^^c$^ oV^^iar- '^bv^ y^sa^^'. '•^^.>^
^* 'i>^ %>
o*. **...•* A.0
O. ♦..,.' .0
1623 — 1775
REGISTER OF MEMBERS
JOHN SCALES, A. M., Editor
Dover, N. H.. May, 1919
CHARLES F. WHITEHOUSE
DOVER, N. H
At the annual meeting of the Piscataqua Pioneers,
at Exeter, 17 August, 1917, President Foster, in his ad-
dress suggested that the society have prepared and
published a register of the members and their ances-
tors, with appropriate sketches of the latter. Acting
on his suggestion it was voted that the Secretary be in-
structed to prepare such a register. The Secretary said
he would not have time to attend to preparing the copy;
it was voted that he employ such assistance as he might
need. Accordingly he engaged Mr. John Scales to take
the work in hand, who soon after began outlining the
plan of the book, with the advice and assistance of
President Baer and Secretary Lamson. When the first
draft was completed, on suggestion of Secretary Lam-
son, it was submitted to the examination of Rev. Dr.
Everett S. Stackpole, who made several corrections and
furnished some additions. He suggested that the first
generation of children of the Pioneers be added, that
list not being included in the original draft. The Pres-
ident and Secretary approved of the suggestion and the
editor took the work in hand to find who constitutes that
first generation; it was a difficult job, and took consider-
able time, but at the annual meeting in August, 1918,
the copy was ready for the printer. The report of the
Treasurer showed there was lack of funds to pay for
publication at that time.
At this annual meeting thirty or more members
were added to the list; as there was to be delay in rais-
ing the needed money to pay the printer, the editor took
these new members in hand and had their names and
their ancestors included in the proper places in the Reg-
ister; this required much changing of the original copy,
but with the assistance of Dr. Stackpole and Mr. Charles
Thornton Libby, Librarian of the Maine Historical So-
ciety, the work was completed in its present shape.
Care has been taken to correct old errors, in former
prints, and to avoid, as much as possible, making any
new errors. In such a multitude of names and dates,
of course, there will be found some errors. Any one
finding a mistake will confer a favor by sending the
correction to the editor.
Dover, N. H., May, 1919.
CORRECTIONS AND OMISSIONS
Hon. Wm. D. Chandler, Honrary Member.
Miss Ida C. Roberts, not Mrs. ; Vice Presi-
Alexander Dennett, Curator.
Miss Sadie Goodwin, elected but declined.
Mrs. Ana, not Anna B. Hall.
Mrs. Mary E. Neal Hanaford, Hannaford.
Edward E. Hanscom, not Hanson.
Omit Mrs. Laura C. Haley.
Mrs. Laura Cornelia Heely, not Heeley.
Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood, not Lightwood.
Miss Ida Charlotte Roberts, not Mrs.
Samuel Frye Walcott, withdrawn.
Mrs. Dora Elizabeth Wetherell, not Wether-
Erastus E. Winkley, the "E" is omitted.
Mrs. Mary E. Safford Wildes, not Wilder.
Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood, not Lightwood.
Dr. James A. Spalding, descendant.
Harold Clarke Durrell, descendant.
Richard Leader Nelson, in the 19th line.
Dr. James A. Spalding, descendant.
Mrs. Cornelia Bingham, not a descendant
of Henry Sherburne.
ACT OF INCORPORATION.
The undersigned, being persons of lawful age, asso-
ciated under the provisions of Chapter 147 of the Public
Statutes of New Hampshire by the following
ARTICLES OF AGREEMENT:
Article 1. — The name of this corporation shall be
Article 2. — The object for which this corporation
is established is for securing and preserving the records
of Piscataqua River Pioneers and association of their
Article 3. — The place in which the business of this
corporation is to be carried on is Portsmouth, N. H.
Article 4. — The amount of capital stock to be paid
in shall be
Article 5. — The first meeting of the corporators at
Concord, N. H., June 15, 1905.
Names. Post Office Address.
Thomas M. Jackson, No. 1 Summer Street,
Portsmouth, N. H.
Albert H. Lamson, Box 51, Elkins, N. H.
John M. Moses, Northwood, N. H.
Henry W. Fernald, M. 0. D., P. 0., Boston, Mass.
Moses A. Safford, Kittery, Maine.
City Clerk's Office,
Portsmouth, N. H.
Received June 16, 1905, at 2 o'clock P. m.
Recorded, Vol. 2, Page 81. Examined by
W. E. Underhill, City Clerk.
State of New Hampshire,
Office of Secretary of State,
Concord, June 17, 1905.
A true record:
Edward N. Pearson, Secretary of State.
State of New Hampshire,
Office of Secretary of State.
I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of
Articles of Agreement of the Piscataqua Pioneers, as
recorded in this office, and in my custody as Secretary
In witness whereof I hereunto subscribe my official
signature and affix the State seal, at Concord, this 27th
day of June, A. D., 1905.
(Signed,) Edward N. Pearson,
[Seal.] Secretary of State.
OBJECTS OF THE SOCIETY.
The object for which this Society is established is
for securing and preserving the records of "Piscataqua
Pioneers" and their descendants. It is historical as
well as genealogical and biographical.
To visit historical points of interest and to promote
the acquaintance and good fellowship of its associates.
To learn the names of the early settlers on both
sides of the Piscataqua River within the limits of what
is known as the Piscataqua Plantation or Piscataqua
Settlement and contiguous territory from the earliest
times down to the period within the memory of men
To learn the several parts they took in the accom-
plishment of the objects of the pioneers in this vicinity,
as well as to trace them and their descendants in other
avenues of life, whether near or remote, in their several
contributions to the advancement of American civiliza-
tion, its literature, arts and industries.
To provide for their association to the end that
those generations who may come after us shall not be
ignorant of those who first dealt with the wilderness
and its aborigines, planting homes in the New World,
and that they may, in some degree, be enabled to trace
the pathways of their ancestors within the broader
limits of our common country.
Section 1.— The name of the Society shall be the
* 'Piscataqua Pioneers. ' '
Section 1. — All members other than the incorpora-
tors shall be elected to membership at the regular
Sec. 2. — All applications for membership shall be
made on blanks printed for that purpose and shall bear
the recommendation of at least two members. Any
person of good moral character who is a descendant of
a "Piscataqua Pioneer" may become a member of this
Society by being proposed by some member and elected
by a majority vote. Persons proposed may be voted for
singly at the request of any member. (By the word
"Pioneer" it is understood to mean all those who were
of the "Piscataqua Plantation" prior to the Declaration
Sec. 3. — The membership shall consist of Annual
Members, Life Members, Corresponding and Honorary
Members. Annual Members shall be those who pay to
the Society an annual assessment. Life Members shall
be those who pay the Life Membership fee. Corres-
ponding Members shall be those who, from time to time
when called upon, shall render genealogical service to
the Society in lieu of an assessment, and who are not
either Annual or Life Members. Honorary Members
are those who have been proposed and elected as such.
Sec. 4. — Each person at the time of his or her elec-
tion as an Annual Member shall pay an admission fee
of Two Dollars to the Secretary for the use of the
Society. Each Annual Member shall pay an assess-
ment of One Dollar per year for the use of the Society.
The fee for Life Membership shall be Twenty-Five
Sec. 5. — Any person may be suspended or dropped
for cause determined by the majority of the Board of
Section 1.— The Annual Meeting shall be held in
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in the month of August,
or in such other place in New Hampshire as may be de-
termined by the Directors in a notice given therefor.
Sec. 2. —Special Meetings may be called at any time
by the Board of Directors, also on petition in writing
by five members of the Society.
Section 1. — The officers of this Society shall con-
sist of a President, ten or more Vice Presidents, Treas-
urer, Secretary, Curator and a Board of Directors, all
of whom shall be elected at the Annual Meeting. They
shall severally hold office for the term of one year or
until their successors are elected.
duties of officers:— president and vice presidents.
Section 1.— The President shall preside at all
meetings, and of the Board of Directors. In his ab-
sence one of the Vice Presidents shall preside. If all
are absent, a temporary chairman shall be chosen.
Section 1.— The Treasurer shall receive all money
from the Secretary, pay all bills as approved by the
President, and make a detailed report at the Annual
Section 1. — The Secretary shall attend all meet-
ings and keep a true record of their doings.
Sec. 2.— He shall collect all money due the Society
and pay the same to the Treasurer; record the names of
all the members and the time of their admission, and
transmit to each person elected to membership a printed
copy of the Act of Incorporation and By-Laws, and
make a detailed report at the Annual Meeting.
Sec. 3. — He shall notify every member of the An-
nual and Special Meetings, giving a seven-day notice,
Sec. 4. —In his absence, a Secretary pro tern, may
BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Section 1.— At the Annual Meeting there shall be
chosen five members as a Board of Directors. They
shall have charge of the general affairs of the Society,
make all contracts, appropriate moneys, fix the com-
pensation of all oflficers, and have in all ways the gen-
eral management of the Society.
Sec. 2. — They shall serve for one year each and
make a detailed report at the Annual Meeting.
Section 1. — The Curator shall have charge of all
Historical Works, Library and all Genealogical data
which may from time to time be presented to the So-
Section 1.— Five members shall constitute a
Section 1 — The Board of Directors may adopt a
Seal of such design as in their judgment may be proper,
giving name and date of incorporation.
Section 1. — Any article in the By-Laws may be
suspended, altered or amended by a two-thirds vote of
those members present at any meeting, provided they
shall have been submitted to the Board of Directors and
incorporated in the notice to the members.
FORM OF A BEQUEST.
I give, devise and bequeath to the Piscataqua Pion-
eers, a corporation duly incorporated by the State of
New Hampshire, and located in the City of Portsmouth,
in said State, the sum of dollars for the
general purposes of said Society.
SOCIETY OF PISCATAQUA PIONEERS.
INCORPORATED JUNE 15, 1905.
Captain Thomas Manning Jackson, Epping, N. H.
Albert H. Lamson, Elkins, (New London) N. H.
tJohn Mark Moses, Northwood, N. H.
fHenry Winkley Fernald, Boston, Mass.
tMoses Atwood Safford, Kittery, Maine.
Ex-Presidents of the Society.
Hon. Moses Atwood Safford, Kittery, Me. Elected
June 15, 1905.
Henry Winthrop Hardon, New York City. Elected
August 31, 1906.
Lieut. Oliver Philbrick Remick, Kittery, Maine.
Elected August 22, 1907.
John Lemuel Murray Willis, M. D., Eliot, Me.
Elected August 25, 1908.
John Scales, A. M., Dover, N. H. Elected August
John Mark Moses, Northwood, N. H. Elected
August 23, 1910.
Rev. George Madison Bodge, West Roxbury, Mass.
Elected August 15, 1911.
Alexander Dennett, Kittery, Me. Elected August
Charles A. Hazlett, Portsmouth, N. H. Elected
August 13, 1913.
Hon. James William Locke, Kittery, Me. Elected
August 28, 1914.
Edgar A. Leighton, Somersworth, N. H. Elected
August 18, 1915.
Rear Admiral Joseph Foster, Portsmouth, N. H.
Elected August 16, 1916.
Mrs. Annie Wentworth Baer, Rollinsford, N. H.
Elected August 15, 1917.
Mrs, Ella Weeks Lamson, died September 6, 1906.
Albert A. Folsom, died December 24, 1907.
Miss Gertrude M. Sias, died January 10, 1910.
Alfred A. Stocker, died March 8, 1910.
Henry Winthrop Fernald, died March 13, 1913.
Oliver Philbrick Remick, died March 17, 1913.
Nathan Goold, died August 13, 1913.
Moses Atwood Safford, died May 8, 1914.
Denison R. Slade, died June 17, 1914.
Rev. George Madison Bodge, died July 18, 1914.
Mrs. Sarah P. Billings, died December 4, 1916.
Frank Benjamin Sanborn, died February 24, 1917.
Lewis W. Brewster, died July, 1917.
"Mrs. Josephine E. Dennett, died October 4, 1917.
Frederick B. Furbish, died July, 1918.
Mrs. Mary E. P. Gowen, died October 7, 1918.
Sophia Dodge Hall, died December 1, 1918.
John Mark Moses, died February 21, 1919.
Hon. Thomas Ellison OHver Marvin, died April9, 1919.
Hon. Edward N. Pearson, Concord, N. H. Elected
August 31, 1906.
Hon. E. W. Emery, Augusta, Maine. Elected
August 23, 1910.
Henry I. Durgin, M. D., Eliot, Maine. Elected
August 31, 1906.
Frederick M. Sise, Portsmouth, N. H. Elected
August 22, 1907.
Edward W. McGlenen, Boston, Mass. Elected
August 23, 1910.
Mrs. Anna M. Chandler Riley, Claremont, N. H.
Elected August 15, 1911.
Rev. Everett S. Stackpole, D. D., Bath, Me. Elect-
ed August 21, 1912.
Annual Meetings: Where Held.
First Meeting held at Concord, June 15, 1905.
First Annual Meeting held at Portsmouth, August
Second Annual Meeting held at Portsmouth, August
Third Annual Meeting held at Portsmouth, August
Fourth Annual Meeting held at Kittery Point,
Maine, August 25, 1908.
Fifth Annual Meeting held at Newcastle, August
Sixth Annual Meeting held at Dover Point, August
Seventh Annual Meeting held at Isles of Shoals,
August 15, 1911.
Eighth Annual Meeting held at Durham, August
Ninth Annual Meeting held at Back River, Dover,
August 13, 1913.
Tenth Annual Meeting held at Portsmouth, August
Eleventh Annual Meeting held at York, Maine,
August 18, 1915.
Twelfth Annual Meeting held at Woodman Insti-
tute, Dover, August 16, 1916.
Thirteenth Annual Meeting held at Exeter, August
Fourteenth Annual Meeting held at Eliot, August
Prof. Sylvester Burnham, Newburyport, Mass.
Charles Wells Hall, Newton, Mass.
Mrs. Florence A. Crane, Des Moines, Iowa.
John N. Thompson, Exeter, N. H.
Mrs. Mary Safford Wildes, Kittery, Maine.
Alvah H. Place, Newmarket, N. H.
Henry J. Carr, Scranton, Penn.
Mrs. Annie B. McKinney, Columbus, Ohio.
Horace S. Huckins, M. D., Pasadena, California.
Col. John Dean Hall, Washington, D. C.
Charles Thornton Libby, Portland, Maine.
Mrs. Ida C. Roberts, Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Mrs. Lucy Gordon Varney, St. Paul, Minn.
Mrs. Alice K. H. Rice, Dover, N. H.
Albert H. Lamson, Elkins, N. H.
Alexander Dennett, Kittery, Maine.
Albert H. Lamson, Elkins, N. H.
John L. M. Willis, M. D., Eliot, Maine.
Joseph Foster, Portsmouth, N. H.
Alexander Dennett, Kittery, Maine.
John Scales, Dover, N. H.
Albert H. Lamson, Elkins, N. H.
ORIGIN OF THE SOCIETY OF PISCATAQUA PIONEERS.
The Society of Piscataqua Pioneers was or-
ganized in 1905, but for quite a while before that year
Capt. Thomas M. Jackson had been studying the ques-
tion of how to get such a society formed at Portsmouth;
he met with no encouragement and found much to dis-
courage him in the undertaking. But he kept at it,
hoping something would turn up that would open the
way for creating a society of some sort. Following is
an account of what happened:
In the early part of the year 1905 Albert H. Lam-
son, of Elkins, N. H., had an item of inquiry published
in the ''Essex Antiquarian'' at Salem, Mass., asking for
information in regard to certain genealogical data.
The information was given by Thomas M. Jackson and
John Mark Moses. Both of these gentlemen were un-
known to Mr. Lamson, and to each other. The answers
led to correspondence; this general introduction brought
the three together in close friendship. Capt. Jackson
explained the character of the society he had been try-
ing to organize, and asked them to join him in its- for-
mation. They became deeply interested and got Mr.
Fernald and Mr. Safford to join them to make the neces-
sary number to secure a charter from the Secretary of
State of New Hampshire.
The first meeting was held at Concord, N. H., 15
June 1915, at the office of the Secretary of State. The
following gentlemen were incorporated, under the pro-
visions of Chapter 147 of the Public Statutes of New
Hampshire, by the name of— PiscATAQUA Pioneers:
—Thomas Manning Jackson, of Brooklyn, N. Y. ; John
Mark Moses, of Northwood, N. H. ; Albert H. Lam-
son, of Elkins, (New London) N. H. ; Henry W. Fer-
nald, of Boston, Mass. ; Moses A. Safford, of Kittery,
Me, They org-anized by electing the following officers:
President, Hon. Moses A. Safford; Treasurer, Henry W.
Fernald; Secretary, Albert H. Lamson.
The first annual meeting was held at Portsmouth
on the 22d of August, 1905, at the call of the President.
A code of by-laws was adopted and the board of officers
under the laws was elected as follows:
President, Hon. Moses A. Safford of Kittery, Me.
Secretary, Albert H. Lamson of Elkins, (New Lon-
don) N. H.
Treasurer, Henry W. Fernald of Boston.
Directors: Thomos M. Jackson of Brooklyn; Moses
A. Safford of Kittery; John Mark Moses of Northwood;
Henry W. Fernald of Boston, and Albert H. Lamson of
Elkins; they were to serve for the ensuing year.
In this connection it seems proper to give a brief
sketch of the founder of this society. Captain Thomas
Manning Jackson. He was born in Portsmouth, 27
January, 1840. He is a patriot in what he has done for
his country in time of peace as well as in the war for
the preservation of the Union. His ancestors were
patriots, who did valiant service in the wars before the
great Rebellion. Captain Jackson is son of Col. John
Henry Jackson, who was born in Portsmouth 20 Oct.
1814. Col. Jackson was son of John Henry Jackson,
who was a soldier in the war of 1812-1815. He was
wounded in the battle at Fort Erie, 17 Sept. 1814. He
died of his wounds three days later, September 21st,
one month before his son, the future colonel of the Civil
War, was born. The Jackson ancestors of these three
men were nearly all soldiers in the Colonial, Provincial
and Indian-French wars.
Col. John Henry Jackson, Jr., first performed mili-
tary service in the Mexican war, 1845-1846. He was a
private soldier in a company that was enrolled in Gen.
Franklin Pierce's regiment of New Hampshire men who
did such gallant service in that campaign when Gen.
Scott captured the City of Mexico. His company was
one of the first to enter the capital of that country, as
conquerors. On his return home he was engaged in
business in Portsmouth until the Civil War began in
April, 1861. He was one of the first to visit Concord
and tender his services to the Governor and Council to
help suppress the rebellion. They learned of his Mexi-
can war record, and at once saw that he was the man
to put in commission as Lieutenant Colonel of the Third
Regiment of Volunteers that was being raised for the
war. Enoch Q. Fellows, a West Point graduate, was
appointed Colonel, and under command of these two of-
ficers the regiment has a grand record. They were ap-
pointed in August, 1861. Colonel Fellows served until
June, 1862, when he resigned to take command of the
Ninth Regiment, which was being organized, and
needed an experienced officer at the head of it to rapid-
ly advance it for service in the field of war. Lieuten-
ant Colonel Jackson was then promoted to Colonel and
served through one year. He has a fine record for
bravery, and for good judgment in command of the
regiment. He was severely wounded at the battle of
Fort Wagner, S. C, in July, 1863. He longed to re-
cover and renew his services, but was compelled to give
up and get a discharge from the army, after passing a
few months in the hospital.
Colonel Jackson was appointed Lieutenant Colonel
August 6. His son, Thomas Manning, was then a young
man of twenty-one, and his father said to him— "You
stay at home and take care of your mother, while I am
away at war." Thomas said nothing in reply, but after
his father had been in Concord a few days he was sur-
prised to see his son appear on the parade field in uni-
form, drilling in Company I. He took good care of his
mother six days, and August 12 he enlisted, and soon
after went to Concord, where his father was engaged
in organizing and drilling the men to become good sol-
diers. The father was a bit wrathy at first, and repri-
manded his son, but soon cooled in temper and became
proud of his son for his patriotic step in service for the
suppression of the rebellion. Thomas Manning was ap-
pointed Sergeant Major August 26, 1861. He held that
ofRce a few months, and did such good work that he
was promoted to Second Lieutenant of Company I, Third
Regiment, in December, 1861. A short time after that
he was again promoted to First Lieutenant of that com-
pany. His efficiency as an officer was such that he was
again promoted to Captain of Company B. of the same
regiment, May 13, 1863. The regiment was then en-
gaged in the awful deadly campaign in South Carolina.
In the battle at Fort Wagner, in July, 1863, both father
and son were severely wounded, and were placed in the
hospital, near each other. On account of his wounds
he was obliged to accept a discharge from the service.
Both father and son have highly honorable records in
Captain Jackson had an honorable business career,
after discharge from the army; for many years he was
located in Brooklyn, N. Y. He now lives at Epping,
retired from business, in his eightieth year.
LOCALITIES OF ANCESTORS.
Those Who Settled in Dover.
Anthony Emery — 1640.
Thomas Canney, 1633.
Phihp Chesley— 1640.
Dea. John Damme — 1633.
Edward Coleord— 1638.
Job Clement — 1655.
Thomas Edgerly — 1665.
William Everett- 1638.
John Foye, Jr.— 1700.
Peter Glanfield— 1663.
Dea. John Hall-1640.
Thomas Hanson — 1650.
Edward Hilton- 1623.
William Hilton— 1623.
John Hill— 1650.
Tamsen Ham— 1700.
Captain John Heard— 1635.
William Furber— 1642.
Henry Kirke — 1666.
Thomas Leighton— 1633.
Capt. John Locke— 1644.
James Nute— 1638.
Those Who Settled at
Charles Adams— 1645.
John Ault— 1635.
James Bunker— 1650.
Robert Burnham -1656.
Capt. Samuel Emerson—
Robert Huckins, 1640.
Rev. Joseph Hull— 1662.
Richard Otis — 1655.
Richard Pinkham — 1633.
William Pom frett— 1633.
Capt. Barnabas Palmer —
Rev. Mark Pitman— 1657.
Job Runals— 1713.
James Stackpole — 1680.
James Thomas — 1660.
John Thompson — 1660.
Henry Tibbetts— 1636.
Francis Trickey — 1645.
John Tuttle— 1635.
Ralph Twombly— 1650.
Maj. Richard Walderne —
William Walderne — 1635.
Elder William Wentworth —
Capt. Thomas Wig-gin- 1630.
Capt. John Wingate — 1650.
Humphrey Varney — 1650.
Oyster River, in Dover.
Rev. Mark Pitman— 1755.
Joseph Smith— 1657.
Francis Mathes — 1634.
Thomas Stevenson — 1643.
William Tasker— 1675.
Capt. John Woodman —
William Williams— 1640.
Those Who Settled in Kittery and Eliot.
Nathan Bartlett— 1713.
John Bray— 1662.
Rev. Henry Bodge -1680.
Robert Cutt— 1646.
Josiah Chase — 1650.
Joseph Curtis— 1700.
John Diamond — 1657.
Peter Dixon — 1669.
Daniel Fogg— 1690.
Nicholas Frost— 1634.
William Furbish— 1648.
John Frost— 1663.
William Gowen — 1666.
Nicholas Hodgdon — 1653.
Maj. Joseph Hammond —
Dennis Downing— 1652.
John Heard— 1640.
Peter Lewis — 1668.
Christopher Mitchell— 1675.
Walter Neale- 1631.
William Norman — 1650.
Daniel Paul -1658.
Thomas Larrabee — 1690.
Alexander Raitt — 1745.
Thomas Rhodes— 1643.
John Russell— 1680.
Christian Remick — 1640.
Alexander Shapleigh — 1633.
William Sherburne — 1680.
Thomas Spinney— 1650.
William Tetherly— 1664.-
James Treworgye— 1635.
Samuel Winkley— 1680.
Those Who Settled in Exeter.
John Folsom-1638. Thomas Leavitt— 1636.
Rev. Samuel Dudley — 1650. Samuel Smith— 1658.
Nathaniel Boulter-1645. Richard Smith— 1673.
John Oilman— 1649. William Wardell— 1639.
Lieut. Ralph Hall -1638. Godfrey Dearborn— 1639.
Alexander Gordon — 1650.
Those Who Settled in Berwick.
Nathan Lord -1638.
Capt. Peter Nowell— 1690.
Thomas Wills— 1660.
James Warren — 1656.
Those Who Settled in Portsmouth.
Nahum Akerman— 1680.
Rev. Stephen Bachiler-
William Berry — 1631.
Capt. Anthony Brackett-
James Brackett — 1714.
Lieut, John Brewster — 1675.
Andrew Brown — 1690.
James Gate — 1640.
Peter Coues— 1735.
Humphrey Chadbourne —
John Dennett— 1668.
Rev. John Emerson — 1700.
Renald Fernald, M. D.—
Ambrose Gibbons — 1632.
Andrew Haley — 1660.
Matthew Hazlett— 1770.
Gapt. John Hunking — 1640.
John Jackson — 1645.
Gapt. Jean Janvrin — 1607.
John Lang— 1695.
Richard Leader — 1650.
Isaac Libby — 1650.
John Libby— 1690.
Gapt. John Locke— 1650.
John Odiorne — 1667.
Matthew Nelson— 1678.
Robert Mendum— 1644.
Gapt. Robert Parker- 1735.
John Parrott— 1760.
Abraham Perkins — 1640.
Mark Pitman— 1667.
Samuel Roby— 1663.
Gapt. Matthew Scales—
Thomas Seavey — 1652.
William Seavey— 1640.
John Seward— 1640.
Henry Sherburne— 1670.
John Sherburne — 1647.
William Stocker— 1749.
Humphrey Scammon— 1667.
Arthur Slade— 1700.
John Tucker— 1728.
Leonard Weeks — 1655.
John R. Weeks— 1700.
Gowen Wilson- -1652.
LIST OF MEMBERS AND ANCESTORS.
RESIDENCE— DATE OF ADMISSION.
BAER, MRS. ANNIE WENTWORTH, (Stackpole)
Rollinsford; August, 1909.
Ancestors;— James Stackpole, Berwick; Dea. John
Hall, Dover; Elder William Wentworth, Dover;
Gov. Thomas Roberts, Dover; Thomas Leighton,
Dover; Philip Chesley, Dover; Elder Hatevil
Nutter, Dover; James Warren, Kittery.
BAER, LORENZO E., Rollinsford; August, 1918.
Ancestors.-— Same as Mrs. Annie Wentworth Baer.,
BARTLETT, MISS ELIZABETH MEHITABLE, Eliot;
Ancestors;— Captain Nathan Bartlett, Eliot; Rich-
ard Bartlett, Newbury, Mass.
BARTLETT, RALPH SYLVESTER, Boston, Mass.;
Ancestors;— Captain Nathan Bartlett, Eliot; Rich-
ard Bartlett, Newbury, Mass.
tBILLINGS, MRS. SARAH PERSIS, (Crockett) Boston,
Mass. ; August, 1909.
Ancestor;— Robert Huckins, Dover; (Oyster River).
BLINN, MRS. CLARA AUGUSTA POLLARD, Bed-
ford, Mass. ; August, 1909.
Ancestor ;— James Bunker, Oyster River.
jBODGE, REV. GEORGE MADISON, Boston, Mass.;
Ancestor: — Henry Bodge, Kittery.
BRISTOL, MRS. THERESA HALL, New York City;
Ancestor;— Edward Ayers, Portsmouth.
BURNHAM, PROF. SYLVESTER, Newburyport,
Mass. ; August, 1915.
Ancestor: — John Dennett, Portsmouth.
CARR, MRS. DEBORAH E., (Walbridge) Scranton,
Penn.; August, 1912.
Ancestor: — Rev. Stephen Bachiler, Portsmouth and
CARR, HENRY JAMES, Scranton, Penn.; August,
Ancestor: — Hon. Henry Greene, Hampton.
CHASE, MISS THEODORA, Newton, Mass. ; August,
Ancestors: — Rev. Josiah Chase, Kittery; John Den-
COLEMAN, JAMES A., Eliot; August, 1918.
Ancestor:— 'Na.thsin Lord, Eliot.
COOK,' JEFFERSON D., Kittery Depot; February,
Ancestor: — Thomas Spinney, Kittery.
CRANE, MRS. FLORENCE ADELAIDE, Des Moines,
Iowa; August, 1905.
Ancestors: — John Hunking, Portsmouth; John Part-
ridge, Portsmouth; Dr. Renald Fernald, New-
castle; Elder Hatevil Nutter, Dover; Samuel
Winkley, Portsmouth; John Foye, Dover; Rev.
John Emerson, Newcastle; Francis Trickey, Kit-
tery; Robert Huckins, Dover (Oyster River);
Robert Burnham, Oyster River; Thomas Leavitt,
Exeter; Edward Colcord, Dover and Hampton;
James Thomas, Oyster River; John Goddard,
Dover; Thomas Stevenson, Oyster River; James
Clark, Dover; John Odiorne, John Swaine, John
Hunkin, John Partridge, Portsmouth.
DAME, SETH ELMER, West Nottingham; August,
Ancestors:— Dea. John Damme, WilHam Pomfrett,
DEMERITT, MRS. EDNA YOUNG, Portland, Maine;
Ancestor.-— Ralph Twombly, Dover.
DENNETT, ALEXANDER, Kittery; August 22, 1905.
Ancestor: — John Dennett, Portsmouth.
fDENNETT, MRS. JOSEPHINE (Cox); Kittery;
Ayicestor: — Renald Fernald, M. D., Portsmouth.
DENNETT, RALPH, Kittery; August, 1914.
Ancestor: — John Dennett, Portsmouth.
DIXON, JOSEPH HENRY, Eliot; August, 1915.
Ancestor: — Peter Dixon, Kittery.
DURRELL, HAROLD CLARKE, Cambridge, Mass.;
Ancestors:— Elder William Wentworth, Dover;
Philip Chesley, Dover; Philip Durrell, (alias
Duda) Exeter; Daniel Goodwin, Berwick; Dea.
John Hall, Dover; Christopher Mitchell, Kittery;
James Stackpole, Berwick; Miles Thompson,
Dover, (Oyster River;) Samuel Small, Kittery;
Joseph Couch, Kittery; Joanna Deering, Kittery.
DORR, MRS. ELIZABETH EMERSON, Dover; August,
Ancestors: — Captain Samuel Emerson, Durham;
William Drew, Oyster River; Capt. Joseph Smith,
DURGIN, MISS ELLA GERTRUDE, Dover; August,
Ancestors:— Frsixicis Mathes, Dover (Oyster River;)
Capt. John Woodman, Oyster River; Capt.
Mathew Scales, Portsmouth; Job Runals, Lee.
FERNALD, HENRY WINKLE Y, Portsmouth; August,
Ancestor;— Renald Fernald, M. D., Portsmouth.
FERNALD, MRS. IDA ESTELLE (Paul,) Worcester,
Mass. ; August, 1909.
Ancestor;— Daniel Paul, Dover.
FERNALD, MISS JESSIE LILLIAN, Newton High-
lands, Mass. ; August, 1916.
Ancestor;— Renald Fernald, M. D., Portsmouth.
FOSTER, JOSEPH, Rear Admiral, Pay Director, U.
S. N., (retired) Portsmouth; August, 1915.
Ancestors;- Captain John Jackson, Portsmouth;
Wilham Wardwell, Exeter; John Diamond, Exe-
ter; Thomas Spinney, Kittery; William Tetherly,
Kittery; Peter Coues, Portsmouth; Thomas
FOSTER, MISS ISABEL, A. B., Portsmouth; August,
Ancestors;— Edward Oilman, Sr., Exeter; Hon. John
Oilman, Exeter; John Folsom, Exeter, 1647; Rev.
Samuel Dudley, Exeter, 1650; Nathaniel Ladd,
Exeter, 1678; Francis Lyford, Exeter, 1681; Alex-
ander Shapleigh, Kittery, 1635; James Trowor-
gye, Kittery, 1635; Alexander Perkins, Hampton,
1640; John Jackson, Portsmouth; Peter Coues,
Portsmouth; Wilham Wardell, Exeter; Francis
Raynes, York; John Diamond, Kittery; Thomas
Spinney, Kittery; William Tetherly, Kittery.
FURBISH, FREDERICK B., Cambridge, Mass.;
A?icestor;— Wilham Furbish, Ehot.
OEORGE, MRS. NELLIE PALMER, Newmarket;
Ancestor;— Major Barnabas Palmer, Rochester,
GOODWIN, MISS SADIE, Newburyport, Mass; August,
Ancestor;— Daniel Goodwin, Eliot; 1652.
tGOOLD, NATHAN, Portland, Me.; August, 1909.
Librarian Maine Historical Society.
Ancestor: — Nicholas Frost, Kittery.
GRANT, OLIVER REMICK, New York City; August,
Ancestor: — Christian Remick, Kittery.
GREEN, MRS. BERTHA PALMER, Newmarket;
Ancestor: — Edward Hilton, Dover.
GREEN, WALTER BRYANT, Newmarket; August,
Ancestor: — Hon. Joseph Smith, Oyster River.
GOWEN, MRS. MARY EFFIE PRAY, Portsmouth;
Ancestors: — Dea. John Hall, Dover; James Bunker,
GRIFFITH, MRS. ABBY C, Newmarket; August,
Ancestors: — Capt. John Heard, Dover; Col. William
GRIFFIN, JOHN H., Newmarket; August, 1918.
Ancestors: — John Griffin, 1740-1820; Major Richard
Walderne, 1637-1689; Capt. John Gerrish, 1646-
1714; Capt. Richard Cutt, Newcastle; Hon. Wil-
liam Vaughn, Portsmouth; Christian Remick,
Kittery; Peter Dixon, Kittery; Capt. Levi Chap-
GUPTIL, DR. ARTHUR E., Fitchburg, Mass. ; August,
Ancestor: — Thomas Guptail; he was living above
Salmon Falls, 1728.
HALL, MRS. MARION D., Lawrence, Mass.; August.
Ancestor: — Dea. John Hall, Dover.
HALL, MRS. ANNA BYRD, Stamford, Conn. ; August,
Ancestor: — Thomas Seavey, Rye.
HANNAFORD, MRS. MARY E. NEAL, Rockford, 111.;
Ancestors: -Wa\ter Neale, Portsmouth; Richard
HANSON, EDWARD E., Philadelphia, Penn.; August,
Ancestor:— John Russell, Portsmouth.
HARRINGTON, ARTHUR CLAY, North Adams, Mass. ;
Ancestor: — Nicholas Hodgdon, Kittery.
HAZLETT, CHARLES A., Portsmouth; August, 1908.
Ancestor: — Matthew Hazlett, Portsmouth.
HALEY, MRS. LAURA C, New York City; August,
Ancestor: — Henry Sherburne, Portsmouth.
HOYT, DAVID WEBSTER, Providence, R. I. ; August,
Ancestor: — Ens. John Davis, Dover; (Oyster River.)
HOYT, MISS SOPHIA OLIVE, Newington; August,
Ancestor: — William Furber, Newington.
HUCKINS, HORACE SEAVER, M. D., Des Moines,
Iowa; August, 1917.
Ancestor: —Robert Huckins, Oyster River.
HACKETT, WALLACE, Portsmouth; August, 1911.
Ancestor: — William H. Hackett, Portsmouth.
HALE, WILLIAM, M. D., Gloucester, Mass.; August,
Ancestors;— Major Samuel Hale, Portsmouth; Na-
than Lord, Berwick; William Everett, Old Kit-
HALEY. MRS. SARAH M., (Libby); South Lee;
Ancestors: — Anthony Libby, Portsmouth; Isaac Lib-
HALL, ALBERT HARRISON, Cambridge, Mass.;
Ancestors: — Dea. John Hall, Dover; Francis Hor-
HALL, COL. DANIEL, Dover; August, 1917.
Ancestors: — Dea. John Hall. Dover; Capt. John
Tuttle, Dover; Philip Chesley, Dover; Richard
tHALL, MRS. SOPHIA DODGE, Dover; August, 1909.
Ancestors: — Capt. John Woodman, Oyster River;
Hon. Ebenezer Thompson, Durham; Thomas
Leighton, Dover; Eld. Hatevil Nutter, Dover;
Thomas Hanson, Dover.
HALL, ERI MELVIN, Dover; August, 1913.
Ancestors: — Deacon John Hall, Dover; James Bun-
ker, Oyster River.
HALL, COL. JOHN DEAN, Washington, D. C;
Ancestor: — Lieut. Ralph Hall, Exeter.
HALL, CHARLES WELLS, Newton, Mass.
Ancestors: — Dea. John Hall, Dover; Francis Hor-
HAMILTON, SAMUEL K., Boston, Mass.; August,
Ancestor: — David Hamilton, Portsmouth.
HARDON, HENRY WINTHROP, New York City;
Ancestors: — Robert Huckins, Oyster River, John
Sev^ard, Portsmouth; John Lang, Portsmouth.
HEELEY, MRS. LAURA CORNELIA. New York City;
Ancestor: — Henry Sherburne, Portsmouth.
*JACKSON, CAPT. THOMAS MANNING, Epping;
Ancestoi^s: — Joseph Smith, Oyster River; John
Tucker, Portsmouth, Captain John Jackson,
JEWETT, MISS MARY R., South Berwick; August.
Ancestor: — Hon. John Oilman, Exeter.
*LAMSON, ALBERT H., Elkins, (New London) N. H.;
August 29, 1905.
Ancestors: — Lieut. John Brewster, Portsmouth;
Dea. John Damme, Dover; Gov. Thomas Roberts,
Dover; Lieut. WilHam Pomfrett, Dover; Joseph
Lamson, Exeter; Rev. Stephen Bachiler, Ports-
mouth and Hampton; John Sanborn, Hampton.
tLAMSON, MRS. ELLA WEEKS, Elkins, (New Lon-
don) N. H.; August 22, 1905.
Ancestors: — Leonard Weeks, Portsmouth; Dea.
John Damme, Dover; Anthony Emery, Dover;
William Gowen, EHot (Old Kittery) ; Wilham
Everett, Old Kittery; Richard Tozier, Berwick.
LAWTON, MRS. IDA MAY, Newport, R. L; March,
Ancestor: — Ambrose Gibbons, Dover.
LEIGHTON, EDGAR AMOS, Somersworth; August,
Ancestors: — Thomas Leighton, Dover; Judge Thomas
Edgerly, Dover (Oyster River) ; Elder Hatevil
Nutter, Dover; John Ault, Dover.
LIGHTWOOD, ELIZABETH ANNIE, Portsmouth;
Ancestors: — Edward Hilton, Dover; Capt. Thomas
Wiggin, Dover; John Sherburne, Portsmouth.
LOCKE, MISS ANNIE M., Kittery; August, 1909.
Ancestors: — Captain John Locke, Rye; WilHam
LOCKE, JUDGE JAMES WILLIAM, Kittery; August,
Ancestors.*— William Sherburne, Portsmouth; Capt.
John Locke, Rye; Dea. John Damme, Dover;
Lieut. William Pomfrett, Dover.
LYDSTON, MRS. HARRIET JOSEPHINE (Remick),
Portsmouth; August, 1910.
Ancestor: — Christian Remick, Kittery.
LIBBY, CHARLES THORNTON, Portland, Maine;
Ancestors: — William Hilton, Dover; John Libby,
Portsmouth; Robert Cutt, Newcastle; James Tre-
worgye. Old Kittery; Alexander Shapleigh, Old
Kittery; James Nute, Dover; Capt. John Heard,
Dover; Rev. Joseph Hull, Oyster River; Renald
Fernald, Newcastle; Hon. Richard Martyn, Ports-
mouth; George Walton, Dover and Great Island;
Capt. John Wingate, Dover; Rev. Stephen Bach-
iler, Portsmouth and Hampton; Edward Colcord,
Dover and Hampton; Anthony Emery, Dover;
Edward Kennard, Old Kittery; Capt. John
Hatch, Portsmouth; Rev. Samuel Dudley, Exeter;
Andrew Brown, Portsmouth; Sergt. William Fur-
' ber, Dover; Thomas Laraby, Portsmouth; An-
thony Roe, Portsmouth; Humphrey Scammon,
Portsmouth; Robert Jordan, Great Island; Nicho-
las Smith, Exeter; Alexander Gordon, Exeter;
Henry Kirke, Portsmouth; Peter Glanfield, Dover
McINTIRE, JOHN WILLIAM, Somersworth; August,
Ancestors;— William Mclntire, York, Me.; Col.
William Pepperrell, Kittery.
McDANlEL. MRS. FLORENCE ESTELLE, Dover;
Ancestor.-— Major Joseph Hammond, Eliot.
McKINNEY, MRS. ANNIE BLAKE, Columbus, Ohio;
Ancestors:— Edward Hilton, Dover; Nicholas Frost,
Kittery; Nathan Bartlett, Eliot; Alexander Shap-
leigh, Kittery; John Heard, EHot; Rev. Joseph
Hull, Oyster River; Humphrey Chadburne, Kit-
tery; Robert Cutt, Newcastle; Joseph Curtis, Kit-
tery; Col. William Pepperrell, Kittery; John Bray,
Kittery; John Gerrish, Dover; Major Richard
Walderne, Dover; Richard Scammon, Ports-
mouth; Robert Eliot, Kittery; Elder William
Wentworth, Dover; Robert Mendum, Kittery;
Dennis Downing, Eliot; Renald Fernald, Kittery;
Tobias Langdon, Portsmouth; Henry Sherburne,
Portsmouth; Ambrose Gibbons, Dover; Thomas
Hanson, Dover; Gowen Wilson, Kittery; William
Brookin, Portsmouth; Thomas Leavitt, Exeter;
William Hilton, Dover; Nathaniel Boulter, Exeter;
Godfrey Dearborn, Exeter; Joseph Blake, Hamp-
McKINNEY, WALTER BLAKE, Columbus, Ohio;
A?icestors;— The same as Mrs. Annie Blake McKin-
MARVIN, HON. THOMAS E. 0., Portsmouth; August,
Ancestor.-— William Oliver, Newcastle.
MITCHELL, HON. HORACE, Kittery; August 22,
Ancestor.-- Christopher Mitchell, Kittery.
MOORE, MRS. ALICE LOUISE (Janvrin), Kittery
Point; August 22, 1905.
Ancestor: — Captain Jean Janvrin, Portsmouth.
*MOSES, JOHN MARK, North wood; August 22, 1905.
Ancestors:— John Moses, Portsmouth; John Sher-
burne, Portsmouth; Henry Sherburne, Ports-
mouth; James Cate, Portsmouth; John Pickering,
Portsmouth; Captain Thomas Wiggin, Dover;
WilHam Tasker, Oyster River; Matthew Nelson,
Portsmouth; Richard Leader, at Great Works,
O'NEIL, MISS LOTTIE M., Claremont; August, 1907.
Ancestor.-— Renald Fernald, M. D., Portsmouth.
PLACE, ALVAH HERBERT, Newmarket; August,
Ancestors:— CaptSi\n John Tuttle, Dover; Lieut.
WilHam Pomfrett, Dover; Dea. John Damme,
Dover; James Nute, Dover; Richard Otis, Dover.
POPE, MISS ELIZABETH PITMAN, Somersworth;
Ancestors.-— Alexander Shapleigh, Kittery; Hon.
Charles Frost, Eliot; James Rollins, Dover.
PLACE, MRS. ELIZABETH PALMER, Newmarket;
Ancestors;— Edward Hilton, Dover; Rev. Samuel
Dudley, Exeter; Barnabas Palmer, Rochester.
PRATT, CAPT. GEORGE WOODMAN, Boston; August,
Ancestors;— Capt. John Woodman, Oyster River;
Nathan Lord, Berwick; William Everett, Eliot;
Richard Tozier, Berwick.
REMICK, OLIVER PHILBRICK, Kittery; August 22,
Ancestor: — Christian Remick, Kittery.
RICE, MRS. ALICE KINGMAN (Hayes), Dover;
Ancestor:— Thomas Hanson, Dover.
RHODES, ALBERT EDWARD, Wollaston, Mass.;
August 22, 1905.
Ancestors: — Thomas Rhodes, Kittery; Edward Col-
cord, Dover; John Heard, Kittery; John Miller,
Newington; John Libby, Portsmouth.
RILEY, MRS. ANNIE MARGARET, Claremont;
Ancestor: — Dr. Renald Fernald, Portsmouth.
RAITT, MISS EDITH M., Dover; August, 1918.
Ancestors:— Col. William Pepperrell, Kittery; Na-
than Lord, Berwick.
RHODES, MISS MARIAN A., Wallaston, Mass.;
Ancestor: — Thomas Rhodes, Kittery.
ROLFE, MISS FRANCES HALE, Newburyport, Mass.;
Ancestor: — Nicholas Frost, Old Kittery.
REMICK, MISS EDITH E., Kittery Depot; February,
Ancestor:— Christisin Remick.
ROLFE, MRS. ABBIE FRANCES HALE, Newbury-
port, Mass. ; August, 1918.
Ancestor: — William Hooke, Agamenticus; held a
commission from Sir Ferdinando Gorges in 1639.
ROBERTS, MRS. IDA CHARLOTTE, Colorado Springs;
Ancestors:— Gov. Thomas Roberts, Dover; Elder
Hatevil Nutter, Dover, Dea. John Hall, Dover.
ROLFE, MISS MARY ADAMS, Newburyport, Mass. >
Ancestor: — Joseph Bolles, Winter Harbor, Kittery.
ROUNDS. MRS. ELLEN S., Dover; August, 1909.
Ancestor: — Ralph Twombly, Dover.
tSANBORN, FRANKLIN BENJAMIN, Concord, Mass. ;
Ancestors;— Rev. Stephen Bachiler, Portsmouth and
Hampton; Anthony Brackett, Hampton; Edward
*S AFFORD, MOSES AT WOOD, Kittery; August, 1905.
Ancestors: — Roger Mitchel, Kittery; Peter Lev^is,
SAFFORD, MRS. MARY BELLAMY, Kittery; August,
Ancestor: — Peter Lewis, Kittery.
SCALES, JOHN, Dover; August, 1907.
Ancestors: — Captain Matthew Scales, Portsmouth;
Capt. John Woodman, Oyster River; Dea. John
Damme, Dover; Lieut. William Pomfrett, Dover;
Ens. John Davis, Oyster River; John Hunking,
Portsmouth; John Thompson, Oyster River; Dar-
by Field, Oyster River; Robert Huckins, Oyster
River; John Partridge, Portsmouth; Dr. Renald
Fernald, Newcastle; Edward Colcord, Dover and
Hampton; John Goddard, Oyster River; Sergt.
Wilham Furber, Dover.
SCALES, MRS. ELLEN TASKER, Dover; August,
Ancestors;— William Tasker, Oyster River; Capt.
John Wingate, Dover; Elder Hatevil Nutter,
Dover; Thomas Leighton, Dover; John Hill, Oys-
ter River; Charles Adams, Oyster River; Richard
Otis, Dover; Richard Pinkham, Dover; William
SEAVEY, MISS ANNIE KATHARINE, Dover; August,
Ancestors:— WiWiam Seavey, Isles of Shoals; Thomas
Canney, Dover; Capt. John Heard, Dover;
Nahum Akerman, Portsmouth; Hon. Job Clem-
ent, Dover; James Rawlins, Bloody Point (New-
ington) ; William Walderne, Dover; Elder Hatevil
Nutter, Dover; Thomas Hanson, Dover.
SHAW, JUSTIN H., Kittery; August, 1908.
Ancestor: — Gowen Wilson, Kittery.
tSIAS, MISS GERTRUDE H., Boston; August, 1905.
Ancestor: — Thomas Spinney.
tSLADE, DENNISON ROGERS, Boston; August, 1905.
Ancestor;— Benjamin Slade, Portsmouth.
SMITH, MISS MARY ELIZABETH, (Alden) Ports-
mouth; August, 1915.
Ancestors.-— John Gilman, Exeter; Edward Hilton,
SPALDING, JAMES ALFRED, M. D., Portland, Me.;
Ancestors: — John Parrott; Capt. Robert Parker;
Anthony Brackett, all of Portsmouth; Capt.
Parker also resided in Lee, and Mr. Brackett also
resided in Greenland.
SEAVEY, GEORGE W., Dover; August, 1918.
Ancestors: — Thomas Seavey, Little Harbor; Thomas
Canney, Dover; Thomas Hanson, Dover; Capt.
John Heard, Dover; Elder Hatevil Nutter, Dover;
William Walderne, Dover; James Rollins, Bloody
Point (Newington) ; Nahum Ackerman, Ports-
mouth; Hon. Job Clement, Dover.
SPINNEY, EUGENE NATHANIEL, Union, N. H.;
Ancestors:— Caleb Spinney, Kittery; Thomas Spin-
SPINNEY, MISS MARY L., Kittery; August, 1906.
Ancestor: — Caleb Spinney, Kittery.
STEVENS, MRS. LYDIA ANN, (Kimball) Dover;
Ancestor: — John Davis, Kittery.
tSTOCKER, ALFRED AUGUSTUS, M. D., Boston;
Ancestors: — William Stocker, Portsmouth; Mark
TIBBETTS, MRS. HANNAH CHANDLER, Wells, Me. ;
Ancestor: — Alexander Shapleigh, Old Kittery.
T IBBETTS, CHARLES WESLEY, Wells, Me. ; August,
Ancestor:— Renry Tibbetts, Dover.
THOMPSON, JOHN NEWMAN, Exeter; August,
Ancestor: — Major Richard Walderne, Dover.
VARNEY, pERBERT CLARKSON, St. Paul, Minn. ;
Ancestors: — Humphrey Varney, Dover; Capt. Peter
Now^ell, Portsmouth; Benjamin Parker, New-
VARNEY, MRS. LUCY E., (Gordon) St. Paul, Minn.;
Ancestors: — Edward Hilton, Dover; Capt. Thomas
Wiggin, Dover; John Sherburne, Portsmouth.
WALCOTT, SAMUEL FRYE, Salem, Mass. ; August,
Ancestors: — Gowen Wilson, Kittery; John Heard,
Old Kittery; Robert Cutt, Newcastle; Joseph
WEEKS, WALTER NATHANIEL, Whitehall, N. Y. ;
Ancestor: — Leonard Weeks, Portsmouth and Green-
WENTWORTH, ELMER MARSTON, Des Moines,
Iowa; August, 1918.
Ancestor: — Elder William Wentworth.
WENTWORTH, HARRIET J., Kittery; August, 1914.
Ancestors:— John B. Weeks, Greenland; Elder Wil-
liam Wentworth, Dover.
WETHERAL, MRS. DORA ELIZABETH, Exeter;
Ancestor: — Lieut. Ralph Hall, Exeter.
WILDER, MRS. MARYE. S AFFORD, Kittery; August,
Ancestor: — Roger Mitchell, Kittery.
WILES, MRS. ALICE BRADFORD, Chicago, 111.
WILLIS, JOHN LEMUEL MURRAY, M. D., Kittery;
Anx;estor: — Daniel Fogg, Kittery.
WILLIS, MRS. CARRIE E., Eliot; August, 1911.
Ancestor: — Tamsen Ham, Dover.
WINKLEY, CHARLES E., Lynn, Mass. ; August, 1911.
Ancestor;— Samuel Winkley, Portsmouth.
WINKLEY, ERASTUS, Lynn, Mass. ; August, 1915.
Ancestor :Ssim\ie\ Winkley, Portsmouth.
WINKLEY, MISS ERNA LOUGEE, Fairbault, Minn.;
Ancestors — Rev. John Emerson, Portsmouth; John
Banking, Portsmouth; Francis Trickey, Dover;
Joseph Bunker, Oyster River; Samuel Winkley,
Portsmouth; Elder Hatevil Nutter, Dover; Moses
WOOD, MRS. ELIZABETH, Portsmouth; August, 1915.
Ancestors:— Edward Hilton, Dover; Captain Thomas
WOODMAN,- MISS SUSAN, Dover; August, 1910.
Ancestors;— Nicholas Frost, Old Kittery; Col. Wil-
liam Pepperrell, Kittery; Captain John Wingate,
John Odiorne, Portsmouth; Major Joseph Ham-
mond, Old Kittery; Robert Cutt, Kittery; John
Bray, Kittery; Peter Pearse, Portsmouth.
Biographical Sketches of Emigrant Ancestors.
BACHILER, REV. STEPHEN. 1561-1660. He was
born in England, and educated at St. John's College,
Oxford, from which he received the degree of A. M. in
1586. He received orders in the Established Church.
He became a Dissenter and went with friends to Hol-
land to exercise his religious freedom. Later he re-
turned to England and organized the "Company of the
Plow," intending to come to New England in 1630, and
establish a township, or colony. This was a financial
failure, but he got the grant of a Coat of Arms, the chief
figure of which is an ancient looking "plow." In the
spring of 1632 he embarked for New England in the ship
"William and Francis," together with members of his
Church of dissenters, over which he was pastor, in
England. He arrived in Boston on the fifth of June,
and soon after settled in Lynn, where he organized a
church, and served as its minister for six years. In
1638 he was leader in the founding of Hampton, N. H.,
under the auspices of the Massachusetts Bay Colony,
the rulers of which then supposed that the territory be-
longed to them. Mr. Bachiler took his church along
with him, so its length of years began at Lynn in 1632,
instead of at Hampton in 1638. He was then seventy-
seven years old but vigorous in body and mind; he
served as minister till past four score years of age. He
was a natural born ruler; he tried to rule too much in
the business affairs of the town he had founded; this
led to trouble and he ceased to be minister, but contin-
ued to reside in the town until 1647, when he became a
resident of Portsmouth, which was his home until 1654,
when he returned to England and resided at Hocking
village, about two miles from London. He died in 1660,
very nearly one hundred years old.
Mr. Bachiler was thrice married. His second wife,
England, was Helena ; she died , and he
married (about 1648) at Portsmouth, Mrs. Mary Beedle,
widow of Robert Beedle. Mr. Bachiler took her as his
house-keeper in 1647, and later they were married.
They had one daughter, Mary Bachiler, or Batchelder,
as the name is now spelled. The genealogists have
overlooked this daughter, so it is well to make particu-
lar mention of her, as she has descendants. She was
born about 1649. She married William Richards. See
N. H. Probate Records as pubHshed, Vol. I., p. 141. It
appears that Mr. Bachiler did not pubhsh his miarriage,
as the law demanded, for which offense he was fined in
court, in 1650. In 1652 he applied for a divorce. They
appear to have separated, as in November of that year
"Mary Bachiller, " with thirty-five land-owners in Kit-
tery, signed the document which placed the District of
Maine under Massachusetts, where it remained till 1820.
She was the only woman who signed that document.
See page 142 of Stackpole's History of Old Kittery.
The children from whom Hampton families are de-
A daughter who married John Sanborn in England
and who died there; her children, grandsons of Mr.
Bachiler, came to Hampton with him; from them the
Sanborn families are descended.
A son, Stephen Bachiler, whose son Nathaniel came
to Hampton with his grandfather, and from whom the
Batchelder families are descended.
A daughter, Theodate, wife of Christopher Hussey;
she is the only child of Mr. Bachiler who came to
Hampton, or New England.
The tradition is that Mr. Bachiler was of remarka-
ble personal appearance; he commanded attention where
ordinary men would pass unnoticed. He was vigorous,
bodily and mentally, till past four score and ten years
of age. He was particularly noticeable for his wonder-
ful, fascinating eyes, which were dark and deep set^
under broad arches; when he had "gathered his forces,"
and the occasion demanded, he could throw lightning
glances that carried the audience by storm.
Descendants:— Mrs. Deborah Carr, Franklin Benja-
min Sanborn, Albert H. Lamson, John Scales, Mrs. An-
nie (Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney, John
BRACKET!, CAPTAIN ANTHONY was son of
Anthony Brackett of Portsmouth. Much of his life was
passed in Falmouth, (Portland) Me., and it was there
that on the 9th of August, 1776, Indians killed one of
his cows and he complained to a Chief, named Symon,
who promised to bring the culprits to him. Two days
later Symon appeared, early in the morning, at the head
of a party of Indians and said— "These are the Indians
who killed the cow." Then they rushed into the house
and seized the Captain's guns and said: "Will you go
into captivity with us, or be killed?" The Captain pre-
ferred captivity to killing. The Indians then bound his
hands behind him, also they bound his wife and negro
servant, and took the five children, and marched them
off to Canada. In November following Capt. Brackett,
his wife, servant and one child made their escape in a
leaky boat and came to Hampton, N. H., where he
spent several years. His wife Ann died soon after
they returned. Anthony Brackett, Sr., signed the
grant for the Glebe lands in Portsmouth in 1640.
He married, second, 9 Nov. 1678, Susannah,
daughter of Abraham Drake (3). The historian Drake
says: "When Col. Church had the memorable fight
with the Indians at Casco, Sept. 21, 1689, Capt. Brack-
ett was killed. After that his wife and children went
to live with his father at Hampton, but finally returned
to their possession in Falmouth." Their children's
births are recorded in Hampton, as are the children of
Zachariah, hence the presumption is that the family
lived in Hampton, off and on, so that the records were
Children: (1) James, b. 7 Feb. 1679. — (2) Zippo-
rah, b. 28 Sept. 1680 ; m. Caleb Towle (5) ; d. 14 Aug.
1757. — (3) Zachariah.b. 20 Jan. 1682; m. Hannah
(1). — (4) Ann, b. 18 June, 1687; m. James Leavitt (4);
d. 10 Feb. 1748.— (5) Susannah, b. 29 Aug. 1689; m.
Descendent: Hon. Franklin Benjamin Sanborn, Dr.
BARTLETT, NATHAN, b. 1691—1775. He was
born in Newbury and came to Kittery in 1713. He
was son of John and Margaret (Rust) Bartlett of that
town; John was son of Richard and Abigail Bartlett,
of the same town, and grandson of Richard Bartlett
who came to America in 1635 and settled in Newbury,
Mass.; he was a tanner; he died there 25 May, 1647.
The ancestors of the Bartletts came from Normandy
with William the Conqueror, and fought at the battle
of Hastings. Stopham, England, is the ancestral seat
of the family. There were two brothers, Richard and
John; the latter came over to Newbury in the ship
"Mary and John," in 1634, He was one of the earliest
settlers in Newbury. His brother Richard came the
next year. They were both tanners and cordwainers,
and became bosses of that business in that town. Ac-
cording to the biography of the Bartlett family pub-
lished by Levi Bartlett, Esq., of Warner, N. H., in 1876,
these brothers, John and Richard, were sons of Ed-
piund Barttelot of Ernley and Stopham, England, and
that they sold their lands to the heir of the Stopham
estates and thereby had the pecuniary means to emi-
grate to America and set up business here, at New-
bury; they located in business at what has ever since
been called Bartlett's Cove in Newbury, opposite Ames-
bury Ferry, where some of their descendants of the
same name still reside, engaged in the same occupation,
and perhaps on the same spot. The town records show
that they were men of ability and influence, and while
taking good care of their private business, participated
in public affairs in a creditable manner. Richard
Bartlett, Jr., was Deputy in the General Court at Bos-
ton, in 1679, 1680, 1681 and 1684. He was born in
England in 1621, died at Newbury, 1698, aged 77 years.
Nathan Bartlett, grandson of Richard, Jr., settled
on the Bartlett farm at Rosemary Junction of the elec-
tric railway, in Eliot, in 1713 ; it was then Old Kittery.
He built the house that now stands there, in 1740. It
is a large two-story dwelling, and in good state of
preservation. Here six generations of the Bartlett
family have dwelt. The late James W. Bartlett, who
died in 1914, was the last of the name to own it; it is
still owned by the family, but not in the name— Bartlett,
in which it had been for two hundred years — 1713-
Nathan Bartlett married 10 March, 1714-5, Shua,
daughter of Capt. John and Phebe (Littlefield) Heard.
Capt. Heard was son of Ensign James Heard, who was
son of John Heard of Sturgeon Creek, Eliot. Capt.
Heard lived at Sturgeon Creek in 1645. They were
not of the Dover family of Capt. John Heard of Garri-
son Hill fame. The name "Shua" was for her grand-
mother, wife of James, who married as her second
husband, Richard Otis of Dover.
The children of Nathan and Shua (Heard) Bart-
lett were: (1) Shua, b. 1 Jan. 1715-6; m. 15 Nov. 1732,
Dr. Edmund Coffin.— (2) Mary, b. 1 March 1717-8; m.
Thomas Dennett; (2) Lord.— (3) Nathan, b. 30
April 1720; d. 7 May 1720.— (4) Phebe, b. 8 May 1721 ;
m. Feb. 1739, John Dennett of Portsmouth.— (5)
Abigail, b. 6 Dec. 1723; m. 1741, John Shapleigh; (2)
Moses Hanscom; d. 1800.— (6) John Heard, b. 8 April
1726; m. (1) in 1747, Dorcas Moulton of York, who
died 29 Jan. 1788; (2) 15 June 1788, widow Elizabeth
Atkinson; (3) 1790, widow Bertha Miriam of Berwick,
who died 11 April 1817, aged 82 years. He died 28
July, 1805. He was a successful school teacher. He
was graduated from Harvard College in 1747 with the
degree of A. B. ; later he received the degree of A, M. ;
also in 1773 Dartmouth conferred the degree of A. M.
Harvard Catalogue says he died in 1809; History of
Kittery says 1805. Probably the Catalogue has the
correct date. His son, Capt. Daniel Bartlett, m. Sarah
Children: (1) Hannah, b. 29 Oct. 1728; m. 9
June 1745, Robert Cutts.— (2) Nathan, b. 31 March
1737; m. Sarah Shapleigh.— (3) Sarah, b. 26 May
1741; m. 28 March 1742, Stephen Ferguson; (2)
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney, Ralph Sylvester Bartlett,
Elizabeth M. Bartlett,
BERRY, WILLIAM, was in the service of Captain
John Mason in 1631. He died about 1654, and his
widow, Jane, married Nathaniel Drake. After mar-
riage they lived at Strawberry Bank. He died before
January, 1648-49, at a town meeting held at Straw-
berry Bank, it was — "Granted that William Berry shall
have a lot upon a neck of land upon the south side of
Little River, at Sandy Beach."
John Berry, son of William, is saifl to have been
the first settler at Sandy Beach. His wife's name was
Children: (1) John, b. 14 Jan. 1659.— (2) Wil-
liam. — (3) James.
Descefidants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
BOULTER, NATHANIEL, 1625 — 1693. Na-
thaniel Boulter had received a tract of land in Hamp-
ton, and had sold it to William Howard previous to 8
July 1644, when in answer to the question whether he
was an inhabitant of Hampton, it was decided as fol-
lows : "The townsmen do judge that he was an inhabi-
tant, and therefore approve and confirm the bargain
between him and Howard." In 1645, he was living in
Exeter. Not long after, perhaps 1647, he married
Grace, daughter of Richard Swaine, and perhaps re-
turned to Hampton at that time.
July 4, 1660, Boulter bought of John Barrett, "En-
signe of Wells, in ye county of York, England," about
100 acres "lying up Taylor's river by the Indian graves
(called James Wall's farm) ;" and Sept. 4 he received
from his father-in-law four acres, more or less, with
all the orchard growing on it, off the easterly part of
his houselot, abutting on the meeting house green,"
(Rand's hill). Also Swaine gave to his daughter
Grace the rest of his house-lot, westward to the fence
of the heirs of William Swaine, except a small parcel,
about one acre, in the custody of Moses Coxe, to be kept
fenced by him, he having married William Swaine's
widow. In 1667, Nathaniel and Grace Boulter sold to
Hannah and John Souther, minor children of John and
Hannah Souther, a part of the Swaine land, one acre.
The same year Boulter sold to Daniel Dow two and a
half acres of planting ground west of the Souther acre,
together with one share of the cow common and one
share of the great Ox Common.
Children: (1) Mary, b. 16 May 1648; m. James
Prescott. — (2) Temperance, b. 8 Jan. 1651; was living
in 1670.— (3) Nathaniel, b. 4 March, 1654; m. Mary
Drake; d. June 1689.— (4) Joshua, b. 1 May 1655; d.
in infancy. — (5) Joshua, b. 23 Jan. 1657; d. 15 Nov.
1661.— (6) Rebecca, b. 12 Oct. 1659; d. 1666; (7)
Elizabeth, b. 23 Feb. 1669 ; m. 6 May 1697 Joshua Fan-
ning.— (8) John, b. 2 Dec. 1672; m. .(9) Martha.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
BRAY, JOHN, born in England ; died in Kit-
tery in the winter of 1689-90, His wife's name was
Joan. He was a ship carpenter. There is no record
of his being in America before 1660. In 1662, he built
the house at Kittery, known as the "Bray house," a
short distance east of the Pepperrell mansion. His
ship yard was on the shore there, in possession of which
his son-in-law, Col. William Pepperrell, carried on that
business after Mr. Bray's death. The administrators
of his estate were William Pepperrell, Joan Deering
and Mary Bray.
The house built by John Bray in 1662 probably is
still standing and is the oldest house in the present Kit-
tery. It is a comfortable dwelling house, and its in-
terior finish shows that it was once considered a home
of luxury. It is said that anciently it was larger than
now, and John Bray kept a public house of entertain-
ment, then called an "ordinary." In 1672 and 1673, he
was directed to put up a sign. There is no record of
what was on the sign ; usually they had some painting,
as well as wording. Some have spoken of this as the
birthplace of the mother of Sir William Pepperrell, but
as she was born in 1660, it is more likely that she was
born in Plymouth, England. He was one of the
pioneers in shipbuilding and laid a foundation for the
future wealth of his son-in-law, William Pepperrell.
An interesting old painting is shown in the Bray house.
Some say it is a view of Kittery Point in England.
Some think it is a picture of some point in Louisburg.
In the early days provincial courts were held in this
Children: (1) John, b. . (2) John, b. ; m.
Clement Deering, 1678. — (3) Margery, b. 1660; m.
1680, William Pepperrell.— (4) Mary, b. 1662; m.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney, Mrs. Abby C. Griffith, John
Mclntire, Miss Edith M. Raitt.
BRACKETT, JAMES, 1714-1803, was son of
Joshua and Mary (Weeks) Brackett of Greenland;
Joshua was born at Falmouth, Me., 1671; m. Mary-
Weeks and settled in Greenland. He was son of
Thomas and Mary (Mitton) Brackett; Mary was
daughter of Michael and Elizabeth Mitton and grand-
daughter of George Cleeves, the first settler in Fal-
mouth. Thomas Brackett was son of Anthony Brack-
ett, Sr., who was a settler at Portsmouth before 1640,
having come over with some of Captain John Mason's
men. He was selectman at one time, gave money to
the church, and died in 1696. His wife's name is not
known. His son, Thomas, was born in 1640, and set-
tled in Falmouth about 1662. He was killed by the In-
dians August 11, 1676, and his wife and children were
carried into captivity, but escaped and came to Ports-
mouth to live, thinking it was a safer place for a resi-
dence. She died in 1677.
Children of Thomas and Mary: (1) Joshua, b.
1672 ; m. Mary Haines Weeks of Greenland ; d. June 19
1749.— (2) Samuel, b. 1673; settled in Berwick.— (3)
Sarah, b. 1673; m. John Hill of Portsmouth.— (4)
Mary, b. 1675 ; m. Christopher Mitchell of Kittery.
Children of Joshua and Mary (Haines Weeks)
Brackett: (1) John, b. 1700; m. Elizabeth Pickering;
d. 1758.— (2) Joshua, b. 1701; lived in Falmouth; d.
1794._(3) Thomas, b. 1705; d. 1753.— (4) Samuel, b.
1705; d. 1757.— (5) Anthony, b. 1707; lived in Fal-
mouth; d. 1784.— (6) Mary, b. 1708; d. .(7) Abi-
gail, b. 1710; lived in Falmouth.— (8) Eleanor, b. 1710;
m. a Folsom. — (9) James, b. Jan. 3, 1714; d. 1803.—
(10) Mary, the second of that name, b. 1716; m. a
Fabyan of Newington. — (11) Keziah, b. 1718; m. a
Clark.— (12) Margaret, b. 1719.— (13) Nathaniel, b.
1721; m. Elizabeth ; d. 1778.
James Brackett, the ninth child in this list and
father of Martha Brackett, who married Capt. John
Parrott, was generally known as "Deacon" Brackett,
although he never would grant that he was serious
enough to be a deacon of the Church. He gave the land
in Greenland on which the village church stands. He
was noted as a "Peace-maker," and was famous for
settling minor disputes and quarrels. For example : —
two of his neighbors quarrelled as to which should
build a certain piece of fence ; it left a gap on to James
Brackett's adjoining land. One day when both of his
neighbors were away, he hitched up his team and with
his "hired" man, took the job in hand and built the
fence before the men got home; he said nothing to
them until they spoke to him about it. That settled the
James Brackett married 24 May, 1739, Martha
Gate of Greenland, b. Sept. 5, 1718; d. Nov. 26, 1778.
Children: (1) Joseph, b. 1749; d. 1813.— (2)
Judith, b. 1742; d. 1811.— (3) Ebenezer, b. 1742; d.
1820. — (4) Martha (great-grandmother of Dr. Spald-
ing of Portland) , b. 28 Dec. 1745 ; m. Captain John Par-
rott of Portsmouth.— (5) Mary, b. 1747; d. 1819; m.
Tufton Wiggin of Stratham; they had a daughter
"Patty" who married a Bartlett and lived in Bangor. —
(6) Deborah, b. 1749; m. Capt. John Weeks; d. 1831.—
(7) James, b. 1751; d. 1802; was a well known physi-
cian of Lee. — (8) Joshua, b. 1755; m. Alice Pickering;
d. 1817.— (9) Comfort, b. 1757; she eloped with a Neal
and lived in New York. — (10) Hannah, b. 1759; m.
Mr. Creighton; d. 1836. John, b. 1762 ; d. 1765.
Descendant' James A. Spalding, M. D., Port-
BREWSTER, LIEUT. JOHN, 1627 — 1693. In
the earliest records he is mentioned as "John Bruster."
No connection has been traced between him and Elder
William Brewster of Plymouth, the Pilgrim minister.
He was born in England, and came to Portsmouth at
some year in the 17th century. The record says he
died in 1693, aged 66 years. The Portsmouth records
state that 5 Feb., 1676-1677, Richard 'Martyn, in set-
tling town accounts, paid John Bruster 10 pounds,
which the town owed him for work. The record of
marriages states that "John Bruster and Mary his wife
were married in 1687." Savage's Dictionary states
that he married Mary Knight, daughter of Roger and
Anne Knight, of Portsmouth. Roger Knight came
over in 1631, being one of the party sent by Capt. John
Mason; from this it would appear that Mary Knight
was his second wife, because in the list of Grand Jurors
for February, 1686, his name is "John Brewster, Sr.,"
which shows that there was a "John Brewster, Jr.,"
who was at least 21 years old, hence was born before
1665. This John (2) Brewster died in 1720. In a pe-
tition to the General Court of Massachusetts, of date
of 20 February, 1689, the name of "John Bruster" is
on the long list of signers. In report of one of the
militia companies, he is styled "Lieut."
As there was a John Brewster, Jr., in 1686, it
may be that he is the one who married Mary Knight in
1687. A deposition of John Brewster, aged 53, was
made 12 July, 1720. According to that, he was born in
1667. The first Brewster in his will, 1691, names son
John, and grandson John. The deposition is in folder
18787 of N. H. Court Files. The John Brewster who
deposed in 1720 was father of Joshua Brewster, as the
deposition says. But there is a plain forgery in those
old Court Files ; somebody tried to connect John Brews-
ter of Portsmouth with Wrestling Brewster. The
handwriting is a sufficient exposure of the forgery. It
was probably Mary (Knight) Brewster who was
scalped by the Indians in 1696. See Stackpole's His-
tory of N. H., Vol 1, p. 187.
Descendants: Capt. Thomas Manning Jackson,
Albert Henry Lamson, John Mark Moses.
BROWN, ANDREW, had been a leading citizen of
Scarborough, and when that Town was taken by the
Indians, 1690, he and his family escaped to Portsmouth,
where he was living in 1694. He probably died in Bos-
ton, at the home of his son, William, after 1696. In
1663 "Andrew Brown's five sons" received a legacy, but
there is explicit evidence of only four sons.
Children: (1) John, served in Philip's War; was
"lately deceased" in 1696, leaving sons John and
Samuel. — (2) Joseph. — (3) Andrew, b. 1657; m.
Anne, dau. of Ralph Allison. His gravestone at Ken-
nebunkport reads — Lieut. Andrew Brown, died 4 July
1723, aged 66.— (4) Charles.— (5) William.— (6)
Joshua, lived in Portsmouth ; m. Rebecca Libby of Scar-
boro, who as his widow was still living in Portsmouth
in 1732 ; seven children ; son Andrew returned to
Scarboro. — (7) Samuel. — (8) Elizabeth, m. Matthew
Libby and lived 40 years in Eliot.
BUNKER, JAMES, 1628—1698. He was one of
the early settlers at Oyster River. He is mentioned in
the records of Old York County of 1648. He was a
young man who had just come over from England to
seek his fortune. In 1652 he is found in Dover and
bought land below Johnson's Creek, which empties into
the north side of Oyster River. He appears to have
stood in good favor with the old settlers, as the town
granted him land between Johnson's Creek and
Bunker's Creek in 1658, and on a hill in this grant he
built a house, which was made a garrison about 1675.
It continued to be used as a dwelling house until the
first years of the 20th century. It was not properly
cared for, and in a heavy gale of wind in the fall of
1904 it was partly blown down, and was not repaired.
Some of the timbers and other debris can still be seen
in the cellar (1918).
This garrison was savagely attacked by the In-
dians in July, 1694, when they destroyed much of the
settlement, but failed to capture this garrison, or do
much injury to it. Mr. Bunker and his neighbors con-
ducted the defense successfully, but in 1695 the govern-
ment placed three soldiers there to do guard duty, as
it was feared that the attack would be renewed by the
Belknap's History says that two young girls were
carried away from Bunker's garrison by the Indian's
22 May, 1707. At the same time they stole a daughter
of Thomas Drew, about 13 years old, and a daughter of
Nathaniel Lamos, much younger. These children
were carried to Canada and sold to the French. The
records there show that— ''Marie Ann was baptized in
Canada 12 Sept., 1709, as daughter of Thomas and
Mary (Bunker) Drew. She was naturalized there 25
July, 1709. Elizabeth Lomax was baptized in Canada
11 Sept., 1707, as daughter of Nathaniel and Deliver-
ance (Clark) Lomax.
James Bunker in his wills made 14 Oct., 1697 and
24 June, 1698, names wife, Sarah, and three sons.
Children: (1) James, m. prob., (1) Anne Thomas,
(2) Martha Downes. — (2) Joseph, m. .(3) John,
m. Dorcas Field.— (4) Mary, m. Thomas Drew.
Descendants: Mrs. Clara A. P.*Blinn, Mrs. Mary
F. P. Gowen, Eri Melvin Hall.
BURNHAM, ROBERT, 1614—1691. He was
born in England and came over in the ship "Angel Ga-
briel," which was wrecked at Pemaquid, on the coast of
Maine, 15 August, 1635, but the passengers all escaped,
and later came up the coast, stopping where each one
might fancy. Mr. Burnham at first tried his fortune
at Ipswich, Mass. He was at Boston in 1644, and pros-
pered in business there until 1654. He was a carpenter
by trade and assisted in building houses there, and part
of the time he was boss of the business. He came to
Oyster River in 1654, and at first engaged in work at
his trade. In 1656 he purchased 200 acres of land from
the heirs of Ambrose Gibbons, who died that year, hav-
ing given the farm to his grandson, Samuel Sherburne.
When Mr. Burnham took possession, he built a
house for himself, on a steep hill, on the south side of
the river, about one mile below Durham Falls. This
craggy and precipitous eminence was, and is, approach-
able on only one side, so in the Indian wars it had to be
defended at a very small space, in case of an attack.
There was just room enough on top for the house and
the palisade that enclosed the yard. The Indians never
disturbed Mr. Burnham ; they saw it was useless to try
to capture or burn this garrison. The house long ago
disappeared, but the cellar with its stone wall is per-
fect, showing that Mr. Burnham was not only a good
carpenter, but also a good stone mason ; he knew how to
build a stone wall that would stand against the frosts of
untold winters. There is a smaller cellar entirely sep-
arate, but near the house cellar, which may have been
used for storage purposes, especially for powder in
time of war. The Burnham records of the 18th cen-
tury speak of the "Cellar" — and the "Cellarhouse." At
one end of the garrison-cellar is a depression where
stood the barn and other out-buildings. In their old
records, the "little barn" is mentioned. The house was
capacious; built of large, white oak timbers, covered
with wide boards and clapboarded, so that it was very
strong and warm to withstand the weather. When
it was taken down in the 19th century, the woodwork
was perfectly sound, and much of it was used in build-
ing the present farm buildings of the Burnham family,
which are located by the roadside, on the level ground
west of the hill. Near the foot of the hill is a never-
failing spring of water.
From the early records, it seems quite certain that
Ambrose Gibbons was settled on that land as early as
1640 ; of course he had a house and out-buildings, but it
is not reasonable to suppose that he built the house that
Mr. Burnham had for his dwelling in Indian war times.
The only child of Mr. Gibbons married Henry Sher-
burne of Portmouth. It is an interesting point in the
ancient history of New Hampshire, that traces of the
work of Gibbons, the leader or foreman of Capt. John
Mason's company, at Great Works, South Berwick, may
still be seen on Burnham hill, for he undoubtedly con-
structed the cellar to the Burnham house, if he did not
build the house in which Burnham lived, and passed
down to several generations of the Burnham family.
Mr. Burnham's wife's name was Frances.
Children: (1) Robert, b. 25 July 1647 ; d. 25 Feb.
1663.— (2) Samuel, b. 1649; m. .(3) Jeremiah, b.
1653; m. Temperance Bickford. — (4) Sarah, b. 1654;
m. James Huckins, about 1673; (2) m. Captain John
Woodman 17 Oct. 1700.— (5) Robert, b. 1664 ; d. young.
Descendants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane,
CANNEY, THOMAS, 1600—1678. He was born
in England and came to New England in 1631. He
was a member of Capt. John Mason's company that
commenced the settlement of Strawberry Bank. He
came to Dover in 1634, having land in what is now
Newington, then called Bloody Point-in-Dover. His
farm was on the bank of the Pascataqua River, at the
cove called Canney's Cove, the cove taking its name
from its ownership of the surrounding land. He sold
this land to John Seeley, and Seeley sold it to James
Rawlins in 1661. Canney removed to Dover Neck be-
fore 1650, and resided there the remainder of his life.
The present shipyard in Newington is located on part
of Thomas Canney's farm. Probably he never antici-
pated such a use of his shore line. Mr. Canney was a
very active man in business affairs, also he was a stanch
supporter of the First Church in the time when the
Quaker women gave the Church so much trouble, after
1662. He was a firm friend of Rev. John Reyner, then
minister of the Church. His name is frequently men-
tioned in the old town records, in matters of business.
He was twice married. The name of his second wife
Children: (1) Thomas, b. ; m. ; had 3
children. — (2) Joseph, b. ; m. Mary Clement,
daughter of Hon. Job Clement. — (3) A daughter who
m. Henry Hobbs. — (4) Mary, b. ; m. Jeremy
The following was obtained from the Registry of
Deeds — Thomas Canney, Sen., "for natural affection,
etc., gives with slight reservations, all of his property
to his son Joseph, for an annuity of 18 pounds."
Thomas made his mark, 3 December, 1669. William
Pomfrett and Job Clement were witnesses.
In 1670 Thomas Canney renewed his deed of prop-
erty to son Joseph; ''My late dwelling house and land,
bounded E. by Fore River; N. by a cove ;W. by ye Great
Streete On Dover Neck; S. by land of Joseph Austin.
Also a lot on Dover Neck, bounded N. by John Roberts ;
W. by a cove; S. by land lately Richard Pinkham's.
Also 4 acres on Dover Neck, bounded N. by common.
Also 30 acres west of Great Bay, except 3 acres of
marsh already laid out to son Thomas. Also 80 acres
on the north side of Cochecho Marsh. Also one-eighth
of Cochecho Point, bounded (undivided) by Cochecho
River, Newichawannoch River and Nechewannick Path
from Fresh Creek to St. Albans Cove." Acknowledged
6 October, 1670. Jabez Foye, Hatevil Nutter, Job
Clement, Sen., were witnesses.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth (Stack-
pole) Baer, Miss Annie Katharine Seavey, Lorenzo
E. Baer, George W. Seavey.
CHASE, REV. JOSIAH, 1713—1778. He was the
first ordained minister of the Middle Parish of Old Kit-
tery, and was installed 9 September, 1750. He was
graduated from Harvard College in 1738. He followed
teaching for several years, and during the time he stud-
ied for the ministry, and preached as occasion opened
for him to try his gifts in ministerial work, but he was
not regularly admitted to the ministry until he came to
Kittery ; he remained there as minister for nearly forty
years, an able, faithful and devout pastor and useful
citizen of the town. He met with an untimely death
26 December, 1778, as he was on his way home from a
wedding, in the parish. During the wedding ceremo-
nies, a blinding snow storm set in ; the host urged him
to remain over night, but he thought it better for him
to go home. On the journey he lost his way and fell
into a creek, when near his home, and was drowned.
His body was recovered the next day, or soon after, and
the parish was in great distress over the loss of their
Descendant: Miss Theodora Chase.
CHESLEY, PHILIP, 1612—1690. He was born
in England and emigrated to New England before 1642,
as in that year he was such a well-established citizen
that the town of Dover gave him a grant of land, which
later was followed by other grants. He bought a lot
on Dover Neck and had his residence on it for several
years. About 1651 he removed to a grant of land at
Oyster River, and that was his home the rest of his life.
His house stood on the north side of the road that leads
from Durham village to the Old Pascataqua Bridge, so
called. In war times it was a garrison, standing be-
tween Beard's on the west, and Jones's on the east. In
official documents he is called "husbandman." He is
often mentioned in the town records in connection with
Mr. Chesley was twice married; (1) Elizabeth. —
(2) Joan. .
Children: (1) Thomas, b. 1644; m. Elizabeth
Thomas.— (2) Philip, b. 1646; m. Sarah .(3) Han-
nah, m. Thomas Ash. Children probably by second mar-
riage.— (4) Mary, m. 28 May 1701, Ralph Hall; (2)
John Foy.— (5) Esther, m. 9 August 1705, John Hall.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth (Stackpole)
Baer, Col. Daniel Hall, Mrs. Mary E. P. Cowen, Herald
Durrell, Charles Wells Hall, Albert Harrison Hall, Eri
CLEMENT, HON. JOB, 1615—1682. He was son
of Robert Clement, who came from England and was
in Haverhill in 1642, and was Deputy in the General
Court, 1647 — 53. The son. Job, was born in England
about 1620 and came over with his father. He is sup-
posed to have settled in Ipswich, at first. He came to
Haverhill in 1640. He was the first tanner in that
town. He was made freeman in 1647. In 1649 he was
offered a freehold in Newbury if he would settle in that
town and carry on the tanning business. Dover made
him a better offer to come there to engage in tanning
and currying business; he accepted the Dover offer.
Just what year he came here is not known, but he was
here before 1655, and had his tannery in operation that
year ; it was near where the present Riverview Hall
stands. He used the spring that is still pouring forth
water the year round.
At Dover, he at once became one of the leading
citizens, and was much engaged in business affairs,
aside from his tannery, from which he served all the
country around with various kinds of leather. He was
Councillor in 1682, at the time of his death. He was
thrice married; (1) 25 December, 1644, to Margaret
Dummer, daughter of Thomas; (2) before 1658,
Lydia ; (3) 16 July, 1673, Joanna Leighton, widow
of Thomas Leighton of Dover Neck. He made his will
4 September 1682 ; proved 9 November 1683.
Children: (1) Job, b. 17 April 1648, at Haverhill.
His will is in the first volume of New Hampshire Pro-
bate records, and bears date of 8 Oct. and 3 Dec. 1716.
He mentions his wife, Abigail, children. Job, (4), eldest
son, James, John, Daniel and Margaret. — (2) Mary
(3), b. 12 Dec. 1651; m. 25 Dec. 1670, Joseph Canney
(Thomas). The Will of Job (2) Clement mentions
grandchild, Jane Kerney.
Descendant: Miss Annie Katharine Seavey.
CHADBOURNE, HUMPHREY, came over in
1631 and built the Great House at Strawberry Bank.
He settled at South Berwick and bought a large tract
of land of Sagamore Rowles in 1643. He was Deputy
to the General Court in 1657 and 1659, and Associate
Judge in 1662. Had grants of 300 acres in 1651 and
1652, He married Lucy, daughter of James and Kath-
erine (Shapleigh) Treworgy and died between 25 May
and 13 September 1667. His widow married Thomas
Wills of Kittery in 1669, and later Hon. Elias Stileman
of Portsmouth. She died in 1708.
Children: (1) Humphrey, b. 1653; m. Sarah
Bolles. — (2) Alice, m. after 5 Nov. 1677, Samuel Don-
nell; (2) Jeremiah Moulton, both of York.— (3) Cath-
arine, m. Edward Lydstone, (2) James Waymouth. —
(4) James, m. Elizabeth Heard. — (5) William, d. ab.
1674, unm.— (6) Elizabeth, b. 1667; m. Samuel Alcock.
— (7) Lucy, m. Peter Lewis, Jr.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
COUES, PETER. He was a native of the Isle of
Jersey, in the English Channel, but came to Ports-
mouth, N. H., before 1735. In his old home the name
appears to have been spelled— PIERRE LE CAUX.
The town clerk of Portsmouth did not understand this
spelling and wrote the name, in the anglicised form
of PETER COW. That spelling also appears in the
New England Historic Genealogical Register, Vol. 25,
page 122 ; also in the N. H. State Papers, Vol. 13, pages
257-258. The name assumed the form of — COUES as
early as 1768, and so appears in vol. 13 above men-
tioned, on pages 35, 300, 303.
In the record of marriages in Portsmouth, is the
statement that— "P^T^i^ COUES, of St. Peters, in the
Isle of Jersey, and Mary Long were marryd ye 4th of
Novr. 1735." This is proof positive that he was in that
town at that time, and he continued to live there.
Their residence was in a large two-story house at the
southwest corner of what is now State street and At-
kinson street, Portsmouth ; it fronts on Atkinson street ;
it is believed to have been built before 1736. He died
in that house about 1783, at an advanced age. His son
Peter lived there at the time of the father's death, and
many years following. He was a successful merchant
and ship, owner.
Childrem: (1) George Crane Coues, b. ; he is
supposed to have died young. — (2) Peter Coues, b.
; m. (1) Mary ; (2) Elizabeth, dau. of John
Jackson of Portsmouth; (3) Rebecca Eliot of Ports-
Descendant: Joseph Foster, Pay Director (Rear
Admiral) U. S. Navy, (retired).
CURTIS, JOSEPH, was son of Thomas Curtis
who bought land of Ferdinando Gorges in York in 1645.
Later he removed to Scituate, Mass., but returned to
York in 1663, where his son Joseph was born, date not
Joseph Curtis married Sarah Foxwell, daughter of
Richard, September, 1678. They resided in Kittery,
where he had grants of land, and bought more. His
home was at the head of Spruce Creek, and stood near
the Middle Parish meeting house. During the Indian
wars his house was one of the garrisons to which the
dwellers around fled in time of danger ; it had a stock-
ade around it, and was called a "house of refuge." He
was High Sheriff several years.
Children: (1) Joseph, b. June 1678; m. (1)
Sarah Potwain at Boston 25 May 1703; (2) 7 May
1719, Sarah, widow of Jonathan Mendum, dau. of
Joshua and Patience Downing. — (2) Sarah, b. 10 Aug.
1781 ; m. Tobias Lear, Jan. 1702 ; d. 20 Nov. 1703.— (3)
Elizabeth, b. 16 July 1680; m. Diamond Sargent. — (4)
Foxwell, b. 16 July 1692; m. Elizabeth Goodrich in Bos-
ton, 30 July 1724.— (5) Lois, b. 13 May 1695 ; m. James
Sterrett of York 29 Oct. 1723.— (6) Eunice, b. 23 Dec.
1698; m. Richard Cutt, 20 Oct 1720; d. 30 March 1795.
Descendants: Samuel F. Walcott, Mrs. Annie
(Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
COLCORD, EDWARD, 1615—1682. He was
born in England. It is stated that he came over when
he was 16 years old ; perhaps he did ; if so, he was drift-
ing round the settlements, from Maine to Massachu-
setts. The first record of him is when he was at
Exeter with Rev. John Wheelwright, where he wit-
nessed, if he did not participate in, the founding of
that town. In his various rambles, he had been at
Dover, and perhaps knew something about the head
waters of the Squamscott River, and by that acquired
knowledge may have assisted Mr. Wheelwright in se-
lecting a place for his proposed town. It is not known
where Wheelwright first met Colcord.
He was at Exeter and witnessed the signing
of the deed, 3 April, 1638, given to Wheelwright by —
"WEHANOWNOWITT, SAGAMORE OF PUSCHAT-
AQUAKE" — by which the Exeter territory was ac-
quired from the Indians. Colcord did not sign the
Exeter Combination agreement for good government,
made 4 July, 1639 ; neither did he help organize the
Church. But in October, 1640, he was at Dover and
signed the Combination agreement, then drawn up and
signed by the inhabitants. He appears to have resided
in Dover for several years following.
He was then a young man of twenty-five, and in
some way had become acquainted with the laws, and
law methods of that period, so that he was really the
first practicing lawyer in the town of Dover. He had
cases in other parts of Old Norfolk County. He re-
mained in Dover until 1645, and was one of the active
business men of the town. In 1642 the town gave him
one of the 20-acre lots on the west side of Back River,
He received other grants of land, which shows he was
in good favor with the town. For a year or two he was
a magistrate for the settlement of small cases.
In 1645 Mr. Colcord appears in the history of
Hampton as a resident of that town, and there was his
home nearly all the rest of his turbulent life, engaged
in conducting lawsuits for others, or in defending him-
self against attacks from others. He died at his home
there, 10 February, 1681-2. A part of the time be-
tween 1645 and 1652 he was at Exeter where he ob-
tained a grant of land from that town, and they made
him a freeman there, but after 1652 he left Exeter and
became a permanent resident at Hampton, where he
held some minor offices from time to time.
From this time on his energies were chiefly de-
voted to practice of law. His name appears many times
in the old Norfolk County Court records. When the
heirs of Capt. John Mason began their law suits against
New Hampshire farmers, to establish the claim that
the land was granted to Capt. Mason, and that they
must pay rent to him, Colcord became one of their at-
torneys, and in that way became very unpopular with
the land owners. He married about 1640, Ann .
Children: (1) Hannah, b. about 1643 ; m. Thomas
Dearborn (3) ; d. 17 July 1720.— (2) Sarah, b. about
1646; m. John Hobbs (2).— (3) Mary, b. 4 Oct. 1649;
m. Benjamin Fifield (3) ; d. at Hampton Falls, 1741.—
(4) Edward, b. 2 Feb. 1652; killed by Indians 13 June
1677.— (5) Samuel, b. about 1655 ; m. Mary .— (6)
Mehitable, b. about 1658; m. Nathaniel Stevens of
Dover.— (7) Shuah, b. 12 June 1660.— (8) Deborah, b.
21 May 1664; m. Tristram Coffin.— (9) Abigail, b 23
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney, John Mark Moses, Mrs. Flor-
ence Adelaide Crane, John Scales.
CUTT, RICHARD, 1651-1743. He was born in
Kittery and lived there all his life. He was son of
Robert Cutt, who is supposed to have come from Eng-
land to Barbadoes prior to 1646, then a young man of
about twenty years. Soon after that he emigrated to
Kittery. After getting settled there, he received a
grant of land from the town on what was called Crooked
Lane, on which he constructed a shipyard and engaged
in ship building, on the shore of Broad Cove. He con-
tinued in the business there many years, constructing
ships and boats of all kinds that were then in use.
ROBERT CUTT was brother of Richard Cutt of
Newcastle and President John Cutt of Portsmouth,
then among the most noted men of the province. He
died in Kittery 18 June, 1674 ; his widow, second wife,
married Francis Champernowne, and they resided on
what is now Cutt's Island, separated from Gerrish's
Island by a small creek. Champernowne was one of
the distinguished Englishmen of that time at Ports-
mouth and Kittery.
Robert Cutt's son Richard, had learned the trade
of ship building by working with his father; he con-
tinued in the business after his father died, and was a
famous ship constructor and boat-builder. He also
built a dam across Long Creek, and had a tide water
mill there in which he did a thriving business many
years, grinding corn and other kinds of grain. The
millstones and other machinery were brought from
England, and the stones, probably, are now somewhere
in that vicinity, having long ago passed out of use.
His house was near the mill and was one of the garrison
houses that was designated as a "house of refuge" in
the time of the Indian wars. The Indians never cap-
tured it, or made any serious attempt to do so.
Descendants: Samuel F. Wolcott, Mrs. Annie
(Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
DAM, DEACON JOHN, 1610-1694. He was
born in England and came over with Captain Thomas
Wiggin in 1633. He selected a lot on Low street, on
Dover Neck. His house was the one next north of the
log meeting-house. He lived there the rest of his life,
dying in the winter of 1694. He was one of the active
business men of the town. He held various minor
offices, but his chief distinction in that line was that of
being the second Deacon of the First Church, John Hall
being the first. • This office was conferred on him in
1675. In signing his name to the earliest business
transactions he has it — JOHN DAMME — so that was
the original spelling of the name ; in common usage in
the old records it is generally written — DAM. Dea.
Dam is mentioned many times in the old town records,
showing he was a busy man in public affairs. He re-
ceived various grants of land. On 23 August, 1649, the
town granted to him, with his father-in-law, William
Pomfrett, and Thomas Leighton the privilege at the
Bellamy Bank Falls (now Sawyer lower mill), for
erecting a saw-mill, which they did. The town also
granted them 1500 trees, oak and pine, to be cut in the
swamp above the falls. They were also granted the
privilege of cutting trees anywhere along the river that
were not on land already granted. They did a big
business in manufacturing lumber. One of his grants
of land was on the Newington shore of Little Bay. He
gave it to his son, John Dam, who went there to live;
from him it came to be called "Dame's Point."
John Dam married, date not known, Elizabeth
Pomfrett, daughter of William Pomfrett, for many
years town clerk of Dover.
Children: (1) John, b. at Dover 8 Jan. 1636-7;
m. (1) Sarah Hall, dau. of Sergt. John Hall of Dover;
(2) 9 Nov. 1663, Elizabeth Furber, dau. of Lt. William
Furber of Bloody Point in Dover; d. 8 Jan. 1706. — (2)
Elizabeth, b. 1 May 1649; m. Thomas Whitehouse.—
(3) Mary, b. 1651.— (4) William, b. 14 Oct. 1653; m.
Martha Nute, dau. of James Nute, about 1680. Lived
at Back River and built the garrison house, which is
now in the Woodman Institute; d. 20 Mar. 1718. — (5)
Susannah, b. 14 Dec. 1661.— (6) Judith, b. 15 Nov.
1666 ; m. 6 July 1684, Thomas Tibbetts ; d. 22 Oct. 1728.
Descendants: Seth E. Dame, Mrs. Ella Weeks
Lamson, Albert H. Lamson, Alvah H. Place, John
DEARBORN, GODFREY, 16 1686. He is
said to have been born in Exeter, in the County
of Devon, England. After his emigration to America,
he settled at Exeter, N. H., and was one of the thirty-
five men that signed the Combination for the govern-
ment of the town, in 1639. Between 1648 and 1650 he
removed to Hampton, and settled where John Dear-
born, one of his descendants of the eighth generation,
lived, and where his widow lived until her death in
1692. Godfrey Dearborn had a wife living in the early
part of 1651 as appears from the Town Records. The
time of her death is not known ; but in 1662 he was a
widower ; and in the latter part of that year he married
again. He died 4 February, 1686.
Godfrey Dearborn married, (1) in England ,
(2) 25 Nov. 1662, Dorothy, widow of Philemon Dalton.
The date of her death is not known. By his first mar-
riage he had :
Children: (1) Henry, b. ab. 1633; m. Elizabeth
Marrian; d. 18 Jan. 1725.— (2) Thomas, b. ab. 1634; m.
Hannah Colcord ; d. 14 April 1710. — (3) Esther, m.
Richard Shortridge of Portsmouth. — (4) Sarah, b. ab.
1641 ; m. Thomas Nudd ; d. 21 August 1714.— (5) John,
b. ab. 1642 ; m. Mary Ward ; d. 14 Nov. 1731.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
DOWNING, DENNIS. The date of his birth and
death, and his parentage is not known, nor what con-
nection, if any, he had with the Downings of Newing-
ton. We know that he was a blacksmith and owned and
lived on a lot of land, in Old Kittery (Eliot), on the
bank of the Pascataqua River, a little above the island
known as Franks Fort. He Vv^as living there in 1652
and signed the submission to Massachusetts in Novem-
ber that year. He was living as late as 1690, as appears
by various records. The name of his wife is not
Children: (1) Dennis, b. ab. 1650; he was with
Major Charles Frost and others as they were returning
from Church, at Great Works, 4 July 1697, and he and
Frost were shot by the Indians on Frost's hill ; Phebe,
wife of John Heard, also was shot. Nothing more is
known of this Dennis Downing. — (2) Joshua, b. ab.
1644, as shown by a deposition; m. ab. 1675; (1) Pa-
tience, dau. of Patience arid Philip Hatch; (2) Rebecca,
widow of Joseph Trickey and dau. of William and Re-
becca (Mackworth) Rogers. See Coll. of Maine Hist.
So., Vol 1., p. 208. He died in 1717, leaving widow,
Children: (1) Joshua, m. Sarah Hatch, — ^(2)
Elizabeth, m. ab. 1698 Jonathan Woodman of Oyster
River; d. 17 April 1729, aged 60 years; he d. in 1750,
aged 85. — (3) Sarah, m. Jonathan Mendum before
1702. — (4) Alice, m. 24 April 1709, Richard Downing,
of Bloody Point, Dover, now Newington.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
DUDLEY, REV. SAMUEL, 1610-1683. He was
son of Thomas Dudley of the Massachusetts Bay Colo-
ny. He was son-in-law of Gov, John Winthrop of the
same colony. He was born in England and passed the
first twenty years of his life in his native land, and
came to New England with his father. He did not re-
ceive a. University education, but was well educated by
his father and by mingling in the society of people of
intelligence. He was fond of books and easily acquired
knowledge by much reading, so that as early as 1637 he
was regarded as qualified for the clerical profession,
and preached from time to time as occasion demanded,
while engaged in other occupations. Among other
places he is said to have preached for a while at Ports-
mouth in 1649, but was not a settled minister there.
During the twelve years preceding his coming to
Exeter, as minister of the Church there, he was at Salis-
bury, Mass., of which town he was one of the founders.
He was one of the first Representatives from that town
in the General Court, and served several years. He
was also assistant to the Governor. He was one of the
leading men of the town in various other ways, and
received grants of land. He had been a successful
business man many years, when, at the age of forty, he
became the minister of the Church at Exeter. In 1650
he removed from Salisbury to Exeter, and that was his
home till his death 10 February 1682-3, serving as min-
ister of the town thirty-three years. He had been a
successful business man, and he became a good minis-
ter, at the same time greatly assisting the town's people
in business aflfairs. His previous experience enabled
him to assist his parishioners in many ways to promote
Mr. Dudley received a grant from the town of Exe-
ter of 600 acres of land, now in Brentwood, which fell
to his heirs. It was divided crosswise into twelve 50-
acre lots. There is no record of the division, but by
about three days' work, Mr. Charles Thornton Libby of
Portland, Me., picked out the whole of them, and traced
them back to the twelve children, that outlived their
father or left heirs ; the result is as follows : Lot No.
l_Stephen; 2— Ann ; 3— Mary; 4— Timothy; 5—
Elizabeth ; 6 — Dorothy ; 7 — Theophilus ; 8 — James ; 9 —
Rebecca ; 10 — Samuel ; 11 — Thomas ; 12 — Byles.
Mr. Libby says the way the Dudley name got into
the Watson family, of Dover, is that Samuel Dudley,
youngest son of Rev. Samuel Dudley, had a daughter
Mary who married David Watson, of Dover, son of the
first Jonathan Watson.
Mr. Dudley was thrice married; (1) in 1632 or
1633 to Mary Winthrop, dau. of Gov. John Winthrop.
(2) 1643 or 4, to Mary Biley of Salisbury; (3) ab. 1652
to Elizabeth . He had children by each marriage.
Children: (1) Thomas, b. 9 March 1634; grad.
Harvard College 1651; d. unm. — (2) John, b. 28 June
1635; d. young. — (3) Margaret, bp. at Cambridge; d.
young.— (4) Samuel, b. 2 Aug. 1639 ; d. 1743.— (5) Ann
b. 16 Oct. 1641 (all by first wife) . She married Edward
Hilton of Exeter, N. H.— (6) Theophilus, b. 31 Oct.
1644 (by 2nd wife) ; a judge ; d. unm. 1713. A man of
distinction.— (7) Mary, b. 21 April 1646; d. Dec.
1646.— (8) Biley, b. 27 Sept. 1647; m. 25 Oct 1682
Elizabeth Oilman of Exeter.— (9) Mary, b. Jan. 1649'
m. 24 Jan. 1675-6, Samuel Hardy, at Beverly.— (10)
Thomas, b. — (by 2nd wife) ; m. Mary. — (11) Eliza-
beth, b. 1652, (by 3rd. wife) ; m. 25 Sept. 1674, Judge
Kinsley Hall.— (12) Stephen, b.— at Exeter ; m. (1) 24
Dec. 1684, Sarah Oilman; (2) Mary Thing.— (13)
James, b. 1663; m. Elizabeth Leavitt. He was ship-
master and merchant. — (14) Timothy, b. — ; d. before
1702. — (15) Abigail, b. — ; m. Jonathan Watson of
Dover.— (16) Dorothy, b.— ; m. 26 Oct. 1681, Moses
Leavitt at Exeter. — (17) Rebecca, b. — ; m. 21 Nov.
1681, Francis Lyford. — (18) Samuel, b. — ; m. Hannah
Thyng ; d. 1732, at Exeter.
Descendants: Mrs. Elizabeth Palmer Place,
Charles Thornton Libby.
DIAMOND, JOHN, born ; died 1667. John
Diamond and wife, Grace, were living in Kittery in
1651. He was a constable in 1659; clerk of writs in
1662. He was a ship-builder and lived on Crooked
Lane. John Diamond, Jr., was made administrator
of his father's estate in 1667. John Diamond signed
the admission to Massachusetts in 1652. The Diamond
shipyard was in use for more than a century, in ship-
building by the family.
Children: (1) John, b. — ; m. dau. of Francis
Raynes.— (2) Andrew, b. 1640; m. Mrs. Elizabeth El-
liott in 1705; d. s. p. 1707. He was a taverner and
magistrate at the Isles of Shoals several years ; later he
was at Ipswich, where he died. — (3) William, b. ; m.
Joan ; d. ab. 1667.— (4) Thomas, b. — ; m. (1)
Mary, widow of James Weymouth, Sr. ; (2) Jane Gains
of Ipswich.— (5) Grace, b. — ; m. Peter Lewis.
Descendant: Joseph Foster, Pay Director (Rear
Admiral), U. S. Navy, (retired).
DIXON, PETER. He was son of Peter Dixon
who had a grant of land, 36 acres, in Kittery, 26 March,
1679 ; about that time he married Mary Remick, daugh-
ter of Christian Remick. He built his house on that
lot, at a spot a short distance below Boiling Rock, and
that locality has ever since been called "Dixon's Point."
The house of the late F. A. Dixon stands on the spot
where Peter built the first house that stood on the land.
He was a ship-carpenter ; he did not have a yard of his
own, but worked in the Diamond shipyard many years.
Children: (1) Mary, b. 23 Sept. 1679; m. John
Staples.— (2) Hannah, b. 3 Feb. 1684; m. 16 Dec. 1701,
John Morrell.— (3) Ann, b. 17 July 1689; m. 14 Sept.
1708, Thomas Jenkins; d. May 1749.— (4) Peter, b. 29
Feb. 1692; m. Abigail Flanders.
Descendant: Joseph H. Dixon.
DENNET, JOHN, 1646—1709. Two brothers,
John and Alexander Dennet came to Portsmouth in
1668 ; their descendants are many at the present time.
The Dennet family in England is one that can be traced
back to 1298, A. D., when the surnames were forming.
The name is of Norman origin ; the first one who came
over to England was an officer in William the Con-
queror's army. He was known as Hugh d'Anet, or
d'Arnet. In the course of 200 years it became angli-
cised into "Dennet." On the Isle of Wight, the family
has been traced back to 1298. Of that stock was John
Dennet of Portsmouth, in 1668.
In 1672, when John Dennet had been in the town
four years, he was made freeman, that is admitted to
citizenship and given the right to vote, and to hold office.
In 1676 he was drawn to serve at jury trials. In 1678
he was appointed tythingman, whose duty it was "to
inspect his neighbors, as the law directs, for preventing
drunkenness and disorder." He was given the over-
sight of ten families. By trade (everybody had a
trade) John Dennet was a carpenter. It is a matter
of record that he repaired the meeting house, at one
time, and was paid by receiving a grant of land in 1693,
on what is known as Christian Shore ; the record says —
"a vacant piece of land on the way (road) that leads
from Major Vaughn's tanyard to Bloody Point." That
"way" is now the State Road; Bloody Point is the lo-
cality where the railway station is, at the east end of the
bridge over the Pascataqua River. Having received
that grant of land, he soon built a house on it ; it was the
second house built in that section of Portsmouth; it
stands there now in good condition, though more than
225 years old. It is on Prospect street, facing toward
Dennet street, which street was named for him. Later
he became the owner of much land in that locality.
In 1689 John Dennet bought of Christian Remick
and his son, Isaac, a farm in Kittery, being the original
grant to Remick. At some time between 1700 and
1710, he built a house on that farm, and the house now
stands there which shows he was a good carpenter, and
his descendants, who still own it, have been thrifty
care-takers of property. This house was constructed
in plan and fashion similar to the one already men-
tioned on Christian Shore. The lower story is made of
large, hewn, hemlock logs ; at the corners the logs are
halved and lapped together, and treenailed with long
wooden pins. This was the garrison-house style of
building with logs. The second story was framed and
boarded like the ordinary frame houses of that period.
In 1720 John Dennet's house was designated as a gar-
risoned house (that is, surrounded with a palisade to
keep out the Indians) to which the inhabitants of the
neighborhood could retreat if the Indians made raids
that far down the river. There is no record that his
garrison was ever attacked by Indians.
John Dennet was collector of taxes in 1689 ; deputy
in the Assembly in 1702, and selectman during the
seven years following. He was a man of sterling in-
tegrity, untiring industry, faithfully fulfilling every
obligation. He died 5 May, 1709 and was buried at the
Point of Graves, Portsmouth. The grave is marked
with a flat slab of sandstone, near the northeast corner
of the lot. He was a wealthy man, and at the time of
his death he was one of the largest taxpayers. His
wife's name was Amy .
Children: (1) John b. 15 Dec. 1675; m. Mrs.
Mary (Adams) Shapleigh.— (2) Amy, b. 9 April 1679;
m. John Adams.— (3) Joseph, b. 19 July 1691; m. 24
June 1704, Elizabeth Meade.— (4)Ephraim, b. 2 Aug.
1689 ; m. Katherine .
Descendayits: Sylvester Burnham, Miss Theodora
Chase, Ralph Dennett, Alexander Dennett.
ELIOT, ROBERT, was born in 1643, and is first
mentioned 13 Jan. 1660. In 1662 he was appointed
constable for Strawberry Bank. He lived in Ports-
mouth, now Newcastle, N. H., Scarborough, Me., and on
Gerrish Island in his last days. He was selectman in
Portsmouth in 1679 and 1680, and in Scarborough in
1682, and was that town's Deputy in the General Court
in 1685. In 1692 he was appointed one of the Council-
lors of New Hampshire, and held that office with the
exception of one year till 1715. Timothy Gerrish re-
corded in his Bible : "My father-in-law, Robert Eliot,
dyed in 82 year of his age in March 24th 1724."
Hon. Robert Eliot appears to have been thrice mar-
ried ; dates not known. See pages 363-64 of History of
Old Kittery. The first wife was sister of Col. William
Pepperrell; (2) Margery Batson ; (3) Sarah Fryer,
daughter of Hon. Nathaniel Fryer of Newcastle.
There were no children by the last marriage ; the chil-
dren by the other wives were :
(1) Humphrey, m. ab. 1685, Elizabeth, dau. of
Robert Cutt and moved to South Carolina. No positive
proof has been found that Humphrey was the son of
Robert Eliot, but circumstantial evidence points to that
conclusion. — (2) Robert, b. ; he received a deed of
land from his father in 1705 ; he probably d. before
1709, unm. — (3) Nathaniel witnessed a deed in 1698.
— (4) Elizabeth, b. 1682; m. Col. George Vaughan be-
fore 1702; d. 7 Dec. 1750.— (5) Sarah, b. 1 Oct. 1687;
m. 14 Nov. 1706, Col. Timothy Gerrish.— (6) Jane, b.
1684; m. (1) 1707, Andrew Pepperrell; (2) 25 Nov.
1714, Lieut. Charles Frost. — (7) Abigail, m. Capt.
Daniel Greenough of Newcastle, N. H., 16 Dec, 1708.
These four daughters are the only children men-
tioned in his Will, 1718. There may have been an earlier
daughter, Sarah, who witnessed a deed in 1685. She
probably died soon after. See Coll. of N. H. Hist. So-
ciety, Vol. 8, p. 356. and Coll. of Maine Hist. Society,
Vol. 3, p. 210.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
EDGERLY, JUDGE THOMAS, 1635-1715. He
was received as an inhabitant in Dover, at Oyster
River, 19 January, 1665 ; took the oath of fidelity 21
June, 1669; made freeman 15 May, 1672. In 1665, he
began to serve on the grand jury and served in that
capacity many times ; it was then a very important
office. When New Hampshire became a separate Pro-
vince, Mr. Edgerly was appointed one of the Justices
of the Provincial Court, consisting of Captain Walter
Barefoot, Nathaniel Fryer, Henry Green, Peter CofRn,
Thomas Edgerly and Henry Robie. In 1684, Rev.
Joshua Moody, minister at Portsmouth, was arraigned
before this court for nonconformity, in that he refused
to administer the Communion service for Governor
Cranfield in accordance with the Ritual of the Church
of England. After hearing the evidence the Judges
debated the question. A vote was taken ; two voted
for conviction — Barefoot and CofRn ; the others dis-
sented. The next morning the court convened and the
case was reconsidered ; outside influence had induced
Green and Robie to change their opinion and they
joined with Barefoot and Coffin, condemning Mr.
Moody, and he was sent to jail, where he was confined
for three months. Judge Edgerly was cashiered by
Governor Cranfield, for his courage in standing by Mr.
Moody; he was restored to office after the Cranfield
government went to pieces. He was deputy to the con-
vention of 1689, held for reorganization of the govern-
ment. In July, 1694, his garrison was burned by the
Indians, when the awful massacre took place at Oyster
River. He was taken prisoner, with his son Joseph
and daughter, but they managed to escape, and soon
returned home. His garrison was on the shore of Little
Bay, near Durham Point. He was married by Capt.
Richard Walderne 28 Sept., 1665, to Rebecca, daughter
of John and Remembrance Ault ; she was the widow of
Henry Halloway, at her second marriage.
Children: (1) Thomas, b. 1666; m. Jane Whedon
(Whidden).— (2) Samuel, b. 1668; m. Elizabeth Tuttle.
— (3) John,b. 1670; m. Elizabeth Rawlins.— (4) Rebec-
ca, b. 1672; m. Aaron Hutcote. — (5) Joseph, b. 1677;
m. Mary Green.
Descendant: Edgar Amos Leighton.
EMERSON, CAPTAIN SAMUEL, 1663-1743.
Captain Emerson was born in Haverhill, son of a noted
family there ; his commission as Captain can be found in
volume I, page 109, of the History of Durham, of which
town he was long a resident, and one of its most valu-
able citizens; the commission bears date of May 12,
1718, and is signed by Gov. Samuel Shute. His services
in command of a company of Oyster River militia were
invaluable during the Indian wars of that period. He
was a brave warrior and a Christian man. His sister
Hannah married Thomas Dustin, and is known in his-
tory as the woman who killed the Indians who had
captured her and carried her to the island above Con-
cord, from which she escaped with their scalps, and
her own. Her monument stands in the Central Square
of Haverhill, also another monument marks the spot on
the island in the Merrimack River where she per-
formed the brave deed and escaped. Captain Emerson
bought land on Back River, Dover, as early as 1700. He
was selectman in 1705, and later. About 1717, he
moved to Oyster River Parish, and helped organize the
Church in 1718 of which he was made deacon in 1718,
and elder in 1721. He married 14 Dec. 1687, Judith
Davis, daughter of Ens. John and Jane (Peasley) Davis
of Haverhill and Dover. He was influential in town
affairs and held important offices of trust.
Children: (1) Samuel, b. 21 Aug. 1688; d. at sea.
— (2) Hannah, b. 22 Dec. 1691; d. young.— (3) Han-
nah, b. 6 Jan. 1699; m. Job. Clement.— (4) Micah, b.
4 Jan. 1701; m. Sarah Huckins.— (5) Abigail, b. 27
Sept. 1704; m. Robert Thompson.— (6) Timothy, b. ab.
1706; m. Mary Smith.— (7) Solomon, b. 1709; m.
Descendant: Mrs. Elizabeth Emerson Dorr.
EMERY, ANTHONY, 1600-1684. He was born in
Romsey, Hants, England, and was second son of John
and Agnes Emery. He married in England Frances
. They came to America in the ship "James,"
landing in Boston 3 June, 1635. He lived in Newbury,
Mass., till 1640, when he removed to Dover and be-
came a resident of Dover Neck, where he kept an
"ordinary" on High street, near where the Riverview
Hall is (1918). In 1649, he sold his house on The
Neck and bought Beck's Ferry, where boats, for public
travel, were run from Dover to Eliot (then Kittery).
He had his residence in Old Kittery, near the ferry
landing, till about 1665. He kept an "ordinary" as well
as managing the ferry. He was a very able business
man, and also very independent in his religious views.
When the Quaker women came to Dover Neck and
aroused great indignation among the strict Church
people, and finally got a whipping for it, Mr. Emery
took sides with the Quakers and entertained them at his
Inn, at the ferry landing. He was arraigned in court
for the offence and fined ; he paid the fine and kept on
entertaining the Quakers, when they came that way.
He was fined several times, and finally was disfran-
chised ; that was about 1665, and soon after he decided
it was best for him to leave town, and turn his business
over to his son James. He removed to Providence, R.
I., where religious freedom prevailed, and he had no
further trouble in entertaining all the Quakers he
Children: (1) James, b. about 1630; he was in
business with his father till the latter removed to Prov-
idence, when he succeeded to the entire ferry and hotel
business. He was a man of much ability and popular
with the church people, and the townmen in general.
For eight years he was one of the Selectmen of Old
Kittery, and twice was Deputy for the town in the Gen-
eral Court at Boston. This shows he was popular and
a leader in public affairs. He m. (1) Elizabeth .
(2) 28 Dec, 1695, Elizabeth (Newcomb) Pidge, widow
of John of Dedham. He died before 1714. He had a
sister, Rebecca, of whom nothing is known; and a
brother whose name is unknown.
Children: (1) James, b. about 1658; m. Margaret
Hitchcock. — (2) Zachariah, b. about 1660; m. Eliza-
beth Goodwin. — (3) Noah, b. about 1663; m. Elizabeth
and had three children, of whom there is no
record. He died before 1729. — (4) Daniel, b. 13 Sep-
tember 1667; m. Margaret Gowen. — (5) Job, b. 1670;
m. Charity Nason.— (6) Elizabeth, b. 1672; m. Syl-
vanus Nock; d. 6 June 1704. — (7) Sarah, b. 1674; m.
(1) John Thompson; (2) Gilbert Warren; d. after
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
FERNALD, RENALD, M. D. He came to Ports-
mouth with the first settlers of that town, in 1631 ; he
was surgeon of Capt, John Mason's company. It is
said that he was surgeon in the English navy before
engaging to serve Captain Mason's company. Prob-
ably Capt. Mason wanted to have his men well cared
for, so induced the navy surgeon to resign and come to
America. He became the physician for all the settle-
ments along the Pascataqua river. He also made him-
self useful in official capacities. He was clerk of the
Court, for Dover and Portsmouth ; recorder of deeds ;
town clerk of Strawberry Bank ; surveyor of land ; and
commissioner for the settlement of small cases. So
Dr. Fernald was a very useful, active and influential
man in the settlements outside of Portsmouth, as well
as in it. His wife's name was Joanna. He died in
1660, and it is said his grave is in the Point of Graves
Children: (1) Thomas, b. ab. 1633; m. Temper-
ance ; d. before 25 August 1697.— (2) Elizabeth,
b. ab. 1635; d. unm.— (3) Mary, b. ab. 1637; m. John
Partridge 1660; d. 16 Aug. 1722.— (4) Sarah, b. ab.
1640; m. (1) 3 Dec. 1661, Allen Lyde; (2) Richard
Waterhouse. — (5) John, b. ab. 1642; m. Mary Spinney.
— (6) Samuel, b. 1644; m. Hannah Spinney.— (7) Wil-
liam, b. 16 March 1646 ; m. 6 Nov. 1671 Elizabeth Lang-
Descendants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane, Mrs.
Annie Blake McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney, John
Scales, Alexander Dennett, Ralph Dennett.
FOGG, DANIEL, 1660-1755, is not the first Fogg
who came over to New England from Old England, but
the first one who came to the Pascataqua and began
business here. He is son of Samuel Fogg, who came
over with Gov. Winthrop's company in 1630. It is
said he was a native of Wales. Soon after the settle-
ment was commenced at Hampton, Samuel became a
resident there; he received grants of land from the
town, some of which have remained in possession of his
descendants to the present time (1918). Here his son
Daniel was born 16 June, 1660; his mother, Samuel's
first wife, was Ann, daughter of Roger Shaw, who was
for many years one of the leading men in Hampton,
where he settled in 1647. She died in 1663 ; he died in
Daniel Fogg learned the trade of blacksmith and
worked at it in Hampton till he went to Black Point,
Scarborough, Maine, and set up in business for him-
self, about 1680. In 1684, he married Hannah Libby,
daughter of John Libby, founder of that town. He re-
ceived grants of land and prospered till the Indians
drove him out of town, as they did all the rest of the
settlers. About 1690, we find him in Portsmouth.
Tradition says he at first lived on one of the islands at
the mouth of the river, but in 1699 he crossed over the
Pascataqua and purchased land in the Upper Parish of
Old Kittery, now Eliot. His farm was on the bank of
the river, between Franks Fort and Watts Fort, ex-
tending back quite a distance into the country. This
farm has remained in possession of the Fogg family to
the present time (1918). The William Fogg Library
Building is located on the old farm. Mr. Fogg was one
of the five original members of the Congregational
Church that was organized June 22, 1721, and for more
than thirty years he was its staunch supporter. He
died in 1755, aged 95 years.
Children: (1) Hannah, b. ab. 1685; m. John
Rogers 21 May 1704.— (2) Daniel, b. ab. 1687; m. 30
July 1715, Ann Hanscom, and lived in Scarborough. —
(3) Mary, b. ab. 1689 ; m. 11 Aug. 1709, William Brooks.
(4) Rebecca, b. ab. 1692 ; m. 1726, Joseph Pillsbury.—
(5) Sarah, b. ab. 1694; m. 1 Jan. 1715, Thomas Hans-
com.— (6) John, b. ab. 1696; m. 30 Sept. 1725, Mary
Hanscom. Lived in Scarborough. — (7) Joseph, b. ab.
1698; m. 17 Jan. 1725, Sarah Hill.— (8) Seth, b. Dec.
1701; m. 28 Nov. 1727, Mary Pickernell.— (9) James,
b. 17 March 1703-4 ; m. Elizabeth Fernald.
Descendant: John Lemuel Murray Willis, M. D.
FOLSOM, JOHN, was born in 1614 in Hingham,
England; he came over in the ship "Diligent of
Ipswich," John Martin, master ; they set sail from the
mouth of the Thames River 26th of April, 1638. There
were nineteen families on board, all destined for the
Massachusetts Bay. His name is there given as "John
Foulsham," the old English spelling of the name. He
had been married about a year and a half, date of mar-
riage, Oct. 4, 1636, to Mary Oilman, daughter of Ed-
ward and Mary (Clark) Oilman ; they landed at Boston
Aug. 10, 1638; soon after that they went to Hingham,
Mass., and resided there till they removed to Exeter,
N. H., with the Gilmans, about 1650, perhaps a year or
two later. At Hingham, he received grants of land and
was one of the Selectmen and was one of the prosper-
ous citizens of the town.
At Exeter, the town gave him four acres of land
butting upon the Common (land) westward and upon
the playne eastward; the house he built upon it was
standing until 1875 when it was taken down and some
of its sawed oak was manufactured into memorial
chairs, and distributed among the descendants. The
frame was all of oak, and sound when the house was
razed. He was one of the selectmen of the town and
served on committees relating to settlement of town
business. His wife being a Gilman of course they were
ranked with the first families. From all accounts of
him at Hingham and at Exeter he appears to have been
enterprising, courageous and prominent in the com-
munities in which he lived ; a leader in public affairs,
determined on simplicity in religious worship and
equity in the state, a solid, independent, righteous and
true man. He died at Exeter Dec. 27, 1681. His widow
survived him eight or ten years.
Children: (1) John, b. 1638, or '39; m. Nov. 10,
1675, Abigail, dau. of Abraham Perkins of Hampton. —
(2) Samuel, b. Oct. 3, 1641.— (3) Nathaniel, b. 1644;
m. 1674, Hannah Faxon of Hingham ; had a son Samuel,
b. April 18, 1679. He gave a deed of land in Exeter in
1696. — (4) Israel, b. 1646; m. and had son Israel; re-
ceived a grant of land in Exeter. — (5) Peter, b. 1649;
was always known as "Lieut. Peter." — (6) Mary, b.
1651 ; m. 12 June 1672, George Marsh of Newbury.—
(7) Ephraim, b. 1654.
Descendant: Miss Isabel Foster, A. B., Ports-
FURBISH, WILLIAM was granted land in Dover
in 1648; being a land owner, he was a taxpayer for
several years. He then moved across the river to Old
Kittery, now Eliot, having bought land there in 1664 ;
later he had a grant of ten acres from the town. His
residence was near what was called, in old times,
Thompson's point, in Eliot. That Point took its name
from William Thompson, the first man of that name
who lived in that part of Old Kittery. The name of his
wife is not known.
Children: (1) Daniel, m. Dorothy Pray. — (2)
John, d. in 1701.— (3) Hopewell, m. 12 May 1693,
Enoch Hutchins, Jr.; (2) 25 April 1711, Wm. Wilson.
— (4) Katharine, m. ab. 1694, Andrew Neal. — (5)
Sarah, m. ab. 1698, Thomas Thompson. — (6) Bethia,
m. in 1705, Joseph Gold. — (7) William, went to South
Descendants: Frederick Baker Furbish, Mrs.
Ellen Tasker Scales.
FROST, NICHOLAS, 1585-1663. He was a na-
tive of Tiverton, England. He came over before 1634,
and in that year settled at Leighton's Point in Eliot,
opposite Bloody Point in Newington. His son, Major
Charles Frost, born 30 July, 1631, in Tiverton, was one
of the most distinguished men of his time in Old Kit-
tery. It is probable that Nicholas came over first in
1632, then returned for his family, having decided to
settle in Kittery. He was chosen constable in 1640 and
served repeatedly as one of the selectmen. He was a
man of force and leadership and reared a distinguished
family. In 1651, the town granted Nicholas Frost
three hundred and forty acres, "joining on the west
Anthony Emery's land and on ye east side of ye land
with a brook which runs into Agamenticus river."
Other grants were made to Nicholas Frost from time
to time, till he had one of the largest estates in Kittery.
Just when he built his house on the slope of Frost's
Hill (which took its name from him) is not known, but
it was probably about the time of the grant of the land
in 1651. It was a garrison house built of large hewn
square logs. The grave of his son, Major Charles
Frost, IS in that neighborhood at what is known as
"Ambush Rock," near which the Indians killed him
July 4, 1697. He was buried near his garrison, but
the Indians dug up his body and hanged it on the top
of Frost's Hill, in what is now Eliot. So he had to be
reinterned. The Indians never forgave him for his part
in the "Sham Fight" at Major Walderne's garrison in
Children: (1) Charles, b. 30 July 1631 in Tiver-
ton, England; m. Mary Bolles.— (2) John, b. 7 Aug.
1633, in Tiverton. Settled in Boston. - (3) Anna, b.
17 April 1635, at Little Harbor, America.— (4) Cath-
arine, b. 25 Dec. 1637 in Old Kittery; m. (1) William
Leighton; (2) Joseph Hammond.— (5) Elizabeth, b.
10 May 1640 in Kittery; m. 14 May 1667 Wm. Gowen.
— (6) Nicholas, b. 30 May 1645, in Kittery; d. 1642, in
Descendmits: Nathan Goold, Mrs. Ella Weeks
Lamson, Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney, Miss Susan
Woodman, Miss Frances Hale Rolfe.
FROST, JOHN, of York, fisherman, received
grants of land in 1663 and 1669. He was killed by the
Indians. His estate was divided 14 Nov., 1678, be-
tween widow Rose and sons John and Philip, and
daughter Annis, wife of Alexander Maxwell. Adminis-
tration granted to John and Philip on estate of their
father, 2 July, 1677.
Children: (1) John, b. ab. 1650; m. 1674, Sarah,
dau. of Roger Kelley of the Isles of Shoals. (New
Hampshire Court Records, III. p. 376.) He died in
1718, at Star Island, leaving a widow, Sarah and chil-
dren : John Presented at court in 1707 for "abusing his
grandfather, Roger Kelley." John Frost of Wells,
mariner, and wife Abigail, sold house and acre of land
in Wells, in 1757. — (2) Samuel, m. Ann, dau. of Ed-
ward Gate. They lived in Newcastle in 1723. 10 Feb.
1755, Jane Frost of Portsmouth sold to Samuel Frost,
minor, nine acres originally part of the estate of her
grandfather, Edward Gate of Portsmouth, deceased. —
(3) Ithamer, left daughter and only heir, who m.
Arthur Randall of Gosport, N. H. — (4) Mary, m. Wil-
liam Fox.— (5) Philip, b. ab. 1652; m. before 1677,
Mrs. Martha Rankin, nee Merry. She had m. Andrew
Rankin before 1667, and had a son Joseph Rankin whc)
was apprenticed to Rev. Shubael Dummer of York.
Philip d. ab. 1693. A daughter Annis, m. William
Shaw of York and has many descendants. — (6) Annis,
who married Alexander Maxwell before 1678.
Desceyidants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
FURBER, SERGT. WILLIAM, 1614-1692. He
was born in London, England, and came over to New
England in 1636, in the ship Angel Gabriel, which
was wrecked at Pemaquid, in the great storm of Au-
gust, but he reached Ipswich, and later came to Dover.
1 Dec, 1676, he testified (age 62, or thereabouts) that
he came here in the ship Angel Gabriel in 1636 ; that
in November, 1636, he went to Ipswich and hired him-
self for one year to John Gogswell, who with his three
sons came over with him in the Angel Gabriel. He
came from London. At the end of his year's service
with Gogswell, he came to Dover, in 1637, and went to
work on Dover Neck ; he had lost most of his outfit in
the shipwreck at Pemaquid, so had to start new. He
was so industrious and so highly respected that in
1640 he acquired two house lots on the east side of High
street, and about that time he married Elizabeth ;
there was his home till he removed to Welchman's Gove,
on the east side of Little Bay, about 1657 ; at this cove
he had received a grant of land as early as 1652, and in
1657 he received another grant of 30 acres, adjoining
his first grant. There was his home the rest of life ;
several generations of his successors lived on that farm,
and kept a ferry at the Narrows between Great Ba>;
and Little Bay. 17 June, 1674, he gave his homestead
to his eldest son, William, who is known as Lieut. Wil-
liam Furber ; the parent only acquired the title of "Sar-
gent," and is so called in the old Dover records. On
the north side of Welchman's Cove, in 1652, Deacon
John Dam received a grant of 40 acres of upland, which
was laid out to him 10th, 11 mo., 1656, at which time
Furber's grant was laid out to him ; the lot layers were :
"Elder Nutter, William Storey, William ffurber, henry
lankster." On this lot Deacon Dam's son John made
his abode, about 1660, having married Sarah Hall ; she
died in 1663, and in 1664 he married Elizabeth Furber,
daughter of William. That land is known as Dame's
William Furber signed the Combination for good
government in 1640 ; 20 April, 1644, it was ordered by
the town "that Edward Starbuck, Richard Walderne
and William Furber be Wearsmen for Cotchecho Falls
and river, during their lives, or so long as they con-
tinue inhabitants in the town." * * * "Said wears-
men are bound to use all diligence in catching fish." *
* * "The said wearsmen are to have six thousand
of fish (alewives) , each of them for their ground, (fer-
tilizer for their corn)" etc., etc. In 1652, The Fresh
Creek mill privilege was granted to William Furber,
William Wentworth, Henry Langster and Thomas Can-
ney, at a rate of six pounds for the wood, and ten shil-
lings for every such mast as they may make use of.
In 1654, he was appointed steward to collect all rents
due the town. In 1675, July 15, William Furber, An-
thony Nutter and John Woodman were chosen "to treat
and discourse with the selectmen of Portsmouth and of
the Isles of Shoals or other meet persons" about "rais-
ing money for the relief of those who have suffered
either by their estates or services in the present war
with the Indians." He was elected one of the selectmen
in 1651 and several times after that. He was Commis-
sioner several years ; lot layer, and frequently on com-
mittees to settle boundaries; moderator of town
meetings numerous times. His name is on the tax lists
from 1648, the earliest extant, down to 1674, when he
gave his farm to his son William, and was one of the
large tax-payers. It is generally stated that he died in
1692, but Rev. Dr. Quint in his Historical Memoranda,
No. 157, says : — "he was alive 1 Dec. 1696, but dead in
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. about 1643 ; m. 9 Nov.
1664, John Dam, Jr.— (2) William, b. 1646; m. Eliza-
beth ; (2) Elizabeth (Heard) Nute; (3) Elizabeth
(Martyn) Kennard. He had three sons by his first
wife. Representative in the Provincial Assembly, be-
ginning in 1692 and serving continuously by re-elec-
tions till his death 14 Sept. 1707. Samuel Allen was
appointed Governor March 1, 1692, and assumed office
August 13, following. Assemblies were called, and
summoned by writ of the Royal Governor up to the
time of the Revolution. — (3) Jethro, b. ; m. Amy
Cowell. — (4) Moses, b. .(5) Hannah, b. ; m.
Roger Plaisted, Jr. — (6) Bertha, mentioned in Presi-
dent John Cutt's will. — (7) Esther, was living at home
in 1716.— (8) Bridget, m. Thomas Bickford.— (9)
Susannah, b. 5 May 1664 ; m. John Bickford.
Descendants: Charles Thornton Libby, John
GIBBONS, AMBROSE, first comes to view as
steward of Capt. John Mason at Newichawannock,
though it has been asserted that he began a settlement
at Cape Ann in 1621. In 1634, land was granted to
him at Sanders Point, between Little Harbor and Saga-
more Creek. He soon moved to Oyster River, in Dover.
He is mentioned as Captain in 1642. He was one of the
Selectmen of Dover in 1647 and 1648. He died 11 July,
1656. His wife's name was Rebecca; she died 14 May,
1655. Their only child, Rebecca, m. 13 Nov., 1637,
Henry Sherburne. She died 3 June, 1667. He was an
honest, capable and faithful steward, and knew better
than his employer what the plantation needed.
The land that he bought at Oyster River was the
farm known as the Robert Burnham farm, of which see
an account under Mr. Burnham's name in this book. It
may have been the same place where the old cellar now
is that he built his house ; probably it was the Gibbons
house that Burnham at first lived in. (It is an inter-
esting fact, too, that there once lived Capt. John Ma-
son's steward who came over in 1631.) His only daugh-
ter, Rebecca, m. Henry Sherburne of Portsmouth; to
their son, Samuel, grandfather Gibbons gave the farm
at Oyster River, and Samuel sold it to Robert Burnham,
as elsewhere noted. This is one of the historic farms
The plantation at Newichawannock (now South
Berwick) was begun, probably, in 1631. Ambrose Gib-
bons had charge. Mason and others wrote to him un-
der date of Nov. 5, 1632, "We praie you to take care of
our house at Newichawannock, and to look well after
our vines; also you may take some of our swine and
goates, which we pray you to preserve." This implies
that a house had been built sometime before and vines
planted. Here trade was carried on with the Indians,
who sometimes came to the number of one hundred. A
deposition shows that a piece of land was purchased of
the Indians. It probably lay on both sides of the Little
Newichawannock River, now called Great Works
River. July 13, 1633, Gibbons wrote Mason that
Thomas Warnerton had charge of the house at Pascata-
qua, or Little Harbor and had with him William
Cooper, Ralph Gee, Roger Knight and wife, William
Dermit and one boy. Certainly this was not a large
colony, but Capt. Walter Neal, Mason's agent in the
beginning of the settlement at Strawberry Bank
(Portsmouth), in 1630, had been ordered, previously,
to dismiss his household and return to England for
consultation regarding the settlement. With Gibbons
at Newichawannock there were his wife and daughter
Rebecca, who later became the wife of Henry Sher-
burne, Charles Knil, or Neal, Stephen Kidder or Ted-
dar, Thomas Clark and Thomas Crockett, who is some-
times called Crockwood. Gibbons was then planning
to withdraw from the service of Mason and settle at
Sanders Point, near Portsmouth. He appears to have
lived at this point until his daughter married, in 1637,
Henry Sherburne ; soon after that he gave to the daugh-
ter that place and he came up to Oyster River, as before
stated, where he resided till his death in 1656.
Before going to Sanders Point to reside he wrote
to Capt. Mason as follows : "You complain of your re-
turns ; you take the course to have little. A plantation
must be furnished with cattle and good hired-hands,
and necessaries for them, and not thinke the great
looks of men, and many words will be a means to raise
a plantation. Those that have been heare this three
year, som of them have neither meat, money nor clothes
— a great disparagement. I shall not need to speak of
this ; you shall heare of it by others. For myself, my
wife and child and 4 men, we have but h a bbl. of corne
beefe, and pork I have not had, and no peese this three
months, nor beare this four months, for I have had for
two and twenty months but two barrels of beare and
two barrels and four booshel of malt ; our number com-
monly hath been ten. I nor the servants have neither
money nor clothes."
It is no wonder that the faithful steward gave up
such a hopeless job and made his new home at Sanders
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
GODDARD, JOHN, 1608-1660. He was one of
Capt, John Mason's colonists who came over in the ship
"Pied Cow," and landed in a cove a short distance be-
low Quamphegan Falls (South Berwick), 13 July, 1634,
He helped build the saw mill and grist mill at Great
Works. Mr. Goddard was a carpenter and was under
contract, with others, to work for Mason five years ; it
appears he worked only three years, so in April 1653
Joseph Mason brought an action against Goddard "for
breach of contract in not keeping the saw mill and a
corne mill in repayer and worke the full time of five
years, etc." Goddard had come down river to Dover,
where he got land on better terms than he could around
the "Great Works." He had a lot on Dover Neck in
1648. He was made freeman in 1653, and he is fre-
quently mentioned in the Dover records. He owned
land at Oyster River and other parts of the old town ;
he was famous as a mill builder, being more active in
business than in politics. His four daughters married
men who became distinguished in the town and pro-
Children: (1) John, d. ab. 1678; unm. — (2) Ben-
jamin, b. 1672. — (3) Dau. ; m. John Oilman of Exeter
before 10 May, 1670. — (4) Mary; m. Arthur Bennett,
before 1670.— (5) Martha; m. (1) James Thomas ; (2)
Descefidants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane, Mrs.
Elizabeth E. Smith, John Scales.
GOWEN, WILLIAM, was born in Scotland about
1640; he came over before 1686 when he first appears
in Kittery. He seems to have been a promising young
man, as 14 May 1667, he was married to Elizabeth
Frost, daughter of the wealthy Nicholas Frost of that
town. He prospered in business and in 1670 the town
granted him a house lot. He died 2 April 1686.
Children: (1) Nicholas, b. 1667 ; m. Abigail Hods-
don. — (2) John, b. 19 Nov. 1668; m. Mercy Hammond.
— (3) William, b. ab. 1672; killed by the Indians, 12
Oct. 1691.— (4) Elizabeth, b. ab. 1673; m. 11 Feb. 1694,
Alexander Ferguson. — (5) James, b. 27 March, 1675;
m. Mary ; lived at Wells. — (6) Margaret, b. 25
Nov. 1678; m. 17 March, 1695, Daniel Emery; d. 21
Nov. 1751.— (7) Lemuel, b. 9 Feb. 1680; m. Sarah
; lived in Boston, 1715.— (8) Sarah, b. 30 March
1684; m. 1698, William Smith of Berwick.
Descendant: Mrs, Ella Weeks Lamson.
OILMAN, JOHN, 1624-1708. He was born in
England and came to Exeter in 1649. He immediately
became prominent in the affairs of the town. He was
in partnership with his brother Edward engaged in the
saw mill and lumber business, until his brother was lost
at sea in 1653 ; he then inherited a large share of his
brother's property and carried on the business alone
and did much in developing the resources of the town.
He was chosen selectman more than one half of the
years between 1650 and 1680. He was repeatedly
elected Commissioner to end small cases. He served on
important committees for the town. The town gave
him grants of land, and the special right of a grist
mill. For two years he was Associate Judge in the
Court of old Norfolk County. He was one of the first
Councillors when New Hampshire was made a province
separate from Massachusetts. In 1682 he was ap-
pointed Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. In 1693,
he was Speaker of the House of the Assembly. The
thing that is to his lasting memory is the log house,
built in 1650, that was a garrison in Indian war times,
and is now standing and well preserved. When Daniel
Webster attended school at Exeter Academy he had a
room in that house. This room is carefully pointed out
to visitors. John Oilman m. 30 June Elizabeth Tre-
worthy. He died 24 July 1708; she died 8 September
Children: (1) Mary, b. 10 Sept. 1658.— (2)
James, b. 6 Feb. 1659-60.— (3) Elizabeth, b. 16 Aug.
1661.— (4) John, b. 6 Oct. 1663.— (5) Catharine, b. 17
March 1664-5; d. 2 Sept. 1684.— (6) Sarah, b. 25 Sept.
1666-7.— (7) Lydia, b. 12 Dec. 1668.— (8) Samuel, b.
31 March, 1671 ; d. Aug. 1691.— (9) Nicholas, b. 16 Dec.
1672.— (10) Abigail, b. 3 Nov. 1674.— (11) John, b.
19 Jan. 1676-7. — (12) Deborah and Joanna (twins) b.
30 April 1679 ; Deborah d. 30 Sept. 1680.— (13) Joseph,
b. 28 Oct. 1680.— (14) Alice b. 23 May 1683.— (15)
Catherine, b. 27 Nov. 1684.
Descendafits: Mrs. Elizabeth E. Smith, Miss
Isabel Foster, A. B.
GLANDFIELD, PETER. It is not known at what
time he became a resident of Dover, but he had been
here sometime before 1663 when he was the owner of
land and other real estate and his name is on the tax
list that year. Later he lived at Old Kittery and finally
at Portsmouth. He was a tailor by trade. He appears
to have been very outspoken in his opinion of the rulers
of the province, so much so that he was fined for what
he said against Gov. Cranfield. His daughter, Ruth,
married Henry Kirke.
Children: (1) Ruth, m. (1) Caleb Stevens; (2)
Henry Kirke. — (2) Peter. There must have been a
son Peter, as the father was called "Senr." Apparently
his widow Margery married William Broad, as she was
mother of Peter Glanfield's two grandchildren accord-
ing to an early petition. — (3) Possibly Robert Gran-
field who had son Peter born at Salem 1670.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
GORDON, ALEXANDER, was one of Cromwell's
Scotch prisoners, sold into New England. His children
were recorded at Exeter, 1664-1682, by Mary, daughter
of Alexander Lisson of Exeter. He did service in the
second Indian war, but died in 1697, survived by his
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. 1664.— (2) Nicholas,
b. 1666.— (3) Mary, b. 1668; m. Nicholas Smith.— (4)
John, b. 1670.— (5) James, b. 1673.— (6) Alexander,
b. 1675.— (7) Thomas, b. 1678.— (8) Daniel, b. 1682.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
HALL, DEACON JOHN, 1617-1694. He was
born in England, 1617, and came to Dover with his
father, John Hall, before 1640, as in that year he or his
father signed the Combination agreement for good
government. In 1650, the assessors found in Dover
three John Halls — John, John, Jr., and Sergeant John.
Of these it appears that John Hall, Jr., was the man
who became the first Deacon of the First Church, and
is first mentioned as such — ''Deacon Hall" — in 1657,
and always after that is spoken of by that title. Just
where John Hall, Sr., resided is not known ; he appears
to have been in other places from time to time, but he
was in Dover in 1650. Nothing more can be said about
him, but his son, John, Jr., had much to do with public
affairs and was largely engaged in private business,
lumbering and shipping. His ship landing was on
Back River, and is known to this day as "Hall's slip."
The spring of water, known as ''Hall's Spring," is near
the landing, and many families, of the first settlers,
obtained their supply for domestic purposes from it;
the water is excellent to this day. In 1902, Col. Daniel
Hall had a curbing placed around it, which bears the
name "Hall's Spring." Deacon Hall's residence was
on the west side of High Street next south of the
Church lot, where the second meeting house was built
in 1654. There was a lane from his house to his land-
ing on Back River. In the closing years of his life his
son Ralph lived there with him, and after the death of
the Deacon in 1694, so continued till his death in 1706.
The reason the Church had no deacon before 1657,
is that the ruling elders, Elder Nutter, Elder Starbuck
and Elder Wentworth performed the duties of deacon ;
in 1654 the Church commenced holding service in the
new meeting-house, so in 1657 the first deacon was ap-
pointed, and John Hall was the man selected for the
oflfice. This shows that he was held in high esteem by
the Church and the town at large. In 1659, he was
chosen town clerk, but for some reason not explained,
the court refused to swear him into office, and the old
clerk, Lieut. William Pomfrett, was retained in office,
to which he was first elected in 1647, and held it con-
tinuously to 1670, when Deacon Hall was elected and
was sworn into office ; he held the office till 1686. He
was one of the selectmen in 1660 and was re-elected in
several years following. He was one of the Commis-
sioners, for settling small cases, for several years, and
in that capacity saved much litigation in the higher
courts of the Colony. For many years he was one of
the town's Lot Layers, whose business it was to set the
bounds of lots, when land was granted to citizens, and
to settle disputes about boundaries. He was a peace-
maker among his fellow citizens. They trusted to his
judgment. Deacon Hall is one of the most interesting
characters in the early settlement on Dover Neck. He
received a number of grants from the town, and must
have led a very busy life. 1 February, 1685, he deeded
one half of his property to his son Ralph, "on account
of age and weakness," and Ralph came to live with him.
His wife's name was Elizabeth, maiden name unknown.
Children: (1) John, b. 1644; d. 1697, being then
a member of the Provincial Assembly ; he was drowned
April 28, as he was coming up the river from Ports-
mouth, in a little float; married 8 Nov., 1671, Abigail,
dau. of John and Abigail (Nutter) Roberts. John
Roberts was son of Gov. Thomas Roberts and Abigail
was daughter of Elder Hatevil Nutter. John Hall's
widow married 24 Oct., 1698, Thomas Downs of
Cochecho, who was killed by the Indians in 1711, in the
locality known as the ''Ricker Field." — (2) Ralph, date
of birth unknown; m. twice, name of first wife not
known; m. 2d, 26 May, 1701, Mary, dau. of Philip
Chesley; Ralph Hall, d. 13 Nov., 1706; his widow m.
John Foye, of Dover. — (3) Hatevil. — (4) Nathaniel,
whose wife's name was Hannah; they lived at Back
River, in Dover. — (5) Grace, b. 16 March, 1663-4.
Descendants: Col. Daniel Hall, Mrs. Annie Went-
worth Baer, Charles Wells Hall, Albert H. Hall, Eri
Melvin Hall, Mrs. Marion Davis Hall, Mrs. Mary E.
HALL, LIEUT. RALPH, 1619-1699. He was son
of John Hall, Sr., and brother to Deacon John Hall.
The first we know of him was at Exeter ; the tradition
is that he was at the falls there before Mr. Wheelwright
commenced his settlement, by purchase of land from
the Indians. He had come to Dover, no doubt, soon
after the settlement was commenced on Dover Neck,
and it was an easy matter to go up river to the falls of
the Squamscot River and select a place for an abode in
the woods. He helped organize the town and signed
the Combination agreement for good government, as
his autograph is on that document; we do not know
whether or not he remained there until he commenced
his residence at Dover Neck in 1650, but he was a resi-
dent of Dover from that year until 1664, and was
prominent in the business affairs of the town. He ap-
pears to have been busy in land speculations elsewhere
before coming to Dover to live. At Charlestown, Mass.,
17 — 6 — 1647, he mortgaged to Thomas Gardiner of
Roxbury, land which he bought of Edward Burton, on
"Misticke side." Again he is on record as "Ralph Hall
of Charlestowne," who conveyed, 15 — 7 — 1648, 20 acres
on "Misticke side" to William Brackenburry of Charles-
towne ; the last sale that appears there is 2 — 2 — 1649,
when "Ralph Hall and Mary, his wife" conveyed 60
acres in Charlestowne to Richard Cooke of that town.
He commenced his residence in Dover in 1650, and dur-
ing the 14 years he resided here he was honored with
the rank of Lieutenant of the militia company of the
town. He was one of the selectmen for a few years ;
Commissioner for settlement of small cases, etc. In
1664, he sold his house on High street to Rev. John
Reyner, and soon after went to Exeter to reside, and
lived there the rest of his life. He was Delegate from
Dover in the First New Hampshire Assembly, that is
when New Hampshire came into existence, in 1680. He
was one of the influential men of Exeter and held vari-
ous offices that were conferred upon him by his fellow
citizens. He was a very keen business man, but honor-
able in all of his dealings. He was living in 1690 ; date
of death is not known.
Children: (1) Mary, b. 15 Jan. 1647; d. July 1648.
— (2) Huldah, b. 16 April 1649; of whom we find no
further trace.— (3) Mary, b. ; m. 13 Jan. 1668-9
Edward Smith of Exeter.— (4) Ralph, b. ; d. 6
June 1671.— (5) Samuel, b. ; d. 1690.— (6) Joseph
b. ; d. .(7) Kinsley, b. 1652; m. (1) 25 Sept.
1674, Elizabeth Dudley, dau. of Rev. Samuel Dudley of
Exeter; (2) Woodbury of Beverly, who died 24
Jan. 1728-9, aged 64 years.
Descendants: Col. John Dean Hall, Mrs. Dora E.
HALEY, ANDREW, 16—1697. He was largely
engaged in the fishing business at the Isles of Shoals at
an early date ; that he was a man of influence there is
manifest by the fact that he was known as "King of the
Shoals." He bought land in York in 1662 and sold
it in 1684. He married Deborah, dau. of Gowen Wil-
son. She was made admx. of his estate in 2 Dec. 1697.
Children: (1) Andrew, m. Elizabeth Scammon. —
(2) William, m. Sarah ; had a grant of land in
1699; was living in Boston 1714. — (3) Deliverance, m.
1 Jan. 1702, George Berry.— (4) Elizabeth, m. (1)
1695, John Nelson; (2) William Hoyt; (3) Nicholas
Hilliard. — (5) Deborah, m. Richard Crockett. — (6)
Anna, m. Richard Wescott. — (7) Rhoda, m. Samuel
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
HAMMOND, MAJOR JOSEPH, son of William
and Ber.edictus Hammond, was born in 1646. His
father, William, was settled in Wells before 1663.
Probably he was from Slymsbridge, England. He was
born in 1597 and died in 1702, aged 105 years. His
wife's name was Benedictus. Old records say that he
had sons Jonathan and Joseph; Jonathan had wife,
Mary, and was killed and scalped by the Indians in
1704. It was perhaps his widow that married James
Welch in 1709. A Jonathan, Jr., is mentioned in Wells
in 1709. Samuel Hammond bought land in Wells in
1713. Elizabeth, daughter of Jonathan Hammond,
married Samuel Ford of Charlestown, Mass. Another
daughter, Mary, married Samuel Treadwell. Abraham
Hammond was in Biddeford in 1720.
Major Joseph Hammond married before July 5,
1670, Catherine, widow of William Leighton and
daughter of Nicholas Frost. He died 20 Feb. 1710.
She died 15 Aug. 1715 in the 83d year of her age. Ma-
jor Hammond had a garrison house near Franks Fort.
He was many years Town Clerk, also Selectman and
Representative many times, in the General Court in
Boston ; he was Recorder of Deeds, Councillor, and
Judge of the Court of Common Pleas ; in early life htf
was Captain, and for many years was Major of the
militia in Indian war times.
Children: (1) Mercy, b. 1670; m. her cousin John
Gowen, about 1690.— (2) George, b. 11 Sept. 1672; d.
24 April 1690.— (3) Dorcas, b. 1675; m. Robert Cutt,
16 April 1690; d. 17 Nov. 1757.— (4) Joseph, b. 19 Jan.
1677 ; m. Hannah Storer.
Descendants Mrs. Florence E. (Hammond)
HEARD, CAPTAIN JOHN, 1610-1688. He was
born in England and was brought up a sailor. In early
manhood he became master of a ship, and followed the
seafaring life until he was about forty-five years old.
The date of his first voyage up the Pascataqua River is
not known, but it was before 1640, as in that year the
town of Dover granted to John Heard "6 yeckers of
land in Cochecho Marsh." This would not have been
done had he not been one of the well established citi-
zens of the town. Also that year he signed the Com-
bination Agreement for Good Government. At this
time his house of abode was on High street (Dover
Neck), adjoining "Captain Richard Walderne's lot."
(See map of Dover village of that date.) The Captain
of that date later became Major Walderne. These two
men appear to have been in business together for a
number of years following that date.
A deed given March 1, 1649, reads: "John Heard
of the River Pascataquacke, planter, (sold) to George
Walton, of the same place, taylor, one neck of land
called muskito liinge, on the Great Island." (New-
castle.) Feb. 26, 1656, 40 acres were granted to John
Heard "lying to the northward of Half Way Swamp,
on the north side of a 20 acre lot granted to John Ard-
way, 40 rods in breadth by the Cartway, or path which
goeth to the Marsh." This was the land on which he
built his garrison house, which stood where the brick
house now stands, known as the "Bangs" house, at
Garrison Hill. The "cartway" is now called Central
Avenue. John Heard received other grants, one of
which is what is known as the Guppy farm, which be-
longs to the City of Dover, by Will of the late Jeremy
Belknap Guppy. So the original grant has come back
to Dover, the original grantor, in 1650, to John Heard.
In 1655, both Capt. Heard and Capt. Walderne
were living at "Cochecho-in-Dover", the latter at the
falls of the river, and Heard at Garrison Hill. The indi-
cations are that up to that time Capt. Heard had
worked for Capt. Walderne in the way of shipping his
lumber to foreign ports, particularly to the West Indies,
where Dover merchants had a big trade with Barba-
does. After they moved up to what is now the center
of the city, Capt. Heard engaged in farming and lum-
bering, arid was often called upon to serve his towns-
men in official capacities, as the town records show.
He was land surveyor, grand juror, constable, referee
in settling land disputes, where one grant to one man
overlapped a grant made to another, etc., etc. In the
Mason law suits he was one of the prosecuted land
owners, and fought the claim until the farmers won
His house was converted into a garrison by a
stockade around it, soon after 1675, but the Indians
never troubled it while the Captain lived ; they received
favors from his good wife, which they did not forget
at a later period. Capt. Heard died 17 Jan. 1688, about
six months before the great massacre, in which Major
Walderne lost his life. At that time his garrison was
attacked, but not captured. The story of the defense
is interesting but need not be told here.
John Heard married, about 1642, Elizabeth Hull,
daughter of Rev. Joseph Hull, of York, Me., (at that
time). He was born in England in 1594, and gradu-
ated from Oxford University in 1614. He was teacher,
curate and minister in the Church of England before
coming to New England, in 1635, and settled at Wey-
mouth, Mass., with a company of one hundred and six
persons. Following that he served as a Puritan minis-
ter in various churches. He was at York in 1642-45.
Later he was minister at Oyster River; just when he
went there is not known, but he was there in 1662-63.
After that he was minister at the church. Isles of
Shoals, and died there 18 Nov. 1665. He is pioneer
ancestor of several of the "Piscataqua Pioneers," and
deserves mention as such. He was an able pioneer, a
devout minister, and a useful citizen, wherever he dwelt.
He had a large family of children, one of the eldest of
whom was John Heard's wife, who was born in Eng-
land and came over with her parents in 1635. She was
an excellent and brave woman, and some of her de-
scendants regard her as one of their pioneer ancestors
whom they most highly esteem. The story of how she
escaped being killed by the Indians at the time of the
massacre, 28 June 1689, shows that she had befriended
the Indians, and they remembered her kindness when
they looked her in the face, when about to kill her, and
turned away, leaving her unharmed. Rev. John Pike
speaks of her in his Journal as "a grave and pious wo-
man, a mother of virtue and piety, and also the mother
of thirteen children." She died 30 Nov. 1706. The
Will of John Heard is dated April 2, 1687 ; it was pro-
bated in 1692.
Children: (1) Benjamin, b. 20 Feb. 1643, at
York, Me., where his grandparents (Hull) then lived.
It would seem that Capt. Heard had not got his house
in order at Garrison Hill at that time. Benjamin m.
(1) Elizabeth Roberts, daughter of John Roberts, and
granddaughter of Gov. Thomas Roberts; (2) Ruth
Eastman. He lived on what is now known as the Guppy
farm ; his father gave it to him in his Will. The farm
passed from Benjamin, Sr. to Benjamin, Jr., who gave
it to his son James ; and in turn James gave it to his
son Benjamin in 1749, who sold it to Capt. James Gup-
py in 1767, and it remained in possession of the Guppy
family until the death of Jeremy Belknap Guppy in the
winter of 1917. The house was built in 1690 by Cap-
tain Benjamin Heard. — (2) William, b. ab. 1645; m.
; d. 1675, leaving no children. — (3) Katherine, b.
ab. 1647; d. young.— (4) Mary, b. 26 Jan. 1649; m.
John Ham. — (5) Abigail, b. 2 August 1651 ; m. Jenkins
Jones. — (6) Elizabeth, b. 15 Sept. 1653; m. James
Nute. — (7) Hannah, b. 25 Nov. 1655; m. John Nason.
— (8) John, b. 24 Feb. 1658 ; m. Phebe . (9) Joseph
b. 4 June, 1661 ; not mentioned in his father's will, as
probably he was dead. — (10) Samtiel, b. 4 Aug. 1663;
m. Experience Otis. — (11) Dorcas, b. ab. 1665; m.
Jabez Garland. — (12) Tristram, b. March 1667; m.
Abigail .(13) Nathaniel, b. 20 Sept. 1668; m.
Sarah . His grave is in the ancient Waldron bury-
ing ground on Chapel street, and is marked with a slate
head stone ; it is the oldest marked grave stone in
Dover; it is as follows — "Here lyeth ye body of Na-
thaniel Herd, aged 31 years. Dyed Aprill ye 3, 1700."
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth Baer, Mrs.
Abby G. Griffin, Miss Annie Katherine Seavey, George
W. Seavey, Charles Thornton Libby.
HEARD, JOHN, (of Eliot), was in Kittery in
1640; he was not a Dover man, but lived at first on
Champernowne's Island. Later he moved up the river,
and was living with his wife at Sturgeon Creek in 1645.
Her name was Isabel. At the session of the Court held
at Saco, 25 June 1640, John Heard of Kittery is on
record as being present. The first election of Towns-
men or Selectmen was 16 July 1648, and Nicholas
Shapleigh, John Heard and Nicholas Frost were chosen,
all from what is now Eliot, showing where the greater
part of the population of Old Kittery then lived. The
fact that a grant of land was made 14 Feb. 1648, by
Nicholas Shapleigh, John Heard and Nicholas Frost
as agents for the town, is evidence that these men were
Selectmen in 1647, and probably before that. In 1652,
he was one of the signers to the document placing
Maine under Massachusetts. His will dated 3 March,
1675-6, was probated 21 Feb., 1676-7. He gave all his
property to his grandchildren, children of his son
Children: (1) James, b. in England ab. 1620; m.
Shua ; d. before 1676; his widow m. (2) Richard
Otis of Quochecho-in-Dover, about 1677. — (2) John,
b. ab. 1667.— (3) Mary, probably unm.— (4) Elizabeth,
m. (1) James Chadbourne, (before 1680) ; (2) Samuel
Small. — (5) Katharine, m. John Wooden, of Wells,
Me., and Salem, Mass. — (6) Abigail, m. 2 Feb. 1688-9,
Job Clement of Dover. — (7) Ann, m. Robert Evans, Jr.,
Descendants: Samuel Frye Walcott, Mrs. Annie
(Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
HANSON, THOMAS, 1586-1666. He was born in
England, where his ancestry is traced back to the 12th
century. As to the date of his birth, the following is
furnished by Rev. Dr. Everett S. Stackpole, who says :
"I found a deposition of Thomas Hanson in the N.
Y. Genealogical and Biographical Record Vol. 47, I
think. He deposed 7 March, 1636-7, aged 50, concern-
ing his brother-in-law, Daniel Paul of Ipswich, Eng-
land, later of Kittery. He was born, therefore, in or
about 1586. Either he married Mary Paul, or Daniel
Paul married Elizabeth Hanson, hence they were
brothers-in-law. I take it that this Thomas Hanson is
the one who settled in Dover. That same Vol. 47 of N.
Y. Gen. and Biog. Record contains a deposition by
Nicholas Shapleigh of Pescattaqua in New England,
'ubi moram fecit per spacium duorum annorum, antea
apud Dartmouth in Com Devon, a nativitate sua, ortus
ibide.' The deposition was made 22 May 1645, aged 37."
From the above it appears that Thomas Hanson
was here in New England in 1636. His wife's name
was Mary Paul : and Daniel Paul's wife was Elizabeth
Hanson. This Daniel Paul is first mentioned as a
"mariner", which usually meant a master of a vessel,
in Boston, 26 August, 1640. He declared himself from
Ipswich, England, and gave a letter of attorney for the
sale of lands in Ipswich and delivery of money to his
wife Elizabeth. It is a fair conclusion that Thomas
Hanson was from Ipswich, England, and that he was
living in Kittery before he came up to Dover and made
his. residence at Knox's Marsh, where the town gave
him a grant of land, which has remained in possession
of his descendants to the present time (1918).
Thomas Hanson was a resident of Dover before
1650, according to the town records, in which he is
mentioned several times. He was constable, grand
juror, petit juror, highway surveyor, and otherwise en-
gaged in community work. He was farmer and lum-
berman, and prospered in business. In addition to his
farm he had other grants of land from the town, one of
which was 100 acres of timber land at Salmon Falls
Children: (1) Tobias, b. about 1640, probably in
Old Kittery (Eliot). His wife's name is not known;
she and his mother were captured and killed by the
Indians June 28, 1689, when Major Walderne's garri-
son was destroyed. He escaped at that time but was
killed by the Indians May 10th, 1693,— (2) Thomas, b.
in 1643, probably in Old Kittery (Eliot) ; m, ab. 1678,
Mary , He inherited the home farm at Knox's
Marsh; he made his Will in 1710. They had children:
Thomas, b. 1680; John, Nathaniel, Mary, Elizabeth,
James and Abigail. — (3) Isaac, b. ab. 1648; he was on
the tax list of 1676 and later. He lived on the upper
part of Dover Neck Village, on the bank of Fore River.
— (4) Timothy, b, ab, 1651; no further record of him.
— (5) Mary, and another daughter, name not known.
Descendants: Mrs. Sophia Dodge Hall, Mrs. Alice
Kingman (Hayes) Rice, Miss Annie Katharine Seavey,
Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKin-
ney, George W. Seavey.
HODSDON, NICHOLAS, was born in England
and came to Hingham, Mass,, before 1635, in which
place he lived several years and then went to Water-
town, where he was living in 1650, In the course of
two or three years he came to Kittery, where he is on
record as living in 1655, in the upper part of the old
town. For a while he is on record as living at Quam-
phegan ; his last abode was near Birch Point Brook, in
South Berwick. His first wife was Esther Wines, who
died 29 Nov., 1647 ; his second wife was Elizabeth ,
who is supposed to be the daughter of John Wincoll.
Descendant: Arthur Clarke Harrington.
HILL, JOHN, 1624-1690. From the evidence ob-
tainable it appears that he was born in 1624; that he
was son of John Hill of Plymouth, who moved from
Plymouth to Boston in 1630, or soon after Gov. Win-
throp's company got settled there. He remained there,
and was made freeman 18 March 1642. He was much
engaged in land speculations, in various places, among
them Oyster River-in-Dover. He died in 1647 and his
son John received the land. This son was made free-
man in Boston 6 March 1645, and came to live at Oyster
River before 1650, in which year his name appears on
the tax list. He was married 16 Jan. 1656, in Boston,
to Elizabeth Strong, and took his bride to Oyster River
to live. He held minor town offices, being too busily
engaged in business to devote much time to public
affairs. He was one of the large tax-payers. His son
Samuel married Elizabeth Williams 28 Oct. 1680, and
settled in Old Kittery, now Eliot, where he bought land
in 1686 which is still in possession of his descendants,
never having passed out of the name, — HILL.
Children: (1) Joseph, b. 1657; m. (1) Catherine
Knight, (2) Susannah Beedle. — (2) Samuel, b. ab.
1659; m. 28 Oct. 1680, Elizabeth Williams.— (3) John,
b. 1661; m. Sarah Brackett of Portsmouth. — (4) Ben-
jamin, b. 8 April 1665; d. young. — (5) Hannah; m.
William Frye of Kittery (now Eliot).— (6) Elizabeth;
m. John Avery of Stratham.
Descendant: Mrs. Ellen Tasker Scales.
HUCKINS, ROBERT, 1615-1694, was born in
England about 1615; when he came to New England is
not known, but he was in Dover before 1640, and was
a resident on Dover Neck, where he signed the Com-
bination agreement for good government; there ap-
pears to have been his home for a number of years. He
was a seaman and fisherman, in business, but the town
gave him a grant of twenty acres of land, on the west
side of Back River in 1642, it being lot No. 16 of the
historic 20-acre lots. He never lived there ; he sold it
a few years later. His name does not appear on any
tax list, which indicates he was not an owner of real
estate. He was in the fishing business, which paid bet-
ter than farming and lumbering. His name does not
appear on the town records, except in the Combination
agreement and in the Back River grant. The name in
those instances is spelled Huggins ; the original spelling
in Old England was — "Hughkins." The date of his
settlement at Oyster River is not known, but probably
about 1650. The name of his wife is not known, nor
the names of any children, except his son James, who
was born about 1642, and was a taxpayer in 1664 and
the years following. The last mention of Robert
Huckins is by Rev. John Pike in his Journal, in which
he says, in speaking of the massacre at Oyster River,
18 July 1694, "Old Mr. Huggins was killed that day."
Just where he was at is not stated. He was then about
80 years old. His son :
LIEUT. JAMES HUCKINS was born at Dover
Neck ab. 1642 and became a land owner before 1664,
somewhere at Oyster River. In New Hampshire deeds.
Vol. 3, page 127a, is a deed 19 April 1675 of William
Beard and Elizabeth, ux., of "gift gratisly & ffreely to
James Huckins, without any entail." This plainly in-
dicates that James's wife was daughter of William and
Elizabeth Beard; there could be no other reason for
such a gift. If so she must have been his first wife, and
after her death he married, about 1671, Sarah Burn-
ham, daughter of Robert and Frances Burnham, who
was the mother of his children. She deposed 31 Dec.
1673 that she was then "about 19 years of age." So
she was born in 1654, and was married when only 17.
The land that Mr. Beard gave to James Huckins
is on the north side of Beards's Creek, on the Coe farm
(1918). On this tract he built a garrison house soon
after receiving the gift. The house was located a short
distance south of the residence of the late Andrew E.
Meserve, east of the railroad, as it runs from the Dur-
ham station to Dover. In August, 1689, the Indians
ambushed and slew him and seventeen men while they
were at work in the field which now (1918) belongs to
the Joseph W. Coe estate. Here they were all buried, a
large mound being placed over their bodies, and it is
said that mound has remained undisturbed to this time
(1918). In the next century James's son Robert re-
built a house on the spot of the old garrison, where
several generations of the Huckins family continued
After the Indians had killed the men at work in
the field they attacked the garrison-house which was
defended by only two boys and some women and chil-
dren. They managed to set fire to the roof of the
garrison but the boys and women held out till the In-
dians promised to spare the lives of all, but after sur-
rendering they killed some of the children, and carried
away, captives, the rest of the inmates, but one of the
boys escaped the next day and came home. The garri-
son-house was destroyed. James Huckins's widow was
rescued after a year of captivity at Fort Androscog-
gin, which was located on Laurel Hill, Auburn, Me.
Some details of this attack have been preserved in
a letter of Jeremiah Swa^en to Governor Simon Brad-
street, dated at Salmon Falls, 7 — 15 — 1689. He says, —
"A house poorly fortified at Oyster River was taken by
ye Enimie being about sixty in ye company; though
part of Cap. Gardner's Compa, lodged the night before
at said house, and were moved away about half an hour
before ye assault, and were got to Cocheacha, where a
post over took them and they faced about and pursued
ye enemy but could not find them — One of ye captives
made his escape two days after he was taken, whom ye
Indians told that they had beleagued the place three
days and when they knew how many men belonged to
ye house & seeing ym all gathering corn, came and
killed them first, and then sett upon ye house where
were onely women, children & two Boyes ; they killed
and Captivated Eighteene persons none escaping."
Vol. IX. p. 57, Coll. of Maine Historical Society.
James Huckins's widow, who was rescued by Ma-
jor Church after a year's captivity among the Andros-
coggin Indians, married (2) Captain John Woodman,
17 Oct., 1700. The Woodman garrison was not far
from the Huckins' garrison. She is not named in Capt.
Woodman's Will of 20 Dec, 1705.
Children: (1) Robert, b. 12 Dec. 1672; m. Wel-
then Thomas; resided on the home farm. He was a
prominent citizen of the town and held various town
offices. He had a mill on Huckins's brook, that empties
into the head of Beard's Creek. His father had a mill
there before him, hence was called "miller and hus-
bandman." — (2) Sarah, b. 12 Dec. 1674; m. James
Chesley. — (3) James, b. 16 July 1675; d, s. p.
Descendants: Mrs. Sophia Persis (Critchett) Bil-
lings, Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane, Henry Winthrop
Hardon, Esq., Horace S. Huckins, M. D., Mrs. Clara A.
P. Blinn, John Scales.
HULL, REV. JOSEPH, 1594-1665. Thomas Hull
married Joanna Peson, 11 Jan. 1572, at Crewkerne,
Somersetshire, England. Th,eir son. Rev. Joseph Hull,
was born in 1594 and graduated at St. Mary Hall, Ox-
ford, in 1614. He was a teacher, curate and minister
at Colyton, Devonshire, rector at Northleigh, diocese of
Exeter, 1621-22, also of Crewkerne. He sailed from
Weymouth, England, 25 March, 1635, with a company
of one hundred and six persons. He was then forty
years old and had a wife, Agnes, aged twenty-five, evi-
dently his second wife, and children: Joane, aged 15;
Joseph, aged 13 ; Tristram, aged 11 ; Temperance, aged
9; Elizabeth, aged 7; Grissell, aged 5; and Dorothy,
aged 3. He lived successively Weymouth, Hingham,
Barnstable and Yarmouth, Mass., and in York, Maine.
He was commissioner and deputy for Hingham in 1638.
He was at York 1642-45. Other children were born
after his arrival in New England. He returned to
England in 1645 and for a time was rector at St. Bury-
an, Cornwall. He was serving at Oyster River in 1662,
as shown incidentally in a history of the Friends, some
of whom made disturbance in his meetings. From
Oyster River he went to the Isles of Shoals and was
minister there till he died 18 Nov. 1665. His widow,
Agnes, administered his estate. Her account says that
"the Isles owed him for his ministry twenty pounds."
The total value of his estate was £62-5s-5d, of which
£10 were for books.
Childreyi: (1) Joane, b. 1620; m. (1) 28 Nov.
1639 John Bursley, (2) Dolor Davis; d. 1683.— (2)
Joseph, b. 1622 ; living in 1635.— (3) Tristram, b. 1624;
m. Blanch ; he died 22 Feb. 1666; she m. (2) Wil-
liam Hedge of Yarmouth, Mass. — (4) Temperance, b.
1626; m. John Bickford of Oyster River. — (5) Eliza-
beth, b. 1628; m. Capt. John Heard of Cochecho-in-
Dover. She has an interesting history in connection
with the massacre at Cochecho 28 June, 1689. See His-
torical Memoranda of Old Dover, page 243. — (6) Gris-
sell, b. 1630. The Hull Genealogy says she married
James Warren of the Parish of Unity, now South Ber-
wick, Me. ; if so, she was second wife, as his first wife's
name was Margaret. James Warren's youngest child
was named Grizel, b. 6 Aug. 1662 ; she was the third
wife of Richard Otis. She was taken prisoner when
the Otis garrison was captured and burned by the In-
dians 28 June, 1689. She was carried to Canada and
never returned; she m. there Philip Robitaile. — (7)
Dorothy, b. 1632; m. (1) Oliver Kent, (2) Benjamin
Mathews.— (8) Hopewell, b. ab. 1636; m. Mary dau. of
John Martin of Oyster River, and removed to New Jer-
sey. — (9) Benjamin, b. in Hingham, Mass., 24 March,
1638-9; m. 1668, Rachel, dau. of Richard York, and
removed to New Jersey. See History of Durham, N.
H., p. 225.— (10) Naomi, b. and bapt. 23 March, 1640;
m. David Daniel; she was a widow in 1685. — (11)
Ruth, b. and bapt. 9 May, 1642.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney;
Walter Blake McKinney, Miss Annie Katharine Seavey,
Charles Thornton Libby, George W. Seavey.
HUNKING, JOHN, 1620-1682. He was born in
England about 1620. He was son of Hercules Hunkingj
of Devonshire, according to a deed on record at Con-
cord, N. H., Vol. 3, page 178a. It is not known that
Hercules came to Portsmouth, neither is it known what
year his son John came over, but his arrival was be-
fore 1650. He was engaged in the fishing business at
the Isles of Shoals, and had his home at Portsmouth
where he was a ship-builder. He accumulated much
property, owning houses and land in the town. He had
a brother, Mark Hunking, who made his Will in 1666
and died in 1667. This Mark had a son Mark who is
known as Colonel Hunking; he was Councillor, Judge,
Register of Probate, and d. in 1731. His daughter,
Sarah, was wife of Lieut. Gov. John Wentworth, and
mother of Gov. Benning Wentworth, and grandmother
of the last Provincial Governor John Wentworth.
John Hunking made his will 5 August, 1681 ;
proved in 1682, in which year he died. He mentions
wife Agnes, and children, and divides among them a
large amount of property.
Children: (1) John, b. 2 March, 1651 ; d. in Eng-
land in 1660.— (2) Hercules, b. 11 July, 1656; not
named in his father's will. — (3) John, b. 6 April, 1660 ;
m. Mary Leighton of Kittery. She had an only daugh-
ter as appears in a York deed. — (4) Peter, b. 20 Mar.
1662.— (5) Agnes, b. 2 June, 1665.— (6) William, b. 6
January, 1667 ; m. 12 May, 1692, Sarah Partridge ; he
was living in 1720, in Portsmouth. In the N. H. Pro-
vince Deeds the following references to him can be
Vol. 6, p. 40—1693, Dec. 28— "Land Joyning to the
Westward Fence of Samll Penhallows Orchard, wch
Land was Sometime Since improved by Wm. Hunking
for a Ship yard & fronts on the Cove." Reference in
deed of Sam. Cutt to Sam. Penhallow.
1693, Dec. 26— "Bought of Matthew Nelson of
Portsmouth one dwelling house and land in Portsmouth
neere the meeting house." Vol. 9, p. 1.
1700, Dec. 10 — William Hunking- and Sarah his
wife conveyed to James Spinney 8 acres in Portsmouth
near Boiling Rock, granted to Jno. Hunking my De-
ceased father. Vol. 7, p. 405b.
1712, Sept. 29— William Hunking and Sarah his
wife, conveyed 65 acres "in the Pitch Pine plaines"
with all the buildings to John Wentworth of Ports-
mouth. Vol. 8, p. 274.
1712, Dec. 30 — Quitclaimed all rights to the Com-
mon Lands in Portsmouth to John Wentworth. Vol.
8, p. 305.
1723, Dec. 28— William Hunking and Sarah his
wife, conveyed to Mark Hunking, son, of Portsmouth,
shipwright, in consideration of 150 pounds current
money of New England, "two dwelling houses, barn &
Land — Scituate in Portsmouth — near the ould meeting
house, which was sold by Matthew Nellson to William
Hunking. (See above 1693, one dwelling house then
mentioned.) Said Mark was to enjoy one half of the
estate immediately, and the second half on the decease
of William and Sarah.
From a deed of John Hunking, brother of William,
1682, Vol. 14, p. 58, we get the information that they,
John and William, were sons of John and grandsons of
Hercules Hunking, deceased of England. William's
son Mark above mentioned, was the Captain Mark
Hunking of Barrington, who settled on his father's lot
of land, in the "Two Mile Streak," in that town, which
lot was drawn by William when the town was divided
among the taxpayers of Portsmouth.
(7) Mark, b. 17 May, 1670; m. 20 June 1697, Mary
Harvey ; d. 1699, s. p. ; she m. (2) Rev. John Newmarch
5 Dec. 1699. — (8) Elizabeth, b. ; named in her
Descendants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane, John
Scales, Emma Lougee Winkley.
HAZLETT, MATTHEW, was born in Boston 22
March, 1743. He removed to Portsmouth before the
beginning of the Revolution. He signed the Associa-
tion Test in 1776, at Portsmouth. He was one of the
prominent business men of the town, and participated
in the management of public affairs. He advertised
his business in the New Hampshire Gazette (which was
started in 1756) by having inserted in the issue of 17
July 1767 the first illustrated advertisement that ap-
peared in that paper; it was a special newspaper cut,
and attracted much attention, bringing much patronage
to his place of business. He married, 10 Dec. 1774, Ann
Frost of Portsmouth.
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. 7 Oct. 1775; m.
Stocker; d. 6 July 1840.— (2) Dorothy, b. 7 July 1777;
m. Safford ; d. Sept. 1776.— (3) Reuben, b. 26 Jan.
1779._(4) William, b. 16 Sept. 1780; d. 31 Jan. 1863.
— (5) Martha, b. 8 Aug. 1782; d. 28 June 1865.— (6)
Sally Frost Perkins, b. 31 Jan. 1785 ; d. 23 Dec. 1805.—
(7) Samuel, b. 17 March 1789.— (8) Mahitable, b. 17
April 1790.— (9) Polly Wendell, b. 18 July 1792; d.
Descendant: Charles Albert Hazlett.
HILTON, EDWARD, 1595-1671. He was the
"Father of the Settlement of New Hampshire" at what
is now known as Dover Point. He probably was a na-
tive of London ; of good ancestry ; well educated ; that
he was in business with the leading men of the city is
shown by his being admitted to membership, in 1621,
in the Aristocratic Fishmongers's Guild, which con-
trolled the fishing business, to a large extent, at New-
foundland and along the New England coast. His con-
nection with that Guild led to his visiting the fishing ter-
ritory along the coast, so he was no stranger here when
he came over in 1623 in the ship "Providence and Ply-
mouth" which was owned by three merchants of Ply-
mouth, Abraham Colmer, Nicholas Sherwell and
Leonard Pomeroy, and began the settlement at Dover
Point. The party landed in the cove that was after-
wards called Pomeroy's Cove; the railroad filling has
cut it in two, Mr. Pomeroy may have been one of the
original party that came over with Mr. Hilton. Mr.
Hilton's house stood where the present (1918) Hilton
Hall stands. This was his home till about 1640, a little
before which date he removed to that part of old Exe-
ter now Newfields. There was his home till his death
in 1671. For thirty years he was one of the leading
citizens of Exeter.
He began the settlement at Dover Point by some
sort of arrangement, not now known, with Mr. David
Thompson, who had a patent from the Plymouth Com-
pany, obtained in 1622, under which he commenced a
settlement at what is known as Odiorne's Point, in the
spring of 1623, but remained there only two or three
years, then going to Thompson's Island in Boston Har-
bor. Mr. Hilton in 1629, obtained a new patent, known
as the "Squamscot Patent," to confirm and protect his
rights against the patents of Capt. John Mason and
others. This patent gave him the land at Newfields on
which he settled after Capt. Thomas Wiggin's party
came over in 1633. He did not make himself conspicu-
ous under Capt. Wiggin's rule, but after the towns
came under the rule of Massachusetts in 1643, he was
appointed one of the Judges of the Court that was
established by the Massachusetts authorities for Dover
and Portsmouth and Exeter. In 1645, he was elected
one of the selectmen of Exeter and served in that office
several years. He was Exeter's Deputy in the General
Court at Boston several times. He held other offices of
trust and was one of the town's most useful citizens.
The cemetery in which he was buried is near Rocking-
ham Junction, on the east side of the Boston & Maine
road, and on the south side of the Concord and Ports-
mouth road. His lands remained in possession of the
Hilton family several generations.
It seems that he was not married at the time of
beginning the settlement of Dover, but was married
soon after. The name of his first wife is not known ;
the date of her death is not known, but it was before
1650. He married (2) before 1650, Mrs. Catharine
Treworgye, widow of James Treworgye, and daughter
of Alexander Shapleigh, and sister of Nicholas Shap-
leigh of Kittery (Eliot). She died in 167 — and her
will is on record in Vol. I of the Probate records.
Children (by first wife); (1) Edward, b. 1626;
m. Ann Dudley, daughter of Rev. Samuel Dudley and
granddaughter of Gov. Thomas Dudley, also of Gov.
John Winthrop ; she was b. 16 Oct. 1641 ; d. 16 April
1699; she survived him several years. — (2) William,
b. 1628 ; m. Rebecca Symonds, daughter of John
Symonds, one of Capt. John Mason's company of men
that he sent over in 1634. They lived in Kittery, at
Great Cove, on a lot that Symonds gave his daughter,
for a few years after marriage, then removed to Exe-
ter. He was a noted sea captain, and was in the ex-
pedition that made discoveries or surveys about 1662,
along the Carolina and Florida coast, an account of
which was published in London in 1664. The historic
Hilton Head, South Carolina, received its name from
him. He died about 1690; his eldest son, Edward, was
administrator of his estate. — (3) Samuel, b. 1630; no
record of his career. — (4) Sobriety, b. Jan. 1632-3 ; m.
Henry Moulton of Hampton; d. 31 Jan. 1718. — (5)
Susannah, b. Jan., 1633-4; m. Christopher Palmer of
Hampton; d. 9 Jan., 1716.— (6) Charles, b. 1636; no
record of him.
Descendants: Lucy E. Gordon; Mrs. Bertha
(Palmer) Greene, Mrs. Elizabeth (Palmer) Place, Wal-
ter Blake McKinney, Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Mrs. Lucy Gordon Varney, Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood.
HILTON, WILLIAM, 1590-1656, was born in Eng-
land ab. 1590; he was son of Mark Hilton and elder
brother of Edward, founder of Dover, N. H. He was
an educated man, but not a college graduate. He was
admitted as member of the great and exclusive Fish-
mongers' Guild in London in 1616, to which his brother
Edward was admitted in 1621. They became partners
in the fishing business at Dover in 1623, and being
members of this aristocratic Guild in London were in
position to make large profit in the business. William
Hilton was married before he came to Plymouth, Mass.,
where he arrived in the ship "Fortune" 11 Nov., 1621 ;
his wife and two children arrived there in July, 1623.
In 1622, Plymouth Colony gave him a grant of one
acre of land, "lying to the sea, eastward, etc." and to
his wife and two children three acres — abutting
against the swamp and reed pond. No use was made
of these grants, by them.
William Hilton returned to England in 1622, and
made preparation for his wife and children to come
over, as they did, in 1623. He also came over again in
1623, but not with his wife; he came with his brother
Edward, and arrived at what is now known as Dover
Point, in N. H., in May, or April, 1623, and commenced
the first permanent settlement in Netv Hampshire.
That this is the fact is proven by a petition of William
Hilton, Jr., in 1660 "To the Honored General Court at
Boston" — In which he states that he came over to Ply-
mouth, Mass., with his mother, arriving there in July,
1623, and — "in a little tyme following (we) settled up-
on the River Pascataqua with Mr. Edw. Hilton, who
(Edward and William) were the first English settlers
there. They had much intercourse with ye Indians by
way of trade and mutual giving and receiving; amongst
whom was one Tahanto, Sagamore of Penacooke (who)
for diverse kindnesses received from your petitioner's
father & himself, did freely give unto ye aforesaid Wil-
liam Hilton, Seniour & William Hilton, Juniour, six
square miles of land lying on ye River Penneconaquegg,
being a rivulett running into ye river Penacooke, to ye
eastward, etc., etc."
"The Court having considered ye contents of this
petition, judg meet not to grant the same, but consid-
ering the petitioners' grounds for the approbation of
the Indian's grant, doe judg meet to grant that three
hundred acres of the said land bee sett out to the peti-
tioners by a committee chosen by this Court, so that it
may not prejudice any plantation, and this as a final
end of all future claims by virtue of such grant from
This historic petition has proved beyond question
that the first permanent settlement in New Hampshire
was made at Dover Point in 1623 by Edward and Wil-
liam Hilton and those who came over with them ; David
Thompson settlement at Odiorne's Point was only tem-
porary, never permanent; he may have got his house
partly built before the Hiltons commenced building
dwellings on Dover Point, but he lived there only a
little while, and the house remained unused until 1630,
when the settlement was commenced at Strawberry
Bank by the party sent over by Capt. John Mason.
William Hilton had grants of land from the town
of Dover, one of which was at Oyster River, which he
sold to Francis Mathes. He received grants from
Exeter. He was Representative from Dover in the
General Court in 1644. He was appointed Associate
Justice for the Dover Court 27 Sept., 1642, and held the
office three years. Soon after that, 1645 or 1646, he
appears to have engaged in keeping an "ordinary" at
Warehouse Point, Kittery, and from that time on till
his death he was a resident of Kittery and York. He
was one of the selectmen of York in 1652, 1653 and
1654. He kept an "ordinary" and ferry at York River.
He received grants of land from the town ; one was 4
July, 1653, and another 4 June, 1654, of twenty acres
each. He appears to have been one of the esteemed
citizens of ^ork. He died in 1655. In the course of
a year his widow married Richard White. Letters of
administration on the estate of William Hilton were
granted to Richard White 30 June 1656.
It is an interesting fact that William Hilton was
the first white man who planted and raised corn in Old
Kittery, on the bank of the Pascataqua River; it was
in that part of it now Eliot, and directly across the
river from Dover Point, and south of Cammock's Creek
sometimes called Shapleigh's Creek. It was an old corn
field used by the Indians long before the white men
came to these shores to plant corn. When he com-
menced to use it is not known, but probably he made
some arrangement with the Indians who owned the
field by which he came into ownership of it, built a
house there, and raised corn there until thrown out of
possession by Capt. Walter Neal, who was agent for
Capt. John Mason at Portsmouth, and the Laconia
Company. It is quite likely that he commenced plant-
ing in 1624, in the spring following the beginning of
the settlement on Dover Point (Hilton's Point).
The proof that he had such a corn field is found in
the old court records and deeds, which show that 2
June 1633 the Laconia Company granted to Capt.
Thomas Cammock a certain tract of land, that was con-
firmed to Cammock by a deed from Walter Neal, agent
of Sir Ferdinando Gorges and Capt. John Mason, 1
May 1634, and described as a piece of land on the east
shore of the Pascataqua, — "tvhere William Hilton lately
planted come, being bound on the north side with a
small creeke known by the name of Cammocks Creeke,
and on the south side with a small Rivolett abutting
upon the lands allotted to Thomas Wannerton, gent."
That Mr. Hilton was unlawfully dispossessed of
his house and corn field is shov/n by a court record :
"25 Oct., 1653, William Hilton recovered judgment in
the sum of one hundred and sixty pounds against Ann
Mason, executrix of the Will of Capt. John Mason of
London, deceased. Of this sum fifty pounds were for
the proprietary of his land, which the defendant took
from him, and for the vacancy of one year's time, and
cutting dov/n his house and for other injuries, ten
pounds, and for the interest for the whole 160 pounds
for the term of one-and-twenty years, one hundred
pounds." — (See Stackpole's History of Old Kittery,
pages 111 and 112.)
It will be noticed that twenty-one years previous
to 1653 carries us back to 1632, the time when William
Hilton was planting corn on the Cammock grant, above
mentioned. He had a house there and reason for call-
ing the land his own, which the court acknowledged.
The reason v/hy he had to wait twenty-one years was
that the court in Maine before it came under Massa-
chusetts in November 1652 was prejudiced against
him, it having been organized by Capt. John Mason's
officials at Strawberry Bank,
William Hilton was twice married. The name of
his first wife is not known, nor when she died, but it
was before 1642, when he had a second wife, whose
given name was Frances; her maiden name is not
known. After his death in 1655 she married Richard
White and Richard became administrator of William's
estate in 1657. (See Stackpole's History of Old Kit-
tery, page 48.) As near as the editor of this article can
make out, from the New England Historic and Genea-
logical Register, Vol. 31, and from numerous other
reading, assisted by Mr. Charles Thornton Libby,
Librarian of the Maine Historical Society, William Hil-
ton had the following children by his first wife,
Richard (?) went back to England and lived at
Northwich, Cheshire ; on the way back had child bap-
tized at Watton-under-Edge, Co. Gloucester, 16 Aug.
1636. He may have been younger brother instead of
son, but there were apparent family dealings while
here. George Walton gave him a draft on a man in
England and proposed to balance it against things he
had had from Mr. William Hilton, but who took the
other view. The court sustained Walton, which indi-
cates a close relation, as father and son, between Mr.
William and Richard Hilton.
Mary (?) married Foulke Waldron of Coventry,
Co. Warwick. Several sons of this couple came to New
England and were at Dover, York, Great Island and
Boston. Records showing who Mary Waldron was be-
fore marriage have not yet been found, but if she was
in fact a daughter of Mr. Hilton who never left Eng-
land, this explains many close associations between
these families, at York, Great Island and Boston.
William, b. about 1615, in England, came to Ply-
mouth, Mass., with his mother in the summer of 1623,
and they came up to Dover Point soon after arrival at
Plymouth, as he testified in court. As a boy and young
man he worked with his father at Dover and other
places. In 1636 they obtained the grant of land from
the Indian Sagamore, Tahanto, at Pennacook. He was
at Newbury in 1638, and was married there about that
time. He became a resident of that town and was its
Deputy in the General Court, and held other offices.
He was member of the Church there, from which he
was dismissed to the Church in Charlestown. About
1654 he bought a house and land at Charlestown, and
appears to have removed to that town about the same
year. His wife died in 1657 ; to them had been born,
at Newbury, the following children:
Mary, b. 1639; m. Thomas Sears in 1656. — Sarah,
b. June 16, 1641.— Charles, b. July 1643.— Ann, b. 12
Feb. 1648.— Elizabeth, b. 6 Nov. 1650; m. Timothy
Cutler in 1673.— William, b. 28 June 1653.
He married (2) Mehitable Nowell of Charlestown
16, 7mo. 1659 ; to them were born : Nowell, b. 1663. —
Edward, b. 1666.— John, b. 1668.— Richard, b. 1670.—
Mehitable, b. 1661 ; m. Lt. John Cutler.— William Hil
ton died 7, 7mo. 1675. He appears, among other occu-
pations, to have been a navigator and cartographer.
Alice, born about 1617, came passenger on the Ann
& Elizabeth, April 1635, aged 18. Her father was then
living at Exeter, where George Walton signed the com-
bination 1639. There is no explicit record that Mrs.
Alice Walton was Mr. William Hilton's daughter, but
there is a long series of circumstances that can be ex-
plained in no other way. From Exeter they moved to
Dover, and then to the mouth of the Piscataqua river,
where Mr. Hilton run the ferry and kept the tavern at
the Kittery Point end, while Walton kept the tavern at
the Great Island end. Also the movements of the young
Waldron brothers contribute to this conclusion, what-
ever their exact relation to the two families may have
John, b. about 1624; he may have been the baby
who gave the parents some trouble to get it baptized at
Plymouth, Mass. He appears to have become a good
citizen of Dover and commenced to be taxed for land
in 1648. He received grants of land from the town and
was an annual taxpayer till 1666. Two of the grants
were made 4, lOmo. 1656. On 5 Sept. 1721 his nephews
and nieces, who had inherited some of the land, sold it
to Capt. Thomas Millett, on Dover Neck; it is on the
east side of High street, at the south end of the ancient
village. This deed is recorded in Liber 12, folio 222.
Magdalene, b. ; m. 1656 or earlier, James
Wiggin of Kittery, who was Marshal under the Charles
Manwaring, b. 1646, or earlier; administration
granted 1671. His wife was Mary, daughter of Thomas
Moulton; she married (2) Samuel Bragdon, who men-
tioned daughter Magdalene in his will. This daughter
had children by three husbands, Nathaniel Adams,
Elias Weare and John Webber ; and died Feb. 4, 1725-6.
Anne, married Arthur Beal. In 1667, the step-^
father, Richard White, Arthur Beal and Mannerin^i
Hilton joined in a mortgage on Mr. William Hilton'ti
property, which Beal afterwards redeemed. The
young William called him his "loving brother," and
Beal's son named a son Mannering.
William, b. about 165 — is clearly proved to be a
second son William by his father's second wife ; by an
instrument not on record his father made him his sole
heir, and he lived on his father's land, on the south
side of York river. Wife Anne, apparently connected
with the widow Elizabeth Parsons. Mr. William Hil-
ton's descendants in the Hilton name trace through this
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Charles Thornton Libby.
JANVRIN, CAPTAIN JEAN, b. ; d. 1717.
He was son of Jean and Elizabeth Couteur Janvrin, and
was born at St. Hellears, Isle of Jersey. He was a
mariner and sailed his own ship from Lisbon to a South
American port in 1696, and came up to Portsmouth, N.
H. That may have been his first arrival there.
At Portsmouth, on 2 May, 1706, he married Miss Eliza-
beth Knight, of that town, and that was his home the
rest of his life. His name appears in 1707 on a petition
in behalf of Gov. Dudley, that was largely signed by
citizens of Portsmouth. His name appears on various
other Portsmouth documents. His widow married
Rev. Joseph Adams, first minister of Newington, N. H.
She was born at Portsmouth, 8 July, 1685 ; she died at
Newington, 10 Feb., 1759.
Children: John, b. at Portsmouth, 8 July, 1707;
m. 9 Oct., 1751, Elizabeth Stickney ; b. 12 Jan., 1722 ; d.
12 April, 1809.
Descendant: Mrs. Alice Louise (Janvrin) Moore.
JACKSON, JOHN, 1600-1666. He emigrated
from Dartmouth, England, about 1645 with his three
sons, and his wife Joan. They reached Portsmouth
before 1650, as the records show they were there in that
year. In 1656 he was one of the Townsmen, or Select-
men, and was the owner of Noble's island from 1656 to
1660. He deeded this island to his son Thomas, 25 June,
1660. He died in 1666. An inventory of his property
shows that he had three sons, Richard, Thomas and
John. The distribution of the property assigns to
Richard, eldest son, "house and land £100." This was
probably the house now known as "the Jackson house,"
on Northwest street — the oldest house in Portsmouth ;
it was built about 1664. It was probably built by John
Jackson who gave it to his son Richard ; perhaps they
both had a hand in building it. The Jacksons were all
ship builders. John Jackson, Jr., was born in England
in 1635; he died in Portsmouth in 1722. He was a
soldier in King William's war, 1695-96. He had two
sons, Daniel and Samuel ; the former was born in 1655 ;
died in 1740. The Jacksons of that period were among
the wealthiest men in Portsmouth.
Descendants: Rear Admiral Joseph Foster, John
KIRKE, HENRY. The following is found in the
Dover Town Records "26th, 9 mo., 1666. Att a meeting
of the sellectmen at Cochechae : Ordered that Thomas
Terner Be warned out of the Towne by Ensn John
Davis and John Bickford and that he depart a Cording
"Ordered that the wife of William Risley be
warned out of the Towne By Antony Nutter. Att ye
same metting henrey Kerk Apoynted to keep Orden-
arey at Dover and to stand till next County Courts,
Apon his Good behaver."
Mr. Kirke appears to have given satisfaction, as
the record of 1667, June 25th, reads — "Goodman Kirke
of Dover licensed to keep a house of entertainment."
Also at the town meeting that year he was elected
"sealer of lether." His name is on the tax list those
years, showing he was owner of real estate. Later he
removed across the river to what is now Eliot, and fin-
ally settled in Portsmouth. At some date, not known,
he married Ruth, widow of David Stevens and daughter
of Peter Glanfield, and lived in the Stevens house,
known as "Kirke the currier's house." Her son Caleb
Stevens, on coming of age, sold it in 1692. It stood
"near the meeting-house". Administration on his es-
tate was granted in 1728 to Capt. John Libby.
Children: (1) Mary, m. Matthew Grover of
York. — (2) Eleanor, m. Capt. John Libby of Ports-
mouth and Scarboro. — (3) Abigail, m. George Smith of
Kittery. — (4) Ruth, m. James Treworgye. — (5) Eliza-
beth, m. Daniel Libby of Portsmouth.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
LANG, JOHN, 1670-1752. He was probably born
in County Devon, England, about 1670; he was in
Portsmouth as early as 1695 ; he was mariner, farmer,
and town official, from time to time, as was the most
convenient. He early acquired a 15-acre lot, bounded
east by the road (now Jones avenue) leading from the
meeting-house to Sagamore Creek, and south by land
of Henry Savage lying on the Creek and subsequently
acquired some 200 acres more. He was one of the
original proprietors of Barrington, and in 1732 had
126 acres there. He was twice married: (1) in 1694,
Grace Brookin, daughter of William and Mary (Wal-
ford) Brookin ; she died about 1722 ; m. (2) Ruth Sher-
burne, widow of John (3) Sherburne. He died 22
May, 1752, leaving Will dated 29 Oct., 1648, and proved
17 June, 1752. His inventory was £3294-5s, very large
for that period.
Children, by first wife: (1) Elizabeth, b. 1695;
living in 1762; m. 28 July, 1716, John Westcome, of
Portsmouth, b. at Tiverton, Co. Devon, Eng. ; d. before
1762. They had two children. — (2) Ann, b. ; m.
9 Jan., 1717-8, John Savage, her cousin. They had two
children. — (3) Dorothy, b. ; m. John Wills of Ports-
mouth, mariner. They had six children. His estate was
administered upon 28 Jan., 1740-1. — (4) Mary, b. ;
m. 23 Oct., 1718, William Adams of Portsmouth, mar-
iner; five children. — (5) William, b. ; d. . —
(6) John, b. d. .— (7) Thomas, b. 1709 ; bapt.
17 July, 1709; d. 1714.— (8) Grace, bapt. 16 March,
1711-12 ; m. 8 Sept., 1737, Joseph Grey, his second wife ;
they had two children. — (9) Hannah, bapt. 7 Aug.,
1715 ; m. 5 August, 1734, Luke Mills of Northampton,
Va., a mariner ; later he resided at Portsmouth ; he died
at sea in 1764, leaving a will dated 20 June, 1764;
proved 29 Aug., 1764. They had six children.
As regards William (2) Lang of the above list; he
was probably the eldest son, and was born about 1698 ;
m. 7 July, 1721, Susannah Savage, daughter of John
Savage. William was mariner, fisherman, and farmer,
in which last occupation he lived at the Plains, and was
one of the petitioners for a separate parish there. He
died in 1759, leaving will dated 5 April, 1759. They
had three children, born at Portsmouth.
John (2) Lang of the above list, was born about
1700 ; m. as early as 1724, Sarah Bickf ord, daughter of
Henry and Sarah Bickford ; she was b. at Portsmouth
in 1703; d. at Greenland, 1799. John Lang was a
cordwainer and resided at Greenland, where he had a
large farm, about a mile and a half from Greenland
village, on the road leading to North Hampton. His
Will is dated 5 Sept., 1767 ; proved 27 June, 1774.
Thomas (2) Lang was b. about 1713; he was a
mariner ; m. 17 Nov., 1737, Mary Downs ; they had two
Descendant: Henry Winthrop Hardon.
LEADER, RICHARD, 1609-1661, was born in
England, and came to New England in 1645 and became
superintendent of the Iron Works at Lynn ; previous to
that he had been engaged in similar business in Ireland,
at the mines there. When on a visit to England he
deposed, August 8, 1650, that he was a merchant of
Boston, New England, and aged forty-one. .(New York
Gen. & Biographical Record, Vol. 47, page 113.) In
1651 the town of Kittery granted him and his brother
George the mill privilege at Great Works, and com-
menced operating a saw-mill that had nineteen saws,
and did a big business for a short time, hence the place
was called "Great Works." In this enterprise they
were the agents of John Beex & Co. of London. After
a while they were stopped by prosecution for trespass
by the Mason heirs.
Richard Leader went to London in 1652 and entered
a protest against Massachusetts, which he claimed was
usurping authority over Kittery ; he was back in Kit-
tery in 1653 and 1654. In 1652 he owned the "Great
House" at Portsmouth, which he sold in 1655 to the
Cutts brothers. It is supposed that his wife was a
Cutts, as they called him "brother Leader." He died
in 1661, and Dec, 27 that year, Robert Jordan was ap-
pointed to administer his estate. His wife's name is
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. about 1647 ; she mar-
ried before June 30, 1668 (State Paper 31—110) John
Hole of Kittery ; she survived him, but was killed by the
Indians May 4, 1705. She left no children.— (2) Ann,
born about 1649 ; m. before Feb. 10, 1667 (deeds, 11-
362) Samuel Clarck of Portsmouth; he was a tanner;
by his deposition it appears he was born about 1645 ;
he died about 1690. His wife was living as late as
1723, being then a member of the Church in Ports-
mouth. She deposed, Dec. 10, 1721, that she was then
72 years old. April 6, 1720, she had petitioned to be
appointed administratrix of the estates of Richard and
George Leader, calling herself the only surviving child
of Richard, and an heir of George. (York Co. Prob.
Records, Vol. 3, Page 42.)
Samuel and Ann (Leader) Clark had more than three
children, but probably only three weve living May 11,
1722, viz. : Margaret Swain ; Bridget Miller and Sarah
Clark. Margaret had previously been married to John
Jackson, before June 18, 1668; after Jackson's death
she married (2) Philip White. Her third husband was
a Swain. Bridget had been the wife of Joseph Miller
since 1714. She had a grandchild. Leader Noble.
Joseph Nelson of Portsmouth had a son. Leader Nelson,
born August 30, 1724. This son had a son called
Leader Nelson, born Jan. 9, 1760.
Descendant : John Mark Moses.
LEIGHTON, THOMAS, 1604-1672. He was a
son of the distinguished Leighton family of Scotland.
He came over with Captain Thomas Wiggin in 1633.
When the village was laid out on Dover Neck, he se-
lected a lot on High street, on the west side, next south
of Dea. John Hall's. He signed the Combination
Agreement for good government in 1640. He served
as one of the Selectmen several years. He served on
the Grand Jury many times. He held various minor
offices and was one of the leading business men of the
town. He received various grants of land, and bought
more. He was a stanch supporter of the Church, His
Will is dated 20 Sept., 1671 ; he mentions his wife as
Joanna. He died early in 1672. His widow married,
16 July, 1673, Hon. Job Clement, whose house was just
across the street from the Leighton residence. She
died 15 Jan., 1704-5. Their son, Thomas Leighton,
Jr., married Elizabeth Nutter, daughter of Elder Hate-
vil Nutter. Their daughter, Mary Leighton, married
John Roberts, eldest son of Gov. Thomas Roberts.
They lived near the old burial ground, on the east side
of it, on the bank of Fore River. Thomas Leighton,
Jr., lived on the farm his father bought on Leighton's
hill, near the old Pascataqua Bridge. Several genera-
tions of the Leighton family lived there. A marble
monument marks the burial ground of the family.
At the time of his death, he had a wife named
Joanna, as he mentions her in his Will, 20 Sept., 1671 ;
he died in 1672, and 16 July, 1673, she married Job
Clement; she died 16 Jan., 1703-4, having lived thirty
years after he (Thomas) died ; so it is fair presumption
that she was a second wife, and a comparatively young
woman, but not the mother of his children, but we do
not know, as we have no record of when his children
Children: (1) Thomas, b. ; m. Elizabeth
Nutter, dau. of Elder Hatevil Nutter; she was b. ab.
1634, and the probabilities are that he was b. ab. 1630,
in England ; it seems that he died before 1677. He is
the first Leighton who lived on the Leighton farm, at
what is known as "the old pascataqua Bridge".— (2)
Mary, b. ; m. Thomas Roberts, Jr., son of Gov.
Thomas Roberts. He was b. ab. 1631; probably she
was b. in 1633. They lived where Mr. Willam M.
Courser now (1918) resides on the upper end of Dover
Neck, but not in that house, which was built in 1725,
the original house having been burned that year. — (3)
Elizabeth, b. ; m. Philip Cromwell, Jr.— (4) Sarah,
b. ; unm. in 1671.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth Baer, Edgar
Amos Leighton, Mrs. Ellen Tasker Scales.
LEWIS, PETER, 1644-1718. John Lewis appears
in Roxbury.Mass., in 1640; probably he was there be-
fore that date ; he died there in 1647. He had two sons.
twins, Peter and Andrew, born 11 Sept., 1644. Peter
was a fisherman and was at the Isles of Shoals in 1668,
having his abode on Smutty Nose Island. At that time
there was a large population of men and their families
engaged in the fishing business, it being one of the
most profitable industries of the province. Peter Lewis
sold out his holdings there in 1683, having investments
in land in Kittery. His first purchase of land there was
in 1670, when he bought of John Phoenix house and
land at Spruce Creek. He married Grace Diamond,
daughter of John Diamond. Their children were born
in Kittery, and their names are mentioned in his Will,
which he made in 1712-1716.
Children: (1) Peter, b. 1669; m. Lucy Chad-
burne. — (2) Andrew, b. ; m. Mary Hutchins. — (3)
William, b. 1683; m. Mary ; (2) Sarah Low.— (4)
John, b. ; m. Martha Brooking. — (5) Grace,
b. ; m. 28 Oct., 1718, John Ely of Portsmouth.—
(6) Morgan, b. ; m. Abigail Lewis ab. 1705; d. be-
fore 3 Feb., 1712-3.— (7) Mary, b. ; m. David
Descendants: Moses A, Safford, Mrs. Mary (Saf-
LEAVITT, THOMAS, 1616-1696. It is the tradi-
tion that Mr. Leavitt was in possession of a lot of land on
the Squamscott River, above the falls, when Mr. Wheel-
wright commenced the settlement of Exeter. This is
probable, as he was cousin to Mr. Wheelwright's wife,
and may have given him information in regard to the
territory, and assisted him in getting there. His neigh-
bors were Lieut. Ralph Hall and Thomas Wilson.
They were located on the east side of the river; so
Wheelwright and his party located on the west side,
where was the chief part of the village. The land that
Mr. Leavitt selected was just above the falls and was
held by his descendants for many years. He signed the
Combination agreement for good government, so be-
came one of the company, and remained after Wheel-
wright left. But in 1644 he became an inhabitant of
Hampton. He married Isabella Asten, daughter of
Joshua and Joanna Bland, of Colchester, England, and
widow of Francis Asten, who died a year or two before.
They lived on the Asten Homestead. Mr. Leavitt is
not on record as holding any oi!ices, or fighting with the
Indians ; he attended strictly to business. ,
Children: (1) Aretas, b. ab. 1646; m. Ruth
Sleeper; d. 14 Jan., 1739.— (2) Hezron, b. ; m.
Martha Taylor; d. 30 Nov., 1712.— (3) John, known as
Sergeant John, b. ; m. 28 May, 1701, Deliverance
Robie, prob. a granddaughter of Henry Robie. — (4)
James, b. 10 Nov., 1662; m. ; lived in Portsmouth.
Descendants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane,
LIBBY, JOHN, 1602-1682, whose descendants
were early settlers on the Pascataqua River and its
branches, was born in England about the year 1602.
In July, 1677, he stated that— "the good and pious re-
port that was spread abroad, into our Native Land of
this country, caused your Petitioner to come for this
Land 47 years agoe, where he hath ever since contin-
ued." According to that he came over about 1630.
The probability is that he really came over in 1631, or
soon after, with John Winter, who was agent and man-
ager of Robert Trelawney's settlement on Richmond
Island, near Portland, Me. Mr. Winter speaks of him
in his accounts rendered to Mr. Trelawney. They were
engaged largely in fishing, but did considerable busi-
ness in farming and lumbering. The Trelawney Papers
give interesting accounts of what was done and the
manner of living. Mr. Libby remained with Mr. Winter
till 1640, when he set up business for himself at Black
Point, on the main land. This is a few miles west of
Richmond's Island, in what is now the town of Scar-
The land which he selected was laid out to him by
Henry Jocelyn, who had come into possession of the
Cammock Patent, of which Libby's purchase was a part.
There he built his house ; and there he lived till he was
driven out by the Indians in 1675, and September 7 of
that year they burned it. The account says — "they
also burnt 8 or 9 deserted houses belonging to Libby
In October, 1676, the Black Point Garrison was
deserted, and most of the inhabitants fled to Boston.
The able-bodied men soon returned and took possession
of the garrison, the Indians very kindly not having
burnt it. In 1677, Mr. Libby and his family returned
and were not afterward disturbed. He regained much
of his lost property and at his death in 1682, left a good
inheritance to his children.
John Libby came to Portsmouth from Scarboro in
1690 and lived in Portsmouth 30 years. Only one of
his sons ever left the Piscataqua. His son John was
Lieut, at the battle of Breakfast Hill and Captain of the
Portsmouth train band in the Three Years' War. An-
other son, Jeremiah, was grandfather of Jeremiah Lib-
bey, Esq., postmaster of Portsmouth and Belknap's
John Libby had two wives ; the name of the first is
not known ; the name of the second was Mary, maiden
name not known.
Children: (1) John, b. 1636; m. Agnes .—
(2) James, b. ; d. unm.— (3) Samuel, b. ; d.
unm. — (4) Joanna, m. Thomas Bickford of Black
Point ; in the second Indian war he removed his f amib
from Scarborough to Dover, N. H.— (5) Henry, b
1647; m. Honor Hinkson of Scarborough. — (6) An-
thony, b. 1649 ; m. Sarah Drake of Hampton, N. H.— •
(7) Rebecca, m. Joshua Brown of Scarborough. — (8)
Sarah, b. 1653; m. Robert Tidy of Scarborough.— (9)
Hannah, b. 1655; m. Daniel Fogg of Eliot, Me.— (10)
David, b. 1657; m. Eleanor .(11) Matthew, b.
1663 ; m. Elizabeth Brown of Scarborough. — (12) Dan-
iel, m. Mary Ashton of Scarborough.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby of Port-
land, Me., Secretary of Maine Historical Society.
LIBBEY, ISAAC, 1690-1752. He was born in Rye,
then a part of Portsmouth, in 1690. He was a son of
Anthony and Sarah Drake Libbey. Anthony was son
of John Libby of Scarborough, Me., and was born
there in 1649. His father, who spelled his name "John
Libbie", came from England about 1630, and was in the
employ of Trelawney four years, and then set up in
business for himself. He became the founder of Scar-
borough, Me. His tract of land was laid out by Henry
Jocelyn, an expert engineer of that time. Jocelyn later
settled at what is, or was, known as Jocelyn's Neck, then
of the territory of Portsmouth. It appears that John
Libbie's son Anthony followed Henry Jocelyn to Rye,
and in due time married Sarah Drake, daughter of
Abraham (3) Drake, of Hampton. He lived some
years at Scarborough, and then at Rye.
Children: (1) Abraham, b. ; m. Sabina Phil-
brick. — (2) Isaac, b. 1690; m. Mary Farmer. — (3)
Sarah, b. ; m. Israel Smith. — (4) Mary, b. ;
m. John Lane. — (5) Hannah, b. ; m. . — (6)
Jacob, b. 25 May, 1695; m. Sarah Marston. — (7) Jane,
b. 5 Aug., 1700 ; m. Abraham Moulton, son of John, of
Children: (1) John, b. Aug., 1720.— (2) Mary,
b. 4 Nov., 1722; m. 11 Oct., 1744, James Knowles. —
(3) Elizabeth, b. 28 Feb., 1725; m. 1 Oct., 1722, Amos
Knowles.— (4) Isaac, b. 28 Feb., 1725.— (5) Arthur,
b. 5 April, 1728.— (6) Reuben, b. 11 Aug., 1734.
Descendant: Mrs. Sara Haley.
LOCKE, CAPTAIN JOHN, came from Yorkshire,
England, about 1644, and settled first at Dover, N. H.,
where he had a grant of land from the town, and made
his home there for a few years. He then went to New-
castle and about 1652 married Elizabeth, daughter of
John Berry, of Sandy Beach, now Rye. A year or two
later he removed to Sagamore Creek, in Portsmouth.
About 1666 he made his residence on Jocelyn's Neck,
in what is now Rye ; there was his home for the rest of
life. From him the locality came to be called Locke's
Neck. That name was retained until the last quarter
of the 19th century, when E. A'. Straw of Manchester
came into the possession of part of the land and he as-
sumed the right to erase the historic names and called
it "Straw's Point."
Captain Locke was a carpenter by trade, a farmer,
lumberman, and Indian warrior by necessity; he wcr
his title of "Captain" by command of a company in the
Indian wars. But the Indians got the final victory over
him 26 August, 1696, while he was reaping grain in his
field ; they attacked him completely unawares as they
were lying in ambush for him and his sons. The Cap-
tain was killed but the sons escaped. The Captain
made the best defense he could with his sickle, and it is
said that he cut off the nose of one of the enemy by a
skilful swing of that weapon.
The tragedy of Captain Locke's death occurred
during King William's war, when men went armed to
their daily work in the field. It is said that, having
stood his gun against a rock, he was reaping grain,
when several Indians crept stealthily up behind and
shot him with his own gun. He fell and they supposed
him dead, when they rushed upon him, to take off his
scalp, the Captain arose and defended himself, and
with his sickle cut off the end of the nose of one of the
Indians. Years after, one of the Captain's sons met a
noseless Indian in Portsmouth, and supposed he was the
one from whom the Captain "reaped" the nasal ap-
Children: (1) John, b. ab. 1654; m. Eliza-
beth . (2) Nathaniel, b. 1661 ; m. Dorothy Blake.—
(3) Edward, m. Hannah Jenness. — (4) Elizabeth,
b. ; unm.— (5) Alice, living in 1708. — (6) Wil-
liam, b. 17 April, 1777 ; m. Hannah Knowles.
Descendants: Miss Annie M. Locke, James Wil-
LORD, NATHAN, 1603-1690. He is supposed to
have come from Kent County, England, with Abraham
Conley before 1640, and soon after that married Conley's
daughter, Judith. The date of her- death is not known.
They lived in Old Kittery (Eliot). He married (2)
Martha Everett, daughter of William and Margery
Everett, who kept a tavern, or ''ordinary", on the shore
of the Pascataqua River, a short distance above Franks
Fort ; it has long been known as Leighton's Point, and is
the historic spot where Maine was brought under the
rule of Massachusetts, 16 Nov., 1652. The Massachu-
setts Commissioners met the owners of land in Kittery
at Everett's tavern, and the document was signed that
day by which they agreed to be governed by Massachu-
setts laws, and the Bay Colony agreed to defend them,
in peace and in war.
Nathan Lord then lived at the locality called "Cold
Harbor", just across the Newichawannock River from
Dover Neck. He was present at the above mentioned
meeting and, with his father-in-law, signed the paper.
His wife was an only daughter of William Everett. A
few years later he removed to what is known as "Old
Fields", in South Berwick, a beautiful locality. There
he erected a capacious house for himself, and when the
Indian wars began he made it a garrison, to which the
neighbors around fled in time of trouble, or expected
attacks by the Indians, of which there were many.
They never captured Lord's garrison. There was the
home of the Lord family for several generations. The
garrison house was taken down long ago, but the family
has continued to abide in that town to the present time,
one of the most highly respected.
Children: (1) Nathan, b. ab. 1657; m. 22 Nov.,
1678, Martha Tozier; she was dau. of Richard and
Judith (Smith) Tozier, who lived a short distance
above Salmon Falls. He had a garrison there ; he, with
others, was killed by the Indians there, 16 Oct., 1675. —
(2) Abraham, b, ab. 1658; m. Susannah ; d. be-
tween 1703 and 1706.— (3) Samuel, b. ; m. Doro-
thy ; his estate was administered on in 1689. — (4)
Margery, b. ; m. ab. 1692, William Frost. — (5)
Martha, m. Thomas Downs, Jr., of Dover. — (6) Ann,
b. ; m. 28 Aug., 1698, Tobias Hanson of Dover. —
(7) A daughter, b. ; m. Moses Littlefield of Wells,
Me.— (8) Sarah, b. ; m. 13 Dec, 1692, John
Cooper. — (9) Benjamin, b. ; m. Patience Nason.
Descendants: William Hale, M. D., Mrs. Ella
Weeks Lamson, Capt. George W. Pratt, James A. Cole-
man, Edith M. Raitt.
LARRABEE, THOMAS, or Leatherby, was son of
Stephen Larrabee, who bought land on Yarmouth Neck
from the Indians and was killed by them on Jewell's
Island, Sept., 1676. Thomas lived in Scarborough be-
tween the two Indian wars, and in 1690 fled to the Pas-
cataqua River settlement. He lived in the edge of
Greenland, in 1716 or 1717 he returned to his homestead
in Scarborough, where he and his son Anthony were
killed by the Indians 19 April, 1723. He married Eliza-
beth, daughter of Anthony Roe ; she lived many years
Children: (1) Thomas, bap. at Ports., 1714; m.
Abigail Pitman, May, 1715. He returned to Ports-
mouth during the Three Years war but died in Scar-
boro. — (2) Jane, living unm. in Scarboro as late as
1750.— (3) Elizabeth, b. 1690; m. Edward Pendexter;
d. Ports., 20 Aug., 1771.— (4) Mary, m. 1709, Henry
Sherburne. — (5) Eleanor, m. in Ports., 1 Dec, 1715,
Christopher Mitchell. — (6) John, m. Mary Ingersoll of
Kittery. — (7) Benjamin, b. 1700; m. Sarah, dau. of
Samuel and Elizabeth (Haskins) Johnson of Spruce
Creek, Kittery. — (8) Sarah, bap. North Church, 1715;
m. Joseph Hill of Greenland. — (9) Anthony, killed by
the Indians. — (10) Hannah, m. in Scarboro, 28 Feb.,
1737, Benj. Richards.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
MATHEWS (or MATHES), Francis, married 22
November, 1662, Thomasine Channon, at Ottery, St.
Mary, Devonshire, and had children baptized there,
Elizabeth 27 Dec, 1623 and Frances 27 Feb., 1625.
He came over with Capt. John Mason's company in
1634 and helped build the mills at Great Works, (South
Berwick). He signed the Exeter Combination in 1639.
He bought land at the mouth of Oyster River in 1639,
and settled there, and that was for many generations
in the possession of the Mathes family. He died in
1648 ; his wife died in 1690.
Children: (1) Samuel, who lived at the Isles of
Shoals. — (2) Walter, m. Mary ; lived on Smutty-
nose Island; d. in 1678. — (3) Benjamin, m. Dorothy
Kent, dau. of Oliver.— (4) Martha, m. (1) Snell; (2)
Browne.— (5) Catherine, m. Thomas Footman; (2)
William Durgin. — (6) Elizabeth, m. William Drew,
(2) William Follett.
Descendant: Miss Ella Gertrude Durgin.
MENDUM, ROBERT, 1600-1682. A deposition of
Robert Mendum declares that he was born A. D. 1600,
and that he came to Pascataqua in 1630, probably from
Bristol, England. He was at Duxbury, Mass., in 1637,
and was a volunteer for the Pequot war. He remained at
Duxbury till near 1644 and may have found his wife,
Mary there. He was licensed to keep an ordinary
at Kittery Point in 1644. He was constable in 1662
and selectman in 1673. He received several grants of
land, one east of Spruce Creek. He lived on the bank
of the Pascataqua, just opposite Portsmouth. He died
in May, 1682, his wife surviving, him His Will names
a grandson, Robert Miehamore. (Muchamore of the
Isles of Shoals.)
Jonathan Mendum, son of Robert, is first men-
tioned in 1672 and is the only son named in Robert's
Will. He, too, had a wife Mary. There is no record
as to births, marriages and deaths.
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. — ; m. 1688, John
Pickering, Jr., of Portsmouth. — (2) Jonathan, m.
Sarah Downing. — (3) Robert, named in his grand-
father's Will, 1682. His brother, Jonathan, adminis-
tered his estate in 1701. — (4) Nathaniel, m.
Frances . Lived in Portsmouth; d. ab. 1770.
Children: (1) Mary, m. George Wentworth. —
(2) Eleanor, m. 5 Aug., 1732, perhaps, (1) John Sher-
burne; (2) William Shackford. — (3) Elizabeth, m.
10 Nov., 1738, John Janvrin. — (4) David, blacksmith,
in 1717 was residing in Bristol, England, and had son
Robert. — (5) Dorothy, witnessed a deed in 1700; m.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinrtey.
MOSES, JOHN, 1616.— According to a deposition
of his he was born about 1616; date of his death is not
known, but he was living in 1694. It is the tradition
in the family that he was of Scotch descent, emigrating
from the southwestern part of England, where there
were many who called themselves Scotch. Probably
he was first in this country at Portland, Maine, an em-
ployee of Cleeves and Tucker, in the early settlement
around there. From there he came to Portsmouth,
where he had been long enough to become so well ac-
quainted with the rulers of the town, that 6 April, 1646,
they gave him a grant of land. When he left Portland
the proprietors gave him the deed of one hundred acres
of land, as a reward for his seven years' service as an
In 1648 he was living at Sagamore Creek. He re
ceived more land grants in 1652 and 1653; m 1660 the
town allotted him eighty-three acres. He >s on «=cord
as subscribing one pound for the minister in 1658, and
Tfter that he was a regular and libera, -PP"*-;^ *!
Church He was much engaged in real estate transac
tions buying and selling, as opportunity was given h.m
o m;ke a good bargain. His signature, or mark, was
a five or six-pointed star. He served often as juryman.
He served in the military company of the town and a -
quired the title of Sergeant as early as 12 March, 167 -
2 This fact appears in a record of that date, when i
was voted-"That Mr. Henry Sherburne and Sergeant
lohn Moses are to lay out a foot-highway from Saga-
more Creek to the Meeting-House." Again 13 March,
T693-4 he was the first of five members assigned to the
eat under the pulpit, which P-bably was then a seat
for old men, who had become somewhat hard of heai-
fng. This is the last record that makes mention of his
He had a wife Alice, 3 Oct., 1648; she died and he
married (2) 1667, Ann, widow of John Jones; she was
UvTng 6 Jan., 1679. The first wife was mother of his
children, except, perhaps, Sarah.
ChUdren: (1) Elizabeth, b.—--;m 25 M^y^
1665, Joseph Walker of Portsmouth; she died earb^^^a^
he had second wife ; he died 29 July, 1686.--(2) Daugh
ter, name not known, m. 25 May 1665, Capt. Thoma.
Cr;ber; they had a daughter who married the third
Richard Shortridge and had son Richard. Aft.r 1674,
r»nt Creberm. (2) widow of John Pease.— (3) Aaron,
u^u Vfi^fi d ulv 1713 He was a man of note in his
day be ng Provos't Marsha, in 1694 and later^ He m.
nl' Ruth daughter of Henry Sherburne; they were
(1) Ruth, ciaugmei Timothy Water-
probably Pa-^;;/_^'';;;trmother of'the sons
house; m (2) Mary , ,.^j^g
Tn^^t —'tperhati who married Timothy
Davis before 1684; had son Timothy. — (6) Samuel
(perhaps), who deposed 28 Dec, 1670, aged about 30
years. — (7) Mary (perhaps), wife of Ferdinando Huff;
she deposed 18 Oct., 1681, aged about 36.
Descendant: John Mark Moses.
MITCHELL, CHRISTOPHER, is mentioned in
York County records as early as 1660. His house at
the head of Brave Boat Harbor, is mentioned in a deed
of 22 April, 1665. He married Sarah Andrews, daugh-
ter of John and Joanna Andrews. Sarah was born
about 1641, and was his widow before 1686, as on 13th
of March that year she was appointed administratrix
of his estate. Incidental statements in deeds and town
records assign to him the following family. See Town
Records; Vol 8, P. 52, and York deeds XXX., p. 313.
Children: (1) William, m. (1) Honor ; (2)
Elizabeth Tenny. — (2) Christopher, thrice married. —
(3) Richard, m. Sarah Couch. — (4) Joseph, m. Joanna
Couch. — (5) Robert, m. Sarah Deering. — (6) Eliza-
beth, m. (1) John Tenny; (2) Samuel Johnson.
Descendants: Horace Mitchell, Moses A. Safford,
Mrs. Mary (Safford) Wildes.
NEAL, WALTER. There were two men bearing
the name of Walter Neal at the beginning of affairs
on the Pascataqua River. — The first of these was Cap-
tain Walter Neal who came over in the ship "WAR-
WICK", 1630-31, and was here about three years, and
then returned to England. Nothing more is known of
The second Walter Neal came over in the ship 'Tied
Cow", which arrived July 8, 1634, and landed at what
has always since been called *'Cow Cove" — about a mile
below the falls at South Berwick. Among the names
of stewards and servants is the name Walter Neal ; he
was steward. How long he lived at the "Great Works"
section of the settlements on the east side of the river
does not seem quite clear. He appears to have drifted
down the river, as Walter Neal had land granted to him
at Portsmouth, at one time, 31 acres, and 39 acres in
1657, in that part of the old town now known as Green-
land.' Portsmouth Landmarks and Surveys has the
following: "By virtue of a Town grant at a public
meeting held 10 July, 1655. Unto Walter Neal, his
home lot doth extend from Goodman Hayins, his fence
due north and by east unto Winicot River."— That ap-
pears to locate him permanently in Greenland. Ac
cording to the early records of Greenland, this Waltei
Neal had a son Walter Neal, who is first spoken of as
Lieut Neal, and later he came to be called Captain Neal,
who was born in England about 1630; his mother^s
name is not known ; when he came over, as a child, is
not known. The date of the death of Walter Neal, Sr.,
is not known. The present family records begin with
his son, Capt. Walter Neal, who married Mary Ayers
in 1660, at Portsmouth. Their eldest son, Samuel, was
born June 14, 1661 ; he married Jane Foss; he died m
Captain Walter Neal was one of the prominent
citizens of old Portsmouth; this appears in a curious
and valuable document which is given on page 65 of
Vol L of Brewster's Rambles ; it begins as follows :—
"Whereas at a Generall Towne meeting held in Ports-
mouth the 3d of April, 1693, there was a vote passed
impowering the Selectmen, together with Mr. Richard
Martine, Capt. Walter Neale, and Mr. Mark Hunkmg to
be a committee to regulate and order the seating of the
people in the Meeting House; also to order seats and
pews, according to their discretion, provided no charge
accrue to the Towne thereby, etc., etc." These three
committee men for the Church acted with the Selectmen
in arranging the pews.
Walter Neal had been Lieut, of the Militia com-
pany, engaged in defense against attacks of the In-
dians, for a number of years up to 1692, or a little
before that; in 1692 he was Captain of the company,
and from that time on was know^n as "Capt. Neal."
In the first settlement of that part of Greenland,
Dover claimed to own the land in that part of the pres-
ent Greenland, hence in 1659, it is stated that Walter
Neal was petit juror at Dover; in 1661 he is down as
grand juror at Dover; in 1662 he was grand juror at
Portsmouth ; in 1689 the Papers state he was Captain of
a militia company at Portsmouth. This would seem
to indicate he had become Captain before that date.
Descendant: Mrs. Mary Elizabeth (Neal) Han-
NELSON, MATTHEW, 1658-1713. His descend-
ant, John Mark Moses, says Matthew was a man but
little known, nevertheless, he was evidently a hustler
in his day, who started as an apprentice to a tanner, or
possibly as a redemptioner in bound service; he died]
the owner of the great Walford plantation, at Saga-
more Creek, with a "Manor House" that is referred to
in a deed. There is preserved a petition, in his own
handwriting, that he sent to the Court of Associates,
as early as 1678. — He had been accused of stealing
hides from his employer ; but the employer did not ap-
pear in court to prosecute his charge, so Nelson peti-
tioned to be discharged ; the Court granted his request.
The petition is couched in extremely bad spelling, show-
ing he was not a college educated man, but the sub-
stance of the phraseology shows great force of mind.
His wife, Jane, appears to have been a woman of
equal force of character. In 1684, Matthew and Jane
were arraigned in court and put under bonds to keep
the peace; the charge was that Jane had threatened
Anne Clarke, in strong language, and Anne feared she
would renew the attack — vi et armis. Another charge
against them was that Jane had slandered Frances
Mercer. So far as known they kept the bond, and
there was peace in the neighborhood after that.
The date of the death of his wife, Jane, is not
known, but in 1690 Matthew had his second wife,
Agnes, probably Agnes Rackley, daughter of William
Rackley. She was the mother of at least four of his
six sons. In later years he dealt largely in real estate,
but he is called "tanner." He became one of the big
tax payers of Portsmouth, and left a handsome estate
to his children. . He died in 1713, and the plantation at
Sagamore Creek was divided among his sons, Matthew,
Joseph, and William and his son-in-law, Nathaniel
Tuckerman. They held this property during their
Descendant: John Mark Moses.
NORMAN, WILLIAM, was married in England,
but later married Margery Randall in Kittery, and was
banished from the Province, which at that time included
only Kittery, York and Wells. He went to Casco Bay,
where he owned a quarter of House Island. He was
living in Scarboro at the time of his death, and admin-
istration of his estate was granted to Ralph Tristram of
Biddeford, 1674. Margery Randall soon married
Thomas Spinney, who gave land to her daughter, Mary,
on her marriage to John Fernald.
Child: Mary, m. before 1693 John Fernald.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
NUTE, JAMES. He was one of the party of
"stewards and servants" sent over by Capt. John Mason
between 1630 and 1634, to manage the mills and settle-
ment at "Great Works," South Berwick, which was
commenced about 1630. His name is spelled — "Newt"
in the list of men. Just what part of the work he en-
gaged in is not known or how long he remained there.
He finally crossed the river and became an early settler
in Dover, where he could get all the land he wanted, as
he could not do under the lordship of Capt. Mason, who
would not sell his land, but only lease it. The list of
names of the men in whose company Mr. Nute came
over, can be found on page 26 of Stackpole's History of
Probably he joined the Dover Neck settlement
sometime in 1634, or '35. It is certain he was there in
1640, as he signed the "Combination" agreement for
good government in that year. His residence was on
Low street until about 1661, when he removed to the
Back River District, having purchased land which has
remained in possession of the Nute family to the pres-
ent time (1918). It is one of the best farms in that
section of Dover, He was alive there in 1691, but just
what year he died is not known, nor the date of his
birth, but probably he was a young man of twenty-five
years, and lived to pass the four score mark, as several
of his descendants have done on that farm. His wife's
name is not known, but she may have been one of the
twenty-two young women who came over in the ship
"Pied-Cow," in 1634 and landed at "Cow Cove."
James Nute's name appears in the town records,
in business affairs, many times, showing that he was a
citizen of good standing. The Court records, however,
show that he was at one time "presented for abusing
the Town Clerk (Pomfrett) in saying he was a deceit-
ful man and had a deceitful heart." The Court repri-
manded him and warned him not to commit such an
offense again, and placed him under bonds to keep the
peace with the clerk. He was one of the Selectmen in
1659 and in 1660. He served on the Grand Jury sever-
al times. He officiated in other minor offices, like a
After he moved across the Back River it was much
further to go to attend meetings on the Lord's Day.
His home on The Neck was near the meeting house, and
he and his family were regular attendants. So it came
to pass that he became somewhat negligent in crossing
the river on Sunday. The result was that he was
"Presented in court (in 1662) for being absent twenty-
six days from church meetings, and for entertaining
the Quaker missionaries four hours." He was admon-
ished for absence from meetings, and fined according
to law, forty shillings per hour.
Childreyi: (1) James, b. 1643; m. Mary .
Lived on the home farm; d. ab. 1691. — (2) Abraham,
b. 1647; m. ; he was living in 1724. — (3) Martha,
b. 1653; m. ab. 1678, William Dam; they lived in the
William Dam garrison.
Descendant: Alvah H. Place.
NUTTER, HATEVIL, 1603-1675. He was one of
Captain Thomas Wiggin's company that came over in
the fall of 1633, and settled on Dover Neck; he may not
have come on the same ship, but soon after. He was
among the noted men of the town, both in business and
in church affairs. He was one of the first Elders of the
First Church, and held the office for life. Though not
given to much office holding, he received various valu-
able grants for saw mills and trees for supplying his
mills for sawing into lumber. He had a ship yard on
Fore River, and was largely engaged in ship building;
his ships sailed all along the coast and to the West
Indies, with which islands Dover had much trade.
Elder Nutter was a staunch supporter of the
Church, hence was a strong opponent of the Quaker
women missionaries when they came to town in 1662,
and later, and created much disturbance in the First
Church, of which Rev. John Reyner was then minister.
The Quaker historian grossly misrepresents the Elder
in regard to his treatment of the women. He believed
the Quakers were wrong, and that their teachings were
pernicious, as set forth by those women who were
whipped. The Quakers had liberty to go elsewhere ;
as they did not exercise that liberty Elder Nutter be-
lieved it was right to make them go. No doubt both
parties were wrong, but the worthy Elder should be
judged by the standard of that day, and not by that of
the present day, to get a correct estimate of his charac-
ter. He possessed a reasonable share of this world's
goods ; these considerations procured for him the re-
spect which the moral worth of a rich man always
excites. The spot where his house stood can be easily
pointed out. An aged pear tree now (1918) stands in
the hollow where was his cellar; it is on the east side
of High street, about fifteen rods northeast from the
northeast corner of the second meeting house lot.
Elder Nutter died at a good old age. His will is
dated 28 Dec, 1674, he being then about 71 years of
age ; it was proved 29 June, 1675. His wife's name was
Children: (1) Antony, b. 1630; m. Sarah, daugh-
ter of Henry Langstaff. He lived in the Little Bay sec-
tion of Bloody Point. His house was garrisoned ; he
was an officer in command of the militia company in his
section of Old Dover. He served as selectman several
years, and represented Dover in the General Court six
years or more. Thus it is plain that he was one of the
influential and highly respected citizens. He died 19
February, 1686. His wife died later. — (2) Mary, b.
; m. John Wingate. — (3) Elizabeth, b. ; m.
Thomas Leighton, Jr. — (4) Abigail, b. ; m. Ser-
geant John Roberts, son of Governor Thomas Roberts.
Descendants: Edgar A. Leighton, Mrs. Annie
Wentworth Baer, Mrs. Sophia Dodge Hall, Mrs. Ellen
Tasker Scales, Miss Annie Katharine Seavey, George
ODIORNE, JOHN, 1627-1705. The ancient spell-
ing of the name was "Hoderne, Odiurne and Odurne."
John Odiorne was an inhabitant of Portsmouth as early
as 1667. A grant of forty-two acres on Great Island,
lying at the entrance to the harbor, was made to him 16
Jan., 1660. In 1686, he was member of the grand jury.
When he was about forty-five years old he married
Mary Johnson; his children were all born on Great
Island. His son Jotham was born about 1675 ; he mar-
ried Sarah Bassum. The younger son, known as Dea-
con John Odiorne, was the first to live on what is called
Odiorne's Point, and from him the place took its name.
It was on this Point that David Thompson built his
house in the Spring of 1623, at the same time that Ed-
ward Hilton built his house on Dover Point. Tho
locality was known as "Little Harbor" until a century
later when it came to be called Odiorne's Point.
Children: (1) Jotham, b. ab. 1675; m. Sarah
Bassum; he died 16 Aug., 1748.— (2) John, b. ;
m Catharine ; he was known as Deacon John. He
inherited his father's estate at Odiorne's Point and re-
sided there. From these men the point received its
name a century after. David Thompson built a house
somewhere near where the Odiorne house now is. John
Odiorne was the first permanent settler on that much
disputed point of land.
Descendant: Miss Susan Woodman.
OLIVER, WILLIAM. Captain Marvin, of Guern-
sey Island, one of the Channel Islands, was shipwrecked
on the coast of Labrador; he was rescued by Capt.
Thomas Ellison Oliver, of Portsmouth, who was in
command of the brig "Dove," who was there on a fish-
ing trip; so Captain Oliver brought Captain Marvin
to Newcastle with him, having completed his catch of
a boat load of cod fish. Captain Marvin liked the place
so well that he concluded to make his home there, and
in 1810 he was married to his rescuer's sister. Miss
Deborah Oliver; they made their home at Newcastle,
and Capt. Marvin continued in the fishing business,
encountering no more shipwrecks. His wife, Deborah,
was daughter of Rev. William Oliver, of Newcastle,
whose wife was Hannah Skinner. William Oliver was
not only a "soldier of the cross," but also was a valiant
soldier of the Revolutionary Army. He commenced
service early in the war and continued nearly to the
end ; at the battle of Stillwater in 1777, he was member
of Capt. F. M. Bell's company, in which battle Capt.
Bell was killed. William Oliver was son of John Oliver
who settled at Newcastle some years before the Revo-
lution. Capt. Marvin v/as a soldier in the War of 1812,
and was stationed at Fort McClary, where his son.
Captain William Marvin was born, and 18 December,
1837, his son, Thomas Ellison Oliver Marvin was born,
who became a member of the Pascataqua Pioneers in
Descendant: Thomas Ellison Oliver Marvin.
OTIS, RICHARD, 1611-1689. He was born at
Glastonbury, Somerset County, England ; he was son of
Stephen and grandson of Richard Otis, Esq., of that
town. Richard Otis first appears in New England at
Boston, in 1655 ; of course he had been there sometime
before that, as in May of that year he was admitted as
an inhabitant. He came to Dover the same year and
was admitted as an inhabitant here, and they at once
gave him a grant of land, date 9 — 26 — 1655 ; it was
"tenn accers at Cochecae, forty Rods, by the Cartway
(Central Avenue), on the west sied of the land from
his house, and forty Rods norethest from his house,
and forty Rods a piece on the other two sieds." In 1656
he had a grant of one hundred acres, which was laid
out by Elder William Wentworth, Lieut. Ralph Hall
and Dea. John Hall. This lot was on the west side of
the "cart way", and on the southern end of it he built
his garrison, which was burned by the Indians in 1689
About the same time he had a hundred acres granted
him on the south side of the "Great Hill" (Garrison
Hill), on which his granddaughter, Mary Otis, daugh-
ter of Stephen, with the assistance of her husband,
Ebenezer Varney (a good Quaker) built the house at
the foot of the hill, known as the "Ham house," about
1694. Later, Mr. Otis had other grants of land, which
showed he stood in good favor with the townspeople.
He built his garrison about 1675, and had it strongly
fortified, having a large yard on the south side; not-
withstanding this, the Indians captured it 28 June,
1689, by strategy, and murdered him, one son and a
child two years old ; they took several members of the
family prisoners, and burned the house. Mr. Otis was
a taxpayer at "Cochecho-in-Dover" from 1656 till his
death, 1689. The Otis garrison stood on the east side
of what is Mt. Vernon street, where a dwelling house
now (1918) stands, next south of the Christian Science
Church. In April, 1911, the cellar of the old garrison
was disclosed when the workmen dug the cellar of the
house that now stands on the spot. Quite a number of
relics were found in the debris, which are now on ex-
hibition m a hall of the Woodman Institute.
OTIS, RICHARD, was thrice married. (1) Rose,
daughter of Anthony Stoughton, brother of Sir Nicho-
las Stoughton, Bart. This marriage was before 1650;
she died ab. 1675 ; m. (2) ab. 1677, Shua Heard, widow
of James Heard of Old Kittery (Eliot) , who was son of
John Heard of that town. She died ab. 1682 or '83 ; m.
(3) in 1684 Grezet Warren; he was 60 years old and
she was 24. These ages are based on the authority of
his granddaughter, Mrs. Bean, of Conway, daughter of
Capt. Thomas and Christine Baker. Mrs. Bean died
6 Feb., 1826, aged 100 years. She always said that her
grandmother was named Grezet (Grace) Warren, of
Massachusetts. She had always heard it said that her
grandfather was then 60 and her grandmother 24 years
old. There does not appear to be any reason to doubt
the correctness of the tradition.
Children of the first ivife: (1) Richard, b. ab.
1650; m. Susannah .(2) Stephen, b. 1652; m. 16
April, 1674, Mary Pitman. They had two sons and one
daughter. — Stephen, b. in 1675 ; Nathaniel, b. in 1677 ;
Mary, b. in 1679 ; Mary m. Ebenezer Varney (Quaker) ;
they built the so-called Ham house at Garrison Hill, in
1694 or '95. They have many descendants. Mary's
father and grandfather were killed by the Indians when
the garrison was captured ; her mother and brothers,
Stephen and Nathaniel, were carried captives to Cana-
da ; they never returned ; the mother was baptized 8
Dec, 1693, as daughter of William and Barbara Pit-
man.— (3) Solomon, b. 1663; d. 1664.— (4) Nicholas,
b. . He was killed by the Indians 26 July, 1690. —
(5) Experience, b. in 1666; m. Samuel Heard, son of
Capt. John Heard of Dover. — (6) Judith, b. ; m.
Ens. John Tuttle, son of Capt. John Tuttle of Dover. —
(7) Rose, b. ; m. John Pinkham of Dover Neck;
many descendants. These three daughters were taken
prisoners by the Indians and carried as far as Conway,
where the soldiers pursuing rescued them from the
Children of third wife: (1) Hannah, b. 1687; d.
28 June, 1689. She was killed by an Indian who is said
to have smashed the child's head against a stone step.
A bone from this child can be seen at the Woodman
Institute, where other relics taken from the cellar of
the garrison are on exhibition. — (2) Christine, b.
March 1688-89. She and her mother were carried to
Canada and the mother never returned; the daughter
grew up and married a Frenchman ; had two children,
and then he died ; soon after that she returned to New
England and became the wife of Capt. Thomas Baker,
of Massachusetts. Her later years were spent in Do-
ver, keeping a tavern at The Corner, (Silver street and
Central avenue) beginning about 1735. Her son. Col.
Otis Baker, was then 8 years old, and became a very
distinguished man ; their graves are in Pine Hill Ceme-
tery. (For further particulars see New England His-
toric and Genealogical Register, Vol. 5, pages 181-187.)
Descendants: Col. Daniel Hall, Alvah H. Place,
Mrs. Ellen Tasker Scales.
PARKER, CAPTAIN ROBERT, 1735-1819. He
was born in Portsmouth, 15 August, 1735 ; died in Lee,
N. H., 14 December, 1819. His manly vigor was un-i
abated, and his mental powers were at their best; he
contracted pneumonia by a ride, on an extremely cold
day, from Portsmouth to Lee, by way of Newmarket.
He was confined to his bed only four days ; double pneu-
monia closed his vigorous life of 84 years, 4 months.
His daughter, Adaline Rice Parker, was then four
weeks old; as the babe was brought to him shortly
before he expired, he looked upon her with a father's
affection, and said : "God bless her, may she live to be
comfort to her mother !" Her mother always said that
the prayer had been fully answered.
Captain Parker was son of Naham and Mary
(Moore) Parker; he was born in England and was a
master of sailing ships which came to Portsmouth in
the early part of the eighteenth century ; in this town
he was married to Mary Moore, daughter of John
Moore; she was related to the families of the Cutts,
Moffatt and Whipples. They had five children :— Mary,
who married a Munson or (Munroe) and lived to be
over a hundred years old ; Robert ; William and John,
both of whom died without issue; Samuel Parker,
whose son married Ruth Brewster, and had issue sur-
Naham Parker died when his son Robert was seven
years old (1742) ; when he was fourteen he was ap-
prenticed to Mark Newmarch to learn the shipbuilding
trade; the ship yard was in Kittery. When he had
finished his term of service, seven years, he went to
sea as ship-carpenter, and not long after became mas-
ter of a vessel of his own, and for nearly forty years
was engaged in the shipping business. During the
Revolutionary War, he was engaged in the privateering
business, and won big fortunes. Personally, he made
three successful voyages in command of a privateer.
At one time he was employed to bring a cargo of pow-
der from France, and landed it safely at Portsmouth
at a critical period when the supply of powder for the
army was very low. In his later years he was engaged
in ship-building and farming.
At the beginning of the Revolution, he purchased
a farm of three hundred acres, on the "Mast Road" in
Lee, on which was excellent ship-building timber, and
he engaged in ship-building business on his farm. In
a letter dated at "Lee, July 13th, 1776" he offered his
services to the Committee of Safety, at Exeter, to make
the trip to Martinico and get a ship load of powder
and woolen goods for the army, as he had information
that a cargo had arrived there ; the Committee accepted
the offer and the goods were delivered in course of the
year. His family then lived at Portsmouth. In 1777,
he built, at the ship yard on his farm in Lee, the "Priva-
teer" ship "General Sullivan ;" then took it apart and
hauled the frame and other material to Newmarket,
where it was put together again and launched there,
and sailed from Portsmouth, on its first cruise in 1778 ;
on its return it was taken back to Newmarket and en-
larged, and then was used in several other voyages
successfully before the privateering season was closed.
There were ten proprietors, Capt. Parker owned one-
Captain Parker's family lived at Lee from about
1780 till his death in December, 1819. He was the
wealthiest man in town, by far, and built the beautiful
mansion that now stands on the west side of the Mast
Road, overlooking a magnificent field of many acres.
For thirty years Capt. Parker devoted much time and
money to improving the farm ; he had workmen build
the miles of grand stone walls that surround the fertile
fields ; it was said by the neighboring farmers the stoneg
were laid so close a squirrel could not make a nest in it
to deposit his winter provisions. He possessed remark-
able independence, enterprise, and force of character.
He was of an affectionate disposition, generous, hos-
pitable and kind to the poor, with manly sensibility and
sensitiveness of heart.
Captain Parker was married three times: — (1)
Sarah Sherburne, of Portsmouth, daughter of Ephraim
Sherburne, born 3 January, 1742 ; died 2 August, 1804.
Children: (1) Robert, b. July 11, 1761; lost at
sea in 1778. — (2) Sarah, b. December 9, 1763; m.
Samuel Briard, a sea Captain ; she died Jan. 9, 1825. —
(3) William, b. January 2, 1765 ; d. Nov. 4, 1802.— (4)
Elizabeth, b. Feb. 28, 1767 ; m. John Flagg, a sea cap-
tain. — (5) John, b. July 26, 1769; died in infancy. —
(6) Hannah, b. May 29, 1771 ; m. Captain John Fabyan
Parrott, a member of the merchant marine at Ports-
mouth, Representative in the New Hampshire Legisla-
ture in 1811, for Portsmouth; Representative in Con-
gress from New Hampshire 1817-1819; a Senator of
the United States from 1819 to 1825 ; in 1826 was ap-
pointed Postmaster of Portsmouth ; d. in Greenland
July 9, 1836, aged 68. She died August 26, 1812.— (7)
Abigail, twin of Hannah, died in infancy. — (8) Abigail
the second by that name, b. October 17, 1773 ; m. Cap-
tain William Rice of Portsmouth ; she died in 1812. —
(9) John, b. Feb. 15, 1775; died in Cambridge in De-
cember, 1309.— (10) Susannah, b. March 2, 1777; died
in infancy. — (11) Susannah, the second of that name,
b. January 11, 1780; m. Enoch Greenleaf Parrott, sea
captain, of Portsmouth ; Navy Agent at Portsmouth ;
d. April 21, 1852.— (12) Samuel, b. Feb. 21, 1782; d.
Children of third wife, Ann Pender gast: (1)
Robert Whipple, b. Jan. 17, 1815 ; d. Jan. 30, 1891.—
(2) John Flagg, b. Nov. 17, 1816; d. Sept. 13, 1867.—
(3) Adaline Rice, b. Nov. 12, 1819; d. N9V. 14, 1860.
Noted school teacher.
Those who are interested in senility and psychology
will note the very curious and extraordinary fact, that
there was a span of fifty-eight years between the dates
of the birth of Captain Parker's first and last child, who
was born when he was in his 85th year.
Captain Parker's second wife was Hannah Ches-
ley, daughter of Lemuel Chesley of Durham, to whom
he was married in 1805 ; she brought him no children,
she died in 1813. He married (3) Ann Pendergasi,
daughter of John and Deborah (Durrell) Pendergast,
of Durham, born June 7, 1791; she married (2) John
Langmaid, and they lived in Nottingham, one mile from
Lee Hill. They had children — George and Charles,
twins, and Margaret.
Descendant: Dr. James A. Spalding of Portland.
PARROTT, JOHN, 1742-1790. He was son of
Abraham and Elizabeth (French) Perrott, and was
christened in the parish church Broadhempston, Devon-
shire, England, Oct. 3 (14), 1742. The old spelling
of the name was changed to its present spelling by their
son John, after he settled in Portsmouth. He came to
this town with Thomas Thompson, but when is not
known ; it was before the opening of the Revolution.
There is a family tradition that he was a midshipman
on Admiral Saunders' fleet, which came over with
Wolfe to capture Quebec in 1659. This is shown to be
correct, as Dr. Spalding of Portland ascertained by
consulting records in London, that a certain John Par-
rott was discharged, in 1759, from the "Prince Freder-
ick;" and of an age that corresponds exactly with the
age of his ancestor, John Parrott.
In 1773 John Parrott bought a house in Ports-
mouth of Samuel Treadwell, a boat builder of Brent-
wood, for £180, presumably on the corner of Chestnut
and Congress streets. When the Revolution came on
he was found guarding ships in Portsmouth harbor
and patrolling at the forts later. His name is attached
to documents of the Committee of Safety, and as pro-
testing against Tories.
Although a seaman and captain in the merchant
marine there are but few records extant referring to
him. One of these is that he sold his vessel at Antigua
in 1783, and came home in the schooner "Speedwell",
Captain McClellan. In 1786 he was in command of
the ship "Amherst", bound for Antigua; in 1789 he
was in command of the brig "Rokeby", just built at
Newmarket, from where it was towed through Little
Bay and the Pascataqua River to Portsmouth.
In 1782 he bought 60 acres of land in Greenland
of Ebenezer Gate, for £225 ; in 1787 he bought 35 acres
and a house on it for £300, including right in a grist
mill and water power. On December 29, 1789, he ar-
rived in Portsmouth from a voyage on his ship
"Rokeby" ; soon after landing he was taken suddenly
ill with pneumonia, and died on the 4th of January,
1790 ; he was buried in the North Gemetery by the side
of his first wife. His will was probated on Feb. 4,
1790, and letters of administration granted to his *
widow, Martha (Brackett) Parrott of Greenland.
Gaptain Parrott, in 1766, married Deborah
Walker, daughter of William and Mehitable Walker of
Portsmouth. She refused to have the marriage cere-
mony performed until he had secured a certificate of
baptism in the Parish Ghurch in England. He did
that and they were married. It was fortunate for his
descendants as that is the only evidence they have of
when he was born.
Children: (1) Elizabeth French; m. John Tos-
can, Vice Gonsul for France at Portsmouth. — (2) John
Fabyan, named for a celebrated lawyer of Portsmouth ;
sea captain, member of Gongress, United States Sen-
ator, and Postmaster of Portsmouth. — (3) William
Walker, who early moved to Gloucester, Mass.; sea
captain and merchant.
Deborah Walker died Feb. 21, 1779. Gaptain
Parrott married (2) Martha Brackett, daughter of
James and Mary (Gate) Brackett of Greenland. She
was born December, 1745; died December 7, 1825.
They had one son, Enoch Greenleaf Parrott, grand-
father of Dr. Spalding of Portland.
Descendant: Dr. James A. Spalding of Portland.
PALMER, BARNABAS, 1725-1816. He was
born in Dublin, Ireland, 29 May, 1725. He died in
Milton, N. H., 27 November, 1816. Although born in
Ireland, he was of English descent, both paternal and
maternal. He was graduated from Dublin University
in 1743. Soon after graduation he came to America,
landing in New York. Later he came to Boston and
engaged in business as a merchant. In 1745 he en-
listed in the 8th company of the Massachusetts Regi-
ment that was being raised to go with Sir William
Pepperrell to Cape Breton Island to engage in the siege
' of Louisburg. In that siege his company was part of
that detachment of troops which destroyed the ware-
house containing naval stores, and he helped capture
the Royal battery. On June 16 of that campaign he
lost his right arm by wounds received in battle; for
his bravery he was breveted, or promoted to the rank
of Major, by which title he was known during the rest
of his long life; he lived to be ninety-one years old,
vigorous to the end.
In 1747 he married Elizabeth Robinson, daughter
of Christopher and Elizabeth (Hilton) Robinson. She
was a descendant of the Colonial Governors Winthrop
and Dudley. She was born 16 August, 1729. Her
father was a soldier in the Louisburg expedition, and
died there while engaged in the siege. Their first
home was at Londonderry, where he engaged in busi-
ness a few years. Their first child was born in that
town; they gave her the name Mary Palmer. Soon
after that he removed to Rochester, N. H., where he
resided many years and was one of the prominent busi-
ness men of the town. He built a large house on
Rochester Hill, which was elegantly furnished for those
times. That was his home for many years ; in it were
born 11 of his 12 children, a remarkable family of sons
Mr. Palmer was largely engaged in the lumber
business. He owned timber lots in Rochester, Wake-
field, Moultonborough, and Milton. He had several
sawmills and gristmills at the falls in those towns in
which he sawed the lumber and ground the corn and
wheat for the farmers' families in the neighborhood
of the mills. He was a very busy, honorable, and up-
right man ; though he had but one arm, having lost his
right arm at Louisburg, Major Palmer made his brains
do what the lack of that arm prevented him from do-
ing. For sixty years he was an active member of the
Church on the Hill there, he and his wife having joined
the Church, by confession of faith and baptism, 26
Major Palmer was one of the few college educated
men of the town at that time, and being such he was
much called on to attend to public business, and act as
scrivener for his less educated fellow citizens. As he
was a good soldier in the Colonial wars, he was equally
a good patriot in the Revolutionary war; though he
was past the age to do military service in the field, he
nevertheless did equally valuable work for the cause in
his town at home. He signed the Association Test
Oct. 15, 1775, and was one of the Selectmen much of
the time during the war ; his last year of service in that
office was in the year 1780. He was chairman of the
board nearly every year. He was Representative for
Rochester in the General Court for the years 1788,
1789, 1790, 1791. He was delegate in the Convention
that ratified the Constitution of the United States that
made the Union complete in 1788. He was one of the
influential members of the convention and had much
to do in getting the members to vote to adopt the Con-
stitution. He was delegate in the convention that was
held in 1791-92 that revised the Constitution of New
Hampshire, which had been adopted in 1784.
Major Palmer's beloved wife, Elizabeth, died in
1804. They had lived a married life fifty-seven years ;
their home was one of the happiest and most prosper-
ous in Rochester. He was then nearly 80 years old,
and it was thought best that he give up his old home
and pass the remainder of his years in Milton, on
Plumer's Ridge, where his son William had a fine farm,
and afforded his father a comfortable home. — otium
cum dignitatie. — He died 27 November, 1816, aged 91
years, 6 months.
Children: (1) Mary, b. 2 July, 1748; m. Josiah
Main, son of Rev. Amos Main, the first minister of
Rochester. The Main statue stands on Rochester
Square.— (2) Margaret, b. 29 Aug., 1749; m. Col.
David Copp; he was a friend of Gen. Washington in
Revolutionary War times. — (3) Jonathan, b. 2 July,
1751; m. Polly Roberts of Somersworth; he d. 1843. —
(4) Samuel, b. 18 Oct., 1755; m. Anna Garland. — (5)
William, b. 19 Oct., 1757; m. Susannah Twombly.—
(6) Elizabeth, b. 23 Dec, 1759; m. John Merrick of
Bangor. — (7) Barnabas, b. 29 Dec, 1761; died young.
— (8) John, b. 6 Jan., 1763; m. Dorothy Ricker. No
children. — (9) Barnabas, b. 18 Feb., 1765; m. Mary
Place; d. at Athens, Me., 1822.— (10) Benjamin, b.
5 Aug., 1766; m. Martha Hartford; d. in Augusta,
Me., 1806.— (11) Joseph, b. 16 June, 1769; m. Mercy
Hanson of Dover.— (12) Mercy, b. 20 Aug., 1770; d.
young.— (13) Dudley, b. 16 April, 1775; m. Abigail
Pickering of Milton ; they had 8 ch. ; she d. and he m.
(2) Hannah Folsom; they had one child; she died and
he m. (3) Mary Jewell; they had 8 children; by the
three wives he had 17 children. He lived to be 80
years old, and was proud of his family. He died in
Descendants: Mrs. Bertha Palmer Greene; Mrs.
Elizabeth Palmer Place.
PAUL DANIEL, was born in Ipswich, England,
and came to America before 1640 as «" f „Aug^^;,?
that year, in Boston, he is mentioned ^s J^anner
which usually meant the master of a vessel He de-
dared himself from Ipswich, England, and gave a
etter of attorney for the sale of lands in Ipswich and
deUvery of money to his wife, Elizabeth He bought
iand on Long Reach, Kittery, in 1648, but from a depo-
stt"on made by Thomas Hanson (the first Hanson in
Dover) 7 March 1636-7, we learn that Hanson and
Paul were brothers-in-law, and had been m Kittery be-
fore 1640. Captain Paul had come there on some
trading voyage, probably, and finally -"M there in
1648 Mr. Hanson's deposition is in Vol 47 ot tne
New' York Genealogical and Biographical Record. It
appears that Hanson's wife was Mary Pau , and Paul s
t'ife was Elizabeth Hanson. Daniel Paul signed the
Submission of Maine to Massachusetts m 1632, and
had grants in 1653 and 1665. The last was in the Great
Cove below "ye Boiling Rock"; he sold this to John
Sloper 14 Feb , 1679. In 1659 Daniel Paul and Eliza-
bth his wife, mortgaged to Richard Cutt "66 acres
above ye Boiling Rock, between Gabriel Tetherly on the
south and Joseph Alcock on the north. He is men-
ioned in 1660 as shipbuilder. In 1672 he gave his
homestead to his son Stephen," in consideration of a
marriage forthwith to be solemnized.
Cmdren: (1) Abigail; m. Joseph Alcock.-(2)
Stephen; m. Catherine, daughter of Antipas Maverick.
He was a shipwright and did much shipbuilding at his
yard on the "Long Reach" of the Pascataqua River.
He died about 1695 ; widow was living m 170b.
"' nJrCkaaren: (1) Elizabeth m. John Thompson.
_(2) Susannah, m. Samuel Fernald, 12 Oct., 1699.-
(S Daniel, m. Sarah Bragdon.-(4) John, m. Mar
ffaret Toby.— (5) Moses, m. 1701, Abigail — , (2)
IjLabeth Remick.-(6) Abigail, m. John Scnggms.
ofaLXts; Mrs. Ida E. Fernald; Mrs. Jessie
PERKINS, ABRAHAM, 1596-1683. He was born
in England about 1596; his wife's name was Mary;
soon after they were married they came over to New
England. Being Puritans, they desired to have more
freedom in the exercise of their religious belief; soon
after the settlement of Hampton they came to that
town, and he was admitted as a freeman, May 13, 1640.
In January preceding, the town had granted him eighty
acres of land; and in 1646 he was granted two shares
in the commons. He was often employed in business
for the town and for others. His handwriting was
remarkably neat and legible, and more modern in ap-
pearance than most of the old style of penmanship.
He was Marshal in 1654, and was one of the leading
citizens. He died suddenly, August 31, 1683, aged 87
years. His wife, Mary, died May 29, 1706, aged 88
Children: (1) Mary, b. 15 Dec, 1639; m. Giles
Fifield.— (2) Abraham, b. 2 Sept., 1639; m. Elizabeth
Sleeper. It has been claimed that he was the first male
child born in Hampton, but at least one other, Peter
Johnson, was baptized earlier, and perhaps born in that
town. He was killed by the Indians, June 13, 1677. —
(3) Luke, b. 1641 ; m. 1663 widow Hannah Cookery,
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Long; they lived in
Charlestown, Mass. — (4) Humphrey, b. 23 Jan., 1642;
d. young. — (5) James, b. 5 October, 1647; m. Leah
Cox. — (6) Jonathan, b. 8 May, 1630; m. Sarah ;
d. 24 Jan., 1689.— (7) David, b. 28 Feb., 1654; m. (1)
Elizabeth ; (2) 1699, Martha, daughter of John
Howard; d. 1736. He was a blacksmith; removed to
Bridgewater, Mass. ; was Representative to General
Court 1690.— (8) Abigail, b. 12 April, 1655; m. 10
Nov., 1675, John Folsom of Exeter. — (9) Humphrey,
b. 17 May, 1661; m. Martha Moulton; d. 12 Jan., 1712.
Descendant: Miss Isabelle Foster, Portsmouth.
POMFRETT, LIEUT. WILLIAM. He was the
second Town Clerk of Dover ; the record of his election
is as follows : "Primo die Nov. Mensis 47. At a
publique Towne meeting it is this day ordered yt Wil-
liam Pomfrett shall keep the Records of the Towne and
record the Lands and Acts of the Towne, as hath bin
given heretofore to p'ticular psons, or that shall bee
hereafter." Mr. Pomfrett served continually into
1665, and perhaps to 1670. In his writing is our oldest
extant volume of records, and it is marked No. 7 on its
parchment cover; the other six numbers are lost; how
that happened no one has ever explained. In 1657 Mr,
Pomfrett was "chosen to be Clerk of the writs and
likewise nominated to be Recorder of the Cortt." He
held these offices several years. — "22-6mo-1648 — (In
town meeting) It is ordered that Mr. George Smith,
William Pomfrett and John Hall being chosen shall
have full power and authority to put an end to all con-
troversies that shall at any time arise for the space of
one whole year." This was the regular practice for
many years, and the officers were called "Commission-
ers." Mr. Pomfrett was elected many times to this
office. He also held other official positions. He was
Lieutenant of a militia company several years. His
residence, for a number of years, was on Low street,
next to Capt. Thomas Wiggin, who lived on "Captain's
Hill". He signed the Combination agreement in 1640.
He came over from England with Captain Thomas
Wiggin's party in the fall of 1633. Date of his birth
and death are not known.
His daughter, Elizabeth, married Deacon John
Dam; it is not known whether or not he had other
Descendants: Seth Elmer Dame, Albert H. Lam-
son, Mrs. Ella Weeks Lamson, Alvah Herbert Place,
PEPPERRELL, COL. WILLIAM, 1646-1733. He
was born in Tavistock Parish, Plymouth, England; he
came to the Isles of Shoals about 1660. He was en-
gaged in the fishing business there a number of years.
After he came from the Shoals to Kittery to reside he
married Margery, daughter of John and Joan Bray, of
that place. The Bray house is now standing; Col.
Pepperrell built his house near by it, which later was
enlarged by his son. Sir William Pepperrell; both of
these houses are of historic interest. Col. Pepperrell,
from a fisherman, became a shipbuilder, merchant and
leading citizen of the town. He accumulated large
wealth, much of which passed to his son. Sir William,
who increased it many fold. He died 15 Feb., 1733,
aged nearly 87.
Children: (1) Andrew, b. 1 July, 1681; m. 1707
Jane, dau. of Robert and Margery (Batson) Eliot; d.
1713 ; his widow m. 25 Nov., 1714, Lieut. Charles Frost.
— (2) Mary, b. 5 Sept., 1685; m. (1) 4 Sept., 1702, Hon.
John Frost of Newcastle, N. H. ; (2) 12 Aug., 1745,
Rev. Benjamin Colman; (3) 6 Oct., 1748, Rev. Ben-
jamin Prescott. — (3) Margery, b. 15 Sept., 1689; m.
(1) 4 Nov., 1706, Pelatiah Whittemore, who was lost
in shipwreck near the Shoals; (2) Sept., 1730, Elihu
Gunnison. — (4) Joanna, b. 22 June, 1692 ; m. 20 March,
1710-11, Dr. George Jackson; d. 1726.— (5) Miriam,
b. 3 Sept., 1694; m. 25 April, 1715, Andrew Tyler of
Boston.— (6) William, b. 27 June, 1696; m. 16 March,
1723, Mary, dau. of Grove Hirst. He became the .fa-
mous Sir William; d. 6 July, 1759; wife d. 25 Nov.,
Descendants: Mrs. Abbie G. Griffith, Miss Susan
Woodman, Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney, Walter
PITMAN, REV. MARK. His great grandfather,
William Pitman, was born in England about 1632,
and was a blacksmith; this is shown by a depo-
sition. Wm. married (1) in Boston 29th of the 9th
month, 1653, Barbara Evans. He came to Oyster River
in Dover before 1657, as on 12 May, 1657, he was living
on a portion of William Roberts' land, and next to
Robert Burnham's land ; he took a deed of that land in
1664. It is a fair inference that his first wife had died
and he married (2) Ann, daughter of William Roberts,
about 1660; she is repeatedly mentioned between 1661
and 1682 as wife of William Pitman, He was rated at
Oyster River 1657-1677. His will shows that he died
Children: (1) Mary, b. 15 Nov., 1657; m. 16
April, 1674, Stephen Otis, son of Richard Otis; both
father and son were killed by the Indians 28 June,
1689, and she was carried to Canada, prisoner, and
there baptized 8 Dec, 1693, as daughter of William and
Barbara Pitman. — (2) Ezekiel, b. 1658; m. Elizabeth
. (3) John, b. 1663 ; executor of his father's will. —
(4) Francis, b. 1665; m. widow Elizabeth Tibbetts. —
(5) Nathaniel, m. widow Deliverance Derry. — (6)
Joseph, b. 1669; m. Elizabeth .(7) Abigail, m.
Stephen Willey before 1676. — (8) Sarah, m. Jeremiah
Drisco.— (9) Ann, b. 1672; m. John Sias.— (10)
Judith, m. 8 Jan., 1715, John Ham.
Rev. Mark Pitman was a soldier in the Revolu-
tionary War, and lived in Portsmouth. His daughter,
Mary, b. in 1785, married William Stocker, 26 Jan.
Descendants: Alfred A. Stocker, M, D., Miss
Edith M. Raitt.
RAITT, ALEXANDER, a Scotchman, born about
1722, came to Kittery about 1745, and married 2 Oct.,
1747, Miriam, widow of Eliot Frost, and daughter of
Hon. John Frost of Newcastle, N. H. He was a mari-
ner and died in the West Indies. His widow, born 8
Oct., 1722, died 3 June, 1807.
Children: (1) Alexander, b. 15 Feb., 1749; d. 9
Sept., 1751.— (2) James, b. 28 Aug., 1751; d. s. p. 28
Feb., 1776.— (3) William, b. 22 April, 1753; m. Sarah
Leighton.- (4) John, b. 20 Feb., 1755; m. Sally Good-
win.— (5) Andrew, b. 31 Jan., 1757; d. s. p. 27 May,
1791.— (6) Mary, b. 16 Jan., 1761; m. 18 Feb., 1779,
Reuben Ferguson. — (7) Miriam, b. 27 June, 1762; m.
(1) 27 Nov., 1781, William Ferguson; (2) 23 Dec,
1728, Benjamin Gerrish.
Descendant: Ralph S. Bartlett.
ROE, ANTHONY, received land grants in Scar-
boro, where he served as selectman. After 1690 he
lived at Portsmouth, and died there soon after 1700.
Anthony Roe, Sr., and Anthony Roe, Jr., were his son
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. 1661; m. Thomas
Larrabee. — (2) Anthony, m. Martha ; both were
living at Portsmouth as late as 1700. Their son, An-
thony, m. 30 Jan., 1712, Joanna, dau. of Thomas and
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
REMICK, CHRISTIAN, came from England or
from Holland, to New England about 1631, and was
living in Kittery before 1650. He signed the submis-
sion to Massachusetts in 1652. He settled on Eliot
Neck, where he had a grant of 52 acres from the town
8 April, 1651. Six grants to him are recorded. His
house stood near the river, not far from the present
schoolhouse. He was a farmer and land surveyor, and
often selectman of the town ; also town treasurer sev-
eral years. His wife Hannah was living in 1703; he
was living in 24 Jan., 1715, in Kittery.
Children: (1) Hannah, b. 25 April, 1656; m.
Richard Gowell.— (2) Mary, b. 7 Aug., 1658; m. Peter
Dixon.— (3) Jacob, b. 23 June, 1660; m. (1) Lydia
; (2) Mary Shapleigh.— (4) Sarah, b. 16 July,
1663; m. (1) John Thompson; (2) John Sloper; (3)
Moses Worster.— (5) Isaac, b. 20 July, 1665; m. Eliza-
beth , and had children.. Moved to South Carolina
in 1698, having sold his farm to John Dennett. — (6)
Abraham, b. 9 June, 1667; m. Elizabeth Freeman of
Eastham, Mass.— (7) Martha, b. 20 Feb., 1669; m.
Thomas Cole.— (8) Joshua, b. 24 April, 1672; m. Ann
Lancaster.— (9) Lydia, b. 8 Feb., 1676.
Descendants: Oliver Remick Grant, Lieut. Oliver
Philbrick Remick, Mrs. Harriet J. (Remick) Lydston.
ROBY, SAMUEL, was born in England, 12 Feb.,
1628-9, and in the family Bible which Dr. Ebenezer
Roby found when visiting his English relatives in
1726, the names of Henry and Samuel had entered
against them — "went to New England." — Samuel first
appeared in the records here in 1663, when Henry
Roby "acted for his brother Sam" in a court proceed-
ing. He soon married Mary, daughter of George Wal-
ton, and spent the remainder of his life in the business
section of Great Island, as there is mention of Mr.
Roby's shop, and one of his servants, or employees,
gave testimony in the witchcraft case.
Children: (1) Mary, m. 13 Aug., 1683, William
Tetherly of Kittery, who died 1693; m. (2) 1694, John
Lydston. — (2) Thomas, date of birth and death are not
known. — (3) Walton, date of birth and death are not
known. They were both witnesses in the "stone
throwing Devil case," 1682, and were mentioned in
their Grandfather Walton's will, 1686. The name of
Thomas appears in the tax lists of 1688-1689.
Descendayit: Charles Thornton Libby.
RHODES, THOMAS, M'as of Kittery in 1679 ; he
married 1679 Mary Thompson, born about 1655; she
was the daughter of Miles Thompson who is men-
tioned in Boston court records, 27 May, 1643. His
home was on the lot north of Thompson's brook, in
South Berwick. He had a grant of land there in 1656.
After the death of his first wife he married (2) Ann
. He was living in 1702, and she was living in
Children: (1) Ann, b. 10 April, 1680.— (2)
Mary, b. Sept. 1682 ; m. 28 April, 1702, Samuel Shorey.
— (3) Jacob, b. 22 Feb., 1683 ; m. 7 Sept., 1704, Eleanor
Brawn. — (4) Charity, b. 28 Nov., 1687; m. George
Cross.— (5) Miles, b. 28 Jan., 1689; m. 16 Feb., 1702,
Patience Donnell of York. For more information
examine the History of Kennebunkport. — (6) Eleanor,
b. 8 May, 1693; m. March, 1712-3, Samuel Pike.— (7)
John, b. 28 Nov., 1707.
Descendants: Albert E. Rhodes, Marion A.
SEAVEY, WILLIAM, 1600-1680. Born in Eng-
land in 1600; he came over in 1631 with Capt. John
Mason's company. He was one of the active leaders
in that company at Strawberry Bank, being selectman
and showing himself to be otherwise a man of conse-
quence ; he is called Elder Seavey in 1660. He died
about 1680. He was at the Shoals with fishing ships
before 1630, His grants of land were in that part of
old Portsmouth that later took the name of Rye. Three
generations following lived there, of whom Samuel was
a soldier in the Revolutionary war ; in 1819 he was
granted a pension.
Children: (1) Thomas, b. 1627 ; m. Tamsen .
(2) William, b. 1640; m. Hannah .(3) John, b.
1650; m. 29 July, 1680, Hannah Walker, widow of
Joseph Walker, and daughter of John Philbrook. — (4)
Elizabeth; m. Odiorne. — (5) Stephen, b. ;
Descendants: Miss Annie Katharine Seavey,
George W. Seavey.
RUNELS or RUNALS, JOB, is first mentioned in
the Rockingham Deeds, "Nov. 13, 1713," when he is
said to be of Dover, and had conveyed to him from
Joseph Davis, for £28, 3 score acres of land lying on
the west side of Wednesday's Brook (in Lee). On
that lot he settled soon after, and that was his home for
the rest of his life. Later he became an extensive land
owner. He was married about 1713, and his wife's
name was Hannah, maiden name not known. He held
various town offices in Durham, and he and his wife
were members of the Church in Durham, before that
town was separated from Dover. He was probably
born in Nova Scotia about 1685; died in Lee (which
had become a town), 1762.
Children: Job, b. 1714; m. Sarah . Lived
on the home farm in Lee. — (2) Abigail (Nabby), b.
1717; m. Miles Randall of Lee.— (3) Susan, b. 1719;
m. (1) Samuel Thompson, (2) Jonathan Thompson. —
(4) Enoch, b. 1721 ; lived in Canterbury; d. in Canada.
(5) Mary, b. 15 May, 1724; m. Nathaniel Randall of
Lee. — (6) Jonathan, b. 1726; m. 1754, Keziah Carter.
— (7) Hannah, b. 4 June, 1728; m. Samuel Langley, a
farmer in Lee. — (8) Samuel, b. 1730; m. ; d. in
Descendants: Miss Ella Gertrude Durgin, John
SCALES, CAPTAIN MATTHEW, 1685-1725, was
born 29 March, 1685, in Rowley, Mass., and was son
of James and Susannah (Curtis) Scales. He was born
in 1654, in Rowley, and died in 1686. He was son
of William and Ann Scales, who came from England in
the spring of 1639, with Rev. Ezekiel Rogers and his
company, and with them commenced the settlement of
Rowley, Mass., in 1640. The company consisted of 60
families, and they settled in the beautiful village, which
they named Rowley, in honor of that town in England.
Matthew Scales was but one year old when his
father died and but six years old when his mother died ;
he was then placed under the guardianship of John
Harris of Ipswich. Mr. Harris appears to have been
a good guardian and gave the boy a good education and
had him learn the carpenter's trade. In 1712 he com-
menced work at his trade in Portsmouth, N. H. About
1713 he married Sarah Curtis, and they joined the
North Parish Church soon after. There their children
were baptized, as the records show ; their youngest
child was Abraham, b. 1 Sept., and baptized 16 Nov.,
1718, by Rev. John Emerson, minister of the Church.
Matthew Scales resided in Portsmouth till 1719, and
prospered in business, being one of the esteemed
In 1719 he moved to Falmouth, Maine, where his
brother William had commenced a settlement on land
his father had purchased in the preceding century.
Smith's Journal of Falmouth says :
"Scales, William and Matthew. The family
from which these two persons descended settled origi-
nally in Rowley, Mass. William was chosen Represen-
tative from Falmouth in 1719. Their father owned
land in North Yarmouth, and they both went there to
live in 1720. William built a house there upon a point
in the Bay, where his eldest son, Thomas, was born
in 1721, who was the first male child born in North
Yarmouth. They were both killed by the Indians at
their own houses in April, 1725."
On 5 October, 1725, Susannah, wife of William,
and Sarah, wife of Matthew, were appointed admin-
istrators of the estates of their respective husbands,
as the probate record shows. It is not known where
the widow Sarah and her family lived after the death
of Captain Matthew Scales, but probably in Rowley or
Ipswich, as the youngest son, Abraham, learned his
trade as "joiner" in Boston, and after he was "out of
his time" commenced business for himself at Durham,
N. H. His elder brother, Matthew, also a "joiner",
was there with him and they were engaged in business
together. The William Scales family remained at
Yarmouth after the Indians got quiet. From that
family many of the name in Maine are descendants.
But also there are quite a number of families in that
State who are descendants from Matthew, through his
grandson, Rev. Ebenezer Scales, the distinguished
Free Will Baptist minister of Wilton, Me. The chil-
dren of Matthew and Sarah Scales are : _
The North Parish Church, Portsmouth, record;
Rev. John Emerson, minister. A. D. 1714.
April 25, Matthew Scales owned ye Covenant and
his son Matthew bapt.
April 18, 1715, James Scales, son of Matthew, bapt.
June 2, 1717, Mary Scales, dau. of Matthew, bapt.
Nov. 16, 1718, Abraham Scales, son of Matthew,
Descendants: John Scales, Miss Ella Gertrude
1. *SEWARD, JOHN,^ of Portsmouth, ship-
wright, was born probably in Co. Devon, Eng., where
the name is not uncommon, and probably not later
than 1646, for he was doubtless of age when 27 Sept.,
1667, he was appointed one of the appraisers of the
estate of Mark Hunking (N. H. State Pap., vol. 31, p.
103; Essex Ant., vol. 6, p. 134). He died in March,
1705, for his will dated 21 Mar., 1705, was proved 3
Apr., 1705 (N. H. State Pap., vol. 31, p. 546). The
will mentions his wife, Agnes, sons Henry and SamueJ,
and daughters Jean, Agnes, Charity and Love. His
son Henry married in 1694, so it must be assumed that
John Seward married as early as 1674, and thus
perhaps before his arrival in this country. Nothing
further is known of his wife.
John' Seward bought 26 Nov., 1669, of Richard
Cutt a small tract of half an acre (N. H. Deeds, vol. 3,
* Compiled by Henry W. Hardon, A. M., L.L. B., member
of the New York Bar.
p. 21) fronting 96 feet on the Piscataqua river at a
place afterwards called Seward's Beach and Seward's
Hill, on the north side of what is now State Street
where it joins the river. There John' Seward and his
son, Henry', and Henry's sons lived and built ships un-
til shortly before the Revolution when the land was
sold to Governor Langdon. There John' Seward and
his wife were buried in the field above the shipyard
(N. H. Deeds, vol. 12, p. 54). There doubtless his son,
Henry' and his wife were buried.
He was town officer at Portsmouth 1688 et seq.
Children, born at Portsmouth (all mentioned in
his will) :
Henry', of Portsmouth, ship-wright, b. abt. 1674;
d. prior to 13 Apr., 1737, leaving a will, proved that
day, dated 29 May, 1734 (N. H. Prob. Rec, vol. 11, p.
205); m. 23 June, 1694; (Quint's Dover, p. 129).—
Mary' Huntress, dau. of George' and Mary , b. at
Dover (Newington), ; d. about 1760.
He did garrison duty for a short period during
Queen Anne's War (Adj. Gen'l's Rep., 1866, vol. 2, p.
26) . He was a proprietor of land in Barrington where
he had lot 258.
Samuel, of Kittery, Me., 1717, and of Portsmouth,
1727, was probably the younger son, for his father
gave his estate to Henry' charged with legacies for his
other children. He was taxed at Portsmouth in 1727 ;
(Brewster's Rambles, vol. 1, p. 160). I find no fur-
ther mention of him.
Othe7- Children: (3) Jean. — (4) Agnes. — (5)
Charity. — (6) Love.
Descendants: James Spalding, M. D. ; Henry
SEAVEY, THOMAS, 1627-1708, fisherman of Rye
Beach; b. about 1627; died 15 March, 1708-9. He
lived at Sandy Beach. The following is from the
Portsmouth records : — "13 January, 1652 ; it is granted
that each inhabitant is to have Lotts according unto the
order written — William Seavey 5 acres ; Thomas Sea-
vey one acre. In March that year Thomas Seavey was
one of the Lott layers for the town. In December,
1653, Thomas Seavey, with others, had land laid out
to him on "The Plains." In that same year 8 acres of
meadow land and 8 acres of upland were laid out to
Thomas Seavey at Sandy Beach.
Thomas Seavey took the oath of allegiance at Exe-
ter, 14 July, 1657. He is mentioned as being at the
Isles of Shoals in 1663, engaged in the fishing business,
during the season for catching and curing the fish.
From the old records it appears that Thomas Sea-
vey lived at one time on the west branch of Seavey's
Creek ; his relative, William Seavey, lived on the north
side of that Creek and had land extending up to Sher-
burne's Creek which empties into the southwest corner
of Little Harbor Bay. William Seavey deposed in
1676 that he was then 75 years old, so was born in
1601. It seems quite probable that Thomas, who was
born in 1627, was son of William.
Thomas Seavey's wife's name was Tamsen; he
may have married earlier but there is no record which
shows any name but Tamsen.
Children: (1) Henry, b. ; m. ; d. .
Perhaps he married Sarah Pierce, dau. of John and
Sarah Pierce of Kittery. — (2) Benjamin, b. ; m.
(1) Abigail, mother of most of his children; (2) Mary
Wallis. His eldest son, William, m. Mary Hincks.—
(3) Samuel, b. ; m. ; d. .(4) Damaris,
who married Daniel Oshaw. — (5) Rebecca, b. ; m.
Descendants: Mrs. A. C. Hall, Miss Annie Katha-
rine Seavey, George W. Seavey.
SMITH, NICHOLAS, first appears as witness to a
deed from Richard Smith of Shropham, Norfolk Co.,
England, to his son Richard of Ipswich in New Eng-
land, dated 9 April, 1658. The next year he bought
James Wall's farm in Exeter ; this deed was witnessed
by Elizabeth Oilman. Richard Smith's daughter,
Elizabeth, married Edward Oilman, Jr., of Exeter. He
died June 22, 1673, leaving a widow, Mary, who mar-
ried a third husband, 10 Jan., 1676, Charles Rundlett,
of Exeter. She was daughter of Theophilus Shatswell ;
her first husband was William Dale.
Children by first wife: (1) Nathaniel, b. 9 June,
1660; was found dead, at Hampton, aged 20. — (2)
Nicholas, b. 3 June, 1661 ; m. Mary, dau. of Alexander
and Mary (Lissen) Oordon; died in 1716. Thirteen
children. — (3) Anne, b. 8 Feb., 1663; m. at Hampton,
15 Mar., 1679-80, Israel Clifford.
Children by wife Mary: (1) Theophilus, b. 14
Feb., 1667-8 (Captain) ; m. Mary, dau. of John and
Mary (Bradbury) Stanion ; d. 1737. Five children.
— (2) Hannah, b. 10 May, 1673; m. Ebenezer Folsom.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
SCAMMON, HUMPHREY. The first appearance
of this man anywhere was at Portsmouth, October,
1667. Shortly before Philip's war he bought from
Nathaniel Fryer a farm in Wells, but was driven off by
the Indians and returned to Kittery. Later he bought
largely on the e'ast side of the Saco River, where he
had a garrison at the breaking out of the second Indian
war. From 1690 to about 1714 he lived most of the
time in Kittery ; he reached a great age, and finally died
Children: (1) Humphrey, b. at Kittery 10 May,
1677; m. Elizabeth Jordan. — (2) Samuel, m. about
1712, Margery Deering, who d. 10 Oct., 1740, aged 50;
m. (2) Elizabeth Stinson of Biddeford; he d. in 1752,
aged 58, leaving children, Samuel, John and Ebenezer.
— (3) Elizabeth, m. 16 July, 1698, Andrew Haley.—
(4) Mary, m. Hezekiah, son of John Purington. — (5)
Rebecca, m. John Billing.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
SHAPLEIGH, ALEXANDER, came from Kings-
weare, Devonshire, England, and settled in Kittery
about 1633, in the part now Eliot; later he became a
* land owner in the lower part of Old Kittery, and in
1642 built the first house in what is now Kittery, at
Warehouse Point; the place where the cellar was can
be pointed out now to visitors. He was a merchant in
England, and in Kittery was agent for Sir Ferdinand©
Gorges. It is said he gave the name Kittery Point to
the locality that now bears that name; perhaps he
named the whole town from a place near Kingsweare
in Devonshire, England. Deposition by his servant,
Thomas Jones, states that Shapleigh was living at
Sturgeon Creek in 1639; it is supposed that he died
there before 1650 ; his estate was being settled in that
year at a court held at Agamenticus. He was one of
the leading men in the beginning of the settlement of
Kittery. His son, Major Nicholas, kept in the lead
after his father died.
Children: (1) Alexander, b. ab. 1606; d. in Eng-
land in 1642.— (2) Katharine, b. ab. 1608; m. (1)
James Treworgye; (2) Edward Hilton, ab. 1651. She
then came to Exeter to live and that was her home till
her death, 29 May, 1676. Her will is in the first
volume of the Probate Records. — (3) Major Nicholas,
b. ab. 1610; m. Alice, dau. of widow Ann Meseant; d.
The son, Alexander, who died in England in 1642
had a son John Shapleigh, who was born about 1640
and came to Kittery when a young man, and became
one of the influential men of the old town. He was
selectman, representative, ensign of the militia com-
pany of the Upper Parish, and did good service in
fighting the Indians, but finally he was killed by them
29 April, 1706. His wife was Sarah Withers, dau. of
Thomas Withers of Kittery.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney, Mrs. Hannah C. Tibbetts,
Elizabeth Putnam Pope.
SHERBURNE, HENRY, was baptized 28 March,
1611, in the Parish Church at Odiham, Hampshire
County, England ; he died at Portsmouth in 1680. He
came to Portsmouth in 1635 ; he married Rebecca Gib-
bons in 1637. He was warden of the Church of Eng-
land at Portsmouth in 1640 and years following. He
was Town Clerk, 1656-1660. He was treasurer and
commissioner in 1644 and years following. He was
one of the judges in the county court held at Ports-
mouth and Dover, beginning in 1651 and a few years
following. He was representative from Portsmouth in
the General Court at Boston several years. At his
death in 1680 he was one of the richest men in the town.
His son, John, was born at Portsmouth 3 April,
1647; died at Newcastle in 1696. He inherited his
father's large estate and was much engaged in the
shipping business and mercantile affairs in general.
Descendants: Mrs. Cornelia Bingham, Mrs.
Laura C. Heely, John Mark Moses, Mrs. Lucy Gordon
Varney, Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood, Mrs. Annie
(Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
SHERBURNE, JOHN GENTLEMAN, was son of
Joseph Sherburne of Odiham, in Hampshire, England,
who died in 1621, and grandson of Henry Sherburne of
Beam Hall of Oxford, England, who died in 1598, and
is, according to the pedigree compiled in 1710, by Hon.
Henry Sherburne, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
of New Hampshire (1732-1742), a lineal descendant,
in a younger branch of Sir Richard Sherburne of
Stonyhurst Hall, in Lancashire, England, who died in
1513. John was baptized as son of Joseph Sherburne,
Aug. 13, 1615, which the Parish Register of Odiham
still shows. He joined his brother, Henry Sherburne
(who settled in Portsmouth, N. H., 1632), about 1640.
He was a man of attainments, held many oi!ices of
the town and was a prominent and useful citizen for
fifty years. He was a large landholder and left his
children considerable estates. He married about
1645, Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Tuck, "Chirur-
geon", of Hampton, N. H. He died in 1693, his wife
Children: (1) Mary, b. ab. 1647; m. .(2)
John, b. 1650; he is known as Captain John Sherburne,
and lived at the Plains, in Portsmouth, on the home-
stead left to him by his father. This land was deeded
to him by his brother, Henry Sherburne, already men-
tioned as having come to Portsmouth in 1632. The
transfer was made in 1658 and the land has, in part,
remained in possession of his descendants to the pres-
ent time (1918). In 1661 he married Mary, daughter
of Thomas and Hannah (Johnson) Jackson, and a
lineal descendant of John Jackson of Portsmouth. He
died in 1730, leaving 10 children — Priscilla, Elizabeth,
Hannah, John, Jr., James, Thomas, Ruth, Samuel,
Ephraim, and Mary. — (3) Henry, b. 1652; m. .
Descendants: John Mark Moses, Mrs. Annie
(Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
SLADE, ARTHUR, 1682-1746. He was native
of Cornwall, England, and sailed from Deptford, for
New England about 1700. At Deptford he was mem-
ber of the Parish of St. Nichols. He settled at Ports-
mouth, N. H., soon after he arrived in New England ;
he engaged in mercantile business and became one of
the prominent and successful business men. He owned
ships in which he imported his own goods, and mer-
chandise for others. His name is on the Atkinson Sil-
Descendant : Dennison Roger Slade.
SPINNEY, THOMAS, 1620-1701. He came from
England to Kittery about 1650. In 1651 he married
Margery Randall. He signed the submission to Massa-
chusetts in November, 1652. In 1659 the town of Kit-
tery gave him a grant of 200 acres of land at the end
of what is now called Eliot Neck; there he built his
house and there he lived the rest of his life. In a legal
document of date of 1669, he is called "Thomas Spin-
ney, weaver." He was son of Samuel and Elizabeth
(Knight) Spinney. He died 31 August, 1701.
Children: (1) Mary, m. before 1679, John Fer-
nald. — (2) Hannah, m. Samuel Fernald. — (3) Samuel,
m. (1) 26 Sept., 1687, Elizabeth, dau. of Samuel and
Elizabeth (Carle) Knight; m. (2) 27 Sept., 1708, Mar-
garet Shepard; m. (3) 26 Sept., 1734, Jane McClure.
He died in March, 1737. There were nine children of
the first wife, and five of his second wife.
Descendants: Eugene Nathaniel Spinney, Mary
Lizzy Spinney, Joseph Foster, Pay Director (Rear Ad-
miral) U. S. Navy (retired).
SMITH, JOSEPH, 1640-1727. He witnessed a
deed in 1657. He bought of Matthew Williams, in
1660, 40 acres of land on the north side of Oyster
River, near its mouth. The same year he had grant
of a small piece of land on the north side of Oyster
River between the lot of Matthew Williams and that of
William Williams, Jr. Later he had a grant of ten
acres adjoining his home lot on the northwest. In
March, 1693-4 he had a grant of 60 acres on the north
side of Lamprey River. He built his house on the lot
near the mouth of the river, and about 1675 fortified it
with a stockade, which made it safe against the attack
of Indians. They failed to capture it in 1694, when
so many others were destroyed on both sides of the
river. His wife was Elizabeth Bickford, daughter of
John and Temperance Bickford. He was juryman in
1669 and at other times. He was constable (for Oys-
ter River) in 1670 and later. He was selectman in
1699. He died in his garrison house 15 Dec, 1727.
His farm has remained in possession of the Smith
family, his descendants, to the present time (1918).
In his will he gave £12 for repairing the Friends'
meeting house at Dover (Neck), which suggests that
he was a Quaker, and the suspicion is confirmed by the
language of the following paper, found among the Pro-
bate Records, Vol. VI, p. 58:
"Mary Tasker Dr. to Joseph Smith 1697; total 2-4-9.
Friend Henry knock i understand that thou art
conserned in the estate of ye deceased tasket estate.
i desire thou would take care to pay ye Above men-
tioned sum to me, or to Samuel Daniels, his reseit for
it shall be a discharg, this is ye request.
Children: (1) John, b. 9 Jan., 1669; m. Susan-
nah Chesley. — (2) Mary, b. 1670; m. James Thomas;
(2) 8 March, 1726, Samuel Page of Hampton.— (3)
Elizabeth, b. 1672; m. (1) Capt. Samuel Chesley; (2)
Amos Pinkham. — (4) Samuel, b. 16 June, 1687; m.
Hannah Burnham. — (5) Joseph, Jr., had a grant of
land in 1694 ; probably died before his father.
Descendants: Mrs. Elizabeth Emerson Dorr,
Walter B. Greene, Thomas Manning Jackson.
SMITH, RICHARD, was born in Norfolk County,
England, the parish of Shropshire, or Shroppum; he
was one of the proprietors of Ipswich in 1641 ; his
daughter, Elizabeth, married Edward Oilman, Jr., and
they lived in Exeter, N. H. His son, Richard, born in
1640, married Nov., 1660, Hannah Cheney; they lived
in that part of old Exeter now called Newfields. Their
son, Daniel, born in 1673, married (1) Elizabeth
Payne, daughter of Daniel Payne, and granddaughter
of Robert Payne, founder of Ipswich grammar school.
He married (2) 24 March, 1721, Deborah Wicom
(Wilcomb). His son, by second wife, Jeremiah Smith,
was born at Exeter in 1733 ; he married Hannah Locke ;
they settled in Meredith, N. H.
January 3, 1692-3, at a session of the "Court of
Assizes and General Gaol Delivery," convened at Salem,
Mass., Robert Payne, Sr., and Richard Smith were on
the "Jury for Tryalls". Mr. Payne was foreman. It
is reported that the jury found nothing against thirty,
who were indicted for witchcraft. This was the clos-
ing period of the witch trials.
Descendant: Mrs. Mary Elizabeth (Neal) Hana-
STACKPOLE, JAMES, 1652-1736. Tradition
says that he was kidnapped on the coast of Ireland,
when he was fourteen years old, as were hundreds of
others about that time, and brought to America as
servants or appre^itices. He first appears in 1680,
when he was taxed in Dover. The same year he settled
in what is now Rollinsford, on what was recently
known as the Samuel Hale farm, on the road to "Sligo"
and opposite the mouth of Great Works River. The
lot had been granted to Joseph Austin in 1656, but was
never improved by him. James Stackpole bought it of
Austin's son in 1710. In the year 1717 there was a
lawsuit to determine the ownership of adjoining land,
and then Henry Hobbs, aged 47, Hatevil Roberts, aged
56, and Thomas Young, aged 54, deposed that they had
known James Stackpole "to be possessed of the land
that he now lives on thirty-seven years without moles-
tation." Here he and some of his descendants lived
for a century and a half. His house, probably built in
1680, is mentioned in 1709, when the Sligo Road was
laid out. In 1840 it was removed to St. Albans Cove
and is still tenanted, perhaps the oldest house in ancient
Dover, except that of Capt. Valentine Hill at Durham
Falls, built in 1649. In the little cemetery on the old
farm of James Stackpole his descendants have recently
erected a stone to his memory, suitably inscribed.
The origin of the surname is as follows : — On the
southern coast of Wales, about four miles from Pem-
broke, at the mouth of an inlet, or small harbor, rises a
mass of limestone, called the Stack Rock ever since the
Danes conquered that region, about the year 900 A.
D. A Norman knight settled here about the year 1100.
Tradition calls him Richard, but the first historical per-
sonage known was Elidyr de Stakepol, said to have
been a crusader with Richard the Lion-Hearted. His
effigy, carved in limestone, may be seen in the church
at Stackpole, Wales. Richard de Stakepol, doubtless
son of Elidyr, is knowm to have gone with Strongbow
to the conquest of Ireland in 1168-9 and to have settled
in the vicinity of Cork. Thence descendants went to
Limerick, where between the years 1450 and 1650
more than a score of mayors, aldermen and recorders
are found in the records of that city. Bartholomew
Stacpole (there is no k in the Irish language) sur-
rendered Limerick to the army of Cromwell com-
manded by General Henry Ireton, in 1651, he being
then recorder, or city clerk.
In the Parliamentary Roll of Arms, of date about
1300 A. D., is found in old Norman French the follow-
ing: — Sire Richard de Stakepol de argent a un lion
rampant de goides od le Coler de or, i. e., a red rampant
lion, having a gold collar, on a silver shield. Stackpole
Court has been so called eight centuries and is the pres-
ent seat of the Earl of Cawdor. The lineage of the
ancient Stakepols of Pembrokeshire for two or three
centuries is on record at the College of Heraldry, Lon-
don. It contains some errors but is in the main re-
Children of James and Margaret (Warren) Stack-
pole were as follows: (1) Catherine, m. about 1700
Alexander Junkins of York, son of Robert Junkins,
who married Sarah, daughter of John Smith of Cape
Nedick. — (2) James, d. unm. about 1706. — (3) Lieut.
John, m. Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Andrew and
Ann (Allison) Brown, and lived in Biddeford. — (4)
Philip, m. (1) Mercy Thompson; (2) Mrs. Martha
(Downs) McElroy. — (5) William, named in his
brother's will, 1706.— (6) Margaret, m. 7 Jan., 1707-8,
Jonathan Young of York. — (7) Samuel, d. unm. in
1758.— (8) Honor, m. 24 Jan., 1734, Joseph Freathy
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth (Stack-
pole) Baer, Lorenzo E. Baer.
STEVENSON, THOMAS, date of birth not
known, but he was owner of land on the south side of
Oyster River as early as 5 July, 1643, which is a matter
of record. He was rated at Oyster River in 1648. He
received a grant of three acres on Oyster Point in 1649.
His wife's name was Margaret. He died 17 Dec,
3 663. She died 26 Nov., 1663. An old court record
states that Joseph, son of Thomas, "should allow to
three daughters of sd Thomas Stevenson six pounds
a piece, and to sd Joseph's two brothers six pounds a
piece, which two brothers' portion the court allows unto
sd Joseph for bringing them up, and the sd Joseph to
enjoy all the rest of the estate, to himself, he allowing
William Follet six pounds for his disbursements for
Physick for Joseph's sister. Chapman."
Children of Thomas Stevenson: (1) Mary, b.
1651 ; m. 5 April, 1667, Enoch Hutchins of Kittery.—
(2) Joseph; executor of his father's will; killed by the
Indians in 1694. — (3) Thomas, b. 1654; probably slain
by Indians in 1694. — (4) Margaret, m. Williams,
— (5) Daughter, m. Chapman. — (6) Bartholo-
mew, m. Mary Clark.
Descendant: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane.
STOCKER, WILLIAM, 1749-1794. He married
Abigail Randall in 1772, and always lived in Ports-
mouth. His son, Captain William Stocker, Jr., was
born 12 Nov., 1778; married Mary Pitman, daughter
of Mark Pitman ; she was born 7 Nov., 1785.
Descendant: Alfred A. Stocker, M. D.
TASKER, WILLIAM, 1654-1697. He came to
Dover before 1675, as in that year he was taxed here.
He married Mary Adams, daughter of Charles Adams,
who was born about 1623, and bought land of John
Ault, at Oyster River, 10 April, 1645. Adams was
taxed in 1648, and took the oath of fidelity 21 June,
1669. He was constable in 1662. He and fourteen
others of his household were slain by the Indians in
the massacre of July, 1694, and his house was burned.
The mound of earth marking their graves is very near
the Mathes burial place at Durham Point. That
mound has never been disturbed. Mr. Adams gave
land to his daughter, Mary, at the foot of Moharimet's
Hill, on which William Tasker built a garrison house,
near where Major John DeMerritt now (1918) lives.
That was the Tasker farm for three generations. In
the time of the massacre, in 1694, three Indians were
sent to attack the house of William Tasker at the foot
of Moharimet's Hill early in the morning. An Indian
looked into a small window and inquired if it was not
time for them to get up. Mr. Tasker replied with a
shot from his gun which mortally wounded the Indian,
who with bitter screeches was carried off by the other
two. The family immediately fled through the woods
to the Woodman garrison, where they found better
protection. A large crowd had gathered there before
them. William's son, Captain John Tasker, served in
the Crown Point expedition and in other of the French
and Indian wars, and was a distinguished citizen other-
wise. The ancient Tasker burial ground is on a hill in
the rear of Major DeMerritt's house; some of the
gravestones bear inscriptions.
Children: (1) Samuel, slain by the Indians,
June, 1704.— (2) Mary, m. between 1700 and 1704,
Samuel Perkins. — (3) Captain John, m. 3 April, 1718,
Judith Davis. He served in the Crown Point expedi-
tion. His will is of date 12 June, 1755 and 25 Nov.,
1761 ; he names wife Judith, sons Ebenezer, John and
William, daughters Elizabeth Davis, and Rebecca
Tasker, widow of his late son John ; and grandchildren,
Samuel, Betty and Mary, children of John and Rebecca,
all baptized 6 May, 1753. His widow was living in
1772. She was daughter of Joseph and Mary
Descendants: Mrs. Ellen Tasker Scales, John
TETHERLY, GABRIEL, was born, probably, in
Bideford, Co. Devon, England, as Oct. 21, 1692, he was
appointed administrator of his brother William
Tetherly's estate, late of Bideford, England, mariner.
He was admitted an inhabitant of Boston in 1656, but
soon came to Kittery and bought land near the Boiling
Rock in 1660. He married Susannah King, widow
probably of William King. Her son, Richard King,
grew up in the family. He died 10 Dec, 1695, and his
widow and Richard King (stepson) administered his
Children: (1) William, m. 13 Aug., 1683, Mary
Roby; she died in 1693. — (2) Mehitable, m. Alexander
Dennett of Great Island. — (3) Elizabeth, m. (1) John
West of Exeter; (2) Hon. Peter Weare of Hampton.
Children of William and Mary Roby were: (1)
Mary, b. 8 May, 1684; m. 5 April, 1701, James Staple.
— (2) William, b. 3 Nov., 1685; m. Mary Spinney.—
(3) Samuel, b. 26 Feb., 1686; m. Margery Spinney.—
(4) Elizabeth, b. 2 July, 1689; m. April, 1711, Michael
Kennard.— (5) Daniel, b. 20 March, 1691; d. 1727,
unm. — (6) John, named in Daniel's will in 1757.
Descendmits: Rear Admiral Joseph Foster,
Charles Thornton Libby.
TIBBETTS, HENRY, 1596-1676. He was one of
Captain Thomas Wiggin's party that came over in
1633, and commenced the village on Dover Neck. His
residence was on High street, and was a garrison in
Indian war times. His name appears on the tax lists
for many years. He owned various lots of land ; one
of these on High street he sold to John Tuttle, Sr., on
which Mr. Tuttle lived during his residence on Dover
Neck. He held various minor offices ; was constable in
1663. He was engaged in farming, lumbering and
real estate transfers. In 1665 he signed a petition to
the General Court regarding matters of importance to
Dover interests ; certain legislation was unsatisfactory.
The following from the old court records is of interest :
"At a Court holden at Dover, 10th day, 7 mo.
where as upon a complaint of John Awite & Remem-
brance, his wife, against Captain Thomas Wiggin for
wagis due to his wife before she came to pascatquacke,
New Englande, being on the 14th December, 1632 ; and
for as much as it was proved by the oath of henry
Tybbetts that her time of service did begin the first of
March, before she came over to New Englande, yt
was therefore ordered by ye sd Court that the sd Re-
membrance shall have such wagis due unto her from
sd first of March until ye sd 14th of December."
Descendant: Charles Wesley Tibbetts.
THOMAS, JAMES, was living at Oyster River in
1669, as he signed a petition of the citizens that year.
He and Samuel York bought land of Indians in Tops-
ham, Me., 2 July, 1670. He married Martha, daughter
of John Goddard, 10 May, 1670. He was living in
1715 and his widow married (2) before 7 Dec, 1718,
Elias Critchett and was living in 1730.
Children: (1) James, named in the will of John
Goddard; m. Mary Smith. — (2) Elizabeth, m. 13 Jan.,
1691-2, John Crommett.— (3) Abigail, m. ab. 1700,
James Nock. — (4) Welthen, m. ab. 1692, Robert
Huckins; (2) John Grey of Oyster River. — (5) Ann;
m. James Bunker. — (6) Benjamin, b. 1677; m. Mary
Leavitt.— (7) Mary, m. 9 Oct., 1702, John Rollins of
Descendant: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane.
THOMPSON, JOHN, Sr., 1659-1734. He was
son of William Thompson of old Kittery (Eliot), and
was born there at the Thompson homestead near Cold
Harbor on Sturgeon Creek. His father had a grant
of land in Dover, but never came here to live. He died
in 1676, and his son, John, inherited this grant and
came to Oyster River to live when he was about twen-
ty-one, and in 1680 married Sarah Woodman, daughter
of Captain John and Mary (Field) Woodman. His
house was a short distance west of the present College
buildings. He gave bond in 1684 for the proper ad-
ministration of his father's estate and to provide for
James, his lame brother ; this brother turned out to be
a very successful tailor. March 30, 1708, "John
Thompson and James Thompson, sons of William
Thompson, late of Kittery," conveyed the homestead at
"Cold Harbor," in what is now Eliot, on Fore River,
opposite Dover Neck, to Francis Allen. The deed was
witnessed by Jonathan Woodman, Robert Huckins and
David Kincaid. John Thompson's will, dated 12 Aprils
1783, was probated 24 July, 1734.
His grandson, Hon. Ebenezer Thompson of Dur-
ham, was one of the prominent men and officials during
the Revolutionary war. He married Mary Torr.
Following is the list of William Thompson's chil-
dren ; also their ages as given in the probate records of
John, aged 18 years; m. Sarah Woodman, dau. of
William, aged 16 ; m. prob. Mary Lovering.
Robert, aged 13; "living with Toby Hanson in
James, aged 11 ; m. Elizabeth Frye.
Alexander, aged 6 ; m. Ann Curtis.
Judith, aged 2.
Children of John and Sarah Woodman Thompson,
born at Oyster River: (1) John; m. Mary, dau. of
Moses Davis, son of Ens. John Davis of Haverhill and
Oyster River. — (2) Jonathan; m. 23 Jan., 1717-8,
Sarah Burnham. — (3) Robert; m. Abigail Emerson of
Durham. — (4) Sarah; m. 12 June, 1718, Samuel Hill.
— (5) Hannah; m. Moses Stevens of Somersworth. —
(6) Elizabeth; m. 6 July, 1727, Eleazer Clark of Wells,
Me. — (7) Mary; m. Hubbard Stevens.
Descendants: Mrs. Sophia Dodge Hall, John
TRICKEY, FRANCIS, was at Kittery before
1660; that year he received a grant of land from the
town on Gunnison's Neck which he sold to the Gunni-
sons. In real estate transactions he is called "fisher-
man". He was a tax payer in Dover in 1649. He
resided in Portsmouth in 1652 and later. This record
shows he was a busy man, attending to business where
it paid the best income. He died about 1682, and his
son, John, in 1686 ; his widow was living in 1691. His
daughter, Martha, married Elihu Gunnison ; they lived
on Gunnison's Neck; from him the name of the neck
was taken. Another daughter, Sarah, married Sam-
uel Winkley of Portsmouth and Kittery, where the
Winkleys were great shipbuilders. His children were :
John, Martha and Sarah, as above mentioned.
Descendant: Mrs. Adelaide Florence Crane.
TUCKER, JOHN, may have been son of Nicholas
Tucker, v/ho bought 40 acres of Champernowne, 17
May, 1686, "running from ye Stage point East," in
Kittery. From him a creek took the name "Tucker's
Creek." On this creek was a saw mill, in use for many
years ; it is mentioned in a deed of 1708. Tucker's
house stood not far from the mill. In various trans-
actions John Tucker is called "fisherman." In 1728
he married Elizabeth Lead of Newcastle, and they lived
on whet is now known as "Elwyn's Road." Their son,
Joseph Tucker, was born there on 3 June, 1732. He
died there, 17 Feb., 1821.
Descendant: Captain Thomas Manning Jackson.
TREWORGYE, JAMES, as agent for his father-
in-law, bought land in Old Kittery (Eliot), in 1635.
He married at Kingsweare, England, 16 March, 1616,
Katharine Shapleigh, daughter of Alexander, and sis-
ter of Major Nicholas Shapleigh; he went to New-
foundland about 1643, and died there not long after.
His widow returned to Kittery and before 1650 mar-
ried Edward Hilton, Sr., at Exeter; her daughter,
Elizabeth, had married John Gilman of Exeter; it is
not known which married first, the mother or the
daughter, but probably the mother and the daughter
came there to live with the Hilton family.
Children: (1) John, bapt. at Kingsweare, Eng-
land, 30 Dec, 1618; m. Penelope Spencer. — (2) Joan;
m. John Amarandeth. — (3) Samuel, b. 1628; m. Dor-
cas Walton ; he was a mariner at Portsmouth, 1674. —
(4) Lucy, b. about 1632; m. Humphrey Chadburne,
Sr.; (2) Thomas Wills; (3) Hon. Elias Stileman; they
were all rich men. She survived Mr. Stileman, hence
had the widow's dower of three large estates. — (5)
Elizabeth, b. 1636; m. 7 June, 1657, John Gilman,
known as Hon. John ; d. 8 Sept., 1719.
John Treworgye, above named, came over as agent
of John Winter (at Portland) before 1639. Later he
took his father's place as agent of his grandfather,
Alexander Shapleigh. He lived in Kittery, 1640-1649.
Married 15 Jan., 1646, Penelope, daughter of Thomas
and Penelope (Filiall) Spencer at Newbury, Mass. He
had a son John, born in Newbury, 12 Aug., 1649. He
was appointed Commissioner for Newfoundland 8
April, 1651, and held that office several years. See
Maine Hist. Coll., Vol. 3, p. 223. He had a son James,
as shown by the will of Mrs. Katharine Hilton, widow
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Mr. Walter Blake McKinney.
TUTTLE, JOHN, 1618-1663. He came over in
the ship "Angel Gabriel," which was wrecked on the
coast of Maine, but the passengers were all rescued.
He first appeared in Dover in 1640, as one of the
signers of the petition against having the town come
under the rule of Massachusetts. He did not sign the
Combination agreement for good government. He
acquired 8 acres of land on Dover Neck, and had his
house lot on High street, near where now is Riverview
Hall. In 1642 he had a grant of "Lot No. 7," of the
"20-acre lots," on the west side of Back River ; this lot
is adjacent to the Three Creeks, in that river ; that lot
of land and other land adjacent which he bought, re-
mained in possession of the Tuttles, his descendants,
until the beginning of the 20th century, 250 years.
Some of his descendants still live in the Back River
district. He also had a grant of land on the east shore
of Great Bay. In the legal documents he is styled
"planter." His son. Judge John Tuttle, was one of the
noted men of Dover and the province ; he was one of the
"Captains of Industry," as well as a great political
leader and the holder of important offices, which need
not be mentioned here.
He died intestate in May or June, 1663, leaving a
widow, Dorothy, and three children ; she was appointed
administratrix of the estate. In the Court's decree it
says; "yt the eldest daughter of deceased is married
arid hath had her portion already; yt ye youngest
daughter is to have £15 when she comes to age of 18,
or be dispossessed on marrying." The son, John
Tuttle, then 17, when he comes to 21 years of age, is
to have the balance of the real estate, a large property
at that time. Dorothy Tuttle was taxed several years
in succession following the death of her husband. It
is not known when they were married, but probably
after he came to Dover. Date of her death is not
Children: (1) Elizabeth, b. ; m. Capt. Philip
Cromwell of Dover Neck ; they had children ; she sur-
vived him. — (2) Thomas, b. ; was killed by a tree
falling on him when he was engaged in felling a tree in
the forest; he was a young man, unm. — (3) Johaa, b.
1646; d. in June, 1720. 12 March, 1693-4, he was
chosen unanimously Town Clerk and was re-elected an-
nually up to 1719. He was elected selectman in 1686,
and in several other years. In 1698 he was elected
Representative and served continuously until 1708. He
was captain of a military company several years. He
was Justice of the Court of Common Pleas for many
years; and all the time busily engaged in the lumber
business and other important affairs. — (4) Dorothy,
b. ; m. Capt. Samuel Tibbetts, one of the promi-
nent citizens of Dover Neck, and grandson of the im-
migrant, Henry Tibbetts.
Descendants: Col. Daniel Hall, Alvah H. Place.
RALPH TWOMBLY, 1625-1686, was born in Eng-
land about 1625 ; he died in Dover, N. H., in 1686. It
is not known when he came to Dover, but probably
about 1650, and became a resident of Dover Neck. His
name can be found on the map of that village, showing
that he was a neighbor of Gov. Thomas Roberts. Later
he became a resident of that part of Dover then called
Cochecho. Here he passed the remaining years of his
life, one of the respected citizens, an owner of much
land, and a large tax payer.
His will is dated 28 February, 1684; it was proved
7-8 mo., 1686, showing he had died that year. Eliza-
beth, his wife, and his son, John, were executors. If
his son, John, lived with his mother they were to oc-
cupy the homestead jointly ; if not, his wife was to have
the estate for life, after which John should have one-
half. If son Ralph lived with his mother till he was
twenty-one, then he was to have ten pounds in money,
or goods equivalent to money. To son Joseph a heifer.
To daughter Mary Tibbetts, five shillings. To each
of the other children— Elizabeth, Hope, Sarah, Esther,
and William, when 18 years of age, a cow.
Children: (1) John, born about 1659.— (2)
Joseph, born 1661; m. Mary Tibbetts. — (3) Ralph,
who had a son Ralph.— (4) Elizabeth.— (5) Hope.—
(6) Sarah.— (7) Esther.— (8) William.
Of these, mention will be made of the eldest son.
John Twombly married Rachel . He made his
will 18 July, 1724, and gave his wife one-half of the
homestead, lying on the- south side of the road leading
down to Joseph Hanson's and so on to the Neck. After
her decease it was to go to son William. To his son
John he gave 20 acres at Littleworth, as by deed. To
sons Joseph and Samuel certain tracts of land, they to
pay legacies to their uncles and aunts, as provided in
the will of their grandmother, Elizabeth. To son Ben-
jamin, five pounds. To William half of the homestead.
To daughters, Sarah, Mary, Rachel, Esther and Anna,
£5 each, William to support his mother. Wife and son
Descendants: Mrs. Ellen S. (Peavey) Rounds,
Mrs. Edna (Young) Demeritt.
VARNEY, HUMPHREY, was admitted as an in-
habitant in Dover 6-4 mo., 1659; in 1662 he was ar-
raigned in court for being absent from Church too
many Sundays in succession; he pleaded "non convic-
tion," on having the law read to him ; the court admon-
ished him not to be absent any more. That was when
the Quaker women missionaries were at work in Dover,
and Mr. Varney was inclined to give them a fair hear-
ing; he finally became a member of the Society of
Friends. His house and lot were on the west side of
High street, above where the present road leads to
Descendant: Herbert C. Varney.
WALDERNE, MAJOR RICHARD, 1615-1689; he
was born in Alcester, England ; he came to Dover in
1635 ; after looking over the situation he returned to
England and married a "gentlewoman of very good
family," and returned with his bride in 1637. He
bought a house and lot on High street, and that was
their home until about 1655. During that time he had
built a saw mill and a grist mill at the lower falls of
the Cochecho River, He sawed lumber and built ships
and sold his lumber in the West Indies and in England.
About 1655 he took his family up river to reside, hav-
ing his house on the north side of the river, about where
now stands the Court House. In 1675 the house was
converted into a garrison, and did service until it was
burned by the Indians, 28 June, 1689. They killed the
Major before they burned his house ; his ashes and
bones were gathered up and buried in the burial
ground, now on the east side of St. John's Methodist
Episcopal Church on Chapel street. Major Walderne's
career is one of the most distinguished in that period
of the history of Dover. He held important offices in
the town and province. He was many times elected
Deputy or Representative to the General Court in Bos-
ton ; several times he was Speaker of the House, and at
all times was the equal of the "greatest of the great
men" in the Court. His career as soldier was equally
important. He was known as "Captain Walderne" a
number of years, before he was appointed Major, about
1670; his career as "Major Walderne" is one of the
most distinguished of New Hampshire men of the 17th
century. It is not necessary in this connection to say
more concerning this great business man, statesman
The Major's first wife, already mentioned, died,
and he married (2) Annie Scammon, probably sister
of Richard Scammon; she died 7 Feb., 1685. The
graves of his wives are unmarked in the old cemetery,
at the east of St. John's Methodist Episcopal church
on Chapel street, where tradition says his bones, col-
lected from the ashes of the burned garrison, were
Children: (1) Paul; d. about 1669 at Algiers,
where he was with one of his father's ships, probably
its captain ; he was a young man of business capacity,
engaged with his father in various branches of work,
of which the Major had many. In the preceding year
he was at Penacook with Peter CofRn. — (2) Timothy;
d. when a student at Harvard College ; the year is not
known on account of the absence of early records. —
(3) Richard, b. 1650; he was educated as a merchant
under Governor Willoughby, at Charlestown, Mass. At
an early age he settled at Portsmouth, where he worked
in conjunction with his father in his extensive shipping
and mercantile affairs. He was a leading man not
only in Portsmouth, but in the Province. He was
a member of the convention of 1690; Councillor in
1689; Representative in 1691 and 1692; Chief Justice
of the Court of Common Pleas ; Judge of Probate ; and
Colonel of one of the New Hampshire regiments. He
was twice married, (1) to Hannah, dau. of President
Cutt; she d. 14 Feb., 1691-2; (2) 6 Feb., 1692-3, to
Eleanor, dau. of Major William Vaughn ; she was b. 5
March, 1669-70 ; d. Sept., 1727 ; he d. 3 Nov., 1730.—
(4) Anna; m. Rev. Joseph Gerrish. — (5) Elnathan, b.
6 July, 1659; d. 10 Dec, 1659.— (6) Esther, b. 1 Dec,
1660; m. Henry Elkins ; (2) Abraham Lee; (3) Rich-
ard Jose; (4) . She died in the Isle of Jersey. —
(7) Mary, b. 14 Sept., 1663; d. young.— (8) Eleazer, b.
1 May, 1665; nothing more known of him. — (9) Eliza-
beth, b. 8 Oct., 1666; m. John Gerrish of Dover. — (10)
Maria, b. 17 July, 1668; d. aged 14.
Descendants: John Newman Thompson, Mrs.
Annie (Blake) McKinney, Walter Blake McKinney.
WALDERNE, WILLIAM, 1601-1646. He was
born in Alcester, England, and came over with his
brother Richard (the Major) in 1635 ; he was 14 years
older than his brother. Various papers to and from
him are in existence, but none of great importance or
particular interest. He owned shares in the Dover
plantation, and that was probably the reason why his
brother Richard was induced to come over and become
a citizen in the new plantation. He became an active
member of the organization, and appears to have been
a very able man. He was the first Town Clerk, hold-
ing that office at the time of his death. Very little of
the records which he kept survive the "tooth of time."
The most important of these is the list of grantees to
the "20-acre lots" on the west side of Back River,
which were granted in 1642. He was associate judge
in the local court. He was Deputy, or Representative,
in the General Court at Boston in 1646, and performed
very efficient service for the town. He was member
of the First Church. He was largely engaged in
various business transactions for improvement of the
town. In September, 1646, he was drowned, by acci-
dent, in crossing the Kennebunk River, George Smith
was appointed Clerk to succeed him, in November,
1646. On petition of his brother Richard, George
Smith and Elder Starbuck were appointed by the court
to examine William's papers and sort out those that
belonged to private individuals, and hand over the
public documents to the Court. In October, 1647,
Capt. Thomas Wiggin and Edward Rawson were ap-
pointed administrators of his estate. They finished
their work, and in May, 1649, the estate was passed
over to Elder Nutter and John Hall "to dispose of as
they judge may best tend to the improvement of the
estate, and to be ready to be accountable when the
Courte shall think meete to call for it."
Children: (1) Christopher, mentioned only in
chancery papers. — (2) John, perhaps b. as by deposi-
tion, 1624 or '25. — (3) Edward, who was at Ipswich
in 1648, and as Savage says early left for England. —
(4) Mary apparently went to England. — (5) Samuel
in England in 1676. — (6) Isaac of Portsmouth, York
and Boston, a physician. — (7) George, taxed in Dover,
1671. — (8) William b. about 1642, as by deposition;
he was taxed in Dover in 1664. — (9) Alexander, taxed
in Dover, 1664; d. in 1676.— (10) Prudence, m. Rich-
Descendants: George W. Seavey, Miss Annie
Katharine Seavey, Mrs. Lucy E. Gordon Varney.
WALTON, GEORGE, 1606-1686, was of Exeter in
1639 when he signed the "Combination" for good gov-
ernment; later he came to Dover and kept an "ordi-
nary" on Dover Neck, receiving a license 90. 10 mo.
1648, for which privilege he was to pay twenty shil-
lings for every pipe of wine which he might sell. He
went to Great Island and engaged in the same business
as at Dover. 8, 1 mo., 1651 he sued Humphrey Chad-
bourne because the house that Humphrey had built for
Walton was not built according to contract, and won
the case. He was not so fortunate 7, 9 mo., 1651,
when he was "admonished" by the Court for "abusing
the Lord's Day in carrieing boords and going to the
Isles of Shoals." Various purchases, law suits, etc.,
are recorded of him, but none of much importance, but
they show that he was an industrious man and looked
carefully after his own interests. Alice, his wife, is
said by Sewall (vol. I., p. 417), in 1664, to be "reputed
one of the most godly women thereabout." Of this her
descendants are properly proud.
Children: (1) Abishag, witnessed a deed to her
father, 1659 ; married Robert Taprell, shipmaster. He
died at sea November, 1678, leaving, as he thought, his
wife and three daughters. She, however, may have
been dead at that time, as the inventory of her estate
is dated 23 Jan., 1678-9. The daughters are named in
their grandfather Walton's will : Alice, Priscilla and
Grace. — (2) Martha, b. 1642 or earlier; m. Edward
West of Great Island, and d. before 29 Jan., 1679.— (3)
Dorcas, gave a deposition in 1666 ; m. Samuel Trewor-
gye. — (4) Mary, b. about 1646 (aged about 32 in
1678) ; m. Samuel Robie, who was born 12 Feb.,
1628-9. — (5) George, b. 1649, was a ship master. His
wife, Mary, was about 32 in 1678, and married Samuel
Rand 14 Aug., 1679. Samuel Walton, mentioned in
his grandfather Walton's will, and to whom Mr. Robert
Taprell left his outdoor effects, must have been son of
George.— (6) A child drowned 5 May, 1657.— (7)
Shadrach, b. 1658; (Col.) ; d. "October 3, 1741, aged
83." He was many years commander of the fort on
Great Island, was at one time commander in chief of
the combined New Hampshire and Massachusetts
forces to the Eastward, and served for many years as
a member of the Council.
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
WARREN, JAMES, 1621-1702. He deposed, 13
Sept., 1701, aged eighty years, that he had lived in
upper Kittery, now South Berwick, "near fiftie years."
He came there in 1651, when Richard Leader brought
his Scots from the Lynn Iron Works to run the saw-
mill at Great Works and help colonize that region. He
had been taken prisoner at the battle of Dunbar, by
Oliver Cromwell, 3 Sept., 1650, and sent with one hun-
dred and fifty prisoners to Boston on the ship Unity.
So many of them finally settled in upper Kittery that
it was called "the Parish of Unity" in old deeds. One
of Warren's daughters was captured by Indians and
taken to Canada and there it was recorded, at the time
of her baptism, that her father was a native of Ber-
wick, Scotland, and that her mother, Margaret, was
born in Ireland. James Warren's farm, laid out to
him in 1656, fronted on Cow Cove, where Capt. John
Mason's servants landed his cows in 1634.
Children: (1) Gilbert, b. 1654; m. Sarah, dau. of
James and Elizabeth Emery and widow of John Thomp-
son. — (2) Margaret, m. James Stackpole. — (3) Jane,
m. 4 Aug., 1690, William Grant.— (4) James, m. 1691,
Mary, dau. of John and Mary (Chadbourne) Fost of
ancient Dover. He became a prominent man in upper
Kittery and has many descendants in Maine. — (5)
Grizel, b. 6 March, 1662; m. (1) Richard Otis, as his
third wife. He and a daughter were slain in the
Dover massacre of 1689, and Grizel and her babe, Mar-
garet, were carried as captives to Canada, where she
m. (2) Philip Robitaile and had five children. She
lived to the age of 89.
The Hull Genealogy says James Warren married
Grissell Hull, dau. of Rev. Joseph Hull of Oyster River;
she was born 1630; as Mr. Warren's youngest child
has the name Grizel it may be that his first wife, Mar-
garet, died and Grissell Hull became his second wife;
the given name seems to indicate that family relation.
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth (Stack-
pole) Baer; Lorenzo E. Baer.
WARDELL, WILLIAM, was one of the founders
of Exeter and supposed to be the brother of Thomas,
also a founder of that town. He probably came to
this country in 1633 with Edmund Quincey, whose
servant he is described as being, and joined the Boston
Church, 9 Feb., 1634. He received in Boston, 20 Feb.,
1636, two acres of land laid out at Mount Wallaston
only for present planting, and 19 Feb., 1637, a great
lot at the same place "for three heads." But the next
year he migrated to Exeter, being disarmed as a friend
of the Antinomian party. He took with him some
cattle, or goats, as it appears that he had in the first
division of lands one hundred and twenty poles of
meadow "on this side of Mr. Hilton's," and the same
quantity at Lamprey River. He also had ten acres and
fifty poles of upland ; and set his hand to the Combina-
tion. In January, 1639, with Wheelwright and others,
he was dismissed from the Boston Church to organize
the Church at Exeter, which was completed that year.
He left Exeter with Wheelwright and went with him
to Wells and helped organize that town. He sub-
scribed as a witness to the deed of Sagamore, Thomas
Chabinocke to John Wadleigh, at Wells, 18 Oct., 1649,
and attested by said Wardell's oath, 25 March, 1657.
He also swore allegiance to Massachusetts at Wells, 5
July, 1653. It is not known when he left Wells, but he
died in Boston in 1670.
Children: They had two children baptized in
Boston: (1) Eliakim, 9 Nov., 1634, and Martha, 3
Sept,, 1637. Two others born probably in Exeter. —
Benjamin, in Feb., 1640, and Samuel, 16 May, 1643.
Descendants: Joseph Foster, Miss Isabel Foster.
WEEKS, LEONARD. It appears that Mr. Weeks
was a native of Wells, Somerset County, England, as
he was baptized in the parish there in 1629, as son of
John Wyke. His name first appears in the neighbor-
hood of the Pascataqua River, 6th of Dec, 1655, when
he witnessed a bond in York County. He next appears
in Portsmouth, 29th of June, 1656, when he received a
grant of 8 acres of land in Portsmouth, being in that
part of it which is now called Greenland. Previous to
that he had been overseer of Captain Champernowne's
plantation in the vicinity of the Great Bay. That
grant of land shows that Mr. Weeks had been in Ports-
mouth long enough to secure the confidence and esteem
of the authorities of the town and its citizens, as they
never made grants to strangers. July 5, 1660, he re-
ceived a grant of 44 acres; and next of 34 acres; and
not long after that 10 more acres were granted him,
all of what is now Greenland. In February, 1661, he
had commenced housekeeping at Winnicut River
(Greenland) , and there he lived the rest of his life, dy-
ing there in 1707. In 1667 he married Mary Haines,
daughter of his neighbor, Deacon Samuel Haines, who
had moved there from Dover Neck, where he was one
of the first settlers. Dover gave him a grant of land,
claiming ownership of that territory. Greenland was
not incorporated until 1703.
The first office held by Mr. Weeks was constable.
In 1666 he was one of the Selectmen, and at times later.
He was sheriff for a few years. In 1669 he was mem-
ber of the committee that laid out the road from Green-
land to Bloody Point. His pew in the meetinghouse at
Portsmouth was No. 4 in front of the pulpit, Much of
the original grants of land that he owned has remained
in possession of his lineal descendants to the present
The old Norfolk County Court records of date —
"4th mo. 26, 1660. Leonard Weeks, for swearing, by
God, and calling John Hall, of Greenland, ould dog &
ould slave, and that he would knock him in ye head, was
fined 10 shillings for swearing, & to have an admonition
for his reviling and threatening speeches, & pay fees of
court 3 shillings."
The old Weeks house, made of brick, stands on the
Leonard Weeks farm, a short distance west of the
Parade in Greenland. In "Brewster's Rambles" it is
said to have been built in 1638, of bricks burnt in front
of the house. It is two stories high, 36 feet long and
22 feet wide. The walls of the lower story are 18
inches thick. The bricks in the front wall are of dif-
ferent colors, laid in order so as to appear something
like the squares on a checker board. The lower story
is 8 ft. 8 in. high. The second story is 8 feet, and the
steep pitch of the roof affords room for a large garret.
The windows were originally small, diamond-shaped
glass, set in lead, but have been changed to a later style.
The timbers are hard wood — oak beams hewn 12 by 14
inches ; the sleepers are of red oak, with the bark still
on, about ten inches in diameter.
As to the time of its being built, the following
statement was made in 1873 by Enoch H. Clark, an
aged citizen of Greenland, who said : "The owners of
the brick house told me it was built by Leonard Weeks'
s^n, Captain Samuel Weeks. As their father told me it
would be (in 1873) 160 to 170 years old." So the prob-
rbility is that it was built about 1710, in the Indian
war period. It was so built as to provide safety from
attacks by the Indians who were prowling about in
that section of New Hampshire. At the present time
(1918) it is about 205 years old.
Children: (1) John, b. 14 June, 1668; m. ;
had 3 children; d. before 1711-2.— (2) Samuel, b. 14
Dec, 1670; m. Elinor, dau. of, Samuel Haines, Jr.; she
was b. 23 Aug., 1675; they had 7 children; she d. 12
Nov., 1736; he lived on the home farm and is supposed
to have built the brick house, already mentioned. He
d. 26 March, 1746.— (3) Joseph, b. 1 March, 1672; m.
Hannah ; cordwainer; lived in Greenland. — (4)
Joshua, b. 30 June, 1674; m. Nov., 1699, Comfort Hub-
bard, sister of Thomas; they resided at Bay Side, and
had 10 children ; she d. 20 March, 1756. They were
called the "Bay Side Family ;" Capt. Samuel's was the
"Brick House Family."— (5) Mary, b. 19 July, 1676;
m. Lieut. Joshua Brackett; he was b. in 1672; d. 1749;
had 10 children, — (6) Jonathan, m. Eliza Cate. — (7)
Margaret, b. 4 June, 1679; m. Tobias Lear; grand-
parents of Washington's private secretary. — (8)
Sarah, m. Tobias Langdon, grandparents of Gov. John
Descendants: Mrs. Ella Weeks Lamson, Walter
N. Weeks, Harriet J. Wentworth.
W^ENTWORTH, WILLIAM, 1615-1697. He was
born at Alford, Lincolnshire, England ; he died in
Dover, N. H., and was buried in the grave yard on his
farm. He came to Boston in 1636 with Rev. John
Wheelwright and party. He remained in Boston until
Wheelwright left there to form the settlement at Ex-
eter, and came with him, being of the same opinion in
religious matters, having a family connection with him.
and being one of his parishioners in the old country.
So he was in Exeter in 1638 and helped organize the
town, also a little later the Church. He signed the
Combination agreement, 4 July, 1639. He remained
there till 1642, when he went to Wells with Wheel-
wright; he helped organize that town and Church, and
remained there until 1649, when he came to Dover to
live. For a short time he resided at Dover Neck, which
was the seat of government. The town gave him a
grant of land, 5 Dec, 1652, "near the Great Hill" (Gar-
rison Hill), and he came up to "Cochecho" to live. He
built his house on that lot, and there was his home the
rest of life. That land is still in possession of the
Wentworth family, his descendants, having been in
possession of that family 265 years. In that same
year he, with others, received a grant of the falls on
Fresh Creek, not far from his home, on which he built
a sawmill and received a grant of timber around it.
For a number of years he was engaged in the lumber
business and acquired much wealth. He was admitted
to membership in the First Church while he resided on
The Neck, and remained one of its strong supporters
to the end of life. He was elected and installed in
1655 as one of the Ruling Elders of the Church. After
that, in the records he is always spoken of as "Elder
Wentworth." He was very active in town affairs,
holding various offices, and acting as peacemaker on
many occasions. At some time after the decease of
Rev. Samuel Dudley, minister at Exeter, which oc-
curred in 1683, he was employed to preach there, and
continued to do so until 1693. His physical vigor was
remarkable, as is evidenced by his successful resistance
to the attempts of the Indians to enter the Heard garri-
son in June, 1689 ; he held the gate fast so they could
not enter. He was the progenitor of a long line of
descendants, able and stalwart, mentally and physical-
ly, three of whom held the highest executive offices in
the Province of New Hampshire. Others have sat in
the councils of the nation, and many more have mani-
fested the hereditary capacity and force in various
Children: Samuel, b. 1641, at Wells, probably;
d. of small pox in 1691, aged 50. He m. in 1664, Mary
Benning, who was b. at Tadmour High Cross, in Lon-
don. She m. (2) Hon. Richard Martyn; d. 20 Jan.,
1724-5, aged 77. They had five sons and two daugh-
ters, the third son was Lieut. Gov. John, b. 16 Jan.,
1671. Samuel remained in Dover until 1669, residing
near Garrison Hill ; he then removed to Great Island
(Newcastle), and kept a tavern there, to which "the
sign of ye dolphin" was affixed ; he had been given a
license "to entertain strangers and to sell & brew
beare." He sold that tavern in 1678 and removed to
Portsmouth, and soon after built the house that stands
at the "south side of Dock street, at the north end of
Manning street." It is a large house, built for tavern
purposes ; it is probably as old as any house in that city.
He was made a freeman, 3 May, 1676, and in his appli-
cation therefor, he sets forth that he was "a house-
holder and in full communion with ye Church at
John, b. prior to 1649, probably at Wells ; nothing
is found of him prior to 1668 ; he took the "oath of
fidelity" 21 June, 1669, which shows that he was then
21. In December, 1774, his father gave him land in
Dover, now part of Rollinsford, near Garrison Hill. In
1675 he removed to York, Me., and resided there until
after 1686. In 1693 he appears to be living at New-
bury, Mass. In 1704 he was occupying land in what is
now Canton, Mass., then called Punkapaug, an Indian
plantation. He paid rent, and it does not appear that
he owned any land there. His children lived there.
His wife's name was Martha. He died about 1716, as
after that year his son John ceased to be called "Jr."
Gershom Wentworth is supposed to be the third
son of Elder William, b. about 1649, as he was on the
tax list in Dover in 1670, showing he was 21. He had
grants of land from the town ; his father gave him some
north of Garrison Hill. "Gershom Wentworth, of
Quochecho, was" married to Hannah, daughter of Ed-
ward French, of Salisbury, Mass., 18 March, 1695-6,
by Major Robert Pike." He may have had a former
wife, if so, they had no children who lived to maturity.
He lived two miles from the old Court House in Dover,
on the road to Salmon Falls, nearly opposite the late
Augustus Rollins' residence, and next what was the
summer residence of the late U. S. Senator Edward H.
Rollins. On 26 May, 1730, he and wife Hannah deeded
this land and his stock to their son, Samuel, for their
maintenance, and it continued in six generations of his
Ezekiel Wentworth must have been among the
elder members of the family ; as he was on the tax list
of 1672 he was then 21, hence was b. ab. 1651. His
wife's name was Elizabeth. It appears he lived in that
part of Old Dover which was incorporated as Somers-
worth, 22 April, 1754; in that part of Somersworth
which was incorporated as Rollinsford, 3 July, 1849;
and in that part of Rollinsford known as Salmon Falls
Village. His dwelling doubtless stood near the spot
where his son, Col. Paul, built the house now occupied
by the family of the late John B. Wentworth, of
Salmon Falls. He was one of the prominent men of
the old town, and left a large estate to his family. He
was Representative in the Provincial Legislature at the
time of his death in May, 1712 ; six generations of his
Wentworth descendants were members of New Hamp-
shire Legislatures, and occupied other high official
Elizabeth Wentworth, dau. of Elder William and
Elizabeth Kenny Wentw^orth, was b. in 1653 ; her first
husband waff James Sharp, probably of Newcastle,
where her brother Samuel lived. It is not known when
James Sharp died, but after his death Elizabeth m.
Richard Tozer, Jr., which family has an interesting
record in the Indian wars. There is a tradition that
her husband, Richard Tozer, Jr., was taken prisoner
and carried to Canada twice and his wife three times, —
twice with him and once alone. There are also many-
traditions touching the transactions of this Mrs. Eliza-
beth (Wentworth) Tozer with the Indians. One is
that the Indians once attacking her while she was mak-
ing soap, she threw it upon them so fast while it was
boiling hot, that they were obliged to retreat. Another
is that, dressed in man's clothes, with a gun in hand,
she was accustomed to act as sentry upon the house
while the men worked in the field. The fearfully ex-"
posed position where they lived at Salmon Falls fully
justify the truthfulness of these traditions. For fur-
ther particulars, see Vol. L, p. 150, Wentworth
Paul Wentworth, son of Elder William, was the
last son, so far as any account exists, to die. He was
b. ab. 1655. He received land from his father and
lived upon it, near the present ancient homestead of
Elder William. He lived there until 1681, or about
that date, when he removed to Rowley, Mass. His
wife's name was Catharine; their children were born
in Rowley. He lived in that town until 1707, when he
and his wife were dismissed from the Church to the
Church in New London, Conn., to which town they had
removed. He lived there until 1715, when he removed
to Norwich; that was his home till his death in 1750,
at the great age of 95 years, last of the great family.
It is supposed that his wife's maiden name was
Sylvanus Wentworth appears to be the next child
of Elder William, in regular order ; date of his birth is
not known; he m. Elizabeth ; his father gave him
land in what is now Rollinsford; he lived on it till
driven off by the massacre by the Indians, 28 June,
1689; he then settled in Rowley, where his daughter,
Elizabeth, was born, 27 August, 1689. His home out
in Rollinsford was beyond the protection of the garri-
son, so he removed to Rowley. Their daughter, Eliza-
beth, m. Nathaniel Dresser of Rowley. Not much else
is known of Sylvanus Wentworth.
Timothy Wentworth was probably the last son by
the first wife of Elder William ; date of his birth is not
known; his wife's name was Sarah Cromwell, accord-
ing to family tradition. They lived in the South Ber-
wick part of Old Kittery. Various land transactions
show this ; he was a prominent citizen ; he made his
will at Berwick, 3 May, 1719; it was proved 8 July
following, showing that he died that year.
Ephraim Wentworth was son of Elder William's
second wife, Elizabeth . He lived in Dover, on or
adjoining the Wentworth grants ; it was on the north
side of Garrison Hill. He m. (1) between 22 Oct.,
1696, and July, 1699, Mary, dau. of Richard and Grace
Miller, of Kittery. He made his will 16 March, 1638 ;
it was proved 29 June, 1748. His second wife's name
was Elizabeth ; all the children were by the first
Benjamin Wentworth was son of Elder William's
second wife, and youngest of the family ; date of birth
not given ; m. Sarah Allen ; he lived on the homestead
(now in Rollinsford), where the Elder first settled
when he came to Dover, It is still (1918) in posses-
sion of the Wentworth family, never having passed
out of the name. The following from the "New Eng-
land Journal" of 5 August, 1728, gives the only account
known of his death : —
"We are informed that some days ago, Mr. Ben-
jamin Wentworth, riding over a bridge (otherwise
called the boom) in the river Cochecho, N. H., fell into
the said river, where both he and his horse were
In a case regarding a land title, 29 Jan., 1756, his
wife deposed that she was seventy-six years old, and
that she came to live at Cochecho (Dover) fifty-nine
years before. This would place her coming in 1697,
and her age at that time to be 17 years. She was prob-
ably a native of Salisbury, Mass. She died at the home
of her grandson, Bartholomew, 12 July, 1770, aged 91
Descendants: Mrs. Annie Wentworth Baer,
Lorenzo E. Baer, Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney, Wal-
ter Blake McKinney, Elmer Marston Wentworth.
WIGGIN, CAPTAIN THOMAS, 1600-1667. The
first we know of Captain Thomas Wiggin was about
1631, when he appeared at Hilton Point (Dover Point),
as agent of the company that bought Edward Hilton's
grant, which he had received by a renewed grant in
1630. He appears to have remained about one year,
looking over the territory and making plans in regard
to making the settlement on Dover Neck. He returned
to England and spent another year in promoting the
scheme of getting families to agree to come over and
settle on that beautiful hill. In the fall of 1633 he had
gathered his company and they sailed, arriving at
Salem in the ship James, 10 Oct., 1633, after eight
weeks' passage. They were reshipped to Dover as
soon as the work could be done, arriving here the last
week in October. Captain Wiggin continued as agent
seven years, by which time the village was well or-
ganized, and settlers were branching out in various di-
rections, where they had secured good grants. In 1637
the English Land Company sold their interests to their
agent, Capt. Wiggin. This Upper Plantation then em-
braced what is now Dover, Durham, Madbury, Lee,
Somersworth, Rollinsford, Newington, Stratham, and
part of Greenland. He was busily engaged in land
speculations during several years following. After the
town came under control of Massachusetts in 1642 he
was appointed one of the magistrates to govern the
town, in the enforcement of the Massachusetts Bay
Colony laws, and English Common law. Dover men
took care of the local affairs in town meetings where
all the land grants were awarded. In 1645 Capt. Wig-
gin was Deputy for Dover in the General Court at
Boston. In 1650 he became Assistant, and held that
office several years, being one of the most influential
men in the management of general public affairs in
this part of old Norfolk County. In 1656 the Squam-
scot patent, as the territory was called which Capt.
Wiggin controlled as agent of the "Shrewsbury men,'"
was divided by the authority of Massachusetts into
three shares, and Capt. Wiggin had the middle share,
his residence then being at Sandy Point, near the
mouth of the Squamscot River, where it empties into
Great Bay. Just when he settled there is not known,
but it was at some time between 1650 and 1656. His
plantation was so large that he gave the town of Ex-
eter a strip of land a mile wide and two or three miles
long. In the possession of land he was the equal of an
old Norman baron in England. He was somewhat
autocratic in his ways in the height of his power which
rendered him unpopular with the common people, so he
did not escape envy and abuse.
For example : At the local court in Dover in 1655,
Philip Chesley, a well-to-do Dover "husbandman," was
presented "for reproachful speeches against the wor-
shipful Capt. Wiggin," and being found guilty was
sentenced to "make a public acknowledgment three
times — First at the head of the Train Band ; and at the
next two public meeting days at Dover (Neck), when
Oyster River people shall be there present: — Or be
whipped ten stripes, and pay a fine of five pounds."
Mr. Chesley was not whipped.
It is supposed that Capt. Wiggin was married in
England about 1633 ; his wife's name was Catharine.
They had two sons, Thomas and Andrew. The Cap-
tain died about 1667.
Children: (1) Andrew, b. ab. 1635; m. 1659,
Hannah Bradstreet, daughter of Gov. Simon Brad-
street, and granddaughter of Gov. Thomas Dudley, and
Gov. John Wentworth; she d. in 1707; he d. in 1710.
He owned a large estate on the east side of Great Bay,
and was one of the big men of Exeter. They had four
sons and five daughters. — (2) Thomas, b. 1640; m.
Sarah Barefoot, sister of Gov. Walter Barefoot; he
lived on "Captain's Hill," on Low street, on Dover
Neck. He and his brother-in-law. Dr. Barefoot (as
he then was known) were much engaged in the lumber
business until the Doctor became engaged in political
affairs. Then Wiggin removed to Sandy Beach, Great
Bay, where he lived the rest of his life ; for a while he
and Barefoot were at enmity concerning land affairs
on account of the claims set up by the Mason heirs;
later they became reconciled, and Barefoot gave him. a
lot of land by will. Thomas and Sarah had one son
and two daughters.
Descendants: Mrs. Lucy Gordon Varney, John
Mark Moses, Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood.
WILLIAMS, WILLIAM, was an early settler at
Oyster River; he may have come over with Captain
Thomas Wiggin, but there is no evidence of that except
that Mr. Ballard Smith, in his account of Oyster River,
as appears on page 76 of "Historical Memoranda of
Ancient Dover," says: "Among those who came to
Dover Neck with Captain Thomas Wiggins in 1633
were Francis Mathews, William Williams, John God-
dard and Thomas Canney." Mr. Smith is not correct
as regards John Goddard and Thomas Canney, for
their names are on record as being members of the
company sent over by Capt. John Mason. Mr. Wil-
liams did not sign the Combination paper in 1640. He
received a grant of land from the town soon after that
date, on the north side of Oyster River, just below
Bunker's Creek, and that has been called the "Williams
farm" to the present time (1918). He bought other
land in that vicinity. He was chosen constable in 1657
and in several years following. He, with several
others, in 1660, was arraigned in court and convicted,
and fined for being absent from meetings on the Lord's
Day, eight days. His second wife was Agnes Field,
widow of Da;rby Field, the first white man who as-
cended the White Mountains. He appears to have been
a prosperous and generous hearted citizen ; his name
is on many pages of the old records.
Children: (1) Matthew, b. ; m. Elizabeth
; she was living in 1722. He was taxed in Dover
from 1657 to 1668. In 1668 the estate of Matthew
Giles was equally divided between Matthew Williams
and Richard Knight. — (2) William, m. Margaret
Stevenson. — (3) Mary; she was a witness in court in
1665. — (4) Elizabeth; she was a witness in court in
Descendants: Mrs. Annie (Blake) McKinney,
Walter Blake McKinney.
WILLIAMS, THOMAS, was living at Saco before
the Indian wars, and was many times selectman and
commissioner, and in the Ligonia Government he
served as Counsellor, or Assistant. His last years
were spent in Berwick with his grandchildren.
Childrc7i: (1) Lucretia, m. Lieut. Richard Hitch-
cock. — (2) Henry, who lived in Scarboro and Ports-
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
WILLS, THOMAS, was a shipmaster, but after
his second marriage was tavern-keeper at Berwick.
Married (1) Sarah, daughter of Walter Abbott of
Portsmouth; (2) widow Lucy (Treworgy) Chad-
Childreyi by first wife: (1) Thomas, d. a young
man. — (2) Sarah, m. John Geer.
Children by second wife: (1) Joanna, m. Rich-
Descendant: Charles Thornton Libby.
WINGATE, CAPTAIN JOHN, 1625-1687. He
came from England when he was a boy and was an
apprentice to Thomas Leighton on Dover Neck, and
when he was "out of his time" Mr. Leighton gave him
the "20-acre lot" that the town had given him (Leigh-
ton) in 1642. Later the town granted Wingate twenty
acres on the west of this lot. He prospered in busi-
ness, and 18 April, 1660, he was made freeman. What
is known as the Wingate farm was granted to him in
the same year. He built a house on it; he and his
descendants retained the ownership of the land until
1912, when the then owner. Miss Helen C. Wingate,
sold it to Miss Elizabeth CofRn Sawyer, who annexed
it to the Sawyer estate, known as Middlebrook Farm.
Captain Wingate was commander of a militia company
of Dover a number of years, and served in the Indian
wars. He served as juryman many times, and was
selectman several years. He was much engaged in
the lumber business as well as being a successful
Children: (1) Anne, b. 18 Feb., 1667; m. before
1697, Israel Hodgdon and had son Shadrach, known
as Deacon Shadrach, who married Mary Ham. — (2)
John, b. 13 July, 1670. He inherited the old home-
stead and lived there all his life. He was a good
farmer and a good citizen, and had a creditable mili-
tary career. He was Captain of a company that took
part in the expedition to Port Royal, in 1707. He par-
ticipated in later war expeditions. His wife's name
was Ann. He died in 1715. His widow married Capt.
John Heard (b. in 1667), in 1725.— (3) Caleb; he went
to Maryland or Delaware, when a young man and
settled there; it is said he has descendants there. —
(4) Moses ; it is supposed that he is the Moses Wingate
whose will was proved 7 Aug., 1705, having been made
in London, England, 24 Jan., 1695. It says: "he
being of New Hampshire in New England, Mariner,
now at London, being sick," he gave to "Nicholas ffol-
lett, mariner, now in London, all my wearing Appar-
rell; to sister Ann Wingate, spinster, all lands,
tenements, debts, goods, chattels, etc." Nicholas ffol-
lett and sister Ann were executors. — (5) Mary, no
record. — (6) Joshua, b. 2 Feb., 1679 (second wife).
He is known as Col. Joshua, and had a distinguished
career. About the beginning of the 18th century he be-
came a permanent resident of Hampton, where he was
one of the leading citizens at a time of great political
turmoil and Indian hostilities within the Province.
One of his early acts, by order of Gov. Dudley, was to
establish garrisons in Hampton, especially one near the
meeting house, "to be of great contents, where the
women and children may repair in case of danger."
All the soldiers in town were ordered out to construct
it. He was Captain in rank for many years ; was com-
missioned Major in 1731 ; became Colonel of a regiment
in 1744, and held the office for several years ; was at the
siege of Louisburg in 1745. In town and province af-
fairs, Col. Wingate held a prominent place. He died
29 Jan., 1769.— (7) Abigail; no record.
Descendants: Mrs. Ellen Tasker Scales, Miss
WILSON, GOWEN, 1618-1686. At a court held
in Boston, 28 July, 1641, the following record was
made: "Gowen Wilson appearing, hee & his sureties
discharged." He is mentioned there again in 1643.
The Old Norfolk County records say that Gowen Wil-
son had a son that was born and died in Exeter. At
Exeter on the first day of May, 1645, the selectmen, in
behalf of the town, entered into an agreement with
Gowen Wilson to drive and take the oversight of the
cows and the other cattle of the inhabitants for that
pasturing season. As the transaction illustrates the
custom of the times, the document is here given in full.
It is quite certain that the same custom prevailed in
Dover, Hampton and Portsmouth, and other towns.
Following is the agreement:
"It is covenanted and agreed upon between Gowen
Wilson and the town of Exeter that the said Gowen is
to keep all the neat herd of the town of Exeter from
one-year-old and upwards (working cattle excepted)
from the day of the date hereof until three weeks after
Michaelmas, to go every morning through the town at
the usual time cow-herds go forth, and so to have the
cattle turned into the town street, and said Gowen to
drive them into the woods, and all the day to keep them
in such convenient places as may be best for their feed-
ing, on both sides of the river, and at night to bring
them home again, at the like usual time for herds com-
ing home ; in like manner to bring them through the
street from the first house to the last who have cattle
in that street, and to seek up, or cause to be sought,
any that shall be lost from before him, and in like man-
ner to keep them every third Sabbath day.
"And in consideration hereof the inhabitants of the
town who have cattle are to pay or cause to be paid
unto the said Gowen Wilson the sum of eleven pounds,
to be paid by every man's equal proportion according
to the number of their cattle in manner as followeth,
viz : At the first entry to have a peck of corn a head
for all and every the milch cow, and a pound of butter
a cow, suddenly, after his entry upon said work, as he
shall have occasion to use it. And the rest of the afore-
said (11.1) is half of it to be paid in good English
commodities at price current, about the beginning of
August next, and the other half of the pay to be paid
in corn at harvest at 3 shillings a bushel."
Witness to this agreement the hands of us,
Gowen Wilson, John Legat, James Wall, Henry Roby.
This writing shows us some of the facts of interest
about the conditions under which our Pioneer Ances-
tors had to make the beginnings along the Pascataqua
River and its branches. The cattle were compelled to
obtain their subsistence in the woods, because so little
of the surrounding country was as yet cleared from
the forest growth. A cow-herd was necessary to keep
them from straying ; therefore it is clear that there was
an absence of fences and enclosures to protect private
property. The mode in which Mr. Wilson was to re-
ceive his compensation — in corn, butter, and English
commodities, without a dollar of cash, reveals the ex-
treme scarcity of money among the people. Indeed
for long years afterwards, much of the business of the
towns was carried on by barter, or "country pay," as
it was termed, and it would have been practical in no
other method, as the money standards then were under
Gowen Wilson was in Kittery before 1652, and
was a land owner, as in that year he put his signature
to the submission paper which placed Kittery under
Massachusetts. Later, 19 Jan., 1658, he received a
grant of 24 acres at Goose Creek, and in 1673 he ac-
quired adjoining land, making his farm 45 acres. He
had then become a citizen of recognized importance in
the town and they elected him one of the townsmen,
or selectmen, in 1674 and 1675.
Children: (1) The Norfolk County records say
that Gowen Wilson had a son that was born at Exeter,
N. H., in November, 1647; the name is not given. — (2)
John; d. young. — (3) Joseph; he is known in Kittery
history as Sergeant Wilson ; m. ab. 1682 Hannah, dau,
of Richard and Ann (Turpin) Endle; he was select-
man in 1703-04-05, in Kittery; he d. ab. 1710; his wife
d. in 1748. They had ten children. — (4) Deborah; m.
Descendants: Justin H. Shaw, Samuel F. Walcott.
WOODMAN, CAPTAIN JOHN, 1630-1706. He
was born in Malford, England, in 1630. He was son of
Edward and Joanna Woodman ; Edward was baptized
in Corsham, Wiltshire, 27 Dec, 1606. Edward was son
of Edward and Olive (Mallott) Woodman. Mr. Ed-
ward Woodman and his son, Capt. John, came over in
the ship James, landing at Boston, Mass., 3 June, 1635.
The ship was almost two months making the voyage,
having embarked on April 6. Mr. Woodman was one
of the first settlers of Newbury, which was commenced
in 1635. The history of that town states that — "Joshua
Woodman, son of Mr. Edward Woodman, was the first
white male child born in Newbury." Edward Wood-
man is always spoken of as "Mr." Edward Woodman ;
he was one of the prominent men of the town and
church; he was Deputy in the General Court several
It is not known what year Captain Woodman came
to Dover to live, but 15 July, 1656, he married Mary,
daughter of Darby Field of Oyster River Point. We
may assume he had been living at Dover before that,
hence his acquaintance with Miss Field. He had a
grant of land soon after, which is recorded in Dover
Town Book as follows: — "Given & Granted by ye Se-
lectmen & with ye approbation of ye major part of ye
inhabitants of Oyster River, as appears under the
selectmen's hands ye 30th 7 mo. 1660, unto John Wood-
man his heirs and assigns Twenty Acres of Land att
ye west side of Wm. Beards Creek & on ye north side
of Stony brook, the brook being ye first bounds unto
ye aforesaid Creek & on ye west side of Mr. Hills line
runs ninety-five rods to a marked tree by ye highway
& from yt corner to a marked tree by a gutter & from
thence bounded unto ye aforesaid head, excepting a
Lott of Marsh, & his Lott was laid out & bounded by
Ensign John Davis & Robert Burnum ye 7th 9th mo.
He here built his garrison on an elevated spot with
commanding view, where it could be easily defended.
The unsuccessful attack by the Indians in July, 1694,
shows the proof of his wisdom. His first wife died 6
July, 1698, and he married (2) 17 Oct., 1700, widow
Sarah (Burnham) Huckins. He died 17 Sept., 1706.
(See page 291, Vol. I., History of Durham.)
When the inhabitants of Oyster River petitioned
the General Court in Boston to be made a separate
parish from Dover Neck, they elected Captain Wood-
man to represent them at the Court and present the
petition May 17, 1669 — "for this end we have sent
John Woodman, an inhabitant among us, and give him
power to join anie with him, as he shall see meet for
the managing of this our petition and prosecution of
our further reasons committed to him." — The best that
Captain Woodman could do was to obtain a vote in
town meeting to allow the inhabitants of Oyster River
to build a meeting house at their own expense and to
appropriate their tax for the ministry.
Captain Woodman was selectman seven years;
moderator in town meetings ; Justice of the Peace
many years; deputy to the General Assembly in 1684,
when resistance was made to the oppression of Gov.
Cranfield. Captain Woodman's name heads the list of
six men sent from Dover to the convention that was
called to form a stable government upon the overthrow
of Andros. This convention drew up a form of gov-
ernment, one branch of which was to be a Council, and
in January, 1690, Captain Woodman was chosen a
member of this Council. He was again Deputy for
Dover in the Provincial Assembly from 1692 to 1696,
1699 and 1703. He served continuously from that
year till his death in 1706. He was Justice of the
Court of Common Pleas from 1702 till his death. He
attained the rank of Captain of the militia company
at Oyster River about 1680, and he remained in active
service till he was three score and ten years of age,
vigorous and alert. His garrison was accidentally
burned in November, 1896. It had been kept in per-
fect repair in all the years up to that time.
Children of first wife: (1) John, b. ab. 1658; d.
10 June, 1705.— (2) Mary, b. ab. 1660; m. Edward
Small. — (3) Sarah, b. ab. 1662; m. John Thompson;
their home was on the old road, a short distance west
of the present railway station. — (4) Jonathan, b.
1665; m. Elizabeth Downing; they lived in Kittery;
Descendants: Mrs. Sophia Dodge Hall, Capt.
George W. Pratt, John Scales, Miss Ella Gertrude
WINKLEY, SAMUEL, 1666-1736. He came from
Lancashire County, England, about 1680, and settled
in Portsmouth, N. H. Later he bought land in Kittery,
where he engaged in the ship and boat building busi-
ness, which he followed all his life and which was con-
tinued by his son after his death. Soon after settling
in Kittery he married Sarah Trickey, daughter of
Francis and Sarah Trickey of Kittery and Portsmouth.
His house was on Crooked Lane ; the land about there
had been granted to his father-in-law some time be-
fore, in 1656. Here Winkley established his shipyard,
and it remained in possession of that family for three
generations. In his later years he gave to his sons the
management of the shipyard and he resided at Ports-
mouth, where he was engaged in mercantile affairs.
He became a very wealthy man. He died in 1736,
leaving an elaborate will, disposing of his large estate.
15 April, 1703, administration was granted to
Samuel Winkley on the estate of his wife's mother,
Mrs. Sarah Trickey, deceased. It is not known when
his wife died, but the marriage of Samuel Winkley and
Hannah Adams was recorded in Boston 12 Dec, 1705.
His third wife was Elizabeth Fernald, to whom he was
married in Nov., 1712. He moved to Portsmouth
about 1710, and died there in 1736.
Children: (1) Samuel, b. 28 Oct., 1687; d. at
sea ab. 1707.— (2) Michael, b. 13 May, 1689; d. 1699.
— (3) William, b. Feb., 1700; m. Susannah Cutts Pen-
hallow. — (4) Francis, b. 1689; m. Mary Emerson. —
(5) Nicholas, d. when a young man. — (6) Sarah, m.
12 Feb., 1713-4, Tobias Langdon of Portsmouth. — (7)
Elizabeth, m. Samuel Weeks of Boston. — (8) Samuel,
d. after 1726, unm.
Descendants: Mrs. Florence Adelaide Crane,
Mrs. Clara A. P. Blinn, Charles E. Winkley, Erastus
E. Winkley, Emma Lougee Winkley.
MAILING LIST, 1919
Capt. Thomas M. Jackson, Raymond, N. H.
Albert H. Lamson, Elkins, N. H.
John M. Moses, R. F. D., No. 1, Barnstead, N. H.
John L. M. Willis, M. D., Eliot, Maine.
Alexander Dennett, Kittery, Maine.
Henry W. Hardon, 60 Wall Street, New York, N. Y.
Albert E. Rhodes, 183 Safford Street, Wollaston, Mass.
Mrs. Alice J. Moore, Kittery Depot, Maine.
Miss Theodora Chase, Kittery Depot, Maine.
Mrs. Florence A. Crane, Valley Junction, Iowa.
Eugene N. Spinney, Union, N. H.
John Scales, 595 Central Ave., Dover, N. H.
Mrs. Annie B. McKinney, 14 Gill Street, Columbus, Ohio.
Justin H. Shaw, Kittery, Maine.
Charles A. Hazlett, Portsmouth, N. H.
Oliver R. Grant, 114 Liberty Street, New York, N. Y.
James W. Locke, Kittery, Maine.
Edgar A. Leighton, Somersworth, N. H.
Miss Mary L. Spinney, South Eliot, Maine.
Miss Susan Woodman, 102 L(fcust Street, Dover, N. H.
Charles W. TTbbetts, Moody, Wells, Maine.
Mrs. Hannah C. Tibbetts, Moody, Wells, Maine.
Miss Annie K. Seavey, 85 Broadway, Dover, N. H.
Mrs. Annie W. Baer, R. F. D., No. 2, Dover, N. H.
Mrs. Ellen S. Rounds, 3 South Pine Street, Dover, N. H.
William Hale, M. D., 45 Middle Street, Gloucester, Mass.
Mrs. Ida E. Fernald, 1033 Walnut Street, Newton Highlands,
Walter N. Weeks, Whitehall, N. Y.
Mrs. Harriet J. R. Lydston, 44 Daniel Street, Portsmouth, N. H.
David W. Hoyt, 49 Humboldt Avenue, Providence, R. I.
Charles E. Winkley, 103 Euclid Street, Lynn, Mass.
Mrs. Abbie G. Griffin, New Market, N. H.
Mrs. Elizabeth E. Dorr, 35 Summer Street, Dover, N. H.
Miss Annie M. Locke, Kittery, Maine.
Harold C. Durrell, 36 Bartlett Avenue, Arlington, Mass.
Mrs. Sarah M. L. Haley, South Lee, N. H.
E. Melvin Hall, R. F. D., No. 4, Dover, N. H.
Col. Daniel Hall, 55 Summer Street, Dover, N. H.
Miss Sophia O. Hoyt, R. F. D., No. 1, Box 53, Newington, N. H.
Mrs. Lydia A. K. Stevens, 159 Washington Street, Dover, N. H.
Edward E. Hanscom, 1232 Market Street, Philadelphia, Penn.
Arthur C. Harrington, Barre, Mass.
Mrs. Laura C. Heely, 409 Edgecomb Avenue, New York, N. Y.
Charles Wells Hall, 3 Waverly Avenue, Newton, Mass.
John N. Thompson, 3 Grove Street, Exeter, N. H.
Seth E. Dame, West Nottingham, N. H.
Mrs. Mary Safford Wildes, Kittery, Maine.
Alvah H. Place, New Market, N. H.
Joseph H. Dixon, Eliot, Maine.
Erastus E. Winkley, 103 Euclid Street, Lynn, Mass.
Miss Elizabeth M. Bartlett, Old Road, Eliot, Maine.
Walter B. Greene, New Market, N. H.
Joseph Foster, 298 Middle Street, Portsmouth, N. H.
Mrs. Mary E. Smith, 126 Wibird Street, Portsmouth, N. H.
Mrs. Elizabeth A. L. Wood, 404 South Street, Portsmouth, N. H.
Mrs. Lucy Gordon Vamey, 743 Iglehart Avenue, St. Paul, Minn.
Mrs. Bertha Palmer Greene, New Market, N. H.
Henry J. Carr, 919 Vine Street, Scranton, Penn.
Mrs. Deborah E. W. Carr, 919 Vine Street, Scranton, Penn.
Sylvester Burnham, 386 High Street, Newburyport, Mass.
Mrs. Alice K. H. Rice, 35 Silver Street, Dover, N. H.
Albert H. Hall, 16 Gray Street, Cambridge, Mass., or
361 Boylston Street, Boston, Mass.
Mrs. Elizabeth Palmer Place, New Market, N. H.
Miss Jessie L. Fernald, 1033 Walnut Street, Newton Highlands,
Major George W. Pratt, 15 Franklin Street, Boston, Mass.
Mrs. Clara A. P. Blinn, "The Roadside", Bedford, Mass.
Herbert C. Varney, 743 Iglehart Avenue, St. Paul, Minn.
Horace S. Huckins, 1311 Fair Oaks, Pasadena, California.
Mrs. Ellen T. Scales, 595 Central Avenue, Dover, N. H.
Col. John Dean Hall, The Carlo, Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Dora E. Wetherell, 41 Front Street, Exeter, N. H.
Walter B. McKinney, 181 East Como Street, Columbus, Ohio.
Mrs. Theresa Hall Bristol, 40 Gramercy Park, New York, N. Y.
Elmer M. Wentworth, Des Moines, Iowa.
Mrs. Florence E. McDaniel, 16 Nelson Street, Dover, N. H.
James A. Coleman, Eliot, Maine.
Charles Thornton Libby, P. 0. Box 465, Portland, Maine.
Mrs. Nellie P. George, New Market, N. H.
Lorenzo E. Baer, R. F. D., No. 2, Dover, N. H.
Miss Ida C. Roberts, P. O. Box 300, Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Miss EHzabeth P. Pope, 12 Beacon Street, Somersworth, N. H.
Arthur E. Guptill, D. M. D., 336 Main Street, Fitchburg, Mass.
Miss Miriam A. Rhodes, 183 Safford Street, Wollaston, Mass.
Miss Isabel P:oster, 298 Middle Street, Portsmouth, N. H.
Miss Edith M. Raitt, 805 Central Avenue, Dover, N. H.
Ralph S. Bartlett, 626 Exchange Building, Boston, Mass.
Miss Ella G. Durgin, 157 Locust Street, Dover, N. H.
Miss Edna Y. Demerritt, 66 Morning Street, Portland, Maine.
Miss Frances H. Rolfe, 20 High Street, Newburyport, Mass.
Mrs. Abbie H. Rolfe, 20 High Street, Newburyport, Mass.
Miss Mary A. Rolfe, 20 High Street, Newburyport, Mass.
John H. Griffin, New Market, N. H.
John W. Mclntire, Somersworth, N. H.
Mrs. Mary E. N. Hanaford, 514 Wimebago Street, Rockford, 111.
Mrs. Anna C. Hall, "Woodbum Grange", Stamford, Conn.
George W. Seavey, 85 Broadway, Dover, N. H.
James A. Spalding, M. D., 627 Congress Street, Portland,
Mrs. Marion D. Hall, 70 Middlebury Street, Lawrence, Mass.
Mrs. Alice Bradford Wiles, Hotel del Prato, Chicago, 111.
Jefferson D. Cook, Kittery Depot, Maine.
Edith E. Remick, Kittery Depot, Maine.
Mrs. Ida M. Lawton, Newport, R. I.
Miss Emma Lougee Winkley, 1202 Third Street, N. W., Fair-
Hon. Edward N. Pearson, Concord, N. H.
Hon.. E. W. Emery, Augusta, Maine.
Hon. William D. Chandler, Concord, N. H.
Rev. Everett S. Stackpole, P. O. Box 114, Bath, Maine.
Henry I. Durgin, M. D., Eliot, Maine.
John Sise, Portsmouth, N. H.
Edward W. McGlennen, City Hall Annex, Boston, Mass.
Mrs. Annie C. Riley, Claremont, N. H.
2 'A PQ-'H
• " ' H-^
p^,. >^^^^y!^/ ^*io^ •
^ni//y^ ■* .a" * "S^^Wn'v* "T!*
.* «r ** •.^^^.* >
V .r^% <^^
' ♦ «? •#'. «^
0' *!.•*' > V^
.•> „*"-n^^ V
V .^1:^^*/%^ ^V^ .
v ^^^/ -^^
^^ NOV 89
5^^ N. MANCHESTER,
■"^^ INDIANA 46962