whose possession the 
interesting relic is at present. For a full description of it, with illustration, 
see the Waterford Archaeological Journal for July, 1909. 



RELIGIOUS HOUSES AND INSTITUTIONS. 
I. — Ursuline Convent. 

On the 6th August, 1816, Mother Mary Teresa Angela Luby arrived 
in Waterford from the Ursuline Convent, Thurles, with three professed 
choir sisters and one unprofessed choir novice. They took up their 
abode at Waterpark under the authority of the Very Rev. Thomas 
Flannery, Vicar-Capitular of the diocese, the see being then vacant. 
Their first care was to fit up a chapel, small and poor indeed, and on the 
Feast of the Assumption the first Mass was said there, and the Most 
Blessed Sacrament deposited in the Tabernacle by the Rev. Nicholas 
Foran, deputed by the Vicar-General. Sister Mary Angela Luby was 
appointed Mother Superior. The house at Waterford was fortunately 
taken only for a year — the situation was found to be damp and in- 
convenient. Another place was sought for, and on 17th April, 1817, 
the nuns and children removed to New Grove, a pretty place, also on 
the river, and larger and better than Waterpark. This house was 
gradually put into order for a convent and schools. On the feast of 
Corpus Christi (June 5th) the little chapel was blessed, Holy Mass 
said there, and the Adorable Sacrament was deposited in the Tabernacle 
by the Rev. Thomas Murphy, professor at St. John's College. The 
boarders had now increased to the number of twenty-five, and to afford 
them suitable and comfortable accommodation, the religious had to 
make many sacrifices, which they did willingly. 

On the 13th August the first death took place. It was that of 
Sister Mary de Sales Luby, a very holy religious, who had been educated 
by the Ursulines of Blackrock, Cork. She was younger sister of the 
Mother Superior. On the 22nd of September her place was filled by 
the entrance of Miss Catherine Sheil, second daughter of Edward 
Sheil, Esq., late of Bellevue, Co. Kilkenny, and his wife, Catherine 
MacCarthy, of Spring House, Co. Tipperary. The community remained 
at Newgrove for about seven years. There their first mothers were 
professed ; they were Sister Mary Joseph Sheil, Sister Mary Magdalen 
Anthony, and Sister Mary de Sales Cooke, who all made their vows 
together on the 26th June, 1821, in presence of the Very Rev. Garrett 
Connolly, Vicar-General of the diocese. 

A more secluded, as well as a larger, place was desirable ; so, after 
much deliberation, and a period of negociation, the house and grounds 
of Elysium, lately the residence of the Alcock family, were taken ; the 
removal from New Grove was made at the end of September, 1824, 
and on the 10th October, Feast of the Dedication of the churches of 
Ireland, the first Mass was celebrated in the newly blessed chapel, and 



244 

" the Master" took up His dwelling in the Tabernacle, being placed there 
by the chaplain, Rev. Dominic O'Brien. 

About 1826 a building in addition to the dwelling-house was erected, 
and another block added about 1834-36. There seems to have been 
no professional architect engaged for these works, and the names of 
the builders have not been preserved. In 1845 plans for the erection 
of a chapter-room, cloister and church were given by the celebrated 
reviver of pointed ecclesiastical architecture. Augustus Welby Pugin 
—but circumstances interfered to prevent the continuance of the work, 
though a considerable portion of the foundations was laid. On May 31st, 
1868, the foundation of a large house for the boarders, called St. Joseph's, 
was laid by Most Rev. Dominic O'Brien. It was fully ready for the 
reception of the children at their return from vacation in the autumn 
of 1870. They had occupied the refectory and St. Cecilia's hall in that 
building since 24th October, 1869. 

On September 8th, 1872, Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien attended by a 
large concourse of the clergy laid the corner stone of the present church. 
The Blessed Sacrament was carried from the Tabernacle in the old choir 
to the new Tabernacle on Holy Saturday evening, and the first Mass 
offered in the church on Easter Sunday, April 4th, 1874, by the chaplain, 
Rev. Dr. Patrick Delany. The Bishop, Most Rev. John Power, said 
Mass there on Monday, and did so each succeeding anniversary as long 
as his health permitted him to come to the convent. A new schoolhouse 
was built in 1890, as an addition to the already existing National school, 
erected about 1840 ; in 1891 the foundation was laid of a new house for 
St. Anne's day schools for the children of the merchants and citizens 
of Waterford. 

The proper institute, or work of the Ursuline Order is the education 
of young girls, rich and poor. This is carried on at St. Mary's in four 
separate schools : — 1, St. John's National school for the children of the 
labouring and artizan classes. The number of children in attendance 
is usually from three hundred to four hundred and ten. 2, St. Anne's day 
school for the children of the professional and mercantile classes. The 
pupils number from eighty to one hundred. 3, The boarding school, 
or St. Joseph's House, where from seventy to eighty young ladies receive 
their education. 4, The college for training of secondary teachers and 
instruction of young ladies in domestic economy. 

The governing authority in the community is a Mother Superior, 
elected by the Chapter, and confirmed by the Bishop. The Bishop is 
always the Father Superior of this monastery. 

The most remarkable of the Mothers Superior was Rev. Mother 
Elizabeth Cooke, called in religion Sister Mary de Sales of the Sacred 



Heart, one of the first professed of this monastery, who filled the office 
of Superior for four periods of six years each, between the years 1825 
and 1864. To Mother Mary de Sales Cooke the community owes ever- 
lasting gratitude for her care in promoting the observance of rule, her 
guidance in the spirit and practice of solid devotion, and her zeal in 
adopting and advancing all that concerned the best methods of imparting 
sound religious and secular education to the children. To her not only 
this convent but all Ireland owes the introduction of the May Devotion 
in honour of our Blessed Lady. While but yet a young novice, she 
had the exercises made here in 1818, having learned the devotion from 
the sisters of the Rev. Robert St. Leger, S.J., who had recently brought 
it from Italy. The devotion was speedily carried to other localities by 
children returning to their homes, and by the young ladies who, after 
having been educated there, entered other convents as religious. 

Another Superior, beloved and revered by the community, as one 
singularly gifted by God, was Mother Mary Peter Kennedy, who through 
all her career gave constant example of the Spirit of Prayer, and of the 
practice of the religious virtues. She ruled well and wisely from 1864 
to 1870, and from 1876 to 1882. She died, April 21st, 1891. 

In 1852. at the earnest request of Monsignor Odin, Bishop of San 
Antonio, Texas, two sisters were lent for five years to aid a newly 
established Ursuline Convent in that city. They were recalled in 1857, 
both much impaired in health, but both Bishop and community parted 
from them with regret, and with grateful acknowledgement of their 
efficacious labours. In 1877 two other choir sisters and one lay-sister 
were lent to aid the German exiled Ursulines who had lately come to 
Greenwich, and who were invited to open a school at Blackheath, a suburb 
of London. It was for this school the two Waterford sisters were required 
as the community had no one qualified to teach English. At the close 
of a year they also were recalled — the school did not prosper, and the 
community returned to Greenwich where the convent still exists ; later 
on the relaxation of Penal Laws permitted many of the nuns to return to 
Germany. The Waterford house received two of these German exiles, 
and gave them hospitality until their own community could be fully 
established in England. The two sisters in question, with some others of 
the Greenwich community, went with Most Rev. Dr. Torrcggiani to 
found a convent in his diocese of Armidale, New South Wales. 

Very generous pecuniary help was given the convent by Most Rev. 
Dr. Abraham, Most Rev. Dr. Foran (for the poor), Most Rev. Dominic 
O'Brien, and Most Rev. John Power. Several of the parents and relatives 
of members of the community have also been benefactors in money and 
in kind. In a time of pressing necessity the community were most 



246 

kindly assisted by Mr. Thomas Meagher, afterwards Member of Parlia- 
ment for Waterford City, and they were encouraged to commence the 
building of the present church by the munificent donation of £1,000 for 
the purpose, from the Hon. Thomas Ryan, Senator of the Canadian 
Legislature. 

Among the remarkable persons with whom the convent was con- 
nected by visits, letters, &c, were Monsignor, afterwards Cardinal, 
Cheverus, who presented a Reliquary ; the Abbe MacCarthy, well- 
known in France for his loyalty and sacred eloquence ; Most Rev. 
Edward Barron, Bishop of Liberia, in Africa ; Daniel O'Connell, the 
Liberator ; Richard Lalor Shiel ; Charles Waterton, the eminent natur- 
alist ; Augustus Welby Pugin ; Cardinals Newman, Manning, Cullen, 
Moran, and Logue ; Most Rev. Dr. Kirby, Archbishop of Ephesus and 
Rector of the Irish College, Rome ; Father Dalgairns ; Father Thomas 
Burke, O.P., &c, &c. 

In the early days of the community the Rev. Nicholas Foran kindly 
acted as Confessor and Very Rev. Garrett Connolly, Extraordinary Con- 
fessor, while they and the Rev. Nicholas Cantwell, Rev. Thomas 
Murphy, and Rev. Robert St. Leger, S.J., were careful that the nuns 
should have the consolation of daily Mass in their humble chapel. 
The first regular chaplain was Rev. Eugene Condon. In 1822, on 
St. Patrick's Eve, Rev. Dominic O'Brien, who had made his studies 
at the College of Propaganda, and returned from Rome in the course 
of the preceding year, entered on the office, and held it for several years. 
Later on, some other priests succeeded for various shorter periods, but 
in 1834 Rev. Edward O'Donnell was translated from the curacy of 
Abbeyside, Dungarvan, to this chaplaincy, and continued in it until 
his appointment as Parish Priest of Tallow, in April, 1855. He was 
succeeded by Rev. Patrick Delaney, who was ordained by Most Rev. Dr. 
Foran, in the convent chapel, on 5th May, 1855, and entered immedi- 
ately on his duties. On his being named President of St. John's College 
his place was taken by the Rev. Francis O'Brien, after whom came 
Rev. Maurice Keating for nine years ; then, Rev. Dr. Delany, until his 
appointment as Parish Priest to Ballyporeen in October, 1875. Then in 
succession came Revs. E. Meagher, T. Heffernan, T. Dowley, M. Purcell, 
P. Doocey, James Everard, P. Dunphy, and M. C. Crotty, &c. 

The architect of St. Joseph's House and of the Church of the Sacred 
Heart was Mr. George Goldie, and the builder Mr. James Moran, Water- 
ford. The architect of St. John's and St. Anne's schools was Mr. Wm. H. 
Byrne, and the builder Mr. John Hearne, Waterford. 

The most curious article of church plate possessed by the convent 
is a large silver paten for a Communion grate, such as is usually found 



247 

in the chapels of Orders of strict enclosure. This was given by Mrs. 
Sheehan, mother of the Right Rev. Monsignor George Sheehan, Cork, 
and was used here for many years. A fine monstrance was given to 
the Community by the dowager Mrs. Power, of Snow Hill, who died in 
the convent in March, 1853, at the age, it is asserted, of one hundred 
and fourteen 3'ears. Her sight and hearing were considerably impaired, 
but her mental faculties continued clear to the last. The Most Rev. Dr. 
Kelly presented to the convent a crucifix in carved oak, with figure 
almost life size. This he rescued from a state of dirt and neglect in 
one of the almshouses of the city. It was first placed over the high 
altar in the chapel, and later, when the sanctuary was enlarged and a 
new altar erected there, it was placed in the Passion Chapel. It is now 
in the western transept of the church. Rev. Eugene Condon gave a 
small statue of our Blessed Lady, also in carved wood. It is now on 
an altar in the fore-choir of the church. The two latter sacred objects 
were hidden during the times of persecution, and are said to have been 
discovered when the foundations of the present Protestant Cathedral 
were being laid. 

Mother M. Bernard Hackett was elected Superior in 1870. She 
filled the office for eighteen years, scil. :— from 1870 to 1876, 1882 to 
1888, and 1894 to 1900. Her strong faith, her unwavering trust in God, 
her wide all-embracing charity made her a religious after God's own 
heart. She was a very cultured woman. Her broad spirit seemed 
formed to meet the yearly-increasing demands of the educational world 
of the present day. Among the notable events of her superiority were 
the erection of the beautiful convent church, the placing of the poor 
school under the control of the National Board, and the foundation 
of St. Augustine's College for the training of teachers for secondary 
schools. She died May 2nd, 1909. 

M. M. Angela White, was Superior from 1888 to 1894 and from 1900 
to 1906. and died August 30th, 1906. Her term of office was in many 
ways memorable ; a woman of great personal sanctity, she possessed 
intellectual gifts of a very high order, combined with a sweet sim- 
plicity of manner that endeared her to all who came into contact with 
her. Among the improvements made by her may be mentioned the 
new building added to St. John's National school in 1890, the erection of 
St. Anne's high school, the gymnasium, and of St. Ursula's domestic 
school, 1904, &c. The intermediate system was introduced into St. 
Anne's high school in 1893. 

In 1896 some of the sisters obtained the Secondary Teachers' Diploma 
from the University of Cambridge. They had been prepared for the 
examination by Miss Dolan, a highly qualified teacher. In March fol- 



248 

lowing, Sir Joshua Fitch paid a visit of inspection to the school with a 
view to its affiliation with the Cambridge Training Syndicate, and some 
weeks later intimation of its recognition as a training college for secondary 
teachers was received from Cambridge. Since then many of the sisters 
and a large number of seculars have received training here. 

St. Ursula's School of Domestic Science was formally opened for the 
reception of pupils, October, 1904. This institution is intended to meet a 
growing demand for a residential school in which young ladies who have 
concluded their ordinary course of literary studies may receive systematic 
instruction in domestic science and a practical training in household man- 
agement, which will fit them to discharge in their own homes the various 
duties peculiar to woman's sphere. For this purpose a new building 
has been erected containing fully equipped lecture rooms and class 
rooms for domestic science teaching. A certificate is awarded by the 
Department of Agriculture and Technical Instruction. The full course 
comprises the following subjects : — cookery, laundry work, dressmaking, 
home sewing, housewifery, including (a) physiology and hygiene, (b) home 
nursing, (c) practical gardening. 



II. — St. John's College. 

Towards the close of the eighteenth century the terrible severity 
of the Penal Laws had somewhat relaxed, and the great and famous 
prelate, Dr. Hussey, who then ruled the dioceses of Waterford and 
Lismore, took advantage of the change in the times to devise a very 
comprehensive scheme of Catholic education. 

Under his active patronage and support the institute of the Christian 
Brothers was founded in Waterford for the education of poor boys, 
and the Presentation Nuns were introduced for the training of girls, 
while no less than three Catholic schools were founded for the education 
of the higher classes. From these latter three seminaries or high schools, 
as from a triple root, St. John's College sprang into existence. 

The first of these schools was founded by Dr. Keating. This school 
was at first situated on the Waterside, close to John's Bridge, but was 
afterwards removed to the site of the present police barracks in the 
Manor. Dr. Keating, we ma}' add was Parish Priest of St. John's 
parish from 1789 to 1800, in which year he was succeeded by the 
Rev. Dr. John Power, the founder proper of St. John's College. Dr. 
Keating was transferred to Dungarvan and thence to Cahir. Some 
time later, we read of a second school in William Street conducted by 
two Dominican Fathers, Creighton and Smyth. This school was after- 
wards transferred to the present Newtown Lodge. The third, and by 



249 

far the most famous, of these schools was founded by the Rev. Thomas 
Flynn, D.D., Parish Priest of St. Michael's. This school was housed 
in the large building in John Street, now the auction mart of Mr. John 
Walsh. The house in question was formerly the city residence of 
Ambrose Usher Congreve, and afterwards of George Morris, members 
of two well known Waterford families. In the year 1801, it was devised 
to the Rev. Thomas Flynn, D.D., P.P., for the sum of £350, at a yearly 
rent of £8 for a term of fifty-nine years. This school became very success- 
ful, and for a considerable period was largely frequented, not only by 
the sons of the wealthier citizens but also by those of many of the 
surrounding gentry. Some years afterwards it became an orphan house, 
known as the "Trinitarian Orphanage." The Rev. Thomas Flynn was 
a remarkable ecclesiastic. He was brother to the Rev. W. Flynn, P.P., 
Clashmore, nephew of the well known Vicar Hearne, who built the 
cathedral. He was educated at Louvain then, as now, a famous university, 
and after a distinguished course was appointed professor of rhetoric in 
one of the colleges. Soon afterwards, however, Dr. Flynn was compelled 
to fly from his Alma Mater, owing to invasion of the Netherlands by the 
French. Having returned to Ireland Dr. Flynn was appointed professor 
of theology in the seminary just then established in Cork by the Most 
Rev. Dr. Moylan ; after a short period however he was recalled by 
Most Rev. Dr. Hussey and appointed Parish Priest of St. Michael's, and 
principal of the new school in John Street. Dr. Flynn, who died, aged 
fifty-three years, June 5th, 1815, is interred at the entrance to the 
cathedral, beside his uncles, Vicar and Francis Hearne. We have no 
means of determining the precise date of the opening of "Old St. John's 
College." Some fix it at 1810, but more probably it was 1807. At all 
events the Most Rev. John Power transferred Dr. Flynn's school to the 
Manor. It was gradually added to until it became the structure known 
as the "Old College," occupying the site of the present industrial school 
of the Good Shepherd Nuns. At a much later period, when the number 
of students began to increase a large house on the opposite side of the 
street was also rented for collegiate purposes. 

The first president was Rev. Thomas Murphy— 1807 (?)-lS14. 
The "Waterford Mirror" of Saturday, September 1st, 1810, has the 
following advertisement : — "A classical and mathematical day school 
will be opened at Right Rev. Dr. Power's seminary, near the Manor of 
St. John— for particulars apply to Rev. Mr. Murphy at the seminary." 
"Rev. Thomas Murphy, Waterford diocese," says Dr. Healy (History of 
Maynooth), " was appointed Senior Dean, Maynooth, August 30th, 1814, 
and resigned the post April 5th, 1816." The" Waterford Mirror," Wednes- 
day, September 8th, 1819, records: "Died, at the house of his uncle, 



250 

Mr. Robert Tobin, the Rev. Thomas Murphy, formerly principal St. 
John's College and subsequently Dean of Maynooth." 

Rev. Nicholas Foran, who was ordained in 1808, succeeded to the 
presidency on the resignation of the Rev. Thomas Murphy but resigned 
the position in 1818. In 1837 on the death of Most Rev. Dr. Abraham, 
Father Foran was appointed Bishop of the diocese. Rev. Garrett 
Connolly was president from 1818 to 1822. Garrett Connolly was born 
in Waterford in 1785. In 1804 he entered Maynooth and, after a 
distinguished course, was ordained in 1809 by the Most Rev. Dr. Troy. 
The earlier years of his sacred ministry were spent in St. Michael's and 
Holy Trinity parishes. In an old baptismal and matrimonial register 
preserved in the cathedral, we find on the first page the following note 
in Father Connolly's handwriting : "Giraldus Connolly (anno 1809), 
Vice-Parochus St. Michaelis, donee authoritate Pontificali, aliis parochiis 
juncta fuit." In 1822 he became Parish Priest of Lismore, in 1823 
Parish Priest of Dungarvan, and in 1828 Parish Priest, Carrick-on-Suir. 
In the possession of the Very Rev. J. A. Phelan was a college document 
not only interesting in itself, but also, inasmuch as it gives us a idea of 
what our forefathers had to suffer from " Protestant Ascendancy" even at 
so late a period as ten years prior to Catholic Emancipation: — "Rev. 
Garrett Connolly's license to teach youth and keep a boarding school 
in the diocese of Waterford." 

" Richard, by divine permission, Lord Bishop of Waterford and 
Lismore, to the Rev. Garrett Connolly of the City of Waterford, Roman 
Catholic priest greeting. Whereas you have made application to us agree- 
able to the statute, in that case, made and provided for our License or 
Faculty, to teach youth and keep a boarding school in our diocese afore- 
said : We therefore, presuming you are fully competent to perform the 
office of a teacher and schoolmaster, and confiding in the integrity of 
your morals, life and conversation, do grant unto you full power and 
authority to keep a Boarding School within our said Dioceses, and to 
teach and instruct such pupils, as shall be committed to your care, 
and cause to be paid the greatest attention, as well as to the moral as 
to the literary instruction, of all your said pupils. And we do by these 
presents, nominate, constitute, and appoint you, the aforesaid Garret 
Connolly a licensed teacher or schoolmaster of our diocese aforesaid, 
during our pleasure, you having first before us, or our Surrogate, taken 
the oaths required by law in this behalf. And we do also, by these 
presents inhibit all other persons from teaching school or keeping school, 
within our diocese aforesaid, without having first obtained our License 
or Faculty for that purpose, under pain of the law and contempt 
thereof. In testimony whereof, we have caused the seal of our Consti- 



251 

tutional Court of Waterford and Lismore aforesaid, to be, hereunto 
affixed, this second day of April in the year of our Lord one thousand 
eight hundred and nineteen. 

ROBERT SHARPE. Deputy Registrar. 

RICHARD J. (Surrogate) HOBSON, M.A." 

(Added in pencil). 

" Stamp and parchment 

Fee of license & registering 



£ «■ 


d. 


1 15 





1 2 


9 


£2 17 


9 


10 


6 


£3 18 


3 



It is needless to comment of this suggestive document ! Rev. 
Garrett Connolly was succeeded by Rev. William Abraham who, eight 
years later, became Bishop of Waterford and was followed in the 
presidency by Rev. James Patrick Cooke, D.D.— 1830-1834. James 
Patrick Cooke was born in Waterford March 17th, 1801, and educated 
at St. John's College and afterwards at Clongowes, then recently opened 
by the Jesuits. His health however being very delicate, he was sent to a 
more genial climate, and lived for some years at Seville, Spain, with a 
Mr. Beck, a wealthy wine merchant, and a very close friend of his family. 
Mr. Cooke finished his ecclesiastical course at Salamanca and was ordained 
in 1826. On his return to Ireland, he was appointed professor in the 
College and succeeded to the presidency on the elevation of Dr. Abraham 
to the Episcopacy. Four years after, however, he resigned his position 
through delicate health, and for some years lived in England and on 
the Continent. 

Dr. Cooke's successor was Rev. Dominick O'Brien, D.D.— 1834-1853. 
Dominic O'Brien, the son of a freeman of Waterford, studied, took 
his degree and was ordained in Rome. In 1826 he was appointed pro- 
fessor at St. John's College and became president October, 1834. In 
the Directory of 1837, we find listed amongst the professors of the college 
the name of "Rev. Edward Barron, professor of philosophy." Father 
Barron's career was rather remarkable. He belonged to a well known 
Waterford family and was brother to Sir Henry Winston Barron, for 
many years Member of Parliament for the City. Having determined 
to renounce the world, on the advice of the Most Rev. Dr. Kelly, then 
Bishop, he went to Rome to complete his studies, and upon his return 
to Waterford he was appointed professor as above. Some years after, 
he returned to Rome, volunteered for the African Missions, and was 



252 

appointed Bishop of Liberia by Pope Gregory XVI. He was accompanied 
to his chosen field of labour by twenty priests, but such was the dreadful 
climate, that in a short time, all the devoted missionaries except the 
Bishop himself and one other member of the band had received their 
eternal reward. Subsequently, the Most Rev. Dr. Barron went to 
Savannah, Georgia, U.S., and died there from fever, September 12th, 
1854. A monument to his memory is erected in the Cathedral precincts, 
Waterford. 

Rev. Patrick Cooke, D.D., was re-appointed president — 1853-1854. 
Dr. Dominick O'Brien had become Parish Priest of St. Patrick's in 1854, 
and Bishop of the diocese in 1855. In the February of the year following 
his re-appointment, Dr. Cooke died rather suddenly at Tramore at the 
house of a friend. Dr. Cooke is still remembered in Waterford as a man 
of the most ardent piety. He was instrumental in introducing into 
Waterford, and indeed into Ireland, the popular May Devotions in 
honour of the Mother of God. Old people, lately deceased, spoke en- 
thusiastically of his sermons in the cathedral each evening during the 
month of the Blessed Virgin. He is buried at the entrance to the cathedral • 
sacristy. His little manual of May Devotions is still used in the cathedral 
and some of the churches in the diocese. The old school of the Sisters 
of Charity was erected by his numerous admirers, lay and clerical, as 
an enduring and appropriate tribute to one who during life "had in- 
structed many unto justice." 

Rev. Michael Wall (1854-1855), a native of Carrickbeg parish, was 
appointed president on the death of Dr. Cooke. He had received his 
entire ecclesiastical education in St. John's College, and was ordained in 
1841, and had filled the office of professor of classics in the college. His 
term as president was however very short. He died in Dublin, Decem- 
ber 31st, 1855, and was interred in St. John's churchyard. "This," 
says the " Waterford News" of January 4th, 1856, "was the first burial 
in the new ground connected with this church." Father Wall, by his 
zeal in the pulpit and in the confessional, appears to have trodden in the 
footsteps of his pious predecessor. "The citizens of Waterford cannot 
forget the efforts he made in the pulpit and in the confessional to gain 
souls to Christ. For ten long years, has he spoken to the people of St. 
John's parish of eternal truths, endeavouring to convince you that one 
thing alone was necessary, your eternal salvation." — "Waterford News" 
(Obituary sketch). 

Rev. Patrick Geary, D.D. (1856-1858), succeeded. Dr. Cleary was 
born in Dungarvan, and finished his ecclesiastical course at the Propa- 
ganda, Rome, where he received his doctorate. Some years after his 
ordination he was appointed professor in the College, and finally president 



253 

in 1856. He resigned the presidency in 1858, and died curate in 
Kilgobinet. 

Rev. Patrick Delaney (1858-1873) became next president. Patrick 
Delaney was educated at St. John's College, and ordained at the Ursuline 
Convent by the Most Rev. Dr. Foran in 1855. He was appointed 
president in October, 1858. By the year 1 867 the venerable ' ' old college , ' ' 
in the Manor, which, during nearly sixty years had sent, from out its 
hallowed walls, so many generations of labourers to all parts of the vine- 
yard of the Lord, had lapsed in a state of considerable dilapidation 
and decay, and the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien determined to erect another 
college more worthy of the diocese. This really formidable task was 
confided to, and brought to a most successful issue by, the young and 
energetic president. Speaking of the old institution in which he had 
spent so many years of his life as student, professor, and president, the 
Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien in his pastoral of 1868 says : "The number of 
students is now four times what it was, when we were a student fifty 
years ago, and it was always a great inconvenience, that a great number 
should be excluded from its walls, and obliged to live dispersed up and 
down through the city exempt from regular discipline. For this reason 
and also, because the lease of the ground on which the college was built, 
had expired, we come to the resolution of building a new college, &c." 
In the early part of the year 1868 plans were obtained from the famous 
architect, George Goldie, and having been submitted to a public com- 
petition of builders, they were finally entrusted for execution to Mr. B. 
M'Mullan, of Cork, the builder of Thurles Cathedral and SS. Peter 
and Paul's, Cork. On Tuesday, October 27th, St. Otteran's Day, 
the foundation stone of the new St. John's College was laid by 
the Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, attended by the city clergy, the students, 
and several of the laity. In less than three years the beautiful 
structure was complete, and in September, 1871, the students were 
admitted to its cloisters and halls. The entire cost of the college 
was estimated at about £23,000. In a few years, however, this large 
sum was contributed by the generosity of the Bishop, priests, and people, 
aided by the remarkably successful efforts of the present Dean of the 
diocese, Monsignor Flynn, who collected in the United States over 
£4,000. In February, 1873, Dr. Delaney resigned the presidency and 
was succeeded by Rev. Dr. Geary.. 

James Vincent Cleary, a younger brother of a former president, 
was born in Dungarvan in 1829. At an early age he proceeded to Rome 
to pursue his ecclesiastical studies, but after a few years he came to 
Maynooth and entered the philosophy class there. Having finished 
with great distinction his ordinary course he was sent to the University 



254 

of Salamanca. There he remained till March, 1854, when he was ap- 
pointed professor of St. John's College. Some years afterwards he 
obtained the degree of Doctor of Divinity at the Catholic University, 
Dublin, after a very brilliant thesis which secured him nomination as one 
of the theological examiners of the University. In February, 1876, he was 
appointed Parish Priest of his native town, by the Most Rev. John Power, 
and in 1881 he was consecrated in Rome Bishop of Kingston, Canada. 
A few years before his death the see of Kingston became an Archbishopric. 
The Most Rev. Dr. Cleary died February, 1898, aged about seventy years. 
Dr. Cleary was noted for his piety, learning, and eloquence. His sermons, 
pastorals, and addresses were alike remarkable for their thorough 
acquaintance with sacred scripture, their theological depth and accuracy 
as well as for their eloquence of style, and it is not too much to say 
that Dr. Cleary possessed, in no small degree, the rare characteristics 
of an orator. For eighteen years he fought with marked success the 
battle of the church and schools against most powerful adversaries, 
and on the occasion of his death the Canadian press — unsympathetic as 
it was, for the most part, with his religious and educational views — 
bore eloquent testimony to the zeal, learning, and administrative powers 
he displayed during his strenuous episcopate. The beautiful sanctuary 
lamp in the college chapel is the gift of Dr. Cleary to the institution he 
loved so well. 

The following "summary" written by Dr. Cleary just as he became 
president, gives a good idea of the internal working of the college at 
the time. "Number of students: — Boarders, seventy-five; externs, 
three ; total, seventy-eight. Divided according to classes — Theologians, 
thirty-five ; philosophy class, eighteen ; classics, ten ; English school, 
fifteen." In the English school, five were preparing to enter upon their 
clerical course, three were preparing to return to secular life, and seven 
were lay boarders. A few months afterwards the lay school dissolved 
and St. John's became a purely ecclesiastical college. Lay professors, 
however, still continued to teach in the college, and as late as 1878 
Mr. E. Hogan, M.A., taught classics. Amongst the lay professors two 
at least deserve special mention, viz., Mr. Slattery, brother of the late 
chairman of the National Bank and of Father Slattery, O.S.F. Mr. 
Slattery became professor of political economy in Queen's College, Cork, 
and finally president of that institution. Another lay teacher was 
Thomas O'Hickey, professor of Irish and Irish scribe. 

Rev. Pierse Power (1876-1881) succeeded Dr. Cleary. During the 
last year of Father Power's presidency the number of students rose to 
nearly one hundred and thirty. This was without precedent in the 
history of the college, and for a few years the house in the college grounds, 



255 

at present occupied by the Franciscan Sisters, was utilized to accom- 
modate the students. Rev. J. A. Phelan (1881-1888) was named 
president on the promotion of Father Power in 1881. Joseph Austin 
Phelan was born in the city of Waterford. He was educated in Carlow, 
St. John's College, and Maynooth. Having completed his course as a 
Dunboyne student he was appointed Dean and Professor in the "old 
college." Soon he became principal of the University School in Stephen 
Street, which for many years was the only Catholic high school in the 
city. During his long connection with this institution "Father Joe," 
as he was familiarly called, besides imparting the necessary knowledge, 
spared no pains to instil into the minds and hearts of his young pupils, 
those principles of truthfulness, honour and manliness, of which he him- 
self was the embodiment. In 1876 he was appointed professor of 
dogmatic theology in St. John's College, still however retaining his con- 
nection with the college school. In 1888 he was appointed Parish 
Priest of St. Peter and Paul's, Clonmel. He died in October, 1891, at 
a comparatively early age, deeply regretted by priests and people. 

Rev. Roger O'Riordan (1888-1889). Roger O'Riordan was born 
in Burncourt, Clogheen. After a very distinguished course in Maynooth 
while a student of the Dunboyne establishment he acted pro tern, as 
one of the college Deans, during absence of the Rev. James O'Kane, 
the well known rubricist. Father O'Riordan was appointed to St. John's 
College in September, 1871, and after a remarkably successful career 
as a professor, succeeded Father Phelan as president in 1888. His term 
of office, however, was very short. Never of very robust health, in the 
early summer of 1889, he contracted a severe chill and died at his native 
home, September of the same year. 

Towards the close of the year 1889 Rev. William Sheeny was ap- 
pointed president and Rev. William Walsh, vice-president, by the 
Most Rev. Dr. Egan. Fathers Sheehy and Walsh had been attached 
to the college since 1879 and 1881 respectively. In November, 1902, 
Canon Sheehy was appointed by the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan, Parish 
Priest of Ardfinnan, Co. Tipperary. Canon Sheehy was succeeded by 
the Vice-President, Rev. Dr. Walsh. In January, 1911, the latter was 
appointed Parish Priest and V.F., Lismore, and was succeeded by 
Rev. Denis Whelan, D.D., who had been a member of the college staff 
since September, 1887. 

There are at present (September, 1912). in the college above one 
hundred intern and a few extern students. Of these about one-fourth 
are studying for the diocese of Waterford, a few for other dioceses in 
Ireland, and the remainder for foreign missions. 

The college library contains some rare books and manuscripts in 



256 

the Irish historical department. The earliest benefactor of the library was 
Rev. Paul Power, Parish Priest of St. Patrick's, who died in 1793, and 
bequeathed to the college in trust the library of the Jesuit house of 
Waterford, of which he was the last representative. The theological 
section was much augmented by the libraries of Most Rev. Dr. O'Brien, 
Rev. Martin Flynn, P.P., V.G., Rev Dr. Cooke, Rev. Dr. Ryan, &c, 
while the section of general literature has been enriched by the large 
collections of Very Rev. J. A. Phelan, Rev. Nicholas Phelan, P.P., 
Dunmore, who before his death in 1886 transferred to the college 
the very valuable library of his brother, Richard Phelan, M.D., 
Graigenamana, Co. Kilkenny. 



III. — Good Shepherd Convent. 

The Religious of this community devote themselves in a special 
manner to the instruction and conversion of penitent women. 

The convent proper for the use of the Religious is entirely separated 
from the Magdalen Asylum by courtyard, garden, and wall, so that the 
sisters, excepting those who are appointed to instruct and superintend 
them, never see or speak to the penitents. The sisters on duty with the 
penitents replace one another from time to time, all coming to the convent 
for the performance of the different community exercises. 

Separating the asylum from the convent is a double door leading 
from the cloister which is kept locked and opened only when the 
sisters are passing through on duty to the class. Of the Religious 
employed with the penitents, the first Mistress has the charge of all that 
concerns them ; she it is who receives them on entering the asylum, 
and provides for them in all their wants. Once admitted, they are 
treated with gentleness and charity. Outside the sacred tribunal of 
Confession they are not permitted to make any allusion to their past 
life, either to the Religious or amongst themselves ; they are encouraged 
to look onward by prayer, hope, and confidence in the mercy and good- 
ness of God. They are kept constantly at laborious laundry work in 
strict silence which is only interrupted by the recitation of the Rosary 
and other prayers, the singing of the litanies, pious hymns, &c. They 
are allowed to converse with one another for an hour after dinner every 
day and again for an hour after supper. In order to give them every 
encouragement to continue in penance they are classified into three 
divisions. The first consists of those who are determined never to 
leave the asylum, but wish always to lead a retired penitential life ; 
these are dressed in brown and wear a silver cross on the breast ; they 
make annual vows which they renew on the feast of St. Mary Magdalen. 



257 

The second degree includes the consecrated penitents, who are dressed 
in black, and like the Magdalens renew their consecration on the feast 
of their Holy Patroness, the 22nd July. The third division includes 
those enrolled in the Sodality of the Children of Mary. These good 
penitents are a constant help and a source of great edification by their 
good example to their young and newly arrived companions. 

The Religious responsible for the penitents are always with their 
charges to watch over their behaviour ; the penitents render to the sisters 
due respect and obedience, honouring them as persons who hold in their 
regard the place of the Saviour, and who co-operate with Him in the 
salvation of souls. 

The number of penitents in 1858 was thirty-two. This number 
increased very much in succeeding years until it reached ninety, but, 
owing to the dilapidated and almost uninhabitable condition of the 
asylum in Hennessy's Road, the total during later years had been on an 
average only about seventy to seventy-eight. Now. that a new and 
commodious asylum is open to them, it is to be hoped that many who 
are wandering will come there to seek shelter and protection. 

The Industrial School, a short distance from the convent is also 
worked by the sisters of the community ; it is a fine large building in 
cut-stone dressings, and capable of accommodating about two hundred 
children ; the average number, however, is one hundred and forty to 
one hundred and fifty. The children live in the school day and night 
from the time of their committal until officially discharged on having 
attained the age of sixteen years. The course of education is practically 
that of the National schools ; the grown girls devote some hours daily 
to domestic and industrial work. Considering the poverty and evil 
surroundings from which those children are taken their conduct is on 
the whole fairly satisfactory, and, although sent out to service while 
yet young (sixteen), they are generally successful, and with some few 
exceptions get on very well. 

The Good Shepherd Convent, Waterford, originated from the zeal of 
the Rev. Timothy Dowley, C.C., and the Rev. John Crotty, who inspired 
by the Divine Pastor, founded an asylum for penitents, June 18th, 1842. 
This was governed by two matrons under the direction of these worthy 
priests. When, on 22nd July, 1849, the Rev. T. Dowley was named 
Parish Priest of Rathgormack, Rev. John Crotty undertook sole charge 
of the asylum with the intention of confiding it later to the care of the 
Good Shepherd Religious. For several years Father Crotty laboured 
to maintain and protect the poor penitents. With true charity he 
constantly toiled to obtain laundry work for their support and to 
enable him to receive all those who came to him seeking conversion, 
shelter and protection, 



258 

At last five sisters came to take up the work ; they arrived in Water- 
ford on the 1st April, 1858, and were warmly welcomed by Father Crotty 
who, with true fatherly care, endeavoured to render their privations 
and labours as light as possible. When the sisters first came the asylum 
was situated in Barrack Street. The house was entirely unfit for con- 
ventual purposes, but Father Crotty procured for the community the 
abandoned convent in Hennessy's Road which had been formerly occu- 
pied by the Presentation Nuns. The good priest ever continued to 
encourage the sisters in their labours and difficulties until he was 
appointed Parish Priest of Powerstown, Clonmel. To the Rev. Timothy 
Dowley are due the conception and erection of the asylum, but the 
Rev. John Crotty was the real founder and first benefactor ; he it was 
who brought the Religious, founded the convent, and, while he lived, 
he was instrumental in maintaining the great work so productive of 
happy and fruitful results. 

The sisters of this house and all the Religious who compose the Good 
Shepherd Order follow the rule of St. Augustine and are bound to the 
recitation of the divine office. They are under the jurisdiction of the 
Bishop of the diocese, and subject besides to the government of a 
Superioress-General residing in the Mother House of Angers, France, 
who has charge of the whole congregation and makes the visitation of the 
different houses of the institute once every six years. Under her are 
Provincial Superioresses who make a visitation of the houses in their 
province once in two years. The present Mother Provincial resides at 
Limerick, and the houses of her province include Watcrford, Cork, 
New Ross, and Belfast. 

Mother Mary of St. Magdalen of Jesus Crilly was the first Superioress 
of the Waterford house, to which she had been sent by the Mother- 
General from Angers, with four other sisters in March, 1858. Since then, 
for practically forty years, she continued to govern this convent, being 
duly re-elected and installed at the expiration of each term of her office. 
Many and varied were the difficulties which she had to encounter during 
the early years of the foundation, but Providence never failed to come 
to her assistance. After God, it is owing to her wise administration, 
vigilant and untiring care, aided by the constant efforts of the sisters, 
that the works of the community have extended and flourished. 

When first the sisters came to Waterford they numbered only five, 
and had but a small house in Barrack Street. Here were already lodged 
thirty-two penitents, but the place was not large enough for half that 
number. It was besides devoid of the ordinary and necessary articles 
of furniture, &c. Many and severe privations had to be borne, but the 
latter did not prevent the young community from the faithful fulfilment 



259 

of their holy rule. The piety and fidelity of the community were most 
remarkable and God blessed their work every day more and more. 
Wry soon numerous kind friends and benefactors came to their aid, 
so that ere long they had sufficient means to rent the large convent 
in Hennessy's Road, which had formerly been occupied by the Presenta- 
tion Nuns. Washing and needle-work came in abundance and countless 
kind friends contributed generously towards the good work. The com- 
munity soon increased to double its original number. Everything 
prospered, but there was one great drawback — want of suitable grounds. 
However, before long the community became owners of a small field 
and garden contiguous to the convent. 

A little later, on the passing of the "industrial School Act," an 
application was made and granted that its provisions be extended to 
Waterford. Accordingly the late Sir John Lentaigne, then Inspector 
of Industrial Schools in Ireland, came in April, 1871, and certified as 
an industrial school a house near the convent ; this, however, was soon 
found to be too small to accommodate the large number of children seek- 
ing admission. The children numbered by this time one hundred and 
twenty, and the Superior was in great anxiety as to a suitable site for 
a larger school. For this end she got the community to make a Novena 
in honour of the Most Blessed Sacrament, with the result that the sisters 
obtained possession of the old college of St. John and also of the 
adjoining demesne land. The disused college was in a ruinous state and 
quite unfit for human habitation ; it was, however, soon demolished and 
on its site was commenced the building of the present St. Dominick's 
Industrial school, which was finished in the beginning of 1878. 

The growing work of the community required more sisters, but there 
was no room for them in the old house, so the Superior purposed 
building the present new convent. A Magdalen Asylum was also needed. 
On the 30th March, 1892, the work was commenced, and on the 31st May 
following the foundation stone was laid by the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan ; 
the present fine building was finished and the community installed 
therein on the 24th October, 1894. On September 20th, 1901, the 
foundation stone of the convent church was laid, and on December 
15th, 1903, the sacred edifice was blessed and dedicated to the Sacred 
Heart by the Bishop. 

In conclusion it may be of interest to put on record that Messrs. 
Goldie and Child, London, were architects of the industrial school, and 
Mr. James Moran, Waterford, builder, while Mr. Byrne, Dublin, and 
Mr. J. Heame, Waterford, were architect and builder respectively, of 
the new convent. 



260 

IV. — Christian Brothers' College, Waterpark. 

This establishment is at present only in its development. It was 
initiated some twenty years ago under Brother James Thomas Hayes as 
a branch of the Mother House, Mount Sion, Waterford, at the instance 
of many influential Catholics in the city, who were anxious for such a 
department where their sons could receive a collegiate education. The 
accommodation for the collegiate classes being very limited in Mount 
Sion it was felt desirable to remove them to more commodious quarters. 
Accordingly the brothers, after some enquiry, found a suitable place, 
then in the market — Waterpark, the residence of James P. Graves, 
Esq., J. P., timber merchant, who was going to live elsewhere. This 
residence, which is beautifully situated on the bank of the Suir, close to 
the People's Park, was purchased by the brothers, who after some 
necessary alterations in the building removed thither the nucleus of 
their college from Mount Sion. The opening of Waterpark College took 
place on the 29th August, 1892, under the auspices of his lordship, the 
Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan, who was graciously pleased to express his warm 
approval of the project. The college has at present about one hundred 
and seventy students, and their record at the Intermediate, Royal 
University, and other examinations was so highly satisfactory that his 
lordship, the Bishop, felt justified in stating at the distribution of prizes 
to the Waterpark students in October, 1894, that — he could say with 
truth the establishment had jumped at once from infancy to manhood. 
The college so far has no endowments and is supported by the students' 
fees, and the results earned at the public examination. The accommoda- 
tion afforded by the present building is found inadequate for the 
increasing number of students. It is, therefore, in contemplation to 
erect on the grounds in the near future, a collegiate building commen- 
surate with the educational requirements of the city. 

After twenty years of existence Waterpark now holds a brilliant 
record of successes in Intermediate and University work, and the great 
number of its past pupils who hold honourable and leading positions 
in life shows that the hopes and aims of its patron and founders have 
been amply fulfilled. The intermediate distinctions won by the college 
comprise : — fifty exhibitions, four medals for first places, forty-nine book 
prizes, twelve special composition prizes in English, Latin, and modern 
languages. University distinctions include : — three exhibitions, three 
scholarships, and special prizes in modern languages. Other distinctions 
are : — one scholarship in the Royal College of Science, Dublin, and 
seven second division clerkships. 

To promote a spirit of piety among the students a branch of the 
Sodality of the Sacred Heart has been established in connection with 
that of the parish church of St. John's, and an annual Triduum or short 



261 

Retreat is beld in the college, the fact that several of its ex-pupils 
have been raised to the dignity of the priesthood is a matter that affords 
special satisfaction to those interested in the progress of the college. 
The college is also well represented in the secular professions, many of 
its alumni having become lawyers, dentists, civil engineers, doctors, and 
captains in the mercantile marine. 

Of late years the college has been severely handicapped owing to 
the great decrease in the intermediate grants, but still under great 
difficulties a large staff of competent teachers has been maintained. 



V. — De La Sali.e Training College. 
This college, which is under the management of Most Rev. Dr. 
Sheehan, Bishop of Waterford, is conducted by the Brothers of the 
Christian Schools, for the training of young men, both religious and 
secular, as teachers under the National Board of Education. The 
college was begun September, 18S8, in the old Newtown residence, as 
a house of studies, but was officially recognised as a training college, 
September, 1891, the first manager being Most Rev. Dr. Egan, Bishop 
of the diocese. The new buildings were commenced February, 1892, 
and finally opened on July 16th, 1894. by his Lordship, Dr. Sheehan, 
Bishop of Waterford and Lismore, accompanied by Dr. Brownrigg, 
Bishop of Ossory. The De La Salle Training College was founded 
entirely by the Order of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, and greatly 
encouraged by Sir Patrick Keenan, then Resident Commissioner, and 
by most of the members of the National Board, if not by all. At present 
the college is licensed to register two hundred students ; (he college 
staff consists of eighteen masters and professors. The chaplain is re- 
sponsible for the religious knowledge of the students. Certificates- 
first, second, and third class — are issued to students on conclusion of 
this training course. 
Chaplains :— 

Rev. James Mockler, 1894-1903. 

Rev. P. Power, 1903-1907. 

Rev. E. Nagle, S.T.L., 1907-1908. 

Rev. M. Crotty, 1908. 
The principal benefactor of the college was Sir Patrick Keenan, 
Resident Commissioner of National Education, at the time of foundation 
of the institution. He seconded in a whole-hearted manner the efforts 
of Brother Justin to get the college recognised by the State as an 
institution for the training of teacher>. Sir Patrick Keenan died in 
1895. The architect of the building was Mr. William Byrne, Dublin, 
and the builder was Mr. George Nolan, Waterford. 



262 

VI. — Convent of St. John of God. 

The religious congregation of St. John of God was founded by the 
Most Rev. Dr. Furlong, Lord Bishop of Ferns, in the year 1871, for 
the service, in hospitals and in their own homes, of the sick and dying, 
At present the sisters have charge of several hospitals and poor schools 
throughout the dioceses of Ferns and Ossory, also a home for old ladies 
and poor women in Wexford. The community in this diocese was 
established b}' the Most Rev. Dr. Sheehan, Bishop of Waterford, in 
the year 1893. Six sisters came from the Parent House, Wexford, on 
the 14th of August to Ozier Bank House in St. John's Parish. His 
lordship said Mass for the sisters in their little oratory on the Feast of 
Our Lady's Assumption and gave them a warm welcome on the part of 
the citizens of Waterford. On the 25th September the Bishop appointed 
Sister Mary Peter Dooley first Mother Superioress, and Sister Mary 
Gabriel Healy, Assistant. Since the sisters came to Waterford they 
have been constantly in attendance on the sick and dying in their own 
homes throughout the city and surrounding districts. They have also 
charge of the female National school, St. Alphonsus Street. 

As the cottage at Ozier Bank was small and the site unsuitable 
for a convent, a house and plot of ground were bought at John's Hill 
from Mrs. Sarah Courtenay. This house formed the nucleus of the 
present convent. The sisters came to John's Hill on 30th November, 
1893, and soon Mother M. Peter found that to meet the growing needs 
of the community, it was necessary to make structural changes and to 
build a large addition to Mrs. Courtcnay's house. The improvements 
carried out by Mother M. Peter extended over a number of years, and 
before the end of her term of office in 1902 she had the happiness of 
seeing the convent complete in every detail. 

In 1894 the sisters got charge of the fever hospital and since that 
time five of their number have died in the discharge of their duty there. 
A small school was opened in two private houses in St. Alphonsus' Road 
in 1897, and in the year 1900 their present schools were built. The 
sisters took up duties, as matrons, at the Holy Ghost hospital in January, 
1900. 

The congregation is under the authority of the Bishop of the diocese, 
and is guided in all matters of importance by him. 

Mother M. Peter, the first Superior, continued in office from 1893 to 
the Pith September, 1902, when she was succeeded by Mother M. Assumpta 
Mockler. After six years Mother Assumpta was succeeded by the present 
Superior, Mother M. Otteran Sheehan. 



VII.— Holy Ghost Hospital, Waterford. 
By Royal charter (15th Aug., :*6 Hen. VIII) it was ordained that 
there be in the City of Waterford established an hospital or almshouse 
for the poor of Waterford on the site and in the buildings of the sup- 
pressed Franciscan Convent of that city. The persons in occupation 
of the almshouse were to be the master, brethren, and paupers of the 
Holy Ghost Hospital. The hospital itself was founded by Patrick Walsh, 
merchant of the city. Henry Walsh, son of the founder, was appointed 
first master and, by the charter quoted, it was ordained that the heirs 
of the said Patrick Walsh, with the consent of the mayor and bailiffs, 
and four of the senior members of the City Council, should have authority 
from time to time for ever to elect to the said hospital three or four secular 
priests to celebrate Mass in the hospital. These priests were to constitute 
the "brethren." At least sixty indigent persons were to be supported 
in the hospital, who were to constitute the "paupers." It was ordained 
by the charter that the master, brethren, and poor of the hospital con- 
stitute one body corporate for ever, with right to acquire, in fee-simple, 
property to the annual value of £100. The endowment of the charity 
was for the good estate of the benefactors of the said hospital and for 
the souls of Patrick Walsh and Catherine Sherlock, his wife, (Sic. By 
the charter it was, moreover, enacted that the heirs of Patrick Walsh, 
with the consent of the mayor, bailiffs, and four senior aldermen, 
should have power to appoint a master as often as it should seem 
to them expedient, and that the master, together with the heirs 
of Patrick Walsh, with the advice and consent of the mayor, &c, 
should have power to make rules for the government of the house and 
might appoint the brethren and poor. Tastlv, by the charter it was 
enacted that "the master, brethren and poor for the time being might 
have power to receive and accept and also might have and enjoy all 
manner of oblations and obventions of all and singular men dwelling 
within the hospital aforesaid and the entire precinct of the said 
late monastery and the great garden to the said house ajdoining, 
parcel of the possessions of the said late monastery, and also 
might have authority to bury and grant sepultures for all men choosing 
to be buried within the precinct of the place aforesaid and to 
administer all manner of sacraments or sacramental rites, to all men 
residing in the said hospital." The original charter is in the Record 
Office, Dublin. On the suppression of the Franciscan Monastery, 
Waterford, Patrick Walsh obtained by purchase possession of the 
monastery itself and some portion of its circumjacent land and buildings. 
Whether Walsh bought the property to save it to charitable purposes 
or acquired it for his own gain and afterwards, moved by qualms of 



264 

conscience, converted it in the way above described to charitable use, 
we have no evidence now to say. By other letters patent of the 36th of 
Henry VIII., the King, in consideration of £151 13s. Ad., Irish money, 
paid him by Henry Walsh, granted to the said Henry Walsh, the master, 
brethren, and poor of the hospital aforesaid the "entire house, site, sept, 
ambit, and precinct of the late monastery .... and the entire 
church, belfry, dormitory, hall, cloisters, and cemetery of the said late 
monastery .... also all castles, messuages, edifices, lands, 
tenements, rents, reversions, services, and hereditaments whatsoever 

and one acre of meadow near the Pill of Dunkyl in the County 

of Kilkenny, &c." By letters patent of 26th June, in the twenty-fourth 
year of Elizabeth, the Queen ratified and confirmed the foregoing and 
empowered the body corporate of the hospital to hold further property 
not exceeding the annual value of £26 13s. Ad. The Oueen also remitted 
to them and their successors all actions, &c, which she might have against 
them by reason of any alienation made to them by Thomas Warren, 
late of Bristol, and I.ctitia, his wife. 

Before the close of the seventeenth century all the members of the 
Walsh family seem to have left Waterford and settled in Spain or in some 
part of the Spanish dominions, and, from 1687, they seem to have ceased 
to interfere in the management of the charity. In 1672 the Municipal 
Corporation elected Alderman Henry Seagar as master in place of Andrew 
Lyn, discharged, and in 1684 they elected Thomas Christmas without 
nomination by the heirs of Patrick Walsh. In 1687 Mr. Robert Carew 
was nominated by Patrick Walsh, described as heir of Patrick Walsh, 
and his appointment was ratified by the Corporation. After the death 
of Mr. Carew, the then mayor was appointed master. The Municipal 
Corporation in 1735 passed a resolution, that Nicholas Walsh, then 
residing in the Canary Islands, was the lawful heir of Patrick Walsh, 
the founder, and offering, on his paying £50 (a legacy which his father 
left to the hospital) and a further £50 from himself, to give him an in- 
strument in writing declaring the right of nomination of master to be 
in him and his heirs. On June 29th, 1736, it was resolved that a deed 
then read allowing Nicholas Walsh right of nominating should pass the 
seal. This right, however, neither Nicholas Walsh nor his successors 
ever exercised. Henry Mason was appointed master in 1728. On Mason's 
resignation in 1746 Alderman Thomas Barker was appointed. Mr. Carew 
in 1770 alleged that he had been nominated master, but by a resolution 
of 20th January the Council declared that no such nomination had been 
proved. On July 29th, 1818, the Municipal Corporation requested 
Mr. Newport, then acting as master, to continue to act as such till a 
regular appointment from the heirs of Patrick Walsh be certified. Samuel 



265 

King was appointed master un the death of Mr. Newport, and in 18124 
Mr. Samuel Newport was appointed master in succession to Samuel 
King. A popular agitation was in 1832 got up in the city relative to 
the management of the charity, of which the outcome was that in 1833 
the Commissioners appointed to enquire into the state of the Municipal 
Corporations in Ireland made a report, after enquiry, on the condition 
ccc, of the charity. The following is the substance of the report : 
The objects of the charity were old women, of whom there were then 
fifty (all Catholics) in receipt of relief ; thirty-eight of them lived in the 
hospital and the remainder outside. The hospital itself was a decayed 
old building. There were more applicants for admission than the master 
could admit ; £1 per quarter was given to each of the fifty persons 
and half a barrel of coals. The paupers formerly got {1 10s. per quarter, 
but about 1821 the payment was reduced to £1. There was an 
accumulation of £548 odd arising from savings which was to be used 
in re-roofing the hospital. The rental of the property of the hospital 
(consisting of lands and_ houses in Waterford, and small property in Bristol 
and the Utiles of Kilmahill) was {311 3n. \0\d. late currency. The 
leases were generally for forty years. They were renewed every fourteen 
years at a small advance in the rent. A considerable part of the property 
had been reclaimed from the river by the tenants and built on by them, 
and from £30,000 to £40,000 had been expended by the tenants on the 
Adelphi property on the faith of expected renewals. 

In 1834 John Harris was appointed master. He died in 1850 and 
Mr. Thomas Meagher was appointed. Mr. Meagher resigned in 1855 
when Matthew Slaney was nominated. The rental (annual) of the property 
in 1878 was £1,632 12s. 9d. The inmates of the charity have always 
been Catholics, and up to 1878 they had always, or nearly always, been 
females. At the instigation of Matthew Slaney, Patrick Francis Power, 
as nominal plaintiff, petitioned that owing to the changed circumstances 
of the charity and its largely increased income its entire constitution 
and management should be revised and a scheme framed for carrying 
revision into effect. The prayer of the petitioner was acceded to and 
a new Board of Governors under a new scheme appointed by fiat of the 
Lord Chancellor. Under the new scheme also the present Holy Ghost 
hospital buildings were erected within the south-western liberties of the 
city. The old hospital which occupied the front and nave of the 
Franciscan Abbey was pulled down and the street in which it stood 
was greatly improved. 

Preserved in the new Holy Ghost Hospital are several curious 
wooden statues of great age, together with an oil painting and a small 
silver chalice which belonged to the old hospital. There is also a curious 



effigy in stone of the head of John the Baptist , this was formerly re- 
garded with great veneration, not only by the inmates of the hospital 
but by the citizens generally. The painting referred to is probably 
over three hundred years old and is possibly the altar piece of the old 
conventual church ; the chalice, which is very small, bears the inscrip- 
tion : "Galfridus Fanninge, me fieri fecit in Honorem Beatae Virginis 
Mariae, London, anno 1640.' 



267 



St. Patrick's Parish. 



St. Patrick's parish, as at present aligned, embraces the ancient St. 
Patrick's and St. Stephen's parishes, together with portions of Holy 
Trinity and St, Peter's. As lately as 1902 the parish was enlarged by 
transference thereto, from Holy Trinity parish, of the present clergy 
house of St. Patrick's, together with the three adjoining houses to the 
east. At the same time some compensation was made to Holy Trinity 
by transference to the latter of the house, numbered 35, Barronstrand 
Street. Early in the eighteenth century St. Patrick's parish was for 
administrative and pastoral purposes united to St. Olave's, at that time 
in possession of the Jesuits. Henceforth, to the suppression of the 
society, St. Patrick's continued a Jesuit church, the Fathers acting as 
parochial clergy with the local superior as Parish Priest. The present 
St. Patrick's is the oldest parochial church in Waterford, dating from the 
last quarter of the eighteenth century. Attached, is the ancient Jesuit 
residence, now used as a teacher's house. Attached to the church also, 
at the other end, is an almshouse — the Carew charity — in which 
thirteen poor women find a home. In addition to lodging each inmate 
receives a sum of £3 per annum. The charity dates from 1754 and owes 
its origin to Mr. Lawrence Carew, of Cadiz (the donor of a silver reliquary 
and a silver crucifix to Holy Trinity Church) whose grandson and repre- 
sentative, Mr. Michael Langton, of Cadiz, is the present patron. The 
directors of the charity created by the will of Mr. Carew are the represent- 
atives of Mr. Peter St. Leger and the Parish Priest of St. Patrick's, for the 
time being. On the death, in 1884, of Rev. P. Kent, P.P., St. Patrick's 
was made a mensal parish, administered by a senior curate, till the year 
1902 when Rev. William O'Donnell was promoted thereto as parochus. 
The parish has three schools, scil. :— a female National school and a 
Christian Brothers' boys' school in George's Street, and a large monastery 
National school (St. Stephen's) in Stephen Street. 

The Sacred Heart Association was formally established in St. 
Patrick's parish in 1890 by Fathers Lennon and Roche of Enniscorthy, 
and the League of the Cross by Father Quigley in 1893. In addition 
to the foregoing there is attached to the church a Pious Association of 
the Holy Family. 



SUCCESSION OF PASTORS. 

In 1704, Rev. Edmond Everard, then aged forty-five years, and 
ordained in Portugal by the Archbishop of Broga, twenty-two years 
previously, was registered as Parish Priest of St. Patrick's. At the 
same date Rev. Anthony Martin, aged thirty-eight and ordained at 
Antwerp, was Parish Priest of SS. Michael and Stephen's, and Rev. 
John Higgins, S.J., Parish Priest of St. Olave's. 

Some years subsequent to 1704 — probably on the death of Father 
Everard — we hnd Father John Higgins Parish Priest of SS. Patrick's 
and Olave's. Father Higgins appears to have died in 1732 and to 
have been succeeded, as Parish Priest of the two united parishes, by 
Rev. Francis O'Neill, S.J., whose tenure of office extended only to 
1734. 

To Father O'Neill succeeded Father Ignatius Roche, who retained 
the parish till 1742, when he gave place to the best known and remembered 
of the Waterford Jesuits- -Rev. John St. Leger. Father St. Leger was 
a native of Waterford— a member of a very influential city family, 
whose city residence, "The Blue Bell," in High Street, has long since 
degenerated into a tenement house. He died, June 1st, 1783, aged 
sixty-nine years, and was buried in the family tomb in St. Patrick's 
graveyard. 

Father Paul Power succeeded and held the pastorate till 1790. 
During his tenure of office the society was suppressed and he, with his 
fellow members of the community, Revs. J. Lanigan and James Duan, 
became secularised. 

Rev. John Barron, also a "suppressed" Jesuit, replaced'" Father 
Power and survived till 1798. On his death he bequeathed the library 
of the house to the Bishop in trust for the society, should the latter 
ever be restored to its house in Waterford. 

Rev. Francis Hearne, D.D., was the next pastor. His career reads 
like romance. Forgotten amongst his kith and kin at home he is re- 
garded by Belgium as one of her most illustrious men. His claim to 
a place in the Belgic Valhalla lies in the impetus which he gave by his 
poetry to the resuscitation of the Flemish tongue. The greater part of 
his life was spent in Louvain as a professor in one of the colleges of the 
world famed university. He was also a Canon of the Cathedral and finally 
he became Rector of the Irish College of Louvain in succession to another 
distinguished Waterford man, Rev. John Kent, D.D. Dr. Hearn was 
specially famed for his knowledge of languages. He not only wrote, 
but spoke with fluency, English, French, Italian, Irish, Spanish, German, 
Flemish, Arabic, and Russian. During his vacations he managed, 



staff in hand and knapsack on back, to tramp practically the whole of 
Europe, from Madrid to Moscow and from the Bosphorous to the Baltic. 
An end came to Dr. Hearn's literary life in Louvain when the Revolution 
broke out in the Belgian provinces of Joseph II. He returned to Ireland 
about 1799 and was appointed by Dr. Hussey to the pastorate of St. 
Patrick's, worth at that time, according to Castlereagh's memoirs, 
about £116 per annum. He survived only two years and is buried in 
the cathedral precincts where his tombstone bears the inscription : 
"Hie Jacet Reved 1 " 4 Franci^cus Hearn, doctrina. erga pauperes charitate, 
omnique virtutum genere, conspicuus, parochiam Sti. Patricii pastorali 
zelo gubernabat ; obiit 22 Oct., a.d. 1801. Aetat 54." 

Rev. Dr. Hearn was succeeded by Rev. Francis Ronan, S.T.L., 
who was translated to this pastorate from the pastoral charge of 
SS Michael's, Stephen's, and Peter's. He died at Tramore in 1812 
and is buried in Drumcannon. 

On the death of Father Ronan the boundaries of the parish were 
re-arranged, SS. Olave's, Peter's, and Michael's being incorporated in 
Holy Trinity, and St. Stephen's being united to St. Patrick's. Rev. 
Thomas Power was placed in charge of the new St. Patrick's, whether 
as parochus or vice-parochus is not quite clear. Father Power died in 
1817 and is buried in old Ballygunner. He had as assistant in 
St. Patrick's, Rev. Patrick Kearney, and, towards close of his term of 
office, Rev. Martin Flynn. Rev. Edmond Wall succeeded, and had as 
curates during his ten years' occupancy of the parish Revs. P. Morrissey, 
E. Brennan, P. Gaffney, P. Fogarty, P. Burke, Thomas Dixon, and 
Walter Wall. 

Rev. John Sheehan was appointed Parish Priest in 1828 and had 
as curates during his incumbency Revs. Maurice Coleman, J. Burke, 
and M. Burke. Father Sheehan died in 1854. 

Rev. Dominick O'Brien, D.D.. succeeded, but owing to his pro- 
motion to the episcopate held office only one year. He appointed as 
his successor, Rev. Patrick Kent— like himself a citizen and freeman 
of Waterford. Father Kent's tenure of the pastorate was a long one— 
from 1855 to 1884. 

From the death of Father Kent in 1884 the pastorate lay in abey- 
ance and the parish was in charge of an administrator. Rev. Thomas 
Dowley, till 1902, when Rev. William O'Donnell, Administrator of 
Holy Trinity Within, was promoted to the pastoral charge. 

For the succession in the partially incorporated old parish of 
SS. Michael's, Stephen's, and Peter's see under Holy Trinity Parish 
antra. 



270 

ECCLESIASTICAL ANTIQUITIES, &c. 

Scarcely anything survives of the old Lazar House of Waterford 
on which St. Stephen's Church depended. The ancient cemetery attached 
has a few inscribed tombstones, and there are a few fragments of ancient 
masonry. St. Stephen's Well is now built over and filled in ; before 
the introduction of waterworks a subterranean aqueduct carried a supply 
of water from this well to a hydrant at top of New Street. At junction 
of Stephen Street with Patrick Street was another well — St. Patrick's ; 
this was finally filled in only a few years since ; it is described as nearly 
thirty feet in depth. There are, by the way, no remains of old 
St. Patrick's Church, though cut stone mullions, &c, that once belonged 
to it will be found embedded in the present churchyard wall to rere of 
the houses in Carrigeen Lane. St. Patrick's cemetery is specially 
interesting, containing many memorials of old Waterford families and 
of the city clergy of the later Penal times. 

Among the altar plate of the church is a gilt Remonstrance stand 
bearing the following inscription in cursive hand on the under surface 
of base: — "Ecclesiae Parochiali S tL Patritii Watcrfordiae dono dedit 
Rev dus. D j oannes $ Leger, an. 1776.'' 



RELIGIOUS HOUSE. 

There is only a single monastic establishment in the parish ; this 
is St. Stephen's, the residence of the Brothers of the Christian Schools 
in charge of St. Stephen's National School, Stephen Street. 

In October 1887, on the invitation of the Rev. Joseph Phelan, then 
president of St. John's College, and during the episcopate of Most Rev. 
Dr. John Power, and his coadjutor, Dr. Pierse Power, the Brothers of 
the Christian Schools (locally known as the De La Salle Brothers) opened 
a National school in the old building in Stephen Street, which had been 
used previously as a secondary school. 

The school was originally a Protestant grammar school. It was 
afterwards purchased by the Catholic Bishop of Waterford and used as 
a college in connection with the Catholic University, Dublin. At a 
later date it was an intermediate school, under the presidency of the 
Rev. Joseph Phelan. This intermediate school was very well known 
in its day, and was attended by about one hundred and twenty pupils 
who paid high fees. Some of its past pupils hold high place to-day in 
the literary world, v.g., David Moran of the "Leader" and his brother 
James, Edmond Downey, Thomas Marlowe of the "Daily Mail," &c, &c. 

The first Superior, who was at the same time principal of the school, 



271 

was Brother Patrick. In the following year he went to the Brothers' 
College, Hong-Kong, where he died soon after. The following brothers 
since then have filled the position of Superior : Brother Paul, who is 
at present principal of the De La Salle College, Armidale, New South 
Wales ; Brother Joseph, now in the De La Salle Institute, New York ; 
Brother Fridolin, who is in charge of a school in Sydney ; and Brother 
Stanislaus, who is assistant to the Provincial of the Irish District. 
Brother Gall, the present principal of the school and Superior of the 
community in Patrick Street, was appointed in 1906. 

From September, 1888, until August, 1897, the Stephen Street 
Brothers formed part of the community at Newtown — first in the old 
building known as Newtown House, and afterwards in the De La Salle 
Training College. From August, 1897, until August, 1908, they formed 
a community apart, and lived in Newtown House. In August, 1908, 
the brothers went to live in their present monastery in Patrick Street. 

School was held in the old college school building in Stephen Street 
during eleven years until its demolition in the summer of 1898. In 
August, 1898, the new school facing Stephen Street was opened. It 
was built at a cost of about £3,000. About half of this was given by the 
Commissioners of National Education, and the other half by tin- 
brothers. The building was erected under the direction of Brother 
Thomas, fit. A., B.F., president of the De La Salle Training College, 
the builder being Mr. George Nolan, of Waterford. This was probably 
the first National school in Ireland built on the "separate class-room" 
plan— a plan which is now prescribed for all new schools. The site of 
the school building is mainly the playground of the old college 
school. For portion of this ground a rent of £12 18s. 6<i. is paid to 
the Waterford Corporation, and for another portion a rent of £1 10s. is 
paid annually to the trustees of the Waterford Baptist Church. 

In the year 1908 the brothers purchased an adjoining property 
known as Usher's Arch. Here the community erected two new buildings, 
viz. :-— a school for the smaller boys and a residence for the community. 
This ground is also subject to an annual rent of £22. Both buildings 
were erected by Mr. G. Nolan, under the direction of Brother Thomas, 
at a cost of about £4,500. This money was borrowed by the brothers 
from a local bank, "and they are paying the debt oh gradually. The 
brothers' residence is a commodious, plain, well-ventilated building 
containing a private chapel. 

From the time the school was opened until the year 1895 the average 
attendance was about three hundred. Since then the numbers have 
been increasing steadily as the following statistics will show :— Average 
attendance for the year 1895 two hundred and eighty-seven, lor 1904 



272 

three hundred and eighty-two, for 1910 five hundred and eighteen. 
The success of the school is seen, not only in the increase of numbers, 
but in the official reports- which have always been the highest obtain- 
able—of the Education Board. The pupils have also been very 
successful at the public examinations — notably the King's Scholarship 
Examination. The curricula of the seventh and eighth standards 
embrace a full secondary school course. The staff of the school at present 
consists of fourteen highly qualified trained teachers, all of whom have 
had considerable experience in Ireland and England, and some on the 
Continent, and in America. 



ERRATUM. 

Succession of pastors in Dungarvan, as given at p. 119, is obviously 
impossible ; the writer had conflicting accounts before him and, at the 
time, there was no means of harmonising them. From evidence since 
procured, however, he now (though not entirely without misgiving) 
offers the following as the true order and list of pastors : — 

Rev. Francis O'Ouinn, a well known Irish poet of the first half 
of the eighteenth century, was Parish Priest o[ Dungarvan, according 
to an Irish MS. in the R.I. A. O'Ouinn's rhymed and witty epistles 
to his brother poet, James Power of Graigonagower (Searmif iu\ Spotuv), 
have never been published though scholars are acquainted with them. 
There is a copy in the British Museum and a cotemporary, illustrated 
copy, which once belonged to Maurice Lenihan of Limerick, is in the 
possession of a Waterford priest. One would never suspect from Father 
O'Ouinn's humorous productions that the writer at the time he wrote 
was liable, under the Penal Laws then in force, to transportation as an 
unregistered priest, and very likely to worse, as a Regular. Father O'Quinn 
was probably the immediate successor of Thomas Brown, and the immed- 
iate predecessor of Garret Christopher (died 1767). The alleged Fathers 
White and Fraher are doubtful quantities ; the writer got their names at 
second, or third, hand — from a priest who states he found amongst the 
old people some traditional memory of them. Father Ryan, who died 
in 1787, may have been, and probably was, the immediate successor 
of Father Christopher. Father Buckley, who had been curate to Rev. 
Francis Lane, in Carrick, succeeded Father Ryan in February, 1787, 
and held the pastorate for eight years. On Father Buckley's death, 
in 1795, Rev. Dr. Keating was transferred from St. John's to Dun- 
garvan. Fourteen years later Dr. Keating was translated to Cahir 
and Rev. John Walsh (transferred from Tallow) collated in his stead. 



274 
OMISSION. 

RELIGIOUS HOUSES, Tramore Parish (See page 204, antea.) 

I. — Sisters of Charity. 

For an account of the foundation, &c, of this convent in 1866, 
see the Life of Mary Aikenhead. The schools taught by the community 
were not placed under the jurisdiction of the National Board till 1882. 
Since then excellent educational results have been attained. Rev. 
Nicholas Phelan, Parish Priest of Passage, who died in 1887, was a 
generous benefactor to the convent. Having, by death of his brother, 
Dr. Phelan of Graigenamanagh, inherited a considerable fortune, he 
bequeathed a portion of it to the Sisters of Charity for their own use, 
the requirements of their schools and the benefit of the poor. 

The Sodality of Children of Mary, attached to the convent and 
numbering one hundred and forty members, has been a powerful influence 
for good in the lives of the young women of the parish. A Sodality of 
Christian Mothers, likewise promoted by the community and directed 
from the convent, has been remarkably successful in its mission. An 
addition to the convent was made in 1888 when increased accommodation 
was provided for the sisters and a workroom for a small band of girl 
needleworkers. The product of the girls' labour is disposed of at "The 
Repository," Main Street, a building given rent free by Mr. P. Power 
of Pembrokestown in 1891. 

II. — Christian Brothers. 
The Christian Brothers' Monastery, Tramore, dates from July, 
1867, when it was founded by Rev. Nicholas Cantwell, P.P. Father 
Cantwell first erected the schools at a cost of £800 and free cartage 
of materials and then applied to the Superior-General of the Order for 
a staff of teaching brothers. The Superior was not able to send brothers 
at the time and the schools were consequently opened in connection 
with the National Board. Later, however, that is in 1867 as above 
stated, a bequest of £2,000 for the foundation was made by Mr. William 
Carroll and this led immediately to the establishment of the Tramore 
community. On arrival of the brothers Father Cantwell made over 
the new school buildings to them and school was opened with an attend- 
ance of two hundred pupils. An additional bequest of £1,000 by Rev. 
Nicholas Phelan, mentioned above in connection with the convent, 
has since enabled the brothers to provide themselves with a suitable 
residence. 



CAS//£Z. 




OSSORY 



9-2 60 ,-i ■■■ 60 



61 , 66 



67 \ 68 \ 73 



»So,„ 



f 



51 ( 50 



^ 



R.BLACKWATBR. 



2 i 3 




DlOCese Of fpATEAFOBD 
jya> L/SMOjRB 

Sfiow/ng 'Ancient parishes. 



INDEX TO MAP. 



DIOCESE OF LISMOR] 



1 


Lismore. 


2 


Tallow. 


3 

5 


Kilwatermoy. 


Kilcockan 


6 


Aglish 


7 


Kilmolash. 




Affane. 


9 


Modeligo. 




Lickoran. 


11 


Wliitechurch. 


12 


Ardmore (in p; 




Grange 




Ballymacart 


I) 


Kinsalebeg 




Clashmore 


17 


Ringagoona 


18 


Colligan 


19 




lOa.Kilrush. 




Kilgobinet {in 








Stradballv 


2.'! 


Ballylaneen 


25 


Kilrossenty. 


26 


Seskenanc. 


27 


Rathgormack. 


28 


Mothel. 


29 


Rossmire 


30 


Monksland 


31 


Kilbarrymeada 


.12 


Dunhill. 


33 


Newcastle. 


34 


Guilcagh. 




Clonegam. 


:;r, 


Fenoagh. 



38. Dysert. 

39. Kilsheelan (m parts) 

40. KiUaloan. 

41. St. Mary's 

42. Inislounaght (in parts). 

43. Kilronan. 

44. Newcastle. 

45. Molough. 

46. Neddins. 

47. Tullaghmelan. 

48. Ardfinnan. 

49. Rochestown. 

50. Ballybacon. 

51. Tullaghorton. 

52. Shanrahan. 

53. Templetenny. 

.v.. Wliitechurch. 

56. Cahir. 

57. Mortlestown. 

58. Outragh. 

59. Derrygrath. 

60. Rathronan (in parts). 
01. Kiltegan. 

62. Donoghmore. 

63. Mora. 

64. Baptist Grange (in part 

65. Lisronagh. 

66. Kilgrant. 

67. Templetney. 

68. Kilcash. 

69. Garrongibbon. 

70. Grangemockler. 

71. Templemichacl 

72. Newtown Lennon. 

73. Kilmurrv 

71. Carrick-on-Suir. 



DIOCESE OF WATERFORD. 



Kiln 



idan. 



Lisnakill. 

Killotteran. 

Trinity (Without) 

Kilbarry. 

Kilburne. 

Kilronan. 

Reiske. 

Island Kane. 

Kilbride. 

Drumcannon. 

Monamintra. 

Kilcaragh. 

Trinity (Within). 
St. Patrick's. 
St. Stephen's. 



P. 


Kill St. Lawrence. 


Q- 


St. John's Without. 


R. 


Ballinakill. 


S. 


Ballygunner. 


T. 


Kilmaleague. 
Rathmoylan. 


V.' 


Carbally. 


W. 


Killea. 


X. 


Kill St. Nicholas (in parts 


Y. 


Kilmacomb. 


Z. 


RossduH. 


AA 




i;i; 


Crooke. 


cc 


Faitlilegg 


IV. 


St. Michael's. 


V. 


St. Peter's and St. Olave' 


VI. 


St. John's (Within). 



INDEX. 



INDEX. 



Page. 

Abbeyside, parish of .... .... .... 1 

Abigal, Abby or Abina 137 

Abraham, Bishop, xiv, 50, 79, 122, 158, 195, 

196, 197, 207, 245, 251 

Affane, par. of 166 

Affine, Johannies .... .... .... 177 

Aglish, par. of xviii, 4, 166 

Ahearne, Rev. David 170 

Ahearn, Fr. Thos., O.M 216 

Ahena, otherwise Kilklispeen .... 67 

Ahem, Fr. Didecus, O.M 64 

Aidan, St. (Mogue) .... .... .... 61 

"Aighneas an Pheacuig," &c 38 

Aikenhead. Mother Mary, Life of, 111, 222 

Albert, Sister Jane Francis of St 195 

Almshouses (Clonmel) .... .... 86 

Amberhill xil 

Anchor, of Lismore .... .... .... 157 

Anderson, Fr. Jas., O.S.A 128 

Ange de St. Joseph, Sister M. of .... 236 

Anglim (or Anglin), Father 77 

„ Patk., O.S.A. 128 

Rev. C 203 

„ Thos 148 

Annals of Ireland (Clynn's) .... .... 62 

Anselm, St., Sister M. of 236 

Anthony, Sr. M. Magdalen 243 

"Aphormisal Discovery, the" .... 99 

Archdeacon, Fr. Barth. O.M 5, 216 

Ardcollum, old par. of.... .... .... 27 

Ardfinnan. par. of .... .... v, 10 

Ardmore, par. of v, xvi, xviii, 14, 18S, 208 

Ardogina .... .... .... .... 89 

Augustine. St., Patron of Abbeyside 1 

Augustinian Priory of Abbevside .... 2 

Cahir" 33 

Aungier, Br. M. 165 

Bacon, Fr. Jno. 63 

,, Thos., O.M. 
Bailey's Lane Chapel .... 
Baldwin, Fr. Leon., O.M. 
Rev. John .... 
liallinameela, par. of .... 
Ballinaneesagh Cemetery 
liallindoney 
Ballingeary 
Ballinroad, par. of 
Ballingowan 
Ballybacon, par. of 

Ballycahane 

Bally clerihan, par. of .... 

Ballycraddock .... xx, 

Ballycurren, land purchased at for 

Convent .... .... .... .... 127 



110, 215, 216 



180 



Page. 

Bnllvdrenan Church ruin .... .... 26 

Ballyduff, par. of xix, xx, 19, 30, 175 

Ballygunner, ,, .... xviii, 172, 237 

Ballyharrahan, tnld. transferred to 

Dungarvan par .... .... 118 

Ballvlaffan, early ch. site at 26 

Ballylaneen, par. of 186, 190 

Ballylegan, early church 33 

Bally looby, par. of xviii. 20 

Ballymacadam, old church .... .... 33 

Ballymacart, par. of .... .... .... 188 

Ballynacourty 1 

Ballynakill, old par. of 237 

Ballyneal, par. of 27 

Ballynoe, par. of 48 

Bally patrick, early ch. site .... .... 149 

Ballyporeen, par. of 30, 75 

Ballysaggart, chapel-of-ease at .... 154 

Ballysheehan, old church .... 76, 78 

"Pattern" at 75 

Baptist dedication to the xix 

,, , Grange, 180 

,, , Sr. M. of B. Sacrament .... 196 

Barker, Thos. 264 

Barnwell, Fr. Patrick Christian .... 242 

"Barron Bequest" .... .... .... 122 

Barron, Bishop 246, 251 

Fr. Bonav.. O.M. vii, 105, &c. 

Mr. Edw-ard 190 

,, of Faha 122 

Father, S.T 233, 234, 268 

,, James of Clonmel .... 115 

Pierce 123 

Rev. Michael 241 

Barry, Fr. Dominick, O.P 221 

,, Michl., O.M 216 

Bartholomew, St. .... .... .... 58 

Bazaar, Dominican, of Waterford .... 220 

Beaty, Fr. Jno. 216 

Beauregard, Saulnier de .... .... 40 

Bellew, Rev. Paul ix, 208 

Benedictines (St. John's) 241 

Bergin, Fr. J., O.M 110 

Bewley, eccl. remains at 8 

Bianconi, Mr. Chas 86, 115 

Bigger, Francis J 226 

"Black Friars" 210 

Blake, Bishop, Dromore 84 

Blanche of St. Mary, Sr 236 

Bleenaleen 27 

Blessington, Countess of .... xi, 13 

Blind men help Cistercians 49 

"Blue Bell," the 268 

Boher-na-Naomh 168 

Book of Lismore 157 



Boulger, Rev. Wm. 



Page. 
... 27 
... 122 
... 03 



Browden. Fr. Florent, O.M 

Boylan, Fr. Thos. Pius, O.P. .... 218 

Boyle, Fr. Thos. F., O.M 6, 210 

Brady, Fr. Leon f>4, 216 

Bray.Archbp . Fr.Thos., O.M. xi, xiii, 99, 109 

,, Fr. Edmond. OM 109 

„ P., O.P 221 

Brays of Clonmel 97 

Brenan, Archbp. .... vii., viii, 13 

Brennan, Rev. E 240, 209 

Broderick, Br. Francis 122 

Brogan, St 184 

Bronze Bell, Portlaw 175 

Brown, Bishop, Elphin 88 

Browne Fr, L., O.M. 04 

,. P. ,. 215 

„ Richd., O.M 108 

Rev. Wm., 73, 130, 208, 237, 239, 
[240 

., J 6 

Brown, ,, Thos 119, 273 

Brnnnock, Father .... .... .... 27 

Buckley, Fr 273 

Rev. Michael, of Cork .... 77 

. „ „ Tim 183 

Burgess, church ruin at .... .... 26 

Burgo, Fr. Joannes De, O.M 214 

Burke, Cath. & Thos., of Tullahea .... 149 

„ Fr. M.F., O.M. 110 

,, Thos., O.P. .... 220, 246 

Rev. Alex 191 

,, Father 22 

,, Jno 194 

Burke Asylum 60 

,, Rev. Michael 12,30,81,91,94,111 
113 114 

„ P. 30, 269 

„ Theobald 204 

„ Thos 7, 11 

,, Tobias 7. 138 

„ Wm 142, 181, 191 

Richard, Esq 117 

Sr. M. Austin 117 

Burncourt, par. of 30, 74 

Butler, Archbp. Christopher xi, 149 

,, Charitv, Waterford 226 

,, Fr. Bon., O.M. 63 

„ Rev. Edwd 181 

,, Jas 148 

Butlers of Cahir 97, 102 

Butler, Sr. M. Joseph 84 

,. Syra 114 

Butlerstown, par. of xx, 225 

Bvrne, Rev. Patk 2, 104, 194. 198 

' „ Sr. M. Thos. of A 83, 85, 89 

Byrn, Rev. Pierce 191 



Cahill, Rev. Dr 

Sr. M. Berchmans 



JO, 238 



Page. 

Cahill, Wm 127 

Cahir, par. of 11, 32 

Cani, Bishop, Rockhampton .... 57 

Cannon, Rev. Rich 21 1 

Cantred of Danes vi 

Cantwell, Rev. Xich., .... 20 1. 205, 210 

,, Thos., of Clonmel 112 

,, Walter 12 

Canty, early church site .... S 

Cappoquin, par. of .... .... .... 35 

Carbally 204 

Carbery, Andrew 128 

Fr.. O.P 220 

The Mi*is 122 

Carew, Charitv 207 

,, L., of Cadiz 267 

Robt 204 

Carrickannre .... .... .... .... xix 

Carrickbeg, par. of ■ 58 

Carrick-on-Suir, par. of .. x, 65 

Carriglca House 134 

Carrigtohally ... .... .... .... 32 

Carrigvisteale 30, 76 

Carroll, Rev. Jno 141 

Carthage, St., v, 8, 154, 168 

Casev, Rev. Dan 91 

„ ,, Jno., 10, 20, 173. 190, 145 

,, Matt 75, 77 

„ Mich 7, 91, 145 

Peter .... 118. 120, 145, 189 

,, Rich 151, 182 

,, Thos 50, 191, 192 

,, Sr. M. Joseph, 159, 160, 163 

Sr. M. Stanislaus .... 126 

Cashe), Revenues of See distributed, viii 

Catechism, Doctrinal, Moral, &c 36 

of Montpellier .... .... ix 

Castle Blake, old church of ... xviii, 180 
Castlegrace .... .... .... .... 26 

Castlehaven's Memoirs 49 

Cataldus, St 78 

Cecilia de S. Esprit, Sr . . 236 

Celtic Crosses : — 

Ahenna 07 

(Patrickswell 82 

Celsus, St 154 

Chalice of Ivory .... .... .... 242 

Charteris, Lady Margt. 32 

Cheasty, Fr. Wm., O.P 217 

Chenevix, Bishop 213 

Children of Marv, Clonmel Ill 

Christian Bros. „ .... 114, 121 

Executive .... 231 

Christianity' preached in Decies .... 14 

Christmas, "Thos 264 

Christian, St 139, 151 

Christopher, Rev. G 118. 119, 27:'. 

Church Building. Impetus to .... 9 

Churchtown (Dvsert) 60 

Cill Breac 21 

Cilleens .... .... .... xv 

Cistercians. Mt. Melkrav .... :!."> 



278 







Page. | 




Page. 


Clancy, Bp. of Kilfenora 




.... 151 


Corcoran, Rev. P 


.... 127 


Rev. John 




118, 119 


Cormack, Rev. Geo 


... 183 


Thomas ... 




.... 172 


Cormac McCarthy 


... 154 


„ M 




7, 188 


Costelloe, Fr. Jno., O.P 


.... 217 


„ P 




.... 216 


Rev. Richd 


145, 190 


Clarendon, Viceroy 




viii 


Costin, Rev. P. 


.... 176 


Clasheen-an-Aifirinn .... 




.... 68 


Cott. Mr. Nich. 


.... 79 


Clashmore, par. of 


... v, xvi, 72 


Courtmartial on Cath. soldier, 


xii, xiii 


Cleary, Bishop, 120, 127, 197 


220 


253, 254 


Creighton, Fr., O.P 


.... 248 


Fr. FeUx, O.M. 


181 


240, 216 


Crilly, Sr. M. Magdalen 


.... 258 


„ Patk., D.D. 




.... 252 


Coyle, Br. Jerome 


.... 232 


Clearys of Ballyneale .... 




.... 27 


Craddock, Roger 


v, vi 


Cleary, Sr. M. Vincent 




.... 235 


Creagh, Bishop .... xi, x. xi 


, 80, 209 


Clergy, their social status 




xvii 


Cremens, Rev. J. 


.... 7 


Cloc-na-Comraighe 




.... 184 


Croke, Archbp. 


.... 220 


Clocully, Synod at (?) 




.... 13 


Cronin, St. (otherwise Mochua) 


.... 72 


Clodiagh River 




xix 


Crooke, par. of 


.... 172 


Clogheen, par. ot 




xvi, 74 


Crosbie, Sr. M. Evangelist 


.... 57 


Clonea, " .. 




1, 184 


Crosier of Lismore 


.... 157 


Clonegam 




xx, 175 


Cros, Mother 


.... 134 


Clonmel parishes 


79 


&c, &c. 


Crotty, Rev. Jno. 91,173,174 


257, 258 


Clynn, John, Annalist 




.... 62 


„ Rev. M. C 


.... 246 


Coan, St. 




.... 184 


Sr. M. Bega 


.... 134 


Cody, Rev. Bnt 




5 


Crowley, Br. J. A 


.... 165 


Coffey, Rev. Pierse 




2, 7, 205 


Cuddihv. Fr. P., O.M. 


107, 11U 


Coghlan, Rev. Jas. B. 




.... 21 


Cullen, Sr. M. Joseph 


.... 57 


Coining in Waterford 




vi 


Cullinan, Fr. E., O.M. 


.... 109 


Colgan, ecclesiastic of Lismore 


... 157 


Curraghdobbin 


.... 28 


Fr., O.C.C 




.... 195 


Curraghmore, Private Chapel at 


.... 175 


Coleman, Rev. Man 




.... 155 


Curran, Rev. J. 


.... 6 


Colligan, par. of 




... 137 


Sr. M. Gertrude 


.... 126 


Collins, Sr. M. J. Evang. 




.... 123 


Cullen, Card 


.... 246 


Coman, Dr 




.... 127 






Comerford, Bishop 




vii, 241 


Dagan, St 


.... 26 


Rev. Richd. 




.... 142 


Dalgairns, Father 


.... 246 


Committee of transplantation 


in 


Dalton, Fr. Chas., O.M. 100, 


107, lid 


Clonmel 




.... 99 


Daniel, Father, of Cahir 


.... 11 


Comyn, Bishop 




vi 


Jacobus, Clonmel 


.... 109 


Coolagadden 




xix 


Rev. James 


.... 169 


Coolfin 




xix 


Darcy, Rev. M. 


28, 67 


Cooney, Fr. B., O.M 




.... Ill 


David, St 


.... 17 


Rev. Thos 




.... 188 


Davis, Fr. Jas., O.M 


.... 64 


Condon, Rev. A. 




.... 138 


„ Jno. „ 


.... 110 


,, Eugene .... 19-? 


,209 


, 246, 247 


Dease, Sr. M. Eucharia 


.... 116 


,, ,, Jno 




.... 185 


De Burgo, Fr. Ed., O.M 


.... 109 


„ M 




.... 23 


De Burke 


30, 91 


„ Thos 




.... 21 


Decies, Ancient principality of 


v 


Condons & Clangibbon Bar. 




V 


Declan, St v, 14, 1 


7,82, 170 


Conell, Fr. Patk., O.M. 




63, 215 


DcCourcey, Rev. P 


6 


Confraternity of B. Virgin, of Clonmel 79 


Decoy, early church site, 


.... 82 


of Holy Name (178G) 221 


Deely, Fr. Thos., O.P 


.... 218 


Conningham, Fr. J., O.M. 




.... 215 


Dee, Rev. Jno. 


.... 28 


Connolly, Rev. Garret, 67, 


118, 


155, 209 


„ Thos., of Modeligo 


.... 168 






240, 250 


De Grandison, Sir Otho 


.... 97 


Connory. Rev. Dr 




225, 228 


Delaney, Dom Carthage 


.... 53 


Conwey, Fr. Aust., O.M. 




.... 64 


Rev. Patk., D.D., 31, 36, 67. 120 


Cooke, Memorial School 




.... 222 


148, 


246, 253 


Miss, of Waterford 




.... 224 


,, Sr. M. Immaculate ... 


.... 192 


Rev. Patk., D.D., 118, 


222, 251, 


Derrygrath, par. of 


.... 32 






252, 256 


Denn, Patrick .... 


37, 166 


Sr. M, Augustine 




.... 163 


Desmond, Earls of 


97, 127 


Sr. M. de Sales.... 




... 243 


Devany, Stephen, informer, &c. 


.... 60 





Page. 




Page. 


Devereux, Sr. M. Cath. 


.... 57 


Early Church Sites (continue 


I):— 


De Vin, Fr. Thos., O.M 


... 109 


Bally naguilkee 


2o:j 


Devonshire, Duke of 


.... 162 


Ballynattin .... 


182 


Dickson, Father 


.... 141 


Ballyneety (alias Ringaphuca) 


139 


Dillon. Sr. M. Angela 


.... 91 


Ballynevin 


ISO 


Disert (Dysert) 


.... 58 


Ballypatrick 


.... 119 


Disert Declain 


14, 16 


Ballyphilip 


136 


Dixon, Rev. Thos 172, 


209, 240 


Ballytrisnane 


. 189 


Dobbyns of Waterford 


... 210 


Ballyvoile 


.... 192 


Dohenv, Rev. J. (Sligo) 


.... 78 


Bawnfune 


171 


Doile, Fr., O.M. 


.... 03 


Bishops town .... 


.... 186 


Dolan, Fr. Jno., O.S.A 


.... 128 


Bleantasour .... 


.. 2H3 


Donegan, Fr. P., O.S.A 


.... 128 


Burncourt 


... 78 


Dooley. Sr. M. Peter 


.... 262 


Canty 


.... 8 


Domestic Economy Schools 6 


">, 70, 133 


Cappoquin 


... 37 


Dominican Priory, Waterford 


210 


Carrigeensharragh .... 


.... 182 


Donnellan, Fr. Alp., O.M 


"" ~04 


Carrigphilip 


.... 177 


Donoghmore, ancient church \ 


, 180, 182 


Clashganny 


.... 171 


Doocey, Rev. P. 


.... 246 


Cloonacogaile 


... 203 


Dovehill, old church 


.... 28 


Clonmore 


.... 33 


Downey, Hdmond 


.... 270 


Colligan 


... 139 


Dowlev, Fr. Michl., O.M 


.... 64 


Cool .... 


... 157 


Rev. Jno 


.... 135 


Coolnahorna .... 


... 186 


,, Tim. 60, 61, 246 


257, 258 


Coolnasmear 


.... 139 


,, Thos 


.... 269 


Coolum 


.... 205 


Downing, Fr. Matth., O.S.A. 


.... 128 


Crobally 


... 189 


Doyle, Fr. M., O.M 


.... 109 


Crohan 


.... 171 


Mr. Terence 


.... 69 


Curraheen 


.... 146 


Rev. J„ D.D 


.... 11 


Darrigle 


.... 177 


Draper, Anne .... 


.... 123 


Decoy 


.... 82 


Drumcannon, old church 


.... 209 


Derry 


... 168 


Drumdeel 


.... 180 


Drumlohan ... 


.... 192 


Duan, Fr. Ant., O.P 


.... 218 


Fountain 


... 152 


„ Jas., O.P 


218 222 


Fox's Castle 


.. . 192 


Uu^an, Rev. Daniel .... 


.... 66 


Garranmillon 


.... 146 


Rev. Jno 


.... 60 


Garranturton 


... 192 


Duke of lierri Assassinated .... 


.... 41 


Garrison (Cill Breac) 


.... 21 


Dullany, Fr. Ed., O.M 


.... 215 


Glenaphuea .... 


186 


Dungarvan, par. of .... xviii, 1 


118, 273 


Glenpatrick .... 


.... 186 


1 'unhill, par. of 


xx, 135 


Gortaclade (Ballvnagoach) 


.... 177 


Dunphy, Rev. Edmd 


190, 191 


Grallagh, 


.... 18 


„ PhiUp 


... 246 


Inchandrisla .... 


... 139 


,, Richd 


2, 203 


Joanstown .... 


... 186 


Dwyer, Fr. M., O.M. 


.... 110 


Keereen 


8 


Mr., classical teacher .... 


.... 13 


Kiladangan .... 


139 


Mr. Ed., Bequest of .... 


.... 126 


Kilavenoge 


.... 78 


„ Sr. M. Teresa 


.... 57 


Kilbree 


.... 37 






Kilcannon 


... 136 


Early Church Sites : — ■ 




Kilcommon 


... 33 


Adamstown .... 


.... 177 


Kilcooney 


.. . 203 


Ballindoney .... 


.... 13 


Kilcoran 


... 26 


Ballingowan .... 


.... 8 


Kilmacomma 


.... 82 


Ballydermody 


.... 136 


Kilmalogue 


,... 13 


Ballydonagh 


.... 171 


Kilmaloo 


... 73 


Ballygambon 


.... 182 


Kilmanahan 


171 


Ballygarron .... 


.... 205 


Kilmaneen .... 


.... 13 


Ballyharrahan 


.... 121 


Kilmanicholas 


.. 152 


Ballyinn 


.... 157 


Kilmaquage 


.... 205 


Ballykeroge 


146 


Kilmeedy 


73 


Ballylaffan 


.... 26 


Kilmogemogue 


177 


Ballylenane .... 


136 


Kilmogibog 


8 


Ballynafinia 


186 


Kilmolash 


82 



Page. 
Early Church Sites (continued : — 

Kilmore 73, 182, 195 

Kilmovee 177 

Kilmoylan 143 

Kilmurrin 139 

Kilnafrehan 139 

Kilnagrange 146 

Kilnamac .... .... .... .... 82 

Kilmineen 192 

Kilballvquilty 180 

KHballyboy 26 

Kilbryan 139 

Kilealf 195 

Kilcannon 136 

Kilcarton 136 

Kilcloher 8 

Kilcop 173 

Kilcullen 173 

Kildanoge 13 

Kildermody 177 

Kilderriheen 168 

Kildwan 143 

Kilfarrassv 136 

Kilgabriel' 73 

Kilgainey 26, 97 

Kilgrovan .... .... .... .... 2 

Kilheffernan 149 

Kilineen .... .... .... .... 2 

Kilkeany 203 

Killaidamee 13 

Killbrack 186 

Killclooney 186 

Killeenbut'ler 33 

Killea 152, 168 

Killeaton 78 

Killeenagh 152 

Killeigh 33 

Killelton 192 

Killemly 33 

Killerk 182 

Killinure 26 

Killone 136 

Killongford, or Shanakill 121 

Killosseragh 121 

Killowen 177 

Killune 205 

Kilmurray 13, 121, 143 

Kilnockan 18 

Kilstaige 136 

Kiltankin 31 

Kiltire 8 

Kilwinny 195 

Kincanavee .... .... .... .... 186 

Knockaturney 186 

Knockyelan 146 

Knockyoolahan .... .... .... 2 

Licaun 173 

Lodge 13 

Loskeran .... .... 189 

Loughdaheen 229 

Miltown Britton 182 

Monevvroe .... 8 



Early Church Sites (continued) : — 

Okyle 37 

Park .... 186 

Ralph 157 

Rathgormack 186 

Rehil 7S 

Ross 186 

Seemochuda 157 

Shanakill (alias Killongford) 8, 121 

Shanbally 146 

Sheheenarinky .... .... .... 31 

Smoor 136 

Templeivrick 192 

Tobber .... .... .... .... 21 

Egan, Bishop William x xi, 67, 80 

,, John .... xv, 142, 239, 261 

English, Joannes 214 

Rev. Morris 185 

„ Thos 81, 185, 209 

„ Yvm 23 

Ennis, Fr. Jno., O.S.A 128 

Eugene, Bp. of Ardmore 14 

Everard, Archbp. .... .... .... 81 

Edmond .... .... .... 109 

Fr. Jas., O.M 63 

„ Jas 215 

James 109 

,, Lucas.... .... .... .... 78 

Rev. Edmd. 268 

.. Jno 31,77 

Sir John 61 

Evening School (Girls) 223 

Evictions in 1826 4 



Fagan, Fr. Nich., Ord. Cist. . 




241 


Faha Chapel 


190 


225 


Faithlegg, par. of 




172 


Falkland, Lord (Viceroy), at Clonmel, 


105 


Famine of 1847 




199 


Fanninge, Galfridus 




266 


Fanning, Sr. M. Vincent 




57 


Farrell, Fr. Jas., OP 


'. 217" 


21S 


Rev. David 




11 


„ Edmd 




11 


Farrelly. Fr. J„ O.M 




216 


Feirchis, the poet 

Fennell, Brigid & Mary 




33 




123 


Rev. Jno 




135 


„ M 




183 


Fenoagh, par. of 


58. 6C 


Fenor, par. of 


XX 


135 


Fews, par. of 




144 


Finian, St. (the Leper) 




10 


Finn, Rev. Thos 75 


77, 146 


169 


"Finn's Leinster Journal" 




60 


Finn, Sr. M. Carthage 




163 


Fitzgerald, Bishop, Ross 


155 


220 


Charity 




226 



John Butler, of Ballindesert.Ol 
priest-hunter & spy .... viii 

Puree", of Little Island .... 238 
Rev. Andrew .... .... 205 



281 



Fitzgerald, Rev. Garret 




.... 151 


., Jas 




.... 216 


„ M 




83, 225 


,. Patk., 


21 


125, 189 
208, 211 


„ Richd. 65 


67 


209, 227 
231 


Sr. M. Gertrude .. 




.... 192 


„ Immaculate 




.... 192 


Fitzgibbon, Fr. A., O.M, 




64, 110 


Fr., O.P 




221 


Fitzharris, Fr. Laur 




.. . 212 


Fitzmaurice, Fr, Ed., O.M. 




108, 217 


Fitzpatrick, Br. T, B 




... 165 


Dom Bruno 




. . 52 


Sr. M. St. John .. 




114 


Flanagan, Sr. M. Gonzaga 




.... 134 


Flannery, Rev. Tim 




23, 81 


Rev. Thos.. 35, 30, 


79 


80, 181 


Flavin, Rev. C. J. 12. 27, 82, 


95, 


116, 117 


Fleming, Bp., Newfoundland 




.... 62 


Fr. A., O.M. 




.... 64 


,, Francis, O.M. .. 




63, 109 


.. Martin, ,, 




62, 63 



Sr. Al. 



J-.O.l 



172, 



,, P., O.M. 
Flynn, Rev. Edwd. 
,, Martin 
,, Mau. 

,, Patrick 

,, Thos, 173,208,209,21'. 

„ Wm 

Fogarty, Rev. Denis 

,, P., 46, 52, 156, 162, 

Foley, Sr. M. Peter 

Foran, Bishop, xiv, 54, 77, 87, 111, 
12(1, 150, 151, 155, 156, 158, 
199. 200, 297, 218, 222, 227, ! 
237, 243, 245, 253 

Foran, Rev. Edmd 28, 

,, Robt 

"Ford of the Chariots" 
Four-Mile-Water, par. of 
Foy, Rt. Rev. Dr. 
Franciscan Convent, Cur 
Fraher, Father 
Eraser, Bp., Halifax N. S. 
French Church 
Fridolin, Br. (De La Salle) 
Furlong, Bp., Ferns 

Rev. Thos 

Gaffney, Rev. P 

Gall, Br. (De La Salle) 
., Fr. Walter, O.M. 
Galvin. Rev. Jas. 
Galwey, Rev. Wm. F. 
Gambonsfield, old church of 
Garranbane, par. of ... 
Garrongibbon, par. of 
Garrantemple ruined church 



ihccn 



109 

136 

228, 256 

173, 185 

225, 229 

,219,269 

73, 208 

.... 32 

163, 269 

.. . 134 

119. 122. 

59, 162, 

131, 231, 

125, 189 
22, 23 



60, 269 
.... 271 
... 215 



Garrycloher 

Garrynagceragh 
Gaynor, Sr. M. De Sales 
Geoff rie, Thos., Presbyter 
Geraldine, Fr. Bon., O.M. 
Gibbon, Fr. Patk., O.M. 
Gibbons, Fr. Peter, O.M. 

Glasha 

Gleeson, Rev. Jas., D.D. 
Glenhouse 
Glenwheelan, old church 

Gobinet, St 

Gogarty, Br. Dominic, O.P. 
Gracedieu, Episcopal residei 
Grange (Co. Tipp.), par of 

(Co. Wat.), 
Grangemockler 

Green, Fr. P., O.S.A 

Grenane 

Grubbe, T. Cambridge, Esq. 

Guilcagh, old par. of 

Hackctt, Mrs., of Clonmel 
Rev. Philip 
Sr. M. Bernard 

Hackettstown ... 

Hallev, Rev. Jas 

,, Jer., 4, 119. 1 

Hallinan, Rev. Richd. 
Hanley, Sr. M. Patrick 

Hannigan, Rev. Jas 

„ Thos. 
Hannin, Fr. Dermot .... 
Harbisson, Fr., C.S.S.R. 
Harold, Fr. Ant., O.M. 
Harrington, Rev. John 
Harris, |ohn 
Hartnett, Sr. M. Joseph 
Hassett, Rev. Phil. 
Hayes, Br. Jas. Thos. 

„ Sr. M. Peter ... 
Headstones i uriouslyinscrbd. 
Healy, Rev. Pierse " ... 

,,' Sr. M. Gabriel .... 
Hearne, Rev. David ... 

,, Francis, D.D., 



Page. 



.... Ill 

... 219 

... 247 

xix 

1 17. 118 

123, 124, 

126, 129 



214 
198 
215 
183 

265 
113 
167 

260 



„ . D.D 



Hear 



i'lm 



Mr. & Mrs. Geoffrey 
Rev. Thomas .... 
,, Sr. M. Baptist 
., Joseph 
Heffernan, John & Mary 
Hendrick, Fr. Matt., O.S.A. 
Hennessy, Fr. Thos., S. |. 
.. ■■ O.M. 
Dean 
Henebrv. Rev. Robt. 
.. Richd. 





Page. 




Page 


Hickey, Cath. vidua. .... 


.... 'Mb 


Holy Wells [continued) : — 




,, ' Kev. Ant., O..M. 


.... 215 


St. Patrick's 


29, 82, 270 


,, Jno 


.... 6, 7, 191 


,, Quann's 


187 


., Lau 


76 


,, Stephen's... 


270 


Higgins, Fr. Jno., S.J. 


.... 211, 268 


,, Valiery's 


61 


High Mass (Annual) for Deceased Clergy 206 


Toberadownaigh 


31 


Hill, Fr., O.M. 


108 


Toberaheena 


3, 82 


Hogan, Fr. Jno., O.M. 


216 


Toberiosa 


. 33, 68, 146 


,, Lau. „ .... 


216 


Tober-a-Turais 


37 


,, Richd. ,, .... 


148, 204, 215 


Tober-na-Cailise 


29 


„ Thos., „ 1-1S, 


172, 215, 237 


,, Casca 


78 


Holohan, Fr. Aug., O.M. 


216 


,, Greine 


97 


Holy Cross, dedication to 


xix 


„ „ Hulla 




Holy Ghost Friary, 210, 2 


13 4c., 262 &c. 


,, mBrathar 


.... 121 


Holy Week Ceremonial 


206 


Uachta 


73 


Holy Wells : — ■ 




Honorie, Sr. M. of St. 


235 


All Saints' 


142 


Hore, Rev. Edmd 


119 


Balhnamona (St. Brigid' 


») 171 


Horsewhipping an officer 


181 


Ballinaspick 


157 


Hourigan, Fr. Ludoc, O.M. .. 


64 


Bally kennedy 


8 


House of Mercy 


71, 133 


Ballykeroge 


146 


Hudson, Mr. & Mrs. of Clonmel 


79, 112, 169 


Ballyphihp (St. Geibin's) 


.... 152 


Hughes, Sr. M. Ignatius 


235 


Ballytrisnane 


189 


Hussey, Bishop, xii, 4, 5, 181, '. 


30, 233, 249 


Caherclough 


182 


Hutchinson, Bishop 


132 


Cappoquin 


37 


Hutch, Rev. Dr 


.... 155 


Carrignagower 


157 


Hyland, Fr. Ant 


217 


Castlemiles 


.... 152 


(Holane,) Rev. J as. .. 


30, 76 


Crooke 


173 






Curraghroche 


8 


Immaculate Heart, Archconfraternity, 238 


Drumlohan .... 


192 


Inch, old chapel of 


76, 78 


Faithlegg 


173 


Industrial Training of Youth 


.... 133 


Glebe (Kilronan) 


171 


lnislounaght, par. of 


79, 82 


Holy Angels' 


177 


Innocent III, Pope 


vi 


Holy Cross 


.... 152 


Irish College (Barron's) 


191 


Kilbride 


205 


Islandkane 


xx, 135 


Kilcarron 


78 


Iveagh, Lady 


148 


Kilcoran 


26 


Ivory Chalice, an 


242 


Loughdahccn 


229 






Magherareagh 


26 


Jackman, Fr. Alp., O.M. 


210 


Newport 


152 


Janet, l'Abbc .... 


134 


St. Anne's 


.... 192 


Johnstown 


xix 


,, Anthony's 


61 


Jones, Sr. M. Attracta 


.... 114 


,, Bartholomew's .... 


72 


Josephine 


.... 132 


,, Berechert's 


.... 152 


,, ,, Justinian 


114 


,, Bernard's 


142 


Joseph, Br. (De La Salle) 


271 


,, Brigid's .... 


73, 146, 192 


Sr. M. of Jesus 


195, 199 


,, Carthage's 

,, Conlon's 


21, 157 


Joy, Rev. Jno. 


136 


139 






,, Columbcille's 


8 


Kcane, Rev. Jas. 


194 


,, Columbdearg's .... 


73 


Sir Richd., gives land for Abbey 


,, Davivi's 


7 


of Melleray 


50 


,, Forrannan's 


149 


Sr. M. Patrick- 


192 


,, Gobinet's 


139 


Kearney, Fr. Jas., O.M. 


63, 110 


„ Ita's 


142 


Rev. P 


269 


,, John's 


.... 142, 187 


„ Thos 


203 


,, Kieran's 


26 


Keating, family burial place 


.... 11 


„ Martin's 


.... 136, 177 


Fr. Ambrose, O.M. 


.... 64 


,, Mary's 


33, 146, 168 


„ Mr., of Dungarvan 


.... 52 


,, Michael's 


18, 2il 


Rev. Geoffrey, viii, 2 


I &c, 32, 33 


,, Mochua's 


73 


., Jas 


33, 77 


„ Molleran's 


61 


Maurice 


136, 241 


,, Nicholas' 


.... 182, 189 


„ Michl 


1, 33 





Page. 




Page 


Keating, Rev. Patk. .... 


31, 178 


Knockmoan, church ruin at 


9 


„ Thos,xii,33, 


119,219,248,273 


Kirby, Archbp 


195, 200 


„ Wm 


135 


Kirwan, Sr. M. Ijerchmans ... 


.... 57 


Sr. M. Benedict 


91 


Knox, Sr. M. De Sales 


.... 235 


Francis 


158, 235 


Kyle, church ruin at 


... 82 


Keeffe, Sr. M. Charles 


91 


Kyles, Killeens or Killeenachs, 


.... XV 


Keenan, Sir Patrick .... 


261 






Kells, Synod of ... 


V 


Lace-making in Lismore 


... 161 


Kelly, Bishop, xiv, 86, 125, 


128,155,210,251 


Lacy, Mrs., of ( lonmel 


111 


■ ■ Rev. Jas 


77 


Ladies' Asylum 


226 


Jno. 


108 


Lady Abbey, Ardf 


12 


Sr. Teresa, of Wexford 


Lahardan ' 


xix 


Kenelly. Fr. Richd., O.M. 


64 


Lambert, Rev. Dr., O.M. 


... 107 


Kennedy, Chas.. of Dublin 


56 


Lane, Father ... 




Mr. Edmd. 


127 


Rev. Francis 


.... 66 


Rev. Wm. (1675 


60 


Langton, Michl. 


.... 267 


Kenny, St. M. Aquin | 


158, 160, 163 


Lanigan, Bishop 


.... 78 


„ M. Paul j 


Larkin, Rev. Edmd 


170 


Kenrichton. Rev. Maurice, 


Martyr .... 104 


„ „ Jas 


170 


Kent. Rev. John 


.... ' 209, 268 


„ M 


.... 7 


,, Patk 


... 267, 269 


Law case stated for O'Conncll 


58 


Kereen .... 


8 


Lawlor, Rev. Dan 


... 155 


Keshan. Sr. M. Patk. 


235 


Lazar House of Clonnicl 


.... 97 


Kiely, Fr., O.P. 


.... 221 


Dungarvan 


.... 120 


Rev. J. M 


127 


Waterford .... 


. 270 


Kier, Rev. Edmd 


238 


Leahy, Rev. Patk 


204, 205 


Kilbarry. church ruin at, 


185, 225, 237 


Leane, Fr. John, O.S.A 


.... 128 


Kilbarrymeadan, par. of 


v. 140 


Lehane, Rev. D. 


... 155 


Kilbride, church ruin at 


205 


Leitrim, par. of 


V 


Kilbrien, par. of 


137 


Lenihan, Rev. Jno 


.... 7 


Kilburne, church ruin at 


225 


Leonard, Br 


126 


Kilcaragh, par. of 


237 


Licence to teach school 


... 234 


Kilcash, ,, ,, .... v 


ix, xi, xvi, 147 


Limerick, Treaty of 


vin 


Kildermody 


... xix 


Lincoln, E 


.... 214 


Kilgobinet, par. oi 


1, 137 


family of Waterford 


.... 210 


Kilgrant 


180 


Lingaun Stream 


29 


Kilklispeen (Ahenna) .... 


67 


Lismore, Lord 


.... 127 


Kill, par. of 


140 


prevents erectioi 


ol 


Killaloan, par. of 


117 


monument .. 


.... 77 


Killea, par. of .... 


172 


Lismore, par. ol 


.... 154 


Killone 


XX 


Lisnakill 


xx, 185 


Killotteran, par. of 


xix. 225 


Lisronagh, ,. ,, 


.... 180 


Killrossanty 


xvi, 144 


Lloyd. Bishop .... 


ix. x 


Kill St. Laurence, church ruin e 


Lodge, residence of "Buck Sheehy". 


Killure. church ruin at 


.... 237 


Logue, Card 


.... 246 


Kilmaclcague, church ruin 


it .... 205 


Loistin, the, Lismore .... 


.... 157 


Kilmeaden, par. of 


xx. 175. 225 


Lombard, Archbp. Peter, lain 


ly of 


Kilmogimogue 


xix 


Waterford 


vii. 210 


Kilmoleran. par. of 


.... 58, 60. 61 


Fr. Tlios., Ord. Cist. 


J 11 


Kilmurray, lands purchasci 


at .... 127 


Loncrgan, Rev. P 


6. 151 


Kilronan, church ruin at 


169, 170, 225 


„ P. D., O.M 


5, 6, 64 


Kilrush, par. of 


120 


,, Stephen 


23. 32 


Kilsheelan 


147 


Revs. Thos. and Francis 


O.M. 110 


Kiltegan ,, 


180 


Long, Rev. Garret 


7, 32 


Kilwatermoy 


150 


Jeremiah .... 


73 


King, Samuel 


265 


Lorctto Abbey, Rathfarnham 


116 


Kirby, Rev. Jas. 


138 


Convent, Clonmel 


.... 95 


Knockaderry .... 


xix 


Loughdaheen 


\.\ 


Knockagh 


33 


Loughloher 


:;.'! 


Knockanore, par. ol 


.... 150, 193 


Louvain. Irish Past. Coll., m 


81. 2U9 


Knockhouse, lie clesiastical assemblies at 229 


Lowry, Sr. M. De Sales 


171 


Knockmahon chapel-of-ease 


140 


Luby, Sr. M. Teresa .... 


213 



284 





Page 






Page. 


Lucas, Sr. M. Eucharia 




117 


McGrath, Sr. M. Teresa 




123, 125 


Lughaidh Mac Conn .... 




33 


McGraths of Sleady .... 




.... 127 


Lulworth, Abbey of 


39, 41 


McKenna, Rev. Jno 




65, 67 


Lupton, Rev. Thos 




88 


McLean, Sr. M. Magdalene 




.... 117 


Luther, John, Mayor of Clonmel 




115 


McLoughlin, Fr., O.S.F. 




.... 108 


Lyn, Andr 




264 


Rev. B. 




214, 216 


Lynch, Fr. Thos., O.M 




110 


McNamara, Fr. Ant., O.M. 




215, 210 


Lyons, Rev. Jno. 




183 


., P. „ 
John, informer 


64, 


215, 216 
viii, 229 


Macarthy, Father, O.M 




6 


Meagher, Rev. Ed 


21 


148, 185 


MacConnor, Suibhne of Lismore 




157 


,, P 




119, 167 


MacNamara, Fr. P., O.M 




110 


„ Wm 




.... 194 


Macreary, ruined church of .... 




28 


Sr. Dc Sales.... 




132, 134 


Madan, Abbot John .... 


186 


242 


,, Joseph .... 




.... 235 


Anastasia 




221 


Thomas 




.... 265 


family of Waterford .... 




210 


Meany, Rev. Denis 




.... 145 


Magner, Father, Jno., O.M., 110, 


214 


216 


Jno 




135, 145 


Magraths of Co. Waterford .... 




2 


„ Park., 77, 79, 


145, 


159, 166, 


Magrath, Donald 




2 






167, 197 


Maher, Bishop 




27 


Meyler, Rev. Dr. 




.... 196 


Fr. Francis, O.M 




217 


Moane, Br. J. H 




122 


Rev. Jas. 




170 


Mochua, St. (Cronin) .... 




.... 72 


Mahoney, Sr. M. Joseph 




57 


Mockler, Rev. Jas 




.... 261 


Maitland, diocese of 




81 


„ R 




24, 241 


M.dachy, St 




154 


,, Sr. M. Assumpta 




.... 262 


Malchus of Waterford 




vi 


Mocollop, par. of 




.... 19 


Malcomson, Mrs., of Portlaw 




179 


Moclaire 




.... 27 


Mandeville, Fr. Ant., O.M., 63, 


109, 


215 


Modeligo, par. of 




166, 208 


,, Bon., O.M 




215 


,, people of, aid Cistercians, 48 


Mandevilles of Clonmel 




97 


Moelettrim, Bp. of Ardmore 




.... 14 


Manning, Card. 




246 


Mogue, St. (Aidan) 




... 61 


Sr. M. Xavier 




163 


Molana Abbey 




150, 152 


Marlowe, Thomas ("Daily Mail") 




270 


Molanfidhe, St. 




.... 152 


Marmion, Sr. M. Colomba 




174 


Moleran, St 




58, 61 


Marshale, Fr. P., O.P. 




221 


Moloney, Rev. Walter .... 




.... 15 


Marfan of Lismore 




157 


,, Sr. M. Philomena 




.... 125 


Martin, Rev. A. 




268 


Molough, par. of 




.... 169 


"Mass Fields" .... 




203 


"Monastery Field," the, Boolahallagh 171 


Mason, Henry .... 




261 


Monksland, par. of 




.... 141 


"Master, the" (Rev. M. Power) 




00 


Monument to Fr. Sheehy 




.... 77 


May Devotions introduced .... 




252 


Mooney, Fr. Donal, O.M. 




98 


Maxey, Rev. M. 




2 


Rev. E 




.... 60 


McCabe, Bishop 




27 


„ M 32 


33, 


126, 198 


McCann, Rev. Jas 




138 


Moore, Count, founds., Indr. 


Sch 


.... 183 


., Jno 142 


178 


189 


Mora, par. of .... 




.... 180 


Mi Canny, Rev. N 


167 


202 


Moran, Card 




.... 246 


McCarthy, Rev. P 


66 


205 


David & Jas 




.... 270 


Sr. M. Peter 




178 


Rev. Jno. 




.... 21 


McCormack, Sr. M. Alph 




178 


„ Thos 




.... 146 


McCraith, Fr. M., O.M 




109 


,, Wm 




.... 5 


McDcrmott, Fr. F., O.M 




64 


Francis, of Clonmel 




.... 109 


McDonnell, Rev. Thos., 36, 95 


&c'.', 


203 


Moroneys of Clonmel .... 




.... 97 


McGrath, Father 




181 


Morrissey, P 




.... 126 


Fr. B., O.M 


109 


215 


Rev. D 




6, 188 


Mr. M., of Carrick .... 




70 


,, Matt 




140, 141 


Rev. C 




240 


„ P. 27, 128, 


237, 


240, 269 


,. Jno., 59, 60, 175, 


176 


178 


Sr. M. Carthage 




.... 114 


„ M 


166 


167 


Evangelist 




... 132 


„ P 14, 23 


33, 


188 


Morris, Rev. Edwd 




■ 185 
■'■■■ 80 


,, Thos., 67, 75 


77, 


156 


,, Richard .... 




Sr. M. Austin 




125 


Mortlestown, par. of .... 




32, 33 
.... 23 


Joseph 




132 


Mortuary chapel at Tubrid 





.... 234, 
.... 35, &c, 
230, 232, 



Mother, par. of 

Moylan, Bp 

Mt. Melleray .... 

Mt. Sion 

Mt. St. Joseph's, Rose 

Mulcahy, Br. Ignatius 

Rev. Nicholas, hanged 

Mulcherin, Maria 

Mullins, Fr. P., O.P : 

Mullins, Rev. J. 154, 

Mullownev, Sr. M. Teresa .... 233, 

Mulroncy, Fr. Dermott. O.M., Martyr, 
Sr. M. Francis 

Murphy, Fr. Ambrose, O.M. 

Rev. Jas., his request 
,, Roger .... 7, 50, 

,, Thos 200, 240, 

Sr. M. Baptist 

Murray, Archbp 

Rev. Jno 

Muslin Embroidery, Lismore industry, 

Myers, Mr. Jas., of Clonmel 

Nagle, Rev. E. 

Nantes, Irish Coll. of 

Nash, a spy and priest-hunter... 
Nativity of Our Lady, dedication 
Neddins, par. of .... .... 10, 

Nellie, Little, of Holy God 

Newcastle, par. of .... .... xx, 

New Chapel, par. of 

Newfoundland, Vicariate of .... 

Church of 
"New Grove" Convent 
Newman, Card. 

New Melleray, Dubuque 

Newport, Sam. 

Newtown Lennon, par. of 

Nire, the .... .... .... xvi, 

Nonan, Fr. Jas., O.M 

Norish, Fr., O.M. .... 63, 

Novitiate, Central of Srs. of Mercy .... 

O'Begley, Fr. Conor, O.M 

O'Brien, Bishop, xv, 70, 74, 77, 125, : 
140, 104, 196, 197, 207, '. 
231, 232, 242, 244, 245, '. 
253, 256. 269. 

Fr. F„ O.M. 

„ M 

Mr., of Waterford 

Murtough. church reformer, 
Rev. Francis, 36, 96, 120, 125, 

„ Jas 6, 150, 

„ M 2,6, 

O'Brien. Rev. Thos 150, 

O'Briens of Comeragh .... 2, 

Obrist, Mother M 

O'Callaghan, Bishop .... 
O'Casey, Rev. Wm. 

O'Connell, Daniel 

Rev. Tim. .... 82, 



ace. 




T\i;r 


184 


O'Connor, Fr. B., O.M. 


UU 


249 


„ R., O.M 


.. 217 


, 50 


Rev. David 


19, 20 


260 


J as 


.... 11 


52 


Jno. 


.... 145 


69 


„ M 


6, 13S 


11 


„ Thos. 


.... 67 


221 


Sr. M. Aloysius .... 


130, 131 


219 


O'Donel, Rev. Lud., O.M 


... 210 


189 


O'Donnell, Bishop 


.... 100 


235 


Br. Alph 


.... 104 


103 


Fr. Bern., O.M 


.... 215 


85 


„ Lau., O.M 


110 


61 


., Thos., O.M 


04 


126 


Rev. Denis 


194, 195 


151 


,, ,, Edmd. 173 


194. 246 


250 


„ Jno 


15. 22 


83 


,, Luke 


... 190 


45 


,, M., 2, 72, 73, 


130, 159 


185 


,, P. 


2, 22, 23 


161 


„ Wm., 80, 209 


267, 269 


114 


Sr. M. Alacoque 


.... 17S 




O'Duffv, Rev. Eugene 


21. 22 


261 


O'Dwyer, Fr. M.. O.M. 


.... 109 


SO 


O'Far'rcll, Rev. M. C 


... 155 


viii 


O'Fcrrall, Rev. Bon.. O.M 


... 216 


XIX 


O'Flaherty. Sr. M. Peter 


... 89 


&c. 


O'Flanagan, Br. J. S 


... 232 


227 


Ogham Inscriptions, Knockboy 


.... 203 


169 


O'Gorman, Rev. Jno 


74, 77 


180 


,, Maur. 


2, 130 


63 


.. Rich.. 22 


137, 138 


106 


O'Hahasscv, Rev. Phil 


14, 167 


243 


O'Hanlon. Fr. Jno., O.M 


... 10S 


246 


O'Healy, Bishop 


.... 104 


52 


O'Hearne, Rev. Mau. 


... 135 


265 


O'Hcnnessv, Bishop Nich 


VI 


65 


O'Hickcv, "Rev. M. P. 


.... 112 


202 


Thos., Irish scribe 60, 


191, 254 


216 


O'Kearnev, Rev. P 


.. . 5 


2 1 5 


O'Keefe, Fr. Jas., O.M 


04 


174 


„ Rev. M 


.... 5 




Okvle, old church of ... 


37 


217 


"Old Chapel Cross Roads " .... 


.... 72 


129, 


Old Parish, par. ol .... xvi 


i, 11, 188 


218, 


"Oliver," illegitimate children named 


25l! 


O'Meagher, Rev. P 


170, 171 




Bishop 


ix 


110 


O'Meara, Kathleen (Grace Ramsay) 54 


64 


Rev. Jno 


3, 0. 240 


69 


,, Mr 


.... 60 


vi 


,, Thos 


2. 170 


155 


„ Wm 


185, 187 


151 


Sr. M. Agnes 


.... 114 


151 


O'Moloney, Bishop, Limerick 


ix 


151 


O'Neill, Fr. Clement, O.M 


.... 64 


127 


., ,. F- S.J 


.... 208 


134 


„ Jno., O.M. 


.... 108 


220 


Rev. Jno 


67, 68, 70 


80 


,. P. 


01 


246 


Power, Mr., of Snowhill 


221 


185 


O'Neills of Ballyneil 


... 28 







Page 




Page 


O'Phelan, Abbot M 




53, 145 


Power, X. M„ M.P 126, 


223, 232 


Opus Plumorum 




.... 213 


„ Rev. D. 18, 19, 202 


O'Quin, Rev. Francis 




.... 273 


„ E 


144, 145 


O'Regan, Fr. A., O.M. 




110, 214 


,, ,, Francis, of Mavnooth, xi 


O'Riordan, Rev. Roger 




.... 255 


„ G 


.... 6 


Ormonde, Earls of 




58, 62 


„ J., 2, 33, 67, 94, 138, 


140. 141, 


Ormond, Fr. Jas , O.M. 




.... 110 


176, 193, 


212, 120 


O'Rourke, Fr. Cornel., O.M. 




.... 104 


„ M. 6, 19, 26, 27, 28, 58, 60, 


O'Ryan, Fr., O.P 




212 


67, 136, 144, 176, 177 


191, 196 


Osborne. Cath. 




"... 193 


„ P., 36. 38, 60, 65, 186 


228, 261 


O'Shca. Fr. Henrv, O.M. 




214, 216 


„ R., 14. 28. 33, 73. 


94, 136, 


Mr. Power .... 




.... 140 


141, 142, 111, 145 


209, 240 


Rev. Jas 




.... 145 


,, T. 


73, 190 


Sr. M. Augustine 




.... 57 


„ W... 67, 68 


203, 228 


O'Sullivan, Sr. Alice, martyr 




.... 91 


Sr. M. Augustine 


.... 123 


„ Agnes 




... 116 


,, De Chantal 68 


232, 235 


Outragh, par. of 




32,33 


,, De La Sales, 159, 
Gertrude 


232, 235 
... 90 


Painter, Rev. Dr., V.A. 




.... 41 


„ ,, Stanislaus 


.... 235 


Parishes, pluralising of 




xviii 


Powerstown, par. of .... 


.... 180 


Passage, par. of 


.. xvii. 


Protestant Plantation, Tallow 


.... 193 


Paterson, Mr., of Clonmel 




.... 126 


Prendergast, Archbishop 


.... 155 


Patrick, Br. (De La Salle) 




.... 271 


Family of Newcastle 


97, 103 


Patrons or Titulars 




xviii 


Father, O M 


... 214 


Patterns 




xviii 


A., O.M. 


.... 110 


Paul, Br. (De La Salic) 




... 271 


„ B 


64, 110 


Paxton, Sir Joseph 




.... 162 


„ Jas., O.M. 


107, 110 


Penswick, Rt. Rev. Dr. 




.... 87 


,, ., Jno.. ,, 


.... 107 


Peter & Paul's, SS., par. of 




.... 93 


Rev. Ed. 


73, 185 


Petition from Protestants of Carrick 69 


„ F. C 


.... 177 


Phelan, Bishop Jas 




.... 66 


„ G 


... 14 


Fr. Franc, O.M. 




.... 216 


Jas. 


169, 194 


„ Jno. 




.... 216 


,. Wm 


... 80 


Rev. Fran. Ign. 




211, 212 


Sr. M. Peter 


.... 163 


,, Jos. A., 96, 250, 255, 256, 74 


Purcell, Fr. P.. O.M. 


.... 110 


,, Jno 




166, 167 


Rev. M 73, 151 


188, 189 


,, Martin .... 




.... 5, 7 


„ P 


.... 149 


„ Nich.,xi,59,60,147,148,173,205 


„ Sr. M. Bernard 


.... 235 


„ P. 




151, 167 


Josephine 


.... 131 


„ Richd 




77, 185 






„ Wm 

Pierse, Bishop .... 

Piltown, par. of 

Plunkett, Archbp. Oliver 

Portia w, par. of .... xvi 

Poulmaleen 

Power, Bishop John, xiii, xv 




ix, 208 


Quann, Fr. Pcler, O.M 

Quarryhole, old church of 


.... 64 

180 


vii, viii 
, xix, xx, 175 

68 

36,82,83,94. 


Quealy, Rev. Thos 

Quinlan, Rev. D. 

Quinn, Fr. Jas., O.M 

„ Rev. J. 

„ Sr. M. Cath 

Quirke, Rev. P. 


.... 151 
.... 7 
.... 110 
.... 138 
125 


101, 108, 112, 113, 
140, 143, 145, 155, 


126 
161, 


127, 132, 
162,178. 


.... 202 


180, 181,206,207, 


218, 


219, 225, 






227, 230, 233, 237, 


240, 


245, 248, 


Ramsay, Grace 


... 54 






254 


Rathbreasal, Synod of 


V 


Bishop Pierse, xv, 96 


120 


, 126,254, 


Rathgormack, par. of 


184, 186 






255, 270 


Rathmore, Monastery of 


.... 45 


Dean Robert 




vii, 229 


Rathmoylan, par. of 


.... 204 


„ Fr. Aug., O.M. 




.... 110 


Rathronan, par. of 


.... 180 


„ B, O.M 




.... 110 


Reardan, Br 


.... 86 


„ Franc, O.M. 




.... 64 


Reginald's Tower, coining in 


vi 


„ Jos., O.M. 




.... 107 


Rehill. Retreat of Keating, &c, 


viii 


,, Jno., „ 




.... 110 


Reiske, par. of 


xx, 135 


Jas (Se-Ntnur- lid S^or 


a) 


.... 273 


Relig-Deaglain 


.... 37 


Lord, of Curraghmore 




vii 


,, -na-Muc 


.... 61 



Page. 



Religious Houses : — 




Round Tower, Ardmore 


Augustinian Priory 


127 


Rourke, Rev. M. 


lion Sauveur Convent 


134 


Ruined Churches : — 


Brothers of Christian Schools, 


261, 270 


Abbeyside 


Carmelite Convent 


.... 195 


Affane 


Charity, Fathers of 


182 


Aglish 


Charity Sisters of, Clonmel ... 


.... Ill 


Ahenna 


Tramore 


204, 274 


Ardmore 


Waterford 




Ballinakill 


Chr. Bros'. Monastery, Carrick 


'.'.'.'. ~69 


Ballybacon 


,, Clonmel 




Ballydrenan 


,, ,, Dungarv 


in" 121 


Ballygunner 


,, Lismore 


.... 103 


Bally legan 


Tramore 


204, 274 


Ballykillmurray 


,, Watcrford 


229, 260 


Ballymacadam 


Dominican Convent 


.... 217 


Ballysheehan 


Franciscan Convent, Carrickbeg 


.... 62 


Baptist Grange 


Clonmel 


.... 97 


Black Friars' 


Waterford 


.... 213 


Burntchurch 


Good Shepherd Convent 


.... 250 


Cahir 


Little Sisters of Poor 


.... 235 


Cappagh 


Lorctto Convent 


95, 116 


Carrickbeg 


Mercy Convent, Ardmore .... 


... 57 


Castlegrace 


Cahir, 34 


55, 178 


Churchtown 


,. Cappoquin 


.... 53 


Clonea 


Carrick 


.... 70 


Colligan 


Clogheen .... 


34, 78 


Crooke 


Dungarvan 


55, 127 


Derrygrath 


,, ,, Dunmore 


.... 173 


Donoghmore 


Kilmacthomas 


.... 143 


Dovehill 


Portlaw .... 


.... 177 


Dungarvan .... 


Stradbally 


57, 192 


Dunhill 


Presentation Convent, Carrick 


.... 68 


Drumcannon 


Clonmel 


.... 82 


Faithlegg 


Cork 


.... 88 


Fews 


Dungarvan, 123 


French Church 


Lismore 


.... 157 


Garrantemple 


Manchester, 83,37 


Grange 


Salford 


.... 89 


Grangcmockler 


,, Thurles 


.... 84 


Island Kane .... 


Waterford... 


Kilbarry 


St. John of God 


.... 262 


Kilbarn meadan 


St. Joseph of Cluny 


.... 179 


Kilbride 


I'rsuline Convent 


196, 243 


Kilburne 


Reville, Bishop 


.... 101 


Kilcash 


Kevolutionarv Convention, Franc 


: 38, 39 


Kilcockan 


Rian-Bo-Phadring 12, 33, 38 


Kilgobinet 


Rice, Br. Ed. Ign xii, 227, 


229, 231 


Kilgrant 


Ringagoona, par. of 


.... 188 


Killaloan 


Rincrew 


.... 152 


Killea 


Ring, par. of 


.... 188 


Killurney 


Rivers, Sr. M. Evangelist 


.... 85 


Kilmacleaguc 


Roberts, Mr., architect 


.... 206 


Kilmacombe 


Roche. Fr. Ignat., S.I 


.... 268 


Kilmolash 


Roche, Rev. Win 


.... 118 


Kilmurrav 


Rochestown, par. of 


1, 4 


Kilronan' 


9, 32 


Kilrossanty 


Ronane, Rev. P. 


... 137 


Kilrush 


Ronan, Rev. Francis 


... 85 


Kilsheelan 


Sr. M. Peter 


82, 123 


Kill St. Laurence 


Ronayne, Rev. P 


.... 6 


Kill St. Nicholas 


"Roseville," Convent at 


.... 117 


Kiltegan 



136 
205 
173 
146 
210 
82 



14S 
173 
148 
205 
173 



Page. 



Ruined Churches (continue'! 


:— 


Seagar, Aid. Henry 


264 


Killure 


241 


Secondary Teachers' Diploma .... 247 


Kilwatermoy 


.... 152 


Seipe^L n..\ tuVoAijice .... 
Seskenane, par. of 


202 


Kyle 


.... 82 


202 


Knockboy, alias Seskenane 


.... 203 


Sens, Cathedral, &c, of 


ix 


Knockmoan 


9 


Sexton, Father, O.P 


.... 217 


Lisnakill 


.... 229 


Rev. P. 


30 


Lisronagh 


.... 182 


Shanahan, Rev. Jno 


2, 7, 16 


Loughloher 


.... 33 


„ Wm 


75, 77 


Macreary 


.... 28 


Sr. M. Aloysius 


163 


Modeligo 


.... 168 


Shanakili 


8 


Maginstown .... 


.... 182 


Shandcn, Monastery at 


122 


Mocollop 


.... 21 


Shanrahan, par. of 


76, 78 


Molana 


.... 152 


Sharpe, Fr. Matt., O.M. 


215 


Monksland .... 


.... 142 


Shea, Fr. Jno., O.M 


.... 110, 216 


Moorestown 


.... 182 


Shee Charity 


239 


Neddins 


.... 13 


Sheehan, Bishop, 53, 112, 


33, 174, 217, 


Newcastle 


.... 177 


255, 259, 


260, 261, 262 


Newtown 


.... 68 


Rev. Jno 


269 


Okyle 


.... 37 


,, Patk. 


33, 209 


Outragh 


.... 33 


,, Man 


67, 125, 133 


Rathmoylan 


.... 205 


Sr. M. Otteran 


262 


Keiske 


.... 136 


Sheeny, "Buck" 


12, 170 


Rincrew 


.... 152 


Rev. Jno 


.... 142, 142 


Ring 


.... 187 


,, Nichl xi, 


11, 13, 76, 170 


Rochestown :... 


.... 13 


„ Wm. 7, 12 


120, 155, 255 


Rossmire 


140, 142 


Terence 


4, 6, 73 


Shanrahan 


.... 78 


Sr. M. Berchmans 


178 


St. John's 


.... 241 


,, ,, Rodriguez 


133 


„ Mary's 


.... 210 


Sherlock, Fr. Paul, S.J. 


vii 


,, Michael's 


210, 270 


Shiel, Rich. Lalor 


246 


,, Nicholas' 


.... 97 


Sillan, St 


147 


,, Patrick's 


.... 270 


Sinnot, Dmns. 


214 


„ Peter's 


210, 270 


Skcheenarinky 


30, 31 


,, Stephen's 


82. 270 


Skelly, Fr. A., O.P 


221 


,, Thomas' .... 


.... 210 


Sladen, Rev. R. 


166, 167 


Templetney 


.... 148 


Slaney, Matth 


265 


Templemichael 


.... 29 


Slattery, Father, O.P. 


221 


Templetenny 


.... 38 


O.M. 


.... 110, 216 


Tubrid 


.... 24 


Mr 


254 


Whitechurch 


.... 24 


Rev. P 


20 


Russell, Fr. S., O.M 


110, 214 


Slyne, Bishop 


32 


„ O.P 1 


15, 218, 220 


Smyth, Dom Clement 


52 


Ryan, Abbot Dom Vincent 


41, &c. 


Father, O.P. 


261 


Ryan, Father 


119, 273 


Social Status of Clergy 


xvii 


„ Fr. Jno., O.M. 


.... 63 


South Parade, Franciscan Convent .... 214 


„ Lau., O.M 


03, 109 


South Terrace Convent, Dungarvan 129 


„ O.P. 


.... 221 


Spratt, Rev. M., 


36, 150, 151 


„ P., O.M 


.... 63 


„ P 


36, 82 


„ Rev. P. 


.... 209 


Stephen of Fulburn .... 


vi 






Stone, St. Patrick's .... 


33 


Sail, Father, O.P 


.... 217 


Stritch, Rev. Thos 


ix 


„ Fr. B., O.M 


.... 109 


Stuart, Lord, of Decies 


4 


„ „ Jos., O.M 


.... 215 


"Stuart's Election" 


xiv. 4 


Sargent, Sr. M. M., 


83, 86 


SS. Peter & Paul's, par. of 


79, 93 


Satire on Myler McGrath 


.... 23 


Stanislaus, Br. (De La Salle) 


.... 271 


Saul, Fr. Bened., O.M. 


.... 215 


St. Catherine's Abbey 


211 


,, Joseph, O.M. 


.... 63 


,, John's College 


xv, 248 


„ Rev. Geoff 


.... 181 


par. of 


.... 208, 237 


Sausse, Richd., Esq 


58, 59 


„ Leger, Mr. P 


267 


Scallan, Bishop... 


.... 63 


,, ,, Rev. Jno. 


.... 268, 270 


Scrahan, former name of Mt. Melleray, 46 


Robert, S.J. 


.... 246 



St. Mary Magdalen's Church 

,, Mary's, par. of 

,, Michael's, par. of .... 

,, Mochorog's .... 

,, Nicholas' Church 

,, Olave's, par. of 

„ Patrick's ,, ,, 208, 211, 

„ Peter's „ „ 206, 

,, Stephen's ,, ,, S2, 97, 

"Stone House," Clonmel 
Stradbally, par. of 
Sullivan, Br. Joseph .... 

„ Sr. M. Jos 

Sweeny, Fr. J. B , O.M. 
Sweetman, Fr. Ant., O.M. 



Tadhg Gaodhalach 

Tagati or Tecce, socius of St. Fiach 
Tallow Lace, manufacture of 
Tallow, par of .... 
Tarentum 

Teampull-na-Plaighe 

Technical Schools 

Templemichael, par of 

Templetenny, par. of 

Templetney, ,, ,, 
Teresa, Sr. M. of Wexford 
"Think Well on it," Irish tran 

Thomas (Kane), Br 

Thornton, Br. Francis 
Tierney, Fr. Jas., O.S.A. 

Tighe, Fr., O.P. 

Titulars of churches 

Tobar-na-Ceardcan 
Tobin. Fr. Francis, O.M., 
„ Rev. John 
.. M. 
„ Patk. 

„ Wm 

Sr. M. Aloysius 

Tomb (Magrath) at Lismore ... 

Tonnerv, Rev. Edwd. 

Toomy," Fr. P., O.S.A 

Tooraneena, par. of 

Torreggiani, Bishop 

Track of St. Patrick's Cow .. 

Training College (De La Salle) 

Tramore, par. of .... : 

Travers, Fr. Robt 

Treacy, Sr. M. Clare 

Trimbleston, Lord & Lady 

Trinitarian Orphanage 

Trinity, Within, par. of 
Without „ 

Triple Chancel Arch 

Tubrid, par. of 

Tomb of Keating in .. 

Tullaghmelan, par. of 

Tullaghortan ,, „ 

Tyrell. priest-hunter and spy . 

Tyrone, Earl of 



97 

206, 211, 269 

207, 269, 270 
211, 207, 269 
111, 237, 242 
267, 269, 270 



198 



.... 193 

78 

.... 97 

09, 70 

27, 28, 150 

30, 4c„ 76 

.... 147 



38 
.... 271 

115 

128 

221 

xviii 

157 

63 

14, 32, 33, 194 

181 

... 151, 193 

235 

156 

80 

.... 128 

202 

.... 245 

33 

.... 261 
2iH. 274 
97, 109 
.... 199 
.... 143 
.... 249 

.... 225 



',', Sr. M. Joseph 
Wallis, Valentine 



Page. 



Valois, Thos., of Cadiz 146 

Vaughan, Sr. M. Bernard 178 

Veale, Rev. Jas. 141 

Vestments, Antique, in YVaterford .... 212 

Vicar, the White 190 

Vitus, Fr. Jas., O.M . 03 

Wadding Charity 65, 08 

Family of Waterford 210 

Fr. Ambrose vii, li>.~> 

,, Luke 1"5 

„ Michael vii 

Wall Family of Clonmel 97 

Fr. J., O.S.A 128 

Rev E 19, 150, 269 

J 186 

M -. 239, 252 

P 14, 60, 67, 185, 191 

" Walter .... 269 

Wm. 

.... 235 

.... 146 

Wallace, Rev. P. 6, 91, 197 

Walsh, Archbp., Halifax 227 

Thos., Cashel vii 

Bishop Robt. . . xiii, 1, 119, 128 
Patrick .... vi 

'„ Br. T. A 165 

Charity 239 

Fr. Ant., O.M. ... 102, 110 

" Helena 214 

Mr. E., of Lismore .... 102,101 

Patrick & Henry 203 

,, Richd 264 

„ Rev. Dr 123 

E 147, 148, 209 

" Jno 170, 194, 273 

' Matt '• 

, Mau. .... 135,111 

„ Michl 13° 

P. ... 2, 6, 138, 191 

", "„ R 54 

,, Robt 

„ Thos 6,31,151,240 

„ Wm 156, 2 j.> 

Sr. M. Austin 159, 103 

„ ,, Bernard 23.) 

Waterford & Lismore. extent of Diocese, vi 
Waterford Diocese, small area ol, vi 

Waterpark Convent 

Waterton, Charles 246 

Weld, Thos., of Lulworth 4H 

Wheeler, Fr., O.P --"■ --\ 

Whelan, Fr., O.M - 1 " 

Mrs of Whitehaven . 13- 

;; Re, Denis, 1,D. .... -*. 

" P ■• 36 





Page. 




Page 


Whelan, Sr. M. Augusta 


134 


White. Rev. Jas., V.A. 


vii 


Gertrude 


143 


„ Thos 


80 


Whitechurch, par. of .... 


... 21,25,208 


„ Sr. M. Angela 


247 


White Family of Clonmel 


97 


Whyte, Victor, of Clonmel 


104 


Father .... 


76 


Williams, Rev. Jas 


132 


,, Fr. Jas., O.M 


108, 109, 215 


Windgap, par. of 


58 


,, Luke 


80 


Wogan, Fr. Jos., O.M. 


. 216, 217 


,, Peter 


vii 


Woodlock, Fr. J. 


63 


Frs. Stephen & Trios 


S.J., vii 


Wyse Charity 


226 


(acobus 


214 


Wyse Family of Waterford 


.... 237 


., Rev. Dr 


119 


.. Thos . M.P 


234 



?50