(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Portland, Oregon, its history and builders : in connection with the antecedent explorations, discoveries, and movements of the pioneers that selected the site for the great city of the Pacific"

NYKL MCSCMni^n i.it>nMnii-o 



3 3433 08182234 2 



\ 




A^. 



"»>., 




^^m-.raiaV^ 



n 
n. 



PORTLAND 

OREGON 



□ 

n 



ITS HISTORY AND BUILDERS 

IN CONNECTION WITH 

THE ANTECEDENT EXPLORATIONS, DISCOVERIES 

AND MOVEMENTS OF THE PIONEERS THAT 

SELECTED THE SITE FOR THE 

GREAT CITY OF THE PACIFIC 



By JOSEPH GASTON 



miixsttatth 



VOLUME III 



CHICAGO — PORTLAND 
THE S. J. CLARKE PUBLISHING CO. 

1911 



a 



105963A 

ASTOP. LENtX AMD 
ILDSN FOUNDATIONS 

R i ♦•as L 






■ -■'■I 



"■■TTON-;-^ 



^* 



^m 



>f^ 




DONALD MACLEAY 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



DONALD MACLEAY. 

Donald Macleay, merchant, financier, philanthropist and honored citizen, was 
born at Leckmelm, Ross-shire, Scotland, in August, 1834. He was educated 
under a private tutor and in the academy of his native town. At sixteen years 
of age, owing to a financial reverse to the family fortune, he went with his parents 
to Canada, settling on a farm near Melbourne, province of Quebec. Mr. Macleay 
began his business career at twenty years of age when he entered into a partner- 
ship with George K. Foster, a merchant of Richmond, a man of excellent business 
capacity, who had much to do with molding the character of his young partner. 

In 1859 Mr. Macleay went to California, where he met William Corbitt, with 
whom he engaged in the wholesole grocery, shipping and commission business in 
Portland in 1866 under the firm name of Corbitt & Macleay. Their efforts were 
rewarded by almost immediate success, the business growing so rapidly that by 
1870 they had become one of the leading firms of the northwest. With one excep- 
tion, they were the first exporters of wheat from Oregon to England, sending the 
first cargo on the Adeline Elwood in 1870. They were also among the first to 
perceive the future of the salmon trade and in 1873, together with J. G. Megler, 
engaged in the packing of salmon on the Columbia river at Brookfield and later at 
Astoria and were the pioneer exporters of Oregon salmon. In 1872 the firm began 
an extensive trade with China, Australia and the Sandwich islands, purchasing 
several vessels to accommodate this trade, the venture proving grai'ifyingly pro- 
fitable. With absolute faith in Portland's future, Mr. Macleay early began invest- 
ing his surplus earnings in city real estate and the enormous increase in values in 
recent years amply demonstrates the soundness of his judgment. 

Mr. Macleay was always a progressive, public-spirited citizen, and if great 
success came to him he was always generous with his time and means in aiding 
any enterprise that spelled prosperity for his adopted city or state. Through his 
efforts millions of foreign capital were invested in Oregon. He served for many 
years as local president of the Oregon & Washington Mortgage Savings Bank of 
Dundee, Scotland, likewise as director and chairman of the local board of the 
Dundee Mortgage & Trust Investment Company, of Scotland. 

The work incident to the development and continuance of the business which 
the firm of Corbitt & Macleay represented comprised but a small part of Mr. 
Macleay's activities. He was interested as stockholder and director in a score of 
important enterprises which owed their success in no small degree to the stimulus 
of his business genius, and his conservatism and strength were a controlling ele- 
ment in the security and integrity of many of the city's financial operators and 
institutions. 

He served as director in the Oregon & California Railway Company ; the Port- 
land & Coast Steamship Company ; the Portland Telephone & Electric Light Com- 
pany ; the Anglo-American Packing Company ; the Portland Cordage Company ; 
the North Pacific Industrial Association; the Portland Mariners Home; the Salerrv 
Flouring Mills Company ; was for a time vice president of the Oregon & Cali- 



6 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

fornia Railway Company ; and various other corporations received the benefit of 
his acumen and experience. He retired from the wholesale mercantile business in 
1892, prior to which he was largely instrumental in the organization of the United 
States National Bank, of which he was president for several years and guided it 
safely through the financial panic of 1893, which brought disaster to so many 
banks and other financial institutions of the country. About a year later he was 
obliged to relinquish the presidency to go abroad on account of failing health. 

The city of Portland was in countless ways enriched by his exertions in its 
behalf. Whatever tended to the upbuilding of its institutions whether commer- 
cial, social, educational, religious or charitable, always found in him ready sup- 
port and encouragement. He was elected president of the Board of Trade in 1881 
and was reelected by acclamation for many succeeding years, during which time 
he was largely instrumental in inducing the United States government to build 
the jetty system at Columbia river bar. 

His position on any question of public policy was never one of hesitancy or 
doubt. His business, social, private and public life were above reproach, and his 
honesty of the character that needed no profession but made itself felt upon all 
with whom he came in contact. Though essentially a man of business, he took 
great pleasure in the social side of life. He was for a number of years president 
of the British Benevolent and St. Andrews Societies of Portland, to both of 
which he contributed liberally. He was one of the founders and charter members 
and for a time president of the Arlington Club. The Clan Macleay was named 
after him. He was one of the founders of the Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Macleay was married March, 1869, to Martha, daughter of John Mac- 
culloch of Compton, Canada. She was a devoted Christian, a woman of cultivated 
mind, whose kindness, charity and benevolence endeared her to all who knew her. 
She died November 22, 1876. Mr. and Mrs. Macleay became the parents of four 
children : Barbara Martha, Edith Macculloch, Mabel Isabel and Roderick Lach- 
lan. They were throughout their residence in Portland members of the First Pres- 
byterian Church. 

Donald Macleay died July 26, 1897. He had the satisfaction of living to see 
the place which he had found a mere struggling frontier town grow to a splendid 
city of one hundred thousand people and of feeling that he had contributed largely 
to that growth. He was a man of sound judgment, clear perception and indus- 
trious habits, but underneath and as a basis on which these qualities rested and 
which furnished the chief cause of his success, was his sterling integrity, fidelity 
to principle and tenacious adherence to them in every-day life. In all his relations 
he was at once honest and honorable. Remarkably successful in the accumulation 
of wealth, one of his greatest pleasures was to fill the hand of charity when ever 
extended in a worthy cause, and he was a most active factor in the establishment 
of the charitable, educational and religious institutions of the city. An enthusiastic 
advocate of the city's park system he gave Macleay park, a tract of one hundred 
and seven acres of land as an addition to the park system of the city. No man 
in Portland enjoyed a higher respect or held deeper regard from his fellow citi- 
zens. Few men have lived and died in Portland whose loss was felt more acutely 
or whose death more sincerely was mourned. 



JOHN S. SEED. 



John S. Seed, a general contractor in brick, stone and steel construction, is 
one of the pioneers in this field of building operations in Portland, where he 
has resided for about thirty years, arriving in 1879. For the first two years he 
worked as a journeyman and then began contracting on his own account. The 
years have marked his continuous progress and he has long been regarded as 
one of the foremost representatives of building construction in the city. His 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 7 

birth occurred in Bloomington, Illinois, September 20, 1858, his parents being 
John and Mary Jane Seed, the former a machinist by trade. The son pursued 
his education in the pubHc schools of Peoria, Illinois, for when he was quite 
young the family left Bloomington. Later he went to Wilmington, Delaware, 
and it was there that he learned the builder's trade. He continued his resi- 
dence on the Atlantic coast until 1879, when he came to Portland, at which 
time there were no railroads in the city. He, therefore, made his way to New 
York and sailed for the isthmus of Panama, which he crossed by rail, embark- 
ing from the western coast for San Francisco, from which point he proceeded 
by boat to Portland. It was chance that kept him from becoming a passenger 
on the Great Republic, which on that voyage was wrecked at the mouth of the 
Columbia river. For two years after reaching this city Mr, Seed worked as a 
journeyman, being first employed on a building at the northeast corner of Front 
and Ash streets. Later he was engaged on the construction of a building at 
the southwest corner of Front and Davis streets and he also built the Lincoln 
high school and the Labbe building, the latter being one of the old landmarks 
of the city — a three story brick building, situated on the northwest corner of 
First and Pine streets. The last two were erected in 1883 and Mr. Seed was at 
that time in partnership with Thomas Mann, one of the old time pioneer con- 
tractors of Portland, of whom extended mention is made elsewhere in this 
work. Later important contracts were awarded Mr. Seed and he thus became 
an active factor in the building operations of the city. He was the builder 
of the first Presbyterian church and many other prominent and substantial 
structures of Portland stand as evidences of his skill and ability in his chosen 
field of labor. At different times he has been associated with various partners 
and in these connections has been awarded contracts on the building of the 
Myer & Frank block, at the corner of Sixth and Washington streets, and the 
Steams and the Mohawk buildings. He was alone in business when he secured 
the contract for the erection of the Lewis building on Park and Morrison 
streets. He also erected the Failing building and during the time he was as- 
sociated with John Bingham he erected the first pressed brick block that wab 
ever built in Portland. This was the Smith Kearney building, on First be- 
tween Alder and Morrison streets. The brick was brought from Philadelphia, 
at a cost of one hundred dollars per thousand and it is still standing, a fact 
which indicates the substantial nature of its construction. He also built the 
approach to the state house at Salem and the stockade or wall around the state 
penitentiary, being at that time in partnership with Mr. Bingham. As the 
years passed, his fame as a skilled and reliable builder spread abroad and his 
services were sought in various sections of the northwest. He was awarded 
the contract for the building of the state capitol at Boise City, Idaho, and he 
did the brick work on the Young Men's Christian Association in Portland. He 
is now building a six story apartment house, fifty-four by one hundred feet, for 
the Reed Institute, the rental from the apartments being a source of substan- 
tial income to the institution. 

Mr. Seed v/as married in 1880 to Miss Mary Irving, and they had one 
child, John, who was a student in the Chicago School of Art and later attended 
Mark Hopkins Institute in San Francisco, California, while at the present time 
he is connected with the Journal as an artist. 

In 1904 Mr. Seed wedded Mrs. Helen Jennings, a daughter of Captain G. 
A. Gore, who was an old river captain and commanded the Northern Pacific 
transfer boat at Kalama. He was the first man to bring a steamer over the 
rapids at the Cascades. By her former marriage Mrs. Seed had a son, D. V. 
Jennings. 

Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Seed has given 
his political support to the reoublican party, and the questions and issues of 
the day find in him an interested student. He belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias fraternity, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and has at- 



8 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

tained high rank in Masonry, holding membership in the lodge, chapter and 
commandery and in Al Kader Temple of the Mystic Shrine. His interest in 
the order is indicated in the progress he has made through the different degrees 
and in his life he exemplifies the beneficent spirit of the craft. His success in 
business is perhaps largely attributable to the fact that throughout his life he 
has continued in the line in which he embarked as a young tradesman. The 
exercise of activity is keeping him alert and he is ever interested in all that 
pertains to building operations, employing the most progressive and modern 
ideas in the construction of the buildings of Portland and elsewhere that stand 
as monuments to his skill, proficiency and business integrity. 



JOSEPH M. HEALY. 



Joseph M. Healy, of Portland, whose attention is now given only to the 
supervision of his invested interests, was born in Vancouver, Washington, on 
the 6th of February, 1868, a son of the late Patrick and Cecelia Healy. After 
completing his education in St. James College of his native city, he entered 
business life as a clerk and remained in the employ of others until 1898. In the 
meantime he had been gaining valuable experience, possessing an observing 
eye and drawing from each new duty and experience the lesson which it con- 
tained. He thus came well equipped to his new undertaking — the conduct of a 
real-estate and brokerage business. He had thoroughly informed himself con- 
cerning property values in Portland and his knowledge thereof was supplemented 
by incorruptible integrity and keen business acumen. Moreover, he had faith in 
Portland property as a safe and remunerative investment so that he had no dif- 
ficulty in convincing others of its worth. He met with notable success from the 
very inception of his business, handled extensive realty interests and important 
commercial paper, and negotiated property transfers on such an extensive scale 
that after twelve years of close application to and capable management of his 
business he was able to retire. 

Mr. Healy built the first steel construction building on the east side of the 
Willamette, being the four story building on the southwest corner of Grand 
avenue and East Morrison street, which still bears his name. He was also one 
of the original builders of the United Railways which is now being developed by 
the Hill system of interurban railways. He is one of the directors of the Mer- 
chants National Bank of this city, and maintains an office in the Board of Trade 
building for the direction of his personal interests. 

Mr. Healy is an interested and active worker in the Catholic church and 
holds membership with the Knights of Columbus and Catholic Order of Fores- 
ters, and is also a member of the Arlington and Commercial Clubs. 



J. C. AINSWORTH. 



J. C. Ainsworth, of Portland, financier and business promoter, who is iden- 
tified with many corporate interests, has contributed materially to the develop- 
ment and upbuilding of the Pacific country. Portland is proud to number him 
among her native sons. He was born in this city, January 4, 1870, of the mar- 
riage of Captain J. C. and Fannie (Babbitt) Ainsworth, and completed his edu- 
cation in the University of California, from which institution he was graduated 
with the degree of Bachelor of Science in 1891. He afterward pursued a spe- 
cial course in electrical engineering in the same institution. His early busi- 
ness training was received in the Central Bank of Oakland, California, which 
his father had previously established, and in 1894 he entered banking circles 




JOSE PIT M. HEAIA' 









."■?« '■ 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 11 

in Portland, Oregon, becoming identified with the Ainsworth National Bank, 
of which he was chosen president. The bank was capitalized for one hundred 
thousand dollars and as its chief directing force he maintained a safe conserva- 
tive policy that made it one of the strongest moneyed concerns on the coast. 
In 1902 he merged the Ainsworth Bank with the United States Bank under the 
name of the latter, which was then capitalized for two hundred and fifty thou- 
sand dollars, while later the capital stock was increased to three hundred thou- 
sand dollars. He yet remains president of this bank, which now has a capital 
and surplus of over one million eight hundred thousand and deposits of some 
eleven millions and which has always been kept abreast with the most modern 
and progressive financial policy commensurate with the best interests of the 
institution. 

A man of resourceful business ability, Mr. Ainsworth has improved his 
opportunity for judicious investment in many other important business enter- 
prises and his efforts have constituted a valuable element in the successful con- 
trol of various corporations of the west. He was instrumental in organizing 
the Fidelity Trust Company Bank of Tacoma, capitalized for five hundred 
thousand dollars, and in 1902 he succeeded Colonel C. W. Griggs as president 
of the company. He is also the president of the Oregon Telephone & Telegraph 
Company with a capital stock of five hundred thousand dollars and is assistant 
secretary and treasurer of the Pacific States Telephone & Telegraph Company, 
which has a capital of fifteen million dollars, while its lines extend from Mexico 
to Alaska. His keen business discernment has led to his cooperation being 
sought in the upbuilding of many of the important business projects of the 
coast. He is now treasurer of the Portland Railway Company and his name 
is on the directorate of the Portland Hotel Company, the Portland General 
Electric Company, the Portland Street Railway Company, the Pacific States 
Telephone & Telegraph Company, the Los vAngeles & Redondo Railway Com- 
pany, the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company and many others. 

On the 26th of June, 1901, in Portland, Mr. Ainsworth was married to Miss 
Alice Heitshu, who is a native of California, and, moving in the highest social 
circles, their home is the scene of many delightful social functions. Mr. Ains- 
worth holds membership in the Presbyterian church and the Arlington Qub, of 
which he was formerly president, and his political allegiance is given to the re- 
publican party. While he is numbered among the most successful men of the 
northwest, he has never regarded the pursuit of wealth as the sole end and aim 
of life but has found time and opportunity for activity in other lines which 
touch the general interests of society, cooperating in many movements for the 
public good and upholding at all times those interests which are in Portland a 
matter of civic virtue and of civic pride. 



JAMES BYBEE. 



James Bybee, eighty-three years of age, is still giving personal supervision 
to the conduct of his farm of one hundred acres in Clarke county. His has; 
been a well spent life and frontier experiences of every kind are familiar to 
him, for he dates his residence upon the Pacific coast from 1850. A native of 
Kentucky, Mr. Bybee was born in 1827 and was reared in Monroe county, Mis- 
souri, where he lived upon a farm until 1850. He then joined the emigrants 
who were making their way to California in an almost endless wagon train 
across the plains. He journeyed with mule teams and pack horses and after 
reaching his destination remained until November on the middle fork of the 
American river, engaged in mining. On account of the illness of his brother, 
William Bybee, he came to Oregon, the trip being made by sailing vessel to 
Astoria, from which point they proceeded up the Columbia in a small boat to 
Portland. 



12 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Indolence and idleness have ever been utterly at variance with the nature 
of James Bybee and he at once sought opportunity for the exercise of industry 
and diligence — his dominant qualities. He rented land on Sauvies Island, where 
he and his brother raised potatoes, which they shipped to California. So few 
people were then engaged in farming that all grain and market products brought 
a high price and the brothers made two thousand dollars a piece that year. 
James Bybee afterward lived upon a farm at the mouth of the Willamette, 
where he took up a claim and engaged in the dairy business. He then went to 
Jacksonville, Oregon, on a mining trip but remained only a short time and in 
1862 proceeded to eastern Oregon, settling at Auburn on Powder river. There 
he conducted a store and did freighting but after six months he sold out there 
and returned to his farm, upon which he remained until 1868, when he removed 
to Clarke county, Washington, trading his claim for three hundred and twenty 
acres of land in Clarke county. This was mostly covered with timber but he 
cleared one hundred acres and at the same time continued general farming as 
the land was prepared for the plow. Prospering in his undertakings, he also 
added to his holdings, purchasing another tract of two hundred and thirty acres. 
Plowever, he has since sold all of his land save one hundred acres upon which 
he resides and which constitutes one of the valuable properties of this locality. 
He has eight acres of fruit upon his place and other good improvements but 
expects soon to leave the farm, for he is building a residence in Vancouver 
which he intends to occupy. 

In 1855 Mr. Bybee was married to Miss Eudora Sturgis, of IlHnois, and of 
the nine children born to them seven are yet living: Gay, a resident of Van- 
couver; Mrs. Carrie Westfall, of Idaho; William, who is located in Sacramento, 
California ; Mrs. Minnie Matchett, of Portland ; Mrs. Addie Seward, also of 
Portland ; Mrs. Eudora Snorer, at home ; and Charles, of Vancouver. The wife 
and mother died in 1894 and in 1900 Mr. Bybee married Mrs. Ellen Day, of 
Portland, a native of Indiana. His home is situated ten miles from Vancouver, 
on the middle road, and two and a half miles from Fisher's Landing. His has 
been a busy, active and useful life and his success is attributable entirely to his 
own labors and his recognition and utilization of opportunities. 



AMES-HARRIS-NEVILLE COMPANY. 

Every successful business enterprise adds to the stability, material develop- 
ment and financial standing of a city. The house of Ames-Harris-Neville Com- 
pany, has long been known in Portland in connection with the manufacture of 
burlap, cotton bags, twine, rope, etc. The business was established about i860 
in San Francisco, California, by E. Detrick & Company, and was conducted 
under the name until 1883, when partnership relations were entered into and the 
style of Ames & Detrick was assumed, owing to the admission of J. P. Ames, of 
Oakland, as a partner. Business was conducted at San Francisco until 1884, 
when they established a branch in Portland. They continued to operate under 
the name of Ames & Detrick until 1893, when the Detrick interests withdrew 
and the firm became Ames & Harris, E. F. Harris, now deceased, purchasing 
an interest in the business at that time. The headquarters of the firm have 
always been in San Francisco, California. In 1898 the firm of Ames & Harris 
was incorporated, and the corporation was conducted until 1906, when they pur- 
chased the business of Neville & Company, of San Francisco, and the Neville 
Bag Company, of Portland, who had been one of their chief competitors. The 
merged interests were then incorporated under the present style of the Ames- 
Harris-Neville Company. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 13 

The present ofificers of the corporation are: J. H. Ames, of San Francisco, 
president and treasurer ; Everett Ames, a brother of J. H. Ames, first vice presi- 
dent and manager of the Portland branch; L. W. Harris, of San Francisco, 
second vice president; John J. Valentine, of San Francisco, secretary. The 
capital stock is about five hundred thousand dollars. At the Portland branch 
from one hundred and fifty to two hundred hands are employed in the factory 
and office, which is located at Fifth and Davis streets. 



DAVID S. STEARNS. 



David S. Stearns, engaged in the real-estate business in Portland, is numbered 
among Oregon's native sons, for his parents were among the earliest settlers of 
the state. He was born in Medford in 1857 and following the removal of the 
family to Portland he continued his education in the old Central high school, 
situated on the present site of Hotel Portland. He afterward learned the trade 
of iron molding with John Nation, who had a stove foundry on the present site 
of the Inman-Poulsen Lumber Mill. He continued in that business until about 
1882, when he turned his attention to the cigar business, which he conducted for 
two years. He was afterward engaged in the newspaper business as route agent 
and later as advertising solicitor but in 1887 turned his attention to the real- 
estate field, in which he has since operated with the exception of about a year, 
when he filled the office of city assessor by appointment of the late Mayor Mason. 
He is thoroughly informed concerning property values and has negotiated many 
important realty transfers, having secured a large clientage in this line. 

On the 17th of February, 1884, Mr. Stearns was united in marriage to Miss 
Mattie A. Wilkinson, a daughter of Isaiah Wilkinson, a veteran of the Civil 
war, who died at Evansville, Indiana, from illness contracted while in the army. 
Her mother's people were early pioneers of Oregon. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Stearns 
has been born a son, David Lloyd, now attending the Hawthorne school. Mrs. 
Stearns is a member of the Taylor Street Methodist church and is much inter- 
ested in its work. Mr. Stearns is a son of the Rev. Samuel E. Stearns, long a 
prominent home missionary of the northwest and is a twin brother of Gustavus 
Stearns. They are the oldest living twins born in Oregon. Both David S. Stearns 
and his wife have a wide acquaintance in Portland and the friendship of the 
great majority who know them is cordially extended. 



GEORGE A. WHIPPLE. 

Prominent among those who are extensively and successfully engaged in 
farming in the vicinity of Vancouver George A. Whipple is numbered. He was 
born November 16, 1854, on the donation claim at Ridgefield which his father 
secured on coming to the northwest. He is a son of S. R. Whipple, a prom- 
inent pioneer resident of this section. He was born in Oswego county. New 
York, in 1823, and there resided until twenty-one years of age, when he went 
to Wisconsin. Subsequently he became a resident of Illinois, settling at Ba- 
tavia, Kane county, where he engaged in farming, developing his fields there 
until 1852, when he joined the emigrants who in an almost endless wagon 
train were crossing the plains, the slow plodding oxen carrying their provisions 
and household efifects on the long journey over the prairie toward the mountains 
and the fertile valleys of the Pacific coast country. S. R. Whipple made his 
way direct to Vancouver and took up a donation land claim twelve miles from 
that city at Ridgefield. There he lived until 1862, when he returned to Van- 
couver and lived retired until 1905. In that year he went to Los Angeles, Cali- 



14 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

fornia, where his death occurred in February, 1907, when he had reached the 
age of eighty-four years. He had been married in IlHnois in 1849 to Miss 
Charlotte Louisa A. Lambert, the wedding being celebrated at the home of Gov- 
ernor Bross. The death of Mrs. Whipple occurred in Vancouver in 1884. In 
their family were three children, of whom all survive, namely : Dr. Ella Whip- 
ple Marsh, who is living at Long Beach, California; Mrs. Charlotte Elizabeth 
Brown, of Los Angeles, California; and George A., of Vancouver. 

The last named, as previously stated, was born upon his father's claim at 
Ridgefield and was there reared to the age of eight years, when he accom- 
panied his parents to Vancouver, where he continued until he attained his ma- 
jority. During that period he attended the Vancouver Seminary from which 
he was graduated with the class of 1873. He was also a student in the Willa- 
mette University and taught school for several years. In 1877 he purchased 
two hundred and eight acres of land ten miles northeast of Vancouver about 
five miles north of Fisher's Landing. Since that time he has purchased an ad- 
ditional tract of two hundred acres and, having sold only fifteen acres, is still 
the owner of a valuable farm of three hundred and ninty-three acres. This 
was an unbroken wilderness when it came into his possession, destitute entirely 
of improvements, and the excellent appearance of the place indicates his well 
spent life and practical industry. He has cleared one hundred and fifty acres 
for the plow and one hundred acres for pasture land, has brought his fields un- 
der a high state of cultivation, has put good stock upon the place and has erected 
substantial buildings, including the three fine residences occupied by his two 
sons and himself. He raises grain and hay and has five acres planted to or- 
chard and is also successfully engaged in the dairy business. 

The year after making his first purchase — 1878 — Mr. Whipple was married 
to Miss Clara Nevada Marsh, a daughter of Samuel P. Marsh, of Vancouver, 
who was a pioneer here and prominent in the early days of development and 
progress on the coast. They have four children: L. Marie, who is a teacher 
and resides at home ; George Eugene and Lloyd G., who are associated with 
their father in business; and Charlotte Ruth, who is teaching music. The chil- 
dren have all been provided with excellent educational privileges and are gradu- 
ates of the Willamette University at Salem, Oregon. The family is a prominent 
and cultured one of Clarke county, having a wide and favorable acquaintance in 
this locality, and their home is justly celebrated for its warm-hearted and 
cordial hospitality. Since 1852 the name of Whipple has been an honored one 
in this locality and has in large measure represented unfaltering activity and 
enterprise in the agricultural development of Clarke county. 



CAPTAIN 'WILLIAM H. SMITH. 

Captain WiUiam H. Smith, a retired steamboat man of Portland, identified 
with transportation interests on the Willamette and Columbia rivers since 1854, 
was born in London, England, June 16, 1831, his parents being Richard and 
Elizabeth Smith, both of whom died in England, where the father had carried on 
business as a wine merchant. Captain Smith attended school in the world's 
metropolis but at an early age found it necessary to provide for his own sup- 
port, and worked at whatever he could get that would yield him a living. He 
saw no chance for advancement, however, and determined to go to sea_, so atthe 
age of fourteen years he became an apprentice on the bark Simler, a ship of _ eight 
hundred tons bound for Bombay, Calcutta. Abuse and hardships met him in 
that connection, however, and when he again reached London fifteen months 
later he left the Simler and shipped on the Blond as an ordinary seaman. In 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 15 

this way he made a trip to Sidney, AustraHa, and was also connected with the 
coast trade between Sidney and Newcastle as a sailor. The return voyage to 
London was made on an old wooden ship, the Solsett. At that time he deter- 
mined to ship as an American seaman, and through the influence of a Mr. Mas- 
sey, of London, he secured a position on the Margaret Evans, a fine ship of two 
thousand tons, on which he crossed the Atlantic to New York as an ordinary 
seaman. He afterward made a voyage from New York to New Orleans on 
another American vessel and subsequently sailed to Harve in the English chan- 
nel, returning thence to Boston, Massachusetts. In that city he found his uncle, 
Thomas Smith, and family, who were then arranging to go to Oregon and asked 
Captain Smith to accompany them. He did not think it wise to go at the time 
but promised to meet them there later. Two more years were devoted to a sea- 
man's life, during which he made a trip to the Spanish Main and to England. 
Gradually he had worked his way upward on shipboard, becoming acquainted 
with every duty that falls to the lot of the seaman. In fact his ability excited 
that of many others on shipboard and accordingly he was offered the position of 
third mate, but desire to try his fortune in Oregon prevented him from accepting. 

When the Clipper ship Searine weighed anchor in the harbor of New York 
in 1853, bound on the long voyage to California, he was among the crew, but at 
the end of the trip, which consumed ninety-six days, he left that ship at San 
Francisco and engaged as watchman on the Columbia, a steamship. In January, 
1854, he arrived in Oregon and hunted up his uncle with whom he lived at 
Chanapoeg until the following spring. His training and preference, however, 
made him a seaman, and with the opening of navigation he engaged on the Enter- 
prise, a good steamboat on the Willamette river. He has followed the river 
almost continuously since on many different boats and is well known to all the 
old river men. At one time he purchased a farm near Chanapoeg but later sold 
it and purchased another tract of land on the French prairie. He was very suc- 
cessful in raising crops, but there was no market for the product at that time 
and, abandoning agricultural life, he returned to the river. He is now in pos- 
session of a very fine watch which was presented to him by the citizens of Port- 
land for faithful services which he rendered in helping to raise the United States 
ship Charleston, the time piece being presented him on the 20th of May, 1892. 

At Oregon City, in June, 1855, Captain Smith was united in marriage to Miss 
Margaret Ann Weston, who was born at Little Rock, Arkansas, and came to 
Oregon with her parents in 1853, the journey being made across the plains with 
ox teams. They traveled for six months ere reaching Marion county, Oregon, 
where they located. Thus Captain and Mrs. Smith both have long been residents 
of this state and are numbered among its honored and worthy pioneer settlers. 
Their family numbered twelve children, but the two eldest, Emily and Richard, 
died in childhood. The otheirs are as follows : Augusta F., who married Frank 
Rittenour, of Portland, by whom she has four children, Fred, Harry, Lulu and 
George ; Anna, the wife of B. F. Hedges, of Portland, by whom she has one son, 
B. T. ; Ephraim D., who married Rose Luke and resides in Portland ; Mary, who 
wedded C. H. Hawks, and has one child, Raymond; William E., of Astoria, who 
married Nannie Holt and has two children, Clyde and Emery ; Alfred, who mar- 
ried Rose Bernier, both of whom are now deceased, their two children, Chester 
and Alfred, residing with the subject; Hattie B. and Edith J., both at home; 
Kathrine M., who wedded E. C. Dick, of Portland, and has five children, Don- 
ald, Ellenor, Franklyn, Charles and Colman ; and Edward L., who married Ellen 
Fichner, and with their three children, Dorothy, Edward and Mildred, reside in 
Portland. 

Captain Smith is a member of the Masonic fraternity and is a firm believer 
in the spirit and principles of that organization. His active service as a river- 
man, however, has prevented him from taking active part in fraternal or polit- 
ical interests. He is well known among those who have in any way been con- 
nected with the shipping interests of this section, and has lived to see remark- 



16 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

able changes in navigation from the early days when saiHng vessels brought 
passengers around the Horn to the Pacific coast. He can relate many interest- 
ing incidents of the early days and no one rejoices more keenly in the progress 
that has been made as the years have gone by than does Captain Smith. 



ROBERT BRUCE WILSON, M. D. 

Robert Bruce Wilson, eminent physician and surgeon, honored pioneer, edu- 
cator and prominent factor in Portland's early development, was a native of 
Portsmouth, Virginia, born June 12, 1828. His early education was gained in 
the schools of his native city. He studied medicine at the University of Virginia 
and after graduation supplemented his college course by service in the hospitals 
of Philadelphia. 

In 1849 he was attracted to California by the gold excitement of that year. 
Settling in San Francisco, he engaged in practice for about six months, when 
he accepted the position of ship surgeon on the steamer. Gold Hunter, plying 
between San Francisco and the Columbia river. In December, 1850, he came to 
Portland and, being impressed with its future possibilities, decided to locate here 
permanently. 

From the date of his arrival. Dr. Wilson labored most industriously in his 
profession, built up a large practice in Portland and gained as well an enviable 
reputation throughout the state and the northwest. He was the first physician 
of distinguished ability and education to settle in and grow up with the city. 

Personally he was a fine type of the cultured southern gentleman. He was 
for many years looked upon as the dean of the medical fraternity and was a 
potent factor in the social and civic life of early Portland. His activities cov- 
ered a period of thirty-seven consecutive years with the exception of three years, 
which he spent in an extended tour of travel and research in Great Britain and 
Europe. 

Dr. Wilson married in 1854, Miss Caroline E. Couch, the eldest daughter of 
Captain John H. Couch, and they became the parents of seven children, three 
sons and four daughters : Dr. Holt C. and Dr. George F., prominent Portland 
physicians, Mary Carrie, wife of Walter J. Burns; Virginia; Clementine; Maria 
Louise ; and Robert Bruce. 

Dr. Wilson died August 6, 1887. His was the satisfaction of having lived 
to see Portland grow from the struggling frontier village as he found it to a 
prosperous and beautiful modern city and to feel a just pride in having con- 
tributed in no small degree to its transformation. The loss of few of the city's 
pioneers has been more acutely felt or more sincerely regretted. 



MAJOR ALFRED F. SEARS. 

To a great majority business activity indicates the concentration of effort 
in a single place. The profession to which Major Alfred F. Sears turned his 
attention, however, called him to various sections not only of the United States 
but also of Mexico and various South American countries. As a civil engineer 
his labors were of inestimable value in promoting railway and business projects 
that have been of the utmost worth in developing the different sections in which 
he has labored. He has come to an honored old age, for he has traveled life's 
journey for eighty-four years — years in which mental development has been a 
continuous force in his life, the precious prize of keen intellect remaining his 
to the present day. Advanced scientific attainments have gained him prominence 
in his chosen field of labor, and with a mind receptive and retentive, he has 




DR. R. B. WILSON 



I TM& It^si^ 5\f^*' 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 19 

also gleaned in his travels knowledge of far-reaching purport and interest con- 
cerning the lands he has visited and the peoples among whom he has lived. He 
was born in Boston, Massachusetts, November lO, 1826, and is descended from 
Pilgrim Revolutionary stock. His great-grandfather, Zachariah Sears, of Yar- 
mouth, Cape Cod, was a lieutenant of militia in 1776, although then seventy- 
two years of age. His grandfather, Joseph Henry Sears, when but fourteen 
years of age, joined the regiment commanded by Colonel Nat Freeman, of Yar- 
mouth, and served with the American troops in Rhode Island. His father, Ze- 
bina Sears, inherited the family passion for liberty and in 1816 commanded the 
brigantine Neptune, a cruiser in the service of the states of La Plata, then en- 
gaged in their war for independence from Spain. He made three successful 
voyages between New Orleans and Buenos Aires with men, arms and ammuni- 
tion for the patriots, but was finally captured by a Spanish frigate whicTi he 
fought until his own ship was sunk. He was taken to Spain for trial and sent 
for life to the penal colony of Melilla, on the coast of Morocco, from which he 
at length made his escape by aid of brother Masons, and eventually reached 
Boston. 

Major Alfred F. Sears, the fourth in a family of seven children, pursued his 
education in the public schools of his native city, where he won a FrankHn 
medal for scholarship on graduation from the Winthrop school in 1841. He then 
entered the English High school and was graduated with the class of 1844. The 
following year was spent in a mercantile counting house, and another year in an 
architect's office, but preferring outdoor life he took up civil engineering, for 
which he was well adapted. He had pursued a special course in mathematics 
from Master Sherwin, of the high school, and this proved a good foundation for 
further preparation for his chosen profession. 

On the 8th of June, 1846, he, entered upon active business connection with 
the profession at the Boston water-works', iirfder the distinguished civil engineer, 
E. S. Chesbrogh. He was afterward connected with the Cheshire Railroad of 
New Hampshire and subsequently became resident engineer of the Baltimore & 
Ohio Railroad, under the late Benjamin H. Latrobe. 

At the outbreak of the Civil war Major Sears was acting as surveyor of 
Newark, New Jersey. He resigned in June of that year to raise a company 
which was afterward enrolled as Company E, First New York Volunteer Engin- 
eers, and in October was sent to Hilton Head, in the expeditionary corps for the 
capture of Forts Beauregard and Walker. After about a year Captain Sears 
was stationed with his company at Hilton Head in hard service and also in the 
initial work of investing Fort Pulaski. In that connection he located and built 
the battery in the rear of Pulaski on Jones island in the Savannah river, known 
as Fort Vulcan, thereby cutting off all communication by steamer between >the 
fort and the city of Savannah. He also destroyed three-quarters of a mile of 
telegraph line between these points. He was next sent to Florida on important 
service and following his return rejoined his company. After the battle of James 
island on the i6th of June, 1862, he was ordered to Fort Clinch, Florida, to pre- 
pare the fort for defense against land attacks. Shortly afterward he came north 
to confer with General Totten, the chief engineer of the army, and during the 
visit, in October, 1862, through special dispensation of the grand lodge he was 
made a Mason in Kane Lodge of New York city. A week later he returned to 
Florida where he remained until December, 1865 — six months after the muster- 
out of his regiment — when he returned to Newark, New Jersey, having in the 
meantime been promoted to the rank of major. He was the only volunteer officer 
of engineers who was permitted to report directly to the chief engineer of the 
army at Washington. 

Following his return to the north, Major Sears was employed as assistant 
engineer of the Newark (New Jersey) water works, being engaged chiefly in 
building the Belleville reservoir. Shortly afterward he was elected chief en- 
gineer of the Newark & New York Railroad, located that line and also de- 



20 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

signed and located the first elevated railroad in the United States, passing 
over the New Jersey Railroad and to the city limits, over twenty blocks. When 
that road passed into the hands of the New York Central Railroad he was su- 
perceded by the chief engineer of that line. Many of the positions to which he 
has been called in later years have come to him by reason of his power as a 
linguist, for he is versed in Italian, Portuguese, French and Spanish. He was 
engaged by an American company to visit Costa Rica where he made prelimin- 
ary surveys across the continent from the Gulf of Nicoya to Puerto Limon on 
the Carribean sea, and on his return to the United States was selected as the 
chief engineer of a railroad in Central New York which he left in 1869 to take 
charge of the Atlantic division of the Costa Rica Railroad from Puerto Limon 
to the division line between the oceans. In the following year the Costa Rican 
government became bankrupt and Major Sears was invited by the late Henry 
Meiggs, railway king of South America, to visit Peru where he made a con- 
tract with the Peruvian government by which he entered the national corps of 
engineers of which he was a member until 1879. He lived in Peru for seven 
years, during which period he was appointed inspector of railroads for the gov- 
ernment in the north of the republic. He was also chief engineer of the irri- 
gation commission for devising a system of water works and sewerage for the 
cities of Callao, Paita and Piura. Finally he became chief engineer of the Chim- 
bote, Huaraz and Reouay Railroad, where he remained until the war with 
Chili had bankrupted Peru. 

As his son had settled in Portland, Major Sears, came to Oregon in 1879. 
Upon his arrival here he was appointed umpire engineer of the Oregonian rail- 
way which was then being constructed for a Scotch company of Dundee. Be- 
cause of his familiarity with the Spanish language, however, he was soon in- 
vited to Mexico to become assistant general manager of the Mexican Central 
Railroad Company, from which position he was called a year later by the Mexi- 
can government to take charge as general manager of the Tehuantepec Inter- 
oceanic Railway. After three months' work, finding the government bankrupt 
and having received only one month's pay, he became disgusted and returned to 
Portland, where he has since resided, although frequently visiting the east, 
Europe and South America. 

On again taking up his abode in Portland Major Sears began the practice 
of his profession here and also soon became a prolific periodical writer and 
lecturer, appearing several times before the University of the City of New 
York, the American National Geographical Association of New York, the 
Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences and the Long Island Historical So- 
ciety, while on many occasions he has delivered lectures and addresses in Port- 
land. In 1 88 1 he lectured in Portland on the Iron and Railroads of the World, 
giving an account of an iron street-car he had built in New York in 1856 for 
the Sixth avenue line and a sixty-passenger car for a New Jersey line to Hack- 
ensack, and he said at that time that iron street passenger cars had been in 
successful use on English roads in India and "they will be in use eventually the 
world over." 

In 1 88 1 he presented to the people of Portland, in the columns of the Ore- 
gonian, The Law of Commercial Geography, which has since created discus- 
sions in the commercial and scientific worlds, and has been presented in lec- 
tures and papers to the geographical societies of the country and the American 
Society of Civil Engineers, exciting antagonism until it has become accepted as 
immutable law in the world's economy, namely : It being understood that com- 
merce does not consist in shipping freight from a port, but is simply tlie ex- 
change of a country's productions for the supplies of the producer, "the com- 
mercial metropolis of a region will be that point nearest the producer which can 
be reached by a deep sea ship," 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 21 

On the 4th of November, 1900, he published in the Oregonian a letter drawn 
out by the visit of Mr. Mellen, president of the Northern Pacific Railroad, in 
which he delivered himself on notions antagonizing his position; the letter con- 
cluded with this prophecy: "The Northern Pacific Railroad will be forced into 
Portland by the most direct route possible. This is simply its helpless fate, on 
which Portland may sleep. The law of commerce, as I have stated it, is the 
inexorable, immutable law without exception in the world's economy." In a 
communication published in the Oregonian on the 12th of May, 1883, he sug- 
gested to the port of Portland board as follows : "I can think of no port so 
analogous in conditions to Portland as that of Glasgow, Scotland." After stat- 
ing the conditions the letter continued: "If our river is to be kept open it 
must be done by a board like the Clyde trust, working in the interest of Port- 
land and with her money." Shortly after this he was called to Mexico, but 
Ellis G. Hughes, who was associated in the Oregonian Railroad Company as 
attorney, of which Mr. Sears was engineer, took up the matter, visited the legis- 
lature and secured the charter for the present organization. This was the 
origin of the port of Portland commissioners. 

In 1889 Major Sears, while engaged as chief engineer of the first electric 
railway built in the northwest, was urged by the people of Peru to return to the 
region where he had made irrigation surveys and plans, a very promising con- 
cession being made him. He was also called by capitalists to England where a 
syndicate for the work was formed, but the plans were upset by the failure of 
the house of Barring Brothers, due to the repudiation by Argentina of her bonds 
held in England. He then recovered his concession from the English company 
and tried to organize a company in New York. He had just succeeded when, 
in August, 1894, the revolution broke out in Peru and the project was aban- 
doned. At the request of eastern capitalists he again secured the concession 
in 1898 for a party who agreed to put up the necessary guarantee bond but who 
failed of execution. In the meantime he had expended all of his means in his 
devotion to an idea, suffering heavy losses in his confidence in unworthy men. 
He has since lived a retired life in Portland except for some activity in civic 
affairs. 

On the 29th of January, 1850, Mr. Sears was married to Miss Augusta 
Bassett, the youngest daughter of Paschall Bassett, of Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, and descended on both sides from Puritan ancestry. Her mother traced 
her ancestry directly to Mary Chilton, who was the first woman to land from 
the Mayflower. Unto Major Sears and his wife were born three children, of 
whom one reached maturity, Alfred F., Jr., who became a prominent lawyer and 
was on the bench in Oregon when he died, in 1907. 

Major Sears is an honored member of various societies. He belongs to the 
Sons of the American Revolution, the Loyal Legion, the Grand Army of the 
Republic, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the National Association of 
Civil Engineers of Peru and is a corresponding member of the Geographical 
Society of Lima, Peru. 

One who knows Major Sears well has written of him: "He is essentially a 
polite man, a gentleman in all that the term implies. The real gentleman must 
possess a kindly nature, a heart bent upon goodness. The manners of Major 
Sears would adorn any station. I have seen him when general manager of a 
railroad go the entire length of a railway car to assist a poor Indian peasant 
woman in raising a car window with which she was struggling. This illus- 
trates the quality of his nature. He is void of selfishness and has in an unusual 
degree the quality of thoughtfulness for others. He is inclined to diffidence 
and has been accused of supersensitiveness, yet is not slow to strenuously resist 
what he deems encroachment upon his rights or those of others in whom he is 
interested. One of his strongly marked qualities is his ability to win the confi- 



22 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

dence and the admiration of the humbler classes of both men and women, this 
frequently taking the form of an expression of admiration for intellectual pre- 
dominance. 

"Passing to a consideration of intellectual qualities, it may be said that 
Major Sears is especially developed on the side of perception. Had he held 
office in a parliamentary body he would have been distinguished, nay almost in- 
vincible in debate. He has cultivated an exceptionally pure rhetorical style, 
unique and forceful, rarely surpassed in beauty by men whose life is not de- 
voted to literature. He has been throughout his life a student, more in the 
lines of science, sociology, philosophy and some branches of politics than in 
other fields of learning. His temperament is essentially radical, or more cor- 
rectly, non-conservative. As might be deduced from the few traits delineated 
above, he has the very structure of the reformer and the philanthropist. The 
term philanthropist is used here with full appreciation of its meaning. He has 
been such in both theory and action. If the evidences of his work are not more 
numerous it is because of the conflicting demands of an exacting and laborious 
profession and business life which have prevented a constant abiding in one 
community. He may be said, in truth, through life to have loved his brother 
man." 



WILLIAM P. JONES. 



There is a fascination in the story of those who crossed the plains long be- 
fore the building of railroads, when Omaha and Kansas City practically repre- 
sented the outposts of civilization, beyond which there were vast stretches of 
plain and desert and the high mountain ranges of the Rockies. The story is 
one of hardships, endurance and courage. William P. Jones was among the 
number who made the long trip from the Mississippi valley to California by 
wagon in 1850. He was born in North Wales in 1822, his parents being John 
and Margaret Jones. The father was a carpenter and came to America with 
his family when the son was but a young lad. They located in New York state 
in 1832 and later removed to Illinois, while subsequently the family home was 
established in Iowa, where the parents died, the father in 1855 ^"d the mother 
in 1854. 

William P. Jones was nine years of age when he made the voyage across the 
Atlantic. His education was largely acquired in the schools of Joliet, Illinois, 
and he afterward learned the carpenter's trade, working with his father and also 
farming. His father owned a farm in Des Moines county, Iowa, and William 
P. Jones aided in its cultivation while engaged in carpenter work. He was mar- 
ried on the 14th of September, 1846, near Burlington, Iowa, to Miss Elizabeth 
Evans, a daughter of Thomas T. and Mary Evans. She was born in the 
southern part of Wales, August 2, 1827, and in 1832 was brought to America 
by her parents, who located first at Utica, New York, and three years later 
removed to Portage county, Ohio, where Mrs. Jones attended school and resided 
until she reached young womanhood. Her father was a weaver by trade. He 
removed from Ohio, to Iowa, and both he and his wife died in Des Moines of 
cholera in 1845. 

Following their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Jones resided in Iowa until 1850, 
when, attracted by the discovery of gold on the Pacific coast, he started for Cali- 
fornia on the 9th of April, there being five men, two women and two children 
in the party, with one wagon having four yoke of oxen and another wagon with 
two horses and mules. The difficulties and hardships which they experienced 
were those which display endurance, strength and courage. The frost was just 
out of the ground so that the prairie mud was very deep and the wagons fre- 
quently became stalled. They found, too, that parties ahead of them had bought 




W. p. JOXES 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 25 

up everything in the way of feed and one place where they got a little corn they 
had to pay three dollars per bushel for it. When a month had passed they 
found themselves on the western border of Iowa, reaching Council Bluffs May 
13. There they found many selling their outfits and returning home, while 
others were trading their horses for oxen, or oxen for horses. The little Iowa 
party joined a train of five wagons from Lewis county, Missouri, and on the 
14th of May crossed the river. Two days later it camped within two miles of 
a Sioux Indian city and soon the chief and six warriors paid a friendly visit. 
They were given supper and a tent to sleep in and in the morning it was found 
that the warriors had disappeared with their blankets and other things. On the 
19th of May they encountered storms so severe that they could not put up their 
tents. On the following day a storm forced them to break camp and take their 
wagons to higher ground. All along the way they found it difficult to obtain pro- 
visions but on the 26th of May one of the party killed a buffalo and the camp 
was thus supplied with meat. From that time forward for a month or more 
they had plenty of buffalo and antelope meat, for those animals were to be found 
in large herds on the open plains. The journey was not without its amusing in- 
cidents. The company had much merriment over a visit of a Sioux to their 
camp. The warriors looked with admiration at one of the white men who was 
six feet, seven inches in height. They offered several buffalo robes and several 
pairs of moccasins for him and offered him three ponies and two squaws if he 
would live with them and swear allegiance to the Sioux nation. It was a long 
time before his party ceased to joke him over the trade. In June they had a 
few days' travel where grass and water were plenty and the road was good but 
when they reached the north fork of the Platte they had to make a boat by lash- 
ing two wagons together that they might make their way across and practically 
an entire day was thus lost. As they reached the Black Hills of Wyoming the 
road became crooked and hilly and one place they had to let the wagons down 
with ropes. They found that the Mormons had ferries on all the rivers and 
charged exorbitant prices for ferrying the emigrants over. In fact they felled 
trees on what was the right road and put up posters indicating "good road and 
good ferry," in another direction so as to make the emigrants pay for being 
ferried over. As the company proceeded westward they would sometimes leave 
a wagon in order to save their teams and as a general thing would burn these 
wagons so the Mormons could not be benefited by them. At length they found 
themselves in the alkali country and it was almost impossible after traveling all 
day in the hot sand to keep the cattle from drinking out of the alkali pools. The 
consequences were that they died by the score. Then, too, the alkali seemed to 
make the oxen's feet tender. After leaving the alkali country they traveled for 
one hundred and fifty miles along the Sweet Water, a branch of the Platte and 
had to cross and recross the stream several times. As they neared the South 
Pass of the Rocky mountains the road became very rough and sometimes on a 
mountain spur the snow would be ten feet deep, while down in the valley it 
would be very hot. Sudden storms came up, too, sometimes three or four in a 
day. On the 28th of June they reached the summit or South Pass — a gap in the 
mountains about eighteen feet wide. There the Mormons had posted a placard 
saying that they would take all letters east at twenty-five cents per letter. It is 
probable, however, they destroyed all mail, at least Mr. Jones' letter never reached 
its destination. Crossing the summit, the party started for the head waters of 
the Humboldt river across one hundred and seventy-five miles of alkali desert. 
When it was possible they would carry a little grass and water for the stock. 
The roads were rough, cattle gave out, companies separated and everything was 
left behind except provisions, that the people might hasten on their journey. On 
the 3d of July the party with which Mr. Jones traveled crossed the Green river, 
paying a toll of seven dollars per wagon. Several men in the train became ill 

with mountain fever and a week's rest was spent at Soda Springs. Thirty more 
2 



26 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

miles of desert brought them to the head waters of the Humboldt, which they 
followed for two hundred miles, the little creek broadening out into a wide 
river and then again getting smaller and smaller until it finally disappeared in 
the sandy desert called the "sink of the Humboldt river." Here, however, was 
plenty of water and grass for the animals and after two days' rest there the 
party started on another stretch of seventy-five miles of alkali desert. Their 
greatest difficulty was to take water along. As Mr. Jones had no water keg he 
tied the wristbands of his rubber coat sleeves, filled the garment with water, 
carrying two bucketsful. On that part of the trip the party became lost, wander- 
ing from the right road. They had only provisions enough to last four days. 
After traveling thirty hours they came across the desert, and the next day met 
a solitary Indian who told them by signs that it was eight days' journey to the 
gold mines. They had only two days' provisions and were in the heavily 
timbered country of the Sierra Nevadas. There was no game to be had 
and the country was full of the Snake Indians. The outlook was discourag- 
ing but they pushed on and on the 25th of August found they had provisions for 
only a supper and breakfast left. The next morning when they were eating their 
last meal a solitary Norwegian came to them begging for a spoonful of flour to 
make soup with the tripe of a dead ox. He, too, had started on the wrong trail 
of the desert. He said that two men with oxen had passed him the day before. 
This unexpected news brought courage and the party hastened on, overtaking 
the men late in the afternoon. Stating their condition, Mr. Jones and his party 
said that they must have an ox for food, that they would give a horse or seventy- 
five dollars for it and would help the men along their way. After demurring, 
they accepted the money and the ox was soon cut up in thin strips and hung on 
poles around a big fire for the meat to dry. They also cooked portions of it and 
visited until midnight. The remainder of the animal served as food during the 
succeeding four days, when they traveled over rough country in the Sierras at 
an elevation of seven thousand feet. Again their food was almost gone and the 
situation looked serious but on the ist of September they met two traders with 
flour coming out to meet the emigrants. They paid a dollar per pound for flour 
and they secured another meal. The next day they arrived at the mines after 
traveling from the 9th of April until the 23d of September. 

Mr. Jones at once began work in the mines, sleeping the first night under 
a large oak tree. For seventeen years thereafter he followed mining, always in 
California, He was also engaged in the lumber and sawmill business in Nevada 
county, California, for about seven years and in 1869 came to Portland, arriv- 
ing in this city on the 22d of October. The removal was made that he might give 
his children better educational advantages, and he also had a brother, Joseph F., 
who was and is still a resident of Portland. Mrs. Jones, when her husband left 
for California, remained in Iowa but in 1853 joined him on the coast. Remov- 
ing to Portland, they established their home at the corner of Sixth and Colum- 
bia streets, there remaining until 1891, when Mr. Jones erected the fine resi- 
dence at the corner of Hawthorne and Glenn streets, where his widow now re- 
sides. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Jones were born seven children: Anna V., who died at 
the age of ten years ; Joseph, who died in childhood ; William H. ; Josephine, 
who died in childhood ; Jennie E., who was a capable teacher in the Portland 
schools but died in 1892, at the age of thirty-three years; Benjamin T., of Seat- 
tle, who married Mrs. Peet; and Thomas L., who is engaged in the insurance 
business in Portland. 

After coming to Portland Mr. Jones was for a long period in public office, 
serving as road supervisor and tax collector until his death, which occurred April 
5, 1895, when he had reached the age of seventy-two years, eleven months and 
twenty-three days. In politics he was a stalwart republican, active in the ranks 
of the party and doing all in his power to promote its success. He held mem- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 27 

bership in the Masonic lodge and in the First Congregational church — relations 
which indicate the nature of his interests and the principles which governed his 
conduct. His was indeed an honorable, upright life, and his many sterling traits 
of character won him high regard and lasting friendships. 



SAMUEL E. STEARNS. 

We are apt to think mainly of the representatives of trade, commercial 
and professional interests as the builders of the state, together with those who 
frame the laws, and yet largely underlying the labors in all those lines is the 
motive force of the recognition of moral and religious obligations. And while 
less tangible, the work of those who have been teachers in the latter field is of 
inestimable value to the race and to the country. It was largely in the branch 
of home missionary service that Samuel E. Stearns labored and his influence 
•was far-reaching and beneficial. He was born in Vermont, in 1813. He mar- 
ried Susan T. Whitaker, who is numbered among Oregon's pioneer women of 
1853, in which year she came by the ox team route across the country from 
Rockford, Illinois, traveling for six months and five days. She was born in 1826 
and is a daughter of Judge Israel and Lucinda (Schaler) Whitaker, the latter 
a daughter of Major Schaler, an officer of the American army in the Revolu- 
tionary war. Mrs. Stearns was born in Clermont county, Ohio, and spent 
her girlhood days at home with her parents until the 12th of November, 1844, 
when she gave her hand in marriage to Samuel E. Stearns. They began their 
domestic life in Ohio, where they remained for about nine years. Mr. Stearns 
was a school teacher and Baptist minister and was thus identified with the in- 
tellectual and moral progress of the community in which he lived. About 1852, 
however, he decided to come to Oregon and the following year started on the 
long and arduous journey across prairie, desert, mountain and stream for the 
Pacific coast. He brought with him his wife and two children, Louisa and Ed- 
win Avery, and was also accompanied by his father, his two brothers, David 
and Avery P., and his sisters, (Mrs. Valina Williams and Mrs. Charlotte Emily 
Pengra and their families. It was in 1852 that Mr. and Mrs. Stearns left Ohio, 
journeying as far as Rockford, Illinois, where his brothers and sisters lived and 
from that point they all started for the northwest. The only members of the 
party at the outset were the relatives previously mentioned and those whom they 
hired to help them on the journey. They traveled as far as Laramie, Wyoming 
on the Platte river and by this time the Indians were proving so troublesome 
that they joined other emigrants for protection, thus forming a considerable 
train. They came on to the coast by the Yreka route through the Klamath 
country, Captain Hannibal acting as escort. 

On reaching southern Oregon Mr. Stearns and his family settled in the 
Rogue river valley, where he took up a donation claim of three hundred and 
twenty acres that includes the present site of the town of Medford. They re- 
mained upon that place for about four years, at the end of which time Mr. 
Stearns entered actively upon the work of a traveling missionary and so con- 
tinued until his death, which occurred in Idaho on the 29th of December, 1891. 
His life work was a potent element in the moral development of the community. 
He was an earnest and eloquent speaker and the permeating truth of his utter- 
ances proved an influencing force in the lives of many with whom he came in 
contact. In his family were nine children, six of whom are living, while one 
died in infancy and Edwin, a machinist, died in 1904, at the age of fifty-two 
years. He was port engineer for the Northern Navigation Company. The liv- 
ing members of the family are: Louisa, the wife of Charles A. Stewart, of 
Clon, Oregon, who is living retired ; Anna M., who is the widow of J. Frank 
Niles and is living in Walla Walla, Washington; Joseph O., an attorney of Port- 
land ; David S., who is engaged in the real-estate business in Portland ; Gustavus 



28 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

M., who is a twin brother of David and is mining in Yukon ; and Andi'ew J., 
who is engaged in the printing business in Dakota. Following the death of her 
first husband Mrs. Stearns gave her hand in marriage to Jacob McDuffee and 
they are now pleasantly located in an attractive home in Portland. 

Jacob McDufifee was born in Rochester, New Hampshire, June 30, 1822, a 
son of James and Hannah (Ham) McDuffee, who were also natives of the old 
Granite state. The family was founded in America during an early epoch in 
the colonization of the new world and the great-grandfather of Jacob McDuffee 
took up land in New Hampshire which is still in possession of the family. The 
McDuffees are noted for longevity. James McDuffee passed av/ay at the age of 
seventy-two years and was the youngest of his father's household at the time 
of his death. He had a sister who lived to the very advanced age of ninety- 
nine years. 

The youthful days of Jacob McDuffee were spent under the parental roof. 
He acquired his education in the schools of New Hampshire and there learned 
the trade of a builder. He was twenty-four years of age when his parents re- 
moved to Massachusetts and from that time until he came to Oregon in 1896 he 
retained his residence in the old Bay state. He began taking contracts when but 
nineteen years of age and after removing to Massachusetts carried on a con- 
tracting business in Boston for a number of years, during which period he 
erected many schoolhouses, churches and other prominent buildings of the city. 

In 1844 ^^^- McDuffee was united in marriage to Miss Martha B. Hopkinson, 
a daughter of Moses Hopkinson, of Gorham, Massachusetts, and they became 
the parents of seven children, of whom six are yet living, namely : C. S., now a 
traveling salesman living in Portland; William O., a contractor and builder of 
Boston, Massachusetts; Everett H., a salesman of Minneapolis, Minnesota; 
Qara, the wife of W. P. Lang, of Tilton, New Hampshire; Ella A., the wife of 
James M. Hayes, of Dover, New Hampshire ; and Cora B., the wife of G. W. 
Beach, of Minneapolis, Minnesota. One son, J. Frank, died in 1867, when but 
thirteen years of age. The wife and mother of these children departed this life 
in 1891. 

Mr. McDuffee continued his residence in New England until 1896, when he 
came to Oregon, where he has since made his home. Here he engaged in con- 
tracting to some degree but not extensively and about two years ago retired, 
since which time he has enjoyed a rest to which his former labors well entitle 
him. His political views have long been in accord with the principles of the re- 
publican party and to it he has given stalwart support but has never sought or 
desired office. The nature of his interests and his principles are indicated in 
the fact that he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Sons 
of Temperance and the Methodist church. His life has indeed been an honorable 
and upright one and his sterling worth commends him to the confidence and good 
will of all who know him. 

On the 5th of August, 1896, Mr. McDuffee was again married, his second 
union being with Mrs. Susan T. (Whitaker) Stearns. 



WILLIAM C. HOLMAN. 

A member of the Holman family needs no introduction to Portland's citizens, 
for the family has long been a prominent and honored one in this city since 
Captain Charles Holman became identified with the pioneer development of this 
section of the state. Both he and his wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary 
E. Huntington, are now deceased. Extended mention, however, is made of 
them on another page of this volume. William C. Holman was born December 
28, 1870, in Portland, where he was reared and in the early period of his man- 
hood was for several years engaged in the implement business at the corner of 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 29 

Front and Salmon streets. On withdrawing from that held of endeavor he be- 
came interested in the Portland Artificial Ice & Cold Storage Company, of which 
he is now the president and manager. This is the pioneer industry of the kind 
established in Portland and the second oldest artificial ice plant in America. He 
has been president and manager since 1906 and under his capable direction an 
extensive business is carried on along substantial lines. His fellow officers are 
Dr. A. S. Nichols, vice president, and W. E. Harris, secretary ; and the officers, 
together with O. M. Rankin and W. H. Harris, constitute the board of directors. 
The ice plant occupies two large buildings, one at the corner of Eighteenth and 
Thurman streets and the other at the corner of Eighteenth and Upsher streets. 
The plant is thoroughly equipped and the product is unexcelled for purity and 
excellence. The artificial ice industry is one of almost incalculable value to 
districts where climatic conditions preclude the possibility of securing natural 
ice. A liberal patronage is now accorded the company in Portland and the busi- 
ness is managed along progressive lines and in keeping with the strictest com- 
mercial ethics. 



ARTHUR ANDREWS. 



Arthur Andrews is a retired farmer and stockman now living in Portland. 
He dates his residence in Oregon from 1864, the limitless possibilities of the west 
attracting him from his home east of the Mississippi. He was born in Ash- 
tabula county, Ohio, on the 9th of November, 1837, his parents being Ebenezer 
and Jemima (Kelsey) Andrews, who were early settlers of that county, to which 
they removed from the state of New York. The father was a carpenter and 
millwright and continued his residence in Ohio until his death. The mother 
afterward came to Oregon in 1884 and spent her last years in this state. 

Arthur Andrews was a pupil in the district schools of his native county and 
afterward of the Grand River Institute at Austinburg, Ohio. When his educa- 
tion was completed he turned his attention to farming, working as a farm hand 
by the month for two years, and then purchased land in Ashtabula county upon 
which he resided for three years. He sold his property in the Buckeye state 
preparatory to removing to Oregon, the trip to the northwest being made by the 
water route from New York and across the isthmus of Panama, thence up the 
Pacific coast. His brother, Harrison, who started with him to the northwest, 
died at sea and was buried in the Pacific. It required about six weeks to make 
the trip. He located at first at Brownsville, in Linn county, Oregon, v/here he 
worked for a time in the woolen mills, after which he removed to Polk county 
and bought an interest in the stock business in connection with Judge Boise. 
There he remained for four years, after which he returned to Linn county, 
where he purchased land, making his home thereon for some time. Afterward 
he disposed of that property and bought a ranch in Yamhill county, upon which 
he lived for fifteen years. On selling out there he went to Morrow county, 
where he purchased and also entered land, adding continuously to his posses- 
sions until at one time he owned three thousand acres. He has since sold a por- 
tion of this but still retains possession of twenty-one hundred and sixty acres. 
While on the ranch he made a specialty of sheep-raising. He was extensively 
engaged in farming and stock-raising there until 1909, when he retired from 
active life and removed to Portland, where he is now enjoying the fruits of his 
former toil in well earned repose. While living in Morrow county he served as 
sheriff, having been elected to that office on the republican ticket. 

On the 1st of February, 1859, Mr. Andrews was married in Ashtabula 
county, Ohio, to Miss Elizabeth Gaut, a daughter of John and Hannah Susan 
(Moore) Gaut, of that county. Unto them have been born eight children: Carle- 
ton, who died at the age of sixteen months ; Eben H., who wedded Mary Kin- 



30 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

gery and is living in Morrow county ; Mary A., of Portland ; W. A., a resident 
of Albany, Oregon ; O. J., who married Rosie Height and died at the age of 
twenty-five years ; O. S., of Portland, who married Anna Armstrong and has 
five children — Eva, Loree, Arthur, Edward and Helen; Edith A., the wife of 
I. L. Howard, of Morrow county, who has two children, Edna A. and James A. ; 
Lillian P., the wife of L. L. Putnam, of Portland, and the mother of three chil- 
dren — Eldred, Frances A. and Edith E. 

Mr. Andrews is a member of the Masonic fraternity, being connected with 
the blue lodge at McMinnville, Oregon, and to the Royal Arch Chapter at Hepp- 
ner, while both he and his wife are members of the Eastern Star. In religious 
faith Mrs. Andrews is a Methodist. Mr. Andrews is numbered among the early 
settlers of Oregon and for forty-five consecutive years has been a reader of the 
Oregonian. He has been widely interested in the development and welfare of this 
part of the state and his influence has always been found on the side of progress. 
Moreover his record proves the excellent business opportunities that are offered 
in the northwest, for he came to Oregon with but limited capital and by judicious 
investment and capable business ability became one. of the most extensive farm- 
ers and stock-raisers of this section. His holdings are yet large and return to 
him a splendid annual income, enabling him to enjoy the rest to which his for- 
mer labor justly entitles him. 



MAURICE B. WAKEMAN. 

Few men on the Pacific coast can look back on a more varied career than 
the one whose name introduces this review. A "Yankee" boy, he early came 
into live contact with the world and his experiences need no artistic coloring to 
give them interest. About every honorable occupation has, at one time or an- 
other, occupied his attention, and it was not until the tempest-tossed vessel an- 
chored in the peaceful harbor of Portland that the skies cleared and a final 
haven was reached. 

Maurice B. Wakeman was born at Green's Farms, Fairfield county, Con- 
necticut, February 21, 1845, a son of Henry B. and Esther N. (Jennings) Wake- 
man. His father, who was a farmer, lived and died in Connecticut. The son 
spent his boyhood on the farm and was educated in the country school, later 
teaching in winter and farming in summer. The spirit of adventure in the 
New England lad was fanned almost into a fiame by the Civil war, but he was 
too young to enter the service and it did not find expression until he reached the 
age of twenty-one. 

Then the monotonous farm life of New England became no longer bearable 
and one day he bade farewell to old scenes and started toward the Pacific coast. 
Arriving in California, he took up farming on a tract of six hundred and forty 
acres in the region south of Sacramento. There he remained two years, both 
of which were dry, and at the end of the second season he found himself en- 
tirely without funds. San Francisco was now his objective point. After sev- 
eral months of great uncertainty he was put to work taking the school census. 
Having slightly recouped his finances, he returned to the valley near Sacramento 
and there worked as teamster and in a lumber yard. Again he visited San Fran- 
cisco and again the school census furnished employment. His next experience 
was in the mines at Eureka, Nevada, where he was soon advanced to the posi- 
tion of superintendent, remaining there one and a half years. After a short ex- 
perience in the quicksilver mines of California, he for the first time experienced 
the pangs of homesickness and once more he gathered with the family circle in 
Connecticut. But the scene was changed. The farms were smaller, the houses 
did not appear so large and the proportion on all sides had shrunken. The great 
world had widened his vision and he soon learned that he needed a broader land- 




M. B. WAKEMAN 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 33 

scape. However, he was identified for a short time with a fruit commission 
firm in New York city and was thinking seriously of going into partnership with 
his employer when the latter went insane. A Colorado sheep ranch next oc- 
cupied his attention. The ranch was on the great plains thirty-five miles from 
Denver, and here fortune began to smile. He continued in the business for 
eight years, and at one time owned nineteen sheep ranches and was on the high 
road to prosperity, but on account of continued cold weather and snow hun- 
dreds of sheep died of thirst and starvation and the ranchman was glad to close 
out his diminished herd and go into the mountains as a prospector. 

In 1881 Mr. Wakeman arrived at Portland. Here he began as clerk for the 
Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, continuing for six months, when he 
was placed in charge of the commissary department which supplied food for 
fifteen hundred men who were employed in the construction of the Northern 
Pacific Railroad. After retiring from that position he became identified with 
the Oregon Transfer Company at Portland as clerk and continued with the 
company fifteen years, the last eight years acting as superintendent. Associat- 
ing with A. P. Morse, he organized the Wakeman & Morse Transfer Company, 
with headquarters at Portland, the first barns being the old street car barns at 
Hoyt and Glisan streets. These bams being destroyed by fire, the Oregon 
Transfer barns were used until a large brick stable was erected at the corner 
of Twelfth and Everett streets. In 1906 the business was disposed of to the 
Oregon Auto Despatch Company. Mr. Wakeman is now secretary of the 
Western Lime & Plaster Company with offices in the Chamber of Commerce 
building. 

Mr. Wakeman was married while in Colorado to Miss Emma J. Adams, a 
native of Westport, Connecticut, who was a woman of unusual business ability 
and a true friend of mankind. She was for twenty years superintendent of the 
Good Samaritan Hospital, where she accomplished a noble work for suffering 
humanity. Her earthly career ended in April, 1907. 

Mr. Wakeman is a Scottish Rite Mason and has attained the thirty-second 
degree in the order. He is also a member of the Shrine. He has passed through 
experiences during a checkered career which would have daunted a less fear- 
les man, but he has been upheld through many vicissitudes by faith in himself 
and in a power that rules for the best, even when the skies seem most overcast. 
It is the indomitable spirit of New England, and wherever it is found there is 
also to be found patience, fortitude and an unconquerable sense of ultimate 
victory. He is a member of Trinity Episcopal church and for a time served 
as vestryman. In politics he has been a lifelong republican and socially is a 
member of the Commercial Club. Motoring and travel constitute his chief 
sources of recreation and he finds great pleasure in flowers, being an enthusi- 
astic rose grower and largely responsible for the ornamentation of the grounds 
of the Good Samaritan Hospital. His home address is No. 770 Northrup street. 



CHARLES HEGELE. 



Charles Hegele is now numbered among Portland's capitalists and retired 
business men. Taking up his permanent abode in this city in 1868, he was long 
closely associated with its commercial interests and, with a nature that could not 
be content with mediocrity, he has overcome all difficulties and obstacles and 
reached a position among the most successful business men of this locality, not- 
withstanding the fact that he started in life on coming to America in a most 
humble capacity. A native of the kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, he was 
born November 8, 1835, of the marriage of Christoph Frederick and Francisca 
Hegele. His mother died in his infancy. His father, who engaged in school 
teaching until his later years, passed away in Germany at the age of eighty-one. 



34 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Charles Hegele was reared in his native land and, in accordance with the 
educational laws of that country, attended school until fourteen years of age, 
when he was apprenticed to the mercantile business, serving for a term of four 
years. It was evident that union labor laws were not then in force, for he 
worked from six o'clock in the morning until ten o'clock at night and not only 
received no pay for his services but had to give to his employer compensation 
for the instruction which he received in business methods. His apprenticeship 
concluded, he accepted a position as a clerk in Germany at a salary of eighty 
florins per year, but the ambitious nature of the young man could not be con- 
tent with such a condition and he resolved to test the truth of the reports 
which he heard concerning favorable business opportunities in the new world. 
At eighteen years of age, therefore, he crossed the Atlantic to Atmerica and for 
five years was a resident of New York city. He began there by doing general 
work on a railroad with pick and shovel at a dollar per day but later secured a 
position in an establishment that made maps, school books, etc., doing work for 
Harper Brothers. His initiation into western life came in 1859, when he started 
for California, where he spent the following three years until 1862. While 
en route to British Columbia, the steamer on which he was a passenger stopped 
for twenty-four hours in Portland and he spent the day in going over the city, 
with the prospects of which he was much pleased. He continued on his way 
to British Columbia, however, and remained in that country until May, 1868, 
when he returned to Portland and was closely identified with its business in- 
terests until 1901. 

Gradually he made advancement toward the goal of success, making each 
effort count for the utmost possible, his diligence being the determining factor 
in the prosperity which he ultimately attained. He was one of the first to en- 
gage in the confectionery business in Portland, becoming a member of the firm 
of Alisky & Hegele. This partnership was maintained until 1882, when Mr. 
Hegele retired from the confectionery business and made a visit to his birth- 
place in Germany, spending four months in the fatherland. He then returned 
to Portland and purchased the Jackson crockery store, carrying on the trade in 
that line until 1901. His first location was at the northeast corner of Front 
and Pine streets but the following year — 1884 — he removed to the Kamm build- 
ing at the northwest corner of Front and Pine streets, becoming the first tenant. 
He continued at that location until he sold out to the firm of Prael, Hegele & 
Company, who are now conducting the business as wholesale dealers in crockery 
at the corner of Thirteenth and Hoyt streets. His commercial interests by no 
means comprised the extent of his undertakings. He became one of the stock- 
holders of the St. Charles Hotel, the first brick hotel in Portland, and was one of 
the first to subscribe to the stock for the Portland Hotel. In fact he became 
a prominent stockholder in many enterprises for the advancement of Portland 
while he was in active business. He is still the owner of a large dairy farm of 
three hundred and sixty-two acres at Scappoose, Columbia county, Oregon, 
whereon was conducted the first creamery in that county. The business is still 
continued and supplies butter to Hotel Portland. They make the finest butter 
in the state, keeping a splendid herd of cows and using every modern facility 
for the manufacture of the product. At a cost of six thousand dollars they 
erected on the farm the finest barn in this part of the state. The farm is now 
operated by a brother, G. A. Hegele. Mr. Hegele of this review owns consid- 
erable Portland realty, including the property at Nos. 145 and 147 First street. 
He also owns a quarter of the block at Fourteenth and Morrison streets and his 
wise investments have brought him substantial returns. 

Mr. Hegele was married in San Francisco, in 1876, to Miss Augusta Hilde- 
brand, who was born in New Jersey but became a resident of San Francisco 
about 1854-5. Two children have been born unjo them: Dr. Herbert W. 
Hegele, who is a graduate of Rush Medical College of Chicago and is nov/ prac- 
ticing in Portland ; and Hilda E. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 35 

Since 1863 Mr. Hegele has been a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and he also belongs to tlie German Aid Society and the Chamber 
of Commerce. For many years he has been a member of the Multnomah Club. 
Since 1901 he has given his attention merely to the supervision of his invest- 
ments., taking no active part in business management. Those who know him 
accord him rank among the most enlightened, useful and public-spirited citi- 
zens of the state — one who in his integrity, broad mindedness .&nd resourceful- 
nes has met the demands of our splendid western citizenship. He is recognized 
as a man of personal worth who has shown indefatigable industry and perse- 
verance in the face of obstacles that would have seemed insurmountable to 
many others. He has ever been actuated by a determination to accomplish what 
he could toward the attainment of success by honesty and industry alone. 



JOSEPH POLIVKA. 

Joseph Polivka, engaged in business under the name of Joseph Polivka & 
Company, dealers and importers of fine woolens, occupies a suite of rooms, 
with office at No. 206 Corbett building. He has been a resident of Portland 
since 1880 and since 1883 has engaged in business on his own account. As the 
name indicates, he is of Bohemian nativity, his birth having occurred in Bo- 
hemia on the 1st of April, 1850. His father, Frank Joseph Polivka, operated a 
sawmill in that country. The son was reared in his native land to the age of 
ten years, when, owing to the death of both his parents, he was thrown upon 
his own resources and has since made his way in the world unaided. Leaving 
his native country, he went to Vienna, Austria, where for six years he worked 
as a tailor's apprentice, receiving in compensation his board and clothing. After 
completing his trade he was employed as a journeyman in some of the principal 
cities of Europe, remaining in Berlin, Germany, from 1874 until 1880. 

Seeking still broader opportunities, which he thought to find in the new 
world — and in this hope he was not disappointed. Mr. Polivka sailed for 
America in the spring of 1880, landing at New York, where he remained for 
three months. On the expiration of that period he came to Portland, and soon 
secured a position as cutter for Mr. Newmeyer, then a prominent tailor of the 
city. He continued in the employ of others for three years and in 1883 started 
in business on his own account. In the intervening period of twenty-seven 
years he has built up a good business, being now one of the leading tailors of 
the northwest, making large importations of fine woolens, while the work of the 
tailoring department is unsurpassed in style as well as in texture. He has indeed 
the only exclusive tailoring establishment of the city and caters only to the highest 
class trade. The magnitude of his business at the present time indicates his high 
standing in his chosen field and his business ability. He has surrounded himself 
with an able corps of assistants, all thoroughly trained in the work which they 
perform and the name of Polivka has become a synonym of excellence in the 
tailoring line in Portland. While he devotes his attention exclusively to the 
trade he has made extensive investments in stock in many private business 
concerns and corporations and is recognized as a man of sound judgment, keen 
discrimination and unfaltering enterprise. 

Mr. Polivka was married in this city to Miss Annie Meyer, formerly of 
Stuttgart, Germany, who is a daughter of George T. and Helen Meyer, of Stutt- 
gart. Her father served for many years as secretary to the Prince of Weimar. 
Mr. and Mrs, Polivka have two children, Martha Eloise and Gertrude Anton. 

Prominent in Masonic circles, Mr. Polivka has attained the thirty-second 
degree of the Scottish Rite and has been a member of the Mystic Shrine since 
first crossing the sands of the desert on the 4th of February, 1899. For eleven 



36 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

years he has served continuously as treasurer of Columbia Lodge, No. 114, A. 
F. & A. M., and is regarded as one of the most exemplary members of the 
craft. His life is in harmony with its teachings and its principles and his so- 
cial prominence as well as his business ability ranks him with the foremost 
residents of the Rose city. 



LOUIS C. YOUNG. 



Louis C. Young, .who is engaged in farming and dairying, is numbered among 
the native sons of Clarke county, Washington, his birth having occurred upon 
a farm about ten miles east of Vancouver, October 7, 1872. His father was 
George Henry Young, of Vancouver, who at an early day secured a tract of 
land and developed a farm upon which he reared his family. The public schools 
afforded Louis C. Young his educational privileges and his business training 
was received on the old homestead, where he early became familiar with the 
best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He was eight years 
of age when his parents removed to a farm which the father owned about two 
miles east of Vancouver, having purchased that place in order to be near the city 
and thus provide his children with better educational privileges. After mastering 
the work of the public school Louis C. Young became a student in St. James 
College, of Vancouver, and in the school of experience he has also learned 
many valuable and practical lessons. 

When seventeen years of age he assumed the management of the old home 
farm of two hundred and sixty-four acres, and has since conducted this place, 
of which one hundred and fifty acres are cleared. This tract is devoted largely 
to the raising of hay and to dairying. In connection with his father he cleared 
the place and put the improvements upon it, and its excellent appearance indi- 
cates an active and well spent life that has brought him substantial returns, for 
he is now numbered among the prosperous farmers of the community. 



WILLIAM HUGHES. 



William Hughes, a retired stockman of Portland, still, however, the owner 
of considerable live stock which he pastures in Morrow county, was born in 
Tipperary, Ireland, on the 25th of August, 1849, a son of William and Mary 
(Gartie) Hughes. The father was overseer and agent of a gentleman's estate 
in Ireland and both he and his wife spent their lives in that country. Their fam- 
ily numbered eight children. 

William Hughes acquired his early education in the place where he was bom 
and in Wardford, Ireland, whither his parents removed in his childhood days. 
When his school days were over he went to sea and in that way visited almost 
every section of the civilized world. He entered the service as an apprentice 
and becanre an able seaman. On leaving the sea in 1869 he returned to his home, 
remaining in Ireland for about a year, after which he started for the Pacific 
coast, crossing the continent on the Union Pacific Railroad to San Francisco in 
1870. He located first in Merced county where he was employed by the month 
on a ranch for a few years. He subsequently rented land in the same county, 
and continued its cultivation until 1877. That year witnessed his arrival in 
Oregon, at which time he took up his abode in that section of Umatilla county 
which is now Morrow county. The Indians were very numerous at the time 
and were displaying marked hostility toward the white men, so that some of 
the settlers left that country. One of these was Sam Donaldson and Mr. 
Hughes purchased his farm of one hundred and sixty acres. He then took up 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 37 

the business of sheep-raising, in which he has since engaged, carrying on an 
industry extensive and successful. In 1901 he removed to Portland but still 
has his sheep interests in Morrow county. To his original farm he added by 
purchase and entry from time to time until he had over four thousand acres, 
but has since sold all of his land. 

Returning to Ireland in 1880, Mr. Hughes was married there on the 4th of 
February, of that year, to Miss Kathleen Frances Smith, a daughter of George 
and Fannie (Lee) Smith, of the Emerald isle. He at once started with his 
bride for Oregon and during their residence here eight children have come to 
bless their union, of whom four survive: William G., of Portland; Percy, a 
farmer of Heppner, who wedded Mabel Ayres, and has two children, Anita and 
William, Edwin, Isabel and Helena, both at home. 

Mr. Hughes belongs to the Masonic lodge at Heppner and he and his family 
are members of the Episcopal church. His political allegiance is given to the 
republican party and he was appointed by Governor Pennoyer a member of the 
state board of equalization. Other than this he has never held office, prefer- 
ring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs which he carefully 
conducted up to the time of his retirement. Now he gives his attention merely 
to the supervision of his real estate, having made considerable investment in 
Portland property. His residence in Oregon now covers a third of a century 
and, widely known, he is also held in high regard. 



CYRUS W. SEDGWICK. 

Cyrus W. Sedgwick, a representative of the farming interests of Clarke 
county, has prospered in his undertaking, although he has twice suffered severe 
losses by fire. His holdings today embrace property in Vancouver as well as his 
farm, and his realty is the visible evidence of his life of well directed energy 
and thrift. He was born in Oneida county. New York, March 10, 1845, ^^^ 
is a son of Charles S. and Jane (Knowlton) Sedgwipk, the former a native of 
Massachusetts and the latter of England. The son Cyrus was only four years 
of age when his parents left the Empire state for Illinois, settling near Chicago, 
where the father engaged in farming through a period of eighteen years. This 
brought Cyrus W. Sedgwick to the age of twenty-one years. He then started 
westward, proceeding as far as Manchester, Iowa, where he remained for 
three years, and in 1869 resumed his journey toward the setting sun, arriving 
ultimately in San Francisco. He was there employed by the street car company 
for five years, and afterward was in the employ of Miller & Lux, cattle men of 
California, in whose service he remained for about seven years. 

In the fall of 1878 Mr. Sedgwick arrived in Clarke county, Washington, 
and homesteaded eighty acres of land eight miles east of Vancouver on the 
Salacci and Fisher's Landing road. This tract was mostly timber land of 
which he cleared forty acres, making all of the improvements, doing all the 
fencing and otherwise carrying forward the work of development until this 
is today one of the valuable farm properties of the district. Twice Mr. Sedg- 
wick has had his place destroyed by fire, but with characteristic energy has re- 
built and his farm is now equipped with all modern improvements and acces- 
sories. He also owns property in Vancouver, having built a business block in 
connection with his daughter, and he also owns six houses there. As his finan- 
cial resources have increased he has thus made judicial investment in realty 
and is deriving therefrom a substantial annual income. 

On the 17th of May, 1870, Mr. Sedgwick was married to Miss Lydia Ann 
Odell, who was born in New York state and reared in Wisconsin, but at the 
time of her marriage was living in Manchester, Iowa. They now have one 
child : Dr. Isabelle Sedgwick, of Vancouver, who, having pursued her early 



38 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

education in the public schools, later attended the Forest Grove Academy and 
Willamette University. Subsequently she became a student in the medical de- 
partment of the University of Oregon in Portland, and later continued her pro- 
fessional education in Chicago, taking post-graduate courses there. She has 
since practiced in Vancouver and is meeting with good success there. 

While many came to the Pacific coast prior to Mr. Sedgwick's arrival, he 
has yet lived long enough in this section of the country to be largely familiar 
with the history of its development and in Clarke county his labors have con- 
stituted an important factor in the work of general progress and improvement, 
while at the same time they have brought to him a substantial reward for his 
labors. 



JOHN WILSON. 



John Wilson, pioneer merchant, founder of Portland's largest retail mercan- 
tile institution, scholar, book-lover, legislator, philanthropist, was a native of 
Ardee, County Louth, Ireland, where he was born June lo, 1826, the son of 
John and Joyscelind (Wynne) Wilson. His grandfather was John Wilson, 
whose ancestors were Scotch Presbyterians, who emigrated to Ireland early in 
the seventeenth century. The mother was the daughter of Robert Wynne, whose 
family were extensive English landowners. 

John Wilson enjoyed the privilege of a thorough educational training, his 
early plans being to enter the ministry. However, he determined on coming to 
America, arriving in California by way of Cape Horn in 1848. He soon went 
to the mines on the Tuolumne and Sacramento rivers, where he remained but a 
short time. Not meeting with success, he returned to San Francisco, where he 
was obliged to work for a time as a day laborer. Deciding to come to Oregon 
he took passage on the Ann Smith, arriving at the mouth of the Columbia river 
on the last day of the year but on account of severe weather was not able to 
cross the bar until January 5. Landing at Coffin Rock, he made his way on 
foot to Milton, where he found employment in a sawmill, where he continued for 
the following year and a half. 

In June, 1850, Mr. Wilson first came to Portland to purchase clothing but 
soon returned to Milton, where he was employed as clerk in a general mer- 
chandise store, selling goods, delivering lumber to the ships and looking after 
his employer's sawmill. He next went to St. Helens, where he clerked for a 
time, taking up his residence permanently in Portland in 1853. His first position 
was in the office of the Oregonian, where he kept the books, made out bills and 
attended to collections. He next entered the employ of Allen & Lewis, where he 
remained from 1854 to 1856. In the latter year he made his first independent 
business venture by purchasing the general store of Robert & Finley McLaren, 
which enterprise he conducted until 1858, when he entered into partnership 
with Wakefield & Company, under the firm name of Wilson, Wakefield & Com- 
pany, they occupying the first store built on First street. 

Mr. Wilson later purchased the Wakefield interests and continued the busi- 
ness alone. In 1870 he erected the first store on Third street south of Morrison, 
and two years later built a larger store a block north on the same street, where 
he continued until 1878, when he sold the business to Olds & King, founders of 
the present house of Olds, Wortman & King. Always an optimist as to Port- 
land's future, he had early invested in real estate, and after his retirement from 
mercantile interests devoted his time largely to the management and improve- 
ment of his realty holdings, building various business structures on his properties. 
Mr. Wilson was a republican from the time the party was organized and 
took an active interest in Oregon politics. He was elected to the state legislature 
in 1887, served on many important committees and took an especially active part 




JOHN \YILSON 



.I^'^J..*,.^ 



s /x?': i^^-'fi ':■ yHA 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 41 

in legislation looking to the improvement of the public schools. Deeply inter- 
ested in educational matters during his long service as school director, he left a 
lasting impress of his personality and did by his careful and intelligent labor 
much to bring them to their present high standard of efficiency. 

In 1 86 1 Mr. Wilson married Elizabeth Temperance Parker, a native of 
Michigan. They became the parents of five children: John P.; Lida J., the wife 
of William L. Jones ; Robert W. ; Alice M., the wife of Edward Caswell ; and 
George W. Among his associates John Wilson was considered a man of the 
best qualities in every sense of the word. Of the highest order of intellectual 
attainment, a man of classical education and splendid culture. During his en- 
tire life he was a great student and his mind was a veritable storehouse of learn- 
ing in every field of knowledge ; unswerving integrity was the keynote of his 
every day life. Of an unpretentious and retiring nature, he was most consid- 
erate to all, and quietly and without eflfort won the confidence and enduring 
friendship of those with whom he came in contact. With his intimate friends 
he disclosed more of the nobility of his nature but even there his innate modesty 
and his dislike of anything savoring of display had a tendency to hold in check 
his rich conversational powers that never failed to delight and interest those for- 
tunate enough to be his hearers. 

He was one of the type of men whom the world at large never knows inti- 
m,ately, one who does a great deal of thinking and a great deal of good, con- 
tributing to scores of charitable objects in an unostentatious way. To his em- 
ployes during his active business career he was a constant source of inspiration 
and to his careful training many of them owe their after business success. A 
great lover and enthusiastic collector of books, he gathered together the finest 
private library in Oregon, which he gave to the city's public library. 

His death occurred September 15, 1900. He lived to see the struggling vil- 
lage as he found it, grow to a splendid modern city of one hundred thousand 
people and had the satisfaction of knowing that he had contributed in no small 
degree to the transformation. His strict integrity, high ideals and sound com- 
mon sense were ever strong forces in the physical, moral and intellectual ad- 
vancement of the city. Few men were more widely known, none more highly 
respected, and the death of none has been more acutely felt or more sincerely 
mourned. Crowned with the honors of seventy-four years and a record of nearly 
a half century's residence here, he was freely accorded a place in the list of 
Portland's grand old men. 



FREEMAN H. PERKINS. 

In the northwest the spirit of activity is rife. There is opportunity to dare 
and to do. The natural resources of the country have by no means been utilized, 
and there comes to the individual the thrill of success as he improves his oppor- 
tunity and accomplishes a work that not only promotes his individual interests, 
but also adds to the sum total of development and progress in this region. The 
work of Freeman H. Perkins was of this character. During much of the period 
of his residence in the northwest he was connected with the lumber industry as 
the operator of a sawmill. His birth occurred in Allegany county. New York, 
on the 4th of November, 1835, and when quite young he lost his father. He 
attended school in Allegany county, his mother being his teacher, for follow- 
ing the death of her husband Mrs. Perkins took up that method of providing 
for the support of herself and children. 

In his early days Freeman H. Perkins became acquainted with the business 
of running a sawmill, for his father had owned such a mill, and thus in early 
life the son gained practical working knowledge of its operation. He followed 
the lumber business throughout his entire life and when but twenty years of 



42 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

age changed the scene of his activities from New York to Wisconsin, locating 
on the Eau Claire river, where he owned and conducted a sawmill. There he 
resided until 1870, when he came to Portland, arriving in this city on the loth of 
December. He came to the northwest for the purpose of engaging in the lum- 
ber business, and after remaining in Portland for a short time built a sawmill 
on Lewis river in Clarke county, and took up his abode at that place. There he 
remained for five years, at the end of which time he sold out and removed to a 
point below the Cowlitz river, where he had a floating mill. In 1878 he returned 
to Portland and opened a planing mill on First street at the corner of Clay, con- 
ducting the industry for about three years, when his lease on the property ex- 
pired and he removed to the east side, there building a mill which he afterward 
sold to James McClure. Having disposed of his interests in Portland, Mr. Per- 
kins went to Alaska and engaged in the lumber business, and while there passed 
away 

He had been married in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, on the lOth of February, 
1858, to Miss Amanda M. Bills, a daughter of Erastus and Roxie Bills. She 
was bom in Canada and by her marriage became the mother for four children. 
Curtis H., the eldest, married Martha Matson and at his death, which occurred 
February 18, 1890, when he was twenty-nine years of age, left three children, 
Charles Edgar, Lucy M. and Nellie C. Clara E. is the wife of /Wait Lancaster, 
of Oregon, and they have three children : Otis Walter, Roy P. and Tessie, and of 
these Roy is married and has a daughter Corrinna — a great-grandchild of Mrs. 
Perkins. Qiester P., living in Portland, married Bertha Kincaid and they have 
two children, Gladys and Lloyd. Cora May became the wife of Dr. Willard A. 
Roberts, and died January 11, 1900. 

Mr. Perkins was a great lover of home and found his happiness in providing 
for the welfare and comfort of his wife and children. He was a very temper- 
ate man, never using tobacco nor intoxicants, and his life was at all times 
actuated by high and honorable principles which gained for him the respect of 
his fellowmen and made him a character worthy of emulation. 



JOHN S. KOCHER. 

The construction interests of Portland find a worthy and well known repre- 
sentative in John S. Kocher, who since 1879 has lived in this city where he is 
now engaged successfully in business as a contractor in brickmason work and 
plastering. He was born in Newark, New Jersey, February 6, 1852, the son of 
John and Elizabeth Kocher. The father was a carpenter by trade and a vet- 
eran of the Civil war, who after the outbreak of hostilities, put aside all busi- 
ness and personal considerations in order to espouse the cause of the Union and 
aid in the supremacy of the national government. He died on the 19th of May, 
1879, at Newark, New Jersey. 

John S. Kocher, who was one of a family of six children, acquired his edu- 
cation in the schools of his native city and afterward learned the trades of a 
brick and stonemason and plasterer under the direction of John M. Jacobus, 
with whom he served a four years' apprenticeship. He became a proficient work- 
man and when about twenty-three years of age left home to seek business oppor- 
tunities in the west, taking up his abode in Virginia City, Nevada, in 1875. 
He worked as a journeyman there for about eighteen months and then con- 
tinued on his westward way until he reached Napa, California, where he also 
remained for a year and a half, working at his trade. Portland seemed to him, 
however, a more advantageous field and in 1879 he came to this city which had 
entered upon an era of substantial and rapid growth. He at once began con- 
tracting and has since been closely identified with industrial activity here. In 
association with M. E. Freeman he had the contract for the Dekum building, 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 43 

and also the Hibernian building on Sixth and Washington streets. The partner- 
ship with Mr. Freeman continued for about twenty years, during which period- 
they made substantial progress reaching a position among the foremost con- 
tractors in their line in the city. Mr. Kocher also erected the buildings at the 
northeast corner of Grand avenue and Stark street and the southwest corner of 
Union avenue and Burnside, and in 1881 had the plastering contract for the state 
asylum at Salem. He has done considerable work at The Dalles at intervals 
through the past twenty-five years for French & Company, and has also been 
awarded many contracts for work at Pendleton, Oregon. In 1896 he went to 
The Dalles, where he erected the high school building and also the large brick 
block for Max Vogt. He likewise built a three story structure for Robert Mays, 
who was a well known pioneer settler of eastern Oregon. The water works at 
Shaniko, Oregon, are a monument to his enterprise and ability in his chosen 
field of labor. While he was operating quite extensively at The Dalles he main- 
tained his residence there for six years or until 1902, when he returned to Port- 
land, where he has since carried on a general contracting business. 

In 1901 Mr. Kocher was married to Mrs. Adelaide Shown, a daughter of 
Claude Fety and a native of New York. Mr. Kocher has pleasant membership 
relations with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order 
of United Workmen, and his political endorsement is given to the republican 
party, which he has supported since age conferred upon him the right of fran- 
chise. His nature is social, his manner genial, and during the period of his resi- 
dence in Portland he has gained many warm friends. 



ADOLPH BURCKHARDT. 

Adolph Burckhardt, who at the time of his death was actively connected with 
the Union Meat Company of Portland, controlling an extensive business, was 
bom at Giessen, Germany, July 30, 1839. His parents were Sebastian and 
Minnie Burckhardt, and the father was engaged in the hardware business at the 
time of his death. Both he and his wife passed away when their son Adolph 
was very young. The boy, thus left an orphan, attended school in his native 
town until he came to America, crossing the Atlantic when still but a youth. He 
landed at New York and thence went to New Britain, Connecticut, where he 
had brothers living. He remained in the east for about a year, after which he 
came to Portland, influenced in his choice of a destination by the fact that his 
brother, C. A. Burckhardt, was a resident here. Adolph Burckhardt made the 
journey by the water route and the isthmus of Panama, and reached Oregon 
on the 24th of March, 1863. Here he began work at his trade, securing em- 
ployment with Mr. Gantz, who was in the meat business, but after a little time 
Mr. Burckhardt opened a meat market on his own account. His first location 
was at the corner of First and Ash streets, but subsequently he joined Mr. May 
in the wholesale meat business. With the growth of the city and the develop- 
ment of the possibilities of trade they had opportunity for an enlarged scope and 
joined Mr. Spaulding and Mr. Papworth in organizing the American Dressed 
Meat Company. Later they organized the Union Meat Company, admitting the 
O'Shea brothers to an interest in the business. Mr. Burckhardt was connected 
therewith up to the time of his death, holding the office of treasurer of the com- 
pany and also that of director. The business has been developed along substan- 
tial lines and has enjoyed a rapid growth, becoming one of the important indus- 
tries of this character on the coast. 

On the i2th of August, 1866, in Portland, occurred the marriage of Mr. 
Burckhardt and Miss Amelia Logus, a daughter of Christopher and Judith Logus, 
who were natives of Germany, where they spent their entire lives, the father 
being there engaged in the meat business. Mrs. Burckhardt was born in Ger- 



44 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

many and in the year 1864 came to the United States, making her way at once 
to Portland, where she had two brothers and a sister Hving. The latter is Mrs. 
Henrietta Wentz, still a resident of Portland. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Burckhardt 
were born five children : Charles A., of this city, who wedded Anna Williams and 
has one daughter, Nan ; Bertha, the wife of J. C. Meussdorffer, of San Fran- 
cisco ; F. O., who married Louise Lowe and lives in Portland ; Lena A. and Anna 
H., both at home. 

Mr. Burckhardt was called to his final rest on the i8th of November, 1905, 
and his remains were interred in Lone Fir cemetery. He was a member of the 
Odd Fellows society, was piesident of the Benevolent Fire Insurance Company, 
president of the German Aid Society and a member of the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen and of the German Reformed church. 

His life was an active one. He studied how to make the best use of every 
moment and as the year passed by he accomplished substantial results in busi- 
ness, nor was he unmindful of his duties and obligations to his fellowmen.. He 
certainly deserves much credit for what he accomplished for he came to the 
United States empty-handed and was obliged to depend upon his own labor for 
whatever he obtained. His life record proves that energy constitutes the key 
that unlocks the portals of success and his life history also illustrates the fact 
that prosperity and an honored name may be won simultaneously. 



REV. JOHN FLINN. 



Rev. John Flinn, a retired Methodist minister living in Portland, has been 
a resident of the Pacific northwest for over sixty years — years in which he has 
made valuable contribution to the growth and progress of this section, not to 
that growth which marks the material development but to that which uplifts 
man in a recognition that character-building is worth more than aught else. Be- 
lieving with Lincoln that "There is something better than making a living — 
making a life," — he has put forth earnest and effective effort to awaken in his 
fellowmen a desire for that which is uplifting and has permanent value. A 
native of Ireland, he was born in Queens county, March 26, 1817, his parents 
being Timothy and Mary (Patterson) Flinn, both of whom spent their entire 
lives in Queens county and were members of the Church of England. The 
father was a farmer by occupation and engaged in the cultivation of a rented 
farm of one hundred and ten acres. 

Rev. John Flinn was the third in a family of eight children, four sons and 
four daughters. He attended school in Queens county and also the high school 
which was conducted by the Quakers. He afterward spent three years as an 
apprentice to a wholesale and retail dry-goods merchant, and when twenty- 
three years of age started for America, landing at New York. This was for 
him the termination of a voyage of about thirty days, during which a terrific 
storm had been encountered, and on its next voyage the Garrick, the ship on 
which he sailed, was lost. He had no friends or relatives in this country but 
regarded America as the land of opportunity and after a brief period spent in 
New York went to St. Johns, New Brunswick. He had been a resident there 
for only a brief period when he attended a class meeting of the Methodist 
church and about the same time met a Mr. Sammon, who told Mr. Flinn that 
he ought to be a preacher. He had never seen Mr. Sammon before. Soon 
afterward he was asked by Rev. Samuel D. Rice, who later became a bishop, 
to fill the place of a preacher who had been taken ill. The church was at St. 
Andrews, about sixty miles from St. Johns. Mr. Flinn said that he would do 
the best he could and the Rev. Rice then took him in his sleigh to St. Andrews 
and found a boarding place for him with Mrs. Johnson. Rev. Rice then re- 
turned home and on the next Sianday Mr. Flinn preached his first sermon be- 




JOHN FLTNN 



•-ii— 5St::-^,^ 






j^f-rf-t-:, 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 47 

fore a large congregation of educated people. This was in 1840. That he had 
a message to deliver and delivered it well is indicated by the fact that he re- 
mained as minister at St. Andrews all that winter and the next year obtained 
an appointment through the conference, being given a church on the St. Johns 
river, while later he served as minister in a number of places in that confer- 
ence. But the climate of New Brunswick was exceedingly cold in winter and 
in traveling around Mr. Flinn was exposed to much of the severe weather. Ac- 
cordingly for four years he was connected with a wholesale and retail dry- 
goods store at St. Johns until 1848. 

In that year Mr. Flinn went to Portland, Maine, where he met a friend. 
Rev. William McDonald, who suggested that Mr. Flinn leave business and re- 
turn to the ministry. He did so and joined the Maine conference, of which 
he was a member until 1849. He was then ordained a deacon by Bishop Mor- 
ris and the same spring volunteered as a missionary to Oregon with Dr. Ban- 
nister, the Rev. F. S. Hoyt, D. D., who later, became the president of the Wil- 
lamette University, and others. They left New York for Oregon in Septem- 
ber, 1850, went by steamer, the Arabia, crossed the isthmus of Panama and then 
boarded a ship called the Oregon. This ship carried the news to San Fran- 
cisco that California had been admitted to the Union as a state. They entered 
the harbor with all flags flying and there was great excitement in the city. Mr. 
Flinn had crossed the isthmus on foot and had an attack of Panama fever. 
This forced him to remain in San Francisco for a few days, after which he 
again boarded the Oregon which bore him safely to Astoria, where he arrived 
about thirty days after leaving New York. There was a great crowd of miners 
at Astoria returning from California with gold, and as no room or bed could 
be secured Mr. Flinn had to sleep under a table in the hotel. The next day he 
started for Portland on the steamboat Columbia with one hundred and three 
passengers. They left on Friday at 4 P. M. and did not reach their destination 
until Saturday at 10 P. M. Mr. Flinn had only one meal on that boat but con- 
sidered himself very lucky to get that because the dining room accommodations 
were entirely inadequate to the great crowd. The passengers were landed near 
Taylor street and Mr. Flinn had now reached the end of his journey, which 
had cost him four hundred and twenty dollars. The passage from New York 
to San Francisco was three hundred, from San Francisco to Astoria one hun- 
dred, and twenty from Astoria to Portland. Mr. Flinn took his baggage and 
made his way to the home of Rev. James H. Wilbur, who was building the first 
Methodist church at Third and Taylor streets. A part of the family had re- 
tired for the night, but Mrs. Wilbur arose and prepared supper for Mr. Flinn 
and his two companions. They remained there all night and were up early the 
next morning, Sunday. Mr. Flinn went to the door and looked out upon the 
woods, for the forest was all around him. There was only one store and that 
was kept by Joseph Smith. The town contained about two hundred and fifty 
people and Mr. Flinn felt very lonely to see nothing around but the unbroken 
wilderness. The great pine or fir trees towered above him and he said that the 
soughing of the wind often had a homesick sound. That forenoon at 11 
o'clock, Mr. Flinn and the party that came with him, together with Mr. and 
Mrs. Wilbur, went to a small schoolhouse where services were to be held. The 
Rev. Mr. Lyman, a Congregational minister, who was engaged in building a 
church, was the preacher. The congregation were all sitting around the sides 
of the room, there being no benches in the center of the floor. Just as the min- 
ister reached an important part of his sermon there was a terrible noise and 
the center of the floor started to rise. Hogs had gotten under it and had become 
engaged in a fight and in their struggle they raised the loosely joined boards 
of the floor. Thomas Drier, who later founded the Oregonian, was present at 
the service and his sense of humor soon got beyond control. At length how- 
ever, the hogs quieted down and the meeting proceeded. That evening the 
Rev. Joseph H. Wilbur addressed the congregation and on the next Sunday 



48 . THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. Flinn delivered his sermon. He remained in Portland with Mr. Wilbur as 
assistant or second preacher and the work of moral reclamation was earnestly 
prosecuted. Rev. Wilbur was a most earnest and zealous worker and built the 
first Methodist Episcopal church in Portland. He would go out among the 
gamblers and others every Saturday to collect money to pay the men working 
on the church, and his influence was such that he never failed to gain a ready 
response, for men of every class respected him and admired him for his earnest- 
ness. 

Rev. Flinn devoted his time to preaching and Christian work. He was 
then appointed to the Yamhill circuit and, starting on foot in mid-winter, 
walked to Oregon City, where he spent the night with the Rev. James O. Ray- 
nor, a Methodist minister. The next morning, Christmas day, he resumed his 
journey, proceeding as far as the old Methodist mission nine miles from Salem. 
There he partook of Christmas supper, with Mr. Beers, who had charge of 
the mission, and after being there entertained for the night, he started on the 
following day for Salem. Sunday was passed at the home of the Rev. Will- 
iam Roberts. Rev. Flinn purchased a horse in Salem and started on his cir- 
cuit, which embraced three counties, Yamhill, Polk and Multnomah. He re- 
mained on that circuit for about two years and has continued in Oregon and 
Washington in the work of the gospel ministry. Indeed he has traveled all 
over this section of the country from Walla Walla to Jacksonville and from 
LeGrand to Yakima. He was presiding elder for about five years and on his 
trips encountered many hardships and difficulties, for the roads were often in 
poor condition and at one time he and his horse were compelled to swim the 
Columbia. He was for forty-seven years engaged in circuit work with pas- 
torates at various places, and his labors were resultant factors in the material 
progress of the state. 

On the I2th of August, 1856, Mr. Flinn was united in marriage at Umpqua 
Academy by the Rev. J. H. Wilbur, to Miss Mary E. Royal, a native of Bloom- 
ington, Illinois, and a daughter of Rev. William and Barbara Royal, who were 
pioneer people of Oregon, her father building the first Methodist church on the 
east side. Unto Rev. and Mrs. Flinn were born eight children, six of whom are 
still living and five are married. 

Rev. Flinn is now ninety-three years of age and is enjoying good health and 
unimpaired mental powers. His journeys over the state, in connection with 
his work in the church, have made him one of the most widely known men of 
this section, and few if any are more familiar with the history of Oregon and 
her development. He has always had the "saving sense of humor," which has 
helped him over many a hard place in the pioneer times when long and difficult 
trips were to be made and few of the comforts of life were to be secured. His 
earnest devotion to his work is manifest in the excellent results which followed 
his services as he proclaimed the truths of the gospel, and his life has indeed 
been a strong element for good — a factor in the higher civilization which is 
making the world better year by year. 



FRANK S. HALLOCK. 



Frank S. Hallock, a general building contractor of Portland, who learned 
his trade and has always followed it in this city, was born in Fredonia, Kansas, 
May 12, 1879. He was but four years of age when his parents, Alonzo and 
Sarah (Armstrong) Hallock, who were natives of Iowa, left their home in 
Kansas and started on the long and arduous journey across the plains to Oregon. 
They traveled in wagons drawn by mules. Prairies, arid plains and mountains 
were at length crossed, and the family arrived in eastern Oregon, establishing 
their home in Arlington, where they remained for seven years. The father was 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 49 

a farmer by occupation, and continued to engage in general agricultural pur- 
suits until about twenty years ago, when he came to Portland and took up the 
business of grading and general contract work. It was about 1890 that Frank 
S. Hallock became a resident of Portland, and in the public schools of this city 
his education was largely acquired. He afterward began learning the builders 
trade in this city, and since starting in business as a contractor on his own 
account he has made gratifying and substantial progress, being numbered now 
among the successful men in his line in Portland. He has erected many of the 
fine residences on the east side and also large apartment buildings, including the 
Watson at the corner of Everett and Twenty-second streets. He was likewise 
the builder of the Lewis block, a concrete and brick structure at Monta Villa, 
also the theatre in Monta Villa, and the homes of W. B. Buell, N. W. Bowlan 
and C. N. Prood. These buildings indicated his progressive ideas and modern 
methods. He is an interested and constant student of all that bears upon his 
chosen life work, and his buildings show attractive styles of architecture which 
combine convenience, utility and beauty. 

In 1898 Mr. Hallock was married to Miss Bertha L. Rogers, a daughter 
of G. W., and Rochalette Rogers, who were early settlers of Yamhill county, 
having made their way to Oregon during the pioneer period in the development 
of this state. Unto A'Ir. and Mrs. Hallock have been born two children: Vernon, 
eight years of age, now attending school ; and Bertha Grace, five years of age. 

Mrs. Hallock belongs to the Adventist church, Mr. Hallock holds mem- 
bership with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and at election proves 
his advocacy of republican principles by the support of the candidates of that 
party. Almost his entire life has been spent in Oregon, and during the period 
of his residence in Portland he has largely been connected with industrial in- 
terests which have given impetus to the growth and improvement of the city. 



ADAM H. BISCAR. 



Among Portland's retired citizens Adam H. Biscar is numbered. Through 
an active life he was connected with the wire industry and with farming, and 
his close application thereto and good business ability brought him the capital 
that now enables him to rest from labor. A native of Austria-Hungary, he was 
born June 7, 1854, unto Henry and Mary Biscar, both of whom spent their 
entire lives in Hungary, where the father engaged in horticultural pursuits. 
The son attended the public schools there and after completing his education 
learned the trade of wire-making in Germany. In 1875 ^^ came alone to Amer- 
ica, landing at Baltimore, where he was employed for three months. On the 
expiration of that period he removed to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he en- 
gaged in peddling tinware for two weeks. From that point he proceeded to 
New Orleans, spending three years in the Crescent city, after which he lived 
for a brief period in St. Louis and later made his way to San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia. During all this time he was connected with the wire-making industry. 
He resided in San Francisco for nine years, and twenty-one years ago came 
to Portland. For two years he resided upon a farm in Oregon, taking up a 
homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Washington county, which he still 
owns. Most of the time, however, he has followed the wire-making business in 
Portland and to his thorough knowledge of the trade and expert workmanship 
may be attributed the success which he has reached. He has ever led a busy 
life, and his prosperity is the merited reward of his labor. 

In 1881 Mr. Biscar was united in marriage to Miss Mardie Kettler, who 
died in San Francisco in 1886. Their only child, a son, died when about three 
months old, and the mother passed away three months later. On the 6th of 
September, 1887, in San Francisco, Mr. Biscar married Miss Anna Mastreet, 



50 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

who was also a native of Austria-Hungary, and came to America, August 20, 
1886. Both Mr. and Mrs. Biscar are members of the Catholic church. He has 
never had cause to regret his determination to come to the United States, for 
he was prompted to emigrate by the hope of enjoying better business opportuni- 
ties in the new world. These he has found here where higher wages are paid 
for labor, and as the years have gone by his industry has brought him a sub- 
stantial competence. 



WILLIAM WICK COTTON. 

Portland, as the metropolis of a wonderfully productive and flourishing 
region in an ideal location on the Pacific coast for commercial purposes, has 
attracted many important interests and is a railroad center of constantly grow- 
ing importance. Here the great railways maintain their headquarters and here 
are to be found transportation, traffic and legal officials whose jurisdiction ex- 
tends over a wide territory and who are given large powers in expediting the 
business of the various roads. Among the men closely identified with the 
legal department of great lines is William W. Cotton, who is attorney and sec- 
cretary of the Oregon Railroad and Navigation Company. For many years 
he has been a prominent factor in railway litigation of the northwest and by 
his energy and efficiency has attained recognition which is accorded only through 
years of faithful and capable service. 

Mr. Cotton is a native of Iowa and was born at Lyons, December 13, 1859. 
He is a son of Aylefif R. and Laura Cotton. He received his preliminary educa- 
tion from his mother after which he graduated from the Pennsylvania State 
Normal School at Millersville, Pennsylvania, and matriculated in the law school 
of Columbia University, New York, from which he was graduated in 1882. He 
was an apt student and after several years of practical application of the les- 
sons which he had learned under some of the greatest instructors of the coun- 
try, he became, in 1888, assistant to the general solicitor of the Union Pacific 
Railway Company, at Omaha, Nebraska. In 1889 he came to Portland as gen- 
eral attorney for the Portland Division of the Union Pacific Railway Company 
and when the line passed into the control of the Oregon Railroad and Naviga- 
tion Company, he became connected with the latter organization. He early 
gained recognition on the Pacific coast as a brilliant lawyer and in 1901 he was 
appointed as an associate of Judge C. B. Bellinger, of the United States Dis- 
trict Court, to prepare a new edition of the laws and codes of Oregon, which 
duty he discharged with marked ability and fidelity. 

On August 29, 1888, Mr. Cotton was happily married, the lady of his choice 
being Miss Fannie C. Collingwood, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Mr. Cotton 
has been actively connected with corporation litigation ever since he began his 
professional career and is known as a lawyer of strong personality who is 
always able to present a reason for any legal proposition he advances and 
who never gives up a cause until the court of last resort has rendered a final 
decree. He is a clear and logical thinker and a good speaker and has a knowl- 
edge of law possessed only by those who burn the "midnight oil" and who 
spare no labor or pains in the quest of law or authorities covering the point 
at issue. In certain departments of the law Mr. Cotton is regarded as a specialist. 
He is one of the best informed lawyers of the state as to the statutes, state or 
federal, relating to railway corporations. From intimate connection with the 
Oregon Railroad and Navigation Company, he has gained an amount of informa- 
tion pertaining to those lines that is of great benefit to the companies he rep- 
resents. 

Mr. Cotton is well known in club circles and is a member of the principal 
clubs of the city, including the Arlington, Commercial, University and Waverly 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 51 

Golf Clubs. In politics he is in sympathy with the republican party but he has 
not figured prominently in political affairs, as his attention is mainly devoted 
to intricate legal problems that require a great deal of time and attention. He 
is a gentleman of pleasing manner and of wide information on public ques- 
tions, especially those affecting the Pacific coast, and from the time of his 
arrival in Portland has heartily responded in advancing any interest than re- 
dounded to the benefit of Portland or the Columbia river region. 



P. B. SINNOTT. 



It seems a far distant period from the present back to the time of the boy- 
hood of P. B. Sinnott, who is now eighty-one years of age. And indeed through 
this period many important chapters of history have been written and in the 
northwest Mr. Sinnott has taken an active and helpful part in shaping the 
records of this region. His birth occurred in Wexford county, Ireland, May 
29, 1829, his parents being Nicholas and Mary Sinnott, who spent their entire 
lives on the Emerald isle. In that country P. B. Sinnott attended school and it 
was his intention to enter St. Peter's College but events shaped his life other- 
wise. 

He left Ireland in 1848 when nineteen years of age, crossing the Atlantic to 
New York, where he arrived after a voyage of six weeks and two days. He 
secured a position in the wholesale grocery store of Stillwell, Brown & Com- 
pany, of New York, at a salary of ten dollars per month and board, but had 
been in their employ for only a short time when two Chicago men went there 
to buy goods. They offered Mr. Sinnott a position at higher wages and he ac- 
companied them to the middle west, the trip being made by way of the Great 
Lakes. However, after reaching Chicago he did not see much opportunity for 
advancement there and wrote to a steamship company in New York to get 
information concerning their rates to California. He found that he had enough 
money to make the trip and accordingly he journeyed by way of the Panama 
route. He was twenty-eight days in reaching his destination. Landing at San 
Francisco he went up the river to Sacramento, and soon afterward began mining 
in that vicinity, remaining there until 1861. Unlike others, he met with good 
success in his search for the precious metal. He then took a trip to the east 
where he met his brother, N. B. Sinnott, who was then a clerk in a hotel in 
Peoria, Illinois. His brother returned with P. B. Sinnott to the coast and they 
purchased the Columbia Hotel at the corner of Washington and Front streets, 
in Portland, conducting the hotel with success until the building was torn down. 
At that time P. B. Sinnott was offered the position of Indian agent for this 
section and for sixteen years thereafter filled the same most acceptably, being 
appointed four times. He had previously had practical experience with Indians 
for he had taken part in the Rogue River war. He was at that time engaged in 
mining but to defend his life and his interests was compelled to fight, and in 
fact was forced to leave the district, owing to the hostility of the redmen. In 
his position as Indian agent he discharged his duties capably, promptly and effi- 
ciently, and on his retirement from that office occupied a position as deputy in 
the United States marshal office for four years. He then turned his attention 
to the real-estate business which he followed with success, and he is still the 
owner of considerable property here which is the visible evidence of his life of 
enterprise, his judicious investment and his sound judgment in business affairs. 

On the 28th of August, 1864, in Portland, P. B. Sinnott was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Bridget Moran, whose parents died in Ireland. Mrs. Sinnott 
came to the United States when about eighteen years of age and by her mar- 
riage became the mother of five children : Nicholas, now deceased ; James, 
an attorney, who was graduated from St. Mary's College at San Francisco and 



52 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

has now passed away ; William D., formerly an attorney but now a real-estate 
man, who married Mollie Murphy ; Frank, who is in partnership with his brother 
William and married Anna Wertz, by whom he has three children, Francis, 
Flavia and Robert P. ; and Mary F., who is the widow of John T. McDonald 
and has four children, Joseph M., Edward, Meriam L. and Flavia. Mr. Sinnott 
gave his children excellent educational opportunities, all having graduated from 
St. Mary's College at San Francisco. 

Mrs. Sinnott was born in county Donegal, Ireland, and came to Portland a 
half century ago by water. Mr. Sinnott was one of the early members of the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians and he and his family are all communicants of 
the Catholic church. His political allegiance is given to the republican party. 
Few men of his years keep so closely in touch with the spirit of the times and 
the questions and issues of the day as does Mr. Sinnott — a well preserved man 
of eighty years, whose life has been an active and useful one. His public serv- 
ice has been characterized by the utmost loyalty and his business affairs have at 
all times been conducted with absolute regard for the rights of others. 



ABIGAIL SCOTT DUNIWAY. 

PERSONAL REMINISCENCES OF A PIONEER. 

The ancestral Bible of the Scott family records that I was born October 
22, 1834. My honored father, John Tucker Scott, born in Kentucky, in 1809, 
of Scotch-Irish and English parentage, and my beloved mother, Ann Roelof- 
son, born in 181 1, of German, French and English stock, imparted to their old- 
fashioned Illinois family of a dozen sons and daughters, the combined rugged- 
ness and elasticity of physique and temperament which the hardships and pri- 
vations of pioneer life strengthened in a marked degree in some of us, and 
so weakened the constitutions of others that half of us died in infancy or 
youth, and the remainder lived, or are living, to a ripe old age. 

Of this family the writer hereof was the third, born in a humble border 
cabin home, on the fourth anniversary of a (not in those days unusually) fruit- 
ful marriage; although my mother once informed me, in after years, that my 
father was cross, and she herself had wept bitterly, because I was a girl. Their 
first born, a boy, had died in infancy, bringing them their first great sorrow ; 
and the second, being a daughter, was a serious disappointment to both parents, 
while I, who had the temerity to follow her as to sex, was a grievance, almost 
too burdensome to be borne. 

The first home of my grandfather Scott, bearing any semblance to preten- 
sion, was built during my first year of bodily existence ; and my grandmother 
Roelofson, having broken her leg in a fall and in the absence of proper surgery, 
being a cripple ever after, the household burdens of two ancestral border 
homes fell upon my faithful mother, who once told me sadly, that I sat on the 
floor during my first summer, complaining and neglected, soothed only by a 
piece of bacon, attached by a string to a bed-post, or a loom stanchion, until I 
would fall asleep from exhaustion, a prey to numerous house flies. 

My first task, as I remember it, was washing dishes while standing on a 
chair to reach the table ; my next was a seemingly overwhelming job of paring, 
quartering, coring and stringing apples, in long festoons for drying. Then fol- 
lowed the sleep-urging monotony of picking wool by hand ; and after this 
came the spinning wheel, of which my elder sister and I became expert manipu- 
lators. 

In the springtime, as I grew older, came always the work of the maple 
sugar camp, and after that, corn planting ; then followed hoeing corn and po- 
tatoes. Milking the cows morning and evening was a regular duty, and I often 
wielded the dasher of an old-fashioned churn, while always, in emergencies, 
it fell to my lot to assist my late lamented brother, Harvey W. Scott, to chop. 




ABIGAIL SCOTT DUXIWAY 



V \ ,■' . ;■. 









THE CITY OF PORTLAND 55 

gather and drag the dead limbs that fell annually from the great maple, hickory 
and Walnut trees in the beautiful forest which my grandmother Scott had 
christened Pleasant Grove, a title it carries to this day. 

As the years sped on I grew rapidly into a tall, spindling and awkward child, 
and was often ill on account of performing tasks for which my rapid growth 
ought to have excused an undeveloped daughter. It was at this time, and for 
long afterwards, the general belief among grown-ups, that no child was in 
danger or injury from overwork, an almost fatal misconception of a fact in 
my case, as the re-sodding of a blue grass lawn at the age of nine, after a hard 
winter, gave me a chronic weakness of the spine which will never cease to ache 
till after I leave the body for good and all. 

Having become an overgrown though weakly young girl, I was unable to 
receive even the meager advantages for schooling that were accorded to the 
more rugged members of our household ; and such learning as I got consisted 
chiefly of a five months' term in an apology for an academy in Stout's Grove, 
a rustic village in the heart of Illinois near what is now the town of Danvers. 

Early in the spring of 1852, my father, having caught the "Oregon fever," 
sold his possessions in Illinois and started with his family and a long line of 
covered wagons, drawn by teams of oxen, to this land of the setting sun. The 
limits of this narrative preclude further details of that perilous journey, fur- 
ther than to say that of the many who perished by the wayside in that event- 
ful year, lingers longest and tenderest the memory of our faithful, gentle and 
self-sacrificing mother, whom we laid away, for the eternal sleep of the body, 
in the solemn fastnesses of the Black Hills, then known as a mighty section of 
"Mandan District," which is now a part of the great sovereign state of Wyom- 
ing. The silent snows of many winters have rested long upon the sacred spot 
wherein we laid her precious dust, but I cannot write any more about it now; 
nor can I hardly see, through tears, to read what has been written. 

After completing our journey of six tedious months across the almost un- 
tracked continent, the still large remnant of my father's family settled for the 
winter of 1852-3 in the village of La Fayette, Oregon territory, at that time the 
county seat of Yamhill county, where, after the lapse of several months, through 
most of which I was employed in teaching a district school in a Polk county 
village, bearing the ambitious title of Cincinnati, since changed to Eola. Here 
surrounded by a beautiful, undulating valley, a few miles west of Salem, Ore- 
gon's thriving capital city, though still a child in my "teens," I met my matri- 
monial fate in the person of an honest young rancher and stockman, Mr. Ben 
C. Duniway, who conveyed me to his donation land claim in the wilds of Clack- 
amas county, a dozen miles from Oregon City, where I spent four years of 
a difficult struggle with the (to me) uncongenial hardships of a back-woods 
farm. My husband, who had been a bachelor before taking me to his ranch, 
was the envied center of a group of about a dozen unmarried fellow ranch- 
men ; and nothing delighted him more than to mobilize them at meal time at our 
cabin home in the wilderness, where it fell to my lot, whether the babies or I 
were well or ill, to feed the crowd to repletion, as is the habit of most wives 
and mothers of the frontier settlements unto this day. 

Passmg over the four years of farm life spent in Clackamas county and 
five years in Yamhill county, which had made me a physical wreck while yet 
in my "twenties," I was, as I now believe, providentially relieved by the re- 
sults of a security debt, incurred by my husband, but for which I should doubt- 
less, have long ago succumbed, as my dear mother and one sweet sister had 
done, to hardships unimagined by women of other and more modern modes of 
home-keeping, which many younger women of today enjoy, who little heed the 
changes that time and advancing civilization have wrought to their relief, 
through public efforts like mine, else none could be found who would seek to 
hinder the service of love for all humanity which alone nerved me to endure 



56 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the martrydom of ridicule, misrepresentation and even ostracism of which I was 
the victim in the early years of my lonely struggle for the equal rights for the 
mothers of the race which has since become a world-wide movement. 

I was not a willing convert to belief in equal rights for women. Blessed 
with a kind father and a sober, upright husband, I grew up from childhood 
imbued with the teaching that it was a woman's lot to engage in a lifetime of 
unpaid servitude and personal sacrifice; and, whether occupied with the wash 
tub, the churn dash, the cook stove, the kitchen sink, the mop handle, my own 
often infirmities or those of the ailing baby or older children, I schooled myself 
to imagine that I was filling my Heaven-appointed sphere, for which final recom- 
pense awaited me in the land of souls. 

As all history when once recorded, becomes practically a repetition of sa- 
lient facts, I will now chronicle some reminiscences from my chapter in Mary 
Osborn Douthit's remarkable book, "The Souvenir of Western Women," which 
has not been circulated generally because the lady's untimely death ended her 
earthly career on the threshold of its literary usefulness. 

Like the man or woman of ante-bellum days who was ready at all times to 
assist a runaway slave to gain his freedom, but failed to comprehend the causes 
underlying his predicament, I for many years contented myself with the be- 
stowal of unstinted sympathy upon women who were not in a position to speak 
in their own defense. But as the years went on, and I grew in wisdom, I could 
not help realizing that the women whose husbands would sell our butter and 
eggs, pigs, chickens and dried berries, to assist in the payment of taxes, in the 
distribution of which we had no voice, were being "taxed without representa- 
tion and governed without consent." After leaving the farm and becoming a 
school teacher — a change made necessary by an accident that befell my good 
husband in the early '60s — we settled in the town of La Fayette, where for three 
consecutive years (or until I became a tolerable scholar myself) I gave up the 
double occupation of teacher and boarding-house keeper, and we removed to 
Albany-on-the-Willamette. Here, after another year only of teaching (with- 
out the boarders) I embarked in trade. Prior to that time I had been brought 
into contact chiefly with the women of the farms. As it was during the six 
strenuous years that I spent in trade that I learned the absolute need of wom- 
an's full and free enfranchisement, I will, by way of illustration, relate as 
briefly as possible a few of the incidents that gradually awakened my under- 
standing. 

One day, late in the '60s, while I was busy in the work-room of my little 
store, engaged in making some fashionable millinery for an estimable woman, 
who, having married or inherited a competence, thought all other women ought 
to be content with their lot, a faded little over-worked mother of half a dozen 
children came to me in sore distress, saying that her husband had sold their 
household stufi: and departed for parts unknown. Then she told me of a family 
about to leave the town who would sell her a lot of furniture and rent her their 
house at a reasonable figure. "If I could borrow the money in a lump sum," 
she said, "I could repay it in installments." "Then," she added, between sobs, 
"I could keep my children together, with the aid of a few boarders." After 
she had left the store, and while I was inwardly fuming over my inability to 
assist her, a well-to-do and charitable man dropped in on a little errand, to 
whom I related her story. "Fll loan her the money," he said heartily. "She 
t:an give me a chattel mortgage on the furniture." I gladly arranged a meet- 
ing between the parties ; the exchange was made, and all was going well with 
the weary woman, when, one day, the husband returned as suddenly as he had 
departed, and, by repudiating the wife's note and mortgage, the sovereign citi- 
zen and law-making husband nullified the transaction and maintained the maj- 
esty of the law. It is needless to add that my philanthropic friend lost his 
money and became a forceful advocate of equal rights for women ever after. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 57 

Another and later case was that of a woman in another county, whom I 
had long supplied with millinery and notions, on sixty days' credit, to sup- 
port a little shop, in which she managed to earn an honorable livelihood for 
her growing family. Her husband, a well meaning but irresponsible fellow, 
noted chiefly for poverty and children, was only one of the "unlucky" heads 
of families everybody knows, whose wife must make the living — if there is 
any. One springtime, after I had concluded that this man's faithful and thrifty 
spouse had become sufficiently established to warrant the risk, I sold her a fine 
stock of millinery on credit. Her business opened with unusual promise, when, 
one day a stranger to her, who held a judgment against her husband on an old 
note and mortgage (given prior to their marriage without her knowledge and 
renewed annually), came into the town, employed an attorney, attached her 
stock and closed her business. That was more than forty years ago, and I 
still hold the woman's note for that stock of millinery. 

Prior to the year 1872 there was no married woman in all the great domain 
of the Pacific northwest (except the comparatively few who held claims tmder 
the brief existence of the donation land law) who possessed a right, after mar- 
riage, even to the bridal trousseau her father had given her as a dot. As the 
laws recognized the husband and wife as "one," and the husband was that 
"one," the wife was legally "dead," and was supposed, as a matter of course, 
to have no further need for clothes. 

For the foregoing reasons and many others for which the limits of this 
chapter have no space, I was at last aroused to the necessity of demanding the 
ballot for woman ; and, although at this writing the final victory remains to 
be won, so many concessions have been made, all trending in one direction, 
toward the objective goal, that it would be indeed an obtuse man or woman 
who would doubt our ultimate and complete success. 

The first law enacted by the Oregon state legislature recognizing the legal 
existence of married women called "The Married Woman's Sole Trader's 
Bill," was passed in the year 1872. This law enabled women needing its pro- 
visions to register themselves as "sole traders" in the office of their county 
clerk, thus protecting their personal earnings, outside of the mutual living ex- 
penses of the family, from dissipation by the husband's creditors. 

A law enabling women to vote for school trustees and for funds and ap- 
propriations for public school purposes, "if they have property in the district 
on which they or their husbands pay a tax," was enacted in 1878. They were 
also empowered to fill the offices of state and county superintendents of schools, 
but the law was contested in 1896 by a defeated candidate and declared uncon- 
stitutional by the supreme court. 

Public sentiment now encourages the employment of women as court sten- 
ographers, as clerks in both houses of the legislature, on legislative committees 
and in various other subordinate offices. They may serve as notaries public, 
and no profession or occupation is legally forbidden to them. All the large 
non-sectarian institutions of learning are open alike to both sexes. 

n either the husband or wife die intestate and there are no descendants 
living, all of the real and personal property goes to the survivor, li there are 
children living, the widow receives one-half of the husband's real estate and 
one-half of his personal property; but the widower takes a life interest in all 
of the wife's real estate, whether there are children or not, and all of the per- 
sonal property absolutely, if there are no living descendants — half if there be 
any. All laws have been repealed which recognize civil disabilities against the 
wife which are not recognized against the husband except the fundamental 
right of voting and helping to make the laws which she is taxed to maintain, 
and to which, equally with man, she is held amenable. 

Of the growth of public sentiment regarding the ultimate extension of this 
right to women, it is significant to note that when a constitutional amendment 
to enfranchise woman was taken in 1884, the vote was, ayes, 11,223; noes, 28,- 



58 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

176. And, although the population was more than doubled when the amend- 
ment was resubmitted in 1900, the vote throughout the state stood, ayes, 26,- 
265 ; noes, 28,402. It will thus be seen that although the "no" vote was only- 
augmented in sixteen years by 226, the affirmative vote was increased by 15,042. 
One county gave a majority for the amendment in 1884. The vote in 1900 
gave us two-thirds of the counties of the state. One county was lost by a tie, 
one by a majority of one, and one by a majority of thirty-one. 

With the advent of the Lewis and Clarke Exposition in 1905, came for the 
first time into Oregon the officers and organizers of the National American 
Woman Suffrage Association, who held a convention in Portland in June of 
that year; and finding here a (to them) unprecedented array of public senti- 
ment favoring the suffrage movement, and erroneously attributing its popular- 
ity to themselves, managed by a clever ruse to remain till after the June elec- 
tion of 1906, for which five years of steady local effort had paved the way 
leading to an initiative petition to secure, for the third time in the history of 
our movement, the submission of a constitutional amendment to a referendum 
vote of the electorate of the state ; and, though we had been sure of at least 
thirty-six thousand votes for the affirmative before our national friends had 
entered Oregon at all, and although there was no lack of logic, brilliancy or 
wit among our imported co-workers, they made the mistake they had often 
previously made in other state suffrage campaigns, of enlisting a little organi- 
zation of well-meaning women of one political idea, who got up meetings for 
them all over the state, under a prohibition coloring, to which the business men 
of the state have ever since falsely accused the suffragists of pandering under 
a thin disguise. 

Eastern and southern women do not understand the liberty-loving spirit of 
our western border; and their control of our campaign of 1906 brought to 
us our first organized opposition to our cause, that, owing to the rapid increase 
of negative votes from older states which followed the Lewis and Clarke Expo- 
sition, would seem hopeless but for the fact that our affirmative vote has prac- 
tically held its own through two subsequent elections, while the overwhelming 
vote of 1910 for the reenfranchisement of the women of Washington, who had 
been voters in territorial days, has reassured our weary workers and brought 
us out of the ambush that kept us silent and defenseless through our electoral 
campaign of 1908 and 1910, which men voted down. 

Our initiative petitions are ready for the submission of our equal suffrage 
amendment to the voters of 1912; and we, having emerged from seclusion, are 
pressing forward in the open, in the serene belief that our fathers, husbands, 
brothers and sons will proudly emulate the chivalrous voters oi Wyoming, 
Colorado, Utah, Idaho and Washington, who have extended the full privileges 
of the elective franchise to their best and truest friends, the women within their 
borders. Our shibboleth for 1912 is Votes for Women, our motto for the cam- 
paign is Make Oregon Free. 

(Editor's Note.) 

Mrs. Abigail Scott Duniway, affectionately known in later years throughout 
the Pacific northwest as "Oregon's Grand Old Woman," having omitted in her 
autobiographical sketch, as chronicled in these pages, all mention of the dis- 
tinguished honors accorded to her during the varying vicissitudes of her long 
and busy life, it falls to the pleasant lot of a friend to chronicle some of the 
more significant incidents of her public and private history, which have made her 
name a household word in thousands of homes. 

Mrs. Duniway first came into prominence in 1859 through the publication of 
a little book entitled "Captain Gray's Company, or Crossing the Plains and 
Living in Oregon." "The book was never worthy of the public attention it 
received, and I have always wondered at its sale," said the motherly old lady 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 59 

in a recent interview. "It was rank presumption that induced me to write it. I 
was an illiterate border child- wife, the overworked mother of little children, 
surrounded by the crudest possible pioneer conditions, through which I began 
grasping blindly at unknown literary straws. I outgrew the work long before 
it reached the public eye and would have supressed it in its infancy if I could; 
but it went rapidly through two editions before it was allowed to die. It builded 
for me better than I knew, however, since it helped to open many devious ways 
to opportunities for education and advancement through which I have struggled 
upward for more than half a century." 

After leaving the Yamhill county ranch, now the famous apple orchard 
founded by Millard Lownsdale, Mrs. Duniway began teaching a private school 
in the village of La Fayette, but its patronage being insufficient for the support 
of her invalid husband and growing family, she prepared a dormitory in her 
home and readily filled it with young lady boarders. In order to properly feed 
and care for these boarders and her own household, in a community where hired 
domestic help was not attainable, Mrs. Duniway would arise regularly at four 
o'clock A. M. in winter and at three o'clock in summer to complete her work in 
the home before nine o'clock and school time. 

Selling out her school in La Fayette, we next find Mrs. Duniway teaching a 
private school in Linn county, in the town of Albany, from which she emerged 
into the millinery business, which she managed successfully for six years. Then, 
selling out at a profit, she startled the country by moving to Portland, where, in 
the spring of 1871, she bought a printing office and established a weekly news- 
paper — The New Northwest, which at once attracted many readers. The 
country was new, the people were liberal and prosperous; and her advocacy of 
equal political rights for women meeting with unexpected favor in Oregon, 
Washington and Idaho, she soon found herself regularly employed in the lecture 
field, where she has ranked for forty years among the most able women speakers 
of the world. 

"I ought to have been among the richest women of America," she remarked 
reflectively, "but my husband, having once pauperized himself by becoming 
surety for an ambitious friend, went to the other extreme and refused to put his 
signature to my papers; and I, being his wife, was legally dead and couldn't 
buy property in Portland while it was cheap. But its all right," she added, with 
a smile. "If I had accumulated riches I might have been an anti-suffragist." 

Her address before the constitutional convention in Boise, Idaho, July 16, 
1889, was a masterly analyzation of the prohibition problem and resulted in 
securing a pledge from the leading state officials and other business men of 
Idaho to submit the question of equal suffrage to a vote at the first election 
following the territory's admission to statehood, and was an important factor 
in making Idaho women free. 

The celebration of Oregon's fortieth year of admission to statehood was held 
on the 14th of February, 1899, in the house of representatives at Salem, where, 
before the joint assembly of the state legislature and a vast audience of visitors, 
among the most famous speakers of the state, Mrs. Duniway was accorded the 
valedictory, or place of honor on the programme, and achieved high distinction. 

One of her most logical speeches on the progress of all women toward 
ultimate equality of rights was made at the unveiling of the statue of Sacajawea 
at the Lewis and Clarke Exposition in the summer of 1905 and was followed by 
the extension of an invitation to her from President H. W. Goode, to accept 
the date of October 6th as Abigail Scott Duniway Day — the first reception of its 
kind ever extended to any woman outside of royalty by the official head of any 
international fair. 

In January of 1910, Mrs. Duniway was made a duly accredited delegate by 
Governor F. W. Benson, of Oregon, to the Conservation Congress of Governers, 
held in Washington, D. C, where she made an impassioned plea for national 
recognition of equal rights for women and was accorded much consideration by 



60 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

distinguished men who marveled at the logic and eloquence of this elderly woman 
of the border. 

Mrs. Duniway's descriptive poems rank high. Oregon, Land of Promise and 
her Centeninal Ode, the latter in commemoration of opening day at the Lewis 
and Clarke Exposition, being considered among her best. Numerous works of 
fiction appeared as serial stories in her New Northwest during the sixteen years 
of its publication, which their author says will be offered to the public in book 
form if she can ever command the time for their proper revision. Her latest 
book, From the West to the West, brought out by A. C. McClurg & Company, 
of Chicago, in 1905, still enjoys a steady sale. 

Of her family of six children, her only daughter, Mrs. Clara Duniway 
Stearns, a beautiful and accomplished woman, died in January, 1886. Of her 
five sons, Willis S. is Oregon's state printer, Hubert R. is a wholesale lumber 
dealer in New York ; Wilkie C. is superintendent of The Portland Evening 
Telegram ; Clyde A. is president of the State University of Montana ; and Ralph 
R. is a prominent attorney of Portland. Her husband, Mr. Ben C. Duniway, 
passed away in August, 1896, beloved and honored by a large circle of relatives 
and friends. "My children are my highest achievement and principal asset," 
said Mrs. Duniway, with another of her motherly smiles, as the compiler of these 
chronicles ended a most interesting interview. 



WILLIAM ALEXANDER GORDON. 

William Alexander Gordon, well known in the grain shipping business on 
the Pacific coast, was born April 29, 1864, at Woodstock, province of Ontario, 
Canada. He comes of Scotch lineage and is the son of the Rev. David B. Gor- 
don, a Presbyterian minister, and the grandson of William Gordon, a well 
known pioneer of Canada, who lived at Bayside, Whitby. His n>other was a 
daughter of Alexander Bain, of Forres, Scotland, also prominent during his 
life in business and literary circles. 

Though when a boy rather inclined toward a literary career, Mr. Gordon 
left school at sixteen to take a clerkship in a bank at Nevada, Iowa, but con- 
tinued his studies in Latin, Greek and higher mathematics under a private tutor 
after banking hours for a period of three years. During this time also he became 
imbued with a desire to visit the Pacific coast. This idea was fostered by tales 
told him by his employer who had pioneered along the coast ivi the early '70s. 
In 1882 Mr. Gordon started for the west. Arriving in San Francisco, he found 
employment with the publishing house of A. L. Bancroft & Company, leaving 
them, however, a few months later for Portland, where he secured a position 
as accountant with the firm of McCraken & Mason, with whom he remained 
until that firm retired from business. Later he became connected with the well 
known firm of Allen & Lewis, filling the positions of bookkeeper and cashier 
and remaining with the firm some twelve years, gaining a broad and comprehen- 
sive experience that has served him in good stead in after years. 

In 1898 Mr. Gordon embarked in business on his own account and was asso- 
ciated for several years with the late Henry F. Allen, the well known capitalist 
of San Francisco, and afterward with C. Lombardi, who still retains an in- 
terest in the corporation of The W. A. Gordon Company, of which Mr. Gordon 
is the president, and which is counted one of the conservative and substantial 
concerns in Portland. A branch of the company in San Francisco also tran- 
sacts an extensive business. 

Mr. Gordon is happily married. His wife was a Miss Garner, whose family 
were originally from Bourbon county, Kentucky, and related to the Peytons 
and Mitchells of that section. Her mother's family name was Wayne and she is 
a direct descendant of General Anthony Wayne of Revolutionary fame. Three 




W. A. GORDON 






ji 



'< •.'■ ■'-■ -^ , . -■ '; 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 63 

children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Gordon: Ethel Margaret, William 
Bain and Edward Wayne. Their education has received careful attention, the 
elder son being now in his junior year at AlcGill, Montreal. 

Mr. Gordon is classed a republican in politics, though inclined to vote for the 
candidate regardless of party affiliation. He has been a member of the Arling- 
ton Club since 1897 and has served as one of its directors and its secretary. 
He has those qualities which make for personal popularity as well as for busi- 
ness success. Laying the foundation of his advancement in a through and lib- 
eral education, he has made continuous progress, early learning to correctly 
value life's contacts and its experiences, while at no time has he feared to ven- 
ture where favoring opportunity has led the way. He is a tireless reader and 
student and keeps well posted in literary, political and scientific matters. He 
is charitably inclined, though in a quiet way, and contributes to many worthy 
objects. 

He is fond of out-door sports and is never more happy than when fol- 
lowing some mountain fed stream with a fishing rod in his hand. He is a mem- 
ber of several mountain climbing and outing clubs. 

The Gordons live in a beautiful home on Montgomery Drive, Portland 
Heights, from which an extensive view of canyon, city and river is had and 
which is considered one of the loveliest points in that part of the city. 



JOHN KING. 



John King is regarded as one of the exemplary citizens of Qarke county, 
Washington, whose well spent life has gained him the respect and esteem of 
all with whom \\e has been brought in contact. When the government owned 
much of the land in this district he took up a claim and is now giving his atten- 
tion to its development. He was born in Fayette county, Ohio, on a farm on 
Compton's creek, March 26, 1835, and was but six years of age when his par- 
ents removed to Lee county, Iowa, where the father engaged in farming. John 
King continued in that locality until eighteen years of age, and then, attracted 
by the favorable reports which he heard concerning the opportunities of the 
northwest, he started for Oregon on the 2d of April, 1853, with an ox team, 
joining a wagon train of one hundred and twenty-five wagons. They proceeded 
westward to the Missouri river, which they crossed at St. Joseph on the 2d of 
May, and at that point practically left behind them the outposts of eastern 
civilization. Then came the long and wearisome trip over the prairies, the 
plains and onward to the mountains, until they reached Portland, Oregon, on 
the 26th of October. Mr. King, however, stopped for a time at Deschutes, 
Oregon, where he operated a ferry boat across the Deschutes river for eighteen 
days. He then came on to Portland and secured employment in a saw mill 
owned by W. P. Abrams & Company. Two months later he went to Benton 
county, Oregon, in the Willamette valley, where he continued until the fall of 
1856, when he returned to Portland. So wild was the northwest and so treacher- 
ous were the Indians that there was constant need for military surveillance, 
and in October, 1855, Mr. King enlisted as a member of Company I, of the 
Oregon Volunteer Infantry under Captain L. B. Munson, of CorvalHs, the 
regiment being commanded by Colonel Kelley. He served in the battle of 
Walla Walla at Whitman Station for four days and nights, and saw active serv- 
ice until the following April, when he was honorably discharged in Portland. 

For a time he was employed in Portland and then went out to fight the Indians 
at the Cascades with a number from Portland, the Indians having massacred 
white settlers at the point indicated. After but little service there he assisted 
in getting boats over the rapids for ten days, and then returned to the Willamette 
valley, where he spent the fall. He was afterward married and resided in the 



64 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

vicinity of Portland for two years, but in 1859 came to Vancouver, where he 
took charge of the engine in a sawmill owned by his father-in-law, Louis Love. 
For over four years he was thus engaged, at the end of which time he began 
farming on the Love ranch known as the Taylor place on the river road. Two 
years were devoted to agricultural pursuits and the following year was spent in 
Washougal. Subsequently he took a homestead, which is now the Stamp place, 
on La Camas Lake, but relinquished that to the government after five years and 
on account of the illness of his wife removed down on the Columbia river to 
the Love ranch and worked in a saw and flourmill. He afterward returned 
to Vancouver, where he entered the employ of the Oregon & California Rail- 
road, with which he was connected for two years, when he went to Columbia 
City, where he built a sawmill. A year later, however, he removed to Buena 
Vista, where he operated a saw mill, after which he engaged in various lines 
of work until 1888, when he settled upon the ranch which he now owns. He 
took this up as a claim from the government — one hundred and sixty acres. It 
was mostly covered with timber and he has cleared seven acres. He has put 
all good improvements on the farm, has fenced the place and is now devoting his 
energies to the cultivation of the fields. 

On the 26th of October, 1856, Mr. King was married to Miss Melinda J. 
Love, of Portland, the wedding being celebrated at her home, then on Clay and 
Front streets, in the Rose city. They became the parents of six children, but 
only one is now living, William D., of Portland. Mr. King has reached the ad- 
vanced age of seventy-five years. He is a member of the Pioneer Society, hav- 
ing been a resident of Oregon since 1853. His entire life has been characterized 
by high principles and manly conduct. He has never played cards nor drank 
liquor of any kind, and has always held firmly to a course that he has believed 
to be right, thus commanding the entire confidence and good will of his fellow- 
men. 



JESSE C. HESS. 



Jesse C. Hess, who is engaged in the conduct of a garage and automobile 
repair business in Portland as a member of the firm of Hess & O'Brien, was 
born in Wheatland, Oregon, December 29, 1882, a son of David and Sarah C. 
Hess, who are now residents of Montavilla. His youthful days were spent in 
his parents home and his preliminary educational advantages were supplemented 
by a course of study in Mount Angel College. He turned from his books to 
take up the machinist's trade, which he learned in Portland, having thorough 
training and practical experience in that line. After learning the trade he es- 
tablished a bicycle and machine shop on his own account, conducting a suc- 
cessful business in that line until 1908, when he sold out. He was located at 
No. 307 Stark street. On disposing of his interests he went to the mountains, 
but after a brief time returned to Portland and was engaged with the Foster 
Kleister Company for a short time. He then established his present business, 
opening a garage and automobile repair shop on the 5th of July, 1909. The 
business was incorporated on the 5th of November of the same year under the 
name of Hess & O'Brien, for Mr. Hess had admitted R. D. O'Brien to a part- 
nership in the undertaking. At one time George F. Brice was also interested in 
the business but sold out to Messrs. Collins and Younger, who are now stock- 
holders of the corporation, while Mr. Hess purchased the interest of his orig- 
inal partner, Mr. O'Brien. He is the secretary and treasurer of the company, 
While L. Collins fills the position of president and G. E. Younger is vice presi- 
dent. On the 1st of June the business was removed to a building erected 
especially for this company. It is one hundred feet square, situated at the 
corner of Davis street and Union avenue, and they also occupy the old building 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 65 

of two stories, fifty by seventy feet, both being needed for the conduct of their 
constantly growing enterprise. 

On the i8th of February, 1905, Mr. Hess was united in marriage to Miss 
Harriet Lavene Madden, a native of Portland. While the young man is making 
substantial progress in the field in which he now labors, his energy and determina- 
tion — his salient characteristics — promise well for success in the future. 



DENNIS S. MURPHY. 



Few men have had the experiences by sea and land which have fallen to the 
lot of Dennis S. Murphy. Starting as a cabin boy in a government war ship 
on the Atlantic, he visited the principal ports of the great ocean and after years 
of labor, involving many hardships and adventures, he found a safe harbor on 
the Pacific coast. Here he is now living retired, surrounded by the comforts of 
an elegant home and daily greeted by friends with whom he can exchange 
reminiscences of earlier times. The story of these early years of Mr. Murphy's 
life is more interesting than any tale drawn from the imagination, and presents 
most strikingly the career of the sailor as it was exemplified before the period 
of the Civil war, and before the fast modern steamship began to plow the ocean. 

Dennis S. Murphy was born in County Cork, Ireland, December 23, 1835. 
He is a son of John and Mary Murphy. His father was engaged in the ship- 
ping business in the old country and there he died in 1846, while the subject of 
this sketch was quite young. At eleven years of age Dennis Murphy came to 
America with his mother in a sailing ship, landing at Boston after a voyage 
of seven weeks. The family resided in Boston until 1849, when Mrs. Murphy 
moved to Lawrence, Massachusetts. The son was educated in the public schools, 
but in order to assist in the support of his mother, left school to work in a 
woolen factory at Lawrence. At seventeen years of age the call of the sea drew 
him from the spindle and the loom and in the port of Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
he joined the battleship Ohio and was enrolled as cabin boy, continuing under 
Captain Long for about six months. In 1853 he went to sea from Boston on 
the ship Sarah, on a trading trip to the western coast of South America. In 
April, 1854, he joined the Merrimac as ordinary seaman on a voyage across the 
Atlantic with a load of lumber, the ship next going to one of the German ports 
and picking up a lot emigrants for New York. His next experience was as 
ordinary seaman on a passenger ship, the Mercury, which made a round trip 
to France. Upon returning he shipped on the R. A. DeGamble for St. Marks, 
Florida, where a load of cotton destined for the New York market was taken 
on board. At New York he transferred his allegiance to the Lovett Peacock, 
bound for Savannah, Georgia, from which port the young sailor went to the 
West Indies with the Emma Chase. Returning to New York he visited the port 
of Havana, on the bark Albertina, and returned with a cargo of sugar, rum, 
molasses, etc. A trip to Nova Scotia followed with the bark Byron, which, 
loaded with lumber, was immediately followed by a voyage on the Demarara to 
British Guiana, on the northern coast of South America, and to Turk Island, 
for a load of salt which was conveyed to Providence, Rhode Island. Still desirous 
of further experience at sea, the now thoroughly experienced sailor joined the 
ship Hadie for Shanghai and Hongkong, China, then embarking with the N. B. 
Palmer, of New York, for Siam, where the ship was loaded with rice for Hong- 
kong. From this port he shipped with the Mary Wenholt, landing for the first 
time in San Francisco in 1857. Here he began to feel at home. Entering the 
coast trade, he made three trips to Panama and continued on the coast vessels 
until 1862. He then became connected with the Oregon Steam Navigation Com- 
pany, continuing with this company and with Oregon Railway & Navigation Com- 
pany, its successor, until September, 1908, when he retired from active affairs. 



68 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Since 1880 he has made his home in Portland and few business or sea-faring 
men of the northwest have a wider circle of friends and acquaintances. In the 
course of his long career he has passed through many vicissitudes and has been 
personally acquainted with many of the prominent characters of the coast, who 
have now passed from the state. As the shadows of evening draw near- the 
veteran of six decades in many seas and lands looks back with few regrets as 
his life has been in an important degree governed by the wise teachings of a 
mother whose chief regard was for the comfort and welfare of her children. 

Mr. Murphy was united in marriage at The Dalles, Oregon, April 27, 1874, 
to Miss May Croden Horsley, a daughter of Joseph and Isabella (Wright) 
Horsley. Eleven children came as a result of the marriage : Mary Isabella, 
now Mrs. W. P. Sinnatt, of Portland; John F., who died at the age of nine 
years; Ralph, of Portland, who married Lulu Thomas, the couple having one 
child, Herold; Edward M., of Burke, Idaho, married to Esther Larson, one 
child, Mary E., having been born to them; Anna C. ; Maude E. ; Edna C. ; Flor- 
ence W. ; Chester M.; and Julia A., all of whom are at home; and one who 
passed away in infancy. 

Mrs. Murphy is a native of Stockton, California. Her father came to Cali- 
fornia in 1849 ^"d was a mining man. He joined the Union army in 1862 and 
saw service against the Indians in New Mexico. He died in 1862 at Stockton, 
California. Mrs. Murphy came to Oregon the same year with her mother, and 
here met her future husband. She was born and reared in the fold of the 
Roman Catholic church and has always adhered, as has her husband, to its 
tenets. Although the educational advantages of Mr. Murphy in his youth were 
limited, he has learned many lessons in the greater school of experience, and 
in the course of a long life of contact with all classes of men had deeply im- 
pressed upon his mind the advantages of sobriety, industry and economy, and of 
square dealing in all business transactions, public or private. In his own life 
as a citizen and head of a large family he has illustrated the practical principles 
that make civilized society possible and at the age of seventy-five is one of the 
honored members of a community where for thirty years he has lived and 
worked and cheerfully borne his share of the burdens. He now enjoys, in the 
evening of a busy life, a well earned rest. 



HIRAM TERWILLIGER. 

Among the pioneer families of Oregon the name of Terwilliger will always 
occupy a prominent place. James Terwilliger arrived in Oregon from a home 
in Illinois, nearly two thousand miles away, by overland trail, in 1845, ^"^ built 
the first house in Portland. Terwilliger Park, one of the beautiful breathing 
spots of Portland, is a gift from the family and its members have been actively 
connected, since the early occupancy by white settlers of the Willamette val- 
ley, with the movements which have resulted in the gratifying development 
witnessed today. 

Hiram Terwilliger, whose name stands at the head of this review, is a 
well known ranchman and miner, now living retired and spending the closing 
days of a long and active career amid the scenes with which his father was 
familiar for many years. He was born at Vernon, Knox county, Ohio, March 
6, 1840, a son of James and Sophronia (Hurd) Terwilliger. Both families 
were of Holland Dutch descent, the Terwilligers, as shown by the colonial rec- 
ords, being among the first settlers of New York. The great-grandmother of 
Hiram Terwilliger on his father's side was owner of a large tract of land on 
the site where New York city now stands. James Terwilliger was a black- 
smith of Knox county, Ohio. In 1841 he joined a movement that was then at- 
tracting a great deal of attention and turning his face westward, removed to 




JAMES^ TERWILLKiER 



1 



^ - T i 






.;i/ii*r*j:^ ' . S'i V ■ -i ■<r' 



«Ai»*AK*s*tqeMf.y^V 



I 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 69 

Hancock county, Illinois, on the Mississippi river, which had already attracted 
the favorable notice of the Mormon leader, Joseph Smith. Here many of the 
Latter Day Saints were gathering and at Naiivoo they erected a temple and 
aroused great antagonism on the part of many of their neighbors. James Ter- 
williger built a blacksmith shop, at a crossroads, where he also took up land for 
a farm. The Mormons continuing to arrive from eastern states and from 
Europe, he yielded to their solicitations and, selling his farm, decided to ac- 
company them to the new northwest. This was before the time of the gold 
excitement, and when farming, fur trading and merchandising were about the 
only occupations known in the great regions between the Mississippi river and 
the Pacific coast. Mr. Terwilliger started for his new home with a team of 
four oxen drawing an emigrant wagon in which were his wife and four chil- 
dren, and a few of the most urgent necessities of pioneer life, among them his 
ax, gun and ammunition. The trip required six months, from April to Oc- 
tober, but proved too severe for Mrs. Terwilliger, who yielded to the hardships 
and died before the caravan reached the end of its journey. Her husband, be- 
ing left with four children, bravely took up the responsibility. Arriving in the 
valley where Portland now stands, October 3, 1845, he at once proceeded to 
the erection of a log cabin at what is now the corner of First and Morrison 
streets. He also built a blacksmith shop and resumed work at his trade amid 
new surroundings, being the first blacksmith in Portland. In 1847 Mr. Ter- 
williger was married to Mrs. Palinda Green, and in 1850 the family home was 
established in South Portland. He secured a tract of six hundred and forty 
acres of land, now within the boundaries of Portland, which afterward became 
a donation claim, eighty-one acres being still in possession of our subject, who 
resides thereon. This land became very valuable as the city grew, and por- 
tions from time to time were sold off for residence purposes. Mr. Terwilliger 
was one of the leaders in the early days and was actively connected with public 
affairs. He served as colonel of the state militia and gained the respect of 
his associates who were among the substantial citizens of Portland. His earthly 
career terminated in 1890, when he had reached the advanced age of four score 
and four years. The tract of land now known as Terwilliger Park was orig- 
inally donated to the city as a cemetery but was later dedicated to its present 
use and is a permanent monument to a man who was one of the first to discern 
the possibilities of this site as the location of a growing city. 

Hiram Terwilliger was five years of age when he crossed the plains and 
his eye first rested upon the beautiful Willamette valley. He has witnessed the 
transformation of a wilderness into a modern city, possessing all the comforts, 
conveniences and elegancies of the twentieth century, and in this transforma- 
tion he has assisted. He was educated in the early schools of Portland and at 
Forest Grove, when, in 1849, nearly all the able-bodied men hurried to Cali- 
fornia in quest of golden treasure, the children being gathered at Forest Grove 
where school advantages were not interrupted. In 1862 Mr. Terwilliger went 
to the mines of Idaho and later, for four years, worked in a logging camp in 
Oregon. Attracted to the water, he followed the sea for three years, operating 
along the coast. For a year and a half, in 1869 and 1870, he conducted a feed 
and grocery store in Portland but became interested in the dairy business in 
Tillamook county, where he continued for four years. He has since resided in 
Portland and has extensively engaged in ranching and mining. His home oc- 
cupies a beautifully improved site of one and a half acres, and he is also the 
owner of seventy-five acres of land in Portland and an interest at the corner of 
First street and Morrison, where his father originally settled. 

Mr. Terwilliger was united in marriage at Tillamook, Oregon, July 12, 1869, 
to Aliss Mary Edwards, a daughter of Joseph and Margaret Edwards, who 
crossed the plains in 1862 and settled at Tillamook. Mrs. Terwilliger is a na- 
tive of Keokuk, Iowa. Four children were born of this union : James, of Port- 
land; Joseph, also of Portland, who married Elizabeth Barrett; Charlotte, now 



70 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mrs. Frank Butz, of this city, who has two daughters, Latha and Ethel; and 
Virtue, the wife of Edward Rogers, of Portland, by whom she has three chil- 
dren, Ruth, George and Mildred. 

Mr. Terwilliger, like his father before him, has experienced many of the 
joys and sorrows of life and gained many lessons which are only to be learned 
by actual contact with men and affairs. He years ago attained prominence and 
prosperity and is recognized as a worthy representative of a name which has 
been borne by many useful and conscientious men and women and is honored 
not only on the Pacific coast but equally so on the coast of the Atlantic. He af- 
filiates with the republican party but has never cared for public office. 



HENRY WAGNER. 



Henry Wagner has been a representative of the farming interests of Clarke 
county, Washington, since 1883, and since 1877 has resided in the Columbia 
river valley, his parents taking their family to the city of Portland in that year. 
He was born in Germany on the 13th of April, 1864, and when three years of 
age came to the United States with his father and mother, Henry and Wilhelmina 
(Reese) Wagner, who at that time settled in Chicago. 

At the usual age their son Henry became a pupil in the public schools, which 
he attended until thirteen years of age, when, in 1877, the parents sought a 
home in the Pacific northwest, becoming residents of Portland. There the father 
died in 1895 but the mother is now living upon the farm with her two sons, 
Henry and William, who are cultivating the farm together. The latter was 
born in Chicago and since coming to the west the two brothers have had identical 
business interests. The family lived in Portland for two years after their ar- 
rival in Oregon and then removed to The Dalles, where Henry Wagner grew to 
young manhood. In March, 1883, when but twenty years of age, he came to 
Clarke county, settling on a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres eight miles 
east of Vancouver, which the family purchased at that time. It was all timber 
land but the brothers cleared and improved it and now have forty-five acres 
under cultivation. The soil is very rich and productive and responds readily to 
the care and labor bestowed upon it. In 1900 they erected a fine modern resi- 
dence, containing ten rooms. They have fenced their place and have thus di- 
vided it into fields of convenient size, and all modern equipments are found, 
indicating their progressive spirit. They are engaged in general farming and 
make a specialty of the raising of grain and potatoes, and are also carrying on 
a dairy business while a considerable income is obtained from cutting and haul- 
ing wood. Henry Wagner is an energetic man, whose life has been characterized 
by unremitting industry and close application, and thus he has carved out for 
himself the path to success. 



WALLACE W. PATTERSON. 

Wallace W. Patterson, who is engaged in a general plastering business, in 
which connection important contracts are awarded him, so that he has achieved 
a substantial and gratifying measure of success, was born in South Haven 
Michigan, May 25, 1864. The first six years of his life were there spent, after 
which his parents, Moses and Mary Elizabeth Patterson, removed with their 
family to Wood county, Ohio, where he remained until about seventeen years of 
age and then came to Portland with his mother and older brother, Frederick. This 
was in 1882.^ His education had been acquired in the public schools of Wood 
county, his time being largely devoted to his studies until his left for the far 
west. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 71 

After reaching Portland Mr. Patterson began learning the plasterer's trade 
with Napoleon Kennedy, who was one of the pioneer plastering contractors 
of Portland. He worked as a journeyman for some time and gained an expert 
knowledge of and skill in the business. About eighteen years ago he formed 
a partnership with Michael Harris, of whom mention is made on another page 
of this volume, and for twelve years they were associated in business, during 
which time various important contracts in their line were awarded them. On 
the expiration of that period the partnership was dissolved and Mr. Patterson 
has since been alone. He does a general line of plastering and has been en- 
gaged in this way on the interior finishing of many of the business houses, 
private residences, and apartment houses. It is said that he has plastered more 
apartment houses than any man in this city, including all those erected by W. L. 
Morgan, who stands first among the builders of apartments in Portland. Mr. 
Patterson's business has long since reached extensive and profitable proportions, 
indeed, there are few who equal him in the amount of business in his line, and 
as success has rewarded him he has made judicious investments in property, 
being now the owner of considerable valuable real estate in this city. 

On the 2d of August, 1890, Mr. Patterson was united in marriage to Miss 
Anna B. Inman, a daughter of L. F. Inman, a native of New York. They be- 
came the parents of five children : Flora, who is now attending the Portland 
high school ; Claude, Edith and Frederick, who are all in school ; and Donald. 
The wife and mother died on the 26th of October, 1909, and her death was a 
deep blow to many friends as well as to the immediate members of the family. 
Mr. Patterson has always voted with the republican party and yet has never 
been a politician in the sense of office seeking, preferring to give his undivided 
time and attention to his business afi^airs which, capably conducted, have brought 
him to a prominent position on the plane of affluence. In manner he is quiet 
and unpretentious, but his genuine worth and thorough reliability are recognized 
by all who have had business dealings with him. 



WILLIAM L. MALLORY. 

William L. Mallory, proprietor of the Oregon Live Stock Exchange and 
Burnside Stables, was born on a farm in Allegany county. New York, January 
4, 1857, and in the year 1868 came with his parents to the northwest. His father, 
Augustus Mallory, who died January 29, 1906, in Jeiiferson, Oregon, was one 
of the early residents of Morrow county, this state. He removed from Marion 
county to Morrow county in the summer of 1870, after a two years' residence 
in the former county following his arrival in the northwest after his emigra- 
tion from Pennsylvania. He had lived in the Keystone state for four years, 
previous to which time he had been a resident of New York. He was engaged 
in the live-stock business in Morrow county for five years, after which he re- 
moved to Heppner. He served as justice of the peace in the town for many 
years and subsequently was county judge of Morrow county. He took an active 
part in the public life of the community and was regarded as one of the leading 
and influential citizens. He was born in Connecticut and when a young man 
removed to the state of New York. There he married Miss Mary Jane Bur- 
rows, who died July 4, 1902. 

William L. Mallory was largely reared upon his father's farm in Morrow 
county, Oregon, and following the removal of his father's family to Heppner 
operated the farm for several years. Subsequently he conducted a sawmill in 
Morrow county for fifteen years and later took up his abode upon a farm at 
lone. Morrow county, situated on Willow creek. He there owned two hun- 
dred and forty acres of rich and productive land and continued its cultivation 
from 1903 until 1907, when he sold the property and came to Portland. Here 



72 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

he purchased the Burnside Stables and the Oregon Live Stock Exchange and 
has since conducted a hvery business in this city. 

In 1881 Mr. Mallory was united in marriage to Miss Mary Elizabeth Yerkes, 
who was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, but was reared in Ohio, com- 
ing first to Oregon when a young lady of seventeen years. Unto Mr. and Mrs. 
Mallory have been born six children : Edna Frances, the wife of J. B. Cronin, 
of lone; Augustus M., who is now deputy sheriff of Morrow county; Lester 
William, who is agent for the Oregon Electric Company at Wilsonville, Oregon ; 
Henry Y., who is bookkeeper for the Pacific States Telephone Company in 
Portland ; Cassius C, who is with the Spokane, Seattle & Portland Railroad 
Company ; and Margaret. 



FRANZ NIEBUR. 



For practically fifty years Franz Niebur was a citizen of Oregon and during 
a large part of that time was a well known resident of Portland. He was an 
honest, industrious and persevering man, a splendid type of the stout-hearted 
sons of the German fatherland who have assisted so ably in building up the 
American republic and establishing it upon an enduring foundation. Attracted 
by free institutions, inspired by high ideals and by the advantages of a new 
country, no distances have been too great, no difficulties too severe, to daunt 
the brave spirits whose ancestors turned back the tide of Roman conquest and 
whose descendants are among the noblest names in America today. 

Mr. Niebur was born in Germany, March 26, 1826. He received the rudi- 
ments of education in the public schools of his native land which are the models 
upon which the public school system of the United States has been cast. His 
father was a blacksmith and carpenter, and the son was early put to work at 
these trades and also at that of wagon-maker. The family came to America and 
traveled as far as Missouri, which was then the "far west," and marked the 
boundary beyond which was "the great American desert" and the vast mountain 
ranges which up to that time had been traversed only by Indians and hardy ad- 
venturers. The young mechanic first followed his trade in Missouri but soon 
moved back across the Mississippi river to Germantown, Illinois, where people 
were more numerous and the demand for wagons gave assurance of steady em- 
ployment. At Germantown he met Miss Caroline Koch, also a native of Ger- 
many, whose father died there and whose mother started for America when 
the daughter was seventeen years of age. Death again visited the family, and 
during the trip across the ocean the mother was called away. The twice stricken 
daughter came on to Illinois, where a sister had already found a home, and there 
she met the young man who became her husband after she had attained the 
age of eighteen years. Two years later they moved to Missouri and lived in 
that state until 1853, when they joined a wagon train which was bound for the 
northwest. Mr. Niebur had a good outfit for those days — a horse, three yokes 
of oxen and a covered wagon, which were well provided with necessities for 
the journey. The trip required from March to October. At The Dalles, Mr. 
Niebur left the live stock and he and his wife completed the journey to Port- 
land in a boat. Here he found employment principally at his trade during the 
winter, and built a house for Captain Couch and also for Captain Flanders. In 
the spring he bought the rights in three hundred and twenty acres of land in 
Multnomah county which had been located by a previous arrival, paying one 
hundred dollars for the land and a small cabin which stood on the property. 
In order to secure title to the property, continuous residence for four years was 
necessary, and Mrs. Niebur made her home in the little cabin while her husband 
worked at his trade in Portland, visiting his wife as opportunity presented. This 
was one of the incidents of pioneer life. After ten years, having secured a 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 73 

good herd of cattle and placed the farm on a good paying basis, Mr, 
and Mrs. Niebur moved to Portland where they permanently located. Their 
home was originally in a forest which has since disappeared and the spot on 
which the cabin stood is where the residence of Mr. Niebur now stands at 
331 Madison street. The farm is still owned by the family. Mr. Niebur worked 
at his trade and built up a profitable business of which he was the head, retiring 
from active life a few years before he died to take a needed rest. He departed 
this life February 25, 1902, and his remains repose in Mount Calvary cemetery. 
One child, Carrie, was born to Mr. and Mrs. Niebur. She is the wife of R. 
H. Fay. They live at the old homestead and are the parents of six children : 
Maggie, deceased ; Frank, a resident of Portland ; Mrs. Lillian Burrell, of Port- 
land, who is the mother of two children, Fay and Richard ; Edward, also of this 
city, who married Emma Stark, now deceased, by who he had two children, 
Cyril and Helen; Alice, now Mrs. H. J. McLean, of Salt Lake City; and Mrs. 
Alma Fay, of Portland. 

Mr. and Mrs. Franz Niebur, as representative pioneers, always occupied an 
honorable place among the brave band that developed the resources of Western 
Oregon. Mr. Niebur was a member of the Roman Catholic church and a con- 
sistent follower of its tenets. He was a member of the Volunteer Fire Depart- 
ment of Portland in the early days and was ever found at the post of duty. Mrs. 
Niebur in the evening of her life is the center of loving attentions from a 
generation that has not known the dangers through which she passed, but which 
has profited by her kindly monition and most of all by the example of a life 
which was early tried in the school of affliction and the fruitage of which is 
now beheld in that most desirable of all earthly attributes, a beautiful and un- 
selfish character. 



ALEXANDER DAVID. 



Alexander David was one of the early settlers of the Columbia river valley, 
having crossed the plains in 1868. He was a native of Illinois, born in 1820, 
only two years after the admission of that state into the Union. He continued 
to reside in the Mississippi valley until 1868, when the reports which he heard 
concerning the opportunities of the northwest determined him to cross the 
plains and seek the advantages that he might here secure. He located on land 
twelve miles from Vancouver, homesteading one hundred and sixty acres which 
were covered with a native forest grove. He cleared away much of the timber, 
grubbed up the stumps and prepared the land for the plow. Thereafter year 
after year he continued the work of the farm until his death, which occurred 
in 1902. He was survived by five children, and three of the number are yet 
living, Frank and Cora being residents of Portland. 

Albert David, the second of the survivors, was born in Wisconsin, Novem- 
ber 12, i860. As previously stated, the father came to Washington in 1868, and 
the following year the family joined him, having made the trip by way of the 
isthmus of Panama. Albert David was at that time a lad of nine years and 
the voyage was a very wonderful one to him. He was reared upon the claim 
which his father had secured and the public schools afforded him his educational 
privileges. He afterward engaged in farming with his father, remaining as his 
active assistant until the latter's death, since which time he has carried on farm- 
ing alone. The place comprises one hundred and sixty-one acres of the original 
homestead, of which about sixty acres have been cleared. He carries on general 
farming and his labors bring forth good harvests for the land is rich and his 
methdos are practical. 

In March, 1886, Mr. David was united in marriage to Miss Mary Snider, of 
Clarke county, and they have five children: Stella, now Mrs. Herman Stutz, 



74 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

of Vancouver; Rosie, now the wife of Orvis Wright, of Vancouver; William, 
Nellie and Birch, all at home. Mr. David, while giving his attention largely 
to his farming interests, yet finds time and opportunity to support the measures 
and movements instituted for the benefit of the section in which he lives. The 
cause of education finds in him a warm friend and he is now serving as school 
director. He has a wide acquaintance in this county where almost his entire 
life has been passed, and that his circle of friends is almost coextensive with 
the circle of his acquaintance indicates that his record has at all times been 
upright and honorable. 



THOMAS BURKE. 



The year 1852 witnessed the arrival of a larger number of settlers in the 
northwest than did any other year in pioneer times, and among the number were 
those who bore a very active and helpful part in shaping the history of Oregon 
and developing the splendid natural resources of this section of the country. 
Thomas Burke was one who in that year became a resident of Portland. 

He was a native of Ireland, born in Dingle, County Kerry, October 25, 1818, 
and was a son of Tobias and Bridget (McEgan) Burke, who spent their entire 
lives on the Emerald isle, where they passed away many years ago. Thomas 
Burke acquired his education in his native country and when a young man came 
to America in the year 1845 ^^^ '^^as admitted to citizenship August 2, 1850. 
He did not remain long on the seacoast but made his way at once into the 
interior of the country, settling at St. Louis, Misouri, where he turned his 
attention to steamboating on the Mississippi river. He followed that pursuit 
until he started for the far west. 

He was married in 185 1 in St. Louis to Miss Mary A. Devlin, who was born 
March 17, 1827, in County Derry, Ireland, and in the latter part of March, 1852, 
they started for the plains of the northwest. Mr. Burke had heard favorable 
reports concerning this country and its opportunities and he resolved to seek 
his fortune therefore on the Pacific coast. He reached Oregon after a trip of 
six months over the prairies of the Mississippi valley, the arid plains farther west 
and the high mountain ranges of the Rockies and the Cascades. The trip was a 
long and wearisome one, for the slow plodding oxen covered only a few miles 
each day. At length the entire distance was traversed and coming to the little 
city of Portland, Mr. Burke on the 31st of December, 1852, purchased two lots 
on the corner of Salmon and Seventh streets, where the family took up their 
abode in the spring of 1853. -^^ was employed by various concerns for several 
years after his arrival. 

In the winter of 1855-6 the Columbia river being frozen over, Mr. Burke 
carried the mail on foot from Portland to The Dalles and return. This was a 
thrilling experience, for he encountered many dangers. He was chosen for 
this position on account of his upright character. With the money earned from 
this he bought two lots on the corner of Seventh and Main streets, giving him 
ownership of a half a block. These w^ere purchased, according to the deeds, in 
February, 1856. The ownership still rests with his heirs. 

Mr, Burke was long connected with the police department of Portland. He 
was appointed in 1870, remaining in that position for seven years wearing star 
No. I. His official record was at all times creditable. He stood as a defender 
of law and order, which must ever predominate in a community if it is to be a 
desirable place of residence. He was ever most loyal to the duties that devolved 
upon him and his faithfulness won him advancement in the ranks of the depart- 
ment. During the period of incumbency as an officer he was never late but once 
and that was due to a faulty alarm clock. 



m 

H 
K 
o 







tm^^ 



\ 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 77 

Seven children were born unto Mr. and Mrs. Burke, of whom two died in 
infancy. A son, John Burke, who was born February 7, 1852, in St. Louis, 
Missouri, died July 7, 1907. He was brought as a babe in arms across the 
plains to Portland by his parents and began life as a newsboy, selling the 
Oregonian and other papers. He afterward learned the plumbing trade and 
was in that business for many years, but at length gave up that line to engage in 
the street contracting business. He retired in 1897, spending the succeeding 
ten years in the enjoyment of well earned rest. He was one of the leading 
members of the volunteer fire department and was also active in politics but was 
never an aspirant for office. He gained considerable prosperity through his 
well directed business afifairs and was a man of affluence at one time in his career. 
The next child was Margaret E. Burke, who was born March 15, 1854, in Port- 
land, and is a graduate of St. Mary's Academy. She is now the wife of Elisha 
F. Humason, of Spokane, Washington. They were married November 24, 1878, 
and are the parents of seven children, all of whom are living. Henry Burke, 
the next member of the family, born in Portland, November 17, 1857, is a lather 
by trad-e and resides with his sister at No. 334 Salmon street. Mary A. Burke, 
was born in Portland, November 2, 1861, and now resides at the old family home. 
[Agnes J., born August 30, 1865, died May 9, 1900. All of the children were 
born and reared at the corner of Seventh and Salmon steets, with the exception 
of John, the eldest child. All were given good public-school educations and 
afterward had the benefit of convent instruction. 

In his political views Mr. Burke was always an earnest democrat, loyal to 
the party and its principles. His religious faith was with the Roman Catholic 
church. He was widely and favorably known iti Portland, having many warm 
friends here. He was never identified with any clubs or societies with the 
exception of the United Irishmen, a prominent organization. One of the rules 
of his honorable life was never to speak ill of anyone. .He had a host of friends 
that loved him for his open, frank, genial nature. He was above all quiet and 
unassuming and always was a most hospitable host. His death occurred May 
10, 1879. 

His wiie survived him until October i, 1886, and passed away at the age of 
sixty years. She will long be remembered for her wit and humor. She was a 
quick, shrewd observer and was known all over Portland in this connection. 
Moreover, she was a very charitable woman and always ready to assist in times 
of sickness and death. As the head of the family she practiced close economy. 
At her death one of the local papers said : "Mrs. Burke was one of the pioneer 
residents of Portland and the news of her demise deeply moved the heart of 
many an old resident who had learned to love and respect her for her amiable 
and noble traits of character." In 1852 she crossed the plains with her husband 
and infant son, reaching Oregon after a journey of six months over arid wastes 
and rugged mountains. Portland was but a little pioneer settlement at the time 
and Mr. and Mrs. Burke built a home on the present corner of Seventh and 
Salmon streets, then on the fringe of a thick forest. There Mrs. Burke resided 
up to the time of her death and she always cherished a tender regard for the 
locality. During all her years of residence she took a deep interest in everything 
pertaining to the welfare of the city. She was bright, quick-witted and intelli- 
gent, and her ready but kindly powers of repartee were widely known. She had 
a kind and generous heart and was ever ready to assist the poor and distressed 
without any show or ostentation. She was a devout and earnest Catholic and 
was especially active in collecting for Catholic charities. She had also a sincere 
love for the land of her birth and took a lively interest in everything aflfecting 
the condition of Ireland. She passed quietly away, the last sleep stealing over 
her senses as gradually as the somber shadows of night steal over the light of 
day, and when death closed her eyes with his icy touch she left behind the 
memories that always shed a halo around a good and noble character. The 



78 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

entire family have always been active in the affairs of the Roman Catholic 
church and have always been identified with the growth and development of 
Portland, in which every member of the household has taken a helpful and 
active interest. 



JACOB T. HUNSAKER. 

With those "first things" which mark the beginnings of history, which are 
in fact the vanguard of an advancing civilization, Jacob T. Hunsaker was closely 
connected, for he became a resident of this section of the country in 1846. Port- 
land practically had no existence at that time but Oregon City had its little 
band of enterprising residents and a few venturesome spirits were located in 
the Columbia and Willamette river valleys, yet on the whole this section was 
a great unclaimed, unsettled and unimproved district. Mr. Hunsaker was of 
Swiss ancestry and was born in southern Illinois, July 20, 1818. 

On the 7th of December, 1837, he was married to Miss Emily Margaret Col- 
lings of the old Collings family of Kentucky. Her mother was a representative 
of the Burdett family of Virginia and both her paternal and maternal grand- 
fathers were soldiers of the Revolutionary war. Mrs. Hunsaker was born near 
Louisville, Kentucky, October 3, 1820, and ere the start was made for the north- 
west, she had become the mother of five children. A belief that superior ad- 
vantages might be enjoyed in that section of the country led the family in 1846 
to bid farewell — a tearful one it was — to friends and relatives in Illinois and 
start upon the long, wearisome march to Oregon, Mrs. Hunsaker driving a 
team hitched to a light wagon, in which were the children, while the bedding 
and cooking outfit were also packed therein. The parents being anxious to get 
through and establish their home, left their ox team and wagon in charge of 
their man and pushed on ahead of the train over the Barlow road. They were 
the first to come thus directly over past Oregon City to the Molalla prairie, 
where Mr. Hunsaker soon put in a crop. He also aided in building the school- 
house in that district and thus planted the seeds of educational progress there. 
Another child was born to them while the parents were living in that district. 
Later Mr. Hunsaker went down the Columbia river to look up a site for a 
sawmill which he finally located at a point on Milton creek, near where the town 
of St. Helen's now stands. When the mill was completed he removed his 
family to that location. It was a needed industry and he found immediate 
market for the product of the mill. Ships coming from California bought his 
lumber and so eager were they that they would have torn down the mill to 
secure more had they been permitted. When they left not a loose stick or slab 
could be found anywhere. Mr. Hunsaker received a splendid price for the 
lumber and a few months later also disposed of his mill at a high figure. His 
purpose in selling out was to go to a district where educational opportunities 
could be secured for the children. A huge raft was built by lashing together 
piles of lumber and lumber was also piled on all sides for protection. On this 
the family embarked and with sail and oar worked their way to Oregon City, 
where schools had been established. The three older girls were placed in the 
Sisters School and the son became a pupil of Mary Johnson, who had been 
placed in charge of the school in the first Baptist church built west of the Rocky 
Mountains — a school from which has been developed the present McMinnville 
College. Soon Mr. Hunsaker built another sawmill, which he erected on the 
Washougal river near the present site of LaCamas. A terrible forest fire drove 
them from their Washougal mill and, in October, 1849, they returned to Oregon 
City, where they purchased a place near the Clackamas river, where the family 
home was maintained through the succeeding forty years. While there residing 
six more children were added to the family and there the two oldest, Horton 
and Josephine, died in 1853. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 79 

While Mr. Hunsaker devoted much attention to his business interests and 
met with substantial success therein, he was also connected with many of the 
early events which have left their impress upon the pages of history. He was 
one of the jury impaneled to try the Indians who participated in the famous 
Whitman massacre and hung the jury for sometime, believing that there was 
not sufficient evidence to convict a certain Indian. His political support was 
given to the whig party until its dissolution and he acted as chairman of the 
meeting at which the republican party of this district was organized in Oregon 
City. However, he never took a prominent part in politics. 

In 1874 the family were called upon to mourn the loss of wife and mother, 
who died very suddenly on the 14th of January. She had many noble, heroic, 
self-sacrificing quaHties and at the burial services Dr. Achinson said of her: 
" 'She hath done what she could.' Only for her help and hearty cooperation, 
her cheer and encouraging words, I should have been utterly discouraged in 
the attempt to raise means for the building of the Young Ladies' Seminary." 
All who knew her expressed the same opinion of her splendid qualities. After 
the death of his first wife, Mr. Hunsaker was never satisfied with the old home 
and thereafter removed to a farm which he purchased near Woodburn, there 
passing away on the 20th of August, 1889. 

They reared a large family and several of their children have taken an 
active part in the public life and business development of this section of the 
country. The oldest of their living children is Marianne, who became the 
wife of A. C. Edmunds, a Universalist minister from California, whose grand- 
father and uncles were soldiers of the war for Independence. He died in 1878. 
Their only daughter, Emily Coryell, became the wife of I. C. Sanford, who 
was descended in both the paternal and maternal lines from those who fought 
with the American army in the Revolutionary war. At the present time, Mr. 
and Mrs. Sanford are living in Portland and have tv^^o children, Dorothy and 
Harold. Mrs. Edmunds married a second time, becoming the wife of J. F. 
D'Arcy, a native of Boston, Massachusetts, and a lawyer by profession. She 
had one son by this marriage, Francis, who is a graduate of the law depart- 
ment of the University of Oregon and is now living with his mother in Portland, 

Araminta Hunsaker became the wife of Theodore Burminster, a German by 
birth and at that time a young law student. She met a sad and tragic death near 
Boise, Idaho. She had one son, Frank Theodore, who lives in Salt Lake City, 
and has a large family of children. 

Jacob Hunsaker married Lizzie V., daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Cham- 
bers, of Chambers Prairie, who were pioneers of Oregon and Washington. They 
have four children : Lloyd, residing in Albuquerque, New Mexico ; Hallie, Cassie 
and Margaret, all living in Everett, where the family have made their home for 
a number of years. 

Sarah Hunsaker, the first child born after the arrival of the family in Oregon, 
was married to J. Tompkins, the eldest son of D. D. Tompkins, a pioneer of 
1847, whose ancestors were represented in the Revolutionary war. They have 
six children : Daniel D., Jacob, Forbes Barclay and Morton, all of whom are 
married; and Emily and Verna, who are living with their parents near Salem, 
Oregon. 

Lycurgus Hunsaker, who was born in 1849, soon after the family settled on 
the home place near the Clackamas, married Lilly, a daughter of Mr. Learn, 
an Oregon pioneer. 

Nancy Katherine became the wife of H. B. Nicholas, an attorney and a son 
of Peter Marks Nicholas, a member of the old Virginia family of that name, whose 
mother was a niece of President Thomas Jefferson. The eldest son of Mr. and 
Mrs. H. B. Nicholas is Byron Randolph Nicholas, who married Nancy Voorhies, 
of Kentucky, and they have one son, John Voorhies III. Their only daughter, 
Beulah, is the wife of Francis Phillips Hallinan. Two other sons, Wilson Cary 
and Robert Winn, are living with their parents in Portland. 



80 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Caroline Hunsaker married Frank E. Arnold, a native of Boston, and a 
representative of an old colonial family. For a number of years they have 
resided in Portland and have seven children, Ruth, Carolyn Kellogg, Emmons, 
Alice Frances, Sam and Josie. All are still at home w^ith the exception of Ruth, 
who is now the wife of Dr. Wardell, of Seattle. 

Alice Hunsaker is the wife of Charles Oster, a farmer of eastern Oregon, 
and they have three children, Winnefred, Margaret and Charles Jacob, all living 
at home near Heppner. 

Emily Jane Hunsaker is the wife of Ernest P. Waite, of Maine, whose fore- 
fathers for many years have been sea captains. Mr. and Mrs. Waite are now 
living in Eureka, California. 

John Hunsaker, the youngest member of the family, is unmarried and lives 
in California. 



CHARLES A. WILLIAMS. 

Charles A. Williams is now living retired in Gladstone. A native of Ver- 
mont, he was born in Orange county on the 28th of August, 1844, and repre- 
sents one of the old New England families founded in America during colonial 
days. His grandfather, Asahel Williams, served in the Continental line all 
during the Revolutionary war. He was captured at the battle of Long Island, 
New York, and was held as a prisoner of war for about eight months. He 
lived for some time, however, to enjoy the fruits of liberty which his efforts had 
aided in bringing to the colonies dying in 1840. The parents of Charles A. 
Williams were Asahel and Louise (Johnson) Williams, and in their home he 
spent his youthful days, pursuing his education in the public schools. A few 
days before the twentieth anniversary of his birth he enlisted for service in 
the Civil war, being enrolled at Springfield, Vermont, on the loth day of August, 

1864, as a private of Company I, Ninth Vermont Volunteer Infantry. The 
company was commanded by Captain Eugene Viele and the regiment by Colonel 
Edward H. Ripley. He joined this command before the battle at Chapins 
Farm, in which he participated. He was also in the battle of Williamsburg 
Road, was present at the fall of Richmond and was in a number of minor en- 
gagements and skirmishes. He remained with the command until after the fall 
of the Confederacy, and was honorably discharged on the 13th day of June, 

1865, under general orders of the war department. 

Following the close of hostilities Mr. Williams went to Massachusetts, where 
he remained for a short time, and then returned to his parents home in Ver- 
mont, living with them up to the time of his marriage, which was celebrated 
in Franklin, Merrimac county, New Hampshire, on the 21st of October, 1875, 
the lady of his choice being Miss Laura A. Haynes, a daughter of Clark and 
Mary A. Haynes, who were natives of the Old Granite state and were descended 
from Puritan ancestry. Her brother, Ervin W. Haynes, served during the Civil 
war with the First New Hampshire Infantry and with the Second United States 
Sharpshooters. 

At the time of his marriage Mr. Williams was employed by the Howe Scale 
Company at Brandon, Vermont, where he remained until 1878, when he went 
to Kansas and secured a homestead claim which he occupied and cultivated for 
five years. In 1883, however, he returned to New Hampshire and was there 
employed in the woolen mills. In 1888 he went to the territory of Washington, 
settling at Sidney, now Port Orchard. There he engaged in the lumber busi- 
ness until the fall of 1890, when he became a resident of Oregon City, where 
he lived until 1893. During that period he was employed in the woolen mills. 
Seventeen years ago he came to Gladstone, where he has since made his home, 
and at the present time he is living retired. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 81 

In 1907 Mr. Williams was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who 
died on the 12th of December. She was a consistent member of the Methodist 
church and was also an active and honored member of Lincoln-Garfield Corps, 
No. 19, W. R. C, and of the United Artisans. Her many good traits of heart 
and mind won her the esteem and love of all who know her, so that her death 
was deeply regretted by many friends as well as her immediate family. She 
left two sons, William A. and Clark H., who are still residing with their father. 

Mr. Williams maintains pleasant relations with his old army comrades through 
his membership in Sumner Post, No. 12, G. A. R. He has filled all the offices 
in other posts and was commander of Meade Post, No. 2, at Oregon City. He 
was assistant adjutant general and assistant quartermaster general of the depart- 
ment of Oregon for 1909, serving for three terms in that position. He has also 
been aid-de-camp to the department commander of Oregon and his ancestry is 
indicated by the fact that he is a member of the Pilgrim Fathers' Society. His 
political allegiance has always been given to the republican party which stood as 
the defense of the Union during the dark days of the Civil war and has always 
been the party of reform and progress. His religious faith is that of the Meth- 
odist church and his life has been in consistent harmony therewith. In matters 
of citizenship he is as true and loyal to his country today as when he followed 
the old flag upon the battle fields of the south. 



RICHARD L. ZELLER. 



Richard L. Zeller, an architect and builder, well known in Portland as a 
member of the firm of Stokes & Zeller, was born in Montgomery county, Ohio, 
March 23, 1859. His parents were Adam and Susan Zeller, the former a native 
of Pennsylvania and the latter of Indiana. The father was a millwright and 
builder and his son Richard L. early became his assistant. The family remained 
residents of Montgomery county, Ohio, until 187 1, when they removed to St. 
Elmo, Fayette county, Illinois, where they resided until 1879. 

Richard L. Zeller was a lad of twelve years at the time the family home 
was established in Illinois, and there in the public schools he continued his educa- 
tion which had been begun in the public schools of Ohio. When about eighteen 
years of age he began learning the trade of a builder and in the years which 
have since come and gone has established himself in a prominent position as an 
architect and contractor. He remained in Illinois until the fall of 1879, when 
he went to Texas where he carried on business for about a year. In 1880, how- 
ever, he returned to Illinois, where he spent another year, and then again sought 
a home in the southwest, making his way to New Mexico, where he remained 
from 1 88 1 until the spring of 1883. 

It was on the latter date that Mr. Zeller came to Portland, having made his 
home here continuously since April, 1883. He has been engaged in building 
operations and throughout the entire period has been a partner of William R. 
Stokes, of whom mention is made elsewhere in this volume. One of the first 
buildings which they erected was the old Williams avenue schoolhouse which 
has recently been torn down to make way for a business block. A quarter of 
a century or more ago they erected the Ladd residence in Laurelhurst, and they 
have always specialized in the building of residences and apartment houses, hav- 
ing taken the contracts for the erection of some of Portland's finest homes. They 
have also done work in various other parts of the state, were the builders of the 
Soldiers Home at Roseburg and have erected schoolhouses and other buildings 
in Baker City, Pendleton, Heppner, Oregon City and Astoria. Their contracts 
are numerous and their execution makes constant demand upon the time and 
energies of Mr. Zeller, whose success has been the legitimate outcome of his 
earnest and well directed efiforts. 



82 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

In 1909 occurred the marriage of Richard L. Zeller and Mrs. Martha A. 
Webb, a daughter of Mrs. Barbara Hart. Mrs. Zeller is a native of the state of 
New York and is a member of the Baptist church. Mr. Zeller votes with the 
republican party which he has supported continuously since age conferred upon 
him the right of franchise. After living at various places in the middle west and 
in the southwest, he feels fully contented to make his home upon the Pacific 
coast, being appreciative of the opportunities of this great and growing western 
country whose natural resources have not yet been exhausted and whose ad- 
vantages are seemingly limitless. 



HON. PETER HOBKIRK. 

Hon. Peter Hobkirk was a resident of Portland for thirty-one years. The 
memories of youth took him back to Scotland, those of early manhood to Eng- 
land and Ireland. Thus he became largely familiar with different sections of 
Great Britain. He was born in Jedburgh, Roxburghshire, Scotland, on the i6th 
of March, 1841, a son of Peter and Katherine (Robertson) Hobkirk, his father 
having been one of the employes in a woolen mill. He remained a resident of the 
land of hills and heather, of mountain crag and plain until he had attained his 
majority. He then went to Edinburgh, where he remained for three months, 
next residing in Liverpool for more than a year, after which he located in 
Dublin. From that city he proceeded to London, where he worked for about 
four months and from there embarked for New York. He had learned the car- 
penter's trade in Scotland and followed it in all the different places he lived while 
in Great Britain. 

It was in 1864 that Peter Hobkirk crossed the Atlantic to America, reaching 
New York on the 3d of August. Going at once to Massachusetts, he settled in Berk- 
shire county, near Lenox, but in the following January left there for New York 
city and on the 20th of January embarked for California. He continued a resi- 
dent of San Francisco until 1879, following the carpenter's trade throughout 
that period of fifteen years, after which he made his way northward to Oregon 
and was connected with building operations here until 1881. He next located in 
Tacoma, Washington, where he remained for eight months, after which he re- 
turned to Salem, where he continued until 1884. During that period he worked 
at the insane asylum and upon other important buildings of the city. In April, 
1884, he went to Spokane, where he resided until the following November and 
then took up his abode in Portland, where he has since resided. During a 
part of the time he had worked at his trade in the employ of others and during 
the remainder of the period had followed contracting. In 1885 he formed 
a partnership with John McKenzie, which continued for about ten years. He 
was the builder of the large Exposition building on Washington street that was 
destroyed by fire in July, 1910. He was also the builder of the Worcester, the 
predecessor of the building of that name, that is today one of the substantial 
blocks of Portland. This he erected for Mr. Corbett. He also erected the Hill 
House for Mr. Ladd on Twelfth and Morrison streets and also the Hill House 
for H. H. Northrop at Twelfth and Jefferson streets. He had the contract for 
the wood work of the Congregational church, also of the Sherlock block, and 
erected a number of schoolhouses. Up to the time of his death, which occurred 
January 7, 191 1, he was still actively engaged in contracting and building and he 
also derived a substantial income from several valuable properties which he 
owned in South Portland. He was president of the Alaska Coal Oil Company, 
operating wells at Katala, Alaska, and was interested in various mining prop- 
erties. 

On the 1st of July, 1869, Mr. Hobkirk was married to Miss Maria Warner, 
a native of Montreal, Canada, and a daughter of Robert and Hannah (Dawson) 





■ 




^1 


^^^^H -^ ^i^^B 


B 




.1 




■ 


^^^^^^ ^^B J3^g ^^^^^^^^^ 


ll 


^^^^^IhK' ~'1 ^^^y^^^^^^^^^^^^B 


I 


^^^^^^^^^^^Btt|tv^^/-nWWlW 


^^1 



PETER HOBKIRK 






if 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 85 

Warner, who were of English birth. Mr. and Mrs. Hobkirk became the parents 
of five children, of whom Eva Swanston died at the age of eleven months. The 
others are: Hannah M., the wife of D. L. Povey; Lillian E. ; Flora S., the wife 
of Nicholas F. Sullivan, of Walla Walla, Washington ; and Frederick P., a metal 
worker living in Portland. 

Mr. Hobkirk was a member of the Episcopal church and his wife of the 
Presbyterian church. After becoming a naturalized American citizen he gave 
his political support to the republican party and in 1898 became a member of the 
state legislature, serving for a term of two years. During an extra session of 
the legislature, called for the purpose of electing the United States senator in 
1898, Joseph Simon, was chosen for the position. He was a York and Scottish 
Rite Mason, having attained the Knights Templar and thirty-second degrees. 
He also crossed the sands of the desert with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine 
and he met in fraternal intercourse with the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. His chief recreation was hunting and fishing. His success was undoubtedly 
attributable in large measure to the fact that he always continued in the line of 
business in which he embarked as a young tradesman. His early training was 
thorough and practical and thus he developed ability which carried him into im- 
portant relations with the business, making him one of the successful representa- 
tives of his line in Portland. In matters of citizenship he was deeply interested 
and though his office holding was confined to a term in the legislature and one 
term of two years in the city council by reason of the extent and importance of 
his business affairs, he was always ready to assist any measure or movement 
which he deemed of real benefit to the community. 



ASA A. McCULLY. 



It is an old saying that "The boy is father to the man." It is nevertheless 
true that youth usually determines the character of age. Asa A. McCuUy early 
displayed qualities which marked his entire life. His laudable ambition and 
desire for improvement were shown in the earnest efforts which he put forth 
to secure an education when the opportunities of attending school were largely 
denied him. Throughout his entire life he never waited, Micawber-like, for 
something to turn up, but made his opportunity and utilized it to the fullest ad- 
vantage. At the same time he always recognized the rights of others and his 
obligations to his fellowmen. 

In far off New Brunswick Asa A. McCully was born, being a native of the 
city of St. Johns. His life history had its beginning on the 31st of January, 
1818, and was ended August 12, 1886. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. John McCully, 
were of Scotch-Irish lineage and during the early childhood of their son Asa 
removed to Ohio, settling in Henry county. Soon afterward, however, they 
traveled still farther westward, taking up their abode at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, 
where they lived for many years. The father engaged in farming in that locality 
up to the time of his death, and was numbered among the respected and valued 
citizens of the community. 

Asa A. McCully was a pupil in the various schools which he was able to at- 
tend as his father removed from place to place. His educational privileges, 
however, were somewhat limited, yet he became a thoroughly well informed 
man by private reading, study and investigation. By experience, too, he learned 
many valuable lessons of life. He became a practical man of affairs. In con- 
nection with his brother David, he opened a store at Mount Pleasant which they 
conducted until 1852, when they came to Oregon. In 1849, however, Asa A. 
McCully had made the trip to California, attracted by the gold discoveries, and 
for about a year remained in the mines. He did not meet with the success that 
he had anticipated, however, and accordingly returned to Mount Pleasant, but 



86 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

having decided to locate permanently in the west, he disposed of his business 
interests in Iowa and came by the ox team route over the plains to the Pacific 
northwest. He was accompanied by his brother David and his family, also by 
Dr. John Samuel and William H. McCully, all of whom were married with 
the exception of William. It required about five months to reach Oregon, for 
the slow plodding oxen, drawing their heavily ladened wagons, covered only a 
few miles each day. In August, 1852, they located in Linn county, each of the 
brothers taking up claims of six hundred and forty acres. There they founded 
the town now called Harrisburg, although it was originally named Thurston in 
honor of Senator Thurston. The land was all prairie and upon his place Asa 
A. McCully built a log cabin. In 1853 ^^ returned to Iowa to get a drove of 
cattle. On the return trip he was elected captain of the wagon train, leaving St. 
Joseph, Missouri, with a large party. The trip was one of hardships, but 
eventually they reached Harrisburg and Mr. McCully pastured his cattle upon 
his claim. He served as the first postmaster of the town and in connection with 
his brother David conducted the first mercantile establishment there. In 1863, 
however, he removed to Salem, Oregon, with his family, in order to give his 
children better educational privileges. He conducted a store in Salem and was 
also connected with the Peoples Transportation Company, being one of its 
largest stockholders and its president for a number of years. He extended his 
business activities to other fields and became president of the Capital National 
Bank. His judgment was sound, his enterprise unfaltering, and his successfully 
executed plans were wisely carried out, bringing substantial success. He con- 
tinued in business in Salem until his death, which was occasioned by the kick of 
a horse while he was on his farm in Yamhill county, on the 12th of August, 
1886. His remains were taken back to Salem for interment. 

On the 5th of September, 1848, at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, Mr. McCully had 
been married to Miss Hannah K. Waters, a daughter of William Waters. Mrs. 
McCully was born in Ashtabula, Ohio, April 25, 1828, and passed away on the 
1st of "August, 1905, her grave being made by her husband's side in Salem, 
Oregon. She was the mother of four children. Alice M., the eldest, became 
the wife of William B. Crane, who was born in Newark, New Jersey, April 26, 
1835. He came west during the war and located in Portland, but afterward 
went to Idaho, where he followed mining. Subsequently he became a resident 
of San Francisco, where he was agent for the New York Life Insurance Com- 
pany, remaining there until his death, which occurred in 1878, his remains be- 
ing brought back to Salem, Oregon, for interment. On the 8th of December, 
1871, in Portland, he had wedded Alice M. McCully and they became the par- 
ents of three children, of whom Dr. Clarence Crane, of Boston, is the eldest. 
He married Miss Stella Howard and they have two children, Calista and Will- 
iam. Dr. Crane is a graduate of the Boston University of Medicine and is 
surgeon in a hospital of that city. Ethel L. Crane became the wife of P. P. 
Dabney, of Portland, and they have a daughter, Alice M. William B. Crane, 
of Portland, married LilHan Lewis and they have two children, Walton B. and 
Ethel L. Linnie M. McCully, who was born in Oregon, was married at Salem, 
November 8, 1877, to Allen B. Crossman, of Portland, who was born in Harris- 
burg, Pennsylvania, June 7, 1846. Coming west in 1863, he located at Salem, 
where he engaged in merchandising for a number of years, but is now engaged 
in the timber land business in Portland. He served as postmaster in Salem and 
filled the same position in Portland for five years. Unto him and his wife have 
been born three children. Alice L. is the wife of William W. Harder and they 
have an adopted daughter Helen. Lillian, of New York city, is an opera singer, 
and Allen B. died at the age of nineteen years. John D. McCully is the owner 
of a large, fine apple ranch at Hood River, Oregon. He married Lillian Patten, 
whose father was a pioneer settler of this state, and they have two children, 
Eula F. and Russell A. A. L. McCully, the youngest of the family, is in the 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 87 

railway mail service. He married Ella Dearborn and they have one child, 
Sarah. 

Mr. McCully was a citizen of considerable prominence in Salem, not only 
by reason of the extent and importance of his business interests but also by 
reason of his activity in republican circles and his stalwart support of what he 
believed to be for the best interests of the community. He was serving as a 
member of the city council of Salem at the time of his death, and about 1863 
he was sent as a representative from Linn county to the state legislature. He 
was a warm personal admirer of Abraham Lincoln and was ever a stalwart 
advocate of republican principles. His fraternal relations were with the Masons 
and he was an exemplary member of the craft, which is based upon a belief in 
the brotherhood of man and the fatherhood of God. Oregon has reason to rec- 
ognize the worth of his work, for at all times his labors were an element in 
public progress as well as a source of individual success. 



JOHN MATTHIESEN. 

John Matthiesen, proprietor of the Hotel Matthiesen at the corner of Madi- 
son and Front streets in Portland, has been conducting this hotel since 1905, 
but long prior to that date became a factor in the hotel life of the city, having 
previously been proprietor of the Hotel Zur Rheinpfaltz at the southwest cor- 
ner of Front and Madison streets. As the name indicates, he is of German 
lineage. He was born in the northern part of Germany February 3d, 1857, ^^^ 
was there reared to the age of sixteen years when he came to America, settling 
first in Clinton, Iowa, where he took up farming. He made the journey to the 
new world with his brother Thomas, who remained a resident of Iowa, but in 
1878 John Matthiesen continued his westward journey to San Francisco. There 
having become a cook, he followed this work continuously until he arrived in 
Oregon, where he took up a homestead on the Tualitin river, eighteen miles 
from Portland. 

He devoted the succeeding two years to farming when his funds became 
exhausted, and writing to his brother Thomas, the latter came from Iowa and 
purchased the claim. John Matthiesen then removed to Portland and worked 
in different hotels until 1887, when he established the old Hotel Rheinpfaltz at 
the corner of Front and Main streets. This was a little two story brick struc- 
ture, adequate however, to the demands of a city which in size and population 
bore little resemblance to the Portland of today. In 1890 he removed to the 
northwest corner of Front and Madison streets and in 1895 established the 
Hotel Matthiesen. He also owns the Harrison Hotel at the corner of Front 
and Harrison, which he leases. Success has attended his efforts during his 
residence in Portland, and has resulted from his close application, his unfalter- 
ing energy and his determination. As the years have passed he has steadily 
progressed toward the goal of prosperity. In 1891 he returned to the father- 
land for a visit, accompanied by his family, and spent five months in Europe, 
not only visiting his birthplace and the scenes of his youth, but also many 
points of interest in the old world. 

Mr. Matthiesen was married in Portland in 1883 to Miss Albina Hoehler, 
and unto them were born two children, Edward and William. The wife and 
mother died in 1895, and in 1898 Mr. Matthiesen married Miss Meta Winters. 
They have one son, Walter. Mr. and Mrs. Matthiesen and his son Edward 
have recently returned from a motor trip in Europe. Mr. Matthiesen is an 
enthusiast on the subject of motoring, and is the owner of three high grade cars. 
He and his wife and son William are all members of the Portland Automobile 
Club and Mr. Matthiesen also belongs to the Arion Singing Society, to the 
German Aid Society and the Knights of Pythias fraternity — associations which 



88 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

indicate much of the nature of his interests. He is never neglectful^ of the 
duties of citizenship and cooperates heartily in the movements of the Chamber 
of Commerce for the benefit and upbuilding of Portland. His political allegi- 
ance is given to the republican party. He has been honored with offices in sev- 
eral of the societies to which he belongs and is a citizen of whom Portland is 
proud because of what he has accomplished. 

His life has been characterized by steady advancement. His youth was 
passed amid most unfavorable circumstances. The financial conditions at home 
were those of poverty and at the age of nine years he faced the necessity of 
providing for his own support. His educational opportunities were limited to 
one or two months' attendance at the district schools during the winter seasons, 
but after he was nine or ten years of age this privilege was denied him, owing 
to the necessities of the case. He worked upon farms in the neighborhood of 
his home and the last year of his service in Germany brought him only six dol- 
lars and a suit of clothes. It is no wonder then that he desired the opportun- 
ities of the new world and was buoyed up with the hope that he might find bet- 
ter conditions in this country. While success is not to be had for the asking in 
America, he early learned that "labor is king" in this country, and closely ap- 
plying himself to whatever task came to his hand he has gradually climbed the 
ladder of success until he now stands among Portland's men of affluence. 



JAMES THOMAS BARRON. 

James Thomas Barron, president and general manager of the Thlinket Pack- 
ing Company, has been actively associated with Portland's commercial interests 
continuously since 1887. He was born at Cleveland, Ohio, July 8, 1858. His 
father, James Barron, born in 1828, was a native of Clonmel, County Tipperary, 
Ireland, and came to America when six years of age. After entering business 
life he owned and operated for a time boats on the Erie canal and also engaged 
in the ship chandler business at Cleveland, Ohio. In the early '60s he came to 
the Pacific coast, locating in San Francisco, where he was identified with the 
steamship and warehouse business for many years as owner of steamships and 
an extensive system of warehouses, and was prominent in transportation inter- 
ests. He was married in Detroit, Michigan, in 1852, to Agnes Myler, a daughter 
of Andrew Myler. She was a native of County Wexford, Ireland, where she 
was born in 1834, coming to America when but three years of age. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barron became the parents of eight children, two sons and six daughters, 
seven of whom survive. The father died in San Francisco, November 28, 1890, 
while the mother survived him twenty years, her death occurring February, 1910. 

James Thomas Barron was educated in the public schools of San Francisco, 
and St. Mary's and Santa Clara Colleges. After leaving school he began as an 
accountant with a San Francisco mercantile establishment, where he remained 
for a short time, when he went to Santa Barbara to engage on his own account 
in the apiary business and later became largely interested in real estate. 

In 1887, on coming to Portland, he accepted a position as accountant with 
Park & Lacy, dealers in machinery, and continued in that connection for two 
years. He was next appointed chief clerk of the thirteenth light house district, 
serving in that capacity until his resignation in 1893 to accept the dual office of 
cashier and secretary of the newly organized Hibernia Savings Bank, and he was 
largely instrumental in bringing it safely through the financial panic of that 
time. The following seven years were devoted to the interests of this institu- 
tion, which was developed during the period into one of Portland's soundest 
financial organizations. 

In 1899 Mr. Barron began in the salmon packing business, organizing the 
Thlinket Packing Company, of which he became president and general manager 




JAMES T. BARKON 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 91 

and of which he is the chief owner. The company operates in Alaska and has 
become the largest independent operator in Alaskan waters, the annual pack 
aggregating about one hundred and twenty thousand cases, representing a total 
value of over one-half million of dollars. Mr. Barron spends a large part of 
each season in Alaska, giving the business his personal supervision, and the com- 
pany's splendid success is due largely to his executive ability and energetic 
management. Portland receives the direct benefit of over two hundred thousand 
dollars worth of business annually, largely for labor, supplies, etc. 

Mr. Barron is still largely interested as a stockholder in the Hibernia Sav- 
ings Bank. Politically, he is a democrat where national issues are involved but 
locally gives his support to the individual he deems best equipped to conserve 
the city's interests. He is a member of Dominican Catholic church, is a mem- 
ber of the Knights of Columbus, the United Artisans, the Arlington Club and 
the Commercial Club, taking an especially active interest in the projects of the 
latter organization for the development of Portland's commercial interests. 

In July, 1890, Mr. Barron was united in marriage to Elizabeth Nixon, and 
they have two children, Anna Maria and Robert J. The family residence is at 
634 Wasco street. Mrs. Barron is the daughter of Robert and Anna (Hogan) 
Nixon, both natives of Ireland, who came to America in childhood and were 
married in Massachusetts. Robert Nixon was killed while serving with a New 
Hampshire Volunteer Regiment in the Civil war. Mrs. Nixon still survives and 
resides with Mr. Barron in Portland. 

Genial, generous, prosperous Mr. Barron has through sheer ability achieved 
a most gratifying success and has earned a most enviable place in both the busi- 
ness and social circles of the metropolis of the northwest. 



OTTO KLEEMANN. 



Otto Kleemann, an architect and builder, whose training came to him through 
the instruction of men prominent in the profession in Germany, and who, in 
his business career has given ample proof of his own skill and ability, has been 
a resident of Portland since September, 1880, at which time he left California to 
become a resident of Oregon. He was born in Ostrowo, Germany, March 13, 
1855, and pursued his education in common schools there, while later he attended 
a technical school at Holzminden, and also a college in his native town. He 
received his diploma in recognition of the highest standing in scholarship made 
by any student in the college in twenty-five years. He began his education when 
not quite four and one half years of age, and had completed his school life 
when sixteen years of age. He then came to America, crossing the Atlantic in 
September, 1871, and making his way to San Francisco by way of the isthmus 
of Panama. He was unacquainted with the language and customs of the Ameri- 
can people and at first it was difficult to get steady work, but later was employed 
by several architects and spent nine years in California. 

On the expiration of that period Mr. Kleemann came to Portland, arriving 
here in September, 1880, at which time he became a draftsman in the employ of 
the firm of Clark & Upton, with whom he remained for several months. He 
was afterward employed by Justus Krumbein, an architect, with whom he con- 
tinued for several months, when in his professional capacity he became con- 
nected with the Oregon Railway and Navigation Company, continuing there- 
with for thirteen months. During that time he was associated with the work 
of building their shops at Albina, and later he embarked in business on his own 
account. This was the year 1882, and through the intervening period to the 
present time his has been a very busy and useful life, for he rapidly worked his 
way upward in his profession. He has done much railroad work, even after 
leaving the employ of the Oregon Railway and Navigation Company, and al- 



92 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

though not a Catholic in reHgious faith, he has been awarded the contract for 
erecting nearly all of the Catholic churches that have been built in Portland since 
his arrival. He has also put up many fine residences, which are a monument to 
his skill, ability and progressive spirit. He erected the monastery at Mt. Angel, 
has also built many convents, and has done much important work for the different 
Catholic organizations, his promptness in executing contracts and the reliability 
of his workmanship bringing to him the extensive patronage which is accorded 
him. 

In 1877 Mr. Kleemann was married in San Francisco to Miss Anna Gehlich, 
and they now have two living children, Hugh, a mechanical draftsman in the 
electrical engineering department of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company, 
and Qara, the wife of Peter L. Cover, by whom she has one child, Carl. The 
son is also married. Mr. and Mrs. Kleemann lost another son, William, who 
was drowned at Newport while bathing in the Pacific Ocean in 1904, when 
twenty-three years of age. 

Mr. Kleemann is the grand adjutant of the Indian War Veterans of the 
North Pacific Coast, and has occupied the position continuously since 1895. He 
is also regent of Multnomah Council No. 1481 Royal Arcanum ; is president of 
the Consolidation of German Speaking Societies of Oregon; is a life member 
of the German Aid Society; and a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is 
interested in different organizations which have for their object the benefit of 
mankind, and thus has become identified with societies which recognize the 
truth of universal brotherhood. His life record has been a credit to the land of 
his birth and the land of his adoption. He feels that he made no mistake in com- 
ing to America in early manhood, for he here found the business opportunities 
which he sought, and which in time have brought him to a prominent position 
in professional circles. His ability enables him to speak with authority upon 
many subjects connected with the profession of architecture. 



CARL GRITZMACHER. 

Carl Gritzmacher has been a resident of Portland for over forty years and 
although formerly closely identified with business affairs and public interests, 
is now living retired. He was born in Prussia, Germany, near Berlin, on the 
15th of January, 1848, and is a son of August and Henrietta Gritzmacher. 
The mother died in Germany and the father spent his last years in Illinois 
where he had carried on business as a contractor. 

Carl Gritzmacher began his education in the schools of Germany, but when 
eleven years of age came to the United States with his father, brothers and 
sisters. They landed at New York and at once resumed their westward jour- 
ney with Chicago as their destination and the father there took up the busi- 
ness of contracting and building. He was influenced in his choice of a location 
by the fact that his brother Carl was residing there. Later the family removed 
to a farm in the southern part of Illinois where the death of August Gritz- 
macher occurred about a year later. 

Carl Gritzmacher returned to Chicago after his father's death. During his 
residence there he had attended school and later had learned the carpenter's 
trade under his father's instruction. He remained a resident of Chicago until 
1869 and then came to the west, remaining on Puget Sound for one summer, 
while the year 1870 witnessed his arrival in Portland. General Solomon, who 
was appointed Governor of Washington territory by President Grant, was a 
friend of Mr. Gritzmacher and induced him and a number of other young men 
to come to the west. All located in Washington with the exception of Mr. 
Gritzmacher and Peter Hagner. After coming to Portland the former fol- 
lowed carpentering and finally became a contractor, remaining in the employ 
of others, however, for two years. He has been connected with the erection of 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 93 

many prominent buildings here. He worked on the Central schoolhouse, the 
first large schoolhouse of the city, he and Mr. Hatfield taking a subcontract 
from the regular contractor. 

In 1874 he accepted a position on the police force and was a member of the 
force at intervals for about twenty-seven years. He held every office in con- 
nection with the department, including that of captain of detectives, and was 
advanced from the position of captain of police to chief of police by Mayor 
Lane in 1905. He assumed office about the time the Lewis & Clark Exposi- 
tion was opened and continued to act in that capacity until July, 1909, his serv- 
ices being entirely satisfactory. At the time of the exposition when large 
crowds were in the city he managed the public interests in a most capable way, 
directing the labors of his subordinates so that accidents were avoided, lawless- 
ness and crime largely diminished, while courteous attention was always given 
to the requests of visitors for information. Mr. Gritzmacher has been a sturdy 
republican since attaining his majority but has served more frequently under 
the democratic administration than the republican, a fact which indicates the 
confidence reposed in him and his fidelity to the public trust. 

On the 4th of January, 1874, in this city, Mr. Gritzmacher was married to 
Miss Mary Pape, a daughter of Bernard and Dorothy Pape, who came to Port- 
land from Illinois in 1870. Mr. and Mrs. Gritzmacher are now the parents of 
two sons, August B., who is engaged in the lumber business in Portland, and 
Charles H., who is in the railroad service. 

Mr. Gritzmacher is a member of the German Aid Society and was one of 
the charter members of the Turners. He was also connected with several other 
German organizations but has discontinued his connection with most of these. 
He purchased his present home, at the corner of Taylor and Tenth streets, in 
1877 and has occupied it since 1878, building a fine house which is celebrated 
for its hospitality cordially extended to the many friends of the family. 



GEORGE HENRY YOUNG. 

George Henry Young is the owner of valuable farming property near Van- 
couver, and his life is indicative of the opportunities that are afiforded in 
America to the sons of Germany and of other European lands ; young men 
whose enterprise and courage enables them to meet conditions in a country with 
whose language and customs they are unfamiliar. He was born in the province 
of Hesse, Germany, December 7, 1833, and has therefore reached the age of 
seventy-seven years. His youthful days were spent upon a farm and in June, 
1864, he came to the United States. He had previously heard of the west and 
its almost limitless opportunities, and he made his way direct to Vancouver, 
where he arrived on the 12th of July, proceeding by boat from Panama. Here 
he was met by his brother Antone, who had sent for him. This brother was 
one of the pioneers of the district and continued his residence here until his 
death in 1905. He was the owner of a brewery and had admitted George H. 
Young to a partnership. They operated the brewery together for some time, 
built additions thereto and conducted a successful business until 1871, when 
George H. Young sold out to his brother. 

Returning to Germany he was there married to Miss Katherine Young in 
December, 1871, and with his bride returned to Clarke county where he took up 
farming on the Lakamas river, residing there until 1882. In that year he pur- 
chased one hundred and ninety-one acres on the Burnt Bridge road known as 
the Lewis F. Durgin donation claim. He still owns the other ranch of two 
hundred and sixty acres on the Lakamas which he cleared and improved and 
has also put all the improvements upon the Durgin ranch, clearing fifty acres 
of this. He now has a well developed property, ten acres being in prunes, while 



94 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

he is also engaged quite largely in raising hay and grain, and is likewise suc- 
cessfully conducting a dairy business. Since 1890 his son and daughter have 
been in charge of the Lakamas ranch. His farming interests are most capably 
managed and he is now one of the prosperous agriculturists of the country, 
his holdings being extensive, and his well developed and carefully cultivated 
properties are returning to him a substantial income. Since coming here he 
has helped to clear seventy acres of land from the forest and stumps, convert- 
ing it into cultivable fields, and thus has contributed largely to the progress 
made along agricultural lines. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Young were born eleven children, of whom seven are 
yet living: Louis C, operating the Lakamas ranch; Lizzie, a teacher of 
Qarke county ; Betta, with her brother Louis on her father's ranch ; Henry, 
who married Altha Brown and is employed by the Deschutes Railroad at 
Clarke Station ; Katherine, Gustave and May, all yet at home. The wife and 
mother died in May, 1908, her death being deeply regretted by many friends 
as well as her immediate family. 

Mr. Young has served as school director of his district and has ever borne 
a helpful part in the work of general progress and improvement. He has aided 
in laying out the roads and in doing all of the work that is so necessary in the 
settlement of a new country where all of those things recognized as public util- 
ities must be put in by the early settlers. While he has reached the age of 
seventy-seven years he is still an active man, giving personal supervision to his 
farming interests, and his has been a well spent life, his activity and enterprise 
being the source of his present success. 



SAMUEL D. FRANCIS. 



The great state of Oregon is a monument to the pioneer settlers and those 
who in later years have been active factors in its development. No period of 
early times witnessed the arrival of so many emigrants to the northwest as did 
the year 1852. It was then that S. D. Francis crossed the plains. He was bom 
in Massachusetts in 1814, but left the. old Bay state when about fourteen years 
of age and went with his parents to Vermont. He attended school in both 
states and when still in his minority engaged in the dry-goods business, owning 
a share in a store in the Green Mountain state. 

While still residing there Mr. Francis was united in marriage to Miss Eliza- 
beth Stevens, who was born in Barnard, Vermont, in 1819. They began their 
domestic life in that state and remained there until 1846, when they removed 
to Illinois, settling about a mile from Geneva, on the Fox river. Mr. Francis 
purchased a farm there, hoping that the outdoor life would prove beneficial to 
his health, the impaired condition of which was the cause of his removal from 
New England. Not long afterward, in 1852, Mr. Francis came over the plains 
to Oregon and settled near Oregon City, where he established a nursery. He 
was also connected with Abernethy's wholesale dry-goods store at Oregon City 
in the capacity of bookkeeper and later he was appointed to the position of 
postmaster there. He also opened a business of his own in Oregon City, but 
as Portland grew and eclipsed the former town he sought the opportunities here 
offered and opened a grocery store on Third street, at the corner of Taylor. 
After conducting the business for a time his health again failed and he removed 
to Mount Tabor about fifty years ago, purchasing the Dr. Nelson place. After 
taking up his abode there he retired from active business life. He remained a 
resident of that locality up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1892, 
his remains being interred in Lone Fir cemetery. His wife survived him for 
about eleven years, passing away in 1903. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 95 

In the family of Mr. and Mrs. Francis were eight children: Albion L., 
now deceased ; Marion, who became the wife of Rodney Tompkins ; Henrietta, 
who married James A. Smith, but both are now deceased; Clarence A., who 
has passed away; Ida, the wife of William Woodruff, of Mount Tabor; Es- 
taven, of southern Oregon ; Alcion, of Portland ; and Dora, the widow of Judge 
Arthur Frazer. Mr. and Mrs, Francis were long earnest and devoted members 
of the Methodist church, reared their family in that faith and their children 
have become identified with the same denomination. Mr. Francis took a very 
active part in church work and was, indeed, a consistent Christian man. 

We are indet)ted to Mrs. Tompkins, the eldest daughter, for the record of 
her esteemed parents, who were long numbered among the worthy pioneer peo- 
ple of this locality. Mrs. Tompkins largely spent her girlhood in Oregon and 
in Portland became the wife of Rodney Tompkins, who was born in Lima, 
Ohio, on the 27th of June, 1845. His parents were Daniel D. and EHzabeth 
(Dutton) Tompkins, early settlers of Lima, who came to Oregon over the 
plains with ox teams in 1847. They settled at Oregon City and Mr. Tompkins 
established a nursery near there. Both he and his wife died in that locality. 
Rodney Tompkins attended school at Oregon City and afterward worked on 
his father's fruit farm. About 1870 he took up his abode in Portland, where 
he engaged in the newspaper business for a number of years, but at the pres- 
ent time he is employed by the city. It was on the i6th of November, 1876, 
that he wedded Marion Francis and unto them have been born two children, 
Lloyd F. and Elizabeth. The former married Bessie Howlenstein and has three 
children, Marion, Ewing and Rodney. Both Mr. and Mrs. Tompkins are rep- 
resentatives of old pioneer families and are well known in this part of the 
state, where practically their entire lives have been passed. 



SAMUEL M. MEARS. 



Varied and important are the business enterprises which claim the atten- 
tion and profit by the cooperation of Samuel M. Mears, and his life history is 
such as serves as an inspiration to those whose progress in the business life 
must depend upon their own efforts, for it has been through the simple weight 
of his character and ability that Mr. Mears has reached his present prominent 
position in commercial and financial circles. He is now the president of the 
Portland Cordage Company, and is identified with many other business con- 
cerns which are factors in the business development and consequent growth and 
prosperity of the city. 

A native of Wisconsin, Mr. Mears was born in Madison, June i, 1856, and 
was there reared and educated supplementing his early school training by study 
in the University of Wisconsin, which he left at the age of seventeen years to 
become a factor in the business world and work his way upward by his own ex- 
ertions and close application. 

Mr. Mears was still but a boy in years when he went to San Francisco, 
where he entered the office of the West Coast Furniture Company, spending 
four years in their employ. On the expiration of that period he came to Port- 
land where he has lived continuously since 1878. For about a year he was as- 
sociated with the Frank Brothers Implement Company and then entered the 
Ladd and Tilton Bank as exchange clerk. His ability soon won him recog- 
nition and he was promoted to the position of bookkeeper. Constantly seeking 
broader opportunities, he left the bank and entered the service of the United 
Carriage Company, of which he is now the president. After two years he be- 
came connected with the Portland Flouring Mill Company as manager of their 
mill at Dayton, Washington, and subsequently assumed charge of the Tacoma 
mill. Extending his efforts to other fields from time to time, in 1892 he be- 



96 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

came connected with the Portland Cordage Company, which was organized in 
1887 by W. B. Ayer, W. L. Ladd, Henry Faihng and H. W. Corbett. This 
company is engaged in the manufacture of rope, twine, cordage, etc., and em- 
ploys one hundred and fifty men in the Portland factory. They have also es- 
tablished a large branch in Seattle, Washington, where employment is afforded 
about seventy workmen. In 1896 Mr. Mears was chosen president of this 
company, and has since bent his energies to administrative direction and exec- 
utive control. His carefully formulated plans are promptly executed and re- 
sult in successful management. The interests already mentioned, however, do 
not comprise the extent of his business activities, for he is now president of the 
Linnton Realty Company of Portland, president of the Columbia Manufactur- 
ing Works, president of the United Carriage Company, and a director of the 
Equitable Savings and Trust Company. 

Mr. Mears was married in Portland in 1883 to Miss Laura Violet Savier, 
a daughter of Thomas Savier, one of Portland's pioneers. Mr. and Mrs. Mears 
are the parents of five children: Henry, Arthur, Maxwell, Margaret and Vir- 
ginia. The family is prominent in social circles of the city, and Mr. Mears is 
to some extent a leader in political activity and in 1906 was elected to the state 
legislature. His time and energies, however, are largely occupied with his 
business affairs. 

Not by leaps and bounds has he reached his present position, but by that 
steady progression which indicates the wise use of every moment and the in- 
telligent direction of effort. Moreover, in his later years, since he has come to 
positfons of active management, he has displayed marked ability in coordinat- 
ing forces and bringing seemingly diverse arrangements into a harmonious 
whole. His attitude is never that of an overbearing task master — he believes 
in the equitable adjustment of interest between employer and employee, and in 
the past years has conducted his business affairs in a manner that has been 
just to those who represent him, and at the same time has brought him the sub- 
stantial and merited rewards of his labor and his business ability. 



REV. GEORGE H. ATKINSON, D. D. 

In the middle of the nineteenth century there came into Oregon from the 
east many people who as builders of the state have left their impress indelibly 
upon its history. Not all who came sought personal benefit from the utilization 
of the natural resources here afforded. They did not seek to make their own 
the rich mineral deposits, the fine forests and the productive lands, capable of 
high cultivation in both cereals and fruit; there were those who were actuated 
by the high purpose of bringing the Christian religion to the native sons — the race 
of red men who had long dominated the region — also to the early pioneers 
among the white race who were here building the commonwealth which is today 
the great state of Oregon. To this latter class belonged Dr. George H. Atkinson 
and while others cultivated the fields, he planted the seed in the hearts of men 
that bore fruit in good deeds, kindly actions and generous purposes. 

A native of Massachusetts, he was born in Newburyport, on the lOth of May, 
1819. After the period of early youth was passed he divided his time between 
the work of the farm and school teaching, being thus engaged until 1839. A 
young man of twenty, he then entered Dartmouth College and while pursuing 
his college course spent a portion of each year in teaching in order to defray his 
expenses. His literary course was made the foundation of special training for 
the ministry. He was for three years a student in the Andover Theological 
Seminary of Massachusetts, being graduated therefrom in 1846. Earnest, zeal- 
ous and conscientious, he was ready to accept any call which would give him 
enlarged opportunities in the field of Christian service. Following his graduation 




"'&■ 




^. 



-JrJL 






G. H. ATKINSON 



:?;? 



. /^•^'3vt 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 99 

he was appointed to do missionary work in the Zulu country of South Africa 
by the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. Upon the 
urgent sohcitation of the American Home Missionary Society his destination was 
changed to Oregon and after waiting for one year, which was spent in the 
Andover Seminary in making special preparation for Bible, school and tract 
work in Oregon — there being no opportunity to engage passage sooner — he left 
Boston on the ship Samoset, October 24, 1847. In February, 1848, he reached 
the Sandwich islands and after remaining at Honolulu for three months to 
secure a vessel bound for Oregon, he embarked upon the British vessel Cowlitz, 
a ship belonging to the Hudson Bay Company, and crossed the Columbia bar 
on the I2th of June, 1848. 

At that time it was believed that Oregon City would be the metropolis of this 
portion of the country and taking up his abode there, Dr. Atkinson remained foi 
fifteen years as pastor of the Congregational church at that place. During that 
period he was instrumental in securing the erection of a house of worship and 
also the Clackamas Female Seminary, which he provided with its corps of 
teachers. He also brought about the plans of the academy and college at Forest 
Grove and arranged that the work should be accomplished through the associa- 
tion of the Congregational church, which had been formed with reference to 
that work. This institution was incorporated by the first Oregon legislature in 
1849, and in 1852 Dr. Atkinson returned to New York and secured its adoption 
by the American College & Educational Society, thus obtaining the first funds 
to defray the expenses of teaching. At that time he purchased public-school 
books to the value of two thousand dollars and brought them to the territory and 
procured the establishment of a public-school system in 1849 by the state legis- 
lature, Governor Lane strongly recommending the measure in his first message. 
Dr. Atkinson was made the first school superintendent of Clackamas county and 
held the same position in Multnomah county for two terms following his 
removal to Portland in 1863. His efforts were extremely potent in building up 
the public-school system of this city. His was the pioneer movement in educa- 
tional work in this section of the state and his labors were along practical and 
resultant lines. 

On his removal to Portland Dr. Atkinson accepted the pastorate of the First 
Congregational church of Portland and remained in charge for nine years. In 
1872 he was employed as home missionary, being made superintendent of Oregon 
and Washington by the Home Missionary Society in 1880, in charge of the 
home missionary work of the Congregational churches for the state of Oregon 
and the territory of Washington. He never ceased from his labors, never grew 
weary of well-doing, but sought continually broadening opportunities whereby 
his labors might benefit his fellowmen along the lines of intellectual and moral 
progress. 

Dr. Atkinson was married in 1846 to Miss Nancy Bates, the wedding being 
celebrated in Springfield, Vermont. Unto them were born six children: Sophia 
B., now deceased ; Dr. George H. Atkinson, who was a physician and surgeon 
of Brooklyn, New York, until his death, on the 27th of December, 1884; Anna 
Sophia B., the wife of Frank M. Warren, of Portland; Edward M., a practicing 
lawyer of New York city; and Sarah Frances and Charles William, both of 
whom are now deceased. 

Dr. Atkinson continued a resident of Portland from 1863 until his death, 
which occurred on the 25th of February, 1889, at his home at No. 195 Salmon 
street. He had always been an earnest champ'on of Oregon and his enthusiasm 
concerning the state and its opportunities was contagious. During his frequent 
trips to the east he delivered many lectures concerning Oregon and also fre- 
quently contributed descriptive matter to the press. He was a believer in the 
northwest and its splendid opportunities and, feeling that Christian progress 
should go hand and hand with material development, he labored untiringly to 
promote the influence of higher living among the people of the state. He 



100 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

brought with him to this country in 1848 a metal or tin tube, with which for 
years he measured as accurately as possible, the rain fall of the Willamette 
valley, these being the first records kept. In 1862, through the courtesy of 
Captain J. C. Ainsworth, he visited Lewiston and Tapwaii stations, the latter 
on the banks of the Clearwater, where Father Spalding was laboring with the 
friendly Nez Perce tribe of Indians at the time of the Whitman massacre. It 
was here the first printing press in Oregon was used. While here Dr. Atkinson 
preached to a remnant of the tribe, who with their intelligent chief, Langer, 
still lived at Tapwaii. In making the journey from Lewiston to Walla Walla 
behind a mule team, he noticed moisture in this barren, sage-brush country as 
the mules lifted their hoofs, and from that time he talked, wrote and prophesied 
the great future of eastern Oregon and Washington as a wheat country, to be 
brought about first he believed by dry farming. So anxious was he to have the 
flora of Oregon described in some botanical work, that in October, 1865, he 
persuaded Professor Alphonso Wood, author of Wood's Botany, to return with 
him to Oregon and study as far as possible the flora of the country. Together 
they made the ascent of Mount Hood from the point later known as govern- 
ment camp. 

On the occasion of a public address at the dedication of the Congregational 
church in Tacoma, Washington, Edwin Eells said: "This tale of the historic 
beginning of Congregationalism would be far from complete if reference was 
not made to the first home missionary superintendent, the honored, reverend 
and much beloved Rev. George H. Atkinson, D. D. Indefatigable, earnest, kindly 
disposed, universally respected and beloved, he won the hearts of all. He 
stimulated the young and feeble organizations, gave hope and comfort to the 
discouraged, and in short made things go and go right. His travels over the 
territory were not in palace cars nor palatial steamboats but more often than 
any other way on the hurricane deck of the subdued cayuse pony or in the bot- 
tom of the highly scented canoe. His lodgings were not generally in the soft 
and comfortable bed of the hotel, but by the fireside of the humble pioneer he 
sat and conversed and went to rest in the same kind of straw-filled tick that the 
family had to use. But he was a true, polished Christian gentleman. Rarely is 
there found in the same person the courteous manner, the gentlemanly bearing, 
the genial temperament and the loving sympathy, combined with the indefatigable 
zeal, the indomitable perseverance and the heroic courage that won the respect, 
love and esteem of every one and gained the success that commanded the admira- 
tion of the entire community. Truly he was the apostle of Congregationalism 
in this state. His name will long be revered by all who knew him. His faith 
in the future was unbounded and his piety deeply sincere. He was the first 
home missionary sent out to this coast, arriving in Oregon City in 1848, and for 
a full generation was the mainstay of all the beginnings of Congregationalism 
both in Oregon and in Washington. When he passed away the denomination 
was desolate for he had excelled them all." 



JOHN EDRION FLYNN. 

The width of the continent separates John Edrion Flynn from his birth 
place, for he is a native of Connecticut and his natal year was 1850. His par- 
ents, John and Mary (Lynch) Flynn, removed from New Jersey to New York, 
subsequently becoming residents of Connecticut, during which period their son 
John was born, and later went to Massachusetts. Afterward they left the 
east and in 1856 became residents of Illinois, where they remained until 1859, 
when they went to Missouri. 

Up to that time John Edrion Flynn had accompanied his parents on their 
various removals, but while they were in Missouri he left home and in 1878, 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 101 

went to Colorado, settling at Leadville, where he followed mining for four years. 
He was also for a time in Silver City, New Mexico, where he acted as jailer of 
the Grant county jail and also as deputy sheriff. He then returned to Missouri 
and was married, after which he engaged in raising cattle and hogs. But the 
cholera broke out among his stock and so many died that he suffered greatly 
financially. In order to retrieve his lost possessions he sought the opportunities 
of the northwest, coming to Clarke county, Washington, in 1889. Here he 
located on railroad land, purchasing the title to it and continuing to occupy the 
place for fifteen years, or until he sold out. He then rented two hundred and 
forty acres of land at Grass Valley for three years, after which he leased about 
three hundred and twenty acres of the James Vernon ranch, twelve and a half 
miles east of Vancouver. He has since lived upon this place and is busily occupied 
with the duties of the farm, carefully conducting his interests in this connection. 
In 1907 he bought forty acres of land at Fern Prairie, which he rents to mem- 
bers of the family. 

In 1883 Mr. Flynn was united in marriage to Miss Rosie L. Wilson, of Mis- 
souri, and they have nine children, Orion, Cassius, John Edward, Margaret Jane, 
Donald McKinzie, Rose Amy, Theodore, Ivy and Mary Hannah, all yet at 
home. 



JAMES WILLIAM McKNIGHT. 

James William McKnight, a retired farmer of Portland, was born in Beards- 
town, Illinois, May 31, 1832. In that year the Black Hawk war was 
waged in his native state and forever set at rest the question of the supremacy 
of the white race over the broad prairies of Illinois. His parents were David 
and Matilda (Skidmore) McKnight, both of whom died in Iowa in the year 
1847. The father was a millwright by trade and about 1837 removed with his 
family to Iowa. James W. McKnight attended school in Burlington, Iowa, and 
after completing his education began work as a farm hand at a wage of ten 
dollars per month. Later he was paid eleven dollars per month, which was con- 
sidered a good salary at that time. In the winter, when the work of the fields 
was over, he engaged in cutting wood and was thus employed for about four 
years. From time to time stories came to the middle west concerning the op- 
portunities of the Pacific coast country and, attracted by tales of the advantages 
to be enjoyed on the western border of the country, Mr. McKnight started 
over the plains on the 15th of April, 1852. Seven days before he was married 
and the bridal trip of the young couple consisted of the long journey to Oregon 
in a canvas covered wagon drawn by oxen. They left their home, about nine 
miles north of Burlington, and traveled for six months in a train composed of 
twelve wagons under command of Captain Campbell Settle. They had some 
exciting experiences while on the way and there was considerable sickness 
among the party. They had to ford rivers and were constantly on the watch 
against possible Indian attacks. However, they finally reached The Dalles in 
safety on the nth of September and proceeded down the Columbia to the 
mouth of the Sandy river, where they took the teams again and traveled by 
wagon to Linn county. Mr. McKnight took up a donation land claim, about 
four and a half miles west of Lebanon, securing three hundred and twenty acres 
of land. On that place he built a clapboard shanty, in which he and his wife 
spent the first winter. The little building had no floor and they lived in truly 
primitive style, but were encouraged by the hope of having things better soon. 
The original furnishing of the cabin home was also of a most crude character. 
A box served as a chair for his wife, while he sat upon a bran sack. The table 
was a tool chest that an old friend had given him. They had a skillet and a few 
cooking utensils and Mrs. McKnight had a gift of a hen and some little chickens. 



102 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

They owned neither horses nor wagons when they went upon the farm and 
Mr. McKnight's cash capital consisted of about a dollar and sixty-five cents. 
This sum he was compelled to pay for nails with which to build the house, 
which was about sixteen feet square. The fireplace was made of mud and 
sticks. As soon as the house was completed he began making rails, having to 
go about four and a half miles to the timber in order to cut the trees. He 
worked for other people for four years, for he had no money with which to 
carry on the farm work on his own place or to provide for the household ex- 
penses before the farm became a source of revenue. The nearest neighbor was 
then about a half mile away. After living upon the claim for four years he 
became interested in the sawmill business, being associated with four other men 
in the operation of an old-fashioned sawmill run by water power. He con- 
tinued in that business for two seasons and made about fifteen hundred dol- 
lars. He then returned to the farm, upon which he built a small box house. 
Unlike his original cabin, this contained a plank floor. He occupied that house 
until about 1885 and during that period carried on general agricultural pur- 
suits in the summer, while in the winter seasons he operated the sawmill. After 
his boys were old enough to be of assistance to him he began raising wheat 
and engaged in that business extensively, producing about four thousand bushels 
annually. The farm thus became profitable and year by year his financial re- 
sources increased, so that the hardships and privations of early life here were 
utterly done away with and modern comforts were introduced into the home. 

About 1886 Mr. McKnight removed to The Dalles, where he lived retired 
for three years because of his health. He also sent his children to school there. 
In 1890 he became a resident of Portland, taking up his abode in the Stephens 
addition, where he made his home for ten years. Later he built his present fine 
residence at No. 715 East Ash street and in addition to this property he still 
owns his original donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres. 

As previously stated, before he started for the northwest Mr. McKnight 
was married. It was on the 7th of April, 1852, in Burlington, Iowa, that he 
wedded Miss Clarinda M. Wilson, a daughter of J. B. Wilson. She was born 
in Indiana, September 11, 1834. She shared with her husband in all the hard- 
ships of pioneer life and proved of much assistance to him in the work of the 
early days. She died April 15, 1910, on the fifty-eighth anniversary of the 
day on which they left Iowa for the northwest. Her remains were interred in 
Sandy Ridge cemetery in Linn county. She was the mother of seven children : 
James A., deceased; Frank E., of Vale; George W., who is engaged in the 
sheep business with his brother Frank at Vale; David B., who is assessor of 
Linn county ; Ida ; Roma J. ; and Winnie ; all at home. 

In politics Mr. McKnight has ever been a republican but aside from casting 
his vote in support of the candidates of the party has never taken any active 
interest in political matters. He is a member of the Pioneer Society. His life 
for many years was a most busy one, in which there were, indeed, few idle 
hours. He worked hard and persistently to gain a start and provide for his 
family and he deserves the success which is now his. 



CALVIN S. WHITE, M. D. 

Dr. Calvin S. White, secretary of the state board of health, with offices in 
the Dekum building in Portland, has practiced his profession in Oregon since 
1893. and has made his home in the Rose City since 1905. He was born in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1868, and is a son of Joseph White, a carriage- 
manufacturer, who later removed with his family to a farm in Lancaster 
county, Penns)dvania. There Dr. White was reared, meeting with the usual 
experiences that fall to the lot of the farm lad. He supplemented his early 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 103 

education acquired in the common schools by study in the FrankHn-Marshall 
College and then prepared for a professional career by a course in the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated with the class of 1891. 

Dr. White believed that the northwest offered a good field for the profes- 
sional labor of a young man, and made his way to Tacoma, Washington, where 
he opened an office in 1892. Afterward he came to Portland, where he was 
associated with Dr. Andrew Smith for a year, at the end of which time he re- 
moved to Gervais, Marion county, Oregon, where he practiced medicine until 
1905. He has since been located permanently in Portland, opening an office 
in the Dekum building. Here he has become well established in his profes- 
sion, being recognized as one of the leaders of the medical fraternity in this 
city. His ability is attested by the excellent results which follow his labors 
and his brethren of the medical profession also bear evidence to his skill arid 
ability. He is now secretary of the state medical society and of the Oregon 
State board of health — further proofs of his standing in his chosen calling. 
He belongs to the different medical societies and keeps in touch with the ad- 
vanced thought of the profession. While he does not quickly discard the old 
and time-tried methods, the value of which has stood the test of years, he is 
quick to adopt any new ideas which his judgment suggest as of real worth in 
the practice of medicine and surgery. 



JOSEPH T. ENNIS. 



Joseph T. Ennis has justly won the proud American title of "self-made 
man" and, moreover, his labors have contributed materially to the improvement 
and development of the city. He has operated largely in recent years as a spec- 
ulative builder, in which connection he has transformed unsightly vacancies 
into beautiful residence districts and is now engaged in this work as a member 
of The Harbke-Ennis Building and Investment Company. He has always lived 
upon the Pacific coast and the spirit of undaunted enterprise characteristic of 
the far west finds exemplification in his life. 

Mr. Ennis is a native of San Francisco, born December 13, 1872. His par- 
ents were Nicholas and Katherine (Cunningham) Ennis, the former a native 
of Nova Scotia and the latter of Ireland. The father learned and followed the 
wagon maker's trade and after living for some time in San Francisco removed 
about 1879 to the territory of Washington, locating at the town of La Center. 
The family alternated their time between Washington and Portland until about 
1903, when Joseph T. Ennis took up his permanent abode in this city. His 
parents are also living here. 

In the schools of Washington Joseph T. Ennis was educated and when but 
fifteen years of age began learning the carpenter's trade. About 1905 he be- 
came a contractor but before this had considerable experience as journeyman. 
He came to Portland in 1903 to work on the buildings of the Lewis & Clark Ex- 
position which were then in process of erection. This was the last work he 
ever did as journeyman. Becoming quite well known in Portland, he felt that 
his acquaintance was sufficient to justify him embarking in business on his own 
account and that his skill would enable him to retain a good patronage. He 
has largely been engaged on the building of dwelling houses in the Vernon Ad- 
dition. He has done most of his operations in building and selHng houses, hav- 
ing erected seventy-two there in the last three years. He buys the lots and 
erects houses for sale, making them thoroughly modern in design, architecture, 
style and equipment. His business partner in this enterprise is J. A. Harbke, 
and the company was incorporated under the name of The Harbke-Ennis Build- 
ing and Investment Company, with a capital of ten thousand dollars, and their 



104 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

efforts in this connection are proving a valuable element in the improvement 
of the section of the city in which they are operating. 

In 1893 Mr. Ennis was married to Miss Hattie Reed, and unto them was 
born a son, Leslie, now sixteen years of age. In 1907 Mr. Ennis was again 
married, his second union being with Hermenia Luginbuhl, a daughter of John 
and Josephine Luginbuhl. Mrs. Ennis is a native of Ohio and by a former mar- 
riage had a son, Myron, sixteen years of age, who is living with her and Mr. 
Ennis. 

The mother is a member of the Presbyterian church and Mr. Ennis holds 
membership with the Woodmen of the World and the Moose. In politics he 
is an independent democrat, for while he usually supports the party, he does 
not hold to blind party leading, but casts his ballot where his judgment dic- 
tates, voting for the candidates whom he thinks best qualified for office. In his 
business affairs he has displayed an initiative spirit and the power of organiza- 
tion, as well as of marked executive ability in controlling the efforts of those 
who work for him. What he undertakes he accomplishes, allowing no obstacles 
or difficulties to brook his path, if they can be overcome by persistency of pur- 
pose and honorable effort. 



OLIVER J. GROCE. 



Oliver J. Groce, who died in Portland, June 9, 1906, was born in Clarion 
county, Pennsylvania, March 24, 1855. His father, Jacob Groce, was a farmer 
by occupation and was of German descent, being numbered among the residents 
of the Keystone state known as Pennsylvania Dutch. A removal to the middle 
west when Oliver J. Groce was very young enabled him to pursue his studies 
mostly in Emmet county, Iowa. His father took up a homestead there and 
carried on general farming for a number of years, or until he came to Oregon 
in 1875. Portland was his destination, and after arriving in this city he located 
upon the east side and engaged in the dairy business. 

Oliver J. Groce was a young man of twenty years at the time the family 
came to the northwest. He was at first employed in Widdler's sawmill but soon 
afterward turned his attention to the retail grocery business, establishing and 
conducting a store at the corner of Seventeenth and Quimby streets. He was 
very successful from the outset and was continuously accorded a liberal patronage 
up to the time his health failed in 1905, when he sold out. Hoping to benefit 
by change of climate, he went to California but the hoped-for improvement did 
not come and he passed away on the 9th of June, 1906, his remains being interred 
in Lone Fir cemetery beside those of his first wife. 

Mr. Groce was married twice. His first wife was Orra Alida Barber, whom 
he wedded in Portland. She was born in Delavan, Wisconsin, September 9, 
1857, and died when twenty-eight years of age, leaving two children: Ernest 
C, now deceased ; and Julia M., the wife of Dr. Floyd Bird, who is coroner at 
Kelso, Cowlitz county, Washington. In Portland, March 4, 1887, Mr. Groce 
married Mrs. Anna Bennett, a sister of his first wife. She was born in Edgerton, 
Wisconsin, August 22, 1859, her parents being Welcome and Polly (Matteson) 
Barber. Her father was the youngest of a family of thirteen children and was 
named Welcome. He was born at Hopkinton, Rhode Island, July 22, 1825, and 
was descended from one of the Mayflower passengers. He was married May 3, 
1847, to Polly Matteson, a daughter of Peleg and Mary (James) Matteson. 
The mother was born at West Greenwich, Rhode Island, August 16, 1822. 
Welcome Barber left Rhode Island in 1854 and afterward lived at Delavan and 
Edgerton, Wisconsin, where he was employed in farming and brickmaking until 
1863, when he went to Iowa, reaching his destination after traveling for five 
weeks in a prairie schooner. He arrived in June following the passage of the 




0. J. GROCE 



\ 



h^^ ■ - ,..»_■ ..,^, 




.iji ■..'■: ■-■' • .... 


i 

: I 
" ii 

.1 



'■*-^-«i<,wi?r>^V3y^; — :i' 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 107 

homestead act and took up a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, and soon 
afterward secured another claim of one hundred and sixty acres by means of a 
soldier's land warrant which had been given his father for service in the war of 
1812. During the fourteen years of his residence in Iowa Mr. Barber was 
engaged in the grain and stock business, but the grasshoppers so destroyed the 
crops that he left that state and started for the far west, settling in Mount 
Pleasant, Washington, about fifty miles from Portland. He made the trip to the 
coast by way of San Francisco and for a number of years thereafter was a very 
successful farmer. He died at Mount Pleasant at the age of seventy years, 
nine months and nine days, and his wife passed away June 21, 1894. Their 
graves were made side by side in the Mount Pleasant cemetery, on land which 
he donated to the public for burial purposes. Their daughter, Anna, was 
married twice, her first husband being Marion Francis Bennett, who was born 
March 3, 1850, and died October 2, 1883. She was only nineteen years of age 
when first married, and she had one child by that union, Marion Clyde, who died 
February 2, 1906, when twenty-five years of age, and was buried in Lone Fir 
cemetery beside his father. Mr. Bennett was engaged in the stock and timber 
business, owning a ranch at Carrolton, Washington. His father in pioneer times 
lived at Carrolton, where he boarded the men who were employed on the con- 
struction of the Northern Pacific Railroad. Following the death of her first 
husband in 1883, Mrs. Bennett gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Groce on the 
4th of March, 1887, and unto them were born two children : Oliver J., who was 
born December 25, 1889; and John F., born August 11, 1894. All of the children 
of the Groce family have been provided with liberal educational advantages and 
are graduates of the Portland schools. ,,. •; ■;;;:;-;;.' 

Mr. Groce was a member of the Masonic fraternity and his funeral services 
were conducted by that order. He also belonged to the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen, the Modern Woodmen of America, and the Modern Brotherhood. 
His religious faith was that of the Methodist denomination, although he did 
not hold membership in the church. He gave his political allegiance to the 
republican party, was an active worker in its ranks and was much interested in 
its success. He was also a strong temperance man and did everything in his 
power to oppose the use of intoxicants. As the years passed by he prospered and 
became the owner of considerable property, having fifteen houses which he 
rented. He was thus able to leave his family a very comfortable estate. In 
business affairs he displayed a keen discernment, and his wise investments made 
him one of the substantial men of the city. In all business affairs he was 
thoroughly reliable, never taking advantage of another in any transaction, and his 
name thus became a recognized synonym of trustworthiness and reliability. 



ANDREW J. WATSON. 

Andrew J. Watson, coming to Portland as a youth of fourteen years, was 
identified with the early butchering interests of this city and for a long period 
was actively associated with business here, his life record proving that vim 
and vigor will eventually win victory. A native of England, Mr. Watson was 
born in Sussex, April 15, 1835. His father, John Watson, a carpenter of that 
country, spent his entire life there, and the mother also remained in England 
until her demise. Their son Andrew was a pupil in the public schools for a lim- 
ited period, but at the early age of eight years left home and lived with another 
family until fourteen years of age, when he came to America, settling at 
Chicago, where he had a brother, Alexander. He worked with his brother, who 
was a railroad man, and. realizing the deficiency of his own education, attended 
night school, thus qualifying for broader and more responsible duties than he 
could otherwise have performed. About 1849 he came to the Pacific coast, 



103 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

making the journey over the plains with ox teams, being influenced in this 
step by the fact that he had a brother who was engaged in the hotel business 
in Portland. It was a tiny little town but the hotel found its support from the 
people who traded here, all goods being brought in by vessel and sent out in 
the same manner. The whole town had but few streets near the river front 
and some of the districts, which are now most thickly populated, were covered 
with a dense forest growth. Mr. Watson entered the employ of Captain Ank- 
eny in a butcher shop and learned the trade. Later he went to Montana and in 
connection with Captain Ahkeny opened a shop at Helena, which was then a 
small mining town. He remained there for a number of years, at the end of 
which time he desolved partnership and engaged in business alone. He sent 
mules with packs into the mines, carrying supplies, and found a ready sale 
for the products. Later he sold out and returned to Portland. Prior to that 
time, however, he purchased a large tract of land in North Portland that has 
since been subdivided and laid out as Watson's addition. He was married 
shortly after returning here, built a house upon his land and took up his abode 
there. He had an extensive tract five acres of which he reserved for a home 
for himself. It was covered with timber but in time became very valuable as 
the district was settled. Again he became connected with Captain Ankeny in 
business. They built the Central market and carried on the enterprise together 
for a number of years, but at length dissolved partnership, Captain Ankeny 
continuing the business while Mr. Watson took charge of his estate. Upon his 
land he built a store which he conducted for five years, when he sold it to his 
brother-in-law, who in time disposed of the stock to Mrs. Watson, who still 
owns the building and other land. 

Mrs. Watson bore the maiden name of Ona Eddy and was born in New 
York, as were her parents, William L. and Mary (Sheldon) Eddy. In 1870 
Mrs. Watson came to Oregon with her brother, Pitt A. Eddy, a grocer of 
Portland, her parents having both passed away in the Empire state before she 
came to the west. The marriage was celebrated on the 2d of April, 1872, and 
Mrs. Watson has continuously resided in Portland, not only through the period 
of her married life but also for two years before, her residence here covering 
forty years. Unto Mr. and Mrs, Watson were born five children: Grace L., 
the wife of Dr. Arthur Vial of Portland, by whom she has three children, 
Louise, Marie and Robert; Dr. Alfred P. Watson, a dentist of Portland, who 
married Lelle Crosby; Ona R., the wife of J. H. Peterson, a real-estate man of 
Portland ; Jane, who died in childhood ; and one who died in infancy. 

The death of the husband and father occurred November 23, 1884, and his 
remains were interred in Lone Fir cemetery. He was a member of the Episco- 
pal church and a man of upright life, who was found ever reliable in business, 
progressive in citizenship and loyal to the ties of home and friendship. He 
deserved much credit for what he accomplished for he was practically dependent 
upon his own resources from the age of eight years, providing in large measure 
for his education as well as his self-support. His history proves that diligence 
and determination will come ofif conqueror in the strife with difficulties and 
hardships. 



A. B. HALLOCK. 



When Oregon City was a place of much more prominence than Portland, A. 
B. Hallock came to the northwest. He cast in his lot with the little village that 
stood on the west bank of the Willamette, and soon proved his worth as a factor 
in the business interests of the town. He became actively connected with the 
growth of the city as a surveyor and builder and retained his residence here 
for a quarter of a century, while within one of Portland's beautiful cemeteries 
his earthly remains now rest. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND , 109 

Mr. Hallock was born in Utica, New York, in 1826, a son of Dr. A. B. Hal- 
lock, who was a representative of an old Quaker family. After attending the 
schools of Utica for several years the son entered business circles as an ap- 
prentice to the cabinet-maker's trade and became a fine mechanic and also an 
expert draftsman, civil engineer and surveyor. The great unsettled west 
seemed to promise him opportunities along the line of his business, and in the 
year 1849 he made his way to the Pacific coast, over the water route and across 
the isthmus of Panama. He journeyed alone and when he reached Oregon 
proceeded at once to Oregon City, where he secured employment at his trade. 
Later he turned his attention to building and contracting and to him is due the 
distinction of having erected the first brick building on First street, Portland, 
its location being near Pine. Later he erected the Ladd & Tilton Bank build- 
ing and a number of other early prominent business blocks of the city. More- 
over in matters of public interest he took an active and helpful part and his 
labors were of distinct value to the city in many ways. He was a member of 
the early volunteer fire department and his foster daughter, Mrs. Cotter, has a 
fine silver trumpet made of fifty hammered silver dollars which was presented 
to him by the Multnomah Engine Company, April 2, 1862, after he had ef- 
ficiently acted as foreman of that company for five years. In addition to his 
other work in Portland he was one of the early surveyors of the city and laid 
out the Couch addition. 

In 1874 Mr. Hallock removed to Tillamook, where he lived retired. He 
purchased forty acres of land there, owning the present site of Ocean Park, 
now one of the attractive summer resorts on the sea coast. He resided there 
up to the time of his death, which occurred October 28, 1889, his remains being 
then brought back to Portland, for interment in Lone Fir cemetery. He had 
been reared in the faith of the Society of Friends, or Quakers, but never joined 
any church. His life, however, was actuated by high moral principles and he 
was in sympathy with all movements for the betterment of mankind. He pos- 
sessed a fine voice and sang in a number of churches. His political support 
was given to the democracy but he would never hold office except when he 
was a member of the city council for a few years. However, he always took 
an active part in politics and in fact was ever interested in all that pertained to 
the welfare and upbuilding of the community, cooperating in various projects 
for the material, intellectual, political, social and moral advancement of this 
city. 

In 1856 Mr. Hallock was married to Miss Mary T. Bliss, who was born 
in Providence, Rhode Island, in 1830, and when young went to Massachusetts 
to live. In 1855 she came to Portland where her sister, Mrs. Leland, was then 
residing. She died in 1863 and the two children of that marriage are both 
deceased. The son Edward reached the age of fifty years, passing away in 
1907, while the daughter Bessie died in infancy. They also had an adopted 
daughter, Annette B., who was born in Ashland county, Ohio, and in 1852 came 
to the west, settling in Portland. The trip over the plains had consumed all of 
the time between the ist of June and November. Here she became the wife of 
John Cotter, who was born at Whitehall, New York, on the 17th of March, 
1838. Lie came to the west when twenty-one years of age, making his way to 
the mines. He was a barber by trade, following that pursuit in Portland. It 
was in this city that they were married, March 31, 1868, and for twenty years 
they traveled life's journey happily together, but the death of Mr. Cotter oc- 
curred on the 7th of December, 1888, his remains being interred in Lone Fir 
cemetery. He, too, was a member of the volunteer fire department, No. i, 
and be belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Unto Mr. and 
Mrs. Cotter were born six children : Lillian, who is the wife of Mortimer 
Lawler, of Boston, Massachusetts, and has one son, Howard ; Harry A., of 
Spoknne. Washington; John F., of Seattle; Esther, the wife of Arthur B. Lo- 



110 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

der, of Chicago; Louise, at home; and one died in infancy. With the excep- 
tion of a period of six months spent in IndianapoHs, Mrs. Cotter has resided 
continuously in Portland since she came across the plains more than a half 
century ago, and has been an interested witness of its growth as it has been 
transformed from a small and enterprising town to the beautiful Rose City of 
the present day. 



PRESTON WILSON GILLETTE. 

There are those who have sung the praises and written of the glories of the 
northwest, its splendid forests and majestic rivers. No stronger tribute, how- 
ever, has been given than that of the pioneers who in their work of building an 
empire in this section of the country testified to their appreciation of nature's 
beauties and her bounty. It was they who in reality were the heralds of this 
land, proclaiming her riches and her advantages in the establishment of their 
homes here and their utilization of the opportunities offered. Prominent among 
this number was Preston Wilson Gillette, who on the 2d of June, 1825, was born 
in Rome township, Lawrence county, Ohio. His ancestral history proclaims the 
fact that at the time of the persecution of the Huguenots in France in the 
sixteenth century four brothers of the name emigrated to the colony of Connecti- 
cut and according to all information now available it is believed that all the 
Gillette families in the United States came from that stock. 

Captain Horatio Nelson Gillette, father of Preston Wilson Gillette, was born in 
Connecticut, January 5, 1799, and moved with his father to Ohio in 1816. Mr. 
Gillette said of his father: "He started for himself early in life as a boatman 
on the Ohio river. He first ran on keelboats before steamboats were introduced 
upon the river. He thoroughly learned the channels of the Ohio and Mississippi 
rivers and when steamboats came he was one of the best steamboat pilots on the 
rivers, and afterward was captain of steamers until he grew tired of the river 
and remained at home, devoting the remainder of his life to farming. He was a 
scientific and experimental farmer. He was a noted fruit grower and horticul- 
turist. He was the first to graft and introduce the famous 'Rome Beauty' 
apple, which is now so extensively grown throughout the west. There are more 
'Rome Beauty' apples grown and sold in the Mississippi and Ohio river valleys 
than all other sorts combined. He was considered by all who knew him as one 
of the most useful and intelligent as well as best of citizens. The whole com- 
munity was benefited by his practical and experimental knowledge. He was a 
sterling man, his character was without a blemish and above the reach of 
suspicion. His integrity was without reproach." In connection with a 
number of other leading citizens of his district he organized the first 
agricultural society of Lawrence county, Ohio, in 1847, ^^id was elected 
its first president. The organization is still in existence under the name 
of the Lawrence County Agricultural Society. Not only in connection with 
navigation and horticultural interests was Captain Gillette well known, but in 
public life as well he figured prominently, and was a member of the convention 
that assembled at Columbus, Ohio, in 1850 and framed the present constitution 
of Ohio. He died in Lawrence county, June 24, 1881. His wife, Sarah B. 
Wilson, was born in Virginia, November 21, 1804, and died in Lawrence county, 
Ohio, November 25, 1840. Preston W. Gillette had six sisters and one brother. 
Henry Clay Gillette, the only brother, enlisted in the Union army and after 
serving for two and a half years contracted consumption from exposure and died 
a few months later. 

Preston W. Gillette was educated in the common schools of his native town- 
ship, which he attended three, six or nine months in the year as opportunity 
ofl'ered, spending the remainder of the time in the cultivation of his father's 
farm. Subsequently he continued his studies at Clermont Academy. In his 




p. W. GILLETTE 



jiiW 



f 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 113 

diary in later years he wrote : "When I was a boy of twelve or fourteen years 
I heard my father reading a glowing letter from Astoria, Oregon, published in 
the New York Express describing the mild, beautiful and healthful climate, the 
elegant scenery, the great Columbia, the tall fir trees, the unsurpassed fertility 
of the soil and the brilliant and promising future of the wonderful country, and 
although but a boy this fired my brain and set me wild to go to Oregon. I tell 
this to illustrate how small a thing frames the destiny of a life and to illustrate 
what creatures of circumstances we are." Mr. Gillette never forgot this descrip- 
tion and for a number of years there lay dormant in him the desire to make 
Oregon his home until he had opportunity for the fulfillment of his hope. 

In the autumn of 1851, having determined to become a member of the bar, 
he went to Burlington, the county seat of Lawrence county, Ohio, and began 
reading law in the office of Colonel Elias Nigh, an attorney of that place. In 
the following February he read in a newspaper an account of an expedition fit- 
ting out for Oregon called the "Presbyterian colony," and extending an invitation 
to all persons of "good moral character" who desired to emigrate to that distant 
territory to join them. Mr. Gillette acted at once upon this invitation and 
immediately wrote to his father informing him of his determination to go to 
Oregon, and also to the Rev. A. J. Hannah, who was the prime mover in this 
enterprise. In a few days he received a very cordial letter from Mr. Hannah 
urging him to join the colony and appointing a meeting with him in Cincinnati 
on the 1 2th of March following. Mr. Gillette then closed his law books and 
returned home to make his preparations for the long trip to the west. His diary 
account of this is as follows: "On the i6th day of March, 1852, our party, 
consisting of Mr. Hannah and twelve or fifteen persons, took passage from 
Cincinnati on a comfortable steamer to St. Louis, Missouri. It was an elegant 
trip down the beautiful Ohio to its mouth and up the turbulent Mississippi to 
St. Louis. I enjoyed every moment of it as only a young, healthy, ambitious 
man could when just beginning the first grand enterprise of his life. I was full 
of hope, health and ambition ; I had cut loose from every friend and acquaintance 
and was just entering upon a new life, alone in the world, but I enjoyed it and 
felt more like a man than I ever had before. I liked my seeming freedom and 
independence. It aroused in me a self-reliance that I never before felt or con- 
ceived of. Our train consisted of twenty-two wagons with about sixty-five 
people, and we arrived in Oregon on the 15th of September, one hundred and 
thirty-four days from the date we started." 

On the 18th of February, 1853, ^^- Gillette walked from Newsom's mill in 
Marion county to Oregon City, and took passage on the little steamer Eagle to 
Portland, the fare at that time being three dollars. As a passenger on the 
steamer Lot Whitcomb, J. C. Ainsworth, captain, he went from Portland to 
Astoria, then containing less than a score of buildings. He concluded to settle 
in Clatsop county and purchased a place on the Lewis and Clark river six miles 
south of the town site. In May, 1853, he received three boxes of fruit trees, 
seeds and ornamental shrubbery from his father in Lawrence county, Ohio, 
which was the first importation of ornamental shrubbery in the territory. The 
box contained thirty or forty varieties of the best apples, several of which were 
not to be found on the coast, besides a general assortment of ornamental shrubs. 
There were also a number of varieties of roses and up to that time the Mission 
rose was the only one known in Oregon. From this stock has sprung a large 
proportion of the roses, shrubbery and other flowers and fruit which bloom and 
bear in such wonderful luxuriance in Oregon and adjacent states. The express 
upon the three small boxes in which the stock was packed amounted to one 
hundred and fifty dollars. In writing of this importation in his diary Mr. 
Gillette said : "It has always been a source of great pleasure to me to see where- 
ever I go on the coast, from Victoria to San Francisco, the ofifshoots of my 
importation. There is scarcely a yard or garden in Oregon, Washington or 
British Columbia or northern California in which there cannot be found some- 

6 



114 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

thing that sprang from the little stock first planted in my garden on the east 
bank of the Lewis and Clark river in Clatsop county. It makes me feel and 
realize that I have been of some use and have added to the comfort and pleasure 

of thousands of my fellowmen." 

In August, 1866, Mr. Gillette was appointed an "aid to the revenue," and 
stationed at Yaquina bay to report the departure and arrival of sea-going ves- 
sels and watch for smugglers. He wrote: "The only vessels that ever visited 
the port were two small oyster schooners, so I really had nothing to do." In 
1867 he sold his property on the Lewis and Clark river and removed to Portland, 
where as traveling agent and correspondent he entered the services of the Ore- 
gonian and began traveling over the state. In 1868 he was made collector and 
general business agent for the Oregonian, and so continued until 1872, when he 
severed his connection with the paper to engage in the real-estate business. In 
that field he was exceedingly prosperous. In 1873, because there were so many 
letters of inquiry from eastern states, Mr. Gillette procured money by sub- 
scription and employed W. L. Adams to write a pamphlet entitled "Oregon As 
It Is." In connection with the real-estate firm of which he was a member he 
published ten thousand copies and sent them through the eastern and western 
states. He wrote hundreds of letters in answer to inquiries ; he also requested 
that the letters sent to the railroad offices be given him, and spent much time 
and considerable money in answering them. Thus in exploiting the advantages 
of this district he did much for Oregon's upbuilding and many there are who 
name him as the influencing factor in bringing them to the northwest. He made 
his business his constant study and his judgment of real-estate values was 
always in demand. He was constantly receiving letters from brokers asking 
his opinion on values. He negotiated deals for General Sheridan and other well 
known men and conducted an extensive and profitable real-estate business in 
Portland. 

Mr. Gillette was reared in the faith of the whig party, of which his father 
was an advocate, and later on the organization of the republican party both 
he and his father joined its ranks. Aside from his service as a revenue officer 
he was in 1862 elected to the Oregon legislature from Clatsop county without 
opposition, receiving every vote cast in his district. In 1864 he was appointed 
collector of customs at Astoria and in the same year was elected to represent 
the three counties of Columbia, Clatsop and Tillamook in the legislature. While 
in the house he was the author of several important measures. Chief among 
these w^ere the bills framed by him which regulated pilotage at the mouth of 
the Columbia, resulting in the introduction of steam tugs to supersede the old 
schooners and establishing pilot rates. In later years, speaking of his connec- 
tion with these legislative enactments, he said : "I was so determined to have 
the steam pilot tug system established on the Columbia river that I went in per- 
son on horseback from the river to Olympia, through snow storms and rain, and 
remained until my bill was passed by the Washington legislature and signed by 
the governor." The measure was passed in less than two weeks and became a 
law of both Oregon and Washington. 

In 1888 Mr. Gillette was united in marriage to Miss Mary MacCabe, of 
Portland, Oregon. Their only child, a son, Preston W. Gillette, Jr., was born in 
Portland in January, 1893. Mrs. Gillette's parents w^ere natives of Kentucky 
and on removing to California about 1853, they took with them three negro 
slaves to the land of freedom that they might not be sold to strangers. In 1862 
Mr. MacCabe removed with his family to Jackson county, Oregon, where he 
died in 1867, and the following year his wife passed away, leaving a family 
of six young children, all of whom are still living with the exception of one. 

Mr. Gillette never associated with secret or other societies, nor was he a 
member of any church. His views on religion were broad, liberal and chari- 
table. His love of nature amounted to worship ; the trees, the woods, the moun- 
tains and skies w^ere a continual delight to him and although his eyesight from 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 115 

boyhood was very deficient, no new variety of plant or tree ever escaped his 
notice or was passed by until he had learned it thoroughly. He was a great reader 
and possessed a remarkable memory. His taste in literature led him to select 
only the best and when he read he did so understandingly. It is difficult to put 
into words the character of such a man as Mr. Gillette, but all who knew him 
recognized his absolute honesty, his abhorrence of anything false or superficial 
and his perfect trustworthiness. Throughout life his aims were toward the 
ideal. He was fearless in the discharge of duty and never disappointing in 
promise, while scheming, sharp practice and deceit were utterly foreign to his 
nature. He was by birth, practice and preference a gentleman, who always at- 
tended strictly to his own business ; he was careful, methodical and economical 
without being parsimonious. His long, industrious, frugal life was an open 
book, in which no one could find a single page on which there was anything that 
was not honorable, sincere and uplifting. In his family he was generous and 
free, a devoted husband and loving father. If there was any trait in his nature 
stronger than his love of nature and home, it was his loyalty. He was intensely 
loyal — to his city, his friends, his party, and above all to his country. There 
are many acts in his life which are tangible assets in the development of Oregon, 
while in other respects the worth of his labors is immeasurable for who can de- 
termine how far-reaching was the influence of the history of Oregon's resources 
which he sent out or the letters of inquiry which he answered? He realized 
that nature had done much for man in the northwest and that man might do 
much for himself. His contributions to civilization on the Pacific coast were 
large and his name is indelibly inscribed upon the keystone of Oregon's arch of 
fame. 



FRANCIS M. De LONG. 

Francis M. De Long, who for many years was identified with farming in- 
terests in Clarke county, Washington, continuing actively in business up to the 
time of his death, which occurred October 9, 1909, was numbered among those 
citizens who, while carefully conducting individual interests, were ever mind- 
ful of the duties and obligations which they owe to the general public. A na- 
tive of Indiana, he was born March 5, 1841. His youthful days were spent in 
the middle west and he had just reached his majority when he responded to the 
country's call for aid in the Civil war. He had in the meantime removed from 
Indiana to Illinois, and in the latter state he enlisted as a member of Com- 
pany E, Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry under the command of Captain 
M. Kenyon. With that regiment he went to the front and participated in a 
number of hotly contested engagements during the three years of his connec- 
tion with the army. He never faltered in the performance of duty, whether 
on the firing line or on the lonely picket line, and at the expiration of his three 
years' term was honorably discharged at White River, Arkansas. 

He then returned to his home in Illinois and later went to Missouri. Sub- 
sequently he became a resident of Riverton, Nebraska, where he lived for sev- 
enteen years, owning a section of land in that locality, but the west had fof 
him an irresistible attraction and he continued toward the setting sun, at his 
next removal having Salt Lake City as his destination. When he became a 
resident of St. Anthony, Idaho, he engaged in the hotel business, building the 
first hotel there at a cost of thirty thousand dollars. His daughter was also the 
first female child born in that town. There were only two houses when he went 
there and he aided materially in the upbuilding and improvement of the place. 
After conducting his hotel for six months he went out on a farm and carried 
on general agricultural pursuits there until his removal to Qarke county, Wash- 
ington, in December, 1892. Here he purchased one hundred and seventy-nine 



116 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

acres of land at Sifton, which is a part of the Richardson donation claim. This 
lies at the edge of the new town of Sifton and Mr. De Long continued its 
cultivation until his life's labors were ended. He carefully and systematically 
carried on farm work and his practical and progressive methods resulted in 
bringing him good returns. Prior to his death, however, he sold eighty-five 
acres of land. His farm was devoted to the production of hay and grain and 
since the death of Mr. De Long his widow has conducted the ranch, which now 
comprises ninety-four acres. Of this seventy-four acres have been cleared 
and put under cultivation, while the rest is in timber. 

It was on the 17th of June, 1888, that Mr. De Long was united in marriage 
to Miss Qara Newton, of Clermont county, Ohio, a daughter of Asa and Ann 
(Whiting) Newton. They became parents of two children, Lloyd and Lulu, 
both at home with their mother. By a former marriage Mr. De Long had five 
children, of whom one is living, Charles, who makes his home near Vancouver. 
Mr. De Long held membership with Lew Wallace Post, No. 115, G. A. R., of 
Orchards, and thus maintained pleasant relations with his old army comrades. 
Plis life record covered sixty-eight years and was a period of activity and use- 
fulness, crowned with a desirable measure of success. He was devoted to the 
welfare of his family and was faithful to his friends, and in matters of citizen- 
ship he also displayed an enterprising and progressive spirit. 



CHARLES W. POPE. 



Long years have passed since Charles W. Pope was numbered among the 
active business men of the Willamette valley. He is remembered, however, by 
many of the earlier settlers, for he was a man of strong individuality and 
marked characteristics and became widely known as a successful hardware mer- 
chant of Oregon City. A native of the American metropolis, Charles W. Pope 
was born in New York city on the 26th of September, 1833, and came of Eng- 
lish ancestry. His father, Charles Pope, was a native of England and follow- 
ing his arrival in the new world was married to Miss Sarah Archer, a native 
of New York. He continued his residence in the Empire state until he started 
for the west on one of the Abernathy ships which sailed around the Horn in 
1852. His destination was Oregon City, then a place of considerably more 
importance than Portland. There he opened a general store and spent the 
greater part of his remaining days in that place, although for a brief period he 
was a resident of Portland. However, he returned to Oregon City and in that 
picturesque town, situated at the falls of the Willamette, both he and his wife 
spent the remainder of their days. 

Charles W. Pope, the eldest of their seven children, attended the public 
schools of New York and was a youth of eighteen years when he accompanied 
his parents to Oregon. His initial connection with business life in this city 
was as assistant in his father's store, but later he took up river work, becom- 
ing purser of one of the steamboats on the Willamette. However, he again 
turned his attention to commercial pursuits, purchasing a store of Mr. Mill- 
wayne, one of the oldest hardware merchants of Oregon. From that time until 
his demise Mr. Pope was engaged in the hardware business in Oregon City 
where he carried a large line of goods and built up a substantial trade. The 
store is still owned by his widow and is conducted under the firm style of 
Pope & Company. 

Mr. Pope was married on the 14th of May, 1862, at Oregon City, to Miss 
Harriet E. Pease, who was born in the state of New York and was a daughter 
of Norman and Harriet (McAlHster) Pease, the former a native of Ohio and 
the latter of the Empire state. Mr. Pease died when his daughter, Mrs. Pope, 
was very young and her mother came to the west in 1862, spending her last 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 117 

days in Portland. Mrs. Pope made her way westward in 1861 to visit her 
brother, Captain George Pease, who was a pioneer settler here and became ac- 
quainted with Mr. Pope who sought her hand in marriage. They became the 
parents of four children : Ada, who is the widow of John H. Picket, and has 
two children, Frances and Katharine; Mary, the deceased wife of John H. 
Hemenway; Charles B., who has also departed this life; and Charles W., of 
Oregon City, who has charge of his mother's business there. 

In the year 1877 the family were called upon to mourn the loss of the hus- 
band and father who on the 22d of March of that year was drowned in the 
Clackamas river. His body was recovered and was laid to rest in the Oregon 
City cemetery. He was a republican in his political views but would never con- 
sent to hold office, feeling that his business afifairs claimed his entire time and 
attention. Fie enjoyed social relations with his fellowmen and held member- 
ship with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Oregon City. His religious 
faith was evidenced in his membership in the Methodist church which found 
him loyal and devoted to its interests and upbuilding. About 1880 Mrs. Pope 
removed from Oregon City to Portland where she has since made her home 
and here she has many warm friends. 



H. W. DAVIS. 



It has been said that there is always an element of lawlessness in a new com- 
munity before government becomes organized and law holds sway. But if this 
is true it is nevertheless as true that the majority of citizens in a new com- 
munity stand for law and order, for truth and progress, else the community 
would cease to enjoy growth and advancement. There would be nothing that 
would attract other settlers. H. W. Davis was of that class who ever upheld 
the legal and political status of Portland and advocated its intellectual, social 
and moral advancement and thus from early pioneer times until his death he 
was numbered among Portland's citizens of substantial worth. 

A native of Virginia, Mr. Davis was born on the lOth of February, 1813. 
The environment of his youth was that of the frontier and he enjoyed such 
educational advantages as the schools of that day afforded. After putting aside 
his text-books he learned the machinist's trade and became a well qualified 
workman, following that pursuit up to the time of his marriage. While still 
living in the east he was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary Wilkenson, who was 
born in Virginia, and remained a resident of that state until after the time of 
her marriage. She was born February 5, 1803. They began their domestic 
life in the place of their nativity, and six children had been born ere their re- 
moval to the west. At length, however, they decided to seek a home on the 
Pacific coast and traveled over the plains with ox teams, being six months on 
the way. It was a long and arduous trip, the story of which has never been 
adequately told, for only those who have had such experiences can realize the 
hardships of journeying over the prairies and across the desert and then climb- 
ing the mountains to descend again on the other side of the slope to the valleys 
of the Columbia and Willamette rivers. At length, however, the party reached 
Portland and Mr. Davis opened a machine shop in connection with David Mc- 
Masters at the corner of Third and Yamhill streets, where the old Baker Theater 
was later situated. Mr. Davis continued in that business for many years, secur- 
ing a growing patronage as the city developed but eventually sold out. His later 
years were largely devoted to office holding. He was elected justice of the 
peace and filled that position for over twenty years, his incumbency winning 
him the title of Judge Davis. His decisions were strictly fair and impartial 
for he carefully weighed the evidence in the case and correctly applied thereto 
the law which had reference to the points in litigation. 



118 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Davis were born twelve children : Cordelia, who be- 
came the wife of William Braden ; Sarah M., the wife of John Marshall, of 
Portland ; Eva, who married George Lawson but both are now deceased ; Anna, 
the wife of Lewis Fuller, of Portland; Mrs. Hattie Forsyth; Charles; Herman; 
Park ; Mrs. Ailice Foss ; Winfield and Irene, all of whom have departed this 
life ; and one who died in infancy. Mrs. Davis was called to her final rest on 
the 6th of February, 1853, at the age of fifty years, and the death of Mr. Davis 
occurred January 18, 1891, when he had reached the age of seventy-seven years, 
eleven months and eight days. He became one of the charter members of 
Samaritan Lodge, No. 2, I. O. O. F., in which he held all of the offices and was 
likewise a member of the encampment. His political support was unfalteringly 
given to the men and measures of the republican party, for he deemed its prin- 
ciples a valuable element in good government. His religious faith was that of 
the Methodist church and he was always loyal to its teachings. For many years 
he lived in Portland and the city recognized in him one who did not seek to 
figure prominently before the public but he nevertheless displayed throughout 
his life the sterling qualities of good citizenship, of unfaltering trustworthiness 
and of marked devotion to duty. 



CAPTAIN WILLIAM IRVING. 

A considerable portion of the site of East Portland covers the donation land 
claim of six hundred and forty acres which Captain William Irving secured in 
185 1. The former owner, David Sheldon, had occupied the place but six 
months and had cleared about two acres of land. A small frame house stood 
upon the tract and it became the early home of Captain William Irving at a 
period when the remainder of the city of East Portland was largely covered with 
its native growth of pine forest. His title is an indication of his long connection 
with the shipping and river interests of the northwest. He was born in Annam, 
Dumfriesshire, Scotland, in 1816, and at a very early age went to sea, reaching 
many of the leading ports of the world while still a young man. In the early 
'40s he was mate on the brig Tuscany, which sailed between New York and 
English ports, at which time Richard Hoyt was captain of the brig and Richard 
Williams was steward. The three men were later destined to play an important 
part in the establishment of steam navigation on the Willamette and Columbia 
rivers. 

Captain Irving came to Oregon in 1849 as master and part owner of the brig 
Success, with which he entered the coasting trade. He laid the foundation of 
his fortune in the purchase of a donation claim on the east side of the Willa- 
mette, a tract that became very valuable as the growth of the city extended in 
that direction. His first steamboat venture was in commanding the little Eagle, 
which he brought up on the deck of the bark Success and placed on the Portland 
and Oregon City route. After selling that boat to Wells & Williams he bought 
the Express and in association with others also owned a number of the other 
early boats that were seen upon the waters of the Willamette and Columbia. 
He disposed of his steamboat interests in Oregon, however, about 1858, and 
went to British Columbia, where he joined his old partner, Alexander S. Mur- 
ray, and the Jamison brothers, there building the first steamer constructed 
in British Columbia, called the Governor Douglas. Later he built the Colonel 
Moodey, with which he made the first successful trip to Yale in 1861. The 
following year he sold his interest in both boats and built the Reliance, which 
he commanded until 1866. He then built the Onward. He had great opposition 
almost from the time of his arrival on the Fraser river, but he persevered in his 
efforts of operating his boats on that stream and in each business contest emerged 
victorious. At the time of his death he stood at the head of his profession, ad- 




CAPTAIN WILLIAM IRVING 



> 



I t'tit i^iiW T'J'^.C ♦■ 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 121 

mired even by his business rivals and revered by a host of friends who regarded 
his death as an irreparable loss. 

In September, 185 1, Captain Irving was married to Miss Elizabeth Dickson, 
a daughter of James and Susan Dickson, pioneer residents of Oregon. Mrs. 
Irving was born in Shelby county, Indiana, and in 1850 came across the plains 
with her parents, remaining in the Waldo hills until 1853, when they took up 
a donation claim near Roseburg, where they died. Captain and Mrs. Irving 
began their domestic life upon the donation claim which he secured on the 
eastern bank of the Willamette and there remained for nine years, or until i860, 
when they removed to British Columbia, Mr. Shaver, a brother-in-law of Mrs. 
Irving, taking charge of the place until she returned. In 1884 the present fine 
residence was built. Unto Captain and Mrs. Irving there were born five chil- 
dren. Mary is the wife of Thomas S. Briggs, of British Columbia, and they 
have nine children, William I., Henry C, John, Barrett, Thomas L., Naoma, 
Emanuel, Stanley and Errol. John, the only son of the family, now living at 
Victoria, British Columbia, married Jennie Monroe, a daughter of Alexander 
Monroe, one of the early Hudson Bay men, and they have three children, Eliza- 
beth J., William A. and Genevieve. Susan is the widow of G. M. Cox and has 
three children, Susan, Britonarte and Mary. Elizabeth is the wife of Captain 
Ernest W. Spencer, of Portland, and has two sons, Walter and Charles Roy. 
Nellie is the wife of W. S. Chandler, of San Francisco, and they have four chil- 
dren, Ernest I., William G., Helen S. and Benjamin. 

The death of Captain Irving occurred at New Westminster, British Colum- 
bia, August 28, 1872. He was a member of St. Andrews Society and a man of 
sterling personal worth. One who knew him long and well said of him at the 
time of his death : "His purse was always at the disposal of any one in need, and 
his generosity was unrestricted by class, faith or nationality. He knew no dis- 
tinction in his bounty, and he never allowed a former injury to interfere with a 
present occasion for timely aid. He was a gentleman in the true sense of the 
term." ' 



WILLIAM S. FAILING. 

William S. Failing, now living retired in Portland, was born in JeflPerson 
county, New York, November 5, 1838, and has therefore passed the seventy- 
second milestone on life's journey. His parents were Sylvester and Charlotte 
(Kellogg) Failing. He lived in the Empire state until about i860 when he de- 
termined to leave the AMantic coast and try his fortune by the side of the Pa- 
cific. Oregon was his destination but he traveled westward to California, mak- 
ing the journey partly by boat across the isthmus, where he again embarked 
for San Francisco. He tarried in California for a few months and in 1861 came 
to Oregon, where he engaged in the nursery business for a number of years. 
He also served as inspector in the custom-house and his life was characterized 
by activity, diligence and perseverance until he retired, having attained to ad- 
vanced years. 

On the 3d of January, 1866, Mr. Failing was united in marriage to Miss 
Helen M. Hathaway. She is a native of Wood county, Ohio, and came with 
her parents to Oregon in 185 1. They made the long trip across the plains and 
over stretches of hot sand with ox teams and at length settled in Milwaukie, 
Oregon, where her father followed carpentering. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Failing 
have been born nine children: Elizabeth, the wife of G. T. Hunt, of Estacada, 
Oregon ; Oliver W., living in Portland ; Mary Jane, the wife of G. F. Peterson, 
of this city; Helen, the wife of W. E. Burch, a resident of Oakland, California; 
Cornelia F., the wife of WilHam R. Minsinger; Mildred, the wife of G. C. 
Powers, of Portland ; Stella, Junia and Grace, all at home. Mrs. Failing is a 



122 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

member of the Episcopal church. The family has long been prominent in 
this city, having many friends among the older settlers and also among the 
more recent arrivals. 

Mr. Failing is a charter member of Industry Lodge, A. O. U. W. For half 
a century he has lived in Oregon and has been a witness of much of its growth 
and development. He was one of the discoverers of the John Day mine and 
in other connections he has been closely associated with events which have marked 
the progress and advancement of this section of the state. 



R. L. GILLESPIE, M. D. 

The hospital is a comparatively old institution; the sanitarium with its mod- 
ern equipment is comparatively recent. This institution meets every demand of 
the present day for the adequate care of the sick as well as for surgical attend- 
ance. It is becoming more and more an indispensable element in every com- 
munity, providing, as it does, opportunity for scientific and sanitary equipment, 
as accessories to health, which cannot be obtained in the home. 

R. L. Gillespie, physician and surgeon, is rapidly becoming widely known 
throughout the northwest as the president and superintendent of the Crystal 
Springs and the Mount Tabor Sanitariums, which, situated on Mount Tabor 
Heiglits in Portland, cover thirty acres of ground. He has conducted these institu- 
tions as superintendent and chief medical director since 1899 and, while he has 
gathered about him an able corps of assistants, the success of these institu- 
tions is chiefly attributable to his business ability and professional skill. Dr. 
Gillespie is, morever, entitled to special mention in this volume as one of the 
Oregon pioneers of 1859. He was born on a farm in McComb county, Michigan, 
in 1855, a son of Robert L, and Mary Ann (Bidwell) Gillespie. His father, a 
typical pioneer of the northwest, was a Scotchman by birth and was educated 
in the land of hills and heather. As a young man he became officially connected 
with the English government and with his wife had made three trips around 
the world before the birth of Dr. Gillespie. He stood six feet and two inches 
in height and weighed about two hundred and forty pounds. He was well 
proportioned, a man of striking appearance and of equally strong and com- 
mendable characteristics. He possessed a somewhat adventurous turn of mind 
and at one time, acting for the English government, had charge of the arsenal 
at Hong Kong, China, with the title of high sheriff. A desire to see still more 
of the world led him to the northwest in 1859, in which year he crossed the 
plains from Michigan, where he had previously lived upon a farm, in Oregon, 
making his way to Oregon City, which was then a more important town than 
Portland. After a brief period, however, he removed with his family to Marys- 
ville, now Corvallis, Oregon, and later became a resident of northern Idaho. 
He served as sheriff of one of the counties in that part of the state during the 
memorable winter of 1861-2, the severity of the climate being such as to make 
the position a very arduous one. In the spring of 1862 the family went down 
the Clear river in Idaho on a raft, resting for a time at Lewiston, whence they 
proceeded by wagon to The Dalles, from which point the journey was con- 
tinued by boat to Portland. In 1864 the Gillespies became residents of Boise 
City, Idaho, where the father and mother took up their permanent abode. Mr. 
Gillespie having previously studied law, successfully engaged in practice there 
and became a man of great prominence in Boise City. He served as probate 
judge for a number of years and was a man of marked influence in the com- 
munity, his abilities well fitting him for leadership. He died in 1872 at the 
age of forty-six years, his remains being interred in the Odd Fellows cemetery 
there. Mrs. Gillespie still makes her home in Boise City and has reached the 
remarkable old age of ninety-one years. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 123 

Dr. Gillespie, his father's namesake, was but a small lad when the family 
made the long and arduous journey across the plains and was still but a boy 
when they finally settled in Boise City. In the meantime, in the various re- 
movals, he had met all of the experiences of life upon the frontier, and memory 
brings to his mind many vivid pictures of the districts in which the family lived 
and the phases of life there exhibited. He supplemented his previous education 
by study in St. Michael's College, an Episcopal school of Boise City, from 
which he was graduated with the class of 1870. He then turned his attention 
to stock-raising upon the range in Idaho and several years passed in that way. 
In 1873, when a youth of eighteen years, he returned to Portland and seem- 
ingly having inherited some of his father's adventurous spirit, he shipped as a 
cabin boy on the sailing vessel, Jane A. Falkenberg for the Sandwich Islands. 
He again came to Portland on the return trip of that vessel and then went to 
his parents' home in Boise City, but in 1883 returned to Portland and resumed 
his studies, matriculating in the Willamette University, in which he prepared 
for the practice of medicine. The M. D. degree was conferred upon him by 
his graduation in 1886 and he at once opened an office in this city. He is today 
one of the distinguished physicians and surgeons of the northwest and has sev- 
eral times, in addition to a growing and extensive private practice, served Port- 
land as city physician. In 1886 he did further professional work in the New 
York Post Graduate School of New York city. He is now bending his energies 
toward the development of the sanitariums of which he has charge and his 
labors in this direction are actuated by a broad humanitarian spirit, as well 
as a laudable desire for success. He has been president as well as superintendent 
and chief medical director of the Crystal Springs and Mount Tabor Sanitariums 
since 1899. The other officials of these institutions are Henry M. Tuttle, sec- 
retary, and Dr. H. Waldo Coe, treasurer. These sanitariums were established 
in 1894 on Division street in Portland by Dr. Coe and in 1898 were removed to 
their present location, which is largely ideal, — thirty acres of ground secured 
high on Mount Tabor Heights at the edge of the city with pure country air and 
beautiful surroundings. They are devoted chiefly to the treatment of nervous 
diseases. The sanitariums are composed of a group of twenty separate build- 
ings, five of which are known as the main buildings and contain from seventeen 
to thirty-seven rooms each. The other buildings are mostly small private cot- 
tages for isolation cases. In addition to his work in connection with the Crystal 
Springs and Mount Tabor Sanitariums, Dr. Gillespie has charge of the Morning- 
side Asylum situated near by. This asylum, which belongs to the United States 
government, is used for the care of insane patients from Alaska. Under the 
direction of Dr. Gillespie are seventy-four employes and in planning their work 
and managing the institutions he displays notable business sagacity and ability 
as well as remarkable professional skill. 

Dr. Gillespie was married in 1875 to Miss Philomena Gratton, a daughter 
of Felix Gratton, an early pioneer of French Prairie, Oregon, of Canadian 
birth. The Doctor and his wife have two children : Pearl A., the wife of C. 
R. Watson, of Portland ; and Lucia A., the wife of Dr. Joseph A. Applewhite, 
who is first assistant to Dr. Gillespie. Dr. Applewhite is a graduate of Millsaps 
College, Mississippi, and of Oregon University, in which he pursued his medical 
course. 

Dr. Gillespie is very prominent in Masonry. He belongs to Washington 
Lodge, No. 6, F. & A. M. He holds membership in Oregon Consistory, No. i, 
and with Al Kader Temple of the Mystic Shrine. He is likewise connected with 
Portland lodge of Elks and with the Episcopal church. His interests are broad 
and make him a valued citizen, for his support is given to various measures 
calculated to benefit and upbuild the community. However, his profession claims 
the greater part of his time and in his chosen calling he has made continuous 
advancement owing to his wide reading, his thorough experience and his con- 



124 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

nection with the different medical societies. He belongs to the Portland Medical 
Society the Multnomah County Medical Society, the Oregon State Medical As- 
sociation the American Medical Association, the American Psychological Society 
and the National Association for the Study of Epileptics. The work that he 
has done and is doing is of distinct value to Portland and her citizens and the 
years have established his right to rank with those men whose work is a credit 
and honor to the profession. 

BENJAMIN F. SNUFFIN. 

When Oregon was an "Indian country," long before the hostility of the savages 
had ceased to be manifest against the invasion of the white settlers, Benjamin 
F. Snufhn became a resident of this state and to the time of his death was con- 
nected with the development and substantial growth of Oregon. 

His birth occurred March 4, 1830, upon a little farm in the midst of the 
undeveloped forest region of Champaign county, Ohio. His parents were Joseph 
and Martha Snuffin, who came of Quaker ancestry and were numbered among 
the pioneer settlers of that part of Ohio in which their son Benjamin was born. 
The public-school system had not been inaugurated in this district and the boy 
attended a school conducted on the subscription plan, the little "temple of learn- 
ing" being built of logs. The course of instruction was limited and his oppor- 
tunity for attending was often curtailed by the necessity of assisting his father 
in the development of the home farm. He remained under the parental roof 
until eighteen years of age and when he left Ohio took up his abode in Andrews 
county, Missouri, where he remained until the spring of 185 1. He was there em- 
ployed at farm labor for a brief period but the gold discovery proved to him 
an alluring field and he joined a wagon train of twenty wagons each drawn 
by three or four oxen. As they slowly wended their way over prairie, plain and 
mountain to the west they encountered hardships and difficulties, such as only 
a vivid imagination can portray to the traveler of the present day who speeds 
over the country in a Pullman car. Six months had been checked off on the 
calendar ere the party reached their destination. Mr. Snuffin at once engaged in 
mining and prospecting on Rogue river but seven months convinced him that 
wealth was not to be obtained so easily as he had hoped and anticipated. He 
therefore turned his attention to the operation of a sawmill on the Clackamas 
river and devoted fifteen years to that business. At length he disposed of the 
mill in 1872 in order that he might go to Mendocino county, California, and in- 
vestigate the prospects there. He was not pleased with the outlook, however, 
and returned to Mount Tabor, Oregon. He then purchased forty acres of par- 
tially timbered land and devoted the ensuing four years to its cultivation and 
improvement. Later removed to East Portland, where he followed teaming for 
three years after which he purchased eight acres and took up the business of 
raising fruit. In this he was so successful that he invested more and more largely 
in city realty and in country property, becoming owner of the Stephens addition 
and five residences, together with other property, which in course of years, 
brought him to a position among the men of affluence in Portland. 

In 1862 Mr. Snuffin was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Pierce, who 
was born in Benton county, Iowa, a daughter of Franklin and Matilda (Hollen- 
beck) Pierce. Her father was a farmer and miller, who in 1852 started for the 
plains with ox teams, bringing his family to Oregon, where he arrived on the 
1st of November, after traveling for six months over prairie and arid plain 
and through the mountain passes until the valleys of the Pacific slope were 
reached. The family remained in Portland through the following winter and 
as times were very hard the children sold pies which the mother made and split 
and sold pitch wood in order to meet the necessary expenses. In the spring Mr. 
Pierce took up a donation claim on Clackamas river in Clackamas county, now 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 125 

Estacada, securing three hundred and twenty acres of rich land, on which he 
built a long house. There were no improvements upon the place, however, 
when it came into his possession and much timber had to be cleared away before 
the fields could be cultivated. There were at that time three children in the 
family and four others were added to the household while they occupied the 
farm. Sarah, the eldest of the family, is the widow of John Palmateer. Mary 
E. is the widow of Mr. Snuffin. Eliza is the deceased wife of Oren Price. 
Martha J. married Robert Bruce, who has passed away. Maria J., twin sister 
of Martha, became the wife of William Livermore but is now deceased. The 
sixth member of the family died in infancy, and Margaret, the youngest, be- 
came the wife of James Barger. The father lived upon the old home place 
until a few years prior to his death, when he purchased property in Portland at 
the corner of Eleventh and Stephens streets and retired from active business. 
There both he and his wife spent their remaining days in well earned rest. 
She was a most active and devoted member of the Methodist church for more 
than a half century. The second daughter, Mary E., was but a young girl when 
she accompanied her parents to Oregon and here on the i8th of January, 1862, 
she gave he hand in marriage to Benjamin F. Snuffin. Their union was blessed 
with seven children. Martha became the wife of Henry Odell and died at the 
age of twenty-four years, leaving three children: Nellie M., the wife of John 
Crook; Luella S., the wife of Felix Dell Snyder; and David B. William A., 
the second of the family, is in California. Franklin O., who married Emma L. 
Ginty, is living in Lynn Park, Oregon. Walter P., who wedded Catherine M. 
Palmateer, resides at Estacada, Oregon. James E. is at home. John Fred, of 
Portland, married Cora A. Adams and has three children, Alma E., Benjamin 
and Mary E. Sadie E., the youngest of the family, is the wife of Albert Colhns. 

The death of Mr. Snuffin occurred October 22, 1904, and his grave was made 
in Lone Fir cemetery. He was always an earnest republican and took an active 
interest in the success and growth of his party. In pioneer days he proved his 
courage by active service in the Indian war in 1856 and was wounded while on 
duty. He maintained a deep interest in the upbuilding and welfare of his adopted 
county and state and was a man in whose business integrity unquestioned con- 
fidence was placed. The period of his residence here covered fifty-three years 
and as he watched the development of Oregon from a largely unsettled wilder- 
ness into one of the populous, prosperous and growing states of the northwest 
he felt great pride in what was accomplished and the district became very dear 
to him. It was not only his home but he had also been identified with its prog- 
ress and upbuilding and the events which were to others matters of history were 
to him matters of observation or personal experience. 



CHARLES F. ADAMS. 



Charles F. Adams, connected with the Savings Security & Trust Company 
of Portland since its organization, has been its president and first executive 
official since 1903. A native of Baltimore, Maryland, he was bom March 8, 
1862, unto Orson and Annie L. (Fisher) Adams. Liberal educational advan- 
tages were provided him. After completing a preparatory course in the Phillips 
Exeter Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, he entered Yale and was graduated 
with the class of 1881 as a civil engineer. In 1883 he came to the coast and 
was clerk in the land office at Walla Walla until 1885 when he entered the First 
National Bank of Colfax, Washington, as cashier. Coming to Portland, he 
aided in the organization of the Security Savings & Trust Company, of which 
he continued as cashier until the death of H. W. Corbett in 1903 when he be- 
came president. 



126 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. Adams was married in 1901 to Mary C. Eichbaum, the daughter of 
Fred Eichbaum. They have two children, C. F., and Ann, aged respectively 
five and three years. Mr. Adams is a well known advocate of republican prin- 
ciples and is a thirty-second degree Mason of the Scottish Rite. 



CAPTAIN JOHN H. WOLFE. 

In the period when Portland's formative history was in the making, when 
men of determination as well as of enterprise were planning the policy of the 
city's growth and development, Captain John H. Wolfe came to Oregon and 
was for years thereafter one of the best known and perhaps without exception 
the most prominent of the river captains who in controlling navigation on the 
Columbia did so much to advance the growth of this section of the country. 

A native of Germany, he was born in 1824 and was therefore but twenty- 
eight years of age when he arrived in Oregon as a passenger on the schooner 
Emhous in 1852. Leaving that vessel soon after his arrival, he commenced 
steamboating on the old Multnomah with Captain Richard Hoyt, Sr. Quick to 
learn and a general favorite with every one, the young man was soon advanced, 
his ability and fidelity wining him successive promotions until he became cap- 
tain of the Belle. From time to time larger responsibilities were given into 
his keeping as he rose steadily in the service until he was in command of the 
best steamers owned by the Oregon Steam Navigation Company. At various 
times during his long career he handled successfully every steamer belonging 
to that corporation with the exception of the Willamette river boats. A con- 
temporary biographer has said of him : "Captain Wolfe was a thorough steam- 
boat man in every respect and no night was too dark and no fog too thick to 
baffle his skill." He continued in active service until a few weeks prior to his 
death, and had completed a third of a century's service on river steamboats at 
the time of his retirement. He passed away in Portland, October 14, 1885, and 
in the Evening Telegram of the following day there appeared an article from 
the pen of T. B. Merry as follows : 

"The loss of a pioneer like Captain John H. Wolfe is no ordinary bereave- 
ment; and while the grief of personal friends like myself is selfish compared 
with that of his stricken family, yet a few words may not be altogether amiss 
at this moment. Captain Wolfe's services to the Oregon Steam Navigation 
Company and their successors in law mark a period of thirty-two years of the 
most prosperous steamboating ever done on this coast, and much of its success 
depended upon the sobriety, courage and reliability of employes. No man in 
their employ ever possessed these three requisites in a higher degree than Cap- 
tain Wolfe. A man of limited advantages in earlier life, contact with the great 
world had given him a polish which united reality with an innate dignity which 
was the outgrowth of his candid and manly nature. No commander ever had 
a finer sense of justice nor maintained a better degree of discipline; and while 
his austere nature brooked no familiarity on the part of his subordinate officers, 
yet he maintained over them such an ascendency by treating them with the great- 
est urbanity as led them to regard him as an elder brother. No one but a man 
who had served under him could accurately judge of his qualifications as a pilot. 
Up to the time I went to work on the same boat with him I knew him as a neat 
handler of boats and especially good in heavily loaded trips when it required 
fine judgment in landing. But after I got alongside of him I began to see the 
work in which he surpassed all his contemporaries — close work in a dense fog. 
Just below Vancouver there is a very crooked channel in low water and another 
just like it just below Fisher's Landing. In October and November these chan- 
nels seldom exceed nine feet of water and if a boat heavily loaded were to once 
get outside of them, she would require some costly literage before she could be 




JOHN H. WOLFE 



■i ■ - *. 



' •■■'.'.■'■.■; ■' V -^ -. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 129 

gotten off. I have stood beside him of a foggy morning, many a time when he 
could not get close enough to either bank to get a point of departure, and how 
he got through there with big boats like the Wild West and Reed, with only 
once grounding in the seventeen years that I knew him, is one of the mysteries 
that he carried away with him when he rang his 'quitting bell' on earth and 
passed into the presence of Him who commands the universe. Now I wish to 
suggest that, if it can be possibly arranged, the funeral of this worthy man and 
exemplary officer may be deferred till Sunday next, as there are on that day 
twice as many steamboat men in the city as on any other day of the week. And 
there are a few who could not spare the time except on Sunday who would like 
to be enabled to pay their parting tribute of respect to one who, through storm 
and darkness for nearly forty years watched in patient silence, that others might 
sleep in peace." 

The memory of Captain Wolfe is enshrined in the hearts of many who knew 
him. Those who came in contact with him — and these included thousands of 
Portland people and visitors to this section of the country — found him ever a 
genial, kind-hearted gentleman, always courteous and obliging. It may well be 
said of him that he was never too busy to be courteous or too courteous to be 
busy. Duty to his ship and the company which he represented was ever a pre- 
eminent characteristic in his life and yet when the exigencies of the moment 
did not demand his absolutely undivided attention to his ship, the passengers 
found him ever willing to reply to their querries or promote their comfort in 
any way possible. His life experiences made him a broadminded man and one 
for whom his friends — and they were many — entertained the strongest affection 
and highest regard. He passed away on the 14th of October, 1885. 

Captain Wolfe was married in Portland in July, 1857, to Philipina Saling, 
who died in December, 1897, and to them were born four children: Sophie, 
now the wife of John Klosterman ; a son who died at the age of fifteen months ; 
Clara E., who died in 1897 ; and Mary C, the wife of F. J. Alex Mayer. 



ALLEN FRANCIS. 



The Francis family, now represented in Portland by Mrs. Walter E. Dyer, 
a daughter of him whose name introduces this review, has since the middle por- 
tion of the nineteenth century been connected with the history of this city and 
the northwest. The ancestral record brings us "from eastern rock to sunset 
wave." Connecticut was the original American home of the family, representa- 
tives of the name residing there as early as 1632. At a later period their 
descendants were prominent in the middle west as residents of Springfield, Illi- 
nois. Simeon Francis, Sr., was married May 24. 1793, in Connecticut, their 
native state, to Miss Mary A. Steele. They remained residents of New England 
until the death of Mrs. Francis on the i8th of September, 1822. Mr. Francis 
passed away September 7, 1823, and they were survived by a family of seven 
sons .and two daughters, who assembled at the family homestead in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, in the spring of 1829 and decided to sell their property in 
New England and seek homes in the west. 

Of this family, Simeon Francis, Jr., was born in Wethersfield, May 14, 
1796, and in early life learned the printer's trade in New Haven, Connecticut. 
Later he became junior partner of the firm of Clapp & Francis and engaged in 
newspaper publication at New London, Connecticut, in 1824. While there 
residing he was married. Soon afterward he disposed of his business interests 
in New London and removed to Buffalo, New York, where as a member of the 
firm of Lazwell & Francis he published the Buffalo Emporium. About that 
time the excitement concerning the disappearance of one Morgan, who is said 
to have exposed the secrets of Masonry, occurred. It was believed that the 



130 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Masons put an end to Morgan (which, however, was never proven) and great 
opposition to Masonry arose. Both Mr. Lazwell and Mr. Francis were Masons 
and at this period their business so declined that they were obHged to discontinue 
the pubhcation of their paper in 1828. The middle west seemed to offer a more 
attractive field and in 1831 Simeon Francis and his wife removed to Springfield, 
Illinois, accompanied by Ann Douglas, a niece of Mrs. Francis, who in 1836 
became the wife of Captain George Barrell and lived in Springfield. In 1840 
President William Henry Harrison appointed Mr. Francis, Indian agent for 
Oregon, but after making the necessary preparations for the trip he resigned. 
Pie had previously been engaged in the publication of the State Journal of Spring- 
field, Illinois, but, selling out his paper, turned his attention to merchandising. 
He was very prominent in the affairs of Springfield at that day and for several 
years was secretary of the State Agricultural Society. But the west called him 
and, disposing of his interests in Springfield in 1859, he came to Portland. 
Here he edited the Oregon Farmer and had large influence in promoting the 
agricultural development of the state not only through the columns of that paper 
but also as president of the Oregon State Agricultural Society. He was for one 
year connected with the Oregonian and in 1862 was appointed paymaster in the 
United States army, with residence at Vancouver, Washington, by President 
Lincoln, with whom he had been on terms of warm personal friendship during 
his residence in Springfield. He filled that office until 1870, when he was re- 
tired on half pay and returned to Portland, where his death occurred October 
25, 1872. 

Allen Francis, brother of Simeon Francis and father of Mrs. Dyer, was born 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut, April 12, 181 5, and resided in St. Louis until 
the death of his brother Edwin in 1834, when he and two sisters removed to 
Springfield, Illinois. He there secured a position in the printing office of the 
State Journal and later became a partner in the ownership of that paper. 

While a resident of Springfield, Mr. Francis was married on Christmas 
day of 1838 to Cecelia B. Duncan, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, and they 
became the parents of six children. Cecelia F. was married in Oregon to Herman 
Hofferkamp. Marietta was married in Vancouver, British Columbia, to David 
A. Edgar, of Staten Island, New York. Hulda G, first becaine the wife of 
Byron Z. Holmes and since his death has married Walter E. Dyer. Eliza E. 
is the wife of William F. Gillihan, of Portland. Allen Bunn, who was born 
in Springfield in 1849, came with his father to the Pacific coast. Later he was 
made agent for a fur company in San Francisco and was stationed at Fort 
Constantine, Alaska, where he never saw a white woman or heard his native 
language for more than eighteen months. Edwin H., the youngest of the fam- 
ily, went to Alaska soon after the purchase of that country by the United States, 
was appointed deputy collector at Sitka and clerk of the city council. About 
twenty years before his death, which occurred March 25, 1902, he entered the 
government service as Alaska pilot for the coast survey steamers and for four 
years prior to his death spent the winter months in the local office of the coast 
and geodetic survey with the exception of 1901, when he was detailed to go 
to the head office of the coast survey at Washington to aid in the compilation 
of the Coast Pilot, issued by the government. His work in this connection was 
especially valuable to the government and the officers of the survey fitly recog- 
nized his abilities. 

During his residence in Springfield, Illinois, Allen Francis became a promi- 
nent factor in the public life of that city and for a number of years aided in 
shaping its municipal policy as a member of the city council. In October, 1861, 
President Lincoln appointed him consul to Victoria, British Columbia, and he 
left for that point in February, 1862. He filled the position until 1871, when 
he resigned and with his sons engaged in fur trading with the Indians on the 
north Pacific coast. On the 21st of July, 1877, he was again commissioned consul 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 131 

to Victoria by President Hayes and on the 5th of May, 1884, he was commis- 
sioned by President Harrison to Port Stanley and St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada, 
He advised the purchase of Alaska by the government and it was from him that 
Secretary Seward gained most of the knowledge of Alaska and its resources, 
which eventually convinced him of the wisdom and necessity of purchasing that 
territory from Russia. In a correspondence extending over many months Mr. 
Francis gave the secretary all the information then obtainable regarding Alaska. 
It is said that President Lincoln advised Mr. Seward at the beginning to write 
to Mr. Francis regarding the proposed purchase before he fully determined 
what policy to pursue. Later, in 1869, when Secretary Seward visited the 
district he spent ten days at the Francis home at Victoria and left there for 
the north on the steamer Active of the government service. His son, Edwin H. 
Francis, who after the purchase had been made a deputy in the office of the 
collector of customs at Sitka, accompanied Secretary Seward on a trip all through 
the Indian country of Alaska and came to know him very well. He was a worthy 
representative of the interests of the government in the northwest, his under- 
standing of the political situation, his ready tact and keen insight enabling him 
to do splendid diplomatic service. 



ALBERTUS H. METCALF. 

■Albertus H. Metcalf who is engaged in the gravel business, owning an ex- 
tensive pit on the Sandy road, was born July 5, 1858, in Denmark, Lewis county, 
New York. He was four years of age when his parents, Edward and Mary 
(Thorp) Metcalf removed to Jefferson county. New York, where the succeed- 
ing fourteen years of his life were passed. At the usual age he entered the public 
schools pursuing his early studies in the district schools near his father's home; 
while later he entered the Leland and Grey Seminary at Townsend, Vermont. 
Liberal educational advantages well qualified him for the practical and responsi- 
ble duties which later came to him in his business life. 

The year 1877 witnessed Mr. Metcalf's arrival in the northwest. He made 
his way to Walla Walla, Washington, influenced in his choice of destination 
by the fact that he had a brother living there. While there he engaged in 
plastering contracting for three years. He afterward worked in the wholesale 
grocery house of Plants & McKay, and later engaged in the general merchandising 
business at Milton, Umatilla county, Washington, as Metcalf & Plants for two 
years. He then engaged in the livery business for six months. In the year 
1888 he came to Portland, where he established a transfer business under the 
name of The East Portland Transfer Company, in partnership with Albert 
Smith. They ran a bus line for two years at the end of which time the partner- 
ship was dissolved and Mr. Metcalf started in business alone. He was identified 
with transfer interests until he turned his attention to the gravel business, which 
now claims his undivided attention and energies. He has an extensive pit 
located on Sandy road, where he is taking out about twenty-five hundred cubic 
yards of gravel per month. He has built up a large business and his patronage 
is steadily increasing. His business affairs have been wisely and carefully con- 
ducted, bringing to him substantial success and, investing in real estate, he is 
now interested in platting the Merlow addition to Portland. 

In November, 1883, Mr. Metcalf was married in Walla Walla to Miss Sarah 
Elam, a daughter of Jesse and Margaret (Kimball) Elam, who came from 
Texas to Oregon about 1867, and were, therefore, numbered among the early 
settlers of the state. Mr. and Mrs. Metcalf have become parents of four chil- 
dren : Edward Jesse; Cecil Elam; Hazel, the wife of Glenn C. Magoon ; and 
Gladys. The family is prominent socially in Portland and the Metcalf home is 
a most hospitable one. 



132 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. Metcalf is a prominent member of Multnomah Camp, No. 'j'] W. O. W., 
and also of the Willamette Motor Boat Club, which indicates one of his chief 
sources of recreation. In politics he is an independent republican, and while 
keeping well informed on the questions and issues of the day, he is more inter- 
ested in business affairs than in politics, and his activities, therefore, center 
upon the conduct of his commercial interests. 



JOHN BURKE. 



In the death of John Burke on the 7th of July, 1907, Portland recorded the 
passing of one more of her pioneer residents, for during fifty-four years he had 
lived almost continuously at the family home at No. 334 Salmon street. He 
came here as an infant in arms and in his boyhood was known to his playmates 
and people of older age as "Johnny." This name clung to him throughout all 
the ensuing years and was an indication of that close companionship which is at 
once the expression of long acquaintance and affection. It was in 1852 that his 
parents, Thomas and Mary Burke, of whom mention is made elsewhere in this 
volume, started across the plains for the Pacific coast, as passengers in one of the 
old time ox trains. They brought with them their infant son who was just six 
weeks old when they started, his birth having occurred in 3t. Louis, February 7, 
1852, but he had completed his first half year ere they reached their destination, as 
it required six months to make the trip. When his father, after completing the last 
part of the journey from The Dalles down the Columbia river on a log raft, built a 
house where Seventh and Salmon streets now intersect, the baby was just a 
year old. On their first night in Portland the Burkes camped on the present 
site of the Odd Fellows Hall on First and Alder streets. 

Portland was then a little town that had made but small progress along 
any business lines. John Burke began his education in a Catholic institution 
but later attended the public schools. At that time newspapers were few and 
John Burke became one of the first newsboys and did his first work by sell- 
ing the Oregonian at twenty-five cents per copy. As the years passed he care- 
fully saved his earnings and later learned the plumber's trade with the firm 
of Donnerberg & Barrett, while subsequently he became associated in busi- 
nesse with Thomas Varwig, both in Astoria and Portland. Mr. Burke was 
one of the promoters of the old Jefferson street ferry that operated long before 
the plans of building the Madison street bridge were formulated. When Port- 
land began to take on the proportions and activities of a metropolitan center 
Mr. Burke was one of the promoters of the East Portland water-works and in 
1889 in connection with W. S. Chapman he began a contracting business un- 
der the name of the American Bridge & Contract Company. 

For seven or eight years prior to his death, however, he devoted his time to 
the care of his roses, in the culture of which he was very enthusiastic. He could 
always be seen with a fresh bud in his buttonhole and he took genuine delight 
in supplying tourists with the flowers and in expatiating to visitors upon the 
attractiveness and advantages of this city. Mr. Burke was an active member 
of the old volunteer fire department and during nearly a score of years never 
failed to answer the alarm, lending his ready aid to the arduous and sometimes 
dangerous task of quenching the flames. When the paid department was or- 
ganized he was given an exempt certificate, of which he was very proud. He 
enjoyed the memories of the old days and never tired of telling about the good 
old times spent with the volunteer department. For a number of years Mr. 
Burke was also connected with the theatrical business, and as advance agent 
for aggregations sent out by J. P. Howe and other theater managers during 
the early '80s, he became well known in all cities along the Pacific coast. He 
was an esteemed member of the Oregon Pioneer Association and never missed 




JOHN BURKE 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 135 

one of its annual reunions until prevented by ill health during the closing year 
of his life. His memory of early days and events was exceptionally good and 
he took great pleasure in talking over these events with his old time friends, 
and later arrivals always found his historical information to be correct. 

He was of the Roman Catholic faith and when death claimed him his re- 
mains were interred in St. Mary's cemetery in the family plot. He knew no 
other home than Portland and although he made friends wherever he went his 
heart turned again to the city of his residence. It is said that "roses and the 
Rose City were the two things in which he most delighted." The tender sen- 
timents in his nature which found expression in his love of flowers constituted 
an even balance to the strong, manly qualities which won him the admiration 
and regard of his fellowmen. 



R. C. COFFEY, M. D. 



Dr. R. C. CofTey, an eminent surgeon of the northwest who has followed his 
profession in Portland since March, 1900, having now well equipped offices in 
the Corbett building, is a graduate of the Kentucky School of Medicine of the 
class of 1892. A native of North Carolina, he is a representative of one of the 
old southern families. Determining upon the practice of medicine as a life work, 
in early manhood, he supplemented his literary course by study in the Kentucky 
School of Medicine at Louisville, and was graduated in 1892, after which he 
sought the opportunities of the northwest, locating for practice in Moscow, Idaho, 
where he remained for five years. He then removed to Colfax, Washington, 
where he spent two years and afterward came to Portland, where he has prac- 
ticed through a decade, giving his attention exclusively to surgery. He is fast 
becoming a recognized authority on this subject. A master of the construction 
and functions of the component parts of the human body, of the changes induced 
in them by the onslaughts of disease, of the defects cast upon them as a legacy 
by progenitors, of the vital capacity remaining in them throughout all vicissitudes 
of existence. Dr. Coffey is well equipped for the onerous and responsible duties 
that devolve upon him as a surgeon and his work has received the endorsement 
not only of the general public but also of the profession. 

He is an ex-president of the Idaho State Medical Society, an ex-secretary 
of the Washington State Medical Society and in 1908 was honored with election 
to the presidency of the Oregon State Medical Society. He is also a member of 
the Western Surgical Association and Southern Surgical Association, and thus 
keeps in close touch with the advancement that is being made by the profession 
as research and investigation broaden knowledge and bring to light the hitherto 
hidden truths of science. 

Dr. Coffey married Miss Clarissa Ellen Coffey, and they have three chil- 
dren. Jay R., Wilson Boone and Robert Mayo. The Doctor belongs to the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Royal Arcanum. Of him it 
has been said "he is wise in human nature, wise in the laws of general science, 
wise in social amenities." 



WILDER W. PARKER. 



Wilder W. Parker was born in Washington, Vermont, October 19, 1824. 
He was the second son of Eben and Laura Flanders Parker, thrifty New 
Englanders who indelibly implanted in their children habits of industry, economy 
and love and loyalty to the commonwealth. 

After gaining all the learning the village school — in winter sessions only — • 
could pive him, while at the same time, from seven years up, working regularly 



136 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

on the paternal farm (he, at eight with a brother aged nine, planted, cultivated 
and harvested four hundred bushels of potatoes unaided, one summer), and 
teaching school to earn his way later, Mr. Parker left home to continue his 
education at Norwich University, Vermont. There was also a military school 
adjacent, at Dartmouth, at which he took a three years' course, in addition to 
his regular college studies. His father, though well-to-do, declining to provide 
for more than a district school education — which he considered sufficient — he 
and an elder brother worked their way through Norwich University, living on 
the very plainest fare, earning books, food, rent and clothing by sawing wood 
and literally "sleeping on a board" for three years, that being a part of the 
military training of those days. At the end of the course, there being no war 
in even remote prospect, Mr. Parker decided not to continue in the military 
profession, and as he was tendered an excellent position as a civil engineer (a 
branch in which he excelled) in the copper mines of Lake Superior, he accepted 
it, and spent the two following years in Northern Michigan, where, according 
to his record (and he was an expert accountant), thirty-six feet of snow fell 
in one winter. Of course, it did not all lie on the ground at one time, but he 
kept the record on the trunk of a tree, as it alternately melted or fell. Returning 
to New England in 1846 the western fever seized him, and at the age of twenty- 
four years, he engaged passage at New York on the "Panama," the first steamer 
that ever went from the Atlantic side around Cape Horn to the Pacific Coast, 
arriving in San Francisco in October, 1848, the same month of the same year 
in v/hich his then unknown future wife arrived in Oregon. 

On landing at San Francisco, then but a village of tents on a sandy beach, 
though there were already five thousand inhabitants — all having arrived since 
the discovery of gold in California but two months previous — he rolled out 
of the hold of the steamship his only possession in the world (beside a small 
trunk of clothing), a half barrel of hardware, consisting of knives, saws, ham- 
mers, shovels, axes, frying pans and like useful articles in a new country, in 
which, with true Yankee foresight, he had invested his last fifty dollars, after 
securing his steamer ticket. (By the way, the "Panama" had but two pas- 
sengers booked when she left New York, but after she rounded the Horn, men 
crowded aboard all the way up the coast, having just heard of the gold discovery, 
till she was crowded almost to suffocation on reaching San Francisco.) These 
articles of hardware Mr. Parker "auctioned" off on the beach, realizing from 
the sale over six hundred dollars. 

With this capital he engaged in hotel keeping; his first hotel being all of 
cloth excepting the necessary wooden corner supports. Men thronged from 
all quarters to the mines, and his business (for so small a capital) was immense. 
He paid his cook six hundred dollars per month, and his baker four hundred 
dollars. "Saleratus" was sixteen dollars per pound, and other foods corre- 
spondingly high, yet in one year he had cleared twenty thousand dollars. This 
he put into a better hotel, and soon after lost it all in one night by fire, save one 
thousand dollars in the bank. Mr. Parker was one of that famous "vigilance" 
committee, organized by the law-abiding citizens, in the absence of legally au- 
thorized courts, to deal with criminals and stamp out crime, which was becom- 
ing rampant. After a few murderous thieves and thugs were summarily strung 
up to the lamp post nearest the locality of the crimes by this committee, law, 
order and comparative safety were restored. He was also later a member of the 
first common council of San Francisco, under Mayor Selby. 

And now, at the age of twenty-eight, Mr. Parker sailed on a coasting vessel 
for Astoria to engage in the lumber business. Here he cast in his lot, and re- 
mained, indentifying himself with, and laboring for, the best interests of his 
chosen home city up to his death, forty-seven years later. He was always pub- 
lic spirited, giving much time and thought to the welfare of his city, state and 
indeed that of his whole country. He was active in establishing and supporting 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 137 

schools, libraries, churches and all movements for the public benefit. He served 
as a member of the Oregon legislature, as mayor and postmaster of Astoria, 
and was twelve years deputy collector at that post; serving so ably in that 
capacity that after holding the position four years under the collector who 
first appointed him, he was retained eight more years by the two succeeding col- 
lectors. 

He was mainly instrumental in securing the splendid system of waterworks 
of which Astoria is so justly proud, and his name is carved on the stone build- 
ing at the entrance of the great city reservoir, in recognition by his fellow citizens 
of his long, arduous and gratuitous efforts on this behalf. He was married in 
July, 1863, to Inez E. Adams, daughter of Hon. W. L. Adams, then collector 
of customs at Astoria. No children were born of this union, but their adopted 
daughter Harriet Stafford (nee Burning) has been to them all an own child 
could possibly be. 

Mr. Parker was a stanch believer in equal rights, and he put these views in 
full practice in his home, thus showing himself possessed, of, at least one fine at- 
tribute of the ideal husband. 

He was even tempered and genial in his home, as well as pubHc life ; was 
also temperate and pure in his daily life, using neither tobacco nor intoxicants, 
and even avoiding all highly seasoned foods. 

Though not a citizen of Portland, he fully recognized her commercial im- 
portance and foresaw her great future, sometimes remarking that he had missed 
it in not settling there on his first arrival in Oregon. The older Portland pio- 
neers and prominent citizens of the city were his personal friends, and he took 
great pride in her development, considering himself a citizen of the whole state, 
the interests of which he helped so materially to upbuild. 

Mr. Parker died at his home in Astoria, January 9, 1899. His widow 
survives him at this date. 

He deserves to be remembered as a worthy pioneer in the founding of the 
great and beautiful commonwealth of Oregon. 



JOHN MAIR. 

John Mair, now living retired in Portland, was born in Montreal, Canada, 
July 16, 1843. His parents were Alexander and Elizabeth (Levitt) Mair, the 
former of Scotch descent and the latter of English lineage. The father was a 
machinist and followed that pursuit in Canada until his death. His wife also 
died in that country. 

John Mair attended school at Kingston, Ontario, and later had the benefit 
of instruction in Queens College and also in a boarding school. His first work 
was on a farm and thus he was employed for one year. He then began learn- 
ing the machinist's trade in Kingston in a shop devoted to the repair of ship 
machinery. He served an apprenticeship of four and a half years, during which 
period he gained comprehensive and expert knowledge of the business, pos- 
sessing considerable natural ability in that direction. He afterward went to 
New York city where he worked for six years, and at the end of that time estab- 
lished himself on the Pacific coast, going first to San Francisco, where he re- 
mained for about six months. He obtained a position in a shop there but a 
strike occurred and he then went up into the Redwoods, securing a position to 
operate a sawmill. He remained, however, for only a brief period and in No- 
vember, 1869, came to Portland, where he had relatives living. Here he secured 
work independently when he and several of the Honeyman family leased the 
Snyder foundry, which they operated for a short time, but they did not find this 
a paying investment, as there was not much work of this character to be done 
in Portland at that day. Mr. Mair then secured a position as machinist in the 



138 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Oregon Iron Works, being connected with that company until 1873, when he 
went to the Willamette Iron Works where his ability won him promotion to the 
position of foreman, after he had been associated with the company for only 
six months. A few years later he was promoted to the superintendency and was 
thus in actual charge of the practical workings of the plant until he resigned 
about 190 1. Since that time he has largely lived retired, although he has worked 
to a limited extent at his trade and inspected lumber for the government for a 
few years. 

On the 31st of December, 1877, Mr. Mair was united in marriage to Miss 
Harriet L. Gates, a daughter of John Gates, who is mentioned elsewhere in this 
volume. They became parents of two children : George, who married Cora 
Frankhn, and is living in Portland; and Edith, at home. Mr. Mair resided on 
Eleventh between Jefferson and Columbia streets for about thirty-two years, 
but in November, 1909, erected a fine residence on East Couch street, where 
he now makes his home. 

He belongs to Samaritan Lodge, No. 2, I. O. O. F., and his high standing 
among the brothers of the fraternity and the warm regard entertained for him 
is indicated by the fact that they have elected him to fill all of the different chairs 
in the order. He may truly be called a self-made man. His has been an active 
life, marked by steady advancement from the day when he began to earn his 
livelihood as a farm hand. He has never depended upon speculation, influence 
or outside aid to secure him promotion, but has placed his dependence upon 
earnest effort and in America, where "labor is king," has made substantial prog- 
ress through his industry and determination, being now in a financial position 
that enables him to live retired. 



OWEN MULLIGAN. 



Owen Mulligan, eighty-three years of age, is living retired. In the sunset 
period of life there has come to him opportunity for rest from labor, which so 
largely occupied his time through many years of his life. It is fitting that his 
long period of industry should be crowned with repose and that the regard and 
esteem of his fellowmen should be freely given him, for his record has at all 
times been an honorable and upright one. He was born in Ireland on the 8th 
of November, 1827, and there remained through the first nineteen years of his 
life, acquiring his education in the public schools and receiving also practical 
training that resulted in habits of industry, perseverance and determination. Pie 
then came to America and for four years was a resident of Boston, during which 
time he was employed as a gardener. In 1854 he arrived in California, making 
his way to the mines of Tuolumne county, where he remained for five years. 
On the expiration of that period he went to San Francisco, where he worked 
for six years and in 1868 came to Vancouver, since which time he has been iden- 
tified with the agricultural development of this section of the country. He 
first purchased three hundred and twenty acres of land on the Fourth Plain road 
about three and a half miles from Vancouver, after which he began clearing 
the place, fencing the fields and adding modern improvements and equipments. 
The tract was known as the old Hudson Bay farm and he continued its cultiva- 
tion until 1885, when he purchased two hundred and forty acres of bottom land 
near the Columbia river. He afterward bought another tract of two hundred 
and eleven acres near Vancouver but occupied the river farm until 1904. He 
sold twenty acres of the ranch on the Fourth Plain road and gave the remainder 
to his son, Thomas Mulligan, who now owns and cultivates it. Mr. Mulligan 
rents his river ranch and the one near Vancouver, also another that he owns 
on Vancouver Lake, comprising two hundred and seventy-three acres. The 
last is operated by his son Hugh. The father is living retired and his rest is 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 139 

certainly well merited, for his has been an active and useful life. When deter- 
mination, perseverance and industry are arrayed against obstacles, poverty and 
trials the result is almost absolutely certain, for the former qualities are invincible 
— they know no defeat. It has been through the possession of those qualities 
that Mr. Mulligan has worked his way upward, reaching a position of creditable 
affluence. 

In 1864 Mr. MulHgan was united in marriage to Miss Susan Daugherty, a 
native of Ireland, who was then residing in San Francisco. They have become 
the parents of seven children, of whom six are now living, namely : Thomas, 
Hugh and Owen, Jr., all of whom are residents of Vancouver; Susan, living in 
Portland; Nellie, the wife of a Mr. McGee, of Tacoma, Washington; and Joseph, 
who makes his home in Vancouver. 

Mr. Mulligan is a member of the Catholic church. He lives with his son 
at No. 814 Columbia street in Vancouver and he also owns considerable other 
property in the town, including two business blocks and fourteen residences, 
which he rents. He is a stockholder in the United States National Bank of 
Vancouver. That he is a man of excellent business ability and sound judgment 
is shov/n in the judicious investments which he has made as the years have gone 
by, becoming thus the owner of extensive realty holdings, including both city 
and farm property. He has never had occasion to regret his determination to 
come to America, for he has here found the opportunities which he sought and 
which are always open to ambitious, determined young men. His life may well 
serve as a source of inspiration and an example to others who are forced to 
start out as he did — empty handed. 



WILHELM E. NOA. 



Wilhelm E. Noa is the owner of an excellent property of seventy-four acres 
near Vancouver and has established a good reputation as an orchardist as well 
as a general farmer and mechanic. He was born in Helford, Germany, in 
1858 and spent his youthful days there. In early Hfe he learned the blacksmith's 
trade and worked in shops in that locality. He afterward followed the sea for 
six years, during which period he visited all parts of the world, gaining a com- 
prehensive knowledge of different lands and their peoples. As he thus went 
from place to place he heard much concerning America and its opportunities and 
this led him to determine to try his fortune in the United States, where he 
arrived in 1881. He located first near Toledo, Ohio, where he worked upon a 
farm for a year, after which he made his way to Nebraska, where his father was 
living. He spent two years in that state and subsequently went to Colorado, 
where he engaged in mining and also followed tool sharpening for three years. 

The expiration of that period saw his arrival in Portland, where he worked 
at his trade for two months, after which he came to Clarke county, where he 
has since lived. He expected to obtain work in a quarry as a tool sharpener 
but not finding employment in that line, he turned his attention to farming and 
in 1892 purchased fourteen acres of land from Joseph Cordes. This he cleared, 
built his home thereon and has since continued the cultivation of the fields. 
He also purchased, with Robert Livingstone, of Portland, about sixty acres 
adjoining his original tract. He now has twenty acres planted to orchards and 
twenty acres in grain, while the remainder is covered with timber. He has also 
conducted a blacksmith shop since locating on this place and still works at his 
trade in the shop which he has built here. He helped set out most of the orchards 
in this vicinity and his labors have thereby been a factor in the substantial de- 
velopment and material improvement of this section. 

In 1887 Mr. Noa was united in marriage to Miss Otille Bayor, a native of 
Germany, and they now have one child, Martha, the wife of Elmer Bennet, of 



140 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Vancouver. Mr. Noa belongs to the United Artisans at Fisher's Landing. He 
has compartively Httle time for fraternal and social interests, however, for his 
attention is demanded by his agricultural and horticultural interests and his close 
application and careful management are making his farm profitable. 



LOUIS JAGGAR. 



Louis Jaggar, deceased, was a representative of one of the old and prominent 
pioneer families of the Willamette valley. He was born at New Brighton, Penn- 
sylvania, December 22, 1852, a son of Benjamin and Anna W. (Rigley) Jaggar, 
of whom mention is made elsewhere in this work. The father died in 1905 but 
the mother is still living at the age of seventy-nine years, her home being in 
Oregon City. 

Louis Jaggar was the eldest of four children and was less than a year old 
when his parents removed to Bentonsport, Iowa. He was a lad of seven years 
when the family home was established at Liberty, Missouri, and there he pur- 
sued his education through a period of six years. In 1865 the family returned 
to the east and he continued his education in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for 
about a year, when he accompanied his parents to New Lisbon, Ohio. He was 
a young man of about twenty years at the time the family came to Oregon and 
took up their abode upon a farm six miles east of Oregon City, which the father 
secured. He earned his first wages by driving a delivery wagon for a store and 
later on worked on a truck farrh, his father owning a small tract of land. Sub- 
sequently he took up the study of bookkeeping, and after the emigration to the 
northwest he entered the employ of Jacob Brothers, proprietors of a large woolen 
factory at Oregon City. Afterward his father purchased a business block in 
Oregon City and Louis Jaggar there opened a grocery store, which he conducted 
successfully until about 1883, when he came to Portland. He continued a resi- 
dent of the Rose City until his death, and for a few years after his arrival here 
was employed as bookkeeper by Henry Everding. Ambitious to engage in busi- 
ness on his own account, he opened a commission house on Front street and con- 
tinued in that line up to the time of his demise, becoming one of the successful, 
enterprising and progressive commission merchants of the city. 

On the 22d of March, 1879, in Oregon City, Mr. Jaggar was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Mary E. Howell, who was born near Oregon City and is a daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary Virginia Howell, who were pioneer settlers of this state. 
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Jaggar were born six children : Benjamin J., now of Port- 
land; Samuel who married Minnie Newberg and has one child, Erving; Myrtle 
the wife of C. R. Fones and the mother of one son, Robert ; Bessie the wife of 
Elmer Maxin and the mother of one daughter, Lucille ; Henry, at home ; and 
Mary E., deceased. The family residence is at No. 574 East Couch street in 
Portland. The death of the husband and father occurred July 11, 1910, and in 
his demise Portland lost a representative business man and loyal citizen, his asso- 
ciates a faithful friend and his family a devoted husband and father. 



REV. THOMAS M. RAMSDELL. 

Rev. Thomas M. Ramsdell, who for long years was connected with the active 
work of the Methodist ministry but is now living retired in Portland, came to 
Oregon in 1844 arid in 1848 took his place among those whose public utterances 
were factors in the moral development and progress of the northwest. He was 
born in Rutland. Vermont, October 17, 182 1, a son of Thomas Manley and 
Cynthia (Crary) Ramsdell, both of whom were of Scotch descent. The father 






.3 I"-- 




LOUIS JAGGAR 



■.-,vK-- .?--:■ .v; ;,:.-;o_-;-r^ 


i^S 




« 


K^-^S 


t 








i-.. 




I^P^ ^^:l 








fe-> 


'1 




"^1 


■*<:■ "* 


p.; 




^H:^H 


^K^" 


m 




■^■■;^HP 


l^^^iK/ 


¥ - 




. .' -' 11 


■fi^^gl 


^ r . m ^ 


':0 m 


^^D 


, pii jH • 


-: 1 1 


^^ :% 




^ f inK ''P^^B 


-■• 





MARY E. JAGGAR 



I 

I 






■•-''■■■5?S'-i 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 145 

was a carpenter by trade and served as colonel of one of the regiments which 
advocated the revolutionary cause of the Canadian government in 1838-9. Both 
he and his wife died in the east at an advanced age. They were representatives 
of old American families and it was the father's belief in political liberty that 
prompted him to aid the Canadians in their attempt to secure independence. 

Thomas M. Ramsdell is the eldest of four children and the only one now 
living. He pursued his education in the schools of Potsdam, New York, and 
when about fourteen years of age went to Ohio with his grandparents. He 
afterward became a student in the Granville College, a Baptist institution of that 
place, but his health failed before his class was graduated and, hoping to benefit 
by the climate, he went to Missouri. For a year he remained in that state but 
did not like the location and therefore joined a company starting for Oregon 
in 1844. He made the long journey across the plains with ox teams, being with 
the first train to leave St. Joe, Missouri, in the spring of that year. The train 
consisted of one hundred and fifty wagons, and while en route they did not see 
a white settlement until they arrived in the Willamette valley. It required be- 
tween six and seven months to make the trip and they had a little trouble with 
the Indians, but this was scarcely more than a momentary annoyance. Mr. 
Ramsdell and three companions made their way down the Columbia river valley, 
driving cattle while others of the party proceeded down by boat. They then 
went to the Tualitin plains where Jacob Hoover, one of Mr. Ramsdell's com- 
panions, settled. From that point Mr. Ramsdell proceeded to French prairie, 
where he spent the winter, and during that time built a barn for Mr. Lavie, 
this being the first "Yankee" barn in Oregon. He afterward proceeded to the 
Methodist mission at Salem, Oregon, and while there joined the first military 
organization on the Pacific coast, called the Oregon Rangers. With that com- 
mand he participated in an engagement with the Indians six miles south of 
Salem at what is now known as Battle Creek. His company was broken up 
during the Cayuse war of 1847-48, Captain Bennett being killed in battle. Mr. 
Ramsdell did not participate in that engagement, however, for he had just been 
married and was absent from the company. Later he was elected justice of 
the peace on the Santiam river near Jeflferson, being the democratic candidate 
for the position, which he held for about two years. He next settled near Jef- 
ferson, and in 1848 was nominated for the legislature, but as he desired to 
enter the ministry he declined the candidacy. In 1849 he went to California 
during the gold excitement and followed mining for about six months, after 
which he speculated in town property at Santa Clara, where he was located in 
1850. 

In that year Mr. Ramsdell returned to Oregon and again established his 
home at Jefferson, entering a tract of land across the river. About 1854 he 
removed to Salem, where he engaged in preaching, but soon afterward was 
sent to the west side of the Willamette valley to a settlement called Gillem. It 
was a part of the circuit near Dallas, and at that point Mr. Ramsdell remained 
until 1862. He then went east of the mountains to work at the carpenter's 
trade, being employed as boss carpenter by the Oregon Steam Navigation Com- 
pany until 1866. In that year he located at Yaquina, where he followed car- 
pentering and also engaged in preaching, for the settlement was too small to 
pay the salary of a minister for the full time. He continued to preach until 
about 1883, during which time he labored in behalf of the church in different 
localities, but always in the vicinity of Jefferson. He then retired from the active 
work of the ministry. In 1894 his wife died and he has since made his home 
with his children. 

It was on the 28th of July, 1847, that Mr. Ramsdell was married to Miss 
Lorella Colwell, who was born in Botetourt county, Virginia, October 16, 1829, 
and passed away on the 21st of October, 1894, her grave being made in the 
Jefferson cemetery. In their family were twelve children. Mary E. became 



146 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the wife of Cyrus Dixon, of Corvallis, Oregon, and they have two children: 
Cyrus, who married Laura Colwell ; and Lulu, the wife of Frank Knight, by 
whom she has two children, Herbert and Edna. David Ramsdell, the second 
member of the family, now living in Elk City, Oregon, married Clarinda Kibbey, 
and they have six children : Clarence, of Portland, who married Maggie Hoff- 
man and has two sons, Roy and George ; Mrs. Aurelia King, who has one son ; 
John, who married Vernie Parks and has one child; Audrey ; Arthur and 
Frank. Margaret, the third member of the family, became the wife of Cyrus 
E. Carr and died, leaving four children: Mrs. Lillie Crutchfield, who has 
three children, Vera, Mamie and Josephine; Myrtle, who is the wife of Robert 
Burch and has five children — Clara, Lois, Margaret, Jamie and Roberta; Mrs. 
Gertrude VanVoris ; and Benjamin. Adelia married Nort Michael, now deceased. 
By a former marriage she had four children: Manley, who is married and 
has one child; Mrs. Maggie Spilman, who has five children; Mrs. Maud Weist, 
who has three children; and ColHns, who is married and has one child. Lillie 
became the wife of Samuel King, of Corvallis, Oregon, and died, leaving two 
children : Lazzarus, who married Ella Le Sieur and has one child, Ester ; and 
Mrs. Martha Francisco. Thomas M., the sixth member of the Ramsdell family, 
now a resident of Corvallis, married Malinda Eddleman and has eleven chil- 
dren: Fred, who married Bertha Bell and has one child; Mrs. Effie Norton, 
who has three children; Thomas M., who is married; Mrs. Lorilla Whitlatch, 
who has one child ; Guy, who is married ; Winnef red ; and others whose names 
are not known. Callohill, of Dallas, married Melvina King and has five chil- 
dren : Sebert ; Lawrence, who is married and has one child ; Claud ; Edith ; 
and Myrtle. Anna, the eighth member of the family of Mr. Ramsdell, is the 
wife of Sivert Anderson, of Portland. John, of Portland, married Ida Steven- 
son, and has six children, Ona, Tera, LilHan, Allegra, Andrew and Robert. 
Fannie, who married William Tatum, died, leaving one child, Aileen. Ona 
married Guy Phelps and died, leaving a daughter, Naomi. The other member 
of the family, Agnes, died at the age of three years. 

Mr. Ramsdell is a member of Camp No. 2, Indian War Veterans, is the 
only living member of the first military company of Oregon, and is an active 
member of the Pioneer Society. He is a well preserved man and although he 
has reached the age of eighty-nine years, looks twenty years younger. Events 
of Oregon's history which are to others matters of record are to him matters 
of personal knowledge or experience. Few there are who can claim resi- 
dence in the state covering a period of sixty-six years. Throughout two-thirds 
of a century, however, Mr. Ramsdell has lived in this part of the country and 
his memory is a connecting link between the primitive past with all of its hard- 
ships and trials, and the progressive present with its advantages of a modern and 
advanced civilization. 



ROSENBLATT. 

The name of Rosenblatt has long figured in connection with the clothing 
trade of Portland, where it has become recognized as a synonym for progressive 
methods and reliability in all trade transactions. As senior partner of this 
enterprise Samuel Rosenblatt has formulated and executed many valuable plans 
for the extension of the trade, and with ready adaptability has recognized and 
improved every opportunity that has been presented. His record is a credit to 
Portland, the city of his nativity, his birth having here occurred in 1865. His 
parents were Meyer and Lena (Stepbacher) Rosenblatt, who were numbered 
among the early settlers of Oregon. The father engaged in general merchandising 
in Eugene in pioneer times, continuing his residence there until 1872, when 
Tie came to Portland and established a clothing business on Front street. The 
new enterprise prospered from the beginning, and as his trade brought to him 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 147 

financial returns he found it possible to purchase a building of his own at No. 
147 Front street, between Morrison and Alden. He removed his business thereto 
and continued active in its engagement until 1886, when he retired from busi- 
ness life to enjoy a well earned rest. He passed away in Portland, in 1887, 
and his wife was called to her final home ten years later. 

The two sons, Samuel and Louis Rosenblatt, are now partners in the cloth- 
ing business which is conducted under the firm style of Samuel Rosenblatt & 
Company. The former was born in Portland in 1865 and the latter in Eugene, 
Oregon, in 1869. They were both reared in this city, however, and were pupils 
in the public schools. They have been connected with the clothing trade through- 
out the entire period of their association with business affairs. The present 
house was established at No. 249 First street by Samuel Rosenblatt, the senior 
partner of the firm. He was joined almost immediately by his brother, Louis 
Rosenblatt, and they have since been associated in the conduct of the busi- 
ness. They remained on First street for ten years, and removed to their pres- 
ent location in March, 1898. They are part owners of the Silverfield building 
at the corner of Fourth and Morrison streets, and have become recognized as 
leading clothing merchants, not only of this city but of the northwest. Thor- 
oughly familiar with every phase of the trade, they keep in touch with not only 
the best line of manufactured goods, but also the latest styles and are thus able 
to supply their patrons with all that is most modern and attractive in the line of 
men's wearing apparel. 

Samuel Rosenblatt was married in February, 1894, to Miss Ida Hofifheimer, 
and unto them have been born two children. Louis Rosenblatt was joined in 
wedlock to Miss Sarah Marx, and they have one child. He is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias fraternity and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and Samuel Rosenblatt is a charter member of the Woodmen of the World. 
Both are interested in matters relative to the city's welfare and upbuilding, but 
have never been active in the field of public life, preferring to concentrate their 
energies upon commercial pursuits, knowing that in this age of close competition 
the most successful man is he who gives undivided attention to his business 
affairs. Both brothers are energetic and determined and are constantly seeking 
out new methods for the promotion of their business, which has long since been 
recognized as one of the leading clothing houses of the city. 



MRS. ELLEN C. DARR. 



Mrs. Ellen C. Darr has been a resident of Portland for forty-eight years. 
She was born in Laporte county, Indiana, January 18, 1836, a daughter of 
Jacob and Elizabeth (Bailey) Leabo. The mother, who was born and reared 
in Kentucky, died in 1852. The father was a native of Virginia, born September 
18, 1795, but his youthful days were spent in Kentucky and he was married in 
Indiana. He was a carpenter and farmer, devoting his life, as wisdom seemed 
to dictate, to those two pursuits. He came to Oregon in 1847 with "old Father 
Mitchell" over the plains and took part in the Cayuse Indian war. Again he 
m-ade the journey over the plains on a return trip to Iowa with Meek and 
Everett, after a brief period spent on the coast but in 1852 again went to Cali- 
fornia, where he engaged in mining gold. He was accompanied by his son, who 
died in the mining regions, after which the father went back to Iowa in 1853. 
The work of progress had been carried on in a marked degree ere he returned 
in 1862, at which time he was accompanied by his daughter, Mrs. Darr, and her 
husband. This time he became a permanent resident of the Pacific coast coun- 
try, remaining here until his death, which occurred at McMinnville, Oregon, in 
1880. Few men could speak with more authority concerning travel across the 
plains, for he made five trips ere the building of railroads to the coast and knew 



148 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

all of the experiences of the long" and wearisome journeys, when plodding oxen 
drew the heavily laden wagons over roads that were little more than a trail. 
He was the father of ten children but only two are now living, Mrs. Darr and 
her brother, Augustus C, who is located at Ritzville, Washington. 

Mrs. Darr attended school in Linn county, Iowa, and lived at home until 
she was married at the age of seventeen years to Hiram L. Darr, the wedding 
being celebrated at Rock Island, IlHnois, on the 20th of January, 1853. They 
began housekeeping in Linn county and there resided until i860, when they 
removed to Fremont county, Iowa, where they remained until 1862. In 
that year they started across the plains to Oregon, leaving their old home on 
the 19th of May and reaching Portland on the 30th of September. They were 
then parents of three children, who accompanied them on the trip. Mrs. Darr 
walked all the way across the plains until they reached The Dalles, doing this 
because the roads were so rough and the teams were compelled to go so slowly 
that she preferred to walk rather than to ride in the jolting wagon save when 
crossing a stream. On reaching Oregon the family spent the first winter about 
six miles south of Portland and then removed to the city, living on Hall at the 
corner of Fourth street. 

Mr. Darr was a locksmith by trade and had a shop on Washington street be- 
tween Third and Fourth. Wisely investing in land, he accumulated considerable 
property, having real estate to the value of over two hundred and fifty thou- 
sand dollars before he died. His mind, however, failed him and because of 
this he lost much of his property. He was born at Darrtown, Butler county, Ohio, 
July 9, 1 83 1, and was a son of Abraham F. and Eliza (Couch) Darr. He at- 
tended school at Darrtown, which was named in honor of his grandfather. In 
his younger days he followed farming but learned the locksmith's trade after 
coming to the northwest. He belonged to the Masonic fraternity and gave his 
political support to the republican party. He died March 28, 1894, leaving six 
children who reached mature years, while others died in infancy. Those who 
lived to adult age are : Alice, the wife of William E. Beauchamp, of Washing- 
ton, and the mother of two children — Bessie, the wife of W. W. Johnson, by 
whom she has three children, Eleanor A., Robert W. and Wanda, and Mrs. Eva 
Payette, who has one child, Edward ; William, living in Portland ; Hena, of 
California; Emma H., who became the wife of George Taylor, but both are 
now deceased, their surviving children being George K. and Irene ; Edward L., 
of California, who married Miss Cooper ; and Oakley, who has departed this 
life. 

For seventeen years Mrs. Darr has resided on the east side of Portland 
and she holds membership in the Methodist church of Sunnyside. For forty- 
eight years she has resided upon the Pacific coast and can relate many interest- 
ing incidents of the early days when Oregon was in its formative period. 



THOMAS MULLIGAN. 



Thomas Mulligan has always resided upon the Pacific coast and the spirit 
of marked enterprise and development which has ever characterized this region 
has been manifest in his life from early youth. He was born in San Francisco, 
California, in 1865, but was only three years of age when his father's family 
removed to Clarke county, Washington, so that he was here reared and educated, 
pursuing his studies in the public schools. The family lived upon a ranch and 
Thornas Mulligan early became familiar with the arduous task of clearing, de- 
veloping and improving the property, assisting his father until he started out 
in life on his own account. In 1889, when twenty-four years of age, he began 
farming independently upon his father's old place on the Fourth Plain road 
and has since given his time and energies to its further cultivation and improve- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 149 

ment. The ranch originally contained four hundred and twenty acres but a 
few small tracts have been sold and it now comprises three hundred and seventy- 
five acres. Mr. Mulligan also has one hundred and sixty acres near Proebstel, 
which he leases. The home property, which was given him by his father, is 
splendidly developed, for his methods are practical, progressive and resultant. 
He has made a close study of the best way of keeping the soil in good condi- 
tion, and in raising such farm products as are best adapted to the climate he 
has made his farm a source of gratifying profit. 

Mr. Mulligan was married in 1889 to Miss Margaret McDonald, of Van- 
couver, and they now have two daughters, May and Susan, the former the 
wife of Michael Geoghan. Both Mr. and Mrs. Mulligan are well known in 
the southern part of the county and have an extensive circle of warm friends. 
Mr. Mulligan has lived continuously in this section for forty-two years and has 
therefore witnessed much of its development. 



RICHARD H. AVANN. 



For a considerable period after the tide of emigration was turning toward 
the northwest comparatively little was done along agricultural and horticul- 
tural lines. This was due largely to the fact that much of the land was cov- 
ered with a dense forest, giving ample opportunity for the development of the 
lumber industry and precluding the possibility of cultivating the soil. In recent 
years, however, attention has been concentrated to a greater and greater degree 
upon the possibilities of raising grain and fruit in this section and among the 
number who are thus successfully engaged is Richard H. Avann, well known in 
this connection in Clarke county. He was born in Brecksville, Ohio, December 
10, 1858, and was reared to farm life, his attention in youth being divided be- 
tween the duties of the schoolroom, the pleasures of the playground and the 
work of the fields. When he had put aside his text-books his time was given 
entirely to assisting his father on the farm until the fall of 1877. In September, 
before he attained the age of twenty years, he made his way to the northwest, 
settling in Clarke county, where he was employed in different ways until 1884, 
when he began dealing in wood in Portland. There he remained for eight years, 
after which he returned to Clarke county and engaged in farming and in the 
wood business, contracting to supply wood on an extensive scale. He afterward 
purchased eighty acres of land on the Orchard road, three miles from Van- 
couver, and cultivated it in addition to his other farm. He had cleared alto- 
gether one hundred and fifty-five acres of land when he sold out. He also 
drained fifty-five acres by ditching and tiling and placed all of the improvements 
upon his property, including the planting of a fourteen-acre orchard of prunes 
and apples. He put all the fences and the buildings upon his farm and its ex- 
cellent and attractive appearance indicated his extremely active and useful life. 
In 1900 he purchased one hundred acres adjoining his original property but 
on the opposite side of the Orchard road. This he also cleared and improved 
and continued its cultivation until September, 1909, when he sold to the Van- 
couver Realty Association, which has subdivided it and made it an addition to 
Vancouver, situated on the Vancouver & Orchard Electric Line. 

In 1880, Mr. Avann was married to Miss Mary J. Jamison, of Vancouver, 
a native of Independence, Ohio, and a daughter of Hamilton Jamison of that 
city. Their marriage has been blessed with two children, Frances A. and Jessie 
J. The former is the wife of W. W. Turney, of Cleveland, Ohio, where they 
reside, and the younger daughter is yet at home. 

Mr. Avann belongs to the Odd Fellows lodge at Vancouver and also to 
Harmony Lodge, A. O. U. W. He is loyal to the teachings of these organiza- 
tions and enjoys the social relations afforded there. His has been a well spent 



150 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

life and in business affairs he has displayed keen discernment and unfaltering 
energy, bringing him at last a creditable measure of success that now enables 
him to live practically retired. He occupies a pleasant home at Twenty-first 
and Main streets in Vancouver and is widely and favorably known in the south- 
ern part of the county. 



WILLIAM A. DALY. 

The life history of William A. Daly, if written in detail, would present many 
chapters as interesting and thrilling as any tale of fiction. Life on a whaling 
vessel brought him unusual experiences in his youthful days, and he was a fron- 
tiersman in Oregon when the entire northwest was largely an undeveloped and 
unsettled country. He sought for gold in the early mining days, was connected 
with newspaper publication in Portland when this city was a village, and later was 
identified with various business projects, continuing through the period of his 
residence here in touch with the progressive spirit which has brought about 
modern progress and growth here. 

A native of Ireland, William A. Daly was bom in Westport, County Mayo, 
July 30, 1836. His father, the Rev. J. L. Daly, was an Episcopalian minister in 
Oregon, who married Eliza F. Browne, and some years afterward went to 
Australia, accompanied by his family, his son William A. being at that time only 
three years of age. 

The father settled at Sydney and remained for a considerable period in Aus- 
tralia, during which time he was engaged in teaching school. The residents of 
that country had recognized his ability and intellectual strength, and persuaded 
him to take up the profession of teaching. In 185 1 he left that country, stopping 
at Honolulu, where he taught school for a time. From there he came to Oregon, 
settling at Butteville, where he took up a donation claim. His wife and son 
William did not make the trip with the father, for William A. was then infatuated 
with the sea and felt that his greatest happiness would be in becoming a sailor. 
He therefore shipped on a whaling vessel, his mother having previously started 
for Oregon, and he finally reached New Bedford, Massachusetts. While there 
he learned that his brother John had been killed by the explosion of a steam boiler 
on a ship in Oregon, and he at once started for the northwest, arriving in Port- 
land in August, 1855. He made the trip by water and soon after secured a posi- 
tion in the office of the weekly newspaper which was then being published on 
Morrison street near First. He worked on the paper as printer and compositor 
for many years, when in connection with George Himes he established a 
job printing office. They conducted business together successfully for some time, 
after which Mr. Himes purchased Mr. Daly's interest. The latter, who was a 
democrat in politics, then established a paper called the Daily Advertiser. This 
was during the period of the Civil war, and the paper was suppressed by the 
government. 

Mr. Daly then went to the mines in Idaho and devoted about four years to 
mining, but his health becoming greatly impaired during that time, he returned 
to Portland, where he followed various business projects. He was, however, 
largely an invalid for about thirty years, and his eyesight became very badly 
impaired. Notwithstanding, he worked constantly and for a number of years 
conducted a brokerage business in partnership with his son Fred A. Daly. On 
going to Idaho, he walked all the way from The Dalles, and that was the begin- 
ning of his ill health. The strenuous exertion was more than he could endure, 
and he never fully recovered therefrom. 

It was on the 17th of December, 1857, in Portland, then a part of Washington 
county, that Mr. Daly was united in marriage to Miss Priscilla M. Gray, a 
daughter of Robert and Mary (Hannah) Gray. Her father was born in Cin- 




WILLIAM A. DALY 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 153 

cinnati, and her mother in Scotland, and they were married in Knoxville, Illinois. 
The latter died in Peoria, Illnois, in 185 1, and Mr. Gray afterward married again 
and came to Oregon, making the long journey over the plains. He left his Illinois 
home in March and arrived at The Dalles on the 20th of September, 1853. 
There he tarried for a month's rest, after whch he made his way to the Cascades 
by flatboat and then walked to the Lower Cascades, where he took another boat, 
proceeding thus to Portland. He was accompanied by his family and settled at 
Mount Tabor, where he took up a half section of land, which was a donation 
claim. Upon this place he built a log cabin and began life in true frontier style. 
There were many wolves around, and they frequently made the night hideous 
with their howling. The entire countryside was covered with a dense forest 
growth, but Mr. Gray at once began to clear his land and cultivated his fields 
as the place was prepared for the plow. After four years he sold one hundred 
acres of his claim for five dollars per acre. He afterward lived in different 
parts of the state, spending his last days in Corvallis, Oregon. 

Mr. Daly was a Mason, holding membership in Harmony Lodge. He became 
a member of the craft when twenty-one years of age and was always most loyal 
to its principles. He traveled extensively all over the world but preferred Port- 
land as a place of residence and here continued to make his home until his death, 
which occurred September 2, 1893, ^^i^ remains being interred in Riverview 
Cemetery . 

Mrs. Daly has lived in Portland from the age of thirteen years. She is a 
member of the Episcopal church and of the Pioneer Society and has a large 
circle of warm friends, whose kindly regard indicates her many admirable 
qualities. 



WILLIAM BRADEN. 



When America was still numbered among the colonial possessions of Great 
Britain, ancestors of William Braden became residents of America, and when 
the colonists attempted to throw ofif the yoke of British oppression, the family 
was represented in the continental army. William Braden, Sr., the father of 
him whose name introduces this review, was born in Canada and in 1798 be- 
came a resident of Ulster county, New York, where he was residing when the 
war with England occurred. He enlisted for active service in that conflict and 
lived for many years to see America grow in strength and power, taking her 
place among the foremost nations of the world. He died in 1881, at the very 
venerable age of one hundred and two years. He was of Scotch descent, while 
his wife, who bore the maiden name of Jane Lane, and was a native of New 
Hampshire, was of English lineage. She, too, reached a notable old age, being 
ninety-nine years at the time of her death. She was a niece of Hezekiah Lane, 
who served as an American spy in the Revolutionary war, carrying dispatches 
for General Washington and thus rendering signal aid to the cause of independ- 
ence. The political allegiance of the family was given to the whig party in 
early years, while later representatives of the name espoused the cause of the 
republican party. Of the family of William Braden, Sr., all are now deceased 
with the exception of Mrs. Susan E. Seely, whose home is in Strasburg, Penn- 
sylvania. 

The birth of William Braden, whose name introduces this record, occurred 
in the town of Ellenville, Ulster county, New York, June 28, 1831. He de- 
voted his time between the ages of six and sixteen years to the acquirement of 
an education in the public schools and then entered the State Normal School 
at Monticello, New York, pursuing an elective course in preparation for the 
work which he desired to follow. For two years he was an apprentice to the 
carpenter's trade at Ellenville, and then started for California in 1849, attracted 



154 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

by the gold discoveries of the previous year. In a sailing vessel he rounded 
Cape Horn and after a voyage of one hundred and sixty-nine days reached 
San Francisco on the 7th of July, 1849. There Mr. Braden and other young 
men of the party purchased outfits and at once sought employment in the mines. 
He devoted six years to that work and at the end of that time engaged in steam- 
boat building. His work in that connection had brought him to Portland, be- 
ing sent to this city to aid in the construction of Mountain Buck, a famous 
steamer of an early day. On its completion he entered the employ of the Oregon 
Railroad & Navigation Company as head carpenter in the shipbuilding depart- 
•ment. From that time until his death he was closely associated with the prog- 
ress and upbuilding of the northwest. He made a trip to the Fraser river in 
1857 and continued in boat building there until 1864, when he began contracting 
on his own account. He confined his operations strictly to Portland and in 
the government service built barracks at Cape Disappointment. He became 
recognized as one of the foremost contractors of his day and a liberal patronage 
was accorded him. In later life his attention was given to public service. He 
was in the city engineer's office for thirty-three years and no higher testimonial 
of his official capability and trustworthiness can be given than the fact that he 
was so long connected with the office. He was also elected superintendent of 
streets in 1877. He did not seek the position, it coming to him as a recognition 
of his personal worth and business ability. After five years in that position 
he retired but soon afterward reentered the office as deputy and there remained 
until his demise. 

On the i6th of August, i860, Mr. Braden was united in marriage to Miss 
Cordelia Davis, who was born in Indiana, in 1840, and in 1852 came to Oregon 
with her father, H. W. Davis, who at one time was Portland's postmaster. 
Five children blessed the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Braden but one of the 
number died in infancy. Minnie became the wife of W. F. Matthews, former 
United States marshal of Portland and now a resident of San Francisco. Frank 
married Eva Fernau and engaged in business in Seattle until the death of his 
wife in 1906. They had one son, Earl. Cora, the next of the family, is the 
wife of William Howes, of Portland, and has one child, Florence. Mr. Howes 
is connected with the Plumauer-Frank Drug Company. Bessie L. is the wife 
of Maurice Whitehead, who is connected with the Pacific Fruit Express Com- 
pany and they have one child, Dorothy D. Mrs. Braden now makes her home 
with her daughter Mrs. Whitehead. All of the children are graduates of the 
high school. 

In his last years Mr. Braden was the oldest living member of Samaritan 
Lodge, No. 2, I. O. O. F. He ever enjoyed the fullest respect and confidence 
of his brethren of the fraternity and was sent east to buy the pine clock which 
is now in the tower of their famous temple. He filled all of the offices in the 
local lodge and also in Ellison encampment, which he joined in i860. He was 
sent as a delegate to the grand lodge and for over twenty years served as one 
of the directors of Odd Fellows hall. He likewise became a member of Oregon 
Lodge, No. I, K. P., and served as keeper of records and seals for twenty-eight 
years. He was likewise a Mason and a charter member of Mystic Lodge, and 
in his different fraternal connections displayed the sterling principles upon which 
the orders are based. His political allegiance was always given to the republican 
party and while he continued for a number of years in public office he could 
never be called a politician in the usually accepted sense of the term. However, 
he was interested in all that pertained to the public welfare, cooperated in vari- 
ous measures and movements which had for their object the general good. He 
died February 9, 1909, when in the seventy-eighth year of his age. 

For six decades Mr. Braden had resided upon the Pacific coast and the 
early development of this part of the country was well known to him not as a 
matter of history but because he was a witness of, or participant in, many of the 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 155 

events which have shaped the annals of the northwest. He arrived in Portland 
on the 14th of March, 1857, when the land hereabouts was a forest wilder- 
ness and on the ist of July, 1884, he built his first home at what is now No. 288 
Clay street. The natural forest growth surrounded him and the nearest resi- 
dence was two blocks distant. As a contractor and through his connection with 
the city engineer's office he contributed in large and substantial measure to the 
upbuilding of Portland and is numbered among those to whom the city of the 
present day stands as a monument. 



HORATIO NELSON PRICE. 

Horatio Nelson Price is a self-made man who has worked his way upward 
by means of industry, unfaltering determination and indefatigable energy. His 
work has not only contributed to his own success but has also constituted an 
element in the progress and development of the communities in which he has 
lived and he is at all times actuated by a public-spirited devotion to the gen- 
eral good. A native of New Brunswick, he was born in the town of Woodstock, 
September 8, 1855, and spent his youthful days there, acquiring his education 
in the public schools and also in the provincial military school at Fredericton, 
New Brunswick, from which he was graduated on the completion of the reg- 
ular course. Through the periods of vacation he assisted in the cultivation of 
the home farm and following his graduation he returned to the farm and aided 
his father, who was engaged in both general farming and in the lumber busi- 
ness. Horatio N. Price also became a member of the militia of Canada and 
continued his residence in that country until about twenty-five years of age, 
when the constantly broadening opportunities of the west attracted him. Prompted 
by laudable ambition, he made his way to Clarke county, Washington, in the 
spring of 1880 and for one season worked on a farm. Then in connection with 
his brother he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of the John Calder dona- 
tion claim on Fourth Plain. Of this they cleared seventy acres, the brother 
remaining upon the farm, while Horatio N. Price entered the employ of the 
railway department of the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company for one 
season. He was afterward employed by J. B. Montgomery, a contractor of 
the Northern Pacific Railroad, who was conducting a general mercantile store 
at Skamokawa and placed Mr. Price in charge of the store. While thus en- 
gaged he was appointed postmaster of the town by President Cleveland and 
continued to fill the position for twelve years. In 1891 he was again called to 
office by appointment as state land cruiser for the southwestern district of 
Washington, in which position he continued for six years, capably and efficiently 
discharging his duties. In January, 1902, he returned to Clarke county after 
resigning his position as postmaster of Skamokawa. Here he purchased one 
hundred and ninety-two acres of land, which was also a part of the John Calder 
donation claim, paying thirty-seven dollars per acre. He then bent his energies 
to the development and improvement of the place, successfully carrying on 
farming until April, 1909. The town site of Sifton is on this ranch and Mr. 
Price retained ten acres of the site, which he hopes to hold until advancing 
prices make it profitable for him to sell. In 1909 he bought a tract of twenty- 
one acres that has been set out in prunes and apples, and is well known as an 
orchardist, conducting a successful business in that connection. He has like- 
wise dealt in timber lands but has now disposed of much of his timber. He is 
still interested in the one hundred and sixty acre tract which he and his brother, 
L. W. Price, purchased when they came to this county. While he personally 
superintends the cultivation of his farm, he is also connected with the timber 
interests in that he represents several large concerns as a timber cruiser. He 
is an excellent judge of the value of standing timber and is thus qualified to 



156 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

undertake important work of this character. Throughout his life he has been 
actuated by a spirit of undaunted enterprise and progress and his entire busi- 
ness hfe has been characterized by a steady advancement. His labors, too, 
have largely been of a character that have contributed to the welfare of the 
community. He was one of those who were instrumental in securing the build- 
insf of an electric line between Sifton and Vancouver and he is now one of its 
stockholders. 

Mr. Price was married on the ist of December, 1887, to Miss Lillie Groves, 
of Portland, a daughter of John H. Groves, and they now have two children, 
Hugh Dwight and Elise, both at home. Mr. Price belongs to Orchard Lodge, 
L O. O. F., of which he is a charter member and he likewise became a charter 
member of Kelso Lodge of the Knights of the Maccabees at Skamokawa. At- 
tractive social qualities have won him many friends and he enjoys the com- 
panionship of those whom he meets in fraternal organizations and otherwise. 
He is preeminently a business man, alert, active and enterprising, and is meet- 
ing with success through his operations in timber, through his development and 
cultivation of his land and also as an orchardist, making a specialty in the cul- 
tivation of prunes. 



WILLIAM JAMES VAN SCHUYVER. 

William J. Van Schuyver, whose death on January 7, 1909, was the oc- 
casion of sincere regret on the part of many friends and acquaintances, was a 
native of Ohio, and, as his name indicates, was of Holland Dutch descent. He 
was born in Cleveland, July 7, 1835, and was the son of William and Mary 
(Craw) Van Schuyver. He received his education in the public schools but 
did not possess the advantages of high-school training, as he was put to work 
when a boy in a bank at Fort Wayne, Indiana. In the same bank was em- 
ployed Hugh McCulloch, who later became prominently known in financial 
circles as secretary of the treasury under the administration of President An- 
drew Johnson. At twenty-five years of age Mr. Van Schuyver decided that 
more favorable opportunities for young men lay to the westward, and he came 
to the Pacific coast, arriving in i860, just before the outbreak of the Civil war. 
He made the trip by water, the Pacific railroad being then only in the pros- 
pective stage and not materializing until seven or eight years later. 

The hardy young adventurer was first attracted by the stories of great 
wealth in the mines and for several years he labored faithfully in the hope 
of becoming independent as a miner, but like thousands of others he learned 
that it is often a long and toilsome journey to wealth through gold mining. He 
was naturally gifted with business sagacity and decided to turn his attention 
to bookkeeping, a business he had thoroughly mastered during the earlier part 
of his life. He accordingly became connected with the firm of Ladd, Reed & 
Company, of Portland, later going to eastern Oregon in the interest of R. R. 
Thompson, Captain Ainsworth and others who were in the steamboat trans- 
portation business. Being an apt pupil, Mr. Van Schuyver decided at last that 
he could conduct business on his own account, and associating with Levi Mil- 
lard, he organized the firm of Millard & Van Schuyver, wholesale dealers in 
wines, etc. The firm bought out Ladd, Reed & Company and began business 
on First street near Oak. The firm became one of the leading whole- 
sale houses in its line on the Pacific coast, continuing under the same title until 
the death of Mr. Millard, when Mr. Van Schuyver took over the business and 
changed the name to Van Schuyver & Company. A new location for the busi- 
ness was selected on Second street, and there he continued in charge until he 
too was called away. The business has since been in charge of his only son, 
William O. Van Schuyver, as manager. 




W. J. VAN SCHUYVER 



'J A? 






.?? 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 159 

Mr. Van Schuyver was united in marriage at San Francisco, October 28, 
1865, to Miss Harriett Angell, a daughter of Orange Allen and Mary C. (Dun- 
lap) Angell. Three children, who are now living in Portland, were born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Van Schuyver: William O., who succeeded his father in busi- 
ness and was married to Helen J. Shortell, two children having been born to 
them, William James and Catherine Jocene; Mary C, now Mrs. Dr. A. E. 
Mackay ; and Helen, living at home. 

Mr. Van Schuyver was a man of generous social nature and was a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of Portland. He was se- 
lected to fill the responsible position of president of the building committee 
during the time the beautiful new home of the order was in course of erection. 
This is evidence of the confidence which he inspired in his associates, and in 
all his busines transactions he was known as one who gave and expected in re- 
turn the "square deal." His widow and children will always remember him 
as one whose chief virtues were exhibited at his own fireside, surrounded by 
those whom he held most dear. In politics he was a republican. 



LOUIS BUCK. 



Louis Buck, physician and surgeon, was born in Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1869, and in the city of his nativity spent his early youth and acquired his 
primary education. He became a resident of Portland, however, in 1885, and 
here completed his literary studies. He early resolved to make the practice of 
medicine his life work and to this end entered the medical department of the 
University of Oregon as a member of the class of 1897. He mastered the vari- 
ous branches that constituted the curriculum of that institution and since his 
graduation has taken special post-graduate work in the medical department of 
the University of California at San Francisco. He has always been an inter- 
ested student of the profession, reading broadly and keeping in touch with the 
discoveries which are constantly being brought to light through the research 
and investigation of different members of the profession. 

Dr. Buck was united in marriage to Miss Hattie Wagner, of San Francisco, 
and they have one son, Ronald. A social genial nature makes him popular in 
the various fraternal organizations with which he is identified, including the 
Masons, Elks, Foresters, Red Men and Moose lodges. While he greatly en- 
joys the companionship of his friends, he never allows outside interests to inter- 
fere with the faithful performance of his professional duties and he keeps in 
touch with the onward march of the profession through his membership in 
the Portland City Medical Society, the Multnomah County Medical Society and 
the Oregon State Medical Association. 



EDWARD HUGHES. 



There are no exciting or unusual chapters in the life of Edward Hughes, 
but his history illustrates clearly the value and power of close and unremitting 
industry, guided by sound judgment. Moreover the record proves the worth 
of integrity and reliability as factors in business life, for upon those qualities 
as a foundation Mr. Hughes built his success. He was born in Woodstock, 
Illinois, July 27, 1850. His parents were Patrick and Elizabeth Hughes, both 
of whom were natives of Ireland. The father followed the occupation of farm- 
ing for many years and both he and his wife died in the middle west. 

Reared under the parental roof, Edward Hughes was trained to habits of 
industry and perseverance, and his mental training was received in the schools 

8 



160 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

of Woodstock. Later he engaged in teaching school and proved a capable in- 
structor, imparting readily and clearly to others the knowledge that he had 
acquired. He turned from a professional career to merchandising, however, 
and engaged in the implement business at Cresco, Iowa, with his brother James. 
They were in partnership for about ten years and developed a business of con- 
siderable proportions. But the opportunities of the northwest attracted Edward 
Hughes, who read with interest accounts of Portland and this section of the 
country, its natural advantages and its opportunities. Accordingly, in 1882 he 
sold his interest in the store to his brother and started for the Willamette valley. 
Reaching Portland, he accepted the position of manager with the firm of Russell 
& Company, who established a branch house for the sale of farm implements. 
Mr. Hughes' previous experience in this line well qualified him for the duties 
that devolved upon him in this connection. He remained with the company 
for nine years, and during that period built up a large business, but wishing to 
have the more direct benefit of his own labors, he resigned his position and 
opened a store on his own account at the corner of First and Taylor streets, 
where he dealt in farm machinery, conducting both a wholesale and retail trade. 
Subsequently he removed to Madison and Front streets and was there located 
at the time of his death, which was occasioned by a street car accident on the 
6th of November, 1902. 

On the 28th of November, 1878, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Hughes 
and Miss Julia Mullen, a daughter of Martin and Mary Mullen. They were 
natives of Ireland but in childhood days came to America and were married 
in this country. Mrs. Hughes was born at Hartford, Washington county, New 
York, her father following the occupation of farming in that part of the state. 
By her marriage she became the mother of five children. Chester C. is now 
connected with the railway department of the Oregon Railway & Navigation 
Company at Spokane. He married Miss Elizabeth Skinner, of Washington, 
and they have one daughter, Loie Anna. Raleigh E., a graduate of the naval 
department at Annapolis of the class of 1906, is now a member of the United 
States navy and stationed in China. Leon S. is connected with the Barber 
Asphalt Company, of Portland. Julia Pauline and Julien Martin were twins. 
The former, however, died at the age of two and a half years. The son is a 
graduate of Hill's Military Academy, and is now a student at Leland Stanford 
University, Palo Alto, California. All of the children have been provided with 
excellent educational advantages. 

In his political views Mr. Hughes was a stalwart republican, believing firmly 
in the principles of the party and their adaptation to the needs of good gov- 
ernment. The demands of his business, however, always prevented him from 
holding office. He belonged to the Masonic and to the Odd Fellows lodges, 
and his remains were interred in the Masonic cemetery. He enjoyed the high- 
est regard of his fellows of that fraternity for his life exemplified its beneficient 
spirit and its principles concerning the brotherhood of mankind. In business 
and social circles he was alike popular and honored and fraternally all who 
knew him entertained for him high regard. 



WILLIAM H. WOODCOCK. 

William H. Woodcock is one of the revered patriarchs of Portland, having 
passed the eighty-fifth milestone on life's journey. He was born in Searsmont, 
Maine, August 9, 1825, a son of Theodore and Rebecca (Packard) Woodcock. 
The latter's father, Malabar Packard, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war 
and one of the first settlers of Union, Maine. Theodore Woodcock followed 
the occupation of farming and both he and his wife continued residents of the 
Pine Tree state until called to their final home. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 161 

William H. Woodcock v\^as a pupil in the district schools of Searsmont and 
after his school days were over devoted his attention to the work of the home 
farm. He carried on general farming pursuits for about forty years and lived 
upon the old home place on which his father had settled when it was a tract 
of wild land of three hundred and twenty acres. William H. Woodcock gave 
his attention to its further development and improvement and converted it into 
productive fields. His business activities, however, were interrupted at the 
time of the Civil war for in August, 1862, he responded to his country's call 
for troops, enlisting as a member of Company B, Twenty-sixth Maine Volun- 
teer Infantry, under Captain Charles Baker. He joined the army for nine 
months' service and was mustered out in 1863. He participated in the battle 
of Irish Bend on the 19th of April, of Port Hudson on the 14th of June and in 
the siege of Port Hudson which lasted for forty days. On the 17th of August, 
1863, he was mustered out at Bangor, Maine. 

At the close of his military service Mr. Woodcock returned to the farm. 
In September, 1854, he was married in Searsmont, Maine, to Miss Sarah H. 
Morrell and unto them were born three children : Ambrose, who died in 
Arizona at the age of fifty years, leaving a widow and two children, Benja- 
min and Olive ; Charles, who is now one of the proprietors of the Standard 
Box Factory of Portland and a representative business man of the city, mar- 
ried Emma Brown and has four children, Arthur, Edith, Helen and Clarke; 
Frederick, also of Portland, married Miss Alice Davie and has two daughters, 
Naomi and Ruth. The wife and mother passed away in 1866 and Mr. Wood- 
cock afterward married Fannie Wilson, the wedding being celebrated at River- 
side, Maine. 

About twenty years ago Mr. Woodcock came to Portland, where he pur- 
chased an interest in a grocery store. The venture, however, was not success- 
ful and the business was closed out. He is now living retired. While in Maine 
he served as a member of the state legislature and took an active part in poli- 
tics, giving stalwart support to the republican party, of which he has always 
been an earnest supporter. Since 1866 he has been a member of the Masonic 
fraternity. 



PETER J. FLYNN. 



Peter J. Flynn, who during the years of his residence in Portland ever bore 
the reputation for strict business integrity and for high moral worth, was a 
resident of this city for thirty-two years. He was born in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, on the 19th of April, 185 1, and was a son of James L. and Jean 
(Donelly) Flynn, the former of Irish and the latter of Scotch descent. His 
parents both died in the east. They removed, however, from Pennsylvania 
during the boyhood of their son Peter, taking up their abode in Steubenville, 
Ohio. The father was a stone contractor and built a number of the early rail- 
road bridges in the east. Subsequently they removed to Youngstown, Ohio, 
where Peter Flynn attended school, and when he had mastered the branches 
of learning taught in the public schools he began learning the stone and brick 
mason's trade, becoming a thorough workman in that line. The year 1878 
witnessed his arrival in Portland and in this city he followed contracting and 
built up a business of large proportion's. He was in partnership with James 
McBride and Alfred Bingham at dififerent times and many important contracts 
were awarded him. He was the builder of the Union depot and other fine 
structures of the city and he bore a most enviable reputation because of his 
promptness and fidelity in executing every contract. He ever fully lived up to 
the terms of his agreement and in any business transaction would rather have 
sufifered himself than have deprived another. At one time he made a trip to 



162 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

South Africa, expecting to locate there, but did not like the country and accord- 
ingly returned. He continued in business here until about four years prior 
to his death, and from time to time, as his financial resources increased, he in- 
vested in real estate, the value of which greatly increased with the rapid growth 
of the city, so that at his death he left to his family a goodly competence in- 
vested in property. 

Portland is indebted to Mr. Flynn for a large number of the beautiful holly 
trees which are a source of interest to every tourist upon the coast. He had 
great love and admiration for the holly and set out many trees in Portland for 
his friends. There is one particularly beautiful tree at the corner of Twenty- 
first and Irving streets which he planted when he bought some land there in 
1884. He erected a residence there and made his home at that corner until he 
died. The tree, which is a very large, shapely and beautiful one, is still stand- 
ing. He never joined any lodges or took active part in politics, preferring the 
quiet and rest of home life and the companionship of his books. He was par- 
ticularly interested in the study of history and had wide and comprehensive 
knowledge upon that subject. He held membership in the Catholic church and 
when death called him was laid to rest in Mount Calvary cemetery. 

Mr. Flynn was united in marriage on the 22d of June, 1882, to Miss Lizzie 
Beutgen, a daughter of Nicholas and May Beutgen, the former a native of Ger- 
many and the latter of Scotland. Mrs. Flynn was born in Canada and in 1878 
came to Portland with her parents, who died in this city. Mrs. Flynn has been 
a member of St. Ann's Society since 1882 and she is now serving as its presi- 
dent. She has taken an active part in various lines of church work and her 
efforts in that connection have been far-reaching and beneficial. 

Mr. Flynn passed away at St. Vincent Hospital on the night of Febntary 
6, 1908. The Oregonian of the following day spoke of him as "One of the best 
known contractors of the Pacific northwest. . . . He was widely and 
popularly known in Portland, where he bore an enviable reputation for strict 
business and moral integrity. He leaves many friends in both business and 
social circles." He regarded friendship as something to be cherished and not 
to be held lightly, and his friends could always count upon his loyalty and 
fidelity. 



JAMES CODY. 

James Cody is entitled to mention in connection with the substantial devel- 
opment and progress of the northwest, where he has now lived for twenty-one 
years. He drove the first spike in the construction of the Vancouver, Klickitat 
& Yakima Railroad and in later years has given his attention entirely to farm- 
ing interests, which he now succesfully conducts. He was born in the city of 
Rochester, New York, on the 15th of July, 1845, but when he was two years 
old his parents removed to Canada, settling in the vicinity of Montreal, where 
he was reared upon a farm to the age of twenty-two years. He then went to 
Osceola county, Michigan, where he resided until 1889, when he came to the 
northwest, settling in Clarke county, Washington. Here he began working 
for Patrick Dunnigan, a railroad contractor, in which connection he drove the 
first spike on the building of the Vancouver, Klickitat & Yakima Railroad, 
which was the first railroad on the north side of the Columbia river. He was 
thus employed for five months, after which he came to his present home, set- 
tling on the ranch which he now owns. It is a tract of eighty acres which was 
formerly railroad land, obtaining his patent to this in 1902. He had lived 
upon it in all the intei^vening years but his title thereto was disputed by the 
railroad company. However, in the contest he came out victorious. He has 
cleared a portion of the land and has put all of the improvements upon the 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 163 

place, including the substantial buildings which are now here found and the 
well-kept fences which bound the farm and divide it into fields of convenient 
size. He is leading a very busy life, engaged in the raising of hay, grain and 
potatoes. 

On the 13th of October, 1880, Mr. Cody was united in marriage to Miss 
Ellen Collins, of Michigan, and unto them have been born nine children, of 
whom the following are living: Anna, the wife of Allen Linton; Abbey, who 
gave her hand in marriage to Abraham Curtin ; Arthur ; Allen ; and Ella, the 
wife of J. O'Herrin, of Spokane. 

Mr. Cody belongs to the United Artisans society at Orchard. While his 
time is largely occupied with the effort to promote his own success along legi- 
timate business lines, he yet finds time to cooperate in public affairs and has 
assisted not a little in the building and improvement of the roads in this lo- 
cality. He is greatly interested in the welfare and progress of the community 
and has firm faith in the future of this district. 



JACOB FLEISCHNER. 



The years numbered more than half a century in which Jacob Fleischner 
was a resident of Portland. His name was enrolled with the Oregon pioneers 
of 1852. Mention of that year alone, to any who are at all familiar with the 
history of the northwest, brings up a picture that can never be effaced from the 
minds of those who were actors in the events which in that year marked the 
progress of civilization from the east to the west. The white-covered wagons 
traveled toward the setting sun, disease went with them as a companion and 
many a new-made grave was found along the wayside. At times the road was 
little more than an Indian trail. There was always the possibility of an Indian 
attack. It was in that year that Jacob Fleischner came to the northwest, and in 
all the years which were added to the cycle of the centuries until his death he 
maintained the closest companionship and the most kindly regard with and for 
the other early settlers to whom the tale of pioneer life was a familiar one because 
of their experience in all that constituted life on the frontier. While many of 
his warmest friends were among the early settlers, each day almost added to 
the number, for the circle of his friends increased as the circle of his acquaint- 
ance widened, and the deepest regret was felt at his passing, when on the 15th 
of April, 1910, he was called to his final rest. 

Mr. Fleischner was born in Bohemia, July 15, 1833. The schools of that 
country offered him his educational privileges and his home training was such 
as developed in him habits of industry, integrity and reliability. He was nine- 
teen years of age when he accompanied his brother Louis Fleischner, long a 
prominent merchant of Portland and a distinguished resident of Oregon, to 
the United States. For a time he resided in Philadelphia, after which he re- 
mioved westward to Drakeville, Iowa, where he began business as a merchant. 
The far west att^dcted him, however, and, equipping a wagon drawn by oxen, 
he joined a tra'n that wended its weary way over the open prairies, the hot 
sands of the desert and through the mountain passes to Oregon. Cholera broke 
out en route and much suffering was endured. At length, however, Mr. Fleisch- 
ner reached Oregon in safety and took up his abode at Albany, where for many 
years he engaged in business. He afterward removed to Portland and his first 
home here is now one of the old landmarks of the city — a house standing on 
Fourth between Yamhill and Taylor streets. For a long period prior to his 
death, however, he occupied the well known Fleischner residence at Seventh 
and Main streets, and it was there that he passed away. He was a man of re- 
markable determination, to whom an obstacle or difficulty seemed but as an 
impetus '.or renewed effort, and his boundless energy carried him to the goal 



161 - THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

of success in whatever he undertook. In his later years he engaged in the 
real-estate business, maintaining an office in the Labbe building. 

Mr. Fleischner was married, in 1858, to Miss Fannie Nadler, and unto them 
were born two sons and four daughters, and all but one, Minnie, who died in 
1894, survive the father, namely: I. N. and Marcus Fleischner, who are con- 
nected with the extensive wholesale house of Fleischner, Mayer & Company of 
Portland; Mrs. Hattie Blumauer, of this city; and Mrs. G. H. Davis, of San 
Francisco; and Mrs. Rudolph Goldsmith, of Portland. 

No greater devotion to family ties was ever shown than by Mr. Fleischner, 
who found his greatest happiness in promoting the welfare and interests of 
his wife and children ; his greatest sorrow came to him in the death of his wife 
three years prior to his demise. His love of children was always one of his 
most marked characteristics. The children instinctively placed confidence in 
him and came to him with their little tales of sorrow or of joy. In his office 
he kept a veritable aviary of wild and tame birds, which were of the greatest 
interest to his little visitors, and only a short time prior to his death he pre- 
sented his collection to the city park. He was a lover of nature in every phase, 
the birds, the trees, the water and the sky all appealing to him with their beauty 
and with their song. He was a prominent member of the Oregon Pioneers As- 
sociation, never failing to attend its meetings until ill health forced his absence, 
and when, two years prior to his death, the association was holding its con- 
vention he insisted on wearing his pioneer ribbon although ill in bed. His 
character was one of conspicuous individuality and he never permitted his 
business cares to affect his disposition, which was one of marked sweetness. 
His charitable disposition was again and again manifest and he was, moreover, 
a valued and popular member of the B'nai B'rith, the Concordia Club, the Ma- 
sonic fraternity and the Odd Fellows lodge and other institutions which gave 
expression to his social nature and kindly disposition. At the age of seventy- 
seven years he passed away, on the 15th of April, 1910, and a life record of 
great usefulness, covering fifty-eight years of active devotion to Oregon, was 
thus ended. 



MICHAEL G. MUNLY. 



Michael G. Munly ranks not only as one of the leading lawyers of the Port- 
land bar but as a man of influence in molding opinion concerning public and munic- 
ipal problems which have ever been of deep interest and importance. He is a 
practical theorist, for while he works toward high ideals he utilizes the means 
that lie close at hand for their accomplishment. 

Born in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, on the 22d of September, 1854, he was a 
son of Michael and Bridget (McHale) Munly. His educational privileges were 
extremely limited as his school life in both public and private institutions did not 
compass an aggregate period of more than three years. His x-eading and research, 
however, have carried him beyond many college-bred men and L'-oad general learn- 
ing constitutes for him a firm foundaton for his professional kn.^wledge. 

Determining upon the practice of law as a life work, in 1882 Mr. Munly was 
admitted to the Pennsylvania bar. While he soon afterward enteied upon prac- 
tice, he did not devote his time exclusively thereto, for from 1886 imtil 1890 he 
was also editor of the Catholic Sentinel. In the meantime, howe /er, he was 
building a solid reputation for force and capability in the practice cf law. He 
was deputy city attorney for one year in Portland, and in 1892 was appointed by 
Governor Pennoyer judge of the circuit court, making a creditable record on the 
bench during his two years' service. In the election of 1894, owing to the activity 
of the American Protective Association, he was defeated. Since that time he 
has devoted his attention to his private law practice, which is now very extensive. 




M. G. MUNLY 



'if V i- 1 t-^ . 



~-v/ 



J^U 



^ -'-i ij P ,:' rr 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 167 

He has been a resident of Portland continuously since July, 1882, and has won 
for himself very favorable criticism for the careful and systematic methods he has 
followed in his law practice. He has remarkable powers of concentration and 
application, and his retentive mind has often excited the surprise of his professional 
colleagues. In the discussion of legal matters before the court his comprehensive 
knowledge of the law is manifest and his application of legal principles demon- 
strates the wide range of his professional acquirement. The utmost care char- 
acterizes his preparation of a case and has made him one of the most successful 
attorneys in Portland. 

In 1909 Judge Munly was nominated for mayor on the democratic ticket but 
was defeated. This indicated his high standing in the party and the honor 
accorded him by those prominent in its ranks. He also has considerable outside 
interests which claim his attention. He is connected with the salmon packing 
industry of Alaska and is considered an authority on the natural history of Pacific 
salmons and has furnished some contributions to magazines on that subject. 

Judge Munly was married in 1890 to Miss Mary Nixon, of Portland, and has 
three children, Robert N., Raymond M., and Anna Munly. His religious faith 
is evidenced in his membership in the Holy Rosary church and also in his con- 
nection with the Knights of Columbus. He belongs to the Commercial Club and 
is a member of the Portland Press Club and the Oregon Historical Society, and 
takes active interest in those projects instituted for the development of the city. 
He is a close student of public and municipal problems, and is president of one 
of the city improvement clubs which have done much for the civic betterment of 
Portland. He is a firm advocate of many of the measures to which the public 
conscience is being awakened with the result that effective work is being done 
along the lines of general reform and improvement. On all sociological and 
economic problems he keeps abreast with the best thinking men of the age and his 
ideas have influenced a considerable following. 



BERNARD GOLDSMITH. 

Bernard Goldsmith deserves to be especially remembered and honored by 
reason of his advocacy of a well developed park system in Portland and it was 
under his administration as mayor that City Park was purchased. A native of 
Germany, he was born November 20, 1832, in Munich, a son of Abraham and 
Esther Goldsmith. His elementary education was acquired in his native coun- 
try and at the age of seventeen years he came alone to America. After a short 
period passed in New York city he made his way to San Francisco by way of 
the Panama route and subsequently removed to Crescent City, California, and 
also lived for a short time in southern California. He came to Portland about 
i860. He had been engaged in general merchandising at Crescent City and 
had also bought gold dust there. On coming to Portland he took up the business 
of assaying gold and later turned his attention to the wholesale dry-goods busi- 
ness, which claimed his time and energies for a period. Subsequently, however, 
he became interested in steamboating on the Willamette and Columbia rivers 
and he was the prime mover and the head of the company which built the locks 
at Oregon City. During the later years of his life he gave his attention to 
numerous and various financial interests, which, capably managed, brought him 
substantial success and at the same time proved factors in the progress and 
material upbuilding of this section of the state. 

Mr. Goldsmith was married in March, 1863, to Miss Emma Frohman, a native 
of Munich, Bavaria. They became parents of seven children, of whom five are 
living: J. S., a wholesale grocer of Seattle; Louis J., financial agent of Port- 
land; M. M., a manufacturer of Seattle; May B., also of that city; and Alfred 



168 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 



S who is engaged in the wholesale grocery business in Seattle. The mother 
passed away December 14, 1891, and the father's death occurred July 22, 1901. 
Mr. Goldsmith was always reckoned as a most public-spirited citizen, inter- 
ested in everything that pertained to the general welfare, to progress and 
improvement. He was a member of the Jewish church and was always active 
in the ranks of the democratic party. He was strongly opposed to slavery and 
was a stalwart advocate of any measure which he believed to be right. In 1868 
he was elected mayor of Portland on the Union republican ticket. He foresaw 
the wisdom of purchasing property for parks when it could be obtained at rea- 
sonable rates, knowing that with the growth of the city there would be a demand 
for these public playgrounds and places of amusement and adornment. During 
his administration and largely through his influence City Park was purchased 
and in this connection as well as in other ways his name will long be known 
and honored. 



JACOB GANSNEDER. 



Jacob Gansneder, now deceased, who was well known in connection with the 
restaurant and hotel interests of Portland, was a native of Germany, born at 
Oberellenbach, Bavaria, on the 2d of June, 187 1. His parents were Jacob and 
Teresa (Riedl) Gansneder, the mother having died in Germany where the father 
is still living. The latter was a farmer and stock man. Following those pur- 
suits to provide for his family of twelve children, of whom Jacob was fourth 
in order of birth. He attended school in the county of Mallersdorf, Bavaria, 
and came alone to America when sixteen years of age. The spirit of adventure 
and hope of improving his financial condition led him to sail for New York 
when but a boy in years, and from the eastern metropolis he made his way to 
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he joined his older brother. He spent two years 
in that city and began learning the machinist's trade while there. He next 
made his way to Portland, for his brother, Anton Frederick Gansneder, had 
removed to the west about a year before. On reaching this state Jacob Gans- 
neder became connected with restaurant and hotel interests, for some years 
occupying the position of chef. He was first connected in that capacity with 
the Model Restaurant and subsequently with Hotel Portland and later with the 
Louvre, one of the most popular and leading cafes of the city. In 1906 he 
opened Bismark Restaurant at No. 209 Morrison street, conducting it success- 
fully until his death, and making it one of the best establishments in his line in 
the city. In the meantime his brother Frank had come to Portland about 1894 
and worked with Mr. Gansneder and in 1906 started in business with him. He 
is now the proprietor of the Bismark Restaurant which is kept up to the high 
standard on which it was established by the two brothers. Through the capable 
conduct of this undertaking, Jacob Gansneder won a creditable measure of 
success, enabling him to leave his family in comfortable financial circumstances. 

It was on the 25th of June, 1896, in Portland, that Mr. Gansneder was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary Platz, a daughter of John and Frances (Schneider) 
Platz, who on leaving Germany in 1884 became residents of Milwaukee, Wis- 
consin. Five years later they removed westward with their family and make 
their home in Portland throughout their remaining days. Mr. Platz passed 
away in 1891 and his wife survived until July i, 1910. They had become the 
parents of seven children, namely: Mary, who became the wife of our subject; 
Frances, who wedded E. A. Ebersole, a shoe manufacturer of Portland ; Louis, 
engaged in the hotel business in this city ; Henry G., a cement contractor of this 
city; Katharine, the wife of H. M. Lescher, who is engaged in the bakery busi- 
ness in Seattle, Washington ; Anna, who wedded Dr. H. V. Guiberson. of Kent, 
Washington ; and Rose Teresa, who passed away in 1900. Mrs. Gansneder was 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 169 

born in Furth-in-wald, Germany, and accompanied her father and mother when 
they sailed for the United States and again when they traveled across the con- 
tinent to the Rose City. By her marriage she became the mother of five chil- 
dren: Francis A., M. Irene, Jacob F., Romuald Paschalus and Rosemary, all yet 
with their mother. 

The death of Mr. Gansneder occurred August 22, 1910, and to Mount Calvary 
cemetery his remains were assigned. He always voted the republican ticket 
after becoming an American citizen, but never took an active part in politics. 
He held membership with the Catholic church and with St. Joseph's Society and 
in fraternal relations was connected with the Woodmen of the World and the 
Eagles. He was an ambitious, energetic business man who constantly sought 
and improved opportunities and was, moreover, of a social, genial nature, hav- 
ing many friends in Portland, particularly among his fellow countrymen. He 
was particularly adapted to his line of business and made a great success of 
it. Special attention is called to the fact that he came to this country without 
any educational qualifications, without money and without friends, and he never- 
theless became a prominent factor in social and business circles. His life is a 
shining example of the truly self-made man. 



JOSEPH DENNIS CREMEN. 

Among those who became residents of Portland when the city contained only 
a few business houses on Front street, with a few surrounding pioneer homes, 
was Joseph Dennis Cremen. He was born in County Cork, Ireland, about 1827, 
and was educated by the Christian Brothers of that place. Cork has always been 
a center of learnng and his instruction was liberal and thorough. Though many 
years have gone by since he was called to his final rest, those who knew him 
remember him as a well educated man, and further evidence of this is found in 
his beautiful and symmetrical handwriting as seen in his memoirs. At a day when 
the course of education in many American communities extended little beyond 
reading, writing and arithmetic, he was a student of grammar, one of his old 
text-books being still in existence, the little volume defining itself as "The Art 
of Learning to Speak English With Propriety." Old volumes of Byron and 
Moore indicated his literary taste and Plutarch, his knowledge of those whose 
lives throughout the ages have left their impress upon the pages of history. 
Crossing the Atlantic in early manhood, he was a resident of New York in 1848. 
The west, however, attracted him. The news of the discovery of gold had been 
received and he realized that it meant not only the development of mining but of 
other business interests which must spring up to meet the demands of the large 
influx of emigrants to the western coast. 

Accordingly he determined to try his fortune in California and on the 5th of 
March, 1849, sailed on the steamship Lewis around the born. While en route the 
vessel was shipwrecked. Although full steam was on, it made no headway 
against the strong winds, and another three minutes would have dashed it against 
the rock, when the captain discovered the situation, put the wheel to and turned 
the boat. The trouble occurred on the 2d of May, and only the crew but the 
passengers made their way to the land where they secured wood and water. The 
moss was so thick upon the ground as to render it spon.tjy and the men stood upon 
the branches of trees to cut the wood. Members of the crew also secured wild 
geese and ducks which furnished a welcome addition to the cuisine. 

On the morning of the 7th of July, about six o'clock, Mr. Cremen landed at 
San Francisco. It was largely a city of tents and rude cabins built upon the sand 
hills. After a short time he turned his attention to the grocery business, which 
he followed in that city for several years, after which he brought the stock of 
goods to Portland. 



170 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

In 1861 Mr. Cremen was united in marriage to Miss Mary McGettigan, or 
Gatens, for so the name came to be spelled, the Irish form being dropped after 
the establishment of the family in America. Mrs. Cremen was born in St. 
Johns, New Brunswick, October 30, 1839, and came to California in 1857. Mrs. 
Cremen still has in her possession an interesting paper attesting the election of her 
husband to membership in Multnomah Fire Company, No. 2, a volunteer organiza- 
tion of which men who are recognized as among the most prominent and wealthy 
residents of the city were also members. He was likewise the first secretary of 
the Portland Hibernian Society, in which any man of Irish birth was entitled to 
membership. This was about 1859. He was also the secretary of the Washing- 
ton Guards, the first military company organized in Portland. Thus associated 
with events of pioneer history, he well deserves representation in the annals of 
this city. 



WILLIAM DAVID FENTON. 

William David Fenton, one of the foremost corporation lawyers of the Pacific 
northwest, ^hose success and leadership not only at the bar but in other walks of 
life are due largely to his fearless expression of his honest conviction, which has 
ever been one of his strong and sterling characteristics, has been a resident of 
Oregon for forty-five years, arriving in Yamhill county when a youth of twelve. 
His birth occurred upon a farm in Scotland county, Missouri, June 29, 1853, his 
parents being James Davis and Margaret Ann (Pinkerton) Fenton. He comes 
of Welsh and English ancestry on the paternal side, the family having been 
established in America about 1790. The Pinkertons, however, trace their Ameri- 
can ancestry back to 1746, when representatives of the name came from Scotland 
to the new world and settled in North Carolina. James Davis Fenton was a 
farmer by occupation and followed that pursuit in Scotland county, Missouri, 
until, attracted by the favorable reports which he heard concerning the north- 
west, he brought his family across the plains from Missouri to Oregon, traveling 
according to the primitive manner of the times and establishing his home in Yam- 
hill county, in what was still a pioneer district, where the hardships and difficul- 
ties of frontier life must be encountered in the eft'ort to develop a farm from 
land hitherto uncultivated. 

William David Fenton, then a lad of twelve summers, bore his part in the 
arduous tasks of the farm but was not deprived of educational privileges which 
fitted him for labors of a wider scope. He had the opportunity of attending the 
Baptist College at McMinnville and afterward continued his studies in the Chris- 
tian College at Monmouth, Oregon, where he was graduated in 1872. He was 
then a youth of nineteen years. Directing his labors into those channels which 
demand strong intellectuality, close application and keen analysis, Mr. Fenton 
prepared for the bar as a law student in Salem, Oregon, and in December, 1875, 
was admitted to practce. It was not until two years had passed, however, that 
he opened an office in Lafayette, Yamhill county, and entered upon the active 
work of his profession as a member of the firm of McCain & Fenton. They 
enjoyed a successful practice for three years and the partnership was then dis- 
solved, Mr. Fenton being joined by a younger brother, with whom he was associ- 
ated until 1885, when he went to Portland, attracted by the opportunities of the 
growing city. The death of his father in the following year, however, occasioned 
his return to Lafayette, where he remained from 1886 until 1889. In the latter 
year he opened a law office in Seattle but in June, 1890, returned to Portland, 
where he has since continued in the practice of law, winning a place in the fore- 
most ranks of the corporation lawyers of this city. In June, 1891, he became 
counsel for the Southern Pacific Railroad in Oregon and a member of the law 
firm of Bronaugh, McArthur, Fenton & Bronaugh, an association that was main- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 171 

tained until the death of the senior partner in 1897, at which time the firm of 
Fenton, Bronaugh & Muir was organized. The withdrawal of Mr. Bronaugh in 
1900 left the firm Fenton & Muir and in 1901 Mr. Fenton entered upon an 
independent practice, in which connection a large clientage has been accorded 
him. While he continued in the general practice of law, he has largely concen- 
trated his efiforts upon corporation law, in which field he is largely regarded as 
an authority in the northwest. While acting as counsel for the Southern Pacific 
lines in Oregon, he also represents in legal capacity the Amercan Steel & Wire 
Company, the Standard Oil Company, the Pacific Coast Biscuit Company, the 
Equitable Assurance Society of New York and various other corporations, all 
of which find him adequate in mastering the intricate problems of corporation 

law. 

While his law practice occupies the major portion of his attention, Mr. Fen- 
ton is nevertheless recognized as one of the political leaders of Portland, giving 
his allegiance to the democratic party until 1896, when his opposition to the 
silver plank in its platform led him to throw the weight of his influence in favor 
of the gold standard policy, since which time he has labored effectively in the 
interests of the republican party. He was elected as a democrat to the state 
legislature from Yamhill county in 1876 and was the nominee of his party for 
congress in 1882, in which year he was defeated by a small majority. Two years 
later he was made a Cleveland elector, but his ambition is not in the line of office- 
holding, his practice being too extensive and of too important a character to per- 
mit of greater activity in political circles. 

On the i6th of October, 1879, Mr. Fenton was united in marriage to Miss 
Katherine Lucas, of Monmouth county, Oregon. Their family numbers four 
children, namely: Dr. Ralph Albert Fenton, of Portland, and Dr. Horace B. 
Fenton, also of Portland, both graduates of the University of Oregon, the former 
taking his medical course at North Western in Chicago, the latter, at Johns Hop- 
kins; Kenneth L. Fenton, a graduate of Yale in 1910 and a member of his fath- 
er's legal staff; and William David, Jr., a lad of fifteen years. 

The qualities which have gained Mr. Fenton's preeminence in the practice of 
law also make him a valued member of the different societies with which he is 
connected. In Masonry he has attained high rank, having taken the degrees of 
the consistory and the Mystic Shrine and one of the few thirty-third degree' 
Masons in Oregon. He also belongs to the Arlington Club of Portland and is a 
member of the Oregon Bar Association. A man of wide reading, thoroughly 
versed concerning the significant and vital questions of the day, his comprehen- 
sive understanding and his strong and forceful personality have made his labors 
an effective factor in all those fields to which he has directed his activity, and 
especially in the solution of those intricate problems upon which careful analysis 
must be brought to bear. 



MATHIAS SPURGEON. 

Vancouver is the home of many men who are living retired — men whose 
business ability has carried them from a humble financial position to a place of 
affluence, now enabling them to rest from further labor. Such is the history of 
Mathias Spurgeon, who has reached the age of seventy-two years, and is en- 
joying the fruits of his former toil in a pleasant home in Vancouver. He was 
born in Iowa, April 22, 1838, and was reared there to the age of fourteen years. 
During that period he had had the privilege of attending school for only one 
winter. Both of his parents being dead, he sought the opportunities of the 
Pacific northwest, making his way first to Oregon territory and then crossing 
the river to Vancouver in November, 1852. The journey westward was made 
over the old Oregon trail with ox teams and a covered wagon. There were five 



172 " THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

families in the party and they traveled after the slow and tedious manner of 
the times, experiencing hardships and privations by want of pasturage and 
water for the stock. After reaching his destination, Mr. Spurgeon went to live 
with William Dillon, a pioneer settler, under whom he worked until twenty- 
one years of age. He then made his way to the mountains and engaged in 
mining for a year, but was very unsuccessful. Subsequently he engaged in 
driving team for a year and thus made back the money he had lost in his mining 
venture. He afterward rented land which he cultivated for three years, during 
which period he saved enough to enable him to purchase the property, which 
consisted of one hundred and sixty acres. He still owns that place and one 
hundred acres that he purchased later, making a total of two hundred and sixty 
acres which return to him a good annual income. He continued to carry on 
farming and stock raising until 1905, and annually harvested good crops, while 
his stock also found a ready sale on the market. With advancing years he de- 
cided to put aside the more active duties of the farm and, renting his place, 
removed to Vancouver, where he built a home and lives retired. In the mean- 
time, he had bought and sold much land in this vicinity, and had realized good 
returns from his investments. 

On the 2 1 St of October, 1877, Mr. Spurgeon was married to Miss Olive 
Dillon, who was born in Oregon and is a daughter of Jeremiah and Roxie Dil- 
lon, early pioneer settlers of this locality. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Spurgeon have 
been born the following named sons and daughters: Mrs. C. W. Nickols, of 
Vancouver; Mrs. H. Brooks, who has two children: Dean and Dale; John, 
who is engaged in fruit-raising in Vancouver; Mathias O., who is married 
and has one child, Olive Alice, and is the proprietor of a confectionery store 
in the same city ; and Leo and Gerald, at home. 

Mr. Spurgeon is a member of the Grange of Vancouver. He has never 
regretted his determination to seek the opportunities of the northwest. His 
early youth was a period of earnest, unremitting toil, and in fact on the guide 
posts of his life he has always found the word labor. What he has undertaken 
he has carried forward to success, and it is this which now numbers him among 
the substantial pioneer residents of his adopted city. 



SAMUEL SHERLOCK. 



The life history of Samuel Sherlock was the creditable record of a self- 
made man who, empty handed, faced the world at the outset of his business ca- 
reer but by skill at his trade, determination and close application worked his way 
upward, becoming in the course of years a leading wholesale harness manufac- 
turer of Portland. He was born at New Ross, Ireland, about 1820 and his 
youthful days were spent amid the surroundings of town life in the community 
where his parents maintained their home. His education was acquired in the 
Erasmus Smith foundation schools and there he learned the harness maker's 
trade. The reports which reached him concerning the opportunities and advan- 
tages of the new world led him to seek a home in America and for a time he 
worked at New Haven, Connecticut, and at Newark, New Jersey. Owing to 
the fact that his brother William was a resident of Portland, he came to this 
city in the '50s by the water route and the isthmus of Panama, and his first work 
in this city was in making two side saddles. He was employed for a time by 
others but eventually established a harness shop of his own in connection with 
William Sherlock and Charles Bacon, who became the founders of what is now 
the George Lawrence Wholesale Saddlery Company. Mr. Sherlock continued 
to engage in the wholesale harness business until his death, which occurred on 
the 15th of July, 1876. While riding his horse one day he was thrown and the in- 
juries sustained resulted in his death several days later, to the deep regret of 




SAMUEL SHERLOCK 



i f1 -Jl »1 



::. ''X 









THE CITY OF PORTLAND 175 

many friends who had learned to know and esteem him during the years of his 
residence in Portland. 

Mr. Sherlock was a member of the Episcopal church and in politics was a 
republican. He held membership with the old guard fire department and was 
interested and active in support of many measures and movements which were 
elements in the city's early development and substantial progress. In business 
he was successful and died the possessor of a comfortable competence, although 
he came to Portland empty-handed. 



JOSEPH A. FRIZZELL. 

Oregon is coming more and more to recognize the great debt which she owes 
to her pioneer settlers, those whose courage and determination enabled them to 
make the long and difficult journey across the plains and bear the hardships, 
privations and trials of pioneer life when this state was still a sparsely settled 
region. Among the early settlers was Joseph A. Frizzell, who arrived in Oregon 
in 1852. He was for many years engaged in stock-raising but spent his last days 
days in Portland. His birth occurred near Springfield, Missouri, March 9, 
1843, his parents being Porter and Lilly (Porter) Frizzell. The father was 
a stockman and came to Oregon with his family in 1852, traveling by slow stages 
over the plains, his wagon drawn by oxen. It was a memorable year among the 
emigrants for cholera broke out all along the route and many died, so that the 
way was marked by new made graves almost from the Mississippi valley to the 
seaside. Porter Frizzell was the last victim of that dread disease, to which he 
succumbed after arriving in Oregon, his remains being interred in Sherman 
county. The mother succeeded in making her way with her large family of 
small children into the Willamette valley and settled near Bethel, in Polk 
county, where the sons and daughters were reared. The three brothers of our 
subject, William, Jason P. and George L., are living and one of the sisters, Mrs. 
H. M. McNary, is a resident of Portland, but another sister, Mrs. Alexander 
Holmes, has passed away. 

Joseph A. Frizzell was the fourth in order of birth in this family. A location 
was made in Polk county, nine miles west of Salem, near the little town of 
Bethel, the mother taking up a donation claim in what was a wild and unset- 
tled country. One of her relatives entered an adjoining claim and assisted her 
through the first year, but for a considerable period she and her family had a 
hard time. The eldest of the children was but sixteen and the youngest only 
two years of age. Joseph A. Frizzell and his older brother worked out break- 
ing prairie with ox teams in order to obtain ready money with which to provide 
for the support of the family. The two elder boys made all of the rails to fence 
the place. As time passed one, however, things became easier, the prairie land 
was converted into productive fields and brought forth rich crops and the farm 
which is now a valuable property is still in possession of the youngest brother. 

The educational advantages of Joseph A. Frizzell were necessarily very 
limited, but he became a practical business man, learning many valuable les- 
sons in the school of experience, while reading and observation also broadened 
his knowledge. He remained upon the old homestead until about eighteen years 
of age. when he began mining at Florence, Nevada, following that pursuit for 
about two years. He then engaged with his brother William in teaming and 
freighting from The Dalles to Boise City, Idaho, carrying on that business for 
about three years, at the end of which time Joseph A. Frizzell purchased some 
sheep and settled upon a ranch in the wild country of Washington. The Indians 
were numerous but the white settlers were few. He devoted his attention to 
sheep for a few years and then turned his attention to cattle raising. Removing 
from Washington to Wheeler county, Oregon, he was thereafterward connected 



176 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

with the live-stock business in that locality up to the time of his death. He 
made his home upon his Wheeler county ranch until 1905, when the family went 
to Portland. Because of his live-stock, which he could not dispose of, he had 
to remain there for a time, and then joined his family in Portland, where he 
passed away on the 14th of May, 1910, his remains being interred in the Rose 
City Park cemetery. 

It was on the 17th of October, 1872, in Salem, that Mr. Frizzell was united 
in marriage to Miss Polly A. Starbuck, a daughter of Elisha and Susan (Pierson) 
Starbuck, both of whom were natives of Hamilton county, Ohio. They came 
from Iowa to Oregon in 1863, crossing the plains and taking up their abode in 
Polk county, about four miles from Salem. The mother is now deceased, but 
the father is still living at the venerable age of ninety-two years. Unto Mr. and 
Mrs. Frizzell were born four children: Merritt L., a stockman of Condon, 
Oregon, who married Margaret Hardie and has five children, Ada, Riley, Frank, 
Jessie and Lester; Grace, the wife of Edward D. Payne, of Portland; Jessie, 
the wife of Edwin L. Steinhoff; and Blanch, who died in infancy. 

Mr. Frizzell was a most considerate husband and father, who sought suc- 
cess that it might enable him to provide liberally for his family and give to them 
the comforts which make life worth living. During his residence in Wheeler 
county, his fellow townsmen, appreciating his worth and ability, called hirn to 
office, electing him to the position of county commissioner upon the republican 
ticket. It was said of him: "He was a good neighbor, always willing to help 
the needy, was a kind father and a friend to all." He took a deep interest in the 
history of the early days and at one time served as president of the Wheeler 
County Pioneer Society. When he removed to eastern Oregon the section in 
which he settled was an entirely undeveloped region and he took an active and 
helpful part in planting the seeds of civilization there. His life was, indeed, one 
of usefulness and his worth won him the strong and enduring attachment of 
family and friends. 



JOHN BARRETT. 

Attracted to the Pacific coast with the hope of gaining a fortune in the mines, 
John Barrett met with but poor success in his search for the precious metal and 
turned his attention to the plumbing business, which trade he had previously fol- 
lowed in the east. Here he found an occupation in which his labors counted as 
tangible factors in the attainment of a most desirable result and in the passing 
years he became the foremost representative of this line of business in the 
Pacific northwest. In the sea-coast city of Liverpool, England, with its im- 
mense shipping interests, John Barrett was born on the 13th of April, 1831. His 
parents, John and Catherine (Rooney) Barrett, were both of Irish descent and 
birth, but died in England. At the usual age their son John was sent to school 
and gave much of his attention to his lessons in Liverpool until seventeen years 
of age, when a spirit of adventure and desire to see the world caused him to 
run away from home in company with a young friend who later died in California. 
They sailed for New York and arrived in Williamsburg, on Long Island, which 
has since been annexed to New York city. He there learned the plumber's 
trade and became a very fine workman. His friend went to California about 
two and a half years after they landed in the United States, but Mr. Barrett 
continued to work at his trade in the east until about 1855, when he went to 
South Carolina, joining a brother Edward, who was captain of a packet ship. 
Later Edward Barrett died from the yellow fever and John Barrett also con- 
tracted the fever from nursing his brother, but recovered. He then returned to 
New York where he remained until 1861, when he started for the Pacific coast, 
making his way by the water route to Panama and, crossing the isthmus, he 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 177 

embarked on the western coast for San Francisco. Soon after reaching that 
city he and a number of men went to the Fraser river mines. He followed 
mining for a short time but with poor success and made his way to Portland, where 
he met a number of men bound for the Idaho mines. He bought about one 
thousand dollars worth of supplies and went with them. He followed mining 
that season — this was about the year 1862 — but again he had bad luck and re- 
turned to Portland, where for one winter he engaged in clerking for the old 
Howard Hotel. In the spring he entered the employ of C. H. Meyer & Com- 
pany, plumbers, with whom he continued until 1867, when he formed a partner- 
ship with John Donnerberg, a fellow workm.an in the employ of Meyer & Com- 
pany. They opened a plumbing shop on First street near Yamhill, and there 
engaged in business together for about four years. At that time they dissolved 
partnership and Mr. Barrett established an independent business on First street. 
He was numbered among the leading plumbers of the city until 1893, when he 
sold out to Crane & Company. In fact he had built up a very extensive business, 
the largest in the Pacific northwest. He had a contract for all the plumbing work 
for the old Oregon Steam Navigation Company and he was also one of the first 
men to be identified with the great sewer system of Portland. His expert work- 
manship was the source of his success and as his trade increased so that he 
found it necessary to employ others, he was always careful to secure the serv- 
ices of those who could do satisfactory work. Moreover he was interested in 
a number of other business projects of Portland in the early days but in the 
widespread financial panic of 1893 he lost quite heavily. 

Throughout the period of his residence in Portland Mr. Barrett took an 
active and helpful part in promoting those projects which wrought for public 
progress and improvement. He was a very prominent member of the old volun- 
teer fire department, No. 2, joining this soon after his arrival in Portland. He 
had previously been a member of the fire department of New York city. In 
politics he was a stalwart republican but would never hold office, preferring to 
do his public duty as a private citizen. His religious faith was that of the 
Catholic church and he was a most zealous advocate of the cause. 

With the beginning of the year 1865 Mr. Barrett established a home of his own 
by his marriage on the ist of January, in the old St. Mary's Catholic church of Port- 
land, to Miss Margaret O'Connor, a daughter of Thomas G. and Alice (Slattery) 
O'Connor, both of whom were of Irish lineage. The mother died at Denison, 
Iowa, where they were the first white family to locate. Mrs. Barrett was born 
at Lebanon Springs, New York, and on the 12th of March, 1863, arrived in 
Portland in company with her father and two brothers, Michael and John. The 
former is now a merchant of Olympia, Washington, while the latter, who was 
associated in business with Mr. Barrett for a number of years, is deceased. Her 
father served as deputy under Marshall Hoyt and was killed while on duty. 
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Barrett were born seven children: John F., of Portland, 
who married Julia Beason and has four children, John F., Joseph G., Elizabeth 
and Katherine, the last two being twins ; Katherine A., the wife of Thomas H. 
McAllis, of Portland, by whom she has one son, John B. ; Thomas W., who 
graduated from the medical department of the Columbia College of New York 
and was for six years a successful physician of Portland, whose career was 
terminated by death ; Joseph M., of this city ; Edward D., of Portland, who 
wedded Elizabeth Elliott ; Inez, at home ; and Rodney G., who died in infancy. 
The family are all members of the Catholic church and Mrs. Barrett belongs to 
the Ladies' Aid Society and the Altar Society. She was also one of the charter 
members of St. AInn's Society. After disposing of his plumbing business in 
1893 Mr. Barrett lived retired until his death, which occurred September 12, 
1910, his remains being interred in Riverview cemetery. He left considerable 
real estate for as the years passed and his financial resources increased he had 
made judicious investments in property. The spirit of enterprise and progress 



178 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

actuated him at all times and was manifest not only in his business affairs but 
also in his connection with Portland as a citizen and as a supporter of measures 
that tended to promote the political, intellectual, social and moral progress of 
the community. 



W. H. H. MORGAN. 



W. H. H. Morgan, residing in Portland and engaged in the live stock business, 
was born December 8, 1840, in Ohio, a son of Edward and Mary (Shirley) 
Morgan. The father was born in London and the mother, a native of Virginia, 
was of German descent. They were among the early settlers of Ohio and in 
his native land Edward Morgan learned and followed the shoemaker's trade. 
He was married in that country and with his wife and three children came to 
the United States when about thirty years of age. Subsequently he lost his first 
wife and wedded Mary Shirley. In Ohio he followed the occupation of farming 
and thus provided for his family, which numbered altogether twenty-two chil- 
dren, born of the two marriages. 

After living in the Buckeye state Edward Morgan removed to Iowa, where 
he resided for two years. In 1845 he started across the plains with ox teams to 
the far west, traveling with a large wagon train which slowly wended its way 
toward the Pacific coast, six months elapsing before the end of the journey. 
Mr. Morgan at length reached Linnton, Oregon, which lies just across the river 
from St. Johns and within a few miles of Portland. There was only one log 
cabin on the present site of Portland at that time. Mr. Morgan located in the 
center of Sauvie's island, where he took up six hundred and forty acres of land 
as a donation claim. Later, however, he sold that property and in 1850 removed 
to the farm which is now owned by his son, W. H. H. Morgan. At that time 
he secured six hundred and forty acres of land, for which he paid one hundred 
dollars. This place is fourteen miles north of Portland. At that time there 
were comparatively few white men in this section and most of them had squaw 
wives. Mr. Morgan built a house of hewed cottonwood logs. In the family at 
that time there were the parents and seven children. They had two yoke of 
cattle and one cow. The log cabin remained the home of the family for about 
eight years, after which Edward Morgan built a frame dwelling, purchasing 
the lumber from Mr. Wells at Milwaukie. Later his son, whose name introduces 
this review, erected a fine residence upon the farm. The father died in 1872 at 
the ripe old age of eighty-four years, and the mother passed away in 1875 at 
the age of sixty-six years. In politics he was a very strong abolitionist in ante 
helium days and when the republican party was formed to prevent the further 
extension of slavery into the north he joined its ranks. However, he would 
never consent to hold office but in other ways did all he could to promote the 
success of his party and secure the adoption of its principles. He was a lifelong 
and devoted member of the Baptist church and always lived in consistent 
harmony with his professions. He always followed farming after coming to 
Oregon but at length sold his place about fourteen miles from Portland and 
removed to Clackamas county, while later he became a resident of Washington 
county. A daughter of the family, Mrs. Julia Ann Freeman, is now living in 
Portland, while another daughter, Mrs. Katherine Dunn, lives on Sauvie's island 
and still another one, Mrs. Lucinda Boynton, is living in the Willamette valley. 
A son, George, makes his home in Washington county and Edward in Roseburg, 
Oregon, while still another daughter, Mrs. Sarah Ott, is living near Fort Madi- 
son, Iowa, at the very advanced age of eighty-nine years. 

W. H. H. Morgan, brought to Oregon in 1845, was reared amid the wild 
scenes and environment of pioneer life. The river courses of the state made 
their way between banks upon which great pine forests grew and through the 
forests the Indians roamed at will, far outnumbering the white settlers who had 




W. H. H. MOEGAN 



ItmucumAnji 
I •' 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 181 

ventured into the western wilderness to plant the seeds of civilization here. 
The unsettled and undeveloped condition of the country was such that Mr. 
Morgan had practically no school privileges. The homes of the settlers were 
too far distant from each other to permit of public schools being maintained 
and the education which Mr. Morgan has acquired has come to him through his 
reading, observation and broadening experience. He has always followed farm- 
ing and stock-raising and in the fall of 1864 he purchased one-half of his father's 
farm and later bought the other half of his brother-in-law, so that he is now the 
owner of the old homestead property. 

It was on the 30th of April of that year, at Vancouver, Washington, that 
Mr. Morgan was united in marriage to Miss Sarah E. Orchard, a daughter of 
Jesse C. and Minerva Ann (Medford) Orchard. She was born in Texas and in 
1852 came over the plains with her parents to Oregon, the journey being made 
with ox teams. Her father had followed farming in Texas and on reaching this 
state settled in Polk county, where he resided until 1862, when he came to 
Multnomah county. Here he took up one hundred and sixty acres of land, 
which he cultivated for a time, but later sold that property and removed to 
eastern Oregon, his death occurring in that part of the state. His wife passed 
away in Washington. Of their children Mrs. America Ann Thomas lives in 
Portland, while James A. and Jasper are residents of Washington and two sons, 
John O. and Oscar, are in California. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Morgan 
was blessed with eleven children: Charles C, who died in childhood; Elmina, 
the wife of David Kurtz, of Portland, and the mother of two children — Roy 
and Alma ; Nellie B., at home ; Nettie, the wife of Verne Jeffrott, of Portland, 
by whom she has one son, Morgan; Daisy, at home; Luella, the wife of W. S. 
Copeland, of Sauvie's island; Alba, of Portland, who married Madge Kay and has 
one son, William K. ; Laura, the wife of Amor C. Spencer, of Portland, and 
the mother of one child, Helen E. ; Newton, of Portland, who married Bessie 
Monroe; and two who died in infancy. V";:.;, '^..l,;. .. ■ 

In his political views Mr. Morgan has always been a republican but the 
honors and emoluments of office have had no attraction for him. He lived a 
busy and useful life upon the farm which he still owns and which has been in 
possession of the family for sixty years. At length he retired from farming in 
1897 and took up his abode in Portland. Previous to this time he would spend 
the summer months upon the farm and the winter seasons in Portland in order 
to give his children the benefit of educational advantages here oflfered. In 1906 
he erected a fine residence on Hawthorne avenue, where he now resides. Few 
have longer been residents of Oregon than Mr. Morgan, who since 1845 has lived 
within the borders of the state, which, however, was under territorial govern- 
ment at the time of his coming and included the state of Washington. At that 
day wild beasts and birds dwelt unmolested in the forest and the white man had 
disputed with the Indian to only a slight extent concerning the ownership of 
the land. The great, vast regions of the state were unclaimed and Portland, the 
beautiful Rose City of the present, had then but a single house — a log cabin. 
Mr. Morgan has therefore been a witness of the entire development of the city 
and along agricultural lines has contributed to the upbuilding and progress of 
this section. He is indeed an honored resident of the northwest. 



JOHN WELCH, D. D. S. 

At the time of his death, which occurred in Portland July ir, 1905, Dr. 
John Welch was one of the oldest and one of the most successful dental prac- 
titioners of the Willamette valley. He had followed his profession in both 
Oregon City and Portland and at all times had kept in touch with the advance- 
ment made by representatives of the dental fraternity, both in the work of 



182 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the operating room and in the manufacture of dental appliances and supplies. 
It was not alone his business ability or his professional skill, however, that gave 
him a place with the prominent residents of Portland, but also the social qual- 
ities, enterprising spirit and progressive citizenship which at all times were 
strongly developed characteristics of his life. He was born in Mineral Point, 
Wisconsin, on the 13th of September, 1836, a son of William and Jane (Bog- 
ges) Welch. His father, a native of Virginia, was reared in the usual manner 
of farm lads and devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits until 1833. At 
that time excitement was running rife concerning the discovery and develop- 
ment of the lead mines in Wisconsin and he removed to Mineral Point, where 
he was connected with mining interests until 1838. In that year he became a 
resident of Camanche, Iowa, and again took up the occupation of farming 
which he followed until 1850. In early manhood he had wedded Miss Jane 
Bogges, a native of Kentucky. Their children were largely reared upon the 
Iowa farm to which William Welch devoted his time and energies until 1850 
when, accompanied by his son John, he started for California, crossing the 
plains with horse teams. They completed the journey between the Missouri 
river and Placerville, California, in just ninety days — a remarkably short trip 
— for it usually required five or six months for the wagon trains to cover the 
same ground. The father and son at once went to the mines and were engaged 
in a search for the precious metal for four years, at the end of which time 
they returned by way of the isthmus of Panama to their Iowa home. In 1863 
the father once more crossed the plains, again driving horses. This time, how- 
ever, Oregon was his destination and he was accompanied by his family, for he 
had determined to take up his permanent abode in the northwest. They trav- 
eled by easy stages until at the end of five months they reached Clackamas 
county where Mr. Welch secured land, becoming identified with the agricul- 
tural interests of the Willamette valley. He remained a respected farmer of 
that locality up to the time of his death. 

Dr. Welch, spending his youthful days in his parents home, had supple- 
mented his early public school education by study in the Rock Island (Illinois) 
Seminary. He determined upon a professional career and took up the study 
of dentistry in the office and under the direction of Dr. W. J. Lawrence, of 
Lyons, Iowa, with whom he remained for a year. In 1857 he located for ac- 
tive practice in Chillicothe, Missouri, and later followed his profession in 
Georgetown, Missouri. He was married on the 17th of April, 1859, to Miss j 
Elizabeth Clements, of Fairview, Missouri, and soon afterward they went to ii 
Chicago where Dr. Welch resumed his studies in the office of Dr. E. Carpenter, 
an eminent dentist of that city. He studied and piacticed in Chicago until 1863 ; 
when he and his family accompanied his father and family on the removal to 1 
Oregon. i 

Dr. Welch opened an office in Oregon City and concentrated his entire en- | 
ergies upon his practice there until 1870 when, noting the substantial growth j 
and development of Portland, he also began practicing in the latter city. He 
continued both offices but lived in Oregon City until 1888 when he purchased I 
a residence at the corner of Sixteenth and East Everett streets, where he lived Jf 
until his death and which was the family home for twenty years. Dr. Welchj 
maintained his office for fourteen years in the Union block, at the comer off 
First & Stark streets and followed both operative and mechanical dentistry.] 
He also carried a stock of dental goods and had a branch establishment at] 
Spokane, Washington, in order to supply the trade of the northwest. He was] 
regarded as a highly skillful dentist and continually promoted his efficiency] 
through reading and investigation, keeping in touch with the most advanced! 
work of the dental fraternity throughout the country. In his later years he 
was one of the oldest practitioners of Portland and ever maintained his place] 
as the foremost representative of the profession. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 183 

Unto Dr. and Mrs. Welch were born the following children: Dr. William 
Edward, who married Julia Smith and practices his profession at Rainier, 
Oregon; Robert Sterling, who became a dentist but is now deceased; John C, 
of Portland, who married Alice Wallace and had three children, Mary A., John 
W. and Margaret J. ; Henry, who wedded Fanny Hendren and lives near 
Hillsboro, Oregon ; Frank P., who is a dentist, married Elizabeth Mock, 
but is now deceased; Catherine J., the wife of Dr. Cawood, of Portland, and 
the mother of two children, John R. and Elizabeth ; Reuben ; Anna Elizabeth, 
the wife of George H. Tuttle, of Portland; and Benjamin T., at home. 

Dr. Welch was laid to rest in Riverview cemetery. His death was indeed 
a deep blow to his family, to whom he had ever been a devoted and loving 
husband and father. He was also a loyal member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, was one of the organizers of the state board of dental ex- 
aminers and was appointed one of the four members of that body. He held to 
high professional standards and to lofty ideals of citizenship and of manhood, 
and thus won for himself an exalted position in the regard and friendship of 
those with whom professional and social relations brought him in contact. 



CHARLES H. DYE. 



Charles Henry Dye's first ancestor in America was a Dane who came with 
the Dutch founders of New Amsterdam, and Dey street. New York city, is 
named for the family cow pasture on the island of Manhattan. A grandson, 
Andrew Dey, or Dye as it came to be spelled, went to Maryland and there 
married Sarah Minor, own cousin to the wife of George Washington, and 
Colonel Dye's place was Washington's headquarters, mentioned in Irving's Life 
of Washington. At the close of the war, in lieu of money, the Revolutionary 
veterans were paid in Ohio lands, and Andrew Dye moved to Miami county, 
Ohio, where he lived until 1835. Four years later, in 1839, Henry Dye, father 
of the subject of our sketch, emigrated from the Ohio home to the newly 
opened Black Hawk Purchase in Iowa, where, on a farm near Fort Madison, in 
August, 1856, Charles Henry Dye was bom, next to the youngest of a large 
family of brothers and sisters. 

In 1878 Charles H. Dye graduated from Denmark Academy, Iowa, and 
entered Oberlin College, Ohio, where he won oratorical honors and graduated 
with distinction in 1882, and a week later was married to his college class- 
mate, Eva L. Emery. After six years in school work, as principal of a high 
school and an academy, Mr. Dye entered the law department of the State Uni- 
versity of Iowa at Iowa City, graduating in 1889 and winning the prize for the 
best legal thesis of that year. Settling in Oregon City in 1890, Mr. Dye imme- 
diately identified himself with the best interests of the community and has 
held the offices of deputy district attorney, city attorney and representative in 
the state legislature, where among other bills he introduced an act known as the 
union high school law, now in successful operation throughout the state of 
Oregon. 

Mr. Dye was president of the Oregon City Board of Trade for some years, 
until it was merged into the present Commercial Club of Oregon City, of which 
he is an active member. In both organizations Mr. Dye has always been iden- 
tified with the movement for good roads and all other public improvements. 
Mr. and Mrs. Dye were the originators of the Willamette Valley Chautauqua 
Association that grew out of a Chautauqua circle at their home in 1894 and has 
now developed into the largest and most popular educational assembly in Ore- 
gon, of which association Mr. Dye has been an executive officer from the 
beginning. 



184 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Politically Mr. Dye has been a consistent advocate of clean politics, a re- 
publican and a believer in the idea that laws should be made and administered 
for the protection of the weak rather than to aid the strong, that at present 
laws are enacted too largely to protect property rather than to aid all men 
to have an equal opportunity, that the rich and strong will take care of them- 
selves, the poor and the weak need the protection of organized society ; he 
believes, too, that the saloon is a public menace and should be suppressed by 
law. In the advocacy of this and other public causes, he has spoken in almost 
every precinct of Clackamas county, and for twenty years has been before the 
public as a lawyer who settles difficulties rather than encourages litigation. In 
connection with his practice he has built up a reputation for business ability 
and unimpeachable integrity. He is a member of the Congregational church, 
where for many years he was a superintendent of the Sunday school and is 
now teacher of its Bible class for men. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dye have four children: Emery C, born in 1884, was gradu- 
ated from Oberlin College in 1905; Trafton M., born in 1886, was graduated 
from Oberlin College in 1906, from the law department of Columbia Univer- 
sity, New York city in 19 10, and is now a practicing attorney in Portland, 
Oregon; Everett W., born in 1896; and Charlotte Evangeline, born in 1897. 



EVA EMERY DYE. 



Eva Emery Dye was born in the old town of Black Hawk's Indian prophet, 
Prophetstbwn, Illinois, shortly before the breaking out of the Civil war. Her 
first poem was written at eight years of age and at fifteen she began to be 
known as "Jennie Juniper," in the local press of Illinois and Chicago. Decid- 
ing even then upon literature as a life work, in 1874 she went to Oberlin Col- 
lege, Ohio, graduating in 1882, after seven years of classical study, including 
the usual courses of literature, history, mathematics, Latin, French and Ger- 
man, with Greek as a major throughout. Miss Emery, who was called the 
"poet laureate" of the college, wrote the Latin class song and in due time re- 
ceived the degrees A. B. and A. M. 

One week after graduation she was married to her class-mate, Charles H. 
Dye, of Fort Madison, Iowa, and removing to that state was able to devote 
but fragments of her time to fugitive verses until 1890, when Mr. Dye took up 
the practice of law in Oregon City, Oregon. Amid the general cares of wife, 
mother and housekeeper, Mrs. Dye wrote "McLoughlin and Old Oregon," pub- 
lished in June, 1900. This book met with instant recognition from the best lit- 
erary critics of the country and is now in its seventh edition. Two years later 
"The Conquest, The True Story of Lewis and Clark," appeared, thousands of 
copies selling before it left the press. Sacajawea, the heroine of this book, was 
hailed as a second Pocahontas, and the foremost sculptors of America have 
vied in chiseling statues in her honor. First Bruno Louis Zimm, of New York 
city, was commissioned by the Louisiana Purchase Exposition to prepare a statue 
for the St. Louis Fair in 1904. The noted sculptor spent a year in special prep- 
aration, visiting Wyoming and studying the Shoshone tribe, to which Sacajawea 
belonged. A second statue, cast in bronze, costing seven thousand dollars was 
designed by Alice Cooper, a pupil of Lorado Taft, after directions outlined by 
Mrs. Dye. This statue, (see frontispiece) erected by the women of the north- 
west, in honor of the brave Indian girl and pioneer mother who led Lewis and 
Clark through the mountains of the continent, was unveiled at the Lewis and 
Clark Fair in July, 1905, and now stands in the City Park of Portland, Oregon. 
A third statue, to which the legislature of North Dakota appropriated fifteen 
thousand dollars, was modeled by Leonard Crunelle, and unveiled in May, 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 185 

1910, on Capitol Hill as Bismarck, North Dakota. The grave of Sacajawea has 
been located at the Wind River Indian agency in Wyoming and a bronze tablet 
was unveiled there in March, 1910. Petitions, originating in New York city, 
have been sent to the secretary of the treasury for a vignette of Sacajawea upon 
the new bank notes to be issued by the government. The Montana Daughters 
American Revolution, have a movement on foot to secure a statue, and the 
Sacajawea Chapter, D. A. R. of Olympia, Washington, are also preparing to 
raise a monument in her memory. There is also talk of a statue in Idaho, where 
Sacajawea is supposed to have been born. Other statues have resulted from 
"The Conquest," among them a fountain to Chief Paducah, by Lorado Taft, 
erected by the women of the Kentucky town, Paducah, after consulting with 
Mrs. Dye concerning that notable Indian mentioned in "The Conquest ;" also 
one to Chief Mahaska, in Iowa, and several to George Rogers Clark, and other 
leading figures in that epic of our national life. In time, Mrs. Dye hopes to 
see every character mentioned commemorated with a heroic statue by the re- 
spective states to which they belonged. 

In 1906 Mrs. Dye's third book was published, "McDonald of Oregon, A 
Tale of Two Shores," recounting the actual adventures of Ranald McDonald, 
whose break into Japan, where he taught the first school in English, prepared 
the way for Commodore Perry. After a sale of forty thousand copies, Mrs. 
Dye's publishers, A. C. McClurg & Company, of Chicago, are preparing new 
editions of these standard works. Altogether, Mrs. Eva Emery Dye has done 
more than any other writer since Irving to popularize the dramatic story of the 
new northwest. She is now engaged upon a tale of "Old Oregon and Hawaii." 



HENRY ALBERS. 



Along the line of constructive effort Henry Albers has directed his labors and 
through the development of one of the important productive industries of Port- 
land has come to be recognized as a leading business man of the city, being now 
president of the Albers Brothers Milling Company. He was born at Lingen in 
the province of Hanover, Germany, April 13, 1866. His father, Hermann Albers, 
was a grain merchant at that place and in 1895 came to America, settling at Port- 
land. He was taken ill when en route, so that he did not engage in business here 
and his death occurred in this city in 1896. He was accompanied by his family of 
five sons and one daughter: Bernard, who for a short time engaged in the grocery 
business and then established the Albers Brothers Milling Company, of which he 
was president until his death in 1908; Henry and WilHam, both of Portland; 
George, of Seattle ; Frank, of San Francisco ; and Mrs. Frank Terheyden, of this 
city. The mother, whose maiden name was Theresa Voss, had died in Lingen 
about 1878. 

Henry Albers was educated in the public schools of his native city to the age 
of fifteen years, when he began learning the flour milling buisness, in which he 
has since been engaged. Coming to America in 1891, he was associated with his 
brother Bernard and with Thomas Schneider in establishing in May, 1895, a 
cereal mill across the street from their present location. The business was organ- 
ized as the Albers-Schneider Milling Company. After three years they removed 
to their present site and a short time subsequent the Albers brothers purchased 
the interest of Mr. Schneider. In 1901 George. Frank and William Albers, who 
had been in the employ of the company since its inception, became members of 
the firm, which was then reorganized under the name of the Albers Brothers 
Milling Company. Bernard Albers died in 1908. at whch time Henry Albers 
became president. The other officers are William Albers, vice president ; George 
Albers, secretary; Frank Albers, treasurer; and Joseph Demming, together with 



186 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the other officers, a director. They began the enterprise on a small scale, having 
a little mill that Henry Albers operated alone, Bernard Albers attending to the 
office and business. Three years later they purchased a new mill, which they 
installed with modern machinery in order to meet the increase in business. In 
1902 their plant was destroyed by fire and their present building was erected for 
them. In 1900 they leased a mill in Seattle, of which George Albers has charge, 
thus extending the scope of their activities. In 1902 they purchased the mill at 
Seattle and also one in Tacoma, of which Frank Albers had charge until 1909 
and which they are still operating. In January, 1909, they purchased a mill in 
San Francisco, which is operated under the name of the Del Monta Milling Com- 
pany, now the Albers Brothers Milling Company, and Frank Albers went to that 
city to assume the management there. They likewise have a branch store in 
Oakland and they own a dock in Portland, known as the Albers Docks Nos. i, 2 
and 3, covering six hundred feet. Since 1902 they have given their attention 
principally to the manufacture of cereals, their principal brands being Violet Oats. 
Pearls of Wheat, Columbia Oats, Columbia Wheat, Violet Wheat and many other 
package cereals as well as all kinds of grain products. Their Peacock buckwheat 
flour is one of the most successful. They are now erecting a new plant at Front 
and Lovejoy streets, which will have one thousand feet of water front and the 
building will be six stories in height. This will be the largest enterprise of the 
kind on the Pacific coast. Two hundred and fifty workmen are employed and the 
business is continually growing along healthful, substantial lines. 

Mr. Albers is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and the Commercial 
Club and is interested in all the projects and plans of those organizations for the 
development and improvement of Portland and for the exploitation of its 
resources. He also holds membership in the Rotary Club, in the Elks lodge and 
with the Knights of Columbus and is a member of the Roman Catholic church. 
He gives his political support to the republican party but has never been an 
office seeker. In 1901 he paid a visit to his birthplace and made a trip throughout 
Europe and he plans to spend more time in travel. Of plain, unassuming man- 
ner, pleasant and courteous, his social qualities and genuine worth are widely 
recognized and have made him popular with a large circle of friends. His busi- 
ness ability has placed him at the head of the most prominent milling company 
of the northwest, the success of which is attributable in no small degree to his 
efforts, for he has been connected therewith since the inception of the business. 



CAPTAIN JAMES W. SHAVER. 

In Captain James W. Shaver is found a representative in the second genera- 
tion of the Shaver family closely identified with the development and progress 
of the northwest. He has made his home in Portland almost continuously from 
the age of six months, and for a long period has been closely associated with navi- 
gation interests as the head of the Shaver Transportation Company. This com- 
pany has owned and operated its own boats and Captain Shaver as secretary 
and treasurer of the company is now devoting his attention to the management 
of its interests which are of large importance, having reached extensive propor- 
tions. It is true that he entered upon a business already established, but in in- 
creasing its activities and enlarging its scope he has displayed notable individ- 
uality and business ability as manifest in powers of organization and also in 
the correct solution of difficult navigation problems. 

A native of Oregon, Captain Shaver was born at Waldo Hills within five 
miles of Silverton, October 2, 1859. His father, George Washington Shaver, 
was born in Campbell county, Kentucky, March 2, 1832, and received a fair 
education in the schools of that state. He was a young man at the time of the 
removal of the family to Missouri, and it was while living in that state that his 




J. W. SHAVER 






.irSTO. 



4 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 189 

keen interest was awakened in the west and its future prospects. Attracted by 
the discovery of gold in California, he crossed the plains with a party who trav- 
eled with ox teams and wagons in 1849. They made the long and tedious jour- 
ney across the plains and through the mountains and at length their eyes were 
gladdened by the sight of the green valleys of California. A desire for gold 
drew him to the west, but he did not meet with the success he anticipated in his 
search for the precious metal, and his failure in mining ventures led him to turn 
his attention to southern Oregon, where he likewise tried mining for a time. 
On the 2d of February, 1854, however, Mr. Shaver arrived in Portland and in 
this city he was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Dixon, a daughter of a pio- 
neer, with whom he returned to his farm in Marion county. While they were 
living upon the farm four children were born unto them and six others were 
added to the family after they became residents of Portland in i860, their 
home at that time being established in what was known as the Elizabeth Irving 
addition. The children were as follows : John R., who was sheriff of Clack- 
amas county and was shot in the performance of his duty, dying at Oregon City ; 
Mrs. Alice Wittenberg, of Portland ; James W. ; Lincoln, who is captain and 
chief engineer of the Shaver Transportation Company; George M., who is a 
partner in the same company ; Delmar, who is actively interested in its man- 
agement; Pearl, the wife of George Hoyt, of Portland; and Susie, the wife of 
A. S. Heintz, also of this city. 

The father engaged in business as a dealer in wood and for many years 
furnished that commodity to the steamboats making the trip between Portland 
and San Francisco. He also supplied the wood used as fuel on river boats and 
barges and thus one by one the timber tracts of the region were cleared, Mr. 
Shaver probably cutting more acres of timber land than any man of his time. 
He also became interested in the transportation business as carried on by way of 
the rivers and was president of the Shaver Transportation Company, of which 
his son, James W. Shaver, became secretary and treasurer. 

The death of George W. Shaver occurred October 26, 1900. A contem- 
porary biographer said of him : "He was not only a man of sound business 
judgment and capacity for observation and action, but also in his character 
embodied all that is excellent and of good report. No worthy cause of Port- 
land but profited by his generosity and large-heartedness ; no friend but was 
benefited by his counsel and assistance. To the end he retained in increasing 
measure the confidence of all with whom he was ever associated and to his 
family and friends he left the heritage of a good name." 

Captain James W. Shaver, the second of the surviving sons of the family, 
was only six months old when his parents became residents of Portland, so that 
his education was acquired in the schools of this city. He was still quite young 
when he became interested with his father in business, both in the conduct of 
a livery stable in East Portland and the management of a large cord wood en- 
terprise that embraced a woodyard in East Portland and also at the Shaver dock 
upon the river. At that time the sale of wood for fuel was one of the important 
industries, as it was used on all steamboats and transportation lines. This nat- 
urally drew the attention of Captain Shaver to the boating business, in which he 
embarked in 1880 in partnership with Henry Corbett and A. S. Foster. They 
purchased the business of Captain Charles Bureau and conducted the undertak- 
ing as the Peoples Freighting Company. Mr. Shaver became manager of the 
company and also captain of the Manzanilla, a river boat plying between Port- 
land and Clatskanie. Not long afterward Captain Shaver purchased the in- 
terest of Mr. Foster in the business and Mr. Corbett withdrew, while George 
W. Shaver became a member of the firm. The business was then reorganized 
on the loth of June, 1893, under the name of the Shaver Transportation 
Company, with the father as president and the son as secretary and treasurer. 
In 1889 they built a boat which was called the G. W. Shaver, and in 1892 they 
placed upon the river the Sarah Dixon, named for Captain Shaver's mother. 



190 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Later the Manzanilla was sold, while the Shaver and Dixon performed all the 
work of the company until 1900, when they disposed of the Shaver. The same 
year, however, a towboat called No Wonder was purchased for towing logs and 
in 1901 the firm built the Henderson, also used for towing purposes. They 
built the new Dixon and the Wanna in 1906 and the new Shaver in 1908; bought 
the Cascades in 1909; and built a one hundred horse power launch, the Echo, in 
1910. The company has a towing contract for twelve of the mills of Portland 
and its crafts are continuously seen upon the Columbia and Willamette rivers, 
performing an active and important part in the clearance of the enormous water 
business of the state, transporting the output of great lumber mills to their 
respective destinations. For a long period James W. Shaver was captain for 
the company but in later years has devoted his time to the business management, 
the firm having offices at the foot of Davis street. Familiar with every phase of 
river business, his carefully formulated plans are resultant factors in the achieve- 
ment of success and have placed the Shaver Transportation Company in a con- 
spicuously prominent position among the representatives of river interests in 
the northwest. He is also president and part owner of the Clatskanie Trans- 
portation Company. 

Mr. Shaver was married in Portland in 1886 to Miss Annie Scholth, a repre- 
sentative of one of the pioneer families of the state. He belongs to the Wood- 
men camp and affiliates with the democratic party in national politics, but his 
interest and activity have chiefly centered upon his business aflFairs which, care- 
fully guided, have reached a considerable magnitude. Among those familiar 
with his history he bears an unassailable reputation for business integrity, his 
record conforming at all times to the highest standard of business ethics and pre- 
senting no esoteric phase. 



BEN RIESLAND. 

Although one of the younger members of the Oregon bar, Ben Riesland has 
gained gratifying recognition for his ability since coming to Portland. He was 
born in Two Rivers, Wisconsin, March 7, 1877, a son of Frederick W. and 
Caroline (Weisenborn) Riesland, who removed to a farm in Lac Qui Parle 
county, Minnesota, and Ben Riesland spent his early youth upon their farm 
there. Later his parents removed with their family to Bigstone, Grant county. 
South Dakota, where he attended the public schools, and later became a pupil 
in the high school of Ortonville, the county seat of Bigstone county, Minnesota. 
Subsequently he engaged in teaching in Grand Forks county, North Dakota, 
after which he completed his education at the university of that state and was 
about ready to graduate with the class of 1899, when an attack of typhoid fever 
obliged him to leave college. 

Later in the year Mr. Riesland went to Seattle, Washington, and in Feb- 
ruary, 1900, came to Portland. Afterward he engaged in the real-estate busi- 
ness in Tillamook, Oregon, where he remained until 1903. when he returned 
to this city and published the Lewis & Clark Journal, the official bulletin of 
the fair. The fall of 1904 he engaged in the real-estate business, at the same 
time pursuing a law course at the University of Oregon, from which he was 
graduated in June, 1906, with the LL.B. degree. On the 20th of that month he 
was admitted for practice before the Oregon bar and on the 2d of December, 
1907, before the United States courts. He has been engaged in active practice 
here since September, 1907, and although he engages in general practice, he is 
nevertheless making a specialty of real-estate and probate law. His profes- 
sional duties, however, do not occupy his entire time and attention. In ^ 1910 
he organized the Western Securities Company, of which he is the president, 
and which handles a large general real-estate, mortgage, loan and insurance 
business. He is also interested in various other enterprises. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 191 

Mr. -,Riesland is an active republican, and has been identified with many- 
public movements for municipal progress and upbuilding. He is president of 
the Seventh Ward League, of which he was one of the founders and was the 
first secretary of the United East Side Improvement Club. He is a member 
of the Young Men's Christian Association, and belongs to the county and state 
bar associations. Mr. Riesland has been recently appointed as member of the 
executive committee of the republican state central committee, and is very ac- 
tively interested in politics. He is one of the organizers and was first presi- 
dent of the Forty-fifth Republican Club. The interests which figure most 
largely in his life are those which promote the development of the individual 
and the city, and are therefore equally helpful and worthy. 

Mr. Riesland was married April 28, 1903, to Miss Emily Queen Kelty, of 
Portland, a niece of the late Harvey Scott, of whom a record appears on an- 
other page in this volume, and with their little son Carl, six years of age, they 
reside at No. 1198 Harold avenue. 



FREDERICK VAN VOORHIES HOLMAN. 

Frederick Van Voorhies Holman, attorney and counselor at law, who has 
been identified helpfully with the growth and development of Portland, was 
born in Pacific county, Washington, at a time when that section was still a part 
of the state of Oregon, his natal day having been August 29, 1852. His par- 
ents were James Duval Holman, a native of Woodford county, Kentucky, and 
Rachael Hixson (Summers) Holman, who was born in Fleming county, Ken- 
tucky, and was a daughter of Thomas Summers. The ancestry of the family 
is traced back to Thomas Holman, who came from England and settled in 
South Carolina in 1730. His grandfather, John Holman, who was born in Ken- 
tucky in 1787, was a veteran of the war of 181 2 and came to Oregon with the 
first home-building emigration in 1843. The grandmother, Elizabeth Duval, 
was a native of North Carolina. James Duval Holman, the father, was an en- 
terprising Oregon pioneer of 1846, who became one of the founders of Pacific 
City. He did much toward the upbuilding of Oregon in the early days. In 
1857 he came to Portland and continued his residence here throughout the 
remainder of his life. The J. D. Holman school of this city was named in his 
honor as a public recognition of the important services which he rendered in 
the improvement and development of this city. He was one of the early school 
directors of school district No. i and was very active in the cause of education. 
He died in December, 1882, in his sixty-ninth year, while his wife, long sur- 
viving him, passed away August 3, 1900, at the age of seventy-seven years. 
In the family were eight children and those surviving who reside in Portland 
are Frederick V., George F., Frances A. and Kate S. 

Frederick Van Voorhies Holman was educated in public and private schools 
of Portland, at one time attending the Portland Academy and Female Semi- 
nary, from which he was graduated in July, 1868. On the 9th of June, 1875, 
he completed a course in the University of California, at which time the Bache- 
lor of Philosophy degree was conferred upon him. He then took up the study 
of law and was admitted to the bar by the supreme court of Oregon on the 
8th of January, 1879. He has ever since been engaged in active practice here 
and has given his attention principally to corporation, real property and pro- 
bate law, in which connection he has secured a large clientage that indicates 
his prominence in those branches of the profession. Moreover, he is a director 
of the Portland Railway, Light & Power Company and other corporations. 
He is general counsel and director for the Portland Railway, Light & Power 
Company and local general counsel for H. M. Byllesby & Company for the 
states of Oregon, Washington and Idaho, and a director of the Oregon Power 
Company. 



192 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

In politics Mr. Holman is a censervative democrat. He was national com- 
mitteeman for Oregon from 1904 until 1908 and was a delegate at large to the 
national conventions in the presidential campaign years of 1892 and 1904. He 
was made a member of the charter commission for framing a new charter for 
the city of Portland in 1902-3 and again in 1908-9. He stands for all that is 
most helpful and progressive in the public life of the city and is now regent 
of the University of Oregon, the term of his regency extending from 1903 
until 191 5. He is a director of the McLoughlin Memorial Association and is 
the author of a biography of Dr. John McLoughlin, together with numerous 
historical articles, including one on Oregon counties. He was president of the 
Oregon Historical Society from 1907 to 191 1, the president of the Oregon 
State Bar Association in 1909-10, and president of the Oregon Pioneer 
Association in 1909-10. He is a member of the Washington Historical 
Society of Seattle and of the American Historical Association, belongs to the 
National Rose Society of England and is a member of the American Bar As- 
sociation and other national and local public organizations. He is a member 
and ex-president of the Arlington Club and a member of the University Club, 
Commercial Club, Waverly Golf Club, Portland Rose Society, Portland City 
Improvement Association and other social organizations. 

Mr, Holman is well known because of his connection with rose culture, in 
which he has been engaged as an amateur for many years. He won the 
amateur gold medal in the exhibition of roses at the Lewis and Clark Exposition 
and also at the Alaska Yukon Exposition in Seattle and has won many first 
prizes at Portland Rose shows. He has aroused local interest in rose growing 
by his numerous contributions on the subject to local publications and also 
by the publication of a pamphlet on the same. He was also one of the or- 
ganizers of the Portland Rose Society, of which he served as president for sev- 
eral years. He gave Portland the name of the Rose City. Mr. Holman resides 
at No. 500 Taylor street, at the corner of Lownsdale, which has been his home 
for over forty years. He is a man of wide and varied interests and while 
known as one of Portland's successful lawyers, his efforts have also been a vital 
force in the growth and development of the city along many lines. He has left 
the impress of his individuality upon municipal affairs, upon the political and 
economic situation and upon the social life of Portland, which honors him as 
one of its pioneer residents and as one whose efforts have been most effective 
and resultant factors in the promotion of public progress. 



PROSPER VAN FRIDAGH. 

Prosper van Fridagh, well known among the older residents of Portland, 
where from 1861 until 1887 he was engaged in the dry-goods and millinery 
business, had a most interesting history and through the period of his resi- 
dence in this city his good qualities commended him to the confidence and regard 
of his fellow townsmen. He was born in Holland, July 24, 1824, and was a son 
of an officer in the Dutch army, who died in Dutch Java during the early boy- 
hood of Prosper van Fridagh. The mother was of German birth and after 
the death of her husband she returned to the fatherland, accompanied by her 
young son, who was, therefore, reared in Germany. 

Upon reaching military age he joined the army, with which he was con- 
nected in 1849 during the revolutionary period in that country. He took a de- 
cided stand in support of the revolutionists and because of his liberal educa- 
tion was appointed secretary to some of the officers who commanded the fort 
at Rastatt, in which a number of revolutionists were confined as prisoners. 
His position as secretary to the officers made it possible for him to locate some 
papers upon which were drawn maps and plans showing secret passages from 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 193 

the fort, and he lost no time in making use of those plans to aid some of the 
prisoners in making their escape from the fort. The refugees, however, were 
careless in that they left behind them some of the plans which Mr. van Fridagh 
had copied in his own handwriting and had given them to aid them in obtaining 
their liberty. Learning that these papers had been found and knowing that his 
life, therefore, was in great danger, he escaped from the army, secretly made 
his way across the frontier into France and thence to Belgium, where he se- 
cured passage on a vessel bound for the United States. In safety he reached 
the new world and located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where for a year he 
was employed in a store, during which period he mastered the English lan- 
guage, of which he had little knowledge when he came to the United States. 

In 1 85 1 Mr. van Fridagh went to St. Paul, Minnesota, which at that time 
contained a population of but four families. While a soldier in the German 
army he had become betrothed to Miss Elizabeth Rumpen, a resident of the 
German town in which he had been reared. When forced to flee from Germany 
she was of necessity left behind, but in 1851 she joined him in Milwaukee, where 
they were married. In the same year they removed to St. Paul and Mr. van 
Fridagh established a commission and farmers' produce business, in which he 
continued successfully until 1858 and 1859. In those two years there was an 
almost entire failure of crops. It was customary in his business to advance 
supplies to the farmers, waiting until after harvest for his pay, but on account 
of the two years' crop failures, it was impossible for him to make collections, 
and he was forced to stand by and see the business which he built up in eight 
or nine years, swallowed up in failure. His resolute spirit, however, would 
not allow him to consider himself defeated. He knew that all opportunity was 
not gone, and that chances still remained for success. While in Milwaukee, he 
had become acquainted with a gentleman who was a brother of Factor Fran- 
chette of the Hudson's Bay Company, who at that time was in Oregon. Mr. 
Franchette had visited his brother in the northwest, and was very enthusiastic 
concerning the climate and other natural advantages of Oregon, and believed in 
the future greatness of the state. His enthusiastic reports led Mr. van Fridagh 
to the determination to make his home in Oregon, and in i860, accompanied 
by his family, he left St. Paul, proceeded down the Mississippi river and across 
the Gulf of Mexico, and after crossing the isthmus of Panama sailed for San 
Francisco, where he remained for a year. In 1861 he continued his journey to 
Oregon and, settling in Portland, established a small dry-goods and millinery 
store on Front street, near Yamhill, in a building known as the Harker build- 
ing, which is still standing, and is one of the oldest landmarks of the city. At 
that time all business centered along the river front, for transportation was 
largely by the waterways, and shipments were facilitated in the proximity of the 
business houses to the docks. Eventually, Mr. van Fridagh removed to 109 
First street, where he conducted his business until 1883, when he removed to 
the corner of Third and Pine streets, remaining at that location until 1887, 
when he retired from active life. For twenty-six years he had successfully 
conducted a dry-goods and millinery establishment building up a trade which in- 
creased with the growth of the city. Through this channel he contributed to the 
commercial upbuilding of Portland, and in other ways aided in the growth and 
progress of the city, whose welfare was ever a matter of deep interest to him. 
Here upon the coast he retrieved his lost possessions, and not only gained a 
comfortable competence, but also an honored name. He continued a resident 
of Portland until called to his final rest in September, 1902. His wife still sur- 
vives and yet makes her home in the Rose City. 

Mr. and Mrs. van Fridagh were the parents of eight children, but only two 
are now living. Paul van Fridagh, to whom we are indebted for the informa- 
tion used in this article, was born in Portland, Oregon, in 1864, and after com- 
pleting his education in the public schools, entered the office of the auditor of 



194 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, occupying clerical positions in 
those offices for ten years. In 1890 he entered the employ of Boyd & Arnold, 
a well known insurance firm of Portland, with which he remained until the 
death of Mr. Arnold, when the entire business was turned over to him. This 
was in 1901. He now carries on a general fire insurance business, with offices 
at Nos. 603 and 604 Concord building, and has an extensive clientage, being one 
of the prominent representatives of fire insurance in this city. He married 
Caroline Wilson, who died in 1902, leaving one child, Hortense. For his second 
wife he chose Charlotte Gray, who died in 1908. As was his father, he is a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and he belongs to the Trinity 
Protestant Episcopal church. 



CAPTAIN GEORGE JENNINGS AINSWORTH. 

Captain George Jennings Ainsworth, known all over the Pacific coast as 
"Captain George," and loved and honored wherever known, stood as a splendid 
representative of the highest type of American manhood and chivalry. Re- 
sourceful and energetic in business to the extent of winning substantial success, 
he nevertheless was permeated by a strong spirit of humanitarianism that 
prompted his recognition of the brotherhood of mankind and caused him to ex- 
tend a helping hand wherever aid was needed or to speak the necessary word of 
encouragement. So kindly was his spirit, so generous his acts, and so honorable 
his purpose, that his name is indelibly inscribed on the pages of the Pacific coast 
history. He was a western man by birth, training and preference, and possessed 
the enterprising spirit which has led to the remarkable upbuilding of this section 
of the country. 

He was born in Oregon City on the 13th of April, 1852. His father was 
Captain J. C. Ainsworth, afterward president of the Oregon Steamboat Naviga- 
tion Company. His mother was in her maidenhood Miss Jane White, a daugh- 
ter of Judge S. S. White, a pioneer of this state who at one time resided near 
Oregon City, but for many years made his home in Portland. The death of 
Mrs. Ainsworth occurred in 1861. 

Reared in Portland, Captain George, by which name he was known to all, 
pursued his early education in private schools in this city and later matriculated 
in the University of California in September, 1869. He was graduated with the 
first regular class to complete the course in that institution, winning the degree 
of Bachelor of Philosophy in July, 1873. He did not leave the university, but 
continued his studies in civil engineering there in the post-graduate course of 
one year. His father wished him to enter into the stationery business in Port- 
land, but Captain George did not like it. He had studied hard in college, and J 
was not well, so his father suggested that he spend a month on the boats andj 
decide later as to what business he would enter. Without his father's knowledge! 
he supplemented his technical training by practical experience, acting as purser' 
and assisting in every position on the boat, at the same time preparing himself 
for an examination before the United States inspectors, which he passed, re- 
ceiving his master's papers in 1875. He made application to his father, as presi-J 
dent of the company, for a position as captain and showed his license. Hisl 
father was greatly pleased and Captain George ran as master of different boatsi 
for two years. He never regarded parental authority or ownership as an excuse| 
for neglect of duty but performed every task devolving upon him with the ut- 
most fidelity and care. In this way he became thoroughly familiar with thej 
practical management of the company's business, and in 1877 was given a posi- 
tion in the principal office of the company at Portland. Within a year he wasj 
made the chief executive officer with the title of general superintendent. When! 
but twenty-five years of age he had direct control and management of all the] 




GEORGE J. AINSWORTH 



I 'W| 7 Vi ' 'IT T - - " ' "*• 



i'i&TO?'. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 197 

transportation business of the company and of all its affairs excepting only the 
financial management, the financial interests being under the charge of the presi- 
dent and board of directors. It was at this time that he became known to all 
as Captain George, that he might be distinguished from his father, Captain 
J. C. Ainsworth, and throughout his life he was thus called. 

In 1879 Henry Villard, having purchased the property of the Oregon Steam- 
boat Navigation Company, organized the Oregon Railway & Navigation Com- 
pany, and began building the present road owned by that company. He recog- 
nized the ability of Captain George and placed him in full charge of all the 
steamboats on the Columbia and Willamette rivers and on Puget Sound that 
were the property of the company. In 1882, however, he resigned that position 
at his father's urgent solicitation that he should take charge of his business. 

When the Oregon Steamboat Navigation Company sold out. Captain J. C. 
Ainsworth purchased a beautiful place near Oakland, California, where he made 
his home. During October, 1882, Captain George removed to California, where 
he occupied an attractive home adjoining his father's place, while for five years 
he assisted his father in the management of his business and invested interests 
in Oregon and California. In 1887 R. R. Thompson, formerly of Portland but 
now of San Francisco, who had been a large stockholder in the Oregon Steam- 
boat Navigation Company, was connected with Captain J. C. Ainsworth in pur- 
chasing a large tract of land on Santa Monica bay. about seventeen miles from 
Los Angeles, and there established the city of Redondo. These capitalists or- 
ganized companies for the improvement of the city, for the building of a large 
and extensive hotel and a railroad line to Los Angeles, investing two million 
dollars in the enterprise. Captain George was made president of the company 
and as general manager conducted the undertaking until 1894, when he returned 
to Portland, continuing his residence in this city until his demise. He and his 
mother were appointed executors of the estate upon the death of Captain J. C. 
Ainsworth in December, 1893, and it became necessary that Captain George 
should be a resident of Oregon in order to act as executor; Accordingly he re- 
moved to Portland and assumed the management of the Oregon estate, which 
was estimated at nearly a million dollars. The soundness of his business judg- 
ment was again and again manifest in his capable management of business in- 
terests and his solution of intricate business problems. 

While widely recognized as a capitalist and one of the prominent business 
men on the Pacific coast, Captain George was widely known, moreover, for his 
activity in those fields which recognized moral and individual obligation. In 
his youthful days he joined the First Presbyterian church of Portland and his 
life was ever actuated by the highest spirit of Christianity. His belief found 
expression in his efforts to aid his fellowmen. His philanthropic work was of 
a wide extent, and his charity was given not from a sense of duty, but as an 
expression of that love for humanity which recognized the obligation of the in- 
dividual to his fellows. In August, 1873, he became a member of Portland 
Lodge A. F. & A. M. ; in April, 1881, was made a Knight Templar in Oregon 
Commandery No. i, K. T., of Portland. He attained the thirty-second degree 
of the Scottish Rite, and on October 18, 1895, two days before his death, the 
papers were signed conferring upon him the honor of the thirty-third degree. 
His father was the first Oregon man to be honored with the thirty-third degree, 
and in his honor Ainsworth Rose Croix Lodge was named. The efforts of 
Captain George in behalf of education were of a tangible character. In 1883 
Governor Stoneman of California appointed him a regent in the State Univer- 
sity as successor to Judge Samuel B. McKee, resigned, and in 1884 he was again 
appointed regent for the full term of sixteen years. 

On the i6th of June, 1875, Captain George Ainsworth was married to Miss 
Margaret Sutton of Portland, a daughter of John Sutton, chief engineer of the 
George S. Wright, a well known steamboat of the early days, which was lost 



198 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

off the Alaskan coast with all on board in 1873. The children of this marriage 
were Lawrence S. and Mabel. Theirs was largely an ideal household, the most 
beautiful family relations existing between parents and children. The death 
of Captain George occurred on the 20th of October, 1895, after an illness of 
several months. He is remembered as a tall man of graceful bearing, of polished 
manner and of pleasing address. 

The Oregonian, on the day following his demise, said : "It was given to few 
men to have a popularity such as he had — which began in his youth and is not 
ended by his death. He combined firmness and kindness in a rare manner. He 
did not court popularity — it came to him." One whose business interests suf- 
fered rather than were benefited by the success of the Oregon Steamboat Navi- 
gation Company, yet said : "Captain George was one of the noblest men God 
ever made. He was a Christian and a gentleman." There is perhaps no better 
test of a man's character than his relations to his employes and subordinates, and 
therefore as an indication of his personal worth, his high purposes, his justice and 
his kindliness, it is meet to say that few men were ever loved and honored by 
employes as was Captain George Ains worth. In 1882, when it became known 
that he intended to resign his office with the Oregon Railway & Navigation Com- 
pany, a few of the employes on the river division started a subscription for the 
purpose of purchasing a magnificent and valuable solid silver tea service to 
signify their appreciation of him and his treatment of them. The contributions 
to the fund were most generous, exceeding the amount required for the tea 
service, so that a fine gold watch was purchased and presented to Mrs. Ains- 
worth on the same occasion. This is the only time the employes of that com- 
pany ever raised a fund to purchase a present for any of its officers. 

Another incident of similar character occurred when Captain George left 
Redondo Beach in 1894. On that occasion the employes of the company of which 
he was a president, and the citizens of the town gave him a large and beautiful 
solid silver loving cup, accompanied by an engrossed address in token of their 
recognition of his qualities. 

It is said that if Captain George had a fault, it was his generosity. His 
charity was almost limitless. No appeal was ever made to him in vain. He 
preferred to be imposed upon rather than that the deserving should suffer for 
the need of a helping hand. He gave quietly and without ostentation, but his 
beneficence was continuous and effective, and many a one has reason to bless 
his memory. His life was most beautiful in its expression of all the Christian 
virtues. It might be said that in him there did abide faith, hope and love, but 
that the greatest of these was love — that love which transcends all passion, all 
prejudice, and recognizes at once the brotherhood of man as well as the father- 
hood of God. The memory of such a man can never die while there remain 
living monuments upon which he left the impress of his noble soul. 



HON. JOSEPH SIMON. 

With post-graduate experience in the school of politics, manifesting at all 
times a statesman's grasp of vital questions and issues of the day, Hon. Joseph 
Simon has so conducted the political interests entrusted to him that while his 
course has awakened the opposition of those who hold radically different po- 
litical views, his work on the whole has accomplished tangible and beneficial re- 
sults that receive wide commendation throughout the state. 

Joseph Simon was born February 7, 1851, and was quite a small boy when 
he was brought to Portland, Oregon, by his father in 1857. The city schools 
afforded him his educational privileges, and in his twentieth year he became 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 199 

a law student in the office of John H. Mitchell and Joseph N. Dolph. For two 
years he closely applied himself to the mastery of Kent, Blackstone and other 
commentaries, and was then admitted to practice in the courts of the state. 
Appreciation of his personal worth and recognition of his developing ability, 
were manifest when ex-United States Senator J. N. Dolph, one of his former 
preceptors, invited him to become a member of the law firm he formed Feb- 
ruary I, 1873. Accepting such invitation, he entered actively upon the practice 
of law and is still associated with the firm then formed, and with C. A. Dolph, 
who entered the firm at the same time Mr. Simon did and who has since be- 
come the senior partner of the firm which is styled Dolph, Mallory, Simon & 
Gearin. As a lawyer Mr. Simon has ever been careful and systematic in the 
preparation of his cases, reviewing all the evidences bearing upon the cause and 
correctly applying the principles of law to the points in litigation. He is today 
widely recognized as one of Portland's able lawyers and is as well one of the 
foremost republican leaders of the state. 

Interested from early manhood in the political questions and issues which 
have engaged the attention of the country, Mr. Simon was first called to office 
when elected a member of the city council in 1877. He filled that position until 
1880, in which year higher political honors were conferred upon him in his elec- 
tion to the state senate. He was continued a member of the upper house of 
the general assembly for twelve years by reason of two successive reelections, 
and when the legislature convened in January, 1889, he was chosen president of 
the senate and in 1891 was again elected as its presiding officer. He retired in 
1892, but in 1894 was again elected to represent Multnomah county in the state 
senate for another four years' term and when the legislature convened on the 
14th of January, 1895, he was once more elected president of the senate and 
again in 1897. At the June election in 1898, Mr. Simon was elected state sen- 
ator from Multnomah county for the fifth time — 1898 until 1902. On the 26th 
of September, 1898, the governor convened the general assembly in special ses- 
sion, and Mr. Simon again was honored by election to the presidency of the 
Oregon senate. His service as state senator embraced five elections, each for a 
four years' term, and during that period, he was five times elected president of 
the senate. His record is that of one of the most fair and impartial presiding 
officers that has ever conducted the affairs of the upper house, and he enjoyed 
in fullest measure the esteem and personal regard of his political opponents as 
well as his political adherents. At the legislative session of 1897 the lower 
house failed to organize, but the senate was duly organized and attempted to 
transact business during the forty days' time allotted by law. It was during 
the special session on the 8th of October, 1898, that he was chosen United 
States senator for a term of six years, beginning March 4, 1897, the legislature 
of 1897 having failed to elect a senator, and the state having been without one 
senator for nearly two years. At the joint session at which he was elected, he 
received the unanimous support of the sixty-six republican members of his 
party. 

To few men is political leadership so long accorded as to Hon. Joseph Simon. 
To occupy high office for any length of time is to invite attack and criticism of 
those holding opposing views, and yet through the course of his senatorial serv- 
ice Mr. Simon has held to the policy which he has marked out — a policy dictated 
by his judgment, his public spirit and his patriotism. His aid is recognized as 
a tangible and effective force in promoting republican successes. He was chair- 
man of the republican state central committee during the biennial campaigns 
of 1880, 1884 and 1886, and in 1892 was chosen a delegate to the republican 
national convention held at Minneapolis in June of that year, on which occa- 
sion he gave his support to William McKinley instead of to Benjamin Harri- 
son, who ultimately received the nomination. He was also a delegate to the 
republican national convention held at Philadelphia in 1902. During the five 



200 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

sessions of the Oregon legislature of which he was president of the senate he 
in numerous ways distinguished himself for dispatch of business and ability to 
preserve order and untangle difficult questions of parliamentary dispute. 

Mr. Simon is one of the best known representatives of Masonry in Oregon. 
He is past master of his lodge and past high priest of his chapter, and he has 
attained to the highest rank, the thirty-third degree of the A. & A. S. R. (hon- 
orary). He has come to be known as a man loyal to any terms made or to his 
pledged word, and in manner is ever courteous and obliging, recognizing his 
obligations to others and meeting them in full measure. He is now serving as 
mayor of Portland, a fact which indicates his popularity and the confidence 
reposed in him in his home city, where he is best known. He is giving to Port- 
land a public-spirited and businesslike administration, marked by needed re- 
forms and improvements, progressiveness and conservatism being well bal- 
anced forces in his direction of municipal affairs. 



ELMER ELM LYTLE. 



Elmer Elm Lytle, president of the Pacific Railway & Navigation Company, 
has been prominently identified with railway interests as employe, promotor 
builder and executive officer since coming to the northwest in 1889. He was 
born in Tipton, Pennsylvania, April 20, 1861, a son of William A. and Caro- 
line E. (Gillhousen) Lytle. His father served for over half a century as agent 
for the Pennsylvania Railway Company, at Tipton. 

Elmer E. Lytle was educated in the public schools of his native city. In 
the broader school of experience, however, he has learned the more valuable 
lessons that have contributed most largely to his success. After leaving school 
he learned telegraphy and served for six months as operator at Tipton and spent 
a similar time in the same capacity at Tyrone, Pennsylvania. He was next lo- 
cated at Lewiston Junction, Pennsylvania, where he was promoted to ticket 
agent and in 1881 was returned to Tyrone as ticket agent, occupying that posi- 
tion until 1889, when he came west to occupy the position of agent at Waitsburg, 
Washington, for the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company. He continued 
in the service of this corporation with various promotions to positions of greater 
responsibility until 1897. In March of that year he promoted and incorporated 
the Columbia Southern Railroad and in June began the construction of the 
line which was completed and opened to traffic January, 1900. He was presi- 
dent and principal owner of the road, which he sold to the Harriman interests 
in 1903 but continued as president until 1905. He next incorporated and began 
the construction of the road of the Pacific Railway & Navigation Company, 
which he also sold to the Harriman interests in December, 1906, but remains 
as president to the present time. 

On the 14th of October, 1880, Mr. Lytle was united in marriage to Miss 
Lizzie M. Ayres, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, a daughter of Samuel and Emeline 
Ayres, of that city. Her father was a prominent factor in the iron industry of 
Pittsburg. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Lytle have been born two sons and a daughter: 
William K., who is in charge of construction for the Pacific Railway & Naviga- 
tion Company; Harry G. ; and Helen, the wife of James A. Ellis, of Portland. 
The family residence is at No. 175 Twenty-fourth street North. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lytle are identified with various local charities and prominent 
in the social circles of the city. Mr. Lytle gives his political support to the re- 
publican party where national questions and issues are involved but otherwise 
votes independently. His favorite means of recreation is horseback riding. He 
is a member of both the Multnomah and Commercial Clubs, taking an active 
interest in the projects of the latter for the civic and commercial development 
of the city and state, and his even temperament, social qualities and his apprecia- 




E. E. LYTLE 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 203 

tion of the pleasures of life make him popular in club circles. An analyzation 
of his life record indicates that close application, determination and industry 
have been the salient features in his success. He possesses a natural inclination 
to stick to a proposition until the desired result is achieved and his faithfulness 
and ability have carried him into important relation with the railway interests 
of the northwest. 



J. C. ELLIOTT KING, M. D. 

The profession as well as the public, accords to Dr. J. C. Elliott King a 
prominent position among the medical practitioners of the northwest. Close 
study has formed the basis of his advancement and combined with an apprecia- 
tion of the scientific phase of his profession is a deep and abiding sympathy that 
prompts him to put forth earnest and unfaltering effort where the welfare of 
his fellowmen is involved. 

Dr. King is a western man by birth, training and experience. He was born 
in Stearns county, Minnesota, September 26, 1861. His father, Eli B. King, 
is a native of New York, has devoted his life to farming, and is now living in 
Monticello, Minnesota, where he is numbered among the pioneers, having lo- 
cated there fifty-six years ago. He is now living retired, having reached the 
age of eighty years. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Adelia Burns, was 
born in Dundalk, Ireland, of Scotch-Irish lineage, and became a resident of 
the state of New York when twelve years of age. She has now passed the 
seventy-ninth milestone on life's journey. Three of the children of Eli B. 
and Adelia King are living: Lorin U. and Mrs. Mason Allen, both of St. Paul, 
Minnesota; and J. C. Elliott King, of this review. 

As a pupil in the public schools. Dr. King pursued his early education, and 
later entered the State University of Minnesota, from which he was graduated 
with the B. A. degree in 1886. For a year he engaged in teaching at Elk River, 
Minnesota, and afterward took up the study of medicine, completing his course 
in the Northwestern University Medical School, which conferred upon him his 
professional degree upon his graduation with the class of 1890. He spent eight 
months as interne in St. Luke's Hospital, being appointed to the position as the 
result of his first grade in a competitive examination. He also took an exami- 
nation with the graduating class in science, literature and medicine, and for his 
excellent scholarship received a cash prize of fifty dollars. 

Removing to Salt Lake City, Dr. King there began practice, continuing for 
thirteen years, and his high standing among his professional brethren is indi- 
cated by the fact that he was honored with the presidency of the city and county 
medical society. He was also chosen secretary of the state medical society, 
served on the staff of St. Mark's Hospital, and during the last four years was 
health commissioner of the city. Deciding to further equip himself for his life 
work, he then went to Europe and pursued post-graduate studies in skin diseases 
in Vienna, Berlin and Breslau, and also visited clinics in Paris and London. On 
his return in the summer of 1904, he located in Portland, since which time he 
has given his attention entirely to his profession. He has served in this connec- 
tion on the staff of the county hospital, and is a lecturer on skin diseases in the 
medical department of the University of Oregon. Feeling that progress should 
be the watchword of the profession at all times, he keeps in touch with the great 
truths which science is constantly revealing, through his membership in the 
Multnomah County, Oregon State and American Medical Associations. Aside 
from his practice, he is interested in fruit growing, owning two hundred acres 
of land at Eagle Creek, Oregon, where he has planted an apple orchard, and 
also walnut trees, making his summer home there. 

On the 14th of May, 1891, Dr. King was married in Minneapolis, Minnesota, 

to Miss Adelia M. Kiehle, a daughter of the Rev. Dr. D. L. Kiehle, who was 
10 



204 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

for twelve years state superintendent of public instruction in Minnesota and 
later a professor in the University of Minnesota, of which Mrs. King is a grad- 
uate. Unto Dr. and Mrs. King have been born three children: Rachel, Con- 
stance and David, aged respectively eighteen, sixteen and five years. 

The family reside at No. 227 East Sixtieth street, in Mount Tabor, and are 
members of the Mount Tabor Presbyterian church, of which Dr. King is a 
trustee. His political views led to his indorsement of the candidates of the re- 
publican party. He belongs to the Sons of the American Revolution, also to the 
Phi Delta Theta, a college fraternity, and to the Arlington Club, and engaging 
social qualities have won him prominence in that direction, while his compre- 
hensive study and native ability have gained him distinction in the professonal 
field. 



JOHN BURKE CONGLE. 

Among the names of distinguished men of the earlier days of Oregon, the 
name which appears at the head of this record should not be omitted. A pioneer 
of the early '50s, he assisted materially in the development of what was pre- 
viously almost a wilderness, and twenty-three years ago he was called from the 
midst of a useful career by death. He will be remembered as one of the build- 
ers of the northwest, and an unselfish citizen of wealth and influence, who made 
use of his opportunities and talents for the advancement of the entire com- 
munity. 

Mr. Congle was born December 9, 1817, in Chester county, Pennsylvania. 
He was educated in the public schools, and at fifteen years of age went to Phila- 
delphia, where he learned the harness and saddlery trade. Having completed 
his trade, he lived for a short time in Virginia, thence going to Missouri, which 
was just beginning to attract emigration from the older settled portions of the 
country. In 1841 he located in La Fayette, Indiana, which continued to be his 
home for a number of years. 

The California gold excitement interfered with the plans of many aspiring 
young men, and Mr. Congle joined the train across the plains in 1849 ^^^ thus 
became identified with the argonauts whose stories of wealth in the golden 
sands of the Pacific aroused the entire country to dreams of sudden fortune. 
In 185 1 he returned to La Fayette and two years later again crossed the plains 
with Marysville (now Corvallis), Oregon, as his destination. There he made 
his home for eight years and became prominently identified with public affairs. 
He was the first mayor of Marysville and discharged his duties so acceptably 
that in 1857 he was elected sheriff of Benton county. As his business interests 
required close attention, he resigned the office at the end of three 'months to 
the great regret of many friends whom he had made in the county. 

In 1861 Mr. Congle removed to Portland, which became his permanent home. 
For many years he was a leading business man in this city and, although he was 
never a seeker for public office, he served as councilman of the second ward in 
1870, and in 1872 was chosen representative to the state legislature from Mult- 
nomah county. Other positions of responsibility and trust he discharged with 
a faithfulness that received the hearty approval of the entire community. At 
La Fayette, Indiana, he had become identified with the Masonic order, and after 
coming to Oregon he became prominent in its councils. In 1874 and 1875 he 
acted as grand master of Masons in this state, and in 1879 ^^^ 1880 was elected 
to the office of high priest in the order. 

On the 21 st of May, 1844, Mr. Congle was united in marriage to Miss Ellen 
H. Gray, at La Fayette, Indiana, who later crossed the plains with her husband 
to the northwest. Two daughters were born to them, one of whom is Mrs. 
G. A. Sollars, of this city, and the other is the deceased wife of Hon. Richard 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 205 

Williams, ex-member of congress from Oregon. Her death occurred May 31, 
1904. These ladies were prominently identified with the most refined social cir- 
cles of the state. Mrs. Congle was one of the organizers of the Children's 
Home of the Ladies' Relief Society of this city, the first institution of the kind 
in Oregon, and gave much attention to works of beneficence and charity. 

Mr. Congle departed this life April 7, 1888. He was always loyal to the 
interests of his state, and no man was more zealous in the upbuilding of the 
coast region. He was a man of great perseverance and industry, and one whose 
distinguished ability could have gained him prominence in any vocation of life. 
His success was due not only to business talent, but to an unsullied reputation, 
which he valued more than riches and which he regarded as of more worth than 
all the power that wealth could buy. 



HON. GEORGE E. CHAMBERLAIN. 

George E. Chamberlain was born near Natchez, Mississippi, January i, 1854, 
and was named in honor of a paternal uncle, George Earle, one of the distin- 
guished residents and lawyers of Maryland and assistant postmaster-general of 
the United States during President Grant's first term. Mr. Chamberlain comes 
of an ancestry honorable and distinguished, and his own lines of life have been 
cast in harmony therewith. A contemporary biographer has said : "The quali- 
ties which have given him an eminent position in the public life of the north- 
west are his by inheritance from a long line of capable, scholarly and untar- 
nished ancestors." 

The first representatives of the name on American soil came from England 
and established homes in Massachusetts and Pennsylvania during the early 
colonial epoch in our country's history. Dr. Joseph Chamberlain, the grand- 
father of George E. Chamberlain, who was a native of Delaware, ranked with 
the foremost physicians of Newark, that state. The lady whom he married also 
came of a prominent pioneer family. Her uncle, Charles Thomson, who served 
as secretary of the continental congress from 1774 to 1789, was born in Ire- 
land, of Scotch lineage, November 29, 1729. Accompanied by his brothers and 
sisters, he settled at Newcastle, Delaware, in 1741, and there became a teacher 
in the Friends Academy. In 1758 he was one of the agents appointed to treat 
with the Indians at Oswego, and while there was adopted by the Delawares, 
who conferred upon him an Indian name meaning, "One who speaks the truth." 
The possessor of literary ability, he left his imprint upon the literature of his 
age through his "Harmony of the Five Gospels," a translation of the Old and 
New Testaments, and an inquiry into the cause of the alienation of the Delaware 
and Shawnee Indians. His private file of letters containing communications writ- 
ten to him while secretary of the continental congress and before that time, is 
among the most valued possessions of Mr. Chamberlain and contains letters 
from all the leading men of that day. Charles Thomson Chamberlain, son of Dr. 
Joseph Chamberlain, was a native of Newark, Delaware, and in preparation for 
the practice of medicine, pursued a course in Jefferson Medical College at Phil- 
adelphia, from which he was duly graduated. He located for practice in Jefifer- 
son county, Mississippi, in 1837, and later moved to Natchez, that state, and 
there his ability won him recognition in the extensive and important practice 
that was accorded him. He was very careful in diagnosis and skilled in treat- 
ment, and his broad reading and research kept him at all times in close touch 
with the most advanced thought and methods of the profession. That his work 
had its base in a broad humanitarianism was shown in his devotion to yellow 
fever patients in 1871. when Dr. Chamberlain night and day devoted his time 
to the treatment of those who were stricken, until at last he became a victim 



206 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

to the disease and died October 29, 1871. In early manhood he had wedded 
Pameha H. Archer, a native of Harford county, Maryland, and until her death 
December 30, 1910, was a resident of Natchez, Mississippi. Her father was 
Hon. Stevenson Archer, a native of Harford county, who completed his educa- 
tion by graduation from Princeton College in 1805 and afterward entered upon 
the practice of law. He served in congress from 181 1 to 1817 from Maryland 
and in the latter year accepted an appointment from President Madison as judge 
of Mississippi territory with gubernatorial povi^ers and resigned later. From 
1819 until 1821 he again represented his district in congress, where he was a 
member of the committee on foreign affairs. In 1825 he was elected one of 
the justices of the court of appeals of Maryland, which office he held until his 
death in 1848, at which time he was chief justice. His father, Dr. John Archer, 
was a native of Harford county, Maryland, born in 1741. After graduating at 
Princeton in 1760, he studied for the ministry, but throat trouble rendering 
pulpit work inadvisable, he turned his attention to medicine. The first medical 
diploma ever issued in the new world was given to him by the Philadelphia 
Medical College. He was elected a member of the convention which framed the 
constitution and bill of rights of Maryland. At the commencement of the Revo- 
lutionary war he had command of a military company, the first enrolled in 
Harford county, and was a member of the state legislature. After the war 
he practiced his profession and several important discoveries in therapeutics are 
credited to him. In 1801 he was a presidential elector and from 1801 to 1807 
was a member of congress from Maryland. His death occurred in 1810. The 
Archer family is of Scotch-Irish descent and was represented among the earliest 
settlers of Harford county, where for generations they wielded wide influence. 
It is worthy of record that the portrait of Hon. Stevenson Archer appears 
among those distinguished men of Maryland placed in the new courthouse in 
Baltimore, that state, and also adorns the courthouse in his native county ; while 
that of his father, Dr. John Archer, is on the walls of the state capitol at An- 
napolis. 

George Earle Chamberlain devoted his boyhood days to the acquirement of 
an education in the schools of Natchez. He put aside his text-books in 1870 
when a youth of sixteen years to enter upon a clerkship in a mercantile store. 
Two years were devoted to commercial pursuits, but preferring a professional 
career, he resumed his studies as a pupil in the Washington and Lee University 
at Lexington, Virginia, in which he pursued the regular course of study, win- 
ning the degrees of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Law upon his graduation 
in June, 1876. Almost immediately afterward he returned to Natchez, where he 
continued until the 7th of November, but thinking that he might have better 
opportunities in the growing northwest, he came to Oregon and since the 6th 
of December, 1876, has been a resident of this state. From the obscure posi- 
tion as a teacher of a country school in 1878, he gradually worked his way up- 
ward until he became the chief executive of the commonwealth, and is today 
recognized as one of Oregon's eminent lawyers. In the latter part of the year 
1877 he was appointed deputy clerk of Linn county, and thus served until the 
summer of ' 1879. In 1880 he was elected to represent Linn county in the lower 
house of the general assembly. In the meantime, he had entered upon the ac- 
tive practice of law, and in 1884 was elected district attorney for the third ju- 
dicial district of Oregon. Fie was appointed by the governor to the office of 
attorney-general of Oregon on the creation of that position in May, 1891. At 
the succeeding general election, he was chosen by popular sufl^rage to the office 
as the democratic candidate, receiving a majority of about five hundred, a fact 
which indicated that he ran at least ten thousand, five hundred votes ahead of 
his ticket, for the normal republican majority in Oregon at that time was about 
ten thousand. In 1900, having previously taken up his residence at Portland, he 
was chosen district attorney of Multnomah county by a majority of eleven hun- 
dred and sixty-two, overcoming the usual republican majority of four thousand. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 207 

In 1902, entirely unsolicited on his part, the democrats in convention nominated 
him by acclamation as a candidate for governor, and the ensuing election proved 
v^hat American history has again and again demonstrated, that the American 
pubhc will support men of tried political and personal integrity and ability re- 
gardless of political affiliation. Oregon was considered a repubhcan state, but 
at the ensuing election he polled two hundred and fifty-six votes more than the 
republican candidate, although in the congressional election the republican vic- 
tory amounted to fifteen thousand. He was again nominated by his party for 
governor in 1906 and defeated his opponent by twenty-five hundred majority, 
serving until March, 1909, when he resigned to accept the position of United 
States senator, to which he was elected in January, 1909, by a legislature over- 
whelmingly republican. Few men in public office have possessed greater strength 
among the people. Air. Chamberlain's course, however, has at all times com- 
manded public confidence, for he has wisely and conscientiously used the talents 
with which nature has endowed him, placing the welfare of the commonwealth 
before personal aggrandizement or party interests. 

Mr. Chamberlain was married in Natchez, Mississippi, May 21, 1879, to 
Miss Sallie N. Welch, who was born near Natchez, in Louisiana, and is a des- 
cendant of New England ancestry represented in the Revolutionary war. Her 
father, A. T. Welch, who was born in Massachusetts, moved to the south and 
became the owner of a large plantation in Concordia parish, Louisiana. His 
family later moved to Natchez, Mississippi, where Mrs. Chamberlain attended 
school, graduating from the Natchez Institute. She is active in the work of 
Calvary Presbyterian church, of which she is an honored member. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Chamberlain have been born seven children, six of whom are now living: 
Charles Thomson, a graduate of Cooper Medical College of San Francisco and 
later a post-graduate of New York Polyclinic and New York Ophthalmic. He 
married Miss Deborah Boatner of Louisiana, and is practicing his profession as 
a specialist in diseases of the nose, throat, eye and ear at Portland, Oregon. 
Lucie Archer married George F. Blair and resides at Jackson, Michigan. Mar- 
guerite married H. R. Gaither of Natchez, Mississippi, and resides at Port- 
land, Oregon. Carrie Lee, George Earle, Jr., and Fannie W. complete the 
family. 

Mr. Chamberlain belongs to the Commercial Club, the Multnomah Amateur 
Athletic Club and the Oregon State Historical Society. He is a life member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and has served as exalted ruler 
of the Portland lodge. He is past chancellor of Laurel Lodge No. 7, K. P., at 
Albany, and is a prominent Mason, having been initiated into the order in St. 
John's Lodge No. 62, F. & A. M. at Albany, from which he afterward trans- 
ferred his membership to Willamette Lodge No. 2, at Portland. He took the 
degrees of capitular Masonry in Bailey Chapter No. 8, R. A. M., at Albany, and 
in addition to filling a number of the offices in that organization, is past grand 
high priest of the Grand Chapter of Oregon. He is also a past eminent com- 
mander of Temple Commandery No. 3, at Albany, has attained the thirty-second 
degree of the Scottish Rite in Oregon Consistory No. i, at Portland, and is one 
of the Nobles of Al Kader Temple of Portland. Appreciative of the social 
amenities of life, Mr. Chamberlain holds friendship inviolable, and throughout 
Oregon the number of his friends is legion. Public confidence and trust are 
reposed in him to a notable extent, and even his political enemies never ques- 
tion the integrity of his motives or the honesty of his purposes. His broad 
Americanism, his sympathetic understanding of the perplexing problems of 
human society, his abiding sense of justice and his deep insight into the vital 
relations of our complex civilization have already won him the admiration and 
esteem of the people at large, while in his own state he enjoys in unusual meas- 
ure the warm personal regard and friendship of the great majority of those 
who know him. Mr. Chamberlain has been peculiarly honored in one respect, 



208 THE CITY OF PORTLAND . 

and that is, Pacific University in the state of his adoption, the University of 

Mississippi in the state of his birth, and Washington and Lee University of 

Virginia, his alma mater, have conferred upon him the honorary degree of 
LL. D. 



ALFRED HOVENDEN. 



Alfred Hovenden, deceased, who was one of the extensive landowners of 
this part of the state and an Oregon pioneer of 1849, was born in Kent, England, 
August 26, 1824, a son of George and Hephzibah Hovenden, whose ancestral 
history can be traced back through authentic records as far as 1500. Thomas 
Hovenden, born at Borden, was baptized March 4, 1672. The family through 
successive generations occupied one house at Borden for over three hundred , 
years. The name of some branches of the family has been spelled Overden, 

Alfred Hovenden attended school in England and engaged in farming with his 
father until 1844, when at the age of twenty years he came with a brother to 
America, settling first in Illinois, where he worked on a farm. His father soon 
afterward crossed the Atlantic and both he and his wife died \n Illinois. The 
year 1849 witnessed the arrival of Alfred Hovenden in Oregon. He made the 
journey over the plains with ox teams, experiencing the usual hardships, trials 
and dangers of such a trip over roads at times almost impassable, while at times 
the trail was most dimly defined. There was always the danger of Indian at- 
tack and when traveling over the arid plains there were times when it was dif- 
ficult to obtain an adequate supply of water for the people and for the stock. 
At length, however, Mr. Hovenden reached his destination in safety and secured 
and settled upon a donation claim about a mile from the site of the present town 
of Hubbard in Marion county. There he built a log house, which he occupied 
for six years, keeping bachelor quarters. 

At the end of that time he was married on the 29th of June, 1856, the lady 
of his choice being Miss Sarah Ann Soden, a daughter of Bartholomew and 
Anna (Goodall) Soden, who was born on the isle of Tasmania, near Australia, 
March i, 1839. Her father was a merchant and school teacher there and on 
leaving Tasmania in 1850 went to Honolulu, where he taught school for two 
years. He then came to Oregon and took up a claim near Aurora, occupying 
it for a brief period, after which he removed to Polk county and bought a farm. 
Both he and his wife died on that place, to the development and cultivation of 
which he had devoted his energies for many years. 

At the time of his marriage Mr. Hovenden built a new log house for his 
bride and they occupied the farm for about a half century. Ten years after 
their marriage he replaced the log house by a fine modern residence. He at 
first took up three hundred and twenty acres of land and to this added by pur- 
chase from time to time until he had about a thousand acres, which he devoted 
to general farming, carrying on his business with gratifying success. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Hovenden were born four children. Caroline is now 
the widow of John O. Dennis and the mother of three children, one son dying 
in infancy, the others being Bart and Eva H. Emma is the wife of M. L. Jones, 
Hving near Brooks Station, and they have six children, Mabel L., Ilda E., Ger- 
trude v., Clara F., Ellis H. and Ronald E. Of this number Mabel L. married 
Anderson Cannon, of Portland, and has one child, Dorothy. Annie married 
Frank Gilbert, of Portland, and has three sons, Harold S., Alfred C. and Frank 
W. George, of Portland, married Hattie Hanna and has one child, Grace B. 

Mr. Hovenden continued a resident upon his farm until he met death on the 
loth of December, 1885, being killed in a runaway accident. He was a strong 
republican but could never be induced to become a candidate for office. His 
time and attention were concentrated upon his business affairs and through the 




ALFRED HOVENDEN 




SARAH A. HOVEXDEX 



.1 



} -•'/;>> 









*'^'iy-. 



f •■i-.^-v;^, "\^^:^_ ■^'JSKg^ ; 



i 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 213 

conduct and improvement of his farm he contributed much to the agricuhural 
development of the region. Moreover, he cooperated in many movements for 
the general upbuilding, for he came to Oregon in the early pioneer days, almost 
before Portland had an existence and when the now rich and populous farming 
districts were stretches of wild and undeveloped forest land. He performed 
the arduous task of developing a good farm and as the years went by he con- 
tinued its cultivation until his fields became very rich and productive. His life 
was a busy and useful one and gained for him the respect of all who knew him. 
Mrs. Hovenden continued to reside upon the farm until 1905, when she took 
up her abode in Portland, where she now makes her home. 



EDWARD ARTHUR McGRATH. 

Edward Arthur McGrath is one of the real-estate men of Portland whose 
progressive methods of business are resulting in the substantial upbuilding and 
improvement of the city, and at the same time promoting individual success. 
He first came to this city in 1889, and later was in business elsewhere in the 
northwest, but returned in 1907. He was born upon a farm near Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, on the 20th of March, 1869, and was reared at Hastings, that state! 
pursuing his education in the common schools while spending his youthful days 
in the home of his parents, Thomas and Catherine (Horan) McGrath, both of 
whom are now deceased. He was twenty years of age when he left the middle 
west, and came to the coast, arriving in Portland, as previously stated, in 1889. 
Desirious of becoming a property holder in this section of the country, he took 
up a homestead in Cowlitz county in the southern part of the state of Wash- 
ington and devoted three years to the development and improvement of that 
place. He also became interested in timber lands and engaged in timber cruis- 
ing during that period. In 1894 he went to Alaska and followed mining at 
Forty Mile on the Yukon river. He had fair success in his venture there, and 
with the substantial returns of his labor, again came to Portland in the fall of 
1896. At that time he purchased a stock of general merchandise in this city, 
also fifteen dogs, and with sledges freighted over the Chilcoot Pass in Alaska^ 
and upon scows which he built, sent his goods down the Yukon to Dawson City.' 
There he opened a store, becoming one of the early merchants of the place in 
which he engaged in business until the fall of 1899. He then sold out and re- 
turned to Portland. Realizing the value of specific training for the conduct 
of business affairs, he then attended the commercial college for a time, after 
which he returned to Nome, Alaska, where he remained until the fall of 1900. 
During the following eighteen months he traveled in the United States and 
Canada, studying real-estate and realty values, after which he returned to the 
northwest, settling in Seattle, where he opened a real-estate office. He was 
engaged in that business there until 1907, when he once more came to Portland 
and here opened a real estate office, which he has since conducted, his efforts 
in this field proving remunerative. He was one of the organizers of and is the 
president of the Irvington Investment Company, which purchased the Irvington 
tract of approximately seven hundred lots in one of the fine residence districts 
on the east side. They secured all the improvements for that district, which 
is now rapidly developing, and is becoming the location of some of Portland's 
most beautiful homes. It is thoroughly modern in all its equipments, and none 
of the accessories regarded as essential to city building at the present time are 
lacking. _ They have found ready sale for their property, and from its inception, 
the business has enjoyed a substantial growth. Not only does the company 
handle real estate, but is also doing much speculative building. 

_ On the 26th of November, 1901, Mr. McGrath was married to Miss Kath- 
arine Lucile Quinn, a daughter of James J. Quinn of Seattle. Mr. McGrath 



214 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

is a member of the Knights of Columbus, also of the Alaska Club of Portland 
and the Yukon Order of Pioneers. His life history if written in detail would 
prove a 'most interesting one, giving a vivid picture of experiences which have 
constituted features in the development of the extreme northwest portion of 
the continent. Reared amid the quiet environment of a farm and of a small 
inland town, he came to the northwest, "where men are up and doing," and his 
natural energy and ambition at once found scope here. His life has since been 
one of ceaseless activity, bringing him into contact at times with the hardships 
and privations that are known only to those who have attempted settlement in 
a land where winter seems to reign supreme much of the year. In the more 
equable climate of Portland he is now proving himself an important factor in 
the upbuilding of the Rose City. 



DORR E. KEASEY. 



With the substantial growth which Portland is now undergoing Dorr E. 
Keasey has advanced to a conspicuous position in the ranks of the real-estate 
men of the city, his labors constituting a potent force in the development of 
the beautiful residence district that crowns the hills to the west of the city, 
known as Portland Heights. His efforts in this direction have brought him a 
well merited success and his achievements indicate the possibilities that are 
fostered by the successful growth and progress of the Pacific coast country. 

Mr. Keasey has always resided west of the Mississippi, his birth having oc- 
curred in Fayette county, Iowa, November ii, 1874, his parents being Eden W. 
and Nellie S. Keasey. He made his start in life by selling papers, little dream- 
ing at that time that the northwest would accord him a place among those men 
whose ability and personality are dominating the city in the lines of substantial 
progress. He was for a time employed in the Western Union Telegraph office 
and also in the newspaper office at Fort Worth, Texas, and in January, 1889, 
came to Portland. 

Believing that the growth of the west afiorded good opportunities in the 
real-estate field, Mr. Keasey spent three years as an employe in a real-estate 
office and then, when the financial panic of 1893 brought suspension in real- 
estate lines, he turned his attention to other business interests and was em- 
ployed in various ways until 1900, when he again entered the real-estate field 
and is now handling Portland Heights property exclusively. He purchased one 
hundred and ten acres at Council Crest and built the car line thereto. He 
also organized the Castle Heights Company, purchasing the Seventh street Ter- 
races, and after the formation of the Keasey, Humison & Jefifry Company in 
January, 1909, of which he is the senior member, they organized the Kings 
Heights and Arlington Heights syndicates, which adjoin City Park on the north 
and west, involving the expenditure of many hundreds of thousands of dollars 
in the development of those properties for choice residence districts. Council 
Crest is a mountain peak rising twelve hundred feet above the business part 
of the city, and just within the edge of the city limits, giving a grand view 
of the Willamette and Columbia river valleys and the surrounding mountains 
for hundreds of miles. On clear days the gaze takes in the snow caps of Mount 
Hood, Mount Ranier, Mount Adams and the rounded dome of Mount St. 
Helens. 

In connection with the development of the properties Mr. Keasey built the 
car line in the form of a loop up to and around the Crest, thus bringing within 
the view of all Portland residents and visitors the grandest panorama to be seen 
in any city in the world. Besides the scenic car road Mr. Keasey has further 
developed a piece of native forest between the city and the Crest by constructing 
a winding roadway of easy grades for carriages and autos which brings all the 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 215 

wildness and beauties of the forest to the doors of the city. In his efforts in 
this direction Mr. Keasey has done a work which should win him recognition 
and gratitude from all of Portland's citizens as this car line has brought within 
the reach of all one of the views which have made Portland famous. He is 
also identified with a number of corporations, and each benefits by his sound 
judgment and unfaltering enterprise. 

Mr. Keasey was married in Portland, May 12, 1898, to Miss Evalyn Car- 
ter, a member of the well known Carter family of Virginia, and their children 
are: Mapril Bernice and Dorothy Evalyn. Mr. Keasey is identified with a 
number of the leading associations and club organizations of the city. He is 
yet a young man, and what he has already accomplished augurs well for further 
successful attainment in the future. 



OSMON ROYAL, M. D. 

Dr. Osmon Royal, thoroughly equipped by liberal collegiate training in both 
the east and the west for the profession which he makes his life work and in 
which he has ever displayed the strictest fidelity to high principles, is now suc- 
cessfully practicing in Portland with offices in the Marquam building. He has 
been a member of the medical fraternity here since the ist of January, 1886, 
when he opened an office in the Portland Savings Bank building, now the Com- 
mercial block at the southwest corner of Second and Washington streets. Two 
years later he removed to what is known as the Maria Smith residence opposite 
the Abington block on Third street, making his home as well as maintaining his 
office there. He continued at that location for several years and for a few months 
maintained his ofiice and residence at the corner of Eleventh and Morrison streets 
while waiting for the completion of the Marquam block, in which he was the first 
to locate and lease offices. For almost a quarter of a century he has continued in 
active practice here and his course has been marked by steady progress, bring- 
ing him to a foremost position in the medical profession in Portland. 

A native of Illinois, Dr. Royal was born near Bloomington on the 3d of Janu- 
ary, 1856, and is a son of Charles Wesley and Rachel Eliza Powell (Misner) 
Royal, of whom extended mention is made elsewhere in this volume. In 1865 
the family started for the Pacific coast, traveling by the isthmus of Panama route 
to San Francisco and thence by water to Portland. Here Dr. Royal became a 
pupil in the public schools of Mount Tabor and later attended the Willamette 
University at Salem, Oregon. He afterward became a student in the Ohio 
Wesleyan University at Delaware, Ohio, but left that institution in his junior 
year to matriculate in the Boston University School of Medicine, from which he 
was graduated in 1885. In the same fall, having also had more than a year's hos- 
pital experience, he returned to Portland well equipped for the professional duties 
which have since devolved upon him. He has ever remained a close and dis- 
criminating student of his profession, however, and as the years have passed has 
read broadly, carrying his investigations far and wide into the realms of medical 
and surgical science. Thus promoting his ability, he has been able to success- 
fully cope with the intricate problems which continually confront the physician 
and his professional labors have been followed by excellent results. 

On October 17, 1888, Dr. Royal was married in New York to Miss Julia 
Morgan, of that state, and they now have one son, Osmon Royal, Jr. Dr. Royal's 
prominence in his profession is indicated in the fact that he is now president of 
the State Board of Medical Examiners. He belongs to the Multnomah County 
Homeopathic Medical Society and the Oregon State Homeopathic Medical So- 
ciety, of both of which he has several times been president. He is likewise a 
member of the American Institute of Homeopathy and everything which tends 



216 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

to bring to man the key to the complex mystery which we call life awakens his 
attention and receives his earnest consideration. He has never allowed his pro- 
fessional duties, however, to claim his entire time and attention to the exclusion 
of other interests which should constitute a force in the life of every individual. 
He is never neglectful of the duties of citizenship and he is a member of the 
Grace Methodist Episcopal church. For a quarter of a century he has served on 
its ofiicial board, has been chairman of the board of stewards for fifteen years 
and has been active in the city board of church extension. He is also president 
of the Men's Methodist Social Union of Portland. His grandfather, the Rev. 
William Royal, was the builder of the first Methodist Episcopal church in East 
Portland and the history of Methodism in this state would be far different had 
it not been for the labors of the grandfather, father and uncles of Dr. Royal. 
His own life as well is one of intense usefulness to his fellowmen and while he 
has chosen as his specific life work a ministry for the physical ills of mankind 
he has ever been closely and helpfully associated with the moral development of 
the community. 



FREDERICK BICKEL. 



Frederick Bickel, a Portland pioneer, was born in the town of Rodenburg, 
situated on the bank of the river Fulda, in Germany, his natal day being May 
21, 1832. His parents were George and Elizabeth Bickel, the former a black- 
smith by trade. The family were making arrangements for emigration to Amer- 
ica and the day before their departure the mother died. Frederick Bickel had 
attended school in his native country between the ages of six and fourteen years 
and in 1846 he started for America with his father and the other children of the 
household. After a voyage of fifty-three days upon a sailing vessel they reached 
New Orleans and thence went up the Mississippi river to St. Louis on a steam- 
boat. In that city Frederick Bickel entered upon an apprenticeship to learn the 
confectionary business under George Baum to serve for a term of four years. 
His apprenticeship had progressed for two and a half years when his employer 
died of cholera. He therefore completed his apprenticeship under Mrs. Baum 
and her brother, Frank Dekum, who assumed control and carried on the busi- 
ness. Mr. Dekum became a lifelong friend and partner of Mr. Bickel. They 
were employed in St. Louis until the fall of 185 1. In the winter they made plans 
for coming to California and on the ist of February, 1852, started for New 
Orleans and thence sailed to Chagres, Panama, where they took a small boat up 
the river to Corcona, the head of navigation. From that point they walked 
twenty-eight miles to Panama, where they were compelled to wait two weeks 
as all transportation facilities had been engaged ahead of time. They were told 
that nothing could be secured for three months but they managed to obtain pas- 
sage on the vessel Anna Smith, bound for Acapulco. Soon afterward this ves- 
sel was obliged to put into port for water. Finally they got aboard the Golden 
Gate, bound for San Francisco, where they arrived on the 21st of May, 1852. 

Mr. Bickel and Mr. Dekum then went to Shasta City, California, where they 
were engaged in business for a short time. Mr. Dekum then came to Port- 
land, looked over the situation and wrote for Mr. Bickel to join him, which he 
did in 1853. While in Shasta City Mr. Bickel's store was destroyed by fire, 
causing a total loss. Removing to this city, they opened a store on Front street 
between Stark and Washington, in June, 1853, under the firm style of Dekum & 
Bickel. This was the first establishment of the kind opened in this city. They 
remained at their first location for about a year, when the store building was 
sold to George L. Story, who there established a drug business. The firm of 
Dekum & Bickel then removed to Front street, between Washington and Alder 
streets, where they opened a restaurant in connection with their confectionary 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND ^ 217 

store and in 1856 they established the first soda water manufactory in the city. 
With the growth of Portland their business steadily increased, for the excellence 
of the product which they manufactured and handled was such as to insure 
them a good trade. The partners who as boys served their apprenticeship to- 
gether continued their business relations in the utmost harmony until 1878, when 
Mr. Dekum retired. Mr. Bickel then remained as sole proprietor of the business 
until 1883, when he sold out. He had previously erected a building on Front 
street, where he began a storage business and later he builds a large office build- 
ing on Second street between Ash and Ankeny streets. This was one hundred 
and fifty by one hundred and twelve feet. In 1906 he retired and has since 
rested from further business cares, his enterprise and activity in former years 
having brought him a comfortable competence that now supplies him with many 
of the comforts and some of the luxuries of life. He has since lived retired 
in a beautiful home at the corner of Ford street and Park avenue. 

In Portland, in 1864, was celebrated the marriage of Frederick Bickel and 
Catherine Karleskint, and unto them have been born seven children : Lena, at 
home; Amelia, who died in infancy; George L., at home; Bertha, who passed 
away at the age of twelve years ; Albert, who was twenty-eight years of age at 
the time of his death ; Louisa and Frederick B., also under the parental roof. 
Mrs. Bickel was born in St. Clair county, Illinois, and came to Portland in 
1862. 

Not only does Mr. Bickel deserve mention as one of the pioneer merchants 
of the city but also as one of the veterans of the Indian wars of 1854, 1855 and 
1856. He enlisted under Captain Wilson in the Oregon Mounted Volunteers, 
becoming a member of Company A, October 10, 1855. He participated in the 
four days' battle of Walla Walla and continued with his command until mustered 
out during the summer of 1856. The experiences of life in the northwest when 
this was a frontier district are largely familiar to him and his labors have been 
an effective element in promoting civilization, improvement and progress in this 
section of the country. In politics he has always been a republican but can 
never be induced to hold office. He has aided in organizing several of the Ger- 
man societies of the city, including the Turn Verein and the German Aid So- 
ciety and he is, moreover, a member of the Indian War Veterans, the Oregon 
Pioneer Society and the Historical Society. Those events which are to many 
matters of history are to him matters of personal knowledge or experience and 
he relates many interesting tales of the early days. Upon the pioneer settler 
there devolved hardships and trials unknown at a later day, and Mr. Bickel 
faithfully bore his share in all of the labor and effort incident to the early devel- 
opment of the northwest. 



JOHN O. GILLEN. 



John O. Gillen, senior member of the Gillen-Chambers Company, manufac- 
turers of asbestos products, with factory at St. Johns and office and warehouse 
at No. 66 Front street, North, in Portland, has been identified with the business 
here for over twenty years. He was born in New York city in 1867, and is a 
son of James Gillen. His youthful days were spent in the eastern metropolis, 
where he attended school and afterward began to learn the asbestos business. 
He came west to Portland in 1890, attracted by the developing business oppor- 
tunities of the Pacific northwest. 

The impossibility of placing fictitious value upon industry, determination and 
perseverance at once proves the worth of the individual, who must base his rise 
upon these qualities. These elements have constituted the salient features in 
the advancement of Mr. Gillen, who has steadily worked his way upward from 
the humble position in which he started in the business world. He entered into 



218 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

active connection with the asbestos business in Portland as an employe of 
Joseph Gaffney, a manufacturer who was conducting a small business. In 1894 
he was admitted to a partnership under the firm name of Gaffney & Gillen, and 
a reorganization of the business in 1898 led to the adoption of the firm style of 
Gillen & Chambers. Joseph Gaffney had died before the firm of Gaffney & 
Gillen was formed, his brother, Nicholas Gaffney, having become the senior 
member of that firm. The factory was established on a small scale on Second 
street in Portland, and was there continued until 1900, when the business was 
removed to a small room upstairs at No. 66 Front street. North. In 1907, the 
company erected their own factory in St. Johns at a cost of thirty-five thousand 
dollars. The business was incorporated in 1904 with a capital stock of ten 
thousand dollars, and there is now a surplus of seventy thousand dollars. Mr. 
Gillen is the president of the company, with J. D. Chambers as vice president 
and W. H. Chambers as secretary and treasurer. They employ from fifteen 
to thirty men at the St. Johns factory and about twenty-two men at the ware- 
house in Portland. They have been the makers of all except one of the as- 
bestos theater curtains now in use in Portland, and their manufactured products 
also include asbestos pipe covering and different fireproof cements. As the 
public attention has awakened to the danger of fire, especially in congested 
districts, and has sought out means of protection, the use of asbestos has grown 
and the business of the Gillen-Chambers Company has increased largely in the 
last few years. Their sales are now extensive, and their plant is regarded as 
one of the leading productive industries of the enterprising town of St. Johns. 
Mr. Gillen was united in marriage, in 1896, to Miss Lena Clark, a native of 
southern Oregon. They make their home in Portland and have the warm re- 
gard of many friends here. Mr. Gillen has never regretted his determination 
to leave the east and seek the opportunities of the growing west. Here he found 
favorable business conditions, and in their improvement and utilization has 
made steady progress toward the goal of prosperity. He is now a member of 
the transportation committee of the Chamber of Commerce. 



COLONEL WILLIAM WILLIAMS CHAPMAN. 

Portland and Oregon are not the product of a single individual or even of a 
few men, and yet there are those whose names stand out clearly upon the pages 
of the history of the state because of the greatness of their work in its behalf. 
Among those who have been truly builders of the northwest. Colonel William 
Williams Chapman is numbered, his life work being characterized by an un- 
selfish devotion to the public good that was again and again manifest in active 
and practical work for the benefit of the commonwealth. He stood as the de- 
fender of the people at large as against the interests of the few, and when in- 
dividualistic or monopolistic greed threatened the welfare of the state, he cham- 
pioned the rights of Oregon and in legislative halls, in congress and through 
private influence worked to uphold those measures which he knew would have 
far-reaching and beneficial effect upon the history of Oregon for years to come. 

Born in Clarksburg, Virginia, on the nth of August, 1808, Colonel William 
Williams Chapman was only fourteen years of age at the time of his father's 
death, and was then thrown largely upon his own resources. After completing 
a public school education, he entered the office of clerk of the courts, of which 
Henry St. George Tucker was chancellor. He was in that position assisted by 
Mrs. Sehon, mother of the eminent minister, and his position stimulated in him 
a desire for learning and an intellectual development, which desire he had op- 
portunity to meet, at least to some extent, for he was given free access to the 
libraries of prominent lawyers of that state. Devoting his leisure time to the 
mastery of the principles of jurisprudence, he at length received a license to 




?e"^(«<f 




W. W. CHAPMAN 



'*- -f^itl i ur 









I 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 221 

practice law and located in Middlebourne, Tyler county, West Virginia. In the fall 
of 1833 he went to Macomb, McDonough county, Illinois, and in the spring of 
1835 to Burlington, Iowa. The following year he was appointed by Governor 
John S. Horner to the position of prosecuting attorney and later in the same 
year was appointed by President Jackson United States attorney for the terri- 
tory of Wisconsin, following the admission of Michigan to the Union. In 1838 
Iowa was set apart as an independent territory, and in the fall of that year 
Colonel Chapman was elected to congress, where he became very active. He 
prepared and secured the passage of bills for the construction of three important 
military roads in the state and won for Iowa against Missouri a dispute over 
the boundary line. He was also the first man in congress to propose a perma- 
nent preemption law. Throughout his life he remained a close student of the 
vital questions of the day, and the interests of local, state and national import. 
His discrimination was keen, his deductions logical, and in his labors he looked 
beyond the exigencies of the moment to the possibilities and opportunities of the 
future. Because of this his work in many connections has endured, being of 
permanent value. In 1844 ^^e was chosen a member of the state convention to 
prepare the constitution for Iowa, and in that body originated the measure to 
transfer in face of the act of congress the grant of five hundred thousand acres 
to the state for internal improvements for the use of schools, a course at that 
time unheard of but since followed by all new states. He also proposed measures 
providing for the election of judges and thus in many essential ways left the 
impress of his ability upon the history of Iowa. 

On the 4th of -May, 1847, Colonel Chapman started with his family from 
Oskaloosa across the plains to Oregon, arriving at Marysville, now Corvallis, 
on the 13th of November, 1847. ^^i the following February he located in Salem, 
and in the fall of 1848, when the reports of gold discovery in California were 
received, he went to the Sacramento river, where he engaged successfully in 
mining until the early spring of 1849. He then returned and soon afterward 
was elected representative to the first territorial legislature of Oregon, and dur- 
ing the ensuing session, was appointed to draft a code of laws, but this act was 
declared void. Following the close of the general assembly, he removed to 
Oregon City, but after a short time decided upon Portland as his future home, 
and took up his abode here on the ist of January, 1850. The city was built upon 
a section of land owned by Gen. Stephen Coffin and D. H. Lownsdale, in which 
Colonel Chapman had a third interest. In the spring he cleared and built a 
residence upon the block where the courthouse now stands. The "town proprie- 
tors," as Messrs. Coffin, Lownsdale and Chapman were called, engaged in all 
enterprises calculated to advance the interests of the embryo city. Every town 
on lower Willamette and Columbia rivers contested for preeminence in those 
days, hoping to become the foremost city of the future. In the fall of 1850 the 
steamer Gold Hunter of San Francisco was purchased for sixty thousand dol- 
lars by these gentlemen — a few others subscribing small amounts — and twenty- 
one thousand dollars of this sum was paid down. For a time the steamer made 
regular trips to San Francisco with Oregon products and gave Portland such an 
advantage over all rivals as to annihilate their hopes of preeminence in the future. 
Soon after his arrival here many more streets were platted, the two original 
streets were widened, country roads were improved, and many city improvements 
were introduced, Colonel Chapman proving an important factor in all this work. 
At that time Portland had no newspaper, but Oregon City and Milwaukie were 
both publishing a paper. Recognizing the fact that Portland's interests would 
be promoted if it had a journal to champion its cause. Colonel Chapman and 
Mr. Coffin went to San Francisco and induced Mr. Dryer to move his plant here 
and publish a paper. They promised individually to pay him a salary and also 
pay his traveling and freight expenses. Thus the Oregonian was established, 
and Colonel Chapman hired a man to assist his two sons, Thomas and Arthur, 
to distribute the first issue of the paper throughout the town and surrounding 



222 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

country. At his suggestion, while he was still in San Francisco making arrange- 
ments with Mr. Dryer, the paper was given the name of the Oregonian. 

In the fall of 1853 Colonel Chapman acquired the Hudson Bay improve- 
ments at Fort Umpqua, but still retained his Portland interests, and his law 
practice at this point. He removed to Fort Umpqua with his family, however, 
and there engaged in farming and cattle-raising. Long prior to this time he had 
had military experience as a member of the militia of Iowa, and in 1836, when 
but twenty-eight years of age, had been elected colonel of his regiment by a large 
majority. In the fall of 1855, while attending court, an Indian uprising broke 
out on Rogue river, which was the beginning of the war of 1855-6. Under 
proclamation of the governor. Colonel Chapman gathered a company, of which 
he was elected captain. He equipped the command himself, and it was mustered 
in as Company I, Major Martin's battalion. In the following spring he was 
chosen lieutenant-colonel and was given command of the Southern Battalion, in 
which connection he was largely responsible for the successful outcome of the 
conflict. Resuming activities in civil life, he removed with his family in the 
fall of 1856 to Corvallis and expected to go from there as a delegate to the con- 
stitutional convention, but his candidacy was not endorsed because of his well 
known opposition to slavery. The following year he purchased extensive farm- 
ing interests at Eugene City and removed there. While residing at that place he 
was nominated for territorial representative, and was also mentioned in con- 
nection with the oflice of senator. He was appointed surveyor-general of Ore- 
gon, which position he filled until 1861, when he resigned and in that fall 
returned to Portland. Soon afterward he built a home at Fourteenth and Jef- 
ferson streets, where he continuously resided, giving his attention largely to the 
practice of law. 

When, in 1863, a bill was introduced into congress with the land grant sub- 
sidy for a road from a junction from the Central Pacific Railroad to Portland, 
Colonel Chapman protected the interests of Oregon by framing and presenting 
to congress resolutions for modifications requiring that the road must be started 
at this end as well as the other, and the work of progress carried on from each 
end equally. He was notable for his keen foresight, and assisted in forestalling 
by legislation many corporate abuses. As a member of the legislature of 1868, 
he proposed and secured the passage of a bill providing a thirty thousand dollar 
subsidy to furnish large tugboats to tow ocean vessels through the mouth of 
Columbia river, thus abolishing high rates then charged, and stimulating the 
commerce of Portland with foreign ports. Perhaps his most important work 
for this city and the state at large was his long fight against the Northern Pa- 
cific Railway, covering many years, and bringing forth many hard fought battles 
in the courts won by him as the result of his untiring energy, loyalty to the in- 
terests of the people and extraordinary sagacity. He thus defeated repeated at- 
tempts to ignore Portland by building only on the north side of the Columbia 
river and to gain the railroad monopoly of the northwest, the result of which 
was the building of the line of the Oregon Short Line Company, which secured 
for Portland eastern railway connections. In this struggle he spent the energy 
of his best years and also a magnificent fortune. As the result of over-exertion, 
he was stricken with paralysis in November, 1888, rendering his right side 
largely useless, but he retained the precious prize of keen mentality until his 
death, which occurred on the i8th of October, 1892, when he had reached the 
advanced age of eighty-four years. 

In the spring of 1832 Colonel Chapman was married to Miss Margaret Fee 
Inghram, a daughter of Colonel Arthur Inghram, a prominent farmer and man 
of public spirit, who served for twenty years in the state legislature of the Old 
Dominion. Mrs. Chapman died June 21, 1889, in the seventy-fourth year of 
her age. They were the parents of eleven children, of whom only two are now 
living: Mrs. Mary C. Galbraith, of Seattle; and Winfield S., of whom mention 
is made on another page of this volume. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 223 

Colonel Chapman was a Mason and enjoyed the highest regard of his breth- 
ren of that fraternity. A few weeks before his death the school board of Port- 
land named one of the new public schools in his honor in recognition of his ef- 
forts to advance the cause of education. Progress and patriotism might well be 
termed the keynote of his character. There are few men who have labored so 
unselfishly and untiringly for the public good. His strong analytical mind en- 
abled him to understand every phase of a question, and his remarkable sagacity 
enabled him to look beyond and beneath the surface and recognize the true con- 
dition of affairs and the possible outcome for the future. His comprehensive 
understanding of every public question therefore was a most effective feature 
in his work for the public good, and in his life his public and private acts ever 
balanced up with the principles of truth and honor. 



WINFIELD S. CHAPMAN. 

IWinfield S. Chapman of Portland, is one of the oldest among the native resi- 
dents here, his birth having occurred in the then village of Portland on the 3d 
of July, 1850. He is a son of Col. W. W. Chapman, whose biography precedes 
this. His parents removed to southern Oregon in 1853, but returned to Port- 
land in 1861, so that Winfield S. Chapman largely acquired his early education 
in the schools of this city, principally in the old Portland Academy, from which 
he was graduated in 1868. 

Following his graduation, he entered the office of the city surveyor as as- 
sistant and a year after attaining his majority became chief of that department, 
which position he filled for two years, when a change in political administration 
occurred and a democrat was appointed. Turning his attention to the field of 
journalism in 1878, he founded the Daily Bee, of which he was editor. He 
made this a popular and successful paper, but in the fall of that year sold out 
and again became city surveyor, which position he held until 1881. In that 
year the city council again became democratic, and he once more left the office ; 
but in 1883 was again appointed, so serving until 1884, when he resigned in 
order to accept the position of superintendent of streets, which he held until 
the office became elective in 1891, at which time he refused the nomination. Dur- 
ing the '70s he devoted several thousand dollars to assisting his father in the 
projected railroad from Salt Lake to Portland and surveyed a part of the line 
at his own expense. During the following decade he was the controlling spirit 
in the installation and operation of the Jefferson street steam ferry, which after 
long litigation broke the monopoly that had been controlled by the Stark street 
ferry for many years. He was also the organizer and the main promoter in the 
construction of the waterworks on the east side of the river, the first system 
estabhshed there, and obtained a franchise for, located and planned the Madison 
street bridge, but sold the ferry and franchise before the work on the bridge 
had progressed far. 

The panic of 1893 found Mr. Chapman with real estate on his hands to the 
extent of two hundred thousand dollars, but the decline in the real estate market 
was so great and so rapid that his entire wealth was swept away. In 1899 he 
went to Skagway, Alaska, where he edited the Daily Alaskan until his return to 
Portland to prepare for departure to Cape Nome, whither he went in the spring 
of 1900 as part owner of an outfit of machinery for mining gold from the beach 
sands. This enterprise, however, was not successful. In 1904 he accepted the 
position of district engineer in the office of the city engineer, and has since acted 
in that capacity. While he has given assiduous attention to the duties of the 
office, which have been discharged with the utmost fidelity and ability. He is 
also interested in various private enterprises which are now proving sources of 
profitable return. In politics he has likewise been an active republican, stanchly 
advocating the principles of the party. 



224 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

One of the strongly marked characteristics of Mr. Chapman has been his 
fiHal love and devotion to his parents, to whom he was especially attentive and 
helpful in their last years. When young he promised his mother not to marry 
while she lived, and he kept this promise. On the 21st of December, 1908, he 
wedded Miss E. E. Crookham of San Francisco, a daughter of Judge J. A. 
Crookham of Oskaloosa, Iowa. She is a lady of high educational attainments, 
who was graduated from Mt. Holyoke College, visited England and other coun- 
tries of Europe a second time in pursuing her studies. For several years she was 
a successful teacher in the Portland high school, and afterward accepted a position 
in the city schools of San Francisco, where she lived and experienced the terrors 
of "the great fire" in that city. While Mr. Chapman has at times met reverses 
in his business enterprises owing largely to conditions over which he had no 
control, he has nevertheless done an important part in the upbuilding of the 
northwest and his service as a public official has been marked by a fidelity that 
none have questioned. 



WILLIAM K. SMITH. 



To the energetic nature and strong mentality of such men as William K. 
Smith is due the development and ever increasing prosperity of Portland. His 
career has been one of activity, full of incidents and results. In every sphere 
of life in which he has acted he has left an indelible impress through his ability 
and tireless energy that never stops short of the attainment of its purpose. He 
first visited Portland in 1854. Returning in 1869, with the experience of previous 
residence in Oregon and in California through the days of pioneer development, 
he joined his interests at once with those of the growing city and his efforts 
have since been a resultant feature in its further progress and promotion. He 
is today numbered with Portland's capitalists, and the most envious cannot 
grudge him his success so worthily has it been won through activity in industrial 
and financial circles. At the age of eighty-four years he remains one of the 
city's most honored and venerable residents. 

Mr. Smith was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, August 3, 1826, a 
son of Peter and Barbara (Showalter) Smith, the former of English lineage and 
the latter of Holland Dutch descent. The birth of James G. Blaine occurred in 
the same town where Mr. Smith spent his early youth. The father was a farmer 
and carpenter who removed from the Keystone state to Ohio when his son 
William was but six years of age. He settled upon a tract of land in Clermont 
county, where he engaged in farming until his removal to Indiana. He was 
afterward a resident of Illinois and later of Texas, his death occurring in the 
Lone Star state, while his wife passed away in Ohio. 

The removal of the family made William K. Smith at different times a pupil 
in the public schools of Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and Alabama. 
With the family he went to Texas and there worked upon the home farm until 
eighteen years of age. Then leaving the parental roof, he went to Alabama, 
where he again attended school and also engaged in clerking for his uncle, a 
merchant and physician, with whom he also read medicine. After five years 
spent in Alabama William K. Smith went to La Grange, Texas, where he was 
employed as a clerk in a mercantile establishment. Before he left Texas he 
had earned a cow and calf by splitting rails. He left the cattle there and went 
to Alabama. When he returned he invested in a drove of cattle and was engaged 
in live-stock business for some time but subsequently sold out and went to St. 
Louis for the purpose of improving his education. His life experiences had 
taught him the value of intellectual training as an element to success in business, 
and making his way to St. Louis he pursued a course in a commercial college of 
that city and also attended Shurtleff College at Alton, Illinois. 




W. K. SMITH 



j 



.*«-x-^:=?-. :.flp^v.7x: 






1 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 227 

While there Mr. Smith formed a company to cross the plains, being attracted 
to the west by the fact that he had a brother, Joseph S. Smith, who was living 
upon the Pacific coast and who sent back favorable reports concerning its oppor- 
tunities and possibilities. William K. Smith left St. Louis with about eighty 
head of cattle and fine horses, with a few men to assist him in the care of his 
stock in crossing the plains. His horses, however, were stolen on the journey. 
The party had considerable experience with the Indians while crossing the plains 
and were constantly on the alert for fear of an attack. Day after day they 
traveled on over the hot stretches of sand and through the mountain passes until 
their eyes were gladdened by the green valleys of California. Soon after reach- 
ing the Golden Gate Mr. Smith sold his cattle and turned his attention to mining. 
But not finding the gold in the country that he had anticipated, he opened a small 
store on the McCallum river. After living in California for about a year he 
decided to visit his brother, Joseph S. Smith, who had settled with his family on 
Whidby's island, Puget Sound, Washington territory. This journey took him, 
in 1854, through Portland, then a new and unimportant settlement. From Port- 
land to his destination the arduous trip was made on horseback. Arriving at 
dusk at his brother's log house, he was at first received with scant welcome by 
his brother who, not having seen him for several years and receiving no news 
of his coming, failed at first to recognize the tall, bearded stranger. His brother's 
baby boy, however, seemed quaintly enough to notice the kinship, as tugging at 
his mother's apron, he lisped "Mamma — two papas." After a short visit with 
his brother, Mr. Smith retraced his steps to Salem, Oregon territory, where he 
purchased from Dr. Wilson (whose donation land claim was the original town- 
site of Salem) a drugstore which included also a/itock of books, paints, oils and 
general merchandise. This store he conducted with- great success for fifteen 
years, securing an extensive trade from the town and surrounding country. 

During this period he established the water system of Salem, bringing in an 
unlimited supply of fine water from the Santa. Ana. river.. He secured the con- 
trolling interest in the Salem Woolen Mills and associated with himself in the 
management of the enterprise, J. F. Miller, H. W. Corbett, W. S. Ladd, L. F. 
Grover, J. S. Smith and Daniel Waldo. These mills made the first shipment of 
wool sent to the east from the Pacific coast. With practically the same associates 
he built the first large flouring mills and an immense wheat warehouse. These, 
the biggest mills on the coast, were operated by water power from Santa Ana 
river. During this period he acquired the McMinnville Flouring Mills, trading 
to Robert Kinney, his woolen mill stock for a ranch of a thousand acres, stocked 
with fine horses and the McMinnville mills. In such manner the extent and 
importance of his business interest were a prominent and effective feature in 
Salem's progress and commercial prosperity. 

Seeking still broader fields of labor and realizing that Portland had natural 
advantages which in time must make it a city of large interest, Mr. Smith severed 
his business connections with Salem and in 1869 became identified with the 
industrial life of the Rose City. He established! a sawmill and thus began the 
manufacture of lumber. Through the intervening years he has been connected 
with an industry which has been and is one of the chief sources of revenue to 
the state. At one time he owned and operated three sawmills, and although two 
of these have since been burned, he is still the owner of a saw and shingle mill. 
Looking beyond the exigencies of the moment to the possibilities of the future, 
he has ever directed his efforts along lines that have been effective forces in the 
extension of Portland's business interest and connection. With C. H. Lewis, 
Henry Failing and H. W. Corbett he furnished the first money required in 
financing the new Bull Run system of water supply, and was a member of the 
original water commission, being one of the three survivors of that representative 
body. He later won recognition as a leading financier of Portland, becoming 
identified with the Portland Savings Bank, which was organized in 1880 and of 
which he became vice president and one of the directors. He was also elected 
11 



228 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

one of the directors of the Commercial Bank, and his sound judgment was 
brought to bear in the correct solution of many intricate financial problems. He 
was vice president and director of the Ainsworth Bank. He contributed to the 
city's material improvement as the builder of a dock and warehouse on the 
levee north of Salmon street in 1876. He was also one of the promoters of the 
street railway system of Portland, being among those who organized the old 
cable car company, in which undertaking he lost considerable money. He was 
also among the first to agitate and support the question of establishing an 
electric line, thus constituting the foundation of Portland's present excellent 
street car service. He was interested with Ben Holladay in building the first 
railway in Oregon and also engaged in the shipping business, being the owner 
of the Hattie C. Bessie a four-masted bark, which he chartered to Chinese 
merchants lor twenty thousand dollars for a single trip to China. His business 
connections were so varied and important in Portland that it would have seemed 
that outside affairs could have no claim upon his time and attention. Yet he 
has had important agricultural interests, owning at one time a ranch of one 
thousand acres in Yamhill county, stocked with fine horses and cattle. This 
property he traded for the Hattie C. Bessie. While in Salem he purchased the 
first bushel of apples ever sold in that city ; they were raised in Polk county and 
were a very fine variety. He afterwards sold many of the apples at one dollar 
each and disposed of one for five dollars to D. M. Durell, a banker and sawmill 
man, who said he would take the apple to the Smithsonian Institute in Washing- 
ton for it was almost the size of a large cocoanut. 

At present Mr. Smith is engaged in the real-estate business and handles 
much property. He has sold more land for railroad terminals than any man in 
Portland and recently disposed of realty to J. J. Hill, the railroad magnate, that 
was worth over a quarter of a million dollars. He has furnished the sites for 
two parks to the city of Portland. Seventeen years ago he purchased Council 
Crest paying fifty thousand dollars for sixty acres. His realty holdings are 
extensive and return to him a gratifying annual income. 

In San Francisco in 1864 Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Debbie H. 
Harker, a sister of General Charles Harker who won his title by service in the 
Civil war. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Smith were born six children: Eugenia, the 
wife of T. Harris Bartlett, of Idaho, and the mother of one child, Barbara S. ; 
William K. Jr., who is living in Portland; Victor H., who is a graduate of the 
Willamette Medical College, the Virginia Medical College and the Medical Col- 
lege of New York and is now successfully engaged in the practice of medicine 
in Portland; Joseph H., connected with the Portland Electric Light Company, 
who married Gertrude Eger and has one child, Josephine ; Charles H., who died 
when four years of age; and Sumner, who was drowned in the Willamette river 
saving the life of a young lady whose rescue he effected at the cost of his own life. 

While Mr. Smith does not hold membership with any religious denommation, 
he has contributed liberally to the building of churches, including both the 
Methodist and Episcopal churches at Salem. He was also a generous donor to 
the Willamette University at Salem and furnished the ground upon which they 
built the Willamette Medical School in Portland — a property of which he obtained 
possession later by purchase. 

From boyhood days, when he read by the flickering light by the fireplace he 
has been a student and devoted admirer of the great authors. His favorite poets 
are Pope and Thomas Moore, and he often surprises and chamis his listeners 
with a graceful and apt quotation from the satire of the one or the mournful 
sweetness of the other. Naturally he became a strong supporter, financially and 
otherwise, of the old Portland Library Association and was a life member and 
director of that body. Since the old association was taken over by the city and 
became a free public library he has had an unabated interest in its welfare and 
still serves as director and a prominent member of important committees. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 229 

His cooperation has ever been counted upon to further progressive public 
measures and his labors have been of far-reaching effect and importance. He 
thoroughly enjoys home life and takes great pleasure in the society of his family 
and friends. He is always courteous, kindly and affable and those who know him 
personally — and he is widely known throughout the state — have for him a warm 
regard. A man of great natural ability, his success in business from the beginning 
of his residence in Portland has been uniform and rapid and while he has long 
since passed the age when most men put aside business cares, he yet manages 
his investments and his interests, and his business discernment is as keen and his 
judgment as sound as it was two or three decades ago. Although the snows of 
many winters have whitened his hair, in spirit and interest he seems yet in his 
prime, and out of his wisdom and his experience he gives for the benefit of 
others. 



BENAGE S. JOSSELYN. 

Benage S. Josselyn, identified with many corporate interests which have con- 
stituted important factors in the development of the natural resources of the 
northwest and have thus contributed in large measure to its growing prosperity, 
is particularly well known in connection with all branches of steam and elec- 
tric railroad building and operation, lighting and electric power. 

He was born in Hey worth, Illinois, February 7, 1858, a son of Sydney A. 
and Kate E. Josselyn, the former a railroad agent. At the usual age he en- 
tered the public schools, wherein he continued his studies to the age of four- 
teen, when he put aside his text-books in order to receive his initial business 
training in a railroad office. He came to the northwest in 1907 and, appreciative 
of the natural advantages of the country and of the opportunities for rapid and 
remarkable business development, he allied his interests with this section of the 
country and industrial, commercial and financial interests have been largely pro- 
moted through his cooperation. He has been connected with all branches of 
steam and electric railroads, lighting and electric power. 

Mr. Josselyn entered the railway service as ticket clerk in 1873; ^^'^s gen- 
eral manager for the Kansas City, Osceola & Southern Railway from 1893 ^^ 
1898; was general superintendent of the Omaha & St. Louis, the Omaha & 
Kansas City and eastern lines, until April, 1899; as expert, making reports on 
various lines for eastern capitalists in 1899 and 1900; manager of the Ken- 
tucky & Indiana Bridge & Railway Company at Louisville, Kentucky, from 
1900 to 1902 ; general manager of the Hudson Valley Railway Company at 
Glens Falls, New York, in 1902-3, and of the Union Terminal Railway Company 
at Sioux City, Iowa, from 1903 to 1906; assistant to president of that compapny 
1905-6, and was made vice president in the latter year. He was general man- 
ager and vice president of the Maryland Telephone & Telegraph Company from 
1906 to 1907, and also of the Baltimore Electric Power Company. Since the 
ist of July, 1907, he has been president of the Portland Railway Company. 
He is also president of the Portland General Electric Company, of the Oregon 
Water Power & Railroad Company, the Union Traction Company, the Cazadero 
Real Estate Company, the Portland & Sandy River Electric Company, the 
Willamette Falls Company, the Kenton Construction Company, the Portland 
Railway, Light & Power Company, and vice president of the Pacific Monthly 
Magazine. In his business career he has seemed to realize at almost every point 
the possibilities for successful accomplishment at that point. With notable 
ability to discriminate between the essential and non-essential, he has chosen 
and utilized that which is of value in the development of important business 
interests, and with remarkable prescience has prepared to meet the needs and 
demands of a rapidly developing country. 



230 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

On the 15th of April, 1885, Mr. Josselyn was married to Miss Ida Mott 
Courtright, and they have three children : Dorothy, Mildred and Benage S., 
aged respectively twenty-one, eighteen and fifteen years. The family attend the 
Christian Science church, in which Mr. Josselyn holds membership. He has 
attained high rank in Masonry, holding membership in the lodge, chapter, com- 
mandery and consistory, attaining the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. 
He is a past eminent commander of the Knights Templar of Portland, and is 
a Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to the Royal Arcanum, and in 
more strictly social lines is connected with the Maryland Club of Baltimore, 
and the Arlington, Commercial and Waverly Golf Clubs of Portland. The last 
named indicates one of the chief sources of his recreation when opportunity 
permits him to put aside the arduous cares of the growing business interests 
which have claimed his attention, bringing him enviable and admirable success 
and at the same time constituting features in the general prosperity of this sec- 
tion of the country. 



PHILIP CHRIST. 



No history of Vancouver or this section of the country would be complete 
without mention of Philip Christ, now eighty-six years of age. He came as a 
soldier to Washington in 1848 to protect the interests of the sufferers in the 
northwest, and after several years' military experience in frontier barracks, be- 
came identified with the agricultural development of this section of the coun- 
try. His work from that time until his retirement was of marked value to the 
community in promoting its farming interests and in utilizing the natural re- 
sources of the district. 

Mr. Christ was born in Germany May 6, 1824, and continued in his native 
country until a young man of twenty-four years, when he sailed from Antwerp 
to New York city. He had been in the eastern metropolis but a brief period 
when he enlisted for service in the United States army, the country being then 
engaged in war with Mexico. He joined the First Artillery and that fall was 
sent to the front, where he served until the close of hostilities. In 1848 the 
regiment returned to Governors Island, New York, there waiting while a ship 
was being fitted up to bring them to the Pacific northwest. When the equip- 
ment was completed, they sailed for the isthmus of Panama, and from there 
sailed to Vancouver Barracks, which was then in Oregon territory, this section 
of the country not having been divided into the two states of Oregon and Wash- 
ington. These two companies were the first United States troops in the ter- 
ritory. It was their duty to protect the early settlers against Indian invasion, 
and for five years Mr. Christ remained on active duty with the army, after 
which he was honorably discharged in 1853. 

For a year thereafter he worked in the mines, for gold had been discovered 
on the Pacific coast, and he thought perhaps there might be opportunity for 
him to thus gain a fortune. His hopes were not realized, however, so he took 
up two claims of three hundred and twenty acres of land, which he cleared 
and farmed. He was here joined by his brother Henry after the latter came 
to the new world and for many years they were closely associated with the 
agricultural development of the Columbia valley. Year after year they devoted 
their energies to general farming with good success, but in 1890 retired to 
private life, Mr. Christ giving his land to his nephews and nieces. He now 
lives in Vancouver with his brother Henry and between them there have long 
existed the most cordial business relations and the most pleasant companionship. 
Philip Christ has traveled far on life's journey, and the record is one which has 
"brought to him the respect and good will of all with whom he has come in con- 
tact. His history covers the period between the primitive past and the days of 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 231 

modern progress, and he relates many interesting incidents concerning the de- 
velopment of this section of the country as year by year the work of improve- 
ment has been carried forward, making the Columbia river valley on a par 
with the older east in all that indicates development and improvement. 



CHARLES WESLEY ROYAL. 

Charles W. Royal is well remembered as one of the early settlers of Mount 
Tabor. While living there his attention was largely devoted to horticultural 
pursuits. At different times, however, during his residence in the state, espe- 
cially in the early days, he was identified with educational affairs, and no man 
had keener interest in intellectual progress or took more genuine delight in the 
substantial development of the schools. In fact, his influence was always on 
the side of municipal and moral progress, and it is this which makes him re- 
membered by many who knew him, while he was still an active factor in the 
world's work. He was born in Piqua, Ohio, February 17, 1823, a son of Wil- 
liam and Barbara (Ebey) Royal. His father was born near Wheeling, West 
Virginia, and was a minister of the gospel. He began preaching in 183 1 and 
his first appointment was at Fort Clark, situated somewhere in the vicinity of 
Peoria, Illinois. His circuit included all of the territory north of Peoria save 
Chicago, where the Rev. Jesse Walker was then stationed as a preacher. Wil- 
liam Royal continued his labors in the middle west until 1853, when he came 
with his family to Oregon as a retired preacher of the Rock River conference 
of Illinois. He was later transferred to the Oregon conference and preached 
his first sermon in the northwest at John Reason's home in Jackson county, 
Oregon. He was connected with several different circuits during his residence 
in the northwest and lived in Portland for several years. He built the first 
Methodist church on the east side of the city called the Centenary Methodist 
Episcopal church, and his labors in behalf of his denomination were far-reach- 
ing and effective, his work still bearing good fruit in the lives of those who 
heeded the gospel call under his teachings. He was living retired at the time 
of his death, which occurred in Salem, Oregon, in September, 1871. His wife 
was born on the Little Juniata river in Pennsylvania in 1800. The birth of the 
Rev. William Royal occurred in February, 1796, and thus he had attained the 
age of seventy-five years at the time of his demise. The family numbered seven 
children — six sons and a daughter, of whom the eldest, the Rev. Thomas F. 
Royal, now ninety years of age, is mentioned at length on another page of this 
volume. 

Charles W. Royal, the second of the family, completed his education as a 
student in McKendree College, at Lebanon, Illinois, and afterward learned the 
mason's trade but did not follow it to any great extent after the period of his 
early manhood. While visiting near Victoria, Illinois, he formed the acquaint- 
ance of Miss Sarah A. Cumming, a daughter of John and Mary (Berry) Cum- 
ming of Victoria. The young lady was teaching school in that vicinity and the 
friendship which sprang up between them was consummated in marriage on the 
2d of September, 1864. Mrs. Royal was born at Rocky Springs in eastern 
Tennessee. Her father learned and followed the blacksmith's trade, but also 
became a preacher of the Episcopal church. Removing to Aurora, Illinois, Mr. 
Royal there engaged in the machinery business, dealing in farm machinery for 
some time. At length he determined to establish his home in Oregon, to which 
state his father and the rest of his family had preceded him in the year 1853, 
and to this end made an offer to close out his business in Aurora. He could 
not settle up his affairs, however, in time to make the trip when he wished, so 
his wife and son, Osmon Royal, then a boy, started for the coast, making the 
journey by way of the isthmus of Panama and arriving in Portland in August, 



232 THE CITY OF PORTLAxND 

1865. Mr. Royal's father, Rev. William Royal, was here at the time, and in 
the fall of the same year Charles W. Royal, having closed out his interests in 
the middle west, arrived in Portland. He and his wife then went to the Umpqua 
Academy, of which his brother. Rev. Thomas F. Royal, had charge, and both 
engaged in teaching in that school for about a year. They then returned to 
Portland. In the meantime, before the arrival of her husband, Mrs. Royal had 
engaged in teaching at the Indian school at Fort Simcoe, of which Rev. James 
H. Wilbur, known as "Father Wilbur," had charge. After their return to 
Portland, Mr. and Mrs. Royal rented a farm that includes the present site of 
Mount Tabor, which is now one of the beautiful and populous residence dis- 
tricts of Portland. For a year he devoted his energies to general agricultural 
pursuits, at the end of which time the family home was established at Salem 
that the eldest son might have the privilege of attending college there. Mr. 
Royal turned his attention to the real-estate business in which he continued at 
Salem for about six years. During this time he was a most active member of 
the city council. Again a return to Portland was made, and the family once 
more took up their abode on their Mount Tabor land, where Mr. Royal gave his 
attention largely to the cultivation of berries which he found a successful un- 
dertaking. He was one of the first settlers of Mount Tabor, there being only 
three houses in that locality at the time. He continued to make his home there 
until his demise, which occurred October 16, 1895, his remains being interred 
in Lone Fir cemetery. 

Following the death of her husband, Mrs. Royal removed to another part of 
Mount Tabor, where she still lives. They were the parents of two children, but 
one died in infancy, and the other, Charlie, at the age of four years. By a 
former marriage, Mr. Royal had two children. In Illinois he had wedded Rachel 
Misner, who died in that state about fifty years ago, leaving two sons: Ladru, 
of Los Angeles, who is engaged in the real-estate business and for many years 
was a successful teacher of Oregon ; and Dr. Osmon Royal of Portland, who 
is mentioned in this volume. 

In his political views Charles W. Royal was always an earnest republican 
from the organization of the party, and faithfully discharged every duty of 
citizenship that devolved upon him. He was, moreover, a very active, faithful 
and helpful member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and held different offices 
therein, serving as steward, Sunday school superintendent, and in other official 
capacities. He did everything in his power to promote the growth of the church 
and extend its influence, and he was ever a progressive man who sought as 
well the intellectual development of the community and furthered every move- 
ment Vv^hich tended to uplift mankind. His entire life was actuated by a spirit 
of broad humanitarianism and by all who knew him he was held in high re- 
spect and honor. 



CHARLES WILLARD KING. 

To say of him whose name introduces this review that he has risen from a 
comparatively obscure position to one of notable distinction in mercantile circles 
seems trite to those who are familiar with his history, and yet it is but just to 
say in a record that will descend to future generations that his business career 
is one of which any man might be proud, for since starting out in life as errand 
boy, his promptness, energ}^ and fidelity have been a crowning point in his ca- 
reer, winning him successive promotions until, as a member of the firm of 
Olds, Wortman & King, he ranks with the leading merchants of Portland. More- 
over, he is one of Oregon's native sons, his birth having occurred in Buteville, 
November 7, 1865. His parents were Samuel and Sarah (Fairbanks) King, 
the latter numbered among the Oregon pioneers of 1852. The father was the 




C. W. KING 



,_— — ""^ "TT Jij^x 'i 






THE CITY OF PORTLAND 235 

first superintendent of public schools in Portland, and for some years was closely 
associated with the educational interests of Oregon which, stimulated by his 
zeal and interest in the work, were advanced to a high standard of proficiency. 

The public schools of Portland afforded Charles Willard King his educational 
opportunities and on putting aside his text-books he became identified with the 
dry-goods business, in which he has since continued. He was a youth of but 
thirteen years when, in 1878, he began carrying parcels for the firm of Olds & 
King. In the intervening period, covering thirty-two years, he has continued 
with this house, and his advancement has followed as the direct outcome of his 
ability, fidelity and business integrity. In 1891 he was admitted to the firm and 
has since had voice in the active management of the business which has enjoyed 
continuous growth that has been based upon a progressive policy in keeping 
with the spirit of the west. New departments have been constantly added and 
the scope of the business extended, while the growth of trade is indicated by 
the fact that the firm have recently erected one of the finest business blocks in 
this city used for mercantile purposes. It is a modern structure, thoroughly 
equipped with everything to facilitate the interests of trade, is five stories in 
height, and covers the entire block extending from West Park to Tenth, from 
Morrison to Alder streets. A large force of sales people attend to the wants of 
the customers and the firm demands that courteous treatment shall be accorded 
to all. The policy of the house toward its employes is one of uniform justice, 
and every representative recognizes the fact that faithfulness on their part will 
be rewarded by promotion as opportunity offers. 

On the 8th of October, 1890, Mr. King was married in Portland to Miss 
Fanny B. Hunt, a daughter of C. H. Hunt," who was prominent in public life, 
both in the east and in the west. While a resident of Providence, Rhode Island, 
he served as chief of police, and was also superintendent of state institutions of 
Rhode Island for five years. Since removing, to Portland he has twice been 
chief of police in this city. Unto Mr. and Mrs. King have been born a daughter 
and son, Sarah P. and Charles S. 

The family attend the First Congregational church, of which both Mr. and 
Mrs. King are members. He is also a life member of Multnomah Club, and has 
advanced far in Masonry, taking the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. 
He has an interesting military history covering seven years' service with the 
Oregon National Guard, and in politics is a supporter of the republican party. 
Spending practically his entire life in Portland, he is widely known here, and 
his many commendable characteristics have gained him social popularity as well 
as business prominence. 



BERNARD HERMANN ALBERS. 

When Benjamin Harrison was president of the United States he made the 
statement that "The gates of Castle Garden never swing outward," which was 
but another way of saying that the opportunities of America are so great that 
the emigrant to the shores of this land never desires to return for permanent 
residence to the country from which he came. Bernard H. Albers was among 
the number of prominent citizens that Germany furnished to Portland — a man 
of distinct and forceful individuality, and of splendid business ability, who left 
his impress for all time upon the commercial development of the nortliwest in 
the establishment and control of some of the largest and most important milling 
and manufacturing enterprises of this section of the country. A native of Ger- 
many, Mr. Albers was born in Lingen, in the province of Hanover, March 6, 
1864, his parents being Johann Hermann and Theresa (Voss) Albers, who 
were likewise natives of Hanover. The father was a grain merchant of Lingen 
and remained in his native land until 1896, when he became a resident of Port- 
land, his death occurring in this city, August 29, 1897. Flis wife died in Ger- 



236 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

many in March, 1878. Her father was a miller, so that both sides of the family- 
were connected with one phase or another of the grain business, and several of 
the children of Johann H. Albers are interested in similar undertakings. Anna, 
the only daughter, is the wife of Frank Terheyden of Portland. 

Reared in his native land, Bernard H. Albers who was the eldest of a family 
of nine children, continued his education in the schools of his native town until 
graduated from the gymnasium of Lingen. His early business training was re- 
ceived in connection with the grain trade conducted by his father, and he was 
largely familiar with different phases of the business when, in 1887, he crossed 
the Atlantic to America, having become convinced by reports which he had heard 
that the business opportunities of the new world were superior to those offered 
in the fatherland. He landed at New York and thence made his way to Terre 
Haute, Indiana, where for two years he was employed in the wholesale grocery 
house of Hulman & Company. But the far west called him, and in 1889 he 
came to Portland. He had no capital with which to engage in business on his 
own account, and here secured employment in the feed store of Rogge & Storp, 
with whom he remained for four years. But his laudable ambition promptedf 
him to engage in business on his own account and, carefully saving his earnings 
as an employe, he at length invested his capital in the establishment of a busi-? 
ness under the firm name of Albers & Tuke, in 1893. The new enterprise pros- 
pered from the beginning, although established on a small scale. Mr. Albers 
had already become recognized in Portland as a reliable and enterprising young 
business man, and his fellow townsmen not only encouraged him by giving him 
trade, but continued as his patrons, owing to the reliable methods which he fol- 
lowed in the conduct of his business. The growth of the trade demanded larger 
quarters, and in 1898 Mr. Albers erected a commodious milling establishment 
at the corner of Front and Main streets. The following year he extended the 
scope of his business, establishing the United States mills, which have since 
been utilized by the company for the manufacture of rolled oats and other 
cereal products. Changes have occurred in the ownership of the business, Mr. 
Tuke withdrawing, while in 1895 the Albers & Schneider Company was incor- 
porated with Mr. Albers as president and manager. A different organization 
was effected in 1903 and the business reincorporated under the name of the 
Albers Brothers Milling Company. They do business on Lovejoy street, where 
are found warehouses and splendid shipping facilities, including dock property. 
Their hay business has proved a source of large revenue. During the Spanish- 
American war the firm was offered the contract for supplying all of the hay 
shipped from Oregon to the Philippine Islands for government use there. A 
hay compressing plant was established at Forest Grove by Mr. Albers in 1900. 
The growth of the business has been continuous until the Albers Brothers Mill- 
ing Company is in control of the most extensive enterprises of this character 
upon the Pacific coast. Their trade covers a large part of the east, as well as 
California, Arizona, Utah, Montana, Idaho, Washington, Alaska and British 
Columbia. Aside from the extensive plant in Portland for the manufacture of 
rolled oats and other cereal products, the company has mills at Tacoma, Seattle 
and San Francisco. Mr. Albers possessed a genius for organization and an 
aptitude for successful management, and the extensive business as it stands 
today is a monument to his enterprise, executive ability and administrative di- 
rection. 

Mr. Albers was married twice. In October, 1892, he wedded Hermina Som- 
mer, who died in June, 1899. and in April, 1902, he married Miss Ida Agnes 
Wascher, a daughter of William Wascher. There were four children by the 
first marriage: Agnes, Theresa, Hermina and one who died in infancy, while 
the children of the second marriage are Bernard, Alfred and Ernst. 

Mr. Albers held membership in St. Joseph's German Catholic church. Fra- 
ternally he was connected with the Knights of Columbus and the Benevolent and 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 237 

Protective Order of Elks. He also belonged to the Commercial Club, and to 
the Manufacturers Association, and in those connections did all in his power 
to promote the business enterprises and far-reaching trade interests of the city. 
His death occurred very suddenly at Arrowhead, California, March 4, 1908. 
Not only Portland, but the entire northwest lost one of its most prominent and 
representative citizens when Bernard Albers was called from this life. What 
he undertook in the field of business he accomplished, and his rise was almost 
a phenomenal one, for within only a comparatively few years he rose from the 
position of a humble employe to rank with the foremost grain merchants, mill- 
ers and manufacturers of the Pacific coast. His vocabulary contained no such 
word as fail. He knew that honorable effort intelligently directed will always 
win in the end, and he took that method of reaching the high financial position 
which his ambition set up as his standard. He availed himself of every legiti- 
mate opportunity that arose for the promotion and expansion of his business, 
and his name became in the northwest a synonym for enterprise and progres- 
siveness. Aside from all his splendid business qualifications, he manifested those 
sterling traits of character which everywhere command respect and confidence, 
possessing an engaging personality and a charm of manner that won him friends 
wherever he went. 



FRANK BRANCH RILEY. 

Frank Branch Riley, popular in the social circles of Portland, and gaining 
year by year, added prominence as a representative of the legal profession in 
Portland, was born at Osceola, Iowa, August 4, 1875, ^ son of Edward Francis 
and Martha (Smith) Riley, of whom mention is made elsewhere in this vol- 
ume. He attended the public schools of his native town until 1899, and in the 
scholastic year of 1890-91 was a student in the Columbia School of Oratory 
and Dramatic Art in Chicago. In October of the latter year he came with his 
parents to Portland, Oregon, and entered the high school, from which he was 
graduated in February, 1893. In 1894 he completed the work of the senior 
year at the Columbia School of Oratory, now the Columbia College of Expres- 
sion, and returning home resumed his preparation for college at Portland 
Academy, being graduated therefrom in June, 1897. 

In the fall of that year Mr. Riley entered upon a four years' course in the 
Leland Stanford University, specializing in the departments of law and econo- 
mics, and was graduated May 25, 1900, with the degree of A, B. He was 
prominent in the undergraduate life of the university, and was associate editor 
of the student body publications, leader and dramatic reader of the Glee Club, 
president of the Sword and Sandals, and a member of the Greek letter fra- 
ternity of Zeta Psi, the class societies of Sigma Sigma and Theta Nu Epsilon, 
and the legal fraternity Phi Delta Phi. In 1900-01, he completed his law course 
in Harvard Law School at Cambridge, Massachusetts, and afterward traveled 
in Europe. Admitted to practice at the Oregon bar in 1901, he became junior 
member of the firm of E. F. & F. B. Riley, attorneys and counselors, with 
offices at 509-510-51 1 Chamber of Commerce building. He has specialized in 
the law of real estate and probate, and his developing powers, manifest in in- 
creased ability in handling involved and intricate legal problems, have won him 
a constantly growing clientage. Moreover, he is secretary and general counsel 
of the Clackamas Title Company and secretary-treasurer of the Oregon As- 
sociation of Title Men. 

On the 6th of August, 1902, Mr. Riley was married to Miss Lottie Von 
Strombeck Brand, also a graduate of the Leland Stanford, Jr., University of the 
class of 1900. They have one son, William Brand Riley, born November 11, 
1907. Mr. and Mrs. Riley are well known socially in Portland, and he is a 



238 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

popular member of various clubs and societies. He belongs to the University 
Club, the Waverly Golf Club, the Portland Commercial Club, the Apollo Club 
(men's chorus), and is a director of the Portland Automobile Club. He is 
also secretary of the Mazamas, a mountaineering club of the northwest, and is 
the author of various articles on mountaineering, while his contributions of 
dramatic criticism to magazines and newspapers have come to be widely known. 
As a representative of the younger business and professional men of Portland, 
Mr. Riley is frequently heard in public meetings on questions of civic interest, 
and gives freely of his talents as an organizer and promoter of benefits and 
public performances for charaties. 



PHILIP STREIB. 



Philip Streib, president of the First State Bank of Milwaukie, has in the 
years of his residence in the west prospered by reason of his well directed 
energy and unfaltering perseverance. He was born in Baden, Germany, on the 
30th of May, 1864, and his youthful days were there passed in the attainment of 
an education, and later in learning the trades of brewer, maltster and cooper. 
He was employed in that way for a time, and later took a thorough course in 
a brewers college, so that he gained a comprehensive knowledge of the business 
which was his source of income for some time. 

In the year 1881 Mr. Streib came to America. At the same time his par- 
ents, Ludwig and Louisa (Steiner) Streib, crossed the Atlantic and six months 
later made their way to Portland. They are now living upon their son's farm 
in Washington county. On crossing the Atlantic Philip Streib located first at 
Toledo, Ohio, where for nine months he was employed as a brewer. In May, 
1882, he came to Portland and has since made his home in this section of the 
country. Here he worked at his trade in the Gambrinus Brewery for a time 
and was afterward employed in the Henry Weinhard Brewery until 1889. In 
the meantime he carefully saved his earnings and in 1885 purchased a farm in 
Washington county, upon which he took up his abode on leaving the employ of 
Mr. Weinhard four years later. He was then engaged in the cultivation of 
that farm until 1893, when he returned to Portland and followed the hotel 
business as proprietor of the Old Metropolis Hotel at the corner of First and 
Main streets. He conducted the business for eleven years, but ere the close of 
that period has purchased thirty-four acres of the Llewellyn place in Milwau- 
kie. In 1904 he disposed of his hotel and removed to the Llewellyn place, 
which he operated for a time and then subdivided, selling a part of it in town 
lots. In fact he has disposed of all of it save twenty lots that are within the 
city limits of Milwaukie. He still owns his farm of eighty-five acres in Wash- 
ington j:ounty. After subdividing the property at Milwaukie he organized the 
First State Bank in February, 1909, and was made its president, which position 
he still fills. Already this has become recognized as one of the strong financial 
institutions of the district, its business growing rapidly from the start. 

On the 15th of October, 1887, Mr. Streib was united in marriage to Miss 
Caroline Munch, of Toledo, Ohio, and they have become parents of a son and 
daughter, Philip and Elizabeth, both at home. Mr. Streib is well known in 
German-American circles, has been a member of the German Aid Society since 
1885 and about the same time joined the Turnverein. In this he takes a very 
active part, has served as president and also as trustee of the organization in 
Portland. Fraternally he is connected with the Elks lodge in Portland and 
the Odd Fellows lodge in Milwaukie. His political allegiance is given to the 
republican party and in 1904 he was elected a member of the city council of 
Milwaukie, serving continuously until December, 1908, when he was chosen 
mayor of this city. His administration has been businesslike and progressive 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 239 

and has been characterized by needed reforms and improvements. He is in- 
terested in all that pertains to the general welfare and while his labors have 
largely benefited himself through the conduct of his business interests, he has 
also found time to cooperate in measures for the general good and is now a 
prominent representative of that class of men who are bringing to the outlying 
districts the same spirit of enterprise that constituted a most effective force in 
the upbuilding and growth of Portland. Like others he has introduced into 
his home community those elements of city life which work for substantial 
advancement. 



RALPH WARREN HOYT. 

There is no greater stimulus to individual activity and enterprise than that 
which is found in the life history of such men as Ralph Warren Hoyt, who has 
worked his way upward from a humble position in the business world. Having 
a newspaper route in his boyhood days and thus supplementing the little salary 
which he received in minor positions, he gradually won promotion by his worth 
and ability until he was made cashier of the Merchants National Bank, from 
which position he resigned January 7, 1910, thus completing twenty-seven years 
with this bank. Born in Portland, July 9, 1864, he is a son of Henry Lafayette 
Hoyt. who went to California in 1849 and came to Portland in 1852. The Hoyts 
came of Puritan ancestry and settled in Massachusetts and Connecticut, being 
descended from Lieutenant Stephen Hoyt, who fought at the battle of Bunker 
Hill and also at Saratoga at the time Burgoyne surrendered his troops. To the 
same family belonged Richard Hoyt, who served in the Fortieth Infantry in 
the war of 1812, and died in Portland, Oregon, July i. 1866. Hoyt street of 
this city was named in his honor. Coming to Portland in pioneer times, the 
Hoyts were closely identified with the river interests. All of them, with the 
exception of George W. Hoyt, who was clerk for the Oregon Steamship & 
Navigation Company for many years, were steamboat captains. Captain Henry 
Lafayette Hoyt, father of Ralph Warren Hoyt, formerly owned the steamer 
Multnomah, one of the first boats on the Willamette river. He was also United 
States shipping commissioner for many years and likewise filled the office of 
deputy collector of customs. He wedded Miss Mary Louise Abbott Millard, a 
daughter of Dr. Justin Millard, one of the early settlers of Oregon, who with 
his family crossed the plains in 1852. 

In the public schools of Portland Ralph Warren Hoyt pursued his education 
until graduated from the high school with the class of 1882. In the morning 
and evening hours during a part of his school days he was employed by C. C. 
Morse, who was engaged in the picture and music business. Following his 
graduation he entered the employ of H. S. Rowe, agent for the Oregon River 
& Navigation Company at the Ainsworth dock, and at the same time distributed 
the Morning Oregonian. On the 7th of January, 1883, ^i^ accepted the position 
of janitor and messenger in the Willamette Savings Bank, which in 1886 was 
converted into the Merchants National Bank. He still continued to carry papers 
until about 1890 and in the meantime was making steady progress in the bank, 
working his way upward through different positions to that of cashier, and in- 
vesting from time to time in bank stock until he became and still is one of the 
principal share-holders. His fidelity to the interests of the bank, his capabil- 
ity in the discharge of specific duties and his enterprising spirit contributed in 
large measure to its success. Moreover his record is a notable example of the 
fact that merit and ability will come to the front anywhere, for the newsboy with 
his paper route of a few years ago became an active factor in the conduct of the 
business and in the active management of one of Portland's strong moneyed 
institutions. As the years have passed he has become an investor in other cor- 
porations, in a number of which he also has voice in the management. 



240 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

On the 2ist of January, 1893, in this city, Mr. Hoyt was married to Miss 
Edith M. Neilson, the youngest daughter of Captain W. W. Neilson, who came 
across the plains in 1852. He was a steamboat man, owning several boats and 
barges on the Willamette river, and was a splendid representative of that class 
of worthy pioneers who became the builders and promoters of the great north- 
west, utilizing its natural resources in the development of trade and commerce. 
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Hoyt have been born two daughters, Kathryn and Louise, 
who are still living, while one child died in infancy. 

Aside from his connection with banking, Mr. Hoyt has taken active part in 
public affairs which have left and are leaving their impress upon the development 
of city and state. He served for six years as a member of the Oregon National 
Guard, and for four years filled the office of county treasurer, to which position 
he was elected on the republican ticket. He is doing splendid work as president 
of the Portland Rose Festival. His humanitarian spirit is manifest in his co- 
operation with the Portland Newsboys Association, of which he is treasurer. 
He was also treasurer for several years of the Oregon Society of the Sons of 
the American Revolution. Fraternally he is connected with Willamette Lodge, 
No. 2, F. & A. M., and has attained the thirty-second degree in the Scottish Rite, 
while in Al Kader Temple he has crossed the sands of the desert with the Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine. He holds membership in Portland Lodge, No. 142, B. 
P. O. E., Chinook Tribe of the Improved Order of Red Men and Portland 
Camp of the Woodmen of the World. He also belongs to the Commercial Club, 
the Arlington Club, and to the Apollo Club, which is a male chorus. His prin- 
cipal diversion has been music. He organized an amateur band of which he was 
leader for many years, and has been organist in city churches for about twenty- 
five years. Music has always been a source of recreation to him and he has 
utilized his native talents in this direction to stimulate and promote musical in- 
terest in the city. The various practical elements of public progress receive his 
indorsement and he has labored earnestly and effectively toward the upbuilding 
of a greater and more beautiful city, cooperating in plans and projects for its 
commercial growth and for its achievement along aesthetic lines. 



WALTER JAMES HONEYMAN. 

Walter James Honeyman, well known in the business circles of Portland as 
a successful merchant and equally widely known because of his activity in behalf 
of projects that promoted the moral development and municipal welfare of this 
city, was born in Fifeshire, Scotland, in the year 1857. Reared in the land of 
hills and heather, he supplemented his early education by study in Madras College 
at Cupar and entered business life in Dundee. He was for a time a resident of 
Glasgow, where he continued in business until 1881, the year of his arrival in 
Portland. Attracted by the opportunities of the new world, he crossed the 
Atlantic and, seeking the growing western section of the country, he was for 
six years connected with the firm of Allen & Lewis of this city. He then began 
business on his own account and for some time was the senior member of the 
firm of Honeyman & McBride, dealers in fish twines, nets and other fishermen's 
supplies, and at the same time conducted an importing business in tailoring goods. 
Both branches of the business were successfully carried on, close application and 
unfaltering enterprise characterizing both and constituting a factor in a sub- 
stantial measure of prosperity. Mr. Honeyman made for himself a creditable 
position in mercantile circles. Possessing the sterling Scotch characteristics of 
mtegrity, industry and unfaltering determination, and concentrating his energies 
upon his mercantile interests, he won a place among the leading merchants of 
Portland. 




W. J. HONEYMAN 



■•^;'- ! 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 243 

On the 29th of August, 1876, Mr. Honeyman was united in marriage to Miss 
Jessie M. Ritchie, and they became the parents of four children: Arthur, a 
well known business man of this city ; Bruce, who completed a course in the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston and is now an architect and 
contractor ; Ruth ; and Kenneth. The last named supplemented his public school 
course by study in the Portland Academy. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Honeyman held membership in the Calvary Presbyterian 
church, taking an active and helpful part in its work and cooperating in its 
various organized movements for the extension of the work as a factor in the 
moral progress of the city. Mr. Honeyman joined the church soon after its 
organization and for a number of years served as one of its ruling elders. His 
wife, too, was in entire sympathy with him in his church activities and has served 
as president of the Young Women's Christian Association of this ctiy. Public- 
spirited and progressive, Mr. Honeyman manifested a deep interest in every- 
thing relating to Portland's welfare, and this interest found tangible expression 
in his connection with the Municipal Association, of which he was president. He 
passed away in Portland on the 3d of June, 1904, and his loss has since been 
keenly felt in business, social and church circles. He left the impress of his 
individualty upon all those lines, and his labors were ever effective and resultant 
forces for success in those fields of endeavor which promote high citizenship. 



A. W. MOORE. 



While never a resident of Portland, A. W. Moore was connected with the 
development of the northwest and was a factor in the pioneer history which has 
made possible the present development of this section of the country. His 
widow is now a resident of Portland and was here as early as 1854. Mr. Moore 
was bom in Chelsea, Vermont, April 23, 1820, and the public schools of his na- 
tive town afforded him his early educational privileges, while later he attended 
an academy there. In early manhood he engaged in merchandising in the east 
and then sought a home in the far west, settling at Olympia, Washington. 
After his arrival he engaged in teaching school and later was appointed post- 
master of that city which, however, at that time, was a small town, Mr. Moore 
serving as the first incumbent in the position. He held public office during the 
greater part of his life in the west, and over his record there falls no shadow of 
wrong. His fidelity and his capability were unquestioned. He was clerk of the 
supreme court for a number of years and also served as private secretary to 
Governor Pickering, while at different times he held nearly all of the county 
offices. He regarded a public office as a public trust, and was prompt and system- 
atic in the discharge of all of his duties. 

On the 13th of May, 1872, Mr. Moore was united in marriage to Miss 
Emily York, a daughter of John W. and Mary P. (Collier) York, the wed- 
ding being celebrated at her father's home at Corvallis. They had one child, 
Mary E., who is now the wife of Dr. George E. Houck, of Roseburg, Oregon, 
and has one son, George H. Mrs. Moore was born in Waterloo, Illinois, where 
her parents had settled at an early day. They came west in 1852 across the 
plains and established their home upon a donation claim near Corvallis. At that 
time there was a small cabin but scarcely any other improvement had been 
made. They resided there for a time but the father, who was a Methodist 
minister, had church appointments at different places and caused their removal 
from time to time. He remained active in the ministry almost up to the time of 
his death, which occurred when he was eighty-four years of age. His wife 
had passed away in early womanhood, being only thirty-one years of age at 
the time of her demise. 



244 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

The death of Mr. Moore occurred on the 8th of June, 1875, his remains being 
interred in the cemetery at Olympia. In poHtics he had always given stalwart 
support to the republican party and had firm faith in its principles. His life was 
actuated by high and honorable principles, the Presbyterian church finding in 
him a faithful member. He served as one of its elders and did all in his power 
to promote its growth and extend its influence. Those who knew him re- 
member him as a man of many admirable qualities and of upright, honorable 
character. Following her husband's death Mrs. Moore came to Portland, where 
she has since made her home, and she has a very wide acquaintance and many 
friends in this city. 



THOMAS O'DAY. 



Thomas O'Day, for twenty-one years a representative of the bar of Port- 
land, two years of which time were spent upon the bench of the circuit court, 
was born in Connecticut, July 4, 1852, his parents being Daniel and Catherine 
(Welsh) O'Day. His education was acquired in the public schools of Illinois, 
where his parents removed when he was an infant and was supplemented by a 
course in law at the State University of Iowa, from which he was graduated 
in June, 1877. Thus qualified for practice, he opened an office in Bedford. 
Iowa, and in 1879 removed to Neligh, Nebraska, continuing in active connection 
with the bar at that place for ten years or until his removal to Portland in 1889. 
In 1887 he was nominated by the democrats for justice of the supreme court of 
Nebraska. 

The characteristic thoroughness with which he has ever prepared his cases, 
bringing him intimate knowledge of every phase of the question and the law ap- 
plicable thereto, soon brought him into prominence and led to his appointment 
to the circuit court bench here in August, 1907. He served thereon until August, 
1909, and has since engaged in the private practice of law. His keen analysis 
enables him to prepare not only for the expected but also for the unexpected, 
which appears quite as frequently in the courts as out of them. His courtesy 
toward the court and his deference to the opposing counsel, together with his 
consideration for witnesses have won him the kindly regard of all with whom 
professional relations have brought him into connection, and his ability is mani- 
fest in the court records which indicate the many verdicts that he has won 
favorable to the interests of his clients. Since arriving in Portland Judge O'Day 
has participated in much important litigation. 

In November, 1882, Judge O'Day was married to Miss Agnes Earl. He 
is a member of the Episcopal church and gives his political allegiance to the 
democratic party, which finds its principles ably supported by his intelligent 
arguments. He regards, however, the practice of law as his real life work and 
his devotion to his clients' interests is never questioned. 



EDWARD RYAN. 



Thirty-one years' connection with the trade of a brick and stone-mason in 
Portland has made Edward Ryan well known as a representative of industrial 
interests here. His birthplace was Ireland, where he was born on the 14th of 
March, 1853. When about seventeen years of age he went to Elizabeth, New 
Jersey, there to learn the trade of a brick and stone-mason, and he also took 
up^ plastering and other work of a similar nature. His education had been ac- 
quired in New York. He closely applied himself to the trades which engaged 
his attention, and his ability in that direction increased as practical experience 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 245 

made him familiar with the business. He left the east in 1877 to become a 
resident of San Francisco, where he remained for about two years, and while 
in that city he worked at his trade. 

The year 1879 witnessed Mr. Ryan's arrival in Portland, which at that time 
was a city of about seventeen thousand population. He at first entered the 
service of Robinson & Son, prominent contractors of Portland, with whom he 
remained for a year. He then began contracting on his own account, forming 
a partnership under the firm name of Wilson & Ryan. This was continued 
until 1895, when the business interests between them were dissolved, since 
which time Mr. Ryan has continued contracting alone. He built the Congre- 
gational church, Sisters Hospital, St. Helen's Hall, the Washington block, and 
the Sunnyside sewer, which at that time was the largest sewer ever constructed 
north of San Francisco. It was built of brick and stone from the river to 
Thirty-third street. He was also awarded the contract for the erection of the 
Selling & Hirch building. At the time of construction, these buildings were 
among the largest in the city. It required three million brick to construct the 
hospital alone. 

On the 25th of January, 1880, Mr. Ryan was united in marriage to Miss 
Jane Farrell, a native of Ireland, and unto them were born five children, of 
whom one died in infancy. The others are : William M., John F., Edward, Jr., 
and Mary A., all living in Portland. 

Industry has been the keynote which has unlocked for Mr. Ryan the portals 
of success. Thoroughness and diligence have characterized all of his work, and 
in business circles he has become recognized as a man to be trusted. Moreover, 
he keeps in touch with the progress that is being constantly made in building 
operations and thus, during the thirty-one years of his connection with Port- 
land, he has been accorded a gratifying patronage. 



EDWARD KILLFEATHER. 

Edward Killfeather has been a resident of Portland since 1879, and has 
occupied a prominent position as a representative of the industrial interests of 
the city. As a contractor and builder he has been closely associated with the 
improvement and development of Portland. He was born in Enniskillen, Ire- 
land, and when about five years of age came to America with his mother, his 
father, James Killfeather, having previously crossed the Atlantic. This was in 
1868. The father was a brick mason by trade, and during the period in which 
he lived in America before the arrival of his wife and children he prepared a 
home for them in Pittsburg. 

The son, Edward Killfeather, acquired a limited education in the schools of 
Pittsburg, but when about ten years of age began to learn the bricklayer's trade, 
and while he is now a well informed man, it is due to the fact that he has 
learned many valuable lessons in the school of experience and has broadened 
his knowledge by reading and observation. About 1876 he went to St. Paul, 
Minnesota, where he worked as a journeyman for two years; he then traveled 
by rail to Fargo, North Dakota, and from that point by stage to Sprague, Wash- 
ington. He then began work on the bridge across the Snake river for the 
Northern Pacific Railroad Company, being engaged on that task until the 
bridge was completed. On the expiration of that period he came to Portland, 
where he has since lived. For about two years he worked as a journeyman 
and then began contracting. He cut stone for the Oregon Railroad & Naviga- 
tion Company for the bridges at John Day and at Des Chutes. He also cut 
stone and worked on the Oregon City courthouse, and has also been connected 
with the building of the shops of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, 
Hotel Portland, the Canadian Pacific bridge at Yale, British Columbia, and the 



246 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Wright building in Tacoma, which was one of the first pressed brick and cut 
stone buildings of that city. After he began contracting he had the contract 
for the cut stone for the Grand Central Hotel, the Portland Trust building, 
the wall around the Portland high school, the building for the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, at the corner of Second and Taylor streets, and also for the 
building of the Provincial Home at Oswego, Oregon, for the Sisters of Mercy 
at a cost of seventy thousand dollars. He had the contract for the residence 
of M. C. George, the high school in Lebanon, Oregon, and the first pressed 
brick building in Marshfield, Oregon. 

Mr: Killfeather has gradually worked his way upward to a prominent posi- 
tion in business circles, and has ever been a man of influence among the working 
men of the city. For about two years he was president of the stone cutters' 
union, and is still an honorary member. He filled the position of president 
when he was still working as a journeyman. He was likewise president of the 
federated trades. He has always believed in good wages and fair treatment of 
his men, and since becoming a contractor has endeavored to do by others as he 
would have them do to him. 

Mr. Killfeather married Miss Nora Buckley, a daughter of Jeremiah Buck- 
ley, a native of County Cork, Ireland. They have become parents of five chil- 
dren, but three of the number are deceased, Emmet having died at the age of 
three years ; Jeremiah at the age of two years ; and John when but one year old. 
The living children are Edward, who is still in school, and Nora, a graduate of 
the Portland high school. 

The parents are communicants of the Catholic church and Mr. Killfeather 
belongs to the Catholic Order of Foresters, and to the Clannagael; he is also 
connected with the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen and the Knights of Pythias. His political allegiance is given to the 
democratic party, and he is somewhat prominent in the local councils of the 
party, having served as chairman of the county central committee, while in 1896 
he was a presidental elector. His salient characteristics qualify him for leader- 
ship and he is recognized as a man of considerable influence in political and 
fraternal circles and among Portland's trade representatives. From the age of 
ten years he has been dependent upon his own resources and his labors have 
brought him a substantial measure of success. 



HARRY OTIS KING SARGENT. 

Harry Otis King Sargent, whose ability in the profession of law is indicated 
by the large and distinctively representatve clientage accorded him, has also 
become widely known in connection with horticulture, concerning which subject 
he displays enthusiastic interest. He was born at Windsor, Nova Scotia, No- 
vember 19, 1865, and is the oldest of the seven children of the Very Rev. John 
Paine Sargent, M. A., D. D., dean of Qu'Appelle, Canada, and Elizabeth (King) 
Sargent, a daughter of the late Harry King, barrister at Windsor, Nova Scotia. 
He pursued his education in the schools of Nova Scotia and in King's Academy, 
at Windsor, and in 1880, when a youth of fifteen, accompanied his parents to 
Manitoba, after which he worked on the survey of the Canadian Pacific Rail- 
way, also at farm labor and for the Indian department, his time being thus 
occupied between the years of 1880 and 1884. He also served for five years as a 
member of the Canadian Northwest Mounted Police from 1884 until 1889, and 
received the queen's medal for services in the Riel rebellion of 1885. 

Mr. Sargent came to Portland in 1890 and engaged in teaching music while 
studying law until admitted to practice by the supreme court of Oregon in 1897. 
He at once opened an ofiice in Portland and has since built up a substantial 
law practice. His legal learning, his analytical mind, the readiness with which 




H. 0. K. SARGENT 



m ^ 



<! "^/s!-: 



J^A 






..jro.'T, 



f^r'-'^X 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 249 

he grasps the points in an argument, all combine to make him one of the most 
capable lawyers that has ever practiced in Portland, and the public and the 
profession acknowledge him the peer of the distinguished representatives of 
the bar in this city. Aside from his law practice he is widely known as an 
enthusiastic horticulturist and owns several hundred acres of land devoted to 
the cultivation of apples and walnuts near Sheridan in Yamhill county, Oregon. 
His interests in this connection were conducted along scientific lines and his 
success has been such as to enable him to speak with authority upon the special 
features of the work to which he gives his attention. 

On the 5th of August, 1899, •^^- Sargent was married to Miss Florence A. 
Swope, a daughter of William P. Swope. They have one child, Richard Strong, 
who was born June 9, 1905. In his political views Mr. Sargent is a republican, 
manifesting a citizen's interest in questions of the day, but with no desire 
for political preferment. He is prominent in the Knights of Pythias fraternity 
and is a past chancellor and past chief grand tribune of the order for the domain 
of Oregon. Early recognition of the fact that industry and perseverance must 
constitute elements in success, along those lines Mr. Sargent has labored for 
advancement, and, wisely and conscientiously utilizing the talents with which 
nature has endowed him, he has won a prominent position in those fields to 
which he has directed his labors, and his upright policy has at all times gained 
for him the confidence and admiration of his colleagues and associates. 



REV. JOSIAH L. PARRISH. 

The most fanciful tales of fiction present no story of greater courage than 
the Rev. Josiah L. Parrish displayed on many occasions when he treated with 
and lived among the Indians of the northwest. Fear seemed to him unknown 
and although his position at times was one of great danger, his absolute truth- 
fulness and justice won him the good will and friendship of the red men. Had 
all the white settlers been as honorable throughout the settlements of America, 
there would never have sprung up this feeling of continuous hostility between 
the two races. In planting the seeds of civilization in the northwest. Rev. Par- 
rish did a work the value and extent of which can hardly be overestimated. A 
native of New York, he was born in Onondaga county, January 14, 1806, a 
son of Benjamin Parrish, who was born in Connecticut in 1777, at which time 
the Revolutionary war was in progress. He was of English lineage, his an- 
cestors being among the Puritan settlers of New York. Arriving at years of 
maturity, he married Miss Sally Lamberson, who was born in New Jersey and 
was of Dutch lineage. 

Josiah L. Parrish, the eldest son in a family of ten children, was sent to the 
public schools, and also worked at the blacksmith trade with his father in early 
youth, beginning so young that he had to stand upon a stool to blow and strike. 
When he was sixteen years of age the family removed to Monroe county and 
later to Allegany county. New York, and Josiah L. Parrish was employed on 
the Erie canal at Rockport. In 1839 he went from Allegany county to New. 
York city, and on the 9th of October of that year sailed for Oregon as a 
member of the party that accompanied Rev. Jason Lee, where they arrived in 
May, 1840. The company consisted of Rev. A. F. Waller, Rev. Gustavus Hines, 
Rev. L. H. Judson, Rev. James OUey, Rev. J. L. Parrish, Dr. J. L. Babcock, 
Mr. George Abernethy, Mr. Hamilton Campbell, Dr. John H. Richmond, Mr. 
H. B. Brewer, Mr. W. W. Raymond and their families, and Miss C. A. Clark, 
Miss Elmer Phelps, Miss Almira Phelps and Miss Orpha Lankton. 

Mr. Parrish was reared in the Methodist faith, and was converted when ten 

years of age. He was an ordained minister of the gospel when he came to the 

northwest as a member of that missionary band. Because of his ability as a 
12 



250 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

blacksmith he worked at that trade for some thne, doing the blacksmithing for 
the missionaries and others. He also did harness making, made and repaired 
wagons and tools, and in fact did all such mechanical work as was necessary in 
a new community where no supplies were to be obtained. He devoted three 
years to blacksmithing at the old mission on the Willamette river ten miles 
below Salem, and was then sent as a missionary to the mouth of the Columbia. 
James Bumey, who had an Indian wife, was the only white man there. An 
Indian called King George piloted their boat up the river. Rev. Daniel Lee 
assisted Mr. Parrish in starting his missionary work, but soon he felt at home 
in the new locality and continued his labors unassisted. Many Indians were at 
Vancouver and came aboard Mr. Parrish's boat. Although he could not speak 
a word of their language, from his boyhood he had been familiar with the 
Indians of the east and their customs, and to them he gave tobacco which they, 
put in their pipes and smoked. They^ must have swallowed the smoke, for it 
appeared to make them very sick and they would fall down as if dead, but soon 
recovered. 

Mr. Parrish established his home on the Clatsop plains seven miles south 
of the Columbia river, where he and his wife and three children lived. He 
learned the Indian language, taught the red men how to work, and also preached 
to them the simple faith of the gospel. He worked at splitting rails and at 
everything that needed doing, and instructed the Indians by saying: "Come, 
boys, let us do this," and working with them. He always told the exact truth 
and never allowed himself to betray the least fear. The Indians, learning that 
they could trust him implicitly, became his fast friends, and would do anything 
for him, while many of them embraced Christianity. In 1849 Rev. Parrish was 
appointed Indian agent, his territory extending from California to British Co- 
lumbia. In this connection for five years it devolved upon him to settle the 
differences between the Indians and the white race. Many times he narrowly 
escaped with his life, and on other occasions suffered great exposure, but the 
red men became his friends and trusted him completely. After he had filled 
the position of Indian agent for five years, he was reappointed for a four years' 
term, but his wife's health compelled him to resign. Following the discovery 
of gold in California a number of white men were sent from Port Auford to 
find a trail that would connect with the trail for California. On the Coquille 
river they encountered about two hundred hostile Indians who killed several 
of the white men and those escaping endured great suffering before reaching 
Port Auford. On the day of their return Mr. Parrish arrived by ship at Port 
Auford and was accompanied by Dr, Dart, superintendent of Indian affairs. 
The latter, desiring a conference with the Coquille Indians, asked Mr. Par- 
rish to take forty well armed men and go and find them. He answered : "1 
will go if you will let me take my own way. All I want is three red blankets, 
a whole bolt of red calico, a pony to take the goods on, some hardtack and 
salmon and a trusty Indian who can talk Coquille, and also some tobacco." 
Dr. Dart said, "They will kill you." But Mr. Parrish replied: "I know the 
Indians better than you do," and with the outfit for which he had asked he 
took his departure, saying: "You may look for me back in two and a half days." 
When a mile and a half below the Indians' camp he halted and made his camp, 
after which he sent his guide forward with the red blankets to present to the 
three chiefs, telling the man to stay with the Indians over night and ask them 
to come in the morning unarmed and see him. In the morning when a short 
distance from his camp he saw two Indians approaching, and stepped behind 
a large rock out of their sight and from that point returned to his camp. They 
came to the rock and peeked around it, and he beckoned for them to approach, 
giving to them tobacco and calico, and bade them sit down. In half an hour 
his Indian guide returned with twenty-eight Indians armed and painted for war. 
Mr. Parrish beckoned for them to come nearer, gave each a bit of tobacco and 
asked them to be seated. A half ring was formed with Mr. Parrish and his 



o 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 251 

Indian Jack in the middle. The purport of his talk to them was that he was a 
chief representing his people, and if they would treat his people well it would 
be allright. He told them he had known Indians from his boyhood and was 
acquainted with their customs and habits. He then took off a large red sash 
which he had tied around his waist with a bow knot on one side, and telling 
the head chief to stand up, Mr. Parrish approached him, tying the scarf around 
him, and said: "This is my heart and my talk, what is your heart?" The chief 
stood a moment then turned to his son, took a sea-otter skin from his shoul- 
ders and handed it to Mr. Parrish. That ended the treaty, after which the 
Indians all partook of hardtack and salmon furnished by Air. Parrish. 

Subsequently General Palmer was made superintendent of Indian affairs and 
in 1854 Mr. Parrish became Indian agent of the district from California to Coos 
Bay, during which time he succeeded in making several treaties with the Indians 
which resulted in great good to the country. He gave them blankets, shirts, 
shoes and hats and was with them five months, organizing their district and be- 
coming thoroughly acquainted with them. 

An incident that has been related indicates the absolute fearlessness as well 
as the resourcefulness and fidelity of Mr. Parrish. The story is told as follows: 
"He was informed at Port Auford that miners near the California state Hne had 
had trouble with the Indians, and that a white man had been killed by three In- 
dians, and there was danger of the miners making war on the Indians to obtain 
satisfaction. Mr. Parrish was to arrest the offenders and give them a fair trial, 
and thus make peace according to law. He had learned that the Indians who 
had killed the white man were near the California state line, so he went down 
the coast, treating with the different tribes as he went down. At one place the 
whites had burned out the Indians and there was a very excited and warlike 
feeling among the Indians. He sent out word to them that the man of peace 
had come. The Indians were naked and wild, their women having only a 
string around them, from which hung strips of cedar bark down to the knees. 
He staid with the Indians for six days and treated with them. He told them 
that they had three Indians who had killed a white man, and they must de- 
liver them to him to be dealt with according to law. They agreed to deliver 
them the next morning, but when the morning came the guilty ones had gone. 
He singled out twenty of them and said: T will take these to Port Auford if 
you do not deliver the men.' So the next day they brought in two of them ; the 
other had escaped up the Rogue river. He then sent two chiefs after the man 
and told them to meet him at the mouth of the Rogue river with the man. and 
he started back with the others. When he arrived at the mouth of the river the 
chiefs were not there, so he took a canoe and went to see where they were. 
After he had gone up ten miles he met the chiefs. They reported that they 
could not get the Indian, that they had had trouble and had come near fighting. 
Mr. Parrish said: 'Never mind, turn back with me.' When he arrived at the 
village he told them that he was like the sun, that always accomplishes its de- 
signs, and he must have the man. They said he had gone. Mr. Parrish asked if 
the man had any friends, then, and the chiefs turned out his wife and sister. 
Mr. Parrish told them to get into his canoe and also told the chiefs to get in. 
Then he talked to them and told them he would take them to Wright's cabin, 
down the river, and remain there until morning. If they brought the man, they 
could retum ; if not, he would take them to Port Auford. At that they made 
a great yell of terror, and he started, saying good-by. On the way down there 
was an eagle trying to get a duck. When the canoe reached where he was he 
was foiled in his attempt and alighted in the top of a tree. As the boat was 
being pushed rapidly down stream he raised his rifle and shot the eagle. The 
Indians were filled with amazement at his power. He put the Indian chiefs and 
the women in the cabin and he kept watch in front of it during the night. About 
nine o'clock in the morning a woman came with food for them. She asked if 
he was going to take them to Port Auford and he said : 'Yes, unless they bring 



252 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the Indian.' She went off crying. In about an hour one hundred Indians came, 
driving the man before them, and he was perspiring at every pore. Mr. Parrish 
approached him and offered his hand to shake, and said, 'Where is your heart?' 
He said he didn't know. Mr. Parrish said : 'Will you go with me to Port 
Auford or will you be like a dog and run in the brush when you get a chance?' 
He said: 'I will go with you, as living as I live.' Mr. Parrish tied a cord 
around his arm, then untied it and put it in his pocket. When they reached the 
place where Mr. Parrish's horse was, Mr. Parrish rode on a trot, and the Indian 
kept up. They had a peninsula to cross, where there was much water, but the 
Indian plunged in and followed through. Darkness overtook them eight miles 
from Port Auford, and they made a fire of driftwood. Mr. Parrish told the 
Indian to lie down, which he was glad to do. Mr. Parrish watched him until 
two o'clock in the morning, when the tide went out, and they started on and 
arrived at Port Auford, where he met General Palmer and his party, and the 
men he had sent with the two Indians were there also. The Indians were kept 
for six weeks and as there was no legal court, through the solicitation of Mr. 
Parrish they were allowed to go to their friends. At the time they had killed 
the man they had just escaped from their burning houses and that mitigated the 
crime, and it was believed that a court would have acquitted them." 

On returning to Salem Mr. Parrish found his wife ill. He had been with 
the Indians for five months and although General Palmer wished him to return, 
he resigned his post as Indian agent. His wife never recovered and after a lin- 
gering illness passed away about 1870. During nearly all of this time Mr. Par- 
rish was engaged in preaching. He was stationed in Portland as a minister 
in 1849, and preached at many other places in the state. 

It was in 1833 that Mr. Parrish was married to Miss Elizabeth Winn, a 
native of New York, and unto them were born four children. Their eldest 
son, Lamberson W., died during the first year of the family's residence in Ore- 
gon, passing away in September, 1840. The surviving sons are: Norman O., of 
Salem; Samuel B., at one time chief of police at Portland; and Charles W., now 
a lawyer of Canyon City. He was one of the first white children born in Ore- 
gon, his birth occurring at Clatsop Beach in 1844. In 1870 Rev. Parrish wedded 
Miss Jennie Lichtenthaler and they had two daughters, Grace and Josie. The 
mother passed away in 1887 and the following year Rev. Parrish wedded Mrs. 
M. A. Pierce, a native of Indiana and the widow of J. O. Pierce, a pioneer of 
Washington county, Oregon. She had one child by her previous marriage. 

As the work of civilization advanced Rev. Parrish did valuable work in 
promoting the interests of the communities in which he lived and the state at 
large. He was one of the first trustees of Willamette University and contributed 
liberally to its support. He was elected a life honorary president of the board of 
trustees and occupied that position for a quarter of a century In the early 
days he had invested quite largely in land in the Willamette valley near Salem, 
and also became the owner of considerable property in Portland which rose 
rapidly in value with the growth of the city. He built several business blocks 
here and at one time lost forty thousand dollars by signing notes and bonds 
for people whom he tried to help. Although he gave most generously of his 
means for the advancement of those things nearest his heart, he still had enough 
left to keep him comfortably in the evening of life. To him was accorded the 
honor of driving the first spike for the Oregon & California Railroad in Port- 
land, and on that occasion, which was made a memorable one, he and others 
delivered notable public addresses. In 1889, wielding a broad-ax, he drove the 
first spike for the first street railroad in Salem. The broad-ax which he used 
was brought to Oregon in 1833 and was used for all the work required for the 
missions where such employment was necessary, including all the hewing for 
the mission farm below Salem. In 1840 it was taken to Clatsop and used in 
hewing the timber on the mission there. It was lost in the Willamette river 
while being taken there but was recovered after lying on the river bottom for 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 253 

about a month. It is now in the museum of the Willamette University, having 
been presented to that institution by Mr. Parrish in 1892. 

For seventeen years without remuneration Mr. Parrish preached the gospel 
of repentance and of Christian faith to the convicts of the state penitentiary. 
His was indeed a long, useful and noble life, splendid in its achievement and 
its purpose. The cause of the church and the cause of education found in him 
a stanch champion and an effective worker, but more than all else he did, per- 
haps, was his work among the Indians, proving to them that the white man 
would hold faith, that his word was to be relied upon and that he would deal 
justly with his ignorant red brethren of the forest. His whole life was the 
antithesis of "man's inhumanity to man ;" it was the expression of the spirit of 
Him who came not to be ministered unto but to minister. 



HENRY C. BOHLMAN. 

While success is the legitimate goal of business endeavor and men are natur- 
ally seeking for advancement in their chosen fields of labor, it is the exception 
and not the rule for men to concentrate all of their energies and their time upon 
business, to the exclusion of all else. Many men are mindful of their relations 
to their fellowmen, and put forth earnest effort to aid those who are nearby 
travelers on life's journey. While Henry C. Bohlman is one of the owners 
of a successful business enterprise, he is also secretary of the German Aid So- 
ciety of Portland, having occupied the position since 1904. He was born in the 
city of Altoona near Hamburg, Germany, February 2, 1836, and was there reared 
and educated. He learned the trade of a sheet metal worker in his native coun- 
try, and at the age of nineteen years he started out to work for himself as a jour- 
neyman, visiting all the principal cities of the fatherland ; thus he obtained broad 
practical experience. He then returned to Hamburg and afterward went to St. 
Petersburg, Russia, where he was employed on the first water works installed 
in that city. He returned to his home after a summer spent in St. Petersburg, 
and on the lOth of July, 1864, he left Germany for America, where he arrived 
during the period of the Civil war. Gold was then at a premium, and for every 
dollar he had in gold he received two dollars and a half in greenbacks. He re- 
mained in New York for only seven days and then started for San Francisco, 
whence he went to Sacramento by steamer. By lucky chance he caught the 
steamer of the regular line ; he took this because he had the fever and feeling very 
sick wanted to leave immediately. The Yosemete, that he had intended taking, 
blew up in the Sacramento river and several hundred passengers were killed. 
Mr. Bohlman thought he was indeed fortunate in taking the other vessel and 
thus escaping that fate. 

In Sacramento he began work as a locksmith with his uncle, for he could 
find no employment at his trade. He assisted his uncle in carrying out a contract 
for locks to the amount of eleven thousand dollars, but he had a brother-in-law 
and a sister who were living in Portland, and it was this which induced him to 
come to the Rose City in 1865. Here he first worked for Captain Friedman, who 
later sold out to Goldsmith & Lowenberg. Mr. Bohlman remained with that firm 
until 1874; he then started in business for himself as a sheet metal worker and 
tinsmith and closed out the business in 1877. He was then employed as fore- 
man by the firm of Corbett & Macleay at Astoria, where they were conducting 
business under the name of the Anglo-American Packing Company. Mr. Bohl- 
man was employed there during the salmon canning season, and in the winter 
months resumed work at the tinsmith's trade. It was only the condition of his 
health, which caused him to close his shop during the summer months. For 
eleven years he acted as foreman for the Anglo-American Packing Company, 
and throughout that period conducted business as a tinsmith in the winter sea- 



254 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

sons. In 1887 he went to Alaska where he became superintendent of the cannery- 
owned by Captain W. Berry. He would spend six months of the year there in 
connection with the canning business, and the remainder of the year was devoted 
to the sheet metal business. He also made several trips into the interior of 
Alaska, and with the help of Indian labor established the cannery at Matlakahtla, 
Annet island, for Missionary Duncan. A part of the time he had his two sons, 
Herman and Edward, in Alaska with him. In the early '70s he sent his sons to 
New York, where they learned the plumbing business. Edward had previously 
served an apprenticeship as a machinist with v/hat is now the Smith- Watson 
Company, but in 1893 both brothers went to New York. Herman T. Bohlman 
is a practical plumber, having learned the trade in the New York plumbing school. 
Edward F. attended the Pratt Institute where he studied pattern making and also 
worked at the machinist's trade. When the sons returned to Portland they 
joined the father in the conduct of a plumbing and sheet metal working business, 
and the firm has enjoyed an extensive and growing trade ever since that time. 

In Portland, on Christmas day of 1867, Mr. Bohlman was united in marriage 
to Miss Augusta Von Der Liihe, who came from Hamburg to become his 
bride. Unto them have been born four children, Edward F., Herman T., Otto 
and Bertha C. A sister of Mr. Bohlman had married a brother of Mrs. Henry 
Weinhard in Sacramenta, California, and it was through Mr. Weinhard's in- 
fluence that Mr. Bohlman came to Portland, and it was in the Weinhard home 
that he wedded Augusta Von Der Liihe. 

Mr. Bohlman is a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and 
of the Knights of Pythias. His religious faith is manifest in his membership 
in the German Reformed Church, and since 1872 he has been a member of the 
German Aid Society. This indicates his deep interest in his fellowmen and his 
helpful spirit toward them. He has ever been ready to extend a hand of as- 
sistance when needed and his sympathy enables him to understand others, to 
speak a word of encouragement or to give material aid at a timely hour. His 
life has been one of usefulness to himself and to liis fellowmen, and the success 
which has crowned his labors is well merited. 



ARTHUR F. ELERATH. 

Arthur F. Elerath, who is engaged in the contracting and wrecking business, 
was born in Trenton, New Jersey. November 6, 1881, and although but a young 
man has become well established in his chosen field of labor in Portland. His 
parents were John R. and Rebecca (Herman) Elerath, both representatives of 
old families of the east. When Arthur Elerath was six years of age his parents 
removed to California, where they established their home in 1887, locating first 
in Pasadena but after a brief period removed to Los Angeles. The father there 
engaged in business as a contractor until 1890, when he removed with his family 
to Portland. 

Arthur F. Elerath acquired his education in the schools of Los Angeles and 
Portland up to 1893, when the family went to Honolulu and in that beautiful 
tropical city he completed his studies. He learned the brick-mason's trade under 
his father's direction and about 1900, when nineteen years of age, returned from 
Hawaii to the United States, since which time he has made Portland the city of 
his residence. Here he has engaged in contracting for eight years. Previously, 
however, he served as a journeyman, being employed by Al J. Bingham, John 
Seed and other prominent contractors of the city. When he felt that his experi- 
ence and ability were sufficient to enable him to carry on business successfully on 
his own account he began taking contracts and has since erected the Scott Hotel, 
has remodeled the Calumet Hotel, built the Swetland building, the Buchanan 
building and many other important structures. He was also the builder of the 




A. F. ELERATH 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 257 

Blake-McFall warehouse on Fourth and Ankeny streets, and the importance of 
the contracts awarded him indicate the high position to which he has attained 
as a contractor of Portland. He also carries on a wrecking business, in which 
connection he tore down a historical building — the first schoolhouse ever built in 
Portland — its situation being at the corner of Fifth and Ankeny streets. He also 
dismantled the buildings of the Thompson estate, where there is to be erected 
a new hotel on the block bounded by Third and Fourth, Pine and Ash streets. 

On the 6th of May, 1902, Mr. Elerath was united in marriage to Miss Dency 
Hoover, a daughter of Charles and Maggie (Semple) Hoover, who were early 
settlers of Oregon. The two children of this marriage are Byron A. and Bethene, 
eight and seven years of age respectively. 

Mr. Elerath belongs to the Congregational church, while his wife is a Method- 
ist in religious faith. His political support is given to the republican party and 
he is interested in all matters of progressive citizenship. He is also secretary 
for the Master Mason's Association and is regarded in Portland as one of the 
rising young business men of the city, who has already won for himself wide 
recognition by reason of his ability. His laudable ambition is carrying him far 
beyond the point of mediocrity and he has passed many another on life's journey 
who perhaps started out with better equipment than he. 



J. P. FINLEY. 



Almost sixty years have been added to the cycle of the centuries since J. P. 
Finley came to the Pacific coast. He was then a young lad of seven years, 
his birth having occurred in Saline county, Missouri, near Jonesboro, December 
30, 1844. A few years later gold was discovered in California and there oc- 
curred a stampede to the western county such as never was known before or 
since in the history of America. There was an almost endless caravan across 
the plains and on the mountain sides as the travelers wended their weary way 
to the district in which they hoped to rapidly acquire wealth. 

The Finley family is of Irish and Scotch origin. Asa William Finley, the 
grandfather of J. P. Finley, was born in the north of Ireland and was brought 
to the United States by his father at an early day. The original home of the 
family in this country was in Virginia but later a removal was made to Mis- 
souri, where Asa William Finley carried on general farming and stock-rais- 
ing, owning a tract of land, to the cultivation and development of which he 
devoted his energies until his life's labors were ended in death about i860. He 
was a man of fine character and high principles, whose life was in harmony 
with his professions as a member of the Presbyterian church. He was married 
while residing in Virginia and his family included James W. Finley, who in 
1852 crossed the plains to California, accompanied by his wife and seven chil- 
dren. The wagon in which they traveled was drawn by oxen and for six months 
they wended their weary way across the long hot stretches of sand and through 
the mountain passes until at length they reached their destination. Settling on 
a farm two and a half miles south of Santa Clara, James W. Finley there en- 
gaged in the cultivation of grain and the raising of stock up to the time of his 
death, which occurred in 1865. 

Our subject's mother, who bore the maiden name of Margaret Campbell, 
was born in Kentucky and was a daughter of William Campbell, a native of 
Virginia, who on leaving that state established his home in Kentucky and 
later went to Missouri. His brother became a resident of Oregon in 1846 and 
in the same year William Campbell went to California, as did Wallace Finley, 
both establishing homes near Santa Clara, where Mr. Campbell died at the age 
of ninety-six years. His daughter Mrs. Finley died of mountain fever in 1852. 
She was the mother of seven children. Rev. William A. Finley was formerly 



258 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

president of the college at Corvallis, Oregon, while later he became president of 
the college at Santa Rosa, where he is now living retired. Newton G. is a resi- 
dent of Santa Clara county, California. Sarah E. is the wife of the Rev. Joseph 
Emory, at one time a teacher in the college at Corvallis and later a minister of 
southern California. J. P. is the next of the family. Hugh McNary is a farmer 
of Benton county, Oregon, and a graduate of Corvallis College. Anna E. is the 
wife of Dr. T. V. B. Embree, of Dallas, Oregon, James B. was a railroad man 
of Wadsworth, Nevada, but is now deceased. 

Although J. P. Finley was only seven years of age when the family went 
to California, he still retains some vivid recollections of the long journey. After 
arriving at their destination he became a public-school student and later at- 
tended the Pacific Methodist College. He entered business life when sixteen 
years of age as a carpenter's apprentice in San Jose, California, and he also 
pursued a course in mechanical drawing. After three years spent as a jour- 
neyman he started in business for himself and in a brief period won recogni- 
tion as a leading contractor and builder of Santa Clara county, California. 
Between 1870 and 1874 he was the builder of many of the finest residences of 
the state and also a number of public buildings. In the former year he be- 
came interested in the furniture and undertaking business in Santa Clara, in 
partnership with C. C. Morse, who was the leading seed man and was known 
throughout the world. In 1874 Mr. Finley became a partner of J. P. Pierce 
in the lumber business, engaging in the manufacture of sash, doors and all 
building appliances on an extensive scale at Santa Clara. The business was con- 
ducted under the name of the Enterprise Mill & Lumber Company, with Mr. 
Finley as superintendent and general manager, and in the course of years the 
gradual extension of the trade made this one of the best known and most ex- 
tensive concerns of the kind in the state. Later the business was merged with 
that of the Pacific Manufacturing Company, and in 1879 its scope was extended 
to include the manufacture of burial cases. The success of the business was 
such that at Mr. Finley's suggestion a branch house was opened in San Fran- 
cisco in 1880. At that time the California Casket Company was formed, W. P. 
Morgan purchasing one-half the stock, while the stockholders of the Pacific Man- 
ufacturing Company became owners of the other half. The new enterprise met 
the demands of a constantly increasing trade and after the enterprise was se- 
curely established Mr. Finley devoted his time to traveling through the state in 
the interests of the company. He first visited Oregon, Washington, British Co- 
lumbia, Nevada and Utah in the interest of the business in 1881 and the con- 
tinued growth of the trade made it necessary to estabUsh a branch house in Port- 
land, so that in 1886 the Oregon Casket Company was incorporated and in April, 
1887, ware rooms were opened on Fourth street, between Flanders and Gleason 
streets. Mr. Finley took charge at this point and during the succeeding six 
years devoted his whole time and attention to the development of the trade in 
connection with the Portland house. About 1890 Mr. Finley's partner, Mr. 
Pierce, with whom he had been associated for a number of years, met with re- 
verses and, owing to that and faihng health, the interest owned by the Pacific 
Manufacturing Company in the California Casket Company was sold to a Mr. 
Morgan. In 1892, owing to a disagreement between Mr. Finley and Mr. Mor- 
gan's manager, the former withdrew from the management of the Oregon 
Casket Company and also disposed of his interest in the Pacific Manufacturing 
Company, thus severing his connection with two of the most important business 
houses of California, which owed their existence and continued success in 
large measure to his efforts. It was he who formulated the plans for their con- 
duct, advised the extension of the business by establishing the branch houses and 
otherwise promoted the growth of enterprises of large value in industrial 
activity. 

It was in December. 1892, that Mr. Finley became interested in his present 
enterprise as a partner in the firm of DeLin, River & Finley. They established 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 259 

a general undertaking business, which they conducted for a year, but Mr. River 
withdrew and the firm became DeLin & Finley. After a brief period Mr. De- 
Lin sold his interest to C. R. Reiger, who joined Mr. Finley in 1896 under the 
firm style of Finley & Reiger. After a brief pediod, however, Mr. Finley be- 
came sole owner and thus continued until he admitted his son to a partnership 
under the firm style of J. P. Finley & son. A contemporary biographer has 
said : 

"It is no exaggeration to say that the undertaking establishment of J. P. 
Finley & Son in Portland is not only the finest on the Pacific coast but nowhere 
in the United States can there be found a place embodying the many original 
ideas to be found here. In the conduct of his business Mr. Finley has drawn 
his inspirations from the most successful concerns of the kind in the world and 
his own special aptitude and regard for all that is tactful and elegant have con- 
tributed their quota to at least environing a more or less gloomy occupation. 
To the obliteration of this phase of his business, Mr. Finley has devoted liis 
best energies and deepest thought, with the result that his recently completed 
building at the corner of Third and Madison streets is all that is typical of all 
that is thoughtful, considerate, tactful and elegant." 

Mr. Finley has erected a fine, improved building at the corner of Third and 
Madison streets for the conduct of his undertaking business as previously stated, 
drawing his own plans and personally superintending the erection of the build- 
ing. Many new and original ideas are to be seen throughout this model plant. 
The chapel is one of the most handsome to be seen and by an ingenious ar- 
rangement of curtains and an alcove it is possible to shield the mourners who 'io 
not desire to be seen by the people in attendance. This is something that is 
greatly appreciated by those who shrink from the gaze of the public in their 
hours of affliction. The morgue, with its cement floor and modern appliances, 
is fully up to date, while the embalming room is fitted to meet all the require- 
ments of a constantly increasing business. Adjoining the chapel is an elegantly 
appointed room in which relatives and sorrowing friends can sit with the departed 
one if so wished. The basement is fitted up into three show rooms where all 
styles and priced caskets can be seen. In addition to the roomy reception hall 
and private office is a beautiful Turkish room, where absolute privacy is assured 
to those who wish. The second story of the building is arranged for living 
apartments, where Mr. Finley and his foreman reside. From this brief descrip- 
tion one cannot realize the completeness of the place. Everything that human 
mind can contrive to relieve what in most cases are very somber surroundings 
can here be found, and to the inventive mind and ingenuity of Air. Finley is 
due all. 

In 1869 occurred the marriage of Mr. Finley and Miss Catherine Rucker, a 
native of Missouri, who crossed the plains in 1852. Their children are Anna 
L., Arthur L. and William L. Arthur L. is associated with his father in 
business. In 1895 they secured large real-estate holdings and have since dealt 
largely in property, taking advantage of the conditions made possible by the 
Lewis & Clark Exposition, so that they now have very extensive holdings. 
During the past few years, however, the father has taken little active interest 
in business, the management devolving upon his son Arthur L. and upon George 
W. Baldwin, who has been foreman for eight years and recently purchased some 
stock in the company. 

Mr. Finley belongs to various social and fraternal organizations, including 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias, the Wood- 
men of the World, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Artisans and 
the Eagles. In municipal affairs he takes keen interest, especially in those projects 
which are calculated to promote civic virtue and civic pride. He belongs to the 
Portland Board of Trade and also to the Chamber of Commerce. His political 
allegiance is unfalteringly given to the republican party and he is a recognized 
leader in its ranks because of his active efforts in its behalf, yet he has never 



260 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

been a politician in the sense of office seeking. His fellow townsmen, however, 
have several times called him to positions of public trust. He was elected coroner 
in 1902 by more than ten thousand votes and in the discharge of the duties of 
his office won favorable comment. His position is never an equivocal one, 
whether it concerns political views, municipal affairs or business projects. His 
ideas are the result of careful consideration of a question, and he stands stanch 
in support of what he believes to be right. In business he has followed but one 
course, and that is the one which recognizes that "honesty is the best policy." 
Those who meet him socially find him of cordial disposition and kindly spirit — 
a man to whom the word friendship is no idle term. He improves his opportuni- 
ties to extend a helping hand and speak an encouraging word to a fellow traveler 
on Hfe's journey and his own life history points out the possibilities for attain- 
ment to one who is willing to dare and to do, being unafraid of the arduous 
labor which is an indispensable concomitant of all success. A few years sufficed 
to show that it was a vain dream for many by whom the tide of emigration had 
been turned in this direction, and while it was seen that the stories of the mine 
were often fabulous, the Pacific coast yet had splendid opportunities to offer to 
those who would take advantage of her natural resources. The Finley family 
were among those who came in 1852 and from the age of seven years J. P. 
Finley has been not only a witness of, but a factor in, the marvelous growth and 
development of the Pacific country. 



CHAUNCEY BALL. 



The year 1849 witnessed the arrival of Chauncey Ball upon the Pacific 
coast. Arriving at San Francisco, a long voyage southward around Cape Horn 
and then north to the Golden Gate was completed. He was identified with the 
pioneer development of California, was acquainted with the early mining history 
of the northwest and in 185 1 came to Oregon, from which time he was closely 
associated with the material development and progress of the state. That he 
was one of the early settlers of Portland is indicated in the fact that when he 
took up his abode on East Forty-seventh street North he had to cut a road 
from the Base Line road to that place. His history in detail is of interest, show- 
ing much of the conditions that existed here in the early days as well as the 
subsequent development. 

Chauncey Ball was born in Erie county, Pennsylvania, September 3, 1827. 
His parents, Henry and Nancy (Jones) Ball, were natives of Maryland and in 
early life became residents of Pennsylvania, where both he and his wife spent 
their remaining days. For some years he conducted a store in Albina. 

In the schools of his native county Chauncey Ball acquired his education and 
his first work was on a boat on the canal and lakes. He was a young man of 
about twenty-two years when he came to the Pacific coast, making the voyage 
around Cape Horn on a steamer commanded by Captain Miller. This was in 
1849 ^^^ his object was a desire to obtain wealth in the mines. For a time he 
followed mining, but, not meeting with the success which he had anticipated 
and feeling that other fields of labor would prove more profitable for him, he 
purchased a schooner, with which he plied the waters of the Sacramento river. 
He owned a farm up the river and hauled his own and his neighbors' produce. 
While a resident of California he also joined with others in a project to turn 
the waters of the Eraser river in British Columbia. He had saved forty thou- 
sand dollars up to that time. The men interested in the enterprise thought they 
could get much gold in this way, but a flood came and Mr. Ball lost all that 
he had saved. His experiences in California were those which have made the 
history of that time a most picturesque, romantic and thrilling one. The towns 
of the state were largely composed of tents and there was little organization of 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 261 

law or society, but those who beheved in justice were at length forced to band 
themselves together and formed what were called vigilant committees, to sup- 
press crime and lawlessness. Of such a committee Mr. Ball served as a mem- 
ber. Attracted b)' the rich agricultural lands of Oregon, he went to Jackson 
county in 1851, took up a claim and upon his ranch raised wheat, which he had 
to haul over the mountain by team and wagons to San Francisco in order to 
market it. Finding that the cost of transportation ate up all of the profits, he 
left the ranch and never returned, even to secure his gun, clothing, etc. He 
then began driving cattle for R. L. (Dick) Perkins, with whom he worked for 
one season, after which he came to Portland and was appointed deputy mar- 
shal under Captain Hoyt. For four years he filled that position and was other- 
wise closely associated with early interests and activities in the city. He be- 
came one of the charter members of the No. 4 volunteer fire department and 
served as its secretary for four years, during which time Robert Holman was 
fire chief. Mr. Ball opened a blacksmith and wagon shop on Front street four 
years after coming to Portland as a partner of Mr. Graden. They conducted 
the business for two years and then sold out, at which time Mr. Ball took up his 
abode where his widow now resides, purchasing nine acres of land from C. M. 
Wiberg. The place was then all timber, but they cleared a small space on which 
to build a house. They also had to cut a road from the Base Line road in order 
to reach their home. Mr. Ball built a box house, with two rooms, with a large 
fireplace in the center in which great logs could be burned. He then engaged 
in the fruit and berry business, which he carried on extensively. He proved that 
berry culture was not only possible but profitable and introduced many fine 
varieties. He came to be recognized as an authority upon the cultivation of 
fruit and was honored with the presidency of the Multnomah Fruit Growers 
Association, of which he also served as secretary. He took several prizes at 
different fairs for fancy fruit and produced some of the finest that has ever been 
raised in the county. In 1887 the Portland Mechanics Fair awarded him a fine 
medal for his horticultural exhibit. 

At different times Mr. Ball was called to public office and in every public 
connection proved himself worthy of the trust reposed in him. He served as a 
police officer of Portland from 1864 until 1868 and for two yedrs was con- 
stable of the city. He served under Captain Mills as a member of the old Wash- 
ington Guards, which was the first company of militia ever formed in Port- 
land, and he was chief engineer at the old customs house for eight years and 
served as watchman for one year while the building was being erected. 

On the 13th of August, 1865, Mr. Ball was married in Oregon City to Miss 
Margaret C. Edwards, a daughter of Josiah V. and Permelia (Westfall) Ed- 
wards. They began housekeeping on Third and Washington streets in a small 
cottage. Mrs. Ball was born in Cedar county, Missouri, November 12, 1842. 
Her father was a farmer by occupation and with his family crossed the plains 
in 1864, settling in Clackamas county, where he purchased a farm. He after- 
ward removed to Thurston county, Washington, where he secured a tract of 
land and carried on farming until he reached advanced age, when he and his 
wife came to Portland to live with their daughter Mrs. Ball. Both passed away 
in her home, Mr. Edwards when eighty-five years of age and his wife when 
seventy-one years of age. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Ball were born five children, 
all yet residents of Portland. Henry C. married Maud Anderson and has three 
children, Cyril C, Kenneth J. and Beatrice. E. J. married Helen Hobighost. 
C. H. married Minnie Wehlem and they have two children, Wilbur H. and 
Agnes D. Mildred B. is at home with her mother and Laura is the wife of 
B. C. Markham. They, too, make their home with Mrs. Ball. 

Mr. Ball attained to the Knight Templar degree in Masonry and in his life 
exemplified the beneficent spirit of the craft. He also belonged to the Order of 
Druids and to the Exempt Firemen's Association. His Christian faith was mani- 
fest throughout his entire life and the Central Baptist church numbered him 



262 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

among its devoted members. He served as deacon and also as teacher in the 
Sunday school and did all in his power to further the work of the church. He 
died in that faith June 9, 1910, and was laid to rest in the beautiful Riverside 
cemetery. He had resided upon the Pacific coast for more than fifty years and 
actual experience had made him famliiar with the life and conditions of the 
west from the period of its early development to the period of present day 
progress and advancement. He was closely associated with Portland's history 
through his business connections, his official service and his public-spirited citi- 
zenship He possessed many sterling traits of character, which were recognized 
by the many friends whom he made as the years went by and who at his death 
felt deep sorrow at his passing. His life record, however, had covered the long 
span of almost eighty-three years and to his family he left the priceless heritage 
of an untarnished name. 



EDWARD QUACKENBUSH. 

While the attainment of success in legitimate business is commendable, the 
man who places the correct valuation upon life must realize with Lincoln that 
"there is something better than making a living;" that to aid one's fellowmen 
by kindly encouragement and assistance, by the establishment of projects and 
influences that will work for betterment in his life and thus raise the standard 
of civilization, is a task infinitely higher and nobler than that which is repre- 
sented solely by efforts for the attainment of prosperity. Mr. Quackenbush is 
numbered among those who have done important service in the development of 
Portland along business lines and still more important work through his ad- 
vocacy of those purifying and wholesome reforms which are growing up in 
the social and political life of the community and by his cooperation with those 
projects which have their basis in the material development of mankind. 

A native of New York, he was born in Knoxville, Schoharie county, on the 
30th of July, 1839, a son of John L and Margaret Quackenbush. The father 
was a merchant and farmer and one of the prominent leaders of the whig party 
in his community prior to the organization of the republican party, when he 
joined its ranks. He was a stanch advocate of Henry Clay and a warm personal 
and political friend of William H. Seward, Thurlow Weed, of the Albany Journal, 
Governor Marcey and other distinguished New York whigs. In the maternal 
line Edward Quackenbush is of German descent and is connected through direct 
lineage, traceable for two hundred and fifty years, with some old Holland families 
such as the Webbers, Browers Bogardus's and Quackenbushes, descendants of 
whom settled in New York and came to be the legal owners of a large estate 
which the Holland government also claims and also the legal owners of fifty- 
seven acres of the celebrated Trinity property on lower Broadway in New York 
city. 

Edward Quackenbush attended the common schools until fifteen years of 
age, subsequently studying general and political history, composition, philosophy, 
English grammar and higher mathematics. At sixteen years of age he was a 
clerk in a village store in West Union, Iowa, cheerfully giving his small earn- 
ings to his parents, who had taught him habits of industry, frugality, sobriety 
and honesty. He entered eagerly into all athletic sprrts and boyish politics and 
was an early opponent of slavery. It was his ambition to study law but he was 
unable to gratify his desire in that direction. Denied the privilege of enlist- 
ing in the Union army in 1861 because of ill health, he went to California, where 
he served as cowboy and farm hand for a time. The secession spirit was so rampant 
that he joined the Summer Guard, a company of the Second Regiment of Cali- 
fornia Militia, and because of the intense loyalty of the members oi the_ com- 
pany was often called upon for police duty. He declined all official positions, 




EDWARD QUACKENBUSH 



^ 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 265 

devoting his spare time to acquiring a thorough knowledge of mihtary tactics 
as then taught. The company was under secret orders for many months and 
the regiment assembled at a given signal the day following Lincoln's assassin- 
ation and quelled the rioters who had already destroyed several newspapers 
plants, but undoubtedly saved property to the value of several hundred thou- 
sand dollars for many dwellings, business houses, saloons and churches had been 
listed for destruction because the owners were southern sympathizers. 

While in California Mr. Quackenbush became porter and later bookkeeper 
in a wholesale fruit house in San Francisco, and subsequently was bookkeeper 
with A. Roman & Company, proprietors of a wholesale book store on Montgomery 
street. Because of a return of pulmonary trouble he went to Arizona in March, 
1863, and was there cashier for a wealthy syndicate which was prospecting that 
country principally for mines. In December of the same year he returned to 
San Francisco and opened an office as an expert accountant but return of ill 
health caused him to go to Mexico in March, 1865, as secretary and accountant 
for the Trinnfo Gold & Silver Mining Company, owning a group of valuable and 
well developed mines. In December, 1865, Mr. Quackenbush arrived in Port- 
land and became bookkeeper for Knapp, Burrell & Company, an agricultural 
implement and commission house. But ill health two years later forced his 
resignation, at which time he turned his attention to the hardwood lumber busi- 
ness, which would permit him to be out of doors. In 1869 he was offered and 
accepted the position of cashier with the pioneer banking house of Ladd & Tilton, 
there remaining for twelve and a half years, four years of which time he spent 
as manager. In 1882 he became a member of the firm of Sibson, Church & 
Company, grain and commission merchants, .which for several years did an 
extensive business in shipping and milling 'wheat. The firm dissolving in 1887, 
Mr. Quackenbush turned his attention to the -real estate and investment busi- 
ness, developing and improving Piedmont and other city properties. Since 1885 
he has largely engaged in clearing and peopling unimproved farm lands, being 
an early advocate of small farms and diversified crops. He is now president 
of the Investment Company, incorporated in 1887, and owns a large amount 
of city and country property. For several years he was a director of the Ore- 
gon Steam Navigation Company, the stock and property of which were pur- 
chased by Henry Villard, the business then being recognized under the name 
of the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company. With others Mr. Quackenbush 
established the first telephone company of Portland and upon its franchise and 
property the present Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Company of Portland was 
founded. Many other enterprises had felt the stimulus of his cooperation and 
sound judgment until his life history has become an integral chapter in the history 
of the city, the material upbuilding and development of which has been promoted 
in extensive measure through the business enterprises which he has instituted 
and conducted. He was one of the organizers of the Board of Trade, which 
in the '70s became the present Chamber of Commerce, of which he has been 
a continuous member. 

The majority of mankind would feel that the extent and importance of busi- 
ness interests which have claimed the attention of Mr. Quackenbush would be 
enough to occupy the time and energies of any individual, and yet he has been 
a most active and helpful figure along other lines. From boyhood interested in 
political questions, he was a member of the Lincoln Wide-Awakes and Glee Club 
in i860 and participated in the active campaign in northeastern Iowa. Since 
then he has been a member of various republican clubs and his attitude on vital 
questions might be expressed in the statement that he is a Lincoln-Roosevelt 
republican, thoroughly opposed tO' dishonesty and misrule in political affairs. 
When personal acquaintance makes it possible, he votes for men and not for 
machine politics, and at all times heartily favors genuine reform movements. 
He has never consented to accept political office but has been an official mem- 
ber of many organizations for the uplifting and betterment of mankind. He 



266 , THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

was one of the promoters of the organization of the present Young Men's 
Chrisian Association of Portland in 1868, was president during the first two 
terms and maintains active membership to this time. He is a charter member 
and was secretary of the Portland Seamen's Friend Society, organized in 1877, 
and later was for many years its president. He aided in organizing and became 
a charter member of the Oregon Anti-Saloon League in October, 1903, and in 
securing the adoption of the local option law for this state. He is now treasurer 
and a member of the headquarters committee of that organization. He like- 
wise belongs to various other associations, religious, reform, social and athletic. 
Since 1867 he has been a member of the First Presbyterian church and an elder 
therein since 1876. He is sincerely interested in any Christian movement that 
deepens the conviction of man's need of a Savior and his sense of responsibility 
to God. 

On the 5th of September, 1867, Mr. Quackenbush was married to Miss Anna 
Clarke Hastie, of English and Scotch ancestry who came to America in colonial 
days. She was born near Portland, Maine, and was educated and taught in 
the public schools of San Francisco, residing there for nine years. She came 
to Oregon in 1865. From girlhood she has been an active worker in the Presby- 
terian church and Sunday school and in various other church organizations and 
benevolent societies. The two children of the family, Edward H. and Fred, 
are both at home. 

Such is the history of Edward Quackenbush, whose life has been largely one 
of service for the benefit of his family and the community. While deeply in- 
terested in all that pertains to Portland and Oregon, he has in public matters 
given aid support especially to those things which have for their object the 
development of spiritual and moral character of the people, realizing that in any 
community where those characteristics predominate the safety and integrity 
of the political and commercial interests are assured. 



CAPTAIN GEORGE W. HOYT. 

To omit from these pages the life record of Captain George W. Hoyt would 
be to sever an important link in the chain of the pioneers which connects the 
past with the present history of Oregon. He was born in Albany, New York, 
in 1828, a son of Richard and Mary (Cutler) Hoyt, who became residents of 
Albany, New York, about 1827. Both were descended from early Puritan set- 
tlers of New Hampshire. After becoming a resident of the Empire state Rich- 
ard Hoyt was extensively engaged in the manufacture of saddlery and trunks 
in Albany. 

It was in that city that Captain Hoyt of this review spent his youthful days 
and acquired his education. He was a young man of about twenty-three years 
when in 1851 he reached the Pacific coast, settling first in California. The fol- 
lowing year, however, he came to Oregon and engaged in steamboating with his 
brother, Captain Richard Hoyt. He was for a long time agent for the Multno- 
mah, one of the early steamers of the northwest, and afterward purchased an 
interest in the steamer Express, running between Portland and Oregon City. 
Soon after the organization of the Oregon Steam Navigation Company he en- 
tered its employ and remained with that company and its successors for nearly 
thirty years. No higher testimonial of faithfulness, capability and trustworthi- 
ness could be given than the fact of his long association with the business. In 
1890 he resigned and entered the custom-house brokerage business in connection 
with his brother Henry. In this he was continuously engaged up to the time 
of his death, which occurred on the 9th of September, 1892. 

Captain Hoyt returned to his native city for his bride, being married in 
Albany, New York, in December, 1865, to Miss Martha A. Graham. Unto 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 267 

them were born three children : George W. ; Martha A. ; and Fanny Graham, 
who married Robert W. Lewis, of Portland. 

Captain Hoyt was ever deeply interested in the welfare and progress of 
this part of the state and ever stood fearlessly in defense of what he believed to 
be right. He was a strong opponent of everything that seemed like misrule in 
public affairs and, elected on the reform ticket, he served for three years as a 
member of the city council, during which period he exercised his official prerog- 
atives in support of all movements which he deemed to value to the com- 
munity. He ever placed the public welfare before partisanship and the city's 
progress before personal aggrandizement. 



WILLIAM MONTGOMERY GREGORY. 

William Montgomery Gregory, a practitioner at the Portland bar, was born 
in Oneida, New York, December 2, 1852. The family is of French descent. 
The great-grandfather was an officer of the French army and became a coffee 
planter of Haiti. His son, Caspar R. Gregory, was a refugee from the island 
of Haiti at the time of the revolution there and changed the spelling of the name 
from Gregoire to its present form. He was a sea captain and was born on the 
island of Haiti. The father of William M. Gregory, the Rev. Caspar R. Greg- 
ory, D. D., was a native of Philadelphia and a minister of the Presbyterian 
church. He served for thirteen years as pastor of Oneida, New York, in which 
church a tablet was erected to his memory and later was pastor of the church 
at Bridgetown, New Jersey, while at the time of his death was a professor in 
the Lincoln University of Pennsylvania. He was a brother of Dr. Henry D. 
Gregory, for many years vice president of Girard College of Philadelphia. The 
mother of William M, Gregory, who bore the maiden name of Mary L. Mont- 
gomery, was a native of Philadelphia and a sister of Thomas Montgomery, long 
a distinguished resident of that city. 

William Montgomery Gregory pursued his education in the Oneida Semi- 
nary of New York, and in the West Jersey Academy at Bridgetown. He studied 
law in the office of Joseph M. Pile, of Philadelphia, at the same time taking a 
practical course in the law department of the University of Pennsylvania. He 
was admitted to the bar before the court of common pleas of Philadelphia early 
in 1874 and before the supreme court of Pennsylvania in 1876. Soon afterward 
he went to California with his brother Henry S. Gregory, now and for many 
years a well known citizen of the Coeur d'Alene mining region in Idaho, and 
our subject was engaged in the practice of law in San Bernardino county until 
the spring of 1879. I" July, 1876, he was admitted to practice before the supreme 
court of that state. 

About three years later Mr. Gregory removed to Portland, where he has 
since been engaged in general practice, and in the intervening period of four- 
teen years has been accorded a large and distinctively representative clientage, 
connecting him with much of the important litigation tried in the courts of the 
state. He is a member of both the county and state bar associations and is re- 
garded among his fellow members of the bar as a careful and able attorney, a 
wise counselor, never failing to give a thorough preparation of his cases and 
his devotion to his clients' interests is proverbial. 

On the I2th of February, 1885, Mr. Gregory was married to Miss Lenore 
Sparks, a daughter of Nathan M. and Mary (Hill) Sparks, the latter a represen- 
tative of the prominent Hill family of Oregon. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Gregory 
have been bom three children who are yet living: William Lair Hill Gregory, a 
newspaper man who is now a student in the University of Washington ; Lenore, 
who is well known as an accomplished violinist in Portland and is now further 



268 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

studying the violin in Berlin, Germany ; and Mary Edith, who is studying art in 
the same city. 

The family reside in the beautiful residence district of Portland known as 
Irvington. In his political views Mr. Gregory is a republican and was one of the 
committee which formulated the Australian ballot law which has practically 
done away with the buying of votes in Oregon. He is not a politician but has 
always taken a deep interest in good government and favors every project which 
stands for the opposition of misrule in municipal affairs or clean politics and 
for a righteous administration of the law. 



HAMPTON KELLY. 



When Portland had not even attained the distinction of being a good-sized 
village, it being but a small collection of log cabins and stores on Front street, 
Hampton Kelly arrived in Oregon and took up a claim, so that he became closely 
connected with the early agricultural development of the state. He was a young 
man of eighteen years at the time of his arrival in 1848, his birth having oc- 
curred in Pulaski county, Kentucky, on the i6th of April, 1830. His father was 
the Rev. Clinton Kelly, a minister of the Methodist church, who engaged in 
preaching the gospel while his sons carried on the farm. 

Hampton Kelly spent the greater part of his youth in his native state and 
acquired his education in the schools there. He was eighteen years of age when 
he accompanied his parents on the long and tedious trip across the plains of 
Oregon, where the family secured a donation claim. He continued to assist his 
father in developing the home place until twenty-two years of age, when he was 
married. He had previously taken a donation claim for himself near the Clinton 
Kelly school and took his bride there to live. He had a house built of sawed 
logs, nine inches wide and two inches thick, and in this pioneer home, Mr. and 
Mrs. Kelly began their domestic life, meeting with the usual experiences and 
hardships of life on the frontier. They lived upon that place for about six years, 
at the end of which time Mr. Kelly purchased a tract of land from Mr. Long, 
upon which he resided until 1882, successfully and energetically carrying on the 
work of tilling his fields and cultivating his place. He then removed to eastern 
Oregon and purchased a farm in Wasco county. There he took up a homestead 
in addition to his other place and continued to reside there until called to his 
final rest. 

It was on the 30th of January, 1853, in his father's old log cabin, that Mr. 
Kelly was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Fitch, a daughter of David and 
Sarah (Wiggins) Fitch, formerly of Illinois. Mrs. Kelly was born in Coshoc- 
ton county, Ohio, on the 22d of March, 1827. Her father devoted his life to 
farming, and both he and his wife died in the east, the father passing away in 
1844, and the mother in 1878. Mrs. Kelly came to Oregon in 1852 across the 
plains, walking most of the way and driving stock. She started from Clark 
county, Illinois, on the 6th of April and reached Portland on the nth of Novem- 
ber. The party camped near where the steel bridge crosses the river but no 
iron or wooden structure then spanned the stream. Mrs. Kelly has since lived 
in Oregon and is one of the members of the Pioneers' Society. She can relate 
many interesting incidents of the early days, and now at the age of eighty-three 
years, looks back over events which have shaped the history of the city and 
state, her memory forming a connecting link between the primitive past and the 
progressive present. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Kelly were born nine children, of whom the eldest died 
in infancy. Zora M., now deceased, was the wife of J. R. Truman of Portland 
and had three children: Delmer L. and Stella, both deceased, and Gertrude. 
Helen married A. B. Manley of Portland. Clinton died in infancy. P. J., of 




HAMPTON KELLY 




MARGARET F. KELLY 



4 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 273 

Woodstock, who was road supervisor for nine years, married Carrie McClure 
and has two children, Glenn C. and Roy, the latter now deceased. L. B., of 
The Dalles, married Zilpha Snodgrass and has one son, Floyd. Linus, of Wood- 
stock, married Fannie Hessong and has one child, Leata. Myrtle died at the 
age of thirteen months. Lester, living on the old home place in eastern Oregon, 
married Susan Crowfoot. 

The death of Mr. Kelly occurred October i6, 1898, and his remains were in- 
terred upon his ranch. He had donated four acres for a cemetery there, reserv- 
ing a lot for the family. He also donated seven acres to the Methodist church, 
and built the house of worship. He was a lifelong member of that church, 
served as one of its stewards, and took an active part in its work. He con- 
tributed liberally to the support of churches and was a warm champion of the 
cause of education. His father donated an acre of ground upon which v.as 
built what is now known as the Clinton Kelly school. Our subject was equally 
loyal in his advocacy of good roads, realizing of what great value to the rural 
community are well kept highways. He stood for progress and improvement 
along all lines, but mostly in the field of intellectual and moral advancement, be- 
lieving that individual and community interests are promoted thereby. He left 
to his family the priceless heritage of a good name, and an example that is 
indeed worthy of emulation. 



REV. JOSEPH ROGERS WILSON. 

Rev. Joseph R. Wilson was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, May 14, 
1847, a son of Rev. Samuel and Anna Maria (Rogers) Wilson. His father 
was a graduate of Jefferson College, Pennsylvania, and Princeton Theological 
Seminary and was awarded the degree of D. D. on account of his distinguished 
services in the cause of the church. Our subject was reared under the most 
favoring influences for a useful life. He attended a private academy and later 
matriculated at Washington and Jefferson College, from which he was grad- 
uated with the degree of A. B. in 1867. He then entered the Western Theolog- 
ical Seminary at Allegheny, Pennsylvania, and was graduated from that in- 
stitution in 1870. He was called as a home missionary of the Presbyterian 
church at Normal, Illinois, where he remained from 1870 to 1871, and in a 
similar capacity at Erie, Pennsylvania, from 1872 to 1879. During these years 
he continued his studies, especially in New Testament Greek and Ancient Greek. 
In 1879 he was called to the chair of Greek in Parsons College, Iowa, and there 
he continued for ten years. In 1889 he associated with Dr. S. R. Johnston of 
the faculty of that college and removed to Portland, here establishing the Port- 
land Academy, which soon became known as one of the best conducted educa- 
tional institutions of the northwest. 

Mr. Wilson's influence is felt in many quarters outside of the work which 
commands his chief attention. He was a charter member of the Historical 
Society of Oregon and has been vice president of the society since 1900. He 
has for many years been an active worker in behalf of prohibition and was 
president of the Anti-Saloon League of Oregon for two years, from 1903 to 
1905, and again in 1906 and 1907. He was a member of the first and second 
conservation committees of Oregon and president of the Board of Higher Cur- 
riculum of Oregon. He was also chairman of the committee on Congresses at 
the Lewis & Clarke Fair, in 1905. 

Mr. Wilson was united in marriage at Fairview, Pennsylvania, in 1875, to 
Viola Eaton, a daughter of Johnston Eaton, Jr., and granddaughter of the Rev. 
Johnston Eaton, chaplain of the military post at Erie, Pennsylvania, during the 
war of 1812 and for many years pastor of the Presbyterian church at Fair- 
view and West Mill Creek in Erie county. Three children have been born to 

13 



274 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. and Mrs. Wilson: John Fleming, who married Elena Burt of Newport,. 
Oregon, a daughter of the late Judge Burt, of Lincoln county; Margaret Ade- 
laide; and Helen Adams. 

Although identified with the Presbyterian church, Mr. Wilson has always 
been in friendly relations with representatives of other churches and is in warm 
sympathy with all earnest seekers after truth although they may differ from him 
in their views and beliefs. 



EDWARD L. THOMPSON. 

Edward L. Thompson is prominent among those whose labors are an ef- 
fective force in the upbuilding of Portland — a city whose history is yet in the 
making. Upon the firm foundation laid by the pioneers the men of the present 
day are uprearing a greater Portland — a city whose eflforts are attracting the 
attention of the entire country. With the substantial growth which it is under- 
going Mr. Thompson is closely associated and his enterprise and foresight in 
the management and conduct of important business interests are proving a 
valuable element in the upbuilding of a greater municipality. 

He was born in Albany, Linn county, Oregon, August 24, 1863. His father, 
David M. Thompson, a native of Iowa, came to this state in 1852, settling in 
Scottsburg. Later he removed to Albany, where he engaged in the retail harness 
and saddlery business until his death, which occurred on the 9th of November, 
1879, when he was forty-nine years of age. He was a colonel of the Oregon 
Volunteers in the Civil war and was always an active and influential factor m 
the life of the community in which he lived. He was a Mason and Odd Fel- 
low of high rank, serving as district deputy grand master in the former frater- 
nity. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Louisa Burkhart, was a daughter 
of John Burkhart, one of the worthy pioneers of 1847. Her death occurred in 
1907 when she was seventy-four years of age. The Burkhart family were from 
Indiana and were among the earliest settlers of Linn county, Oregon. 

Edward L. Thompson continued his education, which was begun in the 
public schools, by study in Albany College, and upon the death of his father 
assumed the management of the harness and saddlery business which he con- 
ducted with growing success until 1890, when he removed to Portland. He was 
fire insurance adjuster for the Northwest Fire & Marine and North British & 
Mercantile Insurance Companies, covering Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Cali- 
fornia. He occupied that position until 1898 and then formed a partnership 
with J. L. Hartman and H. L. Powers under the firm style of Hartman, 
Thompson & Powers, for the conduct of a real-estate and brokerage business. 
This relation was maintained until the retirement of Mr. Powers in 1905, when 
the business was reorganized under the firm name of Hartman & Thompson as 
a private banking enterprise. In addition to the conduct of a banking business 
they buy and sell city property and also engage in home building. Among the 
properties which they have successfully handled is the Rose City Park addition. 

Mr. Thompson is also president of the Ridgefield Mercantile Company of 
Washington, which he organized fourteen years ago and which is one of the 
most successful mercantile establishments of the state. He is also president of 
the Ridgefield State Bank, of which he was one of the organizers in 1910. He is 
secretary of the firm of Beall & Company, dealers in agricultural implements. 
He is the owner of Clover Hill Farms, a tract of four hundred acres about thirty 
miles north of Portland on the Columbia river, where he engages in the breeding j 
and importing of thoroughbred Guernsey cattle and conducts a large dairy. He 
was awarded the first state board of health certificate for guaranteed purity of 
milk. In 1909 he was elected president of the Portland Fair & Live Stock Asso- 
ciation and is also interested in various other enterprises. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 275 

In 1904 Mr. Thompson organized the Portland Woolen Mills, the other stock 
holders being W. P. Olds, W. M. Ladd, T. B. Wilcox, W. E. Pettes and F. A. 
Nitchy. This is an extensive and profitable industry, valued at a half million 
dollars and located at St. Johns, having the largest production of any woolen 
mill on the Pacific coast. Its sales amount to a half million dollars a year and 
the plant occupies five acres of ground and is equipped with its own water, light 
and power systems. The plant with its subsidiary buildings is a veritable city 
in itself, with a private dock and railway switch. It is complete in its equip- 
ment in every department and sends its product to all parts of the United States. 
The company has built many homes for its employes and has never had a strike 
among the workmen. This is due to the fact that their methods of treating their 
help are the exponent of justice. The business is carried on along broad plans 
and they pay the highest wages of any in the United States in their line. They 
employ most competent heads of departments and give much time, study and 
attention to the betterment of both the physical and mental conditions of their 
employes, furnishing them with every comfort and convenience possible, such as 
reading and rest rooms. Of the company Mr. Thompson has been treasurer and 
manager since its organization and its development and its attitude toward the 
employes is largely attributable to his efforts and his advanced ideas. He is do- 
ing a splendid work in this regard and the institution may well serve as a model 
to other employers. Were such methods followed the contest between labor and 
capital would be reduced to a minimum. Back of it all is the humanitarian 
spirit that recognizes the responsibilities and obligations of wealth and the 
brotherhood of mankind. 

Mr. Thompson has a beautiful home on Portland Heights, which he erected 
in 1907, and a summer residence at Seaside. He was married on the 27th of 
March, 1884, to Miss Amanda P. Irvine, a daughter of Hon. R. A. Irvine, of 
Linn county. She was educated in the Albany College, where she pursued a 
special course in music. The two sons of this marriage are : Lewis Irvine, who 
in June, 1909, wedded Sadie Jackson ; and Edward A. 

In his political views Mr. Thompson is an earnest republican and takes a 
keen interest in all civic affairs. He is interested in the Commercial Club, of 
which he is an active member, and also belongs to the Portland Heights Club. 
He has been president of the board and trustee of the First Congregational 
church for the past nine years and has been a member of the church from the 
age of fourteen. He is likewise connected with philanthropic societies and gives 
generous aid where charity is needed. He is a man of large athletic build whom 
one at once recognizes as a leader. In manner he is genial and courteous. He 
has great capacity for business, is ambitious and energetic and well merits the 
position of leadership which is accorded him. While he is achieving notable 
success, there is in his life history as a dominant element something beyond and 
above the desire for wealth — that something which finds expression in his treat- 
ment ol and relations with his employes, in his deep and helpful interest in 
the city and his devotion to the work of the church. 



DANIEL LEWIS. 



Daniel Lewis, who from 1872 until his death, in 1904, was a resident of Ore- 
gon, owned and operated a valuable farm in the vicinity of Portland, but the 
property has now been divided among his children, all of whom are living in 
residences located on what was originally the old homestead. Mr. Lewis was 
bom in North Carolina in 1829 and was a son of Samuel and Sarah Lewis. 
His father was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, giving valiant aid to the 
colonists in their struggle for independence and living for many years thereafter 
to enjoy the fruits of liberty. He died, however, when his son Daniel was about 



276 . THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

eighteen years of age, the latter living with his mother until he was married, 
after which his mother lived with him. He was only four years of age when 
his parents removed from the south to Illinois, taking up their abode in Craw- 
ford county, and while spending his youthful days upon the farm he acquired 
his education in the public schools of that state. After attaining his majority, or 
upon the 12th of November, 1850, he was united in marriage to Miss Rachel 
Anderson, a daughter of Jotham and Lucinda Anderson, the former a native 
of New England and the latter of Kentucky. For twenty years after their 
marriage Daniel Lewis and his family remained residents of Illinois, but in 
1872 came to Oregon where his wife and children have since lived and where 
he made his home until his death. He purchased one hundred and sixty-three 
acres of land located on what is now known as the Base Line road, and with char- 
acteristic energy turned his attention to farming, converting his place into pro- 
ductive fields which annually brought forth rich harvests. For many years he 
carried on his farm work but at length the property was divided among his 
children, all of whom now have homes upon the place. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Lewis were born the following children, seven of whom 
survive, namely: Leander; Annie J., who is the wife of Fred R. Davis and 
lives at Centralia, Washington ; Herman A. ; Ulysses ; Sarah, the wife of Alex- 
ander Bell ; Lula, the wife of J. W. Mills ; and George H. One son, James, 
died in 1878 at the age of twenty-one years, while Edwin D. died in 1894 at 
the age of twenty-six years, and Frederick R. died in 1902, when thirty-three 
years of age. 

The death of the husband and father occurred in 1904, when he had reached 
the age of seventy-two years. He was a member of the Baptist church to which 
Mrs. Lewis still belongs. She was born in 1833 and is a well preserved woman 
of seventy-seven years, retaining her physical and mental faculties to a remark- 
able degree. They made their trip to Oregon on the second through train that 
was run over the Southern Pacific, starting from Vincennes, Indiana, and con- 
tinuing by rail to San Francisco. From that point they came on board the boat 
Prince Albert to Seattle, Washington, where they remained for a few months 
before taking up their abode in Oregon. From pioneer times the Lewis family 
has remained in this locality and the representatives of the name have a wide 
and favorable acquaintance among the early settlers and among the later arrivals 
in the section in which they live. 



FREDERICK CHARLES KING. 

There is perhaps no life record in this volume that indicates more clearly the 
value of character and of individual ability than the history of Fred C. King, 
who with limited opportunities started in business life and has worked his way 
continuously upward until he is now classed with the leading and representa- 
tive real-estate men of Portland, largely engaged in handling city, farm and tim- 
ber lands. Mr. King is a native of the middle west, his birth having occurred 
in Portland, Ionia county, Michigan, December 29, 1872, his parents being 
Richard D. and Mary A. King, the former a shoemaker by trade. He was 
born in Hardfordshire, England, in 1847, ^^d served in the English army 
as a member of the noted Coldstream Guards. He came to America about 
1870, settling in Portland, Michigan, and in the spring of 1873 removed to 
Saline county, Kansas, where he secured a homestead claim, and while de- 
veloping that property, in order to obtain his title, also opened a shoe shop in 
Brookville, in that county. Subsequently he was employed by the Union Pa- 
cific Railroad Company for about fourteen years, spending a part of the time 
in the fuel department and the remainder as agent. At the same period he was 
also engaged in farming, dairying and stock-raising. But Kansas, because of un- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 277 

favorable weather conditions, which brought on the failure of crops, experienced 
"hard times," and Mr. King was among a large number who failed in 1888. 
With a hope of retrieving his losses he sought the opportunities of the Pacific 
coast country, arriving in Portland on the 21st of November of that year. The 
succeeding twelve months were fairly successful and on the 24th of December, 
1889, he passed away, leaving a family of nine children, three sons and six 
daughters, of whom Fred C. King, the eldest, was then only fifteen years of age. 
The mother was born in Suffolk, England, in 1844, and had become the wife 
of Richard D. King in London, England, the wedding ceremony being per- 
formed in Westminster Abbey. The parents of both were farming people of 
England. 

Fred C. King acquired his early education in two country schools near Brook- 
ville, Kansas, and also to some extent attended the Brookville public schools. 
His educational opportunities, however, were limited by the fact that he was 
reared on a farm and the work of its development and improvement allowed him 
little leisure time for study. It was only in the winter seasons, when the farm 
work could not be carried on, that he had the opportunity of attending school, 
and never after he was thirteen years of age. In the school of experience, how- 
ever, he has learned many valuable lessons and has otherwise embraced his op- 
portunities for mental development as a preparation for life's practical and re- 
sponsible duties. The family arrived in Oregon in the fall before he was four- 
teen years of age, and the father died a year later, so that the older children of 
the family were obliged to go to work and aid the mother in the support of 
the younger members of the household. Later Mr. King studied the complete 
mechanical course as outlined by the International Correspondence School of 
Scranton, Pennsylvania. His experience upon the home farm three miles north 
of Brookville, Kansas, had largely been that of herding and caring for the 
stock, together with plowing, harrowing, planting grain and harvesting. He 
also had to milk many cows, for at different times the family kept as many as 
one hundred head. It was therefore only in the intervals of general farming that 
he could attend school up to the time when the emigration was made to Oregon 
in November, 1888. In the two succeeding months he engaged in cutting wood 
north of Mount Tabor, and in January, 1889, secured similar employment at 
Sullivan's gulch, near the Drubacher furniture factory. In February, March 
and April, 1889, he worked in the tin shops of Goldsmith & Lowenberg, on 
Front street, and from April until September worked in order to purchase a lot 
in Linntpn from Selover & Bunker. He was in the employ of that firm and also 
of a smelter company, who built a smelter there, and he cleared land and re- 
moved rock for the grade. In September, 1889, he secured a position with the 
General Electric Company at Oregon City removing rock under the falls. In 
October, November and December of the same year and in fact until June, 1890, 
he worked on the section in East Portland for the Oregon & California Rail- 
road Company, and at a later date began laying track for the car line to Wood- 
stock. From the 14th of July, 1890, until the ist of August, 1893, he was em- 
ployed in the Inman & Paulsen sawmill, after which he was employed as boiler 
maker until the 27th of December, 1904, the first four years as apprentice and 
then as journeyman in the Southern Pacific shops here and also at Roseburg 
and Ashland. On the latter date he resigned because of his health. On the 
28th of November, 1904, he leased the building at 309 Jefferson street for apart- 
ment house purposes and is still managing this, which is known as The King. 
On the 1st of January, 1905, he turned his attention to the real-estate business 
in connection with F. O. Northup for six months, or until July i, 1905. Since 
that date he has engaged in the general real-estate business, handling 
farm, city and timber lands. He is recognized as one of the prominent real- 
estate men of Portland and in the intervening five years has handled much 
valuable property and negotiated many important realty transfers. He now 
owns several different properties in this city and in other parts of the state, 



278 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

including the lot in Linnton which he purchased twenty years ago with a 
summer's hard labor. In September, 1907, he became one of the incorporators 
and stockholders of the State Laundry Company, in which he is still interested. 
In 1910 the King Brothers & Shea Iron Works of Portland was incorporated, of 
which company Mr. King is secretary and treasurer. The sheer force of his 
character, energy and ability have brought him to a prominent position in busi- 
ness circles and he has justly won the altogether appropriate, if somewhat 
hackneyed title of a self-made man. 

On the 26th of March, 1896, in Portland, Mr. King was united in marriage 
to Miss Bertha L. Friese, a daughter of German parents who came to Portland 
in 1878. In his political connection Mr. King is somewhat independent with 
democratic tendencies. In 1906 he was defeated on the democratic ticket for 
representative, and in 1908 he was the independent and labor candidate for coun- 
cilman for the fourth ward. His political aspirations, however, are not very 
strong, as he finds that his growing business interests claim the greater part 
of his attention. He is, however, a popular and valued member of many fra- 
ternal organizations. In 1892 he joined Mount Hood Lodge, No. i, of the For- 
esters of America, of which he was three times chief ranger. In 1899 he be- 
came a member of Fidelity Lodge, No. 4, A. O. U. W., and in 1900 joined Anchor 
Lodge, No. 746, of the Knights and Ladies of Security, of which he is a past 
president and now trustee. In 1903 he became a member of the Oregon Bene- 
fit Degree, No. i, of which he was the first past president and is also trustee. 
In 1902 he joined Mount Hood Lodge, No. 72, of the Brotherhood of Boiler 
Makers & Iron Ship builders of America, of which he was a past president, 
but withdrew in 1908. In 1907 he joined Rose City Camp, No. 191, of the Wood- 
men of the World; in 1908 became a member of Oregon Lodge, No. i. United 
Artisans ; in 1909, the Evening Star Grange ; and in 1910 joined Portland Lodge, 
No. 55, F. & A. M. The secret of his success Hes in the fact that he has never 
been afraid of earnest labor and that his diligence and close application have 
ever been supplemented by unquestioned integrity and reliability. 



WALTER FRAZAR BURRELL. 

Walter F. Burrell has been recognized throughout the years of his man- 
hood as a stalwart and enthusiastic supporter of every movement and project 
instituted for the benefit and upbuilding of the city of Portland. His business 
associations have brought him into active connection with its wholesale and 
manufacturing trade and at the same time he has been a factor in the agri- 
cultural progress of the states of Oregon, Washington and Idaho, His judg- 
ment is sound, his discrimination keen and penetrating. He seems to see from 
the circumference to the very center of things and so coordinates forces that 
unified and harmonious results are achieved and the utmost possible for the 
attainment of success seems to have been reached. His days have been un- 
marked by events of special importance, save such as come to those reared on the 
western frontier, in a district where a spirit of enterprise is rife and where 
nothing seems to deter successful accomplishment. 

His father, Martin S, Burrell, was a man of conspicuous business ability, 
who came to Portland in the year 1855, and it was in this city that Walter F. 
Burrell, entered upon life's journey on the 13th of February, 1863. His educa- 
tion was acquired in the schools of Portland and Oberlin and when his school 
days were over, he entered the business house of Knapp, Burrell & Company, 
of which his father was the head and applied himself to mastering the details 
of a business that included the handling of vehicles, agricultural implements 
and sawmill machinery, and was the largest of its kind in the northwest. 




W. r. BURRELL 



V'.L 3 '^^ *•'■ 



.- -S'"^ 






. ■*» i-V- 



t---^": 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 281 

The trade grew to very extensive proportions, but the f^^^her's interest in 
the business was sold immediately after his death m 1885, and Walter F. Bur- 
rell, who was then but twenty-two years of age, took charge of /lie manage- 
ment and development of the other properties that were features of his father s 
Sate and included large tracts of untilled land in Whitman county, Wash- 
ington all of which the son brought under cultivation m the production of 
snlendid crops. While he has given much attention to raising wheat and other 
crops of grain, Mr. Burrell has also engaged in the extensive growing of apples 
pnri Dears not only in Oregon but also in the states of Washington and Idaho. 
Tn i8q; Mr Burrell was married to Miss Constance Montgomery, a daugh- 
ter of Tames B " Montgomery, a prominent citizen of Portland, and they are now 
he parenTs of five chUdrenYAlden Frazar, Louise, Douglas Montgomery Robert 
Monttomerv and Virginia. Mr. Burrell is a republican in his political belief 
He S/s^^?he Ariington, Commercial and Multnomah Clubs, and served 
tmder Syor H S. Rowl on the board of pubhc works of the city of Port- 
land bu has had no ambition for office, preferring to devote his eflforts to 
furthering the interests of Portland through its commercial bodies, and a so 
to mealing the extensive business interests, belonging to himself and asso- 
cltTs hi the control of which he displays marked ability and energy, regard- 
Tn^no detail as too unimportant to receive his attention and at the same time 
Controlling he larger fact^s in his interests with notable assurance and power. 



JOHN H. HAYES. 

While residing in Portland, Joh^H. Hayes is extensively ^^^^^"l^^the 
sheeo-raising industry in Morrow county, Oregon. He is one of the native sons 
of the stSf his birth having occurred in Lane county, near Eugene on the 
^oth of March 1856 his parents being William J. and Sarah (Kjapehart) Hayes. 
The father was born in Indiana in October, 1829, his parents having been early 
JJLr. of that state The grandfather died when his son Wilham was young 
fnft^e latter'Ifterward wenfto Missouri, where he resided until 1850, when he 
^ros ed the'lains with ox teams, to Oregon and established his hom-^ Lane 
c/^untv takincr up a donation claim on Spencer creek. He was married soon 

ness unTn h s dea^h, which occurred in 1888. his remains being interred in the 
He'pner cemetery. 'His wife, who was born in M-souri in 1836 passed away 
Dprember 20 IQ08 They were long devoted members of the Christian cnurcn 
Wl at alMir^^f o its Cachings and principles. Their family """^bered s x 
wfLll H.rHet T the wife of W A. Neil, of Gilliam county, Oregon ; John 

^H 'o7"thif rCw^^-^ -^ ^ f ^:S^ ^'^' 

tine the wife of A. A. Curtiss of Malott, Washington ; and C J., deceased. 

Tohn H Hayes was a pupil of the public schools of Douglas county, through 
the Deriod of hfs youth, yet much of his time during his boyhood days was de- 



282 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

keeping good grades which are valuable both for wool and mutton. He is there- 
fore able to make profitable sales and his business reaches a large figure annually. 

Mr. Hayes has been married twice. He first wedded Miss Elizabeth Cor- 
nelison, who died in 1884, leaving two sons : Joseph M., a resident of Morrow 
county, who is conducting the sheep industry at that place ; and Erbie, who mar- 
ried Miss Daisy Begal, by whom he has two children, Clara and Lela. He is 
now engaged in the hardware business at Vale, Oregon. In 1905 Mr. Hayes 
was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Melvina Withers, nee 
Hadley. Her first husband was John A. Withers, who was born in Benton 
county, Oregon, and died March 2"], 1900. His parents were early settlers 
of this state. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Withers were born two children : Chester, 
who married Melva Lewis ; and Wayman, who wedded Lottie Harris and has 
three children, Merrill, Vancil and John. 

Mr. Hayes has long been a member of the Christian church and is a gen- 
erous contributor to its support. His life has been a useful and active one 
and while he had the advantage of receiving property through inheritance, he 
has increased his holdings and won further success by his careful and intelli- 
gent management of his business affairs. He is regarded as authority upon the 
subject of sheep-raising in Morrow county and is numbered among those whose 
extensive interests are a marvel to the east, where operations are carried on on 
a much less extensive scale. 



SENECA SMITH. 



Seneca Smith, born on the banks of the Wabash in Indiana, August 18, 1844, 
is now engaged in the practice of law in Portland and, moreover, has consid- 
erable real-estate interests here. His father, Cornelius Smith, was a native of 
New York city, whence he removed to Indiana and there he engaged in the opera- 
tion of a sawmill for some years and was also connected with commercial in- 
terests that made the Wabash and Mississippi rivers the highway of transporta- 
tion. To the northwest he came with the pioneers of 1847 with Oregon as his 
destination. Leaving Laporte, Indiana, in March, and enduring the hardships 
and privations of travel, with ox teams he crossed the plains and in December 
arrived in Portland — then a tiny village — but after three or four weeks died of 
fever contracted in crossing the mountains. The beautiful Rose City of today 
was then a small collection of log cabins and one frame store. The widow and 
eight children, five sons and three daughters, of whom Seneca Smith was next to 
the youngest, survived the husband and father. Mrs. Smith, who bore the 
maiden name of Elizabeth Dixon, was a sister of Thomas Dixon, the founder of 
the town of Dixon, California. She, too, was a native of the Empire state. 
While making the trip across the plains she kept a journal of the events which 
marked their progress that has been published by the Oregon Historical So- 
ciety — a faithful picture of the experiences which the early emigrants under- 
went. After her husband's death she and her children removed to Mores Valley, 
in Yamhill county, where she lived until about 1852, when she married J. C. 
Geer, the grandfather of ex-Governor Geer, and the progenitor of a large fam- 
ily, many of whose representatives have attained prominence in this state. Mrs. 
Geer passed away in 1856. Of her children Perl Smith is living at Wrangle, 
Alaska ; Jasper Smith is a resident of Yamhill county, Oregon ; Eleanor is the 
wife of Rev. P. S. Knight, of Salem, Oregon ; and Marie is the widow of R. J. 
Marsh, also of Salem. 

The other surviving member of the family is Seneca Smith of this review, 
who entered a little log school at Butteville in the pursuit of the elementary 
branches of learning. Later he attended the Lafayette school and McMinnville 
College and completed his literary course in Willamette University. From 1862 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 283 

until 1871 he was engaged in mining and in running pack trains in the wilds of 
eastern Oregon, Washington and western Idaho. The trails were ofttimes scarcely 
discernible and the route was in places a difficult one. Moreover, the unsettled 
condition of the country made such trips fraught with considerable danger. 
In the fall of 187 1 Mr. Smith came to Salem and took up the study of law, con- 
tinuing his reading under the direction of Judge Boise and P. L. Willis until 
admitted to the bar in 1874. In connection with his law studies he also took up 
the study of stenography and in the fall of the latter year reported a session of 
the legislature for the Oregonian. 

Mr. Smith then came to Portland, where he opened a law office and also 
did much shorthand reporting throughout the northwest, being at that time the 
only shorthand writer in this part of the country. Governor Moody appointed 
him to the circuit bench, succeeding Judge Stott, who had resigned in 1883, 
Judge Smith entering upon the duties of the office on the ist of January, 1884. 
That the two years of his appointive service were satisfactory is indicated by 
the fact that in June, 1886, he was elected judge of the circuit court but in 
July of that year, he left the bench, to resume the private practice of law, in 
which he has since been continuously engaged, making a specialty of real-estate 
law. During the first few years of his practice he was in partnership with 
Judge J. A. Stratton and S. W. Rice, the association being discontinued at the 
time Mr. Rice was elected county judge. He was next associated with John B. 
Waldo until Mr. Waldo was elected to the Oregon supreme bench in 1880. 
Soon afterward Mr. Smith formed a partnership with P. L. Willis, now of 
Portland, and this connection was maintained until Mr. Smith was appointed 
judge of the circuit court. After leaving the bench he formed a partnership with 
Raleigh and Samuel Stott and W. L. Boise, which was dissolved in the fall of 
1889. Judge Smith then spent two years in travel and following his return has 
practiced alone. He is also interested to a considerable extent in real property 
in and near Portland. 

On the 1st day of May, 1879, was celebrated the marriage of Judge Smith 
and Miss Margaret Gilliland, of Douglas county, Oregon, who died ten years 
later. On the ist of June, 1891, he wedded Susan E. Southworth, of Wood- 
stock, Illinois. To him rightfully belongs the honored term of an Oregon pio- 
neer. Although in early childhood at the time of his arrival in this state, as 
he advanced in years and strength he became an active factor in the improve- 
ments which have resulted in the development and progress of the state, and has 
also kept in touch with the later day advancement, whereby Oregon proudly 
holds its place among the leading commonwealths of the nation. 



JOHN GATES. 



Although more than twenty years have elapsed since the death of John 
Gates, his memory is kept green in the minds of many of his old friends in Port- 
land and western Oregon, while among steamboat men his name is known and 
honored, for his work and inventive genius were of such a practical character 
that he gave to navigation that which has been of material assistance and value 
thereto. Mr. Gates was born December 31, 1827, in Mercer, Somerset county, 
Maine, a son of Levi and Hannah (Pane) Gates. The family is of English 
descent and has numbered among its members many prominent men in America, 
including General Horatio Gates, one of the distinguished commanders in the 
Revolutionary war, who received the surrender of Burgoyne at Saratoga. Levi 
Gates was a thrifty farmer and both he and his wife were devout members of 
the Congregational church, who worked hard six days in the week and zealously 
attended to religious duties on Sunday, so that virtually there was no day of 
rest in the family. Thus amid religious environment John Gates was reared, 



284 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

his education being acquired in the pubHc schools of Mercer and later of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, where his parents took up their abode when he was quite 
young. One of the valuable lessons inculcated in his mind in his youth was that 
all labor is honorable and that farm work is an excellent means of developing 
muscle and health in a growing lad. His first service aside from the farm was 
in the shops of Coe Brothers at Worcester and after the young machinist had 
acquired the mechanical art he was placed in charge of the shops. Being nat- 
urally quick of apprehension and deft in the use of his hands he had gained 
unusual proficiency and before he was twenty years of age was much in advance 
of ordinary mechanics of the same age. 

The California gold excitement of 1849 brought to the west thousands of 
hardy young men from New England and with them came John Gates. After 
an experience which convinced him that his destiny was not connected with the 
mining camp he turned his steps to the north and about 1850 first became ac- 
quainted with Portland. Here his first work was as an engineer in a sawmill 
located at the foot of Jefferson street and he also put in operation the first plan- 
ing machine and the first sash and door machinery in Oregon. He owned an 
equal interest with the other partners in the Portland Milling Company, when 
the first large fire in Portland occurred in the fall of 1854, at which time he 
saw the accumulation of years of hard work go up in smoke. There remained 
to him only his family, his good health and a disposition to do the best he could 
under adverse circumstances. He turned his attention to the steamboat busi- 
ness, succeeding Jacob Kamm as chief engineer of the English Steam Naviga- 
tion Company. In the meantime, however, he had been employed as engineer 
on the steamer Fashion and was for a considerable period foreman machinist 
for Davis & Monastes. He aided in building a mill on the site of the old plant 
of the Portland Milling Company and was more or less identified with the lum- 
ber interests of the city until the winter of i860, when he began work for the 
Oregon Steam Navigation Company, continuing with them and their successors 
for nearly a quarter of a century. During that period he revolutionized the 
style of Oregon river steamboats, his inventive genius and practical knowl- 
edge resulting in changes which have constituted the standard for steamboat 
building in this locality since that time. He made all of the models, designs and 
plans for cabins and machinery on the boats of the Oregon Steam Navigation 
Company, and, when departing from old time customs, he built the Emma Hay- 
ward it provoked unfavorable criticism from river men and steamboat builders. 
The company which he represented, however, endorsed his ideas and time has 
proven their worth. His remarkable inventive genius displayed itself in many 
forms. During the first ten years of his connection with the Oregon Steam Navi- 
gation Company he took out twenty-seven patents on inventions which have 
proven valuable in steamboat operation. These include the Gates hydraulic 
steering gear, without which it would be almost an impossibility to handle the 
big river and sound steamers of the present day with any degree of proficiency. 
He has probably made more original designs for boats and machinery than any 
man living. He is the inventor of the well known sight feed lubricator where 
the oil can be seen in a glass tube as it is fed drop by drop to the cylinder of 
the steam engine. His inventions also include the spark arrester for steamboats 
now universally used on all wood burners ; piston packings ; a steering appa- 
ratus ; sectional boiler ; ash pan ; cut oflF valve ; a thumb screw for holding wheel 
ropes; and several patents for steam pumps, all of which attest the wide range of 
his abilities. Under his direction were builded the Orient, Occident, Almota, 
Wide West, Daisy Ainsworth, R. R. Thompson, S. G, Reed, Hassalo, D, S. 
Baker, Annie Faxon, Oneonta, Harvest Queen, Mountain Queen, Emma Hay- 
ward, Henry Villard, John Gates, Spokane, Donita, Welcome and Dixie Thomp- 
son. He was for many years inspector of boilers and it was through his rec- 
ommendation that the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company inaugurated 
channel slucing with the steamship on the bars of the Columbia river. Had it 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 285 

not been for the channels so formed vessels drawing over fourteen feet of water 
could not come to Portland and the San Francisco steamers would have been 
obliged to stop below St. Helen's bar during the low water stage. 

Following his resignation as chief engineer of the navigation company Mr. 
Gates was elected by the republican convention as its candidate for mayor of 
Portland and was elected by a handsome majority in 1885. This office he ac- 
ceptably filled until his death on the 27th of April, 1888, his remains being in- 
terred in Riverview cemetery. It was uniformly acknowledged that death had 
claimed one of the ablest and most public-spirited citizens of Portland. 

Mr. Gates was married twice. At nineteen years of age he wedded Mary 
Blodgett, seventeen years of age and they had three children. His second wife, 
Rachel Scales, he wedded at The Dalles, Oregon, September 4, 1867, and they 
had four children. Mr. Gates held membership for many years in the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and was a consistent adherent of the principles 
of the republican party. His career presents a good illustration of the typical 
American boy who starts out in life depending entirely upon his own ability and 
industry and who attains a position of independence and honor through the ap- 
plication of the plain virtues of self denial and worthy effort. 



WILLIAM R. STOKES. 



William R. Stokes, who as a contracting architect, has specialized in the 
building of residences and apartment houses, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, 
September 30, 1854, a son of Edward and Mary (Hon) Stokes, the former a 
native of New Jersey, while the latter was born in Germany. The father was a 
brick mason and in early life removed from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to Cin- 
cinnati, becoming one of the pioneer builders of that city. 

William R. Stokes, who is one of a family of six children, acquired his edu- 
cation in the schools of Cincinnati, and remained at home with his parents until 
twenty-five years of age, when he was married and established a home of his 
own. He had previously learned his trade with John Ashar, one of the old time 
builders of Cincinnati and from the time of his marriage until his removal to 
Portland he continued in the employ of Mr. Ashar. In 1882, however, he de- 
cided to come to the Pacific coast and as the railroad had not been built to 
Portland at that time he made his way to San Francisco and from that city came 
by boat to his destination. He has been with Richard L. Zeller in the contract 
business since his arrival in this city. One of the first buildings with which he 
was connected was the old Williams avenue schoolhouse recently torn down to 
make way for the erection of a business block. He also erected the Ladd resi- 
dence and barn in Laurelhurst, about a quarter of a century ago. He has made 
a specialty of the erection of residences and apartment houses and some of the 
most attractive homes of Portland — a city noted for its beautiful residences — 
have been erected by him. He has also done work in various parts of the state 
including the building of a large number of schoolhouses in Oregon and numer- 
ous contracts have been executed at Baker City, Pendleton, Heppner, Oregon 
City, Astoria, Hood River and North Yamhill. The firm likewise had the con- 
tract for the erection of the Soldiers' Home at Roseburg, and from the begin- 
ning of his residence here Mr. Stokes has figured prominently and actively as 
a contractor, his labors being attended with a substantial measure of success. 
He has made judicious investment in property and is the owner of a farm of 
one hundred and seventy-three acres in Clackamas county, to which he is now 
devoting much of his time, being extensively engaged in horticultural pursuits 
there, having set out forty acres to fruit. His farm is beautifully located near 
Estacada, and in addition he maintains his home in Portland. 



286 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

On the 15th of April, 1879, Mr. Stokes was united in marriage to Miss Mary 
Mathena, a daughter of Francis Marion and Mary (Herod) Mathena, whose 
family numbered seven children. Mrs. Stokes was born in Covington, Kentucky, 
and by her marriage has become the mother of the following named : William 
Roy, thirty years of age, who resides upon his father's farm in Clackamas 
county; Francis Marion, of Portland, twenty-eight years of age; Irena A., Harry 
C. and Claud Lee, aged respectively twenty-five, twenty and eleven years. The 
eldest son is married and has three children, Donald, Jeannette and William Roy, 
aged six, three and one years. 

Mr. Stokes belongs to the Grange and both he and his wife are consistent 
members of the Methodist church. He is a republican in politics but votes in- 
dependently on local questions. He finds pleasure and recreation in fishing, 
shooting and in mountain camp life. Time has proven the wisdom of his judg- 
ment in choosing Portland as a place of residence. The rapid growth of the 
northwest affords excellent opportunity to the contractor and builder and his 
business interests have made constant demand upon his time, while his intelli- 
gent direction of his labor and those who serve him has brought him substan- 
tial and well merited success. 



HON. JOHN W. MELDRUM. 

Among the honored citizens of Clackamas county, Hon. John W. Meldrum 
occupies a place which it would be difficult for any other to fill. He is now past 
the patriarchal age of three-score and ten years, and has been a resident of 
Oregon since 1845. He was born near Burlington, Iowa, December 17. 1839, 
and is a son of John and Susanna Depew (Cox) Meldrum. His grandfather, 
William Meldrum, was of Scotch-Irish descent and settled in Kentucky in 1804, 
when the state was largely a wilderness. Later he removed to a farm near Car- 
rollton, Illinois, where he passed the remainder of his life. John Meldrum, the 
father of our subject, was born in Shelby county, Kentucky, in March, 1808, 
and learned the trade of a stone mason and builder. In the year 1845, ^^ joined 
a number of friends and assisted in organizing a train which started from Council 
Bluffs, Iowa, early in the spring and came over the trail to Oregon City, reach- 
ing their destination in October following. 

John W. Meldrum very early became inured to the hardships of pioneer ex- 
perience. He had little opportunity for education in the primitive log school- 
house but as he grew older became a reader of good books, and by association 
with others and close observation has surpassed in general information many 
who started under much more favorable circumstances. His first work was in 
assisting in clearing land upon a claim which his father had taken up near Ilwaco, 
Washington. About 1856 he returned to Oregon City, and later taught school 
and for two years read law, also working in the mines of Idaho and eastern 
Oregon for several years. About the time of the close of the Civil war he 
turned his attention to surveying and for twenty years, with the exception of 
one year, was in the employ of the United States government as deputy sur- 
veyor, operating in Oregon and Idaho. This gave him a remarkable opportunity 
for becoming acquainted with the country, and few men have a more compre- 
hensive knowledge of the conditions pertaining to that part of the northwest 
during its formative stage than Mr. Meldrum. In 1888 he was elected county 
surveyor of Clackamas county, and in 1890 became county judge of the county and 
served as chairman of the board of county commissioners. His knowledge of 
engineering assisted him in an important degree in improving the condition of 
the country roads, and as soon as possible he brought about the change from the 
labor system of road taxation to a money tax system which he found much more 
practicable and under which the roads were very greatly improved. In order to 




JOHN W. MELDRUM 



■J >. . "'■~ — "•■•nN ■v.K.y* 



- "'i •;•"£..;:. 



< vJ.;:-- - ^.■^.-«. ! 












— - -»,-«■,,, 



rVl-r. ji 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 289 

do this, it was necessary to have the Oregon City charter changed, as it provided 
for the use of all the money collected by taxes in the city for road improvement 
to be spent inside the city limits. For the hrst two years he was opposed by 
the other members of the board and the people from the southern part of the 
county, but finally, with the assistance of Richard Scott, another commissioner, 
he succeeded after a long struggle. Later several other counties, including Yam- 
hill and Polk, followed in the same line, copying after the change made in Clack- 
amas county. In 1898 Mr. Meldrum served as special agent for ten months for 
the general land office, examining surveys in Nevada and Wyoming. He was 
elected county surveyor of Clackamas county and filled that office in a most 
acceptable manner. In January, 1871, he bought the north half of the Peter M. 
Rinearson donation land claim on the east bank of the Willamette river. Here 
he has laid out the townsite of Meldrum on the Oregon City car line, ten miles 
from Portland, but has kept as a home fifty acres on the river. 

On September 25, 1872, Mr. Meldrum was united in marriage at Oregon 
City to Miss Georgiana Pope, a niece of Governor Abernethy. Three children 
were born of this union: Charles E., Eva S. and David T. Mr. Meldrum has 
been a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows since 1869, and has 
filled all the chairs, and is also prominently identified with the encampment, fill- 
ing all the chairs of this branch. He has also filled the offices in the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen. He is a member of the Pioneer Society, the Oregon 
Historical Society, and holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal church, 
serving on its board of trustees for many years. He is an advocate of the prin- 
ciples of the republican party, and served as delegate-at-large from Oregon to 
the national convention at St. Louis, which nominated William McKinley for 
president. He stood for sound money as did all of the delegation from Oregon. 
In reviewing the career of a veteran such as is presented in the life of Mr. 
Meldrum, we are reminded that many of the most important events of modern 
times have transpired since he came to Oregon. Among these may be named the 
introduction of the railroad, the telegraph and the telephone ; the opening of the 
ports of Japan to commerce by the United States fleet under Commander Perry ; 
the discovery of gold in California, Australia, Colorado and Alaska; the Civil 
war, which sounded the note of freedom and unity around the world ; the Span- 
ish-American war that opened new territory to our country and involved addi- 
tional and solemn responsibilities ; the many scientific discoveries that have revo- 
lutionized modern thought; and also the vast expansion of population in the 
western half of the United States, attracting tens of thousands from the older 
settled regions of the east and of Europe. All of these and many other changes 
pass in review before the mind of the pioneer as he rests at his comfortable fire- 
side. Mr. Meldrum has well earned the repose which he now enjoys. He has 
merited the respect of his associates by many kindly acts in years past, and as 
a representative pioneer in the highest meaning of the word he is worthy a 
place in this volume. 



FREDERICK VIGNE ANDREWS. 

Frederick Vigne Andrews, deceased, was recognized as one of the progres- 
sive men of his period in Portland. He was born July 8, 1846, in London, Eng- 
land, and his life record covered the intervening years to the ist of November, 
1904. His parents were Thomas Robert and Annie O. (Grane) Andrews, the 
former connected with the old East India service. 

In the schools of London, Frederick V. Andrews pursued his education and 
afterward engaged in business there as an indigo broker and later as a stock 
broker. He had had considerable business experience, therefore, when he came 
to America in 1879, The reports which he had heard concerning the Pacific 



290 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

coast led him to establish his home in this section of the country. He settled 
first at Corvallis, Oregon, but after a few months went to Albany, this state, 
where he remained for six months. On the expiration of that period he came to 
Portland. After a brief period, however, he returned to England on business 
which kept him in his native land for a few months, when he again came to 
Portland and engaged in railroad construction work, this being in the early '80s. 
He was afterward connected with railway interests at Pond 'Oreille and in 1884 
turned his attention to the insurance business, entering the office of Ferry & 
White. A year's connection therewith brought him knowledge of the business 
and in 1885 he opened an insurance office of his own, becoming senior member 
of the firm of F. V. Andrews & Company, under which style the business is 
still carried on. He was recognized as one of the most progressive men of his 
period in this city. 

About 1867 Mr. Andrews was married in London to Miss Mary Brown, a 
daughter of Dr. Gossett Brown, a well known London physician. Mrs. Andrews 
is now living in London. They were the parents of two children : Alice M., the 
wife of Rev. E. L. Holmes, rector at Milton Ernest, England; and F. H. V. 
Andrews, who is the present head of the business established and developed by 
his father. The death of Mr. Andrews occurred November i, 1904, and the 
community mourned the loss of one whose worth was widely recognized as a 
business man, as a citizen and in the private relations of life. 



FRANK E. DOOLY. 



Frank E. Dooly is vice president of the firm of Dooly & Company, conduct- 
ing a general insurance agency in Portland. The success of the enterprise is 
directly due to the well devised and carefully executed plans of him who is one 
of its chief executive officers, and whose business association also touches many 
other important interests, including several of the leading corporations of this 
city. In a considerable measure Portland owes her prosperity and upbuilding to 
men of western birth who, imbued with the spirit of enterprise which has al- 
ways been characteristic of this section of the country, achieve results by reason 
of their unfaltering perseverance and determination. 

He was born in Ogden, Utah, September 15, 1879, and later, when the family 
removed to San Diego, California, was placed by his parents, R. M. and Mary 
E. Dooly, in St. Joseph's Academy in that city, where a part of his education was 
acquired. He came to Portland in 1894, and was also for a time a student in 
the Portland high school. When twenty-one years of age, he organized the firm 
of Dooly & Company for the conduct of a general fire insurance business, and- 
in the twelve years which have since intervened, he and his associates have de- 
veloped the largest insurance agency in this city. In the latter part of the year 
1909, the father, after disposing of his interests at Forest Grove, where he was 
president of the First National Bank, removed to Portland and became actively 
interested in the firm of Dooly & Company, as its president. R. M. Dooly, Jr.,v 
a brother of our subject, is also a member of the firm. They have attractive ' 
offices in the Board of Trade building, where as general agents for the state 
they represent the National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburg, Penn- ; 
sylvania; the People's National Fire Insurance Company of Philadelphia; the 
General Accident Insurance Company of Scotland; the Western Fire Insurance 
Company of Pittsburg; and Oregon Surety & Casualty Company of Portland. 
They are young men who have thoroughly informed themselves on every phase 
of the branches of insurance which they handle, and in enlarging the scope of 
their activities, their intelligently directed efforts have produced substantial re- 
sults. It was Frank E. Dooly who acquired the first fire insurance general agency 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 291 

commission contract for the Pacific northwest, heretofore exclusively held by 
and operated through San Francisco. 

Frank E. Dooly has, moreover, become widely known through other business 
connections. He is vice president and one of the directors of the Hibernia Sav- 
ings Bank, of Portland; is treasurer of the Oregon Fruit Packing Company, of 
Portland and Salem; and is interested in several realty companies that are open- 
ing and developing new residence tracts. He is individually the owner of several 
valuable business blocks, and his investments have been most judiciously placed, 
bringing him a gratifying financial return. 

Mr. Dooly has enjoyed pleasant home surroundings since his marriage in 
February, 1901, to Miss Ida Florence Skinner, a daughter of the late Peter N. 
Skinner, of Newberg. He is a member of the cathedral parish, holds charter 
enrollment with the Knights of Columbus, and is a member of the Arlington 
Club. It is a noticeable fact that it is young men who are the builders and 
promoters of the northwest and the managers of the leading business enter- 
prises of this section of the country, and among such Frank E. Dooly deserves 
prominent and honorable mention. 



GEORGE W. HOYT. 



George W. Hoyt is numbered among the representatives of financial interests 
in Portland, for he is now cashier of the Merchants National Bank. He has won 
his present enviable position through merit, having been promoted through in- 
termediate positions since entering the bank in October, 1892, as bookkeeper. 
Portland is his native city, and the date of his birth is October 15, 1866. His 
father. Captain George W. Hoyt, is mentioned elsewhere in this volume. He was 
educated in the public schools and was graduated from the Portland high school. 
He then devoted six years to the wholesale drug business, acting as city sales- 
man for the firm of Snell, Heitshu & Woodard. This brought him a wide ac- 
quaintance, and from his early connection with business interests, he has been 
numbered among the popular young business men of Portland. In October, 
1892, he secured the position of bookkeeper in the Merchants National Bank, 
and has gradually been advanced from one position to another of larger re- 
sponsibility until in January, 1910, he was elected cashier. He is also one of 
the bank directors. 

In November, 1893, in Portland, Mr. Hoyt was married to Miss Pearl M. 
Shaver, a daughter of George W. Shaver, of this city, and they have two chil- 
dren : Martha Shaver, thirteen years of age; and George W., Jr., a little lad of 
four years. The parents are communicants of the Episcopal church, and Mr. 
Hoyt belongs also to Willamette Lodge No. 2, A. F. & A. M., and to the Elks 
lodge. He is also a life member of the Multnomah Club and a member of the 
Commercial and Arlington Clubs. His political allegiance is given to the re- 
publican party, and while he indorses its principles as elements which in his 
opinion are most conducive to good government, he has no ambition for office 
holding, preferring that his efforts shall be put forth in the broad field of busi- 
ness, wherein he is making a creditable name for himself. 



DELMER SHAVER. 



Delmer Shaver, president of the Shaver Transportation Company, is one of 
Portland's native sons, his birth having occurred on the 31st of December, 1866, 
at the old family home between Crosby and Larrabee, Cherry and Broadway. 
His father, George W. Shaver, crossed the plains in 1857, settling first at Waldo 
Hills, after which he came to Portland about i860. For many years he was 



292 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

here engaged in the wood business, supplying the steamers in early years with 
their fuel and afterward conducting a wood yard. He also had a large orchard 
on the banks of the river near his home, and was among the early horticultur- 
ists of the region. In later life he turned his attention to steamboating, with 
which business he was connected up to his death, which occurred in October, 
19CX), at the age of sixty-seven years. In the early days he held some city offices 
and was a prominent and influential resident of the community. He married 
Sarah Dixon, who made the long trip across the plains to Oregon in 1852, at 
which time her father, James Dixon, located with his family at Roseburg. Mrs. 
Shaver also died at the old home, passing away in 1909 at the age of seventy- 
three years. They were married in Portland, February 12, 1854, and had ten 
children, of whom four sons and three daughters are living. 

At the usual age, Delmer Shaver entered the public schools of Portland, and 
afterward continued his education in the Columbia Commercial College, from 
which he was graduated with the class of 1886. His school days over, he devoted 
one year to the wood business and then became connected with steamboat in- 
terests in association with his brothers J. W. and George M. Shaver. He has 
since continued in this line of business, and has been president of the Shaver 
Transportation Company since the death of his father in 1900. For many years 
they operated steamboats in the passenger service, but are now exclusively in 
the towing business. They own and operate seven boats, and are one of the 
leading concerns of the kind in Portland, the extensive shipping interests at this 
point giving them excellent opportunity to conduct a business of this character. 
Delmer Shaver is also interested in the Clatskine Transportation Company, con- 
ducting a passenger steamship business. 

On the 15th of August, 1889, Mr. Shaver was united in marriage in Portland 
to Miss Nellie A. McDuffee, a daughter of John McDuffee, of Iowa, and unto 
this union has been born one son, James Delmer, born December 2."], 1903. The 
family residence is at No. 360 Vancouver avenue. 

Mr. Shaver is a member of the Woodmen of the World, belonging to Camp 
No. 65. He also holds membership in the Hassalo Street Congregational church, 
which he joined in 1908. He is now president of its executive board. In his 
business affairs he has made steady progress, his capable management and in- 
defatigable industry constituting the basis upon which he has builded his pros- 
perity. He seems to know just when and where to put forth efifort to the best 
advantage, and as the years go by he is steadily forging ahead, his labors being 
attended with excellent results. 



C. MINSINGER. 



C. Minsinger, founder and president of the Star Sand Company of Portland, 
in which connection he has developed an enterprise of importance to the com- 
munity as well as a source of substantial profit to himself, was born in Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, October 16, 1855, and is a son of Gotlieb and Caroline (Eichleay) 
Minsinger. The father, a native of Germany, was brought to this country when 
only four years of age and after rearing a family of seven sons and three 
daughters, all of whom are living in Pittsburg with the exception of the subject 
of this review, he passed away at the ripe old age of eighty-four years. He was 
one of the oldest and most successful teamsters of Pittsburg. For many years 
he engaged in dealing in sand and gravel there and made that undertaking one 
of the most important and profitable industries of the city. His widow still 
resides in Pittsburg at the advanced age of eighty-three years. 

C. Minsinger of this review acquired his education in the schools of Pitts- 
burg and was also graduated with honor from Dufif's College, one of the oldest 
of the city. For several years, or until about 1876, he worked for his father and 
gained a knowledge of the line of business in which he is now engaged. In 1876, 




C. MINSINGER 



S -uv,i 



•; - • 






<Bi 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 295 

however, he went to Japan with a cargo of Kentucky horses for the [apanese 
government. His trip to the Orient was most interesting, giving him clear 
insight into the httle people of that kingdom. Following his return to Americd 
he organized the Star Sand Company of Pittsburg and afterward in connec- 
tion with others organized the Iron City Sand Company, in the incorporation of 
which was merged the Star Sand Company and the Monongahela Company. 
The Iron City Sand Company is still in existence in Pittsburg and Mr. Minsinger 
remains as one of its stockholders. It is a very prosperous business, having been 
established upon a safe foundation, while modern business methods were employed 
in the management. 

The opportunities of the west attracted Mr. Minsinger in July, 1889. At this 
date he arrived in Portland and organized the Star Sand Company of this city, 
of which he is the president. For twenty-one years he has been at the head of 
the business which has developed along substantial lines and is one of the most 
important industries of this character in the northweset. He is also well known 
as an importer of horses and has brought to this country a number of Belgium 
horses that have been prize winners at the Portland fairs and other fairs in this 
section of the country. He is the owner of an excellent stock farm on Sandy 
road, thirty miles east of Portland. 

In 1891 Mr. Minsinger was united in marriage to Miss Caroline Bunton, of 
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, a daughter of William and Caroline Bunton. Her 
father was a noted boat builder of Pittsburg, whose fame in that connection has 
gone abroad throughout the entire country. Mr. and Mrs. Minsinger have two 
daughters, Edna Irene and Helen B. 

The parents are members of the First Presbyterian church and Mr. Minsinger 
is a prominent Mason, having attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish 
Rite. He is also a popular member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and of the Elks lodge and holds membership in the Multnomah Club. Social 
qualities render him popular, while business abihty has gained him prominence. 
His powers of organization and his executive force have enabled him to develop 
a business of extensive proportions and his record is hot only written in terms of 
success but also in terms of enterprise, energy and perseverance. At a source of 
recreation he enjoys driving and shooting. 



BENJAMIN W. POWELL. 

Among the veterans of the Civil war who did valiant service for the Union 
and later settled on the Pacific coast, is Benjamin W. Powell of Portland. He 
is a son of George W. and Margaret (Miller) Powell, and was born in De Kalb 
county, Indiana, March 9, 1844. He comes of good American ancestry. His 
grandfather, Benjamin Powell, served in the war of 1812, and was wounded 
at the battle of Sackett's Harbor. The father was a farmer and served as first 
justice of the peace of Fairfield township, De Kalb county. His brother, John 
G. Powell, was a member of the One Hundredth Indiana Volunteers, and died 
in service at Vicksburg. Mississippi. 

Benjamin W. Powell was reared on a farm and educated in the common 
schools. Shortly after he had passed his seventeenth year, the early battles of 
the Civil war created intense excitement all over the country and, like thou- 
sands of patriotic young men in the north, he responded to President Lincoln's 
call to arms, and at Toledo, Ohio, on the 22d of August, 1861, he enlisted to 
serve three years, or during the war. He was mustered into the United States 
service at Toledo as a private of Captain Jacob W. Brown's Company C, Four- 
teenth Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry, Colonel James B. Steadman com- 
panding. In the winter of 1861-62 he was sent to a hospital at Lexington, Ken- 
tucky, and when able to be forwarded, he rejoined his regiment at Mill Springs, 

14 



296 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Kentucky, and from there was sent to a hospital at Louisville, was granted a 
furlough and returned home, receiving an honorable discharge on the ist of 
April, 1862, by reason of disability. He reenlisted at Indianapolis, Indiana, on 
the 19th of August, 1862, for another term of three years, or during the war, 
and was mustered in as a private of Captain Carl C. Kingsbury's Company C, 
Seventy-fourth Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which was commanded 
by Colonel Charles W. Chapman. The regiment proceeded to Indianapolis, 
where eight companies were mustered into the service August 21, 1862, and 
at once moved to Louisville, Kentucky. From this point the regiment went to 
Bowling Green, Kentucky, where it remained until September 5, and then re- 
turned to Louisville.. On the ist of October it marched with the Second Bri- 
gade, First Division, Army of the Ohio, in pursuit of General Bragg, and his 
command participated in that campaign and in the battle of Perryville or Chap- 
lin Hills, Kentucky. Companies C and K joined the regiment at Castillian 
Springs, Tennessee, December 4, 1862, thus making the organization complete. 
December 7 it aided in driving Morgan's force across the Cumberland river at 
Hartsville and on the 25th marched northward, overtaking the enemy December 
30 and driving them across the Rolling Fork of Salt river. The regiment was 
now assigned to the Second Brigade, Third Division, Fourteenth Corps, Army 
of the Cumberland, and participated in the following engagements : Stone River, 
or Murfreesboro, and Hoover's Gap, Tennessee; Dug Gap, Chickamauga, Geor- 
gia ; Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain and Missionary Ridge, Tennessee ; Buz- 
zard Roost, or Tunnel Hill, Resaca, Rome, Dallas, or New Hope Church, Kene- 
saw Mountain, Lost Mountain, Chattahoochee River, Peach Tree Creek, the 
siege of Atlanta, Jonesboro, Love joy Station, the march to the sea and Sa- 
vannah, Georgia; Averasboro and Bentonville, North Carolina; and a number 
of minor engagements. April 30, 1865, the regiment started for Washington, 
D. C, encamping near Richmond, Virginia, and arriving at the national capital 
May 19, where it participated in the grand review on the 24th and remained 
there until June 9, when it was mustered out of service. Private Powell was 
slightly wounded several times, but did not leave his regiment. With two com- 
panies of the Seventy-fourth Indiana he was captured at Mumfordville, Ken- 
tucky, September 17, 1862, the detachment having been surrounded by the 
enemy. He was paroled on the field, given thirty days' furlough and went home. 
At the expiration of the furlough he reported to the provost marshal and was 
sent to the Soldiers Home at Indianapolis, thence to the hospital and when 
convalescent was granted a furlough and returned home. He rejoined his regi- 
ment, having in the meantime been exchanged. These two companies, C and 
K, were left at Indianapolis to fill up their ranks and complete their organiza- 
tion, starting on the 27th of August for Bowling Green, Kentucky, to join the 
regiment, but were stopped at Mumfordville on the 30th to assist in the defense 
of that place. On the 14th of September the companies took part in an engage- 
ment at that place until compelled to surrender after a gallant defense against 
greatly superior numbers on the 17th of September, 1862. The companies were | 
exchanged November 17th and rejoined the regiment December 4th. In addi- 
tion to engagements at Mumfordville, Kentucky, Private Powell bore a gallant 
part in all other engagements of his regiment, beginning with Missionary Ridge, 
Tennessee, and he rendered faithful and meritorious service throughout the 
time of his enlistment. He received an honorable discharge at Washington, 
D. C, on the 9th day of March, 1865, by reason of the close of the war. 

After the expiration of his military service, Mr. Powell engaged in his dutiesl 
as a private citizen and later studied law, being admitted to the bar in Nebraska] 
in 1881. Soon afterward he became, by appointment, judge of the county court! 
of Colfax county, Nebraska. For seven years from 1884 he lived at Medford,! 
Oregon, and was city recorder there, holding that position until he resigned inf 
1889. He was the first city attorney of Castle Rock, Washington, and for five] 
years served as a member of its city council and also for six years filled the] 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 297 

office of justice of the peace of Castle Rock, which he resigned in August, 1907, 
to remove to Portland, where he has since made his home. 

In 1871 Mr. Powell was united in marriage to Miss Alice G. Wade, at But- 
ler county, Nebraska, and unto them one daughter was bom, Estella, now living 
at Govan, Washington. On the 5th of December, 1900, at Baltimore, Mary- 
land, Mr. Powell was married to Miss Carrie Koehler. Two sons bless this 
union, Benjamin Russell and Binger W., the elder being born March 20, 1902, 
and the younger May 9, 1905. 

Mr. Powell is a man of strong individuality, and although he did not begin 
the practice of law until middle life, he threw so much energy into his work 
that he has attained success as an attorney and even surpassed many who started 
earlier in the race, with advantages of college and technical training. Energy, 
perseverance and determination have accomplished for him what they will ac- 
complish for any ambitious man, if properly directed. Mr. Powell is a member 
of General Compson Post No. 22, Department of Oregon, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and also of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has many 
friends in the northwest who admire him for his manly qualities. 



GEORGE W. WILCOX. 

Farming and merchandising have claimed the attention of George W. Wil- 
cox, but at the present time he is living retired in Portland. The initial page of 
his life record was written December 26, 1831, on which day he was born in 
Putnam county, Ohio, his parents being Joel and Sarah Wilcox. The father was 
a farmer who settled in Putnam county, Ohio, during the pioneer epoch in its 
history. Again he became identified with pioneer life on his removal to the 
Pacific coast in 1847. The difficulties of travel at that time cannot be realized 
at the present day, nor the unsettled condition of the country. Both the father 
and mother died of fever at Vancouver, Washington, soon after their arrival. 

George W. Wilcox was a pupil in the district schools of his native county in 
his youthful days and afterward assisted his father in the farm work until 
1847, when the family started westward, leaving their Ohio home in March. 
Ox teams drew the heavy wagons over the prairies of the Mississippi valley, 
the long stretches of hot sand that constitute the desert and over the mountains 
of the Cascade range. Only a few families left Ohio at that time, but many 
others joined the train in Missouri and about nine months were consumed in 
making the trip. The first winter was spent in the vicinity of Vancouver, and 
in the spring a removal was made to a point near Salem, Oregon. Both parents 
died of mountain fever, and George W. Wilcox became ill of the same disease 
and did not regain his health for about a year. He worked for his brother-in- 
law, who came to the northwest in the same train, remaining in his employ until 
1852, when he was old enough to get land of his own. He then bought out his 
brother-in-law and became the owner of six hundred and forty acres, but found 
that the place was not healthful, and he vacated it after living thereon for about 
a year. At that time he took up his abode near Forest Grove, and later he made 
his way to the coast, where he continued for about eighteen months. His health 
had become much impaired, but he was greatly improved by his sojourn by the 
ocean. 

Mr. Wilcox then returned to Washington county, Oregon, and on the ist 
of February, 1856, was married. Subsequently he purchased a tract of land near 
Forest Grove, which he owned and occupied for eight years, when he sold out 
and settled upon a farm only two miles from the city, renting that place. After 
about two years, he removed to Polk county, Oregon, where he purchased land 
and bought a sawmill, which he operated for three years. On disposing of that 
property he returned to the vicinity of Forest Grove, where he again cultivated 



298 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

rented land and later purchased a place, making his home thereon for fifteen 
years, during which period he followed farming. He then sold out and removed 
to Portland, opening a grocery store on Union avenue, which he carried on for 
a year, when ill health caused him to dispose of his stock. He has since lived 
retired, but is yet the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of land in Morrow 
county, Oregon, which he secured as a homestead. Throughout his life he has 
made good use of his time and opportunities, diligently carrying on business 
unless prevented by the condition of his health. As the years have gone by, 
he has won a substantial measure of prosperity, enabling him to provide his 
family with the comforts of life. 

Mr. Wilcox wedded Miss Mary E. Dickson, a daughter of Joshua and Mary 
E. (Lewis) Dickson, who were pioneers of Oregon of 1845. Her father was 
born in Tennessee and her mother in Kentucky, and in the latter state they 
were married. They came over the plains in 1845 ^^id settled near Forest Grove, 
where both died. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Wilcox were born nine children : John E., 
now deceased, married Miss Ellen Newvill, and they had two children : Belle, 
who is the wife of Elmer Shields and has five children — Irma, Ivan, Hugh, 
Wanda and Carl ; and Mattie, who married George Shields and has a daughter, 
Helen. Alice, who has also passed away, was the wife of Frank Baker and had 
three children — Lulu, Rosie and Mellie, the first named being now Mrs. Wil- 
liamson and has five children. William J., the third of the family, is deceased. 
Jacob is a farmer of Wheeler county, Oregon. Tracy, also living in Wheeler 
county, married Eva Lang. Isaiah C., who wedded Nora Dickey, is deceased. 
Sarah E. is the wife of M. R. Van Horn of Portland, and they have five chil- 
dren : Charles, Leroy, Laura, Ernest and Lloyd. Minnie has departed this 
life. FeHx M., the youngest of the family, is living at Walla Walla, Washing- 
ton. He married Laura Everest and has one child, Veda. 

Mr. Wilcox has long been a stalwart republican, but aside from some minor 
offices, has never served in political positions. He is a member of the Metho- 
dist church, and its teachings have been the guiding principle of his life. He 
has always endeavored to live peaceably with his fellowmen, to deal honorably 
in business and to faithfully perform the duties of citizenship and regard home 
ties. At the age of seventy-nine years, he receives the veneration and respect 
which should ever be accorded to a long and well spent life. 



THOMAS J. MONAHAN. 

Thomas J. Monahan, postmaster of St. Johns and for many years con- 
nected with the Portland Light & Power Company, is a native of Schuylkill 
county, Pennsylvania, born January 27, 1854, and when a boy of eleven years, 
removed with his parents, Patrick and Rose (Macken) Monahan, to Nodaway 
county, Missouri, where the family settled upon a farm. He received his edu- 
cation in the public schools of Pennsylvania, and had little opportunity later to 
add to his school knowledge. The little farm of forty acres, which was located 
forty miles from St. Joseph, Missouri, did not pay very well in that early day 
and as the means of the family were limited, the son sought employment from 
neighboring farmers. He was hired by John Mofiit, of Nine Hickories, Mis- 
souri, and his first wage was ten dollars a month and board, continuing through 
two seasons. A goodly share of this money went toward the support of the 
family. He next entered the employ of John Maharry of West Point, Worth 
county, Missouri, where he also received ten dollars a month and continued for 
two seasons. By means of odd jobs at dififerent times he acquired a little capital. 
One of these excursions into the realm of money making consisted of delivering 
a drove of hogs at a point forty miles distant, the trip requiring seventeen days. 
The boy was then only fifteen years of age. He next went to work for the 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 299 

Chicago & Southwestern Railroad in the construction of its Hne and received 
twenty-five dollars per month. Being fairly started on a successful business 
career, after awhile he returned to his Missouri home and entered the employ 
of C. D. Lyman, where he learned blacksmithing, horseshoeing and wagon- 
making, becoming quite an expert in these various departments. In 1872 he 
purchased an interest in the shop, and in the same year married the daughter of 
the proprietor. 

In 1875 Mr. Monahan had the opportunity of visiting portions of the west 
which he had not seen, as traveling salesman for C. D. Blodgett, who manu- 
factured tire shrinkers. He returned once more to the home farm, but in 1881, 
becoming convinced that he could improve his finances by setting his face west- 
ward, he came direct to Portland, and since that time has been identified with 
the northwest. In 1882 he went to St. Johns and for over twenty-one years 
was connected with the Willamette Bridge & Railroad Company, and differ- 
ent mergers which has since been merged into the Portland Light & Power Com- 
pany. He began as rodman on the engineering corps and later he was con- 
ductor on the first car that entered St. Johns. This car was operated by a steam 
motor. He continued as conductor on the line until 1896, but has ever since 
been connected with the Portland Light & Power Company and has been post- 
master of St. Johns since the 21st of July, 1910. 

In 1872 Mr. Monahan was united in marriage to Miss Julia Lyman, of 
Gentry county, Missouri. They have had seven children, of whom three are 
living: W. H. ; E. F., and Viola Belle, the wife of C. H. Thayer. Mr. Monahan 
has been actively interested in affairs of the city and was a member of the first 
city council of St. Johns in 1902 and 1904. He is a member of the Modern 
Woodmen of America, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and is a 
trustee of the United Evangelical church. In political affiliations he is identified 
with the republican party. While he has seen many ups and downs in life, he 
has never lost faith in ultimate victory, and he has the confidence and respect of 
many friends and acquaintances, and has fairly earned the honors which have 
come to him in recent years. 



JOHN M. PITTENGER. 

John M. Pittenger, who was attracted to Oregon from the east more than 
thirty years ago, and for some years past has been actively identified with the 
real-estate interests of Portland, first saw the light of day at Spencer, Medina 
county, Ohio, August 18, 1855. He is a son of John S. and Mary (Garver) 
Pittenger. He grew up amid favorable surroundings and received a good com- 
mon-school education, after which he became a student at Oberlin College, Ohio, 
but did not graduate. At the age of eighteen years, desiring to be self-support- 
ing, he began as a school teacher and for several years taught in Ohio and 
Michigan. By reading and inquiry, Mr. Pittenger reached the conclusion that 
Oregon presented an inviting field and at twenty-three years of age, in 1878, he 
came to this state and entered upon the study of law. From 1880 to 1882 he 
acted as deputy district attorney under Judge J. F. Caples. Later he pursued 
his studies in the Oregon Law School, from which he was graduated in 1886, with 
the degree of LL. B., and is today the only living representative of the first law 
class of the State University of Oregon. After practicing for a short time, he 
became interested in financial matters, and was one of the organizers of the 
Bank of Albina, being connected with this institution until 1893. Previous to 
this time he had acted as justice of the peace of lower Albina. He was a mem- 
ber of the commission that built the Burnside bridge and has been prominently 
connected with many other improvements in this vicinity. The real-estate and 
insurance business has claimed a large share of his time during recent years. 



300 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

On June 15, 1887, Mr. Pittenger was united in marriage to Miss Hermine 
C Kraeft, a daughter of John and Caroline Kraeft, who have been residents of 
Oregon since 1880. Coming to this state ahnost a generation ago, when the 
country was much more thinly settled than at the present time, Mr. Pittenger 
has witnessed many remarkable changes and has assisted materially in the trans- 
formation. He is a member of Crescent Lodge No. 10, A. O. U. W., and also 
of the Rose City Camp, Woodmen of the World. The fraternal principles of 
those orders find in a man of his genial temperament a ready response. Having 
had varied experiences in life, Mr. Pittenger years ago learned to take a broad 
view of man, his duties and responsibilities, believing that in the end we all get 
what we earn and that true success in life belongs only to him who deserves it. 



WILLIAM LIND. 



William Lind, a well known grading contractor of Portland, was born in 
the state of Saratof, Russia, December 7, 1866. His parents were Jacob and 
Catherine (Altergott) Lind, members of a German colony, which was estab- 
lished over one hundred and fifty years ago by Catherine II, empress of Russia. 
Catherine was a German princess, a daughter of the Prince of Anhalt-Zerbst. 
who was also a Russian field marshal and governor of Stettin. At sixteen years 
of age his daughter was united in marriage to Peter III, czar of Russia, and by 
her request a number of German families were established in Russia under the 
condition that the young men would be exempt from military duty for a speci- 
fied period. Her husband being assassinated, Catherine ruled as empress of 
Russia for thirty-four years. Her reign was remarkable for the rapid increase 
of Russian power. She always treated the German colony with great kindness. 

William Lind remained with his parents until he was nineteen years of age. 
He received his education in the public schools, and then learned the flouring 
mill business, becoming first assistant foreman and later general foreman of the 
mill. At the age of nineteen, in 1885, he came to America, and after spending 
about a month in New Yfork city, he traveled westward as far as Denver, where 
he remained for about eight months. Since 1886 he has been a resident of Port- 
land. He began in this city in the employ of paving contractors but in 1887 
was connected with the Portland Flouring Mills. In 1888 he became perma- 
nently identified with the contracting business and was in charge of the first 
hydraulic work that was ever done in Portland, this being on Russell street eight 
or nine years ago. He successfully handled the contract for the big cut run- 
ning from the Willamette to the Columbia rivers. This work was done for the 
Great Northern Railroad, and was a very large undertaking, being all laid in 
hydraulic cement. He has done a large amount of bridge and road work in 
Clarke county, Washington, and in other localities, and is known as one of the 
responsible contractors of the city. He is now engaged in the construction of 
the Riverside sewer district, one of the largest projects of its kind in the north- 
west. He is one of the organizers, principal stockholders, secretary and treas- 
urer of the Pacific Coast Westonmite Company, introducing extensively the new 
and modern Westonmite paving, which is being demonstrated to be the most per- 
fect paving yet devised. 

In May, 1886, Mr. Lind was united in marriage to Miss Anna Schmeer, a 
daughter of Adam and Liza (Green) Schmeer, who were members of the same 
colony in Russia as Mr. Lind. Nine children were bom to the union : William, 
Samuel, John, Philip, George, Daniel, Wilbert, Catherine and Jennie. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lind are both active members of the Congregational church 
and he is a member of the Herman Sohne, a Germany society of this city. He 
resides in a beautiful home in Irvington, where, in the midst of his family and 
siirrounded by his friends, he enjoys the fruits of many years of toil. He is 



J 




WILLIAM LIND 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 303 

one of the active and progressive men of western Oregon. He belongs distinct- 
ively to the type of men that "find a way or make it" wherever they are known. 
It would be difificult to conceive of a situation where such men would not suc- 
ceed. Coming to America just as he was entering into manhood, he wisely se- 
lected as his theater of operations a new country teeming with possibilities and 
responsive to the touch of energy and readily yielding its resources to the hand 
of man. His early dreams of freedom and prosperity have here largely been 
realized, and as the head of a promising family, he is recognized as one of the 
envied citizens of an intelligent community. This position he has honestly at- 
tained through the old-fashioned application of industry and perseverance, and 
easily he bears his honors as one of the able representative employers of the city. 
As a recreation, he devotes his leisure time mainly to automobiling. He has been 
a republican in politics since 1896, previous to which he was affiliated with the 
democratic party. 



OLIVER CLAY. 



Portland has especially honored her pioneers for all times in naming many 
of her streets for them. The thoroughfares of the older sections of the city 
nearly all bear the name of one who came here in early days and was closely 
associated with the substantial progress and upbuilding of the city. Among 
this number was Oliver Clay, who was born in Massillon, Ohio, on the 30th of 
March, 1827. His parents, Isaac and Mary Clay, were Quaker people and the 
Clay family was founded in America by ancestors who came from England dur- 
ing an early period in the colonization of the new world. Both Isaac and Mary 
Clay departed this life in Ohio. 

Oliver Clay pursued his education in the public schools of Massillon, and 
his first work in providing for his own support was on a farm. He later turned 
his attention to the livestock business and engaged in raising fancy stock. His 
people were all prominent farmers of Ohio, who carried on business on an ex- 
tensive scale. Continuing his residence in the Buckeye state until thirty-two 
years of age, Oliver Clay then came to Oregon in 1859, arriving here in the 
month of January. He had made the journey by the water route and the isth- 
mus of Panama, bringing with him his wife and two children. Misfortune, 
however, overtook them in the loss of all their goods, which were shipped on 
the next boat that started from Panama after they sailed. The boat on which 
the goods were sent, however, went down. Believing that he could do better 
in Oregon than in California, Mr. Clay made his way to this state and pur- 
chased a farm in Washington county, where the town of Reedville now stands. 
There he lived for about nine years, or until 1868, when he sold out and came 
to Portland. He was engaged in teaming for a time in this city and later turned 
his attention to the livery business, conducting a barn at the comer of Front 
and Jefiferson streets. There was a good demand for the horses and vehicles 
which he had for hire and he continued successfully in the business until, with 
a comfortable competence, he retired to private life about 1890. 

It was on the ist of November, 1854, in Canton, Ohio, that Mr. Clay was 
united in marriage to Miss Jane A. Elliott, a daughter of Isaac and Anne (Bow- 
man) Elliott. Mrs. Clay was born in Randolph, Ohio, June 11, 1833, and by 
her marriage became the mother of six children. Olive, born in Ohio, August 
7, 1855, was married September i, 1874, to George E. Watkins, and they be- 
came the parents of two children : Frank E., who was born September 20, 1877, 
and married Helen Chambreau; and Grace E., born May 29, 1880, who is the 
wife of Dr. George B. Story and has one son, George Watkins Story. Oscar I. 
Clay, the second member of the family, was born in Ohio, June 8, 1858, and 
died October 11, 1888. He was commercial editor of the Oregonian for a num- 



304 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

ber of years and edited the Oregon Amateur, being the first amateur editor in 
Oregon. Harry M. Clay, born May 29, i860, was the first child of the family 
born in this state. His death occurred May 30, 1898, He was married on the 
25th of September, 1884, to Miss Olive Butler, and at his death left two chil- 
dren, Frances A. and Hazel D. The former, who was born June 4, 1888, is the 
wife of James W. Pomeroy and has one child, Clay J. Hazel D. was born Sep- 
tember 10, 1893. Edwin P. Clay, the fourth member of the family, was born 
March 14, 1865, and on the 26th of December, 1888, was married to Miss Edith 
C. Thomas of Olex, Oregon. He is now located at Forsyth, Montana, where 
he is engaged in the stock business. Alice A. Clay, born January 8, 1867, was 
married April 8, 1886, to Arthur S. Gibbs, who was born at Hillsdale, Michi- 
gan, April 23, 1857, and came to Portland in 1883. Here he was cashier and 
local treasurer for the Pacific Coast Company and was always connected with 
railway interests up to the time of his death, which occurred August 6, 1902. 
Mr. Gibbs and all of the members of the Clay family who have passed away 
have been laid to rest in Riverview cemetery. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Gibbs were 
born two children: Leon C, born February 12, 1887; and Arthur E., June 25, 
1896. Achsah B., the sixth member of the Clay family, was born May 22, 
1871, and died March 20, 1873. 

Mr. and Mrs. Clay on coming to Portland established their home on Sixth 
street near Madison. Later they removed to the corner of Third and Madison 
and after five years took up their abode at the corner of Thirteenth and Market 
streets, purchasing a lot one hundred feet square. A small house was standing 
there and they occupied it until a larger residence was erected, Mr. Clay living 
there up to the time of his death. He was always a republican, but would never 
hold office. Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist church on 
Taylor street, and their many substantial qualities gained for them the kindly 
regard of all who knew them. Mr. Clay passed away December 4, 1900. He 
had survived his wife for only about a year, her death having occurred on the 
5th of November, 1899. Both were laid to rest in Riverview cemetery. They 
were widely known by the old residents of Portland. Mr. Clay's activity in 
business, his faithfulness in the church, and his loyalty in citizenship gained him 
a firm hold on the friendship and regard of those who knew him, and Clay 
street, one of the principal thoroughfares of the older district of the city, was 
named in his honor. 



HON. GEORGE CLAYTON BROWNELL. 

Few men in the state of Oregon have attained a more honorable record than 
Hon. George C. Brownell, a prominent attorney of Oregon City, and a man 
whose services in behalf of the state may be said to have marked an era in the 
annals of Oregon. The efifect of legislation which he introduced in the general 
assembly of the state will be felt for many years to come, and an examination 
of his public acts indicates that many of the measures he favored are those that 
are being fought for by friends of progress in other states of the Union. 

Mr. Brownell was born at Willsboro, New York, August 10, 1858. He is 
a son of Ambrose and Annie (Smith) Brownell, the family being of English 
ancestry and among the early colonists of New England. Ambrose Brownell 
was a native of Essex county. New York, but removed to Columbia county of 
the same state, where he continued until his death. He was a soldier in the 
Civil war, fighting for the Union as a member of Company F, One Hundred and 
Eighteenth New York Infantry. The regiment took part in many engagements 
in Virginia and at one time he was severely wounded. His wife was a native 
of Addison county, Vermont. 

After the usual course of study in the public schools and academy, George 
C. Brownell entered upon the study of law in the office of Hon. Charles L. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 305 

Beale, a member of congress of Hudson, New York, and in Albany in 1880, at 
the age of twenty-two years he was admitted to the bar. He practiced for a 
time at Frankfort, Kansas, and also served as mayor of the town from 1884 
to 1885. In January, 1886, he removed to Ness City, Kansas, and soon after- 
ward was appointed attorney for the Denver, Memphis & Atlantic Railroad, 
extending from Chetopa, Kansas, to Pueblo, Colorado. For two years he 
served as county attorney of Ness county, Kansas, but, although he had made an 
admirable start in his profession and had acquired a good reputation as a prac- 
ticing attorney throughout a wide region in the Sunflower state, he could not 
resist a call that came from the northwest, and in June, 1891, he took up his 
residence in Oregon City, where he has since made his home. 

It required a very short time for Mr. Brownell to become recognized among 
his brethren at the bar as a good lawyer and one who was destined to attain 
prominence in his profession. His business increased rapidly and his clients are 
among the leaders in all lines of business in western Oregon. He has all his 
life been a supporter of the principles of the republican party, and in 1892 was 
a nominee of the party for state senator. Under the law of the state, however, 
he was obliged to decline the honor at that time, as he had been a resident of 
Oregon for less than a year. He was made chairman of the delegation from 
the county convention to the state convention and was chairman of the republi- 
can central committee of Clackamas county during the campaign of 1892. In 
1894 he was nominated by acclamation as state senator, an office which he occu- 
pied for three terms of four years each, extending over a period of twelve years. 
In the special session of 1898 he was chosen by his party caucus to present the 
name of Hon. Joseph Simon to the joint assembly as the candidate for United 
States senator. In 1900 he received the unanimous indorsement of the republi- 
cans of Clackamas county for member of congress. During the session of the 
state legislature in 1901, when the hope of electing a senator was almost aban- 
doned, Mr. Brownell presented the name of John H. Mitchell, who was elected 
to the office. He also succeeded in the session of 1903-4 in securing the election 
of Hon. C. W. Fulton to the United States senatorship, full credit for this act 
being given him by Senator Fulton in a speech which he made immediately 
after the deciding ballot had been cast. 

As a hard-working member of the state senate, Mr. Brownell was instru- 
mental in framing much legislation which has been of great value to the state. 
He introduced a resolution for an amendment to the state constitution, pro- 
viding for the initiative and referendum. This measure was brought forward 
in the session of 1901, and through Mr. Brownell's efforts, seconded by the 
votes of many members of both houses, the resolution was adopted and later 
was submitted to the vote of the people, and it was confirmed by popular suf- 
frage, thus providing a means for the passage of the primary law, giving the 
people of Oregon the power to nominate their state officers without the aid of 
state or county conventions and also to elect United States senators by popular 
vote. Mr. Brownell was also author of the law providing that supervisors may 
be elected instead of being appointed ; of a bill exempting to every laboring man 
who is the head of a family thirty days' wages from attachment and execution 
for debt and other measures of state-wide importance. At each session he in- 
troduced a bill authorizing the calling of a constitutional convention to revise 
the organic law of the state and secured the passage of the bill through the 
senate in 1901, but in the house it was defeated by two votes. He was the 
author of a bill to elect precinct assessors instead of county assessors, and suc- 
ceeded in securing the passage of this act in the senate, but it was defeated in 
the house by a very small majority. He introduced a resolution calling for the 
appointment of a committee to investigate the school funds of the state, and 
was made chairman of the committee which later reported a shortage of thirty 
thousand in the school funds and stopped abuses which threatened to dissipate 



306 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the money that should be used for educational purposes. Mr. Brov/nell was 
president of the senate in 1902, 1903 and 1904, and continued as a member until 
1906, since which time he has devoted his attention mainly to the practice of 
law. While acting as presiding officer of the senate, by a unanimous vote of 
both houses of the legislature, he was selected to deliver the address of wel- 
come to President Roosevelt on the occasion of the president's visit to Oregon 
May 22, 1903. This was a distinguished honor. The address is an eloquent and 
beautiful tribute not only to the chief executive of the nation, but to the spirit 
of the people, whose representatives voiced their sentiments through the pre- 
siding officer of the highest legislative body in the state. The address is as 
follows : 

"In behalf of the legislative assembly of the state of Oregon, we welcome 
you to this state. I know that I express the welcome of each member of both 
houses of our legislative assembly, irrespective of political creed. We welcome 
you as president and chief executive of the greatest people and greatest country 
in the civilized world. We welcome you also because we believe you stand for 
the highest ideals of American citizenship. 

"We welcome you because we believe that in your personality you represent 
more strongly than any other public character in America the energy, the push- 
ing and progressive spirit of all Americans. 

"We welcome you because we believe that you represent and stand for the 
high and legitimate claims of labor and capital to unite without repression from 
either in the upbuilding and development of the material resources of this re- 
public. 

"We welcome you because we feel that we can see in you that same spirit 
that has been illustrated so many times by our fathers in this, that wherever we 
go as a people, wherever we stand, we stand for the right and a higher civiliza- 
tion ; and 'wherever our flag is put, there it shall stay put.' 

"We welcome you because we believe that you stand for the idea that a 
nation or a people can never stand still, that they must go forward and upward 
or else the race will retrograde. 

"We welcome you because we believe that whatever problems we as a people 
have to meet, whether they be in the coal fields of Pennsylvania or on the Pacific 
sea or in the Orient, that you will meet them as the chief magistrate of this 
country in a spirit of high liberal statesmanship, all the time governed with the 
idea that what is right for us to have, that we shall have. 

"And again, I assume the responsibility here of welcoming you in behalf 
of the Second Oregon Regiment of Volunteers who served eight thousand miles 
across the sea in the Philippine Islands to uphold the same flag that was so 
upheld by you and those under you on that July day on San Juan Hill." 

On the 28th of September, 1876, at Rockland, Massachusetts. Mr. Brownell 
was united in marriage to Miss Alma C. Lan. Two sons have been born to 
them, Howard and Ambrose. Mrs. Brownell is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and Mr. Brownell is connected with a number of fraternal organiza- 
tions, among them the Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, the Improved Order of Red Men, the Knights of the Maccabees, the 
Woodmen of the World and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. As is to 
be clearly seen by even a cursory glance at the salient points in the career of 
Mr. Brownell, he is a man of determined character. He is also the happy pos- 
sessor of great resources within himself, which he can marshal when occasion 
offers. He is a live factor in the community and whatever his hands find to 
do he does with all his might. As a lawyer he has proven to be a safe coun- 
sellor, an able pleader and in the courtroom an opponent who gains the respect 
even of his bitterest adversary. He is a clear and forcible speaker, and has a 
mind well stored not only with lore gathered from law books, but with facts 
gleaned from the great fields of literature which have been his recreation and 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 307 

delight. He is diligent in his profession, active in pursuit of truth, and always 
lends a willing ear to calls upon his time or service, even when there is no 
expectation of pecuniary reward. He has earned the place he occupies as a 
citizen whose record is a complete refutation of the claim that all men have 
their price and that no man can engage in public life for a series of years and 
retire with an unsullied reputation. 



TOM PHOCION RANDALL. 

Tom Phocion Randall, postmaster of Oregon City, was born in that city 
November 22, 1863, a son of Noble Warren and Susannah Randall. His father, 
who was a native of Ohio, was born in 1825 and came to Oregon over the trail 
in 1852. He lived for many years in Oregon City and Clackamas county and 
occupied many public offices of trust. He was a man of high character and 
many noble impulses, and was one of the most popular citizens in this part of 
the state. He died on the 30th of May, 1890. Mrs. Randall was a native of 
Kentucky, where she was born in 183 1. She survived her husband for fifteen 
years, and was called to rest after a long Hfe of usefulness in 1905. 

The subject of our review was reared under highly favorable auspices and 
was educated in the public schools of Oregon City and at the Portland Business 
College. After leaving school he was for some time in the employ of the Mil- 
waukie Flouring Mills of Milwaukie, Oregon, as bookkeeper. Giving up that 
position, he entered the real-estate business with Thomas F. Ryan in Oregon 
City and there gained a thorough knowledge of a line which is one of the neces- 
sary elements in the growth of any city. He became a member of the Oregon 
City Transportation Company, and for five years acted as purser of the com- 
pany. Like his father, he possesses the traits which are essential to those who 
succeed in public life, and it required no special effort on his part to gain a 
seat in the city council, over which body he presided during the years 1891, 1892 
and 1893. In 1898 he again was elected to office, this time as county recorder, 
in which position he served with general acceptance for two terms. In 1903 he 
was appointed postmaster, and in 1907 was reappointed to the same office, hav- 
ing shown a capability which was greatly appreciated by the business men and 
citizens generally. He has been a lifelong republican, and is an ardent supporter 
of the principles of the party. 

On the 5th of November, 1895, Mr. Randall was united in marriage to Miss 
Violet A. Matthieu, the youngest daughter of F. X. Matthieu of Butteville, 
Oregon. She was called away in 1896, leaving no issue. Mr. Randall was 
again married at Oregon City on the 3d of April, 1904, to Miss Nellie E. Boyd, 
by whom he has one child, Velma Margaret, who was born April 3, 1905. 

Mr. Randall has at various times been connected with movements having 
for their aim the improvement and advancement of this region. He was a 
member of Company F, Oregon National Guard, and served as lieutenant of 
that organization. He has passed through the chairs of Oregon Camp No. 3, 
I. O. O. F., and also of Falls Encampment No. 4, I. O. O. F., and Watchene 
Tribe No. 13, I. O. R. M. He holds membership in Oregon City Lodge No. 
1 189, B. P. O. E., and at the present time is president of the Oregon City Com- 
mercial Club, which is one of the leading factors in the upbuilding of this city. 

Mr. Randall has passed his life in the community where he now resides and 
the honorable position he occupies is evidence of the esteem in which he is held 
by those to whom he is best known. It would be difficult to find a higher in- 
dorsement than that of our lifelong neighbors and friends. In all his acts, Mr. 
Randall has been governed by a desire to be just, and in no case to exact more 
than that which is due. As postmaster he is courteous and obliging, and the 
office is administered in a way that meets the commendation of citizens and of 



308 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the authorities at Washington. He acts upon the principle so ably enunciated 
by Theodore Roosevelt that the office holder is exercising a trust for the benefit 
of the people, and the first consideration which he should keep constantly in 
view is honest and efficient service. The permanency of free institutions depends 
in a large measure on the application of these principles. 



PAUL WESSINGER. 



To speak of Paul Wessinger only in business connections would be to give 
but a one-sided view of his life, for, aside from his genius for organization and 
his powers of management resulting in the substantial control of one of the im- 
portant productive industries of the city, operating under the name of the Henry 
Weinhard Brewery, his interests and activities have important bearing upon 
municipal progress and upon that broader development which finds tangible ex- 
pression in art and music. He was born in Esslingen, southern Germany, on 
the 9th of February, 1859. His father, William Wessinger, was professor of 
Latin at Stuttgart, Germany, to which place he removed when his son Paul 
was but six years of age. He continued to devote his life to educational in- 
terests until 1877, when he passed away at the age of forty-six. 

Paul Wessinger pursued his education in the high school of Stuttgart, bene- 
fiting largely by instruction there received, for the educational system of that 
city was taken as a model throughout Germany on the reorganization of the 
empire in 1871. Following his graduation in 1877 Mr. Wessinger took the ex- 
aminations for an officer in the German army and made the required grades. 
He then finished his education with a course in a mercantile school and entered 
business life in connection with a large linen mill, serving there for about five 
years, the first two years being devoted to an apprenticeship, while three years 
were spent upon the road as representative for the house in northern and cen- 
tral Germany. This brought him in close contact with many of the most prom- 
inent merchants and gave him insight into business methods which were fol- 
lowed. 

In November, 1885, Mr. Wessinger came to Portland and entered the Wein- 
hard Brewery in order to learn the business. He worked in every department, 
beginning in a most humble capacity and advancing step by step through suc- 
cessive promotions until he became Mr. Weinhard's right-hand man, so continu- 
ing until the latter's death. In 1892 Mr. Wessinger made a trip through Ger- 
many, studying the methods and machinery in use in the breweries of that coun- 
try during his six months' sojourn there. Upon the death of Mr. Weinhard in 
1904 he became one of the executors of the estate and has since had the active 
management of both the brewery and the estate. 

While the extent and importance of his business afifairs make continuous de- 
mand upon his time, he yet finds opportunity for cooperation in public affairs 
wherein Portland is directly benefited. He was one of the original fifteen di- 
rectors of the Lewis and Clarke Exposition and was chairman of the grounds 
and building committee. He also served as one of the sub-committee of three 
which selected the grounds, choosing a district which for natural beauty and 
scenic environment could not be surpassed. He was one of the first workers 
in the movement to secure the exposition and contributed in large measure to its 
success. In 1906 he served as one of the trustees of the Chamber of Commerce 
and at the present time he is a member of the Portland Live Stock Association. 
He is also president of the Oregon Brewers Association and he is interested in 
many of those things to which men devote their leisure — interests which work 
for culture and intellectual expansion as well as recreation. He belongs to the 
Commercial Club, to the Chamber of Commerce, the Manufacturers Associa- 
tion, the Arlington Club and various German societies. He has always been a 





* 




^^^^^^■|^K~ 


^':H 






1 




'''^^y-- ^^^i^^^^^^^^^^i 


*J 




'-._ ,A^yi|jj|^^^H 


r 










l^^ ^ 




^I^^^^H 


/. ^^^^H' 




p.„.^^^ 




W ':■'' 


ilK^BK: 






f 


/:•#'' ' ■■■ 




:: *' 



PAUL WESSINGER 






5 '-' 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 311 

lover of music, is a member of the Apollo Club and in 1905 was president of 
the Northern Pacific Sangerbund. Moreover, he is a devotee of art and was one 
of a committee of five who selected the silver service for the battleship Oregon. 
Fine horses claim his attention to some extent and he has a large stable, being 
the owner of Hal B, which has the record for speed on the coast of 2:043/4. He 
has done much to improve the stock in the northwest and in this connection his 
work deserves more than passing credit. 

In December, 1885, Mr. Wessinger was married, in Portland, to Miss Anna 
Weinhard, and they have two children : Milla and Henry William, aged twenty- 
three and twenty-two years. Such is the history of one who is today recog- 
nized as among Portland's most prominent citizens. He has wisely utilized his 
time and talents in the attainment of success, but his interests have been by no 
means self-centered, his labors extending to the social, intellectual, esthetic and 
political activities which are the chief forces in society and municipal organiza- 
tion. Such is his personal worth and social qualities that all who know him are 
glad to call him friend. 



REV. A. HILLEBRAND. 

Rev. A. Hillebrand, pastor of St. John's parish, Oregon City, is one of the 
leading moral and religious forces of western Oregon. A representative of the 
Teutonic race, he came to America many years ago. and has been a powerful 
instrument in advancing the prosperity of the northwest. He was born at Brilon, 
Westphalia, Germany, July 19, 1859, and is a son of A. and Catherine (Weber) 
Hillebrand. After the usual course in the elementary schools, he attended the 
gymnasium, where he was graduated in 1881, and was matriculated at the 
University of Munster, later becoming a student at the American College in 
the University of Louvain. After two years in theology and philosophy, he was 
ordained to the priesthood June 28, 1885, at Louvain by Right Rev. Aegidius 
Junger, bishop of Nesqually, of the state of Washington, who was at the time 
in Belgium. He came with Bishop Junger to Oregon, and was placed in charge 
of the missions of the eastern part of Oregon, in a district two hundred and fifty 
by three hundred miles in extent. His duties required his presence in many 
places over this extensive region, then thinly inhabited. He traveled on horse- 
back and for three years lived the life of a pioneer missionary priest. 

In his work in a new country, surrounded by many difficulties which are al- 
most unknown at the present time, Father Hillebrand displayed a zeal and capa- 
bility which led to his appointment July 4, 1888. as pastor of St. John's parish, 
Oregon City. Here he has ever since remained and his efiforts have been crowned 
with an abundant measure of success. St John's is recognized as one of the 
best organized parishes in Oregon, and during the last twenty, years the church 
has been enlarged to twice its original size, the last addition having been made 
in 1902. A new parochial residence was erected, and in 1907 the McLoughlin 
Institute was added as a crowning feature of the educational system of the 
parish. This institution is the outgrowth of St. John's parochial and high schools 
and is named in honor of Dr. John McLoughlin, who has been given the title 
of Father of Oregon, and whose bones repose in St. John's churchyard. The 
institution is a monument to his memory. Father Hillebrand has been a prorni- 
nent worker in the effort to preserve the old McLoughlin home at Oregon City 
as a memorial to one who will long be remembered as a leader in pioneer days. 

On the 28th of June, 1910, was celebrated the silver jubilee of the entrance 
of Father Hillebrand to the priesthood. The occasion attracted a great throng 
of his friends and admirers. A local paper in the course of an extensive article 
had the following to say : "Rev. A. Hillebrand, pastor of St. John's, Oregon City, 
on Tuesday of this week, celebrated the twenty-fifth anniversary of his ordina- 



312 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

tion to the priesthood. Most Rev. Alexander Christie and a large number of 
the archdiocesan clergy were present at the jubilee services. Solemn high mass 
was celebrated at ten o'clock by the reverend jubilarian in the presence of a 
congregation which filled St. John's church to the doors. At one o'clock dinner 
was served to the visiting clergy, and in the evening a public reception was held 
in McLoughlin hall at which a great throng gathered. It was a joyful occa- 
sion for the people of Oregon City, both Catholic and non-Catholic, who turned 
out in great numbers to present their felicitations to Father Hillebrand who has 
earned their affection and gratitude by twenty-two years of zealous labors in 
their community." In the evening of this auspicious occasion, a public reception 
was tendered in McLoughlin hall, the Grand Army band serenading Father 
Hillebrand at his residence and accompanying him to the hall, where congratu- 
latory addresses were made by clergymen and distinguished laymen, most of 
them non-Catholics, and a purse was presented to the jubilarian in behalf of 
the parishioners. 

During the time Father Hillebrand has been spiritual director of St. John's 
parish, he has made hosts of friends, both within the church and without. A 
worthy disciple of a world-wide faith, he has at all times exerted a kindly and 
helpful influence and has radiated an atmosphere among his own people that 
has been a constant incentive to a higher life. He is a member of the Catholic 
Knights of America. An old book says : "He who turns many to righteousness 
shall shine as the stars forever." Such, in the opinion of friends and admirers 
of this beloved pastor, is the reward to which he may aspire, as also it may be 
the reward of all worthy disciples of a Christian faith whose lives are governed 
by principles of rectitude and truth. 



PHINEAS T. HANSON. 

Phineas T. Hanson, a veteran of the Civil war, now living retired at St. 
Johns, was born on a farm near Palmyra in Somerset county, Maine, April 20, 
1842, a son of James and Hannah Hanson. After receiving the usual education 
at the district school, he was in attendance at a private school at Newport, 
Maine, when President Lincoln issued his call for volunteers to suppress the 
rebellion. The summons to arms met a ready response from all the loyal states, 
and at the age of nineteen Phineas T. Hanson enlisted, September 2, 1861, from 
Somerset county, for three years, or during the war. He was mustered into 
the United States service at Augusta, Maine, on the 22d of September, 1861, 
as a private of Company C, Ninth Regiment Maine Volunteer Infantry, Colonel 
Richworth commanding. He was honorably discharged at Black Island, South 
Carolina, December 31, 1863, but reenlisted as a veteran in the same company 
and regiment the following day to serve for three years, or during the war, his 
captain being George W. Brown and his colonel George F. Granger. The Ninth 
Maine Infantry was organized in September, 1861, under Colonel Horatio Biz- 
bee, who was later succeeded in command by Colonels Richworth, Emery, Rob- 
inson and Granger. 

On September 24, 1861, the command left the state of Maine for Washing- 
ton and after remaining there two weeks, sailed for Hilton Head, South Caro- 
lina. The entire year of 1862 was spent in garrison duty in Florida, and in 
January, 1863, the regiment returned to Hilton Head, where it remained on 
picket duty until the following June. The regiment then joined the forces op- 
erating in Charleston Harbor under command of Colonel Emery and partici- 
pated in the assault of Strong's brigade on Fort Wagner, and in the opening 
fight on Morris Island, South Carolina, capturing two of the enemy's flags. In 
October, 1863, the command moved to Black Island, and while there four hun- 
dred and sixteen of its original members reenlisted and received veteran fur- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 313 

loughs. On April i8, 1864, the Ninth Regiment proceeded to Gloucester Point, 
Virginia, where it was assigned to Ames' division, Tenth Army Corps, and as- 
cended the James river, landing at Bermuda Hundred and advancing immedi- 
ately upon the enemy's lines. During its service the regiment saw much hard 
fighting, but at all times upheld the reputation of the state of Maine for patriot- 
ism and loyalty to the Union. Its total loss of officers and men in killed and 
wounded was six hundred and forty-four. The regiment took part in the fol- 
lowing battles: Hilton Head, Fernandina, Florida; Morris Island, South Caro- 
lina; the siege and assault of Fort Wagner, Port Walthall, Arronfield Church, 
Drurys Bluff, Warebottom Church, Cold Harbor; the siege and assault of 
Petersburg, Deep Bottom, Chapman's Farm and Darbytown Road in Virginia, 
in addition to many minor engagements and skirmishes and much guard, garri- 
son and picket duty, at all times performing gallant and meritorious service. 
The regiment marched to Fort Fisher, North Carolina, drove the Confederates 
out of the fort at Smithville, and then marched to Wilmington and from there 
to Goldsboro, North Carolina, where it met Sherman's army returning from 
Savannah, and marched on to Raleigh. Later the regiment gathered at Raleigh 
North Carolina, where it was mustered out. The subject of this review was 
promoted to the rank of sergeant October 22, 1864, in recognition of efficient 
service. He was confined in a hospital at Fernandina, Florida, on account of 
sunstroke, but at the end of six weeks rejoined his regiment which was sta- 
tioned there at that time. He bore a gallant part in all the service to which he 
was assigned, and never shirked any duty that would advance the interests of 
the Union cause. He received his final discharge at Raleigh, North Carolina, 
on the 13th of July, 1865. 

At the close of the war Mr. Hanson returned to his old home in Maine, 
where he remained until 1867, when his marriage occurred. After ten years 
spent on a farm, which he purchased at East Corinth, Penobscot county, he dis- 
posed of this property and bought a farm near Palmyra, which he operated until 
1882. Having decided to visit the west and establish a permanent home there 
if it should prove satisfactory, he bade farewell to his family for two years, and 
came with an emigrant train across the plains to San Francisco. There he went 
aboard the steamer Columbia and landed at Astoria, Oregon. He soon found 
employment in a logging camp at Deep River, Washington, where he continued 
for two years. He then established his home in St. Johns but at the end of 
nineteen years took up his residence at Point View, one of the suburbs of St. 
Johns, where he now lives. For several years he conducted a contracting busi- 
ness, but ill health compelled him to retire from active operations, and he is 
now living in a comfortable home at his ease, having through many years of 
industry and good management acquired a competence for the evening of life. 
In 1867 Mr. Hanson was united in marriage to Miss Adele J. Johonnot of 
Newport, Maine, and unto them were born two children: Mabel V., now Mrs. 
John B. Walker, who has one child, James, aged nine years; and Blanche, now 
Mrs. William Marchy, who has three children— Ruth, four years of age, Lewis, 
aged two, and Benjamin Franklin, now an infant. Mrs. Hanson belongs to a 
family of soldiers. Her great-grandfather served in the Revolutionary war 
and was in the battle of Ticonderoga. The family originally came to America 
from France as refugees at the time of the persecution of the French Huguenots. 
Her father, John G. Johonnot, was a soldier of the Civil war. He enlisted in 
the Fourteenth Maine Regiment, but was sent home on account of age. He 
reenlisted in the Sixth Maine Battery, Light Artillery, and served as gunner 
until his death December 20, 1862. Mrs. Hanson is a charter member of Gen- 
eral Compson Post No. 32, Women's Relief Corps. Mr. Hanson has always 
taken a deep interest in the organizations resulting from the Civil war, and his 
name has been found on the rolls of Stephen Davis Post No. 11, Grand Army 
of the Republic of Maine; James W. Nesby Post No. 32, of The Dalles, Oregon; 



314 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Lincoln-Garfield Post No. 3, of Portland, Oregon; and General Compson Post 
No. 22, of St. Johns. 

The active career of Mr. Hanson practically began amid preparations for 
the great Rebellion, one of the most important conflicts in the annals of history. 
In this great war he performed the service of a true soldier, and as he draws 
near the close of a long life he regards with just pride the efforts he made many 
years ago to uphold the flag and render possible the existence of a republic 
which is today the mightiest monument that has ever been erected by man. It 
is to the gallant soldiers of the Civil war, many of them farmer boys who were 
just beginning to look out upon life and wonder what it held for them — it is to 
these brave men and to others of a later generation who have assisted in the 
perpetuation of the principles of freedom, that the republic owes its existence. 
It has been truly said that these men need no monument of marble. They built 
an enduring monument in the great American republic. To them the oppressed 
of the whole world look as a prototype that will finally culminate in a realization 
of the dream which has not as yet taken tangible form, "The parliament of man 
and the federation of the world." 



LOUIS NICOLAI. 



The qualities of business leadership are in a substantial degree the possession 
of Louis Nicolai. An initiative spirit and ability to coordinate forces so as to 
produce a unified and harmonious whole and to direct the labors of others so 
that maximum results are achieved at a minimum expenditure of time, labor 
and material, are strongly marked characteristics in his business career, and his 
ability and success places him in a prominent position in the ranks of those who 
represent industrial activity in Portland, for he is now president of the Nicolai- 
Neppack Company, proprietors of a planing-mill and sash and door factory 
which cover the entire block bounded by Davis, Everett, First and Second streets. 
His name has been associated with the lumber industry here since 1868 and the 
importance and extent of his business interests are today indicated in the fact 
that he now employs over one hundred workmen. 

A native of Saxony, Germany, Mr. Nicolai was born February i, 1838, his 
parents being John Henry and Margaret (Held) Nicolai, farming people of the 
fatherland. When he was fifteen years of age the family emigrated to America, 
settling on a farm in Michigan, where they remained from 1853 until 1868. At 
that time the entire family came to Oregon by way of the isthmus of Panama 
and San Francisco with Portland as their destination. Louis Nicolai had pre- 
viously been married in Michigan, the lady of his choice being Miss Margaret 
Kurtz, a native of the state of New York. 

Following his arrival in Portland in the spring of 1868, Louis Nicolai joined 
with his brothers, Adolph and Theodore, in the establishment of a sawmill business 
at Beaver Valley, where they remained for about seven years and then removed 
to Albina, where the business was conducted for a number of years. They 
then returned to Beaver Valley, being associated together in a sawmill at that 
place for about fifteen years. About the time that they first began the operation 
of a sawmill they also established a planing-mill on Second and Everett streets 
in Portland. It was a small concern but the enterprising business methods of 
the partners, who operated under the firm style of Nicolai Brothers, soon won 
for them increased patronage and the business grew to extensive proportions. 
In 1887 it was incorporated and is now being carried on under the style of the 
Nicolai-Neppack Company. The plant has been extended to cover the entire 
block bounded by Davis, Everett, First and Second streets and employment is 
furnished to more than one hundred workmen. The present officers are Louis 




LOUIS NICOLA I 



r^^'f 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 317 

Nicolai, president; Anthony Neppack, vice president and manager; and William 
Nicolai, secretary. 

The last named is the eldest of the four children of Louis Nicolai. He 
married Octavia Betz. George, the second son, is a real estate and insurance 
man of Portland, who married Miss Harter and unto them have been born 
five children. Amelia is the wife of Walter Waite, a resident of eastern Oregon. 
Eveline is the wife of W. W. Chambro and they, with their four children, live 
with her father. 

Mr. Nicolai has long been regarded as a prominent factor in the industrial 
circles of Portland. A few years ago during the strike every lumber and plan- 
ing mill in the city closed down with the exception of the Nicolai-Neppack plant. 
On that occasion the engineer refused to perform his duties but Mr. Nicolai, 
who is a thorough mechanic, ran the engine himself. When in Michigan he had 
learned the carpenter's trade and throughout his entire life has been most handy 
with tools and capable in all mechanical lines. He belongs to the Masonic fra- 
ternity and is an exemplary representative of the craft. He has a beautiful home 
at No. 355 Hasselo street, which is located on a plot of ground covering a half 
block. 



GEORGE W. BOSCHKE. 

George W. Boschke has been characterized as "always on the fighting line." 
In other words, he is ever at the front to meet conditions face to face, and in 
the contests with nature, which are ever features to civil engineering, comes off 
conqueror in the strife. To say that he occupies the position of chief engineer 
of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company seems comparatively little save 
to the people of the northwest, who are watching with breathless interest his 
operations in railroad building in Oregon, but to state that he was the builder of 
the great sea wall at Galveston is to bring him prominently before the country, 
for who has not heard of the splendid piece of engineering which has resisted 
one of nature's strongest and most dynamic forces — the great tidal wave which 
for a time threatened the destruction of the rebuilded city on the gulf? 

His life history had its beginning in Boston on the loth of October, 1864. 
His parents were Albert and Mary (Paffy) Boschke, natives of Russia and 
Spain, respectively. They were married in Washington, D. C, and had two 
children, our subject's brother being now a resident of Los Angeles, California. 
Following his course in the public schools, George W. Boschke attended Wilson 
College. When his college days were over, he started for Texas — a young man 
of twenty-two years — and secured employment in connection with the engineering 
department of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company. Bending every energy 
toward the successful completion of the tasks assigned him, he carefully worked 
his way upward, his ability winning him recognition in successive promotions. 
He made his reputation as a constructing engineer by building various lines fof 
his company through the Lone Star state. It was while he was engaged on this 
work that the first tidal wave practically wiped out the city of Galveston, save 
those portions which were situated on higher land. Recovering from the first 
shock of the fatality, Galveston's energetic and determined people took up the 
task of rebuilding, and realizing that they must have protection from the sea, 
they offered Mr. Boschke twelve thousand dollars a year to build for them a 
wall which could withstand the shock of tidal wave. He was at that time in 
the service of E. H. Harriman in his railroad building in the southwest. Dis- 
cussing the Galveston situation with Mr. Harriman. the latter advised him to 
continue in his railroad work. Galveston then considered other engineers, but 
returned to Mr. Boschke with a proposition that he should continue with his 
railroad work and at the same time build their sea wall. Again the question 

15 



318 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

was discussed with Mr. Harriman, who agreed that Mr. Boschke should under- 
take the dual task. Neglecting neither the one nor the other, Mr. Boschke 
planned and superintended the work of railroad building and also undertook 
the construction of the sea wall, utilizing all his scientific and practical knowl- 
edge in building that which would constitute a safe barrier against the inroads 
of the ocean. 

This was at length accomplished, and from the southv/est he made his way 
into the northwest country to plan and supervise difificult engineering feats in 
railroad building in Oregon. While thus engaged, telegraphic communications 
were flashed throughout the country that Galveston on its island had been a 
second time leveled by the great tidal wave and that the sea wall had been 
ground into bits of gravel by the force of the waters. Mr. Boschke was at that 
time in his tent on the south bank of the Columbia river, the headquarters of a 
great railroad construction camp. He read the message and exclaimed : "It's 
a lie ! Galveston may be blown flat, the tidal wave may have swept high over 
the sea wall, but the wall itself still stands. I built it, and I built it to stand." 
The newspapers on reaching the construction camp confirmed the early reports, 
saying that the sea wall was an utter wreck, but that the man who built it was 
not to be blamed, as the tropical rage of the convulsion was beyond human 
power to control. Mr. Boschke's assistants and subordinates working in the 
northwest felt the deepest sympathy for their chief, but he never for a moment 
felt doubt, and early on the second day there began to come to him many tele- 
graphic messages from prominent people and officials of Galveston. Their pur- 
port was, "The crest of the tidal wave was higher than the wall, but the wall 
itself still stands. It broke the force of the water and saved the city from 
destruction. No engineering work ever stood a greater test. Galveston is un- 
injured and you are its savior. We congratulate and thank you." 

Mr. Boschke received this message apparently as calmly as he did the first 
and continued his labors of railroad building through the Des Chutes canyon. 
He had been sent to this section of the country as the representative of the Har- 
rim^an interests, and confronted here a situation presenting difficulties of a two- 
fold nature. Not only must he undertake the task of building a railroad in a 
district where nature was most unpropitious, but must meet competition brought 
about by the efforts of James J. Hill to check progress on the undertaking by 
building another road through the canyon. It is a well known fact that rail- 
road operations have been promoted in Washington to the detriment of Oregon, 
this state lacking transportation facilities which must ever constitute the foun- 
dation for the development of a country. The Oregon Railroad & Navigation 
Company, with its line along the southern bank of the Columbia, together with 
a few small lines along the Pacific west of the Cascade range, practically con- 
stitute the railway system of this great state. When the late E. H. Harriman 
made his last trip to the coast, he was met by a large delegation of earnest citi- 
zens who stated to him the situation, to whom he gave the promise of building! 
a railroad line from the Columbia river southward into the interior of the state,; 
beginning at the point where the Des Chutes river runs into the Columbia. Some! 
years before a local corporation had secured a charter for the building of a roadj 
down the Des Chutes canyon, which is practically the only feasible way of 
reaching the great tablelands of the interior. The corporation had bought some] 
right of way and had laid a small portion of the track, but lack of funds hac 
blocked the work. The Harriman interests attempted to buy their charter, but 
the promoters held out for a large sum of money, and the Harriman lawyersl 
found flaws in its legal standing. Nothing daunted, Mr. Harriman began work,! 
realizing that the great timber regions and the high plateaus offering excellent! 
pasture lands for sheep would in time mean heavy transportation of lumber,! 
mutton and v/ool. It was at that time that he called Mr. Boschke, who had been! 
made chief engineer of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, with head-j 
quarters in Portland, to build the line. In the meantime the original company,! 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 3l9 

disappointed in their expected sale, presented the question to James J. Hill, the 
railway magnate of Minnesota. Hill made the purchase and sent his men to 
the scene of action. The Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company was already 
in possession of the Des Chutes canyon and Mr. Hill was familiar with the work 
of Mr. Boschke and the character of the men. Accordingly he sent for his 
strongest representative, John F. Stevens, who had been connected with the 
building of the Panama canal, and gave him almost unlimited powers. Since 
that time it has been a continual contest between the two great engineering 
chieftains and their forces as to who should first complete the road. The Hill 
people got out an injunction to stop the work of the others and secured a de- 
cision which gives to the corporation the rights which they had purchased, the 
first choice of a right of way through the canyon. Mr. Boschke w^as not de- 
terred by this, for with almost limitless power accorded him by the Harriman. 
interests, he resolved that when he could not get the best natural right of way, 
he would blast one equally as good out of the solid rock. This has been his 
policy from the first, and he began railroad construction near The Dalles on 
the Columbia, a little west of the mouth of the Des Chutes, and soon afterward 
turned into the canyon. The Hill people are working on their side of the can- 
yon which at times narrows until there is scarcely room for the river in the 
two rival roadbeds between perpendicular walls a half mile in height. Not only 
does the engineer face the situation of laying railroad tracks along the bank 
of an irregular river, but must figure on the tremendous floods that sweep down 
through the canyon in the springtime. Added to other questions, there is the 
efifort to avoid hostilities between the workmen of the two forces and the neces- 
sity that each feels of completing the road before the other and thus, as one 
of the local papers has expressed it, "The scene is set for a Homeric struggle." 
Doubtless the work will be completed by each force in 191 1, but Mr. Boschke 
has the greater task in that he must dispute with nature for a right of way, 
blasting out his roadbed from the solid rock for many miles and meet contin- 
ually most difficult questions of engineering. His ability and his worth, how- 
ever, have been proven and the picturesque history of the past presents no more 
attractive nor fascinating story — a story of greater courage, resolution and de- 
termination than is shown by George W. Boschke, forceful and resourceful, 
'possessing the perseverance when he knows that he is in the right to continue 
a work at all odds. The tasks that he has accomplished has made his name 
known throughout the length and breadth of the land, and in engineering circles, 
where knowledge gives true appreciation of the character of his worth, his 
course has awakened the highest and most unqualified admiration. 

Mr, Boschke was married August 3, 1890, to Carrie M. Smith, a daughter 
of John and Theresa Smith, of Santa Rosa, California, and they are the parents 
of three children: Marguerite Ella, Elizabeth Hood and George Harriman. 



WILSON BENEFIEL. 



Wilson Benefiel, a well known cement contractor of Portland, and also prom- 
inently identified with other lines of business, was born May 31. 1859, in Yam- 
hill county, Oregon, a son of John Wesley and Lacy Ann Benefiel. The father 
was a native of Indiana, and was one of the pioneers of this state, arriving in 
Oregon in 1852. The mother came from Maryland and was a descendant of 
the Carrolls, a noted Revolutionary family. Mr. and Mrs. Benefiel moved to 
Washington county, Oregon, in 1865 and located on a farm. 

Wilson Benefiel attended school first at a log school house four miles north 
of Forest Grove at a place called Greenville. At the age of sixteen years, he 
laid aside his books, and from that time has been largely self-supporting, al- 
though he continued at home for four years, the father's health being such that 



320 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the responsibility of managing the farm devolved upon the son. At twenty- 
years of age he started out to 'meet the world, and for a year lived in the Walla 
Walla district. He then returned to the farm where he continued until 1881, 
when he removed to Portland, where he was employed for six months by the 
Lone Fir cemetery. He next resided for a few months at Centralia and there 
built a boat and went to the Grays Harbor country, where he engaged in the 
lumber business. In 1886 he returned to Washington county and spent six 
months upon a preemption claim. From that point he came to Portland, where 
he has since made his home. He has acted as superintendent of the Lone Fir 
cemetery since March 12, 1888, a position which he has filled with great ac- 
ceptance to the board of directors and to those whose friends repose in this 
beautiful cemetery. About 1901 Mr. Benefiel began as a cement contractor 
which business he has carried forward in addition to his duties as superintend- 
ent of the cemetery. He erected the first concrete building on Union avenue, 
and also a large three-story concrete building at the corner of Mississippi and 
Killingsworth avenues. He also built the public swimming pool for the city at 
Sellwood Park. In his business career he has been highly successful, and has 
prospered from year to year. 

On November 5, 1881, Mr. Benefiel was united in marriage to Miss Addie 
Sell, a daughter of Stephen Sell, who was a pioneer of Washington county, 
having arrived in this state from Ohio in 1852. Two children have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Benefiel : Francis Wilson, now aged twenty years ; and John 
Wilson, aged fifteen. The older is a graduate of the Portland Academy, and 
one of the promising young men of the city. 

Mr. Benefiel is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the 
Woodmen of the World. He is recognized as a man of fine business ability 
and a citizen whose example is well worthy of imitation. His career illustrates 
in a striking degree the advantages which may result to the individual from re- 
sponsibility in early life, while much of his success is due to habits of industry 
and economy. His experience indicates that if boys were thrown more upon 
their own resources there would be fewer failures in after life and the sum of 
human happiness would be vastly increased. 



CHARLES EDWARD RUMELIN. 

Without special advantages at the outset of his career, Charles Edward 
Rumelin has steadily advanced in his business career until, as president of Ash- |J 
ley & Rumelin, bankers, he now occupies a prominent position in banking circles 
in Portland. The width of the continent separates him from his birthplace, 
which was Argyle, Washington county, New York, his natal day being Sep- 
tember 17, 1858. His parents were Frederick and Eliza Blossom (Scott) Rume-J 
lin, in whose home his youthful days were passed, while he acquired his educa- 
tion in the district schools of New York. His early experiences were those of 
the farm, and for a considerable period he was identified with general agricul- 
tural pursuits. He has been a resident of the northwest since 1885, ^"d has 
firmly established himself in the front rank of Portland's business men as presi- 
dent of Ashley & Rumelin, bankers, conducting a private banking business in 
this city. He is thoroughly informed concerning the value of investments and 
securities, of commercial paper and its possible rise in value, and in the field 
of private banking, where he has made for himself a notable and enviable 
position. 

On the 7th of March, 1883, Mr. Rumelin was married to Miss Flora E. 
Ashley, and they have become the parents of a son and daughter. Reed Ashley 
and Rhoda. Mr. Rumelin served as a member of the Oregon militia from 1888 
until 1892, and when mustered out was holding the rank of first lieutenant of 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 321 

Company A of the First Oregon Regiment. His political allegiance is given 
to the republican party, and he has twice given very tangible evidence of his 
fidelity to the best interests of the community by his service in the city council, 
covering the period from 1894 until 1896, and again from 1902 until 1905. He 
exercises his official prerogative in support of every measure calculated for the 
public good and instituted several progressive movements which have been of 
marked value in promoting the city's welfare. He was particularly active in 
abolishing wooden walks and in inaugurating concrete walks. 



GUSTAVE WALTER NELSON. 

Gustave Walter Nelson, pastor of the Congregational church of St. Johns 
and for seventeen years past an earnest worker in a vocation which is recog- 
nized as the noblest occupation of man, was born in Denmark, November 28, 
1861. He is a son of Andrew and Susanna Nelson. At four years of age he 
carne with his parents to America, the family passing through New York and 
Chicago to Sheffield, Illinois, and four years later to Cuming county, Nebraska, 
where the subject of this sketch attended the common schools until he was four- 
teen years of age. The family removed to Seattle, Washington, in 1876 and, 
having shown a marked adaptability for higher studies and an interest in intel- 
lectual subjects, which indicated good thinking and reasoning qualities, he en- 
tered the State University at Seattle and continued there for two years. In the 
meantime he had located a homestead and during the years 1884 and 1885 he 
taught school in order to acquire the necessary funds to prove up this claim. 
After one year's attendance at Tualitin Academy he matriculated at the Pacific 
University, where he devoted four years to the classical course, graduating with 
the degree of A. B. in 1890. Having decided to enter the ministry, he took the 
theological course in the Pacific Theological Seminary, and in 1893 he was or- 
dained as a minister of the Congregational church. 

Mr. Nelson was now thirty-two years of age and entered upon his life work 
with an energy and a zeal that promised abundant success. His first charge was 
at Kalama, Washington, where he remained from 1893 to 1895. He then re- 
sponded to a call from Port Angeles, Washington, continuing there until the 
fall of 1899. His next call was from the Congregational church at Ashland, 
Oregon, and he ministered to that church until June, 1903, then going to Albany 
for a period of four years. On June i, 1907, he came to St. Johns, where he 
has since been in charge of a thriving church, which has a membership of forty- 
five and an enrollment of eighty names in its Sunday school. The trustees of 
the church, who have proven earnest assistants to Mr. Nelson and have at all 
times given him their constant support, are B. T. Leggit, A. L. Douglas, A. E. 
McDermid, Marion Johnston and D. S. Busby. Mr. Nelson acts as superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school, and is always found among those who are most public- 
spirited in advancing the welfare of the community. He is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias and has become prominently identified with the interests of 
this region by investments in real estate in the immediate vicinity of St. Johns. 

On the 24th of December, 1890, Mr. Nelson was united in marriage to Miss 
Ella Morrison, a daughter of Rev. J. M. Morrison, a retired Presbyterian min- 
ister of East Portland. Mrs. Nelson came with her parents from the east in 
1883. Oiie daughter has been born to this union, Margaret Ruth, now fourteen 
years of age. 

The church of which Mr. Nelson is a worthy exponent has in him an ardent 
and sincere supporter, and his kindly manner and his interest in every man, 
woman and child he meets has endeared him not only to his own parishioners, 
but to many who have no church affiliation. When he entered the ministry he 
gave his whole heart to the work. His wisdom has been gained by study of 



322 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the Bible and the revealed word, by observation, reading and meditation, and in 
these, as in all other acts, he constantly bears in mind the responsibilities of his 
calling, involving as it does a sincere and devoted service in behalf of a cause 
to which he has voluntarily given the best energies of his life. 



ARTHUR H. BREYMAN. 

The brilliancy of a man's genius asserts its force in the mastery of his work 
— the completeness of his undertaking — and the history of Arthur H. Breyman 
is a part — a potential part — of the history of commercial and agricultural prog- 
ress in Portland and this section of the state. He was recognized as strong, 
forceful, determined and aggressive, characteristics which are the resultant fac- 
tors in attainment in this age of marked enterprise and strong competition. 
He passed from life on the 17th of January, 1908, when in his sixty-eighth year. 
He was born at Bockenem, Germany, on the 2d of May, 1840. His father was 
an officer in the German army and fought in the battle of Waterloo. For a 
conspicuous act of bravery during that engagement he was awarded by Wel- 
lington, then in command of the Hanoverian troops, a medal which is reproduced 
herewith. During the latter part of his life he was one of the bodyguard of the 
emperor. 

Arthur H. Breyman spent his youthful days in the fatherland to the age of 
seventeen years. About that time his parents died and he started out in the 
world for himself. He shipped as a sailor boy upon a sailing vessel that made 
the voyage across the Atlantic to New York. While the ship was in port Mr, 
Breyman was one day walking along the streets of New York city, when he met 
his elder brother Eugene, who had been in America for several years and was at 
that time engaged in business in Oregon but was temporarily in New York city. 
Arthur Breyman was influenced by his brother to leave the ship and go to 
Oregon. They journeyed by way of the isthmus of Panama and eventually 
reached La Fayette, Yamhill county, where the two brothers, Eugene and Wer- 
ner, were conducting a mercantile establishment. Arthur Breyman entered 
their employ and remained with them until he had saved sufficient capital to 
enable him to purchase a small stock of goods. He then went to the mining 
town of Canyon City, where he conducted a store and was also financially in- 
terested in the mines for a number of years. In the meantime, while in the 
employ of his brothers, he had returned to the middle west, going to Milwau- 
kee, Wisconsin, where his sisters, Mrs. Matilda Inbush and Mrs. Alvena 
Hecker, were living. He also had two unmarried sisters there, Louisa and Al- 
bertina Breyman, who returned with him to Oregon. Again he journeyed by 
way of the isthmus of Panama to the Pacific coast and the ship on which they 
sailed went aground on a desert island. It was fourteen days before the ship 
lifted sufficiently to start again on its way to Oregon. It was after the comple- 
tion of that trip to Wisconsin and his return to the Pacific coast that Mr. Brey- 
man established a small store in La Fayette, where he remained for a few years 
and then went to Canyon City, Oregon. He spent several years in the latter 
place and on selling out removed to Salem, Oregon, v/here he engaged in the 
dry-goods business. He became recognized as one of the leading merchants and 
influential citizens of that place and made substantial progress during his resi- 
dence there. 

While in Salem Mr. Breyman was married on the 25th of January. 1867, 
to Miss Phoebe Cranston, who was born in Champaign county, Ohio, and came 
to Oregon in 1851, making the journey across the plains. The party were two 
years on the trip for the parents had heard that the cholera was bad in the west 
and that the Indians were on the war path. Therefore, they proceeded by easy 
stages, spending the winter in Missouri. 



1 



.'iS'.' 







A. H. BREYMAN 




LIEUT. FREDERICK BREYMAN, 1ST. REG. LIGHT DRAG., K. G. L. 



- . - 1! «• * i 



...>f-^ 



i 



1 -».^i->**^ 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 327 

Mr. and Mrs. Breyman began their domestic life in Salem and five years 
after their marriage he disposed of his store there and settled upon a cattle ranch 
on Bridge creek, near Prineville in eastern Oregon. His attention was given to 
the management of the ranch for five years, after which he removed to Prine- 
ville, where he engaged in general merchandising for five years and also bought 
and sold live-stock. In 1882 he came with his family to Portland. He had large 
cattle interests in the Yakima valley, which he retained after he came to Port- 
land for a time and later purchased the ranch and live-stock interests of the 
Baldwin Sheep Company near Prineville, after which he organized the now 
famous Baldwin Sheep & Land Company, of which he was president for many 
years and which operated extensively and successfully in both lines indicated 
by the title until he sold out. 

Coming to Portland, Mr. Breyman supervised his business afifairs and also 
invested in property in the city, recognizing that its continuous growth must 
in time advance prices. Here he entered the leather, harness and saddlery busi- 
tiess in connection with his son, William Otto Breyman, under the style of the 
Breyman Leather Company, Arthur H. Breyman remaining as president of the 
company until his death, when he was succeeded by William Otto Breyman, who 
is now president, while the mother, Mrs. Phoebe Cranston Breyman, is vice presi- 
dent. The factory is located at the corner of Fifth and Oak streets in Portland 
and is devoted to the manufacture of leather goods, harness, saddlery, etc. It 
is one of the important productive industries of the city and is a well managed 
business concern. 

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Breyman were born five children : William Otto, pre- 
viously mentioned; Bertha Rt)xana, the wife of Ormsby M. Ash of Portland; 
and Floy Louise, Edna Cranstjoii and Arthur Cranston, all at home with their 

J ' , i .1.. , '- . , - ■ 

mother. f ,-..-;, .. ', "*^- t^.^... 

Mr. Breyman was devotedi tbtne- Welfare of his family and found his greatest 
happiness in ministering to their comfort. He was a German Lutheran in be- 
lief and was a member of the board oLpublic works when it Vv^as first organized. 
He was one of those strong and forceful characters who seem to find the happi- 
ness of life in the success of their work. He was ever the same man, yesterday, 
today and tomorrow, never allowing the accumulation of wealth to aflfect in any 
way his relations toward those less fortunate. His persistence for precision 
and thoroughness in small afifairs as well as in complex things was pronounced 
and therein lay one of the factors of his business advancement. 



WILLIAM OTTO BREYMAN. 

William Otto Breyman, president and manager of the Breyman Leather Com- 
pany, controlling one of the leading saddlery houses of the Pacific coast, was 
born in Salem, Oregon, December 29, 1867, a son of Arthur H. Breyman, of 
whom mention is made above. The removal of the family to Portland in his 
early boyhood made it possible for him to pursue his preliminary education in 
the public schools of this city, and subsequently he attended the Peekskill Mili- 
tary Academy on the Hudson. His initial experience in business life came as an 
employe of the First National Bank of Portland, in which he remained for seven 
years. He afterward engaged in mercantile pursuits and later bought out the 
firm of Herbert Bradley & Company, wholesale leather and shoe findings, in 
1896. 

He then organized the Breyman Leather Company, of which he has since 
been the president and manager. The scope of the business was extended to 
include wholesale harness and saddlery in 1903. From a small concern this en- 
terprise has steadily grown and developed until today the house is recognized 
as one of the leading saddlery houses on the Pacific coast. Mr. Breyman has 



328 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 



made a thorough study of the trade, so that he is able to direct its interests in 
accordance with present day conditions, and he has forged ahead continuously 
in his chosen field until he now ranks with the most successful men in this Hne 
in this section of the country, for the house has gained a reputation for the re- 
liability of its methods and the character of its output is unassailable. 



E. H. MANSFIELD. 

E. H. Mansfield, for six years past a resident of St. Johns, Oregon, was born 
at Toledo, Ohio, in 1854. He is the son of Hiram and Alzina Mansfield, who 
came from Ireland some years before the Civil war and located at Moline, Illi- 
nois, in the spring of 1855. Hiram Mansfield gave his hfe to his adopted coun- 
try. He enlisted in the Ninth Illinois Cavalry and was killed in battle during 
the first year of the Civil war. The following year his widow was called away, 
leaving the son to fight his battles alone. 

E. H. Mansfield thus early became inducted to the stern realities of life. 
However, he possessed a resolute heart and inherited from worthy parents a 
hope that has never entirely departed and he determined, even as a boy, to make 
the best of the conditions by which he found himself surrounded. He lived in 
Geneseo, Illinois, until seventeen years of age and never possessed the advantages 
of education except in his very early years. At the age of eleven he began to 
learn the barber's trade and after traveling in many parts of the country he 
located in St. Johns, Oregon, in 1904, where he has since been engaged at his 
trade. Mr. Mansfield generally casts his vote with the democratic party. He is 
a member of the Yeomen lodge and since his earliest recollection has been 
identified with the Catholic church. 



MARIUS HANSEN. 

Marius Hansen, a progressive and enterprising contractor of Portland, is a 
native of Denmark, born in the town of Wamdrup, on the i8th of August, 1863, 
and a son of Christian and Christine (Neilsen) Hansen. The father died in 
1882 at the age of sixty-six years, while the mother survived until 1903, pass- 
ing away at the age of seventy-six years. In their family were eight children, 
five sons and three daughters, all still living. Marius Hansen lived with his 
parents until he was twenty years of age. He received his education in the 
common schools and later learned the blacksmith's trade and also gained some 
experience in farming in the mother country. 

At twenty years of age, in 1883, Mr. Hansen came to America and first lo- 
cated at the town of Dedham, Iowa, where he remained about ten months. He 
then traveled westward to Nebraska and was employed upon a farm for three 
years. Not entirely satisfied with the outlook in the prairie region and believ- 
ing that the Pacific coast presented favorable conditions for a young man who 
was willing to work, he came to Portland and since 1888 has made this city his 
home. For more than twenty years past he has been identified with cement con- 
struction and few men in the country are better informed concerning the prop- 
erties and qualities of cement and the many uses to which it may be applied. 
As a general contractor he has attained an established reputation and during 
the years past has put in the foundations of some of the largest buildings of 
the city and in all classes of cement work has shown an ability that places him 
in the front line among those who are engaged in the industry. 

On the 19th of December, 1884, Mr. Hansen was united in marriage to Miss 
Anna Shultz, a daughter of Christian and Johanna Shultz. She was also a na- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 329 

tive of Denmark and was called from earthly ties October 28, 1905. She was a 
good wife and the mother of four children, three of whom are now living, Tina, 
Anna and Edith. Mr. Hansen is a member of the Lutheran church and lives in 
a beautiful residence on East Grant street. He has never had cause to regret 
that he selected Portland as his home. His chief source of recreation is auto- 
mobiling. He is an active member of the Brooklyn Push Club and politically is 
identified with the democratic party. 



JAMES BOYCE MONTGOMERY. 

James Boyce Montgomery, a railroad builder whose efforts contributed to 
the development of both the east and the west and who for many years was one 
of the best known and most highly honored citizens of Portland, was born at 
Montgomery's Ferry on the Susquehanna river in Pennsylvania, twenty-five 
miles north of Harrisburg, December 6, 1832. Between the ages of six and six- 
teen years he was a pupil in the public schools near his home and then sought 
the city that he might find broader opportunity for the exercise of his industry 
and ambition — his dominant qualities. In Philadelphia he obtained a position on 
the Evening Bulletin, with which he was connected for several years, until quali- 
fied to do expert work in that line. His ability won recognition among those 
f)ro'minent in the printing business, and he was offered a position on the San- 
dusky (Ohio) Daily Register by Governor H. D. Cook in 1853. It is notable 
that each forward step in his career brought him broader opportunities. His 
position with the Register led to his appointment as editor of the Pittsburg 
Morning Post, and in time he became one of the proprietors of that paper, 
which he successfully managed, making it one of the leading journals of that 
section of the country. Other fields of labor, however, seemed to promise more 
rapid and substantial returns and, disposing of his interests in the paper to 
Colonel James P. Barr, his partner, he took up the work of railroad develop- 
ment in Pennsylvania as a contractor. With two associates in 1858 he secured 
a contract to build a bridge across the Susquehanna river at Linden, Pennsyl- 
vania, for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad Company. The work was suc- 
cessfully completed and furnished the opening for larger operations in the field 
of railroad building. In 1859 ^^'- Montgomery was awarded the contract for 
building the Bedford & Hopewell Railroad in Pennsylvania, and in 1861 became 
associated with Captain William Lowthes in the building of the Nesquehoning 
Valley Railroad. The outbreak of the Civil war, resulting in the difficulty of 
obtaining labor, caused a suspension of this work, however, but it was after- 
ward completed by Mr. Montgomery in 1868-9. ^^ the meantime he had done 
work under contract for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, and in 1866 became 
one of its directors, in which position he remained until 1869. He also built the 
wire bridge across the Susquehanna river at Williamsport, Pennsylvania. His 
operations in the field of railroad building became all the time of more impor- 
tance, bringing him prominently before the public in this connection. He be- 
came one of the owners of the charter of the Baltimore & Potomac Railroad in 
connection with Thomas A. Scott, George W. Cass, J. D. Potts and J. D. Cam- 
eron, who were active in securing the construction and completion of the line 
between Baltimore and Washington, D. C. He was also interested in the com- 
pletion of four hundred miles of the Kansas Pacific Railroad, extending into 
Denver. He met with substantial and growing success as a railroad builder and 
contractor, and his services in that connection were in continuous demand. He 
found ready solution for intricate business problems, readily co-ordinated forces 
and brought seemingly dissimilar interests into a unified whole. Difficulties van- 
ished before him as mists before the morning sun, for his energy seemed indom- 
itable, and when one avenue of opportunity was closed he sought the fulfill- 
ment of his purpose in another direction. 



330 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. Montgomery's residence on the Pacific coast dated from 1870, and the 
following year he became a resident of Oregon. Soon afterward he offered to 
build the first portion of the Pacific division of the Northern Pacific Railroad, 
and the contract was awarded him against fifteen other builders. He constructed 
over one hundred miles of the road and also built the draw-bridge across the 
Willamette at Harrisburg for the Oregon & California Railroad. He was most 
systematic in all that he did, so that results were accomplished at a minimum 
loss of labor, time and material. In this is the secret of all success, and in time 
led Mr. Montgomery to a position among the prosperous residents of the north- 
west. In 1870 he went to Scotland for the purpose of organizing a company 
which subsequently built or acquired one hundred and sixty-three miles of rail- 
road in the Willamette valley, of which Mr. Montgomery himself constructed 
seventy-eight miles. The American spirit of energy and determination soon ac- 
complished his purpose. The company was organized and a contract for rails 
was let at Stockton-on-the-Tees. Proceeding to London, he chartered the two 
vessels St. Louis and Childers to bring the rails to this country. While cross- 
ing to Great Britain he had become acquainted with Captain Gilmore, who said 
that he was on his way to Cardiff, Wales, to take command of the ship Edwin 
Reed, which was to sail with a cargo of rails for the Willamette valley to be 
used by a company organized in Great Britain for constructing a railway line. 
With celerity and dispatch Mr. Montgomery carried out his plans and not only 
organized the company, but also had his rails in Portland six weeks before the 
arrival of the Edwin Reed under command of Captain Gilmore. 

While railroad construction and organization largely claimed the energies 
and ability of Mr. Montgomery, he did not confine his efiforts entirely to that 
line, his labors proving equally effective in other departments of business. He 
took large contracts for government work in the channels of the Columbia and 
Snake rivers, requiring the removal of great masses of rock, particularly at the 
John Day rapids. He built and operated steam sawmills at Skamokawa on the 
Columbia, the enterprise being conducted under the name of the Columbia River 
Lumber & Manufacturing Company. He likewise built large docks and ware- 
houses on the water front at Albina, and of these was sole proprietor. The word 
fail had no part in his vocabulary. A plan undertaken was carried forward to 
successful completion, and the methods employed were ever of the most hon- 
orable and straightforward character. Indeed Mr. Montgomery sustained an 
unassailable reputation for business integrity and reliability from the outset of 
his business career, and that he early gave indication of his marked business 
ability as well as integrity is perhaps best indicated by an incident which oc- 
curred in 1861 when he was but twenty-nine years of age. At that time he had 
accumulated but very little property and was in need of ten thousand dollars 
with which to carry on a business project. He made his way to the home of a 
relative, General J. K. Moorhead, a distance of three hundred miles, and asked 
the general to indorse his note for ten thousand dollars. This was done, and 
the money was forthcoming from the Bank of Pittsburg, payable in four months. 
At the end of that time Mr. Montgomery again had need for ten thousand dol- 
lars and again asked the general to indorse his note for that amount. The lat- 
ter replied : "James, it is a good deal of trouble for me to indorse your note 
every three or four months and inconvenient for you to come out this distance. 
I can do something better." Thereupon he sat down and wrote out the follow- 
ing : "To J. Cook & Company, Washington, D. C. ; Gentlemen : I will be re- 
sponsible to the amount of one hundred thousand dollars for money advanced 
to J. B. Montgomery. Respectfully, J. K. Moorhead." In commenting upon 
this, Mr. Montgomery afterward said that at the time he thought of it only as 
an act of conspicuous generosity on the part of his relative, but subsequent years 
of experience convinced him that it was an act of great confidence in his in- 
tegrity. General Moorhead never inquired into the matter or spoke of it for 
nearly two years, and then asked if Mr. Montgomery had straightened matters 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 331 

up with the bank. Upon being answered in the affirmative, the subject was 
dropped and never referred to again. 

Ahhough an active man of business, Mr. Montgomery did not follow the 
course of many successful business men of the present day, who feel that politics 
are something with which they have no concern. He recognized the obligations 
as well as the privileges of citizenship, and stanchly and loyally supported the 
principles in which he believed. He voted with the democracy until, differing 
with the party policy on the question of slavery, he joined the republican party 
in i860 and supported Abraham Lincoln. He was thereafter to the time of his 
death an earnest advocate of republican principles, and in 1866, 1867 and 1868 
represented Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, as a delegate in the state conven- 
tion. In the first year he was associated with Thaddeus Stevens, Wayne Mac- 
Veagh and others on the resolutions committee, reporting a resolution commend- 
ing the nomination of General Grant for the presidency, which was the first 
state convention to present the name of the hero of Appomattox as a presidential 
candidate. Mr. Montgomery would never consent to become a candidate for 
office until 1890, in which year he was nominated and elected to represent Mult- 
nomah county in the state legislature. He was nevertheless throughout all the 
years a potent factor in political circles by reason of his influence, his clearly 
expressed opinions, and his effort to further the cause in which he believed. 

In 1861 Mr. Montgomery was married to Miss Rachel Anthony, a daughter 
of the Hon. Joseph B. Anthony, of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. She died 
in 1863, leaving an only son, and in 1866 Mr. Montgomery wedded Miss Mary 
S. Phelps, the only daughter of Governor John S. Phelps, of Missouri. 

The life history of James Boyce Montgomery most readily illustrates what 
may be attained by faithful and continued effort in carrying out an honest pur- 
pose. Integrity, industry and energy were the crowning points of his success, 
and his connection with various enterprises and industries was of decided ad- 
vantage to the sections of the country in which he labored. He stood as the 
highest type of American citizenship; capable and discriminating in business, 
patriotic and loyal in citizenship, and with conscientious regard for the rights and 
privileges of his fellowmen. 



DAVID COLE. 



David Cole, who for the last forty-five years has been a resident of Oregon, 
was bom near Lewiston, Niagara county, New York, August 2, 1837. His 
father, William Cole, a native of Jefferson county. New York, was born in 1804 
and died in 1868, while his mother, who bore the maiden name of Ruth Taylor, 
was born in Connecticut in 181 5 and died in 1876. His grandfather, William 
Cole, served in the Revolutionary war, while his great-grandfather, who also 
bore the name of William Cole, was killed in one of the Indian massacres of 
New England colonists. 

David Cole received his preliminary education in the common schools of 
Jefferson county. New York, and, as his parents removed to Michigan when 
he was fifteen years of age, he continued his education in a private school at 
Coldwater, Michigan, and also had the advantage of attendance for a tim.e at 
the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. At eighteen years of age he laid 
his school books aside and entered upon his business career as apprentice in the 
tinsmith's trade. At the age of twenty-three, after learning the trade, he re- 
moved to St. Joseph, Missouri, and was in business there at the breaking out of 
the Civil war. When St. Joseph was occupied by the federal troops, business 
having become very dull, he returned to Michigan, where he remained until 
1864. 



332 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Mr. Cole was now twenty-seven years of age and he decided to locate per- 
manently on the Pacific coast. He went first to San Francisco, where he found 
conditions not entirely satisfactory, and on February 14, 1865, he landed at 
Portland, then a thriving town which was just beginning to give evidences of 
the great development that has made it one of the principal centers of business 
on the coast of the Pacific. After working at his trade in Portland for a year 
or two, he went to Salem, Oregon, and embarked in business for himself. In 
1873 he sold out and returned to Portland, and was just starting upon what 
promised to be a prosperous career when the city was visited by the great fire of 
August 2, 1873, when twenty-seven blocks of building were practically wiped out 
of existence. Fortunately for Mr. Cole, he had established himself outside of 
the fire limits and did not suffer any severe personal loss. He conducted a hard- 
ware and stove store at First and Taylor streets until 1893 and by diligence and 
good management acquired an independent fortune. 

On March 3, 1868, Mr. Cole was married to Amanda L. Boone, a native of 
Salem, Oregon, and a daughter of Rev. John D. and Martha (Hawkins) Boone. 
Her father, who was a minister of the Methodist church, was a Kentuckian by 
birth and a direct descendant of Daniel Boone. He was for many years actively 
interested in the Boys and Girls Aid Society. Mr. and Mrs. Cole have one child, 
Winnie L., the wife of John McCarty, of Los Angeles, California. 

Mr. Cole since arriving at maturity has been identified with the democratic 
party and has given zealous support to its principles. He was a member of the 
city council for four years before East Portland was incorporated as a part 
of the city of Portland. Since 1866 he has been connected with the Masonic 
order, having attained the Royal Arch degree and holding membership in Wash- 
ington Lodge, No. 46. His life in a large measure has been controlled by the 
principles of this order and, while he has been unpretentious and modest, never 
claiming preferment over others, he years ago gained recognition as one of the 
useful and substantial citizens of a growing and enlightened community. 



GEORGE E. WATKINS. 

With industry and determination as dominant qualities, George E. Watkins 
has made steady progress in the business world, advancing from a humble finan- 
cial position until he ranks among Portland's men of affluence. Moreover, his 
business record is such as any man might be proud to possess, it being a source 
of inspiration and of admiration to his colleagues and his contemporaries. He 
has made his home in Portland from pioneer times, arriving here when a little 
lad of ten years. 

His birth occurred in Keokuk, Iowa, on the 4th of March, 1845. He was 
a son of George Watkins, a native of Watkinsville, New York, which town was 
named in honor of his ancestors. In his youth the father learned the wagon- 
maker's trade, and with the family removed from Watkinsville to St. Louis, 
Missouri. He was residing in the latter city when, in 1838, he was united in 
marriage to Miss Helen Caldwell, of St. Louis, and later they removed to Keo- 
kuk, Iowa, where they resided until 1852. In the meantime seven children had 
been born to them, and with their family they started across the plains to Ore- 
gon. It was a long, hard trip, the roads were in poor condition, streams had to 
be forded and supplies had to be carried nearly the entire distance, as after pass- 
ing Omaha and some of the other western outposts of civilization, there was no 
hope of obtaining anything until the towns of the Pacific coast should be reached. 
Then, too, there was always the danger and fear of Indian attack, but the Wat- 
kins family at length reached the northwest in safety and settled first at Shoal 
Water bay on North river. There Mr. Watkins built a sawmill in 1854. He 
became not only one of the representative business men of that locality, but was 




GEORGE E. WATKINS 



— ^>^^x 



^iO^ V- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 385 

also recognized as a leader of public thought and opinion and his fellow towns- 
men, appreciating his worth and ability, elected him to serve in the state legis- 
lature at Olympia, Washington, in the winter of 1855. While attending that 
session the high water washed his sawmill away. He returned home, and with 
undaunted spirit, set to work to retrieve his lost possessions. Removing to the 
Cascades, they engaged in building a warehouse on the island when the Yakima 
Indians planned and executed an attack upon the Cascades and he and his second 
son, James, then a boy of fourteen or fifteen years, were killed by the savages. 
It was one of the never to be forgotten tragedies which marked the pioneer his- 
tory of the northwest. His wife had died in the spring of 1853. 

George E. Watkins was but a baby when his parents crossed the plains, and 
was only ten years of age when his father was killed, and he was left an orphan. 
Soon afterward he came to Portland. He found the necessity of providing for 
his own support, and from that time made his own way in the world. He se- 
cured a position as a paper carrier with the Oregonian when but thirteen years 
of age, and as he came in contact with men and saw their progress toward suc- 
cess, he was fired with a laudable ambition to work his way upward. He real- 
ized, too, that education is a strong factor in success and in order to counteract 
the lack of school privileges of his own early youth, he worked his way through 
the Portland Academy and Female Seminary, which was then located on Seventh 
and Jefiferson streets. This school was afterward consolidated with the Willa- 
mette University and removed to Salem. When he had completed his course 
he secured a position in the store of John Wilson and that he was faithful and 
capable is indicated in the fact that he remained there for five years. 

Having saved five thousand dollars from his earnings, Mr. Watkins started 
in business on his own account, investing his capital in a sheep ranch on Rock 
creek in eastern Oregon in connection with C. B. Comstock, now deceased. This 
partnership continued for two years, at the •end -of which time their success had 
been sufficient to enable Mr. Watkins to purchase the interest of his partner. 
For eight years he conducted the ranch alone and was closely connected with 
the sheep industry for a decade, which gave him a substantial start in life. He 
then returned to Portland in 1883 and repurchased an interest in the real-estate, 
insurance and loan business of Parrish & Cornell. The business is now con- 
ducted under the name of Parrish, Watkins & Company. The real-estate busi- 
ness was organized in 1867 by L. M. Parrish, now deceased, and since that time 
has had a continuous existence, although different changes in partnership have 
occurred. George E. Watkins and his son, Frank E.. are now owners, although 
the business is conducted under the style of Parrish, Watkins & Company. In 
addition to an extensive real-estate business, they make investments and loans, 
attend to rentals and also write a considerable amount of insurance each year. 
Their clientage is large and their business has reached very profitable propor- 
tions. 

Mr. Watkins was married in Portland in 1874 to Miss Olive Clay, a daughter 
of Oliver and Jane A. Clay, who came to Portland about 1858 from Massillon, 
Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Watkins became the parents of three children, of whom 
two are living: Frank E., who is married and is associated with his father in 
business; and Grace E., the wife of Dr. George B. Story and the mother of 
one son, George Watkins Stor}'. Mrs. Watkins died in Portland in 1887, and 
the attractive social qualities which she had displayed and her kindly spirit caused 
her death to be deeply deplored by many friends. 

Mr. Watkins while engaged in the sheep industry served as justice of the 
peace in Wasco county, and for two years was a member of the state board of 
equalization. Otherwise he has held no public office, for his business interests 
have made increasing demand upon his time and energies. His political al- 
legiance is given to the republican party. His son, Frank E. Watkins, is a 
thirty-second degree and K'night Templar Mason and member of Al Kader 
Temple of Shriners. He is also a member of the city council. Every man who 



336 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

establishes and conducts a legitimate and successful business enterprise be- 
comes a factor in the upbuilding of the state, and in this connection, Mr. Wat- 
kins has done an important work. The obstacles and difficulties which con- 
fronted him in his youth were overcome by determined purpose and honorable 
effort and learning by experience how to make each hour count as a factor in 
the success of life, he has so directed his labors and placed his investments that 
splendid success has crowned his endeavors. 



THOMAS CLARKE DEVLIN. 

Thomas Clarke Devlin, ex-city auditor and public accountant, was born at 
Little Falls, New York, on the 31st of December, 1859. His father, John C. 
Devlin, who was born in County Wicklow, Ireland, came to America in 1846. 
He first located in Massachusetts, but soon afterward removed to Little Falls, 
New York, where he married Miss Mary McGinnis, a native of County Meath, 
Ireland, who had come to this country in childhood. In 1870 they came west- 
ward, locating in Knox county, Missouri, where they engaged in farming until 
1904, when, retiring from active life, they came to Portland to spend their re- 
maining years with their son and daughter, Thomas C. Devlin and Mrs. James 
Gill of this city. John C. Devlin here passed away on the 28th of November, 
1909, aged eighty-six years, five months and ten days. He was soon followed 
by his wife, whose death occurred August 25, 1910, when she had attained the 
age of seventy-six years and eight months. 

Thomas C. Devlin was educated in various private schools of New York 
state and also at Edina Seminary, of Edina, Missouri. In 1881 he began teach- 
ing — first in the seminary, and then in the public schools. In the spring of 1884, 
on account of ill health, he removed to Colorado and taught history, mathematics 
and commercial branches in the college at Pueblo for two years. On the 31st of 
January, 1887, he was married to Miss Ida Phoebe Carpenter, of Stanfordville, 
New York, a member of one of the oldest Quaker families of that state. After 
spending a month in Denver. Mr. and Mrs. Devlin started for the Pacific coast, 
but Mrs. Devlin was taken ill en route and they turned back, going to her home 
in Dutchess county. New York, where she died on the i6th of August, 1887. In 
the spring of 1888 Mr. Devlin came west, remaining a few months. He spent 
the following winter, however, in Washington, D. C, and again came to the 
coast in the winter of 1889, locating in Portland in September, 1890. In Feb- 
ruary, 1891, he entered the employ of the city of Portland as an expert account- 
ant. The following spring he took a very active part in the movement for the 
consolidation of Portland, East Portland and Albina, then three separate munici- 
palities. 

In June Mr. Devlin resigned his position with the city and went to Califor- 
nia to engage in public accounting, but in October, upon urgent request, he 
returned and accepted a position in the office of the city auditor, which he con- 
tinued to fill until 1900, when he was elected city auditor._ In 1902 he was 
reelected by all parties without opposition and again reelected in 1905 by an over- 
whelming majority. He had never wished the office of city auditor, and it was 
only through his desire to be of public service that he was induced to accept the 
repeated nominations. In 1907, refusing to become a candidate for that office 
again, he was nominated for mayor on the republican ticket, which, however, 
was defeated. In August, 1907, he was appointed receiver for the Oregon Trust 
& Savings Bank. From that time on he devoted his time mainly to closing up 
the affairs of that institution — a long and difficult task which was not completed 
until about November i, 1910. In June, 1908, he was elected councilman-at- 
large, which office he still held at that time. Upon the completion of his work 
as receiver he retired from business life and removed to New York to make his 
future home in Dutchess county, where he owned an old estate. 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 337 

Mr. Devlin was for some years quite active in real-estate operations in this 
city, having been a member of a syndicate of six men who platted Holladay Park, 
Holladay Park First Addition, North Irvington and Rossmere, aggregating over 
two hundred acres, besides having made numerous individual realty transac- 
tions. In 1907 he built a pretty home at No. 770 Multnomah street, where he 
resided until leaving Portland. 

Mr. Devlin is a thirty-second degree Mason, a Knight of Pythias, an Odd 
Fellow and an Elk. He was a member of the Commercial Club and a life mem- 
ber of the Multnomah Club. Although he has left Portland, Mr. Devlin will 
long be remembered for his twenty years of efficient public service, and the ac- 
tive interest he has taken in all movements for the advancement of municipal 
improvements. During his connection with the city auditor's office the city hall 
was twice moved and each time he instituted improved methods in keeping its 
records. After becoming the head of that department, he made many marked 
improvements in the conduct of its business. He was a member of the National 
Municipal League, was elected a member of all local civic improvement bodies 
and furnished the statistics for those organizations. He was appointed by the 
legislature as one of a committee to prepare a charter for Portland. In 1902 
he drafted the form of a bill appointing a commission to draft a charter for the 
city of Portland, which was afterward to be submitted to the people for ap- 
proval or rejection, and if approved, to be enacted by the legislature without 
change. The bill was passed by the legislature and became a law and Mr. Dev- 
lin was appointed a member of that commission which drafted what is known 
as the charter of 1903. As a result the legislature later gave every municipality 
the right to make its own charter. 

For many years Mr. Devlin has devoted his leisure hours to the study of 
municipal government, and his contributions upon numerous questions involved 
have attracted attention and favorable comment throughout the United States. 
His work entitled "Municipal Reform in the United States," published by Put- 
nam's Sons in 1896, was among the first books on this subject. Before the de- 
struction of his library by fire, a few years ago, he had acquired the most com- 
plete collection of works upon municipal government on the Pacific coast. He 
was among the first to advocate the adoption of a uniform system of municipal 
accounting throughout the United States, and was the first advocate of municipal 
ownership of docks for Portland, which he urged at a time when large tracts 
of water front could have been secured at a low price, the wisdom and fore- 
sight is now plainly seen. 

Although quiet and unostentatious, never seeking to attract public attention 
to himself, Mr. Devlin has left the impress of his character and his work stamped 
indelibly upon the city of Portland. No career could be more devoid of selfish 
ambition, he having directed his abilities and energies at all times toward the 
conception and promotion of advanced ideas which will have an influence in 
moulding the charters and policies of numerous municipalities. 



CHRISTIAN HONNES. 



Norway has contributed in an important degree toward the upbuilding of the 
United States and many of her most useful citizens were born under the Nor- 
wegian flag. Their sturdy independence and inborn perseverance have added an 
important element to our national life and nowhere has this been more ap- 
parent than on the Pacific coast. Among the Norwegian-Americans of Portland 
is Christian Honnes who, thirty years ago, sought on the American continent the 
opportunities which were not available in long settled countries where the son 
generally follows in the steps of the father and the lines separating^ the classes 
are tightly drawn. 



338 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Christian Honnes was born in the city of Christiansand, April 7, 1859, a son 
of Knud and Gunhild Honnes. He was educated in his native land and, as is 
customary, was early apprenticed to learn a trade. After mastering the prin- 
ciples of the mechanical trades he learned shipbuilding, which is carried on very 
extensively at the ports of Norway. Like thousands of ambitious young men 
Mr. Honnes early decided to seek his fortune under more favorable auspices 
than prevailed in his native land. Accordingly, at twenty-one years of age, he 
landed from a vessel at the city of Philadelphia. From there he traveled west- 
ward to Minneapolis, Minnesota, where he readily found employment and where 
he prospered for six years. He came to Portland in 1886 and about 1888 formed 
a partnership with Charles Nelson as a shipbuilder at the foot of Oak street in 
this city. Later, on account of the necessity for larger quarters, the plant was 
moved to the foot of Wood street, where a prosperous and growing business 
has been maintained and is now flourishing as never before. The work turned 
out at this plant is proving highly satisfactory to the water carrying trade and 
the reputation of the firm has always been first class. 

On May 22, 1881, Mr. Honnes was united in marriage to Miss Laurene 
Hoist, a native of Norway. Two children were born of this union, both of 
whom have been called away. Mr. Honnes is a member of the Woodmen of the 
World but is not identified with many interests outside of a business which has 
occupied the most of his attention during the active period of his life. He has 
attained success by strict integrity, the conscientious discharge of all obligations 
and an unremitting attention to an industry in which he takes the greatest in- 
terest and which he thoroughly understands. Naturally retiring and modest, 
he has always kept his personality in the background, but no man is more sin- 
cerely honored by his associates or retains in a higher degree the confidence 
of his acquaintances than the subject of this sketch. 



GEORGE HARTNESS. 



During the past four years, or since 1906, George Hartness has occupied 
a beautiful home at No. 671 Clackamas street, but for a half century before 
had resided at the corner of Fifth and Flanders street, on property which he 
yet owns and which belonged to his father, who in the pioneer days of Port- 
land became the owner of a quarter interest in the old Couch claim, the first 
claim taken up from the government on the north side of the city. Through an 
extended period George Hartness was numbered among the active and progres- 
sive business men of Portland but in his later years has lived retired. 

He is one of the worthy citizens that Ohio furnished to the northwest, his 
birth having occurred in Massillon, that state, on the 7th of September, 1844. 
He was therefore ten years of age when in 1854 he accompanied his mother 
on the trip to Oregon. His father, Thomas Hartness, had arrived two years 
before. A native of Albany, New York, he was bom September 5, 1817, and 
was educated in the Empire state. In early manhood he went to Ohio and 
secured work in a brickyard, having previously learned the trade in the east. 
In the Buckeye state in 1842 he wedded Miss Alice Clay, whose family has had 
an unbroken ancestral record since 1682, when Christopher Pennock settled in 
Pennsylvania. His descendants are now numerous in Connecticut, Pennsylvania 
and Ohio, and in the last named state annual family reunions are held. These 
people are noted for longevity and they have, on the whole, been successful in 
business, giving their attention largely to agricultural pursuits. They are justly 
proud of their ancestry and their inheritances, one of which is Primitive Hall, 
located in Chester county, Pennsylvania, so widely known in history. More- 
over, the family have ever endeavored to hold high their standard of morality, 
mentality and physique, and have been valued citizens in the various localities 



.i-:i£. .iNiiW 









..Xi 




GEORGE HARTNESS 




MRS. GEORGE HARTNESS 






^<C^>'- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 343 

in which they have resided. Alice Clay belonged to that branch of the family 
that was established in Ohio, and there she gave her hand in marriage to Thomas 
Hartness. About the same time Thomas Hartness established a brickyard, 
the work being then done by hand. He was a great reader, and the accounts 
which he perused concerning the northwest and its opportunities determined 
him to try his fortune on the Pacific coast. He therefore made his way to New 
York city and sailed around Cape Horn, finally reaching Portland. This was in 
1852. He found an embryo city, in which industrial activity had made but 
slight advances, and he at once established the first brickyard here, the enter- 
prise being located on Glisan near Seventh street. Convinced that the future 
had good things in store for Portland, he sent for his family, and the mother) 
and her children made the journey by way of the isthmus of Panama, which 
they crossed with mules and then embarked for San Francisco. Seven days' 
travel on steamboat brought them from the Golden Gate to Portland, and the 
family were soon established in a little home on the property which Mr. Hart- 
ness had purchased, he having become the owner of a quarter interest in the 
Couch claim. He continued in the manufacture of brick until 1865, when he 
turned over the business to his son George, who conducted it for two years. His 
death occurred in Virginia in 1884, while his wife, who was born in Massillon, 
Ohio, July 12, 1820, died in Oregon. They had six children, of whom five were 
born in the Buckeye state and one after the arrival of the family in Oregon. 
Two of the number died in early childhood and the others are : Thomas M., 
who died in 1873 at the age of twenty-two years ; Adelia J., who became the 
wife of Samuel S. Douglas and died in 1872 at the age of twenty-three years; 
George; and Charles, who was born February 17, 1848, and is now a resi- 
dent of Portland. 

In the public schools of his native state George Hartness began his educa- 
tion, which was continued in the Portland Academy. The periods of vacation 
were devoted to assisting his father in the brickyard. In 1872 he accepted a 
position with the Oregon Transfer Company as clerk on the docks, at that time 
all transfers being made by teams to boats. That he proved a most competent 
and faithful employe is indicated by the fact that he remained with the com- 
pany for fourteen years, being promoted from time to time until, ambitious to 
conduct a business on his own account, he became a partner in the Northwestern 
Transfer Company and was elected its secretary. His business ability, execu- 
tive force and keen judgment were strong elements in the success which at- 
tended this venture. Under intelligent guidance the business continually grew 
and brought to its owners very substantial financial returns. In December, 
1901, Mr. Hartness resigned as secretary and in January, 1903, he withdrew 
from financial connection with the business because of impaired health. He 
is now the owner of a splendidly improved tract of land of three hundred acres 
in Washington county, from which he derives a good rental. He has contin- 
uously made his home in Portland since 1854. In 1875 he built a residence at 
No. 294 Flanders street, this being on the site of his father's original land- 
holdings, a tract that was originally covered with timber when it came into his 
possession. There he remained until 1906, when he erected his present resi- 
dence at No. 671 Clackamas street. 

Mr. Hartness was married in 1898 to Miss Candace M. Boyle, who was bom 
near Atwater, Ohio, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Elliott) Boyle, who 
lived originally in New York and afterward in Ohio. Her father died in that 
state in 1869 and her mother still survives there. Mrs. Hartness came to Oregon 
in 1892 and by her marriage has one son, George Victor, born July 31, 1900. 

Mr. Hartness has long been a prominent member of the Odd Fellows society, 
which he joined on the 22d of February, 1876, becoming a member of Hassalo 
Lodge. He is today one of the oldest representatives of the order in Portland, 
has filled all of the offices and has also taken the degrees in Ellison Encampment, 
No. 2, while twice he has represented the subordinate organization in the Grand 

16 



344 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

Lodge. Mr. Hartness has also belonged to the Masonic fraternity since 1888, 
has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, and is a member of 
the Mystic Shrine, while he and his wife hold membership with the Eastern 
Star. His political indorsement has been given to the republican party since 
age conferred upon him the right of franchise, and it has been well known that 
his support might be counted upon to further any public project promoting the 
material, intellectual, social or moral welfare of the community. He belongs 
to the Pioneer Society of Oregon and to the Pioneers Historical Society, and 
he became one of the first members of the First Presbyterian church. His 
whole life has been in harmony with his professions, and he has ever manifested 
those sterling traits of character and of manhood which in every land and clime 
awaken confidence and regard. His name certainly deserves a place upon the 
pages of Portland's history, inasmuch as he has been one of her citizens for 
fifty-six years. 



EMMOR J. HAIGHT. 



In every line of business there are men who are able to see further than 
others. By some this is called intuition, by others good judgment, but call it 
what we may the fact remains that the farseeing men are the ones who become 
by natural right leaders in every community. Thirty years ago Emmor J. 
Haight decided that western Oregon was a land of great promise and time has 
proven that his decision was true. He demonstrated his faith by making this 
state his home and here his dreams have been largely realized. He was born 
at Chatham, Columbia county, New York, August 26, 1841, and is a son of 
Job and Phoebe Ann (Van Bunscoten) Haight. His father was a Quaker and 
his mother a descendant of the Van Rensselaers and the Van Bunscotens of New 
York. When he was four years of age he went with his parents by way of the 
Erie canal and the overland route to Wisconsin. This was before the days of 
the railroad and the principal means of travel were by walking or stage coach. 
He was educated in the common schools and at eighteen years of age came west 
as far as Iowa, where he remained during the earlier days of the Civil war. 

In 1864 Mr. Haight, now twenty-three years of age, and ambitious to see 
the world and take advantage of any opportunities that might improve his for- 
tune, crossed the plains to California and for a time made his home in Santa 
Rosa. He was also engaged in the drug business at Woodland, Yolo county, 
California. Through study of the official reports issued from the surveyor 
general's office at Washington, D. C, and also from the department of the in- 
terior, he gained a favorable impression of the Oregon country and decided to 
make his permanent home in the northwest. Since 1879 he has been a resident 
of Portland and during most of the time has been connected with the real-estate 
business, in which he has been quite successful. He has platted a number of 
additions to the city, which are now entirely built up, and property on the east 
side, which in his early days as a real-estate man had comparatively little value, 
he now estimates to be worth more than ten million dollars. 

On the 13th of November, 1873, Mr. Haight was united in marriage to Miss 
Anna Peirson, a daughter of Dr. B. H. and Dora (Abernathy) Peirson. Her 
father was a pioneer physician of California. Four children have been born to' 
Mr. and Mrs. Haight, three of whom are living: Clinton P., who married Ber- 
nice Howell and has one son, Clinton H. ; Edna B. and Luella G. One daughter 
died in infancy. Mr. Haight is a member of the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen and in everything pertaining to the growth of the city has been for 
many years an intelligent and earnest worker, having been intimately connected 
with many changes which have marked the expansion of Portland for a genera- 
tion past. He is one of the best informed real-estate men in the city and his 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 345 

opinion and advice have great weight with many investors. In the evening 
of a busy life he is respected by old friends and as his policy toward clients 
has always been sincere and straightforward he retains the confidence and 
trust of those with whom he has had business relations. Mr. Haight has always 
voted the democratic ticket on national questions but in local affairs is inde- 
ipendent, supporting the individual rather than the party. 



PETER JEPPESEN. 



Portland draws her citizenship not only from the sections of America but 
also from various parts of the old world. Every civilized nation is here repre- 
sented and among the sons of Denmark who now claim Portland as their place 
of abode and are closely, actively and honorably associated with its business in- 
terests is Peter Jeppesen, who has here lived for nineteen years and for the past 
decade has carried on business as a brick-mason and cement contractor. He was 
born in Vordingborg, Denmark, on the 12th of April, 1861, a son of Henry and 
Anna Jeppesen. The father, a stone-mason by trade, is still living in Denmark. 

Peter Jeppesen acquired his education while spending his youth in his 
parents' home, and resided in his native land until twenty-five years of age, 
after which he spent five years in Germany. He learned the brick-mason's 
trade in Denmark and continued to follow that pursuit throughout the period of 
his European residence. In 1891 he sailed for America, making his way direct 
to Portland, where he has since resided. For nine years he worked in the em- 
ployment of others and during the past ten years has been engaged in con- 
tracting on his own account, taking contracts for brick and cement work. 

In 1892 Mr. Jeppesen was married to Miss Anna Gihm, who was born in 
Denmark although her father was of German birth. Mr. and Mrs. Jeppesen 
were married in Portland and they have become the parents of three children, 
Alice, Erna and Dagmar. Mr. Jeppesen has always voted independently but 
he is much interested in the welfare of his adopted city and thoroughly in sym- 
pathy with the free institutions of this country and its principles of government. 



JUDGE THOMAS J. CLEETON. 

Thomas J. Cleeton, county judge of Multnomah county, was born in Schuy- 
ler county, Missouri, October 7, 1861. His parents were Thornton Y. and Lucy 
(Reeves) Clayton, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter of Virginia, 
both of whom went to Missouri as members of their respective families in 1832 
and spent their entire lives upon a farm. Thomas J. Cleeton grew up in the 
country and received his preliminary education in the district schools of the 
neighborhood. He early exhibited a taste for intellectual pursuits and therefore 
continued his studies in the Lancaster high school and later at the State Normal 
School at Kirksville, Missouri. He began his active career as a school teacher 
and continued for twelve years in that vocation, during which time he gained an 
enviable reputation both as an instructor and as a school manager. His ability 
was recognized by his election as county superintendent of schools in Schuyler 
county, Missouri, and later in a similar capacity in Columbia county, Oregon. 

After some years' experience as a teacher Mr. Cleeton directed his attention 
to the study of law and became a student in the office of Judge Sheton, at Lan- 
caster, Missouri. In April, 1891, he came to Oregon and located at St. Helens, 
Columbia county. He was admitted to the bar at Salem in 1894 and in the same 
year was elected to the state legislature from Columbia county. An honorable 
record in the general assembly assisted in further advancement in political hon- 



346 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

ors and for a period of four years, from 1896 to 1900, he acted as prosecuting 
attorney for the Fifth judicial district of Oregon. In the latter year he removed 
to Portland, where he was engaged in a prosperous general practice until March, 
1910, when he was appointed county judge of Multnomah county. This posi- 
tion he has filled with the highest credit to himself and the satisfaction of the 
people of the county. 

On December 24, 1893, Mr. Cleeton was united in marriage to Miss Maud 
Esta Shannahan, a daughter of Alfred and Sarah (Colton) Shannahan, of 
Forest Grove, Oregon. Her father came from Indiana and was a veteran of 
the Civil war. Her mother was a native of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Qeeton has been for many years identified with the republican party 
and is an ardent advocate of its principles. He is a member of the Masonic 
order, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Moose and the Knights 
of Pythias. He has made many friends since coming to Portland and, having 
had an extensive experience as an educator and a lawyer and being a close 
student not only of books but of men, he has successfuUv filled every position 
which he has occupied. He is a clear and forcible speaker, a logical thinker and 
in his public addresses he clothes his ideas with an originality that attracts and 
holds the attention. As county judge his decisions have been uniformly fair and 
free from prejudice and partisanship and his administration has met with 
general approval. 



A. W. MARKLE. 



Among the newspaper editors of western Oregon A. W. Markle, editor and 
proprietor of the St. Johns Review, occupies an honorable place. Although a 
young man he had the advantage of an early start in a profession which calls 
for alertness and talent, not absolute requisites in many other vocations, but 
highly essential in order to achieve success in the newspaper field. 

Mr. Markle was born in Clearfield county, Pennsylvania, in 1874, a son of 
H. H. and Catharine Markle, who are still living at the old home in Pennsyl- 
vania. He was educated in the city schools of Clearfield and began his business 
career by learning the printer's trade in his native place. After having gained 
a good knowledge of operations in a newspaper office. Mr. Markle went to 
Houtzdale, Pennsylvania, where he purchaser an interest in a newspaper, which 
he conducted for five years. Having disposed of his holdings there he next 
engaged in a similar venture at Windber, Somerset county, Pennsylvania, where 
he filled the position of editor and proprietor of a paper for three years. He 
then returned to his home town, where he became city editor of a local paper 
and was also interested in the publication of a magazine. 

In order to secure the advantages of a change of climate and probably also 
actuated by that instinct which leads to migration from old and familiar scenes 
and has been the means of carrying civilization even to the most distant coun- 
tries of the world, Mr. Markle came to Oregon in 1904. He first located in Hood 
River where he engaged in the printing business, of which he had already 
gained a very thorough knowledge. In 1905 he came to St. Johns and bought 
an interest in the St. Johns Review, finally purchasing the interest of his partner. 
The Review is the only paper published in St. Johns and is conducted on broad 
and conservative lines which meet the demands of the locality and assist in the 
growth of the community. Mr. Markle started at the case — the right place for 
beginning in the newspaper business. There he learned how to express himself 
clearly as a writer and years of practice have made him an adept at the art. 
As an editor he is in favor of every movement that tends to the public good 
and while he does not spare those who oflfend by violating the law in public 
office, he has never yielded his talents to that style of journalism which has 



I 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 347 

selfish or personal considerations as its basis. He is respected for his gentle- 
manly qualities and now, just entering the prime of an honorable career, gives 
promise of many years of usefulness in a field where ability always meets a 
merited recognition. 

In 1900 Mr. Markle was united in marriage to Miss Daisy Dickson, of 
Clearfield county, Pennsylvania, and unto them have been born three children, 
Vernon, Kathleen and VVilbur. Mr. Markle has always been identified with the 
democratic party, although never an extremist, and in local affairs generally sup- 
ports men, rather than party. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, the 
Woodmen of the World and the Owls, and he and his family hold membership, 
in the Lutheran church. Mr. and Mrs. Markle are prominent in the social circles 
of the community and in every way possible render effective service in the 
promotion of its permanent welfare. 



SEID BACK, Sr. 



Seid Back, Sr., a successful Chinese merchant of Portland, who has spent 
more than forty years in the United States, was born in San Way Chung Sar, 
China, November 18, 1851. He is the son of Seid Yow King, who traced his 
ancestry back for many generations in the celestial kingdom. Seid Back was 
educated according to the customs of his country until he was seventeen years 
of age, when he came to America, locating in Portland. This was shortly after 
the Civil war and he spent the first eight years of his experience in a new 
country at various kinds of work, but in 1876 embarked in the grocery busi- 
ness, in which he has since continued. Owing to his pleasing address and nat- 
ural adaptability to mercantile affairs he has made many friends, both among 
business men and all other classes and acquired financial independence. He is 
a leader among his people and for a number of years has acted as a contractor 
of Chinese labor, operating quite extensively in this line. In 1875 he was united 
in 'marriage to Miss Chong Quey Choy, from whom he was separated by her 
death in 1894. In 1894 he was again married, his second union being with Miss 
Ching Won, who now presides over his household. As a result of the first 
union a son was born, a review of whom follows. 

Seid Back, Jr., was born in Portland, December 11, 1878. Until he was thir- 
teen years of age he was under the instruction of private Chinese teachers, 
thus receiving the education accorded to sons of wealthy citizens in China. At 
the age of thirteen he began attending the Baptist Chinese Mission night school 
at Portland, where he continued for five years and gained a good knowledge 
of the English language. Having shown a decided tendency in the direction of 
scholarly pursuits, he became a student in the old Bishop Scott Academy in 
Portland in 1898 and for two years enjoyed the advantages of a well con-) 
ducted educational institution which assisted him materially in making further 
progress. After leaving the academy he entered the store of his father and for 
three years was identified with mercantile pursuits, never losing sight of the 
fact, however, that his destiny lay in another direction. Having attracted the 
attention of the United States Immigration Bureau, which is affiliated with the 
department of commerce, he was invited to lend his assistance as interpreter and 
for three years acted in that capacity, his services proving so satisfactory that in 
1906 he was appointed Chinese interpreter at large, in which position he con- 
tinued for three years, traveling extensively throughout the country and becom- 
ing quite familiar with the methods of thought and business in the American 
republic. As early as 1903 he began the study of law in the law department of 
the University of Oregon and in 1907 he was graduated with the degree of LL. 
B. In June of the same year he was admitted to practice in the state courts of 
Oregon and in July following was admitted to the district and circuit courts of 



318 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the United States for the district of Oregon. He has the distinction of being 
the first Chinese who was admitted to practice in the American courts. He was 
the originator of the American-Born Chinese Association, which was organized 
in 1900 for the purpose of social, mental and physical advancement of Amer- 
ican born Chinese boys. This association still continues in existence. Mr. Back 
casts his vote with the republican party and is apparently just entering upon an 
honorable and successful career. 



ARCHIE MASON. 



Few men have contributed more tov/ard the development and upbuilding of 
Portland in recent years than Archie Mason, well known as a general contractor. 
He was born in Tioga county, Nevv^ York, March 15, 1861, a son of William 
W. and Esther (Brooks) Mason, his father being a native of New Ybrk, and 
his mother of Pennsylvania. The latter dying while he was still a boy> he came 
westward to Michigan and took up his home with Bradley Hayes, a farmer and 
lumberman, continuing with him for twelve years and working his way up until 
he was placed in charge of the lumber camp. 

At the age of twenty-five Mr. Mason decided to seek a new field for the 
exercise of his energies, and selected the northwest as the region that presented 
the most favorable outlook for a young man. Coming to Portland, he entered 
general contracting on his own account, beginning upon a small scale. At the end 
of eighteen months he went to Salem, Oregon, and engaged in the sand and 
cement business in addition to handling such contracts as he could secure. He 
continued to make his headquarters there until March, 1897, since which time 
he has resided at Portland. 

In the course of the years that have passed since he began as a contractor 
in Oregon, Mr. Mason has performed a large amount of work that will stand 
for many years as an evidence of his energy and skill. He assisted in recon- 
structing the railroad of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, and in 
building a large portion of the Snake River line for the same company, and also 
portions of the Columbia Southern & Sumpter Valley Railroad, and the branch 
into Windland for the Southern Pacific Railway. He built the irrigation canal 
for the reclamation service of the United States government in connection with 
the Klamath project. In the early part of his career he was the builder of the 
Oregon Water Power line at Estacada and the portion of the Mount Hood Rail- 
road, which has been completed. He has had charge of a large amount of sewer 
work and sidewalk construction and graded the grounds around the state house 
at Salem. While working on the Klamath project, he employed three hundred 
men. An important part of this work consisted of the construction of a tunnel 
through solid rock three thousand three hundred and fifty feet in length, v/hich 
the contract required to be arched v/ith cement. This he considers one of the 
most important undertakings with which he has been connected. Mr. Mason 
has had charge of a number of contracts in this city for paving, grading and 
filling and has several contracts of that nature now upon his hands, among them 
the paving of Whitaker and First streets with concrete, the grad-ng of the 
streets for the west half of Laurelhurst, and many other improvements in sew- 
ers, etc., for this entire addition. He has the contract for the Portage Railroad 
at The Dalles and also for grading Council Crest, and in his operations has 
shown an ability that places him in the first rank among large contractors of 
the Pacific coast. He is the owner of a tv/o hundred and twenty-five acre farm 
in Washington county. 

On the 24th of December, 1880, Mr. Mason was united in marriage at Lan- 
sing, Michigan, to Miss Margaret Roach, who is a daughter of Michael and 
Ellen (Phipps) Roach, natives of Ireland and New York state, respectively. 




ARCHIE MASON 



.. , i C Ji ::. 






iM -■'QUWDATIOMSl 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 351 

Five children have been born of this union, three of whom are living: May, the 
wife of Frederick WiUiams and the mother of two children, Clyde and Gene- 
vieve ; Esther ; and Arthur J. 

Mr. Mason is politically identified with the republican party and takes the 
interest of a public-spirited citizen in the election of reputable men to office. 
He is a member of the Masonic order and the United Artisans, and he and his 
wife are both affiliated with the Congregational church. He is a man of liberal 
tendencies, and one who is thoroughly interested in the permanent prosperity 
of the city, having contributed largely to the development and improvement of 
South Portland. His constant aim is to perform his duty according to the 
best of his ability, and as he has in his business dealings always been prompt, 
reliable and trustworthy, he has the confidence of the business men and the 
respect of the entire community. As a recreation, he enjoys hunting and fish- 
ing. 



MARK A. M. ASHLEY. 

Mark A. M. Ashley, cashier of the banking house of Ashley & Rumelin, of 
Portland, was born at Fort Ann, New York, June 15, 1863. His father, George 
Ashley, was born and reared upon a farm in Fort Ann, a farm which was in the 
family for nearly one hundred and twenty-five years. Upon that place he lived 
until he retired from active business, after which he came to Portland, where he 
died several years ago. In early manhood he married Rhoda Miller, who is still 
living in this city at the age of seventy-three years. The Ashleys came origi- 
nally from England about 1630, the ancestral home being established in Massa- 
chusetts, from which time to the present there is a complete genealogical record. 

Mark A. M. Ashley was the second of four children, of whom Roscoe Ashley 
is associated with his brother in business, while a sister, Mrs. C, E. Rumelin, is 
also a resident of Portland. Pursuing his education through consecutive grades, 
Mark A. M. Ashley attended the high school of Fort Ann, New York, and pur- 
sued a commercial course in a business college at Poughkeepsie, New York. In 
August, 1883, he left the Atlantic seaport for the Pacific coast and spent four 
months in San Francisco, after which he came to Portland, arriving in this city 
on Christmas day of 1883. On the ist of January, 1884, however, he returned 
to San Francisco, but on the 28th of February once more arrived in Portland, 
where he has resided continuously since. Here he turned his attention to the 
advertising business, in which he continued for a year or two uninterruptedly 
and to a greater or less extent until 1907, when he and his partner sold out the 
street car advertising business. For many yea'^s they also owned the advertising 
privilege in the street cars of Tacoma, Salem and Astoria. About 1885 they 
turned their attention to the real-estate and mortgage loan business, in which 
they continued until about 1907, handling only their own properties. In 1885 
C. E. Rumelin had become associated with Mr. Ashley, forming a partnership 
which a few years later was reorganized and the original firm name of M. A. M. 
Ashley & Company was changed to Ashley & Rumelin, although the advertising 
business was always conducted under the former style. In April, 1907, they 
organized and incorporated their banking business under the name of Ashley & 
Rumelin, bankers, and now engage exclusively in a general banking business, to 
which they had been gradually drifting. This includes all branches of banking. 
After the ist of February, 191 1, they will occupy new quarters at the corner 
of Second and Stark streets, affording them larger accommodations. 

On the 17th of July, 1889, in Portland, Mr. Ashley was united in marriage 
to Miss Mabel W. Willis, a daughter of P. L. Willis, of Portland. They have 
two children : Willis S., fifteen years of age ; and Roscoe G., fourteen years of 
age. The family reside at No. 889 Savier street. 



352 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

For twenty-six years Mr. Ashley has been continuously connected with Port- 
land's interests and now devotes his entire attention to the upbuilding of a busi- 
ness which is a prominent feature in the banking circles of the city. As a citizen 
he is interested in everything pertaining to the general good nor withholds his 
support from projects which need the loyalty and co-operation of the general 
public. His keen perception and honesty of purpose are counted among his 
chief characteristics and have contributed in large measure to the gratifying 
success which is attending his efforts. 



JAMES W. CHASE. 



James W. Chase was a resident of Oregon from June, 1851, until his death, 
which occurred September 14, 1910, his remains being interred in Mount View 
cemetery, Oregon City. He was born in Vermont on the 29th of October, 1834, 
and was a son of Sisson and Dorothy Chase. The father was born in Rhode 
Island on the 6th of February, 1786, only a few years after the close of the 
Revolutionary war, and the mother's birth occurred in Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, May 16, 1792. Attracted by the opportunities of the west, they resolved 
to come to the Pacific coast and after living for a few years in Iowa they left 
that state in 1850 and traveled to Salt Lake City. There they spent the winter 
and in the early spring of 185 1 continued on their way to Oregon, where they 
arrived in the month of June. They were accompanied by four sons and two 
daughters : Charles, Houston, James W., Andrew, Violet and Lucinda. The 
elder daughter was the wife of A. M. Harding, and Lucinda became the wife of 
William Partlow of Oregon City. On reaching their destination, the father took 
up a claim at Springwater near Eagle Creek, and to provide for his family fol- 
lowed the occupation of farming, developing a good property. He died, how- 
ever, on the 7th of May, 1864, and his wife passed away on the 28th of July, 
1876. Both were well advanced in years when called to their final rest. 

James W. Chase, by reason of his residence in different sections of the coun- 
try, became familiar with life in New England, in the middle west, and upon the 
Pacific coast. He was about fourteen years of age when the family went from 
the Green Mountain state to lowa^ and was a youth of seventeen when they 
started upon the trip over the prairies and the long stretches of hot sand that at 
length brought them to Salt Lake. After arriving in Oregon, he aided his father 
in the arduous task of developing and improving a new claim, but in those ex- 
periences laid the foundation for a robust manhood that enabled him to do much 
hard labor in later years. Taking up his abode in Oregon City, he there became 
connected with the mechanical department of the Oregon City Woolen Mills, 
which he represented in that way for many years. He was not only capable, 
but also most loyal to the interests of his employers and enjoyed their full con- 
fidence and trust. His last days, however, were spent in retirement, having 
passed the seventy-sixth milestone on life's journey. 

When twenty-four years of age, Mr. Chase was married to Miss Sarah Au- 
gusta Stevenson, a daughter of John W. and Sarah Stevenson, of whom a sketch 
appears in another part of the work. Their union was blessed with six chil- 
dren, namely: Ivan, now a resident of Colfax, Washington; Ednetta S., the 
wife of Samuel Dillman ; Dorothy H., the wife of Gilbert L. Hedges ; Sade 
Hazelton, the wife of Austin Howland, a resident of Grants Pass, Oregon ; Ina 
Miranda, the wife of S. Adams of Oregon City ; and Olney, who was drowned 
in the Willamette river in 1890. 

Mr. Chase was always interested in public progress and was numbered among 
the loyal and progressive residents of Oregon City. His fellow townsmen, ap- 
preciating his worth and ability, called him to office and for twenty years he 
served as a member of the city council. It was a record of which he had every 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 353 

reason to be proud, for it indicated how loyal he was to duty and how faithfully 
he served the best interests of the city. Abraham Lincoln said : "You can fool 
all of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time, but 
you can't fool all of the people all of the time." This fact is again and again 
demonstrated in political life. There are times when unscrupulous and untrust- 
worthy men are elected to office, but sooner or later their disloyalty is bound to 
be found out, and the public rises in protest against such service. When a man 
is again and again elected to office, therefore, it is proof that he is worthy of 
the trust reposed in him and that his public work results in practical values. 
As one of the aldermen of Oregon City, Mr. Chase did excellent work for its 
interests and as one of the representative residents of this community, well 
deserves mention among the pioneers of the Willamette valley. He was an ad- 
vocate of municipal ownership of public utilities, and was the first man to pro- 
pose the city buying the water-works, but met with decided opposition. After 
some years, however, he succeeded in having the city purchase the plant, which 
has proved a paying investment. 



PATRICK RALEIGH. 



Patrick Raleigh was one of the pioneer merchants and former business men 
of Portland, who early had the prescience to discern what the future held in 
store for this great and growing country, so that he invested largely in real es- 
tate and thus founded a fortune for his family that includes a large proportion 
of the valuable business property of the city. He is yet remembered by many 
of Portland's residents of the middle of the nineteenth century. 

He was born in the parish of Buff, in the county of Limerick, Ireland, Jan- 
uary I, 1817, and it is supposed that he is descended from Sir Walter Raleigh. 
He emigrated from Ireland and came to the United States when about twenty- 
one years of age, landing at New York, where he obtained employment in the 
dry-goods house of Lord & Taylor, which is still in existence. Later, removing 
westward to Dubuque, Iowa, he there opened a dry-goods store, which was de- 
stroyed by fire about the time of the gold excitement in California, and he joined 
the westward stampede, hoping, like thousands of others, to attain wealth on 
the Pacific coast, which was being so rapidly developed. He made the journey 
by way of the isthmus of Panama, arriving at San Francisco in 185 1. He did 
not seek wealth in the mines, thus turning his attention to pursuits with which 
he was utterly unfamiliar, but continued in the field of labor with which he had 
acquaintance and experience. 

Prior to leaving the east, Mr. Raleigh purchased a stock of goods in New 
York, which he shipped on the sloop Mathew Vassar direct to Portland, it re- 
quiring six months to reach here. In the meantime he and his family also trav- 
eled by sea, but reached their destination some time before the arrival of the 
sloop. At length when he received his goods, he opened a general mercantile 
store and from the beginning prospered in the undertaking, soon building up a 
substantial, growing and profitable business. Extending his efforts about 1861, 
he opened another store near the Grand Ronde reservation. As he prospered in 
business he invested his increasing capital in land. The growth of Portland has 
shown the keen insight which he displayed in making such investments, some of 
which now constitute the highest priced realty in this city. He purchased and 
platted what became known as Raleigh's addition to the city of Portland, and it 
constitutes one of the most important districts, as much of the retail business cen- 
ter of the city is now located thereon. It was in this addition that Portland had 
its first baseball grounds. In all of his business affairs he displayed remarkable 
discernment and sound judgment, and carried to successful completion every- 
thing that he undertook. There is still standing on First street a brick building 



354 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

which he erected in early days, and another on the southeast corner of First and 
Stark streets, which is a three-story structure and was considered very large 
and imposing when built. 

Mr. Raleigh was a Catholic in his religious faith, and on the 2d of February, 
1844, in accordance with the rites of the church, he was married in New York 
city to Miss Mary Louisa Kain. He died in 1868, leaving eight children: Mrs. 
C. A. Trimble; John S. Raleigh; Albert C. Raleigh, since deceased; Mrs. M. M. 
Gearin; Mrs. Ella E. McCormick; Mrs. F. E. Kelly; Wilham T. Raleigh; and 
George M. Raleigh, since deceased. The family from the beginning of their 
residence have been prominent in the city, and the increasing value of their 
real-estate holdings have given them place among the wealthy residents of Port- 
land. 



RICHARD BENJAMIN MILLER. 

Richard Benjamin Miller has throughout the entire period of his business 
career been identified with railroad interests and the steps in his orderly progres- 
sion are easily discernable, bringing him at length to his present position of re- 
sponsibility as traffic manager for the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company 
and the Oregon-Washington Railroad & Navigation Company, and general 
freight agent for the Southern Pacific Company's lines in Oregon. 

He was born in southern Idaho on the 8th of April, 1870, and, after acquir- 
ing his education in the public schools, he sought the opportunity of providing 
for his own support in 1886 when sixteen years of age, as an employe of the 
Oregon Railway & Navigation Company at Portland. He has been continuously 
with this company to the present time except during the period from the ist of 
September, 1901, to the 15th of May, 1902, when he occupied the position of 
general freight and passenger agent for the Southern Pacific Company's lines 
in this state. He still remains as general freight agent for the Southern Pacific 
in Oregon, and, returning to the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, he 
was appointed its traffic manager and also traffic manager for the Oregon-Wash- 
ington Railroad Company. Almost a quarter of a century's connection with 
railway service has made him thoroughly informed concerning the work of this 
department, and his increasing ability has been attested in the promotions which 
have come to him, bringing him at length to a place of large responsibility. He 
is a member of the Arlington and Commercial clubs of Portland ; the Spokane 
Club of Spokane, Washington; the Arctic Club of Seattle; the Commercial Club 
of Tacoma ; and numerous other clubs. 



JOHN SUTTON. 



In the early period of steamship navigation along the Pacific coast, John Sut- 
ton was well known as an engineer. He is remembered here by many of the 
early settlers as that type of hardy pioneers through whose fortitude and deter- 
mination a new country is settled and developed to success. 

He was born at St. Georges, Delaware, April 30, 1823. His father was Dr. 
James N. Sutton, a prominent man of the state of Delaware, and his mother was 
a direct descendant of the house of Stuarts of Scotland. She died when her 
son was but two years of age. He was sent to a preparatory school and later 
attended the West Point Military Academy, where he was a classmate of Ulysses 
S. Grant. He afterward joined the United States navy and served for three 
years under his uncle, Commodore Newton. He was in the Mexican war while 
with the navy. 



THE CITY OF 'PORTLAND 355 

In 1850 Mr. Sutton arrived in California, where he engaged in a private 
shipping business with which he was connected throughout his entire Hfe on the 
coast. He was in a number of wrecks, one on the Mississippi river before going 
to Cahfornia. He iinally lost his life at sea, on the 27th of January, 1873, when 
the ship George S. Wright went down with all on board. The boat plied be- 
tween Portland and Alaskan ports, and the only bodies ever found were those 
of a cabin boy lashed to a chair and Major Ealker a paymaster in the United 
States army. Mr. Sutton showed a preference for Portland and invested in 
property there and used his influence, which was widespread, he having run at 
various times on vessels plying between Panama and Alaska, for the benefit of 
his home city. 

In September, 1848, Mr. Sutton was united in marriage to Miss Anna Beatrice 
Dolan, a daughter of Charles Dolan of Boston, Massachusetts. Mrs. Sutton 
was born June 29, 1829, and died April 15, 1905. She kept their children to- 
gether after her husband's death, educated them and gave they every opportunity 
possible. She had a family of nine, namely: Julia Ann, the wife of G. B. 
Wright, deceased; Margaret S., the wife of George J. Ainsworth, deceased; 
Mave, the wife of Otis Sprague, of San Francisco, California; James N., of 
Portland; Jennie K., the wife of Alfred Wheeler, of Nelson, British Columbia; 
John Grant, of San Francisco, California; Albert of Hood River, Oregon; Ada 
v., the wife of Arthur E. Bull of Boston, Massachusetts; and Herbert G. Sut- 
ton of San Francisco, California. 



EDWARD F. DAY. 



Among the citizens who are pleasantly located in St. Johns is Edward F. 
Day, for many years a sheep-raiser and now living at leisure after a successful 
contest in the quest for fortune. He was born at Detroit, Somerset county, 
Maine, December 24, 1847, and lived there until he was twelve years of age, 
when he went to work upon a farm. His education was limited to the common 
schools, but he has been a man of reading, observation and acquaintance with the 
world, by means of which he has gained a great deal of valuable knowledge 
which cannot be obtained from books. Having been thrown upon his own re- 
sources very early in life, he learned those lessons of self-reliance and self-con- 
trol that are so important in shaping one's career. 

When he was nineteen years of age he came to the conclusion that the Pa- 
cific coast region was a more promising field for a young man who depended 
upon his own exertions than the older settled regions of the east. He accord- 
ingly went to New York, where he took passage for the isthmus of Panama, 
which he crossed by rail and then continued his journey northward by boat to 
California. He first settled in Mendocino county and lived there for three years, 
at the close of which time he was attracted to the mines of Nevada, where he 
labored faithfully for one year. At this time he was seized with a desire to re- 
visit old scenes and, returning to the east, was engaged in the lumber business 
at Lewiston, Maine. 

In 1879, however, Mr. Day resolved to become a permanent resident of the 
northwest and he came to Morrow county, Oregon, where he bought a ranch and 
turned his attention to sheep raising, in which business he continued for twenty- 
five years. During that time, by industry and good judgment, he became highly 
prosperous and five years ago he removed to St. Johns, where he has since 
made his home. He has great faith in the future of this region and has demon- 
strated his faith by extensive investments in real estate and by assisting in many 
ways in advancing the permanent interests of St. Johns. 

Mr. Day has been twice married. His first wife was Elvira Norton, a daugh- 
ter of Stephen Norton, of Mount Vernon, Maine, to whom he was united Sep- 



356 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

tember 20, 1873. O" October 2, 1888, he was again married, his second union 
being with Miss Didanna Hart, a daughter of R. C. and Eudora Hart, of 
Heppner. 

Mr. Day is a member of the Masonic order and still retains his connection 
with the blue lodge and chapter at Heppner, Morrow county, Oregon. As the 
result of a perseverance which has been one of his prominent characteristics 
through life and also an energy and business ability, he is now enjoying the 
fruits of many years of toil. Few men in the northwest are. better acquainted 
with the industry to which he devoted his time and attention for a quarter of a 
century. He has gained the confidence and good-will of all with whom he has 
come in contact, and the friends and associates who have known him longest 
are those who are now numbered among his best wishers. 



EGBERT A. RANKIN. 



Egbert A. Rankin is now conducting a contract plastering business, the process 
of application of the plaster being known only to himself. The work is sat- 
isfactory in the highest degree to those who have employed Mr, Rankin, and 
his business is constantly increasing, Portland has numbered him among her 
residents since 1881. He was born near Chariton, Lucas county, Iowa, on the 
23d of March, 1856, a son of E, C. and EveHne (Bryan) Rankin. The father 
was a farmer and stock raiser, and the youthful days of Egbert A. Rankin were 
passed in the usual manner of farm lads. He acquired his education in the 
public schools and through the periods of vacation worked in the fields. He 
continued at home until twenty-one years of age, and on attaining his majority 
he began learning the plasterer's trade. He resided in Iowa until about 1875, 
when he went to Kansas with his father, establishing his home at Great Bend. 
It was there that he learned his trade. He spent six years in the Sunflower 
state and at the end of that time came to Portland, since which time he has lived 
in this city and vicinity. 

Following his arrival here, Mr. Rankin first engaged in the plastering busi- 
ness for about two years as a journeyman. About 1883 he purchased a grocery 
and bakery, which he conducted for eighteen months, his business being located 
on Union avenue between Oak and Pine streets. Later he conducted a cheese 
ranch, which was known as the Sandy Ranch Cheese Factory, and it was here 
that the first cheese was made in Oregon. Mr. Rankin carried on the business 
for six years, and afterward continued in the dairy and other business lines until 
about 1890, when he began contracting as a plasterer. He has continued in this 
business to the present time, and has devised a method of plastering known only 
to himself. He is the only man in Portland doing his work in this way. He 
received the contract for the plastering of a fine apartment building for Mr. 
Ray on Sixteenth and Kearney streets, also an apartment building for Mrs. 
Sullivan on Twenty-first and Johnson streets. He was awarded the contract 
for plastering the Blazier home on Wasco street, and has plastered about thirty 
houses in Irvington and Holladay additions, the C. E. Moulton residence on 
Twenty-sixth and Lovejoy, and the adjoining house belonging to Mr. Peacock. 

On the i6th of December, 1877, Mr. Rankin was married to Miss Nettie 
Fausel, a daughter of C. C. and Frances (Clarke) Fausel. Mrs. Rankin was 
born in Quincy, Illinois, and in 1872 removed with her parents to Great Bend, 
Kansas, where she was married. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Rankin were born eight 
children, of whom one died in infancy. Those still living are: Erv, who works 
for his father; Nellie; Jack Egbert, who is also with his father; Nettie Mae 
and Grace F., both of whom are teachers; Callie, a student; and Baby Rankin. 
The youngest child is about nine years old and has always been called Baby 
Rankin. 




E. A. RANKIN 







VI. 



- ?•> 



---*^- 



A*^-' 



^« '-'''—«-"" " 






"V ■ 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 359 

For twenty-seven years Mr. Rankin has been a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, and is much interested in the order and its purposes. He joined Co- 
lumbia Lodge, A. F. & A. M. of Portland in 1883, and remained a member of 
that lodge until Fairview Lodge No. 92, A. F. & A. M. was instituted, when 
he became a charter member of that lodge in 1887. Twenty-nine years' resi- 
dence in Portland has made him widely known in business circles. The success 
which he has achieved is attributable entirely to his own labors. There have 
been no unusual chapters in his life history, but his earnestness and energy have 
enabled him to triumph over difficulties and obstacles and gradually advance to- 
ward the goal of success. 



CHARLES B. MERRICK. 

Charles B. Merrick, since July, 1910, postmaster of the city of Portland, is 
a remarkable instance of the profound truth which has been distinctly set forth 
by clear thinkers in recent years, that man possesses the ability to control cir- 
cumstances. Obstacles that might have disheartened less resolute men, have 
presented themselves in the course of his career, but he early resolved to ac- 
complish worthy aims and to him no difficulty has been insurmountable. His 
life has been governed by the principle, expressed by the words: "Find a way 
or make it," and his present positioti of- responsibility is a result of strict ad- 
herence to this idea. He has learned in the course of fifteen years spent in more 
than ordinary activity that most of the obstacles to advancement are phantoms 
which quickly disappear before the ambitious spirit fired with an unalterable 

determination to win. '--:;'-■' •",;■:"■;,■" .■>.,- 

Born in Saginaw, Michigan, July 30, 1873"; Mr. Merrick is thirty-seven years 
of age and may be said to have just fairly entered upon the possibilities of a long 
and useful career. He removed with his parents, Joseph E. and Margaret J. 
(Doyle) Merrick, at two years of age to Bay City, Michigan, where the family 
resided for nine years. His father, being interested in the lumber business, next 
moved his family to the lumber fields of Ogemaw county, Michigan. There the 
son grew up under the strengthening influences of a healthy country life, attend- 
ing school at West Branch, Ogemaw county. At eighteen years of age he began 
life for himself as a school teacher and for four years he taught in the district 
school at the same time continuing his studies and laying a good foundation for 
general knowledge. The restraints of the schoolroom caused the young teacher to 
heed the call of the city, and at twenty-two he gave up teaching, went to Detroit, 
the principal city of Michigan, and entered the employ of the J. L. Hudson Com- 
pany, owning a large department store. 

Attracted to the law, Mr. Merrick took up the night course of the Detroit 
College of Law with the class of 1899. In the meantime, however, the Spanish- 
American war awakened a great wave of patriotism throughout the entire coun- 
try and the law student dropped his books and in the spring of 1898 enlisted in 
Company M, Thirty-third Regiment Michigan Volunteer Infantry. He en- 
listed as a private, but his close attention to duties attracted favorable notice of 
officers of the company and at the close of three weeks he was invited to the 
captain's presence and appointed corporal of the company. As fortune would 
have it. Company M was the only company of the regiment from Detroit that 
actively participated in the Cuban campaign. While in Cuba Corporal Merrick 
was taken down with yellow fever and before he had completely recovered from 
that disease contracted typhoid fever. A good constitution resisted the inroads 
of both attacks so successfully that the patient was sent home to convalesce in a 
hospital in Detroit. Shortly after leaving the hospital a third attack manifested, 
this time as pneumonia. Never for one moment did he cease to fight for his 
life and he came through victorious, although he lost a year at the law school, 



360 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

and in taking up his studies again found himself among new classmates. He 
was graduated in law in 1900, but has never practiced. The study, however, has 
proven of lasting benefit, as it is probable that no subject is more favorable to 
the broadening and strengthening of the mind than the study of law when con- 
scientiously pursued. 

Mr. Merrick became identified with newspaper work and was connected with 
several newspapers of the middle west. He also traveled extensively as repre- 
sentative of the United States Graphite Company. In the course of his travels 
he visited the Pacific coast and was irresistibly attracted by the advantages of 
the great region of which Portland is one of the leading centers. He located 
here in 1905 and was made secretary of the Portland Retail Grocers Associa- 
tion. He then organized and became secretary of the Oregon Retail Merchants 
Association, which position he still continues to hold. This association extends 
to all parts of the state, and is a leading agency in the development of an im- 
portant factor in the business world. Mr. Merrick has been editor of the Retail 
Grocers Magazine since 1905 and has been instrumental in no small degree in 
building up the mercantile interests of the state. On January i, 1910, Mr. Mer- 
rick was appointed register of the United States land office at Portland. This 
position he held for six months, when he resigned, having received appointment 
from President Taft as postmaster of Portland. His administration has proven 
entirely satisfactory not only to the business interests, but to citizens generally. 
Although a republican, he has placed faithful service above party and his ex- 
perience has taught him that there are good men in all political parties. Being 
gifted with a pleasing address, a sympathetic nature and right views of life gained 
by actual contact with realities of the world, Mr. Merrick is especially qualified 
for the honorable position he now occupies. 

On the 27th of June, 1906, Mr. Merrick was united in marriage with Mary 
Kearney, of Seattle, Washington, and they have one son, Pat, who was born 
June 20, 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Merrick are members of the Roman Catholic 
church, and he is connected with the Knights of Columbus, the Woodmen of 
the World, the Modem Woodmen of America, the Knights of the Maccabees 
and the Ancient Order of Hibernians. He is also a member of the Spanish- 
American War Veterans, president of the "Ad" Club of Portland ; secretary of 
the Civic Improvement League of Portland. An earnest worker in everything 
he undertakes, he has gained a wide and growing circle of friends and acquaint- 
ances whose regard is one of the strongest incentives in a career marked by a 
succession of deserved and well earned advancements. 



RICHARD WARD MONTAGUE. 

That men owe to the community everything that distinguishes our civilized 
life from that of the naked savage, and that this debt should be repaid by thought 
and labor in the common welfare, has been one of the ruling principles in the 
life of Richard Ward Montague, a well known lawyer of Portland and a writer 
and compiler whose work has been favorably received by the profession. 

Mr. Montague is a native of Iowa, but removed to Portland in 1890 and has 
been in active practice here continuously since. He was born at Charles City, 
Iowa, February 11, 1862. He is the son of John Vose Wood Montague and 
Martha Washington (Jackson) Montague. He received his preliminary edu- 
cation in the public schools and early displayed studious tendencies. Entering 
the State University at Iowa City, he pursued the philosophical course and was 
graduated in 1883 with the degree of Ph. B. In the year following he received 
the degree of LL. B. from the law department of the same university. He was 
admitted to the bar in 1884, began practice in Mason City, Iowa, and in 1887 
removed to New York city, where he remained three years. He came to Port- 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 361 

land in August, 1890, and in October following was admitted to practice in the 
supreme court of the state. 

Mr. Montague's active interest in civic affairs was recognized by his selec- 
tion as a member of the Charter Commission of Portland in 1901, which framed 
the present charter of the city, and of the Charter Commission of 1908, which 
proposed a charter on the commission plan now popular in many cities. He is 
the author of a Digest of Volumes i to 43 of the Oregon Reports, a work re- 
quiring very extensive and protracted labor, which since its publication has been 
in constant use and has met with the approval of the bar. At the present time 
he is assisting in the compilation of the Oregon Codes and Statutes, an under- 
taking carried on in pursuance of an act of the last legislature, under the gen- 
eral direction of Hon. W. P. Lord, code commissioner. He was a member of 
the conservation committee, which preceded the present Conservation Commis- 
sion. He takes a lively interest in literary matters ; is a member of the board 
of directors of the Library Association of Portland, and of the faculty of the 
law school of the University of Oregon, delivering annual lectures upon the 
subject of equity. In politics he is a "progressive" democrat and lends earnest 
assistance to undertakings having in view the betterment of social and political 
conditions. In college he joined the Beta Theta Pi fraternity and is a member 
of the University Club. 

In 1889 he was happily married to Ellen Amelia Barton of Mason City, 
Iowa. He enjoys an extensive practice and the respect and confidence of his 
clients. 



WILLIAM L. McCABE. 



Under the name of The McCabe Company of Portland, William L. McCabe 
is conducting an extensive stevedore business, of which he is the president. He 
has operated in this line at many points on the Pacific coast, both in the United 
States and British Columbia, and also established the first business of this char- 
acter in Honolulu. He is now confining his efiforts, however, to the Columbia 
and Willamette valleys in the conduct of a business which has assumed large and 
profitable proportions. He was born in Marietta, Washington county, Ohio, 
March 17, 1850, a son of Charles and Jane (MacKinzie) McCabe, the former a 
millwright by trade. In 1854 the parents removed with their family to the town 
then called St. Anthony, Minnesota, but now a part of Minneapolis, and in 
1858 the mother died there. 

William L. McCabe, then a little lad of eight years, was sent to make his 
home with his grandmother in Livingston county, New York, where he remained 
until 1863. Fired with stories of the war and tales of heroism, he tired of the 
routine of school and home life and in 1863, at the age of thirteen years, ran 
away from home, joining the Federal navy, with which he served until July, 
1865, when he was honorably discharged. He was with Farragut at Mobile 
bay and participated in several engagements on the Sebago, a gunboat. He after- 
ward followed the sea in connection with the merchant marine service and, work- 
ing his way upward, was an officer on different vessels and made a number of 
voyages to different parts of the world. 

In 1871 Mr. McCabe came to Portland from San Francisco, where he first 
worked as a longshoreman and later as foreman, while for four years he acted 
as head foreman. In 1875 he engaged in the stevedore business on his own ac- 
count, and in 1876 formed a partnership with Captain Brown, with whom he 
remained in business under the firm style of Brown & McCabe until 1888, when 
he sold out to his partner. Mr. McCabe then went to the Puget Sound, where 
he again engaged in the same line of business that had hitherto claimed his at- 
tention. In 1899 he sailed for Honolulu, where he embarked in business under 



362 THE CITY OF PORTLAND 

the firm style of McCabe, Hamilton & Renney. He succeeded in building up an 
extensive business there, this being the first regular stevedore enterprise there. 
After four years, or in 1893, he disposed of his interests in the tropics and con- 
centrated his time and energies upon the business of the firm at Puget Sound. 
In 1906 he extended his interests to British Columbia, with offices in Vancouver 
and Victoria. He carried on his interest until 1908, when he sold out both in 
British Columbia and on the Puget Sound and returned to Portland. 

After again taking up his abode in this city, Mr. McCabe organized what is 
known as The McCabe Company, which was incorporated in 1908, with W. L. 
McCabe as the president ; W. K. Scott, vice president ; and E. F. Elliott, as sec- 
retary and treasurer. This is a stevedore business, which in its scope extends 
from Portland to Astoria and to many points along the Willamette and Colum- 
bia rivers. They employ at times as many as five hundred men, and their busi- 
ness is now a very extensive, carefully systematized and well regulated under- 
taking, so that results are accomplished with as little loss of time and labor as 
possible. To the careful direction of Mr. McCabe the gratifying success of the 
undertaking is largely attributable. About 1896 he brought out and patented 
the first successful conveyor for loading and unloading freight. Since that time 
he has also devised a friction chute for lowering cargo, also several other de- 
vices for handling freight. In all, he owns about twenty patents with others 
pending. 

On the nth of October, 1893, Mr. McCabe was married to Miss Minnie M. 
White of Seattle, and they now have a pleasant home in the Rose City. He 
belongs to the Chamber of Commerce and the Commercial Club and is interested 
in the movements of these organizations, the one to promote and beautify the 
interests of Portland and the other to exploit and make known its resources. He 
is a firm believer in a bright future for the northwest and does all in his power 
to advance the development of this section of the country. 



JACOB H. EMMERT. 



Jacob H. Emmert, who is engaged in the real estate business at No. 845 
Williams avenue, Portland, and for over thirty years has been a resident of this 
city, was born in St. Louis, Missouri, March 3, 1872. The record of his life 
illustrates in a striking degree the effect of worthy aspirations and self-confi- 
dence when combined with good judgment and decision of character. He is a 
son of Jacob and Margaret (Meidrich) Emmert, both natives of Germany. The 
father, who was born in 1829, died in Portland in 1890, while the mother was 
born in 1834, and passed away on the 21st of June, 1906. At the age of five 
years our subject removed with his parents to Tacoma, Washington, and a year 
later to Portland, where the family permanently located. Here he received his 
education and advanced as far as the grammer grades in the public school. 

Immediately upon laying his books aside, Mr. Emmert began his battle with 
the world by driving a wagon for Theodore Leibe, proprietor of a bakery, and 
continued in that employment for six years. He was next connected with the 
Owens Bakery for two years. During the year 1891 he was engaged in the 
grocery business and conducted a market at Sixteenth and Marshall streets in 
1897. 

His brother being engaged in the plumbing business, Mr. Emmert had op- 
portunities at various times from his boyhood up of becoming acquainted \yith 
the practical details of the trade, and in 1905 he opened a plumbing establish- 
ment upon his own account, starting his first shop in a basement at No. 899 Wil- 
liams avenue, with a total capital of forty dollars. About this time there began 
to develop within him powers which apparently he had not known before, and 
he became aware of the great principle which governs all important factors 




J. H. EMMERT 



THE CITY OF PORTLAND 365 

in life, that if we are to advance we must build the ladder by which we rise. His 
success was indeed remarkable. In 1910 he disposed of his business for twenty- 
five hundred dollars, realizing in addition four thousand dollars a year net profit 
during the six years in which he had been engaged in this venture. Immediately 
upon closing out his plumbing establishment, he became identified with the real 
estate business, being already the owner of an extensive amount of valuable real 
estate on Williams avenue and in various other locations on the east side. 

In 1900, at Portland, Mr. Emmert was united in marriage to Miss Margaret 
Menth, a daughter of Joseph and Barbara (Meyer) Menth, whose parents were 
of German descent. Mr. Menth was but three years of age when brought to 
the United States by his parents in 1852, and since 1889 has been a resident of 
Portland, having come to this city from St. Paul. His wife, who was born in 
1857, died on the 8th of December, 1902. Two children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Emmert: Velva, now five years of age; and Howard, aged four years. 
Mrs. Emmert is a member of St. Mary's Catholic church of Albina, and presides 
with ease and grace over a happy home. 

Mr. Emmert is affiliated with the Woodmen of the World, and although en- 
gaged in the real estate business but a short time, he has apparently found his 
place in life, and is fairly launched in a congenial field. The happy possessor 
of a genial and kindly disposition, he has much to commend him to the good- 
will and confidence of the public. He is fond of outdoor sports, especially mo- 
toring and fishing. 



HON. LANSLNG STOUT. 

There have been few Oregon men in public office who have displayed as 
great tact and judgment in the management of public interests as did Hon. 
Lansing Stout who for a considerable period occupied positions of public trust 
and responsibility. And yet he was not yet quite forty-three years of age at 
the time of his death, which occurred on the 3d of March, 1871. A native of 
New York, he was born in Watertown, Jefferson county, and spent the days of 
his boyhood and youth there, his education being acquired in the public schools. 
He was in the early twenties when, in the year 1852, he made his way to Cali- 
fornia, where he soon occupied a prominent position in connection with public 
affairs. He served as a member of the legislature of that state from Placer 
county in 1855. In the spring of 1857 he arrived in Oregon, and the following 
year was elected county judge of Multnomah county. In 1859 he was chosen 
to represent his district in congress and was known as an industrious and earnest 
working member of that body, displaying considerable skill and diplomacy in 
managing the measures which he introduced and fostered. He was instrumental 
in securing the daily overland mail between Sacramento and Portland, and the 
payment of the Oregon and Washington territory Indian war debt. He was a 
member of the memorable committee of one from each state on the occasion of 
the secession of the first seven southern states which withdrew their representa- 
tive from congress. 

Before his return to Oregon, Mr. Stout was united in marriage to Miss Susan 
Plowden, a native of Maryland, and unto them were born four children, all of 
whom were living at the time of his death. After the conclusion of his term in 
congress, Mr. Stout did not again enter public office until 1868. In June of that 
year, however, he was elected a member of the state senate from Multnomah 
county and was servin