(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Past and present of Pike County, Illinois"

5?r -v i 



/ LIBRARY OF THE > 
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 
AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN 




w-*CfeS$V 




PAST AND PRESENT 



OF 



PIKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS 



BY 



CAPT. M. D. MASSIE, 



TOGETHER WITH 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



OF MANY OF ITS PROMINENT AND LEADING CITIZENS AND ILLUSTRIOUS DEAD 



ILLUSTRATED 



CHICAGO: 

THE S. J. CLARKE PUBLISHING CO. 
1906 






DEDICATION 

To the good people of Pike county, old and young, 
who are proud of your homes and citizenship, and those 
of you, who knew some of the pioneers and the notable 
citizens of the past, many of you who are their suc- 
cessors and representatives, who lovingly appreciate 
the labors of the early pioneers and progressive citizens 
of the old county, for their life services in your and the 
county's interests, this work is respectfully dedicated, 
BY THE AUTHOR. 






PRBFACB. 



T 



HE publishers take pride in presenting this volume to the public. The historical part is 
the work of Capt. Al. D. Massie, of New Canton, and the citizens of the county 
are to be congratulated on his services being secured by the publishers, as no man 
in the county is better qualified for the task. A perusal of the volume will show 
that his work is well done. 

The biographical part of the work is the compilation of well qualified men, those 
long experienced in the business. They have gone to the people, the men and women 
who have, by their enterprise and industry, brought the county to a rank second to 
none among those comprising this great and noble State, and from their lips have the story of 
their life struggles. No more interesting or instructive matter could be presented to an intelligent 
public. In this volume will be found a record of many whose lives are worthy the imitation of 
coming generations. It tells how some, commencing life in poverty, by industry and 
economy have accumulated wealth. It tells how others, with limited advantages for securing 
an education, have become learned men and women, with an influence extending throughout 
the length and breadth of the land. It tells of men who have risen from the lower walks of 
life to eminence as statesmen, and whose names have become famous. It tells of those in 
every walk in life who have striven to succeed, and records how success has usually 
crowned their efforts. It tells also of many, very many, who, not seeking the applause of the 
world, have pursued the "even tenor of their way," content to have it said of them, as Christ 
said of the woman performing a deed of mercy "They have done what they could." It 
tells how many in the pride and strength of young manhood, left the plow and the anvil, the 
lawyer's office and the counting-room, left every trade and profession, and at their country's 
call went forth valiantly "to do or die," and how through their efforts the Union was 
restored and peace once more reigned in the land. In the life of every man and of every 
woman is a lesson that should not be lost upon those who follow after. 

Coming generations will appreciate this volume and preserve it as a sacred treasure, from 
the fact that it contains so much that would never find its way into public records, and which 
would otherwise be inaccessible. Great care has been taken in the compilation of the work 
and every opportunity possible given to those represented to insure correctness in what has 
been written; and the publishers flatter themselves that they give to their readers a work with 
few errors of consequence. In addition to biographical sketches, portraits of a number of 
representative citizens are given. 

The faces of some, and biographical sketches of many, will be missed in this volumt. 
For this the publishers are not to blame. Not having a proper conception of the work, some 
refused to give the information necessary to compile a sketch, while others were indifferent. 
Occasionally some member of the family would oppose the enterprise, and on account of such 
opposition the support of the interested one would be withheld. In a few instances men never 
could be found, though repeated calls were made at their residence or place of business. 
March, 1906. T HE 5. j. CLARKE PUBLISHING Co. 




PRESENT COURTHOUSE 



Historical. 



INTRODUCTION. 

When the Divine Master dispersed the waters 
and said, "Let there be light," the western hem- 
isphere appeared and later was known as America. 
Then as the centuries rolled by and civilization 
began its march Illinois was defined and in that 
great state Pike county was given a boundary and 
a name, and now with the aid of the printer's art, 
old Pike will be given its proper place in a home 
history, and its progress and development will be 
carefully chronicled for this and the generations 
that are to come. The work will be as follows : 
First, Illinois ; second, Pike county ; third, town- 
ships; fourth, river history; fifth, war history; 
sixth, railroad history; seventh, county officials'; 
eighth, old settlers' society; ninth, California argo- 
nauts ; tenth, banks and bankers ; eleventh, bench 
and bar; twelfth, illustrious dead; thirteenth, 
churches and schools ; fourteenth, sny levee 
history; fifteenth, miscellaneous. 



ILLINOIS. 

For one hundred and two years, from 1673 to 
1765, the French possessed Illinois. From 1700 
to 1719 Illinois was a dependency of Canada and 
part of Louisiana with the government a theoc- 
racy ; from 1763 to 1765 under French control, 
and from 1765 to 1778 under British dominion. 
In 1778 it was known as Illinois county in the 
state of Virginia. The county of Illinois then 
contained all the territory that is now Ohio, Indi- 



ana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Michigan. In De- 
cember, 1778, Governor Patrick Henry of Vir- 
ginia appointed John Todd lieutenant command- 
ant of Illinois county. On March i, 1784, Vir- 
ginia ceded all the territory north of the Ohio 
river to the United States. Then the general 
government proceeded to establish a form of 
government for the settlers in the new territory 
which remained until the famous ordinance of 
1787 was passed. The third and sixth sections 
of the much discussed ordinance in the past im- 
presses one with the fact that men of divine sen- 
timent were the authors, who are said to be Na- 
than Dane, Rufus King arid Timothy Pickering. 
Thomas Jefferson and Rev. Manasseh Cutler, of 
Massachusetts, were perhaps two who did most 
for the passage of the resolution that did so much 
for the northwestern territory. A portion of sec- 
tion three reads thus: "Religion, morality and 
knowledge being necessary to good government 
and the happiness of mankind schools and the 
means of education shall be forever encouraged." 
A part of section six reads : "There shall be 
neither slavery nor involuntary servitude in the 
said territory. Otherwise than in the punishment 
of crime whereof the party shall have been duly 
convicted." 

From 1780 to 1809 Illinois was a part of the 
Indiana territory. The population of the terri- 
tory in 1800 was : whites 4,875, negroes 135, In- 
dians 100,000. The boundaries of the Indiana 
territory extended to the British possessions and 
included what is now Illinois, Wisconsin, Michi- 
gan and Indiana. The capital was at Vincennes 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



and there were three counties, Knox, St. Clair and 
Randolph. The latter two in Illinois. During 
this period Governor William Henry Harrison 
did great service in the allotments of the public 
lands that were very beneficial to the early set- 
tlers' whose means were very limited. 

He also aided in the division of the territory. 
In 1805 Aaron Burr made a treasonable move to 
found his southwestern empire but failed. In 
1809 Illinois by act of congress was made a sepa- 
rate territory, John Boyle was appointed gover- 
nor but declined, to accept a judgeship in the 
Kentucky court of appeals. Ninian Edwards, 
upon the recommendation of Henry Clay, was ap- 
pointed territorial governor by President Madi- 
son. Its population was estimated at 9,000. 
The census of 1810 made it 12,282; 11,500 
whites, 168 negro slaves. It is said that the 
largest part of the territory was filled by a roving 
band of Indian savages that outnumbered the 
whites three to one. At this period territorial 
revenue was raised by a tax on the land. The 
land on the river bottoms was taxed one dollar 
on every one hundred acres, uplands were seven- 
ty-five cents on the one hundred acres. Horses 
were taxed not to exceed fifty cents per head and 
cattle ten cents. The entire revenue 1811 to 1814 
was four thousand eight hundred seventy-five dol- 
lars forty-five cents, only two thousand five hun- 
dred sixteen dollars and eighty-nine cents paid 
in to the treasury two thousand three hundred 
seventy-eight dollars forty-seven cents remained 
in the hands of deliquent sheriffs. This conduct 
of the sheriffs remained a curse for many years 
after Illinois was admitted as a state. Illinois 
had her first constitutional convention at Kaskas- 
kia in July, 1818, and the fifteen counties, St. 
Clair, Randolph, Madison, Gallatin, Johnson, 
Edwards, White, Monroe, Pope, Jackson, Craw- 
ford, -Bond, Union, Washington and Franklin, 
had thirty-two members. The convention signed 
the new constitution August 26th, and without 
ratification by the people. The new document took 
effect at once, and in September the new state 
officers were elected. The first general assembly 
met October 5, 1818. In 1824 there was an effort 
to call a new convention with the evident pur- 
pose of making Illinois a slave state. Pike county 



had sent Nicholas Hansen to the legis attire, 
whose seat was contested by John. Shaw and as 
the house needed one vote to submit the call for i 
new convention Hansen was unseated and Shaw 
admitted. The latter voted for the conventio i and 
a great uprising then occurred and a howling 
mob formed and marched the streets of Yan- 
dalia, insulted Governor Coles, burned Hansen in 
effigy and did many other things that they after- 
ward regretted. The matter was submitted to a 
Vote and after bitter canvass of eighteen months, 
the effort to make llinois a slave state was de- 
feated by i, 800 majority. The whole vote of the 
state was 11,612. Thus we see that the early 
pioneers were duly imbued with the glorious 
principles shown in the declaration of independ- 
ence and the ordinance of 1787. They were 
earnest, far-seeing men and laid foundations 
upon which the state structure stands to-day. The 
people of Illinois suffered great losses from early 
banking system and up to 1821 the state was 
rich in "wild cat shin plaster money." In 1821 
the Illinois State Bank was evolved with a capital 
of a half million dollars, the issues bore two per 
cent annual interest and were to be redeemed in 
ten years by the state. An effort was made to 
keep the bills at par with gold and silver and 
they were to be made receivable at the land of- 
fices. A vote was taken in the Illinois Senate when 
Pierre Menard, the old Frenchman, was presiding 
officer, and he put the question thus: "Gentle- 
men of de senate, it is moved and seconded dat 
de notes of dis bank be made land office money, 
all in favor of dat motion say aye, all against it, 
say no. It is decided in de affirmative and now 
gentlemen, I bet you one hundred dollars he never 
be made land office money." There was no takers 
of the bes}:, but the sturdy old Frenchman was 
correct as they never were and soon were utterly 
worthless. In 1821 the counties of Greene, Fay- 
ette, Montgomery, Lawrence, Hamilton, Sanga- 
mon and Pike were established. Pike's territory 
was then all between the Illinois and Mississippi 
rivers up to the Wisconsin line. At this time the 
state's population was nearly 75,000 with perhaps 
nearly 100,000 Indians and 500 negroes. 

Illinois has had the following governors: ist, 
Shadrach Bond, St. Clair countv, October 6, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1818, to December 5, 1822; 2nd, Edward Coles, 
Madison county. December 5, 1822, to Decem- 
ber 6. 1826; 3rd, Ninian Edwards, Madison 
county. December 6, 1826, to December 9, 1830; 
4th, John Reynolds, St. Clair county, December 

9, 1830, to November 13, 1834; 5th, William Lee 
D. Ewing, Fayette county, November 17, 1834, 
to December 3, 1834; 6th, Joseph Duncan, Mor- 
gan county, December 3, 1834, to December 7, 
1838; 7th, Thomas Carlin, Greene county, De- 
cember 7, 1838, to December 8, 1842; 8th, 
Thomas Ford, Ogle county, December 8, 1842. 
to December 9, 1846 ; 9th, Augustus C. French, 
Crawford county, December 9, 1846, to January 

10, 1853; loth, Joel A. Matteson, Will county, 
January 10, 1853, to January 12, 1857; nth, 
William H. Bissell, St. Clair county, January 12. 
1857, to March 15, 1860: I2th. John Wood, 
Adams county, March 21, 1860, to January 14, 
1861 ; 1 3th, Richard Yates, Morgan county, Jan- 
ary 14, 1861, to January 16, 1865; i4th,Richard J. 
Oglesby, Macon county, January. 1865, to 1869, 
January 13, 1873, to January 23, 1873, January 
30, 1885, to January 14, 1889; I5th, John M. 
Palmer, Macoupin county, January n, 1869, to 
January 13, 1873; i6th, John L. Beveridge, Cook 
county, January 23, 1873, to January 8, 1877 ; 
1 7th, Shelby M. Cullom, Sangamon county, Jan- 
uary 8, 1877, to January 10, 1881, January 10, 
1881. to February 6, 1883 ; i8th, John M. Hamil- 
ton, McLean county, February 6, 1883, to Janu- 
ary 30, 1885 ; i gth, Joseph W. Fifer, McLean 
county. January 14, 1889, to January 10, 1893; 
20th, John P. Altgeld, Cook county, January 10, 
1893, to January n, 1897; 2ist, John R. Tanner, 
Clay county, January 11. 1897, to January 14. 
1901 : 22nd. Richard Yates. Morgan county. Jan- 
uary 14, 1901. to January 14, 1905; 23rd, Charles 
S. iVuren. Cook county. January 14, 1905. to the 
present. 

In eighty-seven years the state has had eleven 
democrats and twelve republicans as governors. 
In the old whig party days they were only in the 
running but did not capture the prize. From 1810 
to 1813 the territory of Illinois furnished 1,500 
men for the Indian wars that the general govern- 
ment was suppressing, and the state furnished 
8,500 men in the Black Hawk war, 1832 to 1833. 



In the .Mexican war Illinois was called upon 
for thirty companies to rendezvous at Alton and 
seventy-five companies responded. Governor 
Ford selected thirty companies to go. In the 
Civil war, 1861 to 1865, Illinois furnished 259,- . 
147 men as follows: One hundred and fifty-five 
infantry regiments, sixty-seven independent com- 
panies, fifteen cavalry regiments, eighteen inde- 
pendent cavalry companies, thirty-eight compa- 
nies of light artillery. Washington army records 
show that under the different calls for troops, 
Illinois furnished 60,171 more men than her 
quota, leading all the other' states in a total in 
excess of 149,393. Ohio came next with 28,429; 
Indiana, 25,511; Iowa, 13,897; New York, 5,517. 
We have just cause to be proud of the great state 
that gave a Lincoln, a Grant, a Logan and so 
many other illustrious patriots and heroes-. Not 
forgetting the great army of gallant boys that 
carried the muskets and wore the imperishable 
title of volunteer soldiers. For eighty-eight 
years territorial and state history shows that Il- 
linois has been the big and generous one in the 
gifts of men for human rights. 

Illinois had Kaskaskia as a territoral capital 
and from 1818 to 1836 the state capital was at 
Vandalia, and since that date Springfield has 
been the seat of .government. The state has a 
larger number of railroads with a greater ex- 
tent of track than any other state in the union. 
The railway interests are so vast and complicated 
that they are under the supervision of a state 
railway commission organized by the -last consti- 
tutional convention. Illinois was the eighth state 
admitted after the adoption of the federal consti- 
tution. It is 388 miles long and 212 miles wide 
and has in its borders 36,256,000 acres, and is 
the third state in the rank of population. Its 
corn crop in 1880 was 325,792,481 bushels, and 
the nation's crop in 1905 was 2,707,993,400 bush- 
els. In forty-seven years the Illinois Central 
Railroad has paid into the state treasury in con- 
formity with the law enacted at the instance of 
Senator Stephen A. Douglas $20,581,528.26, in 
sixty-three years there has been paid into the 
state treasury from property tax over two hun- 
dred millions dollars, and for over twenty-five 
vears the state has been out of debt. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



The state has had the following United States 
Senators: Ninian Edwards, Jesse B. Thomas, 
John McLean, Elias Kent Kane, David J. Baker, 
John M. Robinson, William L. D. Ewing, Rich- 
ard M. Young, Samuel McRoberts, Sidney 
Breese, James Sample, Stephen A. Douglas, 
James Shields, Lyman Trumbull, Orville H. 
Browning, William A. Richardson, Richard 
Yates, John A. Logan, Richard J. Oglesby, Da- 
vid Davis, Shelby M. Cullum, Charles B. Far- 
well, John M. Palmer, William E. Mason and 
Albert J. Hopkins. Edwards, Thomas, McLean, 
Robinson Kane, each had two terms, Douglas, 
Trumbull and Logan three terms, Cullom four 
terms. They were fifteen democrats, nine repub- 
licans and one independent. From 1818 to 1832 
the state had only one congressional district! 
Shadrach Bond was the first delegate and served 
in the twelfth and thirteenth congress. John Mc- 
Lean was the first state congressman and was in 
the fifteenth congress. In 1818 the state had one 
member in congress and 1905 had twenty-five. In 
the census of 1820 Illinois had nineteen counties 
with 55,162 population. The smallest county 
was Jefferson with 691, and the largest was Mad- 
ison with 13,550. In the census of 1900 the state 
had one hundred and two counties and 4,821,500 
inhabitants, and in 1905 perhaps 5,250,000. The 
state's growth has been wonderful. In 1830 a 
gain of over 100,000; 1840, over 300,000; 1850, 
a gain of nearly 400,000; 1860, over 860,000; 
1870, nearly 828,000; 1880 nearly 540,000; 1890, 
nearly 750,000; 1900, nearly 1,000,000 gain. The 
little village of Chicago in 1833, now in 1906 is 
the second city of the nation with over 2,000,000 
population and the greatest interocean city in the 
world. 

ILLINOIS CONFEDERACY. 

The Illinois confederacy, the various tribes of 
which comprised most of the Indians of Illinois 
at one time, was composed of five tribes: The 
Tamaroas, Michigans, Kaskaskias, Cahokas, and 
Peorias. The Illinois, Miamis and Delawares 
were of the same stock. As early as 1670 the 
priest Father Marquette mentions frequent visits 
made by individuals of this confederacy to the 
missionary station at St. Esprit, near the western 



extremity of Lake Superior. At that time they 
lived west of the Mississippi, in eight villages, 
whither they had been driven from the shores of 
Lake Michigan by the Iroquois. Shortly after- 
ward they began to return to their old hunting 
ground, and most of them finally settled in Illi- 
nois. Joliet and Marquette, in 1673, met with a 
band of them on their famous voyage of discov- 
ery down the Mississippi. They were treated 
with the greatest hospitality by the principal 
chief. On their return voyage up the Illinois 
river they stopped at the principal town of the 
confederacy, situated on the banks of the river 
seven miles below the present town of Ottawa. 
It was then called Kaskaskia. Marquette re- 
turned to the village in 1675 and established the 
mission of the Immaculate Conception, the oldest 
in Illinois. When, in 1679, LaSalle visited the 
town, it had greatly increased, numbering 460 
lodges, and at the annual assembly of the differ- 
ent tribes, from 6,000 to 8,000 souls. In common 
with other western tribes, they became involved 
in the conspiracy of Pontiac, although displaying 
no very great warlike spirit. Pontiac lost his life 
by the hands of one of the braves of the Illinois 
tribe, which so enraged the nations that had fol- 
lowed him as their leader they they fell upon 
the Illinois to avenge his death, and almost anni- 
hilated them. 

When Illinois was admitted into the Union in 
1818, James Monroe was president of the United 
States, also when Pike county was named in 
1821. The author of the famous Monroe Doc- 
trine will always live in the history of the world 
and especially in the United States. The doc- 
trine reads thus : "That we should consider any 
attempt on the part of European powers to ex- 
tend their system to any portion of this hemi- 
sphere as dangerous to our peace and safety, and 
that we could not view any interposition for the 
purpose of oppressing or controlling American 
governments or provinces in any other light than 
as a manifestation by European powers as an un- 
friendly disposition towards United States." 
This doctrine immediately affected the course of 
foreign governments, and has become the ap- 
proved sentiment of the people of the United 
States. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



This with many other notable words : Lincoln 
"No man has a right to rule over another 
without his consent," and "with malice toward 
none, with charity for all ;" Grant : "Let us have 
peace," and his heretofore unknown magnaminity 
to Lee's soldiers; and with Roosevelt's splendid 
saying, '"Tis not who or how rich, but how good 
a citizen you are," has aided Illinoisans in being 
among the best citizens in the universe. Many of 
our citizens, past and present, have doubtless had 
in mind this thought given by Epictetus, the Ro- 
man stoic and philosopher, who lived and died 
in the first and second century : "Remember that 
you are an actor in a drama of such sort as the 
author choses, if it be his pleasure that you should 
act a poor man, see that you act it well, or a crip- 
ple or a ruler or a private citizen, for this is your 
business to act well a given part." 

FIRST THINGS IN ILLINOIS CHRONO- 
LOGICAL TABLE. 

THE FRENCH IN ILLINOIS, 1673-1765. 

1673 Illinois river explored and Mt. Joliet 
named by Joliet and Marquette. 

1674-1675 Marquette revisits Illinois country. 

1675 Mission known as Kaskaskia mission near 
present site of Utica founded by Mar- 
quette. 

1677 Claude Allouez takes charge of the Kas- 
kaskia mission. 

1680 Ft. Creve Coeur, near present site of Pe- 
oria,. erected by LaSalle. Later the 
same year he finds it destroyed. 

1 682 Ft. St. Louis, on Starved Rock, erected bv 
LaSalle. 

1687 Assassination of LaSalle in Texas. 

1699-1700 Cahokia mission established. 

1700 Kaskaskia mission and the Kaskaskia In- 
dians removed to the Mississippi. The 
mission established near the present site 
of Kaskaskia. 

1717 Illinois annexed to Louisiana. 

1718-1720 Ft. Chartres built near Prairie du 
Rocher. 

7720 Renault introduces African slaves. 

1723 Renault land grant. 

1754 French and Indian war begins. 



1756 Rebuilding of Ft. Chartres completed. 

1758 Ft. Massac erected by the French. 

1763 Illinois country together with Canada 

ceded to English by the French. 
1763-1764 Pontiac's Conspiracy. British fail 

to reach Illinois country. 
1765 Ft. Chartres surrenders to the British. 

THE BRITISH DOMINION IN THE ILLINOIS COUN- 
TRY, 1765-1778. 

1768 Colonel Wilkins organizes first British 
Court at Ft. Chartres. 

1769 Pontiac assassinated by an Illinois Indian, 
at Cahokia. 

1771 Mass meeting at Kaskaskia demands rep- 
resentative privileges. 

1772 Ft. Chartres damaged by overflow of the 
Mississippi and abandoned. Kaskaskia 
made capital of Illinois country. 

1775 American revolution begins. 

1778 George Rogers Clark conquers the Illinois 
country for Virginia. 

ILLINOIS A COUNTY OF VIRGINIA, 1778-1784. 

1778 October. "County of Illinois" created by 
the Virginia legislature. 

1779 February. Clark's expedition against Vin- 
cennes. May. Col. John Todd, com- 
mandant of "Illinois County," sets up 
a temporary government at Kaskaskia. 

1783 Treaty of peace with Great Britain recog- 
nizes title of the United States to the 
Illinois country. 

1784 March i. Virginia cession of the North- 
west Territory to the United States. 

ILLINOIS UNDER TERRITORIAL GOVERNMENT. 
1784-1818. 

1784 April. First ordinance for the Northwest 

Territory. 
1785 April. Massachusetts cedes her claim in 

northern Illinois. May. Congressional 

ordinance establishes township survey 

system. 
1786 Connecticut cedes her claim in northern 

Illinois. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1787 July 13. Ordinance for the government 
of the Northwest Territory. 

1790 Governor St. Clair visits Kaskaskia. The 
county of St. Clair organized. 

1795 Judge Turner holds court for St. Clair 
county. Removal of records from Ca- 
hokia to Kaskaskia. Creation of Ran- 
dolph county. Treaty of Greenville. 
Nearly all of Illinois reserved for In- 
dian occupancy. 

1799 General Assembly organized for North- 
west Territory. Illinois sends two rep- 
resentatives. 

1800 May 7. Formation of Indiana territory, 
which included Illinois. 

1804 Land office established at Kaskaskia. The 
erection of Ft. Dearborn (Chicago) by 
United States troops. 

1805 First election of a territoral house of dele- 
gates for Indiana. 

1806 "Burr Conspiracy." 

1809 February 3. Illinois territory organized. 
April 24, Ninian Edwards appointed 
first Governor. June. The Governor 
and judges first met as a law making 
body at Kaskaskia. 

181 1 Battle of Tippecanoe. 

1812 May 21. Illinois raised to the second grade 
of territorial government. Election of 
territorial officers and delegate to Con- 
gress, October. First session of Terri- 
torial Legislature at Kaskaskia, No- 
vember 25. June. War of 1812 begins. 
August 15. Massacre of Ft. Dearborn. 
September 14. Creation of Madison, 
Gallatin and Johnson counties. Novem- 
ber. French village near present site of 
Peoria destroyed by Captain Craig. 

1813 Pre-emption act passed by Congress for 
Illinois. 

1816 Ft. Dearborn rebuilt. Act establishing 
banks at Shawneetown and EcKvards- 
. ville. 

1817 First steamboat. "The General Pike," as- 
ceuds the Mississippi above Cairo. 

1818 April 1 8. Act of Congress enabling the 
people of Illinois to form a constitution 
and fixing the present northern bound- 



ary. August. Constitutional conven- 
tion (elected in July) adopted and pro- 
claimed a constitution. 

II.LIXOIS A FRONTIER STATE, 1818-1848. 

Sept. i7.^First election of State officers. Octo- 
ber 5. First General Assembly met at 
Kaskaskia. October 6. Shadrach Bond 
inaugurated first governor of the State. 
December 3. Illinois formally admitted 
as a state. 

1819 Legislature provides for the selection of a 
new capital. 

1820 Removal of State offices to Vandalia. 

1821 Legislature charters the State Bank of Il- 
linois. 

1823 Legislature passes resolution for constitu- 
tional convention. December 9. State 
House destroyed by fire. 

1824 August 2. Attempt of pro-slavery men to 
call a convention to amend the consti- 
tution defeated. November. Special 
session of the Legislature to amend the 
election law. 

1825 First general school law enacted. Gen- 
eral LaFayette visits Illinois. Illinois 
and Michigan Canal association incor- 
porated. 

1826 First steamboat began to ply on the Illi- 
nois river. 

1827 Winnebago Indian scare near Galena. The 
building of penitentiary at Alton. First 
State institution. Congress makes a 
grant of land for Illinois-Michigan 
canal, in answer to a memorial from the 
State Legislature. 

1829 Illinois college at Jacksonville founded. 
Law providing commissioners for the 
Illinois-Michigan canal. School laws 
of 1825 repealed. 

1831 Congressional re-apportionment. Illinois 
gets three Congressmen. 

1832 Black Hawk war. 

1833 -Chicago incorporated as a village. Its 
first newspaper, "The Democrat." pub- 
lished. 

1835 Illinois, Shurtleff and McKendree colleges 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



incorporated. December 7. Special ses- 
sion of the Legislature to provide for a 
canal loan and to re-district the State. 

1836 Old State house torn down and new one 
erected. September 8. Elijah P. Love- 
joy issues the first number of "The Ob- 
server," at Alton. 

1837 February. Bill passed making Spring- 
field future capital. Internal improve- 
ment scheme. July 4. Corner stone of 
State House at Springfield laid. Panic 
f '37- Special session of the Legis- 
lature, July 10-22. November 7. Love- 
joy killed by pro-slavery mob at Alton. 
December 4. First Democratic conven- 
tion at Vandalia. 

1838 Nov. 8. First locomotive in Illinois run 
on the Northern Cross Railroad. 

1839 Completion of the Northern Cross Rail- 
road by the State. The first line in Il- 
linois. Act creating Asylum for the 
Deaf and Dumb at Jacksonville. April 
9. First daily paper in the State issued, 
"The Daily American," of Chicago. Oc- 
tober 7. First Whig convention in the 
State. December 9. Special session of 
the Legislature at Springfield, the capi- 
tal having been removed there during 
the year. 

1840 November. Special session of the Legis- 
lature to provide money for interest on 
State debt. Springfield incorporated as 
a city. 

1841 $46,289.00 received from Congress as the 
share of Illinois from sale of public 
lands. Knox college opens. 

1842 Call for constitutional convention is de- 
feated. 

1843 Act of Legislature puts the State Bank 
and the Bank of Illinois into liquida- 
tion. State re-districted. Illinois gets 
seven congressmen. 

1844 Legislature votes to submit call for con- 
stitutional convention. June 27. Joseph 
Smith killed by a mob while in jail at 
Carthage. 

1846 Call for constitutional convention carried. 
Expulsion of the Mormons. Troops 



leave Alton for the Mexican war. Lin- 
coln elected to the Thirtieth Congress. 
1847 J ulle 7- Second constitutional convention 
met at Springfield. Founding of the Il- 
linois State Hospital for the Insane at 
Jacksonville. First I'niversity of Chi- 
cago chartered. 

THE ERA OF SECTIONAL CONFLICT, 1848-1870. 

1848 New constitution ratified by the people, 
Wisconsin admitted as a state. In spite 
of Wisconsin's opposition, Congress 
confirmed the northern boundary of Il- 
linois as established by the enabling act 
of 1818. Illinois-Michigan canal com- 
pleted. First boat, "General Thornton," 
passes the entire length of the canal, 
April 23. 

1849 Special session of Legislature charters In- 
stitution for the Blind at Jacksonville ; 
passes resolutions in favor of the "Wil- 
mot Proviso ;'' enacts township organi- 
zation law. 

1850 Congressional land grant for the Illinois 
Central Railroad. 

1851 Completion of the Bloody Island dike, op; 
posite St. Louis. The Illinois Central 
Railroad Company incorporated. First 
geological survey provided for. 

1852 June. Special session of Legislature en- 
acted laws relating to. swamp, seminary, 
and canal lands. Congressional re-ap- 
pointment. Illinois gets nine congress- 
men. 

1853 January i. State debt reaches highest 
, point. $16,724,177. State Agricultural 
Society incorporated. First state fair 
held at Springfield. Act providing for 
the erection of an executive mansion. 
Sale of remaining lands of the State 

1854 Special session of the Legislature re-ap- 
pointed the State for the General As- 
sembly and established the office of 
State Superintendent of Public Instruc- 
tion. Ninian W. Edwards appointed 
first superintendent. 

1855 General education act; basis of the pres- 
ent school system. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1856 May 29. State convention at Blooming- 
ton organizes the republican party in Il- 
linois. September. Completion of the 
Illinois Central Railroad from Cairo to 
East Dubuque. 

1857 Building of State Penitentiary at Joliet. 
State Board of Education created. State 
Normal University at Normal estab- 
lished. 

1858 Republican State convention nominated 
Lincoln for United States Senator. 
Lincoln-Douglas debate. 

1859 Bill passed in relation to the "Canal 
Fraud." 

1860 May 19. Lincoln nominated for presi- 
dent at the republican national conven- 
tion at Chicago. Elected November 6. 

1861 -General re-apportionment act. Illinois gets 
thirteen congressmen. April 15. Presi- 
dent Lincoln calls for volunteers. April 
16. First call for volunteers by Gover- 
nor Yates. April 19. Governor Yates 
takes military charge of Cairo. April 
23. Special session of Legislature for 
war emergencies. April 26. Arms at 
St. Louis seized and transferred to 
Springfield. June 3. Death of Stephen 
A. Douglas. August. Logan resigns 
his seat in Congress and accepts com- 
mission as colonel. September 4. U. 
S. Grant takes command at Cairo. No- 
vember. Election of delegates to the 
constitutional convention. 

1862 January 7. Third constitutional conven- 
tion met at Springfield. The constitu- 
tion it drafted was rejected by the peo- 
ple. Fall elections in Illinois go against 
the State and national administrations 
on the war issues. 

1863 General Assembly adopts a hostile atti- 
tude toward the State and national ad- 
ministrations. February. House passes 
the "Armistice Resolutions.'' June 10. 
Governor Yates prorogues the Legisla- 
ture. June 17. Mass convention of 
democrats opposed to the war meets at 
Springfield. September 3. Union mass 
meeting at Springfield. 



1864 March. Clash at Charleston between 
soldiers and citizens opposed to the war. 
August. Democratic national conven- 
tion at Chicago nominated George B. 
McClellan. November. Discovery of 
plot to liberate Confederate prisoners at 
Camp Douglas. Lincoln re-elected. 

1865 Asylum for Feeble Minded Children at 
Jacksonville and the Soldiers' Orphans' 
Home at Normal established. Feb- 
ruary i. Illinois the first State to rati- 
fy the Thirteenth Amendment. April 
14. Lincoln assassinated. May 5. 
Buria.1 of Lincoln at Springfield. 

1867 Legislative acts: Illinois ratifies the Four- 
teenth Amendment ; State Reformatory 
at Pontiac established; Erection of 
present State House provided for ; Es- 
tablishment of Illinois Industrial Uni- 
versity, now University of Illinois, at 
Urbana ; State Board of Equalization 
created; Office of State Entomologist 
established. June. Special sessions 
provided for taxing banks and bankir.g 
corporations and for the management 
of the State Penitentiary at Joliet. 

1868 May. Republican National Convention at 
Chicago nominated U. S. Grant. No- 
vember. Call for constitutional con- 
vention carried by the people. 

1869 Legislative acts: Fifteenth Amendment 
ratified ; Lincoln and West Park boards 
created ; Establishment of State Board 
of Charities ; Northern Hospital for the 
Insane at Elgin and of the Southern 
Hospital for the Insane at Anna. De- 
cember 13. Fourth constitutional con- 
vention met at Springfield. 

THE ERA OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, I?70-IyOI. 

1870. Present constitution adopted in conven- 
tion May 13, ratified by the people July 
2, in force August 8. 

1871 Legislative acts: Railroad and Ware- 
house Commission created. October 
9-10. Great Chicago fire. October 13. 
Special session of the Legislature to 
relieve the city of Chicago. October 2O. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Governor Palmer protests against the 
use of United States troops in Chicago. 

1872 Congressional and legislative reappor- 
tionment. Illinois gets nineteen con- 
gressmen. 

1873 Legislative acts: Women allowed to 
hold office under the school law; Gov- 
ernor Oglesby elected Senator; bill to 
prevent discrimination in railroad rates ; 
bill to establish three cent railroad fares. 

1874 State Board of Canal Commissioners 
created. July 14. Second great fire in 
Chicago. 

1875 January i. New State house occupied; 
asylum for Feeble-Minded Children re- 
moved to Lincoln. 

1876 Illinois railroad sustained by the United 
States Supreme Court. 

1877 Legislative acts: Palmer- Logan contest; 
election of David Davis United States 
Senator; State Board of Health creat- 
ed ; the State Commission of Claims es- 
tablished ; appellate courts created ; ap- 
propriation for the completion of the 
State House. July 25. Beginning of 
the great railroad strike at Chicago. 

1878 Amendment to the Constitution, giving 
the Legislature power to create drain- 
age districts. 

1879 Creation of the Bureau of Labor Statistics 
and Board of Fish Commissioners ; tax- 
ing power of cities and villages limited. 

1880 June. Republican national convention at 
Chicago nominated James A. Garfield ; 
greenback national convention nomi- 
nated James B. Weaver at Chicago ; the 
power of Railroad and Warehouse 
Commission sustained by the Supreme 
Court of the United States. 

1881 January. Last State bonds called in; the 
State debt practically extinguished. 
Legislative acts : Creation of the Board 
of Dental Examiners and the Board of 
Pharmacy ; pure food law. 

1882 State and congressional re-apportion- 
ments; Illinois gets twenty congress- 
men. 

1883 Legislative acts: Creation of State Min- 
ing Board and the office of State Inspec- 



tor of Mines; "Harper High License 
Law." 

1884 June. Republican national convention at 
Chicago nominated James G. Elaine. 
July. Democratic national convention at 
Chicago nominated Grover Cleveland. 
An amendment to the Constitution, per- 
mitting the Governor to veto items in 
appropriation bills. 

1885 Legislative acts: Logan-Morrison sena- 
torial contest, Logan elected; establish- 
ment of Soldiers' and Sailors' Home at 
Ouincy; office of State Veterinarian 
and State Game Wardens; Illinois In- 
dustrial University becomes the Uni- 
versity of Illinois. 

1886 Labor troubles: April. Railroad strike 
at East St. Louis. March. Strike at 
McCormick Harvester works. May 4. 
Anarchist riot, Haymarket square, Chi- 
cago. Trial and conviction of anarchists. 
Amendment to the Constitution, for- 
bidding the contracting of convict labor. 

1887 Legislative acts: Creation of Live Stock 
Commission and the Industrial Home 
for the Blind at Chicago; laws against 
conspiracy ; provision for Arbor day. 
Execution of Chicago Anarchists. 

1888 Republican national convention at Chi- 
cago nominated Benjamin Harrison. 

1889 Legislative acts: Establishment of Asy- 
lum for Insane Criminals at Chester; 
State Horticultural Society, and Chicago 
Sanitary District; a general school law 
with compulsory clauses, "The Ed- 
wards Law." Coal miners strike in La- 
Salle and adjoining counties. 

1890 World's Columbian Exposition: Febru- 
ary. Congress selects Chicago as the 
site; special session of the Legislature 
to provide for the Columbian Exposi- 
tion ; amendment to the Constitution, 
enabling Chicago to issue five millions 
of five per cent, bonds for World's Fair 
purposes. New University of Chicago 
incorporated. 

1891 Legislative acts: Palmer-Oglesby sena- 
torial contest ; Palmer elected by a com- 



i6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



bination of democratic and F. M. B. A. 
votes ; anti-trust law ; legal rate of in- 
terest reduced to five per cent. ; child 
labor law ; Australian ballot system is 
adopted. 

1892 October I. Chicago University opened. 
October 21. Dedication of World's 
Fair buildings. 

1893 Legislative acts : Congressional and leg- 
islative re-apportionment ; Illinois gets 
twenty-two congressmen ; modification 
of Edward's compulsory educational 
law ; creation of the State Insurance 
Department, State Board of Factory 
Inspectors and State Home for Juve- 
nile Female Offenders. June 26. Gov- 
ernor Altgeld pardons the anarchists, 
Nebee, Fielden and Schwab. World's 
Columbian Exposition opened May i. 
Closed October 30. 

1894 Labor troubles : Pullman and American 
Railway Union strikes. State and Fed- 
eral troops called out. Protest by Gov- 
ernor Altgeld against the use of Fed- 
eral troops in Chicago. 

1895 Legislative acts: Establishment of East- 
ern Normal School at .Charleston, the 
Northern Normal at DeKalb, Asylum 
for Incurable Insane at Bartonville and 
Farmer's institutes ; prison parole sys- 
tem adopted ; inheritance tax law ; mu- 
nicipal civil service law. Special ses- 
sions, June 25 to August 2, provided 
additional revenue and established the 
State Board of Arbitration. 

1896 July. Democratic national convention at 
Chicago nominated William Jennings 
Bryan and adopted the "Chicago Plat- 
form." 

1897 Legislative acts : Establishment of State 
Board of Pardons. State Board of Ex- 
aminers of Architects, State Board of 
Examiners of Horseshoers ; second 
"Torrens Land Act" (first act of 1895 
declared unconstitutional.) 

1898 Special session of the Legislature, Decem- 
ber, 1897. February, 1898. New pri- 



mary election law ; general revision of 
the revenue law. ,,. 

1899 Legislative acts: "Juvenile Court Act;" 
establishment of offices of State Food 
Commissioner and State Commissioner 
of Game; creation of Western Normal 
School at Macomb. 

1900 Chicago drainage canal in operation; wa- 
ter turned in January 2. 

1901 Legislative acts. Senatorial and congres- 
sional re-apportionment. Illinois gets 
twenty-five congressmen ; the "Little 
Ballot Law ;" new primary election law. 

THE CAPITALS AND CAPITOLS OF ILLINOIS. 

Since its organization as a state, Illinois has 
had three capitals or seats of government, and 
five capitol buildings which were the property of 
the State three at Vandalia and two at Spring- 
field. Of these five capitol buildings, three are 
still standing, one at Vandalia, now the court 
house of Fayette county, and two at Springfield, 
one the present court house of Sangamon county, 
and the other the present State capitol. 

From the earliest occupation of the country 
until its organization as a state in 1818, a period 
of nearly 150 years, the seat of government was 
at. or iii the near vicinity of, Kaskaskia. 

During the occupation of the Illinois country 
by the French and their immediate successors, 
the British, the government was essentially mili- 
tary in character, and the seat of government was 
the principal fort or block house occupied as 
headquarters by the military commandant of 
the country. For a short time, about 1680, Fort 
Creve Couer, near the present site of Peoria, was 
the military headquarters of the country and the 
seat of government, so far as the country had 
a government and so far as that government re- 
quired a seat. But the "American Bottom" 
seemed to have greater attractions for the early 
French settlers than any other part of the im- 
perfectly explored country, and Kaskaskia soon 
thereafter became the metropolis of the country, 
the center of missionary effort among the Indians 
as well as military headquarters and seat of gov- 
ernment. In 1711, by royal decree of the king of 



roc *TV tf*" 




LINCOLN MONUMENT, SPRINGFIELD 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



France, the Illinois country ceased to be a de- 
pendency of Canada and was attached to the Dis- 
trict of Louisiana, the lieutenant commandant 
and acting governor still maintaining his head- 
quarters at Kaskaskia until the erection of Fort 
Chartres about twenty miles northwest of Kas- 
kaskia in 1720, which then became the seat of 
government and so continued during the remain- 
der of the French administration of affairs, and 
after the British occupation in 1765 until 1772. 
In this year the walls of the fort, yielding to the 
gradually encroaching waters of the Mississippi, 
tumbled into the river, and the military head- 
quarters and seat of government were trans- 
ferred once more to old Kaskaskia. 

After the conquest of the country by the Vir- 
ginia troops in 1778 under Colonel George Rog- 
ers Clark, military headquarters were continued 
at Kaskaskia; and when in 1778 Virginia created 
the "County of Illinois," including^ not only all 
the area of the present State, but that of Ohio 
and Indiana as well, Colonel John Todd, of Ken- 
tucky, was commissioned lieutenant command- 
ant, with his headquarters at Kaskaskia, and was 
acting governor of the entire region, which later 
(1787) was organized as the Northwest Ter- 
ritory. 

From 1787 to 1800, while a part of the North- 
west territory, Marietta first, and Chillicothe 
and Cincinnati afterward, were the capitals of the 
territory, but Illinois retained its name and ident- 
ity as a county with its county seat at Kaskas- 
kia until 1790, when the name of the county was 
changed by Governor St. Clair, in honor of him- 
self, to St. Clair county, and the county seat was 
established at Cahokia. From this time until the 
organization of the territory in 1809, "Illinois" 
had no place upon the map and no legal status 
anywhere; and Kaskaskia ceased to be the seat 
of government, either civil or military, for terri- 
tory or county, until 1795, at which time St. Clair 
county was divided, Randolph being formed out 
of the southern portion. The county seat of the 
new county was fixed at Kaskaskia, where it re- 
mained until its removal to Chester in 1848. 

In 1800, when Indiana territory was organized 
with General Harrison its first governor and 
Vincennes its capital, the division of the Illinois 



country into the two counties of St. Clair and 
Randolph, with their respective county seats at 
Cahokia and Kaskaskia, was continued; and in 
1809, upon the organization of the Illinois terri- 
tory, the same division of counties was preserved 
and confirmed by proclamation of the acting gov- 
ernor. By the act of 1809 creating the territory, 
the name "Illinois" was officially restored to the 
country and the government re-established at its 
ancient seat at Kaskaskia. 

During the territorial period of nine years and 
the first two years of statehood with the seat of 
government at Kaskaskia, it seems that no capi- 
tol building, assembly hall for the Legislature 
nor offices for the executive departments was 
ever owned by the territory or State. Nothing 
of the sort had been inherited by the common- 
wealth nor were any provisions made for such 
purchase or construction. Several of the early 
historians inform us that the first territorial leg- 
islature met (November 25, 1812) in a house 
formerly occupied 'by the military commandant 
during the French and English periods and de- 
scribe it as "a large, rough old building of uncut 
limestone, with steep roof and gables of un- 
painted boards, situated in the center of a square. 
The first floor, a large, low, cheerless room, was 
fitted up for the House (seven members) and a 
smaller room above for the Council (five mem- 
bers). The two houses had one doorkeeper in 
common and the twelve legislators constituting 
the assembly all boarded with the same family 
and lodged in the same room." However this 
may be, it appears from the acts of the several 
territorial legislatures and of the first General 
Assembly of the State, that each assembly held 
its session in a different building, or else that the 
rented "capitol" was continually changing own- 
ers. The appropriation bills of the various as- 
semblies show that, at the first session of the 
First Assembly, an appropriation was made (De- 
cember 26, 1812) "To Hugh H. Maxwell, agent 
for the heirs of Elijah Backus, deceased, for a 
house for the use of the Legislature during the 
present session, $1.00 per day for each day the 
same may have been occupied." At the second 
session of the same assembly no appropriation 
was made for house rent; but (December n, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1813), there was appropriated to "John Hogue 
for certain repairs done to the court house of 
Randolph county for the use of the Legislature 
during the present session, $15.00," and "To 
Pierre Menard for plank furnished for repairs 
on court house and for two tin pitchers, $10.40;" 
from which it seems that this session was held in 
the Randolph county court house. At the third 
session an appropriation was made (December 
24, 1814) "To James Gilbraith for firewood and 
house rent, $1.25 per day during the present ses- 
sion." At the ' fourth session an appropration 
was made (January n, 1816) "To William Ben- 
nett for house room and firewood during the 
present session, $2.00 per day." Again at the 
fifth session an appropriation was made (Janu- 
ary 13, 1817) "To William Bennett, $2.00 per 
day for rent and firewood for two days during 
the present session," and "To William Morrison, 
for house rent furnished the present session, 
$1.50 per day." Again at the sixth and last ses- 
sion of the territorial legislature an appropriation 
was made (January 9, 1818) "To John W. Gillis, 
$2.00 per day for each day the Legislature sat in 
,his house at this session." 

At the, second session of the First General As- 
sembly of the State appropriations were made 
(March 29, 1819) to cover rent for the two ses- 
sions of the First General Assembly of the State, 
as well as for the Constitutional Convention of 
1818, as follows: "To George Fisher for the use 
of three rooms of his house during the present 
and preceding session, $4.00 per day ; also for the 
use of one room during the sitting of the conven- 
tion, $2.00 per day." 

From these appropriation items it seems clear 
that, while the seat of government remained at 
Kaskaskia, neither the State nor the territory 
owned a capitol building, that each legislature 
was left to its own devices to provide a place of 
meeting, and that each session secured a different 
building, or, at least, paid rent to a different land- 
lord. If, by the term, "Capitol" or "State House" 
is meant any building in which the legislative 
body holds its sessions, there, may have been, and 
most probably were, several capitals at Kaskas- 
kia. If, however, the term is restricted in its ap- 
plication to a building owned by the State and 



used for legislative assemblies and executive of- 
fices, the first capitol of Illinois was located at 
Vandalia. 

THE FIRST STATE CAPITOL. 

At the first session of the First General As- 
sembly of the State, in compliance with section 
13, of the schedule of the' constitution of 1818, 
a petition was prepared arid approved (October 
12, 1818) asking Congress to donate to the State 
not less than one nor more than four sections of 
land "situate on the Kaskaskia river, as near as 
may be east of the third principal meridian for a 
seat of government for this State." On March 
3, 1819, Congress passed an act in conformity 
with this petition donating four sections of land 
for the purposes set forth in the petition, and on 
March 30, 1819, at the second session of the 
First General Assembly an act was passed in con- 
formity to the constitution, appointing five com- 
missioners who were authorized to make a proper 
selection for a site, to employ a surveyor to lay 
off a town, to select a name for the town, to sell 
150 lots, not more than ten of which were to be 
on the public square and to contract for the 
building of a suitable house for the reception of 
the General Assembly. The act provided that the 
said house should be located on some lot belong- 
ing to the State, but not on the public square, 
that it should consist of two stories, and be of 
sufficient capacity to accommodate the House of 
Representatives on the lower floor and the Sen- 
ate on the upper floor, with suitable rooms for the 
council of revision, clerks, etc., all of which was 
to be done within six months ; and the act further 
provided, "That the next stated session of the 
General Assembly shall be holden at the town 
thus laid off and in the building before de- 
scribed." 

The commissioners did their work within the 
time specified, locating the capital eight or ten 
miles north of the point where the third principal 
meridian crosses the Kaskaskia river. The place 
was known at the time as "Reeve's Bluff," and 
was about eighty miles from Kaskaskia and 
twenty miles from the nearest "settlement." To 
the capital they gave the name of Vandalia, and 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the capitol building has been described as "a plain 
two story wooden structure, the lower floor of 
which was devoted to one room for the House of 
Representatives and a passage and stairway to 
the second floor. The second story consisted of 
two rooms the larger for the Senate chamber 
and the smaller for the Council of Revision. The 
Secretary of State, Auditor and Treasurer oc- 
cupied offices, detached from the capitol, rented 
for their use. 

The State archives, constituting a small wagon 
load, were removed from Kaskaskia to Vandalia 
by Sidney Breese, then clerk to the Secretary 
of State, for which service he received $25.00; 
and the first session of the Second General As- 
sembly met in the first capitol owned by the State. 
December 4, 1820. During the session an act 
was passed (January 27, 1821) approving and 
confirming all the acts of the commissioners and 
declaring Vandalia to be the "permanent seat of 
government for twenty years from and after De- 
cember i, 1820." Another act of this session 
incorporated the town of Vandalia; and among 
other powers and duties vested in the board of 
trustees, they were authorized to "employ some 
skillful person to paint the State House in a neat 
and workmanlike manner, and to make such al- 
terations in the chimneys of the house as they 
may deem necessary." It was further made the 
duty of the trustees of the town of Vandalia "to 
take possession of and keep in good repair the 
State House during each and every recess of 
the General Assembly." The said trustees were 
further authorized to "allow the Secretary of 
State to occupy one of the small rooms in the 
State House, and the Auditor of Public Ac- 
counts the other small room until the meeting of 
the next General Assembly." 

THE SECOND CAPITOL. 

The building just described was destroyed by 
fire December 9, 1823, after having been occu- 
pied but three years, and was succeeded by a 
more pretentious brick structure costing about 
$15,000, of which amount the citizens of Van- 
dalia contributed $3,000. This second State cap- 
itol was erected during the summer of 1824. In 



Governor Cole's biennial message (November 16, 
1824) he says concerning the rebuilding of the 
capitol: "The citizens of Vandalia have rebuilt 
it, and will, doubtless, not be disappointed in 
their just expectation of being reimbursed for the 
expenses they have incurred in thus providing for 
the public accommodation." The confidence of 
the citizens, it seems, was not misplaced ; for the 
General Assembly made an appropriation (De- 
cember 8, 1824) of $12,164.71 to different citi- 
zens of Vartdalia, to be paid in the paper of the 
State Bank of Illinois, for money, labor and ma- 
terial advanced in the construction of the new 
capitol. This capitol continued in use until 1836, 
the last legislative session held in the building 
being the second session of the Ninth General 
Assembly (December 7, 1835, to January 13, 
1836). 

The schedule to the constitution providing for 
the location of the capital specified that the place 
chosen should remain the capital for a period of 
twenty years, and the act changing the capital 
from Kaskaskia to Vandalia specifically declared 
Vandalia to be the "permanent seat of govern- 
ment for twenty years on and after December i, 
1820;" still, before half of the specified twenty 
years had passed, the question of removal was 
agitated and a strong sentiment was soon created 
in favor of a location farther north and nearer the 
center of population, which was already leaving 
Vandalia far to the south. In 1833, this senti- 
ment took shape in an act of the Eighth General 
Assembly (February 5) providing, "That at the 
next election to be held in 'the several counties 
of this State for members of the Legislature, 
there shall be opened at each place of voting, a 
book, in which shall be entered the votes of the 
qualified voters in favor of the following named 
places, as their choice for the permanent location 
of the seat of government of this State, after the 
time prescribed by the constitution for its re- 
maining at Vandalia, to-wit : Geographical center 
of the State, Jacksonville, Springfield, Vandalia, 
Alton and Peoria. The place receiving the high- 
est number of votes shall forever thereafter re- 
main the seat of government of the State of Illi- 
nois." The question was submitted to the people 
in accordance with the provisions of this act and 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the election, which was held August 4, 1834, re- 
sulted as follows : 

Votes 

The Geographical Center received 790 

Jacksonville received 273 

Springfield received 7>75 

Peoria received 423 

Alton received 8,157 

Vandalia received 7.73 

At this election Sangamon county polled the 
largest vote of any county in the State, 2,297 (5 1 
votes more than were cast for sheriff at the same 
election), of which 2,261 were for Springfield, 
21 for the Geographical Center (which was sup- 
posed to be in the immediate neighborhood of II- 
liopolis), i for Jacksonville, 3 for Peoria, 10 for 
Alton, and I for Vandalia. Putman, on the other 
hand, polled the smallest vote, only 4, of which 
3 went to Peoria and i to Springfield ; 369 votes 
were cast in this county for sheriff at the same 
election. Cook county, like Putman, was more 
interested in local affairs than in locating a State 
capital, casting at this election 515 votes for sher- 
iff and but 52 on the capital question. Of these 
52 Cook county votes Peoria received 23 and 
Springfield 13, while 9 went to the Geographical 
Center, 4 to Vandalia, 2 to Jacksonville, and i to 
Alton. Fayette county was naturally interested 
in the question and, while but 627 votes were cast 
for sheriff, 668 votes were rounded up on the 
question of locating the capital ; of which Alton 
received 7, Peoria 2, Springfield I, and Vandalia 
the remaining 658. Calhoun was the only county 
casting a unanimous vote for any place, Alton 
receiving her entire vote of 158. 

THE THIRD CAPITOL. 

Though Alton received the highest number of 
votes and was entitled, under the act of 1833, to 
be made the permanent seat of government, this 
fact was never officially declared, and so far as 
the public records show, the vote was never can- 
vassed, nor the matter referred to during either 
session of the Ninth Assembly. Outside of the 
Legislature, however, the matter continued to be 
discussed, and one of the arguments in favor of 



removal was the need of a better State house, 
and as one had to be built it would be better to 
locate it nearer the center of population. The 
wide-awake citizens of Vandalia, who had al- 
ready built one State capital without legislative 
warrant, sought to overcome this argument and, 
accordingly, in the summer of 1836, during the 
recess of the General Assembly, tore down the 
building which they had built twelve years be- 
fore and used the material so far as it was avail- 
able in the construction of a new capitol at a 
cost of about $16,000. Of this amount $6,000 
was paid by Governor Duncan out of the con- 
tingent fund and $10,000 advanced by the citizens 
of Vandalia. No law "had been enacted authoriz- 
ing the destruction' of the old State house nor the 
construction of a new one, but the self-sufficient 
citizens of Vandalia took the matter into their 
own hands as they had done in 1824, and the first 
official reference to the tearing down of the old 
capitol and replacing it with a new one is found 
in a brief paragraph of Governor Duncan's mes- 
sage to the Tenth General Assembly (Decem- 
ber 9, 1836), as follows: 

"In consequence of the dilapidated and failing 
condition of the old State house, the public offi- 
cers, mechanics and citizens of this place, believ- 
ing that the Legislature would have no place to 
convene or hold their session, have built the 
house you now occupy. This work has been done 
in a time and under circumstances which evinces 
an industry, zeal and public spirit that does honor 
to the place and commands our grateful acknowl- 
edgment, and I hope their services and expenses 
will be promptly remunerated." 

The work done on this building was certainly 
of a character superior to that of 1824, for, after 
a lapse of sixty-three years, the building still 
stands and is the present court house of Fayette 
county. 

The last session of the Legislature to meet at 
Vandalia was the first session of the Eleventh 
General Assembly which convened December 3, 
1838. During this session (February 16. 1839) 
an act was passed conveying the capitol, built less 
than four years before, to the county of Fayette 
and the town of Vandalia, the west half of the 
building to the county to be used as a court 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



house and the east half to the town for school 
purposes, while all the unsold lots belonging to 
the State within the original four sections 
granted by the general government to the State, 
were conveyed to the county of Fayette, to be 
sold by the county commissioners, and the pro- 
ceeds to constitute a road and bridge fund for the 
county. Until 1857 the east half of the old cap- 
itol was used for school purposes as contemplated 
by the act of 1839. In 1851 the "Fayette Semi- 
nary" was incorporated, and under its charter 
was entitled to the east half of the building "to 
be held and used as a county seminary." So far 
as can now be ascertained, the trustees never or- 
ganized an actual school under this charter, but 
June 19, 1856, they conveyed the property to the 
county of Fayette. This conveyance was legal- 
ized by special act of the Legislature (February 
1 5< l &57-) The proceeds of the sale were turned 
over to the Vandalia school district, and the old 
capitol and surrounding grounds have since be- 
longed to the county of Fayette. Since that time 
the building has undergone material changes 
both as to its outside appearance and interior ar- 
rangement. In 1858-59 the county spent about 
$50,000 in remodeling the building, the original 
cost of which was less than one-third of this sum. 
Besides a complete re-arrangement of the inter- 
ior, handsome porticoes were added to the north 
and south sides of the building, supported by mas- 
sive brick pillars which added much to the archi- 
tectural appearance of the plain old capitol. After 
a lapse of forty years these brick pillars were re- 
placed in the summer of 1899 by modern iron 
columns. For many years it was one of the hand- 
somest and largest court houses in the State, and 
even yet it surpasses many of the county build- 
ings erected in other counties half a century later. 
The enterprising move On the part of the "pub- 
lic officers, mechanics and citizens" of Vandalia, 
however, did not settle the State house question 
for an act was passed (February 25, 1837), pro- 
viding that the long-discussed question should be 
settled by joint ballot of the two houses, to be 
convened in joint session for that purpose, three 
clays after the passage of the act. Accordingly, 
on February 28, 1837, at 10 o'clock a. m., the two 
houses met in joint session and on the fourth 



ballot Springfield was chosen as the new capitol, 
receiving 73 votes, a majority over all competi- 
tors for the prize. On the final ballot Vandalia 
received 16 votes, Jacksonville n, Peoria 8, Al- 
ton 6, Illiopolis 3, and i vote each was received 
by Bloomington, Shawneetown, Hillsboro, Graf- 
ton, Caledonia and Essex. 

THE FOURTH CAPITOL. 

Already an act had been passed (February n, 
1837), making an appropriation of $10,268.82, 
including twenty-eight separate items, "in full of 
all materials furnished, money advanced, and the 
work and labor done to and upon the said State 
house," so that the" "public officers, mechanics 
and citizens" of Vandalia were reimbursed for 
their outlay on the third capitol, and on March 
3, 1837, an act supplemental to the act of Febru- 
ary 25 was passed authorizing the commissioners 
of Sangamon county to convey to the State the 
"public square" in Springfield, containing two 
and one-half acres, more or less, and naming 
Archibald Job, A. G. Henry and Thomas Hou- 
gan (or Hogan) as a board of State House 
Commissioners to superintend the erection of the 
new capitol. Fifty thousand dollars had already 
been appropriated for building purposes, the citi- 
zens of Springfield subscribed $50,000 additional, 
and the corner stone of the new building was laid 
with impressive ceremonies July 4, 1837. Major 
E. D. Baker, ten years later a Representative in 
Congress from this State, and still later a United 
States Senator from Oregon, who fell in one of 
the early engagements of the Civil war, was the 
orator of the day; and the oration of this bril- 
liant young lawyer is said to have been worthy 
of the occasion. Dr. Hogan declined to act as 
State House Commissioner, and William Hern- 
don, in 1839, was appointed to fill the vacancy. 
John F. Rague was selected by the commission- 
ers as the architect, and the work went forward 
on the new capitol. A few months only had been 
required to complete either of the former capi- 
tols, but this was a more serious undertaking, 
and its completion proved to be the work of years 
instead of months, the last of the numerous "ap- 
propriations for completion of the State house" 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



being made in 1851 and the work completed in 
1853, sixteen years after the laying of the corner 
stone, and at a total cost of about $260,000, in- 
stead of $120,000 as first estimated. 

The commissioners made their last report to the 
Twelfth General Assembly (December 15, 1840) 
in which they reported an expenditure of $182,- 
800, besides liabilities incurred to the amount of 
$29,153, and estimated as necessary to complete 
the building a further appropriation of $39,000. 
They were immediately legislated out of office 
and a new commission was appointed, consisting 
of the, Secretary of State, Auditor and Treasurer, 
who, at this time, were James Shields, Lyman 
Trumbull and Milton Carpenter, respectively. 
They were authorized to effect a settlement with 
former commissioners and to complete the con- 
struction of the State house, for which work 
$7,000 was appropriated. Two thousand six hun- 
dred dollars more was appropriated at the next 
session, and in 1847 the Governor was given a 
place on the commission instead of the Secretary 
of State, and $20,000 more appropriated to com- 
plete the work. In 1849 the new commission re- 
ported that work had been done and contracts 
made which had exhausted all available funds 
and $7,000 additional was appropriated, and 
again in 1851 $i 1,000, the final appropriation for 
completing the capitol ; but in 1854 $20,000 was 
further appropriated for enclosing and embellish- 
ing the grounds about the building so as to "cor- 
respond with and be equal to the court house 
square in the city of Chicago." 

THE FIFTH CAPITOL. 

The State capitol, the corner stone of which 
had been laid with impressive ceremonies July 
4, 1837, was fifteen years in building; and, fif- 
teen years after its completing, it was so inade- 
quate to the wants of the State that the erection 
of a new capitol seemed imperative. At the time 
of is erection it was the architectural wonder of 
the State and commonly considered beyond the 
necessity of the times, and the tax-paying abili- 
ties of the commonwealth. It was frequently 
characterized as a monument of extravagance, 
and excused on the ground of State pride rather 



than the immediate or future necessities of the 
State government. The population of the State 
in 1837 was less than a half million. In 1867 it 
was nearly two and one-half millions ; an increase 
of four hundred per cent in thirty years. In the 
meantime Springfield had grown from a town of 
1,100 to one of 17,000, while Chicago had in- 
creased from 4,000 to about a quarter of a mil- 
lion. The increase in wealth had more than kept 
pace with the growth of population ; and in 1867 
(February 25) the Twenty-fifth General Assem- 
bly passed an act providing for the erection of a 
new State house. This act authorized the Gov- 
ernor to convey to the county of Sangamon and 
the city of Springfield the existing capitol and 
grounds in consideration of $200,000 and the 
further consideration of the site for the erection 
of the new capitol. The act limited the cost to 
three million dollars, and named a board of seven 
commissioners to carry out' the provisions of the 
act in superintending the erection of the building. 
The act contained an emergency clause and the 
commissioners proceeded to their work without 
delay. On March II, 1868, ground was broken 
for the new building. On June nth the first 
stone was laid, and on October 5, 1868, the 
formal laying of the corner stone took place. 
Judge J. D. Caton making the principal address 
an eloquent and scholarly essay of historic 
value, fortunately, has found a place in the prin- 
cipal libraries of the State. In September, 1869, 
the foundation was completed at a cost of nearly 
half a million dollars ; in 1876 the capitol was first 
occupied in an unfinished condition; in 1885 the 
final appropriation was made, and it was com- 
pleted in 1888. 

The first appropriation, $450,000, made in 1867, 
was wholly exhausted before the completion of 
the foundation, which cost $465,686.67. In 1869, 
a further appropriation was made of $450,000 ; in 
1871, $600,000 more; in 1873, $1,000,000, and in 
1875, $800,000. These appropriations made a 
total of three and one-half million dollars, the 
limit fixed by the constitution of 1870, beyond 
which the Legislature could not go without a vote 
of the people ratifying further appropriation. In 
1877, an appropriation of $531,712, contingent 
upon the approval of the people, was made for 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the completion of the State house, and submitted 
at the November election of that year. The prop- 
osition received but 80,222 affirmative votes out 
of a total of 389,189 cast at the election. Again, 
in 1881, a similar appropriation was made and 
again submitted at the election in November, 
1882, and was again defeated, receiving but 231,- 
632 votes out of a total of 532,683. Again, in 

1884, the same proposition was once more sub- 
mitted to a vote at the November election, and se- 
cured the endorsement of the people, receiving 
364,796 votes out of a total of 673,086. June 29, 

1885, an act was passed to render effective the 
act of 1883, and the final appropriation of $531,- 
712 was made available after October i, 1885. A 
new State house commission was appointed by 
the Governor to superintend its expenditure, and 
the capitol was completed in 1888, twenty-one 
years after its building was authorized. The sev- 
eral appropriations enumerated above, together 
with smaller sums appropriated during the prog- 
ress of the work, as well as during the years 
when work was practically suspended, made for 
repairs, for protection and preservation of work 
already done; for vaults, laying walks upon the 
grounds, planting trees, and other items, not, 
perhaps, properly chargeable to the first cost of 
building, amounted in the aggregatte to nearly 
four and one-half million dollars. 

The first Board of State House Commission- 
ers, named in the act of 1867, consisted of seven 
members as follows: John W. Smith, John J. 
S. Wilson, Philip Wadsworth, James C. Robin- 
son, William T. Vandeveer, William L. Hamble- 
ton and James H. Beveridge. March 12, 1867, 
Jacob Bunn was appointed, vice John J. S. Wil- 
son, and on the organization of the board was 
elected president of the commission. In 1869 
the board, by act of the General Assembly, was 
reduced to three members, and the Governor re- 
appointed Jacob Bunn, James C. Robinson and 
James H. Beveridge, of the old commission, to 
constitute the new board, of which Mr. Bunn 
was made president and Mr. Beveridge secre- 
tary. In 1871 Mr. Robinson resigned his ap- 
pointment and John T. Stuart was named to fill 
the vacancy. These commissioners continued to 
act until 1877, at which time, there being no 



funds available for carrying on the work of 
building, they were relieved, by act of the Gen- 
eral Assembly, from further duty. After the 
favorable vote of 1884, ratifying the legislative 
appropriation of 1883, Governor Hamilton ap- 
pointed, December 30, 1884, a new board, con- 
sisting of General John Cook, Rheuna D. Law- 
rence and John O'Neill ; but, on the assembling 
of the Legislature the Senate failed to confirm 
these appointments, and Governor. Oglesby ap- 
pointed George Kirk, William Jayne and John 
McCreery, who directed the expenditure of the 
final appropriation and completion of the building. 

In response to an advertisement by the first 
board of commissioners offering a premium of 
$3,000 for the best design for the building, twen- 
ty-one designs were submitted, from which that 
of John C. Cochrane, of Chicago, was chosen, 
July 2, 1867, anc l m J anuar >' I 868, Mr. Cochrane 
was appointed architect and superintendent of 
the works, on a contract of two and one-half 
per cent of the cost of the building and W. D. 
Clark, of Davenport, was appointed assistant su- 
perintendent. In 1886 Alfred H. Pinquenard, 
of the firm of Cochrane &Pinquenard, undertook 
the personal supervision of the work, and acted 
as resident supervising architect until his death, 
November 19, 1876. M. E. Bell, who had been 
appointed assistant superintendent in 1874, vice 
W. D. Clark, assumed the personal supervision 
of the work after the death cf Mr. Pinquenard. 

This great work, continuing through twenty- 
one years, was not carried forward without de- 
lays and embarrassments. From the first there 
was a strong element in the State opposed to the 
construction of the building. At first this oppo- 
sition was confined to interested localities that 
wanted the capital located elsewhere, but as times 
got "hard" and the appropriations began to 
mount into the millions, the opposition became 
more wide-spread and of deeper significance. As 
early as 1871, petitions, carrying 40,000 names, 
were presented to the Generaly Assembly, ask- 
ing that further appropriations be withheld until 
the questions of location and cost could be sub- 
mitted to a vote of the people. Peoria made a 
munificent bid for the transfer of the capital to 
that city, and Chicago, in protest against the in- 



26 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



adequate accommodations of the old building 
and the slow progress of the new one, invited the 
Twenty-seventh General Assembly to hold its 
adjourned session in Chicago, offering suitable 
assembly halls, executive and committee rooms 
free of charge to the State. This offer, in spite 
of the constitutional provision that all sessions 
of the General Assembly must be held at the 
capital, was accepted by joint resolution of the 
assembly. The great conflagration which, in 
1871, swept away all the public buildings of Chi- 
cago, prevented the carrying out of this plan and 
avoided the possible complications which might 
have arisen on account of it. From 1875 to 1885 
no appropriation was made available for prose- 
cuting the work, and for about eight years no 
progress was made toward the completion of the 
building, nothing being attempted between 1877 
and 1885 except to protect the work done pre- 
vious to that time. No report of the last board 
of commissioners is on file concerning the com- 
pletion of the building, but the Auditor's reports 
show that the last of the appropriation of 1885 
was expended in 1888. 

The site selected for the building and given 
by the county of Sangamon and city of Spring- 
field, in part consideration of the transfer of the 
old capitol and grounds to the city and county, 
is a beautiful plot of ground about one-fourth 
of a mile southwest of the old capitol, containing 
eight and one-half acres, sloping gently toward 
the east, the direction in which the capitol faces 
the business part of the city. The original plans 
contemplated a further addition of ground to the 
south end of the site which, unfortunately, was 
never secured, and the south portico of the build- 
ing, as provided for in the original design, was 
never constructed, for want of necessary space, 
the south wall of the south wing being flush 
with the street. 

The building, in the form of a Latin cross, is of 
the composite order of architecture in which 
modern effects of utility and convenience are 
happily combined with the strength and beauty 
characteristic of ancient styles of building. The 
circular foundation, ninety-two and a half feet 
in diameter, upon which the great dome rests, is 
twenty-five and a half feet below the grade line, 



based upon the solid rock, and the walls support- 
ing the dome are seventeen feet in thickness from 
the foundation to the floor of the first story. The 
foundation for the outer walls is eleven to sixteen 
feet below the grade line, these walls being nine 
feet thick up to the first floor. The foundation 
walls are all built of granular magnesian lime- 
stone of unquestioned strength and durability, ob- 
tained from the Sonora quarries of Hancock 
county. The outer walls of the superstructure are 
constructed of Niagara limestone, the lower story 
from the quarries of Joliet, and the upper stories 
from Lemont. The extreme length of the build- 
ing from north to south is 379 feet, and from east 
to west 268 feet. The height from ground line 
to top of dome is 361 feet, and to tip of flag staff 
405 feet higher, exclusive of the flag staff by 
74 feet, than the dome of the national capitol at 
Washington. The building consists of basement, 
first, second and third stories, gallery floor and 
dome. The basement is used for vaults, en- 
gine rooms, carpenter shop, and storerooms 
for various purposes. The first floor is de- 
voted (1899) largely to offices for various 
State boards, the east wing being occupied 
by the Railroad and Warehouse Commission on 
the north side, and by the Bureau of Labor Sta- 
tistics and State Board of Health on the south 
side; the north wing, by the Superintendent of 
Insurance on the east side, and by the land de- 
partment of the Auditor's office, the Farmers' 
Institute and the supply department of the Secre- 
tary of State on the west ; the west wing by the 
Board of Live Stock Commissioners on the north 
side and by the chambers of the Supreme Judges 
on the south, while the south wing contains the 
office of clerk of the Supreme Court, the ship- 
ping department of the Secretary of State's of- 
fice and the War Museum on the west side, and 
the offices of the Adjutant General and State 
Board of Pharmacy on the east. The second floor 
(called the main floor by the architect, and origi- 
nally reached from the outside by a broad flight of 
marble steps on the east front) contains the ex- 
ecutive offices, the east wing being occupied by 
the Governor's suite of rooms on the north side 
and the Secretary of State's on the south ; the 
north wing by the State Board of Public Chari- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ties, the Board of Agriculture and Agricultural 
Museum on the east side and the offices of the 
Auditor and Treasurer on the west ; the west wing 
by the Attorney General's office on the north side, 
the Law Library in the west end, while the south 
side of this wing and the west side of the south 
wing are devoted to the use of the Supreme 
Court. The east side of the south wing is oc- 
cupied by the State Superintendent of Public In- 
struction and the anti-trust and index depart- 
ments of the office of the Secretary of State. 

On the third floor the north wing is occupied 
by the Senate Chamber, the south wing by the 
Hall of the House of Representatives, the east 
wing by the Geological and Natural History 
Museum and offices of the State Board of Par- 
dons and Printer Expert, and the west wing by 
the State Library and State Historical Library. 
There are also numerous committee rooms and 
offices- for the officers of the General Assembly 
on this floor, while the gallery floor and mansard 
story are wholly occupied by committee rooms. 

The porticoes of the east and north fronts, sup- 
ported by massive arches and columns of Joliet 
limestone and stately pillars of polished Fox Is- 
land granite, with the gigantic but perfectly pro- 
portioned and graceful dome, constitute the 
notable architectural features of the outer build- 
ing, while the magnificent rotunda and grand 
stairway of the interior were the special pride of 
the architects and builders. 

The floors of the rotunda and of the corridors 
are mosaic work of different colored marble. The 
walls of the rotunda in the first and second 
stories and to the spring of the arches, as well as 
the arches themselves, are of solid stone faced 
with Bedford blue limestone and Missouri red 
granite. The grand stairway, leading from the 
second floor to the third, constructed of solid 
marble, with columns, pilasters, arches, rails, bal- 
usters, wainscoting and soffits connected with it, 
also of solid marble, was, at the time of its con- 
struction, considered superior in design, mate- 
rial and finish, to any similar stairway in the 
world. The polished columns in the second story 
of the rotunda are of Missouri red granite with 
bases of blue granite and rich foliated caps of 
Tuckahoe marble. The wainscoting of the cor- 



ridors of vari-colored marbles, domestic and im- 
ported (including white Italian, Alps green, Lis- 
bon, Glens Falls, old Tennessee, Concord, and 
other varieties) artistically paneled, is a piece of 
work unexcelled for beauty and durability and in 
perfect harmony with the other parts of the spa- 
cious hallways. The ceilings of the principal 
rooms are heavily paneled and tastefully deco- 
rated ; those of the Supreme Court room and the 
Assembly halls being particularly worthy of note. 

The paintings and statuary intended to adorn 
the interior are hardly in keeping with the archi- 
tectural beauty of the building, though some of 
the work is of unquestioned merit. The panels 
of the main corridor of the first floor are deco- 
rated with paintings illustrative of scenes and 
events closely connected with the early history 
of the State, such as old Fort Chartres on the 
Mississippi, Starved Rock on the Illinois, old 
Fort Dearborn, New Salem in the time of Lin- 
coln, General Grant taking command of the 
troops at Cairo at the beginning of the Civil war, 
Marquette and Joliet in a conference with the In- 
dians during the earliest recorded exploration of 
Illinois in 1673, and Governor Coles liberating 
his slaves as they drift down the Ohio river in a 
flat boat on their immigration to Illinois. A large 
painting representing Col. George Rogers Clark 
negotiating a treaty with the Illinois Indians fills 
the large panel on the wall above the landing of 
the grand stairway. Full length portraits of Lin- 
coln and Douglas are found in the hall of the 
House of Representatives, and of Washington 
and Lafayette in the State Library, while por- 
traits, varying widely in artistic merit, of all the 
Governors of the State adorn the walls of the 
Governor's office. 

In the center of the first floor at the intersection 
of the main corridors, as a relic of the World's 
Fair at Chicago, stands a bronze female figure 
of heroic size representing "Illinois welcoming 
the world," to the Columbian Exposition of 1892. 
This piece of statuary was placed on exhibition 
by the woman's exposition committee during the 
exposition, in the Illinois building, and was trans- 
ferred to the state after the close of the fair. 

On the second floor are marble statues of Lin- 
coln, Douglas and Governor Wood, and high up 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



on the walls of the rotunda on pedestals near the 
base of the inner dome are heroic bronze casts 
of eight men prominent in the civil and military 
history of the state Ninian Edwards, governor 
by appointment and re-appointment during the 
entire territorial period, 1809 to 1818, and third 
of governor of the state; Shadrach Bond, the 
state's first governor; Edward Coles, the second 
governor ; Sidney Breese, judge of the supreme 
court of the state for many years, and United 
States senator ; Lyman Trumbull, United States 
senator and eminent jurist; U. S. Grant, com- 
mander of all the armies of the Union at the close 
of the Civil war and afterwards twice elected to 
the presidency ; John A. Logan, Major General of 
Volunteers during the Civil war, and afterwards 
for many years United States senator a brilliant 
figure in the military and political history of the 
state; and William R. Morrison, eminent, alike, 
as a statesman and jurist, the only one of these 
eight worthies still living. 

Still above these statues, and just at the base of 
the inner dome, is a series of allegorical and his- 
torical pictures, in bas relief, of conceded artis- 
tic merit. Among them are the discussion of the 
stamp act, in the Virginia House of Burgesses, 
with Patrick Henry as the central figure, making 
his memorable address, and Washington and 
Richard Henry Lee among his attentive auditors ; 
the evacuation of Yorktown by the British forces ; 
Peter Cartwright, the pioneer preacher, conduct- 
ing a religious service in a "settler's" cabin ; the 
surrender of Black Hawk at Prairie du Chien ; 
and a joint debate between those giants of the 
political forum, Abraham Lincoln and Stephen 
A. Douglas, in their great campaign of 1858. In 
these historical representations all of the figures 
are supposed to be portraits of historical charac- 
ters. Many of them are easily recognized, but 
others it seems impossible to identify, as the 
gifted artist, T. Nicolai, who designed and exe- 
cuted the work, dying before it was wholly com- 
pleted, left no key to the different groups so 
graphically represented. 

It is difficult to describe in detail such a build- 
ing without making the description tedious to the 
average reader. It is unnecessary, perhaps, to de- 
scribe it at all. It stands to speak for itself, and 



except for some unforeseen disaster, will yet 
stand for many years a monument to the fore- 
sight of those who conceived it, as well as to the 
skill of the architects and workmen who designed 
and constructed it. At the time of its construc- 
tion there was no public building in the United 
States, except the capital at Washington, to com- 
pare with it in size, cost or elegance ; and now. 
thirty-five years after the drawing of the plans 
by which it was built, there are few buildings in 
the country surpassing it for architectural beauty 
or which more adequately serve the purpose for 
which they were intended. 

THE CAPITAL CITIES OF ILLINOIS. 

KASKASKIA. 

No reliable data can be found from which the 
earliest settlement of Kaskaskia may positively 
be determined. Authentic records show that in 
1675 Marquette established a mission among the 
Kaskaskia Indians, known as the Kaskaskia Mis- 
sion, near the present site of Utica, LaSalle 
county, and that, on account of the repeated at- 
tacks of the warlike Iroquois, this mission, with 
a considerable body of the Kaskaskia Indians, was 
removed, in 1700, to the present site of Kaskas- 
kia. Some authorities claim that a settlement had 
previously been formed here as early as 1682 by 
some of LaSalle's followers on the return voyage 
from their exploration of the lower Mississippi. 
Others" state that the first settlement was the estab- 
lishment at this point of a trading post by Tonti 
in 1685. It is probable that the settlement was 
no continuous from the first, for the early French 
traders and trappers were as migratory in their 
habits as the Indians themselves ; and probably 
those authorities are not far wrong who fix the 
earliest settlement in 1700, reckoning from the 
date of the transfer of the Kaskaskia Mission from 
the upper waters of the Illinois to the lower Kas- 
kaskia river. It is .known, at least, that Kaskas- 
kia was among the earliest French settlements in 
the Illinois country, that it soon outstripped all of 
its neighboring villages in wealth and population, 
and at an early date became the center of coloniza- 
tion and exploration, as well as the headquarters 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



of missionary effort and mercantile and military 
enterprise in that part of New France known as 
the Illinois country. The first military occu- 
pation of the village by the French govern- 
ment was in 1718. 1719 saw the first 
regular parish organization. A monastery and 
college were erected as early as 1721, and in 1725 
the village was incorporated and received from 
Louis XV. a grant of commons to the inhabitants. 
Under French rule the village gradually increased 
in population and importance, until in 1763, at the 
close of the French and Indian war, it is said to 
have had a population of 2,000 or 3,000. These 
figures, however, are not well authenticated. In 
1765, at the time of the British occupation, a large 
proportion of the population, estimated at one- 
third of the whole, left the village and took up 
their residences at St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve. 
on the west bank of the Mississippi. During the 
Piritish occupation,' from 1765 to 1778, few acces- 
sions were made to the village ; but after the con- 
trol passed into the hands of the colonies, at the 
close of the Revolutionary war, the tide of emi- 
gration from the older colonies set toward Kas- 
kaskia ; but its growth was slow until afte'r the 
organization of Illinois as a territory. The terri- 
torial period, from 1809 to 1818, included the 
most prosperous years in the history of the vil- 
lage, and- after the removal of the state capital 
to Vandalia it never again acquired so large a 
population as it had fA that time. On the other 
hand, the village since that event has steadily di- 
minished in population and importance, and even 
its ancient site is disappearing, a prey to the an- 
nual spring floods of the Mississippi. In 1818, 
Kaskaskia was incorporated as a town under the 
laws of the territory. In 1820, the state govern- 
ment removed to Vandalia the new capital of the 
state. In 1848, four years after a disastrous in- 
undation, the county seat was removed to Ches- 
ter. From 1836 to 1871 no town officers were 
elected under that charter. In 1871, a town gov- 
ernment was again formed under the old char- 
ter, and in 1873 the town reorganized under the 
general law. In 1880. the town retained a popu- 
lation of 350. In 1881, the Mississippi broke 
through the narrow neck of alluvial land above 
the town and joined its waters with those of the 



Kaskaskia, leaving the old town on an island, and 
washing away a considerable part of the old town 
site. Each recurring spring flood takes away a 
portion of the old site, and it is probable that the 
spring of 1900 will witness the disappearance of 
the last vestige of the old town. At the present 
time there are not more than eight or ten of its 
remaining houses occupied its population less 
than half a hundred, its postoffice and last busi- 
ness house long since departed, the building 
known in tradition as the Old State House stand- 
ing on the edge of the crumbling bank of the 
river, waiting for the next flood to carry it away 
its total obliteration now seems to be a ques- 
tion of a few months only, after an eventful ex- 
istence of two hundred ears. 



VANDALIA. 

When Vandalia was made the state capital in 
1820, the site of the town and all the country 
round about it was an unbroken wilderness. Fay- 
ette county was not organized nor the town in- 
corporated until the following- year.. In 1830 
the population of Fayette county had grown to 
2,700 and at the time of the removal of the capi- 
tal, ten years later, the population had more than 
doubled, being something more than 6,000, of 
which number 900, perhaps, lived in the town of 
Vandalia. After the removal of the capital to 
Springfield the population of the town fell away 
for several years, and as late as 1854 contained 
but about 800 people. The present population is 
about 2,500 or 3,000 and the present area is less 
than half, perhaps, of the four sections constitut- 
ing the original town site, much of which now 
forms corn and wheat fields adjoining the town 
as it exists to-day. Recent years have brought 
to it a gradual but steady increase of population, 
and though it has not kept pace with its successor, 
Springfield, there is nothing to indicate its total 
extinction, the fate that seems meted out to its 
predecessor, historic old Kaskaskia. 

SPRINGFIELD. 

Springfield, at the time it became the capital of 
the state, was but little larger than the deserted 
village of Vandalia. The act of 1821, organizing 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the county of Sangamon, authorized the commis- 
sioners to locate a temporary county seat, by which 
authority they proceeded, according to the final 
clause of their own report, to "fix and designate 
a certain point in the prairie near John Kelly's 
field on the waters of Spring creek, at a stake set 
marked Z. D., as the temporary seat of justice of 
said county, and do further agree that the said 
county seat be called and known by the name of 
Springfield." The "stake marked Z. D." was 
driven near what is now the corner of Second and 
Jefferson streets, and later in the same year a 
court house and jail, the total cost of which was 
$84, was erected on this spot. The following 
year Elijah lies and Pascal Enos caused to be 
surveyed . and platted a town which surrounded 
this "temporary seat of justice" and called the 
town Calhoun. But as Springfield was the official 
title of the county seat as well as of the postoffice, 
established in 1823, the name Calhoun was seldom 
used ; and the town, in spite of its owners and 
godfathers, was generally called Springfield. In 
1824, by act of the legislature, the boundary lines 
of the county were readjusted and the commis- 
sioners authorized to permanently locate a county 
seat, in the doing of which they were directed to 
procure a donation of not less than thirty-five 
acres of land upon which they were to lay off a 
town site. Rather than lose for their town the 
prestige which attaches to a county seat, the pro- 
prietors of Calhoun donated forty-two acres ad- 
joining their own town and including a portion of 
it, for the site of the permanent county seat. The 
donation was accepted by the commissioners, 
"platted" by them into blocks and lots with 
streets and alleys to correspond with those of the 
old town of Calhoun, and without change of name 
and but a slight change in location, the permanent 
county seat was fixed May 18, 1825. Neither 
town was incorporated and neither had any form 
of municipal government until 1827, when an act 
was passed by the general assembly authorizing 
the county commissioners to appoint a supervisor 
for the town whose principal duty, as defined by 
the act, was "to have all the trees and stumps in 
any of the streets described, cut off as nearly level 
with the ground as possible." He was also made 
custodian of certain fines and penalties collected 



by the justices within the town, which he was to 
expend for the improvement of streets and alleys. 
In 1832 the town was incorporated under the 
general act of 1831, and was governed by the 
president and board of trustees of the town, who 
continued in municipal control until its incorpora- 
tion as a city. In 1833 an act was passed by the 
general assembly providing for a resurvey of the 
town and declaring that "hereafter the plat of the 
town of Calhoun shall be forever known and de- 
clared as a part of the town of Springfield." In 
1840, after having been designated as the capital 
of the state, the town was reincorporated as a 
city, at which time it had a population of about 
1,100. 

This charter of 1840 was the subject of amend- 
ment at nearly every session of the legislature for 
many years, and in 1882 the city was reorganized 
under the general law. Since that time its growth 
in area as well as in wealth and population has 
steadily gone forward and its present estimated 
population is 35,000 or 40,000. Besides the im- 
portance which attaches to it as the county seat of 
a large and properous county and as the capital 
city of a great state, its location in the midst of 
a great coal region furnishing an inexhaustible 
supply of cheap fuel, makes it an important min- 
ing and manufacturing center. Its excellent ho- 
tels together with the accommodations afforded 
for large assemblies by its public buildings, make 
it a favorite convention city for political, religious, 
educational and social organizations. It has be- 
come in recent years one of the most attractive 
and prosperous cities of the state, and apparently 
there is nothing likely to interrupt its continued 
growth and prosperity. 

ILLINOIS AS A STATE. 

ORGANIZATION. 

In January of 1818 the territorial legislature 
forwarded to Nathaniel Pope, delegate in con- 
gress from Illinois, a petition praying for admis- 
sion into the national Union as a state. On April 
1 8th of the same year congress passed the enabling 
act, and December 3, after the state government 
had been organized and Governor Bond had 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



signed the constitution, congress by a resolution 
declared Illinois to be ''one of the United States of 
America, and admitted into the Union on an equal 
footing with the original states in all respects." 

The ordinance of 1787 declared that there 
should be at least three states carved out of the 
Northwestern Territory. The boundaries of the 
three, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois, were fixed by 
this law. Congress reserved the power, however, 
of forming two other states out of the territory 
which lies north of an east and west line drawn 
through the southern boundary of Lake Michi- 
gan. It was generally conceded that this line 
would be the northern boundary of Illinois; but 
as this would give the state no coast on Lake 
Michigan ; and rob her of the port of Chicago and 
the northern terminus of the Illinois and Michi- 
gan canal which was then contemplated, Judge 
Pope had the northern boundary moved fifty miles 
further north. 

BOUNDARY CHANGED. 

Not only is Illinois indebted to Nathaniel Pope 
for the port where now enter and depart more 
vessels during the year than in any other port in 
the world, for the northern terminus of the Illi- 
nois and Michigan canal, and for the lead mines 
at Galena, but the nation, the undivided Union, 
is largely indebted to him for its perpetuity. It 
was he, his foresight, statesmanship and energy, 
that bound our confederated Union with bands 
of iron that can never be broken. The geograph- 
ical position of Illinois, with her hundreds of 
miles of water-courses, is such as to make her the 
key to the grand arch of northern and southern 
states. Extending from the great chain of lakes 
on the north, with snow and ice of the arctic 
region, to the cotton fields of Tennessee ; peopled, 
as it is, by almost all races, classes and conditions 
of the human family ; guided by the various and 
diversified political, agricultural, religious and 
educational teachings common to both North and 
South, Illinois can control, and has controlled, 
the destinies of our united and beloved republic. 
Pope seemingly foresaw that a struggle to dis- 
solve the Union would be made. With a pro- 
phetic eye he looked down the stream of time for a 



half century and saw the great conflict between 
the South and North, caused by the determination 
to dissolve the confederation of states ; and to pre- 
serve the Union, he gave to Illinois a lake coast. 

Governor Ford, in his History of Illinois, 
writen in 1847, while speaking of this change of 
boundary and influence upon our nation, says : 

"What, then, was the duty of the national gov- 
ernment ? Illinois was certain to be a great state, 
with any boundaries which that government 
could give. Its great extent of territory, its un- 
rivaled fertility of soil and capacity for sustain- 
ing a dense population, together with its com- 
manding position, would in course of time give 
the new state a very controlling influence with 
her sister states situated upon the Western riv- 
ers, either in sustaining the federal Union as it is, 
or in dissolving it and establishing new govern- 
ments. If left entirely upon the waters of these 
great rivers, it was plain that, in case of threat- 
ened disruption, the interest of the new state 
would be to join a souhern and western confeder- 
acy; but if a large portion of it could be made 
independent upon the commerce and navigation of 
the great northern lakes, connected as they are 
with the eastern states, a rival interest would be 
created to check the wish for a western and south- 
ern confederacy. 

"It therefore became the duty of the national 
government not only to make Illinois strong, but 
to raise an interest inclining and binding her to 
the eastern and northern portions of the Union. 
This could be done only through an interest in 
the lakes. At that time the commerce on the 
lakes was small, but its increase was confidently 
expected, and, indeed, it has exceeded all antici- 
pations, and is yet only in its infancy. To accom- 
plish this object effectually, it was not only neces- 
sary to give to Illinois the port of Chicago and a 
route for the canal, but a considerable coast on 
Lake Michigan, with a country back of it suffi- 
ciently extensive to contain a population capable 
of exerting a decided influence upon the councils 
of the state. 

"There would, therefore, be a large commerce 
of the north, western and central portion of the 
state afloat on the lakes for it was then foreseen 
that the canal would be made; and this alone 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



would be like turning one of the many mouths of 
the Mississippi into Lake Michigan at Chicago. 
A very large commerce of the center and south 
would be found both upon the lakes and rivers. 
Associations in business, in interest, and of friend- 
ship would be formed, both with the north and 
the south. A state thus situated, having such a 
decided interest in the commerce, and in the pres- 
ervation of the whole confederacy, can never con- 
sent to disunion ; for the Union can not be dis- 
solved without division and disruption of the 
state itself. These views, urged by Judge Pope, 
obtained the unqualified assent of the statesmen 
of 1818. 

"These facts and views are worthy to be re- 
corded in history as a standing and perpetual call 
upon Illinoisans of every age to remember the 
great trust which has been reposed in them, as 
the peculiar champions and guardians of the 
Union by the great men and patriot sages who 
adorned and governed this country in the earlier 
and better days of the republic.'' 

During the dark and trying days of the Rebel- 
lion, well did she remember this sacred trust, to 
protect which two hundred thousand of her sons 
went to the bloody field of battle, crowning their 
arms with the laurels of war, and keeping invio- 
late the solemn obligations bequeathed to them by 
their fathers. 

FIRST CONSTITUTION. 

In July and August of 1818 a convention was 
held at Kaskaskia for the purpose of drafting a 
constitution. This constitution was not submit- 
ted to a vote of the people for their approval or 
rejection, it being well known that they would ap- 
prove it. It was about the first organic law of 
any state in the Union to abolish imprisonment 
for debt. The first election under the constitu- 
tion was held on the third Thursday and the two 
succeeding days in September, 1818. Shadrach 
Bond was elected governor, and Pierre Menard 
lieutenant governor. Their term of office extended 
four years. At this time the state was divided 
into fifteen counties, the population being about 
40.000. Of this number by far the larger portion 
were from the southern states. The salary of the 



governor was $1,000, while that of the treasurer 
was $500. The legislature re-enacted, verbatim, 
the territorial code, the penalties of which were 
unnecessarily severe. Whipping, stocks and pil- 
lory were used for minor offenses, and for arson, 
rape, horse-stealing, etc., death by hanging was 
the penalty. These laws, however, were modi- 
fied in 1821. 

The legislature first convened at Kaskaskia, 
the ancient seat of empire for more than one hun- 
dred and fifty years, both for the French and 
Americans. Provisions were made, however, for 
the removal of the seat of government by this 
legislature. A place in the wilderness on the Kas- 
kaskia river was selected and named Vanclalia. 
From Vandalia it was removed to Springfield 
in the year 1837. 

DERIVATION OF THE NAME ILLINOIS. 

The name of this beautiful "Prairie State" is 
derived from Illini, an Indian word signifying su- 
perior men. It has a French termination, and is 
a symbol of the manner in which the two races, 
the French and Indians, were intermixed during 
the early history of the country. The appellation 
was no doubt well applied to the primitive inhab- 
itants of the soil, whose prowess in savage war- 
fare long withstood the combined attacks of the 
fierce Iroquois on the one side, and the no less 
savage and relentless Sacs and Foxes on the 
other. The Illinois were once a powerful con- 
federacy, occupying the most beautiful and fertile 
region in the great valley of the Mississippi, 
which their enemies coveted and struggled long 
and hard to wrest from them. By the fortunes 
of war they were diminished in number and 
finally destroyed. "Starved Rock," on the Illinois 
river, according to tradition, commemorates their 
last tragedy, where, it is said, the entire tribe 
starved rather than surrender. 

The low cognomen of "Sucker," as applied to 
Illinoisans, is said to have had its origin at the 
Galena lead mines. In an early day, when these 
extensive mines were being worked, men would 
run up the Mississippi river in steamboats in the 
spring, work the lead mines, and in the fall re- 
turn, thus establishing, as was supposed, a simili- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



33 



tude between their migratory habits and those of 
the fishy tribe called "suckers." For this reason 
the Illinoisans have ever since been distinguished 
by the epithet "Suckers." Those who stayed at 
the mines over winter were mostly from Wiscon- 
sin, and were called "Badgers." One spring the 
Missourians poured into the mines in such num- 
bers that the state was said to have taken a puke, 
and the offensive appellation of "Pukes" was aft- 
erward applied to all Missourians. 

The southern part of the state, known as 
"Egypt," received this appellation because, being 
older, better settled and cultivated, grain was had 
in greater abundance than in the central and 
northern portion, and the immigrants of this re- 
gion, after the manner of the children of Israel, 
went "thither to buy and to bring from thence 
that they might live and not die." 

'STATE BANK. 

The legislature, during the latter years of terri- 
torial existence, granted charters to several banks. 
The result was that paper money became very 
abundant, times flush, and credit unlimited; and 
everybody invested to the utmost limit of his 
credit, with confident expectation of realizing a 
handsome advance before the expiration of his 
credit, from the throng of immigrants then pour- 
ing into the country. By 1819 it became appar- 
ent that a day of reckoning would approach be- 
fore their dreams of fortune could be realized. 
Banks everywhere began to waver, paper money 
became depreciated, and gold and silver driven 
out of the country. The legislature sought to 
bolster up the times by incorporating the "Bank 
of Illinois," which, with several branches, was 
created by the session of 1821. This bank, being 
wholly supported by the credit of the state, was 
to issue one, two, three, five, ten and twenty-dol- 
lar notes. It was the duty of the bank to ad- 
vance, upon personal property, money to the 
amount of $100, and a larger amount upon real 
estate. All taxes and public salaries could be 
paid in such bills; and if a creditor refused to 
take them, he had to wait three years longer be- 
fore he could collect the debt. The people imag- 
ined that simply because the government had is- 



sued the notes, they would remain at par; and 
although this evidently could not be the case, they 
were yet so infatuated with their project as actu- 
ally to request the^ United States government to 
receive them in payment for their public lands! 
Although there were not wanting men who, like 
John McLean, the Speaker of the House of Rep- 
resentatives, foresaw the dangers and evils likely 
to arise from the creation of such a bank, by far 
the greater part of the people were in favor of it. 
The new bank was therefore started. The new 
issue of bills by the bank of course only aggra- 
vated the evil, heretofore so grievously felt, of the 
absence of specie, so that the people were soon 
compelled to cut their bills in halves and quar- 
ters, in order to make small change in trade. 
Finally the paper currency so rapidly depreciated 
that three dollars in these bills were considered 
worth only one in specie, and the state not only 
did not increase its revenue, but lost full two- 
thirds of it, and expended three times the amount 
required to pay the expenses of the state govern- 
ment. 

LA FAYETTE'S VISIT. 

In the spring of 1825 the brave and generous 
LaFayette visited Illinois, accepting the earnest 
invitation of the general assembly, and an affec- 
tionately written letter of Governor Cole's, who 
had formed his personal acquaintance in France 
in 1817. The general in reply said : "It has been 
my eager desire, and it is now my earnest inten- 
tion, to visit the western states, and particularly 
the state of Illinois. The feelings which your 
distant welcome could not fail to excite have in- 
creased that patriotic eagerness to admire on that 
blessed spot the happy and rapid results of repub- 
lican institutions, public and domestic virtues. I 
shall, after the 22d of February (anniversary 
day), leave here for a journey to the southern 
states, and from New Orleans to the western 
states, so as to return to Boston on the I4th of 
June, when the corner-stone of the Bunker Hill 
monument is to be laid, a cerernony sacred to the 
whole Union and in which I have been engaged 
to act a peculiar and honorable part." 

General LaFayette and suite, attended by a 
large delegation of prominent citizens of Mis- 



34 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



souri, made a visit by the steamer Natchez to the 
ancient town of Kaskaskia. No military parade 
was attempted, but a multitude of patriotic citi- 
zens made him welcome. A reception was held, 
Governor Cole delivering a glowing address of 
welcome. During the progress of a grand ball 
held that night, a very interesting interview took 
place between the honored General and an Indian 
squaw whose father had served under him in the 
Revolutionary war. The squaw, learning that the 
great white chief was to be at Kaskaskia on that 
night, had ridden all day, from early dawn till 
sometime in the night, from her distant home, to 
see the man whose name had been so often on her 
father's tongue, and with which she was so famil- 
iar. In identification of her claim to his distin- 
guished acquaintance, she brought with her an 
old worn letter which the General had written to 
her father, and which the Indian chief had pre- 
served with great care, and finally bequeathed on 
his death-bed to his daughter as the most precious 
legacy he had to leave her. 

By 12 o'clock at night General LaFayette re- 
turned to his boat and started south. The boat 
was chartered bv the state. 



PIKE COUNTY. 



Pike county was established January 31, iS^ji, 
and then had all the territory west of the Illinois 
river and north to the Wisconsin line. It was 
named in honor of Hon. Zebulon Montgomery 
Pike, an American soldier and explorer. He was 
born in New Jersey and died near Toronto, Can- 
ada, in April, 1813. He served in the war of 
1812, explored the headwaters of the Mississippi 
and the interior of the Louisiana territory, was 
the discoverer of Pike's Peak, whose summit is 
\ 14,200 feet above sea level. Pike county has 7^6. 
- square miles as it now is and a population in 1900 
of 31,595, with twenty-four townships, sixteen in- 
corporated towns antl thirty-one towns and 
villages. 

GEOLOGY. 

A large proportion of the upland of Pike 
county was originally heavily timbered, but there 
are several small prairies in the central and north- 



ern portions. It is a well watered county, and the 
valley of the Mississippi is from eight to twelve 
miles wide, most of it lying on the Illinois side. 
More than one-fifth of the area of the county lies 
in this valley. The general level of the uplands 
may be estimated at from 200 to 300 feet above 
the great water courses, with no very well de- 
fined water-shed. The soil on the timbered lands 
is generally a chocolate-colored clay loam, becom- 
ing- lighter in color on the banks of the streams 
and in the vicinity of the river bluffs. 

The geological structure of this county is some- 
what peculiar, and the strata exposed within its 
limits comprise the upper part of the Niagara 
limestone, the whole series of lower carboniferous 
limestones except the Chester group, and a limited 
thickness of coal measures, with the usual surface 
deposits of loess and drift. The most northerly 
outcrop of Devonian beds is in Calhoun county. 
The loess and drift measure is 40 to 100 feet in 
thickness in Pike county, the coal measures 
twenty to sixty, St. Louis limestone one to thirty, 
Keokuk group 100 to 125, Burlington limestone 
150 to 200, Kinderhook 100 to 120, and the 
Niagara limestone one to fifty. 

The Niagara limestone is found only in the 
southwest part of the county, where its main out- 
crop is at the base of the bluffs between Rockport 
and the south line of the county and for a short 
distance up Six-Mile creek. It contains a few 
fossils at the outcrop near Pleasant Hill, among 
which are trilobites and a few shells. At Mr. 
Wells' place, northwest quarter section 17, Pleas- 
ant Hill township, the buff-colored magnesia beds 
of this group are exposed about ten feet in thick- 
ness, and the rock has been quarried for building- 
stone. On the southeast quarter section 8 there is 
an exposure of about twenty-two feet of this lime- 
stone, the lower ten feet being a gray, even-bed- 
ded limestone, and the upper twelve feet a buff- 
colored magnesian rock, closely resembling the 
rock from the Grafton quarries. It is the prevail- 
ing rock at Pleasant Hill, where it forms a lime- 
stone bench about thirty feet high, above the road, 
at the base of the bluffs. Two miles north of 
Pleasant Hill, on a branch of Six-Mile creek, the 
upper part of this limestone is exposed in the bed 
of the creek. 




FIRST COURTHOUSE, 1821 



on HE 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



37 



KINDERHOOK GROUP. 

One of the best exposures of this group in this 
county is just above Kinderhook ; whence the 
name. It is at the point of the bluff, and com- 
prises twenty feet of loess, fifteen of Burlington 
limestone, six of thin-bedded, fine-grained lime- 
stone, thirty-six of thin-bedded sandstone and 
sandy shales, and forty feet of clay and sandy 
shales, partly hidden. Fossil shells are found in 
the sandstone. This group is also well exposed 
at Rockport and two miles below Atlas, and some- 
what exposed at the base of the Illinois river 
bluffs. Almost everywhere in the county the Bur- 
lington limestone overlies the group, which de- 
termines the topographical features of the region 
also underlaid by the shales and gritstones of the 
group. 

BURLINGTON LIMESTONE. 

This limestone forms the bed rock over fully 
one-half the uplands. It is from fifty to 100 feet 
in thickness, and its best exposures are among the 
river bluffs. It is a rather coarse-grained, gray 
stone, interspersed with brown layers, and is 
largely composed of the fossilized remains of 
crinoids and mollusks. In the Mississippi bluff, 
near the north line of the county, forty feet or 
more of the lower portion of this limestone is ex- 
posed, forming the upper escarpment of the 
bluff, and consisting of alternate beds of gray and 
brown limestone, usually in regular and tolerably- 
thick beds. It has fossils, and has been exten- 
sively quarried on Big Blue creek for building 
purposes. On the eastern side of the county the 
most northerly outcrop of this limestone is near 
Griggsville Landing, where the cherty beds of the 
upper division of this rock are exposed at the base 
of the bluff. The outcrop here is about fifty feet 
thick. It appears about the same at Montezuma. 
and is seen exposed at points all along these bluffs. 
It is well exposed on Bay creek, forming the 
main portion of the bluffs along this stream from 
near Pittsfield to the southeast corner of the 
county. It is the most important of all the lime- 
stones exposed in this county, both as regards ex- 
tent of exposure and its economical value. As a 
building stone it is not equal to the magnesian 



beds of the Niagara group, as found near Pleas- 
'ant Hill, but is nevertheless very durable. It can 
be found over half the county. 



KEOKUK GROUP. 

This group lies just above the Burlington lime- 
stone, and outcrops over a large portion of the 
northern and northeastern parts of the county, 
where it is frequently found immediately beneath 
the coal measures. The St. Louis group, which 
should properly intervene, was worn away before 
the coal epoch. It consists of light gray and blu- 
ish gray cherty limestones at the base, which 
closejy resemble the upper beds of the Burlington 
limestone. ^*Some of the limestone strata are as 
crinoidal in their structure as the Burlington, but 
they are usually more bluish gray in color. There 
is usually a series of cherty beds, ten to thirty feet 
in thickness, separating the main limestones of 
the two groups, which may properly be regarded 
as transitional. The upper division consists of 
lime-clay shales and thin-bedded limestones, con- 
taining geodes lined with crystallized quartz, 
chalcedony, calcite, dolomite, crystals of zinc 
blende and iron pyrites. The pyrites is usually in 
minute crystals implanted on quartz. 

This division may be seen a mile and a half 
southeast of Griggsville, and where it first ap- 
pears beneath the coal measures the geodes are im- 
bedded in a ferruginous sandstone, which perhaps 
represents the conglomerate usually lying at the 
base of the coal measures. This indicates that be- 
fore or during the formation of this conglomerate 
the shales originally inclosing the geodes were 
swept away, and the geodes were then enclosed in 
sand which subsequently hardened. These geode- 
bearing limestones are exposed near Perry 
Springs, where the waters derive the mineral in- 
gredients from these beds. At Chambersburg, 
the limestones of this group form the bed of Mc- 
Gee's creek. Other prominent exposures of these 
limestones are at Griggsville Landing, on Hadley's 
creek, near Huntley's coal-bank, etc. From this 
stratum much good building stone has been quar- 
ried. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ST. LOUIS GROUP. 

On the banks of McGee's creek only are indica- 
tions of the presence of this group. The beds ex- 
posed here consist of brown magnesian limestone 
and shales, twenty to thirty feet thick. A mile 
and a half northwest of Perry quarries have been 
opened in these beds, and about three miles north 
of Perry Springs they are again exposed, overlaid 
by shale, the whole being about twenty feet in 
thickness. 

COAL MEASURES. 

The coal formation occupies but a limited area 
in the central and northern portions of this 
county, underlying the whole of New Salem 
township, and a portion only of the four sur- 
rounding townships. The thickness does not 
probably exceed sixty feet. The following are the 
principal points where coal has been dug in Pike 
county : 

Huntley's, northwest quarter section 15, Had- 
ley township ; coal sixteen to twenty-four inches 
thick, overlaid by about six inches of black shale. 

Huntley's new bank, northwest quarter section 
10, Hadley township ; bed six feet thick, with a 
parting of clay shale in the middle, about two 
inches in thickness. The coal in the upper part 
of this seam is rather soft, and contains consider- 
able iron bisulphide. The lower division affords 
a harder and better coal and rests upon a gray 
fire clay two feet or more in thickness. 

Three miles east of Barry coal has been dug 
on a small branch south of the Philadelphia road ; 
and a mile further south there is a blue clay shale 
twenty-five to thirty feet thick exposed along the 
creek which intersects the river bluffs near New 
Canton. It contains septaria and tuten-mergel, 
and closely resembles the shale over the coal at 
Huntley's mine. 

From this point the western boundary of the 
coal measures trends southeastwardly to House- 
worth's coal bank, two miles and a half north- 
west of Pittsfield, on northwest quarter section 
1 6, Pittsfield township. Coal about eighteen inches 
thick, overlaid by about three feet of dark blue 
shale, passing upward into sandy shale ten feet 
more. 



Four miles west of Griggsville, coal is found 
on Mr. Dunham's place. It is fourteen to twenty 
inches thick, overlaid by about two feet of fossil- 
iferous black shale. This seam of coal outcrops 
on southeast quarter section n, same township, 
and in the ravines between Griggsville and Phila- 
delphia, via New Salem. 

A half mile south of Griggsville coal has also 
been worked, the seam being eighteen to twenty- 
four inches thick. 

On Lazarus Ross' place, a mile and a half 
northwest of Perry Springs, some indications of 
coal may be seen in the bluffs of the middle fork 
of McGee's creek. 

QUATERNARY SYSTEM. 

A broad belt of alluvial bottom lands, six to 
twelve miles wide, skirts the whole western bor- 
der of Pike county. The deposit consists of alter- 
nations of clay, sand and loam, in quite regular 
strata, but of variable thickness. The soil is ex- 
ceedingly fertile, and where they are above high 
water, they constitute the most productive and 
valuable lands in the county. A large proportion 
of this land was originally prairie, but now there 
are many belts of heavy timber skirting the small 
streams intersecting these bottoms. 

On the east side of the county there is very 
little bottom land from the south line of the 
county to the north line of Flint township, where 
it begins to widen, and thence to the north line 
of the county the Illinois bottoms are two to five 
miles wide ; but they are too low and wet for cul- 
tivation. A portion of them is heavily timbered 
with cotton wood, sycamore, soft maple, elm, ash, 
hackberry, honey locust, linden, black walnut, 
water oak, hickory, etc. 



The river bluffs on both sides of the county are 
capped with this formation, which ranges from 
ten to sixty feet or more. It always overlies the 
drift, where both are present, and hence is of more 
recent origin. It generally consists of buff or 
brown marly clays or sands, usually stratified, 
and often so coherent as to remain in vertical 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



39 



walls twenty or thirty feet high when cut through. 
F,rom seventy-five to eighty per cent of it is silica, 
ten to fifteen per cent alumina and iron per- 
oxide, three to four per cent lime, and one to two 
per cent magnesia. In the vicinity of Chambers- 
burg the loess is sixty to seventy feet thick. Ev- 
erywhere it furnishes a light, porous sub-soil, 
which is admirably adapted to the growth of fruit 
trees, vines and small fruits. In some places it 
contains a variety of fossil shells which present 
the usual bleached and water-worn appearance of 
the dead shells of our ponds and bayous. It also 
affords a variety of chalky lumps and masses 
which assume many imitative forms, as of pota- 
toes and the disks called "clay-stones" in New 
England. It also gives origin to the bald knobs 
so frequently met with along the river bluffs, and 
is often rounded into natural mounds which have 
been very generally used by the Indians as burial 
places. The bones of extinct animals are often 
found in the marly beds of this formation, along 
with land and fresh-water shells. 



This deposit consists of variously colored clays 
containing gravel and boulders. It underlies the 
loess, and hence is not visible along the bluffs. 
In the interior of the county it is often penetrated 
by well-diggers. It thins out toward the bluffs. 
At the base of the drift near Barry there is a bed 
of clean, yellow flint gravel, partially cemented 
by iron oxide into a ferruginous conglomerate. 

ECONOMICAL GEOLOGY. 

Pike county has an abundance of building 
stone. The Niagara limestone near Pleasant Hill 
furnishes a buff magnesian rock, in very regular 
beds, fully equal in quality to that of Grafton and 
Joliet. Part of the stone in the public-school 
building at Pittsfield was brought from Joliet, 
while stone just as good and beautiful was out- 
cropping within ten miles of that town. "A want 
of the knowledge of this fact," says Mr. Worthen, 
"has probably cost the citizens of Pike county far 
more than their proportion of the entire cost of 
the geological survey of Illinois." 
3 



The Burlington limestone, which outcrops over 
a wide area in this county, will furnish an unlim- 
ited supply of excellent building stone. It is 
probably not less than 150 feet thick. The more 
flinty portions are the best material for macad- 
amizing roads. Near Montezuma is a ten-foot 
bed of excellent dimension stone. Similar beds 
are exposed on Big Blue creek four miles south- 
east of Pittsfield, where they are forty feet thick, 
containing masses two to four feet in thickness. 
On the west side of the county it forms an almost 
continuous outcrop, ten to forty feet thick, along 
the river bluffs ; and on the east side of the county 
it also forms a continuous outcrop in the bluffs 
from Griggsville Landing south. 

The lower portion of the Keokuk limestone is 
fully as useful as the preceding. Excellent quar- 
ries are worked two miles north of Griggsville 
on the south fork of McGee's creek. The stone is 
composed almost entirely of the joints and plates 
of crinoids, cemented together by a calcareous 
paste. 

The St. Louis group, although limited in ex- 
tent, furnishes some good building stone, mostly 
found in Perry township and vicinity, as already 
described. 

The coal deposits in this county are all, except 
at Huntley's place, too thin for profitable work- 
ing. Where surface "stripping," however, can 
be done, it pays to mine the thinner deposits. 
Huntley's is probably a local deposit, a "pocket," 
which will soon be exhausted. 

No mineral ore, except a little iron, has been 
found in Pike county. 

The Burlington and Keokuk groups furnish 
the best of material for quick-lime. The St. 
Louis group, which is generally preferred, is very 
limited. 

Good hydraulic limestone for cement can be 
obtained from the Kinderhook group. 

Fire clay, which usually underlies the coal, 
can be mined with coal to advantage. The brown 
clays of the drift and the loess furnish superior 
material for brick. 

For marble the bed of oolitic conglomerate of 
the Kinderhook group at Rockport furnishes a 
stone capable of a fine polish and makes a beauti- 
ful variegated marble ; but the bed, so far as ex- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



amined, is rather thin for profitable working. 
Some of the sub-crystalline beds of the Burling- 
ton limestone also receive a high polish and make 
a fine ornamental stone. 

The Perry mineral springs, three in number, is- 
sue from the upper part of the Keokuk limestone 
which underlies the valley and outcrops along the 
bluffs. The principal ingredients of the water 
here are the bi-carbonates of lime and magnesia, 
the silicate of potash and soda and the carbonate 
of potash. For further account of these springs 
see history of Perry township in this volume. 

There are a few small caves in Pike county, 
two near Barry, into one of which one can enter 
a distance of 550 feet and the other 400 feet. In 
early day panthers were known to inhabit these 
caves. In Pearl township, on land owned by 
Judge Atkinson, the railroad employes of the 
Chicago & Alton Company were blasting rock in 
1871 or 1872, when they discovered a small cave 
in which were found lime carbonate drippings in 
the form of stalagmites and stalactites. Many of 
these are of imitative forms and can be imagined 
to be petrified human beings or aniamls. An ex- 
aggerated account of this cave was published in 
the Pittsfield papers at the time, which led many 
people to believe something wonderful was found 
at the place. 

ARCHAEOLOGY. 

Perhaps no district of country in the west con- 
tains more traces of that pre-historic people 
known to us only as the "Mound Builders" than 
the district between the Illinois and the Missis- 
sippi rivers. There is scarcely a township of land 
in this section which does not contain more or less 
of these traces, and in some of them are works 
which in extent and character will compare with 
any in the west. 

The mounds in this county are evidently of 
three classes: sacred mounds, which were used 
for the sacrificial fires ; burial mounds, which 
were erected over the last remains of important 
personages ; and mounds which were used for 
domestic habitations. These were probably resi- 
dences similar to those of some tribes of our pres- 
ent Indians. First, poles or logs set up in a cir- 
cle, then covered with brush or grass, and the 



whole with earth to a considerable extent. The 
sacrificial mounds always contained burnt earth, 
burnt bones, and frequently, too, the charred 
bones of human beings. In the burial mounds 
only the bones of a few persons are found, prob- 
ably of some chief and his immediate family, and 
usually near them are utensils of the kitchen, ar- 
rows, pottery, and such other articles as were 
most prized in life by the departed. 

In some localities immense shell-heaps exist, 
while it is not uncommon to find in the mounds 
shells from the sea, notably the conch-shell and 
sea-periwinkles, the latter very common. Imple- 
ments of both hardened copper and copper in a 
soft state are often found, and a metal resembling 
iron in texture and color, but hard enough to cut 
glass and which resists the action of almost all 
the acids. 

That these mounds were not erected by the same 
race as our present Indians is at once apparent 
from the bones of the latter being of a reddish 
hue, while those of the Mound Builders are of a 
different shade and much larger. 

It is our opinion that the Mound Builders were 
a pastoral people, who had made considerable 
progress in civilization. In the winter, doubtless, 
they drove their flocks and herds to the bluffs and 
rich, sheltered bottoms where they could obtain 
shelter, and in the summer they drove them to the 
prairies for pasturage. Doubtless, like the Chi- 
nese of to-day, they esteemed their native hills 
sacred and sought to be buried there, no matter 
where the iron hand of death overtook them ; and 
their friends, respecting this desire, were in the 
habit of bringing the bones of each family or tribe 
to these sacred burial places, after they had been 
stripped of their flesh, for permanent burial. 

Perhaps some future archaeologist will delve 
among these ruins and find a key to the mystery 
of the Builders, of whom we to-day know next 
to nothing; and unless some means are taken by 
the government or societies organized for the pur- 
pose, and these measures at no distant day, they 
will have become so far obliterated by the plow 
and by unskilled diggers that the slight clues they 
contain will be buried in oblivion greater than 
now enshrouds the history of their builders. 

A few years ago some of the prominent gentle- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



men of Pike county interested themselves in or- 
ganizing an "Archaeological Society," but of late 
the interest seems to have abated very perceptibly, 
and the Society so enthusiastically organized can 
now scarcely be said to be in existence. 

The gentlemen proposing to organize an "Anti- 
quarian Society" met at the court-house in Pitts- 
field, May 24, 1873, when Dr. T. Worthington 
was called to the chair and R. H. Criswell ap- 
pointed secretary. They organized the "Pike 
County Antiquarian Society," and the permanent 
officers elected at this meeting were, president, 
Wm. A. Grimshaw ; vice presidents, Wm. McAd- 
ams, Esq., Dr. E. S. Hull, of Madison county, 
Capt. W. H. Reed, of Calhoun, Dr. T. Worthing- 
ton, of Pike, Dr. A. Mittower, of Pike, Richard 
Perry, of Pike, H. J. Harris, of Pike, C. L. Obst, 
of Pittsfield, archaeological artist; Dr. Thomas 
Aiton, secretary ; William R. Archer, treasurer. 

W, B. Grimes, Dr. Mittower and C. L. Obst 
were appointed a committee to solicit contribu- 
tions to the cabinet of the Society, and invite the 
exhibition of such relics as owners are unwilling 
to part from, the object being to obtain possession 
of evidences and traces of the people of antiquity, 
their implements and usages as far as practicable. 

A letter was read before the Society from Mr. 
McAdams, of Waterville, Jersey county, May 18, 
1873, as follows: 

"I see in the papers a call for a meeting in 
Pittsfield on the 24th inst., to organize a society 
with a view of further investigation and more per- 
fect knowledge of relics and ancient remains near 
the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. I have for the 
last fifteen years, during my leisure hours, been 
making some investigations of the mounds and 
tumuli of Jersey and Calhoun counties. There is 
not perhaps in all the west a section richer or more 
interesting in its great number of relics of an al- 
most unknown race of people who once inhabited 
this country. No thorough investigation has 
been made. Already many of them have been de- 
stroyed by the cultivation of new fields. Before 
many years the majority of them will be obliter- 
ated, or so defaced that the original plan of con- 
struction will be lost. There should be a society 
like the one you propose to organize, not only 
for the purpose of investigation but also for the 



purpose of making some record of their work. 
Comparatively little is known of the mounds of 
Jersey and Calhoun, although I have visited many 
of them and collected quite a number of inter- 
esting relics. Yours truly, 

"WM. McADAMS." 

The second week in June, 1873, the society made 
an excursion to the southern part of the county 
and spent several days among the numerous 
mounds in that locality, where they found many 
relics of the aborigines, among which were arrow 
heads, fish spears, stone knives and hatchets, 
earthen vessels of various kinds, copper kettles, 
stone pipes, shell and copper beads, silver ear- 
rings, silver buckles, etc. Nearly all these arti- 
cles were found imbedded in the mounds with 
human bones, pieces of pottery, etc., generally at 
a depth of about three feet below the surface. In 
some cases stone vaults containing bones and other 
relics were discovered a few feet beneath the sur- 
face. The members of the Society who went on 
that excursion say they had a most enjoyable trip 
and consider themselves well repaid for their 
trouble. 

In the summer of 1873, Col. D. B. Bush pre- 
sented to the Society for its museurh Indian trap- 
pings of great value. Thomas James, of Martins- 
burg, presented a large lot of beautiful beads and 
amulets from the Big Mound of Sacramento Val- 
ley, California ; also, moss, peat, cinnabar and Chi- 
nese corn, etc., all from California. Col. S. S. 
Thomas presented a rare and beautiful specimen 
of coquine and concrete shells from St. Augus- 
tine, Fla. In' September of the same year, Col. 
A. C. Matthews contributed to the museum one 
beaked saw-fish (Pristis) from Matagorda Isl- 
and, Texas; autograph letter of Henry Clay, 
dated October 5, 1829, Ashland, Ky. ; pass of 
Gen. S. B. Buckner, C. S. A. ; one copy of army 
correspondence; also coin and fossils. George 
H. French presented a stone mortar from Pilot 
Bluff, Illinois river; E. N. French, specimens of 
columnar limestone ; Hon. J. M. Bush presented 
one copy of the Massachusetts Centennial, pub- 
lished at Boston, September 5, 1789, about four 
months after the inauguration of President Wash- 
ington ; Hon. W. A. Grimshaw presented books 
as follows : American volume, Ancient Armeca ; 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Lines of Humboldt; two volumes of Smithsonian 
Institute Reports, i865-'6; two volumes of His- 
tory of Wisconsin; stone and flint implements, 
bone needle and specimens of pottery. Patrick 
Halpin presented specimens of American and 
Italian marble. 

In December Mr. R. Perry contributed speci- 
mens of silicious and ferruginous conglomerate; 
Dr. A. McFarland, a very nice human skeleton, 
five bottles containing in alcohol specimens of 
ophidian, all indigenous to Pike county, and also 
one containing taenia ; Thomas Williams, seven 
beautiful flint implements ; and N. W. Kibler, 
a very large tooth of a pachyderm. 

February 21, 1874, George Bell, Thomas 
Bloomer, Hiram Horton and G. S. Pennington 
found remains of five human skeletons in the 
Mississippi bluffs on the farm of Mrs. L. B. 
Lyon at the mouth of Dutch creek hollow. One 
skull measured twenty-six inches from the top of 
the cranium around under the lower jaw. In- 
deed, many more skeletons are in these bluffs. 
Several wagon-loads of rock had been thrown 
over these remains. The heads appeared to be laid 
toward a common center of about three feet 
space. One skull contained a rock which had 
doubtless been thrown there when the remains 
were buried. The bones were very brittle and 
difficult to secure in their intirety from among 
the roots. There' are seven of the mounds in Mr. 
Horton's field, in a semi-circle, all containing 
human remains. Also a species of pottery has been 
found there. 

In the southeast part of Pearl township about a 
mile from the Illinois river two copper vessels 
were once found, one smaller than the other, un- 
der some flat stones which had been plowed up, 
and a little lower down stone coffins were found in 
a field where they had been plowing; but these 
"remains" were probably left there by early 
French explorers. 

.Mr. C. L. Obst, photographer in Pittsfield. who 
is a fine archaeologist and the virtual founder of 
the "Pike County Antiquarian Society." has a 
splendid collection ; namely. 100 varieties of flint 
implements, four varieties of stone hatchets, four 
of wedges, varieties of stone disks of various ma- 
terials, as iron ore, sandstone, granite and green- 



stone, four varieties of plummets, mostly iron ore, 
.two of hammers, pestles, round stone for clubs, 
eight kinds of pipes, iron ore and greenstone chis- 
els, plowshares and hoes, a large variety of pot- 
tery and mortars, bone of the pre-historic bison, 
sinkers, weights, etc. Mr. Obst has also a good 
collection of geological specimens. 

The museum of the society is in the Public Li- 
brary room over the postoffice in Pittsfield, but 
the association is not active at present and their 
collection of relics seems neglected. 

ORGANIC HISTORY. 



At the close of the war between the United 
States and England in 1812 our government laid 
off a tract of land in Illinois for the soldiers who 
participated in that war. The land thus appro- 
priated was embraced in the region between the 
Mississippi and the Illinois rivers, and south of 
the north line of Mercer county. Its northern 
boundary, therefore, ran east to Peru on the Illi- 
nois river, and a little south of the middle of Bu- 
reau and Henry counties. To it the name "Mili- 
tary Tract" was given, and by that name this sec- 
tion is still known. Within this boundary is em- 
braced one of the most fertile regions of the 
globe. Scarcely had Congress made the proper 
provisions to enable the soldiers to secure their 
land ere a few of the most daring and resolute 
started to possess it. There were only a few, how- 
ever, who at first regarded their "quarter-section" 
of sufficient value to induce them to endure the 
hardships of the pioneer in its settlement and im- 
provement. Many of them sold their patent to a 
fine "prairie quarter" in this county for one hun- 
dred dollars, others for less, while some traded 
theirs for a horse, a cow, or a watch, regarding 
themselves as just so much ahead. It is said that 
an old shoemaker of New York city bought sev- 
eral as fine quarters of land as are in Pike county 
with a pair of shoes. He would make a pair of 
shoes for which the soldier would deed him his 
"patent quarter" of land. This was a source 
of no little trouble to the actual settlers, for they 
could not always tell which quarter of land be- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



43 



longed to a soldier, or which was "Congress 
land" and could be pre-empted. Even when a 
settler found a suitable location known to be 
"patent land," with a desire to purchase, he ex- 
perienced great difficulty in finding the owner, 
and often did not find him until he had put hun- 
dred of dollars' worth of improvements on it, 
when the patentee was sure to turn up. Many of 
the early settlers presumed that the owner never 
won Id be known; but in many instances, after a 
patent quarter-section was made valuable by im- 
provement, .the original patent would be brought 
on by some one, who would oust the occupant and 
take possession, sometimes paying him something 
for his improvments and sometimes not. Many 
holders of patents had no pity. This condition of 
affairs presented a temptation to merciless "land- 
sharks." who would come into this section and 
work up cases, ostensibly for the original paten- 
tees, but really for their own pockets. The 'most 
notorious of these was one Toliver Craig, who 
actually made it a business to forge patents and 
deeds. This he carried on extensively from 1847 
to 1854, especially in Knox and Fulton counties, 
and to some extent in Pike. He had forty bogus 
deeds put on record in one day at Knoxville. He 
was arrested in New York state, in 1854, by O. 
M. Boggess, of Monmouth, and taken to the jail 
at Cincinnati, Ohio, where he attempted suicide 
by arsenic ; but at the end of the year he was re- 
leased on bail. 

PIKE COUNTY. 

As a part of the Territory of Illinois in 1790 
all that portion of Illinois south of what is now 
Peoria was made a county and named St. Clair, 
in honor of General St. Clair, Governor of the 
Northwestern Territory. Cahokia was the county 
seat of this county. In 1812 that part of Illi- 
nois Territory above St. Louis, was created into a 
county called Madison, with Edwardsville as the 
county scat. Illinois was admitted as a State in 
1818, and in 1821 all that part of Madison county 
between the Mississippi and Illinois rivers was 
organized into a county and named Pike. Its 
iiaiiH' was chosen in honor of General Pike of the 
war of 1812. The tract of countrv now known as 



Pike county was surveyed by the government in 
the years 1817-9, an d soon afterward attracted at- 
tention on account of its natural advantages for 
commerce, fertility of soil and abundance of wa- 
ter. It is the oldest county in the Military Tract, 
and one of the largest, containing 510,764 acres, 
or 800 square miles, in 23 townships. The fol- 
lowing is a copy of the act"o"rganizing the county : 
An act to form a new county of the bounty lands. 
Approved January 31, 1821. 

Section i. Be it enacted, etc., that all that tract 
of country within the following boundaries, to- 
wit : Beginning at the mouth of the Illinois river 
and running thence up the middle of said river to 
the fork of the same, thence up to the south fork of 
said river until it strikes the State line of Indiana, 
thence north with said line to the north boundary 
line of this State, thence west with said line to the 
west boundary line of this State, and thence with 
said line to the place of beginning, shall constitute 
a separate county to be called Pike. 

Sec. 3. Be it further enacted that there 
shall be appointed the following persons, to-wit: 
Levi Roberts, John Shaw and Nicholas Hanson, to 
meet at the house of Levi Roberts, in said county, 
on or before the first day of March next, to fix the 
temporary seat of justice of said county, the said 
justice to be south of the base line of said county. 

Sec. 3. Be it further enacted, etc., that the 
citizens of Pike county be hereby declared en- 
titled in all respects to the same rights and privi- 
leges that are allowed in general to other counties 
in the State. 

Sec. 4. Be it further enacted, etc., that "said 
county of Pike be and form a part of the first ju- 
dicial circuit. 

This act to take effect and be in force from and 
after its passage. 

COUNTY SEAT LOCATED. 

The following act was passed at the next ses- 
sion of the Legislature : 

An act defining the boundaries of Pike county, 
and for other purposes. Approved December 
30. 1822. 

Section I. Be it enacted by the people of the 
State of Illinois represented in the General As- 



44 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



sembly, that the county of Pike shall be bounded 
as follows, to-wit : On the north. by the base line ; 
on the east by the Illinois river; on the west by 
the Mississippi ; and all the rest and residue of 
the territory, composing the county of Pike before 
the passage of this act, shall be attached to, and be 
a part of, said county until otherwise disposed of 
by the General Assembly of this State. 

Sec. 2. Be it further enacted, etc., for the 
purpose of fixing the permanent seat of justice 
of said county, the following persons be and the 
same are hereby appointed commissioners, to-wit : 
Garrett Van Dusen, Ossian M. Ross, John M. 
Smith, Daniel Ford and Daniel Shinn, who, after 
being duly sworn by some judge or justice of the 
peace of this State, faithfully and impartially to 
discharge the duties imposed upon them by this 
act, shall meet at the house of John Shaw, in said 
county, on or before the first day of March next, 
and proceed to determine on the permanent seat 
of justice of said county, and designate the same 
taking into consideration the condition and con- 
venience of the people, the future population of 
the county, and the health and eligibility of the 
place; and they are hereby authorized to receive 
as a donation for the use of said county any quan- 
tity of land that may be determined on by them, 
from any proprietor that may choose to offer such 
donation of land ; which place, so fixed and de- 
termined upon, the said commissioners shall cer- 
tify, under their hands and seals, and return the 
same to the next Commissioners of the Court in 
said county, which shall cause an entry thereof 
to be made upon their books of record. 

Sec. 3. Be it further enacted, etc.,, that the 
said commissioners shall receive as a compensa- 
tion for their service, the sum of two dollars per 
day for each day by them necessarily spent in dis- 
charging the duties imposed upon them by this 
act to be allowed by the Commissioners of the 
Court, and paid out of the county treasury. 

Pursuant to that portion of the above act as re- 
lating to locating the county seat, the commis- 
sioners made their report to the County Commis- 
sioners at their March term of court, 1823, and 
presented the court with a deed from William 
Ross and Rufus Brown for an acre of land upon 
section 27, Atlas township. 



COUNTIES CUT FROM PIKE. 

When Pike county was organized it embraced 
all of that country between the Illinois and Mis- 
sissippi rivers, and extended east along the line 
of the main fork of the Illinois, the Kankakee 
river, to the Indiana State line, and on to the 
' northern boundary of the State, including the 
country where Rock Island, Galena, Peoria and 
Chicago now are. It was indeed a large county, 
and embraced what is now the wealthiest and 
most populous portion of the Great West. The 
extensive lead mines of Galena had not yet been 
discovered, and Chicago was only a trading and 
military post. The commissioners of Pike county, 
as will be noticed in the following chapter, ex- 
ercised full authority, so far as the duties of their 
respective offices were concerned, over all this 
vast region. 

Settlers soon began to locate here and there in 
the Military Tract. Two years had scarcely passed 
ere the few settlers east of the fourth principal 
meridian and north of the base line desired a 
county, and appealed to the Legislature for power 
to organize one. Ossian M. Ross, the founder of 
Lewistown, Fulton county, and one of the prime 
movers in the organization of that county, was 
at that time a member of the County Commis- 
sioners' Court of Pike county. The following 
is an abstract of the act referred to : 

An act approved Janunary 28, 1823, forming 
the county of Fulton out of all the attached part 
of Pike, beginning where the fourth principal 
meridian intersects the Illinois river, thence up 
the middle of said river to where the line between 
ranges five and six east strikes the said river, 
thence north with the said line between ranges 
five and six east, to the township line between 
townships nine and ten north, then west with said 
lint to the fourth principal meridian, then south 
to the place of beginning ; and all the rest and resi- 
due of the attached part of the county of Pike east 
of the fourth principal meridian shall be attached 
to Fulton county. 

January 13, 1825, Schuyler county was cut off 
from Pike and Fulton, and included all that coun- 
try within the following boundaries : "Com- 
mencing at a place where the township line be- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



45 



tween townships two and three south touches the 
Illinois river, thence west on said line to the range 
line between ranges four and five west, thence 
north from said line to the northwest corner of 
township three north, range one west, thence east 
on said township line to the Illinois river, thence 
down the said river to the place of beginning." 

The same year an act was passed forming new 
counties. Those formed were Adams, Hancock, 
McDonough, Warren, Mercer, Henry, Putnam 
and Knox. Their boundaries were fixed by the 
act of January 30, 1825. Calhoun county was cut 
off from Pike county and organized in 1825. 

GENERAL REVIEW. 

No whites settled north of Alton for agricul- 
tural purposes prior to 1819. During that year 
and the next three there was a sufficient number 
of settlers to organize a county. Accordingly the 
Legislature of 1820-1, as above seen, organized 
the county of Pike, which then included all of the 
State of Illinois between the Illinois and Missis- 
sippi rivers. The county seat was first fixed at 
Coles' Grove, adjoining the locality of Gilead, 
afterward the county seat of Calhoun county. 
This place was named after Edward Coles, Gov- 
ernor of Illinois. 

We copy the following topographical sketch of 
Pike county from "Peck's Illinois Gazeteer," pub- 
lished in 1834, as giving an idea of the county at 
that early date : 

"Pike county is the oldest county in the Mili- 
tary Tract, and was erected from Madison and 
other counties in 1821. It then embraced the 
whole country northwest of the Illinois river, but 
by subsequent formation of new counties it is 
now reduced to ordinary size, containing twenty- 
two townships, or about 800 square miles. It is 
bounded north by Adams, east by Schuyler and 
the Illinois river, south by that river and Cal- 
houn, and west by the Mississippi. Besides the 
Mississippi and Illinois rivers, which wash two 
sides, it has the Sny Carte slough, running the 
whole length of its western border, which floats 
steamboats to Atlas at a full stage of water. Pike 
county is watered by the Pigeon, Hadley, Keyes, 
r.lack. Dutch Church, Six-Mile and Bav creeks, 



which flow into the Mississippi ; and Big and Lit- 
tle Blue, and the North and West Forks of Mc- 
Gee's creek, which enter into the Illinois. Good 
mill sites are furnished by these streams. 

"The land is various. The section of country, 
or rather island,, between the Sny Carte slough 
and the Mississippi, is a sandy soil, but mostly 
inundated land at the spring flood. It furnishes a 
great summer and winter range for stock, afford- 
ing considerable open prairie, with skirts of heavy 
bottom timber near the streams. Along the bluffs 
and for two or three miles back the land is chiefly 
timbered, but cut up with ravines and quite roll- 
ing. Far in the interior and toward Schuyler 
county excellent prairie and timber lands are 
found, especially about the Blue rivers and 
McGee's creek. This must eventually be a rich 
and populous county. 

"In Pleasant Vale, on Keyes creek, is a salt 
spring twenty feet in diameter, which boils from 
the earth and throws off a stream of some size, 
and forms a salt pond in its vicinity. Salt has 
been made here, though not in great quantities. 

"In the county are seven water saw mills, four 
grist mills, one carding machine, five stores, and 
a horse ferryboat across the Mississippi to 
Louisiana." 

HANSON AND SHAW. 

The State constitution, adopted on the admis- i- 
sion of Illinois into the Union in .1818, prohibited 
slavery in this State. Owing to this fact many of 
the early immigrants coming west, who were 
from the slave States of Virginia and Kentucky, 
passed right through this garden of Eden into 
Missouri. An effort was made, therefore, to so 
amend the constitution as to permit slavery in this ^, 
State that it might be more attractive to settlers, 
and the sequel showed that Illinois had a narrow 
escape from the dreadful evils of slavery. When 
the necessary preliminary resolution was offered 
in the Senate it was ascertained that the requisite 
two-thirds vote to pass the resolution for the call 
of a convention to amend the constitution could 
be obtained and to spare ; but in the House they 
needed one vote. At first it was strenuously 
argued that the two-thirds vote meant two-thirds 
of the two Houses in joint convention ; but the 



4 6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



opponents were too powerful in their argument 
upon this point. The majority, however, was not 
to be foiled in their purpose. Another mode pre- 
sented itself ; all that was required was courage 
to perpetrate a gross outrage on a recalcitrant 
member. There had been a contested election case 
from Pike county. The sitting member decided 
by the House to be entitled to the seat was Nicho- 
las Hanson, and the contestant, John Shaw, the 
"Black Prince." Hanson's vote had been obtained 
for the re-election of Jesse B. Thomas, strongly 
pro-slavery, to the United States Senate; but 
further than this he would not go. Shaw, who 
favored the convention project, was now dis- 
covered to be entitled to the seat. A motion was 
thereupon made to reconsider the admission of 
Hanson, which pervailed. It was next further 
moved to strike out the name of Hanson and 
insert that of Shaw. During the pendency of the 
resolution a tumultuous crowd assembled in the 
evening at the State house, and after the delivery 
of a number of incendiary speeches, inflaming 
the minds of the people against Hanson, they pro- 
ceeded through the town (Vandalia) with his ef- 
figy in a blaze, accompanied with the beating of 
drums, the sound of bugles, and shouts of "Con- 
vention or death." A motion to expel Hanson 
and admit Shaw was adopted, and the later 
awarded the majority by voting for the conven- 
tion resolution, which thus barely passed. The 
night following, a number of members of both 
Houses entered the solemn protest against this 
glaring outrage of unseating Hanson, both with 
the object intended and the manner of perpetrat- 
ing it. Many reflecting men, earnest in their sup- 
port of the convention question, condemned it, 
and it proved a powerful lever before the people 
in the defeat of the slavery scheme. The passage 
of the convention resolution was regarded as tan- 
tamount to its carriage at the polls. 

The pro-slavery party celebrated their triumph 
by an illumination of the town, and the procession, 
accompanied by all the horrid paraphernalia and 
discordant music of a charirari, marched to the 
residence of Governor Coles, and the quarters of 
the chief opponents of the measure, where they 
performed with their demoniac music to annoy 
and insult them. 



The convention resolution was finally defeated 
by i ,800 majority at the polls. 

It is thus seen how Pike county gave the casting 
vote on the slavery question in this State in 1820. 

MAROUETTE COUNTY. 

The counties now bounding Pike county on 
the north are Adams and Brown; but in 1841 
there was a county struck off from the east side 
of Adams and called Marquette. Columbus, being 
more centrally located in Adams county, became 
ambitious for the county seat, but as Quincy was 
too powerful against this project, the eastern por- 
tion of Adams county was struck off by an act 
of the Legislature in order that the ambition of 
Columbus might be satisfied and become a county 
seat. No attempt was made to organize the county 
until 1846, when Quincy again proved too power- 
ful for them, and the following Legislature re- 
pealed the act defining the boundaries of the 
county. 

COUNTY SEAT CONTEST. 

In 1842-3 an effort was made to divide the 
county, the new county seat to be at Barry. Dr. 
Thomas Worthington was a member of the State 
Senate, and William Blair of the House, each rep- 
resenting the interests of his section of the county. 
The bill .introduced by Mr. Blair proposed to di- 
vide the county by a line running north and south 
through its extent : but, after the presentation of 
many petitions and remonstrances, and a period 
of considerable excitement, the bill failed to pass 
the House. In 1850 the county was divided into 
nineteen townships, and organized under the 
township organization law of the constitution of 
'1848. Under this mode the county is at present 
conducted. And that was the end of this little 
fight. The county remains, therefore, to the pres- 
ent day as it was outlined by the Legislature of 
1825. In the fall of 1846 the effort was renewed. 
Meetings were held in various parts of the county 
and speeches were made on both sides of the ques- 
tion ; but public interest soon died down. 

In 1893 another effort was made to move the 
county capital to Barry, but at the election in No- 
vember, 1803, tlle voters decided to leave it at 
Pittsfield. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



47 



FIRST AMERICAN SETTLEMENTS. 

Coming on down through the years for over a 
century, we wish to speak 'of the first American 
settlements in the State, as an introductory to the 
more immediate history of the original Pike 
county. 

The first settlement made within the borders of 
the great State of Illinois by citizens of the United 
States was in 1784, when a few families from 
Virginia founded a small colony or settlement 
near Bellefontaine, in Monroe county. The next 
American settlement was made in St. Clair county, 
two of which were' made prior to the year 1800. 

The first American settlers in Illinois were 
chiefly from Kentucky, Virginia, Pennsylvania, 
North Carolina, Tennessee and some from Mary- 
land. Some of these had served with General 
Clark, who conquered the country from the British 
in 1778. This whole people did not number more 
than 12,000 in 1812, but with the aid of one com- 
pany of regular soldiers defended themselves and 
their settlements against the numerous and power- 
ful nations of Kickapoos, Sacs, Foxes, Pottawato- 
mies and Shawnees, and even made hostile expe- 
dition into the heart of their country, burning 
their villages and defeating and driving them 
from the territory. 

When the State was admitted in 1818 the set- 
tlements extended a little north of Edwardsville 
and Alton ; south along the Mississippi to the 
mouth of the Ohio ; east in the direction of Car- 
lyle to Wabash, and down the Wabash and Ohio 
to the conjunction of the Ohio and Mississippi. 
Such was the extent of the settlement in Illinois 
when the Territory was clothed with State 
honors. 

There were but fifteen organized counties rep- 
resented in the convention to frame the first con- 
stitution. These were St. Clair, Randolph, Madi- 
son, Gallatin, Johnson, Edwards. White, Mon- 
roe, Pope, Jackson, Crawford, Bond, Union 
Washington and Franklin. The last three were 
the youngest counties and were formed in 1818. 

ORIGINAL PIKE COUNTY. 

Pike county was the first or second county or- 
ganized after the State was admitted into the 



Union. It was erected January 31, 1821, and in- 
cluded all of the territory west and north of the 
Illinois river, and its south fork, now the Kanka- 
kee river. At the first election in Pike county af- 
ter its organization only thirty-five votes were 
polled, even though it did extend over the entire 
northern part of the State, and out of which more 
than fifty counties have since been organized. 

A "Gazeteer of Illinois and Wisconsin," pub- 
lished about 1822, says that the county "included 
a part of the lands appropriated by Congress for 
the payment of military bounties. The lands con- 
stituting that tract are included within a penin- 
sula of the Illinois and the Mississippi, and ex- 
tend on the meridian line (4th), passing through 
the mouth of the Illinois, 162 miles north. Pike 
county will no doubt be divided into several 
counties ; some of which will become very wealthy 
and important. It is probable that the section 
about Fort Clark (now Peoria)-will be the most 
thickly settled. On the Mississippi river, above 
Rock river, lead ore is found in abundance. Pike 
county contains between 700 and 800 inhabitants. 
It is attached to the first judicial circuit, sends 
one member to the House of Representatives, and, 
with Greene, one to the Senate. The county seat 
is Coles' Grove, a post town. It was laid out in 
1821, and is situated in township n south, in 
range 2 west of the fourth principal meridian ; 
very little improvement has yet been made in this 
place or vicinity. The situation is high and 
healthy and bids fair to become a place of some 
importance." 

Thus the historian of three-score years ago 
speaks of Pike county as it was in its original 
magnitude and wildness. How changed is the 
face of the country since then ! Who could have 
foretold its future greatness with any degree of 
knowledge or certainty ! 

We deem it within the province of this work 
to speak of the earliest settlement of all this vast 
region. Much of it was settled prior to that por- 
tion contained within the present boundaries of 
the county, and as it was for many years a part 
of Pike county it is proper we should refer to it, 
briefly at least. 

The earliest history and the first occupation of 
the original Pike county are enshrouded in almost 



4 8 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



impenetrable obscurity. After the lapse of more 
than three-quarters of a century, the almost total 
absence of records, and the fact that the whites 
who visited or lived in this region prior to 1820 
are all dead, render it impossible now to deter- 
mine with any degree of certainty the name of 
him who is entitled to the honor of being recorded 
as "first settler." Perhaps the first man who so- 
journed within the Miltary Tract, lived in what 
is now Calhoun county. He went there about 1801, 
and lived for years before any other settler came, 
and remained alone and unknown for a long time 
after the first pioneers moved into that section. His 
home was a cave dug out by himself, and was 
about a quarter of a mile from the Mississippi 
river. In 1850 the boards of his cave floor were 
dug up and the ground leveled. Who 'he was or 
where he came from was known only to himself, 
for he refused all intercourse with the settlers. 

LOG CABINS. 

We shall, in this chapter, give as clear and 
exact a description of pioneer life in this county 
as we can find language to picture it in, com- 
mencing with the time the sturdy settlers first 
arrived with their scanty stores. They had mi- 
grated from older States, where the prospects for 
even a competency were very poor, many of them 
coming from Kentucky, for, it is supposed they 
found that a good State to emigrate from. Their 
entire stock of furniture, implements and family 
necessities were easily stored in one wagon, and 
sometimes a cart was their only vehicle. 

As the first thing after they arrived and found 
a suitable location, they would set about the build- 
ing of a log cabin, a description of which may be 
interesting to the younger readers, and especially 
their descendants, who may never see a structure 
of the kind. Trees of uniform size were selected 
and cut into pieces of the desired length, each end 
being saddled and notched so as to bring the logs 
as near together as possible. The cracks were 
"chinked and daubed" to prevent the wind from 
whistling through. This had to be renewed ev- 
ery fall before cold weather set in. The usual 
height was one story of about seven or eight feet. 
The gables were made of logs gradually short- 



ened up to the top. The roof was made by laying 
small logs or stout poles reaching from gable to 
gable, suitable distances apart, on which were 
laid the clapboards after the manner of shingling, 
showing two feet or more to the weather. The 
clapboards were fastened by laying across them 
heavy poles called "weight poles," reaching from 
one gable to the other, being kept apart and in 
their place by laying pieces of timber between 
them called "runs" or "knees." A wide chimney 
place was cut out of one end of the cabin, the 
chimney standing entirely outside and built of 
rived sticks laid up cob-house fashion and filled 
with clay or built of stone, often using 
two or three cords of stone in building 
one chimney. For a window, a piece about 
two feet long was cut out of one of the wall 
logs, and the hole closed, sometimes with glass, 
but oftener with greased paper pasted over it. A 
doorway was also cut through one of the walls, 
and the door was made of spliced clapboards and 
hung with wooden hinges. This was opened by 
pulling a leather latch-string which raised a 
wooden latch inside the door. For security at 
night this latch-string was pulled in, but for 
friends and neighbors, and even strangers, the 
"latch-string was always hanging out," as a wel- 
come. In the interior, upon one side, was the huge 
fireplace, large enough to contain a back log as big 
as the strongest man could carry, and holding 
enough wood to supply an ordinary stove a week ; 
on either side were poles and kettles, and over 
all a mantel on which was placed the tallow dip. 
In one corner stood the larger bed for the old 
folks, under this the trundle bed for the children ; 
in another corner stood the old-fashioned, large 
spinning wheel, with a smaller one by its side ; in 
another the pine table, around which the family 
gathered to partake of their plain food ; over the 
door hung the ever-trustful rifle and powder horn ; 
while around the room were scattered a few splint 
bottomed chairs and three-legged stools ; in one 
corner was a rude cupboard holding the table- 
ware, which consisted of a few cups and saucers 
and blue-edged plates, standing singly on their 
edges against the back, to make the display of 
table furniture more conspicuous. 

These simple cabins were inhabited by a kind 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



49 



and true-hearted people. There were strangers to 
mock modesty, and the traveler, seeking lodgings 
for the night or desirous of spending a few days 
in the community, if willing to accept the rude 
offering, was always welcome, although how they 
were disposed of at night the reader may not eas- 
ily imagine ; for, as described, a single room was 
made to serve the purpose of kitchen, dining 
room, sitting room, bedroom and parlor, and 
many families consisted of six or eight members. 

STATE IMPROVEMENTS. 

The celebrated internal improvement system 
inaugurated by the State in 1836-7 did not give 
Pike county any railroads or canals, or even 
promise any ; but an appropriation of several 
thousand dollars was made, which was economic- 
ally expended in the improvement of highways. 
Commissioners were appointed, men were hired 
to superintend the work, and wagon roads were 
made evener or improved from Quincy through 
the northeastern part of the county, from Pitts- 
field to Florence, and one from Griggsville to the 
Illinois river. These works were completed, how- 
ever, by county and township aid. 

ORIGIN OF NAMES OF CREEKS. 

McCraney's creek, formerly called "McDon- 
ald's creek," by the government survey, was so 
named after McCraney, who was the first settler 
upon its banks. He was a man of great endur- 
ance and a skillful sportsman. One day he chased 
down a gray wolf with his horse, when he placed 
one foot upon the animal's neck and with the 
other succeeded in breaking his legs so -that he 
could get something with which to completely 
dispatch him. 

Hadley creek was named after Col. Levi Had- 
ley, an early settler. 

Dutch Church creek was named after a rocky 
bluff near its bank which is supposed to resemble 
an old Dutch church in the city of Albany, N. Y. 
Keyes creek was named after Willard Keyes. 

Ambrosia creek was named from the purity of 
its waters. 



Two-Mile creek was named from its crossing 
the bluff two miles from Atlas. 

Six-Mile ^creek is six miles below Atlas. 

Bay creek was so called from the bay into 
which it runs. 

FIRST THINGS IN PIKE COUNTY. 

The first settler in Pike county was Ebenezer 
Franklin, who also cut the first tree and built the 
first log cabin in 1820. 

The first white female person born in the county 
was Nancy, daughter of Col. William Ross, at 
Atlas, May i, 1822, who died November 18, the 
same year. 

Marcellus Ross, now living one mile east of 
Pittsfield, was the second white male child born 
in Pike county. 

The first death in the county was that of Clar- 
endon Ross, at Atlas. 

Daniel Shinn brought the first wagon into the 
county in 1820. 

Col. Benjamin Barney was the first blacksmith 
in the county, erecting his shop at Atlas in 1826. 
He also burned the first coal in the county, it hav- 
ing been shipped from Pittsburg, Pa. 

James Ross brought and used the first grain 
cradle here, in 1828. 

James Ross also equipped and ran the first 
turner's lathe and cabinet shop at Atlas, in 1828. 

Col. William Ross built the first brick house in 
the county, at Atlas, in 1821. 

He also erected the first store building at Atlas 
in 1826, and also the first grist mill, a band mill 
at Atlas about the same time. 

Fielding Hanks was the first to follow tanning 
in Pike county. 

The first Circuit Court was held at Coles' 
Grove, October i, 1821. 

The first court at Atlas was held "on the first 
Thursday .after the fourth Monday in April," 
which would be May I, 1823. 

The first courthouse within the present limits 
of Pike county was built at Atlas in 1824. 

The first jail was erected at Atlas in 1824. 

The first school was taught at Atlas by John 
Jay Ross in 1822. 

The first church was organized in the Ross 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



family at Atlas prior to 1830. It was Congre- 
gational. 

The first church building in Pittsfield was the 
Congregational, and built by Colonel Ross. 

Captain Hale, a Baptist minister, probably or- 
ganized the first Baptist church in Pike county. 

The first library was founded at Atlas, about 
1833-4. 

The first Fourth of July celebration was held 
at Atlas in 1823. 

The first political meeting was held in Monte- 
zuma township in 1834, when Colonel Ross, who 
was running for the Legislature, made a speech. 
About fifty voters were present, besides boys. No 
nominations or appointments were made. 

The first whisky distilled in the county was 
manufactured by Mr. Milhizer in 1826. 

The first wheat was raised by Colonel Ross 
and Mr. Seeley near Atlas, which was also the 
first ground in Pike county and made into bis- 
cuit. The flour was bolted through book muslin. 

The first apples were raised by Alfred Bissell, 
near New Hartford, and the first at Pittsfield by 
Col. William Ross. 

The first man hanged in the Military Tract was 
a Mr. Cunningham, at Quincy. 

The first man executel in Pike county was Bar- 
tholomew Barnes, at Pittsfield, December 29, 
1872. 

The first State Senator elected from Pike 
county was Col. William Ross. 

The first County Commissioners were Capt. 
Leonard Ross, John Shaw and William Ward. 

The first County Treasurer was Nathaniel 
Shaw, appointed in 1821. 

The first County and Circuit Clerk was James 
W. Whitney. 

T. L. Hall, of Detroit township, taught the first 
singing school at Atlas. 

The first justices of the peace were Ebenezer 
Smith and Stephen Dewey, appointed in 1821. 

The first constable was Belus Jones, appointed 
in 1821. 

The first Masonic lodge was held upstairs at the 
house of Colonel Ross, in Atlas, between 1830 
and 1834. The desk used on the occasion is still 
in the possession of Marcelhis Ross. It is a plain 
box, strongly built, fifteen inches square and two 



and one-half feet high, and contains two shelves. 
In one side is a door swung on hinges. 

FIRST WHITE MEN IN PIKE COUNTY. 

The first white men who came to Pike county 
were possibly Fathers Marquette, LaSalle, Tonti 
and others who, as history says, made frequent 
trips up and down the. two rivers that are Pike 
county's east and west boundaries in the sixteenth 
and seventeenth centuries. The first settler was 
J. B. Tebo, a French Canadian trapper and hunter 
who had a cabin on the bank of the Illinois river 
just -north of the line of Detroit township, or on 
a part of section 33, Flint township. He was 
there in 1817 and was killed at Milton in 1844. 

The first settlement of Pike county by white 
men was in the summer of 1820, 'when four sons 
of Micah Ross, of Pittsfield, Mass., and a few 
other families started for what was then known 
as the Far West the State of Illinois, on the 
Mississippi bottoms. They arrived safely at the 
headwaters of the Allegheny river, and there pro- 
curing boats for their families, horses and wag- 
ons, set out to descend the stream, then in a very 
low stage of water. Difficulties here began to as- 
sail the little band. Again and again the boats 
ran hard aground, rendering it necessary for the 
sturdy emigrants to rush into the water, and 
wield the pries and levers with a will. However, 
they were not to be disheartened, but by dint of 
perseverance succeeded in reaching Pittsburg, af- 
ter fourteen days of unremitting exertion. Here 
they entered upon the broad and beautiful Ohio, 
which bore them pleasantly upon its ample bosom, 
permitting them to review, at leisure, the toils 
and sufferings endured upon the Allegheny. In 
a few weeks they arrived at Shawneetown, situ- 
ated above the mouth of the Ohio, in Illinois, at 
which point they took leave of their water pal- 
aces, and started with wagons and teams for their 
place of destination near the Mississippi river. 

At Upper Alton, which they reached in due 
time, they secured quarters for their families, 
where they left them, while they went in search 
of their intended location. There was but one 
house at this time in what is now the city of 
Alton, .-ind that was occupied by Major Hunter. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



At the mouth of the Illinois river they came 
across at Indian camp, where they procured two 
canoes, split puncheons of plank and laid across 
them, an 1 thus safely ferried over their wagons. 
The horses were made to swim alongside of the 
canoes. They then crossed the bluff and pro- 
ceeded to the Mississippi Bottom, at the point 
where Gilead ( in Calhoun county) is now situated, 
then continued up the Bottom, marking the trees 
as they went, for there were no roads, and noth- 
ing to guide them but an occasional Indian trail. 
At length they arrived in township 6 south, 5 
west, Atlas township, about six miles east of the 
Mississippi, in the tract appropriated for military 
bounties. This beautiful prairie land charmed 
the emigrants, and they at once set to work their 
energies and constructed a camp to shelter them- 
selves while preparing quarters for their families. 
No time was lost in throwing up four rough log 
cabins, intended to form the immediate settle- 
ment, for there were not more than five white 
men within fifty miles of this location, east of the 
river. All being prepared, the pioneers returned 
for their families, and shortly after took perma- 
nant possession of their habitations. The priva- 
tions and sufferings endured by this little band in 
the first years of settlement need not be par- 
ticularized. 

At this time the Legislature was in session at 
Vandalia, and learning of the location of these 
emigrants, they took measures to lay off and form 
the county of Pike, embracing all the territory 
north and west of the Illinois river, and including 
what are now known as the cities of Chicago, Pe- 
oria, Quincy and Galena. At the first election held 
in this vast territory, there were but thirty-five 
votes polled, including those of the French at 
Chicago. Since then more than fifty counties 
have been created out of it, while the population 
continues to increase rapidly every year. 

For a while the prospects of our settlers were 
very flattering : but afterward sickness and death 
entered their ranks. Colonel Ross lost his first wife, 
one brother and several of the company, the first 
year. Subsequently, the Colonel visited New 
York, and married a Miss Ednah Adams, of that 
State, after which he returned to Illinois, laid out 



a town, embracing his first location, and named 
it Atlas. There had previously been established 
a post-office called Ross Settlement, but this desig- 
nation gave way to the one now adopted by the 
Colonel, who soon commenced improving a farm, 
and built a mill, which was much needed at the 
time. 

The seat of justice was then at Coles' Grove, 
near what is now known as Gilead, in Calhoun 
county. The first Probate Court was at Coles' 
Grove, May 23, 1821, by Judge Abraham Beck. 
The first Circuit Court was held at Coles' 
Grove, October i, 1821, John Reynolds, Judge. 
The sheriff returned a panel of grandjurors, six- 
teen of them appearing, viz. : Levi Roberts, fore- 
man ; Ebenezer Franklin, Gardner H. Tullis, 
Joseph Bacon, George Kelly, Ebenezer Smith, 
David Dutton, Amos Bancroft, James Nixon, Na- 
thaniel Shaw, Thomas Procter, Richard Dilley, 
Stephen Dewey, William Mossey, Combart Shaw, 
and Daniel Phillips. The following persons 
were called, but made default: Leonard Ross, 
Henry J. Ross, Daniel Shinn, J. M. Seeley, Abra- 
ham Kurtz, Levi Newman, Henry Loup, John 
Better and John Jackson. Joseph Jervais and John 
Shaw, interpreters, were also sworn in. The 
first case was a divorce suit Sally Durham 
z's John Durham, on the ground of absence for 
more than two years. Granted, and given cus- 
tody of only child. The next case was that of the 
People vs Pemison and Shorewennekeh, two In- 
dians, on the charge of murder. The court ap- 
pointed David P. Cook and P. H. Winchester at- 
torneys for the prisoners. The verdict was a 
very singular one. It was this: ."That we, the 
jury, have agreed as to our verdict, according to 
the evidence before us, that Pemison, otherwise 
called 'Traveler,' is guilty of manslaughter, and 
Shorewennekeh, called 'Spice Bush,' is not guilty. 
It is therefore ordered and adjudged by this court 
that the said Shorewennekeh, otherwise called 
'Spice Bush,' go hence and be wholly discharged 
and acquitted ; and it is therefore further ordered 
and adjudged by the court that the said Pemison, 
otherwise called 'Traveler,' make the fine to the 
people of this State in the sum of twenty-five 
cents, and be imprisoned for a term of twenty- 



UBRARY 
iiun/rDcnv nc M 



5-' 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



four hours." The full term of imprisonment was 
meted out to him, in a rail pen, that served the 
purpose of jail. 

William W. Ward was the first white child 
born in Pike county. He was born in 
1821, Nancy Ross in 1822 and Marcellus Ross 
in 1824. Hiram Ward was the first mail 
carrier from Atlas to Quincy in 1827. The first 
death was Nancy, wife of Col. William Ross, 
February 12, 1821. The first marriage of which 
we can procure any information, was Peter J. 
Saxberry to Miss Matilda Stanley, June 19, 1827. 
The first sheriff was Bigelow C. Fenton, who was 
elected and commissioned October 2, 1821. James 
W. Whiting was appointed clerk of the county, 
March 12, 1821. 

The first member of the Legislature was Gen. 
Nicholas Hanson. His seat was contested by 
John Shaw, of Calhoun county. The first State 
Senator was Tom Carlin, of Greene county. The 
present county of Pike was organized in 1821. 
The first county seat was Atlas. In 1833 it be- 
came evident that the county seat must very soon 
be moved to some point near the center of the 
county. Colonel Ross joined enthusiastically in 
this movement, and advanced the money to the 
county authorities with which to enter the land 
on which Pittsfield now stands. The County 
Commissioners, Colonel Barney, George Hinman 
and Hawkins Judd, in consideration of Colonel 
Ross's valuable services in securing the new lo- 
cation gave him the honor to name the new county 
seat, which he accordingly did, naming it Pitts- 
field, in honor of his old home in Massachusetts. 

The first mill in the county was built in 1822, 
by Colonel Ross at Atlas. It was propelled by two 
horses, and could grind from a peck to a half 
bushel of corn per hour. In 1822, Mr. Van Du- 
sen started a ferry at what is now known as 
"Phillip's Ferry," on the Illinois river. He com- 
menced with a canoe, ferrying footmen and 
swimming horses. He subsequently sold his 
ferry and land claim to Nimrod Phillips, many of 
whose descendants are still living in Pike county. 
Pike county has much with which to enrich his- 
tory and cause its citizens to be proud of their 
county. In early days the "State of Pike," as it was 
called, did much to shape the political future of 



the great State of Illinois. It had many sole and 
influential men ; men whose pride for "Pike" was 
their chief ambition and aim, whether in the Leg- 
islative halls or in the lobby, their power was felt 
and feared. 

In March and April, 1820, Ebenezer Franklin 
and Daniel Shinn came to what is now Pike 
county and settled near what afterward was At- 
las. The Ross family came in the summer of 
1820 and to these sturdy and fearless pioneers 
Pike county and its people will ever render proper 
homage. And could they return from the echo- 
shore, and see the progress and development in 
their old home county they could truly say, Great 
God, Thou hast been good and merciful to our 
successors. All the blessings of nature are freely 
shown in the once wilderness now a garden spot. 
And in all the years since 1820 no famine or 
pestilence has smitten the land. Fruits, flowers, 
cereals and material blessings have been without 
stint. Colonel Benjamin Barney came in 1826, 
and he with Col. William Ross and others took 
an active part in the Black Hawk war. Colonel 
Ross was aide to the commanding general and ap- 
pointed Abraham Lincoln as captain of one of the 
companies from Sangamon county. Pike county 
had in that war companies under command of 
Captains Barney, Petty and Hale. Colonel Ross 
had an intimate acquaintance with Col. Zachary 
Taylor and Capt. Abraham Lincoln, who were 
afterward presidents of the United States. He 
also knew well the early Governors and Senators 
of Illinois. 

BLACK HAWK WAR. 

In November, 1830, fifty or sixty of the Sac and 
Fox tribes of Indians came down on a hunting 
excursion and camped on Bay creek. These tribes 
at that time were living on Rock river in the 
northern part of the State, and wished once more 
to visit the scenes of their former hunting ground. 
Some little trouble occurred between these In- 
dians and the whites on account of the disappear- 
ance of hogs in the neighborhood. The settlers 
turned out and caught some of the red men, tied 
them up and administered to them severe flagella- 
tions with withes, and they immediately left the 
country, never, with one or two exceptions, to re- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



53 



turn in a body to Pike county. This episode 
comes as near as anything of a warlike nature, 
especially a hostile collision with the Indians, as 
any that we have any record of occurring in Pike 
county. 

In the fall of 1831 Black Hawk and his tribes 
appeared on Rock river, where they committed 
several petty depredations. The settlers of Rock 
river and vicinity petitioned Governor Reynolds 
for aid, stating that "Last fall the Black Hawk 
band of Indians almost destroyed all of our crops, 
and made several attacks on the owners when they 
attempted to prevent their depredations, and 
wounded one man by actually stabbing him in 
several places. This spring they acted in a more 
outrageous and menacing manner." This petition 
represented that there were 600 or 700 Indians 
among them ; it was signed by thirty-five or forty 
persons. Another petition sets forth that "The In- 
dians pasture their horses in our wheat fields, 
shoot our cows and cattle and threaten to burn our 
houses over our heads if we do not leave." Other 
statements place the Indians at not more than 300. 

According to these petitions, Governor Rey- 
nolds in May, 1831, called for 700 mounted men. 
Beardstown was the designated place of rendez- 
vous, and such were the sympathy and courage 
of the settlers that the number offering themselves 
was nearly three times the number called for. They 
left Rushville for Rock Island June 15, 1831 ; 
and on the 3Oth of the same month, in a council 
held for the purpose, Black Hawk and twenty- 
seven chiefs and warriors on one part, and Gen. 
Edmund P. Gaines, of the United States Army, 
and John Reynolds, Governor of Illinois, on the 
other part, signed a treaty of peace and friend- 
ship. This capitulation bound the Indians to go 
and remain west of the Mississippi river. 

In April, 1832, in direct violation of the treaty 
above referred to, Black Hawk, with some 500 
followers, appeared again upon the scene of ac- 
tion, and fear and excitement spread through the 
length and breadth of the State. To again drive 
them from the State, Governor Reynolds called 
on the militia April 16, 1832. 

TROOPS RAISED IN PIKE COUNTY. 

No sooner had volunteers been called for than 
every county and settlement throughout this por- 



tion of the State promptly responded. Nowhere 
however, was such alacrity shown in answering 
the call as in Pike county. The hearts of the 
sturdy pioneers were easily touched by the stories 
of depredations by the Indians. These stories 
were doubtless greatly exaggerated, yet the fron- 
tiersmen who knew the subtlety and treachery of 
the red men well knew they could not be trusted ; 
and almost any crime was expected of them. 

Col. Wm. Ross, then Captain of the Pike Coun- 
ty Militia Company, received word from the Gov- 
ernor on Friday, the 2oth, and he immediately is- 
sued the following : 

"COMPANY ORDERS The volunteer company 
of Pike county will meet at Atlas', on Monday, 
the 23d inst., ready to take up their march by 
sun-rise, except such part of the company as are 
living on the east side of said county, which part 
will meet the company at the house of William 
Henman, about four miles this side of Phillips' 
Ferry, on the same day, all with a good horse, 
and rifle, powder-horn, half pound of powder, and 
one hundred balls, with three days' provisions. 
The commanding officer of said company flatters 
himself that every man will be prompt to his duty. 

[Signed,] "W. Ross, 

"Capt. ist Rifles, Pike Co." 

"April, 1832." 

The Captain then called upon Benj. Barney at 
his blacksmith shop and told him of the nature of 
the order he had received, and for him to forth- 
with mount a horse and start out to notify the 
settlers to assemble immediately. Mr. Barney 
was engaged at his forge at the time, making a 
plow ; but he straightway laid down hammer and 
tongs, untied his leathern apron, left his fire to 
smolder and die, and started immediately upon his 
mission. He first went to a man at the mouth of 
Blue creek ; from thence he made a circuit of the 
county, appealing to all to^assemble at Atlas with- 
out delay. He tells us that almost all of them left 
their work and started immediately. 

The men having assembled at Atlas, the martial 
band began to discourse lively music to stir the 
patriotism of the militia-men to a high pitch so 
that they would enlist for the service. The music 
did not seem to "enthuse" them with as great a 
desire to enlist as their leaders had anticipated. 
Something more potent must be had; so two 



54 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



buckets of whisky were summoned to their aid ; 
the men were formed in two lines facing each 
other, and wide enough apart to admit of two men 
walking up and down the line between them. Capt. 
Ross and Lieut. Seeley started down the line, each 
with a bucket of liquor; two boys followed with 
water, and then came the music. It was under- 
stood that those who would fall in after the music 
would enlist for service. By the time the third 
round was made 100 men were in line, which was 
even more than the quota of this county under 
that call. Wm. Ross was elected Captain and 
Benj. Barney, ist Lieutenant. The company ed- 
journed to meet at Griggsville on the following 
day at 10 o'clock A. M. The men went to their 
homes in various parts of the county to notify 
their families of their enlistment and to make 
slight preparations for their journey. We are 
told that with four or five exceptions, and those 
lived along the Illinois river, every man was at 
Griggsville by sunrise on the day appointed. 

The company then started for Beardstown, the 
place of rendezvous for the troops in this part of 
the State. The Illinois river was very high and 
much difficulty was experienced in crossing it. 
The ferry would carry but six horses at a time; 
and while waiting for transportation the horses 
stood in mud up to their knees. It was a gloomy 
time and they had no liquor with which to cheer 
up the new volunteers. Capt. Ross was among the 
first to cross over, while Lieut. Barney remained 
with the men upon the western bank. Great dis- 
satisfaction was being manifested by the men 
under Lieut. Barney, who were waiting in the 
mud and water to cross the river, all of whom did 
not get over until i r o'clock that night. Lieut. 
Barney sent word to Capt. Ross to forward him a 
jug of whisky. This was done; a fire was built, 
striking it by flint locks of their guns ; the whisky 
was distributed, and once more the troops were in 
good spirits and ready for any hardship. 

The Pike county troops arrived at Beardstown 
the next day, being the first company to reach that 
point. The Governor and some of the leading 
officers were already there. It was found that the 
Pike county company was too large; it accord- 
ingly was divided and formed into two companies. 



Lieut. Barney was chosen Captain of one of these, 
and Joseph Petty, Captain ->f the other. James 
Ross was elected ist Lieutenant of Capt. Petty's 
company, and a Mr. Allen, of Capt. Barney's 
company. Capt. Ross was chosen Colonel and 
aid of the commanding General. It was he who 
appointed Abraham Lincoln, our martyr Presi- 
dent, to the captaincy of one of the Sangamon 
county companies in this war. 

The troops marched from Beardstown to Rock 
Island, where they were mustered into the United 
States service by Gen. Zachary Taylor. At Fort 
Armstrong, which was at that point, there were 
then only about 50 United States troops. The Pike 
county volunteers, with others, then marched up 
toward Dixon on Rock river, the course the In- 
dians had taken. They followed them for some 
days, but did not overtake them or encounter them 
in any engagement. During the entire campaign 
the Pike county troops did not meet the foe in 
battle array ; not a leaden ball was shot at any of 
these men during the 50 days they were out. 
During this time they ran short of provisions, and 
sent to Chicago, but in that present great city, 
where millions of hogs are slaughtered annually 
and the greatest grain market in the world exists, 
they could not get a barrel of pork or of flour. 
The Pike county volunteers then went to Ottawa 
and shared with some of the troops at that point. 
They obtained rations enough there to last them 
about three days, when they marched on down the 
river to the rapids, where there was a boat filled 
with United States provisions: There they drew 
rations for their homeward march. Capt. Barney 
drew seven days' rations for his men, but Capt. 
Petty thought they would get home in three or 
four days, so only drew four days' rations, much 
to the regret of the hungry stomachs of his men, 
as it took them longer to get home than he had 
anticipated. The privates of this call received 
$8 a month, and were paid off that fall by United 
States agents, who came to Atlas. 

THE STAMPEDE. 

While in the northern part of the State four 
regiments of troops camped together, among 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



55 



whom were the men from this county. They 
formed a hollow square, upon the inside of which 
were the officers' tents. The horses, about 1,000 
in number, were guarded in a corral outside of 
the square. In the dead hour of night, when not 
a light remained burning, and the slow tread of 
the faithful sentinel was the only sound that broke 
the silence, the horses became frightened and 
stampeded. In the wildest rage they dashed for- 
ward, whither they knew not; they headed toward 
the camp of slumbering soldiers, and in all the 
mad fury of frightened brutes they dashed for- 
ward over cannon, tents and men, wounding sev- 
eral of the latter quite severely. The troops 
heard their coming and supposed each wild steed 
was ridden by a wilder and less humane red-skin ; 
the treacherous and subtle foe was momentarily 
expected and the frightened men thought they 
were now coming down upon them. They all had 
heard of the night attack upon the rangers at the 
famous battle of Tippecanoe, and feared a repeti- 
tion of that night's bloody work. Capt. Barney,, 
with quickness of thought and military skill, in a 
loud voice gave order for his men to form at the 
rear of their tents. He hallooed lustily, and when 
he went up and down the line feeling his way he 
found every man in his place. The commanding 
officers hearing the Captain's orders .and knowing 
there would be safety with his company if any- 
where, ran to him. Fortunately the horses were 
riderless, which was soon discovered, and then the 
frightened men began joking. Col. De Witt 
joked Capt. Barney considerably about his hal- 
looing so loud, when Gen. Taylor spoke up and 
said he was glad the Captain was so prompt to 
give orders for his men to form, as it showed a 
soldierly disposition ; besides, it let him know 
where he might go for safety. 

The following Pike county soldiers were in the 
Black Hawk war : 

CAPTAIN OZIAS HAIL/S COMPANY 

Of the 4th Regiment, 3d Brigade of Illinois 
Mounted Volunteers, called into the service of the 
United States, on the requisition of Gen. Henry 
Atkinson, by the Governor's proclamation, dated 



.May 15, 1832. Mustered out August 16, 1832. 
Captain, Ozias Hail ; first leutenant, David Seeley ; 
second lieutenant, Robart Goodin ; sergeants, 
Enoch Cooper, Adam Harpool, John McMullin, 
Isaac Turnbaugh, Josiah Sims ; corporals, Ben- 
jamin Shin, John Battershall, William Cooper, 
Isaac Dolbaugh, John Crass; privates, Smith 
Ames, William Alcorn, Culverson Blair, Elijah 
liradshaw, John Blythe, Enoch Bradshaw, John 
Burcaloo, Sylvanus Baker, Derns Butler, Wm. 
Buffenbarger, David Cole, Abner Clark, Joshua 
Davis, William Davis, John Foster, Frederic 
Franklin, William Harpool, William Kinney, Ab- 
salom McLain, Caleb Miller, George Miller, 
David Moore, John Melhizer, Wm. McLain, Wil- 
liam Mitchell, Burgess Neeley, John Neeley, 
Samuel Neeley, Thomas Neeley, Resen Nisenger, 
James B. Prior, Benjamin Pulum, John Shinn, 
Harris Spears, Philip H. Stigney, Joseph Turn- 
baugh, John M. Taylor, Ebenezer Yesley. 

The above company volunteered and organized 
in Atlas, in Pike county, on June 4, 1832, and in 
pursuance of orders then received, marched im- 
mediately to rendezvous at Fort Wilbourn, where 
they arrived on June 17, and were mustered into 
service June 19, 1832. 

CAPTAIN BENJAMIN BARNEY'S COMPANY 

Of the 3d Regiment, commanded by Col. Abram 
B. Dewitt, of the Brigade of Mounted Volunteers 
commanded by Brig.-Gen. Whitesides. Mus- 
tered out of the service at the mouth of Fox 
River, on May 27, 1832. Distant 250 miles from 
the place of enrollment. Captains, William Ross, 
Benjamin Barney; first lieutenant. Israel N. 
Bert ; second lieutenant, Lewis Allen ; ser- 
geants, Bridge Whitten, Hawkins Judd, Eli 
Hubbard, Hansel G. Horn ; corporals, Allen B, 
Lucas, Mathias Bailey, William Mallory, Jesse 
Luster ; privates, Jonathan B. Allen, William Ad- 
ney, William Blair, Alfred Bush, Joseph Card, 
Meredith W. Coffee, Robert Davis, Joseph Gall, 
Louis A. Garrison, Robert Haze, David Hull, 
Eliphalet Haskins, Charles Kannada, Willis Lay, 
Chidister B. Lewis, Samuel W. Love, Jesse Lucas, 
John McAtee, Andrew McAtee, Richard Marrow, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Adair C. Meredith, Samuel P. Mize, James 
O'Neil, John Perkins, St. Clair Prewitt, Emery 
Swiney, Stephen Shipman, Lindsay Tolbert, Aus- 
tin Wilson, Lucius Wells. 

CAPTAIN ELISHA PETTY's COMPANY 

Of the 3d Regiment, commanded by Col. 
Ab.ram B. Dewitt, of the Brigade of Mounted 
Volunteers of the "Illinois Militia, commanded by 
Brig.-Gen. Samuel Whitesides. Mustered out of 
the service at the mouth of Fox river, May 27, 
1832. Distance, 250 miles from place of the en- 
rollment. 

Captain, Elisha Petty ; first lieutenant, James 
Ross ; second lieutenant, John W. Birch. Ser- 
geants, Joab Brooks, Gilham Bailey, Joel Har- 
pole, Cornelius Jones. Corporals, William Kin- 
man, William Gates, Ira Shelly, James Woosley. 
Privates, Ira Andrews, Caret Buchalew, Caleb 
Bailey, Franklin P. Coleman, Joseph Cavender, 
Harrison Decker, Thomas Edwards, Benjamin 
Fugate, James Green, Edwin Grimshaw, Appolis 
Hubbard, Berry Hume, Francis Jackson, Samuel 
Jeffers, Sims Kinman, Hiram Kinman, Thomas 
Kinney, William Lynch, Joseph McLintock, Sol- 
omon Main, Thomas More, Mathew Mays, Owen 
Parkis, Samuel Riggs, Nathaniel C. Triplet, Wil- 
liam Wadsworth, B. Whitten, Lucius Wells. 

MEXICAN WAR. 

COMPANY K, FIRST REGIMENT. 

This company was discharged at Alton, Illi- 
nois, October 17, 1848. Captains, Israel B. Don- 
alson, William Kinman; first lieutenant, Manoah 
T. Bostick; second lieutenants, Robert E. Hicks, 
Constantine Hicks ; sergeants, David K. Hobbs. 
Andrew Main, Austin W. Matthews, Uriah 
Thomas ; corporals, Daniel Gray, Joseph W. In- 
gals, George W. Freeman, Jarvis P. Rudd ; mu- 
sicians, William Kiser, John Moore; privates, 
John Arnet, James H. Atkins, Archibald A. 
Brown, William B. Bobbett, Alfred I. Blair, 
Jackson Bell, Lawrence C. Bristow, David P. 
Baldwin, Frederick M. Bulson, Alfred Bissell, 



Robert F. Babcock, Ephraim Cram, John Cooper, 
Calvin Davis, Alney Durall, Duran Durall, Bur- 
ton T. Gray, Nathaniel P. Hart, John Hawker, 
John C. Heavener, Christoph Heavener, George 
Henry, Anderson Hedrick, Jackson Jennings, 
Thomas I. Jordan, John W. Kneeland, Hiram G. 
Kendall, Joseph W. Kinney, James W. Lewis, 
Josiah Lippincott, James Leeper, Philip Main, 
Benjamin L. Mastin, Nicholas Main, Daniel W. 
Meredith, Franklin Madison, John Mace, Wil- 
liam Main, Joseph McDade, Reuben McDade, 
Andrew J. Neely, John Neely, Robert Peterson, 
Lemuel Parks, Jacob Seybold, John G. Seavers, 
Zachariah L. Smart, Charles A. Spencer, Hiram 
G. W. Spencer, Samuel Schanck, John L. Under- 
wood, Benjamin F. Wade, McDaniel Welch, 
Henry P. Yorke, J. C. Densmore, J. S. Troy, 
Rivers Sellon, Charles Sellon. 

CIVIL WAR. 

Pike county men went to the Civil war in the 
following commands: 

SECOND ILLINOIS CAVALRY, COMPANY K. 

Colonels, John J. Mudd and Daniel B. Bush; 
major, T. W. Jones; captains, Presley G. Athey, 
Thomas W. Jones, Montgomery Demmons ; first 
lieutenants, Thomas W. Jones, Benjamin F. Gar- 
rett, William R. Scull ; second lieutenants, Ben- 
jamin F. Garrett, Franklin Kinman, Anson 
Mitchell, Montgomery Demmons, David C. 
Rothrock ; first sergeant, Franklin Kinman ; 
quartermaster sergeant, Richard T. Woolfolk ; 
sergeants, Samuel V. Swearingen, Richard A. 
Bard, Ira St. John, William R. Crary ; corporals, 
Montgomery Demmons, George Miers, Alex C. 
McPhail, Elijah M. Williams, Hiram D. Moul- 
ton, Benjamin V. Sharp, William A. Reed ; bu- 
glers, Dorus E. Bates, Clifford R. Scranton; 
wagoner, John McCune; privates, Cornelius B. 
Archer, Logan W. Allen, Carlisle Burbridge, 
John Bringman, James Bradberry, Josephus 
Brown, George Bickerdike, James Collins, Peter 
Carey, Charles C. Clifford, Alonzo Cheek, Wil- 
liam M. Cunningham, Samuel Dell, Anthony 
Dell, George R. Carrier, Jeremiah Fireman, Wil- 
liam H. French, George W. Gunn, James Graves, 
Rowland Green, Watson Goodrich, John L. B. 




VICKSBURG MONUMENT 



UBHARY 

0* 1HE ,,MC 
V ,1Y 0' ' ' S 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



59 



Goings, John W. Graham, William R. Hale, 
Stephen B. Hale, Bailey Hayden, William E. 
Handel, William Hill, Jacob Johnson, John 
Knox, William Kelly, Lawson Lovett, David 
Lynch, Thomas C. Leek, Joseph A. P. Love, 
Michael McMahon, Benjamin F. Mills, William 
H. Mclntyre, James Mayo, Henry S. Norton, 
David Pearcy, Franklin Ransom, David C. Roth- 
rock, Stephen A. St. John, Riley Stephens, John 
Stotts, William R. Scull, William L. Smith, Guy 
Smith, David W. Sparrow, William T. Sawyers, 
George W. Thompson, Jacob Wulsey, Charles 
Wood, Samuel White, Richard Wade, Conrad 
Winnant. 



Sergeants, Montgomery Demmons, William R. 
Scull, Watson Goodrich, William R. Hale ; cor- 
porals, Jacob Wulsey, Peter Carey, David C. 
Rothrock, Samuel Dell; privates, Robert R. 
Bean, Oscar F. Beach, M. William Cunningham, 
John Fromelsberger, John L. B. Goings, Roland 
Green, Joseph Graham, Stephen B. Hale, Wil- 
liam E. Handel, William L. Kelley, Joseph A. P. 
Love, John W. Lindsey, Sylvester Mullen, Wil- 
liam H. Mclntyre, William McCormick, Ben- 
jamin F. Mills, Joseph Polite, Isaiah Ruble, Edwin 

A. Rockwell, Stephen A. St. John, John Stotts, 
David W. Sparrow, Benjamin F. Thompson, 
George W. Webster ; recruits, William L. Allen, 
Cuffner W. Allen, Abel A. Adams, William M. 
Baldwin, John Brown, Robert R. Bean, William 

B. Babbitt, George Bowman, George P. Beck- 
holdt, Broadus Briscoe, Williston Beardsley, 
Lewis D. Brown, William W. Blackburn, John 
Boyd, Buffmgton Babin, William Berry, Pleasant 
H. Boston, Aaron Carroll, Giles Culver, William 
Dix, Noble M. Dyke, Samuel A. Dunlap, Charles 
Dickens, John C. Eagle, John Fromelsberger, 
Jesse L. Fields, James P. Foote, John Fisher, Ben- 
jamin Fisher, Jonah Goings, Julius C. Graham, 
John W. Graham, Joseph Graham, William His- 
ted, John D. Hale, James Hayden, John C. Han- 
del, Isaac J. Handel, Daniel H. Huffman, Marion 
Heavner, James S. Hyde, George W. Harris, 
Harrison Johnson, Henry Jacobs, Miller Johnley, 
William Jackson, William H. Kerman, William 
L. Kelly, Francis Keys, Thomas Knox, James 



Kelley.-Andrew Lytle, John W. Lindsay, William 
Lytle, John Lovett, George Main, Charles Main, 
William McCormick, Alex C. McPhail, John Mc- 
Clerry, James Main, Andrew J. Molar, Ennis 
Newnham, Joseph Polite, John Peoples, Isaiah 
Ruble, James or Elisha Ransom, E. A. Rockwell, 
John W. Reynolds, Lyman Ransom, Francis M. 
Scanlan, Peter Swiggert, Cicero Scobey, Ben- 
jamin F. Thompson, William Trownsell, Peter 
M. Tysinger, William W. Walworth, Samuel H. 
Wynn, Hampton Wade, George W. Webster; 
under cooks of A. D., William Britton, Franklin 
Gazaphail, Edward Putnam, Henry Wilkins. 

FIFTH ILLINOIS CAVALRY, COMPANY G. 

Captains, John A. Harvey, Benjamin B. Hop- 
kins, Alexander D. Pittenger; first lieutenant, 
. William A. McAllister ; second lieutenants, Amos 
" PL Smith 5 , WiHktm A, McAllister, John W. Pat- 
terson; quartermaster sergeant, Amos H. Smith; 
sergeants, James P. Taylor, William H. Cham; 
corporals, Nathan Swigget, Wallis Dike, John 
W. Patterson ; bugler, Joshua Ward ; blacksmith, 
James Thompson ; saddler, James Hedger ; pri- 
vates William G. Allen, Frederick Akart, Ziba 
G. Brown, Curtis J. Brown, John Cahl, Edgar 
W. Chase, Thomas P. Clark, Noble M. Dike, Ed- 
ward T. Gullcross, William P. Gwinn, Charles 
Havens, John J. Heden, George W. Higgins, 
John W. Hill, William S. Hill, John Hofsess, 
Benjamin B. Hopkins, Benjamin J. Jones, Henry 
J. Luckinbill, Samuel Lutes, William A. McAl- 
lister, Benjamin F. Mclntyre, John W. Meek, Ol- 
iver H. Perry, Jimmerson Pierce, Benjamin J. 
or B. Powell, Cornelius Rathburn, John P. Rat- 
tic, John M. K. Reid, Wesley Stanley, Hiram P. 
Stetson, Thomas B. Skidmore, Thomas Taylor, 
William H. Uppinghouse, Marion Uppinghouse, 
Albert Willits, Charles G. Wilson, John Wilson, 
Abram L. Winsor; veterans, Frederick Akart, 
William T. Gwinn, John J. Heden, Jacob Her- 
man, John Hoffses, William A. McAllister, Alex- 
ander D. Pittinger, John M. K. Reed, Hiram P. 
Stettson, Nathan Swiggett, Thomas B. Skidmore, 
Charles Sherman, James Thomson, Stephen B. 
Watson, John Wilson, David B. Wacaser; re- 
cruits, Levi Brewer, John P. Brower, Owen Crea- 



6o 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



son, John Clark, Peter Cusic, Jacob Herman, John 
Judd, William H. Macaser, John Mier, Samuel M. 
Miller, Joseph Stanley, Alick Sanders, Charles 
Sherman, Charles O. Ward, Stephen B. Watson, 
David B. Wacaser, John W. Willey, Albert 
Watson. 

TENTH II.LIXOIS CAVALRY. 

Robert Wright, Hart Quarv. Xaper Reeves, Ja- 
cob Nelson, H. C. Osborn, John A. Beverly. 
James M. Champ, Peter Brimm, Oliver Ellmore, 
Josiah Taylor. James A. Woods, Giles Bulercl, 
Ed. Bell, William Bell, Press Crofton, David 
Chapin, William Parkis, E. H. Bently. John Cal- 
vert, J. H. Ellege, Moses Greenup, F. Fewgate, 
J. T. Gebhart, A. J. Hill. Alpheus Winneger, W. 
W. Bell, Jacob Butts, Jack Woolery, Martin 
Ayers, A. Jackson, C. Preston, J. P. Johnston. 



Captain, William A. Hubbard : first lieutenant, 
John H. Gay ; second lieutenant, William Athey ; 
first sergeant, Nathan L. Adams ; sergeants, John 
W. Hill, Robert T. Babcock, John Scott, Josiah 
G. Williams ; corporals, John Shaffner, Edgar 
Peckenpaugh, John Gallagher, John B. Mills, 
John Bringman, Peter H. Sullivan, John I. 
Sackett, John P. Adams; musicians, Jacob F. 
Miller, John Peters; wagoner, William J. Bran- 
don ; privates, Roder G. Allen, Henry C. Bran- 
don, Lewis J. Bradshaw, Eli Bradshaw, Joseph 
H. Brown, Nathan Baughman, Jacob Baughman, 
George L. Boyd, Joshua N. Butler, Lewis Chase, 
John L. Cunningham, Joseph H. 'Cooper, George 
W. Carrel, John Davidson, John W. Foreman, 
Abner W. Foreman, Isaac Fast, Andrew J. Good- 
win, Benjamin Goodwin. William H. Goodwin, 
George Huff, David Hadley, Hartley Hines, Wil- 
liam G. Hopkins, William A. Higgins, Francis 
L. Jones. James S. Johnston, Peter Johnston, 
William Kriowles, Samuel Kelly, James Laforce, 
James Lee. James Low, Robert Laughridge, Wil- 
liam C. Lynch, Joseph J. Lusk, Coatsworth 
Aloore, William A. Monroe, William McGuire, 
Absalom C. Murphy, John J. Miller, James Nich- 
olson, John R. Noble, John D. Reed. Burk Ralph. 



William J. Rowley. Joel Rowley. Isaac Roberts, 
William Stark, John Sharer. William C. Sim- 
mons, Jonathan R. Sitton, Henry Shaffner, Wil- 
liam R. Smith, John Shaffner, John M. Smith, 
Henry T. Shaw, James L. Saxberry. George 
Turnbaugh. Wilberforce Tuthaker, Anthony M. 
Triplett, Michael Tinkle, Edwin H. Webster, 
Moody J. Webster, William S. Windsor, Delos 
D. Walker, John Shaw. 

COMPANY G. 

Captain, Samuel N. Hoyt ; first lieutenant, An- 
drew Moore ; second lieutenant, William H. Hal- 
lin ; first sergeant, Gilbert E. Brooks ; sergeants, 
Edward W. Baker, Jesse Parke, John W. Knee- 
land, Bartholomew Brooks ; corporals, William 
H. Hammond, Stephen Northrop, Samuel S. 
Leeds, Melvin T. Johns, James F. Hameo, 
Thomas C. Manchester, James Rutherford, Ben- 
jamin A. Lord ; musicians, Samuel Wade, Henry 
Pool; teamster, John S. Buster; privates, John 
Ayers, Archibald D. Brown, John A. Bell, George 
W. Brooks, James M. Brown, Francis M. Bald- 
win, Walter Bell, William Cryder, Jasper Cryder. 
John Caton, Benjamin Cawthorn, James Craw- 
ford, Thomas Cunningham, John Cahill, Darius 
Dexter, John W. Davis, William H. Darrah, John 
J. Emory, William H. Elliott, David Evans. Wil- 
liam S. Ellidge, Henry C. Ferry, John J. Frank- 
lin, Josephus Foreman, Clark Gilhan, John E. 
Gray, Thomas Gowings, James P. Gibbs, James 
Gleason, Francis Houston, William Heldrith, 
Hines A. Hardy, Jonah Hossess, Philip Hahn, 
Marion Kinman, James Keyes, George R. Kin- 
cade, John Kernan, Wesley H. Mayfield, Harri- 
son Mitchell, Francis Miller, Franklin Morrison, 
Samuel Oliphant. Andrew J. Rushing, Charles 
C. Seaborn, James W. Six, Jefferson S. Steel. 
John Santhoff, James A. Sewell, James R. P. 
Sparks, George Scutt, Willis J. Stead. George W. 
Steel, Charles Tucker, Noah Talbot. Clint P. 
Vandermant, Robert L. Wilson, Xoah X. Watts, 
Daniel Wardlow. Minor Wanllow, Charles H. 
William. George W. Wicker, John M. Wicker. 
F.lijah X. Watts, John White, Alfred H. Watts, 
John T. Woods, Frank Wade, Henry Woods. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



EIGHTH ILLINOIS INFAXTUY. COMPANY G. 

Captain, John McWilliams : first lieutenant, 
James S. Bernard ; second lieutenant, Thomas 
Butler; first sergeant, Elihu Jones; sergeants, W. 
P. Sitton, Robert Wills, Sampson Purcell ; cor- 
porals, Elijah Dickenson, George W. Stoby, 
Michael McNaughten, William T. Lyon ; musi- 
cians, George Martins, Seth W. Pierce ; privates, 
John S. Ault, John W. Agnew, Thomas G. Alex- 
ander, J. B. Baker, Levi Barber, George Barn- 
grover, Hiram Bigsbee, William Bowman, John 
Bowman, Daniel Bradley, Gilbert Brooks, Wil- 
liam Cammire, George L. Carson, Nathan J. Cof- 
fee, Robert Davis, Josiah Davis, Montgomery 
Demmons, Denise Denise, Pine Dexter, Edward 
Durant, Thomas Foster, Watson Goodrich, Sam- 
uel Goozee, John C. Handle, Isaac I. Handle, 
Reuben B. Hatch, Charles B. Hays, Moses Hem- 
menway, James Heavener, John M. Hurt, 
Charles H. Hurt, Joseph H. Johnson, William 
Kelley, Daniel D. Kidwell, Robert H. Kinman, 
Henry Kinney, John T. Lovett, Amos Laikin, 
James Lindsay, William Little, Jacob Long, 
Henry Lucas, Fernando Moreno, John Madigan, 
John E. Mathis, William H. McFadden, William 
R. Moore, William H. Owen, Thomas D. Pettis. 
George Petty, Alexander G. Pettinger, Andrew 
W. I 'lattner, Thomas H. Post, George W. Rader, 
George Rice, Alexander Russell, George Sander- 
son, Albert Shaw, Jackson Stout, John T. 
Thompson, Carlos L. Toby, John Tucker, John 
W. Troutner, David Troutner, David Wacasser ; 
captains, James S. Bernard, Elihu Jones, Charles 
H. Hurt; first lieutenants, Elihu Jones, William 
P. Sitton, Charles H. Hurt. George Sanderson; 
second lieutenants, William P. Sitton, Charles H. 
Hurt, William A. Savior: first sergeant, Charles 
IT. 1 furt ; sergeants, Levi Barber, George San- 
derson, William H. Owings, Thomas Foster ; 
corporals, John S. Hanlen. Gilbert Brooks, Dan- 
iel 15. Owings. William IT. Williams, George 
Jackson, Joseph Shinn ; privates, Hiram Byxbe, 
Joseph Byxbe, John U. Byxbe, Charles W.' Bar- 
bee. George W. I'arr. John D. Boren. James 
l!n>\vn. IJartholomew Brooks, James Caton, 
Thomas Cein, Isaac Chandler, Thomas Cassady, 
James Ca vender, Xoah E. Dye, Stephen Duncan, 



Walter Decker, John G. Davis, Warren S. Oil- 
worth, William' Durant, James Elwood, Perry 
Foster, Marcus Frawner, Benjamin F. Foreman, 
John S. Fulks, James Gibson, Thomas Gallaher, 
Francis M. Ghant, James Hodge, Thomas Harris, 
Thomas Humes, Adam A. Hanlin, William Han- 
lin, Jackson B. Hudson, John Harrington, John 
W. Henry, John C. Jenkins, Daniel McFarland, 
Jesse Mappin, James Marcy, Joseph Moore, Roy- 
al Mooers, Rhoderic Moore, David Orton, Henry 
Osborn, John Perkins, Frederick Regie, William 
Robinson, James Shinn, Peter F. Simpson, Na- 
thaniel Stevens, Henry Steel, Joseph Simpson, 
Adam Snyder, Reuben Ult, James P. Vincent, 
Daniel Vandermant, William H. White, William 
W. Westrope, Daniel S. Westrope, Alexander 
Wood ; recruits, James Baird, Austin D. Barber, 
John Bailey, Matthew F. Castator, Silas A. Car- 
roll, Anderson Corder, James Elwood, John 
Frawner, Oliver Jones, Amos Larkins, Lyman 
Langwell, John T. Lovett, Elias Manning, Alex- 
ander Matthews, Charles Mallory, William Mat- 
thews, William M. Mills, Silas A. Perry, William 
H. Phillips, George Rice, William H. Smith, 
George Stevens, Xorman A. Taylor, Franklin 
Thompson, John P. Vaughn, Thomas H. B. Wil- 
son, Nathaniel W. Webster, William H. Willard ; 
veterans, James Gating, Isaac Chandler, Walter 
Decker, John S. Fulks, Marcus Frawner, Adam 
Hanline. Thomas M. Humes, Amos Larkin, 
Joseph Moore, Jesse F. Mappin, John Perkins, 
Joseph Shinn, George Sanderson, Adam A. Sny- 
der, James P. Vincent, William H. Willard, Wil- 
liam H. Westrope. 



SIXTKF.XTH ILLI 



Captains. George D. Stewart, John Bryant; 
first lieutenants, James Hedger, French B. Wood- 
all, John Bryant. Franklin J. Cooper ; second lieu- 
tenants, Richard B. Higgins, Joseph E. Haines, 
Asbury Brown ; first sergeant, Elijah J. Gidd- 
ings ; sergeants, Joseph E. Haines, James E. Ir- 
win. Samuel Morris, Robert A. Coulter; corpo- 
rals, Norton H. Close, Daniel W. Rider, William 
Brown, Juclson C. Gillespie, Charles W. Beers. 
Alexander S. Hatch, Edson W. Berry, William 
Baclgley: musicians, Joseph J. P.obo, James 
Shields ; wagoner. William W. Smith ; privates. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



William M. Austin, Almeron C. Bennett, William 
Bramble, Asa D. Baker, Benjamin Branic, John 
M. Bryant, Sanford P. Bennett, John W. Bal- 
linger, William L. Baldwin, Thomas J. Burkee, 
James H. Butler, Alexander Baird, Asbury 
Brown, Peter Beemer, John B. Brinson, William 

E. Chapman, Silas G. Corey, John M. Cooper, 
William Copeland, Frederick P. Dillingham, 
James Daugherty, William H. Eddingfield, Ben- 
jamin Ezzell, John T. Ezzell, Oliver R. Emerson, 
Miner A. Foster, Lamar Farnsworth, John C. 
Gregory, William Gay, Henry Gale, James Hull, 
Joseph Huet, George Hallett, Thomas J. House, 
John Halpin, Thomas Hull, James Ingram, 
Thomas J. Johnson, Bernard Kane, David D. 
Kidwell, Charles A., Kendall, Thomas J. Lusk, 
Thomas Lomax, Hiram J. Lee, Patrick McMa- 
hon, Thomas McGuire, Robert Martin, Matthew 
H. Nichols, William H. D. Noyes, Calvin F. Pier- 
son, Alfred Payne, Moses Perkins, John H. Rig- 
ney, Thomas Y. Reppey, John M. Shinn, Silas 
Shaw, Charles F. Sanderson, Silas Sprague, 
Francis M. Smith, Ira W. Shelby, William 
Sharpe, Josiah Thorn, Asa E. Topliff, James 
Tipton, Edgar Tyler, Cyrus C. Walburn; veter- 
ans, Frederick Arnold, Alexander Baird, Asbury 
Brown, John M. Bryant, John B. Bimson, Ben- 
jamin Brannic, Joseph J. Bobo, James H. But- 
ler, William Badgeley, William Bramble, Peter 
Beamer, Franklin J. Cooper, John Conley, Ed- 
ward F. Gaines, Thomas Hull, George W. House, 
John Halpin, Alfred F. Hildreth, John Harrison, 
George Leslie, Robert Martin, Matthew Nicols, 
Calvin F. Pierson, William H. Quincy, Benjamin 

F. Saxbury, Thomas Sheppard, William J. Smith, 
Francis M. Smith, Josiah Thorn; recruits, William 
Badgeley, William Bramble, Montgomery Bain, 
Richard B. Bagby, Samuel Boice, William But- 
ler, Horace O. Bennett, Frank J. Cooper, John 
Conley, William Cooper, John Collins, Shubal B. 
Day, John W. Elder, Edward F. Gaines, Horatio 
Gray, Pyrus Clancy, George W. House, Henry 
Hubbard, Ed. House, William G. Howe, Joseph 
F. Lowe, William J. Little, Alexander Massie, 
Charles M. McCauley, Nathan P. Nichols, Jeptha 
B. Parks, Elias Price, John Rippey, William Rus- 
sell, William J. Smith, Daniel Van Slyke, Her- 
bert W. Wilcox, Simon Zumalt, Obadiah Zumalt. 



TWENTY-EIGHTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Three companies in the Twenty-eighth Illinois 
Infantry were Pike county boys, and were in bat- 
tle at Shiloh, Corinth, Hatchie, Vicksburg, Jack- 
son, Spanish Fort and Blakeley. Some of the boys 
served four years and seven months. Lieutenant 
Colonel Thomas M. Kilpatrick, of Milton, Illi- 
nois, a member of the Twenty-eighth Illinois In- 
fantry, a brave and gallant soldier, enlisted Janu- 
ary 10, 1862, and was killed in battle at Pitts- 
burg Landing, April, 1862. 

COMPANY I. 

Captain, Elisha Hurt ; second lieutenant, 
Henry L. Hadsell ; first sergeant, John H. Hurt ; 
sergeants, Samuel C. Brown, Henry L. Hadsell, 
Horatio Walker, Andrew J. Petty ; corporals, Al- 
vin Jessup, Thomas Durell, Andrew A. Veach, 
John Smith, William Garten, James H. Rogers; 
musician, William J. Pence ; privates, Eli Boff- 
man, John Bell, Henry W. Brown, William Brit- 
ton, Isaac Bridge'water, William H. Bonifield. 
John Barney, Thomas F. Bain, Bartholomew 
Boyles, Enoch M. Clift, William Custead, James 
Collier, Alfred M. Delano. William S. Dole, Wil- 
liam M. Decker, James T. Demarree, Charles E. 
Fletcher, Orville Goodale, James M. Green, 
James Holmes, Henry C. Hart, John T. Hall, 
Henry Hammond, Isaac Halstead, Harrison 
Hand, Hollingsworth Hender, Thomas James, 
John S. Kinman, John R. Larue, Andrew J. La- 
rue, Edward F. Larue, Isaac Micky, William 
Mong, Alexander McBride, William H. Murphy, 
James McGinnas, Patrick E. Murphy, Menzoo 
W. Massie, William W. Martin, Samuel Phrim- 
mer, Alfred S. Pryor, Stephen Palmer, James L. 
Price, Jackson Rogers, Joseph L. Rogers, Joseph 
Stevens, Jacob Stombaugh, Thomas J. Voorhes, 
James M. Voorhes, James White; veterans, Wil- 
liam Britton, Eli Boffman, John Currie, William 
Craig, Enoch M. Clitt, John A. Demaree, Wil- 
liam S. Dole, William M. Decker, Henry T. Gray, 
Orville L. Goodale, William H. Hubbard, John 
M. Hurt, Harrison Hand, John T. Hall. Francis 
M. Likes, William W. Martin, John Smith, John 
T. Veach, Horatio Walker, Isaac N. Woods'; re- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



emits, William J. Beddy, James Badger, James 
or George Bridgewater, Franklin Currie, Joseph 
Clark, John Currie, William Craig, James L. 
Gordan, Henry T. Gray, Eugene Gray, Gavid 
Geer, John S. Gorton, Daniel D. Gray, William 
H. Huntly, William H. Hubbard, Dick Johnson, 
Daniel D. Kidwell, John Kipp, Charles F. C. 
Krauss, Daniel Likes, Joseph Losson, William 
Mazingo, Francis N. Martin, Enos Stephens, Al- 
bert Stephens, Benjamin F. Stephens, Isaac N. 
Woods, James F. Walker. 

COMPANY B. 

Captains, Thomas H. Butler, George W. Sto- 
bie, John T. Thompson ; first lieutenants, John T. 
Thompson, Robert Young; second lieutenants, 
George Stobie, David C. Troutner, Cyrus K. Mil- 
ler; first sergeant, Cyrus K. Miller; sergeants, 
Carlos L. Tobey, James C. Clark, Alexander Rus- 
sell, Amos Bagby; corporals, George Chrysup, 
Pine Dexter, Joseph P. Hensley, John Schwartz, 
Thomas Alexander, Robert Young, George B. 
Petty ; musician, Seth W. Pierce ; privates, Rich- 
ard D. Baker, William A. Baxter, Greenbury 
Blain, John J. Browning, Robert Blair, James D. 
Brothers, Edward Cain, William Crepps, John 
Cannon, William Curiman, Claridon Cherry, Mil- 
ton H. Capps, Michael Dorr, Francis Donely, 
John Ducy, Jasper Dorset, Nathan Foreman, 
George Frank, Paschal F. Forbes, John Fitzsim- 
mons, David Guthrie, Daniel Haggerty, William 
H. Hisel, August Haberlin, William F. Hayden, 
Robert Hunter, James Harris, Jasper N. Jame- 
son, John M. Jones, Oliver Kile, Thomas Long, 
James McDermott, John Murrey, William G. 
McGhee, William R. Moore, Job Pringle, Frank 
Rupert, Henry Stewart, Columbus C. Sapp, Ru- 
fus S. Shaw, Benjamin Schoolcraft, William 
Shaffner, Covington H. Sibert, Allen S. Sanford, 
James Tucker, Joseph I. Troutner, Peter C. Wil- 
liams, Austin J. Wyatt, Tip Winans, Forener 
Williams, Josiah G. Williams, Jacob Yoaugh; 
veterans, Thomas Alexander, Robert Blair, 
Thomas Brown, Greenbury Blair, George W. 
Chrysup, Milton H. Capps, Claridon F. Cherry, 
John Cannon, William Crepps, Pine Dexter, 
George M. Frank, Paschal F. Forbes, John Fitz- 



simmons, David Guthrie, William F. Hayden, 
Daniel Hagerty, Jasper N. Jameson, Thomas 
Long, Richard Main, William T. McGhee, Wil- 
-liam R. Moore, Daniel Morgan, Job Pringle, 
George B. Petty, Seth W. Pierce, James E. Riley, 
Robert H. Rollins, Allen S. Sanford, Rufus F. 
Shaw, Covington H. Sibert, Peter C. Williams, 
Austin J. Wyatt; recruits', Thomas Brown, 
Charles Bagbey, John Goldsmith, Nathan Harris, 
Jacob Johnson, Robert H. Kinman, Rufus Main, 
Alvin Main, Richard Main, Robert H. Rollins, 
John Shaffner. 

COMPANY E. 

Captains, Thomas M. Kilpatrick, John M. 
Griffin ; first lieutenants, John M. Griffin, Frede- 
rick C. Bechdoldt, William B. Griffin ; second lieu- 
tenant, Burrell McPherson ; first sergeant, Fred- 
erick C. Bechdoldt; sergeants, Harrison C. 
French, William B. Griffin, William T. Hensley, 
Jackson Stout ; corporals, Eldridge Dinsmore, 
Major H. Camby, Zachariah A. Garrison, Henry 
C. Binns, David C. B. Rummel, John B. Willard, 
Lycurgus D. Riggs, Hulburt Burman ; musicians, 
William A. Giles, Daniel D. Dinsmore; privates, 
Samuel Andrew, Uriah B. Brokaw, Peter 
Backus, Daniel Crawford, Warren Comer, Den- 
nis Duff, Anzley Donoho, Peter Foreman, Ebene- 
zer M. Foreman, James .Gilleland, William B. 
Hatcher, Americus B. Hack, James M. Hen- 
dricks, Thomas W. Heavner, Samuel G. Hall, 
John W. Hamerton, William A. Lacy, Moses Mc- 
Madden, Thomas H. Overturf, John Robbison, 
Jeremiah Rogers, Christian Schuepf, John R. Sit- 
ton, Martin V. Terry, Samuel G. Walk, James 
T. Whyte, John Maher, Bernard Smith, Peter 
Wroughton ; veterans, Robert Allen, Andrew 
Brinker, Lorenzo D. Brinker, Henry C. Binns, 
Hubert Borman, Peter Backus, Dennis Duff, 
Jacob Foreman, William J. Farthing, Thomas S. 
Farthing, Wyman W. Griffin, William A. Giles, 
James G. Griffin, William B. Griffin, William B. 
Hatcher, Americus G. Hack, Samuel G. Hall, 
John F. Kinman, Joseph H. Long, William A. 
Lacey, Thomas H. Overturf, Isaac Pecarre, 
Walker W. Paul, Jeremiah Rogers, John Rob- 
inson, Lycurgus Riggs, Christian Schuepf, Jack- 
son Stout; recruits, Leonard Ames, Robert Al- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



len, William C. Bond, Lorenzo D. Brinckner, 
James W. Bogby, Charles Barnes, William Bin- 
ets, Isaac M. Bristow, Andrew Brinker, Hubert 
Borman, Edward Cox, Thomas J. Coulter, Grant- 
son Chapman, William Daniels, George W. Farth- 
ing, Thomas J. Farthing, Jacob Foreman, Wil- 
liam Foreman, James G. Griffin, Thomas J. R. 
Grant, William Goff, Wyman W. Griffin, Joseph 
Horton, William C. Hevener, George C. Hills, 
John Hutchins, Edward G. Jenkins, Hiram Jor- 
don, H. T. Jolly, or Yolly. 

TWENTY-EIGHTH ILLINOIS (CONSOLIDATED) IN- 
FANTRY, COMPANY I?. 

Captains, John T. Thompson, George W. 
Chrysup ; first lieutenants, Robert Young, Henry 
L. Hadsell, George W. Chrysup, Job Pringle; 
second lieutenants, George W. Chrysup, Job 
Pringle, Thomas James ; first sergeant, Job Prin- 
gle; sergeants. Pine Dexter, Henry C. Binns, 
Harrison Hand, John C. Casteel ; corporals, Ly- 
curgus D. Riggs, Samuel G. Hall, Jasper N. 
Jameson, Isaac N. Woods, William W. Martin, 
Allen S. Sanford, John Smith, John F. Kinman ; 
privates, Thomas Alexander, Charl,es Bagby, 
Thomas Brown, Eli Boffman. William Britton. 
James Bridgewater, William J. Boddy, Lorenzo 

D. Brinker, Aaron P. G. Beard, Charles Barnes, 
Peter O. Backus, Claridon F. Cherry, John Can- 
non, William Crepps, Franklin Currie, Franklin 
M. Clanton, Joseph C. Clark, Enoch M. Gift, 
William S. Dole, William M. Decker, Dennis 
Duff, James W. Edwards, John Fitzsimmons, 
George M. Frank, Jacob Foreman, William J. 
Farthing, Thomas Farthing, John Fitzgerald. 
James C. Ferrand, Paschal F. Forbes, David 
Guthrie, Orvil L. Goodale, Eugene Gray, James 
L. Gordon, Wyman W. Griffin, William A. Giles, 
James G. Griffin, Daniel D. Gray, Daniel Hag- 
gerty, William F. Hay.den, Nathaniel Harris, 
William H. Hubbard, Americus G. Hack, 
Thomas James, Charles F. C. Krauss. William 
A. Lacy. Joseph H. Long, William T. McGhee. 
Daniel Morgan, Richard Main, Alvin Main, John 
Popp, George B. Petty, Robert H. Rollins, James 

E. Riley, Robert M. Ruark, Andrew J. Ruark. 
John Robinson, Jeremiah Rodger, James W. Ser- 
geant, Henry C. Smalley, Covington H. Sibert, 



Christian Schuepf, Edward Starr, John T. 
Veach, Peter C. Williams, James F. Walker, Wil 
Hani White, Austin J. Wyatt ; recruits, Greenbury 
Blain, Robert Blair, Leander W. Bacus, Martin 
Cox, Willis M. Davis, John M. Hurt, Thomas 
Long, Samuel A. Long, James H. Long, John W. 
Leftwick, James B. Murray, Stephen B. Modie, 
Marcus McCallister, Thomas P. Ownby, Seth 
W. Pearce, John T. Pearce, Rufus T. Shaw, 
Lewis H. Stillwell, John Shafner, Benjamin 
Worden ; drafted and substitute recruits, Henry 
Baimer, Albert Brothers, Marshall A. Barney, 
Alexander R. Elliott, Hiram G. Kendall, Thomas 
M. Martin, John A. Seward, Henry L. Taylor. 



Captain, Henry L. Hadsell ; first lieutenant, 
Isaac N. Woods; second lieutenants, Joseph C. 
Clark; John T. Hall; first sergeant, Isaac N. 
Woods; sergeants, John T. Hall, Joseph C. 
Clark, Paschal F. Forbes, John T. Yeach. 

THIRTY-THIRD ILLINOIS INFANTRY, COMPANY I. 

Captains, William W. H. Lawton, William T. 
Lyon ; first lieutenants, William T. Lyon, Charles 
T. Kenney, Nathaniel W. Reynolds ; second lieu- 
tenants, Edward A. F. Allen, Charles T. Ken- 
ney, Nathaniel W. Reynolds, David F. Jenkins; 
first sergeant, Sampson Purcell ; sergeants, Na- 
thaniel W. Reynolds, Samuel C. Chapman, 
Charles B. Hayes ; musicians, John M. Bodine. 
William W. Tedrow ; wagoner, John P. Lawton; 
privates, James Alcorn, Arthur C. Baldwin, 
George W. Brown, Charles Brewer, Solomon 
Chami, Albert Cook, Henry Carroll, William H. 
Duffield. Albert J. Dickinson, William W. H. 
Doane, Davis Durand, William Dunham, William 
Eldridge, Stephen Evens, Edwin Ferber, Frank- 
lin Gardner, John Greenough, Henry Green, 
Frank X. Gardner, John W. Hill, I. Page Hill, 
William S. Johnson, Charles W. Jackson, David 
F. Jenkins, Asher E. Jones, Thomas H. Jones. 
Simeon E. Job, Reuben Johnson, Michael Kelley, 
Charles T. Kenney, John P. Lawton, Jefferson 
Lee, George Marshall. Patrick Menrs. Kryan 
Martin, Charles W. Maag, Michael McXattin, 
William S. Morgan, Michael McXattin. Graften 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



S. Xntter, Ira Xiswonger, Eleazer Nighswanger, 
Norman A. Reynolds, James H. Rusher, Samuel 
Stotts, Samuel P. Shannon, James C. Tmit, 
George Taylor, William Todd, Nathaniel Whit- 
ten, Joshua Whitten, James Wright, William W. 
Winters, Newton Ward, Oliver Wilkins, Ander- 
son Wells ; veterans, David F. Jenkins, George 
W. Brown, Stephen Evans, Thomas H. Jones, 
Arthur C. Baldwin, Samuel Stotts, Isaac Meats, 
Phillip Wenzel, William Dunham. John M. 
Hines, John M. Bodine, Henry Carroll, Solomon 
G. Chanie, Robert B. Coe, Martin Conroy, Rob- 
ert Davis, William H. Duffield, Edwin Ferber, 
Fletcher Ingram, William S. Johnson, James N. 
Morrison, Ira Nighwonger, Nathaniel W. Reyn- 
olds, Walter Reynolds, William S. Robinson, 
Ransom P. Stowe, Anderson Wells, Isaac T. 
Webb; recruits, Alex H. Benson, Benjamin F. 
Baldwin, Robert Chenowith, Martin Conroy, 
Adolph Cook, George Dunham, George F. Dick- 
erson, Robert Davis, Thomas J. Gladwell, Ed- 
ward K. Green, John M. Hobbs, Davis W. 
Hawker, John Hines, Fletcher Ingram, Willard 
Kneeland, John W. Lytle, John W. McGarvey, 
James Morrison, Isaac Meats, John McClenagan, 
John Mull, Jotham T. Moulton, James H. Mayo, 
James A. McGee, John G. Martin, Walter Reyn- 
olds, William Robinson, Patrick Ryan, Augus- 
tus W. Rollins, George Reed, James Slattin, Ran- 
som P. Stowe, Samuel Since, Joseph T. Short. 
Willis Teft, Jerome Trill, Edward H. Thomp- 
son, Phillip Wenzell, Isaac T. Webb. William A. 
Winslow, Enos W. Wood; recruits, transferred 
from 72d Illinois Infantry, John H. Armstrong, 
John Bell, John Beeman, James Broderick, 
Thomas Brooks, Christian Carlson, James Dai- 
ton, Alick V. Granland, John Hart, John Kilroy, 
Michael Lavvler. Patrick H. Lannon, John H. 
Martin, Franklin M. Marriat, Alfred Merritt, 
John W. O'Xcil. Edward H. Opits, Gustave Pe- 
terson, Elizur Sage ;- recruits transferred from 
1 1 7th Illinois Infantry, Peter Capps, John R. Ed- 
wards, George Jenkins, Burgess Pugh, Thomas 
J. Rumley, Harvey A. Rumley, Joseph Weddell. 
William Watson; recruits transferred from 1 24th 
Illinois Infantry, Gilbert Barnhart. Benjamin 
Blackmail, Tobias Blackmail, Henry Brown, Wil- 
liam H. Crowder. 



SIXTY-EIGHTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY, COMPANY B. 

Captain, Daniel F. Coffey ; first lieutenant, 
Judson J. C. Gillespie: second lieutenant, Wil- 
liam Reynolds; first sergeant, Hiram Barrett; 
sergeants, Eugene Gray, David D. Kidwell, 
Henry C. Kenney. Martin V. B. Smith ; corpo- 
rals, Robert B. Robinson, John Fulford, Sylvanus 
Fee, Bethuel H. Rowland, Nathan T. Phillips, 
Jackson L. Gibbs, Isaac N. Craig, Jesse E. Al- 
corn ; musicians, William Trumbull, William 
Shinn ; wagoner, Thaddeus G. Nesbitt ; privates, 
John A. Alexander. Charles W. Allen, Thomas 
Bates, Benjamin Bates, Aaron Birt, William F. 
Barrett, Benjamin Baldwin, Benjamin Beckford, 
Charles G. Bradbury, William Bernard, James 
Bernard, Abner Booth, John Blake, Harvey 
Booth, Joseph C. Clark, John H. Carnes, Nathan 
F. Coffey, John Campbell. Meredith W. Coffey, 
Michael Cocran, Allison Cryder, Thomas Collins, 
James Clark. George Collyer, John Collins, Na- 
than Decker, Isaiah Doosenbery, George DeHa- 
ven, Charles Dorsey, William Dorsey, Joseph 
Donner. Samuel Elwood, John Farrell, James 
Fields, John Farnsworth, Arthur Gillum, Nathan 
V. Gossett, James K. Gibbs, Thomas Gray, Ira O. 
Gray, Harvey R. Gray, Thomas Gray, Edward 
Higgins. John Hibbs, John Hobson, William 
Hull, Henry Ingalls, William Ingalls, Hamilton 
Johnson, loseph Jemison, John W. Kidwell, Sam- 
uel Linsey, William Miller, Samuel McCune, 
Selah Mors, Milton McCartney, John B. Petrie, 
James W. Pyle, Edwin A. Rockwell, George 
Reed, Thos. H. B. Snedeker, Jerome Stoddard, 
Peter Scholl, Joseph K. Sharp, William Seaborn, 
Frederick Sebers, Henry C. Sebers, Lewis Sebers, 
Walter J. Scott, Henry C. Steele, Job W. Tripp, 
William Tanner, Clinton P. Vandermint, Thomas 
J. Wade, Dawson Wade, Wallace Wells, Nimrod 
F. White, Martin J. S. Wampier. 

SEVENTY-THIRD ILLINOIS INFANTRY, COMPANY H. 

Captain. James I. Davidson ; first lieutenants, 
Samson Purcell ; James B. Wolgermuth; second 
lieutenants. Clement L. Shinn, DeWitt C. Sim- 
mons ; first sergeant, DeWitt C. Simmons ; ser- 
geants, Uriah Warrington, John W. Sherrick, 



66 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



James B. Wolgermuth; corporals, William Cam- 
mire, Joseph J. Goullee, Jesse B. Newport, 
Thomas Wade, Elijah Bazin, George Johnson, 
James Anthony; privates, Samuel Anthony, Wil- 
liam Anthony, Charles Bickerdike, Simeon Bald- 
win, Richard Bickerdike, James Biddle, James 
Bickerdike, Henry Bennett, Henry W. Butter- 
field, Elijah Brown, Thomas C. Biddle, George 
W. Bradberry, Thomas Bradberry, Joseph D. 
Cawthon, Samuel C. Cohenour, Martin Culler, 
Smith Culler, Joshua Duran, James Dolby, Wil- 
liam Dickerson, Mark Dickerson, Hiram Evans, 
Marion Fuller, James Greeno, Josiah Goolman, 
Archibald Goodwin, Samuel Gargess, Daniel 
Hanlan, William H. Harris, John Hedges, James 
Hedges, Nathaniel Lynd, James Lytle, Isaac 
Lytle, Jeremiah Lytle, Isaac McCune, Edwin 
McCallister, William McKibbon, Charles Mc- 
Clane, John T. McCallister, Joshua Mummy, 
James McKnight, Edward Nettleton, Giles H. 
Penstone, Andrew J. Phillips, Edward Penstone, 
John W. Rush, William H. H. Swin, David Turn- 
icliff, Nathaniel M. Thompson, John W. Thomp- 
son, Edward Thayer, Nathaniel L. Watson, Al- 
pheus Winegar, John Yelliott; recruits, Able 
Carnes, Lafayette Leeds, Francis A. Phillips. 

Some Pike county men were in other regiments, 
Henry C. Thompson and Mason M. Thompson 
being members of the Seventy-eighth Illinois In- 
fantry and Leonard H. Orion and Benjamin F. 
Taylor of the Eigthy-fourth. 

NINETY-NINTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Colonel, Geo. W. K. Bailey ; lieutenant-colonels, 
Lemuel Parke, Asa C. Matthews; majors, Edwin 
A. Crandall, Asa C. Matthews, John F. Richards ; 
adjutants, Marcellus Ross, -Harvey D. Johnson, 
Joseph R. Furry ; quartermasters, Isaac G. 
Hodgen, Joshua K. Sitton, James F. Greathouse ; 
surgeons, Joseph H. Ledlie, Edwin May ; first as- 
sistant surgeons, Archibald E. McNeal, John F. 
Curtiss ; second assistant surgeon, Abner F. Spen- 
cer; chaplains, Oliver A. Topliff, William M. 
Evans; sergeant majnrs, Robert H. Criswell ; 
James F. Greathouse, William L. Carter ; quarter- 
master sergeants, Harvey D. Johnson, Robert H. 
Griffin, Erastus Foreman ; commissary sergeants, 
Joseph R. Furry, Thompson J. Beard; hospital 



stewards, Jas. K. Worthington, George T. 
Brooks; principal musicians, Fordyce A. Spring, 
George Barber. 

COMPANY A. 

Captains, George T. Edwards, Isaac G. 
Hodgen ; first lieutenant, James K. Smith ; second 
lieutenants, James F. Stobie, Thomas A. Hub- 
bard, John W. Saylor; first sergeant, Thomas A. 
Hubbard; sergeants, John W. Saylor, Edgar F. 
Stanton, Peter S. Veghte, John H. Coulter; cor- 
porals, James Band, Charles H. Shaw, William 
W. Hale, Thompson G. Moyer, Edmond L. Allen, 
Delos C. Boyd, John H. Heavner, John C. Moore- 
head ; musicians, Spring A. Fordyce, George Bar- 
ber ; wagoner, John W. Murphy ; privates, Se- 
bastian B. Abrams, Henry L. Anderson, Edmond- 
son Altizer, Franklin Altor, James H. Blackburn, 
Richard Blackburn, George L. Bagby, John N. 
Byrd, Anderson P. Bowman, Robert L. Bowman, 
Charles W. Beard, Kingsbury Covery, David E. 
Cannon, Mark P. Cannon, James Covey, Wm. P. 
Chambers, Aaron Chamberlain, Wm. R. Dem- 
nouds, Benjamin F. Davis, William Dix, William 
C. Dickson, Samuel W. Dobbins, William N. 
Fortune, William H. Fortune, John Fortune, John 
J. Foreman, George Foreman, Michael Foreman, 
Hamilton Grey, John H. Grey, Thomas Gaffney, 
Mathew Gaffney, James M. Graham, William B. 
Hand, Willis Hand, George F. Hammer, Peter H. 
Ham. Isaac Hildreth, Henry Haskin, Henry W. 
Hendrix, George W. Heavner, George Hoffman, 
Samuel Holloway, Joseph James, Russell R. 
Johnson, Elisha Johnson, Solomon Kaisinger, 
Jaret N. Long, Henry Lucas, Charles E. Main, 
Robert B. Morris, Franklin A. Moran, Oliver 
Martin, Daniel Mills, William F. Mathews, Peter 
McKenna, William Ogle, Lewis C. Paine, John J. 
Perry, James W. Parks, James Rush, Peter R. 
Rogers, Charles Rogers, James P. Rogers, Orin 
S. C. Rogers, Michael Rafter, John W. Smith, 
Simon W. Scott, David D. String, George W. 
Shaw, Henry L. Shaw. Lyman J. Shaw, John W. 
Sparrow, Christopher Turner, Webster E. Tozier, 
William Tedrow, Henry A. Wade. Wallace Wee- 
thee. James Williamson, John Weaver; recruits, 
Franklin Aldrich. Robert H. Criswell, Alonzo 
Tozer. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



67 



COMPANY B. 

Captains, Benjamin L. Matthews, James W. 
Fee; first lieutenants, James W. Fee, James A. 
Elledge, Harvey Thornbury; second lieutenants, 
James A. Elledge, Harvey Thornbury, Milton L. 
Tiell; first sergeant, Harvey Thornbury; ser- 
geants, John H. Battles, Samuel A. Kelsey, 
Christian Hearle, Thomas M. Triplet; corporals, 
George B. Peeples, Milton L. Tull, David M. 
Dickinson, Jesse Johnson, Allen B. Haughey, 
Cephas D. Vertrees, Stephen Mullens, James W. 
Carr; musicians, Alonzo C. Cobb, Joel H. El- 
ledge; privates, Francis M. Ayers, Charles H. 
Allen, James M. Birt, John B. Baldwin, Elisha M. 
Barrett, John T. Bratten, Henry Conover, Miles 
Chenoweth, John Davis, Levi R. Ellis, John Fer- 
rell, Josiah P. Gould, James Gould, Matthias 
Gregory, Charles A. Hobbs, William Hurley, 
Daniel B. Higgins, Louis Harling, Charles B. 
Hightower, Harvey D. Johnston, John M. Klaus, 
Adolphus Kallasch, Owen F. Kaylor, Morris Kel- 
lenbach, Nicholas Kaylor, Thomas Kaylor, 
George Lipkaman, Aaron Maddux, George Mad- 
dux, George S. Metz, John J. Mayo, George Mull, 
Benjamin Noble, John W. Newingham, Albert 
Noble, Oliver R. Noble, Edward Nicholas, Au- 
gustine Piper, Abraham Piper, Henry W. Peters, 
James B. Razey, Francis Rettig, John M. Sheer, 
Frederick Straus, August Straus, John Stro- 
hecker, Jacob Schnider, Thomas J. Taber, Adol- 
phus Thomas, Henry Velte, Henry Wilson, John 
Williams, Henry Waldron, Francis Waldron, 
Henry Winters, William D. Wood, William C. 
Walpole, Leonard Waggoner, William Webel, 
Augustus D. Watson, Alexander Wilson, Jacob 
Zimmerman ; recruits, George W. Adams, James 
W. Adams, Cyrus Cheek, Thomas Dennis, Rich- 
ard Long. 

COMPANY C. 

Captains, Asa C. Matthews, John A. Ballard; 
first lieutenants, Joshua K. Sitton, Lucian W. 
Shaw, John A. Ballard, William B. Sitton, W. 
Henry Kinne ; second lieutenants, Lucian W. 
Shaw, William B. Sitton ; first sergeant, John A. 
Ballard; sergeants, Benjamin Moore, Edward 
Coulter, Louis P. Kinman, William B. Sitton ; 



corporals, W. Henry Kinne, Rial A. Walker, 
James K. Worthington, James H. Blair, John S. 
Barkley, Alexander H. Walton, Henry H. An- 
drews; musician, John Moore; privates, Buel R. 
Adams, Richard Austin, William T. Armstrong, 
John Burns, Jacob Bunce, George T. Black, 
George W. Burge, Joseph D. Brooks, Henry Bis- 
sell, Perry Brazier, George Billings, Thomas 
Barry, William J. Bailey, Thompson J. Beard, 
Levi Barnett, John Badgely, Robert Cunningham, 
Andrew J. Creason, Harrison J. Curtis, Henry A. 
Curtis, Philip Donahoe, James D. Dickerson, 
Emanuel Ellis; Thomas B. Ellis, Joel Enderly, 
Patrick Flynn, Charles H. Forest, Barney Fey, 
Marion Francis, John Guthrie, Nathan Hunter, 
Nathaniel Clay Harris, Joseph S. Hubbard, Wil- 
liam Hargett, Charles L. Hammell, William 
Hines, John Irwin, William Ingraham, John 
Johnson, Reuben Jones, Thomas J. Jones, La- 
fayette Kendle, George W. Kendle, Henry Lozier, 
Stewart Lannum, John Lambert, Wm. Lotzen- 
heizer, William H. Lewis, Isaac McCune, Wil- 
liam W. McClintock, James W. McCune, Moses 
Mitchell, George McCauley, John McCauley, 
William E. Norris, John Nash, James Ogle, Wil- 
liam O'Brien, Amos Patterson, Charles E. Pettis, 
William K. Pratt, David Ralph, John Rutledge, 
Martilleus Roberts, Jonathan Smith, Solomon 
Spann, Charles W. Stewart, Theophilus Snyder, 
William A. Townsend, Francis M. Tucker, James 
Tinsclale, Jonathan C. Turnbaugh, Henry Wade, 
Robert Wells, William C. Wisdom, James 
Winner ; recruit, John W. Shinkle. 

COMPANY D. 

Captains, John F. Richards, William B.Claudy; 
first lieutenants, Francis M. Dabney, William B. 
Claudy, John B. Bowsman; second lieutenants, 
William T. Mitchell, William B. Claudy, John 
Bowsman ; first sergeant, William B. Claudy ; ser- 
geants, John Bowsman, Leonard G. Burk, Wil- 
liam G. Hubbard, Dennis Badgley; corporals, 
Thomas "J. Higgins, Franklin A. Askew, Homer 
V. Harris, Jonathan Winner, George W. Sellers, 
James Badgley, John M. Hoffman, Jared Jessup; 
privates, Theophilus A. Askew, Calvin S. .Allen, 
John R. Allen, Thomas H. Blair, Darius Baker, 



68 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



John .S. Bentky, Andrew H. Baine, Henry D. 
Bowers, David S. Blanchard, Elias Bridgewater, 
William S. Barclay, John M. Brackley, David 
Croosan, Thomas Cochran, David Call, Henry 
Call, Henry J. Crim, Charles Chandler, James 
Cullen, William Croosan, Peter Duffey, Henry 
Davis, Henry Dutcher, Sylvester Dudley, John 
G. Dudley, Adam Decker, Reuben Dudley, Jesse 
Dudley, William Gay, Theodore W. Gates, John 
Guss, Jasper Card, Thomas E. Gorton, John Gar- 
route, John A. Hall, Jr., Nimrod J. Hodges, 
Thomas W. Hankins, Reuben A. Hazen, Robert 
House, Granville Hall, Otis Hull, Henry L. Jack- 
son, John Kerr, Michael Lain, John W. Lippin- 
cott, Reuben Louder, Hiram Lillie, James Mcln- 
tyre, John M. Marlow, Francis M.cCauley, 
Charles McCartney, Andrew J. Morrow, Matthew 
W. Mclntyre, Daniel McMahan, William Mc- 
Clain, Justin J. Newell, Jacob S. Phennegar, 
Thomas J. Parrick, Jerome B. Plummer, Calvin 
Rice, Edmund B. Rice, Simpson Sellers, Andrew 
J. Smith, Henry A. Sackett, James C. Sperry, 
Samuel G. Smith. Alexander Tacket, Nelson Wil- 
kins, Robert C. Woods, James L. Whitehouse, 
John White, Joseph Wright, William P. Ware, 
Joseph C. Williams, Joel Woodward, William H. 
Walker, William J. Young; recruits, Lewis W. 
Chase, Samuel Ellwoocl, Ezra Gates, Thomas 
Hamilton, William H. Johnson, James Tucker. 

COMPANY E. 

Captains, John C. Dinsmore, Allen D.Richards; 
first lieutenants, Joseph G. Colvin, Allen D. Rich- 
ards, Robert H. Griffin ; second lieutenant, Allen 
D. Richards ; first sergeant, Daniel L. Roush ; ser- 
geants, Solomon Fisher, William H. Lindsey, 
Jonathan Holder, Robert H. Griffin; corporals, 
Christy Ryan, William' Bagby, Isaac J. Dyer, An- 
drew J. Davidson, Erastus Foreman, Walter D. 
Kent, James H. Dye, Solomon Johnson ; musi- 
cians. Nicholas Main, David T. Dinsmore; pri- 
vates, George Anson, Roland Anson, John Angel, 
John T. Beard. Rufus Birclsell, Thomas H. Black- 
eter, John W. Blacketer, Washington Broadey, 
George T. Black, George W. Colvin, Jacob Cox. 
Morris Chaplin, Andrew J. Conner, Lewis Colvin, 
Joel Cox, William Cox. William P. Chambers, 



John J. Call, Jackson Colvin, Willis Daniels, Syl- 
vester Durall. William Davis, Martin V. Daniels, 
Elijah Paris, Ephraim S. Farthing, John W. 
Foreman, John J. Foreman, Elias Hammerton, 
Adam C. Hill, John Hack, George W. Hayton, 
Adams Hunter, Oliver Heavener, John H. Heav- 
ener, Milton A. Humphrey, Abel P. Johnson, 
William R. Johnson, Cornelius Johnson, Moses 
Lindsey, William A. Lansdon, Socrates Lee, 
Henry Lucas, Athemore Mitchell, Wyatt M. 
Mitchell, Cornelius Mitchell, Saimiel W. Miller, 
William E. Norris, Rufus Reeves, Anderson Rut- 
ledge, Robert Ryan, Samuel Rutledge, Isaac C. 
Roach, James Stewart, Jr., James Stewart, Sr., 
Solomon Stone, Matthew Stewart, John Swader, 
David D. Tillman, Volney M. Willard, Wm. H. 
Wroughton, Joseph G. Williams, Milton C. 
Williamson, Lewis Walker, James B. Williams, 
Samuel A. Willard, Thompson Westrope; re- 
cruits, Lewis Harper, Henry Smith, George 
Wilson. 

COMPANY F. 

Captains. Eli R. Smith, Daniel McDonald; first 
lieutenants, Leonard Greaton, Jacob E. Stauffer; 
second lieutenants, Daniel McDonald, Jesse 
Parke; first sergeant, Jacob E. Stauffer; ser- 
geants. Jones H. Whitney, Milton Batley, Elias 
Reed, William H. H. Callis ; corporals, Robert 
Cannon. John F. Davis. John M. Campbell, Wil- 
liam Edom, John C. Robinson, George W. De- 
spain, George H. Webb, James Albert Lee; mu- 
sicians, Levi Gardner, John H. Ashley; wagoner, 
Frank Rettig; privates, George W. Allen, James 
Anderson, Edwin Brown, Thomas Bentley, Henry 
C. Boggs, William H. Beckman, Nicholas Cun- 
ningham, Charles' A. Campbell, Frank Cooper, 
Henry Collins, William Carpenter, James Carpen- 
ter, Harrison Daigh, William C. Duff, Henry C. 
Deacon, Samuel L. Emery, Walter C. Elder, John 
Edom, Dele Elder, Samuel T. Fesler, Adam 
Hofsess, Wm. H. Henderson. Thomas J. Hodge, 
Andrew J. Johnson, James M. Job, Reed Lee, 
Nathaniel Medaugh, Samuel Mitchell. John E. 
Miller, Solomon Ogle, Andrew J. Osborn, Albert 
Phillips, James Palmer, Stephen Powell, Jesse 
Park. Zachariah Reeder, Nathan Razey. James C. 
Robinson, "Bruce H. Robinson. Andrew Rubert. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



69 



( Vphus ("i. Rounds, Henry Stevens, Stephen Sey- 
bold, Abram W. Scontain, Benjamin Scontain, 
John W. Sparrow. John Steel. Samuel G. Short, 
\Yilliam Yarner. Lyman Vanhyning, Wells Van- 
hyning. Wallace W. Winegar, Samuel F. Wil- 
liams. Thomas Westfall, Walter D. Waters, Archi- 
bald E. Wood, William A. Wood. John W. Wood s 
Nelson M. Wilson, Charles G. Wilson ; recruit, 
Thomas Collins. 

COMPANY G. 

Captains, Henry D. Hull, Henry B. Atkinson; 
first lieutenants, James H. Crane, Henry B. At- 
kinson : second lieutenant, Lewis Button ; first 
sergeant, Henry B. Atkinson ; sergeants, 
William Crawford, David S. Hill, Abram 
Mulk-nix, Cyrus McFadden ; corporals, William 
R. Conkright, William H. Cowden, James C. 
Newport, George W. Lyman, John A. McFadden, 
Oliver S. Goodsell, James A. McCoy, William 
Elliott ; musicians, William Hawk, John J. John- 
son ; privates, James S. Alexander, William H. 
Alexander. John B. Bowman, Samuel Bollman, 
William H. Betts. Charles H. Betts, George M. 
Bringle, Benjamin E. Baker, Joseph Burnes, Bal- 
lard T. Collins. James M. Collins, Townsend H. 
Carver, Thomas Dobson, Don F. Drake, James M. 
Eddy, Harrison Emerson, Joseph H. Fisher. John 
S. Gilles, George H. Hazelrigg, Thos. J. Hen- 
drickson, Solomon Hendrickson, Horace Haskins, 
Joel Houchens, Andrew House, Alexander M. 
Irving. Oscar F. Johns, Samuel F. Kesterson, 
Noah W. Kelso, John N. Littler, James Laxson, 
William T. Low, William C. Lovett, Asa C. 
Lovett, Chapman Leek, William McCurdy, Rob- 
ert McFadden, William Maxwell, David Morris, 
George W. Meyer, Ezra Nighswonger, James B. 
Orr. Martin O'Grady. James S. Oliver, James 
Posten. James Parsons. Henry Proctor, John 
Price, William Ransom, Andrew J. Smart. Robert 
L. Smith, William Strawmatt, Edson Saxbery, 
Samuel Satterlee, Moses L. Stanley, Franklin 
Thompson, Francis A. Thomas, Bartlett Toombs, 
Thomas Veal. Edward West, William H. Wine- 
ger, William Walker, James H. Watson, John W. 
Willis. George Whitner, Jr., Bradford Wilson; 
recruits, Christian M. Butz, Solomon Hadischer, 
William H. Nelson, Jeptha A. Wiles. 



Captains, Lewis Hull. Melville D. Massie; first 
lieutenants, Melville D. Massie, Benjamin L. 
Blades, Daniel Riley; second lieutenants, Gott- 
fried Wenzel, Benjamin L. Blades; first sergeant, 
Benjamin L. Blades ; sergeants, John G. Furniss, 
Talman F. Andres, Solomon E. Thomas, Alfred 
Lawson ; corporals, Hamilton H. Devol, Alexan- 
der Smith, Jesse Hull, James M. Baird, William 
P. Ham, James M. Burke, Richard W. Kennedy, 
Thomas S. Wilson ; musicians, David D. Hull, 
William J. Ezell ; wagoner, Jonathan Halsted ; 
privates, Orrin P. Allen, John M. Ambers, Cor- 
nelius V. Burke, Henry Bowman, Thomas W. 
Bowman, Isaac Brewster, Moses Bryant, Ralph 
Bryant, William Bailey, George Brooks, Isaiah 
Collins, John Conley, Patrick Conley, John 
Caves, August Claus, John T. Dickey, Robert 
Dickson, Henry Durfee, Lavosier Farnsworth, 
William Fitzpatrick, Herman Green, Lewis C. 
Gillum, John Cudgel, Joseph Gudgel, Daniel W. 
Godwin, Dudley Gates, Seton Hampton, John 
Higgins, John. Harctesty, John W. F. Hudson, 
George Hughes, Michael B. Johnson, Nicholas 
F. Kerr, Edward Lowe, Simon E. Likes, James 
W. Lyon, William Marshall, Peter McGraw, 
Joseph W. McAtee, Byron McGonigel, James 
Montieth, Frederick Nutting, William M. 
Owings, Joseph Robertson, Daniel Riley, John 
Sharp, John C. Smith, Dennis Smith, William W. 
Smith, John M. Saxer, Henry Saxer, Adam 
Schaffnit. John Shaffner, John Sullivan, John 
Stumbaugh, Charles R. Turner, Samuel P. 
Travis, John Toohey, Joseph P. VanZant, Charles 
Witte ; recruits, Samuel Curry, John Neusel, 
Eliud Sells. 

COMPANY I. 

Captain, Joseph G. Johnson ; first lieutenants, 
John G. Sever, George S. Marks ; second lieu- 
tenant, Robert E. Gilleland ; first sergeant. 
George S. Marks ; sergeants, Joseph Dugdall, 
Walter S. Morgan, William L. Carter, Israel 
M. Piper ; corporals. Silas C. Walters, Henry 
Sowers, Francis M. Fultz, Lemuel W. Shock, 
Alexander H. Wampler, Thomas A. Sowers, 
William Dillon. Philip D. Greathouse ; musi- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



cians, John W. Borren, Thomas J. Bagby ; wa- 
goner, Isaac S. Brown; privates, Thomas J. Al- 
bert, Philip Augustine, William H. Bacus, Luth- 
er Bacus, Conway Battershell, William R. Bat- 
tershell, William J. Bowman, Henry M. Cade, 
Henry C. Clemmens, J. G. Coursen, James A. 
Canterberry, William Callender, Joseph Collins, 
David S. Cranton, George D. Chapman, Henry 
H. Coonrod, Nicholas B. Collins, Alvin C. Evett, 
Elisha N. Ford, James Foster, William R. Fos- 
ter, Ethan S. Gridley, James F. Greathouse, 
Isaac A. Grace, Robert Gorman, John C. Gibbs, 
Winchester Good, Powhattan Hatcher, Eli 
Hanks, John Holoway, David J. Holoway, John 
R. Hoover, Marcus Hull, Martin S. Hos- 
ford, Henry Hosford, Oscar M. Hickerson, 
Andrew J. Kirk, Ransom Kessinger, Elijah 
Lakin, Timothy Laughlin, Henry Liles, Wil- 
liam P. Lee, Nathan G. Mills, John H. Nicolay, 
James Patterson, William P. Pease, Henry Perry, 
John H. Pierce, Stephen F. Richards, Julius J. 
Smitherman, Ephraim C. Statham, Francis J. 
Shireman, Marquis D. Tucker, Oscar Tucker, 
James L. Thurman, Lorenzo D. Taylor, Solomon 
E. Vickroy, David Walk, Jasper F. Walk, John 
A. Wood, Eli Wilkins, William M. Watt; re- 
cruits, James Callender, Israel G. Garrison, Rob- 
ert N. Long, Thomas J. Modie, Jeremiah Mor- 
ton, James H. Silkwood, Robert R. Tisenger, 
Andrew J. Williams, James T. Whyte. 

COMPANY K. 

Captains, Isaiah Cooper, John G. Sever; first 
lieutenants, William Gray, Augustus Hubbard, 
Zebulon B. Stoddard ; second lieutenants, Thom- 
as J. Kinman, John Andrew; first sergeant, James 
Hubert ; sergeants, Augustus Hubbard, John 
Andrew, John A. Hooper, John C. Ellis ; corpo- 
rals, Zebulon B. Stoddard, William Kirtright, 
Clayton B. Hooper, Samuel D. Livingston, Rob- 
ert Brown, Thomas Potter, Benjamin Bruno, 
Edwin E. Gray ; musician, Henry Hubbard ; pri- 
vates, Joseph Ackels, John Brown, Joshua Burk- 
head, John C. Bennett, Clark P. Bebee, Lorenzo 
D. Burdeck, Able R. Burdeck, William H. 
Brown, Daniel Barnes, James Harvey Barnes, 
Hiram Burton, Harrison Brown, John F. Barnes, 
John W. Burkhead, John Barrow, Robert L. 



Bowman, Anderson P. Bowman, Levi Barnet, 
George W. Burge, Stephen T. Conkright, James 
H. Clarkson, William Crowder, George W. Con- 
det, Daniel Case, Absalom Cummings, Isaac S. 
Dumford, Charles L. Eastman, William W. Ellis, 
Dele Elder, Gilbert H. Faulkner, Marion Fran- 
cis, Benjamin Gray, William R. Hooper, Henry 
Hillman, John B. -Hartshorn, William Hines, 
Xurry M. Inglasbe, James M.Job, Samuel K. Mc- 
Intyre, James Miller, Edward McLaughlin, John 
Magary, Claborn Morgan, William Morrow, 
Jacob J. Miller, Thomas P. Ogden, Robert Paull, 
John T. Petty, Isaac Piper, George W. Sackett, 
Cyrus C. Shaffner, William Smith, Thomas 
Starks, John Sackett, Caleb Shinn, John Saylor, 
Abraham Saylor, Perry Smith, John P. Spicer, 
George Schaffer, Dudley S. Shipton, James To- 
land, Thomas Toland, Edward Taylor, William 
Vanpelt, Jr., Charles G. Wilson; recruits, John 
A. Askew, John A. Allen, Henry Dillon, Almond 
C. Hadsell, Nathan A. Hadsell, Solomon P. 
Hooper, James M. Parkes, George W. Pine, John 
W.' Wright; unassigned recruits, Edward W. 
Briscoe, Samuel Carr, Albert Cousins, Jasper 
Foster, James M. Hendrickson, George Luzadder, 
Mitchell Long, Lewis Peters, Joseph Penrod, 
Jabez R. Sickles, Lee B. Thompson, Alexander 
Webb. 



HISTORY OF NINETY-NINTH INFANTRY. 

The Ninety-ninth Infantry was organized in 
Pike county, in August, 1862, by Col. George W. 
K. Bailey, of Pittsfield, and was mustered in at 
Florence, Pike county, August 23, by Capt. J. H. 
Rathbone ; on the same day moved to St. Louis, 
Mo., and went into Benton Barracks on the 24th, 
where it received its equipments, being the first 
regiment out of the State under the call of 1862. 

September 8 was sent to Rolla, Mo., thence, 
September 17, to Salem, Dent county, thence, 
November 20, to Houston, Texas county. Was 
assigned to the brigade of Brig.-Gen. Fitz Henry 
Warren. Was engaged in a skirmish at Bear 
Creek, losing I killed, 4 wounded and I taken 
prisoner, and in the battle of Hartsville, lost 
35 killed and wounded. 

January 27, 1863, moved to West Plains, Ho- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



well county, reporting to Brigadier-General Da- 
vidson. 

March 3 moved to Pilot Knob, thence to St. 
Genevieve. 

March 15 embarked for Millikens Bend, La.; 
was assigned to General Benton's Brigade, Gen. 
E. H. Carr's Division, General McClelland's 
Thirteenth Army Corps. 

Left Millikens Bend April n, arrived at New 
Carthage 22d. Marched down Roundaway Ba- 
you in Louisiana, passed Vicksburg and Grand 
Gulf. Crossed the river April 30, and after 
marching all night met the enemy at Magnolia 
Hills, near Port Gibson, Miss., lost thirty-seven 
killed and wounded. 

Marched with General Grant's Army toward 
Jackson, Miss., was held in reserve at the battle 
of Champion Hills (the hardest one-day battle 
fought in the West). Started into the engage- 
ment at nightfall, pursued the retreating rebels 
to Edwards Station, and engaged them the next 
morning ; charged upon their works at Black 
river, and drove them across the river, capturing 
many prisoners. Our loss was light. 

On the i gth of May was at the defenses of 
Vicksburg. On the 22d the regiment took a 
prominent part in the assault, losing out of 300 
men, 103 killed and wounded. The Colonel and 
Major were wounded early in the day, leaving 
Captain A. C. Matthews in command. Its line, 
during the day, was close to the enemy's works, 
and its colors planted on their breastworks. This 
position was held by the Ninty-ninth until 4 
o'clock P. M., when it was relieved by another 
regiment, and moved back 150 yards, to where 
its knapsacks had been left. While calling roll, 
the line which had relieved the regiment was 
driven back in great confusion. The Ninty- 
ninth advanced, and opening a heavy fire drove 
the enemy back into his works and held him there 
probably saving the whole division from a 
stampede. 

Was engaged, during the siege, in General 
Benton's Brigade Eighth and Eighteenth In- 
diana, and Thirty-third and Ninety-ninth Illi- 
nois. The Ninety-ninth lost, during the entire 
campaign and siege, 253 killed, wounded and 
missing. 



On July 5 the Ninth, Thirteenth and Fifteenth 
Corps, Major-General Sherman commanding, 
moved after Johnston's Army to Jackson. Re- 
turned to Vicksburg July 24. On the 2 1st of Au- 
gust moved to New Orleans, and on the 26th, 
went into camp at Brashear City. 

October 3, 1863, the Campaign of the Tesche 
was commenced. The regiment was in several 
skirmishes, and a detachment of the regiment, 
Capt. A. C. Matthews commanding, was engaged 
in the battle of Grand Coteau. On the gth of 
November, returned to Brashear City and moved 
to New Orleans. 

In the assault at Vicksburg May 22, the color 
bearer, the gallant young hero, William Sitton, 
was wounded, when the invincible Tom Higgins 
grasped the stars and stripes, and carried them 
irfto the breastworks, where he was captured, 
and lost the stand of colors. In 1873 the colors 
were sent from Richmond, Va., to Philadelphia, 
Pa., thence to Springfield, 111., where they are 
now. Stains of blood can yet be seen on them, 
the patriot blood of the lamented Sitton. 

November 16, embarked for Texas. On the 
25th, landed at Mustang Island, ana, marching 
up to Matagorda Island, commenced the attack 
on Fort Esperanza, which was soon surrendered. 
The Ninety-ninth remained in Texas during the 
spring of 1864. 

On the i6th of June, 1864, it evacuated the 
island, and reported to General Reynolds, at Al- 
giers, La. The regiment performed garrison 
duty on the Mississippi during the entire sum- 
mer, in First Brigade, Brigadier-General Slack; 
First Division, General Dennis ; Nineteenth 
Corps, General Reynolds. The Ninety-ninth 
was brigaded with Twenty-first Iowa, Twenty- 
ninth Wisconsin and Forty-seventh Indiana. 

In November, 1864, moved to Memphis. Here 
the regiment was consolidated into a Battalion of 
five Companies, and Lieu.-Col. A. C. Matthews 
assigned to command, Colonel Bailey, and the 
other supernumerary officers, being mustered 
out. 

Moved to Germantown, and went on duty 
guarding railroad. On December 25, three men 
of the battalion were captured and murdered by 
guerrillas. Moved to Memphis, December 28. On 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



January i, 1865, embarked for New Orleans, and 
arrived on the gth. On February ist, embarked 
for Dauphine Island, Ala. Was assigned to the 
First Brigade, First Division, Thirteenth Corps, 
with Twenty-first Iowa, Forty-seventh Indiana 
and Twenty-ninth Wisconsin General Slack 
commanding the brigade. Brigadier-General 
Veatch commanding the division. 

On March I7th moved to Fort Morgan, and, 
on the 26th, arrived at Fish river. Took part 
in the siege of Spanish Fort, until the 3Oth, when 
the division was sent to General Steele's Army, 
and, April i, went into position at Fort Blakely. 
The Xinty-ninth assisted in its investment and 
capture, and, on the I2th, entered Mobile. 

In June, 1865, the division was ordered to Red 
river, to receive the surrender to Kirby Smith, 
and it proceeded to Shreveport, La. From this 
place Colonel Matthews was detailed to proceed, 
with a body-guard of the Sixth Missouri Cavalry 
to the Indian Territory, and receive the surren- 
der of Brigadier-Generals Cooper and Stand- 
waite, and to form temporary treaties of peace 
with the Indian tribes. The Colonel formed trea- 
ties with ten tribes including the Choctaws, 
Cherokees, Chickasaws, and Osages -and re- 
turned (having traveled a thousand miles) on 
the 3d of July. 

On the i gth of July, ordered to Baton Rouge. 
On the 3 ist of July, mustered out by Capt. E. S 
Hawk, A. C. M. 

Arrived at Springfield, 111.. August 6, 1865, 
and received final payment and discharge, Au- 
gust 9, 1865, and by midnight of the same day 
the surviving veterans were in their own county. 

The Ninety-ninth had three years of active 
service and were in the States of Missouri. Ar- 
kansas, Tennessee, Mississippi. Texas, Louisiana 
and Alabama. 

The Ninety-ninth was often honored by hav- 
ing important staff positions given to its line offi- 
cers. Captain, afterward Colonel Matthews, was 
on staff duty with different Generals, also Lieu- 
tenants Sever, Bowsman and Kinne. Captain 
Massie was A. A. Q. M. and A. A. C. S., and was 
A. A. A. General in the battles at Spanish Fort 
and Blakely. No particular distinction is claimed 
for the officers named, but this mention is due 



them, and the regiment, as the position came 
to them unsought, and the survivors of the old 
regiment take just pride i; 1 <emembering the gal- 
lant and famous commanders with whom they 
served, namely. Grant, Sherman, Granger, Steele, 
Reynolds, Canby, Carr, McGinnis, Veatch, Slack, 
Lawler, Washburn and Schenck. 

Shortly after their discharge the survivors, 
their wives and sweethearts, were given a grand 
dinner by the citizens of Pittsfield, where three 
years before over 900 men had marched out to 
do and die for their country. At the banquet less 
than 350 partook of the feast. 

The Ninety-ninth was in the following bat- 
tles and skirmishes : Beaver Creek, Mo., Harts- 
ville. Mo.. Magnolia Hills, Miss., Raymond, 
Miss., Champion Hills, Miss., Black River, Miss., 
Vicksburg, Miss., Jackson, Miss., Fort Espe- 
ranza, Tex., Grand Coteau, La., Fish River, Ala., 
Spanish Fort, Ala., and Blakely, Ala. 

No. days under fire 62 

No. of miles traveled 5,900 

No. of men killed in battle 38 

No. of .men died of wounds and disease. ... 149 

No. of -men discharged for disability 127 

No. of men deserted 35 

No. of officers killed in battle 3 

No. of officers died 2 

No. of officers resigned 26 

ORDER OF CONSOLIDATION. 



HEADQU. 



Mouth of White River, Ark., Nov. 25, 1864. 
SIT.CI.M. FIELD ORDERS, No. 26. Extract. 

II. In accordance with the provisions of Gen- 
eral Orders, No. 86, War Department, April 2, 
1863. the Ninety-ninth Regiment Illinois Volun- 
teers is hereby consolidated into a Battalion of 
five Companies A, B, C. D, and E officers as 
follows, viz. : A. C. Matthews, lieutenant-colo- 
nel ; Edwin May. surgeon ; John T. Curtis, as- 
sistant surgeon; William M. Evans, chaplain; J. 
R. Furry, first lieutenant and adjutant; J. F. 
Greathouse. first lieutenant and R. Q. M.; John 
F. Richards, captain Company A ; James W. 
Fee, captain Company B ; M. D. Massie, captain 
Company C ; J. G. Hodgen, captain Company D; 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



73 



John A. Ballard, captain Company E; W. A. 
Clandy, first lieutenant Company A ; J. E. Stauf- 
fer, first lieutenant Company B ; H. B. Atkinson, 
first lieutenant Company C ; J. K. Smith, first 
lieutenant Company D ; N. H. Kinne, first lieu- 
tenant Company E ; John Bowsman, second lieu- 
tenant Company A ; Joseph Dugdell, second lieu- 
tenant Company B ; William L. Carter, second 
lieutenant Company C; Sylvester Durall, second 
lieutenant Company D; Clayton B. Hooper, sec- 
ond lieutenant Company E. 

The commissioned officers not designated 
above will be mustered out of service. 

The following named non-commissioned offi- 
cers, rendered supernumerary, will also be mus- 
tered out of service, viz: 

First Sergeant John H. Battles, First Sergeant 
John H. Coulter, First Sergeant Daniel W. 
Goodwin. 

By command of Maj.-Gen. J. J. REYNOLDS. 

S. C. FARRINGTON, 

Major and A. A. A. G. 

NINETY-NINTH (CONSOLIDATED) IN- 
FANTRY. 

THREE YEARS' SERVICE. 

Colonel, Asa C. Matthews; lieutenant-colonel, 
Asa C. Matthews ; adjutant, Joseph R. Furry ; 
quartermaster, James F. Greathouse ; surgeon, 
Edwin May ; first assistant surgeon, John F. 
Curtis; chaplain, William M. Evans; sergeant- 
majors, William L. Carter, Robert B. Morris; 
quartermaster sergeant, Erastus Foreman ; com- 
missary-sergeant, Thompson J. Beard : hospital 
steward, George T. Brooks ; principal musicians, 
Fordyce A. Spring, George Barber; captain, 
John F. Richards; first lieutenant, William B. 
Clandy; second lieutenant, John Bowsman; first 
sergeant. William G. Hubbard ; sergeants, 
Thomas J. Higgins, Milton Batley, Elias Reed, 
Homer V. Harris ; corporals, John M. Camp- 
bell, George W. Sellers, William Edom, James 
Badgley. John C. Robinson, Justin J. Newell, 
John W. Woods, John M. Marlow ; privates, 
5 



John R. Allen, Thomas H. Blair, Darius Baker, 
John S. Bentley, Andrew H. Baine, Elias Bridge- 
water, William S. Barkley, John M. Brackley, 
Henry C. Boggs, William H. Beckman, William 
H. Cooper, Charles A- Campbell, Robert Cannon, 
Thomas Cochran, Henry Call, Charles Chandler, 
James Cullen, Lewis W. Chase, Thomas Collins, 
Sylvester Dudley, John G. Dudley, Adam Deck- 
er, George W. Despain, Harrison Daigh, Wil- 
liam C. Duff, John Edom, Samuel T. Fesler, Wil- 
liam Gay, Theodore W. Gates, Thomas E. Gor- 
ton, John W. Garroute, Ezra Gates, Thomas 
Hamilton, John A. Hall, Jr., Thomas W. Han- 
kins, Reuben A. Hazen, Adam Hofsess, William 
H. Henderson, Thomas J. Hodge, Andrew J. 
Johnson, William H. Johnson, John Kerr, Mich- 
ael Lane, John W. Lippincott, Reuben Louder, 
Reed Lee, Benjamin Morrel, Matthew W. Mc- 
Intyre, James Mclntrye, Charles McCartney, 
Daniel McMahan, Jacob S. Phennegar, Jerome 
B. Plummer, James Palmer, Stephen Powell, 
Zachariah Reeder, Frank Rettig, Brice H. Rob- 
inson, Cephas G. Rounds, Calvin Rice, Edmond 
B. Rice, Andrew J. Smith, Henry Stevens, 
Stephen Seybold, Charles Stuart, Samuel G. 
Short, Columbus Thompson, James Tucker, Wil- 
liam Varner, Lyman Vanhyning, Wells Van- 
hyning, Wallace W. Wineger, Samuel F. Wil- 
liams, William D. Waters, John White, William 
P. Ware, Joseph C. Williams, William J. Young; 
recruits, Augustus Beswick, Dennis Donnigan, 
Lewis Dejaynes, William A. Tanksley. 

COMPANY B. 

Captain, James W. Fee ; first lieutenant, Jacob 

E. Stauffer; second lieutenant, Joseph Dugdell; 
first sergeant, Christian Haerle; sergeants, 
Charles A. Hobbs, Henry Sowers, Lemuel W. 
Shock, Alexander Wampler; corporals, Jasper 

F. Walk, Robert Newingham, John B. Baldwin, 
James W. Carr, John A. Wood. Thomas J. Al- 
bert, Andrew J. Kirk, Henry C. Clemmons ; pri- 
vates, Philip Augustine, Charles H. Allen, 
George W. Adams, James M. Birt, William H. 
Bacits, Luther Bacus, John W. Borren, William 
R. Battershell. William J. Bowman, William H. 
Cade, James A. Canterbery, William Callender, 



74 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Nicholas B. Collins, James Callender, Henry H. 
Coonrod, Henry Conover, John Davis, David M. 
Dickinson, Thomas Dennis, Levi R. Ellis, Elisha 
N. Ford, James Foster, William R. Foster, Isaac 

A. Groce, Ethan S. Girdley, Robert Gorman, 
John C. Gibbs, Israel G. Garrison, David J. Hol- 
oway, Powhatten Hatcher, John R. Hoover, 
Martin S. Hosford, Henry Hosford, William 
Hurley, Daniel B. Higgins, Adolphus Kallasch, 
Morris Kallenbach, James H. Kimball, Thomas 
Kaylor, Owen T. Kaylor, Ransom Kessinger, 
William P. Lee, Timothy Laughlin, Robert N. 
Long, George Lipkaman, Richard Long, George 
S. Metz, John J. Mayo, Thomas J. Modie, Jere- 
miah Morton, John W. Newingham, Albert No- 
ble, Augustine Piper, Henry W. Peters, William 
P. Pease, Henry Perry, John H. Pearce, Stephen 
F. Richards, Ephraim C. Statham, Julius S. 
Smitherman, John M. Sheer, August Straus, 
Jacob Schneider, James H. Silkwood, Lorenzo 
D. Taylor, Oscar A. Tucker, Marquis D. Tucker, 
James L. Thurman, Robert Tisenger, Adolphus 
Thompson, Thomas J. Taber, William D. Wood, 
William C. Walpole, Leonard Waggoner, Au- 
gustus D. Watson, Alexander Wilson, David 
Walk, Andrew J. Williams, James T. Whyte, 
Jacob Zimmerman ; recruits, Augustus W. Bes- 
wick, Calvin J. Cupples, John Christian, Dennis 
Dunnegan, Samuel Manter, Zadock Pease, 
George Restine, Lorenzo D. Scott, William H. 
Tanksley, Henry Wells. 

COMPANY C. 

Captain, Melville D. Massie ; first lieutenant, 
Henry B. Atkinson ; second lieutenant, William 
L. Carter ; first sergeant, David S. Hill ; sergeants, 
Abram Mullinix, Solomon E. Thomas, Cyrus Mc- 
Faddin, James M. Baird; corporals, Oliver S. 
Goodsell, William H. Cowden, James C. New- 
port, Jonathan Halstead, John A. McFadden, 
Frederick Nutting, Charles R. Turner, Michael 

B. Johnston ; privates, James S. Alexander, John 
B. Bowman, Samuel Bollman, William H. Betts, 
Benjamin E. Baker, Christian M. Butz, William 
Crawford, Ballard T. Collins, James M. Collins, 
John Caves, Samuel Curry, John T. Dickey, Rob- 
ert Dickson, Thomas Dobson, Don F. Drake, Wil- 



liam J. Ezell, Lavosier Farnsworth, Joseph Gud- 
gel, Herman Green, Dudley Gates, John S. Gillis, 
George H. Hazelrigg, Thomas J. Hendrickson, 
Solomon Hendrickson, Andrew House, Horace 
Haskins, William Hawk, John Higgins, John W. 
F. Hudson, John Hardesty, David D. Hull, Alex- 
ander M. Irving, Oscar F. Johns, John J. John- 
ston, Noah W. Kelso, William C. Lovett, Asa C. 
Lovett, Edward Lowe, James Montieth, Peter Mc- 
Graw, Byron McGonigle, William Marshall, Wil- 
liam McCurdy, George W. Mayer, William Max- 
well, David Morris, James B. Orr, Martin 
O'Grady, James S. Oliver, Martin M. Pennick, 
James Posten, Henry Procter, Andrew J. Smart, 
Edson Saxbery, Moses L. Stanly, William Straw- 
mat, John Sharp, Henry Saxer, Adam Shaffnit, 
William W. Smith, John C. Smith, Samuel C. 
Smith, Eliud Sells, John Stambaugh, Bartlett 
Toombs, Francis A. Thomas, William Walker, 
John W. Willes, Bradford Wilson, Jeptha A. 
Wiles, George Whitner, Jr., Charles H. Wedding, 
Charles Witte ; recruits, Elijah M. Butler, Calvin 
J. Cupples, Aaron Cohen, Henry Hosford, Wil- 
liam Riddle. 

COMPANY D. 

Captain, Isaac G. Hodgen; first lieutenant, 
James K. Smith ; second lieutenant, Sylvester Du- 
rall; first sergeant, Peter S. Veghte; sergeants, 
Walter D. Kent, Charles H. Shaw, Henry L. An- 
derson, Christy Ryan ; corporals, William F. Ma- 
thews, John Hack, William H. Fortune, John T. 
Beard, Isaac Hildreth, Andrew J. Connor, Ro- 
land Anson, Orin S. C. Rogers; privates, Sebas- 
tian B. Abrams, George Anson, John Angel, George 
L. Bagby, George W. Baird, John N. Byrd, George 
T. Black, Kingsbury Covery, James Covey, David 
E. Cannon, Aaron Chamberlin, William Cox, Joel 
Cox, Jackson Colvin, George W. Colvin, Wil- 
liam C. Dickson, Benjamin F. Davis, David T. 
Dinsmore, Willis Daniels, Martin V. Daniels, 
Ephraim S. Farthing, John J. Foreman, Thomas 
Gaffney, Matthew Gaffney, William B. Hand, 
Willis 'Hand, Henry W. Hendrix, Henry Hos- 
kins, Samuel Holloway, Elias Hammerton, Oliver 
Heavener, John H. Heavener, Adanj C. Hill, Rus- 
sell R. Johnson, William R. Johnson, Jaret N. 
Long, Moses Lindsey, Charles E. Main, Robert 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



75 



B. Morris, Oliver Martin, Daniel Mills, John W. 
Murphy, Franklin A. Moran, Peter McKinna, 
Athamore Mitchell, Cornelius Mitchell, Samuel 
W. Miller, Nicholas Main, Lewis C. Paine, John 
J. Perry, James Rush, Peter R. Rogers, James P. 
Rogers, Anderson Rutledge, Isaac C. Roach, Sam- 
uel Rutledge, Edgar F. Stanton, Simon W. Scott, 
John W. Smith, David D. String, John W. Spar- 
row, Henry L. Shaw, James Stewart, Jr., James 
Stewart, Sr., Matthew Stewart, John Swader, 
Henry Smith, Christopher Turner, Alonzo Tozer, 
William Tedron, Wallace Weethee, William H. 
Wroughton, Milton C. Williamson, Samuel A. 
Willard, Lewis Walker, George Wilson. 

COMPANY E. 

Captain, John A. Ballard ; first lieutenant, W. 
Henry Kinne ; second lieutenant, Clayton B. 
Hooper; first sergeant, John C. Ellis; sergeants, 
James L. Hubert, William A. Townsend, William 
P. Kirtright, Moses Mitchell ; corporals, Samuel 
D. Livingston, Robert Brown, Thomas Potter, 
James Harvey Barnes, William C. Wisdom, 
Charles H. Forrest, Robert Cunningham, Charles 
W. Stewart; wagoner, Xurry M. Ingalsbe ; pri- 
vates, John A. Askew, John A. Allen, Buel R. 
Adams, Richard Austin, William T. Armstrong, 
Henry H. Andrews, Jacob Bunce, Joseph D. 
Brooks, Henry Bissell, Perry Brazier, William J. 
Bailey, John Badgley, George Billings, Lorenzo 
D. Burdick, Abel R. Burdick, William H. Brown, 
Benjamin Bruno, Daniel Barnes,. John F. Barnes, 
John W. Burkhead, Robert L. Bowman, Levi 
Barnett, Stephen T. Conkright, James H. Clark- 
son, George W. Condet, Daniel Case, Isaac S. 
Dumford, Henry Dillon, Charles L. Eastman, 
William W. Ellis, Thomas B. Ellis, Barney Fey, 
Benjamin Grey, John Guthrie, William R. 
Hooper, Henry Hillman, Almond C. Hadsell, Na- 
than A. HadseTl, John B. Hartshorn, Nathan 
Hunter, Charles L. Hammell, John Irwin, Wil- 
liam Ingraham, Reuben Jones, Thomas J. Jones, 
George W. Kendle, Henry Lozier, Stewart Lan- 
num, William Lotzennhizer, George McCauley, 
John McCauley, Edward McLaughlin, John Ma- 
gary, James Miller, John Nash, William O'Brien, 
Thomas P. Ogden, Robert Paull, John T. Petty, 



George W. Pine, Marion Pruett, Jonathan Smith, 
Solomon Spann, Andrew H. Smithers, John W. 
Shinkle, Theophilus Snyder, George W. Sackett, 
Perry Smith, Thomas Starks, Abram Saylor, John 
Saylor, Cyrus C. Shaffner, James Toland, Thomas 
Toland, Francis M. Tucker, William Vanpelt, 
Jr., John W. Wright, Rial A. Walker; recruits 
Edward W. Briscoe, Albert Cousins, Jasper Fos- 
ter, George Louzadder, Lee B. Thompson ; unas- 
signed recruits, Isaac Esque, Samuel Lane. 

Here is an interesting letter, written by Cap- 
tain now Colonel A. C. Matthews, May 24, 1863, 
to his wife after the desperate assault at Vicks- 
'burg led by the Ninety-ninth Regiment, or the 
Pike County Regiment May 22, 1863. 
"My Dear Wife, 

"It is with pleasure I again take my pen in 
hand to write you a few lines. I shall not at- 
tempt at this time to give you any of the details 
of the five battles I have had the good luck to 
pass through, but want to write to let you know 
that I have been spared and have come through, 
unscathed and unscratched, and am, aside from 
being somewhat- worn out, by marching and 
fatigue, well and in good spirits. On the 22d of 
this month our whole force made an assault 
upon the fortifications of Vicksburg, and accord- 
ing to my notion we were repulsed along the en- 
tire line; that is, not being able to make an en- 
trance or permanent lodgment in the enemy's 
works. The fighting was of the most desperate 
character, and is is but little, if any, exaggeration 
to say that in places, end especially so on the 
ground where we contended, our dead and 
wounded almost covered the ground. We be- 
lieve we had the hardest point in the whole line, 
but of this I am not sure. By that I mean our 
division, brigade and regiment. 

"In the morning of the day of the assault we 
were in line in a little ravine back of what is 
known as the "Burnt Chimneys" on the Bald- 
win's Ferry Road, and at 10 o'clock we moved 
forward by the flank in fours, up the ravine to 
the attack. We did not have far to go, and as 
soon as we struck the Baldwin's Ferry Road 
which ran by the fort, we were fired upon with 
terrific force and rapidity. We were to move 
against the fort and make our fight there, but our 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Regiment, which was in the lead of the brigade 
and of the division, and in the lead of everything, 
made the mistake of, after the first volley, pass- 
ing the fort with the left of the Regiment, leav- 
ing the right at the fort, to make the contest 
alone, until the reserves should arrive. Our loss 
during the day was 102 men in killed and 
wounded. We were right up against the enemy's 
works, and the left of the Regiment that moved 
forward as if to pass the fortifications and as- 
sault the rifle pits,' exposed itself to a galling fire 
of the enemy at a distance of not over thirty 
yards. This added very considerably to our cas- 
ualty list. 

"The most of our men were killed in the first 
dash ; not less than ten minutes, I should say ; 
but there were men being wounded all day, and 
in retiring from the field at sunset I had two men 
wounded. Colonel Bailey and Major Crandall 
vvere among the wounded in the early part of 
the engagement, and then for the remainder of 
the day I commanded the Regiment, and have 
just been relieved late this afternoon of the com- 
mand by Colonel Park. Colonel Park was not in 
the assault. 

"We went on the battle-field at 10 o'clock and 
were relieved by Sanborn's brigade, McPherson's 
Corps, fresh troops about sundown. They did not 
remain on the field but a short time; they came 
down the hill in a great hurry and came near 
creating a panic in camp, but I prevented it by 
having the remainder of our Regiment, less than 
one hundred strong, get into line and move out 
on picket where we stayed all night. 

"The killed in my Company were John Lam- 
bert, Charles Long and James Teasdale. The 
wounded were, as they have been reported to me 
at this time, William Sitton. color bearer, who 
handed the colors to Major Crandall when 
wounded, who was also wounded; J. K. Sittnn. 
Thompson Beard, William O'Brien, Jonathan 
Smith, Moses Mitchell, Rial Walker and Joel 
Scurvin. 1'uel Adams was wounded in the battle 
at Magnolia Hills. In my next letter I will give 
you the killed and wounded of the entire Regi- 
ment, if I can ascertain their names, but at this 
time the wounded are not all in off the field, ami 
it is impossible to state who they all are, and it is 



impossible to give the names of all of them, or 
how badly they were wounded. They have now 
been on the field two days and two nights. I don't 
care to tell you how bad things look, and how ter- 
rible the field is, but we feel sure in the end we 
will take the city ; it may require a long siege, 
and it may take all summer, but if it does in the 
end I feel sure we will be victorious. After this 
campaign and siege is over I expect to come home 
for a day or two, and see you and the children, 
but whether I can or not will be doubtful. 

"A flag of truce has just been sent in, and the 
dead will doubtless be buried this afternoon. 

"Hoping that our lives may be spared to meet 
again, I am, 

"Your affectionate husband, 

"A. C. Matthews." 

Here follows a letter from Capt. M. D. Mas- 
sie to the Old Flag at Pittsfield in April, 1865. 

From the Ninety-ninth Illinois now operating 
before Mobile, Alabama, First Brigade, First 
Division, Thirteenth Army Corps. Mr. Editor : 
While we were slowly but surely bringing Ala- 
bama back to her first love, I will give you a few 
notes under the shells and bullets from the army 
now operating here under General Canby, as- 
sisted by Generals Granger, A. J. Smith. Veritch, 
Benton, Slack, Dennis and other able command- 
ers, with assistance from smaller shoulder 
straps and an amply sufficient number of the boys 
in blue. This grand army began its march on 
the 1 7th of last month and after building abort 
twenty miles of corduroy road through the 
swr.mps of Mobile Point we arrived at Fish 
River, where we separated in three grand col- 
umns and after two days' march we met the 
enemy on the morning of the 26th. After a run- 
ning' skirmish fight we soon drove them into their 
works, night coming on settled the day's action 
which resulted in our brigade (General Stack's), 
driving them from their position with a loss of 
one. man killed and two wounded of the Twenty- 
first Iowa. On the morning of the twenty-sixth 
the rebels made a dash with cavalry on our ad- 
vance skirmish line and turned it's left flank, 
killing one and wounding seven of the Forty- 
seventh Indiana. Our brigade is composed of the 
Forty-seventh Indiana. Twenty-ninth Wiscon- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



77 



sin, Ninety-ninth Illinois and Twenty-first Iowa. 
The brigade advanced in line of battle and gained 
a close position to the enemy's stronghold, which 
is called Spanish Fort. The other brigades" of 
the Thirteenth and Sixteenth Army Corps closed 
in and the action became general, then the can- 
nons belched forth their shot and shell, the min- 
nies went whistling over our heads and again 
the scenes of Vicksburg and other battle-fields 
were re-enacted. During the day a heavy rain 
fell but we kept our powder dry and our batteries 
and sharpshooters played upon our enemy's works 
and line until night. Then there was a lull in 
the battle and in a few minutes the opposing 
armies were wrapped in the sweet forgetfulness 
of sleep. Our Regiment lost but one man, Cor- 
poral Robinson of Company A. Our brigade 
lost only ten killed and wounded. The morning 
of the twenty-eighth opened very lazily and dur- 
ing the day there was little done. At night the 
enemy charged upon our left but were driven 
back with heavy loss. We did not lose a man. 
On the thirtieth the enemy opened with shell. 
They have the best artillery and their shells are 
well timed and they explode just where 'they want 
them. One shell exploded in the Twenty-ninth 
Illinois, killing four and wounding nine, another 
exploded over our Regiment, killing Reuben 
Jones of Company E. They rely more upon their 
artillery and torpedoes than they do in a fair 
stand up battle. They have their harbors and 
channels filled with infernal machines and their 
main roads with torpedoes, so whenever a wagon 
runs over them or a horse or man steps on them 
there is an immediate explosion often tearing men 
and horses to pieces. The navy is fast clearing 
out the channel and whenever we take prisoners 
the commanding general has them dig the torpe- 
does out of the road. In the afternoon of the 
3oth our division moved out of its works and 
went to the rear to guard a supply train to Gen- 
eral Steele who had left Pensacola, Florida, about 
the same time that our corps had left Fort Gaines, 
Alabama, and was out of rations and forage. We 
opened communications with General Steele on 
the 2d of April and then moved to this place, 
where we are waiting orders. The rebels hold 
Blakely with about 5,000 men and are reinforcing. 



Our lines are well formed and I presume we 
will do nothing more than to hold them here 
until Spanish Fort is reduced. Last night our 
fleet and land mortars gave the fort the heaviest 
bombardment it ever had. It was kept up for two 
hours. It has been very quiet down there to-day, 
some think they are evacuating. They admit a loss 
up to the present time of thirty-three killed and 
two hundred and forty-nine wounded. I saw Mo- 
bile Tribune of the 3Oth. I should judge from its 
tone that the Mobile citizens did not take a very 
large stock in the present strife. The paper says 
a great many Yankee sympathizers in Mobile, 
deserters and refugees say that the people are very 
tired of rebel rule and will hail with joy the day 
when Federal authority is again asserted over 
Alabama. 

Spanish Fort and Blakely are both on the east 
side of Mobile bay and are the principal outer 
defenses of the city and southern Alabama, and 
with the forces now operating against them they 
will soon have to yield and we will have an easy 
passage into the interior of the state, and from all 
we can learn, the people of Alabama have but lit- 
tle hope of their sinking craft, C. S. A., and when 
the old banner of our country floats over Mobile 
the state will soon fall into line and shake off the 
curse of secession and rebellion. Boom! boom! 
our mortars are opening on Spanish Fort and 
away goes all speculation about surrender. The 
rebs have concluded to hold out a little longer 
and General Canby has put about forty mortars 
and siege guns in a commanding position so 
that they can not complain of cold treatment. They 
gave us a warm reception and now our batteries 
are returning the compliment with compound 
interest. The naval fleet has been prevented from 
taking a very active part thus far, in consequence 
of the many obstructions in the bay but they are 
rapidly clearing up the channel and just as soon 
as they run by the fort the rebel communication 
is cut and all is lost for them as we will have full 
control of the bay and all the most prominent ap- 
proaches to Mobile and the Alabama river. The 
officers and men of the Ninety-ninth are in good 
health and excellent spirits. 

Yours truly, 

M. D. Massie. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-SEVENTH ILLINOIS 
INFANTRY, COMPANY H. 

Captain, Levi Barber; second lieutenant, Wil- 
liam H. Hubbard ; first sergeant, Anthony B. Mc- 
Charles C. Clark, William Hall; privates, Wil- 
liam M. Anson, Henry Brandon, George W. Car- 
rel, Francis M. Cooper, John Davidson, Benjamin 
F. Dean, George S. Edwards, Samuel Genish, Ste- 
phen Henderson, Lucius Howland, James L. Ir- 
win, Francis L. Jones, Joseph Kesterson, Samuel 
Kelly, William C. Lynch, Joseph J. Lusk, Philip 
Main, Nathan B. Moore, William McGuire, 
James K. McGuire, Robert Morgan, James Nich- 
olsen, John H. Platt, Allen C. Peebles, Edgar A. 
Peckenpaugh, David M. Doughty, Michael F. 
Dixon, Isaac K. Emery, Franklin Files, George 
Finley, John Hubbard, Charles C. Hoover, Wil- 
liam Horn, Samuel Hess, James Irwin, John H. 
Kirkham, James M. Liles, Daniel Looper, Robert 
N. McConnell, John Modie, John Martin, James 
Metts, George Miller, William Newman, Joshua 
R. Otwell, Obed Otwell, John Peacock, William 
Riddle, Clinton Randall, Isaac F. Selders, Wil- 
liam Stewart, Melen Taylor, Lewis R. Tolbert, 
Nathan A. Tucker, Gardner Woodard, Alexan- 
der Webb ; recruits, Isaac N. P. Brown, James H. 
Chesney, John H. Kirkham, Archibald Morey, 
Lewis Stilwell, William Richardson, Simon Rian, 
William B. Richards, Henry J. Rapp, John Scott, 
Robert Stewart, James H. Sapp, William A. 
Shriver, Jonathan Simeve, Willis P. Stotts, Henry 
Shaffner, Henry T. Scanland, Mathias Shellcop, 
Delos D. Walker, Charles Watson, John Whit- 
field, Norman A. Wing, James Waters, David 
Walker, Robert S. Wills ; recruit, John H. Platt. 

PIKE COUNTY SOLDIERS WHO EN- 
LISTED IN OTHER STATES. 

FIRST MISSOURI. 

A. K. Baucom, John Morrow, O. P. Johnson, 
Taylor Uppinghouse. 

COMPANY C, THIRD MISSOURI CAVALRY. 

A. C. Shearer, William Good, Ross Wakeman, 
Emmett Wakeman, Samuel Weir. 



COMPANY B, THIRD MISSOURI CAVALRY. 

Captains, George W. Carey, Herman M. Roosa ; 
Harvey Weaver, Thomas Aiton, Henry Williams, 
George W. Pryor, Silas Wadsworth, Jonathan 
W. Conklin, Lewis Perry, David Hunter, Thomas 
Kilebrew, Charles McCaffrey, Elliot Baker, John 
H. McClintock, Henry Wadsworth, William H. 
Capps, Alexander Toole, John Andrews, William 
Baker, James Brewer, William Butler, William R. 
Capps, James B. Clampitt, Jones Covey, Ephraim 
Cram, Michael Doyle, Jacob Felch, William 
Grotts, James M. Guthrie, Isaac S. Hobbs, Simon 
Johnson, Richard A. Myers, Andrew McMullen, 
William W. McMullen, William Rupert, Lucas 
Richardson, Richard Roan, Lindsy T. Sapp, Wil- 
liam Shofner, John T. Starr, Thomas Waggoner, 
Sweeney Winder, Matthew Sapp, Henry Pollard, 
Losson Lovett, William Grover, Jasper Dorsett, 
Elias Flower, George Ames, Lafayette Beardsley, 
Charles H. Betts, William S. Brunson, John L. 
Brunson, Samuel Camp, Josiah Cowdrey, Thomas 
J. Davis, William Daily, John W. Foster, Thomas 
Howard, Jacob Myers, Thomas P. Pryor, Milo 
Ripley, William R. Whittaker, Andrew Wag- 
goner, John W. Buckingham, Leonard Covey, 
Moses H. Hemingway, John Kinchelow, Joseph 
McCarmach, Samuel J. Waggoner, John W. 
Betts, Isaac Cheedle, David M. Campbell, Daniel 
Garman, John M. Meyers, F. W. Mills, Thomp- 
son Pruitt, William T. Parker, James H. Rupert, 
Joseph H. Sanders, Lawrence Tedrow, William 
Bramble, Joseph Dingman, James Dew, David 
Morris, Thomas W. Penn, James P. Williams. 

In all the wars of England, during the thou- 
sand years of her history, there were not so many 
lives lost, nor so much money spent, as in the 
American Civil war. 

SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 



FIFTH ILLINOIS VOLUNTEER INFANTRY, COM- 
PANY A. 

Captains, William C. Ware, George Barber; 
first lieutenant, George Barber; second lieuten- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



79 



ant, V. C. Peckenpaugh ; first sergeant, D. Ern- 
est Moreland; quartermaster sergeant, Tracey T. 
Tompkins; sergeants, William W. Ahl, James 
F. Petty, George Beard, Burr H. Swan; corpo- 
rals, Guss Anson, Harry A. Abbott, Loren E. 
Waters, James L. Adams, Hicks Dow, William 
Worthington, Frank Stanton, Oliver R. Barrett, 
Lee Stobie, William St. John, Chauncey H. Bo- 
dine ; musicians, Roland Fry, George Waters ; 
wagoner, William F. Wyatt ; artificer, Fred 
Petty; privates, William Allen, Edward Allen, 
Lawrence Bagby, Newton Bennett, William 
Bergman, Archie Brown, Louis Bringman, E. J. 
Downing, William Dutton, Samuel Elledge, Wil- 
liam B. Gratton, Lawrence Harvey, Newton 
Harris. Albert Heck, Thomas C. Huestead, Her- 
man Jones, Charles Johnson, Thomas E. John- 
son, Fred Johnson, Ellis Kindred, Louis Lou- 
woert, John M. Lovett, Loren Main, Charles Mc- 
Glasson, Joseph Milby, Leon P. Monta, Bert 
Niccurn, James Niccum, Charles Paine, George 
Paine, Marshall Parker, Carl E. Rogers, Thom- 
as D. Shehan, George Shinn, Lewis M. Smith, 
Guy Stanton, Fred J. Stobie, Eugene Thompson, 
Roy Vertrees, Russell Wells, J. E. Wyle ; trans- 
ferred from Company D, Charles Boyd, David 
D. Edwards, William B. Harris, Frank Hurst, 
Lewis G. Kindred, Jesse G. Morrison,' John H. 
McKinney, Charles Sweeden, Cool Stanton, 
George Smith ; transferred from Company K, 
Henry Caplinger, Edward Foreman. Robert L. 
Gratton, Everett Miller, William Paine, John 
Shanahan, Morris Seaman; recruits, William S. 
I'owden, Leon Chamberlain, Lawrence Cawthon, 
Arthur E. Daman, Charles C. Dunn, Rollo 
Grimes, William A. Grimshaw, Joseph C. Hamil- 
ton, William H. Harris, Oliver Jones, Charley 
Kastner, Ernest C. Lightle, William L. Lawson, 
Tuhvin (). McKinney, Hugo May, Cecil Manker, 
F. C. Peebles, H. Douglas Parke, Zack N. Pul- 
liam, John Quinlan, Clyde Rush, Henry J. Ree- 
den, A. Fred Williams. 

TOWNSHIP HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY. 

In 1824 there were only three townships, 
namely : Coles Grove, Atlas and Franklin, while 



in 1906 the county has sixteen full congressional 
and eight fractional townships. 

In 1847 a State election was held for members 
of the Constitutional Convention, which Conven- 
tion prepared and submitted to the people a new 
Constitution, which was adopted by a large ma- 
jority. By this Constitution, in place of the Com- 
missioners' Court a County Court was organized 
in each county. This court consisted of a county 
judge, and, if the Legislature saw proper to so 
order it, two associate justices. This the Legis- 
lature favorably acted upon. The last meeting of 
the County Commissioners' Court was held No- 
vember, 1849. After the transaction of such busi- 
ness as properly came before them, they adjourned 
until court in course, but never re-assembled. 

On the first Monday of December of the same 
year the first regular term of the County Court 
was held. The duties of the court in a legislative 
capacity were precisely the same as those of the 
County Commissioners' Court. In addition to 
the legislative power the members of this court 
were permitted to exercise judicial authority, hav- 
ing all the rights and privileges of justices of the 
peace, together with all probate business. This 
court consisted of a county judge and two asso- 
ciate justices. The judge and associate justices 
acted together for the transaction of all county 
business, but none other. The justices had an 
equal vote with the judge, and received the same 
salary while holding court, which was $2 per day. 
Two of the three constituted a quorum. ' 

The county judge who served under this re- 
gime was James Ward. The associate justices 
were Joshua Woosley and William P. Harpole. 

The Constitution of 1847 provided for town- 
ship organization in those counties desiring it. 
(Hons. William R. Archer and William A. Grim- 
shaw, both of this county, were members of the 
convention framing this constitution.) The ques- 
tion of organizing according to this provision soon 
began, of course, to agitate the people of Pike 
county, and the controversy grew bitter, the 
bitterest indeed that this more than usually peace- 
ful community ever indulged in. Immigrants 
from the East were familiar. with the workings of 
township legislation and management, and de- 
sired to perpetuate their home institution in the 



8o 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



West ; but the other citizens of the county were 
afraid that the introduction of the measure would 
necessitate an increase of office holders, useless 
expenses and many unforeseen vexations. The 
judges in office were all opposed to the innovation, 
so much so indeed that they continued to hold 
court even after the great victory of the innova- 
tors in carrying the county by 1,563 votes against 
317, and the election of new members. For a 
short time the county had two legislatures at 
once. The vote was taken at the general election 
of November 6, 1849, at which election Peter V. 
Shankland was elected county clerk on this hotly 
contested issue, and Stephen R. Gray sheriff. 
Both these gentlemen were Democrats, in favor 
of township organization. Indeed, as a matter of 
curiosity, but of no political significance, we may 
state that the fight on both sides was nearly all 
done by the Democrats, the Whigs taking but 
little part. 

An election was held in November, 1849, to 
vote "for" or "against" township organization, 
which resulted in favor of the measure. This was 
met with bitter opposition, however, and an appeal 
was taken to the Circuit Court by Samuel L. 
Crane. The law was decided to be constitutional, 
and the election a fair one. 

The Board of Supervisors of Pike county first 
assembled April 8, 1850, this being one of the first 
counties in the State to organize under the town- 
ship mode. 

There were present at this meeting the follow- 
ing members : Montgomery Blair, Barry ; Hazen 
Pressy, Washington; Archibald Brooks, Cham- 
bersburg; David Preble, Salem; Wilson Adams, 
Hardin ; William Ross, Newburg ; Thomas Hull, 
Kinderhook; A. W. Bemis, Martinsburg; R. C. 
Robertson, Milton ; James M. Seeley, Atlas, and 
John McTucker, Hadley. Supervisor Blair was 
elected temporary chairman and Colonel Ross 
chosen chairman. The board then adjourned 
to re-assemble April 23, 1850. There were 
present at this second meeting the following 
gentlemen: William Ross; Archibald Brooks; 
Darius Dexter, Perry ; Amos Hill, Griggsville ; 
David Preble; John McTucker; Montgomery 
Blair; Jesse Seniff, Detroit; Thomas Hull; A. W. 
Bemis ; J. M. Seeley ; J. T. Hyde, Pittsfield ; R. C. 



Robertson ; Wilson Adams ; Hazen Pressy ; and 
James Talbot, Pleasant Vale. 

Chambersburg, Flint, Detroit, Montezuma, 
Pearl, Levee, Cincinnati and Ross are fractional 
townships, while Atlas has eighteen full sections 
and seven fractional sections on her western 
border. 

CHAMBERSBURG. This township lies in the 
extreme northeastern part of the county. The 
first pioneers who came to this township were 
James Wells, Samuel Atchison, a Mr. Brewster 
and a Mr. Van Woy. They came in 1822. The 
first sermon preached in the township was in 
1827. The town was laid out May 7, 1833, by 
Sebourn Gilmore. It is situated under a high 
bluff on the edge of the Illinois river bottom and 
is surrounded by some good farming country. 
The town is a small one but filled with good and 
enterprising citizens. 

FLINT. This is the smallest township in the 
county and was the first one settled, in 1817. A 
Frenchman by the name of Teboe was the first 
settler. Garrett Van Deusen was the next set- 
tler. He established a ferry at what is known as 
Phillipsburg, now Griggsville Landing or Valley 
City. Flint has a fine magnesia spring in the. 
southeastern portion of the township. Valley 
City is the only town in the township and is on 
the Wabash Railroad. 

DETROIT. Detroit township was settled by 
Lewis Allen in 1823. The pioneers had many en- 
counters with wild animals during the early settle- 
ment. Detroit has two towns, Florence being the 
oldest and laid out in 1836 by the Florence Com- 
pany, composed principally of Pittsfield business 
men, among whom were Austin Barber, William 
Ross, Robert R. Green and Thomas Worthing- 
ton. In the old Illinois Gazeteer, Florence was 
known by the name of Augusta. Florence has 
the honor of being the place where nearly one 
thousand men of Pike county's bravest and best 
were mustered into the United States service in 
1862 and afterward known as the Ninety-ninth 
or Pike County Regiment of Volunteers. Detroit 
village was founded in 1837 by Peter H. Lucas, 
and is surrounded by beautiful farming country 
and its people are among Pike county's best. 

MONTEZUMA. The first settlers of Montezuma 




FIRST JAIL AT PITTSFIELD 



^ 



FAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



township were Ebenezer Franklin, who came in 
1819; Charles Adams, James Daniels, David Dan- 
iels, David and Daniel Hoover, Joel Meacham, 
Thomas Davis, who came in 1826. Like all set- 
tlers of new countries they suffered many hard- 
ships and inconveniences. The nearest mill for 
the first few years was at Edwardsville, Madison 
county, eighty miles away. At that time there 
were about 200 Indians in the neighborhood. A 
Dr. Houston was the first physician. Polly Davis 
was the first school teacher. In addition to the 
care of the neighbors' children she had eight of 
her own. The first marriage was that of Joseph 
Gale and Elizabeth Garrison in 1830. There 
are three villages in this township, Milton, Mon- 
tezuma and Bedford. The townsTtfp .is a' most 
excellent agricultural one and has some (ft 'the* 
best and most enterprising farmers. 

PEARL. Pearl's first settlers came in 1824 or 
1825 and were A. Perkins, J. R. Ottwell, William 
Pruett and John Ottwell. The first marriage was 
William Ottwell and Rachel Collins and they were 
united by Rev. Mr. Osborne, a Baptist minister, 
who preached the first sermon in the township in 
1829. Pearl has the villages of Pearl, Bee 
Creek Village, Bee Creek Mills, Pearl Station 
and Chow Row. Near old Pearl is one of the 
finest springs in Illniois. In the old times an old- 
fashioned undershot watermill was run by the 
immense volume of water flowing from the 
spring. What is known as the new town of 
Pearl is situated on the Chicago & Alton Railroad 
and is a place of considerable business. 

PERRY. Perry is one of the first class town- 
ships situated in the northeast part of the county. 
The first settlers came in about 1829 and were 
Joseph Cavander, John Hume, Abel Shelley, John 
Matthews, Mr. Lovelady and John Gillaspie. The 
first school taught in the township was in 1830 
by John Cavander. The town of Perry, number- 
ing about 700, was laid out by Joseph S. King 
in 1836 and first christened Booneville in. honor 
of Daniel Boone. The name was afterward 
changed to Perry in honor of Commodore Perry, 
the hero of Lake Erie, who said "We have met 
the enemy and they are ours." Perry has a bank 
and a newspaper and while an inland town with 
no railroads is an enterprising, energetic and pro- 



gressive town. This township also has the fa- 
mous Perry Springs, which are called magnesia, 
iron and sulphur springs, but of late years seem 
to have lost their prestige as a heiltli resort. 

GRIGGSVILLE. Griggsville is one of the most 
important and wealthy townships in the county. 
It has the distinctive honor of being the only 
town of that name in the United States. The 
township was settled as early as 1825 by Henry 
Bateman. The first birth in the township was a 
son of Mr. Bateman and the first to die was 
Mr. Bateman's wife. The city of Griggsville 
was laid out in 1833 by Joshua Stanford and 
Richard Griggs and was named Griggsville by 
Mr. Jones in honor of Mr. Griggs. In 1838 there 
was what was known as an abolition melee in 
..Griggsville caused over a democratic and whig 
ele'ction for constable. They had a red hot and 
bitter contest which resulted in the election of 
B. S. Coffey. The democrats were very hostile 
over the election and a democrat assaulted Cof- 
fey, which caused a general row with no one se- 
riously hurt. A few weeks later a gentleman 
visited at Griggsville holding anti-slavery meet- 
ings and asking people to petition congress to 
abolish slavery in the District of Columbia. Quite 
a number signed his petition. The objectors 
met in a saloon and passed resolutions that the 
parties who had signed the petition should be 
compelled to erase their signatures from it. The 
mob element took the papers away from the man 
and returned with them, called upon the signers 
and demanded that they immediately erase their 
names under the penalty of violence should they 
refuse. Some complied, others did not. They 
then notified the obstinate ones that they must 
erase their names. The good people of the town 
met in a hotel and organized for resistance. The 
mob came with a rope and threw it around the 
body of N. W. Jones and attempted to drag 
him out and hang him, but he escaped from them 
am! the s;ood citizens soon showed what metal 
tlicv were made of and the mob soon found it the 
best policy to desist from their murderous 
intention. Griggsville has two banks and two 
newspapers and all kinds of business is fully rep- 
resented in the town. The early settlers knew 
what privations were. In 1834 tea, coffee or 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



sugar could not be bought. They had maple 
sugar and corn or rye coffee and sassafras tea. 
Griggsville has a very successful fair and is now 
the only fair held in the county. They have per- 
haps the most commodious fair grounds of any 
county in the state and being in the racing circuit, 
the lovers of equine speed have great enjoyment 
in witnessing the trials on the track. 

NEWBURG. The first settler in Newburg was 
Daniel Husong in 1833. Newburg is so closely 
identified with Pittsfield that it has no town of 
its own but is noted as a most excellent agricul- 
tural township. 

HARDIN. The first settlers in Hardin were 
Benjamin Barney, Nathaniel Bagby, Solomon 
Main, Jacob Henry, Joseph Halford, Jesse Mason 
and Aaron Thornton. The first couple married 
was Nathaniel Thornton and Lucinda Bagby, 
the ceremony being performed by Rev. Lewis 
Allen. The first school was taught by Jesse Gar- 
rison in 1833. Time, a very pleasant little- village, 
is located in this township. Its population now 
is about one hundred and fifty, and being an in- 
land town, its future is not very bright. It has 
many good citizens and is an excellent farming 
community. 

SPRING CREEK. Spring Creek is one of the 
southern tier of townships bounded on {he south 
by Calhoun county. It was settled in 1832 by 
Silas Wilson. The surface is very broken and is 
not a very good agricultural township. Nebo 
is its principal town and has about six hundred 
people. It has a bank and a newspaper and is 
located on the Chicago & Alton Railroad and is 
known as a good business town. 

FAIRMOUNT. Fairmount is one of the finest 
townships on the north side of the county. Its 
first settlement was about 1831. The township 
is an excellent one for farm and stock operations 
and her citizens are among the best of the county. 
In 1840 Henry Benson taught the first school on 
section 16, in a log school house. In the time of 
the Civil war Fairmount's patriotic blood was 
aroused and she sent her quota of her gallant boys 
in blue to do or die for home and country. 

NEW SALEM. The first pioneer who ventured 
to locate in this township was Mr. Joab Shinn, 
who came in 1830. In 1831 came Isaac Conklin 



and his two sons, William Scholl and Nathan 
Swigert. The first school house built in New 
Salem was in 1834. New Salem has two enter- 
prising towns, Baylis and New Salem. New 
Salem was laid out in 1847 and Baylis in 1869. 
Baylis has a bank and a newspaper. Both towns 
have enterprising business men and have the 
benefits of the Wabash Railroad. A noted resi- 
dent of New Salem township from 1833 until his 
death a few years ago, was Capt. Henry Browne, 
who was born in Ireland, highly educated and 
aristocratic, a quiet and useful man, always held 
his allegiance to Great Britian. He was a skilled 
physician, and was a true friend to the poor; and 
was never known to take a cent for services or 
medicines. He was noted for his high sense of 
honor, and marked respect for the rights of 
others. 

PITTSFIELD. Pittsfield is near the center of the 
county and is the county capital. The pio- 
neer who first located here was Joel 
Moore, next came Ephraim Cannon and 
Moses Riggs. The county seat was located at 
Pittsfield by Commissioners George W. Hin- 
man, Hawkins Judd and Benjamin Barney. The 
first sale of lots took place May 15, 1833. The 
town was recorded May 14, 1833. The first court 
house was built in 1833, and the second one in 
1838, and the present structure in 1894-5, is a 
handsome temple of justice and perhaps in its 
appointments and finish will compare favorably 
with any in the State. The town has three news- 
papers, two banks and the largest flouring mill 
in the western part of the state; has eight 
churches and two large school buildings. Among 
the famous people who began their careers in 
Pittsfield were Milton Hay ; John Hay, who in his 
lifetime was recognized as one of America's 
greatest diplomats; John G. Nickolay, private 
secretary to President Lincoln. Pittsfield's citi- 
zens that are sojourning on the Pacific coast and 
in the West are very numerous, and most of 
them are making fame and fortunes for them- 
selves. Pittsfield has several good hotels and a 
very commodious opera house. In secret socie- 
ties, she has the Masons, blue lodge, chapter and 
commandery ; Odd Fellows ; Knights of Pythias ; 
Woodmen ; Mutual Protective League ; Pike 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



County Mutual ; Grand Army of the Republic, 
and numerous others. 

MARTINSBURG. This township is situated in 
the second tier above the Calhoun county line, 
and its southwest corner is within five miles of 
the Mississippi river. Fisher Petty was the first 
settler and came in 1825. It has two villages, 
Martinsburg and New Hartford ; both towns are 
occupied by good quiet citizens, and for little vil- 
lages do their share of the business. Neither 
have railroad facilities, which rather militates 
against their business. 

PLEASANT HILL. This township was first set- 
tled in 1821 by Belus and Egbert Jones. Pleas- 
ant Hill's southern boundary touches Calhoun 
county. It has the Chicago & Alton Railroad, a 
bank and a newspaper. It has a number of pro- 
gressive business men and a population of about 
450. The town of Pleasant Hill was laid out in 
1836, and was incorporated in 1869. Pleasant 
Hill had the first license from" the county com- 
missioners court in 1821 to keep a tavern and sell 
liquor. The first sermon was preached by Rev. 
Stephen Ruddle in 1826, who had been a pris- 
oner held by the Indians for sixteen years. The 
man's ability and knowledge was such that al- 
most every person in the entire township turned 
out to hear him preach. The first schoolhouse 
was erected in 1832. 

HADLEY. Hadley is a fine township of land, 
perhaps one of the best in the military tract. The 
first settler in this township was a black, man, who 
was known as Free Frank, and who came from 
Kentucky in 1829. The Legislature gave him a 
name, and he was afterward known as Frank 
McWorter. The first white settler to locate in 
this township was Joshua Woosley, who was af- 
terward sheriff of the county. Mr. Woolsey 
used the first grain cradle superseding the old- 
fashioned sickle ; and it was such a curiosity that 
the settlers came from far and near to see it. He 
charged a bushel of wheat per acre for cutting 
with it, which was a very small price, being only 
about thirty-seven and a half cents. 

DERRY. Derry is a splendid farming town- 
ship. It was first settled by David W. Howard 
in 1826. Derry has one town, founded in 1836 
by Nathaniel Winters and named Washington. 



In 1850, when township organization took effect, 
it was found there was another Washington in 
Tazewell county, and the postmaster general noti- 
fied them they should change their name, which 
was afterward changed to Eldara. The town 
has about two hundred and fifty population and 
several thoroughgoing business men, two churches 
and an excellent school building. 

ATLAS. When we reach this name we are car- 
ried back to the day when Atlas was expected to 
be a great city. . It is located in a fertile valley, 
with upland and bottom land, good and produc- 
tive. The first settlers were the Ross family; 
Ebenezer, Franklin and Daniel Shinn. Many of 
the early settlers of Atlas went to other parts of 
the county, and John Wood went to Quincy- and 
founded the now "Gem City." Atlas township 
has three towns, Atlas, Rockport and Summer 
Hill, filled with many of Pike county's 
best people. Rockport, on the railroad, has 
a fine elevator and several good business 
houses. In Atlas town there is yet standing a 
house that was erected in 1822. To a person vis- 
iting Atlas for the first time, seeing the beautiful 
landscape and surroundings, would be impressed 
that Colonel Ross was evidently much elated 
with his great expectations that Quincy would 
not make much of a town because it was too near 
Atlas. 

Ross. Ross township was formed from Atlas 
township in 1879 an d was named in honor of 
Colonel William Ross by Captain M. D. Massie, 
who was a member of the board of supervisors in 
that year. The township is fractional and has 
no particular history except for its productive 
farms and worthy agricultural citizens. 

BARRY. The first settlers in Barry, in 1824, 
were Rev. David Edwards and Mr. Hadley. Soon 
after these men came Rev. William M. Blair and 
his sons. Those who afterward took an impor- 
tant part in the history of the township were 
Montgomery and William Blair, Hezekiah Me- 
Atee, Alfred Grubb and Elijah L. McAtee. 
Other early settlers were Josiah and Wil- 
liam Lippencott, Stephen R. Gray, Burton 
Gray, John Milhizer and Levi McDaniel. Most 
of the above came prior to or during the year 
1836. Benjamin Barney, Michael and Alonzo 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Gard came in 1826, A. C. Baker in 1827. A noted 
Dr. Hudnel was an eccentric character and useful 
man, practiced in Barry and Pleasant Vale. Bart- 
lett & Birdsong kept the first store and they also 
laid out Barry as the agents for Stone, the owner, 
of the land. In 1836 Daniel A. Shaw hauled the 
first load of goods into Worcester, now Barry, for 
Bartlett & Birdsong. They were landed at Phil- 
lips Ferry, now Griggsville Landing or Valley 
City. The first Fourth of July celebration in Barry 
took place in 1838. Among the speakers were 
Dr. A. C. Baker, William A. Grimshaw and Colonel 
William Ross. The first wedding 1 in the town- 
ship was that of Samuel Blair and Miss Lucy 
Brewster in 1829. Rev. William Blair preached 
the first sermon in his own log house on section 
30, in 1829, and he also taught the first school in a 
log building on section 28 in 1830. Barry has 
two newspapers, the Adage and Record.- The 
first bank in Barry was known as the C. & S. 
Davis and Angle Bank. It was opened in 1872 
and in 1905 it became insolvent and went into the 
hands, of a receiver. Indications appear to show 
that the depositors will lose but little if anything. 
The First National Bank was organized in 1901. 
Barry has numerous secret societies as follows: 
Masons ; Odd Fellows ; Modern Woodmen of 
America; Ancient Order of United Workmen; 
Mutual Protective League; Court of Honor; 
Grand Army of the Republic ; Woman's Relief 
Corps; Fraternal Army of America and Loyal 
Americans and a few others. Stephen R. Gray 
was the first postmaster ; Captain C. H. Hurt is 
postmaster now. Barry has a fine library build- 
ing, the gift of Mrs. B. D. Brown. The library 
is one of the best in the county, and is being 
added to frequently. Barry has a fine record for 
entertaining as the old settlers and soldiers can 
attest, having been often given the keys of the 
city. 

Jon Shastid's school in Barry for the term 
ending on April 2, 1857 : Edward W. Baker, Al- 
fred Baker, James C. Brown, Arthur Baird, Al- 
bert Blackman, James Baird, George Bill, Eugene 
Chamberlain, Jerome Chamberlain, Jon Chamber- 
lain, Aaron Chamberlain, Alfred Elam, Oliver 
Emerson, Marion Fairchild, Eugene Gray, 
William E. Grubb, Ira 6. Gray, William P. 



Gorton, Thomas E. Gorton, Marcellus Harvey, 
Henry L. Hadsell, Charles H. Hurt, Jon M. 
Hurt, George Rowland, George Jasper, Edward 
D. B. Jerome, Charles Klein, William H. Kidwell, 
David Kidwell, Daniel Kidwell, George Luzader, 
George W. Liggett, William E. Robison, George 
W. Thompson, James M. Widby, Sarah E. Bond, 
Jane Cheadle, Diantha Cheadle, Mary J. Crooks, 
Lucy ' M. Ellis, Emma Eddingfield, Dorothy 
Frike, Mary E. Gillum Catherine Harvey, Allena 
Lane, Elizabeth J. Lane, Mary A. Mason, Maricia 
Mason, Julia U. Mason, Elizabeth Petty, Nancy 
Petty, Lucetta Pope, Matilda Sprague. 

PLEASANT VALE. The first settlers were 
John Wood, afterward Governor of Illinois, 
Willard Keyes and David Dutton, who came in 
1821 and 1822, and settled on sections 16 and 22. 
Mr. Dutton was one of the county commissioners 
in 1822. Amos and Joseph Jackson, Major 
Hinckly, Parley Jackson, Levi Howard, Mr. 
Rice, Daniel Mitchell and Andrew Shearer were 
also very early settlers. Mr. Shearer "blazed 
out" the first road from where New Canton now 
is to the town of Washington, now Eldara. The 
first vVhite child born in the township was An- 
drew J. Stanley, in 1823. The first death was 
Mary Jane McDaniel in the same year, and the 
first marriage was Peter J. Saxbury and Ma- 
tilda Stanley in June, 1827. These early settlers 
endured many hardships and privations in pre- 
paring the way for future generations and future 
prosperity, which the people of to-day know not 
of. They ground their corn for food on a hand 
mill, and at times crushed it in a hominy block. 
The latter consisted of a hole burnt in a stump 
or block of wood, in which corn was placed and 
crushed with an iron wedge or mallet. In a short 
time, however, these odd and rude pieces of pio- 
neer machinery were replaced by horse mills. 
These were generally situated eight or ten miles 
from the settlers here, and although they were a 
great improvement upon the hand mills and the 
hominy blocks, the process of grinding would be 
considered very slow, indeed, by the people of 
this day and age of steam mills. The boys then 
went to mill on horseback, and seldom ever re- 
turned the same day. They would congregate 
under the old shed of the horse mill while wait- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ing for their turn, and there make a fire and 
parch corn, tell jokes, etc. In this way they 
would pass the night very pleasantly without sup- 
per or sleep ; for the supper could not be had. 
and there was no place to sleep, save on the sacks 
of corn. 

Then came the days of schools and churches. 
The first schoolhouse erected by the settlers was 
on section 22, in 1825. It was a log cabin with 
a clapboard door, puncheon floor, slab benches 
for seats and a huge fire place at one end of the 
room. The desks consisted of puncheons sup- 
ported by pins in the wall ; the fire place had no 
chimney except above the root"; there were two 
doors, one at each side of the fire place. The 
fuel used consisted of huge logs, which were of- 
ten dragged into the house by a horse coming 
in at one door and passing through and out at the 
other. Around and near the fire place there was 
no floor except the ground, the puncheon floor 
covering the back part of the room only. The 
window consisted of a log removed from one side 
of the room, with greased paper pasted over the 
aperture. The first teacher here was a Mr. Ran- 
kin. The pioneer teacher was of the ox driver 
class, and generally carried a large "gad" in his 
hands, to maintain order in the school. 

Religious worship was early instituted in the 
first settlement of this township. The first ser- 
mon was preached by Rev. Mr. Hunter, of the 
Methodist denomination, and the first regularly 
organized religions society was also that of the 
Methodist. This society first worshiped in the 
house of Mr. Jackson, and afterward in the 
schoolhouse on section 22. The Mormons also 
figured largely in a church organization here some 
years later. They at one time had a society of 
about 100 communicants, and erected a house of 
worship in the northwest part of the township. 
When the Xauvoo trouble came, however, they 
left this neighborhood to join their brethren at 
that place. The old Mormon church was after- 
ward moved to the Mississippi river, and there 
used for a warehouse. 

In those early days the wagons, for the most 
part, were rudely constructed by the settlers 
themselves, and consisted wholly of wood. The 
wheels were sawed from large sycamore trees. 



and holes were bored in the center, in which to 
insert the axletree. The farmers often used these 
wagons in going to mill, hauling their produce 
to market, and for a conveyance in which to at- 
tend church. 

In pioneer times, when there were scarcely any 
fences, and not land enough under cultivation to 
stop the great prairie fires which occurred in 
the fall of the year, they proved very disastrous 
to those living in the prairie. This township, 
consists, for the most part, of Mississippi river 
bottom land, a large portion of which is prairie. 
The grass on this bottom land grew to an enor- 
mous height, was very thick, and as high as a 
man's head while on horseback. This grass was 
so heavy and thick that when the settlers went a- 
fishing in the sny they would hitch the team to 
a large bush or tree and drag it through the grass 
and mash it down, to make a road for them to 
pass over. In the fall of the year this luxuriant 
growth of grass would be set on fire by the In- 
dians or hunters, and 'especially when the wind 
was high, would sweep resistlessly over the whole 
country, high and low, destroying a great deal 
of property. 

The pioneers early learned to guard against 
this destructive element by plowing wide strips 
of land around their premises and around their 
grain and hay. As soon as the alarm of fire was 
given, each settler would immediately begin to 
"back fire." This was done by setting the grass 
on fire next outside the plowed strip, which would 
burn slowly and meet the rapidly advancing 
flames that came rolling in majestic grandeur, 
from twenty to thirty feet in the air. 

This bottom land ig now under a high state 
of cultivation, and since the completion of the 
levee has become one of the richest farming dis- 
tricts of America. The land lying between the 
sny and the Mississippi is timber land, and as 
fertile as the prairie. It is now rapidly being 
cleared and improved. 

On the northwest quarter of section 29 is a salt 
spring, which at one time afforded considerable 
salt water. Mr. Keyes carried water from this 
spring to his home on section 22, a distance of a 
mile and a half, boiled it down, and made salt for 
family use and for his neighbors. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



As the bluffs extend from the northwest to 
southeast through the township, the up land is 
divided from the bottom land, forming a trian- 
gular section. This land is very rough and 
roken, and is underlaid with a heavy bed of 
nestone, and is consequently better adapted to 
ic growing of small grain and fruit than to gen- 
ral farming. There is some excellent farming 
and along the course of Keyes creek, which ex- 
ends along the eastern portion of the township. 
This creek was named in honor of Mr. Keyes, of 
whom we have spoken in the first part of this 
sketch. At one time this creek and others 
abounded in countless numbers of fish, and thus 
aided in furnishing the settlers with the neces- 
saries of life. Although the pioneers were de- 
prived of many things that are enjoyed at the 
present day, yet they always had abundance to 
eat and wear. If their store clothes or homespun 
gave way, they would simply construct clothing 
from the hides of animals. The first justice of 
the peace of this township was Major Hinckley. 
New Canton is the only town in Pleasant Vale 
township, and has nearly 600 population. It was 
founded April 2, 1835, by Charles T. Brewster, 
Hiram Smith and Jesse Titsworth. New Can- 
ton has two churches, Methodist and Union, 
open to all denominations, but mostly used by the 
Christian society, flourishing Sunday schools ; 
and Epworth League and Christian Endeavor 
are held at both churches, with large attendance 
and great interest. The first school was on sec- 
tion 9, in 1832, and the first schoolhouse was 
built in 1836, a Mr. Hale being the first school 
master. The present school building was erected 
in 1866, with an addition a few years later. The 
principal and assistants are Miss Emma Card, 
Misses Flossie Shearer, Clyde Temple and Edith 
Card, and the gems of knowledge are cheerfully 
imparted to the young citizens that will take 
them. The town was incorporated in 1869. The 
present officers are: Abraham Likes, president; 
trustees, M. H. Fuller, L. Card, Jr., H. A. Mas- 
sie, H. Koeller, James Temple and D. Godfrey. 
The business of the town is three general stores, 
three grocery stores, one drug store, one jewelry 
store, one restaurant, one hotel, two barber shops, 
two blacksmiths, one wood worker, two grain ele- 



vators, one lumber yard, one livery and feed 
stable, two physicians, four notaries public, three 
magistrates, three constables, seven carpenters, 
five stone masons and plasterers, a postoffice with 
three rural routes, one bank, and the following 
secret societies: Masons, Woodmen, Knights of 
Pythias, Mutual Protective League, Pike County 
Mutual, Knights and Ladies of Security, Royal 
Neighbors, Loyal Americans, Mystic Circle and 
Grand Army of the Republic. A few years ago 
the town had a pork packing and milling indus- 
try, but they were smothered out like all modest 
r>lants have been in the rural districts. New Can- 
ton is on the branch of the Chicago, Burlington 
& Quincy Railroad, twenty-eight miles from 
Quincy, Illinois, and sixteen miles from Louisi- 
ana, Missouri, and six miles from the Mississippi 
river. The town has telegraph and telephone 
connection with the outside world, also a band 
hall and an excellent cornet band, a billiard hall, 
two entertainment halls and a lodge hall, a town 
hall and a "cooler." The town has had ' several 
destructive fires and numerous costly burglaries. 
The agricultural and live stock interests are well 
conducted by up-to-date and enterprising farm- 
ers, which makes the town one of the best ship- 
ping points in the county. Chicago and St. 
Louis are within a few hours' run, and are the 
town's principal markets. The old-time business 
men were John Webb, Shipman & Freeman, W. 
P. Freeman, William Turner, Hugh Barker, 
Warner & Blain, Perry H. Davis, Amos 
Morey, A. Shewe, Massie & Gray, Massie, Heid- 
loff & Company. The business men of to-day are 
Atkinson & Son, H. Koeller, W. Ware, D. God- 
frey, Dudley Brothers, H. A. Massie, Ed. Up- 
pinghouse, Ellis Gard and G. W. Staff ; and the 
physicians and surgeons, James H. Rainwater, 
George U. McComas. Joseph Jackson was the 
first postmaster, and John L. Morey the last one. 
The elevator men are Shaw-Garner Company, 
with Joseph McFarland, manager, and Werner 
Heidloff. R. E. Funk is the Chicago, Burlington 
& Quincy Railroad agent. 

KINDERHOOK. Kinderhook is west of Barry 
and joins Adams county on the north. Its south- 
west corner is a half mile from the Mississippi 
river. The first settlers were David Cole, Bird 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Brewer, Mr. Lyle, Amasa Shinn, Mr. McCraney, 
James Hull, Charles Smith, Charles and James 
Stratton, Thomas Orr and C. Devoll. The town 
of Kinderhook was laid out in 1836 by Chester 
Churchill and Bridge Whitten. The Wabash 
Railroad touches the town. Two churches and 
an excellent school are the town's pride. Hull, in 
this township, is at the junction of the Wabash 
and Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroads. 
Hull has a bank and a newspaper, two churches, 
a large grain elevator and is a good business cen- 
ter. The town was laid out in 1871 by David 
Hull, Rensselear Sweet and William Bridge. 

CINCINNATI. Cincinnati is a fractional town- 
ship taken from Pleasant Vale in 1881. It con- 
sists of eighteen full sections and six fractional 
sections and contains the old-time town of Cin- 
cinnati that in 1848 was the greatest business 
town in Pike county, but the great flood of 1851 
almost obliterated the town. During the palmy 
days of steamboating it was the greatest shipping, 
point on the west side of the county. After the 
coming of the railroad the shipping interests have 
become a dead letter. It has some as good and 
fertile lands as are on the earth. It has one 
Methodist Episcopal church in the township, 
known as the Wike Chapel, and numerous com- 
modious schcolhouses. The township is noted 
for its abundant production of wheat and corn._ 
It used to have a postoffice, with W. H. Odiorne 
as the first postmaster. Its first school treasurer 
was Nelson Morey. 

LEVEE. Levee was originally a part of Kinder- 
hook township and was set off in 1875. It con- 
sists of eighteen full sections and five fractional 
sections, nearly all of which are as good land as 
the sun shines on. The township has several good 
school buildings and a church at Spencer switch, 
owned and occupied by the Methodists. It has 
a good macadamized road leading through the 
township, partly sustained by the Hannibal busi- 
ness men. Levee has two railroads, the Wabash 
and the Quincy & Hannibal branch of the Chi- 
cago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad. 

The business men of the various towns and 
villages of the county are progressive, active and 
enterprising, and in the past as well as the pres- 
ent have been an important factor in the county's 



development, in the way of schools, churches, 
public improvements and all matters that were 
for the people's best interests, but in the past 
decade all have been seriously handicapped in 
their business enterprises by a lack of home reci- 
procity and the blighting cry for cheap and 
cheaper supplies. It has closed the factories and 
decreased the population of the county. There 
is a great cry against trusts and combines, and yet 
perhaps unconsciously, the general public are play- 
ing into the hands of their enemies, greatly to 
their own detriment. A few are awakening to the 
fact that the great money powers are only inter- 
ested in the plain people just as far as the al- 
mighty dollar goes. Pike county is one of the 
best agricultural sections in the great military 
tract, and should be a good manufacturing center, 
having, as it has, all the natural advantages of 
two great rivers and three great railroads. The 
old-time residents were blessed with pure foods 
and unadulterated material. Now laws are in 
force forbidding adulterations, but the suffering 
public are greatly imposed upon and the law 
seems to be a dead letter. 

SUPERVISORS. 

Below we give a full list of all the Supervisors 
from the time the county was organized under 
the township law till the present time, by years, 
together with the name of the chairman and the 
township each member is from : 

1850 William Ross, Newburg, Chairman; 
Archibald Brooks, Chambersburg ; Darius Dex- 
ter, Perry; Amos Hill, Griggsville; David Pre- 
ble, New Salem ; John McTucker, Hadley ; Mont- 
gomery Blaii**" Barry; Jesse Seniff, Detroit; 
Thomas Hull, Kinderhook; A. W. Bemis, Mar- 
tinsburg ; J. M. Seeley, Atlas ; J. F. Hyde, Pitts- 
field ; R. C. Robertson, Milton (Montezuma) ; 
Wilson Adams, Hardin ; Hazen Pressy, Wash- 
ington, Derry; James Talbott, Pleasant Vale; 
William Turnbull, Flint ; William Morrison, Fair- 
mount; Thomas Barton, Pleasant Hill; J. P. 
Stark, Spring Creek. 

1851 William Ross, Newburg, Chairman; 
Amos Hill, Griggsville; Thomas Odiorne, Atlas; 
Hazen Pressy, Derry ; William Morrison, Fair- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE- COUNTY. 



mount; William Turnbull, Flint; Thomas Bar- 
ton, Pleasant Hill; William Grammar, Hadley; 
John Lyster, Detroit; Worden Willis, Pleasant 
Vale ^Montgomery Blair, Barry; Darius Dexter, 
Perry ; D. H. Gilmer, Pittsfield ; R. C. Robertson, 
Montezuma ; William Adams, Hardin ; Harvey 
W. McClintock, Martinsburg ; David Preble, New 
Salem ; J. P. Stark, Spring Creek ; Thomas Hull, 
Kinderhook ; < Constantine Smith, Pearl ; Peter 
Karges, Chambersburg. 

1852 H. R. Ramsay, Atlas, Chairman; James 
Brown, Chambersburg; Darius Dexter, Perry; 
David Preble, New Salem ; John E. Ayres, Fair- 
mount ; M. B. Churchill, Kinderhook ; S. K. Tay- 
lor, Derry ; D. H. Gilmer, Pittsfield ; M. J. Noyes ; 
Amos Hill, Griggsville ; John Lyster, Detroit ; Wil- 
liam Turnbull, Flint; H. W. McClintock, Mar- 
tinsburg; E. C. Thurman, Pleasant Hill; William 
Grammar, Hadley; B. F. Brownell, Barry; S. 
Grigsby, Pleasant Vale ; Richard Robertson, Mon- 
tezuma ; A. Main, Hardin ; John P. Stark, Spring 
Creek. 

1853 William Turnbull, Chairman ; James 
Brown, Chambersburg ; William Dustin, Atlas ; 
Daniel Fisher, New Salem; Thomas Hull, Kin- 
derhook ; Harlow Huntley, Hadley ; Tyre Jen- 
nings, Barry; B. L. _Matthe\vs. Perry; H. T. 
Mudd, Pittsfickl ; Constantine .Smith, Pearl ; Wil- 
liam E. Smith, Spring Creek ; Cornelius Sullivan, 
Martinsburg; Jonathan Frye, Detroit; Dennis 
Leary, Montezuma; William Kinman, Griggs- 
ville; Samuel G. Sitton, Hardin; William C. 
Crawford, Fairmount ; L. H. Stone, Pleasant 
Hill ; F. A. Landrum, Derry. 

1854 J. S. Roberts, Martinsburg, 'Chairman: 
Tames Brown, Chambersburg; Calvin Greenleaf, 
Flint ; Jonathan Frye. Detroit ; Dennis Leary. 
Montezuma; Constantine Smith. Pearl; B. L. 
Matthews, Perry; James Winn, Griggsville; B. 
F. Westlake, Newburg ; John Heavener, Hardin ; 
Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek ; Daniel Fisher, 
New Salem ; Henry T. Mudd. Pittsfield ; L. H. 
Stone, Pleasant Hill ; Wm. Grammar, Hadley ; 
Jethro Petty, Derry; Wm. Dustin, Atlas; Tyre 
Jennings, Barry ; Charles T. Brewster, Pleasant 
Vale ; S. B. Gaines, Kinderhook ; Wm. C. Craw- 
ford, Fairmount. 

1855 B. F. Westlake, Newburg, Chairman; 



John Loer, Chambersburg ; Wm. Thackwray, 
Flint; D. Leary, Montezuma; Constantine Smith, 
Pearl; B. L. Matthews, I'erry: James Winn, 
Griggsville; Wilson Adams, Hardin; Wm. C. 
Smith, Spring Creek; Wm. C. Crawford, Fair- 
mount ; Daniel Fisher, New Salem ; H. T. Mudd, 
Pittsfield; John S. Roberts, Martinsburg; John 
Ray, Pleasant Hill ; Joseph P. Smith, Hadley ; J. 
S. Vertrees, Perry ; Simon K. Taylor, Derry ; 
Tyre Jennings, Barry; Thomas Odiorne, Atlas; 
Charles T. Brewster, Pleasant Vale; S. B. 
Gaines, Kinderhook; R. C. Allen, Detroit; Nicho- 
las Hobbs, Fairmount. 

1856 J. S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chairman; 
John Loer, Chambersburg; Jonathan Frye, De- 
troit ; 'VVm. Wheeler, Pearl ; O. M. Hatch, Griggs- 
ville; Joseph G. Colvin, Hardin; Wm. H. Love, 
Fairmount; Daniel D. Hicks, Pittsfield; Alex. 
Hemphill, Pleasant Hill; Josiah Long, Atlas; 
Daniel Pyle, Flint ; Edwin Wooley, Montezuma ; 
John L. Gaine, Perry; B. F. Westlake, Newburg; 
Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek ; Wm. F. Hooper, 
New Salem; Richard Hayes, Hadley; James 
Wallace, Pleasant Vale; A. Landrum, Derry; 
John P. Grubb, Barry. 

1857 John W. Allen, Detroit, Chairman; B. 
B. Metz, Chambersburg; Joseph G.^Pyle, Flint; 
Spencer Hudson, Montezuma, ' Constantine Smith, 
Pearl ; Thos. Reynolds, Perry ; Alfred Gordon, 
Griggsville; B. F. Westlake'; Newburg; J. G. 
Colvin, Hardin ; John H . Brewer, Fairmount ; 
Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek; Wm. F. Hooker, 
New Salem ; Daniel D. Hicks. Pittsfield ; Joshua 
Butler, Martinsburg; Alex. Hemphill, Pleasant 
Hill; Richard Hayes, Hadley; John L. Under- 
wood, Derry ; Jesse Long, Atlas ; J. R. Williams, 
Barry ; James Wallace, Pleasant" Vale ; M. B. 
Churchill, Kinderhook. 

1858 Wm. Turnbull, Flint. Chairman: Har- 
vey Dunn, Chambersburg; Jonathan Fryf^JDe- 
troit; E. N. French. Montezuma: IIiram_Hes," 
Pearl: Thos. Reynolds, Perry; James Winn, 
Griggsville; B. F. Westlake, Newburg; Adam 
Puterbaugh, Hardin; Wm. E. Smith, Spring 
Creek ; John H. Brewer, Fairmount ; Thos. Gray. 
New Salem; Austin Barber, Pittsfield: Joshua 
Butler, Martinsburg; John G. Sitton. Pleasant 
Hill: Wm. Grammar, Hadley: John L. Under- 







PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



wood, Derry; Sherman Brown, Atlas; James B. 
Williams, Barry ; James Wallace, Pleasant Vale ; 

A. T. Love, Kinderhook. 

1859 John S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chair- 
man ; Wilson S. Dennis, Chambersburg ; James 
L. Thompson, Flint; Jonathan Frye, Detroit; 
Isaac S. Brown, Montezuma ; Constantine Smith, 
Pearl; B. L. Matthews, Perry; James Winn, 
Griggsville, Benj. F. Westlake, Newburg; Wil- 
son Adams, Hardin ; Wm. E. Smith, Spring 
Creek; John Vail, Fairmount; James C. Conk- 
right, New Salem; Isaac W. Jones, Pittsfield ; 
Thos. Barney, Pleasant Hill; Wm. Grammar, 
Hadley; Simon K. Taylor, Derry; Sherman 
Brown, Atlas ; Richard St. John, Barry ; James 
Wallace, Pleasant Vale ; John G. Wheelock, Kin- 
derhook. 

1860 John S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chair- 
man; James H. Dennis, Chambersburg; Jas. L. 
Thompson, Flint ; John W. Allen, Detroit ; E. C. 
Clemmons, Montezuma ; Hiram Hess, Pearl ; 
James Johns, Perry ; T. H. Dimmitt, Griggsville ; 

B. F. Westlake, Newburg ; J. C. Colvin, Hardin ; 
Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek; John Vail, Fair- 
mount ; Jas. C. Conkright, New Salem ; David A. 
Stanton, Pittsfield; Alex. Parker, Pleasant Hill; 
Wm. Grammar, Hadley; James B. Landrum, 
Derry ; Sherman Brown, Atlas ; Lewis D. White, 
Barry ; Harrison Brown, Pleasant Vale ; John G. 
Wheelock, Kinderhook. 

1861 John S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chair- 
man; J. H. Dennis, Chambersburg; Geo. H. San- 
ford, Flint; John W. Allen, Petroitr Wm. B. 
Grimes, Montezuma ; -Andrew-rN. -Hess^j Pearl ; 
Geo. W. Baldwin, Perry; Thos. H. Dimmitt, 
Griggsville; B. F. Westlake, Newburg; Jos. G. 
Colvin, Hardin; Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek; 
John Vail, Fairmount; A. J. McWilliams, New 
Salem; D. A. Stanton, Pittsfield; A. J. Lovell, 
Pleasant Hill ; Wm. Grammar, Hadley ; Isaac 
Pryor, Perry ; J. G. Adams, Atlas ; John Mc- 
Tucker, Barry ; Perry H. Davis, Pleasant Vale ; 
John Aron, Kinderhook. 

1862 John S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chair- 
man; James H. Dennis, Chambersburg; Geo. H. 
Sanford, Flint ; Jonathan Frye, Detroit ; Geo. Un- 
derwood, Montezuma; Andrew N. Hess, Pearl; 
James W. Brown, Perry ; T. H. Dimmitt, Griggs- 
6 



ville; B. F. Westlake, Newburg; J. G. Colvin, 
Hardin ; Wm. E. Smith, Spring Creek ; Wm. 
Morrison, Fairmount; A. J. McWilliams, New 
Salem; D. A. Stanton, Pittsfield; L. H. Stone, 
Pleasant Hill; Wm. Grammar, Hadley; J. B. 
Landrum, Derry; J. G. Adams, Atlas; Henry 
Wallace, Barry; P. H. Davis, Pleasant Vale; John 
Aron, Kinderhook. 

1863 John S. Roberts, Martinsburg, Chair- 
man; James H. Dennis, Chambersburg; Wm. 
Thackwray, Flint; L. J. Smitherman, Detroit; 
J. O. Bolin, Montezuma; A. N. Hess, Pearl; Au-)( 
gustus Akin, Perry ; T. H. Dimmitt, Griggsville ; 
Strother Grigsby, Newburg; B. F. Westlake, 
Newburg; J. G. Colvin, Hardin; D. Hollis, 
Spring Creek; Wm. Morrison, Fairmount; A. J. 
McWilliams, New Salem; S. R. Gray, Pittsfield; 
A. Hemphill, Pleasant Hill ; Wm. Grammar, Had- 
ley; Thos. Harris, Derry; J. G. Adams, Atlas; 
.Wm. P. Shields, Barry; J. R. Thomas, Pleasant 
Vale ; John Aron, Kinderhook. 

1864 James H. Dennis, Chambersburg, Chair- 
man ; Wm. Thackwray, Flint ; L. J. Smitherman, 
Detroit; E. N. French, Montezuma; A. N. Hess^ 
Pearl ; Harvey Dunn, Jr., Perry ; Thos. H. Dim- 
mitt, Griggsville ; Nathan Kelley, Newburg ; B. C. 
Lindsay, Hardin ; David Hollis, Spring Creek ; 
John Vail, Fairmount ; John Preble, New Salem ; 
N. A. Wells, Pittsfield; J.' S. Roberts^ Martins- 
burg ; Alex. Hemphill, Pleasant Hill ; Wm. Gram- 
mar, Hadley; Thos. S. Harris, Derry; J. G. 
Adams, Atlas; Wm. P. Shields, Barry; James 
Wallace, Pleasant Vale ; John G. Wheelock, Kin- 
derhook. 

1865 P. H. Davis, Pleasant Vale, Chairman; 
Jas. H. Dennis, Chambersburg; Wm. Turnbull, 
Flint; L. J. Smitherman, Detroit; Robert E. Gil- 
liland, Montezuma; A. N. Hess, Pearl; John E> 
Morton, Perry ; T. H. Dimmitt, Griggsville ; Wm. 
J. Ross, Jr., Newburg; Samuel Heavener, Har- 
din ; David Hollis, Spring Creek ; John Vail, Fair- 
mount ; Asahel Hinman, New Salem ; J. M. Bush, 
Pittsfield; David Roberts, "Martinsburg ; Alex. 
Hemphill, Pleasant Hill; Wm. Grammar, Had- 
ley; Albert Landrum, Derry; Wm. Dustin, Atlas; 
Wm. P. Shields, Barry ; John G. Wheelock, Kin- 
derhook. 

1866 James H. Dennis, Chambersburg, Chair- 



9 2 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



man ; William Turnbull, Flint ; L. J. Smitherman, 
Detroit; George Marks, Montezuma; Joshua 

v Hanks, Pearl; John E. Morton, Perry; T. H. 
Dimmitt, Griggsville ; Strother Grigsby, New- 
burg; David Hollis, Spring Creek; John Vail, 
Fairmount; John Preble, New Salem; James M. 
Ferry, Pittsfield; R. A. McClintock, Martins- 
burg; A. F. Hemphill, Pleasant Hill; William 
Grammar, Hadley ; Albert Landrum, Derry ; J. G. 
Adams, Atlas ; William M. P. Shields, Barry ; 
James Wallace, Pleasant Vale; R. M. Murray, 
Kinderhook. 

1867 James H. Dennis, Chambersburg, Chair- 
man; James L. Thompson, Flint; L. J. Smither- 
man, Detroit ; John O. Bolin, Montezuma ; Joshua 
Hanks, Pearl; John A. Morton, Perry; Thomas 
H. Dimmitt, Griggsville ; Strother Grigsby, New- 
burg; Jos. G. Colvin, Hardin; David Hollis, 
Spring Creek; John Vail, Fairmount; John Pre- 
ble, New Salem; George W. Jones, Pittsfield; 
William M. McClintock, Martinsburg; A. F. 
Hemphill, Pleasant Hill ; William Grammar, Had- 
ley ; Albert Landrum, Derry ; J. G. Adams, Atlas ; 

>/M. Blair, Barry; Perry H. Davis, Pleasant Vale; 
Thomas Mclntire, Kinderhook. 

1868 James H. Dennis, Chambersburg, Chair- 
man ; William Anderson, Flint; John W. Allen, 
Detroit ; James A. Brown ; Montezuma ; Joshua 

N Hanks, Pearl; Harvey Thornbury, Perry; T. H. 
Dimmitt, Griggsville; Strother Grigsby, New- 
burg; John C. Dinsmore, Hardin; F. J. Halford, 
Spring Creek; John Vail, Fairmount; John Pre- 
ble, New Salem; George W. Jones, Pittsfield; 
John Melton, Martinsburg; William Grammar, 
Hadley; Albert Landrum, Derry Montgomery 
Blair, Barry; P. H. Davis, Pleasant Vale; A. J. 
Lovell, Pleasant Hill ; J. G. Adams, Atlas ; R. M. 
Murray, Kinderhook. 

1869 George W. Jones, Pittsfield, Chairman; 
James H. Dennis, Chambersburg; William An- 
derson, Flint; John Lester, Detroit; James A. 
Brown, Montezuma ; David Hess, Pearl ; B. L. 
Matthews, Perry; Noah Divilbiss, Perry; T. H. 
Dimmitt, Griggsville; B. F. Westlake, Newburg; 
B. C. Lindsay, Hardin ; Frank J. Halford, Spring 
Creek ; T. M. Coss, Fairmount ; John Preble, New 
Salem ; Joseph Turnbaugh, Martinsburg ; J. B. 
Harl, Pleasant Hill; William Grammar, Hadley; 



Maberry Evans, Derry; A. Simpkins, Atlas; 
^Montgomery Blair, Barry; P. H. Davis, Pleasant 
Hill ; John Aron, Kinderhook. 

1870 George W. Jones, Pittsfield, Chairman; 
Lewis Ham, Chambersburg; William Anderson, 
Flint ; Samuel Hayden, Detroit ; James A. Brown, 
Montezuma; George W. Roberts, Pearl; B. L. ' 
Matthews, Perry; T. H. Dimmitt, Griggsville; 
Thompson J. Pulliam, Newburg; Alvin Petty, 
Hardin ; F. J. Halford, Spring Creek ; Taylor M. 
Coss, Fairmount ; John Preble, New Salem ; John 
Brittain, Martinsburg; A. J. Lovell, Pleasant 
Hill- J. W. Burke, Derry; William Dustin, At- 
lasVM. Blair, Barry; P. H. Davis, Pleasant Vale; 
John Clutch, Kinderhook. 

1871 George W. Jones, Pittsfield, Chairman; 
Lewis Ham, Chambersburg; William Anderson, 
Flint; B. W. Flynn, Detroit; James A. Brown, 
Montezuma ; George W. Roberts, Pearl ; Thomas 
Reynolds, Perry ; James McWilliams, Griggs- 
ville; T. G. Pulliam, Newburg; Francis Frye, 
Hardin; T. J. Halford, Spring Creek; William 
Morrison, Fairmount ; John Preble, New Salem ; 
Hardin Goodin, Martinsburg ; A. J. Lovell, Pleas- 
ant Hill; William Grammar, Hadley; William 
Dustin, Atlas; James W. Burke, Derry; Calvin 
Davis, Barry; M. D. Massie, Pleasant Vale; John 
Clutch, Kinderhook. 

1872 George W. Jones, Pittsfield, Chairman; 
Lewis Ham, Chambersburg; B. W. Flynn, De- 
troit; William T. Dugdell, Montezuma; G. W. 
Roberts, Pearl; Thomas Reynolds, Perry; James 
McWilliams, Griggsville ; Strother Grigsby, New- 
burg ; Francis Frye, Hardin ; David Hollis, Spring 
Creek ; William Corey, Fairmount ; John Preble, 
New Salem ; William Fowler, Martinsburg ; A. J. 
Lovell, Pleasant Hill ; William Grammar, Hadley ; 
J. W. Burke, Derry ; William Dustin, Atlas ; Cal- 
vin Davis, Barry; M. D. Massie, Pleasant Vale; 
John Clutch, Kinderhook. 

1873 Lewis Hani, Pittsfield, Chairman ; David 
Pyle, Flint ; B. W. Flynn, Detroit ; Milton Grimes, 
Montezuma ; George W. Roberts, Pearl ; Thomas 
Reynolds, Perry ; James McWilliams, Griggs- 
ville; P. H. Cooper, Newburg; Wright Hicks. 
Hardin; F. J. Halford, Spring Creek; William 
Corey, Fairmount ; Addison Caldwell, New Sa- 
lem; Lewis Dutton, Pittsfield; William Fowler, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



93 



Martinsburg ; A. J. Lovell, Pleasant Hill; William 
Grammar, Hadley; Thomas H. Coley, Derry; 
Josiah Long, Atlas ; John P. Grubb, Barry ; John 
Horn, Pleasant Vale ; John Clutch, Kinderhook. 

1874 James H. Dennis, Chambersburg, Chair- 
man ; William Turnbull, Flint ; William Douglas, 
Detroit ; A. J. Worcester, Montezuma ; Andrew 
N. Hess, Pearl; Thomas Reynolds, Perr,y; James > 
McWilliams, Griggsville; Nathan Kelley, New- 
burg; Wright Hicks, Hardin; C. C. Melton, 
Spring Creek; William Corey, Fairmount; Addi- 
son Cadwell, New Salem ; Lewis Dutton, Pitts- 
field; Francis Fowler, Martinsburg; A. J. Lovell, 
Pleasant Hill; William Grammar, Hadley; Ma- 
berry Evans, Derry ; J. G. Adams, Atlas ; Calvin 
Davis, Barry ; John B. Horn, Pleasant Vale ; John 
Clutch, Kinderhook. 

1875 William B. Grimes, Pittsfield, Chairman; 
J. L. Metz, Chambersburg; Austin Wade, Flint; 
Henry Moler, Detroit ; A. J. Worcester, Monte- 
zuma; D. W. Miller, Pearl; Thomas Reynolds,"' 
Perry; James McWilliams, Griggsville; J. H. 
Farrington, Hardin ; C. C. Melton, Spring Creek ; 
R. B. McLaughlin, Fairmount ; Addison Cadwell, 
New Salem; Thomas Aiton, Martinsburg; A. J. 
Lovell, Pleasant Hill; William Grammar, Had- 
ley ; Maberry Evans, Derry ; J. G. Adams, Atlas ; 
Alex. White, Barry; M. D. Massie, Pleasant 
Vale; William Ross, Newburg; R. M. Murray, 
Kinderhook. 

1876 A. , J. Worcester, Montezuma, Chair- 
man ; J. L. Metz, Chambersburg ; Joseph Wilson, 
Flint; Henry Moler, Detroit; G. W. Roberts, 
Pearl; Z. Wade, Perry; George Pratt, Griggs- 
ville; C. P. Chapman, Newburg; R. R. Pollock, 
Spring Creek; R. B. McLaughlin, Fairmount; 
Addison Cadwell, New Salem; Wm. B. Grimes, 
Pittsfield; Thomas Aiton, Martinsburg; A. J. 
Lovell, Pleasant Hill; William Grammar, Had- 
ley; Maberry Evans, Derry; Samuel Taylor, At- 
las ; W. F. White, Barry ; R. M. Murray, Kinder- 
hook ; John W. Brammell, Pleasant Vale ; J. H. 
Farrington, Hardin ; F. A. Douglas, Levee. 

1877 J. W. Burke, Derry, Chairman; George 
Ham, Chambersburg; Joseph Wilson, Flint; Da- 
vid Stoner, Detroit; Charles E. Bolin, Monte- 
zuma; A. N. Hess, Pearl; Z. Wade, Perry;' 
George Pratt, Griggsville; C. P. Chapman, New- 



burg; Wright Hicks, Hardin; W. R. Wilson, 
Spring Creek; R. B. McLaughlin, Fairmount; 
Addison Cadwell, New Salem; Lewis Dutton, 
Pittsfield; William Fowler, Martinsburg; John 
S. Lockwood, Pleasant Vale; William Grammar, 
Hadley; Samuel Taylor, Atlas; W. F. White, 
Barry; F. L. Zernberg, Pleasant Hill; R. M. 
Murray, Kinderhook; Marcus Hardy, Levee. 

1878 Calvin Davis, Barry, Chairman; George 
Ham, Chambersburg; Joseph Wilson, Flint; W. 
T. Smith, Detroit; C. E. Bolin, Montezuma; G. 
W. Roberts, Pearl ; J. W. Grimes, Perry ; George X 
Pratt, Griggsville; C. P. Chapman, Newburg; J. 
H. Griffin, Hardin ; M. W. Bogart, Spring Creek ; 
Dele Elder, Fairmount; John Preble, New Sa- 
lem; Lewis Dutton, Pittsfield; P. H. Sullivan, 
Martinsburg; A. L. Galloway, Pleasant Hill; H. 
L. Hadsell, Hadley; T. H. Coley, Derry; Samuel 
Taylor, -Atlas; J. S. Lockwood, Pleasant Vale; 
Samuel Clark, Kinderhook; Marcus Hardy, 
Levee. 

18796. W. Flynn, Detroit, Chairman; J. C. 
Newton, Chambersburg; David Pyle, Flint; 
N. D. McEvans, Montezuma; G. W. Rob-)( 
erts, Pearl; Z. Wade, Perry; George Pratt, 
Griggsville ; C. P. Chapman, Newburg ; 
George Main, Hardin; C. C. Melton, Spring 
Creek; Dele Elder, Fairmount; Abel Dunham, 
New Salem; H. S. Lloyd, Pittsfield; P. H. Sul- 
livan, Martinsburg; A. L. Galloway. Pleasant 
Hill; Orrin Campbell, Hadley; T. H. Coley, 
Derry; C. B. Dustin, Atlas; E. A. Crandall, 
Perry; M. D. Massie, Pleasant Vale; John Clutch, 
Kinderhook ; Marcus Hardy, Levee. 

1880 A. L. Galloway, Pleasant Hill, Chair- 
man; J. C. Newton, Chambersburg; N. D. Mc- 
Evers, Montezuma ; W. D. Hanks, Pearl ; George \ 
Pratt, Griggsville; George Main, Hardin; Dele 
Elder, Fairmount ; R. M. Murray, Pittsfield ; 
John Eckes, Hadley; John Clutch, Kinderhook; 
N. P. Hart, Barry ; Marcus Hardy, Levee ; J. F. 
M. Meredith, Detroit; David Pyle, Flint; Asa 
Hinman, Perry; C. P. Chapman, Newburg; 
Francis Fowler, Spring Creek ; Abel Dunham, 
New Salem ; P. H. Sullivan, Martinsburg ; T. H. 
Coley, Derry ; C. B. Dustin, Atlas ; Eugene Gray, 
Pleasant Vale ; C. F. Lovett, Ross. 

1881 J. C. Newton, Chambersburg, Chair- 



94 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



man ; Joseph Wilson, Flint ; Elisha Hayden, Mon- 
tezuma ; L. W. McMahan, Griggsville ; James G. 
Hayden, Hardin ; T. M. Coss, Fairmount ; Julius 
Swartz, Martinsburg ; J. W. Eckes, Hadley ; C. B. 
Dustin, Atlas; N. P. Hart, Barry; M. M. Aid- 
rich, Cincinnati; Marcus Hardy, Levee; W. D. 

yHanks, Pearl; H. D. Williams, Detroit; Asa 
Hinman, Perry; C. P. Chapman, Newburg; 
David Hollis, Spring Creek ; A. Dow, Pittsfield ; 
A. L. Galloway, Pleasant Hill ; William Evans, 
Derry; Henry Ferguson, Ross; Eugene Gray, 
Pleasant Vale ; Smith Hull, Kinderhook ; W. H. 
Winterbothom, New Salem. 

1882 Marcus Hardy, Levee, Chairman; Ed- 
ward Irving, Chambersburg ; Joseph Wilson, 
Flint; Elisha Hayden, Montezuma; W. H. Yates, 
Griggsville; Harvey Weaver, Hardin; J. R. 
Walker, Fairmount; A. Dow, Pittsfield; A: L. 
Galloway, Pleasant Hill; T. H. Coley, Derry; 
Henry Ferguson, Ross; J. H. Brammell, Pleas- 
ant Vale; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; H. D. Wil- 
liams, Detroit ; J. G. Phillips, Perry ; C. P. Chap- 
man, Newburg ; C. C. Melton, Spring Creek ; W. 
H. Winterbothom, New Salem; Julius Swartz, 
Martinsburg; Solon Huntley, Hadley; Samu.l 
Taylor, Atlas; N. P. Hart, Barry;. John F. Hall, 
Cincinnati ; W. D. Hanks, Pearl. 

1883 Marcus Hardy, Levee, Chairman ; Ed- 
ward Irving, Chambersburg; H. D. Williams. 

^Detroit ; C. C. Lammy, Pearl ; William H. Yates, 
Griggsville ; Harvey Weaver, Hardin ; John R. 
Walker, Fairmount; Albert Fishell, Pittsfield; 
A. L. Galloway, Pleasant Hill ; Clem L. Hoskins, 
Derry; Henry Ferguson, Ross; J. H. Brammell, 
Pleasant Vale; J. F. Hall, Cincinnati; Joseph 
Wilson, Flint; Thomas N. Hall, Montezuma; 
Asahel Hinman, Perry; Hardin Westlake, New- 
burg ; D. H. Johnson, Spring Creek ; John Preble. 
New Salem; Julius Swartz, Martinsburg; Solon 
Huntley, Hadley; Thomas Fesler, Atlas; N. P. 
Hart, Barry; Smith Hull, Kinderhook. 

1884 Marcus Hardy, Levee, Chairman : Ed- 
ward Irving. Chambersburg ; Thomas Shaw, Mar- 
tinsburg ; John W. Cannon, Pleasant Hill : Wil- 
liam Grammar, Hadley ; H. L- Anderson, Atlas ; 
Asa Winter, Newburg ; David Benn, Hardin ; D. 
Hollis. Spring Creek ; E. R. Rust, Fairmount ; 
John Preble, New Salem ; H. Ferguson, Ross ; 



C. L. Hoskins, Derry; J. Wilson, Flint; H. D. 
Williams, Detroit ; T. N. Hall, Montezuma ; J. G. 
Phillips, Perry ; Frank Hatch, Griggsville ; N. P. 
Hart, Barry; H. B. Atkinson, Pleasant Vale; 
Smith Hull, Kinderhook ; Daniel Caffrey, Cincin- 
nati ; E. F. Binns, Pittsfield; George Roberts, 
Pearl. 

1885 Marcus Hardy, Levee, Chairman ; Ed- 
ward Irving, Chambersburg; H. D. Williams, 
Detroit : Ransom Kesinger, Pearl ; W. H. 
Yates, Griggsville ; William Cunningham, 
Hardin; E. R. Rust, Fairmount; E. F. 
Binns, Pittsfield; George Watson, Hadley; 
H. L. Anderson, Atlas ; H. B. Atkinson, Pleasant 
Vale ; J. F. Hall, Cincinnati ; N. F. Brown, Ross ; 
John Clark, Flint ; T. N. Hall, Montezuma ; W. 
S. Johns, Perry; C. P. Chapman, Newburg; 
David Hollis, Spring Creek ; John Preble, New 
Salem; H. T. Shaw, Martinsburg; William 
Evans, Derry ; William Hoyt, Barry ; Smith 
Hull, Kinderhook; A. L. Galloway, Pleasant 
Vale. 

J886 E. F. Binns, Pittsfield, Chairman ; Ed- 
ward Irving Chambersburg ; W. J. Smitherman, 
Detroit ; R. Kesinger, Pearl ; James A. Farrand, 
Griggsville ; William Cunningham, Hardin ; Dele 
Elder, Fairmount; H. T. Shaw, Martinsburg; 
William Grammar, Hadley ; H. L. Anderson, At- 
las ; T. A. Retallic, Barry; Smith Hull, Kinder- 
hook ; Marcus Hardy, Levee ; John Clark, Flint : 
C. E. Bolin, Montezuma ; O. F. Johns, Perry ; 
C. P. Chapman, Newburg ; C. C. Melton, Spring 
Creek; D. E. Donly, New Salem; A. L. Gallo- 
way, Pleasant Hill; William Pryor, Derry; N. 
Brown, Ross ; H. B. Atkinson, Pleasant Vale ; M. 
M. Aldrich, Cincinnati. 

1887 A. L. Galloway, Pleasant Hill, Chair- 
man ; Edward Irving, Chambersburg ; W. J. 
Smitherman, Detroit ; George Roberts, Pearl ; J. 
A. Farrand, Griggsville ; D. L. -Benn, Hardin ; 
Dele Elder, Fairmount; George Barber, Pitts- 
field ; W. A. Peck, Hadley ; H. L. Anderson, At- 
las : T. A. Retallic, Barry ; Smith Hull, Kinder- 
hook ; Marcus Hardy, Levee ; John Clark, Flint ; 
C. E. Bolin, Montezuma ; O. F. Johns, Perry : C. 
P. Chapman, Newburg ; C. C. Melton, Spring 
Creek ; W. H. Laird, New Salem : H. T. Shaw, 
Martinsburg: W. H. Pryor, Derry; William 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



95 



Lovett, Ross ; H. B. Atkinson, Pleasant Vale ; E. 
G. Lyon, Cincinnati. 

1888 H. B. Atkinson, Pkasant Vale, Chair- 
man; Edward Irving, Chambersburg ; H. E. Wil- 
liams, Detroit ; Ransom Kessinger, Pearl ; J. A. 
Farrand, Griggsville; D. L. Benn, Hardin; Dele 
Elder, Fairmount ; R. T. Hicks, Pittsfield ; I. D. 
Webster,' Pleasant Hill ; W. H. Pryor, Derry ; H. 
H. Duff, Ross; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; Mar- 
cus Hardy, Levee ; Wallace Parker, Flint ; O. W. 
Bagby, Montezuma ; O. F. Johns, Perry ; Asa 
Winter, Newburg ; William Gheen, Spring Creek ; 
W. H. Laird, New Salem ; H. G. Shaw, Martins- 
burg ; W. A. Peck, Hadley ; H. L. Anderson, At- 
las; T. A. Retallic, Barry; E. G. Lyon, 
Cincinnati. 

1889 H. B - Atkinson, Pleasant Vale, Chair- 
man ; Ed Irving, Chambersburg ; H. E. Williams, 
Detroit; A. N. Hess, Pearl; J. A. Farrand, 
Griggsville; D. L. Benn, Hardin; W. D. Waters, 
Fairmount; George Barber, Pittsfield; I. D. Web- 
ster, Pleasant Hill; William Evans, Derry; 
George Hoskins, Ross; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; 
Marcus Hardy, Levee; John Clark, Flint; O. W. 
Bagby, Montezuma; Asa Hinman, Perry; Asa 
Winter, Newburg ; C. C. Melton, Spring Creek ; 
W. H. Laird, New Salem; H. T. Shaw, Mar- 
tinsburg; John McCleery, Hadley; C. R. Shaw, 
Atlas; T. A. Retallic, Barry; Daniel Caffrey, 
Cincinnati. 

1890 E. F. Binns, Pittsfield, Chairman; Ed 
Irving, Chambersburg; W. J. Smitherman, De- 
troit ; R. Kessinger, Pearl ; J. A. Farrand, Griggs- 
ville ; Hayes Colvin, Hardin ; Leander Vail, Fair- 
mount; H. T. Shaw, Martinsburg; John Mc- 
Cleery, Hadley ; C. R. Shaw, Atlas ; John Weber, 
Barry; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; Marcus Hardy, 
Levee ; John Clark, Flint ; William Hess, Monte- 
zuma ; O. F. Johns, Perry ; H. J. Westlake, New- 
burg ; C. C. Melton, Spring Creek ; W. H. Laird, 
New Salem ; I. D. Webster, Pleasant Hill ; J. R. 
Easley, Derry; George Hoskins, Ross; Nelson 
Morey, Pleasant Vale; H. B. Jeffries, Cincinnati. 

1891 E. F. Binns, Pittsfield, Chairman; J. C. 
Newton, Chambersburg ; O. F. Johns, Perry ; H. 
J. Westlake, Newburg; W. D. Waters, Fair- 
mount; W. A. Peck, Hadley; George Hoskins, 
Ross; John Weber, Barry; Smith Hull, Kinder- 



hook; William Hess, Montezuma; Hayes Colvin, 
Hardin; James Cawthorn, Flint; John Clark, 
Flint; Walter Scarborough, Detroit; J. A. Far- 
rand, Griggsville; Asahel Duff, Spring Creek; 
Ira Roberts, Pleasant Hill; J. R. Easley, Derry; 
Werner Heidloff, Pleasant Vale; R. Kessinger, 
Pearl; H. B. Jeffries, Cincinnati; Marcus Hardy, 
Levee; C. R. Shaw, Atlas; W. H. Laird, New 
Salem; H. T. Shaw, Martinsburg. 

1892 E. F. Binns, Pittsfield, Chairman; J. C. 
Newton, Chambersburg; Walter Scarborough, 
Detroit; A. N. Hess, Pearl; J. A. Farrand, 
Griggsville ; George Main, Hardin ; W. D. Wa- 
ters, Fairmount; Elliott Baker, Martinsburg; 
J. R. Easley, Derry; William Bright, Barry; 
Smith Hull, Kinderhook ; Marcus Hardy, Levee ; 
George Hoskins, Ross; James Cawthorn, Flint; 
William Hess, Montezuma ; O. F. 'Johns, Perry ; 
H. J. Westlake, Newburg; Asahel Duff, Spring 
Creek; W. R. Hooper, New Salem; W. A. Peck, 
Hadley; T. J. Fesler, Atlas; W. Heideloff, 
Pleasant Vale; George W. Klitz, Cincinnati; Ira 
Roberts, Pleasant Hill. 

1893 E. F. Binns, Pittsfield, Chairman; James 
Cawthorn, Flint; A. N. Hess, Pearl; W. R. 
Hooper, New Salem; William Bright, Barry; 
George W. Klitz, Cincinnati; H. J. Westlake, 
Newburg; Walter Scarborough, Detroit; Asahel 
Duff, Spring Creek; M. F. Godwin, Pleasant 
Hill ; Henry Young, Ross ; Thomas J. Fesler, At- 
las ; F. L. Hall, Perry; William Hess, Monte- 
zuma ; George Main, Hardin ; Elliot Baker, Mar- 
tinsburg; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; J. R. Easley, 
Derry; George W. Gerard, Chambersburg; L. W. 
McMahan, Griggsville; Dele Elder, Fairmount; 
Charles Johnson, Hadley; William I. Ware, 
Pleasant Vale ; W. H. Griggs, Levee. 

!894 J. R. Easley, Derry, Chairman; J. L. 
Cawthorn, Flint ; George Williams, Pearl ; W. R. 
Hooper, New Salem ; Fred Jaritz, Martinsburg ; 
William Bright, Barry ; W. P. Kennedy, Cincin- 
nati ; G. W. Gerard, Chambersburg; F. L. Hall, 
Perry; H. J. Westlake, Newburg; Dele Elder, 
Fairmount; Charles Johnson, Hadley; W. I. 
Ware, Pleasant Vale ; William Hess, Montezuma ; 
George Main, Hardin; Thomas N. Hall, Pitts- 
field; C. I. Rupert, Atlas; Smith Hull, Kinder- 
hook; Thomas Davis, Levee; W. Scarborough, 



9 6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Detroit; L. W. McMahan, Griggsville; Asahel 
Duff, Spring Creek; M. F. Godwin, Pleasant 
Hill ; Henry Young, Ross. 

1895 John McTucker, Hadley, Chairman; J. 
L. Cawthorn, Flint; G. W. Williams, Pearl; W. 
R. Hooper, New Salem ; Fred Jaritz, Martins- 
burg; William Bright, Barry; W. P. Kennedy, 
Cincinnati; G. W. Gerard, Chambersburg ; F. L. 
Hall, Perry; Alva R. Foreman, Newburg; Ed R. 
Lake, Fairmount; J. R. Easley, Derry; John M. 
Ross, Pleasant Vale ; William Hess, Montezuma ; 
George Main, Hardin; T. N. Hall, Pittsfield; C. 
I. Rupert; Smith Hull, Kinderhook; Thomas 
Davis, Levee; Nathan Sloan, Detroit; C. M. Sim- 
mons, Griggsville; Asahel Duff, Spring Creek;. 
M. F. Godwin, Pleasant Hill; John L. Capps, 
Ross. 

1896 Henry Hall, Derry, Chairman; Frank 
Wade, Flint; G. W. Williams, Pearl; W. R. 
Hooper, New Salem; Elliott Baker, Martinsburg; 
J. G. Woolery, Barry; J. W. Smith, Cincinnati; 
G. W. Gerard, Chambersburg ; F. L. Hall, Perry ; 
A. R. Foreman, Newburg; E. R. Lake, Fair- 
mount; John McTucker, Hadley; John M. Ross, 
Pleasant Vale; William Hess, Montezuma; 
George Main, Hardin ; M. R. Peckenpaugh, Pitts- 
field ; C. I. Rupert, Atlas ; John McCrory, Kinder- 
hook; W. H. Griggs, Levee; Nathan Sloan, De- 
troit; C. M. Simmons, Griggsville; Asahel Duff, 
Spring Creek; M. F. Godwin, Pleasant Hill; 
J. L. Capps, Ross. 

1897 ! L. Lemon, Spring Creek, Chairman; 
Frank Wade, Flint; G. W. Williams, Pearl; W. 
R. Hooper, New Salem; Elliot Baker, Martins- 
burg; J. G. Woolery, Barry; J. W. Smith, Cin- 
cinnati; S. J. Hobbs, Chambersburg; W. T. Rey- 
nolds, Perry ; A. R. Foreman, Newburg ; J. R. 
Collard, Pleasant Hill; W. A. Strubinger, Derry; 
H, E. Reed, Pleasant Vale ; William Hess, Mon- 
tezuma ; George Main, Hardin ; M. R. Pecken- 
paugh, Pittsfield ; C. I. Rupert, Atlas ; J. J. Mc- 
Crory, Kinderhook ; A. D. Eckman, Levee ; Harry 
Dempsey, Detroit; C. M. Simmons, Griggsville; 
E. R. Lake, Fairmount; Arthur Elder, Hadley; 
Henry Young, Ross ; George McFarland, Pleasant 
Vale. 

1898 I. L. Lemon, Spring Creek, Chairman; 
S. J. Hobbs, Chambersburg; W. T. Reynolds, 



Perry; A. R. Foreman, Newburg; J. R. Collard, 
Pleasant Hill ; W. A. Strubinger, Derry ; George 
McFarland, Pleasant Vale; William Hess, Mon- 
tezuma; William Pringle, Hardin; M. R. Peck- 
enpaugh, Pittsfield; Joseph Dober, Atlas; W. P. 
Kennedy, Cincinnati ; A. D. Eckman, Levee ; W. 
G. Hubbard, Hadley; Harry Dempsey, Detroit; 

C. M. Simons, Griggsville; E. R. Lake, Fair- 
mount ; Arthur Elder, Hadley ; Henry Young, 
Ross; Robert Kilpatrick, Flint; G. W. Roberts, 
Pearl; D. Cover, Jr., New Salem; H. T. Shaw, 
Martinsburg; Calvin Davis, Barry; J. J. Mc- 
Crory, Kinderhook; C. H. Hurt, Barry. 

18991. D. Webster, Pleasant Hill, Chairman; 
Robert Kilpatrick, Flint; G. W. Roberts, Pearl; 

D. Cover, Jr., New Salem; H. T. Shaw, Martins- 
burg; C. H. Hurt, Barry; W. P. Kennedy, Cin- 
cinnati ; S. J. Hobbs, Chambersburg ; W. T. Rey- 
nolds, Perry ; A. R. Foreman, Newburg ; Thomas 
J. Waters, Fairmount; W. A. Strubinger, Derry; 
George McFarland, Pleasant Vale ; William Hess, 
Montezuma ; William Pringle, Hardin ; M. R. 
Peckenpaugh, Pittsfield; Joseph Dober, Atlas; 
J. J. McCrory, Kinderhook ; A. D. Eckman, 
Levee; W. Scarborough, Detroit; G. M. Smith, 
Griggsville; C. C. Melton, Spring Creek; M. C. 
Brown, Hadley ; Henry Young, Ross. 

1900 I. D. Webster, Pleasant Hill, Chairman; 
S. J. Hobbs, Chambersburg; W. T. Reynolds, 
Perry; A. R. Foreman, Newburg; T. J. Waters, 
Fairmount ; W. A. Strubinger, Derry ; Geo. Mc- 
Farland, Pleasant Vale ; C. E. Bolin, Montezuma ; 
Hayes Colvin, Hardin; A. L. McDonald, Pitts- 
field ; George Adams, Atlas ; John Walsh, Kinder- 
hook ; A. D. Eckman, Levee ; W. Scarborough, 
Detroit ; G. M. Smith, Griggsville ; C. C. Melton, 
Spring Creek; M. C. Brown, Hadley; Henry 
Young, Ross; R. Kilpatrick, Flint; G. W. Rob- 
erts, Pearl; D. Cover, Jr., New Salem; H. T. 
Shaw, Martinsburg; N. R. Davis, Barry; J. W. 
Smith, Cincinnati. 

1901!. D. Webster, Pleasant Hill, Chairman ; 
Robert Kilpatrick, Flint; G. W. Roberts, Pearl; 
D. Cover, Jr., New Salem ; H. T. Shaw, Martins- 
burg ; N. R. Davis, Barry ; J. W. Smith, Cincin- 
nati ; S. J. Hobbs, Chambersburg; J. B. Gregory, 
Perry ; A. R. Foreman, Newburg ; T. J. Waters, 
Fairmount ; E. T. Strubinger, Derry ; W. I. Ware, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



97 



Pleasant Vale; C. E. Bolin, Montezuma ; Hayes 
Colvin, Hardin; A. L. McDonald, Pittsfield ; G. 
S. Adams, Atlas; John Walch, Kinderhook ; A. 
D. Eckman, Levee; Samuel Williams, Detroit; 
G. M. Smith, Griggsville ; Arch Wall, Spring 
Creek; A. B. Wike, Hadley; Henry Young, 
Ross. 

1902 C. E. Bolin, Montezuma, Chairman ; S. 
J. Hobbs, Chambersburg ; J. B. Gregory, Perry; 

A. R. Foreman, Newburg ; T. J. Waters, Fair- 
mount ; A. B. Wike, Hadley; Henry Young, 
Ross ; W. J. Garner, Atlas ; J. W. Smith, Cincin- 
nati ; W. E. Allen, Levee ; N. R. Davis, Barry ; 
Robert Burbridge, Hardin; John Biddle, Flint; 
Samuel Williams, Detroit; G. M. Smith, Griggs- 
ville; Arch Wall, Spring Creek; I. D. Webster, 
Pleasant Hill; E. T. Strubinger, Derry ; W. I. 
Ware, Pleasant Vale ; John Walch, Kinderhook ; 
William Shinn, Martinsburg; John Seigle, Pitts- 
field; D. Cover, Jr., New Salem; J. H. Stillwell, 
Pearl. 

1903 C. E. Bolin, Montezuma, Chairman ; 
John Biddle, Flint; Robert Burbridge, Hardin; 
John Seigle, Pittsfield ; W. J. Garner, Atlas ; John 
Walch, Kinderhook; J. W. Stead, Griggsville; 
Arch Wall, Spring Creek ; A. B. Wike, Hadley ; 
Werner Heidloff, Pleasant Vale ; E. B. Tolbert ; 
Chambersburg ; W. T. Reynolds, Perry ; Thomas 
Troutner, Ross ; J. H. Stillwell, Pearl ; D. Cover, 
Jr.. New Salem ; W. T. Shinn, Martinsburg ; X. 
R. Davis. Barry ; J. W. Smith, Cincinnati ; A. R. 
Foreman, Newburg; M. F. Godwin, Pleasant 
Hill; E. T. Strubinger, Derry; T. E. Aldrich, 
Levee: G. W. Seybold, Fairmount ; S. Williams, 
Detroit. 

1904 C. E. Bolin. Montezuma, Chairman ; E. 

B. Tolbert, Chambersburg ; W. T. Reynolds, Per- 
ry; A. R. Foreman. Newburg; G. W. Seybold, 
Fairmount ; A. B. Wike, Hadley ; Thomas Trout- 
ner. Ross: G. W. Darrah. Flint; Robert Bur- 
bridge, Hardin ; John Seigle, Pittsfield : W. D. 
Miller. Atlas: John Walch, Kinderhook; T. E. 
Aldrich, Levee ; Samuel Williams, Detroit ; J. W. 
Stead, Griggsville ; Arch Wall, Spring Creek ; M. 
F. Godwin. Pleasant Hill; E. T. Strubinger. 
Derry ; W. Heidloff. Pleasant Vale ; J. S. Crow- 
der. Pearl ; S. B. Peacock, New Salem ; W. T. 
Shinn, Martinsburg ; N. R. Davis, Barry ; G. W. 
Lowe, Cincinnati. 



1905 Samuel Williams, Detroit, Chairman; 
G. W. Darrah, Flint; Smith Crowder, Pearl; S. 
B. Peacock, New Salem; W. T. Shinn, Martins- 
burg; N. R. Davis, Barry; G. W. Lowe, Cincin- 
nati; John Wilson, Fairmount; Harry Peck, 
Hadley; E. T. Strubinger, Derry; Henry A. 
Ham, Chambersburg; J. S. Felmly, Griggsville; 
M. F. Godwin, Pleasant Hill ; C. E. Bolin, Mon- 
tezuma ; Robert Burbridge, Hardin ; John Seigle, 
Pittsfield; W. D. Miller, Atlas; John Walch, 
Kinderhook ; T. E. Aldrich, Levee ; Thomas 
Troutner, Ross ; C. C. Dewell, Pleasant Vale ; A. 
L. Kiser, Newburg ; W. T. Reynolds, Perry ; A. 
F. Turnbaugh, Spring Creek. 

PIKE COUNTY OFFICIALS. 

Pike county circuit clerks have been James 
Whitney My Lord Coke, 1821-5; George W. 
Hight, 1825-7; William Ross, 1827-35; James 
Davis, 1835 ; John J. Lombaugh, 1835-43 ; P. N. 
O. Thompson, 1843-52 ; James Kenney, 1852-6 ; 
W. R. Archer, 1856-60; George W. Jones, 1860-4, 
1876-80; J. H. Crane, 1864-8; J. J. Topliff, 
1868-72; J. A. Rider, 1872-6; W. R. Wilson, 
1880-4; E. R. Motley, 1884-8; George W. 
Archer, 1888-1896; Henry Bowers, 1896-1904; 
J. E. Dinsmore, 1904. 

The county clerks were: J. W. Whitney, 1821 ; 
George W. Britton, 1825-6; William Ross, 
1826-34; James Davis, 1834-8; Asa D. Cooper, 
1836; William D. Boling, 1838-43; Henry T. 
Mudd, 1843-7; J hn J- Collard, 1847-9; p ter v - 
Shankland, 1849-53 ; Austen Barber, 1853-7 ;Stro- 
ther Griggsby, 1857-61; William Stears, 1861-9; 
William B. Grimes, 1869-73; J- L - Fl 7 e . ^73-?', 
E. F. Binns, 1877-81; C. I. Swan, 1881-6; V. 
A. Grimes, 1886-98; J. R. Gicker, 1898. Only 
four of the circuit clerks and five of the county 
clerks are living. 

The county has had seventeen circuit and 
eighteen county clerks from 1821 to 1905, and I 
knew all but seven of them. 

The county has had the following school super- 
intendents : 'j. G. Pettingill, 1865] John N. De- 
well, 1869 ; "j. W. 7ohnson. 1873 ; William H. 
Crow, 1877: R. M. Hitch. 1886; W. R. Hatfield, 
1894; J. B. Gragg, 1897; Miss Caroline Grote, 
present incumbent. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



The following served as school commissioners : 
Joseph H. Goodin, 1832; Lyman Scott, 1833; 
D. B. Bush, 1841 ; T. G. Trumbull, 1845 ; James 
F. Hyde, 1849; M. H. Abbott, 1851; John D. 
Thomson, 1853; Joseph J. Topliff, 1859; J. G. 
Pettingill, 1861. 

The county has had the following surveyors: 
Stephen Dewey, 1821-24; James W. Whitney, 
1824; Charles Pollock, 1834; David Johnston, 
1835-39; Joseph Goodin, 1839; David Johnston, 
1841-49; James H. Ferguson, 1849; A. G. Cham- 
berlain, 1853; H. P. Buchanan, 1857; John A. 
Harvey, 1859; Hiram J. Harris, 1863; Isaac A. 
Clare, 1875: George H. Whittaker, 1882; Jesse 
Bowen, 1895; M. Z. Smith, 1900; H. H. Hardy, 
1905. 

Pike county's coroners have been as follows: 
Daniel Whipple, 1822; Israel N. Burt, 1832; 
Benjamin E. Dunning, 1834; Stephen St. John, 
1838; James Brown, 1842; C. H. Brown, 1844; 
Cyrus B. Hull, 1846; Edward Connet, 1850; R. 
S. Underwood, 1852 ; Samuel Sitton, 1854 ; Wil- 
liam Benn, 1856; H. St. John, 1857; Lewis E. 
Hayden, 1858; G. W. Molinix, 1860; Eli Farris, 
1862; Sherman Brown, 1868; Martin Camp, 
1872; Martin V. Shive, 1874; A. C. Peebles, 
1876; Fred Ottowa, 1879; L . N. Ferris, 1880; 
J. Windmiller, 1884; John Morton, 1888; D. P. 
H. Marshall, 1892; Daniel Weeks, 1896; I. L. 
Lemon, 1900; L. J. Huntley, 1904. 

Pike county has had the following treasurers : 
Nathaniel Shaw, 1821 and 1825 ; Nathaniel 
Hinckley, 1822 ; Leonard Ross, 1823 ; Henry J. 
Ross, 1824; John Ross, 1827-9; Isaac Vandeven- 
ter, 1829-34; John Barney, 1834-7; John Britton, 
1838; Jones Clark, 1839-43 and 1850; William 
Watson, 1843-7; Samuel L. Crane, 1847-9 an d 
1850; Charles Mason, 1849; William T. Harper, 
1851-3 ; Strother Griggsby, 1853-63 ; R. A. Mc- 
Clintock, 1863-5; David S. Hill, 1865-7; L - J- 
Smitherman, 1867-71 ; Thomas Gray, 1871-3 ; 
David Hollis, 1873-5 ', Thomas Reynolds, 1875-7 '< 
R. M. Murray, 1877-9; B - W. Flinn, 1879-84; 
Addison Cadwell, 1884-8; Thomas H. Coley, 
1888-92; Jacob Windmiller, 1892-6; Thomas H. 
Ward, 1896-1900; Daniel L. Weeks, 1900-4; 
A. L. McDannold, present incumbent. 

Twenty-eight in all, twenty of whom I knew. 



All but six have joined the silent majority. The 
first treasurer received $765, and the others have 
handled from $5,000 to $50,000 a year. One of 
the first probate judges received only $16.60 as 
salary. Money was scarce and doubtless court 
business was light. 

"My Lord Coke" was the money maker in 
1822. He received $50 as sheriff, $30 for circuit 
clerk, $30 for clerk of the commissioner's court, 
and $50 as probate judge, $160 in all. David 
Dutton, one of the first commissioners of Pike 
county, received a small compensation, and was a 
resident here for nearly forty years. He died in 
New Canton in 1854, perhaps the richest man on 
the west side. 

Pike county has had the following sheriffs : 
Rigdon C. Fenton, 1821 ; Leonard Ross, 1822 to 
1829; Levi Huntley, 1827; Nathaniel Hinckley, 
1832; J. W. Seeley, whig, 1831 to 1838; Alfred 
Grubb, democrat, 1840; Ephraim Cannon, demo- 
crat, 1842, 1844; D. D. Hicks, democrat, 1846; 
S. R. Gray, ind. democrat, 1850; Elisha Hurt, 
whig, 1852; G. T. Edwards, whig, 1854; 
W. S. Dennis, democrat, 1856; John Hous- 
ton, democrat, 1858; Joshua Woosley, dem- 
ocrat, 1860; P. H. Davis, democrat, 1862; J. B. 
Landrum, democrat, 1864 ; W. G. Hubbard, dem- 
ocrat, 1866; J. J. Manker, democrat, 1868: 
Joseph McFarland, democrat, 1870, 1872 ; A. 
Simpkins, democrat, 1874, 1882; E. W. Blades, 
democrat, 1876, 1884 ; Theo. Kellogg, republican, 
1878; J. Windmiller, democrat, 1886; M. H. 
Darrah, democrat, 1890; Sam Knox, democrat, 
1892; P. P. Johnson, democrat, 1896; G. W. 
Smith, present incumbent. 

Just half of the number named are living. I 
personally knew all but five. All were compe- 
tent and able officials, and laid down their offices 
at the expiration of their terms with general sat- 
isfaction to the public. 

Pike county has had two members of congress : 
Scott Wike, three terms and W. E. Williams. 
one term. The county has had the following 
presidential electors: William A. Grimshaw, 
Thomas Worthington, jr., and A. C. Matthews. 
Mr. Grimshaw was the messenger to take the 
state vote to Washington. 

Alex. Starn and O. M. Hatch were secretaries 




COUNTY JAIL 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



101 



of state. W. R. Archer, Harvey Dunn, W. A. 
Grimshaw and Montgomery Blair were members 
of the constitutional convention of 1847. Alex. 
xStarn of 1862 and W. R. Archer of 1870. 

The state senators from Pike county were 
Henry J. Ross, William Ross, Thomas 
Worthington, Sr., Hugh L. Sutphin, Solomon 
Parsons, J. M. Bush, W. R. Archer, J. 
W. Johnson and Harry Higbee. The fol- 
lowing were members of the Illinois house of 
representatives : N. Hanson, John Shaw, Leo 
Roberts, H. J. Ross, John Turney, Joel Wright, 
William Ross, Solomon Parsons, Parvin Paulen, 
William Blair, Adolph Wheeler, B. D. Brown, 
Richard Kerr, Oscar Long, Alfred Grubb, James 
McWilliams, Alex. Starn, William P. Harpole, 
James M. Higgins, Tyre Jennings, O. M. Hatch, 
Hugh L. Sutphin, C. L. Higbee, J. L. Grimes, 
Gilbert J. Shaw, W. R. Archer; Scott Wike, J. 
H. Dennis, A. Mittower, Charles Kenney, Albert 
Landrum, M. D. Massie, A. C. Matthews, J. L. 
Underwood, Thos, Worthington, jr., H. D. L. 
Griggsby, A. Dow, W. I. Klein, F. L. Hall, T. A. 
Retallic, A. G. Crawford, I. D. Webster. Out 
of forty-two only ten are living who were in the 
general assembly from 1820 to 1905. 

The county has had the following circuit 
judges: C. L. Higbee, A. C. Matthews, Jeffer- 
son Orr, Harry Higbee; and the following pro- 
bate or county judges : James Ward, Charles 
Harrington, Alfred Grubb, John W. Allen, R. M. 
Atkinson, Strother Griggsby, Edward Doocy, 
William B. Grimes, B. F. Bradburn. Judges of 
the appellate court: C. L. Higbee and Harry 
Higbee. 

THE PIKE COUNTY BAR. 



The county was originally in the first judicial 
circrit and has ever been prominent in this great 
state. Some of the greatest and most famous men 
of the state and nation have practiced at this bar. 
namely : Abraham Lincoln, "the greatest man 
who ever came in the tide of time ;" Stephen A. 
Douglas, "the little giant of Illinois;" General 
E. D. Baker, "the superb orator ;" General John J. 
Hardin, a martyr of the Mexican war; Milton 
Hay, Pike county's steadfast friend; O. H. 



Browning, a member of Lincoln's cabinet ; Ne- 
hemiah Bushnell, a great United States court 
lawyer; Governor Richard Yates, the war gov- 
ernor ; Samuel D. Lockwood ; Lyman Trumbull ; 
W. A. Richardson ; Calvin A. Warren ; Murray 
McConnell ; Arch Williams ; Jackson Grimshaw ; 
Daniel H. Gilmer ; I. N. Morris ; Z. N. Garbutt ; 
Alfred Grubb ; Joseph Kline ; William R. Archer ; 
William A. Grimshaw; R. M. Atkinson; J. L. 
Dobbin ; James S. Irwin ; James F. Greathouse ; 
H. D. L. Griggsby ; Thomas Worthington ; J. L. 
Underwood ; S. V. Hayden ; J. M. Bush ; Chaun- 
cey L. Higbee; Scott Wike; and D. B. Bush, who 
was a member of the bar in Massachusetts in 1814 
and came here in 1836. All of the above have 
passed away save J. M. Bush, Thomas Worthing- 
ton and S. V. Hayden. 

The present Pike county bar is as follows: 
Judge Harry Higbee, Joseph M. Bush, A. C. 
Matthews,' Jtefrerson Orr, A. G. Crawford, Ed- 
ward Doocy, William Mumford, W. E. Williams, 
A. Clay Williams, B. T. Bradburn, Paul F. 
Grote, Ray N. Anderson, A. C. Bentley, H. T. 
Bush, Edward Yates, W. H. Crow, J. W. Stauf- 
fer, L. T. Graham, George C. Weaver, Edwin 
Johnson, Mark Bradburn, J. D. Hess, Frank Du- 
lany, W. I. Klein and George Hinman. A little 
of the prominence of some of these disciples of 
Blackstone is interesting now and will be more so 
as time wings its flight. Harry Higbee was several 
times state se'nator and twice elected circuit judge. 
J. M. Bush was United States commissioner, state 
senator, and for a quarter of a century was mas- 
ter in chancery. A. C. Matthews was a colonel 
in the Civil war, collector internal revenue, for 
six years supervisor of internal revenue for the 
states of Illinois, Wisconsin and Michigan, from 
1875 until the office was abolished, three times a 
member of the Illinois legislature and was speaker 
of the thirty-sixth general assembly, was circuit 
judge and comptroller of the United States treas- 
ury under President Harrison. Jefferson Orr has 
been state's attorney and circuit judge; Edward 
Doocy has been county judge and master in chan- 
cery. W. E. Williams, state's attorney and a 
member of congress ; A. Clay Williams, state's 
attorney; B. T. Bradburn, county judge; A. C. 
Bentley, master in chancery ; Mark Bradburn, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



state's attorney; W. I. Klein, a member of the 
Illinois legislature; W. H. Crow, master in chan- 
cery, the other gentlemen have fame before them, 
and Richelieu said: "In the bright lexicon of 
youth there is no such word as fail," and an old 
lawyer once said: "Use what talent you possess. 
The woods would be very silent if no bird sung 
there but those which^'can sing best." 

Pike county's first circuit court was held at 
Cole's Grove, October i, 1821, and the following 
have been the judges in the eighty-five years that 
have passed : Hon. John Reynolds was a supreme 
judge when he held court at Atlas about 1822 ; 
Hon. John Y. Sawyer was the first circuit judge 
to hold court in this county in 1825 ; Hon. Rich- 
ard M. Young was judge till 1837, when he re- 
signed to accept a seat in the United States 
senate; Hon. James H. Ralston served in 1837, 
but in August of the same year he resigned on 
account of ill health; Hon. Peter Lott was in 
office till 1841 ; Hon. S. A. Douglas was elected 
by the legislature in 1841, and served until he 
was elected to congress in 1843; Hon. Jesse B. 
Thomas was appointed in 1843 ! Hon. Norman 
H. Purple was elected in 1845 and held until 
1849 ; Hon. W. A. Minshall was elected in May, 
1849, ar >d held till his death, October, 1851 ; Hon. 
O. C. Skinner succeeded Judge Minshall and held 
the office until May, 1853; Hon. Pinckney H. 
Walker was in office until 1858, when he was ap- 
pointed to fill a vacancy on the supreme bench ; 
Hon. John S. Bailey served three years ; Hon. 
Chauncey L. Higbee was elected in 1861 for a 
term of six years and was three times re-elected, 
making nearly twenty-four years of consecutive 
service therein. He departed this life December 
7, 1884. He was one of the purest and most 
learned of jurists, was wise in counsel, learned 
and upright in decision, on. A. C. Matthews 
was appointed in 1885 to fill out the unexpired 
term of the late Judge Higbee. Hon. S. P. Shope 
was elected judge of this district in 1877. Hon. 
Charles J. Schofield was judge for six years. 
Hon. Jefferson Orr served from 1889 to 1895. 
Hons. J. C. Broady, John H. Williams and Oscar 
Bonney held court here frequently. The present 
incumbents are Hon. Harry Higbee, resident 
judge, who is on his second term, Hon. Albert 



Akers and T. N. Mehan. All have been able 
and of great legal ability, and have added much to 
the jurisprudence of the old first judicial circuit. 

The prosecuting attorneys have been as fol- 
lows : In the early days the attorney general of 
the state acted as prosecuting attorney and later 
each circuit was given an attorney, while in 1872 
each county was given one. These were Thomas 
Ford, J. H. Ralston and J. J. Hardin from about 
1826 to 1835 ; in 1837 W. A. Richardson, best 
known as old Dick, an old-time democratic war 
horse, six times a member of congress, and gov- 
ernor of Nebraska under President Buchanan ; 
Henry L. Bryant, in 1839; William Elliott till 
1848; Robert S. Blackwell, 1848 to 1852; Mr. 
Blackwell was a great lawyer, an old-time spell- 
binder on the stump ;^Harmon G. Reynolds, Wil- 
liam C. Goudy and Calvin A. Warren from 1852 
to 1854; John S. Bailey till 1858; L. H. Waters 
in 1860, who entered the civil war and became 
colonel of the eighty-fourth Illinois, it being re- 
lated of him that when he came to Springfield in 
1865 with his regiment for muster out, that the 
only citizen that met him at the depot was a 
butcher and the proprietor of a "hand me down," 
who wanted to sell "cheap cloding" and blue 
beef. The boys all say "Lew" was a good officer. 
Daniel H. Gilmer, Thomas E. Morgan and Wil- 
liam R. Archer served as attorneys pro tem from 
1860 to 1862. Mr. Morgan and L. W. James 
were the last under the old law. When each 
county was given a prosecuting attorney, Jeffer- 
son Orr was elected in 1873 and 1876; J. W. 
Johnson in 1880, and H. C. Johnson in 1884. W. 
E. Williams served from 1887 to 1892 and was 
afterwards a member of congress from this coun- 
ty. A. Beavers served one term ; A. Clay Wil- 
liams was elected in 1896 and 1900; M. S. Brad- 
burn in 1904 being the present incumbent. 

The masters in chancery have been J. Merrick 
Bush from 1860 to 1885, and his successors have 
been W. H. Crow, A. C. Bentley and Edward 
Doocy. 

CHURCH HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY. 

The first sermon preached in Chambersburg 
township was at the house of Rachel Brown by 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



103 



'Rev. John Medford, a Methodist, and the first 
Sunday-school was by the Methodists in the town 
of Chambersburg. The Christians and Baptists 
are also well represented by a host of good citi- 
zens. Flint has Methodist, Baptist and Christian 
churches, and the worshipers are devout and 
worthy citizens. Detroit has six churches: 
Christian, Methodist Episcopal South, Methodist, 
Presbyterian, Baptist and Missionary Baptist. 
Montezuma township has the towns of Milton, 
Montezuma and Bedford, which each have 
Christian and Methodist houses of worship with 
good membership. Pearl has a Trinity Metho- 
dist Episcopal church and a Christian church. 
Both societies are in a flourishing condition. The 
first church was built in 1867. Perry has a 
Methodist church organized in 1832, with such 
noted old pioneers as B. L. Matthews and wife, 
G. W. Hinman and wife and ten others. The 
Christian church was organized in 1837. In 
1879 a committee consisting of Jon Shastid, 
Alex Dorsey and seven others erected a gothic 
style church at a cost of about four thousand dol- 
lars. Zion church was erected in 1852. The 
Lutheran church was organized in 1859. Griggs- 
ville has six churches. The Baptist church was 
organized in 1834, and their first house of wor- 
ship was finished in 1840. In 1873 the old church 
was torn down and a brick edifice costing about 
two thousand dollars was erected. The First 
Methodist society was called the Atlas mission in 
1830, with the great Peter Cartright as presiding 
elder. The regular church was organized in 1835 
by the Rev. William Hunter. The Congrega- 
tional church was organized February 16, 1837. 
Hinman Chapel Methodist Episcopal church was 
organized in 1844; the United Brethren church in 
1842, and the church of Christ in 1874. Newburg 
has a Bethel church built by the Methodists. 

Hardin has a Methodist and two Christian 
churches. Spring Creek has, in the town of Nebo, 
a Baptist church and the Regular Predestinarian 
Baptist. The societies were formed in 1862 and 
1863. Fairmount has the United Brethren, Pres- 
byterian, Methodist and Christian churches. New 
Salem lias a Universalist church and Methodist, 
also Methodist, Presbyterian and United Breth- 
ren churches in Baylis. Pittsfield has a Congre- 



gational church. Its first house of worship was 
built in 1838 and its second in 1846. They now 
have one of the largest edifices, erected several 
years ago. The Christian church is one of mod- 
ern style and has, perhaps, the largest membership 
of any in the county. The Methodists also have 
a large and substantial church, erected in 1876. 
The Baptist church was organized in 1839. St. 
Stephen's Episcopal was built in 1852. The 
Roman Catholic church was built in 1869. There 
is also a Presbyterian church, a German Metho- 
dist and a church of the Latter Day Saints. Mar- 
tinsburg has a Methodist and a Christian church. 
Pleasant Hill has a Baptist, Methodist and Chris- 
tian church. Hadley has several church organ- 
izations and their meetings are held in some of the 
commodious school buildings of the township. 
Derry had a Methodist society in 1829, and in 1830 
the renowned Lorenzo Dow preached there and 
baptized two persons. The town of Eldara has a 
Methodist and a Christian church. Atlas has a 
Congregational church at Summer Hill, also at 
Atlas ; a Methodist church at Rockport and Gilgal. 
Barry has a Methodist, Baptist and Christian 
church, and all three churches are large and com- 
modious edifices, each with large memberships. 
Pleasant Vale has at New Canton a Methodist and 
Union church, the latter occupied by the Christian 
society. Cincinnati has Wike chapel, a Methodist 
church. Kinderhook has a Baptist and Metho- 
dist church in the town and the Akers chapel, 
a Methodist Episcopal church, and a Methodist 
and Baptist church at Hull. Levee has a Metho- 
dist Episcopal church near Spencer Switch. The 
wonderful and famous Lorenzo Dow and Peter 
Cartright several times preached on the west side 
of the county, notably at" Atlas, Derry and Pleas- 
ant Vale. This church history is not as complete 
as desired, but the cause is that so few of the 
church societies have kept records. 

"By ourselves our lives are fed, 
With sweet or bitter daily bread." 



Pike county men who went to California in 
1849, 1850, 1851 and 1852 were as follows: From 



104 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Detroit : John J. Mudd, John Haddican, Andy 
Work, Dr. George C. Harris, Wash Harris, Neal 
Peckenpaugh, J. K. Sitton, James Rush, James 
Dinsmore, James Stoner, John Marcus, William 
Meredith, Woodson Meredith, James Meredith, J. 
Brown, Ben Hayden, Elisha Hayden, Asa Hay- 
den, Jack Tucker, Alex Blake, William Stack- 
pole, Zack Ownby, Thomas Ownby, Sam Fry, 
Henry Ingils and wife, Henry <Kiser and wife 
and Joseph W. Ingles ; from Montezuma : B. F. 
Stewart, James Stewart, Burl McPherson, Joe 
McCrary, William Lester, John Nation, Dr. Clein- 
mons, Dan Crawford, Joel Mechan, James Het- 
terick and wife, W. Zumalt and W. B. Grimes, 
from Hardin : David Porter, Samuel G. Sitton, 
David Sitton, Ruben Hendricks, Marsh Dins- 
more, William Dinsmore, Johnson Brace, Lince 
Johnson, George Kent, Samuel Hendj^cks, Riley 
Johnson, Ben Barney and John Kiser; from Pitts- 
field: Dewitt Castle, George Abbott, Alfred Mil- 
ler, William Thompson, Hamilton Wills, Norton 
Bates, Ervin Davis, Mr. McElroy, Marshall Dut- 
ton, Henry St. John, N. E. Quinby and Jones 
Clark ; from Barry :. George Griffith, L. Brown, 
Barton Alkire, Josiah Alkire, William Israel, 
Grant Israel, Jack Brown, Henry Brown, William 
Hedger, John Brown, Elijah McAtee, Elisha 
Hurt, Major Donaldson and Jackson Jennings; 
from Griggsville : James Elledge, Uriah Elledge, 
Dan Elledge, George Coss, William Jones, old 
Mr. Fessenden and son, Captain May, Enos 
Parks and John McWilliams; from Pearl: Wil- 
liam Wheeler, Peter Kessinger, William \yinne- 
ger and William Leper ; from Newburg'T David 
Gibson, James Gibson, Holly Rose, Henry Rob- 
inson, Nathan Kelly, George Godwin, Abe Liv- 
ingston and Fred Stone; from New Canton: 
Amos Morey, J. H. Talbart, P. H. Davis, Wil- 
liam Weir, Harrison Brown, W. H. Uppinghouse, 
Henry Havens, Peter Bully, Aura Brown, Walk 
Neely, Joseph Mygatt, John Emerson, Samuel 
Taylor, L. G. Hosford, James Dutton, John H. 
Brammell, Orin Parkis, Frank Tittswirth, Clark 
Churchill, Ed Tryon, C. T. Brewster, Orin 
Shearer, Sam Dowden, Manly Barney, Henry 
Dobbins, George Stanley, James Speed, Jo Stan- 
ley, William Flippen, Horace Palmer, Jay Green, 
John Cartright, William Handlin, Moses Sam- 



uels, Tom Cravens, William Redmond, Arnold 
Woodward, William Fugate, Hugh Barker, Isaac 
Williams, Horace Garrison, Hardin Havard, Ru- 
ben Griggsby and Moses Waggoner; from El- 
dara: In 1848, W. Isaiah Cooper, John Cooper 
and George Wood, in 1849, Sam Blackwood, 
Sam Watson, George Roberts, William Lippin- 
cott, Nathan Paulin, Ben Newnham and family, 
James Harris, Henry Hazelrigg, Sam Steele, H. 
R. Wood, Henry Taylor, J. L. Underwood, James 
Caldwell, Isaiah Cooper, William Crozier, Simon 
Crozier, William Crozier, Jr., William P., George 
W. and Pleasant M. Freeman, Charles Foreman, 
in 1850 William Chamberlin, Peter Carey, Carlisle 
Burbridge, Isaac Holman, George Hoover, Sam 
Hoover, John Sigsworth, Ben Dolbow, Jake 
Swerengen, Nathan Kendall, in 1852, Joe Lip- 
pincott, David Lippincott, T. W. Martin, Oliver 
Martin, William Snyder, George W. Underwood, 
Jehu Wood, John Bowers, Ed Bowers, Phil 
Crowder and son, David Crowder, P. T. Dickin- 
son, Maybery Evans, William H. Johnson, in 
1854 William Veal and family, William Corner 
and family, John Keezee, John R. Newnham, Wil- 
liam Evans, Tilford B. Taylor, Thomas Taylor, 
L. N. Worsham and Robert Little ; from Pleasant 
Hill: H. Weaver, George Roberts, James Goff, 
Ched B. Lewis, William Ward and Peter Carey. 
The above list of the Pike county argonauts is 
not as complete as it should be, but upon reflec- 
tion, over a half century has passed since the trip 
was made overland, and it took long and tedious 
months crossing the plains, beset with many dan- 
gers and much suffering and loss of life. There 
is a new generation now and the old Californians 
are not in their thoughts. Many of the gold seek- 
ers left their bones to bleach on the then great 
American desert. The gold fever excitement and 
the Civil war were the most costly in lives and 
treasure of any thing in American history. Only 
about six of the returned Californians are living 
in 1906. 

BANKS AND BANKERS. 

In the old times banks were not known, as 
coon skins and beeswax were in many cases the 
medium of exchange, but later when the stage 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



105 



coach and the mail service were inaugurated 
money became a necessity, and the old picayune 
six and a quarter cents;' and the old bit or twelve 
and one-half cents, and wild cat paper circulated 
and then the Spanish mill dollar, and occasionally 
some American silver. Then came a deluge of 
"shinplaster" paper, promises to pay, that in most 
instances were a delusion to the holder. This un- 
satisfactory condition of the "root of all evil" 
lasted until the Civil war, since which time the 
"money question" is one of entire satisfaction to 
all. Pike county has banks in many of the towns 
and they have been a great aid in all business 
transactions. The first bank in the county was 
at Pittsfield in an early day, established by Colo- 
nel Ross and others. The old-time note shavers 
and sidewalk brokers have come down through 
the ages and are still with us. The county in 
1906 had fifteen banks as follows: 

Barry, the First National, with T. A. Retallic 
president, and O. Williamson, cashier ; Baylis, the 
Farmers' Bank, with S. T. Grammar, presi- 
dent, and R. Y. Barnes, cashier ; Chambersburg, 
the Farmers' Exchange, J. M. Chenoweth presi- 
dent, and H. B. Dennis, cashier ; Griggsville, the 
Griggsville National, with B. F. Newman presi- 
dent, and E. S. Hoyt, cashier ; and Illinois Val- 
ley Bank, with A. Dunham president, and F. H. 
Farrand, cashier ; Hull, the First International 
Bank, with J. W. Sperry president, and' W. W. 
Somers, cashier ; Milton, the Exchange Bank, 
with C. E. Bolin, president, and C. E. Bolin, cash- 
ier; Nebo, the Minier Brothers, with T. L. Minier 
president, and C. Armentrout, cashier ; and the 
Bank of Nebo. with R. R. Pollock president, and 
Roy Pollock, cashier; New Canton, Bank of 
New Canton, with H. B. Atkinson, and 
J. R. Easley, cashier; Pearl, the Bank of 
Pearl, with C. A. Manker president, and C. A. 
Manker, cashier; Perry, the Perry State Bank, 
with W. H. Wilson president, and Robert Greg- 
ory, cashier; Pittsfield, the First National Bank, 
with Harry Higbee president, and R. T. Hicks, 
cashier : and the Farmers' State Bank, with 
Lewis Dutton president, and Ross Matthews, 
cashier; Pleasant Hill, the Citizens' Bank, with 
N. R. Shultz president, and C. C. Thomas, 
cashier. 



NEWSPAPERS OF PIKE COUNTY. 

The first newspaper was started in 1842 by 
Michael J. Noyes in Pittsfield and named The 
Sucker & Farmers Record, which was followed 
by the Free Press, Journal, Old Flag, Radical, 
Morning Star, Sentinel, Banner, People's Advo- 
cate and Herald, all at Pittsfield; at Barry, the 
Enterprise, Observer, Unicorn, Greenback and 
Breeze ; at Perry, The News and Paragraph ; at 
Hull, The Breeze; at Griggsville, The Reflector; 
at Milton, The Beacon and Advocate; at New 
Canton, the Mail, News and Advance. They are 
papers of the past, gone but not forgotten. The 
publications in 1906 are in Pittsfield, the Pike 
County Democrat, started in 1857. I" I 86S J- M. 
Bush became editor and owner, running the paper 
for nearly forty years. It is now managed by 
William and J. M. Bush, Jr. The Pike County 
Republican was started by S. T. Donahue about 
1896, and is now edited and owned by Burr H. 
Swan. The Pike County Times, started in 1895, 
is owned and edited by A. C. Bentley and C. W. 
Caughlin. Griggsville has the Press, with E. E. 
Williamson, editor; the Herald, with Arden 
Northrup, editor. Perry has the Citizen, edited 
by Six & Bro. Milton has the Beacon, with H. T. 
Humm as editor ; Barry has the Adage, with A. E. 
Hess as editor and owner; the Record, owned and 
edited by the .Record Publishing Co. Pleasant 
Hill has the Messenger, with C. R. Barnes as ed- 
itor. Hull has the Enterprise, with H. C. Sperry 
as editor. Baylis has the Guide, with G. R. 
Haines as editor. Nebo 'has the Banner, with 
Truman Dinsmore as editor. New Canton has the 
Press, with C. L. 'Hopkins as editor and owner. 
These papers are all well managed, have good 
patronage and are welcome weekly visitors to 
many homes. Their subscribers are very numer- 
ous all over the west as Pike county people are 
to be found in all the western states, and the old 
home papers are like a letter from home. 

STEAMBOATING. 

In the days of steamboating the Illinois river 
was a great outlet and inlet for the east side of 
the countv and the river steamers that were so 



io6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



useful are now recalled : the Post Boy, Lady Lee, 
Calhoun, Time and Tide, North Star, Peoria, 
Belle of Pike, Regulator, Fanny Keener and many 
others. Captain Samuel Rider, Captain Abrams 
and Dan Bates are well remembered by passen- 
gers and shippers. Many times freight would be 
left at the various landings for several days, 
awaiting shipment because the steamers had not 
sufficient tonnage for the vast quantities that were 
offered. Pittsfield had a plank road to Florence 
and it made the latter place one of the large re- 
ceiving and shipping points, but when the rail- 
roads came they soon made the rosy, glorious 
days of river traffic vanish and now they are 
only a memory. On the Illinois river Griggs- 
ville Landing, Florence, Montezuma and Bedford 
were the principal shipping points, while on the 
Mississippi river the points were Douglasville, 
opposite Hannibal, Missouri, Cincinnati and 
Scott's Landings. The business of Pike county 
farmers and business men on the two rivers up to 
the time that railroads took the trade were im- 
mense as the crops were nearly always abundant, 
and our industrious and active citizens have ever 
been alert in grasping the opportunities that have 
mad.e the county so great. 

Like a pleasant dream the good old days of 
steamboating pass in review, and the realty of 
those halcyon times will appeal vividly to the 
older citizens who remember the floating palaces 
that were to be seen daily between St. Louis and 
Keokuk. Many were real palaces finished in 
white, blue and gold, with beautiful pictures on 
the stateroom doors, and fore and aft painting 
of some city or historical scene. The steamers 
those days cost from $60,000 to $80,000 and often 
more, and a trip on one of those commodious 
and tastefully equipped steamers, either for busi- 
ness or pleasure, will never be forgotten by those 
who enjoyed it in the wonderful past. 

A list of the old-time boats and their very ca- 
pable, affable and courteous captains will interest 
many along the great Mississippi river, as well as 
those here, who will recall the names with pleas- 
urable recollections. The list will embrace about 
all the freight and passenger boats since the time 
of the organization of the St. Louis & Keokuk 
Packet Co., which was a power in its time, and 



assisted in making the great river the commer- 
cial artery for all the vast valley of the Mississippi. 

The Boreas, the boat that will never be for- 
gotton, as it was the only one that had a high 
pressure engine that could be heard for five miles 
and was a fright to animals. 

The low pressure boats were the Ocean Wave, 
Edward Bates, Kate Kearney, Die Vernon, Mary 
Stephens, Sheridan, New England, Regulator, 
Lucy Bertram, Golden Era, Jennie Deans, Han- 
nibal City, Quincy, Warsaw, Keokuk, City of 
Louisiana, Mollie McPike, Sam Gaty, Des 
Moines, Golden Eagle, Gray Eagle, Bon Accord, 
J. H. Johnson, Andy Johnson, Rob Roy, Min- 
nesota, St. Paul, Gem City, Tom Jasper, Denmark 
and Atlas. The two last named sank near Cincin- 
nati Landing and were never raised. The Atlas 
had 100 barrels of whisky in the hull, and after 
the upper works were removed, attempts were 
made to get the whisky but with no success. The 
knowing ones assert that the hull and contents 
were buried in the sand and could the whisky be 
be saved it would be worth more money than 
the article ever sold for. The island called Atlas 
and Denmark is now over the wrecks. 

The old-time captains were Meal Cameron, 
Chas. Dean, Rufus Ford, A. Berzie, J. H. John- 
son, Flem Calvert, John W. Malin, R. J. Whit- 
tedge,' Frank Burnett, David Asbury, C. Alford, 
J. W. Gunn, H. W. Brolaski, I. Matson, Moses 
Hall, John Hamilton, and Lyman Scott. The 
latter was not in command very long, as he was 
a prohibitionist and removed the bar on his boat, 
and as the public would not stand for that he 
was soon removed. 

All the boats had bars, and they were kept till 
the Diamond Jo line of boats superseded the old 
Keokuk line, when they were all removed. A few 
years later the railroads on both sides of the 
river captured the river business, and now, in- 
stead of seeing from five to ten boats every day 
plowing the old Father of Waters, laden with 
freight and passengers, two or three a week is all 
that is to be seen. All the glory and profit of the 
palmy days is only a memory. 

In those days, especially in the pork packing 
seasons, from fifty to one hundred teams a day 
from Barrv, Kinderhook and New Canton, would 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



107 



go to Cincinnati Landing, where the pork, lard 
and bulk meats, wheat and corn would be stored 
till the river opened. It was frequently the case 
that the bank of the river would have ricked up 
from 3,000 to 5,000 barrels of pork and lard, and 
as much as 50,000 pieces of bulk meat in the 
warehouses. Large quantities of hay were also 
shipped. It was baled in the old and slow way, 
pressing a bale at a time tying it with ropes of 
hickory withes. 

The boats were so overloaded that many times 
freight would lie in the warehouses for a month 
or more, awaiting shipment. One man had 500 
sacks of wheat that cost $1.00 per bushel and he 
was vexed that he could not ship it, but his worry 
turned to a great grin of satisfaction, for when 
it did go, wheat had advanced, and he sold it for 
$2.00 per bushel. 

Another man had about 2,000 bushels of ear 
corn and was offered 75 cents for it, but held it 
for a rise. He afterwards had offers of.$i.oo, 
$1.25, and the last offer included shelling, sacking 
and hauling to the river, which meant $1.25 net 
for him. No sale; he was holding for $1.50. 
Here's where he laughed out of the other corner 
of his mouth. Corn went down. He sent for 
sacks, shelled and shipped it to St. Louis, and it 
net him only 35 cents. One man bought a lot 
of wheat at $3.00 per bushel, sent it to the landing 
by flatboat, thence by ' the steamer to St. Louis, 
and sold it for $3.55 per bushel. He had a net 
profit of 20 cents a bushel. 

The writer personally knew all the old-time 
boatmen named in this article, and with possibly 
two exceptions all have joined the silent major- 
ity on the other shore. The principal shippers 
here and at Barry and at Kinderhook have all 
passed away with possibly four exceptions. 
Among the warehouse men at Cincinnati Land- 
ing not one is left. 

RAILROADS. 

In reference to means of transportation this 
county is greatly favored by nature. Indeed, 
there is no county in the State to which nature 
gave such abundant and convenient channels of 
transportation as to Pike. Here are two of the 



finest water courses in America washing its 
shores, and no portion of the county over half a 
day's drive from one of them. Without a rail- 
road many of the northern counties of the State 
would yet be in their native condition. Yet Pike 
county could, and did, get along very conven- 
iently without a railroad. 

As early as May, 1860, a railroad was pro- 
jected, principally by Messrs. Starne and Hatch. 
This road was known as the Pike County Road, 
and later as the Hannibal & Naples Road. 
Some grading was done, but the county, at a 
general election, refused aid, and the project was 
abandoned until after the war, when through the 
efforts of Judge Higbee, Scott Wike, James S. 
Irwin, Hon. William A. Grimshaw, W. Steers, 
of Pittsfield, Messrs. Brown and Wike, of Barry, 
and Messrs. McWilliams, Ward, Philbrick and 
others of Griggsville, the enterprise was revived 
and pushed to completion. 

Originally about $350,000 were expended on 
old Pike road ; and of this sum the city of Hanni- 
bal furnished as a city $200,000, the townships 
on the line of the road $70,000, and individuals 
in Hannibal and Pike county the balance. The 
money subscribed was faithfully expended under 
the direction of Mr. Starne, the president of the 
road, and a competent engineer ; the war com- 
menced and the road failed, as did most of the 
public enterprises of the country. It was at that 
time in debt to Mr. Clough, one of the engineers, 
about $1,000, and upon a suit commenced by him 
a judgment was rendered against the road for his 
debt. The friends of the road were anxious that 
it should not be sacrificed, and when it was sold, 
bid it in in the name of Scott Wike, for $1,039, 
who transferred the certificate of purchase to the 
directors of the old road, Messrs. A. Starne, B. 
D. Brown, O. M. Hatch, George Wike, George 
W. Shields, J. G. Helme, James McWilliams and 
Scott Wike ; and the sheriff made them a deed 
February 12, 1863. They were then incorpo- 
rated as the Hannibal & Naples Railroad Com- 
pany. Mr. Shields was the mayor of the city of 
Hannibal, and Mr. Helme a large property 
holder there. They were directors of the old 
road, and were appointed by the city council to 
look after the interests of the city. The other 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



gentlemen were directors in the old road and 
large property holders in Pike county. 

When the agitation incident to the Rebellion 
had subsided and the people again turned to the 
improvement of their homes and the carrying 
out of home enterprises, the completion of this 
road was urged. 

Enthusiastic meetings were held throughout 
the county in December, 1867. The proposition 
by the supervisors to bond the county was de- 
feated by a popular vote December 24 2,777 
for, to 2,841 against, one of the largest votes ever 
cast in the county. 

At a railroad meeting held at the courthouse 
in Pittsfield December 30, 1868, resolutions for 
pushing the railroad interests of the county were 
passed, and a committee appointed, headed by 
William A. Grimshaw, to "take the requisite 
steps to carry out the project of railroad con- 
nections for Pittsfield and Pike county with the 
Chicago & Alton, or the Pennsylvania Central, 
or any other roads interested and willing to co- 
operate with Pittsfield and Pike county." 

At the same time there was a project of a rail- 
road from Louisiana, Missouri, to run west to the 
Missouri river, headed by Thomas L. Price, then 
a railroad king of the West. 

Ten miles of the Hannibal & Naples road were 
completed February 18, 1869, namely, to Kinder- 
hook, and a banquet and great rejoicing were had 
on the occasion, in a car at Kinderhook. 

In pursuance of an official call a railroad 
meeting was held at Pittsfield, March 8, 1869, 
with R. A. McClintock, chairman, and J. M. 
Bush, secretary, when Col. A. C. Matthews ex- 
plained the object of the meeting. A committee 
was appointed, one from each township repre- 
sented, to assess the sum of $150,000 among the 
various townships embraced in the call. The 
meeting passed a resolution indorsing the act 
of the Legislature providing for the refunding 
to the several townships and counties, the con- 
tracting debts for railroads, the entire taxes on 
such railroad property, and the excess of all 
State taxes over the assessment of 1868. 

August, 1869, the Hannibal & Naples road 
reached a point within two and one-half miles of 
New Salem ; reached Griggsville in September ; 



railroad completed in October; crossed the Illi- 
nois river January 20, 1870 ; February 1 1 , fin- 
ished to Pittsfield. At that time a grand free 
excursion was given, when the following inci- 
dent occurred : The train being gone about three 
hours longer than was expected, parties who had 
been left behind began to feel uneasy. One man, 
whose wife and son were with the excursionists, 
with his remaining son built a fire near the track ; 
and while waiting with great anxiety for the re- 
turn of the train, the little boy started toward the 
track. The father in his agony said, "Don't, my 
son ; don't go near the track ; I'm afraid some 
dreadful accident has happened and you and I 
will both be orphans." When the train at last 
arrived all safe and sound, there was great re- 
joicing. The contract for building the railroad 
from Pittsfield to the Hannibal & Naples road was 
let July 24, 1869, to Hon. A. Starne. Work was 
immediately begun and before a year had passed 
trains were running. 

After the Hannibal & Naples road was com- 
pleted, it was changed soon after to the Toledo, 
Wabash & Western Railway, and in March, 
1880, when the great Wabash line came in pos- 
session of the T., P. & W. Ry. and other lines, 
it was changed to the Wabash, St. Louis & Pa- 
cific Railway. About the time of the completion 
of the Hannibal & Naples road, other roads were 
projected. In May, 1869, a line was surveyed 
from Rushville, via. Mt. Sterling to Pittsfield. 

In the summer of 1869 special efforts were 
made' by the citizens of the county to complete 
the projected railroads, and at a meeting of the 
citizens of Pittsfield and Newburg townships at 
Pittsfield, June 17, committees were appointed to 
devise ways and means to raise the amount re- 
quired of them, namely, $32,000. C. P. Chap- 
man was appointed chairman of said committee. 

In the spring of 1871, everything pertaining to 
the railroad interests of the county seemed to be 
lying dead or asleep, and the suspicion of the 
people began to be aroused that the enterprise 
was abandoned, when Qeneral Singleton, presi- 
dent of the Quincy, Alton & St. Louis road, an- 
nounced that that company was waiting to obtain 
the righ of way through Quincy. This road was 
soon completed, following the line of the Mis- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



109 



sissippi from the northern line of the county 
to the southern where it crosses the river at 
Louisiana. 

In the spring of 1872 it was proposed to build 
a road to Perry Springs, connecting with the 
Bobtail to Pittsfield. At this time the county of 
Pike and the townships of Pittsfield and New- 
burg had invested $132,000 in the Pittsfield 
branch, with no prospect of dividends ; but it was 
proposed to issue county bonds of $10,000 to 
$12,000 per mile on the Pittsfield branch, on 
which the Wabash company should guaranty the 
interest, thus enabling them to negotiate the 
bonds at a fair rate. 

The Quincy, Payson & Southeastern Railroad 
was projected to make a direct line to Pittsfield 
through Payson, thence nearly directly east to 
Effingham, to connect for Cincinnati and the 
East, but nothing definite has been done. 

The Chicago, Alton & St. Louis ran the "Lou- 
isiana," of "Kansas City" branch through the 
southern townships of this county. This was 
done without local aid from this county, but re- 
ceived help from the city of Louisiana. This 
is a first-class road, and opened up a most pro- 
lific part of Pike county. At this time a railroad 
bridge was built across the Mississippi at Louisi- 
ana. August i, 1871, a magnificent bridge was 
completed across the same river at Hannibal. 

In the olden times, when Berry, New Canton 
and Kinderhook shipped all their produce and 
received their goods from Cincinnati Landing, 
the ways and means were confined to teams in 
midsummer and in spring to skiffs and flatboats, 
as it was almost certain that the Mississippi 
would overflow the low lands and sometimes re- 
main half of the year. After the Hannibal & Na- 
ples Railroad had been in operation a year or 
so, the Quincy, Alton & St. Louis was built from 
Quincy to Louisiana; then the Chicago & Alton 
in the south part of the county, and soon the old 
ways were changed. 



Along the whole of the west side of Pike county 
there runs a bayou of the Mississippi river, named 
by the early French Chenal Ecarte (crooked 
7 



channel) but in English generally called "Sny," 
for short, from the French pronunciation of Che- 
nal. This bayou commences in Adams county 
about twelve miles below Quincy, and runs south- 
easterly somewhat parallel with the river, until 
it ends in Calhoun county, its channel being gen- 
erally about midway between the river and the 
bluffs. The low land drained by this "bayou," 
"channel," "slough," "creek," etc., as it is vari- 
ously called, comprises about 110,000 acres. This 
was subject to overflow every spring, and being 
the most fertile ground in the West, it is very im- 
portant that it be reclaimed if possible. Without 
improvement it is entirely useless, and even a 
source of malaria and sickness. 

Consequently, in the year 1870 a movement was 
set on foot to reclaim this vast tract of rich land 
by an embankment near the river. To aid in this 
great enterprise the Legislature passed an act, ap- 
proved April 24, 1871, authorizing the issue of 
bonds, to be paid by special assessments on the 
lands benefited. To carry out the provisions of 
this act "The Mississippi Levee Drainage Com- 
pany" was organized about the first of August, 
1871, by a meeting of the citizens of Pike and 
Adams counties, electing a board of directors, 
with S. M. Spencer, president, other officers, and 
a board of commissioners. The citizens also drew 
up and signed a petition for the appointment of 
the commissioners according to law, whereupon 
the County Court (R. M. Atkinson, Judge) ap- 
pointed George W. Jones, William Dustin and 
John G. Wheelock, commissioners, Mr. Dustin's 
place, after his death, being filled by Benjamin F. 
Westlake. For the construction of the levee they 
issued bonds, bearing interest at 10 per cent, and 
they were sold mostly in the Eastern markets, 
some in Detroit, Michigan, the interest payable an- 
nually. Accordingly the levee was constructed in 
1872-4, at a cost of about $650,000. 

But the manner of collecting assessments au- 
thorized by this act was called in question by a 
case brought up to the Supreme Court fro.m the 
Wabash river, where similar work was being 
done, and the court decided that feature of the act 
to be unconstitutional. A similar case went up to 
that tribunal from this county, and the Court re- 
affirmed its former decision. It was then thought 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



expedient to procure an amendment to the State 
Constitution ; the necessary resolution was sub- 
mitted to the people by the 3Oth General Assem- 
bly, and it was adopted by an overwhelming ma- 
jority. Thereupon another act was passed by the 
3 1st General Assembly, to make the law conform 
to the constitution as amended, and under this act 
the owners of lands on the Sny bottom proposed 
to construct a drainage district to be known as 
"The Sny Island Drainage District." 

The levee, as at first projected, was completed, 
as before stated, but it has proved wholly insuffi- 
cient, as the Mississippi flood, aided by high 
winds, in April, 1876, broke through the embank- 
ment, and all the low land was inundated, destroy- 
ing crops, carrying away fences, and driving out 
the inhabitants. No one, however, was drowned, 
but planting was retarded. The breaches were 
soon repaired, but more lately a new company has 
been organized to improve the levee and make it 
perfect, that is, capable of protecting the bottom 
land against such a high water as there was 
in 1851. 

This levee is by far the largest above Vicksburg, 
being about fifty-two miles in length, commencing 
on a sand ridge in Adams county, and extending 
into Calhoun county. It is constructed of the 
sandy soil along its line, and readily becomes sod- 
ded and overgrown with willow and other small 
growth. The streams which formerly emptied 
into the Mississippi now find their way into Bay 
creek, and then into Hamburg bay, in Calhoun 
county. A few farms were opened in the bottom 
before the construction of the levee, but since that 
work was completed the land is becoming pretty 
well covered with farms, occupied by a good, in- 
dutrious class of citizens. The time may come 
when the dwellers in this land will become a 
power in the county. 

We desire here to state to the public, with some 
emphasis, that neither the county nor any munici- 
pality in the same is in any manner liable for the 
bonds issued in aid of the construction of this 
-levee. Neither the State, county nor towns took 
any part in the issue of the bonds, or in the con- 
struction of the work. The enterprise was a pri- 
vate one, and the fact that the bonds are not paid 
reflects on no one. The law under which they 



were issued was declared unconstitutional, and 
in such cases the bonds must fall with the law. 

On the completion of the levee the source of 
water supply for the Rockport Mills, situated on 
the Sny, was of course mostly cut off. Conse- 
quently, about September 15, 1874, the proprie- 
tors of the mills, Messrs. Shaw & Rupert, hired 
parties in St. Louis to come up and cut the levee, 
having been advised that they had lawful authority 
to "abate the nuisance" by their own act. Great 
excitement was occasioned by this transaction, and 
during the ensuing litigation the mill proprietors 
obtained a mandamus for opening the Sny ; but a 
settlement was finally effected by a compromise 
with the drainage company, the latter paying the 
former $30,000. The mill, however, was subse- 
quently destroyed by fire. 

The levee bond suit was in the courts for many 
years, when it was settled in favor of the land 
owners. 

In 1870 the primary committee for putting the 
Sny Island levee on its way to reclaim 1 10,000 
acres from annual overflow held its meetings here 
and was composed of the following citizens, resi- 
dents near the proposed levee : C. N. Clark, 
Charles T. Brewster, Samuel Spencer, Joseph 
Colvin and Richard Wells, with M. D. Massie as 
secretary and assistant treasurer. This committee 
met here and at the house of C. T. Brewster near 
here, and formulated plans for getting money and 
legislation, which resulted in the Levee and Drain- 
age law of 1871, and the appointment of the first 
levee commissioners, namely: George W. Jones, 
John G. Wheelock and William Dustin. 

The levee was hurriedly and poorly constructed 
and was not protective, and in a suit testing the 
validity of the law the State Supreme Court de- 
clared the law void and unconstitutional as to the 
land assessments. The court also issued an inter- 
locutary order that the levee commissioners take 
charge of the works for the parties interested. 
Hence the great bond suit for about two millions 
of dollars, for old bonds and accrued interest. 
After years of delay the suit was tried, and re- 
sulted in a verdict for the land owners as against 
the bond holders. The defendants at a meeting 
at Hull chose the following five as an executive 
committee to employ attorneys and look after the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the case : C. N. Clark, chairman ; Thomas Worth- 
ington, secretary; M. D. Massie, treasurer; Wil- 
liam Grammar and George Long. 

After a trial in the various courts, ending in 
the United States Supreme Court and lasting 
twenty years, the case was decided in favor of the 
land owners. The executive committee, in con- 
junction with the levee commissioners : S. E. 
Hewes, Marcus Hardy and H. B. Atkinson, met 
at Hannibal, Missouri, in 1902 and settled up all 
the old business. The costs aggregated nearly 
$31,000, as follows: 

Hay, Green & Company, attorneys first 

employed $ 8,000 

Ex-President Harrison 7>75 

Attorney General Miller 2,000 

Home attorneys, printing, stenographers . . 1 1 ,800 
Committee expenses 900 



$30,450 

William Grammar, one of the committee, died, 
and Joel Scarborough was chosen and did duty 
till the suit was ended. 

The rebuilding of the levee, which broke at the 
following periods : April 17, 1876; June 30, 1880; 
April 25, 1881 ; October 20, 1881 ; May 14, 1888; 
June 5, 1903, was of an immense benefit, not only 
to the reclaimed lands but to the adjoining terri- 
tory. The sanitary benefits were perhaps greatest 
of all, as malaria, chills and fever, and other dis- 
eases incident to flooded lands had possession, 
and kept the doctors busy day and night. Now 
all is changed, and the entire 110,000 acres are 
dotted with homes, schools and churches, and are 
in a high state of cultivation, and the people en- 
joy as good health as anywhere in the county. 

Now the lands that were slow sale at $2 to $10 
per acre are held at from $40 to $100 an acre. Re- 
cent purchasers are loath to sell at current prices, 
as the yields of corn, wheat and hay are so satis- 
factory that it makes the land about the best 
investment that can be had. One illustration. A 
certain tract of land that formerly was almost 
worthless, now pays owner and tenant each from 
$7.50 to $10 per acre. The soil is apparently al- 
most inexhaustible, and will improve in quality 



and productiveness as it is properly tilled and 
cared for. 

The Sny levee commissioners, since its organ- 
ization, have been George W. Jones, John G. 
Wheelock, William Dustin, B. F. Westlake, Al- 
fred Stebbins, J. Barnard, R. M. Murray, A. V. 
Wills, Henry C. Cupp, Marcus Hardy, J. G. 
Adams, Edward Prince, Samuel E. Hewes, H. B. 
Atkinson, H. E. Seehorn, A. J. Thomas. The 
treasurers were Philip Donahue, H. B. Atkin- 
son, Joseph Dober and J. R. Easly. The first 
attempt to construct a levee was made by Samuel 
Leonard, of Louisiana, Missouri, about 1858, and 
some work was done near Cincinnati Landing, 
and then abandoned. In 1870 Charles N. Clark, 
of Hannibal, Missouri, began the preliminary 
work, and lived to see it a grand success. 

The present commissioners are about complet- 
ing a ditch fifty-three miles in length that is ex- 
pected when finished will thoroughly drain the 
entire one hundred and ten thousand acres in the 
Sny levee district. They have at work a large 
dredge boat and a suction boat, well manned, and 
the work is highly satisfactory. The entire cost 
will exceed one hundred thousand dollars. Pike 
county is not alone in the interest of this work, 
but Illinoisans, Missourians and Indianians are 
landowners and interested in the district. 

RURAL MAIL ROUTES. 

Pike county has the following rural mail 
routes : Pittsfield, seven ; Barry four ; Griggs- 
ville, three; New Canton, three; Nebo, two; 
Hull, two; Rockport, two; Pleasant Hill, two: 
Baylis, two ; Pearl, one ; Strout, one ; Kinder- 
hook, one ; Hadley, one ; New Salem, one ; Cham- 
bersburg, one ; total, thirty-three routes. There 
are thirty-three postoffices, twenty-one of which 
are money order offices. Sixty years ago mail 
and postal facilities were very crude and limited. 
Now with fast 'mails and a generous Uncle Sam 
the great dailies with news of the world are now 
an additional breakfast food. The old-time post- 
masters, who kept postoffice in their hats, would 
be astonished could they return from the echoless 
shore and see the modern and up-to-date post- 
offices. In the old days envelopes and stamps 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



were unknown. Sheets were folded and mailed 
for a distant friend, who paid twenty-five cents 
for his letter. Now in 1906 a letter for from two 
to five cents will traverse the globe. 

PIKE COUNTY'S ILLUSTRIOUS DEAD. 

The early pioneers were not particularly noted 
for their legal acumen and statecraft but more 
for the eternal principles of right, and their en- 
ergy and endurance in the old and trying times 
when they started old Pike on the forward 
march of progress and civilization, and gave to 
us one of the gardens of the then new world. 
The first names on the roll of illustrious dead are 
Ebenezer Franklin and Daniel Shinn ; and soon 
came William, Clarenden, Leonard and Henry 
Ross. The first named was the most distin- 
guished and was known as Col. William Ross, 
who is now held in everlasting esteem for what 
he did for posterity. John and Jeremiah Ross, 
Rufus Brown, John Wood, Willard Keyes, 
James M. Seely, John and Nathaniel Shaw, Al- 
fred Bissell, John Matthews, Nicholas Hansen 
and Benjamin Barney, all will live in history as 
our first and most illustrious pioneer citizens. 
In the list of pioneer business men the following 
left their impression on the times, and will be 
remembered for what they did for the advance- 
ment and development of affairs : Lyman Scott, 
John Webb, N. W. Jones, C. P. Chapman, Aus- 
tin Barber, B. D. Brown, M. Blair, Lombard & 
Ayres, D. D. Hicks, George Wike, Amos Morey, 
Lewis Angle, B. F. Westlake, John McTucker 
and Isaac A. Hatch. In the list of professional 
men occur the medical ; and they gave the best 
years of their lives to the public: Drs. W. A. 
Whiting, A. C. Baker, Thomas Worthington, O. 
C. Campbell, F. A. Landrum, John A. Thomas 
and J. H. Ledlie. The brilliant legal minds that 
now are still and pulseless, but are so well re- 
membered are: Chauncey L. Higbee, of whom 
Milton Haly said, "As great soldiers are said to 
learn the art of war upon the battlefield, so in the 
open field of practice, opposed with rivals and 
contestants, so Judge Higbee acquired, to a high 
degree of excellence, both the principles and art 
of his profession" ; Scott Wike, William A.Grim- 



shaw, James S. Irwin, William R. Archer, 
Strother Griggsby and H. D. L. Griggsby, each 
were devoted to this profession, and doubtless 
fully endorsed this, from the day when Cicero 
said that the law was set over the magistrate to 
the time of Chatham's famous declaration, that 
where law ends tryanny begins, and from that 
day to ours, great men have celebrated the con- 
nection of law with liberty. To lessen the re- 
spect for law in America, whether that respect is 
lost by magistrate or the people, is a poor serv- 
ice" to our country. 

Added to this list properly come the following 
who were well known as good citizens, whose 
lives added to the glory and prosperity of old 
Pike. They all did something for schools, 
churches, for charity, and generally for all the 
people's interests. B. L. Matthews, J. L. Metz, 
Rev. William Hawker, J. Cleveland, J. H. Den- 
nis, William Turnbull, James McWilliams, 
Charles Gibbs, George Pratt, J. O. Bolin, B. H. 
Atkinson, William Watson, Joel Pennington, 
Perry Wells, William Yokum, W. R. Wills, Sr.. 
J. G. Adams, J. D. Rupert, Samuel Taylor, Ha- 
zen Pressy, D. A. Shaw, Moses Easley, Joseph 
Strubinger, Rev. William Rose, Revs. Carter, 
Worthington and Barrett, William Green, Niles 
Kinne, Samuel Clark, Horace Horton, James 
Tolbert, Moses and Joel Morey, J. C. Colvin, 
Joseph McFarland, Alex McClintock, C. T. 
Brewster, Dr. P. M. Parker and F. M. Clyde. 

OLD SETTLERS' ASSOCIATION. 

It is not strange that among the pioneer settlers 
of any new country a deep-seated and sincere 
friendship should spring up that would grow and 
strengthen with their years. The incidents pe- 
culiar to life in a new country, the trials and 
hardships, privations and destitution, are well 
calculated to test not only the physical powers of 
endurance, but the moral, kindly, generous attri- 
butes of manhood and womanhood. Then are 
the times that try men's souls, and bring to the 
surface all that may be in them whether good or 
bad. As a rule there is an equality of conditions 
that recognizes no distinctions. All occupy a 
common level, and as a natural consequence a 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



strong brotherly and sisterly feeling rise up that 
is as lasting as time. For "a fellow feeling makes 
us wondrous kind." With such a community 
there is a hospitality, a kindness, a benevolence, a 
charity unknown and unpracticed among the old- 
er, richer and more dense commonwealths. The 
very nature of the surroundings teaches them to 
feel each other's woe and share each other's joy. 
An injury or a wrong may be ignored, but a 
kindly, charitable act is never forgotton. The 
memory of old associations is always fresh. 
Raven locks may bleach and whiten, full, round 
cheeks become sunken and hollow, the fires of 
intelligence vanish from the organs of vision, the 
brow become wrinkled with care and age and the 
erect form bowed with accumulating years, 
but the true friends of "long ago' 1 will be re- 
membered as long as life and reason endure. 

The surroundings of pioneer life are well cal- 
culated to test the "true inwardness" of the hu- 
man heart. As a rule the men and women who 
first settle in a new country, who go in advance 
to spy out the land and prepare it for the coming 
people, are bold, fearless, self-reliant and indus- 
trious. In these respects, no matter from what 
remote section or country they may come, there 
is a similarity of character. In birth, education, 
religion and language, there may be a vast differ- 
ence, but imbued with a common purpose, the 
founding and building of homes, these differ- 
ences are soon lost by association, and thus they 
become one people united by a common interest : 
and no matter what changes may come in after 
years the associations thus formed are never 
buried out of memory. 

In pioneer life are always incidents of peculiar 
interest, not only to the pioneers themselves, but 
which, if properly preserved, would be of interest 
to posterity; and it is a matter of some regret 
that "The Old Settlers' Association" was not 
formed years before it was, and that more copious 
records were not kept. Such an association with 
well kept records of the more important events, 
such as dates of arrivals, births, marriages, deaths, 
removals, natavities, etc.. as any one can easily 
and readily see, would be the direct means of 
preserving to the literature of the country the 
history of every community, that to future gen- 



erations would be valuable as a record of refer- 
ence, and a ready and sure method of settling 
important questions of controversy. Such rec- 
ords would possess facts and figures that could 
not be had from any other source. Aside from 
this' historic importance such associations serve 
as a means of keeping alive and further cement- 
ing old friendships and renewing among its mem- 
bers associations that were necessarily interrupt- 
ed by the innovation of increasing population, cul- 
tivating social intercourse and creating a chari- 
table fund for such of their old members as were 
victims of misfortune and adversity. 

The subject of organizing an old settlers' so- 
ciety was brought up in the summer of 1869. In 
the Pike County Democrat of July 29, that year, 
the following significant passage occurs : "The 
time will come when the history of this county 
will be written. For that history, the meeting of 
such society will furnish the best material, and 
the parties now living attest the facts that will 
form a large portion of it." There was nothing 
definitely done toward the organization of this 
society until the summer of 1872, when some of 
the leading old settlers interested themselves in 
it. The first meeting was held on what is called 
Blue creek, August 21, 1872. The meeting was 
called to order by Wm. Turnbull, of Flint, on 
whose motion Capt. B. F. Westlake was appoint- 
ed temporary chairman. Upon taking the chair 
Captain Westlake stated in brief the object of / 
the meeting, and for the purpose of effecting an 
organization he suggested the propriety of ap- 
pointing a committee on permanent organization 
to report to the meeting at i o'clock, p. m. This 
committee consisted of Col. A. C. Matthews, 
James H. Dimmitt and William Turnbull. The 
meeting was then addressed by Rev. Mr. McCoy, 
after which an adjournment was had until I 
o'clock, p. m. After the dinner was dispatched 
the people were called together by the choir, dis- 
coursing most pleasant music. After singing, 
the committee on permanent organization report- 
ed the following named persons as officers of the 
"Old Settlers' Association of Pike and. Calhoun 
counties, Illinois. 

For President, Col. Wm. Ross, Newburg; 1st 
Vice President, Col. Benj. Barney. Pleasant Vale; 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



2d Vice President. Daniel B. Bush, Pittsfield ; 
3d Vice President, Capt. B. F. Westlake, New- 
burg; 4th Vice President, Capt. Benj. L. Mat- 
thews, Perry; 5th Vice President, Jos. Brown, 
Chambersburg ; 6th Vice President, John Lyster, 
Detroit; 7th Vice President, James Grimes, Mil- 
ton; 8th Vice President, Abel Shelley, Griggs- 
ville; gth Vice President, Perry Wells, Atlas; 
loth Vice President, Samuel G. Sitton, Hardin ; 
nth Vice President, William Grammar, Hadley ; 
1 2th Vice President.vMontgomery Blair, Barry; 
1 3th Vice President, John Brittain, Martins- 
burg; I4th Vice President, Thomas H. Dimmitt, 
Griggsville. Secretary, Marcellus Ross, New- 
burg; ist Assistant Secretary, Dr. E. M. Seeley, 
Pittsfield ; 2d Assistant Secretary, William Turn- 
bull, Flint. 

Colonel Barney presided at this meeting, Colo- 
nel Ross being absent on account of sickness. A 
communication was however read from the presi- 
dent. Rev. W. D. Trotter, one of the pioneer 
preachers of the county, spoke for about an hour, 
reviewing the early life of the pioneers. Hon. 
William A. Grimshaw delivered the address of 
the day. It was an ably prepared historical re- 
view of the county's history. Indeed, so replete 
is it with interesting facts of pioneer times that 
we give the entire address in this connection : 

ADDRESS OF HON. WILLIAM A. GRIMSHAW. 

Mr. President. Ladies and Gentlemen Se- 
lected by your committee of arrangements to bid 
you welcome here to-day, I do so most cordially 
as an old settler myself, of, say, the second period 
of Pike county, coming here in the year 1833: 
that being after the winter of the deep snow, 
which was our early noted period in the annals 
of this then wild, romantic and beautiful coun- 
try, sparsely settled and embraced in the bounds 
of Pike county. That snow with us, once, was 
the starting point of the date of current events, 
although our records of the court of justice do 
not legally recognize that as "a day in law," 
vet u e even in courts, in the simplicity of onr 
early language, often heard events traced by that 
snow as the date point. 

In the early days we all enjoyed the largest 



constitutional liberty ; we voted for him we like J 
best, as I, a whig, did for "honest Joe Duncan," 
a democrat, on a deep question in those days, 
the Illinois and Michigan canal, "the deep cut ;'' 
M-C also each worshipped God according to the 
dictates of our own conscience and under our 
vine and fig tree. When Brother Trotter, who 
;s now present, venerable with years and revered 
for piety, or old Father Woolf, now gathered to 
his fathers, blessed for his good deeds, came 
around to his appointment, all, of every religion 
and no one religion, turned out to meeting in the 
woods or the log schoolhouse or at a settler's 
home. We had no fine churches in those days. 
Mormons puzzled the unwary by their startling 
pretense at new revelations. Or, if disappointed 
by the regular minister, old Father Petty would 
recite in prayer Belshazzar's feast in trembling 
tones of piety. 

Our worthy and venerable president (elect but 
absent), Col. William Ross, who has been often 
honored by the people of Pike county by their 
votes, ejecting him to high offices of public trust, 
could tell vou much of the first period or earliest 
years of the settlement of your county, as he ar- 
rived in the county in 1820 and settled at Atlas, 
which was the county seat in its day, and was laid 
out by the Ross brothers. Atlas was yet the place 
at which the county records were kept in 1833, 
but in the spring of the year Pittsfield was sur- 
veyed and laid off into lots and the sale thereof 
made at different periods, the first sale of lots be- 
ing in that spring. A courthouse was built in 
the summer of 1833 at Pittsfield; from that event 
the greater prosperity of the country and an in- 
crease of population began. 

The terror infused into the public mind, be- 
yond the settlements of Illinois,, by the Black 
Hawk war, which had retarded emigration to oir.- 
State, the Indians being removed to the west 
of the Mississippi, the tide of emigration began 
to set in, and you witness to-day, in the presence 
here of this assemblage, the vast change in a 
little over fifty years since the Yankees (who 
came before the clock peddlers) set foot within 
the limits of Pike county, as it now exists. Clock 
peddlers were the only gentlemen in those days, 
as they rode in the only covered carriages. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



It is true, when you consider the rise and the 
growth of Chicago in our own State, and of St. 
Louis in Missouri, rival cities, each of nearly 
four hundred thousand people, we don't seem 
to have much to brag of as our growth. Con- 
sider, however, that we are almost strictly an 
agricultural county, that being our chief and 
most profitable pursuit, and then the greatest 
zealot for progress must admit that, from a be- 
ginning of a few families in 1821, we are now a 
county not to be sneezed at, and especially when 
our vote at the polls is counted. Excluding 
counties in which cities have arisen, we are most 
densely populated, more so than many in our 
beautiful Illinois, and yet we have broad acres 
of valuable lands in a state of nature. 

Once our prairies were the home of the bound- 
ing deer in vast herds, of the prairie wolf, the 
prairie fowl in great flocks, the timber land 
abounded with the squirrel, the turkey and the 
pigeon, and in the hollow trees we had the beau- 
tiful but noisy paroquet; as well as in their 
haunts numerous other birds and animals. These 
have in a great measure disappeared until game 
is a rarity. The wild fruits once abounding have 
been superseded by more luscious cultivated 
fruits. And yet, who of the old settlers does not 
remember with a twinkle in his eye the old set- 
tlers' first substitute for an apple, a big turnip; 
and also find a good taste in the mouth when he 
thinks of those nice preserved plums, crab apples 
and ground cherries, and the pumpkin pie, and 
the pork mince meat. We then think of the prai- 
rie and woodland each abounding in the season 
in beautiful flowers, rivaling in their colors the 
rainbow. These were the holiday delights of 
dame and maiden, and the husband and lover 
were alike made glad in their contemplation. The 
retrospect of nature has its beauties. The reality 
of the first settler's life in a new country is often 
full of prose and but little poetry. Compare the 
simple and even poor furniture of our early 
homes with the elegant furniture now in use, and 
what a contrast ! But with all the drawbacks of 
an early settler's life few repine at their lot in 
this beautiful land. None can who accept with 
reflection and thankfulness the many mercies 
which crown our lives. 



I am reminded by this retrospection, that yes- 
terday, on returning home, I found a written, 
kind notification from your committee, in charge 
of the convening of this your first Old Settlers' 
meeting, that I was invited and expected to ad- 
dress you to-day. I then took my pen to endeavor 
to bridle my thoughts and to bid them serve the 
request of the committee, that I should speak as 
to the "honesty, patience, industry, self-sacrifice 
and hospitality of the old settlers. 

Honesty was the rule, crime the exception, in 
the early days. It would seem as if at the first 
mention of the honesty of the old settlers it was a 
sarcasm, on the idea of lawyers settling here, 
and as if I had some personal experience and 
revelation to make. Of course I know something 
and much of the facts, and will relate them. 

It was well known that because we had no 
locks we never locked our houses and out build- 
ings ; it was proverbial that the deer skin of the 
door latch was never pulled in, that is the latch 
string was out; then we had not much to tempt 
people to steal ; so our things lay about loose ; our 
plows with wooden mold boards hung on the 
fences with impunity ; but at Christmas time, the 
plow or ox skull hung upon a tree by the way- 
side, reminded the passer-by of the three-year- 
old, riding to see his girl, that a fool's head was 
too soft to butt either of those pendants in the 
tree. 

At an early day an old ax, worth fifty cents 
perhaps in these days being stolen, the vile thief 
was ordered to leave the settlement of Atlas, and 
did leave for his country's good. It was said that 
loud porcine cries were heard upon the "Sny Is- 
land" at times, because men would kill their 
neighbor's hogs; that was a trifling affair and 
cost only the penalty of going halves with the 
nearest justice ; thus dividing the meat unless 
the head and ears were found and those bearing 
some man's recorded mark ; then that was a case 
for the grand jury. Hog stealing was said to be 
caused by drinking Sny water. 

We have told only of the style of dishonest 
tricks in those days. With more facts to bear us 
out, we can now affirm that the general reputa- 
tion of our early settlers was remarkably good 
for honesty in general, but there was a slight 



Tl6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



propensity to "hook timber" to make rails and 
to use at house logs, and some fellows in the 
land, held, in fact it was "common law" that a 
"bee tree" even in your pasture lot was lawful 
plunder. 

As to the patience of our people, if that means 
bearing up with the courage of a true man and 
true woman under the perils to limb and prop- 
erty, the early settlers were exemplary for that ; 
the trials of an early settler's life were legion. 
His resources, so far as supplies for his family 
were small; his debts were a great vexation, and 
some if not all, had these pests, until the lands 
were entered and paid for, the money often being 
loaned at interest as high as seventy-five per cen- 
tum per annum. Then if you went to mill, you 
journeyed a score, aye, three-score miles; to 
meeting often as far. No bridges, and but few 
roads existed ; the saddle, or the ox cart, or the 
truck, wooden-wheeled wagon, and no fine car- 
riages, was the mode of travel. 

Corn dodger, without salt, and pork or side- 
meat, were great staples ; vegetables and fruits, 
unless wild fruits, were rarely on the table, unless 
when company came to spend the afternoon, or 
to a quilting, then the best in the house or the 
neighborhood afforded was forthcoming for the 
visitor. The quilting parties were generally the 
resort .of young and old. Marriages were rare 
in those days, because bachelors were more plen- 
tiful than belles. 

As to the industry of the old settlers, as a 
class, industry was to the extent of present abil- 
ity, implements, health and condition, and was 
not surpassed by the toil of men of the present 
day. The matron and the few young ladies had 
much toil and vexation, and that was often more 
excessive on wash day, because of having to 
pick up fuel as it could be gleaned, or carryng 
the clothes to and from the wash place, which was 
a branch or spring. The clothes line was a grape 
vine or a fence, and the hogs and calves tres- 
passed on that to "chaw the things," and to keep 
the "creeters" off old boss and the old woman 
(not yet twenty-five years old) often had a hard 
fight lest the baby in the cradle sitting near the 
out-door fire should be "up-sot." 

Self-sacrifice was one of the many and noblest 



virtues of the early settler ; in times of sickness 
you were free to call up any neighbor for help, 
to sit up with the sick, to ride twenty-five or even 
more miles for the doctor, and that mostly, as 
our doctors said, in the dead of night, to the great 
horror of the doctor, who had to saddle up and 
travel in the dead of night, to the farthest limits 
of his own or to an adjoining county. 

Although the county of Pike was naturally 
healthy, the over toil, the privation, the imperfect 
protection from the inclemency of seasons, the 
water used from shallow water holes, all these 
tended to multiply disease and death. This 
county was never, as a general thing, visited so 
much with sickness and death as other counties 
in our State. 

In the early day no iron horse snorted and 
raced over the prairies. The steamer once perhaps 
in several weeks dragged itself along. Twelve 
days was a short time for a trip from New York 
here, and that mostly by stage. Our mails ar- 
rived once a week, and a letter cost us our "last 
quarter." News from Europe a month old was 
fresh. No troublesome quotations of daily mark- 
ets puzzled or enlightened us. A counterfeit 
United States bill was almost legal tender. Hoop 
poles, staves and cord wo.od were equal at a later 
day to gold. Store pay was better than any of 
the foregoing, but often lead to heavy mortgages 
and secret bills of sale. The laws were quickly 
enforced. Once a client of a celebrated lawyer 
was taken out of court and the penalty of the law 
put on his back with stripes before the motion for 
a new trial was over ; then the client protested 
against a new trial lest if convicted he would be 
a second time whipped. 

Now how changed is everything around us ! 
In the early day there was more variety in dress, 
if less taste. All dressed in their best, and some- 
times (if the ladies will pardon such an o'er true 
tale) a white satin bonnet, the worse for the wear, 
was seen over a blue "Dolly Varden" ruffled cap. 
The most distinguished man at shows for a num- 
ber of years, was an old, gaunt, straight man, 
with a bell-crowned hat, in the height of the 
fashion when he was young, which was nearly 
twelve inches perpendicular; horses often carried 
double in those days, if girls were plenty, and 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



117 



about sparking and wedding time. Oh how so- 
ciable Land yet all was modesty and innocence. 

Hospitality that signifies strictly "practice of 
entertaining strangers," but in its true early set- 
tler's ways much more was meant, intended, and 
done. On a journey almost every house wasawel- 
come home to the weary traveler; if any charge 
was made for the entertainment it was very mod- 
erate ; at times the parting word to you was, "You 
are welcome to such as we had, and please call 
again when traveling this way." 

Hospitality scarce expresses the fine sensibility, 
the manly Christian spirit, of many of the olden 
time. The pioneer feels that each and every set- 
tler of his neighborhood (and he does not criti- 
cise much as to who is his neighbor) is entitled 
to such help and good feeling as may be asked or 
should be extended. 

I felt and still feel a large degree of sympathy, 
and that the most cordial, with the old settlers. 
It occurs to me that as Pike county once included 
Calhoun, and as some of the settlers there are 
contemporaries with our earliest settlers, we 
should include the Calhoun old settlers in our So- 
ciety in fact just this week that was named to 
me in that county. 

With great hopefulness as to the prosperity of 
this new society, desiring, for it many happy re- 
unions, I offer to you the thanks of myself, an 
old settler, for your courtesy in inviting me to ad- 
dress this meeting ; and may God bless our vast 
population spread over our large county, which 
had when first known to myself about three thou- 
sand people, and now contains approaching forty 
thousand, although the hive of people has swarmed 
many times. 

Farewell, my friends, one and all. Let us part 
with mutual good wishes, as we never more can 
all meet again in this life. 

At the first meeting it was decided to invite the 
old settlers of Calhoun county to join with the 
Pike County Old Settlers' Society. In harmony 
with this decision Calvin Twitchell, Smith Jen- 
nings and William Wilkinson were elected vice 
presidents. 

SECOND MEETING. 

The second meeting of the Old Settlers' Asso- 
ciation was held in September, 1873. The fol- 



lowing letter from Judge William Thomas, of 
Jacksonville, was read : 

"JACKSONVILLE, Aug. 30, 1873. 
"MR. MARCELLUS Ross, Secretary: Dear Sir 
I have received two invitations to attend the Old 
Settlers' meeting in Pike county on Wednesday 
next. I regret that I can not accept either, for I 
would be glad to meet the survivors of those with 
whom I became acquainted forty-five years ago. 
I attended the circuit court in Atlas in June, 1827, 
which was my first visit to Pike. The court was 
held by Judge Lockwood, who now resides at 
Batavia, in Kane county. The attorneys in at- 
tendance were John W. Whitney, N. Hanson, and 
John Jay Ross, of Pike county, Gen. James Tur- 
ney and Alfred Caverly, of Greene county, now of 
Ottawa, and J. W. Pugh, of Sangamon county, 
Mr. Jenkins, of Calhoun county, John Turney and 
myself, of Morgan county. Capt. Leonard Ross, 
one of nature's noblemen, was sheriff. Col. Wil- 
liam Ross was clerk ; James M. Seeley was an 
officer of the court. Of all these, Judge Lock- 
wood, Mr. Caverly and myself are the only sur- 
vivors. The court was in session three days, and 
then went to Calhoun county. It was held in a 
log cabin in the prairie, near which was a log 
cabin occupied by the grand jury. The traverse 
jury had the privilege of the prairies. 

"In September afterward, returning from the 
Winnebago war I left the boat at Quincy, where I 
purchased a horse, saddle and bridle for $40. 
From Quincy I came to Atlas, a good day's travel ; 
remained in Atlas one day and two nights, and 
then set out for home. Passing Colonel Seeley's, 
I found no other house until I reached Blue river, 
where Van Deusen had a small grist mill, and I 
crossed the Illinois river on Van Deusen's ferry. 
That night I reached Exeter. The weather was 
pleasant, the roads were dry and smooth. 

"Pike county was then a wilderness. I came as 
directed, the nearest and best route home. I could 
never then have been made to believe that I should 
live to see a population of 30,000 within its 
boundaries. 

"Captain Ross entertained .the jury and the law- 
yers in their double log cabin free of charge, ex- 
pressing his regret that we could not stay longer. 
I was at Atlas at the presidential election in 1824 



n8 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



and voted for John Quincy Adams for President. 

"Judge Lockwood, Mr. McConnell and myself, 
in attending court at Atlas (the year I do not 
recollect), passed the present site of Griggsville 
and saw the man, Mr. Scholl, raising the first log 
cabin on the hill. I suppose the land had been 
laid out in town lots. 

"In the early settlement of the Military Tract 
traveling cost but little. The old settlers were 
always glad of the opportunity of entertaining 
travelers, and especially the judge and lawyers, 
from whom they could obtain interesting accounts 
in relation to what was going on in the world 
around them. Besides, we often had to encamp 
in the woods and prairies because no house was 
within reach at dark, and this was called "lodging 
at Munn's tavern," because of the large number of 
quarter sections of land owned by him. I have 
often fared sumptuously in the log cabins on 
bread made of grated meal, venison, honey, but- 
ter, and milk and stewed pumpkins, and slept 
comfortably and soundly on the puncheon floor. 



"Feb. 14, 1823, Wm. Ross was elected Judge 
of the Court of Probate. In 1823, Geo. Cadwell, 
then of Greene County, but afteward included in 
Morgan, was elected to the Senate for Greene 
and Pike, and Archibald Job, who was still living, 
for the House. Cadwell's term expired in two 
years, and in 1824, Thomas Carlin, afterward 
elected governor in 1836, was elected to the Sen- 
ate. Cadwell was a*n educated physician, a man 
of talent and stern integrity ; he died in 1824 or 
1825. 

"At the meeting of the Legislature in 1824 
Nicholas Hanson and John Shaw both produced 
certificates of election to the House. The ques- 
tion which was entitled to the seat was referred to 
the Speaker, who decided in favor of Hanson. 
During the session the question was again 
brought before the House, and decided by a 
unanimous vote in favor of Hanson. Near the 
close of the session the question was reconsidered 
and Shaw admitted, in consideration of which 
Shaw voted for the resolution for a call of a con- 
vention. 



"For several years after I came to the State, 
deer, wild turkey and wild beasts were plenty, 
especially on the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. 
But for this fact many of our early settlers 
would have suffered for provisions, or have been 
compelled to retreat for supplies. 

"In passing from Rushville to Quincy, the 
Judge, Mr. Caverly and myself slept on the 
prairie during the night, and the next morning, 
which was Sunday, we found a house a few miles 
distant in the barrens ; and we could not make the 
family believe it was not Saturday. The nearest 
neighbor lived five miles distant. They lived on 
wild game, grated corn meal and roasted ears, 
and lived well. We thought at breakfast we 
could not wish for better fare. 

"In passing from Atlas to Gilead in Calhoun 
county we always made the house of an old 
gentleman named Munn our stopping place. He 
and his wife were always glad to see us and made 
sumptuous preparations for our comfort. 

"If I were at the stand and questioned I could 
probably answer many questions in regard tc 
matters of interest to the present inhabitants; 
but as I do not know the points on which they 
would question me, and as I have already extend- 
ed this letter, considering the hot weather, to what 
may be considered a reasonable length, I close, 
hoping that you may have a good day and a 
good time. 

"Respectfully your friend, 

"William Thomas." 

This meeting was addressed by many old set- 
tlers, who related many interesting experiences. 
The exercises were interspersed with music and 
a grand picnic dinner, etc. Letters were read from 
Edwin Draper and Levi Pettibone, of Louisiana, 
Missouri, besides one from Judge Thomas, above 
given. Wm. A. Grimshaw was elected President, 
James McWilliams, of Griggsville, Vice Presi- 
dent, and George W. Jones Assistant Secretary. 
The following resolution was ad opted: "Resolved, 
That the old settlers of Pike and Calhoun coun- 
ties be requested to notify the President and Sec- 
retary of the Old Settlers' organization, the names 
of all members of this Association who shall 
depart this life during the present year, and that 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



119 



the Secretary be instructed to enter the same 
upon record." 

Among those who addressed the assembly were 
Hon. Wm. A. Grimshaw, John T. Hodgen, of 
St. Louis, Calvin Twichell, of Calhoun county, 
J. T. Long, now of Barry, for many years a 
resident of Adams county, Wm. Turnbull, of 
Flint, A. P. Sharpe, of Griggsville, Alvin Wheel- 
er, the oldest living settler of Pike county (came 
here in 1818), now 75 years of age. Col. D. B. 
Bush closed the line of history by giving a sketch 
of Pittsfield. Dr. Worthington claimed Fred- 
erick Franklin, of Montezuma, as the oldest liv- 
ing settler of Pike county now living. He was 
the son of Ebenezer Franklin, the first settler in 
the county. 

In this connection we give the very interesting 
letter of Mr. Draper: 

"Louisiana, Mo., Sept. i, 1873. 

"Hon. Wm. A. Grimshaw and Others: Gentle- 
men. Through the politeness of some friend of 
your county-seat I am indebted for an invitation 
to attend the meeting of old settlers of your coun- 
ty at Pittsfield, on the 3d inst. ; for this invitation 
I presume I am indebted for the fact of being 
nearly connected by marriage with Levi Petti- 
bone, Esq., an old settler and perhaps the oldest 
man in Pike county, Missouri, and perhaps with 
exceptions the oldest man in Missouri, he being- 
few exceptions the oldest man in Missouri, he be- 
ing now nearing the completion of his 93d year. 
But from whatever cause,! esteem it a compliment 
altogether undeserved to myself, but \vhich never- 
theless I should take the greatest pleasure, if cir- 
cumstancs permitted, of meeting with the old 
settlers of your county, among whom I am proud 
to recognize, not only the many distinguished 
public men, but many old and long esteemed per- 
sonal friends, some of whom have long been set- 
tlers of Pike county, Illinois, and not a few of them 
old settlers of Pike and Lincoln counties, Mis- 
souri, who. not being content with aiding to break 
up the wilds of Missouri and bring them into paths 
and fields of civilization, have largely colonized 
Pike county, Illinois, where they have been long 
enough to earn the appellation of 'old settlers,' 
where they are realizing the rich fruits of their 
industry in land flowing with milk and honey, 



and as I lament to know, many of them are rest- 
ing beneath the sods that are no respecters of 
persons in the final winding up of human affairs. 
The memory of many of these persons, both liv- 
ing the dead, carries me far back into the history 
of the past, in the early history of Missouri, of 
whose soil I have been an occupant since the 
year 1815, before either your State or Missouri 
had a State Government. Though then quite 
young (but eight years old) I was old enough 
to remember everything I saw, and everybody I 
knew, much more so than persons and facts of 
later years; but to attempt to recount or name 
any considerable number of them would be to in- 
flict a bore upon you that I dare not presume 
upon, but as I presume that a part of the exer- 
cises of the occasion would be to recur to the early 
history of the West, including your State and 
ours, I can not resist the temptation to jot down 
a few facts and names, even at the risk of being 
laid upon the table as a bore. 

"The date 1815 shows that the early settlers, 
among whom was my father, were crowding 
into Missouri even before the forts were all va- 
cated, whither the old settlers had fled for the pur- 
pose of protection from hostile savages, who had 
but recently had almost undisputed possession 
of a large part of our state. To get into Missouri, 
then largely considered as the promised land, we 
had to cross the Mississippi river, the Father of 
Waters. I don't know how much of a father he 
was at that time, but I have been acquainted 
with him since that time, and I don't know much 
difference in his size between then and now, ex- 
cept occasionally, as in 1851, he got into a terrible 
rage and had uncontrolled possession from Louis- 
iana to Atlas, and rolled on, whether vexed or 
unvexed, in solemn majesty to the Gulf of 
Mexico. 

"But to continue. He had to be 'crossed' to get 
into Missouri. In 1815, as history shows, no 
steamboats were known on our rivers, and the 
only modes, or rather mode, of crossing the river 
at St. Louis was by means of a small keel-boat or 
barge without any deck or covering, propelled by 
poles; and our wagons were crossed by placing 
two planks or slabs across the keel, running the 
wagons by hand upon these slabs across the boats 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



and 'scotching' the wheels with billets of wood, 
filling in the inner parts of the boat with horses, 
children, etc. Yet we conquered the old gentle- 
man and rode across in triumph, but not, however, 
until after waiting two days on the eastern bank 
for the wind to lie, which had so ruffled the sur- 
face and temper of the 'father' that he could not, 
safely at least, be mounted by an insignificant keel- 
boat until the cause of his irritation had ceased. 

"Safely on the Missouri shore, the first night 
was passed in the city of St. Louis, then contain- 
ing about 1,200 inhabitants and very few brick 
houses ; J did not count them, however. No rail- 
roads then were even thought of in the West, so 
far as I remember, but now well, you can tell 
the tale yourselves. St. Louis has now 450,000 
inhabitants and would likely have a million but for 
Chicago and the railroads, which have revolution- 
ized the course of nature and the natural rights 
of St. Louis, which depended on the navigation 
of the great rivers to work for her ; and while her 
great landowner slept a quarter of a century, 
Chicago and the railroads were surging ahead 
of her. 

"Excuse this digression, which I could not help 
while reflecting on the immense change all over 
the West since I first crossed the great river. 

"I have alluded to the fact of your county being 
largely colonized from Pike and Lincoln counties, 
Missouri. It would be impossible for me to enu- 
merate all of them, even if I knew them all ; but 
among the names I remember well those of the 
Gibsons, the Sittons, Buchanan, Yokems, Gallo- 
way, Uncle Jake Williamson, the Cannons, Col- 
lard, Wellses, Kerrs, Noyes, Metz, Johnsons, Mc- 
Connells, Andersons, etc., etc., all of whom went 
from Pike or Lincoln. All of them were good 
citizens, while some of them held high and honor- 
able positions in public office. Your former val- 
ued sheriff, Ephraim Cannon, was for a while a 
schoolmate of mine, larger and older than I, but 
still a schoolmate. The only special recollection 
I have of our schoolboy's life was that the 
teacher once asked him, when nearly time to close 
school, 'How high is the sun ?' He replied he 
had no means of measuring the height, but 'from 
appearance it was about a rod high.' 

"John J. Collard, Esq., a former clerk of one of 



your courts, was the son of an old settler of Lin- 
coln county, dating before the war of 1812, if my 
memory is not at fault. I have attended your 
courts when held at the old county seat, Atlas, 
and since its location at your beautiful town, Pitts- 
field. The old settlers at Atlas, as well as of Pitts- 
field were the Rosses, most of whom I knew per- 
sonally, and had a slight acquaintance with the 
'Bashaw' of Hamburg, Mr. Shaw. Old Father 
Burnett and his boys John and Frank belonged to 
both Pikes, in Illinois and Missouri. The sons 
wore out their lives in trying to sustain a ferry 
between the two Pikes. 

"But I must forbear, fearing that I have already 
bored you, a thing I feared at the start. I could 
write a half quire of recollections of Pike in Mis- 
souri, and some of Pike in Illinois, if there were 
any market for them. But I must close with my 
best wishes for your people, both old and young. 
"EDWIN DRAPER." 

THIRD MEETING. 

At the Old Settlers' meeting, September 2, 
1874, Hon. William A. Grimshaw delivered an 
address of welcome, and interesting speeches were 
made by Col. Benjamin Barney. Rev. J. P. Dim- 
mitt, Dr. Hodgen, Mr. Turnbull, Judge Grigsby 
and others. Dr. P. E. Parker was elected secre- 
tary in place of G. W. Jones, resigned. A motion 
was adopted changing the time of membership 
from 1840 to 1850; also a motion to establish a 
portfolio and gallery of likenesses of old settlers ; 
and members and others were invited to send pic- 
tures. A social reception of old settlers was given 
in the evening at Bush's Hall. 

FOURTH MEETING. 

At the fourth annual meeting of the old settlers 
at Barry, August 19, 1875, old-time customs were 
commemorated by the erection of a cabin com- 
plete in all its details. It looked as if a family 
had been living in it for years. Cooking utensils 
hanging around the wall; suspended on a string 
were slices of pumpkin and dried apples, corn 
hung from the posts suspended by the husks, the 
rifle hung on the wooden hook over the door, the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



spinning wheel, the reel and the hand-cards occu- 
pied prominent positions; the mammoth gourd 
for a water bucket and the lesser one as a dipper, 
attracted considerable attention. On the outside 
walls the skins of different fur-bearing animals 
were stretched ; climbing vines were turned up to 
the roof, and the sunflower in all its magnificence 
nodded here and there close to the house, and last, 
but not least, the latch-string hung on the out- 
side. The cabin was presided over during the 
early part of the day by Mr. William Grotts, who 
entertained his visitors with his "fiddle," playing 
"Arkansas Traveler," "Money Musk," "Old 
Rosin the Bow," etc. Mr. Grotts was born in this 
state in 1802, in Madison county. His father was 
killed by Indians in Bond county in 1814. 

FIFTH MEETING. 

During the Old Settlers' meeting at Griggs- 
ville, August 30, 1876, they formed a pro- 
cession in front of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, headed by an old truck wagon 
drawn by oxen, containing a band, the peo- 
ple being dressed in the Sunday attire of 
pioneer times, girls and boys riding double on 
horseback without saddles, showing how they 
went to church in olden times. This was one of 
the most attractive features of the procession, the 
young 1 adies especially conducting themselves 
with becoming grace, and appeared as if they 
were inspired with the spirit of their grandmoth- 
ers. An old dilapidated wagon drawn. by oxen was 
loaded with the old-fashioned loom, spinning 
wheel, flax wheel and reel, and an old plow was 
followed by most of our modern machinery in the 
shape of reapers, mowers, harrows, etc. After 
these a man dressed in Indian costume on his 
pony, ladies and gentlemen in modern style in 
buggies and carriages, the fire engine drawn by 
members of the base-ball clubs in uniform, and a 
modern child-wagon with children was drawn by 
a very small donkey. 

Col. William Ross was the first president and 
Marcellus Ross the first secretary. The record 
is rather indefinite until 1877, when William A. 
Grimshaw was chosen president and William H. 
Johnson secretary. Each held the office for nine 



consecutive years. In 1877 J- M. Bush, Sr., was 
chosen president and held the office for five years 
at intervals. Jason A. Rider was secretary for 
six years. A. L. Galloway was president two 
years ; M. D. Massie was president for five years 
at intervals ; W. B. Grimes, secretary for three 
years. Jon Shastid, president three years at in- 
tervals ; Asa C. Matthews, president four years, 
and is the present incumbent. Will S. Binns has 
been secretary for ten years, and is the present 
incumbent. At one of the meetings at Barry, the 
citizens presented Hon. William A. Grimshaw 
with a fine silver set, and at New Canton, old and 
young settlers presented William H. Johnson 
with a gold-headed ebony cane. The presents 
were given as a fitting token to the gentlemen 
for long and faithful services. The old settlers' 
meetings have been held at Blue Creek, Pitts- 
field, Barry, Griggsville, New Salem, Kinder- 
hook, New Canton, Pleasant Hill and Eldara. 
The different towns each gave interesting pro- 
grams, intespersed with addresses by noted citi- 
zens at home and abroad, music, old relics, pic- 
tures of departed pioneers and other interesting 
matters, that made the day one of recreation and 
pleasure that will always keep the towns and the 
entertainers bright for the dear old memories 
awakened. 

"Say, Bill, don't you remember when you an' me 

was small, 
How all the houses looked so big, an' all the trees 

so tall, 
An' we could look an' see jest where the sky come 

to the ground? 
'Twas jest about a mile from us, fer all the way 

around. 
An' that, to us, was all the world ; we knowed of 

nothin' more. 
Our knowledge of earth's magnitude was jest 

about "two by four." 
An' we never knowed no better till one day when 

Uncle Ike 
Come drivin' like the mischief, down that old 

river pike, 
An' stoppin' sudden at our gate, he said that 

Uncle Jim 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Was at his house, most awful sick, an' we all went 

home with him. 
An' you an' me both sot behind in that old wagon 

box, 
An' jolted us 'most inside out, o'er stumps and 

roots and rocks, 
Till Uncle struck that prairie road, an' started 

toward the sun ; 
That's where the "spreadin-out process" in you 

an' me begun. 
We noticed that the place where earth had always 

met the sky 

Was jest as far ahead of us, an' we both won- 
dered why, 
An' ever since that day, dear Bill, the earth an' 

sky's been growin'. 
But, Oh ! the years have gone so fast ; so short the 

time for sowin'. 
But lookin' back along the paths that you and me 

have trod, 
I think I see at every turn the guidin' had of 

God. 
From that small world whose bound'ry was where 

heaven touched the ground, 
To this great, boundless universe ; along the road 

I've found 
That when the path seemed darkest, and my soul 

was filled with dread, 

If I reached my hand out heavenward, I was al- 
ways safely led. 
But, thinkin' of that startin' point, and how things 

have spread out, 
I wonder, when this life is done, if we're not jest 

about 
Ready to start in on one that's always goin' to 

grow, 
An' spread, an' widen, an' expand, an' like a river 

flow, 
Until our knowledge has no bound our joy is 

unconfined, 
An' we become like unto God in love, an' soul, 

an' mind." 

EARLY EVENTS. 

The first three couples married in Pike county 
under license law were: First, Peter J. Sax- 
bury and Matilda Stanley, on June 27, 1827, by 
Nathaniel Hinckly, J. P. ; second, William Foster 



and Elizabeth Sconce, on August n, 1827, by 
William Ross, J. P.; third, William White and 
Barbara Sapp, on August 20, 1827, by James 
W. Whiting, J. P., best known as my "Lord 
Coke." There were great weddings in the old 
days. The ceremony was very impressive and 
taught that it was "till death do us part." The 
happy bridegroom certainly felt as Shakespeare 
expresses it in his Two Gentlemen of Verona: 

"Why, man, she is mine own ; 
And I as rich in having such a jewel, 
As twenty seas, if all their sands were pearls, 
The water nectar and the rocks pure gold. 

Too sacred to be spoken." 

The old-time political meetings were often a 
source of pleasure as well as a gathering of 
knowledge as to how "we" are saving the country 
and how the other fellows are about to dump 
the whole outfit into ruin. An old party man 
related a good one illustrative of the often long 
and tedious speeches that were so common. 

"Old man Cinnattus was to speak at one of the 
river towns and he began at the creation and 
apologized and explained for an hour and the 
fellow who went with him had often heard the 
old straw threshed over and he said to a man 
near by, 'I will take a nap and when the old man 
gets down to where Washington crossed the Del- 
aware wake me up.' " It is not so now, as a read- 
ing public will not submit to long and tiresome 
harangues as of old. 

The county's amusements have been good and 
sufficient, and the old and young generations have 
perhaps properly mixed labor and recreation, the 
older ones are yet wishing for the old-fashioned 
one-ring circus, and it is a pleasant remembrance 
to recall the old-time funmakers and entertainers, 
the old clowns, Dan Rice, Bill Lake and Den 
Stone, and the proprietors were Van Amburg, 
Sands, Caldwell, Bailey, Mabie, Robbins, Bar- 
num and a host of others that willingly exchanged 
fun and the glittering tinsel of the sawdust arena 
for the public's quarters and halves, and after a 
day at the circus and a good social mixing with 
their neighbors, all returned to their homes and 
buckled down to hard work till the next and only 




OLD COURTHOUSE 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



125 



greatest came along. It was ever thus, and the old 
fellows are still attending "jist" to take the chil- 
dren. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

Forty-five years ago a merchant here had a 
big lot of eggs which he had taken in trade at 
three cents a dozen. The demand was so poor 
he concluded to pack them and ship them to St. 
Louis. Here is the result: 



180 dozen eggs 

One barrel 

Two bushels oats. . . . 
Freight and hauling. . 

Total... 



$5-40 

30 

80 

. ..,75 



$7-25 



In about four days he heard from them. St. 
Louis was overstocked and his shipment sold for 
three cents a dozen. After paying a small sum 
for commission he had $5.00 left. Now the same 
number of eggs would net at his door about $30. 

About those times a dressed hog would sell 
for $1.50 per hundred, and nearly all farm prod- 
ucts were dull sale and at low prices. Now the 
public have good prices for all farm stuff, and all 
supplies are very cheap as compared with the 
past. Progress, demand, competition and most 
excellent facilities of transportation make this 
the golden age. 

This township had a venerable old citizen, 
John Hardesty, an old-time pedagogue, who was 
an auctioneer at a sale in Scott county when 
Stephen A. Douglas, afterward the "little giant 
of Illinois," was the clerk of the sale. He al- 
ways referred with pride to the fact that he had 
given the young Green Mountain boy his first 
job in Illinois. Mr. Hardesty and the great 
Douglas entered the dreamless sleep that knows 
no waking, in the same year. 

Peter J. Saxbury, the first man married in 
Pike county under the license law, in 1827, was 
a native of New York, and attended the same 
school with Martin Van Buren ; who was eighth 
president of the United States. He was a resi- 



dent here from 1826 to his death, about 1869. 
Had the high honor of having all of his sons in 
the Federal army: Benjamin in the Sixteenth 
Illinois, Edison in the Ninety-ninth Illinois, and 
James in the One Hundred and Twenty-seventh 
Illinois. 

The old-time wheat harvest was a great one as 
compared to the present. When the first Mc- 
Cormick reaper was used here it was a wonder- 
ful attraction and the driver and raker were 
looked upon as great people to manage such an 
intricate machine. Then there were six or eight 
binders, several shockers and a whiskey and wa- 
ter boy ; so the harvest was an expensive one. 
Then, came the dropper, and manv said the 
heights had been reached and there could be 
nothing better. Next the self-binder, and now 
instead of nearly twenty men three or four men 
can harvest a hundred-acre field with less than 
one-fourth the expense of the old way. 

The writer has ridden a horse to tramp out 
wheat, before threshing machines were in use, 
and saw the wheat winnowed in a sheet. Next 
saw the old-fashioned flail in use, the sickle and 
then the cradle for cutting wheat. Now all is 
changed, and the present generation hardly real- 
izes how primitive things were in our grand- 
father's days. 

A little over fifty years ago the writer was 
explaining a water telegraph system that was in 
use in this county at the Wike woolen mill and 
on the farm now owned by John Kendrick. The 
old man who was a listener said, "Now, my son, 
don't tell me that." As I was trying to assure the 
old man it was true he said, "You young rascal, 
don't lie to me. It can't be did." A week later 
the old man saw it in operation, and the next 
thing he did was to hunt up the boy and say. "My 
boy, I ax your pardon. It is the truth you tell 
me. I seed it with my own eyes." 

In 1847 James Hyde, now a resident of Lin- 
coln. Illinois, and in the ninety-second year, 
taught school here. Solomon Shewe, Sr., who was 
a resident here for nearly forty years, was in the 



126 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY; 



early days an Ohio river boatman, and saw the 
celebrated Mike Fink shoot the cup of whiskey 
off of Carpenter's head. And later, when their 
friendship waned, he saw Fink after he had pur- 
posely killed Carpenter by aiming below the cup 
and- putting the ball in his forehead. 

It is not generally known but it is true that in 
1846 to 1850 what is now Cincinnati Landing 
was the larg'est and most business-like town in 
the county. It had several stores, a large lumber 
and grist mill, a beef and pork packing establish- 
ment, and was the point of entry for nearly all of 
Pike county. The largest New Orleans boats 
came there, and took their entire cargoes of 
wheat, corn, beef, pork and other produce that 
had accumulated during the winter. In those 
days there were two lines of steamers every day 
from St. Louis to Keokuk. 

Not so many decades ago Pike county had 
twenty-four mills, fifteen pork packing plants, 
three woolen mills, six tobacco factories and a 
few foundries. But now changed conditions 
have closed all but three or four flour mills, and 
yet the old county is one of the best in an agri- 
cultural way, but very poor in manufactures. 

Pike county was organized January 31, 1821, 
and in 1830 had 2,396 inhabitants. In 1880 it had 
the largest population, 33,761 ; in 1900, only 

31,595- 

In war times Pike county had some citizens 
that were as useful at home as those at the front. 
A few that I knew in various parts of the country 
were highly esteemed by home folk as well as 
the boys in the field. The writer at one time sent 
nearly $10,000 to the following for distribution 
to their families and home friends from the Nine- 
ty-ninth boys: L. L. Talcott, Pittsfield; Benjamin 
D. Brown, Barry; Amos Morey, New Canton; 
S. B. Gaines, Kinderhook, and others that I do 
not now recall. The money, representing several 
months of service of the soldier boys, was 
promptly turned over to those that were named 
in the instructions, and riot a cent of charges 
would any of those splendid old citizens take. 
Their hands and hearts were ever open to the 
families of the soldier boys. John McTucker, of 
Barry, and Amos Morey, of New Canton, were 



about the only citizens that Grand Army posts 
were named after. 

In 1862 when the Pikers of the Ninety-ninth 
were in Texas county, Missouri, S. S. Burdett, 
who was afterward commander of the national 
Grand Army of the Republic, was quartermaster 
for General Warren's brigade, he was called upon 
by a native who said, "Are you the quatamasta ? I 
come to get a voucha for some cohn you alls' men 
took from me." "How much?" asked Burdett. 
"Well, sah, there was a heap of it." "Well, how 
many bushels ?" "There was a great pile of it." 
"Was.it loo or 500 bushels?" "Well, sah, there 
was a right smart chance of it." "Well, I will 
give you a voucher for a right smart chance of 
corn," said the quartermaster, and that was the 
end of it. Another native asked for some powder 
and shot to shoot a few squirrels with, as his boy 
had the ager. I met Burdett in Washington a 
few years ago, and he was yet having fun at the 
thought of the yokels of the Ozarks. 

"When I was a small lad I stopped one night at 
the house of Colonel Seeley, who was known as 
the 'easy sheriff' of Pike county. He earned the 
title by paying taxes for other men when he was 
sheriff and collector, they paying him when more 
convenient, and 'tis said he lost but little by ad- 
vancing for them. A good old-time story is told 
of a seeker for office meeting one of the voters, 
telling his mission and who he was. The voter 
said, 'I don't know you, never heard of you.' 
'Why, you should know me. I am a son-in-law of 
Colonel Seeley.' The honest rustic said, 'Who 
the devil is Colonel Seeley?' But the son-in-law 
was elected all the same. 

"After Colonel Barney, well known here as 
'Uncle Ben,' left Atlas he made his home between 
New Canton and Kinderhook. He was a promi- 
nent and useful citizen, and a great friend of the 
Pike county soldiers of the Civil war. His son 
John was killed at Jackson, Mississippi, in 1863, a 
member of the Twenty-eighth Illinois. Pike 
county had another 'Uncle Ben,' B. D. Brown, of 
Barry, that will always be remembered as one of 
old Pike's grand old men." 

"J. W. Reed was ferninst us'ns and was with 
Gen. John Morgan. He told a good story of a 
mother's kindness to him and three other Johnnies 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



127 



that were cut off from Morgan's men in Tennes- 
see in 1864. The good old soul fed and housed 
them, and kept them an extra day to rest up. 
When they left her cabin home in the Tennessee 
mountains she filled their haversacks with fried 
chicken, young squirrels and biscuits and butter. 
When the boys wanted to pay her out of what 
little Confederate money they had, she said no, 
she was only doing for them what she hoped 
some one would do for her boy. 

"One of the listeners asked Reed where the 
good woman was. He said, 'In heaven.' The in- 
quirer said, 'How do you know?' 'Say, fellow, 
don't you think I know? Of course I do. All 
women of her kind are there, because she fed 
the hungry and did her duty in a way that in- 
sured her a crown of glory." 

In the days when tramps first invaded old 
Pike, a weary walker canvassed New Canton and 
vicinity for all its people would hand out, and 
then wended his way to Barry. There he struck 
"Uncle Gumry and Dr. Baker. The first was 
rich in money ; the other was rich in his jolly 
and generous ways, but did not have pennies 
where Uncle Gumry had dollars. Each gave 
the tramp half a dollar and Dr. Baker said, "My 
good man, you should be very grateful, as this 
poor man (Uncle G.) has given you as much as 
I." Both are on the other shore, but Barry and 
New Canton will long remember them for their 
good citizenship. 

In 1859, an incident in regard to the way 
passers of counterfeit money did, occurred. A 
well-dressed and fine-looking man came here on 
horseback, -stopped at the store of Amos Moore, 
bought a 25 cent saddlegirth, gave a $10 bill, 
took 'the change and departed. Mr. Morey dis- 
covered later that the bill was a counterfeit. Two 
weeks later he was in St. Louis and went down to 
see the morning boat come in, as he expected to 
meet a Barry man. 

As he was going on the boat he saw the 
counterfeiter, and called his attention to the fact 
lie had a bad bill he had passed on him up in 
Illinois. The fellow said, "I will see you in a 
moment and make it all right." "Now is the 
moment." said Mr. Morey, "and I insist that it 
be now attended to." The fellow was profuse 
8 



in apologies, said it was not intended, and gave 
him a new State Bank of Missouri $10 bill, the 
best bank in existence in wildcat money times, 
taking back his counterfeit. 

After the close of the war a grand Charity 
Ball was given at New Canton, which netted 
$100 in cash for the deserving poor of Pleasant 
Vale township. A noted attorney from St. Louis, 
a Mr. Jones, W. A. Grimshaw and J. M. Bush, 
Sr., were attendants and added to the exchequer 
and everybody but Mr. Grimshaw tripped the 
light fantastic toe. It was the talk of the town. 
How happy and generous all were for sweet 
charity's sake. 

An amusing incident occurred when Tyre Jen- 
nings, one of the county's best old-time farmers, 
was elected to the General Assembly. Old Un- 
cle John Benson, one of the observant and well- 
to-do farmers, enquired, "Who got to -go to the 
Legislature ?" The answer was "Tyre Jennings," 
and the old man in great astonishment said, 
"What! Send Jennings? Why did they not send 
Gumry or Grubb? They've got clothes." He 
thought Jennings as a plain old farmer would 
not make a presentable appearance in the old- 
fashioned clothes of that date that the farmers 
wore. 

Back 'in the old days the seekers for office made 
calls on the older and most prominent citizens, and 
one called on William Turner, ah eccentric and 
blunt old citizen, who was justice of the peace 
and postmaster at the time, and was prominent 
and well liked for his many good traits. "My 

name is and I am a candidate for 

and I understand you are one of the well known 
and highly connected citizens." "Well, yes, I 
guess I am. There was a wedding yesterday 
that made me kin to the d dest set of hog 
thieves ever in Illinois." 

Another incident in the old postmaster's plain 
' speech. He kept a small stock of goods in con- 
nection with the postoffice. A man who stam- 
mered came to him and said, "Squeer, I wa-want 
to get a s-s-eet of cu-cups and saucers, and I will 
pay you Saturday." As the old postmaster was 
wrapping them up the man said, "I-I-I am honest 
and will pay you." The old postmaster set them 
back on the shelf and said, "See here, feller, if you 



128 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



will go out in town and get any one else to say 
that, I will give you the cups and saucers." 

Mr. Turner was postmaster for many years, 
and is kindly remembered for his obliging and af- 
fable, though blunt ways. In those days the sal- 
ary was only about $40 a year, and the mails were 
few and far between. Mr. Turner had a brother 
here who boasted of the honor of seeing and 
shaking hands with Marquis de Lafayette, who 
visited America in 1825. 

John Webb was an early settler, a successful 
business man for many years. He had a store in 
New Canton from about 1840 to 1852, and left 
here very rich. 

Among the old ones just after the war we had 
a very positive and circumspect citizen that was 
noted for his big "I." Once in a discussion re- 
garding spelling and pronouncing, the boys re- 
ferred him to Noah Webster as authority. The 
old fellow said, "That's all right, but that's where 
me and Mr. Webster differ." 

We had an old minister once that was very 
plain, and would make himself very agreeable to 
the common sinner as well as the plated one. Some 
of the "better than thou" crowd said, "He is los- 
ing his dignity and we fear impairing his influ- 
ence by being too sociable with the common 
crowd." But he did not. Many a man has en- 
deared himself to the populace by plain ways, and 
mingling with the ordinary mortals. 

When Lincoln's monument was dedicated 
shortly after the close of the war, many Pike 
county people were in attendance, and were pro- 
fuse in praise of General Shermar, "Old Tecum- 
seh" and "Uncle Billy," as he was called because 
he marched in the procession with the boys from 
the public square to Oak Ridge. It was noted, 
and will be forever remembered that Grant, Sher- 
man, Canby and other noted generals that Pike 
county boys were with, were loved for their 
plain and affable ways. 

It pays in all the walks of life to be manly, 
kind, affable and considerate with others, and 
that is the secret, an open one, why so many Pike 
county people and people elsewhere are so highly 
esteemed, past and present. They knew others 
had rights and were willing to so admit. I re- 
member vividly and gratefully many good men 



and women here and elsewhere who, though plain 
citizens, have left their impress on the times, and 
did their duty well. 

Pike county is now eighty- four years old, and 
in the years that have flown it has had a good 
record. Its people have sized up with other 
counties and it has had its share of joys and 
sorrows. It has kept up with the march of civili- 
zation and progress, and in the years to come 
its people will be found on the right and onward 
march for all time. 

In the old wildcat banking days, "befo' the wah, 
sah," when all the village had banks of issue, 
on paper only but was registered at the state capi- 
tal, there was a Farmer's Bank of New Canton. 

About a year after its establishment, on paper 
only, a man came riding into town with an old- 
fashioned saddlebag full of the bills, well printed 
and on fair paper, looking for the bank with its 
capital of $50,000, to have the bills redeemed in 
gold or silver But as he had no microscope or 
search warrant he failed to locate it. 

It should be stated in justice to our citizens 
that no one here knew anything of it, nor had any 
part in the transaction. But that is the way 
many of the old-time banks of issue were con- 
ducted. The sharper that could get a lot of al- 
leged securities could deposit them in the state 
auditor's office, and then the bank was a go, and 
the man who took the bills was a goner. 

The only paper money of those days that was 
not at a discount was the State Bank of Missouri 
at St. Louis. Those were the times when coon 
skins were taken for taxes. When the first issue 
of greenbacks or demand notes were in circu- 
lation they were discounted here five per cent. 
and soon afterwards were at a fine premium. In 
the old days every man in business had a bank 
detector, and would refer to it every time a bill 
was offered to ascertain its worth, and whether 
it was genuine or a counterfeit. 

We had reformers, too, in the past. One man 
here went into the only store in town and bought 
all the light literature, or "yellow back novels" 
as they were called, and made light of them by 
burning to stop the sale and use of them. The 
whole lot cost him $4.00, but others were printed 
and sold "allee same." Another man wanted the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



129 



apple and peach orchards cut down to stop fruit 
distilling. They recall the fable of the ox and the 
fly. The latter said, "I beg your pardon for light- 
ing on your horn." "Don't mention it," said the 
ox. "I did not know you were there." 

The old style harvest of half a century ago 
was a curiosity as compared with the present. 
The wheat fields were small and two or three 
stout men would start out in the morning with 
the old-fashioned grapevine cradles. A boy fol- 
lowed each cradler to straighten out the wheat 
for the binder, who tied it in bundles for the 
shocker. The harvest began after an early break- 
fast. At nine o'clock a lunch was brought to the 
field, with whiskey for an appetizer and butter- 
milk, sweet milk, coffee or water, as the taste 
of the man required. Then at noon a heavy din- 
ner with another "jigger" of whiskey, at three in 
the afternoon another lunch and at sundown a 
big supper and more whiskey. It was rather re- 
markable with so much whiskey thai there was 
no drunkenness. 

After the harvest came the stacking and then 
the threshing with the flail or tramping out with 
horses. The harvests were long and tedious, but 
all went well and the people seemed happy in the 
primitive ways. That sytle of wheat cutting re- 
quired over a dozen men and boys. Now the 
work that then took a whole day can be done by 
a man and boy in a few hours. 

The old-time corn crops were slow but sure. 
The ground was usually plowed by oxen and the 
old wooden moldboard plows, the seed dropped 
by hand and covered with a hoe. The weeds were 
kept down with a hoe and sometimes a small 
plow. The crops, however, were generally good, 
and the old-timers were very happy in the pos- 
session of a small piece of land and an abun- 
dance of the earth's bounties. 

In 1825 when Lewis Turner, a resident of 
New Canton for many years, saw the Marquis 
de Lafavette at St. Louis, he told how great was 
the enthusiasm and respect shown the noted 
Frenchman, and how primitive things were. Mr. 
Turner often spoke of the changes from 1825 to 
about 1865, when he passed away. Could he now 



see the remarkable transformation in the forty 
year.s that have come and gone, he would be ask 
ing, "What next? Can there be anything else 
wonderful to happen?" The onward march has 
been startling and surprising and to the observer 
who is of an optimistic turn great changes will 
yet occur. 

"Tis always morning somewhere, and above 
The awakening continents from shore to 
shore, 

Somewhere the birds are singing evermore." 

And 'tis always morning with progressive people 
here and elsewhere. 

My first trip from Quincy to Chicago was 
made in eighteen hours over the old Northern 
Cross Railroad, now the C. B. & Q., and my first 
trip from New Canton to New York was made in 
seventy-two hours. Now it can be made in less 
than thirty hours and the trip to Chicago in about 
nine hours. When a boy I stemmed tobacco for 
a German cigarmaker .that was ten months in 
crossing the ocean. Now it is made in a week and 
often less. In the old times it took part of a day 
and a night to get to St. Louis, now the trip can 
be made in four hours. From ocean to ocean is 
now traveled in as many days as it took months 
fifty years ago. 

Up ,to the year 1860 our people kept up with 
the march of civilization and progress as best 
they could, and were apparently contented with 
old-fashioned ways. But about that time the 
Hannibal & Naples Railroad was surveyed, and 
the prospect was fair enough for the iron horse 
to be soon crossing the country between the Mis- 
sissippi and Illinois rivers, where for many years 
the stagecoach had held supreme sway. Then 
several of the old-time citizens engaged largely 
in getting out ties. The right of way was piled 
high with many thousand ties that were never 
used, as there was a hitch somewhere in the rosy 
outlook. The ties rotted and caused great loss 
to many men. 

Soon after the war a new start was made, and 
the road now known as the Wabash was built. 
In 1871 the Quincy, Alton & St. Louis was built 



1 3 o 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



by General Singleton and Mr. Woods, of Phila- 
delphia. It is known now as the Louisville 
branch of the C. B. & Q. R. B. Lewis was 
the engineer, and Mr. Lionburger the man who 
secured the right of way and very generous dona- 
tions from the citizens and along the route. New 
Canton people were liberal givers, and for a 
while it was the connecting link between St. Louis 
and St. Paul. The Keokuk & Northwestern was 
built later on the west side of the river, and soon 
took the through business from this line, but it 
has been a great convenience to the west side 
of the county for its mail, passenger and freight 
service, and we are all glad that we have it. 

The first general freight and passenger agent 
was N. D. Munson, of Quincy, who was after- 
ward secretary of the Illinois railroad and ware- 
house commission. The following gentlemen 
were Mr. Munson's successors: General Dana, 
Mr. Miles, Mr. Crampton, Col. W. P. Moore, 
and the present able and courteous agent, E. F. 
Bradford. 

In the roseate days of steamboating Cincinnati 
Landing had a noted character for mischief and 
goodness. A rare combination, but such was 
"old" John Blain. He would care for the sick, 
render any favor possible for him, and then lie 
awake to think up some harmless mischief to play 
upon someone, friend or stranger. In peach time 
(and in the old times there were many fine or- 
chards) a boat crowded with passengers stopped 
at the landing to take on about 1,500 sacks of 
wheat. Old John came around eating a peach, 
with two in his hand. A passenger asked him 
where he could buy some. The old mischief said, 
"Out by the slough bridge there is a big peach 
orchard, and the owner will give you all you can 
eat." 

The passenger said, "Captain, how long will 
the boat be here?" "About an hour. I will 
ring the bell and you will have time enough." At 
that moment all on board were suddenly peach- 
hungry and over a hundred started on the run. 
Then old John wandered up the river, as his joke 
had caught with a vengeance. The passengers 
went to the bridge, and up and down the slough 
for a quarter of a mile. Presently the bell rang 



and then there was a free-for-all race back to the 
boat. There was not a peach orchard within five 
miles of the Landing. Old John was conveni- 
ently out of sight, and did not go to the boat land- 
ing for weeks, as he was afraid someone would 
catch him. 

This township had a worthy old citizen, Moses 
Morey, who was present at a meeting of com- 
missioners in 1828 or 1829, on the bluffs along 
the Mississippi river when a county and town 
were to be named. After considerable deliber- 
ation one man said : "John Quincy Adams is our 
President, and I propose that the new county 
(then a part of old Pike) be named Adams and 
the town (that was then partly platted) be 
called Quincy." It was so ordered and Pike has 
always been proud of the Gem City and Adams 
county. 

Shortly after, it was said by an old citizen, 
Col. William Ross, 'that Quincy would not make 
much of a town as it was too close to Atlas. But, 
alas, "the plans of mice and men gang aft aglee." 
Atlas is still here and has about held its own, 
while Quincy has got to be "a right peart town." 
with 40,000 people. 

In 1865 Amos Morey and Eli Lyons visited 
Quincy to purchase a boiler for the mill then 
being built here, and they asked the boiler maker 
to put it on the levee and close up the flues. The 
man said, "What boat will take it?" "We will 
float it down." Nearly all said it would sink and 
be lost, and the word was passed around that a 
couple of suckers from Pike county were going 
to roll a twenty-foot boiler in the river and float 
it down to Cincinnati Landing. So a crowd of 
five or six hundred gathered to see the boiler 
go to the bottom. It cost $850 and a number were 
sorry to see the owner lose so much money. 
But at the word "Let her go," it was soon in the 
water and floated like a duck. It was brought 
into the cut-off and down the Sny, and hauled 
from there to the mill, where it did service for 
over twenty years. 

Before the Sny levee was built the bottom 
lands were a free grazing place for great herds 
of cattle and many acquired riches in that way. 
The levee project soon had that class up in arms 
Against it, but the onward march of civilization 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



and progress soon changed the wild into bounti- 
ful harvest fields. About that time the vicinity 
had a number of rich and enterprising men who 
assisted in nearly all worthy enterprises for the 
general good, and their impress on the country 
and the welfare will last through succeeding gen- 
erations. 

Forty years ago the federal troops under Gen- 
eral Canby were investing Spanish Fort and 
Blakely in Alabama. Mat McKinney, an Iowa 
boy, who was orderly for the Pike county brigade, 
told one evening while sitting around the bivouac 
fire a story that was fully illustrative of the mod- 
esty of the greatest soldier of modern times. 
"General Carr gave me an order to take to Gen- 
eral Grant's headquarters near Vicksburg. When 
I was about half way there I saw a man sitting 
on his horse and I knew from his clothes he was 
one of our boys. So I saluted and said, 'Can you 
tell me the way to General Grant's camp?' 'I am 
going there, you can ride with me.' He was going 
on a quick-stepping horse and I had to thump my 
old plug to keep up. But I kept alongside of him 
and presently he asked, 'Do you want to see Grant 
or his adjutant?' I said, 'I have papers for Gen- 
eral Rawlins.' 'That is his tent,' and just then a 
darky took the man's horse and I found I had 
been riding with General Grant. I almost fell 
off my horse in surprise, as he was the first gen- 
eral I ever rode beside. With all the others I 
had to keep in the rear." 

Following the list of steamboats and their 
captains, the names of a few of their patrons of 
"aid lang syne" may be interesting. At Barry 
was Shields & Lillis. Angle, Brown & Crandall, 
Montgomery Blair, Hammond & Green. Thomas 
Gray, Gorton & Dutton, White Brothers. C. & S. 
Davis, Elisha Hurt, Sweet & Mallory and E. W. 
Blades. 

Kinderhook : Hull & Orr, Alex. Anderson, J. 
W. Mellon, David Devoe, S. B. Gaines and Hull 
& Colvin. Eldara : Alex. Dubois, Smith & Hacl- 
sell, Dr. Landrum, Burke & Davis, Freeman & 
Lippincott and Jones & Easley. 

New Canton : John Webb, S. Gay, Shipman & 
Freeman, William P. Freeman, P. H. Davis. 
Amos Morev, Warriner & Blain, Dobbins & Min- 



ton and Massie & Gray. In those times all 
named were large shippers of produce and re- 
ceivers of goods. 

The pork packing industry was well repre- 
sented in the three towns, and in 1865 when 
Amos Morey and Bradford Uppinghouse started 
the flour mill here they often had orders for flour 
to go west, as at that time there were no flour 
mills in what is now the Central West. At a time 
when wheat was scarce they had orders for flour 
at $20 a barrel at the mill. Frequently corn was 
shippped from here at seventy-five cents to a dol- 
lar a bushel. That was usually in the spring, 
when the southern planters most needed corn, 
and also before they knew that corn could be 
raised in the South. The highest price for corn 
ever known here was $1.29 per bushel. Wheat 
was $2.50 to $3.00 per bushel, pork $25 per bar- 
rel, lard $50 per tierce, hogs 12 1-2 cents per 
pound net. 

A recent number of Everybody's Magazine 
has an article in which the wrecking by cannon 
and musket balls of the steamer Empress on the 
lower river in war time recalls the trip before 
that of the Empress. Col. Dan Bush of the Sec- 
ond Illinois Cavalry, and now of Portland, Ore- 
gon, and the writer, made a trip from St. Louis 
to New Orleans when Capt. Sam Rider, of Pike 
county, and his brother Jason, who was afterward 
circuit clerk of Pike county, were in command of 
the Empress, and we with the other passengers 
enjoyed the trip, and felt gratified that we es- 
caped the bushwhackers. On her next trip she 
was shot nearly to pieces and partially wrecked. 
Capt. Sam Rider and Captain Abrams were Illi- 
nois river captains, and were highly esteemed 
by all who knew them. 

Near New Canton is a wonderful spring that 
is known as Salt Spring, and its healing bene- 
ficial waters will rank with any others in curing 
many of the ills mankind is afflicted with. An 
analysis of the water made several years ago 
showed salt, sulphur, magnesia and carbonate of 
iron. The water never freezes, and when a heavy 
snow is on the ground there is an open space of 



132 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



fifty feet in diameter that the snow stands as 
though an artist had smoothed its walls. 

It is a great laxative, and a most excellent 
anti-scorbutic. Some day it will be better known 
and its healing qualities sought. About twenty 
years ago the owner, the late James D. Rupert, 
put some pipes in the spring and had a tin cir- 
cus put on top, and the heavy flow of the water 
upward kept the objects constantly in motion, 
greatly to the delight of old and young. 

One beautiful balmy day in October, the sunny 
golden month of the year, there was said by care- 
ful estimate to have been fully 2,000 visitors, 
coming from Pittsfield and many of the nearby 
towns. A man once ran a fifteen-foot pole down 
in the center of the spring, and as soon as he 
let go of it it was shot out in the air its full 
length. 

It may be given as a reason for its not being 
fitted up and utilized as a health resort, that it is 
on very low land, and as the bottom is slowly fill- 
ing up from the floods of Kizer creek it may in 
the near future come into greater prominence. 
It is known to be a sure cure for eczema and el- 
cosis. Louisiana's spring is of the same charac- 
ter. Rails county, Mo., also has a like one. 

In the old whig days of 1840, Harrison and 
Tyler were the candidates, and the cry was, "Tip- 
pecanoe and Tyler, too," log cabins and hard 
cider. Charles T. Brewster, Hiram Smith and 
others went from here to Springfield with ox 
teams, a miniature log cabin and several barrels of 
hard cider to attend a great whig gathering of 
that time. The trip took about two weeks. Now 
it could be made by rail in a few hours. 

C. T. Brewster, Hiram Smith and Jesse Titts- 
worth were the men who laid out New Canton 
in 1835 and at the sale af town lots the prices 
were from $7 to $75. David Dutton, who died in 
1854, had the first apple orchard in this town- 
ship about 1825, and the fruit was very good, 
people came long distances to buy. Old-time 
citizens, like Hazen Pressy, Mr. Nesmith and D. 
A. Shaw, who resided on the old mail route from 
Quincy to Pittsfield, came every season to buy, 
till they raised orchards of their own. 

When John Wood, afterward Governor of Il- 



linois, and Mr. Keyes were on their way to what 
is now Quincy, they camped here on the creek, 
which was afterward named Keyes creek, now 
called Kizer. 

Answering the query, "Did slavery ever exist 
in Pike county or Illinois ?" No, but there was a 
mighty effort to make the state slave territory. At 
an election in 1822, when Edward Coles was 
elected governor, there then was an incidental 
test vote that showed about 2,000 in favor of mak- 
ing Illinois a slave state, but as the new governor 
was a strong opponent of the traffic in human 
chattels the great curse for Illinois was averted. 

At an old-time public dinner were given the 
following toasts: "The means of introducing 
and spreading the African family." (Three 
cheers. ) "The enemies of the convention ; may 
they ride a porcupine saddle on a hard trotting 
horse a long journey, without money or friends." 
"The state of Illinois. The ground is good, prai- 
ries in abundance; give us plenty of negroes, a 
little industry and she will distribute her treasure." 

Thus many of the old-timers felt, and it lasted 
for nearly forty years. It received its first quietus, 
however, during the great debate of Lincoln and 
Douglas in 1858, when Douglas said, "It matters 
not to me whether slavery is voted up or down," 
and the great Lincoln answered, "It does matter 
to me. I hope to live so long that under God I 
may see every man a freeman." And by the bless- 
ing of the great Father and the Union army his 
hope was realized. 

The writer has seen the auction block in the 
old slave states, and witnessed a few sales of 
mothers from their children. Pleasant Vale has 
to-day a worthy colored citizen whose mother was 
sold away from him when he was about six 
months old. 

Pike county had a few stations on what was 
known as the underground railroad in slavery 
times. Many honored old citizens were often 
very severely censured because they sheltered and 
fed the runaway negroes. Oftentimes a negro 
would be captured and returned and the captor 
receive $50 or $100, and be looked upon as a great 
hero by many for his bravery in capturing a poor 
fugitive from slavery. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



133 



Old Pike is perhaps as well known as any 
county in any of the states. About thirty-five 
years ago I was in a city in Indiana and was pre- 
sented to an old gentleman as from Illinois. 
"What part?" "Pike county." 'Well, that's my 
old home. I resided there thirty-five years ago, 
and knew Ross, Scott, Barney, Grimshaw, Blair, 
Horton and the Burnetts. I never shall forget 
that good old county. It was a veritable garden 
spot then, and I presume it has made great strides 
forward since I was there." Well, if he could 
come from the echoless shore he would see the 
best county in the state, where all are happy and 
contented, if they so will it, and where we have 
no famines, but an abundance and to spare. 

Some one, unidentified, at a gathering where 
they had a feast, when the toasts were on tap, re- 
sponded to the sentiment, "Man :" 

"Here's to the man that has nothing to wear; 
Nothing to live for but trouble and care. 
He dies ; he goes we know not where. 
If he's all right here, boys, he's all right there." 

That expresses a very broad kind of Pike 
county religion and will fit many other counties 
and states. The old county has its share; good, 
bad and indifferent, but the good predominates. 

In the past titles were few. It was plain Mr., 
or Uncle Dick, Uncle Jack or Grandpa Smith. 
Now all are judges, colonels or generals. This 
recalls the remark of a new arrival in this country 
who said, "Phat a great war they had; all the 
privates killed entirely, only colonels and gen- 
erals left." 

At the meeting of the army of the Tennessee 
in Chicago, when General Grant returned from 
his tour around the world, a lot of big guns were 
at the Palmer House. There was a sort of love 
feast there and all the old boys were taken in and 
introduced to the notables. An old doctor from 
Indianapolis was among them, and when the Pike 
county boy was introduced as captain the old 
doctor said, "Why, bless you, Captain, shake 
again. I am glad to see you. I have been here 
three days and you are the only ordinary mortal 
I have met. I feel at home now. Shake." 

Recently an incident at Jackson, Miss., in 1863, 
was recalled. During the afternoon, when the 



sharpshooters of both armies were lying in wait 
for a shot at each other, the Johnnies were making 
it hot for our boys. In one squad was a very 
talkative soldier that annoyed his captain with 
many useless questions. At last the officer said to 
him, "Keep still, you will draw the Yanks' fire." 
After a short silence he said, "Say, Cap, don't 
you think South Carolina was jist a leetle bit 
hasty in fetching on this yer wah ?" 

One night at Vicksburg a few 99th boys were 
on guard near the chevau de frieze, or sharpened 
sticks as the boys called them. While the lonely 
hours wore away, and both sides were watching 
for the gray dawn, one of the 99th said, "Say, 
Johnnie, don't you want some paper for some flat 
tobacco?" The exchange was made and our boy 
inquired, "What regiment is yours?" "The I4th 
Georgia, sah, what regiment is you all's ?" "The 
99th Illinois." "Gee whiz! How many regiments 
has that state got?" England remembers York- 
town, the world remembers Appomattox and Pike 
county will never forget Vicksburg. There in 
the national cemetery of 16,000 federals old Pike 
has many a gallant boy. 

Rev. Father Newman, the good old-time Meth- 
odist who said to a fashionable and as he intimated 
a rather cold congregation, "If you hear that Mr. 
A, the rich man, is sick, you need not go to see 
him as he has all the attention needed. But if -you 
hear that Mr. B, the poor man, is sick, go. He 
will need you. Take supplies and minister unto 
him, for as you do unto him you do unto me." 

The blunt old brother knew the weakness of 
the human family, and how much they were 
blinded by gold and position. 

In 1822, when Rock Island was in Pike county, 
an election for county commissioners was held. 
The county was divided into three precincts, and 
as this section or precinct was the largest, David 
Dutton, of this town, J. M. Seeley and O. M. Ross 
of Atlas were elected. Their election was con- 
tested, and it took Judge Reynolds some time 
after dispossessing them to reinstate them, which 
was done in September, 1822. Dutton and See- 
ley I knew personally, and in a social and busi- 
ness way have known many of their descendants 
in the past sixty years. 



134 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



The first courthouse at Pittsfield cost about 
$1,100. The second, which was completed in 
1839, cost about $15,000. In 1843 I was with my 
mother in Hodgen's store which stood about 
where Clayton's hardware store is now, and some 
tinners were repairing the cupola. Seeing a fire 
break out on the roof I called mother's attention 
to it, and in a few minutes the men about the 
square extinguished it. 

The new courthouse stood until 1895, when 
the present large and beautiful one was erected 
to taKe the place of the old Pike county tem- 
ple of justice. A very appropriate and fitting se- 
lection was made at the dedication of the new 
courthouse in November, 1895, when Hon. J. 
M. Bush, who was at the first term of court in 
the old house in 1839, was made chairman. The 
exercises were very impressive and interesting. 
It is sad to think of how many who participated 
in the dedication of Pike's new court temple only 
a decade ago have ended life's journey. But so 
it is. Time and tide wait for none, and the great 
reaper is constantly at work. 

The old courthouse had as attorneys within 
its walls many men that were noted among the 
great and able men of America. Abraham Lin- 
coln, "the greatest man that ever came in the tide 
of time ;" Gens. E. D. Baker and John J. Hardin ; 
Senators Douglas, McDougal, Richardson and 
Browning; and eminent lawyers like Bushnell, 
Blackwell. Hay, Higbee, Skinner and Wike. 

In 1848, when Cincinnati Landing was the big 
town of the county, there was an old pioneer 
named Mitchell, of great physical powers but 
quiet and unobtrusive, who was a resident there. 
Near Barry was a good old citizen, P. McDaniel, 
who was of a fiery temper, and he concluded 
that Mitchell should be given a "licking" for 
some alleged affront. So he went to Cincinnati 
and told the men he came to give Mitchell a 
thrashing, and asked where to find him. The by- 
standers told him he would find Mitchell in his 
field near town. McDaniel started up to meet 
Mitchell, but when he came in sight of him he 
found hiin grubbing and pulling up by hand the 
small saplings and doing it with such ease he 
did not let his mission be known, but came back 



and told the boys that Mitchell was a steam stump 
puller, and that the fight was postponed without 
date. 

It was quite lucky those times that the Samsons 
were quiet and harmless unless aroused, and then 
they were a terror to the intruders. In 1853 a 
boat was loading flour made at the Israel mill near 
Barry and the captain asked for idle men to as- 
sist in loading the boat. Two Pike county giants 
engaged with him. They would take a barrel of 
flour under each arm and carry them on board as 
easily as an ordinary man could carry a sack of 
wheat. The boat was soon loaded and the extra 
help paid off. The captain said he would not dare 
to carry such men as, if they should become an- 
gered, they would take the boat. 

At another time a powerful colored man was 
freight handler on one of the Keokuk packets 
and the mate abused him and ended by striking 
him with a light barrel stave. The darkey said, 
"Look out, boss, don't do dat any more." The 
mate attempted to strike again, and was caught 
and held so tightly that he could not move. Then 
quiet and cool the darkey said, "Boss, I don't 
want to hurt you, but if you do dat again I will 
crunch de life out of you." The mate desisted, 
and said he was the best man in strength and 
temper ever on the boat. 

The county has had a few cyclones, the first 
nearly sixty years ago, that destroyed the brick 
dwelling of AJfred Grubb, the "Little bay horse 
of Pike," as he was best known. It % was equidis- 
tant between New Canton and Kinderhook. In 
1855 a disastrous and perhaps the heaviest ever 
in the county, passed over this town and struck 
on the hills between sections 13 and 14, and 23 
and 24. At the time the lands were covered with 
great oak, hickory, ash and hackberry trees, and 
were monarchs of the forest; some two or three 
feet in diameter. The cyclone mowed them down 
on the east of the hill for nearly a mile, and per- 
haps two hundred feet in width. The fine timber 
then destroyed would make a comfortable fortune 
now. Lighter storms have done considerable 
damage in Pittsfield, Derry and a few other town- 
ships. Happily no loss of life occurred in any of 
them. 

The following towns have had disastrous fires, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



I3S 



entailing great loss to the property owners and in 
cases of insurance there was some remuneration. 
Pittsfield, Griggsville. Barry, Rockport, New 
Canton, Eldara, Kinderhook, Milton and Baylis. 
Perhaps the greatest fire was when Barry was 
nearly wiped out of existence in its business por- 
tion. The others were great sufferers also, but 
with a spirit of pluck and enterprise they were all 
rebuilt and better than before. 

From 1876 to 1889, when the Sny levee broke, 
the owners and tenants had trying times and 
great losses. A careful estimate of the losses in 
the district for the years 1876, 80, 81 and 88 was 
nearly one and a half million dollars. Our citi- 
zens were not dismayed, but made necessary re- 
pairs and soon had the lands teeming with good 
crops, and our people with their adversity were 
soon putting it away and striving for better 
things. 

" 'Tis easy enough to be pleasant 
When life flows by, like a song. 
But the man worth while, is the man with a 

smile 
When everything goes dead wrong." 

This captured verse is a fair index to many of 
our Pike county people, and may they ever con- 
tinue to laugh at adversity. 

Pike county was laid out January 31, 1821, 
was named and its boundaries defined. It then 
contained all the territory between the Missis- 
sippi and Illinois rivers, extending east in one 
portion of the line of what is now Indiana, and 
north to Wisconsin. The large and populous 
counties of Cook, Peoria, Adams, La Salle, with 
about fifty other counties, were once in old Pike. 
Now the original Pike county has a population 
of nearly 3,000,000 people. 

Coles Grove was its first capital, and at the first 
election only thirty-five votes were cast. The 
great county then had but about 750 people. Now 
in the original old Pike Illinois is proud of one 
city that is second in the nation, and has nearly 
2.000.000 inhabitants. 

John Kinzcr was Pike county's first justice 
of the peace and resided near where Chicago now 
is. Belus Jones was the first constable, and Na- 



thaniel Shaw, a great uncle of the writer, was 
Pike's first treasurer. "My Lord Coke," James 
W. Whitney, was its first clerk. All these in 
1821. 

In that year the county commissioners issued 
a tavern license to a Mr. Hinksley, and here are 
the prices he was permitted to charge : 

Victuals, for meal 2$c 

Horsekeeping, night 37/ / 2 c 

Lodging i2*/ 2 c 

Whiskey, per half pint I2 l / 2 c 

Rum and gin 25c 

French brandy SGC 

Wine '. tfy 2 c 

The county seat was moved from Coles Grove 
to Atlas in 1823, and from Atlas to Pittsfield in 
1833. Of the pioneers of the grand old county 
the writer in his boyhood knew Cols. Ross and 
Barney, Nathaniel Shaw and "My Lord Coke," 
and later Col. Seeley, David Dutton and James 
Gay. The latter is now living at the age of 
ninety-one in Atlas township. 

James W. Whitney. "My I^ird Coke," was an 
eccentric character and dressed oddly and rather 
carelessly. He always had his hair tied up with 
a shoestring, or something else that came handy, 
in the style of the old-fashioned cue of colonial 
times. He was a great show for our folks the 
time he was in New Canton half a century ago. 
He often visited the state capital, and would or- 
ganize the lobbyists and call it the third house. 
He was always a speaker, self-elected, and mon- 
arch of all he surveyed. He died in 1860, over 
eighty. 

His last session of the "third house" was in 
1857. when Bissell was governor. The writer 
saw him there in his cue and quaint dress, the 
observed of all. He was quite a scholar, but 
lacked a balance wheel to apply his knowledge 
in a practical way. 

Marcellus Ross, now of California, was said 
to be the first white child born in the county. 
He was the first adjutant of the Ninety-ninth 
Illinois regiment in 1862. 

In 1821 Pike county organized the Regiment 
of Pike. It was formed in two battalions and 



1 3 6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



was to be in readiness for Indian attacks, which 
were common and much feared. From that came 
the old-fashioned training or muster days. The 
custom passed out of observance in my boyhood 
days, but the musters are remembered, and now 
come up in a panoramic way, showing the motley 
crowd that participated therein, with their march- 
ing and counter-marching, their sweating, swear- 
ing and awkwardness, as they only met once or 
twice a year. Then the hucksters with their slabs 
of gingerbread, cider and whiskey. 

Occasionally there was considerable drunken- 
ness, but there was one good feature observed. It 
was an unwritten law that no boys should be al- 
lowed to have whiskey or hard cider, but ginger- 
bread and apples galore for the boys. 

When the muster was over it was a nine days' 
wonder, and then apparently forgotten till the 
next meeting. The officers with their swords, 
uniforms and prancing horses, the fife and drum, 
recall the old verse : 

"Oh, were you never a soldier, 

And did you never train 
And feel that swelling of the heart 

You never can feel again ?" 

I remember about a dozen lads at school in 
the old days that had their regular floggings for 
failing to memorize that and other verses. 

Here is Pike county treasurer's first report, 
March 5, 1822 : 
Amount of money received during the 

current year $765.00 

Paid out 703.13 

Treasurer's salary 38.25 

Balance on hand 23.62 

Was everybody happy those days and were 
there any resentments? Perhaps the majority 
were happy and there were but few resentments. 
An incident in the life of "old Bullion" Thomas 
H. Benton, the great Missouri senator, may fit in 
here, and also apply to the present generation. 
Senator Foote, of Mississippi, said to Benton one 
day: "Senator Benton, I shall write a book some 
day, in which you will figure very small." Ben- 
ton replied quickly: "I shall write a book some 
day in which you shall not figure at all." 



Senator Benton was near here not many years 
ago, and was to make a speech in an adjoining 
town, across the river. There were people from 
the two Pikes there, as well as nearly all of 
Marion county, Mo. The ordinary mortals were 
following everywhere he went, till he became dis- 
gusted and turning to them said: "Keep away 
from me. I am only a common man." 

Our old Pike, in its eighty-four years of his- 
tory making, has had a great host of useful and 
noted men, pioneers and others that in their mod- 
esty felt that they were only "common men," but 
as nearly all have answered the dread summons, 
those who are left hold them in veneration for 
what they did for God, for home and country. 
May coming generations learn the story and keep 
their memories green for what they did for the 
development of old Pike, and the part they played 
in the march of civilization. 

The early pioneers were not idle. Gradually 
they subdued nature. Cabins were erected, land 
cleared and the virgin soil broken. The new set- 
tlement was a happy one. All were on an equality, 
and sociability, generosity and neighborly kind- 
ness reigned supreme. 

The first settlements were invariably made near 
the edge of a piece of timber and within easy 
reach of a spring, many of which were found in 
the townships. Some fields were, cleared and 
plowed, generally with yoke of oxen, and occa- 
sionally with teams of horses. This work was 
hard as the soil was tough or the ground stumpy. 
No extensive farming was attempted. Corn and 
wheat in small quantities were raised, some flax, 
oats, etc., and occasionally some settler who had 
come from a southern state, would undertake to 
raise cotton, but it was not considered a success 
and was soon abandoned. Sheep were raised for 
the wool, which was found a necessary article. 
Farming was not as easily done in those days as 
now. Instead of the riding plow of to-day, the 
early settler was content to use the old "bar- 
share" plow of rude structure and deficient 
mechanism, with its wooden mold-board as nature 
had fashioned it. Seed was sown or rather 
brushed in by dragging a sapling with a bushy 
top over the ground. Grain was harvested with 
the sickle or cradle, and threshing was done with 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



137 



a flail, or the grain was trodden out by horses 
or oxen instead of with the modern appliances. 

The resources of the early settler were very 
limited. They were all poor and in debt and 
everything was bought on credit. When money 
was borrowed it was at an exorbitant rate of in- 
terest. Corn sold at 10 cents a bushel and wheat 
at yj l /2 to 40 cents for the best grade, and it was 
sold on credit. All kinds of merchandise was 
high, calico selling at 50 cents a yard and com- 
mon domestics at 25 cents. 

Parched corn, ground hickory nuts and wal- 
nuts were used in place of coffee. Taxes were 
paid in coon skins, or anything the farmer or 
trapper could spare. The mode of travel in those 
days was principally on horseback, except short 
distances of a few miles, which were made on 
foot. Teaming was done with oxen and wooden 
wagons. Horse wagons and buggies were few. 
Wearing apparel was of home manufacture. Men 
wore buckskin pantaloons and coats, coonskin 
caps- and moccasins or rudely made shoes for the 
feet, itinerant shoemakers visiting the homes of 
the settlers to supply the footwear. The women 
wove and made up the material for their wear. 

The living consisted principally of wild game, 
pork meat and corn dodgers. Wild honey was 
plentiful, also wild fruits, but vegetables were a 
rarity. The habitations were log cabins. They 
were built of rough logs, with mud plastered be- 
tween the cracks to keep out the winter's cold. 
The cabin consisted of one room, in which was 
combined the sitting-room, parlor, bed-room and 
kitchen. There was one door, but no windows. 
The floor was of puncheon and on one side was a 
large fire-place with a blackened crane for cook- 
ing purposes. Overhead from the rude rafters 
hung rows of well cured hams and around the 
chimney were long strings of red pepper pods 
and dried pumpkins. The furniture consisted of 
a puncheon table, a clumsy cupboard, a couple of 
bedsteads made by driving stakes in the floor, 
in which were placed the uprights to support 
clapboards on which the beds rested, the wall 
furnishing the other support; some blocks for 
seats, a spinning wheel, a well-kept gun and the 
family dog. The cooking was done in iron ves- 
sels on and around the log fire. If the weather 



was cold, the family large or company present, 
which frequently happened, the wood was piled 
on so as to raise the heat and cause "all hands 
to set back and give the cooks a chance." 

The earliest settlers, those who came prior to 
1830, were subjected to considerable trouble in 
obtaining legal title to their farms. Before that 
year the general government did not offer the 
land for sale, and all the titles they held were 
"claims." By agreement among themselves each 
man was permitted to "claim" as much timber 
land as he might need, generally not over a quar- 
ter section, upon which he might build his cabin 
and make other improvements, and woe unto the 
speculator or new comer who attempted to jump 
a "claim" occupied by a bonafide settler. 

Pike county had a regiment of volunteers in 
August, 1861, formed in one day and night, and 
it was in service only about two weeks. Its brief 
but useful existence will be a bit of news to our 
citizens, but more especially will it be historical 
reminiscence to those that were members of the 
regiment that never was numbered or mustered in. 

In the latter part of August, 1861, word came 
to Pittsfield, Barry, Rockport and New Canton 
that a body of "secesh" as they were called were 
marching upon Louisiana, Mo., and as their Pike 
was the other Pike that made the kingdom of 
Pike, and was also known as the state of Pike 
and the home of Joe Bowers, what could they do 
but call on their other Pike for assistance, as 
they all knew their call would be answered. So in 
a day and a night about enough of our Pikers 
from the towns named and other parts of the 
county to make a good regiment were on the east 
bank of the river. 

The next morning they were in camp out at the 
old Fritz house, armed and equipped. Their 
arms were rifles, shotguns and revolvers, all very 
old style. Soon they were divided up into com- 
panies. Pittsfield had Captain Rockwell's, Barry 
Capt. Richards', New Canton Capt. Jackson's, and 
the other commanders I do not recall. 

Louisiana did the best she could to feed them, 
but about the time the boys first felt hungry 
there was some scolding done. Their wrath, 
however, was soon turned to joy, for the noble 
women of cur old Pike sent the next day several 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



wagonloads of good eatables. The first load was 
from Pittsfield, and the next from Barry and New 
Canton, and soon all had a plenty and to spare. 
We all felt that if we were to be so well fed that 
war was not such a terrible thing. We remained 
two weeks and if the "secesh" had started they 
must have changed their minds and counter- 
marched, so the Louisiana war was over. 

There were ten companies with Dr. A. E. Mc- 
Neal in command. George W. K. Bailey, A. C. 
Matthews and two companies of scouts made a 
tour of the country west of Louisiana, and found 
all quiet and peaceable. Nearly all who were in 
the "Louisiana war" went out to the real thing a 
year later in the Ninety-ninth and other regi- 
ments, and soon we wished for the good things 
our mothers, wives and sweethearts sent us at 
Louisiana. But we fell into line and became ac- 
quainted with the poor fare Uncle Sam's big 
boarding house put up. Nearly forty-four years 
have flown since that time, and but few of Pike 
county's un-named and un-numbered regiment of 
two weeks' service are left. 

The Ninety-ninth Illinois was organized at 
Pittsfield by volume from all the townships in Pike 
county. August 21, 1862, they left the county 
seat and were mustered into the United States ser- 
vice August 23, at Florence, on the Illinois river. 
by Major J. P. Rathbonc. They embarked that 
night on the steamer Post Boy, arrived in St. 
Louis the 24th, and went to Benton barracks, 
where the regiment was armed and equipped. 

It left St. Louis September 8 and went to Rolla. 
in Phelps county. Mo. Left Rolla September 17 
and went into camp at Salem, Dent county, Mo., 
left Salem November 20, and remained at Hous- 
ton. Texas county. Mo., till January 27, 1863. 
Moved to West Plains, Mo., and Pilot Knob 
March 3. Thence to St. Genevieve, Mo., and on 
the 1 5th embarked for Milliken's Bend, La. 
Stopped for a short time at Cairo, Memphis and 
Helena, Ark. 

Left Milliken's Bend April n, 1863, New Car- 
thage the I2th, was a short time at Perkins' plan- 
tation, at Grand Gulf, Miss.. April 29, at Bruins- 
burg, Miss., April 30, and at Magnolia Hills May 
i. At Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills. Mis- 
sissippi Springs and P.lack River Bridge; May 



19 at the defense of Vicksburg and left Vicks- 
burg July 5 for Jackson, Miss. 

Left Jackson, July 20 and Vicksburg, August 
21. Went to New Orleans and Brashear City, 
and October 3 left Berwick for a scouting tour up 
the Teshe country. Was at New Iberia, Franklin, 
Opelousas and Grand Coteau, La. Left New Or- 
leans and crossed the Gulf of Mexico. Was at 
Point Isabel and Aranzos Pass in November, and 
at Fort Esperanza, Texas, at Indianola and La- 
vacca, Texas, and on Matagorda Island. 

Left Texas June 15, 1864. Returned to New 
Orleans. Was at Greenville, Kennerville, Don- 
aldsonville and Algiers. Left New Orleans July 
29, was at the mouth of the White river, St. 
Charles and Duvall's Bluff, Ark., Memphis, Mos- 
cow and Wolf River, Tenn. 

Left Memphis January i, 1865. Went to New 
Orleans and thence out the mouth of the Missis- 
sippi river to Dauphin Island, Ala. Was at Span- 
ish Fort, Blakely, Mobile and Spring Hill, Ala., 
till June 2, 1865. At Shreveport, La., till about 
July 17, sent to Baton Rouge, Ala., and mustered 
out July 21, 1865, sent to Springfield, 111., August, 
1865. for pay and final discharge. 

The Ninety-ninth was in battle at Beaver 
Creek and Hartsville, Mo., Grand Gulf, Miss., 
Port Gibson, Raymond, Jackson, Black River 
Bridge, Vicksburg, and under fire daily from 
May 19 to July 3. Was at Spanish Fort and 
Blakely. Ala. A detachment of the regiment was 
in a battle at Grand Coteau, La. The losses of 
the Ninety-ninth in the various battles during its 
three years of active service were nearly 306 
killed, wounded and missing. 

In November. 1864, the regiment was so re- 
duced in numbers that by order of General Reyn- 
olds it was consolidated into a battalion of five 
companies. During its service the old Pike coun- 
ty regiment had all told nearly 1,100 men. Now, 
after the war has closed nearly forty years, there 
are only about 225 left. Of the officers who took 
the regiment to the field there are left only Col. 
Bailey, Capt, now Col., Matthews. Capt. Tray 
Edwards, Capt. J. G. Johnson and Adjutant Mar- 
cellns Ross. 

Old Pike, the infant of 1821, in its history- 
making of three-fourths of a century has been a 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



139 



strong factor in the march of progress and de- 
velopment, and has buds from the old vine in all 
the coast states west, and scattered over what was 
once the great American desert. Go where you 
may the Piker is to be found. 

In quasi prohibition times, thirty-five years ago, 
a Pike county town was known as a good one to 
"keep the lid on." An old-timer from St. Louis 
came and his friends knew that he needed a 
"drop," so one called to him and said, "Joe, I 
have a little for sickness. Try it. It is all there 
is in town." Joe tried it, and the next place he 
called the same story was told and another drink 
taken. The third call was a repetition, his friend 
saying with a wink, "What a good one I am !" 
The St. Louis man called about ten places, meet- 
ing the same reception at each. Joe told it on the 
prohib. boys and had a dozen drinks out of the 
"only bottle in town." The entire crowd has 
passed away, and the story is all that is left. 

A candidate for a county office was once intro- 
duced to a blunt old German voter. The old man 
heard his tale of woe, how the other fellow was 
not so well fitted to hold the office, how much he 
had done for the party, etc. The old voter said, 
"Veil, if you bin on my dicket I vote for you. if 
you don't, I vont. Goot py." So it has been 
since the first election and will still continue, but 
there is a fine change now, the old-time scurrility 
and abuse is eliminated and the old cry is not so 
savage. 

Pike county's first probate court was at Coles 
Grove, May 23, 1821, the judge being A. Beck. 
The first circuit court was held at the same place 
October I, 1821. Judge John Reynolds presiding. 
Among the first grand jurors were David Duttpn, 
who died in New Canton in 1854, Comfort Shaw, 
of Hadley, who died near Barry about 1864, 
Nathaniel Shaw. John Shaw and J. M. Seeley. 
These I knew in my boyhood days. 

Atlas was laid out in 1823. Chambersburg and 
Pittsfield 1833, Griggsville 1834. Milton. Xew 
Canton. Florence, 1835; Perry, Eldara, Kinder- 
hook, Rockport. Barry. New Hartford, Martins- 
burg, Pleasant Hill 1836; Detroit, 1837, Summer 
Hill 1845. New Salem 1847. Pearl 1855, Time 
1857, Baylis 1869, Nebo 1870. Hull 1871. 



In the olden times the stage coach was the 
means of transportation. After the close of the 
civil war the county was fortunate in getting the 
present system of railroads, and now it is con- 
servative to say no county has any better or 
cheaper means of transporting freight and pas- 
sengers. The county has telegraph and telephone 
connection with all the civilized world. What 
would the old pioneers say could they return for 
a brief visit! They would be lost in wonder- 
ment to see the strides the good old county has 
made. 

Forty-three years ago Pike county' had in the 
trenches at Vicksburg what was left of the Nine- 
ty-ninth Illi.iois regiment, and it will not be un- 
interesting in another forty-three years for those 
who will be here to read of and know how the 
Pike county soldiers reached there and what they 
did. 

In August, 1862, nearly 1,000 men were mus- 
tered into the United States service at Florence 
and were called the Ninety-ninth Illinois Volun- 
teers. After service in Missouri they had gone 
down the Mississippi river to Milliken's Bend in 
Louisiana, and thence began the movement on 
Vicksburg. the Gibraltar of the great river, that 
was strongly fortified and in possession of the 
confederates. It was freely asserted, and too 
often in our own homes, that they could never be 
dislodged or driven out. The federals under 
General Grant were certain, however, that the ob- 
struction could and would be removed, and the 
river flow "unvexed to the sea." 

Our march began from Milliken's Bend, April 
IT, 1863. After marching down Roundaway 
bayou in the state of Louisiana we reached New 
Carthage, La., on April 22, 1863. There we re- 
mained a brief period till the gunboats and trans- 
ports of our own navy ran the batteries at Vicks- 
burg' and brought supplies and medical stores to 
the armr. then below Vicksburg. 

One of our transports, the Henry Clay, was dis- 
abled and burned.. On board were James Worth- 
ington and Capt. L. Hull, of the Ninety-ninth. 
The former was our hospital steward and had 
charge of the medical stores. They quickly re- 
moved the most valuable drugs and anesthetics 



140 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



to a barge and got away from the burning 
steamer, and the next morning they were safely 
delivered to our medical directors. 

The ninety-ninth left Perkins' plantation, April 
27, and embarked on steamers and flats for Grand 
Gulf, a strongly fortified place, which was soon 
evacuated. April 30 we crossed the river at 
Bruinsburg, Miss., and after marching all night 
met General Bowen's army near Port Gibson on 
Magnolia Hills, at midnight. The Ninety-ninth 
unslung their knapsacks and started into the 
fight, and from that day to this they have never 
seen their knapsacks or the few valuables therein. 

The battle lasted all day. At night the boys 
slept on their arms, and when morning came not a 
"Johnnie" was seen, except their dead and 
wounded left on the field. James Allen Lee, of 
Company F, was the first one of our boys that 
fell. He was shot through the head and killed 
instantly. Our loss in killed and wounded was 
thirty-seven of the Ninety-ninth boys. 

Our brigade at that time was composed of the 
Eighth and Eighteenth Indiana, Thirty-third and 
Ninety-ninth Illinois, with General Benton in 
command, Carr's division and McClernand's 
Thirteenth army corps. We were short of rations, 
but General Grant said, "I will have supplies," 
and sent men to carry hard tack, coffee and meat 
up to the regiment. We had no baggage or for- 
age wagons across the river at that time. 

While the pioneer corps were building a bridge 
over the bayou near Port Gibson my company 
was sent to guard and run a steam corn mill. We 
kept it running night and day while the corn held 
out, and General Sherman's corps and our own 
had corn bread for a luxury. If not a luxury it 
was a change from very old and poor hard tack. 
When the call was made on the boys for a miller 
and engineers, there were three or four who were 
experts. Not only millers and engineers, but the 
Ninety-ninth had all vocations and professions, 
preachers, lawyers, doctors and farmers. In fact, 
the federal army was not small in useful men of 
all kinds. 

May 14, 1863, the army was near the capital of 
Mississippi, and on the i6th was held in reserve 
till nearly night at the battle of Champion Hill, 
one of the most desperate one-day battles fought 
in the west. The Ninety-ninth was marched in 



line of battle till late in the night, when we 
bivouacked at Edwards Station, where we cap- 
tured a train load of meat, meal, sugar and mo- 
lasses, and had a midnight supper. 

We went into the fight at Black river at 7 a. m. 
After four hours' fighting and a charge led by 
the Twenty-third Iowa on our right, the confed- 
erates were driven out of their works and the 
battle was over. Capt. Cooper, of Company K, 
lost an arm, and two New Canton boys were 
slightly wounded. 

An occurrence just as we started on the charge 
fully illustrates how little some officials at a dis- 
tance knew about an army in the field. While 
the fight was at its height. General Grant was 
given an order from the secretary of war to fall 
back to Grand Bluff and make that his head- 
quarters and base of supplies. Just then the 
colonel of the Twenty-third Iowa led his regiment 
into the charge, losing his own life. The charge 
was general all along the line and victory was 
oiirs. General Grant didn't disobey orders, but 
the staff officer got lost in the excitement, or as 
the boys said, "in the shuffle," and that was the 
last ever heard of Grand Gulf headquarters. 

On the i8th day of May we crossed Black river 
on specially constructed pontoon bridges. The 
igth we started at 4:15 a. m., and were in the 
fight at 10 a. m., also the 2Oth and 2ist, gaining 
position with light losses. May 22cl the troops 
were ordered to charge the works at 10 a. m. 
While the boys were waiting for the hour many 
were reading their testaments, given them by the 
United States Christian Commission, and all that 
had playing cards threw them away. Many 
generals and colonels were making short ad- 
dresses to the boys, as all realized the frightful 
and dangerous move. 

The Ninety-ninth led the charge for our 
brigade, and in a few minutes the old regiment 
had lost in killed, wounded and missing over 
200 men. Col. Bailey and Maj. Crandall were 
wounded, and Capt. A. C. Matthews rallied the 
men and held the confederates in check. Colonel 
Boomer, of a Missouri regiment, was killed about 
the same time the Ninety-ninth drove the John- 
nies back. 

The writer was stunned by the explosion of a 
shell, and lay for about four hours in the hot sun, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



141 



with Joseph James and two other Ninety-ninth 
boys lying dead near him. When night fell the 
weary sank down to rest and the wounded to 
die. Morning found the survivors in line, set- 
tling down to the siege that lasted till the 4th of 
July, when 30,000 hungry and weary confederates 
marched out, stacked their arms, ate hard tack 
and fat meat and drank black coffee with our 
boys. Quite a change for them from mule meat 
and Mississippi river water. 

One tall Georgian said to the boys of our mess, 
"Yes, sah, I am gwine home, and thar's three 
things I never want to hear again. That word 'at- 
tention,' 'fall in,' and that old kettle drum I never 
want to hear any more." Vicksburg and Gettys- 
burg, both on Old Glory's day, did more to inspire 
the north and hasten the close of the war than any 
other two events. 

After the fall of Vicksburg the Ninety-ninth 
went to Jackson, Miss., and was under fire there 
for a day or so, with small losses. Then went to 
Bryan Station and was engaged in tearing up the 
Jackson & New Orleans Railroad. A lot of Pikers 
went to Pearl river near by for a bath. There 
they saw a soft place in the bank, and as our boys 
had curiosity in common with all other mortals, 
they investigated the river bank and found about 
thirty barrels of Louisiana rum. Of course they 
sampled it, and appearing satisfactory they took 
the whole lot. The Ninety-ninth boys as well as 
the boys of other regiments were very rummy 
and rich for the balance of the day. 

The regiment returned to Vicksburg July 24, 
and August 21 went to New Orleans. In October 
went into the Tesche country, the Italy of 
America. November 16 embarked and crossed 
the Gulf of Mexico. Remained in Texas till 
June, 1864, when it reported to General Reynolds 
at Algiers, La., and was brigaded with Twenty- 
first Iowa, Twenty-sixth Wisconsin and Forty- 
seventh Indiana. 

At Memphis, Tenn., in November, 1864, the 
regiment was made a battalion of five companies 
under command of Lieut. Col. Matthews. Feb- 
ruary i, 1865. moved to Dauphin Island, Ala- 
bama. Was in the last battles of the war at 
Spanish Fort and Blakely, entered Mobile April 
I2th, in June went up the Red river, thence to 



Baton Rouge, La., where it was mustered out, 
and reached home in August, 1865, after three 
years' absence. 

In the more prosperous days of old Pike the fol- 
lowing towns had tobacco factories: Pittsfield, 
Eldara, Rockport and Pleasant Hill, and first- 
class woolen mills were at Pittsfield, Barry and 
Perry ; a plow factory at Stebbinsville, pork and 
beef packing plants at Cincinnati, Barry, New 
Canton, Pittsfield, Florence, Kinderhook, Rock- 
port, Griggsville, Perry and Milton. Flour mills : 
Two at Pittsfield, three at Barry, two at Griggs- 
ville, and one each at Rockport, New Canton, 
Time, Summer Hill, Pleasant Hill, Milton, Perry, 
New Salem, Eldara and Kinderhook. With 
about three exceptions the mills are abandoned, 
"and a quiet that crawls round the walls as you 
gaze has followed the olden din." 

The tobacco made in Pike was prepared by 
skilled workmen and had good sales. The 
woolens, blankets, yarns, cassimeres and satinettes 
were all wool and gave excellent satisfaction. 
The mills had to close up because the public pre- 
ferred shoddy and cheap stuff, and with the clos- 
ing of the tobacco factories and woolen mills all 
the expert labor went elsewhere, and those alone 
are said to have cut the population fully 300. 

The packing establishments had to close be- 
cause of too sharp competition, and the hog and 
cattle men seemed to prefer selling at five and six 
cents and buying back from Chicago, St. Louis 
and elsewhere at ten to fifteen cents for the cured 
product. In the old times the public had pure 
kettle rendered lard; now they have cottolene 
and other adulterations that are called lard. 

The flour mills gave up the race because the 
big concerns could make a barrel of flour for 
from two to four cents, while to the others it 
would cost perhaps 20 cents or even more. 

But the worst feature in Pike as well as else- 
where out of the big cities, is the lack of a re- 
ciprocal feeling toward home enterprises. In the 
old times the farms were smaller and had many 
tenant houses. Now, some men who were hap- 
py in the possession of a hundred acres are un- 
happy with 2,000 or 3,000 acres, and the good 
tenants have nearly all moved away. 

It is strongly asserted by many that greed and 



142 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



selfishness now are holding the trump cards and 
it seems that the old postmaster's story will fit in 
here. A man said to another, "Would you let 
me have fifteen cents?" "What do you want of 
fifteen cents ?" "I wish to cross the river." Have 
you no money?" "No." "Well, just stay where 
you are. If you have no money it doesn't make 
any difference which side of the river you are on." 

With the changes noted it seems as if the old- 
fashioned hospitality and "a man's a man for 
a' that" has become obsolete. Too many are in- 
terested in you for the dollar that can be gained 
from you. This state of affairs is no worse in 
old Pike than elsewhere, and the old county has 
a host of good citizens that generally endorse the 
words of a noted man who said, "We Care not 
what you believe politically or religiously, or 
where you were born, or how much money you 
have, but we do care as to how good a citizen you 
are." With all the name "good citizen" has a 
potent power and is recognized as the great de- 
sideratum. 

A recent magazine article mentioned the de- 
struction of the City of Madison, a large river 
steamer, at Vicksbtirg in 1863, by the explosion of 
fixed shells that were being loaded on the boat. 
The boat was torn all to shreds, and only a few 
pieces were seen after the terrific blast. The 
second vessel from the one destroyed was a hos- 
pital boat. Frank Thomas, a Ninety-ninth boy 
from New Canton, had been sick there and his 
death was reported to his captain, H. D. Hull, 
who invited me to go with him and take care of 
Frank's effects, a small book and a few dollars. 

We were in the hospital boat when the City of 
Madison was blown up, and our boat came nearly 
breaking in two. I sent the soldier's money and 
book to his father, and reported his death as given 
to us by the boat's surgeon. About three month's 
latter the company was surprised to see the sup- 
posed dead soldier return in recovered health. A 
year later he was captured by guerrillas near 
Memphis, Tenn.. with two others of the Ninety- 
ninth and put to death. 

The only solution of his reported death on 
the hospital book was : The cots were numerous 
and the occupant's name and number was in the 



surgeon's and hospital steward's books. Possi- 
bly in the absence of' nurses Frank Thomas had 
changed cots with someone. The new occupant 
had died, and the number being that of Thomas, 
it was reported the Ninety-ninth boy was dead. 

The day of the explosion a large number of 
soldiers and contrabands were killed, but only a 
few were known. The old hotel known as the 
Prentiss, was stripped of all the glass in the west 
and north sides, and many other buildings were 
more or less injured. 

In 1862, when the Ninety-ninth Illinois was 
in the Ozark mountains of Missouri, the writer 
with a detachment of soldiers was sent to guard 
a wagon train to Beaver Creek. When night 
came the pickets were put out and instructions 
given. Morning came and we moved on without 
accident or incident. 

The trip was about forgotten till in 1866 Gen. 
Jack Burbridge, of the C. S. A., came to New 
Canton on business. He was well known by 
many in the two Pikes as his home had been at 
Louisiana. He called my attention to the Beaver 
Creek pickets and said : "I was there with about 
500 men, heard your instructions to the picket 
guard and could have captured you and your en- 
tire force. I knew you and many of your boys, 
but we did not want you. We were after a loaded 
train, and as your wagons were empty we did not 
care for them. But two nights later we took your 
wagons that were loaded and took all your boys 
prisoners but one. and if he had not said too 
much we would not have shot him. The others 
we paroled when morning came." 

The boy that was killed was a New Canton 
boy. Blackburn Jiy name. A few weeks later the 
soldiers of the two Pikes met at Hartsville. Mo., 
and had a short but bloody struggle, with many 
killed and wounded on both sides. The federals 
were victorious, but it is true that if the confed- 
erates had not overestimated the federal force the 
victory could have been theirs. Tames Montieth. 
of New Canton, and Phil Donohoe. of Rockport. 
\vere both wounded at Hartsville. 

There were two General Burbridges that the 
Ninety-ninth boys knew. The V. S. A. was a 
Kentuckian. while the C. S. A. was from Pike 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



143 



county, Mo. Both are on the other shore, but 
they will be long remembered for their dare-devil 
ways, and for being good officers. 

The past with its flood of memories recalls 
many changes from the old to the new. Those 
of you in the old days who went fishing and got 
a fish hook in your hand or fingers remember it 
took a small surgical operation to remove it. The 
old method was observed until about six years 
ago, when a young and progressive doctor de- 
veloped sense enough to take a file, cut off the 
end of the hook and pull it out without cutting 
the hand. 

The old-timers always bled the sick person for 
any or all ailments. Now that has passed away 
and we have more improved ways in caring for 
the sick. In old times a sea-going vessel had to 
take in sand or stone for ballast, and carry a sup- 
ply of fresh water. Now they pump water out of 
the sea for ballast, and supply their vessels with 
fresh water by condensing sea water, also making 
ice on shipboard. As the old darkey said, "De 
world do move," and the people are keeping up 
with the procession. 

In the happy past divorces and alimony were 
almost unknown. Now the majority of cases in 
the courts are for divorce. Pike county had one 
case in 1821, and that was for desertion. My 
old friend, J. M. Bush, an 1838 man, told a good 
joke on himself. He said he was elected justice 
of the peace in an early day, and stated that his 
first marriage ceremony would be free. A young 
Piker came to him one wet and stormy night to 
go about five miles out of town to marry a couple. 
He went and the evening was so inclement he 
could not get back to town so remained over night. 
The couple came down to breakfast, looking a 
little sheepish, and after the meal the young man 
said, "How much do I owe you, Squeer?" He 
told the youngster that what he had. stated when 
elected and the new benedict said, "Well, Squeer, 
I'm much obleeged to you. We wouldn't a had 
you if we could a got Squeer Scanland." 

The old-style camp meeting was another cus- 
tom that now is about obsolete, but in those days 
was a week or two in duration and was greatly 
enjoyed. The old-time preachers and singers 
made the woods resound with their music and 
9 



earnest appeals to the congregation to abandon 
the broad road and to travel in the narrow way 
that leads to life beyond this vale. 

Pike county had an eminent and distinguished 
citizen in the person of Judge Chauncey L. Hig- 
bee. In the trying times of the Civil war he was 
noted for one act that endeared him to the citi- 
zens of that period. That was when he visited 
an alleged disloyal camp on the northwest side of 
the county and by a brief but able address caused 
the misguided and almost disloyal ones to break 
camp and go home to pursue their vocations and 
not endanger the best interests of the county. 
He also by word and act was a power in getting 
the Hannibal & Naples Railroad, now the Wa- 
bash, through our county. He was so able and 
noted that he was mentioned as candidate for 
the vice-presidency of the United States. 

Pike county now has two banks at Pittsfield, at 
Griggsville two, Barry two, Perry one, Milton 
one, Nebo one, New Canton one, Baylis one, Hull 
one, Pleasant Hill one. It is commendable to the 
thrift and economy of our citizens to say that 
more people now have bank accounts than were 
ever dreamed of a few years ago. The county 
should have all optimistic people and none of the 
other order, for the simple reason that there is 
an opportunity for all to do well if they so will 
it. Look on the bright side, and think of the jolly 
on of Erin's song, "Trust to luck, stare fate in 
the face. Sure your heart will be aisy if it's in the 
right place." 

In answer to the query, "Why are we called 
suckers," there are two versions. About 1777 
Gen. George Rogers Clark applied to the Gover- 
nor of Virginia for permission to take a small 
army and conquer the Northwest Territory. The 
Governor consenting, he marched from where 
Shawneetown now is to Kaskaskia, where the 
French had a settlement. He moved on the little 
town, and it being "in the good old summer 
time," and very hot, the French were discovered 
sitting on their verandas, quietly sucking their 
juleps through straws. He charged upon them 
and shouted, "Surrender, you suckers," which 
they did, and from that day to this Illinoisians 
have been known as "suckers." 

Once Senator Stephen A. Douglas said in a 



144 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY 



speech at Petersburg, Va., "We honor you for a 
Washington, a Jefferson, a Marshall, and many 
other distinguished sages and patriots. We yield 
that you gave us territory for a great and sov- 
ereign state, but when you claim the glory of the 
mint julep we say, 'hands off.' Illinois claims 
that." 

'Tis said a traveler once taught an old Virgin- 
ian how to make a mint julep. Going back a 
year later he asked a darkey, "Where is your 
master?" "Dar he." No, your old master." "O, 
he bin dead for six months. A man from de norf 
showed him how to drink grass in his whiskey 
and it done killed him." 

The other version is that in 1826, at the Ga- 
lena lead mines, a lot of Illinois boys were start- 
ing home in the fall. A Missourian said, "Boys, 
where are you going?" "Home." "Well, you 
put me in mind of suckers. Up in the spring, 
spawn, and all return in the fall." 

Take your choice of the two versions, but keep 
in mind that the Suckers are a mighty people. 
The Sucker State is the third in the nation, and 
the world is proud of Illinois, which gave a Lin- 
coln, a Grant, and nearly 300,000 others that as- 
sisted in keeping the old flag flying in the free 
air of America. 

In the days when Illinois was a county of Vir- 
ginia and before the Ross's came to Atlas, a very 
old Indian trapper told Daniel Barney that when 
he was a boy he saw the river washing the bare 
rocks that now show along the bluffs. All the 
creek valleys between the bluffs that led up to 
what is called the watershed of the county were 
great inland seas. A fair evidence of the truth 
of the statement is that all the highest points on 
the bluffs were the burial places of the Indians, 
and 'tis many moons since this was their hunting 
grounds. 

While Pike county has held its own in its mod- 
est way, her citizens past and present have been 
alert in aiding to advance civilization, educating 
old and young pupils in the great study of every- 
day life and how to make good citizenship and to 
leave behind something to show that their lives 
were not all vain. Longfellow says : 

"A millstone and the human heart 
Are driven ever round, 



If they have nothing else to grind 
They must themselves be ground." 

The old citizens that Pike county knew have 
answered the inevitable summons. Many hearts 
have ground out good and some evil, but the 
good they did will live on and the evil will be for- 
gotten and forgiven. 

In the past when the pioneers were converting 
the virgin fields into homes, farms and orchards, 
they led happy lives and did not know much of 
luxuries. Rich old mother earth furnished an 
abundance of the plain necessities, a few stores 
with supplies ran accounts with the farmers for 
a year and often longer. When settlements were 
made and the crop was not enough to pay the 
bill, notes were given drawing thirty-seven and 
one-half per cent annual interest. Notwithstand- 
ing this large interest they were paid. Later, 
when interest was down to 18, 15 and 10 per 
cent they still kept their credit good. 

Many that left large estates paid their notes 
and made money by the advance in the price of 
land, and in those days almost never failing crops. 
There was no cry then for cheap and shoddy 
stuff. All had the best, and it was a glory of the 
times that adulteration in food products and sup- 
plies was unknown. A host of good fellows sized 
up the old German's remark, "I yonst as veil 
haf his vord as his note." But now, alas, a few 
are at large whose word or note is not as good as 
it should be. 

The good old county has been very fortunate 
in having a majority of its officials that were 
ever alert, and sought earnestly to advance pub- 
lic interests. Edwin Markham's finely expressed 
thought is here given, not that it applies to Pike 
county, but that future officials may be impressed 
by it for their own and our citizens' glory: 
"What de we need to prop the State? We need 
the fine audacities of honest deed, the homely old 
integrities of soul, the swift temerities that take 
the part of outcast right, the wisdom of the 
heart, brave hopes that Mammon never can de- 
tain or sully with his gainless clutch for gain." 

The county for many years had fairs at Pitts- 
field and Barry that were always well attended 
and enjoyed by all. But time with its rapid 
changes soon crowded them out. Griggsville 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



14, 



still conducts a good fair, but the larger ones 
have taken much of its patronage. It seems the 
public is too exacting, and want a world's fair 
lor a quarter. 

I remember very pleasantly many of the man- 
agers of the Pittsfield and Barry fairs, and the 
fine entertainment they put up for the people. 
Whither are we drifting ! Unless we turn about 
and sustain home enterprises our good old 
county will be as dry and uninteresting as an 
Egyptian mummy. The public should plead 
guilty to this charge. We have done too much for 
the cities and larger counties, greatly to the detri- 
ment of the home towns. Don't forget that the 
great cities are only interested in you for the 
money they get from you. 

In 1851 the great flood in the Mississippi river 
did great damage. The river was from six to 
eight miles wide, the backwater coming out to 
the farm of Joel Morey and within half a mile 
of New Canton. The Louisiana ferryboat, then 
run by Frank and Wash Burnett, made trips 
from Louisiana to Atlas. The water was from 
six to ten feet deep all over the Sny bottom. The 
cordwood industry was quite extensive at Cin- 
cinnati Landing and there were over 5,000 cords 
of choice wood on the banks, as in those days the 
steamboats used wood exclusively. The flood 
took all the wood and completely ruined a few 
men who had their all in cordwood. The Sny 
bottoms were a wreck and a ruin till they were 
reclaimed by the great Sny levee, fift.v-two miles 
in length. There were floods before and after, 
but that of 1851 was the greatest in the memory 
of our citizens. 

Pike county people will be long remembered 
for many deeds of charity. There never has been 
a call in vain. Once they sent money and sup- 
plies to sufferers in Europe, and several times 
to Kansas and Nebraska, when their crops failed 
and gaunt famine was staring them in the face. 
Our grand old county did not stop to ask who, 
what color or what society they belonged to, but 
it was sufficient to us to know they were our 
brothers and that they were in distress. Our peo- 
ple were thankful and now remember very grate- 



fully the generous people who contributed s< 
freely to the Sny bottom sufferers of 1888, whei 
the levee broke and so many lost all they had 
The donation of money and food for man am 
animal came from as far east as Boston, am 
many other cities of the East and North. 

The old time school passes in review, and whil 
the present system with all its advantages an< 
the able and earnest instructors claim our prais 
and encouragement, yet the old-fashioned schoc 
with its "reaclin, ritin and rithmetic," the ol< 
time "spellin' skules" and the log school house 
with but few conveniences and less comforts stil 
hold the palm for the good they accomplished 
Methods now are different, and it is an unsettlei 
question if there are as many useful and prac 
tical products, numbers considered, as in the ol 
time schools. The great army of illerates is nc 
far different from the past, and who is to blame 
Perhaps it is safe to say lack of interest in th 
pupils is the cause. Too many alleged studies 
too much hurrying through the books and to 
little actual practical knowledge gained. 

This is not a pleasant truth, and is not a re 
flection on the schools of today, but all wish tha 
the youth could properly see and apprepricat 
the great feast of knowledge daily set befor 
them.. There are many youngsters that can i 
they will be a Clay, a Webster, a Lincoln or 
Garfield, and we must have them as the time 
still need useful men. Did those named wast 
their time on football, baseball, club regattas an 
athletic sports? Did they draw on the "govei 
nor" for more money ? Did they come home a 
the latest fashion plates and society darlings 
These thoughts are given to warn the rising ger 
eration that it takes work and hard unremittin 
study to fit yourself for the race of life. Be 
hero, be a close student, gather useful know] 
edge, make yourself a great and useful citizen. 

"Love theyself last, cherish those hearts tha 
hate thee. 

Still in thy right hand carry gentle peace. 

To silence envious tongues." 

And if you fail, you have the pleasant assui 
ance that you made the effort and did your bes 



LIBRARY 
Of THE 

Of U.UN01S. 




/T 
C 




Biographical 



HON. CHAUNCEY L. HIGBEE. 

Hon. Chauncey L. Higbee, legislator and jur- 
ist, carved his name high on the keystone of the 
legal arch of Illinois. He was a representative 
of that rare element in modern life which, al- 
though an invaluable part of it, yet rests upon a 
basis of something ideal and philosophical. In 
a worldly sense he certainly made his mark, serv- 
ing most creditably in Illinois as one of the ap- 
pellate judges, being recognized as an astute law- 
yer, politician and statesman. Whenever he came 
in contact with men of note not only was he val- 
ued as an equal of practical strength and re- 
sources but also as one whose integrity was be- 
yond question. Judge Higbee was not only 
practical, drawing to himself the strongest minds 
of his profession, but was imbued with the best 
scientific and philosophical thought of the day 
and his mind reached out with a statesman's 
grasp of affairs to the mastery of the important 
questions involving the welfare of the common- 
wealth. 

A native of Clermont county, Ohio, Judge Hig- 
bee was born September 7, 1821, and died on the 
7th of December, 1884. In 1844, at the age of 
twenty-three years, having in the meantime ac- 
quired only a comparatively limited education, 
but nevertheless ambitious and energetic, he took 
up the study of law with his uncle, Judge James 
Ward, of Griggsville, Pike county, Illinois, and 
after two or three years preliminary reading was 



admitted to the bar and entered upon the prac- 
tice of his profession. Within a few years he 
had worked his way steadily upward to a posi- 
tion in the front ranks of the legal fraternity of 
this section of the state and had a large practice 
in his own county and throughout the military 
tract. He continued successfully as counsellor 
and advocate before the bar until 1861, when he 
was elected to the circuit bench for a term of six 
years, and no higher testimonial of his capability 
can be given than the fact that he was three times 
re-elected to this office, making nearly twenty- 
four consecutive years of service therein. In 
1877, when .the system of appellate courts was es- 
tablished, the supreme court selected Judge Hig- 
bee as one of the three circuit judges from the 
third appellate district and upon his re-election 
in June, 1879, he was again assigned to the high 
position and at the time of his death was presid- 
ing justice of that body. He took to the bench 
the highest qualities necessary for the impartial 
hearing of litigated interests. He had the faculty 
of freeing his mind from personal prejudices and 
peculiarities and giving unremitting attention to 
the cause in argument and the application of 
legal principles thereto, and his decisions were 
regarded as models of judicial soundness by 
many of the most distinguished lawyers and 
jurists, representing the judiciary of Illinois. 

In his political views Judge Higbee was a dem- 
ocrat and took an active interest in the work of 
the party up to the time of his elevation to the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



bench. Afterward he allowed nothing to inter- 
fere with the faithful performance of his duties, 
standing as he did as a conservator of justice and 
right. In 1854 he was elected to the state legis- 
lature and in 1858 was chosen to represent his 
district in the state senate, where he served until 
his elevation to the bench. He took a conspicu- 
ous part as one of the four delegates at large to 
the democratic national convention held in St. 
Louis in 1876. As a citizen as well as a politi- 
cian, judge and statesman he was conspicuous 
by reason of his worth and activity and his city 
profited largely by his efforts in its behalf. The 
large school building at Pittsfield is a monument 
to the activity of Judge Higbee and others, for 
he took a most helpful interest in the cause of 
education and his labors were an effective agency 
for its advancement. That the Methodist people 
of Pittsfield worship in so handsome and commo- 
dious a building is largely due to his efforts. He 
was an earnest promoter of the Pittsfield House, 
was a charter member of the First National 
Bank of the city, and for years acted as its 
president. 

In 1854 Judge Higbee was married to Miss 
Julia M. White, a niece of the Hon. I. N. Mor- 
ris, deceased, and a native of Clermont county, 
Ohio. They had a son and daughter, Harry and 
Sue, the former now circuit judge. 

Judge Higbee was the contemporary and 
friend of many 'of the distinguished lawyers of 
Illinois. His intellectual energy, professional in- 
tegrity and keen insight combined to make him 
one of the ablest lawyers of the state. He was 
by nature endowed with the greatest of human 
qualities integrity which wealth can not pur- 
chase, power can not imitate or dying men decree. 
Upon the bench he was the soul of judicial honor 
and his career was distinguished by a masterful 
grasp of every question that was presented for 
solution. In his social life he had the quality of 
winning warm, personal regard and strong 
friendships. It may be said of him that he has 
left to his children and to his country the record 
of a life 

"Rich in the world's opinion and men's praise 
And full of all he could desire but praise." 



EDWARD PENSTONE. 

Edward Penstone, a veteran of the Civil war, 
is now living in Pittsfield but for many years was 
closely associated with farming interests, belong- 
ing to a family that has taken a prominent part in 
the development and progress of the county in 
agricultural lines. A native of England, his 
birth occurred in the city of London in 1842, his 
parents being Giles and Sarah (Stratton) Pen- 
stone, both of whom were natives of Berkshire, 
England. When a youth of fifteen years the 
father was apprenticed to learn the dry-goods 
trade and was connected with commercial pursuits 
in his native country until 1849, when, attracted 
by the possibilities of the new world he came to 
the United States with his family and at once 
made his way into the interior of the country, 
settling in Newburg township, Pike county. His 
capital was invested in eighty acres of land which 
he at once began to cultivate and improve, and in 
later years, associated with his sons, he invested 
in property until their realty holdings covered 
seven hundred and sixty-five acres of very valua- 
ble land in Newburg township. To the develop- 
ment of the property he gave his energies with the 
result that in due course of time he was the owner 
of a very valuable farm which had been brought 
to a high state of cultivation. In 1867 however, 
he put aside business cares and he and his wife 
spent their remaining days in Griggsville. Their 
family numbered four sons and two daughters, of 
whom three sons and the daughters are yet living, 
as follows : Giles H., who is mentioned elsewhere 
in this work ; Edward, of this review ; Stratton, 
who is living in Newburg township; Sarah, the 
wife of David Dolbow; and Ellen R., the wife of 
W. E. Kneeland, of Griggsville. 

Edward Penstone spent the first seven years of 
his life in the land of his nativity and was then 
brought by his parents to Pike county, where he 
pursued his education as a public-school student 
and in the periods of vacation aided in the farm 
work. When a young man of nineteen years he 
donned the blue uniform of the nation and went to 
the front as a member of Company H, Seventy- 
third Illinois Infantry, with which he served for 
three years. Being captured he was held as a 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



prisoner of war in Libby prison for three months. 
He took part in the battles of Perryville and of 
Stone River and in the latter was wounded by a 
shell. He was also shot in the left arm and side 
in the battle of Chickamauga and was there cap- 
tured, after which he was sent to Atlanta and later 
to Libby prison. After three months he was re- 
leased, paroled and exchanged, and he then re- 
turned to the army in April, 1864. He took part 
in the battle of Kenesaw Mountain, the siege of 
Atlanta and the engagements at Jonesboro, Frank- 
linville and Nashville. While at Libby prison he 
was reported dead. He held rank of corporal and 
proved a loyal soldier, never faltering in any 
duty that was assigned to him. 

When. the war was over Mr. Penstone returned 
to his home and the following year was married to 
Miss Maria Glenn, a native of Flint township, 
Pike county, and a daughter of William Glenn, of 
Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Penstone began their do- 
mestic life upon a farm and in 1872 he purchased 
one hundred and sixty acres of land in Newburg 
township which he still owns. He afterward 
bought eighty acres more and he now owns two 
hundred and forty acres constituting a valuable 
property, on which he raises hogs and sheep. He 
retired from the active work of the farm in 1895 
and removed to Pittsfield, where he purchased a 
fine residence and now makes his home, while 
his son operates his farm. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Penstone have been born 
two children: William E., who married Alice 
Turnbull, and lives upon the home place ; and 
Mabel G., who is the wife of Thomas Pence, and 
lives on a farm in Salem township. His son 
has two children Lena M. and Frank E. The 
daughter, Mrs. Pence, has five children, Edward 
W., Orville E., Louise M., Thomas H. and 
Glenn P. 

Politically Mr. Penstone is a republican and 
lias served as township school trustee and school 
director. He belongs to W. W. Lawton post, 
No. 38, G. A. R., of Griggsville, and also to the 
Modern Woodmen camp and to the Masonic 
lodge, while both he and his wife are affiliated with 
the Eastern Star. Mr. and Mrs. Penstone are 
Congregationalists in religious faith and for 
twenty years he has been a church trustee, acting 



in that capacity for nine years in Pittsfield. He 
made a creditable record as a soldier and an 
equally creditable one as an agriculturist, and he 
owes his success largely to his own efforts, for 
with little financial assistance he started out in life 
and has worked his way upward through deter- 
mined purpose, close application and unremitting 
diligence. He is to-day the owner of valuable 
farming property which is the visible evidence 
of his life of well directed effort and persever- 
ance. 



W. H. HASKINS. 

W. H. Haskins, living on section 3, Hardin 
township, is one of the large landowners and suc- 
cessful stock feeders of Hardin township. His 
realty holdings embrace one thousand acres, with 
two hundred acres in the home farm, constituting 
a well improved and valuable property equipped 
with all modern conveniences and accessories. 
Born in Newburg township on the 5th of January, 
1845, ne was a son f Otis A. Haskins. His 
father was born in Massachusetts, in November, 
1817, and was there reared to manhood, coming in 
1838 to Illinois. He was a carpenter and joiner 
by trade and his first location was at Alton, 
where he worked at his trade until 1844. He was 
married in Greene county, Illinois, to Miss Nancy 
Thomas, whose birth occurred in that county. In 
the year 1844 he removed to Pike county and pur- 
chased one hundred and sixty acres of land in 
Newburg township. He resided upon that farm 
and later on another farm in Newburg township 
for several years. He then bought one hundred 
and sixty acres of land, where his son S. T. Has- 
kins now resides. He was an active and pros- 
perous farmer and a man of good business ability, 
making careful investments of his capital until he 
owned over two thousand acres of land. He dis- 
played keen discernment, executive force and in- 
defatigable energy as he gave his time and atten- 
tion to farming and stock-raising. He also fed 
stock for a number of years. Eventually he pur- 
chased property in Pittsfield, where he erected a 
large, neat and substantial residence and there he 
located, spending his remaining years in honora- 



'52 



.'PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ble retirement from further labor save the super- 
vision of his invested interests. He died January 
28, 1897. His wife passed away February 16, 
1885. and both were laid to rest in the West ceme- 
tery in Pittsfield. 

William H. Haskins is the eldest in a family of 
four children, two sons and two daughters, all of 
whom are yet living. He was reared upon the old 
home farm in Hardin township and although he 
received ample training in farm labor his educa- 
tional privileges were somewhat meager, so that 
he is largely a self-educated man and although 
now well informed his knowledge has been ac- 
quired greatly through reading, observation and 
experience since attaining man's estate. He re- 
mained upon the old homestead with his father 
until twenty-eight years of age and assisted him in 
the work of tilling the soil and caring for the 
stock and crops. 

Starting out in life on his own account Mr. 
Haskins was united in marriage in Atlas town- 
ship, on the ist of September, 1873, to Miss 
Emily Yokem, a native of Pike county, reared and 
educated here, a daughter of William Yokem, one 
of the early settlers who came to Illinois from 
Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Haskins located upon 
a farm in Hardin township where they lived for 
two years and then removed to what is now the 
home farm on section 3 of the same township. Mr. 
Haskins began to further improve and cultivate 
this property and success resulted from his ear- 
nest, well directed and practical efforts. As his 
financial resources increased he bought other lands 
from time to time and he now owns six good 
farms comprising more than one thousand acres. 
He also owns the Haskins home in Pittsfield, the 
former residence of his father. In connection 
with the cultivation of the cereals best adapted to 
the soil and climate he has for a number of 
years made a business of raising, feeding and 
dealing in cattle and hogs, selling each year 
quite a large herd of well fattened cattle and also 
a goodly number of hogs. He is accounted one 
of the far-sighted, enterprising and successful 
agriculturists and stockmen of the county. 

Mr. and Mrs. Haskins have eight children: 
Mary; William O. ; Kate, the wife of Selden 
Formen, of Jacksonville, Illinois ; Nellie ; Nancy ; 



Nettie; Verd I.; and Wallace. They also lost a 
son, Herbert, who died at the age of about three 
years. The children have been students in the 
Pittsfield high school and Mr. Haskins has pro- 
vided his sons and daughters ' with good educa- 
tional privileges, thus equipping them for life's 
practical and responsible duties. In 1868 he 
proudly cast his first presidential vote for General 
U. S. Grant and he has supported every presi- 
dential nominee on the republican ticket since 
that time but is without aspiration for office. 
Rather than to enter into public life as an office 
holder he has preferred to do his public service 
as a private citizen and give the greater part 
of his attention to his business interests. He is 
a member of the Masonic fraternity, in which he 
has taken the Master's degree in the lodge at 
Time. He and his estimable wife have been 
life-long residents of Pike county and are familiar 
with much of its history as the work of develop- 
ment and growth has been carried forward. They 
have also been identified with the improvement 
and progress of their community and genuine 
worth insures for them warm friendship and 
kindly regard. 



HON. JEFFERSON ORR. 

Hon. Jefferson Orr, a prominent member of 
the Pittsfield bar, who in the practice of his pro- 
fession has made consecutive advancement until 
he occupies a position in the foremost rank among 
the leading lawyers of western Illinois, was born 
in the vicinity of Deersville, Harrison county, 
Ohio, on the 2Oth day of July, 1842, his parents 
being John and Ary (Moore) Orr, the latter a 
daughter of Alexander Moore, a resident of Ohio. 
John Orr was born in Pennsylvania in the year 
1810 and was of Scotch descent, his father, John 
Orr, Sr., being a native of Scotland although 
reared in Ireland. The father of our subject ac- 
companied his parents to Ohio when he was a 
small lad and passed the days of his boyhood and 
youth in his parents' home, early becoming famil- 
iar with agricultural pursuits. He was married 
in the Buckeye state to Miss Ary Moore, and. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



155 



turning his attention to farming, was thus en- 
gaged until 1852, when he came with his family 
to Pike county, Illinois, settling in Fairmount 
township, where he made his home for twenty- 
two years. Subsequently he took up his abode 
in Mount Sterling, where his death occurred on 
the 3d of June, 1890. His wife had died in Oc- 
tober, 1860, and thus he survived her for almost 
a third of a century. They reared a family of ten 
children, of whom the subject of this review is 
the seventh in order of birth. One son, Albert, 
was killed at the battle of Jackson. Mississippi, 
while serving as a member of the Forty-first Illi- 
nois Infantry in defense of the Union. Most of 
the other members of the family are still resi- 
dents of Illinois. 

Jefferson Orr was a youth of ten summers 
when his parents came to this state and his edu- 
cation, begun in the district schools of Ohio, was 
continued in the public schools of this county, 
and afterward at Mount Sterling, Illinois, prior 
to his matriculation in the Illinois College at 
Jacksonville. He later spent three years in the 
Chicago University, the last two years of that 
period being passed in the law department, from 
which he was graduated with honors in the class 
of 1864. Soon afterward he went to Atchison, 
Kansas, where he practiced for about nine 
months and on the expiration of that period he 
returned to Pittstield. He has since been an able 
member of the bar of this city and in 1872 was 
elected prosecuting attorney of Pike county, to 
which position he was elected until he had served 
for eight consecutive years. He has since given 
his attention to the private practice of law and 
in 1877 formed a partnership with Edward 
Yates, which was continued until 1880. In the 
following year he became a partner of A. G. 
Crawford under the firm style of Orr & Craw- 
ford, and they enjoyed an extensive clientage. 
For the past few years, however, Mr. Orr has 
been alone and has controlled a legal business 
which in volume and importance indicates his 
high standing at the bar. 

On the 7th of November, 1878, was celebrated 
the marriage of Jefferson Orr and Miss Ella M. 
Yates, a daughter 'of George and Maria (Hin- 
-man) Yates, and a graduate of the Methodist 



College of Jacksonville. She is a lady of super- 
ior culture and refinement and is an active mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church, to which 
Mr. Orr also belongs. Mr. Orr stands high as 
a citizen and in every department of jurispru- 
dence, and is particularly noted for his success- 
ful practice in the department of criminal law. 
Moreover he is financially successful. In 1891 
he was elected circuit judge and for six years 
served upon the bench. Mr. Orr has always 
been identified with the anti-license party of 
Pittsfield, has served as trustee and president of 
the board, also alderman, and for the past six 
years as mayor of the city, holding that office at 
the present time. His life has been one of untir- 
ing activity and he has so directed his ability and 
efforts as to gain recognition as one of the repre- 
sentative citizens of Pike county. Realizing the 
necessity for thorough preparation he industri- 
ously prepares his cases and in the court-room 
his manner is characterized by a calmness and 
dignity that indicate reserve strength. 



JAMES M. NORTON. 

James M. Norton, an honored veteran of the 
Civil war, now living retired in Milton, is a 
native son of Indiana, born in Warren county on 
the loth of January, 1844. His parents, Ichabod 
S. and Elizabeth (French) Norton, were among 
the early settlers of Warren county and contrib- 
uted to its pioneer development and progress. 
In later years they removed to Rossville, Ver- 
milion county, Illinois, where their last days were 
spent. In their family were fifteen children, of 
whom James was the seventh in order of birth. 
The record is as follows : Minerva, now de- 
ceased ; Mary A. ; Adeline A. ; William, who died 
in Columbus, Kentucky, from illness contracted 
while serving his country as a soldier of the 
Union army; John, deceased; Harvey, who 
served in Company K, Thirty-third Indiana Regi- 
ment and was honorably discharged July 21, 
1865, near Louisville, Kentucky; James M. ; 
Thomas Jefferson ; Jane and Laura, both deceased ; 
Sarah M. ; Zeruah ; Rebecca; Lizzie; and one 



156 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



child who died unnamed. Minerva was the 
daughter of the father's first marriage, the 
mother bearing the maiden name of Polly Fore- 
man. 

James M. Norton was reared upon the old 
homestead farm and acquired his education in 
the country schools. He assisted in the work of 
field and meadow until seventeen years of age, 
when, in response to his country's call, he enlisted 
in defense of the Union cause on the I2th of 
September, 1861, for three years' service with 
Company K, Thirty-third Indiana Infantry. He 
re-enlisted as a veteran in the same regiment on 
the 23d of January, 1864, and continued with the 
army until the close of hostilities. His first en- 
gagement with the enemy was at Wild Cat, Ken- 
tucky, and he afterward participated in several 
skirmishes in the vicinity of Cumberland Gap. 
Later he was at Thompson Station, Tennessee, 
and there -the entire regiment was captured and 
sent to Libby prison, where Mr. Norton re- 
mained for thirty days, when he was released and 
exchanged. With his regiment he then returned 
to Chattanooga, Tennessee, and took part in the 
battle of Resaca, after which the command was 
under fire constantly for sixty-five days, or until 
the fall of Atlanta, Georgia. During this time 
the battles of Dallas Wood, Kenesaw Mountain 
and Peach Tree Creek were fought. Following 
the capitulation of Atlanta the Thirty-third In- 
diana joined Sherman on his march to the sea 
and afterward participated in the engagements 
at Salisbury and Goldsboro, North Carolina, fol- 
lowing which the regiment went to Washington, 
D. C., and took part in the grand review there, 
the most celebrated military pageant ever seen 
on the western hemisphere. The regiment then 
proceeded to Louisville, Kentucky, where the men 
were honorably discharged on the 2ist of July, 
1865. 

Mr. Norton returned home with a most cred- 
itable military record, having ever been faithful 
and loyal to his duty no matter where it called 
him. He was often in the thickest of the fight 
and he never wavered in his allegiance to the old 
flag and the cause it represented. Again taking 
up his abode in Vermilion county, Illinois, he con- 
tinued farming there until 1866, when he came to 



Pike county, where he afterward devoted his 
energies to general agricultural pursuits, but 
now he is practically living a retired life. 

On the 27th of May, 1869, Mr. Norton was 
married to Miss Ellerslie Foreman, a daughter 
of Peter and Cloe Foreman, who were among 
the early settlers of Pike county. Unto Mr. and 
Mrs. Norton have been born five children, of 
whom four are living: James W., Winfield C.,. 
Guy W., William H. and Clyde A., but the last 
named died October 18, 1901. Mr. Norton is one 
of Milton's representative citizens, a man who in 
business relations has been found honorable and 
in social circles reliable. He is devoted to the 
welfare of his family, for whom he has provided 
a comfortable competence and in citizenship he is- 
to-day as loyal to his country as when he followed 
the stars and stripes upon the battle-fields of 
the south. 



MARCELLUS MAYS. 

Marcellus Mays, an enterprising farmer resid- 
ing on section 31, Pittsfield township, was born 
in Clinton county, Ohio, November 17, 1849, and 
is a son of A. and Rebecca J. (Davis) Mays. 
The father was born in Ohio and was a farmer 
by occupation, following that pursuit in the Buck- 
eye state until 1864, when he came to Illinois, set- 
tling in Pittsfield township. He bought a farm 
of one hundred and forty acres and resided there- 
on until 1884, when he went to California, estab- 
lishing his home near Ventura, where he now re- 
sides at the advanced age of seventy-eight years. 
His wife also survives and is now seventy- 
seven years of age. He has retired from active 
farm life, but is still the owner of a large fruit 
farm in California, which is well situated and re- 
turns to him an excellent annual income. His 
political allegiance has long been given to the 
democracy and both he and his wife are members 
of the Methodist church. In the family were- 
three children, of whom two are now living : Mar- 
cellus, of this review, and William Mays, who is 
a resident of California. 

Marcellus Mays was educated in the schools 
of Ohio and Illinois, and after putting aside his- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



157 



text-books began farming. He remained at home 
until twenty-five years of age, after which he 
purchased ninety acres of land on section 31, 
Pittsfield township, where he now resides. He 
carries on general farming and stock-raising, mak- 
ing a specialty of hogs and cattle. He keeps thor- 
oughbred Poland China hogs and also raises a 
high grade of cattle. In all of his work he has 
displayed close application and unremitting dili- 
gence as well as good business discernment. 

In 1877 Mr. Mays was married to Miss Cenith 
Townsend, who was formerly a school teacher. 
She was born in Pike county and is a daughter 
of William and Nancy R. Townsend, both of 
whom are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Mays 
have no children of their own, but have reared 
an adopted daughter, Esther McClintock Mays, 
who has received from them the care, love and 
attention which would have been given .to an own 
child. She became a member of their household 
in 1895, when seven years of age. She is a great 
lover of music, possessing much natural talent 
in that direction, and she is a graduate of the 
Pike county schools. Mr. Mays was formerly a 
democrat, but is now independent in his political 
affiliation. He belongs to lodge No. 453, A. F. 
& A. M., of New Hartford, and to Summer Hill 
camp, No. 1053, M. W. A. He and his wife are 
members of the Methodist church. He is now 
faking life in a somewhat easy manner, having 
acquired a competence that relieves him from 
the more arduous cares of farm work. His excel- 
lent qualities of manhood endear him to those 
with whom he has come in contact and he is one 
of the representative citizens of his community. 
He has read extensively, keeping well informed 
on questions of the day, political and otherwise, 
and is a pleasant companion and gentleman of 
genial and social disposition, who has gained 
many friends. 



WILLIAM H. DUNHAM. 

William H. Dunham has since 1891 resided 
upon his present farm in New Salem township 
and in connection with general agricultural pur- 
suits he is engaged in buying and selling hogs 



and cattle. Numbered among the native sons 
of the county, his birth occurred near Maysville, 
on the gth of July, 1859, his parents being 
Nathaniel and Mary (Kiser) Dunham. The 
father came from Ohio to Pike county about 1844. 
His birth had occurred in Warren county, Ohio, 
on the 1 4th of February, 1834, and he was there- 
fore a youth of ten years when he accompanied 
his parents on their removal to this state. The 
paternal grandfather, Lewis Dunham, was born 
September 12, 1802, and was a cooper by trade, 
but devoted the greater part of his time and 
attention to agricultural pursuits after removing 
to the west. He died September 14, 1866. As. 
a pioneer resident he was well known in the 
county and he aided in the early development and 
substantial improvement of this part of the state. 
Nathaniel Dunham was here reared and edu- 
cated. He bore the usual hardships and pri- 
vations of pioneer life and shared with the family 
in the arduous task of developing a new farm. 
On the 26th of October, 1854, he was united in 
marriage to Miss Mary A. Kiser, a daughter of 
Daniel Kiser, who settled in Pike county in 1844. 
Mrs. Dunham was born in Warren county, In- 
diana, on the 3d of May, 1838, and remained 
under the parental roof until she went to her 
husband's home. She has been to him a faithful 
companion and helpmate on life's journey. Mr. 
Dunham for many years -engaged in general 
farming and stock-raising. He owned about four 
hundred acres of rich and productive land and 
for many years resided in the vicinity of Mays- 
ville, while at the present time he and his wife 
make their home in that town, where he is now 
retired from active business cares. He votes with 
the democracy and both he and his wife are 
members of the United Brethren church, in which 
Mr. Dunham is serving as a trustee. They take 
an active and helpful part in the work of the 
church and are interested in all that tends to the 
moral development as well as the material prog- 
ress of the community. Mr. Dunham has reach- 
ed the age of seventy-two years, while his wife 
has passed the sixty-ninth milestone on life's 
journey. In their family were seven children, 
five of whom are yet living : Daniel, who resides 
in New Salem township ; William H. ; Louis O.,. 



158 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



who resides in Griggsvill'e; Nicholas and David, 
both deceased; Charles E., who is living on the 
old homestead near Maysville; and Orpha J., 
who is the wife of Stanton Kennedy, a resident 
of Griggsville township. 

William H. Dunham was educated in Mays- 
ville, acquiring a good English education. As 
the father was crippled the children early had to 
start out in life on their own account and William 
H. Dunham followed the plow when only eight 
years of age. His youth was largely a period 
of earnest and unremittng toil but he developed 
thereby a self-reliance and force of character 
which have made him a strong man in later 
years strong in his honor and 'good name, strong 
in his purposes and in what he has accomplished. 
When twenty-one years of age he was married, 
but remained upon the home farm for two years 
longer and at the age of twenty-three years he 
began the operation of rented land, giving his 
time and energies to farm labor for ten years 
longer. He then bought one hundred and sixty 
acres where he now resides, taking up his abode 
thereon in 1891. He has a splendid property 
here, the land being arable and responding readily 
to the care and cultivation he bestows upon it. 
The fields are now well tilled and he has good 
buildings upon the place, including a fine two 
story residence. He also buys and sells hogs and 
cattle and everything about his farm is kept in 
excellent condition, its neatness and thrift indi- 
cating his careful supervision. 

Mr. Dunham was married in 1880 to Miss 
Sarah E. Aber, a native of Detroit township, 
Pike county, born on the 28th of October, 1862, 
;and a daughter of Henry and Ann Eliza (Sloan) 
Aber. The father was an early settler here, hav- 
ing come to Pike county when a young man with 
his parents. By trade he is a blacksmith and for 
many years led a very busy life. He still survives 
but his wife has been called to her final rest. 
Mrs. Dunham is one of six children. Her father 
married again and had five children by his second 
wife. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Dunham have been 
born ten children, of whom one died in infancy. 
Nellie May, who pursued her education in Mays- 
ville, Griggsville and in the State Normal School, 
is now teaching for the fifth term. Mary Alta 



married Newton Moon, resides in Griggsville 
township and has two children, Amy May and 
Charles Winfred. Nannie A., Orpha L., Bessie 
D., Nathaniel Clay, Daniel Truman, Willa Fern, 
and Sadie Esther are all at home. Lucinda 
died in infancy. The home farm is pleas- 
antly located about two and a half miles south- 
east of New Salem. Mr. Dunham votes with the 
democracy and for fifteen years served as school 
director. He is a member of the Modern Wood- 
men camp, No. 1 1 10, of New Salem and his wife 
and eldest daughter are members of the Royal 
Neighbors. He and his family hold membership 
in the United Brethren church, in which he is 
serving as a trustee and president of the board. 
His life has been honorable and upright, his 
actions manly and sincere and he is a gentleman 
whom to know is to respect. He has made all 
of his property by hard and persistent work and 
his name stands as a synonym for business integ- 
rity and unfaltering perseverance. 



J. T. KIBLER. 

J. T. Kibler, living on section n, Martinsburg 
township, is one of the early settlers of Pike 
county, dating his residence here from 1851, while 
since 1866 he has lived upon his present farm. 
He owns and operates one hundred and sixty 
acres of land and is a prosperous agriculturist. 
A native son of Ohio, he was born in Highland 
county, on the r/th of July, 1824. His father was 
Frederick Kibler, a native of Virginia, and his 
grandfather was William Kibler, one of the early 
residents of the Shenandoah valley in the Old 
Dominion. He was of German birth. Frederick 
Kibler was reared and educated in Virginia and 
there married Leah Wilkin, who was born in that 
state and was a daughter of Henry Wilkin, who 
was likewise a native of Virginia but became an 
early settler of Ohio. Both the Kibler and Wilkin 
families went to the Buckeye state, settling near 
Hillsboro, in Highland county, where Frederick 
Kibler engaged in clerking and also developed a 
farm. In his family were ten children, all of 
whom reached years of maturity, J. T. Kibler 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



159 



being the ninth in order of birth. Three of the 
number are now living, the sixth being William, 
who resides in Marjpil county, Kansas, while 
Henry is living in Highland county, Ohio. 

J. T. Kibler was reared in the Buckeye state 
and supplemented his early education by study 
in the South Salem Academy. Subsequently he 
became a teacher of Highland county, where he 
followed his profession for several years. On the 
2ist of February, 1851, he was married to Miss 
Sarah A. Ruble, of the same county, and daughter 
of John Ruble, one of the first settlers of that 
locality, to which place he removed from Ten- 
nessee. 

Not long after his marriage Mr. Kibler came 
to Pike county, Illinois, arriving here on the i8th 
of March, 1851. He located on a farm in New- 
burg township, where he rented land and carried 
on general agricultural pursuits for a year. He 
also taught school during the winter months for 
twelve or fifteen years, being one of the pioneer 
educators of this locality, his labors contributing 
in substantial measure to the intellectual develop- 
ment of this part of the state. He also bought 
a farm near the village of Time. This was an 
improved place, which he further cultivated, and 
in 1869 he bought his present property, compris- 
ing one hundred and sixty acres on section 1 1 , 
Martinsburg township. There was an old log 
cabin upon the place, in which he lived for two 
years, when he built a more modern and com- 
modious residence. He has continued the work 
of improvement and cultivation until the farm 
bears little resemblance to the place which came 
into his possession more than a third of a cen- 
tury ago. In fact, it is a splendidly improved 
property and in the year 1905 he gathered there- 
from four thousand bushels of corn, together with 
other grain. He keeps a high grade of stock, 
including cattle, horses and swine, and is one of 
the enterprising and energetic agriculturists of 
his community. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Kibler have been born 
seven children : Wiliam W., who is a druggist 
in Visalia, California; Albert M., who is living 
in Montgomery county, Missouri ; Ben F., a civil 
engineer and rancher, also of Visalia ; W. A., who 
resides in old Mexico, where he is a railroad- 



bridge contractor ; Joseph B., who is farming with 
his father ; Kathie B., the wife of N. E. Unsell, 
of Pike county, Missouri ; and Rebecca V., the 
wife of George Peters, who is deputy postmaster 
at Pittsfield. 

Politically Mr. Kibler has long been a repub- 
lican. He was reared in the faith of the whig 
party and cast his first presidential ballot for 
Henry Clay. He supported Fremont in 1856 
and has voted for each presidential nominee to 
the present time. He served as township clerk 
for several years and was also school treasurer 
for eight or nine years. He has been connected 
with the Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company 
since its organization, has been a director for a 
long period and during the last four years has 
been its president. He and his wife are members 
of the Christian church, with which they have 
been identified from youth to the present time, 
and now he is serving as an elder in the Martins- 
burg church. This worthy couple have long 
traveled life's journey together, celebrating their 
golden wedding in 1901, and they are esteemed 
as most worthy and respected people, whose lives 
of uprightness and honor well entitle them to the 
confidence and esteem of all who know them. 



ISAAC BARTON. 

There is perhaps no resident of Pike county 
more deserving of mention among its represent- 
atives and respected citizens than Isaac Barton, 
a retired farmer now living in Pittsfield. He was 
born in Kentucky, June 7, 1825, a son of William 
'and Mary( Brewer) Barton, the former of Eng- 
lish descent. The family, however, was founded 
in America at an early day, the paternal grand- 
father having been a native of Virginia, where 
he followed the occupation of farming. At the 
time of the outbreak of hostilities between the 
colonies and the mother country, he espoused the 
cause of liberty and laid down his life on its altar 
in the battle of Bunker Hill. His wife lived to 
the advanced age of eighty years and reared 
their family of five children, filling the place of 
both father and mother after the death of her 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



husband. During the greater part of her life she 
was a devoted member of the Baptist church. 

William Barton, father of our subject, was 
born in the Old Dominion and in early manhood 
went to Tennessee, where he was married to Miss 
Mary Brewer, a native of that state and a woman 
of high Christian character, belonging to the 
Baptist church. They afterward removed to Knox 
county, Kentucky, settling on the Cumberland 
river, and were among the early residents of that 
locality. Mr. Barton acquired a large tract of 
land and met success in his business affairs. For 
many years he was a deacon in the Baptist church 
and took an active and helpful part in its work. 
His political allegiance was given to the whig 
party. He was killed in a runaway accident 
when about sixty years of age and his wife died 
when more than fifty years of age. In their 
family were thirteen children, eight sons and five 
daughters, of whom three are now living. Those 
deceased are : Susan ; Henry ; James ; John ; Solo- 
man ; William ; Lewis ; Elizabeth ; Sarah ; and 
Nancy. Those who still survive are : Isaac ; Mary 
Jane Barton, living in Kentucky ; and Daniel, also 
of that state. 

Isaac Barton was only eleven years of age at 
the time of his father's death and he afterward 
provided for his education by working for his 
board and the privilege of attending school. He 
remaining in his native state until twelve years of 
age, pursuing his studies in one of the old-time log 
schoolhouses, with its open fireplace, slab writing 
desk beneath the window and other primitive 
furnishings. He then accompanied his brother to 
Parke county, Indiana, which was a pioneer dis- 
trict with few evidences or promises of rapid de- 
velopment, and there he secured employment as 
a farm hand, his wage being seven dollars per 
month for the first years. He continued in simi- 
lar service for eight years and then learned the 
carpenter's trade, which he followed for four or 
five years, after which he operated a carding 
machine for two years and also spent some time 
in sawmills. He was likewise employed as a 
clerk in a store before leaving Indiana, but think- 
ing to find still better business opportunities in 
Illinois, he came to Pike county in December, 
1847, making the journey on horseback, at which 



time his possessions consisted of his horse, saddle 
and about fifteen dollars in money. For two years 
he was employed in sawmills at Rockport, Pike 
county, after which he invested his savings in 
eighty acres of land on section 8, Martinsburg 
township, of which only ten acres had been 
cleared. A log house had also been built into 
which he moved but after making some improve- 
ments on that property he sold the place and 
bought seventy-nine acres in Pleasant Hill town- 
ship, the purchase price being six hundred dollars. 
A year later he sold out for twelve hundred dol- 
lars, thus realizing a good profit on his invest- 
ment. He next became owner of one hundred and 
sixty acres farther north, but soon disposed of 
this at an advance of three hundred dollars and 
invested in one hundred and sixty acres of timber 
land north of Rockport, where he took up his 
abode and there operated a sawmill for ten years. 
As his financial resources increased he added to his 
landed holding from time to time until he owned 
three hundred and sixty acres. He carried on 
farming on an extensive scale and also raised 
stock, while to his farm he added excellent mod- 
ern equipments and accessories. He carried on 
his farm work in a most systematic and approved 
manner and the place showed his careful super- 
vision in its attractive appearance. He was 
careful in expenditures but always in touch with 
the spirit of progress in farm work and so directed 
his labors that success resulted. He still owns 
forty acres of valuable farming land together with 
one of the finest homes in Pittsfield, standing 
in the midst of seven acres of ground. The 
dwelling, a beautiful brick residence, sets well 
back from the street and the lawn is adorned with 
fine evergreen trees, shrubs and flowering plants. 
On the 1 5th of February, 1848, Mr. Barton 
was married to Miss Rachel M. Owsley, who was 
born in eastern Tennessee, December 27, 1830, 
a daughter of Thomas and Charity (Butcher) 
Owsley. The father was a most far-sighted busi- 
ness man. He followed farming and he was also 
the first in the country to deal in ready-made cof- 
fins. He came to Pike county in 1847 an d was 
the owner of eleven hundred acres of bottom land 
all in one body and a large farm on the upland. 
He had three children but Mrs. Barton is the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



161 



only one living. She is an intelligent lady and 
earnest Christian woman who has indeed been a 
faithful companion and helpmate to her husband. 
They became the parents of eight children : Mary, 
the wife of Richard Wells and a resident of 
Arkansas ; William Thomas, deceased ; John A., 
who married Allie Hayes and lives in Missouri ; 
Frank, who married Elizabeth Wells and resides 
in Arkansas ; Delia R., at home ; Fred, who mar- 
ried Annie Huffman and is located in Missouri ; 
Anna, deceased; and Clyde E., a graduate of 
Hahnemann Medical College of Philadelphia, and 
now practicing his profession in Germantown. 

Politically Mr. Barton is a stalwart democrat 
and has been called to various offices by his 
fellow townsmen who recognize his. trustworthi- 
ness and ability. He was justice of the peace, 
constable, assessor and collector while living in 
Atlas township. He belongs to the Masonic 
lodge of Hartford and both he and his wife have 
been members of the Methodist church since 
1855, taking an active and helpful part in its 
work. Mr. Barton has served as steward, class 
leader, trustee and superintendent of the Sunday- 
school and his labors have been most beneficial. 
He has always kept well informed on topics of 
general interest and has lived an upright life, 
crowned with successful accomplishment and the 
respect and honor of his fellowmen throughout 
the county in which he has now lived for almost 
six decades, witnessing almost its entire growth 
and development. 



GILES H. PENSTONE. 

Among the residents of Pittsfield formerly 
identified with agricultural interests but now liv- 
ing retired, is numbered Giles H. Penstone, who 
took up his abode in this city in November, 1900. 
He was born in London, England, February 22, 
1838, and is a son of Giles and Sarah (Stratton) 
Penstone, both of whom were natives of Berk- 
shire, England. The father was engaged in the 
dry-goods business in that country, having been 
apprenticed to the trade when fifteen years of age. 
In 1849 ne came with his family to America, 



settling first in Newburg township, Pike county. 
He there purchased eighty acres of land and for 
about eighteen years carried on the work of the 
farm, developing his place into a well improved 
property. He then retired from active farm life 
and removed to Griggsville, where he and his 
wife spent their remaining days. In the mean- 
time he added to his original possessions and 
in connection with his sons had become the owner 
of seven hundred and sixty-five acres of land in 
Newburg township. In their family were six 
children, four sons and two daughters, and with 
the exception of one son all are yet living, namely : 
Giles H. ; Edward, a resident of Pittsfield ; Strat- 
ton, who is living in Newburg; Sarah, the wife of 
David Dolbow; and Ellen R., the wife of Will 
Kneeland of Griggsville. 

Giles H. Penstone began his education in the 
schools of England and continued his studies 
after coming to America with his parents. He 
was reared to farm life, early becoming familiar 
with the duties and labors of the fields as he as- 
sisted his father in the operation of the home 
farm. He did not leave home on attaining his 
majority, but, like the other brothers, continued 
their business associations with their father and 
invested in land until, as before stated, they 
became the owners of valuable property. Through- 
out his entire business career Mr. Penstone of this 
review carried on general agricultural pursuits 
and lived upon the homestead in Newburg town- 
ship until his retirement from business life. In 
all that he did he was methodical and systematic, 
and his labors resulted in the acquirement of a 
handsome competence so that he is now enjoying 
the fruits of his former toil in a well earned rest. 

At the time of the Civil war, responding to 
his country's call for aid, he enlisted in 1862, 
as a member of Company H, Seventy-third Regi- 
ment of Illinois Volunteers under Captain James 
R. Davidson, a Methodist Episcopal minister of 
Griggsville, and at the close of his services he 
was under command of Captain Joseph L. Mor- 
gan, of Quincy, Illinois. The regiment was at- 
tached to the Army of the Cumberland and he 
was engaged in the battles of Perryville and 
Stone River in 1862 and afterward in the en- 
gagements at Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, 



1 62 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the Atlanta campaign, Kenesaw Mountain, Jones- 
boro, Peach Tree Creek, Franklinyille, Nashville 
and many skirmishes. He was wounded three 
times at Perryville in the arm, at Chickamauga 
in the leg and at Kenesaw Mountain in the left 
hip. After sustaining his last wound and while 
at Springfield he acted as head nurse in the hos- 
pital for six months. 

When the war was over Mr. Penstone returned 
home and resumed farm work. He is now the 
owner of four hundred and fifty-five acres of 
valuable land in Newburg township and has 
placed all of the improvements upon the property, 
which is now a splendidly equipped farm with 
fine buildings and modern accessories to facil- 
itate the work of the fields and add to the at- 
tractive appearance of the place. He has erected 
a beautiful home and his land is as rich as any 
that can be found in the county. When he had 
acquired a handsome competence Mr. Penstone 
retired and removed to Pittsfield, where he now 
has a comfortable residence. 

In 1867 was celebrated the marriage of Giles 
H. Penstone and Miss Julia E. Edom, a native 
of Lucas county, Ohio, born in 1840, and a 
daughter of Edward Edom, who came to Pike 
county in 1856. The father was a farmer by 
occupation and after devoting some years to gen- 
eral agricultural pursuits removed to Barry, where 
he conducted a hotel for twenty years, his death 
there occurring. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Penstone 
have been born two sons and four daughters: 
Charles H. and Edward G., who are living on 
their father's farm; May E., the wife of George 
Sanderson, a resident of Rock Island ; Nettie, the 
wife of D. B. Welty, living in Oklahoma; Nellie, 
at home; and Clara M., who is a teacher in 
Griggsville. 

Mr. Penstone is a republican and has been 
honored with some local offices, having served 
as township commissioner for twelve years and 
as justice of the peace for four years. He has 
likewise been school director for a number of years 
and his interest in the general welfare is that of a 
public-spirited citizen who puts forth effective 
personal effort for the good of the community. 
He belongs to W. W. Lawton post, No. 338, G. 
A. R., of Griggsville and he is a member of the 



Masonic fraternity. He also belongs to the Con- 
gregational church and served as deacon and trus- 
tee of the church at Griggsville for a long period. 
Residing in Pike county from the age of eleven 
years he has a wide acquaintance here and his 
business activity and integrity have stood as un- 
questioned facts in his career, bringing him suc- 
cess and an honored name simultaneously. 



ABBIE A. HATCH. 

Abbie A. Hatch, whose efforts have been an 
important factor in the intellectual development 
of Pike county, is a representative of one of the 
honored and prominent pioneer families of this 
part of the state, her parents being Isaac A. and 
Lydia (Baxter) Hatch. Her father was well 
known in Pike county, where his labors proved 
of the utmost value in the promotion of business 
and social progress. He was born in Hillsboro, 
Hillsboro county, New Hampshire, on the I3th 
of September, 1812, and was of Welsh and Irish 
descent, although the family has been repre- 
sented in America through many generations. 
More than two and a half centuries ago the 
Hatch family was established in Connecticut and 
the descendants of the original settlers remained 
in the old Charter Oak state until Reuben Hatch, 
Sr., removed to New Hampshire. One of his 
brothers, also leaving the ancestral state, settled 
in Vermont and a third in Maine. 

Reuben Hatch, Jr., father of Isaac Hatch, was 
born in New Hampshire, prepared for the prac- 
tice of medicine and surgery and became a dis- 
tinguished physician. He married Miss Lucy 
Andrews and they became the parents of nine 
children, of whom Isaac Hatch was the second 
in order of birth, his elder brother being Seth C. 
Hatch, who engaged in the practice of medicine 
and surgery and at the time of the Civil war of- 
fered his services to the government, becoming 
surgeon in the Sixty-second Illinois Infantry. His 
last days were spent in Barry, Pike county, Illi- 
nois. O. M. Hatch became a distinguished citi- 
zen of the state, prominent in republican circles. 




ISAAC A HATCH 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY 



165 



He served as clerk of the circuit court of Pike 
county for eight years, and for a similar period 
was the secretary of state in Illinois. He 
was thus the associate and contemporary 
of many of the distinguished residents of 
Illinois, who regarded him in matters of states- 
craft as every way their peer. Retiring from of- 
fice he took up his abode in Springfield, where 
he resided until the time of his death, which oc- 
curred in 1893. He was, however, connected 
with business interests in Pike county, having 
extensive investments in a bank here. Sylvanus 
Hatch, now deceased, was a farmer of Pike 
county. Reuben, who has also passed away, was 
a merchant of Griggsville and at the time of the 
Civil war served as quartermaster in an Illinois 
regiment, his death being occasioned by disease 
contracted in the service. Rebecca was the wife 
of Alexander Starr, a merchant and politician 
in Griggsville. John has now passed away. 
Franklin, who was a farmer of Griggsville town- 
ship, is also deceased. Lucinda became the wife 
of D. B. Bush, of Portland, Oregon. 

In the maternal line Miss Hatch of this review 
is descended from Major Isaac Andrews, who 
was an officer of the war of 1812. He was the 
father of Mrs. Reuben Hatch, who died in New 
Hampshire. Her husband afterward came to 
this state in January, 1836, settling at Griggsville, 
where he died when more than four score years 
of age. 

Isaac Hatch, well known as a prominent and 
honored pioneer resident of Pike county, spent 
the first seventeen years of his life in Hillsboro, 
New Hampshire, and enjoyed the advantages 
of the public schools there but he was ambitious 
to acquire a still broader education and with this 
end in view went to Boston, Massachusetts, with 
a drover, thinking that in such an educational 
center he would have opportunity to continue 
his studies, but he found that a poor boy had lit- 
tle chance there and he had to turn his attention 
to something that would yield him a living. He 
therefore entered the employ of a gentleman who 
was engaged in dealing in West India goods, 
largely carrying on a wholesale trade. Mr. Hatch 
remained in Boston until 1832, when he returned 
to his native town and became a clerk in a gen- 



eral mercantile store, retaining his residence in 
Hillsboro until he came to Illinois in 1835. From 
that time until after the inauguration of the 
Civil war his attention was largely given to trade. 

as one of the wealthy men of the county. His 
ness he closed up his accounts on account of slow- 
ness in collection and not long afterward he re- 
ceived and accepted the appointment of revenue 
collector, being the first incumbent in this posi- 
tion in Pike and Brown counties. He served for 
several years, discharging his duties with prompt- 
ness and fidelity and giving general satisfaction 
to his superior officers, although he. met with 
considerable opposition in the enforcement of the 
law, for this section of the state was rather a 
hotbed of discontent during the period of the 
Civil war, owing to the fact that there were 
many southern as well as northern families liv- 
ing in Pike county. 

Mr. Hatch continued to fill the position of col- 
lector until 1864, after which he was variously 
employed until 1870, when he was urged by his 
friends to establish a banking business and in 
company with his brother, Hon. O. M. Hatch, 
formerly secretary of state, he opened a private 
bank. In 1873 the brother withdrew and in July 
of that year the bank was re-organized as a na- 
tional bank with Isaac Hatch as one of its large 
stockholders and most active managers. He 
placed the bank upon a safe conservative basis 
that awakened uniform confidence and secured a 
liberal patronage. His business methods were 
such as neither required nor sought disguise and 
lie had the full trust of the general public. In 
business matters he possessed sound judgment, 
which was rarely, if ever, at fault and each step 
was carefully and thoughtfully made, so that he 
ultimately reached the goal of success. As he 
prospered in his undertakings he made judicious 
investment in property and was the owner of 
several farms in this vicinity, being recognized 
as one of the wealthy men of the county. His 
life was indeed a very busy and useful one and 
he carried forward to sviccessful completion 
whatever he undertook, so that his example is 
well worthy of emulation, showing the force and 
value of industry and integrity as active and es- 
sential factors in a prosperous business career. 



i66 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Mr. Hatch never sought nor desired public 
office, nor did he ever belong to any secret soci- 
ety. He preferred to give his undivided atten- 
tion to his business affairs, regarding such in- 
terests as abundantly worthy of his best efforts, 
yet he was never remiss in the duties of citizen- 
ship and co-operated in many measures for the 
general good, but preferred to do his public serv- 
ice as a private citizen. 

In early manhood he wedded Miss Lydia Bax- 
ter, a native of New Hampshire, in which state 
their marriage took place in 1840. Her father 
was Jonathan Baxter and further mention is 
made of the family in connection with the his- 
tory of John F. Hatch on another page of this 
work. Mrs. Hatch is an estimable lady of su- 
perior culture and refinement. By her marriage 
she had two children who reached adult age, 
Abbie A. and John F., while George died in in- 
fancy. The parents were members of the Con- 
gregational church in Griggsville and took a 
most active and helpful part in its work. Mr. Hatch 
was ever a student of the signs of the times, noted 
the trend of events and held firm opinions con- 
cerning the expediency and value of any meas- 
ure which was introduced for the public good. 
He never faltered to uphold a course which he 
believed to be right nor condemn one which he 
believed to be wrong and his labors proved an 
important element in the substantial progress 
and upbuilding of Pike county. He left the im- 
press of his individuality for good upon the pub- 
lic welfare and did much toward molding public 
thought and opinion. 

Miss Abbie A. Hatch, his only daughter, ac- 
quired her early education in the public schools 
and when a young lady of seventeen entered the 
State Normal School at Normal, Illinois. After 
finishing her studies at this place she returned 
home and began teaching in Pike county. Soon 
after, however, she went to Cairo, Illinois, where 
she engaged in teaching for four years and then 
returned to Griggsville, where she taught school 
for fifteen or twenty years, having the ability to 
impart clearly and readily to others the knowl- 
edge that she had acquired. She did much 
toward elevating the standard of public instruc- 
tion in this county and her efforts were of value 



in the promotion of the school interests of 
Griggsville. She added to her own knowledge 
through travel, making many trips with her par- 
ents through the east and on various occasions 
visiting their old home in New Hampshire. She 
has also attended the Chautauqua assemblies at 
Chautauqua Lake, New York, on different occa- 
sions and the Bay View assemblies near Petoskey, 
Michigan. She has twice gone to California, vis- 
iting the various points of historic and scenic in- 
terest in the valleys and through the mountain dis- 
tricts of the far west, has also made three trips to 
Colorado, has visited Salt Lake and also traveled 
northward through Minnesota and Wisconsin. She 
has likewise gone to the northwestern portion of 
the country, journeying as far as Tacoma and, 
suiting her pleasure and convenience, has stopped 
off at various places en route to the west or upon 
the eastern trip. She is eligible to membership 
in the society of the Daughters of the Revolution 
both in the paternal and maternal line. Deeply 
interested in educational work, she has ever been 
zealous and conscientious in her efforts as a 
teacher and the efficiency and value of her labors 
is acknowldged by many who have come under 
her instruction. 



CAPTAIN GEORGE BARBER. 

Captain George Barber, the owner of five hun- 
dred acres of valuable and well improved land in 
Pike county, and a resident of Pittsfield, was born 
in this county in 1844, his parents being Austin 
and Caroline (Johnson) B-nber. The father was 
born in Ohio in 1809, while the mother's birth oc- 
curred in Missouri, but both are now deceased. 
They came to Pike county in 1833, and Austin 
Barber conducted a general mercantile business 
in Pittsfield, being one of the first representatives 
of commercial interests in the town. Later he 
sold out and invested in land, entering his first 
farm from the government, but to this he added 
from time to time as his financial resources in- 
creased until he owned more than one thousand 
acres, five hundred acres of which lay in Pike 
county, while the remainder was in adjoining 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



167 



counties. He retained possession of this exten- 
sive property up to the time of his death, although 
he largely resided in Pittsfield. His business ca- 
reer was characterized by integrity, honor and 
industry and was well worthy of emulation. In 
community affairs he was actively and helpfully 
interested and served for four years as county 
clerk. He. was a stanch republican, prominent 
in the local ranks of the party and both he and 
his wife were devoted members of the Christian 
church. In his family were three sons, all of 
whom are living: Levi, who resides in Mc- 
Donough county, Illinois ; George, of this review, 
and Austin D., who is living in Hancock county 
and is president of the state board of agriculture. 
He is likewise very prominent in political circles. 

Captain Barber pursued his education in the 
common schools of Pittsfield and when eighteen 
years of age enlisted in the United States army 
as a member of Company A, Ninety-ninth Regi- 
ment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He was a non- 
commissioned officer and served for three years, 
campaigning in Missouri, after which he went to 
Vicksburg, subsequently to Texas and later to 
Mobile. Alabama. He participated in the battles 
of Magnolia Hill, Black River Bridge, Champion 
Hill, Jackson and the siege at Vicksburg from 
the 28th of April until the 4th of July, 1863. His 
regiment .led the charge of Vicksburg, where one- 
third of its number were killed and wounded. The 
last engagements in which he participated were 
at Mobile, Fort Blakely and Spanish Fort. 

After being mustered out Captain Barber re- 
turned home and for twelve years was engaged 
in the cultivation of one of the farms owned by 
his father. He then came to Pittsfield, where 
he engaged in the grocery business for ten years, 
and during most of the time since he has acted 
as deputy postmaster, which office he is still fill- 
ing. He has been a member of the National 
Guard for seventeen years, and when the Spanish- 
American war was inaugurated he once more 
offered his aid to his country, enlisting in Com- 
pany A, Fifth Regiment of Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry. He was first lieutenant and was trans- 
ferred to Company B, after which he was pro- 
moted to the captaincy. He enlisted in Spring- 
field, was sent to Chickamauga Park and thence 



to Newport News, where the regiment took pas- 
sage on the transport, but just about that time 
peace was declared and they returned to Lex- 
ington, where they were mustered out. 

Captain Barber was married in 1866 to Miss 
Mary Frances Hicks, a native of New York, now 
deceased. They were the parents of two children : 
Charles, who is a bookkeeper in the First Na- 
tional Bank in Pittsfield, and T. H., who is con- 
nected with the Deaf and Dumb Institute at Jack- 
sonville. For his second wife Captain Barber 
chose Leona Binns, who was born in Pike county 
and is a daughter of E. F. Binns, now deceased. 
He was prominent in political circles here and 
served as county clerk for one term. 

Captain and Mrs. Barber occupy a fine home 
in Pittsfield one block south of the courthouse 
square, and in addition to this property he owns 
five hundred acres of valuable and productive 
farm land, well improved, and is associated with 
his son in the superintendency of this farm, where- 
on they are engaged in the raising of fine Here- 
ford cattle. In his political views Captain Barber 
is a stalwart republican and for several terms has 
served as supervisor of Pittsfield township. He 
belongs to Dick Gilmore post, No. 515, G. A. R., 
and both he and his wife are members of the 
Christian church. His entire life has been passed 
in Pike county and he has therefore been a wit- 
ness of its growth and development through more 
than six decades. His acquaintance is wide and 
tavorable for his strong and salient characterist- 
ics in financial, political, official and social circles 
have b^en such as to gain for him the warm re- 
gard and friendship of those with whom he has 
come in contact. 



JOHN WEBER. 

John Weber, receiver for the Exchange Bank 
of Barry, is a native of St. Louis, Missouri. He 
is a son of John and Margaret (Meis) Weber, 
both of whom were natives of Germany. They 
emigrated to America in 1841, settling in Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania, whence they afterward went 
to St. Louis, Missouri, where their son John 'was 



i68 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



born. In 1844 they removed to Adams county, 
Illinois, where the father rented a farm for two 
years and then purchased the property which was 
located in Beverly township. There he carried 
on general agricultural pursuits until within a few 
years of his death, his last days, however, being 
spent in honorable retirement from further labor. 
He made his home with his children and died 
in Adams county in 1886. Both he and his wife 
were earnest and upright Christian people, hold- 
ing membership in the Lutheran church, in which 
faith they had been reared. In their family were 
four children and the mother is still living, now 
making her home with her son John. 

It was during his infancy that John Weber 
was taken to Adams county, Illinois, where he was 
reared in the parental home amid pioneer scenes 
and environments. He attended school in a prim- 
itive frame building where the seats were made 
of split logs resting upon wooden pins. He be- 
gan work upon the farm when a small boy and 
at the age of twenty-one years he left home and 
turned his attention to the profession of teaching, 
which he followed for two terms. He afterward 
clerked for one season in a store and later he 
opened an establishment of his own in Kingston, 
where he engaged in business for two years. At 
the end of that time he sold out there and with 
his brother-in-law purchased the flour mill in that 
town. Six years later he disposed of his interest 
in the mill and was engaged in teaching through 
two terms of school. 

In June, 1877, Mr. Weber came to Barry and 
in the fall of that year purchased the Empire 
House, which he managed for three years. After 
disposing of his hotel interests he traveled for a 
few months in the west and on his return pur- 
chased a grocery store in Barry, which he con- 
ducted for six years. He then sold out and be- 
came proprietor of a warehouse, being thus identi- 
fied with the business interests of the city for some 
time, while at the present writing he is receiver 
for the Exchange Bank. 

Mr. Weber was married in 1867 to Miss Rosa 
Perkins, a native of Adams county, Illinois, and 
a daughter of B. C. and Isabel (High) Perkins. 
Unto this union have been born four children : 
Ralph K., Harry, Nettie and Cora. In his po- 



litical views Mr. Weber is a republican and for 
six years served as a member of the city council. 
He has also been a member of the school board 
and was township supervisor of Barry township. 



JOHN G. McKINNEY, M. D. 

Dr. John G. McKinney, who in former years, 
was actively engaged in the general practice of 
medicine, but now confines his attention largely 
to office and consultation practice in Barry, is 
classed with the prominent and representative citi- 
zens of Pike county, the qualities of his manhood, 
aside from his professional ability, winning for 
him public regard and favor. A native of Ohio, 
he was born in Cadiz, Harrison county, December 
27, 1835. The family is supposed to be of 
Scotch lineage. It is definitely known that the 
great-grandfather was a sea captain, who for 
some years resided on the Isle of Man. He was 
lost at sea with his ship. His son, George Mc- 
Kinney, however, grandfather of our subject, was 
born in Ireland and spent the days of his boyhood 
and youth in that country. He was also married 
on the Green Isle of Erin and with his first wife 
came to the United States, establishing his home 
in Harrison county, Ohio, at an early epoch in its 
history, remaining a resident of that locality up 
to the time of his demise. He was a tailor by 
trade. By his first marriage he had one son, 
William, and by his second marriage had four 
sons who reached adult age, John, George, Fryar 
and James. 

The last named was the father of Dr. McKin- 
ney of this review. He was probably born in 
Ohio, and at all events he spent the period of his 
youth in that state, where he learned and fol- 
lowed the trade uf a carpenter and joiner, con- 
ducting business at Cadiz until 1837, when he emi- 
grated westward to Illinois, accompanied by his 
wife and five children. The journey was made by- 
way of the Ohio, Mississippi and Illinois rivers, 
and they landed at Phillips' ferry, the present site 
of Valley City. James McKinney chose as a lo- 
cation a tract of land about a mile southwest of 
Griggsville, which at that time was a small village 




DR. JOHN G. McKINNEY 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



171 



containing: hut one or two houses. The entire 
county showed every evidence of frontier life for 
there were no railroads and the work of develop- 
ment seemed scarcely begun. Only here and there 
had a little clearing been made to indicate that the 
work of improvement had commenced, which in 
due course of time produced a wonderful trans- 
formation in the appearance of this part of the 
state. Much of the land was still in possession of 
the government but as James McKinney had in- 
sufficient capital for the purchase of pr<}pe ( rty, he 
rented land for three years. He' then, received 
from his father some money and he entered a tract 
of land from the government for his two sons, 
George W. and John G. McKinney, this tract be- 
ing located in what is known as New Salem 
township. He bnilt thereon a hewed log cabin 
covered with rived shingles, which was consid- 
ered the best building in that section of the county 
at that time. Mr. McKinney continued to carry 
on building operations most of the time, but when 
not thus engaged his attention was given to the 
cutlivation and improvement of his land on which 
he lived for about ten years. He then purchased 
an improved tract of land about two miles north- 
east of Baylis, making his home thereon until 
about 1 864, when he became a resident of Sardorus 
township, Champaign county, Illinois, having sold 
his property in Pike county. Following his re- 
moval he invested in a tract of prairie land upon 
which only a few improvements had been made. 
He continued its further cultivation until 1877, 
when he established his home in Plainville, 
Adams county, Illinois, purchasing a home there, 
and afterward buying lots and building a house, 
which remained his home until his death. His 
wife then bore the maiden name of Mary Orr and 
was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, a 
daughter of James Orr. Mrs. McKinney was one 
of the worthy pioneer women, did the work that 
usually fell to the lot of wives, mothers and 
daughters of the frontier settlers, cooking over a 
fireplace and weaving both wool and flax. She 
died in Champaign county, Illinois, at an ad- 
vanced age. In the family were seven sons and 
two daughters. 

Dr. McKinney was only two years old when 
brought by his parents to Pike county and in his 



youth he pursued his studies in one of the old- 
time log schoolhouses. In the end of the room 
was a large fireplace and the seats and other 
equipments of the little "temple of learning" were 
very primitive. The larger pupils wrote their 
"copy" upon a desk made by placing a board upon 
wooden pins driven into the wall. As his age and 
strength permitted Dr. McKinney aided in the 
work of the home farm, continuing to reside 
thereon until his marriage. He afterward began 
farming on his own account, following that pur- 
suit until 1861, when failing health caused him 
"to turn his attention to other labor. Taking up 
the study of medicine, for which he seemed to . 
possess a natural predilection, he entered upon the 
practice of his profession at Pleasant Hill in 
1863. After a year he removed to Rock- 
port, where he spent three years, and in 1867 he 
located for practice at .Kingston, Adams county. 
He made further preparation for his chosen call- 
ing by study in Rush Medical College, of Chi- 
cago, from which he was graduated in 1868, after 
which he returned to Kingston, there residing 
until 1875, when he came to Barry. Here he 
rented a house and established a sanitarium and in 
1885 he built a commodious and well arranged 
frame building for sanitarium purposes. In the 
conduct of this institution he met with success 
and at the same time performed a valuable serv- 
ice for his fellowmen. For some time he was as- 
sociated with his brother George W., 'and they 
ever maintained a foremost place in the ranks of 
the medical fraternity. Always ambitious to 
broaden his knowledge and promote his efficiency, 
Dr. McKinney, of this review, pursued post- 
graduate work in the medical department of the 
Northwestern University and in 1883 was a post- 
graduate student in Rush Medical College, and 
later in a polyclinic in New York city, his certifi- 
cate from that institution bearing date of 1887. 
Two years later he went abroad and acquainted 
himself with modern methods abroad in the prin- 
cipal hospitals of London, Berlin, Paris, Vienna 
and Dublin. His practice constantly increased in 
volume and importance and he was accorded a 
position of prominence among the representative 
physicians of western Illinois. In more recent 
years, however, he has largely retired from the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



active work of the profession and is now giving 
his attention only to office and consultation prac- 
tice. He has kept abreast with modern scientific 
research and investigation through his member- 
ship in the State Medical Society and the Missis- 
sippi Valley Medical Association. 

Dr. McKinney was first married in 1856 to 
Miss Elizabeth Boulware, a native of Pike county 
and a daughter of Daniel and Christina Boulware, 
pioneer residents of this locality. She died in 
June, 1861, and in November, 1863, Dr. McKin- 
ney wedded Malinda Vining, a native of Adams 
county and a daughter of Abner Vining. There 
have been three sons born of this marriage and 
there were two children by the first marriage : 
Hardin W., who married Martha Chamberlin ; 
and Mary E., the wife of Professor R. W. Ken- 
ady. Of the sons of the second marriage, James 
A. spent four years at the Illinois State Normal 
School and four years at Rush Medical College, 
from which he was graduated. He was also for 
four years a student in a medical school in Louis- 
ville, Kentucky, of which he was an alumnus. He 
died at Grand Valley, Colorado, where he was 
practicing at the time of his death. George B. is 
a resident of Barry, where he is engaged in the 
practice of dentistry. Jerome is now living at 
home. In 1902 Dr. McKinney was called upon to 
mourn the loss of his second wife, who died in 
that year. On the i8th of February, 1903, he 
wedded Mrs. Electa Henry. 

Dr. McKinney sold his sanitarium in 1898 to 
Dr. Charles E. Beavers, after which he removed to 
Quincy, but when two years had passed he re- 
turned to Barry. For sixty-eight years he has 
lived in Pike county, and has long been recognized 
as one of its most valued and representative men. 
In addition to his practice he is connected with 
other business interests, being a stockholder in 
the Exchange Bank at Barry. He has deeded 
all of his real estate over to the bank trustees for 
the benefit of the depositors, for such is his ideal 
of honesty and business integrity. His advance- 
ment in life is attributable entirely to his own ef- 
forts. He was dependent upon his own labors for 
his education and he resolved that he would pro- 
vide his children with good advantages in that 
direction and has done so. He is a liberal man in 



public affairs and has contributed generously to 
movements for the public good. An exemplary 
member of the Masonic fraternity, he joined the 
order in New Salem in 1861, and is now connected 
with Barry lodge, No. 34, A. F. & A. M. ; Barry 
chapter. No. 88, R. A. M., ; Ascalon commandery, 
No. 49, K. T., at Pittsfield, which was chartered 
October 3, 1876, and of which he is a charter 
member. He also belongs to the Methodist Epis- 
copal church and his life has ever been actuated 
by high and honorable principles and his entire 
career has been in harmony with those traits of 
character which ever command respect and re- 
gard. His work has been of benefit to his fellow 
men as well as a source of profit to himself and he 
is to-day numbered among the valued and repre- 
sentative citizens of Pike countv. 



JOHN F. HATCH. 

John F. Hatch, dealer in lumber and coal at 
Griggsville, was born in Hillsboro, New Hamp- 
shire, on the 5th of January, 1850, a son of Isaac 
A. and Lydia (Baxter) Hatch, both of whom 
were natives of Hillsboro. The father was born 
September 13, 1812, and his life record continued 
until February 7, 1896. He was married in 
Hillsboro, October 6, 1840, to Miss Lydia Baxter, 
who was born October n, 1814, and they became 
the parents of a son and daughter, the latter 
being Abbie A. Hatch, who was born March 3, 
1842. In 1835 the father came to Illinois, settling 
in Pike county, but in 1840 returned to New 
Hampshire, and it was on the 6th of October of 
that year that he was married. He afterward 
started with his wife for the west, traveling by 
team to Boston, Massachusetts, and on by way 
of Pennsylvania to Illinois, making the journey 
by canal and teams. At length he reached Pike 
county and he and his brother, Hon. O. M. Hatch, 
first purchased two sections of wild land near 
Griggsville. They also bought timber land at 
Milton, about two miles from Chambersburg, 
and built a saw and grist mill at that point and 
also erected a large storehouse. They conducted 
the milling business for a number of winters and 
also broke wild prairie land in Griggsville town- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



173 



ship, converting it into cultivatable fields. Isaac 
Hatch here carried on farming 1 for about thir- 
teen years and then in 1862 built a fine home in 
the city of Griggsville, where his widow and 
daughter are now living. She has made her 
home in this residence for forty-three years and 
now in her ninety-first year is enjoying good 
health, being a bright and active woman, happy 
in man}' pleasant memories of the past. In 1861-2 
Mr. Hatch served as revenue collector, and in 
1873 he and his brother, O. M. Hatch, organized 
the Griggsville National Bank. Previous to this 
time his brother had served as secretary of state 
of Illinois and was a prominent factor in political 
circles in the state for many years. Isaac Hatch 
became cashier of the new bank and continuously 
filled the position until within two years of his 
death, when failing health caused him to retire. 
In politics he voted for the candidates whom he 
considered best qualified for office regardless 
of party affiliation. He belonged to the Congre- 
gational church and his efforts were a factor in 
the material, intellectual, social and moral prog- 
ress of the community. The Hatch family is 
one of the most prominent in Pike county and the 
family name is inseparably interwoven with its 
history from pioneer times down to the present. 

John F. Hatch was a young lad when brought 
by his parents to Pike county and in the schools 
of Griggsville acquired his early education, which 
was supplemented by study in Princeton, Illinois, 
and by a course in Cornell University. In early 
manhood he was married, on the nth of March, 
1873, to Miss Jenetta Vose, who was born Sep- 
tember 8, 1852, in Danbury, New York, her 
parents being Marcellus and Phebe (Montgom- 
ery) Vose, both of whom were natives of the 
Empire state, the father dying when sixty years 
of age and his wife when fifty-five years of 
age. They were married in the Empire state 
and came to Pike county, Illinois, in 1874, 
locating first on a farm near Griggsville. Sub- 
sequently they became residents of Liberty, 
Adams county, Illinois, and Mr. Vose died in 
that county. Their children were Sarah, Mrs. 
Hatch, Fannie, William and Frank. 

Following the completion of his education in 
Cornell University Mr. Hatch returned to Griggs- 



ville and began farming, which pursuit he fol- 
lowed until 1890, when he purchased the lumber 
and coal yard of the firm of Button & Benson, 
and has since carried on business in this city 
with a patronage that is indicative of his straight- 
forward methods and the confidence reposed in 
him by the general public. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Hatch have been born four 
daughters : Nettie May, who was born April' 
15, 1874, and is a wife of Harry N. Capps, a 
resident of Jacksonville, Illinois; Stella M., born 
February 17, 1876; Julia Edna, born December 
18, 1878; and Ethel Blanche, who was born 
November 24, 1880, and is the wife of William 
S. Sanford, a resident of Chicago. 

The wife and mother died August 23, 1893. 
Mr. Hatch has been a member of the city council 
of Griggsville, to which position he was elected 
on the republican ticket. He belongs to the Con- 
gregational church and is a worthy representative 
of an honored pioneer family, his record being 
in harmony, with that of the representatives in 
the previous generation his father and uncle, 
who made a most creditable record in the various 
departments of life into which their activities 
were directed. Mr. Hatch is now closely con- 
nected with the commercial interests of Griggs- 
ville and his careful management of his business 
and well directed labor are bringing him the 
success which is the reward of active labor. 



JAMES H. CRANE. 

James H. Crane, now living retired but for 
many years a leading factor in public life and the 
business activity of Pittsfield and Pike county, 
was born in Scott county, Illinois, July 25, 1832, 
a son of Samuel L. Crane, a native of Weather- 
field, Connecticut. Leaving New England he 
removed to Kentucky, where he was married, and 
in 1824 he took up his abode in Scott county, Illi- 
nois. He was a tanner by trade but lost an arm 
and afterward gave his time and attention largely 
to the conduct of a hotel. He was proprietor of 
the Union Hotel of Pittsfield at the time of his 
death and for a long time was postmaster of the 
city, proving a competent and popular official. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



In his family were five children, of whom two 
sons and two daughters are yet living: William, 
who is a miner in Utah ; James, of this review ; 
Mrs. D. W. Hyde, a resident of Pittsfield ; and 
Delia Crane, who is also living in this city. 

Tames Crane, at the usual age, began his edu- 
cation as a pupil of Jon Shastid, of Perry, but 
largely acquired his education in the public schools 
of Pittsfield. He afterward learned the printer's 
trade with George W. Smith and followed that 
pursuit for some time, being to-day the oldest 
printer in Piftsfield. He afterward became the 
assistant of his father in the postoffice and re- 
mained with him until after the inauguration of 
the Civil war, when, on the 23d of August, 1861, 
he enlisted as a member of Company G, Ninety- 
ninth Regiment of Illinois Infantry, with which 
he served for six months. He then returned home 
in February, 1862, having been honorably dis- 
charged by reason of disability occasioned by in- 
juries received in the army. The only important 
battle in which he participated was at Hartsville, 
Missouri. He held the rank of first lieutenant. 

Following his return home Mr. Crane entered 
the office of the circuit clerk as assistant to George 
Jones, who was afterward secretary of state and 
died in Springfield. Mr. Crane served in the cir- 
cuit clerk's office until the following election, when 
he was chosen circuit clerk by popular suffrage, 
filling the office for four years, after which he was 
deputy clerk under George W. Archer and oth- 
ers. He was connected with the office altogether 
for about sixteen years and he was also post- 
master of Pittsfield for four years under the ad- 
ministration of President Cleveland. He has since 
filled the office of justice of the peace for three 
years, but is now living retired. He has in his 
possession the old desk which was in the circuit 
clerk's office in 1856 and which he used when 
employed there as deputy. 

Mr. Crane was married November 6, 1856, to 
Miss Emma Fisher, of Clermont county, Ohio, 
who came here with her uncle, Judge Ward, about 
1854. Mr. and Mrs. Crane became parents of 
one son, Samuel Crane, who is now in the office 
of the Pittsfield Abstract Company. He married 
Leo Rathburn and they have two children, Cath- 
erine and Josephine. 



In the year of his marriage Mr. Crane built 
a home in the west part of the city which -he oc- 
cupied until 1880, when he sold that and pur- 
chased his present fine home within six blocks 
of the courthouse square. He also owns several 
business blocks and is well-to-do, having made 
judicious investment in property which yields 
him a good return. He belongs to the Methodist 
church, his wife to the Episcopal church, and in 
the city where they have so long resided they have 
many warm friends. They have now traveled 
life's journey together for almost fifty years. In 
his fraternal relations Mr. Crane is a Mason and 
Knights of Pythias and also belongs to post No. 
515, G. A. R. He has been a member of the Ma- 
sonic order over fifty years. His political alle- 
giance has always been given the democracy. For 
many years the name of Crane has been associated 
with public service in Pittsfield, as represented 
by father and son, and in this, as in other connec- 
tions, has ever been a synonym of honor and of- 
ficial integrity. 



WILLIAM ARTHUR GRIMSHAW. 

William Arthur Grimshaw, of Pittsfield. now 
numbered among the honored dead of Pike 
county, was born June i, 1813, at Navin-on-the- 
Boyne, County Meath, Ireland. His father was of 
English parentage but was born near Belfast, Ire- 
land. He emigrated to the United States in 1815 
and landed from a neutral vessel, bringing to the 
city of Charleston, South Carolina, the first news 
of the treaty of Ghent. Charleston was the birth- 
place of Harriet Milligan, who was the mother of 
William A. Grimshaw. Her father was Captain 
Milligan, a native of Ireland, who was residing 
in South Carolina at the beginning of the Amer- 
ican Revolution. Espousing the cause of the 
colonies, he entered the American army to aid in 
the struggle for independence and served in the 
Pennsylvania line throughout the war. The 
mother of William A. Grimshaw was educated in 
the city of Chester, England, and for many years 
after her marriage she was the principal of a large 
female seminary in the city of Philadelphia. The 
father of William A. Grimshaw was a member of 




WILLIAM A. GRIMSHAW 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



177 



the Philadelphia bar, made his home in that city 
and also spent considerable time at Harrisburg. 
For thirty years he was recognized as an author 
of much celebrity. His histories of the United 
States and England and his Etymological Dic- 
tionary a work of much erudition were in high 
repute and proved a gratifying source of remu- 
neration to the author. Captain Milligan, the ma- 
ternal grandfather of Mr. Grimshaw, was an 
original member of the Cincinnati Society, of 
which General George Washington was the presi- 
dent. 

William A. Grimshaw was educated in the. city 
of Philadelphia and read law in the office of the 
eminent attorney. David Paul Brown. He be- 
longed to a family of patriots and educators. His 
grandfather was a Revolutionary officer ; his 
brother, Dr. James Grimshaw; --was a surgeon in 
the Mexican war, being commissioned by' James 
K. Polk in 1848, after which he went to Mexico 
with General Scott; his brother, Dr. Arthur Grim- 
shaw, was a colonel of the Civil war ; and his son, 
William A. Grimshaw, Jr., then a lad of eighteen 
years, served as a private soldier in the Fifth Illi- 
nois Infantry Regiment in the Spanish-American 
-war. His father was author of many textbooks 
and other literary works and his mother was prin- 
cipal of a seminary for young ladies at Philadel- 
phia, while his sisters. Charlotte and Isabella, with 
their brother, Dr. Arthur Grimshaw as lecturer 
and business manager, owned and conducted 
until the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion 
the Hannah Moore Seminary for Young Ladies 
at Wilmington, Delaware. Dr. Arthur was county 
superintendent of New Castle county, Delaware, 
and served on the school board of Wilmington, of 
which he also acted as president. He was in- 
tensely interested in educational matters and did 
everything in his power for advancement along 
such lines, although he had a large medical prac- 
tice. William A. Grimshaw was an active mem- 
ber of the Pittsfield school board and was in of- 
fice when the beautiful East school building was 
erected in 1864-5. continuing on the school board 
for many years. He has a brother, Robert Grim- 
shaw, a scientific ingenteur and critique, now and 
for a number of years residing in Germany, and 
a sister living in Kentucky. 



At the early age of nineteen years Mr. Grim- 
shaw was admitted to the bar and was licensed as 
attorney at law by the district court for the city 
and county of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1832. 
He then came to Illinois, then the far west, upon 
the responsible errand of locating and paying 
taxes oh the large body of land owned by his 
father, comprising many quarter sections of the 
bounty lands in the northern counties of the mili- 
tary tract. He lived at Atlas for a time and was 
appointed adjutant of the Seventeenth Regiment 
of the Illinois Militia under the old military sys- 
tem. Colonel Benjamin Barney, commanding. 
On the 25th of November, 1833, he was licensed 
to practice as an attorney and counselor at law 
in all the courts of law and equity in the state of 
Illinois by Samuel D. Lockwood and William 
Wilson, justices of the supreme court of the 
state of Illinois. He was licensed to practice in 
the circuit court of the United States for the dis- 
trict of Illinois on -the igth day of December, 
1839. He removed to Pittsfield, Pike county, in 
1833, and here resided until his death. He was 
commissioned public administrator of Pike county 
by Governor Reynolds and was a member of the 
bar of the county for sixty years in active prac- 
tice. In a history of Pike county that was pub- 
lished in 1880, is the following: "William A. 
Grimshaw, the oldest practicing attorney of the 
county, ranked as one of the leading lawyers of 
the state, was admitted to the bar in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, at the age of nineteen years. In 
1833 he came to this county, since which time he 
has been actively identified with every public in- 
terest of the county." He was always a willing 
and full tax-payer. His property, under one 
continuous ownership by taxation and his purse 
by donation for over a half century have con- 
tributed generously to every improvement that 
Pittsfield has ever enjoyed. With characteristic 
zeal and energy he at once took an active and sub- 
stantial interest in establishing schools, churches 
and Sunday schools. He was also instrumental 
in stirting a library association and became one of 
its stockholders. In 1847 ne was chosen a mem- 
ber of the constitutional convention of Illinois and 
aided in framing the organic law of the state. 
The Daily Illinois State Journal of November 7, 



I 7 8 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1883, has the following under the heading, The 
Real Old Timers; Survivors of 1847; Proposed 
Reunion of the Members of the Constitutional 
Convention ; Promise of an Interesting Event. A 
praiseworthy movement has been set on foot for 
holding a reunion of the surviving members of 
the constitutional convention of 1847 of the state 
of Illinois. This movement appears to have had 
its immediate beginning in the following letter 
from two old P,ike county members : 

PITTSFIELD, PIKE COUNTY. ILL., Oct. 10, 
1883. 
To the Hons. Ninian W. Edwards and James H. 

Matheny, Springfield, 111. 

The undersigned desire to call your attention 
to the number of years that have elapsed since 
they had the honor and pleasure to meet and 
serve with you, as members thereof, in the con- 
stitutional convention of 1847. More than thirty- 
six years have passed away since the organization, 
deliberations and adjournment of that convention 
and the first Monday of March next will be the 
thirty-fifth anniversary of the adoption of its 
work by the people of the state of Illinois. Prob- 
ably all the members of the convention who as- 
sisted in the framing of the constitution of 1848 
survived long enough to be gratified and honored 
by its adoption by the people. Some of them 
(ourselves among the number) have had the 
honor to see it last as the organic law until the 
adoption of the present constitution in 1870. But 
few of us remain. We can not call to mind more 
than twenty-five or thirty who are now living. 
We need hardly add that a reunion of the few 
survivors could not fail to be a meeting of great 
interest and pleasure to each and all of them. In 
this view we beg leave to suggest to you a reunion 
of the survivors of the convention of 1847 at the 
circuit courtroom in Springfield (where the con- 
vention was held) on some day, to be suggested 
by you, during the ensuing winter. Please let us 
hear from you as soon as convenient and give us 
some suggestions as to the ways and means of 
notifying the survivors and securing their re- 
union at the time and place indicated. 
Yours truly, 
WM. R. ARCHER. 
WM. A. GRIMSHAW. 



The editor says, "In some respects the conven- 
tion here referred to was one of the most impor- 
tant bodies ever assembled in the state and its 
work practically started the march of steady civil 
progress which has resulted in the greatness to- 
which the state has attained." 

Under the caption of "Pioneers of Progress," 
the Daily Illinois State Register of Springfield, 
January 3, 1884, gives a history of the convention 
with short historical sketches of the survivors. 
It says : "William A. Grimshaw, one of the three 
surviving delegates from Pike county, was born 
in Ireland in 1813. His father, William Grim- 
shaw, was a distinguished historian and his 
mother, Harriet Milligan Grimshaw, a daughter 
of James Milligan, a captain of the Pennsylvania 
line in the Revolutionary war. Mr. Grimshaw 
was educated in Philadelphia and admitted to the 
bar at the early age of nineteen years. He came 
to Illinois in May, 1833, where he has since re- 
sided. In 1840 he made an unsuccessful candi- 
dacy for the legislature on the whig ticket, but 
the vigorous campaign which he made in August 
resulted in giving the county to Harrison in No- 
vember. When in the convention, although his 
party was in the minority, he took a prominent 
part in its deliberations and was the author of the 
anti-dueling clause incorporated in the constitu- 
tion. In 1848 he carried his own county for the 
legislature, but the vote of Calhoun county de- 
feated him. He was in the Decatur convention in 
1860, also in the state convention of 1864 and was 
a delegate from the ninth Illinois district to the 
Baltimore national convention of 1864, which 
nominated Lincoln the second time for president. 
He has been in the active practice of his profes- 
sion (the law) for over fifty years and enjoys the 
confidence and respect of a large and lucrative 
clientage. He is at the present time the attorney 
for the Wabash Railroad and the Sny levee com- 
missioners. He has held numerous trusteeships 
in various public institutions. He has been for 
several years a member of the state board of char- 
ities. In 1880 he was on the Republican electoral 
ticket and was the messenger to take the vote ta 
Washington. 

"In accordance with the recommendation of the 
senate and house of representatives of the United 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



179 



States of America for the proper observance and 
celebration of the first centennial of our national 
independence on July 4, 1876, at a public meeting 
at the courthouse in Pittsfield the following com- 
mittee of arrangements and programme was ap- 
pointed by the action of the meeting : C. L. Hig- 
bee, chairman ; William A. Grimshaw, James G. 
Erwin, William R. Archer, Strother Griggsby, J. 
M. Bush, Richard M. Atkinson." 

The following paragraph is copied from the 
printed "Address of the Centenial Committee of 
Invitation" : "In pursuance of the power of the 
power of the committee they have chosen as the 
historian of the county for the 4th of July, 1876, 
the Hon. William A. Grimshaw, himself one of 
the earliest settlers in the county and who, by rea- 
son thereof, and his eminent ability, is most fully 
qualified for the position." Mr. Grimshaw wrote 
and delivered as a centenial address at the Fourth 
of July celebration of 1876 a brief history of Pike 
county. In closing he said, "It is my anticipa- 
tion, in the march of events, that the next centen- 
nial history of Pike will be offered by a lady." 
By his consent extracts from his centennial his- 
tory are incorporated in "The History of Pike 
County" published in 1880. A copy of his cen- 
tennial history is in the library of the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia. 

This is from the pen of Hon. J. M. Bush, the 
able editor and proprietor of the Pike County 
Democrat and the publisher of Mr. Grimshaw's 
centennial history : 

"TO THE PUBLIC. 

"In presenting the foregoing able and exhaus- 
tive centennial address it is due to the author and 
ourself to say that circumstances beyond our 
control have prevented its publication until the 
present time, but as it is a work of that character 
which will become the more valuable as time shall 
elapse, little harm can arise from the delay. And 
in this connection we deem it but just to the dis- 
tinguished author to append a notice of one who 
has been so prominently identified with the his- 
tory of Illinois and especially of Pike county since 
its earliest days the Hon. William A. Grimshaw. 
He is a son of William Grimshaw, who was an 



early and distinguished historian of the United 
States and whose mother was Harriet Milligan 
Grimshaw, a native of Charleston, South Caro- 
lina, and a daughter of James Milligan, a captain 
in the Pennsylvania line in the American Revolu- 
tion, and an original member of the Society of 
Cincinnati, of which society General George 
Washington was the president. The subject of 
this sketch was admitted to the bar at nineteen 
years of age in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In 
May, 1833, he arrived in Pike county, Illinois, 
and in November of the same year received a li- 
cense from the supreme court of the state to 
practice law. In the same year he was appointed 
adjutant of the Seventeenth Illinois Militia, then 
as other regiments, mustering regularly, and as 
adjutant, equipped and uniformed, was ready for 
service with his regiment and often held with his 
colonel, Benjamin Barney, regimental and bat- 
talion trainings in Pike. Governor John Rey- 
nolds, unsolicited, commissioned Mr. Grimshaw 
as public administrator of Pike county. In 1840 
he ran as a whig candidate for the legislature 
ahead of his ticket at the August election. The 
vigorous campaign that he made secured to Har- 
rison for president at the November election a 
county majority of one hundred and twelve votes. 
At his next candidacy he was elected as a dele- 
gate to the constitutional convention of 1847 and 
sat in that body, in whose deliberations and ac- 
tions he took a prominent part. He was the au- 
thor of the anti-dueling clause incorporated into 
the constitution then adopted. The next year, 
1848, his own county gave him a majority as a 
candidate for the legislature, but he was defeated 
by the vote of Calhoun county, which then voted 
with Pike county. On several subsequent occa- 
sions, as a candidate for the senate and constitu- 
tional convention, he has run largely ahead of his 
ticket, but opposition having substantial majori- 
ties, he was defeated. In politics a whig and then 
a republican, he has at the solicitation of others 
been put forward as a representative of the views 
of his party, but has always manifested a personal 
independence, rarely, if ever, to be found in the 
party politician. As a Union man he was very 
pronounced in his views and devoted his time and 
energies freely in support of the federal govern- 



i8o 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ment. In 1860, as a delegate to the Decatur con- 
vention, he was for Lincoln for president and in 
1864 took part in the Illinois state convention and 
was also sent as a delegate of the old ninth con- 
gressional district to the Baltimore republican 
convention which re-nominated Lincoln. As a 
personal friend of Douglas, in war speeches he 
lauded him for his bold and emphatic support of 
the Union cause. At the bar of Pike and other 
counties and also in the supreme court of Illinois 
and in the United States court at Springfield and 
Chicago he has tried many causes and is yet in 
very active practice ; and as attorney for the Sny 
levee commissioners has from the first steps as to 
legal proceedings in the state courts upheld the 
acts of the commissioners, but the supreme court 
of Illinois has decided adversely on the constitu- 
tionality of the state laws as to levees, etc. He 
is attorney for the Toledo, Wabash & Western 
and Chicago & Alton Railroad Companies and 
Mississippi River Bridge Company at Louisiana, 
Missouri. During fourteen years the late Jackson 
Grimshaw was in partnership with his brother, 
William A., that partnership ceasing in 1857. He 
is the owner of fine farms and takes pride in 
agriculture and has raised fine horses, cattle and 
sheep. He is a life member of the Pike County 
Agricultural Society and has several times been 
president thereof and has taken many premiums 
on fine stock. In the promotion of railroads and 
other interests in Pike he has always actively par- 
ticipated. As a trustee of the State Institution 
for the Blind at Jacksonville he served twelve 
years and in the last year of his service the institu- 
tion was rebuilt, the first edifice having been de- 
stroyed by fire. This service was without emolu- 
ment. He takes pride in having served many 
years as a trustee of Pittsfield and also as a school 
director of Pittsfield when the large and hand- 
some East school building was erected in 1863-4, 
and for many years thereafter. 

"J. M. BUSH, Publisher. 
"February 17, 1877." 

On Monday at four o'clock in the afternoon 
the bar of Pike county assembled to pay tribute 
to the memory of the gentleman whose name 
heads this article and there was a full attendance. 



The chairman of the committee, appointed at a 
former meeting to prepare proper resolutions, sub- 
mitted the following : 

"The committee, to whom at a farmer term of 
this court was assigned the duty of preparing and 
presenting to it suitable resolutions touching the 
death of Hon. William A. Grimshaw, one of the 
earliest and most honored members of the Pike 
county bar, respectfully report the following pre- 
amble and resolutions : 

"Whereas, On the morning of January 7, A. D. 
1895, Hon. William A. Grimshaw, who became a 
member of this bar in 1833 and for more than half 
a century was prominent in the practice of his 
profession not only at it, but in the courts of what 
is known as the military tract as well as in the 
supreme court of the state and the federal courts, 
passed at a ripe old age and full of honors to that 
bourne from whence no traveler returns and is 
no longer one of our number, therefore be it 

"Resolved, That by his death the Pike county 
bar has- lost one who in his mature manhood 
through a long and useful life was an ornament to 
his profession and in its practice commanded the 
esteem and confidence of the entire community, 
one who by his energy and zeal in behalf of his 
clients, his study honesty, integrity and fidelity 
to all trusts assumed by or imposed upon him 
added lustre to a profession which from the earli- 
est ages has been foremost in the conduct of all 
matters tending to the well-being of a common 
humanity, one who imbued with a high sense of 
honor and regard for the majesty of the law, 
waged his legal battles in an open field and so 
conducted them as to be a foeman worthy of the 
steel of the highest in the profession. In fine, one 
the record of whose life as a lawyer stands out 
fair and untarnished and presents in him a bright 
exemplar for the emulation of the younger mem- 
bers of a profession he so well adorned. 

"Resolved. That not alone in his chosen walk 
of life, the law, was he distinguished and promi- 
nent, but in all the relations of life he was ever 
foremost in good works. As a member of the 
constitutional convention of 1847 he took high 
rank among the ablest in that distinguished body 
and rendered invaluable service in the framing 
of an instrument which in the wisdom of its pro- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



iHi 



visions was far ahead of the general spirit of the 
age and became a model' for years for many of the 
new states admitted into the Union. He was the 
author of the anti-dueling provision which met 
with much opposition in a day when the code 
duello was largely in vogue for the settlement of 
personal difficulties and was urgent in the sup- 
port of the levy of the two mill tax, by which the 
credit of the state was restored and its debt of 
some twelve or fourteen million dollars eventu- 
ally paid. When the dark and troublous times 
that preceded the breaking out of the internecine 
strife for the perpetuity of the Union first ap- 
peared his patriotic spirit was deeply stirred and 
with that zeal and ardor which were among his 
marked characteristics he engaged earnestly and 
vigorously in the upholding of the flag of his 
country and rendered services in private life that 
would have won him distinction if performed 
upon the tented field, and ever during the pen- 
dency of that terrible struggle was the trusted 
friend and confidant of the federal authorities. 
As a member of the State Board of Charities for 
many years his work as such became a labor of 
love and he was pre-eminently conspicuous in 
making the various charitable institutions of the 
state carry out most fully and economically the 
noble purposes for which they were established. 
Into this work he entered with all his soul and 
that energy of purpose so characteristic of him in 
all that he undertook and after his retirement as 
a member he manifested by word and deed up to 
the very last the warmest interest in a matter in 
which all the better feelings of his nature had be- 
come involved. In local matters he was in full 
sympathy with whatever tended to the upbuilding 
and prosperity of this county and community, as 
is evidenced by his having been one of the incor- 
porators of the Louisiana & Pike County Rail- 
road, a member of the school board that erected 
our costly East school building in 1863-4, presi- 
dent and director of the Pike County Agricul- 
tural Society, one of the originators of the Old 
Settlers' Society and in the promotion of these 
and other projects of like character he was ever 
active, efficient and zealous. Your committee re- 
spectfully ask that this preamble and resolutions 
be spread upon the records of this court and a 



copy presented to the family of the deceased and 
furnished to the county papers for publication. 
"J. M. BUSH, Chairman, 
"A. C. MATTHEWS, 
"J. D. HESS, 

"Committee " 

Mr. Grimshaw was a member of the Episcopal 
church, a sincere, conscientious, consistent and 
active Christian. His prayer was always : "Heav- 
enly Father give me wisdom and strength faith- 
fully to perform my whole duty in every relation 
of life." His motto was "Candide et Constanter," 
and he exemplified it in his life. He was very lit- 
erary in his tastes, a great reader, took an interest 
in a wide range of subjects and was well in- 
formed upon them. He collected a large and 
valuable library of miscellaneous books and was 
very liberal minded and generous, no worthy per- 
son or cause ever appealing to him for aid in vain. 
Although firm and unyielding where a principle 
was involved, giving forth no uncertain sound, in 
matters of mere will or pleasure he conceded 
much. But it was in his home that his superior 
qualities of heart and mind shone brightest. He 
was a most affectionate and tender husband and 
father and a true friend. 



W. R. WILLS. 

W. R. Wills, prominently known as a breeder 
of pedigreed shorthorn cattle, owning a fine stock 
farm four and a half miles west of Pittsfield, on 
sections 20 and 21, Pittsfield township, and also 
engaged in the real-estate business in the city as 
a member of the firm of W. R. Wills & Brother, 
is one of Pike county's native sons, his birth hav- 
ing occurred at Summer Hill, Pike county, Illi- 
nois, October 27, 1844. His parents were Wil- 
liam R. and Lucy D. (Scott) Wills. The father, 
a native of Herkimer county, New York, came 
to Illinois in 1827, while the mother, also a na- 
tive of Herkimer county, New York, born in 
Litchfield, came west in 1818, landing at East 
St. Louis on the 4th of July. Some years after 
coming to Illinois the father purchased a farm on 
which he spent his remaining days. As the years 
passed by he prospered in his undertakings and 



1 82 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



accumulated' considerable property, at one time 
owning sixteen hundred and forty acres of fine 
farm land. He made a specialty of stock-raising 
and was extensively engaged in the stock business 
for a number of years. In all that he undertook 
he prospered, owing to his close application and 
unremitting diligence. His political allegiance 
was given to the republican party, but he was 
without aspiration for office. He held member- 
ship with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
of Pittsfield, and in public affairs manifested a 
helpful interest. In the family were eight chil- 
dren, of whom three are living : W. R., of this 
review ; Lucy, the wife of Jerome Chamberlain, 
who resides at Laurel, Mississippi; and A. V. 
The father died August 6, 1872, while the mother 
survived until October 30, 1890. 

W. R. Wills, of this review, after attending 
the common schools of Pike county, prepared for 
his business career by a course of study in Bry- 
ant, Stratton and Carpenter's Commercial Col- 
lege at St. Louis, Missouri, from which he was 
graduated in 1867. Through the period of his 
youth he worked upon his father's farm and con- 
tinued as his assistant until the father's death, 
since which time he has owned a part of the old 
homestead and has always lived there. He is to- 
day one of the best known breeders of shorthorn 
cattle in this part of the state, having gained a 
wide reputation for the high grade and good 
points of his stock. He owns four hundred and 
eighty acres of excellent farming land on sections 
20 and 21, Pittsfield township, and the place is 
improved with modern buildings and equipment, 
while everything about the farm is kept in first- 
class condition. In connection with his brother, 
A. V. Wills, he also owns eight hundred and forty 
acres of land on the Mississippi river bottoms. 
These brothers are engaged in real-estate opera- 
tions in Pittsfield under the firm style of W. R. 
Wills & Brother. They give special attention 
to large tracts of swamp lands, sell lands on com- 
mission and have a large clientage in this busi- 
ness. 

On the 23d of July, 1868, Mr. Wills was united 
in marriage to Miss Elizabeth J. Wells, a native 
of Pike county, born August 27, 1850, and a 
daughter of Robert and Mary (Jester) Wells, 



who came to. Pike county at an early day. Her 
father owned a small farm here, upon which he 
spent his remaining days. Mr. and Mrs. Wills 
have become the parents of ten children, of whom 
eight are living : Lucy Ellen, who was born De- 
cember 14, 1870, was married October 24, 1888, 
to James O. Wilsey, a resident of Kahlotus, Wash- 
ington, and they have four children : Lela May, 
born August n, 1890; Alta P., born May 3, 1892 ; 
Ross O., born August 27, 1901, and James O., 
born October 20, 1903. Charles H., born May 
9, 1873, was married June 4, 1902, to Anna D. 
Dutton, a resident of Pittsfield township. Isadora 
I., born September 9, 1877, "was married in May, 
1898, to Carson Tippets, a resident of Pittsfield 
township, and they have three children, Alva, 
Leland and Kieth. Edgar Eugene, born April 
9, 1880, now living in Scott county, Illinois, was 
married. May 21, 1905, to Grace Fern Frederick. 
Clarence David, born August 9, 1882, Armine, 
born November 29, 1885, Mabel Ethel, born Au- 
gust 13, 1889, and Neva Rose, born July 23, 1892, 
are all at home with their parents. They lost 
their first born, Ida M., whose birth occurred 
December 14, 1869, and who died on the 2d of 
August, 1870. Their fourth child, Orion Ross, 
born January 30, 1876, was killed by lightning 
April 1 8, 1902. 

In his political affiliation Mr. Wills is a stal- 
wart republican and has served as school trustee 
for several years. He has always been interested 
in the cause of education, but has never cared 
for other office. He belongs to Pittsfield lodge, 
No. 95, I. O. O. F., of Pittsfield, and Pittsfield 
lodge, No. 790, A. F. & A. M., Union chapter, 
No. 10, R. A. M., and Ascalon commandery, No. 
49, K. T. Both he and his wife are members of 
the Daughters of Rebekah lodge and Mrs. Wills 
is an active member of the Christian' church. A 
gentleman of broad, general culture, Mr. Wills 
has read widely and deeply and is a most inter- 
esting conversationalist. He is especially inter- 
ested in historical matters and genealogical re- 
search. His business career has been character- 
ized by steady progress that ultimately reaches 
its objective point and in the conduct of his farm, 
in the management of his stock breeding and in 
the control of his real-estate operations he has 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



183 



met with gratifying success, becoming one of the 
substantial and representative citizens of Pike 
county. 



ARDEN NORTHUP. 

Arden Northup was born in Griggsville, Ili- 
nois, February 20, 1875. His parents were Mr. 
and Mrs. Stephen Northup. His life thus far has 
always been spent in Griggsville. At the age of 
fifteen years he entered the printing office as an' 
apprentice and has since followed that profession. 
In 1903 he established the Griggsville Herald, a 
newspaper which ranks well in the foremost list 
of county papers. He is a member of Griggsville 
lodge, No. 45, A. F. & A. M. and also of Pike 
lodge, No. 73, I. O. O. F. 



J. I. DOSS, M. D. 

Dr. J. I. Doss, who since 1883 has engaged in 
the practice of medicine and surgery in Milton, 
where his ability and devotion to his profession 
have been recognized in a large and constantly 
growing patronage, was born in Waverly, Illi- 
nois, August 29, 1858, his parents being Dr. C. 
H. and Margaret Doss. Whether inherited ten- 
dency or environment or a natural predilection 
did most to influence the choice of J. I. Doss to 
a profession is not definitely known, but that he 
chose a life work for which nature seemed to 
have intended him is indicated by the fact of his 
success as a practitioner. His literary education 
was completed by three years' study in the Chris- 
tian University at Canton, Missouri, after which 
he read medicine for one year under the direction 
of his father. He next attended a term of lec- 
tures at the Eclectic Medical Institute in Cincin- 
nati. Ohio, and subsequently entered the Bennett 
Medical College at Chicago, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1880, having pursued 
a thorough course in that institution. He at once 
entered upon the practice of his profession in 
Pittsfield, where he remained for three years, and 
in 1883 he came to Milton, Pike county, where 



he has since remained, a liberal patronage being 
accorded him in recognition of his thorough un- 
derstanding of the principles of medicine and sur- 
gery and his correct application of his knowledge 
to the needs of suffering humanity. In 1892 he 
pursued a post-graduate course in New York 
Post-Graduate College and he has continuously 
been a student of his profession, keeping in touch 
with modern scientific researches through the 
reading of medical journals and the books that 
have been contributed to medical literature and 
are of recognized value to the profession. 

Dr. Doss was married September 12, 1883, to 
Miss Virginia E. Luthy, a daughter of Samuel 
and Mary Luthy, of Pittsfield, Illinois, and they 
are highly esteemed in social circles of Milton, 
the hospitality of the best homes being cordially 
extended to them. Dr. Doss is a member of Mil- 
ton lodge, No. 275, A. F. & A. M., and of Robin 
Hood lodge, No. 415, K. P., both of Milton. He 
is an elder -in the Christian church, of which he 
has been a member since 1876. In his profession 
he is connected with the Illinois State Eclectic 
Association and the National Eclectic Associa- 
tion. He is a self-made man in every respect, 
and has devoted his life to a profession wherein 
advancement depends entirely upon individual ef- 
fort and merit, constantly broadening his knowl- 
edge by reading and research, which has pro- 
moted his efficiency year by year and in the twenty- 
two years of his connection with Milton has sus- 
tained a high reputation and enjoyed the unquali- 
fied confidence and good will of his fellow 
citizens. 



LOREN L. CUNNINGHAM. 

Loren L. Cunningham is one of the public- 
spirited men of Hardin township, serving as 
assessor at this writing, in 1906, while his activ- 
ity and devotion to the general good have made 
him a man of worth to the community. He is 
also an active and thrifty farmer, operating one 
hundred and sixty acres of land. His birth oc- 
curred in Hardin township, on the 2d of Feb- 
ruary, 1881. His father, John A. Cunningham, 



1 8 4 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



was also a native son of Pike county, first open- 
ing his eyes to the light of day in Hardin town- 
ship, where he was reared to manhood and ac- 
quired his education. In 1878 he was married 
to Miss Mary E. Mitchell, whose birth occurred 
in the same township. Her father, John W. 
Mitchell, was a native of Ohio and when a young 
man came to Illinois, where he was married to 
Miss Nancy E. Sitton, who was born in Missouri 
but was reared in Pike county, her people having 
located here at an early day in the development 
of this part of the state. John A. Cunningham 
became a substantial farmer who owned and 
operated a tract of land of nearly one hundred 
acres. He improved this tract and spent his 
last days upon the farm, his death occurring here 
in December, 1881. He left a wife and two 
children : Lola, the wife of Charles Willard, now 
one of the substantial farmers of Hardin town- 
ship who is mentioned elsewhere in this volume ; 
and Loren L., of this review. 

The latter spent his youth in the usual manner 
of farm lads, living upon the old homestead and 
dividing his attention between the duties of the 
schoolroom, the pleasures of the playground and 
the work of the fields. Following his father's 
death he remained with his mother upon the farm 
and later took charge of the property. He was 
married in Hardin township, February 22, 1903, 
to Miss Clyde A. Cox, a daughter of Robert Cox, 
a farmer of Hardin township. Mrs. Cunningham 
spent her girlhood days in her parents' home 
and is indebted to the public schools for the edu- 
cational privileges she enjoyed. By her marriage 
she has become the mother of two children, 
Thelma L. and Jaunita, the latter now deceased. 

Following his marriage Mr. Cunningham lo- 
cated upon the old home farm, where he yet 
resides, and in connection with the cultivation of 
this place he also operates other lands. He is 
a good business man and largely devotes his 
attention to raising good grades of stock. His 
labors are attended with a gratifying measure 
of prosperity for he is thoroughly familiar with 
the best methods of tilling the soil and preparing 
his stock for the market. He has always been an 
earnest republican and he was appointed com- 
missioner to fill out an unexpired term. He was 



elected and is now serving his first term as asses- 
sor of Hardin township and the trust reposed in 
him is well merited as is indicated by his faithful 
performance of the duties that thus devolve upon 
him. He is a Master Mason, belonging to the 
lodge at Time. One of the young men of the 
county, he has already made for himself a credit- 
able name and a good position in business 
circles. 



HON. HARRY HIGBEE. 

Hon. Harry Higbee, judge of the eighth judi- 
cial district, is a native of Pittsfield, his present 
home. He was born December 13, 1854, a son 
of Judge and Mrs. Chauncey L. Higbee. His 
father was a most eminent and distinguished jur- 
ist and a man universally admired and kindly re- 
membered. His death occurred in 1884. 

Judge Higbee of this review was a student in 
the public schools of Pittsfield until 1871, when 
he entered Yale College, from which he was grad- 
uated in the class of 1875. Following the comple- 
tion of his collegiate course he read law for a 
year in Pittsfield,. atter which he spent a year 
in Columbia Law School in New York city. The 
following year was devoted to the further study of 
the principles of jurisprudence in the Union Col- 
lege of Law in Chicago, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1878. Just prior to 
this time he had successfully passed the examina- 
tion for admission to the bar of Illinois, and fol- 
lowing the completion of his law course he spent 
nine months in travel in Europe in company with 
the Hon. Scott Wike, thus gaining the knowl- 
edge and culture which only travel can bring. 

Following his return home Mr. Higbee entered 
at once upon the practice of his profession and 
was associated with Mr. Wike and Colonel Mat- 
thews under the firm style of Matthews, Wike & 
Higbee until 1884. Severing his connection with 
the firm he then went to Minneapolis, Minnesota, 
where he remained nine months, and on his return 
to Pittsfield at the end of that time he formed a 
partnership with Mr. Wike under the name of 
Wike & Higbee. When Mr. Wike was made as- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



187 



sistant secretary of the treasury Mr. Higbee be- 
came a member of the firm of Matthews, Higbee 
& Grigsby, with which he was connected until 
his election to the circuit court bench in 1897, to 
which office he has been re-elected, so that he is 
the present judge of the eighth judicial district. 
In 1888 he was elected to the state senate and was 
re-elected in 1892. He was appointed a member 
of the appellate court of the second district of Illi- 
nois in 1898, and was re-appointed in 1900 and in 
1903 was appointed in the fourth district. He is 
also president of the First National Bank of 
Pittsfield, but otherwise has concentrated his ener- 
gies upon the legal profession. 

On the 1 8th of December, 1879, Judge Hig- 
bee was united in marriage with Miss Emma 
Hicks, a daughter of Colonel D. D. Hicks, of 
Pittsfield. She died July 12, 1881, and their only 
son died on the 3d of August of the same year. 
Judge Higbee has a wide and favorable acquaint- 
ance in the county in which his entire life has been 
passed and the circle of his friends is extensive. 
He has ever occupied a prominent position in the 
foremost rank of the legal practitioners of his dis- 
trict. His life has been one of untiring activity 
and has been crowned with a high degree of suc- 
cess, yet he is not less esteemed as a citizen than 
as a lawyer and his kindly impulses and charming 
cordiality of manner have rendered him exceed- 
ingly popular among all classes. 



GEORGE F. BAGBY. 

George F. Bagby, deceased, was a prominent 
farmer and stock-raiser of Hardin township, who 
owned about one thousand acres of land at the 
time of his death, which occurred September 5. 
1897. His life was one of intense and well 
directed activity, crowned by successful accom- 
plishment, as was indicated by his extensive land 
holdings. He was born upon the old Bagby 
homestead farm in this county, May 8, 1851, 
and was reared and educated here, attending the 
village school of Time. He remained with his 
father through the period of his boyhood and 
youth and afterward assisted in carrying on the 
ii 



home farm for his mother until her death, when 
he succeeded to the ownership of a part of the 
place. 

On the 5th of April, 1895, Mr. Bagby was 
united in marriage to Mrs. Eva M. Cannon, a 
native of this county. Her father, Franklin Ran- 
som, was also born in Pike county and his people 
removed from Indiana to Illinois, settling among 
the early residents of Pike county. The Ransom 
family is of English lineage and was founded 
in America at a very early day in the colonization 
of the new world, the progenitor of the line in 
this country having come to the new world on 
the MayFfower. Franklin Ransom was reared 
in this county and'Vas married here to Mrs. 
Martha Cooper, a wicfow, 4 whose former hus- 
band was Robert Cooper. 'She was also born 
in this county. Mr. Ransom was a soldier of the 
Civil war, valiantly aiding the Union cause, and 
later he was a farmer of Hardin township, being 
connected for many years with agricultural pur- 
suits, but he now resides in the village of Time, 
enjoying a well earned rest from business cares. 
In his family were four children : Isabelle, now 
the wife of T. H. Mills, a resident of Armona, 
California; Mrs. Bagby, of this review; Sarah 
Lou, the wife of S. C. Brown, of Los Angeles, 
California; and Lucy A., a young lady residing 
with her sister, Mrs. Bagby. 

Following his marriage Mr. Bagby settled upon 
the old homestead and remained an active and 
prosperous farmer of the county up to the time 
of his death, which occurred here September 5, 
1897. He was reliable in business, energetic 
and ambitious, -and he was carefully conducting 
his work along well defined lines of labor, so that 
his efforts were being attended with a gratifying 
measure of prosperity. Following her husband's 
death Mrs. Bagby took charge of the farm and 
business, held a public sale and paid off a large 
indebtedness. She has proved very successful 
in her control of business interests and although 
she has sold off some of the land she still retains 
four hundred acres and gives her supervision 
to its improvement and cultivation. She has built' 
a good, neat and substantial residence and has 
three tenant houses and three large barns upon 
her farm. The place is neat and thrifty in appear- 



1 88 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



ance, indicating her supervision to be of both a 
practical and progressive nature. She employs a 
good foreman who attends to the work of the 
fields and the care of the stock, of which she 
raises considerable, finding this a profitable source 
of income. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Bagby was born a son, 
George Forrest Bagby, and by her former mar- 
riage Mrs. Bagby had a daughter, Lila Cannon. 
Mr. Bagby was a strong republican, but never 
cared for office, his time and attention being de- 
voted to his farm and business. He was reared 
in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal church 
and although he did not become a member of the 
denomination he displayed in his life many ster- 
ling traits of character, being a reliable as well 
as conscientious business man, thoroughly honest 
in all of his dealings. He was also loyal and 
progressive in citizenship and in his home 
was a devoted husband and father. He belonged 
to the Knights of Pythias lodge of Pittsfield and 
to the Modern Woodmen camp. Mrs. Bagby 
is a member of the Christian church at Time and 
has many warm friends in the community where 
she lives, the hospitality of her home being 
greatly enjoyed by those who know her. 



WILLIAM RILEY WILLSEY. 

William Riley Willsey is a representative of a 
prominent pioneer family and his record has been 
cast in harmony with that of others of the name, 
who has always been classed with the leading 
and worthy citizens of this portion of the state. 
He was born July 29, 1853, in Pittsfield, near his 
present home and is a son of James Gallett and 
Melinda (Rogers) Willsey. The father was born 
in Tompkins county, New York, February 28, 
1830, and was a son of Barnett and Cornelia 
(Kiser) Willsey, both of whom were natives of 
the Empire state. In the year 1837 the grand- 
parents removed from New York to Ohio and in 
1840 came to Illinois, their destination being 
Grfggsville township. TJiere (the grandfather 
began husking corn receiving every fifth load as 
his wage. He was employed upon different 



farms and as soon as he had saved a little money 
he purchased a cow. Not long afterward he 
traded a team for eighty acres of land in Pitts- 
field township near where his son James G. 
Willsey now resides, but there were no settlers in 
the neighborhood at that time. There was some 
timber on the land and the uninhabited condition 
of the country is indicated by the fact that there 
were many deer and wolves in the district. Mr. 
Willsey first built a cabin and in a few years 
erected a frame house, hauling the lumber on a 
cart drawn by oxen. With characteristic energy 
he began placing his land under cultivation and 
in due course of time well cultivated fields were 
returning to Ijim golden harvests. He remained 
upon the old homestead up to the time of his 
death, which occurred January 31, 1859, and he 
was one of the leading and typical pioneer resi- 
dents of the community. He owned four hundred 
acres of land and was considered one of the sub- 
stantial citizens of that day. He was also prom- 
inent and influential in public affairs, did much 
to mold thought and action in his community 
and was called by his fellow townsmen to the 
office of county commissioner and school director. 
His political support was given to the democratic 
party. In his family were ten children, of whom 
two sons and two daughters are now living. His 
wife died January 10, 1889, when about eighty- 
five years of age. 

James Gallett Willsey, the only representative 
of the family of that generation now in Pike 
county, attended the common schools, but his 
educational privileges were very limited. He 
began earning his own living when only ten 
years of age and he has always worked hard. It 
was his labor that brought a capital sufficient to 
enable him to purchase one hundred and sixty 
acres of land where he now lives. He became 
owner of this property about 1855 and it has 
since remained in his possession. He cleared the 
land, placed all of the improvements upon the 
farm, now has fine buildings and in fact his 
property is one of the desirable farms of this por- 
tion of the county. He has two hundred and forty 
acres, having added to the original tract, and gives 
personal supervision to the work of the farm, the 
fields having been brought to a high state of cul- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



189 



tivation. He is a member of the Masonic frater- 
nity and a Knight Templar. 

James G. Willsey was married in 1851 to Miss 
Melinda Rogers, a daughter of David and Fannie 
(Alcorn) Rogers. Her father 'was a son of Bart- 
lett Rogers, a native of North Carolina, who re- 
moved from that state to Kentucky and thence 
went to Morgan county, Illinois, settling near 
Williamsport, which was then a little town on the 
Illinois river near Montezuma at Big Sandy 
Creek. There he purchased a bond for a deed to 
lot number fifteen, the seller being John Radcliff 
and the transaction taking place December 29, 
1826. John Radcliff had bought the lot of Joseph 
Bentley for seventy dollars, but before he paid for 
it sold it to Bartlett Rogers and Mr. Willsey of 
this review now has the bond and deed in his pos- 
session. Bartlett Rogers was born in 1771 and 
served in the war of 1812. He died in Williams- 
port May 2, 1831, and was buried there. David 
Redmon Rogers, the maternal grandfather of Wil- 
liam R. Willsey, was born February 18, 1802, and 
came to Kentucky from North Carolina when a 
young man. While in the former state he married 
Miss Fannie Alcorn on the 26th of February, 
1824. He and his brother, Robert Rogers, were 
married at the same time and together they came 
to Illinois. David R. Rogers while living in the 
Blue Grass state made his home on the Kentucky 
river near the Goose Creek Salt Works in Clay 
county and there three children were born unto 
him and his wife, Polly Ann, born January 4, 
1825; Bartlett, November 3, 1826; and Nancy 
Jane on the I5th of February, 1828. Soon after 
the birth of this child David R. Rogers started for 
Illinois, reaching Williamsport on the Illinois 
river and while the family were there living the 
mother of our subject was born on the I4th of 
August, 1830. Not long afterward Mr. Rogers 
removed with his family to Dutch Creek near Big 
Spring below Stony Point, which place is now 
owned by James Wassell. Later they removed to 
the John Hoskins place near where John Hoskins 
now resides and Mr. Rogers built a little cabin. 
In that home occurred the birth of William 
Rogers on the 1st of January, 1833. North 
of this cabin in a little valley was a large 
swamp that is still to be seen there and Mr; 



Rogers would send the children there to keep the 
cows out of the swamp. There were many wild 
animals in those days, including wolves, bears, 
panthers and other animals. In 1834 or 1835 Mr. 
Rogers removed to the place which is now owned 
by W. D. Shinn and there he spent the remainder 
of his days, passing away on the 2ist of March, 
1871, while his wife died March 10, 1873. A 'ma- 
ternal great-uncle of Mr. Willsey was Benjamin 
Alcorn, who built the first warehouse west of 
Rockport at Gilgal on the Mississippi river, this 
being one of the first in the county. 

It will thus be seen that William Riley Will- 
sey is a representative of honored and prominent 
pioneer families of this section of the state, and 
the work of improvement and development which 
his parents and grandparents instituted he has 
carried still further forward. He was educated 
in the common schools of Pike county, and stu- 
died for four years under a private teacher, Pro- 
fessor J. M. Ruby. He is also educated in in- 
strumental music, and he studied farming, en- 
gineering and stock breeding in the University 
of Illinois, being thus equipped by theoretical as 
well as practical training for the business inter- 
ests which have claimed his attention in later 
years. He remained at home until 1880, when 
he was married to Miss Judith A. Brown, a na- 
tive of Pike county, born in Newburg township, 
on Christmas day of 1854. She was a daughter 
of Francis and Mary A. (Thomas) Brown. Her 
father was born near Quincy, Massachusetts, on 
October 7, 1817, and the mother was born in 
Greene county, Illinois, October 5, 1819. She 
was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Thomas, 
pioneer settlers of Greene county. Mrs. Brown 
was educated in the common schools of Greene 
county, near Carrollton. She was married Sep- 
tember 29, 1842, to William H. Boling, who 
was county clerk at Pittsfield at that time and 
they resided in the county seat for two years. 
They bought all the chinaware in the Pittsfield 
stores but that consisted only of one large platter, 
which is still in possession of the family ; and in 
Atlas they could buy but only a few tin pie pans. 
In the fall of 1843 Mr. Bolting and his wife's 
brother, L. H. Thomas, drove from Pittsfield to 
their farm to decide upon a site for a horne. In 



i go 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



the shade trees upon a knoll they erected a two- 
room house which is still standing, although a 
large brick residence stands in front of it at the 
present time. It is located three and a half miles 
southeast of Pittsfield in Newburg township. 
Near the' center of the farm of one hundred and 
sixty acres is a fine spring near where the old log 
house stood, and there they resided while the mod- 
ern building was being erected. Mr. Boling died 
in 1847 and Mrs. Boling afterward went to 
Greene county, Illinois, where she lived for three 
years. On the 3ist of October, 1850, she became 
the wife of Francis Brown, of Quincy, Massa- 
chusetts, who had removed to Quincy, Illinois, 
where some of his descendants now live. There 
were four children born of this marriage : Mrs. 
Emma Westlake, who resides on a farm about 
two and a half miles east of Pittsfield ; Mrs. Will- 
sey ; Laura, who is living in Pittsfield with her 
brother, Arthur. The last named married Gallic 
Saylor. Mr. Brown died January 10, 1870, and 
was survived by his wife until the I3th of March, 
1903. They were both laid to rest in the South 
cemetery at Pittsfield. Both were devoted mem- 
bers of the Congregational church and they en- 
joyed the respect and good will of all who knew 
them. Mr. Brown was a farmer, devoting his 
entire life to agricultural pursuits. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Willsey have been born 
four children. Grace Melinda, born June 2, 1881, 
is the wife of Clarence Fudge and resides near 
her father's farm. They have one child, Nellie 
Frances, born April 30, 1904. Laura Edith, born 
October 31, 1885, has studied music under pri- 
vate teachers and she makes her home with her 
parents. Frances Scott, born December 12, 1887, 
and James Gallett, born December 31, 1891, are 
also at home. 

Mr. Willsey owns one hundred and sixty acres 
of land and his wife eighty acres in Pittsfield 
township. He built one of the finest country resi- 
dences in the county in 1880 and now resides in 
this attractive home. There are also large and 
substantial barns and good improvements upon 
the place. He handles a large number of sheep 
and is regarded as one of the substantial residents 
of the community. He has twenty acres planted 
to all kinds of small fruit and is very successful 



in the cultivation of his fields and in horticultural 
pursuits as well. The farm is equipped with 
steam engine, thresher, husker, corn sheller and 
grinder, and the machinery is seldom taken off the 
farm. 

In politics Mr. Willsey is an earnest democrat 
and served as school director and trustee for 
twenty-seven years, but otherwise has not sought 
nor desired public office. In the Masonic frater- 
nity he has attained the Knight Templar degree. 
His wife is a member of the Congregational 
church and his children hold membership in the 
Christian Sunday-school. Mr. Willsey is a promi- 
nent and worthy representative of an honored 
pioneer family and his personal characteristics 
entitle him to representation among the leading 
citizens of this locality. He has been very suc- 
cessful and his prosperity has been achieved 
through methods and along lines that neither seek 
nor require disguise. 



COLONEL A. C. MATTHEWS. 

Colonel A. C. Matthews, speaker of the house 
of representatives in the thirty-sixth general as- 
sembly of Illinois, and a distinguished attorney of 
Pittsfield, whose history is closely interwoven with 
the records of this city and district, was born and 
reared upon his father's farm in Perry township. 
Pike county, and as the years have gone by has 
become prominent locally and is likewise a well 
known figure in the state and nation. His parents 
were Captain B. L. and Minerva (Carrington) 
Matthews, natives of North Carolina and Ken- 
tucky respectively. 

When eighteen years of age Colonel Matthews 
became a student in McKendree College, at Leba- 
non. Illinois, having previously attended the win- 
ter sessions of the village school. While pursu- 
ing his college course, he boarded in the home of 
Dr. Peter Akers. then president of the college but 
now deceased. In 1855 he matriculated in the 
Illinois College and was graduated in the class of 
which Judge Lacey and Rev. Dr. Noyes > formerly 
of Evanston, Illinois, and now deceased, were 
bers. Not long afterward Colonel Matthews en- 




A. C. MATTHEWS 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



193 



tered upon the study of law and was admitted to 
the bar in 1857. He then located for practice in 
Pittsfield and was just getting well started in his 
profession when the Civil war was inaugurated 
and with patriotic ardor he responded to the 
country's call, enlisting in the Ninety-ninth Illi- 
nois Infantry. He was unanimously elected cap- 
tain of his company and went to the front at its 
head and was in all of the battles and in the siege 
immediately preceding the surrender of Vicks- 
burg. He witnessed the fall of the Confederate 
stronghold on the 4th of July, 1863, and in the 
autumn of the same year participated in the 
Tasche campaign. He was also in the campaign 
against Mobile and all of the incident battles 
which resulted in the capture of that city in the 
spring of 1865. From Mobile the Ninety-ninth 
Illinois was sent up the Red river to Shreveport, 
Louisiana, where the Confederates under com- 
mand of General _Kirby Smith surrendered to the 
Union forces. From that point Colonel Matthews 
with an escort of the Sixth Missouri Cavalry was 
sent to the Indian Territory to receive the sur- 
render of the Indians under General Stand Watie, 
a half-breed. When this was accomplished, in 
June, 1865, he held a counsel with the civilized 
Indians under the direction of Peter P. Pitchlyn, 
chief of the Choctaws and formed a temporary 
treaty with them, by which they agreed to lay 
down their arms and return to the allegiance of 
the Union. In this connection Colonel Matthews 
wrote the following letter which was the first an- 
nouncement to peace to the civilized Indian tribes 
(Rebellion Record. Series I. Volume XLVIII, 
Part IT). 

"JONES PLANTATION, C. N., June 23, 1865. 
"HON. WINCHESTER COLBERT, General and Prin- 
cipal Chief, Chickasaw Nation. 
"Sir : I have the honor to state to you that the 
war between the United States and the Confed- 
erate States is at an end ; that the armies of the 
Confederacy have all been captured or surren- 
dered to the United States authorities, and have 
turned over their arms and public property to the 
United States Government. It was my intention 
to have attended and, if possible, taken a part in 
the deliberations of the grand council at Arm- 
strong Academv, but the insufficient notice we 



had rendered this impossible. If I could have 
reached there I do not hesitate to say that I 
would have been able to have submitted to that 
honorable body propositions looking to a cessa- 
tion of hostilities that would have been perfectly 
satisfactory to the delegates of all the tribes rep- 
resented. When this was found impossible, I 
deemed it prudent to hold a conference with 
such of the principal chiefs and men as my limited 
time and circumstances would allow. I have met 
Governor and Principal Chief of the Choctaw 
Nation, Colonel Pitchlyn, and Brig. Gen. Stand 
Watie, of the Cherokee Nation, and with them 
have agreed upon a cessation of hostilities, and 
and also for a meeting of the grand council at 
Armstrong. Academy on the 1st day of Septem- 
ber,-.- 1865 'rand further, that they will use their 
influence with -the; tribes of the plains to cultivate 
friendly feelings wifrr' the Government of the 
United States and their people, and that we will 
protect the Indians of all the tribes against domes- 
tic insurrection and foreign invasion, as stipulated 
in former treaties. I have the honor also to state 
and respectfully request that you will represent 
to your people that the Government of the United 
States wish to cultivate friendly relations toward 
the Indians of all the tribes, and have no desire 
to oppress or humiliate in any way any of their 
people, but to make at the earliest possible date an 
honorable and lasting treaty of peace with all of 
them. We desire to meet all of them at the 
grand council on the 1st day of September, where 
we can have a full and cordial interchange of 
opinion, and when all questions can be fully dis- 
cussed and disposed of. In the meantime we want 
peace with all its blessings, to be and remain 
throughout the length and breadth of your beauti- 
ful territory. Through you I wish to convey to 
your people the assurance of the high regard en- 
tertained by our Government for them and their 
prosperity and happiness. 

"Hoping that peace may soon be the blessing of 
all, and that our .difficulties may soon be ami- 
cably settled, I have the honor to be, very respect- 
fully, your obedient servant, 

"A. C. MATTHEWS, 

"Lieutenant-Colonel, U. S. Volunteers, Com- 
missioner." 



194 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



When his work in connection with the arrange- 
ments of peace with the Indians was concluded 
Colonel Matthews at once rejoined his command 
at Shreveport and at once was mustered out of 
service, reaching Springfield with his regiment, 
where he was paid off on the I7th of August, 
1865. He served successively as private, captain, 
major and lieutenant colonel and was commis- 
sioned colonel, but the regiment had become so 
disseminated by the ravages and casualties of war 
that he could not be mustered into the United 
States service as colonel, as his command num- 
bered too few soldiers. He was, however, bre- 
vetted for meritorious service during the Vicks- 
burg campaign after the close of the war. 

Returning to Pittsfield, Colonel Matthews re- 
sumed the active practice of law in this city and 
has since given the greater part of his attention to 
his professional duties although he has frequently 
been called to fill positions of public honor and 
trust. He was collector of internal revenue for 
six years, supervisor of internal revenue for the 
states of Illinois, Wisconsin and Michigan from 
1875 until the office was abolished and has been 
three times elected a member of the Illinois legis- 
lature and a speaker of the house in the thirty- 
sixth general assembly. His record is found upon 
the reports of the state legislature and won for 
him prominence among the leaders of Illinois. In 
politics he manifested a statesman's grasp of af- 
fairs and that he ably represented his district is. 
indicated by his election for three terms. In 1885 
he was appointed circuit judge to fill out the un- 
expired term caused by the death of Judge C. L. 
Higbee. 

He was r\ delegate to the national republican 
convention which met in Chicago and nominated 
James G. Elaine for the presidency. On the nth 
of May, 1889, he received appointment from 
President Harrison to the position of first comp- 
troller of the United States treasury. In 1904 he 
w*is a Roosevelt elector and was chosen chairman 
of the college over which he presided at the capitol 
in Springfield. In addition to his other public serv- 
ices Colonel Matthews is now actingaspresidentof 
the Illinois Vicksburg Military Park Commission, 
his associates in this work being Francis A. Rid- 
dle. Charles R. E. Koch and Floras D. Meacham. 



all of Chicago ; Harvey M. Trimble, of Princeton ; 
C. H. Noble, of Dixon ; T. B. Orear, of Jack- 
sonville ; George S. Durfee, of Decatur ; and 
Carroll Moore, of Benton. A newspaper ac- 
count of the work of the commission said : "Up 
to this time the state of Illinois has made the 
largest provision for memorials in the national 
military park, which includes over twelve hundred 
acres of the scenes of battle and siege around 
Vicksburg. The Illinois appropriation to com- 
memorate the part taken by its volunteer soldiers 
at Vicksburg is two hundred and sixty thousand 
dollars, which far exceeds that of any other 
state, and the beautiful .temple that has been 
erected will be dedicated some time next year. 
The Illinois Vicksburg park commission has just 
concluded a tour of inspection and is warranted 
in congratulating the state on the progress made. 
Illinois was represented at Vicksburg by eighty 
military organizations, including fifty-five regi- 
ments of infantry, ten bodies of cavalry and fif- 
teen companies of artillery, a total of eighty, or 
double the number of organizations from any 
other state, north or south. The Illinois temple of 
fame at the Vicksburg park is well advanced and 
is admitted to be one of the finest memorials in 
the country. It stands on a small knoll beside the 
Jackson road, near the famous 'White House' of 
the siege, and within sixty rods of the strongest 
of the Confederate redans. In the building the 
architect has combined features of the Pantheon 
and temple of Minerva Medici at Rome. The 
main part of the Illinois temple is sixty-two feet 
high and fifty-four feet in diameter, surmounted 
by a hemispherical dome. A doric portico thirty- 
two feet wide, projects fourteen feet on the south 
facade, with a pediment on which are sculptures 
embk-mizing History enrolling the names of the 
Illinois soldiers in the campaign. On the ex- 
terior of the temple will be inscribed Lincoln's 
'With malice toward none, with charity for all,' 
and Grant's 'Let us have peace.' The name of 
every Illinois soldier and sailor who served at 
Vicksburg will be legibly placed on the bronze 
tablets inside, and thus be perpetuated for all time. 
Facing the entrance is a large bronze panel on 
which Illinois dedicates the temple to the memory 
of her soldiers in the Vicksburg struggle between 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



195 



March 29 and July 4, 1863. Above the Illinois 
panel will be inscribed the name of Abraham 
Lincoln, with that of Ulysses S. Grant on the 
right, and of John A. Logan on the left. Below 
Lincoln's name will be that of Richard Yates, the 
war governor. The names of other Illinois offi- 
cers of high rank will have a place on the same 
panel. On the frieze under the center of the pedi- 
ment of the portico will be inscribed in raised let- 
ters the word 'Illinois.' A cresting of eagles in- 
terwoven with shields adorns the external cornice 
of the main structure. Illinois was equal to the 
opportunity in providing for its Vicksburg memo- 
rial, and its commission has been highly success- 
ful in making the most of the large state appro- 
priation." 

Colonel Matthews has always been faithful to 
the trust reposed in him, ably discharging his 
duties. He has given careful consideration to his 
work and to each question which has come up for 
settlement in connection with the various offices 
that he has filled and has been guided by an 
honorable purpose and loyalty of patriotism such 
as distinguished his services as a soldier upon 
southern battle-fields. He was author of the first 
amendment to the constitution of 1870 known as 
the drainage amendment and upon this has been 
erected a code of laws whereby hundreds of thou- 
sands of acres of Illinois land have been reclaimed 
for cultivation. Colonel Matthews has always 
taken an active interest in everything tending to 
promote the agricultural and stock-raising inter- 
ests of his county and has given tangible support 
to many local measures which have proven -of 
benefit to Pittsfield and this part of the state. 

On the 5th of October, 1855. was celebrated 
the marriage of Colonel A. C. Matthews and Miss 
Anna E. Ross, a daughter of Colonel William 
Ross, a pioneer of Pike county. They have three 
children: Mrs. Florence Lewis: Ross Matthews, 
who is cashier of the Farmers' Bank of Pittsfield : 
and Mrs. Helen M. Hull. As a distinguished 
member of the bar, as a statesman of prominence, 
as a public officer of reliability, Mr. Matthews is 
so well known that he needs no special introduc- 
tion to the readers of this volume. His career has 
conferred honor and dignity upon the profession 
and the political and civic organizations with 



which he has been associated, and there is in him 
a weight of character, a keen sagacity, a far-see- 
ing judgment and a fidelity of purpose that com- 
mand the respect of all. 



GEORGE T. BLACK. 

George T. Black, who as one of the early set- 
tlers of Pike county, has witnessed the greater 
part of its growth and development, is now living 
retired in Pearl. He has at different times filled 
various local offices and been actively connected 
with business interests and in all life's relations 
had commanded the respect and esteem of his fel- 
lowmen by his faithful public service and his trust- 
worthiness in his business dealings. 

A native of St. Charles county, Missouri, Mr. 
Black is a son of Thomas and Fannie (Price) 
Black. His paternal grandfather was a soldier of 
the war of 1812, enlisting with the New York 
troops and serving until the close of hostilities, 
at which time he removed with his family to Ken- 
tucky, where he was engaged in farming for a 
short time. He then went to St. Charles county, 
Missouri, where he carried on general agricultural 
pursuits up to the time of his death, which oc- 
curred in 1844, his remains being interred in that 
county. His wife, who bore the maiden name of 
Mary Bigelow, died in St. Charles county in 1826. 

The maternal grandparents of George T. Black 
were Michael and Mary (Ryebolt) Price, both of 
whom were natives of Ohio, whence they removed 
to St. Charles county, Missouri, in 1807. There 
Michael Price devoted his energies to general 
farming and both he and his wife died in that 
county. Their sons, George and William Price, 
uncles of our subject, were soldiers of the war 
of 1812 and afterward in the Indian wars of 
1815. 

Thomas Black, father of George T. Black, was 
born in Penn Yan, New York, January 20, 1800, 
and was educated in his native town. When four- 
teen years of age he accompanied his parents on 
their removal to Kentucky, the family home being 
established near Covington, and from there went 
to St. Charles county, Missouri, in 1818. He there. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



devoted the remainder of his life to farming and 
his death occurred in 1854, when he was fifty- 
four years of age. His wife also died in St. 
Charles county, passing away at the age of thirty 
years, in May, 1838. 

George T. Black assisted his father in the op- 
eration and improvement of the home farm in 
Missouri up to the time of the latter's death, and 
in the fall of that year removed to Rockport, Pike 
county, where he remained until the spring of 
1858, when he returned to St. Charles county, 
Missouri, remaining there until 1862, engaged 
in different occupations. In that year he went to 
Calhoun county, Illinois, and thence came again to 
Pike county. At Pittsfield, the Civil war being 
then in progress, he enlisted in Company C, Nine- 
ty-ninth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, for three 
years, and being transferred to Company E of the 
same regiment, served until the close of the war, 
being mustered out at Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 
and discharged at Springfield, Illinois, July 12, 
1865, having done his full duty as a loyal and pa- 
triotic soldier. 

On the 2gth of October, of the same year, Mr. 
Black was united in marriage to Miss Fannie E. 
Long, of Pike county, and to them were born 
eight children, namely: James W., Clara, Char- 
ley T., Hattie, John W., Fannie, Walter M. and 
Lee R. Of these only two are now living, James 
W., who is living with his father on the farm, 
and Lee R., who is conducting a barber shop in 
St. Louis, Missouri. Mrs. Black's parents were 
natives of Pennsylvania and removed to Pike 
county, Illinois, in 1836. Here they died and were 
buried in the Hess graveyard near Pearl. Their 
son, Jacob Long, was a soldier in the Union 
Army, with the Fiftieth Illinois Volunteers, and 
was killed at the battle of Shiloh, after which his 
remains were brought back to Pike county for 
burial, being interred in the Hess graveyard. Of 
Mr. Black's children who are dead, all were buried 
in the Hess graveyard except Charley T., whose 
remains were interred in the Alton cemetery, at 
Alton, Illinois. 

Throughout the greater part of his residence in 
Pike county Mr. Black has followed farming 
in Pearl township, but is now living a retired 
life. He draws a pension from the government 



in recognition of his service in the Civil war, and 
his farm brings him in a good income, for the 
work of development and cultivation has been car- 
ried steadily forward for many years until the 
fields are now very fruitful and productive. As 
the years have passed Mr. Black has been called 
to various offices, acting as justice of the peace 
of Pearl township for four years ; as school di- 
rector of district No. 25 for five years; and as 
township clerk for five years. He has also been 
constable ; and in these various positions has dis- 
charged his duties with the same promptness and 
fidelity which he manifested when he followed 
the starry banner of the nation upon the battle- 
fields of the south. . He has long been a resident of 
the county, witnessing the many changes which 
have occurred here as the county has put off the 
evidences of frontier life, and taken on those of an 
advanced and progressive civilization. 



M. D. MASSIE. 

M. D. Massie, of New Canton, was born in 
Pittsfield, Illinois, January 21, 1838. His father, 
John C. Massie, was a Kentuckian, while his 
mother, Mary (Shaw) Massie, was a New Yorker. 
His paternal grandfather was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war and his father was a soldier 
in the war of 1812. A few years of his boyhood 
were passed in Louisiana, Missouri, and later 
he was a clerk and school teacher, being thus 
engaged until after the outbreak of the Civil war, 
when, in August, 1862, in company with nearly 
one thousand other Pike county "boys" he went 
to the front in the Ninety-ninth Illinois Volunteer 
Ifantry, well known as the Pike county Regi- 
ment. At first he carried a musket and knapsack 
but was soon promoted to the rank of first lieu- 
tenant and in the siege of Vicksburg was given 
a captain's commission. He was on staff duty 
with Generals Warren, Slack and Lawler and 
after the surrender at Appomattox, General Can- 
by ordered him to report to General Fred Steele 
at Santiago near the Rio Grande river. This was 
the only time in his three years' service that he 
was away from his regiment. 




M. D. MASSIE 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



After the close of the war Captain Massie 
returned to New Canton and engaged in mer- 
chandising and the following year, 1866, he was 
united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Morey, whose 
parents were from New York and Virginia 
respectively. Their union was blessed with six 
children, Harry A., Blanche, Bertha, Bert S., 
George and Nellie. Bert died in infancy and 
Bertha passed away just as she reached her twen- 
ty-first year. 

Captain Massie has been an extensive traveler, 
having visited nearly all of the principal cities 
of the United States and Canada. He has been in 
all of the states of the Union save seven, has been 
in old Mexico, has seen all of the Great Lakes 
save one and has been at the source and outlet 
of the Ohio, Illinois, Missouri and Mississippi 
rivers. He has seen both the Atlantic and Pa- 
cific oceans, and has crossed the Gulf of Mexico 
five times. 

A stalwart republican in his political views 
he was a member of the twenty-eighth general 
assembly in 1873 and 1874, being the first repub- 
lican sent to the legislature from this district 
under the new constitution. He was a member of 
the board of supervisors for four terms, held 
township offices at intervals for several years, 
was assistant secretary of the Illinois delegation 
at Chicago when General Garfield was nominated 
for the presidency and was in Philadelphia when 
General Grant was nominated for his second term. 
He was also in Chicago when James G. Elaine 
was nominated and witnessed the bolt of Curtis 
and others that defeated the "Plumed Knight" 
at the polls. He was also at the dedication of 
Lincoln's monument and at the meeting of the 
Army of, the Tennessee in Springfield, when 
President Grant, Vice-President Wilson and the 
most noted army officers were present and there * 
General Custer, later the victim of the great 
Indian massacre, by his cool determination pre- 
vented a great disaster in the very crowded Chat- 
terton Opera House when an alarm of fire was 
given. 

Captain Massie was also a member and treas- 
urer of the defense committee in the great Sny 
levee bond suit that was in the courts for nearly 
twenty years and was a steadfast friend of the 



great levee project that in the end reclaimed 
over one hundred thousand acres of valuable lands 
and added so much to the sanitary condition of 
the district. He was with Messrs. Higbee, 
Worthington and Hewes, a member of the com- 
mittee to visit Indianapolis to engage ex-President 
Harrison to defend the suit in the United States 
supreme court. For -fifty years Captain Massie 
was engaged in business in New Canton and met 
with gratifying success for a long period but 
was too generous and confiding and a few years 
ago learned the disagreeable lesson that mankind 
was not all that surface indications show and 
his impression of the old saying "man's inhu- 
manity to man. has made millions mourn" was 
extensively and- indelibly marked in his particular 
case. He has"througji all of his mature years 
been a true friend to his'*town, county and state, 
and has no resentments or regrets but rejoices 
in the growth and beautifying processes that the 
old county and state have made. He is a Mason, 
a Grand Army comrade and several times has 
been president of the Old Settlers' Society and 
of the Ninety-ninth Regiment Reunion Society. 
His attitude toward mankind in all things seems 
to exemplify the following lines: 

"Methinks I love all common things 

The common air, the common flower, 

The dear, kind common thought that springs 

From hearts that have no other dower, 

No other wealth, no other power, 

Save love ; and will not that repay 

For all else Fortune tears awav ?" 



S. H. SMART. 

S. H. Smart, who is one of the prominent farm- 
ers of Detroit township, owning a good property 
which is within the corporate limits of the vil- 
lage of Detroit, has in the control of his business 
affairs shown keen discrimination and also capa- 
bility and unfaltering diligence. He has one hun- 
dred acres of land and his property is the visible 
evidence of well directed energy. He is classed 
with the early settlers of the county, dating his 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



residence here from 1853. He was born in Fair- 
field county, Ohio, October 28, 1837. His fa- 
ther, Samuel G. Smart, was born near Hagers- 
town, Virginia, in 1805, and was a son of Squire 
Smart, a native of Ireland and one of the pioneer 
residents of the Old Dominion. Samuel G. Smart 
was reared to manhood in the state of his nativity 
and in early life learned the blacksmith's trade. 
On removing to Ohio when a young man he took 
up his abode in Fairfield county, and was there 
married to Miss Eliza Rutherford, who was born 
in Pennsylvania, but was reared in Ohio. Mr. and 
Mrs. Smart became the parents of ten children, 
while living in the Keystone state. There he car- 
ried on a blacksmith shop and also followed farm- 
ing. In 1853 he removed to Illinois, settling in 
Pike county and worked at his trade through the 
succeeding winter in Pittsfield. He then took up 
his abode in Detroit, where he opened a shop, car- 
rying on blacksmithing and also purchasing and 
operating a farm, where S. H. Smart now resides. 
The place had some improvements upon it. The 
sons, however, largely carried on the work of the 
farm, while the father gave his attention to the 
blacksmith's trade. He spent his last years here 
and died in 1882. His wife survived him and 
was almost ninety years of age at the time of her 
demise. They were worthy people, honest and 
honorable, and enjoyed the respect of those with 
whom they came in contact. In their family 
were ten children, five sons and five daughters, of 
whom S. H. Smart was the fourth in order of 
birth. Four sons and two daughters yet survive, 
namely: John Smart, of this county; S. H., of 
this review ; T. R., of St. Louis, Missouri ; Daniel, 
who is living in Haysville, Kansas ; Mrs. Mattie 
Culver, of Independence, Illinois ; and Mrs. Isa- 
belle M. Brown, the wife of George Brown, of 
Arkansas City, Kansas. One brother, George M., 
died in Missouri in 1904. The three sisters who 
have passed away are Mrs. Maggie Wagner, Mrs. 
Eliza Johnson and Mrs. Elizabeth Munn. 

S. H. Smart spent his boyhood days and youth 
upon his father's farm. He was in his sixteenth 
year when he came with his parents to Illinois, 
and assisted him in clearing the home property 
in Pike county. To some extent he attended the 
common schools, but he is almost wholly self- 



educated and has greatly broadened his knowledge 
through reading, experience and observation. In 
1861 he went to California, making the over- 
land trip with teams, being five or six months 
upon the way. He stopped this side of the moun- 
tains and went to work at Virginia City as a car- 
penter, being employed about a year there. He 
then continued his journey to Washington terri- 
tory, where he spent a year in the gold mines, after 
which he returned to Virginia City and was en- 
gaged in mining there. He met with a fair de- 
gree of success during the two years spent at that 
place, after which he returned to Reese River and 
passed the winter at Salt Lake City. In the suc- 
ceeding spring he went into the mines in Mon- 
tana, where he remained during the summer, after 
which he again passed the winter in Salt Lake 
City, and then again made his way to the mining 
regions. Two years were passed there and dur- 
ing the second summer he was engaged in the 
butchering business at Deer Lodge. He after- 
ward returned to Salt Lake City, sold his horses 
and went by stage to the Union Pacific road, 
where in November he took a train that carried 
him home. Upon returning to Pike county he 
purchased the old homestead farm and stock of 
his father, and the following year he began farm- 
ing on his own account. 

On the 7th of June, 1870, Mr. Smart was 
united in marriage to Miss Sarah E. Hogsett, a 
native of Ohio, who was reared here from early 
childhood, having been brought to Pike county 
when only two or three years old. Mr. Smart 
since built a large and attractive residence and 
good barns. He has also fenced and improved his 
place, has planted an orchard and has added mod- 
ern equipments and accessories that indicate a pro- 
gressive and practical spirit. His fields return' 
good crops and he is also engaged in raising high 
grade Aberdeen Angus cattle. He formerly bred' 
and fattened both hogs and cattle and he was also 
engaged in buying and shipping stock. In all of 
his business affairs he is energetic and far-sighted 
and has that force of character and determination 
that enable him to carry forward to successful 
completion whatever he undertakes. 

Mr. and Mrs. Smart are the parents of four 
children : Walter J. is one of the well known 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



breeders of pure blooded Aberdeen Angus cattle 
in Pike county ; Edith is the wife of David Snee- 
den, a farmer and stock feeder of Newburg town- 
ship ; Rutherford. B. met his death by accident 
while attending the State Normal School at Val- 
paraiso, Indiana, when a young man of nineteen 
years ; and Georgia died in infancy. 

Mr. Smart is recognized as one of the public- 
spirited men of Pike county and has assisted in 
advancing the interests of the village of Detroit 
and the surrounding country as well. Politically 
he is a republican where national issues are in- 
volved while locally he votes independently. He 
has served as justice of the peace and police mag- 
istrate, occupying the positions for years, and has 
been a delegate to the county conventions and 
chairman of the township committee. He and his 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church of Detroit, in which he is serving as stew- 
ard and has held other offices. He has helped to 
improve and make the county what it is to-day 
and in Detroit township is well known for his 
practical and active efforts. His business career 
will bear closest investigation and scrutiny and he 
is to-day numbered with the well known and 
prosperous farmers and stock-raiser of Pike 
countv. 



WILLIAM G. HUBBARD. 

William G. Hubbard, now deceased, was for 
many years actively engaged in general farming 
pursuits but spent his last days in Barry, where he 
lived retired. He was born in Troy, Lincoln 
county, Missouri, December i, 1829, and was 
about seventy-six years of age at the time of his 
demise. His parents were Eli and Margaret 
(Myers) Hubbard. The father was a farmer by 
occupation and was married three times. He was 
probably a native of the Carolinas. The pater- 
nal grandfather became a pioneer resident of Pike 
county, and died upon his farm in Pleasant Hill 
township. When a young man Eli Hubbard re- 
moved to Missouri, where he met and married 
Margaret Myers, who was probably born in Vir- 
ginia. He removed from Kentucky to Missouri 
at an early day, casting in his lot with the early 



residents of Lincoln county, where he worked at 
his trade of a millwright, and at the same time 
superintended his farming interests. In 1845 " ie 
returned to the Blue Grass state, and at a later 
date went to Texas, where his last years were 
spent. 

Eli Hubbard spent his early married life in Mis- 
souri, and when Pike county was still a frontier 
district he took up his abode in Pleasant Hill 
township, becoming one of its first settlers. There 
he purchased a tract of wild land, which he con- 
verted into a very productive farm, making his 
home thereon until his death in 1853. In that year 
he crossed the plains with a team to Oregon, 
where he again purchased land and again carried 
on farming. He afterward became a minister of 
the Baptist church and labored earnestly in behalf 
of that denomination until his death, which oc- 
curred upon the farm near Salem, Oregon. 

William G. Hubbard lost his mother in his in- 
fancy and was reared by his maternal grandpar- 
ents in Lincoln county, Missouri. Shortly after 
the death of his mother his father came to Illinois 
and served in the Black Hawk war ; and William 
Hubbard frequently made visits to this state to see 
his father. However, he continued to make his 
home with his grandparents in Lincoln county, 
Missouri, until 1845, when he once more came to 
Pike county, Illinois, and spent the succeeding 
eighteen months with his father. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools and began earning 
his own livelihood when about sixteen years of 
age. In his youth he was employed in the woolen 
mills at Barry and continued in that position until 
after the inauguration of the Civil war. 

Putting aside business and personal considera- 
tions, Mr. Hubbard espoused the cause of the 
Union and enlisted on the 5th of August, 1862, 
as a member of Company D, Ninety-ninth Illinois 
Infantry, with which he continued until after the 
close of hostilities in July, 1865. He participated 
in many important engagements, including the 
battle of Hartsville, Missouri, the siege and cap- 
ture of Vicksburg, and also of Fort Blakely and 
Spanish Fort. His services took him into the 
states of Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, 
Mississippi, Alabama and Tennessee, and he 
marched thousands of miles with his regiment- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



When the war was brought to a successful termi- 
nation and victory perched upon the banners of 
the north, he was honorably discharged in March, 
1865, and returned to his home in Barry. In 1868 
he was elected to the office of county sheriff, prov- 
ing quite capable and reliable in the discharge of 
his duties, so that he retired from the position as 
he had entered it with the confidence and trust 
of all concerned.' Following his retirement from 
office he purchased an interest in a woolen mill 
but this proved unprofitable, and he then turned 
his attention to farming. In 1875 he purchased 
a fine farm and for a long period was active in its 
management, having eighty acres of land, which 
he brought under a high state of cultivation, so 
that he annually harvested good crops. He also 
had a comfortable residence there and other sub- 
stantial buildings, and he continued to reside upon 
his farm until 1905, when he removed to Barry. 
In the meantime he had extended the boundaries 
of his property until he owned two hundred and 
twenty acres of rich and productive land. 

In April, 1867, occurred the marriage of Wil- 
liam G. Hubbard and Miss Sarah A. Wike, a 
daughter of William and Hannah (Hagy) Wike. 
She was born in Pennsylvania, and her parents 
were also natives of the Keystone state, whence 
they came to Pike county in 1848, locating at the 
old Shields mill on Hadley creek. Her father 
died in 1850, leaving a wife and four children. 
Mrs. Hubbard being at that time nine years of age 
and the eldest child. In 1862 her mother married 
again, becoming the wife of Jordan Freeman, and 
her remaining days were passed in Pike county. 
where she died in April, 1881. 

Mr. Hubbard was an advocate of the democ- 
racy, and was called to several local offices, serv- 
ing as magistrate for a number of terms, and also 
as supervisor. He was prominent in community 
affairs and his opinion carried considerable weight 
and influence. He was a man whose friendship 
could always be counted upon if it was once 
gained. He possessed an even temperament, 
kindly disposition and a genial nature, and his 
genuine worth was recognized by all with whom 
he came in contact. He belonged to Barry lodge, 
No. 34. A. F. & A. M., to Barry chapter. No. 88, 
~R. A. M. and for twelve consecutive years served 



as secretary of the lodge. He passed away on 
the 1 7th of December, 1905, at the age of seven- 
ty-six years, and the community mourned the loss 
of one whom it had come to respect and honor 
as a man of sterling worth. 

Although his privileges in youth were some- 
what limited, and it was necessary for him to pro- 
vide for his own support from an early age, he 
made the most of his opportunities in life and by 
reading and observation became a well informed 
man. Moreover his business affairs were so di- 
rected that success resulted, and he left his family 
in comfortable financial circumstances. In all his 
dealings he was honorable and upright, and his 
traits of character made him one of nature's no- 
blemen. Mrs. Hubbard, still residing in Barry, 
is a faithful member of the Baptist church, and 
has ever been a great student of the Bible. 



A. L. RISER. 

A. L. Kiser, who is one of the active and 
thrifty farmers of Newburg township, living on 
section 23, owns and cultivates three hundred 
and twenty acres of land in connection with his 
father, and of this two hundred and ninety acres 
is situated in the home place, which is a neat and 
well improved property. Mr. Kiser was born in 
Newburg township, April 8, 1867, and is a rep- 
resentative of one of the pioneer families of the 
county. His father, David F. Kiser, was born 
in Indiana, May 17, 1841, the grandfather, Jacob 
L. Kiser, having come from Indiana, his native 
state, to Pike county at an early period in the 
development of this portion of Illinois. David 
F. Kiser was reared and educated in Newburg 
township and after reaching adult age was mar- 
ried to Miss Janetta Williams, who was born in 
Detroit township and is a daughter of Madison 
Williams, also one of the pioneer settlers of this 
state, having come to Pike county from North 
Carolina. Following his marriage Mr. Kiser 
settled on a farm in Newburg township, where he- 
carried on general agricultural pursuits for a 
number of vears and he now resides in Detroit. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY 



203 



Xo event of special importance occurred to 
vary the routine of farm life for A. L. Kiser in 
his boyhood and youth. He was educated in the 
schools of Detroit, worked upon the old home- 
stead and remained with his father up to the 
time of his marriage, which was celebrated in 
Detroit on the 2ist of November, 1888, Miss 
Ora Esther Sanderson becoming his wife. She 
is the youngest daughter of Reuben Sanderson 
and was born, reared and educated in Detroit. 
Following their marriage the young couple be- 
gan their domestice life in Detroit, where Mr. 
Kiser engaged in farming for two years, when 
in 1890 he located upon the farm where he now 
resides. He has since added to and remodeled 
the house and has put up about six hundred rods 
of good wire fencing. He has also made other 
improvements and has carried forward the work 
of cultivation until he has a splendidly developed 
property. In connection with the tilling of the 
soil he is engaged in feeding and raising hogs 
and cattle for the market and formerly also 
handled sheep. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kiser have become the parents 
of four children : Lorena A., Paul Wayne, Mil- 
dred Marie and Lucile Bernadine. In his polit- 
ical views Mr. Kiser has been a life-long repub- 
lican and is now serving as supervisor. He 
served on the ferries committee of which he was 
chairman and he is also a member of the com- 
mittee on salaried offices. He has been a dele- 
gate to numerous conventions of his party and 
has served as chairman of the township commit- 
tees of Detroit and Newburg township. His wife 
is a member of the Christian church and Mr. 
Kiser belongs to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows at Detroit, in which he has passed all of 
the chairs and is a past grand. He also served 
for two terms as district deputy and was a dele- 
gate to the grand lodge at one session. He like- 
wise has membership relations with the Mutual 
Protective League, a fraternal insurance order. 
Mr. Kiser is an industrious and prosperous 
farmer, a man of good business ability and of 
sterling character and worth. He is well known 
in Pittsfield and Pike county as one of its pub- 
lic-spirited citizens. The work which was insti- 
tuted by his grandfather and has been carried 



forward by his father both along lines of indi- 
vidual business interests and the public welfare 
has also been continued by him and his value and 
worth as a citizen is widely acknowledged. 



ALONZO LEONARD. 

To those who are familiar with the history of 
Alonzo Leonard it seems trite to say that he is 
a self-made man, whose splendid position in 
financial circles is attributable entirely to his own 
efforts, yet it is but just to say in a history that 
will descend to future generations that his busi- 
ness career is one that has excited the admiration 
and respect of his contemporaries, proving the 
power of energy, enterprise and keen discrimi- 
nation as forceful factors in business life. A na- 
tive of Kentucky he was born in the year 1850, 
a son of Samuel Leonard, who in 1852 removed 
to Missouri, where his son Alonzo was reared. 
He had a charter from this state for building a 
levee along the river bank before the war. In 
his family were seven children, of whom Alonzo 
was the youngest. 

Alonzo Leonard was educated in Missouri and 
in 1872 came to Pike county, where he has since 
resided. He worked by the month in the early 
years of his residence here and when he had ac- 
quired some capital embarked in business in 
Pittsfield. As the years passed by he prospered 
and eventually he turned his attention to the 
brokerage business which he has since followed. 
He is now a well known capitalist of Pike county, 
loaning money and conducting a business that 
has become of considerable extent and impor- 
tance. 

On the 2ist of September, 1873, Mr. Leonard 
was united in marriage to Miss Caroline I. 
Moore, a native of Iowa, and a daughter of 
Robert Moore, a carpenter of Pike county, who 
is still living here. They have one child, Charles 
A., who was born July 4, 1879, and was grad- 
uated from Yale University in the class of 1904. 
He is now associated with his father. The fam- 
ily home is on East Washington street in Pitts- 
field, where they have a pleasant residence. Mr. 



204 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Leonard is a member of the Christian church 
and in his political views is a republican. Start- 
ing out in life without financial assistance or in- 
fluence of friends to aid him he made steady ad- 
vancement on the road to prosperity, passing 
many upon the highway of life who started out 
more advantageously equipped. His success has 
been readily achieved, owing to his strong pur- 
pose that has enabled him to overcome difficul- 
ties and obstacles, his close application to what- 
ever task he has had in hand and his capable 
management. He has a wide acquaintance in 
Pittsfield and Pike county and is popular with 
his fellow townsmen who recognize his genuine 
worth, appreciate his kindly spirit and admire 
his consideration for others. 



MICHAEL G. BAUER. 

Michael G. Bauer, who is teacher in charge 
of the Pleasant Hill district school of Pike 
county, was born February 21, 1865, and is a 
son of George M. and Katharine (Reinhardt) 
Bauer, early settlers of this county. The father 
was engaged in general agricultural pursuits 
throughout his entire life, his labors being ended 
in death on the i8th of May, 1876, at which 
time he was making his home in Hardin town- 
ship. His widow still survives and now resides 
in Pittsfield. 

Michael G. Bauer spent the days of his boy- 
hood and youth in the usual manner of farm 
lads of the period. During the summer months 
he aided in the work of the fields and his prelim- 
inary education was acquired in the district 
schools near his father's home, but, anxious for 
better educational privileges, he afterward at- 
tended the Illinois College at Jacksonville for 
one year. In 1882 he began teaching, following 
that profession for several years, after which he 
rested for one year and then pursued his work in 
Illinois College. After leaving that institution 
he resumed teaching in Pike county and so con- 
tinued until 1898. In 1894 he became connected 
with his brothers, L. G., J. A. and W. H. Bauer, 
in a mercantile enterprise conducted under the 



firm style of Bauer Brothers, which relation was 
maintained for ten years. During the first four 
years of the firm's existence Mr. Bauer continued 
to teach school but afterward concentrated his 
energies upon the conduct of his commercial af- 
fairs. On the dissolution of the firm the mer- 
cantile stock was exchanged for a farm in New 
Salem township, Pike county, containing about 
two hundred acres of good land valued at about 
fifty dollars per acre. Mr. Bauer on retiring 
from commercial life resumed the work of teach- 
ing and is at present in charge of the Pleasant 
Hill district school. 

In 1898 occurred the marriage of Michael G. 
Bauer and Miss Minnie V. Hoover, a daughter 
of David J. and Amanda Hoover. He belongs 
to Robin Hood lodge, No. 415, K. P., of Milton, 
and also the Modern Woodmen camp, No. 922. 
He justly deserves all the praise implied in the 
term, a self-made man. When the father died he 
left an indebtedness of two thousand dollars 
which the sons paid off and all that they now 
possess has been acquired through their own la- 
bors. Mr. Bauer has worked diligently and en- 
ergetically and is known as one of the capable 
teachers of the county, having done much to raise 
the standard of public instruction in the locali- 
ties where he has lived. 



A. V. WILLS. 

A. V. Wills, who is extensively engaged in 
farming in Pike county and in connection with 
his sons is conducting a large drainage contract- 
ing business, utilizing eight dredges in the execu- 
tion of contracts which call him into various parts 
of the country, is a native son of this county, 
born on the I4th of February, 1849, his par- 
ents being W. R. and Lucy D. (Scott) Wills. 
The father was born in the state of New York 
in 1810, and when eight years of age accompan- 
ied his parents on their removal to Ohio, where 
he lived for eleven years. When a young man 
of nineteen in company with his younger brother. 
A. V. Wills, he arrived at New Orleans, where 
they remained for several months and upon his 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



205 



return to Ohio W. R. Wills, Sr., settled in Pike 
county, Illinois, where he worked as a laborer 
for six years. In 1836 he was married to Miss 
Sarah M. Cowles, who was born in New Hamp- 
shire in 1810. lie then removed to Atlas town- 
ship, Pike county, where he began farming but 
in July of the same year his wife died. He then 
sold his household effects and other possessions 
and made a trip to the east but after eight 
months returned to Pike county, where he was 
engaged in trading in various ways until 1838. 
He then married Miss Lucy D. Scott, who was 
born in New York in 1812, and was brought to 
Illinois in 1818. Following his second marriage 
he settled in Florence on the Illinois river, where 
he engaged in coopering for two years and then 
removed to Rockport, Pike county, where he 
acted as general superintendent of coopering, 
milling and pork packing enterprizes. For three 
years he was thus engaged and then desiring that 
his labors might more directly benefit himself he 
purchased a farm near Summer Hill, Atlas town- 
ship, and there engaged in general agricultural 
pursuits and stock-raising. After six years he 
sold that property and bought a large and valu- 
able tract of land in Pittsfield township on sec- 
tions 20 and 21, where he resided for many years, 
being extensively and successfully engaged in 
farming and stock-raising. Difficulties, ob- 
stacles and disadvantages met him on the jour- 
ney of life but he overcame these by determined 
and honorable effort and eventually became one 
of the large landowners of Pike county. He was 
a man of strong purpose, unfaltering determina- 
tion and unquestioned honor. Throughout his 
life he never used intoxicants and always lived so 
as to win the respect, confidence and trust of his 
fellowmen. 

In the common schools A. V. Wills acquired 
his education and remained at home 'until the 
death of his father in 1872. He afterwards- pur- 
chased the home place and has since resided 
thereon, owning two hundred and eighty acres in 
this tract, while he and his brother, W. R. Wills, 
own eight hundred and forty acres on the Mis- 
sissippi bottoms and A. V. Wills and his family 
own four hundred and eighty acres on the Illi- 
nois river bottom and one thousand acres in In- 



diana. He has thus become an extensive land- 
owner, having made judicious investment in 
property. He has always been engaged in the 
stock business, handling shorthorn cattle and 
blooded hogs and this has also proved to him a 
profitable source of income. The firm of A. V. 
Wills & Sons has become widely known as drain- 
age contractors. For fifteen years Mr. Wills 
has been engaged in this business and previously 
he served for fifteen years on the board of drain- 
age commissioners. The firm are now engaged 
in the operation of eight dredges, five in Mis- 
souri and three in Illinois and they have taken 
large contracts in Ohio, Indiana, Missouri and 
in this state, the business amounting to about two 
hundred thousand dollars annually. The firm 
are experts in their line giving special attention 
to the drainage of wet lands and their business 
has constantly grown in volume and importance 
until it brings annually a splendid remunera- 
tion. 

Mr. Wills was married in March, 1868, to 
Miss Elizabeth Halme, a native of Pike county, 
and a daughter of John Halme, a farmer and 
carpenter, who came to Illinois from England. 
In 1849 ne went to California across the plains 
but returned by the isthmus route. He then 
gave his attention to farming in Pike county 
and was a large stock dealer, buying and ship- 
ping cattle on an extensive scale. In fact he was 
the largest stock shipper in the county at that 
time. Following his return from California he 
settled upon a two-hundred-acre farm in Pitts- 
field township but eventually sold that property 
and bought four hundred acres just south of it. 
At one time he made his shipments over the Wa- 
bash but they owed him three thousand dollars 
rebate which he found difficult to collect. He 
then went to the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy 
Railroad Company and contracted to ship one 
hundred cars but his shipments amounted to 
nearly two hundred cars. The Wabash Com- 
pany afterward gave him the rebate and he fi- 
nally shipped over that line again. His ambitions 
as a stock dealer, however, almost caused his 
financial ruin about 1900. when he was seventy 
years of age. Mr. Wills then told him there was 
a place at his table whenever he desired to be- 



206 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



come a member of his home but he declined to 
do this and went instead to Adams county, Wash- 
ington, where he entered one hundred and sixty 
acres of land and began farming. Again pros- 
perity attended him and at the end of three years 
he returned to Pike county and paid all his debts. 
The increase in his land values and the products 
he has raised there have now made him worth 
about fifteen or twenty thousand dollars and at 
this time he is living retired in California with 
one child. When he went to Washington his 
sons, James and Elmore, born of his second mar- 
riage, and his son, John, a brother of Mrs. Wills, 
owned land in Washington but lived in Illinois. 
The last named gave his father what he could 
raise on his land in that frontier state and one 
year he produced forty thousand bushels of 
wheat. He is now enjoying a well earned rest 
at the advanced age of eighty-three years. By 
his first marriage he had four children and by 
the second union there were six. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Wills have been born nine 
children, who are yet living and they have lost 
their eldest, John R., who died in October, 1902. 
The others are : William, who is at home and 
is associated with his father in business; Emma, 
the wife of Charles Dunham, living near Griggs- 
ville; Millie F., who is the wife of W. L. Cham- 
berlain and resides near Bluffs, Scott county, Illi- 
nois ; Malinda, who is the wife of Walter Dilts, 
and resides at Maiden, Missouri, where she acts 
as bookkeeper for her father, while her husband 
is an assistant of Mr. Wills in his business inter- 
ests in that state; E. S., who is a member of the 
firm of A. V. Wills & Sons, and married Ethel 
Ellis, their home being in Maiden, Missouri ; 
Lucy, Glenn, Fred and Leslie, all at home. 

In politics Mr. Wills is a republican but has 
never sought or desired office. In the Masonic 
fraternity he has attained the Knight Templar 
degree and he also belongs to the Modern Wood- 
men camp and the Court of Honor, while in 
former years he affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pyth- 
ias. His wife is a member of the Christian 
church. Mr. Wills is a man of fine personal ap- 
pearance, splendid business and executive ability, 
of keen insight and of unfailing enterprise. He 



has never manifested a dilatory nor negligent 
spirit in any department of his work but has 
brought to his labors great energy and persever- 
ance and through capable management has ex- 
tended his labors until the breadth of his business 
interests prove a splendid foundation for success 
and he has become one of the substantial resi- 
dents of Pike county. 



CAREY A. MANKER. 

Carey A. Manker, a banker of Pearl, Illinois, 
was born June 9, 1861, in Darlington, Montgom- 
ery county, Indiana, and is a son of John J. and 
Tamnson (Wright) Manker. His father, J. J. 
Manker, was the president of the Bank of Elliott, 
now the First National Bank at Elliott, Iowa, es- 
tablished in 1884. His birth occurred in Hills- 
boro, Ohio, in 1818, and his wife was there born 
in 1821. The father died at Red Oak, Iowa. 
March 13, 1895, while the mother is still living in 
Red Oak at the advanced age of eighty-four years. 
In his day John J. Manker was a well known tem- 
perance lecturer and was one of those who were 
influential in securing the passage of the prohi- 
bition law in Iowa. 

Carey A. Manker spent the first eleven years of 
his life in the state of his nativity and in 1872 ac- 
companied his parents on their removal to Fre- 
mont county, Iowa, where they remained for five 
years, and then went to Red Oak, the county seat 
of Montgomery county, where John J. Manker 
purchased a flour mill, continuing to operate it 
until 1883. when he sold out. It was in the 
schools of Red Oak that Carey A. Manker ac- 
quired the greater part of his education, being 
graduated from the high school there in the class 
of 1882. Following his graduation he assisted 
his father in the mill as bookkeeper and in con- 
nection with other duties until the property was 
sold. In 1884 he became associated with his fa- 
ther and brother, H. E. Manker, in organizing the 
Bank of Elliott at Elliott. Iowa, and also the 
Louisville Bank at Louisville, Nebraska. Carey 
A. Manker took charge of the latter institution 
and' his brother, H. E. Manker, of the bank of 




C. A. MANKER 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



209 



Elliott. In 1887 Carey A. Manker disposed 
of his interests in the Louisville Bank and 
in partnership with C. H. Parmele and J. 
( ). McCain established the Bank of Com- 
merce at Louisville and in 1891 bought the Louis- 
ville Bank, which became merged into the Bank 
of Commerce. In 1892, however, Mr. Manker 
disposed of his interests and until 1895 was en- 
gaged in a private loan business. In that year he 
went to St. Louis, where he engaged in the mort- 
gage, loan and real-estate business until 1898, 
when he came to Pearl and on July I4th of the 
same year established the Bank of Pearl. He is 
now president of the. institution and jointly with 
B. Heavner owns the Hillview Bank at Hillview, 
Greene county, Illinois. He has erected a nice 
bank building in Pearl which was completed in 
August, 1905, and he is thoroughly familiar with 
the banking business, which he is carefully con- 
ducting, winning in the control of his interests a 
gratifying measure of success. In addition to the 
bank building he also owns considerable other 
property in Pearl and he has real-estate interests in 
Missouri, Texas, Nebraska, South Dakota and 
Virginia. 

Mr. Manker was married September 25, 1884, 
to Miss Florence Davis, a daughter of Joshua P. 
and Cecelia (James) Davis. Unto Mr. and Mrs. 
Manker have been born four children, three 
daughters and a son. namely: Genevieve M., who 
was born March 24, 1886. in Albion. Nebraska; 
Arthur A., born in Louisville, Nebraska, October 
8, 1887 ; Tamnson Marie, born June 5, 1891 ; and 
Florence R.. born in St. Louis, Missouri, May 4, 
1898. 

Mr. Manker is a valued representative of va- 
rious fraternal organizations. He is connected 
with the Knights of Pythias, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of 
America, the Court of Honor and the Mutual 
Protective League. In community affairs he is 
deeply and helpfully interested. When he came 
to Pearl he found the town in bad shape. Streets, 
sidewalks and almost every other public in- 
terest was in need of repair and improve- 
ment. Mr. Manker enthused others with his 
own desire for public advancement and progress 
and his fellow townsmen say of him that he has 



done more for Pearl than any other man resid- 
ing here. He has labored persistently and earn- 
estly for the general welfare and his efforts have 
been crowned with a gratifying measure of suc- 
cess, as is shown in the improved condition of the 
streets and in many other departments of town 
life. At the same time in the management of 
his active business interests Mr. Manker has dis- 
played excellent ability, keen discernment and sa- 
gacity and has worked his way upward to a 
prominent position among the successful men of 
this part of the state. 



GEORGE D. COOPER. 

....George' D'.' Cooper is the owner of a fine farm 
in Pike county" and fls also extensively and suc- 
cessfully engaged in stock-raising. He is one of 
the county's native sons, his birth having occurred 
in Martinsburg township on the i6th of June, 
1858. His paternal great-grandfather, George W. 
Cooper, is believed to have been a native of 
Georgia and removed from that state to Tennes- 
see. After a time he changed his residence to 
Kentucky and finally came to Illinois, settling in 
Morgan county, but later removed to southwestern 
Missouri and afterward took up his abode in 
Macon county, that state, where his remaining 
days were passed. He was one of the early resi- 
dents of Illinois and in the agricultural develop- 
ment of the state took a helpful part. A gentle- 
man of deep religious sentiment, he adhered 
closely to the teachings of the Bible and in early 
life held membership in the Methodist church, 
while later he was a firm believer in the doctrines 
of the Christian church. His political views were 
in accord with the principles of democracy. 

Asa D. Cooper, grandfather of George D. 
Cooper, was born in Kentucky and was reared in 
that state and in Tennessee. He came to Illinois 
in the early '305, making his first settlement in 
Morgan county, where he remained for several 
years. He then removed to Pike county and re- 
sided in Pittsfield for a time, after which he pur- 
chased eighty acres of land in Martinsburg town- 
ship, upon which there were no improvements. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



With characteristic energy, however, he began 
the development of a farm and after disposing of 
that property he and his brother became joint pur- 
chasers of one hundred and sixty acres of land on 
section 14, Martinsburg township, which they 
improved together. They were associated in their 
farming interests for some time, but eventually 
Asa Cooper bought out his brother's interest, con- 
tinuing to make the place his home until his life's 
labors were ended in death. In the meantime 
he had added to his property until he owned two 
hundred acres of land, the gi eater part of which 
was under a high state of cultivation and yielded 
to him excellent crops, so that he was enabled to 
add annually to his income. He was a believer in 
democratic principles but was without political 
aspiration for office. He held membership in the 
Christian church, with which he was long and 
helpfully identified, taking an active interest in its 
work. His death occurred in December, 1858, 
when he was forty-nine years of age. His wife 
bore the maiden name of Eleanor Goodin and was 
born in Saline county, Missouri, in 1818, but her 
death occurred in Pike county, Illinois, in 1855. 
She was an earnest and faithful member of the 
Christian church, living in harmony with her 
professions and her life was filled with many 
good deeds and gracious acts. 

John H. Cooper, son of Asa and Eleanor 
(Goodin) Cooper, was born where Pittsfield now 
stands on the loth of October 1836, and is one of 
the oldest native citizens of Pike county. He was 
reared amid the refining influences of a good 
Christian home and it was the aim of his parents 
to prepare their children to meet the practical and 
responsible duties of life and to win respect and 
confidence through honesty and well doing. He 
attended the pioneer schools which were sup- 
ported by subscription and which convened in a 
primitive log schoolhouse supplied with open 
fire place, while a writing desk was formed by 
placing a slab upon pins driven into the wall. The 
other furniture was equally primitive and the 
methods of instruction were crude as compared to 
those of the present day. At that time the teacher 
"boarded round" among the scholars and his com- 
ing was an event in any family, giving an intel- 
lectual tone to the household and at the same time 



probably improving the larder, as the mistress of 
the home felt that her reputation as a cook and 
housewife was at stake. It was under such condi- 
tions that John H. Cooper acquired his education. 
He can well remember seeing deer and turkeys in 
considerable numbers in Pike county during his 
boyhood. He spent the winter months as a stu- 
dent in the public schools and in the summer sea- 
sons worked upon the home farm until eighteen 
years of age, when he started out in life on his 
own account, being employed first as a farm hand. 
When he attained his majority he was married 
and located upon a rented farm, thus carrying on 
agricultural pursuits for ten years. The capital 
which he saved during that period enabled him to 
purchase one hundred and eighty acres of land in 
Martinsburg township where he now resides, the 
so-called "improvements" consisting of a small 
house and twenty acres under cultivation. With 
characteristic energy he began placing his fields 
under cultivation and he erected good buildings 
and fences. The splendid appearance of the farm 
at the present time is due to the efforts and energy 
of John H. Cooper, who has led a busy, useful 
and practical life and his years of industry have 
been crowned with success. From time to time 
as his financial resources permitted he would add 
other lands to his holdings until he now owns five 
hundred and seventeen acres constituting a very 
valuable property. He has carried on farming 
operations on an extensive scale and he has han- 
dled a large number of cattle and other stock. At 
one time he was extensively engaged in feeding 
stock and his business interests were carefully 
controlled and brought to him a most gratifying 
financial return. In 1875 he built upon his farm 
a nice residence which he yet occupies. 

On the ist of February 1857, John H. Cooper 
was united in marriage to Miss Mary Moomaw, 
who was born October 29, 1839, in Ohio but was 
reared in Pike county, Illinois, her parents having 
come to this county in 1843. She was a daughter 
of Jacob Moomaw, who was born in Virginia in 
17116 and when a young man went to Ohio. There 
he resided and in 1821 was married to Miss Eliza- 
beth Ohmart, whose birth occurred in Virginia. 
December 16, 1798. She lived to the advanced 
age of eighty-seven years. Her father was a 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



farmer 'and on removing to this state made the 
journey by wagon with a four-horse team, being 
six weeks upon the road, during which time the 
family camped out at nightfall by the roadside, 
traveling only during the hours of the day. At 
length Mr. Moomaw purchased a farm on section 
n, Martinsburg township and finally became an 
extensive agriculturist by reason of his capable 
management of his business interests during the 
early days of pioneer development here. He died 
November 16, 1847. H' s study of the political 
issues and questions of the day led him to give his 
support to the democratic party. He was a mem- 
ber of the German Baptist church and was elected 
to the ministry and labored earnestly in the cause. 
The maternal great-grandfather of George D. 
Cooper was John Aloomaw, a native of Germany 
who was .brought to America by his parents in his 
infancy, but his mother died on shipboard during 
the passage. Eventually he became a farmer, liv- 
ing in Virginia for many years, but his death oc- 
curred in Ross county, Ohio, at a ripe old age. 
The maternal grandfather of Mrs. John H. 
Cooper was Adam Ohmart, who was born in 
Maryland and was of German parentage. He also 
was a farmer, devoting his life to general agricul- 
tural pursuits. In Pennsylvania he was married, 
after which he lived for a time in Virginia but 
made his final settlement in Logan county, Ohio. 
His wife, Ann Weaver, was born in the Keystone 
state and was of German lineage, her parents hav- 
ing emigrated to this country from the fatherland. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ohmart had fifteen children, thir- 
teen of whom reached adult age. The mother 
lived to an advanced age, dying in the same 
country as her husband. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. John H. Cooper are mem- 
bers of the Christian church, interested in its work 
and taking an active' part in its development and 
progress. Mr. Cooper is a democrat and was 
township collector in 1873. He has also served 
as road commissioner and in all matters of citizen- 
ship is reliable and trustworthy. His Christian 
character, intelligent mind and enterprising habits 
have secured for him a high standing as a farmer 
and a citizen and won for him the -respect of all 
who know him. Since his retirement from the 
more active labors of the farm he has spent sev- 



eral winters in Texas, California and Colorado. 
In the family were four children, all of whom are 
yet living, and the parents both survive, their 
home being seven miles south of Pittsfield. 
George D. Cooper was educated in the common 
schools and in Pittsfield high school, being thus 
well equipped for life's practical and responsible 
duties. He remained at home until twenty-one 
years of age and then removed to a farm which 
he purchased of his father in Martinsburg town- 
ship. He had already become familiar with the 
best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the 
crops and when he removed to a farm of his own 
he brought to his work excellent experience and 
sound and discriminating judgment, so that as the 
years passed he prospered in his undertakings. 
Upon the first farm he remained until 1890, when 
he bought the property upon which he now lives 
on section 29, Pittsfield township. Here he owns 
two hundred and five and a half acres of land 
constituting a splendid property, in the midst of 
which stands a fine two-story frame residence. 
In the rear are many good buildings including a 
barn and sheds for the shelter of grain and stock. 
His land is under a high state of cultivation and 
Mr. Cooper is well known as a stockman and an 
extensive shipper. He also owns one hundred 
and thirty-seven and a half acres of land adjoining 
the home farm which was given him by his 
father and from which he derives the income, 
but his father still holds the title to the property. 
In July, 1879, occurred the marriage of George 
D. Cooper and Miss Addie L. Barton, who was 
born in Montgomery county, Missouri, in July, 
1862, and was a daughter of M. A. and Mary F. 
Barton. The parents came to Pike county in 1864, 
locating in Martinsburg township, where they 
owned five hundred and fifty-eight acres of land. 
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Cooper have been born five 
children. Virgil N., born in 1881, married Grace 
R. West, by whom he has one son, Lindle. They 
reside upon a farm in Pittsfield township. Elsie 
W., born in February, 1883, is living at home. 
She was educated in the high school of Pittsfield 
and successfully engaged in teaching school for 
four year's. Julia M. Cooper, born in January, 
1885, was educated in the Pittsfield high school 
and is also at home. Emmett J., born March 24, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



1887, was a high-school student in Pittsfield. and 
is yet with his parents. Elma L., born June 10, 
1894, completes the family. 

Mr. and Mrs. Cooper hold membership in the 
Christian church and he belongs to Summer Hill 
camp. No. 1053. M. W. A. He also carries life 
insurance in the Northwestern Life Insurance 
Company. He votes with the republican party, 
but the honors and emoluments of office have had 
no attraction for him and he has preferred to con- 
centrate his attention and energy upon his busi- 
ness interests. He has been very successful and 
now has a fine place. Moreover he is popular, be- 
ing well liked by all who know him, a fact which 
indicates that his life has shown those traits of 
character which everywhere command respect, 
confidence and good will. He represents one of 
the oldest pioneer families of Pike county and the 
name of Cooper has ever been a synonym for 
business activity and integrity and for good 
citizenship. 



CHARLES SHADEL. 

Charles Shade!, living in Pittsfield, is one of 
the active business men of the city where for 
thirty-five years he has carried on a meat mar- 
ket and a representative of business integrity as 
well as commercial enterprise. He dates his res- 
idence in the county from 1867 and, as the name 
indicates, he is a native of Germany, his birth 
having occurred in Wurtemberg, on the gth of 
November, 1840. There he was reared to man- 
hood, receiving good educational privileges in 
his native town but in English he is self-educated. 
He learned the butcher's trade in his native land 
and for over fifty years has devoted his time and 
energies to the business, his success being due in 
no small measure to the fact that he has perse- 
vered in the line of business activity in which he 
embarked as a young tradesman. He emigrated 
to the new world in 1867, taking passage at Bre- 
men for New York and in the spring he 
came to Detroit. Michigan, arriving at his desti- 
nation on Easter Sunday He spent six months 
in Jackson, Michigan, and at Ann Arbor and la- 
ter made his way to Chicago, where he worked 



in meat markets. In 1867 he arrived in Pitts- 
field and afterward spent one fall and winter in 
Milton. On the expiration of that period he re- 
moved to St. Joseph, Logan county, where he 
established a shop, conducting the business for 
about two years, when in 1871 he sold out and 
came to Pittsfield. Here he purchased a business 
and has since been a representative of the trade 
in the county seat. He had soon secured a good 
patronage and many of his patrons have given 
him their business support for years a fact 
which indicates that his methods have ever been 
honorable and his dealings straightforward and 
reliable. 

In 1872 Mr. Shadel was united in marriage to 
Miss Louisa Yaeger, a daughter of Andrew Yae- 
ger and a sister of John Yaeger who is men- 
tioned elsewhere in this work. Mr. and Mrs. 
Shadel have nine children who are living : 
Laura, at home ; Anna, the wife of Joseph Sav- 
ior, of St. Louis, Missouri, who is with the Sim- 
mons Hardware Company ; William, at home ; 
Ida, a stenographer in Dallas City, Illinois ; Ro- 
sella, Albert, Helen, Flora and Frank, who- are 
also under the parental roof. They also lost a 
daughter, Clara, who died at the age of six 
months. 

Politically Mr. Shadel is a stanch democrat but 
has never had aspiration for office, giving his 
time and attention in undivided manner to his 
business interests in which he has met with grati- 
fying success. He has erected his business 
house, which is a good brick block, and has also 
built an attractive residence in the town and in 
addition owns three other buildings here. He 
also owns two farms adjoining the corporate 
limits of the city, comprising one hundred and 
sixty acres in one and eighty acres in another. 
He commenced life empty-handed but has stead- 
ily progressed and his valuable property holdings 
are the visible evidence of his life of well directed 
and earnest effort crowned with successful ac- 
complishment. He belongs to the Masonic fra- 
ternity in which he has taken the degrees of the 
lodge, chapter and commandery and for a num- 
ber of years has served as treasurer of both the 
lodge and chapter. He likewise belongs to Pitts- 
field lodge, I. O. O. F., and he and his wife are 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



213 



members of the Lutheran church, having been 
reared in that faith. They are highly esteemed 
and worthy residents of the community and Mr. 
Shadel stands as a splendid type of the German- 
American citizen who has brought to America 
the strong and commendable characteristics of 
his race, and through the improvement of oppor- 
tunity in the new world has steadily advanced, 
winning a competence and an honorable name. 



JAMES L. TERRY. 

James L. Terry, whose life of activity has been 
crowned with success so that he is now living a 
retired life in Barry, is a native of Richmond. 
Virginia, his birth having occurred on the I7th 
of January, 1828. During his infancy his par- 
ents, Archibald and Nancy (Tombs) Terry, re- 
moved from the Old Dominion to Kentucky. 
They were also natives of Virginia, both born 
in 1799 and the father died in 1851, at the age 
of fifty-two years, while his wife passed away in 
1846. They had been married in the state of 
their nativity and they reared a family of ten 
children, of whom James L. Terry is the only 
one now living. The father was a farmer by oc- 
cupation and following his removal to Kentucky 
in 1829 he there engaged in the tilling of the soil 
and raising of tobacco on an extensive scale. He 
was also active and influential in community af- 
fairs and served as constable for some time. He 
held membership in the Methodist church and 
his life was upright and honorable, being in 
strict conformity with his professions. 

James L. Terry was practically reared in Ken- 
tucky, where he remained until 1848. when, at 
the age of twenty years, he came to Pike county, 
Illinois. Here he worked in a woolen mill for a 
year and he learned the carpenter's trade under 
the direction of his wife's father. Throughout 
the remainder of his business career he was 
identified with building operations and assisted 
in the construction of thirteen mills. lie was also 
connected with the building of residences in his 
part of the county and on many sides are seen 
evidences of his handiwork and skill. To his 



energy and capability in this direction is attribu- 
table the acquirement of a competence that now 
enables him to live retired. 

On the 6th of November, 1851, Mr. Terry 
was united in marriage to Miss Alzina Liggett, 
who was born in Griggsville, August 9, 1835, 
and was a daughter of Alexander Blair and Mar- 
garet (Phillips) Liggett, the former a native of 
Dayton, Ohio, and the latter of Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. They were married in Griggsville and 
unto this union were born thirteen children, four 
of whom are now living, namely : Mrs. Alzina 
Terry ; George W. Liggett, who resides in Barry ; 
Mrs. Chloe Coleman, the wife of James Cole- 
man ; and Mrs. Clara Tower, the wife of Joseph 
Tower. The father was a contractor and builder 
and at an early day engaged in building steam- 
boats as well as house building. In later years he 
engaged in the drug business in Kinderhook and 
throughout his life was an energetic, enterpris- 
ing citizen, whose activity contributed to the in- 
dustrial and commercial progress of the commu- 
nity in which he made his home. He belonged 
to Barry lodge, No. 34. A. F. & A. M., Barry 
chapter, No. 88, R. A. M., and also to the council. 
His early religious faith was that of the Metho- 
dist church but in later years he joined the Bap- 
tist church. Politically he was a democrat. He 
died very suddenly at Kinderhook in 1871, at the 
age of sixty-two years, while his wife passed 
away at the age 'of sixty years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Terry have become the parents 
of ten children, eight of whom are now living: 
Helena, the wife of Dr. Watson, of Griggsville: 
Lucile, who is living in St. Louis, Missouri ; Mrs. 
Margaret Yokem. who resides at Atlas, Illinois ; 
Eugene, living in Oklahoma: Mrs. Anna Meyer, 
of St. Louis ; George, of Barry : Alice, the wife 
of James B. Allen, of Denver, Colorado, and a 
member of the Eastern Star : and Frank, who is 
living in St. Louis. 

James L. Terry votes with the democracy and 
held the office of assessor for seven consecutive 
years, while for two terms he was collector of 
Barry township. His fellow townsmen, recogniz- 
ing his worth and ability, called him to office and 
he proved most faithful to the trust reposed in 
him by reason of his prompt and capable dis- 



214 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



charge of duty. He, too, is a worthy and exem- 
plary Mason, belonging to Barry lodge, No. 34, 
A. F. & A. M., which he joined in 1849. He is 
now the oldest Mason in Barry, the lodge here 
having been organized in October, 1845. ^ n 
1850 he became a charter Mason of Barry chap- 
ter, No. 88, R. A. M. and for nineteen years he 
has been tyler of the lodge. He also held the 
same office in Eastern Star lodge. He is thor- 
oughly informed concerning the teachings of 
Masonry and in his life has displayed the spirit 
of brotherly kindness and mutual helpfulness 
which constitutes the basic elements in this or- 
organization. He has long since passed the 
Psalmist's span of three score years and ten, hav- 
ing in fact reached the seventy-eighth milestone 
on life's journey. In a review of his career we 
find many commendable qualities and personal 
traits which have made his life an upright one. 
He has displayed conscientious zeal and activity 
in citizenship and fidelity in friendship and now 
in the evening of life he receives the veneration 
and respect which should ever be accorded one 
who has advanced thus far upon life's journey. 



GEORGE E. PRATT. 

George E. Pratt, who is now living retired, 
after close connection with industrial interests 
in which his indefatigable industry brought him 
a gratifying measure of success, makes his home 
in Griggsville in the enjoyment of a rest which 
he has truly earned and richly deserves. His 
birth occurred March 19, 1839, in the city which 
is still his home, his parents being George and 
Elizabeth (Wilson) Pratt, both of whom were 
natives of Massachusetts. The father was born 
in Cohasset. Massachusetts. August 5, 1812, and 
was descended from New England ancestors who 
settled in this country at an early period in its 
colonization, the first of the name in America be- 
ing Phineas Pratt, who crossed the Atlantic on 
the third ship which came to the new world after 
the Mayflower made the famous voyage in 1620. 
He had been armor bearer to the king. His son, 



who also bore the name of Phineas Pratt, was a 
surveyor of the early government and a noted 
lawyer of his day. Zadoc Pratt was a descendant 
in direct line of 'Phineas Pratt, and his son was 
the distinguished Judge Pratt, of New York city. 

Thomas Pratt, the great-grandfather of our 
subject, was a farmer in the old town of Co- 
hasset, Massachusetts, and in early manhood 
wedded Miss Betsy Neil. They reared a family 
of twelve children, including Jobe Pratt, who 
became a farmer and lived and died on a tract of 
land given to him by his father at Cohasset. His 
wife bore the maiden name of Lucretia Oaks, 
and was a daughter of Haugh and Susan (Lath- 
rop) Oaks, the former a major in the Revolu- 
tionary war and afterward was commissioned in 
the navy. He became captain of a vessel and on 
one occasion captured a supply ship of the 
enemy, his portion of the salvage amounting to 
two thousand dollars. With this money he pur- 
chased a homestead. His wife was a daughter 
of Colonel Lathrop, also a Revolutionary officer. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lathrop, the maternal great- 
grandparents of Mr. Pratt, reared five daughters, 
three of whom married and settled in Vermont. 

Jobe and Lucretia (Oaks) Pratt became the 
parents of five children, of whom George Pratt, 
father of our subject, was the third in order of 
birth. Of the others, James became a seaman 
and was promoted until he was an officer of a 
vessel when but twenty-one years of age and was 
master of a ship before he was thirty. He died 
at sea.. Sarah Pratt is the deceased wife of 
Thomas - Brown, of Cohasset. Massachusetts. 
Jobe was a mechanic in the service of the gov- 
ernment and made his home in Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, up to the time of his death. Thomas 
Pratt is now living in Alabama. He was a gov- 
ernment official during the Civil war, was cap- 
tured by the rebels and being offered the posi- 
tion of nurse of the rebel prisoners on a parole 
he took care of a young man who proved to be 
the son of a rich planter and thus won the good 
graces of the family. They succeeded in obtain- 
ing the money which had been taken from him 
at the time of his capture and also hospitably 
entertained them in their home. He was a pris- 
oner of war for a long time but finally was ex- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



changed and came north, returning to the south 
some years later to engage in business. 

After losing his first wife Jobe Pratt was 
married to Patience Cole, and they had one son, 
Harvey, who responded to the president's call 
for troops soon after the outbreak of the Civil 
war, serving in a Massachusetts regiment 
throughout the period of hostilities, taking part 
in many of the most sanguinary engagements. 
He was at one time wounded. He entered the 
service as a private but after being paroled be- 
came" a non-commissioned officer. Prior to the 
war he engaged in farming and after his mili- 
tary experience turned his attention to speculat- 
ing and other business ventures. 

George Pratt, father of George E. Pratt, ac- 
quired his education in the public schools of his 
native state and aided in the farm work until six- 
teen years of age, when he went to sea, spending, 
the succeeding six years on shipboard. He then 
located in Cambridgeport, Massachusetts, but in 
the spring of 1837 started for Alton, Illinois. 
He made the journey by stage to Albany, New 
York, by canal to Buffalo and thence by way of 
the Great Lakes to Chicago and by stage to his 
destination. It was his intention to engage in 
the pork and beef packing business in Alton but 
not being pleased with the city and its outlook 
he , came to Griggsville, Pike county, where 1 he 
established a meat packing business, also doing 
his own cooperage. He here felled trees to majce 
his barrels and formed and cut the hooppoles and 
he not only manufactured barrels for his own use 
but also sold to other packers. In 1845 ne joined 
J. D. P>attles in a mercantile enterprise and as 
he found opportunity made investment in real 
estate and before long became extensively en- 
gaged in buying and selling property, in making 
loans and buying bonds and other securities. He 
thus continued until about 1880, after which he 
retired from active life, enjoying a well earned 
rest throughout his remaining days. 

In public affairs Mr. Pratt was quite promi- 
nent, acting as supervisor for many years and do- 
ing effective service for the county as a member 
of the board. He was also county commissioner 
and acted on the school board for several years, 
discharging all his official duties with credit to 



himself and satisfaction to his constituents. An 
active and earnest member of the Congregational 
church he served as deacon in Griggsville for 
many years, joining the church here on its or- 
ganization. He contributed most generously to 
its support and in fact was liberal in his dona- 
tions to all church and benevolent work. His 
political allegiance was given to the democracy 
Until Abraham Lincoln became the candidate of 
the republican party, after which he espoused 
the principles of the latter organization. He died 
May 2 5 J 893> m m s eighty-first year, and thus 
passed away one of the honored pioneer resi- 
dents of the county whose labors contributed to 
public progress and improvement as well as to 
individual success. On the I2th of June, 1838, 
George Pratt had been united in marriage to 
Miss Elizabeth B. Wilson, the wedding taking 
place in Griggsville. Mrs. Pratt was a native 
of Boston, and died in March, 1849, leaving a 
son and daughter : George E., who is living re- 
tired in Griggsville; and Elizabeth, the wife of 
E. W. Plummer, of Scio, Rollins county, Kan- 
sas. After losing his first wife he was again 
married, Emeline J. Battles, a native of Boston, 
becoming his wife. She was a daughter of Dr. 
J. D. and Catherine (Johnson) Battles. Her 
death occurred June 28, 1868, and she is sur- 
vived by two sons: Albert J., now of Jackson- 
ville; and Franklin Pierce, of Griggsville. On 
the i8th of November,, 1869, Mr. Pratt married 
Miss Anna M. Tyler, a daughter of Aaron Ty- 
ler, who was born in Bath. Maine, and passed 
away in July, 1887. 

In the public schools of Griggsville George E. 
Pratt acquired his education and in his youth he 
learned the cooper's trade, thus working with his 
father until eighteen years of age. when he be- 
gan clerking in a store for seven dollars per 
month. He was advanced in recognition of his 
capability and faithful service until he was paid 
one hundred dollars per month. He continued 
in this business until 1880. when he went into 
business for himself, erecting one of the best 
store buildings in the town. This he still owns 
and he conducted his store until 1893. His part- 
ner. E. W. Baxter, died in 1892 and the follow- 
in"; year Mr. Pratt retired from business and has 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY 



since enjoyed a' well earned ease. He is the vice 
president of the Griggsville National Bank, presi- 
dent of the Opera House Company, one of the 
directors of the Illinois Valley Fair Association, 
and a trustee of the Griggsville cemetery but is 
not active in the management of any of these 
enterprises. 

On the 23d of July, 1864, Mr. Pratt was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary L. Bennett, who was 
born July 12, 1844, in New York, a daughter 
of Emanuel and Martha (Burdick) Bennett, the 
former a native of Maine and the latter of New 
York. Both are now deceased. The father 
came to Illinois at an early date, casting in his 
lot with the pioneer settlers of Griggsville town- 
ship in the '405. He purchased a farm of one 
hundred and sixty acres and was one of the in- 
dustrious agriculturists and stock-raisers of the 
community, carefully managing his farming in- 
terests until within twenty years of his death, 
when he lived retired in Griggsville. He was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church and 
in politics was a democrat. His son, Dr. Mor- 
gan Bennett, now deceased, was a Methodist 
Episcopal minister. In his family were three 
sons and four daughters, of whom four are now 
living: Mrs. Pratt; Joseph, who married Ann 
Patton and resides in Griggsville ; Lucy, who is 
the widow of Richard Wade and is living in 
Griggsville ; and Minnie, the wife of William 
Russell, a resident of Denver. Colorado. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Pratt have been born six 
children but only two are now living: Minnie 
A., born January 26, 1865. is the wife of M. M. 
Lasbury, of Griggsville. Fay M., born March 
8. 1883, is the wife of Don C. Sanders, living in 
Fort Worth, Texas. 

Mr. Pratt has served as alderman of Griggs- 
ville for twenty years, a record equalled by no 
other citizen, and it is safe to say that no one 
has rendered more effective and valuable service 
in behalf of community interests. He was also 
school director for twenty rears. He holds 
membership in Griggsville lodge. No. 45, A. F. 
& A. M., and was made a Mason in 1863. For 
a long period he was treasurer of the lodge and 
has ever been most faithful to its teachings. In 
politics he has always been a democrat. A life 



of activity has been crowned with a gratifying 
measure of success. He is wholly worthy, the 
respect which is freely tendered him and his 
name is synonymous with honorable dealing and 
with all that is beneficial to the city and county. 



WILLIAM B. GRIMES. 

Among the residents of Pittsfield who are thor- 
oughly acquainted with the development of Pike 
county and have been prominently associated with 
its progress and improvement for many years is 
William B. Grimes, at one time county judge for 
four years, having been elected in 1894. He has 
filled other public offices with credit to himself 
and satisfaction to his constituents and is one of 
the most prominent Masons of this part of the 
state. He .took up his abode in Pike county when 
only eight years of age. 

His father, James Grimes, who was born in 
County Down, Ireland, on the 8th of January. 
1779, came to the United States with his parents 
when a youth of five years. The grandfather set- 

.tled 'first in South Carolina but afterward re- 
moved to Kentucky. In the latter state James 
Grimes attained adult age and was there mar- 
ried to Miss Nancy Davis, who was born in Bar- 
ton county, Kentucky, in February, 1797. In 
1822 he removed with his family to White county, 
Illinois, where he resided on a farm about twelve 
years and then took up his abode in Greene 
county, this state. In February, 1836, he came to 
Pike county, settling in the midst of the forest, 
five miles south of the village of Milton. There 
he began the development and improvement of a 

farm but after some years took up his abode in 
the village where he spent his remaining days, 
passing away September 9, 1873, when he had 
reached the advanced age of eighty-five years. He 
held a lieutenant's commission during the Black 
Hawk war and served as justice of the peace for 
twenty years. In his family were nine children : 
T. Martin, John D.. Milton. Lucinda. Marv J., 
Elizabeth H., Louisa, Francis M., and William 
B. All are now deceased with exception of Mil- 
ton and William B. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



219 



William B. Grimes was born near Carmi. 
White county, Illinois, November 25, 1828, and 
was but eight years of age when brought by his 
parents to Pike county. He mastered the branches 
of learning taught in the early schools of that day. 
The schoolhouses were built of logs, were fur- 
nished in a crude manner and the methods of in- 
struction were equally primitive. In the summer 
months Mr. Grimes worked at farm labor and he 
remained at home until he had attained his major- 
ity, when he crossed the plains to California in 
1850, spending the succeeding two years in min- 
ing. He met with a fair measure of success while 
there and then returned to Pike county, settling 
at Milton, where he built the first sawmill at that 
place. He was associated in this enterprise with 
James L. Grimes, the partnership continuing for 
about two years, when they abandoned the mill, 
deciding that the venture had proved an unwise 
investment. Not long after this Mr. Grimes be- 
came a hardware merchant in Milton, carrying 
both shelf and heavy hardware and tinware. In 
this business he was more successful and con- 
ducted the store until 1869, when he was called 
to public office by the vote of his fellow citizens. 
Having been elected county clerk he removed to 
Pittsfield and entered upon the duties of the office 
in December, 1869. He faithfully served in that 
capacity for four years and upon his retirement 
from office re-entered commercial circles, this time 
as proprietor of a lumberyard in Pittsfield. In 
1877 he was appointed county clerk and after- 
ward filled the office of deputy county treasurer 
for four years, while in 1886 he resumed his posi- 
tion in the county clerk's office under V. A. 
Grimes. For two years he was a member of the 
board of supervisors and was also chairman of the 
body. He likewise held the office of township 
treasurer of Montezuma for a number of years 
and the various duties that devolved upon him 
have been performed so capably and promptly that 
he has won high encomiums from people of both 
parties. In politics he is an earnest democrat, 
unfaltering in his allegiance to the party princi- 
ples. He is a gentleman of courteous bearing, of 
kindly spirit and of strong intellectuality, and has 
stored his mind with useful knowledge. He also 
possesses superior musical talent and has devoted 



considerable attention to teaching vocal music, 
many residents of the county having been his 
pupils. 

Mr. Grimes has also attained prominence in 
connection with his work in behalf of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity. He joined Pittsfield lodge, No. 
56, A. F. & A. M'., in 1852, later was worshipful 
master and afterward became a charter member 
and worshipful master of Milton lodge, No. 275, 
while subsequently he became a charter member of 
Pittsfield lodge, No. 790, A. F. & A. M. During 
his long connection with the fraternity he has con- 
ferred degrees upon a large number of Masons 
and has taken great pleasure in this work. In 
1875 he was appointed deputy grand lecturer of 
the state and in 1879 was made a member of the 
board of examiners and was elected president of 
that board in 1892. In 1858 he received the Mark 
Master degree in Union chapter. No. 10, and in 
1859 was exalted to the degree of Royal Arch 
Mason. In 1868 he became one of the organizers 
of the chapter at Milton, where he was elected 
king and later high priest. After coming to Pitts- 
field he was an active member of Union chapter. 
Xo. TO, serving for a long time as principal so- 
journer and for several terms as high priest. In 
1870 he received the council degrees in Barry 
council. No. 23, R. & S. M., and in 1872 he as- 
sisted in organizing M. J. Noyes council. No. 59, 
R. & S. M., and was its first thrice illustrious 
master. In 1889 he was elected master of the 
first veil of the grand chapter, since which time 
he has held the office of king. In 1898 he was 
elected grand high priest of the state and served 
for one year, while for twenty.-one years he was 
grand examiner and is still grand lecturer. He 
is now one of the grand stewards, having been 
appointed in 1892 with three other venerable men, 
their ages being seventy-four, seventy-six and 
eighty-five years while Mr. Grimes is seventy- 
seven years of age. 

Mr. Grimes has been married twice. In 1853 
he wedded Miss Alice A. Shock, at that time a 
resident of Milton. She was born in Ohio and 
was a daughter of Andrew and Margaret (Rep- 
sher) Shock, natives of Pennsylvania. They had 
three children: Mrs. Delia Hanes; Ira A.: and 
H. W.. who died when five months old. The 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



wife and mother departed this life in May, 1861, 
and in October, 1862, Mr. Grimes was again 
married, his second union being with Nancy J. 
Greathouse, who was born in April, 1841, a 
daughter of Bonaparte Greathouse, one of the 
first settlers of the county, who died in 1850. By 
the second marriage there were three children : 
Ida, the wife of William H. Allen ; Alice, who 
married Benton Colvin but both have passed 
away, leaving one son, Raymond, who resides in 
East St. Louis, Illinois ; and Laura, the wife of 
A. C. Bentley, editor of the Times of Pittsfielcl. 

Mr. Grimes is now living retired in Pittsfielcl, 
where he is most highly esteemed by reason of his 
honorable business record, his devotion to the 
general welfare while in office and his fidelity to 
his professions as a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity. He is a man of pleasing address, of un- 
flinching principle and unquestioned integrity, and 
yet withal possesses that practical common sense 
which never runs to extremes and it is no won- 
der that wherever he goes he has won friends. 
His life has been well spent and his honorable and 
useful career is worthv of emulation. 



J. D. HESS. 

J. D. Hess, a prominent attorney of Pike county 
residing in Pittsfield, was born near Milton in this 
county in 1856, a son of William and Catherine 
(Wagner) Hess. The paternal grandfather, 
David Hess, came to Illinois from Brown county, 
Ohio, in 1828, and settled in Greene county, this 
state. He was a fermer by occupation, and was 
very successful in the management and control 
of his business affairs. In 1836 he came to Pike 
county, Illinois, locating in Pearl township. He 
owned and operated five hundred acres of land 
in this county, and was one of the leading and 
prosperous agriculturists here. His death oc- 
curred about 1881, when he had reached the age 
of seventy-two years. 

His son, William Hess, father of our subject, 
accompanied his parents on their removal from 
Greene county to Pike county and was here reared 
to manhood, pursuing his education in the com- 



mon schools. He has followed farming through- 
out his entire life and is still actively engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. He owns about one thou- 
sand acres of land in Pike county, and also some 
outside the county, a fact which indicates his ex- 
cellent business ability, judicious investment and 
careful control of his property. In 1849 he drove 
an ox team across the plains to California, re- 
maining for three years on the Pacific coast, after 
which he made his way homeward by the isthmus 
route, bringing with him forty-five hundred dol- 
lars in gold, which he had saved as the result of 
his labors in the mines. When he was a young 
man he taught school, but the greater part of his 
life has been devoted to agricultural pursuits, and 
he is to-day one of the most prosperous farmers 
of this part of .the state. He is also prominent in 
public affairs, and has exerted considerable influ- 
ence in political circles. He has been prominent 
and influential in community affairs, having 
served for several terms as supervisor of his town- 
ship, and he has also been the candidate for county 
treasurer on the populist ticket. He was one of 
the building committee at the time of the erection 
of the county courthouse. Fraternally he is con- 
nected with Masonic lodge, and religiously with 
the Christian church. He, lost his first wife in 
1857 and in 1862 was married again, his second 
union being with Miss Minerva Smith, who was 
born and reared in Pearl township, Pike county, 
and is a daughter of Constantine Smith, one of the 
early settlers of the county, and one of the first 
officials of Pearl township. By the second mar- 
riage there were nine children born, of whom one 
died in infancy, the others being: L. C., an at- 
torney and now assistant United States attorney 
at Fairbanks, Alaska : W. H., who was a fanner 
and died in September, 1903 ; Lee, who is living at 
home with his father; Sarah A., the wife of W. 
L. Coley, a lawyer .of East St. Louis, Illinois : Eva 
B., who was the wife of Sidney Crawford, a 
fanner, and died in. 1905 ; Ada B., who is married 
and lives in San Antonio, Texas; Blanche, who 
married Clyde A r ance, a farmer near Milton ; and 
Yerda June, the wife of William Dillon, also a 
farmer near Milton. 

Reared under the parental roof. J. D. Hess 
continued as a student in the common schools of 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Montezuma township until eighteen years of age, 
after which he spent one year in the Pittsfield high 
school and five years in Illinois College at Jack- 
sonville, where he was graduated with honors in 
the class of 1882. He pursued a classical course 
and won the degrees of Bachelor of Arts and 
Master of Arts. He entered college as a mem- 
ber of the same class to which William Jennings 
Bryan belonged, but his collegiate course was in- 
terrupted by one year spent as a teacher, so that 
he did not graduate until a year after the Ne- 
braska statesman had completed his course. Fol- 
lowing his graduation, Mr. Hess took up the pro- 
fession of teaching and spent two years as super- 
intendent of the schools of Perry. During the 
second year he was married to Miss Clara A. 
Rentchler, who had just graduated from the 
Woman's Academy at Jacksonville, Illinois, com- 
pleting the course in 1883. She was a daughter 
of John Rentchler, who died before her birth. 

After teaching at Perry Mr. Hess spent three 
years as superintendent of the schools in Griggs- 
ville and in 1887 came to Pittsfield, where he 
began reading law under the direction of Judge 
Jefferson Orr. In 1890 he was admitted to the 
bar at Mount Vernon, Illinois, and has since 
practiced his profession and has also been a real- 
estate and loan agent. He practices in all of the 
courts and is a lawyer of broad and 'Comprehen- 
sive knowledge who presents his cause with clear- 
ness and force, who is logical in argument and 
strong in his reasoning. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Hess have been born two 
sons and two daughters: Stanley R., born De- 
cember 16, 1885; Terrence W., June 21, 1887^ 
Catherine, December 31, 1891 ; and Eloise, May 
16, 1894. Mrs. Hess is a member of the Meth- 
odist church and Mr. Hess is serving as one of 
its trustees. He belongs to the Masonic frater- 
nity at Milton and to the Knights of Pythias 
lodge, the Modern Woodmen camp, the Mutual 
Protective League and to the Tribe of Ben Hur, 
all of Pittsfield. He is also connected with the 
Pike County Mutual and Loyal Americans. In 
politics he is a populist and was a member of 
the national committee of the party from 1892 
until 1900 and has been a delegate to various 
conventions. He assisted in organizing the pop- 



ulist party in this state. His attention, however, 
is largely given to his legal practice and his devo- 
tion to his clients' interests is proverbial. In the 
county where his entire life has been passed he 
has made a creditable record at the bar and is 
rcognized as a prominent and able attorney. 



FRANK JOHNSTON, M. D. 

Dr. Frank Johnston, successfully engaged in 
the practice of medicine and surgery in Milton, 
is one of Pike county's native sons, his birth 
having occurred upon a farm in Montezuma on 
the 8th of February, 1873. His parents were 
Solomon T. and Susan Johnston, the former a 
son of Thomas and Catharine Johnston and the 
latter a daughter of John Heavner, who was a 
soldier of the war of 1812. She was born Au- 
gust 3, 1834, and died January 22, 1904, while 
Solomon T. lohnston is still living in Pike county, 
being one of its representative citizens and early 
settlers. 

In the district schools near his father's home 
Dr. Johnston of this review acquired his educa- 
tion and at the age of eighteen years began 
teaching school, which profession he followed for 
four years in Pike county. During the periods 
of vacation he attended the county normal 
schools and thus promoted his efficiency as an 
educator. On retiring from his work as a pub- 
lic instructor he took up the study of medicine 
under the direction of Dr. George E. Harvey, 
of Pittsfield, and in the fall of 1894 matricu- 
lated in the Missouri Medical College at St. 
Louis, from which he was graduated in the class 
of 1897, having pursued the regular three years' 
course. He at once entered upon the practice 
of his profession in Milton, where he has re- 
mained continuously since and, having soon dem- 
onstrated his ability to cope with the intricate 
problems that continually confront the physician, 
he has been accorded a liberal and gratifying pat- 
ronage. 

Dr. Johnston was married May 6, 1896, to 
Miss Vinnie G. Hoover, a daughter of Smith and 
Izora Hoover, of Pearl, Pike county, Illinois, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



both of whom are deceased. Dr. and Mrs. John- 
ston have one child, a daughter, Virginia F. 
Johnston. 

Dr. Johnston is a member of Milton lodge, No. 
277, I. O. O. F., of Milton, also of the Modern 
Woodmen camp and the Court of Honor and 
was connected with the Knights of Pythias 
lodge at Pittsfield until it was disbanded. He is 
likewise connected with the Pike County Mutual 
Life Association and the Mutual Protective 
League. His entire life has been spent in this 
county and the fact that many of his warmest 
friends are those who have known him from 
his boyhood days to the present is an indication 
of an honorable life actuated by manly principles 
and characterized by upright conduct. 



' COLONEL WILLIAM ROSS. 

Colonel William Ross was born in Monson. 
Massachusetts, April 24, 1792, where he resided 
until the age of thirteen years. His father, Mi- 
cah Ross, was a man of limited means, though he 
was known and termed a good liver, but the edu- 
cation of his children was not the best. In 1805 
the elder Ross removed to Pittsfield, Massachu- 
setts, where the subject of this notice dwelt with 
him until he reached his twentieth year, gaining 
among the townspeople a reputation for industry 
and perseverance, and likewise success in every- 
thing he undertook. 

Upon the declaration of war in 1812, William 
Ross obtained a commission as e,nsign-lieutenant 
in the Twenty-first Regiment United States In- 
fantry, commanded by Colonel E. W. Ripley, and 
was soon afterward ordered on recruiting service. 
In the spring of 1813 he was directed to unite his 
men with those of his brother. Captain Leonard 
Ross, of the same regiment, at Greenbush. New 
York, and was subsequently detached to join the 
command of Major Aspinwall. About five hun- 
dred infantry of the Ninth Regiment had been 
ordered to take up a forced march for Buffalo, 
then threatened. Arriving at Utica, the troops 
were met by an express, informing them of the 
capture and destruction of Buffalo, and directing 



immediate march to Sackett's Harbor. Accord- 
ingly, proceeding to Oswego on Lake Ontario, 
they embarked in fifty open row-boats, and set 
out for the Harbor, but hardly had they made 
Stony Island than- they heard the roar of can- 
non and discovered the British fleet of gun- 
boats and Indian canoes in the river. They at 
once attempted to run the guantlet of the ene- 
my's armed vessels, and rushing amid the fire of 
the gun-boats, twenty-five of their frail craft suc- 
ceeded in reaching the harbor, the remainder be- 
ing captured by the British. Captain Ross and 
his brother William were among the successful 
ones, with their commands. The next day, the 
29th of May, 1813, took place the memorable 
battle of Sackett's Harbor, in which the brothers 
led about one hundred men, and in which ^ve 
hundred Americans drove back thirteen hundred 
British soldiers. Of the detachment commanded 
by the Rosses, one-third was either killed or 
wounded in the conflict. The Rosses conducted 
themselves most gallantly in this engagement. 
Soon after they were transferred into the Fortieth 
Regiment, and ordered to the seaboard, where 
Captain Leonard Ross took command of Fort 
Warren in Boston Harbor, and William Ross 
was detached to Marblehead to drill the troops at 
that point ; was subsequently removed to Gurnet 
Fort, near Plymouth, Massachusetts, where he 
remained until the close of the war. then return- 
ing to Pittsfield. 

In the spring of 1820, in company with four 
brothers and a few other families, he started for 
what was then known as the "Far West." the 
state of Illinois. They arrived safely at the head 
of the Allegheny river, and there procuring boats 
for their families, horses and wagons, set out to 
descend the stream. Difficulties here began to 
assail the little band. Again and again their little 
boats ran aground, rendering it necessary for the 
sturdy emigrants to rush into the water, and wield 
their pries and levers to get their boats afloat. 
However, they were not disheartened, but by dint 
of perseverance, reached Pittsburg after fifteen 
days. Here they entered the Ohio river : in a few 
weeks they arrived at Shawneetown, situated 
above the mouth of the Ohio in Illinois, at which 
point they left their water palaces, and started 




COL. WILLIAM ROSS 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



225 



with teams for their places of destination near the 
Mississippi river. At Upper Alton, which they 
reached in due season, there was but one house 
where the city now stands. It was occupied by 
Major Hunter, afterward General Hunter, and 
here the company secured quarters for their fam- 
ilies while they went in search of their intended 
location. 

At the mouth of the Illinois river they came 
across an Indian camp, where they secured ca- 
noes, -split puncheons of plank and laid across 
them, and thus safely ferried over their wagons. 
The horses were made to swim beside the canoes. 
They passed across the bluffs and proceeded to 
the Mississippi bottoms, at the point where Gilead 
(Calhoun county) is now situated; then con- 
tinued up the bottom, making the trees as they 
went, for there were no roads and nothing to 
guide them but an occasional Indian trail. At 
length they arrived in township 6 south, 5 west, 
about six miles east of the Mississippi river, near 
what is now the town of Atlas. No time was lost 
in throwing up four rude log houses, intended to 
form the immediate settlement, for there were not 
more than five white men within fifty miles cast 
of the river at that time. The houses being pre- 
pared, they returned to their families, and shortly 
afterward took permanent possession of their lo- 
cation. 

Soon after this time on the meeting of the legis- 
lature at Vandalia. learning of these emigrants, 
the legislature took measure to lay off and form 
the county of Pike, embracing all the territory 
north and west of the Illinois river, and includ- 
ing what is known as the city of Chicago. At 
the first election held in this vast territory, there 
were but thirty-five votes polled including those 
of the French at Chicago. This vast territory is 
now the most populous in the state of Illinois. 
For a while the prospects of our settlers were 
most flourishing, but afterward sickness and death 
entered their ranks. 

Colonel Ross lost his wife, one brother and 
several of the company the first year. Subse- 
quently Colonel Ross visited New York and mar- 
ried a Miss Edna Adams, after which he returned 
to the state of Illinois, laid out the town embrac- 
ing his first location, and named it Atlas. There 



had previously been established a postoffice called 
Ross Settlement, but this designation gave way to 
the one adopted by Colonel Ross, who soon com- 
menced improving, built a mill, which was much 
needed at this time and was afterward fairly suc- 
cessful. He arrived in Illinois a poor man, but 
speedily began to increase in property and noto- 
riety. He became judge of probate for the county 
of Pike, which office he held for many years, en- 
joying the confidence of the people. He also 
served as clerk of the circuit court, and among 
others was designated by the governor as colonel 
of the militia in that locality. In April, 1832, at 
the commencement of the Black Hawk war, 
"Cd!t>n<$ Ross' 1 Was ordered to raise a company out 
of his regiment ahtr join his forces in Beardstown. 
He received the order on Friday, and on the fol- 
lowing Tuesday presented himself at Beardstown 
with double the number of men mentioned in the 
order. He was selected aide to the commanding 
general, and served with much popularity during 
the campaign, and then returned once more to 
private life. In 1835 he was elected to the legis- 
lature of Illinois, and while a member of that 
body did much for this part of the state. We are 
assured that he possessed as much influence in the 
legislature as any other member. Colonel Ross 
was subsequently chosen to -the senate five or six 
times, and at one time, during the illness of 'the 
lieutenant governor, was elected and served as 
speaker pro tern. 

He was successfully engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits for many years ; was always distinguished 
for promptness, reliability and sound judgment ; 
punctual in his business relations, governed by 
strict integrity, and zealous in all his labors, he 
won the respect of his fellow citizens. He was 
wont to remark that his father's advice to his 
children in their youth was to be prompt and true 
in all their dealings with their fellowmen and 
he endeavored studiously to carry out in his life 
this excellent parental precept. He established 
the first bank ever established in the county, at 
Pittsfield. Illinois. This was in 1854 or 1855. 
which was known as the Banking House of Wil- 
liam Ross & Company. The company was Mar- 
shall Ayers, of Jacksonville, Illinois. The panic 
of 1857 having passed, he closed his bank and re- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



tired to private life. They were banking on Illi- 
nois bonds, which made their circulation per- 
fectly good, and enabled them, when the panic 
came, to pay every cent they owed in gold. 

The coming of Colonel Ross to the west was 
followed by a long line of vigorous, well- 
informed, hardy people from New England, de- 
scendants of whom today form a very consider- 
able percentage of our leading citizens. He moved 
. to Pittsfield from Atlas, and when the commis- 
sioners who selected the capital gave him the 
honor of naming the city,' he did so, after Pitts- 
field, Massachusetts. 

During his retirement he always took an active 
interest in public affairs ; he was a warm supporter 
of the construction of railroads and schools 
through this county, and while a large taxpayer, 
he always insisted upon voting support to the 
railroads to the end that they might be utilized 
for business at the earliest day possible. There 
was hardly a house of any considerable dimen- 
sions built in Pittsfield that did not in some man- 
ner receive his attention. He always had posi- 
tive views about what ought to be done in public 
matters, and did not hesitate to express them. 
The houses that he built, and now stand in good 
service, are sufficient in number and importance, 
if they were collected, to make a good sized 
village. 

He was a personal friend of Mr. Lincoln, hav- 
ing served with him in the Black Hawk war, and 
when Mr. Lincoln came to Pittsfield to deliver a 
speech, and remained all night, he was the guest 
of Colonel Ross. During the Civil war he visited 
Washington on two occasions, and had confer- 
ences with Mr. Lincoln about public affairs, and 
when Mr. Lincoln remarked to him. "Colonel, I 
expected you to be here and take a hand in this 
trouble before this time," he answered. "I have 
been blind. Mr. President, for three years, or I 
would have been here." He offered $200 to the 
first company that should be raised in Pittsfield 
under the call of 1862, which he paid at once, and 
in a thousand and one ways during the Civil war 
showed his devotion to his country, and his will- 
ingness to aid to the full extent of his ability. 

He was a whig in politics, but on the muster- 
out of that party he joined the republican party. 



and was Vice-president of the first state conven- 
tion of the republican party, which was held May 
29, 1856, at BloomingtOh, and which was at- 
tended by Lincoln, Palmer, O. H. Browning, 
Wentworth, Yates, Lovejoy, Oglesby and others. 
General John M. Palmer was president of the 
convention. This convention has become historic 
and is well known in Illinois history. He was a 
delegate from the fifth congressional district to 
the national convention which nominated Mr. Lin- 
coln, held in Chicago on the i6th of May, 1860, 
and did what he could to secure the nomination 
of that great man. His acquaintance with eastern 
people, and especially with the friends of Gov- 
ernor Seward, enabled him to render efficient serv- 
ice in that regard. The eastern people very much 
desired the nomination of Mr. Seward, but the 
attention of the delegates was turned in the direc- 
tion of Mr. Lincoln, and on the third ballot he 
received two hundred and thirty-one 'votes, Mr. 
Seward receiving one hundred and eighty, and 
was declared nominated. 

William Ross connected himself with the First 
Congregational church of Pittsfield, and from 
the time of his connection to his death he was a 
steadfast, hard-working, earnest supporter of the 
cause he had espoused, and the church with which 
he connected himself at that time. He built a 
church from his own means, -decorated it with a 
bell, and deeded it to the trustees of the church. 
Since his death the old building has been removed 
and a more stately and commodious building has 
been located on the same lot. 

At his death he left surviving him two sons. 
Marcellus Ross, who resides in Tacoma. Wash- 
ington ; William Ross, residing at San Jose. Cali- 
fornia ; and two daughters. Mrs. D. F. Kellogg, 
a resident of Chicago ; and Mrs. A. C. Matthews, 
who lives at the old homestead near Pittsfield. Illi- 
nois. They all have families and are respected 
citizens in their several places of residence. 

Colonel Ross was much more than the average 
citizen in point of energy and never-tiring indus- 
try. He hnd splendid judgment, correct percep- 
tions, unlimited energy, and moved forward in 
the line of enterprise that he conceived to be right 
until its full consummation. Like the early pio- 
neers of Pike county, he never stopped to inquire 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



227 



into any disaster, but moved forward to new lines 
and better fields. H<; died on the 3ist day of 
May. 1873, aged eighty-one years, and was buried 
in Pittsfield, in the West cemetery, near the grave 
of his wife, who had preceded him a few years. 



J. D. NIGHBERT, D. V. S. 

Dr. J. D. Nighbert, who in the practice of vet- 
erinary surgery is winning merited success in 
Pittsfield and Pike county, is a native of Illi- 
nois, born October 20, 1856. His father, Na- 
thaniel A. Nighbert, was a native of Virginia, 
born in 1827, and removing westward to Illi- 
nois became one of the early settlers of this state. 
He was engaged extensively in farming and 
stock-raising in Macoupin county, conducting a 
prosperous business up to the time of his death, 
which occurred in 1903. His wife is now living. 
In their family were seven children, six of whom 
yet survive. 

Dr. Nighbert was educated in the common 
schools and in Blackburn University, while later 
he was graduated from Toronto College, in 1889, 
with a class of one hundred and eighty members. 
He was one of five who were called to compete 
for a gold medal given by the Ontario Veter- 
inary Medical Association and at his graduation 
he received honors for the best general examina- 
tion, also in written and oral anatomy and in 
microscopy. Splendidly equipped for his chosen 
life work he came to Pittsfield in 1889 ar >d nas 
since engaged in practice here. Since that year 
he has been a member of the state veterinary 
board and he also belongs to the American Vet- 
erinary Association and the Illinois State Asso- 
ciation. He has contributed articles to numerous 
medical journals in America and some of these 
have been copied in English publications. Dr. 
Nighbert has made a study of veterinary sur- 
gery and he receives letters from nearly every 
state seeking his advice and opinions upon sub- 
jects connected with the profession. He is con- 
sidered an expert on animal dentistry and sur- 
gery and his business has therefore reached ex- 
tensive proportions. He practices both in Illi- 



nois and Missouri and his labors when viewed 
from both a financial and professional stand- 
point have been very successful. 

Dr. Nighbert was married in 1881 to Miss Lil- 
lie Malone, a native of Illinois, and a daughter 
of M. C. Malone, a mechanic. They have two 
children : Maynard, who was born in 1882 and 
is now a student in the Veterinary College at 
Toronto, Canada; and Vida, who was born in 
1884, and is a graduate of the high school of 
Pittsfield. She was also educated in music and 
is at home with her parents. Dr. Nighbert owns 
a fine residence in Pittsfield and also has other 
buildings and property in this city, having pur- 
chased considerable real estate which is the 
safest of all investments. He votes with the re- 
publican party and he belongs to the Masonic fra- 
ternity, while his wife is a member of the Chris- 
tian church. Thoroughly qualified for the pro- 
fession which he has undertaken as a life work, 
he has long since passed through the ranks of 
mediocrity to stand with the more successful 
few in his profession and his large business is 
at once an indication of his skill and of the confi- 
dence reposed in him by the public. 



RAY N. ANDERSON. 

Ray N. Anderson, a prominent attorney of 
Pittsfield, practicing in all the courts, was born 
in Pike county, in 1874, a son of H. L. and Eliza 
fStebbins) Anderson, of Summer Hill, of this 
county. The father, a native of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, came to Illinois prior to the Civil war 
and began business as a merchant in Summer 
Hill, Illinois, but is now a farmer and grain mer- 
chant. Unto him and his wife were born eight 
children, six of whom are living. 

Ray N. Anderson attended the common 
schools until seventeen years of age, when he 
entered upon a preparatory course of study in 
Ann Arbor, Michigan, and later was graduated 
from the University of Michigan, completing the 
law course in 1899. Going to the Pacific coast he 
practiced at Seattle. Washington, until 1901, 
when he returned to Pittsfield, where he has 



228 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



since been located. He is now associated with 
Colonel Matthews, the oldest member of the 
Pittsfield bar, and is already winning success, 
having secured a good clientage which connects 
him with important litigated interests of his dis- 
trict. 

On the i8th of October, 1905, Mr. Anderson 
was united in marriage to Miss Helen Gray Bush, 
a daughter of William C. and Mollie Bush, and 
a granddaughter of Merrick Bush. Her par- 
ents were eastern people and her father is now 
connected with the Pike County Democrat. Mrs. 
Anderson is a graduate of the high school of 
Pittsfield and of the business college at Jackson- 
ville, Illinois. In his political views Mr. Ander- 
son is a prominent republican, active in the local 
ranks and is now serving as one of the city al- 
dermen. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias 
fraternity and the Masonic lodge. In citizenship 
he is influential, being the champion of prog- 
ress and improvement along lines of practical 
and permanent good. In his law practice he is 
found as an earnest worker in that preparation 
which is so necessary before the active work of 
the court is done and in the presentation of a 
cause he is clear and cogent in reasoning and log- 
ical in his deductions. 



CHARLES T. KENNEY. 

Charles T. Kenney. an honored veteran of the 
Civil war, who for many years was a prominent 
factor in commercial circles in Griggsville but is 
now living a retired life, was born in this city 
December 4, 1841, a son of Hon. Charles and 
Mary G. (Carnahan) Kenney. The father was 
born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, April 7, 
i8ir, and was the eldest son of James and Rachel 
Kenney, who were also natives of Pennsylvania. 
He acquired his education in the schools of that 
state and when twenty-five years of age was 
united in marriage to Miss Mary G. Carnahan, a 
daughter of James and Margaret (Carnahan). of 
Wilmington, Delaware. In 1837 he removed with 
his family to Illinois, becoming a resident of 
Griggsville two years later. Here he embarked 



in merchandising and also was engaged in the 
grain trade, continuing in those lines of business 
until his retirement from further business cares in 
1866. He was then succeeded by his son and son-in 
law under the firm style of Kenney & Clark. A pio- 
neer settler of Pike county, he took an active and 
helpful interest in its development and while pro- 
moting his individual success also contributed in 
large measure to the welfare and progress of the 
community in which he made his home. He was 
in limited financial circumstances on his removal 
to Illinois but gradually he worked his way up- 
ward to a creditable position on the plane of afflu- 
ence. He also figured prominently in public af- 
fairs and was a recognized leader in the ranks of 
the democratic party, on which ticket he was 
elected to the state legislature. There he gave 
earnest and thoughtful consideration to every 
question which came up for settlement and was 
connected with important constructive legislation. 
The cause of temperance found in him a stanch 
advocate and he held membership with the Sons 
of Temperance. Both he and his wife were loyal 
members of the Congregational church and their 
many excellent traits of character won them the 
love and respect of all with whom they were asso- 
ciated. Mr. Kenney continued to live retired in 
the enjoyment of a well earned rest up to the time 
of his death, which occurred in Griggsville, No- 
vember 9, 1880. His widow, who was born in 
Wilmington, Delaware, Inly 28, 1814, survived 
him for about twenty years, passing away March 
4, 1900. They were married in Sadsburyville, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, by the Rev. John 
Wallace, on the i8th of February, 1836. 

In their family were ten children, as follows : 
William W. Kenney, who was born in Sadsbury- 
ville, Pennsylvania, November 20, 1837, married 
Alice Pritchard and is now' living in St. Louis, 
Missouri. Mary H., born in Naples, Illinois, Oc- 
tober 5, 1838, is the wife of W. H. Clark, a resi- 
dent of Griggsville. Charles T. is the next of the 
family. . Robert M.. born in Griggsville. Febru- 
ary 3, 1843, was married here to Mary Shinn and 
died in California in October, 1900. Harriet E.. 
born in Griggsville, February 3, 1845, died in this 
city, November 21, 1860. Preston H., born in 
Griggsville, June n, 1847, died here October 4, 




CHARLES T. KENNEY 



CHARLES KENNEY 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



231 



1849. Samuel C., born in Griggsville, October 
20, 1849, was married to Ella Cunningham and 
is now living in Los Angeles, California. Sallie 
B., born in Griggsville, October 16, 1851, is the 
wife of Dr. L. J. Harvey, of Griggsville, and 
died June I, 1894. James C., born in Griggsville, 
July 27, 1855, married Nellie Turnbull, of 
Griggsville, and now makes his home in Kansas 
City. Ed L., born in Griggsville, October 15, 
1857, died in this city, August 31, 1886. 

Charles T. Kenney, whose name introduces this 
record, is indebted to the public-school system of 
his native town for the educational privileges he 
enjoyed and in his youth he secured a clerkship 
in a dry-goods store, where he remained until 
after the inauguration of the Civil war, when he 
put aside business cares in order to respond to 
the country's call for aid. He enlisted from Pike 
county, August 18, 1861, to serve for three years 
or during the war and was mustered into the 
United States service at Camp Butler in Spring- 
field, Illinois, September 3, 1861. He was a pri- 
vate under command of Captain William W. H. 
Lawton, of Company I, Thirty-third Illinois In- 
fantry, Colonel Charles E. Hovey, commanding. 
This regiment was organized in the month of 
September at Camp Butler and on the 2Oth of that 
month proceeded southward by way of St. Louis, 
Missouri, to Ironton, that state, where the troops 
went into winter quarters but occasionally did 
scouting duty in the surrounding country. The 
first battle in which the regiment participated was 
at Fredericktown, Missouri, and soon afterward 
was engaged at Big Black Bridge, Missouri. Sub- 
sequently the Thirty-third Illinois was assigned 
to the First Brigade of the First Division, Thir- 
teenth Army Corps, with which it remained un- 
til March, 1865, when it was transferred to the 
Sixteenth Corps. The members of that regiment 
participated in the engagements at Cotton Plant, 
Cache Creek, Port Gibson, Champion Hills, Big 
Black River, the siege of Vicksburg and the siege 
of Jackson, after which they embarked on steam- 
boats and went down the Mississippi river to 
New Orleans", there taking part, in October, 1863. 
in the campaign under General Ord up the Bayou 
Teche and returning to New Orleans in Novem- 
ber of that year. The regiment afterward moved 



by way of Arkansas Pass to Brownsville, Texas, 
and disembarked on St. Joseph Island, whence 
they marched over Matagorda Island to Saluria, 
participating in the capture of Fort Esperanza 
They then removed to Indianola and later to Port 
Lavaca, Texas, and afterward the regiment was 
chiefly engaged on guard duty in Louisiana until 
ordered to take part in the expedition to Mobile. 
Alabama, during which the members of the 
Thirty-third Illinois did loyal service in the 
siege of Mobile and in the capture of Spanish 
Fort and Fort Blakely, also participating in a 
number of minor engagments, skirmishes and 
raids. The regiment lost during its service three 
hundred and nine officers and men by death. In 
recognition of his valor and meritorious conduct 
on the field of battle Charles T. Kenney was pro- 
moted from the 'fariks' to orderly sergeant, was 
commissioned second' fieu'tefianV March 18, 1862, 
and first lieutenant June 3, 1863. He was wounded 
at Vicksburg, Mississippi, May 2, 1863, by a gun- 
shot in the right leg six inches above the knee. 
He was removed to a private house for treat- 
ment and about three inches of the bone was cut 
from the limb. He was one of the only two men of 
eighty who were similarly wounded in the battle 
of Vicksburg who survived. When able to travel 
he was granted a furlough and spent several 
weeks at home, after which he rejoined his regi- 
ment at New Orleans, Louisiana, to receive his 
final pay and discharge. With the exception of 
this period he was always with his command, 
doing active service, and he made a splendid rec- 
ord for soldierly conduct and fearlessness in face 
of danger. Upon a surgeon's certificate of disa- 
bility he was honorably discharged at Washing- 
ton, D. C., August 19, 1864, owing to the wounds 
which he sustained in action. 

Returning to Griggsville. Mr. Kenney was for 
twenty-three years engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness with J. B. Morrison and on the expiration 
of that period the partnership was dissolved and 
Mr. Kenney has since lived a retired life. He 
was widely known as an enterprising and reli- 
able merchant and enjoyed a good business, so 
that as the years passed by he added continually 
to his capital until he had acquired means suffi- 
cient to enable him to put aside further business 



23- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



cares and enjoy a well earned rest throughout 
his remaining days. 

On the 30th of May, 1865, in Griggsville, Mr. 
Kenney was married to Miss Fannie M. Green, 
a daughter of Jonathan and Abbie D. (Worcester) 
Green. Her parents were married May 7, 1840. 
Her father was born in Pepperell, Massachu- 
setts, February 20, 1814, and died June 7, 1878, 
while his wife, who was born May 26, 1821, in 
Stoddard, New Hampshire, is now living with 
Mr. and Mrs. Kenney at the age of eighty-four 
years. They resided in the east until 1857, when 
they came to Illinois and Mr. Green first clerked 
for R. P>. Hatch & Company at Griggsville. 
From that time until his death he was connected 
with the dry-goods business in this city, con- 
ducting a store of his own for a long period. 
He never cared for public office nor public noto- 
riety of any kind but was always found reliable 
in his business transactions and honorable in all 
life's relations. He and his wife were members 
of the Congregational church and he held mem- 
bership in Griggsville lodge, No. 45, A. F. & A. 
M., while his political support was given to the 
republican party. In their family were four chil- 
dren, three sons and a daughter,_the latter being 
Mrs. Fannie M. Kenney, who was born in Stod- 
dard, New Hampshire, December n, 1843. Her 
brothers were: George W., who was born at Mar- 
low, New Hampshire, August I, 1846, and died 
October 20, 1851 ; Charles O., who was born in 
Plattsburg, New York, October 2, 1853, and is 
now engaged in the grocery business in Denver, 
Colorado ; and Fred E., who was born in Platts- 
burg, October 9, 1855, and is a druggist in Oska- 
loosa, Iowa. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Kenney have been born 
six children. Jessie Elizabeth, born June i, 1866, 
was married to Ernest E. Williamson. April 2, 
1891, and resides in Griggsville; Alice, born 
January i. 1868. died March 9, 1869. Willie 
Morrison, born February 2, 1870, died January 
27, 1871. Freddie, born February 27, 1872. died 
on the I4th of March of the same year. Helen 
Frances, born April 19, 1874, is the wife of Har- 
vey E. Baxter, to whom she was married Novem- 
ber 29. 1898, and their home is in Chicago. Marie 



Louise, born September 18, 1881, completes the 
family and is at home with her parents. 

Long a resident of Griggsville, Mr. Kenney 
has figured prominently in public affairs and has 
been the champion of many movements for the 
genernl welfare and upbuilding. He has filled 
tl;r office of city clerk for fifteen years and was 
a member of the school board for a similar period. 
He belongs to Griggsville lodge, No. 45, A. F. 
& A. M., and to W. W. H. Lawton post, No. 
438, G. A. R. His life has in many respects been 
a commendable one and, as has been shadowed 
forth between the lines of this review, he was 
found a brave and loyal soldier in the hour of 
his country's danger, has been a reliable and 
trustworthy business man and a public-spirited 
citizen, while in his home and social relations he 
has commanded the respect and friendship of 
many by reason of the possession of those traits 
of character which awaken warm personal regard. 



WILLIAM M. BROWN. 

The history of commercial progress in Milton 
would be incomplete without mention of Wil- 
liam M. Brown, a leading and prominent mer- 
chant of that city. He was born November 29, 
1840, in Carrollton, Greene county, Illinois, his 
parents being Isaac S. and Catharine (Hay) 
Brown, who became early residents of Pike 
county, where they took up their abode in 
March, 1850. The father purchased a farm a 
mile and a half south and a half mile east of Mil- 
ton and upon that place William M. Brown was 
reared, having been a youth of nine years at the 
time of the removal to the old homestead. He 
acquired his education in the district schools near 
by and he still owns the farm, which comprises 
one hundred and twenty acres of as rich soil as 
can be found in the state of Illinois. During the 
periods of vacation he aided in the work of the 
fields and remained upon the old homestead until 
nineteen years of age, when he went to Califor- 
nia by way of the Isthmus of Panama. The 
journey consumed twenty-four days from the 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



233 



time he left New York city until his arrival at 
San Francisco in March, 1859. He remained 
up. in the Pacific coast for three years engaged 
in mining and ranching and he was fairly suc- 
cessful in his work, but lost much of what he pos- 
sessed in his first mining ventures in prospecting 
for greater results at a later date. In 1863 ' le 
returned to the old homestead near Milton, Illi- 
nois, and leased the farm from his father in con- 
nection with his brother, James A. The father 
went to the war, becoming a member of a com- 
pany of the Ninety-ninth Illinois Regiment com- 
manded by Captain J. G. Johnson. He served 
for three years as wagon master and was killed 
in the siege of Vicksburg on the 22d of May, 
1863. There was a very sad incident in connec- 
tion with his death. In the heat of battle he 
heard the Masonic cry for help from one of his 
comrades and, facing almost certain death amidst 
a hail of bullets, he picked up his comrade and 
while carrying him off the field away from dan- 
ger a bullet passed through his comrade's body, 
killing him, and entered Mr. Brown's thumb, 
passing out through the hand. This occasioned 
blood poisoning, which caused Mr. Brown's 
death a few days later. At his request his re- 
mains were interred upon the battle-field but 
were afterward removed to the National Sol- 
diers' Cemetery at Vicksburg. In March. 1869. 
William M. Brown, accompanied by his mother, 
made a pilgrimage to Vicksburg to discover his 
father's grave and place a monument over it. 
They had no trouble in finding the place of inter- 
ment, which was on the topmost circle, he being 
the eighth soldier buried in the beautiful Union 
Soldiers' National Cemetery at that place. The 
monument was erected according to the plans 
and after performing this act of love and duty 
over the grave of husband and father they re- 
turned home. 

On the 2d of December, 1868, Mr. Brown 
was married to Miss Alice Strawn, a daughter 
of Alvis and Joanna Strawn. Unto them were 
born three children, two sons and a daughter. 
William Edmund, born December 13, 1869, died 
March 26, 1870. Fred S.. born in Milton. April 
2, 1873, is now a physician and druggist of Wich- 
ita. Kansas. Helen A., born December 25, 1887. 
in Milton, is at home. 



Mr. Brown is a member of the Modern Wood- 
men camp, No. 922, and in his political views 
he is a liberal republican. He has been associ- 
ated with business interests in Milton through 
a long period and is a self-made man, whose 
prosperity has resulted entirely from his enter- 
prise and capable efforts. 



MAJOR WILFRED I. KLEIN. 

Major Wilfred I. Klein, of Barry, is one of the 
native sons of that town and has won distinc- 
tion as a lawyer and legislator. He is the third 
son of Joseph and Agnes (Spalding) Klein, the 
latter a daughter of Judge Spalding, of St. 
Louis, Missouri. The father, was born at Cats- 
kill, New York, in February, 1809, and the 
mother's birth occurred in St. Louis, in 1818. 
In his boyhood days Joseph Klein accompanied 
his father on his removal to Springfield, Illinois. 
At one time he owned a large amount of land, 
covering the present site of the fair grounds in 
Springfield. It was in that city that the grand- 
father spent his last years. In 1840 Joseph Klein 
removed to St. Louis, where he was married, 
and in 1846 he came to Barry. In the former 
city he purchased the Little St. Louis saw and 
grist mill, which he operated for about six years 
and he would drop bran in the creek when he 
could not sell it. On disposing of his mill and 
removing to Barry he entered upon the practice 
of law, in which he continued for twenty years, 
his ability and comprehensive knowledge win- 
ning him prominence in his profession. He was 
a well educated man, strong minded and became 
recognized as a distinguished and leading resi- 
dent of this part of the state. He died at his 
home in Barry. February 28. 1869. As a citizen, 
father and friend he had no superior, manifest- 
ing in his life splendid traits of character which 
won for him the respect and confidence of all 
who knew him. He left a large circle of friends 
througout the county. His wife passed away in 
1897. They were the parents of five children, all 
of whom are now living: Walter S., who is en- 
gaged in general, merchandising in Time ; Charles 



234 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



H., who is living a retired life at Elmdale, Chase 
county, Kansas ; Willie L. and Wilfred I., twins, 
the former living in Minneapolis, Minnesota, 
where he is editor of the Northwestern Medical 
Journal ; and Julia R., the wife of T. C. Long, of 
Texas. 

Major Klein was educated in Barry, where he 
engaged in teaching school for seven years. He 
entered upon that profession when sixteen years 
of age and taught at Pittsfield, Rockport and 
New Salem. He afterward entered the Univer- 
sity at Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he pursued 
a course in law, being graduated in 1878. The 
following year he was admitted to the bar and en- 
tered upon the practice of his chosen profession 
in his native town. The same year he was elected 
city attorney, which office he has held almost 
continuously since save with the exception of a 
few years which he spent as a legislator. He 
entered the race for the legislature from the 
thirty-ninth district in 1894, receiving the en- 
dorsement of his county and was nominated and 
elected by a large majority. He proved a useful 
and valuable member of the house, in which he 
served during 1895-6, giving to each question 
careful consideration an proving untiring in his 
support of the men and measure which he 
deemed of greatest good to the commonwealth. 
In his profession he has won honorable position 
by reason of his comprehensive knowledge of the 
principles of jurisprudence, his close application 
and his strong presentation of each cause before 
court or jury. 

Major Klein was married in Springfield, Illi- 
nois, ^n 1878, to Miss Jennie M. Klein, who was 
born in that city in 1858 and was a daughter of 
John and Cynthia Klein, residents of Springfield, 
who are now deceased. One child was born of 
this marriage, Madge Estella Klein, who was 
born in 1881. She attended the public schools of 
P>arry and was educated in music, her father se- 
curing for her the best teachers that money could 
obtain. She was a beautiful Christian girl, dis- 
playing a sweet disposition, kindly purpose and 
genial nature and was greatly loved by all, but on 
the ist of May. 1900, she was called from this 
life. Mrs. Klein survived for about two years 
and then passed away on the igth of August, 



1902. Major Klein has thus seen sad times, but 
he has ever attempted to keep up a hopeful spirit. 
In his relations with his fellowmen he is directed 
by broad sentiment relating to his duties by a 
charitable nature and kindly purpose. He still 
keeps his home just as his wife and daughter 
left it, employing a housekeeper, white he boards 
at the hotel. Major Klein is very prominent in 
the organization of the Modern Woodmen of 
America and was state consul in 1894. He has 
also held other offices in that organization and is 
now state lecturer. He likewise belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and to the 
Pike County Mutual Association. In his pro- 
fession he has attained prominence by reason of 
broad and comprehensive study and he possesses 
a statesman's grasp of affairs, keeping in touch 
with the onward progress of thought and action 
relating to the country's history. 



G. W. FULLER. 

G. W. Fuller, who is engaged in dealing in coal 
in Pittsfield, was born in Massachusetts in 1845, 
and is descended from ancestors who came to 
America on the Mayflower. In both the paternal 
and maternal lines he is descended from Revolu- 
tionary ancestry ; and from the same branch came 
President Monroe, the mother of Mr. Fuller being 
an own cousin of the president. She spent her 
entire life within twenty miles of Plymouth Rock, 
and a sister of Mr. Fuller is yet living there. In 
fact, our subject is the only representative of the 
name who has gone so far away from the ancestral 
home. He came to Pike county, Illinois, in 1878, 
and has since been identified with the interests of 
this section of the state. In the common schools 
of Massachusetts he acquired his education, and 
after locating in Pike county he engaged in pros- 
pecting for coal. For twenty-five years he has 
been engaged in dealing in coal, being the only 
exclusive merchant in this line in the city. His 
business is extensive, owing to his honorable 
methods, his earnest desire to please his patrons 
and his promptness and fidelity in all things. 

In 1879 Mr. Fuller was united in marriage to 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



235 



Miss Mary E. Stitzer, of Pittsfield, a daughter of 
George W. Stitzer, of Virginia, who came to 
Pike county in 1837, thus casting his lot with its 
earliest settlers for the work of improvement and 
progress had scarcely begun here at that time. 
He followed the business of teaming. In his 
family were three children : Mrs. Fuller ; William 
A., who is living in Cincinnati, Ohio; and Mrs. 
Virginia Armstrong, who resides at Rich Hill, 
Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Fuller have become the 
parents of four children : G. W., who is occupy- 
ing a position with the Arrriour Packing Com- 
pany, of Chicago; Frank L., residing at home; 
and John W. and Emma E., who are also with 
their parents. Mr. Fuller owns the home where 
he resides together with four acres of land. In 
politics he is a republican, interested in the suc- 
cess of the party because of the principles which 
it embodies, yet never seeking office for himself. 
His wife and daughter are members of the Con- 
gregational church, while his son Frank holds a 
membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. 
For more than a quarter of a century Mr. Fuller 
has resided in Pittsfield and the success he has 
achieved during this period has come as a direct 
result of his own labors for he had little capital 
when he made his way westward. Here he has 
improved his opportunities and as the years 
have gone by has made substantial progress, be- 
ing to-day in possession of a comfortable com- 
petence as the result of his earnest and well di- 
rected labors. 



HIRAM RUSH. 

Hiram Rush, devoting his time and energies 
to farming and stock-raising in Detroit township, 
is associated with his four brothers in the owner- 
ship and operation of about six hundred acres of 
land, comprised in three well improved and valu- 
able farms, adjoining the village of Detroit. He 
was born in this township, April 28. 185^. his 
father being James Rush, a native of Indiana, 
born in 1816. His paternal grandfather, Elijah 
Rush, removed to Illinois with his family in 1827, 
and settled in Detroit township, Pike county. He 



both entered and bought land and cleared and 
improved a good farm, assisted in the early pio- 
neer development and progress of the country. 
James Rush was a lad of eleven years when he 
arrived in this county and here he was reared 
and educated. Having arrived at adult age he 
was married here to Margaret Dinsmore, a native 
of Illinois, born in Pike county, and a daughter of 
Robert Dinsmore, one of the early settlers here, 
who came up the Illinois river on a keel boat. 
From time to time as his financial resources per- 
mitted James Rush purchased more land and be- 
came the owner of a valuable farm. He was 
recognized as one of the active, enterprising and 
prosperous agriculturists of the county and was 
accorded a place among the valued and repre- 
sentative citizens. In addition to rearing six 
children of his own, all sons, he also gave a home 
to a number of orphan children, his family num- 
bering thirteen children in all. His kindly spirit, 
his broad humanitarianism and his generous 
disposition made him a man whom to know was 
to respect and honor. He died August 2, 1888, 
while his wife, who still survives, yet resides 
upon the old homestead farm. 

Hiram Rush is the second in order of birth in 
a family of five sons, who are yet living, while 
one, James Rush, has passed away. He reached 
mature years, however, and died in St. Louis, 
Missouri, in 1900. The others are: Perry and 
Otis; living on the old home farm ; R. E. ; and 
Clay. All are married with the exception of the 
youngest and all are farmers, being associated in 
business interests. 

Hiram Rush was educated in the district 
schools and early became familiar with the duties 
and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. 
He remained with his father in his youth and 
assisted in carrying on the home farm until the 
father's death. The brothers now continue the 
work and their business associations are most 
harmonious. 

Mr. Rush, of this review, was married in 
Griggsville, January 29, 1880, to Miss Emma 
Dean, who was born in Griggsville township and 
spent her girlhood days there. Her father, A. H. 
Dean, was a native of Litchfield, Connecticut, 
born in 1831, and was brought to Pike county, 



236 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Illinois, in 1836. Following his marriage Mr. 
Rush located upon the home farm, where he re- 
sided for a number of years, when he purchased 
property in the village of Detroit, taking up his 
abode there in the fall of 1891. He has a good 
substantial home, supplied with many of the 
comforts and luxuries of life. Unto Mr. and 
Mrs. Rush have been born seven children : Pearl, 
now the wife of Virgil Scarborough, a farmer of 
Detroit township, by whom she has a daughter, 
Ila; Opal, the wife of John Ellis, a resident 
farmer of Detroit, by whom she has a son, Dean ; 
Mattie, who is a student in the schools of Griggs- 
ville ; Varina, Jessie and Dewy, all at home ; and 
one son, Harvey Dean, who died at the age of 
seventeen months. 

Politically Mr. Rush is a stalwart democrat 
and is a good friend of the public schools. He 
served on the school board for eighteen years, 
acted as its clerk and its president and the cause 
of education finds in him a warm and helpful 
friend. His wife is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church and he belongs to Detroit lodge, 
No. 883, I. O. O. F., while his wife is connected 
with the Rebekah lodge. He likewise belongs to 
the Pike County Fraternal Insurance Associa- 
tion. Having always lived in Detroit township 
he has a wide acquaintance and is recognized as 
a substantial farmer and business man to whom 
trust and confidence are uniformly given. He 
and his estimable wife have many friends in the 
hospitality of their own pleasant home in Detroit 
is greatly enjoyed by those who know them. The 
Rush brothers work together in the utmost har- 
mony and in the control of their business af- 
fairs are meeting with gratifying prosperity, be- 
ing recognized as representative agriculturists of 
Pike county. 



F. M. THURMON, M. D. 

Dr. F. M. Thurmon, who in the active practice 
of medicine and surgery has shown his thorough 
understanding of the -great scientific principles 
which underlie his work, was born in Montezuma 
township near Milan on the 23d of August, 1872, 
and is the youngest of a family of nine children, 



four of whom are practicing physicians at the 
present time, namely: Dr. C. E. Thurmon, of 
Milton ; Dr. W. T. Thurmon, of Detroit, Illinois, 
Dr. J. D. Thurmon, of St. Louis, Missouri, and 
our subject. He was reared upon his father's 
farm and acquired his preliminary education in 
the common schools of Pike county. At the age 
of twenty years he engaged in teaching school 
in Scott county and followed that profession for 
seven years. In 1899 he accepted a position with 
the Chicago & Alton Railroad Company as night 
watchman on the bridge at Pearl, Illinois, acting 
in that capacity for one year and in the spring of 
1900 he went to the Red River valley in North 
Dakota, accepting a position with the Salzer 
Lumber Company of Minneapolis, Minnesota, 
which he represented as bookkeeper until in Au- 
gust of the same year. He then severed his con- 
nection with that company and returned home. 
Having determined upon the practice of medicine 
as a life work, he commenced studying with that 
end in view in September, 1900, matriculating 
in the medical department of the Barnes Univer- 
sity at St. Louis, Missouri, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1904. During the three 
summers intervening between the college courses 
he served in the capacity of ballast inspector for 
the Chicago & Alton Railroad Company, his 
revenue from this position enabling him to pay 
his way through college. 

Returning to Pearl, Dr. Thurmon purchased 
the practice and property of Dr. B. P. Bradburn 
and now enjoys a large and lucrative patronage 
in Pearl and vicinity. He is well qualified for his 
chosen profession and is continually promoting 
his proficiency by reading and investigation, 
while in the faithful performance of each day's 
duties he finds courage and strength for the 
labors of the succeeding day. 

On the 26th of December, 1896. Dr. Thurmon 
was married to Miss E. Maude Davis, a daughter 
of John W. and Mary E. (Stephenson) Davis. 
By this marriage there have been born two sons : 
Francis M.. who was born November 18, 1898; 
and William M., who was born July 14, 1902. 
Dr. and Mrs. Thurmon occupy an enviable social 
position and he is connected with the Modern 
Woodmen of America, the Mutual Protective 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



237 



League and the Knights and Ladies of Security, 
in all of which lodges he is examining physician. 
A young man of laudable ambition and with a na- 
ture that could never be content with mediocrity, 
he is continually advancing in his chosen field of 
labor and has already left the ranks of the many 
to stand among the successful few. 



G. W. DOYLE, M. D. 

Dr. G. W. Doyle, now deceased, was classed 
with the representative citizens of Pike county 
for many years. He was born in Knox county, 
Ohio, in 1836, and about 1859 removed to Gham- 
paign county, Illinois, being at that time a young 
man of twenty-three years. He watched with in- 
terest the prpgress of events leading 'up to the 
inauguration of the Civil war, noting the threat- 
ening attitude of the south, reading with interest 
the accounts of the anti-slavery movements, felt 
the growing hostility and spirit of rebellion 
among the southern states and with the opening 
of the war his patriotic spirit was thoroughly 
aroused and he fearlessly announced his advocacy 
of the Union cause. Soon he enlisted as a mem- 
ber of Company C, Twenty-fifth Illinois Volun- 
teer Infantry and served for three years. He was 
first under command of Captain Summers and 
later was promoted to the rank of major. Dur- 
ing his services he was twice severely wounded, 
once in the shoulder and again through the leg, 
and he carried the marks of the rebel lead to 
the grave. He participated in many hotly con- 
tested battles and for forty consecutive days was 
under fire. Soon after his return from the army 
he entered the Eclectic Institute of Medicine at 
Cincinnati, Ohio, and was graduated from the 
same in due time, after which he located for prac- 
tice in Champaign county, Illinois, entering upon 
the active work for which he had prepared. Two 
years later he came to Barry, where he located 
permanently and soon he had secured a large and 
gratifying practice in the city and vicinity. His 
ability was earlv recognized and his labors 
were crowned with a measure of success that is 
only possible to the capable physician who com- 



bines with his scientific knowledge 
manitarian spirit. 

Dr. Doyle was married in Champaign county, 
Illinois, October 29, 1867, to Miss Mary Bart- 
ley, whose birth occurred in that county on the 
i8th of May, 1847. Her father, James Bartley, 
is still living in that county at the advanced age 
of eighty-nine years. Dr. and Mrs. Doyle en- 
tered upon what proved to be a most happy mar- 
ried relation, possessing genial natures that made 
their home life one of much joy. Unto them 
were born a daughter and son : Sadie, who is now 
the wife of Frank M. McNeal, who is engaged 
in the stock business with his wife's brother, 
while they make their home with her mother ; and 
Charles Doyle, who is night operator at the de- 
pot at Barry and is engaged in the stock business 
with his brother-in-law. In March, 1894, the 
the town of Barry was largely destroyed by fire 
and on the 3ist of that month Dr. Doyle, whose 
home had been completely consumed in the 
flames, and who was stopping temporarily with 
his friend, W. I. Klein, started out, after eating 
breakfast, to make his morning round of visits 
to his country patients. He got into his cart, in 
which he usually drove and stopped at the post- 
office and on attempting to enter his cart again 
he missed his footing, fell backward and pulled 
his horse over on him, receiving injuries from 
which he died on the 4th of April, 1894. The ac- 
cident occurring on the public street was wit- 
nessed by a number of people, many of whom 
sprang to his relief. He was picked up and car- 
ried into the office of W. I. Klein and Dr. Mc- 
Kinney was immediately summoned. The prac- 
ticed eye of the physician saw at a glance that the 
injury was a serious one and upon his order Dr. 
Doyle was taken to the home of Mr. Klein, where 
every resource of medical skill and knowledge 
was brought to bear, but without avail. His 
brother Theodore Doyle, of Kansas City, was 
telegraphed for and arrived at the bedside of his 
brother on Sunday morning, never leaving him 
until he had breathed his last. Another brother. 
Dr. Anthony Doyle, arrived only in time to at- 
tend the funeral. 

Dr. Doyle was widely recognized as a man of 
many splendid traits of character, of strong in- 



2 3 8 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



tellectuality, kindly spirit and generous disposi- 
tion. In all life's relations he was straight- 
forward and reliable. In his home he was a de- 
voted husband and father, who counted no per- 
sonal sacrifice on his part too great if it would 
enhance the welfare and happiness of his wife 
and children. In community interests he was a 
co-operant factor, giving his support to all meas- 
ures which he deemed of public benefit. At the 
time of his demise the expression was heard 
from many lips, "a worthy man has ended his 
race and his mourners go about the streets.'' The 
funeral services were conducted by the Rev. Mc- 
Kendree McElfresh of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at the residence of W. I. Klein on the 5th 
of April, 1894, after which the Masonic lodge of 
Barry, assisted by their brethren of all different 
lodges, took charge of the services and with a 
band in the lead marched to the cemetery, where 
the last sad rites were conducted. The large 
concourse of people gathered on that occasion 
testified fully to the respect and esteem in which 
Dr. Boyle was uniformly held. He belonged not 
only to the Masonic fraternity, of which he was 
an exemplary and faithful member, but also to 
the Grand Army of the Republic and to the An- 
cient Order of United Workmen. He sought to 
do good and his profession gave him ample op- 
portunity in that direction. Many benefited 
through his charitable nature and he never re- 
fused to respond to a call even when he knew 
that pecuniary reward could not be expected. He 
possessed, moreover, a genial, kindly nature that 
rendered him a popular and much loved citizen. 
"His life was gentle and the elements 
So mixed in him that Nature might stand up 
And say to all the world, this was a man." 



BETHUEL H. ROWAND. 

Bethuel H. Rowand, a druggist of Barry, was 
born August 18, 1844, in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, and is a son of Josiah and Ellen B. 
(Haines) Rowand. The father was a native of 
Gloucester, New Jersey, born April 15, 1813, and 
his father, Thomas Rowand, was also born in that 



place. The paternal grandfather, John Rowand, 
is supposed to have been born in New Jersey, 
and it is definitely known that he was descended 
from some of the first settlers of the state. He 
was a member of the Society of Friends and 
reared his children in that faith. His entire life 
was passed in New Jersey. 

Thomas Rowand learned the blacksmith's 
trade in his native state, and followed it at Had- 
donfield of Rowandtown, being connected with 
that industry during the years of an active busi- 
ness career. He spent his last days at the home 
of his daughter in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Elizabeth 
Sharp, was also a native of New Jersey, and died 
in Philadelphia in 1846. They reared a family 
of nine children: Joseph T., Charles, John R., 
Hannah A., Mary, Hamilton, Emma, Weston and 
Josiah S. 

The last named, Josiah S. Rowand, father of 
our subject, resided in New Jersey until he 
reached the age of fourteen years, when he ac- 
companied his parents to Philadelphia, and soon 
after he entered business life as an employe in 
a sash factory, where he, remained the greater 
part of the time until seventen years of age. He 
then began working for his brother, Joseph T. 
Rowand, in the drug business, and in 1832 he en- 
tered the employ of his brother, John R. Rowand, 
in compounding a tonic mixure and also the 
manufacture of blackberry root syrup. In 1850 
he embarked in the retail drug business on his 
own account in Philadelphia, the capital for the 
business being furnished by Warden Morris. He 
continued the conduct of his store there until 
1854. Two years later he came to Barry, but the 
same year went to Quincy, Illinois, where he en- 
tered the drug business. In 1859, however, he 
again came to Barry and opened a drug store in 
this city, conducting the establishment until 1863, 
when he sold out and returned to Philadelphia. 
He remained in the east, however, for only one 
hundred days and then again came to Barry, 
where he once more resumed business operations 
as a druggist, continuing in the trade throughout 
the remainder of his life. In 1876 he erected a 
good brick business block, installed his store 
therein and carried on the trade with constantly 




JOSIAH ROWAND 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



241 



increasing success. He was married in Philadel- 
phia, in 1834, to Miss Ellen B. Haines, and they 
became the parents of five children, but Bethuel 
H. Rowand of this review is the only one now liv- 
ing. The parents were strongly attached to the 
Baptist church, and were active workers in its 
interest. Mr. Rowand was likewise a stalwart 
republican ; and he belonged to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He was a man of frank, 
open manner, of a generous and jovial disposi- 
tion, and was a favorite with all who knew him. 
He died January 25, 1902, at the advanced age of 
almost eighty-nine years, while his wife passed 
away May 19, 1891. 

Bethuel H. Rowand was educated in the public 
schools and was trained to business life in his 
father's store, where he acted as a clerk from the 
age of twelve years until the ist of October, 
1897. He then purchased the interest of his fa- 
ther and brother John R. in the drug business and 
has since been closely associated with the conduct 
of this enterprise in Barry. 

In the meantime, however, he rendered valu- 
able aid to his country in the dark days of the 
Civil war, enlisting in the Union Army from Pike 
county on the 27th of May, 1862, to serve for 
three months. He was mustered into the United 
States service at Camp Butler, Springfield, Illi- 
nois, June 20, 1862, as a corporal in Company B, 
of the Sixty-eighth Regiment of Illinois Volun- 
teers under command of Captain Daniel F. Cof- 
fey and Colonel Elias Stewart. The regiment was 
enlisted in response to a call made by Governor 
Yates in the early summer for troops to serve 
three months in connection with the state militia, 
and the muster of the regiment was effected early 
in June. Soon afterward, however, the Sixty- 
eighth Illinois was mustered into the United 
States service, and after the rendezvous at 
Springfield left Camp Butler, July 5, 1862, pro- 
ceeding by rail to Wheeling, West Virginia, 
where the troops arrived on the 7th. Two days 
later they moved on to Washington, D. C. re- 
maining at the so-called "soldiers' retreat" until 
the nth, when they proceeded by boat down the 
Potomac to Alexandria, Virginia. They then 
marched about two miles to Camp Taylor, where 
they remained for two weeks, when they were 



transferred to a more healthful location upon 
higher ground about two miles above Alexandria 
near the Potomac. The regiment was later de- 
tailed on provost guard duty in the city of Alex- 
andria, and became proficient in the manual of 
arms, battalion and company movements. Al- 
though never under fire, the men performed the 
duties assigned them with alacrity, and not a man 
of the regiment would have hesitated had they 
been called upon to face the enemy on the battle- 
field. The Sixty-eighth Illinois was assigned the 
duty of caring for the wounded as they were sent 
into Alexandria after the sanguinary battle of 
Bull Run. On the I7th of September they were 
ordered to Camp Butler to be mustered out, 
whjch occurre^. on the 26th of September, 1862, 
the troops receiving their final pay on the ist of 
October. Mr'.- .Rowand was constantly with his 
command during h'is'Stervice and received an hon- 
orable discharge at Camp Butler, but he still felt 
that he owed a duty to his country, and on the 5th 
of May, 1864, he re-enlisted from Pike county 
for one hundred days, being mustered into the 
United States service on the 5th of June as ser- 
geant of Company F, One Hundred and Thirty- 
seventh Illinois Infantry under command of Cap- 
tain Robert B. Robison and Colonel John Wood. 
This regiment was organized in response to Gov- 
ernor Yates's call for volunteers to relieve the 
veteran troops stationed on duty at the front. Re- 
cruiting for this regiment was begun in May, 
1864, and the organization was completed at 
Camp Wood in Quincy by Colonel John Wood, 
who was mustered into the service with the regi- 
ment June 5, 1864, as its commander to serve for 
one hundred days. On the gth of June, 1864, this 
command left Quincy and proceeded to Memphis, 
Tennessee, where it was assigned to the Fourth 
Brigade, district of Memphis, Colonel B. L. Bait- 
wick of the Thirty-ninth Wisconsin Infantry 
commanding. On the gth of July the regiment 
was assigned to the Third Brigade with Colonel 
|ohn Wood in command and was stationed on 
picket duty on the Hernando road, and eight 
miles north. This regiment was actively engaged 
in Forrest's raid on Memphis, Tennessee, losing 
several men in killed, wounded and missing. Its 
officers and men evinced the highest soldierly 



-4-' 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY 



qualities, making a creditable military record as 
supporters and defenders of the Union, and Pres- 
ident Lincoln tendered them the thanks of the 
government and the people for their services, 
each member of the regiment receiving a personal 
letter from the president. The regiment was mus- 
tered out at Springfield, September 24, 1864, and 
Mr. Rowand was again at liberty to return to his 
home. 

On the nth of June, 1866, occurred the mar- 
riage of Bethtiel H. Rowand and Miss Charlotte 
Gray, a native of Pike county and a daughter of 
Thomas T. and Frances (Crandall) Gray. The 
father was born in Rensselaer county, New York, 
in 1812, and was the youngest in a family of thir- 
teen children. The wife was born in the same 
county in 1820. They reared seven daughters 
and three sons, namely : Eugene, Melissa, 
Henry, Charlotte, Josephine, Fannie, Florence, 
Gertrude, Halbert and Hattie. Of this number 
Eugent served in the Sixty-eighth and the Twen- 
ty-eighth regiments of Illinois Infantry,- and 
Henry in the Twenty-eighth Illinois Volunteers. 
The parents came to Pike county with their re- 
spective parents and were married here ; and Mr. 
Gray was one of the leading merchants of Barry 
for many years. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Rowand was born a daugh- 
ter, Maie, who is now the wife of Captain John 
T. Nance, commanding Company I, Ninth Cali- 
fornia Regiment of the United States Regulars, 
located at Berkeley, California. He is also in- 
structor in the State University there and has 
served on the staff of General McArthur and 
Fred Grant and General Chaffee. Captain 
and Mrs. Nance have one son, Curtis H., 
who has recently graduated from the State 
University. In 1891, Mr. Rowand was called 
upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died on 
the 2Qth of July of that year. On the ist of 
September, 1892, he married Mrs. Ella H. Mc- 
Clain, nee Hoyle, who was born in Pike county, 
May 31, 1859. By her first husband she had one 
son, George Montgomery McClain, who was 
born in 1833 and is now assisting in the Rowand 
drug store. Mrs. Rowand is a daughter of 
George and Elizabeth (Hillman) Hoyle, the 
former a native of England, and the latter of 



Ohio, in which state she was reared by a family 
of Friends or Quakers. In his boyhood clays 
George Hoyle accompanied his parents to Ken- 
tucky, and the family afterward came to Pike 
county, Illinois, casting in their lot with the pio- 
neer settlers here. Mr. Hoyle followed the oc- 
cupation of farming, continuing his connection 
with agricultural pursuits in Pike county up to the 
time of his death. 

Mr. Rowand has been engaged in the drug 
business in Barry on his own account since he 
purchased his father's store in 1897. He is now 
proprietor of the best establishment of this char- 
acter in the city, the store being neat and tasteful 
in its appointments and equipped with a large line 
'of drugs and kindred supplies. He also owns a 
fine home on Diamond Hill, where he resides. 
Recognized as a stalwart advocate and earnest 
worker in the ranks of the republican party in his. 
county, he has been called to public office and has 
been a member of the city council, also city clerk 
and clerk of Barry township. He is prominent 
in fraternal circles, belonging to Barry lodge, No. 
34, A. F. & A. M., and Barry chapter, No. 88, 
R. A. M., while both he and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Eastern Star. He is an Odd Fellow, 
connected with New Canton Militant, thus re- 
ceiving the highest rank in Odd Fellowship. He 
has been noble grand, and has occupied all of the 
chairs in the order. A charter member of John 
Tucker post, No. 154, G. A. R., he has served as 
its commander for the past three years, and has 
recently been re-elected to that office. His wife 
is an active member of the Woman's Relief Corps 
and qf the Eastern Star. His interest and activity 
thus touch many lines relating to material, social 
and moral progress, and the legal and political 
status of the community. 



PERRY C. ALLEN. 

Perry C. Allen, district agent for the Phoenix 
Insurance Company of Brooklyn, New York, 
agent for the Mutual Life Insurance Company of 
New York, of the Royal Insurance Company of 
Liverpool, England, the Northern Assurance 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



243 



Company of London, England, and the Insurance 
Company of North America at Philadelphia, was 
born in Harrison county, Kentucky, on the 2Qth 
of September, 1867, his parents being Joseph M. 
and Ruth A. (Wells) Allen, of Pike county. The 
father was born in Kentucky and was a son of 
David Allen, also a native of that state. In Ken- 
tucky he followed the occupation of farming 
until 1865, when he came to Pike county, Illinois, 
settling near Pittsfield upon a farm of one hun- 
dred and six acres, which he purchased. Subse- 
quently he sold that property and later bought 
one hundred and eighty-four acres near Pleasant 
Hill, carrying on general agricultural pursuits 
there until 1891, when he sold out and returned 
to Kentucky, where he was born, in order that he 
might take care of his aged father. He, however, 
became ill and died before his father. He passed 
away in 1893, at the age of eighty-sixyears, while 
Joseph M. Allen died in 1891, at the age of fifty- 
four years. His widow is still living and makes 
her home in Pittsfield. In their family were 
four sons: Perry C.\ Will E., who married 
Mamie Hoyl and lives in Pueblo, Colorado, where 
he is engaged in mining; George W., living in 
Pittsfield ; and Joseph C., also of this city. 

Perry C. Allen acquired his education in the 
common schools of this county and in the Gem 
City Business College of Quincy, Illinois, and en- 
tered business life for himself when twenty-six 
years of age, becoming proprietor of a livery 
stable which he conducted for three years, when 
on account of losing his right arm as the result 
of a fall he was obliged to sell out. After going 
to St. Louis, however, and having his arm am- 
putated he resumed business as a liveryman and 
continued in that line for two years, when failing 
health again obliged him to sell out and he 
turned his attention to the insurance business in 
1897. To this he has since given his time and 
energies. He entered the employ of the Phoenix 
Insurance Company, and was so successful that 
in 1904 he was promoted to the position of dis- 
trict agent in association with his former partner, 
G. H. Wike, of Barry, Illinois. He is now dis- 
trict agent for the Phoenix Insurance Company 
for western Illinois, appointing agents and super- 
intending their work in this part of the state. He 



also represents the Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany of New York, the Royal Insurance Com- 
pany of Liverpool, England, the Northern Assur- 
ance Company of North America and writes a 
large amount of business each year. He is also 
coal oil inspector for Pike county. 

In 1892 Mr. Allen was united in marriage to 
Miss Minnie Sitton, of Nebo, Illinois, and they 
had two children: Merrill, born in 1894; and 
Minnie in 1896. The wife and mother died in the 
latter year, and Mr. Allen has again been mar- 
ried, Miss Daisy Hawkins, of Cincinnati, Ohio, 
becoming his wife ii> 1903. They have one child, 
Marion, born in 1904. 

In his political views Mr. Allen is a democrat 
and for four years has held the office of justice 
of the peace. He belongs to Pericles lodge, No. 
428, Knights of Pythias, at Perry, Illinois, is a 
member of the Fraternal Mystic Circle of Colum- 
bus, Ohio, and the tribe of Ben Hur at Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana. His religious faith is indi- 
cated by his membership in the Christian church, 
while his wife is a member of the Methodist 
church. He owns a beautiful home in the south- 
eastern part of Pittsfield, standing in the midst 
of a half block of land. It is indeed one of the 
finest and most attractive residences of the city, 
pleasantly situated about two blocks from the 
public square. He has his office on the west side 
of the square with the Pike County Abstract 
Company, and is justly regarded as a most ener- 
getic, enterprising man, who in his business ex- 
emplifies the typical spirit of the west. 



GEORGE W. SMITH 

George W: Smith, who carries on general 
agricultural pursuits on section 35, Hardin town- 
ship, and is also well known as a stock-raiser and 
feeder, has a farm of one hundred and fifty-five 
acres, which is well improved. It is a valuable 
tract of land, responding readily to the care and 
labor bestowed upon it. Mr. Smith has been a 
lifelong representative of agricultural interests 
in Pike county. His birth occurred in Hadley 
township, September 24, 1868, his parents being 
Jesse A. and Elizabeth (Robertson) Smith. The 



244 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTS. 



father was a native of Virginia and was a son 
of Jesse B. Smith, whose birth also occurred in 
the Old Dominion, whence he removed with his 
family to Illinois about 1847, settling in Pike 
county. Here Jesse A. Smith on arriving at years 
of maturity wedded Mrs. Elizabeth Robertson, 
nee Montgomery. He chose fanning as a life 
work and improved a tract of land in Hadley 
township, where he lived for some years, after 
which he removed to Pleasant Hill township.. He 
afterward began the development of another farm, 
upon which he continued for several years, and 
reared his family there. Eventually he disposed 
of that ' property and bought the place upon 
which his son, George W. Smith, now resides, 
owning there one hundred and twenty acres of 
rich and arable land. He continued the work 
of farming and further improving the property 
and he built to and remodeled his house. In 
all of his labor he was energetic and progressive 
and the splendid appearance of his property was 
indicative of his life of activity and unfaltering 
determination. He spent his remaining days 
upon the old farm homestead, here passing away 
in 1899, while his wife died the year previous. 
In the family were three children : George W., 
of this review ; Jesse, a resident farmer of Hardiri 
township ; and Margaret, who became the wife 
of Samuel Windmiller, but both are now de- 
ceased. 

George W. Smith largely passed his youth 
in Pleasant Hill township, where he acquired a 
common-school education. He remained with 
his father until the latter's death and assisted in 
carrying on the work of the home farm. Fol- 
lowing his father's demise he took charge of the 
property and business, succeeding to a part of the 
old homestead. On the 3ist of August, 1894, he 
was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Lord, who 
was born and reared in Martinsburg township, 
and is a daughter of Curtis Lord, one of the early 
settlers from Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have 
had no children of their own but have reared the 
two children of a deceased sister, Anna and C. 
Bliss Windmiller. The latter is a student in the 
home school. 

Politically Mr. Smith is a democrat and cast 
his first presidential ballot for William Jennings 



Bryan. He was elected and served for two terms 
as assessor and is recognized as an active worker 
in the ranks of his party, serving as a delegate to 
county conventions and doing all in his power to 
promote democratic successes. His wife is a mem- 
ber of the Church of Christ of Martinsburg. Mr. 
Smith is recognized as one of the active, pros- 
perous and well-to-do agriculturists of Hardin 
township, carefully carrying on the work of 
the fields as well as stock-raising. His entire 
life has been passed in Pike county, where he is 
recognized as a man of good business ability, 
having the confidence and esteem of the commu- 
nity. His home is one of hospitality and good 
cheer and he and his estimable wife have a large 
circle of warm friends. 



JAMES A. FARRAND. 

James A. Farrand, one of the organizers of the 
Illinois Valley Bank of Griggsville and now 
serving as second vice-president of that institu- 
tion, was born in this city, September 16, 1854. 
The Farrands were descended from a French Hu- 
guenot family, whose estates were forfeited in the 
persecution of the sixteenth and early part of the 
seventeenth centuries. Some of the family, es- 
caping from France, appear to have settled in 
England on the border of Wales, while others 
went to the north of Ireland and tradition says 
that the branch of the family to which our subject 
belongs was descended from those who became 
residents of the Emerald Isle. In France the 
name was sometimes spelled Ferrand. James A. 
Farrand traces his ancestry back to Nathaniel, 
who became a resident of Milford, Connecticut, 
in 1645 an d comes on down the line through 
Nathaniel Farrand, second; Samuel Farrand, who 
toward the close of the seventeenth century settled 
in Newark, New Jersey ; Ebenezer Farrand, who 
lived in Bloomfield, New Jersey, to Bethuel Far- 
rand, who lived in Parsippany, Morris county, 
New Jersey, and who was the great-grandfather 
of our subject. He was enrolled among the Jersey- 
provincials, held a lieutenant's commission and 




J. A. FARRAND 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



247 



commanded a company of troops in the Revolu- 
tionary war, serving with honor and distinction. 
His wife, Rhoda SmitU Farrand, was the heroine 
of a ballad written by her great-granddaughter, 
Eleanor A. Hunter, celebrating her arduous and 
heroic work in behalf of the soldiers in response 
to a letter from her husband, who told of the hard 
conditions which the army were undergoing at 
Morristown, that many of the men were bare- 
footed and were walking with bleeding feet in the 
snow. He sent his letter with a request for stock- 
ings and immediately setting her daughters to 
work at the task of knitting them she instructed 
her son Dan to hitch the horses to the wagon and 
drive to the neighbors to solicit their aid and on 
the way Mrs. Farrand, seated in a chair, also con- 
tinued the work of knitting. She took her famous 
ride on Saturday and on Monday, owing to the 
untiring industry of the women and girls of the 
neighborhood, she was able to carry one hundred 
and thirty-three pairs to the soldiers at Morris- 
town. The marriage of Bethuel Farrand and 
Rhoda Smith occurred in 1762 and they became 
the parents of eleven children. 

Samuel Farrand, the seventh child of this fam- 
ily, was born September 7, 1781, and was married 
in 1806 to Mary Kitchel, who was born June 14, 
1789. They removed to Leoni, Michigan, in 1835 
and there shared in the hardships of frontier life. 
Samuel Farrand died in 1848, while his wife's 
death occurred in Princeton, New Jersey, in 1856. 

Their son, Elbridge Gerry Farrand, was the 
father of James A. Farrand and was born in Ad- 
dison county, Vermont, November 13, 1814. He 
was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Mc- 
Williams, a daughter of James McWilliams, who 
was born in Belmont county, Ohio, March 12, 
1802, and was a son of Alexander McWilliams, 
who was born on shipboard while his parents 
were en route to America in 1776. He was of 
Scotch descent and the family home was estab- 
lished at Brownsville, Pennsylvania, where Alex- 
ander McWilliams acquired his education. At 
the age of twenty-two years he married Miss Jane 
Paxton, of Fayette county, Pennsylvania, and 
unto them were born three children, of whom 
James was the youngest. The mother died in 
1803 and the father afterward married again, hav- 



ing eleven children by the second union. He died 
at his home in Ohio at the age of sixty-five years. 

James McWillams. the maternal grandfather of 
James A. Farrand, acquired the greater part of 
his education in the schools of Ohio and in his 
youth was largely employed on his father's farm. 
In 1824 he married Margaret Latimer, a daughter 
of Alexander Latimer, formerly of Scotland. They 
had a family of eight children and in 1834 Mr. 
McWilliams removed to Illinois, spending the 
succeeding winter at Naples. In the spring of 
1835 he took up his abode on a farm near Griggs- 
ville, Pike county, -and on the 28th of December. 
1838, his w1fe.died'there. In June, 1839, he mar- 
ried Lucretia Prescott,.a native of Groton, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1838 Mr.*MWilliams was elected 
to the Illinois legislature from Pike county on the 
democratic ticket, serving during the last session 
held at Vandalia and the first session held in 
Springfield. In 1848 he engaged in the lumber 
trade, which business he carried on for many 
years. During the period of the Civil war he was 
a stanch supporter of Lincoln's administration and 
his son, Captain John McWilliams, served for 
ninety days in the Eighth Regiment of Illinois 
Volunteers, commanded by Colonel Richard 
Oglesby. Immediately after returning home he 
re-enlisted and was with Sherman on the cele- 
brated march to the sea. 

Elbridge G. Farrand left his native state at the 
age of eighteen years and went to Michigan, 
where he remained until 1845, m which year he 
removed to Morgan county, Illinois. In 1849 ne 
went to California, where he remained until 1852, 
when he returned to Morgan county, Illinois, but 
soon afterward came to Griggsville. Here he was 
a member of the mercantile firm of R. B. Hatch & 
Company, who erected a business block and for a 
number of years conducted a leading mercantile 
enterprise of this city. In 1861 he embarked in 
the lumber business at Griggsville Landing in 
connection with his father-in-law, Hon. James 
McWilliams, and they dealt in doors, sash, blinds, 
etc., carrying a stock valued at from twelve to 
fifteen thousand dollars. Mr. Farrand was asso- 
ciated with his father-in-law till the latter's death, 
after which he continued the business alone until 
March, 1885, when he sold out with the intention 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



of living retired, but he passed away soon after- 
ward on the 2d of May of that year. 

Following his marriage Elbridge Gerry Far- 
rand became a resident of Griggsville, Illinois, 
where he remained up to the time of his death, 
which occurred May 2, 1885. He had four chil- 
dren : James A. ; Mulford K., who was born De- 
cember 28, 1856, and is engaged in farming in 
Pittsfield township; Harvey L., who was born 
September 27, 1859, and is a mining broker re- 
siding in Joplin, Missouri ; and Frederick H., who 
was born April 24, 1871, and is cashier of the 
Illinois Valley Bank at Griggsville. Mr. Farrand 
was well known as a man of modest retiring dis- 
position but of firm convictions and of untarnished 
integrity and those most closely connected with 
him in his business relations throughout all the 
years of his residence in Griggsville never had 
occasion to doubt his honor nor honesty. His 
wife, who was born at Scotch Ridge, Belmont 
county, Ohio, July 3, 1827, survived him for a 
number of years, passing away January 23, 1903.. 
The eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Mc- 
Williams, she came with her parents during the 
fall of 1834 to Illinois, the prospective point of 
settlement being Tremont in Tazewell county, but 
the closing of the Illinois river prevented farther 
progress, and, November 20, the family landed 
at Naples, where the winter was spent. Being at- 
tracted by the agricultural features of this section 
of the country, Mr. McWilliams came to Griggs- 
ville, purchasing the farm now owned by John 
Craven, and many will recall the interesting rem- 
iniscences of the pioneer life of that time which 
Mrs. Farrand never tired of relating. Possessing 
a marvelous memory, her mind was a store house 
of information, especially concerning the early 
history of this place, and none questioned the ac- 
curacy of her statements. December 28, 1838, 
the family removed to the town, and the following 
year the house, which by a strange coincidence, is 
now the home of Mr. Craven, was erected and for 
seventeen years was the family residence. Eliza- 
beth J. McWilliams was married October 25, 
1853, to Mr. Elbridge Gerry Farrand, and in 1854 
the house was built under whose roof were reared 
the four sons, James Alexander, Mulford Kitchel, 
Harvey Latimer and Frederick Heman. Her 



generosity was so quietly, so unostentatiously be- 
stowed, that many a benefaction escaped notice. 
Beneath a somewhat rugged exterior beat a warm, 
sympathetic heart, overflowing with love for her 
four boys, which manifested itself in tenderest 
care extending also to all boys for their sake. 
Many a man now in middle life will recall the time 
spent with the "Farrand boys" around the even- 
ing lamp, while school task and game, story and 
jest filled the quickly flying hours. The house 
remains, but the home has gone with the strong 
character which was its center. Only a memory 
is left the memory of a kind neighbor, a trusted 
friend and a loving mother. 

Phineas Farrand, a brother of Elbridge G. Far- 
rand, was born at Bridgeport, Vermont, and was 
married in 1836 in that state to Harriet Wheelock. 
The same year he removed to Jackson, Michigan, 
and became a member of the law firm of Farrand, 
Higbee & Johnson, which was the first law firm 
in that place. Following his death in 1855, his 
widow removed to Lansing, where she died in her 
seventieth year. She had been a member of the 
Episcopal church for nearly forty years. 

James A. Farrand pursued his education in the 
public schools and worked in his father's lumber- 
yard until August i, 1873, on which date the 
Griggsville National Bank was organized and he 
became bookkeeper and assistant cashier in that 
institution. Later he was promoted to the posi- 
tion of cashier in 1893 and so continued until 
1901, when he and his brother Frederick organ- 
ized the Illinois Valley Bank, which opened its 
doors for business on the 24th of September, 1902. 
He is now the second vice president of the insti- 
tution, which constitutes his connection with the 
business interests of Griggsville at the present 
time. 

Mr. Farrand was married in Quincy, Illinois, 
April 29, 1903, to Miss Annie Craven, the wed- 
ding being celebrated in the cathedral by the Rev. 
Walter H. Moore, dean of the diocese. Mrs. Far- 
rand was born in Griggsville township, February 
26, 1869, and is a daughter of John and Henrietta 
(George) Craven, who are mentioned on another 
page of- this work. Mr. and Mrs. Farrand now 
have one child, Henrietta Crowther, who was 
born February 10, 1905. Mr. Farrand belongs to 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



249 



Griggsville lodge, No 45, A. F. & A. M., and 
to the Royal Arch chapter at Perry and Ascalon 
commandery, No. 49, K. T., at Pittsfield. In pol- 
itics he is a stalwart republican and has been reg- 
ognized as one of the leaders of his party for 
many years. He has acted as supervisor of 
Griggsville township for seven years, has been a 
member of the school board for eighteen years 
and was the first city treasurer of Griggsville, be- 
ing chosen to the office on the isth of April, 1879. 
His wife is eligible to membership in the Daugh- 
ters of the Revolution on the Farrand side of the 
family. Since Elbridge Gerry Farrand came to 
Griggsville at an early day the family name has 
figured prominently in connection with public af- 
fairs, with business progress and with the work 
of general improvement and advancement here 
and Mr. Farrand is to-day one of the prominent 
and influential business men and leading citizens, 
his capability and genuine personal worth well 
entitling him to the high position which he occu- 
pies in the public regard. 



H. B. ANDREW, M. D. 

H. B. Andrew, a successful medical practitioner 
of New Salem, was born in New Salem, Pike 
county, in 1872, and is a son of John and H. L. 
(Fisher) Andrew. The father was born in Lin- 
colnshire, England, February 26, 1840, and was 
fourteen years of age when he crossed the Atlan- 
tic to the United States, becoming a resident of 
Lockport, Will county, Illinois. In December, 
1855, he took up his abode in Pike county, and 
at New Canton received the rudiments of a good 
English education. In early manhood he devoted 
several years to farming and at the outbreak of 
the Civil war put aside all business and personal 
considerations to become a member of Company 
K, Ninety-ninth Illinois Infantry, commanded by 
Colonel Bailey, in June, 1862. The regiment 
soon went to the front and he participated in the 
battles of Port Gibson, Champion Hill and the 
siege of Vicksburg. He joined the army as a 
private but was at once made sergeant, afterward 
orderly and, subsequent to the charge at Vicks- 



burg, was promoted to the rank of first lieutenant 
and was in command of a company throughout 
the greater part of the siege of Vicksburg. He 
was mustered out in August, 1863, and following 
his return home engaged in the drug business in 
New Salem, Illinois. He has been engaged almost 
continuously since in merchandising in New 
Salem and now carries a large and well selected 
line of general goods and is very successful in 
the control and management of his business. When 
he arrived in New Canton, Illinois, he was a poor, 
uneducated youth of sixteen years of age who, 
desirous of acquiring broader knowledge, entered 
school there and eventually became a teacher of 
that same school. As a merchant he is widely 
known because of his reliability in business af- 
fairs, his enterprise and keen discrimination. He 
was married, in October, 1863, to Miss Martha 
A. Temple, also of New Salem, and they had one 
son. The mother died about two years after her 
marriage and the son survived the mother's death 
for only two weeks. About three years later Mr. 
Andrew wedded Miss H. L. Fisher, also of New 
Salem, and to them were born six children : H. B. 
Andrew, of this review; Charles F., who is a 
graduate of the Missouri Medical College, of 
St. Louis, and is now a professor in the medical 
department of the University of Colorado and 
also chairman of the state commission for insane 
in Colorado ; John, who is a graduate of Lombard 
College and is now in Longmont, Colorado ; W. 
B., who is a graduate of the same school of Gales- 
burg, Illinois, and is now jn Denver, Colorado; 
Mary Maud, who was also graduated in Gales- 
burg and is now engaged in teaching school ; and 
Alice, who is at home. 

H. B. Andrew pursued his early education in 
the schools of New Salem and afterward attended 
Lombard University, at Galesburg, Illinois. Sub- 
sequently he engaged in teaching school for two 
.years, from 1890 until 1892, and then entered the 
Missouri Medical College at St. Louis in 1893, 
being graduated therefrom in 1896. He entered 
the active practice of his profession in Colorado, 
remaining for two years at Longmont, after 
which he came to New Salem, Illinois, where he 
has since remained. He lias a large and gratify- 
ing practice, his business bringing to him a good 



250 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



financial return annually. He practices along 
scientific lines, keening in touch with modern re- 
search and his efforts have been attended with a 
gratifying measure of success. 

On the 30th of November, 1898, Dr. Andrew 
was married to Miss Jennette Ramsay, who was 
born on PrinceEdward Island and came to Amer- 
ica with her parents in early childhood. Her father 
located in Colorado and was engaged in the gro- 
cery business for many years at Longmont, but 
is now giving his attention to the commission 
business. The marriage of Dr. and Mrs. Andrew 
was celebrated in Illinois and has been blessed 
with two children : John Ramsay, born Septem- 
ber 3, 1899; and Helen, born April 18, 1901. 

Dr. Andrew is a republican but has never held 
any office, preferring to give his undivided atten- 
tion to his professional duties. In addition to a 
large private practice he is acting as examiner of 
several old-line insurance companies, including 
the New York Mutual, the New York Life, the 
Equitable and the Manhattan. He belongs to the 
Masonic lodge at New Salem and in the line of 
his profession is connected with the Pike County 
Medical Association. He is interested in all that 
tends to promote the efficiency of medical practi- 
tioners and in his chosen work has rendered valu- 
able aid to his fellowmen. 



AUGUSTUS DOW. 

Augustus Dow, a leading representative of 
commercial and industrial interests in Pittsfield 
and also a prominent factor in public life, having 
been honored by election to the state legislature, 
where his official services reflected honor upon 
the constituency that had called him to office, was 
born in South Coventry, Tolland county, Connec- 
ticut, on the gth of October, 1841. His parents, 
Cyrus and Charity A. (Chapman) Dow, were of 
Scotch descent. The father was born in the year 
1800 and died in 1855, when scarcely past the 
prime of life, but the mother reached the ad- 
vanced age of ninety-three years, passing away 
in Connecticut on the I2th of March, 1905. 

In the public schools of his native town Au- 
gustus Dow began his education and afterward 



attended an academy, pursuing a good practical 
course of study. He entered upon his business 
career in the capacity of a clerk at Hartford, 
Connecticut, but wisely thinking the great west, 
which Illinois was then considered, would offer 
better opportunities to a young man of energy 
and determination than could be secured in the 
older towns of the east, he came to Pike county, 
Illinois, in 1858, bringing with him good busi- 
ness habits, laudable ambition and strong deter- 
mination. He accepted a position as clerk in a 
store in Pittsfield and was employed in that ca- 
pacity until 1862, when he entered the service 
of the government, being appointed paying clerk 
of the Army of the Cumberland under Major W. 
E. Norris with headquarters at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. There he remained until 1865. During 
the time that he was connected with this depart- 
ment he paid to the troops nine million dollars 
and carried as much as three hundred thousand 
dollars at one time. He was then about twenty- 
two years of age a young man for such respon- 
sibility but his duties were most faithfully dis- 
charged and not a cent was lost in the transac- 
tions. 

After the close of the war Mr. Dow returned 
to Pittsfield and established himself as a dry- 
goods merchant, continuing in the business until 
1872, when he joined C. P. Chapman in the mill- 
ing business. He has devoted himself strictly 
to the work, soon gaining a full understanding 
of milling in all of its details, and as the years 
passed developed a large and profitable enter- 
prise. In 1898 Mr. Chapman died and Mr. Dow 
admitted Mr. Chapman's son-in-law, M. D. King, 
to a partnership, so that the firm is now Dow 
& King. The mill which they owned and op- 
erated was built in 1870 and therein their prod- 
ucts were manufactured until 1900, when the 
mill was destroyed by fire. The firm then rebuilt 
as soon as the insurance was adjusted. The new 
mill has a greater storage capacity than the old 
one and is one of the most modern and best 
equipped plants of the kind in the state, its ca- 
pacity being six hundred barrels per day. The 
old plant was built as a burr mill, but in 1883 
the roller process was installed. In March, 1902, 
the elevator was burned, but was immediately 




AUGUSTUS DOW 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



253 



rebuilt on a more expensive scale, its capacity 
exceeding the old one by forty thousand bushels, 
its present capacity being one hundred and twenty 
thousand. The principal brands of flour manu- 
factured by the firm are Crystal Gem, Principia, 
Superlative and Dow's Dew Drop. The capacity 
of the mill is six hundred barrels of flour and the 
company manufactures all of its barrels, having 
a large brick cooper shop in the rear. They fur- 
nish employment to about fifty men altogether, 
so that the enterprise is a most creditable one 
to the city as well as a source of gratifying in- 
come to the proprietors, 

Mr. Dow has figured prominently in public af- 
fairs and in 1892 was elected to the state legis- 
lature for a two-years' term. While acting as 
a member of the house he served, on the com- 
mittees on canals, river improvements, commerce, 
drainage, state municipality, indebtedness, and 
on the visiting committee to charitable institutions, 
and he gave to each question which came up for 
settlement his careful consideration and he ably 
represented his constituents, his course reflecting 
honor upon the county that honored him. In 
1894 he was appointed one of the trustees of the 
Illinois Institution for the Blind at Jacksonville 
and served for four years, during which time 
Hon. N. W. Branson was president, while Hon. 
Augustus Dow and Hon. Edward Rew, of Chi- 
cago, were trustees and Frank H. Hall, superin- 
tendent of the institution. Mr. Dow is widely 
recognized as one of the leading republicans of 
Pittsfield and has been a member of the central 
committee. He has also figured prominently in 
municipal politics, being mayor of Pittsfield for 
four years and president of the central board for 
a number of years. He has likewise been a mem- 
ber of the county board of supervisors, and his 
excellent business talents and executive ability 
made him an enviable official. He is one of the 
directors of the First National Bank of Pitts- 
field and was one of the trustees that built the 
Opera House in this city. He has been con- 
nected with all of the improvement of a local 
nature and his name stands high in financial cir- 
cles far beyond the limits of the county. 

Mr. Dow has been married three times. He 
first wedded Miss Jennie E. Winans in 1865. She 



was a native of New Jersey, born in 1841, and 
her death occurred in 1870. In 1872, in St. Louis, 
Missouri, Mr. Dow was married to Judith W. 
Morton, who was born in Massachusetts in 1840, 
and they had one son, Harry A., who spent two 
years as a student in the Illinois College, four 
years at Yale and three years in the law depart- 
ment of the University of Michigan at Ann Ar- 
bor. He is now private secretary and attorney 
for N. W. Harris & Company, of Chicago, the 
largest bond house in the United States. On 
the 2ist of September, 1904, he married Miss 
Florence Bachelder, of Ypsilanti, and they now 
reside in Chicago. Mr. Dow, in company with 
his son Harry, traveled abroad, visiting England, 
Ireland, Scotland and France. Following the 
death of his second wife, in 1887, Mr. Dow was 
married to Mrs. Mary S. Bates, who had one 
daughter, Sarah, now the wife of Fred Utt, a 
druggist residing at Glen Ellyn, Illinois. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dow hold membership in the 
Congregational church, in which 'he* has been 
a trustee for many year*: "*He .owns a beautiful 
home in Pittsfield and has been a residerif of this 
city since 1858. He is not only well known in 
Pike county, but throughout this section of Illi- 
nois. His trade extends over a wide territory, 
and in this connection he has been the promoter 
of what has become one of the leading industrial 
enterprises of Pittsfield. His success has been 
the result of honest, persistent effort in the line 
of honorable and manly dealing. His aims have 
been to attain to the best, and he has carried for- 
ward to successful completion whatever he has 
undertaken. His life has marked a steady growth 
and now he is in possession of an ample com- 
petence and, more than all, has that contentment 
that comes from a consciousness of having lived 
for an honorable purpose. 



WILLIAM OLIVER SKINNER, M. D. 

Dr. William Oliver Skinner, physician and 
surgeon of Griggsville, whose ability in the line 
of his profession has gained him a constantly 
growing practice, was born in Franklin county, 



254 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Pennsylvania, January i, 1848, a son of John 
and Ann E. (Barclay) Skinner. Both were natives 
of the Keystone state, the former born in 1815. 
He was a tanner and farmer and conducted a 
tannery at Fannettsburg, Pennsylvania, for many 
years. He was a prominent and influential resi- 
dent of that community and his last days were 
spent upon his farm in Franklin county, where he 
passed away in 1863, at the age of forty-eight years. 
His wife long survived him and died in 1892, at 
the age of seventy-seven years. In the family 
of this worthy couple were nine children, of whom 
five are now living : David H., who resides in 
Belleville, Kansas; Mrs. Mollie Elder, a resident 
of Dry Run, Pennsylvania; Sadie, living at Blair's 
Mills, Pennsylvania; Mattie, the wife of Dr. 
Shope, of Dry Run, Pennsylvania, and Wil- 
liam O. 

Dr. Skinner supplemented his early education 
by an academic course and prepared for his pro- 
fession as a medical student in the University of 
Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated with 
the class of 1874. He located for practice in 
Harrisonville, Pennsylvania, and afterward fol- 
lowed his profession in Dry Run, Pennsylvania, 
until 1876, when he came to Griggsville, 
where he has practiced continuously since 
the spring of 1877. He has been presi- 
dent of the board of pension examiners, fill- 
president of the board of pension examiners, fill- 
ing the position under President Cleveland, and 
he has had a large private practice, which has 
brought him a good financial return. Conscientious 
in the discharge of his duties, and manifesting 
strict conformity to a high standard of profes- 
sional ethics, he has won the trust of the general 
public and the respect of his professional brethren. 

On the loth of June, 1874, Dr. Skinner was 
married to Miss Fannie Brown, who was born in 
Griggsville township, May 17, 1852, a daughter 
of Henry R. Brown, who first married Harriet 
Parks. There was one child of that marriage 
but the mother and child both died and Mr. 
Brown afterward married Elizabeth Jane Chap- 
man. They became the parents of eight chil- 
dren, of whom five are now living: John, 
a resident of Kansas; Mrs. Mary J. Wat- 
kins, who is living in Pike county ; Mrs. 
Skinner; C. W., who is now living in Kansas; 



and William W., who resides upon the old home- 
stead. The father, who was a native of Ohio, 
died in 1902, at the venerable age of eighty-two 
years, while Mrs. Brown, a native of South Caro- 
lina, is now living on the old homestead at the 
age of eighty-three years, being the last survivor 
of a family of twenty members. Mr. Brown, hav- 
ing come to Illinois with his parents at an early 
date, started in life with little capital, but made 
a success at farming and stock-raising and be- 
came the owner of land in both Kansas and Illi- 
nois, and at his death left an estate valued at 
about seventy-five thousand dollars. Such a rec- 
ord should serve to inspire and encourage others, 
showing what can be accomplished through de- 
termined and earnest purpose. He never cared 
for public office, but voted with the republican 
party and gave his earnest support to the Bap- 
tist church, with which he long held membership. 

Unto Dr. and Mrs. Skinner have been born 
three children : Harry R., who was born June 30, 
1875, and married Blanche Wade; Floyd L., born 
June 7, 1879; an d William K.. who was born 
June 24, 1884, an d is now attending the law de- 
partment of the University of Illinois. 

In his political views Dr. Skinner is a demo- 
crat and upon the party ticket was elected mayor 
of Griggsville, giving to the city a public-spirited 
and progressive administration during his two 
years' incumbency. He is a public-spirited 
man whose devotion to the general good is mani- 
fest in tangible effort for all that tends to promote 
the material, intellectual and social progress of 
the city. 



THOMAS B. ELLIS." 

Thomas B. Ellis, a retired farmer who was 
formerly closely associated with agricultural in- 
terests in Detroit township but now resides in 
Pittsfield, was born in Lockport, Erie county, 
New York, November 8, 1832, his parents being 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Brooks) Ellis. The fa- 
ther was born in Oxfordshire, England, in 1808, 
and in that country was married to Miss Brooks, 
whose birth occurred in 1804. On the day of 
their marriage they started for the new world 
and were nine weeks in crossing the ocean on a 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



255 



sailing vessel. Landing at New York in 1831, 
they made their way to Erie county in the Em- 
pire state, where they resided until 1835, when 
they came to Pike county, Illinois. The father 
had owned a farm in Erie county which he sold 
on his removal to the west and on reaching 
Pike county he invested in school land in De- 
troit township, where he spent his remaining 
days, becoming the owner of between six and 
seven hundred acres. His landed possessions 
were thus extensive and indicated a life of use- 
fulness and activity. Unto him and his wife were 
born seven children, of whom four are now liv- 
ing: Thomas B. ; John B.. who makes his home 
in Detroit, Illinois ; Peter, who is living in Cali- 
fornia; and Mrs. Elizabeth Blizzard, also of De- 
troit township. In early life the parents were 
followers of the Episcopal faith but in later years 
became members of the Methodist 'church. Mr. 
Ellis was a republican in his political views and 
served as school director, taking an active inter- 
est in educational affairs. He died in the year 
1867, while his wife passed away in 1888. 

Thomas B. Ellis acquired his early education 
in the common schools of Detroit township, the 
little "temple of learning" being a log school- 
house. When he put aside his text-books he 
began farming on the old homestead and later 
he purchased a farm of one hundred and forty 
acres on section 15, Detroit township, to the cul- 
tivation of which he devoted his energies with 
excellent success from 1857 until 1883. He then 
returned to the old home farm and again re- 
sumed the work of cultivation and improvement 
there. His business labors, however, were inter- 
rupted by active service in the Civil war, for in 
1862 he enlisted in the Union army as a member 
of Company C, Ninety-ninth Illinois Infantry, 
with which he served for two years and eleven 
months. During the first year he acted as wagon 
master. The first battle in which he participated 
was at Vicksburg, after which he was sent to 
Xcw Orleans, where his company did provost 
guard duty for a time. Subsequently they went 
to Texas on the Powder Horn and afterward 
were at Mobile, Alabama. When they went 
around the Powder Horn in Texas the company 
was mounted for a vear under Colonel Matthews. 



Being detailed, they were sent to see about a 
bridge, and Mr. Ellis and two comrades were 
captured and taken to Camp Ford in Tyler, 
Texas, where he was held as a prisoner of war 
for six months but he underwent none of the 
usual hard treatment which many of the Union 
prisoners were forced to endure. When a half 
year had gone by he was exchanged and re- 
joined his regiment on the 22d of July, 1864. He 
was with the Ninety-ninth Illinois at the time of 
the capture of Spanish Fort and then because of 
trouble with his eyes he was sent to the hospital 
at Xew Orleans and thence to Philadelphia and 
afterward to Chicago, where he. was discharged 
July 13, 1865. For three years thereafter the 
trouble with his eyes occasioned him serious in- 
convenience. 

Following his return home Mr. Ellis resumed 
farming, purchasing three hundred and fifteen 
acres of land in Detroit township, which he still 
owns. He always carried on general farming 
pursuits and stock-raising and both branches of 
his business proved profitable. His fields were 
placed under a high state of cultivation and he 
raised good grades of stock so that the products 
of fields and pasture both brought to him a good 
financial return. 

His wife owns a fine home in Pittsfield, where 
they now reside, Mr. Ellis having retired from 
active business cares to enjoy the rest to which 
his former active labor justly entitles him. 

It was in 1873 tnat Mr. Ellis was united in 
marriage to Miss Frances Allen, who was born 
in Saline county, Missouri, February 5, 1847, a 
daughter of John W. and Louisa (Baker) Allen. 
Her father was born October 21, 1814, and the 
mother in 1824. The parental grandfather, Lit- 
tlebury Allen, was born in Henrico county, Vir- 
ginia, in 1767, and spent his entire life in that 
locality. He married Jane Austin, who was also 
born in that neighborhood and in the community 
where he lived he was regarded as a man of 
prominence and influence. He held various local 
positions of public trust and was an official in the 
United States Bank, a branch of which was es- 
tablished at Richmond, Virginia, under a char- 
ter by President Washington in 1796. He was 
afterward doorkeeper of the state senate for 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



twenty-eight years and had a wide acquaintance 
among the distinguished men of Virginia. He 
died in the year 1832, having for several years 
survived his wife who passed away in 1821. 

John W. Allen, father of Mrs. Ellis, was born 
in Virginia, ^ctober 21, 1814, and acquired his 
elementary education in the little schoolhouse at 
Seven Pines, while subsequently he pursued a 
classical course in Cold Harbor, gaining a thor- 
ough understanding of Latin, mathematics and 
surveying. At the age of nineteen years he had 
entered upon his' business career as a school 
teacher in his native state and a year later went 
to Kentucky, where he continued to follow that 
profession. He made his home in the Blue 
Grass state until 1841 when he was married and 
removed to Saline county, Missouri, locating on 
a tract of land which he cultivated until 1847, 
at the same time continuing his work as a teacher. 
In the latter year he came to Pike county, Illinois, 
locating at Milton, where he taught school for a 
number of years and he likewise carried on farm- 
ing in Detroit and Montezuma townships. 
Throughout his entire life he was interested in 
agricultural pursuits and as an educator did 
much for the intellectual development of the lo- 
calities with which he was connected. He figured 
prominently in public affairs in Pike county and 
from 1861 until 1865 served as county judge. He 
was also supervisor of Detroit township for sev- 
eral years and his influence was ever on the side 
of progress, reform, improvement and develpp- 
ment. In his family were twelve children, of 
whom five are yet living, namely : Dr. C. I. Allen, 
of Milton; Mrs. Ellis; Mrs. j. Morton, of St. 
Louis : Henry L. Allen, of Kansas ; and Dr. A. 
R. Allen, of Bradshaw, Nebraska. 

Mrs. Ellis began her education in the common 
schools of Detroit township and afterward con- 
tinued her studies in Pittsfield and subsequently 
engaged in teaching for three years. She is a 
lady of refinement and culture and she and her 
husband are accorded a prominent position in 
social circles here. They have become the parents 
of seven children : Thomas H., who was born 
July II, 1874, married Alberta Elliot and lives 
in Detroit, Illinois. John A., born October 14, 
1875, married Maud Elliot and lives on the old 



homestead in Detroit township. Charles I. born 
April 20, 1877, married Lenna Scarborough and 
is living in Detroit township. Elizabeth, born 
August 31, 1879, is in a training school for nurses 
in Chicago. Louise, born July 2, 1881, is at home. 
Arthur C., born September 21, 1883, is living 
on the old homestead farm with his brother. 
Richard M., born August i, 1885, is attending 
the Gem City Business College, at Quincy, 
Illinois. 

The parents are members of the Methodist 
church and Mr. Ellis belongs to Benjamin Moore 
post, G. A. R., of Detroit. He gives his political 
support to the republican party and his sons, John 
A. and Thomas, have each served as assessor of 
Detroit township. In matters of citizenship Mr. 
Ellis is as faithful and loyal to his home localit, 
his state and nation as when he followed the old 
flag upon Southern battle-fields. He made a cred- 
itable record as a soldier, doing his full duty 
toward the cause he espoused and in all life's 
relations he has manifested an unfaltering attach- 
ment to the principles in which he has believed 
and the honorable course of life which he has 
marked out. His business interests, honorably 
conducted, have brought him creditable success 
so that now he is enabled to enjoy a well earned 
rest in Pittsfield. 



WILLIAM STULTS. 

William Stults, living on section 14, Newburg 
township, is a veteran of the Civil war one of the 
few remaining old soldiers who can relate from 
personal experience the events and happenings of 
the 'boys in blue" who fought for the old flag 
upon southern battle-fields. He is now classed 
with the prosperous farmers and stock-raisers of 
Pike count}', where he owns a good farm of one 
hundred and sixty acres. He dates his residence 
in Newburg township from 1867, having come 
to this state from Ohio. His birth occurred in 
Highland county, Ohio, October 15, 1841. There 
the birth of his father, Joseph Stults, also occurred 
and in that county he was married to Miss Ruth 
Tedrow, also a native of the same locality. The 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



257 



father's death occurred when his son William 
was very young and the mother died when he was 
six or seven years of age, therefore Mr. Stults of 
this review has depended upon his own resources 
from early youth, so that whatever success he 
has obtained is attributable entirely to his own 
efforts. He obtained a common-school education 
and worked by the month as a farm hand for 
several years, early learning the value of industry 
and enterprise as concomitant factors in a success- 
ful career. At the time of the Civil war, how- 
ever, he put aside all business and personal con- 
siderations, enlisting for active service on the 1st 
of June, 1861, as a member of Company I, Twen- 
ty-fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry. He joined 
the army for three years and did active service 
in Tennessee and other parts of the south. He 
was in the engagement at Shiloh and in the bat- 
tles of Stone River and Chickamauga. At the 
last named he was taken prisoner and was incar- 
cerated at Richmond and at Danville, Virginia, 
subsequent to which time he was sent to Ander- 
sonville and afterward to Charleston and Florence, 
thus being in five different rebel prisons, being 
held for one thousand four hundred and twenty 
days. At length he was paroled and passed 
through the lines at Charleston. For eight months 
after the term of his enlistment he continued with 
the army, serving until January, 1865, when he 
returned home after being honorably discharged 
at Columbus, Ohio. He made a creditable mili- 
tary record, never faltering in the performance 
of duty whether on the picket line or on the firing 
line. 

Following the war William Stults gave his at- 
tention to farming in Ohio until 1867, when he 
came to Pike county, Illinois. Here he was again 
employed by the month at farm labor until he was 
enabled to begin farming on his own account. 
On the ist of October, 1874, he wedded Miss 
Ellen Kiser, a native of this county, who was 
born and reared here and is a daughter of Jacob 
Kiser, one of the early settlers of Virginia, who 
removed from the Old Dominion to Ohio and 
afterward became a resident of Indiana. They 
have had no children but took Belle Fereman to 
raise when she was seven years of age. She 
remained with them until her marriage to George 



Stephenson. She died November 9, 1905. After 
his marriage Mr. Stults located on the eighty 
acres adjoining his present farm. He first bought 
seventy-eight acres which he cultivated and im- 
proved and afterward he purchased the eighty 
acres upon which he is now living, having alto- 
gether a valuable property of one hundred and 
sixtv acres. Here he has built a substantial resi- 
dence in modern style of architecture. He also 
has good barns upon the place and well kept 
fences. He carries on stock-raising, making a 
specialty of sheep and is well known in this 
regard, producing some fine animals upon his 
place. Politically Mr. Stults has socialistic ten- 
dencies. He has, however, been without aspir- 
ation for office and would never consent to become 
a candidate for political preferment. He is a 
member of Detroit lodge, I. O. O. F., and the 
Modern Woodmen camp and both he and his 
wife are connected with the Rebekah degree of 
the former. Mr. Stults is one who has achieved 
success in the face of difficulties and obstacles. 
He started out in life empty-handed but he soon 
came to a realization of the worth and value of 
earnest, persistent labor, and through his enter- 
prise and unfaltering diligence he has steadily 
worked his way upward to success. 



HENRY S. LOYD.. 

No history of the commercial advancement and 
development of Pittsfield would be complete with- 
out mention of Henry S.Loyd,now deceased, who 
for many years was connected with the hardware 
trade and whose life of activity and honor char- 
acterized by close adherance to a high standard 
of commercial ethics won for him the trust and 
good will of his fellowmen. He was born in York, 
Pennsylvania, on the i6th of January, 1839, an ^ 
was a son of John Loyd, also a native of the Key- 
stone state. His boyhood and youth were passed 
in that state and his education was acquired in the 
common schools there. He entered upon his 
business career as an employe in the hardware 
store when eighteen years of age and for some 
time was bookkeeper for Henry Small in York, 



2 5 8 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Pennsylvania. He came to Pittsfield, Illinois, 
when twenty-four years of age and established a 
restaurant, which he conducted until re entered 
the employ of Charles Adams, a dry-goods mer- 
chant. Later he worked in a hardware store for 
Dr. Seely and was with him for some time, when 
he began in the hardware business on his own 
account and to the conduct of his store devoted 
his remaining days. As the years passed he de- 
veloped the largest hardware enterprise in Pitts- 
field, selling stoves, ranges and in fact all kinds 
of shelf and heavy hardware and farm machinery. 
His business methods were such as to neither seek 
nor require disguise, his integrity standing as an 
unquestioned fact in his career. He received a 
very liberal share of the public patronage and won 
the trust of his many customers by his straight- 
forward dealing. 

On the 5th of June, 1865, Mr. Loyd was united 
in marriage with Miss Anna C. Wildin, also a 
native of York, Pennsylvania, born in 1843. She 
was a daughter of John Wildin, who came to this 
country from Germany and the Loyd family was 
also of German lineage although several gener- 
ations of the family have resided in America. John 
Wildin came to Pike county, Illinios, in 1857, 
and turned his attention to carpenter work and 
the business of a stone mason in this locality. In 
his family were six children, of whom three are 
now living. Mr. and Mrs. Loyd became the 
parents of five children : Will, who is residing upon 
a farm in Pike county : John, who is a tinner by 
trade; Flora E., the wife of Wiley Sanderson; 
Eunice, at home ; and Arthur, who is an elec- 
trician of Pittsfield. 

Mr. Loyd belonged to the Masonic fraternity 
and the Modern Woodmen camp and he also 
held membership in the Christian church in which 
he served as deacon for three decades and was, 
at one time, superintendent of the Sunday-school. 
His wife yet belongs to that church. Mr. Loyd 
died June 18, 1900. He was well liked by all 
who knew him, possessed a kindly spirit and was 
ever ready to help in any enterprise that tended 
to aid the individual or the community. His suc- 
cess was due to his own energy and the high ideals 
which his laudable ambition placed before him. 
Success in anv walk of life is an indication of 



earnest endeavor and persevering effort char- 
acteristics that Mr. Loyd possessed in an eminent 
degree. His influence could always be counted 
upon in behalf of any movement for the advance- 
ment of the interests of the home people, and his 
views upon questions of public policy were pro- 
nounced although he- never sought to figure promi- 
nently in political office, preferring to give his 
attention to his business affairs and the enjoyment 
of his home life. Mrs. Loyd, still living in Pitts- 
field, owns and occupies a fine residence in this 
city and also has ten acres of land. 



GAY WILLIAMSON. 

Gay Williamson, a farmer residing in Pitts- 
field, is a son of James and Ellen (Hayden) 
Williamson. The father was native of Ohio, born 
in 1838, and a son of Jesse Williamson, of 
P>altimore, Maryland, who was of Irish descent. 
After removing to Ohio the father followed the 
occupation of farming and in 1857 he came with 
his family to Pike county, Illinois, settling in 
Xewburg township, where he purchased one hun- 
dred and sixty acres of land. At once he began 
development, cultivation and improvement of that 
property and he spent his remaining days in Pike 
county, his death occurring in 1894. His son, 
James Williamson, was educated in the common 
schools and at Pittsburg (Pennsylvania) Com- 
mercial College. After coming to Pike county he 
devoted his attention to general agricultural pur- 
suits, having purchased a tract in Newburg town- 
ship. He is now the owner of eighty acres of well 
improved land, constituting an excellent farm and 
has been placed under a high state of cultivation 
and is improved with modern equipments. It 
is devoted to the production of the crops best 
adapted to soil and climate and in addition to his 
property Mr. Williamson owns a grain elevator 
and feed mill and is conducting a large and pro- 
fitable business in Pittsfield. He makes his home, 
however, upon his farm, which is pleasantly and 
conveniently located about a mile west of the city. 
His political views are in accord with republican 
principles and he is a member of the Masonic 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



259 



fraternity. Mr. Williamson is popular with his 
fellow townsmen, is an upright, honorable and 
energetic business man and is well liked by all 
who know him. In his family are two children : 
Orvey, who is cashier of the National Bank, at 
Barry, Illinois ; and Gay, of this review. 

In the public schools of Pittsfield Gay William- 
son acquired his preliminary education which was 
supplemented by a course in the Quincy Com- 
mercial College. During his early manhood he 
assisted his father in the mill and in the conduct 
of the coal business for three years, and since 
that time has devoted his attention to farm in- 
terests. His wife owns three hundred and sixty 
acres of fine land, of which three hundred acres 
lie in New Salem township and the remainder in 
Griggsville township. This is well improved prop- 
erty in good condition of cultivation and upon 
it substantial buildings have been erected. Mr. 
Williamson superintends the farming interests 
and is largely engaged in the raising of stock. 
Being an excellent judge of domestic animals he 
is thus enabled to make judicious purchases and 
profitable sales and as a stock dealer is widely 
known. 

On the i8th of November, 1892, Mr. William- 
son was married to Salena Carnes, who was born 
in Griggsville township, a daughter of Richard 
and Guldy E. (Moore) Carnes. The father was 
born in Cadizville, Harrison county, Ohio, June 
23, 1832, and was quite young when he accompa- 
nied his father's family to Illinois. Mrs. Carnes 
was born in Maryland, May 5, 1834, a daughter 
of John and Sarah (Simpson) Moore, who after 
residing for some time in Harrison township, Ohio, 
removed to Adams cornty, Illinois, and subsequent- 
ly came to Pike county, where they spent their re- 
maining days. Thomas Carnes, the great-grandfa- 
ther of Mrs. Williamson, served in the war of 1812. 
John Carnes, grandfather of Mrs. Williamson, 
was born in Harrison county, Ohio, in 1812, and 
was married to Miss Eliza Nelson, a native of the 
same county, whose parents, however, were born 
in Maryland and it is believed were of Scotch de- 
scent. John Carnes and his wife occupied a farm 
in their native county until 1854, when they came 
to Pike county, Illinois, settling on a partially 
improved tract of land in Griggsville township. 



They were in limited circumstances when they 
arrived in this .state but being industrious, per- 
severing and prudent they met success in the con- 
duct of their business interests and were even- 
tually owners of a large farm. Mr. Carnes voted 
the whig ticket and both he and his wife were 
active in the work of the United Brethren church 
and contributed generously to its support. Their 
last days were spent in this county, Mr. Carnes 
passing away in New Salem township in 1870, 
some years after the death of his wife. 

Richard Carnes, father of Mrs. Williamson, 
had no educational privileges in his youth but in 
the active affairs of the life learned many valuable 
lessons, acquiring an excellent understanding of 
agricultural interests and manifesting a keen in- 
sight into business matters so that he became a 
successful and prosperous farmer. As the years 
passed by he invested in land until he became 
the owner of fifteen hundred acres divided into 
six farms and all well equipped with farm build- 
ings. Unlike many who gain wealth through 
their 'own efforts he was never sordid nor grasp- 
ing but was very generous with his means, giving 
liberally to the support of the church and various 
local interests. Anxious that his children should 
have good educational privileges and that the 
other young people of the neighborhood might 
enjoy every opportunity to acquire knowledge he 
became a stanch advocate of the public-school 
system and, did everything in his power to pro- 
mote its efficiency. In politics he was a stalwart 
republican and both he and his wife were devoted 
and helpful members of the United Brethren 
church. He became a prominent and influential 
citizen as well as the wealthiest farmer of the 
county. He shipped stock on an extensive scale 
and in all his business undertakings met with 
success. In his family were nine children, five 
of whom are now living: Henry R., who is living 
.retired in Griggsville township, married Lizzie 
White and has three children, Hays, Maggie and 
Emmett. George Carnes married Margaret White 
and is living in Griggsville township. Edward 
married Birdella Stone, of Quincy, and is engaged 
in farming and stock shipping, making his home 
in New Salem township. Mary A. is the wife of 
Charles Nelson, of La Harpe, Illinois, where he 



200 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



is engaged in the grocery and implement business 
and is also a large land owner of Hancock county. 
They have three children, Lela, Cecil and Ruby. 
Mr. Carnes died July 26, 1902, leaving behind 
a splendid property and an honored name. His 
widow still resides upon the old home farm in 
Griggsville township. 

Mrs. Williamson was reared in Griggsville 
township, and after attending the common schools 
continued her education in Whitfield College. By 
her marriage she has become the mother of five 
children: Luella, born October 5, 1892; Mary 
Helen, May 18, 1896; Presley C, July 21, 1900; 
Birdella, October i, 1902; an,d Verdon G., June 
i, 1904- 

Mr. Williamson exercises his right of fran- 
chise in support of the men and measures of the 
republican party. He is a member of the Pike 
County Mutual Association and his wife is a 
member of the Congregational church. He owns 
a beautiful home in Pittsfield, where they reside 
in order to give their children the advantages of 
the public schools of the city. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Williamson represent old families of Pike county 
and are held in high esteem throughout this por- 
tion of the state, enjoying the warm friendship 
and kindly regard of all who know them. 



HON. EDWARD DOOCY. 

Hon. Edward Doocy, former county judge of 
Pike county and a lawyer of ability, now serving 
as master in chancery, was born at Griggsville, 
Illinois, on the igth of October, 1851. He comes 
of Irish lineage, his parents, James and Sarah 
(Tracey) Doocy, being natives of County Tip- 
perary, Ireland, whence they emigrated to Amer- 
ica in 1848. They made their way directly to the 
Mississippi valley and after about three years 
passed in St. Louis, came to Pike county in 
1851, at which time they took up their abode 
in Griggsville. There the father continued to 
reside until his death, which occurred in 1874. 
His widow afterward removed to Pittsfield, where 
she made her home for several years, and thence 
removed to Springfield, where she died on March 
7, 1903, aged seventy-nine years. 



Judge Doocy was the eldest of seven children, 
five of whom are yet living. He continued his 
studies through successive grades of the public 
schools until he had graduated from the high 
school at Griggsville, and later he became a stu- 
dent in the Illinois College at Jacksonville, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 1871. 
Later he spent one year as a teacher in Griggs- 
ville, after which he entered upon the study of 
law in the office of Judge James Ward of his na- 
tive city, and later with Hon. W. G. Ewings, then 
of Quincy. Admitted to the bar before the Illi- 
nois supreme court in January, 1874, he practiced 
for the following eight years in Griggsville, and 
from 1879 until 1883 was city attorney there. In 
1882 he received the democratic nomination for 
county judge and was elected by a handsome ma- 
jority, so that in December of the same year he 
removed to Pittsfield in order that he might be 
more conveniently near the court at the time of its 
session. Here he has since made his home ; and 
on the expiration of his first term of four years 
he was re-elected in 1886 and once more in 1890, 
so that his incumbency covered twelve years. 
Since his retirement from the bench he has prac- 
ticed law in Pittsfield, and is now serving as mas- 
ter in chancery. The favorable judgment which 
the world passed upon Jiim at the outset of his 
career has in no degree been set aside or modi- 
fied, but on the contrary, has been strengthened 
by the capable manner in which he has acted as 
counselor or advocate, and by the fearless dis- 
charge of his duty on the bench for his record as 
a judge was in harmony with his record as a man 
and a lawyer characterized by unswerving in- 
tegrity and by the masterful grasp of every prob- 
lem presented for solution. In 1886 he formed a 
law partnership with Henry Bush under the firm 
name of Doocy & Bush, which was continued 
with marked success for several years. He has a 
large and distinctively representative clientage 
that connects him with the important litigation 
tried in the courts of his district. He has con- 
ducted a large number of cases through the ap- 
pellate and supreme courts of Illinois, and has 
met with marked success in those courts. 

On the 28th of December, 1886, Judge Doocy 
was married to Miss Clara L. Butler, of Griggs- 




EDWARD DOOCY 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



263 



ville, a daughter of E. W. Butler, one of the pio- 
neer residents of Adams and Pike counties, who 
came to Illinois from Connecticut in 1835 and 
died in 1889. Mrs. Butler now resides in Pitts- 
field, with Judgf and Mrs. Doocy. Judge and 
Mrs. Doocy had six children, one of whom died 
in infancy. The others are Clara Louise, Edward 
Butler, Elmer Tiffany, Helen Laura and Clar- 
ence Wellington. Judge and Mrs. Doocy are 
prominent socially and the hospitality of theil 
pleasant home is greatly enjoyed by many friends. 
In community affairs the Judge is deeply inter- 
ested and his opinions have proven of value in 
the general work of development and upbuilding, 
while his co-operation has been a tangible factor 
in the general good. He served for a year as 
president of the board of trustees of Pittsfield, 
and was largely instrumental in organizing Pitts- 
field as a city. For three years he was president 
of the board of education, and succeeded in organ- 
izing the board, of -education under the general 
law. His attention, however, is more largely 
given to his law practice, and in his chosen life 
work he has won high encomiums from the legal 
fraternity and the public as well. 



MISS MARY M. DOOCYj. . .. ' 

No history of the educational development of 
Pike county would be complete without a men- 
tion of many of the eminent teachers, who gave 
their lives to this noble profession of teaching the 
young. Prominent among others was Miss Mary 
M. Doocy, who was born at Griggsville, Illi- 
nois, and graduated at the high school in that city 
in 1876. She taught her first school in what is 
now district No. 60, in the Ingram neighborhood 
in the northeast part of Perry township. She 
next conducted successful schools in South Flint 
and Middle Flint. From there she was employed 
in the Griggsville schools for several years, and 
then in the Pittsfield schools for a number of 
years. Her last teaching was in the schools of 
Sangamon county. Illinois, where she taught four 
years. The last few years she was employed by 
Hon. David Ross, state secretary of the bureau 



of labor statistics, and by the mercantile firm of 
John Lutz of Springfield, Illinois. While in the 
last employment she was. taken suddenly ill, and 
after a short illness died on the 7th day of Au- 
gust, A. D., 1905, at Springfield, Illinois. 

Miss Doocy was a natural teacher. She had 
splendid talents and tact and always had the fac- 
ulty of drawing out the minds of the young peo- 
ple whom she taught, and teaching them to think 
for themselves. She was always cheerful and al- 
ways looked on the bright side of everything, be- 
lieving that cheerfulness was one of the essential 
elements of a good school. Commencing to teach 
at the age of seventeen she gave twenty-seven 
years of her life to that profession. She is kindly 
remembered by hundreds of people, who were 
once her students. 



RICHARD D. BAGBY. 

Richard D. Bagby, a representative of agri- 
cultural interests, was born in Pike county 
November i, 1848, and is a son of Larkin and 
Rachel (Kinman) Bagby, -the former a native of 
Montgomery county, Kentucky, and the latter of 
Pike county, Indiana. The parents were young 
people when they came to Pike county, Illinois, 
the* father arriving here in 1837. He resided for 
a considerable period near the village of Time, 
although after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. 
Bagby began their domestic life in Highland 
township. Some years later they removed to 
Pittsfield township and Mrs. Bagby died dur- 
ing the period of the Civil war when forty-seven 
years of age. She was the mother of eight children, 
of whom two sons and three daughters are yet 
living, namely: George L., a resident of Iowa; 
Richard D., of this review ; Nancy, the wife of 
David Kurfman, living in Pike county, Illinois ; 
Mrs. Susan West, whose home is in Kansas ; and 
Mrs. Lucy Hornida, also of Pike county. After 
losing his first wife the father was married three 
times and died upon his farm in Pittsfield town- 
ship at an advanced age. 

Richard D. Bagby pursued his education in the 
common schools and in the public schools of 



264 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Pittsfield and enlisted for service in the Union 
Arm}-, in March, 1864, when only fifteen years 
of age ; becoming a member of Company K, Six- 
teenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he 
served until the close of the war. He participated 
in the Atlanta campaign and went with Sherman 
on the celebrated march to the sea, participating 
in the siege of Atlanta, and the battles of Kene- 
saw Mountain and Bentonville, North Carolina. 
At one time he was in the hospital and was mus- 
tered out in Louisville, Kentucky, being finally 
discharged at Springfield, Illinois. Although so 
young he made a creditable military record which 
might well be envied by many a veteran of twice 
his years. 

After the war Mr. Bagby returned home and 
remained with his father until the latter's death, 
since which time he has resided upon the old 
homestead farm. 'He owns one hundred and sixty 
acres of fine land which is pleasantly and con- 
veniently located about four miles from Pittsfield. 
His farm is well improved and everything about 
the place is indicative of the careful supervision 
of an owner who is practical and progressive in 
all his methods. He built a fine house and barn on 
his place and has added all the modern accessories 
and equipments. He now leases his land, which is 
devoted to general farming and stock-raising and 
he raises Poland China hogs on an extensive 
scale. Mr. Bagby gives his political allegiance to 
the republican party, brt has never sought or de- 
sired office, preferring to give his undivided 
attention to his business affairs, which have been 
capably managed, so that he has become the 
possessor of a comfortable competence that now 
enables him to leave the more arduous duties of 
farm work to others. 



JAMES G. WILLSEY. 

James G. Willsey is one of the pioneer resi- 
dents of Pike county and a wealthy citizen, who, 
having accumulated a competence through his 
own efforts, is now living a retired life on the 
homestead farm in Pittsfield township. His life 



history is closely interwoven with the records of 
Pike county, especially along the line of agricul- 
tural development and it is therefore with pleasure 
that we present the story of his life to our readers. 
He was born in Tompkins county, New York, 
February 28, 1830, and was a son of Barnett and 
Cornelia (Kizer) Willsey. Both parents were na- 
tives of the Empire state and in the year 1837 
they removed westward, taking up their abode 
in Ohio, where they remained until they came to 
Illinois in 1840. On reaching Griggsville town- 
ship, Mr. Willsey had only a team and fifty cents 
'in money. His family, however, numbered ten 
children and necessitated his at once securing em- 
ployment that would enable him to provide for 
their support. He began husking corn, receiving 
every fifth load in compensation for his services. 
He was employed in differest capacities on various 
farms in the neighborhood and as soon as possible 
he purchased a cow. Soon afterward he traded 
his team of horses for eighty acres of land in 
Pittsfield township near the present home of his 
son James and began life there in true pioneer 
style. He had no near neighbors and in fact the 
entire country was wild and undeveloped. There 
was some timber upon his place, necessitating 
ardous labor in order to develop that part of the 
land into productive fields. Deer were frequently 
seen in large herds and wolves were numerous. 
In fact, every evidence of frontier life was found 
here and the family had to share in all the hard- 
ships and trhls incident to the establishment of a 
home upon the frontier. The father built a cabin 
and in a few years replaced his primitive dwelling 
by a frame residence, hauling timber for the house 
upon a cart drawn by oxen. He remained upon 
this farm up to the time of his death, which oc- 
curred January 31, 1859. His wife survived until 
January 10, 1889, passing away at the advanced 
age of eighty-five years. Mr. Willsey was the 
owner of four hundred acres of valuable land and 
was regarded as one of the wealthy residents of 
the count}' in that day. He was also a leading 
citizen, becoming a molder of public thought and 
a leader in public action. His political allegiance 
was given to the democracy and he served as 
county commissioner and also as school director. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



265 



His efforts were of a practical and far-reaching 
nature and proved of much benefit to the county 
along the lines of material, intellectual and moral 
progress. 

Of his ten children two sons and two daughters 
are now living. James G. Willsey, however, 
is the only one now in Pike county. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools, although his privi- 
leges in that direction were quite limited. When 
ten years of age he began hard work and has 
always led a very industrious and useful life. 
He made his first purchase of land about 1855, 
becoming owner of one hundred and sixty acres, 
upon which he yet resides. This was a raw tract, 
but he cleared it, put all the improvements upon 
the property and now has fine buildings, while 
his farm is under a high state of cultivation. He 
owns two hundred and forty acres of land at the 
present time and gives his personal supervision 
to its operation, although he takes no active part 
in the work of the fields. He gave to his son one 
hundred and sixty acres. He raises some sheep, 
but his efforts in the line of live stock dealing 
are mostly given to hogs and cattle. 

In 1851, James G. Willsey was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Malinda Rogers, who was born 
August 14, 1830, and was a daughter of David 
R. and Fanny (Alcorn) Rogers. Her father was 
a son of Bartlett Rogers, a native of North Caro- 
lina, who removed from that state to Kentucky 
and from there to Morgan county, Illinois, locating 
near Williamsport, a little town on the Illinois 
river near Montezuma at Big Sandy creek. There 
he purchased on the 2gih of December, 1826, 
a bond for a deed to lot No. 15 from John Rad- 
cliff, who had purchased the lot of Joseph Bent- 
ley for seventy dollars but before paying for it 
sold it to Mr. Rogers. The last named continued 
a resident of Williamsport for many years and 
there his death occurred. David Redmon Rogers, 
father of Mrs. Willsey, was born February 18, 
1802, and when a young man went from North 
Carolina to Kentucky, in which state he was 
married to Fanny Alcorn on the 26th of February, 
1824. He and his brother Robert were married 
at the same time and they came to Illinois together 
a number of years later. While in Kentucky, 
David R. Rogers resided on the Kentucky river 
near the Goose Creek Salt Works in Clay county 



and on coming to Illinois made his way to Wil- 
liamsport on the Illinois river. After a short 
time he removed with his family to Dutch creek 
near Big Spring, below Stony Point, which place 
was afterward the property of James Wassell. 
His next home was on what is known as the John 
Hoskins place and there he built a little cabin. 
Not far away was a large swamp and his children 
were often stationed there to keep the cattle out of 
the swamp. There were many wild animals in 
those times, including wolves, bears and panthers. 
The neighbors were widely scattered and the work 
of improvement and progress seemed scarcely 
begun. About 1834 or 1835, Mr. Rogers re- 
moved to the place now owned by W. D. Shinn, 
making it his home until he was called to his final 
rest on the 2ist of March, 1871, his wife sur- 
viving until March 10, 1873. Her brother, Ben 
Alcorn, built the first warehouse west of Rockport 
on the Mississippi river- and one of the first in the 
county. Of the children in the Rogers family 
three were born in Kentucky, namely : Polly Ann, 
born January 4, 1825; Bartlett, November 3, 
1826; and Nancy Jane, February 15, 1828. The 
next member of the family, Mrs. Willsey, 'was 
born during the period of her parent's residence 
at Williamsport, while William Rogers was born 
on the John Hoskins farm, January i, 1833. 

Mr. and Mrs. Willsey have become the parents 
of one son, William R., who was born July 29, 
1853, an d married Judith A. Brown. They reside 
near the old family homestead and have four 
children : Grace Malinda, who was born June 
2, 1881, and is the wife of Clarence Fudge, a 
resident farmer of Pittsfield township, by whom 
she has one daughter, Nellie Frances, born April 
30, 1904; Laura Edith, born October 31, 1885, 
and now at home ; Francis Scott, born December 
12, 1887; and James Gallett, December 31, 1891. 

The parents are now pleasantly located in an 
attractive home and are enjoying the comforts and 
many of the luxuries of life, which have been 
secured through the earnest and persistent efforts 
of Mr. Willsey in an active business career. He 
has been thoroughly reliable at all times and his 
name is a synonym for integrity and honor in 
business transactions. He is a charter member 
of Pittsfield lodge, No. 790, A. F. & A. M., and 
is also a member of the chapter and commandery. 



266 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



In politics he is a democrat and has served as 
school director for several years and also as road 
commissioner. His life record is creditable and 
should serve as a source of inspiration and en- 
couragement to others, showing what can be ac- 
complished through earnest and determined pur- 
pose. He is moreover one of the pioneer residents 
of the county having watched its growth and de- 
i velopment from an early day and he has a very 
wide acquaintance among the early settlers and 
those whose arrival dates at a later period, being 
respected by young and old, rich and poor. 



JOHN H. COOPER. 

John H. Cooper, who is living on section 23, 
Martinsburg township, is familiarly called "John" 
by his numerous friends and is accounted one of 
the prosperous farmers of this county, owning 
and conducting a farm of two hundred and seven- 
teen acres, which presents a neat and well im- 
proved appearance. He is a native son of Pike 
county, having been born in Pittsfield, October 
10, 1836. His father, Asa D. Cooper, was born 
in Kentucky and was a son of George W. Cooper, 
who removed from Tennessee to Kentucky and 
afterward to Illinois, settling in Pike county. He 
took up his abode here at a very early day, prob- 
ably about 1832. It was in this county that Asa 
D. Cooper was married to Miss Eleanor Gooden, 
whose birth occurred in Saline county, Missouri, 
and who was a daughter of Robert Gooden, one 
of the early settlers of Pike county, who removed 
from Tennessee to Missouri and afterward to 
Illinois. Following his marriage Asa Cooper lo- 
cated on a farm in Martinsburg township, open- 
ing up a new tract of land. Later he sold that 
property and developed another farm, whereon he 
reared his family and spent his last years, his 
death occurring December 29. 1858. His wife 
passed away March 29, 1854. 

John H. Cooper was reared in Pike county 
and is largely a self-educated as well as self-made 
man, for his school privileges in youth were lim- 
acres of valuable land, of which two hundred 
ited. He remained with his father until he had 



attained his majority, after which he rented a 
farm for a few years. He was married in Mar- 
tinsburg township, February i, 1857, to Miss 
Mary M. Moomaw, a native of Logan county, 
Ohio, and a (laughter of Rev. Jacob Moomaw, 
a minister of the German Baptist church. Her 
father was a native of Virginia and was married 
in Ohio to Elizabeth Ohmart. In 1842 he came to 
Illinois, settling in Pike county, near Pittsfield, 
upon a farm where he reared his family and con- 
tinued to make his home through the evening of 
his life. 

Following the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Coop- 
er he rented a tract of land which he cultivated 
for several years. He started out for himself 
empty-handed but realized that industry and en- 
terprise constitute the basis of success and he 
worked persistently and energetically until he 
was enabled to purchase property, In 1867 he 
bought one hundred and eighty acres where he 
now resides, located thereon and began to improve 
the farm, to which he had added from time to 
time until he now owns five hundred and fourteen 
acres of valuable land, of which two hun- 
dred and seventeen acres are in the home 
farm. Here he has built a good neat resi- 
dence, also a bank barn and other outbuildings. 
He has fenced his place and added the various 
equipments found upon a model farm property 
of the twentieth century. That he has prospered 
is indicated by his property holdings, for he now 
owns two other farms in addition to the home 
place, one of one hundred and sixty-one acres and 
the other of one hundred and thirty-seven and 
one-half acres, the second lying. west of Pitts- 
field, and the other to the north. Both are fairly 
improved. He has also given forty acres of land 
to his children. Although he had no capital to 
aid him at the outset of his career, he and his 
estimable wife, who had indeed been a faithful 
companion and helpmate to him on life's journey. 
have accumulated a valuable property, comprising 
three excellent farms and in connection with the 
cultivation of his home place Mr. Cooper raises 
good grades of stock. He now rents most of his 
land but gives his personal supervision to the 
property and to the improvements which are made 
thereon. The only financial assistance which ever 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



267 



came to him was eight hundred and twenty-nine 
dollars received from J]is father's estate, but this 
did not come until after he had purchased the 
home farm. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Cooper have been born 
four children : George D., who is a farmer of 
Pittsfield township and is represented elsewhere 
in this work ; Mary E. the wife of Wesley Wal- 
ston, who lives upon her father's farm and also 
owns land of his own and by whom she has two 
children, Lottie A. and Iva ; William Hardin, 
who married Lillie McClintock, by whom he has 
a son, John Hurley, their home being in Martins- 
burg township ; and Charles H., a merchant of 
Martinsburg, who married Anna R. Lawrence 
and has two children, Mary B. and Veda A. Mr. 
Cooper now has several grandchildren and one 
great-grandchild. He and his wife adopted a 
young girl when eight years of age, reared and 
educated her and she is now the wife of Frank 
Gooden. Benton Johnson also became a member 
of their family when ten or twelve years of age, 
was educated by them, is now married and fol- 
lows carpentering in Pittsfield. They also reared 
James Cooper, a brother of our subject, who came 
to live with them when thirteen years of age. 

Politically Mr. Cooper has been a lifelong 
democrat, voting first for Stephen A. Douglas in 
1860. He served as township collector in 1874 
and has been road supervisor for one or two 
terms, but has never sought or desired office. He 
believes in good schools and the employment of 
competent teachers and has done earnest work in 
behalf of public education while serving on the 
school board. He and his wife are members of the 
Church of Christ of Martinsburg. His entire life, 
now covering sixty-nine years, has been passed 
in Pike county and he has helped to improve and 
make it what it is today. He has cultivated and de- 
veloped several farms, thus contributing in sub- 
stantial measure to the agricultural development 
of the community. He commenced life for him- 
self at the bottom of the latter, but has steadily 
climbed upward. At the time of his marriage he 
had no capital and he and his faithful wife ex- 
perienced many hardships and privations, but 
they worked and labored together, were frugal 
and economical and by their united efforts have 



become prosperous people. Their home farm is 
improved with a large, neat and substantial 
residence and constitutes a comfortable home, in 
which their many friends receive a hearty wel- 
come, cordial hospitality and good will being 
extended to all. Mrs. Cooper is now an invalid, 
but for many years she was a model housekeeper 
and her labors were an important factor in her 
husband's success. Mr. Cooper is well 'known as 
an active and energetic farmer and as one of the 
honored pioneer settlers of the county justly 
deserves mention in this volume. 



HENRY B. JUDD. 

Henry B. Judd, whose name is found on the roll 
of Pittsfield's merchants for he is proprietor of the 
Judd bakery, was born in Missouri, August 27, 
1859, his parents being Samuel and Celia (Seals) 
Judd. The father was a native of London, Eng- 
land, and crossing the Atlantic to America became 
a traveling salesman. In his family were nine 
children. His death occurred in 1899, in St. 
Louis, Missouri, when he had reached the ad- 
vanced age of seventy-eight years, while his wife 
passed away at the age of sixty-eight years, in 
Chicago. 

Henry B. Judd completed his education in the 
high school at Quincy, Illinois, and then entering 
business life was employed in a bakery and candy 
manufactory at Quincy, there working for the 
firm of Brown & Brothers. Later he entered the 
employ of Clark & Morgan, wholesale dealers in 
confectionery, and subsequently he went to Brook - 
ville, Missouri, where he continued for three 
years in the same line of business. He was next 
located in Palmyra, Missouri, where he conducted 
a bakery and confectionery on his own account 
for ten years and on the expiration of that decade 
he removed to Chickamauga Park, conducting a 
similar business for the government during the 
Spanish-American war. Upon his return to the 
north he located in Pittsfield and for two years 
was in the employ of Mr. Sineff. In 1899 he 
embarked in business on his own account and has 
since conducted a bakery, dealing in all kinds 



268 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



of bakery goods, soft drinks, oysters, cigars, etc. 
He likewise conducts a restaurant and in both 
branches of his business has a good trade, his 
store being located on the northeast corner of the 
courthouse square. He has prospered since open- 
ing his present establishment and his patronage 
is constantly growing. 

Mr. Judd now resides with his sister in Pitts- 
field and he has one son, Samuel. In his political 
views Mr. Judd is a republican and keeps well in- 
formed on the questions and issues of the day. 
He belonged to the Odd Fellows lodge at Kirks- 
ville, Missouri, and while in Quincy became a- 
communicant of the Episcopal church, with which 
he has since been connected. He has prospered 
since coming to Pittsfield and he deserves much 
credit for what he has accomplished for he is en- 
tirely a self-made man. 



ANDREW YAEGER. 

Andrew Yaeger, who is now living a retired 
life in Pittsfield was in former years actively con- 
nected with general farming and stock-raising, 
having devoted nearly half a century to work 
along those lines. His rest was therefore well 
earned and he is spending the years now in the 
enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil. He 
has been a resident of Pike county since June, 
1853, and has traveled life's journey for seventy- 
seven years. A native of Germany, he was born 
in Wurtemberg on the 24th of October, 1828, and 
was reared and married there, having in 1853 
wedded Miss Barbara Kern, who was born in 
Wurtemberg, December 26, 1820. Soon after 
their marriage they carried out the previously 
formed determination of emigrating to America 
by taking passage on a sailing vessel which 
weighed anchor at Bremen on the 8th of April, 
1853, bound for New York. The voyage lasted 
for eight weeks, and for two days the ship was in 
a fearful storm, being driven back before the 
gale, so that it had to cover a part of the course 
a second time. However, the harbor of New York 
was finally reached in safety on the 2d of June. 
The Yaeger family at once made their way direct- 



ly westward to Illinois and eventually reached 
Pittsfield. They were passengers on the first train 
over the road between Chicago and La Salle, Illi- 
nois, and thence proceeded down the Illinois river 
by boat to Florence and on to the county seat, 
where they joined some German friends. Mr. 
Yaeger worked by the month for a year or more 
and then rented a farm for four years in Newburg 
township. He bought his first land in Martins- 
burg township, becoming owner of ninety-five 
acres on section i. He located on that place, 
which had a few acres under the plow but was 
largely uncleared and undeveloped. He began 
to farm and improve his land, however, living 
thereon for nine years, when he sold that property 
and bought a tract of eighty acres in Hardin 
township near Time. He then engaged in farm- 
ing and bought more land adjoining, .carrying 
on general agricultural pursuits on his farm near 
Time for thirty-eight years. During that period 
he erected a good house upon his place, also built 
a barn, fenced the fields and planted an orchard. 
He also secured the latest improved machinery 
in order to facilitate his work and in addition to 
cultivating the soil he engaged in the raising of 
fine horses and other high-grade stock, which he 
fattened for the market. He was a prosperous 
farmer and he still owns three hundred and twenty 
acres of that property, but, having acquired a 
handsome competence he retired from active 
business life in 1899 anc ' removed to Pittsfield, 
where he and his wife have since been living 
with their daughter, Mrs. Kleinschmidt. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Yaeger have been born 
seven children, all of whom are now married and 
are heads of families. Louisa is the wife of 
Charles Shadel, of Pittsfield. Mary is the wife 
of Fred Hack, a resident farmer of Kinderhook. 
John G. is mentioned elsewhere in this volume. 
Barbara is the wife of W. D. McBride, of Jersey- 
ville, Illinois. William is living on the old home- 
stead farm. Henry resides in St. Louis, Mis- 
souri. Anna is the wife of Henry Kleinschmidt, 
a business man of Pitts-field. 

Politically Mr. Yaeger has ever been an earnest 
democrat since becoming a naturalized American 
citizen. He has never desired office, but has 
given his time to his business affairs. He and 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



269 



his wife were reared in the Lutheran church and 
now have membership -relations with the denom- 
inations in Pittsfield. Mr. Yaeger feels that he 
was wise in the step that he took in severing his 
connection with his native land and seeking a 
home in the new world for here he has found good 
business opportunities and has steadily worked 
his way upward through persistent energy to a 
place among the enterprising business men of the 
county, and through the exercise of his native 
talents and industry he has accumulated the hand- 
some competence which now enables him to rest 
in the enjoyment of a well earned ease. 



WILLIAM E. SHASTID, M. D. 

Dr. William E. Shastid, physician and sur- 
geon, oculist and aurist, of Pittsfield, was born 
in this city, March 12, 1863, and with the excep- 
tion of twelve or thirteen years has resided here 
continuously. He is the eldest son of Dr. T. W. 
Shastid. He was prepared for college in the 
schools of this city and after four years in Eureka 
College, at Eureka, Illinois, he was graduated 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, having taken 
the full classical course, with additions in Ger- 
man and French. His summers were devoted to 
the study of medicine under the direction of his 
father and following his graduation at Eureka 
College he went to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
matriculating in the Jefferson Medical College, 
one of the oldest and best known schools in 
America. While there he received special instruc- 
tion in the Pennsylvania School of Anatomy and 
the Pennsylvania Hospital. In the year 1886 he 
was graduated at the Jefferson Medical College, 
his thesis on pathology receiving second honor. 

In the same year Dr. Shastid was married to 
Miss Clara B. Willson. of Tallula, Illinois, who 
is a graduate of the Jacksonville Conservatory of 
Music and Young Ladies' Athenaeum, of Jack- 
sonville, Illinois. Her .father. Dr. T- F. Willson, 
is a prominent banker and capitalist of Menard 
county, Illinois. 

Dr. and Mrs. Shastid located in Wichita, Kan- 
sas, where he practiced for nearly five years and 



for three years during that time was physician 
and surgeon tp the Wichita Hospital. He also 
lectured on anatomy one year in the Wichita 
School of Medicine and served for a time as a 
member of the city board of health. In 1889 ne 
was called to Eureka College, where the degree 
of Master of Arts was conferred upon him. In 
189,1 he returned to his old home in Pittsfield 
and has practiced here since, his special attention 
being given to diseases of the eye, ear, nose and 
throat. He has taken post-graduate work several 
times: in 1894 in London, England, and Vienna, 
Austria in the former city at the Royal London 
Ophthalmic Hospital, Moorfield's and Central 
London Hospital, for eye, ear, nose and throat 
diseases ; in the latter city at the General Hospital 
for medicine, surgery and specialties, this hospi- 
tal being one of the largest in the world. In 
1901 he attended the New York Post Graduate 
Medical School and Hospital. In 1903 he again 
went abroad for post-graduate work at Berlin, 
Germany. The Doctor has traveled extensively 
in most of the countries of Europe as well as in 
Egypt and Palestine. He has been very success- 
ful in his practice and is one of the leading physi- 
cians of the county. He has served as a member 
of the board of education of Pittsfield and is a 
member of the board of United States examining 
surgeons for pensions. He has been prominent 
in Masonic circles for some years, being past 
commander of Ascalon commandery, No. 48, K. 
T.. and is a thirty-second degree Mason. 

Dr. Shastid has two children, a son and a 
daughter, William J. and Mary Margaret Shas- 
tid. His office and home are located on Monroe 
street, a block and a half from the public square 
in Pittsfield. 



CAPTAIN JOSEPH G. JOHNSON. 

Captain Joseph G. Johnson is a veteran of the 
Civil war and prominent in Grand Army circles 
in this section of the state. He makes his home in 
Milton, where he is now living in well earned 
ease after close and active connection with busi- 
ness interests in former years, for he was well 
known here at an earlier day as a merchant and 



270 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



later as proprietor of a hotel. Captain Johnson is 
a native of Posey county, Indiana, born July 30, 
1821, his parents being Joseph and Ester (Jolly) 
Johnson, who were early residents of Posey 
county, where they spent their remaining- days. 

Captain Johnson was reared to farm life and 
continued to devote his attention to agricultural 
pursuits until 1856, when he became a resident of 
Milton. Here he embarked in merchandising, in 
which he continued until 1862, when, his spirit 
of patriotism being aroused, he not only offered 
his services to the goverment, but also organized 
a company in Milton to join the Union forces. 
This company became Company I of the Ninety- 
ninth Illinois Regiment and Mr. Johnson was chos- 
en its captain, serving with that rank for two years 
and five months, at which time an order was 
issued consolidating his regiment with a battalion 
on account of its being below the minimum 
number for regiment organization and Captain 
Johnson's command then became Company B. 
For a portion of the time Captain Johnson was ill, 
but he rendered active and valuable service to 
the Union in the engagements at Vicksburg and 
Hartsville, Missouri, and in a number of skir- 
mishes and was honorably discharged at Spring- 
field, Illinois, in December, 1864, by reason of 
the expiration of his term. 

Returning home he resumed merchandising in 
Milton, in which he continued until 1867, when 
he retired from business life, but after five years 
became proprietor of a hotel and so continued 
until 1884. He then permanently put aside the 
more arduous duties of a business career and has 
since enjoyed a well earned rest. 

Captain Johnson has been married three times. 
In August, 1842, he wedded Eliza Henderson and 
unto them was born a daughter, now Mrs. Man' 
A. Armstrong, of Milton. The wife and mother 
died in February, 1847, ar >d in October, 1853, 
Captain Johnson wedded Elizabeth Travers, by 
whom he had one son, Daniel R. Johnson, who is 
residing in St. Louis, Missouri, and is an engineer. 
In 1855, the captain was called upon to mourn 
the loss of his second wife and on the I7th of 
November, 1857, ne married Judith C. (Baker) 
I Tughes, by whom he had two children, Jo Anna 
II. and Joseph G. H. Johnson. The daughter is 



now the wife of C. E. Battershill, a merchant or 
Milton. Captain Johnson is a member of the 
Masonic and Odd Fellows societies and also 
holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal 
church, being true to the teachings of the latter 
and the tenets of the former. He is one of Milton's 
most esteemed and jovial citizens, always genial 
in manner, courteous and social. He has now 
passed the eighty-fourth milestone of life's 
journey and is classed with the most venerable 
and respected citizens of Milton, whose long resi- 
dence in the county and upright life have made 
him a prominent citizen. 



' COLONEL D. D. HICKS. 

Colonel Daniel D. Hicks, deceased, for many 
years cashier of the First National Bank of Pitts- 
field, was one of the prominent citizens of Pike 
county and resided in a beautiful home on Jef- 
ferson street, where, surrounded by many friends, 
he spent his last years, respected and honored 
by all who knew him. He came of a family 
in whom the spirit of patriotism was a strong 
characteristic. His grandfather, Simeon Hicks, 
espoused the cause of the colonies and fought 
for independence, while Truman B. Hicks, the 
father, was a soldier of" the war of 1812. The 
latter was also a distinguished physician of the 
Empire state, and in addition to his success and 
prominence in that calling, he became recog- 
nized as a leader of public thought and action and 
was honored with political preferment. He 
served as judge of Warren county, New York, 
and for two terms represented his district in the 
state legislature. He married Barbara Hayes, a 
native of Clarendon, Vermont, and they had two 
sons and a daughter. 

Colonel Daniel D. Hicks, of this family, was 
born at Sunderland, Vermont, on the i2th of 
August, 1812, and was quite young at the time 
of the removal of the family to the state of New 
York. A few years later, following the death of 
the mother, the family returned to the Green 
Mountain state but in 1830 again took up their 




DANIEL D. HICKS 



IHJflARY 

Of HE 

MV*SiTr Of ( 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



273 



abode in New York. In 1838 a removal was 
made to Pike county, Illinois, and Colonel Hicks 
entered business life in the middle west as a 
teacher, following the profession in the vicinity 
of Pittsfield for about two years. He then ac- 
cepted a clerkship in Pittsfield and was thus en- 
gaged until 1842, when he was appointed deputy 
sheriff by Ephraim Cannon and served for four 
years, on the expiration of which period popular 
suffrage chose him for the office of sheriff and 
incumbency again continued for four years. This 
length of time had been sufficient to fully demon- 
strate to the people his entire trustworthiness 
and capability and his election to the office of 
county treasurer for a term of four years, fol- 
lowed. From 1850 until 1852 he was also en- 
gaged in merchandising. In 1865 he entered 
the First National Bank as clerk and teller and 
in 1867 was elected cashier, which position he 
filled up to the time of his death, when he was 
succeeded by his son, Robert T., who was for 
years assistant cashier of the institution. 

In October, 1842, Colonel Hicks was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary J. Burbridge,' a ha- 
tive of Ohio, but at the time of her marriage a 
resident of this county. She was the daughter 
of James Burbridge. She was a devoted 
member of the Christian church and a most 
estimable lady and her death, which oc- 
curred March 30, 1844, was deeply regretted. 
Their only child, Helen M., died at the age of 
eighteen years. Colonel Hicks was afterward 
married to Miss Julia Ann Burbridge, a daughter 
of Robert Burbridge and a cousin of his first 
wife. They were married in 1845 and had five 
daughters and two sons : Frances, the wife of 
George Barber; Barbara E., the wife of Henry 
R. Miller; Florence E., the wife of E. P. Dow; 
Emma, deceased wife of Hon. Harry Higbee, 
the present circuit judge of the eighth judicial 
district of Illinois ; Robert T., cashier of the First 
National Bank of Pittsfield, and a prominent 
business man of the city; Laura, the wife of Mar- 
tin S. Frick, of Independence, Missouri ; and 
James W., of Houston, Texas. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hicks were members of the 
Christian church, in which he served as elder for 
many years, and in the work of which he took 
15 



a most active and helpful interest. His military 
title was conferred upon him while he was a 
resident of New York. He belonged to the One 
hundred and Sixty-sixth Regiment of the state 
militia and served for two years as its adjutant 
and two years as its colonel, at the end of which 
time he resigned in order to come to Illinois. 
He was a resident of Pike county for forty-six 
years and was deeply interested in its progress 
and development. His faithful service in office, 
his trustworthiness in business, his faithfulness 
in friendship, all combined to make him one of the 
leading citizens of this part of the state. 



GEORGE W. CHRYSUP. 

George W. Chrysup, who since 1901 has lived 
a retired life in Barry, previous to which time 
he was closely associated with its mercantile in- 
tejejjts, was born in Florence, Pike county, 
Illinois, February i, 1845. He was the only child 
of William -L'. and Jane (Barney) Chrysup, who 
in 1826 became residents of Pike county, where 
they resided until 1850. In that year the family 
removed to California, making the long and 
tedious journey across the plains, over the hot 
stretches of sand and through the mountain passes 
to the Pacific coast. In 1857 they started on the 
return voyage .and the parents were lost in the 
explosion of the steamer St. Nicholas, which 
occurred April 24, 1859, about one and a half 
miles below Helena, Arkansas. 

George W. Chrysup, who was left an orphan 
by this disaster was reared by his maternal grand- 
father. Colonel Benjamin Barney of Pike county. 
Illinois. When seventeen years of age he re- 
sponded to the county's call for troops, enlisting 
in 1861 at the first call for seventy-five thousand 
men. He joined the army under Captain Mc- 
Williams for three months' service with the Tenth 
Illinois Infantry and on the expiration of that 
period when it was seen that there would be a long 
and hotly contested struggle between the north 
and the south he re-enlisted for three years in 
August, 1862, becoming a member of Company 
B, Twenty-eighth Regiment of Illinois Volun- 



274 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



teers. On the ipth of January, 1864, he once more 
enlisted, becoming a veteran and serving as corpo- 
ral sergeant, orderly sergeant and first lieutenant 
by successive promotions. Eventually he was 
raised to the rank of first lieutenant and next be- 
came captain of Company B, Twenty-eighth Reg- 
iment of Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He was in 
the army for over four years and was honorably 
discharged on the i6th of March, 1866, having 
made a splendid military record, unsurpassed for 
loyalty or bravery. He participated in many im- 
portant battles, including the engagements at 
Fort Henry, Vicksburg, Jackson, Spanish Fort 
and Whistler's Station, and he was always found 
at his post of duty whether upon the firing line 
or on the lonely picket line. 

Following the close of the war Captain Chry- 
sup returned at once to his home and on April 
18, 1867, was married to Miss Katie Harvey, 
of Pike county, a daughter of Lewis and Lucy 
Harvey. Unto them were born two children, who 
are yet living, and two who have passed away. 
Those who yet survive are: Jennie, now the wife 
of H. T. McCarrel, of Barry ; and Helen, who is 
the wife of Dr. R. H. Main, of Barry. 

After the war Captain Chrysup engaged in 
farming for three years and then embarked in 
merchandising, which he carried on for six years, 
dealing in both groceries and hardware and also 
conducting a marble business. He was then ap- 
pointed postmaster and filled the office for ten 
years. He has likewise filled other official po- 
sitions, having been justice of the peace for eight 
years, during which time he discharged his 
duties with strict impartiality, his decisions being 
biased by neither fear nor favor. Upon his retire- 
ment from that office he put aside all business 
cares and since 1901 has not been connected with 
any official or business interests. In his political 
views he is a stalwart republican, standing by the 
party as loyal to-day as he did with the Union 
in the dark days of the Civil war. He belongs to 
the John McTucker post, No. 154, at Barry and 
when able to attend its meetings greatly enjoys 
meeting with the "boys in blue". In matters of 
citizenship he ever manifests the same loyal 
spirit which characterized his long service on the 
southern battle-fields and won him promotion 



from the ranks to the grade of captain in recogni- 
tion of his meritorious conduct on the field of 
battle. 

It will be interesting in this connection to note 
something of the history of Colonel Benjamin 
Barney, by whom Captain Chrysup was reared. 
He was a son of Benjamin Barney, whose birth 
occurred in Taunton, Bristol county, Massachu- 
setts, in the year 1760 and he served throughout 
the Revolutionary war under General Washing- 
ton, enlisting in April, 1776. He received an 
honorable discharge in 1781, after which he lo- 
cated land upon which he made improvements in 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts. In 1782 he 
married Miss Deborah Crapo and took up his 
permanent abode upon his farm, his death there 
occurring in the year 1821. He always maintained 
a warm devotion and love for his country, leading 
a quiet and useful life and died a devoted Chris- 
tian. His wife passed away in 1822. 

Colonel Barney was born in Berkshire county, 
Massachusetts, September 21, 1795, and there re- 
mained through the period of his minority, re- 
moving in March, 1817, to Huron county, Ohio, 
where he spent the succeeding eight years as a 
farm hand. In 1820 he was married to Miss Mi- 
nerva Harris, who was the daughter of William 
Harris, and was born in Pennsylvania in 1800, 
accompanying her parents in their removal to the 
Buckeye state in 1818. The year 1825 witnessed 
the arrival of Colonel and Mrs. Barney in Illinois. 
They first located at Shawneetown, and in 1826 
their home was established at Atlas, which was 
then the county seat of Pike county. He was there 
variously employed for nine years, being first 
engaged at cutting and cording wood, for which 
he was paid twenty-two cents a cord. On that sum 
he had tosupporthimself,hiswifeandtwo children. 
He afterward engaged in keel-boating on the 
Ohio river at fifty cents per day, which he re- 
garded as a very good wage. He was thus em- 
ployed in the summer and fall of 1826, and dur- 
ing the succeeding winter lived at Atlas, where 
was the only postoffice in Pike county. At one 
time on account of high water and bad roads 
there was no mail for three weeks. The legisla- 
ture was then in session, and the citizens of Atlas 
and vicinity being anxious for news, hired Colo- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



275 



nel Barney to go to Carrollton, a distance of over 
forty miles to get the mail. He did so, making 
the journey in three days, crossing streams in 
canoes, on logs and sometimes having to wade. 
Thus through unbroken paths where the snow 
in many places was above his knees, he made his 
way. carrying upon his back the mail, which 
weighed over sixty pounds; and for this journey 
he received the sum of ten dollars. 

Colonel Barney continued to reside in Atlas 
until 1834, when he invested his earnings which 
he had saved in a small tract on section 31, Barry 
township. Upon that place he built a cabin in 
which the family took up their abode, and con- 
tinued to reside there for many years, giving the 
remainder of his active business career to general 
agricultural pursuits. In April, 1832, he enlisted 
for service in the Black Hawk war, and was mus- 
tered in at Rock Island under General White- 
side, being at that time elected colonel of the regi- 
ment, which was the Second Illinois Mounted 
Riflemen. After serving fifty days he and his 
regiment were mustered out of service at Ottawa, 
Illinois. He was then honorably discharged and 
received the remuneration for his military serv- 
ice, after which he rejoined his family in Barry 
township and resumed the work of farming and 
stock-raising. He had in his early years served 
an apprenticeship to the blacksmith trade, but after 
a few years his health compelled him to abandon 
that pursuit, but was able to do much mechanical 
work upon his farm. As the years advanced and 
as his financial resources increased as the result 
of his careful management and unfaltering dili- 
gence, he invested more and more extensively in 
land until his property holdings became very 
large and valuable. He possessed a generous 
disposition, was a man of warm heart and willing 
hand, and ever ready to assist others less for- 
tunate than himself and exemplifying in his life 
those sterling traits of character which work for 
the development of man's best nature. He was 
'called to various local offices, the duties of which 
he discharged with promptness and fidelity, and 
no man enjoyed more fully the trust and good 
will of those with whom he was associated. While 
in business affairs he wrought along lines re- 
sulting in the acquirement of a handsome prop- 



erty he at the same time conducted his relations 
with his fellowmen in such a manner as to deserve 
their high regard and unfaltering trust. His 
death occurred September 14, 1882 ; and the com- 
munity mourned the loss of one of its representa- 
tive and honored pioneer citizens. 



JOHN W. BOREN. 

John W. Boren has with the exception of a 
brief period of three years been continuously con- 
nected with business interests in Milton since 
the Civil war. He is now proprietor of a furniture 
and undertaking establishment with a liberal 
patronage which makes his business quite profit- 
able. He was born .in Pike county, August 2, 
1842, his parents being Absalom and Lucinda 
Boren, both of whom are now deceased. They 
were among the early settlers of the county and 
the father devoted his energies to farming for 
many years. His death occurred in 1904. while 
his wife passed away in Milton in 1900. 

John W. Boren was reared to farm life, early 
becoming familiar with the duties and labors that 
fall to the lot of the agriculturist. He acquired 
his education in the country schools and lived 
with his father, assisting him in the farm work 
until nineteen years of age, when in 1862 he re- 
sponded to the country's call for aid, enlisting 
as a member of Company I, Ninety-ninth Illinois 
Regiment for three years. He served the entire 
time as a musician in his company and was honor- 
ably discharged on the 3ist of July, 1865, at 
Springfield, by reason of the expiration of his 
term and the close of the war. Returning to his 
home in Pike county, he soon became a factor in 
the business life of Milton, opening a saddlery 
and harness shop in August of that year. Suc- 
cess attended the enterprise and he continued in 
the business for nine years, or until 1874, when he 
disposed of his interests in Milton and removed 
to Pleasant Hill, where he conducted a similar 
business for three years. On account of sick- 
ness, however, he returned to Milton and once 
more established a saddlery and harness store, 
which he carried on for seven years. In 1884 ne 



2 7 6 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



sold out and turned his attention to the drug busi- 
ness, which he conducted for four years and 
through the succeeding four years he was a rep- 
resentative of real-estate interests, thus contin- 
uing in business until 1892. In May of that year 
he opened a furniture and undertaking establish- 
ment, carrying an extensive stock and for thirteen 
years he has been engaged in this line, enjoying 
constantly increasing success, which results from 
his straightforward business methods, his earnest 
desire to please and his fair and reasonable prices. 
Mr. Boren was married December 28, 1871, to 
Miss Mary P. Smith, a daughter of Mrs. Harriett 
A. (Baker) Smith. Their only child is deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Boren have many friends and are 
highly esteemed residents of Milton. In an analy- 
zation of his life record we find that the strong 
characteristics of his business career have been 
close application, unremitting diligence and unfal- 
tering determination and he has enjoyed a gratify- 
ing measure of prosperity as the years have gone 
by. His name is inseparably intedwoven with 
the history of commercial advancement in Milton 
and moreover he is classed with the representa- 
tive citizens of the town, manifesting the same 
loyalty to the welfare of his home community 
that he displayed when on southern battle-fields 
he proved his fidelity to the Union cause. 



WILLIAM H. SEABORN. 

William H. Seaborn, whose life record might 
be summed up in the terse yet comprehensive 
phrase, through struggles to success, is a wealthy 
stock dealer and land owner of Pike county, now 
largely living retired in Baylis. He was born 
in this county, near Griggsville, on the old Reed 
farm, August 5, 1845, his parents being Robert 
and Mary A. (Hovey) Seaborn. The father's 
birth occurred in what was then Frankford, Penn- 
sylvania, now a part of the city of Philadelphia, 
on the nth of October, 1814, and his parents 
were Robert and Elizabeth (Rodgers) Seaborn. 
His father was a native of England and came to 
America during the latter part of the eighteenth 
century. He was then a single man but soon 



afterward married Miss Elizabeth Rodgers. A 
merchant tailor, he conducted business at Frank- 
ford for several years and died March 4, 1815, 
leaving a widow and three children, of whom 
Robert Seaborn, Jr., was the youngest. He was 
educated in the schools of Philadelphia and in 
that city at the age of fifteen or sixteen years was 
apprenticed to Jacob Young to learn the carriage- 
smith's trade. On the expiration of his term 
of indenture he went to New York city, being at 
that time twenty-one years of age. After a year 
or two, however, he removed to New Haven, 
Connecticut, and later went to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where he secured a situation in the em- 
ploy of Theodore Dickinson. For several years 
he remained in that city, during which time he 
was married to Caroline Beckford, a sister of 
Mrs. Dickinson, the , wedding ceremony being 
performed in the Hanover Street Congregational 
church by the Rev. Lyman Beecher, father of 
Henry Ward Beecher. Of that church Mr. 
Seaborn was a member. Following his marriage 
Robert Seaborn went to the British possessions, 
looking for a location, but, not finding a suitable 
place he returned to Boston and subsequently re- 
moved to Preble county, Ohio, where, abandoning 
his trade, he purchased a small farm and turned 
his attention to agricultural pursuits. Thinking 
that he would have still better business oppor- 
tunities in a region farther west he came to Pike 
county, Illinois, in the summer of 1831, in search 
of a location and here he purchased one hundred 
and sixty acres of land on section n, Griggs- 
ville township, and also one hundred and sixty 
acres on the creek bottom. Both of these tracts 
were slightly improved. He afterward returned 
to Ohio for his family, then consisting of his 
wife and two sons Robert, who was born in 
Boston, Massachusetts ; and George, whose birth 
had occurred in Preble county, Ohio. 

While living on section n, Griggsville town- 
ship, Robert Seaborn had the misfortune to have 
his house and all of its contents destroyed by 
fire. This was the second accident of a serious 
nature that had occurred to him, for he had pre- 
viously lost all his possessions in a fire on ship- 
board. He had sent his goods .from Boston to 
Ohio by way of the sea to New Orleans, from 




W. H. SEABORN 




MRS.. W. H. SEABORN 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



which point they were to be brought up the 
Mississippi and Illinois rivers, but the boat on 
which the shipment had been made was entirely 
destroyed by fire and all of his household effects, 
books and other possessions were consumed in 
the flames. Following the destruction of their 
residence Mr. and Mrs. Seaborn and the family 
had to live in a smokehouse for the season. This 
structure was an old log building without any 
floor and but poorly chinked and daubed. During 
the year, however; his friends and neighbors 
assisted him in erecting a frame residence which 
was made of an inch-and-a-half planks stood on 
end. The building was two stories in height and 
after its completion he occupied it for several 
years. For some time it seemed that every pos- 
sible misfortune befell him. He sold his farm and 
removed to Griggsville, where he lived for a 
year, after which he purchased a farm on section 
9, Griggsville township. That seemed the turn- 
ing of the tide in his favor, for he afterward 
prospered financially, meeting with success in all 
of his business undertakings, his life thus again 
proving that persistency of purpose and earnest 
labor will eventually win a just reward. 

In the midst of other troubles Mr. Seaborn 
also lost his wife, who died on the 25th of March, 
1842, leaving a family of five children. Two of 
the number are yet living: George, who resides 
in Brown county, Illinois ; and Caroline, the wife 
of George Clark, a resident of Missouri. Those 
who have passed away are: Robert, Henry C. 
and Elizabeth. On the 2oth of April, 1843, 
Mr. Seaborn was again married, his second union 
being with Mrs. Mary Ann Bryant, a widow, 
who was a daughter of John and Mary Hovey, 
natives of Massachusetts, although for years they 
resided in Pike county, Illinois. Four children 
were born of this union : David R., a resident of 
New Salem ; William H. ; Charles C. and Howard 
M., deceased. The parents of our subject were 
members of the Christian church and were prom- 
inent and influential residents of the community, 
respected for their genuine worth and their fi- 
delity to principle at all times. Mr. Seaborn 
departed this life April 19, 1880. 

William H. Seaborn, whose name introduces 
this review, supplemented his early educational 



privileges by study in the Griggsville high school. 
When he was but sixteen years of age he en- 
listed in April, 1862, for three months' service 
in the Union army and served for four months 
in the Sixty-eighth Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
under Captain D. F. Coffey. He enlisted at 
Camp Butler, near Springfield ajid went to Wast- 
ington, D. C., the regiment being encamped there 
and at Alexandria guarding the rebel prisoners 
during the battle of Bull Run. On the expira- 
tion of his term of service Mr. Seaborn returned 
home and soon afterward went west to St. Joseph, 
Missouri, where he enlisted to fight the Indians, 
serving under Generals Sibley and Sully. He was 
on active duty all over the northwest and served 
for two years, being most of the time in the 
government employ. Saving his earnings, he 
returned. home with eleven hundred dollars and 
.his. father. gveJiimati equal amount. He came to 
Baylis, which was then called Pineville, and here, 
with that he purchased one hundred and twenty 
acres of land, making the investment about 1871. 
He added to his property from time to time as his 
financial resources have increased until he now 
owns about five hundred acres. His original pur- 
chase was made from Mr. Pine, the first owner of 
the property. Mr. Seaborn has made his home 
in the village of Baylis since January 19, 1902, 
and has practically retired from the active work 
of the farm. For a long period, however, he was 
closely associated with agricultural interests, till- 
ing the fields and also engaging extensively in 
raising cattle, mules and hogs. A great believer 
in blue grass, he fed his stock in the blue grass 
pastures. He displays keen business discernment 
and sound judgment in all transactions and more- 
over is thoroughly reliable and enterprising. 

In 1872, Mr. Seaborn was united in marriage 
to Miss Sarah M. Reed, who was born in White 
county, Tennessee, March 31, 1849, and is a 
daughter of William P. and Nancy (Small) Reed. 
Her parents came to Pike county about 1852, lo- 
cating on a farm near Griggsville. Her father is 
now living in Holstein, Nebraska, and is still a well 
preserved man. He owns a ranch in that state 
and is extensively engaged in stock-raising. In 
his family were nine children, five of whom yet 
survive, namely : Mrs. William H. Seaborn ; 



282 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



Mrs. R. D. Seaborn,, of New Salem; William 
Reed, who is living in Whiting, Kansas; Mrs. 
Carrie Mullady, who resides at Salina, Kansas; 
and Frederick Reed, who is living in Holstein, 
Nebraska. The mother passed away in 1892. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Seaborn have been born 
two sons and a daughter, but the last named, 
Maud, who was born in 1876, passed away in 
1879. Robert Earl, who was born January n, 
1878, married Grace Davidson and resides upon 
the home farm a mile north of Baylis. William 
Kyle, born February 26, 1886, married Myrtle 
Rust, of Baylis, and resides near Fishhook, Illi- 
nois. 

In his political views Mr. Seaborn has been a 
stalwart republican since age gave to him the 
right of franchise but has never sought or desired 
public office. His wife is a member of the Meth- 
odist church. He is truly a self-made man and as 
the architect of his own fortunes has builded 
wisely and well. He has received little assistance 
save the eleven hundred dollars which his father 
gave him to aid him in making his first purchase 
of land. By the careful husbanding of his re- 
sources, by judicious investment and unfaltering 
energy he has made for himself a place among 
the substantial and wealthy residents of Pike 
county, being now one of its large land owners. 
Moreover his business affairs have been con- 
ducted so honorably that he enjoys the unqual- 
ified confidence of his fellow townsmen and is re- 
garded as one of the leading and prominent resi- 
dents of this part of the county. 



CAPTAIN G. S. PENNINGTON. 

From the time when the first train ran into 
Pittsfield, Captain G. S. Pennington was station 
agent through a period of thirty-five years, but 
is now living retired and his rest is well merited 
because of his long and active service in business 
life. He was born March 15, 1841, in White 
Hall, Greene county, Illinois, his parents being 
Joel and Abigail (Goltra) Pennington. With his 
parents he came to Pittsfield in 1848, traveling in 
a covered wagon from Greene county and thus 



the family was established here at an early day. 
The parents were both natives of Middlesex 
county, New Jersey, and were neighbors of the 
parents of T. De Witt Talmage, the famous di- 
vine. The Pennington family is of English lin- 
eage and Joel Pennington came west at an early 
day, settling in Greene county, where he made his 
home until coming to Pike county in 1848. Here 
he conducted a livery barn and afterward became 
proprietor of the Kentucky House, of Pittsfield, 
remaining as its landlord for thirty years. During 
that entire period Scott Wike was one of his 
boarders. He continued in the hotel business 
up to the time of his death, which occurred July 
27, 1890, when he had reached the advanced age 
of seventy-two years. His wife survived until 
1898. In their family were nine children, seven 
of whom are yet living : Allie, a resident of 
Pittsfield; Goyn S., of this review; William, who 
is living in Pittsfield ; Charles, also a resident of 
this city ; Emma, the wife of Dr. Dickey, of 
Pittsfield: Mrs. Mary Hurst, of Howard. Kansas; 
and Luther, who is living in Texas. 

Captain Pennington was educated in Pittsfield 
and in the Illinois College at Jacksonville, and 
after leaving school secured a position in the office 
of the circuit clerk in Pittsfield under George W. 
Jones. In 1863 he responded to his country's 
call for aid, enlisting in the 5th United States 
Cavalry. He became contract clerk and thus 
served until the close of the war. He assisted in 
caring for the archives and indexing them, after 
which they were shipped to Washington, D. C. 
During his service he was chief clerk in the 
United States mustering and disbursing office at 
Springfield, under Captain S. S. Sumner, and this 
position gave him the rank of captain and secured . 
him the pay of that office. In his official capacity 
he mustered in and also mustered out thousands of 
troops which he also furnished with arms and 
other equipments. He acted as mustering officer 
at Centralia, Mattoon, Camp Butler, Springfield 
and Peoria, and it is safe to say that no young 
man in the state had a wider acquaintance among 
the soldiers than Captain Pennington. 

When the war was over Captain Pennington 
returned to his home in Pike county but soon 
afterward secured a position as salesman for C. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNT V 



283 



M. Smith & Company, general merchants, who 
were conducting the largest store in Springfield 
at that time. Mr. Smith was a brother-in-law of 
President Lincoln. Captain Pennington spent two 
years in this position and then came to Pittsfield, 
where he embarked in the livery business with his 
father, who was conducting the hotel at this place. 
He was associated with this business for some 
time, after which he accepted a clerkship in a 
dry-goods store, where he was employed until 
1869, when he became station agent for the Wa- 
bash Railroad Corupany and as before stated filled 
that position at the time the first train reached 
Pittsfield. He acted as agent for thirty-five years, 
or until the 26th of August, 1905, when he 
resigned and is now living a retired life. 

In 1867 Captain Pennington was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Annette B. Stout, a daughter of 
Daniel Barney, who came to Pike county in 1820, 
and was one of the first settlers to establish a home 
within its borders. All was wild and unimproved 
at that time, little of the land having been re- 
claimed for the purposes of civilization. Unto 
Captain and Mrs. Pennington 'was born one child, 
Frank Pennington, who is now station agent of 
the W abash Company at Pittsfield Junction. The 
wife and mother died about 1876, and in 1878 
Captain Pennington was married again, his sec- 
ond union being with Margaret Sutton, 
who was born in Springfield in 1844. 
and is a daughter of James C. Sutton, 
of Sangamon count v, Illinois, whose brother 
was the first mayor of Springfield. Mrs. 
Pennington is one of a family of five children, 
four of whom are yet living. By her marriage 
she has become the mother of two sons and a 
daughter: Jair.es S.. born in 1881, married Gene- 
vk've I. Johnson, of Barry, and is now living in 
Chicago. When he was twenty-one years of age 
he was made private secretary to Vice President 
Morton of the Santa Fe Railroad Company and 
he is now secretary and treasurer of the Chicago 
Shippers ( hiide Company. Charles E. Penning- 
ton. born in 1883. is now bookkeeper for the 
Chicago Coal and Coke Company. Susan C., 
born in 1885. was educated in Pittsfield, has also 
been a student of music and is now at home with 
her pirents. Both Captain and Mrs. Pennington 
are members of the Congregational church and 



they own and occupy a beautiful home on Wash- 
ington street. In his political views Captain Pen- 
nington is a democrat and for one year served as 
alderman of Pittsfield but has never been active 
in search for office. At the time he resigned his 
position as station agent he was one of the oldest 
employes in years of continuous service with the 
Wabash Railroad Company and was a most popu- 
lar official in Pittsfield, his courtesy and helpful- 
ness winning him the highest regard of the pat- 
rons of the road, while his efficiency and capabil- 
ity justly entitled him to the trust of the corpora- 
tion which he represented. 



SAMUEL T. HASKINS. 

Samuel T. Haskins, living on section 3, Hardin 
township, is one of the prosperous and up-to-date 
farmers and stock-raisers, whose farm comprises 
three hundred and twenty acres. His capable 
management and success in business entitle him 
to mention as one of the representative citizens 
of this locality, and moreover he is a native son 
of Pike county, his birth having occurred on the 
farm on which he now resides on the 22d of 
October, 1863. He is a son of Otis A. Haskins 
and a brother of W. H. Haskins, who is men- 
tioned elsewhere in this work. In his father's 
family were two sons and two daughters. 

Samuel T. Haskins was reared upon the old 
homestead farm and through the period of his 
minority remained with his father and assisted 
him in carrying on the work of the fields and 
developing the property. He acquired his edu- 
cation in the common schools and business col- 
lege. After putting aside his text-books 
he returned to the farm, remaining with 
his father until the latter's death, when 
he succeeded to the ownership of the 
old homestead. He has since bought other lands, 
from time to time increasing his property hold- 
ings until he now owns over one thousand acres. 
Upon the home place is a large residence and 
there are also good barns and outbuildings. The 
place is well fenced and is well improved in every 
particular, constituting a valuable property. In 
connection with his farming interests Mr. Has- 



2 8 4 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



kins makes a business of raising high-grade cattle, 
horses and hogs, fattening for the market each year 
both cattle and hogs. He is a successful farmer, 
stock-raiser and feeder, his business methods being 
practical, while his enterprise and laudable am- 
bition are salient features in his prosperity. He 
is recognized as a good financier and one whose 
steadfast purpose has enabled him to overcome 
the difficulties and obstacles which are al- 
ways encountered in a business career. He 
has a wide and favorable acquaintance in Pike 
county, where he has spent his entire life, having 
witnessed much of its growth and development. 
He is one of its progressive and wide-awake citi- 
zens. Politically he has been a lifelong republi- 
can, but has never sought or desired office, giving 
his time to his farming and extensive business 
interests. Matters of public moment, however, 
receive his attention and any movement which he 
believes will prove of general good is given his 
hearty endorsement and co-operation. 



HON. JOSEPH M. BUSH. 

Hon. Joseph M..Bush, for many years a promi- 
nent figure in political circles in Pike county, and 
long connected with its journalistic interests has 
but recently retired, at the age of more than 
eighty years, from the editorship and manage- 
ment of the Pike County Democrat. Such a rec- 
ord of activity and successful accomplishment 
should put to shame many a man of younger 
years, who, growing tired of the burdens and 
cares of business life, would relegate to others the 
work that he should bear. Mr. Bush is too well 
known to need introduction to the readers of this 
volume. He was born in Pittsfield, Berkshire 
county, Massachusetts, January 16, 1822, the eld- 
est son of Colonel Daniel B. Bush, a prominent 
lawyer, who served in the general assembly of 
Massachusetts in 1828. The mother, who bore 
the maiden name of Maria Merrick, was a 
daughter of Deacon Joseph Merrick, and died in 
the east about 1832. In 1834 Colonel Bush removed 
to Pittsfield, Illinois, where he entered upon the 
practice of law, and continued a member of the 



bar until his death, which occurred in 1885, when 
he had reached the advanced age of ninety-five 
years and six months. When he came to Illinois 
he left his son Joseph in Williams College, which 
he had entered at the age of twelve years, and 
from which he graduated with the class of 1838. 
Among his classmates were Rev. Henry M. Field 
and Ex-Lieutenant Governor Bross, of Chicago. 

Following his graduation, Joseph M. Bush 
came to Illinois and entered upon the study ot 
law, and was admitted to the bar in 1843, his li- 
cense to practice being signed by Stephen A. 
Douglas, then one of the justices of the Illinois 
supreme court. He at once entered upon the ac- 
tive practice of his profession, but later turned 
his attention to other pursuits. On the I4th of 
March 1848, he was married to Miss Mary Alicia 
Grimshaw, a native of Ireland and the second 
daughter of John V. and Charlotte Grimshaw. 
who came to this country from Belfast about 1832. 
At the time of his marriage Mr. Bush began 
farming and was continuously and actively con- 
nected with agricultural pursuits until the spring 
of 1866, during which time he became the owner 
of a farm of two hundred and forty acres, which 
he brought to a high state of cultivation, con - 
ducting his work along modern lines. In the year 
mentioned, however, he turned his attention to 
other business interests. 

In 1860, while still residing upon the farm, Mr. 
Bush was appointed master in chancery of the 
Pike county circuit court by the late distin- 
guished jurist, Hon. C. L. Higbee, which office 
he held until November, 1885, covering a period 
of a quarter of a century. In 1858 he had been 
appointed United States commissioner for the 
southern district of the state of Illinois by the 
Hon. S. H. Treat, and also occupied that posi- 
tion for a quarter of a century. In 1865 he pur- 
chased the Pike County Democrat, of which he 
continued proprietor and editor until 1904, cov- 
ering a period of thirty-nine years, when the busi- 
ness was turned over to the management of his 
sons who are now ably conducting the paper. He 
made this a valuable organ of the democratic 
party and kept it up to a high standard of modern 
journalism. In 1870 he was elected to the state 
senate from the thirtv-sixth central district and 



^^K 




J. M. BUSH 



WN 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



287 



thus .became a -member of the first general as- 
sembly held after the adoption of the present con- 
stitution. He served on a number of important 
committees but declined to be a candidate for re- 
election, prefering to resume his editorial duties. 
He has ever been active in all matters tending to 
the advancement and prosperity of the commu- 
nity which has so long been his home. He is a 
stockholder and secretary of the company, which 
in 1850 built twejve miles of plank road to the 
Illinois river. He was the first secretary of the 
Pike County Agricultural Society, established in 
1850, and at various times he served as president 
and director. He has likewise been president 
and trustee of the board of education of Pitts- 
field, and for more than twenty-five years was 
a director and secretary* of the Louisiana & Pike 
County Railroad. He has served as supervisor 
of his township and has been identified with 
practically all the public enterprises that have 
contributed to the material development and 
progress of this portion of the state. 

In politics Mr. Bush has been unwavering in 
his advocacy of the democracy, and his paper has 
long been considered as it is at present, an influ- 
ential factor in Illinois politics. Aside from his 
editorial work, however, Mr. Bush has been 
prominent in his labors for the principles of gov- 
ernment in which he believes and has been a fre- 
quent delegate to the state, congressional and 
other conventions of his party. In 1868 he was 
an alternate delegate to the national convention 
held in New York. 

Mrs. Bush died in 1885. Their four sons, Wil- 
liam C.. Joseph M., Jr., Henry and Daniel B., are 
all active and influential citizens of Pittsfield. An 
older son and their only daughter died in 1864. 
Socially Mr. Bush is a member of the Masonic 
fraternity, with which he became identified prior 
to the Civil war, and for two terms he served as 
eminent commander of Ascalon commandery, K. 
T. He has but recently retired after a long 
and active connection with business life, being yet 
deeply interested, however, in the great ques- 
tions affecting the progress of the country along 
the various lines of industrial and commercial 
activity, and of intellectual and political advance- 
ment. As the years have passed his labors have 



found a just reward in a comfortable competence 
and he is now pleasantly situated in a home, 
where he has so long lived and labored, crowned 
with both years and honors. 



JOHN A. SMITH. 

John A. Smith, proprietor of the leading liv- 
ery barn of Pittsfield, is the owner of the fine 
Palace stables, situated on the south side of the 
square and is now in control of an extensive and 
important business which is annually increasing. 
He has lived in this county for fifty-two years and 
is one of its substantial citizens. His birth oc- 
curred in Covington, Kentucky, August 16, 1834, 
his parents . being William and Angelina (Lan- 
des^,) Smith. The mother was a daughter of 
Henry Laridess, .a, , soj-dier of the Mexican war. 
She lived to be eighty-six years of age, while Mr'. 
Smith departed this life at the age of sixty-six 
years. They removed from Kentucky to High- 
land county, Ohio, during the early boyhood of 
their son John. The father was a farmer by oc- 
cupation and continued a resident of the Buck- 
eye state up to the time of his death. His many 
excellent traits of character won him the re- 
spect and confidence of the entire community, 
and he was regarded as a leading and influential 
citizen there. In the family were eleven children, 
eight of whom are now living, three being resi- 
dents of Pike county, namely: John A.; David, 
who makes his home near Pearl ; and Isaac, who 
is living in Pittsfield township. 

John A. Smith was reared in the Buckeye state 
and pursued his education in the common schools. 
The school in his immediate neighborhood was 
a primitive log structure, with puncheon floor 
and split log benches. In 1853, John Scott, a 
neighbor of the Smith family, planned to come to 
the west with his family and induced Mr. Smith 
of this review to come also. At that time he had 
one horse, and, securing a wagon, he drove with 
them across the country to western Illinois. They 
crossed the Illinois river at Montezuma and made 
their way to Time when there was but one store, 
one dwelling and one schoolhouse in the village. 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



The party was eighteen days upon the road. The 
first year after his arrival Mr. Smith was em- 
ployed by Captain Westlake, and the succeeding 
year by Wilson Adams. He afterward returned 
to Ohio, but the same year came again to Illi- 
nois with his uncle, David Smith, going to Liv- 
ingston county, where they remained for a short 
time. They had a hard winter there and in the 
spring Mr. Smith returned to Pike county, where 
he secured employment. 

On the 5th of August, 1855, Mr. Smith was 
united in marriage to Miss Mary Dinsmore, of 
Pike county, and began his domestic life upon a 
rented farm. After a year he purchased one hun- 
dred and sixty acres of land near Time, on which 
he built a log house with a big fire-place and 
stick chimney. There he lived for a brief period, 
after which he went to Time and purchased a 
house and lot, making his home there while farm- 
ing his land. He was thus engaged until the 
outbreak of the Civil war, when he went to Ohio. 
Subsequently he returned, however, to Pike 
county and began buying horses for the army, 
shipping them to St. Louis. Following the close 
of hostilities, Mr. Smith turned his attention to 
the grocery business, which he conducted in Time 
for two years, and then purchased a half interest 
in a flour mill for which he paid forty-nine hun- 
dred dollars. In this enterprise he prospered, con- 
ducting the mill for four years, when he sold out. 
At a later date the plant was destroyed by fire. 
On his retirement from the milling business, Mr. 
Smith conducted a general store for three years, 
after which he purchased ground and built a 
mill. He then sold his store and operated the 
mill, which was then the best mill in the county. 
He continued in the manufacture of flour for 
four years, when he sold out and about 1880 
came to Pittsfield. Here he purchased and shipped 
stock until 1883, when he began conducting a 
feed and boarding stable and later he shipped 
horses to Connecticut, representing the firm of 
Binns & Dow for six years. In 1892 he took 
charge of a livery barn for Mr. Binns, con- 
tinuing the business for a year; and in 1897 he 
began handling stock food for an Omaha firm. 
He handled standard food and continued in the 
business until July, 1902, when he became pro- 



prietor of the livery barn which he is now con- 
ducting. He lias a splendid business, keeping 
from ten to sixteen head of horses ; and by reason 
of his straightforward dealing and earnest effort 
to please his customers, he has secured a very 
liberal patronage. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Smith 
have been born four children : Eva M., the wife 
of Harry English, a merchant of Pittsfield; G. 
R., who is now associated with his father ; Flora, 
the wife of Dr. Russ, of Hillsboro, Ohio; and 
Laura, the wife of John E. Huff, of Nebraska. 
The wife and mother died in 1871, and Mr. Smith 
has since married Lucy Allen, of Kentucky, by 
whom he has one child, Leslie, now at home. Mr. 
Smith is a member of the Mutual Aid Society. 
He is a democrat, and though he has never sought 
or desired public office 'has served on the town 
board. His wife is a member of the Christian 
church, and both Mr. and Mrs. Smith are highly 
esteemed in the locality where they reside. He 
has ever led a busy life and his activity has re- 
sulted in bringing to him a business which is 
now large and profitable. 



SAMUEL GEORGE KENDRICK. 

Samuel George Kendrick, whose life portrayed 
many manly virtues and commendable character- 
istics and whose death therefore was the occasion 
of deep and wide-spread regret among the many 
friends whom he had made in Pike county, was 
a native of Ireland, his birth having occurred near 
Ferns, County Wexford, on the i6th of M:irch, 
1825. His parents were Samuel and Isabelle 
(Sculley) Kendricks and he was reared upon the 
home farm until 1846, when at the age of twenty- 
one years he left the parental roof and was married 
to Miss Anna Jacob, a daughter of Thomas and 
Anna (Rath well) Jacob. They began their 
domestic life in Ireland but in the winter of 1848 
emigrated to America, landing at New Orleans, 
whence they made their way northward to Cin- 
cinnati. Ohio, where their first child, William, 
was born, but he iived to be only six months old. 

In 1852 Mr. Kendrick and his wife came to 
Pike county, Illinois, first settling near Rockport, 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



hut later he invested in eighty acres of land lying 
in the northeastern part of Derry township. To 
this farm he removed with his family and began 
the further development and cultivation of the 
property. Throughout his entire life his time and 
energies were given to farm work and it was 
through this source that he acquired a comfort- 
able competence and became one of the substan- 
tial citizens of his adopted county. 

When Air. and Mrs. Kendrick took up their 
abode upon the old homestead in Derry township 
they had one daughter, Isabelle, who was born 
June 12, 1853, and who on the 3Oth of December, 
1869, became the wife of Francis M. Stamback. 
They now reside in Sedgwick county, Kansas. 
The second daughter, Susan, was born September 
5, 1855, and was married February n, 1875, 
to George E. Martin. She died in June, 1892, at 
her home near Warrensburg, Missouri, leaving a 
husband and seven children to mourn her loss. 
On the Qth of December, 1858, Mr. Kendrick 
was bereft of his first wife, who died leaving two 
little daughters to his care and on the loth of 
March, 1859, lie was married to Anna Eliza Jacob, 
a daughter of Samuel and Rebecca (Clare) Jacob 
and a niece of Sir M. B. and Lady Clare of 
County Carlo, Ireland, who now reside in Pitts- 
field, Illinois. The first child of the second mar- 
riage was Rebecca Eleanor, who was born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1860, and was married to Peter Phen- 
neger, February 5. 1880. They now reside in 
Sedgwick county, Kansas. Emma Jane, born 
December 14, 1862, was married December 15, 
1878, to Andrew Irick and they reside in Derry 
township, Pike county, Illinois. Dora A., born 
November 4, 1864, died on the I2th of December 
following. Mary Evaline, born November 14, 
1865, was married February u, 1889, to Mc- 
Clellan Harshman, and they now reside in Derry 
township near the old Kendrick homestead. 
George Irwin, born June 20, 1865, was married 
February 15, 1891, to Eva Wilson, a daughter of 
the Rev. O. L. Wilson, and they now reside in 
Pittsfield. Anna Eliza was born June 30, 1872, 
and on the 2gth of July, 1890, became the wife of 
Loren Windmillcr, a resident of Pittsfield. Sam- 
uel Jacob was born March 14, 1876, and died 
November 30, 1879. Grace Mildred, born Feb- 



ruary 23, 1878, was married to William J. Bell, 
April n, 1900. They reside at Visalia, California. 
Dora Elizabeth, born July 6, 1881, was married 
December 24, 1902, to Frank I. Barrum and is 
living in Clinton, Illinois. Edith Clare, born Feb- 
ruary 15, 1884, died December 8, 1886. Arcade 
John was born September 20, 1886. Both sons 
are graduates of Brown's Business College. Mrs. 
Kendrick has spent much time in California, 
and for four months she and her younger son 
traveled through England and Ireland. 

Mr. Kendrick devoted his entire life to general 
agricultural pursuits and found in his well direct- 
ed labor, careful management and practical busi- 
ness methods the key which unlocks the portal of 
success. As the years passed by he prospered 
in his undertakings; made judicious investment in 
property and left a large estate, which at his death 
was divided among his widow and his children. 
He died at his beautiful country home, which had 
been recently erected, on the loth of March, 1889. 
He filled several places of honor and trust, was 
recognized as a stanch republican and was a man 
of the highest integrity. A kind and loving hus- 
band, his best traits of character were reserved for 
his family and yet all who knew him found in 
him a man worthy of their best regard, while 
many entertained for him the warmest friendship, 
and his genuine worth endeared him to a large 
number of those with whom he came in contact. 
For long years he was classed with the rep- 
resentative agriculturists of Pike county, and he 
is now enrolled among her honored dead. 

Samuel B. Jacob, the father of Mrs. Kendrick, 
was a native of County Wexford, Ireknd, and a 
son of Thomas and Anna (Rathwell) Jacob. He 
was married in Ireland, July 19, 1844, to Rebecca 
Clare, and they came to the United States on the 
same ship with Mr. Kendrick. They first located 
in Kentucky, where Mr. Jacob owned and oper- 
ated a farm, but when Mrs. Kendrick was twelve 
years of age, he brought his family to Pike county, 
Illinois, settling two and a half miles southwest 
of Eldara, where he became the possessor of a 
fine farm of three hundred and twenty acres. He 
died there June 28, 1884, at the age of fifty-nine 
years, and his wife passed away December 27, 
1888, at the age of sixty-seven years. In their 



290 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



family were nine children, of whom four died in 
infancy, including John, who was two years old 
at the time of his death. The others were all 
married when the father departed this life. They 
were Mrs. Kendrick; Mrs. Susan Thomas, who 
died January 5, 1905; Rebecca, wife of William 
Stamback, of Kansas; Mrs. Emma J. Troutwine, 
living on one-half of the old homestead farm in 
Pleasant Vale township ; and Esther, wife of Wil- 
liam Easley, who also lives on the old home farm. 
The father of this family was an active member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church; South, and 
was superintendent of the Sunday-school. 



JOHN W. WILLIAMS. 

John W. Williams, one of the active, energetic 
farmers and stock-raisers of Pike county, car- 
rying on his work along lines of modern agri- 
cultural progress, is living on section 22, Hardin 
township, where he owns and operates a farm of 
one hundred and sixty acres of rich land, which 
with its good improvements and productive soil 
constitutes a valuable property. He is a native 
son of the county, born on the farm where he now 
resides, March i, 1866. His father, Captain 
Henry J. Williams, was a native of Kentucky, 
and was a son of Squire Williams, who came from 
the Blue Grass state to Illinois with his family 
during the pioneer epoch in the history of this 
section of the state. Captain Williams spent his 
youth here, and was married to Miss Ruth 
Chenowith, a native of Illinois. Captain Williams 
was a prominent farmer and successful agricul- 
turist and business man, whose carefully directed 
labors and judicious investments made him the 
owner of thirteen hundred acres of Pike county's 
rich farming land. He reared his family and 
spent the evening of his life in this locality, and 
he is still survived by his wife, who resides in 
Hardin township. She has two hundred and 
forty acres one-fourth mile west of Tine. 

John W. Williams was reared upon the old 
homestead farm, and is indebted to the public- 
school system for the educational privileges he- 
enjoyed. He was married in Hardin township, 



on the I4th of November, 1891, to Miss Lillian 
Watts, a native of Pike county, born in Milton. 
Her girlhood was largely passed in Milton, where 
she lived with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Mat- 
thew D. Watts. Her father was a native of Eng- 
land, and was a son of John Watts, who emi- 
grated from that country to the new world with 
his family, taking up his abode in Pike county 
when his son Matthew was a lad of only seven 
years. The latter therefore spent his youth largely 
in Illinois, and was married here to Miss Delia 
Barnes, a native of Missouri. They began 
housekeeping where they now reside, Mr. Wil- 
liams devoting his entire life and energies to the 
occupation of farming. He has fenced his place, 
has improved his buildings, and has now a well 
equipped property, on which the accessories of a 
model farm are all found. The fields are well 
tilled, and he annually harvests good crops. He 
also raises and feeds 'stock, making a specialty 
of hogs, sheep and cattle. He is likewise in- 
terested in fine poultry, and is raising pure 
blooded Plymouth Rock chickens, having a large 
and fine flock. He is also a breeder of thor- 
oughbred Scotch collie dogs. 

Mr. and Mrs. Williams have become the par- 
ents of four children, of whom three are living, 
Lewis Vernon, their first born, having died at the 
age of seven years. Those still surviving are : 
Mary Ruth, Matthew Dean and John Merrill. Mr. 
Williams exercises his right of franchise in sup- 
port of the men and measures of the democracy, 
but has ever been without aspiration for public of- 
fice. His wife is a member of the Christian church, 
and both hold membership with the organization 
of Woodmen, the former with the camp, and the 
latter with its auxiliary, the Royal Neighbors. 
Mr. Williams is numbered among the citizens 
whose life history proves the attractiveness of 
Pike county as a place of residence, for he has 
always maintained his abode here, enjoying the 
good advantages here afforded and finding in the 
business conditions of this section of the state 
ample opportunity for the exercise of his talents 
and energies. He has continuously resided upon 
the farm which is yet his home ; and he is an 
active and prosperous agriculturist and stock- 
raiser, and a man of good business ability, in- 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



291 



tegrity and upright character and worth. He 
and his estimable wife are much esteemed in the 
county where they live. 



JOHN CRAVEN, SR. 

John Craven, Sr., who for many years was 
identified with agricultural interests in .Pike 
county, but is now living a retired life in Griggs- 
ville, was born in Morgan county, Illinois, Febru- 
ary 13, 1835, n ' s parents being John and Esther 
(Warton) Craven. The father was born in York- 
shire, England, January 7, 1802, while the moth- 
er's birth occurred in 1812. They were married 
in England and the same year 1831 crossed 
the Atlantic in a sailing vessel, which was eight 
weeks in completing that voyage. They settled 
in the wilds of Morgan county, Illinois for 
that district was then a frontier region. Their 
home was six miles west of Jacksonville, and 
there they lived in a little log cabin during the 
first winter after the "big snow" in Illinois. Mr. 
Craven first purchased eighty acres of land, and 
with characteristic energy began its cultivation 
and improvement, continuing to carry on farming 
in Morgan county until 1850, when he came to 
Pike county, settling on section 20, Griggsville 
township, where he followed both farming and 
stock-raising on a tract of land of two hundred 
and fourteen acres. In connection with the culti- 
vation of the fields he raised both cattle and hogs, 
devoting his attention to the work of the farm 
until 1865, when he purchased seventy acres of 
land, which he then rented. He lived upon that 
property, however, in the enjoyment of a well 
earned rest up to the time of his death. He be- 
longed to the Episcopal church and gave his po- 
litical support to the whig party. As a pioneer 
settler, he contributed in a large measure to the 
welfare and upbuilding of the localities in which 
he lived, and his genuine worth gained for him 
the respect and trust of his fellowmen. 

No event of special importance occurred to 
vary the routine of farm life for John Craven of 
this review during the period of his boyhood and 
youth. He worked in the fields and meadows 
through the summer months, and in the winter 



seasons acquired a good practical education by at- 
tending the public schools. Soon after his mar- 
riage he began farming and stock-raising on his 
own account, and followed that business continu- 
ously until 1899, when he bought a home in the 
city of Griggsville, where he has since lived re- 
tired. In all of his farm work he was practical, 
energetic and enterprising, and his carefully di- 
rected labors brought him the competence that 
now enables him to rest from further business 
care. 

Mr. Craven was married on the i2th of May, 
1864, to Miss Henrietta George, who was born 
October 17, 1837, in London, England, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Mary (Granger) George. The 
father was born in Northamptonshire, England, 
in 1797, and was of Quaker parentage, while 
his wife was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1798. 
They were married in the city of London in 1825, 
and in 1847 came to. the United States, leaving 
their native land on Christmas day as passengers 
on board a sailing vessel bound for New Orleans. 
Thence they proceeded up the Mississippi rive- 
to St. Louis and on to Griggsville Landing, in 
Pike county, being nine weeks on the way. They 
arrived in April and soon afterward located about 
a mile and a half west of Griggsville, where they 
lived for five years, after which they took up their 
abode on another farm about a mile and a half 
farther west, remaining there for seven years. 
On the expiration of that period Mr. George 
purchased a farm in Brown county, Illinois, upon 
which he carried on general agricultural pursuits 
and stock-raising, having a fine grade of cattle 
and hogs. For a long period he lived an active 
and enterprising life and then retired some years 
prior to his demise. He never cared for public 
office, preferring to concentrate his attention upon 
his business affairs. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Church of England; and his po- 
litical allegiance was given to the republican 
party. In their family were three children, all 
born in London : John, who was born in 1826, 
and is now living in Griggsville; Elizabeth, who 
was born in 1830 and died in 1860 ; and Mrs. 
Craven. 

Unto our subject and his wife have been born 
six children : George, who died in infancy ; Mary 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



E., born in 1866; Annie, in 1869; Maud and Vir- 
ginia, twins, in 1873 ; and John, in October, 1876. 
This name has been handed down to the eighth 
generation in direct line. Mr. and Mrs. Craven 
hold membership in the Episcopal church ; and in 
politics he is independent, voting for the candi- 
date whom he thinks best qualified for office with- 
out regard to party affiliation. For more than a 
half century Mr. Craven has lived in this county 
and throughout the period of his entire life cov- 
ering three score years and ten, has been a resi- 
dent of Illinois. While living the quiet life of the 
farmer, he has always kept in touch with the 
progress of events marking the history of his 
community and his country, and in local affairs 
has given his support to measures for the general 
good. His mind bears the impress of the early 
historic annals of the county, and he is familiar 
with the many changes that have brought about 
the present condition of advanced progress and 
prosperity in connection with the business life 
of Pike county. 



ISAAC S. CON'KRIGHT. 

Isaac S. Conkright, proprietor of a grocery 
and confectionery store in Salem, also closely 
connected with agricultural interests in various 
departments and well known as a breeder of 
throughbred horses, was born September 28, 
1838, on what is known as the Conkright place 
about a mile from his present home. His fa- 
ther, Isaac Conkright, Sr., was a native of Ken- 
tuck}', and came to Illinois at an early day, set- 
tling upon the farm upon which the birth of our 
subject occurred. The paternal grandfather also 
bore the name of Isaac Conkright,- and on coming 
to Pike county with his son Isaac, took up land 
from the government, which has since been in 
possession of the family. He was a factor in the 
pioneer development of this part of the state and 
aided in laying broad and deep the foundation 
for the present prosperity and progress of the 
county. Isaac Conkright, father of our subject, 
continued a resident of Pike county from the time 
of his arrival here in pioneer days until his de- 



mise, and was regarded as one of the leading 
agriculturists and corn-raisers in this part of the 
state. He also owned soni' land in Kansas, ami 
he found that through the utilization of his busi 
ness opportunities he could secure a competence. 
Gradually he worked his way upward, becoming 1 
one of the substantial residents of this part of the 
state. In his family were six children, of whom 
three are now living : Isaac S., of this review ; 
Mrs. Sarah Preble, who resides in New Salem; 
and Mrs. Elizabeth Doane, who is living in Colo- 
rado Springs, Colorado. 

Isaac S. Conkright was educated in the com- 
mon schools of Pike county, and was reared to 
farm labor, early becoming familiar with the va- 
rious duties that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. 
For forty-five years he engaged in threshing. In 
1866 he purchased his present home and has oc- 
cupied it continuously since. He owns two hun- 
dred and seventy-one acres of fine land under 
a high state of cultivation, the place being well 
improved with all modern equipments and acces- 
sories. He erected the residence and other build 
ings upon the place and has kept his farm in a 
splendid condition, embodying all the rules of the 
progressive agriculturist. He was extensively 
engaged in wheat-raising at an earlier day, but 
afterward turned his attention to the raising of 
stock, more particularly cattle and hogs. He op- 
erated a thresher, clover huller and feed mill and 
in this way added to his income as the years 
passed by. He is likewise well known as a breeder 
of horses and now owns two fine thoroughbred 
stallions, one Blackhawk and one Belgian. He 
is well known as a horse breeder, and in this 
branch of his business, as well as in other lines, 
has met with success. He also owns a grocery and 
confectionery store and ice cream parlor in New 
Salem, and is owner of the town hall there. 

Mr. Conkright was united in marriage to Miss 
Harriet Bean, who was born upon the farm where 
she now resides. She is a daughter of John 
Bean, who came to Pike county with his father, 
and entered land from the government in pioneer 
times, this being the farm upon which Mr. and 
Mrs. Conkright now reside. They have two 
sons : John, who married Hannah Chancy and 
lives near his father; and Bert, who resides upon 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



293 



the homestead farm. He married Miss Nettie 
Slaughter, who died leaving four children, and he 
afterward wedded Lula. Harris. John Conkright 
has a family of six children. 

In his political views Mr. Conkright is an earn- 
est and stalwart republican, but has never sought 
or desired office, preferring to concentrate his en- 
ergies upon his business affairs. He and his wife 
are members of the Universalist church, of New 
Salem ; and in the community where they reside 
they enjoy the confidence and good will of all 
with whom they 'have been associated through 
social or business relations. Mr. Conkright has 
never used tobacco in any form, and deserves 
much credit for what he has achieved. Realizing 
the truth of the old Greek adage, "Earn thy re- 
ward : the gods give naught to sloth," he has 
labored persistently and energetically as the years 
have gone by, doing much hard work and thus 
gaining the success which always comes as the 
direct result of earnest purpose and energetic 
effort. He is widely known in the community 
and his many friends admire him for what he has 
accomplished as well as for his commendable 
personal characteristics. 



DAVID W. STONER. 

David W. Stoner, who was for years one of 
the substantial farmers and business men of Pike 
county and now owns a well improved farm in 
Detroit township is a representative of the little 
band of pioneer settlers who are yet living to 
tell the tale of early experiences in this part of 
the state. He has lived within a mile and a quar- 
ter of Detroit since 1843, anc l nas therefore wit- 
nessed almost the entire growth and progress that 
has been made in this locality. A native of Eng- 
land, he was born in Yorkshire on the 22d of Oc- 
tober, 1831, and is a son of Thomas Stoner, who 
comes of a long line of Scotch ancestry. He was 
born, however, in England and was married there 
to Miss Anna Maria Waide, a native of England. 
Mr. Stoner was a miller by trade and in order 
to provide for his family followed that 
pursuit in his native countrv until after the 



birth of five of his children. In 1843 he emi- 
grated to the new world, landing at New York, 
whence he made his way westward to Pike 
county, settling on a farm that is now owned 
by his son, David W. Stoner. He purchased one 
hundred and twenty acres of partially improved 
land and began the further development and culti- 
vation of this property. Later he removed to the 
village of Detroit, where his death occurred in 
1878. His first wife died in 1861 and he after- 
ward married Gelina Staples. 

David W. Stoner of this review is one of a 
family of three sons and one daughter. The 
first eleven years of his life were spent in his 
native country, and he then accompanied his par- 
ents on the voyage to the new world and was 
reared upon the old home farm in Detroit town- 
ship. As his age and strength permitted he as- 
sisted in the arduous task of reclaiming the wild 
land for the uses of civilization and he shared 
with the family in the various hardships and trials 
incident to pioneer life. His educational privi- 
leges were necessarily limited, owing to the fact 
that this was a frontier district ; but he has 
greatly broadened his knowledge since attaining 
man's estate. To his father he gave the benefit 
of his services until after he had attained his 
majority, and was then married in Griggsville 
on the ist of December, 1853, to Miss Maria 
Dean, a native of Connecticut, and a daughter of 
Hiram L. Dean, who was born and reared in that 
state. He was also married there to Miss Wealthy 
M. Saunders, a native of the same place. In 
1836 Mr. Dean came to Pike county, being one of 
the first settlers to aid in the reclamation of a 
wild and unimproved region. Mrs. Stoner was 
reared and educated here. In the course of years 
Mr. Stoner of this review succeeded to the old 
homestead farm, where he carried on general 
agricultural pursuits for several years. In 1867 
he removed to Polk county, Wisconsin, in order 
to improve his health, making his way to the 
pineries. He benefited by the change, and in 
1868 he returned to Pike county, where he em- 
barked in merchandising in Detroit. After two 
years' connection with this business he resumed 
agricultural pursuits where he farmed until 1883, 
when he removed to Detroit and purchased resi- 



294 



PAST AND PRESENT OF PIKE COUNTY. 



dence property, adding to and remodeling his 
house and now has a good home, where he lives 
retired. 

Mr. and Mrs. Stoner had five children, of 
whom one son, George, died at the age of thirteen 
years, his death being occasioned by an accident. 
Anna is the wife of Charles Sneeden, who is